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REGISTER INFORMATION PAGE 

THE VIRGINIA REGISTER OF REGULATIONS is an official state 

publication issued every other week throughout the year. Indexes are 

published quarterly, and are cumulative for the year. The Virginia 

Register has several functions. The new and amended sections of 

regulations, both as proposed and as finally adopted, are required by law 

to be published in the Virginia Register. In addition, the Virginia 

Register is a source of other information about state government, 

including petitions for rulemaking, emergency regulations, executive 

orders issued by the Governor, and notices of public hearings on 

regulations. 

ADOPTION, AMENDMENT, AND REPEAL OF REGULATIONS 

Unless exempted by law, an agency wishing to adopt, amend, or repeal 

regulations must follow the procedures in the Administrative Process 

Act (§ 2.2-4000 et seq. of the Code of Virginia). Typically, this includes 

first publishing in the Virginia Register a notice of intended regulatory 

action; a basis, purpose, substance and issues statement; an economic 

impact analysis prepared by the Department of Planning and Budget; the 

agency’s response to the economic impact analysis; a summary; a notice 

giving the public an opportunity to comment on the proposal; and the 

text of the proposed regulation. 

Following publication of the proposed regulation in the Virginia 

Register, the promulgating agency receives public comments for a 

minimum of 60 days. The Governor reviews the proposed regulation to 

determine if it is necessary to protect the public health, safety, and 

welfare, and if it is clearly written and easily understandable. If the 

Governor chooses to comment on the proposed regulation, his comments 

must be transmitted to the agency and the Registrar of Regulations no 

later than 15 days following the completion of the 60-day public 

comment period. The Governor’s comments, if any, will be published in 

the Virginia Register. Not less than 15 days following the completion of 

the 60-day public comment period, the agency may adopt the proposed 

regulation. 

The Joint Commission on Administrative Rules or the appropriate 

standing committee of each house of the General Assembly may meet 

during the promulgation or final adoption process and file an objection 

with the Registrar and the promulgating agency. The objection will be 

published in the Virginia Register. Within 21 days after receipt by the 

agency of a legislative objection, the agency shall file a response with 

the Registrar, the objecting legislative body, and the Governor. 

When final action is taken, the agency again publishes the text of the 

regulation as adopted, highlighting all changes made to the proposed 

regulation and explaining any substantial changes made since 

publication of the proposal. A 30-day final adoption period begins upon 

final publication in the Virginia Register. 

The Governor may review the final regulation during this time and, if he 

objects, forward his objection to the Registrar and the agency. In 

addition to or in lieu of filing a formal objection, the Governor may 

suspend the effective date of a portion or all of a regulation until the end 

of the next regular General Assembly session by issuing a directive 

signed by a majority of the members of the appropriate legislative body 

and the Governor. The Governor’s objection or suspension of the 

regulation, or both, will be published in the Virginia Register.  

If the Governor finds that the final regulation contains changes made 

after publication of the proposed regulation that have substantial impact, 

he may require the agency to provide an additional 30-day public 

comment period on the changes. Notice of the additional public 

comment period required by the Governor will be published in the 

Virginia Register. Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.06 of the Code of Virginia, any 

person may request that the agency solicit additional public comment on 

certain changes made after publication of the proposed regulation. The 

agency shall suspend the regulatory process for 30 days upon such 

request from 25 or more individuals, unless the agency determines that 

the changes have minor or inconsequential impact. 

A regulation becomes effective at the conclusion of the 30-day final 

adoption period, or at any other later date specified by the promulgating 

agency, unless (i) a legislative objection has been filed, in which event 

the regulation, unless withdrawn, becomes effective on the date 

specified, which shall be after the expiration of the 21-day objection 

period; (ii) the Governor exercises his authority to require the agency to 

provide for additional public comment, in which event the regulation, 

unless withdrawn, becomes effective on the date specified, which shall 

be after the expiration of the period for which the Governor has provided 

for additional public comment; (iii) the Governor and the General 

Assembly exercise their authority to suspend the effective date of a 

regulation until the end of the next regular legislative session; or (iv) the 

agency suspends the regulatory process, in which event the regulation, 

unless withdrawn, becomes effective on the date specified, which shall 

be after the expiration of the 30-day public comment period and no 

earlier than 15 days from publication of the readopted action. 

A regulatory action may be withdrawn by the promulgating agency at 

any time before the regulation becomes final. 

FAST-TRACK RULEMAKING PROCESS 

Section 2.2-4012.1 of the Code of Virginia provides an alternative to the 

standard process set forth in the Administrative Process Act for 

regulations deemed by the Governor to be noncontroversial. To use this 

process, the Governor's concurrence is required and advance notice must 

be provided to certain legislative committees. Fast-track regulations 

become effective on the date noted in the regulatory action if fewer than 

10 persons object to using the process in accordance with § 2.2-4012.1. 

EMERGENCY REGULATIONS 

Pursuant to § 2.2-4011 of the Code of Virginia, an agency may adopt 

emergency regulations if necessitated by an emergency situation or when 

Virginia statutory law or the appropriation act or federal law or federal 

regulation requires that a regulation be effective in 280 days or fewer 

from its enactment. In either situation, approval of the Governor is 

required.  The emergency regulation is effective upon its filing with the 

Registrar of Regulations, unless a later date is specified per § 2.2-4012 

of the Code of Virginia. Emergency regulations are limited to no more 

than 18 months in duration; however, may be extended for six months 

under the circumstances noted in § 2.2-4011 D. Emergency regulations 

are published as soon as possible in the Virginia Register and are on the 

Register of Regulations website at register.dls.virgina.gov. 

During the time the emergency regulation is in effect, the agency may 

proceed with the adoption of permanent regulations in accordance with 

the Administrative Process Act. If the agency chooses not to adopt the 

regulations, the emergency status ends when the prescribed time limit 

expires. 

STATEMENT 

The foregoing constitutes a generalized statement of the procedures to be 

followed. For specific statutory language, it is suggested that Article 2 

(§ 2.2-4006 et seq.) of Chapter 40 of Title 2.2 of the Code of Virginia be 

examined carefully. 

CITATION TO THE VIRGINIA REGISTER 

The Virginia Register is cited by volume, issue, page number, and date. 

34:8 VA.R. 763-832 December 11, 2017, refers to Volume 34, Issue 8, 

pages 763 through 832 of the Virginia Register issued on  

December 11, 2017. 

The Virginia Register of Regulations is published pursuant to Article 6 

(§ 2.2-4031 et seq.) of Chapter 40 of Title 2.2 of the Code of Virginia.  

Members of the Virginia Code Commission: John S. Edwards, Chair; 

Jennifer L. McClellan; Ward L. Armstrong; Nicole Cheuk; 

Rita Davis; Leslie L. Lilley; Christopher R. Nolen; Don L. Scott, Jr.; 

Charles S. Sharp; Marcus B. Simon; Samuel T. Towell; Malfourd 

W. Trumbo. 

Staff of the Virginia Register: Karen Perrine, Registrar of Regulations; 

Anne Bloomsburg, Assistant Registrar; Nikki Clemons, Regulations 

Analyst; Rhonda Dyer, Publications Assistant; Terri Edwards, Senior 

Operations Staff Assistant. 

http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+2.2-4011
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000+cod+2.2-4011
file://///legmain/sysdata/dlsdata/CODEREGS/regispub/Vol36/Iss18/register.dls.virgina.gov
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PUBLICATION SCHEDULE AND DEADLINES 

November 2020 through August 2021 

Volume: Issue Material Submitted By Noon* Will Be Published On 

37:6 October 19, 2020 (Monday) November 9, 2020 

37:7 November 4, 2020 November 23, 2020 

37:8 November 16, 2020 (Monday) December 7, 2020 

37:9 December 2, 2020 December 21, 2020 

37:10 December 14, 2020 (Monday) January 4, 2021 

37:11 December 28, 2020 (Monday) January 18, 2021 

37:12 January 13, 2021 February 1, 2021 

37:13 January 27, 2021 February 15, 2021 

37:14 February 10, 2021 March 1, 2021 

37:15 February 24, 2021 March 15, 2021 

37:16 March 10, 2021 March 29, 2021 

37:17 March 24, 2021 April 12, 2021 

37:18 April 7, 2021 April 26, 2021 

37:19 April 21, 2021 May 10, 2021 

37:20 May 5, 2021 May 24, 2021 

37:21 May 19, 2021 June 7, 2021 

37:22 June 2, 2021 June 21, 2021 

37:23 June 16, 2021 July 5, 2021 

37:24 June 30, 2021 July 19, 2021 

37:25 July 14, 2021 August 2, 2021 

37:26 July 28, 2021 August 16, 2021 

*Filing deadlines are Wednesdays unless otherwise specified. 
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PETITIONS FOR RULEMAKING 

TITLE 24. TRANSPORTATION AND MOTOR 
VEHICLES 

COMMISSION ON THE VIRGINIA ALCOHOL SAFETY 
ACTION PROGRAM 

Agency Decision 

Title of Regulation: 24VAC35-60. Ignition Interlock 

Regulations. 

Statutory Authority: § 18.2-270.2 of the Code of Virginia. 

Name of Petitioner: Cynthia Hites. 

Nature of Petitioner's Request: "I, Cynthia Hites, a citizen of 

the Commonwealth of Virginia, pursuant to § 2.2-4007 of the 

Code of Virginia, do humbly submit this petition for the 

following amendment to the specific verbiage within Virginia 

Administrative Code 24VAC35-60-70, F, 6: 'The results of 

the test shall be noted through the use of green, yellow, and 

red signals or similar pass/fail indicators. No digital blood 

alcohol concentration shall be indicated to the offender.' With 

the insertion of the word 'warn,' I request the statute be 

amended to read: 'The results of the test shall be noted 

through the use of green, yellow, and red signals, or similar 

pass/warn/fail indicators. No digital blood alcohol 

concentration shall be indicated to the offender.' ASAPs can 

cite an offender with a violation if that offender fails to reach 

'zero' BrAC within 15 minutes of a failed IID reading. The 

problem lies in the fact that, currently, the State and the 

Interlock companies operate on two separate standards of 

'zero.' Most people assume a Virginia ignition interlock 

prevents a car from starting when alcohol is detected. This is 

not true. In the small window between .000 and .02, a green 

light comes on, the IID display reads 'Start Engine,' the car is 

permitted to start, and the printed datalog reads 'Standing 

Pass.' The problem is, that without a yellow caution 

light, <.02, when the green light is displayed and the car 

starts, the driver can only assume they've reached zero and 

cleared the violation. No one has any idea they need more 

blows to reach zero and avoid a violation. This is why the law 

says 'green, yellow and red,' because without the yellow, the 

disparity between the two standards of zero leaves open a 

small 'window of fraud.' This allows an ASAP to claim an 

accusation of 'At 2:13 p.m. a BAC reading of 0.035 was 

registered. It was not cleared to zero within 15 minutes.' 

When, really, at 2:13 p.m. a .035 reading was indeed 

registered, however at 2:18 p.m. a .016 pass is logged, and a 

subsequent .012 passing test is recorded before turning off the 

car. This client and the passenger never saw a yellow light on 

the Alcolock device. They had no idea they didn't reach zero, 

and this pending case wasn't filed until almost 6 months after 

the event. I also experienced yellow light fraud. While 2 

months sober, on July 21, 2016, a failed rolling retest with a 

BrAC of 0.058, plummeted within nine minutes to a passing 

.019. This could not be ethanol, and is PASSING, yet it was 

considered a violation. I coincidentally have a video of the 

entire event. The green light appearing, the 'Start Car' 

message, and my confusion as to what was occurring. The 

yellow caution light is shown and explained in the Alcolock 

LR Instruction Manual, and the Alcolock training video 

echoes the same device feature. Depending on your 

jurisdiction, if your breath sample contains an amount of 

alcohol over the warning threshold but not enough alcohol to 

fail a test, the handset will indicate 'Caution' and the indicator 

light will turn yellow. Please note that if you are aware your 

alcohol level is rising when you receive a 'Caution' do not 

start the vehicle engine since you are not likely to pass a 

retest and it may not be safe to drive. When you receive a 

'Caution' message, you will have two options. You may wait 

5 minutes and try the test again if you are certain there is no 

alcohol in your body, or you may press the bottom button to 

acknowledge that you intend to drive with alcohol in your 

system. If your breath sample contains an amount of alcohol 

above the fail level the handset will indicate a 'Lockout' 

message with a timer... Relying upon a non-ethanol-specific 

device, with its yellow caution light disabled, the ASAPs are 

able to cooperate with IID companies to violate totally 

compliant and unsuspecting citizens. Couple the absence of 

the yellow light, with automatically restarting 6 month IID 

time, and filing violations late, offenders are allowed to be 

suspended in a perpetual, indefensible loop, while their fees 

get divvied between the respective IID company, VASAP and 

ASAPs. It's an unsettling cooperation between the State and 

the contracted vendors, and perhaps amending the wording of 

law will prompt companies to comply with what's already 

mandated. The enigmatic yellow caution light." 

Agency Decision: Request denied.  

Statement of Reason for Decision: The Commission on the 

Virginia Alcohol Safety Program (VASAP) considered this 

petition at its September 11, 2020, meeting and decided to 

take no action. Virginia regulations do not require that 

ignition interlocks have a yellow warning light. A similar 

pass/fail indicator is sufficient, and all ignition interlock 

companies operating in Virginia are in compliance. Requiring 

a yellow warning light that functions in the manner requested 

by the petitioner would require some ignition interlock 

companies to produce new hardware and other companies to 

make software changes. This would be impractical and cost 

prohibitive. 

Agency Contact: Richard Foy, Regulatory Coordinator, 

Commission on the Virginia Alcohol Safety Action Program, 

701 East Franklin Street, Suite 1110, Richmond, VA 23219, 

telephone (804) 786-5895, or email rfoy@vasap.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R20-27; Filed September 11, 2020, 1:31 p.m. 

mailto:rfoy@vasap.virginia.gov.
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PERIODIC REVIEWS AND SMALL BUSINESS IMPACT REVIEWS 

TITLE 1. ADMINISTRATION 

TREASURY BOARD 

Agency Notice 

Pursuant to Executive Order 14 (as amended July 16, 2018) 

and §§ 2.2-4007.1 and 2.2-4017 of the Code of Virginia, the 

following regulations are undergoing a periodic review and a 

small business impact review: 1VAC75-30, Regulations 

Governing Escheats, and 1VAC75-40, Unclaimed 

Property Administrative Review Process. The review will 

be guided by the principles in Executive Order 14 (as 

amended July 16, 2018).  

The purpose of this review is to determine whether each 

regulation should be repealed, amended, or retained in its 

current form. Public comment is sought on the review of any 

issue relating to each regulation, including whether the 

regulation (i) is necessary for the protection of public health, 

safety, and welfare or for the economical performance of 

important governmental functions; (ii) minimizes the 

economic impact on small businesses in a manner consistent 

with the stated objectives of applicable law; and (iii) is clearly 

written and easily understandable. 

Public comment period begins October 12, 2020, and ends 

November 2, 2020. 

Comments must include the commenter's name and address 

(physical or email) information in order to receive a response 

to the comment from the agency. 

Following the close of the public comment period, a report of 

both reviews will be posted on the Virginia Regulatory Town 

Hall and published in the Virginia Register of Regulations. 

Contact Information: Vernita Boone, Treasury Board 

Secretary, Department of the Treasury, James Monroe 

Building, 101 North 14th Street, 3rd Floor, Richmond, VA 

23219, telephone (804) 371-6011, FAX (804) 225-3187, or 

email vernita.boone@trs.virginia.gov. 

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 2. AGRICULTURE 

DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE AND CONSUMER 
SERVICES 

Report of Findings 

Pursuant to §§ 2.2-4007.1 and 2.2-4017 of the Code of 

Virginia, the Department of Agriculture and Consumer 

Services conducted a periodic review and small business 

impact review of 2VAC5-30, Rules and Regulations 

Pertaining to Reporting Requirements for Contagious and 

Infectious Diseases of Livestock and Poultry in Virginia, 

and determined that this regulation should be retained in its 

current form. The department is publishing its report of 

findings dated July 30, 2020, to support this decision. 

This regulation provides protection to the livestock and 

poultry population in Virginia, which are major components 

of the public food supply, from emerging and foreign animal 

disease. Since a safe food supply is imperative for the public 

health, safety, and welfare, it is necessary that this regulation 

stay in place for the continued protection of the public. The 

livestock and poultry industries are significant economic 

sectors in Virginia. The regulation is clearly written and easy 

to understand. 

The agency is recommending that this regulation stay in 

effect without change. 

1. There is a continued need for this regulation because it is 

important for the livestock and poultry industries. Many 

animal farms, as well as the processing plants that process 

the animals, are small businesses. Without the safeguards 

this regulation provides, these small businesses take on a 

great amount of risk.  

2. The agency has not received any complaints or 

comments about this regulation.  

3. This regulation not unnecessarily complex and is easily 

understood.  

4. This regulation does not overlap, duplicate, or conflict 

with federal or state law or regulation.  

5. There have not been significant changes in technology, 

economic conditions, or other factors since the regulation 

was last amended in 2015.  

This regulation was promulgated with due concerns for 

industry and has minimal impact on small businesses. 

Contact Information: Carolynn Bissett, Program Manager, 

Office of Veterinary Services, Department of Agriculture and 

Consumer Services, P.O. Box 1163, Richmond, VA 23218, 

telephone (804) 786-2483, FAX (804) 371-2380, TDD (800) 

828-1120, or email carolynn.bissett@vdacs.virginia.gov. 

Report of Findings 

Pursuant to §§ 2.2-4007.1 and 2.2-4017 of the Code of 

Virginia, the Department of Agriculture and Consumer 

Services conducted a periodic review and small business 

impact review of 2VAC5-40, Rules and Regulations 

Governing the Prevention, Control and Eradication of 

Bovine Tuberculosis in Virginia, and determined that this 

regulation should be retained in its current form. The 

department is publishing its report of findings dated July 30, 

2020, to support this decision. 

This regulation provides protection to the cattle population in 

Virginia, which is a major component of the public food 

supply. Since a safe food supply is imperative for the public 

mailto:vernita.boone@trs.virginia.gov
mailto:carolynn.bissett@vdacs.virginia.gov
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health, safety, and welfare, it is necessary that this regulation 

stay in place for the continued protection of the public. The 

beef and dairy cattle industries are significant economic 

sectors in Virginia. This regulation is also important to 

protect the public against the possible spread of tuberculosis 

from cattle to humans in the event cattle in Virginia were to 

become infected with bovine tuberculosis. The regulation is 

clearly written and easy to understand. 

The agency is recommending that this regulation stay in 

effect without change. 

1. There is a continued need for this regulation because it is 

important for the beef and dairy cattle industries. Many 

beef and dairy farms and processing plants are small 

businesses. Without the safeguards this regulation provides, 

these small businesses take on a great amount of risk. If 

Virginia's "bovine tuberculosis free status" is compromised, 

other states and countries will not purchase Virginia cattle, 

thereby putting these small businesses at risk of going out 

of business. Without this regulation, the risk of that 

happening becomes significantly higher.  

2. The agency has not received any comments or 

complaints about this regulation.  

3. This regulation is not unnecessarily complex and is 

easily understood.  

4. This regulation does not overlap, duplicate, or conflict 

with federal or state law or regulation  

5. This regulation last underwent periodic review in 2014, 

and since that time, there have not been significant changes 

in technology, economic conditions, or other factors in the 

area affected by the regulation that would require 

amendments.  

This regulation was promulgated with due concerns for beef 

and dairy cattle industry and has minimal impact on small 

businesses. 

Contact Information: Carolynn Bissett, Program Manager, 

Office of Veterinary Services, Department of Agriculture and 

Consumer Services, P.O. Box 1163, Richmond, VA 23218, 

telephone (804) 786-2483, FAX (804) 371-2380, TDD (800) 

828-1120, or email carolynn.bissett@vdacs.virginia.gov. 

Report of Findings 

Pursuant to §§ 2.2-4007.1 and 2.2-4017 of the Code of 

Virginia, the Department of Agriculture and Consumer 

Services conducted a periodic review and small business 

impact review of 2VAC5-90, Control and Eradication of 

Pullorum Disease and Fowl Typhoid in Poultry Flocks 

and Hatcheries and Products Thereof in Virginia, and 

determined that this regulation should be retained in its 

current form. The department is publishing its report of 

findings dated July 31, 2020, to support this decision. 

This regulation is necessary for the protection of public 

health, safety, and welfare because it provides for the 

protection of the poultry population in Virginia, which is a 

major component of the food supply. Since a safe food supply 

is imperative for the public health, safety, and welfare, it is 

important that this regulation stay in place for the continued 

protection of the public. It is clearly written and easy to 

understand. 

The agency is recommending that this regulation stay in 

effect without change. 

1. There is a continued need for this regulation to stay in 

effect in order to protect poultry species and public health. 

If the regulation is not retained, then the risk of pullorum 

disease and fowl typhoid could have a negative impact on 

small businesses and poultry producers who rely on poultry 

for the viability of their farms and businesses.  

2. The agency has not received any complaints or 

comments about this regulation.  

3. This regulation is not unnecessarily complex and is 

easily understood.  

4. This regulation does not overlap, duplicate, or conflict 

with federal or state law or regulation.  

5. This regulation last underwent periodic review in 2014, 

and since that time, there have not been significant changes 

in technology, economic conditions, or other factors in the 

area affected by the regulation that would require 

amendments to the regulation.  

This regulation was promulgated with due concerns for 

industry and has minimal impact on small businesses. 

Contact Information: Carolynn Bissett, Program Manager, 

Office of Veterinary Services, Department of Agriculture and 

Consumer Services, P.O. Box 1163, Richmond, VA 23218, 

telephone (804) 786-2483, FAX (804) 371-2380, TDD (800) 

828-1120, or email carolynn.bissett@vdacs.virginia.gov. 

Report of Findings 

Pursuant to §§ 2.2-4007.1 and 2.2-4017 of the Code of 

Virginia, the Department of Agriculture and Consumer 

Services conducted a periodic review and small business 

impact review of 2VAC5-141, Health Requirements 

Governing the Admission of Agricultural Animals, Pet 

Animals, and Other Animals or Birds into Virginia, and 

determined that this regulation should be retained in its 

current form. The department is publishing its report of 

findings dated July 31, 2020, to support this decision. 

This regulation is necessary for the protection of public 

health, safety, and welfare because it provides for the 

protection of the animal population in Virginia, which is a 

major component of the public food supply. Since a safe food 

supply is imperative for the public health, safety, and welfare, 

it is important that this regulation stay in place for the 

mailto:carolynn.bissett@vdacs.virginia.gov
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continued protection of the public. It is clearly written and 

easy to understand. 

The agency is recommending that this regulation stay in 

effect without change. 

1. There is a continued need for this regulation to stay in 

effect in order to protect livestock and pet species and 

public health. If the regulation is not maintained, the risk of 

disease could have a negative impact on small businesses 

and producers who rely on livestock for the viability of 

their farms and businesses.  

2. There have been no comments or complaints from the 

public.  

3. The regulation is not unnecessarily complex.  

4. This regulation does not overlap, duplicate, or conflict 

with federal or state law or regulation. This regulation is 

important for the livestock industry and is consistent with 

federal laws and regulations regarding interstate movement 

of animals.  

5. This regulation was last amended in 2019, and since that 

time, there have not been any significant changes in 

technology, economic conditions, or other factors in the 

area affected by the regulation that would require further 

amendments.  

This regulation was promulgated with due concerns for 

industry and has minimal impact on small businesses. 

Contact Information: Carolynn Bissett, Program Manager, 

Office of Veterinary Services, Department of Agriculture and 

Consumer Services, P.O. Box 1163, Richmond, VA 23218, 

telephone (804) 786-2483, FAX (804) 371-2380, TDD (800) 

828-1120, or email carolynn.bissett@vdacs.virginia.gov. 

Report of Findings 

Pursuant to §§ 2.2-4007.1 and 2.2-4017 of the Code of 

Virginia, the Department of Agriculture and Consumer 

Services conducted a periodic review and small business 

impact review of 2VAC5-150, Rules and Regulations 

Governing the Transportation of Companion Animals, 

and determined that this regulation should be retained in its 

current form. The department is publishing its report of 

findings dated July 31, 2020, to support this decision. 

This regulation meets the criteria set out in Executive Order 

14 (2010). Regulations concerning the appropriate 

transportation of companion animals by dealers, animal 

control officers, and other commercial or public entities are in 

the best interest of public health and safety. The regulation is 

clearly written and easily understood. 

The agency is recommending that this regulation stay in 

effect without change. 

1. This regulation is important to the pet and shelter 

industry, and there is continued need to assure that 

companion animals are transported in an appropriate 

manner.  

2. There have not been complaints or comments about this 

regulation.  

3. The regulation is not complex.  

4. This regulation complements federal regulations enacted 

pursuant to the federal Animal Welfare Act and does not 

overlap, duplicate, or conflict with federal or state law or 

regulation.  

5. This regulation last underwent periodic review in 2014, 

and since that time, no significant technological or 

economic developments have impacted the transportation 

of companion animals.  

This regulation was promulgated with due concerns for 

industry and has minimal impact on small businesses. 

Contact Information: Carolynn Bissett, Program Manager, 

Office of Veterinary Services, Department of Agriculture and 

Consumer Services, P.O. Box 1163, Richmond, VA 23218, 

telephone (804) 786-2483, FAX (804) 371-2380, TDD (800) 

828-1120, or email carolynn.bissett@vdacs.virginia.gov. 

Report of Findings 

Pursuant to §§ 2.2-4007.1 and 2.2-4017 of the Code of 

Virginia, the Department of Agriculture and Consumer 

Services conducted a periodic review and small business 

impact review of 2VAC5-170, Rules and Regulations for 

the Registration of Poultry Dealers, and determined that 

this regulation should be retained in its current form. The 

department is publishing its report of findings dated July 31, 

2020, to support this decision. 

This regulation is necessary for the protection of public 

health, safety, and welfare because it provides protection to 

the poultry population in Virginia, which is an important 

component of Virginia's animal agriculture industry. Since a 

safe food supply and good poultry health is imperative for the 

public's health, it is important that this regulation be retained 

for the continued protection of the public and the poultry 

industry. The poultry industry is a significant economic sector 

in Virginia, with broilers being the number one agricultural 

commodity in the state. The regulation is clearly written and 

easy to understand.  

The agency is recommending that this regulation stay in 

effect without change. 

1. The regulation continues to be necessary because it is 

important for the viability of the poultry industry in 

Virginia. Many farms that have poultry are small 

businesses. Without the safeguards this regulation provides, 

these small businesses take on a great amount of risk. 
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Without this regulation, the risk of disease spread becomes 

significantly higher and that risk may greatly decrease 

Virginia's poultry farms and the small businesses that rely 

on them.  

2. There have been no comments or complaints from the 

public about this regulation.  

3. The regulation is not unnecessarily complex and is easily 

understood.  

4. The regulation does not overlap, duplicate, or conflict 

with federal or state law or regulation.  

5. This regulation last underwent periodic review in 2014, 

and since that time, there have not been significant changes 

in technology, economic conditions, or other factors in the 

area affected by the regulation that would require 

amendments.  

This regulation was promulgated with due concerns for 

industry and has minimal impact on small businesses. 

Contact Information: Carolynn Bissett, Program Manager, 

Office of Veterinary Services, Department of Agriculture and 

Consumer Services, P.O. Box 1163, Richmond, VA 23218, 

telephone (804) 786-2483, FAX (804) 371-2380, TDD (800) 

828-1120, or email carolynn.bissett@vdacs.virginia.gov. 

Report of Findings 

Pursuant to §§ 2.2-4007.1 and 2.2-4017 of the Code of 

Virginia, the Department of Agriculture and Consumer 

Services conducted a periodic review and small business 

impact review of 2VAC5-206, Regulation for Scrapie 

Eradication, and determined that this regulation should be 

retained in its current form. The department is publishing its 

report of findings dated July 31, 2020, to support this 

decision. 

This regulation is necessary for the protection of public 

health, safety, and welfare because it provides protection to 

the sheep and goat population in Virginia, which is an 

important component of the livestock industry. Since a safe 

food supply and good livestock health is imperative for the 

public's health, it is important that this regulation stay in place 

for the continued protection of the public and the sheep and 

goat population. The sheep and goat industry is a significant 

economic sector in Virginia, especially in rural areas. The 

regulation is clearly written and easy to understand.  

The agency is recommending that this regulation stay in 

effect without change. 

1. This regulation continues to be needed because it is 

important for protection of the sheep and goat industry in 

Virginia. Many farms that have sheep and goats are small 

businesses. Without the safeguards this regulation provides, 

these small businesses take on a great amount of risk. If 

Virginia's "Scrapie-free status" is compromised, other 

states and countries will not purchase Virginia sheep and 

goats, thereby affecting these small businesses. Without 

this regulation, the risk of that happening becomes 

significantly higher, and that risk may have a significant 

negative impact on Virginia's sheep and goat farms and the 

small businesses that rely on them.  

2. There have been no comments or complaints from the 

public.  

3. The regulation is not unnecessarily complex.  

4. This regulation last underwent periodic review in 2014, 

and since that time, there have not been significant changes 

in technology, economic conditions, or other factors in the 

area affected by the regulation that would require 

amendments.  

This regulation was promulgated with due concerns for 

industry and has minimal impact on small businesses. 

Contact Information: Carolynn Bissett, Program Manager, 

Office of Veterinary Services, Department of Agriculture and 

Consumer Services, P.O. Box 1163, Richmond, VA 23218, 

telephone (804) 786-2483, FAX (804) 371-2380, TDD (800) 

828-1120, or email carolynn.bissett@vdacs.virginia.gov. 

Report of Findings 

Pursuant to §§ 2.2-4007.1 and 2.2-4017 of the Code of 

Virginia, the Department of Agriculture and Consumer 

Services conducted a periodic review and small business 

impact review of 2VAC5-310, Rules and Regulations-

Official Standards for Enforcement of the Virginia 

Apples: Grading, Packing, and Marking Law, and 

determined that this regulation should be retained in its 

current form. The department is publishing its report of 

findings dated May 20, 2020, to support this decision. 

This regulation protects public health, safety, and welfare of 

citizens by ensuring that the apples sold to consumers comply 

with official grade standards and are packaged and marked 

accordingly. The regulation is clearly written and easily 

understandable by the regulated industry and consumers. 

The agency recommends that this regulation stay in effect 

without change. 

The agency has not received any complaints or comments 

regarding the regulation. The agency has determined that this 

regulation is not unnecessarily complex and that the 

complexity of this regulation is not such that it would have an 

economic impact on small businesses. This regulation does 

not overlap, duplicate, or conflict with federal or state law or 

regulation. The agency last conducted a periodic review of 

the regulation in 2014, and the agency has determined that no 

changes in technology, economic conditions, or other factors 

have occurred that necessitate amendments to the regulation. 

The agency continues to believe the current regulation is the 

least burdensome and intrusive alternative for the required 

regulation of the apple industry. 
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Contact Information: Dennis P. Clary, Program Manager, 

Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services, P.O. Box 

1163, Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 786-1933, FAX 

(804) 371-7785, TDD: (800) 828-1120, or email 

dennis.clary@vdacs.virginia.gov. 

Report of Findings 

Pursuant to §§ 2.2-4007.1 and 2.2-4017 of the Code of 

Virginia, the Department of Agriculture and Consumer 

Services conducted a periodic review and small business 

impact review of 2VAC5-315, Virginia Imported Fire Ant 

Quarantine for Enforcement of the Virginia Pest Law, and 

determined that this regulation should be retained in its 

current form. The department is publishing its report of 

findings dated June 24, 2020, to support this decision. 

The regulation assists in reducing the impact of the imported 

fire ant on landowners, thereby protecting the public's health, 

safety, and welfare. This regulation is clearly written and 

easily understandable. 

The agency recommends that this regulation stay in effect 

without change, as this regulation is the only viable 

alternative to slow the artificial spread of the imported fire ant 

from infested areas to noninfested areas. 

The agency has determined that the regulation is not 

unnecessarily burdensome or complex.  

This regulation has an economic impact on businesses, 

including small businesses, that are located in the regulated 

area. These businesses are required to survey for imported 

fire ants and treat regulated articles in an effort to prevent the 

artificial spread of the imported fire ant. The agency was 

contacted by the Virginia Loggers Association (VLA) to 

discuss concerns about the regulation. The VLA requested 

clarification of the regulated articles, enforcement measures, 

and how loggers can comply with the quarantine while 

transporting their products out of the newly quarantined 

counties. Department staff provided guidance on fire ant 

treatment options, self-inspection through a department-

supported compliance agreement, and other steps that the 

businesses can take to comply with the provisions of the 

quarantine.  

Section 3.2-703 of the Code of Virginia provides the 

Commissioner of Agriculture and Consumer Services with 

the authority to expand or reduce the quarantine area. The 

regulation was originally promulgated in 2009. Since that 

time, the department has surveyed for the presence of fire ant 

populations outside of the regulated areas and when detected, 

treated isolated populations found in these areas. In 2019, 

survey data indicated that the fire ant had become established 

outside of the regulated area, and it was necessary to expand 

the regulated area to include additional localities. No 

significant changes to technology, economic conditions or 

other factors have occurred that would necessitate 

amendments to this regulation.  

The imported fire ant is a federally regulated pest. Currently, 

the regulated areas under the federal imported fire ant 

quarantine mirror the regulated areas included in Virginia's 

quarantine. However, without Virginia's regulation in place, 

U.S. Department of Agriculture Animal and Plant Health 

Inspection Service could elect to issue a federal quarantine 

that would encompass all of Virginia and would place 

restrictions on businesses in noninfested areas of Virginia that 

are not currently subject to the provisions of this regulation. 

As such, the agency recommends that the regulation stay in 

effect without change 

Contact Information: David Gianino, Program Manager, 

Office of Plant Industry Services, Department of Agriculture 

and Consumer Services, P.O. Box 1163, Richmond, VA 

23218, telephone (800) 786-3515, FAX (804) 371-7793, 

TDD (800) 828-1120, or email 

david.gianino@vdacs.virginia.gov. 

Report of Findings 

Pursuant to §§ 2.2-4007.1 and 2.2-4017 of the Code of 

Virginia, the Department of Agriculture and Consumer 

Services conducted a periodic review and small business 

impact review of 2VAC5-317, Regulations for 

Enforcement of the Noxious Weeds Law, and determined 

that this regulation should be retained in its current form. The 

department is publishing its report of findings dated June 24, 

2020, to support this decision. 

The regulation is necessary for the protection of public health, 

safety, and welfare as it provides for the suppression, 

eradication, and prevention of the spread of noxious weeds in 

the Commonwealth. The spread of noxious weeds to 

Virginia's natural and agricultural resources may lead to 

significant economic loss. The regulation also protects 

citizens by providing a framework for eradicating those listed 

noxious weeds that may be hazardous to human health. The 

regulation is clearly written and easily understandable.  

The agency recommends that this regulation stay in effect 

without change. The regulation was recently amended 

effective July 21, 2020, and requires no further amendments. 

The agency has determined that this regulation continues to 

be necessary to protect the Commonwealth's agricultural and 

natural resources from the impacts of noxious weeds. The 

agency has determined that this regulation is not 

unnecessarily complex and will not have a significant impact 

on small businesses.  

The agency has not received any complaints or comments 

from the public concerning this regulation. This regulation 

does not overlap, duplicate, or conflict with federal or state 

law or regulations. The agency has determined that the 

recently amended version of this regulation is consistent with 
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current industry practices and that there have been no changes 

in technology, economic conditions, or other factors that 

necessitate further amendments. 

Contact Information: David Gianino, Program Manager, 

Office of Plant Industry Services, Department of Agriculture 

and Consumer Services, P.O. Box 1163, Richmond, VA 

23218, telephone (800) 786-3515, FAX (804) 371-7793, 

TDD (800) 828-1120, or email 

david.gianino@vdacs.virginia.gov. 

Report of Findings 

Pursuant to §§ 2.2-4007.1 and 2.2-4017 of the Code of 

Virginia, the Department of Agriculture and Consumer 

Services conducted a periodic review and small business 

impact review of 2VAC5-440, Rules and Regulations for 

Enforcement of the Virginia Pest Law - Cotton Boll 

Weevil Quarantine, and determined that this regulation 

should be retained in its current form. The department is 

publishing its report of findings dated June 23, 2020, to 

support this decision. 

The regulation assists in the prevention of the re-infestation of 

the cotton boll weevil in Virginia, thereby protecting the 

public's health, safety, and welfare. The eradication and 

exclusion of the cotton boll weevil enhances the quality of the 

environment by reducing the need for pesticide applications 

on cotton, which would otherwise be applied to combat the 

cotton boll weevil. Reduced pesticide applications will also 

result in decreased production costs for Virginia's cotton 

growers.  

The regulation is clearly written and easily understood.  

The agency recommends that this regulation stay in effect 

without change. 

The agency has determined that this regulation continues to 

be necessary in order to prevent the reintroduction of the 

cotton boll weevil into Virginia and ensure the continued 

export of Virginia cotton. Virginia cotton growers, many of 

whom are small business owners, planted approximately 

100,700 acres of cotton in 2019. A cotton boll weevil 

infestation would have a significant negative economic 

impact on these small business owners. Virginia cotton 

growers are assessed a per-acre fee to cover the cost of the 

cotton boll weevil survey. The fee is determined each year by 

the Commissioner of Agriculture and Consumer Services in 

consultation with the Board of Directors of the Virginia Boll 

Weevil Eradication Foundation Inc. All voting members of 

this board are Virginia cotton growers.  

The agency has not received any complaints or comments 

concerning the regulation. This regulation does not overlap, 

duplicate, or conflict with federal or state law or regulations. 

The regulation was most recently reviewed nine years ago, 

and there have been no changes in technology, economic 

conditions, or other factors that require the amendment of the 

regulation. 

Contact Information: David Gianino, Program Manager, 

Office of Plant Industry Services, Department of Agriculture 

and Consumer Services, P.O. Box 1163, Richmond, VA 

23218, telephone (800) 786-3515, FAX (804) 371-7793, 

TDD (800) 828-1120, or email 

david.gianino@vdacs.virginia.gov. 

Report of Findings 

Pursuant to §§ 2.2-4007.1 and 2.2-4017 of the Code of 

Virginia, the Department of Agriculture and Consumer 

Services conducted a periodic review and small business 

impact review of 2VAC5-490, Regulations Governing 

Grade "A" Milk, and determined that this regulation should 

be retained in its current form. The department is publishing 

its report of findings dated July 23, 2020, to support this 

decision. 

This regulation is necessary to ensure the safety and 

wholesomeness of milk and milk products for human 

consumption, which protects the public health, safety, and 

welfare. The regulation is clearly written and easily 

understandable.  

The agency recommends that this regulation stay in effect 

without change as it was amended in 2020. The regulations 

are not overly burdensome to the industry, are clear and 

concise, and are necessary to ensure the safe production of 

milk and milk products. 

1. There is a continued need for this regulation in order to 

ensure that Virginia milk producers and shippers comply 

with federal milk standards and with the standards 

established by the National Conference on Interstate Milk 

Shippers.  

2. The agency has not received any comments or 

complaints about the regulations from the public.  

3. The regulations are not unnecessarily complex and allow 

for the safe manufacture of various forms of milk and milk 

products.  

4. This regulation is adopted from The Grade "A" 

Pasteurized Milk Ordinance, which is a federal model 

regulation for the production of Grade "A" milk and milk 

products. Those regulations were developed by the U.S. 

Food and Drug Administration for the states to adopt. The 

regulation does not conflict, duplicate, or overlap with any 

state or federal regulation.  

5. The regulation was last amended in March 2020. The 

regulation is continually evaluated at a programmatic level 

to ensure that it is adequate to address issues and concerns 

within the manufactured milk industry. Although certain 

portions of the industry have evolved, the regulation, as 
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amended, is current, relevant, and helps to ensure the safe 

production of manufactured milk products.  

Many dairy farms and processors are small businesses, and 

compliance with this regulation is required in order for the 

agency to permit dairy farmers to sell milk to intrastate and 

interstate markets and dairy processors to sell finished 

product Grade "A" fluid milk and dairy products into 

intrastate and interstate commerce. If this regulation were not 

in place, it would have a negative impact on these small 

businesses. 

Contact Information: Ryan Davis, Program Manager, Office 

of Dairy and Foods, Department of Agriculture and 

Consumer Services, P.O. Box 1163, Richmond, VA 23218, 

telephone (804) 786-8899, FAX (804) 371-7792, TDD (800) 

828-1120, or email ryan.davis@vdacs.virginia.gov. 

Report of Findings 

Pursuant to §§ 2.2-4007.1 and 2.2-4017 of the Code of 

Virginia, the Department of Agriculture and Consumer 

Services conducted a periodic review and small business 

impact review of 2VAC5-501, Regulations Governing the 

Cooling, Storing, Sampling and Transporting of Milk, and 

determined that this regulation should be retained in its 

current form. The department is publishing its report of 

findings dated September 14, 2020, to support this decision. 

This regulation is necessary to ensure the safety and 

wholesomeness of milk and milk products for human 

consumption, which protects the public health, safety, and 

welfare. The regulation is clearly written and easily 

understandable.  

The agency recommends that this regulation be retained 

without changes. 

1. The regulation, continues to be needed because it 

provides important safeguards to ensure the safe 

manufacture and distribution of milk and milk products in 

the Commonwealth.  

2. The agency has not received any comments or 

complaints about the regulations from the public.  

3. The regulations are clearly written and not unnecessarily 

complex and allow for the safe manufacture of various 

forms of milk and milk products  

4. There is minimal overlap with existing related state 

regulations and statutes. The minimal overlap occurs 

because the regulations and statutes all address various 

types of dairy products (i.e., many manufactured milk 

products addressed in 2VAC5-531 and Grade "A" milk, 

which is addressed in 2VAC5-490, are both required to be 

sampled and transported by a hauler or sampler who has 

been issued a permit through the department). However, 

the regulation is necessary to appropriately ensure the 

safety of milk and milk products. There is no significant 

duplication or overlap relative to existing federal statutes 

and regulations, as the regulation is based heavily on The 

Grade "A" Pasteurized Milk Ordinance. 

5. The regulation is continually evaluated at a 

programmatic level to ensure that it is adequate to address 

issues and concerns within the dairy industry. Although 

certain portions of the industry have evolved, the 

regulations are still current and relevant, and help to ensure 

the safe production of milk and milk products.  

Since the agency is electing to retain its current regulation, 

there will be no impact on small businesses. 

Contact Information: Ryan Davis, Program Manager, Office 

of Dairy and Foods, Department of Agriculture and 

Consumer Services, P.O. Box 1163, Richmond, VA 23218, 

telephone (804) 786-8899, FAX (804) 371-7792, TDD (800) 

828-1120, or email ryan.davis@vdacs.virginia.gov. 

Report of Findings 

Pursuant to §§ 2.2-4007.1 and 2.2-4017 of the Code of 

Virginia, the Department of Agriculture and Consumer 

Services conducted a periodic review and small business 

impact review of 2VAC5-510, Rules and Regulations 

Governing the Production, Processing, and Sale of Ice 

Cream, Frozen Desserts, and Similar Products, and 

determined that this regulation should be retained in its 

current form. The department is publishing its report of 

findings dated July 27, 2020, to support this decision. 

The regulation is necessary to ensure the safe production and 

distribution of ice cream, frozen desserts, and similar 

products, which protects the public health, safety, and 

welfare. The regulation is clearly written and easily 

understandable. 

The agency recommends that this regulation stay in effect 

without change. The regulation is consistent with the stated 

objectives of the Code of Virginia. The regulations are not 

overly burdensome to the industry, are clear and concise, and 

are necessary to ensure the safe production of ice cream and 

frozen desserts. 

1. There is a continued need for the current regulation as it 

provides necessary safeguards to ensure the safe 

manufacture and distribution of ice cream and frozen 

desserts in the Commonwealth.  

2. The agency has not received any comments or 

complaints about the regulations from the public.  

3. The regulations are clearly written and not unnecessarily 

complex and allow for the safe manufacture of various 

forms of ice cream and frozen desserts.  

4. This regulation does not conflict or overlap with federal 

or state regulations. Section 3.2-5201 of the Code of 

Virginia requires that regulations adopted pertaining to 
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milk or frozen desserts be in conformity with the U.S. 

Department of Health and Human Services and U.S. 

Department of Agriculture (USDA). The current frozen 

desserts regulations are in conformance with the USDA 

model regulations.  

5. This regulation last underwent periodic review in 2015. 

Although certain portions of the industry have evolved, the 

regulations are still relevant and help to ensure the safe 

production of ice cream and frozen desserts.  

Since the agency is electing to retain its current regulation, 

there will be no impact on small businesses. 

Contact Information: Ryan Davis, Program Manager, Office 

of Dairy and Foods, Department of Agriculture and 

Consumer Services, P.O. Box 1163, Richmond, VA 23218, 

telephone (804) 786-8899, FAX (804) 371-7792, TDD (800) 

828-1120, or email ryan.davis@vdacs.virginia.gov. 

Report of Findings 

Pursuant to §§ 2.2-4007.1 and 2.2-4017 of the Code of 

Virginia, the Department of Agriculture and Consumer 

Services conducted a periodic review and small business 

impact review of 2VAC5-531, Regulations Governing Milk 

for Manufacturing Purposes, and determined that this 

regulation should be retained in its current form. The 

department is publishing its report of findings dated July 27, 

2020, to support this decision. 

The regulation is necessary to ensure the regulation of the 

safe manufacture and distribution of milk products, which 

protects the public health, safety, and welfare. The regulation 

is clearly written and easily understandable.  

The agency recommends that this regulation stay in effect 

without change. The regulation is consistent with the stated 

objectives of the Code of Virginia. The regulation is not 

overly burdensome to the industry, is clear and concise, and is 

necessary to ensure the safe sale of milk for manufacturing 

purposes and the safe manufacture and distribution of milk 

products. 

1. There is a continued need for the current regulation as it 

provides sufficient safeguards to ensure the safe 

manufacture and distribution of manufactured grade milk 

products in the Commonwealth. Without the regulation in 

place, the safety of manufactured milk products would be 

compromised.  

2. The agency has not received any comments or 

complaints about the regulations from the public. 

3. The regulations are clearly written and not unnecessarily 

complex and allow for the safe manufacture of various 

forms of manufactured grade milk products.  

4. There is minimal overlap with existing related state 

regulations and statutes. The minimal overlap occurs 

because existing regulations and statutes all address 

multiple types of dairy products (i.e., many manufactured 

milk products and Grade "A" milk, which is addressed in 

2VAC5-490, are required to be pasteurized). However, the 

regulation is necessary to appropriately ensure the safety of 

manufactured milk products. There is no significant 

duplication or overlap relative to existing federal statutes 

and regulations.  

5. The regulation was last amended in 2015. The regulation 

is continually evaluated at a programmatic level to ensure 

that it is adequate to address issues and concerns within the 

manufactured milk industry. Although certain portions of 

the industry have evolved, the regulations are still current 

and relevant and help to ensure the safe production of 

manufactured milk products.  

Because the agency is recommending the retention of the 

existing regulation, there is minimal impact on small 

businesses, as provisions are currently provided within the 

regulation to create exemptions from certain requirements for 

small-scale manufacturers. 

Contact Information: Ryan Davis, Program Manager, Office 

of Dairy and Foods, Department of Agriculture and 

Consumer Services, P.O. Box 1163, Richmond, VA 23218, 

telephone (804) 786-8899, FAX (804) 371-7792, TDD (800) 

828-1120, or email ryan.davis@vdacs.virginia.gov. 

Report of Findings 

Pursuant to §§ 2.2-4007.1 and 2.2-4017 of the Code of 

Virginia, the Department of Agriculture and Consumer 

Services conducted a periodic review and small business 

impact review of 2VAC5-590, Rules and Regulations 

Pertaining to Tolerances and Prohibitions Applicable to 

Ground Beef, and determined that this regulation should be 

retained in its current form. The department is publishing its 

report of findings dated August 3, 2020, to support this 

decision. 

This regulation is necessary to protect the public's health, 

safety, and welfare as it pertains to ground beef, including its 

labeling and fat declaration requirements. This regulation 

ensures that consumers purchasing a ground beef product are 

offered a product that contains no more than the maximum 

allowable fat content and ensures that the ground beef 

products are accurately represented to the consumer. The 

regulation is clearly written and easy to understand. 

The agency is recommending that this regulation stay in 

effect without change. 

1. This regulation is still needed because it is still necessary 

to ensure that ground beef products are produced according 

to and meet minimum acceptable standards relative to 

product formulation and saturated fat content. It also 

ensures that consumers are duly informed via product 

labeling and placard displays regarding the fat content of 

ground beef products and allows consumers to make 
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optimal health choices regarding the level of saturated fat 

consumed when ground beef products are purchased. 

Without this regulation, it will be difficult to find other 

means by which to ensure that ground beef products meet 

acceptable standards.  

2. There have been no complaints or comments received 

regarding this regulation.  

3. The regulation is written in a form that is not overly 

complex and is easily understandable by regulators as well 

as the regulated industry.  

4. There are federal regulations that also mandate a 

maximum fat content of 30% in ground beef products. 

However, these regulations are primarily enforced and 

policed at meat processing facilities. This regulation 

typically applies to ground beef products formulated or 

sold at retail food stores and creates specific production 

standards applicable to retail environments.  

5. This regulation last underwent periodic review in 2014, 

and since that time, there have not been significant changes 

in technology, economic conditions, or other factors in the 

area affected by the regulation that would require 

amendments.  

This regulation was promulgated with due concerns for 

industry and has minimal impact on small businesses. 

Contact Information: Ryan Davis, Program Manager, Office 

of Dairy and Foods, Department of Agriculture and 

Consumer Services, P.O. Box 1163, Richmond, VA 23218, 

telephone (804) 786-8899, FAX (804) 371-7792, TDD (800) 

828-1120, or email ryan.davis@vdacs.virginia.gov. 

Report of Findings 

Pursuant to §§ 2.2-4007.1 and 2.2-4017 of the Code of 

Virginia, the Department of Agriculture and Consumer 

Services conducted a periodic review and small business 

impact review of 2VAC5-610, Rules Governing the 

Solicitation of Contributions, and determined that this 

regulation should be retained in its current form. The 

department is publishing its report of findings dated June 29, 

2020, to support this decision. 

This regulation provides specific registration and reporting 

requirements that clarify the general requirements prescribed 

in the Virginia Solicitation of Contributions Law (VSOC) and 

provides for uniform reporting, which protects public safety 

and economic welfare by improving charitable donation 

decision making by the public. The regulation is clearly 

written and easily understandable. 

The agency recommends that the regulation stay in effect 

without change as it provides clarifications to the general 

requirements prescribed in VSOC, provides an important 

means to ensure uniform reporting for charitable 

organizations that are soliciting contributions from the public, 

and improves the information that is available to the public to 

inform their charitable donation decisions. There have been 

no changes in the industry that necessitate amendments to the 

current regulation. 

The agency has determined that this regulation continues to 

be necessary. The requirements established in the regulation 

are not unnecessarily burdensome. The regulation provides 

protection to the welfare of Virginia citizens by assisting the 

department in providing the public with information that 

enables them to make educated financial decisions regarding 

their charitable contributions. There have been no complaints 

or comments received from the public regarding this 

regulation. The agency has determined that this regulation is 

not unnecessarily complex and that the complexity of this 

regulation will not have an economic impact on small 

businesses.  

The regulation does not appear to overlap, duplicate, or 

conflict with any federal or state law or regulation. The 

regulation was last amended in November 2015. The agency 

has determined that no change in the affected industry has 

occurred since the regulation was last amended that would 

necessitate amending or repealing this regulation. 

Contact Information: Michael Menefee, Program Manager, 

Charitable and Regulatory Programs, Department of 

Agriculture and Consumer Services, P.O. Box 1163, 

Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 786-3983, FAX (804) 

371-7479, TDD (800) 828-1120, or email 

michael.menefee@vdacs.virginia.gov. 

Report of Findings 

Pursuant to §§ 2.2-4007.1 and 2.2-4017 of the Code of 

Virginia, the Department of Agriculture and Consumer 

Services conducted a periodic review and small business 

impact review of 2VAC5-620, Requirements Pertaining to 

the Establishment of the Dangerous Dog Registry, and 

determined that this regulation should be retained in its 

current form. The department is publishing its report of 

findings dated August 4, 2020, to support this decision. 

The regulation is necessary for the protection of public safety 

and welfare because it assists the agency in providing 

information to protect citizens and animals in Virginia from 

dogs that have been deemed dangerous through the 

adjudication process. This regulation is clearly written and 

easy to understand. 

The agency is recommending that this regulation stay in 

effect without change. 

1. The agency has determined that there is a continued need 

for this regulation to stay in effect in order to protect 

citizens, pets, and other animals in the Commonwealth. 

This regulation does not place any regulatory burden on 

small businesses, but assists the agency in providing 

information to the public that enables small businesses to 
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have knowledge of dangerous dogs in their area and take 

necessary precautions to protect their businesses and 

customers.  

2. The comments the agency has received regarding this 

regulation largely pertain to expanding the Dangerous Dog 

Law. Any such change must be enacted by the legislature. 

Other comments indicated the regulations are satisfactory 

as they are.  

3. The regulation is clear and is not complex.  

4. This regulation does not overlap, duplicate, or conflict 

with federal or state law or regulation.  

5. This regulation was amended in 2020, and there have 

been no significant changes in technology, economic 

conditions, or other factors that would require further 

amendments at this time. This regulation was promulgated 

with due concerns for industry and has minimal impact on 

small businesses. 

Contact Information: Carolynn Bissett, Program Manager, 

Office of Veterinary Services, Department of Agriculture and 

Consumer Services, P.O. Box 1163, Richmond, VA 23218, 

telephone (804) 786-2483, FAX (804) 371-2380, TDD (800) 

828-1120, or email carolynn.bissett@vdacs.virginia.gov. 

Report of Findings 

Pursuant to §§ 2.2-4007.1 and 2.2-4017 of the Code of 

Virginia, the Department of Agriculture and Consumer 

Services conducted a periodic review and small business 

impact review of 2VAC5-670, Regulations Governing 

Pesticide Product Registration, Handling, Storage, and 

Disposal under Authority of the Virginia Pesticide 

Control Act, and determined that this regulation should be 

retained in its current form. The department is publishing its 

report of findings dated June 26, 2020, to support this 

decision. 

The regulation assists in ensuring that only pesticide products 

that are registered with the U.S. Environmental Protection 

Agency (EPA) and the department are used in Virginia and, 

as such, is necessary for the protection of public health, 

safety, and welfare. The regulation is clearly written and 

easily understood by the regulated industry. 

The agency recommends that the regulation stay in effect 

without change. The regulation was revised in 2017 to align it 

with current federal pesticide laws, agency policies and 

procedures, and industry standards and to facilitate 

compliance. Given the risks associated with the use of 

pesticides, it is imperative that the requirements for pesticide 

registration, distribution, sale, storage, and use are clear and 

unambiguous. 

The provisions of this regulation continue to be necessary in 

order to ensure that only pesticide products that are registered 

with EPA and the department are used in Virginia. Given the 

inherent safety consideration associated with pesticides, it is 

imperative that the requirements for pesticide businesses that 

manufacture, sell, store, recommend for use, mix, or apply 

pesticides are clear and unambiguous. The comment 

addressed notwithstanding, the department has received no 

complaints or comments regarding this regulation. The 

agency has determined that the regulation is not unnecessarily 

complex and is easily understood by the regulated industry. 

The current regulations, which were amended in 2017, are 

aligned with current federal pesticide laws, agency policies 

and procedures, and industry standards. The regulation does 

not add requirements more restrictive than federal 

requirements to individuals or businesses seeking pesticide 

product registration. The agency has determined that this 

regulation is the least burdensome alternative for effectively 

regulating participants in this industry, including small 

businesses. 

Contact Information: Liza Fleeson Trossbach, Program 

Manager, Office of Pesticide Services, Department of 

Agriculture and Consumer Services, P.O. Box 1163, 

Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 371-6559, FAX (804) 

371-2283, TDD (800) 828-1120, or email 

liza.fleeson@vdacs.virginia.gov. 

Report of Findings 

Pursuant to §§ 2.2-4007.1 and 2.2-4017 of the Code of 

Virginia, the Department of Agriculture and Consumer 

Services conducted a periodic review and small business 

impact review of 2VAC5-675, Regulations Governing the 

Pesticide Fees Charged by the Department of Agriculture 

and Consumer Services, and determined that this regulation 

should be retained in its current form. The department is 

publishing its report of findings dated June 26, 2020, to 

support this decision. 

The regulation is necessary for the protection of public health, 

safety, and welfare. The regulation establishes fees to obtain 

(i) a pesticide product registration, (ii) a commercial 

applicator or registered technician certification, and (iii) a 

pesticide business license. In order for the agency to continue 

to fund the operation of the Commonwealth's pesticide 

programs, it is necessary to collect such fees. These programs 

are necessary to fulfill the licensure, registration, and 

certification requirements of the Virginia Pesticide Control 

Act, which assist in ensuring the proper labeling of pesticide 

products and the proper training of individuals applying or 

recommending the use of pesticide products. This regulation 

is clearly written and easily understandable.  

The agency recommends that this regulation stay in effect 

without change. The regulation was amended in 2019 to 

ensure that the prescribed fees provide adequate funding for 

pesticide-related services. 

The agency has determined that this regulation continues to 

be necessary as the fees established in the regulation are a 
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significant source of the funds that support the 

Commonwealth's pesticide programs. The fees established in 

this regulation were last increased in 2019 in consultation 

with a stakeholder advisory committee, and the agency has 

not received any complaints or comments regarding the 

regulation.  

The agency has determined that this regulation is not 

unnecessarily complex and that the complexity of this 

regulation is not such that it would have an economic impact 

on small businesses. This regulation does not overlap, 

duplicate, or conflict with federal or state law or regulation. 

The regulation was last amended in 2019, and the agency has 

determined that no changes in technology, economic 

conditions, or other factors have occurred that necessitate 

further amendments at this time. 

Contact Information: Liza Fleeson Trossbach, Program 

Manager, Office of Pesticide Services, Department of 

Agriculture and Consumer Services, P.O. Box 1163, 

Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 371-6559, FAX (804) 

371-2283, TDD (800) 828-1120, or email 

liza.fleeson@vdacs.virginia.gov. 

Report of Findings 

Pursuant to §§ 2.2-4007.1 and 2.2-4017 of the Code of 

Virginia, the Department of Agriculture and Consumer 

Services conducted a periodic review and small business 

impact review of 2VAC5-680, Regulations Governing 

Licensing of Pesticide Businesses Operating under 

Authority of the Virginia Pesticide Control Act, and 

determined that this regulation should be retained in its 

current form. The department is publishing its report of 

findings dated June 25, 2020, to support this decision. 

The regulation is necessary for the protection of public health, 

safety, and welfare. Pesticides are used for the control of 

pests that adversely affect crops, structures, human health, 

and domestic animals. Given the risk associated with the 

application of pesticides to both human health and the 

environment, the use of pesticides is highly regulated at the 

federal and state level. The department's pesticide programs 

protect human health and the environment by ensuring the 

proper use of pesticides. These programs include the 

certification of pesticide applicators, the licensing of pesticide 

businesses, the registration of pesticide products, and 

inspections and investigations to ensure compliance with all 

applicable laws and regulations. This regulation sets forth the 

minimum requirements that must be met by businesses that 

manufacture, sell, store, recommend for use, mix, or apply 

pesticides and is clearly written and easily understood. 

The agency recommends that this regulation stay in effect 

without change. The regulation was revised in 2017 to align 

the regulations with current federal pesticide laws, agency 

policies and procedures, industry standards, and to facilitate 

compliance. 

The agency has determined that this regulation continues to 

be necessary as it sets forth minimum requirements for 

pesticide businesses. There have been no complaints from the 

public or industry regarding this regulation. The agency has 

determined that this regulation is not unnecessarily complex 

and that the complexity of this regulation is not such that it 

would have an economic impact on small businesses. The 

regulation does not overlap, duplicate, or conflict with federal 

or state law or regulation. The regulation was last amended in 

2017, and the agency has determined that no changes in 

technology, economic conditions, or other factors have 

occurred that necessitate further amendments. The regulation 

poses no known disadvantages to the public, small 

businesses, or the Commonwealth. 

Contact Information: Liza Fleeson Trossbach, Program 

Manager, Office of Pesticide Services, Department of 

Agriculture and Consumer Services, P.O. Box 1163, 

Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 371-6559, FAX (804) 

371-2283, TDD (800) 828-1120, or email 

liza.fleeson@vdacs.virginia.gov. 

Report of Findings 

Pursuant to §§ 2.2-4007.1 and 2.2-4017 of the Code of 

Virginia, the Department of Agriculture and Consumer 

Services conducted a periodic review and small business 

impact review of 2VAC5-685, Regulations Governing 

Pesticide Applicator Certification under Authority of 

Virginia Pesticide Control Act, and determined that this 

regulation should be retained in its current form. The 

department is publishing its report of findings dated June 26, 

2020, to support this decision. 

The regulation is necessary for the protection of public health, 

safety, and welfare. Pesticides are used for the control of 

pests that adversely affect crops, structures, human health, 

and domestic animals. Given the risk associated with the 

application of pesticides to both human health and the 

environment, the use of pesticides is highly regulated at the 

federal and state level. The department's pesticide programs 

protect human health and the environment through programs 

that certify pesticide applicators, license pesticide businesses, 

register pesticide products, and inspections and investigations 

to ensure compliance with all applicable laws and regulations. 

This regulation sets forth the minimum requirements for 

individuals who apply pesticides and is clearly written and 

easily understood. 

The agency recommends this regulation stay in effect without 

change. The regulation was revised in 2016 to align the 

regulations with current agency policies and procedures and 

industry standards and to facilitate compliance. The agency 

has determined that no changes in technology, economic 

conditions, or other factors have occurred that necessitate 

amending the regulation at this time. 
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The agency recommends continuation of the regulation as it 

ensures the ability of pesticide applicators to properly apply 

pesticides, thereby reducing the chance for misapplication 

and potential threats to the environment and to the health, 

safety, and welfare of citizens. There have been no 

complaints from the public or industry regarding this 

regulation. The agency has determined that this regulation is 

not unnecessarily complex and that the complexity of this 

regulation is not such that it would have an economic impact 

on small businesses. The regulation does not overlap, 

duplicate, or conflict with federal or state laws or regulations. 

The regulation does not add requirements more restrictive 

than federal requirements. The regulation was last amended in 

2016, and the agency has determined that no changes in 

technology, economic conditions, or other factors have 

occurred that necessitate further amendments at this time 

There are no known disadvantages to the public, small 

businesses, or the Commonwealth. 

Contact Information: Liza Fleeson Trossbach, Program 

Manager, Office of Pesticide Services, Department of 

Agriculture and Consumer Services, P.O. Box 1163, 

Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 371-6559, FAX (804) 

371-2283, TDD (800) 828-1120, or email 

liza.fleeson@vdacs.virginia.gov. 

STATE MILK COMMISSION 

Report of Findings 

Pursuant to §§ 2.2-4007.1 and 2.2-4017 of the Code of 

Virginia, the State Milk Commission conducted a periodic 

review and small business impact review of 2VAC15-12, 

Public Participation Guidelines, and determined that this 

regulation should be retained in its current form. The 

department is publishing its report of findings dated August 

27, 2020, to support this decision. 

This regulation is required by § 2.2-4007.02 of the Code of 

Virginia and establishes the mechanisms by which the Milk 

Commission will advise the public of the Milk Commission's 

regulatory actions. Notice of the agency's regulatory actions 

assists in protecting the public's welfare. The regulation is 

clearly written and easily understandable. 

The agency recommends that the regulation stay in effect 

without change because it is required by § 2.2-4007.02 of the 

Code of Virginia and assists in notifying the public of the 

agency's regulatory actions. 

The agency determined this regulation continues to be 

necessary as it is required by § 2.2-4007.02 of the Code of 

Virginia and establishes the mechanisms by which the agency 

will advise the public of the agency's regulatory actions. The 

agency has not received any comments or complaints 

regarding this regulation. The regulation is not complex and 

is easily understood. The regulation does not overlap, 

duplicate, or conflict with federal or state law or regulation. 

The regulation was promulgated in 2008 using the model 

public participation guidelines issued by the Department of 

Planning and Budget and last underwent periodic review in 

2015. No factors have changed since 2015 that necessitate 

amending this regulation. This regulation places no economic 

burden on any small business. 

Contact Information: Crafton Wilkes, Administrator, Oliver 

Hill Building, State Milk Commission, 102 Governor Street, 

Room 206, Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 786-2013, 

FAX (804) 371-8700, or email 

crafton.wilkes@vdacs.virginia.gov. 

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 9. ENVIRONMENT 

STATE AIR POLLUTION CONTROL BOARD 

Report of Findings 

Pursuant to §§ 2.2-4007.1 and 2.2-4017 of the Code of 

Virginia, the State Air Pollution Control Board conducted a 

periodic review and small business impact review of 9VAC5-

80, Permits for Stationary Sources, and determined that this 

regulation should be retained in its current form. The 

department is publishing its report of findings dated 

September 11, 2020, to support this decision. 

This regulation enhances the department's ability to ensure 

compliance with all applicable federal requirements under the 

Clean Air Act and specific requirements under the state code 

through the issuance and enforcement of federal and state 

operating permits to construct and operate a new or modified 

facility. The regulation has been effective in achieving its 

specific and measurable goals, which are as follows:  

1. To protect public health or welfare with the least 

possible cost and intrusiveness to the citizens and 

businesses of the Commonwealth.  

2. To enhance the department's ability to ensure 

compliance with all applicable federal requirements under 

the Clean Air Act and specific requirements under the state 

code through the issuance and enforcement of federal (Title 

V) operating permits.  

3. To identify and clarify for the department and source 

owner exactly which air quality program requirements are 

applicable to the permitted source through the issuance and 

enforcement of federal (Title V) operating permits. 

4. To provide an administrative mechanism to impose 

source-specific regulatory requirements with the flexibility 

to address the individual needs of sources through the 

issuance and enforcement of state operating permits.  

5. To provide a mechanism to administer certain air quality 

control program requirements without the need for federal 
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oversight through the issuance and enforcement of state 

operating permits.  

6. To prevent the construction, modification, or operation 

of facilities that will prevent or interfere with the 

attainment or maintenance of any ambient air quality 

standard through the issuance and enforcement of new 

source review permits.  

7. To ensure that new facilities or expansions to existing 

facilities will be designed, built, and equipped to operate 

without causing or exacerbating a violation of any ambient 

air quality standard through the issuance and enforcement 

or new source review permits.  

8. To ensure that new facilities or expansions to existing 

facilities will be designed, built, and equipped to comply 

with case-by-case control technology determinations and 

other requirements through the issuance and enforcement 

of new source review permits.  

9. To prevent the construction, modification, or operation 

of major facilities that will not use maximum achievable 

control technology to limit emissions of hazardous air 

pollutants through the issuance and enforcement of new 

source review permits.  

10. To ensure that there is no significant deterioration of air 

quality throughout the Commonwealth through the 

issuance and enforcement of new source review permits for 

new major facilities or major expansions locating in 

prevention of significant deterioration (PSD) areas. 

11. To ensure that emission increases from new major 

facilities or major expansions to existing facilities are offset 

by emission reductions from existing facilities by an equal 

or greater amount through the issuance and enforcement of 

new source review permits for new major facilities or 

major expansions locating in nonattainment areas.  

12. Where possible, to provide an alternative to more 

stringent new source review requirements applicable to 

major stationary sources locating in PSD areas and 

nonattainment areas through federally enforceable permit 

emission limits; and  

13. To fully fund the Title V permit program through Title 

V permit program fees as required by state and federal law.  

This regulation has been effective in protecting public health, 

safety, and welfare with the least possible cost and 

intrusiveness to the citizens and businesses of the 

Commonwealth.  

The department has determined that the regulation is clearly 

written and easily understandable by the individuals and 

entities affected. It is written to permit only one reasonable 

interpretation, is written to adequately identify the affected 

entity, and, insofar as possible, is written in nontechnical 

language. 

This regulation satisfies the provisions of the law and legally 

binding state and federal requirements and is effective in 

meeting its goals; therefore, the regulation is being retained 

without amendment. 

This regulation continues to be needed. It provides the 

necessary requirements for conformity to ensure that federal 

projects have the most cost-effective means of fulfilling 

ongoing state and federal requirements that protect air quality.  

No comments were received that indicate a need to repeal or 

revise the regulation.  

The regulation's level of complexity is appropriate to ensure 

that the regulated entities are able to meet their legal 

mandates as efficiently and cost-effectively as possible.  

This regulation does not overlap, duplicate, or conflict with 

any state law or other state regulation. Part I and Part II, 

Articles 4, 5, and 6 were last reviewed in May 2018. Part II, 

Article 3 was last reviewed in January 2013. Part II, Article 8 

was last reviewed in January 2001. Part II, Article 1 was last 

amended in November 2016, Part II, Articles 2, 10, and 11 

were last amended in January 2018. Part II, Article 7 was last 

amended in December 2008.  

Over time, it generally becomes less expensive to 

characterize, measure, and mitigate the regulated pollutants 

that contribute to poor air quality. This regulation continues 

to provide the most efficient and cost-effective means to 

determine the level and impact of excess emissions and to 

control those excess emissions.  

The department, through examination of the regulation and 

relevant public comments, has determined that the regulatory 

requirements currently minimize the economic impact of 

emission control regulations on small businesses and thereby 

minimize the impact on existing and potential Virginia 

employers and their ability to maintain and increase the 

number of jobs in the Commonwealth. 

Contact Information: Gary E. Graham, Department of 

Environmental Quality, 1111 East Main Street, Suite 1400, 

P.O. Box 1105, Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 689-

4103, FAX (804) 698-4319, or email 

gary.graham@deq.virginia.gov. 

Report of Findings 

Pursuant to §§ 2.2-4007.1 and 2.2-4017 of the Code of 

Virginia, the State Air Pollution Control Board conducted a 

periodic review and small business impact review of 9VAC5-

230, Variance for International Paper Franklin Paper 

Mill, and determined that this regulation should be retained in 

its current form. The department is publishing its report of 

findings dated September 10, 2020, to support this decision. 

This regulation enhances the department's ability to ensure 

compliance with all applicable federal requirements under the 

Clean Air Act and specific requirements under the state code.  
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The regulation has been effective in achieving its specific and 

measurable goals, which are as follows: 

1. To protect public health, safety, and welfare with the 

least possible cost and intrusiveness to the citizens and 

businesses of the Commonwealth.  

2. To allow the International Paper Franklin Paper Mill to 

use compliance with a Federally Enforceable State 

Operating Permit containing site-wide emission limits as an 

alternate demonstration of compliance with the provisions 

of the regulations of the State Air Pollution Control Board. 

The alternate regulatory system addresses only the 

pollutants identified in the permit and is protective of the 

national ambient air quality standards.  

The regulation has been effective in protecting public health, 

safety, and welfare with the least possible cost and 

intrusiveness to the citizens and businesses of the 

Commonwealth.  

The department has determined that the regulation is clearly 

written and easily understandable by the individuals and 

entities affected. It is written so as to permit only one 

reasonable interpretation, is written to adequately identify the 

affected entity, and, insofar as possible, is written in 

nontechnical language. 

This regulation satisfies the provisions of the law and legally 

binding state and federal requirements and is effective in 

meeting its goals; therefore, the regulation is being retained 

without amendment. 

This regulation continues to be needed. It provides an 

alternate means of fulfilling ongoing state and federal 

requirements that protect air quality.  

No comments were received during the public comment 

period.  

The regulation's level of complexity is appropriate to ensure 

that the regulated entity is able to meet its legal mandates as 

efficiently and cost-effectively as possible.  

This regulation does not overlap, duplicate, or conflict with 

any state law or other state regulation.  

This chapter became effective in 2005 and has not been 

amended.  

Over time, it generally becomes less expensive to 

characterize, measure, and mitigate the regulated pollutants 

that contribute to poor air quality. This regulation continues 

to provide the most efficient and cost-effective means to 

determine the level and impact of excess emissions and to 

control those excess emissions.  

This variance is specific to the International Paper Franklin 

Plant. The department does not believe that International 

Paper meets the definition of a "small business" as defined by 

§ 2.2-4007.1 of the Code of Virginia; therefore, the regulation 

does not impact small businesses. 

Contact Information: Gary E. Graham, Department of 

Environmental Quality, 1111 East Main Street, Suite 1400, 

P.O. Box 1105, Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 689-

4103, FAX (804) 698-4319, or email 

gary.graham@deq.virginia.gov. 

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 11. GAMING 

CHARITABLE GAMING BOARD 

Report of Findings 

Pursuant to §§ 2.2-4007.1 and 2.2-4017 of the Code of 

Virginia, the Charitable Gaming Board conducted a periodic 

review and small business impact review of 11VAC15-13, 

Public Participation Guidelines, and determined that this 

regulation should be retained in its current form. The 

department is publishing its report of findings dated June 29, 

2020, to support this decision. 

This regulation is required by § 2.2-4007.02 of the Code of 

Virginia and assists in promoting public participation in the 

development, amendment, or repeal of the Charitable Gaming 

Regulations (11VAC15-40). The regulation ensures the 

integrity of charitable gaming in Virginia, thereby protecting 

the public safety and economic welfare of Virginians, 

including the organizations that conduct charitable gaming. 

This regulation is clearly written and easily understandable. 

The agency recommends that the regulation stay in effect 

without change as it provides an important means of 

promoting public participation in the development, 

amendment, or repeal of the Charitable Gaming Regulations 

(11VAC15-40). There have been no changes in the charitable 

gaming industry that necessitate amendments to the current 

regulation. 

The agency determined that requirements established in the 

Public Participation Guidelines continue to be necessary and 

are not unnecessarily burdensome. The agency has received 

no complaints or comments concerning this regulation. The 

agency has determined that this regulation is not 

unnecessarily complex and that the complexity of this 

regulation is not such that it would have an economic impact 

on small businesses.  

The regulation does not overlap, duplicate, or conflict with 

any federal or state law or regulation. The regulation was last 

amended in November 2008, and it last underwent periodic 

review in 2015. The agency has determined that no change in 

the affected industry has occurred since the regulation was 

last amended that would necessitate the amendment or repeal 

of this regulation. 
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Contact Information: Michael Menefee, Program Manager, 

Charitable and Regulatory Programs, Department of 

Agriculture and Consumer Services, 102 Governor Street, 

Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 786-3983, FAX (804) 

371-7479, or email michael.menefee@vdacs.virginia.gov. 

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 22. SOCIAL SERVICES 

DEPARTMENT FOR AGING AND REHABILITATIVE 
SERVICES 

Agency Notice 

Pursuant to Executive Order 14 (as amended July 16, 2018) 

and §§ 2.2-4007.1 and 2.2-4017 of the Code of Virginia, the 

following regulations are undergoing a periodic review and a 

small business impact review: 22VAC30-50, Policies and 

Procedures for Administering Commonwealth 

Neurotrauma Initiative Trust Fund, and 22VAC30-70, 

The Virginia Public Guardian and Conservator Program. 

The review will be guided by the principles in Executive 

Order 14 (as amended July 16, 2018).  

The purpose of this review is to determine whether each 

regulation should be repealed, amended, or retained in its 

current form. Public comment is sought on the review of any 

issue relating to each regulation, including whether the 

regulation (i) is necessary for the protection of public health, 

safety, and welfare or for the economical performance of 

important governmental functions; (ii) minimizes the 

economic impact on small businesses in a manner consistent 

with the stated objectives of applicable law; and (iii) is clearly 

written and easily understandable. 

Public comment period begins October 12, 2020, and ends 

November 2, 2020. 

Comments must include the commenter's name and address 

(physical or email) information in order to receive a response 

to the comment from the agency. 

Following the close of the public comment period, a report of 

both reviews will be posted on the Virginia Regulatory Town 

Hall and published in the Virginia Register of Regulations. 

Contact Information: Charlotte Arbogast, Policy Analyst, 

Department for Aging and Rehabilitative Services, 8004 

Franklin Farms Drive, Richmond, VA 23229, telephone (804) 

662-7093, FAX (804) 662-7663, TDD (800) 464-9950, or 

email charlotte.arbogast@dars.virginia.gov. 

mailto:Michael.Menefee@vdacs.virginia.gov
mailto:charlotte.arbogast@dars.virginia.gov
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NOTICES OF INTENDED REGULATORY ACTION 

TITLE 9. ENVIRONMENT 

STATE WATER CONTROL BOARD 

Notice of Intended Regulatory Action 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 2.2-4007.01 of 

the Code of Virginia that the State Water Control Board 

intends to consider amending 9VAC25-196, General 

Virginia Pollutant Discharge Elimination System 

(VPDES) Permit for Noncontact Cooling Water 

Discharges of 50,000 Gallons Per Day or Less. This general 

permit regulation establishes limitations, monitoring 

requirements, and other special conditions for point source 

discharges of noncontact cooling water of 50,000 gallons per 

day or less to surface waters in order to maintain surface 

water quality. The purpose of the proposed action is to amend 

and reissue the existing general permit, which expires on 

March 1, 2023. Some issues that may need consideration are 

effluent limits, including making chlorine non-detectable 

limit compatible with U.S. Environmental Protection Agency 

reporting requirements; clarifying definitions; and reviewing 

water quality standards. 

The agency intends to hold a public hearing on the proposed 

action after publication in the Virginia Register.  

Statutory Authority: § 62.1-44.15 of the Code of Virginia; 

§ 402 of the Clean Water Act; 40 CFR Parts 122, 123, and 

124. 

Public Comment Deadline: November 12, 2020. 

Agency Contact: Peter Sherman, Department of 

Environmental Quality, 1111 East Main Street, Suite 1400, 

P.O. Box 1105, Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 698-

4044, or email peter.sherman@deq.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R21-6527; Filed September 22, 2020, 7:02 a.m.  

mailto:peter.sherman@deq.virginia.gov
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REGULATIONS 

TITLE 2. AGRICULTURE 

BOARD OF AGRICULTURE AND CONSUMER 
SERVICES 

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Board of Agriculture and 

Consumer Services is claiming an exemption from Article 2 

of the Administrative Process Act in accordance with § 2.2-

4006 A 4 a of the Code of Virginia, which excludes 

regulations that are necessary to conform to changes in 

Virginia statutory law or the appropriation act where no 

agency discretion is involved. The Board of Agriculture and 

Consumer Services will receive, consider, and respond to 

petitions by any interested person at any time with respect to 

reconsideration or revision. 

Title of Regulation: 2VAC5-405. Regulations for the 

Application of Fertilizer to Nonagricultural Lands 

(amending 2VAC5-405-100). 

Statutory Authority: § 3.2-3602.1 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: November 11, 2020.  

Agency Contact: David Gianino, Program Manager, Office of 

Plant Industry Services, Department of Agriculture and 

Consumer Services, P.O. Box 1163, Richmond, VA 23218, 

telephone (804) 786-3515, FAX (804) 371-7793, TTY (800) 

828-1120, or email david.gianino@vdacs.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

Pursuant to Chapter 413 of the 2020 Acts of Assembly, the 

amendment updates the total annual number of acres of 

nonagricultural lands to which contractor-applicators and 

licensees must apply lawn fertilizer and lawn maintenance 

fertilizers to be required to submit an annual report. 

2VAC5-405-100. Recordkeeping requirements and 

reporting for the application of fertilizer. 

A. Licensees, contractor-applicators, and state agencies, 

localities, or other governmental entities subject to this 

regulation shall maintain records of each application of 

fertilizer to nonagricultural land for at least three years 

following the application. These records shall be available for 

inspection by the commissioner. Each record shall contain 

the:  

1. Name, mailing address, and telephone number of 

customer, as well as address of application site if different 

from customer's mailing address;  

2. Name of the person making or supervising the 

application;  

3. Day, month, and year of application;  

4. Weather conditions at the start of the application; 

5. Acreage, area, square footage, or plants treated;  

6. Analysis of fertilizer applied;  

7. Amount of fertilizer used, by weight or volume; and  

8. Type of application equipment used.  

B. Contractor-applicators and licensees who apply lawn 

fertilizer and lawn maintenance fertilizer to more than a total 

of 100 50 acres of nonagricultural lands annually, and state 

agencies, localities, or other governmental entities that apply 

lawn fertilizer and lawn maintenance fertilizer to 

nonagricultural lands under their control, shall submit an 

annual report on or before February 1 indicating the total 

acreage or square footage by zip code of the land receiving 

lawn fertilizer and lawn maintenance fertilizer in the 

preceding calendar year.  The report shall be submitted on a 

form prescribed by the commissioner.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R21-6415; Filed September 21, 2020, 10:32 a.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 4. CONSERVATION AND NATURAL 
RESOURCES 

BOARD OF WILDLIFE RESOURCES 

Proposed Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Board of Wildlife Resources 

is claiming an exemption from the Administrative Process 

Act pursuant to § 2.2-4002 A 3 of the Code of Virginia when 

promulgating regulations regarding the management of 

wildlife.  

Title of Regulation: 4VAC15-20. Definitions and 

Miscellaneous: In General (amending 4VAC15-20-50).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 29.1-103, 29.1-501, and 29.1-502 of 

the Code of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: 

October 22, 2020 - 9 a.m. - Department of Wildlife 

Resources, 7870 Villa Park Drive, Suite 400, Henrico, 

VA 23228 

mailto:david.gianino@vdacs.virginia.gov
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Public Comment Deadline: October 22, 2020. 

Agency Contact: Aaron Proctor, Regulations Coordinator, 

Department of Wildlife Resources, 7870 Villa Park Drive, 

Suite 400, Henrico, VA 23228, telephone (804) 367-8341, or 

email aaron.proctor@dwr.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The proposed amendment updates the List of Native and 

Naturalized Fauna of Virginia to the 2020 version. 

4VAC15-20-50. Definitions; "wild animal," "native 

animal," "naturalized animal," "nonnative (exotic) 

animal," and "domestic animal."  

A. In accordance with § 29.1-100 of the Code of Virginia, 

the following terms shall have the meanings ascribed to them 

by this section when used in regulations of the board:  

"Native animal" means those species and subspecies of 

animals naturally occurring in Virginia, as included in the 

department's 2018 2020 "List of Native and Naturalized 

Fauna of Virginia," with copies available in the headquarters 

and regional offices of the department.  

"Naturalized animal" means those species and subspecies of 

animals not originally native to Virginia that have established 

wild, self-sustaining populations, as included in the 

department's 2018 2020 "List of Native and Naturalized 

Fauna of Virginia," with copies available in the headquarters 

and regional offices of the department.  

"Nonnative (exotic) animal" means those species and 

subspecies of animals not naturally occurring in Virginia, 

excluding domestic and naturalized species.  

The following animals are defined as domestic animals:  

Domestic dog (Canis familiaris), including wolf hybrids.  

Domestic cat (Felis catus), including hybrids with wild 

felines.  

Domestic horse (Equus caballus), including hybrids with 

Equus asinus.  

Domestic ass, burro, and donkey (Equus asinus).  

Domestic cattle (Bos taurus and Bos indicus).  

Domestic sheep (Ovis aries) including hybrids with wild 

sheep.  

Domestic goat (Capra hircus).  

Domestic swine (Sus scrofa), including pot-bellied pig and 

excluding any swine that are wild or for which no claim of 

ownership can be made.  

Llama (Lama glama).  

Alpaca (Lama pacos).  

Camels (Camelus bactrianus and Camelus dromedarius).  

Domesticated races of hamsters (Mesocricetus spp.).  

Domesticated races of mink (Mustela vison) where adults 

are heavier than 1.15 kilograms or their coat color can be 

distinguished from wild mink.  

Domesticated races of guinea pigs (Cavia porcellus).  

Domesticated races of gerbils (Meriones unguiculatus).  

Domesticated races of chinchillas (Chinchilla laniger).  

Domesticated races of rats (Rattus norvegicus and Rattus 

rattus).  

Domesticated races of mice (Mus musculus).  

Domesticated breeds of European rabbit (Oryctolagus 

cuniculus) recognized by the American Rabbit Breeders 

Association, Inc. and any lineage resulting from 

crossbreeding recognized breeds. A list of recognized 

rabbit breeds is available on the department's website.  

Domesticated races of chickens (Gallus).  

Domesticated races of turkeys (Meleagris gallopavo).  

Domesticated races of ducks and geese distinguishable 

morphologically from wild birds.  

Feral pigeons (Columba domestica and Columba livia) and 

domesticated races of pigeons.  

Domesticated races of guinea fowl (Numida meleagris).  

Domesticated races of peafowl (Pavo cristatus). 

"Wild animal" means any member of the animal kingdom, 

except domestic animals, including without limitation any 

native, naturalized, or nonnative (exotic) mammal, fish, bird, 

amphibian, reptile, mollusk, crustacean, arthropod, or other 

invertebrate, and includes any hybrid of them, except as 

otherwise specified in regulations of the board, or part, 

product, egg, or offspring of them, or the dead body or parts 

of them.  

B. Exception for red foxes and European rabbits. 

Domesticated red foxes (Vulpes vulpes) having coat colors 

distinguishable from wild red foxes and wild European 

rabbits possessed in captivity on July 1, 2017, may be 

maintained in captivity until the animal dies, but the animal 

may not be bred or sold without a permit from the 

department. Persons possessing domesticated red foxes or 

European rabbits without a permit from the department must 

declare such possession in writing to the department by 

January 1, 2018. This written declaration must include the 

number of individual animals in possession and date 

acquired, sex, estimated age, coloration, and a photograph of 

each fox or European rabbit. This written declaration shall (i) 

serve as a permit for possession only, (ii) is not transferable, 

and (iii) must be renewed every five years. 

mailto:aaron.proctor@dwr.virginia.gov
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DOCUMENTS INCORPORATED BY REFERENCE 

(4VAC15-20) 

List of Native and Naturalized Fauna of Virginia, April 

2018, Virginia Department of Game and Inland Fisheries 

List of Native and Naturalized Fauna of Virginia, October 

2020, Virginia Department of Wildlife Resources 

Federal Endangered and Threatened Animal Species as of 

May 7, 2019 

VA.R. Doc. No. R21-5905; Filed September 22, 2020, 3:43 p.m.  

Proposed Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Board of Wildlife Resources 

is claiming an exemption from the Administrative Process 

Act pursuant to § 2.2-4002 A 3 of the Code of Virginia when 

promulgating regulations regarding the management of 

wildlife.  

Title of Regulation: 4VAC15-20. Definitions and 

Miscellaneous: In General (amending 4VAC15-20-66).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 29.1-103, 29.1-501, and 29.1-502 of 

the Code of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: 

October 22, 2020 - 9 a.m. - Department of Wildlife 

Resources, 7870 Villa Park Drive, Suite 400, Henrico, 

VA 23228 

Public Comment Deadline: October 22, 2020. 

Agency Contact: Aaron Proctor, Regulations Coordinator, 

Department of Wildlife Resources, 7870 Villa Park Drive, 

Suite 400, Henrico, VA 23228, telephone (804) 367-8341, or 

email aaron.proctor@dwr.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The proposed amendments extend the daily or annual fee 

provision for use of certain department-owned or 

department-managed facilities to include all department-

managed lands and boat launch sites. This fee shall not 

apply to any person who is a passenger of but not the 

owner or operator of a paddlecraft or registered vessel. 

4VAC15-20-66. Admittance, parking, or other use fee at 

certain department-owned and department-managed 

facilities. 

A. Pursuant to the authority of the board under § 29.1-103 

(14) of the Code of Virginia and in accordance with § 29.1-

113 of the Code of Virginia, a daily fee of $3.00 or an annual 

fee equal to the price of an annual basic state resident fishing 

or hunting license is established for admittance, parking, or 

other use at department-owned wildlife management areas or 

department-managed lands, boat launch sites, and public 

fishing lakes. Such fee shall not apply to (i) any person 

holding a valid hunting, trapping, or fishing license, or a 

current certificate of boat registration issued by the 

department; (ii) persons 16 years of age or younger; or (iii) 

the use of department-owned boat ramps. any person who is a 

passenger in but not the owner or operator of a paddlecraft or 

registered vessel. 

B. Any person violating this section may, in lieu of any 

criminal penalty, be assessed a civil penalty of $50 in lieu of 

any criminal penalty. 

C. The director may waive fees for any person, group, or 

organization whenever such action is deemed to be in the 

department's interest. Any or all facilities may be closed by 

the director without notice due to an emergency or natural 

disaster. Full refunds or credits may be issued whenever the 

closure prevents any use of the facility during the term of the 

permit. Partial refunds of fees may be made in the interest of 

providing better customer service. 

D. The director may allow deviations from established fees 

in the form of discounts or special promotions for the purpose 

of stimulating visitation and use of departmental facilities. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R21-5914; Filed September 22, 2020, 5:51 p.m.  

Proposed Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Board of Wildlife Resources 

is claiming an exemption from the Administrative Process 

Act pursuant to § 2.2-4002 A 3 of the Code of Virginia when 

promulgating regulations regarding the management of 

wildlife.  

Title of Regulation: 4VAC15-20. Definitions and 

Miscellaneous: In General (adding 4VAC15-20-155).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 29.1-103, 29.1-501, and 29.1-502 of 

the Code of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: 

October 22, 2020 - 9 a.m. - Department of Wildlife 

Resources, 7870 Villa Park Drive, Suite 400, Henrico, 

VA 23228 

Public Comment Deadline: October 22, 2020. 

Agency Contact: Aaron Proctor, Regulations Coordinator, 

Department of Wildlife Resources, 7870 Villa Park Drive, 

Suite 400, Henrico, VA 23228, telephone (804) 367-8341, or 

email aaron.proctor@dwr.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The proposed regulation authorizes dispersed primitive 

camping on Wildlife Management Areas and other 

department-owned or department-controlled lands. The 

regulation additionally establishes and defines terms and 

conditions for camping. 

http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=32d01005905~10.pdf&typ=40&actno=005905&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=32d01005905~10.pdf&typ=40&actno=005905&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=b10fe005933~39.pdf&typ=40&actno=005933&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=b10fe005933~39.pdf&typ=40&actno=005933&mime=application/pdf
mailto:aaron.proctor@dwr.virginia.gov
mailto:aaron.proctor@dwr.virginia.gov
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4VAC15-20-155. Camping on Wildlife Management Areas 

and other department-owned or department-managed 

lands. 

A. Temporary dispersed camping, with no amenities 

provided, may only be performed on Wildlife Management 

Areas (WMAs) and other department-owned or managed 

lands when occupants are engaged in authorized activities and 

in strict compliance with established terms and conditions, 

including those listed in this section. Camping may be 

prohibited on certain portions or entire parcels of department-

owned or managed lands, including certain WMAs.  

B. Authorization. It shall be unlawful to camp without 

written authorization from the department. Written 

authorization to camp is required in addition to any and all 

other licenses, permits or authorizations that may otherwise 

be required. Written authorization is obtained by completing 

and submitting a Camping Authorization Form. Only an 

individual 18 years of age or older who is a member of and 

accepts responsibility for the camp and camping group may 

be issued a camping authorization. 

C. Camping periods. Unless otherwise posted or authorized, 

it shall be unlawful to camp for more than 14 consecutive 

nights, or more than 14 nights in a 28-day period on 

department-owned or controlled lands. At the end of the 

authorized camping period, all personal property and any 

refuse must be removed. 

D. Prohibited locations. Camping is allowed only at 

previously cleared and established sites. No vegetation may 

be cut, damaged, or removed to establish a camp site. It shall 

be unlawful to camp within 300 feet of any department-

owned lake, boat ramp or other facility. It shall be unlawful to 

camp at other specific locations as posted. This section shall 

not prohibit active angling at night along shorelines where 

permitted. 

E. Removal of personal property and refuse. Any person 

who establishes or occupies a camp shall be responsible for 

the complete removal of all personal property and refuse 

when the camping authorization has expired. Any personal 

property or refuse that remains after the camping 

authorization has expired shall be considered litter and 

punishable pursuant to § 33.2-802 of the Code of Virginia. 

F. It shall be unlawful when camping on department-owned 

or managed lands to store or leave unattended any food 

(including food for pets and livestock), refuse, bear attractant, 

or other wildlife attractant unless it is (i) in a bear-resistant 

container; (ii) in a trunk of a vehicle or in a closed, locked, 

hard-sided motor vehicle with a solid top; (iii) in a closed, 

locked, hard-body trailer; or (iv) suspended at least 10 feet 

clear of the ground at all points and at least four feet 

horizontally from the supporting tree or pole and any other 

tree or pole. It shall be unlawful to discard, bury, or abandon 

any food, refuse, bear attractant, or other wildlife attractant 

unless it is disposed of by placing it inside an animal-resistant 

trash receptacle provided by the department.  

G. Any violation of this section or other posted rules shall be 

punishable as a Class III misdemeanor, and the camping 

permit shall become null and void. The permittee shall be 

required to immediately vacate the property upon summons 

or notification. A second or subsequent offense may result in 

the loss of camping privileges on department-owned or 

managed properties.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R21-5916; Filed September 22, 2020, 6:03 p.m.  

Proposed Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Board of Wildlife Resources 

is claiming an exemption from the Administrative Process 

Act pursuant to § 2.2-4002 A 3 of the Code of Virginia when 

promulgating regulations regarding the management of 

wildlife.  

Title of Regulation: 4VAC15-30. Definitions and 

Miscellaneous: Importation, Possession, Sale, etc., of 

Animals (amending 4VAC15-30-40).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 29.1-103, 29.1-501, and 29.1-502 of 

the Code of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: 

October 22, 2020 - 9 a.m. - Department of Wildlife 

Resources, 7870 Villa Park Drive, Suite 400, Henrico, 

VA 23228 

Public Comment Deadline: October 22, 2020. 

Agency Contact: Aaron Proctor, Regulations Coordinator, 

Department of Wildlife Resources, 7870 Villa Park Drive, 

Suite 400, Henrico, VA 23228, telephone (804) 367-8341, or 

email aaron.proctor@dwr.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The proposed amendments clarify the exception for grass 

carp and add an exception relating to the possession and 

transport of Alabama bass. 

4VAC15-30-40. Importation requirements, possession, 

and sale of nonnative (exotic) animals.  

A. Permit required. A special permit is required and may be 

issued by the department, if consistent with the department's 

fish and wildlife management program, to import, possess, or 

sell those nonnative (exotic) animals listed below and in 

4VAC15-20-210 that the board finds and declares to be 

predatory or undesirable within the meaning and intent of 

§ 29.1-542 of the Code of Virginia, in that their introduction 

into the Commonwealth will be detrimental to the native fish 

and wildlife resources of Virginia.  
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AMPHIBIANS 

Order Family Genus/Species Common Name 

Anura Bufonidae Rhinella marina Cane toad* 

Pipidae Hymenochirus spp. 

Pseudohymenochiris merlini 

African dwarf frog 

Xenopus spp. Tongueless or African clawed frog 

Caudata Ambystomatidae All species All mole salamanders 

BIRDS 

Order Family Genus/Species Common Name 

Psittaciformes Psittacidae  Myiopsitta monachus Monk parakeet* 

Anseriformes Anatidae  Cygnus olor Mute swan 

FISH 

Order Family Genus/Species Common Name 

Cypriniformes  Catostomidae Catostomus microps Modoc sucker 

Catostomus santaanae Santa Ana sucker 

Catostomus warnerensis Warner sucker  

Ictiobus bubalus  Smallmouth* buffalo 

I. cyprinellus Bigmouth* buffalo 

I. niger  Black buffalo* 

Characidae Pygopristis spp. 

Pygocentrus spp. 

Rooseveltiella spp. 

Serrasalmo spp. 

Serrasalmus spp. 

Taddyella spp. 

Piranhas 

Cobitidae Misgurnus anguillicaudatus Oriental weatherfish 

Cyprinidae Aristichyhys nobilis Bighead carp* 

Chrosomus saylori Laurel dace 

Ctenopharyngodon idella Grass carp or white amur 

Cyprinella caerulea Blue shiner 

Cyprinella formosa Beautiful shiner 

Cyprinella lutrensis  Red shiner 

Hypophthalmichthys molitrix Silver carp* 

Mylopharyngodom piceus Black carp* 

Notropis albizonatus Palezone shiner 

Notropis cahabae Cahaba shiner 

Notropis girardi Arkansas River shiner 
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Notropis mekistocholas Cape Fear shiner 

Notropis simus pecosensis Pecos bluntnose shiner 

Notropis topeka (= tristis) Topeka shiner 

Phoxinus cumberlandensis Blackside dace 

Rhinichthys osculus lethoporus Independence Valley speckled dace 

Rhinichthys osculus 

nevadensis 

Ash Meadows speckled dace 

Rhinichthys osculus oligoporus Clover Valley speckled dace 

Rhinichthys osculus ssp. Foskett speckled dace 

Rhinichthys osculus thermalis Kendall Warm Springs dace 

Scardinius erythrophthalmus Rudd 

Tinca tinca Tench* 

Cyprinodontiformes Poeciliidae Gambusia gaigei Big Bend gambusia 

Gambusia georgei San Marcos gambusia 

Gambusia heterochir Clear Creek gambusia 

Gambusia nobilis Pecos gambusia 

Peociliopsis occidentalis Gila topminnow 

Gasterosteiformes Gasterosteidae Gasterosteus aculeatus 

williamsoni 

Unarmored threespine stickleback 

Gobiesociformes Gobiidae Proterorhinus marmoratus Tubenose goby 

Neogobius melanostomus Round goby 

Perciformes Channidae Channa spp. 

Parachanna spp. 

Snakeheads 

Cichlidae Tilapia spp. Tilapia 

Gymnocephalus cernuum Ruffe* 

Elassomatidae Elassoma alabamae Spring pygmy sunfish 

Percidae Crystallaria cincotta Diamond darter 

Etheostoma chermocki Vermilion darter 

Etheostoma boschungi Slackwater darter 

Etheostoma chienense Relict darter 

Etheostoma etowahae Etowah darter 

Etheostoma fonticola Fountain darter 

Etheostoma moorei Yellowcheek darter 

Etheostoma nianguae Niangua darter 

Etheostoma nuchale Watercress darter 
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Etheostoma okaloosae Okaloosa darter 

Etheostoma phytophilum Rush darter 

Etheostoma rubrum Bayou darter 

Etheostoma scotti Cherokee darter 

Etheostoma sp. Bluemask (= jewel) darter 

Etheostoma susanae Cumberland darter 

Etheostoma wapiti Boulder darter 

Percina antesella Amber darter 

Percina aurolineata Goldline darter 

Percina jenkinsi Conasauga logperch 

Percina pantherina Leopard darter 

Percina tanasi Snail darter 

Scorpaeniformes Cottidae Cottus sp. Grotto sculpin 

Cottus paulus (= pygmaeus) Pygmy sculpin 

Siluriformes Clariidae All species Air-breathing catfish 

Ictaluridae Noturus baileyi Smoky madtom 

Noturus crypticus Chucky madtom 

Noturus placidus Neosho madtom 

Noturus stanauli Pygmy madtom 

Noturus trautmani Scioto madtom 

Synbranchiformes Synbranchidae Monopterus albus Swamp eel 

MAMMALS 

Order Family Genus/Species Common Name 

Artiodactyla Suidae  All Species Pigs or Hogs* 

Cervidae All Species Deer* 

Carnivora Canidae All Species Wild Dogs,* Wolves, Coyotes or Coyote 

hybrids, Jackals and Foxes 

Ursidae All Species Bears* 

Procyonidae All Species Raccoons and* Relatives 

Mustelidae All Species Weasels, Badgers,* Skunks and Otters 

(except Mustela putorius furo) Ferret 

Viverridae All Species Civets, Genets,* Lingsangs, Mongooses, and 

Fossas 

Herpestidae All Species Mongooses* 

Hyaenidae All Species Hyenas and Aardwolves* 

Felidae All Species Cats* 
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Chiroptera   All Species Bats* 

Lagomorpha Lepridae Brachylagus idahoensis Pygmy rabbit 

Lepus europeaeous European hare 

Oryctolagus cuniculus European rabbit 

Sylvilagus bachmani riparius Riparian brush rabbit 

Sylvilagus palustris hefneri Lower Keys marsh rabbit 

Rodentia   All species native to Africa All species native to Africa 

Dipodidae Zapus hudsonius preblei Preble's meadow jumping mouse 

Muridae Microtus californicus 

scirpensis 

Amargosa vole 

Microtus mexicanus 

hualpaiensis 

Hualapai Mexican vole 

Microtus pennsylvanicus 

dukecampbelli 

Florida salt marsh vole 

Neotoma floridana smalli Key Largo woodrat 

Neotoma fuscipes riparia Riparian (= San Joaquin Valley) woodrat 

Oryzomys palustris natator Rice rat 

Peromyscus gossypinus 

allapaticola 

Key Largo cotton mouse 

Peromyscus polionotus 

allophrys 

Choctawhatchee beach mouse 

Peromyscus polionotus 

ammobates 

Alabama beach mouse 

Peromyscus polionotus 

niveiventris  

Southeastern beach mouse  

Peromyscus polionotus 

peninsularis 

St. Andrew beach mouse 

Peromyscus polionotus phasma Anastasia Island beach mouse 

Peromyscus polionotus 

trissyllepsis 

Perdido Key beach mouse 

Reithrodontomys raviventris Salt marsh harvest mouse 

Heteromyidae Dipodomys heermanni 

morroensis 

Morro Bay kangaroo rat 

Dipodomys ingens  Giant kangaroo rat 

Dipodomys merriami parvus San Bernadino Merriam's kangaroo rat 

Dipodomys nitratoides exilis Fresno kangaroo rat 

Dipodomys nitratoides 

nitratoides 

Tipton kangaroo rat 
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Dipodomys stephensi 

(including D. cascus) 

Stephens' kangaroo rat 

Perognathus longimembris 

pacificus 

Pacific pocket mouse 

Sciuridae Cynomys spp. Prairie dogs 

Spermophilus brunneus 

brunneus 

Northern Idaho ground squirrel 

Tamiasciurus hudsonicus 

grahamensis 

Mount Graham red squirrel 

Soricomorpha Soricidae Sorex ornatus relictus Buena Vista Lake ornate shrew 

MOLLUSKS 

Order Family Genus/Species Common Name 

Neotaenioglossa Hydrobiidae Potamopyrgus antipodarum New Zealand mudsnail 

Veneroida Dreissenidae Dreissena bugensis  Quagga mussel 

Dreissena polymorpha  Zebra mussel 

REPTILES 

Order Family Genus/Species Common Name 

Crocodilia Alligatoridae All species Alligators, caimans* 

Crocodylidae  All species Crocodiles*  

Gavialidae All species Gavials* 

Squamata Colubridae Boiga irregularis Brown tree snake* 

CRUSTACEANS 

Order Family Genus/Species Common Name 

Decapoda Cambaridae Cambarus aculabrum Cave crayfish 

Cambarus zophonastes Cave crayfish 

Orconectes rusticus Rusty crayfish 

Orconectes shoupi Nashville crayfish 

Pacifastacus fortis Shasta crayfish 

Procambarus sp. Marbled crayfish 

Parastacidae Cherax spp. Australian crayfish 

Varunidea Eriocheir sinensis Chinese mitten crab 

B. Temporary possession permit for certain animals. 

Notwithstanding the permitting requirements of subsection A 

of this section, a person, company or corporation possessing 

any nonnative (exotic) animal, designated with an asterisk (*) 

in subsection A of this section, prior to July 1, 1992, must 

declare such possession in writing to the department by 

January 1, 1993. This written declaration shall serve as a 

permit for possession only, is not transferable, and must be 

renewed every five years. This written declaration must 

include species name, common name, number of individuals, 

date or dates acquired, sex (if possible), estimated age, height 

or length, and other characteristics such as bands and band 

numbers, tattoos, registration numbers, coloration, and 

specific markings. Possession transfer will require a new 

permit according to the requirements of this subsection.  



Regulations 

Volume 37, Issue 4 Virginia Register of Regulations October 12, 2020 

553 

C. Exception for certain monk parakeets. A permit is not 

required for monk parakeets (quakers) that have been captive 

bred and are closed-banded with a seamless band.  

D. Exception for parts or products. A permit is not required 

for parts or products of those nonnative (exotic) animals 

listed in subsection A of this section that may be used for 

personal use, in the manufacture of products, or used in 

scientific research, provided that such parts or products be 

packaged outside the Commonwealth by any person, 

company, or corporation duly licensed by the state in which 

the parts originate. Such packages may be transported into the 

Commonwealth, consistent with other state laws and 

regulations, so long as the original package remains 

unbroken, unopened and intact until its point of destination is 

reached. Documentation concerning the type and cost of the 

animal parts ordered, the purpose and date of the order, point 

and date of shipping, and date of receiving shall be kept by 

the person, business, or institution ordering such nonnative 

(exotic) animal parts. Such documentation shall be open to 

inspection by a representative of the Department of Game and 

Inland Fisheries.  

E. Exception for prairie dogs. The effective date of listing of 

prairie dogs under subsection A of this section shall be 

January 1, 1998. Prairie dogs possessed in captivity in 

Virginia on December 31, 1997, may be maintained in 

captivity until the animals' deaths, but they may not be sold 

on or after January 1, 1998, without a permit.  

F. Exception for snakehead fish. Anglers may legally 

harvest snakehead fish of the family Channidae, provided that 

they immediately kill such fish and that they notify the 

department, as soon as practicable, of such actions.  

G. Exception for feral hogs. Anyone may legally trap feral 

hogs with written permission of the landowner, provided that 

any trapped hogs are not removed from the trap site alive and 

are killed immediately.  

H. Exception for grass carp. Anglers may legally harvest 

grass carp of the family Cyprinidae only from public waters 

of the Commonwealth, except from department-owned or 

department-controlled lakes, provided that anglers. It is 

unlawful to harvest grass carp from any public inland lake or 

reservoir. Anglers taking grass carp must ensure that 

harvested grass carp are dead.  

I. Exception for Alabama bass. Anglers may possess live 

Alabama bass of the family Centrarchidae only on the body 

of water from which the fish were captured, provided that the 

angler does not live transport these fish outside of the body of 

water from which the fish were captured. Anglers may only 

release live Alabama bass back into the body of water from 

which the fish were captured. Anglers may legally harvest 

Alabama bass provided that the anglers ensure all harvested 

Alabama bass are dead. 

J. All other nonnative (exotic) animals. All other nonnative 

(exotic) animals not listed in subsection A of this section may 

be possessed, purchased, and sold; provided, that such 

animals shall be subject to all applicable local, state, and 

federal laws and regulations, including those that apply to 

threatened/endangered species, and further provided, that 

such animals shall not be liberated within the 

Commonwealth.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R21-5906; Filed September 22, 2020, 3:48 p.m.  

Proposed Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Board of Wildlife Resources 

is claiming an exemption from the Administrative Process 

Act pursuant to § 2.2-4002 A 3 of the Code of Virginia when 

promulgating regulations regarding the management of 

wildlife.  

Title of Regulation: 4VAC15-320. Fish: Fishing Generally 

(amending 4VAC15-320-25, 4VAC15-320-60, 4VAC15-

320-100).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 29.1-103, 29.1-501, and 29.1-502 of 

the Code of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: 

October 22, 2020 - 9 a.m. - Department of Wildlife 

Resources, 7870 Villa Park Drive, Suite 400, Henrico, 

VA 23228 

Public Comment Deadline: October 22, 2020. 

Agency Contact: Aaron Proctor, Regulations Coordinator, 

Department of Wildlife Resources, 7870 Villa Park Drive, 

Suite 400, Henrico, VA 23228, telephone (804) 367-8341, or 

email aaron.proctor@dwr.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The proposed amendments (i) adjust creel and length 

limits for largemouth bass, smallmouth bass, spotted bass, 

Alabama bass, white bass, saugeye, yellow perch, and blue 

catfish; (ii) prohibit the stocking of spotted bass in private 

waters; (iii) remove the prohibition of mechanical paddle 

wheel boats on department-owned or department-

controlled waters; and (iv) require a boat ramp special use 

permit and immediate live release of fish taken at the 

capture site following certification during a fishing 

tournament. 

4VAC15-320-25. Creel and length limits.  

The creel limits (including live possession) and the length 

limits for the various species of fish shall be as follows, 

unless otherwise excepted by posted rules at department-

owned or department-controlled waters (see 4VAC15-320-

100 D).  

mailto:aaron.proctor@dwr.virginia.gov
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Type of fish 
Subtype or 

location 
Creel and length limits 

Geographic 

exceptions 

Creel or length 

limits for 

exceptions 

largemouth bass, smallmouth 

bass, spotted bass 

  5 per day in the aggregate 

(combined)  

No statewide length limits 

Lakes   

Briery Creek Lake No bass 16 to 24 

inches; only 1 per 

day longer than 24 

inches 

Buggs Island (Kerr) Only 2 of 5 bass 

less than 14 inches 

Claytor Lake No smallmouth 

bass less than 14 

inches; 15 spotted 

bass per day 

Flannagan Reservoir No smallmouth 

bass less than 15 

inches  

No largemouth 

bass less than 12 

inches 

Lake Gaston Only 2 of 5 bass 

less than 14 inches 

Leesville Reservoir Only 2 of 5 bass 

less than 14 inches 

Lake Moomaw No bass less than 

12 inches 

Philpott Reservoir No bass less than 

12 inches 

Quantico Marine Base 

waters 

No bass 12 to 15 

inches 

Smith Mountain Lake 

and its tributaries 

below Niagara Dam 

Only 2 of 5 bass 

less than 14 inches 

Rivers   

Clinch River – within 

the boundaries of 

Scott, Wise, Russell, 

or Tazewell Counties 

No bass less than 

20 inches; only 1 

bass per day 

longer than 20 

inches 

Levisa Fork River – 

within the boundaries 

Buchanan County 

No bass less than 

20 inches; only 1 

bass per day 

longer than 20 

inches 
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Dan River and 

tributaries 

downstream from the 

Union Street Dam, 

Danville 

Only 2 of 5 bass 

less than 14 inches 

James River – 

Confluence of the 

Jackson and 

Cowpasture rivers 

(Botetourt County) 

downstream to the 

14th Street Bridge in 

Richmond 

No bass 14 to 22 

inches; only 1 per 

day longer than 22 

inches 

New River – Fields 

Dam (Grayson 

County) downstream 

to the VA - WV state 

line and its tributaries 

Little River 

downstream from 

Little River Dam in 

Montgomery County, 

Big Walker Creek 

from the Norfolk 

Southern Railroad 

Bridge downstream to 

the New River, and 

Wolf Creek from the 

Narrows Dam 

downstream to the 

New River in Giles 

County (This does not 

include Claytor Lake, 

which is delineated 

as: The upper end of 

the island at Allisonia 

downstream to the 

dam) 

No bass 14 to 22 

inches; only 1 per 

day longer than 22 

inches 

North Fork Holston 

River - Rt. 91 bridge 

upstream of Saltville, 

VA downstream to 

the VA - TN state line 

No bass less than 

20 inches; only 1 

per day longer 

than 20 inches 

North Fork 

Shenandoah River – 

Rt. 42 bridge, 

Rockingham County 

downstream to the 

confluence with S. 

Fork Shenandoah at 

Front Royal 

No bass 11 to 14 

inches 
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Potomac River - 

Virginia tidal 

tributaries above Rt. 

301 bridge 

No bass less than 

15 inches from 

March 1 through 

June 15 

Roanoke (Staunton) 

River - and its 

tributaries below 

Difficult Creek, 

Charlotte County 

Only 2 of 5 bass 

less than 14 inches 

Shenandoah River –    

Confluence of South 

Fork and North Fork 

Rivers, Front Royal, 

downstream, to the 

Warren Dam, near 

Front Royal 

No bass 11 to 14 

inches 

Base of Warren Dam, 

near Front Royal 

downstream to Rt. 

17/50 bridge 

No bass 14 to 20 

inches; only 1 per 

day longer than 20 

inches 

Rt. 17/50 bridge 

downstream to VA - 

WV state line 

No bass 11 to 14 

inches 

South Fork 

Shenandoah River - 

  

Shenandoah River, 

South Fork 

Shenandoah River, 

North Fork 

Shenandoah River 

Confluence of North 

and South rivers, 

below Port Republic, 

downstream to 

Shenandoah Dam, 

near Town of 

Shenandoah 

No bass 11 to 14 

inches 

Base of Shenandoah 

Dam, near Town of 

Shenandoah, 

downstream to Luray 

Dam, near Luray  

No bass 14 to 20 

inches; only 1 per 

day longer than 20 

inches 

Base of Luray Dam, 

near Luray, 

downstream to the 

confluence with North 

Fork of Shenandoah, 

Front Royal 

No bass 11 to 14 

inches 
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Staunton River - 
  

Leesville Dam 

(Campbell County) 

downstream to the 

mouth of Difficult 

Creek, Charlotte 

County 

No smallmouth 

bass less than 20 

inches; only 1 per 

day longer than 20 

inches 

Alabama bass, spotted bass 
 

No statewide daily limit 

No statewide length limit 

    

striped bass landlocked striped 

bass and 

landlocked striped 

bass - white bass 

hybrids 

4 per day in the aggregate  

No fish less than 20 inches 

Buggs Island (Kerr) 

Reservoir, including 

the Staunton River to 

Leesville Dam and 

the Dan River to 

Union Street Dam 

(Danville) 

October 1 - May 

31: 2 per day in 

the aggregate; no 

striped bass or 

hybrid striped 

bass less than 20 

inches  

June 1 - 

September 30: 4 

per day in the 

aggregate; no 

length limit 

Claytor Lake and its 

tributaries 

September 16 – 

June 30: 2 per day 

in the aggregate; 

no striped bass or 

hybrid bass less 

than 20 inches 

July 1 – 

September 15: 4 

per day in the 

aggregate;  

no length limit 

Smith Mountain Lake 

and its tributaries, 

including the 

Roanoke River 

upstream to Niagara 

Dam 

2 per day in the 

aggregate  

November 1 - 

May 31: No 

striped bass 30 to 

40 inches 

June 1 - October 

31: No length 

limit 
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Lake Gaston 4 per day in the 

aggregate 

October 1 - May 

31: No striped 

bass or hybrid 

striped bass less 

than 20 inches 

June 1 - 

September 30: No 

length limit 

anadromous 

(coastal) striped 

bass above the fall 

line in all coastal 

rivers of the 

Chesapeake Bay 

Creel and length limits 

shall be set by the Virginia 

Marine Resources 

Commission for 

recreational fishing in tidal 

waters 

    

anadromous 

(coastal) in the 

Meherrin, 

Nottoway, 

Blackwater 

(Chowan 

Drainage), North 

Landing and 

Northwest Rivers 

and their 

tributaries plus 

Back Bay 

2 per day  

No striped bass less than 18 

inches 

    

white bass   5 per day  

No statewide length limits 

Buggs Island (Kerr) 

Reservoir, including 

the Staunton River to 

Leesville Dam and 

the Dan River to 

Union Street Dam 

(Danville) 

10 per day; no 

white bass less 

than 14 inches 

Lake Gaston 10 per day; no 

white bass less 

than 14 inches 
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walleye, saugeye   5 per day in the aggregate 

No walleye or saugeye less 

than 18 inches 

New River upstream 

of Buck Dam in 

Carroll County 

No walleye less 

than 20 inches 

Claytor Lake and the 

New River upstream 

of Claytor Lake Dam 

to Buck Dam in 

Carroll County 

February 1 - May 

31: 2 walleye per 

day; no walleye 

19 to 28 inches 

June 1 - January 

31: 5 walleye per 

day; no walleye 

less than 20 inches 

sauger   2 per day  

No statewide length limits 

    

yellow perch  No statewide daily limit 

No statewide length limits 

Lake Moomaw 10 per day 

Below the fall line in 

all coastal rivers of 

the Chesapeake Bay 

No yellow perch 

less than 9 inches; 

no daily limit 

chain pickerel   5 per day  

No statewide length limits 

Gaston and Buggs 

Island (Kerr) 

Reservoirs 

No daily limit 

northern pike   2 per day  

No pike less than 20 inches 

    

muskellunge   2 per day  

No muskellunge less than 

30 inches 

New River - Fields 

Dam (Grayson 

County) downstream 

to Claytor Dam, 

including Claytor 

Lake 

1 per day; no 

muskellunge less 

than 42 inches 

New River - Claytor 

Dam downstream to 

the VA - WV state 

line 

1 per day  

June 1 - last day 

of February: No 

muskellunge 40 to 

48 inches 

March 1 - May 

31: No 

muskellunge less 

than 48 inches 
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bluegill (bream) and other 

sunfish excluding crappie, 

rock bass (redeye) and 

Roanoke bass 

  50 per day in the aggregate  

No statewide length limits 

Gaston and Buggs 

Island (Kerr) 

Reservoirs and that 

portion of the New 

River from the VA - 

NC state line 

downstream to the 

confluence of the 

New and Little Rivers 

in Grayson County 

No daily limit 

crappie (black or white)   25 per day in the aggregate  

No statewide length limits 

Lake Gaston and that 

portion of the New 

River from the VA - 

NC state line 

downstream to the 

confluence of the 

New and Little Rivers 

in Grayson County 

No daily limit 

Buggs Island (Kerr) 

Reservoir 

No crappie less 

than 9 inches 

Briery Creek and 

Sandy River 

Reservoirs 

No crappie less 

than 9 inches 

Flannagan and South 

Holston Reservoirs 

No crappie less 

than 10 inches 

rock bass (redeye)   25 per day; in the aggregate 

with Roanoke bass  

No statewide length limits 

Gaston and Buggs 

Island (Kerr) 

Reservoirs and that 

portion of the New 

River from the VA - 

NC state line 

downstream to the 

confluence of the 

New and Little Rivers 

in Grayson County 

No daily limit 

Nottoway, Meherrin, 

Blackwater (Franklin 

County), Falling, and 

Smith Rivers and 

their tributaries 

5 per day in the 

aggregate with 

Roanoke bass;  

no rock bass less 

than 8 inches  

Roanoke bass   25 per day in the aggregate 

with rock bass  

No statewide length limits 

Nottoway, Meherrin, 

Blackwater (Franklin 

County), Falling, and 

Smith Rivers and 

their tributaries 

5 per day in the 

aggregate with 

rock bass;  

no Roanoke bass 

less than 8 inches 

trout See 4VAC15-330. Fish: Trout Fishing.   

catfish channel, white, 

and flathead 

catfish 

20 per day;  

No length limits 

All rivers below the 

fall line 

No daily limit 
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blue catfish 20 per day; 

No statewide length limits 

Lake Gaston No daily limit, 

except only 1 blue 

catfish per day 

longer than 32 

inches 

Kerr Reservoir 20 per day, except 

only 1 blue catfish 

per day longer 

than 32 inches 

James River and its 

tributaries below the 

fall line, 

Rappahannock River 

and its tributaries 

below the fall line, 

and York River and 

its tributaries 

(including the 

Pamunkey River and 

Mattaponi River) 

below the fall line 

No daily limit, 

except only 1 blue 

catfish per day 

longer than 32 

inches 

All rivers below the 

fall line other than the 

James River and its 

tributaries, 

Rappahannock River 

and its tributaries, and 

the York River and its 

tributaries 

No daily limit 

yellow, brown, 

and black 

bullheads 

No daily limit; 

No length limits 

    

hickory shad 

Above and below 

the fall line in all 

coastal rivers of 

the Chesapeake 

Bay 

Creel and length limits 

shall be the same as those 

set by the Virginia Marine 

Resources Commission in 

tidal rivers 

    

 

Meherrin River 

below Emporia 

Dam Nottoway 

River, Blackwater 

River (Chowan 

Drainage), North 

Landing and 

Northwest Rivers, 

and their 

tributaries plus 

Back Bay 

10 per day  

No length limits 

    

American shad  No possession     
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anadromous (coastal) alewife 

and blueback herring 

Above and below 

the fall line in all 

coastal rivers of 

the Chesapeake 

Bay 

Creel and length limits 

shall be the same as those 

set by the Virginia Marine 

Resources Commission for 

these species in tidal rivers 

    

Meherrin River, 

Nottoway River, 

Blackwater River 

(Chowan 

Drainage), North 

Landing and 

Northwest Rivers, 

and their 

tributaries plus 

Back Bay 

No possession      

red drum Back Bay and 

tributaries 

including Lake 

Tecumseh and the 

North Landing 

River and its 

tributaries 

1 per day  

No drum less than 18 

inches or greater than 27 

inches 

 
 

spotted sea trout (speckled 

trout) 

Back Bay and 

tributaries 

including Lake 

Tecumseh and the 

North Landing 

River and its 

tributaries 

4 per day  

No sea trout less than 14 

inches 

 
 

grey trout (weakfish) Back Bay and 

tributaries 

including Lake 

Tecumseh and 

North Landing 

River and its 

tributaries 

1 per day  

No grey trout less than 12 

inches 

 
 

southern flounder Back Bay and 

tributaries 

including Lake 

Tecumseh and the 

North Landing 

River and its 

tributaries 

6 per day  

No flounder less than 15 

inches 
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northern snakehead  Anglers may possess 

snakeheads taken from 

Virginia waters if they 

immediately kill the fish 

and notify the headquarters 

or a regional office of the 

department; notification 

may be made by 

telephoning (804) 367-

2925 

No statewide daily limit 

No statewide length limits 

    

longnose gar   5 per day 

No statewide length limits 

    

bowfin   5 per day 

No statewide length limits 

    

American eel   25 per day 

No eel less than 9 inches 

Back Bay and North 

Landing River 

No possession 

limit for those 

individuals 

possessing a 

permit obtained 

under 4VAC15-

340-80 

other native or naturalized 

nongame fish 

See 4VAC15-360-10. Fish: Aquatic 

Invertebrates, Amphibians, Reptiles, and 

Nongame Fish. Taking aquatic invertebrates, 

amphibians, reptiles, and nongame fish for 

private use. 

  

endangered or threatened fish See 4VAC15-20-130. Definitions and 

Miscellaneous: In General. Endangered and 

threatened species; adoption of federal list; 

additional species enumerated. 

  

nonnative (exotic) fish See 4VAC15-30-40. Definitions and 

Miscellaneous: Importation, Possession, Sale, 

Etc., of Animals. Importation requirements, 

possession and sale of nonnative (exotic) 

animals. 

  

4VAC15-320-60. Approval required to stock fish into 

inland waters.  

It shall be unlawful to stock any species of fish into any 

inland waters of the Commonwealth, without first obtaining 

written approval to do so from the department. Nothing in 

this section shall be construed as restricting the use of native 

and naturalized species of fish in privately-owned ponds and 

lakes, except spotted bass, blue catfish, and their hybrids may 

not be stocked.  

4VAC15-320-100. Department-owned or department-

controlled lakes, ponds, streams, boat access sites, or 

hatcheries.  

A. Motors and boats. Unless otherwise posted at each 

recognized entrance to any department-owned or department-

controlled lake, pond, or stream, the use of boats propelled by 

a gasoline motors, motor or sail or mechanically operated 

recreational paddle wheel is prohibited. Department 

employees and other government agency officials may use 

gasoline motors in the performance of official duties.  



Regulations 

Volume 37, Issue 4 Virginia Register of Regulations October 12, 2020 

564 

B. Method of fishing. Taking any fish at any department-

owned or department-controlled lake, pond, or stream by any 

means other than by use of one or more attended poles with 

hook and line attached is prohibited unless otherwise posted 

in which case cast nets (subject to 4VAC15-360-10 B) may 

be used for collecting nongame fish for use as bait.  

C. Hours for fishing. Fishing is permitted 24 hours a day 

unless otherwise posted at each recognized entrance to any 

department-owned or department-controlled lake, pond, 

stream, or boat access site.  

D. Seasons; hours and methods of fishing; size and creel 

limits; hunting and trapping. The open seasons for (i) fishing, 

as well as fishing hours, methods of taking fish, and the size, 

possession, and creel limits, and (ii) hunting and trapping for 

department-owned or department-controlled lakes, ponds, 

streams or boat access sites shall conform to the regulations 

of the board unless otherwise excepted by posted rules by the 

director or his designee. Such posted rules shall be displayed 

at each lake, pond, stream, or boat access site, in which case 

the posted rules shall be in effect. Failure to comply with 

posted rules concerning seasons, hours, methods of taking, 

bag limits, and size, possession, and creel limits shall 

constitute a violation of this regulation.  

E. Other uses. Camping overnight or building fires (except 

in developed and designated areas), swimming, or wading in 

department-owned or department-controlled lakes, ponds, or 

streams (except by anglers, hunters and trappers actively 

engaged in fishing, hunting, or trapping), is prohibited. All 

other uses shall conform to the regulations of the board unless 

excepted by posted rules.  

F. Fishing tournaments, etc. It shall be unlawful A boat 

ramp special use permit is required to organize, conduct, 

supervise, or solicit entries for fishing tournaments, rodeos, or 

other fishing events on lakes, ponds, or streams owned by the 

department, for which prizes are offered, awarded, or 

accepted based on size or numbers of fish caught, either in 

money or other valuable considerations. This chapter will not 

prohibit events approved by the department that are intended 

to promote youth fishing or provide instruction, provided no 

prizes, as defined above, are awarded and no participation 

fees are charged. Any fish captured and entered for scoring or 

consideration during a permitted fishing tournament, rodeo, 

or other fishing event on lakes, ponds, or streams owned by 

the department must be immediately released at the capture 

site. A boat ramp special use permit is not required for 

tournaments, rodeos, or other fishing events that occur on a 

statewide or nationwide basis and that do not have a 

designated meeting or gathering location. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R21-5909; Filed September 22, 2020, 4:07 p.m.  

 

Proposed Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Board of Wildlife Resources 

is claiming an exemption from the Administrative Process 

Act pursuant to § 2.2-4002 A 3 of the Code of Virginia when 

promulgating regulations regarding the management of 

wildlife.  

Title of Regulation: 4VAC15-330. Fish: Trout Fishing 

(amending 4VAC15-330-150, 4VAC15-330-160; repealing 

4VAC15-330-110).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 29.1-103, 29.1-501, and 29.1-502 of 

the Code of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: 

October 22, 2020 - 9 a.m. - Department of Wildlife 

Resources, 7870 Villa Park Drive, Suite 400, Henrico, 

VA 23228 

Public Comment Deadline: October 22, 2020. 

Agency Contact: Aaron Proctor, Regulations Coordinator, 

Department of Wildlife Resources, 7870 Villa Park Drive, 

Suite 400, Henrico, VA 23228, telephone (804) 367-8341, or 

email aaron.proctor@dwr.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The proposed amendments (i) repeal the special provisions 

applicable to certain portions of Green Cove Creek, Smith 

Creek, Snake Creek, and Whitetop Laurel Creek regarding 

the taking of trout; (ii) add portions of Green Cove Creek 

in Washington County, Whitetop Laurel Creek in 

Washington County, Smith Creek in Alleghany County, and 

Snake Creek and Little Snake Creek in Carroll County to 

the special provision for artificial lure, single hook-only 

trout fishing; and (iii) remove portions of the Hardware 

River in Fluvanna County and Peak Creek in Pulaski 

County and add portions of the Hardy Creek in Lee County 

and the Piney River in Nelson County to the special 

provision for artificial lure only and no live possession of 

bait or trout for trout fishing. 

4VAC15-330-110. Special provisions applicable to certain 

portions of Green Cove Creek, Smith Creek, Snake Creek 

and Whitetop Laurel Creek. (Repealed.) 

It shall be lawful to fish using only artificial lures with 

single hooks in that portion of Green Cove Creek in 

Washington County from Route 859 downstream to its 

mouth, in that portion of Smith Creek in Alleghany County 

from the Clifton Forge Reservoir Dam downstream to a sign 

at the Forest Service boundary above the C + O Dam, on 

Snake Creek in Carroll County upstream from its mouth to 

Hall's Fork on Big Snake Fork and to the junction of Routes 

922 and 674 on Little Snake Fork, in Whitetop Laurel Creek 

in Washington County upstream from the mouth of Straight 

Branch to a sign at the Forest Service boundary just 

downstream of Taylor Valley, and in Whitetop Laurel Creek 
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in Washington County upstream from the first railroad trestle 

above Taylor Valley to the mouth of Green Cove Creek at 

Creek Junction. All trout caught in these waters under 12 

inches in length shall be immediately returned to the water 

unharmed. It shall be unlawful for any person to have in his 

possession any bait or any trout under 12 inches in length in 

these areas.  

4VAC15-330-150. Special provision applicable to trout 

fishing using artificial lures with single hook. 

It shall be lawful year around to fish for trout using only 

artificial lures with single hooks within:  

1. The Stewarts Creek Trout Management Area in Carroll 

County.  

2. The Rapidan and Staunton Rivers and their tributaries 

upstream from a sign at the Lower Shenandoah National 

Park boundary in Madison County.  

3. The Dan River and its tributaries between the Townes 

Dam and the Pinnacles Hydroelectric Project powerhouse 

in Patrick County.  

4. The East Fork of Chestnut Creek (Farmers Creek) and 

its tributaries upstream from the Blue Ridge Parkway in 

Grayson and Carroll Counties.  

5. Roaring Fork and its tributaries upstream from the 

southwest boundary of Beartown Wilderness Area in 

Tazewell County.  

6. That section of the South Fork Holston River and its 

tributaries from the concrete dam at Buller Fish Culture 

Station downstream to the lower boundary of the Buller 

Fish Culture Station in Smyth County.  

7. North Creek and its tributaries upstream from a sign at 

the George Washington National Forest North Creek 

Campground in Botetourt County.  

8. Spring Run from it confluence with Cowpasture River 

upstream to a posted sign at the discharge for Coursey 

Springs Hatchery in Bath County.  

9. Venrick Run and its tributaries within the Big Survey 

Wildlife Management Area and Town of Wytheville 

property in Wythe County.  

10. Brumley Creek and its tributaries from the Hidden 

Valley Wildlife Management Area boundary upstream to 

the Hidden Valley Lake Dam in Washington County.  

11. Stony Creek (Mountain Fork) and its tributaries within 

the Jefferson National Forest in Wise and Scott Counties 

from the outlet of High Knob Lake downstream to the 

confluence of Chimney Rock Fork and Stony Creek.  

12. Little Stony Creek and its tributaries within the 

Jefferson National Forest in Scott County from the Falls of 

Little Stony Creek downstream to a posted sign at the 

Hanging Rock Recreation Area.  

13. Little Tumbling Creek and its tributaries within the 

Clinch Mountain Wildlife Management Area in Smyth and 

Tazewell Counties downstream to the concrete bridge.  

14. Big Tumbling Creek and its tributaries within the 

Clinch Mountain Wildlife Management Area in Smyth 

County from a sign starting at the foot of the mountain and 

extending upstream seasonally from October 1 until five 

days prior to the first Saturday in April. 

15. South River in the City of Waynesboro from the 

Wayne Avenue Bridge downstream 2.2 miles to the 

Second Street Bridge. 

16. Wolf Creek and its tributaries within the Abingdon 

Muster Grounds in the Town of Abingdon from Colonial 

Road downstream to Stone Mill Road. 

17. Beaver Creek and its tributaries within the boundaries 

of Sugar Hollow Park in the City of Bristol.  

18. Green Cove Creek in Washington County from Route 

859 downstream to its mouth. 

19. Whitetop Laurel Creek in Washington County 

upstream from the mouth of Straight Branch to a sign 

posted at the Forest Service boundary just downstream of 

Taylor Valley, and in Whitetop Laurel Creek in 

Washington County upstream from the first railroad trestle 

above Taylor Valley to the mouth of Green Cove Creek at 

Creek Junction. 

20. Smith Creek in Alleghany County from the Clifton 

Forge Dam downstream to a sign at the Forest Service 

boundary above the C & O Dam.  

21. Snake Creek in Carroll County below Hall Ford and 

that portion of Little Snake Creek below the junction of 

Routes 922 and 674, downstream to Route 58 

All trout caught in these waters must be immediately 

returned to the water. No trout or bait may be in possession at 

any time in these areas.  

4VAC15-330-160. Special provisions applicable to certain 

portions of Accotink Creek, Back Creek, Big Moccasin 

Creek, Chestnut Creek, Hardware River Hardy Creek, 

Holliday Creek, Holmes Run, Indian Creek, North River, 

Passage Creek, Peak Creek, Pedlar River, Piney River, 

North Fork of Pound and Pound rivers, Middle Fork of 

Powell River, and Roanoke River.  

It shall be lawful to fish from October 1 through May 31, 

both dates inclusive, using only artificial lures in Accotink 

Creek (Fairfax County) from King Arthur Road downstream 

3.1 miles to Route 620 (Braddock Road), in Back Creek 

(Bath County) from the Route 600 bridge just below the 

Virginia Power Back Creek Dam downstream 1.5 miles to the 
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Route 600 bridge at the lower boundary of the Virginia Power 

Recreational Area, in Big Moccasin Creek (Scott County) 

from the Virginia Department of Transportation foot bridge 

downstream approximately 1.9 miles to the Wadlow Gap 

Bridge, in Chestnut Creek (Carroll County) from the U.S. 

Route 58 bridge downstream 11.4 miles to the confluence 

with New River, in the Hardware River (Fluvanna County) 

from the Route 646 bridge upstream 3.0 miles to Muleshoe 

Bend as posted Hardy Creek (Lee County) from the Virginia 

Department of Transportation swinging bridge just upstream 

of the Route 658 ford downstream to the Route 661 bridge, in 

Holliday Creek (Appomattox/Buckingham Counties) from 

the Route 640 crossing downstream 2.8 miles to a sign posted 

at the headwaters of Holliday Lake, in Holmes Run (Fairfax 

County) from the Lake Barcroft Dam downstream 1.2 miles 

to a sign posted at the Alexandria City line, in Indian Creek 

within the boundaries of Wilderness Road State Park (Lee 

County), in the North River (Augusta County) from the base 

of Elkhorn Dam downstream 1.5 miles to a sign posted at the 

head of Staunton City Reservoir, in Passage Creek (Warren 

County) from the lower boundary of the Front Royal State 

Hatchery upstream 0.9 miles to the Shenandoah/Warren 

County line, in Peak Creek (Pulaski County) from the 

confluence of Tract Fork downstream 2.7 miles to the Route 

99 bridge, in the Pedlar River (Amherst County) from the 

City of Lynchburg/George Washington National Forest 

boundary line (below Lynchburg Reservoir) downstream 2.7 

miles to the boundary line of the George Washington 

National Forest, in the Piney River (Nelson County) in that 

portion of stream from the Piney River Trailhead (Route 151) 

to the Rose Mill Trailhead (Route 674) adjacent to the Blue 

Ridge Railway Trail, in North Fork of Pound and Pound 

rivers from the base of North Fork of Pound Dam 

downstream to the confluence with Indian Creek, in the 

Middle Fork of Powell River (Wise County) from the old 

train trestle at the downstream boundary of Appalachia 

extending approximately 1.9 miles downstream to the trestle 

just upstream of the Town of Big Stone Gap, in the Roanoke 

River (Roanoke County) from the Route 760 bridge 

(Diuguids Lane) upstream 1.0 miles to a sign posted at the 

upper end of Green Hill Park (Roanoke County), and in the 

Roanoke River (City of Salem) from the Route 419 bridge 

upstream 2.2 miles to the Colorado Street bridge. From 

October 1 through May 31, all trout caught in these waters 

must be immediately returned to the water unharmed, and it 

shall be unlawful for any person to have in possession any 

bait or trout. During the period of June 1 through September 

30, the above restrictions will not apply.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R21-5910; Filed September 22, 2020, 5:03 p.m.  

 

 

Proposed Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Board of Wildlife Resources 

is claiming an exemption from the Administrative Process 

Act pursuant to § 2.2-4002 A 3 of the Code of Virginia when 

promulgating regulations regarding the management of 

wildlife.  

Title of Regulation: 4VAC15-340. Fish: Seines and Nets 

(amending 4VAC15-340-10, 4VAC15-340-30, 4VAC15-

340-60).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 29.1-103, 29.1-501, and 29.1-502 of 

the Code of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: 

October 22, 2020 - 9 a.m. - Department of Wildlife 

Resources, 7870 Villa Park Drive, Suite 400, Henrico, 

VA 23228 

Public Comment Deadline: October 22, 2020. 

Agency Contact: Aaron Proctor, Regulations Coordinator, 

Department of Wildlife Resources, 7870 Villa Park Drive, 

Suite 400, Henrico, VA 23228, telephone (804) 367-8341, or 

email aaron.proctor@dwr.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The proposed amendments (i) prohibit American shad from 

being taken using haul seines or gill nets in the City of 

Virginia Beach on Back Bay and its natural tributaries and 

(ii) prohibit the use of seines, nets, or traps in streams and 

their associated tributaries that flow into Hungry Mother 

Lake in Smyth County. 

4VAC15-340-10. Haul seines to take fish for sale.  

A. Authorization to take fish for sale. A haul seine permit 

shall authorize the person to whom issued to take fish for sale 

as specified with a haul seine from the waters designated in 

this section.  

B. Permit holder to be present when seine operated. The 

holder of a haul seine permit must be present with the seine at 

all times when it is being operated. The holder, however, may 

have others to assist him, and such persons assisting are not 

required to have a permit.  

C. Length and size of nets. The length of haul seine nets 

shall not be more than 500 yards. The size of mesh shall be 1-

1/2 inch bar mesh.  

D. Season and fish to be taken in Virginia Beach City. In 

Back Bay and its natural tributaries (not including Lake 

Tecumseh and Red Wing Lake), North Landing River from 

the North Carolina line to Pungo Ferry (not including 

Blackwater River), the open season to take all fish, except 

game fish, American shad, alewife, and blueback herring, 

with a haul seine shall be from November 1 through March 

31, both dates inclusive. The harvest limit for anadromous 
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American and hickory shad shall be 10 per day, in the 

aggregate.  

E. Labeling packages containing fish taken with haul seine. 

It shall be unlawful for any person to ship or otherwise 

transport any package, box, or other receptacle containing 

fish taken under a haul seine permit unless the same bears a 

label showing the name and address of the owner of the seine 

and a statement of the kind of fish contained in it.  

F. Reporting. The holder of a permit to take fish for sale by 

means of haul seines shall keep a record of the pounds of fish 

taken by species and location (name and county of water 

body), and the pounds of each species sold.  

4VAC15-340-30. Gill nets.  

A. Authorization to take fish. A gill net permit shall 

authorize the holder thereof to take nongame fish during the 

times and in the waters and for the purposes provided for in 

this section. Such gill net shall not be more than 300 feet in 

length. The mesh size shall be not less than one-inch bar or 

square mesh (three-inch stretch mesh). Applicants must 

annually purchase tags for each net the applicant intends to 

operate and attach a department tag to each net prior to use. A 

single permit will be issued to the permittee and shall list 

each tag number the permittee has been issued. All nets must 

be checked daily and all game fish returned to the wild.  

B. Permit holder to be present when gill net is being set and 

checked for fish. The holder of a gill net permit must be 

present with the net at all times when it is being set and 

checked for fish. The holder may have others to assist him, 

and such persons assisting are not required to have a permit. 

However, those assisting the permittee must meet the fishing 

license requirements of the Commonwealth.  

C. Times and places permitted in Virginia Beach City; fish 

which may be taken. Gill nets may be used in Virginia Beach 

City in Back Bay and its natural tributaries (not including Lake 

Tecumseh and Red Wing Lake) and North Landing River from 

the North Carolina line to Pungo Ferry (not including Blackwater 

River) for the taking of nongame fish, except American shad, 

alewife, and blueback herring, for table use and also for sale 

from November 1 through March 31, both dates inclusive. The 

harvest limit for anadromous American and hickory shad shall be 

10 per day, in the aggregate. Gill nets set in Back Bay waters 

shall be at least 300 feet from any other net and at least 300 feet 

from the shoreline. All such nets must be marked at both ends 

and at least every 100 feet along the length of the net with a five-

inch by 12-inch minimum dimensions float.  

4VAC15-340-60. Seines, traps, and nets prohibited in 

certain areas.  

A. It shall be unlawful to use seines and nets of any kind for 

the taking of fish from the public waters of the Roanoke 

(Staunton) and Dan Rivers in Campbell, Charlotte, Halifax, 

and Pittsylvania Counties and in the City of Danville; 

provided, however, this section shall not be construed to 

prohibit the use of hand-landing nets for the landing of fish 

legally hooked or the taking of fish from these waters 

pursuant to the provisions of 4VAC15-360. In addition, this 

section shall not be construed to prohibit the use of cast nets, 

also known as throw nets, for the taking of bait fish. 

B. In Lick Creek and tributaries in Smyth and Bland 

Counties, in Bear Creek and Hungry Mother Creek above in 

streams and their associated tributaries that flow into Hungry 

Mother Lake in Smyth County, in Laurel Creek and 

tributaries upstream of Highway 16 bridge in Tazewell and 

Bland Counties, in Susong Branch and Mumpower Creek in 

Washington County and the City of Bristol, and in Timbertree 

Branch in Scott County, it shall be unlawful to use seines, 

nets, or traps; provided, however, this section shall not be 

construed to prohibit the use of hand-landing nets for the 

landing of fish legally hooked.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R21-5911; Filed September 22, 2020, 5:18 p.m.  

Proposed Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Board of Wildlife Resources 

is claiming an exemption from the Administrative Process 

Act pursuant to § 2.2-4002 A 3 of the Code of Virginia when 

promulgating regulations regarding the management of 

wildlife.  

Title of Regulation: 4VAC15-350. Fish: Gigs, Grab Hooks, 

Trotlines, Snares, etc. (amending 4VAC15-350-20, 

4VAC15-350-70).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 29.1-103, 29.1-501, and 29.1-502 of 

the Code of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: 

October 22, 2020 - 9 a.m. - Department of Wildlife 

Resources, 7870 Villa Park Drive, Suite 400, Henrico, 

VA 23228 

Public Comment Deadline: October 22, 2020. 

Agency Contact: Aaron Proctor, Regulations Coordinator, 

Department of Wildlife Resources, 7870 Villa Park Drive, 

Suite 400, Henrico, VA 23228, telephone (804) 367-8341, or 

email aaron.proctor@dwr.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The proposed amendments (i) define a fishing spear and 

allow the taking of nongame fish by gig or fishing spear 

from a position above the surface of the water on those 

portions below the fall line of the Rappahannock River and 

its tributaries and the Potomac River and its tributaries 

and (ii) change the lawful taking of certain fish with a bow 

and arrow or crossbow from public inland waters to public 

rivers and streams as well as changing the exception from 

department-owned or department-controlled lakes to 

public inland lakes and reservoirs. 
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4VAC15-350-20. Gigs, grab hooks, etc.; certain counties 

east of the Blue Ridge Mountains.  

A. It shall be lawful to take nongame fish (daily creel 

(possession) and length limits for nongame fish are found in 

4VAC15-320-25) at any time by snagging, grabbing, snaring, 

gigging, and with a striking iron in all waters of the following 

counties, except (i) public impoundments, (ii) the Roanoke 

(Staunton) and River, (iii) the Dan rivers River, (iv) the James 

River in Goochland County, and (v) those waters stocked by 

the department, of the following counties: Amelia, 

Appomattox, Brunswick, Buckingham, Campbell, Charlotte, 

Cumberland, Dinwiddie, Goochland, Greensville, Halifax, 

Louisa, Lunenburg, Mecklenburg, Nottoway, Pittsylvania, 

and Prince Edward.  

B. It shall be lawful to take nongame fish by gig or fishing 

spear from a position above the surface of the water on those 

portions below the fall line of the Rappahannock River and its 

tributaries and the Potomac River and its tributaries. For the 

purpose of this section, a fishing spear is defined as an 

implement with a shaft and sharp point or tines designed to be 

thrusted or thrown by hand. 

C. Daily creel (possession) and length limits for nongame 

fish are found in 4VAC15-320-25. 

4VAC15-350-70. Taking of fish with bow and arrow or 

crossbow. 

A. Season. Except as otherwise provided by local legislation 

or as posted, it shall be lawful to take common carp, northern 

snakehead, goldfish, and gar from the public inland waters of 

the Commonwealth, grass carp from public inland waters 

rivers and streams of the Commonwealth except department-

owned or department-controlled lakes public inland lakes and 

reservoirs, and bowfin and catfish from below the fall line in 

tidal rivers of the Chesapeake Bay, except waters stocked 

with trout, by means of bow and arrow or crossbow.  

B. Poison arrows or explosive-head arrows prohibited. It 

shall be unlawful to use poison arrows or arrows with 

explosive heads at any time for the purpose of taking 

common carp, grass carp, northern snakehead, bowfin, 

catfish, goldfish, or gar in the public inland waters of the 

Commonwealth.  

C. Fishing license required. All persons taking fish in the 

manner described in this section shall be required to have a 

regular fishing license.  

D. Creel limits. The creel limits for common carp, grass carp, 

northern snakehead, goldfish, and catfish shall be unlimited, 

provided that any angler taking northern snakehead immediately 

kill such fish and notify the department, as soon as practicable, 

of such actions and provided that any angler taking grass carp 

ensure that harvested fish are dead. The creel limit for bowfin 

and longnose gar shall be five fish per day. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R21-5912; Filed September 22, 2020, 5:33 p.m.  

Proposed Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Board of Wildlife Resources 

is claiming an exemption from the Administrative Process 

Act pursuant to § 2.2-4002 A 3 of the Code of Virginia when 

promulgating regulations regarding the management of 

wildlife.  

Title of Regulation: 4VAC15-360. Fish: Aquatic 

Invertebrates, Amphibians, Reptiles, and Nongame Fish 

(amending 4VAC15-360-10).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 29.1-103, 29.1-501, and 29.1-502 of 

the Code of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: 

October 22, 2020 - 9 a.m. - Department of Wildlife 

Resources, 7870 Villa Park Drive, Suite 400, Henrico, 

VA 23228 

Public Comment Deadline: October 22, 2020. 

Agency Contact: Aaron Proctor, Regulations Coordinator, 

Department of Wildlife Resources, 7870 Villa Park Drive, 

Suite 400, Henrico, VA 23228, telephone (804) 367-8341, or 

email aaron.proctor@dwr.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

This proposed amendments (i) limit the harvest of grass 

carp to only public inland rivers and streams and prohibit 

their harvest from any public inland lake or reservoir and 

(ii) remove the provision for take of candy darter as 

previously allowed under this section. 

4VAC15-360-10. Taking aquatic invertebrates, 

amphibians, reptiles, and nongame fish for private use. 

A. Possession limits. Except as otherwise provided for in 

§ 29.1-418 of the Code of Virginia, 4VAC15-20-130, 

4VAC15-320-40, and the sections of this chapter, it shall be 

lawful to capture and possess live for private use and not for 

sale no more than five individuals of any single native or 

naturalized (as defined in 4VAC15-20-50) species of 

amphibian and reptile and 20 individuals of any single native 

or naturalized (as defined in 4VAC15-20-50) species of 

aquatic invertebrate and nongame fish unless specifically 

listed below in this subsection:  

1. The following species may be taken in unlimited 

numbers from inland waters statewide: carp, mullet, yellow 

bullhead, brown bullhead, black bullhead, flat bullhead, 

snail bullhead, white sucker, northern hogsucker, gizzard 

shad, threadfin shad, blueback herring (see 4VAC15-320-

25 for anadromous blueback herring limits), white perch, 

yellow perch, alewife (see 4VAC15-320-25 for 

anadromous alewife limits), stoneroller (hornyhead), 

fathead minnow, golden shiner, goldfish, and Asian clams. 

Grass carp may only be harvested in unlimited numbers 

from public inland waters rivers and streams of the 
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Commonwealth other than department-owned or 

department-controlled lakes. It is unlawful to harvest grass 

carp from any public inland lake and reservoir. Anglers 

taking grass carp must ensure that all harvested grass carp 

are dead. 

2. See 4VAC15-320-25 for American shad, hickory shad, 

channel catfish, white catfish, flathead catfish, and blue 

catfish limits.  

3. For the purpose of this chapter, "fish bait" shall be 

defined as native or naturalized species of minnows and 

chubs (Cyprinidae), salamanders (each under six inches in 

total length), crayfish, and hellgrammites. The possession 

limit for taking "fish bait" shall be 50 individuals in 

aggregate, unless said person has purchased "fish bait" and 

has a receipt specifying the number of individuals 

purchased by species, except salamanders and crayfish 

which cannot be sold pursuant to the provisions of 

4VAC15-360-60 and 4VAC15-360-70. However, 

stonerollers (hornyheads), fathead minnows, golden 

shiners, and goldfish may be taken and possessed in 

unlimited numbers as provided for in subdivision 1 of this 

subsection.  

4. The daily limit for bullfrogs shall be 15 and for snapping 

turtles shall be five. Snapping turtles shall only be taken 

from June 1 to September 30. Bullfrogs and snapping 

turtles may not be taken from the banks or waters of 

designated stocked trout waters.  

5. The following species may not be taken in any number 

for private use: candy darter, eastern hellbender, 

diamondback terrapin, and spotted turtle.  

6. Native amphibians and reptiles, as defined in 4VAC15-

20-50, that are captured within the Commonwealth and 

possessed live for private use and not for sale may be 

liberated under the following conditions: 

a. Period of captivity does not exceed 30 days; 

b. Animals must be liberated at the site of capture; 

c. Animals must have been housed separately from other 

wild-caught and domestic animals; and 

d. Animals that demonstrate symptoms of disease or 

illness or that have sustained injury during their captivity 

may not be released. 

B. Methods of taking species in subsection A of this section. 

Except as otherwise provided for in the Code of Virginia, 

4VAC15-20-130, 4VAC15-320-40, and other regulations of 

the board, and except in any waters where the use of nets is 

prohibited, the species listed in subsection A of this section 

may only be taken (i) by hand, hook and line; (ii) with a seine 

not exceeding four feet in depth by 10 feet in length; (iii) with 

an umbrella type net not exceeding five by five feet square; 

(iv) by small minnow traps with throat openings no larger 

than one inch in diameter; (v) with cast nets; and (vi) with 

hand-held bow nets with diameter not to exceed 20 inches 

and handle length not to exceed eight feet (such cast net and 

hand-held bow nets when so used shall not be deemed dip 

nets under the provisions of § 29.1-416 of the Code of 

Virginia). Gizzard shad and white perch may also be taken 

from below the fall line in all tidal rivers of the Chesapeake 

Bay using a gill net in accordance with Virginia Marine 

Resources Commission recreational fishing regulations. 

Bullfrogs may also be taken by gigging or bow and arrow 

and, from private waters, by firearms no larger than .22 

caliber rimfire. Snapping turtles may be taken for personal 

use with hoop nets not exceeding six feet in length with a 

throat opening not exceeding 36 inches. 

C. Areas restricted from taking mollusks. Except as 

provided for in §§ 29.1-418 and 29.1-568 of the Code of 

Virginia, it shall be unlawful to take the spiny riversnail (Io 

fluvialis) in the Tennessee drainage in Virginia (Clinch, 

Powell, and the North, South, and Middle Forks of the 

Holston Rivers and tributaries). It shall be unlawful to take 

mussels from any inland waters of the Commonwealth.  

D. Areas restricted from taking salamanders. Except as 

provided for in §§ 29.1-418 and 29.1-568 of the Code of 

Virginia, it shall be unlawful to take salamanders in Grayson 

Highlands State Park and on National Forest lands in the 

Jefferson National Forest in those portions of Grayson, 

Smyth, and Washington Counties bounded on the east by 

State Route 16, on the north by State Route 603 and on the 

south and west by U.S. Route 58.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R21-5913; Filed September 22, 2020, 5:44 p.m.  

DEPARTMENT OF MINES, MINERALS AND ENERGY 

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The following regulatory action is 

exempt from Article 2 of the Administrative Process Act in 

accordance with § 2.2-4006 A 4 a of the Code of Virginia, 

which excludes regulations that are necessary to conform to 

changes in Virginia statutory law or the appropriation act 

where no agency discretion is involved. The Department of 

Mines, Minerals and Energy will receive, consider, and 

respond to petitions by any interested person at any time with 

respect to reconsideration or revision. 

Title of Regulation: 4VAC25-40. Safety and Health 

Regulations for Mineral Mining (adding 4VAC25-40-115, 

4VAC25-40-116).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 45.1-161.3, 45.1-161.294, and 45.1-

161.305 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: November 12, 2020.  

Agency Contact: Michael Skiffington, Regulatory 

Coordinator, Department of Mines, Minerals and Energy, 

1100 Bank Street, 8th Floor, Richmond, VA 23219-3402, 
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telephone (804) 692-3212, FAX (804) 692-3237, TTY (800) 

828-1120, or email mike.skiffington@dmme.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

Pursuant to Chapter 804 of the 2020 Acts of Assembly, the 

amendments conform regulations to the federal Fair Labor 

Standards Act (29 USC § 212) and federal regulations by 

allowing that persons between 16 and 18 years of age may 

work around a mine, while persons younger than 18 may 

not work in a mine. 

4VAC25-40-115. Persons younger than 18 years of age 

working in a mine. 

Operators shall ensure no person younger than 18 years of 

age works in any mine. 

4VAC25-40-116. Persons younger than 18 years of age 

working around a mine. 

Operators shall comply with 29 CFR 570.60 regarding 

persons between 16 and 18 years of age working around any 

mine. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R21-6511; Filed September 14, 2020, 10:27 a.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 9. ENVIRONMENT 

STATE AIR POLLUTION CONTROL BOARD 

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The following regulatory action is 

exempt from Article 2 of the Administrative Process Act in 

accordance with § 2.2-4006 A 4 c of the Code of Virginia, 

which excludes regulations that are necessary to meet the 

requirements of federal law or regulations, provided such 

regulations do not differ materially from those required by 

federal law or regulation. The State Air Pollution Control 

Board will receive, consider, and respond to petitions by any 

interested person at any time with respect to reconsideration 

or revision. 

Titles of Regulations: 9VAC5-20. General Provisions 

(amending 9VAC5-20-21). 

9VAC5-40. Existing Stationary Sources (amending 

9VAC5-40-5970). 

9VAC5-50. New and Modified Stationary Sources 

(amending 9VAC5-50-400, 9VAC5-50-410).  

9VAC5-60. Hazardous Air Pollutant Sources (amending 

9VAC5-60-60, 9VAC5-60-90).  

Statutory Authority:  

§ 10.1-1308 of the Code of Virginia; §§ 108, 109, 110, and 

182 of the Clean Air Act; 40 CFR Parts 50, 53, and 58 

(9VAC5-20-21). 

§ 10.1-1308 of the Code of Virginia; §§ 110, 111, 123, 129, 

171, 172, and 182 of the Clean Air Act; 40 CFR Parts 51 and 

60 (9VAC5-40-5970, 9VAC5-50-400, 9VAC5-50-410, 

9VAC5-60-60, 9VAC5-60-90).  

Effective Date: November 11, 2020.  

Agency Contact: Karen G. Sabasteanski, Department of 

Environmental Quality, 1111 East Main Street, Suite 1400, 

P.O. Box 1105, Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 698-

4423, FAX (804) 698-4178, or email 

karen.sabasteanski@deq.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendments (i) update references to certain federal 

regulations to reflect the Code of Federal Regulations as 

published on July 1, 2020; (ii) add two new source 

performance standards, Subpart XXX (Municipal Solid 

Waste Landfills that Commenced Construction, 

Reconstruction, or Modification After July 17, 2014) and 

Subpart OOOOa (Crude Oil and Natural Gas Facilities 

for which Construction, Modification, or Reconstruction 

Commenced after September 18, 2015) of 40 CFR Part 60; 

(iii) remove an outdated reference to a specific version of a 

federal code citation relating to Article 43.1 (9VAC5-40-

5925 et seq.) of 9VAC5-40; and (iv) update and correct an 

internal reference to a federal standard affecting a specific 

stationary source (landfills). 

9VAC5-20-21. Documents incorporated by reference.  

A. The Administrative Process Act and Virginia Register 

Act provide that state regulations may incorporate documents 

by reference. Throughout these regulations, documents of the 

types specified below have been incorporated by reference. 

1. United States Code. 

2. Code of Virginia. 

3. Code of Federal Regulations. 

4. Federal Register. 

5. Technical and scientific reference documents. 

Additional information on key federal regulations and 

nonstatutory documents incorporated by reference and their 

availability may be found in subsection E of this section. 

B. Any reference in these regulations to any provision of the 

Code of Federal Regulations (CFR) shall be considered as the 

adoption by reference of that provision. The specific version 

of the provision adopted by reference shall be that contained 

in the CFR (2016) (2020) in effect July 1, 2016 2020. For the 

purposes of Article 43.1 (9VAC5-40-5925 et seq.) of 

mailto:mike.skiffington@dmme.virginia.gov
mailto:karen.sabasteanski@deq.virginia.gov
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9VAC5-40 (Existing Stationary Sources), EPA regulations 

promulgated at Subpart Cf (40 CFR 60.30f et seq., Emission 

Guidelines and Compliance Times for Municipal Solid Waste 

Landfills) of 40 CFR Part 60, as published in the Federal 

Register of August 29, 2016 (81 FR 59276) and effective on 

October 28, 2016, is the version incorporated by reference 

into this article and Article 43.1. In making reference to the 

Code of Federal Regulations, 40 CFR Part 35 means Part 35 

of Title 40 of the Code of Federal Regulations; 40 CFR 35.20 

means § 35.20 in Part 35 of Title 40 of the Code of Federal 

Regulations. 

C. Failure to include in this section any document referenced 

in the regulations shall not invalidate the applicability of the 

referenced document. 

D. Copies of materials incorporated by reference in this 

section may be examined by the public at the central office of 

the Department of Environmental Quality, 1111 East Main 

Street, Suite 1400, Richmond, Virginia, between 8:30 a.m. 

and 4:30 p.m. of each business day. 

E. Information on federal regulations and nonstatutory 

documents incorporated by reference and their availability 

may be found below in this subsection. 

1. Code of Federal Regulations. 

a. The provisions specified below from the Code of 

Federal Regulations (CFR) are incorporated herein by 

reference. 

(1) 40 CFR Part 50 -- National Primary and Secondary 

Ambient Air Quality Standards. 

(a) Appendix A-1 -- Reference Measurement Principle 

and Calibration Procedure for the Measurement of Sulfur 

Dioxide in the Atmosphere (Ultraviolet Fluorescence 

Method). 

(b) Appendix A-2 -- Reference Method for the 

Determination of Sulfur Dioxide in the Atmosphere 

(Pararosaniline Method). 

(c) Appendix B -- Reference Method for the 

Determination of Suspended Particulate Matter in the 

Atmosphere (High-Volume Method). 

(d) Appendix C -- Measurement Principle and 

Calibration Procedure for the Continuous Measurement 

of Carbon Monoxide in the Atmosphere (Non-Dispersive 

Infrared Photometry). 

(e) Appendix D -- Measurement Principle and 

Calibration Procedure for the Measurement of Ozone in 

the Atmosphere. 

(f) Appendix E -- Reserved. 

(g) Appendix F -- Measurement Principle and Calibration 

Procedure for the Measurement of Nitrogen Dioxide in 

the Atmosphere (Gas Phase Chemiluminescence). 

(h) Appendix G -- Reference Method for the 

Determination of Lead in Suspended Particulate Matter 

Collected from Ambient Air. 

(i) Appendix H -- Interpretation of the National Ambient 

Air Quality Standards for Ozone. 

(j) Appendix I -- Interpretation of the 8-Hour Primary 

and Secondary National Ambient Air Quality Standards 

for Ozone. 

(k) Appendix J -- Reference Method for the 

Determination of Particulate Matter as PM10 in the 

Atmosphere. 

(l) Appendix K -- Interpretation of the National Ambient 

Air Quality Standards for Particulate Matter. 

(m) Appendix L -- Reference Method for the 

Determination of Fine Particulate Matter as PM2.5 in the 

Atmosphere. 

(n) Appendix M -- Reserved. 

(o) Appendix N -- Interpretation of the National Ambient 

Air Quality Standards for PM2.5. 

(p) Appendix O -- Reference Method for the 

Determination of Coarse Particulate Matter as PM in the 

Atmosphere. 

(q) Appendix P -- Interpretation of the Primary and 

Secondary National Ambient Air Quality Standards for 

Ozone. 

(r) Appendix Q -- Reference Method for the 

Determination of Lead in Suspended Particulate Matter 

as PM10 Collected from Ambient Air. 

(s) Appendix R -- Interpretation of the National Ambient 

Air Quality Standards for Lead. 

(t) Appendix S -- Interpretation of the Primary National 

Ambient Air Quality Standards for Oxides of Nitrogen 

(Nitrogen Dioxide). 

(u) Appendix T -- Interpretation of the Primary National 

Ambient Air Quality Standards for Oxides of Sulfur 

(Sulfur Dioxide). 

(v) Appendix U -- Interpretation of the Primary and 

Secondary National Ambient Air Quality Standards for 

Ozone. 

(2) 40 CFR Part 51 -- Requirements for Preparation, 

Adoption, and Submittal of Implementation Plans. 

(a) Appendix M -- Recommended Test Methods for State 

Implementation Plans. 

(b) Appendix S -- Emission Offset Interpretive Ruling. 

(c) Appendix W -- Guideline on Air Quality Models 

(Revised). 
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(d) Appendix Y -- Guidelines for BART Determinations 

Under the Regional Haze Rule. 

(3) 40 CFR Part 55 -- Outer Continental Shelf Air 

Regulations, except for §§ 55.5, 55.11, and 55.12. 

(4) 40 CFR Part 58 -- Ambient Air Quality Surveillance. 

Appendix A -- Quality Assurance Requirements for 

SLAMS, SPMs and PSD Air Monitoring. 

(5) 40 CFR Part 59 -- National Volatile Organic 

Compound Emission Standards for Consumer and 

Commercial Products. 

(a) Subpart C -- National Volatile Organic Compound 

Emission Standards for Consumer Products. 

(b) Subpart D -- National Volatile Organic Compound 

Emission Standards for Architectural Coatings, Appendix 

A -- Determination of Volatile Matter Content of 

Methacrylate Multicomponent Coatings Used as Traffic 

Marking Coatings. 

(6) 40 CFR Part 60 -- Standards of Performance for New 

Stationary Sources. 

The specific provisions of 40 CFR Part 60 incorporated 

by reference are found in Article 5 (9VAC5-50-400 et 

seq.) of Part II of 9VAC5-50 (New and Modified 

Stationary Sources). 

(7) 40 CFR Part 61 -- National Emission Standards for 

Hazardous Air Pollutants. 

The specific provisions of 40 CFR Part 61 incorporated 

by reference are found in Article 1 (9VAC5-60-60 et 

seq.) of Part II of 9VAC5-60 (Hazardous Air Pollutant 

Sources). 

(8) 40 CFR Part 63 -- National Emission Standards for 

Hazardous Air Pollutants for Source Categories. 

The specific provisions of 40 CFR Part 63 incorporated 

by reference are found in Article 2 (9VAC5-60-90 et 

seq.) of Part II of 9VAC5-60 (Hazardous Air Pollutant 

Sources). 

(9) 40 CFR Part 64 -- Compliance Assurance 

Monitoring. 

(10) 40 CFR Part 72 -- Permits Regulation. 

(11) 40 CFR Part 73 -- Sulfur Dioxide Allowance 

System. 

(12) 40 CFR Part 74 -- Sulfur Dioxide Opt-Ins. 

(13) 40 CFR Part 75 -- Continuous Emission Monitoring. 

(14) 40 CFR Part 76 -- Acid Rain Nitrogen Oxides 

Emission Reduction Program. 

(15) 40 CFR Part 77 -- Excess Emissions. 

(16) 40 CFR Part 78 -- Appeal Procedures for Acid Rain 

Program. 

(17) 40 CFR Part 152 Subpart I -- Classification of 

Pesticides. 

(18) 49 CFR Part 172 -- Hazardous Materials Table. 

Special Provisions, Hazardous Materials 

Communications, Emergency Response Information, and 

Training Requirements, Subpart E, Labeling. 

(19) 29 CFR Part 1926 Subpart F -- Fire Protection and 

Prevention. 

b. Copies may be obtained from Superintendent of 

Documents, P.O. Box 371954, Pittsburgh, PA 15250-

7954; telephone (202) 783-3238. 

2. U.S. Environmental Protection Agency. 

a. The following documents from the U.S. Environmental 

Protection Agency are incorporated herein by reference: 

(1) Reich Test, Atmospheric Emissions from Sulfuric 

Acid Manufacturing Processes, Public Health Service 

Publication No. PB82250721, 1980. 

(2) Compilation of Air Pollutant Emission Factors (AP-

42). Volume I: Stationary and Area Sources, stock 

number 055-000-00500-1, 1995; Supplement A, stock 

number 055-000-00551-6, 1996; Supplement B, stock 

number 055-000-00565, 1997; Supplement C, stock 

number 055-000-00587-7, 1997; Supplement D, 1998; 

Supplement E, 1999. 

(3) "Guidelines for Determining Capture Efficiency" 

(GD-35), Emissions Monitoring and Analysis Division, 

Office of Air Quality Planning and Standards, January 9, 

1995. 

b. Copies of the document identified in subdivision E 2 a 

(1) of this section, and Volume I and Supplements A 

through C of the document identified in subdivision E 2 a 

(2) of this section, may be obtained from U.S. 

Department of Commerce, National Technical 

Information Service, 5285 Port Royal Road, Springfield, 

VA 22161; telephone 1-800-553-6847. Copies of 

Supplements D and E of the document identified in 

subdivision E 2 a (2) of this section may be obtained 

online from EPA's Technology Transfer Network at 

http://www.epa.gov/ttn/index.html. Copies of the 

document identified in subdivision E 2 a (3) of this 

section are only available online from EPA's Technology 

Transfer Network at 

http://www.epa.gov/ttn/emc/guidlnd.html. 

3. United States government. 

a. The following document from the United States 

government is incorporated herein by reference: Standard 
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Industrial Classification Manual, 1987 (U.S. Government 

Printing Office stock number 041-001-00-314-2). 

b. Copies may be obtained from Superintendent of 

Documents, P.O. Box 371954, Pittsburgh, PA 15250-

7954; telephone (202) 512-1800. 

4. American Society for Testing and Materials (ASTM). 

a. The documents specified below from the American 

Society for Testing and Materials are incorporated herein 

by reference. 

(1) D323-99a, "Standard Test Method for Vapor Pressure 

of Petroleum Products (Reid Method)." 

(2) D97-96a, "Standard Test Method for Pour Point of 

Petroleum Products." 

(3) D129-00, "Standard Test Method for Sulfur in 

Petroleum Products (General Bomb Method)." 

(4) D388-99, "Standard Classification of Coals by Rank." 

(5) D396-98, "Standard Specification for Fuel Oils." 

(6) D975-98b, "Standard Specification for Diesel Fuel 

Oils." 

(7) D1072-90(1999), "Standard Test Method for Total 

Sulfur in Fuel Gases." 

(8) D1265-97, "Standard Practice for Sampling Liquefied 

Petroleum (LP) Gases (Manual Method)." 

(9) D2622-98, "Standard Test Method for Sulfur in 

Petroleum Products by Wavelength Dispersive X-Ray 

Fluorescence Spectrometry." 

(10) D4057-95(2000), "Standard Practice for Manual 

Sampling of Petroleum and Petroleum Products." 

(11) D4294-98, "Standard Test Method for Sulfur in 

Petroleum and Petroleum Products by Energy-Dispersive 

X-Ray Fluorescence Spectroscopy." 

(12) D523-89, "Standard Test Method for Specular 

Gloss" (1999). 

(13) D1613-02, "Standard Test Method for Acidity in 

Volatile Solvents and Chemical Intermediates Used in 

Paint, Varnish, Lacquer and Related Products" (2002). 

(14) D1640-95, "Standard Test Methods for Drying, 

Curing, or Film Formation of Organic Coatings at Room 

Temperature" (1999). 

(15) E119-00a, "Standard Test Methods for Fire Tests of 

Building Construction Materials" (2000). 

(16) E84-01, "Standard Test Method for Surface Burning 

Characteristics of Building Construction Materials" 

(2001). 

(17) D4214-98, "Standard Test Methods for Evaluating 

the Degree of Chalking of Exterior Paint Films" (1998). 

(18) D86-04b, "Standard Test Method for Distillation of 

Petroleum Products at Atmospheric Pressure" (2004). 

(19) D4359-90, "Standard Test Method for Determining 

Whether a Material is a Liquid or a Solid" (reapproved 

2000). 

(20) E260-96, "Standard Practice for Packed Column 

Gas Chromatography" (reapproved 2001). 

(21) D3912-95, "Standard Test Method for Chemical 

Resistance of Coatings Used in Light-Water Nuclear 

Power Plants" (reapproved 2001). 

(22) D4082-02, "Standard Test Method for Effects of 

Gamma Radiation on Coatings for Use in Light-Water 

Nuclear Power Plants." 

(23) F852-99, "Standard Specification for Portable 

Gasoline Containers for Consumer Use" (reapproved 

2006). 

(24) F976-02, "Standard Specification for Portable 

Kerosine and Diesel Containers for Consumer Use." 

(25) D4457-02, "Standard Test Method for 

Determination of Dichloromethane and 1,1,1-

Trichloroethane in Paints and Coatings by Direct 

Injection into a Gas Chromatograph" (reapproved 2008). 

(26) D3792-05, "Standard Test Method for Water 

Content of Coatings by Direct Injection Into a Gas 

Chromatograph." 

(27) D2879-97, "Standard Test Method for Vapor 

Pressure-Temperature Relationship and Initial 

Decomposition Temperature of Liquids by Isoteniscope" 

(reapproved 2007). 

b. Copies may be obtained from American Society for 

Testing Materials, 100 Barr Harbor Drive, West 

Conshohocken, PA 19428-2959; telephone (610) 

832-9585. 

5. American Petroleum Institute (API). 

a. The following document from the American Petroleum 

Institute is incorporated herein by reference: Evaporative 

Loss from Floating Roof Tanks, API MPMS Chapter 19, 

April 1, 1997. 

b. Copies may be obtained from American Petroleum 

Institute, 1220 L Street, Northwest, Washington, DC 

20005; telephone (202) 682-8000. 

6. American Conference of Governmental Industrial 

Hygienists (ACGIH). 

a. The following document from the ACGIH is 

incorporated herein by reference: 1991-1992 Threshold 
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Limit Values for Chemical Substances and Physical 

Agents and Biological Exposure Indices (ACGIH 

Handbook). 

b. Copies may be obtained from ACGIH, 1330 Kemper 

Meadow Drive, Suite 600, Cincinnati, OH 45240; 

telephone (513) 742-2020. 

7. National Fire Prevention Association (NFPA). 

a. The documents specified below from the National Fire 

Prevention Association are incorporated herein by 

reference. 

(1) NFPA 385, Standard for Tank Vehicles for 

Flammable and Combustible Liquids, 2000 Edition. 

(2) NFPA 30, Flammable and Combustible Liquids 

Code, 2000 Edition. 

(3) NFPA 30A, Code for Motor Fuel Dispensing 

Facilities and Repair Garages, 2000 Edition. 

b. Copies may be obtained from the National Fire 

Prevention Association, One Batterymarch Park, P.O. 

Box 9101, Quincy, MA 02269-9101; telephone (617) 

770-3000. 

8. American Society of Mechanical Engineers (ASME). 

a. The documents specified below from the American 

Society of Mechanical Engineers are incorporated herein 

by reference. 

(1) ASME Power Test Codes: Test Code for Steam 

Generating Units, Power Test Code 4.1-1964 (R1991). 

(2) ASME Interim Supplement 19.5 on Instruments and 

Apparatus: Application, Part II of Fluid Meters, 6th 

edition (1971). 

(3) Standard for the Qualification and Certification of 

Resource Recovery Facility Operators, ASME 

QRO-1-1994. 

b. Copies may be obtained from the American Society of 

Mechanical Engineers, Three Park Avenue, New York, 

NY 10016; telephone (800) 843-2763. 

9. American Hospital Association (AHA). 

a. The following document from the American Hospital 

Association is incorporated herein by reference: An 

Ounce of Prevention: Waste Reduction Strategies for 

Health Care Facilities, AHA Catalog no. W5-057007, 

1993. 

b. Copies may be obtained from American Hospital 

Association, One North Franklin, Chicago, IL 60606; 

telephone (800) 242-2626. 

10. Bay Area Air Quality Management District 

(BAAQMD). 

a. The following documents from the Bay Area Air 

Quality Management District are incorporated herein by 

reference: 

(1) Method 41, "Determination of Volatile Organic 

Compounds in Solvent-Based Coatings and Related 

Materials Containing Parachlorobenzotrifluoride" 

(December 20, 1995). 

(2) Method 43, "Determination of Volatile 

Methylsiloxanes in Solvent-Based Coatings, Inks, and 

Related Materials" (November 6, 1996). 

b. Copies may be obtained from Bay Area Air Quality 

Management District, 939 Ellis Street, San Francisco, 

CA 94109, telephone (415) 771-6000. 

11. South Coast Air Quality Management District 

(SCAQMD). 

a. The following documents from the South Coast Air 

Quality Management District are incorporated herein by 

reference: 

(1) Method 303-91, "Determination of Exempt 

Compounds," in Manual SSMLLABM, "Laboratory 

Methods of Analysis for Enforcement Samples" (1996). 

(2) Method 318-95, "Determination of Weight Percent 

Elemental Metal in Coatings by X-Ray Diffraction," in 

Manual SSMLLABM, "Laboratory Methods of Analysis 

for Enforcement Samples" (1996). 

(3) Rule 1174 Ignition Method Compliance Certification 

Protocol (February 28, 1991). 

(4) Method 304-91, "Determination of Volatile Organic 

Compounds (VOC) in Various Materials," in Manual 

SSMLLABM, "Laboratory Methods of Analysis for 

Enforcement Samples" (1996). 

(5) Method 316A-92, "Determination of Volatile Organic 

Compounds (VOC) in Materials Used for Pipes and 

Fittings" in Manual SSMLLABM, "Laboratory Methods 

of Analysis for Enforcement Samples" (1996). 

(6) "General Test Method for Determining Solvent 

Losses from Spray Gun Cleaning Systems," October 3, 

1989. 

b. Copies may be obtained from South Coast Air Quality 

Management District, 21865 E. Copley Drive, Diamond 

Bar, CA 91765, telephone (909) 396-2000. 

12. California Air Resources Board (CARB). 

a. The following documents from the California Air 

Resources Board are incorporated herein by reference: 

(1) Test Method 510, "Automatic Shut-Off Test 

Procedure for Spill-Proof Systems and Spill-Proof 

Spouts" (July 6, 2000). 
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(2) Test Method 511, "Automatic Closure Test Procedure 

for Spill-Proof Systems and Spill-Proof Spouts" (July 6, 

2000). 

(3) Method 100, "Procedures for Continuous Gaseous 

Emission Stack Sampling" (July 28, 1997). 

(4) Test Method 513, "Determination of Permeation Rate 

for Spill-Proof Systems" (July 6, 2000). 

(5) Method 310, "Determination of Volatile Organic 

Compounds (VOC) in Consumer Products and Reactive 

Organic Compounds in Aerosol Coating Products 

(Including Appendices A and B)" (May 5, 2005). 

(6) California Code of Regulations, Title 17, Division 3, 

Chapter 1, Subchapter 8.5, Article 1, § 94503.5 (2003). 

(7) California Code of Regulations, Title 17, Division 3, 

Chapter 1, Subchapter 8.5, Article 2, §§ 94509 and 

94511 (2003). 

(8) California Code of Regulations, Title 17, Division 3, 

Chapter 1, Subchapter 8.5, Article 4, §§ 94540-94555 

(2003). 

(9) "Certification Procedure 501 for Portable Fuel 

Containers and Spill-Proof Spouts, CP-501" (July 26, 

2006). 

(10) "Test Procedure for Determining Integrity of Spill-

Proof Spouts and Spill-Proof Systems, TP-501" (July 26, 

2006). 

(11) "Test Procedure for Determining Diurnal Emissions 

from Portable Fuel Containers, TP-502" (July 26, 2006). 

b. Copies may be obtained from California Air Resources 

Board, P.O. Box 2815, Sacramento, CA 95812, 

telephone (906) 322-3260 or (906) 322-2990. 

13. American Architectural Manufacturers Association. 

a. The following documents from the American 

Architectural Manufacturers Association are incorporated 

herein by reference: 

(1) Voluntary Specification 2604-02, "Performance 

Requirements and Test Procedures for High Performance 

Organic Coatings on Aluminum Extrusions and Panels" 

(2002). 

(2) Voluntary Specification 2605-02, "Performance 

Requirements and Test Procedures for Superior 

Performing Organic Coatings on Aluminum Extrusions 

and Panels" (2002). 

b. Copies may be obtained from American Architectural 

Manufacturers Association, 1827 Walden Office Square, 

Suite 550, Schaumburg, IL 60173, telephone (847) 

303-5664. 

14. American Furniture Manufacturers Association. 

a. The following document from the American Furniture 

Manufacturers Association is incorporated herein by 

reference: Joint Industry Fabrics Standards Committee, 

Woven and Knit Residential Upholstery Fabric Standards 

and Guidelines (January 2001). 

b. Copies may be obtained from American Furniture 

Manufacturers Association, P.O. Box HP-7, High Point, 

NC 27261; telephone (336) 884-5000.  

15. Petroleum Equipment Institute. 

a. The following document from the Petroleum 

Equipment Institute is incorporated herein by reference: 

Recommended Practices for Installation and Testing of 

Vapor-Recovery Systems at Vehicle-Fueling Sites, 

PEI/RP300-09 (2009). 

b. Copies may be obtained from Petroleum Equipment 

Institute, 6931 S. 66th E. Avenue, Suite 310, Tulsa, OK 

74133; telephone (918) 494-9696; www.pei.org. 

16. American Architectural Manufacturers Association 

(AAMA). 

a. The following documents from the American 

Architectural Manufacturers Association are incorporated 

herein by reference:  

(1) Voluntary Specification, Performance Requirements 

and Test Procedures for High Performance Organic 

Coatings on Aluminum Extrusions and Panels, 

publication number AAMA 2604-05. 

(2) Voluntary Specification, Performance Requirements 

and Test Procedures for Superior Performing Organic 

Coatings on Aluminum Extrusions and Panels, 

publication number AAMA 2605-05. 

b. Copies may be obtained from American Architectural 

Manufacturers Association, 1827 Walden Office Square, 

Suite 550, Schaumburg, IL 60173-4268; telephone (847) 

303-5774.  

9VAC5-40-5970. Reporting and recordkeeping. 

A. With regard to the emissions standards in 9VAC5-40-

5940 and 9VAC5-40-5945, the provisions of 9VAC5-40-50 

(Notification, records and reporting) apply. 

B. With regard to the emission limits in 9VAC5-40-5935 

and 9VAC5-40-5955, the following provisions apply: 

1. 9VAC5-40-50 F and H; 

2. 40 CFR 60.7; and 

3. 40 CFR 60.38f(a) through (m) (n) except as provided in 

40 CFR 60.24 and 40 CFR 60.38f(d)(2), and 40 CFR 

60.39f(a) through (j). 
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Article 5  

Environmental Protection Agency Standards of Performance 

for New Stationary Sources (Rule 5-5)  

9VAC5-50-400. General. 

The U.S. Environmental Protection Agency Regulations on 

Standards of Performance for New Stationary Sources 

(NSPSs), as promulgated in 40 CFR Part 60 and designated in 

9VAC5-50-410 are, unless indicated otherwise, incorporated 

by reference into the regulations of the board as amended by 

the word or phrase substitutions given in 9VAC5-50-420. The 

complete text of the subparts in 9VAC5-50-410 incorporated 

in this regulation by reference is contained in 40 CFR Part 60. 

The 40 CFR section numbers appearing under each subpart in 

9VAC5-50-410 identify the specific provisions of the subpart 

incorporated by reference. The specific version of the 

provision adopted by reference shall be that contained in the 

CFR (2019) (2020) in effect July 1, 2019 2020. In making 

reference to the Code of Federal Regulations, 40 CFR Part 60 

means Part 60 of Title 40 of the Code of Federal Regulations; 

40 CFR 60.1 means 60.1 in Part 60 of Title 40 of the Code of 

Federal Regulations.  

9VAC5-50-410. Designated standards of performance.  

Subpart A - General Provisions.  

40 CFR 60.1 through 40 CFR 60.3, 40 CFR 60.7, 40 CFR 

60.8, 40 CFR 60.11 through 40 CFR 60.15, 40 CFR 60.18 

through 40 CFR 60.19  

(applicability, definitions, units and abbreviations, 

notification and recordkeeping, performance tests, 

compliance, circumvention, monitoring requirements, 

modification, reconstruction, general control device 

requirements, and general notification and reporting 

requirements)  

Subpart B - Not applicable.  

Subpart C - Not applicable.  

Subpart Ca - Reserved.  

Subpart Cb - Not applicable.  

Subpart Cc - Not applicable.  

Subpart Cd - Not applicable.  

Subpart Ce - Not applicable.  

Subpart D - Fossil Fuel-Fired Steam Generators.  

40 CFR 60.40 through 40 CFR 60.46  

(fossil fuel-fired steam generating units of more than 250 

million Btu per hour heat input rate and fossil fuel-fired 

and wood residue-fired steam generating units capable of 

firing fossil fuel at a heat input rate of more than 250 

million Btu per hour)  

Subpart Da - Electric Utility Steam Generating Units.  

40 CFR 60.40Da through 40 CFR 60.52Da 

(electric utility steam generating units capable of 

combusting more than 250 million Btu per hour heat input 

of fossil fuel (either alone or in combination with any other 

fuel), and for which construction, reconstruction, or 

modification is commenced after September 18, 1978)  

Subpart Db - Industrial-Commercial-Institutional Steam 

Generating Units.  

40 CFR 60.40b through 40 CFR 60.49b  

(industrial-commercial-institutional steam generating units 

which have a heat input capacity from combusted fuels of 

more than 100 million Btu per hour)  

Subpart Dc - Small Industrial-Commercial-Institutional 

Steam Generating Units.  

40 CFR 60.40c through 40 CFR 60.48c  

(industrial-commercial-institutional steam generating units 

which have a heat input capacity of 100 million Btu per 

hour or less, but greater than or equal to 10 million Btu per 

hour)  

Subpart E - Incinerators.  

40 CFR 60.50 through 40 CFR 60.54  

(incinerator units of more than 50 tons per day charging 

rate)  

Subpart Ea - Municipal Waste Combustors for which 

Construction is Commenced after December 20, 1989, and on 

or before September 20, 1994.  

40 CFR 60.50a through 40 CFR 60.59a  

(municipal waste combustor units with a capacity greater 

than 250 tons per day of municipal-type solid waste or 

refuse-derived fuel)  

Subpart Eb - Large Municipal Combustors for which 

Construction is Commenced after September 20, 1994, or for 

which Modification or Reconstruction is Commenced after 

June 19, 1996.  

40 CFR 60.50b through 40 CFR 60.59b  

(municipal waste combustor units with a capacity greater 

than 250 tons per day of municipal-type solid waste or 

refuse-derived fuel)  

Subpart Ec - Hospital/Medical/Infectious Waste Incinerators 

for which Construction is Commenced after June 20, 1996.  

40 CFR 60.50c through 40 CFR 60.58c  

(hospital/medical/infectious waste incinerators that 

combust any amount of hospital waste and 

medical/infectious waste or both)  
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Subpart F - Portland Cement Plants.  

40 CFR 60.60 through 40 CFR 60.66  

(kilns, clinker coolers, raw mill systems, finish mill 

systems, raw mill dryers, raw material storage, clinker 

storage, finished product storage, conveyor transfer points, 

bagging and bulk loading and unloading systems)  

Subpart G - Nitric Acid Plants.  

40 CFR 60.70 through 40 CFR 60.74  

(nitric acid production units)  

Subpart Ga - Nitric Acid Plants for which Construction, 

Reconstruction, or Modification Commenced after October 

14, 2011. 

40 CFR 60.70a through 40 CFR 60.77a 

(nitric acid production units producing weak nitric acid by 

either the pressure or atmospheric pressure process) 

Subpart H - Sulfuric Acid Plants.  

40 CFR 60.80 through 40 CFR 60.85  

(sulfuric acid production units)  

Subpart I - Hot Mix Asphalt Facilities.  

40 CFR 60.90 through 40 CFR 60.93  

(dryers; systems for screening, handling, storing and 

weighing hot aggregate; systems for loading, transferring 

and storing mineral filler; systems for mixing asphalt; and 

the loading, transfer and storage systems associated with 

emission control systems)  

Subpart J - Petroleum Refineries.  

40 CFR 60.100 through 40 CFR 60.106  

(fluid catalytic cracking unit catalyst regenerators, fluid 

catalytic cracking unit incinerator-waste heat boilers and 

fuel gas combustion devices)  

Subpart Ja - Petroleum Refineries for which Construction, 

Reconstruction, or Modification Commenced after May 14, 

2007. 

40 CFR 60.100a through 40 CFR 60.109a 

(fluid catalytic cracking units, fluid coking units, delayed 

coking units, fuel gas combustion devices, including flares 

and process heaters, and sulfur recovery plants) 

Subpart K - Storage Vessels for Petroleum Liquids for which 

Construction, Reconstruction, or Modification Commenced 

after June 11, 1973, and prior to May 19, 1978.  

40 CFR 60.110 through 40 CFR 60.113  

(storage vessels with a capacity greater than 40,000 

gallons)  

Subpart Ka - Storage Vessels for Petroleum Liquids for 

which Construction, Reconstruction, or Modification 

Commenced after May 18, 1978, and prior to July 23, 1984.  

40 CFR 60.110a through 40 CFR 60.115a  

(storage vessels with a capacity greater than 40,000 

gallons)  

Subpart Kb - Volatile Organic Liquid Storage Vessels 

(Including Petroleum Liquid Storage Vessels) for which 

Construction, Reconstruction, or Modification Commenced 

after July 23, 1984.  

40 CFR 60.110b through 40 CFR 60.117b  

(storage vessels with capacity greater than or equal to 

10,566 gallons)  

Subpart L - Secondary Lead Smelters.  

40 CFR 60.120 through 40 CFR 60.123  

(pot furnaces of more than 550 pound charging capacity, 

blast (cupola) furnaces and reverberatory furnaces)  

Subpart M - Secondary Brass and Bronze Production Plants.  

40 CFR 60.130 through 40 CFR 60.133  

(reverberatory and electric furnaces of 2205 pound or 

greater production capacity and blast (cupola) furnaces of 

550 pounds per hour or greater production capacity)  

Subpart N - Primary Emissions from Basic Oxygen Process 

Furnaces for which Construction is Commenced after June 

11, 1973.  

40 CFR 60.140 through 40 CFR 60.144  

(basic oxygen process furnaces)  

Subpart Na - Secondary Emissions from Basic Oxygen 

Process Steelmaking Facilities for which Construction is 

Commenced after January 20, 1983.  

40 CFR 60.140a through 40 CFR 60.145a  

(facilities in an iron and steel plant: top-blown BOPFs and 

hot metal transfer stations and skimming stations used with 

bottom-blown or top-blown BOPFs)  

Subpart O - Sewage Treatment Plants.  

40 CFR 60.150 through 40 CFR 60.154  

(incinerators that combust wastes containing more than 

10% sewage sludge (dry basis) produced by municipal 

sewage treatment plants or incinerators that charge more 

than 2205 pounds per day municipal sewage sludge (dry 

basis))  

Subpart P - Primary Copper Smelters.  

40 CFR 60.160 through 40 CFR 60.166  

(dryers, roasters, smelting furnaces, and copper converters)  
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Subpart Q - Primary Zinc Smelters.  

40 CFR 60.170 through 40 CFR 60.176  

(roasters and sintering machines)  

Subpart R - Primary Lead Smelters  

40 CFR 60.180 through 40 CFR 60.186  

(sintering machines, sintering machine discharge ends, 

blast furnaces, dross reverberatory furnaces, electric 

smelting furnaces and converters)  

Subpart S - Primary Aluminum Reduction Plants.  

40 CFR 60.190 through 40 CFR 60.195  

(potroom groups and anode bake plants)  

Subpart T - Phosphate Fertilizer Industry: Wet-Process 

Phosphoric Acid Plants.  

40 CFR 60.200 through 40 CFR 60.205 

(reactors, filters, evaporators, and hot wells)  

Subpart U - Phosphate Fertilizer Industry: Superphosphoric 

Acid Plants.  

40 CFR 60.210 through 40 CFR 60.215  

(evaporators, hot wells, acid sumps, and cooling tanks)  

Subpart V - Phosphate Fertilizer Industry: Diammonium 

Phosphate Plants.  

40 CFR 60.220 through 40 CFR 60.225  

(reactors, granulators, dryers, coolers, screens, and mills)  

Subpart W - Phosphate Fertilizer Industry: Triple 

Superphosphate Plants.  

40 CFR 60.230 through 40 CFR 60.235  

(mixers, curing belts (dens), reactors, granulators, dryers, 

cookers, screens, mills, and facilities which store run-of-

pile triple superphosphate)  

Subpart X - Phosphate Fertilizer Industry: Granular Triple 

Superphosphate Storage Facilities.  

40 CFR 60.240 through 40 CFR 60.245  

(storage or curing piles, conveyors, elevators, screens and 

mills)  

Subpart Y - Coal Preparation and Processing Plants.  

40 CFR 60.250 through 40 CFR 60.258 

(plants which process more than 200 tons per day: thermal 

dryers, pneumatic coal-cleaning equipment (air tables), 

coal processing and conveying equipment (including 

breakers and crushers), coal storage systems, and coal 

transfer and loading systems)  

Subpart Z - Ferroalloy Production Facilities.  

40 CFR 60.260 through 40 CFR 60.266  

(electric submerged arc furnaces which produce silicon 

metal, ferrosilicon, calcium silicon, silicomanganese 

zirconium, ferrochrome silicon, silvery iron, high-carbon 

ferrochrome, charge chrome, standard ferromanganese, 

silicomanganese, ferromanganese silicon or calcium 

carbide; and dust-handling equipment)  

Subpart AA - Steel Plants: Electric Arc Furnaces Constructed 

after October 21, 1974, and on or before August 17, 1983.  

40 CFR 60.270 through 40 CFR 60.276  

(electric arc furnaces and dust-handling systems that 

produce carbon, alloy or specialty steels)  

Subpart AAa - Steel Plants: Electric Arc Furnaces and Argon-

Oxygen Decarburization Vessels Constructed after August 

17, 1983.  

40 CFR 60.270a through 40 CFR 60.276a  

(electric arc furnaces, argon-oxygen decarburization 

vessels, and dust-handling systems that produce carbon, 

alloy, or specialty steels)  

Subpart BB - Kraft Pulp Mills.  

40 CFR 60.280 through 40 CFR 60.285  

(digester systems, brown stock washer systems, multiple 

effect evaporator systems, black liquor oxidation systems, 

recovery furnaces, smelt dissolving tanks, lime kilns, 

condensate strippers and kraft pulping operations)  

Subpart BBa - Kraft Pulp Mill Affected Sources for which 

Construction, Reconstruction, or Modification Commenced 

after May 23, 2013. 

40 CFR 60.280a through 40 CFR 60.288a 

(digester systems, brown stock washer systems, multiple 

effect evaporator systems, black liquor oxidation systems, 

recovery furnaces, smelt dissolving tanks, lime kilns, 

condensate strippers, and kraft pulping operations) 

Subpart CC - Glass Manufacturing Plants.  

40 CFR 60.290 through 40 CFR 60.296  

(glass melting furnaces)  

Subpart DD - Grain Elevators.  

40 CFR 60.300 through 40 CFR 60.304  

(grain terminal elevators/grain storage elevators: truck 

unloading stations, truck loading stations, barge and ship 

unloading stations, barge and ship loading stations, railcar 

unloading stations, railcar loading stations, grain dryers, 

and all grain handling operations)  
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Subpart EE - Surface Coating of Metal Furniture.  

40 CFR 60.310 through 40 CFR 60.316  

(metal furniture surface coating operations in which 

organic coatings are applied)  

Subpart FF - Reserved.  

Subpart GG - Stationary Gas Turbines.  

40 CFR 60.330 through 40 CFR 60.335  

(stationary gas turbines with a heat input at peak load equal 

to or greater than 10 million Btu per hour, based on the 

lower heating value of the fuel fired)  

Subpart HH - Lime Manufacturing Plants.  

40 CFR 60.340 through 40 CFR 60.344  

(each rotary lime kiln)  

Subparts II through JJ - Reserved.  

Subpart KK - Lead-Acid Battery Manufacturing Plants.  

40 CFR 60.370 through 40 CFR 60.374  

(lead-acid battery manufacturing plants that produce or 

have the design capacity to produce in one day (24 hours) 

batteries containing an amount of lead equal to or greater 

than 6.5 tons: grid casting facilities, paste mixing facilities, 

three-process operation facilities, lead oxide manufacturing 

facilities, lead reclamation facilities, and other lead-

emitting operations)  

Subpart LL - Metallic Mineral Processing Plants.  

40 CFR 60.380 through 40 CFR 60.386  

(each crusher and screen in open-pit mines; each crusher, 

screen, bucket elevator, conveyor belt transfer point, thermal 

dryer, product packaging station, storage bin, enclosed storage 

area, truck loading station, truck unloading station, railcar 

loading station, and railcar unloading station at the mill or 

concentrator with the following exceptions. All facilities 

located in underground mines are exempted from the 

provisions of this subpart. At uranium ore processing plants, 

all facilities subsequent to and including the beneficiation of 

uranium ore are exempted from the provisions of this subpart)  

Subpart MM - Automobile and Light Duty Truck Surface 

Coating Operations.  

40 CFR 60.390 through 40 CFR 60.397  

(prime coat operations, guide coat operations, and top-coat 

operations)  

Subpart NN - Phosphate Rock Plants.  

40 CFR 60.400 through 40 CFR 60.404  

(phosphate rock plants which have a maximum plant 

production capacity greater than four tons per hour: dryers, 

calciners, grinders, and ground rock handling and storage 

facilities, except those facilities producing or preparing 

phosphate rock solely for consumption in elemental 

phosphorous production)  

Subpart OO - Reserved. 

Subpart PP - Ammonium Sulfate Manufacture.  

40 CFR 60.420 through 40 CFR 60.424  

(ammonium sulfate dryer within an ammonium sulfate 

manufacturing plant in the caprolactam by-product, 

synthetic, and coke oven by-product sectors of the 

ammonium sulfate industry)  

Subpart QQ - Graphic Arts Industry: Publication Rotogravure 

Printing.  

40 CFR 60.430 through 40 CFR 60.435  

(publication rotogravure printing presses, except proof 

presses)  

Subpart RR - Pressure Sensitive Tape and Label Surface 

Coating Operations.  

40 CFR 60.440 through 40 CFR 60.447  

(pressure sensitive tape and label material coating lines)  

Subpart SS - Industrial Surface Coating: Large Appliances.  

40 CFR 60.450 through 40 CFR 60.456  

(surface coating operations in large appliance coating 

lines)  

Subpart TT - Metal Coil Surface Coating.  

40 CFR 60.460 through 40 CFR 60.466  

(metal coil surface coating operations: each prime coat 

operation, each finish coat operation, and each prime and 

finish coat operation combined when the finish coat is 

applied wet on wet over the prime coat and both coatings 

are cured simultaneously)  

Subpart UU - Asphalt Processing and Asphalt Roofing 

Manufacture.  

40 CFR 60.470 through 40 CFR 60.474  

(each saturator and each mineral handling and storage facility 

at asphalt roofing plants; and each asphalt storage tank and 

each blowing still at asphalt processing plants, petroleum 

refineries, and asphalt roofing plants)  

Subpart VV - Equipment Leaks of Volatile Organic Compounds 

in the Synthetic Organic Chemicals Manufacturing Industry for 

which Construction, Reconstruction, or Modification 

Commenced after January 5, 1981, and on or before November 

7, 2006.  

40 CFR 60.480 through 40 CFR 60.489  

(all equipment within a process unit in a synthetic organic 

chemicals manufacturing plant) 
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Subpart VVa - Equipment Leaks of VOC in the Synthetic 

Organic Chemicals Manufacturing Industry for which 

Construction, Reconstruction, or Modification Commenced 

after November 7, 2006. 

40 CFR 60.480a through 40 CFR 60.489a 

(all equipment within a process unit in a synthetic organic 

chemicals manufacturing plant) 

Subpart WW - Beverage Can Surface Coating Industry.  

40 CFR 60.490 through 40 CFR 60.496  

(beverage can surface coating lines: each exterior base coat 

operation, each overvarnish coating operation, and each 

inside spray coating operation)  

Subpart XX - Bulk Gasoline Terminals.  

40 CFR 60.500 through 40 CFR 60.506  

(total of all loading racks at a bulk gasoline terminal which 

deliver liquid product into gasoline tank trucks)  

Subparts YY through ZZ - Reserved.  

Subpart AAA - New Residential Wood Heaters.  

40 CFR 60.530 through 40 CFR 60.539b  

(NOTE: In accordance with Chapter 471 of the 2015 Acts 

of Assembly, authority to enforce the above standard is 

being retained by EPA and the standard is not incorporated 

by reference into these regulations. A state permit may be 

required of certain facilities if the provisions of 9VAC5-50 

and 9VAC5-80 apply. Owners should review those 

provisions and contact the appropriate regional office for 

guidance on whether those provisions apply.) 

Subpart BBB - Rubber Tire Manufacturing Industry.  

40 CFR 60.540 through 40 CFR 60.548  

(each undertread cementing operation, each sidewall 

cementing operation, each tread end cementing operation, 

each bead cementing operation, each green tire spraying 

operation, each Michelin-A operation, each Michelin-B 

operation, and each Michelin-C automatic operation)  

Subpart CCC - Reserved.  

Subpart DDD - Volatile Organic Compound (VOC) 

Emissions from the Polymer Manufacturing Industry.  

40 CFR 60.560 through 40 CFR 60.566  

(for polypropylene and polyethylene manufacturing using a 

continuous process that emits continuously or 

intermittently: all equipment used in the manufacture of 

these polymers. For polystyrene manufacturing using a 

continuous process that emits continuously: each material 

recovery section. For poly(ethylene terephthalate) 

manufacturing using a continuous process that emits 

continuously: each polymerization reaction section; if 

dimethyl terephthalate is used in the process, each material 

recovery section is also an affected facility; if terephthalic 

acid is used in the process, each raw materials preparation 

section is also an affected facility. For VOC emissions 

from equipment leaks: each group of fugitive emissions 

equipment within any process unit, excluding 

poly(ethylene terephthalate) manufacture.)  

Subpart EEE - Reserved. 

Subpart FFF - Flexible Vinyl and Urethane Coating and 

Printing.  

40 CFR 60.580 through 40 CFR 60.585  

(each rotogravure printing line used to print or coat flexible 

vinyl or urethane products)  

Subpart GGG - Equipment Leaks of VOC in Petroleum 

Refineries for which Construction, Reconstruction, or 

Modification Commenced after January 4, 1983, and on or 

before November 7, 2006.  

40 CFR 60.590 through 40 CFR 60.593  

(each compressor, valve, pump pressure relief device, 

sampling connection system, open-ended valve or line, and 

flange or other connector in VOC service)  

Subpart GGGa - Equipment Leaks of VOC in Petroleum 

Refineries for which Construction, Reconstruction, or 

Modification Commenced after November 7, 2006. 

40 CFR 60.590a through 40 CFR 60.593a 

(each compressor, valve, pump pressure relief device, 

sampling connection system, open-ended valve or line, and 

flange or other connector in VOC service) 

Subpart HHH - Synthetic Fiber Production Facilities.  

40 CFR 60.600 through 40 CFR 60.604  

(each solvent-spun synthetic fiber process that produces 

more than 500 megagrams of fiber per year)  

Subpart III - Volatile Organic Compound (VOC) Emissions 

from the Synthetic Organic Chemical Manufacturing Industry 

(SOCMI) Air Oxidation Unit Processes.  

40 CFR 60.610 through 40 CFR 60.618  

(each air oxidation reactor not discharging its vent stream 

into a recovery system and each combination of an air 

oxidation reactor or two or more air oxidation reactors and 

the recovery system into which the vent streams are 

discharged)  

Subpart JJJ - Petroleum Dry Cleaners.  

40 CFR 60.620 through 40 CFR 60.625  

(facilities located at a petroleum dry cleaning plant with a 

total manufacturers' rated dryer capacity equal to or greater 
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than 84 pounds: petroleum solvent dry cleaning dryers, 

washers, filters, stills, and settling tanks)  

Subpart KKK - Equipment Leaks of VOC from Onshore 

Natural Gas Processing Plants for which Construction, 

Reconstruction, or Modification Commenced after January 

20, 1984, and on or before August 23, 2011.  

40 CFR 60.630 through 40 CFR 60.636  

(each compressor in VOC service or in wet gas service; 

each pump, pressure relief device, open-ended valve or 

line, valve, and flange or other connector that is in VOC 

service or in wet gas service, and any device or system 

required by this subpart)  

Subpart LLL - Sulfur Dioxide Emissions from Onshore 

Natural Gas Processing for which Construction, 

Reconstruction, or Modification Commenced after January 

20, 1984, and on or before August 23, 2011.  

40 CFR 60.640 through 40 CFR 60.648  

(facilities that process natural gas: each sweetening unit, 

and each sweetening unit followed by a sulfur recovery 

unit)  

Subpart MMM - Reserved. 

Subpart NNN - Volatile Organic Compound (VOC) 

Emissions from Synthetic Organic Chemical Manufacturing 

Industry (SOCMI) Distillation Operations.  

40 CFR 60.660 through 40 CFR 60.668  

(each distillation unit not discharging its vent stream into a 

recovery system, each combination of a distillation unit or 

of two or more units and the recovery system into which 

their vent streams are discharged)  

Subpart OOO - Nonmetallic Mineral Processing Plants.  

40 CFR 60.670 through 40 CFR 60.676  

(facilities in fixed or portable nonmetallic mineral 

processing plants: each crusher, grinding mill, screening 

operation, bucket elevator, belt conveyor, bagging 

operation, storage bin, enclosed truck or railcar loading 

station)  

Subpart PPP - Wool Fiberglass Insulation Manufacturing 

Plants.  

40 CFR 60.680 through 40 CFR 60.685  

(each rotary spin wool fiberglass insulation manufacturing 

line)  

Subpart QQQ - VOC Emissions from Petroleum Refinery 

Wastewater Systems.  

40 CFR 60.690 through 40 CFR 60.699  

(individual drain systems, oil-water separators, and 

aggregate facilities in petroleum refineries)  

Subpart RRR - Volatile Organic Compound Emissions from 

Synthetic Organic Chemical Manufacturing Industry 

(SOCMI) Reactor Processes.  

40 CFR 60.700 through 40 CFR 60.708  

(each reactor process not discharging its vent stream into a 

recovery system, each combination of a reactor process 

and the recovery system into which its vent stream is 

discharged, and each combination of two or more reactor 

processes and the common recovery system into which 

their vent streams are discharged)  

Subpart SSS - Magnetic Tape Coating Facilities.  

40 CFR 60.710 through 40 CFR 60.718  

(each coating operation and each piece of coating mix 

preparation equipment)  

Subpart TTT - Industrial Surface Coating: Surface Coating of 

Plastic Parts for Business Machines.  

40 CFR 60.720 through 40 CFR 60.726  

(each spray booth in which plastic parts for use in the 

manufacture of business machines receive prime coats, 

color coats, texture coats, or touch-up coats)  

Subpart UUU - Calciners and Dryers in Mineral Industries.  

40 CFR 60.730 through 40 CFR 60.737  

(each calciner and dryer at a mineral processing plant)  

Subpart VVV - Polymeric Coating of Supporting Substrates 

Facilities.  

40 CFR 60.740 through 40 CFR 60.748  

(each coating operation and any onsite coating mix 

preparation equipment used to prepare coatings for the 

polymeric coating of supporting substrates)  

Subpart WWW - Municipal Solid Waste Landfills.  

40 CFR 60.750 through 40 CFR 60.759  

(municipal solid waste landfills for the containment of 

household and Resource Conservation and Recovery Act 

(RCRA) Subtitle D wastes) 

Subpart XXX - Municipal Solid Waste Landfills that 

Commenced Construction, Reconstruction, or Modification 

After July 17, 2014 

40 CFR 60.760 through 40 CFR 60.769 

(municipal solid waste landfills for the containment of 

household and RCRA Subtitle D wastes)  
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Subpart AAAA - Small Municipal Waste Combustors for 

which Construction is Commenced after August 30, 1999, or 

for which Modification or Reconstruction is Commenced 

after June 6, 2001.  

40 CFR 60.1000 through 40 CFR 60.1465  

(municipal waste combustor units with a capacity less than 

250 tons per day and greater than 35 tons per day of 

municipal solid waste or refuse-derived fuel)  

Subpart BBBB - Not applicable.  

Subpart CCCC - Commercial/Industrial Solid Waste 

Incinerators.  

40 CFR 60.2000 through 40 CFR 60.2265  

(an enclosed device using controlled flame combustion 

without energy recovery that is a distinct operating unit of 

any commercial or industrial facility, or an air curtain 

incinerator without energy recovery that is a distinct 

operating unit of any commercial or industrial facility)  

Subpart DDDD - Not applicable.  

Subpart EEEE - Other Solid Waste Incineration Units for 

which Construction is Commenced after December 9, 2004, 

or for which Modification or Reconstruction is Commenced 

on or after June 16, 2006.  

40 CFR 60.2880 through 40 CFR 60.2977  

(very small municipal waste combustion units with the 

capacity to combust less than 35 tons per day of municipal 

solid waste or refuse-derived fuel, and institutional waste 

incineration units owned or operated by an organization 

having a governmental, educational, civic, or religious 

purpose)  

Subpart FFFF - Reserved. 

Subpart GGGG - Reserved. 

Subpart HHHH - Reserved. 

Subpart IIII - Stationary Compression Ignition Internal 

Combustion Engines. 

40 CFR 60.4200 through 40 CFR 60.4219 

(NOTE: Authority to enforce the above standard is being 

retained by EPA and the standard is not incorporated by 

reference into these regulations for any source that is not 

(i) a major source as defined in 9VAC5-80-60 and subject 

to Article 1 (9VAC5-80-50 et seq., Federal Operating 

Permits for Stationary Sources) of Part II of 9VAC5-80 

(Permits for Stationary Sources) or (ii) an affected source 

as defined in 9VAC5-80-370 and subject to Article 3 

(9VAC5-80-360 et seq., Federal Operating Permits for 

Acid Rain Sources) of Part II of 9VAC5-80.) 

Subpart JJJJ - Stationary Spark Ignition Internal Combustion 

Engines. 

40 CFR 60.4230 through 40 CFR 60.4248 

(NOTE: Authority to enforce the above standard is being 

retained by EPA and the standard is not incorporated by 

reference into these regulations for any source that is not 

(i) a major source as defined in 9VAC5-80-60 and subject 

to Article 1 (9VAC5-80-50 et seq., Federal Operating 

Permits for Stationary Sources) of Part II of 9VAC5-80 

(Permits for Stationary Sources) or (ii) an affected source 

as defined in 9VAC5-80-370 and subject to Article 3 

(9VAC5-80-360 et seq., Federal Operating Permits for 

Acid Rain Sources) of Part II of 9VAC5-80.) 

Subpart KKKK - Stationary Combustion Turbines. 

40 CFR 60.4300 through 40 CFR 60.4420 

(stationary combustion turbine with a heat input at peak 

load equal to or greater than 10.7 gigajoules (10 MMBtu) 

per hour) 

Subpart LLLL - Sewage Sludge Incineration Units. 

40 CFR 60.4760 through 40 CFR 60.4925 

(an incineration unit combusting sewage sludge for the 

purpose of reducing the volume of the sewage sludge by 

removing combustible matter, including the sewage sludge 

feed system, auxiliary fuel feed system, grate system, flue 

gas system, waste heat recovery equipment, and bottom 

ash system; and all ash handling systems connected with 

the bottom ash handling system) 

Subpart MMMM - Reserved. 

Subpart NNNN - Reserved. 

Subpart OOOO - Crude Oil and Natural Gas Production, 

Transmission and Distribution for which Construction, 

Modification, or Reconstruction Commenced after August 23, 

2011, and on or before September 18, 2015. 

40 CFR 60.5360 through 40 CFR 60.5499 

(facilities that operate gas wells, centrifugal compressors, 

reciprocating compressors, pneumatic controllers, and 

storage vessels) 

Subpart OOOOa - Crude Oil and Natural Gas Facilities for 

which Construction, Modification, or Reconstruction 

Commenced after September 18, 2015. 

40 CFR 60.5360a through 40 CFR 60.5499a 

(NOTE: Authority to enforce the above standard is being 

retained by EPA and it is not incorporated by reference 

into these regulations for any source that is not (i) a major 

source as defined in 9VAC5-80-60 and subject to Article 1 

(9VAC5-80-50 et seq., Federal Operating Permits for 

Stationary Sources) of Part II of 9VAC5-80 (Permits for 
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Stationary Sources) or (ii) an affected source as defined in 

9VAC5-80-370 and subject to Article 3 (9VAC5-80-360 et 

seq., Federal Operating Permits for Acid Rain Sources) of 

Part II of 9VAC5-80. (facilities that operate gas wells, 

centrifugal compressors, reciprocating compressors, 

pneumatic controllers and pumps, storage vessels, and 

sweetening units) 

Subpart PPPP - Reserved. 

Subpart QQQQ - New Residential Hydronic Heaters and 

Forced-Air Furnaces 

40 CFR 60.5472 through 40 CFR 60.5483  

(NOTE: In accordance with Chapter 471 of the 2015 Acts 

of Assembly, authority to enforce the above standard is 

being retained by EPA and the standard is not incorporated 

by reference into these regulations. A state permit may be 

required of certain facilities if the provisions of 9VAC5-50 

and 9VAC5-80 apply. Owners should review those 

provisions and contact the appropriate regional office for 

guidance on whether those provisions apply.) 

Subpart RRRR - Reserved. 

Subpart SSSS - Reserved. 

Subpart TTTT - Reserved. 

Appendix A - Test methods.  

Appendix B - Performance specifications.  

Appendix C - Determination of Emission Rate Change.  

Appendix D - Required Emission Inventory Information.  

Appendix E - Reserved. 

Appendix F - Quality Assurance Procedures.  

Appendix G - Not applicable. 

Appendix H - Reserved.  

Appendix I - Removable label and owner's manual.  

Part II  

Emission Standards  

Article 1  

Environmental Protection Agency National Emission 

Standards for Hazardous Air Pollutants (Rule 6-1)  

9VAC5-60-60. General.  

The Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) Regulations 

on National Emission Standards for Hazardous Air Pollutants 

(NESHAP), as promulgated in 40 CFR Part 61 and 

designated in 9VAC5-60-70 are, unless indicated otherwise, 

incorporated by reference into the regulations of the board as 

amended by the word or phrase substitutions given in 

9VAC5-60-80. The complete text of the subparts in 9VAC5-

60-70 incorporated in this regulation by reference is 

contained in 40 CFR Part 61. The 40 CFR section numbers 

appearing under each subpart in 9VAC5-60-70 identify the 

specific provisions of the subpart incorporated by reference. 

The specific version of the provision adopted by reference 

shall be that contained in the CFR (2019) (2020) in effect 

July 1, 2019 2020. In making reference to the Code of Federal 

Regulations, 40 CFR Part 61 means Part 61 of Title 40 of the 

Code of Federal Regulations; 40 CFR 61.01 means 61.01 in 

Part 61 of Title 40 of the Code of Federal Regulations.  

Article 2  

Environmental Protection Agency National Emission 

Standards for Hazardous Air Pollutants for Source Categories 

(Rule 6-2)  

9VAC5-60-90. General.  

The Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) National 

Emission Standards for Hazardous Air Pollutants for Source 

Categories (Maximum Achievable Control Technologies, or 

MACTs) as promulgated in 40 CFR Part 63 and designated in 

9VAC5-60-100 are, unless indicated otherwise, incorporated 

by reference into the regulations of the board as amended by 

the word or phrase substitutions given in 9VAC5-60-110. The 

complete text of the subparts in 9VAC5-60-100 incorporated 

in this regulation by reference is contained in 40 CFR Part 63. 

The 40 CFR section numbers appearing under each subpart in 

9VAC5-60-100 identify the specific provisions of the subpart 

incorporated by reference. The specific version of the 

provision adopted by reference shall be that contained in the 

CFR (2019) (2020) in effect July 1, 2019 2020. In making 

reference to the Code of Federal Regulations, 40 CFR Part 63 

means Part 63 of Title 40 of the Code of Federal Regulations; 

40 CFR 63.1 means 63.1 in Part 63 of Title 40 of the Code of 

Federal Regulations.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R21-6452; Filed September 23, 2020, 5:09 a.m.  

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The State Air Pollution Control 

Board is claiming an exemption from Article 2 of the 

Administrative Process Act in accordance with § 2.2-4006 A 

4 a of the Code of Virginia, which excludes regulations that 

are necessary to conform to changes in Virginia statutory law 

or the appropriation act where no agency discretion is 

involved. The State Air Pollution Control Board will receive, 

consider, and respond to petitions by any interested person at 

any time with respect to reconsideration or revision. 

Titles of Regulations: 9VAC5-80. Permits for Stationary 

Sources (Rev. E20) (amending 9VAC5-80-1110, 9VAC5-

80-1170, 9VAC5-80-1410, 9VAC5-80-1460, 9VAC5-80-

1775, 9VAC5-80-2070). 

9VAC5-170. Regulation for General Administration (Rev. 

E20) (amending 9VAC5-170-140).  
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Statutory Authority:  

§ 10.1-1308 of the Code of Virginia; federal Clean Air Act 

(§§ 110, 112, 165, 173, 182, and Title V); 40 CFR Parts 51, 

61, 63, 70, and 72 (9VAC5-80-1110, 9VAC5-80-1170, 

9VAC5-80-1410, 9VAC5-80-1460, 9VAC5-80-1775, 

9VAC5-80-2070). 

§ 10.1-1308 of the Code of Virginia; federal Clean Air Act 

(§ 110); 40 CFR Part 51 (9VAC5-170-140).  

Effective Date: November 11, 2020.  

Agency Contact: Karen G. Sabasteanski, Department of 

Environmental Quality, 1111 East Main Street, Suite 1400, 

P.O. Box 1105, Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 698-

4426, or email karen.sabasteanski@deq.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

In accordance with Chapter 1110 of the 2020 Acts of 

Assembly, the amendments add new public participation 

requirements for permits and variances for certain facility 

types with the potential to have an impact on a locality 

particularly affected. A "locality particularly affected" 

means any locality that bears any identified 

disproportionate material air quality impact that would not 

be experienced by other localities. 

9VAC5-80-1110. Definitions.  

A. For the purpose of applying this article in the context of 

the Regulations for the Control and Abatement of Air 

Pollution and related uses, the words or terms shall have the 

meanings given them in subsection C of this section.  

B. As used in this article, all terms not defined herein in 

subsection C of this section shall have the meanings given 

them in 9VAC5-10 (General Definitions), unless otherwise 

required by context.  

C. Terms defined.  

"Addition" means the construction of a new emissions unit 

at or the relocation of an existing emissions unit to a 

stationary source. 

"Affected emissions units" means the following emissions 

units, as applicable: 

1. For a new stationary source, all emissions units. 

2. For a project, the added, modified, and replacement 

emissions units that are part of the project. 

"Applicable federal requirement" means all of, but not 

limited to, the following as they apply to affected emissions 

units subject to this article (including, including requirements 

that have been promulgated or approved by the administrator 

through rulemaking at the time of permit issuance but have 

future-effective compliance dates) dates: 

1. Any standard or other requirement provided for in an 

implementation plan established pursuant to § 110, 

§ 111(d), or § 129 of the federal Clean Air Act, including 

any source-specific provisions such as consent agreements 

or orders.  

2. Any term or condition in any construction permit issued 

under the new source review program or in any operating 

permit issued pursuant to the state operating permit 

program. However, those terms or conditions designated as 

state-only enforceable pursuant to 9VAC5-80-1120 F or 

9VAC5-80-820 G shall not be applicable federal 

requirements. 

3. Any emission standard, alternative emission standard, 

alternative emissions limitation, equivalent emissions 

limitation, or other requirement established pursuant to 

§ 112 or § 129 of the federal Clean Air Act as amended in 

1990.  

4. Any new source performance standard or other 

requirement established pursuant to § 111 of the federal 

Clean Air Act, and any emission standard or other 

requirement established pursuant to § 112 of the federal 

Clean Air Act before it was amended in 1990.  

5. Any limitations and conditions or other requirement in a 

Virginia regulation or program that has been approved by 

EPA under Subpart E of 40 CFR Part 63 for the purposes 

of implementing and enforcing § 112 of the federal Clean 

Air Act.  

6. Any requirement concerning accident prevention under 

§ 112(r)(7) of the federal Clean Air Act.  

7. Any compliance monitoring requirements established 

pursuant to either § 504(b) or § 114(a)(3) of the federal 

Clean Air Act.  

8. Any standard or other requirement for consumer and 

commercial products under § 183(e) of the federal Clean 

Air Act.  

9. Any standard or other requirement for tank vessels under 

§ 183(f) of the federal Clean Air Act.  

10. Any standard or other requirement in 40 CFR Part 55 

to control air pollution from outer continental shelf 

sources.  

11. Any standard or other requirement of the regulations 

promulgated to protect stratospheric ozone under Title VI 

of the federal Clean Air Act, unless the administrator has 

determined that such requirements need not be contained in 

a federal operating permit.  

12. With regard to temporary sources subject to 9VAC5-

80-130, (i) any ambient air quality standard, except 

applicable state requirements, and (ii) requirements 

regarding increments or visibility as provided in Article 8 

(9VAC5-80-1605 et seq.) of this part.  

mailto:karen.sabasteanski@deq.virginia.gov
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13. Any standard or other requirement under § 126 (a)(1) 

and (c) of the federal Clean Air Act. 

"Begin actual construction" means initiation of permanent 

physical on-site construction of an emissions unit. This 

includes, but is not limited to, installation of building 

supports and foundations, laying of underground pipework, 

and construction of permanent storage structures. With 

respect to a change in method of operation, this term refers to 

those on-site activities other than preparatory activities which 

that mark the initiation of the change. With respect to the 

initial location or relocation of a portable emissions unit, this 

term refers to the delivery of any portion of the portable 

emissions unit to the site.  

"Clean wood" means uncontaminated natural or untreated 

wood. Clean wood includes but is not limited to (i) 

byproducts of harvesting activities conducted for forest 

management or commercial logging, or (ii) mill residues 

consisting of bark, chips, edgings, sawdust, shavings, or 

slabs. It "Clean wood" does not include wood that has been 

treated, adulterated, or chemically changed in some way; 

treated with glues, binders, or resins; or painted, stained, or 

coated. 

"Commence," as applied to the construction of an emissions 

unit, means that the owner has all necessary preconstruction 

approvals or permits and has either:  

1. Begun, or caused to begin, a continuous program of 

actual on-site construction of the unit, to be completed 

within a reasonable time; or  

2. Entered into binding agreements or contractual 

obligations, which cannot be canceled or modified without 

substantial loss to the owner, to undertake a program of 

actual construction of the unit, to be completed within a 

reasonable time.  

"Complete application" means that the application contains 

all the information necessary for processing the application 

and that the provisions of § 10.1-1321.1 of the Virginia Air 

Pollution Control Law have been met. Designating an 

application complete for purposes of permit processing does 

not preclude the board from requesting or accepting 

additional information.  

"Construction" means fabrication, erection, installation, 

demolition, relocation, addition, replacement, or modification 

of an emissions unit that would result in a change in the 

uncontrolled emission rate.  

"Construction waste" means solid waste that is produced or 

generated during construction, remodeling, or repair of 

pavements, houses, commercial buildings, and other 

structures. Construction wastes include, but are not limited to, 

lumber, wire, sheetrock, broken brick, shingles, glass, pipe, 

concrete, paving materials, and metal and plastics if the metal 

or plastics are a part of the materials of construction or empty 

containers for such materials. Paints, coatings, solvents, 

asbestos, any liquid, compressed gases or semi-liquids, and 

garbage are not construction wastes. 

"Debris waste" means wastes resulting from land clearing 

operations. Debris wastes include, but are not limited to, 

stumps, wood, brush, leaves, soil, and road spoils. 

"Demolition waste" means that solid waste that is produced 

by the destruction of structures or their foundations, or both, 

and includes the same materials as construction wastes. 

"Diesel engine" means, for the purposes of 9VAC5-80-1105 

A 1 b, any internal combustion engine that burns diesel or #2 

fuel oil to provide power to processing equipment for a 

vegetative waste recycling/mulching operation. 

"Emergency" means a condition that arises from sudden and 

reasonably unforeseeable events where the primary energy or 

power source is disrupted or disconnected due to conditions 

beyond the control of an owner or operator of a facility 

including: 

1. A failure of the electrical grid;  

2. On-site disaster or equipment failure; 

3. Public service emergencies such as flood, fire, natural 

disaster, or severe weather conditions; or 

4. An ISO-declared emergency, where an ISO emergency 

is: 

a. An abnormal system condition requiring manual or 

automatic action to maintain system frequency, to 

prevent loss of firm load, equipment damage, or tripping 

of system elements that could adversely affect the 

reliability of an electric system or the safety of persons or 

property; 

b. Capacity deficiency or capacity excess conditions; 

c. A fuel shortage requiring departure from normal 

operating procedures in order to minimize the use of such 

scarce fuel; 

d. Abnormal natural events or man-made threats that 

would require conservative operations to posture the 

system in a more reliable state; or 

e. An abnormal event external to the ISO service territory 

that may require ISO action.  

"Emissions cap" means any limitation on the rate of 

emissions of any air pollutant from one or more emissions 

units established and identified as an emissions cap in any 

permit issued pursuant to the new source review program or 

operating permit program.  

"Emissions limitation" means a requirement established by 

the board that limits the quantity, rate, or concentration of 

emissions of air pollutants on a continuous basis, including 

any requirement relating to the operation or maintenance of a 
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source to assure continuous emissions reduction, and any 

design standard, equipment standard, work practice, 

operational standard, or pollution prevention technique. 

"Emissions unit" means any part of a stationary source 

which that emits or would have the potential to emit any 

regulated air pollutant.  

"Enforceable as a practical matter" means that the permit 

contains emissions limitations that are enforceable by the 

board or the department and meet the following criteria:  

1. Are permanent;  

2. Contain a legal obligation for the owner to adhere to the 

terms and conditions;  

3. Do not allow a relaxation of a requirement of the 

implementation plan;  

4. Are technically accurate and quantifiable;  

5. Include averaging times or other provisions that allow at 

least monthly (or a shorter period if necessary to be 

consistent with the implementation plan) checks on 

compliance. This may include, but not be limited to, the 

following: compliance with annual limits in a rolling basis, 

monthly or shorter limits, and other provisions consistent 

with this article and other regulations of the board; and  

6. Require a level of recordkeeping, reporting, and 

monitoring sufficient to demonstrate compliance.  

"Existing stationary source" means any stationary source 

other than a new stationary source. 

"Federal hazardous air pollutant new source review 

program" means a program for the preconstruction review 

and approval of the construction, reconstruction, or 

modification of any stationary source in accordance with 

regulations specified below and promulgated to implement 

the requirements of § 112 (relating to hazardous air 

pollutants) of the federal Clean Air Act.  

1. The provisions of 40 CFR 61.05, 40 CFR 61.06, 40 CFR 

61.07, 40 CFR 61.08 and 40 CFR 61.15 for issuing 

approvals of the construction of any new source or 

modification of any existing source subject to the 

provisions of 40 CFR Part 61.  

2. The provisions of 40 CFR 63.5 for issuing approvals to 

construct a new source or reconstruct a source subject to 

the provisions of 40 CFR Part 63, except for Subparts B, D 

and E.  

3. The provisions of 40 CFR 63.50 through 40 CFR 63.56 

for issuing Notices of MACT Approval prior to the 

construction of a new emissions unit.  

"Federally enforceable" means all limitations and conditions 

that are enforceable by the administrator and citizens under 

the federal Clean Air Act or that are enforceable under other 

statutes administered by the administrator. Federally 

enforceable limitations and conditions include, but are not 

limited to, the following:  

1. Emission standards, alternative emission standards, 

alternative emissions limitations, and equivalent emissions 

limitations established pursuant to § 112 of the federal 

Clean Air Act, as amended in 1990.  

2. New source performance standards established pursuant 

to § 111 of the federal Clean Air Act, and emission 

standards established pursuant to § 112 of the federal 

Clean Air Act before it was amended in 1990.  

3. All terms and conditions (unless, unless expressly 

designated as state-only enforceable) enforceable, in a 

federal operating permit, including any provisions that 

limit a source's potential to emit.  

4. Limitations and conditions that are part of an 

implementation plan established pursuant to § 110, § 

111(d) or § 129 of the federal Clean Air Act.  

5. Limitations and conditions (unless, unless expressly 

designated as state-only enforceable) enforceable, that are 

part of a federal construction permit issued under 40 CFR 

52.21 or any construction permit issued under regulations 

approved by EPA into the implementation plan.  

6. Limitations and conditions (unless, unless expressly 

designated as state-only enforceable) enforceable, that are 

part of a state operating permit where the permit and the 

permit program pursuant to which it was issued meet all of 

the following criteria: 

a. The operating permit program has been approved by 

the EPA into the implementation plan under § 110 of the 

federal Clean Air Act. 

b. The operating permit program imposes a legal 

obligation that operating permit holders adhere to the 

terms and limitations of such permits and provides that 

permits that do not conform to the operating permit 

program requirements and the requirements of EPA's 

underlying regulations may be deemed not federally 

enforceable by EPA. 

c. The operating permit program requires that all 

emissions limitations, controls, and other requirements 

imposed by such permits will be at least as stringent as 

any other applicable limitations and requirements 

contained in the implementation plan or enforceable 

under the implementation plan, and that the program may 

not issue permits that waive, or make less stringent, any 

limitations or requirements contained in or issued 

pursuant to the implementation plan, or that are 

otherwise federally enforceable. 
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d. The limitations, controls, and requirements in the 

permit in question are permanent, quantifiable, and 

otherwise enforceable as a practical matter. 

e. The permit in question was issued only after adequate 

and timely notice and opportunity for comment by the 

EPA and the public.  

7. Limitations and conditions in a regulation of the board 

or program that has been approved by EPA under Subpart 

E of 40 CFR Part 63 for the purposes of implementing and 

enforcing § 112 of the federal Clean Air Act.  

8. Individual consent agreements that EPA has legal 

authority to create.  

"Federal operating permit" means a permit issued under the 

federal operating permit program. 

"Federal operating permit program" means an operating 

permit system (i) for issuing terms and conditions for major 

stationary sources, (ii) established to implement the 

requirements of Title V of the federal Clean Air Act and 

associated regulations, and (iii) codified in Article 1 (9VAC5-

80-50 et seq.), Article 2 (9VAC5-80-310 et seq.), Article 3 

(9VAC5-80-360 et seq.), and Article 4 (9VAC5-80-710 et 

seq.) of this part. 

"Fixed capital cost" means the capital needed to provide all 

the depreciable components.  

"Fugitive emissions" means those emissions that could not 

reasonably pass through a stack, chimney, vent, or other 

functionally equivalent opening.  

"General permit" means a permit issued under this article 

that meets the requirements of 9VAC5-80-1250.  

"Hazardous air pollutant" means (i) any air pollutant listed 

in § 112(b) of the federal Clean Air Act, as amended by 

Subpart C of 40 CFR Part 63, and (ii) incorporated by 

reference into the regulations of the board in subdivision 1 of 

9VAC5-60-92.  

"Independent system operator" or "ISO" means a person that 

may receive or has received by transfer pursuant to § 56-576 

of the Code of Virginia any ownership or control of, or any 

responsibility to operate, all or part of the transmission 

systems in the Commonwealth.  

"Locality particularly affected" means any locality that bears 

any identified disproportionate material air quality impact that 

would not be experienced by other localities. 

"Major modification" means any project at a major 

stationary source that would result in a significant emissions 

increase in any regulated air pollutant. For projects, the 

emissions increase may take into consideration any state and 

federally enforceable permit conditions that will be placed in 

a permit resulting from a permit application deemed complete 

under the provisions of 9VAC5-80-1160 B.  

"Major new source review (NSR) permit" means a permit 

issued under the major new source review program. 

"Major new source review (major NSR) program" means a 

preconstruction review and permit program (i) for new major 

stationary sources or major modifications (physical changes 

or changes in the method of operation); (ii) established to 

implement the requirements of §§ 112, 165, and 173 of the 

federal Clean Air Act and associated regulations; and (iii) 

codified in Article 7 (9VAC5-80-1400 et seq.), Article 8 

(9VAC5-80-1605 et seq.) and Article 9 (9VAC5-80-2000 et 

seq.) of this part.  

"Major stationary source" means any stationary source that 

emits, or has the potential to emit, 100 tons or more per year 

of any regulated air pollutant. For new stationary sources, the 

potential to emit may take into consideration any state and 

federally enforceable permit conditions that will be placed in 

a permit resulting from a permit application deemed complete 

under the provisions of 9VAC5-80-1160 B. 

"Minor new source review (NSR) permit" means a permit 

issued pursuant to this article. 

"Minor new source review (minor NSR) program" means a 

preconstruction review and permit program (i) for regulated 

air pollutants from new stationary sources or projects that are 

not subject to review under the major new source review 

program;, (ii) established to implement the requirements of 

§§ 110(a)(2)(C) and 112 of the federal Clean Air Act and 

associated regulations;, and (iii) codified in this article. The 

minor NSR program may also be used to implement the terms 

and conditions described in 9VAC5-80-1120 F 1; however, 

those terms and conditions shall be state-only enforceable and 

shall not be applicable federal requirements.  

"Modification" means any physical change in, or change in 

the method of operation of an emissions unit that increases 

the uncontrolled emission rate of any regulated air pollutant 

emitted into the atmosphere by the unit or that results in the 

emission of any regulated air pollutant into the atmosphere 

not previously emitted. The following shall not be considered 

physical changes or changes in the method of operation under 

this definition:  

1. Maintenance, repair, and replacement of components 

that the board determines to be routine for a source type 

and which does not fall within the definition of 

"replacement";  

2. An increase in the throughput or production rate of a 

unit (unless, unless previously limited by any state 

enforceable and federally enforceable permit conditions 

established pursuant to this chapter) chapter, if that 

increase does not exceed the operating design capacity of 

that unit;  

3. An increase in the hours of operation (unless, unless 

previously limited by any state enforceable and federally 
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enforceable permit conditions established pursuant to this 

chapter) chapter;  

4. Use of an alternative fuel or raw material (unless, unless 

previously limited by any state enforceable and federally 

enforceable permit conditions established pursuant to this 

chapter) chapter, if, prior to the date any provision of the 

regulations of the board becomes applicable to the source 

type, the emissions unit was designed to accommodate that 

alternative use. A unit shall be considered to be designed to 

accommodate an alternative fuel or raw material if 

provisions for that use were included in the final 

construction specifications;  

5. Use of an alternative fuel or raw material that the 

emissions unit is approved to use under any new source 

review permit; 

6. The addition, replacement, or use of any system or 

device whose primary function is the reduction of air 

pollutants, except when a system or device that is 

necessary to comply with applicable air pollution control 

laws, permit conditions, or regulations is replaced by a 

system or device which that the board considers to be less 

efficient in the control of air pollution emissions;  

7. The removal of any system or device whose primary 

function is the reduction of air pollutants if the system or 

device is not (i) necessary for the source to comply with 

any applicable air pollution control laws, permit 

conditions, or regulations or (ii) used to avoid any 

applicable new source review program requirement; or  

8. A change in ownership at a stationary source. 

"Necessary preconstruction approvals or permits" means 

those permits or approvals required under the NSR program 

that is part of the implementation plan.  

"New source review (NSR) permit" means a permit issued 

under the new source review program. 

"New source review (NSR) program" means a 

preconstruction review and permit program (i) for regulated 

air pollutants from new stationary sources or projects 

(physical changes or changes in the method of operation); (ii) 

established to implement the requirements of §§ 110(a)(2)(C), 

112 (relating to permits for hazardous air pollutants), 165 

(relating to permits in prevention of significant deterioration 

areas), and 173 (relating to permits in nonattainment areas) of 

the federal Clean Air Act and associated regulations; and (iii) 

codified in this article, Article 7 (9VAC5-80-1400 et seq.), 

Article 8 (9VAC5-80-1605 et seq.) and Article 9 (9VAC5-80-

2000 et seq.) of this part. The NSR program may also be used 

to implement the terms and conditions described in 9VAC5-

80-1120 F 1; however, those terms and conditions shall be 

state-only enforceable and shall not be applicable federal 

requirements. 

"New stationary source" means any stationary source to be 

constructed at or relocated to an undeveloped site. 

"Nonroad engine" means any internal combustion engine:  

1. In or on a piece of equipment that is self-propelled or 

serves a dual purpose by both propelling itself and 

performing another function (such, such as garden tractors, 

off-highway mobile cranes and bulldozers) bulldozers;  

2. In or on a piece of equipment that is intended to be 

propelled while performing its function (such, such as 

lawnmowers and string trimmers) trimmers; or 

3. That, by itself or in or on a piece of equipment, is 

portable or transportable, meaning designed to be capable 

of being carried or moved from one location to another. 

Indications of transportability include, but are not limited 

to, wheels, skids, carrying handles, dollies, trailers, or 

platforms. 

An internal combustion engine is not a nonroad engine if (i) 

the engine is used to propel a motor vehicle or a vehicle used 

solely for competition, or is subject to standards promulgated 

under § 202 of the federal Clean Air Act; or (ii) the engine 

otherwise included in subdivision 3 of this definition remains 

or will remain at a location for more than 12 consecutive 

months or a shorter period of time for an engine located at a 

seasonal source. 

For purposes of this definition, a location is any single site at 

a building, structure, facility, or installation. Any engine or 

engines that replace an engine at a location and that are 

intended to perform the same or similar function as the engine 

replaced will be included in calculating the consecutive time 

period. An engine located at a seasonal source is an engine 

that remains at a seasonal source during the full annual 

operating period of the seasonal source. A seasonal source is 

a stationary source that remains in a single location on a 

permanent basis (i.e., at least two years) and that operates at 

the single location approximately three months or more each 

year. This subdivision does not apply to an engine after the 

engine is removed from the location. 

"Plantwide applicability limitation (PAL)" limitation" or 

"PAL" means an emissions limitation expressed in tons per 

year, for a pollutant at a major stationary source, that is 

enforceable as a practical matter and established sourcewide 

in accordance with 9VAC5-80-1865 or 9VAC5-80-2144. 

"PAL permit" means the state operating permit issued by the 

board that establishes a PAL for a major stationary source. 

"Portable," in reference to emissions units, means an 

emissions unit that is designed to have the capability of being 

moved from one location to another for the purpose of 

operating at multiple locations and storage when idle. 

Indications of portability include, but are not limited to, 

wheels, skids, carrying handles, dolly, trailer, or platform.  
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"Potential to emit" means the maximum capacity of a 

stationary source to emit a pollutant under its physical and 

operational design. Any physical or operational limitation on 

the capacity of the source to emit a pollutant, including air 

pollution control equipment, and restrictions on hours of 

operation or on the type or amount of material combusted, 

stored, or processed, shall be treated as part of its design only 

if the limitation or its effect on emissions is state and 

federally enforceable. Secondary emissions do not count in 

determining the potential to emit of a stationary source.  

"Precursor pollutant" means the following: 

1. Volatile organic compounds and nitrogen oxides are 

precursors to ozone. 

2. Sulfur dioxide is a precursor to PM2.5. 

3. Nitrogen oxides are presumed to be precursors to PM2.5 

in all PM2.5, unless the board determines that emissions of 

nitrogen oxides from sources in a specific area are not a 

significant contributor to that area's ambient PM2.5 

concentrations. 

4. Volatile organic compounds and ammonia are presumed 

not to be precursors to PM2.5, unless the board determines 

that emissions of volatile organic compounds or ammonia 

from sources in a specific area are a significant contributor 

to that area's ambient PM2.5 concentrations. 

"Process operation" means any method, form, action, 

operation, or treatment of manufacturing or processing, 

including any storage or handling of materials or products 

before, during, or after manufacturing or processing. 

"Project" means any change at an existing stationary source 

consisting of the addition, replacement, or modification of 

one or more emissions units. 

"Public comment period" means a time during which the 

public shall have the opportunity to comment on the permit 

application information (exclusive, exclusive of confidential 

information) information, for a new stationary source or 

project, the preliminary review and analysis of the effect of 

the source upon the ambient air quality, and the preliminary 

decision of the board regarding the permit application.  

"Reactivation" means beginning operation of an emissions 

unit that has been shut down.  

"Reconstruction" means, for the sole purposes of 9VAC5-

80-1210 A, B, and C, the replacement of an emissions unit or 

its components to such an extent that:  

1. The fixed capital cost of the new components exceeds 

50% of the fixed capital cost that would be required to 

construct a comparable entirely new unit;  

2. The replacement significantly extends the life of the 

emissions unit; and  

3. It is technologically and economically feasible to meet 

the applicable emission standards prescribed under 

regulations of the board.  

Any determination by the board as to whether a proposed 

replacement constitutes reconstruction shall be based on:  

1. The fixed capital cost of the replacements in comparison 

to the fixed capital cost of the construction of a comparable 

entirely new unit;  

2. The estimated life of the unit after the replacements 

compared to the life of a comparable entirely new unit;  

3. The extent to which the components being replaced 

cause or contribute to the emissions from the unit; and  

4. Any economic or technical limitations on compliance 

with applicable standards of performance that are inherent 

in the proposed replacements.  

"Regulated air pollutant" means any of the following:  

1. Nitrogen oxides or any volatile organic compound.  

2. Any pollutant (including, including any associated 

precursor pollutant) pollutant, for which an ambient air 

quality standard has been promulgated.  

3. Any pollutant subject to any standard promulgated under 

40 CFR Part 60.  

4. Any pollutant subject to a standard promulgated under 

or other requirements established under 40 CFR Part 61 

and any pollutant regulated under 40 CFR Part 63.  

5. Any pollutant subject to a regulation adopted by the 

board.  

"Relocation" means a change in physical location of a 

stationary source or an emissions unit from one stationary 

source to another stationary source.  

"Replacement" means the substitution of an emissions unit 

for an emissions unit located at a stationary source, which 

will thereafter perform the same function as the replaced 

emissions unit. 

"Secondary emissions" means emissions which that occur or 

would occur as a result of the construction or operation of a 

new stationary source or an emissions unit, but do not come 

from the stationary source itself. For the purpose of this 

article, secondary emissions must be specific, well-defined, 

and quantifiable; and must affect the same general areas as 

the stationary source that causes the secondary emissions. 

Secondary emissions include emissions from any off site 

support facility that would not be constructed or increase its 

emissions except as a result of the construction or operation 

of the stationary source or emissions unit. Secondary 

emissions do not include any emissions that come directly 

from a mobile source, such as emissions from the tailpipe of a 

motor vehicle, from a train, or from a vessel.  
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"Significant" means: 

1. In reference to an emissions increase, an increase in 

potential to emit that would equal or exceed any of the 

following rates: 

a. In ozone nonattainment areas classified as serious or 

severe in 9VAC5-20-204:  

Pollutant Emissions Rate 

Carbon Monoxide 100 tons per year 

(tpy) 

Nitrogen Oxides 25 tpy 

Sulfur Dioxide 40 tpy 

Particulate Matter 

(PM) 

25 tpy 

Particulate Matter 

(PM10) 

15 tpy 

Particulate Matter 

(PM2.5) 

10 tpy 

Volatile organic 

compounds 

25 tpy 

Lead 0.6 tpy  

b. In all other areas: 

Pollutant Emissions Rate 

Carbon Monoxide 100 tons per year 

(tpy) 

Nitrogen Oxides 40 tpy 

Sulfur Dioxide 40 tpy 

Particulate Matter 

(PM) 

25 tpy 

Particulate Matter 

(PM10) 

15 tpy 

Particulate Matter 

(PM2.5) 

10 tpy 

Volatile organic 

compounds 

40 tpy 

Lead 0.6 tpy 

2. In reference to an emissions increase for a regulated air 

pollutant not listed in subdivision 1 of this definition, there 

is no emissions rate that shall be considered significant. 

3. If the particulate matter (PM10 or PM2.5) emissions for a 

stationary source or emissions unit can be determined in a 

manner acceptable to the board and the emissions increase 

is determined to be significant using the emission rate for 

particulate matter (PM10 or PM2.5), the stationary source or 

emissions unit shall be considered to be significant for 

particulate matter (PM). If the emissions of particulate 

matter (PM10 or PM2.5) cannot be determined in a manner 

acceptable to the board, the emission rate for particulate 

matter (PM) shall be used to determine whether the 

emissions increase is significant. 

"Significant emissions increase" means, for a regulated air 

pollutant, an increase in emissions that is significant for that 

pollutant. 

"Site" means one or more contiguous or adjacent properties 

under the control of the same person (or or of persons under 

common control) control. 

"Source category schedule for standards" means the 

schedule (i) issued pursuant to § 112(e) of the federal Clean 

Air Act for promulgating MACT standards issued pursuant to 

§ 112(d) of the federal Clean Air Act and (ii) incorporated by 

reference into the regulations of the board in subdivision 2 of 

9VAC5-60-92. 

"Space heater" means any fixed or portable, liquid or 

gaseous fuel-fired, combustion unit used to heat air in a 

space, or used to heat air entering a space, for the purpose of 

maintaining an air temperature suitable for comfort, storage, 

or equipment operation. Space heaters do not include 

combustion units used primarily for the purpose of 

conditioning or processing raw materials or product, such as 

driers, kilns, or ovens. 

"State enforceable" means all limitations and conditions that 

are enforceable as a practical matter, including any regulation 

of the board, those requirements developed pursuant to 

9VAC5-170-160, requirements within any applicable order or 

variance, and any permit requirements established pursuant to 

this chapter.  

"State operating permit" means a permit issued under the 

state operating permit program. 

"State operating permit program" means an operating permit 

program (i) for issuing limitations and conditions for 

stationary sources; (ii) promulgated to meet the EPA's 

minimum criteria for federal enforceability, including 

adequate notice and opportunity for the EPA and public 

comment prior to issuance of the final permit, and practicable 

enforceability; and (iii) codified in Article 5 (9VAC5-80-800 

et seq.) of this part.  

"Stationary source" means any building, structure, facility, 

or installation that emits or may emit any regulated air 

pollutant. A stationary source shall include all of the 

pollutant-emitting activities that belong to the same industrial 

grouping, are located on one or more contiguous or adjacent 

properties, and are under the control of the same person (or or 

of persons under common control) control except the 

activities of any watercraft or any nonroad engine. Pollutant-

emitting activities shall be considered as part of the same 
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industrial grouping if they belong to the same "major group" 

(i.e., that have the same two-digit code) as described in the 

"Standard Industrial Classification Manual" (see 9VAC5-20-

21).  

"Synthetic minor source" means a stationary source that 

otherwise has the potential to emit regulated air pollutants in 

amounts that are at or above those for major stationary 

sources, as applicable, but is subject to restrictions such that 

its potential to emit is less than such amounts for major 

stationary sources. Such restrictions must be enforceable as a 

practical matter. The term "synthetic minor source" applies 

independently for each regulated air pollutant that the source 

has the potential to emit.  

"Temporary facility" means a facility that (i) is operated to 

achieve a specific objective (such as serving as a pilot test 

facility, a process feasibility project, or a remediation project) 

and (ii) does not contribute toward the commercial production 

of any product or service (including byproduct and 

intermediate product) during the operational period. Portable 

emissions units covered by the exemption under 9VAC5-80-

1105 A 1 c and facilities used to augment or enable routine 

production are not considered temporary facilities for the 

purposes of this definition. 

"Toxic pollutant" means any air pollutant (i) listed in 

§ 112(b) of the federal Clean Air Act, as amended by Subpart 

C of 40 CFR Part 63 and (ii) incorporated by reference into 

the regulations of the board at subdivision 1 of 9VAC5-60-

92, or any other air pollutant that the board determines, 

through adoption of regulation, to present a significant risk to 

public health. This term excludes asbestos, fine mineral 

fibers, radionuclides, and any glycol ether that does not have 

a TLV®. 

"Uncontrolled emission rate" means the emission rate from 

an emissions unit when operating at maximum capacity 

without air pollution control equipment. Air pollution control 

equipment includes control equipment that is not vital to its 

operation, except that its use enables the owner to conform to 

applicable air pollution control laws and regulations. Annual 

uncontrolled emissions shall be based on the maximum 

annual rated capacity (based on 8,760 hours of operation per 

year) of the emissions unit, unless the emissions unit or 

stationary source is subject to state and federally enforceable 

permit conditions that limit the annual hours of operation. 

Enforceable permit conditions on the type or amount of 

material combusted, stored, or processed may be used in 

determining the uncontrolled emission rate of an emissions 

unit or stationary source. The uncontrolled emission rate of a 

stationary source is the sum of the uncontrolled emission 

rates of the individual emissions units. Secondary emissions 

do not count in determining the uncontrolled emission rate of 

a stationary source. 

"Undeveloped site" means any site or facility at which no 

emissions units are located at the time the permit application 

is deemed complete, or at the time the owner begins actual 

construction, whichever occurs first. An undeveloped site also 

includes any site or facility at which all of the emissions units 

have been determined to be shut down pursuant to the 

provisions of 9VAC5-20-220. 

"Vegetative waste" means decomposable materials 

generated by land clearing activities and includes shrub, bush 

and tree prunings, bark, brush, leaves, limbs, roots, and 

stumps. Vegetative waste does not include construction or 

demolition waste or any combination of them. 

"Vegetative waste recycling/mulching operation" means any 

activity related to size reduction or separating, or both, of 

clean wood or vegetative waste, or both, by grinding, 

shredding, chipping, screening, or any combination of them. 

9VAC5-80-1170. Public participation.  

A. No later than 15 days after receiving the initial 

determination notification required under 9VAC5-80-1160 B, 

the applicant for a minor NSR permit for a new major 

stationary source shall notify the public of the proposed major 

stationary source in accordance with subsection B of this 

section.  

B. The public notice required by subsection A of this section 

shall be placed by the applicant in at least one newspaper of 

general circulation in the affected air quality control region. 

The notice shall be approved by the board and shall include, 

but not be limited to, the following:  

1. The source name, location, and type;  

2. The pollutants and the total quantity of each which that 

the applicant estimates will be emitted, and a brief 

statement of the air quality impact of such pollutants;  

3. The control technology proposed to be used at the time 

of the publication of the notice; and  

4. The name and telephone number of a contact person, 

employed by the applicant, who can answer questions 

about the proposed source.  

C. Upon a determination by the board that it an alternative 

plan will achieve the desired results in an equally effective 

manner, an applicant for a minor NSR permit may implement 

an alternative plan for notifying the public to that required in 

subsections A and B of this section.  

D. Prior to the decision of the board, minor NSR permit 

applications as specified below shall be subject to a public 

comment period of at least 30 days. At the end of the public 

comment period, a public hearing shall be held in accordance 

with subsection E of this section.  

1. Applications for stationary sources of hazardous air 

pollutants requiring a case-by-case maximum achievable 

control technology determination under Article 3 (9VAC5-
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60-120 et seq.) of Part II of 9VAC5-60 (Hazardous Air 

Pollutant Sources).  

2. Applications for new major stationary sources and major 

modifications.  

3. Applications for projects that would result in an increase 

in the potential to emit of any regulated air pollutant that 

would equal or exceed 100 tons per year, considering any 

state and federally enforceable permit conditions that will 

be placed on the source by a minor NSR permit. 

4. Applications for new stationary sources or projects that 

have the potential for public interest concerning air quality 

issues, as determined by the board. The identification of 

such sources shall be made using the following 

nonexclusive criteria:  

a. Whether the new stationary source or project is 

opposed by any person;  

b. Whether the new stationary source or project has 

resulted in adverse media;  

c. Whether the new stationary source or project has 

generated adverse comment through any public 

participation or governmental review process initiated by 

any other governmental agency; and  

d. Whether the new stationary source or project has 

generated adverse comment by a local official, governing 

body, or advisory board.  

5. Applications for stationary sources for which any 

provision of the minor NSR permit is to be based upon a 

good engineering practice (GEP) stack height that exceeds 

the height allowed by subdivisions 1 and 2 of the GEP 

definition. The demonstration specified in subdivision 3 of 

the GEP definition and required by 9VAC5-50-20 H 3 

shall be included in the application.  

E. When a public comment period and public hearing are 

required, the board shall notify the public, by advertisement 

in at least one newspaper of general circulation in the affected 

air quality control region, of the opportunity for the public 

comment and the public hearing on the information available 

for public inspection under the provisions of subdivision 1 of 

this subsection. The notification shall be published at least 30 

days prior to the day of the public hearing. For permits 

subject to § 10.1-1307.01 of the Code of Virginia, written 

comments will be accepted by the board for at least 15 days 

after any hearing, unless the board votes to shorten the period. 

1. Information on the minor NSR permit application 

(exclusive, exclusive of confidential information under 

9VAC5-170-60) 9VAC5-170-60, as well as the 

preliminary review and analysis and preliminary 

determination of the board, shall be available for public 

inspection during the entire public comment period in at 

least one location in the affected air quality control region. 

Any demonstration included in an application specified in 

subdivision D 5 of this section shall be available for public 

inspection during the public comment period. 

2. A copy of the notice shall be sent to all local air 

pollution control agencies having jurisdiction in the 

affected air quality control region, all states sharing the 

affected air quality control region, and to the regional EPA 

administrator, U.S. Environmental Protection Agency.  

3. Notices of public comment periods and public hearings 

for major stationary sources and major modifications 

published under this section shall meet the requirements of 

§ 10.1-1307.01 of the Virginia Air Pollution Control Law.  

F. Following the initial publication of the notice required 

under subsection E of this section, the board will receive 

written requests for direct consideration of the minor NSR 

permit application by the board pursuant to the requirements 

of 9VAC5-80-25. In order to be considered, the request must 

be submitted no later than the end of the public comment 

period. A request for direct consideration of an application by 

the board shall contain the following information: 

1. The name, mailing address, and telephone number of the 

requester. 

2. The names and addresses of all persons for whom the 

requester is acting as a representative (for; for the purposes 

of this requirement, an unincorporated association is a 

person) person. 

3. The reason why direct consideration by the board is 

requested. 

4. A brief, informal statement setting forth the factual 

nature and the extent of the interest of the requester or of 

the persons for whom the requester is acting as 

representative in the application or preliminary 

determination, including an explanation of how and to 

what extent such interest would be directly and adversely 

affected by the issuance, denial, or revision of the permit in 

question. 

5. Where possible, specific references to the terms and 

conditions of the permit in question, together with 

suggested revisions and alterations of those terms and 

conditions that the requester considers are needed to 

conform the permit to the intent and provisions of the 

Virginia Air Pollution Control Law. 

G. The board will review any request made under subsection 

F of this section, and will take final action on the request as 

provided in 9VAC5-80-1160 D. 

H. In order to facilitate the efficient issuance of permits 

under Articles 1 (9VAC5-80-50 et seq.) and 3 (9VAC5-80-

360 et seq.) of this part, upon request of the applicant the 

board shall process the minor NSR permit application using 

public participation procedures meeting the requirements of 
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this section and 9VAC5-80-270 or 9VAC5-80-670, as 

applicable. 

I. If the board finds that there is a locality particularly 

affected by (i) a new fossil fuel-fired generating facility with 

a capacity of 500 megawatts or more, (ii) a major 

modification to an existing source that is a fossil fuel-fired 

generating facility with a capacity of 500 megawatts or more, 

(iii) a new fossil fuel-fired compressor station facility used to 

transport natural gas, or (iv) a major modification to an 

existing source that is a fossil fuel-fired compressor station 

facility used to transport natural gas: 

1. The applicant shall perform the following: 

a. Publish a notice in at least one local paper of general 

circulation in any locality particularly affected at least 60 

days prior to the close of any public comment period. 

Such notice shall (i) contain a statement of the estimated 

local impact of the proposed action; (ii) provide 

information regarding specific pollutants and the total 

quantity of each that may be emitted; (iii) list the type, 

quantity, and source of any fuel to be used; (iv) advise 

the public how to request board consideration; and (v) 

advise the public where to obtain information regarding 

the proposed action. The department shall post such 

notice on the department website and on a department 

social media account; and 

b. Mail the notice to (i) the chief elected official of, chief 

administrative officer of, and planning district 

commission for each locality particularly affected; (ii) 

every public library and public school located within five 

miles of such facility; and (iii) the owner of each parcel 

of real property that is depicted as adjacent to the facility 

on the current real estate tax assessment maps of the 

locality. Written comments shall be accepted by the 

board for at least 30 days after any hearing on such 

variance or permit unless the board votes to shorten the 

period. 

2. The department shall post the notice required in 

subdivision 1 a of this subsection on the department 

website and on a department social media account. 

3. Written comments shall be accepted by the board for at 

least 30 days after any hearing on such variance or permit 

unless the board votes to shorten the period. 

9VAC5-80-1410. Definitions.  

A. For the purpose of this article and subsequent 

amendments or any orders issued by the board, the words or 

terms shall have the meaning given them in subsection C of 

this section.  

B. As used in this section, all terms not defined here in 

subsection C of this section shall have the meaning given 

them in 9VAC5 Chapter 10 (9VAC5-10-10 et seq.), unless 

otherwise required by context.  

C. Terms defined.  

"Affected source" means the stationary source, the group of 

stationary sources, or the portion of a stationary source which 

that is regulated by a MACT standard.  

"Affected states" are all states:  

1. Whose air quality may be affected and that are 

contiguous to the Commonwealth; or  

2. Whose air quality may be affected and that are within 50 

miles of the major source for which a case-by-case MACT 

determination is made in accordance with this article.  

"Available information" means, for purposes of identifying 

control technology options for the stationary source, 

information contained in the following information sources as 

of the date of approval of the permit:  

1. A relevant proposed regulation, including all supporting 

information.  

2. Background information documents for a draft or 

proposed regulation.  

3. Data and information available from the Control 

Technology Center developed pursuant to § 113 of the 

federal Clean Air Act.  

4. Data and information contained in the Aerometric 

Informational Retrieval System including information in 

the MACT database.  

5. Any additional information that can be expeditiously 

provided by the administrator.  

6. For the purpose of determinations by the board, any 

additional information provided by the applicant or others, 

and any additional information considered available by the 

board.  

"Begin actual construction" means initiation of permanent 

physical on-site construction of an emissions unit. This 

includes, but is not limited to, installation of building 

supports and foundations, laying of underground pipework, 

and construction of permanent storage structures.  

"Begin actual reconstruction" means initiation of permanent 

physical on-site reconstruction of an emissions unit. This 

includes, but is not limited to, installation of building 

supports and foundations, laying of underground pipework, 

and construction of permanent storage structures.  

"Best controlled similar source" means a stationary source 

that (i) has comparable emissions and is structurally similar in 

design and capacity to other stationary sources such that the 

stationary sources could be controlled using the same control 

technology, and (ii) uses a control technology that achieves 

the lowest emission rate among all other similar sources in 

the United States.  
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"Case-by-case MACT determination" means a determination 

by the board, pursuant to the requirements of this article, 

which that establishes a MACT emission limitation, MACT 

work practice standard, or other MACT requirements for a 

stationary source subject to this article.  

"Commenced" means, with respect to construction or 

reconstruction of a stationary source, that the owner has 

undertaken a continuous program of construction or 

reconstruction or that an owner has entered into a contractual 

obligation to undertake and complete, within a reasonable 

time, a continuous program of construction or reconstruction.  

"Complete application" means that the application contains 

all the information necessary for processing the application 

and the provisions of § 10.1-1321.1 of the Virginia Air 

Pollution Control Law have been met. Designating an 

application complete for purposes of permit processing does 

not preclude the board from requesting or accepting 

additional information.  

"Construct a major source" means:  

1. To fabricate, erect, or install a major source at any 

undeveloped site; or  

2. To fabricate, erect, or install a major process or 

production unit at any site.  

"Construction" means:  

1. The fabrication, erection, or installation of a major 

source at any undeveloped site; or  

2. The fabrication, erection, or installation of a major 

process or production unit at any site.  

"Control technology" means measures, processes, methods, 

systems, or techniques to limit the emission of hazardous air 

pollutants including, but not limited to, measures that:  

1. Reduce the quantity of, or eliminate emissions of, such 

pollutants through process changes, substitution of 

materials, or other modifications;  

2. Enclose systems or processes to eliminate emissions;  

3. Collect, capture, or treat such pollutants when released 

from a process, stack, storage, or fugitive emissions point;  

4. Are design, equipment, work practice, or operational 

standards (including, including requirements for operator 

training or certification) certification; or  

5. Are a combination of subdivisions 1 through 4 of this 

definition.  

"Electric utility steam generating unit" means any fossil fuel 

fired combustion unit of more than 25 megawatts that serves 

a generator that produces electricity for sale. A unit that co-

generates steam and electricity and supplies more than one-

third of its potential electric output capacity and more than 25 

megawatts electric output to any utility power distribution 

system for sale shall be considered an electric utility steam 

generating unit.  

"Emergency" means, in the context of 9VAC5-80-1580 C, a 

situation where immediate action on the part of a source is 

needed and where the timing of the action makes it 

impractical to meet the requirements of this article, such as 

sudden loss of power, fires, earthquakes, floods, or similar 

occurrences.  

"Emissions unit" means any part of a stationary source 

which that emits or would have the potential to emit any 

hazardous air pollutant.  

"Enforceable as a practical matter" means that the permit 

contains emission limitations that are enforceable by the 

board or the department and meet the following criteria:  

1. Are permanent.  

2. Contain a legal obligation for the owner to adhere to the 

terms and conditions.  

3. Do not allow a relaxation of a requirement of the state 

implementation plan.  

4. Are technically accurate and quantifiable.  

5. Include averaging times or other provisions that allow at 

least monthly (or, or a shorter period if necessary to be 

consistent with the emission standard) standard, checks on 

compliance. This may include, but not be limited to, the 

following: compliance with annual limits in a rolling basis, 

monthly or shorter limits, and other provisions consistent 

with 9VAC5-80-1490 and other regulations of the board.  

6. Require a level of recordkeeping, reporting, and 

monitoring sufficient to demonstrate compliance.  

"EPA" means the United States U.S. Environmental 

Protection Agency.  

"Federal operating permit" means a permit issued under 

Article 1 (9VAC5-80-50 et seq.) or Article 3 (9VAC5-80-360 

et seq.) of this part.  

"Federally enforceable" means all limitations and conditions 

which that are enforceable by the administrator and citizens 

under the federal Clean Air Act or that are enforceable under 

other statutes administered by the administrator. Federally 

enforceable limitations and conditions include but are not 

limited to the following:  

1. Emission standards, alternative emission standards, 

alternative emission limitations, and equivalent emission 

limitations established pursuant to § 112 of the federal 

Clean Air Act as amended in 1990.  

2. New source performance standards established pursuant 

to § 111 of the federal Clean Air Act, and emission 

standards established pursuant to § 112 of the federal 

Clean Air Act before it was amended in 1990.  
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3. All terms and conditions in a federal operating permit, 

including any provisions that limit a source's potential to 

emit, unless expressly designated as not federally 

enforceable.  

4. Limitations and conditions that are part of an approved 

State Implementation Plan (SIP) or a Federal 

Implementation Plan (FIP).  

5. Limitations and conditions that are part of a federal 

construction permit issued under 40 CFR 52.21 or any 

construction permit issued under regulations approved by 

EPA in accordance with 40 CFR Part 51. This does not 

include limitations and conditions that are established to 

address plans, programs, or regulatory requirements that 

are enforceable only by the Commonwealth.  

6. Limitations and conditions that are part of an operating 

permit issued pursuant to a program approved by EPA into 

a SIP as meeting EPA's minimum criteria for federal 

enforceability, including adequate notice and opportunity 

for EPA and public comment prior to issuance of the final 

permit and practicable enforceability. This does not include 

limitations and conditions that are established to address 

plans, programs, or regulatory requirements that are 

enforceable only by the Commonwealth.  

7. Limitations and conditions in a Virginia regulation or 

program that has been approved by EPA under subpart E 

of 40 CFR Part 63 for the purposes of implementing and 

enforcing § 112 of the federal Clean Air Act.  

8. Individual consent agreements that EPA has legal 

authority to create.  

"Fixed capital cost" means the capital needed to provide all 

the depreciable components of an existing source.  

"Fugitive emissions" means those emissions which could not 

reasonably pass through a stack, chimney, vent, or other 

functionally equivalent opening.  

"Hazardous air pollutant" means any air pollutant listed in 

§ 112(b) of the federal Clean Air Act as amended by 40 CFR 

63.60.  

"Locality particularly affected" means any locality that bears 

any identified disproportionate material air quality impact that 

would not be experienced by other localities. 

"MACT standard" means (i) an emission standard; (ii) an 

alternative emission standard; or (iii) an alternative emission 

limitation promulgated in 40 CFR Part 63 that applies to the 

stationary source, the group of stationary sources, or the 

portion of a stationary source regulated by such standard or 

limitation. A MACT standard may include or consist of a 

design, equipment, work practice, or operational requirement, 

or other measure, process, method, system, or technique 

(including, including prohibition of emissions) emissions, that 

the administrator establishes for new or existing sources to 

which such standard or limitation applies. Every MACT 

standard established pursuant to § 112 of the federal Clean 

Air Act includes subpart A of 40 CFR Part 63 and all 

applicable appendices of 40 CFR Part 63 or of other parts of 

Title 40 of the Code of Federal Regulations that are 

referenced in that standard.  

"Major process or production unit" means any process or 

production unit which in and of itself emits or has the 

potential to emit 10 tons per year of any hazardous air 

pollutant or 25 tons per year of any combination of hazardous 

air pollutants.  

"Major source" means any stationary source or group of 

stationary sources located within a contiguous area and under 

common control that emits or has the potential to emit 

considering controls, in the aggregate, 10 tons per year or 

more of any hazardous air pollutant or 25 tons per year or 

more of any combination of hazardous air pollutants, unless 

the board establishes a lesser quantity, or in the case of 

radionuclides, different criteria from those specified in this 

definition.  

"Maximum achievable control technology (MACT) 

emission limitation" means the emission limitation which that 

is not less stringent than the emission limitation achieved in 

practice by the best controlled similar source, and which that 

reflects the maximum degree of reduction in emissions that 

the board, taking into consideration the cost of achieving such 

emission reduction and any nonair quality health and 

environmental impacts and energy requirements, determines 

is achievable by the constructed or reconstructed major 

source.  

"New source review program" means a program for the 

preconstruction review and permitting of new stationary 

sources or expansions to existing ones in accordance with 

regulations promulgated to implement the requirements of 

§§ 110(a)(2)(C), 165 (relating to permits in prevention of 

significant deterioration areas) and 173 (relating to permits in 

nonattainment areas) and 112 (relating to permits for 

hazardous air pollutants) of the federal Clean Air Act.  

"Permit" means a document issued pursuant to this article 

containing all federally enforceable conditions necessary to 

enforce the application and operation of any maximum 

achievable control technology or other control technologies 

such that the MACT emission limitation is met.  

"Potential to emit" means the maximum capacity of a 

stationary source to emit a pollutant under its physical and 

operational design. Any physical or operational limitation on 

the capacity of the source to emit a pollutant, including air 

pollution control equipment, and restrictions on hours of 

operation or on the type or amount of material combusted, 

stored, or processed, shall be treated as part of its design only 

if the limitation or its effect on emissions is state and 

federally enforceable.  
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"Presumptive MACT" means a preliminary MACT 

determination made by EPA, in consultation with states and 

other stakeholders, after data on a source category's emissions 

and controls have been collected and analyzed, but before the 

MACT standard has been promulgated.  

"Process or production unit" means any collection of 

structures or equipment or both, that processes, assembles, 

applies, or otherwise uses material inputs to produce or store 

an intermediate or final product. A single facility may contain 

more than one process or production unit.  

"Public comment period" means a time during which the 

public shall have the opportunity to comment on the permit 

application information (exclusive, exclusive of confidential 

information) information, the preliminary review and 

analysis, and the preliminary decision of the board regarding 

the permit application.  

"Reconstruct a major source" means to replace components 

at an existing major process or production unit whenever:  

1. The fixed capital cost of the new components exceeds 

50% of the fixed capital cost that would be required to 

construct a comparable new process or production unit; 

and  

2. It is technically and economically feasible for the 

reconstructed major source to meet the applicable standard 

for new sources established in a permit.  

"Reconstruction" means the replacement of components at 

an existing major process or production unit whenever:  

1. The fixed capital cost of the new components exceeds 

50% of the fixed capital cost that would be required to 

construct a comparable new process or production unit; 

and  

2. It is technologically and economically feasible for the 

reconstructed process or production unit to meet the 

applicable standard for new sources established in a 

permit.  

"Research and development activities" means activities 

conducted at a research or laboratory facility whose primary 

purpose is to conduct research and development into new 

processes and products, where such source is operated under 

the close supervision of technically trained personnel and is 

not engaged in the manufacture of products for sale or 

exchange for commercial profit, except in a de minimis 

manner.  

"Similar source" means a stationary source or process that 

has comparable emissions and is structurally similar in design 

and capacity to a constructed or reconstructed major source 

such that the source could be controlled using the same 

control technology.  

"Source category list" means the list and schedule issued 

pursuant to § 112(c) and (e) for promulgating MACT 

standards issued pursuant to § 112(d) of the federal Clean Air 

Act and published in the Federal Register at 63 FR 7155, 

February 12, 1998.  

"State enforceable" means all limitations and conditions 

which that are enforceable as a practical matter, including 

those requirements developed pursuant to 9VAC5-170-160, 

requirements within any applicable order or variance, and any 

permit requirements established pursuant to this chapter.  

"Stationary source" means any building, structure, facility, 

or installation which that emits or may emit any air pollutant.  

"Uncontrolled emission rate" means the emission rate from a 

source when operating at maximum capacity without air 

pollution control equipment. Air pollution control equipment 

is equipment that enables the source to conform to applicable 

air pollution control laws and regulations and that is not vital 

to its operation.  

9VAC5-80-1460. Public participation.  

A. No later than 15 days after receiving the initial 

determination notification required under 9VAC5-80-1450 A, 

the applicant for a permit for a major source of hazardous air 

pollutants shall notify the public of the proposed source as 

required in subsection B of this section. The applicant shall 

also provide an informational briefing about the proposed 

source for the public as required in subsection C of this 

section.  

B. The public notice required under this section shall be 

placed by the applicant in at least one newspaper of general 

circulation in the affected air quality control region. The 

notice shall be approved by the board and shall include, but 

not be limited to, the following:  

1. The source name, location, and type;  

2. The applicable pollutants and the total quantity of each 

which that the applicant estimates will be emitted, and a 

brief statement of the air quality impact of such pollutants;  

3. The control technology proposed to be used at the time 

of the publication of the notice;  

4. The date, time, and place of the informational briefing; 

and  

5. The name and telephone number of a contact person 

employed by the applicant who can answer questions about 

the proposed source.  

C. The informational briefing shall be held in the locality 

where the source is or will be located and at least 30 days, but 

no later than 60 days, following the day of the publication of 

the public notice in the newspaper. The applicant shall inform 

the public about the operation and potential air quality impact 

of the source and answer any questions concerning air quality 

about the proposed source from those in attendance at the 

briefing. At a minimum, the applicant shall provide 
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information on and answer questions about (i) specific 

pollutants and the total quantity of each which the applicant 

estimates will be emitted and (ii) the control technology 

proposed to be used at the time of the informational briefing. 

Representatives from the board shall attend and provide 

information and answer questions on the permit application 

review process.  

D. Upon a determination by the board that it an alternative 

plan will achieve the desired results in an equally effective 

manner, an applicant for a permit may implement an 

alternative plan for notifying the public as required in 

subsection B of this section and for providing the 

informational briefing as required in subsection C of this 

section.  

E. Prior to the decision of the board, all permit applications 

shall be subject to a public comment period of at least 30 

days. In addition, at the end of the public comment period, a 

public hearing will be held with notice in accordance with 

subsection F of this section. 

F. The board shall notify the public by advertisement in at 

least one newspaper of general circulation in the area affected 

of the opportunity for the public comment and the public 

hearing on the information available for public inspection 

under the provisions of subdivision 1 of this subsection. The 

notification shall be published at least 30 days prior to the day 

of the public hearing. Written comments will be accepted by 

the board for at least 15 days after any hearing, unless the 

board votes to shorten the period. 

1. Information on the permit application (exclusive, 

exclusive of confidential information under 9VAC5-170-

60) 9VAC5-170-60, as well as the preliminary review and 

analysis and preliminary determination of the board, shall 

be available for public inspection during the entire public 

comment period in at least one location in the affected 

area.  

2. A copy of the notice shall be sent to all local air 

pollution control agencies having jurisdiction in the 

affected air quality control region, all states sharing the 

affected air quality control region, and to the regional EPA 

administrator.  

3. Notices of public hearings published under this section 

shall meet the requirements of § 10.1-1307.01 of the 

Virginia Air Pollution Control Law.  

G. Following the initial publication of the notice required 

under subsection F of this section, the board will receive 

written requests for direct consideration of the application by 

the board pursuant to the requirements of 9VAC5-80-25. In 

order to be considered, the request must be submitted no later 

than the end of the public comment period. A request for 

direct consideration of an application by the board shall 

contain the following information: 

1. The name, mailing address, and telephone number of the 

requester. 

2. The names and addresses of all persons for whom the 

requester is acting as a representative (for; for the purposes 

of this requirement, an unincorporated association is a 

person) person. 

3. The reason why direct consideration by the board is 

requested. 

4. A brief, informal statement setting forth the factual 

nature and the extent of the interest of the requester or of 

the persons for whom the requester is acting as 

representative in the application or preliminary 

determination, including an explanation of how and to 

what extent such interest would be directly and adversely 

affected by the issuance, denial, or revision of the permit in 

question. 

5. Where possible, specific references to the terms and 

conditions of the permit in question, together with 

suggested revisions and alterations of those terms and 

conditions that the requester considers are needed to 

conform the permit to the intent and provisions of the 

Virginia Air Pollution Control Law. 

H. The board will review any request made under subsection 

G of this section, and will take final action on the request as 

provided in 9VAC5-80-1450 D. 

I. In order to facilitate the efficient issuance of permits under 

Articles 1 and 3 of this chapter, upon request of the applicant 

the board shall process the permit application under this 

article using public participation procedures meeting the 

requirements of this section and 9VAC5-80-270 or 9VAC5-

80-670, as applicable.  

J. If appropriate, the board may provide a public briefing on 

its review of the permit application prior to the public 

comment period but no later than the day before the 

beginning of the public comment period. If the board 

provides a public briefing, the requirements of subsection F 

of this section concerning public notification will be 

followed. 

K. If the board finds that there is a locality particularly 

affected by (i) a new fossil fuel-fired generating facility with 

a capacity of 500 megawatts or more, (ii) a major 

modification to an existing source that is a fossil fuel-fired 

generating facility with a capacity of 500 megawatts or more, 

(iii) a new fossil fuel-fired compressor station facility used to 

transport natural gas, or (iv) a major modification to an 

existing source that is a fossil fuel-fired compressor station 

facility used to transport natural gas: 

1. The applicant shall perform the following: 

a. Publish a notice in at least one local paper of general 

circulation in any locality particularly affected at least 60 
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days prior to the close of any public comment period. 

Such notice shall (i) contain a statement of the estimated 

local impact of the proposed action; (ii) provide 

information regarding specific pollutants and the total 

quantity of each that may be emitted; (iii) list the type, 

quantity, and source of any fuel to be used; (iv) advise 

the public how to request board consideration; and (v) 

advise the public where to obtain information regarding 

the proposed action. The department shall post such 

notice on the department website and on a department 

social media account; and 

b. Mail the notice to (i) the chief elected official of, chief 

administrative officer of, and planning district 

commission for each locality particularly affected; (ii) 

every public library and public school located within five 

miles of such facility; and (iii) the owner of each parcel 

of real property that is depicted as adjacent to the facility 

on the current real estate tax assessment maps of the 

locality. Written comments shall be accepted by the 

board for at least 30 days after any hearing on such 

variance or permit unless the board votes to shorten the 

period. 

2. The department shall post the notice required in 

subdivision 1 a of this subsection on the department 

website and on a department social media account. 

3. Written comments shall be accepted by the board for at 

least 30 days after any hearing on such variance or permit 

unless the board votes to shorten the period. 

9VAC5-80-1775. Public participation.  

A. No later than 30 days after receiving the initial 

determination notification required under 9VAC5-80-1773 A, 

the applicant shall notify the public about the proposed source 

as required in subsection B of this section. The applicant shall 

also provide an informational briefing about the proposed 

source for the public as required in subsection C of this 

section.  

B. The public notice required under subsection A of this 

section shall be placed by the applicant in at least one 

newspaper of general circulation in the affected air quality 

control region. The notice shall be approved by the board and 

shall include, but not be limited to, (i) the name, location, and 

type of the source, and (ii) the time and place of the 

informational briefing.  

C. The informational briefing shall be held in the locality 

where the source is or will be located and at least 30 days, but 

no later than 60 days, following the day of the publication of 

the public notice in the newspaper. The applicant shall inform 

the public about the operation and potential air quality impact 

of the source and answer any questions concerning air quality 

about the proposed source from those in attendance at the 

briefing. At a minimum, the applicant shall provide 

information on and answer questions about (i) specific 

pollutants and the total quantity of each which the applicant 

estimates will be emitted and (ii) the control technology 

proposed to be used at the time of the informational briefing. 

Representatives from the board will attend and provide 

information and answer questions on the permit application 

review process.  

D. Upon a determination by the board that it an alternative 

plan will achieve the desired results in an equally effective 

manner, an applicant for a permit may implement an 

alternative plan for notifying the public as required in 

subsection B of this section and for providing the 

informational briefing as required in subsection C of this 

section.  

E. The board will provide opportunity for a public hearing 

for interested persons to appear and submit written or oral 

comments on the air quality impact of the source or 

modification, alternatives to the source or modification, the 

control technology required, and other appropriate 

considerations. 

F. The board will notify the public, by advertisement in a 

newspaper of general circulation in each region in which the 

proposed source or modification would be constructed, of the 

application, the preliminary determination, the degree of 

increment consumption that is expected from the source or 

modification, and the opportunity for comment at a public 

hearing as well as written public comment. The notification 

will contain a statement of the estimated local impact of the 

proposed source or modification, which at a minimum will 

provide information regarding specific pollutants and the total 

quantity of each that may be emitted, and will list the type 

and quantity of any fuels to be used. The notification will be 

published at least 30 days prior to the day of the public 

hearing. Written comments will be accepted by the board for 

at least 15 days after any hearing, unless the board votes to 

shorten the period. 

1. All materials the applicant submitted (exclusive, 

exclusive of confidential information under 9VAC5-170-

60), 9VAC5-170-60; a copy of the preliminary 

determination; and a copy or summary of other materials, 

if any, considered in making the preliminary determination 

will be available for public inspection during the entire 

public comment period in at least one location in the 

affected air quality control region. 

2. A copy of the notice will be sent to the applicant, the 

administrator, and to officials and agencies having 

cognizance over the location where the proposed 

construction would occur as follows: (i) local air pollution 

control agencies, (ii) the chief elected official and chief 

administrative officer of the city and county where the 

source or modification would be located and of any other 

locality particularly affected, (iii) the planning district 

commission, and (iv) any state, federal land manager, or 
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Indian governing body whose lands may be affected by 

emissions from the source or modification. 

3. Notices of public comment periods and public hearings 

for major stationary sources and major modifications 

published under this section shall meet the requirements of 

§ 10.1-1307.01 of the Virginia Air Pollution Control Law. 

G. Following the initial publication of the notice required 

under subsection F of this section, the board will receive 

written requests for direct consideration of the application by 

the board pursuant to the requirements of 9VAC5-80-25. In 

order to be considered, the request must be submitted no later 

than the end of the public comment period. A request for 

direct consideration of an application by the board shall 

contain the following information: 

1. The name, mailing address, and telephone number of the 

requester. 

2. The names and addresses of all persons for whom the 

requester is acting as a representative (for; for the purposes 

of this requirement, an unincorporated association is a 

person) person. 

3. The reason why direct consideration by the board is 

requested. 

4. A brief, informal statement setting forth the factual 

nature and the extent of the interest of the requester or of 

the persons for whom the requester is acting as 

representative in the application or preliminary 

determination, including an explanation of how and to 

what extent such interest would be directly and adversely 

affected by the issuance, denial, or revision of the permit in 

question. 

5. Where possible, specific references to the terms and 

conditions of the permit in question, together with 

suggested revisions and alterations of those terms and 

conditions that the requester considers are needed to 

conform the permit to the intent and provisions of the 

Virginia Air Pollution Control Law. 

H. The board will review any request made under subsection 

G of this section and will take final action on the request as 

provided in 9VAC5-80-1773 D. 

I. In order to facilitate the efficient issuance of permits under 

Articles 1 (9VAC5-80-50 et seq.) and 3 (9VAC5-80-360 et 

seq.) of this part, upon request of the applicant the board will 

process the permit application under this article using public 

participation procedures meeting the requirements of this 

section and 9VAC5-80-270 or 9VAC5-80-670, as applicable.  

J. If appropriate, the board may hold a public briefing on the 

preliminary determination prior to the public comment period 

but no later than the day before the beginning of the public 

comment period. The board will notify the public of the time 

and place of the briefing by advertisement in a newspaper of 

general circulation in the air quality control region in which 

the proposed source or modification would be constructed. 

The notification will be published at least 30 days prior to the 

day of the briefing. 

K. If the board finds that there is a locality particularly 

affected by (i) a new fossil fuel-fired generating facility with 

a capacity of 500 megawatts or more, (ii) a major 

modification to an existing source that is a fossil fuel-fired 

generating facility with a capacity of 500 megawatts or more, 

(iii) a new fossil fuel-fired compressor station facility used to 

transport natural gas, or (iv) a major modification to an 

existing source that is a fossil fuel-fired compressor station 

facility used to transport natural gas: 

1. The applicant shall perform the following: 

a. Publish a notice in at least one local paper of general 

circulation in any locality particularly affected at least 60 

days prior to the close of any public comment period. 

Such notice shall (i) contain a statement of the estimated 

local impact of the proposed action; (ii) provide 

information regarding specific pollutants and the total 

quantity of each that may be emitted; (iii) list the type, 

quantity, and source of any fuel to be used; (iv) advise 

the public how to request board consideration; and (v) 

advise the public where to obtain information regarding 

the proposed action. The department shall post such 

notice on the department website and on a department 

social media account; and 

b. Mail the notice to (i) the chief elected official of, chief 

administrative officer of, and planning district 

commission for each locality particularly affected; (ii) 

every public library and public school located within five 

miles of such facility; and (iii) the owner of each parcel 

of real property that is depicted as adjacent to the facility 

on the current real estate tax assessment maps of the 

locality. Written comments shall be accepted by the 

board for at least 30 days after any hearing on such 

variance or permit unless the board votes to shorten the 

period. 

2. The department shall post the notice required in 

subdivision 1 a of this subsection on the department 

website and on a department social media account. 

3. Written comments shall be accepted by the board for at 

least 30 days after any hearing on such variance or permit, 

unless the board votes to shorten the period. 

9VAC5-80-2070. Public participation.  

A. No later than 30 days after receiving the initial 

determination notification required under 9VAC5-80-2060 A, 

the applicant shall notify the public about the proposed source 

as required in subsection B of this section. The applicant shall 

also provide an informational briefing about the proposed 
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source for the public as required in subsection C of this 

section.  

B. The public notice required under subsection A of this 

section shall be placed by the applicant in at least one 

newspaper of general circulation in the affected air quality 

control region. The notice shall be approved by the board and 

shall include, but not be limited to, (i) the name, location, and 

type of the source, and (ii) the time and place of the 

informational briefing.  

C. The informational briefing shall be held in the locality 

where the source is or will be located and at least 30 days, but 

no later than 60 days, following the day of the publication of 

the public notice in the newspaper. The applicant shall inform 

the public about the operation and potential air quality impact 

of the source and answer any questions concerning air quality 

about the proposed source from those in attendance at the 

briefing. At a minimum, the applicant shall provide 

information on and answer questions about (i) specific 

pollutants and the total quantity of each which the applicant 

estimates will be emitted and (ii) the control technology 

proposed to be used at the time of the informational briefing. 

Representatives from the board will attend and provide 

information and answer questions on the permit application 

review process.  

D. Upon determination by the board that it an alternative 

plan will achieve the desired results in an equally effective 

manner, an applicant for a permit may implement an 

alternative plan for notifying the public as required in 

subsection B of this section and for providing the 

informational briefing as required in subsection C of this 

section.  

E. Prior to the decision of the board, all permit applications 

will be subject to a public comment period of at least 30 days. 

In addition, at the end of the public comment period, a public 

hearing shall be held with notice in accordance with 

subsection F of this section.  

F. The board will notify the public, by advertisement in at 

least one newspaper of general circulation in the affected air 

quality control region, of the opportunity for public comment 

and the public hearing on the information available for public 

inspection under the provisions of subdivision 1 of this 

subsection. The notification shall be published at least 30 

days prior to the day of the public hearing. Written comments 

will be accepted by the board for at least 15 days after any 

hearing, unless the board votes to shorten the period. 

1. Information on the permit application (exclusive; 

exclusive of confidential information under 9VAC5-170-

60) 9VAC5-170-60, as well as the preliminary review and 

analysis and preliminary determination of the board, shall 

be available for public inspection during the entire public 

comment period in at least one location in the affected air 

quality control region.  

2. A copy of the notice shall be sent to all local air 

pollution control agencies having jurisdiction in the 

affected air quality control region, all states sharing the 

affected air quality control region, and to the regional EPA 

administrator, U.S. Environmental Protection Agency.  

3. Notices of public comment periods and public hearings 

for major stationary sources and major modifications 

published under this section shall meet the requirements of 

§ 10.1-1307.01 of the Virginia Air Pollution Control Law.  

G. Following the initial publication of the notice required 

under subsection F of this section, the board will receive 

written requests for direct consideration of the application by 

the board pursuant to the requirements of 9VAC5-80-25. In 

order to be considered, the request must be submitted no later 

than the end of the public comment period. A request for 

direct consideration of an application by the board shall 

contain the following information: 

1. The name, mailing address, and telephone number of the 

requester. 

2. The names and addresses of all persons for whom the 

requester is acting as a representative (for; for the purposes 

of this requirement, an unincorporated association is a 

person) person. 

3. The reason why direct consideration by the board is 

requested. 

4. A brief, informal statement setting forth the factual 

nature and the extent of the interest of the requester or of 

the persons for whom the requester is acting as 

representative in the application or preliminary 

determination, including an explanation of how and to 

what extent such interest would be directly and adversely 

affected by the issuance, denial, or revision of the permit in 

question. 

5. Where possible, specific references to the terms and 

conditions of the permit in question, together with 

suggested revisions and alterations of those terms and 

conditions that the requester considers are needed to 

conform the permit to the intent and provisions of the 

Virginia Air Pollution Control Law. 

H. The board will review any request made under subsection 

G of this section, and will take final action on the request as 

provided in 9VAC5-80-2060 C. 

I. In order to facilitate the efficient issuance of permits under 

Articles 1 (9VAC5-80-50 et seq.) and 3 (9VAC5-80-360 et 

seq.) of this part, upon request of the applicant the board will 

process the permit application under this article using public 

participation procedures meeting the requirements of this 

section and 9VAC5-80-270 or 9VAC5-80-670, as applicable.  

J. If appropriate, the board may provide a public briefing on 

its review of the permit application prior to the public 
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comment period but no later than the day before the 

beginning of the public comment period. If the board 

provides a public briefing, the requirements of subsection F 

of this section concerning public notification shall be 

followed.  

K. If the board finds that there is a locality particularly 

affected by (i) a new fossil fuel-fired generating facility with 

a capacity of 500 megawatts or more, (ii) a major 

modification to an existing source that is a fossil fuel-fired 

generating facility with a capacity of 500 megawatts or more, 

(iii) a new fossil fuel-fired compressor station facility used to 

transport natural gas, or (iv) a major modification to an 

existing source that is a fossil fuel-fired compressor station 

facility used to transport natural gas: 

1. The applicant shall perform the following: 

a. Publish a notice in at least one local paper of general 

circulation in any locality particularly affected at least 60 

days prior to the close of any public comment period. 

Such notice shall (i) contain a statement of the estimated 

local impact of the proposed action; (ii) provide 

information regarding specific pollutants and the total 

quantity of each that may be emitted; (iii) list the type, 

quantity, and source of any fuel to be used; (iv) advise 

the public how to request board consideration; and (v) 

advise the public where to obtain information regarding 

the proposed action. The department shall post such 

notice on the department website and on a department 

social media account; and 

b. Mail the notice to (i) the chief elected official of, chief 

administrative officer of, and planning district 

commission for each locality particularly affected; (ii) 

every public library and public school located within five 

miles of such facility; and (iii) the owner of each parcel 

of real property that is depicted as adjacent to the facility 

on the current real estate tax assessment maps of the 

locality. Written comments shall be accepted by the 

board for at least 30 days after any hearing on such 

variance or permit unless the board votes to shorten the 

period. 

2. The department shall post the notice required in 

subdivision 1 a of this subsection on the department 

website and on a department social media account. 

3. Written comments shall be accepted by the board for 

at least 30 days after any hearing on such variance or 

permit, unless the board votes to shorten the period. 

Part VI  

Board Actions  

9VAC5-170-140. Variances.  

A. Pursuant to § 10.1-1307 C of the Virginia Air Pollution 

Control Law, the board may in its discretion grant local 

variances to a provision of the regulations of the board after 

an investigation and public hearing. If a local variance is 

appropriate, the board shall issue an order to this effect. The 

order shall be subject to amendment or revocation at any 

time.  

B. The board shall adopt variances and amend or revoke 

variances if warranted only after conducting a public hearing 

pursuant to public advertisement in at least one major 

newspaper of general circulation in the affected area of the 

subject, date, time, and place of the public hearing at least 30 

days prior to the scheduled hearing.  

C. The public participation procedures of § 10.1-1307.01 of 

the Virginia Air Pollution Control Law shall be followed in 

the consideration of variances. 

D. Notwithstanding the requirements of subsection B of this 

section, if the board finds that there is a locality particularly 

affected by a variance involving (i) a new fossil fuel-fired 

generating facility with a capacity of 500 megawatts or more, 

(ii) a major modification to an existing source that is a fossil 

fuel-fired generating facility with a capacity of 500 

megawatts or more, (iii) a new fossil fuel-fired compressor 

station facility used to transport natural gas, or (iv) a major 

modification to an existing source that is a fossil fuel-fired 

compressor station facility used to transport natural gas: 

1. The applicant shall perform the following: 

a. Publish a notice in at least one local paper of general 

circulation in any locality particularly affected at least 60 

days prior to the close of any public comment period. 

Such notice shall (i) contain a statement of the estimated 

local impact of the proposed action; (ii) provide 

information regarding specific pollutants and the total 

quantity of each that may be emitted; (iii) list the type, 

quantity, and source of any fuel to be used; (iv) advise 

the public how to request board consideration; and (v) 

advise the public where to obtain information regarding 

the proposed action. The department shall post such 

notice on the department website and on a department 

social media account; and 

b. Mail the notice to (i) the chief elected official of, chief 

administrative officer of, and planning district 

commission for each locality particularly affected; (ii) 

every public library and public school located within five 

miles of such facility; and (iii) the owner of each parcel 

of real property that is depicted as adjacent to the facility 

on the current real estate tax assessment maps of the 

locality. Written comments shall be accepted by the 

board for at least 30 days after any hearing on such 

variance or permit unless the board votes to shorten the 

period. 

2. The department shall post the notice required in 

subdivision 1 a of this subsection on the department 

website and on a department social media account. 
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3. Written comments shall be accepted by the board for at 

least 30 days after any hearing on such variance or permit, 

unless the board votes to shorten the period. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R21-6451; Filed September 23, 2020, 5:03 a.m.  

VIRGINIA WASTE MANAGEMENT BOARD 

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Virginia Waste Management 

Board is claiming an exemption from Article 2 of the 

Administrative Process Act in accordance with § 2.2-4006 A 

4 a of the Code of Virginia, which excludes regulations that 

are necessary to conform to changes in Virginia statutory law 

or the appropriation act where no agency discretion is 

involved. The Virginia Waste Management Board will 

receive, consider, and respond to petitions by any interested 

person at any time with respect to reconsideration or revision. 

Title of Regulation: 9VAC20-81. Solid Waste Management 

Regulations (amending 9VAC20-81-40).  

Statutory Authority: § 10.1-1402 of the Code of Virginia; 

42 USC § 6941 et seq.; 40 CFR Part 258. 

Effective Date: November 11, 2020.  

Agency Contact: Debra Harris, Policy and Planning 

Specialist, Department of Environmental Quality, P.O. Box 

1105, Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 698-4209, or 

email debra.harris@deq.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

Chapter 621 of the 2020 Acts of Assembly prohibits the 

disposal of solid waste in an unpermitted facility and 

provides that the presences of unpermitted solid waste on a 

person's property is prima facie evidence that the person 

allowed solid waste to be disposed of on his property 

without a permit. This regulatory action aligns the 

regulation with Chapter 621.  

9VAC20-81-40. Prohibitions. 

A. No person shall operate any sanitary landfill or other 

facility for the disposal, treatment, or storage of solid waste 

without a permit from the director.  

B. No person shall allow waste to be disposed of or 

otherwise managed on his property except in accordance with 

this chapter.  

C. It shall be the duty of all persons to dispose of or 

otherwise manage their solid waste in a legal manner.  

D. Any person who violates subsection A, B, or C of this 

section shall immediately cease the activity of improper 

management and the treatment, storage, or disposal of any 

additional wastes and shall initiate such removal, cleanup, or 

closure in place. 

E. Management of lead acid batteries.  

1. No person shall place a used lead acid battery in mixed 

municipal solid waste or discard or otherwise dispose of a 

lead acid battery except by delivery to a battery retailer or 

wholesaler, or to a secondary lead smelter, or to a 

collection or reclamation facility authorized under the laws 

of the Commonwealth or by the United States 

Environmental Protection Agency.  

2. No battery retailer shall dispose of a used lead acid 

battery except by delivery to:  

a. The agent of a battery wholesaler or a secondary lead 

smelter;  

b. A battery manufacturer for delivery to a secondary 

smelter; or  

c. A collection or reclamation facility authorized under 

the laws of the Commonwealth or by the United States 

Environmental Protection Agency.  

3. No person selling new lead acid batteries at wholesale 

shall refuse to accept from customers at the point of 

transfer, used lead acid batteries of the type and in a 

quantity at least equal to the number of new batteries 

purchased, if offered by customers.  

4. The provisions of subdivisions 1 through 3 of this 

subsection shall not be construed to prohibit any person 

who does not sell new lead acid batteries from collecting 

and reclaiming such batteries.  

F. Any locality may, by ordinance, prohibit the disposal of 

cathode ray tubes (CRTs) in any waste to energy or solid 

waste disposal facility within its jurisdiction if it has 

implemented a CRT recycling program that meets the 

requirements of § 10.1-1425.26 of the Code of Virginia.  

G. No person shall dispose of or manage solid waste in an 

unpermitted facility, including by disposing, causing to be 

disposed, or arranging for the disposal of solid waste upon a 

property for which the director has not issued a permit and 

that is not otherwise exempt from permitting requirements. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R21-6486; Filed September 23, 2020, 8:15 a.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 10. FINANCE AND FINANCIAL 
INSTITUTIONS 

STATE CORPORATION COMMISSION 

Proposed Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The State Corporation 

Commission is claiming an exemption from the 

Administrative Process Act in accordance with § 2.2-4002 A 

2 of the Code of Virginia, which exempts courts, any agency 

mailto:debra.harris@deq.virginia.gov


Regulations 

Volume 37, Issue 4 Virginia Register of Regulations October 12, 2020 

603 

of the Supreme Court, and any agency that by the 

Constitution is expressly granted any of the powers of a court 

of record. 

Title of Regulation: 10VAC5-60. Consumer Finance 

Companies (amending 10VAC5-60-20, 10VAC5-60-30, 

10VAC5-60-60; adding 10VAC5-60-5, 10VAC5-60-15, 

10VAC5-60-25, 10VAC5-60-35, 10VAC5-60-45, 10VAC5-

60-55, 10VAC5-60-65, 10VAC5-60-70; repealing 10VAC5-

60-40, 10VAC5-60-50).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 6.2-1535 and 12.1-13 of the Code of 

Virginia.  

Public Hearing Information: A public hearing will be held 

upon request. 

Public Comment Deadline: October 23, 2020. 

Agency Contact: Dustin Physioc, Deputy Commissioner, 

Bureau of Financial Institutions, State Corporation 

Commission, P.O. Box 640, Richmond, VA 23218, telephone 

(804) 786-0831, FAX (804) 371-9416, or email 

dustin.physioc@scc.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The proposed amendments implement Chapters 1215 and 

1258 of the 2020 Acts of Assembly, which will become 

effective on January 1, 2021. Additionally, the proposed 

amendments update the regulation and incorporate an 

assortment of provisions from existing regulations 

governing other types of nondepository institutions also 

licensed and regulated under Title 6.2 of the Code of 

Virginia.  

AT RICHMOND, SEPTEMBER 18, 2020 

COMMONWEALTH OF VIRGINIA, ex rel. 

STATE CORPORATION COMMISSION 

CASE NO. BFI-2020-00055 

Ex Parte: In the matter of Adopting 

Revisions to the Regulations Governing 

Consumer Finance Companies 

ORDER TO TAKE NOTICE 

Section 6.2-1535 of the Code of Virginia ("Code") provides 

that the State Corporation Commission ("Commission") shall 

adopt such regulations as it deems appropriate to effect the 

purposes of Chapter 15 (§ 6.2-1500 et seq.) of Title 6.2 of the 

Code ("Chapter 15"). The Commission's regulations 

governing consumer finance companies are set forth in 

Chapter 60 of Title 10 of the Virginia Administrative Code 

("Chapter 60"). 

The Bureau of Financial Institutions ("Bureau") has 

submitted to the Commission proposed amendments to 

Chapter 60.  The proposed amendments are prompted by 

Chapters 1215 and 1258 of the 2020 Virginia Acts of 

Assembly, which make extensive changes to Chapter 15 that 

will become effective on January 1, 2021. In this regard, the 

Bureau's proposed revisions are primarily designed to 

implement and clarify certain aspects of the legislation. 

Additionally, the Bureau is seeking to generally update 

Chapter 60 in various respects as well as augment it by 

incorporating an assortment of provisions from the 

Commission's existing regulations governing one or more 

other types of non-depository institutions that are also 

licensed and regulated under Title 6.2 of the Code. 

Definitions. 

Proposed section 10 VAC 5-60-5 is new, and it defines 

several terms that are used in Chapter 60, including 

"advertisement," "consumer finance loan," and "liquid 

assets."  

Surety bond; other requirements for licensees; acquisitions. 

Proposed section 10 VAC 5-60-15 is also new, and it: (i) 

provides that all licensees need to maintain a surety bond of at 

least $25,000 notwithstanding the occurrence of certain 

events; (ii) specifies that the unencumbered liquid asset 

requirement is for each place of business; (iii) clarifies the 

provisions governing the relocation of approved offices; and 

(iv) prescribes the amount of the application fee for proposed 

acquisitions under § 6.2-1510 of the Code. The proposal also 

clarifies that licensees must continuously maintain the 

requirements and standards for licensure prescribed in § 6.2-

1507 of the Code. 

Additional business requirements and restrictions. 

The proposed amendments to section 10 VAC 5-60-20 

prohibit a licensee from: (i) requiring a borrower to use a 

particular provider or list of providers for property insurance 

on a motor vehicle being used as security for a loan; (ii) 

charging a borrower a fee for cashing a loan proceeds check; 

(iii) selling or assigning a loan to any other person who is not 

also licensed under Chapter 15; and (iv) providing false, 

misleading, or deceptive information to borrowers or 

prospective borrowers.  Other proposed changes to this 

section clarify: (i) the requirements for receipts given to 

borrowers for cash payments; (ii) that a person remains 

subject to the provisions in Chapter 15 and Chapter 60 that 

are applicable to licensees in connection with all consumer 

finance loans that the person made while licensed 

notwithstanding the occurrence of certain events; and (iii) that 

loans made prior to January 1, 2021, that remain outstanding 

on or after January 1, 2021, may be collected in accordance 

with the preexisting terms of the loan contracts provided that 

such terms were permitted by law when the loans were made. 

The proposed revisions also modify the time period within 

which a licensee must accomplish the acts required by § 6.2-

1524 G of the Code. 

mailto:dustin.physioc@scc.virginia.gov
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Access partners. 

Proposed section 10 VAC 5-60-25 is new, and it clarifies 

various provisions in § 6.2-1523.1 of the Code pertaining to 

access partners and prescribes the information relating to 

licensees' access partners that licensees will be required to 

periodically furnish to the Commissioner of Financial 

Institutions ("Commissioner"). 

Repayment of loans through payroll deductions. 

The proposed amendments to section 10 VAC 5-60-30 

update the existing protections governing the repayment of 

loans through allotments so that they are applicable in all 

cases whereby a licensee offers a borrower the option of 

making payments on a consumer finance loan through 

deductions from the borrower's payroll.  The proposal also 

clarifies that automatic payroll deductions that are established 

and administered in accordance with 10 VAC 5-60-30 are not 

subject to § 6.2-1526 of the Code. 

Advertising. 

Proposed section 10 VAC 5-60-35 is new, and it requires a 

licensee to conspicuously disclose certain information in its 

advertisements, such as the licensee's name and license 

number.  Furthermore, the proposal clarifies that licensees' 

advertisements must comply with the disclosure requirements 

for advertisements contained in Regulation Z (12 C.F.R. Part 

1026), and it specifies the record retention requirements for 

advertisements. 

Conducting other business. 

Proposed section 10 VAC 5-60-45 is also new, and it 

addresses the conduct of any business other than consumer 

finance lending from a location where a licensee conducts 

business under Chapter 15. This section elaborates upon the 

procedural requirements that are established by § 6.2-1518 of 

the Code, particularly as they relate to notices that may be 

filed with the Commissioner on or after January 1, 2021. In 

addition, the proposal clarifies and prescribes the conditions 

that are applicable to a variety of other businesses that may be 

conducted in licensees' consumer finance offices.  The 

conditions largely mirror those found in the Commission's 

existing regulations governing the conduct of other business 

in payday lending offices (10 VAC 5-200-100) and motor 

vehicle title lending offices (10 VAC 5-210-70). Furthermore, 

the proposal addresses the collection of outstanding payday 

loans and motor vehicle title loans from consumer finance 

offices beginning on January 1, 2021, and clarifies that in 

certain circumstances, the sale of insurance or enrolling of 

borrowers under a group insurance policy does not constitute 

other business for purposes of § 6.2-1518 of the Code. 

Since proposed section 10 VAC 5-60-45 incorporates the 

Commission's existing regulations governing the conduct of 

open-end credit business and real estate mortgage business in 

consumer finance offices, the Bureau is proposing to repeal 

section 10 VAC 5-60-40 ("Rules governing open-end credit 

business in licensed consumer finance offices") and section 

10 VAC 5-60-50 ("Rules governing real estate mortgage 

business in licensed consumer finance offices"). 

Books, accounts, and records; responding to requests from the 

Bureau; providing false, misleading, or deceptive 

information. 

Section 10 VAC 5-60-55 is new, and it clarifies the record 

retention requirements for licensees, authorizes records to be 

retained electronically, and addresses the time period within 

which licensees need to respond to the Bureau's requests for 

written responses, books, records, documentation, or other 

information. Additionally, this proposed section furnishes 

licensees with guidance concerning the disposition of records 

containing consumers' personal financial information and 

expressly prohibits licensees from providing any false, 

misleading, or deceptive information to the Bureau. 

Schedule prescribing annual fees paid for examination, 

supervision, and regulation of consumer finance companies. 

Section 10 VAC 5-60-60 contains several technical 

amendments and clarifies that a licensee's annual fee is 

calculated on the basis of its total assets combined with the 

total assets of its affiliates conducting business in any of its 

authorized offices. 

Enforcement; civil penalties. 

Section 10 VAC 5-60-65 is new, and it clarifies that 

violations of Chapter 15 or the Commission's regulations 

governing consumer finance companies may result in civil 

penalties, license suspension, license revocation, or other 

appropriate enforcement action.  This proposed section also 

explains how the maximum civil penalty under § 6.2-1543 of 

the Code is applied in the case of violations involving 

multiple loans or borrowers. 

Commission authority. 

The last new section, 10 VAC 5-60-70, preserves the 

Commission's authority to waive or grant exceptions to any 

provision in Chapter 60 for good cause shown. 

NOW THE COMMISSION, based on the information 

supplied by the Bureau, is of the opinion and finds that the 

proposed regulations should be considered for adoption with 

a proposed effective date of January 1, 2021. 

Accordingly, IT IS ORDERED THAT: 

(1) The proposed regulations are attached hereto and made a 

part hereof. 

(2) Comments or requests for a hearing on the proposed 

regulations must be submitted in writing to the Clerk of the 

Commission, State Corporation Commission, c/o Document 

Control Center, P.O. Box 2118, Richmond, Virginia 23218, 

on or before October 23, 2020. Requests for a hearing shall 
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state why a hearing is necessary and why the issues cannot be 

adequately addressed in written comments. All 

correspondence shall contain a reference to Case No. 

BFI-2020-00055. Interested persons desiring to submit 

comments or request a hearing electronically may do so by 

following the instructions available at the Commission's 

website: https://scc.virginia.gov/casecomments/Submit-

Public-Comments. 

(3) This Order and the attached proposed regulations shall 

be made available on the Commission's website: 

https://scc.virginia.gov/pages/Case-Information. 

(4) The Commission's Division of Information Resources 

shall provide a copy of this Order, including a copy of the 

attached proposed regulations, to the Virginia Registrar of 

Regulations for publication in the Virginia Register of 

Regulations. 

A COPY hereof, together with a copy of the proposed 

regulations, shall be sent by the Clerk of the Commission to 

the Commission's Office of General Counsel and the 

Commissioner of Financial Institutions, who shall send by e-

mail or U.S. mail a copy of this Order, together with a copy 

of the proposed regulations, to all licensed consumer finance 

companies and such other interested persons as he may 

designate. 

10VAC5-60-5. Definitions. 

A. The following words and terms when used in this chapter 

shall have the following meanings unless the context clearly 

indicates otherwise: 

"Act" means Chapter 15 (§ 6.2-1500 et seq.) of Title 6.2 of 

the Code of Virginia. 

"Advertisement" means a commercial message in any 

medium that promotes, directly or indirectly, a consumer 

finance loan. The term includes a communication sent to a 

consumer as part of a solicitation of business but excludes 

messages on promotional items such as pens, pencils, 

notepads, hats, and calendars. 

"Consumer finance loan" means a loan made to an 

individual for personal, family, household, or other 

nonbusiness purposes. 

"Liquid assets," for purposes of the Act and this chapter, 

means funds held in a checking account or savings account at 

a depository institution, money market funds, commercial 

paper, and treasury bills. 

B. Other terms used in this chapter shall have the meanings 

set forth in § 6.2-100 or 6.2-1500 of the Code of Virginia. 

10VAC5-60-15. Surety bond; other requirements for 

licensees; acquisitions. 

A. Every licensee and applicant for a license shall file and 

continuously maintain in full force a surety bond that meets 

the requirements of § 6.2-1523.3 of the Code of Virginia. The 

minimum bond amount required shall be $25,000. The form 

of the bond will be prescribed and provided by the 

commissioner. 

B. If a person has filed a surety bond with the commissioner, 

the bond shall be retained by the commissioner 

notwithstanding the occurrence of any of the following 

events: 

1. The person's application for a license is withdrawn or 

denied;  

2. The person's license is surrendered, suspended, or 

revoked; or  

3. The person ceases engaging in business as a consumer 

finance company.  

C. A licensee shall at all times maintain unencumbered 

liquid assets of at least $25,000 per place of business. A 

licensee shall upon request by the bureau submit proof that it 

is complying with the provisions of this subsection. 

D. A proposed office location specified in an application 

filed under § 6.2-1505 or 6.2-1508.1 A of the Code of 

Virginia shall be deemed to be open for purposes of the Act 

and this chapter effective upon the date that the application 

was either approved by the commission or deemed approved 

pursuant to § 6.2-1508.1 A. 

E. A licensee shall notify the bureau in writing and pay a 

$250 fee within 10 days of relocating any approved office 

that is located either within or outside of the Commonwealth. 

The bureau shall furnish the licensee with a replacement 

license certificate that identifies the new location upon 

finding that the new location is in the same county, city, or 

town as the old location or in a contiguous county, city, or 

town. The licensee shall also notify the bureau in writing 

within 10 days of commencing business at the relocated place 

of business. 

F. A licensee shall continuously maintain the requirements 

and standards for licensure prescribed in § 6.2-1507 of the 

Code of Virginia. 

G. Any person submitting an application to acquire, directly 

or indirectly, 25% or more of the voting shares of a 

corporation or 25% or more of the ownership of any other 

person licensed to conduct business under the Act shall pay a 

nonrefundable application fee of $500.  

10VAC5-60-20. Time limit for compliance Additional 

business requirements and restrictions.  

A. Licensees shall have 30 10 calendar days after the date a 

consumer finance loan is paid in full, or a judgment is 

satisfied, or a borrower's obligation is otherwise terminated to 

accomplish the acts required by § 6.2-1524 G of the Code of 

Virginia.  

https://scc.virginia.gov/casecomments/Submit-Public-Comments
https://scc.virginia.gov/casecomments/Submit-Public-Comments
https://scc.virginia.gov/pages/Case-Information
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Failure so to comply within that time limit shall constitute a 

violation of the subsection, which violation will result in 

penalties as provided by law.  

B. A licensee shall not require a borrower to purchase or 

maintain property insurance for a motor vehicle used as 

security for a consumer finance loan from or through a 

particular provider or list of providers. 

C. If a licensee disburses loan proceeds by means of a 

check, neither the licensee nor an affiliate or subsidiary of the 

licensee shall charge the borrower a fee for cashing the check. 

D. A licensee shall give a borrower a signed and dated 

receipt for each cash payment made in person, which shall 

state the balance due on the consumer finance loan. 

E. A licensee shall not sell or otherwise assign a consumer 

finance loan to any other person who is not also licensed 

under the Act. If a consumer finance loan is sold or assigned 

to another licensee, the purchaser or assignee shall be subject 

to the same obligations and limitations under the Act and this 

chapter that were applicable to the licensee that sold or 

assigned the loan. 

F. Nothing in the Act or this chapter shall be construed to 

prohibit a licensee from (i) voluntarily accepting a payment 

on an outstanding consumer finance loan from a borrower 

after the date that such payment was due to the licensee or (ii) 

considering a payment to be timely if it is made more than 10 

calendar days after its due date. However, except as otherwise 

permitted by the Act and this chapter, the licensee shall not 

charge, contract for, collect, receive, recover, or require a 

borrower to pay any additional interest, fees, or other 

amounts. 

G. A licensee shall comply with all federal laws and 

regulations applicable to the conduct of its business, 

including the Truth in Lending Act (15 USC § 1601 et seq.), 

Regulation Z (12 CFR Part 1026), the Equal Credit 

Opportunity Act (15 USC § 1691 et seq.), Regulation B (12 

CFR Part 1002), and the Standards for Safeguarding 

Customer Information (16 CFR Part 314). 

H. A person shall remain subject to the provisions of the Act 

and this chapter applicable to licensees in connection with all 

consumer finance loans that the person made while licensed 

as a consumer finance company notwithstanding the 

occurrence of any of the following events: 

1. The person's license is surrendered, suspended, or 

revoked; or 

2. The person ceases making consumer finance loans. 

I. A licensee shall not provide any information to a borrower 

or prospective borrower that is false, misleading, or 

deceptive. 

J. A licensee shall not engage in any business or activity that 

directly or indirectly results in an evasion of the provisions of 

the Act or this chapter. 

K. Consumer finance loans made prior to January 1, 2021, 

that remain outstanding on or after January 1, 2021, may be 

collected in accordance with the preexisting terms of the loan 

contracts provided that such terms were permitted by law 

when the loans were made. 

10VAC5-60-25. Access partners. 

A. A licensee shall not enter into or maintain a contract with 

another person that requires or authorizes the person to 

provide any of the services described in § 6.2-1523.1 A 4 of 

the Code of Virginia unless (i) the person is an access partner, 

as defined in § 6.2-1500 of the Code of Virginia; and (ii) 

pursuant to such definition, the person will be providing the 

services from one or more physical locations in the 

Commonwealth. 

B. A licensee's access partner shall comply with the 

requirements and prohibitions set forth in § 6.2-1523.1 A 2 of 

the Code of Virginia regardless of whether such provisions 

are specified in the access partner's written agreement with 

the licensee.  

C. A licensee shall provide the commissioner with the 

following information in such form as the commissioner may 

require: 

1. A list of the licensee's current access partners. 

2. The physical addresses of all locations at which each 

access partner is performing services for the licensee. 

3. A description of the services that each access partner is 

performing for the licensee. 

4. The name, address, telephone number, and email address 

of an employee of the access partner who will be the point 

of contact for the bureau. 

5. Such additional information relating to the licensee's 

access partners as the commissioner may require. 

D. Unless otherwise directed by the commissioner, the 

information required by subsection C of this section shall be 

provided by February 15, May 15, August 15, and November 

15 of each year. 

10VAC5-60-30. Allotment program loans; applicability; 

definitions; rules Repayment of loans through payroll 

deductions.  

A. This chapter applies to all licensees under Chapter 15 

(§ 6.2-1500 et seq.) of Title 6.2 of the Code of Virginia 

making any loan under Chapter 15 of Title 6.2 of the Code of 

Virginia in connection with which loan a borrower authorizes 

an allotment and automatic disbursement from an account for 

the purpose of making any payments required by the loan 

agreement. Such a loan is referred to herein as an "allotment 
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program loan." This section governs when a borrower 

authorizes the borrower's employer to deduct funds from the 

borrower's payroll (i.e., wages or other compensation for 

services rendered) and remit such funds, directly or indirectly, 

to a licensee for the purpose of repaying, in whole or in part, 

the borrower's consumer finance loan. 

B. As used in this chapter the following terms shall have the 

following meanings:  

"Allotment" means payment of any part of a borrower's 

military pay to a financial institution as permitted under 

federal law and regulations.  

"Automatic disbursement" means payment, by a financial 

institution to a licensee, of funds received pursuant to an 

allotment.  

"Borrower" means any person in the United States military 

service obligated, directly or contingently, to repay a loan 

made by a licensee.  

"Licensee" has the meaning set forth in § 6.2-1500 of the 

Code of Virginia.  

C.1. No A licensee may offer a borrower the option of 

making payments on a consumer finance loan through 

deductions from the borrower's payroll. However, a licensee 

shall not require any allotment or automatic disbursement, a 

borrower to (i) repay a consumer finance loan, in whole or in 

part, through one or more deductions from the borrower's 

payroll or a borrower's execution of (ii) execute a payroll 

deduction authorization or the Allotment Payroll Deduction 

Disclosure Form appended to this chapter, prescribed in 

subsection G of this section as a condition to making a loan 

under Chapter 15 (§ 6.2-1500 et seq.) of Title 6.2 of the Code 

of Virginia the Act. For purposes of this subsection, a payroll 

deduction authorization includes a loan agreement or other 

document that contains a payroll deduction authorization. 

2. A licensee making an allotment program loan C. If a 

borrower voluntarily elects to repay a consumer finance loan, 

in whole or in part, through payroll deductions, the licensee 

shall bear all costs and expenses incident to the allotment and 

automatic disbursement arising from or related to the 

establishment or administration of such deductions. 

3. D. When making an allotment program loan giving a 

borrower the option of making payments on a consumer 

finance loan through payroll deductions, a licensee shall use 

furnish the borrower with the Allotment Payroll Deduction 

Disclosure Form appended to this chapter prescribed in 

subsection G of this section. The form shall be a single 

document printed or typed without alteration on one side of a 

paper in at least 12-point type separate from all other papers 

or documents obtained by the licensee in type of size not less 

than that known as 12 point. All blanks on the form, other 

than those blanks to be filled in with the name of the licensee 

shall be filled in by the borrower, and the filled-in form shall 

be signed and dated by the borrower. The completed form 

shall be kept in the separate loan file maintained with respect 

to the loan for the period specified in § 6.2-1533 of the Code 

of Virginia.  

4. E. No licensee making an allotment program a loan that 

will be repaid, in whole or in part, through payroll deductions 

shall withhold any part of the proceeds of the loan to be 

applied to any payment required under the loan.  

F. Automatic payroll deductions that are established and 

administered in accordance with the provisions of this section 

are not subject to § 6.2-1526 of the Code of Virginia. 

Attachment: Allotment Disclosure Form 

G. The required text of the Payroll Deduction Disclosure 

Form shall be as follows: 

ALLOTMENT PAYROLL DEDUCTION DISCLOSURE 

FORM  

1. I, (APPLICANT'S NAME), intend to apply for an 

allotment of my military pay authorize my employer to 

deduct funds from my (WEEKLY / BIWEEKLY / 

MONTHLY) paycheck in the amount of $(AMOUNT) per 

month to an account in my name at (FINANCIAL 

INSTITUTION).  

2. I also intend to authorize disbursement of funds from my 

account at (FINANCIAL INSTITUTION) in the amount of 

$ (AMOUNT) per month for the purpose of making 

monthly payments on my loan with (FINANCE 

(CONSUMER FINANCE COMPANY). I understand that 

my employer will be sending this amount to (CONSUMER 

FINANCE COMPANY) each payroll period. 

3. 2. I am authorizing the allotment and automatic 

disbursement payroll deductions voluntarily and solely for 

my own convenience, and I acknowledge that (FINANCE 

(CONSUMER FINANCE COMPANY) has not required 

me to authorize the allotment or automatic disbursement 

payroll deductions, or to sign this form, as a condition to 

making me a loan.  

4. 3. I understand that I can cancel the allotment and 

automatic disbursement payroll deductions at any time, and 

I understand that I am not obligated to pay any fee or 

charge to any person or company, directly or indirectly, for 

the allotment or automatic disbursement payroll 

deductions.  

      

(Applicant's Signature) 

Applicant's Signature 

  (Date) Date 

10VAC5-60-35. Advertising. 

A. A licensee shall conspicuously disclose the following 

information in its advertisements:  
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1. The name of the licensee as set forth in the license 

issued by the commission. 

2. A statement that the licensee is "licensed by the Virginia 

State Corporation Commission." 

3. The license number assigned by the commission to the 

licensee (i.e., CFI-XXX). 

B. A licensee shall not deliver or cause to be delivered to a 

consumer any envelope or other written material that gives 

the false impression that the mailing or written material is an 

official communication from a governmental entity, unless 

required by the United States Postal Service. 

C. Every advertisement used by, or published on behalf of, a 

licensee shall comply with the disclosure requirements for 

advertisements contained in Regulation Z (12 CFR Part 

1026). 

D. Every licensee shall retain for at least three years after it 

is last published, delivered, transmitted, or made available, an 

example of every advertisement used, including solicitation 

letters, print media proofs, commercial scripts, and recordings 

of all radio and television broadcasts, but excluding copies of 

internet web pages. 

E. For purposes of this section, the term "conspicuously" 

means that the required disclosures are prominently located 

and readily noticeable by a potential borrower.  

10VAC5-60-40. Rules governing open-end credit business 

in licensed consumer finance offices. (Repealed.) 

A. The business of extending open-end credit shall be 

conducted by a separate legal entity, and not by the consumer 

finance licensee. The separate, open-end credit entity 

("separate entity") shall comply with all applicable state and 

federal laws.  

B. Separate books and records shall be maintained by the 

licensee and the separate entity, and the books and records of 

the licensee shall not be commingled with those of the 

separate entity, but shall be kept in a different location within 

the office. The Bureau of Financial Institutions shall be given 

access to the books and records of the separate entity, and 

shall be furnished such information as it may require in order 

to assure compliance with this section.  

C. The expenses of the two entities will be accounted for 

separately and so reported to the Bureau of Financial 

Institutions as of the end of each calendar year.  

D. Advertising or other information published by the 

licensee or the separate entity shall not contain any false, 

misleading or deceptive statement or representation 

concerning the rates, terms or conditions for loans or credit 

made or extended by either of them. The separate entity shall 

not make or cause to be made any misrepresentation as to its 

being a licensed lender, or as to the extent to which it is 

subject to supervision or regulation.  

E. The licensee and the separate entity shall not make both a 

consumer finance loan and an extension of open-end credit to 

the same borrower or borrowers as part of the same 

transaction.  

F. Except as authorized by the Commissioner of Financial 

Institutions, or by order of the State Corporation Commission, 

insurance, other than credit life insurance, credit accident and 

sickness insurance, credit involuntary unemployment 

insurance, and noncredit-related life insurance sold pursuant 

to 10VAC5-70-10 et seq. shall not be sold in licensed 

consumer finance offices in connection with any extension of 

open-end credit by the separate entity.  

G. When the balance owed under an open-end credit 

agreement is paid, finance charges will be assessed only to 

the date of payment.  

10VAC5-60-45. Conducting other business. 

A. This section governs the conduct of any business other 

than consumer finance lending where a licensed consumer 

finance lending business is conducted. As used in this section, 

the term "other business operator" refers to a licensed 

consumer finance company or third party, including an 

affiliate or subsidiary of the licensed consumer finance 

company, that conducts or wants to conduct other business 

from one or more consumer finance offices.  

1. This section shall not apply to any other business that is 

transacted solely with persons residing outside of the 

Commonwealth.  

2. If a licensee accepts loan applications, sends or receives 

loan-related information or documents, disburses loan 

funds, or accepts loan payments on or through the 

licensee's website or mobile application, and any other 

products or services are or will be offered or sold to 

Virginia residents on or through such website or mobile 

application, then the offer or sale of such other products or 

services shall constitute the conduct of other business and 

shall be subject to all of the provisions of this section to the 

same extent as if such other business was conducted by an 

other business operator from the licensee's consumer 

finance offices. 

B. Notwithstanding any provision of this section or authority 

obtained under § 6.2-1518 of the Code of Virginia or a 

predecessor statute prior to January 1, 2021, a licensee shall 

not make consumer finance loans at the same location at 

which the licensee, or any affiliate or subsidiary of the 

licensee, conducts business under Chapter 18 (§ 6.2-1800 et 

seq.) or Chapter 22 (§ 6.2-2200 et seq.) of Title 6.2 of the 

Code of Virginia. However, if prior to January 1, 2021, a 

licensee obtained authority under § 6.2-1518 or a predecessor 

statute for the licensee or its affiliate or subsidiary to make 

payday loans or motor vehicle title loans from the licensee's 

consumer finance offices, then the licensee or its affiliate or 

subsidiary may continue collecting payments on any 
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outstanding payday loans or motor vehicle title loans (i) in 

accordance with the preexisting terms of the loan contracts 

provided that such terms were permitted by law when the 

loans were made, and (ii) subject to the general conditions set 

forth in subsection F of this section. 

C. The sale of insurance or enrolling of borrowers under a 

group insurance policy by a licensee shall not constitute other 

business for purposes of § 6.2-1518 of the Code of Virginia 

or this section when such insurance covers potential risks or 

losses associated with consumer finance loans made by the 

licensee. This subsection shall be applicable only to (i) credit 

life insurance, credit accident and sickness insurance, credit 

involuntary unemployment insurance, non-filing insurance, 

and property insurance; and (ii) other types of insurance that 

the commissioner determines meet the condition prescribed in 

this subsection. 

D. If prior to January 1, 2021, a licensee obtained authority 

under § 6.2-1518 of the Code of Virginia or a predecessor 

statute for an other business operator to conduct other 

business in its consumer finance offices, then the following 

rules shall govern: 

1. If the other business is identified in subsections G 

through R of this section, then the other business shall be 

conducted in accordance with (i) the general conditions set 

forth in subsection F of this section and (ii) the specific 

conditions prescribed for such business in subsections G 

through R of this section. These conditions shall supersede 

the conditions that were prescribed by regulation or 

established by the commissioner at the time the authority 

was obtained. Subject to the conditions referenced in this 

subsection, the other business may be conducted in any or 

all of the licensee's consumer finance offices. 

2. If the other business is not identified in subsections G 

through R of this section, then the other business shall be 

conducted in accordance with (i) the general conditions set 

forth in subsection F of this section and (ii) the most recent 

set of conditions that were established by the 

commissioner. Subject to these conditions, the other 

business may be conducted in any or all of the licensee's 

consumer finance offices. 

E. Beginning January 1, 2021, if a licensee seeks to conduct 

the business of making consumer finance loans from one or 

more of its consumer finance offices in which an other 

business operator will conduct other business, then the 

licensee shall give the commissioner written notice at least 30 

days prior to the conduct of the other business, pay a fee of 

$300, and provide the commissioner with any additional 

information pertaining to the other business that the 

commissioner may require. 

1. If the other business specified in the licensee's written 

notice is identified in subsections G through R of this 

section, then the other business shall be conducted in 

accordance with (i) the general conditions set forth in 

subsection F of this section and (ii) the specific conditions 

prescribed for such business in subsections G through R of 

this section. 

2. If the other business specified in the licensee's written 

notice is not identified in subsections G through R of this 

section, then the following rules shall govern: 

a. The commissioner may, after providing notice to the 

licensee and offering the licensee an opportunity to 

request a hearing before the commission, prohibit or 

establish additional conditions for the conduct of such 

other business in the licensee's consumer finance offices 

if the commissioner finds that the other business is or 

would otherwise be (i) of such a nature or conducted in 

such a manner as to conceal or facilitate a violation or 

evasion of the provisions of the Act or this chapter; (ii) 

contrary to the public interest; or (iii) conducted in an 

unlawful manner. 

b. Unless the conduct of such other business is 

prohibited, the other business shall be conducted in 

accordance with (i) the general conditions set forth in 

subsection F of this section and (ii) any specific 

conditions established by the commissioner pursuant to 

this subdivision. 

3. Subject to the other provisions in this subsection and 

except as otherwise provided in subdivision E 2 of this 

section, the other business may be conducted in any or all 

of the licensee's consumer finance offices beginning on the 

earlier of (i) 30 days after the licensee furnishes the 

commissioner with the written notice, payment, and any 

additional information required by the commissioner, or 

(ii) the date the commissioner notifies the licensee that the 

other business may be conducted in the licensee's offices. 

F. All other businesses conducted from a licensee's 

consumer finance offices shall be conducted in accordance 

with the following conditions: 

1. The licensee shall not make a consumer finance loan to a 

borrower to enable the borrower to purchase or pay any 

amount owed in connection with the (i) goods or services 

sold, or (ii) loans offered, facilitated, or made, by the other 

business operator from the licensee's consumer finance 

offices. 

2. The other business operator shall comply with all federal 

and state laws and regulations applicable to its other 

business, including any applicable licensing or registration 

requirements. 

3. The other business operator shall not use or cause to be 

published any advertisement or other information that 

contains any false, misleading, or deceptive statement or 

representation concerning its other business, including the 

rates, terms, or conditions of the products, services, or 
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loans that it offers. The other business operator shall not 

make or cause to be made any misrepresentation as to (i) 

its being licensed to conduct the other business or (ii) the 

extent to which it is subject to supervision or regulation. 

4. The licensee shall not make a consumer finance loan or 

vary the terms of a consumer finance loan on the condition 

or requirement that a person also (i) purchase a good or 

service from, or (ii) obtain a loan from or through, the 

other business operator. The other business operator shall 

not (a) sell its goods or services, (b) offer, facilitate, or 

make loans, or (c) vary the terms of its goods, services, or 

loans, on the condition or requirement that a person also 

obtain a consumer finance loan from the licensee. 

5. The other business operator shall maintain books and 

records for its other business separate and apart from the 

licensee's consumer finance lending business and in a 

different location within the licensee's consumer finance 

offices. The bureau shall be given access to all such books 

and records and be furnished with any information and 

records that it may require in order to determine 

compliance with all applicable conditions, laws, and 

regulations. 

G. The following additional conditions shall be applicable to 

conducting open-end credit business from a licensee's 

consumer finance offices, which, for purposes of this section, 

includes a line of credit business, a revolving loan business, 

and the servicing of open-end loans, lines of credit, and 

revolving loans: 

1. The licensee shall not make a consumer finance loan to a 

person if (i) the person has an outstanding open-end loan 

from the other business operator or (ii) on the same day the 

person repaid or satisfied in full an open-end loan from the 

other business operator. 

2. The other business operator shall not make an open-end 

loan to a person if (i) the person has an outstanding 

consumer finance loan from the licensee or (ii) on the same 

day the person repaid or satisfied in full a consumer 

finance loan from the licensee. 

3. The licensee and other business operator shall not make 

a consumer finance loan and an open-end loan 

contemporaneously or in response to a single request for a 

loan or credit. 

4. The licensee and other business operator shall provide 

each applicant for a consumer finance loan or open-end 

loan with a separate disclosure, signed by the applicant, 

that clearly identifies all of the loan products available in 

the licensee's consumer finance offices along with the 

corresponding Annual Percentage Rate, interest rate, and 

other costs associated with each loan product. The 

disclosure shall also identify the collateral, if any, that will 

be used to secure repayment of each loan product. 

H. The following additional conditions shall be applicable to 

conducting business under Chapter 18 (§ 6.2-1800 et seq.) of 

Title 6.2 of the Code of Virginia from a licensee's consumer 

finance offices: 

1. Pursuant to § 6.2-1507 A 4 of the Code of Virginia, the 

other business shall be conducted by a person other than 

the licensee or an affiliate or subsidiary of the licensee. 

2. The licensee shall not make a consumer finance loan to a 

person if (i) the person has an outstanding short-term loan 

from the other business operator or (ii) on the same day the 

person repaid or satisfied in full a short-term loan from the 

other business operator. 

3. The other business operator shall not make a short-term 

loan to a person if (i) the person has an outstanding 

consumer finance loan from the licensee or (ii) on the same 

day the person repaid or satisfied in full a consumer 

finance loan from the licensee. 

4. The licensee and other business operator shall not make 

a consumer finance loan and a short-term loan 

contemporaneously or in response to a single request for a 

loan or credit. 

5. The licensee and other business operator shall provide 

each applicant for a consumer finance loan or short-term 

loan with a separate disclosure, signed by the applicant, 

that clearly identifies all of the loan products available in 

the licensee's consumer finance offices along with the 

corresponding Annual Percentage Rate, interest rate, and 

other costs associated with each loan product. The 

disclosure shall also identify the collateral, if any, that will 

be used to secure repayment of each loan product. 

I. The following additional conditions shall be applicable to 

conducting business under Chapter 22 (§ 6.2-2200 et seq.) of 

Title 6.2 of the Code of Virginia from a licensee's consumer 

finance offices: 

1. Pursuant to § 6.2-1507 A 4 of the Code of Virginia, the 

other business shall be conducted by a person other than 

the licensee or an affiliate or subsidiary of the licensee. 

2. The licensee shall not make a consumer finance loan to a 

person if (i) the person has an outstanding motor vehicle 

title loan from the other business operator or (ii) on the 

same day the person repaid or satisfied in full a motor 

vehicle title loan from the other business operator. 

3. The other business operator shall not make a motor 

vehicle title loan to a person if (i) the person has an 

outstanding consumer finance loan from the licensee or (ii) 

on the same day the person repaid or satisfied in full a 

consumer finance loan from the licensee. 

4. The licensee and other business operator shall not make 

a consumer finance loan and a motor vehicle title loan 
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contemporaneously or in response to a single request for a 

loan or credit. 

5. The licensee and other business operator shall provide 

each applicant for a consumer finance loan or motor 

vehicle title loan with a separate disclosure, signed by the 

applicant, that clearly identifies all of the loan products 

available in the licensee's consumer finance offices along 

with the corresponding Annual Percentage Rate, interest 

rate, and other costs associated with each loan product. The 

disclosure shall also identify the collateral, if any, that will 

be used to secure repayment of each loan product. 

J. The following additional condition shall be applicable to 

conducting a mortgage lender or mortgage broker business 

from a licensee's consumer finance offices: the licensee and 

other business operator shall not make a consumer finance 

loan and make or broker a mortgage loan contemporaneously 

or in response to a single request for a loan or credit. 

K. The following additional conditions shall be applicable to 

conducting an auto club membership business from a 

licensee's consumer finance offices: 

1. A membership shall not be sold to any person who does 

not own or lease an automobile, motorcycle, mobile home, 

truck, van, or other vehicle operated on public highways 

and streets. 

2. A renewal membership shall not be offered or sold more 

than one month prior to the expiration of a current 

membership term. 

3. A membership shall not be offered or sold for more than 

a three-year term. 

L. The following additional conditions shall be applicable to 

conducting business as an authorized delegate or agent of a 

money order seller or money transmitter from a licensee's 

consumer finance offices: 

1. The other business operator shall be and remain a party 

to a written agreement to act as an authorized delegate or 

agent of a person licensed or exempt from licensing as a 

money order seller or money transmitter under Chapter 19 

(§ 6.2-1900 et seq.) of Title 6.2 of the Code of Virginia. 

2. The other business operator shall not engage in money 

order sales or money transmission services on its own 

behalf or on behalf of any person other than a licensed or 

exempt money order seller or money transmitter with 

whom it has a written agreement. 

M. The following additional conditions shall be applicable 

to conducting the business of (i) tax preparation or electronic 

tax filing services, or (ii) facilitating third party tax 

preparation or electronic tax filing services, from a licensee's 

consumer finance offices: 

1. The other business operator shall not engage in the 

business of (i) accepting funds for transmission to the 

Internal Revenue Service or other government 

instrumentalities, or (ii) receiving tax refunds for delivery 

to individuals, unless licensed or exempt from licensing 

under Chapter 19 (§ 6.2-1900 et seq.) of Title 6.2 of the 

Code of Virginia. 

2. The licensee shall not make a consumer finance loan 

that is secured by an interest in a borrower's tax refund. 

N. The following additional conditions shall be applicable to 

conducting the business of facilitating or arranging tax refund 

anticipation loans or tax refund payments from a licensee's 

consumer finance offices: 

1. The other business operator shall not engage in the 

business of receiving tax refunds or tax refund payments 

for delivery to individuals unless licensed or exempt from 

licensing under Chapter 19 (§ 6.2-1900 et seq.) of Title 6.2 

of the Code of Virginia. 

2. The other business operator shall not facilitate or arrange 

a tax refund anticipation loan or tax refund payment to 

enable a person to pay any amount owed to the licensee as 

a result of a consumer finance loan transaction. 

3. The other business operator and the licensee shall not 

facilitate or arrange a tax refund anticipation loan or tax 

refund payment and make a consumer finance loan 

contemporaneously or in response to a single request for a 

loan or credit. 

4. The licensee shall not make a consumer finance loan 

that is secured by an interest in a borrower's tax refund. 

5. The licensee and other business operator shall provide 

each applicant for a consumer finance loan or tax refund 

anticipation loan with a separate disclosure, signed by the 

applicant, that clearly identifies all of the loan products 

available in the licensee's consumer finance offices along 

with the corresponding Annual Percentage Rate, interest 

rate, and other costs associated with each loan product. The 

disclosure shall also identify the collateral, if any, that will 

be used to secure repayment of each loan product. 

O. The following additional conditions shall be applicable to 

conducting business as a check casher from a licensee's 

consumer finance offices: 

1. Pursuant to § 6.2-2107 of the Code of Virginia, the 

check casher business shall be conducted by a person other 

than the licensee unless the licensee would not be required 

to be registered under Chapter 21 (§ 6.2-2100 et seq.) of 

Title 6.2 of the Code of Virginia. 

2. The other business operator shall not charge a fee to 

cash a check issued by the licensee or any other person 

operating in the licensee's consumer finance offices. 

P. The following additional condition shall be applicable to 

conducting the business of operating an automated teller 

machine from a licensee's consumer finance offices: the other 
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business operator shall not charge a fee or receive other 

compensation in connection with the use of its automated 

teller machine by a person when the person is withdrawing 

funds in order to make a payment on a loan that was made by 

the licensee or any other lender conducting business from the 

licensee's consumer finance offices. 

Q. The following additional condition shall be applicable to 

conducting the business of selling noncredit-related life 

insurance from a licensee's consumer finance offices: the 

licensee and other business operator shall comply with 

10VAC5-70, Sale of Noncredit-Related Life Insurance in 

Consumer Finance Offices. 

R. The conduct of the following businesses from a licensee's 

consumer finance offices shall have no conditions other than 

the conditions prescribed in subsection F of this section: 

1. Mortgage servicing business. 

2. Sales finance business. 

S. Notwithstanding any other provision of this section, the 

commissioner may, after providing notice to affected 

licensees and offering them an opportunity to request a 

hearing before the commission, establish additional 

conditions for the conduct of any other business in consumer 

finance offices if the commissioner finds that the other 

business is or would otherwise be (i) of such a nature or 

conducted in such a manner as to conceal or facilitate a 

violation or evasion of the provisions of the Act or this 

chapter; (ii) contrary to the public interest; or (iii) conducted 

in an unlawful manner. 

T. Failure by a licensee or other business operator to comply 

with any provision of this section or any condition established 

by the commissioner, or failure by a licensee to comply with 

the Act or this chapter, may result in revocation of the 

authority to conduct other business or any form of 

enforcement action specified in 10VAC5-60-65. 

10VAC5-60-50. Rules governing real estate mortgage 

business in licensed consumer finance offices. (Repealed.) 

A. The business of making or purchasing loans secured by 

liens on real estate shall be conducted by a separate legal 

entity, and not by the consumer finance licensee. This 

separate, mortgage entity ("separate entity") shall comply 

with all applicable state and federal laws.  

B. Separate books and records shall be maintained by the 

consumer finance licensee and the separate entity, and the 

books and records of the consumer finance licensee shall not 

be commingled with those of the separate entity, but shall be 

kept in a different location within the office. The Bureau of 

Financial Institutions shall be given access to the books and 

records of the separate entity, and shall be furnished such 

information as it may require in order to assure compliance 

with this section.  

C. The expenses of the two entities shall be accounted for 

separately and so reported to the Bureau of Financial 

Institutions as of the end of each calendar year.  

D. Advertising or other information published by the 

consumer finance licensee or the separate entity shall not 

contain any false, misleading or deceptive statement or 

representation concerning the rates, terms or conditions for 

loans made by either of them. The separate entity shall not 

make or cause to be made any misrepresentation as to its 

being a licensed lender, or as to the extent to which it is 

subject to supervision or regulation.  

E. The consumer finance licensee and the separate entity 

shall not make both a consumer finance loan and a real estate 

mortgage loan to the same borrower or borrowers as part of 

the same transaction.  

F. Any compensation paid by the separate entity to any other 

party for the referral of loans, pursuant to an agreement or 

understanding between the separate entity and such other 

party, shall be an expense borne entirely by the separate 

entity. Such expense shall not be charged directly or 

indirectly to the borrower.  

G. Except as authorized by the Commissioner of Financial 

Institutions, or by order of the State Corporation Commission, 

insurance, other than credit life insurance, credit accident and 

sickness insurance, credit involuntary unemployment 

insurance, and noncredit-related life insurance sold pursuant 

to 10VAC5-70-10 et seq. shall not be sold in licensed 

consumer finance offices in connection with any mortgage 

loan made or purchased by the separate entity.  

H. No interest in collateral other than real estate shall be 

taken in connection with any real estate mortgage loan made 

or purchased by the separate entity.  

10VAC5-60-55. Books, accounts, and records; responding 

to requests from the bureau; providing false, misleading, 

or deceptive information. 

A. A licensee shall maintain in its approved offices such 

books, accounts, and records as the bureau may reasonably 

require in order to determine whether the licensee is 

complying with the Act and this chapter. Such books, 

accounts, and records shall be maintained (i) for at least three 

years after a consumer finance loan is satisfied or paid in full 

or a consumer finance loan application is denied; and (ii) 

separate and apart from those relating to any other business 

conducted in the approved offices. 

B. A licensee may maintain records electronically provided 

that (i) the records are readily available for examination by 

the bureau and (ii) the licensee complies with the Uniform 

Electronic Transactions Act (§ 59.1-479 et seq. of the Code of 

Virginia) and the Electronic Signatures in Global and 

National Commerce Act (15 USC § 7001 et seq.). 
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C. If a licensee disposes of records containing a consumer's 

personal financial information following the expiration of any 

applicable record retention periods, such records shall be 

shredded, incinerated, or otherwise disposed of in a secure 

manner. Licensees may arrange for service from a business 

record destruction vendor. 

D. When the bureau requests a written response, books, 

records, documentation, or other information from a licensee 

in connection with the bureau's investigation, enforcement, or 

examination of compliance with applicable laws, the licensee 

shall deliver a written response as well as any requested 

books, records, documentation, or information within the time 

period specified in the bureau's request. If no time period is 

specified, a written response as well as any requested books, 

records, documentation, or information shall be delivered by 

the licensee to the bureau not later than 30 days from the date 

of such request. In determining the specified time period for 

responding to the bureau and when considering a request for 

an extension of time to respond, the bureau shall take into 

consideration the volume and complexity of the requested 

written response, books, records, documentation, or 

information, and such other factors as the bureau determines 

to be relevant under the circumstances. Requests made by the 

bureau pursuant to this subsection are deemed to be in 

furtherance of the investigation and examination authority 

provided for in §§ 6.2-1530 and 6.2-1531 of the Code of 

Virginia.  

E. A licensee shall not provide any false, misleading, or 

deceptive information to the bureau.  

10VAC5-60-60. Schedule prescribing annual fees paid for 

examination, supervision, and regulation of consumer 

finance licenses companies.  

Pursuant to § 6.2-1532 of the Code of Virginia, the 

following schedule sets the fees to be paid annually by 

consumer finance licensees for their licenses, and to defray 

the costs of examination, supervision, and regulation of 

licensed consumer finance offices licensees by the bureau:  

Minimum fee - $300 per office open January 1 of the current 

calendar year.  

In addition to the minimum fee, the following fee based on 

total assets:  

SCHEDULE 

Total Assets Fee 

Over $300,000 - $750,000 $.85 per $1,000 or fraction 

thereof 

$750,000 - $2,000,000 $.70 per $1,000 or fraction 

thereof 

Over $2,000,000 $.55 per $1,000 or fraction 

thereof 

The annual fee for each licensee will be computed on the 

basis of its total assets combined with the total assets of all 

other businesses conducted its affiliates conducting business 

in any of its licensed authorized offices as of the close of 

business December 31 of the preceding calendar year. The 

amounts of such total assets will be derived from the annual 

reports which that § 6.2-1534 of the Code of Virginia requires 

licensees to file with the Bureau of Financial Institutions 

bureau on or before the first day of April of each year.  

In accordance with § 6.2-1532 of the Code of Virginia, 

annual fees for any given calendar year will be assessed on or 

before May 1 of that year and must be paid on or before June 

1 of that year. Fees are to be assessed using the foregoing 

schedule for the calendar year which began January 1, 1983. 

This fee schedule will be in effect until it is amended or 

revoked by order of the Commission.  

10VAC5-60-65. Enforcement; civil penalties. 

A. Failure to comply with any provision of the Act or this 

chapter may result in civil penalties, license suspension, 

license revocation, or other appropriate enforcement action. 

B. Pursuant to § 6.2-1543 of the Code of Virginia, a licensee 

shall be subject to a separate civil penalty of up to $10,000 for 

every violation of the Act, this chapter, or a commission order 

that occurred knowingly or without the exercise of due care to 

prevent the violation. If a licensee violates a provision of the 

Act, this chapter, or a commission order in connection with 

multiple loans or borrowers, the licensee shall be subject to a 

separate civil penalty per violation for each loan or borrower.  

10VAC5-60-70. Commission authority. 

The commission may, at its discretion, waive or grant 

exceptions to any provision of this chapter for good cause 

shown.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R21-6008; Filed September 21, 2020, 4:04 p.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 11. GAMING 

VIRGINIA LOTTERY BOARD 

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Virginia Lottery Board is 

claiming an exemption from the Administrative Process Act 

in accordance with the second enactment of Chapters 1218 

and 1256 of the 2020 Acts of Assembly, which exempts the 

actions of the board relating to the initial adoption of 

regulations implementing the provisions of the acts; however, 

the board is required to provide an opportunity for public 

comment on the regulations prior to adoption. 

Titles of Regulations: 11VAC5-60. Self-Exclusion Program 

(adding 11VAC5-60-10 through 11VAC5-60-60). 
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11VAC5-70. Sports Betting (adding 11VAC5-70-10 

through 11VAC5-70-310). 

11VAC5-80. Sports Betting Consumer Protection 

Program (adding 11VAC5-80-10 through 11VAC5-80-

160).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 58.1-4007, 58.1-4015.1, and 58.1-

4030 through 58.1-4047 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: October 12, 2020.  

Agency Contact: Amy Dilworth, General Counsel, Virginia 

Lottery, 600 East Main Street, 22nd Floor, Richmond, VA 

23219, telephone (804) 664-0717, or email 

adilworth@valottery.com. 

Summary: 

The regulatory action creates three new chapters, 

11VAC5-60 (Self-Exclusion Program), 11VAC5-70 (Sports 

Betting), and 11VAC5-80 (Sports Betting Consumer 

Protection Program), to establish a sports betting 

regulatory program administered by the Virginia Lottery 

pursuant to Chapters 1218 and 1256 of the 2020 Acts of 

Assembly. The regulations (i) implement a self-exclusion 

program for individuals who voluntarily agree to refrain 

from playing account-based lottery games, participating in 

sports betting, and participating in gaming activities 

administered by the Office of Charitable and Regulatory 

Programs and the Virginia Racing Commission; (ii) 

contain the requirements for sports betting platform 

operators and their principals, suppliers, vendors, and 

employees, including the permit application and vetting 

process, operational standards and oversight, and 

enforcement procedures; and (iii) outline the consumer 

protection measures required of sports betting platform 

operators.  

CHAPTER 60 

SELF-EXCLUSION PROGRAM 

11VAC5-60-10. Definitions. 

The following words and terms when used in this chapter 

shall have the following meanings unless the context clearly 

indicates otherwise. 

"Department" or "Virginia Lottery" means the Virginia 

Lottery Department, the independent department that 

pursuant to § 58.1-4031 of the Code of Virginia is responsible 

for the operation of the Commonwealth's sports betting 

program set forth in Articles 1 (§ 58.1-4000 et seq.) and 2 

(§ 58.1-4030 et seq.) of Chapter 40 of Title 58.1 of the Code 

of Virginia. 

"Self-excluded individual" means any individual whose 

name is included, at the individual's own request, on the self-

exclusion list maintained by the department. 

"Self-exclusion list" means a list maintained by the 

department of names of individuals who, pursuant to this 

chapter, have voluntarily agreed to refrain from (i) playing 

any account based lottery game authorized under the 

provisions of the Virginia Lottery Law; (ii) participating in 

sports betting, as defined in § 58.1-4030 of the Code of 

Virginia; and (iii) participating in gaming activities 

administered by the Office of Charitable and Regulatory 

Programs or the Virginia Racing Commission. Self-excluded 

individuals whose names are on the self-exclusion list are 

prohibited from collecting any winnings or recovering any 

losses resulting from violation of the restrictions to which 

such individuals have agreed.  

"Targeted mailing" means an advertisement or promotional 

offer directed to an individual on the basis of specific criteria, 

such as being a member or former member of a casino 

rewards club, a former sports betting participant, or a 

participant in social games. "Targeted mailing" does not 

include mass mailings made to an entire area or zip code nor 

does it include an advertisement that arrives in a packet of 

five or more non-gaming advertisements if such packet of 

advertisements is addressed to "resident," "occupant," or 

some similar wording and not to a specific individual. 

"Targeted mailing" further does not include any internet 

"pop-up" advertisement that appears on an individual's 

computer or mobile device on the basis of the individual's 

internet protocol address. 

"Thing of value" means anything of value that may be used 

to engage in lottery or sports betting activity, including cash 

and other forms of payment permissible under Chapter 40 

(§ 58.1-4000 et seq.) of Title 58.1 of the Code of Virginia as 

well as free play offers and incentives.  

"Winnings" means the aggregate total of proceeds from each 

individual winning lottery ticket or sports wager and shall not 

be reduced by any individual losses resulting from such 

activities. 

11VAC5-60-20. Request for self-exclusion. 

A. An individual may have his name placed on the self-

exclusion list by submitting a request in the form and manner 

required by this section. 

B. An individual requesting placement on the self-exclusion 

list shall submit a completed request for self-exclusion over 

the internet as required by this chapter. If an individual 

requests to be placed on the self-exclusion for life list, such 

request shall be made in person at department headquarters or 

any other location specified by the department.  

C. An individual requesting placement on the self-exclusion 

for life list shall submit, in person, a completed request for 

self-exclusion as required by this chapter. The request shall 

be delivered to department headquarters or any other location 

specified by the department. Any individual submitting a self-

exclusion for life request shall be required to present valid 

mailto:adilworth@valottery.com
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identification credentials containing the individual's signature 

and either a photograph or a general physical description.  

D. A request for self-exclusion shall be in a form prescribed 

by the department that shall include: 

1. The following identifying information concerning the 

individual submitting the request: 

a. Name, including any aliases or nicknames; 

b. Date of birth; 

c. Street and mailing address of current residence; 

d. Telephone number; and 

e. Social Security Number, which information is 

voluntarily provided in accordance with § 7 of the 

Privacy Act (5 USC § 552a); 

2. The length of self-exclusion requested by the individual: 

a. Two years; 

b. Five years; or 

c. Lifetime;  

3. An acknowledgment that individuals on the self-

exclusion list shall be prohibited from participating in any 

form of legalized gaming in the Commonwealth and are 

prohibited from collecting any winnings or recovering any 

losses resulting from violation of the restrictions to which 

such individuals have agreed; 

4. An acknowledgment that the department shall 

coordinate the administration of the self-exclusion program 

with the Office of Charitable and Regulatory Programs and 

the Virginia Racing Commission pursuant to procedures 

developed by the department;  

5. An acknowledgment that the department will share the 

self-exclusion list with operators of legal gambling in the 

Commonwealth and that such operators, pursuant to their 

own policies, may extend the exclusion of the individual to 

offerings at the operators' locations outside the borders of 

the Commonwealth;  

6. An acknowledgment that the individual requesting self-

exclusion shall notify the department within seven days if 

the individual's address or other contact information 

changes; and  

7. A waiver and release that shall release and forever 

discharge the Commonwealth of Virginia, the department, 

the department's employees and agents, all holders of 

permits to operate a sports betting platform and their 

employees and agents, the Office of Charitable and 

Regulatory Programs, and the Virginia Racing 

Commission and their employees and agents from any 

liability to the individual requesting self-exclusion, as 

applicable, and the individual's heirs, administrators, 

executors, and assigns for any harm, monetary or 

otherwise, that may arise out of or by reason of any act or 

omission relating to the request for self-exclusion or 

request for removal from the self-exclusion list, including: 

a. The processing or enforcement of the request for self-

exclusion or request for removal from the self-exclusion 

list; 

b. The failure to withhold gaming privileges from or 

restore gaming privileges to a self-excluded individual; 

c. Permitting a self-excluded individual to engage in 

gaming activity while on the list of self-excluded 

individuals; and 

d. Disclosure of the information contained in the self-

exclusion list, except for a willfully unlawful disclosure 

of such information. 

E. For self-exclusion submissions for a stated period of time: 

1. A sports betting permit holder shall provide a link 

directly to the department's self-exclusion application 

form. 

2. The department's online self-exclusion form shall 

provide to the self-excluding individual for the individual's 

acknowledgment the following statement:  

"I am voluntarily requesting exclusion from all Virginia 

sports betting and account based lottery. I also understand 

that the department will share my information with the 

Office of Charitable and Regulatory Programs, the Virginia 

Racing Commission, and all sports betting permit holders, 

any of whom may prohibit me from participating in further 

gaming activities regulated or provided by those entities, 

including out-of-state sports betting sites in accordance 

with the policies of that sports betting permit holder. I 

agree to notify the department within seven days if my 

contact information changes. I certify that the information I 

have provided is true and accurate, and that I have read and 

understand and agree to the waiver and release included 

with this request for self-exclusion. I am aware that my 

digital signature authorizes the department to prohibit me 

from participating in all account-based lottery games and 

to direct all holders of sports betting permits in Virginia to 

restrict my gaming activities. I am further aware that my 

digital signature authorizes the department to share my 

information with the Office of Charitable and Regulatory 

Programs and the Virginia Racing Commission, who may 

further restrict my gaming activities. In accordance with 

this request and until such time as the department removes 

my name from the self-exclusion list under the terms of my 

request for voluntary self-exclusion, I am aware and agree 

that during any period of self-exclusion any money 

obtained by me in violation of the terms of my self-

exclusion shall be subject to forfeiture and donated to the 
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Commonwealth's Problem Gambling Treatment and 

Support Fund." 

F. For lifetime self-exclusion submissions: 

1. The signature of the individual submitting the request 

shall acknowledge the following statement:  

"I am voluntarily requesting exclusion from all Virginia 

sports betting and account based lottery. In addition, I 

understand that my information will be shared with the 

Office of Charitable and Regulatory Programs, the Virginia 

Racing Commission, and all sports betting permit holders, 

any of whom may prohibit me from participating in further 

gaming activities regulated or provided by those entities, 

including out-of-state sports betting sites in accordance 

with the policies of that sports betting permit holder. I 

agree to notify the department within seven days if my 

contact information changes. I certify that the information I 

have provided is true and accurate, and that I have read and 

understand and agree to the waiver and release included 

with this request for self-exclusion. I am aware that my 

signature authorizes the department to prohibit me from 

participating in all account-based lottery games and to 

direct all holders of sports betting permits in Virginia to 

restrict my gaming activities. I am further aware that my 

signature authorizes the department to share my 

information with the Office of Charitable and Regulatory 

Programs and the Virginia Racing Commission, who may 

further restrict my gaming activities. In accordance with 

this request I am aware and agree that any money obtained 

by me in violation of the terms of my self-exclusion shall 

be subject to forfeiture and donated to the 

Commonwealth's Problem Gambling Treatment and 

Support Fund." 

2. The department shall document the type of identification 

credentials that were examined containing the signature of 

the individual requesting lifetime self-exclusion. 

3. A department employee authorized to accept a self-

exclusion request shall sign the application form and 

confirm that the signature of the individual on the request 

for lifetime self-exclusion appears to agree with that 

contained on his identification credentials. 

4 The department shall confirm the individual's request to 

be placed on the lifetime self-exclusion list. 

11VAC5-60-30. Self-exclusion list. 

A. The department shall maintain the official self-exclusion 

list and shall transmit notification of any addition to or 

deletion from the list to: 

1. Each sports betting permit holder; 

2. The Office of Charitable and Regulatory Programs; and  

3. The Virginia Racing Commission. 

B. Each party noted in subsection A of this section shall 

maintain its own copy of the self-exclusion list and shall 

establish procedures to ensure that its copy of the list is kept 

up to date. All appropriate employees and agents of the 

parties noted in subsection A of this section who are notified 

of any addition to or deletion from the self-exclusion list shall 

update their lists accordingly. Changes to the list shall be 

made by each party noted in subsection A of this section 

within seven days after the day the notice is transmitted and 

any remaining balance in the individual's gaming account 

shall be refunded pursuant to internal control standards 

approved by the department and the department's regulations. 

The notice provided by the department shall include the 

following information concerning any individual whose name 

is added to the list: 

1. Name, including any aliases or nicknames; 

2. Date of birth; 

3. Street and mailing address of current residence; 

4. Telephone number; and 

5. Social Security number if voluntarily provided by the 

individual requesting self-exclusion. 

C. Information furnished to or obtained by the department 

pursuant to this chapter shall be deemed confidential and not 

be disclosed except in accordance with this chapter. The 

voluntary self-exclusion list and the personal information of 

participants in the voluntary self-exclusion program shall not 

be subject to disclosure under the Virginia Freedom of 

Information Act (§ 2.2-3700 et seq. of the Code of Virginia).  

D. Except as provided in this subsection, no employee or 

agent of the department or any of the parties included in 

subsection A of this section shall disclose the name of or any 

information about any excluded individual to anyone other 

than employees and agents whose duties and functions 

require access to such information. 

1. Any sports betting permit holder may disclose the name 

of and information about a self-excluded individual to 

appropriate employees of other sports betting permit 

holders in Virginia for the purpose of alerting the 

employees that a self-excluded individual has tried to 

gamble or obtain gaming related privileges or benefits 

from the sports betting permit holder. In addition, the 

permit holder may share the name of and information 

about self-excluded individuals across the permit holder's 

corporate enterprise, including sharing such information 

with any of its affiliates.  

2. It shall be permissible for a sports betting permit holder, 

or an employee or agent thereof, to disclose the names of 

individuals on the self-exclusion list to a third party that is 

registered or licensed by the department pursuant to 

11VAC5-70 for the purpose of allowing the third party to 

remove the names of such individuals from a targeted 
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mailing or other advertising or promotion to be made on 

behalf of the sports betting permit holder. The company to 

whom such self-exclusion list is disclosed shall be 

prohibited from distributing or disclosing the list to the 

public or to any other party and shall be required to 

establish procedures approved by the department to ensure 

the self-exclusion list is not disclosed. 

3. A licensed or registered company that obtains the self-

exclusion list from a sports betting permit holder shall be 

permitted to use the list solely to exclude names or 

addresses from a marketing campaign on behalf of the 

sports betting permit holder. Such company may not use 

the self-exclusion list for any other type of marketing or for 

any other purpose whatsoever. 

11VAC5-60-40. Duties of sports betting permit holder. 

A. A sports betting permit holder shall establish procedures 

that are designed, to the greatest extent practicable, to: 

1. Prevent an individual on the self-exclusion list from 

opening a new sports betting account; 

2. Identify and suspend any sports betting accounts of an 

individual on the self-exclusion list; 

3. Refund any remaining balance to an individual on the 

self-exclusion list consistent with the department's 

regulations and the permit holder's internal control 

standards as approved by the department;  

4. Ensure that self-excluded individuals do not receive, 

either from the permit holder or any agent thereof, targeted 

mailings, telemarketing promotions, player club materials, 

or other targeted promotional materials relating to sports 

betting; and 

5. Enforce the provisions of this chapter. 

B. Upon notification that an individual has been added to or 

deleted from the self-exclusion list, each sports betting permit 

holder shall comply with all relevant provisions of 11VAC5-

60-50. 

C. Each sports betting permit holder shall maintain on file a 

current copy of the permit holder's internal control standards 

procedures established pursuant to 11VAC5-60-60 and 

11VAC5-70. 

11VAC5-60-50. Removal from self-exclusion list. 

A. Upon expiration of the period of self-exclusion requested 

pursuant to 11VAC5-60-20, the department shall remove the 

individual's name from the self-exclusion list and notify each 

sports betting permit holder, the Office of Charitable and 

Regulatory Programs, and the Virginia Racing Commission 

of the removal.  

B. Within seven days of receipt of notice from the 

department, the parties notified in subsection A of this section 

shall delete the name of the individual from the parties' self-

exclusion lists. 

11VAC5-60-60. Forfeiture of winnings by self-excluded 

individual. 

A. If a sports betting permit holder detects or is notified of 

the presence of a sports bettor suspected of being a self-

excluded individual who has engaged in or is engaging in 

gaming activity, the permit holder shall take reasonable 

measures to verify that the sports bettor is a self-excluded 

individual and the evidence of the individual's exclusion.  

B. Upon verification of the individual's self-excluded status, 

the sports betting permit holder shall: 

1. Immediately prohibit access to the individual's sports 

betting account, return the balance accrued prior to the 

exclusion request, and seize any winnings that accrue after 

the exclusion request; and 

2. Issue a Payout Receipt and Notice of Forfeiture to the 

excluded player via electronic or regular mail, containing 

the following: 

a. The total value and a detailed description of winnings 

that were seized; 

b. The date of the incident; 

c. The name of the self-excluded individual, if known, 

and basis for determining the individual is a self-

excluded individual; 

d. The street and mailing address of the self-excluded 

individual, if known, at which the individual may be 

notified regarding any future proceedings; 

e. The date of the internet or mobile wagering session 

during which the self-excluded individual was engaged 

in a gaming transaction; and 

f. Notice to the self-excluded individual that the 

department shall be seeking forfeiture of the winnings 

seized, that the individual has the right to be heard about 

the forfeiture, and that failure to respond to a forfeiture 

notice from the department shall be deemed a waiver of 

the right to be heard. 

C. The original Payout Receipt and Notice of Forfeiture 

prepared and signed as required in subsection B of this 

section shall be maintained on file by the sports betting 

permit holder. Copies of the document shall be provided to 

the self-excluded individual and filed with the department, 

which filing may be made electronically. 

D. All funds identified by a permit holder as subject to 

forfeiture shall be maintained separately and held by the 

sports betting permit holder until further order of the 

department or upon notice from the department that the funds 

may be released. 
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E. Pursuant to the self-excluded individual's request 

submitted under 11VAC5-60-20, any winnings seized from a 

self-excluded individual shall be subject to forfeiture, 

following notice to the self-excluded individual and an 

opportunity to be heard. A failure to respond to a forfeiture 

notice shall result in the waiver of the right to be heard. 

F. The internal control standards of a sports betting permit 

holder shall contain procedures for processing any winnings 

seized from a self-excluded individual as if the winnings were 

paid and reported in accordance with normal procedures 

applicable to such payouts. Such procedures shall include, 

however, such modification to forms or additional 

documentation as necessary to record and report the payout as 

a payout withheld from a self-excluded individual. This 

documentation shall be compared by the sports betting permit 

holder's accounting department at the end of the gaming day 

to the copy of the Payout Receipt and Notice of Forfeiture. 

Any winnings withheld from a self-excluded individual that 

are paid and reported in accordance with the normal 

procedures applicable to such payouts, as modified in this 

section, shall be deducted in the calculation of gross revenue 

as if the winnings were actually paid to the self-excluded 

individual. 

G. The department may initiate forfeiture of a self-excluded 

individual's winnings by sending notice to the self-excluded 

individual via personal service or regular mail sent to the 

address provided by the individual. Notice shall include a 

description of the winnings subject to forfeiture and the self-

excluded individual's right to a hearing. 

H. If the self-excluded individual wishes to contest the 

forfeiture, the individual shall submit a written request for a 

hearing within 15 days of the date of the notice of the 

forfeiture. If no response is filed by the self-excluded 

individual within 15 days of the date of the notice of the 

forfeiture, the winnings shall be deemed forfeited and 

transmitted to the Commonwealth's Problem Gambling 

Treatment and Support Fund. The decision of the board shall 

be final and may not be appealed. 

CHAPTER 70 

SPORTS BETTING 

11VAC5-70-10. Definitions. 

The following words and terms when used in this chapter 

shall have the following meanings unless the context clearly 

indicates otherwise: 

"ACH" means Automated Clearing House, which is a 

network that connects all banking and financial institutions 

within the United States. 

"Adjusted gross revenue" means gross revenue minus: 

1. All cash or the cash value of merchandise paid out as 

winnings to players, and the value of all bonuses or 

promotions provided to players as an incentive to place or 

as a result of their having placed wagers,  

2. Uncollectible gaming receivables, which shall not 

exceed 2.0% or a different percentage as otherwise 

determined by the board pursuant to subsection F of 

§ 58.1-4007 of the Code of Virginia, of gross revenue 

minus all cash paid out as winnings to players; 

3. If the permit holder is a significant infrastructure limited 

licensee, as defined in § 59.1-365 of the Code of Virginia, 

any funds paid into the horsemen's purse account pursuant 

to the provisions of subdivision 14 of § 59.1-369 of the 

Code of Virginia; and  

4. All excise taxes on sports betting paid pursuant to 

federal law.  

"Administrative Process Act" means Chapter 40 (§ 2.2-4000 

et seq.) of Title 2.2 of the Code of Virginia.  

"Affiliate" means a person that directly or indirectly through 

one or more intermediaries owns, controls, is controlled by, 

or is under common ownership or control with the other 

person. 

"Affiliated marketer" means a person that is involved in 

promoting, marketing, and directing business to online 

gaming sites and has an agreement with a permit holder to be 

compensated based on the number of registrations, the 

number of depositing registrations, or a percentage of 

adjusted gross receipts. 

"AML" means anti-money laundering. 

"Annual permit application period" means the period 

occurring annually when the department will accept sports 

betting permit applications. 

"Applicant" means a person who applies for a sports betting 

permit, license, or registration.  

"Application" means the forms, information, and documents 

submitted electronically to the Virginia Lottery to seek a 

permit, license, or registration. 

"Board" means the Virginia Lottery Board established by 

the Virginia Lottery Law. 

"Canceled wager" means a wager that has been canceled due 

to an event or circumstance that prevents the wager's 

completion. 

"Cheating" means behavior that includes improving the 

chances of winning or of altering the outcome of a wager, 

sports betting platform, or sporting event by (i) deception, 

interference, or manipulation; (ii) use of inside or nonpublic 

information; or (iii) through use of any equipment, including 

software pertaining to or used in relation to the equipment 

used for or in connection with a wager, sports betting 

platform, or the sporting event on which wagers are placed or 
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are invited. "Cheating" includes attempts and conspiracy to 

cheat and colluding with other bettors.  

"College sports" means an athletic event (i) in which at least 

one participant is a team from a public or private institution of 

higher education, regardless of where such institution is 

located and (ii) that does not include a team from a Virginia 

public or private institution of higher education. 

"Covered persons" means athletes; umpires, referees, and 

officials; personnel associated with clubs, teams, leagues, and 

athletic associations; medical professionals and athletic 

trainers who provide services to athletes; and the immediate 

family members and associates of such persons.  

"Date of final action on a denial" means:  

1. If, after the director sends written notice of permit, 

license, or registration denial or recommendation of denial, 

an applicant fails to timely request a reconsideration 

meeting, the date of the director's written notice;  

2. If, after a reconsideration meeting, an applicant fails to 

timely request a board hearing, the date of the director's 

written notice after the reconsideration meeting; or 

3. If the board holds a hearing on an appeal of the director's 

permit, license, or registration denial or reconsideration of 

such a denial, the date of the board's written decision. 

"Date of final action on a sanction" means:  

1. If, after the director sends a deficiency notice under the 

Virginia Lottery's regulations, a permit holder, licensee, or 

registrant fails to submit a timely, acceptable corrective 

action plan, the date the board adopts as final the director's 

deficiency notice; or  

2. If the board holds a hearing on the director's 

recommendation to impose a sanction, the date of the 

board's written decision. 

"Department" or "Virginia Lottery" means the Virginia 

Lottery Department, the independent department that 

pursuant to § 58.1-4031 of the Code of Virginia is responsible 

for the operation of the Commonwealth's sports betting 

program set forth in Articles 1 (§ 58.1-4000 et seq.) and 2 

(§ 58.1-4030 et seq.) of Chapter 40 of Title 58.1 of the Code 

of Virginia. 

"Director" means the Executive Director of the Virginia 

Lottery or the director's designee.  

"Global risk management" means management, 

consultation, instruction, or transmission of information 

relating to sports betting by a permit holder or sports betting 

platform supplier that also holds a license to conduct sports 

betting in another permissible jurisdiction. The term includes 

the management of risks associated with sports betting 

involving a sporting event for which a wager may be 

accepted; the setting or changing of bets or wagers; cutoff 

times for bets or wagers; acceptance or rejection of bets or 

wagers; pooling or laying off of bets or wagers, lines, point 

spreads, odds, or other activity relating to betting or 

wagering. 

"Gross revenue" means the total of all cash, property, or any 

other form of remuneration, whether collected or not, 

received by a permit holder from its sports betting operations.  

"Individual" means a human being and not a corporation, 

company, partnership, association, trust, or other entity. 

"Initial permit application period" means the period during 

which initial sports betting permit applications may be 

submitted to the department. The initial application period 

begins October 15, 2020, and ends October 31, 2020, at 

11:59:59 p.m.  

"Integrity monitoring system" means a system of policies 

and procedures approved by the board through which a permit 

holder receives and sends reports from other permit holders to 

assist in identifying unusual or suspicious wagering activity. 

"Internal control standards" mean the internal procedures, 

administration, and accounting controls designed by the 

permit holder to conduct sports betting operations.  

"License" means the authority granted by the director to a 

person to perform the functions and responsibilities of a 

principal, sports betting supplier, or sports betting employee. 

"Licensee" means a person that holds a license, including a 

temporary license. 

"Minor" means an individual who is younger than 21 years 

of age.  

"Mobile application" means any interactive platform for use 

through the internet, a mobile device, or a computer that has 

been approved by the Virginia Lottery Board for operation of 

sports betting by a permit holder. 

"Multi-source authentication" means a strong procedure that 

requires more than one method to verify a player's identity 

through a combination of two or more independent 

credentials, such as information known only to the player, for 

example, a password, pattern, or answers to challenge 

questions, and a player's personal biometric data, such as 

fingerprints, facial recognition, or voice recognition, to the 

extent the verification method does not violate any privacy 

laws.  

"Permissible jurisdiction" means any jurisdiction in which 

global risk management or the betting or wagering on a 

sporting event is lawful or not otherwise expressly prohibited 

under the laws of that jurisdiction. 

"Permit" or "sports betting permit" means written 

authorization given by the director following an application 

and investigation process that allows a person to legally 
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operate a sports betting platform in the Commonwealth of 

Virginia.  

"Permit holder" means a person that has been issued a 

permit by the director to operate a sports betting platform. 

"Person" means any individual, corporation, partnership, 

association, cooperative, limited liability company, trust, joint 

venture, government, political subdivision, or any other legal 

or commercial entity and any successor, representative, agent, 

agency or instrumentality thereof. 

"Personal biometric data" means any information about an 

individual that is derived from that individual's DNA, heart 

rate, blood pressure, perspiration rate, internal or external 

body temperature, hormone levels, glucose levels, hydration 

levels, vitamin levels, bone density, muscle density, or sleep 

patterns, or other information as may be prescribed by the 

board by regulation. 

"Player" or "sports bettor" means an individual physically 

located in the Commonwealth of Virginia who participates in 

sports betting. 

"Principal" means an individual who, solely or together with 

the individual's immediate family members, (i) owns or 

controls, directly or indirectly, 5.0% or more of the pecuniary 

interest in any entity that is a permit holder or (ii) has the 

power to vote or cause the vote of 5.0% or more of the voting 

securities or other ownership interests of such entity. 

"Principal" includes an individual who is employed in a 

managerial capacity for a sports betting platform on behalf of 

a permit holder, and, for purposes of this definition, 

"employed in a managerial capacity" means the chief 

executive officer of the permit holder; if applicable, its sports 

betting platform supplier; and any individual who has 

ultimate responsibility for the operation of the sports betting 

platform in Virginia. 

"Professional sports" means an athletic event involving at 

least two human competitors who receive compensation in 

excess of their expenses for participating in such event. 

"Professional sports" does not include charitable gaming, as 

defined in § 18.2-340.16 of the Code of Virginia; fantasy 

contests, as defined in § 59.1-556 of the Code of Virginia; or 

horse racing, as defined in § 59.1-365 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

"Prohibited conduct" means any statement, action, or other 

communication intended to influence, manipulate, or control 

a betting outcome of a sports event or of any individual 

occurrence or performance in a sports event in exchange for 

financial gain or to avoid financial or physical harm. 

"Prohibited conduct" includes statements, actions, and 

communications made to a covered person by a third party. 

"Prohibited conduct" includes cheating. "Prohibited conduct" 

does not include statements, actions, or communications 

made or sanctioned by a sports team or sports governing 

body. 

"Prohibited individual" means any individual (i) who is 

prohibited from wagering pursuant to the sports betting law; 

(ii) whose name is on any self-exclusion list or the Virginia 

Lottery Exclusion List; (iii) whose participation may 

undermine the integrity of the wagering or the sporting event; 

(iv) who is excluded from wagering for any other good cause; 

or (v) who makes or attempts to make a wager as an agent or 

proxy on behalf of another for compensation (i.e., messenger 

betting).  

"Prohibited wager" means an attempted wager on any 

sporting event or occurrence that is not explicitly permitted (i) 

under the sports betting law or (ii) by board action, whether 

by regulation or according to any list of permissible wagers 

published and updated by the department from time to time. 

"Prohibited wager" includes wagers on youth sports, 

proposition bets on college sports, and bets on Virginia 

college sports. For youth sports and Virginia college sports, 

"prohibited wagers" are limited to the single game or match 

in which a youth sports or Virginia college sports team is a 

participant and shall not be construed to prohibit wagering on 

other games in a tournament or multi-game events in which a 

youth sport or Virginia college sports team participates, so 

long as such other games do not have a participant that is a 

youth sports or Virginia college sports team.  

"Proposition wager" or "proposition bet" means a wager on 

a single specific action, statistic, occurrence, or 

nonoccurrence to be determined during a sporting event and 

includes any such action, statistic, occurrence, or 

nonoccurrence that does not directly affect the final outcome 

of the sporting event to which it relates. 

"Registrant" means a person that has received a registration 

approval from the director. 

"Registration" means the authority granted by the director to 

a person to perform the functions and responsibilities of a 

sports betting vendor. 

"Sports betting" means placing wagers on professional 

sports, college sports, sporting events, and any portion thereof 

and includes placing wagers related to the individual 

performance statistics of athletes in such sports and events. 

"Sports betting" includes any system or method of wagering 

approved by the director, including single-game bets, teaser 

bets, parlays, over-under, moneyline, pools, exchange 

wagering, in-game wagering, in-play bets, proposition bets, 

and straight bets. "Sports betting" does not include (i) 

participating in charitable gaming authorized by Article 1.1:1 

(§ 18.2-340.15 et seq.) of Chapter 8 of Title 18.2 of the Code 

of Virginia; (ii) participating in any lottery game authorized 

under Article 1 (§ 58.1-4000 et seq.) of Chapter 40 of Title 

58.1 of the Code of Virginia; (iii) wagering on horse racing 

authorized by Chapter 29 (§ 59.1-364 et seq.) of Title 59.1 of 

the Code of Virginia; (iv) participating in fantasy contests 

authorized by Chapter 51 (§ 59.1-556 et seq.) of Title 59.1 of 

the Code of Virginia; (v) placing a wager on a college sports 
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event in which a Virginia public or private institution of 

higher education is a participant; or (vi) placing a wager on 

sports events organized by the International Olympic 

Committee.  

"Sports betting account" or "player account" means an 

account established by a permit holder for an individual to 

use for sports betting with a specific identifiable record of 

deposits, wagers, and withdrawals established by a sports 

bettor and managed by the permit holder. 

"Sports betting employee" means an individual who does 

not meet the definition of a principal and works within the 

borders of the Commonwealth of Virginia for a permit holder, 

sports betting supplier, or vendor on nonmanagement support 

services, such as software or hardware maintenance or the 

provision of products, services, information, or assets, 

directly or indirectly, to the permit holder. 

"Sports betting law" means Article 2 (§ 58.1-4030 et seq.) of 

Chapter 40 of Title 58.1 of the Code of Virginia. 

"Sports betting operation" means the legal provision of 

sports betting to individuals though a sports betting platform 

in the Commonwealth of Virginia. 

"Sports betting platform" means a website, application, or 

other platform accessible via the internet or mobile, wireless, 

or similar communications technology that sports bettors may 

use to participate in sports betting.  

"Sports betting supplier" or "supplier" means a person that 

(i) manages, administers, or controls wagers initiated, 

received, or made on a sports betting platform; (ii) manages, 

administers, or controls the games on which wagers are 

initiated, received, or made on a sports betting platform; or 

(iii) maintains or operates the software or hardware of a 

sports betting platform, including geolocation services, 

customer integration, and customer account management. 

"Sports event" or "sporting event" means professional 

sports, college sports, and any athletic event, motor race 

event, electronic sports event, or competitive video game 

event. 

"Sports governing body" means an organization 

headquartered in the United States that prescribes rules and 

enforces codes of conduct with respect to a professional 

sports or college sports event and the participants therein. 

"Sports governing body" includes a designee of the sports 

governing body. 

"Submit" means to deliver a document or electronic 

information (i) in a manner that ensures its receipt by the 

party to whom it is addressed and (ii) that is considered 

complete only upon actual receipt by that party. 

"Suspicious wagering activity" means unusual wagering 

activity that cannot be explained; that is in violation of the 

sports betting law or this chapter; that is made or attempted to 

be made by an agent or proxy for compensation (i.e., 

messenger betting); or that is or may be indicative of match-

fixing, the manipulation of an event, misuse of inside 

information, sports corruption, or other prohibited activity. 

"Unusual wagering activity" means abnormal wagering 

activity exhibited by players and deemed by a permit holder 

as a potential indicator of suspicious wagering activity. 

Unusual wagering activity may include the size of a player's 

wager or increased wagering volume on a particular event or 

wager type. 

"Vendor" or "sports betting vendor" means a person within 

the Commonwealth that is engaged by, under contract to, or 

acting on behalf of a permit holder to provide sports betting-

related goods or services that directly affect sports betting in 

Virginia and that does not meet the criteria for licensing as a 

principal or a supplier, such as an affiliated marketer or an 

equipment maintenance provider. 

"Virginia college sports" means an athletic event in which at 

least one participant is a team from a Virginia public or 

private institution of higher education.  

"Voided wager" means a wager voided by a permit holder 

for a specified sporting event.  

"Wager" or "bet" means a sum of money or thing of value 

that is risked by a sports bettor on the unknown outcome of 

one or more sporting event, including the form of fixed-odds 

betting, a future bet, live betting, a money line bet, pari-

mutuel betting, parlay bet, pools, proposition bets, spread bet, 

or in any other form or manner as authorized by regulation of 

the board. "Wager" or "bet" does not include a sum of money 

or thing of value risked on an unknown outcome pursuant to 

the Fantasy Sports Act. 

"Written notice" or "notice" means notice provided in paper 

or electronic form, including electronic mail.  

"Youth sports" means an athletic event (i) involving a 

majority of participants younger than 18 years of age or (ii) in 

which at least one participant is a team from a public or 

private elementary, middle, or secondary school, regardless of 

where such school is located. Regardless of the age of the 

participants, an athletic event that meets the definition of 

"college sports" or "professional sports" shall not be 

considered "youth sports." 

11VAC5-70-20. Application process. 

A. General provisions.  

1. Upon filing of an online application for a permit, 

license, or registration, the applicant shall pay by wire 

transfer the applicable investigation and nonrefundable 

application fees established by the board by regulation. 

2. If an application for a permit, license, or registration 

must be submitted to the director by a particular date, the 

application shall be delivered to the director not later than 
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11:59:59 p.m. on the last day of the specified period, and 

an application submitted after the deadline will not be 

accepted or considered by the director. 

3. Applications and required fees for permits will be 

accepted by the director only during the initial permit 

application period and, thereafter, during an annual permit 

application period, as defined in this chapter.  

a. The initial application period begins October 15, 2020, 

and ends October 31, 2020, at 11:59:59 p.m. The initial 

permit application period does not apply to applications 

other than permit holder applications. 

b. In 2021 and succeeding years, the annual permit 

application period begins May 15 and ends May 31 at 

11:59:59 p.m. The annual permit application period does 

not apply to applications other than permit holder 

applications. 

4. Applications and required fees for licenses and 

registrations may be accepted by the director at any time 

following October 12, 2020.  

5. An applicant may not submit an application earlier than 

one year after the director has: 

a. Taken final action on a denial of a previous permit, 

license, or registration application involving the 

applicant; 

b. Taken final action on a sanction resulting in revocation 

of a previous permit, license, or registration application 

involving the applicant; or 

c. Provided a permit holder, licensee, registrant, or 

individual with written notice of termination of a 

temporary permit, license, or registration.  

B. Applications. 

1. Information and documents submitted to the director 

under this chapter shall be made using the electronic form 

required by the director and, as required by the director, 

may include an original and copies. 

2. Information and documents submitted to the director in a 

permit, license, or registration application shall be sworn 

under the penalties of perjury as to their truth and validity 

by the applicant or, if the applicant is not an individual, by 

an officer or director of the applicant. 

3. Upon receipt of an application by the director, 

department staff shall review the application to determine 

whether it contains all the information required under this 

chapter. 

4. If the director determines that required information has 

not been submitted, department staff shall notify the 

applicant and state the nature of the deficiency. 

5. An applicant notified in accordance with subdivision 4 

of this subsection shall submit the information necessary to 

complete the application no later than 15 days after 

issuance of the notice. 

6. The director will not consider the application of an 

applicant notified in accordance with subdivision 4 of this 

subsection that fails to submit the requested information in 

a timely manner. 

7. The director will consider only a timely, complete 

application. 

C. Changes in application. 

1. If information submitted by an applicant as part of a 

permit, license, or registration application changes or 

becomes inaccurate before the director acts on the 

application, the applicant shall immediately notify 

department staff of the change or inaccuracy. 

2. After an application has been filed by an applicant, the 

applicant may not amend the application except: 

a. To address a deficiency in accordance with a notice 

sent under subdivision B 4 of this section; 

b. As required by the director or department staff for 

clarification of information contained in the application; 

or 

c. To address a change in the circumstances surrounding 

the application that was outside the control of the 

applicant and that affects the ability of the applicant to 

comply with the law or the regulations of the board. 

3. To amend an application under this subsection, an 

applicant shall submit to the director a written request to 

amend the application stating: 

a. The change in the circumstances surrounding the 

application that necessitates the amendment; 

b. The nature of the amendment; and 

c. The reason why the amendment is necessary to bring 

the application into compliance with the law or the 

regulations of the board. 

4. The director or department staff shall grant or deny each 

request submitted under subdivision 2 c of this subsection. 

5. A request shall be granted if the applicant demonstrates 

to the satisfaction of the director that: 

a. Before the change in the circumstances surrounding 

the application, the application complied with the 

pertinent provisions of the law or the regulations of the 

board; and 

b. The amendment is necessary to bring the application 

into compliance with the pertinent provisions of the law 

or the regulations of the board. 
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6. An application for a permit, license, or registration may 

be withdrawn if the: 

a. Applicant submits a written request to the director to 

withdraw the application; and 

b. Written request is submitted before the director has: 

(1) Denied the application; or 

(2) Terminated a temporary permit, license, or 

registration. 

D. Burden of proof.  

1. The burden of proof shall be on the applicant to show by 

clear and convincing evidence (i) that the applicant 

complies with the laws of the Commonwealth of Virginia 

and the regulations of the board regarding eligibility and 

qualifications for the permit, license, or registration (ii) and 

that the applicant is not otherwise disqualified from 

holding a permit, license, or registration. 

2. The director may deny a permit, license, or registration 

to an applicant whose gaming or similar license has been 

suspended or revoked in another jurisdiction.  

3. The director may deny a permit, license, or registration 

to an applicant whose past or present conduct would bring 

the Commonwealth into disrepute. 

4. Inadvertent, nonsubstantive errors that might be made in 

furnishing the information required by this section may not 

be used as a reason by the director for disqualifying the 

applicant. 

E. Administrative costs of background investigations. 

1. Except for a permit, principal license, or supplier license 

application, the administrative costs associated with 

performing background investigations shall be 

incorporated into the fixed application/license fee set out in 

this chapter. 

2. For a permit, principal license, or supplier license 

application, the administrative costs associated with 

performing background investigations shall vary 

depending on the complexity of the investigation and the 

time spent conducting the investigation. 

3. Promptly upon receipt of an invoice from the 

department, an applicant for a permit, principal license, or 

supplier license shall reimburse the department by wire 

transfer for: 

a. The administrative costs associated with performing 

background investigations of the applicant and any 

individual required to provide information under this 

chapter; and 

b. Any payments made by the director to a person 

approved by the director to conduct the background 

investigation. 

4. Failure to reimburse the director shall be grounds for 

disqualification of the applicant. 

5. The director may require initial and additional deposits 

from an applicant for the administrative costs of 

conducting the applicant's background investigation. 

6. The director will refund to an applicant for a permit, 

principal license, or supplier license any unused amount of 

the advance deposit. 

F. Effect of permit, license, or registration. 

1. Participation in sports betting operations by a permit 

holder, licensee, or registrant shall be deemed a revocable 

privilege and shall be conditioned on the proper and 

continued qualification of the permit holder, licensee, or 

registrant and on the discharge of the affirmative 

responsibility of each permit holder, licensee, and 

registrant to provide to the regulatory and investigatory 

authorities under this chapter or any other provision of law, 

any assistance and information necessary to assure that the 

policies underlying this chapter are achieved. 

2. Consistent with subdivision 1 of this subsection, the 

intent of this chapter is to: 

a. Preclude: 

(1) The creation of any property right in any permit, 

license, or registration required under this chapter; 

(2) The accrual of any monetary value to the privilege of 

participation in sports betting operations; and 

(3) Except as specifically provided by the sports betting 

law and the board's regulations, the transfer of any 

permit, license, or registration issued under this chapter; 

and 

b. Require that participation in sports betting operations 

be conditioned solely on the continuing qualifications of 

the person who seeks the privilege. 

3. A permit holder may sublicense, convey, concede, or 

otherwise transfer the holder's permit to a third party only 

after the transferee: 

a. Applies and pays all application and background 

investigation fees for a permit; 

b. Receives the approval of the director; and  

c. Pays a nonrefundable transfer fee of $200,000. 

G. Continuing obligations.  

1. Applicants who are awarded a permit, license, or 

registration shall, during the term of their permits, licenses, 

or registrations, conform to all the information contained in 

their applications. 

2. If information submitted by an applicant issued a permit, 

license, or registration changes during its term, the permit 
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holder, licensee, or registrant shall immediately submit to 

the director notice in writing of the change. 

3. As a condition of holding a permit, license, or 

registration, a permit holder, licensee, or registrant must 

comply with all requirements of the sports betting law, this 

chapter, and any other chapter in this title related to sports 

betting. 

4. Failure to comply with the obligations of subdivision 1, 

2, or 3 of this subsection shall be grounds for the director 

taking enforcement action against the permit holder, 

licensee, or registrant. 

H. Temporary or conditional permit, license, or registration.  

1. Upon request of an applicant, the director may in his 

sole discretion issue a temporary or conditional permit, 

license, or registration to an apparently-qualified applicant. 

2. An applicant for a permit, license, or registrant may not 

be considered to be apparently-qualified if: 

a. The applicant has an immediately known present or 

prior activity, criminal record, reputation, habit, or 

association that would disqualify the applicant from 

holding a permit, license, or registration under the sports 

betting law or this chapter; 

b. The applicant poses a serious imminent risk of harm to 

the integrity, security, or profitability of the 

Commonwealth's sports betting program; or 

c. Reasonable grounds exist to believe that the applicant 

will not be able to establish the applicant's qualifications 

by clear and convincing evidence under this chapter. 

3. By accepting a temporary or conditional permit, license, 

or registration, an applicant waives the right to challenge or 

contest a final decision by the director concerning the 

application. 

4. A temporary or conditional permit holder, licensee, or 

registrant whose permanent permit, license, or registration 

is denied shall not receive a refund of any fees paid toward 

the application and the costs of the department's 

investigation. 

5. A temporary or conditional permit, license, or 

registration: 

a. May not be issued until the applicant has 

acknowledged in writing that the Commonwealth is not 

financially responsible for any consequences resulting 

from termination of a temporary or conditional permit, 

license, or registration or a denial of the application; 

b. Expires 180 days after the date of issuance; and 

c. May be extended by the director for one period of up 

to 180 days. 

6. When the director changes a temporary or conditional 

permit, license, or registration into permanent status, the 

date of issuance of the permanent permit, license, or 

registration shall be deemed to be the date that the director 

approved the temporary permit, license, or registration. 

7. By written notice to a temporary or conditional permit 

holder, licensee, or registrant, the director may terminate, 

without a hearing and without following the denial process 

under 11VAC5-70-120, the temporary or conditional 

permit, license, or registration of an applicant for: 

a. Failure to pay a required fee; 

b. Failure to submit required information and 

documentation to department staff within 15 days of 

responding to a request for additional information or 

documents; 

c. Failure to comply with any other request of department 

staff; 

d. Engaging in conduct that obstructs department staff 

from completing the applicant's background 

investigation;  

e. Failure to comply with the conditions imposed by the 

director, or 

f. Violating any provision of the sports betting law or this 

chapter. 

8. The director's written notice of termination of a 

temporary or conditional permit, license, or registration is 

the final action of the director. 

9. If, during the course of conducting an applicant's 

background investigation, department staff reasonably 

believes there is a basis for recommending denial of a 

permanent permit, license, or registration to a temporary or 

conditional permit holder, licensee, or registrant, 

department staff shall: 

a. Notify the director and the temporary or conditional 

permit holder, licensee, or registrant; and 

b. If the director has not yet issued a final decision on the 

application, allow the application to be withdrawn. 

11VAC5-70-30. Consent for investigation. 

A. An individual who is required to provide personal and 

background information under this chapter shall provide a 

statement that irrevocably gives consent to the director, 

department staff and its investigative contractors, and persons 

authorized by the director to: 

1. Verify all information provided in the application; and 

2. Conduct a background investigation of the individual. 

B. An applicant shall authorize the director, department 

staff, and investigative contractors to have access to any and 



Regulations 

Volume 37, Issue 4 Virginia Register of Regulations October 12, 2020 

625 

all information the applicant has provided to any other 

jurisdiction while seeking a gaming or similar license in that 

other jurisdiction as well as the information obtained by that 

other jurisdiction during the course of any investigation the 

other jurisdiction may have conducted regarding the 

applicant. 

11VAC5-70-40. Waiver of requirement. 

A. A waiver of requirements in general. 

1. The director may waive any of the grounds for denial or 

renewal of a permit, license, or registration. 

2. The director may waive the grounds for denial under this 

section only after the director determines that denial would 

limit the number of applicants, permit holders, licensees, or 

registrants in a manner contrary to the best interests of the 

Commonwealth of Virginia. 

B. Process for waiver of requirements. 

1. A person requesting a waiver shall submit a written 

request in a format specified by the director. 

2. A written request shall contain at least the following: 

a. The standard for which the waiver is sought; 

b. Detailed facts in support of the request; 

c. An explanation of the unique circumstances justifying 

the request; and 

d. Any other information requested by department staff 

or the director. 

3. Upon receipt of a waiver request that fails to comply 

with subdivision 1 or 2 of this subsection, department staff 

shall notify the requestor: 

a. Of any deficiency; and 

b. That the request will not be presented to the director 

unless the identified deficiency is corrected. 

C. Decision for waiver of requirements. 

1. Upon receipt of a request that complies with subsections 

A and B of this section, department staff shall present the 

request to the director as soon as practicable. 

2. At any time before or after a waiver has been granted, 

the director may: 

a. Limit or place restrictions on the waiver as the director 

considers necessary in the best interest of the 

Commonwealth; and 

b. Require the permit holder or licensee who is granted 

the waiver to cooperate with the director and to provide 

the director with any additional information required as a 

condition of the waiver. 

3. After the director decides whether to grant or deny the 

request for a waiver, department staff shall notify the 

requestor of the decision. 

4. The decision of the director on a request for a waiver is 

final and may not be appealed. 

11VAC5-70-50. Sports betting permit applications. 

A. An application for a sports betting permit shall consist of 

two parts and shall include: 

1. A narrative description in an electronic format of the 

applicant's plan for offering a sports betting platform in the 

Commonwealth; and  

2. Information to be provided to the department in an 

electronic format for the purposes of allowing the 

department to conduct its background investigation.  

B. The narrative component of the application shall include 

information describing:  

1. The applicant's background in sports betting; 

2. The applicant's experience in wagering activities in other 

jurisdictions, including the applicant's history and 

reputation of integrity and compliance; 

3. The applicant's proposed internal control standards, 

including controls to ensure that no prohibited or 

voluntarily excluded person will be able to participate in 

sports betting;  

4. The applicant's history of working to prevent 

compulsive gambling including training programs for its 

employees;  

5. If applicable: 

a. All supporting information and documentation 

necessary to establish eligibility for substantial and 

preferred consideration pursuant to the provisions of the 

sports betting law; 

b. The identity of any partner, subcontractor, or other 

affiliate through which the applicant wishes to 

demonstrate compliance with the requirements of this 

chapter; and  

c. Assurances that the permit application also includes a 

completed application, along with all applicable 

permitting, licensing, registration, and background 

investigation fees, for the applicant's partner, 

subcontractor, or other affiliate, and their applicable 

principals.  

6. The applicant's proposed procedures to detect and report 

suspicious or illegal gambling activity;  

7. Whether the applicant intends to limit its participation in 

any of the types of allowable sports events available in the 

Commonwealth; 
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8. Whether the applicant has entered into or plans to enter 

into any agreements to offer its sports betting platform in 

coordination with other applicants or persons; and 

9. If the applicant is the subsidiary of another entity, an 

explicit statement that the parent organization will fully 

and absolutely guarantee the performance of the subsidiary 

for at least the first year of operation. 

C. Information that is provided to the department in 

electronic format for the purposes of allowing the department 

to conduct its background investigation need not be repeated 

in the narrative submission. 

D. The applicant shall include in its narrative: 

1. A high-level description of the application, which shall 

be designed to be released to the public; and 

2. An authorization for the department to release that 

portion of the narrative despite the otherwise-applicable 

provisions of § 2.2-3704.01 of the Code of Virginia. 

E. The applicant shall submit the information described in 

subsections F through X of this section using the electronic 

form required by the director, along with copies if requested 

by department staff. 

F. If the applicant is a corporation, the application shall 

include a: 

1. Statement of when the corporation was organized; 

2. Copy of the articles of incorporation and bylaws of the 

corporation; 

3. Statement and documentation of whether the corporation 

has been reorganized or reincorporated during the five-year 

period preceding the date on which the application is 

submitted to the director; 

4. Statement and documentation of whether the corporation 

has filed restated articles of incorporation; and 

5. List identifying each person who: 

a. Exercises voting rights in the corporation; and 

b. Directly or indirectly owns 5.0% or more of the 

corporation. 

G. If the applicant is an unincorporated business association, 

the application shall include a: 

1. Copy of each organizational document of the applicant, 

including any partnership agreement;  

2. Description of any oral agreements involving the 

organization of the applicant; and 

3. List identifying each person who: 

a. Exercises voting rights in the applicant;  

b. Directly or indirectly owns 5.0% or more of the 

business association. 

H. If the applicant is authorized to issue capital stock, the 

applicant shall state for each class of stock authorized the: 

1. Total number of shares; 

2. Par value if any; 

3. Voting rights; 

4. Current rate of dividend; 

5. Number of shares outstanding and the market value of 

each share on the date of the application; 

6. Existence of any voting trust or voting agreement in 

which capital stock of the applicant is held; and  

7. The following information: 

a. Name and address of each stockholder participating in 

the trust or agreement; 

b. Class of stock involved; and 

c. Total number of shares held by the trust or agreement. 

I. The application shall include a certified copy of each 

voting trust or voting agreement in which capital stock is 

held. 

J. The application shall describe the terms of any proxy by 

which any capital stock may be voted and shall state the: 

1. Name and address of the person holding the proxy; 

2. Name and address of the stockholder who granted the 

proxy; 

3. Class of stock for which the proxy may vote; and 

4. Total number of shares voted by the proxy. 

K. The application shall state any provisions, and the 

procedures by which these provisions may be modified, for 

the redemption, repurchase, retirement, conversion, or 

exchange of an ownership interest. 

L. The application shall state whether the applicant's stock 

may be traded through options and whether the corporation or 

a stockholder has executed an agreement or contract to 

convey any of the corporation's or the stockholder's stock at a 

future date. 

M. The application shall include a copy or a description of 

each agreement or contract disclosed under subsection L of 

this section. 

N. The application shall include a copy of each prospectus, 

pro forma, or other promotional material given to potential 

investors about the permit holder applicant's operation. 

O. The application shall provide full disclosure for any stock 

options that may exist or have been granted. 
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P. The application shall: 

1. Disclose all individuals and entities that have an 

ownership interest of 5.0% or more in the applicant, 

including any beneficial ownership as defined in § 13.1-

1201 of the Code of Virginia; and 

2. Describe the: 

a. Nature of the ownership; and 

b. Extent of control exercised by the owner; and 

3. Include information and documents required by this 

chapter as to each owner. 

Q. If the applicant is not an individual, the application shall 

include a list of the individuals who are serving or who are 

designated to serve, during the first year after the date the 

application is submitted to the director, as a director, officer, 

partner, or principal as defined in this chapter. The 

application shall also provide: 

1. The individual's name and address; 

2. Each position or office of the applicant held by the 

individual; 

3. The individual's primary occupation during the five-year 

period preceding the date on which the application is 

submitted to the director; and 

4. The nature and extent of any ownership interest that the 

individual has in the applicant. 

R. The director shall take final action on a completed initial 

application for a sports betting permit within the timeframe 

set forth in § 58.1-4032 of the Code of Virginia, including the 

application of any required principals. 

S. The director may award a sports betting permit after 

consideration of the application and based on: 

1. The contents of the submitted application; 

2. The extent to which the applicant has demonstrated past 

experience, financial viability, compliance with applicable 

laws and regulations, and success with sports betting in 

other jurisdictions in the United States; 

3. The extent to which the applicant has demonstrated that 

the applicant will be able to meet the duties of a permit 

holder;  

4. Whether the applicant has demonstrated that the 

applicant has made serious, good faith efforts to solicit and 

interview a reasonable number of investors that are 

minority individuals as defined in § 2.2-1604 of the Code 

of Virginia;  

5. The amount of adjusted gross revenue and associated tax 

revenue that an applicant expects to generate; 

6. The effect of issuing an additional permit on the amount 

of gross revenue and associated tax revenue generated by 

all permit holders, considered in the aggregate;  

7. The extent to which the applicant will generate new jobs 

within the Commonwealth of Virginia; 

8. Whether the applicant has adequate capitalization and 

the financial ability and the means to develop, construct, 

operate, and maintain the applicant's proposed internet 

sports betting platform in accordance with the sports 

betting law and this chapter;  

9. Whether the applicant has the financial ability to 

purchase and maintain adequate liability and casualty 

insurance and to provide an adequate surety bond; 

10. Whether the applicant has adequate capitalization and 

the financial ability to responsibly pay its secured and 

unsecured debts in accordance with its financing 

agreements and other contractual obligations; 

11. Whether the applicant has a history of material 

noncompliance with casino or casino-related licensing 

requirements or compacts with this state or any other 

jurisdiction, where the noncompliance resulted in 

enforcement action by the person with jurisdiction over the 

applicant;  

12. Whether the applicant or the applicant's principals have 

been (i) indicted for, (ii) charged with, (iii) arrested for, 

(iv) convicted of, (v) pleaded guilty or nolo contendere to, 

(vi) forfeited bail concerning, or (vii) had expunged any 

criminal offense under the laws of any jurisdiction, either 

felony or misdemeanor, not including traffic violations, 

regardless of whether the offense has been expunged, 

pardoned, or reversed on appeal or otherwise. The board 

may consider mitigating factors; 

13. Whether the applicant has filed or had filed against it a 

proceeding for bankruptcy or has ever been involved in 

any formal process to adjust, defer, suspend, or otherwise 

work out the payment of any debt;  

14. Whether the applicant has a history of material 

noncompliance with any regulatory requirements in the 

Commonwealth or any other jurisdiction where the 

noncompliance resulted in an enforcement action by the 

regulatory agency with jurisdiction over the applicant;  

15. Whether at the time of application the applicant is a 

defendant in litigation involving the integrity of the 

applicant's business practices; and 

16. Any other factor the director considers relevant. 

T. If during the initial application period the director 

receives more applications for permits than are authorized 

under the sports betting law, the director shall: 
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1. Evaluate whether any of the applications are so deficient 

that they should be rejected immediately;  

2. Qualitatively compare the remaining applications and 

award permits only from the pool of the top two-thirds of 

the remaining applicants that meet all the qualifications of 

a permit holder and are not otherwise disqualified from 

holding a permit; and  

3. Conduct further investigation and comparison before 

determining which, if any, of the remaining one-third of 

the applicants should be awarded a permit.  

U. Prior to issuance of a permit, an applicant awarded a 

permit shall pay to the Virginia Lottery a nonrefundable 

permit issuance fee of $250,000. 

V. The term of a permit is three years from the date of 

issuance. 

W. At least 60 days before the end of the term of a permit, a 

permit holder shall submit a: 

1. Renewal application in the form required by the 

department; and  

2. Nonrefundable wire transfer of $200,000 as a permitting 

and background investigation fee. 

X. Renewal applications not submitted in compliance with 

subdivision W 1 or W 2 of this section will not be considered. 

11VAC5-70-60. Principal applications. 

A. An applicant for a principal license who is associated 

with a sports betting permit applicant shall submit the 

principal application together with the permit application. 

B. A principal who will be employed in a managerial 

capacity for a sports betting platform on behalf of a permit 

holder: 

1. Shall submit the application separately from the 

application for the sports betting permit; and 

2. May submit the application together with a supplier 

license application. 

C. The application for a principal shall be made using the 

electronic form required by the department.  

D. For an applicant who is a citizen of any country other 

than the United States, the background investigation shall 

require an international criminal history records check. 

E. The application for each principal license shall be 

accompanied by a wire transfer of $50,000, $1,000 of which 

shall be considered an application/license fee, with the 

remainder constituting a nonrefundable initial deposit toward 

the department's administrative costs to conduct the 

background investigation of the applicant. 

F. The term of a principal license shall be three years from 

the date of issuance. 

G. At least 60 days before the end of the term of a principal 

license, a principal shall submit a: 

1. Renewal application using the electronic form required 

by the department; and  

2. Nonrefundable wire transfer of $50,000 as an 

application/license fee and background investigation fee. 

11VAC5-70-70. Sports betting supplier applications. 

A. An applicant for a sports betting supplier license shall be 

made using the electronic form required by the department. 

B. A principal who will be employed in a managerial 

capacity for a sports betting platform may submit the 

principal application together with a supplier license 

application. 

C. The application for a sports betting supplier license shall 

include all information required by department staff. 

D. The application for a supplier license to operate a permit 

holder's sports betting platform shall be made using the 

electronic form required by the department. 

E. The application for a supplier license to operate a permit 

holder's sports betting platform shall be accompanied by a 

wire transfer of $125,000, $10,000 of which shall be 

considered an application/license fee, with the remainder 

constituting a refundable initial deposit toward the 

department's administrative costs to conduct the background 

investigation of the applicant and its employees and directors. 

F. An applicant for a supplier license to operate a sports 

betting platform shall identify those individuals who will be 

employed in a managerial capacity on the platform. 

G. The application for a supplier license other than to 

operate a permit holder's sports betting platform shall be 

accompanied by a wire transfer of $50,000, $5,000 of which 

shall be considered an application/license fee, with the 

remainder constituting a refundable initial deposit toward the 

department's administrative costs to conduct the background 

investigation of the applicant and its employees and directors. 

H. The term of a supplier license shall be three years form 

the date of issuance. 

I. At least 60 days before the end of the term of a supplier 

license, a supplier shall submit a: 

1. Renewal application in the form required by the 

department; and  

2. Nonrefundable wire transfer of $50,000 as an 

application/license fee and background investigation fee. 

11VAC5-70-80. Sports betting vendor registrations. 

A. Any person not approved by the director as a registered 

sports betting vendor may not perform vendor functions for a 
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permit holder or sports betting supplier within the 

Commonwealth. 

B. An applicant for a sports betting vendor registration shall 

complete and submit the electronic application form required 

by the department. 

C. The application for a sports betting vendor registration 

shall include all information required by department staff. 

D. The application for a sports betting vendor registration 

shall be accompanied by a wire transfer of nonrefundable 

$500 application/registration fee toward the department's 

administrative costs to conduct the background investigation 

of the applicant. 

E. The term of a sports betting vendor registration shall be 

three years from the date of issuance. 

F. At least 60 days before the end of the term of a vendor 

registration, a vendor registrant shall submit a: 

1. Renewal application in the form required by the 

department, and  

2. Nonrefundable wire transfer of $500 as an 

application/registration fee and background investigation 

fee. 

11VAC5-70-90. Sports betting employee applications. 

A. Any individual not holding a valid sports betting 

employee license issued by the director may not be employed 

by a permit holder or sports betting supplier to work within 

the borders of the Commonwealth as a sports betting 

employee. 

B. The director may issue a sports betting employee license 

to an individual upon: 

1. Payment of all required application/license and 

background investigation fees; 

2. Submission of a completed license application to the 

director; 

3. Disclosure of all personal and background information 

and other information required by department staff; 

4. Signed consent for investigation required under this 

chapter; 

5. Unless exempt, issuance of any applicable bond required 

under this chapter; 

6. Receipt of at least a conditional offer of employment as 

a sports betting employee from a permit holder or sports 

betting supplier that has: 

a. Obtained a bond if required under this chapter; and 

b. Performed, at a minimum, criminal, credit, and tax 

checks, employment verification, and a national database 

search; 

7. Provided confirmation that within the 365 days before 

the application is submitted, the applicant has not served as 

a Virginia Lottery Board member or been employed by the 

department; and 

8. Provided the director with sufficient information, 

documentation, and assurances to establish by clear and 

convincing evidence that the individual (i) meets the 

applicable requirements of the laws of Virginia and this 

chapter and (ii) is otherwise qualified for a sports betting 

employee license. 

C. The application/license fee and background investigation 

fee for a sports betting employee license or renewal is $500. 

D. A licensed sports betting employee may not wager on a 

sports event at or receive winnings from a permit holder 

where the individual is employed or that is operated by the 

individual’s employer, or where the individual is currently 

assigned to work. 

E. A licensee has a continuing duty to inform the director of 

any act or omission the licensee knows or should know 

constitutes a violation of the Code of Virginia or this chapter. 

F. Term and renewal. 

1. The term of a sports betting employee license is three 

years from the date of initial licensure. 

2. Except in the case of a temporary license, the director 

may renew the sports betting license if 60 days before the 

term of the license expires, the licensee: 

a. Applies for renewal in the format required by the 

department; 

b. Continues to demonstrate compliance with all 

licensing requirements; 

c. Maintains employment as a sports betting employee; 

d. Submits to a background investigation under this 

chapter; and 

e. Pays the fees for licensure and backgrounding as 

described in this section. 

11VAC5-70-100. Bonds. 

A. The director may require an applicant, permit holder, 

licensee, or registrant to obtain a bond before the director 

issues or reissues a permit, license, or registration.  

B. A sports betting employee may be exempted from 

obtaining a bond if the employee is involved in activities that 

the director has determined do not require a bond to protect 

the public interest.  

C. A bond shall be for the benefit of the Commonwealth for 

the faithful performance of the requirements imposed by the 

laws of Virginia and this chapter, shall be renewable 

annually, and may not be canceled without at least 30 days 
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written notice submitted to the director. The original bond 

shall be submitted to the director.  

D. A bond shall be issued only by a company that is 

financially rated A or better by a nationally recognized rating 

agency and that is permitted to transact business in the 

Commonwealth of Virginia.  

E. For a permit holder, the amount of the bond may not 

exceed $5 million.  

F. As approved by the director, the bond for a principal may 

be included in the bond submitted by the permit holder or 

sports betting supplier.  

G. For a principal or sports betting employee not covered by 

a bond under subsection E of this chapter, the amount of the 

bond:  

1.Shall be determined by the director based on the 

employee's level of responsibility and the Commonwealth's 

risk of exposure to liability for the employee's 

performance; and  

2. May not exceed $150,000.  

H. For a sports betting supplier licensee or vendor registrant, 

the amount of the bond: 

1. Shall be determined by the director based on the 

licensee's or vendor's level of responsibility and the 

Commonwealth's risk of exposure to liability for the 

licensee's or vendor's performance; and  

2. May not exceed $150,000.  

I. The director will not issue or reissue a permit, license, or 

registration until the director has received satisfactory proof 

of a bond.  

J. The director may apply a bond to the payment of an 

unpaid liability associated with this chapter of the applicant, 

permit holder, licensee, or registrant.  

K. On an annual basis, the director shall review the need for 

and the amount of bonds required of a permit holder, licensee, 

or registrant. 

11VAC5-70-110. Denial of a permit, license or 

registration. 

A. In addition to the hearing requirements in subsection C of 

this section, the process set out in subsection B of this section 

shall precede a hearing by the board on the denial of a permit, 

license, or registration application. 

B. After reviewing an application submitted for a permit, 

license, or registration, department staff may recommend that 

the director deny the application of an applicant who: 

1. Has not established by clear and convincing evidence 

that the applicant meets applicable qualifications set out in 

the Virginia sports betting law and this chapter, including 

demonstration of the good character, honesty, and integrity 

of the applicant and its principals and employees; or 

2. Has violated: 

a. A provision of the sports betting law; 

b. A provision of this chapter or any other chapter related 

to sports betting; or 

c. A condition set by the director. 

3. If department staff recommends that the director deny a 

permit, license, or registration, the director or the director's 

designee shall promptly provide the applicant with written 

notice of: 

a. The recommendation and the basis therefor; and 

b. The applicant's right to request an Informal Fact-

Finding Conference with the director or the director's 

designee as provided by Article 1, Chapter 40 (§ 58.1-

4007) of the Code of Virginia. 

4. An applicant may submit to the director a written 

request for an Informal Fact-Finding Conference within 15 

days of the date of the notice described in subdivision 3 of 

this subsection. 

5. If an applicant fails to timely submit a request under 

subdivision 4 of this subsection, the director may adopt as 

final the recommendation of department staff. 

6. During an Informal Fact-Finding Conference, an 

applicant may: 

a. Be represented by counsel; and 

b. Present evidence as to why the permit, license, or 

registration should be granted; 

7. If after the Informal Fact-Finding Conference, the 

applicant is dissatisfied with the decision of the director, 

the applicant may submit to the board, in writing: 

a. A request for hearing before the board on the decision 

of the director; and 

b. The applicant's legal and factual bases for disagreeing 

with the recommendation of the director. 

8. An applicant may submit a hearing request to the board 

within 15 days of the date of the recommendation of the 

director after the Informal Fact-Finding Conference. 

9. If an applicant fails to timely submit a written hearing 

request under subdivision 8 of this subsection, the 

director's decision shall be adopted as final. 

C. Board Process.  

1. Upon receipt of a timely written hearing request, the 

board shall provide the applicant a hearing notice for a 

hearing before the board. 
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2. The board's hearing notice, and the board's hearing at 

which the director's denial will be considered, shall comply 

with the requirements of the Virginia Administrative 

Process Act, Chapter 40 (§ 2.2-4000 et seq.) of Title 2.2 of 

the Code of Virginia. 

3. The board shall: 

a. Grant the permit, license, or registration after 

determining that the applicant is qualified; or 

b. Deny the permit, license, or registration after 

determining that the applicant: 

(1) Is not qualified for a permit, license, or registration, 

or is disqualified from holding a permit, license, or 

registration; 

(2) Has violated a provision described in subdivision B 2 

of this section; or 

(3) Has failed to demonstrate by clear and convincing 

evidence that its application should have been granted.  

4. Following a hearing, if it decides to uphold the decision 

of the director, the board shall: 

a. Prepare an order denying the permit, license, or 

registration with a statement of the reasons and specific 

findings of fact; and 

b. Provide the applicant with written notice of its final 

action. 

5. The board's final action on a permit, license, or 

registration denial is subject to judicial review as provided 

in § 58.1-4027 of the Code of Virginia. 

D. The procedures set out in this section shall apply to 

decisions by the director not to renew a permit, license, or 

registration. 

11VAC5-70-120. Sanctions. 

A. In addition to any other permissible enforcement action, 

the director may impose sanctions on a permit holder, 

licensee, or registrant.  

B. Permissible sanctions against a permit holder include: 

1. Suspension or revocation of the permit; and 

2. A monetary penalty of up to $1,000 per day per 

violation. 

C. Permissible sanctions against a licensee or registrant 

include suspension or revocation of the license or registration. 

D. The director may impose sanctions on a permit holder, 

licensee, or registrant for violations committed by its 

principals, suppliers, vendors, or employees.  

E. The director may impose a sanction for any violation of 

the sports betting law or this chapter or other chapters in this 

title related to sports betting, including: 

1. Any basis for the denial of a permit, license, or 

registration under 11VAC5-70-110; 

2. Knowingly making a false statement of material fact to 

the director; 

3. Having been suspended or denied from operating a 

gambling game, gaming device, gaming or sports betting 

operation or having had a license revoked by any 

governmental authority responsible for the regulation of 

gaming activities in any jurisdiction; 

4. Having been convicted of or pled guilty to a felony or 

misdemeanor in any jurisdiction that could affect the 

suitability of the permit holder, licensee, or registrant, as 

determined by the director; 

5. Having been convicted of or pled guilty to a gambling-

related, theft, embezzlement, or fraud offense; 

6. Having been arrested, charged, indicted, convicted, or 

received notice of civil or criminal investigation or threat 

of prosecution for illegal or offshore sports betting 

activities that serviced the United States or otherwise 

accepted wagers in violation of state or federal law from 

individuals located inside the United States; 

7. Failure to fully and timely submit a tax, fee, or penalty 

as required by the board, the Commonwealth of Virginia or 

any applicable subdivision; 

8. Failure to submit a report as required to the director;  

9. Failure to participate in an investigation as required by 

the director;  

10. Failure to maintain reserves, insurance, or bond as 

required by the director; 

11. Failure to adhere to the internal control standards 

approved by the director; 

12. Knowing, or grossly negligent, failure to prevent 

prohibited conduct from occurring within a sports betting 

platform; or  

13 Any other activity or failure to act that the director 

determines requires the imposition of a sanction in order to 

maintain the integrity of the sports betting program and the 

interests of the Commonwealth of Virginia. 

F. The procedure for imposing a sanction shall parallel the 

procedure established in 11VAC5-70-110 for the denial of a 

permit, license, or registration, including judicial review of 

the board's final action on the imposition of a sanction. 

G. In addition to the requirements set out in subdivision F of 

this section, a permit holder shall be afforded at least 15 days' 

notice and a hearing before the board prior to the imposition 

of a sanction. 

H. If the director determines that it is in the best interests of 

the Commonwealth of Virginia, the director may negotiate 
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and reach an agreed-upon settlement of a violation with a 

permit holder, licensee, or registrant, and the sanctions 

imposed in that settlement shall not be subject to appeal. 

11VAC5-70-130. (Reserved.) 

11VAC5-70-140. Reserve and insurance requirements. 

A. A permit holder shall maintain a reserve in the form of 

cash, cash equivalents, irrevocable letter of credit, or bond, or 

a combination thereof, in an amount approved by the director 

to cover the outstanding liability of the permit holder to 

players. A bond used by a permit holder to maintain any 

portion of its reserve shall comply with the bond 

requirements of 11VAC5-70-100. A permit holder may not 

remove, release, or withdraw funds from its reserves without 

the written approval of the director. Permit holders shall at all 

times also maintain cash reserves in amounts to be 

established by board regulation. 

B. The amount in the reserve fund shall be at least $500,000 

and equal or exceed the aggregate sum of:  

1. Funds held by the permit holder in player accounts;  

2. The total amount of funds accepted by the permit holder 

as wagers on sports events with outcomes that have not 

been determined; and  

3. Money owed but unpaid by the permit holder to players 

on winning wagers.  

C. All reserve funds shall be held with a financial institution 

federally insured by the FDIC and licensed to transact 

business in the Commonwealth of Virginia.  

D. A permit holder shall calculate its reserve requirements 

each day and, if the permit holder determines its reserve is 

insufficient to cover the requirement of this subsection, it 

shall notify the director of the deficiency within 24 hours and 

identify the steps taken to remedy the deficiency.  

E. Before its sports betting permit or renewal is issued, a 

permit holder shall provide the director with certificates of 

insurance from a company financially rated A or better by a 

nationally recognized rating agency and permitted to transact 

business in the Commonwealth of Virginia.  

F. A permit holder shall maintain the following types and 

levels of insurance:  

1. General commercial liability insurance in the amount of 

$5 million;  

2. Errors and omissions insurance in the amount of $15 

million; and  

3. Such other types and amounts of insurance as the 

director requires. 

11VAC5-70-150. Liability pooling. 

A. A permit holder may offset loss and manage risk, directly 

or with a third party approved by the director, through the use 

of a liquidity pool in Virginia or, if the permit holder or its 

affiliate is licensed to operate a sports betting business in a 

permissible jurisdiction, in that permissible jurisdiction. 

B. A permit holder's use of a liquidity pool does not 

eliminate the permit holder's reserve obligations under 

11VAC5-70-140. 

11VAC5-70-160. Audit, financial, recordkeeping, and 

banking requirements. 

A. A permit holder shall engage a certified public 

accountant to prepare in accordance with generally accepted 

accounting principles an annual audit of the financial 

transactions and condition of the permit holder's sports 

betting operation and submit that audit to the director. 

B. A permit holder shall establish and maintain books, 

records, and documents, including electronic storage media, 

in accordance with generally accepted accounting principles 

and practices that sufficiently and properly reflect all 

revenues and expenditures of funds associated with its sports 

betting operation. 

C. A permit holder shall retain all records, financial records, 

supporting documents, statistical records, and any other 

documents, including electronic storage media, pertinent to its 

sports betting operation for at least five years from their 

creation. 

D. Books and records pertaining to a permit holder's sports 

betting operation shall be subject to inspection, review, and 

audit by the director or department staff at any time within the 

sole discretion of the director. 

E. A permit holder shall deliver all data requested by the 

director either by report or data file in the form and frequency 

required by the director while achieving compliance with the 

standards of integrity, security, and control. 

F. A permit holder shall generate reports necessary to record 

all the components of the adjusted gross revenue calculation 

over a specific period as required by the director. 

G. All requested data shall be made available in the report 

formats and database formats required by the director. 

H. All required reports shall be generated by the permit 

holder even if the period specified contains no data to be 

presented, in which case the report shall indicate all required 

information and contain an indication of "No Activity" or 

similar message. 

I. A permit holder shall generate reports for each day of 

operation in order to calculate the adjusted gross revenue and 

to ensure the integrity of its sports betting platform. 
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J. A permit holder shall maintain an operating account with 

a financial institution that is federally insured by the FDIC 

and licensed to transact business in the Commonwealth of 

Virginia. 

K. A permit holder shall maintain an escrow account with a 

financial institution federally insured by the FDIC and 

licensed to transact business in the Commonwealth of 

Virginia, into which shall be deposited all taxes and fees due 

to be transferred to the department pursuant to procedures to 

be established by the director. The department shall be 

designated as sole beneficiary on the account. This escrow 

account shall be separate from all other operating accounts of 

the permit holder to ensure the security of funds due to the 

Commonwealth of Virginia. 

11VAC5-70-170. Permissible wagers. 

A. A permit holder may accept a wager from a player on 

sporting events, including: 

1. A proposition wager, except a proposition wager on 

college sports or a proposition wager placed on any type of 

possible injury, unsportsmanlike conduct, or any other 

officiating call; 

2. A bet placed before or after the sporting event has 

started; or 

3. A bet placed after the sporting event has started, in 

compliance with § 58.1-4036 of the Code of Virginia and 

11VAC5-70-190. 

B. A permit holder may accept wagers on those sporting 

events, leagues, and bet types approved by the director and 

published on an Authorized Sports Events, Leagues and Bets 

List. 

C. If a sports league has been generally authorized by the 

director, a permit holder may accept wagers on all sports 

events of the kind generally conducted by that league. 

D. The director shall post on the Virginia Lottery's website 

the Authorized Sports Events, Leagues and Bets list.  

E. When new sporting events, leagues, or bet types are 

authorized by the director, the director shall update the 

Authorized Sports Events, Leagues and Bets List. 

F. A permit holder shall be responsible for keeping itself up-

to-date with respect to the contents of the Authorized Sports 

Events, Leagues and Bets list. 

G. At least 72 hours before any proposed new scheduled 

sports event, a permit holder may request in writing that the 

director authorize sporting events, leagues, or bet types not 

previously authorized. 

H. The application shall be in the form and format specified 

by the director, including, if applicable, the name of the sports 

governing body and a description of its policies and 

procedures regarding event integrity. 

I. If a permit holder requests that the Virginia Lottery 

authorize a sporting event of a type not generally conducted 

by that sports league, the director may request input from that 

sports governing body. 

J. Before authorizing a request for a new sporting event, 

league, bet type, or any portion of a sporting event, league, or 

bet type, the director shall consider: 

1. Input from the sports governing body or conductor of 

the sporting event; 

2. Whether the outcome of the sporting event is determined 

solely by chance; 

3. Whether the outcome of the sporting event can be 

verified; 

4. Whether the event generating the outcome is conducted 

in a manner that ensures sufficient integrity controls so the 

outcome can be trusted; 

5. Whether the outcome may be affected by any bet placed; 

and 

6. Whether the event is conducted in conformity with all 

applicable laws. 

11VAC5-70-180. Requests from sports governing bodies. 

A. If a sports governing body has a good faith, reasonable 

basis to believe such restriction, limitation or prohibition is 

reasonably necessary to protect the integrity or the public's 

confidence in the integrity of the sports governing body, by 

written request in the form and format required by the 

director, a sports governing body may ask the director to 

restrict, limit, or prohibit sports betting on its sporting events, 

or to restrict the types of bets on such sporting events that 

may be offered by a permit holder. 

B. For any request made by a sports governing body under 

subsection A of this section: 

1. The requester shall bear the burden of establishing to the 

satisfaction of the director that the relevant betting or other 

activity poses a significant and unreasonable integrity risk; 

2. The director shall seek input from affected permit 

holders before making a determination on the request; and  

3. If the director grants the request, the board shall 

promulgate by regulation such restrictions, limitations, or 

prohibitions as appropriate. 

C. If the director denies a request made by a sports 

governing body under subsection A of this section, the 

director shall notify the requestor: 

1.Of the decision; 

2. That the decision may be reviewed by the board after an 

Informal Fact-Finding Conference with the director or the 
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director's designee as provided by Article 1, Chapter 40 (§ 

58.1-4007) of the Code of Virginia; 

3. That the general process in 11VAC5-70-110 for 

appealing the denial of a permit, including its timeframes 

and burden of proof, shall be followed by the board; and  

4. That the requestor must offer proof in opposition to the 

director's decision.  

D. A permit holder may not offer or take any bets in 

violation of regulations promulgated by the board pursuant to 

this subsection. 

11VAC5-70-190. Use of official league data. 

A. In this section, "official league data" means statistics, 

results, outcomes, and other data relating to a professional 

sports event obtained by a permit holder under an agreement 

with a sports governing body or with an entity expressly 

authorized by a sports governing body for determining the 

outcome of a bet placed after the sporting event has started. 

B. Unless a sports governing body, pursuant to this section, 

has requested that permit holders use official league data to 

settle bets, a permit holder may use any lawful data source for 

determining the result of a wager. A permit holder shall not 

purchase or use any personal biometric data unless the permit 

holder has received written permission from the athlete. 

C. A permit holder shall report to the director the data 

source that it uses to resolve sports wagers. The director may 

disapprove of a data source for any reason, including the type 

of wager and method of data collection. 

D. A sports governing body may submit a request to the 

director in the form and format required by the director to 

require permit holders to use official league data to settle 

those bets placed after a sporting event has started.  

E. Within 60 days after notification from the director to do 

so, permit holders shall use only official league data to 

determine the results of bets placed after a sporting event has 

started. 

F. Subsection E of this section shall not apply if: 

1. The sports governing body is unable to provide, on 

commercially reasonable terms as determined by the 

director, a feed of official league data; or 

2. A permit holder demonstrates to the director that a 

sports governing body has not provided or offered to 

provide a feed of official league data to the permit holder 

on commercially reasonable terms, by providing the 

director with sufficient information to show: 

a. The availability of a sports governing body's official 

league data for such bets from more than one authorized 

source; 

b. Market information regarding the purchase, in Virginia 

and in other states, by permit holders of data from all 

authorized sources; 

c. The nature and quantity of the data, including the 

quality and complexity of the process used for collecting 

the data; and 

d. Any other information the director requires. 

G. While the director is considering whether official league 

data is available on commercially reasonable terms pursuant 

to this section, a permit holder may use any lawful data 

source for determining the results of bets placed after a 

sporting event has started, unless otherwise determined by the 

director. 

11VAC5-70-200. System integrity and security 

assessment. 

A. Within 90 days after beginning operations and annually 

thereafter, a permit holder shall engage an independent testing 

laboratory or an independent firm approved by the director to 

perform a system integrity and security assessment of its 

sports betting operations.  

B. The scope of the integrity and security assessment shall 

include, at a minimum, all of the following:  

1. A vulnerability assessment of internal, external, and 

wireless networks with the intent of identifying 

vulnerabilities of all devices, internet sports betting 

platforms, and applications transferring, storing, or 

processing personally identifiable information (PII) or 

other sensitive information connected to or present on the 

networks;  

2. A penetration test of all internal, external, and wireless 

networks to confirm if identified vulnerabilities of all 

devices, internet sports betting platforms, and applications 

are susceptible to compromise; 

3. A technical security control assessment against the 

provisions of the sports betting law and this chapter 

consistent with generally accepted professional standards 

and as approved by the director; 

4. An evaluation of information security services, cloud 

services, payment services (financial institutions, payment 

processors, etc.), location services, and any other services 

that may be offered directly by the permit holder or involve 

the use of third parties; and 

5. Any other specific criteria or standards for the integrity 

and security assessment required by the director. 

C. The independent testing laboratory or independent firm 

shall issue a report on its assessment and submit it to the 

director. The report shall include, at a minimum:  

1. The scope of review;  
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2. Name and company affiliation of any individual who 

conducted the assessment;  

3. Date of assessment;  

4. Findings;  

5. Recommended corrective action, if any; and  

6. Permit holder's response to the findings and 

recommended corrective action. 

11VAC5-70-210. Minors and prohibited players. 

A. A permit holder may not permit wagers to be placed by 

minors and shall maintain a system approved by the director 

through which it verifies that wagers are not made by minors.  

B. A permit holder shall submit to the director for approval 

its methodology for verifying the age of an individual who 

wishes to place a wager on a sporting event and shall notify 

the director before making changes to its methodology or 

replacing a sports betting supplier or vendor who provides 

age verification services for the permit holder.  

C. A permit holder shall prevent a minor from collecting 

payouts or winnings from its sports betting operation.  

D. A permit holder shall confidentially maintain the Virginia 

Lottery Exclusion List of prohibited individuals that is 

provided to permit holders by the director and shall prevent 

prohibited individuals from placing wagers through its 

platform. A permit holder shall maintain a system approved 

by the director through which the permit holder verifies that 

wagers are not placed by such prohibited individuals.  

E. A permit holder shall submit to the director for approval 

its screening methodology for preventing prohibited 

individuals from utilizing its sports betting platform and shall 

notify the director before making any changes to its 

methodology.  

F. A permit holder shall prohibit a prohibited individual 

from placing a wager on a sporting event and from collecting 

payouts or winnings. 

11VAC5-70-220. Integrity monitoring. 

A. A permit holder shall maintain membership in the Global 

Lottery Monitoring System (GLMS), the Sports Wagering 

Integrity Monitoring Service (SWIMA), or other integrity 

monitoring association or contract with an integrity 

monitoring system provider as approved by the department.  

B. A permit holder shall have controls in place to identify 

unusual or suspicious wagering activity and report such 

activity to the director according to the integrity monitoring 

system procedures approved by the director.  

C. A permit holder shall ensure that its integrity monitoring 

system procedures provide for the sharing of information with 

each other permit holder.  

D. A permit holder shall review information and reports 

from other permit holders and, as approved by the director, 

notify other permit holders of any similar activity. A permit 

holder shall comply with the specific reporting requirements 

designated in its internal control standards.  

E. A permit holder shall immediately notify the director of 

suspicious wagering activity, including previously reported 

unusual wagering activity rising to the level of suspicious 

wagering activity.  

F. A permit holder that reports on suspicious wagering 

activity may suspend wagering on a sporting event related to 

the report.  

G. A permit holder may void or cancel wagers related to 

suspicious wagering activity only after receiving the approval 

of the director.  

H. A permit holder's integrity monitoring system shall be 

accessible to the director via remote access and shall produce, 

at a minimum:  

1. Reports of all unusual wagering activity;  

2. Reports of accounts showing unusual wagering activity 

subsequently determined to be suspicious wagering 

activity;  

3. Reports of all activity initially deemed suspicious 

wagering activity; and  

4. A summary of actions taken in response to all such 

reports.  

I. All information and data received by the director with 

respect to unusual or suspicious wagering activity shall be 

considered confidential, and such information and data may 

not be revealed in whole or in part, except:  

1. In compliance with a valid court order;  

2. To any law-enforcement entity, regulatory agency, 

governing authority, integrity monitoring organization, or 

other organization necessary to facilitate integrity 

monitoring as approved by the director; or  

3. An accredited sports governing body as required by the 

director pursuant to the sports betting law. 

11VAC5-70-230. Investigations; reporting. 

A. For the purposes of this section, "regulated entity" means 

a person or individual who is a permit holder, license holder, 

or registrant.  

B. A regulated entity shall cooperate in good faith with an 

investigation conducted by the director, a sports governing 

body, or a law-enforcement agency.  

C. A regulated entity shall provide or facilitate provision of 

account-level betting information and data files relating to 

individuals placing wagers and any other information 
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necessary for investigations conducted by the director, a 

sports governing body, or a law-enforcement agency.  

D. During normal business hours, the director may enter the 

premises of any facility of a regulated entity that is utilized by 

the regulated entity to conduct or to assist in the conducting 

of sports betting operations in the Commonwealth of Virginia 

for the purpose of inspecting equipment, books, and records 

kept as required by the sports betting law or this chapter to 

ensure that the regulated entity is in compliance with the 

sports betting law and this chapter, or to make any other 

inspection as necessary to enforce the sports betting law or 

this chapter. Failure to admit the director or department staff 

after presentation of credentials shall be grounds for the 

imposition of sanctions.  

E. The director, department staff, and representatives of any 

law-enforcement agency with jurisdiction may demand access 

to inspect the business records of any regulated entity without 

the requirement of obtaining a subpoena. Failure to provide 

access to the director or department staff after presentation of 

credentials shall be grounds for the imposition of sanctions.  

F. A regulated entity shall maintain all records relating to 

the conduct of its sports betting operations in the 

Commonwealth of Virginia for a period of at least five years.  

G. The director may investigate the possibility of any of the 

following activities:  

1. Acceptance of a prohibited wager;  

2. Transmission of material nonpublic information for the 

purpose of wagering on a sporting event or to influence a 

wager;  

3. Abnormal betting activity, unusual wagering activity, 

suspicious wagering activity, or patterns that may indicate 

concerns about the integrity of a sporting event;  

4. Violations of the Virginia Comprehensive Money 

Laundering Act (§ 18.2-246.1 et seq. of the Code of 

Virginia) or federal law prohibiting money laundering;  

5. Criminal, civil, administrative, or disciplinary 

proceedings or nonroutine government or law enforcement 

investigations against the regulated entity;  

6. Offering or extending credit to a player;  

7. Directly targeting sports betting advertisements or 

promotions to minors;  

8. Offering or accepting a wager on sporting events not 

approved by the director, including high school and youth 

league sports events;  

9. Offering or accepting any wager prohibited by the sports 

betting law or this chapter;  

10. Engaging in or facilitating illegal or suspicious 

wagering activity;  

11. Any complaints of illegal activity; or  

12. Any other complaint, activity, or conduct that may 

affect the integrity of sports betting in the Commonwealth 

of Virginia.  

H. Referral of investigations. 

1. Upon receipt of a report of prohibited conduct, the 

director shall conduct a preliminary investigation.  

2. After the preliminary investigation, if the director 

concludes that the allegations contained in the report are 

credible, the director shall refer the allegations to the 

appropriate law-enforcement agency. 

3. If the alleged conduct occurred entirely or primarily 

within the Commonwealth of Virginia, the referral shall be 

made to the Office of the Attorney General. 

4. If the alleged conduct occurred entirely or primarily 

within a United States jurisdiction other than the 

Commonwealth of Virginia, the referral shall be made to 

the Office of the Attorney General of that jurisdiction and, 

if applicable, to any appropriate sports wagering regulatory 

agency of that jurisdiction.  

5. If the alleged conduct implicates interstate commerce or 

any other violation of federal law, the referral shall be 

made to the Federal Bureau of Investigation. 

6. In addition to any referral under this subsection, if a 

report alleged prohibited conduct by an athlete, upon 

determining that the allegations in the report are credible, 

the director shall notify the appropriate sports governing 

body in writing, including in the report the identity of the 

athlete and a general description of the allegation.  

I. A regulated entity shall immediately report to the director 

any information relating to:  

1. Criminal or disciplinary proceedings or nonroutine 

government or law enforcement investigations commenced 

against the regulated entity in connection with its 

operations in any jurisdiction;  

2. Unusual or suspicious wagering activity or wagering 

activities or patterns that may indicate a concern with the 

integrity of a sporting event;  

3. Any potential or actual breach of a sports governing 

body's internal rules and codes of conduct pertaining to 

sports betting, either: 

a. Known to the regulated entity, or 

b. That reasonably should have been known by the 

regulated entity;  

4. Conduct that corrupts, is intended to corrupt, or unduly 

influences the betting outcome of a sporting event for the 

purposes of financial gain, including match fixing; or 
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5. Suspicious or illegal wagering activities, including: 

a. Cheating;  

b. The use of funds derived from illegal activity;  

c. Suspicious activities reported to the federal 

government pursuant to AML laws and regulations; 

d. Prohibited wagers;  

e. Wagers to conceal or launder funds derived from 

illegal activity;  

f. Use of compensated agents or proxies to place wagers; 

and  

g. Use of false identification in connection with sports 

betting activity.  

J. Reporting prohibited conduct. 

1. Reports submitted via the hotline established pursuant to 

§ 58.1-4043 of the Code of Virginia or by any other 

method shall include a summary of the facts supporting the 

allegation.  

2. The identity of an individual making a report and the 

contents of any report under this subsection:  

a. Shall be confidential and not subject to disclosure 

under the Virginia Freedom of Information Act (§ 2.2-

3700, et seq. of the Code of Virginia); and 

b. Shall not be disclosed for any reason except: 

(1) As authorized by the individual; 

(2) Upon referral of the allegation to law enforcement; or  

(3) As ordered by a court of competent jurisdiction.  

K. A regulated entity shall promptly report information 

relating to conduct described in subdivisions I 2, I 3, and I 4 

of this section, to the relevant sports governing body and 

provide written notice of that communication to the director. 

With respect to information provided by a permit holder or 

supplier to a sports governing body, the sports governing 

body may use such information only for integrity purposes 

and shall maintain the confidentiality of such information 

unless disclosure is required by the director, the sports betting 

law or other law, or a court order; if the permit holder or 

supplier consents to disclosure; or if the director determines 

that disclosure is necessary to allow the sports governing 

body to conduct and resolve integrity-related investigations.  

L. Upon request of the director, a regulated entity promptly 

shall share with the director, in the form and format required 

by the director at the account level information regarding a 

bettor; amount and type of wager; the time the wager was 

placed; the location of the wager, including the internet 

protocol address if applicable; the outcome of the wager; and 

records of abnormal, unusual, or suspicious wagering activity.  

M. If a sports governing body notifies the director that real-

time information sharing for wagers placed on its sporting 

events is necessary and desirable, a regulated entity shall 

share the information described in subsection L of this section 

with the sports governing body or its designee with respect to 

wagers on the sports governing body sporting events. Such 

information may be provided in anonymized form and may be 

used by a sports governing body solely for integrity purposes. 

11VAC5-70-240. Advertising and marketing. 

A. A permit holder shall maintain and make available to the 

director upon request all advertising, marketing, and 

promotional materials developed by or on behalf of the permit 

holder by a supplier or vendor.  

B. A supplier or vendor that advertises, markets, or offers 

promotions on behalf of more than one permit holder or 

without affiliation to any permit holder shall maintain and 

make available to the director upon request all advertising, 

marketing, and promotional materials related to sports betting 

in the Commonwealth of Virginia that it has developed.  

C. A permit holder may not directly target sports betting 

advertisements or promotions to minors.  

D. Advertising, marketing, and promotional materials shall 

include a responsible gaming message, which includes, at a 

minimum, a director-approved problem gambling helpline 

number and an assistance and prevention message, except as 

otherwise permitted by the director for certain mediums such 

as social media messages.  

E. A permit holder shall communicate the minimum legal 

age to participate on any website, mobile application, and 

other mediums or forms of advertising, marketing, and 

promotions, except as otherwise permitted by the director for 

certain mediums such as social media messages.  

F. A permit holder shall comply strictly with all state and 

federal standards to make neither false or misleading claims, 

nor to create a suggestion that the probabilities of winning or 

losing with the permit holder's sports betting platform are 

different than those actually experienced.  

G. Advertising, marketing, and promotional materials may 

not contain images, symbols, celebrity or entertainer 

endorsements, or language designed to appeal specifically to 

individuals younger than 21 years of age.  

H. Advertising, marketing, and promotional materials may 

not feature anyone who is or appears to be younger than 21 

years of age except for professional athletes who may be 

minors.  

I. A permit holder may not advertise in a media outlet 

(including social media) that appeals primarily to individuals 

younger than 21 years of age.  
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J. Advertisements may not be placed with such intensity and 

frequency that they represent saturation of that medium or 

become excessive.  

K. Advertising, marketing, or promotional materials may not 

contain claims or representations that sports betting will 

guarantee an individual's social, financial, or personal 

success.  

L. Advertising, marketing, or promotional materials may not 

be placed before an audience where the majority of the 

participants is presumed to be younger than 21 years of age or 

that targets potentially vulnerable persons, including self-

excluded bettors.  

M. Advertising, marketing, or promotional materials may 

not imply that chances of winning increase the more one 

participates in, or the more one spends on, sports betting.  

N. A permit holder, or a supplier or vendor acting on behalf 

of a permit holder, shall discontinue targeted advertising and 

marketing to a self-excluded individual's mobile device 

through direct messaging or text, email, or through other 

contact information collected by the permit holder, supplier, 

or vendor.  

O. Advertising, marketing, or promotional materials may not 

be placed on any website or printed page or medium devoted 

primarily to responsible gaming.  

P. Advertising, marketing, or promotional materials shall 

neither contain nor imply lewd or indecent language, images, 

or actions.  

Q. Advertising, marketing, and promotional materials shall 

reflect generally accepted contemporary standards of good 

taste.  

R. All direct advertising, marketing, and promotions via 

email or text message shall allow the option to unsubscribe.  

S. A permit holder shall respect user privacy and comply 

with all applicable legal privacy requirements, including 

those requiring governing consent.  

T. A permit holder shall provide the requirements of this 

section to advertising, marketing, and promotions personnel, 

contractors, agents, and agencies and shall require 

compliance.  

U. Cooperative marketing with ABC licensee 

1. For purposes of this subsection: 

(a) "ABC licensee" means a person to whom a license 

has been issued pursuant to the provisions of Title 4.1 of 

the Code of Virginia.  

(b) "Casino gaming operator" and "casino gaming 

establishment" shall have the meanings established in 

Chapter 41 (§ 58.1-4100 et seq.) of Title 58.1 of the Code 

of Virginia. 

(c) "Major league sports franchise" and "motor sports 

facility" shall have the meanings established in § 58.1-

4030 of the Code of Virginia. 

2. A permit holder shall not combine its sports betting 

platform marketing efforts with those of an ABC licensee 

for the parties' mutual benefit, except as follows: 

(a) A permit holder that is a (i) motor sports facility or 

(ii) motor sports facility operator may combine its 

platform marketing efforts with those of an ABC 

licensee, provided such marketing is limited to 

consumers physically located on the premises of the 

motor sports facility; 

(b) A permit holder that is a major league sports 

franchise may combine its platform marketing efforts 

with those of an ABC licensee, provided such marketing 

is limited to consumers physically located on the 

premises of the stadium where the sports franchise plays 

its games; and 

(c) A permit holder that is a casino gaming operator may 

combine its platform marketing efforts with those of an 

ABC licensee, provided such marketing is limited to 

consumers physically located on the premises of the 

casino gaming establishment.  

3. Prior to marketing its platform as permitted in this 

section, a permit holder must be able to demonstrate to the 

satisfaction of the director: 

(a) Compliance with all applicable zoning ordinances; 

and 

(b) Approval of the local governing body in the form of 

an ordinance allowing such marketing to occur with 

respect to the permit holder's motor sports facility, 

stadium, or casino gaming establishment. 

11VAC5-70-250. Reporting requirements. 

A. A permit holder shall report to the director by January 15 

of each year:  

1. The total amount of wagers received from players in the 

Commonwealth of Virginia for the immediately preceding 

calendar year;  

2. The adjusted gross revenue of the permit holder in the 

Commonwealth of Virginia for the immediately preceding 

calendar year;  

3. The aggregate annual payout of the permit holder for the 

immediately preceding calendar year; and  

4. Any additional information required by the director.  

B. A permit holder shall promptly report to the director any 

information relating to:  

1. The name, home address, and date of birth of any new 

officer, director, general partner, manager, trustee, or 
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principal of the permit holder or supplier or their parent, 

holding, intermediary, or subsidiary (whether or not wholly 

owned), and the individual shall submit to the director any 

required application within 30 days;  

2. Potential purchase or sale, transfer, assignment, gift or 

donation, or other disposal or acquisition of 5.0% or more 

ownership in the permit holder, with an acknowledgment 

that the transaction may require an application and findings 

of suitability and may not occur until advance approval is 

given by the director, unless the ownership is of a publicly-

traded entity not otherwise considered a change in control; 

and  

3. The resignation, termination, removal, or departure of 

any new officer, director, general partner, manager, trustee, 

or principal of the permit holder, its parent, holding, 

intermediary, or subsidiary (whether or not wholly owned). 

11VAC5-70-260. House rules. 

A. A permit holder shall adopt comprehensive house rules 

that shall be submitted to the director for approval with the 

initial application for a permit. Amendments to the House 

Rules shall be submitted to the director for approval.  

B. House Rules shall address at least the following items:  

1. A method for the calculation and payment of winning 

wagers;  

2. The effect of schedule changes;  

3. The method of notifying players of odds or proposition 

changes;  

4. Acceptance of wagers at terms other than those posted;  

5. The method of contacting the permit holder for 

questions and complaints;  

6. A description of prohibited individuals and others who 

may be restricted from placing a wager;  

7. The permissible methods of funding a wager; and  

8. A description of all types of wagers that may be 

accepted.  

C. House rules shall include a provision prohibiting the 

structuring of bets to avoid federal currency transaction 

reporting thresholds.  

D. House rules shall put players on notice that wagers are 

subject to AML standards, including triggers and 

requirements for filing of currency transaction reports and 

suspicious activity reports.  

E. House rules shall disclose the operator's ability to limit 

the maximum bet amount.  

F. House rules shall be readily available on the permit 

holder's websites and mobile applications. 

11VAC5-70-270. Sports betting platform requirements. 

A. All wagers on sporting events authorized by the sports 

betting law and this chapter shall be initiated, received, and 

otherwise made within the Commonwealth of Virginia unless 

otherwise permitted by federal law. Consistent with the 

Unlawful Internet Gambling Enforcement Act (31 USC 

§§ 5361-5367), the intermediate routing of electronic data 

relating to the lawful intrastate sports betting authorized 

under the sports betting law and this chapter shall not 

determine the location in which such bet is initiated and 

received.  

B. Before a permit holder is issued its permit, all equipment 

and software used in conjunction with its operation shall be 

submitted to an independent testing laboratory approved by 

the director. 

C. A sports betting platform submitted to an approved 

independent testing laboratory shall contain:  

1. A complete, comprehensive, technically accurate 

description and explanation of the sports betting platform; 

2. Detailed operating procedures of the sports betting 

platform;  

3. A description of the risk management framework, 

including: 

a. User access controls for all permit holder personnel; 

b. Information regarding segregation of duties; 

c. Information regarding automated risk-management 

procedures; 

d. Information regarding identifying and reporting fraud 

and suspicious activity;  

e. Controls for ensuring regulatory compliance;  

f. A description of AML compliance standards;  

g. A description of all software applications that 

comprise the system;  

h. A description of all types of wagers available to be 

offered by the system; 

i. A description of all types of third-party systems 

proposed for utilization; and 

j. A description of the method proposed by the permit 

holder to prevent past posting.  

D. Upon request, a permit holder shall promptly provide the 

director with relevant reports and documentation that shall 

include, at a minimum:  

1. Complete access to all wagers, including canceled, 

voided, pending, and redeemed wagers; 

2. The ability to query or sort wagering data; and 
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3. The ability to export wagering data.  

E. A permit holder or the supplier providing a permit 

holder's sports betting platform shall maintain all 

transactional wagering data for a period of five years. 

F. The house rules that apply to wagers placed on a sports 

betting platform shall be readily available to a player. 

G. A sports betting platform shall be capable of recording, 

for each wager made: 

1. Description of the sporting event; 

2. Wager selection; 

3. Type of wager; 

4. Amount of wager; 

5. Date and time of the wager; 

6. Unique wager identifiers; 

7. Player identification number; 

8. Current wager status (i.e., active, canceled, voided, 

pending, etc.); 

9. Relevant location information; 

10. Results of the wager; 

11. Amount won; and 

12. Date and time the winning wager was paid to the 

player. 

H. A sports betting platform that offers live betting shall be 

capable of: 

1. Accurate and timely updates of odds for live betting 

wagers; 

2. Notifying a player of any change in odds that is not 

beneficial to the player while the wager is selected but 

before it is placed; 

3. Allowing players to confirm the wager after notification 

of the odds change; and  

4. Freezing or suspending the offering of wagers when 

necessary. 

I. A sports betting platform shall be capable of: 

1. Creating wagers;  

2. Settling wagers;  

3. Voiding wagers;  

4. Canceling wagers; and 

5. Preventing the acceptance of wagers on prohibited 

sports events.  

J. When a wager is voided or canceled, a sports betting 

platform shall indicate clearly that the transaction was voided 

or canceled, render the transaction nonredeemable, and make 

an entry in the system indicating the voiding or cancellation 

of the wager.  

K. Unless approved in advance by the director. a permit 

holder or a supplier providing a permit holder's sports betting 

platform may not alter the odds or any other material aspect 

of the transaction after a player's wager has been accepted. 

L. A sports betting platform shall prevent past posting of 

wagers and the voiding and cancellation of wagers after the 

outcome of an event is known. 

M. If a player has a pending wager and the player 

subsequently self-excludes, the wager may settle and the 

funds and account balance shall be returned to the player in 

accordance with the permit holder's internal control standards. 

N. At least once every 24 hours, a sports betting platform 

shall perform an authentication process on all software used 

to offer, record, and process wagers to ensure there have been 

no unauthorized modifications. As part of this authentication 

process, the sports betting platform must be able to detect if 

any system component is determined to be invalid in the 

event of an authentication failure.  

O. In the event of an authentication failure, the permit holder 

shall notify the director within 24 hours of the failure. The 

results of all authentication attempts shall be recorded by the 

sports betting platform and maintained for a period of 90 

days. 

P. A sports betting platform shall have controls in place to 

review the accuracy and timeliness of any data feeds used to 

offer or settle wagers. If an incident or error occurs that 

results in a loss of communication with the data feeds used to 

offer or redeem wagers, such error shall be recorded in a log 

capturing the date and time of the error, the nature of the 

error, and a description of its impact on the system's 

performance. Such information shall be maintained for a 

minimum period of two years. 

Q. A permit holder and a supplier providing a permit 

holder's sports betting platform shall grant the director access 

to wagering systems, transactions, and related data as deemed 

necessary and in the manner required by the director. 

R. A sports betting platform shall provide a process for the 

director to query and export, in the format required by the 

director, all sports betting platform data. 

S. Additional system specifications may be specified by the 

director through the issuance of a technical bulletin. 

11VAC5-70-280. Geolocation systems. 

A. A permit holder shall keep its geolocation system up to 

date, including integrating current solutions in real time that 

can detect the use of remote desktop software, rootkits, 
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virtualization, or any other programs identified by the director 

as having the ability to circumvent geolocation measures. 

B. At least every 90 days, the integrity of the geolocation 

system shall be reviewed by the permit holder to ensure that 

the system detects and mitigates existing and emerging 

location fraud risks. 

C. In order to prevent unauthorized placement of an internet 

sports betting wager by an individual not within the 

Commonwealth of Virginia, the sports betting platform must 

utilize a geofencing system to reasonably detect the physical 

location of an individual attempting to access the sports 

betting platform and place an internet sports betting wager 

and to monitor and block unauthorized attempts to place an 

internet sports betting wager when an individual is not within 

the permitted boundary. 

D. The geofencing system must ensure that an individual is 

located within the permitted boundary when placing an 

internet sports betting wager and must be equipped to 

dynamically monitor the individual's location and block 

unauthorized attempts to place an internet sports betting 

wager when an individual is not within the permitted 

boundary. 

E. The director may issue additional geolocation 

requirements in the form of a technical bulletin.  

11VAC5-70-290. Player accounts. 

A. Wagering on sporting events is permitted only by a 

player who has established a player account with an approved 

permit holder. 

B. The information necessary to initiate a player account 

shall be recorded and maintained for a period of five years 

and shall include at least: 

1. Player's legal name; 

2. Player's date of birth; 

3. Player's residential address (other than a post office box) 

and mailing address if different; 

4. Player's phone number; 

5. Player's active email address; 

6. Player's social security number ("SSN") or equivalent 

for a foreign player who intends to place a wager within 

the Commonwealth of Virginia, such as a passport or 

taxpayer identification number. The player may enter only 

the last four digits of a SSN if other factors are sufficient to 

determine the entire nine-digit SSN within a reasonable 

time; 

7. Verification that the player is not prohibited by the 

sports betting law or this chapter from participating in 

sports betting; and 

8. Document number of the government-issued 

identification credentials entered, or other methodology for 

remote, multi-source authentication, which may include 

third-party and governmental databases, as approved by the 

director. 

C. A permit holder shall record the player's acceptance of 

the terms and conditions and privacy policy and 

acknowledgment that the information provided is accurate 

and the player is prohibited from allowing any other person to 

access or use the player's player account. 

D. If a permit holder determines that the information 

provided by a player to make a deposit or process a 

withdrawal is inaccurate or incapable of verification; fails to 

verify the identity of the player; or the player violates the 

policies and procedures of the permit holder, the permit 

holder shall, within 21 days, require the submission of 

additional information from the player that can be used to 

remedy any violation or failure to verify the identity or funds 

deposit or withdrawal information of the player. If such 

information is not provided or does not result in verification 

of the player's identity or deposit or withdrawal information, 

the permit holder shall: 

1. Immediately suspend the player account and not allow 

the player to place wagers; 

2. Submit any winnings attributable to the player to the 

director for distribution to the Commonwealth's Problem 

Gambling Treatment and Support Fund; 

3. Refund the balance of deposits made to the account to 

the source of such deposit or by issuance of a check; and 

4. Deactivate the account. 

E. A permit holder shall notify the player of the 

establishment of the player account by email, text message, or 

first-class mail. When a player account is created, a secure 

personal identification (e.g., a unique username and 

password) for the player authorized to use the player account 

shall be established that is reasonably designed to prevent 

unauthorized access to, or use of, the player account by any 

individual other than the player for whom the player account 

is established. 

F. A player may have only one player account for each 

permit holder. 

G. A player account may be funded using: 

1. A debit card; 

2.A credit card; 

3. An electronic bank transfer, including a transfer through 

third parties; 

4. An online or mobile payment systems that supports 

online money transfers; 
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5. Winnings or payouts; 

6. Bonuses and promotions; 

7. Reloadable prepaid card, which has been verified as 

being issued to the player and is non-transferable; and 

8. Any other means approved by the board. 

H. Funds may be withdrawn from a player account through: 

1. Wagers; 

2. Cashier's check, wire transfer, or money order by the 

permit holder made payable to the player and issued 

directly or delivered to the player's address on file with the 

permit holder; 

3. Credits to the player's debit card; 

4. Credits to the player's credit card; 

5. Electronic bank transfers, including transfers through 

third parties; 

6. Online or mobile payment systems that support online 

money transfers; 

7.Reloadable prepaid card, which has been verified as 

being issued to the player and is nontransferable; or 

8. Any other means approved by the board. 

I. A player's request for withdrawal of funds (i.e., deposited 

and cleared funds or funds won) in the individual's player 

account shall be completed within 10 days unless there is a 

pending unresolved player dispute or investigation prompted 

by a player dispute or the director. Funds for withdrawal may 

be withheld from withdrawal until the funding transaction 

clears or the chargeback period ends. 

J. All adjustments to a player account for individual amounts 

of $500 or less shall be periodically reviewed by the permit 

holder consistent with the permit holder's internal control 

standards. All other adjustments shall be authorized by the 

permit holder's management before being entered. 

K. A permit holder shall not allow the transfer of funds or 

credits between players. 

L. Each transaction with respect to a player account between 

a player and permit holder, except the placement or 

settlement of a wager, shall be confirmed by email, telephone, 

text message, or other means agreed upon by the player and 

permit holder. 

M. A permit holder shall provide an account statement to a 

player on demand. An account statement shall include 

detailed account activity for at least six months preceding the 

24-hour period before the request. In addition, permit holders 

shall, upon request, be capable of providing to a player a 

summary statement of all player activity during the previous 

12 months. 

N. A permit holder shall suspend wagers from being made 

and immediately reverify a player's identification upon 

reasonable suspicion that the player's identification or player 

account has been compromised. 

O. A permit holder shall offer an easily accessible method 

for a player to close the player's account. Any balance 

remaining in an account closed by a player shall be refunded 

pursuant to the permit holder's internal control standards 

within 10 days of notice from the player. 

P. A sports betting platform shall employ a mechanism that 

can detect and prevent any player-initiated wagering or 

withdrawal activity that would result in a negative balance of 

a player account. 

Q. A player's account shall be disabled by the permit holder 

after three failed login attempts and require multi-source 

authentication to recover or reset a password or username. 

R. A permit holder shall suspend a player account if: 

1. The player asks for suspension for a specified period not 

less than 72 hours as a self-limiting measure; 

2. Required by the director; 

3. The permit holder determines that the player may be a 

prohibited individual; or 

4. The permit holder knows or has reason to know of: 

a. Illegal activity related to the account; 

b. A negative account balance; 

c. Five failed ACH deposit attempts within a 24-hour 

period; or 

d. A violation of the terms and conditions that has taken 

place on the player's account. 

S. When a sports betting account is suspended, the player 

shall be prevented from: 

1. Wagering; 

2. Depositing funds, unless the reason for the deposit is to 

clear a negative balance that resulted in the suspension; 

3. Withdrawing funds, unless the reason for the suspension 

would not prohibit a withdrawal; 

4. Making changes to the player account; or 

5. Removing the player account from the sports betting 

platform. 

T. A suspended player account may be restored: 

1. Upon expiration of the time period established by the 

player; 

2. When permission is granted by the director; 

3. When the player is no longer a prohibited individual; or 
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4. When the permit holder has lifted the suspended status. 

11VAC5-70-300. Internal control standards. 

A. A permit holder and its sports betting platform supplier 

shall develop and maintain internal control standards that 

meet or exceed industry standards as approved by the 

director. 

B. A permit holder's internal control standards shall address 

at a minimum: 

1. Safeguarding assets and revenues; 

2. Safeguarding player accounts; 

3. Requirements for internal and independent audits of the 

permit holder and its sports betting platform supplier; 

4. User access controls for all personnel; 

5. Segregation of duties among personnel; 

6. Automated and manual risk management procedures; 

7. Procedures for identifying and reporting fraud, cheating, 

and suspicious or unusual wagering activity; 

8. Procedures for identifying and preventing sports betting 

by prohibited individuals; 

9. Description of its AML compliance standards; 

10. Description of all types of wagers available to be 

offered by the permit holder; 

11. Description of all integrated third-party hardware, 

software, or systems; 

12. A monitoring system to identify irregularities in 

volume or odds and swings that could signal unusual or 

suspicious wagering activity that should require further 

investigation; and 

13. A wager or attempt to wager above any maximum 

wager threshold set by the permit holder that qualifies as 

unusual or suspicious wagering. 

11VAC5-70-310. Information security system. 

A permit holder shall implement, maintain, regularly review 

and revise, and comply with a comprehensive information 

security system, the purpose of which shall be to take 

reasonable steps to protect the confidentiality, integrity, and 

availability of personal information of individuals who place 

a wager with the permit holder, and shall contain 

administrative, technical, and physical safeguards appropriate 

to the size, complexity, nature, and scope of the operations 

and the sensitivity of the personal information owned, 

licensed, maintained, handled, or otherwise in the possession 

of the permit holder. 

 

NOTICE: Forms used in administering the regulation have 

been filed by the agency. The forms are not being published; 

however, online users of this issue of the Virginia Register of 

Regulations may click on the name of a form with a hyperlink 

to access it. The forms are also available from the agency 

contact or may be viewed at the Office of the Registrar of 

Regulations, 900 East Main Street, 11th Floor, Richmond, 

Virginia 23219. 

FORMS (11VAC5-70) 

The following forms are available online only at 

https://www.valottery.com/aboutus/casinosandsportsbetting 

(eff. 10/15/2020) 

Permit Holder Application 

Supplier Application 

Vendor Application 

Principal Application 

Principal Entity Application 

Employee Application 

CHAPTER 80 

SPORTS BETTING CONSUMER PROTECTION 

PROGRAM 

11VAC5-80-10. Definitions. 

The following words and terms when used in this chapter 

shall have the following meanings unless the context clearly 

indicates otherwise. 

"Board" means the Virginia Lottery Board established by 

the Virginia Lottery Law. 

"Department" or "Virginia Lottery" means the Virginia 

Lottery Department, the independent department that 

pursuant to § 58.1-4031 of the Code of Virginia is responsible 

for the operation of the Commonwealth's sports betting 

program set forth in Articles 1 (§ 58.1-4000 et seq.) and 2 

(§ 58.1-4030 et seq.) of Chapter 40 of Title 58.1 of the Code 

of Virginia. 

"Director" means the Executive Director of the Virginia 

Lottery or the director's designee.  

"Individual" means a human being and not a corporation, 

company, partnership, association, trust, or other entity. 

"Permit holder" means a person who has been issued a 

permit by the director to operate a sports betting platform. 

"Person" means any individual, corporation, partnership, 

association, cooperative, limited liability company, trust, joint 

venture, government, political subdivision, or any other legal 

or commercial entity and any successor, representative, agent, 

agency, or instrumentality thereof. 

https://www.valottery.com/aboutus/casinosandsportsbetting
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"Player" or "sports bettor" means an individual physically 

located in Virginia who participates in sports betting. 

"Sports betting" means placing wagers on professional 

sports, college sports, sporting events, and any portion 

thereof, and includes placing wagers related to the individual 

performance statistics of athletes in such sports and events. 

"Sports betting" includes any system or method of wagering 

approved by the director, including single-game bets, teaser 

bets, parlays, over-under, moneyline, pools, exchange 

wagering, in-game wagering, in-play bets, proposition bets, 

and straight bets. "Sports betting" does not include (i) 

participating in charitable gaming authorized by Article 1.1:1 

(§ 18.2-340.15 et seq.) of Chapter 8 of Title 18.2 of the Code 

of Virginia; (ii) participating in any lottery game authorized 

under Article 1 (§ 58.1-4000 et seq.) of Chapter 40 of Title 

58.1 of the Code of Virginia; (iii) wagering on horse racing 

authorized by Chapter 29 (§ 59.1-364 et seq.) of Title 59.1 of 

the Code of Virginia; (iv) participating in fantasy contests 

authorized by Chapter 51 (§ 59.1-556 et seq.) of Title 59.1 of 

the Code of Virginia; (v) placing a wager on a college sports 

event in which a Virginia public or private institution of 

higher education is a participant; or (vi) placing a wager on 

sports events organized by the International Olympic 

Committee.  

"Sports betting law" means Article 2 (§ 58.1-4030 et seq.) of 

Chapter 40 of Title 58.1 of the Code of Virginia. 

"Sports betting platform" means a website, mobile 

application, or other platform accessible via the internet or 

mobile, wireless, or similar communications technology that 

sports bettors use to participate in sports betting. 

11VAC5-80-20. Sports bettors' bill of rights. 

A. A permit holder shall make conspicuously available on 

its platform a link to the Virginia Sports Bettors' Bill of 

Rights on the department's website and afford its players the 

protections found in that document. 

B. A permit holder may not, as a condition of use of the 

permit holder's sports betting platform, require any player to 

waive any right, forum, or procedure including the right to 

pursue legal action or to file a complaint with, or otherwise 

notify, any instrument of the state or federal government, 

including a Commonwealth's Attorney, law enforcement, 

courts, and state and federal agencies, of any alleged violation 

of the sports betting law, this chapter, or any other applicable 

law, regulation, or administrative policy. 

11VAC5-80-30. Complaints. 

A. A permit holder shall develop and publish procedures by 

which a sports bettor may file a complaint with the permit 

holder in person, in writing, online, or by other means about 

any aspect of the sports betting program. 

B. A permit holder shall respond to any such complaint in 

writing, via email, or via live chat within 15 days of the filing 

of the complaint. If a sports bettor requests relief in a 

complaint and the requested relief or part thereof will not be 

granted, the response to the complaint shall state with 

specificity the reasons for the denial of relief. 

C. If the response to a complaint is that additional 

information is needed, the form and nature of the necessary 

information shall be specifically stated. When additional 

information is received, further response shall be required 

within seven days. 

D. All complaints received by a permit holder from a sports 

bettor and the permit holder's responses to complaints, 

including email and live chat transcripts, shall be retained by 

the permit holder for at least four years and made available to 

the department within seven days of any request from the 

department. 

11VAC5-80-40. Prohibition on out-of-state betting. 

A permit holder shall ensure that only people physically 

located in Virginia are able to place bets through the permit 

holder's platform. 

11VAC5-80-50. Underage betting. 

A. A permit holder shall implement age-verification 

procedures to verify that no sports bet is placed by or on 

behalf of an individual younger than 21 years of age.  

B. A permit holder shall promptly refund any money 

wagered by or on behalf of a minor and close the account. A 

permit holder may withhold and, if practicable and as 

approved by the department, redistribute to other winners any 

winnings won by a minor upon a good faith determination, 

following reasonable investigation, that the minor 

misrepresented his age in order to place a sports bet. 

C. A permit holder shall make available, publish, and 

facilitate parental control procedures to allow parents or 

guardians to exclude minors from access to any sports betting 

platform. 

11VAC5-80-60. Compliance with tax laws; disclosure. 

A permit holder shall comply with all applicable tax laws 

and regulations, including (i) laws and regulations applicable 

to tax reporting and (ii) laws and regulations applicable to 

providing information about winnings to taxing authorities 

and to sports bettors. 

11VAC5-80-70. Excluded individuals. 

A. A permit holder shall take such actions and establish such 

procedures as may be necessary to identify and report to the 

department any activity prohibited by the board's regulations 

and § 58.1-4041 of the Code of Virginia. Such actions and 

procedures include: 

1. Making known to all affected individuals and corporate 

entities the prohibition against disclosure of proprietary or 

nonpublic information that may affect sports betting or the 
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outcome of sports betting to any individual permitted to 

participate in sports betting; and 

2. Making commercially reasonable efforts to exclude 

individuals prohibited by the sports betting law from 

participating in sports betting. The department shall 

maintain and distribute the Virginia Lottery Exclusion List 

and a list of self-excluded individuals to permit holders for 

the purpose of monitoring for and excluding such 

individuals from platforms operated by the permit holder. 

B. A permit holder, upon learning of a violation of § 58.1-

4041 of the Code of Virginia, shall immediately bar an 

individual committing the violation from participating in or 

disclosing proprietary or nonpublic information about sports 

betting by: 

1. Banning the individual committing the violation or 

disclosing or receiving prohibited information from all 

sports betting platforms operated by the permit holder; 

2. Terminating any existing promotional agreements with 

the individual; and 

3. Refusing to make any new promotional agreements that 

compensate the individual. 

11VAC5-80-80. Corporate responsible gambling policies. 

A. A permit holder's website or mobile application shall 

prominently publish a responsible gambling logo in a manner 

approved by the director and shall direct a player to the 

permit holder's responsible gambling page. 

B. A permit holder's website or mobile application shall 

contain, at a minimum, the following: 

1.   A prominent message that provides a toll-free number 

approved by the director for individuals to use if the 

individuals suspect they or someone they know may have a 

gambling problem; and 

2.     A clear statement of the permit holder's commitment 

to responsible gaming and problem gambling prevention.  

C. A permit holder shall maintain a corporate policy on 

responsible gambling that addresses the following: 

1. Corporate commitment to responsible gambling and 

problem gambling prevention; 

2. Responsible gambling strategy with defined goals; 

3. Senior executive staff members are accountable for 

responsible gambling policies and programs; 

4. Responsible gambling programs are embedded across all 

activities of the organization; 

5. Methods for tracking levels of understanding and 

implementation of responsible gambling practices across 

its organization; and 

6. Measures to ensure staff understand the importance of 

responsible gaming and are knowledgeable about their 

roles and the company's expectations of their actions. Such 

measures should include: 

a. Corporate responsible gambling policies are explained 

to employees along with local (e.g., site-specific) codes 

of practice, self-ban procedures, and regulations; 

b. Staff learn about problem gambling and its impact as 

well as key responsible gambling information; 

c. Staff are taught skills and procedures required of them 

for assisting players who may have problems with 

gambling; 

d. Staff are trained to avoid messages that reinforce 

misleading or false beliefs; 

e. All staff are trained upon hiring and are retrained 

regularly; 

f. Objectives are clear and accessible, training 

accommodates different learning styles, and material is 

tested or reviewed with staff; 

g. A formal evaluation process is in place; and 

h. Making reasonable efforts to ensure that the training 

program or evaluation is informed by evidence-based 

research. 

11VAC5-80-90. Sports betting platform features. 

A sports betting platform must possess the following 

features: 

1. A prominent link to information about the permit 

holder's self-exclusion program; 

2. A mechanism for a player to take note of the passage of 

time; 

3. The ability to initiate a "cooling off" period such as 

breaks in play and avoidance of excessive play; 

4. Practices and procedures on the site do not reinforce 

myths and misconceptions about gambling; 

5. Information about the website's terms and conditions is 

readily accessible; 

6. Promotional or free games do not mislead players;  

7. Notification to players of age-verification procedures; 

8. Access to credit is prohibited; 

9. Fund transfers and automatic deposits are prohibited or 

restricted; and 

10. Games display credits and spending as cash. 
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11VAC5-80-100. Security of funds and data. 

A. A permit holder shall comply with all applicable state 

and federal requirements for data security. 

B. A permit holder shall not share information that could be 

used to personally identify a sports bettor with any third party 

other than the department, law enforcement with a warrant or 

subpoena, or a credit-reporting agency, except when a better 

provides consent. Information that could be used to 

personally identify a sports bettor includes gaming habits, 

except when this information has been anonymized. 

C. Funds in a sports bettor's player's account shall be held 

either (i) in trust for the sports bettor in a segregated account 

or (ii) in a special-purpose segregated account that is 

maintained and controlled by a properly constituted corporate 

entity that is not the permit holder and whose governing 

board includes one or more corporate directors who are 

independent of the permit holder and of any corporation 

related to or controlled by the permit holder. A corporate 

entity that maintains a special purpose segregated account 

shall: 

1. Require a unanimous vote of all corporate directors to 

file bankruptcy and have articles of incorporation that 

prohibit commingling of funds with those of the permit 

holder except as necessary to reconcile the accounts of 

sports bettors with sums owed by those sports bettors to 

the permit holder; 

2. Be restricted from incurring debt other than to sports 

bettors pursuant to the rules that govern their user 

accounts; 

3. Be restricted from taking on obligations of the permit 

holder other than obligations to sports bettors pursuant to 

the rules that govern their user accounts; and 

4. Be prohibited from dissolving, merging, or 

consolidating with another company, other than a special-

purpose corporate entity established by another permit 

holder that meets the requirements of this section, while 

there are unsatisfied obligations to sports bettors. 

D. A permit holder shall maintain a reserve for bets that are 

settled, plus the amount of outstanding and unsettled bets.  

E. A permit holder shall implement and prominently publish 

the following on its platform or within the terms and 

conditions inside the sports betting platform: 

1. Policies that prevent unauthorized withdrawals from a 

sports bettor's account by a permit holder or others; 

2. Notices that make clear that the funds in the segregated 

account do not belong to the permit holder and are not 

available to creditors other than the sports bettor whose 

funds are being held; 

3. Policies that prevent commingling of funds in the 

segregated account with other funds, including funds of the 

permit holder; 

4. Consistent with the provisions of § 58.1-4043 of the 

Code of Virginia, procedures for responding to and 

reporting on complaints by sports bettors that their 

accounts have been misallocated, compromised, or 

otherwise mishandled; 

5. Procedures that allow a sports bettor to request 

withdrawal of funds from the sports bettor's user account 

whether such account is open or closed. The permit holder 

shall honor any sports bettor's request to withdraw funds 

by the later of five days after receipt of the request or 10 

days after submission of any tax reporting paperwork 

required by law unless the permit holder believes in good 

faith that the sports bettor has engaged in either fraudulent 

conduct or other conduct that would put the permit holder 

in violation of this chapter, in which case the permit holder 

may decline to honor the request for withdrawal for a 

reasonable investigatory period until the permit holder's 

investigation is resolved if the permit holder provides 

notice of the nature of the investigation to the sports bettor. 

For the purposes of this subdivision, a request for 

withdrawal shall be considered honored if the request is 

processed by the permit holder but is delayed by a payment 

processor, a credit card issuer, or the custodian of a 

segregated account; and 

6. Procedures that allow a sports bettor to permanently 

close a player account at any time and for any reason. The 

procedures shall allow for cancellation by any means, 

including by a sports bettor on any platform used by that 

sports bettor to make deposits into a segregated account. 

F. If winnings are awarded to a sports bettor with a closed 

account, those winnings, to the extent that the winnings 

consist of funds, shall be distributed by the permit holder 

within seven days, provided, however, that if an account is 

closed on the basis of the permit holder's good faith belief 

after investigation that the sports bettor has engaged in fraud 

or has attempted to engage in behavior that would put the 

permit holder in violation of this chapter, such winnings may 

be withheld, provided that the winnings are redistributed in a 

manner that reflects the outcome that would have resulted had 

that sports bettor not participated. 

G. If a sports bettor's segregated account remains unclaimed 

for five years after the balances are payable or deliverable to 

the sports bettor, the permit holder shall presume the account 

to be abandoned. The permit holder shall report and remit all 

segregated accounts presumed abandoned to the State 

Treasurer or his designee pursuant to Chapter 25 (§ 55.1-2500 

et seq.) of Title 55.1 of the Code of Virginia. Before closing 

an account pursuant to this subsection, a permit holder shall 

attempt to contact the player by mail, phone, and email. 
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H. A permit holder shall prominently publish all contractual 

terms and conditions and rules of general applicability that 

affect a sports bettor's segregated account. Presentation of 

such terms, conditions, and rules at the time a sports bettor 

initially acquires a segregated account shall not be deemed 

sufficient to satisfy the provisions of this subsection. 

11VAC5-80-110. Limitations on user accounts. 

A. A permit holder shall not allow a sports bettor to 

establish more than one user name or more than one user 

account per sports betting platform. 

B. A permit holder shall take commercially and 

technologically reasonable measures to verify a sports bettor's 

identity and shall use such information to enforce the 

provisions of this section. 

C. A permit holder shall implement procedures to terminate 

all accounts of any sports bettor who establishes or seeks to 

establish more than one user name or more than one account 

whether directly or by use of another individual as proxy. 

Such procedures may allow a sports bettor who establishes or 

seeks to establish more than one user name or more than one 

account to retain one account, provided that the permit holder 

investigates and makes a good faith determination that the 

sports bettor's conduct was not intended to commit fraud or 

otherwise evade the requirements of this chapter. 

D. A permit holder shall not allow a sports bettor to use a 

proxy server for the purpose of misrepresenting the sports 

bettor's location in order to engage in sports betting. 

E. A permit holder shall take commercially and 

technologically reasonable measures to prevent one sports 

bettor from acting as a proxy for another. Such measures shall 

include use of geolocation technologies to prevent 

simultaneous logins to a single account from geographically 

inconsistent locations. 

11VAC5-80-120. Protections for at-risk or problem 

bettors. 

A. In accordance with 11VAC5-60, sports bettors have the 

right to self-exclude from and to self-impose restrictions on 

their participation in sports betting in the Commonwealth. 

Sports bettors may self-exclude through the voluntary 

exclusion program as provided in § 58.1-4015.1 of the Code 

of Virginia or directly with a permit holder. In addition to 

participation in the voluntary exclusion program as provided 

in § 58.1-4015.1, a permit holder shall honor requests from a 

sports bettor to self-exclude from all sports betting activities 

for a period of at least 72 hours, to set deposit limits, to set 

limits on the sports bettor's total betting activity, or to limit 

participation to bets below an established limit. 

B. A permit holder shall institute and prominently publish 

procedures for sports bettors to implement the restrictions 

provided in subsection A of this section. Such procedures 

shall include, at a minimum: 

1. Opportunities to self-exclude from or to set self-imposed 

limits on each permit holder's sports betting platform used 

by that sports bettor to make deposits into a segregated 

account; 

2. Options to set pop-up warnings concerning sports 

betting activity: and  

3. Options to implement limits and timeouts (e.g. cooling 

off periods). Sports bettors shall have the option to adjust 

self-imposed limits to make the limits more restrictive as 

often as the sports bettors like but shall not have the option 

to make limits less restrictive until the prior restriction has 

expired. 

C. A permit holder shall not directly market sports betting 

by mail, phone, email, or social media or by knowingly 

directing any form of individually targeted advertisement or 

marketing material to a prohibited individual as defined in 

11VAC5-70-100. 

D. A permit holder shall prominently publish a description 

of opportunities for at-risk or problem bettors to receive 

assistance or that direct sports bettors to a reputable source 

accessible in the Commonwealth of such information. 

E. A permit holder shall train employees on at-risk or 

problem betting. Such training shall include training on 

policies and best practices for identifying and assisting sports 

bettors who may be at-risk or problem sports bettors. 

F. A permit holder shall establish clear protocols for staff to 

respond appropriately to: 

1. A player in crisis or distress; 

2. A player who discloses that he may have a problem with 

gambling; and 

3. Third-party concerns. 

G. A permit holder shall develop and prominently publish 

procedures for considering requests made by third parties to 

exclude or set limits for sports bettors.  

H. A permit holder's platform shall have systems in place to 

identify players who may be at risk of having or developing 

problem gambling to enable staff to respond appropriately. 

I. A permit holder shall maintain a database of interactions 

regarding gambling problems with players and a clear 

protocol for documenting and using the data to assist players. 

11VAC5-80-130. Prohibition on the extension of credit. 

A permit holder shall not extend credit to a sports bettor. 

11VAC5-80-140. Promotional offers. 

A. A permit holder shall fully and accurately disclose the 

material terms of all promotional offers involving sports 

betting at the time any such offer is advertised and provide 

full disclosure of the terms of and limitations on the offer 
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before the sports bettor provides anything of value in 

exchange for the offer. If the material terms of a promotional 

offer cannot be fully and accurately disclosed within the 

constraints of a particular advertising medium, the material 

terms and conditions shall be accessed by hyperlink that takes 

the individual directly to the material terms or directs the 

individual to the site to access the offer or bonus terms and in 

reasonably prominent size. 

B. No promotional offer available to a sports bettor who sets 

up a new user account may contain terms that delay full 

implementation of the offer by the permit holder for a period 

of longer than 90 days, regardless of the number or amount of 

wagers in that period by the sports bettor. 

11VAC5-80-150. Advertising in general. 

A. An advertisement for sports betting shall disclose the 

identity of the permit holder. 

B. An advertisement for sports betting may not depict: 

1. Minors, other than professional athletes who may be 

minors;  

2. Students;  

3. Schools or colleges; or  

4. School or college settings.  

Incidental depiction of nonfeatured minors shall not be 

deemed a violation of this subsection. 

C. An advertisement for sports betting shall not state or 

imply endorsement by: 

1. Minors, other than professional athletes who may be 

minors;  

2. Collegiate athletes;  

3. Schools or colleges; or  

4. School or college athletic associations. 

D. A permit holder shall not intentionally use characteristics 

of at-risk or problem bettors to target potentially at-risk or 

problem bettors with advertisements. 

E. An advertisement for sports betting in published media 

shall (i) include information concerning assistance available 

to at-risk or problem bettors or (ii) direct consumers to a 

reputable source for such information. If an advertisement is 

not of sufficient size or duration to reasonably permit 

inclusion of such information, that advertisement shall refer 

to a website, application, or telephone hotline that does 

prominently include such information. 

F. Any representation concerning winnings: 

1. Shall be accurate and capable of substantiation at the 

time the representation is made; 

2. Shall not mislead bettors about the outcomes of 

gambling; and 

3. Shall not misrepresent the odds of winning. 

G. An advertisement is misleading if it makes 

representations about average winnings without representing 

with equal prominence the average net winnings of all sports 

bettors. 

11VAC5-80-160. Restrictions on advertising to minors or 

at schools or school sporting events. 

A. An advertisement for sports betting published, 

disseminated, circulated, broadcast, or placed before the 

public in the Commonwealth shall not be aimed exclusively 

or primarily at minors. 

B. A permit holder shall not advertise or run promotional 

activities at elementary or secondary schools or on college 

campuses in the Commonwealth. 

DOCUMENTS INCORPORATED BY REFERENCE 

(11VAC5-80) 

Virginia Sports Bettors' Bill of Rights 

VA.R. Doc. No. R21-6450; Filed September 23, 2020, 9:01 a.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 14. INSURANCE 

STATE CORPORATION COMMISSION 

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The following changes are exempt 

from the Virginia Administrative Process Act pursuant to 

§ 2.2-4002 C of the Code of Virginia, which exempts minor 

changes to regulations published in the Virginia 

Administrative Code under the Virginia Register Act (§ 2.2-

4100 et seq. of the Code of Virginia) made by the Virginia 

Code Commission pursuant to § 30-150 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

Titles of Regulations: 14VAC5-45. Rules Governing 

Suitability in Annuity Transactions (amending 14VAC5-

45-40). 

14VAC5-71. Rules Governing Viatical Settlement 

Providers and Viatical Settlement Brokers (amending 

14VAC5-71-31).  

14VAC5-80. Rules Governing Variable Life Insurance 

(amending 14VAC5-80-60).  

14VAC5-190. Rules Governing the Reporting of Cost and 

Utilization Data Relating to Mandated Benefits and 

Mandated Providers (amending 14VAC5-190-50).  

http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=fc199006450~1.docx&typ=40&actno=006450&mime=application/vnd.openxmlformats-officedocument.wordprocessingml.document
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14VAC5-321. Use of the 2001 CSO Mortality Table in 

Determining Reserve Liabilities and Nonforfeiture 

Benefits (amending 14VAC5-321-20).  

14VAC5-322. Use of the 2001 CSO Preferred Class 

Structure Mortality Table in Determining Reserve 

Liabilities (amending 14VAC5-322-20).  

14VAC5-390. Rules Governing Insurance Premium 

Finance Companies (amending 14VAC5-390-70).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 12.1-13 and 38.2-223 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

Effective Date: October 12, 2020.  

Agency Contact: Katie Johnson, Insurance Policy Advisor, 

Bureau of Insurance, State Corporation Commission, P.O. 

Box 1157, Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 371-9688, 

FAX (804) 371-9873, or email 

katie.johnson@scc.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendments update (i) obsolete links to forms and 

websites, (ii) citations to the Code of Virginia due to the 

recodification of Title 55 to Title 55.1, and (iii) citations to 

a repealed Virginia Administrative Code (VAC) chapter to 

the current VAC chapter. 

14VAC5-45-40. Duties of insurers and agents.  

A. In recommending to a consumer the purchase of an 

annuity or the exchange of an annuity that results in another 

insurance transaction or series of insurance transactions, the 

agent, or the insurer where no agent is involved, shall have 

reasonable grounds for believing that the recommendation is 

suitable for the consumer on the basis of the facts disclosed 

by the consumer as to his investments and other insurance 

products and as to his financial situation and needs, including 

the consumer's suitability information, and that there is a 

reasonable basis to believe all of the following: 

1. The consumer has been reasonably informed of various 

features of the annuity, such as the potential surrender 

period and surrender charge; potential tax penalty if the 

consumer sells, exchanges, surrenders or annuitizes the 

annuity; mortality and expense fees; investment advisory 

fees; potential charges for and features of riders; 

limitations on interest returns; insurance and investment 

components; and market risk; 

2. The consumer would benefit from certain features of the 

annuity, such as tax deferred growth, annuitization, or 

death or living benefit; 

3. The particular annuity as a whole, the underlying 

subaccounts to which funds are allocated at the time of 

purchase or exchange of the annuity, and riders and similar 

product enhancements, if any, are suitable (and in the case 

of an exchange or replacement, the transaction as a whole 

is suitable) for the particular consumer based on the 

consumer's suitability information; and 

4. In the case of an exchange or replacement of an annuity, 

the exchange or replacement is suitable, including taking 

into consideration whether:  

a. The consumer will incur a surrender charge, be subject 

to the commencement of a new surrender period, lose 

existing benefits (such as death, living, or other 

contractual benefits), or be subject to increased fees, 

investment advisory fees, or charges for riders and 

similar product enhancements; 

b. The consumer would benefit from product 

enhancements and improvements; and 

c. The consumer has had another annuity exchange or 

replacement, and, in particular, an exchange or 

replacement within the preceding 36 months.  

B. Prior to the execution of a purchase, exchange, or 

replacement of an annuity resulting from a recommendation, 

an agent, or insurer where no agent is involved, shall make 

reasonable efforts to obtain the consumer's suitability 

information. 

C. Except as permitted under subsection D of this section, an 

insurer shall not issue an annuity recommended to a 

consumer unless there is a reasonable basis to believe the 

annuity is suitable based on the consumer's suitability 

information. 

D. 1. Except as provided in subdivision 2 of this subsection, 

neither an agent, nor an insurer where no agent is involved, 

shall have any obligation to a consumer under subsection A 

or C of this section related to any annuity transaction if:  

a. No recommendation is made; 

b. A recommendation was made and was later found to 

have been prepared based on materially inaccurate 

information provided by the consumer; 

c. A consumer refuses to provide relevant suitability 

information requested by the insurer or agent and the 

annuity transaction is not recommended;  

d. A consumer decides to enter into an annuity 

transaction that is not based on a recommendation of the 

insurer or agent; or  

e. A consumer fails to provide complete or accurate 

information.  

2. An insurer or agent's recommendation subject to 

subdivision 1 of this subsection shall be reasonable under 

all the circumstances actually known to the insurer or agent 

at the time of the recommendation.  

E. An agent, or where no agent is involved the responsible 

insurer representative, shall at the time of sale: 

mailto:katie.johnson@scc.virginia.gov
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1. Make a record of any recommendation subject to 

subsection A of this section; 

2. Obtain a customer signed statement, documenting a 

customer's refusal to provide suitability information, if 

any; and 

3. Obtain a customer signed statement acknowledging that 

an annuity transaction is not recommended if a customer 

decides to enter into an annuity transaction that is not 

based on the agent's or insurer's recommendation. 

F. 1. An insurer either shall assure that a system to supervise 

recommendations that is reasonably designed to achieve 

compliance with this chapter is established and maintained by 

complying with subdivisions 3 and 4 of this subsection or 

shall establish and maintain such a system, including the 

following:  

a. The insurer shall maintain reasonable procedures to 

inform its agents of the requirements of this chapter and 

shall incorporate the requirements of this chapter into 

relevant agent training manuals; 

b. The insurer shall establish standards for agent product 

training and shall maintain reasonable procedures to 

require its agents to comply with the requirements of 

14VAC5-45-45; 

c. The insurer shall provide product-specific training and 

training materials that explain all material features of its 

annuity products to its agents; 

d. The insurer shall maintain procedures for review of 

each recommendation prior to issuance of an annuity that 

are designed to ensure that there is a reasonable basis to 

determine that a recommendation is suitable. Such 

review procedures may apply a screening system for the 

purpose of identifying selected transactions for additional 

review and may be accomplished electronically or 

through other means including physical review. Such an 

electronic or other system may be designed to require 

additional review only of those transactions identified for 

additional review by the selection criteria; 

e. The insurer shall maintain reasonable procedures to 

detect recommendations that are not suitable. This may 

include confirmation of consumer suitability information, 

systematic customer surveys, interviews, confirmation 

letters, and programs of internal monitoring. Nothing in 

this subdivision prevents an insurer from complying with 

this subdivision by applying sampling procedures, or by 

confirming suitability information after issuance or 

delivery of the annuity; and 

f. The insurer shall annually provide a report to senior 

management, including to the senior manager responsible 

for audit functions, which details a review, with 

appropriate testing, reasonably designed to determine the 

effectiveness of the supervision system, the exceptions 

found, and corrective action taken or recommended, if 

any. 

2. An agent and independent agency either shall adopt a 

system established by an insurer to supervise 

recommendations of its agents that is reasonably designed 

to achieve compliance with this chapter or shall establish 

and maintain such a system, including, but not limited to:  

a. Maintaining written procedures; and  

b. Conducting periodic reviews of records that are 

reasonably designed to assist in detecting and preventing 

violations of this chapter.  

3. An insurer may contract with a third party, including an 

agent or independent agency, to establish and maintain a 

system of supervision as required by subdivision 1 of this 

subsection with respect to agents under contract with or 

employed by the third party.  

4. An insurer shall make reasonable inquiry to assure that 

the third party contracting under subdivision 3 of this 

subsection is performing the functions required under 

subdivision 1 of this subsection and shall take action that is 

reasonable under the circumstances to enforce the 

contractual obligation to perform the functions. An insurer 

may comply with its obligation to make reasonable inquiry 

by doing all of the following:  

a. The insurer annually obtains a certification from a 

third party senior manager who has responsibility for the 

delegated functions that the manager has a reasonable 

basis to represent, and does represent, that the third party 

is performing the required functions; and  

b. The insurer, based on reasonable selection criteria, 

periodically selects third parties contracting under 

subdivision 3 of this subsection for a review to determine 

whether the third parties are performing the required 

functions. The insurer shall perform those procedures to 

conduct the review that are reasonable under the 

circumstances.  

5. An insurer that contracts with a third party pursuant to 

subdivision 3 of this subsection and that complies with the 

requirements to supervise in subdivision 4 of this 

subsection shall have fulfilled its responsibilities under 

subdivision 1 of this subsection.  

6. An insurer, agent, or independent agency is not required 

by subdivision 1 or 2 of this subsection to:  

a. Review, or provide for review of, all agent-solicited 

transactions; or  

b. Include in its system of supervision an agent's 

recommendations to consumers of products other than 

the annuities offered by the insurer, agent, or independent 

agency.  



Regulations 

Volume 37, Issue 4 Virginia Register of Regulations October 12, 2020 

651 

7. An agent or independent agency contracting with an 

insurer pursuant to subdivision 3 of this subsection, when 

requested by the insurer pursuant to subdivision 4 of this 

subsection, shall promptly give a certification as described 

in subdivision 4 or give a clear statement that it is unable to 

meet the certification criteria.  

8. No person may provide a certification under subdivision 

4 a of this subsection unless:  

a. The person is a senior manager with responsibility for 

the delegated functions; and  

b. The person has a reasonable basis for making the 

certification.  

G. An agent shall not dissuade or attempt to dissuade a 

consumer from: 

1. Truthfully responding to an insurer's request for 

confirmation of suitability information; 

2. Filing a complaint; or 

3. Cooperating with the investigation of a complaint. 

H. Sales made in compliance with FINRA requirements 

pertaining to suitability and supervision of annuity 

transactions shall satisfy the requirements under this chapter: 

1. This subsection applies to FINRA broker-dealer sales of 

annuities if the suitability and supervision is similar to 

those applied to variable annuity sales. However, nothing 

in this subsection shall limit the commission's ability to 

enforce (including investigate) the provisions of this 

chapter. 

2. For subdivision 1 of this subsection to apply, an insurer 

shall: 

a. Monitor the FINRA member broker-dealer using 

information collected in the normal course of an insurer's 

business; and 

b. Provide to the FINRA member broker-dealer 

information and reports that are reasonably appropriate to 

assist the FINRA member broker-dealer to maintain its 

supervision system. 

I. Compliance with FINRA Rule 2111 

(http://finra.complinet.com/en/display/display_main.html?rbi

d=2403&element_id=9859) (https://www.finra.org/rules-

guidance/rulebooks/finra-rules/2111) pertaining to suitability 

shall satisfy the requirements under this section for the 

recommendation of variable annuities. However, nothing in 

this subsection shall limit the commission's ability to enforce 

the provisions of this chapter.  

14VAC5-71-31. License requirements for viatical 

settlement providers.  

A. No person shall act as a viatical settlement provider with 

a resident of this Commonwealth without first obtaining a 

license from the commission.  

B. The license issued to a viatical settlement provider shall 

allow the licensee to enter or effectuate a viatical settlement 

contract only by operating within the scope of its license as a 

viatical settlement provider.  

1. No provision of this chapter shall be deemed to 

authorize any viatical settlement provider to transact any 

business other than that of a viatical settlement provider. A 

viatical settlement provider license shall not authorize the 

licensee to transact any business in this Commonwealth for 

which registration, certification or a license is required 

under any section of the Code of Virginia other than 

§ 38.2-6002.  

2. "Viatical settlement provider" does not include, and 

licensing as a viatical settlement provider shall not be 

required of, the following persons: (i) a bank, savings 

bank, savings and loan association, credit union, or other 

licensed lending institution that takes an assignment of a 

life insurance policy as collateral for a loan; (ii) the issuer 

of a life insurance policy providing accelerated death 

benefits governed by 14VAC5-70 and pursuant to the 

contract; (iii) an authorized or eligible insurer that provides 

stop loss coverage to a viatical settlement provider, viatical 

settlement purchaser, financing entity, special purpose 

entity or related provider trust; (iv) a financing entity; (v) a 

natural person who enters into or effectuates no more than 

one agreement in a calendar year for the transfer of life 

insurance policies for any value less than the expected 

death benefit; (vi) a special purpose entity; (vii) a related 

provider trust; (viii) a viatical settlement purchaser; or (ix) 

the accredited investor, qualified institutional buyer or 

qualified institutional purchaser under the Securities Act of 

1933, as amended, provided the person is acting in the 

capacity of a person listed above and is neither entering 

into nor attempting to enter into, nor effectuating nor 

attempting to effectuate a viatical settlement contract in 

this Commonwealth or with any resident of this 

Commonwealth.  

3. Except as provided in subdivision 2 (v) of this 

subsection, no person listed in subdivision 2 of this 

subsection shall attempt to enter into or effectuate a 

viatical settlement contract in this Commonwealth or with 

any resident of this Commonwealth without first becoming 

licensed as a viatical settlement provider in accordance 

with the provisions of this chapter. Notwithstanding the 

foregoing and in accordance with § 38.2-6002 F of the 

Code of Virginia, no licensed insurer shall be licensed as, 

or authorized to transact the business of, a viatical 

settlement provider in this Commonwealth.  

https://www.finra.org/rules-guidance/rulebooks/finra-rules/2111
https://www.finra.org/rules-guidance/rulebooks/finra-rules/2111
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C. The licensee shall be a legal entity that enters into or 

effectuates, or seeks to enter into or effectuate, a viatical 

settlement contract. The license shall authorize the licensee's 

partners, officers, members, and designated employees to act 

on behalf of the viatical settlement provider provided such 

individual is named in the legal entity's application for license 

or the application's supplements.  

D. A license issued prior to July 1, 2004, shall expire on 

June 30, 2004, unless the license is renewed in accordance 

with the provisions of this section or subject to actions of 

termination, suspension, or revocation prior to expiry.  

E. 1. If at the time of renewal, a viatical settlement provider 

has viatical settlements where an insured, who is a resident of 

this Commonwealth, has not died, it shall do one of the 

following:  

a. Renew or maintain its license until the earlier of: (i) 

the date the viatical settlement provider properly assigns, 

sells or otherwise transfers the viatical settlements; or (ii) 

the date that the last insured covered by a viatical 

settlement transaction has died; or  

b. Appoint, in writing, a viatical settlement provider or 

viatical settlement broker that is licensed in this 

Commonwealth to make all inquiries to the viator, or the 

viator's designee, regarding health status of the insured or 

any other matters. A copy of the appointment, 

acknowledged by the appointed provider or broker 

should be filed with the commission.  

2. No viatical settlement provider shall fail to renew or 

seek to otherwise terminate its license without certifying to 

the commission that it has ceased doing business in this 

Commonwealth and is in compliance with the 

requirements of subdivision 1 of this subsection. The 

commission may require documentation supportive of the 

certification.  

F. A license expiring on June 30 may be renewed effective 

July 1 for a one-year period ending on June 30 of the 

following year if the required renewal application and 

nonrefundable renewal fee have been received and the license 

is not terminated, suspended, or revoked at the time of 

renewal.  

G. Initial and renewal applications shall be submitted to the 

Bureau of Insurance in a form acceptable to the commission. 

Forms are available through the website for the Bureau of 

Insurance, at http://www.state.va.us/scc/division/boi 

https://scc.virginia.gov/pages/Company-Licensing-and-

Registration-Procedures.  

H. Initial applications for licenses that are to be issued on or 

after July 1, 2003, shall be accompanied by a nonrefundable 

application fee of $500. A licensee may request renewal by 

submitting a renewal application and renewal fee of $300 on 

or before March 1 of the year in which the license shall 

expire. A viatical settlement provider's failure to submit a 

renewal application and fee within the prescribed time shall 

result in the imposition of penalties or other appropriate 

regulatory action. Notice of the requirements for renewal will 

be mailed by the Bureau of Insurance to each licensee's 

mailing address as shown in the records of the Bureau of 

Insurance. Renewal forms may be posted on the website for 

the Bureau of Insurance, at 

http://www.state.va.us/scc/division/boi 

https://scc.virginia.gov/pages/Company-Licensing-and-

Registration-Procedures.  

I. Each application shall fully and clearly disclose the 

identity of the applicant by complying with the provisions of 

this subsection.  

1. An application for initial licensure shall identify all of 

the applicant's affiliates, directors, partners, and officers, 

and also each stockholder, member or employee having, 

owning or holding a 10% or greater interest in the 

applicant or an affiliate of the applicant. A renewal 

application shall update or confirm the accuracy of the 

information filed with the initial application and any 

intervening renewal applications or 30-day reports required 

by 14VAC5-71-70.  

2. The commission may require the applicant to disclose 

the identity of all stockholders, members, and employees.  

3. The applicant shall name and fully identify any 

individual, including any director, partner, officer, member 

or designated employee, that is to be authorized to act on 

behalf of the applicant under the license.  

4. The commission, in the exercise of its discretion, may 

refuse to issue a license in the name of a legal entity if not 

satisfied that all directors, officers, employees, 

stockholders, partners, members thereof, or other 

individuals who may materially influence the applicant's 

conduct meet the standards of this chapter and Chapter 60 

(§ 38.2-6000 et seq.) of Title 38.2 of the Code of Virginia.  

J. Each application shall include evidence of the viatical 

settlement provider's financial accountability acceptable to 

the commission in accordance with the provisions of this 

subsection.  

1. A surety bond in the amount of $100,000, in a form 

approved by the commission, shall be acceptable evidence 

of the viatical settlement provider's financial accountability 

provided (i) the surety bond is for the use and benefit only 

of the Commonwealth of Virginia and any person having a 

cause of action against the principal arising out of breaches 

of laws set forth in this chapter or Chapter 60 (§ 38.2-6000 

et seq.) of Title 38.2 of the Code of Virginia; (ii) the surety 

bond is issued by an insurer licensed in this 

Commonwealth to transact the business of suretyship or 

approved by the commission to issue surplus lines 

coverage; (iii) the surety is neither directly nor indirectly 

https://scc.virginia.gov/pages/Company-Licensing-and-Registration-Procedures
https://scc.virginia.gov/pages/Company-Licensing-and-Registration-Procedures
https://scc.virginia.gov/pages/Company-Licensing-and-Registration-Procedures
https://scc.virginia.gov/pages/Company-Licensing-and-Registration-Procedures
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under the same ownership or management as the principal 

on the bond; and (iv) termination provisions acceptable to 

the commission provide that the bond and coverage 

thereunder shall not be terminated without 30 days' written 

notice to the commission.  

2. The requirement of a surety bond may be waived for a 

licensee that (i) has and maintains an errors and omissions 

insurance policy, in the sum of not less than $100,000 per 

occurrence and $1 million for all occurrences within one 

year, issued by an insurer licensed in this Commonwealth 

or approved by the commission to issue surplus lines 

coverage or (ii) makes and maintains a deposit of not less 

than $100,000 with the State Treasurer that complies in 

form and amount with the requirements of § 38.2-1045 A 

of the Code of Virginia.  

3. No such policy or bond shall be terminated and no such 

deposit shall be withdrawn without 30 days' prior written 

notice to the licensee and the commission. Termination or 

withdrawal without the required notice and approval of the 

commission shall be grounds for suspension or revocation 

of, or refusal to renew, a license.  

K. A nonresident applicant, as a condition precedent to 

receiving or holding a license and in addition to all other 

licensing requirements, shall designate a resident of this 

Commonwealth as the person upon whom any process, 

notice, or order required or permitted by law to be served 

upon such nonresident viatical settlement provider may be 

served.  

1. The licensee shall promptly notify the clerk of the 

commission in writing of every change in its designated 

agent for service of process.  

2. Whenever a nonresident viatical settlement provider 

transacting business in this Commonwealth fails to appoint 

or maintain a registered agent in this Commonwealth, or 

whenever its registered agent cannot with reasonable 

diligence be found at the registered office, the clerk of the 

commission shall be an agent of the nonresident upon 

whom service may be made in accordance with § 12.1-19.1 

of the Code of Virginia.  

L. The commission may require such additional information 

as is necessary to make the findings required by subsection M 

of this section and to otherwise determine whether the 

applicant complies with the requirements of § 38.2-6002 of 

the Code of Virginia.  

M. Upon the filing of the initial application for licensure and 

the payment of the nonrefundable application fee, the 

commission shall make such investigation of each applicant 

as the commission may determine to be appropriate and issue 

a license if it finds that the applicant: (i) has provided a 

detailed plan of operation; (ii) is competent and trustworthy; 

(iii) indicates its intention to act in good faith within the 

confines of the license; (iv) has a good business reputation; 

(v) if an individual, has had experience, training or education 

that qualifies him for licensure; (vi) if a resident partnership, 

limited liability company, or corporation, has recorded the 

existence of the partnership, limited liability company, or 

corporation pursuant to law; (vii) if a corporation, has specific 

authority to act as a viatical settlement provider in its charter; 

(viii) if a nonresident partnership, limited liability company, 

or corporation, has furnished proof of its authority to transact 

business in Virginia; and (ix) has provided an anti-fraud plan 

that meets the requirements of § 38.2-6011 E 2 of the Code of 

Virginia.  

N. The commission may suspend, revoke, refuse to issue, or 

refuse to renew the license of a viatical settlement provider if 

the commission finds that the applicant or licensee has (i) 

made any material misrepresentation in the application; (ii) 

been guilty of fraudulent or dishonest practices; (iii) been 

subject to a final administrative action or has otherwise been 

shown to be untrustworthy or incompetent to act as a viatical 

settlement provider; (iv) demonstrated a pattern of 

unreasonable payments to viators; (v) been convicted of a 

felony or any misdemeanor involving fraud or moral 

turpitude; (vi) entered into any viatical settlement contract 

that has not been approved pursuant to this chapter; (vii) 

failed to honor contractual obligations set out in a viatical 

settlement contract; (viii) demonstrated or represented that it 

no longer meets the requirements for initial licensure; (ix) 

assigned, transferred, or pledged a viaticated policy to a 

person other than a viatical settlement provider licensed in 

this Commonwealth, a viatical settlement purchaser, a 

financing entity, a special purpose entity, a related provider 

trust, or an accredited investor or a qualified institutional 

buyer as described in Regulation D (17 CFR 230.501 through 

17 CFR 230.508) and defined, respectively, in Rule 501 

(17 CFR 230.501) and Rule 144A (17 CFR 230.144A) under 

the Securities Act of 1933, as amended; (x) violated any 

provisions of this chapter, Chapter 60 (§ 38.2-6000 et seq.) of 

Title 38.2 of the Code of Virginia or other applicable 

provisions of Title 38.2 or rules promulgated thereunder; or 

has in its employ any officer, partner, member, or key 

management personnel who has violated provisions of this 

chapter, Chapter 60 of Title 38.2 or other applicable 

provisions of Title 38.2 or is affiliated with any person who 

has in its employ any such officer, partner, member, or key 

management personnel; or (xi) renewed or requested renewal 

of its license before implementing the anti-fraud initiatives 

required by § 38.2-6011 E of the Code of Virginia.  

O. No applicant to whom a license is refused after a hearing, 

nor any licensee whose license is revoked, shall apply again 

for a license under this chapter until after the expiration of a 

period of five years from the date of the commission's order, 

or such other period of time as the commission may specify 

in its order.  

P. A licensed insurer shall be prohibited from transacting the 

business of a viatical settlement provider.  
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14VAC5-80-60. Use of sales materials.  

An insurer authorized to transact variable life insurance 

business in this Commonwealth shall not use any sales 

material, advertising material, or descriptive literature or 

other materials of any kind in connection with its variable life 

insurance business in this Commonwealth which is false, 

misleading, deceptive, or inaccurate.  

Variable life insurance marketing communications shall be 

subject to the additional requirements of Rules Governing 

Life Insurance and Annuity Marketing Practices adopted, 

Chapter 40 (14VAC5-40-10 et seq.) of this Title by the 

Commission in Case No. INS810107 Rules Governing 

Advertisement of Life Insurance and Annuities (14VAC5-41-

10).  

14VAC5-190-50. Reporting and filing requirements. 

A. Beginning May 1, 2018, and every other year thereafter, 

any health insurance issuer licensed to issue an applicable 

policy or contract in the Commonwealth of Virginia who 

reported greater than 5,000 covered lives in Virginia during 

either of the individual calendar years comprising the 

reporting period shall file with the Bureau of Insurance a 

separate Form 190-A report for each calendar year in the 

reporting period.  

B. The Form 190-A report may be obtained on the Bureau of 

Insurance's webpage at 

http://www.scc.virginia.gov/boi/co/health/mandben.aspx, 

https://scc.virginia.gov/pages/Mandated-Benefits-and-

Mandated-Offers and shall be filed electronically in 

accordance with the instructions that appear on the Bureau of 

Insurance's webpage.  

14VAC5-321-20. Definitions.  

The following words and terms when used in this chapter 

shall have the following meanings unless the context clearly 

indicates otherwise:  

"2001 CSO Mortality Table" means that mortality table, 

which is included in the Proceedings of the NAIC (2nd 

Quarter 2002), consisting of separate rates of mortality for 

male and female lives, developed by the American Academy 

of Actuaries CSO Task Force from the Valuation Basic 

Mortality Table developed by the Society of Actuaries 

Individual Life Insurance Valuation Mortality Task Force, 

and adopted by the NAIC in December 2002. Unless the 

context indicates otherwise, the "2001 CSO Mortality Table" 

includes both the ultimate form of that table and the select 

and ultimate form of that table and includes both the smoker 

and nonsmoker mortality tables and the composite mortality 

tables. It also includes both the age-nearest-birthday and age-

last-birthday bases of the mortality tables. The 2001 CSO 

Mortality Table may be accessed via the American Academy 

Society of Actuaries' website, 

http://www.actuary.org/life/cso/appendix_a_jun02.xls 

https://mort.soa.org/.  

"2001 CSO Mortality Table (F)" means that mortality table 

consisting of the rates of mortality for female lives from the 

2001 CSO Mortality Table.  

"2001 CSO Mortality Table (M)" means that mortality table 

consisting of the rates of mortality for male lives from the 

2001 CSO Mortality Table.  

"Commission" means the State Corporation Commission.  

"Composite mortality tables" means mortality tables with 

rates of mortality that do not distinguish between smokers 

and nonsmokers.  

"NAIC" means the National Association of Insurance 

Commissioners.  

"Smoker and nonsmoker mortality tables" means mortality 

tables with separate rates of mortality for smokers and 

nonsmokers.  

14VAC5-322-20. Definitions. 

The following words and terms when used in this chapter 

shall have the following meanings unless the context clearly 

indicates otherwise: 

"2001 CSO Mortality Table" means that mortality table, 

consisting of separate rates of mortality for male and female 

lives, developed by the American Academy of Actuaries CSO 

Task Force from the Valuation Basic Mortality Table 

developed by the Society of Actuaries Individual Life 

Insurance Valuation Mortality Task Force, and adopted by the 

NAIC in December 2002. The 2001 CSO Mortality Table is 

included in the Proceedings of the NAIC (2nd Quarter 2002) 

and supplemented by the 2001 CSO Preferred Class Structure 

Mortality Table. Unless the context indicates otherwise, the 

"2001 CSO Mortality Table" includes both the ultimate form 

of that table and the select and ultimate form of that table and 

includes both the smoker and nonsmoker mortality tables and 

the composite mortality tables. It also includes both the age-

nearest-birthday and age-last-birthday bases of the mortality 

tables. The 2001 CSO Mortality Table may be accessed via 

the American Academy Society of Actuaries' website, 

http://www.actuary.org/life/cso/appendix_a_jun02.xls 

https://mort.soa.org/. Mortality tables in the 2001 CSO 

Mortality Table include the following: 

1. "2001 CSO Mortality Table (F)" means that mortality 

table consisting of the rates of mortality for female lives 

from the 2001 CSO Mortality Table. 

2. "2001 CSO Mortality Table (M)" means that mortality 

table consisting of the rates of mortality for male lives 

from the 2001 CSO Mortality Table. 

https://scc.virginia.gov/pages/Mandated-Benefits-and-Mandated-Offers
https://scc.virginia.gov/pages/Mandated-Benefits-and-Mandated-Offers
https://mort.soa.org/
https://mort.soa.org/
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3. "Composite mortality tables" means mortality tables 

with rates of mortality that do not distinguish between 

smokers and nonsmokers. 

4. "Smoker and nonsmoker mortality tables" means 

mortality tables with separate rates of mortality for 

smokers and nonsmokers. 

"2001 CSO Preferred Class Structure Mortality Table" 

means mortality tables with separate rates of mortality for 

Super Preferred Nonsmokers, Preferred Nonsmokers, 

Residual Standard Nonsmokers, Preferred Smokers, and 

Residual Standard Smoker splits of the 2001 CSO 

Nonsmoker and Smoker tables adopted by the NAIC in 

September 2006. The 2001 CSO Preferred Class Structure 

Mortality Table is included in the Proceedings of the NAIC 

(3rd Quarter 2006). Unless the context indicates otherwise, 

the "2001 CSO Preferred Class Structure Mortality Table" 

includes both the ultimate form of that table and the select 

and ultimate form of that table. It includes both the smoker 

and nonsmoker mortality tables. It includes both the male and 

female mortality tables and the gender composite mortality 

tables. It also includes both the age-nearest-birthday and age-

last-birthday bases of the mortality table. The 2001 CSO 

Preferred Class Structure Mortality Table may be accessed 

via the Society of Actuaries website, 

http://www.soa.org/research/individual-life/intl-2001-cso-

preferred-class-structure-mortality-tables.aspx 

https://www.soa.org/globalassets/assets/files/xls/2001-cso-

preferred-class-structure-mortality-tables.xls.  

"Commission" means the State Corporation Commission. 

"Commissioner" means the Commissioner of Insurance in 

Virginia unless specific reference is made to another state, in 

which case "commissioner" means the insurance 

commissioner, director, superintendent or other supervising 

regulatory official of a given state who is responsible for 

administering the insurance laws of that state. 

"NAIC" means the National Association of Insurance 

Commissioners. 

"Statistical agent" means an entity with proven systems for 

protecting the confidentiality of individual insured and 

insurer information; demonstrated resources for and history of 

ongoing electronic communications and data transfer 

ensuring data integrity with insurers, which are its members 

or subscribers; and a history of and means for aggregation of 

data and accurate promulgation of the experience 

modifications in a timely manner. 

14VAC5-390-70. Miscellaneous.  

A. Any insurance agent or broker or any person who, with 

the authorization or consent of a licensee, shall take any 

action on behalf on such licensee shall be deemed to be an 

agent of such licensee as to such action. This supersedes any 

contrary language in the insurance premium finance contract.  

B. Any licensee having knowledge of any violations of law 

or irregularities committed by an insurance agent or agency 

shall promptly report such violations or irregularities to the 

Commission. Violations and irregularities required to be 

reported shall include, but not be limited to, issuance of 

dishonored checks, failure to promptly refund unearned 

premiums and failure to promptly deliver any monies or 

documents required to be delivered to a licensee.  

C. In the event of prepayment of an insurance premium 

finance contract, interest shall be refunded to the insured on 

either a short-rate or a pro-rata basis. Upon receipt from an 

insurer of the gross unearned premium, a licensee shall refund 

to the insured within 10 business days of such receipt any 

premium that is due the insured.  

D. All refund checks payable to an insured shall be mailed 

to the insured's last known address. If a refund check is 

returned to a licensee unclaimed, the licensee shall make a 

diligent effort to locate the insured. Each licensee shall 

maintain a separate account for unclaimed refunds due 

insureds, and the balance of such account, together with a list 

of the names of such insureds, shall be reported in the 

licensee's annual report to the Commission. Whenever funds 

from such an account are disbursed, the licensee shall retain 

proof of payment to the insureds. The requirements of this 

section are in addition to the requirements of § 55-210.12 

§ 55.1-2524 of the Code of Virginia relating to disposition of 

unclaimed property.  

E. Any company or person violating any provisions of this 

chapter shall be subject to the penalties provided in §§ 38.2-

218, 38.2-219, 38.2-4704, and 38.2-4710 of the Code of 

Virginia to the extent that they are applicable to such 

company or person.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R21-6460; Filed September 22, 2020, 12:03 p.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 18. PROFESSIONAL AND 
OCCUPATIONAL LICENSING 

CEMETERY BOARD 

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Cemetery Board is claiming 

an exemption from Article 2 of the Administrative Process 

Act in accordance with § 2.2-4006 A 4 a of the Code of 

Virginia, which excludes regulations that are necessary to 

conform to changes in Virginia statutory law or the 

appropriation act where no agency discretion is involved. The 

Cemetery Board will receive, consider, and respond to 

petitions by any interested person at any time with respect to 

reconsideration or revision. 

https://www.soa.org/globalassets/assets/files/xls/2001-cso-preferred-class-structure-mortality-tables.xls
https://www.soa.org/globalassets/assets/files/xls/2001-cso-preferred-class-structure-mortality-tables.xls


Regulations 

Volume 37, Issue 4 Virginia Register of Regulations October 12, 2020 

656 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC47-20. Cemetery Board Rules 

and Regulations (amending 18VAC47-20-190).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 54.1-201, 54.1-2312.01, and 54.1-

2313 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: December 1, 2020.  

Agency Contact: Christine Martine, Executive Director, 

Cemetery Board, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 400, Richmond, 

VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-8552, FAX (804) 527-4299, 

or email cemetery@dpor.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendment specifies that the board may discipline a 

licensee or registrant for permitting the interment of an 

uncremated pet in the same grave, crypt, or niche as the 

remains of a human. 

18VAC47-20-190. Prohibited activities.  

In addition to the acts set forth in §§ 54.1-2314, 54.1-2315, 

and 54.1-2316 of the Code of Virginia, the board may 

discipline a licensee or registrant for the following acts:  

1. Employing or affiliating with by independent contract, 

sales personnel not registered with the board.  

2. Unless otherwise addressed in this chapter, failing to 

retain for a period of three years all records required by 

this chapter or Chapter 23.1 (§ 54.1-2310 et seq.) of Title 

54.1 of the Code of Virginia at the place of business in 

Virginia of the licensed cemetery company.  

3. Failing to produce to the board or any of its agents, upon 

request, any document, book, or record required by this 

chapter or Chapter 23.1 (§ 54.1-2310 et seq.) of Title 54.1 

of the Code of Virginia.  

4. Failing to respond to an inquiry by the board or any of 

its agents within 21 days.  

5. Advertising in any name other than the name in which 

licensed or registered.  

6. Furnishing substantially inaccurate or incomplete 

information to the board in obtaining, renewing, 

reinstating, or maintaining a license or registration.  

7. Allowing a cemetery company license or sales personnel 

registration to be used by an unlicensed cemetery company 

or unregistered sales personnel.  

8. Acting as or being an ostensible licensee for undisclosed 

persons who do or will control or direct, directly or 

indirectly, the operations of the licensee's business.  

9. Having failed to inform the board in writing, within 30 

days, that the company, an officer, director, or compliance 

agent has pleaded guilty or nolo contendere or was 

convicted and found guilty of any felony or any crime 

involving moral turpitude.  

10. Having failed to inform the board in writing, within 30 

days, of a disciplinary action in a jurisdiction where 

licensed, including suspension, revocation, or surrender in 

connection with a disciplinary action.  

11. Failing to reasonably maintain the buildings, grounds, 

and facilities of a cemetery licensed to a cemetery 

company.  

12. Failing to file any report required by Chapter 23.1 of 

Title 54.1 of the Code of Virginia.  

13. Engaging in negligent, improper, fraudulent, or 

dishonest conduct.  

14. Failing to segregate entirely the section of the cemetery 

dedicated to the interment of pets or the interment of 

human remains and the pets of such deceased humans by 

means such as hedge, wall, tree line, fence, roadway, or 

other similar physical barrier or boundary. 

15. Permitting the interment of a an uncremated pet in the 

same grave, crypt, or niche as the remains of a human. 

16. If a cemetery company has a section devoted to the 

interment of pets or the interment of human remains and 

the pets of such deceased humans, any advertisements 

failing to clearly state the cemetery company has such 

section or sections in its cemetery. 

17. Failing to clearly mark the section or sections devoted 

to the interment of pets or the interment of human remains 

and the pets of such deceased humans with signage that is 

reasonably apparent to the general public. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R21-6504; Filed September 21, 2020, 1:30 p.m.  

BOARD OF OPTOMETRY 

Proposed Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Board of Optometry is claiming 

an exemption from the Administrative Process Act in accordance 

with § 2.2-4002 A 14 of the Code of Virginia, which exempts the 

Board of Optometry from the Administrative Process Act when 

specifying therapeutic pharmaceutical agents, treatment 

guidelines, and diseases and abnormal conditions of the human 

eye and its adnexa for TPA-certification of optometrists pursuant 

to Article 5 (§ 54.1-3222 et seq.) of Chapter 32 of Title 54.1 of 

the Code of Virginia. 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC105-20. Regulations Governing 

the Practice of Optometry (amending 18VAC105-20-47).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 54.1-2400 and 54.1-3223 of the Code 

of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: 

October 16, 2020 - 10:35 a.m. - Department of Health 

Professions, Perimeter Center, 9960 Mayland Drive, 

Suite 200, Board Room 4, Henrico, VA  

mailto:cemetery@dpor.virginia.gov
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Agency Contact: Leslie L. Knachel, Executive Director, 

Board of Optometry, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, 

Richmond, VA 23233, telephone (804) 597-4130, FAX (804) 

527-4471, or email leslie.knachel@dhp.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendment adds alpha-adrenergic agonists to the 

therapeutic pharmaceutical agent formulary in the 

category of a topically administered Schedule VI 

medication.  

18VAC105-20-47. Therapeutic pharmaceutical agents.  

A. A TPA-certified optometrist, acting within the scope of 

his practice, may procure, administer, and prescribe medically 

appropriate therapeutic pharmaceutical agents (or any 

therapeutically appropriate combination thereof) to treat 

diseases and abnormal conditions of the human eye and its 

adnexa within the following categories:  

1. Oral analgesics - Schedule II controlled substances 

consisting of hydrocodone in combination with 

acetaminophen andSchedule III, IV, and VI narcotic and 

nonnarcotic agents.  

2. Topically administered Schedule VI agents:  

a. Alpha-adrenergic blocking agents;  

b. Alpha-adrenergic agonists;  

c. Anesthetic (including esters and amides);  

c. d. Anti-allergy (including antihistamines and mast cell 

stabilizers);  

d. e. Anti-fungal;  

e. f. Anti-glaucoma (including carbonic anhydrase 

inhibitors and hyperosmotics);  

f. g. Anti-infective (including antibiotics and antivirals);  

g. h. Anti-inflammatory;  

h. i Cycloplegics and mydriatics;  

i. j. Decongestants; and  

j. k. Immunosuppressive agents.  

3. Orally administered Schedule VI agents:  

a. Aminocaproic acids (including antifibrinolytic agents);  

b. Anti-allergy (including antihistamines and leukotriene 

inhibitors);  

c. Anti-fungal;  

d. Anti-glaucoma (including carbonic anhydrase 

inhibitors and hyperosmotics);  

e. Anti-infective (including antibiotics and antivirals);  

f. Anti-inflammatory (including steroidal and 

nonsteroidal);  

g. Decongestants; and  

h. Immunosuppressive agents.  

B. Schedule I, II, and V drugs are excluded from the list of 

therapeutic pharmaceutical agents with the exception of 

controlled substances in Schedule II consisting of 

hydrocodone in combination with acetaminophen and 

gabapentin in Schedule V.  

C. Over-the-counter topical and oral medications for the 

treatment of the eye and its adnexa may be procured for 

administration, administered, prescribed, or dispensed.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R21-6523; Filed September 28, 2020, 11:07 a.m.  

BOARD OF PHARMACY 

Emergency Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC110-20. Regulations Governing 

the Practice of Pharmacy (adding 18VAC110-20-271).  

Statutory Authority: § 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Dates: September 22, 2020, through March 21, 

2022. 

Agency Contact: Caroline Juran, RPh, Executive Director, 

Board of Pharmacy, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, 

Richmond, VA 23233-1463, telephone (804) 367-4456, FAX 

(804) 527-4472, or email caroline.juran@dhp.virginia.gov. 

Preamble: 

Section 2.2-4011 A of the Code of Virginia states that 

regulations that an agency finds are necessitated by an 

emergency situation may be adopted upon consultation 

with the Attorney General, which approval shall be 

granted only after the agency has submitted a request 

stating in writing the nature of the emergency, and the 

necessity for such action shall be at the sole discretion of 

the Governor.  

The emergency regulation adds 18VAC110-20-271, which 

requires a pharmacist who administers an immunization or 

directs a pharmacy intern to administer an immunization 

under his supervision to a person aged three through 

eighteen years during the federally declared COVID-19 

public health emergency to report such immunization to 

the Virginia Immunization Information System. 

18VAC110-20-271. Reporting to the Virginia 

Immunization Information System. 

Any pharmacist who administers an immunization or directs 

a pharmacy intern to administer an immunization under his 

supervision to a person aged three through eighteen years in 

accordance with the U.S. Department of Health and Human 

Services declaration under the Public Readiness and 

mailto:leslie.knachel@dhp.virginia.gov
mailto:caroline.juran@dhp.virginia.gov
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Emergency Preparedness Act during the COVID-19 public 

health emergency shall report such immunization to and 

provide all information required by the Virginia 

Immunization Information System. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R21-6519; Filed September 22, 2020, 9:25 a.m.  

Withdrawal of Proposed Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC110-20. Regulations Governing 

the Practice of Pharmacy (amending 18VAC110-20-275).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 54.1-2400 and 54.1-3307 of the Code 

of Virginia. 

Notice is hereby given that the Board of Pharmacy has 

WITHDRAWN the proposed regulatory action for 

18VAC110-20, Regulations Governing the Practice of 

Pharmacy, that was published in 36:12 VA.R. 1770-1773 

February 2, 2020. The board received comment that indicated 

concern about the proposed amendment. Therefore, the board 

decided to withdraw the action rather than trying to amend 

and clarify. 

Agency Contact: Caroline Juran, RPh, Executive Director, 

Board of Pharmacy, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, 

Richmond, VA 23233-1463, telephone (804) 367-4456, FAX 

(804) 527-4472, or email caroline.juran@dhp.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R18-08; Filed September 11, 2020, 4:16 p.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 20. PUBLIC UTILITIES AND 
TELECOMMUNICATIONS 

STATE CORPORATION COMMISSION 

Proposed Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The State Corporation 

Commission is claiming an exemption from the 

Administrative Process Act in accordance with § 2.2-4002 A 

2 of the Code of Virginia, which exempts courts, any agency 

of the Supreme Court, and any agency that by the 

Constitution is expressly granted any of the powers of a court 

of record. 

Title of Regulation: 20VAC5-335. Regulations Governing 

the Deployment of Energy Storage (adding 20VAC5-335-

10 through 20VAC5-335-130).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 12.1-13 and 56-585.5 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: A public hearing will be held 

upon request. 

Public Comment Deadline: November 2, 2020. 

Agency Contact: Michael Cizenski, Principle Utilities 

Engineer, Public Utilities Regulation, State Corporation 

Commission, P.O. Box 1197, Richmond, VA 23218, 

telephone (804) 371-9441 or email 

mike.cizenski@scc.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The proposed action establishes Regulations Governing 

the Deployment of Energy Storage (20VAC5-335) to (i) set 

minimum interim targets for Phase I and Phase II Utilities 

to conduct annual competitive procurement for energy 

storage and (ii) require each Phase I or Phase II Utility to 

propose behind-the-meter incentives, non-wires alternative 

programs, and peak demand reduction programs related to 

energy storage. The proposed chapter also establishes 

processes for the permitting of non-utility energy storage 

facilities and licensing and registration of energy storage 

aggregators. 

AT RICHMOND, SEPTEMBER 11, 2020 

COMMONWEALTH OF VIRGINIA, ex rel. 

STATE CORPORATION COMMISSION 

CASE NO. PUR-2020-00120 

Ex Parte: In the matter of establishing rules 

and regulations pursuant to § 56-585.5 E 5 

of the Code of Virginia related to the 

deployment of energy storage 

ORDER FOR NOTICE AND COMMENT 

During its 2020 Session, the Virginia General Assembly 

enacted the Virginia Clean Economy Act ("VCEA").1 Among 

other things, the VCEA, in Code § 56-585.5 E, requires 

Appalachian Power Company ("APCo") and Virginia Electric 

and Power Company ("Dominion") to petition the State 

Corporation Commission ("Commission") for approval to 

construct or acquire 400 megawatts ("MW") and 2,700 MW, 

respectively, of new utility-owned energy storage resources 

by 2035. Section 56-585.5 E 5 further provides in part that:  

By January 1, 2021, the Commission shall adopt 

regulations to achieve the deployment of energy storage for 

the Commonwealth required in subdivisions 1 and 2, 

including regulations that set interim targets and update 

existing utility planning and procurement rules. The 

regulations shall include programs and mechanisms to 

deploy energy storage, including competitive solicitations, 

behind-the-meter incentives, non-wires alternatives 

programs, and peak demand reduction programs. 

On June 29, 2020, the Commission established this 

proceeding for the purpose of complying with this statutory 

requirement and sought comment on several questions raised 

by § 56-585.5 E 5 of the Code. The Commission directed 

APCo and Dominion to submit comments and permitted any 

other interested person or entity to submit comments. In 

addition to answering specific questions, commenters were 

also permitted to propose specific regulations.2 

http://register.dls.virginia.gov/toc.aspx?voliss=36:12
http://register.dls.virginia.gov/toc.aspx?voliss=36:12
mailto:caroline.juran@dhp.virginia.gov
mailto:mike.cizenski@scc.virginia.gov
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Comments were filed in this proceeding by: Dominion and 

APCo; the Virginia Office of the Attorney General, Division 

of Consumer Counsel; esVolta, LP; Delorean Power LLC 

("Delorean"); the U.S. Energy Storage Association ("ESA"); 

Able Grid Energy Services, Inc.; Virginia Advanced Energy 

Economy ("AEE"); the Maryland-DC-Delaware-Virginia 

Solar Energy Industries Association ("MDV SEIA") and the 

Solar Energy Industries Association ("SEIA"); GRID 

Alternatives Mid-Atlantic; the Virginia Department of Mines, 

Minerals and Energy; Highland Electric Transportation, Inc.; 

the Virginia, Maryland and Delaware Association of Electric 

Cooperatives; the Sierra Club; the Southern Environmental 

Law Center, Appalachian Voices, the Virginia Conservation 

Network, the Chesapeake Climate Action Network, the 

Virginia League of Conservation Voters, the Piedmont 

Environmental Council, the Rappahannock League for 

Environmental Protection, and the National Parks 

Conservation Association; the Institute for Policy Integrity at 

New York University School of Law; LS Power 

Development LLC ("LS Power"); the Virginia Oil and Gas 

Association ("VOGA"); Solar United Neighbors; and an 

individual.3 

Proposed regulations were filed by APCo and Dominion; 

ESA; and Delorean.4 

NOW THE COMMISSION, upon consideration of the 

foregoing, is of the opinion and finds as follows. Based on 

comments and draft regulations filed in this proceeding, the 

Commission's Staff ("Staff") has prepared Proposed Rules 

which are appended to this Order. We will direct that notice 

of the Proposed Rules be given to the public and that 

interested persons be provided an opportunity to file written 

comments on, propose modifications or supplements to, or 

request a hearing on the Proposed Rules. We further find that 

a copy of the Proposed Rules should be sent to the Registrar 

of Regulations for publication in the Virginia Register of 

Regulations. 

The Commission takes judicial notice of the ongoing public 

health emergency related to the spread of the coronavirus, or 

COVID-19, and the declarations of emergency issued at both 

the state and federal levels.5 The Commission has taken 

certain actions, and may take additional actions going 

forward, which could impact the procedures in this 

proceeding.6 Consistent with these actions, in regard to the 

terms of the procedural framework established below, the 

Commission will, among other things, direct the electronic 

filing of comments. 

Accordingly, IT IS ORDERED THAT: 

(1) All filings in this matter should be submitted 

electronically to the extent authorized by Rule 5 VAC 5-20-

150, Copies and Format, of the Commission's Rules of 

Practice and Procedure ("Rules of Practice").7 For the 

duration of the COVID-19 emergency, any person seeking to 

hand deliver and physically file or submit any pleading or 

other document shall contact the Clerk's Office Document 

Control Center at (804) 371-9838 to arrange the delivery.8 

(2) The Commission's Division of Information Resources 

shall forward a copy of this Order for Notice and Comment 

("Order"), including a copy of the Proposed Rules, to the 

Registrar of Regulations for publication in the Virginia 

Register of Regulations. 

(3) An electronic copy of the Proposed Rules may be 

obtained by submitting a request to Michael Cizenski in the 

Commission's Division of Public Utility Regulation at the 

following email address: Mike.Cizenski@scc.virginia.gov. 

An electronic copy of the Proposed Rules can be found at the 

Division of Public Utility Regulation's website: 

https://scc.virginia.gov/pages/Rulemaking. Interested persons 

may also download unofficial copies of the Order and the 

Proposed Rules from the Commission's website: 

https://scc.virginia.gov/pages/Case-Information. 

(4) The Commission's Division of Public Utility Regulation 

shall provide copies of this Order by electronic transmission, 

or when electronic transmission is not possible, by mail, to: 

individuals, organizations, and companies who have been 

identified by the Staff as interested in the development of 

energy storage in the Commonwealth, including those entities 

and individuals previously filing comments in this 

proceeding. 

(5) On or before November 2, 2020, any interested person 

may file comments on the Proposed Rules by following the 

instructions found on the Commission's website: 

https://scc.virginia.gov/casecomments/Submit-Public-

Comments. Such comments may also include proposals and 

hearing requests. All comments shall refer to Case No. PUR-

2020-00120. Any request for hearing shall state with 

specificity why the issues raised in the request for hearing 

cannot be adequately addressed in written comments. If a 

sufficient request for hearing is not received, the Commission 

may consider the matter and enter an order based upon the 

papers filed herein. 

(6) On or before November 16, 2020, the Staff shall file 

with the Clerk of the Commission a report on or a response to 

any comments, proposals, or requests for hearing submitted to 

the Commission on the Proposed Rules. 

(7) This matter is continued. 

A COPY hereof shall be sent electronically by the Clerk of 

the Commission to all persons on the official Service List in 

this matter. The Service List is available from the Clerk of the 

Commission. 

_______________________________ 

1Senate Bill 851, 2020 Va. Acts ch. 1194, and identical House Bill 1526, 

2020 Va. Acts ch. 1193 (effective July 1, 2020). 

2On July 20, 2020, Dominion and APCo filed a Motion for Limited 

Extension of Time to File Proposed Regulations and for Expedited 

mailto:Mike.Cizenski@scc.virginia.gov
https://scc.virginia.gov/pages/Rulemaking
https://scc.virginia.gov/pages/Case-Information
https://scc.virginia.gov/casecomments/Submit-Public-Comments
https://scc.virginia.gov/casecomments/Submit-Public-Comments
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Consideration requesting an extension of the deadline to propose specific 

regulations implementing Code § 56-585.5 E 5 from July 29, 2020 to August 

14, 2020. The Commission subsequently granted the motion and extended 

the deadline for the filing of proposed regulations in this proceeding to 

August 14, 2020. 

3LS Power, VOGA and Solar United Neighbors filed comments after the 

deadline for submission; the Commission exercises its discretion herein to 

accept those comments out of time.  

4MDV SEIA, SEIA, and AEE filed joint comments supportive of the draft 

regulations filed by ESA. 

5See, e.g., Executive Order No. 51, Declaration of a State of Emergency Due 

to Novel Coronavirus, COVID-19, issued March 12, 2020, by Gov. Ralph S. 

Northam. See also Executive Order No. 53, Temporary Restrictions on 

Restaurants, Recreational, Entertainment, Gatherings, Non-Essential Retail 

Businesses, and Closure of K-12 Schools Due to Novel Coronavirus 

(COVID-19), issued March 23, 2020, by Governor Ralph S. Northam, and 

Executive Order No. 55, Temporary Stay At Home Order Due to Novel 

Coronavirus (COVID-19), issued March 30, 2020, by Governor Ralph S. 

Northam.  These and subsequent Executive Orders related to COVID-19 may 

be found at: https://www.governor.virginia.gov/executive-actions/. 

6See, e.g., Commonwealth of Virginia, ex rel. State Corporation 

Commission, Ex Parte: Electronic Service of Commission Orders, Case No. 

CLK-2020-00004, Doc. Con. Cen. No. 200330035, Order Concerning 

Electronic Service of Commission Orders (Mar. 19, 2020), extended by Doc. 

Con. Cen. No. 200520105, Order Regarding the State Corporation 

Commission's Revised Operating Procedures During COVID-19 Emergency 

(May 11, 2020); Commonwealth of Virginia, ex rel., State Corporation 

Commission, Ex Parte: Revised Operating Procedures During COVID-19 

Emergency, Case No. CLK-2020-00005, Doc. Con. Cen. No. 200330042, 

Order Regarding the State Corporation Commission's Revised Operating 

Procedures During COVID-19 Emergency (Mar. 19, 2020) ("Revised 

Operating Procedures Order"), extended by Doc. Con. Cen. No. 200520105, 

Order Regarding the State Corporation Commission's Revised Operating 

Procedures During COVID-19 Emergency (May 11, 2020); Commonwealth 

of Virginia, ex rel. State Corporation Commission, Ex Parte: Electronic 

service among parties during COVID-19 emergency, Case No. CLK-2020-

00007, Doc. Con. Cen. No. 200410009, Order Requiring Electronic Service 

(Apr. 1, 2020). 

75 VAC 5-20-10 et seq. 

8As noted in the Commission's Revised Operating Procedures Order, 

submissions to the Commission's Clerk's Office via U.S. mail or commercial 

mail equivalents may not be processed for an indefinite period due to the 

COVID-19 emergency. 

CHAPTER 335 

REGULATIONS GOVERNING THE DEPLOYMENT OF 

ENERGY STORAGE 

20VAC5-335-10. Purpose and applicability. 

This chapter is promulgated pursuant to § 56-585.5 E 5 of 

the Code of Virginia to achieve the deployment of energy 

storage for the Commonwealth. Each Phase I or Phase II 

Utility is subject to 20VAC5-335-30 through 

20VAC5-335-70, 20VAC5-335-120, and 20VAC5-335-130. 

Non-utility developers, owners, operators, and aggregators of 

energy storage are subject to 20VAC5-335-80 through 

20VAC5-335-130. Electric cooperatives are not subject to 

this chapter. 

20VAC5-335-20. Definitions. 

The following words and terms when used in this chapter 

shall have the following meanings unless the context clearly 

indicates otherwise: 

"Behind the meter" means any system that is on the 

customer side of the utility service meter. 

"Behind-the-meter incentive" means any incentive that 

encourages an end-use electric customer to implement energy 

storage systems that are connected to the customer side of the 

utility service meter, regardless of who actually owns the 

energy storage equipment. 

"Commission" means the Virginia State Corporation 

Commission. 

"Demand-side management program" means energy 

efficiency, demand response, or peak shaving programs 

approved by the commission that a utility may offer to 

customers pursuant to § 56-585.1 A 5 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

"Energy storage" means any technology that is capable of 

absorbing energy, storing that energy for a period of time, and 

re-delivering that energy after storage. 

"Energy storage aggregator" means a person or entity that, 

as an agent or intermediary, (i) offers to purchase or 

purchases energy storage system capabilities; or (ii) offers to 

arrange for or arranges for the purchase of energy storage 

system capabilities for the purposes of combining or 

aggregating those capabilities to enable the participation of 

multiple energy storage systems in electricity markets where 

such individual systems could not participate individually. 

"Energy storage capacity" means the maximum amount of 

stored energy of the energy storage system in kilowatt-hours 

or megawatt-hours that can be delivered to the grid. 

"Energy storage facility" or "energy storage system" means 

an energy storage resource and any equipment, other than a 

transmission or distribution line, needed to interconnect the 

energy storage resource to the utility's electric system. This 

additional equipment can include switchgear, transformers, 

inverters, switches, cables, wires, conductors, bus work, 

protection devices and systems, communication and control 

devices and systems, fire protection systems, and 

environmental protection systems. 

"Energy storage power rating" means the total possible 

instantaneous discharge capability in kilowatts or megawatts 

of the energy storage system, or the maximum sustained rate 

of discharge that the energy storage system can achieve 

starting from a fully charged state to a fully discharged state. 

"Energy storage project" means an energy storage facility 

with a specified location and an associated nameplate 

capacity. 

https://www.governor.virginia.gov/executive-actions/
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"Energy storage resource" means (i) a resource capable of 

collecting energy from the electric power grid or a power 

generation facility and then discharging the energy at a future 

point in time to provide electricity or other grid services, or 

(ii) a resource capable of the active or dynamic exchange of 

energy. 

"Non-wires alternative" means any electricity grid 

investment, project, or program that uses nontraditional 

transmission or distribution solutions, such as distributed 

generation, energy storage, energy efficiency, demand 

response, and grid software and controls, to delay or remove 

the need for traditional system upgrades of equipment, such 

as transmission or distribution lines or transformers, without 

impacting the safety or overall performance of the electric 

power system. 

"Peak demand reduction program" means any project or 

program aimed at shifting time of use of electricity from one 

period to another for the overall economic and reliability 

benefit of the electric power grid. 

"Person" means any individual, corporation, partnership, 

association, company, business, trust, joint venture, or other 

private legal entity, and the Commonwealth or any 

municipality. 

"Phase I Utility" has the same meaning as provided in 

subdivision A 1 of § 56-585.1 of the Code of Virginia. 

"Phase II Utility" has the same meaning as provided in 

subdivision A 1 of § 56-585.1 of the Code of Virginia. 

"Storage duration" means the amount of time an energy 

storage system can discharge at its energy storage power 

rating before depleting the stored usable energy when the 

system is at maximum energy capacity. 

20VAC5-335-30. Minimum interim targets for energy 

storage deployment by Phase I and Phase II Utilities. 

A. A Phase I Utility shall petition the commission for any 

necessary approvals to construct or acquire the level of 

energy storage capacity by the following dates: 

1. By December 31, 2025, 25 megawatts; 

2. By December 31, 2030, an additional 125 megawatts for 

a total of 150 megawatts; and 

3. By December 31, 2035, an additional 250 megawatts for 

a total of 400 megawatts. 

B. A Phase II Utility shall petition the commission for any 

necessary approvals to construct or acquire the level of 

energy storage capacity by the following dates: 

1. By December 31, 2025, 250 megawatts; 

2. By December 31, 2030, an additional 950 megawatts for 

a total of 1,200 megawatts; and 

3. By December 31, 2035, an additional 1,500 megawatts 

for a total of 2,700 megawatts. 

C. At least 35% of energy storage facilities placed into 

service by a Phase I or Phase II Utility shall be (i) purchased 

by the Phase I or Phase II Utility from a party other than the 

utility, or (ii) owned by a party other than the Phase I or 

Phase II Utility with the capacity from such facilities sold to 

the utility. The 35% threshold shall also apply to each interim 

targets period identified in this section and a Phase I or Phase 

II Utility's acquisition of energy storage facilities, and 

purchases of capacity from its own utility-affiliated interests 

shall not count toward this 35% threshold. 

D. Any type of energy storage technology shall count 

toward the interim targets set forth in subsections A and B of 

this section. 

E. Each Phase I or Phase II Utility shall report on its plan to 

meet these interim targets and its progress toward meeting 

these interim targets in the proceedings established by § 56-

585.5 D 4 and §§ 56-597 through 56-599 of the Code of 

Virginia, consistent with the requirements of each respective 

statute. 

20VAC5-335-40. Procurement of energy storage projects 

by Phase I and Phase II Utilities. 

A. In procuring energy storage projects, each Phase I or 

Phase II Utility shall use competitive bidding to the extent 

practicable, consistent with § 56-233.1 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

B. Beginning in 2021 and ending in 2035 or when the 

storage targets are met, whichever is sooner, each Phase I or 

Phase II Utility shall sponsor at least one competitive 

solicitation for energy storage projects per calendar year, 

consistent with the following requirements: 

1. The request for proposals shall quantify and describe the 

utility's need for energy or capacity. 

2. The request for proposals shall be publicly announced 

and made available for public review on the utility's 

website at least 45 calendar days prior to the closing of 

such request for proposals. 

3. The request for proposals shall provide, at a minimum, 

the following information: (i) the size, type, and timing of 

energy storage resources for which the utility anticipates 

contracting; (ii) any minimum thresholds that must be met 

by respondents; (iii) major assumptions to be used by the 

utility in the bid evaluation process, including 

environmental emission standards; (iv) detailed 

instructions for preparing bids so that bids can be evaluated 

on a consistent basis; (v) the preferred general location of 

additional energy storage capacity; and (vi) specific 

information concerning the factors involved in determining 

the price and non-price criteria used for selecting winning 

bids. 
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4. A utility may evaluate responses to the request for 

proposals based on any criteria that it deems reasonable but 

shall at a minimum consider the following in its selection 

process: (i) the status of a particular project's development; 

(ii) the age of existing facilities; (iii) the demonstrated 

financial viability of a project and the developer; (iv) a 

developer's prior experience in the field; (v) the location 

and effect on the transmission grid of an energy storage 

facility; (vi) the benefits to the Commonwealth that are 

associated with particular projects, including regional 

economic development and the use of goods and services 

from Virginia businesses; (vii) the environmental impacts 

of particular resources, including impacts on air quality 

within the Commonwealth and the carbon intensity of the 

utility's generation portfolio; and (viii) how any project 

impacts the goals established by the Virginia 

Environmental Justice Act (§ 2.2-234 et seq. of the Code of 

Virginia). 

5. A utility shall maintain documentation of its reasoning 

for rejecting any specific response. 

C. Each utility shall report on any competitive solicitations 

for energy storage resources as part of the annual plan 

required by § 56-585.5 D 4 of the Code of Virginia. 

20VAC5-335-50. Behind-the-meter incentives by Phase I 

and Phase II Utilities. 

As part of the annual proceeding required by § 56-585.5 D 4 

of the Code of Virginia, each Phase I or Phase II Utility shall 

address behind-the-meter incentives related to energy storage. 

Each Phase I or Phase II Utility shall file with the 

commission applications for approval of behind-the-meter 

incentives related to energy storage. If the utility proposes to 

offer any such behind-the-meter incentives to customers 

through a demand-side management program, the utility may 

seek approval through any existing processes for demand-side 

management programs under § 56-585.1 A 5 of the Code of 

Virginia, rather than through a separate proceeding under this 

section. 

20VAC5-335-60. Non-wires alternative programs by 

Phase I and Phase II Utilities. 

As part of the annual proceeding required by § 56-585.5 D 4 

of the Code of Virginia, each Phase I or Phase II Utility shall 

address non-wires alternative programs related to energy 

storage. Each Phase I or Phase II Utility shall file with the 

commission applications for approval of non-wires alternative 

programs related to energy storage. If the utility proposes to 

offer non-wires alternative programs to customers through a 

demand-side management program, the utility may seek 

approval through any existing processes for demand-side 

management programs under § 56-585.1 A 5 of the Code of 

Virginia, rather than through a separate proceeding under this 

section. 

20VAC5-335-70. Peak demand reduction programs by 

Phase I and Phase II Utilities. 

As part of the annual proceeding required by § 56-585.5 D 4 

of the Code of Virginia, each Phase I or Phase II Utility shall 

address peak demand reduction programs related to energy 

storage. Each Phase I or Phase II Utility shall file with the 

commission applications for approval of peak demand 

reduction programs related to energy storage. If the utility 

proposes to offer any such peak demand reduction programs 

to customers through a demand-side management program, 

the utility may seek approval through any existing processes 

for demand-side management programs under § 56-585.1 A 5 

of the Code of Virginia, rather than through a separate 

proceeding under this section. 

20VAC5-335-80. Permitting of non-utility energy storage 

facilities. 

A. Other than a Phase I or Phase II Utility, each person 

seeking to construct and operate an energy storage facility in 

the Commonwealth with an energy storage power rating of 

100 kilowatts or greater, either on a stand-alone basis or on an 

aggregated basis facilitated by an energy storage aggregator, 

shall either (i) obtain a permit from the commission pursuant 

to this section, or (ii) apply for and receive a certificate of 

public convenience and necessity from the commission 

pursuant to § 56-580 of the Code of Virginia for the energy 

storage facility, prior to commencing construction or 

operation. If such person applies for and receives a certificate 

of public convenience and necessity from the commission, a 

permit shall not be required. 

B. In evaluating a permit application, the commission shall 

make a determination for approval based upon a finding that 

the energy storage facility (i) will have no material adverse 

effect upon reliability of electric service provided by any 

regulated public utility; (ii) does not adversely impact any 

goal established by the Virginia Environmental Justice Act 

(§ 2.2-234 et seq. of the Code of Virginia); and (iii) is not 

otherwise contrary to the public interest. 

C. Other than a Phase I or Phase II Utility, each person 

applying for a permit to construct and operate an energy 

storage facility with an energy storage power rating of 100 

kilowatts or greater shall file an application with the clerk of 

the commission. If the applicant becomes aware of any 

material changes to any information while the application is 

pending, the applicant shall inform the commission of such 

changes within 10 calendar days. Applications shall include 

the following information: 

1. Legal name of the applicant as well as any trade name. 

2. A description of the applicant's authorized business 

structure, identifying the state authorizing such structure 

and the associated date (e.g., if incorporated, the state and 

date of incorporation; if a limited liability company, the 
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state issuing the certificate of organization and the date of 

issuance). 

3. Name and business addresses of all principal corporate 

officers and directors, partners, and LLC members, as 

appropriate. 

4. Financial information for the applicant or principal 

participant in the project. If the applicant or principal 

participant is a private entity, financial information should 

include an analysis of the entity's financial condition and 

audited financial statements for the two most recent fiscal 

years. If the applicant or principal participant is a public 

company, financial information should include a copy or a 

link to where a copy can be found on the internet of the 

entity's most recent stockholder report and most recent 

Securities and Exchange Commission Form 10 K. If such 

information is unavailable, provide evidence that applicant 

has the financial resources or access to capital necessary to 

complete the proposed project. 

5. A discussion of the applicant's qualifications, including: 

a. A summary of other projects developed and managed 

by the applicant. Include location, status, and operational 

history. 

b. A description of any affiliation with an incumbent 

electric utility as defined in § 56-576 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

c. A disclosure of any affiliate relationship with any other 

permit holder. 

6. Specific information about the site for the proposed 

facility, including: 

a. A written description of the location, including 

identification of the city or county in which the facility 

will be constructed. Such description should be suitable 

for newspaper publication and sufficiently identify any 

affected areas. 

b. A description of the site and a topographical map 

depiction of the proposed site. 

c. The status of site acquisition (e.g., purchase option, 

ownership). 

d. A description of any applicable local zoning or land 

use approvals required and the status of such approvals. 

7. Specific information about the proposed facility, 

including: 

a. Description of all major systems, including energy 

storage technology type and battery storage chemistry 

type, if applicable; intended uses; intended facility useful 

life; facility configuration; and expected suppliers of 

major components. 

b. Energy storage power rating, energy capacity, and 

storage duration. 

c. Estimated costs and schedule for construction, testing, 

and commercialization. 

d. Site layouts that provide for integration of energy 

storage systems with adequate spacing and property 

setback requirements incorporated. 

e. Codes and standards to which the proposed facility 

will be constructed. 

f. Where applicable, the manner and location of the 

facility's interconnection to the transmission or 

distribution grid. 

8. A general discussion of the selection process for the 

energy storage technology, including a description of any 

competitive procurement processes used. 

9. A general discussion of economic development impacts 

of the project. 

10. A list of other local, state, or federal government 

agencies whose requirements must be met in connection 

with the construction or operation of the project and a 

statement of the status of the approval procedures for each 

of these agencies. 

11. An analysis of the environmental impact of the project. 

This analysis shall include the impacts on the environment 

and natural resources, analysis of alternatives considered, 

unavoidable adverse impacts, mitigation measures 

proposed to minimize unavoidable impacts, and any 

irreversible environmental changes. The information 

required by this subdivision shall be submitted to the 

Department of Environmental Quality, simultaneously with 

its filing with the commission, for coordination and review 

by state agencies responsible for environmental and natural 

resource protection. The information shall identify: 

a. Required air permits, expected restrictions, expected 

emissions, rates of emissions, and any needed emissions 

offsets or allowances. 

b. Required permits for water withdrawals, expected 

restrictions, the amount of water estimated to be used, the 

source of such water, identification of a backup source of 

water, if any, and identification of any facilities that need 

to be constructed to provide such water. 

c. Required permits for water discharge and potential 

impacts on regional water flows. 

d. Required permits related to the wetlands and an 

identification of any tidal and nontidal wetlands located 

near the proposed site and how such wetlands will be 

impacted by applicant's proposed facility. 

e. Impact of solid and hazardous wastes on local water 

resources. 
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f. Impact on natural heritage resources and on threatened 

and endangered species. 

g. Erosion and sediment control measures. 

h. Archaeological, historic, scenic, cultural, or 

architectural resources in the area. 

i. Chesapeake Bay Preservation Areas designated by the 

locality. 

j. Wildlife resources. 

k. Agricultural and forest resources and federal, local, 

state, or private parks and recreation areas. 

l. Use of pesticides and herbicides. 

m. Geology and mineral resources, caves, and sinkholes. 

n. Transportation infrastructure. 

12. An analysis of the social impact of the project, 

including a general discussion of why the facility will not 

have a disproportionate adverse impact on "historically 

economically disadvantaged communities" as defined in 

§ 56-576 of the Code of Virginia. 

13. A general discussion of how the project will promote 

environmental justice in environmental justice 

communities and fenceline communities consistent with 

the Virginia Environmental Justice Act (§ 2.2-234 et seq. 

of the Code of Virginia). 

14. A general discussion of reliability impacts, including: 

a. A description of interconnection requirements and 

needed interconnection facilities. Any such facilities 

shall be depicted on a topographic map. 

b. A description of the potential impact of the proposed 

facility on the interconnected system. Discussion should 

identify and summarize any system impact studies or 

proposed studies. 

c. A description of anticipated services that may be 

provided to any transmission service provider or local 

distribution company, including associated costs and 

benefits. 

d. A discussion of existing and expected generation 

reserves in the region and the impact of the proposed 

facility on such reserves. 

15. A discussion of safety measures the applicant will 

implement, including fire and explosion protection, 

detection and mitigation measures, and an emergency 

response plan, as well as a discussion of whether such 

measures are compliant with all applicable codes and 

standards. 

16. A discussion of the projected useful life of the energy 

storage facility, including known or projected performance 

degradation, roundtrip efficiency, and the proposed plan 

for and cost of decommissioning at the end of the facility's 

useful life. 

17. A discussion of whether the proposed facility is not 

contrary to the public interest. The discussion shall include 

an analysis of any reasonably known impacts the proposed 

facility may have upon reliability of service to and rates 

paid by customers of any regulated public utility providing 

electric service in the Commonwealth. 

Any application that fails to conform to the requirements 

shall be incomplete. No action shall be taken on any 

application until deemed complete and filed. 

Upon receipt of a complete permit application pursuant to 

this section, the commission shall enter an order providing 

notice to appropriate persons and an opportunity to comment 

on the application. The commission shall issue a permit for 

construction and operation of the energy storage facility upon 

finding the applicant satisfies the requirements established by 

this section. 

D. Construction and operation of an energy storage facility 

in the Commonwealth with an energy storage power rating of 

less than 100 kilowatts may be undertaken without complying 

with the filing requirements established by this section. 

Persons desiring to construct and operate such facilities shall 

(i) submit a letter stating the location, size, and technology of 

the energy storage facility to (a) the Director of the 

commission's Division of Public Utility Regulation and (b) 

the utility in whose certificated service territory the energy 

storage facility is located; and (ii) comply with all other 

requirements of federal, state, and local law. 

E. In addition to the requirements of this section, each 

person seeking to operate an energy storage facility must 

complete either the interconnection process required by the 

commission's Regulations Governing Interconnection of 

Small Electrical Generators and Storage (20VAC5-314) or 

any federally approved process established by the regional 

transmission organization. 

F. Within 30 days of any transfer or assignment of an energy 

storage facility for which a permit was granted by the 

commission, the permit holder shall notify the commission 

and the utility in whose certificated service territory the 

energy storage facility is located of such transfer or 

assignment. The notice shall include (i) the date of transfer or 

assignment; (ii) the information required in subdivisions C 1 

through C 5 of this section for the new permit holder; and (iii) 

a declaration by the new permit holder that it agrees to abide 

by all initial and continuing requirements of the permit. 

G. Any person receiving a permit to operate an energy 

storage facility in the Commonwealth pursuant to this section 

shall comply with all initial and continuing requirements of 

the commission's permitting process. Should the commission 

determine, upon complaint of any interested person or the 

Attorney General or upon staff motion or its own motion that 
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a permitted operator of an energy storage facility has failed to 

comply with any of the requirements of this section or a 

commission order, the commission may, after providing due 

notice and an opportunity for a hearing, suspend or revoke the 

permit or take any other actions permitted by law or 

regulations as it may deem necessary to protect the public 

interest. 

20VAC5-335-90. Licensing of energy storage aggregators. 

A. Other than a Phase I or Phase II Utility, each person 

seeking to conduct business as an energy storage aggregator 

shall obtain a license from the commission prior to 

commencing operations. 

B. Each person applying for a license to conduct business as 

an energy storage aggregator shall file an application with the 

clerk of the commission. If the applicant becomes aware of 

any material changes to any information while the application 

is pending, the applicant shall inform the commission of such 

changes within 10 calendar days. Applications shall include 

the following information: 

1. Legal name of the applicant as well as any trade name. 

2. A description of the applicant's authorized business 

structure, identifying the state authorizing such structure 

and the associated date (e.g., if incorporated, the state and 

date of incorporation; if a limited liability company, the 

state issuing the certificate of organization and the date of 

issuance). 

3. Name and business addresses of all principal corporate 

officers and directors, partners, and limited liability 

corporation (LLC) members, as appropriate. 

4. Physical business addresses and telephone numbers of 

the applicant's principal office and any Virginia office 

location. 

5. Whether the applicant is an affiliate of a Phase I or 

Phase II Utility. If so, the application shall further provide 

a description of internal controls the applicant has designed 

to ensure that it and its employees, contractors, and agents 

that are engaged in the (i) merchant, operations, 

transmission, or reliability functions of the electric 

generation systems, or (ii) customer service, sales, 

marketing, metering, accounting, or billing functions do 

not receive information from the utility or from entities 

that provide similar functions for or on behalf of the utility 

as would give the affiliated energy storage aggregator an 

undue advantage over nonaffiliated energy storage 

aggregators. 

6. A list of states in which the applicant or an affiliate 

conducts business as an energy storage aggregator, the 

names under which such business is conducted, and a 

description of the businesses conducted. 

7. Toll-free telephone number of the applicant's customer 

service department. 

8. Name, title, address, telephone number, and email 

address of the applicant's liaison with the commission. 

9. Name, title, and address of the applicant's registered 

agent in Virginia for service of process. 

10. If a foreign corporation, a copy of the applicant's 

authorization to conduct business in Virginia from the 

commission or if a domestic corporation, a copy of the 

certificate of incorporation from the commission. 

11. Sufficient information to demonstrate, for purposes of 

licensure with the commission, financial fitness 

commensurate with the services proposed to be provided. 

Applicant shall submit the following information related to 

general financial fitness: 

a. If available, applicant's audited balance sheet and 

income statement for the most recent fiscal year and 

published financial information, such as the most recent 

Securities and Exchange Commission forms 10-K and 

10-Q. If not available, other financial information for the 

applicant or any other entity that provides financial 

resources to the applicant. 

b. If available, proof of a minimum bond rating (or other 

senior debt) of "BBB-" or an equivalent rating by a major 

rating agency or a guarantee with a guarantor possessing 

a credit rating of "BBB-" or higher from a major rating 

agency. If not available, other evidence that will 

demonstrate the applicant's financial responsibility. 

12. The name of the utility certificated to provide service 

in the area in which the applicant proposes to provide 

service, the type of services the applicant proposes to 

provide, and the class of customers to which the applicant 

proposes to provide such services. 

13. The following information related to the applicant's 

fitness to operate as an energy storage aggregator: 

a. Disclosure of any (i) civil, criminal, or regulatory 

sanctions or penalties imposed or in place within the 

previous five years against the company, any of its 

affiliates, or any officer, director, partner, or member of 

an LLC or any of its affiliates pursuant to any state or 

federal law or regulation; and (ii) felony convictions 

within the previous five years that relate to the business 

of the company or to an affiliate of any officer, director, 

partner, or member of an LLC. 

b. Disclosure of whether any application for license or 

authority to conduct the same type of business as it 

proposes to offer in Virginia has ever been denied, 

whether any license or authority issued to it or an affiliate 

has ever been suspended or revoked, and whether other 

sanctions have been imposed. 
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c. If the applicant has engaged in the provision of energy 

storage aggregation in Virginia or any other state, a report of 

all instances of violations of reliability standards that were 

determined to be the fault of the applicant, including 

unplanned outages, failure to meet service obligations, and 

any other deviations from reliability standards during the 

previous three years. The report shall include, for each 

instance, the following information: (i) a description of the 

event; (ii) its duration; (iii) its cause; (iv) the number of 

customers affected; (v) any reports, findings, or issuances by 

regulators or electric and natural gas system reliability 

organizations relating to the instance; (vi) any penalties 

imposed; and (vii) whether and how the problem has been 

remedied. 

14. A $250 registration fee payable to the commission. 

15. A discussion of the proposed uses of the aggregated 

resources, including the nature of the intended participation 

in wholesale electric markets, if any. 

16. Sufficient information to demonstrate technical fitness 

commensurate with the service to be provided, to include: 

a. The applicant's experience. 

b. Identity of applicant's officers and key managers with 

direct responsibility for the business operations 

conducted in Virginia and their experience in the 

provision of storage aggregation. 

c. Documentation of the applicant's membership or 

participation in regional reliability councils or regional 

transmission organizations, if any. 

d. Billing service options the applicant intends to offer 

and a description of the applicant's billing capability, 

including a description of any related experience. 

17. A copy of the applicant's dispute resolution procedure. 

18. The standards of conduct to which the applicant 

adheres or agrees to adhere to. 

An officer with appropriate authority, under penalty of 

perjury, shall attest that all information supplied on the 

application for licensure form is true and correct and that, if 

licensed, the applicant will abide by all applicable regulations 

of the commission. 

C. Any application that fails to conform to the requirements 

of this section shall be regarded as incomplete. No action 

shall be taken on any application until deemed complete and 

filed. 

D. Upon receipt of an application for a license to conduct 

business as an energy storage aggregator, the commission 

shall enter an order providing notice to appropriate persons 

and an opportunity for comments on the application. The 

commission shall issue a license to conduct business as an 

energy storage aggregator upon finding the applicant satisfies 

the requirements established by this section. 

E. A license to conduct business as an energy storage 

aggregator granted under this section is valid until revoked or 

suspended by the commission after providing due notice and 

an opportunity for a hearing or until the energy storage 

aggregators abandons its license. 

F. An energy storage aggregator shall comply with all initial 

and continuing requirements of the commission's licensure 

process and any reasonable registration processes required by the 

utility in whose certificated service territory the energy storage 

aggregator intends to operate. Should the commission determine, 

upon complaint of any interested person or the Attorney General 

or upon staff motion or its own motion that an energy storage 

aggregators has failed to comply with any of the requirements of 

this section or a commission order, the commission may, after 

providing due notice and an opportunity for a hearing, suspend 

or revoke the energy storage aggregator's license or take any 

other actions permitted by law or regulations as it may deem 

necessary to protect the public interest. 

20VAC5-335-100. Energy storage aggregator registration 

with utility. 

A. An energy storage aggregator shall submit to the utility in 

whose certificated service territory it intends to operate proof 

of licensure from the commission to provide energy storage 

aggregation services in the Commonwealth. An energy 

storage aggregator shall provide notice of any suspension or 

revocation of its license to the utility upon issuance of the 

suspension or revocation by the commission. 

B. An energy storage aggregator and the utility shall 

exchange the names, telephone numbers, and email addresses 

of appropriate internal points of contact to address operational 

and business coordination issues and the names and addresses 

of their registered agents in Virginia. 

20VAC5-335-110. Marketing by energy storage 

aggregators. 

A. An energy storage aggregator shall provide accurate, 

understandable information in any advertisements, 

solicitations, marketing materials, or customer service 

contracts in a manner that is not misleading. Marketing 

material found misleading by the commission will be 

withdrawn. 

B. Customer service contracts shall include: 

1. Explanations of the price for the energy storage 

aggregator's services or, if the exact price cannot feasibly 

be specified, an explanation of how the price will be 

calculated; 

2. Explanations of how the customer will be compensated 

for the value of their energy storage; 

3. Length of the service contract, including any provisions 

for automatic contract renewal; 
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4. Provisions for termination by the customer and by the 

energy storage aggregator; 

5. A statement of any minimum contract terms, minimum 

or maximum storage requirements, minimum or fixed 

charges, and any other charges; 

6. Applicable fees including start-up fees, cancellation 

fees, late payment fees, and fees for checks returned for 

insufficient funds; 

7. A notice of any billing terms and conditions; 

8. A toll-free telephone number and an address for 

inquiries and complaints; 

9. In a conspicuous place, confirmation of the customer's 

request for enrollment and the approximate date the 

customer's service shall commence; 

10. A notice that, upon request by the customer, the energy 

storage aggregator shall provide a copy of its dispute 

resolution procedure; and 

11. A notice that, upon any change in the terms and 

conditions of the contract, including any provisions 

governing price or pricing methodology or assignment of 

the contract to another energy storage aggregator, the 

energy storage aggregator shall communicate such changes 

to the customer at least 30 days in advance of 

implementing such changes. 

20VAC5-335-120. Confidentiality. 

Where any application filed under this chapter, including 

any supporting documents or pre-filed testimony, contains 

information that the applicant asserts is confidential, the filing 

may be made under seal and accompanied by a motion for a 

protective order or other confidential treatment in accordance 

with 5VAC5-20-170. 

20VAC5-335-130. Waiver. 

A. Any request for a waiver of any provision in this chapter 

may be granted upon such terms and conditions as the 

commission may impose. 

B. For good cause shown, any Phase I or Phase II Utility 

may request a waiver of the commission's Rules Governing 

Utility Promotional Allowances (20VAC5-313) for any 

proposed programs or incentives related to energy storage set 

forth in 20VAC5-335-50, 20VAC335-60, and 

20VAC5-335-70. 

C. For good cause shown, any Phase I or Phase II Utility 

may request a waiver of the commission's Regulations 

Governing the Functional Separation of Incumbent Electric 

Utilities under the Virginia Electric Utility Restructuring Act 

(20VAC5-202). 

VA.R. Doc. No. R21-6401; Filed September 12, 2020, 5:10 p.m.  

Proposed Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The State Corporation 

Commission is claiming an exemption from the 

Administrative Process Act in accordance with § 2.2-4002 A 

2 of the Code of Virginia, which exempts courts, any agency 

of the Supreme Court, and any agency that by the 

Constitution is expressly granted any of the powers of a court 

of record. 

Title of Regulation: 20VAC5-340. Regulations Governing 

Shared Solar Program (adding 20VAC5-340-10 through 

20VAC5-340-90).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 12.1-13 and 56-594.3 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: A public hearing will be held 

upon request. 

Public Comment Deadline: November 2, 2020. 

Agency Contact: David Eichenlaub, Deputy Director, Public 

Utilities Regulation Division, State Corporation Commission, 

P.O. Box 1197, Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 371-

9050, FAX (804) 371-9350, or email 

david.eichenlaub@scc.virginia.gov. 

Summary 

The proposed action implements the provisions of 

Chapters 1238 and 1264 of the 2020 Acts of Assembly and 

establishes Rules Governing Shared Solar Program 

(20VAC5-340), a program that affords customers of a 

Phase II Utility the opportunity to participate in shared 

solar projects. The proposed regulation governs the 

development of shared solar facilities and participation in 

the shared solar program and contains requirements for 

licensing, registration, marketing and enrollment, billing 

and payment, annual proceeding, disputes, and 

recordkeeping and reporting. 

AT RICHMOND, SEPTEMBER 21, 2020 

COMMONWEALTH OF VIRGINIA, ex rel: 

STATE CORPORATION COMMISSION 

CASE NO. PUR-2020-00125 

Ex Parte: In the matter of establishing regulations 

for a shared solar program pursuant to 

§ 56-594.3 of the Code of Virginia 

ORDER FOR NOTICE AND COMMENT 

During its 2020 Session, the Virginia General Assembly 

enacted Chapters 1238 (HB 1634) and 1264 (SB 629) of the 

2020 Virginia Acts of Assembly. These Acts of Assembly 

amend the Code of Virginia ("Code") by adding a section 

numbered 56-594.3, effective July 1, 2020. Code § 56-594.3 

requires that by January 1, 2021, the State Corporation 

Commission ("Commission") establish by regulation a 

mailto:david.eichenlaub@scc.virginia.gov
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program affording Virginia Electric and Power Company 

d/b/a Dominion Energy Virginia ("Dominion") customers the 

opportunity to participate in shared solar projects. 

On July 1, 2020, the Commission entered an Order 

Directing Comment in this proceeding that sought comments 

on the shared solar program and associated regulations. The 

Commission's Order Directing Comment directed Dominion, 

and invited interested persons or entities, to file comments by 

July 24, 2020. The Order Directing Comment also permitted 

commenters to propose specific regulations by July 24, 2020.  

On July 20, 2020, Dominion filed a Motion for Limited 

Extension of Time to File Proposed Regulations and for 

Expedited Consideration ("Motion"). Through its Motion, 

Dominion requested that the Commission extend the deadline 

for submitting proposed regulations by three weeks to August 

14, 2020. The Commission granted Dominion's Motion on 

July 22, 2020. 

The following parties filed comments: the Coalition for 

Community Solar Access and the Maryland-DC-Delaware-

Virginia Solar Energy Industries Association (collectively, 

"CCSA/MDV-SEIA"); the Virginia Department of Mines, 

Minerals and Energy; Health E Community Enterprises of 

Virginia, Inc.; the Virginia Clean Energy Advisory Board; the 

Sierra Club; the Southern Environmental Law Center and 

Appalachian Voices; Dominion; GRID Alternatives Mid-

Atlantic; Vote Solar and Solar United Neighbors; Arcadia; 

Senator Scott A. Surovell; Virginia Advanced Energy 

Economy; and SynerGen Solar.1  On August 14, 2020, 

Dominion and CCSA/MDV-SEIA filed proposed regulations. 

Based on input received from the filings in this docket, the 

Commission's Staff ("Staff") has prepared proposed rules 

("Proposed Rules"), which are attached to this Order for 

Notice and Comment ("Order"). 

NOW THE COMMISSION, upon consideration of this 

matter, is of the opinion and finds that Staff's Proposed Rules 

should be considered for adoption, that notice of the Proposed 

Rules be given to the public, and that interested persons have 

an opportunity to file written comments on, propose 

modifications or supplements to, or request a hearing on the 

Proposed Rules.  We further find that a copy of the Proposed 

Rules should be sent to the Registrar of Regulations for 

publication in the Virginia Register of Regulations.  

Accordingly, IT IS ORDERED THAT: 

(1) The Commission's Division of Information Resources 

shall forward a copy of this Order, including a copy of the 

Proposed Rules, to the Registrar of Regulations for 

publication in the Virginia Register of Regulations. 

(2) An electronic copy of the Proposed Rules may be 

obtained by submitting a request to David R. Eichenlaub in 

the Commission's Division of Public Utility Regulation at the 

following email address: David.Eichenlaub@scc.virginia.gov. 

An electronic copy of the Proposed Rules can be found at the 

Division of Public Utility Regulation's website: 

https://scc.virginia.gov/pages/Rulemaking. Interested persons 

may also download unofficial copies of this Order and the 

Proposed Rules from the Commission's website: 

https://scc.virginia.gov/pages/Case-Information. 

(3) The Commission's Division of Public Utility Regulation 

shall provide copies of this Order by electronic transmission, 

or when electronic transmission is not possible, by mail, to 

individuals, organizations, and companies who have been 

identified by Staff as interested in this matter, including those 

entities and individuals that previously filed comments in this 

proceeding. 

(4) On or before November 2, 2020, any interested person 

may file comments on the Proposed Rules by following the 

instructions found on the Commission's website: 

https://scc.virginia.gov/casecomments/Submit-Public-

Comments. Such comments also may include proposals and 

hearing requests.  All comments shall refer to Case No. PUR-

2020-00125. Any request for hearing shall state with 

specificity why the issues raised in the request for hearing 

cannot be adequately addressed in written comments. If a 

sufficient request for hearing is not received, the Commission 

may consider the matter and enter an order based upon the 

papers filed herein. 

(5) On or before November 16, 2020, the Staff shall file 

with the Clerk of the Commission a report on or response to 

any comments, proposals, or requests for hearing submitted to 

the Commission on the Proposed Rules. 

(6) This matter is continued.  

A COPY hereof shall be sent electronically by the Clerk of 

the Commission to all persons on the official Service List in 

this matter. The Service List is available from the Clerk of the 

Commission.  

_________________________________ 

1Any of these comments submitted after the July 24, 2020 deadline hereby 

are accepted into the record despite their being filed out of time. 

CHAPTER 340 

RULES GOVERNING SHARED SOLAR PROGRAM 

20VAC5-340-10. Applicability. 

A. This chapter is promulgated pursuant to § 56-594.3 of the 

Code of Virginia. The provisions of this chapter apply to 

Phase II Utilities, subscriber organizations, and subscribers. 

The provisions of this chapter govern the development of 

shared solar facilities and participation in the shared solar 

program. 

B. The maximum cumulative size of the shared solar 

program initially shall not exceed 150 megawatts, at least 

30% of which must be comprised of low-income customers. 

mailto:David.Eichenlaub@scc.virginia.gov
https://scc.virginia.gov/pages/Rulemaking
https://scc.virginia.gov/pages/Case-Information
https://scc.virginia.gov/casecomments/Submit-Public-Comments
https://scc.virginia.gov/casecomments/Submit-Public-Comments
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C. Any shared solar facility may colocate on the same parcel 

of land as another shared solar facility only if such facilities 

are owned by the same entity and do not exceed an 

accumulative maximum capacity of 5,000 kilowatts among 

all such facilities. Such facilities will also be responsible for 

any special interconnection arrangements with the utility. 

D. Customers participating in this program shall remain in 

their present customer class but may not participate in the 

multi-family solar program, pursuant to Chapters 1187, 1188, 

1189, and 1239 of the 2020 Acts of Assembly, or the net 

metering program, pursuant to 20VAC5-315, while 

participating in this program. 

E. Implementation of the shared solar program shall not 

commence until the earlier of July 1, 2023, or within 60 days 

of the Phase II Utility's full implementation of a new 

customer information platform. 

F. The provisions of this chapter shall be deemed not to 

prohibit the Phase II Utility, in emergency situations, from 

taking actions it is otherwise authorized to take that are 

necessary to ensure public safety and reliability of the 

distribution system. The commission, upon a claim of 

inappropriate action or its own motion, may investigate and 

take such corrective actions as may be appropriate. 

G. A request for a waiver of any of the provisions in this 

chapter shall be considered by the State Corporation 

Commission on a case-by-case basis and may be granted 

upon such terms and conditions as the State Corporation 

Commission may impose. 

20VAC5-340-20. Definitions. 

The following terms shall have the following meanings, 

unless the context clearly indicates otherwise: 

"Applicable bill credit rate" means the dollar-per-kilowatt-

hour rate used to calculate the subscriber's bill credit. 

"Bill credit" means the monetary value of the electricity, in 

kilowatt-hours, generated by the shared solar facility 

allocated to a subscriber to offset that subscriber's electricity 

bill. 

"Low-income customer" means any person or household 

whose income is no more than 80% of the median income of 

the locality in which the customer resides. The median 

income of the locality is determined by the U.S. Department 

of Housing and Urban Development. 

"Low-income service organization" means a nonresidential 

customer of an investor-owned utility whose primary purpose 

is to serve low-income individuals and households. 

"Low-income shared solar facility" means a shared solar 

facility at least 30% of the capacity of which is subscribed by 

low-income customers or low-income service organizations. 

"Minimum bill" means an amount determined by the 

commission as described in 20VAC-340-80 that subscribers 

are required to, at a minimum, pay on their utility bill each 

month after accounting for any bill credits. 

"Person" means any individual, corporation, partnership, 

association, company, business, trust, joint venture, or other 

private legal entity, and the Commonwealth or any 

municipality. 

"Phase II Utility" has the same meaning as provided in 

subdivision A 1 of § 56-585.1 of the Code of Virginia. 

"Shared solar facility" means a facility that: 

1. Generates electricity by means of a solar photovoltaic 

device with a nameplate capacity rating that does not 

exceed 5,000 kilowatts of alternating current;  

2. Is located in the service territory of an investor-owned 

electric utility; 

3. Is connected to the electric distribution grid serving the 

Commonwealth; 

4. Has at least three subscribers; 

5. Has at least 40% of its capacity subscribed by customers 

with subscriptions of 25 kilowatts or less; and 

6. Is located on a single parcel of land. 

"Shared solar program" or "program" means the program 

created through this chapter to allow for the development of 

shared solar facilities. 

"Subscriber" means a retail customer of a utility that (i) 

owns one or more subscriptions of a shared solar facility that 

is interconnected with the utility and (ii) receives service in 

the service territory of the same utility in whose service 

territory the shared solar facility is located. 

"Subscriber organization" means any for-profit or nonprofit 

entity that owns or operates one or more shared solar 

facilities. A subscriber organization shall not be considered a 

utility solely as a result of its ownership or operation of a 

shared solar facility. 

"Subscription" means a contract or other agreement between 

a subscriber and the owner of a shared solar facility. A 

subscription shall be sized such that the estimated bill credits 

do not exceed the subscriber's average annual bill for the 

customer account to which the subscription is attributed. 

"Utility" means a Phase II Utility. 

20VAC5-340-30. Licensing of subscriber organizations. 

A. Other than a utility, each entity seeking to conduct 

business as a subscriber organization shall obtain a license 

from the commission prior to commencing business 

operations. Each entity applying for a license to conduct 

business as a subscriber organization shall file an application 
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with the clerk of the commission and contemporaneously 

provide a copy of the application to the utility. If the applicant 

becomes aware of any material changes to any information 

while the application is still pending, the applicant shall 

inform the commission within 10 calendar days. Applications 

shall include the following information: 

1. Legal name of the applicant, as well as any trade names. 

2. Physical business addresses and telephone numbers of 

the applicant's principal office and all offices in Virginia. 

3. A description of the applicant's authorized business 

structure, identifying the state authorizing such structure 

and the associated date (e.g., if incorporated, the state and 

date of incorporation; if a limited liability company, the 

state issuing the certificate of organization and the date of 

issuance). 

4. Name and business address of all principal corporate 

officers and directors, partners, and limited liability 

company (LLC) members, as appropriate. 

5. If a foreign corporation, a copy of the applicant's 

authorization to conduct business in Virginia from the 

commission or if a domestic corporation, a copy of the 

certificate of incorporation from the commission. 

6. A list of the states in which the applicant and the 

applicant's affiliates conduct business related to 

participation in a shared solar program, the names under 

which such business is conducted, and a description of the 

business conducted. 

7. The applicant shall disclose if it is an affiliate of the 

incumbent utility. If it is, it shall further provide a 

description of internal controls the applicant has designed 

to ensure that it and its employees, contractors, and agents 

that are engaged in the (i) merchant, operations, 

transmission, or reliability functions of the electric 

generation systems; or (ii) customer service, sales, 

marketing, metering, accounting, or billing functions, do 

not receive information from the utility or from entities 

that provide similar functions for or on behalf of the utility 

as would give the affiliated subscriber organization an 

undue advantage over nonaffiliated subscriber 

organizations.  

8. Name, title, and address of the applicant's registered 

agent in Virginia for service of process. 

9. Name, title, address, telephone number, and email 

address of the applicant's liaison with the commission. 

10. Sufficient information to demonstrate, for purposes of 

licensure with the commission, financial fitness 

commensurate with the services proposed to be provided. 

Applicant shall submit the following information related to 

general financial fitness: 

a. Proof of a minimum bond rating or other senior debt of 

at least "BBB-" or an equivalent rating by a major rating 

agency, or a guarantee with a guarantor possessing a 

credit rating of "BBB-" or higher from a major rating 

agency. If not available, other evidence that will 

demonstrate the applicant's financial responsibility;  

b. The applicant's audited balance sheet, income and cash 

flow statements for the most recent fiscal year, or 

published financial information such as the most recent 

Securities and Exchange Commission forms 10-K and 

10-Q. If not available, other financial information for the 

applicant or any other entity that provide financial 

resources to the applicant may be provided; or  

c. A continuous or renewable performance or surety 

bond, an irrevocable letter of credit, or an irrevocable 

guaranty from a creditworthy corporate parent of the 

applicant in a minimum amount of $50,000 in a form to 

be prescribed by the commission staff. A certified copy 

of the bond, letter of credit, or guaranty shall be provided 

to the State Corporation Commission's Division of Utility 

Accounting and Finance within 30 days of the issuance 

of a license to the applicant by the commission. 

11. Sufficient information to demonstrate technical fitness 

commensurate with the service to be provided, to include: 

a. A description of the applicant's experience developing 

solar facilities and engaging as a subscriber organization 

or other relevant services. Provide a discussion of the 

applicant's qualifications, including a summary of other 

projects developed and managed by the applicant with 

location, status, and operational history. 

b. The names and a description of the managerial and 

technical experience of each principal officer and 

appropriate senior management person with direct 

responsibility for the business operations conducted in 

Virginia. Include a description of their experience related 

to developing solar facilities and providing shared solar 

services. 

c. Billing service options the applicant intends to offer 

and a description of the applicant's billing capability 

including a description of any related experience. 

12. A copy of the applicant's dispute resolution procedure, 

including the toll-free number for the customer service 

department. 

13. A copy of the applicant's proposed standard agreement 

it plans to use with prospective subscribers.  

14. A $250 registration fee payable to the commission. 

15. An attestation that at least 30% of the shared solar 

facility's capacity will serve low-income customers. 

16. The following information related to the applicant's 

fitness to operate as a subscriber organization: 
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a. Disclosure of any (i) civil, criminal, or regulatory 

sanctions or penalties imposed or in place within the 

previous five years against the applicant, any of its 

affiliates, or any officer, director, partner, or member of 

an LLC or any of its affiliates, pursuant to any state or 

federal law or regulation; and (ii) felony convictions 

within the previous five years that relate to the business 

of the company or to an affiliate thereof, of any officer, 

director, partner, or member of an LLC. 

b. Disclosure of whether any application for license or 

authority to conduct a similar type of business as it 

proposes to offer in Virginia has ever been denied, and 

whether any license or authority issued to it or an affiliate 

has ever been suspended or revoked and whether other 

sanctions have been imposed. 

B. An officer with appropriate authority shall attest that all 

information supplied on the application for licensure is true 

and correct and that, if a license is granted, the applicant will 

abide by all applicable laws of the Commonwealth and 

regulations of the commission. 

C. Any application that fails to provide all required 

information in this section shall be regarded as incomplete. 

No action shall be taken on any application until deemed 

complete and filed. 

D. Upon receipt of an application for a license to conduct 

business as a subscriber organization, the commission shall 

enter an order providing notice to appropriate persons and an 

opportunity for comments on the application. The 

commission shall issue a license to conduct business as a 

subscriber organization upon finding the applicant satisfies 

the requirements established by this chapter. 

E. A license granted pursuant to this chapter is valid until 

revoked or suspended by the commission after providing due 

notice and an opportunity for a hearing, or until the subscriber 

organization abandons its license. 

F. Commission approval is required for transfer or 

assignment of a license issued under this section to any third 

party. The commission may condition its approval on any 

terms it determines appropriate to protect customers. 

20VAC5-340-40. Registration with the utility. 

A. Licensed subscriber organizations shall register with the 

utility by entering into an agreement containing information 

as prescribed in this section. 

B. A subscriber organization shall provide proof of licensure 

by the commission. 

C. A subscriber organization shall submit to the utility the 

full name of the subscriber organization, address, and type of 

entity (e.g. partnership, corporation, etc.). 

D. Subscriber organizations shall provide the identity of the 

shared solar facility participating in the shared solar program, 

including an address of record and a copy of the executed 

interconnection agreement for the shared solar facility. 

E. Subscriber organizations and the utility shall exchange 

the names, telephone numbers, and email addresses of 

appropriate internal points of contact to address operational, 

business coordination, and customer account issues, and the 

names and addresses of their registered agents in Virginia. 

F. In the event a license granted under 20VAC5-340-30 is 

transferred to another entity with approval from the 

commission, the subscriber organization must notify the 

utility within five business days of approval by the 

commission. 

G. The utility may require reasonable financial security from 

the subscriber organization to safeguard the utility and its 

customers from the reasonably expected net financial impact 

due to the nonperformance of the subscriber organization. 

The amount of such financial security shall be commensurate 

with the level of risk assumed by the utility. Such financial 

security may include a letter of credit, a deposit in an escrow 

account, a prepayment arrangement, a surety bond, or other 

arrangements that may be mutually agreed upon by the utility 

and the subscriber organization. 

H. The utility shall notify the subscriber organization within 

30 days of the commission's issuance of a subscriber 

organization's licensure whether the shared solar facility has 

been awarded capacity in the program queue or placed on a 

waiting list. When awarded capacity in the program queue, 

the subscriber organization shall pay to the utility a security 

deposit in the amount of $50 per kilowatt (kW) of alternating-

current rated capacity of the shared solar facility within 10 

days. This deposit shall be held by the utility in an interest-

bearing account. Deposits shall be returned in full, including 

interest, upon commercial operation of the shared solar 

facility. 

I. If a project fails to reach mechanical completion within 24 

months of the date it was awarded capacity, the utility shall 

remove the project from the program queue unless the 

subscriber organization of the project provides to the utility 

an additional deposit of $25 per kW to maintain its position 

within the program queue. If, after paying the additional 

deposit, the project still fails to reach mechanical completion 

within an additional 12 months, the utility shall remove the 

project from the program queue. 

J. The utility shall maintain, on a publicly available website, 

a list of projects accepted into the program queue and those 

projects that are on the wait list. This project list shall rank 

projects primarily by the date of the awarded capacity and 

secondarily by the date of a fully executed interconnection 

agreement. The utility shall update the list within two 

business days of any change to the projects in the program 

queue. The list shall include project applicant name, project 

location, the alternating current capacity rating of the project, 
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the date the application was accepted into the program queue, 

and whether the project is a low-income shared solar facility. 

K. Any project on the wait list that is moved off the wait list 

and receives a capacity award in the program queue shall 

have 10 business days to make the required deposit of $50 per 

kW of alternating-current rated capacity to retain the project's 

award. 

L. As part of its public program queue, the utility shall 

monitor and report the amount of capacity that has been 

allocated to low-income customers. Upon qualification of 45 

megawatts (MW) of alternating current (AC) of capacity 

committed to low-income subscribers as demonstrated by the 

approved low-income subscription plans of projects that have 

secured capacity in the program, the utility shall submit a 

request to the commission to release an additional 50 MW of 

capacity for the program and address how the expansion shall 

be allocated. 

20VAC5-340-50. Marketing and enrollment. 

A. A subscriber organization shall not conduct any 

marketing activities related to participation in the shared solar 

program until after the subscriber organization (i) receives a 

license from the commission; (ii) has begun the 

interconnection process with the utility pursuant to 

Regulations Governing Interconnection of Small Electrical 

Generators (20VAC5-314); and (iii) completed registration 

with the utility, as set forth in 20VAC5-340-40. 

B. A subscriber organization shall not enroll customers until 

after it receives the executed Small Generator Interconnection 

Agreement pursuant to 20VAC5-314-40 through 20VAC5-

314-70 and any other applicable local and state permits for 

the shared solar facility.  

C. A subscriber organization shall not use credit checks as a 

means to establish the eligibility of a residential customer to 

become a subscriber. 

D. A subscriber organization shall maintain adequate 

records allowing it to verify the customer's enrollment 

authorization. Authorization shall be in the form of a written 

contract with affirmed written signature, electronic signature, 

or recorded verbal affirmation. The subscriber organization 

shall maintain a copy of the contract for at least one year after 

the date of expiration. Such enrollment contracts shall be 

provided within five business days to the customer, the 

utility, or the commission staff upon request. 

E. A subscriber organization shall provide accurate and 

understandable information in any advertisements, 

solicitations, marketing materials, or customer service 

contracts. All such materials shall, in a manner that is not 

misleading, include a statement that price for the subscription 

does not include charges to be billed by the utility. 

F. A subscriber organization shall provide to prospective 

subscribers, prior to executing a written contract, a 

description of how the shared solar program will function. 

Such description shall include explanations of the respective 

roles of the subscriber organization and the utility, and a 

detailed description of how customers will be billed.  

G. Subscriber contracts shall include, at a minimum, the 

following information: 

1. Contract price expressed in per kilowatt-hour, or if price 

is not easily specified, an explanation of how the 

subscription price will be calculated. 

2. Size of the subscriber subscription in kilowatt hours. 

The contract must address modification of subscriptions in 

the event a shared solar facility underperforms during a 

period. 

3. Length of the contract. 

4. Provisions for terminating the contract, including any 

termination fees. 

5. Location of the shared solar facility. 

6. Size of the shared solar facility. 

7. Description of billing terms and conditions. 

8. List of applicable fees, including start up fees, 

cancellation fees, late payment fees, and fees for returned 

payments for insufficient funds. 

9. Clear descriptions of the responsibilities of the 

subscriber organization and the utility, consistent with this 

chapter. 

10. Toll-free number and address for complaints and 

inquiries. 

11. A clear statement that (i) the maximum size of the 

subscriber's subscription shall not exceed their estimated 

annual usage; (ii) each customer may only participate in 

one shared solar facility or one multi-family solar facility; 

and (iii) a net metering customer may not participate in this 

program. 

12. In a conspicuous location, confirmation of the 

customer's authorization for the utility and subscriber 

organization to exchange, at a minimum, the following 

billing information: 

a. Customer name; 

b. Billing address and premise address; 

c. Utility account number; and 

d. Share solar subscription information, including, at a 

minimum: 

(1) Pricing; 

(2) Subscription size; 

(3) Contract start date and length; and 
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(4) Terms of subscription. 

13. In a conspicuous location, signatures confirming the 

customer's request to enroll and the approximate date the 

enrollment will be effective. 

H. Upon a customer's request, the subscriber organization 

may reenroll a subscriber at a new address under the existing 

contract without the need to acquire a new authorization 

record, but the subscriber organization must provide the 

utility with updated billing information set forth in 

subdivision F 12 of this section. 

I. At least 60 days prior to the commercial operation of a 

shared solar facility, the subscriber organization shall provide 

to the utility, in a format acceptable to the utility, a list of 

subscribers enrolled in the shared solar facility and their 

subscription information. 

J. In the event multiple enrollment requests are submitted for 

the same customer, the utility shall process the request with 

the earliest dated contract and shall notify the customer within 

five business days of receipt of the enrollment request of such 

enrollment. The utility shall only terminate enrollment with 

sufficient proof of termination presented by either the 

customer or the subscriber organization. 

K. At least 60 days prior to the termination or abandonment 

of a shared solar facility, a subscriber organization must 

provide advanced written notice to the customer, the utility, 

and the commission. 

L. A subscriber organization shall safeguard adequately all 

customer information and shall not disclose such information 

unless the customer authorizes disclosure or unless the 

information to be disclosed is already in the public domain. 

This provision, however, shall not restrict the disclosure of 

credit and payment information as permitted currently or 

required by federal and state statutes. 

20VAC5-340-60. Billing and payment. 

A. Subscriber organizations shall provide subscriber 

information to the utility as follows: 

1. Subscriber organizations must provide, on a monthly 

basis and in a standard electronic format and pursuant to 

this chapter, a subscriber list indicating the kilowatt-hours 

of generation attributable to each of the subscribers 

participating in a shared solar facility in accordance with 

the subscriber's portion of the output of the shared solar 

facility. 

2. Subscriber lists must be updated monthly to reflect 

canceling subscribers and to add new subscribers. 

3. Monthly information must be provided by the fifth 

business day of the month. 

4. Data transfer protocols for exchange of data between the 

subscriber organization and the utility shall be established 

to include: 

a. Data components; 

b. Data format; 

c. Timing of monthly data exchanges; 

d. Encryption level; and 

e. Channel of data submission. 

B. A subscriber organization may offer separate billing or 

consolidated billing service (net crediting) in which the utility 

will be the billing party to the customer. 

1. Where a subscriber organization chooses to use 

consolidated billing, the subscriber organization's 

marketing materials and contracts must identify clearly that 

the utility may charge a net crediting fee not to exceed 

1.0% of the bill credit value. 

2. Where a subscriber organization chooses to use net 

crediting, any shared solar subscription fees charged via 

the net crediting model shall be set to ensure that 

subscribers do not pay more in subscription fees than they 

receive in bill credits. 

3. All billing of the customer shall occur and comply with 

the utility's normal billing and credit cycles. 

C. Credits to subscriber's bills shall occur within two billing 

cycles following the cycle during which energy was 

generated by the shared solar facility. 

D. Each utility shall, on a monthly basis and in a 

standardized electronic format, provide the subscriber 

organization a report indicating the total value of bill credits 

generated by the shared solar facility in the prior month, as 

well as the amount of the bill credit applied to each 

subscriber. 

E. Failure of subscriber to pay any regulated charges shall 

subject the subscriber to the same credit consequences set 

forth in the utility's commission-approved terms and 

conditions of service, including the potential requirement to 

post a security or disconnection of service. The utility shall 

advise the subscriber directly of any pending disconnection 

action for nonpayment consistent with current practice, 

separate from the customer bill. Such notice shall identify 

clearly the amount that must be paid and the date by which 

such amount must be received and provide instructions for 

direct payment to the utility to avoid disconnection. A 

subscriber may not be disconnected for nonpayment of 

unregulated service charges. 
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F. Bill credits. 

1. Bill credits shall be for a particular calendar month, 

regardless of the billing period or billing cycle of the 

individual customer's account. 

2. Bill credits shall be calculated by multiplying the 

subscriber's portion of the kilowatt-hour electricity 

production from the shared solar facility by the applicable 

bill credit rate for the subscriber. Any portion of a bill 

credit that exceeds the subscriber's monthly bill, minus the 

minimum bill, shall be carried over and applied to the next 

month's bill. Such carry-over plus the next month's credit 

cannot exceed the next month's bill, minus the minimum 

bill. 

3. In the event that all of the electricity generated by a 

shared solar facility is not allocated to subscribers in a 

given month, a subscriber organization may accumulate 

bill credits. The subscriber organization shall provide the 

utility allocation instructions for distributing excess bill 

credits to subscribers on an annual basis. 

4. In an annual proceeding, the commission shall set the 

applicable bill credit based upon the subscriber's class of 

either residential, commercial or industrial. 

5. The utility shall provide bill credits to a shared solar 

facility's subscribers for not less than 25 years from the 

date the shared solar facility becomes commercially 

operational. 

6. The bill credits associated with the shared solar program 

shall be applied through the utility's fuel factor. 

G. Minimum bill. 

1. In an annual proceeding, as prescribed in 

20VAC5-340-80, the commission will set a minimum bill 

for program participants. 

2. Low-income customers shall be exempt from the 

minimum bill. Costs associated with such customers' 

participation shall be recovered by the utility in a manner 

to be determined by the commission in the annual 

proceeding set forth in 20VAC5-340-80. 

H. Net crediting. 

1. Net crediting functionality shall be part of any new 

customer information platform approved by the 

commission.  

2. Under net crediting, the utility shall include the shared 

solar subscription fee on the customer's utility bill and 

provide the customer with a net credit equivalent to the 

total bill credit value for that generation period minus the 

shared solar subscription fee as set by the subscriber 

organization. 

3. The net crediting fee shall not exceed 1.0% of the bill 

credit value. 

4. Net crediting shall be optional for subscriber 

organizations, and any shared solar subscription fees 

charged via the net crediting model shall be set to ensure 

that subscribers do not pay more in subscription fees than 

they receive in bill credits. 

I. Shared solar facility requirements. 

1. Regardless of whether a subscriber organization uses net 

crediting, a utility may bill the subscriber organization a 

monthly administrative charge, as approved by the 

commission in the annual proceeding set forth in 

20VAC5-340-80, for the costs attributed to the 

interconnection of the shared solar facility to the utility 

grid to cover the costs of providing electric services to the 

facility. 

2. A shared solar facility must have a utility-provided 

meter capable of measuring output of the facility on a 30-

minute interval basis. 

a. The shared solar facility's meter shall not be located 

behind another utility customer account. 

b. Costs of installation, maintenance, and reading of the 

meter shall be part of the administrative costs of the 

shared solar program billed to the subscriber 

organization. 

20VAC5-340-70. Disputes. 

A. The parties agree to attempt to resolve all disputes arising 

out of the shared solar program process according to the 

provisions of this section. 

B. A subscriber organization shall establish an explicit 

dispute resolution procedure that identifies clearly the process 

that shall be followed when resolving customer disputes. A 

copy of such dispute resolution procedure shall be provided 

to a customer or the commission upon request. 

C. If the dispute remains unresolved, either party may 

petition the commission to handle the dispute as a formal 

complaint or may exercise whatever rights and remedies it 

may have in equity or law. 

D. A subscriber organization shall furnish to customers an 

address and 24-hour toll-free telephone number for customer 

inquiries and complaints regarding services provided by the 

subscriber organization. The 24-hour toll-free telephone 

number shall be stated on all customer-billing statements and 

shall provide customers the opportunity to speak to a 

customer representative during normal business hours. 

Outside of normal business hours, a recorded message shall 

direct customers how to obtain customer assistance. 

E. A subscriber organization shall direct a customer to 

contact the utility immediately if the customer has a service 

emergency. Such direction may be given either by a customer 

service representative or by a recorded message on its 24-

hour toll-free telephone number. 
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F. A subscriber organization shall retain customer billing 

and account records and complaint records for at least three 

years and provide copies of such records to a customer or the 

commission upon request. 

G. In the event that a customer has been referred to the 

utility by a subscriber organization, or to a subscriber 

organization by the utility, for response to an inquiry or a 

complaint, the party that is contacted second shall (i) resolve 

the inquiry or complaint in a timely fashion or (ii) contact the 

other party to determine responsibility for resolving the 

inquiry or complaint. 

H. In the event a subscriber organization and customer 

cannot resolve a dispute, the subscriber organization shall 

provide the customer with the toll-free number and address of 

the commission. 

20VAC5-340-80. Annual proceeding. 

A. The commission shall convene a proceeding annually to 

determine the monthly administrative charge to subscriber 

organizations, the minimum bill components and the 

calculation of each customer class's applicable bill credit rate 

for the following year. 

With respect to the minimum bill: 

1. Each subscriber shall pay a minimum monthly bill, 

which shall, as approved by the commission, include the 

costs of all utility infrastructure and services used to 

provide electric service and administrative costs of the 

shared solar program. The commission may modify the 

minimum bill over time. In establishing the minimum bill, 

the commission shall (i) consider further costs the 

commission deems relevant to ensure subscribing 

customers pay a fair share of the costs of providing electric 

services to the subscribers, and (ii) minimize the costs 

shifted to customers not in a shared solar program. 

2. The minimum bill established annually as set forth in 

subdivision 1 of this subsection must include, at a 

minimum, the following four general categories of costs, to 

be demonstrated by the utility: 

a. Transmission and distribution costs; 

b. Standby generation and balancing costs; 

c. Non-bypassable charges established by the 

commission or otherwise by law; and 

d. Administrative costs. 

3. As part of the annual proceeding, the commission shall 

also determine how the utility will recover the minimum 

bill charges for exempt low-income customers. 

4. Certain of these costs, including transmission and 

distribution costs, as well as non-bypassable charges, shall 

be determined by reference to rates approved in parallel 

rate proceedings before the commission and shall be 

updated automatically for shared solar customers when 

those rates are adjusted for the broader customer 

population. Other charges, including those in the standby 

generation and balancing costs category and the 

administrative costs category, shall be evaluated and 

determined by the commission in the annual proceeding 

convened pursuant to this section. 

B. The bill credit shall be calculated in accordance with 

20VAC5-340-60 F. 

20VAC5-340-90. Recordkeeping and reporting 

requirements. 

A. Subscriber organizations. Prior to commercial operation 

of any shared solar facility, each subscriber organization shall 

report to the commission and the applicable utility its 

achievement of contracting with low-income customers. 

Thereafter, this report shall be updated and filed semi-

annually with the commission by January 31 and July 31, 

respectively, of each calendar year for the previous calendar 

year, commencing in 2024. When making the annual report, 

the subscriber organization shall provide the following 

information: 

1. Total number of subscribers and the amount of kilowatts 

subscribed to by each subscriber; 

2. Total number of low-income customers and the amount 

of kilowatts subscribed to by each low-income customer;  

3. Detailed plan for meeting its low-income customer 

target in the upcoming year if the target was not met for the 

annual period covered by the report; and 

4. Certification that there is no subscriber whose 

subscription size exceeds the subscriber's average annual 

bill over the past 12 months for the customer account to 

which the subscription is attributed. 

The utility shall maintain a consolidated list of active 

subscriber organizations, including the number of low-

income customers for each organization. 

Each subscriber organization shall retain a record of all 

disclosure forms, low-income customer proof of eligibility, 

and subscriber allocation lists for a period of at least three 

years. Each subscriber organization shall retain copies of 

subscriber contracts for a period of at least one year from the 

date of their expiration. Each of these documents must be 

made available immediately upon request from the 

commission or commission staff. 

A subscriber organization shall retain customer billing and 

account records and complaint records for at least three years. 

B. Affordable housing providers. Affordable housing 

providers subscribing on behalf of their low-income tenants 

shall annually, on or before January 31, commencing in 2024, 

submit a written report for the shared solar program to the 

commission staff describing how bill savings or other 
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tangible benefits were provided to the tenants in the last year. 

The report shall include a detailed accounting and expense 

report for the bill savings achieved. 

C. Utility. In accordance with the commission's Regulations 

Governing Interconnection of Small Electric Generators 

(20VAC5-314), and specifically, 20VAC5-314-130: 

1. The utility shall maintain, subject to audit, records for 

three years of (i) all interconnection requests received 

pursuant to this chapter, (ii) the times required to complete 

interconnection request approvals and disapprovals, and 

(iii) justification for the actions taken on the 

interconnection requests. 

2. Each utility shall annually, on or before January 31, 

submit a written report to the commission staff that 

includes the utility's shared solar facility queue and a 

listing of those facilities interconnected during the 

preceding calendar year. This report shall include the 

following data for each shared solar facility: 

a. Queue number. 

b. The physical address or geographic coordinates 

(latitude and longitude) of the shared solar facility. 

c. The capacity of the shared solar facility in terms of 

megawatts. 

d. The substation and transformer to which the project 

will be interconnected. 

e. The feeder or circuit to which the project will be 

interconnected. 

f. The date of submission of final completed 

Interconnection Request Form, as provided in 20VAC5-

314-170. 

g. Interdependency status (e.g., Project A or Project B).  

h. Status of the request in the interconnection process 

(e.g., interconnection agreement executed, connected, 

canceled). 

i. The date of final completed signed interconnection 

agreement. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R21-6400; Filed September 21, 2020, 11:52 a.m.  

Proposed Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The State Corporation 

Commission is claiming an exemption from the 

Administrative Process Act in accordance with § 2.2-4002 A 

2 of the Code of Virginia, which exempts courts, any agency 

of the Supreme Court, and any agency that by the 

Constitution is expressly granted any of the powers of a court 

of record. 

Title of Regulation: 20VAC5-342. Regulations Governing 

Multi-Family Shared Solar Program (adding 20VAC5-

342-10 through 20VAC5-342-90).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 12.1-13 and 56-585.1:12 of the Code 

of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: A public hearing will be held 

upon request. 

Public Comment Deadline: November 2, 2020. 

Agency Contact: David Eichenlaub, Deputy Director, Public 

Utility Regulation Division, State Corporation Commission, 

P.O. Box 1197, Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 371-

9050, FAX (804) 371-9350, or email 

david.eichenlaub@scc.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The proposed action implements Chapters 1187, 1188, 

1189, and 1239 of the 2020 Acts of Assembly, which 

require the State Corporation Commission to establish a 

program that affords eligible multi-family customers of 

investor-owned utilities the opportunity to participate in 

shared solar projects. The proposed regulation governs the 

development of shared solar facilities and participation in 

the multi-family shared solar program and contains 

licensing, registration, marketing and enrollment, billing 

and payment, annual proceeding, disputes, and 

recordkeeping and reporting requirements. 

AT RICHMOND, SEPTEMBER 21,02020 

COMMONWEALTH OF VIRGINIA, ex rel.  

STATE CORPORATION COMMISSION 

CASE NO. PUR-2020-00124 

Ex Parte: In the matter of establishing regulations 

for a multi-family shared solar program pursuant to 

§ 56-585.1:12 of the Code of Virginia 

ORDER FOR NOTICE AND COMMENT  

During its 2020 Session, the Virginia General Assembly 

enacted Chapters 1188 (HB 572), 1189 (HB 1184), 1239 (HB 

1647), and 1187 (SB 710) of the 2020 Virginia Acts of 

Assembly.  These Acts of Assembly amend the Code of 

Virginia ("Code") by adding a section numbered 56-

585.1:12,1 effective July 1, 2020. Code § 56-585.1:12 

requires that by January 1, 2021, the State Corporation 

Commission ("Commission") establish by regulation a 

program affording eligible multi-family customers of Virginia 

Electric and Power Company d/b/a Dominion Energy 

Virginia ("Dominion") and Kentucky Utilities Company d/b/a 

Old Dominion Power Company ("ODP") the opportunity to 

participate in shared solar projects.  

On July 1, 2020, the Commission entered an Order 

Directing Comment in this proceeding that sought comments 

mailto:david.eichenlaub@scc.virginia.gov
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on the multi-family shared solar program and associated 

regulations. The Commission's Order Directing Comment 

directed Dominion and ODP, and invited interested persons 

or entities, to file comments by July 24, 2020. The Order also 

permitted commenters to propose specific regulations by July 

24, 2020.  

On July 20, 2020, Dominion filed a Motion for Limited 

Extension of Time to File Proposed Regulations and for 

Expedited Consideration ("Motion"). Through its Motion, 

Dominion requested that the Commission extend the deadline 

for submitting proposed regulations by three weeks to August 

14, 2020. The Commission granted Dominion's Motion on 

July 22, 2020. 

On July 24, 2020, the following parties filed comments: the 

Coalition for Community Solar Access and the Maryland-

DC-Delaware-Virginia Solar Energy Industries Association 

(collectively, "CCSA/MDV-SEIA"); the Virginia Department 

of Mines, Minerals and Energy; the Virginia Clean Energy 

Advisory Board; the Sierra Club; the Southern Environmental 

Law Center and Appalachian Voices; Dominion; ODP and 

GRID Alternatives Mid-Atlantic.  On August 14, 2020, 

Dominion and CCSA/MDV-SEIA filed proposed regulations. 

Based on input received from the filings in this docket, the 

Commission's Staff ("Staff") has prepared proposed rules 

("Proposed Rules"), which are attached to this Order for 

Notice and Comment ("Order"). 

NOW THE COMMISSION, upon consideration of this 

matter, is of the opinion and finds that Staff's Proposed Rules 

should be considered for adoption, that notice of the Proposed 

Rules be given to the public, and that interested persons have 

an opportunity to file written comments on, propose 

modifications or supplements to, or request a hearing on the 

Proposed Rules. We further find that a copy of the Proposed 

Rules should be sent to the Registrar of Regulations for 

publication in the Virginia Register of Regulations.  

Accordingly, IT IS ORDERED THAT: 

(1) The Commission's Division of Information Resources 

shall forward a copy of this Order, including a copy of the 

Proposed Rules, to the Registrar of Regulations for 

publication in the Virginia Register of Regulations. 

(2) An electronic copy of the Proposed Rules may be 

obtained by submitting a request to David R. Eichenlaub in 

the Commission's Division of Public Utility Regulation at the 

following email address: David.Eichenlaub@scc.virginia.gov. 

An electronic copy of the Proposed Rules can be found at the 

Division of Public Utility Regulation's website: 

https://scc.virginia.gov/pages/Rulemaking. Interested persons 

may also download unofficial copies of this Order and the 

Proposed Rules from the Commission's website: 

https://scc.virginia.gov/pages/Case-Information. 

(3) The Commission's Division of Public Utility Regulation 

shall provide copies of this Order by electronic transmission, 

or when electronic transmission is not possible, by mail, to 

individuals, organizations, and companies who have been 

identified by Staff as interested in this matter, including those 

entities and individuals that previously filed comments in this 

proceeding. 

(4) On or before November 2, 2020, any interested person 

may file comments on the Proposed Rules by following the 

instructions found on the Commission's website: 

https://scc.virginia.gov/casecomments/Submit-Public-

Comments. Such comments also may include proposals and 

hearing requests. All comments shall refer to Case No. PUR-

2020-00124. Any request for hearing shall state with 

specificity why the issues raised in the request for hearing 

cannot be adequately addressed in written comments. If a 

sufficient request for hearing is not received, the Commission 

may consider the matter and enter an order based upon the 

papers filed herein. 

(5) On or before November 16, 2020, the Staff shall file 

with the Clerk of the Commission a report on or response to 

any comments, proposals, or requests for hearing submitted to 

the Commission on the Proposed Rules. 

(6) This matter is continued.  

A COPY hereof shall be sent electronically by the Clerk of 

the Commission to all persons on the official Service List in 

this matter. The Service List is available from the Clerk of the 

Commission.  

__________________________ 

1This section was added as § 56-585.1:11 but was renumbered pursuant to the 

direction of the Virginia Code Commission. 

CHAPTER 342 

RULES GOVERNING MULTI-FAMILY SHARED SOLAR 

PROGRAM 

20VAC5-342-10. Applicability. 

A. This chapter is promulgated pursuant to the provisions of 

§ 56-585.1:12 of the Code of Virginia. The provisions of this 

chapter apply to Phase II Utilities, including, notwithstanding 

subsection G of § 56-580 of the Code of Virginia, any 

investor-owned utility whose service territory assigned to it 

by the commission is located entirely within the Counties of 

Dickenson, Lee, Russell, Scott, and Wise, subscriber 

organizations, and subscribers, and govern the development 

of shared solar facilities and participation in the multi-family 

shared solar program. 

B. Customers participating in this program shall remain in 

their present customer class but may not participate in the 

shared solar program, pursuant to Chapters 1238 and 1264 of 

the 2020 Acts of Assembly, or the net metering program, 

pursuant to 20VAC5-315-10, while participating in this 

program. 

mailto:David.Eichenlaub@scc.virginia.gov
https://scc.virginia.gov/pages/Rulemaking
https://scc.virginia.gov/pages/Case-Information
https://scc.virginia.gov/casecomments/Submit-Public-Comments
https://scc.virginia.gov/casecomments/Submit-Public-Comments
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C. Any shared solar facility may colocate on the same parcel 

of land as another shared solar facility only if such facilities 

are owned by the same entity and do not exceed an 

accumulative maximum capacity of 5,000 kW alternating 

current in the aggregate. Such facilities will also be 

responsible for any special interconnection arrangements with 

the utility. 

D. The provisions of this chapter shall not be deemed to 

prohibit the utility, in emergency situations, from taking 

actions it is otherwise authorized to take that are necessary to 

ensure public safety and reliability of the distribution system. 

The commission, upon a claim of inappropriate action or its 

own motion, may investigate and take such corrective actions 

as may be appropriate. 

E. Any request for a waiver of any provision in this chapter 

shall be considered by the commission on a case-by-case 

basis and may be granted upon such terms and conditions as 

the commission may impose. 

20VAC5-342-20. Definitions. 

The following terms shall have the following meanings, 

unless the context clearly indicates otherwise: 

"Administrative charge" is the total cost to the investor-

owned utility to administer the program that is assessed to the 

subscriber organization. 

"Applicable bill credit rate" means the dollar-per-kilowatt-

hour rate (effective retail rate of the customer's rate class, 

expressed in dollars or cents per kilowatt-hour) inclusive of 

all supply charges, delivery charges, demand charges, fixed 

charges, and any applicable riders or other charges to the 

customer. The applicable bill credit rate shall be set such that 

the shared solar program results in robust project 

development and shared solar program access for all 

customer classes. 

"Bill credit" means the monetary value of the electricity, in 

kilowatt-hours, generated by the shared solar facility 

allocated to a subscriber to offset that subscriber's electricity 

bill. 

"Investor-owned utility" or "utility" means each investor-

owned utility in the Commonwealth including, 

notwithstanding subsection G of § 56-580 of the Code of 

Virginia, any investor-owned utility whose service territory 

assigned to it by the commission is located entirely within the 

Counties of Dickenson, Lee, Russell, Scott, and Wise. 

"Investor-owned utility" does not include a Phase I Utility, as 

that term is defined in subdivision A 1 of § 56-585.1 of the 

Code of Virginia. 

"Multi-family customer" means an investor-owned utility 

customer residing in an apartment or condominium complex 

with at least three individually metered residences. 

"Multi-family shared solar program" or "program" means 

the program created through this chapter to allow for the 

development of shared solar facilities described in subsection 

C of § 56-585.1:12 of the Code of Virginia. 

"Shared solar facility" means a facility that: 

1. Generates electricity by means of a solar photovoltaic 

device with a nameplate capacity rating that does not 

exceed 3,000 kW alternating current at any single location 

or that does not exceed 5,000 kW alternating current at 

contiguous locations owned by the same entity or affiliated 

entities; 

2. Is operated pursuant to a program whereby at least three 

subscribers receive a bill credit for the electricity generated 

from the facility in proportion to the size of their 

subscription; 

3. Is located in the service territory of an investor-owned 

utility; 

4. Is connected to the electric distribution grid serving the 

Commonwealth; and 

5. Is located on a parcel of land on the premises of the 

multi-family utility customer or adjacent thereto. 

"Subscriber" means a multi-family customer of an investor-

owned electric utility that owns one or more subscriptions of 

a shared solar facility that is interconnected with the utility. 

"Subscriber organization" means any for-profit or nonprofit 

entity that owns or operates one or more shared solar 

facilities. A "subscriber organization" shall not be considered 

a utility solely as a result of its ownership or operation of a 

shared solar facility. 

"Subscription" means a contract or other agreement between 

a subscriber and the owner of a shared solar facility. A 

subscription shall be sized such that the estimated bill credits 

do not exceed the subscriber's average annual bill over the 

past 12 months for the customer account to which the 

subscription is attributed. 

20VAC5-342-30. Licensing of subscriber organizations. 

A. Other than an investor-owned utility, each entity seeking 

to conduct business as a subscriber organization shall obtain a 

license from the commission prior to commencing business 

operations. Each entity applying for a license to conduct 

business as a subscriber organization shall file an application 

with the clerk of the commission and contemporaneously 

provide a copy of the application to the investor-owned 

utility. If the applicant becomes aware of any material 

changes to any information within the application, the 

applicant shall inform the commission within 10 calendar 

days. Applications shall include the following information: 

1. Legal name of the applicant, as well as any trade names. 
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2. Physical business addresses and telephone numbers of 

the applicant's principal office and all offices in Virginia. 

3. A description of the applicant's authorized business 

structure, identifying the state authorizing such structure 

and date (e.g., if incorporated, the state and date of 

incorporation; if a limited liability company, the state 

issuing the certificate of organization and the date of 

issuance). 

4. Name and business address of all principal corporate 

officers and directors, partners, and limited liability 

company (LLC) members, as appropriate. 

5. If a foreign corporation, a copy of the applicant's 

authorization to conduct business in Virginia from the 

commission or if a domestic corporation, a copy of the 

certificate of incorporation from the commission. 

6. A list of the states in which the applicant and the 

applicant's affiliates conduct business related to 

participation in a shared solar program, the names under 

which such business is conducted, and a description of the 

business conducted. 

7. The applicant shall disclose if it is an affiliate of the 

incumbent utility. If it is, it shall further provide a 

description of internal controls the applicant has designed 

to ensure that the applicant and the applicant's employees, 

contractors, and agents that are engaged in the (i) 

merchant, operations, transmission, or reliability functions 

of the electric generation systems; or (ii) customer service, 

sales, marketing, metering, accounting, or billing functions 

do not receive information from the utility or from entities 

that provide similar functions for or on behalf of the utility 

as would give the affiliated subscriber organization an 

undue advantage over nonaffiliated subscriber 

organizations. 

8. Name, title, and address of the applicant's registered 

agent in Virginia for service of process. 

9. Name, title, address, telephone number, and email 

address of the applicant's liaison with the commission. 

10. Sufficient information to demonstrate, for purposes of 

licensure with the commission, financial fitness 

commensurate with the services proposed to be provided. 

Applicant shall submit the following information related to 

general financial fitness: 

a. Proof of a minimum bond rating or other senior debt of 

"BBB-" or an equivalent rating by a major rating agency, 

or a guarantee with a guarantor possessing a credit rating 

of "BBB-" or higher from a major rating agency. If not 

available, other evidence that will demonstrate the 

applicant's financial responsibility; 

b. The applicant's audited balance sheet, income, and 

cash flow statements for the most recent fiscal year or 

published financial information such as the most recent 

Securities and Exchange commission forms 10-K and 10-

Q. If not available, other financial information for the 

applicant or any other entity that provides financial 

resources to the applicant may be provided; or 

c. A continuous or renewable performance or surety 

bond, an irrevocable letter of credit, or an irrevocable 

guaranty from a creditworthy corporate parent of the 

applicant in a minimum amount of $50,000 in a form to 

be prescribed by the commission staff. A certified copy 

of the bond, letter of credit, or guaranty shall be provided 

to the State Corporation Commission's Division of Utility 

Accounting and Finance within 30 days of the issuance 

of a license to the applicant by the commission. 

11. Sufficient information to demonstrate technical fitness 

commensurate with the service to be provided, to include: 

a. A description of the applicant's experience developing 

solar facilities and engaging as a subscriber organization 

or other relevant services. Provide a discussion of the 

applicant's qualifications, including a summary of other 

projects developed and managed by the applicant with 

location, status, and operational history. 

b. The names and a description of the managerial and 

technical experience of each principal officer and 

appropriate senior management person with direct 

responsibility for the business operations conducted in 

Virginia. Include a description of their experience related 

to developing solar facilities and providing shared solar 

services. 

c. Billing service options the applicant intends to offer 

and a description of the applicant's billing capability 

including a description of any related experience. 

12. A copy of the applicant's dispute resolution procedure, 

including the toll-free number for the customer service 

department. 

13. A copy of the applicant's proposed standard agreement 

it plans to use with prospective subscribers. 

14. A $250 registration fee payable to the commission. 

15. The following information related to the applicant's 

fitness to operate as a subscriber organization: 

a. Disclosure of any (i) civil, criminal, or regulatory 

sanctions or penalties imposed or in place within the 

previous five years against the applicant, any of its 

affiliates, or any officer, director, partner, or member of 

an LLC or any of its affiliates, pursuant to any state or 

federal consumer protection law or regulation and (ii) 

felony convictions within the previous five years that 

relate to the business of the company or to an affiliate 

thereof, of any officer, director, partner, or member of an 

LLC. 
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b. Disclosure of whether any application for license or 

authority to conduct a similar type of business as it 

proposes to offer in Virginia has ever been denied, 

whether any license or authority issued to it or an affiliate 

has ever been suspended or revoked, and whether other 

sanctions have been imposed. 

B. An officer with appropriate authority shall attest that all 

information supplied on the application for licensure is true 

and correct and that, if a license is granted, the applicant will 

abide by all applicable laws of the Commonwealth and 

regulations of the commission. 

C. Any application that fails to provide all required 

information in this section, shall be regarded as incomplete. 

No action shall be taken on any application until deemed 

complete and filed. 

D. Upon receipt of an application for a license to conduct 

business as a subscriber organization, the commission shall 

enter an order providing notice to appropriate persons and an 

opportunity for comments on the application. The 

commission shall issue a license to conduct business as a 

subscriber organization upon finding the applicant satisfies 

the requirements established by this chapter. 

E. A license granted pursuant to this chapter is valid until 

revoked or suspended by the commission or until the 

subscriber organization abandons its license. 

F. Commission approval is required for transfer or 

assignment of a license issued under this section to any third 

party. The commission may condition its approval on any 

terms it determines are appropriate to protect customers. 

20VAC5-342-40. Registration with the utility. 

A. Licensed subscriber organizations shall register with the 

utility by entering into an agreement containing information 

as prescribed in this section. 

B. A subscriber organization shall provide proof of licensure 

by the commission. 

C. A subscriber organization shall submit to the utility the 

full name of the subscriber organization, address, and type of 

entity (e.g., partnership, corporation, etc.). 

D. Subscriber organizations shall provide the identity of the 

shared solar facility participating in the multi-family shared 

solar program, including an address of record and a copy of 

the executed interconnection agreement for the shared solar 

facility. 

E. Subscriber organizations and the utility shall exchange 

the names, telephone numbers, and email addresses of 

appropriate internal points of contact to address operational, 

business coordination, and customer account issues, and the 

names and addresses of their registered agents in Virginia. 

F. In the event a license granted under 20VAC5-342-30 is 

transferred to another entity with approval from the 

commission, the subscriber organization must notify the 

utility within five business days of approval by the 

commission. 

G. The utility may require reasonable financial security from 

the subscriber organization to safeguard the utility and its 

customers from the reasonably expected net financial impact 

due to the nonperformance of the subscriber organization. 

The amount of such financial security shall be commensurate 

with the level of risk assumed by the utility. Such financial 

security may include a letter of credit, a deposit in an escrow 

account, a prepayment arrangement, a surety bond, or other 

arrangements that may be mutually agreed upon by the utility 

and the subscriber organization. 

20VAC5-342-50. Marketing and enrollment. 

A. A subscriber organization shall not conduct any 

marketing activities related to participation in the multi-

family shared solar program until after the subscriber 

organization (i) receives a license from the commission; (ii) 

has begun the interconnection process with the utility 

pursuant to Regulations Governing Interconnection of Small 

Electrical Generators (20VAC5-314); and (iii) completed 

registration with the utility, as set forth in 20VAC5-342-40. 

B. A subscriber organization shall not enroll customers until 

after it receives the executed Small Generator Interconnection 

Agreement pursuant to 20VAC5-314-40 through 20VAC5-

314-70, and any other applicable local and state permits for 

the shared solar facility. 

C. A subscriber organization shall maintain adequate records 

allowing it to verify the customer's enrollment authorization. 

Authorization shall be in the form of a written contract with 

affirmed written signature, electronic signature, or recorded 

verbal affirmation. The subscriber organization shall maintain 

a copy of the contract for at least one year after the date of 

expiration. Such enrollment contracts shall be provided 

within five business days to the customer, the utility, or the 

commission staff upon request. 

D. A subscriber organization shall provide accurate and 

understandable information in any advertisements, 

solicitations, marketing materials, or customer service 

contracts. All such materials shall, in a manner that is not 

misleading, include a statement that the price for the 

subscription does not include charges to be billed by the 

utility. 

E. A subscriber organization shall provide to prospective 

subscribers, prior to executing a written contract, a 

description of how the multi-family shared solar program will 

function. Such description shall include explanations of the 

respective roles of the subscriber organization and the utility, 

and a detailed description of how customers will be billed. 
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F. Subscriber contracts shall include, at a minimum, the 

following information: 

1. Contract price expressed in per-kilowatt-hours, or if 

price is not easily specified, an explanation of how the 

subscription price will be calculated. 

2. Size of the subscriber subscription in kilowatt-hours. 

The contract must address modification of subscriptions in 

the event a shared solar facility underperforms during a 

period. 

3. Length of the contract. 

4. Provisions for terminating the contract, including any 

termination fees. 

5. Location of the shared solar facility. 

6. Size of the shared solar facility. 

7. Description of billing terms and conditions. 

8. List of applicable fees, including start up fees, 

cancellation fees, late payment fees, and fees for returned 

payments for insufficient funds. 

9. Clear descriptions of the responsibilities of the 

subscriber organization and the utility, consistent with this 

chapter. 

10. Toll-free number and address for complaints and 

inquiries. 

11. A clear statement that (i) the maximum size of the 

subscriber's subscription shall not exceed their estimated 

annual usage, (ii) each customer may only participate in 

one shared solar facility or one multi-family solar facility, 

and (iii) a net metering customer may not participate in this 

program. 

12. In a conspicuous location, confirmation of the 

customer's authorization for the utility and subscriber 

organization to exchange, at a minimum, the following 

billing information: 

a. Customer name; 

b. Billing address and premise address; 

c. Utility account number; and 

d. Share solar subscription information, including, at a 

minimum:  

(1) Pricing;  

(2) Subscription size; 

(3) Contract start date and length; and 

(4) Terms of subscription. 

13. In a conspicuous location, signatures confirming the 

customer's request to enroll and the approximate date the 

enrollment will be effective. 

G. Upon a customer's request, the subscriber organization 

may reenroll a subscriber at a new address under the existing 

contract without the need to acquire a new authorization 

record, but the subscriber organization must provide the 

utility with updated billing information set forth in 

subdivision F 12 of this section. 

H. At least 60 days prior to the commercial operation of a 

shared solar facility, the subscriber organization shall provide 

to the utility, in a format acceptable to the utility, a list of 

subscribers enrolled in the shared solar facility and their 

subscription information. 

I. In the event multiple enrollment requests are submitted for 

the same customer, the utility shall process the request with 

the earliest dated contract and shall send notification to the 

customer within five business days of receipt of the 

enrollment request of such enrollment. The utility shall 

terminate enrollment only with sufficient proof of termination 

presented by either the customer or the subscriber 

organization. 

J. At least 60 days prior to the termination or abandonment 

of a shared solar facility, a subscriber organization must 

provide advanced written notice to the customer, the utility, 

and the commission. 

K. A subscriber organization shall safeguard adequately all 

customer information and shall not disclose such information 

unless the customer authorizes disclosure or unless the 

information to be disclosed is already in the public domain. 

This provision, however, shall not restrict the disclosure of 

credit and payment information as currently permitted by 

federal and state statutes. 

20VAC5-342-60. Billing and payment. 

A. Subscriber organizations shall provide subscriber 

information to the utility as follows: 

1. Subscriber organizations must provide, on a monthly 

basis and in a standard electronic format and pursuant to 

this chapter, a subscriber list indicating the kilowatt-hours 

of generation attributable to each of the subscribers 

participating in a shared solar facility in accordance with 

the subscriber's portion of the output of the shared solar 

facility. 

2. Subscriber lists must be updated monthly to reflect 

canceling subscribers and to add new subscribers. 

3. Monthly information must be provided by the fifth 

business day of the month. 

4. Data transfer protocols for exchange of data between the 

subscriber organization and the utility shall be established 

to include: 

a. Data components; 

b. Data format; 
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c. Timing of monthly data exchanges; 

d. Encryption level; and 

e. Channel of data submission. 

B. A subscriber organization may offer separate billing or 

consolidated billing service (net crediting) in which the utility 

will be the billing party to the customer. 

1. Where a subscriber organization chooses to use 

consolidated billing, the subscriber organization's 

marketing materials and contracts must identify clearly that 

the utility may charge a net crediting fee not to exceed 

1.0% of the bill credit value. 

2. Where a subscriber organization chooses to use net 

crediting, any shared solar subscription fees charged via 

the net crediting model shall be set to ensure that 

subscribers do not pay more in subscription fees than they 

receive in bill credits. 

3. All billing of the customer shall occur and comply with 

the utility's normal billing and credit cycles. 

C. Credits to subscriber's bills shall occur within one billing 

cycle following the cycle during which energy was generated 

by the shared solar facility. 

D. Each utility shall, on a monthly basis and in a 

standardized electronic format, provide the subscriber 

organization a report indicating the total value of bill credits 

generated by the shared solar facility in the prior month, as 

well as the amount of the bill credit applied to each 

subscriber. 

E. Failure of subscriber to pay any regulated balance charges 

shall subject the subscriber to the same credit consequences 

set forth in the utility's commission-approved terms and 

conditions of service, including potential requirement to post 

security deposit or disconnection of service. The utility shall 

advise the subscriber directly of any pending disconnection 

action for nonpayment consistent with current practice, 

separate from the customer bill. Such notice shall identify 

clearly the amount that must be paid and the date by which 

such amount must be received and provide instructions for 

direct payment to the utility to avoid disconnection. A 

subscriber may not be disconnected for nonpayment of 

unregulated service charges. 

F. Bill credits. 

1. Bill credits shall be for a particular calendar month, 

regardless of the billing period or billing cycle of the 

individual customer's account. 

2. Bill credits shall be calculated by multiplying the 

subscriber's portion of the kilowatt-hour electricity 

production from the shared solar facility by the applicable 

bill credit rate for the subscriber. Any portion of a bill 

credit that exceeds the subscriber's monthly bill shall be 

carried over and applied to the next month's bill. Such 

carry-over plus the next month's credit cannot exceed the 

next month's bill. 

3. In the event that all of the electricity generated by a 

shared solar facility is not allocated to subscribers in a 

given month, a subscriber organization may accumulate 

bill credits. The subscriber organization shall provide the 

utility allocation instructions for distributing excess bill 

credits to subscribers on an annual basis. 

4. In an annual proceeding, the commission shall set the 

applicable bill credit based upon the subscriber's class of 

either residential, commercial, or industrial. 

5. The utility shall provide bill credits to a shared solar 

facility's subscribers for not less than 25 years from the 

date the shared solar facility becomes commercially 

operational. 

6. The bill credits associated with the multi-family shared 

solar program shall be applied through the utility's fuel 

factor. 

G. Administrative charge. In an annual proceeding, as 

prescribed in 20VAC5-342-80, the commission will set an 

administrative charge to be assessed to subscriber 

organizations.  

H. Shared solar facility requirements. 

1. Regardless of whether a subscriber organization uses net 

crediting, a utility may bill the subscriber organization a 

monthly administrative charge, as approved by the 

commission in the annual proceeding, set forth in 

20VAC5-342-80, for the costs attributed to the 

interconnection of the shared solar facility to the utility 

grid to cover the costs of providing electric services to the 

facility. 

2. A shared solar facility must have a utility-provided 

meter capable of measuring output of the facility on a 30-

minute interval basis. 

a. The shared solar facility's meter shall not be located 

behind another utility customer account. 

b. Costs of installation, maintenance, and reading of the 

meter shall be part of the administrative costs of the 

shared solar program billed to the subscriber 

organization. 

20VAC5-342-70. Disputes. 

A. The parties agree to resolve all disputes arising out of the 

shared solar program process according to the provisions of 

this section. 

B. A subscriber organization shall establish an explicit 

dispute resolution procedure that identifies clearly the process 

that shall be followed when resolving customer disputes. A 
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copy of such dispute resolution procedure shall be provided 

to a customer or the commission upon request. 

C. If the dispute remains unresolved, either party may 

petition the commission to handle the dispute as a formal 

complaint or may exercise whatever rights and remedies it 

may have in equity or law. 

D. A subscriber organization shall furnish to customers an 

address and 24-hour toll-free telephone number for customer 

inquiries and complaints regarding services provided by the 

subscriber organization. The 24-hour toll-free telephone 

number shall be stated on all customer-billing statements and 

shall provide customers the opportunity to speak to a 

customer representative during normal business hours. 

Outside of normal business hours, a recorded message shall 

direct customers how to obtain customer assistance. 

E. A subscriber organization shall immediately direct a 

customer to contact the utility if the customer has a service 

emergency. Such direction may be given either by a customer 

service representative or by a recorded message on its 24-

hour toll-free telephone number. 

F. A subscriber organization shall retain customer billing 

and account records and complaint records for at least three 

years and provide copies of such records to a customer or the 

commission upon request. 

G. In the event that a customer has been referred to the 

utility by a subscriber organization, or to a subscriber 

organization by the utility, for response to an inquiry or a 

complaint, the party that is contacted second shall (i) resolve 

the inquiry or complaint in a timely fashion, or (ii) contact the 

other party to determine responsibility for resolving the 

inquiry or complaint. 

H. In the event a subscriber organization and customer 

cannot resolve a dispute, the subscriber organization shall 

provide the customer with the toll-free number and address of 

the commission. 

20VAC5-342-80. Annual proceeding. 

A. The commission shall convene a proceeding annually to 

determine (i) the monthly administrative charge to subscriber 

organizations and (ii) the calculation of applicable bill credit 

rate of each customer class for the following year. 

With respect to the administrative charge: 

1. The administrative charge established annually 

described in this subsection must include, at a minimum, 

the following four general categories of costs, to be 

demonstrated by the utility: 

a. Transmission and distribution costs; 

b. Standby generation and balancing costs; 

c. Non-bypassable charges established by the 

commission or otherwise by law; and 

d. Other administrative costs, including such as any 

banking, balancing, and storing fees related to the 

utility's processing and handling of the excess bill credits. 

2. Certain of these costs, including transmission and 

distribution costs, as well as non-bypassable charges, will 

be determined by reference to rates approved in parallel 

rate proceedings before the commission and shall be 

updated automatically for subscriber organizations when 

those rates are adjusted for the utility's customer 

population. Other components of the administrative charge, 

including those in the standby generation and balancing 

costs category and the other administrative costs category, 

will be evaluated and determined by the commission in the 

annual proceeding convened pursuant to this section. 

B. The bill credit shall be calculated in accordance with 

20VAC5-342-70 F. 

20VAC5-342-90. Recordkeeping and reporting 

requirements. 

A. Subscriber organizations. Each subscriber organization 

shall file a report annually with the commission by January 

31 of each calendar year for the previous calendar year. When 

making the annual report, the subscriber organization shall 

provide the following information: 

1. Total number of subscribers and the amount of kilowatts 

subscribed to by each subscriber; and  

2. Certification that there is no subscriber whose 

subscription size exceeds the subscriber's average annual 

bill over the past 12 months for the customer account to 

which the subscription is attributed. 

Each subscriber organization shall retain a record of all 

disclosure forms and subscriber allocation lists for a period of 

at least three years. Each subscriber organization shall retain 

copies of subscriber contracts for a period of at least one year 

from the date of their expiration. Each of these documents 

must be made available immediately upon request from the 

commission or commission staff. 

A subscriber organization shall retain customer billing and 

account records and complaint records for at least three years. 

B. Utility. In accordance with the commission's Regulations 

Governing Interconnection of Small Electric Generators 

(20VAC5-314) and specifically, 20VAC5-314-130: 

1. The utility shall maintain, subject to audit, records for 

three years of (i) all interconnection requests received 

pursuant to this chapter, (ii) the times required to complete 

interconnection request approvals and disapprovals, and 

(iii) justification for the actions taken on the 

interconnection requests. 

2. Each utility shall annually, on or before January 31, 

submit a written report to the commission staff that 

includes the utility's shared solar facility queue and a 
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listing of those facilities interconnected during the 

preceding calendar year. This report shall include the 

following data for each shared solar facility: 

a. Queue number. 

b. The physical address or geographic coordinates 

(latitude and longitude) of the shared solar facility. 

c. The capacity of the shared solar facility, in terms of 

megawatts. 

d. The substation and transformer to which the project 

will be interconnected. 

e. The feeder or circuit to which the project will be 

interconnected. 

f. The date of submission of final completed 

Interconnection Request Form, as provided in 20VAC5-

314-170. 

g. Interdependency status (e.g., Project A or Project B). 

h. Status of the request in the interconnection process 

(e.g., interconnection agreement executed, connected, 

canceled). 

i. The date of final completed signed interconnection 

agreement. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R21-6402; Filed September 21, 2020, 11:08 a.m.  

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 22. SOCIAL SERVICES 

DEPARTMENT FOR AGING AND REHABILITATIVE 
SERVICES 

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Department for Aging and 

Rehabilitative Services is claiming an exemption from Article 

2 of the Administrative Process Act in accordance with § 2.2-

4006 A 4 a of the Code of Virginia, which excludes 

regulations that are necessary to conform to changes in 

Virginia statutory law or the appropriation act where no 

agency discretion is involved. The Department for Aging and 

Rehabilitative Services will receive, consider, and respond to 

petitions by any interested person at any time with respect to 

reconsideration or revision. 

Title of Regulation: 22VAC30-40. Protections of 

Participants in Human Research (amending 22VAC30-40-

10, 22VAC30-40-30, 22VAC30-40-50).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 51.5-131 and 51.5-132 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

Effective Date: November 12, 2020.  

Agency Contact: Charlotte Arbogast, Policy Advisor, 

Department for Aging and Rehabilitative Services, 8004 

Franklin Farms Drive, Richmond, VA 23229, telephone (804) 

662-7093, FAX (804) 662-7663, TTY (800) 464-9950, or 

email charlotte.arbogast@dars.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

Pursuant to Chapter 728 of the 2020 Acts of Assembly, the 

amendments add area agencies on aging to the list of 

entities subject to the department's human research review 

committee.  

22VAC30-40-10. Definitions. 

The following words and terms when used in this chapter 

shall have the following meanings unless the context clearly 

indicates otherwise: 

"Affiliated with the covered entity" means employed by the 

covered entity or a member of a household containing an 

employee of the covered entity. 

"Agent" means an individual performing department-

designated activities or exercising department-delegated 

authority or responsibility. 

"Area agency on aging" means the government-sponsored or 

private nonprofit agency created pursuant to the federal Older 

Americans Act of 1965 (42 USC § 3001 et seq.), which has 

submitted a department-approved Area Plan for Aging 

Services and is designated by contract with the Department 

for Aging and Rehabilitative Services to develop and 

administer its Area Plan for Aging Services as approved for a 

comprehensive and coordinated system of services for older 

persons. 

"Assent" means a child's affirmative agreement to 

participate in research. Mere failure to object, absent 

affirmative agreement, shall not be construed as assent. 

"Commissioner" means the Commissioner of the 

Department for Aging and Rehabilitative Services or the 

commissioner's designee. 

"Covered entity" means the Department for Aging and 

Rehabilitative Services, the Wilson Workforce and 

Rehabilitation Center, area agencies on aging, sheltered 

workshops, or independent living centers. 

"Department" means the Department for Aging and 

Rehabilitative Services. 

"Guardian" means an individual who is authorized under 

applicable state or local law to consent on behalf of a minor 

to general medical care. 

"Human Research Review Committee" or "HRRC" means 

the committee established in accordance with and for the 

purposes expressed in this chapter. 

mailto:charlotte.arbogast@dars.virginia.gov


Regulations 

Volume 37, Issue 4 Virginia Register of Regulations October 12, 2020 

685 

"HRRC approval" means the determination of the HRRC 

that the research has been reviewed and may be conducted 

within the constraints set forth by the HRRC and by other 

department, state, and federal requirements. 

"Human participant" or "human subject" means a living 

individual about whom an investigator, whether professional 

or student, conducting research obtains: 

1. Data through intervention or interaction with the 

individual; or  

2. Identifiable private information.  

"Human subject research" means a systematic investigation, 

experiment, study, evaluation, demonstration, or survey 

designed to develop or contribute to general knowledge (basic 

research) or specific knowledge (applied research) in which a 

living individual about whom an investigator, whether 

professional or student, conducting research obtains data 

through intervention or interaction with the individual or 

obtains identifiable private information. 

"Identifiable private information" means private information 

for which the identity of the subject is or may readily be 

ascertained by the investigator or associated with the 

information. 

"Independent living center" means a consumer-controlled, 

community-based, cross disability, nonresidential private 

nonprofit agency that:  

1. Is designed and operated within a local community by 

individuals with disabilities; and  

2. Provides an array of independent living services.  

"Informed consent" means a process by which the 

investigator fully explains the research activities and ensures 

that the prospective subject has sufficient opportunity to ask 

questions and has sufficient time to make a decision whether 

or not to participate in the research prior to signing the 

HRRC-approved written consent document. Informed consent 

shall be prospectively obtained without coercion and in 

accordance with 22VAC30-40-100. 

"Institution" means any public or private entity or agency, 

including federal, state, and other agencies. 

"Interaction" means communication or interpersonal contact 

between investigator and subject.  

"Intervention" means both physical procedures by which 

data are gathered (e.g., venipuncture) and manipulations of 

the subject or the subject's environment that are performed for 

research purposes. 

"Investigator" means the person, whether professional or 

student, who conducts the research. 

"IRB" means an institutional review board.  

"Legally authorized representative," as defined in § 32.1-

162.16 of the Code of Virginia, means, in the following 

specified order of priority: 

1. The parent or parents having custody of a prospective 

subject who is a minor;  

2. The agent appointed under an advance directive, as 

defined in § 54.1-2982 of the Code of Virginia, executed 

by the prospective subject, provided the advance directive 

authorizes the agent to make decisions regarding the 

prospective subject's participation in human research; 

3. The legal guardian of a prospective subject; 

4. The spouse of the prospective subject, except where a 

suit for divorce has been filed and the divorce decree is not 

yet final;  

5. An adult child of the prospective subject;  

6. A parent of the prospective subject, when the subject is 

an adult;  

7. An adult sibling of the prospective subject; or  

8. Any person or judicial or other body authorized by law 

or regulation to consent on behalf of a prospective subject 

to the subject's participation in the particular human 

research.  

For the purposes of this definition, any person authorized by 

law or regulation to consent on behalf of a prospective subject 

to the subject's participation in the particular human research 

shall include an attorney-in-fact appointed under a durable 

power of attorney, to the extent the power grants the authority 

to make such a decision. The attorney-in-fact shall not be 

employed by the person, institution, or agency conducting the 

human research. No official or employee of the institution or 

agency conducting or authorizing the research shall be 

qualified to act as a legally authorized representative. 

"Minimal risk" means that the probability and magnitude of 

harm or discomfort anticipated in the research are not greater 

in and of themselves than those ordinarily encountered in 

daily life or during the performance of routine physical or 

psychological examinations or tests.  

"Minor," as defined in § 1-207 of the Code of Virginia, 

means an individual who is younger than 18 years of age.  

"Nontherapeutic research" means human subject research in 

which there is no reasonable expectation of direct benefit to 

the physical or mental condition of the subject.  

"Parent" means a minor's biological or adoptive parent. 

"Permission" means the agreement of a parent or parents or 

a legally authorized representative to the participation of their 

minor or ward in research. 

"Private information" means information about behavior that 

occurs in a context in which an individual can reasonably 
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expect that no observation or recording is taking place, or 

information that has been provided for specific purposes by 

an individual and that the individual can reasonably expect 

will not be made public (e.g., a medical record).  

"Research" means a systematic investigation designed to 

develop or contribute to generalizable knowledge (basic 

research) or specific knowledge (applied research). Activities 

that meet this definition constitute research for purposes of 

this chapter, whether or not they are supported or funded 

under a program that is considered research for other 

purposes. For example, some "demonstration" and "service" 

programs may include research activities. 

"Sheltered workshop" means a program that (i) provides 

directly or facilitates the provision of one or more vocational 

rehabilitation services enumerated in 34 CFR 361.5(c)(7)(i) to 

individuals with disabilities to enable them to maximize their 

opportunities for employment, including career advancement; 

(ii) has a vendor relationship with the department; and (iii) is 

not operated by a community services board.  

"Written" or "in writing" means text or other human 

communication on a tangible medium (e.g., paper) or in an 

electronic format. 

22VAC30-40-30. Applicability. 

This chapter shall apply to the Department for Aging and 

Rehabilitative Services, the Wilson Workforce and 

Rehabilitation Center, area agencies on aging, sheltered 

workshops, and independent living centers, known as covered 

entities. 

22VAC30-40-50. Certification process.  

A. No later than 45 days after the end of each state fiscal 

year, the Wilson Workforce and Rehabilitation Center, area 

agencies on aging, sheltered workshops, and independent 

living centers shall send a written report to the commissioner 

giving assurance that either all human subjects research 

conducted during the fiscal year was reviewed and approved 

by the department's HRRC prior to implementation of that 

research or that no human subjects research was conducted 

during that state fiscal year.  

B. At the time that the research is approved by the HRRC, 

the HRRC chairperson shall send to the commissioner a 

description of the research project to be undertaken, which 

shall include a statement of the criteria for inclusion of 

prospective human subjects in the research project, a 

description of what will be done to prospective human 

subjects, and the type of review performed by the HRRC.  

C. The commissioner may inspect the records of the 

department's HRRC.  

D. The HRRC shall have authority to suspend or terminate 

approval of research that is not being conducted in 

accordance with the HRRC's requirements or that has been 

associated with unexpected serious harm to subjects. Any 

suspension or termination of approval shall include a 

statement of the reasons for the HRRC's action and shall be 

reported promptly to the research investigator, the 

commissioner, the heads of other appropriate covered entities, 

and in the case of cooperative research, the institutional 

officials responsible for human subjects research. 

E. Research covered by this chapter that has been approved 

by the HRRC may be subject to further appropriate review 

and approval or disapproval by officials of the covered 

entities. However, those officials shall not approve the 

research if the research has not been approved by the HRRC. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R21-6376; Filed September 18, 2020, 10:15 a.m.  
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GUIDANCE DOCUMENTS 

 

PUBLIC COMMENT OPPORTUNITY 

Pursuant to § 2.2-4002.1 of the Code of Virginia, a certified guidance document is subject to a 30-day public comment period 

after publication in the Virginia Register of Regulations and prior to the guidance document's effective date. During the public 

comment period, comments may be made through the Virginia Regulatory Town Hall website 

(http://www.townhall.virginia.gov) or sent to the agency contact. Under subsection C of § 2.2-4002.1, the effective date of the 

guidance document may be delayed for an additional period. The guidance document may also be withdrawn. 

The following guidance documents have been submitted for publication by the listed agencies for a public comment period. 

Online users of this issue of the Virginia Register of Regulations may click on the name of a guidance document to access it. 

Guidance documents are also available on the Virginia Regulatory Town Hall (http://www.townhall.virginia.gov) or from the 

agency contact or may be viewed at the Office of the Registrar of Regulations, 900 East Main Street, Richmond, Virginia 

23219. 

STATE AIR POLLUTION CONTROL BOARD 

Titles of Documents: 

Air Permit Guidance for Condensable Emissions in 

Particulate Pollutants. 

Air Permit Guidance for Control Technology Standards. 

Article 6 - Minor New Source Review Permit Program 

Manual, Draft. 

New Source Review Permits Program Manual. 

Revised Article 6 Regulation. 

Public Comment Deadline: November 11, 2020. 

Effective Date: November 12, 2020. 

Agency Contact: Patrick Corbett, Department of 

Environmental Quality, 1111 East Main Street, Suite 1400, 

Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 698-4016, or email 

patrick.corbett@deq.virginia.gov. 

BOARD OF LONG-TERM CARE ADMINISTRATORS 

Titles of Documents:  

Bylaws of the Board of Long-Term Care Administrators. 

Guidance on Completion of Continuing Education. 

Public Comment Deadline: November 11, 2020. 

Effective Date: November 12, 2020. 

Agency Contact: Elaine J. Yeatts, Agency Regulatory 

Coordinator, Department of Health Professions, Perimeter 

Center, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, Richmond, VA 

23233, telephone (804) 367-4688, or email 

elaine.yeatts@dhp.virginia.gov. 

 

DEPARTMENT OF MEDICAL ASSISTANCE 
SERVICES 

Title of Document: Patient Driven Payment Model (PDPM) 

Data Collection Effective 10/17/2020. 

Public Comment Deadline: November 11, 2020. 

Effective Date: November 12, 2020. 

Agency Contact: Emily McClellan, Regulatory Manager, 

Division of Policy and Research, Department of Medical 

Assistance Services, 600 East Broad Street, Suite 1300, 

Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 371-6043, or email 

emily.mcclellan@dmas.virginia.gov. 

BOARD OF PHARMACY 

Title of Document: Bylaws of the Virginia Board of 

Pharmacy. 

Public Comment Deadline: November 11, 2020. 

Effective Date: November 12, 2020. 

Agency Contact: Elaine J. Yeatts, Agency Regulatory 

Coordinator, Department of Health Professions, Perimeter 

Center, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, Richmond, VA 

23233, telephone (804) 367-4688, or email 

elaine.yeatts@dhp.virginia.gov. 

https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title2.2/chapter40/section2.2-4002.1/
http://www.townhall.virginia.gov/
http://www.townhall.virginia.gov/
http://leg5.state.va.us/pdfs/6530/f2850006530~9s.pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/pdfs/6530/f2850006530~9s.pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/pdfs/6530/4fb81006530~5s.pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/pdfs/6530/407a4006530~7t.pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/pdfs/6530/407a4006530~7t.pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/pdfs/6530/78685006530~6l.pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/pdfs/6530/e4726006530~8n.pdf
mailto:patrick.corbett@deq.virginia.gov
http://leg5.state.va.us/pdfs/6530/6241d006530~3s.pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/pdfs/6530/9846a006530~2n.pdf
mailto:elaine.yeatts@dhp.virginia.gov
http://leg5.state.va.us/pdfs/6530/94f19006530~40.pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/pdfs/6530/94f19006530~40.pdf
mailto:Emily.McClellan@dmas.virginia.gov
http://leg5.state.va.us/pdfs/6530/8012f006530~1y.pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/pdfs/6530/8012f006530~1y.pdf
mailto:elaine.yeatts@dhp.virginia.gov
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GENERAL NOTICES/ERRATA 

DEPARTMENT OF ENVIRONMENTAL QUALITY 

North Ridge Powhatan Solar LLC Notice of Intent for 
Small Renewable Energy Project (Solar) - Powhatan 

County 

North Ridge Powhatan Solar LLC has provided the 

Department of Environmental Quality with a notice of intent 

to submit the necessary documentation for a permit by rule 

for a small renewable energy project (solar) in Powhatan 

County. The project is located on 197 acres off Anderson 

Highway/Route 60 West in Powhatan. The project will have a 

rated capacity of 20 megawatts alternating current and 

include approximately 65,000 photovoltaic solar panels. 

Contact Information: Mary E. Major, Department of 

Environmental Quality, 1111 East Main Street, Suite 1400, 

P.O. Box 1105, Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 698-

4423, or email mary.major@deq.virginia.gov. 

Shockoe Solar LLC Notice of Intent for Small 
Renewable Energy Project  

(Solar) - Pittsylvania County 

Shockoe Solar LLC has provided the Department of 

Environmental Quality a notice of intent to submit the 

necessary documentation for a permit by rule for a small 

renewable energy project (solar) in Shockoe. The project is 

located south of Java Road, north of Brownville Heights 

Lane, and northeast of the town of Shockoe in Pittsylvania 

County. The project will be sited on roughly 885 acres across 

multiple parcels and will connect up to 60 megawatts 

alternating current to Dominion Virginia Power's grid. 

Contact Information: Mary E. Major, Department of 

Environmental Quality, 1111 East Main Street, Suite 1400, 

P.O. Box 1105, Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 698-

4423, or email mary.major@deq.virginia.gov. 

Spring Grove Solar II LLC Revised Notice of Intent 
for Small Renewable Energy Project  

(Solar) - Surry County 

Spring Grove Solar II LLC has provided the Department of 

Environmental Quality the necessary documentation for a 

permit by rule for a small renewable energy project (solar) in 

Surry County. This is an update of the acreage and general 

location of project. The proposed project is approximately 

1,650 acres and is located east of Spring Grove. The proposed 

project spans Colonial Trail West and is generally bound by 

Hollybush Road (Route 618) and Swanns Point Road (Route 

610) in Surry County. The project will have a maximum 

generating capacity of 150 megawatts alternating current and 

consist of approximately 346,710 photovoltaic panels. The 

project will connect to the grid through transmission lines that 

bisect the property. 

Contact Information: Mary E. Major, Department of 

Environmental Quality, 1111 East Main Street, Suite 1400, 

P.O. Box 1105, Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 698-

4423, or email mary.major@deq.virginia.gov. 

DEPARTMENT OF MEDICAL ASSISTANCE 
SERVICES 

Draft Durable Medical Equipment Provider Manual 
Chapter IV 

Comment period: September 16, 2020, through October 16, 

2020. 

The Draft Durable Medical Equipment Manual Chapter IV is 

now available on the Department pf Medical Assistance 

Services website at http://dmas.virginia.gov/#/manualdraft for 

public comment until October 16, 2020. 

Contact Information: Emily McClellan, Regulatory Manager, 

Division of Policy and Research, Department of Medical 

Assistance Services, 600 East Broad Street, Suite 1300, 

Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 371-4300, FAX (804) 

786-1680, TDD (800) 343-0634, or email 

emily.mcclellan@dmas.virginia.gov. 

STATE WATER CONTROL BOARD 

Proposed Enforcement Action for the  
Town of Dungannon 

An enforcement action has been proposed for the Town of 

Dungannon for violations of the State Water Control Law at 

the Dungannon sewage treatment plant in Scott County. A 

description of the proposed action is available at the 

Department of Environmental Quality office listed or online 

at www.deq.virginia.gov. Jonathan Chapman will accept 

comments by email at jonathan.chapman@deq.virginia.gov 

or postal mail at Department of Environmental Quality, 

Southwest Regional Office, 355-A Deadmore Street, 

Abingdon, VA 24210, from October 13, 2020, through 

November 12, 2020. 

Proposed Enforcement Action for Schneider 
National Bulk Carriers Inc. 

An enforcement action has been proposed for Schneider 

National Bulk Carriers Inc. for violations of the State Water 

Control Law on Interstate 77 Southbound, south of Mile 

Marker 40, within the interchange ramp from Interstate 77 

South to Interstate 81 North, located in Wytheville, Virginia. 

A description of the proposed action is available at the 

Department of Environmental Quality office listed or online 

at www.deq.virginia.gov. Ralph T. Hilt will accept comments 

by email at ralph.hilt@deq.virginia.gov or postal mail at 

Department of Environmental Quality, Southwest Regional 

Office, 355-A Deadmore Street, Abingdon, VA 24210, from 

October 13, 2020, through November 12, 2020. 

mailto:mary.major@deq.virginia.gov
mailto:mary.major@deq.virginia.gov
mailto:mary.major@deq.virginia.gov
http://dmas.virginia.gov/#/manualdraft
mailto:Emily.McClellan@dmas.virginia.gov
http://www.deq.virginia.gov/
mailto:jonathan.chapman@deq.virginia.gov
http://www.deq.virginia.gov/
mailto:ralph.hilt@deq.virginia.gov
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Total Maximum Daily Load Study for Lynch Creek 
and Reed Creek 

Description of public meeting: The Department of 

Environmental Quality (DEQ) will virtually host the first 

public meeting for the Lynch Creek and Reed Creek total 

maximum daily load (TMDL) Project on Thursday, October 

27, 2020, from 6 p.m. until 8 p.m. To register and gain access 

to the meeting, use the following link at 

https://attendee.gotowebinar.com/register/4344247816492556

299. The webinar ID is: 496-521-571. Please register ahead of 

the meeting. Given the current State of Emergency related to 

the COVID-19 pandemic, this meeting will be held entirely 

virtually. A computer or a telephone are necessary to 

participate virtually. All participants are encouraged to access 

the meeting using a computer to view presentations or visual 

displays, although audio only participation using a phone is 

also an option. 

This meeting will be open to the public and all are welcome. 

A 30-day public comment period will follow this meeting, 

from October 27, 2020, through November 30, 2020. The 

goal of this meeting is to introduce the local community to 

the water quality improvement process in Virginia, known as 

the TMDL process, provide information on biological 

monitoring efforts, invite participation, and solicit input. 

During this meeting participants will be invited to serve on 

the technical advisory committee (TAC), which consists of 

representatives from local governments, Virginia Pollutant 

Discharge Elimination System permittees, riparian 

landowners, and recreational and conservation groups in the 

watershed. The first TAC meeting will be held on Monday, 

November 2, 2020, from 1 p.m. until 3 p.m. To register and 

gain access to the meeting, use the following link at 

https://attendee.gotowebinar.com/register/8010754057264988

171. The webinar ID is: 610-365-115. Both meetings will be 

recorded.  

For technical help registering for either meeting or during the 

meeting, please contact Kevin Vaughan by telephone at (804) 

698-4470 or email at kevin.vaughan@deq.virginia.gov. For 

more information, please contact Lucy Baker by email at 

lucy.baker@deq.virginia.gov or telephone at (540) 562-6718.  

Purpose of notice: The DEQ and its contractors, 3E, and 

James Madison University will discuss the process and data 

used to develop a water quality study, known as a TMDL for 

Lynch Creek and Reed Creek in Pittsylvania and Campbell 

Counties. These streams are listed on the § 303(d) TMDL 

Priority List and Report as impaired due to violations of 

Virginia's water quality standards for the General Standard 

(Benthics). Section 303(d) of the Clean Water Act and § 62.1-

44.19:7 C of the Code of Virginia requires DEQ to develop 

TMDLs for pollutants responsible for each impaired water 

contained in Virginia's § 303(d) TMDL Priority List and 

Report. This meeting is an opportunity for local residents to 

learn about the condition of these streams, share information 

about the area, and become involved in the process of local 

water quality improvement. A public comment period will 

follow the meetings on October 10, 2020, beginning October 

27, 2020, and ending November 30, 2020.  

Description of study: In Pittsylvania and Campbell Counties, 

the entirety of Lynch Creek and Reed Creek are impaired for 

the "General Use" water quality standard, meaning the 

macroinvertebrates or "water bugs" are not healthy and 

diverse and subsequently do not meet the "aquatic life" water 

quality standard. DEQ and its contractors are working to 

identify the pollutant cause for the benthic impairment 

through a weight of evidence approach. After the pollutant 

has been identified, a water quality study will report on the 

sources of the pollutant and recommend reductions to meet 

TMDLs for the impaired waters. A TMDL is the total amount 

of a pollutant a water body can contain and still meet water 

quality standards. To restore water quality, the pollutant 

levels need to be reduced to the TMDL amount.  

Stream Name County NWBD Impaired Assessment Units 
Cause Group 

Code 

First 

listed 

Length of 

impairment 

(miles) 

Lynch Creek  
Campbell 

County 

RU48 VAW-L19R_LYH01A02 L19R-02-BEN 2010 0.37 

RU48 VAW-L19R_LYH02A02 L19R-02-BEN 2010 3.53 

Reed Creek 
Pittsylvania 

County 
RU48 VAW-L19R_RAB01A00 

L19R-03-BEN 2010 8.90 

https://attendee.gotowebinar.com/register/4344247816492556299
https://attendee.gotowebinar.com/register/4344247816492556299
https://attendee.gotowebinar.com/register/8010754057264988171
https://attendee.gotowebinar.com/register/8010754057264988171
mailto:kevin.vaughan@deq.virginia.gov
mailto:lucy.baker@deq.virginia.gov
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How to comment and participate: The meetings of the TMDL 

process are open to the public and all interested parties are 

welcome. A TAC will be formed to assist in the development 

of this TMDL. The first meeting of this group will be on 

November 2, 2020, from 1 p.m. until 3 p.m. at the link listed 

in this notice. Written comments will be accepted through 

November 30, 2020, and should include the name, address, 

and telephone number of the person submitting the 

comments. For more information or to submit comments, 

please contact Lucy Baker, Department of Environmental 

Quality, Blue Ridge Regional Office, telephone at (540) 562-

6718, or email at lucy.baker@deq.virginia.gov. For technical 

help registering for either meeting or signing on to the 

meeting, please contact Kevin Vaughan by at telephone (804) 

698-4470 or email at kevin.vaughan@deq.virginia.gov. 

In the event the Governor's State of Emergency is lifted, the 

meeting will be held on the same date and time at the 

Department of Environmental Quality, Blue Ridge Regional 

Office, Training Room, 901 Russell Drive, Salem, VA 24153. 

Total Maximum Daily Load for Sand Branch 

The Department of Environmental Quality (DEQ) seeks 

written and oral comments from interested persons on the 

development of total maximum daily loads (TMDLs) for 

Sand Branch in Loudoun and Fairfax Counties. The following 

stream segment is listed on the § 303(d) TMDL Priority List 

and Report as impaired due to violations of the State's water 

quality standards for General Standard (Benthics).  

Stream 

Name 
Location 

Impairment 

Length 

(miles) 

Upstream 

Limit 

Downstream 

Limit 

Sand 

Branch 
Loudoun/Fairfax 1.54 mi Headwaters 

Confluence 

with Cub 

Run 

Section 303(d) of the Clean Water Act and § 62.1-44.19:7 C 

of the State Water Control Law require DEQ to develop 

TMDLs for pollutants responsible for each impaired water 

contained in Virginias § 303(d) TMDL Priority List and 

Report. A component of a TMDL is the waste load allocation 

(WLA); therefore, this notice is provided pursuant to § 2.2-

4006 A 14 of the Administrative Process Act for any future 

adoption of the TMDL WLAs. 

Given the existing State of Emergency related to the COVID-

19 pandemic, this meeting will be held entirely virtually. A 

computer or a telephone is necessary to participate virtually. 

All meeting attendees are encouraged to access the meeting 

using a computer to view the meeting visuals. Attendees may 

also use a phone for audio and a computer for visual to avoid 

possible interruptions in computer audio. Although the use of 

a phone for audio only participation is possible, since the 

meeting will rely on visuals, audio only participation is 

discouraged. The webinar link to register for the virtual 

meeting is provided at the end of this notice. Once registered 

for the meeting, registrants will receive an email with the 

URL and telephone information to participate in the meeting. 

If meeting attendees experience any interruption in the 

meeting broadcast, they should call the technical support line 

that is also provided at the end of this notice. 

The first public meeting and technical advisory committee 

(TAC) on the development of the TMDL to address the 

General Standard (Benthics) for this segment will be held: 

Thursday, October 29, 2020, from 3:30 p.m. until 5 p.m. 

To register for this virtual meeting and to receive access 

information, sign up at 

https://attendee.gotowebinar.com/register/1016104185026444

812. For technical assistance during the meeting call (703) 

583-3906. 

In the event that the Governor's State of Emergency is lifted, 

the meeting will be held on the same date and time at 

Department of Environmental Quality, Northern Regional 

Office, 13901 Crown Court, Woodbridge, VA 22193. 

The public comment period begins October 30, 2020, and 

ends November 30, 2020. A TAC to assist in development of 

this TMDL is being convened concurrent with the public 

meeting. Persons interested in being a member of the TAC 

should notify the DEQ contact person by the end of the 

comment period and provide their name, address, phone 

number, email address, and the organization being 

represented (if any). Notification of the composition of the 

panel will be sent to all applicants. 

Information on the development of the TMDLs for the 

impairments is available upon request. Questions or 

information requests should be addressed to the DEQ contact 

person listed. Please note, all written comments should 

include the name, address, and telephone number of the 

person submitting the comments and should be sent to the 

DEQ contact person: Sarah Sivers, Department of 

Environmental Quality, Northern Regional Office, 13901 

Crown Court, Woodbridge, VA 22193, telephone (703) 583-

3898, or email sarah.sivers@deq.virginia.gov. 

VIRGINIA CODE COMMISSION 

Notice to State Agencies 

Contact Information: Mailing Address: Virginia Code 

Commission, Pocahontas Building, 900 East Main Street, 8th 

Floor, Richmond, VA 23219; Telephone: (804) 698-1810; 

Email: varegs@dls.virginia.gov. 

Meeting Notices: Section 2.2-3707 C of the Code of Virginia 

requires state agencies to post meeting notices on their 

websites and on the Commonwealth Calendar at 

https://commonwealthcalendar.virginia.gov. 

Cumulative Table of Virginia Administrative Code 

Sections Adopted, Amended, or Repealed: A table listing 

regulation sections that have been amended, added, or 

repealed in the Virginia Register of Regulations since the 
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regulations were originally published or last supplemented in 

the print version of the Virginia Administrative Code is 

available at 

http://register.dls.virginia.gov/documents/cumultab.pdf. 

Filing Material for Publication in the Virginia Register of 

Regulations: Agencies use the Regulation Information 

System (RIS) to file regulations and related items for 

publication in the Virginia Register of Regulations. The 

Registrar's office works closely with the Department of 

Planning and Budget (DPB) to coordinate the system with the 

Virginia Regulatory Town Hall. RIS and Town Hall 

complement and enhance one another by sharing pertinent 

regulatory information. 

http://register.dls.virginia.gov/documents/cumultab.pdf
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