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REGISTER INFORMATION PAGE 

THE VIRGINIA REGISTER OF REGULATIONS is an official state 

publication issued every other week throughout the year. Indexes are 

published quarterly, and are cumulative for the year. The Virginia 

Register has several functions. The new and amended sections of 

regulations, both as proposed and as finally adopted, are required by law 

to be published in the Virginia Register. In addition, the Virginia 

Register is a source of other information about state government, 

including petitions for rulemaking, emergency regulations, executive 

orders issued by the Governor, and notices of public hearings on 

regulations. 

ADOPTION, AMENDMENT, AND REPEAL OF REGULATIONS 

Unless exempted by law, an agency wishing to adopt, amend, or repeal 

regulations must follow the procedures in the Administrative Process 

Act (§ 2.2-4000 et seq. of the Code of Virginia). Typically, this includes 

first publishing in the Virginia Register a notice of intended regulatory 

action; a basis, purpose, substance and issues statement; an economic 

impact analysis prepared by the Department of Planning and Budget; the 

agency’s response to the economic impact analysis; a summary; a notice 

giving the public an opportunity to comment on the proposal; and the 

text of the proposed regulation. 

Following publication of the proposed regulation in the Virginia 

Register, the promulgating agency receives public comments for a 

minimum of 60 days. The Governor reviews the proposed regulation to 

determine if it is necessary to protect the public health, safety, and 

welfare, and if it is clearly written and easily understandable. If the 

Governor chooses to comment on the proposed regulation, his comments 

must be transmitted to the agency and the Registrar of Regulations no 

later than 15 days following the completion of the 60-day public 

comment period. The Governor’s comments, if any, will be published in 

the Virginia Register. Not less than 15 days following the completion of 

the 60-day public comment period, the agency may adopt the proposed 

regulation. 

The Joint Commission on Administrative Rules or the appropriate 

standing committee of each house of the General Assembly may meet 

during the promulgation or final adoption process and file an objection 

with the Registrar and the promulgating agency. The objection will be 

published in the Virginia Register. Within 21 days after receipt by the 

agency of a legislative objection, the agency shall file a response with 

the Registrar, the objecting legislative body, and the Governor. 

When final action is taken, the agency again publishes the text of the 

regulation as adopted, highlighting all changes made to the proposed 

regulation and explaining any substantial changes made since 

publication of the proposal. A 30-day final adoption period begins upon 

final publication in the Virginia Register. 

The Governor may review the final regulation during this time and, if he 

objects, forward his objection to the Registrar and the agency. In 

addition to or in lieu of filing a formal objection, the Governor may 

suspend the effective date of a portion or all of a regulation until the end 

of the next regular General Assembly session by issuing a directive 

signed by a majority of the members of the appropriate legislative body 

and the Governor. The Governor’s objection or suspension of the 

regulation, or both, will be published in the Virginia Register.  

If the Governor finds that the final regulation contains changes made 

after publication of the proposed regulation that have substantial impact, 

he may require the agency to provide an additional 30-day public 

comment period on the changes. Notice of the additional public 

comment period required by the Governor will be published in the 

Virginia Register. Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.06 of the Code of Virginia, any 

person may request that the agency solicit additional public comment on 

certain changes made after publication of the proposed regulation. The 

agency shall suspend the regulatory process for 30 days upon such 

request from 25 or more individuals, unless the agency determines that 

the changes have minor or inconsequential impact. 

A regulation becomes effective at the conclusion of the 30-day final 

adoption period, or at any other later date specified by the promulgating 

agency, unless (i) a legislative objection has been filed, in which event 

the regulation, unless withdrawn, becomes effective on the date 

specified, which shall be after the expiration of the 21-day objection 

period; (ii) the Governor exercises his authority to require the agency to 

provide for additional public comment, in which event the regulation, 

unless withdrawn, becomes effective on the date specified, which shall 

be after the expiration of the period for which the Governor has provided 

for additional public comment; (iii) the Governor and the General 

Assembly exercise their authority to suspend the effective date of a 

regulation until the end of the next regular legislative session; or (iv) the 

agency suspends the regulatory process, in which event the regulation, 

unless withdrawn, becomes effective on the date specified, which shall 

be after the expiration of the 30-day public comment period and no 

earlier than 15 days from publication of the readopted action. 

A regulatory action may be withdrawn by the promulgating agency at 

any time before the regulation becomes final. 

FAST-TRACK RULEMAKING PROCESS 

Section 2.2-4012.1 of the Code of Virginia provides an alternative to the 

standard process set forth in the Administrative Process Act for 

regulations deemed by the Governor to be noncontroversial. To use this 

process, the Governor's concurrence is required and advance notice must 

be provided to certain legislative committees. Fast-track regulations 

become effective on the date noted in the regulatory action if fewer than 

10 persons object to using the process in accordance with § 2.2-4012.1. 

EMERGENCY REGULATIONS 

Pursuant to § 2.2-4011 of the Code of Virginia, an agency may adopt 

emergency regulations if necessitated by an emergency situation or when 

Virginia statutory law or the appropriation act or federal law or federal 

regulation requires that a regulation be effective in 280 days or fewer 

from its enactment. In either situation, approval of the Governor is 

required.  The emergency regulation is effective upon its filing with the 

Registrar of Regulations, unless a later date is specified per § 2.2-4012 

of the Code of Virginia. Emergency regulations are limited to no more 

than 18 months in duration; however, may be extended for six months 

under the circumstances noted in § 2.2-4011 D. Emergency regulations 

are published as soon as possible in the Virginia Register and are on the 

Register of Regulations website at register.dls.virgina.gov. 

During the time the emergency regulation is in effect, the agency may 

proceed with the adoption of permanent regulations in accordance with 

the Administrative Process Act. If the agency chooses not to adopt the 

regulations, the emergency status ends when the prescribed time limit 

expires. 

STATEMENT 

The foregoing constitutes a generalized statement of the procedures to be 

followed. For specific statutory language, it is suggested that Article 2 

(§ 2.2-4006 et seq.) of Chapter 40 of Title 2.2 of the Code of Virginia be 

examined carefully. 

CITATION TO THE VIRGINIA REGISTER 

The Virginia Register is cited by volume, issue, page number, and date. 

34:8 VA.R. 763-832 December 11, 2017, refers to Volume 34, Issue 8, 

pages 763 through 832 of the Virginia Register issued on  

December 11, 2017. 

The Virginia Register of Regulations is published pursuant to Article 6 

(§ 2.2-4031 et seq.) of Chapter 40 of Title 2.2 of the Code of Virginia.  

Members of the Virginia Code Commission: John S. Edwards, Chair; 

Jennifer L. McClellan; Ward L. Armstrong; Nicole Cheuk; 

Rita Davis; Leslie L. Lilley; Christopher R. Nolen; Don L. Scott, Jr.; 

Charles S. Sharp; Marcus B. Simon; Samuel T. Towell; Malfourd 

W. Trumbo. 

Staff of the Virginia Register: Karen Perrine, Registrar of Regulations; 

Anne Bloomsburg, Assistant Registrar; Nikki Clemons, Regulations 

Analyst; Rhonda Dyer, Publications Assistant; Terri Edwards, Senior 

Operations Staff Assistant. 

http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+2.2-4011
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+2.2-4011
file://///legmain/sysdata/dlsdata/CODEREGS/regispub/Vol36/Iss18/register.dls.virgina.gov
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PUBLICATION SCHEDULE AND DEADLINES 

October 2020 through August 2021 

Volume: Issue Material Submitted By Noon* Will Be Published On 

37:4 September 23, 2020 October 12, 2020 

37:5 October 7, 2020 October 26, 2020 

37:6 October 21, 2020 November 9, 2020 
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PETITIONS FOR RULEMAKING 

TITLE 18. PROFESSIONAL AND 
OCCUPATIONAL LICENSING 

BOARD OF COUNSELING 

Agency Decision 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC115-60. Regulations Governing 

the Practice of Licensed Substance Abuse Treatment 

Practitioners. 

Statutory Authority: § 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia. 

Name of Petitioner: James Christmas. 

Nature of Petitioner's Request: To amend 18VAC115-60-50 

to allow persons who are licensed as clinical social workers to 

be licensed as substance abuse treatment practitioners without 

examination. 

Agency Decision: Request denied. 

Statement of Reason for Decision: At its meeting on August 

21, 2020, the board declined to take action on the petition. 

The board concurred with the commenters who noted that 

licensure as a substance abuse treatment practitioner requires 

specialized education, experience, and examination. In its 

proposed amendments adopted pursuant to a periodic review 

of 18VAC115-60, the board has already deleted the existing 

exemption from examination for licensed professional 

counselors. 

Agency Contact: Jaime Hoyle, Executive Director, Board of 

Counseling, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, Richmond, VA 

23233, telephone (804) 367-4406, email 

jaime.hoyle@dhp.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R20-36; Filed August 21, 2020, 4:46 p.m. 
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PERIODIC REVIEWS AND SMALL BUSINESS IMPACT REVIEWS 

TITLE 13. HOUSING 

BOARD OF HOUSING AND COMMUNITY 
DEVELOPMENT 

Report of Findings 

Pursuant to §§ 2.2-4007.1 and 2.2-4017 of the Code of Virginia, 

the Board of Housing and Community Development conducted a 

periodic review and a small business impact review of 13VAC5-

21, Virginia Certification Standards, and determined that this 

regulation should be amended to achieve consistency with new 

industry standards. 

The proposed regulatory action to amend 13VAC5-21, which 

is published in this issue of the Virginia Register, serves as 

the report of findings.  

Contact Information: Kyle Flanders, Senior Policy Analyst, 

Department of Housing and Community Development, Main 

Street Centre, 600 East Main Street, Suite 300, Richmond, 

VA 23219, telephone (804) 786-6761, FAX (804) 371-7090, 

TTY (804) 371-7089, or email 

kyle.flanders@dhcd.virginia.gov. 

Report of Findings 

Pursuant to §§ 2.2-4007.1 and 2.2-4017 of the Code of Virginia, 

the Board of Housing and Community Development conducted a 

periodic review and a small business impact review of 13VAC5-

95, Virginia Manufactured Home Safety Regulations, and 

determined that this regulation should be amended to achieve 

consistency with new industry standards. 

The proposed regulatory action to amend 13VAC5-95, which 

is published in this issue of the Virginia Register, serves as 

the report of findings.  

Contact Information: Kyle Flanders, Senior Policy Analyst, 

Department of Housing and Community Development, Main 

Street Centre, 600 East Main Street, Suite 300, Richmond, 

VA 23219, telephone (804) 786-6761, FAX (804) 371-7090, 

TTY (804) 371-7089, or email 

kyle.flanders@dhcd.virginia.gov. 

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 18. PROFESSIONAL AND 
OCCUPATIONAL LICENSING 

BOARD OF NURSING 

Report of Findings 

Pursuant to §§ 2.2-4007.1 and 2.2-4017 of the Code of 

Virginia, the Board of Nursing conducted a periodic review 

and a small business impact review of 18VAC90-26, 

Regulations for Nurse Aide Education Programs, and 

determined that this regulation should be amended to clarify 

and update the regulation. 

The proposed regulatory action to amend 18VAC90-26, 

which is published in this issue of the Virginia Register, 

serves as the report of findings.  

Contact Information: Jay P. Douglas, R.N., Executive 

Director, Board of Nursing, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, 

Richmond, VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-4520, FAX (804) 

527-4455, or email jay.douglas@dhp.virginia.gov. 

BOARD OF COUNSELING 

Report of Findings 

Pursuant to §§ 2.2-4007.1 and 2.2-4017 of the Code of Virginia, 

the Board of Counseling conducted a periodic review and a small 

business impact review of 18VAC115-40, Regulations 

Governing the Certification of Rehabilitation Providers, and 

determined that this regulation should be amended for 

consistency with other professions certified by the board. 

The proposed regulatory action to amend 18VAC115-40, 

which is published in this issue of the Virginia Register, 

serves as the report of findings.  

Contact Information: Jaime Hoyle, Executive Director, Board 

of Counseling, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, Richmond, 

VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-4406, FAX (804) 527-4435, 

or email jaime.hoyle@dhp.virginia.gov. 

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 22. SOCIAL SERVICES 

DEPARTMENT FOR AGING AND REHABILITATIVE 
SERVICES 

Report of Findings 

Pursuant to §§ 2.2-4007.1 and 2.2-4017 of the Code of 

Virginia, the Department for Aging and Rehabilitative 

Services conducted a periodic review and a small business 

impact review of 22VAC30-110, Assessment in Assisted 

Living Facilities, and determined that this regulation should 

be amended to update and clarify the regulation. 

The proposed regulatory action to amend 22VAC30-110, 

which is published in this issue of the Virginia Register, 

serves as the report of findings.  

Contact Information: Paige McCleary, Adult Services and 

Adult Protective Service Consultant, Department for Aging 

and Rehabilitative Services, 8004 Franklin Farms Drive, 

Richmond, VA 23229, telephone (804) 662-7605, or email 

paige.mccleary@dars.virginia.gov. 

http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/786-6761
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/371-7090
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/371-7089
mailto:kyle.flanders@dhcd.virginia.gov
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/786-6761
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/371-7090
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/371-7089
mailto:kyle.flanders@dhcd.virginia.gov
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/367-4520
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/527-4455
mailto:jay.douglas@dhp.virginia.gov
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/367-4406
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/527-4435
mailto:jaime.hoyle@dhp.virginia.gov
http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/662-7605
mailto:paige.mccleary@dars.virginia.gov
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NOTICES OF INTENDED REGULATORY ACTION 

TITLE 4. CONSERVATION AND NATURAL 
RESOURCES 

VIRGINIA SOIL AND WATER CONSERVATION 
BOARD 

Withdrawal of Notice of Intended Regulatory Action 

Notice is hereby given that the Virginia Soil and Water 

Conservation Board has WITHDRAWN the Notice of 

Intended Regulatory Action for 4VAC50-20, Impounding 

Structure Regulations, which was published in 36:8 VA.R. 

1025 December 9, 2019. The board is currently evaluating the 

issues contained in the Notice of Intended Regulatory Action 

to ensure that a regulatory action is the most suitable process 

to address them. 

Statutory Authority: § 10.1-604 of the Code of Virginia. 

Agency Contact: Lisa McGee, Policy and Planning Director, 

Department of Conservation and Recreation, 600 East Main 

Street, 24th Floor, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 

786-4378, FAX (804) 786-6141, or email 

lisa.mcgee@dcr.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R20-6047; Filed August 14, 2020, 2:29 p.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 8. EDUCATION 

STATE COUNCIL OF HIGHER EDUCATION FOR 
VIRGINIA 

Notice of Intended Regulatory Action 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 2.2-4007.01 of 

the Code of Virginia that the State Council of Higher 

Education for Virginia intends to consider amending 

8VAC40-31, Regulations Governing the Certification of 

Certain Institutions to Confer Degrees, Diplomas and 

Certificates. The purpose of the proposed action is to 

increase the nonrefundable fees to cover the essential 

functions of and services provided by the Private 

Postsecondary Education (PPE) unit of the Academic Affairs 

division of the State Council of Higher Education for Virginia 

(SCHEV). The PPE unit is responsible for regulating private 

and out-of-state postsecondary educational institutions 

operating in Virginia. The PPE unit currently regulates 126 

degree-granting institutions and 165 career-technical schools 

at more than 300 locations throughout Virginia. Staff 

responsibilities include approval of new postsecondary 

schools, program approvals, compliance audits, granting 

exemptions, agent approvals, and annual recertification of 

postsecondary schools. SCHEV does not receive general 

funds to perform the duties delegated to the PPE unit by the 

Code of Virginia and regulation; all salaries, benefits, and 

expenditures are paid out of the fees collected from regulated 

institutions.  

The agency does not intend to hold a public hearing on the 

proposed action after publication in the Virginia Register.  

Statutory Authority: § 23.1-215 of the Code of Virginia. 

Public Comment Deadline: October 14, 2020. 

Agency Contact: Beverly Rebar, Senior Associate for 

Academic and Legislative Affairs, State Council of Higher 

Education for Virginia, 101 North 14 Street, 9th Floor, 

Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 371-0571, FAX (804) 

225-2604, or email beverlyrebar@schev.edu. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R21-6185; Filed August 17, 2020, 10:34 a.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 12. HEALTH 

STATE BOARD OF HEALTH 

Notice of Intended Regulatory Action 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 2.2-4007.01 of 

the Code of Virginia that the State Board of Health intends to 

consider promulgating 12VAC5-403, Certification of 

Doulas. The purpose of the proposed action is to establish the 

requirements for (i) use of the title "state-certified doula" and 

(ii) training and education requirements necessary for 

certification by the Department of Health as a state-certified 

doula. The minimum training and education requirements will 

be based on the core competences for doula certification used 

by national organizations and community based organizations 

in Virginia. The proposed action implements the mandate in 

§ 32.1-77.1 of the Code of Virginia enacted by Chapter 724 

of the 2020 Acts of Assembly.  

The agency does not intend to hold a public hearing on the 

proposed action after publication in the Virginia Register.  

Statutory Authority: §§ 32.1-12 and 32.1-77.1 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

Public Comment Deadline: October 14, 2020. 

Agency Contact: Robin Buskey, Policy Analyst, Office of 

Family Health Services, Virginia Department of Health, 109 

Governor Street, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 863-

7253, or email robin.buskey@vdh.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R21-6484; Filed August 12, 2020, 1:20 p.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

http://register.dls.virginia.gov/vol36/iss08/v36i08.pdf
http://register.dls.virginia.gov/vol36/iss08/v36i08.pdf
mailto:lisa.mcgee@dcr.virginia.gov
mailto:beverlyrebar@schev.edu
mailto:robin.buskey@vdh.virginia.gov
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TITLE 18. PROFESSIONAL AND 
OCCUPATIONAL LICENSING 

BOARD OF PHARMACY 

Notice of Intended Regulatory Action 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 2.2-4007.01 of 

the Code of Virginia that the Board of Pharmacy intends to 

consider amending 18VAC110-20, Regulations Governing 

the Practice of Pharmacy. The purpose of the proposed 

action is to incorporate into regulations certain allowances 

that have been approved for implementation by pilot 

programs in several hospital systems. In 18VAC110-60-425, 

proposed amendments for robotic pharmacy systems will 

allow for medication carousels used in a hospital to store and 

guide the selection of drugs to be dispensed or removed from 

the pharmacy and establish certain safeguards, including a 

verification check by a pharmacist for the accuracy of the 

barcode assignment to an individual drug. Under specified 

conditions, a pharmacist will not be required to check the 

accuracy of a patient-specific drug removed from a carousel 

or the accuracy of a drug removed by a pharmacy technician 

to be placed into an automated drug dispensing system. A 

new section (18VAC110-20 505) will be added to incorporate 

another technology already approved for innovative pilot 

programs – the use of radio-frequency identification (RFID) 

to verify the accuracy of drugs placed into a kit for licensed 

emergency medical services personnel or other kits used as 

floor stock throughout a hospital. The proposal will specify 

the responsibilities of a pharmacist and the duties of a 

pharmacy technician in the use of RFID technology. The 

intent is utilization of newer technologies that facilitate the 

ability of pharmacists to focus on patient-centered care and 

reduce the possibility of medication errors.  

The Board of Pharmacy is publishing the preliminary draft 

text with this notice to provide affected parties an opportunity 

to recommend any less burdensome or intrusive alternatives 

that would be consistent with the board's statutory 

responsibility to protect the safety and integrity of drugs in 

the Commonwealth. 

Preliminary Draft Text:  

18VAC110-20-425. Robotic pharmacy systems.  

A. Consistent with 18VAC110-20-420, a pharmacy 

providing services to a hospital or a long-term care facility 

and operating a robotic pharmacy system that dispenses drugs 

in barcoded unit dose or compliance packaging is exempted 

from 18VAC110-20-270 C, provided the accuracy of the final 

dispensed prescription product complies with a written 

quality assurance plan and requirements of this chapter. The 

following requirements for operation of a robotic pharmacy 

system shall apply: 

1. Pharmacists shall review for accuracy and 

appropriateness of therapy all data entry of prescription 

orders into the computer operating the system. 

2. The packaging, repackaging, stocking, and restocking of 

the robotic pharmacy system shall be performed by 

pharmacy technicians or pharmacists. 

3. Pharmacists shall verify and check for the accuracy of 

all drugs packaged or repackaged for use by the robot by a 

visual check of both labeling and contents prior to stocking 

the drugs in the robotic pharmacy system. A repackaging 

record shall be maintained in accordance with 18VAC110-

20-355 A, and the verifying pharmacist shall initial the 

record. Packaging and labeling, including the appropriate 

beyond-use date, shall conform to requirements of this 

chapter and current USP-NF standards. 

4. A written policy and procedure must be maintained and 

complied with and shall include at a minimum procedures 

for ensuring: 

a. Accurate packaging and repackaging of all drugs for 

use in the robotic pharmacy system, to include properly 

labeled barcodes, and method for ensuring pharmacist 

verification of all packaged and repacked drugs 

compliant with this chapter and assigned barcodes;  

b. Accurate stocking and restocking of the robotic 

pharmacy system; 

c. Removing expired drugs; 

d. Proper handling of drugs that may be dropped by the 

robotic pharmacy system;  

e. Performing routine maintenance of robotic pharmacy 

system as indicated by manufacturer's schedules and 

recommendations; 

f. Accurate dispensing of drugs via robotic pharmacy 

system for cart fills, first doses, and cart fill updates 

during normal operation and during any scheduled or 

unscheduled downtime; 

g. Accurate recording of any scheduled or unanticipated 

downtime with an explanation of the problem to include 

the time span of the downtime and the resolution; 

h. Appropriately performing an analysis to investigate, 

identify, and correct sources of discrepancies or errors 

associated with the robotic pharmacy system; and 

i. Maintaining quality assurance reports. 

5. All manual picks shall be checked by pharmacists. 

6. If it is identified that the robot selected an incorrect 

medication, the pharmacy shall identify and correct the 

source of discrepancy or error in compliance with the 

pharmacy's policies and procedures prior to resuming full 

operations of the robot. An investigation of the cause of the 
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event shall be completed, and the outcome of the corrective 

action plan shall be summarized and documented in a 

readily retrievable format.  

7. Quarterly quality assurance reports demonstrating the 

accuracy of the robot shall be maintained. At a minimum, 

these reports shall include a summary indicating the date 

and description of all discrepancies that include 

discrepancies involving the packaging, repackaging, and 

dispensing of drugs via the robotic pharmacy system found 

during that quarter plus a cumulative summary since 

initiation of the robotic pharmacy system. 

8. All records required by this section shall be maintained 

at the address of the pharmacy for a minimum of two 

years. Records may be maintained in offsite storage or as 

an electronic image that provides an exact image of the 

document that is clearly legible provided such offsite or 

electronic storage is retrievable and made available for 

inspection or audit within 48 hours of a request by the 

board or an authorized agent.  

B. Intravenous admixture robotics may be utilized to 

compound drugs in compliance with § 54.1-3410.2 of the 

Code of Virginia and 18VAC110-20-321; however, a 

pharmacist shall verify the accuracy of all compounded drugs 

pursuant to 18VAVC110-20-270 B. 

C. Medication carousels that are a component of a robotic 

pharmacy system in a hospital may be utilized to store and 

guide the selection of drugs to be dispensed or removed from 

the pharmacy under the following conditions:  

1. The entry of drug information into the barcode database 

for assignment of a barcode to an individual drug shall be 

performed by a pharmacist who shall verify the accuracy 

of the barcode assignment. 

2. A pharmacist is not required to verify the accuracy of a 

patient-specific drug removed from a medication carousel 

if:  

a. The entry of the order for a patient-specific drug into 

the pharmacy's dispensing software is verified by a 

pharmacist for accuracy and is electronically transmitted 

to the medication carousel; and 

b. The patient-specific drug removed from the 

medication carousel by a pharmacy technician is verified 

for accuracy by the pharmacy technician who shall scan 

each drug unit, each intact blister card of each unit dose 

drug, or each unopened manufacturer's container of each 

unit dose drug removed from the medication carousel 

prior to dispensing. A nurse or other person authorized to 

administer drug scans each drug unit using barcode 

technology to verify the accuracy of the drug prior to 

administration of the drug to the patient. 

3. A pharmacist is not required to verify the accuracy of 

drug removed from the medication carousel by a pharmacy 

technician that is intended to be placed into an automated 

drug dispensing system as defined in § 54.1-3401 of the 

Code of Virginia if:  

a. The list of drugs to be removed from the medication 

carousel for loading or replenishing an individual 

automated dispensing system is electronically transmitted 

to the medication carousel; and 

b. The drug removed from the medication carousel is 

verified for accuracy by the pharmacy technician by 

scanning each drug unit, each intact blister card of each 

unit dose drug, or each unopened manufacturer's 

container of each unit dose drug removed from the 

medication carousel prior to leaving the pharmacy and 

delivering the drug to the automated drug dispensing 

system. A nurse or other person authorized to administer 

drug scans each drug unit using barcode technology to 

verify the accuracy of the drug prior to administration of 

the drug to the patient. If the drug is placed into an 

automated drug dispensing system wherein a nurse or 

other person authorized to administer drug will not be 

able to scan each drug unit using barcode technology to 

verify the accuracy of the drug prior to patient 

administration, then a second verification for accuracy 

shall be performed by a pharmacy technician by scanning 

each drug unit, each intact blister card of each unit dose 

drug, or each unopened manufacturer's container of each 

unit dose drug at the time of placing the drugs into the 

automated dispensing system. 

4. A pharmacist shall verify the accuracy of all drugs prior 

to dispensing or leaving the pharmacy that are manually 

removed from the medication carousel by a pharmacy 

technician without the use of the robotic pharmacy system 

to guide the selection of the drug product. 

18VAC110-20-500. Licensed emergency medical services 

(EMS) agencies program.  

A. The pharmacy may prepare a kit for a licensed EMS 

agency provided:  

1. The PIC of the hospital pharmacy shall be responsible 

for all prescription drugs and Schedule VI controlled 

devices contained in this kit. A Except as authorized in 

18VAC110-20-505, a pharmacist shall check each kit after 

filling and initial the filling record certifying the accuracy 

and integrity of the contents of the kit.  

2. The kit is sealed, secured, and stored in such a manner 

that it will deter theft or loss of drugs and devices and aid 

in detection of theft or loss.  

a. The hospital pharmacy shall have a method of sealing 

the kits such that once the seal is broken, it cannot be 

reasonably resealed without the breach being detected. 

b. If a seal is used, it shall have a unique numeric or 

alphanumeric identifier to preclude replication or 
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resealing. The pharmacy shall maintain a record of the 

seal identifiers when placed on a kit and maintain the 

record for a period of one year. 

c. In lieu of a seal, a kit with a built-in mechanism 

preventing resealing or relocking once opened except by 

the provider pharmacy may be used. 

3. Drugs and devices may be administered by an EMS 

provider upon an oral or written order or standing protocol 

of an authorized medical practitioner in accordance with 

§ 54.1-3408 of the Code of Virginia. Oral orders shall be 

reduced to writing by the EMS provider and shall be 

signed by a medical practitioner. Written standing 

protocols shall be signed by the operational medical 

director for the EMS agency. A current copy of the signed 

standing protocol shall be maintained by the pharmacy 

participating in the kit exchange. The EMS provider shall 

make a record of all drugs and devices administered to a 

patient.  

4. When the drug kit has been opened, the kit shall be 

returned to the pharmacy and exchanged for an unopened 

kit. The record of the drugs administered shall accompany 

the opened kit when exchanged. An accurate record shall 

be maintained by the pharmacy on the exchange of the 

drug kit for a period of one year. A pharmacist, pharmacy 

technician, or nurse shall reconcile the Schedule II, III, IV, 

or V drugs in the kit at the time the opened kit is returned. 

A record of the reconciliation, to include any noted 

discrepancies, shall be maintained by the pharmacy for a 

period of two years from the time of exchange. The theft or 

any other unusual loss of any Schedule II, III, IV, or V 

controlled substance shall be reported in accordance with 

§ 54.1-3404 of the Code of Virginia. 

5. Accurate records of the following shall be maintained by 

the pharmacy on the exchange of the drug kit for a period 

of one year:  

a. The record of filling and verifying the kit to include 

the drug contents of the kit, the initials of the pharmacist 

verifying the contents, the date of verification, a record 

of an identifier if a seal is used, and the assigned 

expiration date for the kit, which shall be no later than 

the expiration date associated with the first drug or 

device scheduled to expire. 

b. The record of the exchange of the kit to include the 

date of exchange and the name of EMS agency and EMS 

provider receiving the kit.  

6. Destruction of partially used Schedules II, III, IV, and V 

drugs shall be accomplished by two persons, one of whom 

shall be the EMS provider and the other shall be a 

pharmacist, nurse, prescriber, pharmacy technician, or a 

second EMS provider. Documentation shall be maintained 

in the pharmacy for a period of two years from the date of 

destruction. 

7. The record of the drugs and devices administered shall 

be maintained as a part of the pharmacy records pursuant 

to state and federal regulations for a period of not less than 

two years.  

8. Intravenous and irrigation solutions provided by a 

hospital pharmacy to an emergency medical services 

agency may be stored separately outside the kit. 

9. Any drug or device showing evidence of damage or 

tampering shall be immediately removed from the kit and 

replaced. 

10. In lieu of exchange by the hospital pharmacy, the PIC 

of the hospital pharmacy may authorize the exchange of 

the kit by the emergency department. Exchange of the kit 

in the emergency department shall only be performed by a 

pharmacist, nurse, or prescriber if the kit contents include 

Schedule II, III, IV, or V drugs.  

B. A licensed EMS agency may obtain a controlled 

substances registration pursuant to § 54.1-3423 D of the Code 

of Virginia for the purpose of performing a one-to-one 

exchange of Schedule VI drugs or devices.  

1. The controlled substances registration may be issued to a 

single agency or to multiple agencies within a single 

jurisdiction. 

2. The controlled substances registration issued solely for 

this intended purpose does not authorize the storage of 

drugs within the agency facility. 

3. Pursuant to § 54.1-3434.02 of the Code of Virginia, the 

EMS provider may directly obtain Schedule VI drugs and 

devices from an automated drug dispensing device. 

4. If such drugs or devices are obtained from a nurse, 

pharmacist, or prescriber, it shall be in accordance with the 

procedures established by the pharmacist-in-charge, which 

shall include a requirement to record the date of exchange, 

name of licensed person providing drug or device, name of 

the EMS agency and provider receiving the drug or device, 

and assigned expiration date. Such record shall be 

maintained by the pharmacy for one year from the date of 

exchange. 

5. If an EMS agency is performing a one-to-one exchange 

of Schedule VI drugs or devices, Schedule II, III, IV, or V 

drugs shall remain in a separate, sealed container and shall 

only be exchanged in accordance with provisions of 

subsection A of this section. 

18VAC110-20-505. Use of radio-frequency identification. 

A. A hospital pharmacy may use radio-frequency 

identification (RFID) to verify the accuracy of drugs placed 

into a kit for licensed emergency medical services pursuant to 

18VAC110-20-500 or other kits used as floor stock 

throughout the hospital under the following conditions: 
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1. A pharmacist shall be responsible for performing and 

verifying the accuracy of the following tasks: 

a. The addition, modification, or deletion of drug 

information into the RFID database for assignment of a 

RFID tag to an individual drug; and 

b. The development of the contents of the kit in the RFID 

database and the associated drug-specific RFID tags.  

2. A pharmacy technician may place the RFID tag on the 

drugs, and a pharmacist shall verify that all drugs have 

been accurately tagged prior to storing the drugs in the 

pharmacy's inventory. 

3. A pharmacy technician may remove RFID-tagged drugs 

from the pharmacy's inventory whose RFID tags have been 

previously verified for accuracy by a pharmacist, and place 

the drugs into the kit's container. A pharmacy technician 

may then place the container into the pharmacy's device 

that reads the RFID tags to verify if the correct drugs have 

been placed into the container as compared to the list of the 

kit's contents in the RFID database.  

4. A pharmacist shall perform a daily random check for 

verification of the accuracy of 5.0% of all kits prepared 

that day utilizing the RFID technology. A manual or 

electronic record from which information can be readily 

retrieved, shall be maintained that includes: 

a. The date of verification;  

b. A description of all discrepancies identified, if any; 

and 

c. The initials of pharmacist verifying the accuracy of the 

process. 

5. Pharmacies engaged in RFID tagging of drugs shall be 

exempt from the requirements in subsection C of 

18VAC110-20-490, subsection A of 18VAC110-20-460, 

and subsection A of 18VAC110-20-355. 

6. All records required by this subsection shall be 

maintained for a period of one year from the date of 

verification by the pharmacist. 

The agency intends to hold a public hearing on the proposed 

action after publication of the proposed stage of this 

regulatory action in the Virginia Register.  

Statutory Authority: §§ 54.1-2400 and 54.1-3307 of the Code 

of Virginia. 

Public Comment Deadline: October 14, 2020. 

Agency Contact: Caroline Juran, RPh, Executive Director, 

Board of Pharmacy, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, 

Richmond, VA 23233-1463, telephone (804) 367-4456, FAX 

(804) 527-4472, or email caroline.juran@dhp.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R21-6271; Filed August 12, 2020, 2:09 p.m.  
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REGULATIONS 

TITLE 2. AGRICULTURE 

BOARD OF AGRICULTURE AND CONSUMER 
SERVICES 

Final Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 2VAC5-20. Standards for 

Classification of Real Estate as Devoted to Agricultural 

Use and to Horticultural Use under the Virginia Land Use 

Assessment Law (amending 2VAC5-20-10 through 

2VAC5-20-40).  

Statutory Authority: § 58.1-3230 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: October 15, 2020.  

Agency Contact: Kevin Schmidt, Director, Office of Policy, 

Planning, and Research, Department of Agriculture and 

Consumer Services, P.O. Box 1163, Richmond, VA 23218, 

telephone (804) 786-1346, FAX (804) 371-7679, TTY (800) 

828-1120, or email kevin.schmidt@vdacs.virginia.gov. 

Summary:  

In response to Chapter 504 of the 2018 Acts of Assembly, 

the amendments (i) clarify requirements by listing the 

specified activities associated with agriculture or 

horticulture that must occur on a property for it to qualify 

as "real estate devoted to agricultural use" or "real estate 

devoted to horticultural use"; (ii) require that the owner 

must certify to such; and (iii) eliminate the requirement 

that the land must have been devoted for at least five 

consecutive years previously to specified activities 

associated with agriculture or horticulture. 

Summary of Public Comments and Agency's Response: A 

summary of comments made by the public and the agency's 

response may be obtained from the promulgating agency or 

viewed at the office of the Registrar of Regulations.  

2VAC5-20-10. Preamble Purpose.  

The Commissioner of Agriculture and Consumer Services 

adopts these Standards for Classification of Real Estate As as 

Devoted to Agricultural Use and to Horticultural Use Under 

under the Virginia Land Use Assessment Law to:  

1. Encourage the proper use of real estate in order to assure 

a readily available source of agricultural, horticultural, and 

forest products, and of open space within reach of 

concentrations of population.  

2. Conserve natural resources in forms that will prevent 

erosion.  

3. Protect adequate and safe water supplies.  

4. Preserve scenic natural beauties and open spaces.  

5. Promote proper land-use planning and the orderly 

development of real estate for the accommodation of an 

expanding population.  

6. Promote a balanced economy and ease pressures which 

that force the conversion of real estate to more intensive 

uses.  

The real estate must meet all of the following standards in 

this chapter to qualify for agricultural or for horticultural use.  

2VAC5-20-20. Previous and current use, and exceptions 

Current use.  

A. Previous use. The real estate sought to be qualified must 

have been devoted, for at least five consecutive years 

previous, to the production for sale of plants or animals, or to 

the production for sale of plant or animal products useful to 

man, or devoted to another qualifying use including, but not 

limited to:  

1. Aquaculture  

2. Forage crops  

3. Commercial sod and seed  

4. Grains and feed crops  

5. Tobacco, cotton, and peanuts  

6. Dairy animals and dairy products  

7. Poultry and poultry products  

8. Livestock, including beef cattle, sheep, swine, horses, 

ponies, mules, or goats, including the breeding and grazing 

of any or all such animals  

9. Bees and apiary products  

10. Commercial game animals or birds  

11. Trees or timber products of such quantity and so 

spaced as to constitute a forest area meeting standards 

prescribed by the State Forester, if less than 20 acres, and 

produced incidental to other farm operations  

12. Fruits and nuts  

13. Vegetables  

14. Nursery products and floral products.  

mailto:kevin.schmidt@vdacs.virginia.gov
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If a tract of real estate is converted from nonproduction to 

agricultural or horticultural production, the tract may qualify 

without a five-year history of agricultural or horticultural use 

only if the change expands or replaces production enterprises 

existing on other tracts of real estate owned by the applicant.  

B. Current use. The real estate sought to be qualified must 

currently be devoted to the production for sale of plants or 

animals, or to the production for sale of plant or animal 

products useful to man, or devoted to another qualifying use 

including, but not limited to, the items in subsection A of this 

section; except that no A. The applicant shall certify that the 

real estate sought to be qualified currently meets one or more 

of the following requirements: 

1. Be devoted to the bona fide production for sale of plants 

or animals that are useful to man; 

2. Be devoted to the bona fide production for sale of 

products that are useful to man and that are made on the 

real estate from plants or animals produced on the real 

estate; 

3. Be devoted to the bona fide production for sale of fruit 

of all kinds, including grapes, nuts, and berries; 

4. Be devoted to the bona fide production for sale of 

vegetables; 

5. Be devoted to the bona fide production for sale of 

nursery or floral products; 

6. Be devoted to the bona fide production for sale of plants 

or products directly produced on such real estate from 

fruits, vegetables, nursery or floral products, or plants 

produced on such real estate; or 

7. Be devoted to and meet the requirements and 

qualifications for payments or other compensation pursuant 

to a soil and water conservation program under an 

agreement with an agency of the state or federal 

government.  

B. No real estate devoted to the production of trees or timber 

products may qualify unless:  

1. The real estate is less than 20 acres.; 

2. The real estate meets the technical standards prescribed 

by the State Forester,; and  

3. The real estate is producing tree or timber products 

incidental to other farm operations.  

C. Exceptions.  

1. Conversions by farm operator -- nonqualifying real 

estate. If a tract of real estate is converted from other uses 

or nonproduction to agricultural or horticultural 

production, the tract may qualify without the five-year 

history of agricultural or horticultural use when the change 

expands or replaces production enterprises existing on 

other tracts of real estate owned by the applicant, 

regardless of location. 

2. Conversions by farm operator -- qualifying real estate. If 

a tract of real estate is converted from a qualifying use 

(forestry or open space) to agricultural or horticultural 

production, the tract may qualify without the five year 

history of agricultural or horticultural use.  

3. Government action. If a tract of real estate which has 

previously qualified for agricultural use taxation is not 

devoted to agricultural or horticultural production because 

of governmental actions, the tract or portions shall be 

considered productive for that period of time.  

4. Crops that require more than two years. The tract of real 

estate may qualify without the five-year history of 

agricultural or horticultural use if the tract of real estate is 

devoted to the production of any agricultural or 

horticultural crop that requires more than two years from 

initial planting until commercially feasible harvesting, and 

the locality in which the tract of real estate is located has 

waived with respect to such real estate the five-year-

history-of-agricultural-or-horticultural-use requirement.  

2VAC5-20-30. Conservation of land resources; 

management and production.  

A. Conservation of land resources. The applicant shall 

certify that the real estate is being used in a planned program 

of practices that:  

1. With respect to real estate devoted to a use that disturbs 

the soil or that affects water quality, is intended to (in the 

case of soil) reduce or prevent soil erosion and (in the case 

of water) improve water quality by best management 

practices such as terracing, cover cropping, strip cropping, 

no-till planting, sodding waterways, diversions, water 

impoundments, and other best management practices, to 

the extent that best management practices exist for that use 

of the real estate.  

2. With respect to real estate devoted to crops grown in the 

soil, is intended to maintain soil nutrients by the 

application of soil nutrients (organic and inorganic) needed 

to produce average yields of such crops or as 

recommended by soil tests.  

3. Is intended to control brush, woody growth, and noxious 

weeds on row crops, hay, and pasture by the use of 

herbicides, biological controls, cultivation, mowing, or 

other normal cultural practices.  

B. Management and production. The applicant shall certify 

that the real estate is being used in a planned program of 

management and production for sale of plants or animals (or 

plant or animal products useful to man), which include, but 

are not limited to, field crops, livestock, livestock products, 

poultry, poultry products, dairy, dairy products, aquaculture 

products, and horticultural products; or that the real estate is 
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being used for any other thing that is a qualifying use 

pursuant to 2VAC5-20-20 that corresponds with the 

demonstration of at least one of the requirements in 2VAC5-

20-20 A 1 through A 6.  

C. Field crop production shall be primarily for commercial 

uses and the average crop yield per acre on each crop grown 

on the real estate during the immediate three years previous, 

shall be equal to at least one-half of the county (city) average 

for the past three years; except that the local government may 

prescribe lesser requirements when unusual circumstances 

prevail and such requirements are not realistic.  

Livestock, dairy, poultry, or aquaculture production shall be 

primarily for commercial sale of livestock, dairy, poultry, and 

aquaculture products. Livestock, dairy, and poultry shall have 

a minimum of 12 animal unit-months of commercial livestock 

or poultry per five acres of open land in the previous year. 

One animal unit to be one cow, one horse, five sheep, five 

swine, 100 chickens, 66 turkeys, or 100 other fowl. (An 

animal unit-month means one mature cow or the equivalent 

on five acres of land for one month; therefore, 12 animal unit-

months means the maintenance of one mature cow or the 

equivalent on each five acres for 12 months, or any 

combination of mature cows or the equivalent and months 

that would equal 12 animal unit-months, such as three mature 

cows or the equivalent for four months, four mature cows or 

the equivalent for three months, two mature cows or the 

equivalent for six months, etc.).  

Horticultural production includes nursery, greenhouse, cut 

flowers, plant materials, orchards, vineyards, and small fruit 

products.  

Timber production, in addition to crop, livestock, dairy, 

poultry, aquaculture, and horticultural production on the real 

estate must meet the standards prescribed by the Department 

of Forestry for forest areas and will be assessed at use value 

for forestry purposes.  

2VAC5-20-40. Certification procedures.  

A. Documentation. The commissioner of the revenue or the 

local assessing officer may require the applicant to document 

what the applicant must certify pursuant to 2VAC5-20-20 and 

2VAC5-20-30. The commissioner of the revenue or local 

assessing officer may find one of the following documents 

useful in making his determination:  

1. The assigned USDA/Farm Service Agency farm number 

and evidence of participating in a federal farm program;  

2. Federal tax forms (1040F) Farm Expenses and Income, 

(4835) Farm Rental Income and Expenses, or (1040E) 

Cash Rent for Agricultural Land;  

3. A Conservation Farm Management Plan conservation 

farm management plan prepared by a professional; or  

4. Gross sales averaging more than $1,000 annually over 

the previous three years Documentation demonstrating that 

the real estate sought to be qualified currently is devoted to 

the bona fide production for sale of one of the requirements 

in 2VAC5-20-20 A 1 through A 6; or 

5. Documentation demonstrating that the real estate sought 

to be qualified currently is devoted to and meeting the 

requirements and qualifications for payments or other 

compensation pursuant to a soil and water conservation 

program under an agreement with a federal government or 

state government agency. 

B. Interpretation of standards. In cases of uncertainty on the 

part of the commissioner of the revenue or the local assessing 

officer, the law authorizes him to request an opinion from the 

Commissioner of Agriculture and Consumer Services as to 

whether a particular property meets the criteria for 

agricultural or horticultural classification. The procedure for 

obtaining such an opinion is as follows:  

1. The commissioner of the revenue or the local assessing 

officer shall address a letter to the Commissioner, Virginia 

Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services, P.O. 

Box 1163, Richmond, Virginia 23218, describing the use 

and situation, and requesting an opinion of whether the real 

estate qualifies as agricultural or horticultural real estate 

for the purpose of use-value taxation. The letter should 

include the following:  

a. Owner's name and address.  

b. Operator's name and address.  

c. Total number of acres, acres in crops, acres in pastures, 

acres in a federal or state soil and water conservation 

programs (Farm Service Agency, Natural Resources 

Conservation Service, Virginia Department of 

Conservation and Recreation programs), program, and 

acres in forest.  

d. If more than one tract of real estate, the number of 

acres in each tract and whether the tracts are contiguous.  

e. A copy of the application for land use assessment 

taxation.  

f. In any case involving a question about the applicability 

of the exception to the five-year-history-of-agricultural-

or-horticultural-use requirement contained in 2VAC5-20-

20 C 4 (relating to real estate devoted to the production 

of an agricultural or horticultural crop that requires more 

than two years from initial planting until commercially 

feasible harvesting), a statement as to whether the 

locality has waived with respect to such real estate, the 

five-year-history-of-agricultural-or-horticultural-use 

requirement.  

2. The commissioner may request additional information, 

if needed, directly from the applicant; or he may hold a 
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hearing at which the applicant and others may present 

additional information.  

3. The commissioner will issue an opinion as soon as 

possible after all necessary information has been received.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R19-5646; Filed August 13, 2020, 4:39 p.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 4. CONSERVATION AND NATURAL 
RESOURCES 

MARINE RESOURCES COMMISSION 

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Marine Resources 

Commission is claiming an exemption from the 

Administrative Process Act in accordance with § 2.2-4006 A 

11 of the Code of Virginia; however, the commission is 

required to publish the full text of final regulations. 

Title of Regulation: 4VAC20-540. Pertaining to Spanish 

and King Mackerel (amending 4VAC20-540-30, 4VAC20-

540-40, 4VAC20-540-50).  

Statutory Authority: § 28.2-201 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: September 1, 2020.  

Agency Contact: Jennifer Farmer, Regulatory Coordinator, 

Marine Resources Commission, 380 Fenwick Road, Fort 

Monroe, VA 23651, telephone (757) 247-2248, or email 

jennifer.farmer@mrc.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendments establish a 500-pound daily per vessel 

bycatch provision in state waters for the Spanish mackerel 

commercial fishery to coincide with any federal waters 

closure announced by the National Marine Fisheries 

Service. 

4VAC20-540-30. Possession Recreational possession limits 

established.  

A. It shall be unlawful for any person fishing with hook and 

line hook-and-line, hand line, rod and reel, spear or, gig, or 

other recreational gear to possess more than 15 Spanish 

mackerel or more than three king mackerel.  

B. When fishing from a boat or vessel, where the entire 

catch is held in a common hold or container, the possession 

limits shall be for the boat or vessel and shall be equal to the 

number of persons on board legally eligible to fish multiplied 

by 15 for Spanish mackerel or multiplied by three for king 

mackerel. The captain or operator of the boat or vessel shall 

be responsible for any boat or vessel possession limit.  

C. The possession limit provisions established in this section 

shall not apply to persons harvesting Spanish mackerel or 

king mackerel with licensed commercial gear.  

4VAC20-540-40. Minimum size limits established.  

A. Minimum size limit for Spanish mackerel is established 

at 14 inches in total length.  

B. Minimum size limit for king mackerel is established at 27 

inches in total length.  

C. It shall be unlawful for any person to take, catch, or 

possess any Spanish mackerel less than 14 inches in total 

length.  

D. Except as provided in subsection E of this section it shall 

be unlawful for any person to take, catch, or possess any king 

mackerel less than 27 inches in total length.  

E. Nothing in this section shall prohibit the taking, catching, 

or possession of any king mackerel, less than 27 inches in 

total length, by a licensed pound net.  

4VAC20-540-50. Trip Commercial trip limit established.  

A. It shall be unlawful for any person to possess or land in 

Virginia any amount of Spanish mackerel in excess of 3,500 

pounds from any vessel in any one day, except as specified in 

subsection B of this section.  

B. When a commercial closure in federal waters for the 

Northern Zone Atlantic Migratory Group Spanish Mackerel is 

announced by the National Marine Fisheries Service, it shall 

be unlawful for any person to possess or land Spanish 

mackerel in Virginia in excess of 500 pounds from any vessel 

in any one day. This federal closure and state water per trip 

possession limit will be posted on the Marine Resources 

Commission website. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R20-6467; Filed August 25, 2020, 12:15 p.m.  

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Marine Resources 

Commission is claiming an exemption from the 

Administrative Process Act in accordance with § 2.2-4006 A 

11 of the Code of Virginia; however, the commission is 

required to publish the full text of final regulations. 

Title of Regulation: 4VAC20-610. Pertaining to 

Commercial Fishing and Mandatory Harvest Reporting 

(amending 4VAC20-610-20, 4VAC20-610-60; repealing 

4VAC20-610-50).  

Statutory Authority: § 28.201 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: January 1, 2021.  

Agency Contact: Jennifer Farmer, Regulatory Coordinator, 

Marine Resources Commission, 380 Fenwick Road, Fort 

Monroe, VA 23651, telephone (757) 247-2248, or email 

jennifer.farmer@mrc.virginia.gov. 

mailto:jennifer.farmer@mrc.virginia.gov
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Summary: 

The amendments establish mandatory harvest reporting 

procedures for oysters. 

4VAC20-610-20. Definitions. 

The following words and terms when used in this chapter 

shall have the following meanings unless the context clearly 

indicates otherwise: 

"Agent" means any person who possesses the commercial 

fisherman registration license Commercial Fisherman 

Registration License, fishing gear license, or fishing permit of 

a registered commercial fisherman in order to fish that 

commercial fisherman's gear or sell that commercial 

fisherman's harvest. 

"Clam aquaculture harvester" means any person who 

harvests clams from leased, subleased, or fee simple ground 

or any aquaculture growing area, within or adjacent to 

Virginia tidal waters. 

"Clam aquaculture product owner" means any person or 

firm that owns clams on leased, subleased, or fee simple 

ground, or any aquaculture growing area within or adjacent to 

Virginia tidal waters that are raised by any form of 

aquaculture. This does not include any riparian shellfish 

gardeners whose activities are authorized by 4VAC20-336, 

General Permit No. 3 Pertaining to Noncommercial Riparian 

Shellfish Growing Activities. 

"Clam aquaculture product owner vessel" means any vessel, 

legally permitted through a no-cost permit, by a clam 

aquaculture product owner, used to transport clam 

aquaculture harvesters who do not possess an individual clam 

aquaculture harvester permit Clam Aquaculture Harvester 

Permit. 

"Cobia" means any fish of the species Rachycentron 

canadum. 

"Commerical fisherman" means any person who has 

obtained a Commercial Fisherman Registration License from 

the commission. 

"Commission" means the Marine Resources Commission. 

"Commissioner" means the Commissioner of the Marine 

Resources Commission. 

"Continuing business enterprise" means any business that is 

required to have a Virginia Seafood Buyer's License or is 

required to have a business license by county, city, or local 

ordinance. 

"Mandatory Harvest Reporting Program Web Application" 

means the online web-based resource provided by the 

commission to report commercial harvest of seafood at 

https://webapps.mrc.virginia.gov/harvest/. 

"Oyster" means any shellfish of the species Crassostrea 

virginica. 

"Oyster aquaculture harvester" means any person who 

harvests oysters from leased, subleased, or fee simple ground 

or any aquaculture growing area, within or adjacent to 

Virginia tidal waters. 

"Oyster aquaculture product owner" means any person or 

firm that owns oysters on leased, subleased, or fee simple 

ground or any aquaculture growing area within or adjacent to 

Virginia tidal waters that are raised by any form of 

aquaculture. This does not include any riparian shellfish 

gardeners whose activities are authorized by 4VAC20-336, 

General Permit No. 3 Pertaining to Noncommercial Riparian 

Shellfish Growing Activities.  

"Oyster aquaculture product owner vessel" means any 

vessel, legally permitted through a no-cost permit, by an 

oyster aquaculture product owner, used to transport oyster 

aquaculture harvesters who do not possess an individual 

oyster aquaculture harvester permit. 

"Sale" means sale, trade, or barter. 

"Sell" means sell, trade, or barter. 

"Selling" means selling, trading, or bartering. 

"Sold" means sold, traded, or bartered. 

"Seafood landing licensee" means any individual who has 

obtained a Seafood Landing License from the commission. 

4VAC20-610-50. Commercial hook-and-line license. 

(Repealed.) 

A. On or after January 1, 1993, it shall be unlawful for any 

person to take or harvest fish in the tidal waters of Virginia 

with hook-and-line, rod-and-reel, or hand line and to sell such 

harvest without first having purchased a Commercial Hook-

and-Line License from the commission or its agent. 

B. A Commercial Fisherman Registration License, as 

described in § 28.2-241 H of the Code of Virginia, is required 

prior to the purchase of this license. 

4VAC20-610-60. Mandatory harvest reporting. 

A. It shall be unlawful for any valid commercial fisherman 

registration licensee, seafood landing licensee, oyster 

aquaculture product owner permittee, or clam aquaculture 

product owner permittee to fail to fully report harvests and 

related information as set forth in this chapter. 

B. It shall be unlawful for any recreational fisherman, 

charter boat captain, head boat captain, commercial fishing 

pier operator, or owner of a private boat licensed pursuant to 

§§ 28.2-302.7 through 28.2-302.9 of the Code of Virginia, to 

fail to report recreational harvests, upon request, to those 

authorized by the commission. 

https://webapps.mrc.virginia.gov/harvest/
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C. All registered commercial fishermen and any valid 

seafood landing licensee shall complete a daily form 

accurately quantifying and legibly describing that day's 

harvest from Virginia tidal waters and federal waters. The 

forms used to record daily harvest shall be those provided by 

the commission or another form or method approved by the 

commission. Registered commercial fishermen and seafood 

landing licensees may use more than one form when selling 

to more than one buyer. 

D. Any oyster aquaculture product owner permittee or clam 

aquaculture product owner permittee shall complete a provide 

monthly form harvest records accurately quantifying and 

legibly describing that month's harvest from Virginia tidal 

waters as described in subsection H of this section. The forms 

used to record monthly harvest shall be those provided by the 

commission or another form approved by the commission. 

All records shall only be submitted through the Online 

Mandatory Harvest Reporting Program Web Application. 

E. Registered commercial fishermen, seafood landing 

licensees, valid oyster aquaculture product owner permittees, 

and valid clam aquaculture product owner permittees shall 

submit a monthly harvest report to the commission no later 

than the fifth day of the following month, except as described 

in subsection F of this section. This report shall be 

accompanied by the daily harvest records described in 

subsection G H of this section. Completed forms shall be 

mailed or delivered to the commission or other designated 

locations Virginia Marine Resources Commission, 380 

Fenwick Road, Building 96, Fort Monroe, VA 23651, or be 

submitted through the Online Mandatory Harvest Reporting 

Program Web Application. 

F. All reports of the commercial harvest of cobia shall only 

be submitted through the Mandatory Harvest Reporting 

Program Web Application. This report shall provide daily 

harvest records from Sunday through Saturday as described in 

subsection G H of this section and be submitted on a weekly 

basis no later than Wednesday of the following week. 

G. All reports of the commercial harvest of oysters shall 

only be submitted through the Online Mandatory Harvest 

Reporting Program Web Application. This report shall 

provide daily harvest records of oysters as described in 

subsection H of this section and be submitted no later than the 

fifth day of the following month. 

H. The harvest report requirements shall be as follows: 

1. Registered commercial fishermen shall be responsible 

for providing a harvest report and daily harvest records that 

include the name and signature of the registered 

commercial fisherman and the commercial fisherman's 

registration license number; the name and license 

registration number of any agent, if used; the license 

registration number of no more than five helpers additional 

harvesters who were not serving as agents; any buyer or 

private sale information; the date of any harvest; the city or 

county of landing that harvest; the water body fished, gear 

type, and amount of gear used for that harvest; the number 

of hours any gear was fished and the number of hours the 

registered commercial fisherman fished; the number of 

crew on board, including captain; species harvested; 

market category; live weight or processed weight of 

species harvested; and vessel identification (Coast Guard 

documentation number, Virginia license number, or 

hull/VIN number). Any information on the price paid for 

the harvest may be provided voluntarily.  

2. The harvest report from oyster aquaculture product 

owner permittees and clam aquaculture product owner 

permittees shall include the name, signature, permit 

number, lease number, date of the last day of the reporting 

month, city or county of landing, gear (growing technique) 

used, weight or amount of species harvested by market 

category, total number of individual crew members for the 

month, and buyer or private sale information.  

3. The harvest report and daily harvest records from 

seafood landing licensees shall include the name and 

signature of the seafood landing licensee and the licensee's 

seafood landing license number; buyer or private sale 

information; date of harvest; city or county of landing; 

water body fished; gear type and amount used; number of 

hours gear fished; number of hours the seafood landing 

licensee fished; number of crew on board, including 

captain; nonfederally non-federally permitted species 

harvested; market category; live weight or processed 

weight of species harvested; and vessel identification 

(Coast Guard documentation number, Virginia license 

number, or hull/VIN number). 

H. I. Registered commercial fishermen, oyster aquaculture 

product owner permittees and clam aquaculture product 

owner permittees not fishing during a month, or seafood 

landing licensees not landing in Virginia during a month shall 

so notify the commission no later than the fifth of the 

following month by postage paid postal card provided by the 

commission or by calling the commission's toll free telephone 

line or through the Online Mandatory Harvest Reporting 

Program Web Application. 

I. J. Any person licensed as a commercial seafood buyer 

pursuant to § 28.2-228 of the Code of Virginia shall maintain 

for a period of one year a copy of each fisherman's daily 

harvest record form for each purchase made. Such records 

shall be made available upon request to those authorized by 

the commission. 

J. Registered commercial fishermen, seafood landing 

licensees, oyster aquaculture product owner permittees, and 

clam aquaculture product owner permittees shall maintain 

their harvest records for one year and shall make them 

available upon request to those authorized by the 

commission. 
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K. The reporting of the harvest of federally permitted 

species from beyond Virginia's tidal waters that are sold to a 

federally permitted dealer shall be exempt from the 

procedures described in this section. 

L. The owner of any purse seine vessel or bait seine vessel 

(snapper rig) licensed under the provisions of § 28.2-402 of 

the Code of Virginia shall submit the Captain's Daily Fishing 

Reports to the National Marine Fisheries Service, in 

accordance with provisions of Amendment 1 to the Interstate 

Fishery Management Plan of the Atlantic States Marine 

Fisheries Commission for Atlantic Menhaden, which became 

effective July 2001. 

M. Registered commercial fishermen, seafood landing 

licensees, and licensed seafood buyers shall allow those 

authorized by the commission to sample harvest and seafood 

products to obtain biological information for scientific and 

management purposes only. Such sampling shall be 

conducted in a manner that does not hinder normal business 

operations. 

N. Registered commercial fishermen, seafood landing 

licensees, oyster aquaculture product owner permittees, and 

clam aquaculture product owner permittees shall maintain 

their harvest records for one year and shall make them 

available upon request to those authorized by the 

commission. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R21-6500; Filed August 26, 2020, 10:41 a.m.  

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Marine Resources 

Commission is claiming an exemption from the 

Administrative Process Act in accordance with § 2.2-4006 A 

11 of the Code of Virginia; however, the commission is 

required to publish the full text of final regulations. 

Title of Regulation: 4VAC20-620. Pertaining to Summer 

Flounder (amending 4VAC20-620-10, 4VAC20-620-40, 

4VAC20-620-80; adding 4VAC20-620-41, 4VAC20-620-

42).  

Statutory Authority: § 28.2-201 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: September 1, 2020.  

Agency Contact: Jennifer Farmer, Regulatory Coordinator, 

Marine Resources Commission, 380 Fenwick Road, Fort 

Monroe, VA 23651, telephone (757) 247-2248, or email 

jennifer.farmer@mrc.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendments (i) incorporate provisions for landing 

licenses pertaining to summer flounder previously under 

the general landing licenses regulation, (ii) remove the 

tonnage requirement as it relates to baseline vessels for 

transfers, and (iii) establish the fall 2020 commercial 

offshore summer flounder fishery management measures. 

4VAC20-620-10. Purpose.  

The purpose of this chapter is to reduce manage commercial 

and recreational fishing mortality in order to rebuild the 

severely depleted maintain healthy stocks of summer flounder 

and to establish a license for commercial fishing vessels to 

land summer flounder in Virginia.  

4VAC20-620-40. Commercial vessel possession and 

landing limitations. 

A. It shall be unlawful for any person harvesting summer 

flounder outside of Virginia's waters to do any of the 

following, except as described in subsections B, C, D, E, and 

F of this section: 

1. Possess aboard any vessel in Virginia waters any amount 

of summer flounder in excess of 10% by weight of Atlantic 

croaker or the combined landings, on board a vessel, of 

black sea bass, scup, squid, scallops, and Atlantic 

mackerel. 

2. Possess aboard any vessel in Virginia waters any amount 

of summer flounder in excess of 1,500 pounds landed in 

combination with Atlantic croaker. 

3. Fail to sell the vessel's entire harvest of all species at the 

point of landing. 

B. Nothing in this chapter shall preclude a vessel from 

possessing any North Carolina or New Jersey vessel 

possession limit of summer flounder in Virginia; however, no 

vessel that possesses the North Carolina or New Jersey vessel 

possession limit of summer flounder shall offload any amount 

of that possession limit, except as described in subsection K 

of this section. 

C. From February 24 through March 31, it shall be unlawful 

for any person harvesting summer flounder outside of 

Virginia waters to do any of the following: 

1. Possess aboard any vessel in Virginia waters any amount 

of summer flounder in excess of the combined total of the 

Virginia landing limit described in subdivision 2 of this 

subsection and the amount of the legal North Carolina or 

New Jersey landing limit or trip limit.  

2. Land in Virginia more than a total of 12,500 pounds of 

summer flounder. 

3. Land in Virginia any amount of summer flounder more 

than once in any consecutive five-day period.  

D. From October 1 September 8 through November 15 

October 31, it shall be unlawful for any person harvesting 

summer flounder outside of Virginia waters to do any of the 

following:  

1. Possess aboard any vessel in Virginia waters any amount 

of summer flounder in excess of the combined total of the 

Virginia landing limit described in subdivision 2 of this 

mailto:jennifer.farmer@mrc.virginia.gov
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subsection and the amount of the legal North Carolina or 

New Jersey landing limit or trip limit.  

2. Land in Virginia more than a total of 10,000 12,000 

pounds of summer flounder.  

3. Land in Virginia any amount of summer flounder more 

than once in any consecutive five-day period. 

E. From November 16 1 through December 31, it shall be 

unlawful for any person harvesting summer flounder outside 

of Virginia waters to do any of the following:  

1. Possess aboard any vessel in Virginia waters any amount 

of summer flounder in excess of the total of the Virginia 

landing limit described in subdivision 2 of this subsection 

and the amount of the legal North Carolina or New Jersey 

landing limit or trip limit.  

2. Land in Virginia more than a total of 10,000 12,000 

pounds of summer flounder.  

3. Land in Virginia any amount of summer flounder more 

than once in any consecutive five-day period. 

F. From January 1 through December 31, any boat or vessel 

issued a valid federal summer flounder moratorium permit 

and owned and operated by a legal Virginia Commercial 

Hook-and-Line Licensee that possesses a Restricted Summer 

Flounder Endorsement shall be restricted to a possession and 

landing limit of 200 pounds of summer flounder, except as 

described in 4VAC20-620-30 F. 

G. Upon request by a marine police officer, the seafood 

buyer or processor shall offload and accurately determine the 

total weight of all summer flounder aboard any vessel landing 

summer flounder in Virginia. 

H. Any possession limit described in this section shall be 

determined by the weight in pounds of summer flounder as 

customarily packed, boxed, and weighed by the seafood 

buyer or processor. The weight of any summer flounder in 

pounds found in excess of any possession limit described in 

this section shall be prima facie evidence of violation of this 

chapter. Persons in possession of summer flounder aboard 

any vessel in excess of the possession limit shall be in 

violation of this chapter unless that vessel has requested and 

been granted safe harbor. Any buyer or processor offloading 

or accepting any quantity of summer flounder from any vessel 

in excess of the possession limit shall be in violation of this 

chapter, except as described by subsection K of this section. 

A buyer or processor may accept or buy summer flounder 

from a vessel that has secured safe harbor, provided that 

vessel has satisfied the requirements described in subsection 

K of this section.  

I. If a person violates the possession limits described in this 

section, the entire amount of summer flounder in that person's 

possession shall be confiscated. Any confiscated summer 

flounder shall be considered as a removal from the 

appropriate commercial harvest or landings quota. Upon 

confiscation, the marine police officer shall inventory the 

confiscated summer flounder and, at a minimum, secure two 

bids for purchase of the confiscated summer flounder from 

approved and licensed seafood buyers. The confiscated fish 

will be sold to the highest bidder, and all funds derived from 

such sale shall be deposited for the Commonwealth pending 

court resolution of the charge of violating the possession 

limits established by this chapter. All of the collected funds 

will be returned to the accused upon a finding of innocence or 

forfeited to the Commonwealth upon a finding of guilty.  

J. It shall be unlawful for a licensed seafood buyer or 

federally permitted seafood buyer to fail to contact the Marine 

Resources Commission Operation Station prior to a vessel 

offloading summer flounder harvested outside of Virginia. 

The buyer shall provide to the Marine Resources Commission 

the name of the vessel, its captain, an estimate of the amount 

in pounds of summer flounder on board that vessel, and the 

anticipated or approximate offloading time. Once offloading 

of any vessel is complete and the weight of the landed 

summer flounder has been determined, the buyer shall contact 

the Marine Resources Commission Operations Station and 

report the vessel name and corresponding weight of summer 

flounder landed. It shall be unlawful for any person to offload 

from a boat or vessel for commercial purposes any summer 

flounder during the period of 9 p.m. to 7 a.m.  

K. Any boat or vessel that has entered Virginia waters for 

safe harbor shall only offload summer flounder when the state 

that licenses that vessel requests to transfer quota to Virginia, 

in the amount that corresponds to that vessel's possession 

limit, and the commissioner agrees to accept that transfer of 

quota.  

L. After any commercial harvest or landing quota as 

described in 4VAC20-620-30 has been attained and 

announced as such, any boat or vessel possessing summer 

flounder on board may enter Virginia waters for safe harbor 

but shall contact the Marine Resources Commission 

Operation Center in advance of such entry into Virginia 

waters.  

M. It shall be unlawful for any person harvesting summer 

flounder outside of Virginia waters to possess aboard any 

vessel, in Virginia, any amount of summer flounder, once it 

has been projected and announced that 100% of the quota 

described in 4VAC20-620-30 A has been taken. 

4VAC20-620-41. Summer flounder endorsement license, 

restricted summer flounder endorsement license, and 

exemption. 

A. It shall be unlawful for any boat or vessel to land summer 

flounder in Virginia, for commercial purposes, without first 

obtaining a Seafood Landing License as described in 

4VAC20-920-30 and a Summer Flounder Endorsement 

License or possessing a Restricted Summer Flounder 
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Endorsement License. The Summer Flounder Endorsement 

License shall be required of each boat or vessel used to land 

summer flounder for commercial purposes. Possession of any 

quantity of summer flounder that exceeds the possession 

limit, described in 4VAC20-620-60, shall be presumed to be 

for commercial purposes. Any boat or vessel so licensed shall 

display a Summer Flounder Endorsement License decal, 

provided by the Virginia Marine Resources Commission. The 

decals shall be displayed on both the port and starboard sides 

of the pilot house. 

B. It shall be unlawful for any buyer of seafood to receive 

any summer flounder from any boat or vessel that is not 

licensed for the landing of summer flounder unless that boat 

or vessel is exempt from the requirement to obtain a Seafood 

Landing License and a Summer Flounder Endorsement 

License as described in 4VAC20-920-30 and this section. 

C. Any boat or vessel that is both owned and operated by a 

person who holds a valid Virginia Commercial Fisherman 

Registration License and is used solely for fishing for 

summer flounder only in Virginia waters shall be exempt 

from the requirement to obtain a Summer Flounder 

Endorsement License. 

D. Any boat or vessel operated by a person harvesting and 

landing marine seafood from the Potomac River who holds a 

valid Potomac River Fisheries Commission commercial 

license shall be exempt from the requirement to obtain a 

Summer Flounder Endorsement License. 

E. Any boat or vessel operated by a person harvesting and 

landing marine seafood from leased ground or reharvesting 

marine seafood as part of the relay process shall be exempt 

from the requirements to obtain a Summer Flounder 

Endorsement License. 

F. To be eligible for a Summer Flounder Endorsement 

License the boat or vessel shall have landed and sold at least 

500 pounds of summer flounder in Virginia in at least one 

year during the period of 1993 through 1995. 

1. The owner shall complete an application for each boat or 

vessel by providing to the commission a notarized and 

signed statement of applicant's name, address, telephone 

number, boat or vessel name, and registration or 

documentation number and a copy of the vessel's federal 

summer flounder moratorium permit. 

2. The owner shall complete a notarized authorization to 

allow the commission to obtain copies of landings data 

from the National Marine Fisheries Service. 

G. To be eligible for a Restricted Summer Flounder 

Endorsement License (RSFEL), a person must be a legal 

Virginia commercial hook-and-line licensee and own a vessel 

issued a valid federal summer flounder moratorium permit. 

The person shall complete an application for the RSFEL by 

providing to the commission a notarized and signed statement 

of the person's name, address, telephone number, boat or 

vessel name, the boat or vessel's registration or 

documentation number, and a copy of that vessel's federal 

summer flounder moratorium permit.  

H. Effective February 24, 2004, any vessel eligible for a 

Summer Flounder Endorsement License shall be considered a 

baseline vessel, and that vessel's total length shall be used to 

determine eligibility for all future transfers of that Summer 

Flounder Endorsement License. A Summer Flounder 

Endorsement License may be transferred from one vessel to 

another vessel that is entering the summer flounder fishery, 

provided the vessel receiving the Summer Flounder 

Endorsement License does not exceed by more than 10% the 

total length of the baseline vessel that held that Summer 

Flounder Endorsement License on February 24, 2004. 

4VAC20-620-42. Summer flounder endorsement license 

and hardship exception. 

Any licensed fisherman who provides to the commissioner 

an opinion and supporting documentation from an attending 

physician of an existing medical condition, proof of active 

military service, documentation that indicates substantial 

vessel damage, or other significant extenuating circumstances 

that prevented that licensed fisherman from satisfying the 

eligibility criteria described in 4VAC 20-620-41 F and can 

provide documentation of having landed at least 500 pounds 

of summer flounder during any one year of the 1990 through 

1992 period may be authorized for an exception to the 

requirements to be eligible for a Summer Flounder 

Endorsement License as described in 4VAC 20-620-41 F. 

4VAC20-620-80. Penalty.  

A. As set forth in § 28.2-903 of the Code of Virginia, any 

person violating any provision of this chapter shall be guilty of a 

Class 3 misdemeanor, and a second or subsequent violation of 

any provision of this chapter committed by the same person 

within 12 months of a prior violation is a Class 1 misdemeanor.  

B. Any person found guilty of violating any of the seafood laws 

or regulations of Virginia may have that person's Summer 

Flounder Endorsement License revoked upon review by the 

commission as provided for in § 28.2-232 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R21-6499; Filed August 26, 2020, 10:37 a.m.  

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Marine Resources 

Commission is claiming an exemption from the 

Administrative Process Act in accordance with § 2.2-4006 A 

11 of the Code of Virginia; however, the commission is 

required to publish the full text of final regulations. 

Title of Regulation: 4VAC20-720. Pertaining to 

Restrictions on Oyster Harvest (amending 4VAC20-720-

20, 4VAC20-720-40 through 4VAC20-720-85, 4VAC20-

720-91).  
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Statutory Authority: § 28.2-201 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: October 1, 2020.  

Agency Contact: Jennifer Farmer, Regulatory Coordinator, 

Marine Resources Commission, 380 Fenwick Road, Fort 

Monroe, VA 23651, telephone (757) 247-2248, or email 

jennifer.farmer@mrc.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendments establish for 2020-2021 the (i) areas of 

public oyster harvest, (ii) duration of public oyster harvest 

seasons, and (iii) public oyster harvest conservation 

measures. 

4VAC20-720-20. Definitions.  

The following words and terms when used in this chapter 

shall have the following meanings unless the context clearly 

indicates otherwise:  

"Aid to navigation" means any public or private day beacon, 

lighted channel marker, channel buoy, lighted channel buoy, 

or lighthouse that may be at, or adjacent to, any latitude and 

longitude used in area descriptions. 

"Clean culled oyster" means any oyster taken from natural 

public beds, rocks, or shoals that is three inches or greater in 

shell length. 

"Coan River Area" means the Public Grounds within the 

Coan River excluding consisting of Public Grounds 77 and 78 

of Northumberland County. described as: 

Public Ground 77 of Northumberland County is located 

near the mouth of the Coan River, beginning at a point 

approximately 2,300 feet northeast of Honest Point and 

1,300 feet southwest of Travis Point, said point being 

Corner 1, located at Latitude 37° 59.5257207' N., 

Longitude 76° 27.8810639' W.; thence southwesterly to 

Corner 2, Latitude 37° 59.3710259' N., Longitude 76° 

27.9962148' W.; thence southwesterly to Corner 3, 

Latitude 37° 59.2953830' N., Longitude 76° 28.0468953' 

W.; thence northwesterly to Corner 4, Latitude 37° 

59.3350863' N., Longitude 76° 28.0968837' W.; thence 

northeasterly to Corner 5, Latitude 37° 59.3965161' N., 

Longitude 76° 28.0287342' W.; thence northwesterly to 

Corner 6, Latitude 37° 59.4758507' N., Longitude 76° 

28.1112280' W.; thence north-northwesterly to Corner 7, 

Latitude 37° 59.5079401' N., Longitude 76° 28.1230058' 

W.; thence northeasterly to Corner 8, Latitude 37° 

59.5579153' N., Longitude 76° 27.9889429' W.; thence 

southeasterly to Corner 1, said corner being the point of 

beginning. 

Public Ground 78 of Northumberland County is located 

near the mouth of the Coan River, beginning at a point 

approximately 3,420 feet southeast of Travis Point and 

3,260 feet northwest of Great Point, said point being 

Corner 1, located at Latitude 37° 59.4822275' N., 

Longitude 76° 27.1878637' W.; thence southeasterly to 

Corner 2, Latitude 37° 59.3824046' N., Longitude 76° 

27.1088650' W.; thence southwesterly to Corner 3, 

Latitude 37° 59.2283287' N., Longitude 76° 27.8632901' 

W.; thence northeasterly to Corner 4, Latitude 37° 

59.4368502' N., Longitude 76° 27.6868001' W.; thence 

continuing northeasterly to Corner 5, Latitude 37° 

59.5949216' N., Longitude 76° 27.5399436' W.; thence 

southeasterly to Corner 1, said corner being the point of 

beginning. 

"Corrotoman Hand Tong Area" means all public grounds, in 

that area of the Corrotoman River between a line beginning at 

Ball Point, Latitude 37° 40.65133000' N., Longitude 76° 

28.4440000' W.; thence easterly to a point at the western side 

of the mouth of Taylor Creek, at Latitude 37° 40.97331000' 

N., Longitude 76° 27.59471000' W.; upstream to a line from 

Bar Point, Latitude 37° 41.65256000' N., Longitude 76° 

28.66195000' W.; thence easterly to Black Stump Point, 

Latitude 37° 41.7360900' N., Longitude 76° 28.1212200' W. 

"Deep Rock Area" means all public grounds and unassigned 

grounds, in that area of the Chesapeake Bay near Gwynn 

Island, beginning at Cherry Point at the western-most point of 

the eastern headland of Kibble Pond located at Latitude 37° 

30.9802148' N., Longitude 76° 17.6764393' W.; thence 

northeasterly to the Piankatank River, Flashing Green 

Channel Light "3", Latitude 37° 32.3671325' N., Longitude 

76° 16.7038334' W.; thence east-southeasterly to the 

Rappahannock River Entrance Lighted Buoy G"1R", Latitude 

37° 32.2712833' N., Longitude 76° 11.4813666' W.; thence 

southwesterly to the southern-most point of Sandy Point, the 

northern headland of "The Hole in the Wall", Latitude 37° 

28.1475258' N., Longitude 76° 15.8185670' W.; thence 

northwesterly along the Chesapeake Bay mean low water line 

of the barrier islands of Milford Haven, connecting headland 

to headland at their eastern-most points, and of Gwynn Island 

to the western-most point of the eastern headland of Kibble 

Pond on Cherry Point, said point being the point of 

beginning. 

"Deep Water Shoal State Replenishment Seed Area" or 

"DWS" means that area in the James River near Mulberry 

Island, beginning at a point approximately 530 feet west of 

Deep Water Shoal Light, said point being Corner 1, located at 

Latitude 37° 08.9433287' N., Longitude 76° 38.3213007' W.; 

thence southeasterly to Corner 2, Latitude 37° 09.5734380' 

N., Longitude 76° 37.8300582' W.; thence southwesterly to 

Corner 3, Latitude 37° 08.9265524' N., Longitude 76° 

37.0574269' W.; thence westerly to Corner 4, Latitude 37° 

08.4466039 N., Longitude 76° 37.4523346' W.; thence 

northwesterly to Corner 5, Latitude 37° 08.4491489' N., 

Longitude 76° 38.0215553' W.; thence northeasterly to 

Corner 1, said corner being the point of beginning. 

"Great Wicomico River Rotation Area1" means all public 

grounds and unassigned grounds, in that area of the Great 
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Wicomico River, Ingram Bay, and the Chesapeake Bay, 

beginning at a point on Sandy Point, Latitude 37° 

49.3269652' N., Longitude 76° 18.3821766' W.; thence 

easterly to the southern-most point of Cockrell Point, Latitude 

37° 49.2664838' N., Longitude 76° 17.3454434' W.; thence 

easterly following the mean low water line of Cockrell Point 

to a point on the boundary of Public Ground 115 at Cash 

Point, Latitude 37° 49.2695619' N., Longitude 76° 

17.2804046' W.; thence southeasterly to the gazebo on the 

pier head at Fleeton Point, Latitude 37° 48.7855824' N., 

Longitude 76° 16.9609311' W.; thence southeasterly to the 

Great Wicomico River Light; Latitude 37° 48.2078167' N., 

Longitude 76° 15.9799333' W.; thence westerly to a point on 

the offshore end of the southern jetty at the entrance to 

Towles Creek, Latitude 37° 48.3743771' N., Longitude 76° 

17.9600320' W.; thence northerly crossing the entrance to 

Towles Creek at the offshore ends of the jetties and 

continuing along the mean low water line to Bussel Point, 

Latitude 37° 48.6879208' N., Longitude 76° 18.4670860' W.; 

thence northwesterly to the northern headland of Cranes 

Creek, Latitude 37° 48.8329168' N., Longitude 76° 

18.7308073' W.; thence following the mean low water line 

northerly to a point on Sandy Point, Latitude 37° 49.3269652' 

N., Longitude 76° 18.3821766' W., said point being the point 

of beginning. 

"Great Wicomico River Rotation Area 2" means all public 

grounds and unassigned grounds, in that area of the Great 

Wicomico River, Ingram Bay, and the Chesapeake Bay, 

beginning at a point on Great Wicomico River Light, Latitude 

37° 48.2078167' N., Longitude 76° 15.9799333' W.; thence 

due south to a point due east of the southern-most point of 

Dameron Marsh, Latitude 37° 46.6610003' N., Longitude 76° 

16.0570007' W.; thence due west to the southern-most point 

of Dameron Marsh, Latitude 37° 46.6609070' N., Longitude 

76° 17.2670707' W.; thence along the mean low water line of 

Dameron Marsh, north and west to Garden Point, Latitude 

37° 47.2519872' N., Longitude 76° 18.4028142' W.; thence 

northwesterly to Windmill Point, Latitude 37° 47.5194547' 

N., Longitude 76° 18.7132194' W.; thence northerly along the 

mean low water line to the western headland of Harveys 

Creek, Latitude 37° 47.7923573' N., Longitude 76° 

18.6881450' W.; thence east-southeasterly to the eastern 

headland of Harveys Creek, Latitude 37° 47.7826936' N., 

Longitude 76° 18.5469879' W.; thence northerly along the 

mean low water line to a point on the offshore end of the 

southern jetty at the entrance to Towles Creek, Latitude 37° 

48.3743771' N., Longitude 76° 17.9600320' W.; thence 

easterly to Great Wicomico River Light, Latitude 37° 

48.2078167' N., Longitude 76° 15.9799333' W., said point 

being the point of beginning. 

"Hand scrape" means any device or instrument with a 

catching bar having an inside measurement of no more than 

22 inches, which is used or usable for the purpose of 

extracting or removing shellfish from a water bottom or the 

bed of a body of water.  

"Hand tong" or "ordinary tong" means any pincers, nippers, 

tongs, or similar device used in catching oysters, which 

consists of two shafts or handles attached to opposable and 

complementary pincers, baskets, or containers operated 

entirely by hand, from the surface of the water and has no 

external or internal power source. 

"James River Area 1"means all public grounds and 

unassigned grounds, in that area of the James River, 

beginning at the Flashing Green Channel Light #5, located at 

Latitude 37° 02.3528833' N., Longitude 76° 32.7785333' W.; 

thence southeasterly to the Flashing Green Channel Light #3, 

located at Latitude 37° 01.7124500' N., Longitude 76° 

31.8210667' W.; thence southeasterly to the Flashing Green 

Channel Light #1, located at Latitude 37° 00.7666667' N., 

Longitude 76° 29.9083333' W.; thence southeasterly to the 

northeast corner of the western draw span pier of the James 

River Bridge (U.S. Route 17), Latitude 37° 00.1524824' N., 

Longitude 76° 28.1581984' W.; thence southwesterly along 

the upstream side of the James River Bridge to the mean low 

water line; thence northwesterly along the mean low water 

line, crossing Kings Creek at the headlands and continuing 

along the mean low water line to a point on the shore at 

Rainbow Farm Point in line with VMRC Markers "STH" and 

"SMT," located at Latitude 37° 00.1965862' N., Longitude 

76° 34.0712010' W.; thence north-northeasterly to a VMRC 

Marker "STH," Latitude 37° 00.9815328' N., Longitude 76° 

33.5955842' W.; thence to a VMRC Marker "SMT," at 

Latitude 37° 01.3228160' N., Longitude 76° 33.3887351' W.; 

thence to the Flashing Green Channel Light #5, at Latitude 

37° 02.3528833' N., Longitude 76° 32.7785333' W., said 

point being the point of beginning. 

"James River Area 2"means all public grounds and 

unassigned grounds, in that area of the James River, 

beginning at the Flashing Green Channel Light #5, located at 

Latitude 37° 02.3528833' N., Longitude 76° 32.7785333' W.; 

thence northeasterly to a VMRC Marker "NMT," Latitude 

37° 02.7740540' N., Longitude 76° 32.0960864' W.; thence to 

a VMRC Marker "NTH" located at Latitude 37° 03.2030055' 

N., Longitude 76° 31.4231211' W.; thence to a point on the 

north shore of the river at Blunt (Blount) Point, said point 

being in line with VMRC Markers "NMT" and "NTH" and 

located at Latitude 37° 03.3805862' N., Longitude 76° 

31.1444562' W.; thence southeasterly along the mean low 

water line to the upstream side of the James River Bridge 

(U.S. Route 17); thence westerly along the James River 

Bridge to the northeast corner of the western draw span pier, 

Latitude 37° 00.1524824' N., Longitude 76° 28.1581984' W.; 

thence northwesterly to the Flashing Green Channel Light #1, 

located at Latitude 37° 00.7666667' N., Longitude 76° 

29.9083333' W.; thence northwesterly to the Flashing Green 

Channel Light #3, located at Latitude 37° 01.7124500' N., 

Longitude 76° 31.8210667' W.; thence northwesterly to the 
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Flashing Green Channel Light #5, located at Latitude 37° 

02.3528833' N., Longitude 76° 32.7785333' W., said point 

being the point of beginning. 

"James River Area 3" means those public grounds of Isle of 

Wight County and Nansemond County (City of Suffolk) 

located in the James River and Nansemond River west of the 

Monitor Merrimac Memorial Bridge Tunnel (Route I-664), 

northeast of the Mills E. Godwin, Jr. Bridge (U.S. Route 17) 

on the Nansemond River, and south of the James River 

Bridge (U.S. Route 17). 

"James River Seed Area"means all public grounds and 

unassigned grounds in that area of the James River and its 

tributaries with a southeastern boundary beginning at a point 

on the shore on the south side of the river at Rainbow Farm 

Point in Isle of Wight County located at Latitude 37° 

00.1965862' N., Longitude 76° 34.0712010' W.; thence north-

northeasterly to a VMRC Marker "STH," Latitude 37° 

00.9815328 N., Longitude 76° 33.5955842' W.; thence to a 

VMRC Marker "SMT," at Latitude 37° 01.3228160' N., 

Longitude 76° 33.3887351' W.; thence to the Flashing Green 

Channel Light #5, at Latitude 37° 02.3528833' N., Longitude 

76° 32.7785333' W.; thence northeasterly to a VMRC Marker 

"NMT," Latitude 37° 02.7740540' N., Longitude 76° 

32.0960864' W.; thence to a VMRC Marker "NTH" located at 

Latitude 37° 03.2030055' N., Longitude 76° 31.4231211' W.; 

thence to a point on the north shore of the river at Blunt 

(Blount) Point, in the City of Newport News, located at 

Latitude 37° 03.3805862' N., Longitude 76° 31.1444562' W.; 

the northern boundary, being a straight line, beginning at a 

point on the shore on the east side of the river in the City of 

Newport News, at Latitude 37° 08.4458787' N., Longitude 

76° 37.2855533' W.; thence westerly to the southeast corner 

of the Deep Water Shoal State Replenishment Seed Area, 

Latitude 37° 08.4466039' N., Longitude 76° 37.4523346' W.; 

thence westerly to the southwest corner of the Deep Water 

Shoal State Replenishment Seed Area, Latitude 37° 

08.4490472' N., Longitude 76° 38.0215554' W.; thence 

westerly to a point on the shore on the west side of the river at 

the mouth of Lawnes Creek in Isle of Wight County, Latitude 

37° 08.4582990' N., Longitude 76° 40.2816023' W. 

"Latitude and longitude" means values that are based upon a 

geodetic reference system of the North American Datum of 

1983 (NAD83). When latitude and longitude are used in any 

area description, in conjunction with any physical landmark, 

to include aids to navigation, the latitude and longitude value 

is the legal point defining the boundary. 

"Little Wicomico River" means that area of the Little 

Wicomico River inside of Public Ground 43 of 

Northumberland County, located in the Little Wicomico 

River near Bridge Creek, beginning at a point approximately 

150 feet north of Peachtree Point, said point being Corner 1, 

located at Latitude 37° 53.2910650' N., Longitude 76° 

16.7312926' W.; thence southwesterly to Corner 2, Latitude 

37° 53.2601877' N., Longitude 76° 16.8662408' W.; thence 

northwesterly to Corner 3, Latitude 37° 53.2678470' N., 

Longitude 76° 16.8902408' W.; thence northeasterly to 

Corner 4, Latitude 37° 53.3113148' N., Longitude 76° 

16.8211543' W.; thence southeasterly to Corner 1, said corner 

being the point of beginning. 

"Milford Haven" means that area of Milford Haven inside of 

Public Ground 7 of Mathews County, beginning at a point 

approximately 1,380 feet east of Point Breeze, said point 

being Corner 1, located at Latitude 37° 28.3500000' N., 

Longitude 76° 16.5000000' W.; thence northeasterly to 

Corner 2, Latitude 37° 28.3700000' N., Longitude 76° 

16.4700000' W.; thence southeasterly to Corner 3, Latitude 

37° 28.3500000' N., Longitude 76° 16.4200000' W.; thence 

southwesterly to Corner 4, Latitude 37° 28.3200000' N., 

Longitude 76° 16.4500000' W.; thence northwesterly to 

Corner 1, said corner being the point of beginning. 

"Mobjack Bay Area" means that area of Mobjack Bay 

consisting of Public Ground 2 of Mathews County (Pultz Bar) 

and Public Ground 25 of Gloucester County (Tow Stake) 

described as: 

Public Ground 2 of Mathews County, known as Pultz Bar, 

is located in Mobjack Bay, beginning at a point 

approximately 5,420 feet south of Minter Point, said point 

being Corner 1, located at Latitude 37° 21.2500000' N., 

Longitude 76° 21.3700000' W.; thence easterly to Corner 

2, Latitude 37° 21.2700000' N., Longitude 76° 20.9600000' 

W.; thence southerly to Corner 3, Latitude 37° 21.0200000' 

N., Longitude 76° 20.9400000' W.; thence westerly to 

Corner 4, Latitude 37° 21.0500000' N., Longitude 76° 

21.3300000' W.; thence northerly to Corner 1, said corner 

being the point of beginning. 

Public Ground 25 of Gloucester County, known as Tow 

Stake, is located in Mobjack Bay, near the mouth of the 

Severn River, beginning at a point approximately 2,880 

feet east-northeast of Tow Stake Point, said point being 

Corner 1, located at Latitude 37° 20.3883888' N., 

Longitude 76° 23.5883836' W.; thence northeasterly to 

Corner 2, Latitude 37° 30.5910482' N., Longitude 76° 

23.2372184' W.; thence southeasterly to Corner 3, Latitude 

37° 20.3786971' N., Longitude 76° 22.7241180' W.; thence 

southwesterly to Corner 4, Latitude 37° 19.8616759' N., 

Longitude 76° 23.5914937' W.; thence northwesterly to 

Corner 5, Latitude 37° 20.0284019' N., Longitude 76° 

23.7717423' W.; thence northeasterly to Corner 1, said 

corner being the point of beginning. 

"Nomini Creek Area" means that area of Nomini Creek 

inside of Public Grounds 26 and 28 of Westmoreland County. 

Public Ground 26 of Westmoreland County is located in 

Nomini Creek, north of Beales Wharf and east of Barnes 

Point, beginning at a point approximately 1,400 feet north 

of Barnes Point, said point being Corner 1, located at 



Regulations 

Volume 37, Issue 2 Virginia Register of Regulations September 14, 2020 

282 

Latitude 38° 07.2690219' N., Longitude 76° 42.6784210' 

W.; thence southeasterly to Corner 2, Latitude 38° 

07.0924060' N., Longitude 76° 42.4745767' W.; thence 

southwesterly to Corner 3, Latitude 38° 06.8394053' N., 

Longitude 76° 42.6704025' W.; thence northwesterly to 

Corner 4, Latitude 38° 06.8743004' N., Longitude 76° 

42.7552151' W.; thence northeasterly to Corner 5, Latitude 

38° 07.0569717' N., Longitude 76° 42.5603535' W.; thence 

northwesterly to Corner 1, said corner being the point of 

beginning. 

Public Ground 28 of Westmoreland County is located at 

the mouth of Nomini Creek, beginning at a point 

approximately 50 feet west of White Oak Point, said point 

being Corner 1, located at Latitude 38° 07.6429987' N., 

Longitude 76° 43.0337082' W.; thence south-southeasterly 

to Corner 2, Latitude 38° 07.2987193' N., Longitude 76° 

43.1101420' W.; thence northwesterly to Corner 3, 

Latitude 38° 07.7029267' N., Longitude 76° 43.3337762' 

W.; thence west to the mean low water line, Latitude 38° 

07.7031535' N., Longitude 76° 43.3378345' W.; thence 

northerly and westerly along the mean low water line of 

Nomini Creek to a point southwest of Cedar Island, 

Latitude 38° 07.8986449' N., Longitude 76° 43.6329097' 

W.; thence northeasterly to a point on the mean low water 

line at the southern-most point of Cedar Island, Latitude 

38° 07.8986449' N., Longitude 76° 43.6329097' W.; thence 

following the mean low water line of the southern and 

eastern sides of Cedar Island to a point, Latitude 38° 

08.0164430' N., Longitude 76° 43.4773169' W.; thence 

northeasterly to Corner 4, Latitude 38° 08.0712849' N., 

Longitude 76° 43.4416606' W.; thence northeasterly to a 

point on the northern headland of Nomini Creek at the 

mean low water line, said point being Corner 5, Latitude 

38° 08.2729626' N., Longitude 76° 43.3105315' W.; thence 

following the mean low water line of White Point to a 

point northwest of Snake Island, Corner 6, Latitude 38° 

08.4066960' N., Longitude 76° 42.9105565' W.; thence 

southeast, crossing the mouth of Buckner Creek, to a point 

on the mean low water line of Snake Island, Corner 7, 

Latitude 38° 08.3698254' N., Longitude 76° 42.8939656' 

W.; thence southeasterly following the mean low water 

line of Snake Island to Corner 8, Latitude 38° 08.2333798' 

N., Longitude 76° 42.7778877' W.; thence south-

southwesterly, crossing the mouth of Buckner Creek, to 

Corner 9, Latitude 38° 08.2134371' N., Longitude 76° 

42.7886409' W.; thence southeasterly to a point on the 

mean low water line of the southern headland of Buckner 

Creek, Corner 10, Latitude 38° 08.1956281' N., Longitude 

76° 42.7679625' W.; thence southwesterly following the 

mean low water line of Nomini Creek, crossing the mouth 

of an unnamed cove at the narrowest point between the 

headlands and continuing to follow the mean low water 

line to a point on White Oak Point, Latitude 38° 

07.6428228' N., Longitude 76° 43.0233530' W.; thence 

west to Corner 1, said point being the point of beginning.  

"Oyster" means any shellfish of the species Crassostrea 

virginica. 

"Oyster dredge" means any device having a maximum 

weight of 150 pounds with attachments, maximum width of 

50 inches, and maximum tooth length of four inches.  

"Oyster patent tong" means any patent tong not exceeding 

100 pounds in gross weight, including any attachment other 

than rope and with the teeth not to exceed four inches in 

length. 

"Oyster resource user fee" means a fee that must be paid 

each calendar year by anyone who grows, harvests, shucks, 

packs, or ships oysters for commercial purposes. 

"Pocomoke Sound Area" means that area of Pocomoke 

Sound inside of Public Ground 9 and Public Ground 10 of 

Accomack County. 

Public Ground 9 of Accomack County is located in the 

Pocomoke Sound, beginning at a corner on the Maryland-

Virginia state line, located in the Pocomoke Sound 

approximately 1.06 nautical miles north-northeast of the 

northern-most point of North End Point, said point being 

Corner 1, located at Latitude 37° 57.2711566' N., 

Longitude 75° 42.2870790' W. (NAD83); thence east-

northeasterly along the Maryland-Virginia state line to 

Corner 2, Latitude 37° 57.2896577' N., Longitude 75° 

41.9790727' W.; thence southerly to Corner 3, Latitude 37° 

57.2574850' N., Longitude 75° 41.9790730' W.; thence 

southwesterly to Corner 4, Latitude 37° 57.2288700' N., 

Longitude 75° 42.0077287' W.; thence west-southwesterly 

to Corner 5, Latitude 37° 57.2034533' N., Longitude 75° 

42.1511250' W.; thence south-southwesterly to Corner 6, 

Latitude 37° 57.0940590' N., Longitude 75° 42.1935214' 

W.; thence south-southeasterly to Corner 7, Latitude 37° 

57.0551726' N., Longitude 75° 42.1814457' W.; thence 

southwesterly to Corner 8, Latitude 37° 56.9408327' N., 

Longitude 75° 42.2957912' W.; thence south-southwesterly 

to Corner 9, Latitude 37° 56.6574947' N., Longitude 75° 

42.3790819' W.; thence southwesterly to Corner 10, 

Latitude 37° 56.5790952' N., Longitude 75° 42.5228752' 

W.; thence west-southwesterly to Corner 11, Latitude 37° 

56.5712564' N., Longitude 75° 42.5915437' W.; thence 

south-southeasterly to Corner 12, Latitude 37° 56.5441067' 

N., Longitude 75° 42.5869894' W.; thence southwesterly to 

Corner 13, Latitude 37° 56.4575045' N., Longitude 75° 

42.7458050' W.; thence west-southwesterly to Corner 14, 

Latitude 37° 56.2575123' N., Longitude 75° 43.3791097' 

W.; thence southwesterly to Corner 15, Latitude 37° 

55.7408688' N., Longitude 75° 43.7957804' W.; thence 

westerly to Corner 16, Latitude 37° 55.7575327' N., 

Longitude 75° 43.9458298' W.; thence northwesterly to 

Corner 17, Latitude 37° 55.8908661' N., Longitude 75° 

44.1291309' W.; thence north-northeasterly to Corner 18, 

Latitude 37° 55.9908639' N., Longitude 75° 44.0791266' 

W.; thence northeasterly to Corner 19, Latitude 37° 
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56.1241858' N., Longitude 75° 43.8791328' W.; thence 

north-northeasterly to Corner 20, Latitude 37° 56.4075136' 

N., Longitude 75° 43.7291361' W.; thence northeasterly to 

Corner 21, Latitude 37° 56.8241664' N., Longitude 75° 

43.2624601' W.; thence north-northeasterly to Corner 22, 

Latitude 37° 57.0706006' N., Longitude 75° 43.1480402' 

W.; thence east-northeasterly along the Maryland-Virginia 

state line to Corner 1, said corner being the point of 

beginning. 

Public Ground 10 of Accomack County is located in the 

Pocomoke Sound, beginning at a corner on the Maryland-

Virginia state line, located in the Pocomoke Sound 

approximately 2.3 nautical miles westerly of the northern-

most point of North End Point, said point being Corner 1, 

located at Latitude 37° 56.4741881' N., Longitude 75° 

45.7051676' W. (NAD83); thence east-northeasterly along 

the Maryland-Virginia state line to Corner 2, Latitude 37° 

56.9261140' N., Longitude 75° 43.7679786' W.; thence 

south-southwesterly to Corner 3, Latitude 37° 56.1241948' 

N., Longitude 75° 44.3624962' W.; thence west-

southwesterly to Corner 4, Latitude 37° 56.0820561' N., 

Longitude 75° 44.5826292' W.; thence northerly to Corner 

5, Latitude 37° 56.1377309' N., Longitude 75° 44.5817745' 

W.; thence west-southwesterly to Corner 6, Latitude 37° 

56.1259751' N., Longitude 75° 44.6226859' W.; thence 

southwesterly to Corner 7, Latitude 37° 56.1039335' N., 

Longitude 75° 44.6692334' W.; thence southerly to Corner 

8, Latitude 37° 56.0643616' N., Longitude 75° 44.6750106' 

W.; thence west-southwesterly to Corner 9, Latitude 37° 

55.9742005' N., Longitude 75° 45.1458109' W.; thence 

west-northwesterly to Corner 10, Latitude 37° 56.0741973' 

N., Longitude 75° 45.8958329' W.; thence north-

northwesterly to Corner 11, Latitude 37° 56.2565760' N., 

Longitude 75° 46.0000557' W.; thence northeasterly along 

the Maryland-Virginia state line to Corner 1, said corner 

being the point of beginning. 

"Pocomoke and Tangier Sounds Management Area" or 

"PTSMA" means the area as defined in § 28.2-524 of the 

Code of Virginia.  

"Pocomoke and Tangier Sounds Rotation Area 1" means all 

public grounds and unassigned grounds, within an area of the 

PTSMA, in Pocomoke and Tangier Sounds, bounded by a 

line beginning at a point on the Maryland-Virginia state line, 

located at Latitude 37° 54.6136000' N., Longitude 75° 

53.9739600' W.; thence south to the house on Great Fox 

Island, Latitude 37° 53.6946500' N., Longitude 75° 

53.8898800' W.; thence westerly to a point, Latitude 37° 

53.3633500' N., Longitude 75° 56.5589600' W.; thence south 

to a point, Latitude 37° 48.4429100' N., Longitude 75° 

56.4883600' W.; thence easterly to the north end of Watts 

Island, Latitude 37° 48.7757800' N., Longitude 75° 

53.5994100' W.; thence northerly to the house on Great Fox 

Island, Latitude 37° 53.6946500' N., Longitude 75° 

53.8898800' W.; thence southeasterly to Pocomoke Sound 

Shoal Flashing Light Red "8", Latitude 37° 52.4583300' N., 

Longitude 75° 49.4000000' W.; thence southeasterly to 

Messongo Creek Entrance Buoy Green Can "1", Latitude 37° 

52.1000000' N., Longitude 75° 47.8083300' W.; thence 

southeast to Guilford Flats Junction Light Flashing 2+1 Red 

"GF", Latitude 37° 50.9533300' N., Longitude 75° 

46.6416700' W.; thence southerly to a point on a line from 

Guilford Flats Junction Light to the northern-most point of 

Russell Island, where said line intersects the PTSMA 

boundary, Latitude 37° 48.4715943' N., Longitude 75° 

46.9955932' W.; thence clockwise following the PTSMA 

boundary to a point on the Maryland-Virginia state line, said 

point being the point of beginning. 

"Pocomoke and Tangier Sounds Rotation Area 2" means all 

public grounds and unassigned grounds, within an area of the 

PTSMA, in Pocomoke and Tangier Sounds, bounded by a 

line beginning at the house on Great Fox Island, located at 

Latitude 37° 53.6946500' N., Longitude 75° 53.8898800' W.; 

thence southerly to the north end of Watts Island, Latitude 

37° 48.7757800' N., Longitude 75° 53.5994100' W.; thence 

westerly to a point, Latitude 37° 48.4429100' N., Longitude 

75° 56.4883600' W.; thence northerly to a point, Latitude 37° 

53.3633500' N., Longitude 75° 56.5589600' W.; thence 

easterly to the house on Great Fox Island, said house being 

the point of beginning. Also, Pocomoke and Tangier Sounds 

Rotation Area 2 shall include all public grounds and 

unassigned grounds in the PTSMA in Pocomoke Sound 

bounded by a line beginning at a point on the Maryland-

Virginia state line, Latitude 37° 54.6136000' N., Longitude 

75° 53.9739600' W.; thence following the PTSMA boundary 

clockwise to a point on the line from the northern-most point 

of Russell Island to Guilford Flats Junction Light Flashing 

2+1 Red "GF", where said line intersects the PTSMA 

boundary, Latitude 37° 48.4715943' N., Longitude 75° 

46.9955932' W.; thence northerly to Guilford Flats Junction 

Light Flashing 2+1 Red "GF", Latitude 37° 50.9533300' N., 

Longitude 75° 46.6416700' W.; thence northwesterly to 

Messongo Creek Entrance Buoy Green Can "1", Latitude 37° 

52.1000000' N., Longitude 75° 47.8083300' W.; thence 

northwesterly to Pocomoke Sound Shoal Flashing Light Red 

"8", Latitude 37° 52.4583300' N., Longitude 75° 49.4000000' 

W.; thence northwesterly to the house on Great Fox Island, 

Latitude 37° 53.6946500' N., Longitude 75° 53.8898800' W.; 

thence northerly to a point on the Maryland-Virginia state 

line, said point being the point of beginning. 

"Public oyster ground" means all those grounds defined in § 

28.2-551 of the Code of Virginia or by any other acts of the 

General Assembly pertaining to those grounds, all those 

grounds set aside by court order, and all those grounds set 

aside by order of the Marine Resources Commission, and 

may be redefined by any of these legal authorities.  

"Rappahannock River Area 7" means all public grounds, in 

that area of the Rappahannock River, bounded downstream 

by a line from Rogue Point, located at Latitude 37° 
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40.0400000' N., Longitude 76° 32.2530000' W.; thence west-

northwesterly to Flashing Red Buoy "8", Latitude 37° 

40.1580000' N., Longitude 76° 32.9390000' W.; thence 

southwesterly to Balls Point, Latitude 37° 39.3550000' N., 

Longitude 76° 34.4440000' W.; and bounded upstream by a 

line from Punchbowl Point, Latitude 37° 44.6750000' N., 

Longitude 76° 37.3250000' W.; thence southeasterly to 

Monaskon Point, Latitude 37° 44.0630000' N., Longitude 76° 

34.1080000' W. 

"Rappahannock River Area 8" means all public grounds, in 

that area of the Rappahannock River, bounded downstream 

by a line from Monaskon Point, located at Latitude 37° 

44.0630000' N., Longitude 76° 34.1080000' W.; thence 

northwesterly to Punchbowl Point, Latitude 37° 44.6750000' 

N., Longitude 76° 37.3250000' W.; and bounded upstream by 

a line from Jones Point, Latitude 37° 46.7860000' N., 

Longitude 76° 40.8350000' W.; thence north-northwesterly to 

Sharps Point, Latitude 37° 49.3640000' N., Longitude 76° 

42.0870000' W. 

"Rappahannock River Area 9" means all public grounds, in 

that area of the Rappahannock River, bounded downstream 

by a line from Sharps Point, located at Latitude 37° 

49.3640000' N., Longitude 76° 42.0870000' W.; thence 

south-southeasterly to Jones Point, Latitude 37° 46.7860000' 

N., Longitude 76° 40.8350000' W.; and bounded upstream by 

the Thomas J. Downing Bridge (U.S. Route 360). 

"Rappahannock River Rotation Area 1" means all public 

grounds, in that area of the Rappahannock River and 

Chesapeake Bay, bounded by a line offshore and across the 

mouth of the Rappahannock River from a point on the mean 

low water line of Windmill Point, located at Latitude 37° 

36.8200000' N., Longitude 76° 16.9460000' W.; thence 

southeast to Windmill Point Light, Latitude 37° 35.7930000' 

N., Longitude 76° 14.1800000' W.; thence southwesterly to 

Stingray Point Light, Latitude 37° 33.6730000' N., Longitude 

76° 16.3620000' W.; thence westerly to a point on the mean 

low water line of Stingray Point, Latitude 37° 33.6920000' 

N., Longitude 76° 17.9860000' W.; and bounded upstream by 

a line from the mean low water line west of Broad Creek, 

Latitude 37° 33.9520000' N., Longitude 76° 19.3090000' W.; 

thence northeasterly to a VMRC Buoy on the Baylor line, 

Latitude 37° 34.5310000' N., Longitude 76° 19.1430000' W.; 

thence northeasterly to a VMRC Buoy, Latitude 37° 

34.6830000' N., Longitude 76° 19.1000000' W.; thence 

northwesterly to a VMRC Buoy, Latitude 37° 35.0170000' 

N., Longitude 76° 19.4500000' W.; thence northwesterly to 

Sturgeon Bar Light "7R", Latitude 37° 35.1500000' N., 

Longitude 76° 19.7330000' W.; thence continuing 

northwesterly to Mosquito Point Light "8R", Latitude 37° 

36.1000000' N., Longitude 76° 21.3000000' W.; thence 

northwesterly to the southern-most corner of the house on 

Mosquito Point, Latitude 37° 36.5230000' N., Longitude 76° 

21.5950000' W. 

"Rappahannock River Rotation Area 2" means all public 

grounds, in that area of the Rappahannock River, bounded 

downstream by a line from the southern-most corner of the 

house on Mosquito Point, located at Latitude 37° 36.5230000' 

N., Longitude 76° 21.5950000' W.; thence southeast to 

Mosquito Point Light "8R", Latitude 37° 36.1000000' N., 

Longitude 76° 21.3000000' W.; thence continuing 

southeasterly to Sturgeon Bar Beacon "7R", Latitude 37° 

35.1500000' N., Longitude 76° 19.7330000' W.; thence west-

southwesterly to a VMRC Buoy, Latitude 37° 34.9330000' 

N., Longitude 76° 21.0500000' W.; thence southwesterly to a 

VMRC Buoy, Latitude 37° 34.8830000' N., Longitude 76° 

21.1000000' W.; thence southwesterly to a pier west of 

Hunting Creek at Grinels, Latitude 37° 34.4360000' N., 

Longitude 76° 26.2880000' W.; and bounded on the upstream 

by a line from Mill Creek Channel Marker "4", Latitude 37° 

35.0830000' N., Longitude 76° 26.9500000' W.; thence 

northeasterly to Mill Creek Channel Marker "2", Latitude 37° 

35.4830000' N., Longitude 76° 24.5670000' W.; thence 

northeasterly to the southern-most corner of the house on 

Mosquito Point, Latitude 37° 36.5230000' N., Longitude 76° 

21.5950000'0 W. 

"Rappahannock River Rotation Area 3" means all public 

grounds, in that area of the Rappahannock River, beginning 

from the north channel fender at the Robert O. Norris, Jr. 

Bridge, located at Latitude 37° 37.4830000' N., Longitude 

76° 25.3450000' W.; thence southeast to the southern-most 

corner of the house on Mosquito Point, Latitude 37° 

36.5230000' N., Longitude 76° 21.5950000' W.; thence 

southwest to Mill Creek Channel Marker "2", Latitude 37° 

35.4830000' N., Longitude 76° 24.5670000' W.; thence 

southwesterly to Mill Creek Channel Marker "4", Latitude 

37° 35.0830000' N., Longitude 76° 24.9500000' W.; thence 

northeasterly to Parrotts Creek Channel Marker "1", Latitude 

37° 36.0330000' N., Longitude 76° 25.4170000' W.; thence 

northerly to VMRC Buoy, Latitude 37° 36.3330000' N., 

Longitude 76° 25.2000000' W.; thence northerly to the north 

channel fender of the Robert O. Norris, Jr. Bridge, said point 

being the point of beginning. 

"Rappahannock River Rotation Area 4" means all public 

grounds, in that area of the Rappahannock River, Corrotoman 

River and Carter Creek, beginning at the White Stone end of 

the Robert O. Norris, Jr. Bridge (State Route 3), located at 

Latitude 37° 38.1290000' N., Longitude 76° 24.7220000' W.; 

thence along said bridge to the north channel fender, Latitude 

37° 37.4830000' N., Longitude 76° 25.3450000' W.; thence 

westerly to the VMRC Buoy "5-4", Latitude 37° 38.0050000' 

N., Longitude 76° 30.0280000' W.; thence northerly to Old 

House Point, Latitude 37° 39.1390000' N., Longitude 76° 

29.6850000' W.; thence northeasterly to Ball Point, Latitude 

37° 41.6600000' N., Longitude 76° 28.6320000' W.; thence 

southeasterly to VMRC reef marker "Ferry Bar – North", 

Latitude 37° 40.3000000' N., Longitude 76° 28.5000000' W.; 

thence southwesterly to VMRC reef marker "Ferry Bar – 
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South", Latitude 37° 40.1670000' N., Longitude 76° 

28.5830000' W.; thence southeasterly to a duck blind west of 

Corrotoman Point, Latitude 37° 39.8760000' N., Longitude 

76° 28.4200000' W.; thence southerly to VMRC Buoy "543", 

Latitude 37° 39.2670000' N., Longitude 76° 27.8500000' W.; 

thence southerly to VMRC Buoy "Drumming-West", Latitude 

37° 38.8830000' N., Longitude 76° 27.6830000' W.; thence 

southerly to VMRC Buoy "Drumming-East", Latitude 37° 

38.8330000' N., Longitude 76° 27.5670000' W.; thence 

northeasterly to Orchard Point, Latitude 37° 38.9240000' N., 

Longitude 76° 27.1260000' W. 

"Rappahannock River Rotation Area 5" means all public 

grounds, in that area of the Rappahannock River, beginning at 

the Greys Point end of the Robert O. Norris, Jr. Bridge (State 

Route 3), located at Latitude 37° 36.8330000' N., Longitude 

76° 25.9990000' W.; thence northeasterly along the bridge to 

the north channel fender, Latitude 37° 37.4830000' N., 

Longitude 76° 25.3450000' W.; thence west-northwesterly to 

VMRC Buoy "5-4", Latitude 37° 38.0050000' N., Longitude 

76° 30.0280000' W.; thence westerly to Buoy "R6", Latitude 

37° 38.0330000' N., Longitude 76° 30.2830000' W.; thence 

south to the eastern headland of Whiting Creek, Latitude 37° 

36.6580000' N., Longitude 76° 30.3120000' W. 

"Rappahannock River Rotation Area 6" means all public 

grounds, in that area of the Rappahannock River, beginning 

on the eastern headland of Whiting Creek, located at Latitude 

37° 36.6580000' N., Longitude 76° 30.3120000' W.; thence 

north to Buoy "R6", Latitude 37° 38.0330000' N., Longitude 

76° 30.2830000' W.; thence northwesterly to VMRC White 

House Sanctuary Buoy, Latitude 37° 38.1500000' N., 

Longitude 76° 30.5330000' W.; thence northwesterly to 

VMRC Towles Point Area Buoy, Latitude 37° 38.8330000' 

N., Longitude 76° 31.5360000' W.; thence northwesterly to 

Flashing Red Buoy "8" off Rogue Point, Latitude 37° 

40.1580000' N., Longitude 76° 32.9390000' W.; thence 

southwesterly to Balls Point, Latitude 37° 39.3550000' N., 

Longitude 76° 34.4440000' W. 

"Seed oyster" means any oyster taken by any person from 

natural beds, rocks, or shoals that is more than 30 days from 

harvest for human consumption. 

"Unassigned ground" means all grounds not assigned 

pursuant to §§ 28.2-600 through 28.2-633 of the Code of 

Virginia, established pursuant to § 28.2-551 of the Code of 

Virginia, or set aside by court order, or those grounds set 

aside by declarations or regulation by the Marine Resources 

Commission, and may be redefined by any of these legal 

authorities.  

"Upper Chesapeake Bay - Blackberry Hangs Area" means 

all public grounds and unassigned grounds, in that area of the 

Chesapeake Bay, bounded by a line, beginning at a point 

approximately 300 feet east of the mean low water line of the 

Chesapeake Bay and approximately 1,230 feet southwest of 

the end of the southern-most stone jetty at the mouth of the 

Little Wicomico River, said point being Corner 1, Latitude 

37° 53.1811193' N., Longitude 76° 14.1740146' W.; thence 

east-southeasterly to Corner 2, Latitude 37° 52.9050025' N., 

Longitude 76° 11.9357257' W.; thence easterly to Corner 3, 

Latitude 37° 52.9076552' N., Longitude 76° 11.6098145' W.; 

thence southwesterly to Corner 4, Latitude 37° 52.8684955' 

N., Longitude 76° 11.6402444' W.; thence east-southeasterly 

to Corner 5, Latitude 37° 52.7924853' N., Longitude 76° 

11.0253352' W.; thence southwesterly to Corner 6, Latitude 

37° 49.4327736' N., Longitude 76° 13.2409959' W.; thence 

northwesterly to Corner 7, Latitude 37° 50.0560555' N., 

Longitude 76° 15.0023234' W.; thence north-northeasterly to 

Corner 8, Latitude 37° 50.5581183' N., Longitude 76° 

14.8772805' W.; thence north-northeasterly to Corner 9, 

Latitude 37° 52.0260950' N., Longitude 76° 14.5768550' W.; 

thence northeasterly to Corner 1, said corner being the point 

of beginning. 

"Yeocomico River Area" means that area of the North West 

Yeocomico River, inside Public Ground 8 of Westmoreland 

County and those areas of the South Yeocomico River inside 

Public Grounds 100, 107, and 112 of Northumberland County 

described as: 

Public Ground 8 of Westmoreland County is located in the 

North West Yeocomico River, beginning at a point 

approximately 1,455 feet northeast of Crow Bar and 1,850 

feet northwest of White Point, said point being Corner 1, 

located at Latitude 38° 02.7468214' N., Longitude 76° 

33.0775726' W.; thence southeasterly to Corner 2, Latitude 

38° 02.7397202' N., Longitude 76° 33.0186286' W.; thence 

southerly to Corner 3, Latitude 38° 02.6021644' N., 

Longitude 76° 33.0234175' W.; thence westerly to Corner 

4, Latitude 38° 02.6006669' N., Longitude 76° 33.0824799' 

W.; thence northerly to Corner 1, said corner being the 

point of beginning. 

Public Ground 100 of Northumberland County is located 

in the South Yeocomico River, beginning at said point 

being Corner 1, located at Latitude 38° 00.2292779' N., 

Longitude 76° 32.2244222' W.; thence southwesterly to 

Corner 2, Latitude 38° 00.2183904' N., Longitude 76° 

32.2488009' W.; thence westerly to Corner 3, Latitude 38° 

00.2156893' N., Longitude 76° 32.3156220' W.; thence 

northwesterly to Corner 4, Latitude 38° 00.4024997' N., 

Longitude 76° 32.3338888' W.; thence continuing 

northeasterly to Corner 5, Latitude 38° 00.5806170' N., 

Longitude 76° 32.1957546' W.; thence continuing easterly 

to Corner 6, Latitude 38° 00.5798424' N., Longitude 76° 

31.9506788' W., thence continuing southeasterly to Corner 

7, Latitude 38° 00.5076459' N., Longitude 76° 31.9387425' 

W.; thence heading along the mean low water 

southwesterly to Corner 1, said corner being the point of 

beginning. 

Public Ground 102 of Northumberland County is located 

in the South Yeocomico River, beginning at a point 
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approximately 630 feet south of Mundy Point and 1,745 

feet southwest of Tom Jones Point, said point being Corner 

1, located at Latitude 38° 01.2138059' N., Longitude 76° 

32.5577201' W.; thence east-northeasterly to Corner 2, 

Latitude 38° 01.2268644' N., Longitude 76° 32.4497849' 

W.; thence southwesterly to Corner 3, Latitude 38° 

01.1091209' N., Longitude 76° 32.5591101' W.; thence 

northerly to Corner 1, said corner being the point of 

beginning. 

Public Ground 104 of Northumberland County is located 

in the South Yeocomico River, beginning at a point 

approximately 670 feet north of Walker Point and 1,900 

feet northwest of Palmer Point, said point being Corner 1, 

located at Latitude 38° 00.8841841' N., Longitude 76° 

32.6106215' W.; thence southeasterly to Corner 2, Latitude 

38° 00.8609163' N., Longitude 76° 32.5296302' W.; thence 

southeasterly to Corner 3, Latitude 38° 00.6693092' N., 

Longitude 76° 32.4161866' W.; thence southwesterly to 

Corner 4, Latitude 38° 00.6418466' N., Longitude 76° 

32.5394849' W.; thence northwesterly to Corner 1, said 

corner being the point of beginning. 

Public Ground 107 of Northumberland County is located 

in the South Yeocomico River, beginning at a point 

approximately 1,000 feet southwest of Barn Point and 

1,300 feet northwest of Tom Jones Point, said point being 

Corner 1, located at Longitude 38° 01.1389367' N., 

Latitude 76° 32.3425617' W.; thence east-southeasterly to 

Corner 2, Latitude 38° 01.4106421' N., Longitude 76° 

32.1077962' W.; thence southwesterly to Corner 3, 

Latitude 38° 01.2717197' N., Longitude 76° 32.2917989' 

W.; thence north-northwesterly to Corner 1, said corner 

being the point of beginning. 

Public Ground 112 of Northumberland County is located 

in the Yeocomico River, beginning at said point being 

Corner 1, located at Latitude 38° 01.8449428' N., 

Longitude 76° 32.2191877' W.; thence northeasterly to 

Corner 2, Latitude 38° 01.8783929' N., Longitude 76° 

31.9970988' W.; thence southeasterly to Corner 3, Latitude 

38° 01.7997003' N., 76° 31.9569302' W.; thence 

continuing southeasterly to Corner 4, Latitude 38° 

01.6848729' N., Longitude 76° 31.5931801' W.; thence 

southerly to Corner 5, Latitude 38° 01.5760153' N., 76° 

31.5931801' W.; thence westerly to Corner 6, Latitude 38° 

01.6860521' N., Longitude 76° 32.2820100' W.; thence 

northerly to Corner 1, said corner being the point of 

beginning. 

"York River Hand Tong Area" means that area of the York 

River consisting of a portion of Public Ground 31 of 

Gloucester County (Aberdeen Rock), Public Ground 901 of 

Gloucester and King and Queen Counties and that portion of 

Public Ground 4 of King and Queen County that is in waters 

approved by the Virginia Department of Health for the 

harvest of Shellfish (Bell Rock) described as: 

Public Ground 31 of Gloucester County, known as 

Aberdeen Rock, is that portion of Public Ground between a 

line from Upper York River Green Channel Marker 9, 

Latitude 37° 19.35986' N., Longitude 76° 35.99789' W.; 

thence northeasterly to Gum Point, Latitude 37° 19.74276' 

N., Longitude 76° 35.49063' W.; upstream to a line from 

the Flashing Yellow VIMS Data Buoy "CB," Latitude 37° 

20.4670000' N., Longitude 76° 37.4830000' W.; thence 

northeasterly to the inshore end of the wharf at Clay Bank.  

Public Ground 901 of Gloucester and King and Queen 

Counties is located in the York River at the mouth of the 

Propotank River, beginning at said point being Corner 1, 

located at Latitude 37° 26.0291178' N., Longitude 76° 

42.4769473' W.; thence northwesterly to Corner 2, Latitude 

37° 26.1502199' N., Longitude 76° 42.5504403' W.; thence 

continuing northwesterly to Corner 3, Latitude 37° 

26.2593188' N., Longitude 76° 42.5639668' W.; thence 

southeasterly to Corner 4, Latitude 37° 26.0537949' N., 

Longitude 76° 42.3217587' W.; thence southwesterly to 

Corner 5, Latitude 37° 26.0023548' N., Longitude 76° 

42.4076221' W.; thence northwesterly to Corner 1, said 

corner being the point of beginning. 

Public Ground 4 of King and Queen County, known as Bell 

Rock, is located in the York River, beginning at said point 

being Corner 1, located at Latitude 37° 29.1377467' N., 

Longitude 76° 45.0390139' W.; thence southerly to Corner 

2, Latitude 37° 29.0456979' N., Longitude 76° 45.0642131' 

W.; thence northwesterly to Corner 3, Latitude 37° 

29.5582048' N., Longitude 76° 45.8484481' W.; thence 

continuing northwesterly to Corner 4, Latitude 37° 

29.8480848' N., Longitude 76° 46.5362330' W.; thence 

northeasterly to Corner 5, Latitude 37° 30.0087805' N., 

Longitude 76° 46.3513889' W.; thence continue 

southeasterly to Corner 6, Latitude 37° 29.6554103' N., 

Longitude 76° 45.5620462' W., thence continuing 

southeasterly to Corner 7, Latitude 37° 29.1838193' N., 

Longitude 76° 44.8908342' W., thence continue 

southeasterly to Corner 8, Latitude 37° 29.1094227' N., 

Longitude 76° 44.7985114' W., thence continue 

southeasterly to Corner 9, Latitude 37° 28.9796379' N., 

Longitude 76° 44.6726329' W., thence continue 

southeasterly to Corner 10, Latitude 37° 28.7771294' N., 

Longitude 76° 44.5058580' W., thence continue 

southeasterly to Corner 11, Latitude 37° 28.6286905' N., 

Longitude 76° 44.4140389' W., thence continue 

southeasterly to Corner 12, Latitude 37° 28.4745509' N., 

Longitude 76° 44.3267558' W., thence continue 

southeasterly to Corner 13, Latitude 37° 28.4379124' N., 

Longitude 76° 44.2964890' W., thence continue 

southeasterly to Corner 14, Latitude 37° 28.3255929' N., 

Longitude 76° 44.2037875' W., thence continue 

southeasterly to Corner 15, Latitude 37° 28.2389865' N., 

Longitude 76° 44.1706101' W., thence continue 

southeasterly to Corner 16, Latitude 37° 28.2157560' N., 
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Longitude 76° 44.1552324' W., thence westerly to Corner 

17, Latitude 37° 28.1396622' N., Longitude 76° 

44.3698473' W., thence northerly to Corner 18, Latitude 

37° 28.7398061' N., Longitude 76° 44.7807027' W., thence 

continue northerly to Corner 19, Latitude 37° 28.8838652' 

N., Longitude 76° 44.8818391' W., thence easterly to 

Corner 20, Latitude 37° 28.9140411' N., Longitude 76° 

44.8163514' W. thence northwesterly to Corner 1, said 

corner being the point of beginning. 

"York River Rotation Area 1" means all public grounds in 

the York River, within Gloucester County, between a line 

from Upper York River Flashing Red Channel Marker "8", 

Latitude 37° 17.8863666' N., Longitude 76° 34.6534166' W.; 

thence northeasterly to Red Day Marker "2" at the mouth of 

Cedar Bush Creek, Latitude 37° 18.6422166' N., Longitude 

76° 33.8216000' W.; upstream to a line from the Flashing 

Yellow VIMS Data Buoy "CB", Latitude 37° 20.4670000' N., 

Longitude 76° 37.4830000' W.; thence northeasterly to the 

inshore end of the wharf at Clay Bank Upper York River 

Green Channel Marker 9, Latitude 37° 19.35986' N., 

Longitude 76° 35.99789' W.; thence northeasterly to Gum 

Point, Latitude 37° 19.7427600' N., Longitude 76° 

35.4906300' W.  

"York River Rotation Area 2" means all public grounds in 

the York River, within Gloucester County, from the George 

P. Coleman Memorial Bridge (U.S. Route 17), upstream to a 

line from Upper York River Flashing Red Channel Marker 

"8", Latitude 37° 17.8863666' N., Longitude 76° 34.6534166' 

W.; thence northeasterly to Red Day Marker "2" at the mouth 

of Cedar Bush Creek, Latitude 37° 18.6422166' N., Longitude 

76° 33.8216000' W. 

4VAC20-720-40. Open oyster harvest season and areas.  

A. It shall be unlawful for any person to harvest oysters 

from public and unassigned grounds outside of the seasons 

and areas set forth in this section. 

B. It shall be unlawful to harvest clean cull oysters from the 

public oyster grounds and unassigned grounds except during 

the lawful seasons and from the lawful areas as described in 

this subsection. 

1. James River Seed Area, including the Deep Water Shoal 

State Replenishment Seed Area: October 1, 2019 2020, 

through April 30, 2020 2021 (hand tong only). 

2. Milford Haven: December 1, 2019 2020, through 

February 28, 2020 2021 (hand tong only). 

3. Rappahannock River Area 9: November October 1, 2019 

2020, through December 31, 2019 2020 (hand tong only). 

4. Rappahannock River Area 7: October 1, 2019, through 

October 31, 2019 (hand tong only). Corrotoman Hand 

Tong Area: October 1, 2020, through December 31, 2020. 

5. Little Wicomico River: October 1, 2019 2020, through 

December 31, 2019 2020 (hand tong only). 

6. Coan River Area: October 1, 2019 2020, through 

December 31, 2019 2020 (hand tong only). 

7. Yeocomico River Area: October 1, 2019 2020, through 

December 31, 2019 2020 (hand tong only).  

8. Nomini Creek Area: October 1, 2019, through 

December 31, 2019 York River Hand Tong Area: 

December 1, 2020, through February 28, 2021 (hand tong 

only). 

9. York River Rotation Area 2 1: November October 1, 

2019 2020, through November 30, 2019 2020 (hand tong 

only). 

10. James River Areas 1, 2, and 3: October 1, 2019 2020, 

through October 31, 2019 2020, and February 1, 2021, 

through February 28, 2021 (hand tong only). 

11. Pocomoke Sound Area: December 1, 2020, through 

January 31, 2021 (hand tong only). 

12. York River Rotation Area 2 1: February 1, 2020 2021, 

through February 28, 2020 2021 (hand scrape only). 

12. 13. Rappahannock River Rotation Area 2 6: November 

1, 2019 2020, through November 30, 2019 2020, and 

February January 1, 2020 2021, through February 28, 2020 

January 31, 2021 (hand scrape only). 

13. 14. Rappahannock River Rotation Area 4 7: December 

1, 2019 2020, through January December 31, 2020, and 

February 1, 2021, through February 28, 2021 (hand scrape 

only). 

14. 15. Great Wicomico River Rotation Area 1 2: 

December 1, 2019 2020, through December January 31, 

2019, and February 1, 2020, through February 28, 2020 

2021 (hand scrape only). 

15. 16. James River Areas 1, 2, and 3: November 1, 2019 

2020, through January 31, 2020 2021 (hand scrape only). 

16. 17. Pocomoke Sound Area: February 1, 2021, through 

February 28, 2021 (hand scrape only). 

18. Upper Chesapeake Bay - Blackberry Hangs Area: 

February 1, 2021, through February 28, 2021 (hand scrape 

only). 

19. Pocomoke Sound Rotation Area 1 2: December 1, 2019 

2020, through February 28, 2020 2021 (dredge only). 

17. 20. Tangier Sound Rotation Area 1 2: December 1, 

2019 2020, through February 28, 2020 2021 (dredge only). 

18. 21. Deep Rock Area: December 1, 2019 2020, through 

February 28, 2020 2021 (patent tong only). 

19. Rappahannock River Rotation Area 2: October 1, 2019, 

through October 31, 2019 (patent tong only). 

20. Rappahannock River Rotation Area 4: November 1, 

2019, through November 30, 2019 (patent tong only). 
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22. Upper Chesapeake Bay - Blackberry Hangs Area: 

October 1, 2020, through October 31, 2020 (patent tong 

only). 

21. 23. Rappahannock River Rotation Area 1: February 

November 1, 2020, through February 28, 2020 November 

30, 2020, and February 1, 2021, through March 12, 2021 

(patent tong only). 

22. 24. Seaside of the Eastern Shore (for clean cull oysters 

only): November 1, 2019 2020, through March 31, 2020 

2021 (by hand and hand tong only). 

C. It shall be unlawful to harvest seed oysters from the 

public oyster grounds or unassigned grounds, except during 

the lawful seasons. The harvest of seed oysters from the 

lawful areas is described in this subsection. 

1. James River Seed Area: October 1, 2019 2020, through 

May 31, 2020 2021 (hand tong only). 

2. Deep Water Shoal State Replenishment Seed Area: 

October 1, 2019 2020, through May 31, 2020 2021 (hand 

tong only). 

4VAC20-720-60. Day and time limit. 

A. It shall be unlawful to take, catch, or possess oysters on 

Saturday and Sunday from the public oyster grounds or 

unassigned grounds in the waters of the Commonwealth of 

Virginia for commercial purposes, except that this provision 

shall not apply to any person harvesting no more than one 

bushel per day by hand or ordinary tong for household use 

only during the season when the public oyster grounds or 

unassigned grounds are legally open for harvest.  

B. It shall be unlawful for any person to harvest or attempt 

to harvest oysters prior to sunrise or after 2 p.m. from the 

areas described in 4VAC20-720-40 B 1 through B 10 11, B 

18 21 through B 21 23, and C. It shall be unlawful for any 

person to harvest or attempt to harvest oysters prior to sunrise 

or after 2 p.m. from the areas described in 4VAC20-720-40 B 

11 12 through B 17 20 from December 1, 2019 2020, through 

January 31, 2020 2021. It shall be unlawful for any person to 

harvest or attempt to harvest oysters prior to sunrise or after 

12 noon from the areas described in 4VAC20-720-40 B 11 12 

through B 17 20 from November 1, 2019 2020, through 

November 30, 2019 2020, and February 1, 2020 2021, 

through February 28, 2020 2021. In addition, it shall be 

unlawful for any boat with an oyster dredge or hand scrape 

aboard to leave the dock until one hour before sunrise or 

return to the dock after sunset. 

C. On the seaside of the Eastern Shore, it shall be unlawful 

for any person to harvest by hand or attempt to harvest 

oysters by hand prior to sunrise or after sunset. It shall be 

unlawful for any person to harvest oysters by hand tong or 

attempt to harvest oysters by hand tong prior to sunrise or 

after 2 p.m. 

4VAC20-720-70. Gear restrictions.  

A. It shall be unlawful for any person to harvest oysters in 

the James River Seed Area, including the Deep Water Shoal 

State Replenishment Seed Area and the areas described in 

4VAC20-720-40 B 1 through B 10 11 except by hand tong. It 

shall be unlawful for any person to have a hand scrape on 

board a boat that is harvesting or attempting to harvest oysters 

from public grounds by hand tong. 

B. It shall be unlawful to harvest oysters by any gear from 

the seaside of the Eastern Shore except by hand or hand tong. 

It shall be unlawful to harvest oysters that are not submerged 

at mean low water by any gear other than by hand. 

C. It shall be unlawful to harvest oysters from the areas 

described in 4VAC20-720-40 B 11 12 through B 15 18 by 

any gear except hand scrape. 

D. It shall be unlawful for any person to have more than one 

hand scrape on board his vessel while he is harvesting oysters 

or attempting to harvest oysters from public grounds. It shall 

be unlawful for any person to have a hand tong on board his 

vessel while he is harvesting or attempting to harvest oysters 

from public grounds by hand scrape. 

E. It shall be unlawful to harvest oysters from the Pocomoke 

and Tangier Sounds Rotation Area 1 2, except by an oyster 

dredge. 

F. It shall be unlawful to harvest oysters from the areas 

described in 4VAC20-720-40 B 18 21 through B 21 23 

except by patent tong.  

4VAC20-720-75. Gear license.  

A. It shall be unlawful for any person to harvest shellfish 

with a hand scrape from the public oyster grounds as 

described in 4VAC20-720-70 C unless that person has first 

obtained a valid hand scrape license. 

B. It shall be unlawful for any person to harvest shellfish 

with an oyster dredge from the public oyster grounds in the 

Pocomoke and Tangier Sounds Rotation Area 1 2, unless that 

person has first obtained a valid oyster dredge license.  

C. It shall be unlawful for any person to harvest shellfish 

with a patent tong from the public oyster grounds, as 

described in 4VAC20-720-70 F unless that person has first 

obtained a valid oyster patent tong license. 

D. It shall be unlawful for any person to harvest shellfish 

with a hand tong from the public oyster grounds, as described 

in 4VAC20-720-70 A, unless that person has first obtained a 

valid hand tong license. 

E. It shall be unlawful for any person to harvest shellfish by 

hand from the public oyster grounds on the seaside of the 

Eastern Shore as described in 4VAC20-720-70 B, unless that 

person has first obtained a valid oyster by hand license. It 

shall be unlawful for any person to harvest shellfish from the 
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public oyster grounds on the seaside of the Eastern Shore by 

hand tong, as described in 4VAC20-720-70 B, unless that 

person has first obtained a valid oyster hand tong license. 

4VAC20-720-80. Quotas and harvest limits. 

A. It shall be unlawful for any person who does not possess 

a valid commercial fisherman's registration license and a 

valid gear license required for any harvest area, as described 

in 4VAC20-720-75 A and B, and has not paid the current 

year's oyster resource user fee to harvest or possess any 

oysters for commercial purposes. Any individual who 

possesses a valid hand scrape or dredge license and has paid 

the oyster resource user fee as described in this subsection 

shall be limited to a maximum harvest of eight bushels per 

day. It shall be unlawful for any vessel to exceed a daily 

vessel limit of 16 bushels clean cull oysters when the vessel is 

using the hand scrape or oyster dredge. 

B. It shall be unlawful for any person who does not possess 

a valid commercial fisherman's registration license and a 

valid gear license required for any harvest area, as described 

in 4VAC20-720-75, and has not paid the current year's oyster 

resource user fee to harvest or possess any oysters for 

commercial purposes. Any individual who possesses a valid 

hand or hand tong license and has paid the oyster resource 

user fee as described in this subsection shall be limited to a 

maximum harvest of 12 14 bushels per day. It shall be 

unlawful for any vessel to exceed a daily vessel limit for of 

28 bushels clean cull oysters when the vessel is using hand 

tongs or harvesting by hand whereby that vessel limit shall 

equal the number of registered commercial fisherman 

licensees on board the vessel who hold a valid gear license 

and have paid the oyster resource user fee multiplied by 12. 

C. It shall be unlawful for any person who does not possess 

a valid commercial fisherman's registration license and a 

valid gear license required for any harvest area as described 

in 4VAC20-720-75 and has not paid the current year's oyster 

resource user fee to harvest or possess any oysters for 

commercial purposes. Any individual who possesses a valid 

patent tong license and has paid the oyster resource user fee 

as described in this subsection shall be limited to a maximum 

harvest of eight bushels per day. It shall be unlawful for any 

vessel to exceed a daily vessel limit of 16 bushels of clean 

cull oysters harvested from the areas described in 4VAC20-

720-40 B when the vessel is using patent tongs. 

D. In the Pocomoke and Tangier Sounds Rotation Area 1 2, 

no blue crab bycatch is allowed. It shall be unlawful to 

possess on board any vessel more than 250 hard clams. 

4VAC20-720-85. James River seed quota and monitoring. 

A. An oyster seed harvest quota of 120,000 bushels of seed 

is established for the James River Seed Area, including the 

Deep Water Shoal State Replenishment Seed Area. Once it 

has been projected and announced that the quota of seed has 

been attained, it shall be unlawful for any person to harvest 

seed oysters from these areas. 

B. Of the 120,000-bushel seed quota described in subsection 

A of this section no more than 40,000 30,000 bushels of this 

quota may be harvested from October 1 through December 

31. However, if it is projected and announced that 40,000 

30,000 bushels of seed have been harvested before December 

31, it shall be unlawful for any person to harvest seed oysters 

from that date forward until January 1. 

C. Any person harvesting or landing oyster seed from the 

James River Seed Area, including the Deep Water Shoal State 

Replenishment Seed Area, shall report monthly on forms 

provided by the Virginia Marine Resources Commission all 

harvest of seed oysters. Reporting requirements shall consist 

of that person's Commercial Fisherman Registration License 

number, daily number of bushels of seed oysters harvested, 

harvest rock location, planting location (any lease numbers), 

and buyer name. 

D. It shall be unlawful for any person harvesting seed 

oysters from the James River Seed Area, including the Deep 

Water Shoal State Replenishment Seed Area, to fail to contact 

the Virginia Marine Resources Commission Interactive-

Voice-Response (IVR) System within 24 hours of harvest or 

landing and provide that person's name, Commercial 

Fisherman Registration License number, time, date, daily 

number of bushels of seed oysters harvested, harvest rock 

location, planting location (any lease numbers), and buyer 

name. 

4VAC20-720-91. Harvest permit required for the James 

River Seed Area, including the Deep Water Shoal State 

Replenishment Area. 

A. A harvest permit shall be required for the James River 

Seed Area, including the Deep Water Shoal State 

Replenishment Seed Area, for the harvesting of seed oysters. 

It shall be unlawful for any person to harvest or attempt to 

harvest seed oysters from the James River Seed Area, 

including the Deep Water Shoal State Replenishment Seed 

Area, without first obtaining and having on board a harvest 

permit. 

B. The commissioner may cease granting permits required 

by § 28.2-535 or 28.2-546 of the Code of Virginia when he 

determines that the seed areas currently open to harvest are 

becoming depleted and the additional granting of such 

permits could seriously injure the seed areas. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R21-6501; Filed August 26, 2020, 12:52 p.m.  

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Marine Resources 

Commission is claiming an exemption from the 

Administrative Process Act in accordance with § 2.2-4006 A 

11 of the Code of Virginia; however, the commission is 

required to publish the full text of final regulations. 
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Title of Regulation: 4VAC20-920. Pertaining to Landing 

Licenses (amending 4VAC20-920-10, 4VAC20-920-50; 

repealing 4VAC20-920-40, 4VAC20-920-45).  

Statutory Authority: § 28.2-201 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: September 1, 2020.  

Agency Contact: Jennifer Farmer, Regulatory Coordinator, 

Marine Resources Commission, 380 Fenwick Road, Fort 

Monroe, VA 23651, telephone (757) 247-2248, or email 

jennifer.farmer@mrc.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendments remove provisions pertaining to landing 

licenses for summer flounder from the commercial seafood 

landing license chapter so that those provisions can be 

moved into the regulations pertaining to summer flounder. 

4VAC20-920-10. Purpose.  

The purpose of this chapter is to establish a license for the 

landing of seafood for commercial purposes in Virginia and 

to limit the number of commercial fishing vessels which may 

land Summer Flounder in Virginia.  

4VAC20-920-40. Summer Flounder Endorsement License, 

Restricted Summer Flounder Endorsement License, and 

exemption. (Repealed.) 

A. It shall be unlawful for any boat or vessel to land 

Summer Flounder in Virginia for commercial purposes, 

without first obtaining a Seafood Landing License as 

described in 4VAC20-920-30 and a Summer Flounder 

Endorsement License or possessing a Restricted Summer 

Flounder Endorsement License. The Summer Flounder 

Endorsement License shall be required of each boat or vessel 

used to land Summer Flounder for commercial purposes. 

Possession of any quantity of Summer Flounder which 

exceeds the possession limit, described in 4VAC20-620-60, 

shall be presumed to be for commercial purposes. Any boat or 

vessel so licensed shall display a Summer Flounder 

Endorsement License decal, provided by the Virginia Marine 

Resources Commission. The decals shall be displayed on 

both the port and starboard sides of the pilot house.  

B. It shall be unlawful for any buyer of seafood to receive 

any Summer Flounder from any boat or vessel which is not 

licensed for the landing of Summer Flounder unless that boat 

or vessel is exempt from the requirement to obtain a Seafood 

Landing License and a Summer Flounder Endorsement 

License as described in 4VAC20-920-30 and this section.  

C. Any boat or vessel that is both owned and operated by a 

person who holds a valid Virginia Commercial Fisherman 

Registration License and is used solely for fishing for 

summer flounder only in Virginia waters shall be exempt 

from the requirement to obtain a Summer Flounder 

Endorsement License.  

D. Any boat or vessel operated by a person harvesting and 

landing marine seafood from the Potomac River who holds a 

valid Potomac River Fisheries Commission commercial 

license shall be exempt from the requirement to obtain a 

Summer Flounder Endorsement License.  

E. Any boat or vessel operated by a person harvesting and 

landing marine seafood from leased ground or reharvesting 

marine seafood as part of the relay process shall be exempt 

from the requirements to obtain a Summer Flounder 

Endorsement License.  

F. To be eligible for a Summer Flounder Endorsement 

License the boat or vessel shall have landed and sold at least 

500 pounds of Summer Flounder in Virginia in at least one 

year during the period of 1993 through 1995.  

1. The owner shall complete an application for each boat or 

vessel by providing to the commission a notarized and 

signed statement of applicant's name, address, telephone 

number, boat or vessel name, and registration or 

documentation number and a copy of the vessel's federal 

Summer Flounder moratorium permit.  

2. The owner shall complete a notarized authorization to 

allow the commission to obtain copies of landings data 

from the National Marine Fisheries Service.  

G. To be eligible for a Restricted Summer Flounder 

Endorsement License (RSFEL), a person must be a legal 

Virginia Commercial Hook-and-Line Licensee and own a 

vessel issued a valid federal Summer Flounder moratorium 

permit. The person shall complete an application for the 

RSFEL by providing to the commission a notarized and 

signed statement of his name, address, telephone number, 

boat or vessel name, and its registration or documentation 

number, as well as a copy of that vessel's federal Summer 

Flounder moratorium permit. 

H. Effective February 24, 2004, any vessel eligible for a 

Summer Flounder Endorsement License shall be considered a 

baseline vessel, and that vessel's total length and gross 

tonnage shall be used to determine eligibility for all future 

transfers of that Summer Flounder Endorsement License. A 

Summer Flounder Endorsement License may be transferred 

from one vessel to another vessel that is entering the Summer 

Flounder fishery, provided the vessel receiving the Summer 

Flounder Endorsement License does not exceed, by more than 

10%, the total length and gross tonnage of the baseline vessel 

that held that Summer Flounder Endorsement License on 

February 24, 2004.  

4VAC20-920-45. Summer flounder endorsement license 

and hardship exception. (Repealed.) 

Any licensed fisherman who provides to the commissioner 

an opinion and supporting documentation from an attending 

physician of an existing medical condition, proof of active 

military service, documentation that indicates substantial 

mailto:jennifer.farmer@mrc.virginia.gov
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vessel damage or other significant extenuating circumstances 

that prevented him from satisfying the eligibility criteria 

described in 4VAC20-920-40 F and can provide 

documentation of having landed at least 500 pounds of 

summer flounder during any one year of the 1990-1992 

period may be authorized for an exception to the requirements 

to be eligible for a summer flounder endorsement license as 

described in 4VAC20-920-40 F.  

4VAC20-920-50. Penalty.  

A. As set forth in § 28.2-228.1 of the Code of Virginia, the 

following shall constitute Class 3 misdemeanors: (i) landing 

seafood without the license required by this chapter and (ii) 

failure to produce or have available for inspection the license 

required by this chapter when requested by any officer. 

Failure to produce the license is prima facie evidence that the 

person is landing seafood without a license.  

B. Any person found guilty of violating any of the seafood 

laws or regulations of Virginia may have his that person's 

Seafood Landing License and Summer Flounder 

Endorsement License revoked upon review by the 

commission as provided for in § 28.2-232 of the Code of 

Virginia.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R21-6498; Filed August 26, 2020, 10:35 a.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 8. EDUCATION 

STATE BOARD OF EDUCATION 

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The State Board of Education is 

claiming an exemption from Article 2 of the Administrative 

Process Act in accordance with § 2.2-4006 A 4 a of the Code 

of Virginia, which excludes regulations that are necessary to 

conform to changes in Virginia statutory law or the 

appropriation act where no agency discretion is involved. The 

State Board of Education will receive, consider, and respond 

to petitions by any interested person at any time with respect 

to reconsideration or revision. 

Title of Regulation: 8VAC20-441. Regulations Governing 

the Employment of Professional Personnel (amending 

8VAC20-441-50).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 22.1-16 and 22.1-302 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

Effective Date: October 14, 2020.  

Agency Contact: Patty Pitts, Assistant Superintendent for 

Teacher Education and Licensure, Department of Education, 

P.O. Box 2120, Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 371-

2522, or email patty.pitts@doe.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

Pursuant to Chapters 53 and 167 of the 2020 Acts of 

Assembly, the amendments remove the option for local 

school boards to extend the three-year probationary term 

of service for teachers by up to two additional years. 

8VAC20-441-50. Length of the probationary term for 

teacher. 

A probationary term of full-time employment under an 

annual contract for at least three years and, at the option of 

the local school board, up to five consecutive years in the 

same school division is required before a teacher is issued a 

continuing contract. Once continuing contract status has been 

attained in a school division in the Commonwealth, another 

probationary period as a teacher need not be served in any 

other school division unless a probationary period not 

exceeding two years is made a part of the contract of 

employment.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R21-6464; Filed August 20, 2020, 11:54 a.m.  

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The State Board of Education is 

claiming an exemption from Article 2 of the Administrative 

Process Act in accordance with § 2.2-4006 A 4 a of the Code 

of Virginia, which excludes regulations that are necessary to 

conform to changes in Virginia statutory law or the 

appropriation act where no agency discretion is involved. The 

State Board of Education will receive, consider, and respond 

to petitions by any interested person at any time with respect 

to reconsideration or revision. 

Title of Regulation: 8VAC20-543. Regulations Governing 

the Review and Approval of Education Programs in 

Virginia (amending 8VAC20-543-10, 8VAC20-543-20, 

8VAC20-543-70, 8VAC20-543-600).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 22.1-16 and 22.1-298.2 of the Code 

of Virginia. 

Effective Date: October 14, 2020.  

Agency Contact: Patty Pitts, Assistant Superintendent for 

Teacher Education and Licensure, Department of Education, 

P.O. Box 2120, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 371-

2522, or email patty.pitts@doe.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendments implement the requirements of legislation 

passed during the 2018 Session of the General Assembly, 

including (i) Chapters 282 and 588, which require each 

education preparation program offered by a public 

institution of higher education or private institution of 

higher education that leads to a degree, concentration, or 

certificate for reading specialists to include a program of 

coursework or other training in the identification of and 

the appropriate interventions, accommodations, and 

mailto:patty.pitts@doe.virginia.gov
mailto:patty.pitts@doe.virginia.gov
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teaching techniques for students with dyslexia or a related 

disorder; and (ii) Chapters 748 and 749, which expand the 

definition of education preparation program to include 

four-year bachelor's degree programs in teacher 

education.  

Part I  

Definitions 

8VAC20-543-10. Definitions. 

The following words and terms when used in this chapter 

shall have the meanings indicated unless the context implies 

otherwise: 

"Accreditation" means a process for assessing and 

improving academic and educational quality through 

voluntary peer review. This process informs the public that an 

institution has a professional education program that has met 

national standards of educational quality. 

"Accredited institution" means an institution of higher 

education accredited by a regional accrediting agency 

recognized by the United States Department of Education. 

"Accredited program" means a Virginia professional 

education program nationally accredited by the Council for 

the Accreditation of Educator Preparation (CAEP).  

"Annual professional education preparation program profile" 

means the Virginia Department of Education yearly data 

education preparation program profile required of all 

professional education programs in Virginia that offer 

approved programs for the preparation of school personnel.  

"Biennial accountability measures" means those specific 

benchmarks set forth in 8VAC20-543-40 to meet the 

standards required to obtain or maintain education 

endorsement program approval status. 

"Biennial accountability measurement report" means the 

compliance report submitted to the Virginia Department of 

Education every two years by an accredited professional 

education program. 

"Candidates" means individuals enrolled in education 

programs. 

"Department" means the Virginia Department of Education. 

"Diversity" means the wide range of differences among 

groups of people and individuals based on ethnicity, race, 

socioeconomic status, gender, exceptionalities, language, 

religion, and geographical area. 

"Education endorsement program" means a state-approved 

course of study, the completion of which signifies that an 

enrollee has met all the state's educational and training 

requirements for initial licensure in a specified endorsement 

area.  

"Field experiences" means program components that are (i) 

conducted in off-campus settings or on-campus settings 

dedicated to the instruction of children who would or could 

otherwise be served by school divisions in Virginia or 

accredited nonpublic schools and (ii) accredited for this 

purpose by external entities such as regional accrediting 

agencies. Field experiences include classroom observations, 

tutoring, assisting teachers and school administrators, and 

supervised clinical experiences (i.e., practica, student 

teaching, and internships). Field experiences are required for 

all programs.  

"Indicators" means operational definitions that suggest the 

kinds of evidence that professional education programs shall 

provide to demonstrate that a standard is met. 

"Instructional technology" means the theory and practice of 

design, development, utilization, management, and evaluation 

of processes and resources for learning and the use of 

computers and other technologies. 

"Licensing" means the official recognition by a state 

governmental agency that an individual has met state 

requirements and is, therefore, approved to practice as a 

licensed professional. 

"Professional education program" or "education preparation 

program" means the Virginia institution, college, school, 

department or other administrative body within a Virginia 

institution of higher education, or another Virginia entity, for 

a defined education program that is primarily responsible for 

the preparation of teachers and other professional school 

personnel, and for purposes of this chapter, includes four-year 

bachelor's degree programs in teacher education. 

"Professional studies" means courses and other learning 

experiences designed to prepare candidates to demonstrate 

competence in the areas of human development and learning, 

curriculum and instruction, assessment of and for learning, 

classroom and behavior management, the foundations of 

education and the teaching profession, reading, and 

supervised clinical experiences. 

"Program approval" means the process by which a state 

governmental agency reviews an education program to 

determine if it meets the state's standards for the preparation 

of school personnel. 

"Program completers" means individuals who have 

successfully completed all coursework, required licensure 

assessments, including those prescribed by the Board of 

Education, and supervised student teaching or the required 

internship. 

"Program noncompleters" means individuals who have been 

officially admitted into an education program and who have 

taken, regardless of whether the individuals passed or failed, 

required licensure assessments and have successfully 

completed all coursework, but who have not completed 



Regulations 

Volume 37, Issue 2 Virginia Register of Regulations September 14, 2020 

293 

supervised student teaching or the required internship. 

Program noncompleters shall have been officially released in 

writing from an education endorsement program by an 

authorized administrator of the program. Program 

noncompleters who did not take required assessments are not 

included in biennial reporting pass rates. 

"Regional accrediting agency" means one of the six 

accrediting associations recognized by the United States 

Department of Education as follows: New England 

Association of Schools and Colleges, Middle States 

Association of Colleges and Schools, North Central 

Association of Colleges and Schools, Northwest Commission 

on Colleges and Universities, Southern Association of 

Colleges and Schools, and Western Association of Schools 

and Colleges. 

"Virginia Standards of Learning for Virginia public schools" 

means the Commonwealth's expectations for student learning 

and achievement in grades K-12 in English, mathematics, 

science, history/social science, technology, fine arts, foreign 

language, health and physical education, and driver 

education. 

Part II  

Accreditation and Administering this Chapter 

8VAC20-543-20. Accreditation and administering this 

chapter. 

A. Institutions of higher education seeking approval of an 

education endorsement program shall be accredited by a 

regional accrediting agency. 

B. Professional education programs in Virginia shall obtain 

and maintain national accreditation from the Council for the 

Accreditation of Educator Preparation (CAEP). Professional 

education programs in Virginia seeking accreditation through 

CAEP shall adhere to procedures and timelines established by 

CAEP and the CAEP/Virginia Partnership Agreement. 

Professional education programs shall ensure and document 

that programs are aligned with standards set forth in 

8VAC20-543-40 through 8VAC20-543-50 and meet 

competencies outlined in 8VAC20-543-60 through 8VAC20-

543-640. 

C. If a professional education program fails to maintain 

accreditation, enrolled candidates shall be permitted to 

complete their programs of study. Professional education 

programs that fail to maintain accreditation shall not admit 

new candidates. Candidates shall be notified of the education 

endorsement program's approval status. 

D. Teacher candidates shall may complete academic degrees 

in the arts and sciences, or equivalent, except in health, 

physical, and career and technical education. "Education 

preparation program" includes four-year bachelor's degree 

programs in teacher education. Candidates in early/primary 

education (preK-3), elementary education (preK-6), middle 

education (6-8), and special education programs may 

complete a major in interdisciplinary studies or its equivalent. 

Candidates seeking a secondary endorsement area must have 

earned a major, or the equivalent, in the area sought. 

E. Professional studies coursework and methodology, 

including field experiences, required in this chapter shall be 

designed for completion within an approved program. 

F. Professional education programs shall ensure that 

candidates demonstrate proficiency in the use of educational 

technology for instruction; complete study in child abuse 

recognition and intervention; and complete training or 

certification in emergency first aid, cardiopulmonary 

resuscitation, and the use of automated external defibrillators. 

Candidates in education endorsement programs must 

demonstrate an understanding of competencies, including the 

core concepts and facts of the disciplines and the Virginia 

Standards of Learning, for the content areas they plan to 

teach. Professional education programs shall ensure that 

candidates demonstrate skills needed to help preK-12 

students achieve college and career performance expectations.  

G. Standards and procedures for the review and approval of 

each education endorsement program shall adhere to 

procedures for administering the chapter as defined in this 

section and in 8VAC20-543-40, 8VAC20-543-50, and 

8VAC20-543-60. These procedures shall result in biennial 

recommendations to the Board of Education for one of the 

following three ratings: "approved," "approved with 

stipulations," or "approval denied." 

H. Education endorsement programs shall be approved 

under this chapter biennially based on compliance with the 

criteria described in 8VAC20-543-40, 8VAC20-543-50, and 

8VAC20-543-60. 

I. The Department of Education will determine the timeline 

and procedures for applying for education endorsement 

program approval. 

J. Education endorsement programs in Virginia shall address 

the competencies set forth in this chapter, and the curriculum 

for each program must be documented and submitted to the 

Department of Education for approval. 

K. Professional education programs shall submit to the 

Department of Education on behalf of each education 

endorsement program under consideration a biennial 

accountability measurement report and an annual professional 

education preparation program profile to include data 

prescribed by the Board of Education on education 

endorsement programs in accordance with department 

procedures and timelines. 

L. The professional education program authorized 

administrator shall maintain copies of approved education 

endorsement programs and required reports. 
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M. The Department of Education may conduct onsite visits 

to review education endorsement programs and verify data. 

N. The Advisory Board on Teacher Education and Licensure 

(ABTEL) is authorized to review and make recommendations 

to the Board of Education on approval of Virginia education 

endorsement programs for school personnel. The Board of 

Education has final authority on education endorsement 

program approval. 

O. In administering this chapter, licensure requirements for 

Virginia are outlined in the Licensure Regulations for School 

Personnel (8VAC20-23). This document should be referenced 

for detailed information regarding requirements for Virginia 

licensure. An individual must meet licensure requirements set 

forth in the Code of Virginia. 

P. Modifications may be made by the Superintendent of 

Public Instruction in the administration of this chapter. 

Proposed modifications shall be made in writing to the 

Superintendent of Public Instruction, Commonwealth of 

Virginia. 

Q. Upon the effective date of this chapter, the Board of 

Education grants colleges and universities two years to align 

their existing approved programs with this chapter and allows 

only college and universities that on the effective date of this 

chapter are accredited by the Board of Education process four 

years to become accredited by the Council for the 

Accreditation of Educator Preparation (CAEP) with the 

option of submitting a progress report to the Superintendent 

of Public Instruction to request an additional year, if needed.  

8VAC20-543-70. Annual professional education 

preparation program profile. 

The accredited professional education program shall submit 

to the Virginia Department of Education a yearly education 

preparation program profile on the preparation of professional 

school personnel. The professional education preparation 

program profile shall be published on the department's 

website. The information required on the professional 

education preparation program profile shall be approved by 

the Board of Education and shall include the following: 

1. Institution's accreditation status; 

2. Education endorsement program status; 

3. Number of candidates admitted in education 

endorsement programs; 

4. Comparison of candidates, admitted to education 

endorsement programs to overall college or university 

population; 

5. Number of program completers for each endorsement 

program; 

6. Number of program noncompleters for each 

endorsement program; 

7. Biennial accountability data results; 

8. Satisfaction ratings by school administrators and clinical 

experience supervisors of student teachers;  

9. Satisfaction ratings by employers of program graduates;  

10. Satisfaction ratings of program graduates within two 

years of employment;  

11. Recognition of other program achievements; and  

12. Other data as required by the Board of Education.  

8VAC20-543-600. Reading specialist. 

A. The reading specialist program shall ensure that the 

candidate has completed at least three years of successful 

classroom teaching experience in a public or accredited 

nonpublic school and has demonstrated the following 

competencies: 

1. Assessment and diagnostic teaching. The candidate 

shall: 

a. Demonstrate expertise in the use of formal and 

informal screening, diagnostic, and progress monitoring 

assessment for language proficiency, concepts of print, 

phonemic awareness, letter recognition, decoding, 

fluency, vocabulary, reading levels, and comprehension; 

and 

b. Demonstrate expertise in the ability to use diagnostic 

data to inform instruction for acceleration, intervention, 

remediation, and differentiation. 

2. Communication: speaking, listening, media literacy. The 

candidate shall: 

a. Demonstrate expertise in the knowledge, skills, and 

processes necessary for teaching communication, such as 

speaking, listening, and media literacy; 

b. Demonstrate expertise in developing students' 

phonological awareness skills; 

c. Demonstrate effective strategies for facilitating the 

learning of standard English by speakers of other 

languages and dialects; 

d. Demonstrate an understanding of the unique needs of 

students with language differences and delays;  

e. Demonstrate the ability to promote creative thinking 

and expression, such as through storytelling, drama, and 

choral and oral reading; and 

f. Demonstrate the ability to teach students to identify the 

characteristics of, and apply critical thinking to, media 

messages and to facilitate their proficiency in using 

various forms of media to collaborate and communicate. 
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3. Reading. The candidate shall: 

a. Demonstrate expertise in explicit and systematic 

phonics instruction, including an understanding of sound 

and symbol relationships, syllables, phonemes, 

morphemes, decoding skills, word analysis, and word 

attack skills; 

b. Demonstrate expertise in the morphology of English 

including inflections, prefixes, suffixes, roots, and word 

relationships; 

c. Demonstrate expertise in strategies to increase 

vocabulary; 

d. Demonstrate expertise in the structure of the English 

language, including and understanding of syntax, 

semantics, and vocabulary development; 

e. Demonstrate expertise in reading comprehension 

strategies, including a repertoire of questioning 

strategies, understanding the dimensions of word 

meanings, teaching predicting, inferencing, summarizing, 

clarifying, evaluating, and making connections; 

f. Demonstrate expertise in the ability to teach strategies 

in literal, interpretive, critical, and evaluative 

comprehension; 

g. Demonstrate the ability to develop comprehension 

skills in all content areas; 

h. Demonstrate the ability to foster appreciation of a 

variety of literature;  

i. Understand the importance of promoting independent 

reading and reading strategically through a variety of 

means including by selecting fiction and nonfiction texts 

of appropriate yet engaging topics and reading levels; 

and 

j. Demonstrate effective strategies for teaching students 

to view, interpret, analyze, and represent information and 

concepts in visual form with or without the spoken or 

written word. 

4. Writing. The candidate shall: 

a. Demonstrate expertise in the knowledge, skills, and 

processes necessary for teaching writing, including the 

domains of composing and written expression and usage 

and mechanics and the writing process of planning, 

drafting, revising, editing, and sharing; 

b. Demonstrate expertise in systematic spelling 

instruction, including awareness of the purpose and 

limitations of "invented spelling," orthographic patterns, 

and strategies for promoting generalization of spelling 

study to writing; and 

c. Demonstrate expertise to teach the writing process: 

plan, draft, revise, edit, and share in the narrative, 

descriptive, and explanative modes. 

5. Technology. The candidate shall demonstrate expertise 

in their use of technology for both process and product as 

they work to guide students with reading, writing, and 

research. 

6. Leadership, coaching, and specialization. The candidate 

shall: 

a. Demonstrate an understanding of developmental 

psychology, including personality and learning 

behaviors; 

b. Demonstrate an understanding of the needs of high 

achieving students and of strategies to challenge them at 

appropriate levels; 

c. Demonstrate an understanding of the significance of 

cultural contexts upon language; 

d. Demonstrate an understanding of varying degrees of 

learning disabilities; 

e. Demonstrate expertise with educational measurement 

and evaluation, including validity, reliability, and 

normative comparisons in test design and selections; 

f. Demonstrate expertise to interpret grade equivalents, 

percentile ranks, normal curve equivalents, and standards 

scores; 

g. Demonstrate the ability to instruct and advise teachers 

in the skills necessary to differentiate reading instruction 

for both low and high achieving readers; 

h. Demonstrate the ability to coach and support teachers 

through classroom observations, demonstrations, co-

teaching, and other forms of job-embedded professional 

development; 

i. Demonstrate the ability to organize and supervise the 

reading program within the classroom, school, or 

division; 

j. Demonstrate effective communication skills in working 

with a variety of groups, including parents, teachers, 

administrators, and community leaders;  

k. Demonstrate knowledge of current research and 

exemplary practices in English and reading; 

l. Understanding of and proficiency in grammar, usage, 

and mechanics and their integration in writing;  

m. Understanding of and proficiency in pedagogy to 

incorporate writing as an instructional and assessment 

tool for candidates to generate, gather, plan, organize, 

and present ideas in writing to communicate for a variety 

of purposes; and 
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n. Complete a supervised practicum or field experience 

in the diagnosis and remediation of reading difficulties in 

a public or accredited nonpublic school.  

B. Each education preparation program offered by a public 

institution of higher education or private institution of higher 

education that leads to a degree, concentration, or certificate 

for reading specialists shall include a program of coursework 

and other training in the identification of and the appropriate 

interventions, accommodations, and teaching techniques for 

students with dyslexia or a related disorder. Such program 

shall (i) include coursework in the constructs and pedagogy 

underlying remediation of reading, spelling, and writing and 

(ii) require reading specialists to demonstrate mastery of an 

evidence-based, structured literacy instructional approach that 

includes explicit, systematic, sequential, and cumulative 

instruction.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R21-5987; Filed August 20, 2020, 11:54 a.m.  

STATE COUNCIL OF HIGHER EDUCATION FOR 
VIRGINIA 

Proposed Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 8VAC40-31. Regulations Governing 

Certification of Certain Institutions to Confer Degrees, 

Diplomas and Certificates (amending 8VAC40-31-10, 

8VAC40-31-160).  

Statutory Authority: § 23.1-215 of the Code of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: No public hearings are 

scheduled.  

Public Comment Deadline: November 14, 2020. 

Agency Contact: Beverly Rebar, Senior Associate for 

Academic and Legislative Affairs, State Council of Higher 

Education for Virginia, Monroe Building, 101 North 14th 

Street, 9th Floor, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 371-

0571, or email beverlyrebar@schev.edu. 

Basis: Section 23.1-215 of the Code of Virginia authorizes 

the State Council of Higher Education for Virginia to adopt, 

pursuant to the Administrative Process Act, such regulations 

as may be necessary to implement the provisions of this 

chapter. 

Section 23.1-230 of the Code of Virginia charges the council 

to determine the required disclosures for enrollment 

agreements. 

Purpose: Chapter 289 of the 2017 Acts of Assembly requires 

the council to create requirements for an enrollment 

agreement that will be used by institutions certified by the 

council to operate in Virginia. The new regulatory language 

benefits both regulated institutions and students enrolled in 

those schools. The institution will be protected by requiring 

students to acknowledge that the school has provided student 

protection disclosures prior to enrollment, and the student is 

protected by receiving these disclosures, in writing, prior to 

enrollment. 

Substance: The proposed amendments define "enrollment 

agreement" and establish the required elements of the 

enrollment agreement. 

Issues: The primary advantage to institutions is that they will 

have one place to disclose all required information to 

students. The school will have proof that it has provided this 

information when the student signs the document, either 

physically or electronically. The student benefits from the 

enrollment agreement because important information 

regarding items such as the right to cancel or refund policies 

are all disclosed in one place.  

The disadvantage to a school is the need to create an 

enrollment agreement if the school currently does not have 

one. There is no disadvantage to the student.  

The advantage to the agency is assurance that students are 

properly advised of the student protections they are entitled to 

when they sign on to attend a school. There is no 

disadvantage to the agency. 

Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 

Analysis: 

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. 

Pursuant to Chapter 298 of the 2017 Acts of Assembly,1 the 

State Council of Higher Education for Virginia (SCHEV) 

proposes a number of disclosures to be included in the 

enrollment agreement signed by the student and by an 

authorized representative of the school. 

Background. Chapter 298 of the 2017 Acts of Assembly 

requires all postsecondary schools certified by SCHEV2 to 

enter into an enrollment agreement with students and directs 

SCHEV to prescribe disclosures to be included in such an 

agreement. Accordingly, SCHEV proposes a number of 

disclosures to be included in such an agreement including 

transferability of credits to other institutions, right to 

cancellation, refund policies, and the grievance process. 

Estimated Benefits and Costs. The proposed regulation will 

make sure that students are provided with information on 

transferability of credits to other institutions, right to 

cancellation, refund policies, and the grievance process and 

that the school will have evidence that it has provided such 

information to the students. The main benefit of such 

disclosures is to make sure all parties have the same access to 

information and allow them to make informed decisions. 

The proposed regulation, however, is unlikely to have a 

significant economic impact upon promulgation for two 

reasons. First, SCHEV has always encouraged institutions to 

have enrollment agreements as a best practice. As a result, at 

least 90% of regulated institutions are estimated to currently 

have enrollment agreements.3 Second, those that do not have 

enrollment agreements are not expected to incur significant 

mailto:beverlyrebar@schev.edu
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costs to provide disclosures because they likely readily have 

the information to be disclosed. For example, some of the 

information that is to be disclosed is already disclosed to 

students by other means (such as in a catalog) or they are 

already available on other agency websites (such as pass rates 

for first time test takers for nursing licensure), or the school 

already has an existing policy on the issue. Therefore, 

provision of required disclosures should not impose 

significant costs on the schools. 

Businesses and Other Entities Affected. There are 

approximately 300 regulated postsecondary institutions in 

Virginia. In 2018, there were 38,476 new students enrolled in 

those institutions. No regulated postsecondary institutions 

appear to be disproportionately affected. 

Small Businesses4 Affected.  

Types and Estimated Number of Small Businesses Affected: 

Approximately 80 of the 300 regulated postsecondary 

institutions may be small businesses.5 

Costs and Other Effects. The proposed amendments would 

require regulated postsecondary institutions to disclose 

certain information to the students. However, since most of 

the schools already have enrollment agreements with students 

and those that do not have such agreements readily have the 

information that would need to be disclosed, the proposed 

amendments do not appear to have a significant adverse 

impact.6 

Alternative Method that Minimizes Adverse Impact. The 

proposed amendments do not appear to have a significant 

adverse impact. 

Localities7 Affected.8 The proposed regulation applies 

statewide. The proposed amendments do not introduce costs 

for local governments. 

Projected Impact on Employment. No significant impact on 

employment is expected. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. No 

significant impact on the use and value of private property is 

expected. No impact on real estate development costs is 

expected. 

________________________ 

1https://lis.virginia.gov/cgi-bin/legp604.exe?171+ful+CHAP0298&171+ 

ful+CHAP0298 

2These postsecondary schools subject to certification are private institutions 

and generally offer two-year programs such as Strayer University, DeVry 

University, Bryant and Stratton College, etc. A list of these postsecondary 

institutions can be found under "Private and Out of State College & 

Universities Certified to Operate in Virginia" at 

https://www.schev.edu/index/students-and-parents/explore/virginia-

institutions. 

3Source: SCHEV 

4Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.04 of the Code of Virginia, small business is defined 

as "a business entity, including its affiliates, that (i) is independently owned 

and operated and (ii) employs fewer than 500 full-time employees or has 

gross annual sales of less than $6 million." 

5Data source: Virginia Employment Commission 

6Adverse impact is indicated if there is any increase in net cost or reduction 

in net revenue for any entity, even if the benefits exceed the costs for all 

entities combined. 

7"Locality" can refer to either local governments or the locations in the 

Commonwealth where the activities relevant to the regulatory change are 

most likely to occur. 

8§ 2.2-4007.04 defines "particularly affected" as bearing disproportionate 

material impact. 

Agency's Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The State 

Council of Higher Education for Virginia concurs with the 

analysis of the Department of Planning and Budget. 

Summary: 

The proposed amendments add (i) the definition of 

"enrollment agreement" and (ii) the requirements for the 

enrollment agreement between students and regulated 

institutions mandated by Chapter 298 of 2017 Acts of 

Assembly  

Part I  

Definitions; Prohibitions; Advertising  

8VAC40-31-10. Definitions.  

The following words and terms when used in this chapter 

shall have the following meanings unless the context clearly 

indicates otherwise:  

"Academic credit" means the measure of the total time 

commitment an average student is expected to devote to 

learning per week of study. Generally, one unit of credit 

represents a total of three hours per week of in-class and out-

of-class work (Carnegie Unit of Credit). In this context, an 

hour is defined as 50 minutes. Emerging delivery 

methodologies may necessitate determining a unit of 

undergraduate or graduate credit with nontime-based 

methods. These courses shall use demonstration of 

competency, demonstration of proficiency, or fulfillment of 

learning outcomes to ensure these courses are equivalent to 

traditionally delivered courses.  

"Academic-vocational" means a noncollege degree school 

that offers degree and nondegree credit courses at a site in 

Virginia or via telecommunications equipment located in 

Virginia.  

"Accreditation" means a process of external quality review 

used by higher education to scrutinize colleges, universities, 

and educational programs for quality assurance and quality 

improvement. This term applies to those accrediting 

organizations recognized by the United States Department of 

Education.  

 

https://lis.virginia.gov/cgi-bin/legp604.exe?171+ful+CHAP0298&171+ful+CHAP0298
https://lis.virginia.gov/cgi-bin/legp604.exe?171+ful+CHAP0298&171+ful+CHAP0298
https://www.schev.edu/index/students-and-parents/explore/virginia-institutions
https://www.schev.edu/index/students-and-parents/explore/virginia-institutions
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"Adjunct faculty" means professional staff members of 

businesses, industries, and other agencies and organizations 

who are appointed by institutions and schools on a part-time 

basis to carry out instructional, research, or public service 

functions.  

"Administrative capability" means a branch (i) maintains or 

has access to all records and accounts; (ii) has an 

administrator; (iii) offers courses that consist of a large 

number of unit subjects that comprise a program of education 

or a set curriculum large enough to allow pursuit on a 

continuing basis; and (iv) provides student services, including 

but not limited to financial aid, admissions, career placement 

assistance, or registration. 

"Agent" means a person who is employed by any institution 

of higher education or noncollege degree school, whether 

such institution or school is located within or outside this 

Commonwealth, to act as an agent, solicitor, procurer, broker, 

or independent contractor to procure students or enrollees for 

any such institution or school by solicitation in any form at 

any place in this Commonwealth other than the office or 

principal location of such institution or school.  

"Avocational" means instructional programs that are not 

intended to prepare students for employment but are intended 

solely for recreation, enjoyment, personal interest, or as a 

hobby or courses or programs that prepare individuals to 

teach such pursuits.  

"Branch" means an additional location, operated by a school 

with an approved existing site. A branch campus must have 

administrative capability exclusive of the main campus and 

adequate resources to ensure that the objectives of its 

programs can be met.  

"Career-technical school" means a school that does not offer 

courses for degree credit at a site in Virginia or via 

telecommunication equipment located in Virginia; same as 

academic-vocational school.  

"Certificate" means the credential awarded by a school upon 

the successful completion of a program that consists of one or 

more technical courses, usually completed in less than 26 

weeks, normally with a single skill objective. 

"Certification" means the process of securing authorization 

to operate a private or out-of-state postsecondary school or 

institution of higher education and/or or degree, certificate, or 

diploma program in the Commonwealth of Virginia.  

"Change of ownership" means the change in power within a 

school. Change of ownership may include, but is not limited 

to, the following situations: (i) sale of the school;, (ii) merger 

of two or more schools if one of the schools is nonexempt;, or 

(iii) change from profit to nonprofit or collective.  

 

"CIP code" means the six-digit number assigned to each 

discipline specialty in the Classification of Instructional 

Programs (CIP) taxonomy maintained by the National Center 

for Education Statistics.  

"Clock (or contact) hour" or "contact hour" means a 

minimum of 50 minutes of supervised or directed instruction 

and appropriate breaks.  

"College" means any institution of higher education that 

offers degree programs.  

"Conditional certification" means a status that may be 

granted by the council to a school certified to operate in 

Virginia to allow time for the correction of major deficiencies 

or weaknesses identified in the school's administration that 

are of such magnitude that, if not corrected, may result in the 

suspension or revocation of the school's certificate to operate. 

During a period of conditional certification, a school may not 

enroll new students or confer any degrees, diplomas, or 

certificates.  

"Council" means the State Council of Higher Education for 

Virginia.  

"Course for degree credit" means a single course whose 

credits are applicable to the requirements for earning a 

degree, diploma, or certificate.  

"Course registration materials" means any official 

documents provided to students for the purpose of formal 

enrollment into the school, a specific program, or a certain 

course.  

"Credit" means (i) the quantitative measurement assigned to 

a course generally stated in semester hours, quarter hours, or 

clock hours or (ii) the recognition awarded upon successful 

completion of coursework.  

"Credit hour" means a unit by which a school may measure 

its coursework. The number of credit hours assigned to a 

traditionally delivered course is usually defined by a 

combination of the number of hours per week in class, the 

number of hours per week in a laboratory, and/or or the 

number of hours devoted to externship multiplied by the 

number of hours in the term. One unit of credit is usually 

equivalent to, at a minimum, one hour of classroom study and 

outside preparation, two hours of laboratory experience, or 

three hours of internship or practicum, or a combination of 

the three multiplied by the number of weeks in the term. 

Emerging delivery methodologies may necessitate 

determining a unit of undergraduate or graduate credit with 

nontime-based methods. These courses shall use 

demonstration of competency, demonstration of proficiency, 

or fulfillment of learning outcomes to ensure these courses 

are equivalent to traditionally delivered courses.  

"Degree" means any earned award at the associate, 

baccalaureate, master's, first professional, or doctoral level 

that represents satisfactory completion of the requirements of 
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a program or course of study or instruction beyond the 

secondary school level and includes certificates and specialist 

degrees when such awards represent a level of educational 

attainment above that of the associate degree level.  

"Degree program" means a curriculum or course of study 

that leads to a degree in a discipline or interdisciplinary 

specialty and normally is identified by a six-digit CIP code 

number.  

"Diploma" means an award that represents a level of 

educational attainment at or below the associate degree level 

and that normally consists of up to (i) 1,500 clock hours, (ii) 

90 quarter hours, or (iii) 60 semester hours.  

"Distance education" means education that uses the Internet, 

one-way transmission and two-way transmission through 

open broadcast, closed circuit, cable, microwave, broadband 

lines, fiber optics, satellite, or wireless communications; 

audio conferencing; or video cassettes, DVDs, and CD-

ROMs to deliver instruction to students who are separated 

from the instructor and to support regular and substantive 

interaction between student and instructor. 

"Enrollment agreement" means a legally binding document 

signed by a student and an authorized representative of an 

institution, prior to the time instruction begins that contains 

required disclosures, a completed copy of which is given to 

the student upon execution. 

"Existing institution" or "existing postsecondary school" 

means any postsecondary school that either (i) has been in 

operation in Virginia for two or more calendar years as of 

July 1, 2004, and has been certified to operate continuously 

during that period or (ii) has been approved to operate as a 

postsecondary school in another state, is accredited by an 

accrediting agency recognized by the United States 

Department of Education, and is certified to operate in 

Virginia.  

"Full-time faculty" means a person whose: (i) employment 

is based upon an official contract, appointment, or agreement 

with a school; (ii) principal employment is with that school; 

and (iii) major assignments are in teaching and research. A 

full-time administrator who teaches classes incidental to 

administrative duties is not a full-time faculty member.  

"Graduate credit hours" means credits hours earned for 

successful completion of courses beyond the baccalaureate 

level, generally awarded at the 500 series and above. 

"Gross tuition collected" means all fees collected or received 

on either a cash or accrual accounting method basis for all 

instructional programs or courses, except for nonrefundable 

registration and application fees and charges for materials, 

supplies, and books that have been purchased by, and are the 

property of, the student.  

"In-state institution" means an institution of higher 

education that is formed, chartered, or established within 

Virginia. An out-of-state institution shall be deemed an in-

state institution for the purposes of certification as a degree-

granting institution if (i) the institution has no instructional 

campus in the jurisdiction in which it was formed, chartered, 

established, or incorporated and (ii) the institution produces 

clear and convincing evidence that its main or principal 

campus is located in Virginia.  

"Institution of higher education" or "institution" means any 

person, firm, corporation, association, agency, institute, trust, 

or other entity of any nature whatsoever offering education 

beyond the secondary school level that has received 

certification from the council and either: (i) offers courses or 

programs of study or instruction that lead to, or that may 

reasonably be understood to be applicable to, a degree; (ii) 

operates a facility as a college or university or other entity of 

whatever kind that offers degrees or other indicia of level of 

educational attainment beyond the secondary school level; 

(iii) uses the term "college" or "university," or words of like 

meaning, in its name or in any manner in connection with its 

academic affairs or business; or (iv) offers approved courses 

of degree credit or programs of study leading to a degree or 

offers degrees either at a site in Virginia or via 

telecommunications equipment located within Virginia. 

"Instructional faculty" means a person employed by a school 

who is engaged in instructional, research, or related activities.  

"Instructional site" means a location in Virginia where a 

postsecondary school (i) offers one or more courses on an 

established schedule and (ii) lacks administrative capability.  

"Multistate compact" means any agreement involving two or 

more states to offer jointly postsecondary educational 

opportunities, pursuant to policies and procedures set forth by 

such agreement and approved by council.  

"New institution" or "new postsecondary school" means any 

postsecondary school that seeks certification and has been in 

operation in Virginia for less than two calendar years as of 

July 1, 2004, and has neither operated in another state as a 

postsecondary institution nor has been approved to operate in 

another state as a postsecondary institution.  

"Noncollege degree school" means any postsecondary 

school that offers courses or programs of study that do not 

lead to an associate or higher level degree at a site in Virginia 

or via telecommunications equipment located within Virginia. 

Such schools may be academic-career-technical or career-

technical.  

"Out-of-state institution" means an institution of higher 

education that is formed, chartered, established, or 

incorporated outside Virginia.  

"Part-time faculty" means a person whose: (i) annual 

employment is based upon an official contract, appointment, 

or agreement with a school and (ii) courseload of teaching 

assignments is of lesser quantity than that expected of a full-
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time faculty member and/or or is of lesser quantity than the 

school's definition of a full load of courses.  

"Postsecondary education" means the provision of formal 

instructional programs with a curriculum designed primarily 

for students who have completed the requirements for a high 

school diploma or equivalent or who are beyond the age of 

compulsory high school attendance. It includes programs of 

an academic, career-technical, and continuing professional 

education purpose, and excludes avocational and adult basic 

education programs.  

"Postsecondary education activities" means researching, 

funding, designing, and/or or conducting instructional 

programs, classes, or research opportunities, designed 

primarily for students who have completed the requirements 

for a high school diploma or its equivalent or who are beyond 

the age of compulsory high school attendance.  

"Postsecondary school" or "school" means any entity 

offering formal instructional programs with a curriculum 

designed primarily for students who have completed the 

requirements for a high school diploma or its equivalent or 

who are beyond the age of compulsory high school 

attendance, and for which tuition or a fee is charged. Such 

schools include programs of academic, career-technical, and 

continuing professional education, and exclude avocational 

and adult basic education programs. For the purposes of this 

chapter, a "postsecondary school" shall be classified as either 

an institution of higher education as defined in this section or 

a noncollege degree school, as defined in this section.  

"Private postsecondary career school" means any for-profit 

or nonprofit postsecondary career entity maintaining a 

physical presence in Virginia providing education or training 

for tuition or a fee that (i) augments a person's occupational 

skills; (ii) provides a certification; or (iii) fulfills a training or 

education requirement in one's employment, career, trade, 

profession, or occupation. Any entity that offers programs 

beyond the secondary school level, including programs using 

alternate modes of delivery, shall be included in this 

definition so long as tuition and fees from such programs 

constitute any part of its revenue. 

"Program" means a curriculum or course of study in a 

discipline or interdisciplinary area that leads to a degree, 

certificate, or diploma.  

"Program area" means a general group of disciplines in 

which one or more degree programs, certificates, or diplomas 

may be offered.  

"Program of study" means a curriculum of two or more 

courses that is intended or understood to lead to a degree, 

diploma, or certificate. It may include all or some of the 

courses required for completion of a degree program.  

"Provisional certification" means a preliminary approval 

status granted by the council to a new school applicant that 

has demonstrated substantial compliance with the provisions 

of this chapter pursuant to § 23-276 of the Code of Virginia. 

Such a status may include any conditions imposed by the 

council to ensure compliance with the provisions of this 

chapter. The provisionally certified school must demonstrate 

compliance with all conditions within one calendar year of 

the initial grant of provisional certification.  

"Surety instrument" means a surety bond or a clean 

irrevocable letter of credit issued by a surety company or 

banking institution authorized to transact business in Virginia 

adequate to provide refunds to students for the unearned non-

Title IV portion of tuition and fees for any given semester, 

quarter or term and to cover the administrative cost associated 

with filing a claim against the instrument.  

"Teach-out agreement" means the process whereby a closed 

or closing school undertakes to fulfill its educational and 

contractual obligations to currently enrolled students.  

"Telecommunications activity" means any course offered by 

a postsecondary school or consortium of postsecondary 

schools where the primary mode of instructional delivery is 

by television, videocassette or disc, film, radio, computer, or 

other telecommunications devices.  

"Unearned tuition" means the portion of tuition charges 

billed to the student but not yet earned by the institution; the 

unearned tuition represents future educational services to be 

rendered to presently enrolled students.  

"University" means any institution offering programs 

leading to degrees or degree credit beyond the baccalaureate 

level.  

"Vocational" means a noncollege degree school that offers 

only noncollege credit courses. Such schools have programs 

of instruction offering a sequence of courses that are directly 

related to the preparation of individuals for paid or unpaid 

employment in current or emerging occupations requiring 

other than a baccalaureate or advanced degree. Vocational 

education shall not include instructional programs intended 

solely for recreation, enjoyment, personal interest, or as a 

hobby, or courses or programs that prepare individuals to 

teach such pursuits.  

8VAC40-31-160. Certification criteria for all 

postsecondary schools.  

A. The criteria in this section shall apply to all 

postsecondary schools for which certification is required. 

With regard to postsecondary schools that are accredited by 

an accrediting agency recognized by the U.S. Department of 

Education, the council may apply a presumption of 

compliance with criteria in this section if the school has 

complied with an accreditation standard directed to the same 

subject matter as the criteria. The council need not apply this 

presumption if the accreditation standard is deficient in 

satisfying an identifiable goal of the council. The council 
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shall articulate reasons that the accreditation standard is 

deficient. 

B. The postsecondary school shall have a clear, accurate, 

and comprehensive written statement, which shall be 

available to the public upon request. The statement minimally 

shall include the following items:  

1. The history and development of the postsecondary 

school;  

2. An identification of any persons, entities, or institutions 

that have a controlling ownership or interest in the 

postsecondary school;  

3. The purpose of the postsecondary school, including a 

statement of the relative degree of emphasis on instruction, 

research, and public service as well as a statement 

demonstrating that the school's proposed offerings are 

consistent with its stated purpose;  

4. A description of the postsecondary school's activities 

including telecommunications activities away from its 

principal location, and a list of all program areas in which 

courses are offered away from the principal location;  

5. A list of all locations in Virginia at which the 

postsecondary school offers courses and a list of the degree 

and nondegree programs currently offered or planned to be 

offered in Virginia;  

6. For each Virginia location, and for the most recent 

academic year, the total number of students who were 

enrolled as well as the total number and percentage of 

students who were enrolled in each program offered;  

7. For each Virginia location, the total number of students 

who completed or graduated from the school as of the end 

of the last academic year and the total number and 

percentage of students who completed or graduated from 

each program offered by the school as of the end of the last 

academic year; and 

8. For unaccredited institutions of higher education and 

career-technical schools only, the total number of students 

who report employment in their field of study within (i) six 

months of completion or graduation and (ii) one year of 

completion or graduation.  

C. The postsecondary school or branch shall have a current, 

written document available to students and the general public 

upon request that accurately states the powers, duties, and 

responsibilities of:  

1. The governing board or owners of the school;  

2. The chief operating officer, president, or director at that 

branch in Virginia;  

3. The principal administrators and their credentials at that 

branch in Virginia; and  

4. The students, if students participate in school 

governance.  

D. The postsecondary school shall have, maintain, and 

provide to all applicants a policy document accurately 

defining the minimum requirements for eligibility for 

admission to the school and for acceptance at the specific 

degree level or into all specific degree programs offered by 

the postsecondary school that are relevant to the school's 

admissions standards. In addition, the document shall explain:  

1. The standards for academic credit or course completion 

given for experience;  

2. The criteria for acceptance of transfer credit where 

applicable;  

3. The criteria for refunds of tuition and fees;  

4. Students' rights, privileges, and responsibilities; and  

5. The established grievance process of the school, which 

shall indicate that students should follow this process and 

may contact council staff to file a complaint about the 

school as a last resort. The written policy shall include a 

provision that students will not be subjected to adverse 

actions by any school officials as a result of initiating a 

complaint. 

E. The postsecondary school shall maintain records on all 

enrolled students. At a minimum, these records shall include:  

1. Each student's application for admission and admissions 

records containing information regarding the educational 

qualifications of each regular student admitted that are 

relevant to the postsecondary school's admissions 

standards. Each student record must reflect the 

requirements and justification for admission of the student 

to the postsecondary school. Admissions records must be 

maintained by the school, its successors, or its assigns for a 

minimum of three years after the student's last date of 

attendance.  

2. An original agreement titled "Student Enrollment 

Agreement" signed by the student and an authorized 

representative of the school. The use of electronic 

signatures is permissible so long as the use complies with § 

59.1-479 of the Code of Virginia. A copy of the completed 

enrollment agreement shall be given to the student upon 

execution. 

a. At the time of enrollment, the agreement shall contain, 

at a minimum: 

(1) Student name, address, and phone number;  

(2) Institution name, address, and phone number; 

(3) Name of the educational program, start date, and the 

total number of credit hours or clock hours to complete 

the program of study and type of credential awarded 

upon completion (certificate, diploma, or degree); 
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(4) Estimated cost of all institutional charges and fees 

including tuition, fees, equipment charges, supplies, 

textbooks, and uniforms; 

(5) The institution's refund policy, which must be in 

compliance with subsection N of this section; 

(6) A labeled section titled "STUDENT'S RIGHT TO 

CANCEL" that shall provide the terms for cancellation. 

Specifically:  

(a) The school shall provide a period of at least three 

business days, excluding weekends and holidays, by 

which the student applicant must cancel in order to 

receive refund of all moneys paid less a nonrefundable 

fee not to exceed $100. The actual date by which the 

student applicant must cancel shall be specified in the 

agreement. 

(b) The school shall disclose that following the 

cancellation period, a student applicant may cancel his 

enrollment agreement, by written notice, at any time 

prior to the first class day of the session for which 

application was made. When cancellation is requested 

under these circumstances, the school will refund all 

tuition paid by the student, less a maximum tuition fee of 

15% of the stated costs of the course or program or $100, 

whichever is less; 

(7) A notice stating that the transferability of credit and 

credentials earned is at the sole discretion of the 

receiving institution;  

(8) For enrollees in programs leading to professional 

licensure, the school shall disclose annual pass rates for 

first time test takers for the last three years, if applicable. 

If results are not available, the school must provide a 

written explanation. This disclosure must be signed by 

the student;  

(9) A statement informing students of the institution's 

grievance policy; 

(10) A statement informing students that the institution is 

certified to operate by SCHEV and providing full contact 

information for council; 

(11) A statement that reads: "By signing below, I certify 

that I have been provided access to the institution's 

electronic or print catalog, bulletin, or brochure."; 

(12) A statement that reads: "I understand that this is a 

legally binding agreement. My signature below certifies 

that I have read, understood, and agreed with my rights 

and responsibilities. Further, I certify that I understand 

the institution's cancellation and refund policies and I 

understand and agree to these policies."; and 

(13) Following the statement in subdivision E 2 a (12) of 

this section, the document provides places for signatures 

of the student and authorized representative of the school 

and date the document was signed. 

b. A new enrollment agreement must be completed in the 

event that the student (i) delays his start date, (ii) changes 

the program of enrollment, or (iii) drops from the 

program and re-enrolls at a later date.  

2. 3. A transcript of the student's academic or course work 

at the school, which shall be retained permanently in either 

hard copy forms or in an electronic database with backup 

by the school, its successors, or its assigns.  

3. 4. A record of student academic or course progress at the 

school including programs of study, dates of enrollment, 

courses taken and completed, grades, and indication of the 

student's current status (graduated, probation, etc.) must be 

retained permanently. Any changes or alterations to student 

records must be accurately documented and signed by an 

appropriate school official.  

4. 5. A record of all financial transactions between each 

individual student and the school including payments from 

the student, payments from other sources on the student's 

behalf, and refunds. Fiscal records must be maintained for 

a minimum of three years after the student's last date of 

attendance. When tuition and fees are paid by the student 

in installments, a clear disclosure of truth-in-lending 

statement must be provided to and signed by the student.  

5. 6. The school shall make the documents referenced in 

subdivisions 1 through 4 5 of this subsection available to 

the student upon request. Academic transcripts shall be 

provided upon request if the student is in good financial 

standing.  

F. Each school shall provide or make available to students, 

prospective students, and other interested persons a catalog, 

bulletin, brochure, or electronic media containing, at a 

minimum, the following information:  

1. The number of students enrolled in each program 

offered.  

2. For each Virginia location, the total number of students 

who completed or graduated from the school as of the end 

of the last academic year and the total number and 

percentage of students who completed or graduated from 

each program offered by the school as of the end of the last 

academic year.  

3. A description of any financial aid offered by the school 

including repayment obligations, standards of academic 

progress required for continued participation in the 

program, sources of loans or scholarships, the percentage 

of students receiving federal financial aid (if applicable) 

and the average student indebtedness at graduation.  

4. A broad description, including academic or career-

technical objectives of each program offered, the number 
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of hours of instruction in each subject and total number of 

hours required for course completion, course descriptions, 

and a statement of the type of credential awarded.  

5. A statement of tuition and fees and other charges related 

to enrollment, such as deposits, fees, books and supplies, 

tools and equipment, and any other charges for which a 

student may be responsible.  

6. The school's refund policy for tuition and fees pursuant 

to subsection N of this section. 

7. The school's procedures for handling complaints, 

including procedures to ensure that a student will not be 

subject to unfair actions as a result of his initiation of a 

complaint proceeding.  

8. The name and address of the school's accrediting body, 

if applicable.  

9. The minimum requirements for satisfactory completion 

of each degree level and degree program, or nondegree 

certificates or diplomas.  

10. A statement that accurately describes the transferability 

of any courses.  

11. A statement that accurately represents the 

transferability of any diplomas, certificates, or degrees 

offered by the school.  

12. If the institution offers programs leading to the 

Associate of Applied Science or Associate of Occupational 

Science degree, a statement that these programs are 

terminal occupational or technical programs and that 

credits generally earned in these programs are not 

applicable to other degrees.  

13. The academic or course work schedule for the period 

covered by the publication.  

14. A statement that accurately details the type and amount 

of career advising and placement services offered by the 

school.  

15. The name, location, and address of the main campus, 

branch, or instructional site operating in Virginia.  

G. The school must have a clearly defined process by which 

the curriculum is established, reviewed and evaluated. 

Evaluation of school effectiveness must be completed on a 

regular basis and must include, but not be limited to:  

1. An explanation of how each program is consistent with 

the mission of the school.  

2. An explanation of the written process for evaluating 

each degree level and program, or career-technical 

program, once initiated and an explanation of the 

procedures for assessing the extent to which the 

educational goals are being achieved.  

3. Documented use of the results of these evaluations to 

improve the degree and career-technical programs offered 

by the school.  

H. Pursuant to § 23-276.3 B of the Code of Virginia, the 

school must maintain records that demonstrate it is financially 

sound; exercises proper management, financial controls, and 

business practices; and can fulfill its commitments for 

education or training. The school's financial resources should 

be characterized by stability, which indicates the school is 

capable of maintaining operational continuity for an extended 

period of time. The stability indicator that will be used is the 

USDOE Financial Ratio (composite score).  

1. Institutions of higher education shall provide the results 

of an annual audited, reviewed, or compiled financial 

statement. Career-technical schools shall provide the 

results of an annual audited, reviewed or compiled 

financial statement or the school may elect to provide 

financial information on forms provided by council staff. 

The financial report shall be prepared in accordance with 

generally accepted accounting principles (GAAP) currently 

in effect. The financial report shall cover the most recent 

annual accounting period completed. 

2. The USDOE composite score range is -1.0 to 3.0. 

Schools with a score of 1.5 to 3.0 meet fully the stability 

requirement in subsection I of this section; scores between 

1.0 and 1.4 meet the minimum expectations; and scores 

less than 1.0 do not meet the requirement and shall be 

immediately considered for audit.  

I. Pursuant to § 23-276.3 B of the Code of Virginia, the 

school shall have and maintain a surety instrument issued by 

a surety company or banking institution authorized to transact 

business in Virginia that is adequate to provide refunds to 

students for the unearned non-Title IV portion of tuition and 

fees for any given semester, quarter or term and to cover the 

administrative cost associated with the instrument claim. The 

instrument shall be based on the non-Title IV funds that have 

been received from students or agencies for which the 

education has not yet been delivered. This figure shall be 

indicated in an audited financial statement as a Current (non-

Title IV) Tuition Liability. A school certified under this 

regulation shall be exempt from the surety instrument 

requirement if it can demonstrate a USDOE composite 

financial responsibility score of 1.5 or greater on its current 

financial statement; or if it can demonstrate a composite score 

between 1.0 and 1.4 on its current financial statement and has 

scored at least 1.5 on a financial statement in either of the 

prior two years. The school's eligibility for the surety waiver 

shall be determined annually, at the time of recertification. 

1. Public postsecondary schools originating in a state other 

than Virginia that are operating a branch campus or 

instructional site in the Commonwealth of Virginia are 

exempt from the surety bond requirement.  
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2. New schools and unaccredited existing schools must 

complete at least five calendar years of academic 

instruction or certification to qualify for the surety waiver 

or exemption.  

3. Existing schools seeking a waiver of the surety 

instrument requirement must submit an audited financial 

statement for the most recent fiscal year end that reflects 

the appropriate composite score as indicated in this 

subsection. 

J. The school shall have a current written policy on faculty 

accessibility that shall be distributed to all students. The 

school shall ensure that instructional faculty are accessible to 

students for academic or course advising at stated times 

outside a course's regularly scheduled class hours at each 

branch and throughout the period during which the course is 

offered.  

K. All recruitment personnel must provide prospective 

students with current and accurate information on the school 

through the use of written and electronic materials and in oral 

admissions interviews:  

1. The school shall be responsible and liable for the acts of 

its admissions personnel.  

2. No school, agent, or admissions personnel shall 

knowingly make any statement or representation that is 

false, inaccurate or misleading regarding the school.  

L. All programs offered via telecommunications or distance 

education must be comparable in content, faculty, and 

resources to those offered in residence and must include 

regular student-faculty interaction by computer, telephone, 

mail, or face-to-face meetings. Telecommunication programs 

and courses shall adhere to the following minimum standards: 

1. The educational objectives for each program or course 

shall be clearly defined, simply stated, and of such a nature 

that they can be achieved through telecommunications. 

2. Instructional materials and technology methods must be 

appropriate to meet the stated objectives of the program or 

course. The school must consider and implement basic 

online navigation of any course or program, an information 

exchange privacy and safety policy, a notice of minimum 

technology specification for students and faculty, proper 

system monitoring, and technology infrastructure 

capabilities sufficient to meet the demands of the programs 

being offered. 

3. The school shall provide faculty and student training and 

support services specifically related to telecommunication 

activities.  

4. The school shall provide for methods for timely 

interaction between students and faculty. 

5. The school shall develop standards that ensure that 

accepted students have sufficient background, knowledge, 

and technical skills to successfully undertake a 

telecommunications program. 

M. The school shall maintain and ensure that students have 

access to a library with a collection, staff, services, 

equipment, and facilities that are adequate and appropriate for 

the purpose and enrollment of the school. Library resources 

shall be current, well distributed among fields in which the 

institution offers instructions, cataloged, logically organized, 

and readily located. The school shall maintain a continuous 

plan for library resource development and support, including 

objectives and selections of materials. Current and formal 

written agreements with other libraries or with other entities 

may be used. Institutions offering graduate work shall 

provide access to library resources that include basic 

reference and bibliographic works and major journals in each 

discipline in which the graduate program is offered. Career-

technical schools shall provide adequate and appropriate 

resources for completion of course work.  

N. In accordance with § 23-276.3 B of the Code of Virginia, 

the school shall establish a tuition refund policy and 

communicate it to students. Each school shall establish, 

disclose, and utilize a system of tuition and fee charges for 

each program of instruction. These charges shall be applied 

uniformly to all similarly circumstanced students. This 

requirement does not apply to group tuition rates to business 

firms, industry, or governmental agencies that are 

documented by written agreements between the school and 

the respective organization.  

1. The school shall adopt a minimum refund policy relative 

to the refund of tuition, fees, and other charges. All fees 

and payments, with the exception of the nonrefundable fee 

described in subdivision 2 of this subsection, remitted to 

the school by a prospective student shall be refunded if the 

student is not admitted, does not enroll in the school, does 

not begin the program or course, withdraws prior to the 

start of the program, or is dismissed prior to the start of the 

program.  

2. A school may require the payment of a reasonable 

nonrefundable initial fee, not to exceed $100, to cover 

expenses in connection with processing a student's 

enrollment, provided it retains a signed statement in which 

the parties acknowledge their understanding that the fee is 

nonrefundable. No other nonrefundable fees shall be 

allowed prior to enrollment.  

3. The school shall provide a period of at least three 

business days, excluding weekends and holidays, during 

which a student applicant may cancel his enrollment 

without financial obligation other than the nonrefundable 

fee described in subdivision 2 of this subsection.  

4. Following the period described in subdivision 3 of this 

subsection, a student applicant (one who has applied for 

admission to a school) may cancel, by written notice, his 
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enrollment at any time prior to the first class day of the 

session for which application was made. When 

cancellation is requested under these circumstances, the 

school is required to refund all tuition paid by the student, 

less a maximum tuition fee of 15% of the stated costs of 

the course or program or $100, whichever is less. A student 

applicant will be considered a student as of the first day of 

classes.  

5. The date of the institution's determination that the 

student withdrew should be no later than 14 calendar days 

after the student's last date of attendance as determined by 

the institution from its attendance records. The institution 

is not required to administratively withdraw a student who 

has been absent for 14 calendar days. However, after 14 

calendar days, the institution is expected to have 

determined whether the student intends to return to classes 

or to withdraw. In addition, if the student is eventually 

determined to have withdrawn, the end of the 14-day 

period begins the timeframe for calculating the refunds. In 

the event that a written notice is submitted, the effective 

date of termination shall be the date of the written notice. 

The school may require that written notice be transmitted 

via registered or certified mail, or by electronic 

transmission provided that such a stipulation is contained 

in the written enrollment contract. The school is required to 

submit refunds to individuals who have terminated their 

status as students within 45 days after receipt of a written 

request or the date the student last attended classes 

whichever is sooner. An institution that provides the 

majority of its program offerings through distance learning 

shall have a plan for student termination, which shall be 

provided to council staff for review with its annual or 

recertification application.  

6. In the case of a prolonged illness or accident, death in 

the family, or other special circumstances that make 

attendance impossible or impractical, a leave of absence 

may be granted to the student if requested in writing by the 

student or designee. No monetary charges or accumulated 

absences may be assessed to the student during a leave of 

absence. A school need not treat a leave of absence as a 

withdrawal if it is an approved leave of absence. A leave of 

absence is an approved leave of absence if: 

a. The school has a formal, published policy regarding 

leaves of absence; 

b. The student followed the institution's policy in 

requesting the leave of absence and submits a signed, 

dated request with the reasons for the leave of absence; 

c. The school determines that there is a reasonable 

expectation that the student will return to the school; 

d. The school approved the student's request in 

accordance with the published policy; 

e. The school does not impose additional charges to the 

student as a result of the leave of absence; 

f. The leave of absence does not exceed 180 days in any 

12-month period; and 

g. Upon the student's return from the leave of absence, 

the student is permitted to complete the coursework he 

began prior to the leave of absence. 

7. If a student does not resume attendance at the institution 

on or before the end of an approved leave of absence, the 

institution must treat the student as a withdrawal, and the 

date that the leave of absence was approved should be 

considered the last date of attendance for refund purposes.  

8. The minimum refund policy for a school that financially 

obligates the student for a quarter, semester, trimester, or 

other period not exceeding 4-1/2 calendar months shall be 

as follows:  

a. For schools that utilize an add/drop period, a student 

who withdraws during the add/drop period shall be 

entitled to 100% refund for the period.  

b. For unaccredited schools and schools that do not 

utilize an add/drop period: 

(1) A student who enters school but withdraws during the 

first 1/4 (25%) of the period is entitled to receive as a 

refund a minimum of 50% of the stated cost of the course 

or program for the period. 

(2) A student who enters a school but withdraws after 

completing 1/4 (25%), but less than 1/2 (50%) of the 

period is entitled to receive as a refund a minimum of 

25% of the stated cost of the course or program for the 

period. 

(3) A student who withdraws after completing 1/2 (50%), 

or more than 1/2 (50%), of the period is not entitled to a 

refund. 

9. The minimum refund policy for a school that financially 

obligates the student for the entire amount of tuition and 

fees for the entirety of a program or course shall be as 

follows: 

a. A student who enters the school but withdraws or is 

terminated during the first quartile (25%) of the program 

shall be entitled to a minimum refund amounting to 75% 

of the cost of the program.  

b. A student who withdraws or is terminated during the 

second quartile (more than 25% but less than 50%) of the 

program shall be entitled to a minimum refund 

amounting to 50% of the cost of the program.  

c. A student who withdraws or is terminated during the 

third quartile (more than 50% but less than 75%) of the 

program shall be entitled to a minimum refund 

amounting to 25% of the cost of the program.  
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d. A student who withdraws after completing more than 

three quartiles (75%) of the program shall not be entitled 

to a refund.  

10. The minimum refund policy for a school that offers its 

programs completely via telecommunications or distance 

education shall be as follows:  

a. For a student canceling after the 5th calendar day 

following the date of enrollment but prior to receipt by 

the school of the first completed lesson assignment, all 

moneys paid to the school shall be refunded, except the 

nonrefundable fee described in subdivision 2 of this 

subsection.  

b. If a student enrolls and withdraws or is discontinued 

after submission of the first completed lesson 

assignment, but prior to the completion of the program, 

minimum refunds shall be calculated as follows:  

(1) A student who starts the program but withdraws up to 

and including completion of the first quartile (25%) of 

the program is entitled to receive as a refund a minimum 

of 75% of the stated cost of the course or program for the 

period.  

(2) A student who starts the program but withdraws after 

completing up to the second quartile (more than 25%, but 

less than 50%) of the program is entitled to receive as a 

refund a minimum of 50% of the stated cost of the course 

or program for the period.  

(3) A student who starts the program but withdraws after 

completing up to the third quartile (more than 50%, but 

less than 75%) of the program is entitled to receive as a 

refund a minimum of 25% of the stated cost of the course 

or program for the period.  

(4) A student who withdraws after completing the third 

quartile (75%) or more of the program is not entitled to a 

refund.  

c. The percentage of the program completed shall be 

determined by comparing the number of completed 

lesson assignments received by the school to the total 

number of lesson assignments required in the program. 

d. If the school uses standard enrollment terms, such as 

semesters or quarters, to measure student progress, the 

school may use the appropriate refund policy as provided 

in subdivision 8 or 9 of this subsection.  

11. Fractions of credit for courses completed shall be 

determined by dividing the total amount of time required to 

complete the period or the program by the amount of time 

the student actually spent in the program or the period, or 

by the number of correspondence course lessons 

completed, as described in the contract.  

12. Expenses incurred by students for instructional 

supplies, tools, activities, library, rentals, service charges, 

deposits, and all other charges are not required to be 

considered in tuition refund computations when these 

expenses have been represented separately to the student in 

the enrollment contract and catalogue, or other documents, 

prior to enrollment in the course or program. The school 

shall adopt and adhere to reasonable policies regarding the 

handling of these expenses when calculating the refund.  

13. For programs longer than one year, the policy outlined 

in subdivisions 9, 10, and 11 of this subsection shall apply 

separately for each academic year or portion thereof.  

14. Schools shall comply with the cancellation and 

settlement policy outlined in this section, including 

promissory notes or contracts for tuition or fees sold to 

third parties.  

15. When notes, contracts or enrollment agreements are 

sold to third parties, the school shall continue to have the 

responsibility to provide the training specified regardless 

of the source of any tuition, fees, or other charges that have 

been remitted to the school by the student or on behalf of 

the student.  

O. The school shall keep relevant academic transcripts for 

all teaching faculty to document that each has the appropriate 

educational credentials in the area of teaching responsibility. 

In the event teaching qualification is based on professional 

competencies or scholarly achievements, relevant 

documentation to support reported experience must be 

retained by the school.  

P. If an internship, externship, or production work is 

necessary as a part of the school's education program, the 

school must adhere to the following: 

1. When programs contain internships or externships, in 

any form, the professional training must: 

a. Be identified as part of the approved curriculum of the 

school and be specified in terms of expected learning 

outcomes in a written training plan.  

b. Be monitored by an instructor of record during the 

entire period of the internship. 

c. Not be used to provide labor or as replacement for a 

permanent employee. 

d. Be performed according to a specified schedule of 

time required for training including an expected 

completion date. 

e. If the internship, externship, or production work is part 

of the course requirement, the student may not be 

considered as a graduate or issued a graduation credential 

until the internship, externship, or production work has 

been satisfactorily completed. 

2. When receiving compensation for services provided by 

students as part of their education program, the school 
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must clearly inform customers that services are performed 

by students by (i) posting a notice in plain view of the 

public or (ii) requiring students to wear nametags that 

identify them as students while performing services related 

to their training.  

Q. An institution shall notify council staff of the following 

occurrences no later than 30 days prior to said occurrence: 

1. Addition of new programs or modifications to existing 

program. Program names must adhere to the CIP taxonomy 

maintained by the National Center for Education Statistics. 

2. Addition of a new branch location or instructional site. 

3. Address change of a branch or instructional site in 

Virginia. 

Notification of the above-referenced occurrences in this 

subsection shall be submitted in writing on forms provided by 

and in a manner prescribed by the council. 

R. An institution shall notify the council of the following 

occurrences no later than 30 days following said occurrence. 

1. Naming of new school president. 

2. Naming of new campus or branch director. 

3. Naming of person responsible for the regulatory 

oversight of the institution. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R19-5154; Filed August 18, 2020, 2:23 p.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 11. GAMING 

VIRGINIA RACING COMMISSION 

Final Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 11VAC10-47. Historical Horse Racing 

(adding 11VAC10-47-10 through 11VAC10-47-200).  

Statutory Authority: § 59.1-369 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: October 14, 2020.  

Agency Contact: Kimberly Mackey, Regulatory Coordinator, 

Virginia Racing Commission, 5707 Huntsman Road, Suite 

201-B, Richmond, VA 23250, telephone (804) 966-7406, or 

email kimberly.mackey@vrc.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The action establishes regulations to implement Chapter 

811 of the 2018 Acts of Assembly, which authorizes 

historical horse racing at facilities licensed by the Virginia 

Racing Commission throughout the Commonwealth of 

Virginia. The requirements for an entity licensed to 

conduct pari-mutuel wagering on historical horse racing 

include (i) the location and hours of operation, (ii) types 

and specifications of the terminals to be utilized, (iii) 

accounting and auditing, (iv) permits required for licensee 

employees, (v) simulcast operations, (vi) annual reporting, 

and (vii) implementation by a licensee of a program to 

promote responsible gaming and the minimum 

requirements for such a program. 

Changes to the proposed regulation implement 

requirements of Chapter 1197 of the 2020 Acts of 

Assembly, which add a new maximum number of terminals, 

increase the tax rate to the Commonwealth and localities, 

allow one additional live day for every 100 new terminals, 

and, as of March 1, 2020, require that terminals installed 

in locations must not be more than 40% by any single 

manufacturer.  

Summary of Public Comments and Agency's Response: No 

public comments were received by the promulgating agency.  

CHAPTER 47 

HISTORICAL HORSE RACING 

11VAC10-47-10. Definitions. 

The following words and terms shall have the following 

meanings when used in this chapter, unless the context clearly 

indicates otherwise: 

"Act" means Chapter 29 (§ 59.1-364 et seq.) of Title 59.1 of 

the Code of Virginia. 

"Applicant" means an individual who has submitted an 

application to obtain a license to offer pari-mutuel wagering 

on historical horse racing from the commission. 

"Commission" means the Virginia Racing Commission. 

"Historical horse racing" means a form of horse racing that 

creates pari-mutuel pools from wagers placed on previously 

conducted horse races and is hosted at (i) a racetrack owned 

or operated by a significant infrastructure limited licensee or 

(ii) a satellite facility that is owned or operated by (a) a 

significant infrastructure limited licensee or (b) the nonprofit 

industry stakeholder organization recognized by the 

commission and licensed to own or operate such satellite 

facility. 

"Independent testing laboratory" means a laboratory with a 

national reputation for honesty, independence, and timeliness 

that is demonstrably competent and qualified to scientifically 

test and evaluate devices for compliance with this chapter and 

to otherwise perform the functions assigned to it by this 

chapter. An independent testing laboratory shall not be owned 

or controlled by a licensee, the state, or any manufacturer, 

supplier, or operator of historical horse racing terminals. 

"Integrity auditor" means a company that conducts periodic 

and regular tests on the validity of pari-mutuel wagering, 

deductions, and payouts for the applicable historical horse 

racing event, including the legitimacy of the event itself, and 

tests that the order of finish of the race selected in the game is 

valid, match to the order of finish that occurred empirically, 

mailto:kimberly.mackey@vrc.virginia.gov
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and that all runners that were listed as entered into the race 

for the purposes of the game, legitimately ran in the race.  

"Licensee" means any person holding an owner's or 

operator's license under Article 2 (§ 59.1-375 et seq.) of 

Chapter 29 of the Code of Virginia who is granted a license 

by the commission under this chapter to conduct pari-mutuel 

wagering on historical horse racing. 

"Satellite facility" means all areas of the property at which 

simulcast horse racing is received for the purposes of pari-

mutuel wagering and any additional areas designated by the 

commission for conducting pari-mutuel wagering on 

historical horse racing. 

11VAC10-47-20. Pari-mutuel wagering; generally. 

The commission is authorized to issue licenses to (i) holders 

of a significant infrastructure limited license or (ii) holders of 

a satellite facility license to conduct pari-mutuel wagering on 

historical horse racing for the promotion, sustenance, and 

growth of a native industry, in a manner consistent with the 

health, safety, and welfare of the people. Pari-mutuel 

wagering on historical horse racing shall be conducted so as 

to maintain horse racing in the Commonwealth of Virginia of 

the highest quality and free of any corrupt, incompetent, 

dishonest, or unprincipled practices and to maintain in horse 

racing complete honesty and integrity. This chapter shall 

exclusively govern all matters related to pari-mutuel wagering 

on historical horse racing. 

11VAC10-47-30. Observance of regulations. 

A licensee shall be charged with the observance and 

compliance with the act and the regulations of the 

commission. 

11VAC10-47-40. Requirements for wagering on historical 

horse racing. 

A. In accordance with the act, wagering on a historical horse 

race shall only be conducted by: 

1. A significant infrastructure limited licensee; or 

2. A satellite facility licensee. 

B. Wagering on historical horse racing may only take place 

at a licensed significant infrastructure facility or a licensed 

satellite facility. 

C. A licensee may conduct wagering on historical horse 

races of any horse breed regardless of the type of breed that 

primarily races in live meets conducted by the licensee. 

D. The minimum wager to be accepted by any licensee on 

the outcome of a historical horse race shall be $ .10. The 

minimum payout on any wager shall not be less than the 

amount wagered. 

E. Any wager placed on a historical horse race is a multiple 

wager. 

F. The terminal may display the wager and its outcome as 

part of an entertaining display or game, provided the wager 

functions according to the pari-mutuel wagering pool 

specifications provided by the licensee to and approved by the 

commission. A licensee may not offer a new display or game 

without prior approval of the commission as set forth in this 

chapter. 

G. All wagering on a historical horse race shall incorporate 

the following elements: 

1. A patron may only wager on a historical horse race on a 

terminal approved by the commission; 

2. A licensee shall at all times maintain at least two 

terminals offering wagering on historical horse races for 

each pool and minimum wager denomination; 

3. Prior to the patron making wager selections, the terminal 

shall not display any information that would allow the 

patron to identify the historical race on which the patron is 

wagering, including the location of the race, the date on 

which the race was run, the names of the horses in the race, 

or the names of the jockeys who rode the horses in the 

race; 

4. The terminal shall make available true and accurate past 

performance information on the historical horse race to the 

patron prior to the patron making wager selections. The 

information shall be current as of the day the historical 

horse race was actually run. The information provided to 

the patron shall be displayed on the terminal in data or 

graphical form; and 

5. After a patron finalizes wager selections, the terminal 

shall display the official results of the race and a replay of 

the race, or a portion thereof, whether by digital, animated, 

or graphical depiction or by way of a video recording. The 

identity of the race shall be revealed to the patron after the 

patron has placed a wager. 

11VAC10-47-50. Location and hours of operation of 

terminals used for wagering on historical horse racing. 

A. Pari-mutuel wagering on historical horse races shall only 

be permitted in designated areas that have the prior written 

approval of the commission and are on the premises of a 

significant infrastructure limited licensee or satellite facility 

licensee.  

B. A licensee shall request permission from the commission 

to alter the physical layout of the area permitted for historical 

horse racing. 

C. Designated areas shall be established in such a way as to 

control access by the general public and prevent entry by any 

patron who is younger than 18 years of age or is otherwise 

not permitted to place wagers. 

D. The designated area shall provide terminals that are 

accessible to handicapped persons. 
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E. A licensee may conduct pari-mutuel wagering on 

historical horse races on days and hours approved by the 

commission. 

11VAC10-47-60. Payouts from pari-mutuel pools 

generated by wagering on historical horse racing. 

A. A wager on a historical horse race, less deductions 

permitted by the act, shall be placed in pari-mutuel pools 

approved by the commission. 

B. A licensee shall provide guaranteed funding for all 

historical horse race pools offered by the licensee. This 

guarantee shall be in the form of a letter of credit, bond with 

surety, or other instrument of financial security in an amount 

and form approved by the commission sufficient to cover 

outstanding vouchers together with any indebtedness incurred 

by the licensee to the Commonwealth. 

C. A licensee offering wagering on a historical horse race 

shall maintain pari-mutuel pools for each wager in a manner 

and method approved by the commission. The pari-mutuel 

pools shall be maintained and funded in a method approved 

by the commission to ensure that the amount available in the 

pari-mutuel pools at any given time is sufficient to ensure that 

a patron will be paid the minimum amount required on a 

winning wager. 

D. All prizes awarded from a historical horse race wager 

shall be awarded from an existing pari-mutuel pool. The 

money in the pool shall only consist of money wagered by 

patrons or allocated to the pari-mutuel pool. Wagers made on 

a historical horse race shall not constitute a wager against the 

licensee. Wagers shall not be conducted in a manner in which 

the amount retained by the licensee is dependent upon the 

outcome of any particular race or the success of any particular 

wager.  

E. The rules for the mathematical model, configuration of 

pools, and pool payout methodology shall be described in 

game specification documentation, which shall be provided 

by the licensee to the commission.  

F. Controls shall be in place to ensure that depletion of a 

pari-mutuel pool below an amount required to pay all 

winning tickets shall be detected at the time of depletion, and 

depletion shall result in the automatic suspension of any 

wagering activity related to that pool. The commission shall 

be notified immediately in the event of the suspension of 

wagering activity of any historical horse racing pool.  

11VAC10-47-70. Commission approval of historical horse 

racing games and displays. 

A. A licensee shall submit a written request to the 

commission for permission to offer a multiple wager on a 

historical horse race. The written request shall include a 

detailed description of the rules that apply to the pari-mutuel 

wager, the method of calculating payouts, and the method by 

which money will be allocated to the pari-mutuel pool, if 

applicable. This documentation shall fully and accurately 

describe: 

1. The method of determining a game outcome; 

2. Available wagering denominations; 

3. Minimum wager amount; 

4. Maximum wager amount; 

5. The allocation of wagers into the pari-mutuel pool; 

6. The amount of takeout for each wager; 

7. The method of calculating winning payouts and 

breakage, where applicable; 

8. Payout calculations set forth in sufficient detail to audit 

a payout through manual calculation; 

9. The minimum payouts and the method of guaranteeing 

minimum payouts;  

10. The method of mapping payouts to an entertaining 

display on the wagering terminal; and 

11. Any other information provided to an independent 

testing laboratory for use in the testing of the pari-mutuel 

wagers. 

B. For wagering on historical horse racing, approximate 

odds or payouts for each pool shall be available on each 

respective terminal for viewing by patrons.  

C. In conspicuous places in the designated area, each 

licensee shall post (i) a general explanation of pari-mutuel 

wagering offered on historical horse races and (ii) an 

explanation of each betting pool offered in the terminal 

menus. The explanation shall be submitted to the commission 

for approval prior to its posting. 

11VAC10-47-80. Equipment required for pari-mutuel 

wagering on historical horse races. 

A. Wagering on historical horse races shall be offered on 

terminals that include a cabinet in which the electronics and 

other operating components are located. All terminals and 

other equipment shall be subject to inspection by the 

commission. 

B. The terminal shall: 

1. Protect against electrostatic interference by being 

grounded so that static discharge energy shall not 

permanently damage or inhibit the normal operation of the 

electronics or other components within the wagering 

terminal. In the event that a temporary disruption of the 

normal operation of a wagering terminal occurs as a result 

of an electrostatic discharge, the wagering terminal shall 

have the capacity to recover and complete any interrupted 

wager without loss or corruption of any control or critical 

data information. Each terminal shall be tested to a 

maximum discharge severity level of 27 kV air discharge; 
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2. Not be adversely affected, other than during resets, by 

surges or dips of up to 20% of the supply voltage. If a 

wagering terminal is designed such that a surge or dip of 

up to 20% of the supply voltage causes a reset, the terminal 

shall also be designed so that a surge or dip shall not result 

in damage to the equipment or loss or corruption of data. 

Upon reset, the game shall return to its previous state or 

return to a game completion state, provided the game 

history and all credit and accounting meters comprehend a 

completed game; 

3. Have an on/off switch that controls the electrical current 

installed in a readily accessible location within the interior 

of the terminal so that power cannot be disconnected from 

outside of the terminal using the on/off switch. The on/off 

positions of the switch shall be labeled; 

4. Be designed so that power and data cables into and out 

of the terminal can be routed so that they are not accessible 

to the general public. Security-related wires and cables that 

are routed into a logic area shall be securely fastened 

within the interior of the terminal; 

5. Have an identification badge affixed to the exterior of 

the terminal by the manufacturer that is not removable 

without leaving evidence of tampering. This badge shall 

include the following information: 

a. The name of the manufacturer; 

b. A unique serial number; 

c. The terminal model number; and 

d. The date of manufacture; 

6. Have an external tower light located conspicuously on 

the top of the terminal that automatically illuminates when 

a patron has won an amount that the terminal cannot 

automatically pay or when an error condition has occurred; 

7. Be constructed of materials that are designed to allow 

only authorized access to the inside of the terminal. The 

terminal and its locks, doors, and associated hinges shall be 

capable of withstanding determined and unauthorized 

efforts to gain access to the inside of the terminal and shall 

be designed to leave evidence of tampering if such an entry 

is made; 

8. Have seals between the terminal and the doors of a 

locked area that are designed to resist the use of tools or 

other objects used to breach the locked area by physical 

force; 

9. Have external doors that shall be locked and monitored 

by door access sensors. When the external doors are 

opened, the door access sensors shall (i) cause game 

wagering activity to cease, (ii) disable all currency 

acceptance, (iii) enter an error condition, (iv) illuminate the 

tower light at a minimum, and (v) record the error 

condition. The requirements of this subsection do not apply 

to the drop box door; 

10. Have external doors designed so that it shall not be 

possible to insert a device into the terminal that will disable 

a "door open" sensor without leaving evidence of 

tampering when the door of the terminal is shut;  

11. Have a sensor system that shall provide notification 

that an external door is open when the door is moved from 

its fully closed and locked position, provided power is 

supplied to the device; 

12. Have a logic area, which is a separately locked cabinet 

area with its own monitored, locked door or other 

monitored, locked covering that houses electronic 

components that have the potential to significantly 

influence the operation of the terminal. There may be more 

than one such logic area in a terminal. The electronic 

components housed in the logic area shall include: 

a. A central processing unit and any program storage 

device that contains software that may affect the integrity 

of wagering, including the game accounting, system 

communication, and peripheral firmware devices 

involved in or that significantly influence the operation 

and calculation of game play, game display, game result 

determination, or game accounting, revenue, or security; 

b. Communication controller electronics and components 

housing the communication program storage device; and 

c. The nonvolatile memory backup device, which if 

located in the logic area, shall be kept within a locked 

logic area; and 

13. Have a currency storage area that is separately keyed 

and fitted with sensors that indicate "door open/close" or 

"stacker receptacle removed," provided power is supplied 

to the device. Access to the currency storage area shall be 

secured by two locks before the currency can be removed. 

The locks shall be located on the relevant outer door and 

on at least one other door. 

C. Critical memory storage shall be maintained by a 

methodology that enables errors to be identified. This 

methodology shall include signatures, checksums, partial 

checksums, multiple copies, timestamps, effective use of 

validity codes, or any combination of these methods. 

D. Comprehensive checks of critical memory shall be made 

following game initiation but prior to display of game 

outcome to the patron. 

E. An unrecoverable corruption of critical memory shall 

result in an error state. The memory error shall not be cleared 

automatically and shall cause the terminal to cease further 

functioning. The critical memory error shall also cause any 

communication external to the terminal to immediately cease. 

An unrecoverable critical memory error shall require 
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restoration or clearing of software state by an authorized 

person. 

F. If critical memory is maintained in nonvolatile memory 

on the terminal and not by the server based system, then: 

1. The terminal shall have the ability to retain data for all 

critical memory as defined in this section and shall be 

capable of maintaining the accuracy of the data for 30 days 

after power is discontinued from the terminal; 

2. For rechargeable battery types only, if the battery 

backup is used as an off-chip battery source, it shall 

recharge itself to its full potential in a maximum of 24 

hours. The shelf life of the battery shall be at least five 

years; 

3. Nonvolatile memory that uses an off-chip backup power 

source to retain its contents when the main power is 

switched off shall have a detection system that will provide 

a method for software to interpret and act upon a low 

battery condition before the battery reaches a level where it 

is no longer capable of maintaining the memory in 

question. Clearing nonvolatile memory shall require access 

to the locked logic area or other secure method, provided 

that the method is approved by the commission; and 

4. Following the initiation of a nonvolatile memory reset 

procedure, the game program shall execute a routine that 

initializes all bits in critical nonvolatile memory to the 

default state. All memory locations intended to be cleared 

as per the nonvolatile memory clear process shall be fully 

reset in all cases. 

G. Critical memory of a server-based game may be 

maintained by the server, terminal, or some combination 

thereof. The critical memory related to each terminal shall: 

1. Be kept independent to all other wagering terminals. If 

corruption occurs in any single terminal's critical memory 

no other terminal shall be effected by the terminal's corrupt 

memory state; and 

2. Be clearly identified as to which physical terminal the 

critical memory represents, through unique identification, 

such as serial number or other unique terminal hardware 

identifier. 

H. All terminals shall be equipped with a device, 

mechanism, or method for retaining the value of the meter 

information specified in 11VAC10-47-10 in the event of a 

loss of power to the terminal. Storage and retrieval of the 

accounting meters from a server is an acceptable method of 

retrieval. 

I. Configuration setting changes shall not cause an 

obstruction to the meters. 

J. If the terminal is in a test, diagnostic, or demonstration 

mode, any test that incorporates credits entering or leaving 

the terminal shall be completed prior to resumption of normal 

operation. In addition, there shall not be any mode other than 

normal wagering operation that debits or credits any of the 

electronic meters. Any wagering credits on the terminal that 

were accrued during the test, diagnostic, or demonstration 

mode shall be cleared before the mode is exited. Specific 

meters are permissible for these types of modes, provided the 

meters are clearly identified. 

K. Terminals shall not allow any information contained in a 

communication to or from the online monitoring system that 

is intended to be protected, including validation information, 

secure PINs, credentials, or secure seeds and keys, to be 

viewable through any display mechanism supported by the 

terminal. 

L. All program storage devices shall: 

1. Be housed within a fully enclosed and locked logic 

compartment; 

2. Validate themselves during each processor reset; and 

3. Validate themselves the first time they are used. 

M. Program storage devices that do not have the ability to be 

modified while installed in the terminal during normal 

operation shall be clearly marked with information to identify 

the software and revision level of the information stored in 

the devices. 

N. Terminals shall have the ability to allow for an 

independent integrity check of all software that may affect the 

integrity of the game. The integrity check shall be by an 

independent testing laboratory approved by the commission.  

1. The independent testing laboratory's software may be 

embedded within the game software, utilize an interface 

port to communicate with the terminal, or require the 

removal of terminal media for external verification.  

2. Each terminal used for wagering on historical horse 

races shall be tested by the independent testing laboratory 

to ensure its integrity and proper working order. This 

evaluation shall include a review of installed software prior 

to implementation and periodically within a timeframe 

established by the commission.  

3. The licensee shall pay the cost of the independent testing 

laboratory's review and testing, and the reports of the same 

shall be delivered to the licensee and the commission. 

4. To ensure the integrity of pari-mutuel wagering and 

validity of the race results, the licensee shall permit an 

integrity auditor, selected and paid for by the commission, 

complete access to review and monitor the integrity, 

security, and operation, including all race and 

handicapping data used in order to detect any compromise 

of or anomalies that would allow a player to have an unfair 

advantage.  
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5. The integrity auditor shall be in a position to extract 

actual data and use a statistically significant portion of this 

data applied to quality assurance testing and assess the 

validity of the vendor's management reporting by cross-

referencing to a body of raw source information to 

determine correctness. The integrity auditor shall have 

experience and expertise involving all components of pari-

mutuel wagering and totalizator systems. 

6. The integrity auditor will collect and provide wagering 

data and reports from the licensee's vendor. This shall 

include pari-mutuel commission and liability reports for 

analysis and verification of the amounts wagered, payouts, 

takeout, and taxes in addition to all transactional data logs 

and reports daily as specified by the integrity auditor. 

7. The licensee shall provide access to the integrity auditor 

to conduct periodic onsite inspections and terminal audits 

at licensed racetracks and satellite wagering facilities with 

assistance from the vendor. The licensee shall supply 

advanced notification, when possible, of at least 30 

calendar days of all new game products, changes in the 

composition of the historic horse races in the library, any 

changes to reporting or the method of provision of those 

reports, and any adverse or unusual occurrences relating to 

the operation of play or payouts to the integrity auditor. 

O. Winning pari-mutuel wagers shall be processed 

according to U.S. Internal Revenue Service reporting 

requirements for the taxation of pari-mutuel horse racing. If a 

winning amount is in excess of the thresholds established in 

the Internal Revenue Service reporting requirements, the 

terminal shall cease operation and require attendant 

interaction to proceed. 

P. Terminals shall be capable of detecting and displaying the 

following errors: 

1. Open door conditions; 

2. Nonvolatile memory errors; 

3. Low nonvolatile memory battery for batteries external to 

the nonvolatile memory itself for low power source; 

4. Program error or authentication mismatch; 

5. Display device errors; and 

6. The identification of an invalid bill or voucher. 

Q. Detection of terminal error conditions must result in 

actions to protect the integrity of the game. Following 

detection of an error condition: 

1. The terminal shall secure itself and it shall: 

a. Cause the terminal to cease play and require attendant 

intervention prior to returning to normal play; 

b. Cause the terminal to display an appropriate error 

message; 

c. Disable bill and voucher acceptance; 

d. Sound an alarm, illuminate the tower light, display the 

error on screen, or any combination of the three; 

e. Be communicated to an online monitoring and control 

system;  

f. Be displayed on a terminal; and 

g. Cause the terminal to remain in error mode if the 

terminal is powered down with an unresolved error 

condition, unless power down is used as a part of the 

error reset procedure.  

2. Upon resolution of an error condition, a terminal may 

return to a wager completion state, provided the game 

history, wagering credits, and other meters display the 

completed wager properly.  

R. Terminals shall not be adversely affected by the 

simultaneous or sequential activation of various terminal 

inputs and outputs. 

S. Test, diagnostic, or demonstration modes on a terminal 

shall: 

1. Be entered only from an attendant following appropriate 

instructions; 

2. Not be accessible to a patron; and 

3. Be indicated on the terminal via an appropriate message. 

T. Upon exiting from test, diagnostic, or demonstration 

mode, a terminal shall return to its previous state.  

U. Video monitor touch screens on terminals shall: 

1. Be accurate within one millimeter of the center of a 

physical input;  

2. Be able to be calibrated without access to the terminal 

cabinet other than opening the main door, and once 

calibrated shall maintain accuracy for at least the video 

touch screen manufacturer's recommended maintenance 

period; and  

3. Have no hidden or undocumented buttons or touch 

points anywhere on the screen that affect wagering or that 

impact the outcome of the game, except as provided by the 

game rules. 

V. Paper currency acceptors used in a terminal shall: 

1. Be electronically based;  

2. Detect the entry of bills or vouchers inserted into the 

paper currency acceptor and provide a method to enable 

the terminal software to interpret and act appropriately 

upon a valid or invalid input; 

3. Be configured to ensure the acceptance of only valid 

bills or vouchers and reject all other items; 
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4. Return to the patron all rejected bills or vouchers, and 

any other item inserted into the acceptor; 

5. Be constructed in a manner that protects against 

vandalism, abuse, or fraudulent activity; 

6. Register the actual monetary value or appropriate 

number of wagering credits received for the denomination 

used on the patron's credit meter for each valid bill or 

voucher; 

7. Register wagering credits only when the bill or other 

note has passed the point where it is accepted or stacked 

and the acceptor has sent an "irrevocably stacked" message 

to the terminal; 

8. Be designed to prevent the use of fraudulent crediting, 

the insertion of foreign objects, and any other fraudulent 

technique; 

9. Implement a method of detecting counterfeit bills; 

10. Only accept bills or vouchers when the terminal is 

enabled for play; 

11. Have the capability of detecting and displaying any 

supported error conditions; 

12. Shall communicate with the terminal using a bi-

directional protocol; 

13. Be located in a locked area of the terminal that requires 

the opening of the main door for access. The paper 

currency acceptor shall not be located in the logic area. 

Only the bill or voucher insertion area shall be accessible 

by the patron; 

14. Have a secure stacker that shall: 

a. Deposit into the stacker all accepted items;  

b. Be attached to the terminal in such a manner that it 

cannot be easily removed by physical force; and 

c. Have a separate keyed lock to access the stacker area. 

The keyed lock shall be separate from the main door, and 

a separate keyed lock shall be required to remove the 

bills from the stacker; and 

15. Have a bill validator that shall: 

a. Retain in its memory and have the ability to display the 

information required of the last 25 items accepted by the 

bill validator; 

b. Have a recall log that may be combined or maintained 

separately by item type. If combined, the type of item 

accepted shall be recorded with the respective timestamp; 

and 

c. Give proper credit or return the bill or note if power 

failure occurs during acceptance of a bill or note. 

W. Available wagering credit may be collected from the 

terminal by the patron at any time other than during: 

1. A game being wagered; 

2. Audit mode; 

3. Test mode; 

4. A credit meter or win meter increment; or 

5. An error condition. 

X. Each terminal shall be equipped with a printer that: 

1. Is used to make payments to the patron by issuing a 

printed voucher. The terminal shall transmit the following 

data to an online system that records the following 

information regarding each payout ticket or voucher 

printed: 

a. The value of credits in local monetary units in 

numerical form; 

b. The time of day the ticket or voucher was printed in 

24-hour format, showing hours and minutes; 

c. The date, in format approved by the commission, 

indicating the day, month, and year that the ticket or 

voucher was issued; 

d. The terminal number; and 

e. A unique ticket or voucher validation number. 

2. Prints only one copy to the patron and retains 

information on the last 25 printed vouchers; 

3. Is housed in a locked area of the terminal but shall not 

be located within the logic area or the drop box; and 

4. Allows control program software to interpret and act 

upon all error conditions. 

Y. Terminals shall be capable of displaying wager recall, 

which shall: 

1. Include the last 50 wagers on the terminal; 

2. Be retrievable on the terminal via an external key-switch 

or other secure method not available to the patron; and 

3. Provide all information required to fully reconstruct the 

wagers, including: 

a. Initial credits or ending credits associated with the 

wager; 

b. Credits wagered; 

c. Credits won; 

d. Entertaining game display symbol combinations and 

credits paid whether the outcome resulted in a win or a 

loss; 

e. Representation in a graphical or text format; 
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f. Final wager outcome, including all patron choices and 

all bonus features; and 

g. As an optional feature, display of values as currency in 

place of wagering credits. 

Z. Server-stored information shall be backed up no less 

often than once per day to an offsite storage facility 

controlled by the licensee. Offsite storage may include 

storage through a cloud service provider if approved by the 

commission. The server and offsite backup storage shall be 

accessible to the commission and subject to third-party 

checks and validation as provided in subsection N of this 

section.  

[ AA. Excluding machines installed as of March 1, 2020, 

each location operating historical racing terminals shall be 

prohibited from having more than 40% of its terminals 

manufactured by any single manufacturer. ]  

11VAC10-47-90. Requirements for tickets or vouchers 

used in historical horse racing. 

A. Terminals shall not dispense currency. Payment to 

patrons shall only be accomplished by means of a printed 

voucher. 

B. All vouchers shall contain the following printed 

information at a minimum: 

1. Licensee name and site identifier, which may be 

contained on the ticket stock itself; 

2. Terminal number or cashier booth location; 

3. Date and time stated in a 24-hour format according to 

the local time zone; 

4. Alpha and numeric dollar amount; 

5. Ticket or voucher sequence number; 

6. Validation number; 

7. Bar code or any machine-readable code representing the 

validation number; 

8. Type of transaction or other method of differentiating 

voucher types. If the voucher is a noncashable item, the 

ticket shall explicitly express that it has "no cash value"; 

and 

9. The expiration period from date of issue, or date and 

time the ticket or voucher will expire in a 24-hour format 

according to the local time zone. This information may be 

contained on the ticket stock itself. Payment on valid pari-

mutuel tickets, including tickets where refunds are ordered, 

shall be made only upon presentation and surrender of 

valid pari-mutuel tickets to the licensee within 180 days 

after the purchase of the ticket. Failure to present any valid 

pari-mutuel ticket to the licensee within 180 days after the 

purchase of the ticket shall constitute a waiver of the right 

to payment. 

C. A system approved by the commission shall be used to 

validate the payout ticket or voucher. The ticket or voucher 

information on the central system shall be retained for two 

calendar years after a voucher is valid at that location. 

D. Payment by voucher as a method of credit redemption 

shall only be permissible when the terminal is linked to a 

computerized voucher validation system that is approved by 

the commission. 

E. The validation system must be able to identify a duplicate 

ticket or voucher to prevent fraud. 

F. Terminals must meet the following minimum 

requirements to incorporate the ability to issue offline 

vouchers after a loss of communication has been identified by 

a wagering terminal: 

1. The wagering terminal shall not issue more offline 

vouchers than it has the ability to retain and display in the 

wagering terminal maintained voucher-out log; 

2. The wagering terminal shall not request validation 

numbers used in the issuance of vouchers until all 

outstanding offline voucher information has been fully 

communicated to the voucher validation system; 

3. The wagering terminal shall request a new set of 

validation numbers used in the issuance of online or offline 

vouchers if the current list of validation numbers has the 

possibility of being compromised, which shall include: 

a. After power has been recycled, or 

b. Upon exit of a main door condition; and 

4. Validation numbers must always be masked when 

viewable through any display supported by the wagering 

terminal such that only the last four digits of the validation 

number are visible. 

G. Vouchers may be inserted in any terminal participating in 

the validation system providing that no credits are issued to 

the terminal prior to confirmation of voucher validity. 

H. The offline voucher redemption may be validated as an 

internal control process at the specific terminal that issued the 

voucher. A manual handpay may be conducted for the offline 

voucher value.  

11VAC10-47-100. Accounting and occurrence meter 

requirements. 

A. The required accounting meters are as follows: 

1. Coin in, which accumulates the total value of all wagers, 

whether the wagered amount results from the insertion of 

bills or vouchers or deduction from a credit meter;  

2. Coin out, which accumulates the total value of all 

amounts directly paid by the terminal as a result of winning 

wagers, whether the payback is made to a credit meter or 

any other means; 
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3. Attendant paid jackpot, which accumulates the total 

value of credits paid by an attendant resulting from a single 

wager, the amount of which is not capable of being paid by 

the wagering terminal itself; 

4. Attendant paid canceled credit, which accumulates the 

total value paid by an attendant resulting from a patron-

initiated cashout that exceeds the physical or configured 

capability of the terminal to make the proper payout 

amount; 

5. Bill in, which accumulates the total value of currency 

accepted. Each wagering terminal shall have a specific 

occurrence meter for each denomination of currency 

accepted that records the number of bills accepted of each 

denomination; 

6. Voucher in, which accumulates the total value of all 

wagering terminal vouchers accepted by the device; 

7. Voucher out, which accumulates the total value of all 

wagering terminal vouchers issued by the device; 

8. Noncashable electronic promotion in, which 

accumulates the total value of noncashable credits from 

vouchers accepted by the terminal; 

9. Cashable electronic promotion in, which accumulates 

the total value of cashable credits from vouchers accepted 

by the terminal; 

10. Noncashable electronic promotion out, which 

accumulates the total value of noncashable credits issued to 

vouchers by the device; and 

11. Cashable electronic promotion out, which accumulates 

the total value of cashable credits issued to vouchers by the 

device. 

B. Additional required occurrence meters are as follows: 

1. Cashable promotional credit wagered, which 

accumulates the total value of promotional cashable credits 

that are wagered;  

2. Games wagered, which accumulates the number of 

wagers placed; and 

3. Games won, which accumulates the number of wagers 

resulting in a win to the patron. 

C. Electronic accounting meters shall maintain and calculate 

data to at least 10 digits in length. 

D. Electronic accounting meters shall be maintained in 

credit units equal to the denomination or in dollars and cents. 

E. If the electronic accounting meter is maintained in dollars 

and cents, eight digits must be used for the dollar amount and 

two digits must be used for the cents amount. 

F. Devices configured for multi-denomination wagering 

shall display the units in dollars and cents at all times. 

G. Any time the meter exceeds 10 digits or after 

9,999,999,999 has been exceeded, the meter must roll over to 

zero. 

H. Occurrence meters shall be at least eight digits in length 

but are not required to automatically roll over. 

I. Meters shall be identified so that they can be clearly 

understood in accordance with their function. 

J. A wagering terminal shall maintain sufficient electronic 

metering to be able to display the following: 

1. The total monetary value of all items accepted on the 

terminal; 

2. The total number of all items accepted on the terminal; 

3. For bills accepted, the number of bills for each bill 

denomination; and 

4. For all other notes accepted, the number of notes 

accepted by note amount. 

K. Meters can be on the server instead of the terminal.  

11VAC10-47-110. Historical horse race specifications and 

selection requirements. 

A. The outcome of any historical horse race wager shall be 

derived from the result of one or more historical horse races. 

B. All historical horse races must be chosen at random from 

a database of actual historical horse races. All races in the 

database shall have a valid historical horse race result with 

details recorded at the same level as other races in the 

database, and shall include: 

1. Horse names; 

2. Race location; 

3. Race date; and 

4. Jockey name. 

C. In the case where a random number generator is used to 

select the historical horse races for a wager, all possible races 

in the database shall be available for selection.  

11VAC10-47-120. Wagering terminal historical race 

display. 

A. All wagering terminals shall have video displays that 

clearly identify the entertaining game theme, if any, being 

used to offer pari-mutuel wagering on historical horse racing. 

The video display shall make available the rules of the 

historical horse racing wager and the award that will be paid 

to the patron when the patron obtains a specific win.  

B. All paytable information, rules of play, and help screen 

information shall be available to a patron prior to placing a 

wager.  
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C. All wagering terminals shall have video displays that 

make available to the patron the rules of any features or 

interactive functions that may occur on the patron interface as 

part of the entertaining display of the wager and its outcome. 

D. The video display shall clearly indicate whether awards 

are designated in credits or currency. 

E. All wagering terminals shall display the following 

information to the patron at all times the wagering terminal is 

available for patron wager input: 

1. The patron's current credit balance in currency or 

credits; 

2. The current bet amount; 

3. The amount won for the last completed game until the 

next game starts or betting options are modified; 

4. The patron options selected for the last completed game 

until the next game starts or a new selection is made; and 

5. A disclaimer stating "Malfunction Voids All Pays" or 

some equivalent wording approved by the commission. 

This may be presented as a permanent sign on the terminal. 

F. The default game display upon terminal reset shall not be 

a false winning outcome.  

G. Entertaining game features that simulate bonus or free 

games shall meet the following requirements: 

1. The initiation of a bonus or free game shall only be 

based on the result of the wager placed by the patron on the 

result of the historical horse race selected for the wager; 

2. The bonus or free game shall not require additional 

money to be wagered by the patron;  

3. The entertaining display shall make it clear to the patron 

that the patron is in bonus mode to avoid the possibility of 

the patron unknowingly leaving the wagering terminal 

while in a bonus mode; and 

4. If the bonus or free game requires an input from the 

patron, the terminal shall provide a means to complete the 

bonus or free game from a touch screen or hard button. 

H. Electronic metering displays shall:  

1. At all times include all credits or cash available for the 

patron to wager or cash out unless the terminal is in an 

error or malfunction state. This information is not required 

when the patron is viewing a menu or help screen item; 

2. Reflect the value of every prize at the end of a wager 

and add it to the patron's credit meter, except for handpays; 

and 

3. Show the cash value collected by the patron upon a 

cashout unless the terminal is in an error or malfunction 

state. 

I. A wager is complete when the final transfer to the patron's 

credit meter takes place or when all credits wagered are lost. 

11VAC10-47-130. Required reports for wagering on 

historical horse races; audit and inspection by the 

commission. 

A. All systems used for pari-mutuel wagering on historical 

horse races shall provide financial reports for individual 

approved wager model configurations and total pool amounts 

for each pool. Reports shall be available at the end of the 

wagering day or upon request by the commission with 

information current since the end of the last wagering day. 

The reports shall include: 

1. Current values of each pari-mutuel wagering pool;  

2. Total amounts wagered for all pools; 

3. Total amounts won by patrons for all pools; 

4. Total commission withheld for all pools;  

5. Total breakage for all pools, where applicable; 

6. Total amount wagered at each terminal; 

7. Total amount won by patrons at a terminal; 

8. The amount wagered on each mathematical model 

configuration and the amount won from each mathematical 

model configuration offered at a terminal; 

9. Total amount of each type of financial instrument 

inserted into a terminal; 

10. Total amount cashed out in voucher or handpays at a 

terminal; and 

11. Taxable win events including: 

a. Time and date of win; 

b. Wagering terminal identification number; 

c. Amount wagered resulting in taxable win; 

d. Taxable amount won; and 

e. Withholding amount. 

B. As provided in subdivision 2 of § 59.1-369 of the Code of 

Virginia, the commission or its authorized representatives 

may, at any time, conduct an audit or inspection of the 

financial reports, software, terminals, or other equipment used 

by a licensee in conducting operations under this chapter. 

11VAC10-47-140. Permits required. 

All racing officials employed in a satellite facility or at a 

significant infrastructure facility that offers pari-mutuel 

wagering on historical horse racing shall apply for permits 

under the provisions of 11VAC10-50. All participants 

employed in such facilities shall apply for permits under the 

provisions of 11VAC10-60.  
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11VAC10-47-150. Filing of application; fee. 

An applicant for a license to offer pari-mutuel wagering on 

historical horse racing shall apply for a license to conduct the 

same with the commission at its offices, with the application 

tendered by hand delivery, certified mail, or recognized 

overnight courier service with delivery confirmation to the 

attention of the executive secretary of the commission. An 

application fee of $1,000 shall be paid for each location 

where the applicant seeks to offer pari-mutuel wagering on 

historical horse racing.  

11VAC10-47-160. Required information. 

An application for a license to conduct pari-mutuel wagering 

on historical horse racing shall contain the materials and 

information specified in 11VAC10-40-130 through 

11VAC10-40-280. The applicant may reference its materials 

provided for a satellite facility license or significant 

infrastructure limited license as part of its application for a 

license to offer pari-mutuel wagering on historical horse 

racing. The application shall also contain detailed information 

on the games to be offered by the applicant, including 

information demonstrating compliance with the requirements 

of this chapter. After review of the application, the executive 

secretary may request the applicant provide additional 

information, which the applicant shall promptly tender to the 

commission. Failure to provide information contained in this 

chapter, or as requested by the commission, shall be grounds 

for the commission to deny the request for a license to 

conduct pari-mutuel wagering on historical horse racing.  

11VAC10-47-170. Duration of license; transfer. 

A license for conducting pari-mutuel wagering on historical 

horse racing shall be effective for one calendar year or so 

long as the licensee shall hold a significant infrastructure 

limited license or satellite facility license for the particular 

location, whichever is shorter. A licensee may not transfer its 

license, or assign responsibility for compliance with the 

conditions of its license, to any party, including, without 

limitation, a transfer of effective control of the licensee, 

without commission approval.  

11VAC10-47-180. Simulcast operations. 

For any satellite facility that offers pari-mutuel wagering on 

historical horse racing, the following conditions shall apply: 

1. A licensee may not reduce, limit, or otherwise alter the 

nature or extent of its simulcast operations if it offers pari-

mutuel wagering on historical horse racing without 

commission approval. 

2. Any licensee must provide the following minimum 

simulcast offerings: 

a. An average daily simulcast schedule of not less than 

14 racetracks, unless otherwise approved by the 

commission for a specific facility; 

b. At least two tellers dedicated to simulcast wagering, or 

one teller for every 200 historical horse racing terminals 

at the satellite facility, whichever number is greater; and 

c. At least 20 self-service tote machines dedicated to 

simulcast wagering at each satellite facility, unless 

otherwise approved by the commission for a specific 

facility. 

3. The licensee must promote simulcast wagering inside its 

satellite facility and make available televisions 

broadcasting simulcast signal, tote machines, and tellers in 

a prominent location for use by patrons. 

4. The commission may authorize a licensee to provide 

historical racing terminals at a satellite facility located in a 

jurisdiction with valid and unexpired referenda on pari-

mutuel wagering in accordance with the following limits 

on the total number of historical racing terminals located in 

such jurisdiction:  

a. Up to 700 terminals in a jurisdiction with a population 

of 120,000 or greater; 

b. Up to 300 terminals in a jurisdiction with a population 

between 60,000 and 120,000; and 

c. Up to 150 terminals in a jurisdiction with a population 

of 60,000 or less. 

The population of a jurisdiction shall be determined based 

upon the most recent University of Virginia Weldon 

Cooper Center population estimates. 

5. Any such satellite facility must receive all appropriate 

local government authorizations.  

6. In no circumstance shall the total number of historical 

racing terminals located in a jurisdiction set forth in 

subdivision 4 of this section exceed 25% of the total limit 

for such jurisdiction absent formal approval by the relevant 

city or town council or county board of supervisors of the 

jurisdiction. 

7. In no circumstance shall the combined statewide total 

number of historical racing terminals located at satellite 

facilities and significant infrastructure facilities exceed 

3,000.  

[ 8. The commission shall authorize an additional 600 

historical racing terminals each time a local referendum 

required by § 58.1-4123 of the Code of Virginia is 

approved, provided that the total number of additional 

machines authorized pursuant to this section shall not 

exceed 2,000 statewide. 

a. This increase in historical racing terminals shall not 

apply with respect to any city where a significant 

infrastructure limited licensee, as defined in § 59.1-365 

of the Code of Virginia, or the affiliate of such licensee, 

is awarded a casino operator's license. 
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b. Notwithstanding the other provisions of this section 

and subject to the local referendum requirements of 

§ 59.1-391 of the Code of Virginia, for the terminals 

specifically authorized in this section, the commission 

shall authorize up to 1,650 terminals in a satellite facility 

in a metropolitan area with a population in excess of 2.5 

million located in a jurisdiction that has passed a 

referendum pursuant to the requirements of § 59.1-391 of 

the Code of Virginia prior to January 1, 2020, and 500 

terminals in a metropolitan area with a population in 

excess of 300,000, provided that no additional terminals 

authorized pursuant to this subsection shall be located 

within 35 miles of an eligible host city as described in 

§ 58.1-4107 of the Code of Virginia. 

(1) No satellite facility shall be authorized in any locality 

that is included in the Regional Improvement 

Commission established in the fifth enactment clause of 

Chapter 1197 of the 2020 Acts of Assembly.  

(2) Population determinations for purposes of this 

subsection shall be based on the 2018 population 

estimates from the Weldon Cooper Center for Public 

Service of the University of Virginia. 

9. The tax rate for any terminal added pursuant to 

subdivision 8 of this section shall be calculated so that the 

licensee shall retain 1.6% of such pool to be distributed as 

follows: 

a. 0.96% to the Commonwealth as a license tax; and 

b. If generated (i) at a racetrack, 0.64% to the locality in 

which the racetrack is located or (ii) at a satellite facility, 

0.32% to the locality in which the satellite facility is 

located and 0.32% to the Virginia locality in which the 

racetrack is located. 

10. For any local referendum passed pursuant to § 59.1-

391 after July 1, 2020, the commission shall not authorize 

any additional satellite facilities as defined in § 59.1-365 of 

the Code of Virginia, or additional simulcast wagering 

terminals pursuant to this section, during a period of two 

years after July 1, 2020. ]  

11VAC10-47-190. Significant infrastructure limited 

licensee operations. 

For any significant infrastructure limited licensee that offers 

pari-mutuel wagering on historical horse racing, the following 

conditions shall apply: 

1. For each calendar year, a licensee in accordance with 

11VAC10-20-200 shall submit to the commission a request 

for live racing days at its significant infrastructure facility 

that includes at least: 

a. Fifteen days of live racing, consisting of not less than 

six races per day; or  

b. One day of live racing, consisting of not less than six 

races per day, for every 100 historical racing terminals 

installed at such facility together with any satellite 

facility owned, operated, controlled, managed, or 

otherwise affiliated directly or indirectly with such 

licensee, whichever number shall be greater. 

2. In no circumstance shall the total number of historical 

racing terminals at any significant infrastructure facility 

exceed 700 terminals. 

3. Live racing dates shall be assigned by the commission 

and conducted in accordance with the procedure in 

11VAC10-20-220.  

[ 4. For every 100 additional terminals authorized pursuant 

to subdivision 8 of 11VAC10-47-180, the total number of 

live horse racing days held shall be increased by one day. ]  

11VAC10-47-200. Responsible gaming. 

A. A licensee shall implement a program to promote 

responsible gaming by its patrons and provide details of the 

same to the commission. At a minimum, such program shall 

require: 

1. Posting in a conspicuous place in every place where 

pari-mutuel wagering on historical horse racing is 

conducted a sign that bears a toll-free number approved by 

the Virginia Council on Problem Gambling or other 

organizations that provide assistance to problem gamblers; 

2. Providing informational leaflets or other similar 

materials at the licensee's facilities on the dangers 

associated with problem gambling; 

3. Including in the licensee's promotional and marketing 

materials information on problem gambling and 

organizations that provide assistance to problem gamblers; 

4. Routine auditing of patron activity to identify patrons 

who have suffered significant financial losses in repeated 

visits to the licensee's facilities and providing such patrons 

with information on organizations that provide assistance 

to problem gamblers;  

5. If the licensee holds a license from the Virginia Alcohol 

Beverage Control Authority to serve alcoholic beverages, 

training for employees to identify patrons who have 

consumed excessive amounts of alcohol to prevent such 

patrons from continuing to engage in wagering activity 

while impaired;  

6. Partnership with the Virginia Council on Problem 

Gambling, the National Council on Problem Gambling, or 

other similar organization to identify and promote best 

practices for preventing problem gambling;  

7. Training for all employees who have contact with 

patrons as well as administrative and corporate staff 

members that shall include skills and procedures to 
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respond to situations where a patron exhibits warning signs 

of a gambling problem or where a patron discloses they 

may have a gambling problem. Such employees and staff 

should be trained immediately upon their hiring and 

retrained and tested regularly; and 

8. Ensuring that any request by a patron who wishes to 

self-exclude from the licensee's facilities is honored by the 

licensee. 

B. A licensee shall report annually to the commission and 

make a copy available to the public on its efforts to meet 

subsection A of this section, its efforts to identify problem 

gamblers, and steps taken to: 

1. Prevent such individuals from continuing to engage in 

pari-mutuel wagering on historical horse racing; and 

2. Provide assistance to these individuals to address 

problem gambling activity. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R19-5684; Filed August 25, 2020, 1:59 p.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 12. HEALTH 

DEPARTMENT OF MEDICAL ASSISTANCE 
SERVICES 

Fast-Track Regulation 

Titles of Regulations: 12VAC30-50. Amount, Duration, 

and Scope of Medical and Remedial Care Services 

(amending 12VAC30-50-100, 12VAC30-50-105, 

12VAC30-50-140). 

12VAC30-60. Standards Established and Methods Used to 

Assure High Quality Care (amending 12VAC30-60-20).  

Statutory Authority: § 32.1-325 of the Code of Virginia; 

42 USC § 1396 et seq. 

Public Hearing Information: No public hearings are 

scheduled.  

Public Comment Deadline: October 15, 2020. 

Effective Date: October 30, 2020.  

Agency Contact: Emily McClellan, Regulatory Supervisor, 

Policy Division, Department of Medical Assistance Services, 

600 East Broad Street, Suite 1300, Richmond, VA 23219, 

telephone (804) 371-4300, FAX (804) 786-1680, or email 

emily.mcclellan@dmas.virginia.gov. 

Basis: Section 32.1-325 of the Code of Virginia authorizes 

the Board of Medical Assistance Services to administer and 

amend the State Plan for Medical Assistance and to 

promulgate regulations. Section 32.1-324 of the Code of 

Virginia authorizes the Director of the Department of Medical 

Assistance Services (DMAS) to administer and amend the 

State Plan for Medical Assistance and to promulgate 

regulations according to the board's requirements. The 

Medicaid authority as established by § 1902(a) of the Social 

Security Act (42 USC § 1396a) provides governing authority 

for payments for services. 

Purpose: This purpose of this action is to comply with the 

Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMS) Medicaid 

Mental Health Parity Rule issued on March 30, 2016. 

Removing the limits on inpatient psychiatric hospitalization 

helps protect the health, safety, and welfare of citizens by 

allowing inpatient psychiatric hospitalizations to be service 

authorized based on medical necessity and not limited to 21 

days per admission in a 60-day period for the same or similar 

diagnosis or treatment plan. Managed care organizations have 

not been applying such limitations and have appropriately 

permitted hospitalizations based on medical necessity. 

Rationale for Using Fast-Track Rulemaking Process: The 

amendments are mandated by the Director of DMAS, who is 

authorized to promulgate regulations in accordance with the 

requirements of the Board of Medical Assistance. This 

regulatory action is being promulgated as a fast-track 

rulemaking action because it is expected to be 

noncontroversial. 

Substance: The amendments strike the limit of 21 days per 

admission in a 60-day period for the same or similar 

diagnosis or treatment plan and update practitioner 

terminology as it relates to working titles, clarify acute care 

hospital weekend and holiday admissions, and update the 

reconsideration process. 

Issues: The primary advantage of this action to both the 

public and the agency is the removal of outdated, non-CMS-

compliant regulations from the Virginia Administrative Code 

and improved access to care for qualified Medicaid members. 

These changes create no disadvantages to the public, the 

agency, the Commonwealth, or the regulated community. 

Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 

Analysis: 

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. The 

Department of Medical Assistance Services (DMAS) 

proposes 1) to update this regulation to reflect the removal of 

the 21-day- per-admission limit in a 60-day period for the 

same or similar diagnosis or treatment plan for psychiatric 

inpatient hospitalization, and 2) update terminology and 

clarify language as well as procedures. 

Background. On March 30, 2016, the Centers for Medicare 

and Medicaid issued the Mental Health Parity Rule1 which 

removed the limit of 21-day-per-admission in a 60-day period 

for the same or similar diagnosis or treatment plan for 

psychiatric inpatient hospitalizations. The parity rule was 

designed to ensure that accessing mental health and substance 

use disorder services is no more difficult than accessing 

medical and surgical services. The proposed changes are 

mailto:emily.mcclellan@dmas.virginia.gov
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intended to allow inpatient psychiatric hospitalizations to be 

service authorized based on medical necessity and not limited 

to 21 days per admission in a 60-day period. Since 2016, 

DMAS has not been applying the 21-day limit in delivery of 

psychiatric inpatient hospitalizations. This action updates the 

regulation to reflect the practice, terminology, and procedure 

that have been followed since 2016.  

Estimated Benefits and Costs. The removal of the 21-day 

limit applies to both managed care and fee-for-for service 

delivery models. However, according to DMAS, this limit has 

never been implemented under the managed care delivery 

system even before 2016. Thus, the effects of this action are 

practically limited only to psychiatric inpatient 

hospitalizations accessed through the fee-for-service delivery 

system. The removal of the 21-day limit in 2016 has allowed 

providers to provide and recipients to receive longer 

hospitalizations. DMAS estimates that there were 

approximately 200 members who received psychiatric 

inpatient hospitalizations beyond the 21-day limit at a cost of 

$76,922 in total funds or $38,461 in state funds in a given 

year. Thus, the main impact of this change is provision of 

longer psychiatric inpatient hospitalizations since 2016 at an 

added cost of $38,461 to the Commonwealth annually. 

The remaining changes are not expected to create any 

significant impact other than improving the readability and 

clarity of the existing rules and procedures. 

Businesses and Other Entities Affected. There are 12 

freestanding psychiatric hospitals and 71 general hospitals 

with psychiatric units and approximately 200 Medicaid 

members estimated to be affected on an annual basis. The 

proposed amendments do not appear to impose costs. 

Localities2 Affected.3 The proposed amendments should not 

affect any locality more than others. The proposed 

amendments do not appear to introduce costs for local 

governments. 

Projected Impact on Employment. The proposed amendments 

would not affect employment. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. The 

proposed amendments would not affect the use and value of 

private property. 

Adverse Effect on Small Businesses.4 The proposed 

amendments do not adversely affect small businesses. 

_________________________ 
1https://www.govinfo.gov/content/pkg/FR-2016-03-30/pdf/2016-06876.pdf 

2"Locality" can refer to either local governments or the locations in the 

Commonwealth where the activities relevant to the regulatory change are 

most likely to occur. 

3§ 2.2-4007.04 defines “particularly affected" as bearing disproportionate 

material impact. 

4Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.04 of the Code of Virginia, small business is defined 

as "a business entity, including its affiliates, that (i) is independently owned 

and operated and (ii) employs fewer than 500 full-time employees or has 

gross annual sales of less than $6 million." 

Agency's Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The 

agency has reviewed the economic impact analysis prepared 

by the Department of Planning and Budget. The agency raises 

no issues with this analysis.  

Summary: 

The amendments (i) remove the 21-day-per-admission limit 

in a 60-day period for the same or similar diagnosis or 

treatment plan for psychiatric inpatient hospitalization and 

(ii) update terminology and clarify language and 

procedures. 

Part III  

Amount, Duration, and Scope of Services  

12VAC30-50-100. Inpatient hospital services provided at 

general acute care hospitals and freestanding psychiatric 

hospitals; enrolled providers.  

A. Preauthorization Service authorization of all inpatient 

hospital services will be performed. This applies to both 

general acute care hospitals and freestanding psychiatric 

hospitals. Nonauthorized inpatient services will not be 

covered or reimbursed by the Department of Medical 

Assistance Services (DMAS) or its contractor. 

Preauthorization Service authorization shall be based on 

criteria specified by DMAS. In conjunction with 

preauthorization, an appropriate length of stay will be 

assigned using the HCIA, Inc., Length of Stay by Diagnosis 

and Operation, Southern Region, 1996, as guidelines.  

1. Admission review.  

a. Planned/scheduled admissions. Review shall be done 

prior to admission to determine that inpatient 

hospitalization is medically justified. An initial length of 

stay shall be assigned at the time of this review. Adverse 

authorization decisions shall have available a 

reconsideration process as set out in subdivision 4 of this 

subsection.  

b. Unplanned/urgent or emergency admissions. These 

admissions will be permitted before any prior service 

authorization procedures. Review shall be performed 

within one working day to determine that inpatient 

hospitalization is medically justified. An initial length of 

stay shall be assigned for those admissions which have 

been determined to be appropriate. Adverse authorization 

decisions shall have available a reconsideration process 

as set out in subdivision 4 of this subsection.  

2. Concurrent review shall end for nonpsychiatric claims 

with dates of admission and services on or after July 1, 

1998, with the full implementation of the DRG 

reimbursement methodology. Concurrent review shall be 

done to determine that inpatient hospitalization continues 

to be medically necessary. Prior to the expiration of the 

https://www.govinfo.gov/content/pkg/FR-2016-03-30/pdf/2016-06876.pdf
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previously assigned initial length of stay, the provider shall 

be responsible for obtaining authorization for continued 

inpatient hospitalization. If continued inpatient 

hospitalization is determined necessary, an additional 

length of stay shall be assigned. Concurrent review shall 

continue in the same manner until the discharge of the 

patient from acute inpatient hospital care. Adverse 

authorization decisions shall have available a 

reconsideration process as set out in subdivision 4 of this 

subsection.  

3. Retrospective review shall be performed when a 

provider is notified of a patient's retroactive eligibility for 

Medicaid coverage. It shall be the provider's responsibility 

to obtain authorization for covered days prior to billing 

DMAS for these services. Adverse authorization decisions 

shall have available a reconsideration process as set out in 

subdivision 4 of this subsection.  

4. Reconsideration process. Providers shall be given the 

opportunity to request a reconsideration of any adverse 

service authorization decision. Reconsideration requests 

shall be reviewed by a physician. Should the case be 

denied, the member or provider may request an appeal by 

following the procedures described in the denial letter. 

a. Providers requesting reconsideration must do so upon 

verbal notification of denial.  

b. This process is available to providers when the nurse 

reviewers advise the providers by telephone that the 

medical information provided does not meet DMAS 

specified criteria. At this point, the provider must request 

by telephone a higher level of review if he disagrees with 

the nurse reviewer's findings. If higher level review is not 

requested, the case will be denied and a denial letter 

generated to both the provider and recipient identifying 

appeal rights.  

c. If higher level review is requested, the authorization 

request will be held in suspense and referred to the 

Utilization Management Supervisor (UMS). The UMS 

shall have one working day to render a decision. If the 

UMS upholds the adverse decision, the provider may 

accept that decision and the case will be denied and a 

denial letter identifying appeal rights will be generated to 

both the provider and the recipient. If the provider 

continues to disagree with the UMS' adverse decision, he 

must request physician review by DMAS medical 

support. If higher level review is requested, the 

authorization request will be held in suspense and 

referred to DMAS medical support for the last step of 

reconsideration.  

d. DMAS medical support will review all case specific 

medical information. Medical support shall have two 

working days to render a decision. If medical support 

upholds the adverse decision, the request for 

authorization will then be denied and a letter identifying 

appeal rights will be generated to both the provider and 

the recipient. The entire reconsideration process must be 

completed within three working days.  

5. Appeals process.  

a. Recipient appeals. Upon receipt of a denial letter, the 

recipient shall have the right to appeal the adverse 

decision. Under the Client Appeals regulations, Part I 

(12VAC30-110-10 et seq.) of 12VAC30-110, the 

recipient shall have 30 days from the date of the denial 

letter to file an appeal.  

b. Provider appeals. If the reconsideration steps are 

exhausted and the provider continues to disagree, upon 

receipt of the denial letter, the provider shall have 30 

days from the date of the denial letter to file an appeal if 

the issue is whether DMAS will reimburse the provider 

for services already rendered. The appeal shall be held in 

accordance with the Administrative Process Act (§ 2.2-

4000 et seq. of the Code of Virginia).  

B. Out-of-state inpatient general acute care hospitals and 

freestanding psychiatric hospitals, enrolled providers. In 

addition to meeting all of the preauthorization service 

authorization requirements specified in subsection A of this 

section, out-of-state hospitals must further demonstrate that 

the requested admission meets at least one of the following 

additional standards. Services provided out of state for 

circumstances other than these specified reasons shall not be 

covered.  

1. The medical services must be needed because of a 

medical emergency;  

2. Medical services must be needed and the recipient's 

health would be endangered if he were required to travel to 

his state of residence;  

3. The state determines, on the basis of medical advice, 

that the needed medical services, or necessary 

supplementary resources, are more readily available in the 

other state; or 

4. It is the general practice for recipients in a particular 

locality to use medical resources in another state.  

C. Cosmetic surgical procedures shall not be covered unless 

performed for physiological reasons and require DMAS prior 

approval.  

D. Reimbursement for induced abortions is provided in only 

those cases in which there would be a substantial 

endangerment to life of the mother if the fetus were carried to 

term.  

E. Coverage of inpatient hospitalization shall be limited to a 

total of 21 days per admission in a 60-day period for the same 

or similar diagnosis or treatment plan. The 60-day period 

would begin on the first hospitalization (if there are multiple 
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admissions) admission date. There may be multiple 

admissions during this 60-day period. Claims which exceed 

21 days per admission within 60 days for the same or similar 

diagnosis or treatment plan will not be authorized for 

payment. Claims which exceed 21 days per admission within 

60 days with a different diagnosis or treatment plan will be 

considered for reimbursement if medically indicated. Except 

as previously noted, regardless of authorization for the 

hospitalization, the claims will be processed in accordance 

with the limit for 21 days in a 60-day period. Claims for stays 

exceeding 21 days in a 60-day period shall be suspended and 

processed manually by DMAS staff for appropriate 

reimbursement. The limit for coverage of 21 days for 

nonpsychiatric admissions shall cease with dates of service on 

or after July 1, 1998.  

EXCEPTION: SPECIAL PROVISIONS FOR ELIGIBLE 

INDIVIDUALS UNDER 21 YEARS OF AGE: Consistent 

with 42 CFR 441.57, payment of medical assistance services 

shall be made on behalf of individuals under 21 years of age, 

who are Medicaid eligible, for medically necessary stays in 

general hospitals and freestanding psychiatric hospitals in 

excess of 21 days per admission when such services are 

rendered for the purpose of diagnosis and treatment of health 

conditions identified through a physical or psychological, as 

appropriate, examination. The admission and length of stay 

must be medically justified and preauthorized via the 

admission and concurrent or retrospective review processes 

described in subsection A of this section. Medically 

unjustified days in such hospitalizations shall not be 

authorized for payment.  

F. E. Mandatory lengths of stay.  

1. Coverage for a normal, uncomplicated vaginal delivery 

shall be limited to the day of delivery plus an additional 

two days unless additional days are medically justified. 

Coverage for cesarean births shall be limited to the day of 

delivery plus an additional four days unless additional days 

are medically justified.  

2. Coverage for a radical or modified radical mastectomy 

for treatment of disease or trauma of the breast shall be 

provided for a minimum of 48 hours. Coverage for a total 

or partial mastectomy with lymph node dissection for 

treatment of disease or trauma of the breast shall be 

provided for a minimum of 24 hours. Additional days 

beyond the specified minimums for either radical, 

modified, total, or partial mastectomies may be covered if 

medically justified and prior authorized until the diagnosis 

related grouping methodology is fully implemented. 

Nothing in this chapter shall be construed as requiring the 

provision of inpatient coverage where the attending 

physician in consultation with the patient determines that a 

shorter period of hospital stay is appropriate.  

G. F. Coverage in freestanding psychiatric hospitals shall 

not be available for individuals aged 21 through 64. 

Medically necessary inpatient psychiatric care rendered in a 

psychiatric unit of a general acute care hospital shall be 

covered for all Medicaid eligible individuals, regardless of 

age, within the limits of coverage prescribed in this section 

and 12VAC30-50-105.  

H. G. For the purposes of organ transplantation, all similarly 

situated individuals will be treated alike. Transplant services 

for kidneys, corneas, hearts, lungs, and livers shall be covered 

for all eligible persons. High dose chemotherapy and bone 

marrow/stem cell transplantation shall be covered for all 

eligible persons with a diagnosis of lymphoma, breast cancer, 

leukemia, or myeloma. Transplant services for any other 

medically necessary transplantation procedures that are 

determined to not be experimental or investigational shall be 

limited to children (under 21 years of age). Kidney, liver, 

heart, and bone marrow/stem cell transplants and any other 

medically necessary transplantation procedures that are 

determined to not be experimental or investigational require 

preauthorization service authorization by DMAS medical 

support. Inpatient hospitalization related to kidney 

transplantation will require preauthorization service 

authorization at the time of admission and, concurrently, for 

length of stay. Cornea transplants do not require 

preauthorization service authorization of the procedure, but 

inpatient hospitalization related to such transplants will 

require preauthorization service authorization for admission 

and, concurrently, for length of stay. The patient must be 

considered acceptable for coverage and treatment. The 

treating facility and transplant staff must be recognized as 

being capable of providing high quality care in the 

performance of the requested transplant. Standards for 

coverage of organ transplant services are in 12VAC30-50-540 

through 12VAC30-50-580.  

I. H. In compliance with federal regulations at 42 CFR 

441.200, Subparts E and F, claims for hospitalization in 

which sterilization, hysterectomy, or abortion procedures 

were performed shall be subject to review. Hospitals must 

submit the required DMAS forms corresponding to the 

procedures. Regardless of authorization for the hospitalization 

during which these procedures were performed, the claims 

shall suspend for manual review by DMAS. If the forms are 

not properly completed or not attached to the bill, the claim 

will be denied or reduced according to DMAS policy.  

J. I. Addiction and recovery treatment services shall be 

covered in inpatient facilities consistent with 12VAC30-130-

5000 et seq. 

12VAC30-50-105. Inpatient hospital services provided at 

general acute care hospitals and freestanding psychiatric 

hospitals; nonenrolled providers (nonparticipating/out of 

state).  

A. The full DRG inpatient reimbursement methodology 

shall become effective July 1, 1998, for general acute care 

hospitals and freestanding psychiatric hospitals which are 
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nonenrolled providers (nonparticipating/out of state) and the 

same reviews, criteria, and requirements shall apply as are 

applied to enrolled, in-state, participating hospitals in 

12VAC30-50-100.  

B. Inpatient hospital services rendered by nonenrolled 

providers shall not require prior service authorization with the 

exception of transplants as described in subsection K I of this 

section and this subsection. However, these inpatient hospital 

services claims will be suspended from automated computer 

payment and will be manually reviewed for medical necessity 

as described in subsections B through K I of this section 

using criteria specified by DMAS. Inpatient hospital services 

provided out of state to a Medicaid recipient who is a resident 

of the Commonwealth of Virginia shall only be reimbursed 

under at least one of the following conditions. It shall be the 

responsibility of the hospital, when requesting prior service 

authorization for the admission, to demonstrate that one of the 

following conditions exists in order to obtain authorization.  

1. The medical services must be needed because of a 

medical emergency;  

2. Medical services must be needed and the recipient's 

health would be endangered if he were required to travel to 

his state of residence;  

3.The state determines, on the basis of medical advice, that 

the needed medical services, or necessary supplementary 

resources, are more readily available in the other state;  

4. It is the general practice for recipients in a particular 

locality to use medical resources in another state.  

C. Medicaid inpatient hospital admissions (lengths-of-stay) 

are limited to the 75th percentile of PAS (Professional 

Activity Study of the Commission on Professional and 

Hospital Activities) diagnostic/procedure limits. For 

admissions under four days that exceed the 75th percentile, 

the hospital must attach medical justification records to the 

billing invoice to be considered for additional coverage when 

medically justified. For all admissions that exceed three days 

up to a maximum of 21 days, the hospital must attach medical 

justification records to the billing invoice. (See the exception 

to subsection H of this section.)  

D. C. Cosmetic surgical procedures shall not be covered 

unless performed for physiological reasons and require 

DMAS prior approval.  

E. D. Reimbursement for induced abortions is provided in 

only those cases in which there would be a substantial 

endangerment to life of the mother if the fetus was carried to 

term.  

F. E. Hospital claims with an admission date prior to the 

first surgical date, regardless of the number of days prior to 

surgery, must be medically justified. The hospital must write 

on or attach the justification to the billing invoice for 

consideration of reimbursement for all pre-operative days. 

Medically justified situations are those where appropriate 

medical care cannot be obtained except in an acute hospital 

setting thereby warranting hospital admission. Medically 

unjustified days in such admissions will be denied.  

G. Reimbursement will not be provided for weekend 

(Saturday/Sunday) admissions, unless medically justified. 

Hospital claims with admission dates on Saturday or Sunday 

will be pended for review by medical staff to determine 

appropriate medical justification for these days. The hospital 

must write on or attach the justification to the billing invoice 

for consideration of reimbursement coverage for these days. 

Medically justified situations are those where appropriate 

medical care cannot be obtained except in an acute hospital 

setting thereby warranting hospital admission. Medically 

unjustified days in such admission will be denied.  

H. Coverage of inpatient hospitalization shall be limited to a 

total of 21 days per admission in a 60-day period for the same 

or similar diagnosis or treatment plan. The 60-day period 

would begin on the first hospitalization (if there are multiple 

admissions) admission date. There may be multiple 

admissions during this 60-day period. Claims which exceed 

21 days per admission within 60 days for the same or similar 

diagnosis or treatment plan will not be reimbursed. Claims 

which exceed 21 days per admission within 60 days with a 

different diagnosis or treatment plan will be considered for 

reimbursement if medically justified. F. The admission and 

length of stay must be medically justified and preauthorized 

service authorized via the admission and concurrent review 

processes described in subsection A of 12VAC30-50-100. 

Claims for stays exceeding 21 days in a 60-day period shall 

be suspended and processed manually by DMAS staff for 

appropriate reimbursement. The limit for coverage of 21 days 

shall cease with dates of service on or after July 1, 1998. 

Medically unjustified days in such hospitalizations shall not 

be reimbursed by DMAS.  

EXCEPTION: SPECIAL PROVISIONS FOR ELIGIBLE 

INDIVIDUALS UNDER 21 YEARS OF AGE: Consistent 

with 42 CFR 441.57, payment of medical assistance services 

shall be made on behalf of individuals under 21 years of age 

who are Medicaid eligible for medically necessary stays in 

general hospitals and freestanding psychiatric facilities in 

excess of 21 days per admission when such services are 

rendered for the purpose of diagnosis and treatment of health 

conditions identified through a physical or psychological, as 

appropriate, examination.  

I. G. Mandatory lengths of stay.  

1. Coverage for a normal, uncomplicated vaginal delivery 

shall be limited to the day of delivery plus an additional 

two days unless additional days are medically justified. 

Coverage for cesarean births shall be limited to the day of 

delivery plus an additional four days unless additional days 

are medically necessary.  
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2. Coverage for a radical or modified radical mastectomy 

for treatment of disease or trauma of the breast shall be 

provided for a minimum of 48 hours. Coverage for a total 

or partial mastectomy with lymph node dissection for 

treatment of disease or trauma of the breast shall be 

provided for a minimum of 24 hours. Additional days 

beyond the specified minimums for either radical, 

modified, total, or partial mastectomies may be covered if 

medically justified and prior authorized until the diagnosis 

related grouping methodology is fully implemented. 

Nothing in this chapter shall be construed as requiring the 

provision of inpatient coverage where the attending 

physician in consultation with the patient determines that a 

shorter period of hospital stay is appropriate.  

J. H. Reimbursement will not be provided for inpatient 

hospitalization for those surgical and diagnostic procedures listed 

on the DMAS outpatient surgery list unless the inpatient stay is 

medically justified or meets one of the exceptions.  

K. I. For purposes of organ transplantation, all similarly 

situated individuals will be treated alike. Transplant services 

for kidneys, corneas, hearts, lungs, and livers shall be covered 

for all eligible persons. High dose chemotherapy and bone 

marrow/stem cell transplantation shall be covered for all 

eligible persons with a diagnosis of lymphoma, breast cancer, 

leukemia or myeloma. Transplant services for any other 

medically necessary transplantation procedures that are 

determined to not be experimental or investigational shall be 

limited to children (under 21 years of age). Kidney, liver, 

heart, bone marrow/stem cell transplants and any other 

medically necessary transplantation procedures that are 

determined to not be experimental or investigational require 

preauthorization service authorization by DMAS. Cornea 

transplants do not require preauthorization service 

authorization. The patient must be considered acceptable for 

coverage and treatment. The treating facility and transplant 

staff must be recognized as being capable of providing high 

quality care in the performance of the requested transplant. 

Standards for coverage of organ transplant services are in 

12VAC30-50-540 through 12VAC30-50-580.  

L. J. In compliance with 42 CFR 441.200, Subparts E and F, 

claims for hospitalization in which sterilization, 

hysterectomy, or abortion procedures were performed shall be 

subject to review of the required DMAS forms corresponding 

to the procedures. The claims shall suspend for manual 

review by DMAS. If the forms are not properly completed or 

not attached to the bill, the claim will be denied or reduced 

according to DMAS policy.  

12VAC30-50-140. Physician's services whether furnished 

in the office, the patient's home, a hospital, a skilled 

nursing facility, or elsewhere. 

A. Elective surgery as defined by the Program is surgery 

that is not medically necessary to restore or materially 

improve a body function.  

B. Cosmetic surgical procedures are not covered unless 

performed for physiological reasons and require Program 

prior approval.  

C. Routine physicals and immunizations are not covered 

except when the services are provided under the Early and 

Periodic Screening, Diagnosis, and Treatment (EPSDT) 

Program and when a well-child examination is performed in a 

private physician's office for a foster child of the local social 

services department on specific referral from those 

departments.  

D. Outpatient psychiatric services.  

1. Psychiatric services can be provided by or under the 

supervision of an individual licensed under state law to 

practice medicine or osteopathy. Only the following 

licensed providers are permitted to provide psychiatric 

services under the supervision of an individual licensed 

under state law to practice medicine or osteopathy: (i) a 

licensed clinical psychologist; (ii) a LMHP-RP, as defined 

in 12VAC30-50-130; (iii) a licensed clinical social worker; 

(iv) a LMHP-S, as defined in 12VAC30-50-130; (v) a 

licensed professional counselor; (vi) a LMHP-R, as defined 

in 12VAC30-50-130; (vii) a licensed clinical nurse 

specialist-psychiatric; (viii) a licensed marriage and family 

therapist; or (ix) a licensed substance abuse professional an 

LMHP, LMHP-R, LMHP-RP, or LMHP-S as defined in 

12VAC30-50-130. Medically necessary psychiatric 

services shall be covered by DMAS the Department of 

Medical Assistance Services (DMAS) or its designee and 

shall be directly and specifically related to an active 

written plan designed and signature dated by one of the 

health care professionals listed in this subdivision. 

2. Psychiatric services shall be considered appropriate 

when an individual meets the following criteria:  

a. Requires treatment in order to sustain behavioral or 

emotional gains or to restore cognitive functional levels 

that have been impaired;  

b. Exhibits deficits in peer relations, dealing with 

authority; is hyperactive; has poor impulse control; is 

clinically depressed or demonstrates other dysfunctional 

clinical symptoms having an adverse impact on attention 

and concentration, ability to learn, or ability to participate 

in employment, educational, or social activities;  

c. Is at risk for developing or requires treatment for 

maladaptive coping strategies; and  

d. Presents a reduction in individual adaptive and coping 

mechanisms or demonstrates extreme increase in 

personal distress.  

E. Any procedure considered experimental is not covered.  

F. Reimbursement for induced abortions is provided in only 

those cases in which there would be a substantial 
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endangerment of life to the mother if the fetus was carried to 

term.  

G. Physician visits to inpatient psychiatric hospital patients 

over the age of 21 are limited to a maximum of 21 days per 

admission within 60 days for the same or similar diagnoses or 

treatment plan and is further are restricted to medically 

necessary authorized (for enrolled providers)/approved (for 

nonenrolled providers) inpatient psychiatric hospital days as 

determined by the Program DMAS or its contractor.  

EXCEPTION: SPECIAL PROVISIONS FOR ELIGIBLE 

INDIVIDUALS UNDER 21 YEARS OF AGE: Consistent 

with 42 CFR 441.57, payment of medical assistance services 

shall be made on behalf of individuals under 21 years of age, 

who are Medicaid eligible, for medically necessary stays in 

freestanding psychiatric facilities in excess of 21 days per 

admission when such services are rendered for the purpose of 

diagnosis and treatment of health conditions identified 

through a psychiatric assessment. Payments for physician 

visits for inpatient days shall be limited to medically 

necessary inpatient hospital days.  

H. (Reserved.)  

I. Reimbursement shall not be provided for physician 

services provided to recipients in the inpatient setting 

whenever the facility is denied reimbursement.  

J. (Reserved.)  

K. For the purposes of organ transplantation, all similarly 

situated individuals will be treated alike. Transplant services 

for kidneys, corneas, hearts, lungs, and livers shall be covered 

for all eligible persons. High dose chemotherapy and bone 

marrow/stem cell transplantation shall be covered for all 

eligible persons with a diagnosis of lymphoma, breast cancer, 

leukemia, or myeloma. Transplant services for any other 

medically necessary transplantation procedures that are 

determined to not be experimental or investigational shall be 

limited to children (under 21 years of age). Kidney, liver, 

heart, and bone marrow/stem cell transplants and any other 

medically necessary transplantation procedures that are 

determined to not be experimental or investigational require 

preauthorization service authorization by DMAS. Cornea 

transplants do not require preauthorization service 

authorization. The patient must be considered acceptable for 

coverage and treatment. The treating facility and transplant 

staff must be recognized as being capable of providing high 

quality care in the performance of the requested transplant. 

Standards for coverage of organ transplant services are in 

12VAC30-50-540 through 12VAC30-50-580.  

L. Breast reconstruction/prostheses following mastectomy 

and breast reduction.  

1. If prior authorized, breast reconstruction surgery and 

prostheses may be covered following the medically 

necessary complete or partial removal of a breast for any 

medical reason. Breast reductions shall be covered, if prior 

authorized, for all medically necessary indications. Such 

procedures shall be considered noncosmetic.  

2. Breast reconstruction or enhancements for cosmetic 

reasons shall not be covered. Cosmetic reasons shall be 

defined as those which are not medically indicated or are 

intended solely to preserve, restore, confer, or enhance the 

aesthetic appearance of the breast.  

M. Admitting physicians shall comply with the requirements 

for coverage of out-of-state inpatient hospital services. 

Inpatient hospital services provided out of state to a Medicaid 

recipient who is a resident of the Commonwealth of Virginia 

shall only be reimbursed under at least one the following 

conditions. It shall be the responsibility of the hospital, when 

requesting prior service authorization for the admission, to 

demonstrate that one of the following conditions exists in 

order to obtain authorization. Services provided out of state 

for circumstances other than these specified reasons shall not 

be covered.  

1. The medical services must be needed because of a 

medical emergency;  

2. Medical services must be needed and the recipient's 

health would be endangered if he were required to travel to 

his state of residence;  

3. The state determines, on the basis of medical advice, 

that the needed medical services, or necessary 

supplementary resources, are more readily available in the 

other state; or 

4. It is general practice for recipients in a particular locality 

to use medical resources in another state.  

N. In compliance with 42 CFR 441.200, Subparts E and F, 

claims for hospitalization in which sterilization, hysterectomy 

or abortion procedures were performed shall be subject to 

review of the required DMAS forms corresponding to the 

procedures. The claims shall suspend for manual review by 

DMAS. If the forms are not properly completed or not 

attached to the bill, the claim will be denied or reduced 

according to DMAS policy.  

O. Prior authorization is required for the following 

nonemergency outpatient procedures: Magnetic Resonance 

Imaging (MRI), including Magnetic Resonance Angiography 

(MRA), Computerized Axial Tomography (CAT) scans, 

including Computed Tomography Angiography (CTA), or 

Positron Emission Tomography (PET) scans performed for 

the purpose of diagnosing a disease process or physical 

injury. The referring physician ordering nonemergency 

outpatient Magnetic Resonance Imaging (MRI), 

Computerized Axial Tomography (CAT) scans, or Positron 

Emission Tomography (PET) scans must obtain prior 

authorization from the Department of Medical Assistance 

Services (DMAS) DMAS for those scans. The servicing 
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provider will not be reimbursed for the scan unless proper 

prior authorization is obtained from DMAS by the referring 

physician.  

P. Addiction and recovery treatment services shall be 

covered in physician services consistent with 12VAC30-130-

5000 et seq.  

12VAC30-60-20. Utilization control: general acute care 

hospitals; enrolled providers.  

A. The Department of Medical Assistance Services (DMAS) 

shall not reimburse for services which are not authorized as 

follows:  

1. DMAS shall monitor, consistent with state law, the 

utilization of all inpatient hospital services. All inpatient 

hospital stays shall be preauthorized service authorized 

prior to admission. Services rendered without such prior 

service authorization shall not be covered, except as stated 

in subdivisions subdivision 2 and 3 of this subsection.  

2. If a provider has rendered inpatient services to an 

individual who later is determined to be Medicaid eligible, 

the provider shall be responsible for obtaining the required 

authorization prior to billing DMAS for these services.  

3. If a Medicaid eligible individual is admitted to inpatient 

hospital care on a Saturday, Sunday, holiday, or after 

normal working hours, the provider shall be responsible for 

obtaining the required authorization on the next work day 

following such admission.  

4. 3. Regardless of preauthorization service authorization, 

in the following cases hospital inpatient claims shall 

continue to be suspended for DMAS review before 

reimbursement is approved. DMAS shall review all claims 

for individuals over the age of 21 which are suspended for 

exceeding the 21-day limit per admission in a 60-day 

period for the same or similar diagnoses prior to 

reimbursement for the stay. This suspension shall cease for 

nonpsychiatric hospitalizations with dates of service on or 

after July 1, 1998. DMAS shall review all claims which are 

suspended for sterilization, hysterectomy, or abortion 

procedures for the presence of the required federal and 

state forms prior to reimbursement. If the forms are not 

attached to the bill and not properly completed, 

reimbursement for the services rendered will be denied or 

reduced according to DMAS policy.  

B. To determine that the DMAS enrolled hospital providers 

are in compliance with the regulations governing hospital 

utilization control found in 42 CFR 456.50 through 456.145, 

an annual audit will be conducted of each enrolled hospital. 

This audit can be performed either on site or as a desk audit. 

The hospital shall make all requested records available and 

shall provide an appropriate place for the auditors to conduct 

such review if done on site. The audits shall consist of review 

of the following:  

1. Copy of the general hospital's Utilization Management 

Plan to determine compliance with the regulations found in 

42 CFR 456.100 through 456.145.  

2. List of current Utilization Management Committee 

members and physician advisors to determine that the 

committee's composition is as prescribed in the 42 CFR 

456.105 through 456.106.  

3. Verification of Utilization Management Committee 

meetings since the last annual audit, including dates and 

lists of attendees to determine that the committee is 

meeting according to their utilization management meeting 

requirements.  

4. One completed Medical Care Evaluation Study to 

include objectives of the study, analysis of the results, and 

actions taken, or recommendations made to determine 

compliance with the 42 CFR 456.141 through 456.145.  

5. Topic of one ongoing Medical Care Evaluation Study to 

determine the hospital is in compliance with the 42 CFR 

456.145.  

6. From a list of randomly selected paid claims, the 

hospital must provide a copy of the physician admission 

certification and written plan of care for each selected stay 

to determine the hospital's compliance with the 42 CFR 

456.60 and 456.80. If any of the required documentation 

does not meet the requirements found in the 42 CFR 

456.60 through 456.80, reimbursement may be retracted.  

7. The hospitals may appeal in accordance with the 

Administrative Process Act (§ 9-6.14:1 et seq. of the Code 

of Virginia) any adverse decision resulting from such 

audits which results in retraction of payment. The appeal 

must be requested within 30 days of the date of the letter 

notifying the hospital of the retraction.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R21-6072; Filed August 17, 2020, 8:06 a.m.  

BOARD OF BEHAVIORAL HEALTH AND 
DEVELOPMENTAL SERVICES 

Fast-Track Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 12VAC35-105. Rules and Regulations 

for Licensing Providers by the Department of Behavioral 

Health and Developmental Services (adding 12VAC35-

105-435).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 37.2-100 and 37.2-203 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: No public hearings are 

scheduled.  

Public Comment Deadline: October 14, 2020. 

Effective Date: October 30, 2020.  
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Agency Contact: John Cimino, Licensing Legal and 

Regulatory Coordinator, Department of Behavioral Health 

and Developmental Services, 1220 Bank Street, P.O. Box 

1797, Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 298-3279, FAX 

(804) 692-0066, TTY (804) 371-8977, or email 

john.cimino@dbhds.virginia.gov. 

Basis: Section 37.2-203 of the Code of Virginia authorizes 

the board to adopt regulations that may be necessary to carry 

out the provisions of Title 37.2 and other laws of the 

Commonwealth administered by the commissioner and the 

department. 

Purpose: The intent of the legislative mandate is to protect the 

safety of individuals receiving services from unfit direct care 

staff as there currently is not a state registry for those with 

founded cases of abuse and neglect against adults. 

Rationale for Using Fast-Track Rulemaking Process: This 

regulatory action is necessary to comply with Chapter 776 of 

the 2019 Acts of Assembly and therefore is noncontroversial. 

Substance: This action is a mandate from the General 

Assembly, with specific language. The new section text 

closely tracks the language of the bill, except that it would 

require the statement to be "in writing," which is an act of 

discretion by the department. The new language is in its own 

new section, 12VAC35-105-435, which follows immediately 

after 12VAC35-105-430, a section regarding employee or 

contractor personnel records. 

Issues: The primary advantage to the public, specifically 

individuals receiving services, is better protection of those 

individuals from unfit direct care staff as there currently is not 

a state registry for those with founded cases of abuse and 

neglect against adults. 

This regulatory requirement creates an opportunity for 

providers to learn of employee work history, which may 

include founded cases of abuse or neglect, that may render a 

prospective employee unfit for employment and thereby 

reduce risk to individuals receiving services. 

There are no disadvantages to the public. This language could 

potentially increase service quality based on the fact that 

providers are receiving references related to character, ability, 

and fitness of potential employees providing direct care 

services. 

There is no specific advantage or disadvantage to the agency 

or the Commonwealth. 

Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 

Analysis: 

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. The 

State Board of Behavioral Health and Developmental 

Services (Board) seeks to add a new section to the regulation 

(12VAC35-105-435) titled Provision of provider statement to 

any other provider. This section, as proposed, seeks to protect 

adult individuals receiving developmental services from 

caregiver abuse, in the absence of a registry for adult abuse in 

the context of personal care services. The proposed change 

would require employers of caregivers to provide a written 

statement addressing the "character, ability, and fitness for 

employment" of their current or former employees at the 

request of such information from another 

organization/provider seeking to employ that caregiver, 

provided the caregiver in question consents to the disclosure 

of this information in writing. 

Background. The 2019 Acts of Assembly (Chapter 776) 

directs the Board to amend the regulations governing licensed 

providers to include a requirement that licensed providers 

(could be an individual or organization) are to provide a 

character reference for a current or former employee to 

another licensed provider who may be considering hiring that 

caregiver. Specifically, this requirement would apply when all 

of the following conditions are met. 

i. The person in question, who would be the subject of 

this statement, is a current or former employee or other 

individual currently or previously associated with the 

provider in a capacity that requires a criminal 

background check pursuant to § 37.2-416 or § 37.2-506 

of the Code of Virginia. 

ii. The person in question has applied for employment or 

to fill a role that requires a criminal background check 

with a licensed provider.  

iii. The provider writing the statement receives a request 

for the statement from the other licensed provider.  

iv. The provider writing the statement receives written 

consent for the disclosure of such information, executed 

by the person who would be the subject of the statement. 

The proposed new section of the regulation matches the 

language of the statute mandating it, almost verbatim. The 

only difference is that the proposed addition specifies that the 

statement be written.  

Estimated Benefits and Costs. In the absence of a registry for 

workers who have been convicted of abuse or neglect toward 

adults in their care, any measure that provides greater 

information about a potential employee's propensity to 

engage in abuse or neglect would certainly benefit 

prospective employers as well as the adults under their care. 

Although the proposed addition does not require prospective 

employers to request a letter, they may feel encouraged to do 

so knowing that licensed providers would be required to 

provide a statement, if asked, provided the employee 

consents. To the extent that providers may have been 

reluctant to ask for a reference previously and are now more 

likely to request a statement, they and the people they serve 

may be benefited by this new requirement.1  

mailto:john.cimino@dbhds.virginia.gov
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Requiring a statement is a useful addition to the extent that it 

can provide information that would not already be available 

to the prospective employer. The first two conditions imply 

that the employee has to be moving from a role that required 

a background check to another role that requires a 

background check, so the provider statement would only be 

adding information to the extent that it could provide more 

information than the background check. According to the 

Department of Behavioral Health and Developmental 

Services (DBHDS), a background check would only reveal a 

history of abuse if charges had been filed against the 

individual and would not reveal the results of any internal 

investigations that did not involve law enforcement. Hence, 

the statements are intended to capture information that is 

likely to be sensitive in nature. 

However, requiring that they be written may impose certain 

indirect costs that could reduce their effectiveness in this 

regard. In particular, the terms "character, ability, and fitness" 

are not defined in the regulation and are thus open to the 

provider's interpretation. DBHDS staff clarified that the 

statement is intended to include the details and outcomes of 

any internal investigation into reported abuse involving the 

employee that had been conducted by the former employer. 

The third and fourth conditions would protect employers by 

requiring that statements only be provided in response to a 

request initiated by the prospective employer with the 

documented consent of the former employee. To the extent 

that applicants rejected from jobs may respond by requesting 

a copy of the statement, requiring a written statement exposes 

the writer to some risk of legal action, even if it is by a very 

small degree. This may be more likely to occur if the one or 

more of the parties involved is a state or local agency, to 

which the employee could submit a Freedom of Information 

Act request to obtain their statement. Further, providers may 

bear some potential risk to their licensure status, or 

reputation, if the statement's contents were disclosed 

following a request and details of internal investigations or 

other information about any abuse that occurred were more 

broadly known as a result. 

Businesses and Other Entities Affected. The proposed 

amendment affects licensed providers of behavioral health 

and developmental services to adults, and their current, 

former, or prospective employees or associates, in positions 

that require criminal history background checks. DBHDS 

licenses approximately 1,100 providers in Virginia, and they 

estimate that more than 100,000 people are served by the 

providers.2 Many of these providers are likely to be small 

businesses, but the exact number is unknown. 

Localities3 Affected.4 The proposed requirements do not 

appear to affect particular localities disproportionately or 

introduce new costs for local governments.  

Projected Impact on Employment. The proposed amendments 

are unlikely to affect total employment; any increase in 

caregivers' unemployment due to negative provider 

statements is likely to be marginal, in part because of the 

shortage of caregivers.  

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. The 

proposed amendment has no effect on the use and value of 

private property, nor does it affect real estate development 

costs.  

Adverse Effect on Small Businesses.5 

Types and Estimated Number of Small Businesses Affected: 

DBHDS licenses approximately 1,100 providers in Virginia, 

many of whom are likely to be small businesses, although the 

exact number is unknown. 

Costs and Other Effects: As discussed, the proposal does not 

impose any direct costs, over and above the marginal time 

cost of preparing a statement. To the extent that some 

providers may have concerns about sharing the details of 

internal investigations, they may not provide substantive 

information in their written statements. 

Alternative Method that Minimizes Adverse Impact: In 

keeping with the language of the legislative mandate, the 

Board could remove the requirement that the statement be 

provided in writing. The requesting licensed provider could 

confirm to DBHDS that the character reference has been 

provided, even if it is verbal, so that the state agency would 

know that the proposed requirement has been met.  

_______________________________ 

1Adverse impact is indicated if there is any increase in net cost or reduction 

in net revenue for any entity, even if the benefits exceed the costs for all 

entities combined. 

2If the prospective employer requests a statement and the applicant does not 

consent, that too could be informative. 

3See Table 2 in https://rga.lis.virginia.gov/Published/2017/RD552/PDF for 

details on individuals served by Community Service Boards or State 

Facilities. 

4"Locality" can refer to either local governments or the locations in the 

Commonwealth where the activities relevant to the regulatory change are 

most likely to occur. 

5§ 2.2-4007.04 defines "particularly affected" as bearing disproportionate 

material impact. 

6Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.04 of the Code of Virginia, small business is defined 

as "a business entity, including its affiliates, that (i) is independently owned 

and operated and (ii) employs fewer than 500 full-time employees or has 

gross annual sales of less than $6 million." 

Agency's Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The 

agency concurs with the Department of Planning and 

Budget's economic impact analysis. 

Summary: 

Pursuant to Chapter 776 of the 2019 Acts of Assembly, the 

action establishes a requirement that employers of 

caregivers provide a written statement addressing the 

"character, ability, and fitness for employment" of current 

https://rga.lis.virginia.gov/Published/2017/RD552/PDF
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or former employees at the request of such information 

from another organization or provider seeking to employ 

that caregiver, provided the caregiver in question consents 

to the disclosure of this information in writing. 

12VAC35-105-435. Provision of provider statement to any 

other provider. 

Providers shall give a statement in writing regarding a 

current or past employee or other individual currently or 

previously associated with the provider in a capacity that 

requires a criminal history background check pursuant to 

§ 37.2-416 or 37.2-506 of the Code of Virginia to any other 

licensed provider with which the current or past employee has 

applied for employment or to fill a role that requires a 

criminal history background check pursuant to § 37.2-416 or 

37.2-506 of the Code of Virginia. The statement shall address 

the character, ability, and fitness for employment in or to 

otherwise fill the role for which the person has applied and 

shall be provided upon: 

1. Receipt of a request for such information from the other 

licensed provider; and  

2. Written consent to the disclosure of such information 

executed by the current or past employee or other 

individual currently or previously associated with the 

provider in a capacity that requires a criminal history 

background check pursuant to § 37.2-416 or 37.2-506 of 

the Code of Virginia.  

Nothing in this provision shall require disclosure of 

information subject to privilege or confidentiality pursuant to 

§ 8.01-581.16, 8.01-581.17, or 32.1-127.1:03 of the Code of 

Virginia or federal law.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R21-5979; Filed August 12, 2020, 4:31 p.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 13. HOUSING 

BOARD OF HOUSING AND COMMUNITY 
DEVELOPMENT 

Proposed Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 13VAC5-21. Virginia Certification 

Standards (amending 13VAC5-21-41, 13VAC5-21-45).  

Statutory Authority: § 36-137 of the Code of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: 

September 28, 2020 - 10 a.m. - Google Meet Meeting - 

The link to access the electronic meeting is 

meet.google.com/rqj-cmsq-rft, or copy and paste the link 

into a browser. Additional details and information are 

available on the Virginia Regulatory Town Hall 

(www.townhall.virginia.gov). 

Public Comment Deadline: November 13, 2020. 

Agency Contact: Kyle Flanders, Senior Policy Analyst, 

Department of Housing and Community Development, Main 

Street Centre, 600 East Main Street, Suite 300, Richmond, 

VA 23219, telephone (804) 786-6761, FAX (804) 371-7090, 

TTY (804) 371-7089, or email 

kyle.flanders@dhcd.virginia.gov. 

Basis: The statutory authority to update the regulation is 

contained in § 36-137 of the Code of Virginia.  

Purpose: As recognized in § 36-99 of the Code of Virginia, 

the purpose of the Uniform Statewide Building Code is to 

protect the health, safety, and welfare of the citizens of the 

Commonwealth, while permitting buildings to be constructed 

in the most economical manner consistent with such pertinent 

recognized standards relative to construction, health, and 

safety. Therefore, the certification and associated training and 

education of the local and nongovernment code enforcement 

personnel is inherent in and critical to the achievement of this 

purpose and ensures the technical and professional level of 

those personnel, including the knowledge and skill gained 

resultant from the initial training, mandated periodic training, 

continuing education, and familiarity with and understanding 

of recent developments within the building codes and 

construction industry. 

Substance: The proposed amendment changes the sentence 

structure of certification categories and training requirements. 

The change is editorial and alters the "list of certificates 

offered and sets out the required training necessary to attend 

and complete…" to "the list of certificates offered and sets 

out the training required to be completed to obtain each 

certificate…" There is an additional editorial change deleting 

an unnecessary word. 

Issues: This regulatory action poses no foreseen 

disadvantages to the public or the Commonwealth. The 

amendments provide additional clarity for regulants and the 

department regarding requirements for training to obtain 

certifications. 

Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 

Analysis: 

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. The 

Board of Housing and Community Development (Board) 

proposes to amend 13VAC5-21 Virginia Certification 

Standards to make grammatical changes to improve clarity.  

Background. In March 2019, the Board updated 13VAC5-51 

Virginia Statewide Fire Prevention Code (fire code) to 

reference the latest nationally recognized codes and 

standards.1 These updates included changes to the 

certifications required for fire officials. Hence, the Board also 

reviewed the regulation on certification standards to ensure it 

remained consistent with the fire code requirements. The 

Board proposes to replace "the required training necessary to 

https://lis.virginia.gov/000/noc/meet.google.com/rqj-cmsq-rft
https://lis.virginia.gov/000/noc/www.townhall.virginia.gov
mailto:kyle.flanders@dhcd.virginia.gov
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attend and complete to obtain a certificate" with "the training 

required to be completed to obtain each certificate," which 

simplifies the clause and reiterates that multiple certifications 

exist with unique requirements.  

Estimated Benefits and Costs. The proposed amendment 

benefits readers of the regulation, especially those interested 

in obtaining a certification, by improving the clarity of the 

language. It does not introduce any additional costs.  

Businesses and Other Entities Affected. Potential applicants 

for any certification from the Department of Housing and 

Community Development stand to benefit from having 

additional clarity. The proposed amendment does not 

introduce any new costs for businesses or other entities.  

Small Businesses2 Affected. The proposed amendment does 

not directly affect any small businesses. Individuals seeking 

certification may be self-employed or employed by a small 

business, but the number of such individuals is unknown and 

they would not face any new costs as a result of the proposed 

amendments. 

Localities3 Affected.4 The proposed amendment potentially 

affects individuals seeking certification in all localities. The 

proposed amendments are unlikely to introduce new costs for 

local governments.  

Projected Impact on Employment. The proposed amendment 

is unlikely to cause any changes to total employment.  

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. The 

proposed amendment is unlikely to affect the use or value of 

private property. Real estate development costs are unlikely 

to be affected. 

___________________________ 

1There is no associated regulatory action because the fire code regulation is 

exempt from the Administrative Process Act, as established via email 

correspondence at the NOIRA stage of this action.  

2Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.04 of the Code of Virginia, small business is defined 

as "a business entity, including its affiliates, that (i) is independently owned 

and operated and (ii) employs fewer than 500 full-time employees or has 

gross annual sales of less than $6 million." 

3"Locality" can refer to either local governments or the locations in the 

Commonwealth where the activities relevant to the regulatory change are 

most likely to occur. 

4§ 2.2-4007.04 defines "particularly affected" as bearing disproportionate 

material impact. 

Agency's Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The 

Department of Housing and Community Development 

concurs with the economic impact analysis (EIA) prepared by 

the Department of Planning and Budget for this proposed 

regulation. As a minor note to the first paragraph of the EIA, 

the department and the board are currently in the process of 

updating all of their building and fire related construction and 

maintenance regulations. 

Summary: 

The proposed amendments (i) clarify the contents of a 

department list and (ii) correct a typo. 

13VAC5-21-41. Certification categories and training 

requirements.  

A. The department maintains a list of all certificates offered 

and the list sets out the required training necessary to attend 

and complete required to be completed to obtain a each 

certificate. Alternatives to the training requirements set out in 

13VAC5-21-45 shall be considered for all certificates offered 

except that no alternative shall be accepted for the code 

academy core module.  

B. Applicants for certificates shall attend and complete the code 

academy core module. After the completion of the core module, 

applicants are required to attend and complete the code academy 

training as set out in a list maintained by the department, except 

as provided for in 13VAC5-21-45. All required training must be 

completed within no more than six years prior to the date the 

application is submitted and the requirements for training are 

based on those in effect at the time of application.  

13VAC5-21-45. Alternatives to training requirements.  

Upon written request, alternative training or a combination 

of training, education or experience to satisfy the training 

requirements of 13VAC5-21-41 may be approved, provided 

that such alternatives or combinations are determined to be 

equivalent to that required. However, as provided in 

13VAC5-21-41, no substitutions shall be approved for the 

code academy core module. The types of combinations of 

education and experience may include military training, 

college classes, technical schools or long-term work 

experiences, except that long-term work experiences shall not 

be approved as the sole substitute to satisfy the training 

requirements. BCAAC may be consulted with in any such 

consideration. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R19-5980; Filed August 17, 2020, 2:14 p.m.  

Proposed Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Board of Housing and 

Community Development is claiming an exemption from 

Article 2 of the Administrative Process Act pursuant to § 2.2-

4006 A 12 of the Code of Virginia, which excludes 

regulations adopted by the board pursuant to the Statewide 

Fire Prevention Code (§ 27-94 et seq.), the Industrialized 

Building Safety Law (§ 36-70 et seq.), the Uniform Statewide 

Building Code (§ 36-97 et seq.), and § 36-98.3 of the Code of 

Virginia, provided the board (i) provides a Notice of Intended 

Regulatory Action in conformance with the provisions of 

§ 2.2-4007.01, (ii) publishes the proposed regulation and 

provides an opportunity for oral and written comments as 

provided in § 2.2-4007.03, and (iii) conducts at least one 

public hearing as provided in §§ 2.2-4009 and 36-100 prior to 

the publishing of the proposed regulations. The Board of 
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Housing and Community Development will receive, consider, 

and respond to petitions regarding 13VAC5-63-210 by any 

interested person at any time with respect to reconsideration 

or revision. 

Title of Regulation: 13VAC5-63. Virginia Uniform 

Statewide Building Code (amending 13VAC5-63-210).  

Statutory Authority: § 36-98 of the Code of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: 

September 28, 2020 - 10 a.m. - Google Meet Meeting - 

The link to access the electronic meeting is 

meet.google.com/rqj-cmsq-rft, or copy and paste the link 

into a browser. Additional details and information are 

available on the Virginia Regulatory Town Hall 

(www.townhall.virginia.gov). 

Public Comment Deadline: November 13, 2020. 

Agency Contact: Kyle Flanders, Senior Policy Analyst, 

Department of Housing and Community Development, Main 

Street Centre, 600 East Main Street, Suite 300, Richmond, 

VA 23219, telephone (804) 786-6761, FAX (804) 371-7090, 

TTY (804) 371-7089, or email 

kyle.flanders@dhcd.virginia.gov. 

Background: The Uniform Statewide Building Code (USBC) 

is a regulation governing the construction, maintenance, and 

rehabilitation of new and existing building and structures. 

The USBC uses nationally recognized model building codes 

and standards produced by the International Code Council 

(ICC) and other standard-writing groups as the basis for the 

technical provisions of the regulation. Every three years, new 

editions of the model codes become available. At that time, 

the Board of Housing and Community Development (BHCD) 

initiates a regulatory action to incorporate the newest editions 

of the model codes into the regulation as well as accepting 

proposals for changes to the regulation from affected client 

groups and the public. 

This proposed phase of the regulatory action only includes 

13VAC5-63-210. The text of this section was published 

correctly in the Virginia Register of Regulations in Volume 

36, Issue 12 on February 3, 2020. However, due to a technical 

error, certain information may not have been present on the 

Virginia Regulatory Town Hall website -- specifically, 

13VAC5-63-210. 

Summary: 

The proposed substantive amendments to 13VAC5-63-210 

do the following:  

1. Make several changes to the Residential Code, 

including updating REScheck to the 2018 International 

Energy Conservation Code (IECC).  

2. Eliminate the deletion of the energy certificate 

requirement and revise the section to allow the certificate 

to be kept at an offsite location for multifamily buildings.  

3. Remove visual option and require blower door testing 

for air leakage rate of buildings (5 air changes). 

4. Remove prohibition against using building cavities as 

plenums. 

5. Remove the requirement for residential exhaust hoods 

in kitchens for grease laden vapors as the requirements 

for this are specified in the International Mechanical 

Code and do not belong in the IECC. 

6. Revise landing/floor height requirement for exterior 

doors from to 8-1/4 inches.  

7. Allow the use of Appendix Q for tiny houses (i.e., 

dwellings 400 square feet or less). 

8. Revise foundation anchorage language to match the 

International Building Code. 

9. Clarify that only one foundation vent is required 

within three feet of each corner.  

10. Add an option for relining existing building sewers 

and building draining piping.  

11. Add an option to provide a notice by electronic 

means for a local board of building code appeals 

hearing. 

12. Change the minimum slope from two percent to one 

percent for drainage on impervious surfaces within 10 

feet of the building foundation. 

Other proposed changes update citations to incorporated 

codes and statutes, reorganize standards for a more 

appropriate placement in the code, or clarify or correlate 

provisions.  

13VAC5-63-210. Chapter 3 Use and occupancy 

classification.  

A. Change Sections 303.1.1 and 303.1.2 of the IBC to read: 

303.1.1 Small buildings and tenant spaces. A building or 

tenant space used for assembly purposes with an occupant 

load of less than 50 persons shall be permitted to be 

classified as a Group B occupancy. 

303.1.2 Small assembly spaces. The following rooms and 

spaces shall be permitted to be classified as Group B 

occupancies or as part of the assembly occupancy: 

1. A room or space used for assembly purposes with an 

occupant load of less than 50 persons and ancillary to 

another occupancy. 

2. A room or space used for assembly purposes that is 

less than 750 square feet (70 m2) in area and ancillary to 

another occupancy. 

https://lis.virginia.gov/000/noc/meet.google.com/rqj-cmsq-rft
https://lis.virginia.gov/000/noc/www.townhall.virginia.gov
mailto:kyle.flanders@dhcd.virginia.gov
http://register.dls.virginia.gov/toc.aspx?voliss=36:12
http://register.dls.virginia.gov/toc.aspx?voliss=36:12
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B. Change Section 303.6 of the IBC to read:  

303.6 Assembly Group A-5. Assembly uses intended for 

participation in or viewing outdoor activities including, but 

not limited to:  

Amusement park structures  

Bleachers  

Grandstands  

Stadiums  

Swimming pools  

C. Add Section 304.1.1 to the IBC to read: 

304.1.1 Day support and day treatment facilities. Day 

support and day treatment facilities licensed by the 

Virginia Department of Behavioral Health and 

Developmental Services shall be permitted to be classified 

as Group B occupancies provided all of the following 

conditions are met: 

1. Participants who may require physical assistance from 

staff to respond to an emergency situation shall be 

located on the level of exit discharge. 

2. Any change in elevation within the exit access on the 

level of exit discharge shall be made by means of a ramp 

or sloped walkway. 

3. Where the facilities are located more than two stories 

above grade, an automatic sprinkler system shall be 

provided throughout the building in accordance with 

Section 903.3.1.1. 

D. Change exception Exception 14 of Section 307.1.1 of the 

IBC and add exception 15 Exception 18 to Section 307.1.1 of 

the IBC to read:  

14. The storage of black powder, smokeless propellant and 

small arms primers in Groups M, R-3 and R-5 and special 

industrial explosive devices in Groups B, F, M and S, 

provided such storage conforms to the quantity limits and 

requirements prescribed in the IFC, as amended in Section 

307.9.  

15. 18. The storage of distilled spirits and wines in wooden 

barrels and casks. Distillation, blending, bottling, and other 

hazardous materials storage or processing shall be in 

separate control areas complying with Section 414.2. 

E. Change the "Flammable liquid, combination (IA, IB, IC)" row in Table 307.1(1), add a new "Permissible fireworks" row to 

Table 307.1(1) of the IBC, and add footnote "r" to Table 307.1(1) of the IBC to read:  

Flammable 

liquid, 

combination 

(IA, IB, IC) 

NA H-2 

or 

H-3 

NA 120d,e,h NA NA 120d,h NA NA 30d,h,r 

Permissible 

fireworks 1.4G H-3 125d,e,l NA NA NA NA NA NA NA 

r. The tabular value for distilled spirit distillation and blending rooms is 120 gallons. 

F. Add Section 307.9 to the IBC to read:  

307.9 Amendments. The following changes shall be made 

to the IFC for the use of Exception 14 in Section 307.1.1:  

1. Change the following definition in Section 202 of the 

IFC to read:  

Smokeless propellants. Solid propellants, commonly 

referred to as smokeless powders, or any propellants 

classified by DOTn as smokeless propellants in 

accordance with NA3178 (Smokeless Powder for Small 

Arms), used in small arms ammunition, firearms, 

cannons, rockets, propellant-actuated devices, and similar 

articles.  

2. Change Section 314.1 of the IFC to read as follows:  

314.1 General. Indoor displays constructed within any 

building or structure shall comply with Sections 314.2 

through 314.5.  

3. Add new Section 314.5 to the IFC to read as follows:  

314.5 Smokeless powder and small arms primers. 

Vendors shall not store, display or sell smokeless powder 

or small arms primers during trade shows inside 

exhibition halls except as follows:  

1. The amount of smokeless powder each vender may 

store is limited to the storage arrangements and storage 

amounts established in Section 5606.5.2.1.  

2. Smokeless powder shall remain in the manufacturer's 

original sealed container and the container shall remain 

sealed while inside the building. The repackaging of 

smokeless powder shall not be performed inside the 

building. Damaged containers shall not be repackaged 

inside the building and shall be immediately removed 

from the building in such manner to avoid spilling any 

powder.  
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3. There shall be at least 50 feet separation between 

vendors and 20 feet from any exit.  

4. Small arms primers shall be displayed and stored in 

the manufacturer's original packaging and in accordance 

with the requirements of Section 5606.5.2.3.  

4. Change Exception 4 and add Exceptions 10 and 11 to 

Section 5601.1 of the IFC as follows:  

4. The possession, storage and use of not more than 15 

pounds (6.75 kg) of commercially manufactured sporting 

black powder, 20 pounds (9 kg) of smokeless powder and 

any amount of small arms primers for hand loading of 

small arms ammunition for personal consumption.  

10. The display of small arms primers in Group M when 

in the original manufacturer's packaging.  

11. The possession, storage and use of not more than 50 

pounds (23 kg) of commercially manufactured sporting 

black powder, 100 pounds (45 kg) of smokeless powder, 

and small arms primers for hand loading of small arms 

ammunition for personal consumption in Group R-3 or 

R-5, or 200 pounds (91 kg) of smokeless powder when 

stored in the manufacturer's original containers in 

detached Group U structures at least 10 feet (3048 mm) 

from inhabited buildings and are accessory to Group R-3 

or R-5.  

5. Change Section 5606.4 of the IFC to read as follows:  

5606.4 Storage in residences. Propellants for personal 

use in quantities not exceeding 50 pounds (23 kg) of 

black powder or 100 pounds (45 kg) of smokeless 

powder shall be stored in original containers in 

occupancies limited to Group Groups R-3 and R-5 or 200 

pounds (91 kg) of smokeless powder when stored in the 

manufacturer's original containers in detached Group U 

structures at least 10 feet (3048 mm) from inhabited 

buildings and are accessory to Group R-3 or R-5. In other 

than Group R-3 or R-5, smokeless powder in quantities 

exceeding 20 pounds (9 kg) but not exceeding 50 pounds 

(23 kg) shall be kept in a wooden box or cabinet having 

walls of at least one inch (25 mm) nominal thickness or 

equivalent.  

6. Delete Sections 5606.4.1 and 5606.4.2 of the IFC.  

7. Change Section 5606.5.1.1 of the IFC to read as follows:  

5606.5.1.1 Smokeless propellant. No more than 100 

pounds (45 kg) of smokeless propellants in containers of 

eight pounds (3.6 kg) or less capacity shall be displayed 

in Group M occupancies.  

8. Delete Section 5606.5.1.3 of the IFC.  

9. Change Section 5606.5.2.1 of the IFC as follows:  

5606.5.2.1 Smokeless propellant. Commercial stocks of 

smokeless propellants shall be stored as follows:  

1. Quantities exceeding 20 pounds (9 kg), but not 

exceeding 100 pounds (45 kg) shall be stored in portable 

wooden boxes having walls of at least one inch (25 mm) 

nominal thickness or equivalent.  

2. Quantities exceeding 100 pounds (45 kg), but not 

exceeding 800 pounds (363 kg), shall be stored in storage 

cabinets having walls at least one inch (25 mm) nominal 

thickness or equivalent. Not more than 400 pounds (182 

kg) shall be stored in any one cabinet, and cabinets shall 

be separated by a distance of at least 25 feet (7620 mm) 

or by a fire partition having a fire-resistance rating of at 

least one hour.  

3. Storage of quantities exceeding 800 pounds (363 kg), 

but not exceeding 5,000 pounds (2270 kg) in a building 

shall comply with all of the following:  

3.1. The warehouse or storage room is inaccessible not 

open to unauthorized personnel.  

3.2. Smokeless propellant shall be stored in nonportable 

storage cabinets having wood walls at least one inch (25 

mm) nominal thickness or equivalent and having shelves 

with no more than 3 feet (914 mm) of vertical separation 

between shelves.  

3.3. No more than 400 pounds (182 kg) is stored in any 

one cabinet.  

3.4. Cabinets shall be located against walls with at least 

40 feet (12 192 (12,192 mm) between cabinets. The 

minimum required separation between cabinets may be 

reduced to 20 feet (6096 mm) provided that barricades 

twice the height of the cabinets are attached to the wall, 

midway between each cabinet. The barricades must 

extend a minimum of 10 feet (3048 mm) outward, be 

firmly attached to the wall, and be constructed of steel 

not less than 0.25 inch thick (6.4 mm), 2-inch (51 mm) 

nominal thickness wood, brick, or concrete block.  

3.5. Smokeless propellant shall be separated from 

materials classified as combustible liquids, flammable 

liquids, flammable solids, or oxidizing materials by a 

distance of 25 feet (7620 mm) or by a fire partition 

having a fire-resistance rating of 1 hour.  

3.6. The building shall be equipped throughout with an 

automatic sprinkler system installed in accordance with 

Section 903.3.1.1.  

4. Smokeless propellants not stored according to Item 1, 

2, or 3 above shall be stored in a Type 2 or 4 magazine in 

accordance with Section 5604 and NFPA 495.  

G. Add the following to the list of terms in Section 308.2 of 

the IBC:  

Hospice facility  

H. G. Change Section 308.3 308.2 of the IBC to read:  
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308.3 308.2 Institutional Group I-1. This occupancy shall 

include buildings, structures or portions thereof for more 

than 16 persons, excluding staff, who reside on a 24-hour 

basis in a supervised environment and receive custodial 

care. Buildings of Group I-1, other than assisted living 

facilities licensed by the Virginia Department of Social 

Services, shall be classified as the occupancy condition 

indicated in Section 308.3.1 308.2.1. Assisted living 

facilities licensed by the Virginia Department of Social 

Services shall be classified as one of the occupancy 

conditions indicated in Section 308.3.1 308.2.1 or 308.3.2 

308.2.2. This group shall include, but not be limited to, the 

following:  

Alcohol and drug centers  

Assisted living facilities  

Congregate care facilities  

Group homes  

Halfway houses  

Residential board and care facilities  

Social rehabilitation facilities  

I. H. Change Sections 308.3.1 308.2.1 and 308.3.2 308.2.2 

of the IBC to read:  

308.3.1 308.2.1 Condition 1. This occupancy condition 

shall include buildings in which all persons receiving 

custodial care who, without any assistance, are capable of 

responding to an emergency situation to complete building 

evacuation. Not more than five of the residents may require 

physical assistance from staff to respond to an emergency 

situation when all residents who may require the physical 

assistance reside on a single level of exit discharge.  

308.3.2 308.2.2 Condition 2. This occupancy condition 

shall include buildings in which there are persons receiving 

custodial care who require assistance by not more than one 

staff member while responding to an emergency situation 

to complete building evacuation. Five of the residents may 

require physical assistance from more than one staff 

member to respond to an emergency.  

J. I. Change Section 308.4 308.3 of the IBC to read:  

308.4 308.3 Group I-2. This occupancy shall include 

buildings and structures used for medical care on a 24-hour 

basis for more than five persons who are incapable of self-

preservation. This group shall include, but not be limited 

to, the following:  

Convalescent facilities  

Detoxification facilities  

Foster care facilities  

Hospice facilities  

Hospitals  

Nursing homes  

Psychiatric hospitals  

Exception: Hospice facilities occupied by 16 or less 

occupants, excluding staff, are permitted to be classified 

as Group R-4.  

K. J. Add an exception to Section 308.6 308.5 of the IBC to 

read:  

Exception: Family day homes under Section 310.9 310.8.  

L. K. Change Section 310.3 310.2 of the IBC to read:  

310.3 310.2 Residential Group R-1. Residential 

occupancies containing sleeping units where the occupants 

are primarily transient in nature, including:  

Boarding houses (transient) with more than 10 occupants  

Congregate living facilities (transient) with more than 10 

occupants  

Hotels (transient)  

Motels (transient)  

Exceptions:  

1. Nonproprietor occupied bed and breakfast and other 

transient boarding facilities not more than three stories 

above grade plane in height with a maximum of 10 

occupants total are permitted to be classified as either 

Group R-3 or R-5 provided that smoke alarms are 

installed in compliance with Section 907.2.11.2 

907.2.10.2 for Group R-3 or Section R314 of the IRC for 

Group R-5.  

2. Proprietor occupied bed and breakfast and other 

transient boarding facilities not more than three stories 

above grade plane in height, that are also occupied as the 

residence of the proprietor, with a maximum of five guest 

room sleeping units provided for the transient occupants 

are permitted to be classified as either Group R-3 or R-5 

provided that smoke alarms are installed in compliance 

with Section 907.2.11.2 907.2.10.2 for Group R-3 or 

Section R314 of the IRC for Group R-5.  

M. L. Change Section 310.6 310.5 of the IBC to read:  

310.6 310.5 Residential Group R-4. This occupancy shall 

include buildings, structures or portions thereof for more 

than five but not more than 16 persons, excluding staff, 

who reside on a 24-hour basis in a supervised environment 

and receive custodial care. Buildings of Group R-4, other 

than assisted living facilities licensed by the Virginia 

Department of Social Services, shall be classified as the 

occupancy condition indicated in Section 310.6.1 310.5.1. 

Assisted living facilities licensed by the Virginia 

Department of Social Services shall be classified as one of 
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the occupancy conditions indicated in Section 310.6.1 

310.5.1 or 310.6.2 310.5.2. This group shall include, but 

not be limited to the following:  

Alcohol and drug centers  

Assisted living facilities  

Congregate care facilities  

Group homes  

Halfway houses  

Residential board and care facilities  

Social rehabilitation facilities  

This occupancy shall also include hospice facilities with 

not more than 16 occupants, excluding staff.  

Group R-4 occupancies shall meet the requirements for 

construction as defined for Group R-3, except as otherwise 

provided for in this code. 

Exceptions:  

1. Group homes licensed by the Virginia Department of 

Behavioral Health and Developmental Services that 

house no more than eight persons with one or more 

resident counselors shall be classified as Group R-2, R-3, 

R-4 or R-5. Not more than five of the persons may 

require physical assistance from staff to respond to an 

emergency situation.  

2. In Group R-4 occupancies classified as the occupancy 

condition indicated in Section 310.6.1 310.5.1, other than 

in hospice facilities, not more than five of the residents 

may require physical assistance from staff to respond to 

an emergency situation when all residents who may 

require the physical assistance from staff reside on a 

single level of exit discharge and other than using a 

ramp, a change of elevation using steps or stairs is not 

within the path of egress to an exit door.  

3. Assisted living facilities licensed by the Virginia 

Department of Social Services that house no more than 

eight persons, with one or more resident counselors, and 

all of the residents are capable of responding to an 

emergency situation without physical assistance from 

staff, may be classified as Group R-2, R-3 or R-5.  

4. Assisted living facilities licensed by the Virginia 

Department of Social Services that house no more than 

eight persons, with one or more resident counselors, may 

be classified as Group R-5 when in compliance with all 

of the following:  

4.1. The building is protected by an automatic sprinkler 

system installed in accordance with Section 903.3 or 

Section P2904 of the IRC.  

4.2. Not more than five of the residents may require 

physical assistance from staff to respond to an emergency 

situation.  

4.3. All residents who may require physical assistance 

from staff to respond to an emergency situation reside on 

a single level of exit discharge and other than using a 

ramp, a change in elevation using steps or stairs is not 

within the path of egress to an exit door.  

5. Hospice facilities with five or fewer occupants are 

permitted to comply with the IRC provided the building 

is protected by an automatic sprinkler system in 

accordance with IRC Section P2904 or IBC Section 

903.3.  

N. M. Change Sections 310.6.1 310.5.1 and 310.6.2 310.5.2 

to the IBC to read:  

310.6.1 310.5.1 Condition 1. This occupancy condition 

shall include buildings in which all persons receiving 

custodial care who, without any assistance, are capable of 

responding to an emergency situation to complete building 

evacuation and hospice facilities.  

310.6.2 310.5.2 Condition 2. This occupancy condition 

shall include buildings in which there are persons receiving 

custodial care who require assistance by not more than one 

staff member while responding to an emergency situation 

to complete building evacuation.  

O. N. Add Section 310.7 310.6 to the IBC to read:  

310.7 310.6 Residential Group R-5. Residential 

occupancies in detached single-family and two-family 

dwellings, townhouses and accessory structures within the 

scope of the IRC.  

P. O. Add Section 310.8 310.7 to the IBC to read:  

310.8 Group R-5. The construction of Group R-5 structures 

shall comply with the IRC. The amendments to the IRC set 

out in Section 310.11 310.10 shall be made to the IRC for 

its use as part of this code. In addition, all references to the 

IRC in the IBC shall be considered to be references to this 

section.  

Q. P. Add Section 310.8.1 310.7.1 to the IBC to read:  

310.8.1 310.7.1 Additional requirements. Methods of 

construction, materials, systems, equipment or components 

for Group R-5 structures not addressed by prescriptive or 

performance provisions of the IRC shall comply with 

applicable IBC requirements.  

R. Q. Add Section 310.9 310.8 to the IBC to read:  

310.9 310.8 Family day homes. Family day homes where 

program oversight is provided by the Virginia Department 

of Social Services shall be classified as Group R-2, R-3 or 

R-5.  
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Note: Family day homes may generally care for up to 12 

children. See the DHCD Related Laws Package for 

additional information.  

S. R. Add Section 310.10 310.9 to the IBC to read:  

310.10 310.9 Radon-resistant construction in Groups R-3 

and R-4 structures. Groups R-3 and R-4 structures shall be 

subject to the radon-resistant construction requirements in 

Appendix F of the IRC in localities enforcing such 

requirements pursuant to Section R324 of the IRC.  

T. S. Add Section 310.11 310.10 to the IBC to read:  

310.11 310.10 Amendments to the IRC. The following 

changes shall be made to the IRC for its use as part of this 

code:  

1. Add the following definitions to read:  

Living area. Space within a dwelling unit utilized for 

living and entertainment, including family rooms, great 

rooms, living rooms, dens, media rooms, and similar 

spaces. 

Nonpotable fixtures and outlets. Fixtures and outlets that 

are not dependent on potable water for the safe operation 

to perform their intended use. Such fixtures and outlets 

may include, but are not limited to water closets, urinals, 

irrigation, mechanical equipment, and hose connections 

to perform operations, such as vehicle washing and lawn 

maintenance.  

Nonpotable water systems. Water systems for the 

collection, treatment, storage, distribution, and use or 

reuse of nonpotable water. Nonpotable systems include 

reclaimed water, rainwater, and gray water systems.  

Rainwater. Natural precipitation, including snow melt, 

from roof surfaces only.  

Stormwater. Precipitation that is discharged across the 

land surface or through conveyances to one or more 

waterways and that may include stormwater runoff, snow 

melt runoff, and surface runoff and drainage.  

2. Change the following definitions to read:  

Attic, habitable. A finished or unfinished area, not 

considered a story, complying with all of the following 

requirements:  

1. The occupiable floor area is at least 70 square feet (17 

m2), in accordance with Section R304,  

2. The occupiable floor area has a ceiling height in 

accordance with Section R305, and  

3. The occupiable space is enclosed by the roof assembly 

above, knee walls (if applicable) on the sides and the 

floor-ceiling assembly below.  

Habitable attics greater than two-thirds of the area of the 

story below or over 400 square feet (37.16 m2) shall not 

be permitted in dwellings or townhouses that are three 

stories above grade plane in height.  

Gray water. Water discharged from lavatories, bathtubs, 

showers, clothes washers, and laundry trays.  

3. Change Section R301.2.1 to read:  

R301.2.1 Wind design criteria. Buildings and portions 

thereof shall be constructed in accordance with the wind 

provisions of this code using the ultimate design wind 

speed in Table R301.2(1) as determined from Figure 

R301.2(4)A R301.2(5)A. The structural provisions of 

this code for wind loads are not permitted where wind 

design is required as specified in Section R301.2.1.1. 

Where different construction methods and structural 

materials are used for various portions of a building, the 

applicable requirements of this section for each portion 

shall apply. Where not otherwise specified, the wind 

loads listed in Table R301.2(2) adjusted for height and 

exposure using Table R301.2(3) shall be used to 

determine design load performance requirements for wall 

coverings, curtain walls, roof coverings, exterior 

windows, skylights, garage doors, and exterior doors. 

Asphalt shingles shall be designed for wind speeds in 

accordance with Section R905.2.4. A continuous load 

path shall be provided to transmit the applicable uplift 

forces in Section R802.11.1 from the roof assembly to 

the foundation. Wind speeds for localities in special wind 

regions, near mountainous terrain, and near gorges shall 

be based on elevation. Areas at 4,000 feet in elevation or 

higher shall use the nominal design wind speed of 110 

mph (48.4 m/s) and areas under 4,000 feet in elevation 

shall use nominal design wind speed of 90 mph (39.6 

m/s). Gorge areas shall be based on the highest recorded 

speed per locality or in accordance with local jurisdiction 

requirements determined in accordance with Section 

26.5.1 of ASCE 7.  

4. Add Exceptions 6 and 7 to Section R302.1 to read:  

6. Decks and open porches.  

7. Walls of dwellings and accessory structures located on 

lots in subdivisions or zoning districts where building 

setbacks established by local ordinance prohibit the walls 

of the structures on adjacent lots from being closer than 

10 feet (3048 mm) to each other at any point along the 

exterior walls. 

5. Add the following sentence to the end of Section R302.3 

to read:  

Dwelling unit separation wall assemblies that are 

constructed on a lot line shall be constructed as required 

in Section R302.2 for townhouses.  
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6. Change Section R302.5.1 to read and delete Section 

R302.13 in its entirety:  

R302.5.1 Opening protection. Openings from a private 

garage directly into a room used for sleeping purposes 

shall not be permitted. Other openings between the 

garage and residence shall be equipped with solid wood 

doors not less than 1-3/8 inches (35 mm) thickness, solid 

or honeycomb-core steel doors not less than 1-3/8 inches 

(35 mm) thick, or 20-minute fire-rated doors.  

7. Delete Section R302.13 in its entirety. 

8. Change Section R303.4 to read: 

R303.4 Mechanical ventilation. Dwelling units shall be 

provided with mechanical ventilation in accordance with 

Section M1507 M1505. 

8. 9. Add an exception to Section R303.10 to read:  

Exception: Seasonal structures not used as a primary 

residence for more than 90 days per year, unless rented, 

leased or let on terms expressed or implied to furnish 

heat, shall not be required to comply with this section.  

9. 10. Add Section R303.10.1 to read:  

R303.10.1 Nonowner occupied required heating. Every 

dwelling unit or portion thereof which is to be rented, 

leased or let on terms either expressed or implied to 

furnish heat to the occupants thereof shall be provided 

with facilities in accordance with Section R303.9 

R303.10 during the period from October 15 to May 1.  

10. 11. Add Section R303.11 to read:  

R303.11 Insect screens. Every door, window and other 

outside opening required for ventilation purposes shall be 

supplied with approved tightly fitted screens of not less 

than 16 mesh per inch (16 mesh per 25 mm) and every 

screen door used for insect control shall have a self-

closing device.  

11. 12. Add Section R306.5 to read:  

R306.5 Water supply sources and sewage disposal 

systems. The water and drainage system of any building 

or premises where plumbing fixtures are installed shall 

be connected to a public or private water supply and a 

public or private sewer system. As provided for in 

Section 103.5 of Part I of the Virginia Uniform Statewide 

Building Code (13VAC5-63), for functional design, 

water supply sources and sewage disposal systems are 

regulated and approved by the Virginia Department of 

Health and the Virginia Department of Environmental 

Quality.  

Note: See also the Memorandums of Agreement in the 

"Related Laws Package," which is available from the 

Virginia Department of Housing and Community 

Development.  

12. 13. Change Section R308.4.5 to read:  

R308.4.5 Glazing and wet surfaces. Glazing in walls, 

enclosures, or fences containing or facing hot tubs, spas, 

whirlpools, saunas, steam rooms, bathtubs, showers, and 

indoor or outdoor swimming pools shall be considered a 

hazardous location if located less than 60 inches (1524 

mm) measured horizontally, in a straight line, from the 

water's edge and the bottom exposed edge of the glazing 

is less than 60 inches (1524 mm) measured vertically 

above any standing or walking surface. This shall apply 

to single glazing and each pane in multiple glazing.  

13. 14. Change Section R310.1 to read:  

R310.1 Emergency escape and rescue opening required. 

Basements, habitable attics, and every sleeping room 

designated on the construction documents shall have not 

less than one operable emergency escape and rescue 

opening. Where basements contain one or more sleeping 

rooms, an emergency egress and rescue opening shall be 

required in each sleeping room. Emergency escape and 

rescue openings shall open directly into a public way, or 

to a yard or court that opens to a public way.  

Exceptions:  

1. Dwelling units equipped throughout with an approved 

automatic sprinkler system installed in accordance with 

NFPA 13, 13R, or 13D or Section P2904.  

2. Storm shelters and basements used only to house 

mechanical equipment and not exceeding total floor area 

of 200 square feet (18.58 m2).  

14. 15. Change Section R310.2.1 to read: 

R310.2.1 Minimum opening area. Emergency and escape 

rescue openings shall have a net clear opening of not less 

than 5.7 square feet (0.530 m2). The net clear opening 

dimensions required by this section shall be obtained by 

the normal operation of the emergency escape and rescue 

opening from the inside, including the tilting or removal 

of the sash as the normal operation. The net clear height 

opening shall be not less than 24 inches (610 mm), and 

the net clear width shall be not less than 20 inches (508 

mm). 

Exception: Grade floor or below grade openings shall 

have a net clear opening of not less than 5 square feet 

(0.465 m2).  

15. 16. Change the exception in to Section R311.3.1 to 

read:  

Exception: The landing or floor on the exterior side shall 

not be more than 8-1/4 inches (210 mm) below the top of 

the threshold provided the door does not swing over the 

landing or floor.  
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16. 17. Change Section R311.3.2 to read: 

R311.3.2 Floor elevations for other exterior doors. Doors 

other than the required egress door shall be provided with 

landings or floors not more than 8-1/4 inches (210 mm) 

below the top of the threshold. 

Exception: A top landing is not required where a 

stairway of not more than two risers is located on the 

exterior side of the door, if that door does not swing over 

the stairway. 

18. Change Section R311.7.5.1 to read:  

R311.7.5.1 Risers. The riser height shall be not more 

than 8-1/4 inches (210 mm). The riser shall be measured 

vertically between the leading edges of the adjacent 

treads. The greatest riser height within any flight of stairs 

shall not exceed the smallest by more than 3/8 inch (9.5 

mm). Risers shall be vertical or sloped from the 

underside of the nosing of the tread above at an angle not 

more than 30 degrees (0.51 rad) from the vertical. Open 

risers are permitted provided that the openings located 

more than 30 inches (763 mm), as measured vertically, to 

the floor or grade below do not permit the passage of a 4-

inch-diameter (102 mm) sphere.  

Exceptions:  

1. The opening between adjacent treads is not limited on 

spiral stairways.  

2. The riser height of spiral stairways shall be in 

accordance with Section R311.7.10.1. 

17. 19. Change Section R311.7.5.2 to read:  

R311.7.5.2 Treads. The tread depth shall be not less than 

9 inches (229 mm). The tread depth shall be measured 

horizontally between the vertical planes of the foremost 

projection of adjacent treads and at a right angle to the 

tread's leading edge. The greatest tread depth within any 

flight of stairs shall not exceed the smallest by more than 

3/8 inch (9.5 mm).  

18. 20. Change Section R311.7.7 to read:  

R311.7.7 Stairway walking surface. The walking surface 

of treads and landings of stairways shall be level or 

sloped no steeper than one unit vertical in 48 units 

horizontal (2.0% slope).  

19. 21. Change Section R312.2.1 to read:  

R312.2.1 Window sills. In dwelling units, where the top 

of the sill of an operable window opening is located less 

than 18 inches (457 mm) above the finished floor and 

greater than 72 inches (1829 mm) above the finished 

grade or other surface below on the exterior of the 

building, the operable window shall comply with one of 

the following: 

1. Operable windows with openings that will not allow a 

4-inch-diameter (102 mm) sphere to pass through the 

opening where the opening is in its largest opened 

position.  

2. Operable windows that are provided with window fall 

prevention devices that comply with ASTM F 2090.  

3. Operable windows that are provided with window 

opening control devices that comply with Section 

R312.2.2.  

20. 22. Replace Section R313 with the following:  

Section R313.  

Automatic Fire Sprinkler Systems.  

R313.1 Townhouse automatic fire sprinkler systems. 

Notwithstanding the requirements of Section 103.3, 

where installed, an automatic residential fire sprinkler 

system for townhouses shall be designed and installed in 

accordance with NFPA 13D or Section P2904.  

Exception: An automatic residential fire sprinkler system 

shall not be required when additions or alterations are 

made to existing townhouses that do not have an 

automatic residential fire sprinkler system installed.  

R313.2 One-family and two-family dwellings automatic 

fire sprinkler systems. Notwithstanding the requirements 

of Section 103.3, where installed, an automatic 

residential fire sprinkler system shall be designed and 

installed in accordance with NFPA 13D or Section 

P2904.  

Exception: An automatic residential fire sprinkler system 

shall not be required for additions or alterations to 

existing buildings that are not already provided with an 

automatic residential fire sprinkler system.  

21. 23. Delete Section R314.2.2.  

22. 24. Change Section R314.7.3 to read:  

R314.7.3 Permanent fixture. Where a household fire 

alarm system is installed, it shall become a permanent 

fixture of the dwelling unit.  

23. 25. Change Section R315.1.1 to read:  

R315.1.1 Listings. Carbon monoxide alarms shall be hard 

wired, plug-in or battery type; listed as complying with 

UL 2034; and installed in accordance with this code and 

the manufacturer's installation instructions. Combination 

carbon monoxide and smoke alarms shall be listed in 

accordance with UL 2034 and UL 217. 

24. 26. Change Section R315.2 to read: 

R315.2 Where required. Carbon monoxide alarms shall 

be provided in accordance with this section. 

25. 27. Delete Section R315.2.2. 
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26. 28. Delete Section R315.5 R315.6. 

27. 29. Change Section R315.6.3 R315.7.3 to read: 

R315.6.3 R315.7.3 Permanent fixture. Where a 

household carbon monoxide detection system is installed, 

it shall become a permanent fixture of the occupancy. 

28. 30. Add Section R320.2 to read:  

R320.2 Universal design features for accessibility in 

dwellings. Dwellings constructed under the IRC not 

subject to Section R320.1 may comply with Section 

1109.16 of the USBC and be approved by the local 

building department as dwellings containing universal 

design features for accessibility.  

29. 31. Add Section R326.1.1 to read:  

R326.1.1 Changes to the ISPSC. The following change 

shall be made to the ISPSC:  

1. Change Section 305.2.9 to read:  

305.2.9 Equipment clear zone. Equipment, including 

pool equipment such as pumps, filters, and heaters shall 

not be installed within 36 inches (914 mm) of the exterior 

of the barrier when located on the same property.  

30. 32. Add Section R327 R328 Radon-Resistant 

Construction.  

31. 33. Add Section R327.1 R328.1 to read: 

R327.1 R328.1 Local enforcement of radon 

requirements. Following official action under Article 7 

(§ 15.2-2280 et seq.) of Chapter 22 of Title 15.2 of the 

Code of Virginia by a locality in areas of high radon 

potential, as indicated by Zone 1 on the U.S. EPA Map of 

Radon Zones (IRC Figure AF101), such locality shall 

enforce the provisions contained in Appendix F.  

Exception: Buildings or portions thereof with crawl 

space foundations which are ventilated to the exterior, 

shall not be required to provide radon-resistant 

construction.  

32. 34. Add Section R328 R329 Patio Covers.  

33. 35. Add Section R328.1 R329.1 to read:  

R328.1 R329.1 Use of Appendix H for patio covers. 

Patio covers shall comply with the provisions in 

Appendix H.  

34. 36. Add Section R329 R330 Sound Transmission.  

35. 37. Add Section R329.1 R330.1 to read:  

R329.1 R330.1 Sound transmission between dwelling 

units. Construction assemblies separating dwelling units 

shall provide airborne sound insulation as required in 

Appendix K.  

36. 38. Add Section R329.2 R330.2 to read:  

R329.2 R330.2 Airport noise attenuation. This section 

applies to the construction of the exterior envelope of 

detached one-family and two-family dwellings and 

multiple single-family dwellings (townhouses) not more 

than three stories high with separate means of egress 

within airport noise zones when enforced by a locality 

pursuant to § 15.2-2295 of the Code of Virginia. The 

exterior envelope of such structures shall comply with 

Section 1207.4 1206.4 of the state amendments to the 

IBC.  

37. 39. Add Section R330 R331 Fire Extinguishers.  

38. 40. Add Section R330.1 R331.1 to read:  

R330.1 R331.1 Kitchen areas. Other than where the 

dwelling is equipped with an approved sprinkler system 

in accordance with Section R313, a fire extinguisher 

having a rating of 2-A:10-B:C or an approved equivalent 

type of fire extinguisher shall be installed in the kitchen 

area.  

39. 41. Add Section R331 R332 Interior Passage. 

40. 42. Add Sections R331.1 R332.1 through R331.6 

R332.6 to read: 

R331.1 R332.1 General. This section applies to new 

dwelling units that have both a kitchen and a living area 

on the same floor level as the egress door required by 

Section R311.2. This section is not applicable to 

additions, reconstruction, alteration, or repair. 

R331.2 R332.2 Kitchen. One interior passage route from 

the egress door to the kitchen shall comply with R331.6 

R332.6. 

R331.3 R332.3 Living area. One interior passage route 

from the egress door to at least one living area shall 

comply with R331.6 R332.6. 

R331.4 R332.4 Bedroom. Where the dwelling unit has a 

bedroom on the same floor level as the egress door, one 

interior passage route from the egress door to at least one 

bedroom shall comply with R331.6 R332.6. 

R331.5 R332.5 Bathroom. Where a dwelling unit has a 

bathroom on the same floor level as the egress door, and 

the bathroom contains a water closet, lavatory, and 

bathtub or shower, one interior passage route from the 

egress door to at least one bathroom shall comply with 

R331.6 R332.6. Bathroom fixture clearances shall 

comply with R307 and access to fixtures is not required 

to comply with R331.6 R332.6. 

R331.6 R332.6 Opening widths. Opening widths along 

the interior passage route required by this section shall 

comply with the following: 

1. Cased openings shall provide a minimum 34 inch (864 

mm) clear width. 
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2. Doors shall be a nominal 34 inch (864 mm) minimum 

width. Double doors are permitted to be used to meet this 

requirement. 

43. Add Section R333 Tiny Houses. 

44. Add Section R333.1 to read: 

R333.1 General. Appendix Q may be used as an 

alternative to the requirements of this code where a 

dwelling is 400 square feet (37 m2) or less in floor area. 

41. 45. Change Section R401.3 to read:  

R401.3 Drainage. Surface drainage shall be diverted to a 

storm sewer conveyance or other approved point of 

collection that does not create a hazard to the dwelling 

unit. Lots shall be graded to drain surface water away 

from foundation walls. The grade shall fall a minimum of 

six inches (152 mm) within the first 10 feet (3048 mm).  

Exception: Where lot lines, walls, slopes or other 

physical barriers prohibit six inches (152 mm) of fall 

within 10 feet (3048 mm), drains or swales shall be 

constructed to ensure drainage away from the structure. 

Impervious surfaces within 10 feet (3048 mm) of the 

building foundation shall be sloped a minimum of 2.0% 

1.0% away from the building.  

42. 46. Add the following exceptions to Section R403.1 to 

read:  

Exceptions:  

1. One-story detached accessory structures used as tool 

and storage sheds, playhouses and similar uses, not 

exceeding 256 square feet (23.7824 m2) of building area, 

provided all of the following conditions are met:  

1.1. The building eave height is 10 feet or less.  

1.2. The maximum height from the finished floor level to 

grade does not exceed 18 inches.  

1.3. The supporting structural elements in direct contact 

with the ground shall be placed level on firm soil and 

when such elements are wood they shall be approved 

pressure preservative treated suitable for ground contact 

use.  

1.4. The structure is anchored to withstand wind loads as 

required by this code.  

1.5. The structure shall be of light-frame construction 

whose vertical and horizontal structural elements are 

primarily formed by a system of repetitive wood or light 

gauge steel framing members, with walls and roof of 

light weight material, not slate, tile, brick or masonry.  

2. Footings are not required for ramps serving dwelling 

units in Group Groups R-3 and R-5 occupancies where 

the height of the entrance is no more than 30 inches (762 

mm) above grade.  

47. Change Section R403.1.6 to read: 

R403.1.6 Foundation anchorage. Wood sill plates and 

wood walls supported directly on continuous foundations 

shall be anchored to the foundation in accordance with 

this section.  

Cold-formed steel framing shall be anchored directly to 

the foundation or fastened to wood sill plates in 

accordance with Section R505.3.1 or R603.3.1, as 

applicable. Wood sill plates supporting cold-formed steel 

framing shall be anchored to the foundation in 

accordance with this section.  

Wood foundation plates or sills shall be bolted or 

anchored to the foundation with not less than 1/2-inch-

diameter (12.7 mm) steel bolts or approved anchors 

spaced to provide equivalent anchorage as the steel bolts. 

Bolts shall be embedded not less than 7 inches (178 mm) 

into concrete or grouted cells of concrete masonry units. 

The bolts shall be located in the middle third of the width 

of the plate. Bolts shall be spaced not more than 6 feet 

(1829 mm) on center and there shall be not less than two 

bolts or anchor straps per piece with one bolt or anchor 

strap located not more than 12 inches (305 mm) or less 

than 4 inches (102 mm) from each end of each piece. A 

properly sized nut and washer shall be tightened on each 

bolt to the plate. Interior bearing wall sole plates on 

monolithic slab foundation that are not part of a braced 

wall panel shall be positively anchored with approved 

fasteners. Sill plates and sole plates shall be protected 

against decay and termites where required by Sections 

R317 and R318.  

Exceptions:  

1. Walls 24 inches (610 mm) total length or shorter 

connecting offset braced wall panels shall be anchored to 

the foundation with not fewer than one anchor bolt 

located in the center third of the plate section and shall be 

attached to adjacent braced wall panels at corners as 

shown in Item 9 of Table R602.3(1). 

2. Connection of walls 12 inches (305 mm) total length 

or shorter connecting offset braced wall panels to the 

foundation without anchor bolts shall be permitted. The 

wall shall be attached to adjacent braced wall panels at 

corners as shown in Item 9 of Table R602.3(1). 

43. 48. Delete Section R404.1.9.2.  

49. Change Sections R408.1, R408.2, and R408.3 to read: 

R408.1 Moisture control. The under-floor space between 

the bottom of the floor joists and the earth under any 

building (except space occupied by a basement) shall 

comply with Section R408.2 or R408.3. 

R408.2 Openings for under-floor ventilation. Ventilation 

openings through foundation or exterior walls 
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surrounding the under-floor space shall be provided in 

accordance with this section. The minimum net area of 

ventilation openings shall be not less than 1 square foot 

(0.0929 m2) for each 150 square feet (14 m2) of under-

floor area. One ventilation opening shall be within 3 feet 

(915 mm) of each external corner of the under-floor 

space. Ventilation openings shall be covered for their 

height and width with any of the following materials 

provided that the least dimension of the covering shall 

not exceed 1/4 inch (6.4 mm), and operational louvers 

are permitted: 

1. Perforated sheet metal plates not less than 0.070 inch 

(1.8 mm) thick. 

2. Expanded sheet metal plates not less than 0.047 inch 

(1.2 mm) thick.  

3. Cast-iron grill or grating.  

4. Extruded load-bearing brick vents. 

5. Hardware cloth of 0.035 inch (0.89 mm) wire or 

heavier. 

6. Corrosion-resistant wire mesh, with the least 

dimension being 1/8 inch (3.2 mm) thick. 

Exceptions: 

1. The total area of ventilation openings shall be 

permitted to be reduced to 1/1,500 of the under-floor area 

where the ground surface is covered with an approved 

Class I vapor retarder material. 

2. Where the ground surface is covered with an approved 

Class I vapor retarder material, ventilation openings are 

not required to be within 3 feet (915 mm) of each 

external corner of the under-floor space provided the 

openings are placed to provide cross ventilation of the 

space. 

R408.3 Unvented crawl space. For unvented under-floor 

spaces the following items shall be provided: 

1. Exposed earth shall be covered with a continuous 

Class I vapor retarder. Joints of the vapor retarder shall 

overlap by 6 inches (152 mm) and shall be sealed or 

taped. The edges of the vapor retarder shall extend not 

less than 6 inches (152 mm) up the stem wall and shall be 

attached and sealed to the stem wall or insulation.  

2. One of the following shall be provided for the under-

floor space: 

2.1. Continuously operated mechanical exhaust 

ventilation at a rate equal to 1 cubic foot per minute (0.47 

L/s) for each 50 square feet (4.7 m2) of crawl space floor 

area, including an air pathway to the common area (such 

as a duct or transfer grille), and perimeter walls insulated 

in accordance with Section N1102.2.11 of this code. 

2.2. Conditioned air supply sized to deliver at a rate equal 

to 1 cubic foot per minute (0.47 L/s) for each 50 square 

feet (4.7 m2) of under-floor area, including a return air 

pathway to the common area (such as a duct or transfer 

grille), and perimeter walls insulated in accordance with 

Section N1102.2.11 of this code. 

2.3. Plenum in existing structures complying with 

Section M1601.5, if under-floor space is used as a 

plenum.  

2.4. Dehumidification sized to provide 70 pints (33 liters) 

of moisture removal per day for every 1,000 square feet 

(93 m2) of crawl space floor area. 

44. 50. Change the exception to Section R408.2 to read: 

Exception: The total area of ventilation openings shall be 

permitted to be reduced to 1/1,500 of the under-floor area 

where the ground surface is covered with an approved 

Class I vapor retarder material and the required openings 

are placed to provide cross ventilation of the space. The 

installation of operable louvers shall not be prohibited 

nor shall the required openings need to be within three 

feet (915 mm) of each corner provided there is cross 

ventilation of the space. 

45. 51. Add Section R408.3.1 to read:  

R408.3.1 Termite inspection. Where an unvented crawl 

space is installed and meets the criteria in Section R408, 

the vertical face of the sill plate shall be clear and 

unobstructed and an inspection gap shall be provided 

below the sill plate along the top of any interior 

foundation wall covering. The gap shall be a minimum of 

one inch (25.4 mm) and a maximum of two inches (50.8 

mm) in width and shall extend throughout all parts of any 

foundation that is enclosed. Joints between the sill plate 

and the top of any interior wall covering may be sealed.  

Exceptions:  

1. In areas not subject to damage by termites as indicated 

by Table R301.2(1).  

2. Where other approved means are provided to inspect 

for potential damage.  

Where pier and curtain foundations are installed as 

depicted in Figure R404.1.5(1), the inside face of the rim 

joist and sill plate shall be clear and unobstructed except 

for construction joints which may be sealed.  

Exception: Fiberglass or similar insulation may be 

installed if easily removable.  

46. 52. Change Section R506.2.1 to read:  

R506.2.1 Fill. Fill material shall be free of vegetation and 

foreign material and shall be natural nonorganic material 

that is not susceptible to swelling when exposed to 

moisture. The fill shall be compacted to assure uniform 
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support of the slab, and except where approved, the fill 

depth shall not exceed 24 inches (610 mm) for clean sand 

or gravel and 8 inches (203 mm) for earth.  

Exception: Material other than natural material may be 

used as fill material when accompanied by a certification 

from an RDP and approved by the building official.  

47. 53. Change Section R506.2.2 to read:  

R506.2.2 Base. A 4-inch-thick (102 mm) base course 

consisting of clean graded sand, gravel or crushed stone 

passing a 2-inch (51 mm) sieve shall be placed on the 

prepared subgrade when the slab is below grade.  

Exception: A base course is not required when the 

concrete slab is installed on well drained or sand-gravel 

mixture soils classified as Group I according to the 

United Soil Classification System in accordance with 

Table R405.1. Material other than natural material may 

be used as base course material when accompanied by a 

certification from an RDP and approved by the building 

official.   

48. Change Item 4 in Table R602.3(1) to read: 

4 

Ceiling joist attached 

to parallel rafter (heel 

joint) (see Sections 

R802.3.1 and 

R802.3.2 and Table 

R802.5.1(9)) 

Table 

R802.5.2 

Face 

nail  

49. Change Table R602.7(1) to read: 

EDITOR'S NOTE: Table R602.7(1), Girder Spansa and 

Header Spansa for Exterior Bearing Walls, is deleted in its 

entirety; therefore, the text of Table R602.7(1) is not set 

out.  

50. Change Table R602.7(2) to read: 

EDITOR'S NOTE: Table R602.7(2), Girder Spansa and 

Header Spansa for Interior Bearing Walls, is deleted in its 

entirety; therefore, the text of Table R602.7(2) is not set 

out. 

51. 54. Change Section R602.10 to read:  

R602.10 Wall bracing. Buildings shall be braced in 

accordance with this section or Section R602.12. Where 

a building, or portion thereof, does not comply with one 

or more of the bracing requirements in this section, those 

portions shall be designed and constructed in accordance 

with Section R301.1.  

The building official shall be permitted to require the 

permit applicant to identify braced wall lines and braced 

wall panels on the construction documents as described 

in this section and provide associated analysis. The 

building official shall be permitted to waive the analysis 

of the upper floors where the cumulative length of wall 

openings of each upper floor wall is less than or equal to 

the length of the openings of the wall directly below.  

52. 55. Change Section R602.10.9 to read:  

R602.10.9 Braced wall panel support. Braced wall panel 

support shall be provided as follows: 

1. Cantilevered floor joists complying with Section 

R502.3.3 shall be permitted to support braced wall 

panels. 

2. Raised floor system post or pier foundations 

supporting braced wall panels shall be designed in 

accordance with accepted engineering practice. 

3. Masonry stem walls with a length of 48 inches (1219 

mm) or less supporting braced wall panels shall be 

reinforced in accordance with Figure R602.10.9. 

Masonry stem walls with a length greater than 48 inches 

(1219 mm) supporting braced wall panels shall be 

constructed in accordance with Section R403.1 Methods 

ABW and PFH shall not be permitted to attach to 

masonry stem walls. 

4. Concrete stem walls with a length of 48 inches (1219 

mm) or less, greater than 12 inches (305 mm) tall and 

less than 6 inches (152 mm) thick shall have 

reinforcement sized and located in accordance with 

Figure R602.10.9. 

Exception: For masonry stem walls, an approved post-

installed adhesive anchoring system shall be permitted as 

an alternative to the Optional Stem Wall Reinforcement 

detail in Figure R602.10.9. A minimum of two anchors 

shall be installed as indicated in Figure R602.10.9. 

Anchors shall be located not more than 4 inches (102 

mm) from each end of the stem wall. Anchors shall be 

installed into the concrete footing as follows: 

1. Five-eighth inch (16 mm) treaded rod using a 3/4 inch 

(19 mm) diameter drilled hole with a minimum 

embedment of 6 inches (152 mm). 

2. Number 4 size reinforcing bar using a 5/8-inch (16 

mm) diameter drilled hole with a minimum embedment 

of 4-1/2 inches (114 mm). 

A minimum footing thickness of 8 inches (203 mm) is 

required and the minimum distance from each anchor to 

the edge of the footing shall be 3-3/4 inches (95 mm). 

The anchoring adhesive and anchors shall be installed in 

accordance with the manufacturer's instructions and have 

a minimum tensile capacity of 5,000 lbs. (22 kN). The 

bond beam reinforcement and attachment of braced wall 

panels to the stem wall shall be as shown in Figure 

R602.10.9.  

53. 56. Replace Section R602.12, including all subsections, 

with the following:  
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R602.12 Practical wall bracing. All buildings in Seismic 

Design Categories A and B and detached buildings in 

Seismic Design Category C shall be permitted to be 

braced in accordance with this section as an alternative to 

the requirements of Section R602.10. Where a building, 

or portion thereof, does not comply with one or more of 

the bracing requirements in this section, those portions 

shall be designed and constructed in accordance with 

Section R301.1. The use of other bracing provisions of 

Section R602.10, except as specified herein, shall not be 

permitted.  

The building official shall be permitted to require the 

permit applicant to identify bracing on the construction 

documents and provide associated analysis. The building 

official shall be permitted to waive the analysis of the 

upper floors where the cumulative length of wall 

openings of each upper floor wall is less than or equal to 

the length of the openings of the wall directly below.  

R602.12.1 Sheathing materials. The following materials 

shall be permitted for use as sheathing for wall bracing. 

Exterior walls shall be sheathed on all sheathable 

surfaces, including infill areas between bracing locations, 

above and below wall openings, and on gable end walls.  

1. Wood structural panels with a minimum thickness of 

7/16 inch (9.5 mm) fastened in accordance with Table 

R602.3(3).  

2. Structural fiberboard sheathing with a minimum 

thickness of 1/2 inch (12.7 mm) fastened in accordance 

with Table R602.3(1).  

3. Gypsum board with a minimum thickness of 1/2 inch 

(12.7 mm) fastened in accordance with Table R702.3.5 

on interior walls only.  

R602.12.2 Braced wall panels. Braced wall panels shall 

be full-height wall sections sheathed with the materials 

listed in Section R602.12.1 and complying with the 

following:  

1. Exterior braced wall panels shall have a minimum 

length based on the height of the adjacent opening as 

specified in Table R602.12.2. Panels with openings on 

both sides of differing heights shall be governed by the 

taller opening when determining panel length.  

2. Interior braced wall panels shall have a minimum 

length of 48 inches (1220 mm) when sheathing material 

is applied to one side. Doubled-sided applications shall 

be permitted to be considered two braced wall panels.  

3. Braced wall panels shall be permitted to be constructed 

of Methods ABW, PFH, PFG, and CS-PF in accordance 

with Section R602.10.4.  

4. Exterior braced wall panels, other than the methods 

listed in Item 3 above shall have a finish material 

installed on the interior. The finish material shall consist 

of 1/2 inch (12.7 mm) gypsum board or equivalent and 

shall be permitted to be omitted where the required 

length of bracing, as determined in Section R602.12.4, is 

multiplied by 1.40, unless otherwise required by Section 

R302.6.  

5. Vertical sheathing joints shall occur over and be 

fastened to common studs.  

6. Horizontal sheathing joints shall be edge nailed to 

1-1/2 inch (38 mm) minimum thick common blocking.  

Table R602.12.2 

Braced Wall Panel Lengths  

Location  
Wall Height (feet) 

8 9 10 11 12 

Minimum Panel Length (inches)  

Adjacent 

garage door 

of one-story 

garagea 

24 27 30 33 36 

Adjacent all 

other 

openingsb 

          

Clear 

opening 

height 

(inches) 

≤ 64 

24 27 30 33 36 

Clear 

opening 

height 

(inches) 

≤ 72 

27 27 30 33 36 

Clear 

opening 

height 

(inches) 

≤ 80 

30 30 30 33 36 

Clear 

opening 

height 

(inches) 

> 80 

36 36 36 40 40  

For SI: 1 inch = 25.4 mm, 1 foot = 304.8 mm. 

a. Braced wall panels supporting a gable end wall or roof 

load only. 

b. Interpolation shall be permitted. 
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R602.12.3 Circumscribed rectangle. Required length of 

bracing shall be determined by circumscribing one or 

more rectangles around the entire building or portions 

thereof as shown in Figure R602.12.3. Rectangles shall 

surround all enclosed offsets and projections such as 

sunrooms and attached garages. Chimneys, partial height 

projections, and open structures, such as carports and 

decks, shall be excluded from the rectangle. Each 

rectangle shall have no side greater than 80 feet (24 384 

(24,384 mm) with a maximum 3:1 ratio between the long 

and short side. Rectangles shall be permitted to be 

skewed to accommodate angled projections as shown in 

Figure R602.12.4.3.  

 

 

R602.12.4 Required length of bracing. The required length of bracing for each side of a circumscribed rectangle shall be 

determined using Table R602.12.4. Where multiple rectangles share a common side or sides, the required length of bracing 

shall equal the sum of the required lengths from all shared rectangle sides.  

Table R602.12.4 

Required Length of Bracing Along Each Side of a Circumscribed Rectanglea,b,c  

Wind 

Speed 

Eave-

to-

Ridge 

Height 

(feet) 

Number 

of Floor 

Levels 

Abovee,f 

Required Length of Bracing on Front/Rear 

Side (feet) 

Required Length of Bracing on Left/Right 

Side (feet) 

Length of Left/Right Side (feet) Length of Front/Rear Side (feet) 

10 20 30 40 50 60 70 80 10 20 30 40 50 60 70 80 

115 

10 

0 2.0 3.5 5.0 6.0 7.5 9.0 10.5 12.0 2.0 3.5 5.0 6.0 7.5 9.0 10.5 12.0 

1d 3.5 6.5 9.0 12.0 14.5 17.0 19.8 22.6 3.5 6.5 9.0 12.0 14.5 17.0 19.8 22.6 

2d 5.0 9.5 13.5 17.5 21.5 25.0 29.2 33.4 5.0 9.5 13.5 17.5 21.5 25.0 29.2 33.4 

15 

0 2.6 4.6 6.5 7.8 9.8 11.7 13.7 15.7 2.6 4.6 6.5 7.8 9.8 11.7 13.7 15.7 

1d 4.0 7.5 10.4 13.8 16.7 19.6 22.9 26.2 4.0 7.5 10.4 13.8 16.7 19.6 22.9 26.2 

2d 5.5 10.5 14.9 19.3 23.7 27.5 32.1 36.7 5.5 10.5 14.9 19.3 23.7 27.5 32.1 36.7 

20 

0 2.9 5.2 7.3 8.8 11.1 13.2 15.4 17.6 2.9 5.2 7.3 8.8 11.1 13.2 15.4 17.6 

1d 4.5 8.5 11.8 15.6 18.9 22.1 25.8 29.5 4.5 8.5 11.8 15.6 18.9 22.1 25.8 29.5 

2d 6.2 11.9 16.8 21.8 27.3 31.1 36.3 41.5 6.2 11.9 16.8 21.8 27.3 31.1 36.3 41.5 

130 

10 

0 2.5 4.0 6.0 7.5 9.5 11.0 12.8 14.6 2.5 4.0 6.0 7.5 9.5 11.0 12.8 14.6 

1d 4.5 8.0 11.0 14.5 18.0 21.0 24.5 28.0 4.5 8.0 11.0 14.5 18.0 21.0 24.5 28.0 

2d 6.0 11.5 16.5 21.5 26.5 31.0 36.2 41.4 6.0 11.5 16.5 21.5 26.5 31.0 36.2 41.4 

15 

0 3.4 5.2 7.8 9.8 12.4 14.3 16.7 19.1 3.4 5.2 7.8 9.8 12.4 14.3 16.7 19.1 

1d 5.2 9.2 12.7 16.7 20.7 24.2 28.2 32.2 5.2 9.2 12.7 16.7 20.7 24.2 28.2 32.2 

2d 6.6 12.7 18.2 23.7 29.2 34.1 39.8 45.5 6.6 12.7 18.2 23.7 29.2 34.1 39.8 45.5 

20 0 3.8 5.9 8.8 11.1 14.0 16.2 18.9 21.6 3.8 5.9 8.8 11.1 14.0 16.2 18.9 21.6 
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1d 5.9 10.4 14.4 18.9 23.4 27.3 31.8 36.3 5.9 10.4 14.4 18.9 23.4 27.3 31.8 36.3 

2d 7.5 14.4 20.6 26.8 33.0 38.5 44.9 51.3 7.5 14.4 20.6 26.8 33.0 38.5 44.9 51.3 

For SI: 1 ft = 304.8 mm. 

a. Interpolation shall be permitted; extrapolation shall be prohibited. 

b. For Exposure Category C, multiply the required length of bracing by a factor of 1.20 for a one-story building, 1.30 for a two-story 

building, and 1.40 for a three-story building. 

c. For wall height adjustments multiply the required length of bracing by the following factors: 0.90 for 8 feet (2438 mm), 0.95 for 9 feet 

(2743 mm), 1.0 for 10 feet (3048 mm), 1.05 for 11 feet (3353 mm), and 1.10 for 12 feet (3658 mm). 

d. Where braced wall panels supporting stories above have been sheathed in wood structural panels with edge fasteners spaced at 4 inches 

(102 mm) on center, multiply the required length of bracing by 0.83. 

e. A floor level, habitable or otherwise, contained wholly within the roof rafters or trusses shall not be considered a floor level for purposes 

of determining the required length of bracing. 

f. A rectangle side with differing number of floor levels above shall use the greatest number when determining the required length of 

bracing. 

R602.12.4.1 Braced wall panel assignment to rectangle sides. Braced wall panels shall be assigned to the applicable 

rectangle side and contribute to its required length of bracing. Panels shall be assigned as specified below and as shown in 

Figure R602.12.4.1.  

1. Exterior braced wall panels shall be assigned to the parallel rectangle side on which they are located or in which they 

face.  

2. Interior braced wall panels shall be assigned to the parallel rectangle side on which they are located or in which they face 

up to 4 feet (1220 mm) away. Interior braced wall panels more than 4 feet (1220 mm) away from a parallel rectangle side 

shall not contribute.  

3. The projections of angled braced wall panels shall be assigned to the adjacent rectangle sides.  

 

R602.12.4.2 Contributing length. The cumulative contributing length of braced wall panels assigned to a rectangle side 

shall be greater than or equal to the required length of bracing as determined in Section R602.12.4. The contributing length 

of a braced wall panel shall be as specified below. When applying contributing length to angled braced wall panels, apply 

the requirements below to each projection:  

1. Exterior braced wall panels shall contribute their actual length.  

2. Interior braced wall panels shall contribute one-half of their actual length.  

3. The contributing length of Methods ABW, PFH, PFG, and CS-PF shall be in accordance with Table R602.10.5.  
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R602.12.4.3 Common sides with skewed rectangles. Braced wall panels located on a common wall where skewed 

rectangles intersect, as shown in Figure R602.12.4.3, shall be permitted to be assigned to the parallel rectangle side, and 

their projections shall be permitted to be assigned to the adjacent skewed rectangle sides.  

 

R602.12.5 Cripple walls and framed walls of walk-out basements. For rectangle sides with cripple walls having a 

maximum height of 48 inches (1220 mm), the required length of bracing shall be as determined in Section R602.12.4. For 

rectangle sides with cripple walls having a height greater than 48 inches (1220 mm) at any location or framed walls of a 

walk-out basement, the required length of bracing shall be determined using Table R602.12.4. Braced wall panels within 

cripple walls and walls of walk-out basements shall comply with Item 4 of Section R602.12.2.  

R602.12.6 Distribution of braced wall panels. Braced wall panels shall be distributed in accordance with the following 

requirements as shown in Figure R602.12.6.  

1. The edge of a braced wall panel shall be no more than 12 feet (3658 mm) from any building corner or rectangle corner.  

2. The distance between adjacent edges of braced wall panels shall be no more than 20 feet (6096 mm).  

3. Segments of exterior walls greater than 8 feet (2438 mm) in length shall have a minimum of one braced wall panel.  

4. Segments of exterior wall 8 feet (2438 mm) or less in length shall be permitted to have no braced wall panels.  
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R602.12.4 Required length of bracing. The required length of bracing for each side of a circumscribed rectangle shall be 

determined using Table R602.12.4. Where multiple rectangles share a common side or sides, the required length of bracing 

shall equal the sum of the required lengths from all shared rectangle sides.  

Table R602.12.4 

Required Length of Bracing Along Each Side of a Circumscribed Rectanglea,b,c  

Wind 

Speed 

Eave-

to-

Ridge 

Height 

(feet) 

Number 

of Floor 

Levels 

Abovee,f 

Required Length of Bracing on Front/Rear Side 

(feet) 

Required Length of Bracing on Left/Right Side 

(feet) 

Length of Left/Right Side (feet) Length of Front/Rear Side (feet) 

10 20 30 40 50 60 70 80 10 20 30 40 50 60 70 80 

115 

10 

0 2.0 3.5 5.0 6.0 7.5 9.0 10.5 12.0 2.0 3.5 5.0 6.0 7.5 9.0 10.5 12.0 

1d 3.5 6.5 9.0 12.0 14.5 17.0 19.8 22.6 3.5 6.5 9.0 12.0 14.5 17.0 19.8 22.6 

2d 5.0 9.5 13.5 17.5 21.5 25.0 29.2 33.4 5.0 9.5 13.5 17.5 21.5 25.0 29.2 33.4 

15 

0 2.6 4.6 6.5 7.8 9.8 11.7 13.7 15.7 2.6 4.6 6.5 7.8 9.8 11.7 13.7 15.7 

1d 4.0 7.5 10.4 13.8 16.7 19.6 22.9 26.2 4.0 7.5 10.4 13.8 16.7 19.6 22.9 26.2 

2d 5.5 10.5 14.9 19.3 23.7 27.5 32.1 36.7 5.5 10.5 14.9 19.3 23.7 27.5 32.1 36.7 

20 

0 2.9 5.2 7.3 8.8 11.1 13.2 15.4 17.6 2.9 5.2 7.3 8.8 11.1 13.2 15.4 17.6 

1d 4.5 8.5 11.8 15.6 18.9 22.1 25.8 29.5 4.5 8.5 11.8 15.6 18.9 22.1 25.8 29.5 

2d 6.2 11.9 16.8 21.8 27.3 31.1 36.3 41.5 6.2 11.9 16.8 21.8 27.3 31.1 36.3 41.5 

130 

10 

0 2.5 4.0 6.0 7.5 9.5 11.0 12.8 14.6 2.5 4.0 6.0 7.5 9.5 11.0 12.8 14.6 

1d 4.5 8.0 11.0 14.5 18.0 21.0 24.5 28.0 4.5 8.0 11.0 14.5 18.0 21.0 24.5 28.0 

2d 6.0 11.5 16.5 21.5 26.5 31.0 36.2 41.4 6.0 11.5 16.5 21.5 26.5 31.0 36.2 41.4 

15 

0 3.4 5.2 7.8 9.8 12.4 14.3 16.7 19.1 3.4 5.2 7.8 9.8 12.4 14.3 16.7 19.1 

1d 5.2 9.2 12.7 16.7 20.7 24.2 28.2 32.2 5.2 9.2 12.7 16.7 20.7 24.2 28.2 32.2 

2d 6.6 12.7 18.2 23.7 29.2 34.1 39.8 45.5 6.6 12.7 18.2 23.7 29.2 34.1 39.8 45.5 

20 

0 3.8 5.9 8.8 11.1 14.0 16.2 18.9 21.6 3.8 5.9 8.8 11.1 14.0 16.2 18.9 21.6 

1d 5.9 10.4 14.4 18.9 23.4 27.3 31.8 36.3 5.9 10.4 14.4 18.9 23.4 27.3 31.8 36.3 

2d 7.5 14.4 20.6 26.8 33.0 38.5 44.9 51.3 7.5 14.4 20.6 26.8 33.0 38.5 44.9 51.3 
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For SI: 1 ft = 304.8 mm. 

a. Interpolation shall be permitted; extrapolation shall be prohibited. 

b. For Exposure Category C, multiply the required length of bracing by a factor of 1.20 for a one-story building, 1.30 for a 

two-story building, and 1.40 for a three-story building. 

c. For wall height adjustments multiply the required length of bracing by the following factors: 0.90 for 8 feet (2438 mm), 

0.95 for 9 feet (2743 mm), 1.0 for 10 feet (3048 mm), 1.05 for 11 feet (3353 mm), and 1.10 for 12 feet (3658 mm). 

d. Where braced wall panels supporting stories above have been sheathed in wood structural panels with edge fasteners 

spaced at 4 inches (102 mm) on center, multiply the required length of bracing by 0.83. 

e. A floor level, habitable or otherwise, contained wholly within the roof rafters or trusses shall not be considered a floor level 

for purposes of determining the required length of bracing. 

f. A rectangle side with differing number of floor levels above shall use the greatest number when determining the required 

length of bracing. 

R602.12.4.1 Braced wall panel assignment to rectangle sides. Braced wall panels shall be assigned to the applicable 

rectangle side and contribute to its required length of bracing. Panels shall be assigned as specified below and as shown in 

Figure R602.12.4.1.  

1. Exterior braced wall panels shall be assigned to the parallel rectangle side on which they are located or in which they 

face.  

2. Interior braced wall panels shall be assigned to the parallel rectangle side on which they are located or in which they face 

up to 4 feet (1220 mm) away. Interior braced wall panels more than 4 feet (1220 mm) away from a parallel rectangle side 

shall not contribute.  

3. The projections of angled braced wall panels shall be assigned to the adjacent rectangle sides.  

 

R602.12.4.2 Contributing length. The cumulative contributing length of braced wall panels assigned to a rectangle side 

shall be greater than or equal to the required length of bracing as determined in Section R602.12.4. The contributing length 

of a braced wall panel shall be as specified below. When applying contributing length to angled braced wall panels, apply 

the requirements below to each projection:  

1. Exterior braced wall panels shall contribute their actual length.  

2. Interior braced wall panels shall contribute one-half of their actual length.  

3. The contributing length of Methods ABW, PFH, PFG, and CS-PF shall be in accordance with Table R602.10.5.  

R602.12.4.3 Common sides with skewed rectangles. Braced wall panels located on a common wall where skewed 

rectangles intersect, as shown in Figure R602.12.4.3, shall be permitted to be assigned to the parallel rectangle side, and 

their projections shall be permitted to be assigned to the adjacent skewed rectangle sides.  
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R602.12.5 Cripple walls and framed walls of walk-out basements. For rectangle sides with cripple walls having a 

maximum height of 48 inches (1220 mm), the required length of bracing shall be as determined in Section R602.12.4. For 

rectangle sides with cripple walls having a height greater than 48 inches (1220 mm) at any location or framed walls of a 

walk-out basement, the required length of bracing shall be determined using Table R602.12.4. Braced wall panels within 

cripple walls and walls of walk-out basements shall comply with Item 4 of Section R602.12.2.  

R602.12.6 Distribution of braced wall panels. Braced wall panels shall be distributed in accordance with the following 

requirements as shown in Figure R602.12.6.  

1. The edge of a braced wall panel shall be no more than 12 feet (3658 mm) from any building corner or rectangle corner.  

2. The distance between adjacent edges of braced wall panels shall be no more than 20 feet (6096 mm).  

3. Segments of exterior walls greater than 8 feet (2438 mm) in length shall have a minimum of one braced wall panel.  

4. Segments of exterior wall 8 feet (2438 mm) or less in length shall be permitted to have no braced wall panels.  

 

R602.12.6.1 Panels adjacent to balloon framed walls. 

Braced wall panels shall be placed on each side of each 

story adjacent to balloon framed walls designed in 

accordance with Section R602.3 with a maximum height 

of two stories.  

R602.12.7 Braced wall panel connection. Braced wall 

panels shall be connected to other structural elements in 

accordance with Section R602.10.8.  



Regulations 

Volume 37, Issue 2 Virginia Register of Regulations September 14, 2020 

350 

R602.12.8 Braced wall panel support. Braced wall panels 

shall be supported in accordance with Section R602.10.9.  

54. Change Sections R802.2 and R802.3 to read:  

R802.2 Design and construction. The roof and ceiling 

assembly shall provide continuous ties across the 

structure to prevent roof thrust from being applied to the 

supporting walls. The assembly shall be designed and 

constructed in accordance with the provisions of this 

chapter and Figures R606.11(1), R606.11(2) and 

R606.11(3) or in accordance with AWC NDS. 

R802.3 Ridge. A ridge board used to connect opposing 

rafters shall be not less than 1 inch (25 mm) nominal 

thickness and not less in depth than the cut end of the 

rafter. Where ceiling joist or rafter ties do not provide a 

continuous ties across the structure, a ridge beam shall be 

provided and supported on each end by a wall or girder.  

55. Delete Sections R802.3.1, R802.3.2 and R802.3.3.  

56. Change Section R802.4 and add Section R802.4.1 to 

read:  

R802.4 Rafters. Rafters shall be in accordance with this 

section.  

R802.4.1 Rafter size. Rafters shall be sized based on the 

rafter spans in Tables R802.4.1(1) through R802.4.1(8). 

Rafter spans shall be measured along the horizontal 

projection of the rafter. For other grades and species and 

for other loading conditions, refer to the AWC STJR.  

57. Change the titles of Tables R802.4(1) and R802.4(2) to 

Tables R802.5.1(1) and R802.5.1(2), respectively, and 

change the titles of Tables R802.5.1(1) through 

R802.5.1(8) to Tables R802.4.1(1) through R802.4.1(8), 

respectively.  

58. Add Sections R802.4.2 through R802.4.5 to read:  

R802.4.2 Framing details. Rafters shall be framed not 

more than 1-1/2 inches (38 mm) offset from each other to 

a ridge board or directly opposite from each other with a 

collar tie, gusset plate or ridge strap in accordance with 

Table R602.3(1). Rafters shall be nailed to the top wall 

plates in accordance with Table R602.3(1) unless the 

roof assembly is required to comply with the uplift 

requirements of Section R802.11.  

R802.4.3 Hips and valleys. Hip and valley rafters shall be 

not less than 2 inches (51 mm) nominal in thickness and 

not less in depth than the cut end of the rafter. Hip and 

valley rafters shall be supported at the ridge by a brace to 

a bearing partition or be designed to carry and distribute 

the specific load at that point.  

R802.4.4 Rafter supports. Where the roof pitch is less 

than 3:12 (25% slope), structural members that support 

rafters, such as ridges, hips and valleys, shall be designed 

as beams, and bearing shall be provided for rafters in 

accordance with Section R802.6.  

R802.4.5 Purlins. Installation of purlins to reduce the 

span of rafters is permitted as shown in Figure R802.4.5. 

Purlins shall be sized not less than the required size of 

the rafters that they support. Purlins shall be continuous 

and shall be supported by 2-inch by 4-inch (51 mm by 

102 mm) braces installed to bearing walls at a slope not 

less than 45 degrees (0.79 rad) from the horizontal. The 

braces shall be spaced not more than 4 feet (1219 mm) 

on center and the unbraced length of braces shall not 

exceed 8 feet (2438 mm).  

59. Add Figure R802.4.5 to read: 

EDITOR'S NOTE: Figure R802.4.5, Brace Rafter 

Construction, is deleted; therefore the figure is not set out. 

60. Add Section R802.4.6 to read: 

R802.4.6 Collar ties. Where collar ties are used to 

connect opposing rafters, they shall be located in the 

upper third of the attic space and fastened in accordance 

with Table R602.3(1). Collar ties shall be not less than 1 

inch by 4 inches (25 mm by 102 mm) nominal, spaced 

not more than 4 feet (1219 mm) on center. Ridge straps 

in accordance with Table R602.3(1) shall be permitted to 

replace collar ties.  

61. Change Sections R802.5 and R802.5.1 to read:  

R802.5 Ceiling joists. Ceiling joists shall be continuous 

across the structure or securely joined where they meet 

over interior partitions in accordance with Table 

R802.5.2.  

R802.5.1 Ceiling joist size. Ceiling joists shall be sized 

based on the joist spans in Tables R802.4(1) and 

R802.4(2). For other grades and species and for other 

loading conditions, refer to the AWC STJR.  

62. Delete Figure R802.5.1 and change the title of Table 

R802.5.1(9) to Table R802.5.2.  

63. Add Section R802.5.2 to read:  

R802.5.2 Ceiling joist and rafter connections. Where 

ceiling joists run parallel to rafters, they shall be 

connected to rafters at the top wall plate in accordance 

with Table R802.5.2. Where ceiling joists are not 

connected to the rafters at the top wall plate, they shall be 

installed in the bottom third of the rafter height in 

accordance with Figure R802.4.5 and Table R802.5.2. 

Where the ceiling joists are installed above the bottom 

third of the rafter height, the ridge shall be designed as a 

beam. Where ceiling joists do not run parallel to rafters, 

the ceiling joists shall be connected to top plates in 

accordance with Table R602.3(1). Each rafter shall be 

tied across the structure with a rafter tie or a 2-inch by 4-

inch (51 mm x 102 mm) kicker connected to the ceiling 



Regulations 

Volume 37, Issue 2 Virginia Register of Regulations September 14, 2020 

351 

diaphragm with nails equivalent in capacity to Table 

R802.5.2.  

64. Add Sections R802.5.2.1 through R802.5.2.3 to read:  

R802.5.2.1 Ceiling joists lapped. Ends of ceiling joists 

shall be lapped a minimum of 3 inches (76 mm) or butted 

over bearing partitions or beams and toenailed to the 

bearing member. Where ceiling joists are used to provide 

resistance to rafter thrust, lapped joists shall be nailed 

together in accordance with Table R802.5.2, and butted 

joists shall be tied together in a manner to resist such 

thrust. Joists that do not resist thrust shall be permitted to 

be nailed in accordance with Table R602.3(1). Wood 

structural panel roof sheathing, in accordance with Table 

R503.2.1.1(1), shall not cantilever more than 9 inches 

(229 mm) beyond the gable endwall unless supported by 

gable overhang framing.  

R802.5.2.2 Rafter ties. Wood rafter ties shall be not less 

than 2 inches by 4 inches (51 mm by 102 mm) installed 

in accordance with Table R802.5.2 at each rafter. Other 

approved rafter tie methods shall be permitted.  

R802.5.2.3 Blocking. Blocking shall be not less than 

utility grade lumber.  

65. 57. Delete Section R905.2.8.5.  

66. 58. Change Section R1001.8 to read:  

R1001.8 Smoke chamber. Smoke chamber walls shall be 

constructed of solid masonry units, hollow masonry units 

grouted solid, stone, or concrete. The total minimum 

thickness of front, back, and side walls shall be 8 inches 

(203 mm) of solid masonry. When the inside surface of 

the smoke chamber is formed by corbelled masonry, the 

inside surface shall be parged smooth. When a lining of 

firebrick at least 2 inches (51 mm) thick, or a lining of 

vitrified clay at least 5/8 inch (16 mm) thick, is provided, 

the total minimum thickness of front, back, and side 

walls shall be 6 inches (152 mm) of solid masonry, 

including the lining. Firebrick shall conform to ASTM C 

1261 and shall be laid with medium duty refractory 

mortar conforming to ASTM C 199. Vitrified clay 

linings shall conform to ASTM C 315.  

67. 59. Change Section N1101.13 (R401.2) to read:  

N1101.13 (R401.2) Compliance. Projects shall comply 

with all provisions of Chapter 11 labeled "Mandatory" 

and one of the following:  

1. Sections N1101.14 through N1104.  

2. Section N1105.  

3. Section N1106.  

4. The most recent version of REScheck, keyed to the 

2015 2018 IECC.  

Note: See REScheck compliance guidance issued by 

DHCD, available at the Department's website.  

68. Delete 60. Change Section N1101.14 (R401.3). to read: 

N1101.14 (R401.3) Certificate mandatory. A permanent 

certificate shall be completed by the builder or other 

approved party and posted on a wall in the space where 

the furnace is located, a utility room or an approved 

location inside the building. Where located on an 

electrical panel, the certificate shall not cover or obstruct 

the visibility of the circuit directory label, service 

disconnect label, or other required labels. The certificate 

shall indicate the predominant R-values of insulation 

installed in or on ceilings, roofs, walls, or foundation 

components, such as slabs, basement walls, crawl space 

walls, and floors and ducts outside conditioned spaces; 

U-factors of fenestration and the solar heat gain 

coefficient (SHGC) of fenestration; and the results from 

any required duct system and building envelope air 

leakage testing performed on the building. Where there is 

more than one value for each component, the certificate 

shall indicate the value covering the largest area. The 

certificate shall indicate the types and efficiencies of 

heating, cooling, and service water heating equipment. 

Where a gas-fired unvented room heater, electric furnace, 

or baseboard electric heater is installed in the residence, 

the certificate shall indicate "gas-fired unvented room 

heater," "electric furnace," or "baseboard electric heater," 

as appropriate. An efficiency shall not be indicated for 

gasfired unvented room heaters, electric furnaces, and 

electric baseboard heaters. 

69. 61. Change the ceiling R-value and wood frame wall 

R-value categories for climate zone "4 except Marine" in 

Table N1102.1.2 (R402.1.2) to read:  

Ceiling R-Value Wood Frame Wall R-

Value 

38 15 or 13 + 1h 

70. 62. Change the ceiling U-factor and frame wall U-

factor categories for climate zone "4 except Marine" in 

Table N1102.1.4 (R402.1.4) to read:  

Ceiling U-Factor Frame Wall U-Factor 

0.030 0.079 

71. 63. Change Section N1102.2.4 (R402.2.4) to read:  

N1102.2.4 (R402.2.4) Access hatches and doors. Access 

doors from conditioned spaces to unconditioned spaces 

(e.g., attics and crawl spaces) shall be weatherstripped 

and insulated in accordance with the following values:  

1. Hinged vertical doors shall have a minimum overall R-

5 insulation value;  



Regulations 

Volume 37, Issue 2 Virginia Register of Regulations September 14, 2020 

352 

2. Hatches and scuttle hole covers shall be insulated to a 

level equivalent to the insulation on the surrounding 

surfaces; and  

3. Pull down stairs shall have a minimum of 75% of the 

panel area having R-5 rigid insulation.  

Access shall be provided to all equipment that prevents 

damaging or compressing the insulation. A wood framed 

or equivalent baffle or retainer is required to be provided 

when loose fill insulation is installed, the purpose of 

which is to prevent the loose fill insulation from spilling 

into the living space when the attic access is opened, and 

to provide a permanent means of maintaining the 

installed R-value of the loose fill insulation.  

72. 64. Change Sections N1102.4 (R402.4) and 

N1102.4.1.1 (R402.4.1.1) to read:  

N1102.4 (R402.4) Air leakage. The building thermal 

envelope shall be constructed to limit air leakage in 

accordance with the requirements of Sections N1102.4.1 

through N1102.4.4.  

N1102.4.1.1 (R402.4.1.1) Installation (Mandatory). The 

components of the building thermal envelope as listed in 

Table N1102.4.1.1 shall be installed in accordance with 

the manufacturer's instructions and the criteria listed in 

Table N1102.4.1.1, as applicable to the method of 

construction. Where required by the code official, an 

approved third party shall inspect all components and 

verify compliance.  

73. 65. Change the title of the "Insulation Installation 

Criteria" category of Table N1102.4.1.1 (R402.4.1.1); 

change the "Shower/tub on exterior wall" category of 

Table N1102.4.1.1 (R402.4.1.1), and add footnotes "b" and 

"c" to Table N1102.4.1.1 (R402.4.1.1) to read:  

Component 
Air Barrier 

Criteria 

Insulation 

Installation 

Criteriab 

Shower/tub on 

exterior wallc 

The air barrier 

installed at 

exterior walls 

adjacent to 

showers and tubs 

shall be installed 

on the interior 

side and separate 

the exterior walls 

from the showers 

and tubs. 

Exterior walls 

adjacent to 

showers and tubs 

shall be insulated. 

b. Structural integrity of headers shall be in accordance with the 

applicable building code. 

c. Air barriers used behind showers and tubs on exterior walls 

shall be of a permeable material that does not cause the 

entrapment of moisture in the stud cavity. 

74. 66. Change Section N1102.4.1.2 (R402.4.1.2) and add 

Sections N1102.4.1.2.1 (R402.4.1.2.1), N1102.4.1.2.2 

(R402.4.1.2.2), and N1102.4.1.3 (R402.4.1.3) to read:  

N1102.4.1.2 (R402.4.1.2) Air sealing. Building envelope 

air tightness shall be demonstrated to comply with either 

Section N1102.4.1.2.1 or N1102.4.1.2.2.  

N1102.4.1.2.1 (R402.4.1.2.1) Testing option. The 

building or dwelling unit shall be tested for and verified 

as having an air leakage rate not exceeding five air 

changes per hour in Climate Zone 4. Testing shall be 

conducted in accordance with a blower door 

RESNET/ICC 380, ASTM E 779, or ASTM E 1827 and 

reported at a pressure of 0.2 inches w.g. (50 Pa). Where 

required by the building official, testing shall be 

conducted by an approved third party. A written report of 

the results of the test shall be signed by the party 

conducting the test and provided to the building official. 

Testing shall be conducted by a Virginia licensed general 

contractor, a Virginia licensed HVAC contractor, a 

Virginia licensed home inspector, a Virginia registered 

design professional, a certified BPI Envelope 

Professional, a certified HERS rater, or a certified duct 

and envelope tightness rater. The party conducting the 

test shall have been trained on the equipment used to 

perform the test. Testing shall be performed at any time 

after creation of all penetrations of the building thermal 

envelope.  

Note: Should additional sealing be required as a result of 

the test, consideration may be given to the issuance of 

temporary certificate of occupancy in accordance with 

Section 116.1.1. 

During testing:  

1. Exterior windows and doors and fireplace and stove 

doors shall be closed, but not sealed beyond the intended 

weatherstripping or other infiltration control measures;  

2. Dampers, including exhaust, intake, makeup air, 

backdraft, and flue dampers shall be closed, but not 

sealed beyond intended infiltration control measures;  

3. Interior doors, if installed at the time of the test, shall 

be open;  

4. Exterior doors for continuous ventilation systems and 

heat recovery ventilators shall be closed and sealed;  

5. Heating and cooling systems, if installed at the time of 

the test, shall be turned off; and  

6. Supply and return registers, if installed at the time of 

the test, shall be fully open.  

N1102.4.1.2.2 (R402.4.1.2.2) Visual inspection option. 

Building envelope tightness shall be considered 

acceptable when the items listed in Table N1102.4.1.1, 

applicable to the method of construction, are field 
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verified. Where required by the building official, an 

approved party, independent from the installer, shall 

inspect the air barrier. When this option is chosen, 

whole-house mechanical ventilation shall be provided in 

accordance with Section M1507.3.  

N1102.4.1.3 (R402.4.1.3) Leakage rate (Prescriptive). 

The building or dwelling unit shall have an air leakage 

rate less than 5 changes per hour as verified in 

accordance with Section N1102.4.1.2.  

75. 67. Change Section N1103.3.3 (R403.3.3) to read:  

N1103.3.3 (R403.3.3) Duct testing (Mandatory). Ducts 

shall be pressure tested to determine air leakage by one 

of the following methods:  

1. Rough-in test: Total leakage shall be measured with a 

pressure differential of 0.1 inch w.g. (25 Pa) across the 

system, including the manufacturer's air handler 

enclosure if installed at the time of the test. All registers 

shall be taped or otherwise sealed during the test.  

2. Postconstruction test: Total leakage shall be measured 

with a pressure differential of 0.1 inch w.g. (25 Pa) 

across the entire system, including the manufacturer's air 

handler enclosure. Registers shall be taped or otherwise 

sealed during the test.  

Exception: A duct air leakage test shall not be required 

where the ducts and air handlers are located entirely 

within the building thermal envelope.  

A written report of the results of the test shall be signed 

by the party conducting the test and provided to the code 

official. The licensed mechanical contractor installing the 

mechanical system shall be permitted to perform the duct 

testing. The contractor shall have been trained on the 

equipment used to perform the test.  

68. Delete Section N1103.3.5 (R403.3.5). 

76. 69. Change Section N1103.7 (R403.7) to read:  

N1103.7 (R403.7) Equipment and appliance sizing. 

Heating and cooling equipment and appliances shall be 

sized in accordance with ACCA Manual S or other 

approved sizing methodologies based on building loads 

calculated in accordance with ACCA Manual J or other 

approved heating and cooling calculation methodologies.  

Exception: Heating and cooling equipment and appliance 

sizing shall not be limited to the capacities determined in 

accordance with Manual S or other approved sizing 

methodologies where any of the following conditions 

apply:  

1. The specified equipment or appliance utilizes multi-

stage technology or variable refrigerant flow technology 

and the loads calculated in accordance with the approved 

heating and cooling methodology fall within the range of 

the manufacturer's published capacities for that 

equipment or appliance.  

2. The specified equipment or appliance manufacturer's 

published capacities cannot satisfy both the total and 

sensible heat gains calculated in accordance with the 

approved heating and cooling methodology and the next 

larger standard size unit is specified.  

3. The specified equipment or appliance is the lowest 

capacity unit available from the specified manufacturer.  

77. 70. Change footnote for Table N1106.4 (R406.4) to 

read:  

Table N1106.4 (R406.4)  

Maximum Energy Rating Indexa 

Climate Zone Energy Rating Index 

1 52 

2 52 

3 51 

4 62 

5 55 

6 54 

7 53 

8 53 

a. When onsite renewable energy is included for 

compliance using the ERI analysis per Section N1106.4 

(R406.4), the building shall meet the mandatory 

requirements of Section N1106.2 (R406.2) and the 

building thermal envelope shall be greater than or equal 

to levels of energy efficiency and solar heat gain 

coefficient in Table N1102.1.2 (R402.1.2), with a 

ceiling R-value of 49 and a wood frame wall R-value of 

20 or 13+5, or Table N1102.1.4 (R402.1.4), with a 

ceiling U-factor of 0.026 and a frame wall U-factor of 

0.060. 

78. 71. Delete Section N1109.1.1.1 (R503.1.1.1). 

79. 72. Change Section M1401.3 to read: 

M1401.3 Equipment and appliance sizing. Heating and 

cooling equipment and appliances shall be sized in 

accordance with ACCA Manual S or other approved 

sizing methodologies based on building loads calculated 

in accordance with ACCA Manual J or other approved 

heating and cooling calculation methodologies.  

Exception: Heating and cooling equipment and appliance 

sizing shall not be limited to the capacities determined in 

accordance with Manual S or other approved sizing 
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methodologies where any of the following conditions 

apply:  

1. The specified equipment or appliance utilizes multi-

stage technology or variable refrigerant flow technology 

and the loads calculated in accordance with the approved 

heating and cooling methodology fall within the range of 

the manufacturer's published capacities for that 

equipment or appliance.  

2. The specified equipment or appliance manufacturer's 

published capacities cannot satisfy both the total and 

sensible heat gains calculated in accordance with the 

approved heating and cooling methodology, and the next 

larger standard size unit is specified.  

3. The specified equipment or appliance is the lowest 

capacity unit available from the specified manufacturer.  

80. 73. Add Section M1501.2 to read:  

M1501.2 Transfer air. Air transferred from occupiable 

spaces other than kitchens, baths, and toilet rooms shall 

not be prohibited from serving as makeup air for exhaust 

systems. Transfer openings between spaces shall be of 

the same cross-sectional area as the free area of the 

makeup air openings. Where louvers and grilles are 

installed, the required size of openings shall be based on 

the net free area of each opening. Where the design and 

free area of louvers and grilles are not known, it shall be 

assumed that wood louvers will have 25% free area and 

metal louvers and grilles will have 75% free area.  

81. 74. Change Section M1502.4.2 to read: 

M1502.4.2 Duct installation. Exhaust ducts shall be 

supported at 4-foot (1219 mm) intervals and shall be 

secured in place. The insert end of the duct shall extend 

into the adjoining duct or fitting in the direction of 

airflow. Ducts shall not be joined with screws or similar 

fasteners that protrude into the inside of the duct. Where 

dryer exhaust ducts are enclosed in wall or ceiling 

cavities, such cavities shall allow the installation of the 

duct without deformation. 

82. 75. Change Section M1503.4 M1503.6 to read:  

M1503.4 M1503.6 Makeup air required. Exhaust hood 

systems capable of exhausting more than 400 cubic feet 

per minute (0.19 m3/s) shall be provided with makeup air 

at a rate approximately equal to the exhaust air rate in 

excess of 400 cubic feet per minute (0.19 m3/s). Such 

makeup air systems shall be equipped with a means of 

closure and shall be automatically controlled to start and 

operate simultaneously with the exhaust system.  

Exception: Intentional openings for makeup air are not 

required for kitchen exhaust systems capable of 

exhausting not greater than 600 cubic feet per minute 

(0.28 m3/s) provided that one of the following conditions 

is met:  

1. Where the floor area within the air barrier of a 

dwelling unit is at least 1500 1,500 square feet (139.35 

m2), and where natural draft or mechanical draft space-

heating or water-heating appliances are not located 

within the air barrier.  

2. Where the floor area within the air barrier of a 

dwelling unit is at least 3000 3,000 square feet (278.71 

m2), and where natural draft space-heating or water-

heating appliances are not located within the air barrier.  

83. 76. Add Section M1801.1.1 to read:  

M1801.1.1 Equipment changes. Upon the replacement or 

new installation of any fuel-burning appliances or 

equipment in existing buildings, an inspection or 

inspections shall be conducted to ensure that the 

connected vent or chimney systems comply with the 

following:  

1. Vent or chimney systems are sized in accordance with 

this code.  

2. Vent or chimney systems are clean, free of any 

obstruction or blockages, defects or deterioration and are 

in operable condition.  

Where not inspected by the local building department, 

persons performing such changes or installations shall 

certify to the building official that the requirements of 

Items 1 and 2 of this section are met.  

84. 77. Change Sections G2411.1 and G2411.1.1 G2411.2 

to read: 

G2411.1 Pipe and tubing. Each above-group portion of a 

gas piping system that is likely to become energized shall 

be electrically continuous and bonded to an effective 

ground-fault current path. Gas piping shall be considered 

to be bonded where it is connected to appliances that are 

connected to the equipment grounding conductor of the 

circuit supplying that appliance. Corrugated stainless 

steel tubing (CSST) piping systems listed with an arc 

resistant jacket or coating system in accordance with 

ANSI LC 1/CSA 6.26 shall comply with this section. 

Where any CSST segments of a piping system are not 

listed with an arc resistant jacket or coating system in 

accordance with ANSI LC 1/CSA 6.26, Section 

G2411.1.1 G2411.2 shall apply. 

G2411.1.1 G2411.2 CSST without arc resistant jacket or 

coating system. CSST gas piping systems and piping 

systems containing one or more segments of CSST not 

listed with an arc resistant jacket or coating system in 

accordance with ANSI LC 1/CSA 6.26 shall be bonded 

to the electrical service grounding electrode system or, 

where provided, the lightning protection electrode system 
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and shall comply with Sections G2411.1.1.1 G2411.2.1 

through G2411.1.1.5 G2411.2.5. 

85. 78. Add Section G2425.1.1 to read:  

G2425.1.1 Equipment changes. Upon the replacement or 

new installation of any fuel-burning appliances or 

equipment in existing buildings, an inspection or 

inspections shall be conducted to ensure that the 

connected vent or chimney systems comply with the 

following:  

1. Vent or chimney systems are sized in accordance with 

this code.  

2. Vent or chimney systems are clean, free of any 

obstruction or blockages, defects, or deterioration and are 

in operable condition.  

Where not inspected by the local building department, 

persons performing such changes or installations shall 

certify to the building official that the requirements of 

Items 1 and 2 of this section are met.  

86. 79. Change Section G2439.7.2 to read: 

G2439.7.2 Duct installation. Exhaust ducts shall be 

supported at 4-foot (1219 mm) intervals and secured in 

place. The insert end of the duct shall extend into the 

adjoining duct or fitting in the direction of airflow. Ducts 

shall not be joined with screws or similar fasteners that 

protrude into the inside of the duct. Where dryer exhaust 

ducts are enclosed in wall or ceiling cavities, such 

cavities shall allow the installation of the duct without 

deformation. 

87. 80. Change Section P2601.2 to read:  

P2601.2 Connections. Plumbing fixtures, drains and 

appliances used to receive or discharge liquid wastes or 

sewage shall be directly connected to the sanitary 

drainage system of the building or premises, in 

accordance with the requirements of this code. This 

section shall not be construed to prevent indirect waste 

systems.  

Exception: Bathtubs, showers, lavatories, clothes washers 

and laundry trays shall not be required to discharge to the 

sanitary drainage system where such fixtures discharge to 

an approved nonpotable gray water system in accordance 

with the applicable provisions of Sections P2910, P2911, 

and P2912.  

88. 81. Change Section P2602.1 to read: 

P2602.1 General. The water and drainage system of any 

building or premises where plumbing fixtures are 

installed shall be connected to a public or private water 

supply and a public or private sewer system. As provided 

for in Section 103.5 of Part I of the Virginia Uniform 

Statewide Building Code (13VAC5-63) for functional 

design, water supply sources and sewage disposal 

systems are regulated and approved by the Virginia 

Department of Health and the Virginia Department of 

Environmental Quality.  

Note: See also the Memorandums of Agreement in the 

"Related Laws Package," which is available from the 

Virginia Department of Housing and Community 

Development.  

89. 82. Add Section P2602.3 to read: 

P2602.3 Tracer wire. Nonmetallic water service piping 

that connects to public systems shall be locatable. An 

insulated copper tracer wire, 18 AWG minimum in size 

and suitable for direct burial or an equivalent product, 

shall be utilized. The wire shall be installed in the same 

trench as the water service piping and within 12 inches 

(305 mm) of the pipe and shall be installed to within five 

feet (1524 mm) of the building wall to the point where 

the building water service pipe intersects with the public 

water supply. At a minimum, one end of the wire shall 

terminate above grade to provide access to the wire in a 

location that is resistant to physical damage, such as with 

a meter vault or at the building wall. 

90. 83. Add Section P2901.1.1 to read:  

P2901.1.1 Nonpotable fixtures and outlets. Nonpotable 

water shall be permitted to serve nonpotable type fixtures 

and outlets in accordance with the applicable provisions 

of Sections P2910, P2911, and P2912.  

91. 84. Change Section P2903.5 to read:  

P2903.5 Water hammer. The flow velocity of the water 

distribution system shall be controlled to reduce the 

possibility of water hammer. A water-hammer arrestor 

shall be installed where quick-closing valves are utilized, 

unless otherwise approved. Water hammer arrestors shall 

be installed in accordance with manufacturer's 

specifications. Water hammer arrestors shall conform to 

ASSE 1010.  

85. Change Section P2906.2.1 to read: 

P2906.2.1 Lead content of drinking water pipe and 

fittings. Pipe, pipe fittings, joints, valves, faucets, and 

fixture fittings utilized to supply water for drinking or 

cooking purposes shall comply with NSF 372. 

92. 86. Change Sections P2910.1 through P2910.14, 

including subsections, to read:  

P2910.1 Scope. The provisions of this section shall 

govern the materials, design, construction, and 

installation of nonpotable water systems subject to this 

code.  

P2910.1.1 Design of nonpotable water systems. All 

portions of nonpotable water systems subject to this code 
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shall be constructed using the same standards and 

requirements for the potable water systems or drainage 

systems as provided for in this code unless otherwise 

specified in this section or Section P2911 or P2912, as 

applicable.  

P2910.2 Makeup water. Makeup water shall be provided 

for all nonpotable water supply systems. The makeup 

water system shall be designed and installed to provide 

supply of water in the amounts and at the pressures 

specified in this code. The makeup water supply shall be 

potable and be protected against backflow in accordance 

with the applicable requirements of Section P2902.  

P2910.2.1 Makeup water sources. Nonpotable water shall 

be permitted to serve as makeup water for gray water and 

rainwater systems.  

P2910.2.2 Makeup water supply valve. A full-open valve 

shall be provided on the makeup water supply line.  

P2910.2.3 Control valve alarm. Makeup water systems 

shall be fitted with a warning mechanism that alerts the 

user to a failure of the inlet control valve to close 

correctly. The alarm shall activate before the water 

within the storage tank begins to discharge into the 

overflow system.  

P2910.3 Sizing. Nonpotable water distribution systems 

shall be designed and sized for peak demand in 

accordance with approved engineering practice methods 

that comply with the applicable provisions of this 

chapter.  

P2910.4 Signage required. All nonpotable water outlets, 

other than water closets and urinals, such as hose 

connections, open ended pipes, and faucets shall be 

identified at the point of use for each outlet with signage 

that reads as follows: "Nonpotable water is utilized for 

(insert application name). Caution: nonpotable water. DO 

NOT DRINK." The words shall be legibly and indelibly 

printed on a tag or sign constructed of corrosion-resistant 

waterproof material or shall be indelibly printed on the 

fixture. The letters of the words shall be not less than 0.5 

inches (12.7 mm) in height and in colors in contrast to 

the background on which they are applied. The 

pictograph shown in Figure P2910.4 shall appear on the 

signage required by this section.  

 

P2910.5 Potable water supply system connections. 

Where a potable water supply system is connected to a 

nonpotable water system, the potable water supply shall 

be protected against backflow in accordance with the 

applicable provisions of Section P2902.  

P2910.6 Nonpotable water system connections. Where a 

nonpotable water system is connected and supplies water 

to another nonpotable water system, the nonpotable water 

system that supplies water shall be protected against 

backflow in accordance with the applicable provisions of 

Section P2902.  

P2910.7 Approved components and materials. Piping, 

plumbing components, and materials used in the 

nonpotable water drainage and distribution systems shall 

be approved for the intended application and compatible 

with the water and any disinfection or treatment systems 

used.  

P2910.8 Insect and vermin control. Nonpotable water 

systems shall be protected to prevent the entrance of 

insects and vermin into storage and piping systems. 

Screen materials shall be compatible with system 

material and shall not promote corrosion of system 

components.  

P2910.9 Freeze protection. Nonpotable water systems 

shall be protected from freezing in accordance with the 

applicable provisions of Chapter 26.  

P2910.10 Nonpotable water storage tanks. Nonpotable 

water storage tanks shall be approved for the intended 

application and comply with Sections P2910.10.1 

through P2910.10.12.  

P2910.10.1 Sizing. The holding capacity of storage tanks 

shall be sized for the intended use.  

P2910.10.2 Inlets. Storage tank inlets shall be designed 

to introduce water into the tank and avoid agitating the 

contents of the storage tank. The water supply to storage 

tanks shall be controlled by fill valves or other automatic 

supply valves designed to stop the flow of incoming 

water before the tank contents reach the overflow pipes.  
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P2910.10.3 Outlets. Outlets shall be located at least 4 

inches (102 mm) above the bottom of the storage tank 

and shall not skim water from the surface.  

P2910.10.4 Materials and location. Storage tanks shall be 

constructed of material compatible with treatment 

systems used to treat water. Above grade storage vessels 

shall be constructed using opaque, UV-resistant materials 

such as tinted plastic, lined metal, concrete, or wood or 

painted to prevent algae growth. Above grade storage 

tanks shall be protected from direct sunlight unless their 

design specifically incorporates the use of the sunlight 

heat transfer. Wooden storage tanks shall be provided 

with a flexible liner. Storage tanks and their manholes 

shall not be located directly under soil or waste piping or 

sources of contamination.  

P2910.10.5 Foundation and supports. Storage tanks shall 

be supported on a firm base capable of withstanding the 

storage tank's weight when filled to capacity. Storage 

tanks shall be supported in accordance with the 

applicable provisions of the IBC.  

P2910.10.5.1 Ballast. Where the soil can become 

saturated, an underground storage tank shall be ballasted, 

or otherwise secured, to prevent the effects of buoyancy. 

The combined weight of the tank and hold down ballast 

shall meet or exceed the buoyancy force of the tank. 

Where the installation requires a foundation, the 

foundation shall be flat and shall be designed to support 

the storage tank weight when full, consistent with the 

bearing capability of adjacent soil.  

P2910.10.5.2 Structural support. Where installed below 

grade, storage tank installations shall be designed to 

withstand earth and surface structural loads without 

damage.  

P2910.10.6 Overflow. The storage tank shall be equipped 

with an overflow pipe having a diameter not less than 

that shown in Table P2910.10.6. The overflow outlet 

shall discharge at a point not less than 6 inches (152 mm) 

above the roof or roof drain, floor or floor drain, or over 

an open water-supplied fixture. The overflow outlet shall 

terminate through a check valve. Overflow pipes shall 

not be directed on walkways. The overflow drain shall 

not be equipped with a shutoff valve. A minimum of one 

cleanout shall be provided on each overflow pipe in 

accordance with the applicable provisions of Section 

P3005.2.  

Table P2910.10.6 

Sizes for Overflow Pipes for Water Supply Tanks 

Maximum Capacity of 

Water Supply Line to 

Tank (gpm) 

Diameter of Overflow 

Pipe (inches) 

0 - 50 2 

50 - 150 2-1/2 

150 - 200 3 

200 - 400 4 

400 - 700 5 

700 - 1,000 6 

Over 1,000 8 

For SI: 1 inch = 25.4 mm, 1 gallon per minute = 

3.785 L/m. 

P2910.10.7 Access. A minimum of one access opening 

shall be provided to allow inspection and cleaning of the 

tank interior. Access openings shall have an approved 

locking device or other approved method of securing 

access. Below grade storage tanks, located outside of the 

building, shall be provided with either a manhole not less 

than 24 inches (610 mm) square or a manhole with an 

inside diameter not less than 24 inches (610 mm). The 

design and installation of access openings shall prohibit 

surface water from entering the tank. Each manhole 

cover shall have an approved locking device or other 

approved method of securing access.  

Exception: Storage tanks under 800 gallons (3028 L) in 

volume installed below grade shall not be required to be 

equipped with a manhole, but shall have an access 

opening not less than 8 inches (203 mm) in diameter to 

allow inspection and cleaning of the tank interior.  

P2910.10.8 Venting. Storage tanks shall be vented. Vents 

shall not be connected to the sanitary drainage system. 

Vents shall be at least equal in size to the internal 

diameter of the drainage inlet pipe or pipes connected to 

the tank. Where installed at grade, vents shall be 

protected from contamination by means of a U-bend 

installed with the opening directed downward. Vent 

outlets shall extend a minimum of 12 inches (304.8 mm) 

above grade, or as necessary to prevent surface water 

from entering the storage tank. Vent openings shall be 

protected against the entrance of vermin and insects. 

Vents serving gray water tanks shall terminate in 

accordance with the applicable provisions of Sections 

P3103 and P2910.8.  

P2910.10.9 Drain. Where drains are provided, they shall 

be located at the lowest point of the storage tank. The 

tank drain pipe shall discharge as required for overflow 

pipes and shall not be smaller in size than specified in 

Table P2910.10.6. A minimum of one cleanout shall be 

provided on each drain pipe in accordance with Section 

P3005.2.  

P2910.10.10 Labeling and signage. Each nonpotable 

water storage tank shall be labeled with its rated capacity 

and the location of the upstream bypass valve. 
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Underground and otherwise concealed storage tanks shall 

be labeled at all access points. The label shall read: 

"CAUTION: NONPOTABLE WATER - DO NOT 

DRINK." Where an opening is provided that could allow 

the entry of personnel, the opening shall be marked with 

the words: "DANGER - CONFINED SPACE." Markings 

shall be indelibly printed on a tag or sign constructed of 

corrosion-resistant waterproof material mounted on the 

tank or shall be indelibly printed on the tank. The letters 

of the words shall be not less than 0.5 inches (12.7 mm) 

in height and shall be of a color in contrast with the 

background on which they are applied.  

P2910.10.11 Storage tank tests. Storage tanks shall be 

tested in accordance with the following:  

1. Storage tanks shall be filled with water to the overflow 

line prior to and during inspection. All seams and joints 

shall be left exposed and the tank shall remain water tight 

without leakage for a period of 24 hours.  

2. After 24 hours, supplemental water shall be introduced 

for a period of 15 minutes to verify proper drainage of 

the overflow system and verify that there are no leaks.  

3. Following a successful test of the overflow system, the 

water level in the tank shall be reduced to a level that is 

at 2 inches (50.8 mm) below the makeup water offset 

point. The tank drain shall be observed for proper 

operation. The makeup water system shall be observed 

for proper operation, and successful automatic shutoff of 

the system at the refill threshold shall be verified. Water 

shall not be drained from the overflow at any time during 

the refill test.  

4. Air tests shall be permitted in lieu of water testing as 

recommended by the tank manufacturer or the tank 

standard.  

P2910.10.12 Structural strength. Storage tanks shall meet 

the applicable structural strength requirements of the 

IBC.  

P2910.11 Trenching requirements for nonpotable water 

system piping. Underground nonpotable water system 

piping shall be horizontally separated from the building 

sewer and potable water piping by 5 feet (1524 mm) of 

undisturbed or compacted earth. Nonpotable water 

system piping shall not be located in, under, or above 

sewage systems cesspools, septic tanks, septic tank 

drainage fields, or seepage pits. Buried nonpotable water 

system piping shall comply with the requirements of this 

code for the piping material installed.  

Exceptions:  

1. The required separation distance shall not apply where 

the bottom of the nonpotable water pipe within 5 feet 

(1524 mm) of the sewer is equal to or greater than 12 

inches (305 mm) above the top of the highest point of the 

sewer and the pipe materials conforms to Table P3002.2.  

2. The required separation distance shall not apply where 

the bottom of the potable water service pipe within 5 feet 

(1524 mm) of the nonpotable water pipe is a minimum of 

12 inches (305 mm) above the top of the highest point of 

the nonpotable water pipe and the pipe materials comply 

with the requirements of Table P2906.5.  

3. Nonpotable water pipe is permitted to be located in the 

same trench with building sewer piping, provided that 

such sewer piping is constructed of materials that comply 

with the requirements of Table P3002.1(2).  

4. The required separation distance shall not apply where 

a nonpotable water pipe crosses a sewer pipe, provided 

that the pipe is sleeved to at least 5 feet (1524 mm) 

horizontally from the sewer pipe centerline on both sides 

of such crossing with pipe materials that comply with 

Table P3002.1(2).  

5. The required separation distance shall not apply where 

a potable water service pipe crosses a nonpotable water 

pipe provided that the potable water service pipe is 

sleeved for a distance of at least 5 feet (1524 mm) 

horizontally from the centerline of the nonpotable pipe 

on both sides of such crossing with pipe materials that 

comply with Table P3002.1(2).  

P2910.12 Outdoor outlet access. Sillcocks, hose bibs, 

wall hydrants, yard hydrants, and other outdoor outlets 

that are supplied by nonpotable water shall be located in 

a locked vault or shall be operable only by means of a 

removable key.  

P2910.13 Drainage and vent piping and fittings. 

Nonpotable drainage and vent pipe and fittings shall 

comply with the applicable material standards and 

installation requirements in accordance with provisions 

of Chapter 30.  

P2910.13.1 Labeling and marking. Identification of 

nonpotable drainage and vent piping shall not be 

required.  

P2910.14 Pumping and control system. Mechanical 

equipment, including pumps, valves, and filters, shall be 

accessible and removable in order to perform repair, 

maintenance, and cleaning. The minimum flow rate and 

flow pressure delivered by the pumping system shall be 

designed for the intended application in accordance with 

the applicable provisions of Section P2903.  

93. 87. Add Sections P2910.15 through P2910.18, 

including subsections, to read: 

P2910.15 Water-pressure reducing valve or regulator. 

Where the water pressure supplied by the pumping 

system exceeds 80 psi (552 kPa) static, a pressure-
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reducing valve shall be installed to reduce the pressure in 

the nonpotable water distribution system piping to 80 psi 

(552 kPa) static or less. Pressure-reducing valves shall be 

specified and installed in accordance with the applicable 

provisions of Section P2903.3.1.  

P2910.16 Distribution pipe. Distribution piping utilized 

in nonpotable water stems shall comply with Sections 

P2910.16.1 through P2910.16.4.  

P2910.16.1 Materials, joints, and connections. 

Distribution piping and fittings shall comply with the 

applicable material standards and installation 

requirements in accordance with applicable provisions of 

Chapter 29.  

P2910.16.2 Design. Distribution piping shall be designed 

and sized in accordance with the applicable provisions of 

Chapter 29.  

P2910.16.3 Labeling and marking. Distribution piping 

labeling and marking shall comply with Section P2901.1 

P2901.2.  

P2910.16.4 Backflow prevention. Backflow preventers 

shall be installed in accordance with the applicable 

provisions of Section P2902.  

P2910.17 Tests and inspections. Tests and inspections 

shall be performed in accordance with Sections 

P2910.17.1 through P2910.17.5.  

P2910.17.1 Drainage and vent pipe test. Drain, waste, 

and vent piping used for gray water and rainwater 

nonpotable water systems shall be tested in accordance 

with the applicable provisions of Section P2503.  

P2910.17.2 Storage tank test. Storage tanks shall be 

tested in accordance with the Section P2910.10.11.  

P2910.17.3 Water supply system test. Nonpotable 

distribution piping shall be tested in accordance with 

Section P2503.7.  

P2910.17.4 Inspection and testing of backflow 

prevention assemblies. The testing of backflow 

preventers and backwater valves shall be conducted in 

accordance with Section P2503.8.  

P2910.17.5 Inspection of vermin and insect protection. 

Inlets and vent terminations shall be visually inspected to 

verify that each termination is installed in accordance 

with Section P2910.10.8.  

P2910.18 Operation and maintenance manuals. 

Operations and maintenance materials for nonpotable 

water systems shall be provided as prescribed by the 

system component manufacturers and supplied to the 

owner to be kept in a readily accessible location.  

94. 88. Change the title of Section P2911 to "Gray Water 

Nonpotable Water Systems."  

95. 89. Change Sections P2911.1 through P2911.6, 

including subsections, to read:  

P2911.1 Gray water nonpotable water systems. This code 

is applicable to the plumbing fixtures, piping or piping 

systems, storage tanks, drains, appurtenances, and 

appliances that are part of the distribution system for 

gray water within buildings and to storage tanks and 

associated piping that are part of the distribution system 

for gray water outside of buildings. This code does not 

regulate equipment used for, or the methods of, 

processing, filtering, or treating gray water, which may 

be regulated by the Virginia Department of Health or the 

Virginia Department of Environmental Quality.  

P2911.1.1 Separate systems. Gray water nonpotable 

water systems, unless approved otherwise under the 

permit from the Virginia Department of Health, shall be 

separate from the potable water system of a building with 

no cross connections between the two systems except as 

permitted by the Virginia Department of Health.  

P2911.2 Water quality. Each application of gray water 

reuse shall meet the minimum water quality requirements 

set forth in Sections P2911.2.1 through P2911.2.4 unless 

otherwise superseded by other state agencies.  

P2911.2.1 Disinfection. Where the intended use or reuse 

application for nonpotable water requires disinfection or 

other treatment or both, it shall be disinfected as needed 

to ensure that the required water quality is delivered at 

the point of use or reuse.  

P2911.2.2 Residual disinfectants. Where chlorine is used 

for disinfection, the nonpotable water shall contain not 

more than 4 parts per million (4 mg/L) of free chlorine, 

combined chlorine, or total chlorine. Where ozone is 

used for disinfection, the nonpotable water shall not 

exceed 0.1 parts per million (by volume) of ozone at the 

point of use.  

P2911.2.3 Filtration. Water collected for reuse shall be 

filtered as required for the intended end use. Filters shall 

be accessible for inspection and maintenance. Filters 

shall utilize a pressure gauge or other approved method 

to indicate when a filter requires servicing or 

replacement. Shutoff valves installed immediately 

upstream and downstream of the filter shall be included 

to allow for isolation during maintenance.  

P2911.2.4 Filtration required. Gray water utilized for 

water closet and urinal flushing applications shall be 

filtered by a 100 micron or finer filter.  

P2911.3 Storage tanks. Storage tanks utilized in gray 

water nonpotable water systems shall comply with 

Section P2910.10.  

P2911.4 Retention time limits. Untreated gray water shall 

be retained in storage tanks for a maximum of 24 hours.  
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P2911.5 Tank location. Storage tanks shall be located 

with a minimum horizontal distance between various 

elements as indicated in Table P2911.5.1.  

Table P2911.5.1 

Location of Nonpotable Gray Water Reuse Storage 

Tanks 

Element 

Minimum Horizontal 

Distance from Storage 

Tank (feet) 

Lot line adjoining 

private lots 

5 

Sewage systems 5 

Septic tanks 5 

Water wells 50 

Streams and lakes 50 

Water service 5 

Public water main 10 

P2911.6 Valves. Valves shall be supplied on gray water 

nonpotable water drainage systems in accordance with 

Sections P2911.6.1 and P2911.6.2.  

P2911.6.1 Bypass valve. One three-way diverter valve 

certified to NSF 50 or other approved device shall be 

installed on collection piping upstream of each storage 

tank, or drainfield, as applicable, to divert untreated gray 

water to the sanitary sewer to allow servicing and 

inspection of the system. Bypass valves shall be installed 

downstream of fixture traps and vent connections. 

Bypass valves shall be labeled to indicate the direction of 

flow, connection, and storage tank or drainfield 

connection. Bypass valves shall be provided with access 

for operation and maintenance. Two shutoff valves shall 

not be installed to serve as a bypass valve.  

P2911.6.2 Backwater valve. Backwater valves shall be 

installed on each overflow and tank drain pipe to prevent 

unwanted water from draining back into the storage tank. 

If the overflow and drain piping arrangement is installed 

to physically not allow water to drain back into the tank, 

such as in the form of an air gap, backwater valves shall 

not be required. Backwater valves shall be constructed 

and installed in accordance with Section P3008.  

90. Delete Sections P2911.7 through P2911.13, including 

subsections. 

96. 91. Change the title of Section P2912 to "Rainwater 

Nonpotable Water Systems."  

97. 92. Change Sections P2912.1 through P2912.10, 

including subsections, to read:  

P2912.1 General. The provisions of this section shall 

govern the design, construction, installation, alteration, 

and repair of rainwater nonpotable water systems for the 

collection, storage, treatment, and distribution of 

rainwater for nonpotable applications. The provisions of 

CSA B805/ICC 805 shall be permitted as an alternative 

to the provisions contained in this section for the design, 

construction, installation, alteration, and repair of 

rainwater nonpotable water systems for the collection, 

storage, treatment, and distribution of rainwater for 

nonpotable applications. Roof runoff or stormwater 

runoff collection surfaces shall be limited to roofing 

materials, public pedestrian accessible roofs, and 

subsurface collection identified in CSA B805/ICC 805 

Table 7.1. Stormwater runoff shall not be collected from 

any other surfaces.  

P2912.2 Water quality. Each application of rainwater 

reuse shall meet the minimum water quality requirements 

set forth in Sections P2912.2.1 through P2912.2.4 unless 

otherwise superseded by other state agencies.  

P2912.2.1 Disinfection. Where the intended use or reuse 

application for nonpotable water requires disinfection or 

other treatment or both, it shall be disinfected as needed 

to ensure that the required water quality is delivered at 

the point of use or reuse.  

P2912.2.2 Residual disinfectants. Where chlorine is used 

for disinfection, the nonpotable water shall contain not 

more than 4 parts per million (4 mg/L) of free chlorine, 

combined chlorine, or total chlorine. Where ozone is 

used for disinfection, the nonpotable water shall not 

exceed 0.1 parts per million (by volume) of ozone at the 

point of use.  

P2912.2.3 Filtration. Water collected for reuse shall be 

filtered as required for the intended end use. Filters shall 

be accessible for inspection and maintenance. Filters 

shall utilize a pressure gauge or other approved method 

to indicate when a filter requires servicing or 

replacement. Shutoff valves installed immediately 

upstream and downstream of the filter shall be included 

to allow for isolation during maintenance.  

P2912.2.4 Filtration required. Rainwater utilized for 

water closet and urinal flushing applications shall be 

filtered by a 100 micron or finer filter.  

P2912.3 Collection surface. Rainwater shall be collected 

only from aboveground impervious roofing surfaces 

constructed from approved materials. Overflow or 

discharge piping from appliances or equipment or both, 

including but not limited to evaporative coolers, water 

heaters, and solar water heaters shall not discharge onto 

rainwater collection surfaces.  

P2912.4 Collection surface diversion. At a minimum, the 

first 0.04 inches (1.016 mm) of each rain event of 25 
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gallons (94.6 L) per 1000 1,000 square feet (92.9 m2) 

shall be diverted from the storage tank by automatic 

means and not require the operation of manually operated 

valves or devices. Diverted water shall not drain onto 

other collection surfaces that are discharging to the 

rainwater system or to the sanitary sewer. Such water 

shall be diverted from the storage tank and discharged in 

an approved location.  

P2912.5 Pre-tank filtration. Downspouts, conductors, and 

leaders shall be connected to a pre-tank filtration device. 

The filtration device shall not permit materials larger 

than 0.015 inches (0.4 mm).  

P2912.6 Roof gutters and downspouts. Gutters and 

downspouts shall be constructed of materials that are 

compatible with the collection surface and the rainwater 

quality for the desired end use. Joints shall be made 

watertight.  

P2912.6.1 Slope. Roof gutters, leaders, and rainwater 

collection piping shall slope continuously toward 

collection inlets. Gutters and downspouts shall have a 

slope of not less than 1 unit in 96 units along their entire 

length, and shall not permit the collection or pooling of 

water at any point.  

P2912.6.2 Size. Gutters and downspouts shall be 

installed and sized in accordance with local rainfall rates.  

P2912.6.3 Cleanouts. Cleanouts or other approved 

openings shall be provided to permit access to all filters, 

flushes, pipes, and downspouts.  

P2912.7 Storage tanks. Storage tanks utilized in 

rainwater nonpotable water systems shall comply with 

Section P2910.10.  

P2912.8 Location. Storage tanks shall be located with a 

minimum horizontal distance between various elements 

as indicated in Table P2912.8.1.  

Table P2912.8.1 

Location of Rainwater Storage Tanks 

Element 

Minimum Horizontal 

Distance from Storage 

Tank (feet) 

Lot line adjoining 

private lots 

5 

Sewage systems 5 

Septic tanks 5 

P2912.9 Valves. Valves shall be installed in collection 

and conveyance drainage piping of rainwater nonpotable 

water systems in accordance with Sections P2912.9.1 and 

P2912.9.2.  

P2912.9.1 Influent diversion. A means shall be provided 

to divert storage tank influent to allow maintenance and 

repair of the storage tank system.  

P2912.9.2 Backwater valve. Backwater valves shall be 

installed on each overflow and tank drain pipe to prevent 

unwanted water from draining back into the storage tank. 

If the overflow and drain piping arrangement is installed 

to physically not allow water to drain back into the tank, 

such as in the form of an air gap, backwater valves shall 

not be required. Backwater valves shall be constructed 

and installed in accordance with Section P3008.  

P2912.10 Tests and inspections. Tests and inspections 

shall be performed in accordance with Sections 

P2912.10.1 and P2912.10.2.  

P2912.10.1 Roof gutter inspection and test. Roof gutters 

shall be inspected to verify that the installation and slope 

is in accordance with Section P2912.6.1. Gutters shall be 

tested by pouring a minimum of one gallon of water into 

the end of the gutter opposite the collection point. The 

gutter being tested shall not leak and shall not retain 

standing water.  

P2912.10.2 Collection surface diversion test. A 

collection surface diversion test shall be performed by 

introducing water into the gutters or onto the collection 

surface area. Diversion of the first quantity of water in 

accordance with the requirements of Section P2912.4 

shall be verified.  

98. 93. Delete Sections P2912.11 through P2912.16, 

including subsections. 

99. 94. Delete Section P2913 in its entirety. 

100. 95. Add Section P3002.2.2 to read: 

P3002.2.2 Tracer wire. Nonmetallic sanitary sewer 

piping that discharges to public systems shall be 

locatable. An insulated copper tracer wire, 18 AWG 

minimum in size and suitable for direct burial or an 

equivalent product, shall be utilized. The wire shall be 

installed in the same trench as the sewer within 12 inches 

(305 mm) of the pipe and shall be installed from within 

five feet of the building wall to the point where the 

building sewer intersects with the public system. At a 

minimum, one end of the wire shall terminate above 

grade in an accessible location that is resistant to physical 

damage, such as with a cleanout or at the building wall. 

96. Add Section P3012 Relining Building Sewers and 

Building Drains. 

97. Add Sections P3012.1 through P3012.10 to read: 

P3012.1 General. This section shall govern the relining 

of existing building sewers and building draining piping. 
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P3012.2 Applicability. The relining of existing building 

sewer and building drainage piping shall be limited to 

gravity drainage piping that is 4 inches (102 mm) in 

diameter and larger. The relined piping shall be of the 

same nominal size as the existing piping. 

P3012.3 Pre-installation requirements. Prior to 

commencement of the relining installation, the existing 

piping sections to be relined shall be descaled and 

cleaned. After the cleaning process has occurred and 

water has been flushed through the system, the piping 

shall be inspected internally by a recorded video camera 

survey.  

P3012.3.1 Pre-installation recorded video camera survey. 

The video survey shall include verification of the project 

address location. The video shall include notations of the 

cleanout and fitting locations, and the approximate depth 

of the existing piping. The video shall also include 

notations of the length of piping at intervals no greater 

than 25 feet.  

P3012.4 Permitting. Prior to permit issuance, the code 

official shall review and evaluate the pre-installment 

recorded video camera survey to determine if the piping 

system is capable to be relined in accordance with the 

proposed lining system manufacturer's installation 

requirements and applicable referenced standards.  

R3012.5 Prohibited applications. Where review of the 

pre-installation recorded video camera survey reviews 

that piping systems are not installed correctly or defects 

exist, relining shall not be permitted. The defective 

portions of piping shall be exposed and repaired with 

pipe and fittings in accordance with this code. Defects 

shall include backgrade or insufficient slope, complete 

pipe wall deterioration, or complete separations such as 

from tree root invation or improper support. 

P3012.6 Relining materials. The relining materials shall 

be manufactured in compliance with applicable standards 

and certified as required in Section 303. Fold-and-form 

pipe reline materials shall be manufactured in 

compliance with ASTM F1504 or ASTM F1871. 

P3012.7 Installation. The installation of relining 

materials shall be performed in accordance with the 

manufacturer's installation instructions, applicable 

referenced standards, and this code. 

P3012.7.1 Material data report. The installer shall record 

the data as required by the relining material manufacture 

and applicable standards. The recorded data shall include 

the location of the project, relining material type, amount 

of product installed, and conditions of the installation. A 

copy of the data report shall be provided to the code 

official prior to final approval. 

P3012.8 Post-installation recorded video camera survey. 

The completed relined piping system shall be inspected 

internally by a recorded video camera survey after the 

system has been flushed and flow tested with water. The 

video survey shall be submitted to the code official prior 

to finalization of the permit. The video survey shall be 

reviewed and evaluated to provide verification that no 

defects exist. Any defects identified shall be repaired and 

replaced in accordance with this code. 

P3012.9 Certification. The permit holder shall provide a 

certification in writing to the code official that the 

relining materials have been installed in accordance with 

the manufacturer's installation instructions, the applicable 

standards, and this code.  

P3012.10 Approval. Upon verification of compliance 

with the requirements of Sections 717.1 through 717.9, 

the code official shall approve the installation. 

101. 98. Add an exception to Section P3301.1 to read: 

Exception: Rainwater nonpotable water systems shall be 

permitted in accordance with the applicable provisions of 

Sections P2910 and P2912. 

99. Delete the exception for Section P3003.9.2. 

102. 100. Add Section E3601.8 to read:  

E3601.8 Energizing service equipment. The building 

official shall give permission to energize the electrical 

service equipment of a one-family or two-family 

dwelling unit when all of the following requirements 

have been approved:  

1. The service wiring and equipment, including the meter 

socket enclosure, shall be installed and the service wiring 

terminated.  

2. The grounding electrode system shall be installed and 

terminated.  

3. At least one receptacle outlet on a ground fault 

protected circuit shall be installed and the circuit wiring 

terminated.  

4. Service equipment covers shall be installed.  

5. The building roof covering shall be installed.  

6. Temporary electrical service equipment shall be 

suitable for wet locations unless the interior is dry and 

protected from the weather.  

103. 101. Change Section E3802.4 to read:  

E3802.4 In unfinished basements. Where Type SE or 

NM cable is run at angles with joists in unfinished 

basements, cable assemblies containing two or more 

conductors of sizes 6 AWG and larger and assemblies 

containing three or more conductors of sizes 8 AWG and 

larger shall not require additional protection where 
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attached directly to the bottom of the joists. Smaller 

cables shall be run either through bored holes in joists or 

on running boards. Type NM or SE cable installed on the 

wall of an unfinished basement shall be permitted to be 

installed in a listed conduit or tubing or shall be protected 

in accordance with Table E3802.1. Conduit or tubing 

shall be provided with a suitable insulating bushing or 

adapter at the point the where cable enters the raceway. 

The sheath of the Type NM or SE cable shall extend 

through the conduit or tubing and into the outlet or 

device box not less than 1/4 inch (6.4 mm). The cable 

shall be secured within 12 inches (305 mm) of the point 

where the cable enters the conduit or tubing. Metal 

conduit, tubing, and metal outlet boxes shall be 

connected to an equipment grounding conductor 

complying with Section E3908.13.  

104. 102. Change Section E3902.16 to read:  

E3902.16 Arc-fault protection of bedroom outlets. 

Branch circuits that supply 120-volt, single phase, 15-

ampere and 20-ampere outlets installed in bedrooms shall 

be protected by any of the following: 

1. A listed combination-type arc-fault circuit interrupter 

installed to provide protection of the entire branch 

circuit. 

2. A listed branch/feeder-type AFCI installed at the 

origin of the branch-circuit in combination with a listed 

outlet branch-circuit type arc-fault circuit interrupter 

installed at the first outlet box on the branch circuit. The 

first outlet box in the branch circuit shall be marked to 

indicate that it is the first outlet of the circuit. 

3. A listed supplemental arc protection circuit breaker 

installed at the origin of the branch circuit in combination 

with a listed outlet branch-circuit type arc-fault circuit 

interrupter installed at the first outlet box on the branch 

circuit where all of the following conditions are met: 

3.1. The branch-circuit wiring shall be continuous from 

the branch-circuit overcurrent device to the outlet 

branch-circuit arc-fault circuit interrupter. 

3.2. The maximum length of the branch-circuit wiring 

from the branch-circuit overcurrent device to the first 

outlet shall not exceed 50 feet (15.2 m) for 14 AWG 

conductors and 70 feet (21.3 m) for 12 AWG conductors. 

3.3. The first outlet box on the branch circuit shall be 

marked to indicate that it is the first outlet on the circuit. 

4. A listed outlet branch-circuit type arc-fault circuit 

interrupter installed at the first outlet on the branch 

circuit in combination with a listed branch-circuit 

overcurrent protective device where all of the following 

conditions are met: 

4.1. The branch-circuit wiring shall be continuous from 

the branch-circuit overcurrent device to the outlet 

branch-circuit arc-fault circuit interrupter. 

4.2. The maximum length of the branch-circuit wiring 

from the branch-circuit overcurrent device to the first 

outlet shall not exceed 50 feet (15.2 m) for 14 AWG 

conductors and 70 feet (21.3 m) for 12 AWG conductors. 

4.3. The first outlet box on the branch circuit shall be 

marked to indicate that it is the first outlet on the circuit. 

4.4. The combination of the branch-circuit overcurrent 

device and outlet branch-circuit AFCI shall be identified 

as meeting the requirements for a system combination-

type AFCI and shall be listed as such. 

5. Where metal outlet boxes and junction boxes and 

RMC, IMC, EMT, Type MC or steel-armored Type AC 

cables meeting the requirements of Section E3908.8, 

metal wireways or metal auxiliary gutters are installed 

for the portion of the branch circuit between the branch-

circuit overcurrent device and the first outlet, a listed 

branch-circuit type AFCI installed at the first outlet shall 

be considered as providing protection for the remaining 

portion of the branch circuit. 

6. Where a listed metal or nonmetallic conduit or tubing 

or Type MC cable is encased in not less than two inches 

(50.8 mm) of concrete for the portion of the branch 

circuit between the branch-circuit overcurrent device and 

the first outlet, a listed outlet branch-circuit type AFCI 

installed at the first outlet shall be considered as 

providing protection for the remaining portion of the 

branch circuit. 

Exception:  

AFCI protection is not required for an individual branch 

circuit supplying only a fire alarm system where the 

branch circuit is wired with metal outlet and junction 

boxes and RMC, IMC, EMT or steel-sheathed armored 

cable Type AC, or Type MC meeting the requirements of 

Section E3908.8.  

105. 103. Change the referenced standards in Chapter 44 as 

follows (standards not shown remain the same):  

Standard 

Reference 

Number 

Title 

Referenced in 

Code Section 

Number 

ANSI 

LC1/CSA 

6.26-14 6.26-

18 

Fuel Gas 

Piping Systems 

Using 

Corrugated 

Stainless Steel 

Tubing (CSST) 

G2411.1, 

G2411.1.1, 

G2414.5.3 
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NSF 50-09 

Equipment for 

Swimming 

Pools, Spas, 

Hot Tubs and 

Other 

Recreational 

Water 

Facilities 

P2911.6.1 

ASTM 

F1504-14 

Standard 

Specification 

for 

Folded/Formed 

Poly (Vinyl 

Chloride) 

(PVC) for 

Existing Sewer 

and Conduit 

Rehabilitation 

P3012.4, 

P3012.6 

ASTM 

F1871-11 

Standard 

Specification 

for 

Folded/Formed 

Poly (Vinyl 

Chloride) Pipe 

Type A for 

Existing Sewer 

and Conduit 

Rehabilitation 

P3012.4, 

P3012.6 

CSA B805-

18/ICC 805-

18 

Rainwater 

Harvesting 

Systems 

P2912.1 

104. Change Section AQ104.1.2 to read: 

AQ104.1.2 Minimum horizontal dimensions. Lofts shall 

be not less than 5 feet (1524 mm) in any horizontal 

dimension. 

105. Change the exception to Section AQ104.1.3 to read: 

Exception: Under gable roofs with a minimum slope of 6 

units vertical in 12 units horizontal (50% slope), portions 

of a loft with a sloped ceiling measuring less than 16 

inches (406 mm) from the finished floor to the finished 

ceiling shall not be considered as contributing to the 

minimum required area for the loft. See Figure 

AQ104.1.3. 

106. Add Figure AQ104.1.3 Loft Ceiling Height. 

 

107. Change Sections AQ104.2, AQ104.2.1, and AQ 

104.2.1.2 to read: 

AQ104.2 Loft access and egress. The access to and 

primary egress from lofts shall be of any type described 

in Sections AQ104.2.1 through AQ104.2.4. The loft 

access and egress element along its required minimum 

width shall meet the loft where its ceiling height is not 

less than 3 feet (914 mm). 

AQ104.2.1 Stairways. Stairways accessing lofts shall 

comply with this code or with Sections AQ104.2.1.1 

through AQ104.2.1.7. 

AQ104.2.1.2 Headroom. The headroom above stairways 

accessing a loft shall be not less than 6 feet 2 inches 

(1880 mm), as measured vertically, from a sloped line 

connecting the tread, landing, or landing platform 

nosings in the center of their width, and vertically from 

the landing platform along the center of its width. 

108. Change Sections AQ104.2.1.4 through AQ104.2.1.6 

to read: 

AQ104.2.1.4 Landings. Intermediate landings and 

landings at the bottom of stairways shall comply with 

Section R311.7.6, except that the depth in direction of 

travel shall be not less than 24 inches (610 mm). 

AQ104.2.1.5 Landing platforms. The top tread and riser 

of stairways accessing lofts shall be constructed as a 

landing platform where the loft ceiling height is less than 

6 feet 2 inches (1880 mm) where the stairway meets the 

loft. The landing platform shall be not less than 20 inches 

(508 mm) in width and in depth measured horizontally 

from and perpendicular to the nosing of the landing 

platform. The landing platform riser height to the loft 

floor shall be not less than 16 inches (406 mm) and not 

greater than 18 inches (457 mm). 

AQ104.2.1.6 Handrails. Handrails shall comply with 

Section R311.7.8. 
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109. Add Section AQ104.2.1.7 to read: 

AQ104.2.1.7 Stairway guards. Guards at open sides of 

stairways, landings, and landing platforms shall comply 

with Section R312.1. 

110. Change Sections AQ 104.2.2.1 and AQ104.2.5 to 

read: 

AQ104.2.2.1 Size and capacity. Ladders accessing lofts 

shall have a rung width of not less than 12 inches (305 

mm), with 10-inch (254 mm) to 14-inch (356 mm) 

spacing between rungs. Ladders shall be capable of 

supporting a 300-pound (136 kg) load on any rung. Rung 

spacing shall be uniform within 3/8 inch (9.5 mm). 

AQ104.2.5 Loft Guards. Loft guards shall be located 

along the open side of lofts. Loft guards shall be not less 

than 36 inches (914 mm) in height or one-half of the 

clear height to the ceiling, whichever is less. Loft guards 

shall comply with Section R312.1.3 and Table R301.5 

for their components. 

U. T. Add "Marinas" to the list of occupancies in Section 

312.1 of the IBC.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R19-5887; Filed August 28, 2020, 12:27 p.m.  

Proposed Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 13VAC5-95. Virginia Manufactured 

Home Safety Regulations (amending 13VAC5-95-10, 

13VAC5-95-60).  

Statutory Authority: § 36-85.2 of the Code of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: 

September 28, 2020 - 10 a.m. - Google Meet Meeting - 

The link to access the electronic meeting is 

meet.google.com/rqj-cmsq-rft, or copy and paste the link 

into a browser. Additional details and information are 

available on the Virginia Regulatory Town Hall 

(www.townhall.virginia.gov). 

Public Comment Deadline: November 13, 2020. 

Agency Contact: Kyle Flanders, Senior Policy Analyst, 

Department of Housing and Community Development, Main 

Street Centre, 600 East Main Street, Suite 300, Richmond, 

VA 23219, telephone (804) 786-6761, FAX (804) 371-7090, 

TTY (804) 371-7089, or email 

kyle.flanders@dhcd.virginia.gov. 

Basis: The statutory authority to update the regulation is 

contained in § 36-85.7 of the Code of Virginia.  

Purpose: The intent and goal of this action is to update the 

Manufactured Home Safety Regulations (MHSR) based on 

current U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development 

(HUD) construction standards. This action will also consider 

amendments to administrative and enforcement provisions of 

the MHSR as determined necessary for the administration of 

Virginia's Manufactured Home Installation Program. This 

action ensures that manufactured homes are installed in a safe 

manner to protect the health, safety, and welfare of the 

citizens of the Commonwealth. 

Substance: The proposed amendments include updating all 

references to the Federal Installation Standards (24 CFR Part 

3285). The proposed regulation will contain minor changes to 

the provisions of the regulations that have been vetted 

through the client groups affected by the MHSR and have met 

no opposition. There is anticipation and request for assistance 

regarding manufactured housing installation. A more up-to-

date enforcement standard is necessary to provide assistance 

to building officials and local building inspections 

departments, installers, and home owners regarding 

installation and inspections procedures and all processes 

related to the installation of manufactured homes within the 

Commonwealth. 

Issues: The advantage of the revision for the public, building 

officials, installers, and private citizens are the new mandated 

HUD installation regulations, which provide minimum 

requirements for the initial installation of new manufactured 

homes. New home installation, designs, and instructions have 

been approved by the Secretary of HUD or a design approval 

primary inspection agency. The Federal Construction 

Standards are enforcement provisions for the design, 

construction, distribution and the installation of manufactured 

homes. Building officials are responsible for enforcement of 

the installation standards in the set up of a new manufactured 

home for footings, foundation systems, anchoring systems, 

close up of the exterior and interior, additions and alterations, 

and all system connections done during initial installation. 

Such aspects shall be subject to and shall comply with the 

installation instructions provided by the manufacturer of the 

home.  

The amendments will ensure the installation of a 

manufactured home is in compliance with the federal 

installation standards by clarifying the certification and 

license requirements of the installer. 

Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 

Analysis: 

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. The 

Board of Housing and Community Development (Board) 

proposes to amend 13VAC5-95 Virginia Manufactured Home 

Safety Regulations to make it consistent with federal Housing 

and Urban Development (HUD) Manufactured Home 

Installation Standards.1 Specifically, the proposed 

amendments would add a definition for "certificate of 

installation," update the definition of "installer" and require 

installers to provide a copy of the certificate of installation to 

homeowners and/or local building officials.  

Background. The Board proposes to define "Certificate of 

installation" as "the certificate provided by the Virginia 

https://lis.virginia.gov/000/noc/meet.google.com/rqj-cmsq-rft
https://lis.virginia.gov/000/noc/www.townhall.virginia.gov
mailto:kyle.flanders@dhcd.virginia.gov
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Department of Professional and Occupational Regulation 

(DPOR) licensed installer, under the Virginia Manufactured 

Home Safety Regulations, indicating that a manufactured 

home has been installed in compliance with the federal 

installation standards." To mirror this, the Board would also 

modify the current definition of "installer," which is "the 

person or entity who is retained to engage in or who engages 

in the business of directing, supervising, controlling, or 

correcting the initial installation of a manufactured home." 

The new definition would add the requirement that the 

installer be "licensed through the Virginia Department of 

Professional and Occupational Regulation, with the 

Manufactured Home Contractor (MHC) license designation." 

The Board of Contractors created the MHC license 

designation as a distinct specialty classification as part of a 

periodic review in 2012.2 Therefore, this change in definition 

does not actually affect installers by imposing any new 

burden associated with licensing. Finally, the Board seeks to 

amend section 13VAC5-95-60 Installations to add the 

requirement that installers "shall provide a copy of the 

certificate of installation to the homeowner and when 

requested, to the local building official, prior to issuance of 

the certificate of occupancy." 

Estimated Benefits and Costs. The proposed amendments 

align the language in the regulation with federal requirements. 

To the extent that the federal requirements promote the 

protection of buyers and owners of manufactured housing, the 

proposed amendments would benefit buyers and owners of 

manufactured housing in Virginia by ensuring that these 

protections are extended to them.  

Installers of manufactured housing may face a small increase 

in costs from having to provide a certificate of installation, 

especially if local building officials start to require it prior to 

issuing a certificate of occupancy. However, such costs are 

likely to be nominal when compared with the installer's 

overall cost of doing business. 

Businesses and Other Entities Affected. Installers of 

manufactured housing would be affected. Applicants for the 

MHC license designation are required to complete 

manufactured home installer training that is offered by the 

Department of Housing and Community Development.3 

Based on the number of individuals who have completed this 

training, the Board estimates that up to 856 individuals would 

be affected by the requirement to provide a certificate of 

installation to the homeowner and local building official.4 

Adverse impact is indicated if there is any increase in net cost 

or reduction in net revenue for any entity, even if the benefits 

exceed the costs for all entities combined. While the benefits 

of increased protection of buyers and owners of manufactured 

housing may be substantial, there may be a small increase in 

costs for installers that is not directly offset. Thus, adverse 

impact is indicated for this action. 

Small Businesses5 Affected. The proposed amendments 

would affect small businesses that belong to or employ 

manufactured home installers. However, the cost of providing 

a certificate of installation is likely to be small and unlikely to 

have a disproportionate impact on small businesses.  

Localities6 Affected.7 The proposed amendments potentially 

affect installers of manufactured homes in all localities. The 

proposed amendments are unlikely to introduce new costs for 

local governments.  

Projected Impact on Employment. The proposed amendments 

are unlikely to cause any changes to total employment in the 

manufacturing, retail, or installation of manufactured housing. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. The 

proposed amendments are unlikely to affect the use or value 

of private property. Real estate development costs are 

unlikely to be affected. 

________________________ 

1See 24 CFR Part 3285: https://www.law.cornell.edu/cfr/text/24/part-3285 

2 See https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/ViewAction.cfm?actionid=2664 

3See https://www.dhcd.virginia.gov/sites/default/files/Docx/manufactured-

housing/how-to-mh-licensed-installer-2019.pdf for current requirements 

4Only 300 of these identified as installers; the rest are manufacturers, brokers, 

dealers and salespersons. See 

https://townhall.virginia.gov/l/GetFile.cfm?File=61\5248\8851\AgencyState

ment_DHCD_8851_v1.pdf 

5Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.04 of the Code of Virginia, small business is defined 

as "a business entity, including its affiliates, that (i) is independently owned 

and operated and (ii) employs fewer than 500 full-time employees or has 

gross annual sales of less than $6 million." 

6"Locality" can refer to either local governments or the locations in the 

Commonwealth where the activities relevant to the regulatory change are 

most likely to occur. 

7§ 2.2-4007.04 defines "particularly affected" as bearing disproportionate 

material impact. 

Agency's Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The 

Department of Housing and Community Development 

concurs with the economic impact analysis prepared by the 

Department of Planning and Budget. 

Summary: 

The proposed amendments are for consistency with federal 

Housing and Urban Development Manufactured Home 

Installation Standards and add a definition for "certificate 

of installation," update the definition of "installer," and 

require installers to provide a copy of the certificate of 

installation to homeowners or local building officials.  

13VAC5-95-10. Definitions.  

A. The following words and terms when used in this chapter 

shall have the following meanings unless the context clearly 

indicates otherwise:  

https://www.law.cornell.edu/cfr/text/24/part-3285
https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/ViewAction.cfm?actionid=2664
https://www.dhcd.virginia.gov/sites/default/files/Docx/manufactured-housing/how-to-mh-licensed-installer-2019.pdf
https://www.dhcd.virginia.gov/sites/default/files/Docx/manufactured-housing/how-to-mh-licensed-installer-2019.pdf
https://townhall.virginia.gov/l/GetFile.cfm?File=61/5248/8851/AgencyStatement_DHCD_8851_v1.pdf
https://townhall.virginia.gov/l/GetFile.cfm?File=61/5248/8851/AgencyStatement_DHCD_8851_v1.pdf
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"Administrator" means the Director of DHCD or his 

designee.  

"Certificate of installation" means the certificate provided by 

the Virginia Department of Professional and Occupational 

Regulation licensed installer, under the Virginia 

Manufactured Home Safety Regulations, indicating that a 

manufactured home has been installed in compliance with the 

federal installation standards. 

"DHCD" means the Virginia Department of Housing and 

Community Development.  

"Dealer" means any person engaged in the sale, lease, or 

distribution of manufactured homes primarily to persons who 

in good faith purchase or lease a manufactured home for 

purposes other than resale.  

"Defect" means a failure to comply with an applicable 

federal manufactured home construction and safety standard 

that renders the manufactured home or any part of the home 

unfit for the ordinary use of which it was intended, but does 

not result in an imminent risk of death or severe personal 

injury to occupants of the affected home.  

"Distributor" means any person engaged in the sale and 

distribution of manufactured homes for resale.  

"Federal Act" means the National Manufactured Housing 

Construction and Safety Standards Act of 1974, as amended 

(42 USC § 5401 et seq.).  

"Federal installation standards" means the federal Model 

Manufactured Home Installation Standards (24 CFR Part 

3285).  

"Federal regulations" means the federal Manufactured Home 

Procedural and Enforcement Regulations (24 CFR Part 3282).  

"HUD" means the United States Department of Housing and 

Urban Development.  

"Imminent safety hazard" means a hazard that presents an 

imminent and unreasonable risk of death or severe personal 

injury that may or may not be related to failure to comply 

with an applicable federal manufactured home construction or 

safety standard.  

"Installation" means completion of work to include, but not 

be limited to, stabilizing, supporting, anchoring, and closing 

up a manufactured home and joining sections of a multi-

section manufactured home, when any such work is governed 

by the federal installation standards.  

"Installer" means the person or entity, licensed through the 

Virginia Department of Professional and Occupational 

Regulation, with the Manufactured Home Contractor (MHC) 

license designation, who is retained to engage in or who 

engages in the business of directing, supervising, controlling, 

or correcting the initial installation of a manufactured home.  

"Label," "certification label," or "HUD label" means the 

certification label prescribed by the federal standards.  

"Local building official" means the officer or other 

designated authority charged with the administration and 

enforcement of USBC, or duly authorized representative.  

"Manufactured home" means a structure subject to federal 

regulation, which is transportable in one or more sections; is 

eight body feet or more in width and 40 body feet or more in 

length in the traveling mode, or is 320 or more square feet 

when erected on site; is built on a permanent chassis; is 

designed to be used as a single-family dwelling, with or 

without a permanent foundation, when connected to the 

required utilities; and includes the plumbing, heating, air 

conditioning, and electrical systems contained in the 

structure.  

"Manufacturer" means any person engaged in manufacturing 

or assembling manufactured homes, including any person 

engaged in importing manufactured homes.  

"Noncompliance" means a failure of a manufactured home 

to comply with a federal manufactured home construction or 

safety standard that does not constitute a defect, serious 

defect, or imminent safety hazard.  

"Purchaser" means the first person purchasing a 

manufactured home in good faith for purposes other than 

resale.  

"Secretary" means the Secretary of HUD.  

"Serious defect" means any failure to comply with an 

applicable federal manufactured home construction and safety 

standard that renders the manufactured home or any part 

thereof not fit for the ordinary use for which it was intended 

and which results in an unreasonable risk of injury or death to 

occupants of the affected manufactured home.  

"Standards" or "federal standards" means the federal 

Manufactured Home Construction and Safety Standards 

(24 CFR Part 3280) adopted by HUD, in accordance with 

authority in the Federal Act. The standards were enacted 

December 18, 1975, and amended May 11, 1976, to become 

effective June 15, 1976.  

"State administrative agency" or "SAA" means DHCD, 

which is responsible for the administration and enforcement 

of Chapter 4.1 (§ 36-85.2 et seq.) of Title 36 of the Code of 

Virginia throughout Virginia and of the plan authorized by 

§ 36-85.5 of the Code of Virginia.  

"USBC" means the Virginia Uniform Statewide Building 

Code (13VAC5-63).  

B. Terms defined within the federal regulations and federal 

standards shall have the same meanings in this chapter.  
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13VAC5-95-60. Installations.  

Distributors, installers, or dealers Installers setting up a 

manufactured home shall perform such installation in 

accordance with the manufacturer's installation instructions 

and shall provide a copy of the certificate of installation to the 

homeowner and when requested, to the local building official 

prior to issuance of the certificate of occupancy. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R19-5981; Filed August 17, 2020, 2:17 p.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 14. INSURANCE 

STATE CORPORATION COMMISSION 

Proposed Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The State Corporation 

Commission is claiming an exemption from the 

Administrative Process Act in accordance with § 2.2-4002 A 

2 of the Code of Virginia, which exempts courts, any agency 

of the Supreme Court, and any agency that by the 

Constitution is expressly granted any of the powers of a court 

of record. 

Title of Regulation: 14VAC5-430. Insurance Data Security 

Risk Assessment and Reporting (adding 14VAC5-430-10 

through 14VAC5-430-70).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 12.1-13 and 38.2-223 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: A public hearing will be held 

upon request. 

Public Comment Deadline: October 26, 2020. 

Agency Contact: Katie Johnson, Insurance Policy Advisor, 

State Corporation Commission, Bureau of Insurance, P.O. 

Box 1157, Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 371-9688, 

FAX (804) 371-9873, or email 

katie.johnson@scc.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The proposed action implements the provisions of the 

Insurance Data Security Act (§ 38.2-621 et seq. of the 

Code of Virginia), Chapter 264 of the 2020 Acts of 

Assembly, and establishes cybersecurity initiatives and 

notification procedures for insurers, insurance agencies, 

and licensees or third-party providers. 

AT RICHMOND, AUGUST 13, 2020 

COMMONWEALTH OF VIRGINIA, ex rel. 

STATE CORPORATION COMMISSION 

CASE NO. INS-2020-00168 

Ex Parte: In the matter of Adopting 

Rules to Implement the Requirements 

of the Insurance Data Security Act 

ORDER TO TAKE NOTICE 

Section 12.1-13 of the Code of Virginia ("Code") provides 

that the State Corporation Commission ("Commission") shall 

have the power to promulgate rules and regulations in the 

enforcement and administration of all laws within its 

jurisdiction, and § 38.2-223 of the Code provides that the 

Commission may issue any rules and regulations necessary or 

appropriate for the administration and enforcement of Title 

38.2 of the Code. 

The rules and regulations issued by the Commission 

pursuant to § 38.2-223 of the Code are set forth in Title 14 of 

the Virginia Administrative Code.  The Bureau of Insurance 

("Bureau") has submitted to the Commission proposed 

additions to the rules set forth in Title 14 of the Virginia 

Administrative Code, by adding Chapter 430, entitled Rules 

Governing Insurance Data Security Risk Assessment and 

Reporting, 14VAC5-430-10 et seq. ("Rules"). A copy of this 

order may also be found at the Commission's website: 

https://nam02.safelinks.protection.outlook.com/?url=https%3

A%2F%2Fscc.virginia.gov%2Fpages%2FCase-

Information&data=02%7C01%7CKay.Burnett%40scc.virgini

a.gov%7C157efef3cdc94c0d5a9608d7e61b819f%7C1791a7f

12629474f8283d4da7899c3be%7C0%7C0%7C63723087812

6517667&sdata=VPqe1SvcD3566J1vUBAwTX2PYkCCNH

7KK3Knw2xNGFY%3D&reserved=0.  

The addition of Chapter 430 to Title 14 of the Virginia 

Administrative Code is necessary to implement the provisions 

of Title 38.2, Chapter 6, Article 2, known as the Insurance 

Data Security Act, § 38.2-621, et seq. of the Code which was 

added during the 2020 General Assembly (Chapter 0264 of 

the 2020 Acts of Assembly), which requires that certain 

cybersecurity initiatives and notification procedures be 

implemented by insurers, insurance agencies and licensees or 

third-party providers defined or governed by Title 38.2 of the 

Code. The proposed revisions as contained in Chapter 430 of 

the Virginia Administrative Code include the following: 

• Requirements for implementing a periodic Information 

Security Program Risk Assessment, which will, among 

other things, identify internal or external cybersecurity 

threats and address safeguards to manage the potential 

threats. 

• Requirements for implementing Information Security 

Program Security Measures to manage, protect against 

and respond to cybersecurity threats.  

• Requirements and obligations of the Bureau's licensees 

who engage third-party providers to ensure compliance 

with the Code and the Rules. 

mailto:katie.johnson@scc.virginia.gov
https://nam02.safelinks.protection.outlook.com/?url=https%3A%2F%2Fscc.virginia.gov%2Fpages%2FCase-Information&data=02%7C01%7CKay.Burnett%40scc.virginia.gov%7C157efef3cdc94c0d5a9608d7e61b819f%7C1791a7f12629474f8283d4da7899c3be%7C0%7C0%7C637230878126517667&sdata=VPqe1SvcD3566J1vUBAwTX2PYkCCNH7KK3Knw2xNGFY%3D&reserved=0
https://nam02.safelinks.protection.outlook.com/?url=https%3A%2F%2Fscc.virginia.gov%2Fpages%2FCase-Information&data=02%7C01%7CKay.Burnett%40scc.virginia.gov%7C157efef3cdc94c0d5a9608d7e61b819f%7C1791a7f12629474f8283d4da7899c3be%7C0%7C0%7C637230878126517667&sdata=VPqe1SvcD3566J1vUBAwTX2PYkCCNH7KK3Knw2xNGFY%3D&reserved=0
https://nam02.safelinks.protection.outlook.com/?url=https%3A%2F%2Fscc.virginia.gov%2Fpages%2FCase-Information&data=02%7C01%7CKay.Burnett%40scc.virginia.gov%7C157efef3cdc94c0d5a9608d7e61b819f%7C1791a7f12629474f8283d4da7899c3be%7C0%7C0%7C637230878126517667&sdata=VPqe1SvcD3566J1vUBAwTX2PYkCCNH7KK3Knw2xNGFY%3D&reserved=0
https://nam02.safelinks.protection.outlook.com/?url=https%3A%2F%2Fscc.virginia.gov%2Fpages%2FCase-Information&data=02%7C01%7CKay.Burnett%40scc.virginia.gov%7C157efef3cdc94c0d5a9608d7e61b819f%7C1791a7f12629474f8283d4da7899c3be%7C0%7C0%7C637230878126517667&sdata=VPqe1SvcD3566J1vUBAwTX2PYkCCNH7KK3Knw2xNGFY%3D&reserved=0
https://nam02.safelinks.protection.outlook.com/?url=https%3A%2F%2Fscc.virginia.gov%2Fpages%2FCase-Information&data=02%7C01%7CKay.Burnett%40scc.virginia.gov%7C157efef3cdc94c0d5a9608d7e61b819f%7C1791a7f12629474f8283d4da7899c3be%7C0%7C0%7C637230878126517667&sdata=VPqe1SvcD3566J1vUBAwTX2PYkCCNH7KK3Knw2xNGFY%3D&reserved=0
https://nam02.safelinks.protection.outlook.com/?url=https%3A%2F%2Fscc.virginia.gov%2Fpages%2FCase-Information&data=02%7C01%7CKay.Burnett%40scc.virginia.gov%7C157efef3cdc94c0d5a9608d7e61b819f%7C1791a7f12629474f8283d4da7899c3be%7C0%7C0%7C637230878126517667&sdata=VPqe1SvcD3566J1vUBAwTX2PYkCCNH7KK3Knw2xNGFY%3D&reserved=0
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• Requirements for reporting cybersecurity events to the 

Commissioner of Insurance and maintaining related 

records.  

NOW THE COMMISSION, is of the opinion that the 

proposed revisions submitted by the Bureau to revise Title 14 

of the Virginia Administrative Code by adding Chapter 430, 

Rules 14VAC5-430-10 through 14VAC5-430-70, should be 

considered for adoption with a proposed effective date of 

December 1, 2020.  

Accordingly, IT IS ORDERED THAT: 

(1) The proposal to add Rules 14VAC5-430-10 through 

14VAC5-430-70 is attached hereto and made a part hereof. 

(2) All interested persons who desire to comment in support 

of or in opposition to, or request a hearing to oppose the 

revisions to the Rules, shall file such comments or hearing 

request on or before October 26, 2020, with the Clerk of the 

Commission, State Corporation Commission, c/o Document 

Control Center, P.O. Box 2118, Richmond, Virginia 23218 

and shall refer to Case No. INS-2020-00168. Interested 

persons desiring to submit comments electronically may do 

so by following the instructions at the Commission's website: 

https://nam02.safelinks.protection.outlook.com/?url=https%3

A%2F%2Fscc.virginia.gov%2Fcasecomments%2FSubmit-

Public-Comments&data=02%7C01%7CKay.Burnett%40scc. 

virginia.gov%7C157efef3cdc94c0d5a9608d7e61b819f%7C1

791a7f12629474f8283d4da7899c3be%7C0%7C0%7C63723

0878126517667&sdata=oKCbezmtcok%2BgWik%2FMo1Ee

UHWfn5rKheq3sVnUhgAR4%3D&reserved=0. All 

comments shall reference Case No. INS-2020-00168. 

(3) If no written request for a hearing on the proposal to 

revise the Rules, as outlined in this Order, is received on or 

before October 26, 2020, the Commission, upon 

consideration of any comments submitted in support of or in 

opposition to the proposal, may adopt the Rules as submitted 

by the Bureau. 

(4) The Bureau shall provide notice of the proposal to revise 

the Rules to all insurers, burial societies, fraternal benefit 

societies, health services plans, risk retention groups, joint 

underwriting associations, group self-insurance pools, and 

group self-insurance associations licensed by the 

Commission, to qualified reinsurers in Virginia, and to all 

interested persons. 

(5) The Commission's Division of Information Resources 

shall cause a copy of this Order, together with the proposal to 

revise the Rules, to be forwarded to the Virginia Registrar of 

Regulations for appropriate publication in the Virginia 

Register of Regulations. 

(6) The Commission's Division of Information Resources 

shall make available this Order and the attached proposed 

revisions to the Rules on the Commission's website: 

https://nam02.safelinks.protection.outlook.com/?url=https%3

A%2F%2Fscc.virginia.gov%2Fpages%2FCase-

Information&data=02%7C01%7CKay.Burnett%40scc.virgini

a.gov%7C157efef3cdc94c0d5a9608d7e61b819f%7C1791a7f

12629474f8283d4da7899c3be%7C0%7C0%7C63723087812

6517667&sdata=VPqe1SvcD3566J1vUBAwTX2PYkCCNH

7KK3Knw2xNGFY%3D&reserved=0.  

(7) The Bureau shall file with the Clerk of the Commission 

an affidavit of compliance with the notice requirements of 

Ordering Paragraph (4) above. 

(8) This matter is continued.  

A copy of this Order shall be sent by the Clerk of the 

Commission to: C. Meade Browder, Jr., Senior Assistant 

Attorney General, Office of the Attorney General, Division of 

Consumer Counsel, by electronic mail at 

MBrowder@oag.state.va.us, and by first class mail, postage 

prepaid to 202 N. 9th Street, 8th Floor, Richmond, Virginia 

23219-3424; and a copy hereof shall be delivered to the 

Commission's Office of General Counsel and the Bureau of 

Insurance in care of Deputy Commissioner Donald C. Beatty. 

CHAPTER 430 

INSURANCE DATA SECURITY RISK ASSESSMENT 

AND REPORTING 

14VAC5-430-10. Applicability and scope. 

This chapter sets forth rules to carry out the provisions of 

the Insurance Data Security Act, Article 2 (§ 38.2-621, et 

seq.) of Chapter 6 of Title 38.2 of the Code of Virginia, and 

sets minimum standards for risk assessment and security 

standards required of all licensees. However, as outlined, the 

specific requirements for licensees may differ in certain 

circumstances, depending on the size and complexity of the 

licensee. This chapter applies to and protects physical and 

electronic data, including nonpublic information, stored, 

transmitted, and processed across various information 

systems or any other media used by licensees. 

14VAC5-430-20. Severability. 

If any provision of this chapter or its application to any 

person or circumstance is for any reason held to be invalid by 

a court or the commission, the remainder of this chapter and 

the application of the provisions to other persons or 

circumstances shall not be affected. 

14VAC5-430-30. Definitions. 

The following word and terms when used in this chapter 

shall have the following meanings, unless context clearly 

indicates otherwise:  

"Authorized person" means a person known to and 

authorized by the licensee and determined to be necessary and 

appropriate to have access to the nonpublic information held 

by the licensee and its information systems. 

"Bureau" means the Bureau of Insurance. 

https://nam02.safelinks.protection.outlook.com/?url=https%3A%2F%2Fscc.virginia.gov%2Fcasecomments%2FSubmit-Public-Comments&data=02%7C01%7CKay.Burnett%40scc.virginia.gov%7C157efef3cdc94c0d5a9608d7e61b819f%7C1791a7f12629474f8283d4da7899c3be%7C0%7C0%7C637230878126517667&sdata=oKCbezmtcok%2BgWik%2FMo1EeUHWfn5rKheq3sVnUhgAR4%3D&reserved=0
https://nam02.safelinks.protection.outlook.com/?url=https%3A%2F%2Fscc.virginia.gov%2Fcasecomments%2FSubmit-Public-Comments&data=02%7C01%7CKay.Burnett%40scc.virginia.gov%7C157efef3cdc94c0d5a9608d7e61b819f%7C1791a7f12629474f8283d4da7899c3be%7C0%7C0%7C637230878126517667&sdata=oKCbezmtcok%2BgWik%2FMo1EeUHWfn5rKheq3sVnUhgAR4%3D&reserved=0
https://nam02.safelinks.protection.outlook.com/?url=https%3A%2F%2Fscc.virginia.gov%2Fcasecomments%2FSubmit-Public-Comments&data=02%7C01%7CKay.Burnett%40scc.virginia.gov%7C157efef3cdc94c0d5a9608d7e61b819f%7C1791a7f12629474f8283d4da7899c3be%7C0%7C0%7C637230878126517667&sdata=oKCbezmtcok%2BgWik%2FMo1EeUHWfn5rKheq3sVnUhgAR4%3D&reserved=0
https://nam02.safelinks.protection.outlook.com/?url=https%3A%2F%2Fscc.virginia.gov%2Fcasecomments%2FSubmit-Public-Comments&data=02%7C01%7CKay.Burnett%40scc.virginia.gov%7C157efef3cdc94c0d5a9608d7e61b819f%7C1791a7f12629474f8283d4da7899c3be%7C0%7C0%7C637230878126517667&sdata=oKCbezmtcok%2BgWik%2FMo1EeUHWfn5rKheq3sVnUhgAR4%3D&reserved=0
https://nam02.safelinks.protection.outlook.com/?url=https%3A%2F%2Fscc.virginia.gov%2Fcasecomments%2FSubmit-Public-Comments&data=02%7C01%7CKay.Burnett%40scc.virginia.gov%7C157efef3cdc94c0d5a9608d7e61b819f%7C1791a7f12629474f8283d4da7899c3be%7C0%7C0%7C637230878126517667&sdata=oKCbezmtcok%2BgWik%2FMo1EeUHWfn5rKheq3sVnUhgAR4%3D&reserved=0
https://nam02.safelinks.protection.outlook.com/?url=https%3A%2F%2Fscc.virginia.gov%2Fcasecomments%2FSubmit-Public-Comments&data=02%7C01%7CKay.Burnett%40scc.virginia.gov%7C157efef3cdc94c0d5a9608d7e61b819f%7C1791a7f12629474f8283d4da7899c3be%7C0%7C0%7C637230878126517667&sdata=oKCbezmtcok%2BgWik%2FMo1EeUHWfn5rKheq3sVnUhgAR4%3D&reserved=0
https://nam02.safelinks.protection.outlook.com/?url=https%3A%2F%2Fscc.virginia.gov%2Fcasecomments%2FSubmit-Public-Comments&data=02%7C01%7CKay.Burnett%40scc.virginia.gov%7C157efef3cdc94c0d5a9608d7e61b819f%7C1791a7f12629474f8283d4da7899c3be%7C0%7C0%7C637230878126517667&sdata=oKCbezmtcok%2BgWik%2FMo1EeUHWfn5rKheq3sVnUhgAR4%3D&reserved=0
https://nam02.safelinks.protection.outlook.com/?url=https%3A%2F%2Fscc.virginia.gov%2Fpages%2FCase-Information&data=02%7C01%7CKay.Burnett%40scc.virginia.gov%7C157efef3cdc94c0d5a9608d7e61b819f%7C1791a7f12629474f8283d4da7899c3be%7C0%7C0%7C637230878126517667&sdata=VPqe1SvcD3566J1vUBAwTX2PYkCCNH7KK3Knw2xNGFY%3D&reserved=0
https://nam02.safelinks.protection.outlook.com/?url=https%3A%2F%2Fscc.virginia.gov%2Fpages%2FCase-Information&data=02%7C01%7CKay.Burnett%40scc.virginia.gov%7C157efef3cdc94c0d5a9608d7e61b819f%7C1791a7f12629474f8283d4da7899c3be%7C0%7C0%7C637230878126517667&sdata=VPqe1SvcD3566J1vUBAwTX2PYkCCNH7KK3Knw2xNGFY%3D&reserved=0
https://nam02.safelinks.protection.outlook.com/?url=https%3A%2F%2Fscc.virginia.gov%2Fpages%2FCase-Information&data=02%7C01%7CKay.Burnett%40scc.virginia.gov%7C157efef3cdc94c0d5a9608d7e61b819f%7C1791a7f12629474f8283d4da7899c3be%7C0%7C0%7C637230878126517667&sdata=VPqe1SvcD3566J1vUBAwTX2PYkCCNH7KK3Knw2xNGFY%3D&reserved=0
https://nam02.safelinks.protection.outlook.com/?url=https%3A%2F%2Fscc.virginia.gov%2Fpages%2FCase-Information&data=02%7C01%7CKay.Burnett%40scc.virginia.gov%7C157efef3cdc94c0d5a9608d7e61b819f%7C1791a7f12629474f8283d4da7899c3be%7C0%7C0%7C637230878126517667&sdata=VPqe1SvcD3566J1vUBAwTX2PYkCCNH7KK3Knw2xNGFY%3D&reserved=0
https://nam02.safelinks.protection.outlook.com/?url=https%3A%2F%2Fscc.virginia.gov%2Fpages%2FCase-Information&data=02%7C01%7CKay.Burnett%40scc.virginia.gov%7C157efef3cdc94c0d5a9608d7e61b819f%7C1791a7f12629474f8283d4da7899c3be%7C0%7C0%7C637230878126517667&sdata=VPqe1SvcD3566J1vUBAwTX2PYkCCNH7KK3Knw2xNGFY%3D&reserved=0
https://nam02.safelinks.protection.outlook.com/?url=https%3A%2F%2Fscc.virginia.gov%2Fpages%2FCase-Information&data=02%7C01%7CKay.Burnett%40scc.virginia.gov%7C157efef3cdc94c0d5a9608d7e61b819f%7C1791a7f12629474f8283d4da7899c3be%7C0%7C0%7C637230878126517667&sdata=VPqe1SvcD3566J1vUBAwTX2PYkCCNH7KK3Knw2xNGFY%3D&reserved=0
https://nam02.safelinks.protection.outlook.com/?url=https%3A%2F%2Fscc.virginia.gov%2Fpages%2FCase-Information&data=02%7C01%7CKay.Burnett%40scc.virginia.gov%7C157efef3cdc94c0d5a9608d7e61b819f%7C1791a7f12629474f8283d4da7899c3be%7C0%7C0%7C637230878126517667&sdata=VPqe1SvcD3566J1vUBAwTX2PYkCCNH7KK3Knw2xNGFY%3D&reserved=0
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"Commissioner" means the Commissioner of Insurance. 

"Consumer" means an individual, including any applicant, 

policyholder, former policyholder, insured, beneficiary, 

claimant, and certificate holder, who is a resident of Virginia 

and whose nonpublic information is in the possession, 

custody, or control of a licensee or an authorized person.  

"Cybersecurity event" means an event resulting in 

unauthorized access to, disruption of, or misuse of an 

information system or nonpublic information in the 

possession, custody, or control of a licensee or an authorized 

person. "Cybersecurity event" does not include (i) the 

unauthorized acquisition of encrypted nonpublic information 

if the encryption, process, or key is not also acquired, 

released, or used without authorization or (ii) an event in 

which the licensee has determined that the nonpublic 

information accessed by an unauthorized person has not been 

used or released and has been returned or destroyed. 

"Encrypted" or "encryption" means the transformation of 

data into a form that results in a low probability of assigning 

meaning without the use of a protective process or key. 

"Home state" means the jurisdiction in which the producer 

maintains its principal place of residence or principal place of 

business and is licensed by that jurisdiction to act as a 

resident insurance producer. 

"Information security program" means the administrative, 

technical, and physical safeguards that a licensee uses to 

access, collect, distribute, process, protect, store, use, 

transmit, dispose of, or otherwise handle nonpublic 

information. 

"Information system" means a discrete set of electronic 

information resources organized for the collection, 

processing, maintenance, use, sharing, dissemination, or 

disposition of electronic information, as well as any 

specialized system, such as industrial or process control 

systems, telephone switching and private branch exchange 

systems, and environmental control systems. 

"Level one licensee" means any licensee with more than 10 

employees and authorized persons. 

"Level two licensee" means any licensee with 10 or fewer 

employees and authorized persons. A level two licensee may 

choose to comply with the requirements for a level one 

licensee. If a licensee ceases to qualify as a level two licensee, 

the licensee shall have 180 days from the date it ceases to 

qualify to comply with the requirements of a level one 

licensee. 

"Licensee" means any person licensed, authorized to 

operate, or registered, or required to be licensed, authorized, 

or registered pursuant to the insurance laws of Virginia. 

"Licensee" does not include a purchasing group or a risk 

retention group chartered and licensed in a state other than 

Virginia or a person that is acting as an assuming insurer that 

is domiciled in another state or jurisdiction. 

"Multi-factor authentication" means authentication through 

verification of at least two of the following types of 

authentication factors:  

1. Knowledge factors, such as a password; 

2. Possession factors, such as a token or text message on a 

mobile device; or 

3. Inherence factors, such as a biometric characteristic. 

"Nonpublic information" means information that is not 

publicly available information and is:  

1. Business-related information of a licensee the tampering 

with which, or the unauthorized disclosure, access, or use 

of which, would cause a material adverse impact to the 

business, operations, or security of the licensee;  

2. Any information concerning a consumer that because of 

name, number, personal mark, or other identifier can be 

used to identify such consumer, in any combination with a 

consumer's (i) social security number; (ii) driver's license 

number or nondriver identification card number; (iii) 

financial account, credit card, or debit card number; (iv) 

security code, access code, or password that would permit 

access to a consumer's financial account; (v) passport 

number; (vi) military identification number; or (vii) 

biometric records; or  

3. Any information or data, except age or gender, in any 

form or medium created by or derived from a health care 

provider or a consumer that can be used to identify a 

particular consumer, and that relates to (i) the past, present, 

or future physical, mental, or behavioral health or 

condition of any consumer or a member of the consumer's 

family; (ii) the provision of health care to any consumer; or 

(iii) payment for the provision of health care to any 

consumer. 

"Third-party service provider" means a person, not 

otherwise defined as a licensee, that contracts with a licensee 

to maintain, process, or store nonpublic information or 

otherwise is permitted access to nonpublic information 

through its provision of services to the licensee, or an 

insurance-support organization. 

14VAC5-430-40. Information security program risk 

assessment. 

A. In addition to the information security program 

requirements of § 38.2-623 of the Code of Virginia, each 

level one licensee shall conduct periodic risk assessments 

consistent with the objectives of the most current revision of 

NIST SP 800-30, NIST SP 800-39, or other substantially 

similar standard, taking into consideration the level one 

licensee's size and complexity.  
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1. Each level one licensee shall consider cybersecurity 

risks in its enterprise risk management process. 

2. Compliance with the provisions of this subsection is 

required for all level one licensees on or before (insert date 

one year from the effective date of this chapter). 

B. In addition to the information security program 

requirements of § 38.2-623 of the Code of Virginia, taking 

into consideration the level two licensee's size and 

complexity, each level two licensee shall conduct a periodic 

risk assessment consistent with the following elements: 

1. Identify reasonably foreseeable internal or external 

threats that could result in unauthorized access, 

transmission, disclosure, misuse, alteration, or destruction 

of nonpublic information held by a level two licensee;  

2. Assess the likelihood and potential damage of these 

threats taking into consideration the sensitivity of 

nonpublic information in the possession, custody, or 

control of the licensee and its authorized persons; 

3. Assess the sufficiency of policies, procedures, 

information systems, and other safeguards in place to 

manage these threats, including consideration of threats in 

each relevant area of the licensee's operations, such as 

employee training; information classification that includes 

the processing, storage, transmission, and disposal of 

information; and the detection, prevention, and response to 

attacks and intrusions; and  

4. Implement information safeguards to manage the threats 

identified in the licensee's ongoing assessment and, no less 

than annually, assess the effectiveness of the key controls, 

systems, and procedures. 

Compliance with the provisions of this subsection is 

required of all level two licensees on or before July 1, 2022. 

14VAC5-430-50. Information security program security 

measures. 

A. As part of its information security program and based on 

its risk assessments, each level one licensee shall implement 

the appropriate measures consistent with NIST SP 800-53, 

NIST SP 800-171, or any substantially similar framework 

based on these standards, taking into consideration its size 

and complexity. Compliance with the provisions of this 

subsection is required for all level one licensees on or before 

(insert date one year from the effective date of this chapter). 

B. As part of its information security program and based on 

its risk assessments, each level two licensee shall implement 

appropriate security measures as follows: 

1. Manage the data, personnel, devices, systems, and 

facilities of the licensee in accordance with its identified 

risk; 

2. Protect, by encryption or other appropriate means, all 

nonpublic information while being transmitted over an 

external network; 

3. Protect, by encryption or other appropriate means, all 

nonpublic information stored on portable computing, 

storage devices, or media; 

4. Adopt secure development practices for applications 

developed in-house and used by the licensee; 

5. Adopt procedures for evaluating and assessing the 

security of externally developed applications utilized by 

the licensee;  

6. Implement effective controls, including multi-factor 

authentication, for authorized individuals to access 

nonpublic information; and 

7. Use audit trails or audit logs designed to detect and 

respond to cybersecurity events and to reconstruct material 

financial transactions. 

Compliance with the provisions of this subsection is 

required of all level two licensees on or before July 1, 2022. 

C. Effective July 1, 2022, each licensee that utilizes a third-

party service provider shall: 

1. Exercise due diligence in selecting a third-party service 

provider; and 

2. Require the third-party service provider to implement 

appropriate administrative, technical, and physical 

measures to protect and secure the information systems and 

nonpublic information that are accessible to, or held by, the 

third-party service provider. 

14VAC5-430-60. Reporting cybersecurity events to the 

commissioner. 

A. Reporting cybersecurity events to the commissioner. 

1. Once a licensee has determined that a cybersecurity 

event has occurred and the licensee has a duty to report it 

to the commissioner pursuant to § 38.2-625 of the Code of 

Virginia, the licensee shall notify the commissioner within 

three business days that it has information to report, using 

the email address designated by the bureau. This 

notification should include the name, telephone number, 

and email address of the individual who is the licensee's 

designated contact for the cybersecurity event. 

2. Instructions for communicating the information required 

by § 38.2-625 of the Code of Virginia to the commissioner 

through a secure portal will be provided by the bureau in 

response to the email. 

3. The licensee shall update the commissioner on the 

progress of its investigation as information becomes 

known to the licensee until the licensee has provided all the 

information set forth in § 38.2-625 of the Code of Virginia. 
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4. If also required to notify consumers under § 38.2-626 of 

the Code of Virginia and 14VAC5-430-70, licensees shall 

(i) provide the commissioner with a copy of the notice 

template and any documentation provided to consumers 

and (ii) maintain a list of consumers notified and retain the 

list for the longer of five years or the timeframe established 

by § 38.2-624 D of the Code of Virginia. 

B. Except where nonpublic information has been accessed, 

once a domestic insurance company has notified the 

commissioner of the date, nature, and scope of the 

cybersecurity event, the company may report all remaining 

information required by § 38.2-625 of the Code of Virginia 

(i) annually in a separate report, (ii) in the certification 

described in § 38.2-623 H of the Code of Virginia, or (iii) on 

a continuing basis through the portal established for the 

company by the bureau for this purpose.  

C. Unless exempted by § 38.2-629 A 2 of the Code of 

Virginia, producers whose home state is Virginia shall report 

cybersecurity events to the commissioner in accordance with 

subsection A of this section.  

D. If required to report to the commissioner, nondomestic 

insurance companies, and, unless exempted under § 38.2-629 

A 2 of the Code of Virginia, producers whose home state is 

not Virginia shall notify the commissioner of the 

cybersecurity event pursuant to § 38.2-625 A 2 of the Code of 

Virginia as set forth in subsection A of this section. 

14VAC5-430-70. Consumer notification provisions. 

A. Licensees, except those exempted under § 38.2-629 A 2 

of the Code of Virginia, that determine a cybersecurity event 

has occurred and has caused or has a reasonable likelihood of 

causing identity theft or other fraud to consumers whose 

information was accessed or acquired shall notify those 

consumers in accordance with § 38.2-626 of the Code of 

Virginia, subject to any applicable numerical threshold. 

B. Each licensee required to notify consumers of a 

cybersecurity event that does not intend to notify consumers 

based on a belief that the cybersecurity event does not have a 

reasonable likelihood of causing identity theft or other fraud 

to the consumers shall notify the commissioner of its position 

and provide a detailed explanation supporting the licensee’s 

position. 

C. If, upon review of the report, the cybersecurity event does 

have a reasonable likelihood of causing identity theft or other 

fraud to the consumer, the commissioner may require the 

licensee to notify the affected consumers in accordance with § 

38.2-626 of the Code of Virginia. 

DOCUMENTS INCORPORATED BY REFERENCE 

(14VAC5-430) 

National Institute of Standards and Technology, Computer 

Security Division, Information Technology Laboratory, 100 

Bureau Drive (Mail Stop 8930), Gaithersburg, MD 20899-

8930, sec-cert@nist.gov 

NIST, Special Publication, Guide for Conducting Risk 

Assessments, 800-30 (rev. 1, 9/2012) 

NIST, Special Publication, Managing Information 

Security Risk Organization, Mission, and Information 

System View, 800-39 (eff. 3/2011) 

NIST, Special Publication, Security and Privacy Controls 

for Federal Information Systems and Organizations, 

800-53 (rev. 4, 4/2013) 

NIST, Special Publication, Protecting Controlled 

Unclassified Information, 800-171 (rev. 2, 2/2020) 

VA.R. Doc. No. R21-6459; Filed August 14, 2020, 1:13 p.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 18. PROFESSIONAL AND 
OCCUPATIONAL LICENSING 

BOARD OF DENTISTRY 

Proposed Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC60-21. Regulations Governing 

the Practice of Dentistry (amending 18VAC60-21-10, 

18VAC60-21-260 through 18VAC60-21-301).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 54.1-2400 and 54.1-2709.5 of the 

Code of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: 

October 9, 2020 - 1 p.m. - Department of Health 

Professions, Perimeter Center, 9960 Mayland Drive, 2nd 

Floor, Boardroom 3, Henrico, VA 23233 

Public Comment Deadline: November 13, 2020. 

Agency Contact: Sandra Reen, Executive Director, Board of 

Dentistry, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, Richmond, VA 

23233, telephone (804) 367-4437, FAX (804) 527-4428, or 

email sandra.reen@dhp.virginia.gov. 

Basis: Regulations are promulgated under the general 

authority of § 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia. Specific 

statutory reference to issuance of sedation and anesthesia 

permits and requirements for equipment standards are in 

§ 54.1-2709.5 of the Code of Virginia. 

Purpose: The regulatory advisory panel of experts and the 

members of the Board of Dentistry heard comment on the 

current regulations for administration of sedation and 

anesthesia and reviewed current guidelines published by the 

American Dental Association. Accordingly, amendments are 

recommended to allow for exception to rules if there are 

extenuating circumstances in providing care to certain 

patients. Amendments are also recommended to address 

http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=03968006459~50.pdf&typ=40&actno=006459&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=03968006459~50.pdf&typ=40&actno=006459&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=0146f006459~69.pdf&typ=40&actno=006459&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=0146f006459~69.pdf&typ=40&actno=006459&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=0146f006459~69.pdf&typ=40&actno=006459&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=63e6b006459~73.pdf&typ=40&actno=006459&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=63e6b006459~73.pdf&typ=40&actno=006459&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=63e6b006459~73.pdf&typ=40&actno=006459&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=80c67006459~81.pdf&typ=40&actno=006459&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=80c67006459~81.pdf&typ=40&actno=006459&mime=application/pdf
mailto:sandra.reen@dhp.virginia.gov
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concerns about patient safety, such as a requirement for a 

dentist to follow the regulations for the level of sedation that 

has been induced and a requirement for there to be a three-

person team in the administration of moderate sedation during 

a dental procedure. 

Administration of sedation and anesthesia in a dental office 

requires appropriate expertise, equipment, and monitoring in 

order to adequately and immediately address any adverse 

reaction or emergency situation. Regulations proposed by the 

board specify what is required to protect public health and 

safety in such administration. 

Substance: The substantive provisions being proposed 

include: 

• Clarification of supervision of certified registered nurse 

anesthetists; 

• Clarification that the regulations address administration 

to patients of any age, but that the specific guidelines for 

pediatric patients should be consulted when practicing 

pediatric dentistry; 

• Requirement for a focused physician examination to be 

included in the patient evaluation for administration of 

controlled substances; 

• Allowances for special needs patients in the evaluation 

for, administration of, and monitoring of sedation and 

anesthesia with documentation in the patient record of 

the extenuating circumstances that necessitate exceptions 

to regulatory requirements; 

• Clarification of the requirements for minimal sedation 

and inclusion of oxygen saturation with pulse oximeter as 

required equipment; 

• Requirement that the dentist must follow requirements 

for the level of sedation that has been induced and that 

administration of one drug in excess of recommended 

dosage or of two or more drugs, exceeds minimal 

sedation; 

• Clarification that no sedating medication can be 

administered to a child 12 years or younger prior to 

arrival at the dental office; 

• Clarification of use of the terms continuously and 

continually, as used in the context of the regulation; 

• Consideration of extenuating patient circumstances in 

the monitoring and discharge requirements; 

• Addition of oxygen saturation levels to the monitoring 

requirements; 

• Requirement for a three-person team for moderate 

sedation – the operating dentist, one person to monitor 

the patient, and one person to assist the dentist; 

• Clarification that requirements for moderate sedation or 

deep/general anesthesia must be followed by the dentist 

if he administers controlled substances or if he provides 

it in his office with someone else doing the 

administration; and  

• Requirement for a longer period of monitoring if a 

pharmacological reversal agent has been administered. 

Issues: The primary advantage to the public is more clarity 

and greater protection for patients in the administration of 

various levels of sedation or anesthesia in a dental office. 

There are no disadvantages. 

There are no advantages or disadvantages to the agency or the 

Commonwealth. 

Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 

Analysis: 

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. The 

Board of Dentistry (Board) proposes several amendments 

concerning administration of sedation or anesthesia in dental 

offices.  

Result of Analysis. The benefits likely exceed the costs for 

one or more proposed changes. For one other amendment, 

there is insufficient data to accurately compare the magnitude 

of the benefits versus the costs. 

Estimated Economic Impact. The Board proposes to make 

numerous changes to improve clarity. Amending language to 

improve clarity is beneficial in that there is reduced likelihood 

that those affected by the regulation and other interested 

members of the public misunderstand or are under-informed 

concerning requirements. 

The Board has heard comments from dentists describing 

patients and situations in which there are physical or mental 

conditions that make it impossible to follow the standard 

process for administration of sedation or anesthesia. Such 

conditions and circumstances at times preclude the patient 

from receiving needed dental care. The Board proposes to 

allow in selected circumstances sedation or general anesthesia 

without establishing an intravenous line. These selected 

circumstances include very brief procedures or periods of 

time within a procedure, or the establishment of intravenous 

access after deep sedation or general anesthesia that has been 

induced because of poor patient cooperation. To the extent 

that safety is not significantly compromised during these 

selected circumstances, this proposal should produce a net 

benefit in that affected patients would newly be able to get 

needed dental care. 

A pulse oximeter is currently required for monitoring oxygen 

saturation for minimal sedation, moderate sedation, and deep 

sedation. The Board proposes to also require that a pulse 

oximeter be used in sedation through inhalation analgesia 

(nitrous oxide only). A pulse oximeter costs approximately 

$15. To the extent that oxygen saturation problems may occur 
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in nitrous oxide only sedation, and that the use a pulse 

oximeter increases the likelihood that these problems are 

detected, this proposed amendment likely produces a net 

benefit.  

For moderate sedation,1 the current regulation requires that 

there be at least a two-person treatment team. The team must 

include the operating dentist and a second person to monitor 

the patient and to assist. The monitor may be a dental 

hygienist, dental assistant, or nurse who is under the 

operating dentist's direction, or another dentist, 

anesthesiologist, or certified registered nurse anesthetist.  

The Board proposes to require that the treatment team consist 

of at least three people with moderate sedation. The Board 

does not believe that the dentist doing the dental procedure 

nor the person assisting the operating dentist can 

appropriately monitor the patient while doing other duties. 

Based upon public comment, there are dentists who believe 

that a two-person team is sufficient for patient safety.  

Adding a third person to the team would add costs for dental 

practices that are not already using a three-person (or more) 

treatment team. Some practices may have to hire entirely new 

staff. Of the professions that would qualify to be the third 

person in the team, dental assistant would be the least costly 

to hire.2 Dental assistants earn on average $44,640 in wages 

annually in the Commonwealth.3 This figure does not include 

benefits. 

Other practices may be able to take existing staff away from 

their existing duties for part of the workday. This produces 

cost as well; these employees would not be producing the 

work associated with their existing duties during the time 

they are taken away to be the third member of the moderate 

sedation treatment team. The value (per hour) of this cost can 

be estimated to be the average hourly wage of these workers. 

Dental assistants earn on average $21.46 per hour in 

Virginia.4  

Adding a third person to the treatment team may or may not 

make a large difference in patient safety for moderate 

sedation. Without this information, an accurate comparison of 

the benefits to the costs cannot be made.  

Businesses and Entities Affected. The proposed amendments 

affect dental practices and other venues where dental services 

are provided. Most would qualify as small businesses. There 

are 7,463 dentists licensed in Virginia.  

Localities Particularly Affected. The proposed amendments 

do not disproportionately affect particular localities.  

Projected Impact on Employment. The proposal to require 

that at least three people be part of the treatment team for 

moderate sedation may result in some dental practices hiring 

additional staff. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. The 

proposal to require that at least three people be part of the 

treatment team for moderate sedation would increase costs for 

dental practices that provide moderate sedation and do not 

already include at least three people as part of the treatment 

team. This may moderately reduce the net value of affected 

dental practices. 

Real Estate Development Costs. The proposed amendments 

do not affect real estate development costs. 

Small Businesses:  

Definition. Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.04 of the Code of Virginia, 

small business is defined as "a business entity, including its 

affiliates, that (i) is independently owned and operated and 

(ii) employs fewer than 500 full-time employees or has gross 

annual sales of less than $6 million." 

Costs and Other Effects. The proposal to require that at least 

three people be part of the treatment team for moderate 

sedation would increase costs for dental practices that utilize 

moderate sedation and do not already include at least three 

people as part of the treatment team. 

Alternative Method that Minimizes Adverse Impact. If adding 

a third person to moderate sedation treatment teams makes a 

large difference in patient safety, then there are no clear 

alternative methods that both reduce adverse impact and meet 

the intended policy goals. If adding a third person to moderate 

sedation treatment teams does not make a large difference in 

patient safety, then eliminating the proposed required third 

person would reduce adverse impact without significantly 

affecting the policy goal of patient safety. 

Adverse Impacts: 

Businesses. The proposal to require that at least three people 

be part of the treatment team for moderate sedation would 

increase costs for dental practices that utilize moderate 

sedation and do not already include at least three people as 

part of the treatment team. 

Localities. The proposed amendments are unlikely to 

adversely affect localities. 

Other Entities. The proposed amendments are unlikely to 

adversely affect other entities. 

____________________________ 

1Adverse impact is indicated if there is any increase in net cost for any entity, 

even if the benefits exceed the costs for all entities combined. 

2Moderate sedation is defined as "a drug-induced depression of 

consciousness, during which patients respond purposefully to verbal 

commands, either alone or accompanied by light tactile stimulation. Reflex 

withdrawal from a painful stimulus is not considered a purposeful response. 

No interventions are required to maintain a patent airway, and spontaneous 

ventilation is adequate. Cardiovascular function is usually maintained." 

3See U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics State Occupational Employment and 

Wage Estimates: https://www.bls.gov/oes/current/oes_va.htm 

4Ibid 

5Ibid 

https://www.bls.gov/oes/current/oes_va.htm
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Agency's Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The Board 

of Dentistry concurs with the economic impact analysis of the 

Department of Planning and Budget. 

Summary: 

The proposed amendments include (i) clarification of 

supervision of certified registered nurse anesthetists; (ii) 

clarification that the regulations address administration to 

patients of any age, but that the specific guidelines for 

pediatric patients should be consulted when practicing 

pediatric dentistry; (iii) a requirement for a focused 

physician examination to be included in the patient 

evaluation for administration of controlled substances; (iv) 

allowances for special needs patients in the evaluation for, 

administration of, and monitoring of sedation and 

anesthesia with documentation in the patient record of the 

extenuating circumstances that necessitate exceptions to 

regulatory requirements; (v) clarification of the 

requirements for minimal sedation and inclusion of oxygen 

saturation with pulse oximeter as required equipment; (vi) 

requirements that the dentist must follow requirements for 

the level of sedation that has been induced and that 

administration of one drug in excess of recommended 

dosage, or of two or more drugs, exceeds minimal 

sedation; (vii) clarification that no sedating medication 

can be administered to a child 12 years or younger prior to 

arrival at the dental office; (viii) clarification of use of the 

terms "continuously" and "continually"; (ix) consideration 

of extenuating patient circumstances in the monitoring and 

discharge requirements; (x) addition of oxygen saturation 

levels to the monitoring requirements; (xi) a requirement 

for a three-person team for moderate sedation, including 

the operating dentist, one person to monitor the patient, 

and one person to assist the dentist; (xii) clarification that 

requirements for moderate sedation or deep/general 

anesthesia must be followed by the dentist if the dentist 

administers controlled substances or if the dentist provides 

it in dentist office with someone else doing the 

administration; and (xiii) requirement of a longer period 

of monitoring if a pharmacological reversal agent has 

been administered.  

Part I 

General Provisions 

18VAC60-21-10. Definitions. 

A. The following words and terms when used in this chapter 

shall have the meanings ascribed to them in § 54.1-2700 of 

the Code of Virginia:  

"Board"  

"Dental hygiene" 

"Dental hygienist" 

"Dentist" 

"Dentistry" 

"License" 

"Maxillofacial" 

"Oral and maxillofacial surgeon" 

B. The following words and terms when used in this chapter 

shall have the following meanings unless the context clearly 

indicates otherwise:  

"AAOMS" means the American Association of Oral and 

Maxillofacial Surgeons.  

"ADA" means the American Dental Association. 

"Advertising" means a representation or other notice given 

to the public or members thereof, directly or indirectly, by 

a dentist on behalf of himself, his facility, his partner or 

associate, or any dentist affiliated with the dentist or his 

facility by any means or method for the purpose of 

inducing purchase, sale, or use of dental methods, services, 

treatments, operations, procedures, or products, or to 

promote continued or increased use of such dental 

methods, treatments, operations, procedures, or products. 

"CODA" means the Commission on Dental Accreditation 

of the American Dental Association. 

"Code" means the Code of Virginia. 

"Dental assistant I" means any unlicensed person under the 

direction of a dentist or a dental hygienist who renders 

assistance for services provided to the patient as authorized 

under this chapter but shall not include an individual 

serving in purely an administrative, secretarial, or clerical 

capacity. 

"Dental assistant II" means a person under the direction 

and direct supervision of a dentist who is registered by the 

board to perform reversible, intraoral procedures as 

specified in 18VAC60-21-150 and 18VAC60-21-160.  

"Mobile dental facility" means a self-contained unit in 

which dentistry is practiced that is not confined to a single 

building and can be transported from one location to 

another. 

"Nonsurgical laser" means a laser that is not capable of 

cutting or removing hard tissue, soft tissue, or tooth 

structure. 

"Portable dental operation" means a nonfacility in which 

dental equipment used in the practice of dentistry is 

transported to and utilized on a temporary basis at an out-

of-office location, including patients' homes, schools, 

nursing homes, or other institutions. 

"Radiographs" means intraoral and extraoral radiographic 

images of hard and soft tissues used for purposes of 

diagnosis.  
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C. The following words and terms relating to supervision as 

used in this chapter shall have the following meanings unless 

the context clearly indicates otherwise:  

"Direct supervision" means that the dentist examines the 

patient and records diagnostic findings prior to delegating 

restorative or prosthetic treatment and related services to a 

dental assistant II for completion the same day or at a later 

date. The dentist prepares the tooth or teeth to be restored 

and remains immediately available in the office to the 

dental assistant II for guidance or assistance during the 

delivery of treatment and related services. The dentist 

examines the patient to evaluate the treatment and services 

before the patient is dismissed.  

"Direction" means the level of supervision (i.e., immediate, 

direct, indirect, or general) that a dentist is required to 

exercise with a dental hygienist, a dental assistant I, or a 

dental assistant II, or a certified registered nurse anesthetist 

or the level of supervision that a dental hygienist is 

required to exercise with a dental assistant to direct and 

oversee the delivery of treatment and related services. 

"General supervision" means that a dentist completes a 

periodic comprehensive examination of the patient and 

issues a written order for hygiene treatment that states the 

specific services to be provided by a dental hygienist 

during one or more subsequent appointments when the 

dentist may or may not be present. Issuance of the order 

authorizes the dental hygienist to supervise a dental 

assistant performing duties delegable to dental assistants I. 

"Immediate supervision" means the dentist is in the 

operatory to supervise the administration of sedation or 

provision of treatment. 

"Indirect supervision" means the dentist examines the 

patient at some point during the appointment and is 

continuously present in the office to advise and assist a 

dental hygienist or, a dental assistant, or a certified 

registered nurse anesthetist who is (i) delivering hygiene 

treatment, (ii) preparing the patient for examination or 

treatment by the dentist, or (iii) preparing the patient for 

dismissal following treatment, or (iv) administering topical 

local anesthetic, sedation, or anesthesia as authorized by 

law or regulation. 

"Remote supervision" means that a supervising dentist is 

accessible and available for communication and 

consultation with a dental hygienist during the delivery of 

dental hygiene services but such dentist may not have 

conducted an initial examination of the patients who are to 

be seen and treated by the dental hygienist and may not be 

present with the dental hygienist when dental hygiene 

services are being provided. For the purpose of practice by 

a public health dental hygienist, "remote supervision" 

means that a public health dentist has regular, periodic 

communications with a public health dental hygienist 

regarding patient treatment, but such dentist may not have 

conducted an initial examination of the patients who are to 

be seen and treated by the dental hygienist and may not be 

present with the dental hygienist when dental hygiene 

services are being provided. 

D. The following words and terms relating to sedation or 

anesthesia as used in this chapter shall have the following 

meanings unless the context clearly indicates otherwise: 

"Analgesia" means the diminution or elimination of pain. 

"Continual" or "continually" means repeated regularly and 

frequently in a steady succession. 

"Continuous" or "continuously" means prolonged without 

any interruption at any time. 

"Deep sedation" means a drug-induced depression of 

consciousness during which patients cannot be easily 

aroused but respond purposefully following repeated or 

painful stimulation. Reflex withdrawal from a painful 

stimulus is not considered a purposeful response. The 

ability to independently maintain ventilatory function may 

be impaired. Patients may require assistance in maintaining 

a patent airway, and spontaneous ventilation may be 

inadequate. Cardiovascular function is usually maintained. 

"General anesthesia" means a drug-induced loss of 

consciousness during which patients are not arousable, 

even by painful stimulation. The ability to independently 

maintain ventilator function is often impaired. Patients 

often require assistance in maintaining a patent airway, and 

positive pressure ventilation may be required because of 

depressed spontaneous ventilation or drug-induced 

depression of neuromuscular function. Cardiovascular 

function may be impaired.  

"Inhalation" means a technique of administration in which 

a gaseous or volatile agent, including nitrous oxide, is 

introduced into the pulmonary tree and whose primary 

effect is due to absorption through the pulmonary bed. 

"Inhalation analgesia" means the inhalation of nitrous 

oxide and oxygen to produce a state of reduced sensation 

of pain with minimal alteration of consciousness. 

"Local anesthesia" means the elimination of sensation, 

especially pain, in one part of the body by the topical 

application or regional injection of a drug. 

"Minimal sedation" means a drug-induced state during 

which patients respond normally to verbal commands. 

Although cognitive function and physical coordination 

may be impaired, airway reflexes, and ventilator and 

cardiovascular functions are unaffected. Minimal sedation 

includes "anxiolysis" (the the diminution or elimination of 

anxiety through the use of pharmacological agents in a 

dosage that does not cause depression of consciousness) 

consciousness and includes "inhalation analgesia" when 
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used in combination with any anxiolytic such sedating 

agent administered prior to or during a procedure.  

"Moderate sedation" means a drug-induced depression of 

consciousness, during which patients respond purposefully 

to verbal commands, either alone or accompanied by light 

tactile stimulation. Reflex withdrawal from a painful 

stimulus is not considered a purposeful response. No 

interventions are required to maintain a patent airway, and 

spontaneous ventilation is adequate. Cardiovascular 

function is usually maintained. 

"Monitoring" means to observe, interpret, assess, and 

record appropriate physiologic functions of the body 

during sedative procedures and general anesthesia 

appropriate to the level of sedation as provided in Part VI 

(18VAC60-21-260 et seq.) of this chapter.  

"Parenteral" means a technique of administration in which 

the drug bypasses the gastrointestinal tract (i.e., 

intramuscular, intravenous, intranasal, submucosal, 

subcutaneous, or intraocular).  

"Provide" means, in the context of regulations for 

moderate sedation or deep sedation/general anesthesia, to 

supply, give, or issue sedating medications. A dentist who 

does not hold the applicable permit cannot be the provider 

of moderate sedation or deep sedation/general anesthesia. 

"Titration" means the incremental increase in drug dosage 

to a level that provides the optimal therapeutic effect of 

sedation. 

"Topical oral anesthetic" means any drug, available in 

creams, ointments, aerosols, sprays, lotions, or jellies, that 

can be used orally for the purpose of rendering the oral 

cavity insensitive to pain without affecting consciousness. 

Part VI 

Controlled Substances, Sedation, and Anesthesia 

18VAC60-21-260. General provisions. 

A. Application of Part VI. of this chapter:  

This part applies 1. Applies to prescribing, dispensing, and 

administering controlled substances in dental offices, 

mobile dental facilities, and portable dental operations and 

shall not apply to administration by a dentist practicing in 

(i) a licensed hospital as defined in § 32.1-123 of the Code, 

(ii) a state-operated hospital, or (iii) a facility directly 

maintained or operated by the federal government. 

2. Addresses the minimum requirements for administration 

to patients of any age. Guidelines for Monitoring and 

Management of Pediatric Patients During and After 

Sedation for Diagnostic and Therapeutic Procedures, 

issued by the American Academy of Pediatrics and 

American Academy of Pediatric Dentistry, should be 

consulted when practicing pediatric dentistry. 

B. Registration required. Any dentist who prescribes, 

administers, or dispenses Schedules II through V controlled 

drugs substances must hold a current registration with the 

federal Drug Enforcement Administration. 

C. Patient evaluation required.  

1. An appropriate medical history and patient evaluation, 

including medication use and a focused physical exam, 

shall be performed before the decision to administer 

controlled substances for dental treatment is made. The 

decision to administer controlled drugs substances for 

dental treatment must be based on a documented 

evaluation of the health history and current medical 

condition of the patient in accordance with the Class I 

through V risk category classifications of the American 

Society of Anesthesiologists (ASA) in effect at the time of 

treatment. The findings of the evaluation, the ASA risk 

assessment class assigned, and any special considerations 

must be recorded in the patient's record. 

2. Any level of sedation and general anesthesia may be 

provided for a patient who is ASA Class I and Class II. 

3. A patient in ASA Class III shall only be provided 

minimal sedation, moderate sedation, deep sedation, or 

general anesthesia by: 

a. A dentist after he has documented a consultation with 

the patient's primary care physician or other medical 

specialist regarding potential risks and special monitoring 

requirements that may be necessary;  

b. An oral and maxillofacial surgeon who has performed 

a physical evaluation and documented the findings and 

the ASA risk assessment category of the patient and any 

special monitoring requirements that may be necessary; 

or 

c. A person licensed under Chapter 29 (§ 54.1-2900 et 

seq.) of Title 54.1 of the Code who has a specialty in 

anesthesia. 

4. Minimal sedation may only be provided for a patient 

who is in ASA Class IV by:  

a. A dentist after he has documented a consultation with 

the patient's primary care physician or other medical 

specialist regarding potential risks and special monitoring 

requirements that may be necessary; or 

b. An oral and maxillofacial surgeon who has performed 

a physical evaluation and documented the findings and 

the ASA risk assessment category of the patient and any 

special monitoring requirements that may be necessary. 

5. Moderate sedation, deep sedation, or general anesthesia 

shall not be provided in a dental office for patients in ASA 

Class IV and Class V.  
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D. Additional requirements for patient information and 

records. In addition to the record requirements in 18VAC60-

21-90, when moderate sedation, deep sedation, or general 

anesthesia is administered, the patient record shall also 

include:  

1. Notation of the patient's American Society of 

Anesthesiologists classification; 

2. Review of medical history and current conditions, 

including the patient's weight and height or, if appropriate, 

the body mass index; 

3. Written informed consent for administration of sedation 

and anesthesia and for the dental procedure to be 

performed; 

4. Preoperative vital signs; 

5. A record of the name, dose, and strength of drugs and 

route of administration including the administration of 

local anesthetics with notations of the time sedation and 

anesthesia were administered;  

6. Monitoring records of all required vital signs and 

physiological measures recorded every five minutes 

continually; and 

7. A list of staff participating in the administration, 

treatment, and monitoring including name, position, and 

assigned duties. 

E. Pediatric patients. No sedating medication shall be 

prescribed for or administered administration to a patient 12 

years of age or younger prior to his arrival at the dentist office 

or treatment facility. 

F. Informed written consent. Prior to administration of any 

level of sedation or general anesthesia, the dentist shall 

discuss the nature and objectives of the planned level of 

sedation or general anesthesia along with the risks, benefits, 

and alternatives and shall obtain informed, written consent 

from the patient or other responsible party for the 

administration and for the treatment to be provided. The 

written consent must be maintained in the patient record. 

G. Level of sedation. The determinant for the application of 

the rules for any level of sedation or for general anesthesia 

shall be the degree of sedation or consciousness level of a 

patient that should reasonably be expected to result from the 

type, strength, and dosage of medication, the method of 

administration, and the individual characteristics of the 

patient as documented in the patient's record. The drugs and 

techniques used must carry a margin of safety wide enough to 

render the unintended reduction of or loss of consciousness 

unlikely, factoring in titration and the patient's age, weight, 

and ability to metabolize drugs. 

H. Emergency management. 

1. If a patient enters a deeper level of sedation than the 

dentist is qualified and prepared to provide, the dentist 

shall stop the dental procedure until the patient returns to 

and is stable at the intended level of sedation. 

2. A dentist in whose office sedation or anesthesia is 

administered shall have written basic emergency 

procedures established and staff trained to carry out such 

procedures.  

I. Ancillary personnel. Dentists who employ unlicensed, 

ancillary personnel to assist in the administration and 

monitoring of any form of minimal sedation, moderate 

sedation, deep sedation, or general anesthesia shall maintain 

documentation that such personnel have: 

1. Training and hold current certification in basic 

resuscitation techniques with hands-on airway training for 

health care providers, such as Basic Cardiac Life Support 

for Health Professionals or a clinically oriented course 

devoted primarily to responding to clinical emergencies 

offered by an approved provider of continuing education as 

set forth in 18VAC60-21-250 C; or 

2. Current certification as a certified anesthesia assistant 

(CAA) by the American Association of Oral and 

Maxillofacial Surgeons or the American Dental Society of 

Anesthesiology (ADSA). 

J. Assisting in administration. A dentist, consistent with the 

planned level of administration (i.e., local anesthesia, minimal 

sedation, moderate sedation, deep sedation, or general 

anesthesia) and appropriate to his education, training, and 

experience, may utilize the services of a dentist, 

anesthesiologist, certified registered nurse anesthetist, dental 

hygienist, dental assistant, or nurse to perform functions 

appropriate to such practitioner's education, training, and 

experience and consistent with that practitioner's respective 

scope of practice.  

K. Patient monitoring.  

1. A dentist may delegate monitoring of a patient to a 

dental hygienist, dental assistant, or nurse who is under his 

direction or to another dentist, anesthesiologist, or certified 

registered nurse anesthetist. The person assigned to 

monitor the patient shall be continuously in the presence of 

the patient in the office, operatory, and recovery area (i) 

before administration is initiated or immediately upon 

arrival if the patient self-administered a sedative agent, (ii) 

throughout the administration of drugs, (iii) throughout the 

treatment of the patient, and (iv) throughout recovery until 

the patient is discharged by the dentist.  

2. The person monitoring the patient shall: 

a. Have the patient's entire body in sight; 

b. Be in close proximity so as to speak with the patient; 
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c. Converse with the patient to assess the patient's ability 

to respond in order to determine the patient's level of 

sedation;  

d. Closely observe the patient for coloring, breathing, 

level of physical activity, facial expressions, eye 

movement, and bodily gestures in order to immediately 

recognize and bring any changes in the patient's 

condition to the attention of the treating dentist; and  

e. Read, report, and record the patient's vital signs and 

physiological measures. 

L. A dentist who allows the administration of general 

anesthesia, deep sedation, or moderate sedation in his dental 

office is responsible for assuring that: 

1. The equipment for administration and monitoring, as 

required in subsection B of 18VAC60-21-291 or 

subsection C of 18VAC60-21-301, is readily available and 

in good working order prior to performing dental treatment 

with anesthesia or sedation. The equipment shall either be 

maintained by the dentist in his office or provided by the 

anesthesia or sedation provider; and 

2. The person administering the anesthesia or sedation is 

appropriately licensed and the staff monitoring the patient 

is qualified.  

M. Special needs patients. If a patient is mentally or 

physically challenged, and it is not possible to have a 

comprehensive physical examination or appropriate 

laboratory tests prior to administering care, the dentist is 

responsible for documenting in the patient record the reasons 

preventing the recommended preoperative management. In 

selected circumstances, sedation or general anesthesia may be 

utilized without establishing an intravenous line. These 

selected circumstances include very brief procedures or 

periods of time, which may occur in some patients; or the 

establishment of intravenous access after deep sedation or 

general anesthesia has been induced because of poor patient 

cooperation. 

18VAC60-21-270. Administration of local anesthesia. 

A dentist may administer or use the services of the following 

personnel to administer local anesthesia: 

1. A dentist; 

2. An anesthesiologist;  

3. A certified registered nurse anesthetist under his medical 

the dentist's direction and indirect supervision;  

4. A dental hygienist with the training required by 

18VAC60-25-100 C to parenterally administer Schedule 

VI local anesthesia to persons 18 years of age or older 

under his indirect supervision; 

5. A dental hygienist to administer Schedule VI topical oral 

anesthetics under indirect supervision or under his order 

for such treatment under general supervision; or 

6. A dental assistant or a registered or licensed practical 

nurse to administer Schedule VI topical oral anesthetics 

under indirect supervision. 

18VAC60-21-279. Administration of only inhalation 

analgesia (nitrous oxide) oxide only). 

A. Education and training requirements. A dentist who 

utilizes nitrous oxide shall have training in and knowledge of: 

1. The appropriate use and physiological effects of nitrous 

oxide, the potential complications of administration, the 

indicators for complications, and the interventions to 

address the complications. 

2. The use and maintenance of the equipment required in 

subsection D of this section. 

B. No sedating medication shall be prescribed for or 

administered administration to a patient 12 years of age or 

younger prior to his the patient's arrival at the dental office or 

treatment facility. 

C. Delegation of administration.  

1. A qualified dentist may administer or use the services of 

the following personnel to administer nitrous oxide: 

a. A dentist; 

b. An anesthesiologist;  

c. A certified registered nurse anesthetist under his 

medical the dentist's direction and indirect supervision;  

d. A dental hygienist with the training required by 

18VAC60-25-100 B and under indirect supervision; or  

e. A registered nurse upon his direct instruction and 

under immediate supervision. 

2. Preceding the administration of nitrous oxide, a dentist 

may use the services of the following personnel working 

under indirect supervision to administer local anesthesia to 

numb an injection or treatment site: 

a. A dental hygienist with the training required by 

18VAC60-25-100 C to parenterally administer Schedule 

VI local anesthesia to persons 18 years of age or older; or 

b. A dental hygienist, dental assistant, registered nurse, or 

licensed practical nurse to administer Schedule VI topical 

oral anesthetics.  

D. Equipment requirements. A dentist who utilizes nitrous 

oxide only or who directs the administration by another 

licensed health professional as permitted in subsection C of 

this section shall maintain the following equipment in 

working order and immediately available to the areas where 

patients will be sedated and treated and will recover: 
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1. Blood pressure monitoring equipment;  

2. Source of delivery of oxygen under controlled positive 

pressure; 

3. Mechanical (hand) respiratory bag; and 

4. Suction apparatus; and 

5. Oxygen saturation with pulse oximeter, unless 

extenuating circumstances exist and are documented in the 

patient's record.  

E. Required staffing. When only nitrous oxide/oxygen is 

administered, a second person in the operatory is not required. 

Either the dentist or qualified dental hygienist under the 

indirect supervision of a dentist may administer the nitrous 

oxide/oxygen and treat and monitor the patient.  

F. Monitoring requirements. 

1. Baseline vital signs, to include blood pressure and heart 

rate, shall be taken and recorded prior to administration of 

nitrous oxide analgesia, intraoperatively as necessary, and 

prior to discharge, unless extenuating circumstances exist 

and are documented in the patient's record.  

2. Continual clinical observation of the patient's 

responsiveness, color, respiratory rate, and depth of 

ventilation shall be performed. 

3. Once the administration of nitrous oxide has begun, the 

dentist shall ensure that a licensed health care professional 

or a person qualified in accordance with 18VAC60-21-260 

I monitors the patient at all times until discharged as 

required in subsection G of this section. 

4. Monitoring shall include making the proper adjustments 

of nitrous oxide/oxygen machines at the request of or by 

the dentist or by another qualified licensed health 

professional identified in subsection C of this section. Only 

the dentist or another qualified licensed health professional 

identified in subsection C of this section may turn the 

nitrous oxide/oxygen machines on or off. 

5. Upon completion of nitrous oxide administration, the 

patient shall be administered 100% oxygen for a minimum 

of five minutes to minimize the risk of diffusion hypoxia.  

G. Discharge requirements. 

1. The dentist shall not discharge a patient until he exhibits 

baseline responses in a post-operative evaluation of the 

level of consciousness. Vital signs, to include blood 

pressure and heart rate, shall be taken and recorded prior to 

discharge, unless extenuating circumstances exist and are 

documented in the patient's record.  

2. Post-operative instructions shall be given verbally and in 

writing. The written instructions shall include a 24-hour 

emergency telephone number. 

3. Pediatric patients shall be discharged with a responsible 

individual who has been instructed with regard to the 

patient's care. 

18VAC60-21-280. Administration of minimal sedation. 

A. Education and training requirements. A dentist who 

utilizes minimal sedation shall have training in and 

knowledge of: 

1. The medications used, the appropriate dosages, the 

potential complications of administration, the indicators for 

complications, and the interventions to address the 

complications. 

2. The physiological effects of minimal sedation, the 

potential complications of administration, the indicators for 

complications, and the interventions to address the 

complications. 

3. The use and maintenance of the equipment required in 

subsection D of this section. 

B. No sedating medication shall be prescribed for or 

administered administration to a patient 12 years of age or 

younger prior to his the patient's arrival at the dental office or 

treatment facility. 

C. Delegation of administration.  

1. A qualified dentist may administer or use the services of 

the following personnel to administer minimal sedation: 

a. A dentist; 

b. An anesthesiologist;  

c. A certified registered nurse anesthetist under his 

medical the dentist's direction and indirect supervision;  

d. A dental hygienist with the training required by 

18VAC60-25-100 C B only for administration of nitrous 

oxide/oxygen with the dentist present in the operatory 

under indirect supervision; or 

e. A registered nurse upon his direct instruction and 

under immediate supervision. 

2. Preceding the administration of minimal sedation, a 

dentist may use the services of the following personnel 

working under indirect supervision to administer local 

anesthesia to numb an injection or treatment site: 

a. A dental hygienist with the training required by 

18VAC60-25-100 C to parenterally administer Schedule 

VI local anesthesia to persons 18 years of age or older; or 

b. A dental hygienist, dental assistant, registered nurse, or 

licensed practical nurse to administer Schedule VI topical 

oral anesthetics.  

3. If minimal sedation is self-administered by or to a 

patient 13 years of age or older before arrival at the dental 

office or treatment facility, the dentist may only use the 
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personnel listed in subdivision 1 of this subsection to 

administer local anesthesia.  

D. Equipment requirements. A dentist who utilizes minimal 

sedation or who directs the administration by another licensed 

health professional as permitted in subsection C of this 

section shall maintain the following equipment in working 

order and immediately available to the areas where patients 

will be sedated and treated and will recover: 

1. Blood pressure monitoring equipment; 

2. Source of delivery of oxygen under controlled positive 

pressure; 

3. Mechanical (hand) respiratory bag; 

4. Suction apparatus; and  

5. Pulse oximeter. 

E. Required staffing. The treatment team for minimal 

sedation shall consist of the dentist and a second person in the 

operatory with the patient to assist the dentist and monitor the 

patient. The second person shall be a licensed health care 

professional or a person qualified in accordance with 

18VAC60-21-260 I. 

F. Monitoring requirements. 

1. Baseline vital signs to include blood pressure, 

respiratory rate, and heart rate, and oxygen saturation shall 

be taken and recorded prior to administration of sedation 

and prior to discharge.  

2. Blood pressure, oxygen saturation, respiratory rate, and 

pulse shall be monitored continuously continually during 

the procedure unless extenuating circumstances exist and 

are documented in the patient's record. 

3. Once the administration of minimal sedation has begun 

by any route of administration, the dentist shall ensure that 

a licensed health care professional or a person qualified in 

accordance with 18VAC60-21-260 I monitors the patient 

at all times until discharged as required in subsection G of 

this section. 

4. If nitrous Nitrous oxide/oxygen is may be used in 

addition to any with one other pharmacological agent, 

monitoring shall include making the proper adjustments of 

nitrous oxide/oxygen machines at the request of or by the 

dentist or by another qualified licensed health professional 

identified in subsection C of this section. Only the dentist 

or another qualified licensed health professional identified 

in subsection C of this section may turn the nitrous 

oxide/oxygen machines on or off in the recommended 

dosage for minimal sedation. If deeper levels of sedation 

are produced, the regulations for the induced level shall be 

followed. The administration of one drug in excess of the 

maximum recommended dose or of two or more drugs, 

with or without nitrous oxide, exceeds minimal sedation 

and requires compliance with the regulations for the level 

of sedation induced. 

5. Monitoring shall include making the proper adjustments 

of nitrous oxide/oxygen machines at the request of or by 

the dentist or by another qualified licensed health 

professional identified in subsection C of this section. Only 

the dentist or another qualified licensed health professional 

identified in subsection C of this section may turn the 

nitrous oxide/oxygen machines on or off. 

6. If any other pharmacological agent is used in addition to 

nitrous oxide/oxygen and a local anesthetic, requirements 

for the induced level of sedation must be met.  

G. Discharge requirements. 

1. The dentist shall not discharge a patient until he exhibits 

baseline responses in a post-operative evaluation of the 

level of consciousness. Vital signs, to include blood 

pressure, respiratory rate, and heart rate, and oxygen 

saturation shall be taken and recorded prior to discharge 

unless extenuating circumstances exist and are documented 

in the patient's record.  

2. Post-operative instructions shall be given verbally and in 

writing. The written instructions shall include a 24-hour 

emergency telephone number. 

3. Pediatric patients shall be discharged with a responsible 

individual who has been instructed with regard to the 

patient's care. 

18VAC60-21-290. Requirements for a moderate sedation 

permit. 

A. No dentist may employ or use provide or administer 

moderate sedation in a dental office unless he has been issued 

a permit by the board. The requirement for a permit shall not 

apply to an oral and maxillofacial surgeon who maintains 

membership in the American Association of Oral and 

Maxillofacial Surgeons (AAOMS) and who provides the 

board with reports that result from the periodic office 

examinations required by AAOMS. Such an oral and 

maxillofacial surgeon shall be required to post a certificate 

issued by AAOMS.  

B. Automatic qualification. Dentists who hold a current 

permit to administer deep sedation and general anesthesia 

may administer moderate sedation. 

C. To determine eligibility for a moderate sedation permit, a 

dentist shall submit the following: 

1. A completed application form;  

2. The application fee as specified in 18VAC60-21-40;  

3. A copy of a transcript, certification, or other 

documentation of training content that meets the 

educational and training qualifications as specified in 

subsection D of this section; and 
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4. A copy of current certification in advanced cardiac life 

support (ACLS) or pediatric advanced life support (PALS) 

as required in subsection E of this section. 

D. Education requirements for a permit to administer 

moderate sedation. A dentist may be issued a moderate 

sedation permit to administer by any method by meeting one 

of the following criteria: 

1. Completion of training for this treatment modality 

according to the ADA's Guidelines for Teaching Pain 

Control and Sedation to Dentists and Dental Students in 

effect at the time the training occurred, while enrolled in an 

accredited dental program or while enrolled in a post-

doctoral university or teaching hospital program; or 

2. Completion of a continuing education course that meets 

the requirements of 18VAC60-21-250 and consists of (i) 

60 hours of didactic instruction plus the management of at 

least 20 patients per participant, (ii) demonstration of 

competency and clinical experience in moderate sedation, 

and (iii) management of a compromised airway. The 

course content shall be consistent with the ADA's 

Guidelines for Teaching Pain Control and Sedation to 

Dentists and Dental Students in effect at the time the 

training occurred. 

E. Additional training required. Dentists who administer 

moderate sedation shall: 

1. Hold current certification in advanced resuscitation 

techniques with hands-on simulated airway and 

megacode training for health care providers, such as 

ACLS or PALS as evidenced by a certificate of 

completion posted with the dental license; and  

2. Have current training in the use and maintenance of 

the equipment required in 18VAC60-21-291. 

18VAC60-21-291. Requirements for administration of 

moderate sedation. 

A. Delegation of administration. 

1. A dentist who does not hold a permit to provide or 

administer moderate sedation shall only use utilize the 

services of a qualified dentist or an anesthesiologist to 

administer such sedation in a dental office. In a licensed 

outpatient surgery center, a dentist who does not hold a 

permit to provide or administer moderate sedation shall use 

utilize a qualified dentist, an anesthesiologist, or a certified 

registered nurse anesthetist to administer such sedation.  

2. A dentist who holds a permit may administer or use the 

services of the following personnel to administer moderate 

sedation: 

a. A dentist with the training required by 18VAC60-21-

290 D to administer by any method and who holds a 

moderate sedation permit; 

b. An anesthesiologist;  

c. A certified registered nurse anesthetist under the 

medical direction and indirect supervision of a dentist 

who meets the training requirements of 18VAC60-21-

290 D and holds a moderate sedation permit or under the 

supervision of a doctor of medicine or osteopathic 

medicine; or 

d. A registered nurse upon his the dentist's direct 

instruction and under the immediate supervision of a 

dentist who meets the training requirements of 

18VAC60-21-290 D and holds a moderate sedation 

permit.  

3. If minimal sedation is self-administered by or to a 

patient 13 years of age or older before arrival at the dental 

office, the dentist may only use the personnel listed in 

subdivision 2 of this subsection to administer local 

anesthesia. No sedating medication shall be prescribed for 

or administered administration to a patient 12 years of age 

or younger prior to his the patient's arrival at the dentist 

office or treatment facility. 

4. Preceding the administration of moderate sedation, a 

permitted dentist may use the services of the following 

personnel under indirect supervision to administer local 

anesthesia to anesthetize the injection or treatment site: 

a. A dental hygienist with the training required by 

18VAC60-25-100 C to parenterally administer Schedule 

VI local anesthesia to persons 18 years of age or older; or 

b. A dental hygienist, dental assistant, registered nurse, or 

licensed practical nurse to administer Schedule VI topical 

oral anesthetics.  

5. A dentist who delegates administration of moderate 

sedation shall ensure that: 

a. All equipment required in subsection B of this section 

is present, in good working order, and immediately 

available to the areas where patients will be sedated and 

treated and will recover; and 

b. Qualified staff is on site to monitor patients in 

accordance with requirements of subsection D of this 

section.  

B. Equipment requirements. A dentist who provides or 

administers or who utilizes a qualified anesthesia provider to 

administer moderate sedation shall have available the 

following equipment in sizes for adults or children as 

appropriate for the patient being treated and shall maintain it 

in working order and immediately available to the areas 

where patients will be sedated and treated and will recover: 

1. Full face mask or masks; 

2. Oral and nasopharyngeal airway management adjuncts; 
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3. Endotracheal tubes with appropriate connectors or other 

appropriate airway management adjunct such as a 

laryngeal mask airway;  

4. A laryngoscope with reserve batteries and bulbs and 

appropriately sized laryngoscope blades;  

5. Pulse oximetry; 

6. Blood pressure monitoring equipment; 

7. Pharmacologic antagonist agents; 

8. Source of delivery of oxygen under controlled positive 

pressure; 

9. Mechanical (hand) respiratory bag;  

10. Appropriate emergency drugs for patient resuscitation; 

11. Electrocardiographic monitor if a patient is receiving 

parenteral administration of sedation or if the dentist is 

using titration; 

12. Defibrillator; 

13. Suction apparatus;  

14. Temperature measuring device; 

15. Throat pack Airway protective device;  

16. Precordial or pretracheal stethoscope; and 

17. An end-tidal carbon dioxide monitor (capnograph); and 

18. Equipment necessary to establish intravenous or 

intraosseous access.  

C. Required staffing. At a minimum, there shall be a two-

person three-person treatment team for moderate sedation. 

The team shall include the operating dentist and a second, one 

person to monitor the patient as provided in 18VAC60-21-

260 K, and one person to assist the operating dentist as 

provided in 18VAC60-21-260 J, both all of whom shall be in 

the operatory with the patient throughout the dental 

procedure. If the second person is a dentist, an 

anesthesiologist, or a certified registered nurse anesthetist 

who administers the drugs as permitted in subsection A of 

this section, such person may monitor the patient.  

D. Monitoring requirements.  

1. Baseline vital signs to include blood pressure, oxygen 

saturation, respiratory rate, and heart rate shall be taken 

and recorded prior to administration of any controlled drug 

at the facility and prior to discharge.  

2. Blood pressure, oxygen saturation, respiratory rate, and 

end-tidal carbon dioxide, and pulse shall be monitored 

continually during the administration and recorded every 

five minutes unless precluded or invalidated by the nature 

of the patient, procedure, or equipment. 

3. Monitoring of the patient under moderate sedation is to 

begin prior to administration of sedation or, if pre-

medication is self-administered by the patient, immediately 

upon the patient's arrival at the dental facility and shall 

take place continuously during the dental procedure and 

recovery from sedation. The person who administers the 

sedation or another licensed practitioner qualified to 

administer the same level of sedation must remain on the 

premises of the dental facility until the patient is evaluated 

and is discharged. 

E. Discharge requirements. 

1. The patient shall not be discharged until the responsible 

licensed practitioner determines that the patient's level of 

consciousness, oxygenation, ventilation, and circulation 

blood pressure and heart rate are satisfactory for discharge 

and vital signs have been taken and recorded.  

2. Post-operative instructions shall be given verbally and in 

writing. The written instructions shall include a 24-hour 

emergency telephone number. 

3. The patient shall be discharged with a responsible 

individual who has been instructed with regard to the 

patient's care.  

4. If a separate recovery area is utilized, oxygen and 

suction equipment shall be immediately available in that 

area. 

5. Since re-sedation may occur once the effects of the 

reversal agent have waned, the patient shall be monitored 

for a longer period than usual when a pharmacological 

reversal agent has been administered before discharge 

criteria have been met.  

F. Emergency management. The dentist shall be proficient 

in handling emergencies and complications related to pain 

control procedures, including the maintenance of respiration 

and circulation, immediate establishment of an airway, and 

cardiopulmonary resuscitation. 

18VAC60-21-300. Requirements for a deep 

sedation/general anesthesia permit. 

A. After March 31, 2013, no No dentist may employ or use 

provide or administer deep sedation or general anesthesia in a 

dental office unless he has been issued a permit by the board. 

The requirement for a permit shall not apply to an oral and 

maxillofacial surgeon who maintains membership in AAOMS 

and who provides the board with reports that result from the 

periodic office examinations required by AAOMS. Such an 

oral and maxillofacial surgeon shall be required to post a 

certificate issued by AAOMS. 

B. To determine eligibility for a deep sedation/general 

anesthesia permit, a dentist shall submit the following: 

1. A completed application form; 
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2. The application fee as specified in 18VAC60-21-40; 

3. A copy of the certificate of completion of a CODA 

accredited program or other documentation of training 

content which meets the educational and training 

qualifications specified in subsection C of this section; and 

4. A copy of current certification in Advanced Cardiac Life 

Support for Health Professionals (ACLS) or Pediatric 

Advanced Life Support for Health Professionals (PALS) as 

required in subsection C of this section. 

C. Educational and training qualifications for a deep 

sedation/general anesthesia permit. 

1. Completion of a minimum of one calendar year of 

advanced training in anesthesiology and related academic 

subjects beyond the undergraduate dental school level in a 

training program in conformity with the ADA's Guidelines 

for Teaching the Comprehensive Control of Anxiety and 

Pain in Dentistry in effect at the time the training occurred; 

or 

2. Completion of an CODA accredited residency in any 

dental specialty that incorporates into its curriculum a 

minimum of one calendar year of full-time training in 

clinical anesthesia and related clinical medical subjects 

(i.e., medical evaluation and management of patients) 

comparable to those set forth in the ADA's Guidelines for 

Graduate and Postgraduate Training in Anesthesia in effect 

at the time the training occurred; and  

3. Current certification in advanced resuscitative 

techniques with hands-on simulated airway and megacode 

training for health care providers, including basic 

electrocardiographic interpretations, such as courses in 

ACLS or PALS; and 

4. Current training in the use and maintenance of the 

equipment required in 18VAC60-21-301. 

18VAC60-21-301. Requirements for administration of 

deep sedation or general anesthesia. 

A. Preoperative requirements. Prior to the appointment for 

treatment under deep sedation or general anesthesia the 

patient shall:  

1. Be informed about the personnel and procedures used to 

deliver the sedative or anesthetic drugs to assure informed 

consent as required by 18VAC60-21-260 F. 

2. Have a physical evaluation as required by 18VAC60-21-

260 C. 

3. Be given preoperative verbal and written instructions 

including any dietary or medication restrictions. 

B. Delegation of administration. 

1. A dentist who does not meet the requirements of 

18VAC60-21-300 shall only use utilize the services of a 

dentist who does meet those requirements or an 

anesthesiologist to administer deep sedation or general 

anesthesia in a dental office. In a licensed outpatient 

surgery center, a dentist shall use utilize either a dentist 

who meets the requirements of 18VAC60-21-300, an 

anesthesiologist, or a certified registered nurse anesthetist 

to administer deep sedation or general anesthesia.  

2. A dentist who meets the requirements of 18VAC60-21-

300 may administer or use utilize the services of the 

following personnel to administer deep sedation or general 

anesthesia: 

a. A dentist with the training required by 18VAC60-21-

300 C; 

b. An anesthesiologist; or 

c. A certified registered nurse anesthetist under the 

medical direction and indirect supervision of a dentist 

who meets the training requirements of 18VAC60-21-

300 C or under the supervision of a doctor of medicine or 

osteopathic medicine. 

3. Preceding the administration of deep sedation or general 

anesthesia, a dentist who meets the requirements of 

18VAC60-21-300 may use utilize the services of the 

following personnel under indirect supervision to 

administer local anesthesia to anesthetize the injection or 

treatment site: 

a. A dental hygienist with the training required by 

18VAC60-25-100 C to parenterally administer Schedule 

VI local anesthesia to persons 18 years of age or older; or 

b. A dental hygienist, dental assistant, registered nurse, or 

licensed practical nurse to administer Schedule VI topical 

oral anesthetics.  

C. Equipment requirements. A dentist who administers or 

utilizes the services of a qualified anesthesia provider to 

administer deep sedation or general anesthesia shall have 

available the following equipment in sizes appropriate for the 

patient being treated and shall maintain it in working order 

and immediately available to the areas where patients will be 

sedated and treated and will recover: 

1. Full face mask or masks; 

2. Oral and nasopharyngeal airway management adjuncts; 

3. Endotracheal tubes with appropriate connectors or other 

appropriate airway management adjunct such as a 

laryngeal mask airway; 

4. A laryngoscope with reserve batteries and bulbs and 

appropriately sized laryngoscope blades; 

5. Source of delivery of oxygen under controlled positive 

pressure; 

6. Mechanical (hand) respiratory bag; 
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7. Pulse oximetry and blood pressure monitoring 

equipment available and used in the treatment room; 

8. Blood pressure monitoring equipment; 

9. Appropriate emergency drugs for patient resuscitation; 

9. 10. EKG monitoring equipment;  

10. 11. Temperature measuring devices; 

11. 12. Pharmacologic antagonist agents; 

12. 13. External defibrillator (manual or automatic);  

13. 14. An end-tidal carbon dioxide monitor (capnograph); 

14. 15. Suction apparatus; 

15. Throat pack 16. Airway protective device; and 

16. 17. Precordial or pretracheal stethoscope; and 

18. Equipment necessary to establish intravenous or 

intraosseous access. 

D. Required staffing. At a minimum, there shall be a three-

person treatment team for deep sedation or general anesthesia. 

The team shall include the operating dentist, a second person 

to monitor the patient as provided in 18VAC60-21-260 K, 

and a third person to assist the operating dentist as provided 

in 18VAC60-21-260 J, all of whom shall be in the operatory 

with the patient during the dental procedure. If a second 

dentist, an anesthesiologist, or a certified registered nurse 

anesthetist administers the drugs as permitted in subsection B 

of this section, such person may serve as the second person to 

monitor the patient.  

E. Monitoring requirements. 

1. Baseline vital signs shall be taken and recorded prior to 

administration of any controlled drug at the facility to 

include: temperature, blood pressure, pulse, oxygen 

saturation, EKG, and respiration. 

2. The patient's vital signs, end-tidal carbon dioxide (unless 

precluded or invalidated by the nature of the patient, 

procedure, or equipment), and EKG readings, blood 

pressure, pulse, oxygen saturation, temperature, and 

respiratory rate shall be monitored, continually; recorded 

every five minutes,; and reported to the treating dentist 

throughout the administration of controlled drugs and 

recovery. When a depolarizing medications are medication 

or inhalation agent other than nitrous oxide is 

administered, temperature shall be monitored constantly 

continuously. 

3. Monitoring of the patient undergoing deep sedation or 

general anesthesia is to begin prior to the administration of 

any drugs and shall take place continuously continually 

during administration, the dental procedure, and recovery 

from anesthesia. The person who administers the 

anesthesia or another licensed practitioner qualified to 

administer the same level of anesthesia must remain on the 

premises of the dental facility until the patient has regained 

consciousness and is discharged. 

F. Emergency management. 

1. A secured intravenous line must be established and 

maintained throughout the procedure.  

2. The dentist shall be proficient in handling emergencies 

and complications related to pain control procedures, 

including the maintenance of respiration and circulation, 

immediate establishment of an airway, and 

cardiopulmonary resuscitation.  

G. Discharge requirements. 

1. If a separate recovery area is utilized, oxygen and 

suction equipment shall be immediately available in that 

area. 

2. The patient shall not be discharged until the responsible 

licensed practitioner determines that the patient's level of 

consciousness, oxygenation, ventilation, and circulation 

blood pressure, and heart rate are satisfactory for discharge 

and vital signs have been taken assessed and recorded, 

unless extenuating circumstances exist and are documented 

in the patient's record.  

2. 3. Since re-sedation may occur once the effects of the 

reversal agent have waned, the patient shall be monitored 

for a longer period than usual before discharge if a 

pharmacological reversal agent has been administered 

before discharge criteria have been met. 

4. Post-operative instructions shall be given verbally and in 

writing. The written instructions shall include a 24-hour 

emergency telephone number for the dental practice. 

3. 5. The patient shall be discharged with a responsible 

individual who has been instructed with regard to the 

patient's care. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R18-5513; Filed August 16, 2020, 9:31 a.m.  

Proposed Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC60-25. Regulations Governing 

the Practice of Dental Hygiene (amending 18VAC60-25-

40).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 54.1-2400 and 54.1-2722 of the Code 

of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: 

October 9, 2020 - 1:15 p.m. - Department of Health 

Professions, Perimeter Center, 9960 Mayland Drive, 2nd 

Floor, Boardroom 3, Henrico, VA 23233 

Public Comment Deadline: November 13, 2020. 

Agency Contact: Sandra Reen, Executive Director, Board of 

Dentistry, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, Richmond, VA 
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23233, telephone (804) 367-4437, FAX (804) 527-4428, or 

email sandra.reen@dhp.virginia.gov. 

Basis: Regulations are promulgated under the general 

authority of § 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia, which 

provides the Board of Dentistry the authority to promulgate 

regulations to administer the regulatory system. The specific 

authority for remote supervision of dental hygienists is found 

in § 54.1-2722 of the Code of Virginia, which was amended 

effective July 1, 2019.  

Purpose: The purpose of the regulatory action is adoption of 

the protocols of the Virginia Department of Health (VDH) 

and the Virginia Department of Behavioral Health and 

Developmental Services (DBHDS) for remote supervision of 

dental hygienists employed by those agencies. Greater 

utilization of dental hygienists will allow dental services to be 

provided to underserved populations and will improve the 

health and welfare of those citizens. 

Substance: The amended regulation adopts the protocol for 

dental hygienists employed by DBHDS practicing under 

remote supervision of a dentist, as prescribed by Chapter 86 

of the 2019 Acts of Assembly. 

Amendments also correct a Code of Virginia citation and 

update the protocol for remote supervision of dental 

hygienists employed by VDH. 

Issues: The primary advantage to the public is the inclusion of 

dental hygienists employed by DBHDS working under the 

protocol for remote supervision, which will increase access to 

dental care; there are no disadvantages. 

There are no advantages or disadvantages to the agency. 

Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 

Analysis: 

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. The 

Board of Dentistry (Board) proposes to amend 18VAC60-25 

Regulations Governing the Practice of Dental Hygiene in 

order to authorize the remote supervision of dental hygienists 

employed by the Department of Health (VDH) and by the 

Department of Behavioral Health and Developmental 

Services (DBHDS) by dentists employed by VDH and 

DBHDS, respectively. The proposed amendment would make 

permanent the existing emergency text and incorporate by 

reference two documents that lay out the protocols for dental 

hygienists to practice under remote supervision by dentists for 

VDH and DBHDS respectively. 

Background. Section 54.1-2722 of the Code of Virginia 

(Code) allows dental hygienists employed by VDH to 

practice remotely under the supervision of a dentist also 

employed by VDH.1 Accordingly, 18VAC60-25-40 Scope of 

Practice allows licensed dental hygienists to perform services 

that are "educational, diagnostic, therapeutic, or preventive 

under the direction and indirect, or general supervision of a 

licensed dentist."2 18VAC60-25-40 also specifies the tasks 

that are not to be delegated to dental hygienists, or can only 

be delegated under specific conditions, and incorporates by 

reference a protocol dated September, 2012 for dental 

hygienists to practice in an expanded capacity under remote 

supervision by VDH dentists.  

Chapter 86 of the 2019 Acts of Assembly expanded this to 

include dental hygienists and dentists employed by DBHDS.3 

In particular, Chapter 86 required VDH and DBHDS to 

jointly develop protocols for remote supervision in 

consultation with the Virginia Dental Association and the 

Virginia Dental Hygienists' Association. This act also 

amended the Code to state that "such protocols shall be 

adopted by the Board as regulations" and required that the 

Board promulgate emergency regulations to implement these 

changes. The emergency regulation took effect on October 1, 

2019, and is scheduled to expire on March 31, 2021.4 The 

emergency text brings dental hygienists and dentists 

employed by DBHDS under the purview of the regulation 

and incorporates by reference two separate protocol 

documents, one replacing the 2012 protocol for VDH and a 

new one for DBHDS.5  

It should be noted that the Board chose to adopt the protocols 

by incorporating the documents by reference rather than 

including the protocols verbatim in the text of the 18VAC60-

25-40. One the one hand, this requires readers of the 

regulation to find and refer to the protocol documents on the 

Board of Dentistry website. On the other hand, the remote 

supervision protocol only applies to dental hygienists 

employed by VDH and DBHDS, who are likely a small 

fraction of all licensed dental hygienists. These dental 

hygienists would likely be informed of the protocol 

documents directly by the agency that hires them, and all the 

other dental hygienists are unlikely to be confused by 

language that does not apply to them in a section of the 

regulation that is otherwise entirely directed at them. 

Estimated Benefits and Costs. The proposed amendments 

would allow DBHDS to provide a range of educational and 

preventative dental services to the individuals they serve, 

including mobile dental care to individuals with 

developmental disabilities, at a lower cost than they would 

have incurred if their dental hygienists had to be directly 

supervised by a dentist. This would likely benefit the 

populations they serve in addition to decreasing costs to the 

agency. The proposed amendments are unlikely to increase 

costs.  

Businesses and Other Entities Affected. Businesses would not 

be affected. The Board reports that it licenses 6,028 dental 

hygienists in Virginia. However, only the dental hygienists 

employed by VDH and DBHDS would be affected by the 

proposed amendments. 

Small Businesses6 Affected. Small businesses would not be 

affected.  

mailto:sandra.reen@dhp.virginia.gov
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Localities7 Affected.8 The proposed amendments are not 

expected to disproportionately affect particular localities. The 

proposed amendments are unlikely to introduce new costs for 

local governments.  

Projected Impact on Employment. The proposed amendments 

are unlikely to affect total employment in the industry.  

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. The 

proposed amendments are unlikely to affect the use or value 

of private property. Real estate development costs are 

unlikely to be affected.  

________________________ 

1See https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/54.1-2722/ 

2See 

https://law.lis.virginia.gov/admincode/title18/agency60/chapter25/section40/ 

3See http://lis.virginia.gov/cgi-bin/legp604.exe?191+ful+CHAP0086 

4See https://townhall.virginia.gov/l/ViewStage.cfm?stageid=8672 

5These documents can be found at 

https://www.dhp.virginia.gov/dentistry/dentistry_laws_regs.htm 

6Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.04 of the Code of Virginia, small business is defined 

as "a business entity, including its affiliates, that (i) is independently owned 

and operated and (ii) employs fewer than 500 full-time employees or has 

gross annual sales of less than $6 million." 

7"Locality" can refer to either local governments or the locations in the 

Commonwealth where the activities relevant to the regulatory change are 

most likely to occur. 

8§ 2.2-4007.04 defines "particularly affected" as bearing disproportionate 

material impact. 

Agency's Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The Board 

of Dentistry concurs with the economic impact analysis of the 

Department of Planning and Budget. 

Summary: 

The proposed amendments (i) adopt the protocols for the 

remote supervision of dental hygienists employed by the 

Department of Behavioral Health and Developmental 

Services (DBHDS) by dentists employed by DBHDS in 

accordance with Chapter 86 of the 2019 Acts of Assembly 

and (ii) update the protocols for remote supervision of 

dental hygienists employed by the Department of Health 

(VDH) by dentists employed by VDH. The proposed 

amendments would replace emergency regulations 

currently in effect. 

Part II 

Practice of Dental Hygiene 

18VAC60-25-40. Scope of practice. 

A. Pursuant to § 54.1-2722 of the Code, a licensed dental 

hygienist may perform services that are educational, 

diagnostic, therapeutic, or preventive under the direction and 

indirect or, general, or remote supervision of a licensed 

dentist. 

B. The following duties of a dentist shall not be delegated: 

1. Final diagnosis and treatment planning; 

2. Performing surgical or cutting procedures on hard or soft 

tissue, except as may be permitted by subdivisions C 1 and 

D 1 of this section; 

3. Prescribing or parenterally administering drugs or 

medicaments, except a dental hygienist who meets the 

requirements of 18VAC60-25-100 C may parenterally 

administer Schedule VI local anesthesia to patients 18 

years of age or older; 

4. Authorization of work orders for any appliance or 

prosthetic device or restoration that is to be inserted into a 

patient's mouth; 

5. Operation of high speed rotary instruments in the mouth; 

6. Administration of deep sedation or general anesthesia 

and moderate sedation; 

7. Condensing, contouring, or adjusting any final, fixed, or 

removable prosthodontic appliance or restoration in the 

mouth with the exception of packing and carving amalgam 

and placing and shaping composite resins by dental 

assistants II with advanced training as specified in 

18VAC60-30-120; 

8. Final positioning and attachment of orthodontic bonds 

and bands; and 

9. Final adjustment and fitting of crowns and bridges in 

preparation for final cementation. 

C. The following duties shall only be delegated to dental 

hygienists under direction and may only be performed under 

indirect supervision:  

1. Scaling, root planing, or gingival curettage of natural 

and restored teeth using hand instruments, slow-speed 

rotary instruments, ultrasonic devices, and nonsurgical 

lasers with any sedation or anesthesia administered.  

2. Performing an initial examination of teeth and 

surrounding tissues including the charting of carious 

lesions, periodontal pockets, or other abnormal conditions 

for assisting the dentist in the diagnosis.  

3. Administering nitrous oxide or local anesthesia by 

dental hygienists qualified in accordance with the 

requirements of 18VAC60-25-100. 

D. The following duties shall only be delegated to dental 

hygienists and may be performed under indirect supervision 

or may be delegated by written order in accordance with 

§ 54.1-2722 D of the Code to be performed under general 

supervision:  

1. Scaling, root planning, or gingival curettage of natural 

and restored teeth using hand instruments, slow-speed 

https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/54.1-2722/
https://law.lis.virginia.gov/admincode/title18/agency60/chapter25/section40/
http://lis.virginia.gov/cgi-bin/legp604.exe?191+ful+CHAP0086
https://townhall.virginia.gov/l/ViewStage.cfm?stageid=8672
https://www.dhp.virginia.gov/dentistry/dentistry_laws_regs.htm
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rotary instruments, ultrasonic devices, and nonsurgical 

lasers with or without topical oral anesthetics.  

2. Polishing of natural and restored teeth using air 

polishers.  

3. Performing a clinical examination of teeth and 

surrounding tissues including the charting of carious 

lesions, periodontal pockets, or other abnormal conditions 

for further evaluation and diagnosis by the dentist.  

4. Subgingival irrigation or subgingival and gingival 

application of topical Schedule VI medicinal agents 

pursuant to § 54.1-3408 J of the Code.  

5. Duties appropriate to the education and experience of 

the dental hygienist and the practice of the supervising 

dentist, with the exception of those listed as nondelegable 

in subsection B of this section and those restricted to 

indirect supervision in subsection C of this section.  

E. The following duties may only be delegated under the 

direction and direct supervision of a dentist to a dental 

assistant II: 

1. Performing pulp capping procedures; 

2. Packing and carving of amalgam restorations; 

3. Placing and shaping composite resin restorations with a 

slow speed handpiece; 

4. Taking final impressions; 

5. Use of a non-epinephrine retraction cord; and 

6. Final cementation of crowns and bridges after 

adjustment and fitting by the dentist. 

F. A dental hygienist employed by the Virginia Department 

of Health may provide educational and preventative dental 

care under remote supervision, as defined in § 54.1-2722 D E 

of the Code, of a dentist employed by the Virginia 

Department of Health and in accordance with the protocol 

Protocol adopted by the Commissioner Virginia Department 

of Health (VDH) for Dental Hygienists to Practice in an 

Expanded Capacity under Remote Supervision by Public 

Health Dentists, September 2012 May 2019, which is hereby 

incorporated by reference.  

G. A dental hygienist employed by the Virginia Department 

of Behavioral Health and Developmental Services (DBHDS) 

may provide educational and preventative dental care under 

remote supervision, as defined in § 54.1-2722 E of the Code 

of Virginia, of a dentist employed by DBHDS and in 

accordance with the Protocol for Virginia Department of 

Behavioral Health and Developmental Services (DBHDS) 

Dental Hygienists to Practice in an Expanded Capacity under 

Remote Supervision by DBHDS Dentists, May 2019, which 

is hereby incorporated by reference. 

DOCUMENTS INCORPORATED BY REFERENCE 

(18VAC60-25) 

Protocol adopted by Virginia Department of Health for 

Dental Hygienists to Practice in an Expanded Capacity under 

Remote Supervision by Public Health Dentists, September 

2012  

Protocol adopted by Virginia Department of Health for 

Dental Hygienists to Practice in an Expanded Capacity under 

Remote Supervision by Public Health Dentists, Virginia 

Department of Health (rev. 5/2019) 

Protocol for Virginia Department of Behavioral Health and 

Developmental Services (DBHDS) Dental Hygienists to 

Practice in an Expanded Capacity under Remote Supervision 

by DBHDS Dentists, Virginia Department of Behavioral 

Health and Developmental Services (rev. 5/2019) 

VA.R. Doc. No. R20-6044; Filed August 16, 2020, 9:29 a.m.  

BOARD OF MEDICINE 

Proposed Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC85-21. Regulations Governing 

Prescribing of Opioids and Buprenorphine (adding 

18VAC85-21-21).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 54.1-2400 and 54.1-2928.2 of the 

Code of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: 

October 22, 2020 - 8:35 p.m. - Department of Health 

Professions, Perimeter Center, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 

201, Richmond, VA 23233-1463 

Public Comment Deadline: November 13, 2020. 

Agency Contact: William L. Harp, M.D., Executive Director, 

Board of Medicine, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, 

Richmond, VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-4558, FAX (804) 

527-4429, or email william.harp@dhp.virginia.gov. 

Basis: Regulations are promulgated under the general 

authority of § 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia, which 

provides the Board of Medicine the authority to promulgate 

regulations to administer the regulatory system. The specific 

statutory authority for electronic prescribing and the authority 

for granting a waiver are found in § 54.1-3408.02 of the Code 

of Virginia. 

Purpose: The purpose of this regulatory action is compliance 

with a statutory requirement to promulgate regulations setting 

out the conditions upon which the board may grant a one-year 

waiver from the requirement for electronic prescribing of a 

controlled substance containing an opioid. Since the 

circumstances may vary from practitioner to practitioner, the 

board has used the conditions set forth in the Code of 

Virginia as the basis for the regulation and will take into 

http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=19299006044~39.pdf&typ=40&actno=006044&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=19299006044~39.pdf&typ=40&actno=006044&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=19299006044~39.pdf&typ=40&actno=006044&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=19299006044~39.pdf&typ=40&actno=006044&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=37978006044~4l.pdf&typ=40&actno=006044&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=37978006044~4l.pdf&typ=40&actno=006044&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=37978006044~4l.pdf&typ=40&actno=006044&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=37978006044~4l.pdf&typ=40&actno=006044&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=37978006044~4l.pdf&typ=40&actno=006044&mime=application/pdf
mailto:william.harp@dhp.virginia.gov


Regulations 

Volume 37, Issue 2 Virginia Register of Regulations September 14, 2020 

389 

consideration the health, safety, and welfare of a practitioner's 

patients in making a case-by-case decision on a waiver. 

Substance: The proposed amendments to 18VAC85-21 add 

18VAC85-21-21 to (i) reiterate the requirement that took 

effect on July 1, 2020, that a prescription for a controlled 

substance that contains an opioid must be issued as an 

electronic prescription; and (ii) provide for a one-year waiver 

from the requirement if the practitioner can demonstrate 

economic hardship technological limitations, or other 

exceptional circumstances beyond the practitioner's control. 

Issues: There are no advantages or disadvantages to the public 

apart from those in the statutory language. Submitting opioid 

prescriptions electronically has been shown to reduce 

prescription fraud and thereby reduce the volume of opioids 

available for abuse or misuse. The waiver provision, in 

addition to the specific exemptions to electronic prescribing, 

allows for continued prescribing for practitioners who are not 

able to comply for exceptional circumstances beyond their 

control. 

Department of Planning and Budget's Planning and Budget:  

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. The 

Board of Medicine (Board) proposes to amend 18VAC85-21 

Regulations Governing Prescribing of Opioids and 

Buprenorphine in order to require that prescriptions of 

medications containing opioids be transmitted electronically 

from the prescribing authority to the pharmacist. The 

proposed amendment would make permanent the existing 

emergency text and is intended to prevent the abuse of 

prescription drugs containing opioids.  

Background. Section 54.1-3408.02 of the Code of Virginia, as 

effective until July 1, 2020, states that prescriptions may be 

transmitted electronically or by facsimile machine and shall 

be treated as valid original prescriptions.1 The 2017 Acts of 

Assembly (Chapters 115 and 429) amended and reenacted 

this section of the Code to require that "any prescription for a 

controlled substance that contains an opiate shall be issued as 

an electronic prescription." The reenacted section containing 

this requirement takes effect on July 1, 2020.2 The same acts 

also updated the definition of "electronic prescriptions" to be 

"a written prescription that is generated on an electronic 

application and is transmitted to a pharmacy as an electronic 

data file; Schedules II through V prescriptions shall be 

transmitted in accordance with 21 C.F.R. Part 1300."3  

Subsequently, pursuant to a statutory change requested by the 

Board,4 Chapter 664 of the 2019 Acts of Assembly further 

amended this section to insert ten exemptions to this 

requirement and to authorize the licensing health regulatory 

board to grant a hardship waiver for one year.5 Chapter 664 

also required that the Board of Medicine, the Board of 

Nursing, the Board of Dentistry, and the Board of Optometry 

promulgate regulations to implement the waivers within 280 

days of the act's enactment. Hence, the Board of Medicine 

promulgated an emergency regulation that became effective 

on September 18, 2019.6  

The proposed amendment, which is identical to the 

emergency text currently in effect, adds a section to the 

regulation (specifically 18VAC85-21-21) containing two sub-

sections as quoted below.  

18VAC85-21-21. Electronic prescribing. 

A. Beginning July 1, 2020, a prescription for a controlled 

substance that contains an opioid shall be issued as an 

electronic prescription consistent with § 54.1-3408.02 of 

the Code of Virginia. 

B. Upon written request, the board may grant a one-time 

waiver of the requirement of subsection A of this section, 

for a period not to exceed one year, due to demonstrated 

economic hardship, technological limitations that are not 

reasonably within the control of the prescriber, or other 

exceptional circumstances demonstrated by the 

prescriber.  

Thus, the proposed amendment would inform readers as to 

the electronic transmission requirement and the waiver that 

may be obtained, but readers would need to refer to § 54.1-

3408.02 of the Code to find the exemptions that were added 

by Chapter 664 of the 2019 Acts of Assembly.  

The exemptions provided in the Code would directly affect 

the potential cost of transmitting electronic prescriptions in a 

variety of settings. Thus, although they are not explicitly 

mentioned in the text of the regulation, the exemptions are 

listed here for the reader's reference, with parenthetical notes 

inserted for clarity of context.  

§ 54.1-3408.02.C. The requirements of subsection B 

(electronic transmission) shall not apply if: 

1. The prescriber dispenses the controlled substance that 

contains an opioid directly to the patient or the patient's 

agent; 

2. The prescription is for an individual who is residing in 

a hospital, assisted living facility, nursing home, or 

residential health care facility or is receiving services 

from a hospice provider or outpatient dialysis facility; 

3. The prescriber experiences temporary technological or 

electrical failure or other temporary extenuating 

circumstance that prevents the prescription from being 

transmitted electronically, provided that the prescriber 

documents the reason for this exception in the patient's 

medical record; 

4. The prescriber issues a prescription to be dispensed by 

a pharmacy located on federal property, provided that the 

prescriber documents the reason for this exception in the 

patient's medical record; 
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5. The prescription is issued by a licensed veterinarian 

for the treatment of an animal; 

6. The FDA requires the prescription to contain elements 

that are not able to be included in an electronic 

prescription; 

7. The prescription is for an opioid under a research 

protocol; 

8. The prescription is issued in accordance with an 

executive order of the Governor of a declared 

emergency; 

9. The prescription cannot be issued electronically in a 

timely manner and the patient's condition is at risk, 

provided that the prescriber documents the reason for this 

exception in the patient's medical record; or 

10. The prescriber has been issued a waiver pursuant to 

subsection D (hardship waiver). 

Further, Chapter 664 also amends § 54.1-3410 of the Code, 

effective July 1, 2020, which addresses when pharmacists 

may sell and dispense drugs. It adds a subsection to clarify 

that, "A dispenser who receives a non-electronic prescription 

for a controlled substance containing an opioid is not required 

to verify that one of the exceptions set forth in § 54.1-3408.02 

applies and may dispense such controlled substance pursuant 

to such prescription and applicable law." 

Estimated Benefits and Costs. The 2017 Acts of Assembly 

(Chapters 115 and 429) also directed the Secretary of Health 

and Human Resources to convene a workgroup of interested 

stakeholders to review actions necessary for the 

implementation of electronic prescriptions for controlled 

substances and evaluate the burden on prescribers, including 

the inability of prescribers to comply with the deadline. The 

E-Prescribing Workgroup's final report indicates that roughly 

75% of providers and nearly 99% of pharmacies in Virginia 

had already adopted electronic prescriptions by 2018 and face 

no additional costs.7  

The remaining providers who need to implement e-

prescription by July 1, 2020, would face additional costs, 

particularly those in remote areas without reliable internet 

connectivity. If this imposes a significant economic burden, 

these providers could mitigate these costs in the short run by 

obtaining a waiver from the Board by July 1, 2020, for a 

period of up to a year.8 The remaining one percent of 

pharmacies would likely find it beneficial to adopt e-

prescriptions if they dispense opiates and intend to continue 

to do so. Finally, the public would stand to benefit to the 

extent that increasing electronic prescriptions of controlled 

substances decreases instances of substance abuse. 

Businesses and Other Entities Affected. The Board currently 

has 38,947 licensed doctors of medicine and surgery, 3,834 

licensed doctors of osteopathic medicine, 553 licensed 

doctors of podiatry, and 4,224 licensed physician assistants. 

Licensees would only be affected by the new requirements if 

(i) they prescribe medications containing opioids, (ii) they do 

not work in a type of facility that is included in the 

exemptions listed above, and (iii) they do not already use e-

prescription technology. 

Small Businesses9 Affected. The Department of Health 

Professions could not provide information on the number of 

licensees who may be proprietors or employees of a small 

business. However, there do not appear to be 

disproportionately higher costs for small businesses.  

Localities10 Affected.11 The proposed amendments potentially 

affect prescribers and patients in all localities. The proposed 

amendments are unlikely to introduce new costs for local 

governments.  

Projected Impact on Employment. The proposed amendments 

are unlikely to affect total employment in the industry.  

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. The 

proposed amendments are unlikely to affect the use or value 

of private property. Real estate development costs are 

unlikely to be affected. 

_______________________ 

1See https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title54.1/chapter34/section54.1-

3408.02/ 

2See http://lis.virginia.gov/cgi-bin/legp604.exe?171+ful+CHAP0429 

3See Definitions effective July 1, 2020: 

https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title54.1/chapter34/section54.1-3401/ 

4See https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/GetFile.cfm?File=Meeting\30\26790\ 

Agenda_DHP_26790_v1.pdf (page 172) 

5See http://lis.virginia.gov/cgi-bin/legp604.exe?191+ful+CHAP0664 

6See https://townhall.virginia.gov/l/ViewStage.cfm?stageid=8714 

7https://rga.lis.virginia.gov/Published/2018/RD416 

8In communications with the Department of Health Professions, they stated 

that providers would need to have their waiver in place by July 1st or they 

would be in violation of the regulation and the law if they did not e-prescribe 

opioids after the deadline. 

9Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.04 of the Code of Virginia, small business is defined 

as "a business entity, including its affiliates, that (i) is independently owned 

and operated and (ii) employs fewer than 500 full-time employees or has 

gross annual sales of less than $6 million." 

10"Locality" can refer to either local governments or the locations in the 

Commonwealth where the activities relevant to the regulatory change are 

most likely to occur. 

11§ 2.2-4007.04 defines "particularly affected" as bearing disproportionate 

material impact. 

Agency's Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The Board 

of Medicine concurs with the analysis of the Department of 

Planning and Budget. 

Summary: 

The proposed amendments (i) require a prescription for a 

controlled substance that contains an opioid to be issued 

https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title54.1/chapter34/section54.1-3408.02/
https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title54.1/chapter34/section54.1-3408.02/
http://lis.virginia.gov/cgi-bin/legp604.exe?171+ful+CHAP0429
https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title54.1/chapter34/section54.1-3401/
https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/GetFile.cfm?File=Meeting/30/26790/Agenda_DHP_26790_v1.pdf
https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/GetFile.cfm?File=Meeting/30/26790/Agenda_DHP_26790_v1.pdf
http://lis.virginia.gov/cgi-bin/legp604.exe?191+ful+CHAP0664
https://townhall.virginia.gov/l/ViewStage.cfm?stageid=8714
https://rga.lis.virginia.gov/Published/2018/RD416
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as an electronic prescription and (ii) provide a one-time 

waiver of this requirement for a maximum of one year if a 

practitioner can demonstrate economic hardship, 

technological limitations, or other exceptional 

circumstances beyond the practitioner's control. The 

proposed amendments would replace emergency 

regulations currently in effect. 

18VAC85-21-21. Electronic prescribing. 

A. Beginning July 1, 2020, a prescription for a controlled 

substance that contains an opioid shall be issued as an 

electronic prescription consistent with § 54.1-3408.02 of the 

Code of Virginia.  

B. Upon written request, the board may grant a one-time 

waiver of the requirement of subsection A of this section for a 

period not to exceed one year due to demonstrated economic 

hardship, technological limitations that are not reasonably 

within the control of the prescriber, or other exceptional 

circumstances demonstrated by the prescriber.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R20-6085; Filed August 12, 2020, 2:02 p.m.  

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Board of Medicine is claiming 

an exemption from Article 2 of the Administrative Process 

Act in accordance with § 2.2-4006 A 4 a of the Code of 

Virginia, which excludes regulations that are necessary to 

conform to changes in Virginia statutory law or the 

appropriation act where no agency discretion is involved. The 

Board of Medicine will receive, consider, and respond to 

petitions by any interested person at any time with respect to 

reconsideration or revision. 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC85-160. Regulations Governing 

the Registration of Surgical Assistants and Surgical 

Technologists (amending 18VAC85-160-30 through 

18VAC85-160-60; adding 18VAC85-160-51).  

Statutory Authority: § 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: October 14, 2020.  

Agency Contact: William L. Harp, M.D., Executive Director, 

Board of Medicine, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, 

Richmond, VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-4558, FAX (804) 

527-4429, or email william.harp@dhp.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

Pursuant to Chapter 1222 of the 2020 Acts of Assembly, 

the amendments change the regulatory status of surgical 

assistants from registration to licensure. 

CHAPTER 160 

REGULATIONS GOVERNING THE REGISTRATION 

LICENSURE OF SURGICAL ASSISTANTS AND 

REGISTRATION OF SURGICAL TECHNOLOGISTS 

18VAC85-160-30. Current name and address. 

Each licensee or registrant shall furnish the board his current 

name and address of record. All notices required by law or by 

this chapter to be given by the board to any such licensee or 

registrant shall be validly given when sent to the latest 

address of record provided or served to the licensee or 

registrant. Any change of name or address of record or public 

address, if different from the address of record, shall be 

furnished to the board within 30 days of such change. 

18VAC85-160-40. Fees. 

A. The following fees have been established by the board:  

1. The fee for registration licensure as a surgical assistant 

or registration as a surgical technologist shall be $75.  

2. The fee for renewal of licensure or registration shall be 

$70. Renewals shall be due in the birth month of the 

licensee or registrant in each even-numbered year. For 

2020, the renewal fee shall be $54. 

3. The additional fee for processing a late renewal 

application within one renewal cycle shall be $25. 

4. The handling fee for a returned check or a dishonored 

credit card or debit card shall be $50.  

B. Unless otherwise provided, fees established by the board 

are not refundable. 

18VAC85-160-50. Requirements for registration licensure 

as a surgical assistant. 

A. An applicant for registration licensure shall submit a 

completed application and a fee as prescribed in 18VAC85-

160-40 on forms provided by the board.  

B. An applicant for registration licensure as a surgical 

assistant shall provide evidence of:  

1. A current credential as a surgical assistant or surgical 

first assistant issued by the National Board of Surgical 

Technology and Surgical Assisting, the National Surgical 

Assistant Association, or the National Commission for 

Certification of Surgical Assistants or their successors; 

2. Successful completion of a surgical assistant training 

program during the applicant's service as a member of any 

branch of the armed forces of the United States; or 

3. Practice as a surgical assistant in the Commonwealth at 

any time in the six months immediately prior to July 1, 

2014, provided the applicant registers with the board by 

July 1, 2015 2020. 

mailto:william.harp@dhp.virginia.gov
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C. An applicant for registration as a surgical technologist 

shall provide evidence of:  

1. A current credential asa certified surgical technologist 

from the National Board of Surgical Technology and 

Surgical Assisting or its successor; 

2. Successful completion of a surgical technologist training 

program during the applicant's service as a member of any 

branch of the armed forces of the United States; or 

3. Practice as a surgical technologist at any time in the six 

months prior to July 1, 2014, provided the applicant 

registers with the board by July 1, 2015. 

18VAC85-160-51. Requirements for registration as a 

surgical technologist. 

A. An applicant for registration as a surgical technologist 

shall submit a completed application and a fee as prescribed 

in 18VAC85-160-40 on forms provided by the board.  

B. An applicant for registration as a surgical technologist 

shall provide evidence of:  

1. A current credential asa certified surgical technologist 

from the National Board of Surgical Technology and 

Surgical Assisting or its successor; or 

2. Successful completion of a surgical technologist training 

program during the applicant's service as a member of any 

branch of the armed forces of the United States. 

18VAC85-160-60. Renewal of registration licensure for a 

surgical assistant. 

A surgical assistant who was registered licensed based on a 

credential as a surgical assistant or surgical first assistant 

issued by the National Board of Surgical Technology and 

Surgical Assisting, the National Surgical Assistant 

Association, or the National Commission for the Certification 

of Surgical Assistants or their successors shall attest that the 

credential is current at the time of renewal. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R21-6112; Filed August 24, 2020, 8:08 a.m.  

BOARD OF NURSING 

Proposed Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC90-26. Regulations for Nurse 

Aide Education Programs (amending 18VAC90-26-10 

through 18VAC90-26-70; adding 18VAC90-26-80, 

18VAC90-26-90).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 54.1-2400 and 54.1-3005 of the Code 

of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: 

October 14, 2020 - 11:30 a.m. - WebEx - The hearing 

will be conducted during an electronic board meeting. 

The link and instructions to join the meeting will be on 

the agenda on the Virginia Regulatory Town Hall 

(www.townhall.virginia.gov). 

Public Comment Deadline: November 13, 2020. 

Agency Contact: Jay P. Douglas, R.N., Executive Director, 

Board of Nursing, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, 

Richmond, VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-4520, FAX (804) 

527-4455, or email jay.douglas@dhp.virginia.gov. 

Basis: Regulations are promulgated under the general 

authority of § 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia, which 

provides the Board of Nursing the authority to promulgate 

regulations to administer the regulatory system. The specific 

statutory authority for approval of nurse aide education 

programs is found in § 54.1-3005 of the Code of Virginia. 

Purpose: Certified nurse aides often provide care to the most 

vulnerable of our citizens in long-term care, home health, and 

other health care settings. The workgroup convened in 2016 

to review and standardize curriculum found that persons who 

train nurse aides need to be better trained themselves, that 

additional topics need to be taught in the educational 

programs, and that students need a sufficient number of hours 

of clinical training to be prepared to pass the examination and 

practice safely. Amendments are recommended to improve 

the training of nurse aides so they can be competent in their 

skills and knowledge to protect the health and safety of 

patients in their care. 

Substance: As a result of periodic review of 18VAC90-26, 

the board adopted amendments to clarify and update 

regulations for approval of nurse aide education programs. 

Substantive changes include: (i) a requirement that all clinical 

sites must be within 50 miles of the educational program or 

have board approval (current policy of the board); (ii) a 

requirement for the certificate of completion to include 

specific information on the name of the program, the approval 

number from the board, and the signature of the primary 

instructor or program coordinator; (iii) a requirement for the 

primary instructor that states that while onsite to instruct 

students, that person cannot assume other duties within the 

school (such as serving as the school nurse and teaching the 

certified nurse aide course simultaneously); (iv) a requirement 

for nurse aide education programs to follow the board-

approved curriculum with the addition of training in mental 

health and substance abuse; (v) a refresher course every three 

years for instructors to remain qualified to teach the nurse 

aide curriculum; (vi) a change in the length of program to add 

20 hours, from 120 to 140, with 20 hours specifically 

designated for skills acquisition; and (vii) two new sections, 

18VAC90-26-80 and 18VAC90-26-90, to move the provision 

of 18VAC90-25-130 and 18VAC90-25-140 (advanced nurse 

aide education programs) to 18VAC90-26 so that all 

regulatory requirements for nurse aide education are included 

in one chapter. 

https://lis.virginia.gov/000/noc/www.townhall.virginia.gov
mailto:jay.douglas@dhp.virginia.gov
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Issues: The primary advantage of the regulatory changes is 

greater competency among certified nurse aides who have 

challenges in working with a vulnerable population of 

patients. There could also be an advantage to nurse aide 

students if instructors are better trained and more 

knowledgeable and there is more time in the curriculum for 

developing clinical skills, which together might improve their 

opportunity to pass the required examination. The 

disadvantage of the regulatory changes may be an increase in 

the number of hours, which may necessitate a modest 

increase in staff in some situations. 

There are no advantages or disadvantages to the agency or the 

Commonwealth.  

Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 

Analysis: 

A change in the minimum length of program to add 20 hours, 

an increase from 120 to 140 hours, with 20 hours specifically 

designated for skills acquisition is also being proposed. The 

nurse aide programs are offered by community colleges, high 

schools, proprietary (for profit) schools, and nursing 

homes/hospitals. The data provided by DHP on the number of 

programs with their current hours is presented in the table 

below by type of program. 

  Community 

Colleges 

High 

Schools 

Proprietary 

Schools 

Nursing Homes/Hospitals Total 

140 hours or 

more 

30 68 29 17 144 (63%) 

Between 120 

and 140 hours 

8 5 31 8 52 (23%) 

120 hours  6 4 12 9 31 (14%) 

Total 44 77 72 34 227 

The data indicate that 144 programs (63%) out of 227 already 

meet the proposed minimum program length and would not 

likely be affected from this change. Programs with fewer than 

140 hours would face additional costs in terms of 

instructional or support personnel needing to be paid for the 

additional hours of work, and any other costs that may arise 

from additional hours. DHP believes that there are 500-600 

instructors statewide. The students in those programs would 

also have to allocate more of their time toward completing 

training and may have a delayed graduation date. These 

anticipated impacts would be proportional to the number of 

hours needed to reach the 140 hours for the 52 (23%) 

programs that currently provide between 120 and 140 hours 

(the hours needed for this group may vary from 1-20 hours, 

depending on the program). The remaining 31 (14%) 

programs would face the full additional cost as they are 

meeting only the minimum hours currently required. 

Between the different types of programs, proprietary schools 

appear to be the ones that would need to expend relatively 

more than others; 31 programs would have to increase their 

hours by a portion (1-19 hours) and 12 would have increase 

their hours by 20. This particular change has a delayed 

effective date; affected programs would have two years to 

adjust schedules and plan for the personnel and other costs 

once the change becomes final. It is more than likely that the 

programs would pass at least a portion of these additional 

costs to their students, leading to an increase in tuition. The 

expected benefit is having more nurse aides pass the 

competency examination and becoming more qualified in 

their skills. 

The workgroup found out that trainers at high schools often 

were assuming other duties (such as serving as the school 

nurse) concurrently while on site to instruct students. The 

Board proposes to prohibit simultaneously assuming other 

duties within the school. This amendment may necessitate 

scheduling changes to make sure trainers can focus 

undistracted entirely on training, or if the scheduling could 

not address the conflict hiring of additional personnel to 

handle those other duties. 

Additionally, the Board proposes a requirement for the 

certificate of completion to include specific information on 

the name of the program, the approval number from the 

Board, and the signature of the primary instructor or program 

coordinator as well as a requirement that all clinical sites 

must be within 50 miles of the educational program or have 

Board approval (current policy of the Board). DHP has 

indicated that some of the programs, especially those owned 

by individuals, do not issue a certificate of completion to their 

graduates. The fifth change is intended to address that 

deficiency. The sixth change is to prevent programs imposing 

unreasonable burdens on their students if the clinical site is 

too far away. However, the proposal allows programs to 

obtain a waiver in cases where there is no clinical site within 

the 50-mile radius. 

Overall, the Board believes the benefits of more specific 

training for instructors and more hours in skills acquisition 

would result in an increase in passage rates on the skills 

portion of the national competency examination. In turn, the 

Board believes this will increase the number of CNAs, and 

the quality of the training they receive, which will respond to 
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the growing needs of the Commonwealth and its most 

vulnerable members. There would also be a benefit to nurse 

aide students if their instructors are better trained and more 

knowledgeable, and the curriculum has additional time 

devoted to developing clinical skills, which would in turn 

improve their chances of passing the certification exam. The 

expected costs include an increase in the number of hours 

which would likely necessitate changes in scheduling, an 

increase in the staff time needed to ensure an ongoing 

program operation, an increase in the time needed for CNAs 

to complete the program, a possible delay in graduation, and a 

likely tuition increase. 

Businesses and Other Entities Affected. The proposed 

amendments apply to nurse aide programs currently offered 

by 44 community colleges, 77 high schools, 72 proprietary 

(for profit) schools, and 34 nursing homes/hospitals. 144 

programs already meet the most significant proposed change, 

an increase from 120 to 140 training hours; accordingly, they 

and their students would likely be the least affected. 52 

programs would have to increase their hours by less than 20 

and they and their students would be more affected. 31 

programs would have to increase their training hours by 20 

hours and their students would likely be the most affected. To 

the extent programs cannot pass all of the additional 

compliance costs to their students, an adverse impact would 

be indicated for them. Similarly, an adverse impact would be 

indicated for students to the extent the costs of compliance 

(e.g., additional time to complete training, delays in 

graduation, increase in tuition) exceed the benefits to them 

(e.g., higher exam pass rates).  

Similarly, train-the-trainer programs (indirectly) and the 

trainers themselves would be affected as there would be a 

minimum 12 hours of initial coursework and a required 

refresher course every three years. The Board indicates train-

the-trainer programs are available in the marketplace and 

there are 500-600 trainers. 

Additionally, high schools and community colleges generally 

receive state and local funding. Therefore, there may be some 

fiscal impact on the state and/or local governments depending 

on the particular effect on the programs in a given locality. 

Small Businesses2 Affected:  

Types and Estimated Number of Small Businesses Affected. 

DHP has no information on which programs are small 

businesses. However, it is probable that at least some of the 

proprietary schools and some of the train-the trainer programs 

would fall under the small business category. 

Costs and Other Effects. The proposed amendments would 

increase compliance costs for small proprietary schools. 

Some programs would need to increase the length of their 

training by up to 20 hours. An adverse economic impact3 on 

small affected programs is indicated to the extent they cannot 

pass a portion of their costs to the students because there do 

not appear to be any offsetting direct benefits to these small 

businesses. Similarly, some of the train-the trainer programs 

are believed to offer shorter than proposed 12 hour initial 

trainer coursework and may have to make scheduling changes 

or add more staff. To the extent increased costs to them are 

not passed on to the trainers, an adverse impact would be 

indicated. 

Alternative Method that Minimizes Adverse Impact. There 

are no clear alternative methods that both reduce adverse 

impact on proprietary and train-the-trainer programs and meet 

the intended policy goals. 

Localities4 Affected.5 The proposed amendments potentially 

affect programs in all 132 localities. The increased costs on 

high schools may have fiscal implications for the locality they 

are in. Accordingly, some local funds may be required. 

Consequently, an adverse economic impact6 on localities 

would be indicated to the extent affected high school 

programs necessitate additional local funding because there 

do not appear to be any offsetting direct benefits to these local 

governments. 

Projected Impact on Employment. The proposed amendments 

would increase the demand for trainers and/or program 

support staff, but also may reduce supply of nurse aides as 

they would be spending more time in classroom and may 

choose to work fewer hours during the duration of their 

training. The net impact on total employment is not clear. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. The 

additional compliance costs placed on programs would have a 

negative impact on the asset values of 72 private proprietary 

schools and 34 nursing homes/hospitals to the extent they 

cannot pass a portion of the costs to their students. 

Consequently, the asset value of some these firms may be 

reduced. The proposed amendments do not affect real estate 

development costs. 

__________________________ 

1https://townhall.virginia.gov/l/ViewPReview.cfm?PRid=1636 

2Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.04 of the Code of Virginia, small business is defined 

as "a business entity, including its affiliates, that (i) is independently owned 

and operated and (ii) employs fewer than 500 full-time employees or has 

gross annual sales of less than $6 million." 

3Adverse impact is indicated if there is any increase in net cost or reduction 

in net revenue for any entity, even if the benefits exceed the costs for all 

entities combined. 

4"Locality" can refer to either local governments or the locations in the 

Commonwealth where the activities relevant to the regulatory change are 

most likely to occur. 

5§ 2.2-4007.04 defines "particularly affected" as bearing disproportionate 

material impact. 

6Adverse impact is indicated if there is any increase in net cost or reduction 

in net revenue for any entity, even if the benefits exceed the costs for all 

entities combined. 

https://townhall.virginia.gov/l/ViewPReview.cfm?PRid=1636
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Agency's Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The Board 

of Nursing concurs with the analysis of the Department of 

Planning and Budget. 

Summary: 

As a result of periodic review of 18VAC90-26, the 

proposed amendments clarify and update the regulation 

for approval of nurse aide education programs, including 

(i) requiring instructors to have minimum of 12 hours of 

coursework and to take a refresher course every three 

years, (ii) requiring nurse aide education programs to 

follow the board-approved curriculum with the addition of 

training in mental health and substance abuse, (iii) 

increasing the length of program to 140 hours, (iv) 

prohibiting the primary instructors at schools from 

assuming other duties within the school while onsite to 

instruct students, (v) requiring the certificate of completion 

to include specific information, and (vi) requiring that all 

clinical sites must be within 50 miles of the educational 

program or have board approval.  

18VAC90-26-10. Definitions. 

The following words and terms when used in this chapter 

shall have the following meanings unless the context clearly 

indicates otherwise:  

"Approval" means the process by which the board evaluates 

and grants official recognition to a nurse aide education 

program. 

"Board" means the Virginia Board of Nursing.  

"Client" means a person receiving the services of a certified 

nurse aide, to include a patient in a health care facility or at 

home or a resident of a long-term care facility.  

"Committee" means the Education Special Conference 

Committee, comprised of not less than two members of the 

board in accordance with § 2.2-4019 of the Code of Virginia.  

"Conditional approval" means the time-limited status that 

results when a board-approved nurse aide education program 

has failed to maintain requirements as set forth in this chapter. 

"Nurse aide education program" means a program designed 

to prepare nurse aides for certification.  

"Nursing facility" means a licensed nursing home or an 

entity that is certified for Medicare or Medicaid long-term 

care reimbursement and licensed or certified by the Virginia 

Department of Health.  

"Primary instructor" means a registered nurse who is 

responsible for teaching and evaluating the students enrolled 

in a nurse aide education program.  

"Program coordinator" means a registered nurse who is 

administratively responsible and accountable for a nurse aide 

education program.  

"Program provider" means an entity that conducts a board-

approved nurse aide education program. 

"Site visit" means a focused onsite review of the nurse aide 

education program by board staff for the purpose of 

evaluating program components, such as the physical location 

(skills lab, classrooms, learning resources) for obtaining 

program approval, change of location, or verification of 

noncompliance with this chapter or in response to a 

complaint. 

"Survey visit" means a comprehensive onsite review of the 

nurse aide education program by board staff for the purpose 

of granting continued program approval. The survey visit 

includes the program's completion of a self-evaluation report 

prior to the visit as well as a board staff review of all program 

resources, including skills lab, classrooms, learning resources, 

and clinical facilities, and other components to ensure 

compliance with this chapter. Meetings with administration, 

instructional personnel, and students will occur on an as-

needed basis. 

18VAC90-26-20. Establishing and maintaining a nurse 

aide education program. 

A. Establishing a nurse aide education program. 

1. A program provider wishing to establish a nurse aide 

education program shall submit an a complete application 

to the board at least 90 days in advance of the expected 

opening date. 

2. The application shall provide evidence of the ability of 

the institution to comply with subsection B of this section. 

3. Initial approval Approval may be granted when all 

documentation of the program's compliance with 

requirements as set forth in subsection B of this section has 

been submitted and deemed satisfactory to the board and a 

site visit has been conducted. Advertisement of the 

program is authorized only after board approval has been 

granted. 

4. If approval is denied, the program may request, within 

30 days of the mailing of the decision, an informal 

conference to be convened in accordance with § 2.2-4019 

of the Code of Virginia. 

5. If denial is recommended following an informal 

conference, which is accepted by the board or a panel 

thereof, no further action will be required of the board 

unless the program requests a hearing before the board or a 

panel thereof in accordance with § 2.2-4020 and 

subdivision 11 of § 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia. 

6. If the decision of the board or a panel thereof following 

a formal hearing is to deny initial approval, the program 

shall be advised of the right to appeal the decision to the 

appropriate circuit court in accordance with § 2.2-4026 of 
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the Code of Virginia and Part 2A of the Rules of the 

Supreme Court of Virginia. 

B. Maintaining an approved nurse aide education program. 

To maintain approval, the nurse aide education program shall: 

1. Demonstrate evidence of compliance with the following 

essential elements: 

a. Curriculum content and length as approved by the 

board and as set forth in subsection A of 18VAC90-26-

40 and subsection C of 18VAC90-26-50. 

b. Maintenance of qualified instructional personnel as set 

forth in 18VAC90-26-30. 

c. Classroom facilities that meet requirements set forth in 

subsection D of 18VAC90-26-50. 

d. Maintenance of records as set forth in subsection A of 

18VAC90-26-50. 

e. Skills training experience in a nursing facility that has 

not been subject to penalty or penalties as provided in 42 

CFR 483.151(b)(2) (Medicare and Medicaid Programs: 

Nurse Aide Training and Competency Evaluation and 

Paid Feeding Assistants, October 1, 2013 edition) in the 

past two years. The foregoing shall not apply to a nursing 

facility that has received a waiver from the state survey 

agency in accordance with federal law. The use of a 

nursing facility in Virginia located 50 miles or more from 

the school shall require board approval. 

f. Agreement that board representatives may make 

unannounced site visits to the program. 

g. Financial support and resources sufficient to meet 

requirements of this chapter as evidenced by a copy of 

the current annual budget or a signed statement from the 

administration specifically detailing its financial support 

and resources. 

h. Completion and submission of biennial onsite survey 

visit review reports and program evaluation reports as 

requested by the board within a timeframe specified by 

the board. 

2. Impose no fee for any portion of the program on any 

nurse aide student who, on the date on which the nurse aide 

student begins the program, is either employed or has an 

offer of employment from a nursing facility. 

3. Provide documentation that each student applying to or 

enrolled in such program has been given a copy of 

applicable Virginia law regarding criminal history records 

checks for employment in certain health care facilities, and 

a list of crimes that pose a barrier to such employment. 

4. Report all substantive changes in subdivision 1 of this 

subsection within 10 days of the change to the board to 

include, but not be limited to, a change in the program 

coordinator, primary instructor, program ownership, 

physical location of the program, or licensure status of the 

clinical facility. 

5. Provide each student with a copy of his certificate of 

completion as specified in 18VAVC90-26-50. 

18VAC90-26-30. Requirements for instructional 

personnel. 

A. Program coordinator.  

1. Each program shall have a program coordinator who 

must be a registered nurse who holds a current, unrestricted 

license in Virginia or a multistate licensure privilege. 

2. The program coordinator in a nursing facility based 

program may be the director of nursing services. The 

director of nursing services may shall assume the 

administrative responsibility and accountability for the 

nurse aide education program but shall not engage in the 

actual classroom and clinical teaching.  

3. The primary instructor may be the program coordinator 

in any nurse aide education program.  

4. The director of nursing services in a nursing facility-

based program may serve as the program coordinator but 

shall not simultaneously engage in the actual classroom, 

skills laboratory, or clinical teaching while serving as the 

director of nursing services.  

B. Primary instructor.  

1. Qualifications. Each program shall have a primary 

instructor who does the majority of the actual teaching of 

the students and who shall:  

a. Hold a current, unrestricted Virginia license or a 

multistate licensure privilege as a registered nurse who 

holds a current, unrestricted license in Virginia or a 

multistate licensure privilege; and  

b. Have two years of experience as a registered nurse 

within the previous five years and at least one year of 

direct client care or supervisory experience in the 

provision of geriatric long-term care facility services. 

Such Other experience may include, but not be limited 

to, employment in a nurse aide education program or 

employment in or supervision of nursing students in a 

nursing facility or unit, geriatrics department, chronic 

care hospital, home care, or other long-term care setting. 

Experience should include varied responsibilities, such as 

direct client care, supervision, and education.  

2. Responsibilities. The primary instructor is responsible 

for the teaching and evaluation of students and, in addition, 

shall not assume other duties while instructing or 

supervising students. The primary instructor shall:  

a. Participate in the planning of each learning experience;  

b. Ensure that course objectives are accomplished met;  
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c. Ensure that the provisions of subsection F of this 

section are maintained;  

d. Maintain records as required by subsection A of 

18VAC90-26-50;  

e. Perform other activities necessary to comply with 

subsection B of 18VAC90-26-20; and  

f. Ensure that students do not perform services for which 

they have not received instruction and been found 

proficient by the instructor.  

C. Other instructional personnel.  

1. Instructional personnel who assist the primary instructor 

in providing classroom or clinical supervision shall be 

registered nurses or licensed practical nurses.  

a. A registered nurse shall:  

(1) Hold a current, unrestricted Virginia license or 

multistate licensure privilege as a registered nurse; and  

(2) Have had at least one year of direct patient client 

geriatric long-term care experience as a registered nurse.  

b. A licensed practical nurse shall:  

(1) Hold a current, unrestricted Virginia license or 

multistate licensure privilege as a practical nurse; and 

(2) Hold a high school diploma or equivalent;  

(3) Have been graduated from a state-approved practical 

nursing program; and  

(4) Have had at least two years of direct patient client 

geriatric long-term care experience as a licensed practical 

nurse.  

2. Responsibilities. Other instructional personnel shall 

provide instruction under the supervision of the primary 

instructor.  

D. Prior to being assigned to teach the in a nurse aide 

education program, all instructional personnel shall 

demonstrate competence to teach adults or high school 

students by one of the following:  

1. Satisfactory completion of a course in teaching adults at 

least 12 hours of coursework that includes:  

a. Basic principles of adult learning;  

b. Teaching methods and tools for adult learners; and  

c. Evaluation strategies and measurement tools for 

assessing the student learning outcomes;  

d. Review of current regulations for nurse aide education 

programs;  

e. Review of the board-approved nurse aide curriculum 

content; and 

f. Review of the skills evaluated on the board-approved 

nurse aide certification examination; or 

2. Have experience in teaching adults or high school 

students: 

a. Experience in teaching the curriculum content and 

skills evaluated on the board-approved nurse aide 

certification examination to adults or high school 

students; and 

b. Knowledge of current regulations for nurse aides and 

nurse aide education programs.  

E. In order to remain qualified to teach the nurse aide 

curriculum, instructional personnel shall complete a refresher 

course every three years that includes a review of regulations 

for nurse aides and nurse aide education programs and the 

skills evaluated on the board-approved nurse aide certification 

examination.  

F. To meet planned program objectives, the program may, 

under the direct, onsite supervision of the primary instructor, 

use other persons who have expertise in specific topics and 

have had at least one year of experience in their field.  

F. G. When students are giving direct care to clients in 

clinical areas, instructional personnel must be on site solely to 

supervise the students. The ratio of students to each instructor 

shall not exceed 10 students to one instructor in all clinical 

areas, including the skills laboratory. 

18VAC90-26-40. Requirements for the curriculum. 

A. Curriculum content. The curriculum shall include, but 

shall not be limited to, classroom, skills laboratory, and 

clinical instruction in the following: 

1. Initial core curriculum. Prior to the direct contact with a 

nursing facility client, a student shall have completed a 

total of at least 24 hours of instruction. Sixteen of those 

hours shall be in the following five areas: 

a. Communication and interpersonal skills. 

b. Infection control. 

c. Safety and emergency procedures, including dealing 

with obstructed airways and fall prevention. 

d. Promoting client independence. 

e. Respecting clients' rights. 

2. Basic skills. 

a. Recognizing changes in body functioning and the 

importance of reporting such changes to a supervisor. 

b. Measuring and recording routine vital signs. 

c. Measuring and recording height and weight. 

d. Caring for the client's environment. 
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e. Measuring and recording fluid and food intake and 

output. 

f. Performing basic emergency measures. 

g. Caring for a client when death is imminent. 

3. Personal care skills. 

a. Bathing and oral hygiene. 

b. Grooming. 

c. Dressing. 

d. Toileting. 

e. Assisting with eating and hydration, including proper 

feeding techniques. 

f. Caring for skin, to include prevention of pressure 

ulcers. 

g. Transfer, positioning, and turning. 

4. Individual client's needs, including mental health and 

social service needs. 

a. Modifying the nurse aide's behavior in response to the 

behavior of clients. 

b. Identifying developmental tasks associated with the 

aging process. 

c. Demonstrating principles of behavior management by 

reinforcing appropriate behavior and causing 

inappropriate behavior to be reduced or eliminated. 

d. Demonstrating skills supporting age-appropriate 

behavior by allowing the client to make personal choices, 

and by providing and reinforcing other behavior 

consistent with the client's dignity. 

e. Utilizing the client's family or concerned others as a 

source of emotional support. 

f. Responding appropriately to the client's behavior 

including, but not limited to, aggressive behavior and 

language. 

g. Providing appropriate clinical care to the aged and 

disabled. 

h. Providing culturally sensitive care. 

5. Care of the cognitively or sensory (visual and auditory) 

impaired client. 

a. Using techniques for addressing the unique needs and 

behaviors of individuals with dementia (Alzheimer's and 

others). 

b. Communicating with cognitively or sensory impaired 

clients. 

c. Demonstrating an understanding of and responding 

appropriately to the behavior of cognitively or sensory 

impaired clients. 

d. Using methods to reduce the effects of cognitive 

impairment. 

6. Skills for basic restorative services. 

a. Using assistive devices in transferring, ambulation, 

eating, and dressing. 

b. Maintaining range of motion. 

c. Turning and positioning, both in bed and chair. 

d. Bowel and bladder training. 

e. Caring for and using prosthetic and orthotic devices. 

f. Teaching the client in self-care according to the client's 

abilities as directed by a supervisor. 

7. Clients' rights. 

a. Providing privacy and maintaining confidentiality. 

b. Promoting the client's right to make personal choices 

to accommodate individual needs. 

c. Giving assistance in resolving grievances and disputes. 

d. Providing assistance necessary to participate in client 

and family groups and other activities. 

e. Maintaining care and security of the client's personal 

possessions. 

f. Promoting the client's rights to be free from abuse, 

mistreatment, and neglect and the need to report any 

instances of such treatment to appropriate staff. 

g. Avoiding the need for restraints in accordance with 

current professional standards. 

8. Legal and regulatory aspects of practice as a certified 

nurse aide including, but not limited to, consequences of 

abuse, neglect, misappropriation of client property, and 

unprofessional conduct as set forth in § 54.1-3007 of the 

Code of Virginia and 18VAC90-25-100. 

9. Occupational health and safety measures. 

10. Appropriate management of conflict. 

11. Observational and reporting techniques. 

12. Substance abuse and opioid misuse.  

B. Unit objectives. 

1. Objectives for each unit of instruction shall be stated in 

behavioral terms that are measurable. 

2. Objectives shall be reviewed with the students at the 

beginning of each unit. 
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C. Curriculum changes. Changes in curriculum shall be 

approved by the board prior to implementation and shall be 

submitted at the time of the onsite visit or with the report 

submitted by the program coordinator in the intervening year. 

18VAC90-26-50. Other program requirements. 

A. Records. 

1. Each nurse aide education program shall develop and 

maintain an individual record of major skills taught and the 

date of performance by the student. At the completion of 

the nurse aide education program, the program shall 

provide each nurse aide with a copy of this record and a 

certificate of completion from the program, which includes 

the name of the program, the board approval number, date 

of program completion, and the signature of the primary 

instructor or program coordinator. 

2. A record of the reports of graduates' performance on the 

approved competency evaluation program state-approved 

nurse aide certification examination (the National Nurse 

Aide Assessment Program or NNAAP) shall be 

maintained. 

3. A record that documents the disposition of complaints 

against the program shall be maintained. 

B. Student identification. The nurse aide students shall wear 

identification that clearly distinguishes them as a "nurse aide 

student." Name identification on a badge shall follow the 

policy of the facility in which the nurse aide student is 

practicing clinical skills. 

C. Length of program. 

1. The By (insert a the date two years from effective date 

of the regulation), the program shall be at least 120 140 

clock hours in length, at least 20 hours of which shall be 

specifically designated for skills acquisition in the 

laboratory setting. 

2. The program shall provide for at least 24 hours of 

instruction prior to direct contact of a student with a 

nursing facility client. 

3. Skills Clinical training in clinical settings shall be at 

least 40 hours of providing direct client care. Five of the 

clinical hours may be in a setting other than a nursing 

home a geriatric long-term care facility. Hours of 

observation shall not be included in the required 40 hours 

of skills training. 

4. Employment Time spent in employment orientation to 

facilities used in the education program must not be 

included in the 120 140 hours allotted for the program. 

D. Classroom facilities. The nurse aide education program 

shall provide facilities that meet federal and state 

requirements including: 

1. Comfortable temperatures. 

2. Clean and safe conditions. 

3. Adequate lighting. 

4. Adequate space to accommodate all students. 

5. Instructional Current instructional technology and 

equipment needed for simulating client care.  

6. Equipment and supplies sufficient for the size of the 

student cohort. 

18VAC90-26-60. Requirements for continued approval. 

A. Program review. 

1. Each nurse aide education program shall be reviewed 

annually either by a survey visit on site by an agent of the 

board or by a written program evaluation. Each program 

shall be reviewed by an onsite a survey visit at least every 

two years following initial review or by a site visit 

whenever deemed necessary by the board to ensure 

continued compliance. 

2. The program coordinator shall prepare and submit a 

program evaluation report on a form provided by the board 

in the intervening year that an onsite review a survey visit 

is not conducted.  

3. Any additional information needed to evaluate a 

program's compliance with regulations of the board must 

be submitted within a timeframe specified by the board. 

B. Decision on continued Continued, conditional, or 

withdrawal of approval.  

1. The board shall receive and review the report of the 

onsite survey visit or program evaluation report and may 

grant continued approval, place a program on conditional 

approval, or deny continued withdraw approval. 

a. Granting continued approval. A nurse aide education 

program shall continue to be approved provided the 

requirements set forth in subsection B of 18VAC90-26-

20 are maintained. 

b. Placing a program on conditional approval. If the 

board determines that a nurse aide education program (i) 

has not filed its biennial survey visit or program 

evaluation report; (ii) is unresponsive or uncooperative in 

the scheduling of the survey or site visit; or (iii) is not 

maintaining the requirements of subsection B of 

18VAC90-26-20, as evidenced by the onsite survey visit 

or program evaluation report, the board may place the 

program on conditional approval and the program 

provider shall be given a reasonable period of time to 

correct the identified deficiencies. Within 30 days of the 

mailing of a decision on conditional approval, The the 

program may request, within 30 days of the mailing of a 

decision on conditional approval, an informal conference 

to be convened in accordance with § 2.2-4019 of the 

Code of Virginia. 
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(1) The board shall receive and review reports of 

progress toward correcting identified deficiencies. When 

a final report is received at the end of the specified time 

showing corrections of deficiencies, the board may grant 

continued approval. 

(2) If the program provider fails to correct the identified 

deficiencies within the time specified by the board, a 

committee the board may recommend withdrawing 

approval following an informal conference held in 

accordance with § 2.2-4019 of the Code of Virginia 

withdraw approval. 

c. Withdrawing approval. 

(3) If the recommendation to withdraw approval 

following an informal conference is accepted by the 

board or a panel thereof, no further action will be 

required unless the program requests a formal hearing. 

(1) If the board determines that a nurse aide education 

program is not maintaining the requirements of 

subsection B of 18VAC90-26-20, an informal conference 

will be convened in accordance with § 2.2-4019 of the 

Code of Virginia. If the recommendation to withdraw 

approval following an informal conference is accepted by 

the board or a panel thereof, no further action will be 

required unless the program requests a formal hearing. 

(4) (2) The program provider may request a formal 

hearing before the board or a panel thereof pursuant to § 

2.2-4020 and subdivision 11 of § 54.1-2400 of the Code 

of Virginia if it objects to any action of the board relating 

to conditional withdrawal of approval. 

c. Denying continued approval. If the board determines 

that a nurse aide education program is not maintaining 

the requirements of subsection B of 18VAC90-26-20, an 

informal conference will be convened in accordance with 

§ 2.2-4019 of the Code of Virginia. If the 

recommendation to withdraw approval following an 

informal conference is accepted by the board or a panel 

thereof, no further action will be required unless the 

program requests a formal hearing. 

2. If the decision of the board or a panel thereof following 

a formal hearing is to withdraw approval or continue on 

conditional approval with terms or conditions, the program 

shall be advised of the right to appeal the decision to the 

appropriate circuit court in accordance with § 2.2-4026 of 

the Code of Virginia and Part 2A of the Rules of the 

Supreme Court of Virginia. 

18VAC90-26-70. Interruption or closing of a program. 

A. Interruption of program. 

1. When a program provider does not hold classes for a 

period of one year, the program shall be placed on inactive 

status and shall not be subject to compliance with 

subsection B of 18VAC90-26-20 for the specified time. 

2. Unless the program provider notifies the board that it 

intends to admit students, the program will be considered 

closed at the end of the inactive period and be subject to 

the requirements of subsection B of this section. At any 

time during the year after the program is placed on inactive 

status, the program provider may request that the board 

return the program to active status by providing a list of the 

admitted student cohort and start date. 

3. If the program provider does not hold classes for two 

consecutive years, the program shall be considered closed 

and shall be subject to the requirements of subsection B of 

this section. In the event that a program desires to reopen 

after closure, submission of a new program approval 

application shall be required. 

B. Closing of a nurse aide education program. When a nurse 

aide education program closes, the program provider shall: 

1. Notify the board of the date of closing. 

2. Submit to the board a list of all graduates with the date 

of graduation of each. 

18VAC90-26-80. Requirements for an approved advanced 

certification education program. 

A. The advanced certification education program shall be 

approved by the Virginia Board of Nursing. An approved 

advanced certification education program shall also be an 

approved nurse aide education program as set forth in 

18VAC90-26-20.  

B. An advanced certification education program shall 

consist of a minimum of 140 hours, at least 20 hours of which 

shall be specifically designated for skills acquisition in the 

laboratory setting. There shall also be a minimum of 40 hours 

of clinical skills instruction in direct client care with onsite 

supervision by instructional personnel. When nurse aides are 

engaged in direct client care in the course of advanced 

certification training, the ratio shall not exceed 10 students to 

one instructor.  

C. The instructional personnel in an approved advanced 

certification education program shall meet the requirements 

as set forth in 18VAC90-26-30.  

D. The curricula of an approved advanced certification 

education program shall, at a minimum, meet the 

requirements of 18VAC90-26-40.  

E. Each advanced certification program shall develop an 

individual record of major skills taught and the date of 

performance by the student. At the completion of the 

program, the program shall provide each nurse aide with a 

copy of this record and a certificate of completion, as 

specified in 18VAC90-26-50 A.  
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F. An advanced certification education program shall 

develop and submit to the board a competency evaluation 

based on the curriculum content required in 18VAC90-26-40. 

Such an evaluation shall include both a written test on the 

curriculum and an assessment of manual skills. A record of 

the reports of each graduate's performance on the nurse aide 

certification examination (the National Nurse Aide 

Assessment Program or NNAAP) shall be maintained for a 

minimum of three years.  

G. Program review shall be in accordance with requirements 

of 18VAC90-26-60 and shall be conducted concurrently with 

the onsite review of the basic nurse aide education program. 

Loss of board approval for the basic nurse aide education 

program shall automatically result in the loss of approval for 

the advanced certification education program.  

H. When an advanced certification education program 

closes, the program provider shall comply with 18VAC90-26-

70 B.  

18VAC90-26-90. Required curriculum content for an 

advanced certification education program. 

A. In addition to the curriculum content specified in 

18VAC90-26-40, an advanced certification education 

program shall include classroom, skills laboratory, and 

clinical instruction in the following curriculum:  

1. Leadership and mentoring skills.  

a. Principles of adult learning;  

b. Learning styles;  

c. Evaluation methods to assess learner knowledge;  

d. Communication techniques and communication 

barriers; emphasizing cultural diversity of coworkers and 

clients;  

e. Conflict management;  

f. Precepting and mentoring new certified nurse aides;  

g. Teamwork;  

h. Contributing to care plan development and 

implementation;  

i. Organizational responsibilities; and  

j. Principles of documentation.  

2. Care of the cognitively impaired client.  

a. Signs and symptoms of dementia;  

b. Concepts and techniques for addressing the unique 

needs and behaviors of individuals with dementia, 

including agitation, combativeness, sundown syndrome, 

wandering, and forgetfulness;  

c. Basic concepts of communication with cognitively 

impaired clients, including techniques to reduce the 

effects of cognitive impairment;  

d. Basic concepts of behavior management with 

cognitively impaired clients; and  

e. Recognizing changes in the client's condition and 

reporting and documenting such changes.  

3. Restorative care.  

a. Anatomy and physiology with emphasis on the effects 

of aging;  

b. Pathophysiology of common disorders of the elderly;  

c. Measures to assist clients with common medical 

problems;  

d. Recognizing changes in the client's condition and 

reporting and documenting such changes;  

e. Concepts to maintain or improve client mobility and 

ability to perform activities of daily living; and  

f. Rehabilitation procedures.  

4. Wound care.  

a. Prevention, identification and treatment of Stage I and 

Stage II pressure ulcers;  

b. Positioning; 

c. Sterile and clean technique;  

d. Dressing changes;  

e. Concepts of hydration;  

f. Nutrition and weight loss; and  

g. Recognizing changes in the client's condition and 

reporting and documenting such changes.  

B. Written objectives for each unit of instruction shall be 

stated in behavioral terms that are measurable and shall be 

reviewed with the students at the beginning of each unit.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R19-5969; Filed August 19, 2020, 8:36 a.m.  

BOARD OF OPTOMETRY 

Fast-Track Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC105-20. Regulations Governing 

the Practice of Optometry (amending 18VAC105-20-20, 

18VAC105-20-40; repealing 18VAC105-20-50).  

Statutory Authority: § 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: No public hearings are 

scheduled.  

Public Comment Deadline: October 14, 2020. 

Effective Date: October 29, 2020.  
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Agency Contact: Leslie L. Knachel, Executive Director, 

Board of Optometry, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, 

Richmond, VA 23233, telephone (804) 597-4130, FAX (804) 

527-4471, or email leslie.knachel@dhp.virginia.gov. 

Basis: Regulations are promulgated under the general 

authority of § 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia, which 

provides the Board of Optometry the authority to promulgate 

regulations to administer the regulatory system. 

Purpose: The purpose of the regulatory change is to eliminate 

requirements and fees that are not necessary for public 

protection. The board found that current law and regulations 

protect consumer interest and protect the health, safety, and 

welfare of the public. 

Rationale for Using Fast-Track Rulemaking Process: The 

impetus for this regulatory action is the recommendation of a 

subcommittee appointed by the board to study the use of 

professional designations. In its review of law and regulation, 

the subcommittee found no statutory requirement for 

registration of such designations and no necessity in terms of 

consumer protection for such registration. Since the 

amendments will eliminate a restriction and regulatory burden 

on optometrists, it is not expected to be controversial. 

Substance: The amendments repeal 18VAC105-20-50, which 

establishes the requirements for issuance and usage of a 

professional designation and change 18VAC105-20-20, 

relating to professional designations, and 18VAC105-20-40, 

relating to unprofessional conduct for practicing in a location 

with an unregistered professional designation, for consistency 

with the repealed section. 

Issues: There are no primary advantages or disadvantages to 

the public. The public is adequately protected by current laws 

and regulations for disclosures, posting, and recordkeeping 

without registration of professional designations. 

There are no advantages or disadvantages to the agency or the 

Commonwealth. Eliminating an administrative function of 

registering professional designations is advantageous, but it is 

a very small component of the board's work. 

Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 

Analysis: 

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. The 

Board of Optometry (Board) proposes to amend 18VAC105-

20 Regulations of the Virginia Board of Optometry in order 

to repeal the requirement to register a professional 

designation and remove the associated registration fees and 

penalties for failing to meet that requirement.  

Background. Under the Board's current regulation, all 

licensed optometrists who practice at an office under a 

professional designation, as opposed to practicing under the 

legal name of the optometrist, are required to register the 

professional designation with the Board and pay fees to 

maintain the registration. For example, if an optometrist 

named John Smith practiced under the professional 

designation of "Eye Care Optometry," as opposed to 

practicing as "John Smith, Doctor of Optometry," then he 

would have to register "Eye Care Optometry" with the Board 

as a professional designation and renew the registration every 

year.1 The proposed amendment would remove all of the 

Board's requirements associated with professional 

designation.  

The professional designation requirements currently in place 

were promulgated as a precaution against false advertising. 

Section 54.1-3204 of the Code of Virginia deems it illegal for 

anyone to "publish or cause to be published in any manner an 

advertisement that is false, deceptive or misleading, contains 

a claim of professional superiority or violates regulations of 

the Board governing advertising by optometrists."2 Section 

54.1-3215 of the Code authorizes the Board to revoke or 

suspend a license or reprimand the licensee for "advertising 

which directly or indirectly deceives, misleads or defrauds the 

public, claims professional superiority, or offers free 

optometrical services or examinations."3 However, the Code 

does not define or make any mention of professional 

designations.  

The Department of Health Professions (DHP) reported that 

these requirements were adopted so that licensees would not 

operate under a name that could be construed by the public as 

belonging to a medical facility. Based on a review of the 

Code and other regulations conducted by a committee 

appointed by the Board, they now seek to repeal this 

requirement. Specifically, the committee found that the 

regulations were unnecessary and that similar Boards, such as 

Dentistry, did not require the same of their licensees.4  

Estimated Benefits and Costs. The proposed amendments 

would eliminate the professional amendment application fee, 

which is currently $100. The annual professional designation 

renewal fee ($50) and the corresponding late renewal fee 

($20) would also be eliminated. Further the Board proposes to 

remove "practicing with an expired or unregistered 

professional designation" from the list of violations for which 

license-holders could be penalized. Thus, the proposed 

amendments would benefit optometrists operating under a 

professional designation. Removal of these requirements does 

not appear to introduce risk to the public or other costs. 

Optometrists could still use a professional designation, but 

such use would now be optional and no registration or fees 

would be required. Although the Board would lose about 

$14,050 in annual revenue, the Board is projected to conclude 

this biennium with a surplus of $269,361 and reports it is thus 

able to absorb this loss. 

Businesses and Other Entities Affected. The Board directly 

regulates optometrists, but not the businesses or other entities 

where they work. The proposed amendments affect at least 

the 263 optometrists with professional designations currently 

registered with the Board. No costs are introduced. 

mailto:leslie.knachel@dhp.virginia.gov
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Small Businesses5 Affected. As stated, the Board directly 

regulates optometrists, but not the businesses or other entities 

where they work. Virginia Employment Commission data 

indicates that all 490 offices of optometrists in the 

Commonwealth qualify as small businesses. Hence, most or 

all of the affected 263 optometrists with professional 

designations likely work at small businesses. DHP does not 

have any information indicating which optometrists work at a 

small business. 

Localities6 Affected.7 The proposed amendments do not 

introduce new costs for local governments.  

Projected Impact on Employment. The proposed amendments 

are unlikely to affect total employment in the industry.  

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. The 

proposed amendments are unlikely to affect the use or value 

of private property. Real estate development costs are 

unlikely to be affected. 

_______________________ 

1The regulation also requires that the names of all optometrists providing 

practicing at that location be displayed.  

2https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title54.1/chapter32/section54.1-3204/; see 

point 6.  

3https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title54.1/chapter32/section54.1-3215/; see 

point 9. 

4Explanation provided by DHP; see also 

https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/GetFile.cfm?File=Meeting\29\29698\Minutes

_DHP_29698_v2.pdf 

5Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.04 of the Code of Virginia, small business is defined 

as "a business entity, including its affiliates, that (i) is independently owned 

and operated and (ii) employs fewer than 500 full-time employees or has 

gross annual sales of less than $6 million." 

6"Locality" can refer to either local governments or the locations in the 

Commonwealth where the activities relevant to the regulatory change are 

most likely to occur. 

7§ 2.2-4007.04 defines "particularly affected" as bearing disproportionate 

material impact. 

Agency's Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The Board 

of Optometry concurs with the analysis of the Department of 

Planning and Budget. 

Summary: 

The amendments repeal the requirement to register a 

professional designation and remove the associated 

registration fees and penalties for failing to meet that 

requirement.  

18VAC105-20-20. Fees.  

A. Required fees.  

Initial application and licensure (including 

TPA certification)  

$250 

Annual licensure renewal without TPA 

certification  

$150 

Annual licensure renewal with TPA 

certification  

$200 

Annual renewal of inactive license $100 

Late renewal without TPA certification  $50 

Late renewal with TPA certification  $65 

Late renewal of inactive license $35 

Handling fee for returned check or 

dishonored credit card or debit card 

$50 

Professional designation application  $100 

Annual professional designation renewal 

(per location) 

$50 

Late renewal of professional designation  $20 

Reinstatement application fee (including 

renewal and late fees)  

$400 

Reinstatement application after disciplinary 

action  

$500 

Duplicate wall certificate  $25 

Duplicate license  $10 

Licensure verification  $10 

B. Unless otherwise specified, all fees are nonrefundable.  

C. From October 31, 2018, to December 31, 2018, the 

following fees shall be in effect:  

Annual licensure renewal without TPA 

certification  

$75 

Annual licensure renewal with TPA 

certification  

$100 

Annual professional designation renewal 

(per location) 

$25 

18VAC105-20-40. Standards of conduct. 

The board has the authority to refuse to issue or renew a 

license, suspend, revoke, or otherwise discipline a licensee for 

a violation of the following standards of conduct. A licensed 

optometrist shall: 

1. Use in connection with the optometrist's name wherever 

it appears relating to the practice of optometry one of the 

following: the word "optometrist," the abbreviation "O.D.," 

or the words "doctor of optometry." 

2. Notify the board of any disciplinary action taken by a 

regulatory body in another jurisdiction. 

3. Post in an area of the optometric office that is 

conspicuous to the public, a chart or directory listing the 

names of all optometrists practicing at that particular 

location. 

about:blank
about:blank
about:blank
about:blank
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4. Maintain patient records, perform procedures or make 

recommendations during any eye examination, contact lens 

examination, or treatment as necessary to protect the health 

and welfare of the patient and consistent with requirements 

of 18VAC105-20-45. 

5. Notify patients in the event the practice is to be 

terminated or relocated, giving a reasonable time period 

within which the patient or an authorized representative 

can request in writing that the records or copies be sent to 

any other like-regulated provider of the patient's choice or 

destroyed in compliance with requirements of § 54.1-2405 

of the Code of Virginia on the transfer of patient records in 

conjunction with closure, sale, or relocation of practice. 

6. Ensure his access to the practice location during hours in 

which the practice is closed in order to be able to properly 

evaluate and treat a patient in an emergency. 

7. Provide for continuity of care in the event of an absence 

from the practice or, in the event the optometrist chooses to 

terminate the practitioner-patient relationship or make his 

services unavailable, document notice to the patient that 

allows for a reasonable time to obtain the services of 

another practitioner. 

8. Comply with the provisions of § 32.1-127.1:03 of the 

Code of Virginia related to the confidentiality and 

disclosure of patient records and related to the provision of 

patient records to another practitioner or to the patient or 

his personal representative. 

9. Treat or prescribe based on a bona fide practitioner-

patient relationship consistent with criteria set forth in § 

54.1-3303 of the Code of Virginia. A licensee shall not 

prescribe a controlled substance to himself or a family 

member other than Schedule VI as defined in § 54.1-3455 

of the Code of Virginia. When treating or prescribing for 

self or family, the practitioner shall maintain a patient 

record documenting compliance with statutory criteria for 

a bona fide practitioner-patient relationship. 

10. Comply with provisions of statute or regulation, state 

or federal, relating to the diversion, distribution, 

dispensing, prescribing, or administration of controlled 

substances as defined in § 54.1-3401 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

11. Not enter into a relationship with a patient that 

constitutes a professional boundary violation in which the 

practitioner uses his professional position to take 

advantage of the vulnerability of a patient or his family to 

include actions that result in personal gain at the expense 

of the patient, a nontherapeutic personal involvement, or 

sexual conduct with a patient. The determination of when a 

person is a patient is made on a case-by-case basis with 

consideration given to the nature, extent, and context of the 

professional relationship between the practitioner and the 

person. The fact that a person is not actively receiving 

treatment or professional services from a practitioner is not 

determinative of this issue. The consent to, initiation of, or 

participation in sexual behavior or involvement with a 

practitioner by a patient does not change the nature of the 

conduct nor negate the prohibition. 

12. Cooperate with the board or its representatives in 

providing information or records as requested or required 

pursuant to an investigation or the enforcement of a statute 

or regulation. 

13. Not practice with an expired or unregistered 

professional designation.  

14. Not violate or cooperate with others in violating any of 

the provisions of Chapters 1 (§ 54.1-100 et seq.), 24 

(§ 54.1-2400 et seq.) or 32 (§ 54.1-3200 et seq.) of Title 

54.1 of the Code of Virginia or regulations of the board. 

18VAC105-20-50. Professional designations. (Repealed.) 

A. In addition to the name of the optometrist as it appears on 

the license, an optometrist may practice in an office that uses 

only one of the following:  

1. The name of an optometrist who employs him and 

practices in the same office;  

2. A partnership name composed of some or all names of 

optometrists practicing in the same office; or  

3. A professional designation, if the conditions set forth in 

subsection B of this section are fulfilled.  

B. Optometrists licensed in this Commonwealth who 

practice as individuals, partnerships, associations, or other 

group practices may use a professional designation for the 

optometric office in which they conduct their practices 

provided the following conditions are met:  

1. A professional designation shall be registered with the 

board by a licensed optometrist who has an ownership or 

equity interest in the optometric practice and who must 

practice in any location with that registered designation 

and who shall assume responsibility for compliance with 

this section and with the statutes and regulations governing 

the practice of optometry.  

2. A professional designation shall be approved by the 

board and a fee shall be paid as prescribed by board 

regulations prior to use of the name. Names which, in the 

judgment of the board, are false, misleading, or deceptive 

will be prohibited.  

3. No licensed optometrist may, at any time, register to 

practice optometry under more than one professional 

designation.  

4. All advertisements, including but not limited to signs, 

printed advertisements, and letterheads, shall contain the 

word "optometry" or reasonably recognizable derivatives 

thereof unless the name of the optometrist is used with the 
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professional designation with the O.D. designation, Doctor 

of Optometry or optometrist.  

5. In the entrance or reception area of the optometric 

office, a chart or directory listing the names of all 

optometrists practicing at that particular location shall be 

kept at all times prominently and conspicuously displayed.  

6. The names of all optometrists who practice under the 

professional designation shall be maintained in the records 

of the optometric office for five years following their 

departure from the practice.  

7. The name of the licensed optometrist providing care 

shall appear on all statements of charges and receipts given 

to patients.  

8. An optometrist may use a professional designation 

which contains the name of an inactive, retired, removed, 

or deceased optometrist for a period of no more than one 

year from the date of succession to a practice and so long 

as he does so in conjunction with his own name, together 

with the words, "succeeded by," "succeeding," or 

"successor to."  

VA.R. Doc. No. R21-6205; Filed August 16, 2020, 9:57 a.m.  

BOARD OF PHARMACY 

Final Regulation 

Titles of Regulations: 18VAC110-20. Regulations 

Governing the Practice of Pharmacy (amending 

18VAC110-20-20, 18VAC110-20-121). 

18VAC110-21. Regulations Governing the Licensure of 

Pharmacists and Registration of Pharmacy Technicians 

(amending 18VAC110-21-20). 

18VAC110-30. Regulations for Practitioners of the 

Healing Arts to Sell Controlled Substances (amending 

18VAC110-30-15). 

18VAC110-50. Regulations Governing Wholesale 

Distributors, Manufacturers, Third-Party Logistics 

Providers, and Warehousers (amending 18VAC110-50-

20).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 54.1-2400 and 54.1-3307 of the Code 

of Virginia. 

Effective Date: October 14, 2020.  

Agency Contact: Caroline Juran, RPh, Executive Director, 

Board of Pharmacy, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, 

Richmond, VA 23233-1463, telephone (804) 367-4456, FAX 

(804) 527-4472, or email caroline.juran@dhp.virginia.gov. 

Summary:  

The amendments increase Board of Pharmacy fees to cover 

expenses for essential functions of reviewing applications, 

licensing, inspecting, investigating complaints against 

licensees, and adjudicating and monitoring disciplinary 

cases. The amendments include a 30% increase in all fees, 

with the exception of those functions that require an 

inspection, including an initial pharmacy permit and 

changes in location or remodeling, which are set at the 

actual charge to the board by the enforcement division of 

the Department of Health Professions.  

Summary of Public Comments and Agency's Response: No 

public comments were received by the promulgating agency.  

18VAC110-20-20. Fees. 

A. Unless otherwise provided, fees listed in this section shall 

not be refundable. 

B. Initial application fees.  

1. Pharmacy permit $270 $500 

2. Permitted physician licensed to 

dispense drugs 

$270 $500 

3. Medical equipment supplier permit $180 $235 

4. Outsourcing facility permit $270 $350 

5. Nonresident pharmacy registration $270 $350 

6. Nonresident outsourcing facility 

registration 

$270 $350 

7. Controlled substances registrations  $90 $120 

8. Innovative program approval. $250 $325 

If the board determines that a 

technical consultant is required in 

order to make a decision on approval, 

any consultant fee, not to exceed the 

actual cost, shall also be paid by the 

applicant in addition to the 

application fee. 

 

9. Approval of a repackaging training 

program 

$50 $65 

C. Annual renewal fees.  

1. Pharmacy permit – due no later than 

April 30 

$270 $350 

2. Physician permit to practice 

pharmacy – due no later than February 

28 

$270 $350 

3. Medical equipment supplier permit – 

due no later than February 28 

$180 $235 

4. Outsourcing facility permit – due no 

later than April 30 

$270 $350 

5. Nonresident pharmacy registration – 

due no later than the date of initial 

registration 

$270 $350 

mailto:caroline.juran@dhp.virginia.gov
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6. Nonresident outsourcing facility 

registration – due no later than the date 

of initial registration 

$270 $350 

7. Controlled substances registrations – 

due no later than February 28 

$90 $120 

8. Innovative program continued 

approval based on board order not to 

exceed $200 $260 per approval period. 

  

9. Repackaging training program $30 $40 

every two 

years 

D. Late fees. The following late fees shall be paid in 

addition to the current renewal fee to renew an expired permit 

or registration within one year of the expiration date. In 

addition, engaging in activities requiring a permit or 

registration after the expiration date of such permit or 

registration shall be grounds for disciplinary action by the 

board.  

1. Pharmacy permit $90 $120 

2. Physician permit to practice pharmacy $90 $120 

3. Medical equipment supplier permit $60 $80 

4. Outsourcing facility permit $90 $120 

5. Nonresident pharmacy registration $90 $120 

6. Nonresident outsourcing facility 

registration 

$90 $120 

7. Controlled substances registrations $30 $40 

8. Repackaging training program $10 $15 

E. Reinstatement fees.  

1. Any person or entity attempting to renew a permit or 

registration more than one year after the expiration date 

shall submit an application for reinstatement with any 

required fees. Reinstatement is at the discretion of the 

board and, except for reinstatement following revocation or 

suspension, may be granted by the executive director of the 

board upon completion of an application and payment of 

any required fees.  

2. Facilities or entities that cease operation and wish to 

resume shall not be eligible for reinstatement but shall 

apply for a new permit or registration. Facilities or entities 

that failed to renew and continued to operate for more than 

one renewal cycle shall pay the current and all back 

renewal fees for the years in which they were operating 

plus the following reinstatement fees: 

  a. Pharmacy permit $240 $315 

  b. Physician permit to 

practice pharmacy 

$240 $315 

  c. Medical equipment 

supplier permit 

$210 $275 

  d. Outsourcing facility permit $240 $315 

  e. Nonresident pharmacy 

registration 

$115 $150 

  f. Nonresident outsourcing 

facility registration 

$240 $315 

  g. Controlled substances 

registration 

$180 $235 

  h. Repackaging training 

program 

$50 $65 

F. Application for change or inspection fees for facilities or 

other entities.  

1. Change of pharmacist-in-charge $50 $65 

2. Change of ownership for any facility $50 $65 

3. Inspection for remodeling or change 

of location for any facility 

$150 $300 

4. Reinspection of any facility $150 $300 

5. Board-required inspection for a 

robotic pharmacy system 

$150 $300 

6. Board-required inspection of an 

innovative program location 

$150 $300 

7. Change of pharmacist responsible for 

an approved innovative program 

$25 $35 

G. Miscellaneous fees.  

1. Returned check $35 

2. Duplicate permit or registration $10 $15 

3. Verification of permit or registration $25 $35 

18VAC110-20-121. Innovative program approval.  

A. An informal conference committee of the board may 

approve an innovative or pilot program in accordance with 

§ 54.1-3307.2 of the Code of Virginia upon receipt of an 

application and fee specified in 18VAC110-20-20.  

B. If the informal conference committee determines that an 

inspection is necessary to adequately consider an application, 

it may require that the applicant pay a fee specified in 

18VAC110-20-20 to cover the cost of the inspection.  

C. If the informal conference committee determines that a 

technical consultant is necessary in order for the board to 

make an informed decision on approval of a program, the 

applicant shall pay a consultant fee, not to exceed the actual 

cost of the consultation.  
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D. In the initial order granting approval of a program, the 

informal conference committee shall set the approval period 

with a schedule for submission of required reports and 

outcome data. The frequency of required reports shall not 

exceed four times a year.  

E. The informal conference committee shall determine the 

appropriate fee for continued approval of the program based 

on the requirements for review and monitoring. Such renewal 

fee shall not exceed $200 $260 per approval period.  

18VAC110-21-20. Fees. 

A. Unless otherwise provided, fees listed in this section shall 

not be refundable. 

B. Unless otherwise provided, any fees for taking required 

examinations shall be paid directly to the examination service 

as specified by the board. 

C. Initial application fees.  

1. Pharmacist license $180 $235 

2. Pharmacy intern registration $15 $20 

3. Pharmacy technician registration $25 $35 

4. Approval of a pharmacy 

technician training program 

$150 $200 

5. Approval of a continuing 

education program 

$100 $130 

D. Annual renewal fees.  

1. Pharmacist active license – due no 

later than December 31 

$90 $120 

2. Pharmacist inactive license – due 

no later than December 31 

$45 $60 

3. Pharmacy technician registration – 

due no later than December 31 

$25 $35 

4. Pharmacy technician training 

program 

$75 $100 

every two 

years 

E. Late fees. The following late fees shall be paid in addition 

to the current renewal fee to renew an expired license or 

registration within one year of the expiration date or within 

two years in the case of a pharmacy technician training 

program. In addition, engaging in activities requiring a 

license or registration after the expiration date of such license 

or registration shall be grounds for disciplinary action by the 

board.  

1. Pharmacist license $30 $40 

2. Pharmacist inactive license $15 $20 

3. Pharmacy technician registration $10 $15 

4. Pharmacy technician training 

program 

$15 $20 

F. Reinstatement fees. Any person or entity attempting to 

renew a license or registration more than one year after the 

expiration date, or more than two years after the expiration 

date in the case of a pharmacy technician training program, 

shall submit an application for reinstatement with any 

required fees. Reinstatement is at the discretion of the board 

and, except for reinstatement following revocation or 

suspension, may be granted by the executive director of the 

board upon completion of an application and payment of any 

required fees.  

1. Pharmacist license $210 $275 

2. Pharmacist license after revocation 

or suspension 

$500 $650 

3. Pharmacy technician registration $35 $45 

4. Pharmacy technician registration 

after revocation or suspension 

$125 $165 

5. A pharmacy technician training 

program that failed to renew and 

continued to operate for more than 

one renewal cycle shall pay the 

current and all back renewal fees for 

the years in which they were 

operating plus a reinstatement fee of 

$75. A pharmacy technician training 

program that ceases operation and 

wishes to resume shall not be eligible 

for reinstatement but shall apply for a 

new registration.  

  

G. Miscellaneous fees.  

1. Duplicate wall certificate $25 $50 

2. Returned check $35 

3. Duplicate license or registration $10 $15 

4. Verification of licensure or 

registration 

$25 $35 

18VAC110-30-15. Fees.  

A. Unless otherwise provided, fees listed in this section shall 

not be refundable.  

B. Initial application fees. 

1. License for practitioner of the healing arts to sell 

controlled substances: $180 $235. 
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2. Permit for facility in which practitioners of the healing 

arts sell controlled substances: $240 $315. 

C. Annual renewal fees. 

1. License for practitioner of the healing arts to sell 

controlled substances: $90 $120. 

2. Permit for facility in which practitioners of the healing 

arts sell controlled substances: $240 $315. 

D. Late fees. The following late fees shall be paid in 

addition to the current renewal fee to renew an expired 

license within one year of the expiration date. 

1. License for practitioner of the healing arts to sell 

controlled substances: $30 $40. 

2. Permit for facility in which practitioners of the healing 

arts sell controlled substances: $40 $50. 

E. Reinstatement fees. Any person or entity attempting to 

renew a license or permit more than one year after the 

expiration date shall submit an application for reinstatement 

with any required fees. 

1. License for practitioner of the healing arts to sell 

controlled substances: $150 $195. 

2. Permit for facility in which practitioners of the healing 

arts sell controlled substances: $240 $315. 

3. Application fee for reinstatement of a license or permit 

that has been revoked or suspended indefinitely: $500 

$650. 

F. Facilities in which only one practitioner of the healing 

arts is licensed by the board to sell controlled substances shall 

be exempt from fees associated with obtaining and renewing 

a facility permit. Facilities that change from only one 

practitioner to more than one shall notify the board within 30 

days of such change.  

G. The fee for reinspection of any facility shall be $150 300.  

H. The fee for a returned check shall be $35.  

18VAC110-50-20. Fees.  

A. Unless otherwise provided, fees listed in this section shall 

not be refundable.  

B. Initial application fees.  

1. Nonrestricted manufacturer permit $270 $350 

2. Restricted manufacturer permit $180 $235 

3. Wholesale distributor license $270 $350 

4. Warehouser permit $270 $350 

5. Nonresident wholesale distributor 

registration 

$270 $350 

6. Controlled substances registration $90 $120 

7. Third-party logistics provider permit $270 $350 

8. Nonresident manufacturer registration $270 $350 

9. Nonresident warehouser registration $270 $350 

10. Nonresident third-party logistics 

provider registration 

$270 $350 

C. Annual renewal fees shall be due on February 28 of each 

year.  

1. Nonrestricted manufacturer permit $270 $350 

2. Restricted manufacturer permit $180 $235 

3. Wholesale distributor license $270 $350 

4. Warehouser permit $270 $350 

5. Nonresident wholesale distributor 

registration 

$270 $350 

6. Controlled substances registration $90 $120 

7. Third-party logistics provider permit $270 $350 

8. Nonresident manufacturer registration $270 $350 

9. Nonresident warehouser registration $270 $350 

10. Nonresident third-party logistics 

provider registration 

$270 $350 

D. Late fees. The following late fees shall be paid in 

addition to the current renewal fee to renew an expired 

license within one year of the expiration date. In addition, 

engaging in activities requiring a license, permit, or 

registration after the expiration date of such license, permit, 

or registration shall be grounds for disciplinary action by the 

board.  

1. Nonrestricted manufacturer permit $90 $120 

2. Restricted manufacturer permit $60 $80 

3. Wholesale distributor license $90 $120 

4. Warehouser permit $90 $120 

5. Nonresident wholesale distributor 

registration 

$90 $120 

6. Controlled substances registration $30 $40 

7. Third-party logistics provider permit $90 $120 

8. Nonresident manufacturer registration $90 $120 

9. Nonresident warehouser registration $90 $120 

10. Nonresident third-party logistics 

provider registration 

$90 $120 

E. Reinstatement fees.  

1. Any entity attempting to renew a license, permit, or 

registration more than one year after the expiration date 
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shall submit an application for reinstatement with any 

required fees. Reinstatement is at the discretion of the 

board and, except for reinstatement following license 

revocation or suspension, may be granted by the executive 

director of the board upon completion of an application 

and payment of any required fees.  

2. Engaging in activities requiring a license, permit, or 

registration after the expiration date of such license, 

permit, or registration shall be grounds for disciplinary 

action by the board. Facilities or entities that cease 

operation and wish to resume shall not be eligible for 

reinstatement, but shall apply for a new permit or 

registration.  

3. Facilities or entities that failed to renew and continued to 

operate for more than one renewal cycle shall pay the 

current and all back renewal fees for the years in which 

they were operating plus the following reinstatement fees:  

a. Nonrestricted manufacturer permit $240 $315 

b. Restricted manufacturer permit $210 $275 

c. Wholesale distributor license $240 $315 

d. Warehouser permit $240 $315 

e. Nonresident wholesale distributor 

registration 

$240 $315 

f. Controlled substances registration $180 $235 

g. Third-party logistics provider 

permit 

$240 $315 

h. Nonresident manufacturer 

registration 

$240 $315 

i. Nonresident warehouser 

registration 

$240 $315 

j. Nonresident third-party logistics 

provider registration 

$240 $315 

F. Application for change or inspection fees.  

1. Reinspection fee $150 $300 

2. Inspection fee for change of location, 

structural changes, or security system 

changes 

$150 $300 

3. Change of ownership fee $50 $65 

4. Change of responsible party $50 $65 

G. The fee for a returned check shall be $35.  

H. The fee for verification of license, permit, or registration 

shall be $25 $35. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R18-5322; Filed August 26, 2020, 11:36 a.m.  

BOARD OF PHYSICAL THERAPY 

Final Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC112-20. Regulations Governing 

the Practice of Physical Therapy (adding 18VAC112-20-

121).  

Statutory Authority: § 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: October 29, 2020.  

Agency Contact: Corie Tillman Wolf, Executive Director, 

Board of Physical Therapy, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, 

Richmond, VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-4674, FAX (804) 

527-4413, or email ptboard@dhp.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

This action establishes the qualifications for and 

limitations of the performance of dry needling by physical 

therapists, including referral and direction from a medical 

practitioner, training, requirements for additional post-

graduate training, the content of the post-graduate 

training, and informed consent. 

Summary of Public Comments and Agency's Response: A 

summary of comments made by the public and the agency's 

response may be obtained from the promulgating agency or 

viewed at the office of the Registrar of Regulations.  

18VAC112-20-121. Practice of dry needling. 

A. Dry needling is an invasive procedure that requires 

referral and direction in accordance with § 54.1-3482 of the 

Code of Virginia. Referral should be in writing; if the initial 

referral is received orally, it shall be followed up with a 

written referral. 

B. Dry needling is not an entry level skill but an advanced 

procedure that requires additional post-graduate training.  

1. The training shall be specific to dry needling and shall 

include emergency preparedness and response, 

contraindications and precautions, secondary effects or 

complications, palpation and needle techniques, and 

physiological responses. 

2. The training shall consist of didactic and hands-on 

laboratory education and shall include passage of a 

theoretical and practical examination. The hands-on 

laboratory education shall be face-to-face. 

3. The training shall be in a course [ certified by FSBPT 

or ] approved or provided by a sponsor listed in subsection 

B of 18VAC112-20-131. 

4. The practitioner shall not perform dry needling beyond 

the scope of the highest level of the practitioner's training.  

C. Prior to the performance of dry needling, the physical 

therapist shall obtain informed consent from the patient or 

[ his the patient's ] representative. The informed consent shall 

mailto:ptboard@dhp.virginia.gov
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include the risks and benefits of the technique. The informed 

consent form shall be maintained in the patient record. 

D. Dry needling shall only be performed by a physical 

therapist trained pursuant to subsection B of this section and 

shall not be delegated to a physical therapist assistant or other 

support personnel.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R16-4433; Filed August 12, 2020, 2:12 p.m.  

BOARD OF COUNSELING 

Proposed Regulation 

Titles of Regulations: 18VAC115-20. Regulations 

Governing the Practice of Professional Counseling 

(amending 18VAC115-20-10, 18VAC115-20-20, 

18VAC115-20-40, 18VAC115-20-52, 18VAC115-20-70, 

18VAC115-20-100). 

18VAC115-50. Regulations Governing the Practice of 

Marriage and Family Therapy (amending 18VAC115-50-

10, 18VAC115-50-20, 18VAC115-50-30, 18VAC115-50-60, 

18VAC115-50-70, 18VAC115-50-90). 

18VAC115-60. Regulations Governing the Practice of 

Licensed Substance Abuse Treatment Practitioners 

(amending 18VAC115-60-10, 18VAC115-60-20, 

18VAC115-60-40, 18VAC115-60-80, 18VAC115-60-90, 

18VAC115-60-110).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 54.1-2400 and 54.1-3505 of the Code 

of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: 

October 9, 2020 - 10:20 a.m. - WebEx - The link and 

instructions to attend the electronic meeting will be in the 

agenda package posted prior to the meeting at 

http://www.dhp.virginia.gov and on the Virginia 

Regulatory Town Hall (www.townhall.virginia.gov). 

Public Comment Deadline: November 13, 2020. 

Agency Contact: Jaime Hoyle, Executive Director, Board of 

Counseling, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, Richmond, VA 

23233, telephone (804) 367-4406, FAX (804) 527-4435, or 

email jaime.hoyle@dhp.virginia.gov. 

Basis: Regulations are promulgated under the general 

authority of § 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia, which 

provides the Board of Counseling the authority to promulgate 

regulations to administer the regulatory system. Specific 

authority for issuance of a temporary resident license 

counseling is found in § 54.1-3505 of the Code of Virginia. 

Purpose: The purpose of this action is to ensure persons who 

are granted a temporary license for the purpose of completing 

a residency in counseling are qualified to provide mental 

health services to vulnerable individuals and groups. 

Qualifications for issuance of a resident license will ensure 

minimal competency to begin supervised practice, and 

requirements for renewal will ensure that residents have 

further knowledge of the ethics and standards of practice 

governing the behavioral health professions in order to 

protect health, safety, and welfare of the citizens they serve. 

Substance: Regulations implement the statutory mandate for 

issuance of a temporary license for a residency in counseling. 

The amendments set fees for initial and renewal of a resident 

license, qualifications for the issuance of a license and for its 

renewal, limitations on the number of times a resident may 

renew the temporary license, and a time limit for passage of 

the licensing examination.  

Issues: The advantage of a resident license to the public is 

greater accountability and information about the residency; 

there are no disadvantages. There may be an advantage to 

residents and the licensees or organizations for whom they 

work under supervision in that some third-party payors may 

reimburse for their services as a "licensed" professional.  

The primary advantage to the agency is greater awareness of 

any disciplinary history prior to issuance of a license. There 

are no disadvantages; fees are established with the intent of 

covering expenditures directly related to the licensing and 

discipline of persons with a resident license. 

Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 

Analysis: 

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. 

Pursuant to a legislative mandate, the Board of Counseling 

(Board) proposes to switch from a registration approach to a 

temporary licensing approach for regulating resident 

counselors. 

Background. Chapter 428 of the 2019 General Assembly1 

mandated the Board "to promulgate regulations for the 

issuance of temporary licenses to individuals engaged in a 

counseling residency so that they may acquire the supervised, 

postgraduate experience required for licensure." The Board 

adopted emergency regulations2 that established temporary 

licenses for residency in professional counseling, marriage 

and family therapy, and substance abuse treatment to comply 

with the mandate. All persons previously registered for 

supervised practice were grandfathered with a temporary 

license. This action replaces the emergency regulations. 

Prior to the legislative mandate, counselor candidates under 

the three counseling regulations affected by this action 

registered their residency (i.e. a postgraduate, supervised 

clinical experience) with the Board. Under the new law, 

resident counselors are issued a temporary license to 

complete their residency in counseling. Thus, the main 

difference is between issuing a temporary license versus 

registering the residency with the Board. However, an 

important limitation, that is a resident can practice only under 

supervision, remains unchanged. 

http://www.dhp.virginia.gov/
https://lis.virginia.gov/000/noc/www.townhall.virginia.gov
mailto:jaime.hoyle@dhp.virginia.gov
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Estimated Benefits and Costs. This action mainly replaces the 

registration approach for residents in professional counseling, 

marriage and family therapy, and substance abuse treatment 

with that of a temporary licensing approach. Having a 

temporary license rather than having the residency registered 

with the Board may encourage some supervisors billing 

resident's services to some third-party payors. For example, 

according to the Department of Health Professions (DHP), 

Virginia Medicaid has allowed billing for resident's services 

before this change and would continue to do so. Thus, to the 

extent reimbursement policies of the payors allow, more 

supervisors may start billing for resident services as a 

"licensed" professional, possibly at a lower rate than for an 

independent practitioner. Such a change may occur if it 

benefits the supervisor, the payor, and the resident. 

The Board also proposes several fee changes. The $30 fee for 

adding or changing supervisor or the work site under the 

registration approach is replaced with the $30 fee for annual 

renewal of the temporary license. According to DHP, on 

average, a resident used to make two such changes each year 

and used to pay a $30 fee for each. Under the new regulation, 

a one-time $30 fee for annual renewal of the temporary 

license would suffice, reducing the fee burden on residents by 

one half on average.  

A "pre-review of education only" fee of $75 would be 

established. According to DHP, the Board gets requests from 

potential applicants for a review of a person's educational 

credentials to see whether they meet the qualifications for full 

licensure. Currently, the only way that can be done is for him 

to submit an application for licensure (which includes many 

other requirements as well). The $75 fee would allow such a 

review, which is typically a review of the transcript – course 

by course – often with request for a syllabus to determine 

content and a review of the program itself to determine its 

concentration in counseling. If it is determined that the 

person's education does not qualify for licensure, he may be 

able to remedy the deficiency. If not, he is spared the expense 

of obtaining the hours of supervised experience and sitting for 

the examination. Thus, the "pre-review of education only" 

option is expected to benefit the residents who are interested 

in applying for a full license when the time comes, but who 

does not know whether their educational background would 

meet the qualifications for full licensure. The new "pre-

review of education only" option would encourage such 

applications and may lead to full licenses being issued sooner. 

The Board proposes a new $10 fee for late temporary license 

renewal.3 As with any other late fees, this fee would likely 

promote timely renewal applications. The $65 fee for 

application and initial temporary licensure for a resident is 

also established, but is not expected to create any economic 

effect as this is the current fee for registration of supervision. 

The remaining proposed changes are mainly intended to align 

the new temporary license requirements with the full license 

requirements. Of those, some are slightly more stringent than 

the current standards. These include more rigorous 

background requirements (submission of additional report 

from a national practitioner databank at a cost of $4 per report 

and history of disciplinary actions which can be obtained 

without a charge), completion of three hours of continuing 

education (can be obtained online at no cost), and clearer 

consumer disclosure requirements (that the resident does not 

have authority for independent practice and is under 

supervision). The other requirements under this category are 

either comparable or even less stringent than the current 

requirements. Those include the establishing time limits to 

complete the residency (a resident must pass the exam within 

six years which is comparable to currently required four years 

to complete the residency and two years to pass the exam), 

establishing renewal times (annual renewal in the month of 

initial issuance), and new elements required for renewal 

(attestation that a supervisory contract is in effect as opposed 

to notifying the Board each time there is a change). Overall 

these requirements may introduce a marginal burden on the 

applicants in terms of the time to complete the application, 

but would also help ensure greater accountability and 

information about the residency. 

Businesses and Other Entities Affected. When the emergency 

regulation became effective, there were 9,156 residents in 

counseling, 352 residents in marriage and family therapy, and 

eight residents in substance abuse treatment all whom were 

grandfathered with a temporary license.4 Since the Board 

recently started issuing temporary licenses for residents, there 

is not enough history to accurately assess the likely number of 

applications on an ongoing basis. However, through March 

2020, there were 177, seven, and two applications 

respectively for residency in licensed professional counseling, 

marriage and family therapy, and substance abuse treatment, 

but DHP expects that the majority of application will come 

after graduation in May/June. 

As noted, some of the changes are beneficial to counselor 

candidates and some are slightly more restrictive than before. 

It is not clear whether the additional costs would exceed the 

benefits for the candidates. Thus, no adverse economic 

impact5 on counselor candidates is indicated. 

Small Businesses6 Affected. The proposed amendments do 

not appear to adversely affect small businesses. 

Localities7 Affected.8 The proposed amendments potentially 

affect all 132 localities. The proposed amendments do not 

introduce costs for local governments. Accordingly, no 

additional funds would be required. 

Projected Impact on Employment. The proposed amendments 

do not appear to directly affect total employment. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. The 

proposed amendments do not affect real estate development 

costs. 
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________________________ 

1https://lis.virginia.gov/cgi-bin/legp604.exe?191+ful+CHAP0428 

2https://townhall.virginia.gov/l/ViewStage.cfm?stageid=8734 

3According to DHP, late fees are set approximately 1/3 of the renewal fee. 

4Data source: DHP 

5Adverse impact is indicated if there is any increase in net cost or reduction 

in net revenue for any entity, even if the benefits exceed the costs for all 

entities combined. 

6Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.04 of the Code of Virginia, small business is defined 

as "a business entity, including its affiliates, that (i) is independently owned 

and operated and (ii) employs fewer than 500 full-time employees or has 

gross annual sales of less than $6 million." 

7"Locality" can refer to either local governments or the locations in the 

Commonwealth where the activities relevant to the regulatory change are 

most likely to occur. 

8§ 2.2-4007.04 defines "particularly affected" as bearing disproportionate 

material impact. 

Agency's Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The Board 

of Counseling concurs with the analysis of the Department of 

Planning and Budget. 

Summary: 

The proposed amendments provide for the issuance of a 

temporary license for a residency in counseling for 

professional counselors, marriage and family therapists, 

and substance abuse treatment practitioners, including (i) 

setting fees for initial and renewal of a resident license, (ii) 

establishing qualifications for the issuance of a license and 

for its renewal, (iii) limiting the number of times a resident 

may renew the temporary license, and (iv) setting a time 

limit for passage of the licensing examination.  

Part I  

General Provisions  

18VAC115-20-10. Definitions. 

A. The following words and terms when used in this chapter 

shall have the meaning ascribed to them in § 54.1-3500 of the 

Code of Virginia:  

"Board"  

"Counseling"  

"Professional counselor"  

B. The following words and terms when used in this chapter 

shall have the following meanings, unless the context clearly 

indicates otherwise:  

"Ancillary counseling services" means activities such as 

case management, recordkeeping, referral, and coordination 

of services. 

"Applicant" means any individual who has submitted an 

official application and paid the application fee for licensure 

as a professional counselor.  

"CACREP" means the Council for Accreditation of 

Counseling and Related Educational Programs.  

"Candidate for licensure" means a person who has 

satisfactorily completed all educational and experience 

requirements for licensure and has been deemed eligible by 

the board to sit for its examinations.  

"Clinical counseling services" means activities such as 

assessment, diagnosis, treatment planning, and treatment 

implementation. 

"Competency area" means an area in which a person possesses 

knowledge and skill and the ability to apply them in the clinical 

setting.  

"CORE" means Council on Rehabilitation Education. 

"Exempt setting" means an agency or institution in which 

licensure is not required to engage in the practice of 

counseling according to the conditions set forth in § 54.1-

3501 of the Code of Virginia.  

"Face-to-face" means the in-person delivery of clinical 

counseling services for a client. 

"Group supervision" means the process of clinical 

supervision of no more than six persons in a group setting 

provided by a qualified supervisor.  

"Internship" means a formal academic course from a 

regionally accredited college or university in which 

supervised, practical experience is obtained in a clinical 

setting in the application of counseling principles, methods, 

and techniques.  

"Jurisdiction" means a state, territory, district, province, or 

country that has granted a professional certificate or license to 

practice a profession, use a professional title, or hold oneself 

out as a practitioner of that profession.  

"Nonexempt setting" means a setting that does not meet the 

conditions of exemption from the requirements of licensure to 

engage in the practice of counseling as set forth in § 54.1-

3501 of the Code of Virginia.  

"Regional accrediting agency" means one of the regional 

accreditation agencies recognized by the U.S. Secretary of 

Education responsible for accrediting senior postsecondary 

institutions.  

"Residency" means a postgraduate, supervised, clinical 

experience registered with the board.  

"Resident" means an individual who has submitted a 

supervisory contract and has received board approval been 

issued a temporary license by the board to provide clinical 

services in professional counseling under supervision.  

"Supervision" means the ongoing process performed by a 

supervisor who monitors the performance of the person 

supervised and provides regular, documented individual or group 

consultation, guidance, and instruction that is specific to the 

https://lis.virginia.gov/cgi-bin/legp604.exe?191+ful+CHAP0428
https://townhall.virginia.gov/l/ViewStage.cfm?stageid=8734
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clinical counseling services being performed with respect to the 

clinical skills and competencies of the person supervised.  

"Supervisory contract" means an agreement that outlines the 

expectations and responsibilities of the supervisor and 

resident in accordance with regulations of the board. 

18VAC115-20-20. Fees required by the board.  

A. The board has established the following fees applicable 

to licensure as a professional counselor or a resident in 

counseling:  

Active annual license renewal $130 

Inactive annual license renewal $65 

Initial licensure by examination: 

Application processing and initial 

licensure as a professional counselor 

$175  

Initial licensure by endorsement: 

Application processing and initial 

licensure as a professional counselor 

$175 

Registration of supervision Application 

and initial licensure as a resident in 

counseling 

$65 

Add or change supervisor Pre-review of 

education only 

$30 $75 

Duplicate license $10 

Verification of licensure to another 

jurisdiction 

$30 

Active annual license renewal for a 

professional counselor 

$130 

Inactive annual license renewal for a 

professional counselor 

$65 

Annual renewal for a resident in 

counseling 

$30 

Late renewal for a professional counselor $45 

Late renewal for a resident in counseling $10 

Reinstatement of a lapsed license for a 

professional counselor 

$200 

Reinstatement following revocation or 

suspension 

$600 

Replacement of or additional wall 

certificate 

$25 

Returned check $35 

Reinstatement following revocation or 

suspension 

$600 

B. All fees are nonrefundable.  

C. Examination fees shall be determined and made payable 

as determined by the board.  

Part II  

Requirements for Licensure as a Professional Counselor  

18VAC115-20-40. Prerequisites for licensure by 

examination.  

Every applicant for licensure examination by the board 

shall:  

1. Meet the degree program requirements prescribed in 

18VAC115-20-49, the course work coursework 

requirements prescribed in 18VAC115-20-51, and the 

experience requirements prescribed in 18VAC115-20-52;  

2. Pass the licensure examination specified by the board; 

3. Submit the following to the board:  

a. A completed application;  

b. Official transcripts documenting the applicant's 

completion of the degree program and coursework 

requirements prescribed in 18VAC115-20-49 and 

18VAC115-20-51. Transcripts previously submitted for 

registration of supervision board approval of a resident 

license do not have to be resubmitted unless additional 

coursework was subsequently obtained;  

c. Verification of Supervision supervision forms 

documenting fulfillment of the residency requirements of 

18VAC115-20-52 and copies of all required evaluation 

forms, including verification of current licensure of the 

supervisor if any portion of the residency occurred in 

another jurisdiction;  

d. Verification of any other mental health or health 

professional license or certificate ever held in another 

jurisdiction;  

e. The application processing and initial licensure fee as 

prescribed in 18VAC115-20-20; and 

f. A current report from the U.S. Department of Health 

and Human Services National Practitioner Data Bank 

(NPDB); and  

4. Have no unresolved disciplinary action against a mental 

health or health professional license or certificate held in 

Virginia or in another jurisdiction. The board will consider 

history of disciplinary action on a case-by-case basis.  

18VAC115-20-52. Residency Resident license and 

requirements for a residency.  

A. Registration Resident license. Applicants who render for 

temporary licensure as a resident in counseling services shall:  

1. With their supervisor, register their supervisory contract 

on the appropriate forms for board approval before starting 

to practice under supervision Apply for licensure on a form 
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provided by the board to include the following: (i) 

verification of a supervisory contract, (ii) the name and 

licensure number of the clinical supervisor and location for 

the supervised practice, and (iii) an attestation that the 

applicant will be providing clinical counseling services;  

2. Have submitted an official transcript documenting a 

graduate degree as that meets the requirements specified in 

18VAC115-20-49 to include completion of the coursework 

and internship requirement specified in 18VAC115-20-51; 

and  

3. Pay the registration fee; 

4. Submit a current report from the U.S. Department of 

Health and Human Services National Practitioner Data 

Bank (NPDB); and 

5. Have no unresolved disciplinary action against a mental 

health or health professional license, certificate, or 

registration in Virginia or in another jurisdiction. The 

board will consider the history of disciplinary action on a 

case-by-case basis.  

B. Residency requirements.  

1. The applicant for licensure as a professional counselor 

shall have completed a 3,400-hour supervised residency in 

the role of a professional counselor working with various 

populations, clinical problems, and theoretical approaches 

in the following areas:  

a. Assessment and diagnosis using psychotherapy 

techniques;  

b. Appraisal, evaluation, and diagnostic procedures;  

c. Treatment planning and implementation;  

d. Case management and recordkeeping;  

e. Professional counselor identity and function; and  

f. Professional ethics and standards of practice.  

2. The residency shall include a minimum of 200 hours of 

in-person supervision between supervisor and resident in 

the consultation and review of clinical counseling services 

provided by the resident. Supervision shall occur at a 

minimum of one hour and a maximum of four hours per 40 

hours of work experience during the period of the 

residency. For the purpose of meeting the 200-hour 

supervision requirement, in-person may include the use of 

secured technology that maintains client confidentiality 

and provides real-time, visual contact between the 

supervisor and the resident. Up to 20 hours of the 

supervision received during the supervised internship may 

be counted towards toward the 200 hours of in-person 

supervision if the supervision was provided by a licensed 

professional counselor. 

3. No more than half of the 200 hours may be satisfied 

with group supervision. One hour of group supervision will 

be deemed equivalent to one hour of individual 

supervision.  

4. Supervision that is not concurrent with a residency will 

not be accepted, nor will residency hours be accrued in the 

absence of approved supervision.  

5. The residency shall include at least 2,000 hours of face-

to-face client contact in providing clinical counseling 

services. The remaining hours may be spent in the 

performance of ancillary counseling services.  

6. A graduate-level internship in excess of 600 hours, 

which was completed in a program that meets the 

requirements set forth in 18VAC115-20-49, may count for 

up to an additional 300 hours towards toward the 

requirements of a residency.  

7. Supervised practicum and internship hours in a 

CACREP-accredited doctoral counseling program may be 

accepted for up to 900 hours of the residency requirement 

and up to 100 of the required hours of supervision provided 

the supervisor holds a current, unrestricted license as a 

professional counselor.  

8. The residency shall be completed in not less than 21 

months or more than four years. Residents who began a 

residency before August 24, 2016, shall complete the 

residency by August 24, 2020. An individual who does not 

complete the residency after four years shall submit 

evidence to the board showing why the supervised 

experience should be allowed to continue. A resident shall 

meet the renewal requirements of subsection C of 

18VAC115-20-100 in order to maintain a license in 

current, active status. 

9. The board may consider special requests in the event 

that the regulations create an undue burden in regard to 

geography or disability that limits the resident's access to 

qualified supervision.  

10. Residents may not call themselves professional 

counselors, directly bill for services rendered, or in any 

way represent themselves as independent, autonomous 

practitioners or professional counselors. During the 

residency, residents shall use their names and the initials of 

their degree, and the title "Resident in Counseling" in all 

written communications. Clients shall be informed in 

writing of the resident's status that the resident does not 

have authority for independent practice and is under 

supervision and shall provide the supervisor's name, 

professional address, and phone number.  

11. Residents shall not engage in practice under 

supervision in any areas for which they have not had 

appropriate education.  
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12. Residency hours approved by the licensing board in 

another United States jurisdiction that meet the 

requirements of this section shall be accepted. 

C. Supervisory qualifications. A person who provides 

supervision for a resident in professional counseling shall: 

1. Document two years of post-licensure clinical 

experience;  

2. Have received professional training in supervision, 

consisting of three credit hours or 4.0 quarter hours in 

graduate-level coursework in supervision or at least 20 

hours of continuing education in supervision offered by a 

provider approved under 18VAC115-20-106; and  

3. Hold an active, unrestricted license as a professional 

counselor or a marriage and family therapist in the 

jurisdiction where the supervision is being provided. At 

least 100 hours of the supervision shall be rendered by a 

licensed professional counselor. Supervisors who are 

substance abuse treatment practitioners, school 

psychologists, clinical psychologists, clinical social 

workers, or psychiatrists and have been approved to 

provide supervision may continue to do so until August 24, 

2017.  

D. Supervisory responsibilities. 

1. Supervision by any individual whose relationship to the 

resident compromises the objectivity of the supervisor is 

prohibited.  

2. The supervisor of a resident shall assume full 

responsibility for the clinical activities of that resident 

specified within the supervisory contract for the duration of 

the residency.  

3. The supervisor shall complete evaluation forms to be 

given to the resident at the end of each three-month period.  

4. The supervisor shall report the total hours of residency 

and shall evaluate the applicant's competency in the six 

areas stated in subdivision B 1 of this section.  

5. The supervisor shall provide supervision as defined in 

18VAC115-20-10. 

E. Applicants shall document successful completion of their 

residency on the Verification of Supervision Form at the time 

of application. Applicants must receive a satisfactory 

competency evaluation on each item on the evaluation sheet. 

Supervised experience obtained prior to April 12, 2000, may 

be accepted toward licensure if this supervised experience 

met the board's requirements that were in effect at the time 

the supervision was rendered. 

Part III  

Examinations  

18VAC115-20-70. General examination requirements; 

schedules; time limits.  

A. Every applicant for initial licensure by examination by 

the board as a professional counselor shall pass a written 

examination as prescribed by the board. An applicant is 

required to have passed the prescribed examination within six 

years from the date of initial issuance of a resident license by 

the board. 

B. Every applicant for licensure by endorsement shall have 

passed a licensure examination in the jurisdiction in which 

licensure was obtained. 

C. A candidate approved to sit for the examination shall pass 

the examination within two years from the date of such initial 

approval. If the candidate has not passed the examination by 

the end of the two-year period here prescribed:  

1. The initial approval to sit for the examination shall then 

become invalid; and  

2. The applicant shall file a new application with the board, 

meet the requirements in effect at that time, and provide 

evidence of why the board should approve the 

reapplication for examination. If approved by the board, 

the applicant shall pass the examination within two years 

of such approval. If the examination is not passed within 

the additional two-year period, a new application will not 

be accepted. 

D. C. The board shall establish a passing score on the 

written examination.  

E. D. A candidate for examination or an applicant shall not 

provide clinical counseling services unless he is under 

supervision approved by the board resident shall remain in a 

residency practicing under supervision until the resident has 

passed the licensure examination and been granted a license 

as a professional counselor. 

Part IV  

Licensure Renewal; Reinstatement  

18VAC115-20-100. Annual renewal of licensure.  

A. All licensees shall renew licenses on or before June 30 of 

each year.  

B. A. Every license holder licensed professional counselor 

who intends to continue an active practice shall submit to the 

board on or before June 30 of each year:  

1. A completed form for renewal of the license on which 

the licensee attests to compliance with the continuing 

competency requirements prescribed in this chapter; and  

2. The renewal fee prescribed in 18VAC115-20-20.  
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C. B. A licensee licensed professional counselor who wishes 

to place his license in an inactive status may do so upon 

payment of the inactive renewal fee as established in 

18VAC115-20-20. No person shall practice counseling in 

Virginia unless he holds a current active license. A licensee 

who has placed himself in inactive status may become active 

by fulfilling the reactivation requirements set forth in 

subsection C of 18VAC115-20-110 C.  

C. For renewal of a resident license in counseling, the 

following shall apply: 

1. A resident license shall expire annually in the month the 

resident license was initially issued and may be renewed 

up to five times by submission of the renewal form and 

payment of the fee prescribed in 18VAC115-20-20. 

2. On the annual renewal, the resident shall attest that a 

supervisory contract is in effect with a board-approved 

supervisor for each of the locations at which the resident is 

currently providing clinical counseling services.  

3. On the annual renewal, the resident in counseling shall 

attest to completion of three hours in continuing education 

courses that emphasize the ethics, standards of practice, or 

laws governing behavioral science professions in Virginia, 

offered by an approved provider as set forth in subsection 

B of 18VAC115-20-106. 

D. Licensees shall notify the board of a change in the 

address of record or the public address, if different from the 

address of record within 60 days. Failure to receive a renewal 

notice from the board shall not relieve the license holder from 

the renewal requirement.  

E. Practice with an expired license is prohibited and may 

constitute grounds for disciplinary action. 

NOTICE: Forms used in administering the regulation have 

been filed by the agency. The forms are not being published; 

however, online users of this issue of the Virginia Register of 

Regulations may click on the name of a form with a hyperlink 

to access it. The forms are also available from the agency 

contact or may be viewed at the Office of the Registrar of 

Regulations, 900 East Main Street, 11th Floor, Richmond, 

Virginia 23219. 

FORMS (18VAC115-20)  

Registration of Supervision - Post Graduate Degree 

Supervised Experience, LPC Form 1 (rev. 2/2011) 

Quarterly Evaluation, LPC Form 1-QE (rev. 2/2011) 

Licensure Verification of Out-of-State Supervisor, LPC 

Form 1-LV (rev. 2/2011) 

Licensure Application, LPC Form 2 (rev. 2/2011)  

Verification of Supervision – Post-Graduate Degree 

Supervised Experience, LPC Form 2-VS (rev. 2/2011) 

Coursework Outline Form, LPC Form 2-CO (rev. 2/2011) 

Verification of Internship Hours Towards the Residency, 

LPC Form 2-IR (rev. 2/2011) 

Verification of Internship, LPC Form 2-VI (rev. 2/2011) 

Verification of Licensure, LPC Form 2-VL (rev. 2/2011) 

Supervision Outline - Examination Applicants Only, LPC 

Form 2-SO (rev. 2/2011) 

Verification of Clinical Practice, 5 of Last 6 Years 

Immediately Preceding Submission of Application for 

Licensure, LPC Form-ECP (rev. 2/2011) 

Continuing Education Summary Form (LPC) (rev. 3/2009) 

Application for Reinstatement of a Lapsed License (rev. 

8/2007)  

Application for Reinstatement of a Revoked, Suspended, or 

Surrendered License (rev. 8/2007) 

Application Instructions for Temporary Licensure as a 

Resident in Counseling (rev. 12/2019) 

18VAC115-50-10. Definitions.  

A. The following words and terms when used in this chapter 

shall have the meaning ascribed to them in § 54.1-3500 of the 

Code of Virginia: (i) "board," (ii) "marriage and family 

therapy," (iii) "marriage and family therapist," and (iv) 

"practice of marriage and family therapy."  

B. The following words and terms when used in this chapter 

shall have the following meanings, unless the context clearly 

indicates otherwise:  

"Ancillary counseling services" means activities such as 

case management, recordkeeping, referral, and coordination 

of services. 

"CACREP" means the Council for Accreditation of 

Counseling and Related Educational Programs.  

"COAMFTE" means the Commission on Accreditation for 

Marriage and Family Therapy Education.  

"Clinical marriage and family services" means activities 

such as assessment, diagnosis, and treatment planning and 

treatment implementation for couples and families. 

"Face-to-face" means the in-person delivery of clinical 

marriage and family services for a client. 

"Internship" means a formal academic course from a 

regionally accredited university in which supervised practical 

experience is obtained in a clinical setting in the application 

of counseling principles, methods, and techniques. 

"Regional accrediting agency" means one of the regional 

accreditation agencies recognized by the U.S. Secretary of 

Education as responsible for accrediting senior post-

secondary institutions and training programs.  

http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=2660b002945~44&typ=40&actno=002945&mime=application/octet-stream
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=2660b002945~44&typ=40&actno=002945&mime=application/octet-stream
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=beca7002945~2&typ=40&actno=002945&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=ee3f9002945~3&typ=40&actno=002945&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=ee3f9002945~3&typ=40&actno=002945&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=4a5cd002945~4&typ=40&actno=002945&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=1e86e002945~5&typ=40&actno=002945&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=1e86e002945~5&typ=40&actno=002945&mime=application/pdf
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http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=ef438002945~8&typ=40&actno=002945&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=e12cf002945~9&typ=40&actno=002945&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=95351002945~10&typ=40&actno=002945&mime=application/pdf
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"Residency" means a postgraduate, supervised, clinical 

experience registered with the board.  

"Resident" means an individual who has submitted a 

supervisory contract to the board and has received been 

issued a temporary license by the board approval to provide 

clinical services in marriage and family therapy under 

supervision.  

"Supervision" means an ongoing process performed by a 

supervisor who monitors the performance of the person 

supervised and provides regular, documented, individual or 

group consultation, guidance, and instruction with respect to 

the clinical skills and competencies of the person or persons 

being supervised.  

"Supervisory contract" means an agreement that outlines the 

expectations and responsibilities of the supervisor and 

resident in accordance with regulations of the board. 

18VAC115-50-20. Fees.  

A. The board has established fees for the following:  

Registration of supervision Application and 

initial licensure as a resident 

$65  

Add or change supervisor Pre-review of 

education only 

$30 $75 

Initial licensure by examination: Processing 

and initial licensure as a marriage and family 

therapist 

$175  

Initial licensure by endorsement: Processing 

and initial licensure as a marriage and family 

therapist  

$175 

Active annual license renewal for a marriage 

and family therapist  

$130 

Inactive annual license renewal for a 

marriage and family therapist 

$65 

Annual renewal for a resident in marriage and 

family therapy 

$30 

Penalty for late renewal for a marriage and 

family therapist 

$45 

Late renewal for resident in marriage and 

family therapy 

$10 

Reinstatement of a lapsed license for a 

marriage and family therapist 

$200 

Verification of license to another jurisdiction  $30 

Additional or replacement licenses  $10 

Additional or replacement wall certificates  $25 

Returned check  $35 

Reinstatement following revocation or 

suspension  

$600 

B. All fees are nonrefundable.  

C. Examination fees shall be determined and made payable 

as determined by the board.  

18VAC115-50-30. Application for licensure as a marriage 

and family therapist by examination.  

Every applicant for licensure by examination by the board 

shall:  

1. Meet the education and experience requirements 

prescribed in 18VAC115-50-50, 18VAC115-50-55, and 

18VAC115-50-60; 

2. Meet the examination requirements prescribed in 

18VAC115-50-70;  

3. Submit to the board office the following items:  

a. A completed application;  

b. The application processing and initial licensure fee 

prescribed in 18VAC115-50-20;  

c. Documentation, on the appropriate forms, of the 

successful completion of the residency requirements of 

18VAC115-50-60 along with documentation of the 

supervisor's out-of-state license where applicable;  

d. Official transcript or transcripts submitted from the 

appropriate institutions of higher education, verifying 

satisfactory completion of the education requirements set 

forth in 18VAC115-50-50 and 18VAC115-50-55. 

Previously submitted transcripts for registration of 

supervision board approval of a resident license do not 

have to be resubmitted unless additional coursework was 

subsequently obtained;  

e. Verification on a board-approved form of any mental 

health or health out-of-state license, certification, or 

registration ever held in another jurisdiction; and  

f. A current report from the U.S. Department of Health 

and Human Services National Practitioner Data Bank 

(NPDB); and  

4. Have no unresolved disciplinary action against a mental 

health or health professional license or certificate held in 

Virginia or in another jurisdiction. The board will consider 

history of disciplinary action on a case-by-case basis.  

18VAC115-50-60. Residency Resident license and 

requirements for a residency. 

A. Registration Resident license. Applicants who render for 

temporary licensure as a resident in marriage and family 

therapy services shall:  

1. With their supervisor, register their supervisory contract 

on the appropriate forms for board approval before starting 

to practice und18VACer supervision Apply for licensure 

on a form provided by the board to include the following: 
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(i) verification of a supervisory contract, (ii) the name and 

licensure number of the supervisor and location for the 

supervised practice, and (iii) an attestation that the 

applicant will be providing marriage and family services. 

2. Have submitted an official transcript documenting a 

graduate degree as that meets the requirements specified in 

18VAC115-50-50 to include completion of the coursework 

and internship requirement specified in 18VAC115-50-55; 

and  

3. Pay the registration fee;  

4. Submit a current report from the U.S. Department of 

Health and Human Services National Practitioner Data 

Bank (NPDB); and 

5. Have no unresolved disciplinary action against a mental 

health or health professional license, certificate, or 

registration in Virginia or in another jurisdiction. The 

board will consider the history of disciplinary action on a 

case-by-case basis.  

B. Residency requirements.  

1. The applicant for licensure as a marriage and family 

therapist shall have completed no fewer than 3,400 hours 

of supervised residency in the role of a marriage and 

family therapist, to include 200 hours of in-person 

supervision with the supervisor in the consultation and 

review of marriage and family services provided by the 

resident. For the purpose of meeting the 200 hours of 

supervision required for a residency, in-person may also 

include the use of technology that maintains client 

confidentiality and provides real-time, visual contact 

between the supervisor and the resident. At least one-half 

of the 200 hours of supervision shall be rendered by a 

licensed marriage and family therapist. 

a. Residents shall receive a minimum of one hour and a 

maximum of four hours of supervision for every 40 hours 

of supervised work experience.  

b. No more than 100 hours of the supervision may be 

acquired through group supervision, with the group 

consisting of no more than six residents. One hour of 

group supervision will be deemed equivalent to one hour 

of individual supervision.  

c. Up to 20 hours of the supervision received during the 

supervised internship may be counted towards the 200 

hours of in-person supervision if the supervision was 

provided by a licensed marriage and family therapist or a 

licensed professional counselor.  

2. The residency shall include documentation of at least 

2,000 hours in clinical marriage and family services of 

which 1,000 hours shall be face-to-face client contact with 

couples or families or both. The remaining hours may be 

spent in the performance of ancillary counseling services. 

For applicants who hold current, unrestricted licensure as a 

professional counselor, clinical psychologist, or clinical 

social worker, the remaining hours may be waived. 

3. The residency shall consist of practice in the core areas 

set forth in 18VAC115-50-55.  

4. The residency shall begin after the completion of a 

master's degree in marriage and family therapy or a related 

discipline as set forth in 18VAC115-50-50.  

5. A graduate-level internship in excess of 600 hours, 

which was completed in a program that meets the 

requirements set forth in 18VAC115-50-50, may count for 

up to an additional 300 hours towards the requirements of a 

residency.  

6. Supervised practicum and internship hours in a 

COAMFTE-accredited or a CACREP-accredited doctoral 

program in marriage and family therapy or counseling may 

be accepted for up to 900 hours of the residency 

requirement and up to 100 of the required hours of 

supervision provided the supervisor holds a current, 

unrestricted license as a marriage and family therapist or 

professional counselor.  

7. The board may consider special requests in the event 

that the regulations create an undue burden in regard to 

geography or disability which that limits the resident's 

access to qualified supervision.  

8. Residents shall not call themselves marriage and family 

therapists, directly bill for services rendered, or in any way 

represent themselves as marriage and family therapists. 

During the residency, residents may use their names, the 

initials of their degree, and the title "Resident in Marriage 

and Family Therapy." Clients shall be informed in writing 

of the resident's status that the resident does not have 

authority for independent practice and is under supervision, 

along with the name, address, and telephone number of the 

resident's supervisor.  

9. Residents shall not engage in practice under supervision 

in any areas for which they do not have appropriate 

education.  

10. The residency shall be completed in not less than 21 

months or more than four years. Residents who began a 

residency before August 24, 2016, shall complete the 

residency by August 24, 2020. An individual who does not 

complete the residency after four years shall submit 

evidence to the board showing why the supervised 

experience should be allowed to continue. A resident shall 

meet the renewal requirements of subsection C of 

18VAC115-50-90 in order to maintain a resident license in 

current, active status. 

11. Residency hours that are approved by the licensing 

board in another United States jurisdiction and that meet 

the requirements of this section shall be accepted. 
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C. Supervisory qualifications. A person who provides 

supervision for a resident in marriage and family therapy 

shall: 

1. Hold an active, unrestricted license as a marriage and 

family therapist or professional counselor in the 

jurisdiction where the supervision is being provided; 

2. Document two years post-licensure marriage and family 

therapy experience; and 

3. Have received professional training in supervision, 

consisting of three credit hours or 4.0 quarter hours in 

graduate-level coursework in supervision or at least 20 

hours of continuing education in supervision offered by a 

provider approved under 18VAC115-50-96. At least one-

half of the 200 hours of supervision shall be rendered by a 

licensed marriage and family therapist. Supervisors who 

are clinical psychologists, clinical social workers, or 

psychiatrists and have been approved to provide 

supervision may continue to do so until August 24, 2017.  

D. Supervisory responsibilities. 

1. The supervisor shall complete evaluation forms to be 

given to the resident at the end of each three-month period. 

The supervisor shall report the total hours of residency and 

evaluate the applicant's competency to the board.  

2. Supervision by an individual whose relationship to the 

resident is deemed by the board to compromise the 

objectivity of the supervisor is prohibited.  

3. The supervisor shall provide supervision as defined in 

18VAC115-50-10 and shall assume full responsibility for 

the clinical activities of residents as specified within the 

supervisory contract, for the duration of the residency. 

18VAC115-50-70. General examination requirements.  

A. All applicants for initial licensure shall pass an 

examination, as prescribed by the board, with a passing score 

as determined by the board. The examination is waived for an 

applicant who holds a current and unrestricted license as a 

professional counselor issued by the board.  

B. The examination shall concentrate on the core areas of 

marriage and family therapy set forth in subsection A of 

18VAC115-50-55 An applicant is required to pass the 

prescribed examination within six years from the date of 

initial issuance of a resident license by the board. 

C. A candidate approved to sit for the examination shall pass 

the examination within two years from the initial notification 

date of approval. If the candidate has not passed the 

examination within two years from the date of initial 

approval: 

1. The initial approval to sit for the examination shall then 

become invalid; and  

2. The applicant shall file a new application with the board, 

meet the requirements in effect at that time, and provide 

evidence of why the board should approve the 

reapplication for examination. If approved by the board, 

the candidate shall pass the examination within two years 

of such approval. If the examination is not passed within 

the additional two-year period, a new application will not 

be accepted.  

D. Applicants or candidates for examination shall not 

provide marriage and family services unless they are under 

supervision approved by the board C. A resident shall remain 

in a residency practicing under supervision until the resident 

has passed the licensure examination and been granted a 

license as a marriage and family therapist. 

18VAC115-50-90. Annual renewal of license.  

A. All licensees shall renew licenses on or before June 30 of 

each year.  

B. A. All licensees licensed marriage and family therapists 

who intend to continue an active practice shall submit to the 

board on or before June 30 of each year:  

1. A completed form for renewal of the license on which 

the licensee attests to compliance with the continuing 

competency requirements prescribed in this chapter; and  

2. The renewal fee prescribed in 18VAC115-50-20.  

C. B. A licensee licensed marriage and family therapist who 

wishes to place his license in an inactive status may do so 

upon payment of the inactive renewal fee as established in 

18VAC115-50-20. No person shall practice marriage and 

family therapy in Virginia unless he holds a current active 

license. A licensee who has placed himself in inactive status 

may become active by fulfilling the reactivation requirements 

set forth in 18VAC115-50-100 C.  

C. For renewal of a resident license in marriage and family 

therapy, the following shall apply: 

1. A resident license shall expire annually in the month the 

license was initially issued and may be renewed up to five 

times by submission of the renewal form and payment of 

the fee prescribed in 18VAC115-50-20. 

2. On the annual renewal, the resident shall attest that a 

supervisory contract is in effect with a board-approved 

supervisor for each of the locations at which the resident is 

currently providing marriage and family therapy. 

3. On the annual renewal, residents in marriage and family 

therapy shall attest to completion of three hours in 

continuing education courses that emphasize the ethics, 

standards of practice, or laws governing behavioral science 

professions in Virginia, offered by an approved provider as 

set forth in subsection B of 18VAC115-50-96. 
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D. Licensees shall notify the board of a change in the 

address of record or the public address, if different from the 

address of record within 60 days. Failure to receive a renewal 

notice from the board shall not relieve the license holder from 

the renewal requirement.  

E. After the renewal date, the license is expired; practice 

with an expired license is prohibited and may constitute 

grounds for disciplinary action. 

NOTICE: Forms used in administering the regulation have been 

filed by the agency. The forms are not being published; however, 

online users of this issue of the Virginia Register of Regulations 

may click on the name of a form with a hyperlink to access it. 

The forms are also available from the agency contact or may be 

viewed at the Office of the Registrar of Regulations, 900 East 

Main Street, 11th Floor, Richmond, Virginia 23219. 

FORMS (18VAC115-50)  

Licensure Application - Marriage and Family Therapist, 

MFT Form 2 (rev. 2/2011) 

Verification of Licensure, MFT Form 2-VL (rev. 2/2011) 

Verification of Supervision – Post-Graduate Degree 

Supervised Experience, MFT Form 2-VS (rev. 2/2011) 

Licensure Verification of Out-of-State Supervisor, MFT 

Form 1-LV (rev. 2/2011) 

Quarterly Evaluation, MFT Form 1-QE (rev. 2/2011) 

Coursework Outline Form, MFT Form 2-CO (rev. 2/2011) 

Verification of Internship, MFT Form 2-VI (rev. 2/2011) 

Verification of Internship Hours Towards the Residency, 

MFT Form 2-IR (rev. 2/2011) 

Supervision Outline - Examination Applicants Only, MFT 

Form 2-SO (rev. 2/2011) 

Verification of Clinical Practice 5 of Last 6 Years 

Immediately Preceding Submission for Application of 

Licensure, Endorsement Applicants Only, Form MFT-ECP 

(rev. 2/2011) 

Registration of Supervision - Post Graduate Degree 

Supervised Experience, MFT Form 1 (rev. 2/2011) 

Application for Reinstatement of a Lapsed License (rev. 

8/2007)  

Continuing Education Summary Form (LMFT) (rev. 

3/2009) 

Applications Instructions - Temporary Licensure as a 

Resident in Marriage and Family Therapy (rev. 12/2019) 

Part I  

General Provisions  

18VAC115-60-10. Definitions.  

A. The following words and terms when used in this chapter 

shall have the meaning ascribed to them in § 54.1-3500 of the 

Code of Virginia:  

"Board"  

"Licensed substance abuse treatment practitioner"  

"Substance abuse"  

"Substance abuse treatment"  

B. The following words and terms when used in this chapter 

shall have the following meanings, unless the context clearly 

indicates otherwise:  

"Ancillary services" means activities such as case 

management, recordkeeping, referral, and coordination of 

services. 

"Applicant" means any individual who has submitted an 

official application and paid the application fee for licensure 

as a substance abuse treatment practitioner.  

"CACREP" means the Council for Accreditation of 

Counseling and Related Educational Programs.  

"Candidate for licensure" means a person who has 

satisfactorily completed all educational and experience 

requirements for licensure and has been deemed eligible by 

the board to sit for its examinations.  

"Clinical substance abuse treatment services" means 

activities such as assessment, diagnosis, treatment planning, 

and treatment implementation. 

"COAMFTE" means the Commission on Accreditation for 

Marriage and Family Therapy Education.  

"Competency area" means an area in which a person 

possesses knowledge and skill and the ability to apply them in 

the clinical setting.  

"Exempt setting" means an agency or institution in which 

licensure is not required to engage in the practice of substance 

abuse treatment according to the conditions set forth in 

§ 54.1-3501 of the Code of Virginia.  

"Face-to-face" means the in-person delivery of clinical 

substance abuse treatment services for a client. 

"Group supervision" means the process of clinical 

supervision of no more than six persons in a group setting 

provided by a qualified supervisor. 

"Internship" means a formal academic course from a 

regionally accredited university in which supervised, practical 

experience is obtained in a clinical setting in the application 

of counseling principles, methods, and techniques. 

http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=9ff3e002945~18&typ=40&actno=002945&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=9ff3e002945~18&typ=40&actno=002945&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=df566002945~19&typ=40&actno=002945&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=b0e00002945~20&typ=40&actno=002945&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=b0e00002945~20&typ=40&actno=002945&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=898b1002945~21&typ=40&actno=002945&mime=application/pdf
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http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=ce303002945~22&typ=40&actno=002945&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=11ad6002945~23&typ=40&actno=002945&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=353f1002945~24&typ=40&actno=002945&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=9c967002945~25&typ=40&actno=002945&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=9c967002945~25&typ=40&actno=002945&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=25025002945~26&typ=40&actno=002945&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=25025002945~26&typ=40&actno=002945&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=111b4002945~27&typ=40&actno=002945&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=111b4002945~27&typ=40&actno=002945&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=111b4002945~27&typ=40&actno=002945&mime=application/pdf
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"Jurisdiction" means a state, territory, district, province, or 

country which that has granted a professional certificate or 

license to practice a profession, use a professional title, or 

hold oneself out as a practitioner of that profession.  

"Nonexempt setting" means a setting which that does not 

meet the conditions of exemption from the requirements of 

licensure to engage in the practice of substance abuse 

treatment as set forth in § 54.1-3501 of the Code of Virginia.  

"Regional accrediting agency" means one of the regional 

accreditation agencies recognized by the U.S. Secretary of 

Education responsible for accrediting senior postsecondary 

institutions.  

"Residency" means a postgraduate, supervised, clinical 

experience registered with the board.  

"Resident" means an individual who has submitted a 

supervisory contract and has received board approval been 

issued a temporary license by the board to provide clinical 

services in substance abuse treatment under supervision.  

"Supervision" means the ongoing process performed by a 

supervisor who monitors the performance of the person 

supervised and provides regular, documented individual or 

group consultation, guidance, and instruction with respect to 

the clinical skills and competencies of the person supervised. 

"Supervisory contract" means an agreement that outlines the 

expectations and responsibilities of the supervisor and 

resident in accordance with regulations of the board. 

18VAC115-60-20. Fees required by the board.  

A. The board has established the following fees applicable 

to licensure as a substance abuse treatment practitioner or 

resident in substance abuse treatment:  

Registration of supervision (initial) 

Application and initial licensure as a 

resident in substance abuse treatment 

$65  

Add/change supervisor Pre-review of 

education only 

$30 $75 

Initial licensure by examination: 

Processing and initial licensure as a 

substance abuse treatment practitioner 

$175  

Initial licensure by endorsement: 

Processing and initial licensure as a 

substance abuse treatment practitioner 

$175 

Active annual license renewal for a 

substance abuse treatment practitioner 

$130 

Inactive annual license renewal for a 

substance abuse treatment practitioner 

$65 

Annual renewal for a resident in substance 

abuse treatment 

$30 

Duplicate license  $10 

Verification of license to another 

jurisdiction  

$30 

Late renewal for a substance abuse 

treatment practitioner 

$45 

Late renewal for a resident in substance 

abuse treatment 

$10 

Reinstatement of a lapsed license of a 

substance abuse treatment practitioner 

$200 

Replacement of or additional wall 

certificate  

$25 

Returned check  $35 

Reinstatement following revocation or 

suspension  

$600 

B. All fees are nonrefundable.  

C. Examination fees shall be determined and made payable 

as determined by the board.  

Part II  

Requirements for Licensure as a Substance Abuse Treatment 

Practitioner 

18VAC115-60-40. Application for licensure by 

examination.  

Every applicant for licensure by examination by the board 

shall:  

1. Meet the degree program, coursework, and experience 

requirements prescribed in 18VAC115-60-60, 18VAC115-

60-70, and 18VAC115-60-80;  

2. Pass the examination required for initial licensure as 

prescribed in 18VAC115-60-90;  

3. Submit the following items to the board:  

a. A completed application;  

b. Official transcripts documenting the applicant's 

completion of the degree program and coursework 

requirements prescribed in 18VAC115-60-60 and 

18VAC115-60-70. Transcripts previously submitted for 

registration of supervision board approval of a resident 

license do not have to be resubmitted unless additional 

coursework was subsequently obtained;  

c. Verification of supervision forms documenting 

fulfillment of the residency requirements of 18VAC115-

60-80 and copies of all required evaluation forms, 

including verification of current licensure of the 

supervisor of any portion of the residency occurred in 

another jurisdiction;  



Regulations 

Volume 37, Issue 2 Virginia Register of Regulations September 14, 2020 

422 

d. Documentation of any other mental health or health 

professional license or certificate ever held in another 

jurisdiction;  

e. The application processing and initial licensure fee as 

prescribed in 18VAC115-60-20; and 

f. A current report from the U.S. Department of Health 

and Human Services National Practitioner Data Bank 

(NPDB); and  

4. Have no unresolved disciplinary action against a mental 

health or health professional license or certificate held in 

Virginia or in another jurisdiction. The board will consider 

history of disciplinary action on a case-by-case basis.  

18VAC115-60-80. Residency Resident license and 

requirements for a residency. 

A. Registration Licensure. Applicants who render for a 

temporary resident license in substance abuse treatment 

services shall: 

1. With their supervisor, register their supervisory contract 

on the appropriate forms for board approval before starting 

to practice under supervision Apply for licensure on a form 

provided by the board to include the following: (i) 

verification of a supervisory contract, (ii) the name and 

licensure number of the supervisor and location for the 

supervised practice, and (iii) an attestation that the 

applicant will be providing substance abuse treatment 

services; 

2. Have submitted an official transcript documenting a 

graduate degree as that meets the requirements specified in 

18VAC115-60-60 to include completion of the coursework 

and internship requirement specified in 18VAC115-60-70; 

and  

3. Pay the registration fee; 

4. Submit a current report from the U.S. Department of 

Health and Human Services National Practitioner Data 

Bank (NPDB); and  

5. Have no unresolved disciplinary action against a mental 

health or health professional license, certificate, or 

registration in Virginia or in another jurisdiction. The 

board will consider the history of disciplinary action on a 

case-by-case basis.  

B. Applicants who are beginning their residencies in exempt 

settings shall register supervision with the board to assure 

acceptability at the time of application. 

C. Residency requirements. 

1. The applicant for licensure as a substance abuse 

treatment practitioner shall have completed no fewer than 

3,400 hours in a supervised residency in substance abuse 

treatment with various populations, clinical problems and 

theoretical approaches in the following areas:  

a. Clinical evaluation; 

b. Treatment planning, documentation, and 

implementation; 

c. Referral and service coordination; 

d. Individual and group counseling and case 

management; 

e. Client family and community education; and 

f. Professional and ethical responsibility. 

2. The residency shall include a minimum of 200 hours of 

in-person supervision between supervisor and resident 

occurring at a minimum of one hour and a maximum of 

four hours per 40 hours of work experience during the 

period of the residency.  

a. No more than half of these hours may be satisfied with 

group supervision.  

b. One hour of group supervision will be deemed 

equivalent to one hour of individual supervision.  

c. Supervision that is not concurrent with a residency will 

not be accepted, nor will residency hours be accrued in 

the absence of approved supervision. 

d. For the purpose of meeting the 200-hour supervision 

requirement, in-person supervision may include the use 

of technology that maintains client confidentiality and 

provides real-time, visual contact between the supervisor 

and the resident.  

e. Up to 20 hours of the supervision received during the 

supervised internship may be counted towards the 200 

hours of in-person supervision if the supervision was 

provided by a licensed professional counselor. 

3. The residency shall include at least 2,000 hours of face-

to-face client contact in providing clinical substance abuse 

treatment services with individuals, families, or groups of 

individuals suffering from the effects of substance abuse or 

dependence. The remaining hours may be spent in the 

performance of ancillary services. 

4. A graduate level degree internship in excess of 600 

hours, which is completed in a program that meets the 

requirements set forth in 18VAC115-60-70, may count for 

up to an additional 300 hours towards the requirements of a 

residency.  

5. The residency shall be completed in not less than 21 

months or more than four years. Residents who began a 

residency before August 24, 2016, shall complete the 

residency by August 24, 2020. An individual who does not 

complete the residency after four years shall submit 

evidence to the board showing why the supervised 

experience should be allowed to continue. A resident shall 

meet the renewal requirements of subsection C of 
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18VAC115-60-110 in order to maintain a license in 

current, active status. 

6. The board may consider special requests in the event 

that the regulations create an undue burden in regard to 

geography or disability which that limits the resident's 

access to qualified supervision.  

7. Residents may not call themselves substance abuse 

treatment practitioners, directly bill for services rendered, 

or in any way represent themselves as independent, 

autonomous practitioners or substance abuse treatment 

practitioners. During the residency, residents shall use their 

names and the initials of their degree, and the title 

"Resident in Substance Abuse Treatment" in all written 

communications. Clients shall be informed in writing of 

the resident's status, that the resident does not have 

authority for independent practice and is under supervision 

and shall provide the supervisor's name, professional 

address, and telephone number.  

8. Residents shall not engage in practice under supervision 

in any areas for which they have not had appropriate 

education.  

9. Residency hours that are approved by the licensing 

board in another United States jurisdiction and that meet 

the requirements of this section shall be accepted. 

D. Supervisory qualifications.  

1. A person who provides supervision for a resident in 

substance abuse treatment shall hold an active, unrestricted 

license as a professional counselor or substance abuse 

treatment practitioner in the jurisdiction where the 

supervision is being provided. Supervisors who are 

marriage and family therapists, school psychologists, 

clinical psychologists, clinical social workers, clinical 

nurse specialists, or psychiatrists and have been approved 

to provide supervision may continue to do so until August 

24, 2017.  

2. All supervisors shall document two years post-licensure 

substance abuse treatment experience and at least 100 

hours of didactic instruction in substance abuse treatment. 

Supervisors must document a three-credit-hour course in 

supervision, a 4.0-quarter-hour course in supervision, or at 

least 20 hours of continuing education in supervision 

offered by a provider approved under 18VAC115-60-116.  

E. Supervisory responsibilities. 

1. Supervision by any individual whose relationship to the 

resident compromises the objectivity of the supervisor is 

prohibited.  

2. The supervisor of a resident shall assume full 

responsibility for the clinical activities of that resident 

specified within the supervisory contract for the duration of 

the residency.  

3. The supervisor shall complete evaluation forms to be 

given to the resident at the end of each three-month period.  

4. The supervisor shall report the total hours of residency 

and shall evaluate the applicant's competency in the six 

areas stated in subdivision C 1 of this section.  

F. Documentation of supervision. Applicants shall document 

successful completion of their residency on the Verification 

of Supervision form at the time of application. Applicants 

must receive a satisfactory competency evaluation on each 

item on the evaluation sheet.  

Part III  

Examinations  

18VAC115-60-90. General examination requirements; 

schedules; time limits.  

A. Every applicant for initial licensure as a substance abuse 

treatment practitioner by examination shall pass a written 

examination as prescribed by the board. Such applicant is 

required to pass the prescribed examination within six years 

from the date of initial issuance of a resident license by the 

board. 

B. Every applicant for licensure as a substance abuse 

treatment practitioner by endorsement shall have passed a 

substance abuse examination deemed by the board to be 

substantially equivalent to the Virginia examination.  

C. The examination is waived for an applicant who holds a 

current and unrestricted license as a professional counselor 

issued by the board. 

D. A candidate approved by the board to sit for the 

examination shall pass the examination within two years from 

the date of such initial board approval. If the candidate has 

not passed the examination within two years from the date of 

initial approval:  

1. The initial board approval to sit for the examination 

shall then become invalid; and 

2. The applicant shall file a complete new application with 

the board, meet the requirements in effect at that time, and 

provide evidence of why the board should approve the 

reapplication for examination. If approved by the board, 

the applicant shall pass the examination within two years 

of such approval. If the examination is not passed within 

the additional two-year period, a new application will not 

be accepted.  

E. D. The board shall establish a passing score on the 

written examination.  

F. A candidate for examination or an applicant shall not 

provide clinical services unless he is under supervision 

approved by the board. E. A resident shall remain in a 

residency practicing under supervision until the resident has 
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passed the licensure examination and been granted a license 

as a substance abuse treatment practitioner. 

Part IV  

Licensure Renewal; Reinstatement  

18VAC115-60-110. Renewal of licensure.  

A. All licensees shall renew licenses on or before June 30 of 

each year.  

B. A. Every license holder substance abuse treatment 

practitioner who intends to continue an active practice shall 

submit to the board on or before June 30 of each year:  

1. A completed form for renewal of the license on which 

the licensee attests to compliance with the continuing 

competency requirements prescribed in this chapter; and  

2. The renewal fee prescribed in 18VAC115-60-20.  

C. B. A licensee substance abuse treatment practitioner who 

wishes to place his license in an inactive status may do so 

upon payment of the inactive renewal fee as established in 

18VAC115-60-20. No person shall practice substance abuse 

treatment in Virginia unless he holds a current active license. 

A licensee who has placed himself in inactive status may 

become active by fulfilling the reactivation requirements set 

forth in subsection C of 18VAC115-60-120 C.  

C. For renewal of a resident license in substance abuse 

treatment, the following shall apply: 

1. A resident license shall expire annually in the month the 

resident license was initially issued and may be renewed 

up to five times by submission of the renewal form and 

payment of the fee prescribed in 18VAC115-60-20. 

2. On the annual renewal, the resident shall attest that a 

supervisory contract is in effect with a board-approved 

supervisor for each of the locations at which the resident is 

currently providing substance abuse treatment services.   

3. On the annual renewal, residents in substance abuse 

treatment shall attest to completion of three hours in 

continuing education courses that emphasize the ethics, 

standards of practice, or laws governing behavioral science 

professions in Virginia, offered by an approved provider as 

set forth in subsection B of 18VAC115-60-116. 

D. Licensees shall notify the board of a change in the 

address of record or the public address, if different from the 

address of record within 60 days. Failure to receive a renewal 

notice from the board shall not relieve the license holder from 

the renewal requirement.  

E. After the renewal date, the license is expired; practice 

with an expired license is prohibited and may constitute 

grounds for disciplinary action. 

NOTICE: Forms used in administering the regulation have 

been filed by the agency. The forms are not being published; 

however, online users of this issue of the Virginia Register of 

Regulations may click on the name of a form with a hyperlink 

to access it. The forms are also available from the agency 

contact or may be viewed at the Office of the Registrar of 

Regulations, 900 East Main Street, 11th Floor, Richmond, 

Virginia 23219. 

FORMS (18VAC115-60)  

Licensure Application, Licensed Substance Abuse 

Treatment Practitioner, LSATP Form 2 (rev. 1/2011) 

Verification of Licensure, Form LSATP 2-VL (rev. 1/2011) 

Verification of Supervision – Post Graduate Degree 

Supervised Experience, LSATP 2-VS (rev. 1/2011) 

Supervisor's Experience and Education (rev. 1/2011) 

Licensure Verification of Out-of-State Supervisor, LSATP 

Form 1-LV (rev. 1/2011) 

Coursework Outline Form, Form LSATP 2-CO (rev. 

1/2011) 

Verification of Internship, Form LSATP 2-VI (rev. 1/2011) 

Verification of Internship Hours Towards the Residency, 

Form LSATP 2-IR (rev. 1/2011) 

Registration of Supervision – Post Graduate Degree 

Supervised Experience, LSATP Form 1 (rev. 1/2011) 

Quarterly Evaluation Form, LSATP Form 1-QE (rev. 

1/2011) 

Supervision Outline Form – Examination Applicants Only, 

Form LSATP 2-SO (rev. 1/2011). 

Verification of Post-Licensure Clinical Practice, 

Endorsement Applicants Only, Form LSATP-ECP (rev. 

1/2011) 

Licensed Substance Abuse Treatment Practitioner 

Application for Reinstatement of a Lapsed Certificate (rev. 

7/2011) 

Continuing Education Summary Form (LSATP) (rev. 

3/2009) 

Application Instructions for Temporary Licensure as a 

Resident in Substance Abuse Treatment (rev. 12/2019) 

VA.R. Doc. No. R20-6111; Filed August 16, 2020, 9:42 a.m.  

Proposed Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC115-40. Regulations Governing 

the Certification of Rehabilitation Providers (amending 

18VAC115-40-20, 18VAC115-40-22, 18VAC115-40-25, 

18VAC115-40-26, 18VAC115-40-30, 18VAC115-40-35, 

18VAC115-40-38, 18VAC115-40-50).  

Statutory Authority: § 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia. 

http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=8caaa002945~30&typ=40&actno=002945&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=8caaa002945~30&typ=40&actno=002945&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=214e5002945~31&typ=40&actno=002945&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=3d0fb002945~32&typ=40&actno=002945&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=3d0fb002945~32&typ=40&actno=002945&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=84b6f002945~44&typ=40&actno=002945&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=b029a002945~34&typ=40&actno=002945&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=b029a002945~34&typ=40&actno=002945&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=207de002945~35&typ=40&actno=002945&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=207de002945~35&typ=40&actno=002945&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=cd518002945~36&typ=40&actno=002945&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=868b5002945~37&typ=40&actno=002945&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=868b5002945~37&typ=40&actno=002945&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=63b86002945~38&typ=40&actno=002945&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=63b86002945~38&typ=40&actno=002945&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=01540002945~39&typ=40&actno=002945&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=01540002945~39&typ=40&actno=002945&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=efeb2002945~40&typ=40&actno=002945&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=efeb2002945~40&typ=40&actno=002945&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=04e2e002945~41&typ=40&actno=002945&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=04e2e002945~41&typ=40&actno=002945&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=04e2e002945~41&typ=40&actno=002945&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=dee7f002945~42&typ=40&actno=002945&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=dee7f002945~42&typ=40&actno=002945&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=dee7f002945~42&typ=40&actno=002945&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=bb568002945~43&typ=40&actno=002945&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=bb568002945~43&typ=40&actno=002945&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=22c56006111~39.pdf&typ=40&actno=006111&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=22c56006111~39.pdf&typ=40&actno=006111&mime=application/pdf
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Public Hearing Information: 

October 9, 2020 - 10:05 a.m. - WebEx - The link and 

instructions to attend the electronic meeting will be in the 

agenda package posted prior to the meeting at 

http://www.dhp.virginia.gov and on the Virginia 

Regulatory Town Hall (www.townhall.virginia.gov). 

Public Comment Deadline: November 13, 2020. 

Agency Contact: Jaime Hoyle, Executive Director, Board of 

Counseling, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, Richmond, VA 

23233, telephone (804) 367-4406, FAX (804) 527-4435, or 

email jaime.hoyle@dhp.virginia.gov. 

Basis: Regulations are promulgated under the general 

authority of § 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia, which 

provides the Board of Counseling the authority to promulgate 

regulations to administer the regulatory system. Specific 

authority for regulation of the profession of counseling is 

found in § 54.1-3505 of the Code of Virginia. 

Purpose: Additional standards of conduct and causes for 

disciplinary action will provide further guidance to licensees 

on the expectations for ethical practice and give the board 

more explicit grounds on which to discipline practitioners for 

the purpose of protecting the health, safety, and welfare of the 

public. 

Substance: In addition to edits for clarity and updating of 

terminology, the following changes were adopted. 

18VAC115-22, clarify that unresolved disciplinary action in 

another jurisdiction may be grounds to deny certification, but 

the board will consider each on a case-by-case basis. 

18VAC115-25, require "verification" of any other mental 

health or health license in another jurisdiction. 

Documentation is not necessary, provided the verification 

comes from the other jurisdiction; the only "licenses" the 

board is concerned about are mental health or health licenses. 

18VAC115-26, replace the words "members" with the word 

"persons" who are in group supervision. 

18VAC115-30, change the renewal date from January 31 to 

June 30 for consistency with renewal for other professions. 

18VAC115-35, provide examples of "evidence" of continuing 

ability to perform the functions of a rehabilitation provider 

that may be required for reinstatement, such as continuing 

education or practice in another state. 

18VAC115-38, add the requirement for notification of a name 

change and change the requirement from 30 to 60 days for 

submission of information on changes. 

18VAC115-50, add the following grounds for disciplinary 

action that exist in other regulations for the Board of 

Counseling: 

• Conducting one's practice in such a manner so as to 

make it a danger to the health and welfare of one's clients 

or to the public; 

• Performance of functions outside the board-certified 

area of competency;  

• Intentional or negligent conduct that causes or is likely 

to cause injury to a client; 

• Performance of an act likely to deceive, defraud, or 

harm the public; 

• Failure to cooperate with an employee of the 

Department of Health Professions in the conduct of an 

investigation; 

• Failure to report evidence of child abuse or neglect as 

required in § 63.2-1509 of the Code of Virginia, or elder 

abuse or neglect as required in § 63.2-1606 in the Code 

of Virginia;  

• Knowingly allowing persons under supervision to 

jeopardize client safety or provide care to clients outside 

of such person's scope of practice or area of 

responsibility; and 

• Violating any provisions of this chapter, including 

practice standards set forth in 18VAC115-40-40. 

Issues: The primary advantage to the public is greater 

accountability by the addition of grounds for disciplinary 

action if any issues with the practice of rehabilitation 

providers arise; there are no disadvantages to the public. 

There are no advantages and disadvantages to the agency or 

the Commonwealth. 

Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 

Analysis: 

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. The 

Board of Counseling (Board) seeks to amend 18VAC115-40 

Regulations Governing the Certification of Rehabilitation 

Providers in order to implement changes resulting from a 

periodic review undertaken in 2018.1 The proposed 

amendments include: (i) updating the requirements for 

application and reinstatement of the certification, (ii) adding a 

fee for anyone requesting documentation of their certification 

from the Board (iii) changing the renewal deadline to June 30, 

(iv) expanding the list of violations that would constitute 

grounds for disciplinary action, and (v) other minor changes.  

Background. Pursuant to the periodic review, the Board 

proposes to make a number of amendments, listed below: 

1. Adding a new $25 fee to the fee schedule in 

18VAC115-40-20, for providing verification of 

certification. Since licenses and certifications issued by 

the Board can be verified online free of charge, anyone 

requesting documentation such as a letter or a stamped 

http://www.dhp.virginia.gov/
https://lis.virginia.gov/000/noc/www.townhall.virginia.gov
mailto:jaime.hoyle@dhp.virginia.gov
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copy of the certification would be required to pay $25 for 

this service.  

2. Amending the eligibility criteria listed in 18VAC115-

40-22 to include "The applicant shall have no unresolved 

disciplinary action against a health, mental health, or 

rehabilitation-related license, certificate, or registration in 

Virginia or in another jurisdiction. The board will 

consider history of disciplinary action on a case-by-case 

basis." This proposed addition is consistent with recent 

additions made by the Board to regulations governing 

other categories of regulants, such as qualified mental 

health professionals.2  

3. Making explicit the requirement that applicants 

provide "documentation of passage of the examination 

required by 18VAC115-40-28" as part of the application 

process (18VAC115-40-25) and replacing 

"documentation of the applicant's national or out-of-state 

license in good standing…" with "verification that the 

applicant's national or out-of-state license or certificate is 

in good standing …" to indicate that electronic 

verification would suffice in lieu of a document.  

4. Changing the date of certification expiration to June 30 

of each year, instead of January 31. The Board states that 

this change would make the renewal date consistent 

across all categories of regulants. Rehabilitation 

providers, whose certificates are currently due to expire 

on January 31, 2021, would have until June 30, 2021, to 

renew it. (18VAC115-40-30) 

5. Clarifying the requirements for reinstatement of a 

certificate by including the following examples of the 

evidence required to demonstrate continued ability to 

provide services: certificates of completion of continuing 

education, verification of practice in another jurisdiction, 

or maintenance of national certification. (18VAC115-40-

35) 

6. Allowing change of name in addition to change of 

address, and allowing rehabilitation providers to submit 

the new name or address to the Board within 60 days of 

such change, as opposed to 30. (18VAC115-40-38) 

7. Expanding the types of violations that would constitute 

grounds for disciplinary action. Specifically, the Board 

seeks to add "attempting to procure, or maintaining" to 

"procuring a license, certificate or registration by fraud 

…" and "mental illness" as a means by which providers 

may compromise the safety of their clients. The proposed 

amendments would also add performing functions 

outside of one's board-certified area of competency, 

intentional or negligent conduct, failure to cooperate with 

the Department of Health Professions in an investigation, 

failure to report evidence of child or elder abuse or 

neglect, knowingly allowing persons under supervision 

to jeopardize client safety or practice outside of their area 

of responsibility, and generally conducting one's practice 

in a manner that would be dangerous to the clients or to 

the public, including engaging in acts to intentionally 

defraud or deceive clients or the public. (18VAC115-40-

50) These additions are consistent with other regulations 

promulgated by the Board.3 

8. Updating the names and current versions of forms 

associated with this regulation.  

Estimated Benefits and Costs. On the whole, the proposed 

amendments are unlikely to impose a substantive economic 

burden on regulants, clients, or other entities in the industry. The 

new verification fee would only affect a small fraction of 

rehabilitation providers who choose to request such 

documentation in lieu of online verification, which can be 

accessed for free. The Board reports having only one or two 

complaints regarding disciplinary violations in each of the 

previous two years and does not anticipate that the new 

violations being added would lead to a significant increase in 

complaints. Finally, the proposed change in renewal deadlines 

would not substantively affect the Board financially; the Board 

currently has a $1.2 million balance and thus expects to absorb 

any short-term costs arising from the initial five-month extension 

of the renewal deadline. All other changes listed are unlikely to 

have any direct economic consequences and may benefit 

providers to the extent that they help clarify the requirements. 

Businesses and Other Entities Affected. The proposed 

amendments pertain to rehabilitation providers who are 

required to have certification and those seeking such 

certification in Virginia.4 There are currently 230 certified 

rehabilitation providers,5 who mainly work in non-profit or 

clinical settings. No new costs would accrue to them due to 

the proposed amendments.  

Small Businesses6 Affected. The proposed amendments do 

not directly affect any small businesses, nor would they face 

any new costs as a result of the proposed amendments. 

Localities7 Affected.8 The proposed amendments are not 

expected to disproportionately affect particular localities or 

introduce new costs for local governments.  

Projected Impact on Employment. The proposed amendments 

are unlikely to affect total employment in the industry.  

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. The 

proposed amendments are unlikely to affect the use or value 

of private property. Real estate development costs are 

unlikely to be affected. 

______________________________________ 
1See https://townhall.virginia.gov/l/ViewPReview.cfm?PRid=1674 

2See https://townhall.virginia.gov/l/ViewStage.cfm?stageid=8843 

3 For examples, see https://law.lis.virginia.gov/admincode/title18/agency115/ 

chapter30/section150/ or https://law.lis.virginia.gov/admincode/ 

title18/agency115/chapter80/section100/  

4Not all rehabilitation providers are required to have Board certification. 

There is an exemption in the law for "employees or independent contractors 

https://townhall.virginia.gov/l/ViewPReview.cfm?PRid=1674
https://townhall.virginia.gov/l/ViewStage.cfm?stageid=8843
https://law.lis.virginia.gov/admincode/title18/agency115/chapter30/section150/
https://law.lis.virginia.gov/admincode/title18/agency115/chapter30/section150/
https://law.lis.virginia.gov/admincode/title18/agency115/chapter80/section100/
https://law.lis.virginia.gov/admincode/title18/agency115/chapter80/section100/
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of the Commonwealth's agencies and sheltered workshops providing 

vocational rehabilitation services, under the following circumstances: (i) such 

employees or independent contractors are not providing vocational 

rehabilitation services under § 65.2-603 or (ii) such employees are providing 

vocational rehabilitation services under § 65.2-603 as well as other programs 

and are certified by the Commission on Rehabilitation Counselor 

Certification (CRCC) as certified rehabilitation counselors (CRC) or by the 

Commission on Certification of Work Adjustment and Vocational Evaluation 

Specialists (CCWAVES) as Certified Vocational Evaluation Specialists 

(CVE)." 

5Data source: Department of Health Professions 

6Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.04 of the Code of Virginia, small business is defined 

as "a business entity, including its affiliates, that (i) is independently owned 

and operated and (ii) employs fewer than 500 full-time employees or has 

gross annual sales of less than $6 million." 

7"Locality" can refer to either local governments or the locations in the 

Commonwealth where the activities relevant to the regulatory change are 

most likely to occur. 

8§ 2.2-4007.04 defines "particularly affected" as bearing disproportionate 

material impact. 

Agency's Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The Board 

of Counseling concurs with the analysis of the Department of 

Planning and Budget. 

Summary: 

The proposed amendments (i) update the requirements for 

application and reinstatement of the certification, (ii) add 

a fee for anyone requesting documentation of their 

certification from the board (iii) change the renewal 

deadline to June 30, (iv) expand the list of violations that 

would constitute grounds for disciplinary action, and (v) 

make clarifications. 

18VAC115-40-20. Fees required by the board.  

A. The board has established the following fees applicable 

to the certification of rehabilitation providers:  

Initial certification by examination: 

Processing and initial certification  

$115 

Initial certification by endorsement: 

Processing and initial certification  

$115 

Certification renewal $65 

Duplicate certificate  $10 

Verification of certification $25 

Late renewal $25 

Reinstatement of a lapsed certificate $125 

Replacement of or additional wall 

certificate  

$25 

Returned check $35 

Reinstatement following revocation or 

suspension  

$600 

B. Fees shall be paid to the board. All fees are 

nonrefundable.  

Part II  

Requirements for Certification  

18VAC115-40-22. Criteria for eligibility.  

A. Education and experience requirements for certification 

are as follows:  

1. Any baccalaureate degree from a regionally accredited 

college or university or a current registered nurse license in 

good standing in Virginia; and  

2. Documentation of 2,000 hours of supervised experience 

in performing those services that will be offered to a 

workers' compensation claimant under § 65.2-603 of the 

Code of Virginia. Experience may be acquired through 

supervised training or experience or both. A supervised 

internship in rehabilitation services may count toward part 

of the required 2,000 hours. Any individual who does not 

meet the experience requirement for certification must 

practice under the supervision of an individual who meets 

the requirements of 18VAC115-40-27. Individuals shall 

not practice in an internship or supervisee capacity for 

more than five years.  

B. A passing score on a board-approved examination shall 

be required.  

C. The board may grant certification without examination to 

applicants certified as rehabilitation providers in other states 

or by nationally recognized certifying agencies, boards, 

associations and commissions by standards substantially 

equivalent to those set forth in the board's current regulation.  

D. The applicant shall have no unresolved disciplinary 

action against a health, mental health, or rehabilitation-related 

license, certificate, or registration in Virginia or in another 

jurisdiction. The board will consider history of disciplinary 

action on a case-by-case basis. 

18VAC115-40-25. Application process.  

The applicant shall submit to the board:  

1. A completed application form;  

2. The official transcript or transcripts submitted from the 

appropriate institutions of higher education;  

3. Documentation, on the appropriate forms, of the 

successful completion of the supervised experience 

requirement of 18VAC115-40-26. Documentation of 

supervision obtained outside of Virginia must include 

verification of the supervisor's out-of-state license or 

certificate;  

4. Documentation of passage of the examination required 

by 18VAC115-40-28; 

https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/65.2-603/
https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/65.2-603/
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5. A current report from the U.S. Department of Health and 

Human Services National Practitioner Data Bank (NPDB); 

and  

5. Documentation of 6. Verification that the applicant's 

national or out-of-state license or certificate is in good 

standing where applicable.  

18VAC115-40-26. Supervised experience requirement.  

The following shall apply to the supervised experience 

requirement for certification:  

1. On average, the supervisor and the supervisee shall 

consult for two hours per week in group or personal 

instruction. The total hours of personal instruction shall not 

be less than 100 hours within the 2,000 hours of 

experience. Group instruction shall not exceed six 

members persons in a group.  

2. Half of the personal instruction contained in the total 

supervised experience shall be face-to-face between the 

supervisor and supervisee. A portion of the face-to-face 

instruction shall include direct observation of the 

supervisee-rehabilitation client interaction.  

Part IV  

Renewal and Reinstatement  

18VAC115-40-30. Annual renewal of certificate.  

Every certificate issued by the board shall expire on January 

31 June 30 of each year.  

1. To renew certification, the certified rehabilitation 

provider shall submit a renewal form and fee as prescribed 

in 18VAC115-40-20.  

2. Failure to receive a renewal notice and form shall not 

excuse the certified rehabilitation provider from the 

renewal requirement.  

18VAC115-40-35. Reinstatement.  

A. A person whose certificate has expired may renew it 

within one year after its expiration date by paying the renewal 

fee and the late renewal fee prescribed in 18VAC115-40-20.  

B. A person who fails to renew a certificate for one year or 

more shall apply for reinstatement, pay the reinstatement fee 

and submit evidence regarding the continued ability to 

perform the functions within the scope of practice of the 

certification, such as certificates of completion for continuing 

education, verification of practice in another jurisdiction, or 

maintenance of national certification.  

18VAC115-40-38. Change of name or address.  

A certified rehabilitation provider whose name has changed 

or whose address of record or public address, if different from 

the address of record, has changed shall submit the name 

change or new address in writing to the board within 30 60 

days of such change.  

18VAC115-40-50. Grounds for revocation, suspension, 

probation, reprimand, censure, denial of renewal of 

certificate; petition for rehearing.  

Action by the board to revoke, suspend, decline to issue or 

renew a certificate, to place such a certificate holder on 

probation or to censure, reprimand or fine a certified 

rehabilitation provider may be taken in accord with the 

following:  

1. Procuring, attempting to procure, or maintaining a 

license, certificate, or registration by fraud or 

misrepresentation.  

2. Violation of, or aid to another in violating, any 

regulation or statute applicable to the provision of 

rehabilitation services.  

3. The denial, revocation, suspension or restriction of a 

registration, license, or certificate to practice in another 

state, or a United States possession or territory or the 

surrender of any such registration, license, or certificate 

while an active administrative investigation is pending.  

4. Conviction of any felony, or of a misdemeanor 

involving moral turpitude.  

5. Providing rehabilitation services without reasonable skill 

and safety to clients by virtue of physical, mental, or 

emotional illness or substance abuse misuse;  

6. Conducting one's practice in such a manner as to be a 

danger to the health and welfare of one's clients or to the 

public;  

7. Performance of functions outside of one's board-

certified area of competency;  

8. Intentional or negligent conduct that causes or is likely 

to cause injury to a client;  

9. Performance of an act likely to deceive, defraud, or 

harm the public;  

10. Failure to cooperate with an employee of the 

Department of Health Professions in the conduct of an 

investigation;  

11. Failure to report evidence of child abuse or neglect as 

required by § 63.2-1509 of the Code of Virginia or elder 

abuse or neglect as required by § 63.2-1606 of the Code of 

Virginia; 

12. Knowingly allowing persons under supervision to 

jeopardize client safety or provide care to clients outside of 

such person's scope of practice or area of responsibility; or 

13. Violating any provisions of this chapter, including 

practice standards set forth in 18VAC115-40-40.  
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NOTICE: Forms used in administering the regulation have 

been filed by the agency. The forms are not being published; 

however, online users of this issue of the Virginia Register of 

Regulations may click on the name of a form with a hyperlink 

to access it. The forms are also available from the agency 

contact or may be viewed at the Office of the Registrar of 

Regulations, 900 East Main Street, 11th Floor, Richmond, 

Virginia 23219.  

FORMS (18VAC115-40)  

Application for Certification as a Rehabilitation Provider, 

Form 1 (rev. 8/07).  

Application for Certification as a Rehabilitation Provider 

(rev. 5//2018) 

General Information for Certification as a Rehabilitation 

Provider (rev. 7/2011) 

Verification of Experience for Rehabilitation Provider 

Certification, Form 2 (rev. 8/07).  

Rehabilitation Provider Verification of 

Licensure/Certification (rev. 8/07).  

Licensure/Certification Verification of Out-of-State 

Supervisor, Form 4 (rev. 8/07 4/18).  

Rehabilitation Provider Application for Reinstatement of a 

Lapsed Certificate (rev. 8/07 5/18).  

Verification of Experience for Rehabilitation Provider 

Certification (rev. 5/2018) 

Out-of-State License or Certification Verification (4/2018) 

Licensure/Certification Verification of Out-of-State 

Supervisor (4/2018) 

Rehabilitation Provider Application for Reinstatement of a 

Lapsed Certificate (5/2018) 

VA.R. Doc. No. R20-6208; Filed August 12, 2020, 1:54 p.m.  

Fast-Track Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC115-80. Regulations Governing 

the Registration of Qualified Mental Health Professionals 

(amending 18VAC115-80-10, 18VAC115-80-40, 

18VAC115-80-50, 18VAC115-80-70, 18VAC115-80-110; 

adding 18VAC115-80-35).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 54.1-2400, 54.1-3500, and 54.1-3505 

of the Code of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: No public hearings are 

scheduled.  

Public Comment Deadline: October 14, 2020. 

Effective Date: October 29, 2020.  

Agency Contact: Jaime Hoyle, Executive Director, Board of 

Counseling, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, Richmond, VA 

23233, telephone (804) 367-4406, FAX (804) 527-4435, or 

email jaime.hoyle@dhp.virginia.gov. 

Basis: Regulations of the Board of Counseling are 

promulgated under the general authority of § 54.1-2400 of the 

Code of Virginia, which establishes the general powers and 

duties of health regulatory boards, including the responsibility 

to promulgate regulations in accordance with the 

Administrative Process Act that are reasonable and necessary. 

Purpose: The purpose of the registration is to address the lack 

of oversight for persons who are providing mental health 

services as trainees. By requiring a person who works as a 

qualified mental health professional-trainee to be registered 

by the Board of Counseling, there is accountability for that 

person's services and for the person who provides supervision 

for a trainee; this requirement also provides greater protection 

for the public health and safety and a reduction in the 

incidents of abuse and fraud in Medicaid-funded programs. 

Rationale for Using Fast-Track Rulemaking Process: Current 

regulations allow for registration as a trainee but do not 

specify the requirements for registration. However, the board 

has required anyone who sought to register as a trainee to 

have the education or licensure requirements for registration 

as a qualified mental health professional (QMHP) (less the 

hours of training). Therefore, the proposed regulations do not 

differ from current practice and should not be controversial. 

Substance: The board has adopted regulations to implement 

registration of persons who are in training to become a 

qualified mental health professional-adult (QMHP-A) or 

qualified mental health professional-child (QMHP-C). 

Amendments for registration as a trainee specify the same 

education or licensure requirement required to register as a 

QMHP-A or a QMHP-C. 

Issues: The primary advantage for the public of the 

amendment is more assurance of competency and 

accountability for persons providing mental health services. 

There are no disadvantages for the public. There are no 

advantages or disadvantages to the Commonwealth. 

Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 

Analysis: 

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. The 

Board of Counseling (Board) proposes to amend 18VAC115-

80 Regulations Governing the Registration of Qualified 

Mental Health Professionals in order to formalize the 

registration requirements for trainees receiving supervised 

work experience. Although the Board previously required 

trainees to be registered, the requirements for registration 

were not explicitly listed in the regulation. The Board also 

seeks to amend the definitions of the relevant professional 

categories and add language addressing unresolved 

disciplinary actions. 

http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=fa504006208~1p.pdf&typ=40&actno=006208&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=fa504006208~1p.pdf&typ=40&actno=006208&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=e9c90002945~17&typ=40&actno=002945&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=e9c90002945~17&typ=40&actno=002945&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=8cb9c006208~2p.pdf&typ=40&actno=006208&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=8cb9c006208~2p.pdf&typ=40&actno=006208&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=95510006208~3n.pdf&typ=40&actno=006208&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=11c3f006208~4n.pdf&typ=40&actno=006208&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=11c3f006208~4n.pdf&typ=40&actno=006208&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=10eb7006208~5n.pdf&typ=40&actno=006208&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=10eb7006208~5n.pdf&typ=40&actno=006208&mime=application/pdf
mailto:jaime.hoyle@dhp.virginia.gov
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Background. Chapters 101 and 217 of the 2019 Acts of 

Assembly added a definition for "Qualified mental health 

professional-trainee" and directed the Board to promulgate 

regulations for the registration of trainees undertaking 

supervised work experience.1 The regulation currently does 

not contain a definition or requirements for the registration of 

trainees. However, both sections 18VAC115-80-40 

Requirements for registration as a qualified mental health 

professional-adult and 18VAC115-80-50 Requirements for 

registration as a qualified mental health professional-child 

state that individuals receiving supervised training in order to 

qualify for professional registration may register with the 

Board. The Board proposes to add the definition of trainee as 

adopted by the 2019 Acts of Assembly and replace the 

current language that offers registration as an option with 

language that requires registration. 

The Board states that trainees who applied for registration 

have been required to meet all the requirements for 

professional registration listed under either category – adult 

or child –except for the work experience portion. Thus, the 

proposed amendments include the creation of a new section 

18VAC115-80-35 Requirements for registration as a qualified 

mental health professional-trainee, which includes all the 

educational requirements listed in sections 18VAC115-80-40 

and -50, but leaves out all mention of hours of experience.  

In practice, qualified mental health professionals, including 

trainees, primarily work with populations served by the 

Department of Behavioral Health and Developmental 

Services or the Department of Corrections. As such, these 

populations are covered by Medicaid and the services 

provided to them are reimbursed by the Department of 

Medical Administrative Services (DMAS). The registration 

requirement for trainees is intended to increase oversight of 

trainees and accountability for their services, decrease 

incidents of abuse and fraud in Medicaid-funded programs, 

and provide a listing of qualified persons for the purpose of 

reimbursement by DMAS.  

In addition to these amendments, the Board also proposes two 

changes to the requirements for professional registration 

under the adult and child categories. First, the Board seeks to 

specify that applicants shall have no unresolved disciplinary 

action and that the Board will consider a history of 

disciplinary action on a case-by-case basis. Second, the Board 

seeks to clarify that supervised experience obtained prior to 

meeting the educational requirements shall not be accepted.  

Estimated Benefits and Costs. Since the proposed 

amendments do not increase the educational or other 

requirements already in place for trainees who apply for 

registration, the Board states that the proposed changes do not 

differ from current practice, and would not affect the 2,193 

trainees currently registered. Any unregistered trainees who 

have been working under supervision would now have to pay 

the $25 registration fee and demonstrate that they meet the 

educational requirements; these costs are unlikely to be 

substantive in nature. Further, the Board reported that all 

qualified mental health professionals (including trainees) 

working with Medicaid patients would have been required to 

register in order to receive reimbursement from DMAS. To 

the extent that the registration requirement increases oversight 

and accountability for trainees and reduces instances of abuse 

and fraud in the Medicaid program, the proposed amendments 

would benefit qualified mental health professionals as well as 

the populations they serve. Amendments relating to 

unresolved disciplinary actions are unlikely to have any 

significant impact. 

Businesses and Other Entities Affected. The proposed 

amendments pertain to applicants for professional registration 

qualified mental health professional-adult, qualified mental 

health professional-child, and qualified mental health 

professional-trainee. These individuals primarily work with 

populations served by the Department of Behavioral Health 

and Developmental Services or the Department of 

Corrections.  

Small Businesses2 Affected. The proposed amendments do 

not directly affect any small businesses, nor would they face 

any new costs as a result of the proposed amendments. 

Localities3 Affected.4 The proposed amendments are not 

expected to disproportionately affect particular localities or 

introduce new costs for local governments.  

Projected Impact on Employment. The proposed amendments 

are unlikely to affect total employment in the industry.  

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. The 

proposed amendments are unlikely to affect the use or value 

of private property. Real estate development costs are 

unlikely to be affected. 

_____________________________ 

1See https://lis.virginia.gov/cgi-bin/legp604.exe?191+ful+CHAP0101 

2Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.04 of the Code of Virginia, small business is defined 

as "a business entity, including its affiliates, that (i) is independently owned 

and operated and (ii) employs fewer than 500 full-time employees or has 

gross annual sales of less than $6 million." 

3"Locality" can refer to either local governments or the locations in the 

Commonwealth where the activities relevant to the regulatory change are 

most likely to occur. 

4§ 2.2-4007.04 defines “particularly affected" as bearing disproportionate 

material impact. 

Agency's Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The Board 

of Counseling concurs with the analysis of the Department of 

Planning and Budget. 

Summary: 

The amendments implement registration for individuals 

who are training to become a qualified mental health 

professional-adult (QMHP-A) or a qualified mental health 

professional-child (QMHP-C), define and list the 

https://lis.virginia.gov/cgi-bin/legp604.exe?191+ful+CHAP0101
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registration requirements for each category, and establish 

board consideration of disciplinary actions. 

Part I 

General Provisions 

18VAC115-80-10. Definitions. 

"Accredited" means a school that is listed as accredited on 

the U.S. Department of Education College Accreditation 

database found on the U.S. Department of Education website. 

If education was obtained outside the United States, the board 

may accept a report from a credentialing service that deems 

the degree and coursework is equivalent to a course of study 

at an accredited school.  

"Applicant" means a person applying for registration as a 

qualified mental health professional. 

"Board" means the Virginia Board of Counseling. 

"Collaborative mental health services" means those 

rehabilitative supportive services that are provided by a 

qualified mental health professional, as set forth in a service 

plan under the direction of and in collaboration with either a 

mental health professional licensed in Virginia or a person 

under supervision that has been approved by the Board of 

Counseling, Board of Psychology, or Board of Social Work 

as a prerequisite for licensure. 

"DBHDS" means the Virginia Department of Behavioral 

Health and Developmental Services. 

"Face-to-face" means the physical presence of the 

individuals involved in the supervisory relationship or the use 

of technology that provides real-time, visual, and audio 

contact among the individuals involved.  

"Mental health professional" means a person who by 

education and experience is professionally qualified and 

licensed in Virginia to provide counseling interventions 

designed to facilitate an individual's achievement of human 

development goals and remediate mental, emotional, or 

behavioral disorders and associated distresses that interfere 

with mental health and development. 

"Qualified mental health professional" or "QMHP" means a 

person who by education and experience is professionally 

qualified and registered by the board to provide collaborative 

mental health services for adults or children. A QMHP shall 

not engage in independent or autonomous practice. A QMHP 

shall provide such services as an employee or independent 

contractor of DBHDS, the Department of Corrections, or a 

provider licensed by DBHDS includes qualified mental health 

professionals-adult and qualified mental health professionals-

child. 

"Qualified mental health professional-adult" or "QMHP-A" 

means a registered QMHP who is trained and experienced in 

providing mental health services to adults who have a mental 

illness. A QMHP-A shall provide such services as an 

employee or independent contractor of DBHDS, the 

Department of Corrections, or a provider licensed by DBHDS 

a qualified mental health professional who provides 

collaborative mental health services for adults. A qualified 

mental health professional-adult shall provide such services 

as an employee or independent contractor of the Department 

of Behavioral Health and Developmental Services or the 

Department of Corrections, or as a provider licensed by the 

Department of Behavioral Health and Developmental 

Services. 

"Qualified mental health professional-child" or "QMHP-C" 

means a registered QMHP who is trained and experienced in 

providing mental health services to children or adolescents up to 

the age of 22 who have a mental illness. A QMHP-C shall 

provide such services as an employee or independent contractor 

of DBHDS, the Department of Corrections, or a provider 

licensed by DBHDS a person who by education and experience 

is professionally qualified and registered by the board to provide 

collaborative mental health services for children and adolescents 

up to 22 years of age. A qualified mental health professional-

child shall provide such services as an employee or independent 

contractor of the Department of Behavioral Health and 

Developmental Services or the Department of Corrections, or as 

a provider licensed by the Department of Behavioral Health and 

Developmental Services. 

"Qualified mental health professional-trainee" means a 

person who is receiving supervised training to qualify as a 

qualified mental health professional and is registered with the 

board. 

"Registrant" means a QMHP registered with the board. 

18VAC115-80-35. Requirements for registration as a 

qualified mental health professional-trainee. 

A. Prior to receiving supervised experience toward 

registration as a QMHP-A, an applicant for registration as a 

QMHP-trainee shall provide a completed application, the fee 

prescribed in 18VAC115-80-20, and verification of one of the 

following: 

1. A master's degree in psychology, social work, 

counseling, substance abuse, or marriage and family 

therapy verified by an official transcript from an accredited 

college or university; 

2. A master's or bachelor's degree in human services or a 

related field verified by an official transcript from an 

accredited college; 

3. Current enrollment in a master's program in psychology, 

social work, counseling, substance abuse, marriage and 

family therapy, or human services with at least 30 semester 

or 45 quarter hours as verified by an official transcript; 

4. A bachelor's degree verified by an official transcript 

from an accredited college in an unrelated field that 

includes at least 15 semester credits or 22 quarter hours in 

a human services field; 



Regulations 

Volume 37, Issue 2 Virginia Register of Regulations September 14, 2020 

432 

5. Licensure as a registered nurse in Virginia; or 

6. Licensure as an occupational therapist. 

B. Prior to receiving supervised experience toward 

registration as a QMHP-C, an applicant for registration as a 

QMHP-trainee shall provide a completed application, the fee 

prescribed in 18VAC115-80-20, and verification of one of the 

following: 

1. A master's degree in psychology, social work, 

counseling, substance abuse, or marriage and family 

therapy verified by an official transcript from an accredited 

college or university; 

2. A master's or bachelor's degree in a human services field 

or in special education verified by an official transcript 

from an accredited college;  

3. Current enrollment in a master's program in psychology, 

social work, counseling, substance abuse, marriage and 

family therapy, human services, or special education with 

at least 30 semester or 45 quarter hours as verified by an 

official transcript; 

3. Licensure as a registered nurse in Virginia; or 

4. Licensure as an occupational therapist. 

C. An applicant for registration as a QMHP-trainee shall 

have no unresolved disciplinary action against a mental health 

or health professional license, certification, or registration 

held in any jurisdiction. The board will consider a history of 

disciplinary action on a case-by-case basis as grounds for 

denial under 18VAC115-80-100. 

D. Registration as a QMHP-trainee shall expire five years 

from date of issuance. 

Part II 

Requirements for Registration 

18VAC115-80-40. Requirements for registration as a 

qualified mental health professional-adult. 

A. An applicant for registration shall submit: 

1. A completed application on forms provided by the board 

and any applicable fee as prescribed in 18VAC115-80-20; 

2. A current report from the National Practitioner Data 

Bank (NPDB); and 

3. Verification of any other mental health or health 

professional license, certification, or registration ever held in 

another jurisdiction. An applicant for registration as a QMHP-

A shall have no unresolved disciplinary action. The board will 

consider a history of disciplinary action on a case-by-case 

basis as grounds for denial under 18VAC115-80-100. 

B. An applicant for registration as a QMHP-A shall provide 

evidence of:  

1. A master's degree in psychology, social work, 

counseling, substance abuse, or marriage and family 

therapy, as verified by an official transcript, from an 

accredited college or university with an internship or 

practicum of at least 500 hours of experience with persons 

who have mental illness; 

2. A master's or bachelor's degree in human services or a 

related field, as verified by an official transcript, from an 

accredited college with no less than 1,500 hours of 

supervised experience to be obtained within a five-year 

period immediately preceding application for registration 

and as specified in subsection C of this section; 

3. A bachelor's degree, as verified by an official transcript, 

from an accredited college in an unrelated field that 

includes at least 15 semester credits or 22 quarter hours in 

a human services field and with no less than 3,000 hours of 

supervised experience to be obtained within a five-year 

period immediately preceding application for registration 

and as specified in subsection C of this section; 

4. A registered nurse licensed in Virginia with no less than 

1,500 hours of supervised experience to be obtained within 

a five-year period immediately preceding application for 

registration and as specified in subsection C of this section; 

or 

5. A licensed occupational therapist with an internship or 

practicum of at least 500 hours with persons with mental 

illness or no less than 1,500 hours of supervised experience 

to be obtained within a five-year period immediately 

preceding application for registration and as specified in 

subsection C of this section. 

C. Experience required for registration.  

1. To be registered as a QMHP-A, an applicant who does 

not have a master's degree as set forth in subdivision B 1 of 

this section shall provide documentation of experience in 

providing direct services to individuals as part of a 

population of adults with mental illness in a setting where 

mental health treatment, practice, observation, or diagnosis 

occurs. The services provided shall be appropriate to the 

practice of a QMHP-A and under the supervision of a 

licensed mental health professional or a person under 

supervision that has been approved by the Board of 

Counseling, Board of Psychology, or Board of Social 

Work as a prerequisite for licensure. Supervision obtained 

in another United States jurisdiction shall be provided by a 

mental health professional licensed in Virginia or licensed 

in that jurisdiction. 

2. Supervision shall consist of face-to-face training in the 

services of a QMHP-A until the supervisor determines 

competency in the provision of such services, after which 

supervision may be indirect in which the supervisor is 

either onsite or immediately available for consultation with 

the person being trained.  
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3. Hours obtained in a bachelor's or master's level 

internship or practicum in a human services field may be 

counted toward completion of the required hours of 

experience. 

4. A person receiving supervised training to qualify as a 

QMHP-A may register with the board. A trainee 

registration shall expire five years from its date of 

issuance. Supervised experience obtained prior to meeting 

the education requirements of subsection B of this section 

shall not be accepted. 

18VAC115-80-50. Requirements for registration as a 

qualified mental health professional-child. 

A. An applicant for registration shall submit: 

1. A completed application on forms provided by the board 

and any applicable fee as prescribed in 18VAC115-80-20;  

2. A current report from the National Practitioner Data 

Bank (NPDB); and 

3. Verification of any other mental health or health 

professional license, certification, or registration ever held 

in another jurisdiction. An applicant for registration as a 

QMHP-C shall have no unresolved disciplinary action. The 

board will consider a history of disciplinary action on a 

case-by-case basis as grounds for denial under 18VAC115-

80-100. 

B. An applicant for registration as a QMHP-C shall provide 

evidence of:  

1. A master's degree in psychology, social work, 

counseling, substance abuse, or marriage and family 

therapy, as verified by an official transcript, from an 

accredited college or university with an internship or 

practicum of at least 500 hours of experience with persons 

who have mental illness; 

2. A master's or bachelor's degree in a human services field 

or in special education, as verified by an official transcript, 

from an accredited college with no less than 1,500 hours of 

supervised experience to be obtained within a five-year 

period immediately preceding application for registration 

and as specified in subsection C of this section;  

3. A registered nurse licensed in Virginia with no less than 

1,500 hours of supervised experience to be obtained within 

a five-year period immediately preceding application for 

registration and as specified in subsection C of this section; 

or 

4. A licensed occupational therapist with an internship or 

practicum of at least 500 hours with persons with mental 

illness or no less than 1,500 hours of supervised experience 

to be obtained within a five-year period immediately 

preceding application for registration and as specified in 

subsection C of this section. 

C. Experience required for registration. 

1. To be registered as a QMHP-C, an applicant who does 

not have a master's degree as set forth in subdivision B 1 of 

this section shall provide documentation of 1,500 hours of 

experience in providing direct services to individuals as 

part of a population of children or adolescents with mental 

illness in a setting where mental health treatment, practice, 

observation, or diagnosis occurs. The services provided 

shall be appropriate to the practice of a QMHP-C and 

under the supervision of a licensed mental health 

professional or a person under supervision that has been 

approved by the Board of Counseling, Board of 

Psychology, or Board of Social Work as a prerequisite for 

licensure. Supervision obtained in another United States 

jurisdiction shall be provided by a mental health 

professional licensed in Virginia or licensed in that 

jurisdiction. 

2. Supervision shall consist of face-to-face training in the 

services of a QMHP-C until the supervisor determines 

competency in the provision of such services, after which 

supervision may be indirect in which the supervisor is 

either onsite or immediately available for consultation with 

the person being trained.  

3. Hours obtained in a bachelor's or master's level 

internship or practicum in a human services field may be 

counted toward completion of the required hours of 

experience. 

4. A person receiving supervised training to qualify as a 

QMHP-C may register with the board. A trainee 

registration shall expire five years from its date of 

issuance. Supervised experience obtained prior to meeting 

the education requirements of subsection B of this section 

shall not be accepted. 

Part III 

Renewal of Registration 

18VAC115-80-70. Annual renewal of registration. 

All registrants as a QMHP-A or a QMHP-C shall renew 

their registrations on or before June 30 of each year. Along 

with the renewal form, the registrant shall submit the renewal 

fee as prescribed in 18VAC115-80-20. 

18VAC115-80-110. Late renewal and reinstatement. 

A. A person whose registration as a QMHP-A or a QMHP-C 

has expired may renew it within one year after its expiration 

date by paying the late renewal fee and the registration fee as 

prescribed in 18VAC115-80-20 for the year in which the 

registration was not renewed and by providing documentation 

of completion of continuing education as prescribed in 

18VAC115-80-80.  

B. A person who fails to renew registration as a QMHP-A or 

a QMHP-C after one year or more shall: 
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1. Apply for reinstatement;  

2. Pay the reinstatement fee for a lapsed registration; and 

3. Submit evidence of completion of 20 hours of 

continuing education consistent with requirements of 

18VAC115-80-80. 

C. A person whose registration has been suspended or who 

has been denied reinstatement by board order, having met the 

terms of the order, may submit a new application and fee for 

reinstatement of registration as prescribed in 18VAC115-80-

20. Any person whose registration has been revoked by the 

board may, three years subsequent to such board action, 

submit a new application and fee for reinstatement of 

registration as prescribed in 18VAC115-80-20. The board in 

its discretion may, after an administrative proceeding, grant 

the reinstatement sought in this subsection. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R21-6194; Filed August 16, 2020, 9:39 a.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 22. SOCIAL SERVICES 

DEPARTMENT FOR AGING AND REHABILITATIVE 
SERVICES 

Proposed Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 22VAC30-110. Assessment in Assisted 

Living Facilities (amending 22VAC30-110-10 through 

22VAC30-110-50, 22VAC30-110-80 through 22VAC30-

110-110).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 51.5-131 and 51.5-146 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: No public hearings are 

scheduled.  

Public Comment Deadline: November 13, 2020. 

Agency Contact: Paige McCleary, Adult Services and Adult 

Protective Service Consultant, Department for Aging and 

Rehabilitative Services, 8004 Franklin Farms Drive, 

Richmond, VA 23229, telephone (804) 662-7605, or email 

paige.mccleary@dars.virginia.gov. 

Basis: Section 63.2-1804 of the Code of Virginia gives the 

Department for Aging and Rehabilitative Services (DARS) 

the responsibility promulgating regulations related to the 

assessment of individuals for assisted living facility (ALF) 

placement. Additionally, § 51.5-131 of the Code of Virginia 

authorizes the Commissioner of DARS to promulgate 

regulations necessary to carry out the provisions of the laws 

of the Commonwealth administered by the department. 

Purpose: This regulatory action ensures that the regulation 

content is precisely written. Clarity in regulation content is 

essential to ensuring that an adult's health and safety needs 

are most appropriately met. 

Substance: The proposed amendments, which are a result of a 

periodic review of the regulation, update and add new 

definitions in 22VAC30-110-10. More substantive changes 

are proposed for 22VAC30-110-30 and 22VAC30-110-90 to 

clarify assessment and reassessment procedures. The 

remainder of the proposed amendments are mainly technical 

or grammatical in nature. 

Issues: The primary advantage of the proposed amendments 

for the public is to clarify language that was unclear, 

inconsistent, or outdated. Amendments to the regulation 

clarify, but do not increase, assessors' responsibilities. 

The primary advantage of the regulatory action for the agency 

is to ensure that assessment standards are evenly applied to 

individuals in need of ALF admission. Consistent standards 

ensure that adults safety needs are addressed. 

There are no disadvantages. 

Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 

Analysis: 

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. The 

Commissioner of the Department for Aging and 

Rehabilitative Services (DARS) proposes to: 1) permit the 

use of video conferencing for assessments when there are 

hazardous travel conditions or the individual to be assessed is 

in another state, 2) specify that qualified assessors who are 

employees of local departments of social services shall enter 

assisted living facility (ALF) assessments in the case 

management system designated by DARS, 3) specify that the 

earliest date that an annual reassessment may be completed is 

60 calendar days prior to the annual reassessment due date, 4) 

require that qualified assessors and case managers make 

housing options clear, 5) no longer require that qualified 

assessors and case managers advise public pay individuals of 

the outcome of the assessment or the annual reassessment 

orally as well as in writing, and 6) amend other language for 

improved clarity. 

Result of Analysis. The benefits likely exceed the costs for all 

proposed changes. 

Estimated Economic Impact. 

Background. The regulation Assessment in Assisted Living 

Facilities establishes standards regarding initial assessments 

and annual reassessments of both public pay and private pay 

individuals who reside in or may wish to reside in ALFs in 

Virginia. Assessment is defined as "a standardized approach 

using common definitions to gather sufficient information 

about an individual applying to or residing in an assisted 

living facility to determine the need for appropriate level of 

care and services." The regulation also addresses post-

assessment actions, requirements of the ALF staff when they 

mailto:paige.mccleary@dars.virginia.gov
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discharge individuals, and relocation procedures when an 

ALF closes. 

Video conferencing as face-to-face: The regulation requires 

that all individuals applying to or residing in an ALF be 

assessed face-to-face. The current regulation does not define 

face-to-face; but common usage would indicate that this 

means in person. The Commissioner proposes to define face-

to-face as follows: 

"Face-to-face" means interacting with an individual in 

need of an assessment in a manner that enables the 

qualified assessor or case manager to observe the 

individual's behavior and ability to perform ADLs 

[activities of daily living] and IADLs [instrumental 

activities of daily living]. When the qualified assessor or 

case manager and individual are unable to be in the same 

physical space to conduct an assessment due to the 

individual's location in another state or due to hazardous 

travel conditions for the qualified assessor or case 

manager, the use of video conferencing to conduct the 

assessment shall be permitted. The appropriate qualified 

assessor or case manager shall review the assessment 

with the adult within seven working days of admission to 

the ALF to ensure all assessment information is accurate. 

It would be beneficial to not require qualified assessors and 

case managers to travel in hazardous conditions. Similarly, it 

would be beneficial to not require qualified assessors and case 

managers to incur the time, travel, and lodging expenses 

associated with meeting in the same physical space when the 

individual is out of state. To the extent that qualified 

assessors and case managers can make as accurate or close to 

as accurate assessments as when they are in the same physical 

space with the individual, the proposal to permit the use of 

video conferencing in the described circumstances should 

produce a net benefit. 

Electronic case management system: DARS has an electronic 

case management system. Current DARS policy requires that 

qualified assessors at local departments of social services 

enter ALF assessments into the system. The Commissioner 

proposes to specify this requirement in the regulation. 

According to DARS staff, not all qualified assessors at local 

departments of social services have been entering ALF 

assessments into the system in practice. DARS hopes that 

including the requirement in regulation will lead to greater 

compliance. 

Having the assessment entered into the system allows for 

much faster access to the information for staff who are 

contacted about specific cases. It may take days or weeks for 

information to be sent from paper copies without the 

information entered into the system. The significant delays 

are problematic not just for state government staff, but for 

families who have contacted staff concerning their affected 

relatives. No additional information is required for the system 

beyond that which is already required for the assessments.  

The assessors can type the results of their assessments 

directly into the system via laptop. For those inclined to use 

their laptops, the requirement produces no cost. For those 

assessors who prefer to hand write their assessments, typing 

that information into the system would require some 

additional time. Given the value of having the information in 

the case management system, the benefits of the proposal 

likely outweigh the costs. 

Annual reassessment timing: The regulation requires that 

there be an annual reassessment of individuals who reside in 

ALFs. The current regulation does not specify when during 

the year the annual assessment must be conducted. According 

to DARS, in practice this has been interpreted as within a few 

days of the anniversary of the initial assessment. The 

Commissioner proposes to specify in the regulation that "The 

earliest date that an annual reassessment may be completed is 

60 calendar days prior to the annual reassessment due date." 

According to DARS staff, the intent of this proposal is to 

clarify that the reassessments may be done up to 60 days prior 

to their due date, not just within a few days of the due date. 

Consequently, this allows for greater flexibility. 

Clarity of housing options: Section 51-5-160.E of the Code of 

Virginia states that "At the time of the first or any subsequent 

annual reassessment, the individual may select supportive 

housing or an assisted living facility, subject to the evaluation 

and reassessment of the individual and availability of the 

selected housing option." The Board proposes to specify that 

after the annual reassessment has been completed, if the 

individual still meets either residential or assisted living level 

of care, the qualified assessor or case manager shall offer the 

individual the choice, based on availability, of housing 

options. This proposal does not change what housing options 

affected individuals may choose but does increase the 

likelihood that they are aware of the options. Thus it is 

beneficial. The cost would only be the minimal amount of 

time it takes for the qualified assessor or case manager to 

explain the options. 

Communicating assessment outcome: The current regulation 

states that "Assessors shall advise orally and in writing all 

public pay individuals of the outcome of the assessment or 

the annual reassessment, including a statement indicating that 

the local department of social services will notify the 

individual whether he is eligible to receive the auxiliary 

grant." The Commissioner proposes to only require that this 

information be communicated in writing. According to DARS 

staff there have been problems with misinterpretations of 

vocal communications. Additionally, verbal communications 

made during or immediately after assessments are at times 

overruled by supervisors later. The intent of this proposed 

change is to reduce the frequency of misunderstandings and 

the dissemination of conflicting information. 

Businesses and Entities Affected. The proposed amendments 

affect the 5631 licensed ALFs in the Commonwealth, local 
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departments of social services, DARS, individuals who reside 

in or may wish to reside in ALFs and their families. All or 

most of the ALFs likely qualify as small businesses. 

Localities Particularly Affected. The proposed amendments 

do not disproportionately affect particular localities.  

Projected Impact on Employment. The proposed amendments 

are unlikely to significantly affect total employment. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. The 

proposed amendments are unlikely to significantly affect the 

use and value of private property. 

Real Estate Development Costs. The proposed amendments 

do not affect real estate development costs. 

Small Businesses:  

Definition. Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.04 of the Code of Virginia, 

small business is defined as "a business entity, including its 

affiliates, that (i) is independently owned and operated and 

(ii) employs fewer than 500 full-time employees or has gross 

annual sales of less than $6 million." 

Costs and Other Effects. The proposed amendments are 

unlikely to significantly affect costs for small businesses. 

Alternative Method that Minimizes Adverse Impact. The 

proposed amendments do not adversely affect small 

businesses. 

Adverse Impacts: 

Businesses. The proposed amendments do not adversely 

affect businesses. 

Localities. The proposed amendments do not adversely affect 

localities. 

Other Entities. The proposed amendments do not adversely 

affect other entities. 

_________________________________ 

1Source: Department for Aging and Rehabilitative Services 

Agency's Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The 

Department for Aging and Rehabilitative Services concurs 

with the economic impact analysis performed by the 

Department of Planning and Budget. 

Summary: 

The proposed amendments (i) permit the use of video 

conferencing for assessments when there are hazardous 

travel conditions or the individual to be assessed is in 

another state, (ii) specify that qualified assessors who are 

employees of local departments of social services shall 

enter assisted living facility assessments in the case 

management system designated by the department, (iii) 

specify that the earliest date that an annual reassessment 

may be completed is 60 calendar days prior to the annual 

reassessment due date, (iv) require that qualified assessors 

and case managers make housing options clear, (v) no 

longer require that qualified assessors and case managers 

advise public pay individuals of the outcome of the 

assessment or the annual reassessment orally and in 

writing, and (vi) amend other language for improved 

clarity. 

Part I  

Definitions  

22VAC30-110-10. Definitions.  

The following words and terms when used in this chapter 

shall have the following meanings unless the context clearly 

indicates otherwise:  

"Activities of daily living" or "ADLs" means bathing, 

dressing, toileting, transferring, bowel control, bladder 

control, and eating/feeding. An individual's degree of 

independence in performing these activities is a part of 

determining appropriate level of care and services.  

"Administrator" means the licensee or person designated by 

the licensee who (i) is responsible for the general 

administration and management of an assisted living facility 

and who oversees the day-to-day operation of the facility, 

including compliance with all regulations for assisted living 

facilities and (ii) meets the requirements of 22VAC40-72.  

"Assessment" means a standardized approach using 

common definitions to gather sufficient information about an 

individual applying to or residing in an assisted living facility 

to determine the need for appropriate level of care and 

services.  

"Assisted living care" means a level of service provided by 

an assisted living facility to individuals who may have 

physical or mental impairments and require at least moderate 

assistance with the activities of daily living. Moderate 

assistance means dependency in two or more of the activities 

of daily living. Included in this level of service are 

individuals who are dependent in behavior pattern (i.e., 

abusive, aggressive, disruptive) as documented on the 

uniform assessment instrument.  

"Assisted living facility" or "ALF" means any public or 

private ALF that is required to be licensed as an ALF by the 

Department of Social Services under Chapter 17 (§ 63.2-1700 

et seq.) of Title 63.2 of the Code of Virginia, specifically, any 

congregate residential setting that provides or coordinates 

personal and health care services, 24-hour supervision, and 

assistance (scheduled and unscheduled) for the maintenance 

or care of four or more adults who are aged, infirm, or 

disabled and who are cared for in a primarily residential 

setting, except (i) a facility or portion of a facility licensed by 

the State Board of Health or the Department of Behavioral 

Health and Developmental Services, but including any 

portion of such facility not so licensed; (ii) the home or 

residence of an individual who cares for or maintains only 



Regulations 

Volume 37, Issue 2 Virginia Register of Regulations September 14, 2020 

437 

persons related to him by blood or marriage; (iii) a facility or 

portion of a facility serving infirm or disabled persons 

between the ages of 18 and 21 years, or 22 years if enrolled in 

an educational program for the handicapped pursuant to 

§ 22.1-214 of the Code of Virginia, when such facility is 

licensed by the Department of Social Services as a children's 

residential facility under Chapter 17 (§ 63.2-1700 et seq.) of 

Title 63.2 of the Code of Virginia, but including any portion 

of the facility not so licensed; and (iv) any housing project for 

persons 62 years of age or older or the disabled that provides 

no more than basic coordination of care services and is 

funded by the U.S. Department of Housing and Urban 

Development, by the U.S. Department of Agriculture, or by 

the Virginia Housing Development Authority. Included in 

this definition are any two or more places, establishments or 

institutions owned or operated by a single entity and 

providing maintenance or care to a combined total of four or 

more aged, infirm, or disabled adults. Maintenance or care 

means the protection, general supervision, and oversight of 

the physical and mental well-being of an aged, infirm, or 

disabled individual. Assuming responsibility for the well-

being of individuals, either directly or through contracted 

agents, is considered general supervision and oversight. 

"Auxiliary Grants Program" means a state and locally 

funded assistance program to supplement the income of an 

individual who is receiving Supplemental Security Income 

(SSI) or an individual who would be eligible for SSI except 

for excess income, and who resides in an ALF with an 

approved rate, an adult foster care home, or supportive 

housing setting with an established rate in the annual 

appropriations act. The total number of individuals within the 

Commonwealth of Virginia eligible to receive auxiliary 

grants in a supportive housing setting shall not exceed the 

number individuals designated in the annual appropriations 

act and the signed agreement between the department and the 

Social Security Administration. 

"Case management" means multiple functions designed to 

link individuals to appropriate services. Case management 

may include a variety of common components such as initial 

screening of need, comprehensive assessment of needs, 

development and implementation of a plan of care, service 

monitoring, and follow-up.  

"Case management agency" means a public human service 

agency which employs a case manager or contracts for case 

management.  

"Case manager" means an employee of a public human 

services agency who is qualified to perform assessments and 

to develop and coordinate plans of care.  

"Department" or "DARS" means the Virginia Department 

for Aging and Rehabilitative Services.  

"Department designated case management system" means 

the official state automated computer system that collects and 

maintains information on assessments conducted by 

employees of the local department who meet the definition of 

qualified assessor.  

"Dependent" means, for ADLs and instrumental activities of 

daily living (IADLs), the individual needs the assistance of 

another person or needs the assistance of another person and 

equipment or a device to safely complete the activity an ADL 

or IADL. For medication administration, dependent means 

the individual needs to have medications administered or 

monitored by another person or professional staff. For 

behavior pattern, dependent means the individual's behavior 

is aggressive, abusive, or disruptive.  

"Discharge" means the process that ends an individual's stay 

in the ALF.  

"Emergency placement" means the temporary status of an 

individual in an ALF when the individual's health and safety 

would be jeopardized by not permitting denying entry into the 

facility until requirements for admission have been met. 

"Face-to-face" means interacting with an individual in need 

of an assessment in a manner that enables the qualified 

assessor or case manager to observe the individual's behavior 

and ability to perform ADLs and IADLs.  

"Facility" means an ALF.  

"Independent physician" means a physician who is chosen 

by an individual residing in the ALF and who has no financial 

interest in the ALF, directly or indirectly, as an owner, 

officer, or employee or as an independent contractor with the 

facility.  

"Instrumental activities of daily living" or "IADLs" means 

for the purposes of this chapter, meal preparation, 

housekeeping, laundry, and money management. An 

individual's degree of independence in performing these 

activities is a part of determining appropriate level of care and 

services.  

"Local department" means any local department of social 

services in the Commonwealth of Virginia. 

"Maximum physical assistance" means that an individual 

has a rating of total dependence in four or more of the seven 

activities of daily living as documented on the uniform 

assessment instrument.  

"Medication administration" means for purposes of this 

chapter, assessing the degree of assistance an individual 

requires to take medications in order to determine the 

individual's appropriate level of care.  

"Minimal assistance" means dependency in only one ADL 

or dependency in one or more IADLs as documented on the 

uniform assessment instrument. Included in this level of 

services are individuals who are dependent in medication 

administration as documented on the UAI. 
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"Moderate assistance" means dependency in two or more 

ADLs as documented on the UAI. 

"Private pay" means that an individual residing in an 

assisted living facility ALF is not eligible for benefits under 

the Auxiliary Grants Program.  

"Prohibited conditions" means physical or mental health 

conditions or care needs as described in § 63.2-1805 of the 

Code of Virginia. An ALF shall not admit or allow the 

continued residence of an individual with a prohibited 

condition. Prohibited conditions include, but are not limited 

to, an individual who requires maximum physical assistance 

as documented on the uniform assessment instrument and 

meets nursing facility level of care criteria as defined in the 

State Plan for Medical Assistance. Unless the individual's 

independent physician determines otherwise, an individual 

who requires maximum physical assistance and meets nursing 

facility level of care criteria as defined on the State Plan for 

Medical Assistance shall not be admitted to or continue to 

reside in an ALF.  

"Public human services agency" means an agency 

established or authorized by the General Assembly under 

Chapters 2 and 3 (§§ 63.2-200 et seq. and 63.2-300 et seq.) of 

Title 63.2, Chapter 14 (§ 51.5-116 et seq.) of Title 51.5, 

Chapters 1 and 5 (§§ 37.2-100 et seq. and 37.2-500 et seq.) of 

Title 37.2, or Article 5 (§ 32.1-30 et seq.) of Chapter 1 of 

Title 32.1, or hospitals operated by the state under Chapters 

6.1 and 9 (§§ 23-50.4 et seq. and 23-62 et seq.) of Title 23 of 

the Code of Virginia and supported wholly or principally by 

public funds, including but not limited to funds provided 

expressly for the purposes of case management.  

"Public pay" means that an individual residing in an ALF is 

eligible for benefits under the Auxiliary Grants Program.  

"Qualified assessor" means a person who is authorized to 

perform an assessment, reassessment, or change in level of 

care for an individual who is seeking admission to an ALF or 

who resides in an ALF. For public pay individuals, a qualified 

assessor is an employee of a public human services agency 

who is trained in the completion of the uniform assessment 

instrument and is authorized to approve placement for an 

individual who is seeking admission to or residing in an ALF. 

For private pay individuals, a qualified assessor is staff of the 

ALF trained in the completion of the uniform assessment 

instrument or an independent physician or a qualified assessor 

for public pay individuals.  

"Reassessment" means an update of information on the 

uniform assessment instrument at any time UAI after the 

initial assessment. In addition to an annual reassessment, a 

reassessment shall be completed whenever there is a 

significant change in the individual's condition.  

"Residential living care" means a level of service provided 

by an ALF for individuals who may have physical or mental 

impairments and require only minimal assistance with the 

activities of daily living. Minimal assistance means 

dependency in only one ADL or dependency in one or more 

of the selected IADLs as documented on the uniform 

assessment instrument. Included in this level of service are 

individuals who are dependent in medication administration 

as documented on the uniform assessment instrument. The 

definition of residential living care includes the services 

provided by the ALF to individuals who are assessed as 

capable of maintaining themselves in an independent living 

status.  

"Significant change" means a change in an individual's 

condition that is expected to last longer than 30 days. It does 

not include short-term changes that resolve with or without 

intervention, a short-term acute illness or episodic event, or a 

well-established, predictive, cyclic pattern of clinical signs 

and symptoms associated with a previously diagnosed 

condition where an appropriate course of treatment is in 

progress.  

"Targeted case management" means the provision of 

ongoing case management services by an employee of a 

public human services agency contracting with the 

Department of Medical Assistance Services to an individual 

who is receiving an auxiliary grant in an ALF who meets the 

criteria set forth in 12VAC30-50-470.  

"Total dependence" means the individual is entirely unable 

to participate in the performance of an ADL.  

"Uniform assessment instrument" or "UAI" means the 

department-designated assessment form. There is an alternate 

version of the uniform assessment instrument that may be 

used for individuals paying privately to reside in the ALF. 

Social and financial information that is not relevant because 

of the individual's payment status is not included on the 

private pay version.  

"User's Manual: Virginia Uniform Assessment Instrument" 

means the department-designated handbook containing 

common definitions and procedures for completing the 

department-designated assessment form.  

"Virginia Department of Medical Assistance Services" or 

"DMAS" means the single state agency designated to 

administer the Medical Assistance Services Program in 

Virginia.  

Part II  

Assessment Services  

22VAC30-110-20. Individuals to be assessed.  

A. All individuals applying to or residing in an ALF shall be 

assessed face-to-face using the UAI prior to admission, at 

least annually, and whenever there is a significant change in 

the individual's condition.  

1. When the qualified assessor or case manager and 

individual are unable to be in the same physical space to 
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conduct an assessment due to the individual's location in 

another state or due to hazardous travel conditions for the 

qualified assessor or case manager, the use of video 

conferencing to conduct the assessment shall be permitted. 

2. The appropriate qualified assessor or case manager shall 

review the assessment with the adult within seven working 

days of admission to the ALF to ensure all assessment 

information is accurate. 

B. For private pay individuals, qualified staff of the ALF or 

an independent physician may complete the UAI. Qualified 

staff are ALF employees who have successfully completed 

state-approved department designated training course on the 

UAI for either public or private pay assessments. The ALF 

maintains documentation of the completed training. The 

administrator or the administrator's designated representative 

shall approve and sign the completed UAI for private pay 

individuals. A private pay individual may request the 

assessment be completed by a qualified public human 

services agency assessor. When a public human services 

agency assessor completes the UAI for a private pay 

individual, the agency may determine and charge a fee for 

private pay assessments that may not exceed the amount 

DMAS reimburses for public pay assessments.  

C. For public pay individuals, the UAI shall be completed 

by a case manager or a qualified assessor to determine the 

need for residential care or assisted living care services. The 

assessor is qualified to complete the assessment if the 

assessor has completed a state-approved the department 

designated training course on the UAI. Assessors who prior to 

January 1, 2004, routinely completed UAIs as part of their job 

descriptions may be deemed to be qualified assessors without 

the completion of the training course. Qualified assessors 

who may initially authorize ALF services for public pay 

individuals are employees of:  

1. Local departments of social services; 

2. Area agencies on aging; 

3. Centers for independent living; 

4. Community services boards or behavioral health 

authorities; 

5. Local departments of health; 

6. State facilities operated by the Department of Behavioral 

Health and Developmental Services; 

7. Acute-care hospitals; 

8. Department of Corrections; and  

9. Independent physicians who have a contract signed 

provider agreement with DMAS to conduct ALF 

assessments.  

D. For public pay individuals, the ALF shall coordinate with 

the qualified assessor or case manager to ensure that the UAI 

is completed as required. If the individual has not been 

assessed, the local department of social services eligibility 

benefits worker shall inform the individual or the individual's 

legal representative of the need to be assessed by a qualified 

assessor prior to admission. If the individual has not applied 

for an auxiliary grant, the qualified assessor or case manager 

conducting the assessment shall inform the individual or the 

individual's legal representative of the need to submit an 

application for an auxiliary grant. 

22VAC30-110-30. Determination of services to be 

provided.  

A. The assessment shall be conducted using the UAI that 

sets forth an individual's care needs. The UAI is designed to 

be a comprehensive, accurate, standardized, and reproducible 

assessment of individuals seeking or receiving long-term care 

services. The UAI is comprised of a short assessment and a 

full assessment. The short assessment is designed to briefly 

assess the individual's need for appropriate level of care and 

services and to determine if a full assessment is needed.  

B. The following sections of the UAI shall be completed as 

follows:  

1. For private pay individuals, the assessment shall include 

sections related to identification and background, 

functional status, which includes ADLs, continence, 

ambulation, IADLs, medication administration, and 

behavior pattern. The private pay or public pay UAI may 

be used.  

2. For public pay individuals, the short form of the UAI 

shall be completed. The short form consists of sections 

related to identification and background, and functional 

status (i.e., the first four pages of the UAI), plus sections 

on medication administration, and behavior pattern. If, 

upon assessment, it is determined that the individual is 

dependent in at least two ADLs or is dependent in 

behavior, then the full assessment shall be completed. 

3. For private pay and public pay individuals, the 

prohibited conditions section shall be completed.  

C. The UAI shall be completed within 90 days prior to the 

date of admission to the ALF. If there has been a significant 

change in the individual's condition since the completion of 

the UAI that would affect the admission to an ALF, a new 

UAI shall be completed as specified in 22VAC30-110-20.  

D. When an individual moves to an ALF from another ALF, 

a new UAI is not required except that a new UAI shall be 

completed whenever there is a significant change in the 

individual's condition or the assessment most recent UAI was 

completed more than 12 months ago.  

E. In emergency placements, the UAI shall be completed 

within seven working days from the date of placement. An 

emergency placement shall occur only when the emergency is 

documented and approved by (i) a Virginia local department 
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adult protective services worker for public pay individuals or 

by (ii) a Virginia local department adult protective services 

worker or independent physician for private pay individuals.  

F. The UAI shall be completed annually on all individuals 

residing in ALFs and whenever there is a significant change 

in the individual's condition. UAIs shall be completed 

whenever there is a significant change in the individual's 

condition. All UAIs shall be completed as required by 

22VAC30-110-20. The ALF shall provide an area for 

assessments and reassessment to be conducted that ensures 

the individual's privacy and protects confidentiality. 

G. The ALF shall provide an area for assessments and 

reassessment to be conducted that ensures the individual's 

privacy and protects confidentiality. 

H. At the request of the ALF, the individual residing in the 

ALF, the individual's legal representative, the individual's 

physician, the Virginia Department of Social Services, or the 

local department of social services, an independent 

assessment using the UAI shall be completed to determine 

whether the individual's care needs are being met in the 

current ALF. An independent assessment is an assessment 

that is completed by an entity other than the original assessor. 

The ALF shall assist the individual in obtaining the 

independent assessment as requested. If the request is for a 

private pay individual, the entity requesting the independent 

assessment shall be responsible for paying for the assessment.  

H. I. The assessor shall consult with other appropriate 

human service professionals as needed to complete the 

assessment.  

J. Qualified assessors who are employees of local 

departments shall enter ALF assessments in the department 

designated case management system. 

I. K. DMAS shall reimburse for completion of assessments 

and authorization of ALF placement for public pay 

individuals pursuant to this section.  

22VAC30-110-40. Discharge.  

A. ALF staff shall assist the individual and the individual's 

legal representative in the discharge or transfer process. For 

public pay individuals, ALF staff shall provide written 

notification of the individual's date and place of discharge or 

of the individual's death to the local department of social 

services eligibility benefits worker in the jurisdiction 

responsible for authorizing the auxiliary grant and the 

qualified assessor or case manager who conducted the most 

recent assessment. The ALF shall make these notifications at 

least 14 calendar days prior to the individual's planned 

discharge or within five calendar days after the individual's 

death. In the event of an emergency discharge as specified in 

22VAC40-72-420 22VAC40-73-430, the notification shall be 

made as rapidly as possible, but must be made by close of 

business on the day following the emergency discharge.  

B. Upon issuing a notice of summary order of suspension to 

an ALF, the Commissioner of the Virginia Department of 

Social Services or his designee shall contact the appropriate 

local department of social services to develop a relocation 

plan. Individuals residing in an ALF whose license has been 

summarily suspended pursuant to § 63.2-1709 of the Code of 

Virginia shall be relocated as soon as possible to reduce the 

risk to their health, safety, and welfare. New assessments of 

the individuals who are relocating are not required, pursuant 

to 22VAC30-110-30 D.  

22VAC30-110-50. Authorization of services to be 

provided.  

A. The qualified assessor or case manager is responsible for 

authorizing public payment to the individual for the 

appropriate level of care upon admission to and for continued 

stay in an ALF.  

B. The ALF staff shall be knowledgeable of the criteria for 

level of care in an ALF and are responsible for discharging 

the individual when the individual does not meet the criteria 

for level of care in an ALF upon admission or at any later 

time.  

C. The appropriate level of care shall be documented on the 

UAI, and the UAI shall be completed in a manner consistent 

with the definitions of ADLs and directions provided in the 

this chapter. The User's Manual: Virginia Uniform 

Assessment Instrument as well as the requirements set forth 

in this chapter is the department-designated handbook 

containing procedures that may be used in completing the 

UAI. 

D. During an inspection or review, staff from the Virginia 

Department of Social Services or the local department of 

social services may initiate a change in level of care for any 

individual residing in the ALF for whom it is determined that 

the UAI does not reflect the individual's current status.  

22VAC30-110-80. Rating of levels of care on the uniform 

assessment instrument.  

A. The rating of functional dependencies on the UAI shall 

be based on the individual's ability to function in a 

community environment.  

B. For purposes of this chapter, the following abbreviations 

shall mean: D = dependent; and TD = totally dependent. 

Mechanical help means equipment or a device or both are 

used; human help includes supervision and physical 

assistance. Asterisks (*) denote dependence in a particular 

function.  

1. Activities of daily living.  

a. Bathing.  

(1) Without help  

(2) Mechanical help only  
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(3) Human help only* (D)  

(4) Mechanical help and human help* (D)  

(5) Is performed Performed by others* (TD)  

b. Dressing.  

(1) Without help  

(2) Mechanical help only  

(3) Human help only* (D)  

(4) Mechanical help and human help* (D)  

(5) Is performed Performed by others* (TD)  

(6) Is not performed* (TD)  

c. Toileting.  

(1) Without help  

(2) Mechanical help only  

(3) Human help only* (D)  

(4) Mechanical help and human help* (D)  

(5) Performed by others* (TD)  

(6) Is not performed* (TD)  

d. Transferring.  

(1) Without help  

(2) Mechanical help only  

(3) Human help only* (D)  

(4) Mechanical help and human help* (D)  

(5) Is performed Performed by others* (TD)  

(6) Is not performed* (TD)  

e. Bowel function.  

(1) Continent  

(2) Incontinent less than weekly  

(3) Ostomy self-care  

(4) Incontinent weekly or more* (D)  

(5) Ostomy not self-care* (TD)  

f. Bladder function.  

(1) Continent  

(2) Incontinent less than weekly  

(3) External device, indwelling catheter, ostomy, self-

care  

(4) Incontinent weekly or more* (D)  

(5) External device, not self-care* (TD)  

(6) Indwelling catheter, not self-care* (TD)  

(7) Ostomy, not self-care* (TD)  

g. Eating/feeding.  

(1) Without help  

(2) Mechanical help only  

(3) Human help only* (D)  

(4) Mechanical help and human help* (D)  

(5) Performed by others (includes spoon fed, syringe/tube 

fed, fed by IV)* (TD)  

2. Behavior pattern.  

a. Appropriate  

b. Wandering/passive less than weekly  

c. Wandering/passive weekly or more  

d. Abusive/aggressive/disruptive less than weekly* (D)  

e. Abusive/aggressive/disruptive weekly or more* (D)  

3. Instrumental activities of daily living.  

a. Meal preparation.  

(1) No help needed  

(2) Needs help* (D)  

b. Housekeeping.  

(1) No help needed  

(2) Needs help* (D)  

c. Laundry.  

(1) No help needed  

(2) Needs help* (D)  

d. Money management.  

(1) No help needed  

(2) Needs help* (D)  

4. Medication administration.  

a. Without assistance  

b. Administered/monitored by lay person* (D)  

c. Administered/monitored by professional staff* (D)  

22VAC30-110-90. Actions to be taken upon completion of 

the uniform assessment instrument.  

A. Public Actions to be taken upon completion of the 

uniform assessment instrument for public pay individuals.  

1. Upon completion of the UAI for initial assessment for 

admission, a significant change in the individual's 
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condition, or the annual reassessment, the case manager or 

a qualified assessor shall forward to the local department 

of social services eligibility benefits worker in the 

appropriate agency of jurisdiction, in the format specified 

by the department, the effective date of admission or 

change in level of care. Qualified assessors who are 

authorized to perform the annual reassessment or a change 

in level of care for public pay individuals are employees of 

(i) local departments of social services; (ii) area agencies 

on aging; (iii) centers for independent living; (iv) 

community services boards or behavioral health authority; 

and (v) local departments of health, or an independent 

physician who has a contract signed provider agreement 

with DMAS to conduct assessments.  

2. The completed A copy of the UAI, the referral to the 

eligibility local department benefits worker, and other 

relevant data shall be maintained in the individual's record 

at the ALF.  

3. The annual reassessment shall be completed by the 

qualified assessor or case manager conducting the initial 

assessment. If the original assessor is neither willing nor 

able to complete the assessment and another assessor is not 

available, the local department of social services where the 

individual resides in the ALF shall be the assessor, except 

that individuals who receive services from a community 

service board or behavioral health authority shall be 

assessed and reassessed by qualified assessors employed 

by the community services board or behavioral health 

authority.  

4. The earliest date that an annual reassessment may be 

completed is 60 calendar days prior to the annual 

reassessment due date. 

5. After the annual reassessment has been completed, if the 

individual still meets either residential or assisted living 

level of care, the qualified assessor or case manager shall 

offer the individual the choice, based on availability, of 

housing option pursuant to § 51.5-160 of the Code of 

Virginia.  

4. 6. The ALF shall notify the community services board or 

behavioral health authority when UAIs indicate observed 

behaviors or patterns of behavior indicative of mental 

illness, intellectual disability, substance abuse, or 

behavioral disorders, pursuant to § 63.2-1805 B of the 

Code of Virginia.  

B. For Actions to be taken upon completion of the uniform 

assessment instrument for private pay individuals, the ALF 

shall ensure that assessments for all individuals at admission 

and at subsequent intervals are completed as required in this 

chapter. The ALF shall maintain the individual's UAI and 

other relevant data in the individual's ALF record.  

22VAC30-110-100. Targeted case management for 

individuals receiving an auxiliary grant.  

A. Targeted case management shall be limited to those 

individuals who have multiple needs across multiple 

providers and this coordination is beyond the scope of the 

ALF. It shall be the responsibility of the qualified assessor or 

case manager who identifies the individual's need for 

residential care or assisted living care in an ALF to assess the 

need for targeted case management as defined in 12VAC30-

50-470.  

B. A case management agency shall have signed an a 

provider agreement with DMAS to be reimbursed for the 

provision of targeted case management for individuals 

receiving an auxiliary grant.  

C. The local department of social services where the 

individual resides, following admission to an ALF, shall be 

the case management agency when there is no other qualified 

case management provider willing or able to provide case 

management.  

D. A qualified case manager shall possess a combination of 

relevant work experience in human services or health care 

and relevant education which indicates that the individual 

possesses the knowledge, skills, and abilities at entry level as 

defined in 12VAC30-50-470. This must be documented on 

the case manager's job application form or supporting 

documentation. When the provider agency is a local 

department of social services, case managers shall meet the 

qualifications for family services occupational group as 

specified in 22VAC40-670-20.  

Part III  

Appeals  

22VAC30-110-110. Notifications.  

Assessors Qualified assessors and case managers shall 

advise orally and in writing provide to all public pay 

individuals written notice of the outcome of the assessment or 

the annual reassessment, including a statement indicating that 

the local department of social services will notify the 

individual whether he is eligible to receive the auxiliary grant. 

An individual who is denied an auxiliary grant because the 

assessor determines that the individual does not meet the care 

needs for residential level of care has the right to file an 

appeal with the Virginia Department of Social Services under 

§ 63.2-517 of the Code of Virginia. Notification of the right 

to appeal will be included in the notice of action provided by 

the local department of social services. A determination that 

the individual does not meet the criteria to receive targeted 

case management is an action that is appealable to DMAS in 

accordance with the provisions of 12VAC30-110.  
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DOCUMENTS INCORPORATED BY REFERENCE 

(22VAC30-110)  

User's Manual: Virginia Uniform Assessment Instrument 

(UAI), Commonwealth of Virginia (rev. 7/05) 

VA.R. Doc. No. R18-5335; Filed August 13, 2020, 11:46 a.m.  

STATE BOARD OF SOCIAL SERVICES 

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The State Board of Social Services 

is claiming an exemption from Article 2 of the Administrative 

Process Act in accordance with § 2.2-4006 A 4 a of the Code 

of Virginia, which excludes regulations that are necessary to 

conform to changes in Virginia statutory law or the 

appropriation act where no agency discretion is involved. The 

State Board of Social Services will receive, consider, and 

respond to petitions by any interested person at any time with 

respect to reconsideration or revision. 

Title of Regulation: 22VAC40-35. Virginia Independence 

Program (amending 22VAC40-35-40; repealing 

22VAC40-35-70).  

Statutory Authority: § 63.2-217 of the Code of Virginia; 

45 CFR 261.22.  

Effective Date: October 15, 2020.  

Agency Contact: Mark Golden, TANF Program Manager, 

Department of Social Services, 801 East Main Street, 

Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 726-7385, or email 

mark.golden@dss.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

Pursuant to Chapter 1159 of the 2020 Acts of Assembly, 

the amendments (i) repeal limitations on Temporary 

Assistance for Needy Families (TANF) during the period in 

which the family or adult recipient is ineligible for TANF 

pursuant to a penalty for failure to comply with benefit 

eligibility or child support requirements, and (ii) allow for 

the maximum amount of assistance provided for 120 days 

that the family would otherwise be eligible to receive, or 

$1,500, whichever is greater.  

22VAC40-35-40. Diversionary assistance program 

eligibility criteria.  

A. An assistance unit shall be eligible to receive 

diversionary cash assistance if:  

1. Verification is provided to the local department of social 

services that the assistance unit has a temporary loss of 

income or delay in starting to receive income resulting in 

an emergency;  

2. The assistance unit meets TANF requirements specified 

in § 63.2-617 of the Code of Virginia; and  

3. The local department of social services determines that 

diversionary assistance will resolve the emergency.  

B. The amount of assistance provided shall be up to the 

maximum TANF amount for 120 days that the family would 

otherwise be eligible to receive, or $1,500, whichever is 

greater. The amount of the payment is based on immediate 

needs of the applicant. Local agencies shall strive to provide 

the most cost-effective solution to the one-time emergency.  

C. If an assistance unit receives a diversionary assistance 

payment, all assistance unit members shall be ineligible for 

TANF for 1.33 times the number of days for which assistance 

is granted, beginning with the date that the diversionary 

assistance is issued.  

D. An assistance unit shall be eligible to receive 

diversionary assistance once in a 12-month period.  

E. Receipt of diversionary assistance is voluntary.  

F. Local social services agencies shall determine eligibility 

for diversionary assistance within five working days of the 

receipt of the final verification that substantiates eligibility, or 

within 30 days of the date of the receipt of the signed 

application, whichever occurs first.  

22VAC40-35-70. Limitation on TANF benefits. 

(Repealed.) 

A. A recipient family is not entitled to an increase in TANF 

benefits if the mother of such recipient family gives birth to 

an additional child during the period of the family's eligibility 

for financial assistance.  

B. Applicants for TANF financial assistance shall receive 

notice of the provisions of this section at the time of 

application. At application or redetermination, such applicant 

or recipient shall sign a notification acknowledging that they 

have read and understand the notice.  

C. The provisions of this section shall not apply to a child 

born or adopted during the 10 months following the 

implementation effective date nor to a child born or adopted 

during the 10 full calendar months following the month in 

which the initial assistance check is issued.  

D. The provisions of this section shall apply equally to 

recipient families who adopt a child except that the provision 

shall be applied using the date of entry of the interlocutory 

order instead of the child's birthdate.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R21-6448; Filed August 20, 2020, 8:21 a.m.  

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The State Board of Social Services is 

claiming an exemption from Article 2 of the Administrative 

Process Act in accordance with § 2.2-4006 A 4 a of the Code of 

Virginia, which excludes regulations that are necessary to 

conform to changes in Virginia statutory law or the appropriation 

act where no agency discretion is involved. The State Board of 

mailto:mark.golden@dss.virginia.gov


Regulations 

Volume 37, Issue 2 Virginia Register of Regulations September 14, 2020 

444 

Social Services will receive, consider, and respond to petitions 

by any interested person at any time with respect to 

reconsideration or revision. 

Title of Regulation: 22VAC40-73. Standards for Licensed 

Assisted Living Facilities (amending 22VAC40-73-450).  

Statutory Authority: § 63.2-217 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: October 15, 2020.  

Agency Contact: Sharon Stroble, Program Consultant, 

Department of Social Services, 801 East Main Street, 

Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 726-7037, FAX (804) 

726-7132, or email sharon.stroble@dss.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

Pursuant to Chapter 938 of the 2020 Acts of Assembly, the 

amendments conform Standards for Licensed Assisted 

Living Facilities consistent with the Code of Virginia to 

add that (i) individualized service plans must be reviewed 

and updated at least every 12 months or sooner if 

modifications to the plan are needed due to a significant 

change in the resident's condition; (ii) any deviation in the 

individualized service plan must be documented in writing, 

including a description of the circumstances warranting 

deviation, the date such deviation will occur, certification 

that such deviation was provided to the resident or the 

resident's legal representative, and included in the 

residents file; and (iii) in the case of deviations that are 

made due to a significant change in the resident's 

condition, the individualized service plan must be signed 

by an authorized representative of the assisted living 

facility and the resident or the resident's legal 

representative.  

22VAC40-73-450. Individualized service plans. 

A. On or within seven days prior to the day of admission, a 

preliminary plan of care shall be developed to address the 

basic needs of the resident that adequately protects his health, 

safety, and welfare. The preliminary plan shall be developed 

by a staff person with the qualifications specified in 

subsection B of this section and in conjunction with the 

resident, and, as appropriate, other individuals noted in 

subdivision B 1 of this section. The preliminary plan shall be 

identified as such and be signed and dated by the licensee, 

administrator, or his designee (i.e., the person who has 

developed the plan), and by the resident or his legal 

representative. 

Exception: A preliminary plan of care is not necessary if a 

comprehensive individualized service plan is developed, in 

conformance with this section, on the day of admission.  

B. The licensee, administrator, or his designee who has 

successfully completed the department-approved 

individualized service plan (ISP) training, provided by a 

licensed health care professional practicing within the scope 

of his profession, shall develop a comprehensive ISP to meet 

the resident's service needs. State approved private pay UAI 

training must be completed as a prerequisite to ISP training. 

An individualized service plan is not required for those 

residents who are assessed as capable of maintaining 

themselves in an independent living status. 

1. The licensee, administrator, or designee shall develop 

the ISP in conjunction with the resident and, as 

appropriate, with the resident's family, legal representative, 

direct care staff members, case manager, health care 

providers, qualified mental health professionals, or other 

persons. 

2. The plan shall support the principles of individuality, 

personal dignity, freedom of choice, and home-like 

environment and shall include other formal and informal 

supports in addition to those included in subdivision C 2 of 

this section that may participate in the delivery of services. 

Whenever possible, residents shall be given a choice of 

options regarding the type and delivery of services. 

3. The plan shall be designed to maximize the resident's 

level of functional ability. 

C. The comprehensive individualized service plan shall be 

completed within 30 days after admission and shall include 

the following: 

1. Description of identified needs and date identified based 

upon the (i) UAI; (ii) admission physical examination; (iii) 

interview with resident; (iv) fall risk rating, if appropriate; 

(v) assessment of psychological, behavioral, and emotional 

functioning, if appropriate; and (vi) other sources; 

2. A written description of what services will be provided 

to address identified needs, and if applicable, other 

services, and who will provide them; 

3. When and where the services will be provided;  

4. The expected outcome and time frame for expected 

outcome;  

5. Date outcome achieved; and 

6. For a facility licensed for residential living care only, if 

a resident lives in a building housing 19 or fewer residents, 

a statement that specifies whether the resident does or does 

not need to have a staff member awake and on duty at 

night. 

D. When hospice care is provided to a resident, the assisted 

living facility and the licensed hospice organization shall 

communicate and establish an agreed upon coordinated plan 

of care for the resident. The services provided by each shall 

be included on the individualized service plan. 

E. The individualized service plan shall be signed and dated by 

the licensee, administrator, or his designee, (i.e., the person who 

has developed the plan), and by the resident or his legal 
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representative. The plan shall also indicate any other individuals 

who contributed to the development of the plan, with a notation 

of the date of contribution. The title or relationship to the 

resident of each person who was involved in the development of 

the plan shall be included. These requirements shall also apply to 

reviews and updates of the plan. 

F. Individualized service plans shall be reviewed and 

updated at least once every 12 months and as needed as the 

for a significant change of a resident's condition of the 

resident changes. The review and update shall be performed 

by a staff person with the qualifications specified in 

subsection B of this section and in conjunction with the 

resident and, as appropriate, with the resident's family, legal 

representative, direct care staff, case manager, health care 

providers, qualified mental health professionals, or other 

persons.  

G. The master service plan shall be filed in the resident's 

record. A current copy shall be provided to the resident and 

shall also be maintained in a location accessible at all times to 

direct care staff, but that protects the confidentiality of the 

contents of the service plan. Extracts from the plan may be 

filed in locations specifically identified for their retention. 

H. The facility shall ensure that the care and services 

specified in the individualized service plan are provided to 

each resident, except that: 

1. There may be a deviation from the plan when mutually 

agreed upon between the facility and the resident or the 

resident's legal representative at the time the care or 

services are scheduled or when there is an emergency that 

prevents the care or services from being provided. 

2. Deviation Any deviation from the plan shall be 

documented in writing, including a description of the 

circumstances, the date it occurred, and the signatures of 

the parties involved, and the documentation shall be 

retained in the resident's record.:  

a. Be documented in writing or electronically; 

b. Include a description of the circumstances warranting 

deviation and the date such deviation will occur; 

c. Certify that notice of such deviation was provided to 

the resident or the resident's legal representative; 

d. Be included in the resident's file; and 

e. Be signed by an authorized representative of the 

assisted living facility and the resident or the resident's 

legal representative if the deviation is made due to a 

significant change in the resident's condition. 

3. The facility may not start, change, or discontinue 

medications, dietary supplements, diets, medical 

procedures, or treatments without an order from a 

physician or other prescriber. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R21-6412; Filed August 20, 2020, 8:18 a.m.  

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The State Board of Social Services 

is claiming an exemption from Article 2 of the Administrative 

Process Act in accordance with § 2.2-4006 A 4 a of the Code 

of Virginia, which excludes regulations that are necessary to 

conform to changes in Virginia statutory law or the 

appropriation act where no agency discretion is involved. The 

State Board of Social Services will receive, consider, and 

respond to petitions by any interested person at any time with 

respect to reconsideration or revision. 

Title of Regulation: 22VAC40-201. Permanency Services - 

Prevention, Foster Care, Adoption and Independent 

Living (amending 22VAC40-201-10, 22VAC40-201-105).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 63.2-217 and 63.2-319 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

Effective Date: October 15, 2020.  

Agency Contact: Em Parente, Department of Social Services, 

801 East Main Street, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 

726-7895, FAX (804) 726-7538, or email 

em.parente@dss.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendments implement the requirements of legislation 

passed during the 2020 Session of the General Assembly, 

including (i) Chapters 95 and 732, which codify the 

voluntary Fostering Futures program that was previously 

established to provide continuing services and support to 

youth 18 to 21 years of age who were in foster care upon 

turning age 18. The regulatory changes include the 

addition of the voluntary continuing services and support 

agreement, court review requirements, participant 

termination, and identification of services and supports; 

(ii) Chapters 224 and 366, which add fictive kin to the 

definition of kinship foster care; and (iii) Chapter 562, 

which requires local boards of social services to request a 

waiver of training requirements necessary for the approval 

of a kinship foster parent upon determining that training 

requirements are a barrier to placement with the kinship 

foster parent and that such placement is in the child's best 

interest.  

22VAC40-201-10. Definitions. 

The following words and terms when used in this chapter 

shall have the following meanings unless the context clearly 

indicates otherwise:  

"Administrative panel review" means a review of a child in 

foster care that the local board conducts on a planned basis 

pursuant to § 63.2-907 of the Code of Virginia to evaluate the 

current status and effectiveness of the objectives in the 

service plan and the services being provided for the 

immediate care of the child and the plan to achieve a 

permanent home for the child. The administrative review may 
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be attended by the birth parents or prior custodians and other 

interested individuals significant to the child and family as 

appropriate. 

"Adoption" means a legal process that entitles the person 

being adopted to all of the rights and privileges, and subjects 

the person to all of the obligations of a birth child. 

"Adoption assistance" means a money payment provided to 

adoptive parents or other persons on behalf of a child with 

special needs who meets federal or state requirements to 

receive such payments.  

"Adoption assistance agreement" means a written agreement 

between the local board and the adoptive parents of a child 

with special needs or in cases in which the child is in the 

custody of a licensed child-placing agency, an agreement 

between the local board, the licensed child-placing agency, 

and the adoptive parents that sets out the payment and 

services that will be provided to benefit the child in 

accordance with Chapter 13 (§ 63.2-1300 et seq.) of Title 

63.2 of the Code of Virginia.  

"Adoption Progress Report" means a report filed with the 

juvenile court on the progress being made to place the child in 

an adoptive home. Section 16.1-283 of the Code of Virginia 

requires that an Adoption Progress Report be submitted to the 

juvenile court every six months following termination of 

parental rights until the adoption is final. 

"Adoptive home" means any family home selected and 

approved by a parent, local board, or a licensed child-placing 

agency for the placement of a child with the intent of 

adoption. 

"Adoptive home study" means an assessment of a family 

completed by a child-placing agency to determine the family's 

suitability for adoption.  

"Adoptive parent" means any provider selected and 

approved by a parent or a child-placing agency for the 

placement of a child with the intent of adoption. 

"Adoptive placement" means arranging for the care of a 

child who is in the custody of a child-placing agency in an 

approved home for the purpose of adoption.  

"Adult adoption" means the adoption of any person 18 years 

of age or older, carried out in accordance with § 63.2-1243 of 

the Code of Virginia. 

"Agency placement adoption" means an adoption in which a 

child is placed in an adoptive home by a child-placing agency 

that has custody of the child.  

"AREVA" means the Adoption Resource Exchange of 

Virginia that maintains a registry and photo-listing of children 

waiting for adoption and families seeking to adopt.  

"Assessment" means an evaluation of the situation of the 

child and family to identify strengths and services needed. 

"Birth family" means the child's biological family.  

"Birth parent" means the child's biological parent and for 

purposes of adoptive placement means a parent by previous 

adoption.  

"Birth sibling" means the child's biological sibling. 

"Board" means the State Board of Social Services.  

"Child" means any natural person under 18 years of age or, 

for the purposes of the Fostering Futures program set forth in 

Article 2 (§ 63.2-917 et seq.) of Chapter 9 of the Code of 

Virginia, under 21 years of age and meeting the eligibility 

criteria set forth in § 63.2-919 of the Code of Virginia.  

"Child-placing agency" means any person who places 

children in foster homes, adoptive homes, or independent 

living arrangements pursuant to § 63.2-1819 of the Code of 

Virginia or a local board that places children in foster homes 

or adoptive homes pursuant to §§ 63.2-900, 63.2-903, and 

63.2-1221 of the Code of Virginia. Officers, employees, or 

agents of the Commonwealth, or any locality acting within 

the scope of their authority as such, who serve as or maintain 

a child-placing agency, shall not be required to be licensed. 

"Child with special needs" as it relates to adoption assistance 

means a child who meets the definition of a child with special 

needs set forth in §§ 63.2-1300 or 63.2-1301 B of the Code of 

Virginia. 

"Children's Services Act" or "CSA" means a collaborative 

system of services and funding that is child centered, family 

focused, and community based when addressing the strengths 

and needs of troubled and at-risk youth and their families in 

the Commonwealth. 

"Claim for benefits," as used in § 63.2-915 of the Code of 

Virginia and 22VAC40-201-115, means (i) foster care 

maintenance, including enhanced maintenance; (ii) the 

services set forth in a court approved foster care service plan, 

the foster care services identified in an individual family 

service plan developed by a family assessment and planning 

team or other multi-disciplinary team pursuant to the 

Children's Services Act (§ 2.2-5200 et seq. of the Code of 

Virginia), or a transitional living plan for independent living 

services; (iii) the placement of a child through an agreement 

with the child's parents or guardians, where legal custody 

remains with the parents or guardians; (iv) foster care 

prevention services as set out in a prevention service plan; or 

(v) placement of a child for adoption when an approved 

family is outside the locality with the legal custody of the 

child, in accordance with 42 USC § 671(a)(23). 

"Close relative" means a grandparent, great-grandparent, 

adult nephew or niece, adult brother or sister, adult uncle or 

aunt, or adult great uncle or great aunt.  

"Commissioner" means the commissioner of the department, 

his designee, or his authorized representative. 
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"Community Policy and Management Team" or "CPMT" 

means a team appointed by the local governing body pursuant 

to Chapter 52 (§ 2.2-5200 et seq.) of Title 2.2 of the Code of 

Virginia. The powers and duties of the CPMT are set out in 

§ 2.2-5206 of the Code of Virginia. 

"Concurrent permanency planning" means utilizing a 

structured case management approach in which reasonable 

efforts are made to achieve a permanency goal, usually a 

reunification with the family, simultaneously with an 

established alternative permanent plan for the child. 

"Department" means the state Department of Social 

Services.  

"Denied," as used in § 63.2-915 of the Code of Virginia and 

22VAC40-201-115, means the refusal to provide a claim for 

benefits.  

"Dually approved" means applicants have met the required 

standards to be approved as a foster and adoptive family 

home provider.  

"Entrustment agreement" means an agreement that the local 

board enters into with the parent, parents, or guardian to place 

the child in foster care either to terminate parental rights or 

for the temporary care and placement of the child. The 

agreement specifies the conditions for the care of the child. 

"Family assessment and planning team" or "FAPT" means 

the local team created by the CPMT (i) to assess the strengths 

and needs of troubled youths and families who are approved 

for referral to the team and (ii) to identify and determine the 

complement of services required to meet their unique needs. 

The powers and duties of the FAPT are set out in § 2.2-5208 

of the Code of Virginia. 

"Foster care" means 24-hour substitute care for children in 

the custody of the local board or who remain in the custody of 

their parents, but are placed away from their parents or 

guardians and for whom the local board has placement and 

care responsibility through a noncustodial agreement.  

"Foster care maintenance payments" means payments to 

cover those expenses made on behalf of a child in foster care 

including the cost of, and the cost of providing, food, 

clothing, shelter, daily supervision, school supplies, a child's 

incidentals, reasonable travel to the child's home for 

visitation, and reasonable travel to remain in the school in 

which the child is enrolled at the time of the placement. The 

term also includes costs for children in institutional care and 

costs related to the child of a child in foster care as set out in 

42 USC § 675. 

"Foster care plan" means a written document filed with the 

court in accordance with § 16.1-281 of the Code of Virginia 

that describes the programs, care, services, and other support 

that will be offered to the child and his parents and other prior 

custodians. The foster care plan defined in this definition is 

the case plan referenced in 42 USC § 675. 

"Foster care prevention" means the provision of services to a 

child and family to prevent the need for foster care placement. 

"Foster care services" means the provision of a full range of 

casework, treatment, and community services, including 

independent living services, for a planned period of time to a 

child meeting the requirements as set forth in § 63.2-905 of 

the Code of Virginia. 

"Foster child" means a child for whom the local board has 

assumed placement and care responsibilities through a 

noncustodial foster care agreement, entrustment, or court 

commitment before 18 years of age.  

"Foster home" means the place of residence of any natural 

person in which any child, other than a child by birth or 

adoption of such person, resides as a member of the 

household.  

"Foster parent" means an approved provider who gives 24-

hour substitute family care, room and board, and services for 

children or youth committed or entrusted to a child-placing 

agency. 

"Independent living arrangement" means placement of a 

child at least 16 years of age who is in the custody of a local 

board or licensed child-placing agency and has been placed 

by the local board or licensed child-placing agency in a living 

arrangement in which he does not have daily substitute 

parental supervision.  

"Independent living services" means services and activities 

provided to a child in foster care 14 years of age or older who 

was committed or entrusted to a local board of social services, 

child welfare agency, or private child-placing agency. 

Independent living services may also mean services and 

activities provided to a person who (i) was in foster care on 

his 18th birthday and has not yet reached the age of 21 years 

or (ii) is at least 18 years of age and who, immediately prior 

to his commitment to the Department of Juvenile Justice, was 

in the custody of a local department of social services. Such 

services shall include counseling, education, housing, 

employment, and money management skills development, 

access to essential documents, and other appropriate services 

to help children or persons prepare for self-sufficiency.  

"Individual family service plan" or "IFSP" means the plan 

for services developed by the FAPT in accordance with § 2.2-

5208 of the Code of Virginia. 

"Intercountry placement" means the arrangement for the 

care of a child in an adoptive home or foster care placement 

into or out of the Commonwealth by a licensed child-placing 

agency, court, or other entity authorized to make such 

placements in accordance with the laws of the foreign country 

under which it operates.  

"Interstate Compact on the Placement of Children" or 

"ICPC" means a uniform law that has been enacted by all 50 

states, the District of Columbia, Puerto Rico, and the U.S. 
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Virgin Islands, which establishes orderly procedures for the 

interstate placement of children and sets responsibility for 

those involved in placing those children.  

"Interstate placement" means the arrangement for the care of 

a child in an adoptive home, foster care placement, or in the 

home of the child's parent or with a relative or nonagency 

guardian, into or out of the Commonwealth, by a child-

placing agency or court when the full legal right of the child's 

parent or nonagency guardian to plan for the child has been 

voluntarily terminated or limited or severed by the action of 

any court.  

"Investigation" means the process by which the child-

placing agency obtains information required by § 63.2-1208 

of the Code of Virginia about the placement and the 

suitability of the adoption. The findings of the investigation 

are compiled into a written report for the circuit court 

containing a recommendation on the action to be taken by the 

court. 

"Kinship foster parent" means a relative or fictive kin who 

gives 24-hour substitute family care, room and board, and 

services for children or youth committed or entrusted to a 

child-placing agency. 

"Local board" means the local board of social services in 

each county and city in the Commonwealth required by 

§ 63.2-300 of the Code of Virginia.  

"Local department" means the local department of social 

services of any county or city in the Commonwealth. 

"Nonagency placement adoption" means an adoption in 

which the child is not in the custody of a child-placing agency 

and is placed in the adoptive home directly by the birth parent 

or legal guardian.  

"Noncustodial foster care agreement" means an agreement 

that the local department enters into with the parent or 

guardian of a child to place the child in foster care when the 

parent or guardian retains custody of the child. The agreement 

specifies the conditions for placement and care of the child. 

"Nonrecurring expenses" means expenses of adoptive 

parents directly related to the adoption of a child with special 

needs as set out in § 63.2-1301 D of the Code of Virginia.  

"Normalcy" means allowing children and youth in foster 

care to experience childhood and adolescence in ways similar 

to their peers who are not in foster care by empowering foster 

parents and congregate care staff to use the reasonable and 

prudent parent standard as referenced in Public Law 113-183 

(42 USC §§ 671 and 675) when making decisions regarding 

extracurricular, enrichment, and social activities. 

"Parental placement" means locating or effecting the 

placement of a child or the placing of a child in a family 

home by the child's parent or legal guardian for the purpose 

of foster care or adoption.  

"Permanency" means establishing family connections and 

placement options for a child to provide a lifetime of 

commitment, continuity of care, a sense of belonging, and a 

legal and social status that go beyond a child's temporary 

foster care placements. 

"Permanency planning" means a social work practice 

philosophy that promotes establishing a permanent living 

situation for every child with an adult with whom the child 

has a continuous, reciprocal relationship within a minimum 

amount of time after the child enters the foster care system. 

"Prior custodian" means the person who had custody of the 

child and with whom the child resided, other than the birth 

parent, before custody was transferred to or placement made 

with the child-placing agency when that person had custody 

of the child. 

"Prior family" means the family with whom the child 

resided, including birth parents, relatives, or prior custodians, 

before custody was transferred to or placement made with the 

child-placing agency. 

"Putative Father Registry" means a confidential database 

designed to protect the rights of a putative father who wants 

to be notified in the event of a proceeding related to 

termination of parental rights or adoption for a child he may 

have fathered.  

"Reasonable and prudent parent standard," in accordance 

with 42 USC § 675(10), means the standard characterized by 

careful and sensible parental decisions that maintain the 

health, safety, and best interests of a child while at the same 

time encouraging the emotional and developmental growth of 

the child that foster parents and congregate care staff shall use 

when determining whether to allow a child in foster care to 

participate in extracurricular, enrichment, cultural, and social 

activities.  

"Residential placement" means a placement in a licensed 

publicly or privately owned facility, other than a private 

family home, where 24-hour care is provided to children 

separated from their families. A residential placement 

includes placements in children's residential facilities as 

defined in § 63.2-100 of the Code of Virginia.  

"Reunification" means the return of the child to his home 

after removal for reasons of child abuse and neglect, 

abandonment, child in need of services, parental request for 

relief of custody, noncustodial agreement, entrustment, or any 

other court-ordered removal. 

"Service worker" means a worker responsible for case 

management or service coordination for prevention, foster 

care, or adoption cases. 

"Sibling" means each of two or more children having one or 

more parents in common. 

"SSI" means Supplemental Security Income.  
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"State pool funds" means the pooled state and local funds 

administered by CSA and used to pay for services authorized 

by the CPMT. 

"Step-parent adoption" means the adoption of a child by a 

spouse or the adoption of a child by a former spouse of the 

birth or adoptive parent in accordance with § 63.2-1201.1 of 

the Code of Virginia. 

"Supervised independent living setting" means the residence 

of a person 18 years of age or older who is participating in the 

Fostering Futures program set forth in Article 2 (§ 63.2-917 

et seq.) of Chapter 9 of the Code of Virginia where 

supervision includes a monthly visit with a service worker or, 

when appropriate, contracted supervision. "Supervised 

independent living setting" does not include residential 

facilities or group homes.  

"Title IV-E" means the title of the Social Security Act that 

authorizes federal funds for foster care and adoption 

assistance. 

"Visitation and report" means the visits conducted pursuant 

to § 63.2-1212 of the Code of Virginia and the written report 

of the findings made in the course of the visitation. The report 

is filed in the circuit court in accordance with § 63.2-1212 of 

the Code of Virginia. 

"Wrap around services" means an individually designed set 

of services and supports provided to a child and his family 

that includes treatment services, personal support services, or 

any other supports necessary to achieve the desired outcome. 

Wrap around services are developed through a team 

approach. 

"Youth" means any child in foster care between 14 and 18 

years of age or any person 18 to 21 years of age transitioning 

out of foster care and receiving independent living services 

pursuant to § 63.2-905.1 of the Code of Virginia. "Youth" 

may also mean an individual older than the age of 16 years 

who is the subject of an adoption assistance agreement.  

22VAC40-201-105. Foster care for youth 18 to 21 years of 

age (Fostering Futures program). 

A. Foster care services shall be provided to youth who turn 

18 years of age while still in foster care on or after July 1, 

2016, until they reach 21 years of age if they qualify and have 

chosen to participate in the Fostering Futures program.  

B. Youth who qualify for the Fostering Futures program are 

those youth who (i) turn 18 years of age on or after July 1, 

2016, and were in the custody of a local Virginia department 

of social services but have not yet turned 21 years of age, 

including those who were in foster care under an entrustment 

agreement and (ii) are: 

1. Completing secondary education or an equivalent 

credential; 

2. Enrolled in an institution that provides post-secondary or 

vocational education; 

3. Participating in a program or activity designed to 

promote employment or remove barriers to employment; 

4. Employed at least 80 hours a month; or 

5. Are incapable of doing any of the activities described in 

subdivisions 1 through 4 of this subsection due to a 

medical condition, which incapability is supported by 

regularly updated information in the program participant's 

case plan. 

C. Fostering Futures program participants are eligible for 

independent living services as well as placement services; 

placements in congregate care are not allowable. 

D. Entry into the Fostering Futures program is considered a 

new foster care episode, and the youth shall be evaluated for 

Title IV-E funding or eligibility upon entering the program. 

E. There is no limit to the number of times a youth may exit 

and reenter the Fostering Futures program prior to his 21st 

birthday. 

F. Youth in foster care who are committed to the 

Department of Juvenile Justice prior to 18 years of age, turn 

18 years of age on or after July 1, 2016, and are not yet 21 

years of age, are eligible to enter the Fostering Futures 

program upon discharge from commitment.  

G. To enter the Fostering Futures program, participants and 

the local department shall enter into a Voluntary Continuing 

Services and Support Agreement (VCSSA). The VCSSA 

documents the following: 

1. The youth's agreement to voluntarily reenter foster care 

through self-entrustment. 

2. The requirement that the youth continue to meet one of 

the requirements listed in subsection B of this section and 

the youth's agreement to provide the local department with 

information related to verifying compliance, progress, or 

status or to otherwise provide consent for the local 

department to receive such information directly. 

3. The youth's agreement to participate in service and 

supports outlined in the foster care plan and transition plan 

and that the services and supports are to be provided to the 

youth no later than 30 days after execution of the VCSSA. 

4. The youth's legal status as an adult. 

5. The youth's agreement to report changes to the worker, 

be supervised by the local department, reside in a 

supervised independent living setting, and comply with 

program requirements and eligibility conditions. 

6. An explanation of the voluntary nature of program 

participation and termination.  
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7. The specific conditions that may result in termination by 

the local department. 

8. That the youth agrees to regular contact with the local 

department. 

9. That the youth agrees to timely payment of housing fees 

and other requirements deemed necessary based on the 

unique circumstances and needs of the youth related to a 

specific safety concern.  

a. The local department shall explore a variety of options 

to support the youth in timely payment of housing fees, 

including reviewing the youth's budget and money 

management assistance with the youth and discussing 

with the youth the option to have part of the maintenance 

payment sent directly to the housing provider.  

b. Any additional requirements outlined in the VCSSA 

shall be related to a specific safety need of the youth.  

H. The local department shall petition the juvenile and 

domestic relations court for a review of the agreement and 

approval of the youth's case plan no more than 30 days after 

execution of the VCSSA. 

I. The local department shall identify services and supports 

to be provided to the youth through use of the foster care plan 

and transition plan. Services and supports to be provided 

under Fostering Futures shall include where necessary: 

1. Medical care through the State Plan for Medical 

Assistance as long as eligibility is met; 

2. Housing, placement, and support in the form of foster 

care maintenance payments; and 

3. Case management services, including resources and 

services to be provided to the youth to meet the youth's 

individualized goals. All case plans shall be developed 

with the youth and, at the youth's option, include up to two 

members of the case planning team who are selected by the 

youth.  

J. The local department may issue a notice of intent to 

terminate the youth from the Fostering Futures program due 

to substantial violations of the VCSSA. When the local 

department believes the youth is at risk of substantial 

violation of the VCSSA, efforts shall be made to actively 

engage the youth in understanding the ramifications of 

noncompliance and to encourage the youth's compliance. The 

local department shall provide the youth a notice of the 

youth's right to appeal the termination decision. Services and 

supports provided to the youth shall continue for a minimum 

of 30 days from the date of the appeal notice. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R21-6388; Filed August 20, 2020, 8:19 a.m.  

 

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The State Board of Social Services 

is claiming an exemption from Article 2 of the Administrative 

Process Act in accordance with § 2.2-4006 A 4 a of the Code 

of Virginia, which excludes regulations that are necessary to 

conform to changes in Virginia statutory law or the 

appropriation act where no agency discretion is involved. The 

State Board of Social Services will receive, consider, and 

respond to petitions by any interested person at any time with 

respect to reconsideration or revision. 

Title of Regulation: 22VAC40-211. Foster and Adoptive 

Home Approval Standards for Local Departments of 

Social Services (amending 22VAC40-211-10, 22VAC40-

211-20, 22VAC40-211-70, 22VAC40-211-90).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 63.2-217 and 63.2-319 Code of 

Virginia. 

Effective Date: October 15, 2020.  

Agency Contact: Keisha Williams, Program Consultant, 

Department of Social Services, 801 East Main Street, 

Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 726-7550, FAX (804) 

726-7173, or email k.williams@dss.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

Pursuant to Chapter 562 of the 2020 Acts of Assembly, and 

consistent with waiver and foster family home capacity 

standards as outlined in the Family First Prevention 

Services Act of 2018 and defined in the Social Security Act, 

the amendments clarify that (i) local departments of social 

services (LDSS) must submit a waiver request to the 

commissioner when it is determined that training 

requirements are a barrier to placement with a kinship 

foster parent; (ii) the LDSS may not remove a child from 

the physical custody of the kinship foster parent during the 

approval process; (iii) waivers of any non-safety-related 

approval standard in kinship foster family homes may be 

made by an LDSS on a case-by-case basis; (iv) a wavier 

may be granted by LDSS for kinship foster parents for the 

purpose of approval for training, completion of the mutual 

family assessment, tuberculosis assessment, screening or 

tests, and physical examinations for a period not to exceed 

six months; and (v) the total number of children in foster 

care in a foster family home must not exceed six, unless 

specific exemptions apply.  

22VAC40-211-10. Definitions. 

The following words and terms when used in this chapter 

shall have the following meanings unless the context clearly 

indicates otherwise: 

"Adoptive parent" means any provider selected and 

approved by a parent or a local department for the placement 

of a child with the intent of adoption. 

"Adult" means any person 18 years of age or over older. 

mailto:k.williams@dss.virginia.gov
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"Applicant" means an individual or couple applying to be 

approved as a foster or adoptive home provider or to provide 

respite services. 

"Background checks" means a sworn statement or 

affirmation disclosing whether the individual has a criminal 

conviction, is the subject of any pending charges within or 

outside the Commonwealth of Virginia, and is the subject of a 

founded complaint of abuse or neglect within or outside the 

Commonwealth; criminal history record information; child 

abuse and neglect central registry check; and any other 

requirement as set forth in § 63.2-901.1 of the Code of 

Virginia.  

"Caretaker" means any individual having the responsibility 

of providing care for a child and includes the following: (i) 

parent or other person legally responsible for the child's care; 

(ii) an adult who by law, social custom, express or implied 

acquiescence, collective consensus, agreement, or any other 

legally recognizable basis has an obligation to look after the 

well-being of a child left in his care; and (iii) persons 

responsible by virtue of their positions of conferred authority. 

"Central registry" means a subset of the child abuse and 

neglect information system and is the name index with 

identifying information on an individual named as an abuser 

or neglector in founded child abuse or neglect complaints or 

reports not currently under administrative appeal, maintained 

by the department. 

"Child" means any natural person under 18 years of age. 

"Child-placing agency" means any person who places 

children in foster or adoptive homes or independent living 

arrangements pursuant to § 63.2-1819 of the Code of Virginia 

or a local board of social services that places children in 

foster homes or adoptive homes pursuant to § 63.2-900, 63.2-

903, or 63.2-1221 of the Code of Virginia. Officers, 

employees, or agents of the Commonwealth, or any locality 

acting within the scope of their authority as such, who serve 

as or maintain a child-placing agency, shall not be required to 

be licensed. 

"Child abuse and neglect information system" means the 

computer system that collects and maintains information 

regarding incidents of child abuse and neglect involving 

parents or other caretakers. The computer system is composed 

of three parts: the statistical information system with 

nonidentifying information, the central registry of founded 

complaints not on appeal, and a database that can be accessed 

only by the department and local departments that contains all 

nonpurged child protective services reports. This system is 

the official state automated system. 

"Commissioner" means the commissioner of the department, 

his designee, or authorized representative. 

"Corporal punishment" means punishment administered 

through the intentional infliction of pain or discomfort to the 

body through actions such as, but not limited to, (i) striking, 

or hitting with any part of the body or with an implement; (ii) 

pinching, pulling, or shaking; or (iii) any similar action that 

normally inflicts pain or discomfort. 

"Department" means the State Department of Social 

Services. 

"Dually approved" means applicants have met the required 

standards to be approved as a foster and adoptive family 

home provider. 

"Foster care placement" means placement of a child through 

(i) an agreement between the parents or guardians and the 

local board of social services where the legal custody remains 

with the parents or guardians or (ii) an entrustment or 

commitment of the child to the local board of social services 

or licensed child-placing agency. 

"Foster parent" means an approved provider who gives 24-

hour substitute family care, room and board, and services for 

children or youth committed or entrusted to a child-placing 

agency. 

"In-service training" means the ongoing instruction received 

by providers after they complete their preservice training.  

"Interstate Compact on the Placement of Children" means a 

uniform law that has been enacted by all 50 states, the District 

of Columbia, and the U.S. Virgin Islands that establishes 

orderly procedures for the interstate placement of children 

and sets responsibility for those involved in placing those 

children. 

"Kinship foster parent" means an approved a relative 

provider or fictive kin who gives 24-hour substitute family 

care, room and board, and services for children or youth 

committed or entrusted to a child-placing agency. 

"Local department" means the local department of social 

services of any county or city in the Commonwealth. 

"Normalcy" means allowing children and youth in foster 

care to experience childhood and adolescence in ways similar 

to their peers who are not in foster care by empowering foster 

parents and congregate care staff to use the reasonable and 

prudent parent standard as referenced in 42 USC 

§ 675(10)(A) when making decisions regarding 

extracurricular, enrichment, and social activities. 

"Parent" means the birth or adoptive parent of a child. 

"Preservice training" means the instruction received by 

providers during the initial approval process.  

"Provider" means an approved foster, adoptive, or kinship 

foster parent, or an individual approved to provide respite 

services. Individuals who wish to provide only respite 

services must meet all standards in this chapter unless there is 

a noted exception for respite providers. 
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"Respite care" means the provision of the service of 

temporary care for children on an emergency or planned basis 

for the purposes of providing placement stability, supporting 

the achievement of timely permanency, and promoting 

connections to relatives. Respite care services shall not 

exceed 14 consecutive days. 

22VAC40-211-20. Approval of provider homes. 

A. When applicants are approved in accordance with the 

standards of this chapter, they are approved as foster or 

adoptive providers. The approved provider shall be allowed to 

choose to provide only foster or adoptive care. 

B. If the relative provider cannot meet the standards 

described in this chapter, the local department may, upon its 

discretion, request a waiver on certain standards in 

accordance with 22VAC40-211-90. If the waiver is not 

allowed, the local department shall not approve the home for 

the placement of children. Providers must meet all standards 

of approval. Waivers may be granted in order to approve 

kinship foster parents as outlined in 22VAC40-211-90. 

C. The standards of this chapter apply to adoptive home 

providers until the final order of adoption is issued for a 

specific child. The standards continue to apply after the final 

order of adoption if the provider wishes to continue as an 

approved foster care provider. 

D. Local departments may grant emergency approval of a 

provider. 

1. Emergency approvals shall include: 

a. Completed background checks; and 

b. A home visit by the local department prior to or on the 

day of the placement. 

2. Emergency approvals shall not exceed 60 days. 

3. Emergency approval of a provider may be granted when 

the placement: 

a. Is with a relative;  

b. Is with an adult known to the family; or 

c. Will facilitate the child remaining in the community.  

E. D. All local department-approved providers shall: 

1. Be at least 18 years of age; 

2. Agree not to use corporal punishment with the child in 

their care or allow others to do so and shall sign an 

agreement to that effect; and 

3. Sign a confidentiality agreement indicating that the 

individual completing the mutual family assessment for the 

local department explained the confidential nature of the 

information related to the child in his care and of the 

requirement to maintain that confidentiality.  

F. E. If the approval process results in the local department's 

denial of the application, the local department shall notify the 

applicant in writing of its decision. A copy of the letter shall 

be filed in the applicant's record.  

22VAC40-211-70. Standards for the home of the provider. 

A. The home shall have sufficient appropriate space and 

furnishings for each child receiving care in the home 

including:  

1. Space to keep clothing and other personal belongings;  

2. Accessible basin and toilet facilities;  

3. Safe, comfortable sleeping furnishings;  

4. Sleeping space on the first floor of the home for a child 

unable to use stairs unassisted, other than a child who can 

easily be carried; and 

5. Space for recreational activities.  

B. All rooms used by the child shall be heated in winter, dry, 

and well-ventilated and have appropriate access to exits in 

case of emergency.  

C. Rooms and study space used by the child shall have 

adequate lighting.  

D. The provider and children shall have access to a working 

telephone in the home.  

E. Multiple children sharing a bedroom shall each have 

adequate space including closet and storage space. Bedrooms 

shall have adequate square footage for each child to have 

personal space.  

F. Children over the age of two years shall not share a bed. 

G. Children over the age of two shall not share a bedroom 

with an adult unless the local department approves and 

documents a plan to allow the child to sleep in the adult's 

bedroom due to documented needs, disabilities, or other 

specified conditions. Children of any age cannot share a bed 

with an adult. 

H. Children of the opposite sex over the age of three shall 

not sleep in the same room.  

I. Children under age seven or children with significant and 

documented cognitive or physical disabilities shall not use the 

top bunk of bunk beds. 

J. The home and grounds shall be free from litter and debris 

and present no hazard to the safety of the child receiving care.  

1. The provider shall permit a fire inspection of the home 

by appropriate authorities if conditions indicate a need and 

the local department requests such an inspection.  

2. Possession of any weapons, including firearms, in the 

home shall comply with federal and state laws and local 

ordinances. The provider shall store any firearms and other 



Regulations 

Volume 37, Issue 2 Virginia Register of Regulations September 14, 2020 

453 

weapons with the activated safety mechanisms, in a locked 

closet or cabinet. Ammunition shall be stored in a separate 

and locked area. The key or combination to the locked 

closet or cabinet shall be maintained out of the reach of all 

children in the home. 

3. Providers shall ensure that household pets are not a 

health or safety hazard in accordance with state laws and 

local ordinances and the local department shall request 

verification of provider compliance. 

4. Providers shall keep cleaning supplies and other toxic 

substances stored away from food and locked as 

appropriate. Medications shall be out of reach of children 

and locked as appropriate. Medications shall be stored 

separately from food, except those medicines that require 

refrigeration.  

5. Every home shall have an operable smoke detector, the 

specific requirements of which shall be coordinated 

through the local fire marshal. If a locality does not have a 

local fire marshal, the state fire marshal shall be contacted. 

6. Every home shall contain basic first aid supplies.  

K. The number of children in the provider's home shall not 

exceed eight. No more than six children in foster care may be 

placed in the home of a provider. Factors to consider in 

determining capacity include, but are not limited to:  

1. The physical accommodations of the home;  

2. The capabilities and skills of the provider to manage the 

number of children;  

3. The needs and special requirements of the child;  

4. Whether the child's best interest requires placement in a 

certain type of home; 

5. Whether any individuals in the home, including the 

provider's children, requirespecial attention or services of 

the provider that interfere with the provider's ability to 

ensure the safety of all children in the home; and 

6. Whether the foster care provider is also a child care 

provider. 

L. The number of foster children who may be cared for in a 

home under subsection K of this section may exceed the 

numerical limitation in subsection K for any of the following 

reasons: 

1. To allow a parenting youth in foster care to remain with 

the child of the parenting youth. 

2. To allow siblings to remain together. 

3. To allow a child with an established meaningful 

relationship with the family to remain with the family. 

4. To allow a family with special training or skills to 

provide care to a child who has a severe disability. 

M. During the approval process, the provider shall develop a 

written emergency plan that includes, but is not limited to, 

fire and natural disasters. The plan shall include: 

1. How the provider plans to maintain the safety and meet 

the needs of the child in the provider's home during a 

disaster; 

2. How the provider shall evacuate the home, if necessary, 

in a disaster; and 

3. How the provider shall relocate in the event of a large 

scale evacuation.  

M. N. Providers shall arrange for responsible adults to be 

available who can serve in the caretaker's role in case of an 

emergency. If the planned or long-term absence of the 

provider is required, the local department shall be notified of 

and approve any substitute arrangements the provider wishes 

to make. 

N. O. In the event of a large scale evacuation due to a 

disaster, if the provider cannot reach the local department, the 

provider shall call the State Child Abuse Hotline to notify the 

department of the provider's location and contact information. 

22VAC40-211-90. Allowing a waiver. 

A. The local department may request and the provider may 

receive a permanent or temporary waiver from the department 

on a standard if the waiver does not jeopardize the safety and 

proper care of the child or violate federal or state laws or 

local ordinances. 

B. If a provider is granted a waiver and is in compliance 

with all other requirements of this chapter, the provider is 

considered fully approved. C. Any waivers granted are 

considered on a case-by-case basis and must be reviewed on 

an annual basis by the department. To allow children to be 

placed with kinship foster parents, temporary waivers may be 

granted for preservice training, completion of a mutual family 

assessment, tuberculosis assessment, screening, or tests and 

physical examinations for a period not to exceed six months. 

Permanent waivers related to standards for the home of a 

provider as referenced in 22VAC40-211-70 may be granted 

to kinship foster parents. 

C. If a provider is granted a waiver and is in compliance 

with all other requirements of this chapter, the provider is 

considered fully approved. 

D. Any temporary waivers granted are for a period not to 

exceed six months. Before the end of the six-month period, 

the kinship foster parent must have completed all 

requirements that had previously been waived under 

subsection B of this section. 

E. Any permanent waivers granted are considered on a case-

by-case basis and must be reviewed on an annual basis by the 

department. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R21-6387; Filed August 20, 2020, 8:22 a.m.  
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Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The State Board of Social Services 

is claiming an exemption from Article 2 of the Administrative 

Process Act in accordance with § 2.2-4006 A 4 a of the Code 

of Virginia, which excludes regulations that are necessary to 

conform to changes in Virginia statutory law or the 

appropriation act where no agency discretion is involved. The 

State Board of Social Services will receive, consider, and 

respond to petitions by any interested person at any time with 

respect to reconsideration or revision. 

Title of Regulation: 22VAC40-295. Temporary Assistance 

for Needy Families (TANF) (amending 22VAC40-295-

150).  

Statutory Authority: § 63.2-217 of the Code of Virginia.  

Effective Date: October 15, 2020.  

Agency Contact: Mark Golden, Program Manager, 

Department of Social Services, 801 East Main Street, 

Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 726-7385, FAX (804) 

726-7357, or email mark.golden@dss.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

Pursuant to Chapter 1159 of the 2020 Acts of Assembly, 

the amendments (i) increase the maximum amount of 

Temporary Assistance for Needy Families-Emergency 

Assistance (TANF-EA) to $1,500 and (ii) add eviction 

prevention as a qualifying circumstance for eligibility.  

22VAC40-295-150. TANF-Emergency Assistance (TANF-

EA).  

A. A family shall be eligible for TANF-EA if all of the 

following conditions are met:  

1. The assistance meets TANF requirements specified in 

§ 63.2-614 of the Code of Virginia.  

2. The emergency assistance is necessary to avoid 

destitution of the child or to provide living arrangements 

for him in a home.  

3. The child's need is the result of a disaster or a fire. The 

TANF-EA is for eviction prevention or to address needs 

resulting from a fire or natural disaster. 

4. For current TANF recipients, disaster-related needs can 

be met through TANF-EA in addition to the regular TANF 

money payment. The TANF-EA payment does not affect 

the regular TANF money payment. A TANF-EA payment 

may not be issued, however, to replace money lost by the 

recipient or for the loss of earnings.  

B. The amount of assistance provided shall be up to $500 

$1,500 per emergency occurrence. The amount of the 

payment is based on immediate needs of the applicant.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R21-6449; Filed August 20, 2020, 8:21 a.m.  

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The State Board of Social Services 

is claiming an exemption from Article 2 of the Administrative 

Process Act in accordance with § 2.2-4006 A 4 a of the Code 

of Virginia, which excludes regulations that are necessary to 

conform to changes in Virginia statutory law or the 

appropriation act where no agency discretion is involved. The 

State Board of Social Services will receive, consider, and 

respond to petitions by any interested person at any time with 

respect to reconsideration or revision. 

Title of Regulation: 22VAC40-665. Child Care Program 

(amending 22VAC40-665-180, 22VAC40-665-530).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 63.2-217, 63.2-319, and 63.2-611 of 

the Code of Virginia; 45 CFR 98.11. 

Effective Date: October 15, 2020.  

Agency Contact: Jennifer Gibbons, Senior Program 

Consultant, Department of Social Services, 801 East Main 

Street, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 726-6749, or 

email jennifer.gibbons@dss.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

Pursuant to Chapter 936 of the 2020 Acts of Assembly, the 

amendments require certain child care providers to 

require employees, applicants for employment, volunteers, 

or applicants to serve as volunteers to submit to 

background checks that include a criminal history record 

information check and sex offender registry check in any 

state in which the employee, volunteer, or applicant has 

resided in the preceding five years.  

22VAC40-665-180. Caregiver records. 

The following records shall be kept for each caregiver: 

1. Name, address, verification of age, and date of 

employment or volunteering. 

2. Documentation that background checks were completed, 

including: 

a. The department's letter indicating eligibility to be hired 

provided by the department or the department's 

contractor indicating: 

(1) Satisfactory results of the fingerprint-based national 

criminal background check; and  

(2) Satisfactory results of the Virginia Child Protective 

Services Central Registry check. 

b. Satisfactory results of the child abuse and neglect 

registry from any other state in which the individual has 

resided in the preceding five years. 

c. Results of a criminal history record information check 

and sex offender registry check from any state in which 

the person has resided in the preceding five years. 

mailto:mark.golden@dss.virginia.gov
mailto:jennifer.gibbons@dss.virginia.gov
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d. The individual's sworn statement or affirmation as to 

whether the individual has ever been: 

(1) The subject of a founded complaint of child abuse or 

neglect within or outside the Commonwealth; or 

(2) Convicted of a crime or is the subject of any pending 

criminal charges with the Commonwealth or any 

equivalent offense outside the Commonwealth. 

d. e. The vendor shall have such documentation for any 

individual who begins employment or service after the 

vendor agreement has been signed in the file within 30 

days of the individual's beginning date of employment or 

service.  

e. f. Documentation of subsequent background checks 

conducted every five years. 

3. Tuberculosis screening results. 

4. Certifications for first aid, cardiopulmonary 

resuscitation, and other certifications as required by the 

responsibilities held by the caregiver. 

5. Documentation that training required by 22VAC40-665-

230 has been completed that includes the name and topic 

of the training, the date completed, the total hours of the 

session, and the names of the organization that sponsored 

the training and of the trainer. 

6. Date of separation from employment where applicable. 

7. Documentation of the health requirements under 

22VAC40-665-190. 

22VAC40-665-530. Staff records. 

The following records shall be kept for each staff person: 

1. Name, address, verification of age, and date of 

employment or volunteering. 

2. Documentation that background checks were completed, 

including: 

a. The department's letter indicating eligibility to be hired 

provided by the department or the department's 

contractor indicating:  

(1) Satisfactory results of the fingerprint-based national 

criminal background check; and 

(2) Satisfactory results of the Virginia Child Protective 

Services Central Registry check. 

b. Satisfactory results of the child abuse and neglect 

registry from any other state in which the individual has 

resided in the preceding five years. 

c. Results of a criminal history record information check 

and sex offender registry check from any state in which 

the person has resided in the preceding five years. 

d. The individual's sworn statement or affirmation as to 

whether the individual has ever been: 

(1) The subject of a founded complaint of child abuse or 

neglect within or outside the Commonwealth; or 

(2) Convicted of a crime or is the subject of any pending 

criminal charges within the Commonwealth or any 

equivalent offense outside the Commonwealth. 

d. e. The vendor shall have documentation for any 

individual who begins employment or service after the 

vendor agreement has been signed in the file within 30 

days of the individual's beginning date of employment or 

service.  

e. f. Documentation of subsequent background checks 

conducted every five years.  

3. Tuberculosis screening results. 

4. Certifications of first aid and cardiopulmonary 

resuscitation and other certifications as required by the 

responsibilities held by the staff member. 

5. Documentation that training required in 22VAC-665-

580 has been completed, including the date completed, the 

total hours of the session, and the names of the trainer and 

of any sponsoring organization.  

6. Date of separation from employment where applicable. 

7. Documentation of the health requirements under 

22VAC40-665-540. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R21-6435; Filed August 20, 2020, 8:23 a.m.  

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The State Board of Social Services 

is claiming an exemption from Article 2 of the Administrative 

Process Act in accordance with § 2.2-4006 A 4 a of the Code 

of Virginia, which excludes regulations that are necessary to 

conform to changes in Virginia statutory law or the 

appropriation act where no agency discretion is involved. The 

State Board of Social Services will receive, consider, and 

respond to petitions by any interested person at any time with 

respect to reconsideration or revision. 

Title of Regulation: 22VAC40-665. Child Care Program 

(amending 22VAC40-665-650).  

Statutory Authority: § 63.2-217 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: October 15, 2020.  

Agency Contact: Jennifer Gibbons, Senior Program 

Consultant, Department of Social Services, 801 East Main 

Street, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 726-6749, or 

email jennifer.gibbons@dss.virginia.gov. 

mailto:jennifer.gibbons@dss.virginia.gov
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Summary: 

Pursuant to Chapters 494 and 495 of the 2020 Acts of 

Assembly, the amendments conform staff ratios for 

religious-exempt child day centers participating in the 

Subsidy Program to § 63.2-1716 of the Code of Virginia so 

that when a group of children receiving care includes 

children from different age brackets, the staff-to-child ratio 

applicable to the youngest child in the group applies to the 

entire group of children.  

22VAC40-665-650. Supervision, ratio, and group size 

requirements. 

A. The vendor, except those exempt from licensure operated 

by or under the auspices of a religious institution, shall ensure 

that the following ratio requirements are maintained: 

1. For children from birth to the age of 16 months: one 

staff member for every four children; 

2. For children 16 months to two years: one staff member 

for every five children; 

3. For two-year-old children: one staff member for every 

eight children; 

4. For children from three years to the age of eligibility to 

attend public school, five years by September 30: one staff 

member for every 10 children; 

5. For children from age of eligibility to attend public 

school through eight years: one staff member for every 18 

children; and 

6. For children from nine years through 12 years of age: 

one staff member for every 20 children. 

B. Except during meals or snacks, the designated rest period, 

evening and overnight sleep time, outdoor play, field trips, 

special group activities, or during the first and last hour of 

operation when the vendor operates more than six hours per 

day, the vendor, except those exempt from licensure operated 

by or under the auspices of a religious institution, shall ensure 

that the following group size requirements are maintained at 

all times: 

1. For children from birth to the age of 16 months: the 

maximum group size is 12 children; 

2. For children 16 months to two years: the maximum 

group size is 15 children; 

3. For two-year-old children: the maximum group size is 

24 children; and 

4. For children from three years to the age of eligibility to 

attend public school, five years by September 30: the 

maximum group size is 30 children. 

Group size requirements in this section do not apply to 

children school age eligible through 12 years of age or when a 

variance has been granted by the Division of Licensing 

Programs. 

C. Facilities operated by, or under the auspices of, a 

religious institution and exempt from licensure shall employ 

supervisory personnel as set forth in § 63.2-1716 of the Code 

of Virginia and shall ensure the following ratio requirements 

are maintained: 

1. One staff member to four children from ages zero to 16 

months; 

2. One staff member to five children from ages 16 months 

to 24 months; 

3. One staff member to eight children from ages 24 months 

to 36 months; 

4. One staff member to 10 children from ages 36 months to 

five years; 

5. One staff member to 20 children from ages five years to 

nine years; and 

6. One staff member to 25 children from ages nine years to 

12 years. 

When a group of children receiving care includes children 

from different age brackets, the age of the youngest child in 

the group shall be used to determine the staff-to-children ratio 

that applies to that group. 

D. With the exception of when meals or snacks are served, 

the designated rest period, evening and overnight sleep time, 

outdoor play, and field trips, special group activities, or 

during the first and last hour of operation when the vendor 

operates more than six hours per day, facilities operated by, 

or under the auspices, of a religious institution and are exempt 

from licensure shall ensure the following group size 

requirements are maintained at all times: 

1. For children from birth to two years of age: the 

maximum group size is 12 children;  

2. For children from two years to six years of age: the 

maximum group size is 30 children; and 

3. For children who are six years up to 12 years of age: 

group size requirements in this section do not apply. 

Vendors operated by, or under the auspices, of a religious 

institution must have a staff member present for each age 

group of children as defined in § 63.2-1716 of the Code of 

Virginia. Example: one staff must be present for any of the 

children age birth to 24 months, an additional staff member 

must be present if any of the children are ages two to six 

years, and a third staff member must be present if any 

children are ages six to 12 years. 

E. The vendor shall develop and implement a written policy 

and procedure that describes how the vendor will ensure that 
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each group of children receives care by consistent staff or 

team of staff members. 

F. Staff shall be counted in the required staff-to-children 

ratios only when they are directly supervising children.  

G. When children are in ongoing mixed age groups, the 

staff-to-children ratio and group size applicable to the 

youngest child in the group shall apply to the entire group. 

H. Children less than 10 years of age shall always be within 

actual sight and sound supervision of staff, except that staff 

need only be able to hear a child who is using the restroom 

provided that:  

1. There is a system to ensure that individuals who are not 

staff members or persons allowed to pick up a child in care 

do not enter the restroom area while in use by children; and  

2. Staff checks on a child who has not returned from the 

restroom after five minutes. Depending on the location and 

layout of the restroom, staff may need to provide 

intermittent sight supervision of the children in the 

restroom area during this five-minute period to assure the 

safety of children and to provide assistance to children as 

needed.  

I. Children 10 years of age and older shall be within actual 

sight and sound supervision of staff except when the 

following requirements are met:  

1. Staff can hear or see the children (video equipment, 

intercom systems, or other technological devices shall not 

substitute for staff being able to directly see or hear 

children);  

2. Staff are nearby so that they can provide immediate 

intervention if needed;  

3. There is a system to ensure that staff know where the 

children are and what they are doing;  

4. There is a system to ensure that individuals who are not 

staff members or persons allowed to pick up children in 

care do not enter the areas where children are not under 

sight supervision; and  

5. Staff provides sight and sound supervision of the 

children at variable and unpredictable intervals not to 

exceed 15 minutes.  

J. When the outdoor activity area is not adjacent to the 

center, there shall be at least two staff members in the outdoor 

activity area whenever one or more children are present.  

K. Staff shall not allow a child to leave the center 

unsupervised.  

L. For vendors operated by, or under the auspices of, a 

religious institution and exempt from licensure, during 

designated rest periods and the designated sleep period of 

evening and overnight care programs, the ratio of staff to 

children over 16 months of age may be double the number of 

children to each staff required by subsection C of this section 

if: 

1. The staff person shall be present in the same space as 

sleeping children; 

2. Staff counted in the overall rest period ratio are on the 

same floor as the sleeping or resting children and available 

in case of emergency; and  

3. An additional person is present to help. 

Once at least half of the children in the resting room or area 

are awake and off their mats or cots, the staff-to-child ratio 

shall meet the ratios as required in subsection C of this 

section.  

M. For vendors not operated by, or under the auspices of, a 

religious institution, during designated rest periods and the 

designated sleep period of evening and overnight care 

programs, the ratio of staff to children over 16 months of age 

may be double the number of children to each staff required 

by subsection A of this section if: 

1. The staff person shall be present in the same space as 

sleeping children; 

2. Staff counted in the overall rest period ratio are on the 

same floor as the sleeping or resting children and available 

in case of emergency; and 

3. An additional person is present to help. 

Once at least half of the children in the resting room or area 

are awake and off their mats or cots, the staff-to-child ratio 

shall meet the ratios as required in subsection A of this 

section.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R21-6409; Filed August 20, 2020, 8:20 a.m.  

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The State Board of Social Services 

is claiming an exemption from Article 2 of the Administrative 

Process Act in accordance with § 2.2-4006 A 4 a of the Code 

of Virginia, which excludes regulations that are necessary to 

conform to changes in Virginia statutory law or the 

appropriation act where no agency discretion is involved. The 

State Board of Social Services will receive, consider, and 

respond to petitions by any interested person at any time with 

respect to reconsideration or revision. 

Title of Regulation: 22VAC40-705. Child Protective 

Services (amending 22VAC40-705-60, 22VAC40-705-120, 

22VAC40-705-130, 22VAC40-705-140).  

Statutory Authority: § 63.2-217 of the Code of Virginia.  

Effective Date: October 15, 2020.  

Agency Contact: Mary Walter, Child Protective Services 

Program Consultant, Department of Social Services, 801 East 
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Main Street, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 726-

7569, FAX (804) 726-7499, or email 

mary.walter@dss.virgnia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendments implement the requirements of legislation 

passed during the 2020 Session of the General Assembly, 

including (i) Chapters 5 and 228, extending the family 

assessment completion timeframe to 60 days and removing 

the ability of a local department of social services (LDSS) 

to extend the completion timeframe for the family 

assessment; (ii) Chapters 6 and 234, changing the name of 

the sex trafficking assessment to the human trafficking 

assessment and allowing an LDSS conducting human 

trafficking assessments to interview the alleged child 

victim or any sibling of that child, without the consent of 

and outside the presence of the child's or the child's 

sibling's parent, guardian, legal custodian, other person 

standing in loco parentis, or school personnel; and (iii) 

Chapter 38, extending the retention time for unfounded 

Child Protective Services investigations to three years.  

22VAC40-705-60. Authorities of local departments.  

A. When responding to valid complaints or reports, local 

departments have the following authorities:  

1. To talk to any child suspected of being abused or 

neglected, or child's siblings, without the consent of and 

outside the presence of the parent or other caretaker, as set 

forth by § 63.2-1518 of the Code of Virginia.  

2. To take or arrange for photographs and x-rays of a child 

who is the subject of a complaint without the consent of 

and outside the presence of the parent or other caretaker, as 

set forth in § 63.2-1520 of the Code of Virginia.  

3. To take a child into custody on an emergency removal 

under such circumstances as set forth in § 63.2-1517 of the 

Code of Virginia.  

a. A child protective services worker planning to take a 

child into emergency custody shall first consult with a 

supervisor. However, this requirement shall not delay 

action on the child protective services worker's part if a 

supervisor cannot be contacted and the situation requires 

immediate action.  

b. When circumstances warrant that a child be taken into 

emergency custody during a family assessment, the 

report shall be reassigned immediately as an 

investigation.  

c. Any person who takes a child into custody pursuant to 

§ 63.2-1517 of the Code of Virginia shall be immune 

from any civil or criminal liability in connection 

therewith, unless it is proven that such person acted in 

bad faith or with malicious intent.  

d. The local department shall have the authority to have a 

complete medical examination made of the child 

including a written medical report and, when appropriate, 

photographs and x-rays pursuant to § 63.2-1520 of the 

Code of Virginia.  

e. When a child in emergency custody is in need of 

immediate medical or surgical treatment, the local 

director of social services or his designee may consent to 

such treatment when the parent does not provide consent 

and a court order is not immediately obtainable.  

f. When a child is not in the local department's custody, 

the local department cannot consent to medical or 

surgical treatment of the child.  

g. When a child is removed, every effort must be made to 

obtain an emergency removal order within four hours. 

Reasons for not doing so shall be stated in the petition for 

an emergency removal order.  

h. Every effort shall be made to provide notice of the 

removal in person to the parent or guardian as soon as 

practicable.  

i. Within 30 days of removing a child from the custody of 

the parents or legal guardians, the local department shall 

exercise due diligence to identify and notify in writing all 

maternal and paternal grandparents and other adult 

relatives of the child (including any other adult relatives 

suggested by the parents) and all parents who have legal 

custody of any siblings of the child being removed and 

explain the options they have to participate in the care 

and placement of the child, subject to exceptions due to 

family or domestic violence. These notifications shall be 

documented in the state automated system. When 

notification to any of these relatives is not made, the 

local department shall document the reasons in the state 

automated system. 

B. When responding to a complaint or report of abuse or 

neglect involving the human trafficking of a child, local 

departments may take a child into custody and maintain 

custody of the child for up to 72 hours without prior approval 

of a parent or guardian, provided that the alleged victim child 

has been identified as a victim of human trafficking as 

defined in § 63.2-100 of the Code of Virginia; the federal 

Trafficking Victims Protection Act of 2000 (22 USC § 7102 

et seq.); and the federal Justice for Victims of Trafficking Act 

of 2015 (42 USC § 5101 et seq.) and pursuant to § 63.2-1517 

of the Code of Virginia. 

1. After taking the child into custody, the local department 

shall notify the parent or guardian of such child as soon as 

practicable. Every effort shall be made to provide such 

notice in person. 

mailto:mary.walter@dss.virgnia.gov
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2. The local department shall also notify the Child-

Protective Services Unit within the department whenever a 

child is taken into custody. 

3. When a child is taken into custody by a child-protective 

services worker of a local department pursuant to this 

subsection, that child shall be returned as soon as 

practicable to the custody of his parent or guardian. 

However, the local department shall not be required to 

return the child to his parent or guardian if the 

circumstances are such that continuing in his place of 

residence or in the care or custody of such parent or 

guardian, or custodian or other person responsible for the 

child's care, presents an imminent danger to the child's life 

or health to the extent that severe or irremediable injury 

would be likely to result or if the evidence of abuse is 

perishable or subject to deterioration before a hearing can 

be held. 

4. If the local department cannot return the child to the 

custody of his parents or guardians within 72 hours, the 

local department shall obtain an emergency removal order 

pursuant to § 16.1-251 of the Code of Virginia. 

C. When conducting a human trafficking assessment 

pursuant to § 63.2-1506.1 of the Code of Virginia, the local 

department may interview the alleged child victim or any 

sibling of that child without the consent and outside the 

presence of such child's or such child's sibling's parent, 

guardian, legal custodian, or other person standing in loco 

parentis, or school personnel. 

22VAC40-705-120. Extensions and suspensions.  

A. The local department shall promptly notify the alleged 

abuser or neglector and the alleged victim's parents or 

guardians of any extension of the deadline for the completion 

of the family assessment or investigation pursuant to § 63.2-

1505 B 5 or § 63.2-1506 B 3 of the Code of Virginia. The 

child protective services worker shall document the 

notifications and the reason for the need for additional time in 

the case record. 

B. Pursuant to § 63.2-1505 B 5 of the Code of Virginia, 

when an investigation involving the death of a child or 

alleged sexual abuse of a child is delayed because of the 

unavailability of the records, the deadlines shall be 

suspended. When such unavailability of records occurs, the 

local department shall promptly notify the alleged abuser or 

neglector and the alleged victim's parents or guardians that 

the records are unavailable and the effect of the unavailability 

on the completion of the investigation. The child protective 

services worker shall document the notifications and the 

reason for the suspension in the case record. Upon receipt of 

the records necessary to make a finding, the local department 

shall complete the investigation.  

C. The subject of the report shall be notified immediately if 

during the course of completing the family assessment the 

situation is reassessed and determined to meet the 

requirements, as specified in § 63.2-1506 B 7 of the Code of 

Virginia, to be investigated. 

D. The subject of the report or complaint may consult with 

the local department to hear and refute evidence collected 

during the investigation. If a criminal charge is also filed 

against the alleged abuser for the same conduct involving the 

same victim child as investigated by the local department, 

pursuant to § 63.2-1516.1 B of the Code of Virginia, no 

information gathered during a joint investigation with law 

enforcement shall be released by the local department prior to 

the conclusion of the criminal investigation unless authorized 

by the investigating law-enforcement agency or the local 

attorney for the Commonwealth. 

22VAC40-705-130. Reporting of family assessment or 

investigation conclusions.  

A. Unfounded investigation.  

1. Pursuant to § 63.2-1514 of the Code of Virginia, the 

local department shall report all unfounded case 

dispositions to the child abuse and neglect information 

system when disposition is made.  

2. The department shall retain complaints or reports with 

an unfounded disposition in the child abuse and neglect 

information system to provide local departments with 

information regarding prior investigations.  

3. This record shall be kept separate from the Central 

Registry and accessible only to the department and to local 

departments.  

4. The record of the investigation with an unfounded 

disposition shall be purged one year three years after the 

date of the complaint or report if there are no subsequent 

complaints or reports regarding the individual against 

whom allegations of abuse or neglect were made or 

regarding the same child in that one year those three years.  

5. The individual against whom an unfounded disposition 

for allegations of abuse or neglect was made may request 

in writing that the local department retain the record for an 

additional period of up to two years.  

6. The individual against whom allegations of abuse or 

neglect were made may request in writing that both the 

local department and the department shall immediately 

purge the record upon presentation of a certified copy of a 

court order that there has been a civil action that 

determined that the complaint or report was made in bad 

faith or with malicious intent pursuant to § 63.2-1514 of 

the Code of Virginia.  

B. Founded investigation. 

1. The local department shall report all founded 

dispositions to the child abuse and neglect information 
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system for inclusion in the Central Registry pursuant to 

§ 63.2-1515 of the Code of Virginia.  

2. Identifying information about the abuser or neglector 

and the victim child or children reported include 

demographic information, type of abuse or neglect, and 

date of the complaint.  

3. The identifying information shall be retained based on 

the determined level of severity of the abuse or neglect 

pursuant to 22VAC40-705-110: 

a. Eighteen years past the date of the complaint for all 

complaints determined by the local department to be 

founded as Level 1.  

b. Seven years past the date of the complaint for all 

complaints determined by the local department to be 

founded as Level 2.  

c. Three years past the date of the complaint for all 

complaints determined by the local department to be 

founded as Level 3.  

4. Pursuant to § 63.2-1514 A of the Code of Virginia, all 

records related to founded, Level 1 dispositions of sexual 

abuse shall be maintained by the local department for a 

period of 25 years from the date of the complaint. This 

applies to all investigations with founded dispositions on 

or after July 1, 2010. This retention timeframe will not be 

reflected in the Central Registry past the purge dates set 

out in this subsection.  

C. Family assessments. 

1. The record of the family assessment shall be purged 

three years after the date of the complaint or report if there 

are no subsequent complaints or reports regarding the 

individual against whom allegations of abuse or neglect 

were made or regarding the same child in those three years. 

2. The individual against whom allegations of abuse or 

neglect were made may request in writing that both the 

local department and the department shall immediately 

purge the record upon presentation of a certified copy of a 

court order that there has been a civil action that 

determined that the complaint or report was made in bad 

faith or with malicious intent pursuant to § 63.2-1514 of 

the Code of Virginia. 

D. In all family assessments or investigations, if the 

individual against whom the allegations of abuse or neglect is 

involved in any subsequent complaint or report, the 

information from all complaints or reports shall be 

maintained until the last purge date has been reached.  

22VAC40-705-140. Notification of findings. 

A. Upon completion of the investigation or family 

assessment the local child protective services worker shall 

make notifications as provided in this section. 

B. Individual against whom allegations of abuse or neglect 

were made. 

1. When the disposition is unfounded, the child protective 

services worker shall inform the individual against whom 

allegations of abuse or neglect were made of this finding. 

This notification shall be in writing with a copy to be 

maintained in the case record. The individual against 

whom allegations of abuse or neglect were made shall be 

informed that he may have access to the case record and 

that the case record shall be retained by the local 

department for one year three years unless requested in 

writing by such individual that the local department retain 

the record for up to an additional two years. 

a. If the individual against whom allegations of abuse or 

neglect were made or the subject child is involved in 

subsequent complaints, the information from all 

complaints shall be retained until the last purge date has 

been reached. 

b. The local worker shall notify the individual against 

whom allegations of abuse or neglect were made of the 

procedures set forth in § 63.2-1514 of the Code of 

Virginia regarding reports or complaints alleged to be 

made in bad faith or with malicious intent. 

c. In accordance with § 32.1-283.1 D of the Code of 

Virginia when an unfounded disposition is made in an 

investigation that involves a child death, the child 

protective services worker shall inform the individual 

against whom allegations of abuse or neglect were made 

that the case record will be retained for the longer of 12 

months three years or until the State Child Fatality 

Review Team has completed its review of the case. 

2. When the abuser or neglector in a founded disposition is 

a foster parent of the victim child, the local department 

shall place a copy of this notification letter in the child's 

foster care record and in the foster home provider record.  

3. When the abuser or neglector in a founded disposition is 

a full-time, part-time, permanent, or temporary employee 

of a school division, the local department shall notify the 

relevant school board of the founded complaint pursuant to 

§ 63.2-1505 B 7 of the Code of Virginia. 

4. The local department shall notify the Superintendent of 

Public Instruction when an individual holding a license 

issued by the Board of Education is the subject of a 

founded complaint of child abuse or neglect and shall 

transmit identifying information regarding such individual 

if the local department knows the person holds a license 

issued by the Board of Education and after all rights to any 

appeal provided by § 63.2-1526 of the Code of Virginia 

have been exhausted. 

5. No disposition of founded or unfounded shall be made 

in a family assessment. At the completion of the family 
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assessment the subject of the report shall be notified orally 

and in writing of the results of the assessment. The child 

protective services worker shall notify the individual 

against whom allegations of abuse or neglect were made of 

the procedures set forth in § 63.2-1514 of the Code of 

Virginia regarding reports or complaints alleged to be 

made in bad faith or with malicious intent. 

C. Subject child's parents or guardian. 

1. When the disposition is unfounded, the child protective 

services worker shall inform the parents or guardian of the 

subject child in writing, when they are not the individuals 

against whom allegations of child abuse or neglect were 

made, that the investigation involving their child resulted 

in an unfounded disposition and the length of time the 

child's name and information about the case will be 

maintained. The child protective services worker shall file 

a copy in the case record. 

2. When the disposition is founded, the child protective 

services worker shall inform the parents or guardian of the 

child in writing, when they are not the abuser or neglector, 

that the complaint involving their child was determined to 

be founded and the length of time the child's name and 

information about the case will be retained in the Central 

Registry. The child protective services worker shall file a 

copy in the case record. 

3. When the founded disposition of abuse or neglect does 

not name the parents or guardians of the child as the abuser 

or neglector and when the abuse or neglect occurred in a 

licensed or unlicensed child day center, a licensed, 

registered, or approved family day home, a private or 

public school, or a children's residential facility, the parent 

or guardian must be consulted and must give permission 

for the child's name to be entered into the Central Registry 

pursuant to § 63.2-1515 of the Code of Virginia. 

D. Complainant.  

1. When an unfounded disposition is made, the child 

protective services worker shall notify the complainant, 

when known, in writing that the complaint was 

investigated and determined to be unfounded. The worker 

shall file a copy in the case record. 

2. When a founded disposition is made, the child protective 

services worker shall notify the complainant, when known, 

in writing that the complaint was investigated and 

necessary action was taken. The local worker shall file a 

copy in the case record. 

3. When a family assessment is completed, the child 

protective services worker shall notify the complainant, 

when known, that the complaint was assessed and 

necessary action taken. 

E. Family Advocacy Program of the United States Armed 

Forces.  

1. Pursuant to § 63.2-1503 N of the Code of Virginia, in all 

investigations with a founded disposition or family 

assessment that involve an active duty member of the 

United States Armed Forces or members of his household, 

information regarding the disposition, type of abuse or 

neglect, and the identity of the abuser or neglector shall be 

provided to the appropriate Family Advocacy Program 

representative. This notification shall be made in writing 

within 30 days after the administrative appeal rights of the 

abuser or neglector have been exhausted or forfeited. 

2. The military member shall be advised that this 

information regarding the founded disposition or family 

assessment is being provided to the Family Advocacy 

Program representative and shall be given a copy of the 

written notification sent to the Family Advocacy Program 

representative.  

3. In accordance with § 63.2-105 of the Code of Virginia, 

when an active duty member of the United States Armed 

Forces or a member of his household is involved in an 

investigation, family assessment, or provision of services 

case, any information regarding child protective services 

reports, complaints, investigations, family assessments, 

and follow up may be shared with the appropriate Family 

Advocacy Program representative of the United States 

Armed Forces when the local department determines such 

release to be in the best interest of the child. In these 

situations, coordination between child protective services 

and the Family Advocacy Program is intended to facilitate 

identification, treatment, and service provision to the 

military family.  

4. When needed by the Family Advocacy Program 

representative to facilitate treatment and service provision 

to the military family, any other additional information not 

prohibited from being released by state or federal law or 

regulation shall also be provided to the Family Advocacy 

Program representative when the local department 

determines such release to be in the best interest of the 

child.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R21-6386; Filed August 20, 2020, 8:20 a.m.  
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GOVERNOR 

EXECUTIVE ORDER NUMBER SEVENTY (2020) 

Addressing the Impact of the Novel Coronavirus 
(COVID-19) on the Commonwealth's Psychiatric 

Hospital System 

Importance of the Issue 

The Commonwealth of Virginia, through the Department of 

Behavioral Health and Developmental Services, operates 

eight behavioral health facilities for adults and one for 

children. Under § 37.2-809.1 of the Code of Virginia, these 

facilities must admit patients under emergency custody who 

meet the criteria for temporary detention when no other 

facility of temporary detention can be identified. Prior to the 

COVID-19 pandemic, the census of the state-operated 

psychiatric hospitals averaged 95 percent or over their total 

bed capacity. Through the month of July 2020, the state-

operated psychiatric hospitals experienced an increase in 

admissions and at times exceeded their operating bed 

capacity. Several state-operated psychiatric hospitals have 

experienced the drop-off of patients when there were no beds 

in the state-operated psychiatric hospital to serve the patients 

safely. Such drop-offs pose a risk to both patients and staff. 

In addition to the increase in census levels, state-operated 

psychiatric hospitals have seen confirmed cases of COVID-19 

in patients and staff. In order to control the spread of the virus 

within the congregate settings of state-operated psychiatric 

hospitals, patients with confirmed or suspected diagnoses of 

COVID-19 must be isolated or quarantined. Isolating and 

quarantining, however, reduces bed capacity and further 

exacerbates the pressure on the state-operated psychiatric 

hospitals to admit patients subject to temporary detention 

orders after the emergency custody period expires. 

While our state-operated psychiatric hospitals provide high 

quality behavioral health care and treatment, they do not have 

the capability to manage or to treat medical conditions that 

require medical interventions. Transferring patients with 

acute symptoms of COVID-19 that require medical 

monitoring and intervention or patients with other medical 

conditions who cannot be managed adequately at the state-

operated psychiatric hospitals negatively impacts the health 

and safety of those patients. 

COVID-19 will continue to place increased demands on the 

Commonwealth's state-operated psychiatric hospitals. 

Response to the mental health effects of the COVID-19 

disaster will require both public and private providers, as well 

as other agencies involved in the civil commitment process, 

to work together. We must prioritize the patient's best 

interests to ensure that each patient receives the requisite care 

and treatment. We must also ensure that the state-operated 

psychiatric hospital system continues to operate as a safety 

net for patients experiencing a mental health crisis. 

Directive 

Therefore, by virtue of the authority vested in me by Article 

V, Section 7 of the Constitution of Virginia, by § 44-146.17 

of the Code of Virginia, and in furtherance of Amended 

Executive Order No. 51, I direct the following: 

1. As currently permitted by Chapter 8 of Title 37.2 of the 

Code of Virginia, when the state-operated psychiatric 

hospitals are operating at 100% of their total bed capacity, 

state-operated psychiatric hospitals will not agree to serve 

as the facility of temporary detention for patients who are 

not under emergency custody pursuant to § 37.2-808 of the 

Code of Virginia. 

2. Prior to the transfer and transport of a patient subject to a 

temporary detention order to a state-operated psychiatric 

hospital, the facility where the patient is located and the 

transporting law enforcement agency or alternative 

transportation provider are strongly encouraged to contact 

the state-operated psychiatric hospital of temporary 

detention to ensure that a bed is available for the patient. If 

the state-operated psychiatric hospital system is at or over 

total bed capacity, the facility where the patient is located 

and the transporting law enforcement agency or alternative 

transportation provider are encouraged to work with the 

state-operated psychiatric hospital to delay transportation 

of the patient until the state-operated psychiatric hospital 

can provide a bed. 

3. Prior to releasing a patient under a temporary detention 

order for transport to a state-operated psychiatric hospital, 

providers participating in the State Medicaid Plan must 

comply with the applicable Criteria for Medical 

Assessment Prior to Admission to a Psychiatric Hospital, 

Inpatient Psychiatric or Crisis Stabilization Unit found at 

http://www.dbhds.virginia.gov/assets/doc/about/masg/adult

s-medical-and-screening-guidelines-11-5-2018.pdf and 

http://www.dbhds.virginia.gov/assets/doc/about/masg 

/peds-medical-assessment-and-screening-guidelines-11-5-

2018.pdf. Such providers shall screen patients under 

emergency custody or temporary detention for COVID-19 

in accordance with guidance issued by the Centers for 

Disease Control and Prevention and the Virginia 

Department of Health. In addition, with consent of the 

patient subject to emergency custody or temporary 

detention, such providers should administer a COVID-19 

active infection test prior to the transfer of the patient to a 

state-operated psychiatric hospital. If no other payment 

source is available, the Department of Behavioral Health 

and Developmental Services will reimburse the provider 

for the cost of the test. 

4. Hospitals with emergency rooms that are subject to the 

federal Emergency Medical Treatment and Labor Act, 

42 USC § 1395dd, must ensure that transfers of patients 

under temporary detention orders to state-operated 

http://www.dbhds.virginia.gov/assets/doc/about/masg/adults-medical-and-screening-guidelines-11-5-2018.pdf
http://www.dbhds.virginia.gov/assets/doc/about/masg/adults-medical-and-screening-guidelines-11-5-2018.pdf
http://www.dbhds.virginia.gov/assets/doc/about/masg/peds-medical-assessment-and-screening-guidelines-11-5-2018.pdf
http://www.dbhds.virginia.gov/assets/doc/about/masg/peds-medical-assessment-and-screening-guidelines-11-5-2018.pdf
http://www.dbhds.virginia.gov/assets/doc/about/masg/peds-medical-assessment-and-screening-guidelines-11-5-2018.pdf


Governor 

Volume 37, Issue 2 Virginia Register of Regulations September 14, 2020 

463 

psychiatric hospitals are appropriate transfers. Hospitals 

with emergency rooms should take into account a patient's 

COVID-19 status and the inability of the state-operated 

psychiatric hospitals to isolate and treat such patients 

properly. Doctors in a hospital where a patient is located 

for emergency custody and the state-operated psychiatric 

hospital must communicate regarding a patient's COVID-

19 status prior to transfer. Law enforcement and alternative 

transportation providers involved in the transportation of 

patients under temporary detention orders should work with 

the hospital where the patient is located for emergency 

custody and the state-operated psychiatric hospital to 

ensure that transport occurs only when safe for the patient. 

5. Appropriate use of a medical temporary detention order 

will ensure that patients receive the medical care they need 

and could help to reduce the census pressures at the state-

operated psychiatric hospitals. Section 37.2-1104 of the 

Code of Virginia provides a medical temporary detention 

process that should be used in certain circumstances to 

address and stabilize a patient's medical condition before 

transfer to a state-operated psychiatric hospital. For patients 

experiencing intoxication, using the medical temporary 

detention process, where applicable, may alleviate the need 

for further psychiatric hospitalization. If a patient 

undergoing an emergency mental health evaluation has an 

acute medical condition, including COVID-19 or 

intoxication, and is incapable of making an informed 

decision regarding treatment, consideration should be given 

to whether the criteria for a medical temporary detention 

order under § 37.2-1104 of the Code of Virginia are met. 

6. Every state-operated psychiatric hospital, community 

services board (CSB), behavioral health authority (BHA), 

and private inpatient provider licensed by the Department 

of Behavioral Health and Developmental Services required 

to participate in the acute psychiatric bed registry under 

§ 37.2-308.1 of the Code of Virginia (Registry) shall 

update information included in the Registry whenever there 

is a change in bed availability, but not less than twice daily, 

to assist in the location of facilities of temporary detention 

for patients experiencing a mental health crisis. 

7. In order to facilitate discharge of patients from state-

operated psychiatric hospitals to increase bed capacity, if 

the responsible CSB or behavioral health authority BHA 

disagrees with a state-operated psychiatric hospital's 

identification of a patient as ready for discharge, the 

CSB/BHA shall document that disagreement in the 

patient's treatment plan within 72 hours of the state-

operated psychiatric hospital's identification. Section 37.2-

505(A) (3) of the Code of Virginia governing 

disagreements related to discharge shall otherwise apply. 

Effective Date of this Executive Order 

This Executive Order shall be effective until the expiration of 

Amended Executive Order 51 unless this Order is sooner 

amended or rescinded by further executive order. 

Given under my hand and under the Seal of the 

Commonwealth of Virginia, this 17th day of August, 2020. 

/s/ Ralph S. Northam 

Governor 
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GUIDANCE DOCUMENTS 

PUBLIC COMMENT OPPORTUNITY 

Pursuant to § 2.2-4002.1 of the Code of Virginia, a certified guidance document is subject to a 30-day public comment period 

after publication in the Virginia Register of Regulations and prior to the guidance document's effective date. During the public 

comment period, comments may be made through the Virginia Regulatory Town Hall website 

(http://www.townhall.virginia.gov) or sent to the agency contact. Under subsection C of § 2.2-4002.1, the effective date of the 

guidance document may be delayed for an additional period. The guidance document may also be withdrawn. 

The following guidance documents have been submitted for publication by the listed agencies for a public comment period. 

Online users of this issue of the Virginia Register of Regulations may click on the name of a guidance document to access it. 

Guidance documents are also available on the Virginia Regulatory Town Hall (http://www.townhall.virginia.gov) or from the 

agency contact or may be viewed at the Office of the Registrar of Regulations, 900 East Main Street, Richmond, Virginia 

23219. 

BOARD OF COUNSELING 

Titles of Documents:  

Supervised Experience Requirements for the Delivery of 

Clinical Services for Professional Counselor Licensure. 

Guidance on Technology-Assisted Counseling and 

Technology-Assisted Supervision. 

Public Comment Deadline: October 14, 2020. 

Effective Date: October 15, 2020. 

Agency Contact: Elaine J. Yeatts, Agency Regulatory 

Coordinator, Department of Health Professions, Perimeter 

Center, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, Richmond, VA 

23233, telephone (804) 367-4688, or email 

elaine.yeatts@dhp.virginia.gov. 

DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH PROFESSIONS 
AND ALL BOARDS 

Title of Document: Requirements Imposed on Hospitals, 

Other Health Care Institutions and Organizations, and 

Assisted Living Facilities to Report Disciplinary Actions 

Against, Allegations of Misconduct by, and Impairment of 

Certain Health Care Practitioners to the Virginia Department 

of Health Professions or  the Office of Licensure and 

Certification of the Virginia Department of Health. 

Public Comment Deadline: October 14, 2020. 

Effective Date: October 15, 2020. 

Agency Contact: Elaine J. Yeatts, Agency Regulatory 

Coordinator, Department of Health Professions, Perimeter 

Center, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, Richmond, VA 

23233, telephone (804) 367-4688, or email 

elaine.yeatts@dhp.virginia.gov. 

BOARD OF PHYSICAL THERAPY 

Title of Document: Approval of a Traineeship. 

Public Comment Deadline: October 14, 2020. 

Effective Date: October 15, 2020. 

Agency Contact: Elaine J. Yeatts, Agency Regulatory 

Coordinator, Department of Health Professions, Perimeter 

Center, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, Richmond, VA 

23233, telephone (804) 367-4688, or email 

elaine.yeatts@dhp.virginia.gov. 

STATE BOARD OF SOCIAL SERVICES 

Title of Document: Child Care Subsidy Program Guidance 

Manual. 

Public Comment Deadline: October 14, 2020. 

Effective Date: October 15, 2020. 

Agency Contact: Jennifer Gibbons, Senior Program 

Consultant, Department of Social Services, 801 East Main 

Street, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 726-6749, or 

email jennifer.gibbons@dss.virginia.gov. 

* * * 

Title of Document: Administrative Human Resources Manual 

for Local Departments of Social Services Chapter 4: Leave.  

Public Comment Deadline: October 14, 2020. 

Effective Date: October 15, 2020. 

Agency Contact: Lori Schamerhorn, Associate Director, 

Department of Social Services, 801 East Main Street, 

Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 726-7264, or email 

lori.schamerhorn@dss.virginia.gov. 

DEPARTMENT OF TAXATION 

Title of Document: Guidelines for the Motor Vehicle Rental 

and Peer-to-Peer Vehicle Sharing Tax. 

Public Comment Deadline: October 14, 2020. 

Effective Date: October 15, 2020. 

Agency Contact: Joe Mayer, Lead Tax Policy Analyst, 

Department of Taxation, P.O. Box 27185, Richmond, VA 

23261-7185, telephone (804) 371-2299, or email 

joseph.mayer@tax.virginia.gov. 

TS 

https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title2.2/chapter40/section2.2-4002.1/
http://www.townhall.virginia.gov/
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http://leg5.state.va.us/pdfs/6510/f7f2b006510~8e.pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/pdfs/6510/f7f2b006510~8e.pdf
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GENERAL NOTICES/ERRATA 

DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE AND CONSUMER 
SERVICES 

2020 Annual Report on the Agricultural Stewardship 
Act 

The Commissioner of Agriculture and Consumer Services 

announces the availability of the annual report on the 

Agricultural Stewardship Act for the program year April 1, 

2019, through March 31, 2020. Copies of this report can be 

obtained by contacting Katherine Coates at telephone (804) 

786-3538 or via email at 

katherine.coates@vdacs.virginia.gov. The report can also be 

obtained by accessing the Virginia Department of Agriculture 

and Consumer Services website at 

http://www.vdacs.virginia.gov/conservation-and-

environmental-agricultural-stewardship.shtml. A written 

request may be sent to Virginia Department of Agriculture 

and Consumer Services, Office of Policy, Planning, and 

Research, P.O. Box 1163, Richmond, VA 23218. Copies of 

the report are available without charge.  

STATE AIR POLLUTION CONTROL BOARD 

Air State Implementation Revision - Proposed 2017 
Base Year Inventory for  

Precursors to the Pollutant Ozone 

Notice of action: The Department of Environmental Quality 

(DEQ) is seeking comments and announcing a public 

comment period on a proposed 2017 base year inventory for 

precursors to the pollutant ozone, which are carbon monoxide 

(CO), nitrogen oxides (NOX), and volatile organic compounds 

(VOC), in the Northern Virginia Ozone Nonattainment Area. 

The Commonwealth intends to submit the inventory as a 

revision to the Virginia State Implementation Plan (SIP) in 

accordance with the federal Clean Air Act. The SIP is the 

plan developed by Virginia in order to fulfill its 

responsibilities under the federal Clean Air Act to attain and 

maintain the National Ambient Air Quality Standards 

(NAAQS) promulgated by the U.S. Environmental Protection 

Agency. 

Purpose of notice: DEQ is seeking comments on the overall 

2017 inventory for the Northern Virginia portion of the 

Metropolitan Washington, DC-MD-VA Ozone 

Nonattainment Area, which is classified as marginal for the 

2015 NAAQS, and consists of the Counties of Arlington, 

Fairfax, Loudoun, and Prince William and the Cities of 

Alexandria, Fairfax, Falls Church, Manassas, and Manassas 

Park. 

Public comment period: September 14, 2020, through 

October 14, 2020. This comment period is in addition to the 

previously conducted public comment periods of April 27, 

2020, through May 27, 2020, and June 22, 2020, through July 

22, 2020. 

Public hearing: A public hearing will be conducted if a 

request is made in writing to the contact listed at the end of 

this notice. In order to be considered, the request must include 

the full name, address and telephone number of the person 

requesting the hearing and be received by DEQ by the last 

day of the comment period. Notice of the date, time, and 

location of any requested public hearing will be announced in 

a separate notice, and another 30-day comment period will be 

conducted. 

Description of proposal: The proposal consists of a 

comprehensive inventory of actual emissions from all sources 

of relevant pollutants for the base year 2017. This inventory, 

once finalized, will be the basis for any future planning 

exercises that have as a goal compliance with the 2015 ozone 

NAAQS. The proposal was prepared by the Metropolitan 

Washington Air Quality Committee, which consists of elected 

officials from the affected localities and representatives of 

state transportation and air quality planning agencies. 

The complete proposal is available at 

https://www.mwcog.org/documents/2020/08/12/washington-

dc-md-va-2015-ozone-naaqs-nonattainment-area-base-year-

2017-emissions-inventory-updated-august-12-2020-air-

quality-air-quality-conformity-ozone/. 

Federal information: This notice is being given to satisfy the 

public participation requirements of federal regulations 

(40 CFR 51.102). The proposed inventory and supporting 

technical documents will be submitted as a revision to the 

Commonwealth of Virginia SIP under § 110(a) of the federal 

Clean Air Act in accordance with 40 CFR 51.104. 

How to comment: DEQ accepts written comments by email, 

fax, and postal mail. In order to be considered, comments 

must include the full name, address, and telephone number of 

the person commenting and be received by DEQ no later than 

the last day of the comment period. A cover page with the 

recipient's full mailing address as listed must be part of each 

fax. Comments must be submitted to the contact person 

listed. All materials received are part of the public record. 

To review the proposal: The proposal and any supporting 

documents are available on the DEQ Air Public Notices for 

Plans and Programs website at 

https://www.deq.virginia.gov/Programs/Air/PublicNotices/air

plansandprograms.aspx. The documents may also be obtained 

by contacting the DEQ representative listed. The public may 

schedule an appointment to review the documents between 

8:30 a.m. and 4:30 p.m. of each business day until the close 

of the public comment period at the following DEQ locations:  

1) Main Street Office, 22nd Floor, 1111 East Main Street, 

Richmond, VA, telephone (804) 698-4249; and  

2) Northern Regional Office, 13901 Crown Court, 

Woodbridge, VA, telephone (703) 583-3800. 

mailto:Katherine.Coates@vdacs.virginia.gov
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https://www.mwcog.org/documents/2020/08/12/washington-dc-md-va-2015-ozone-naaqs-nonattainment-area-base-year-2017-emissions-inventory-updated-august-12-2020-air-quality-air-quality-conformity-ozone/
https://www.mwcog.org/documents/2020/08/12/washington-dc-md-va-2015-ozone-naaqs-nonattainment-area-base-year-2017-emissions-inventory-updated-august-12-2020-air-quality-air-quality-conformity-ozone/
https://www.mwcog.org/documents/2020/08/12/washington-dc-md-va-2015-ozone-naaqs-nonattainment-area-base-year-2017-emissions-inventory-updated-august-12-2020-air-quality-air-quality-conformity-ozone/
https://www.deq.virginia.gov/Programs/Air/PublicNotices/airplansandprograms.aspx
https://www.deq.virginia.gov/Programs/Air/PublicNotices/airplansandprograms.aspx
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Contact Information: Doris A. McLeod, Department of 

Environmental Quality, 1111 East Main Street, Suite 1400, 

P.O. Box 1105, Richmond, VA 23218, (804) 698-4249, FAX 

(804) 698-4178, or email doris.mcleod@deq.virginia.gov. 

STATE CORPORATION COMMISSION 

Bureau of Insurance 

August 19, 2020 

Administrative Letter 2020-06 

TO: All Property & CasualtyInsurers Licensed to Write 

Motor Vehicle Insurance on Motor Vehicles 

RE: Property Damage Liability Claims Involving Clean-Up, 

Removal of Vehicles and Debris from Roadways and 

Property Adjacent to Roadways 

The purpose of this administrative letter is to remind insurers 

licensed to write motor vehicle policies on vehicles 

principally garaged or used or are issued or delivered in the 

Commonwealth of their duties with respect to at-fault 

accidents. The at-fault insurer is responsible for payment of 

the reasonable costs of clean-up, recovery, and certain towing 

expenses under the terms of the property damage liability 

coverage of the motor vehicle policy that requires coverage 

for "all damages the insured is legally obligated to pay." 

If the investigation of the claim indicates that the insured is 

responsible for the accident, then the insurer of the at-fault 

vehicle is required to pay under the vehicle's property damage 

liability coverage the reasonable costs of: (1) removing debris 

from the roadway, including liquids and other material, (2) 

removing the at-fault and not-at-fault vehicles from a 

roadway or from property adjacent to a roadway, and (3) 

towing not-at-fault vehicles away from the scene of the 

accident. The cost of removing vehicle accident debris and 

the cost of removing the at-fault or not-at-fault vehicles from 

a roadway or from property adjacent to a roadway after an 

accident are sometimes referred to as "clean up and recovery 

costs." The at-fault driver is responsible for the clean-up of 

the roadway and the recovery of vehicles involved in the 

accident on the roadway and adjacent to the roadway. 

These clean-up and recovery costs must also be paid in any 

claim involving a single- vehicle accident if the driver of the 

vehicle is at-fault for the accident. 

The Bureau of Insurance has received complaints from towing 

companies that have made claims with the at-fault insurers 

seeking payment for clean-up and recovery costs, Insurers 

have denied these third-party claims for many reasons. For 

example, insurers have refused to pay these costs because (i) 

the insured's policy does not have towing coverage; (ii) the 

towing and recovery company does not have a contract with 

the state or local government; and (iii) they do not have to 

pay claims from towing and recovery operators. None of 

these reasons are adequate justification for denial of these 

claims. 

This administrative letter does not require an insurer to pay 

for the cost of towing the at- fault vehicle away from the 

scene of the accident unless that vehicle’s policy includes the 

relevant physical damage coverage. 

The Bureau also reminds insurers that if the insurer declines 

to pay all or any part of a claim for clean-up, recovery, and 

towing, the insurer is required to issue to the claimant (the 

insured or a third-party claimant) a written denial letter that 

includes a reasonable explanation for the denial of all or part 

of the claim, as required by 14VAC5-400-70 A of the 

Administrative Code. The Rules Governing Unfair Claims 

Settlement Practices defines third party claimant as "any 

person asserting a claim against an insured or a provider 

filing a claim on behalf of an insured under an insurance 

policy." See 14VAC5-400-20 of the Virginia Administrative 

Code. This definition includes towing companies that respond 

to an accident at the request of state or local authorities for 

clean-up, recovery, and towing services. 

The Bureau notes that each claim must be reviewed and 

evaluated on its merits. Please direct any questions regarding 

this administrative letter to Joy Morton, Bureau of Insurance 

Manager, P&C Market Conduct Section, Bureau of 

Insurance, telephone (804) 371-9540, (cell) (804) 396-8380, 

or email joy.morton@scc.virginia.gov. 

STATE WATER CONTROL BOARD 

Proposed Consent Special Order for Brahma Inc. 

The State Water Control Board proposes to issue a consent 

special order to Brahma Inc. for alleged violation of the State 

Water Control Law at 2300 Genito Road, Powhatan, Virginia 

23139. A description of the proposed action is available at the 

Department of Environmental Quality office listed or online 

at www.deq.virginia.gov. Aree Reinhardt will accept 

comments by email at aree.reinhardt@deq.virginia.gov or 

postal mail at Department of Environmental Quality, 

Piedmont Regional Office (Enforcement), 4949-A Cox Road, 

Glen Allen, VA 23060, from September 14, 2020, to October 

15, 2020. 

Proposed Enforcement Action for David Cross 

An enforcement action has been proposed for David Cross for 

violations of the State Water Control Law in York County, 

Virginia. A description of the proposed action is available at 

the Department of Environmental Quality office listed or 

online at www.deq.virginia.gov. Russell Deppe will accept 

comments by email at russell.deppe@deq.virginia.gov, FAX 

at (757) 518-2009, or postal mail at Department of 

Environmental Quality, Tidewater Regional Office, 5636 

Southern Boulevard, Virginia Beach, VA 23462, from 

September 14, 2020, to October 14, 2020. 

mailto:doris.mcleod@deq.virginia.gov
mailto:Joy.Morton@scc.virginia.gov
http://www.deq.virginia.gov/
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Proposed Enforcement Action for  
Christopher and Veronica Drew 

An enforcement action has been proposed for Christopher and 

Veronica Drew for violations of the State Water Control Law 

in Hampton, Virginia. A description of the proposed action is 

available at the Department of Environmental Quality office 

listed or online at www.deq.virginia.gov. Russell Deppe will 

accept comments by email at russell.deppe@deq.virginia.gov, 

FAX at (757) 518-2009, or postal mail at Department of 

Environmental Quality, Tidewater Regional Office, 5636 

Southern Boulevard, Virginia Beach, VA 23462, from 

September 14, 2020, to October 14, 2020. 

Proposed Consent Special Order for  
JMB Investment Company LLC 

An enforcement action has been proposed for JMB 

Investment Company LLC for violations in Scott County, 

Carroll County, Wythe County, and Nottoway County, 

Virginia. The State Water Control Board proposes to issue a 

special order by consent to JMB Investment Company LLC 

to address noncompliance with the State Water Control Law 

and regulations. A description of the proposed action is 

available at the Department of Environmental Quality office 

listed or online at www.deq.virginia.gov. Kristen Sadtler will 

accept comments by email at 

kristen.sadtler@deq.virginia.gov, or postal mail at 

Department of Environmental Quality, Central Office, P.O. 

Box 1105, Richmond, VA 23218, from September 14, 2020, 

to October 14, 2020. 

Proposed Consent Order for Lopez Trucking II LLC 

An enforcement action has been proposed for Lopez Trucking 

II LLC for violations of the State Water Control Law and 

regulations at the Lopez Trucking II LLC facility located in 

Lorton, Virginia. The State Water Control Board proposes to 

issue a consent order to resolve violations associated with the 

Lopez Trucking II LLC facility. A description of the 

proposed action is available at the Department of 

Environmental Quality office listed or online at 

www.deq.virginia.gov. Benjamin Holland will accept 

comments by email at benjamin.holland@deq.virginia.gov or 

by postal mail at Department of Environmental Quality, 

Northern Regional Office, 13901 Crown Court, Woodbridge, 

VA 22193, from September 14, 2020, through October 14, 

2020. 

Proposed Consent Special Order for  
San-J International Inc. 

The State Water Control Board proposes to issue a consent 

special order to San-J International Inc. for alleged violation 

of the State Water Control Law at 2880 Sprouse Drive, 

Henrico, Virginia 23231. A description of the proposed action 

is available at the Department of Environmental Quality 

office listed or online at www.deq.virginia.gov. Aree 

Reinhardt will accept comments by email at 

aree.reinhardt@deq.virginia.gov or postal mail at Department 

of Environmental Quality, Piedmont Regional Office 

(Enforcement), 4949-A Cox Road, Glen Allen, VA 23060, 

from September 14, 2020, to October 15, 2020. 

VIRGINIA CODE COMMISSION 

Notice to State Agencies 

Contact Information: Mailing Address: Virginia Code 

Commission, Pocahontas Building, 900 East Main Street, 8th 

Floor, Richmond, VA 23219; Telephone: (804) 698-1810; 

Email: varegs@dls.virginia.gov. 

Meeting Notices: Section 2.2-3707 C of the Code of Virginia 

requires state agencies to post meeting notices on their 

websites and on the Commonwealth Calendar at 

https://commonwealthcalendar.virginia.gov. 

Cumulative Table of Virginia Administrative Code 

Sections Adopted, Amended, or Repealed: A table listing 

regulation sections that have been amended, added, or 

repealed in the Virginia Register of Regulations since the 

regulations were originally published or last supplemented in 

the print version of the Virginia Administrative Code is 

available at 

http://register.dls.virginia.gov/documents/cumultab.pdf. 

Filing Material for Publication in the Virginia Register of 

Regulations: Agencies use the Regulation Information 

System (RIS) to file regulations and related items for 

publication in the Virginia Register of Regulations. The 

Registrar's office works closely with the Department of 

Planning and Budget (DPB) to coordinate the system with the 

Virginia Regulatory Town Hall. RIS and Town Hall 

complement and enhance one another by sharing pertinent 

regulatory information. 
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