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REGISTER INFORMATION PAGE 

THE VIRGINIA REGISTER OF REGULATIONS is an official state 
publication issued every other week throughout the year. Indexes are published 
quarterly, and are cumulative for the year. The Virginia Register has several 
functions. The new and amended sections of regulations, both as proposed and 
as finally adopted, are required by law to be published in the Virginia Register. 
In addition, the Virginia Register is a source of other information about state 
government, including petitions for rulemaking, emergency regulations, 
executive orders issued by the Governor, and notices of public hearings on 
regulations. 

ADOPTION, AMENDMENT, AND REPEAL OF REGULATIONS 

Unless exempted by law, an agency wishing to adopt, amend, or repeal 
regulations must follow the procedures in the Administrative Process Act 
(§ 2.2-4000 et seq. of the Code of Virginia). Typically, this includes first 
publishing in the Virginia Register a notice of intended regulatory action; a 
basis, purpose, substance and issues statement; an economic impact analysis 
prepared by the Department of Planning and Budget; the agency's response to 
the economic impact analysis; a summary; a notice giving the public an 
opportunity to comment on the proposal; and the text of the proposed 
regulation. 

Following publication of the proposed regulation in the Virginia Register, the 
promulgating agency receives public comments for a minimum of 60 days. 
The Governor reviews the proposed regulation to determine if it is necessary 
to protect the public health, safety, and welfare, and if it is clearly written and 
easily understandable. If the Governor chooses to comment on the proposed 
regulation, his comments must be transmitted to the agency and the Registrar 
of Regulations no later than 15 days following the completion of the 60-day 
public comment period. The Governor's comments, if any, will be published 
in the Virginia Register. Not less than 15 days following the completion of the 
60-day public comment period, the agency may adopt the proposed regulation. 

The Joint Commission on Administrative Rules or the appropriate standing 
committee of each house of the General Assembly may meet during the 
promulgation or final adoption process and file an objection with the Registrar 
and the promulgating agency. The objection will be published in the Virginia 
Register. Within 21 days after receipt by the agency of a legislative objection, 
the agency shall file a response with the Registrar, the objecting legislative 
body, and the Governor. 

When final action is taken, the agency again publishes the text of the regulation 
as adopted, highlighting all changes made to the proposed regulation and 
explaining any substantial changes made since publication of the proposal. A 
30-day final adoption period begins upon final publication in the Virginia 
Register. 

The Governor may review the final regulation during this time and, if he 
objects, forward his objection to the Registrar and the agency. In addition to 
or in lieu of filing a formal objection, the Governor may suspend the effective 
date of a portion or all of a regulation until the end of the next regular General 
Assembly session by issuing a directive signed by a majority of the members 
of the appropriate legislative body and the Governor. The Governor's objection 
or suspension of the regulation, or both, will be published in the Virginia 
Register.  

If the Governor finds that the final regulation contains changes made after 
publication of the proposed regulation that have substantial impact, he may 
require the agency to provide an additional 30-day public comment period on 
the changes. Notice of the additional public comment period required by the 
Governor will be published in the Virginia Register. Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.06 
of the Code of Virginia, any person may request that the agency solicit 
additional public comment on certain changes made after publication of the 
proposed regulation. The agency shall suspend the regulatory process for 30 
days upon such request from 25 or more individuals, unless the agency 
determines that the changes have minor or inconsequential impact. 

A regulation becomes effective at the conclusion of the 30-day final adoption 
period, or at any other later date specified by the promulgating agency, unless 
(i) a legislative objection has been filed, in which event the regulation, unless 
withdrawn, becomes effective on the date specified, which shall be after the 
expiration of the 21-day objection period; (ii) the Governor exercises his 
authority to require the agency to provide for additional public comment, in 

which event the regulation, unless withdrawn, becomes effective on the date 
specified, which shall be after the expiration of the period for which the 
Governor has provided for additional public comment; (iii) the Governor and 
the General Assembly exercise their authority to suspend the effective date of 
a regulation until the end of the next regular legislative session; or (iv) the 
agency suspends the regulatory process, in which event the regulation, unless 
withdrawn, becomes effective on the date specified, which shall be after the 
expiration of the 30-day public comment period and no earlier than 15 days 
from publication of the readopted action. 

A regulatory action may be withdrawn by the promulgating agency at any time 
before the regulation becomes final. 

FAST-TRACK RULEMAKING PROCESS 

Section 2.2-4012.1 of the Code of Virginia provides an alternative to the 
standard process set forth in the Administrative Process Act for regulations 
deemed by the Governor to be noncontroversial. To use this process, the 
Governor's concurrence is required and advance notice must be provided to 
certain legislative committees. Fast-track regulations become effective on the 
date noted in the regulatory action if fewer than 10 persons object to using the 
process in accordance with § 2.2-4012.1. 

EMERGENCY REGULATIONS 

Pursuant to § 2.2-4011 of the Code of Virginia, an agency may adopt 
emergency regulations if necessitated by an emergency situation or when 
Virginia statutory law or the appropriation act or federal law or federal 
regulation requires that a regulation be effective in 280 days or fewer from its 
enactment. In either situation, approval of the Governor is required.  The 
emergency regulation is effective upon its filing with the Registrar of 
Regulations, unless a later date is specified per § 2.2-4012 of the Code of 
Virginia. Emergency regulations are limited to no more than 18 months in 
duration; however, may be extended for six months under the circumstances 
noted in § 2.2-4011 D. Emergency regulations are published as soon as 
possible in the Virginia Register and are on the Register of Regulations website 
at register.dls.virgina.gov. 

During the time the emergency regulation is in effect, the agency may proceed 
with the adoption of permanent regulations in accordance with the 
Administrative Process Act. If the agency chooses not to adopt the regulations, 
the emergency status ends when the prescribed time limit expires. 

STATEMENT 

The foregoing constitutes a generalized statement of the procedures to be 
followed. For specific statutory language, it is suggested that Article 2 (§ 2.2-
4006 et seq.) of Chapter 40 of Title 2.2 of the Code of Virginia be examined 
carefully. 

CITATION TO THE VIRGINIA REGISTER 

The Virginia Register is cited by volume, issue, page number, and date. 34:8 
VA.R. 763-832 December 11, 2017, refers to Volume 34, Issue 8, pages 763 
through 832 of the Virginia Register issued on  
December 11, 2017. 

The Virginia Register of Regulations is published pursuant to Article 6 (§ 2.2-
4031 et seq.) of Chapter 40 of Title 2.2 of the Code of Virginia.  

Members of the Virginia Code Commission: John S. Edwards, Chair; 
Jennifer L. McClellan; Ward L. Armstrong; Nicole Cheuk; Rita Davis; 
Leslie L. Lilley; Christopher R. Nolen; Don L. Scott, Jr.; Charles S. 
Sharp; Marcus B. Simon; Samuel T. Towell; Malfourd W. Trumbo. 

Staff of the Virginia Register: Karen Perrine, Registrar of Regulations; 
Anne Bloomsburg, Assistant Registrar; Nikki Clemons, Regulations 
Analyst; Rhonda Dyer, Publications Assistant; Terri Edwards, Senior 
Operations Staff Assistant. 

http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000%20cod%202.2-4011
http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?000%20cod%202.2-4011
file://legmain/sysdata/dlsdata/CODEREGS/regispub/Vol36/Iss18/register.dls.virgina.gov
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PUBLICATION SCHEDULE AND DEADLINES 

December 2020 through December 2021 

Volume: Issue Material Submitted By Noon* Will Be Published On 

37:9 December 2, 2020 December 21, 2020 

37:10 December 14, 2020 (Monday) January 4, 2021 

37:11 December 30, 2020 January 18, 2021 

37:12 January 13, 2021 February 1, 2021 

37:13 January 27, 2021 February 15, 2021 

37:14 February 10, 2021 March 1, 2021 

37:15 February 24, 2021 March 15, 2021 

37:16 March 10, 2021 March 29, 2021 

37:17 March 24, 2021 April 12, 2021 

37:18 April 7, 2021 April 26, 2021 

37:19 April 27, 2021 June 7, 2021 

37:20 May 3, 2021 (Monday) May 24, 2021 

37:21 May 19, 2021 June 7, 2021 

37:22 June 2, 2021 June 21, 2021 

37:23 June 16, 2021 July 5, 2021 

37:24 June 30, 2021 July 19, 2021 

37:25 July 14, 2021 August 2, 2021 

37:26 July 28, 2021 August 16, 2021 

38:1 August 11, 2021 August 30, 2021 

38:2 August 25, 2021 September 13, 2021 

38:3 September 8, 2021 September 27, 2021 

38:4 September 22, 2021 October 11, 2021 

38:5 October 6, 2021 October 25, 2021 

38:6 October 20, 2021 November 8, 2021 

38:7 November 3, 2021 November 22, 2021 

38:8 November 17, 2021 December 6, 2021 

38:9 December 1, 2021 December 20, 2021 

*Filing deadlines are Wednesdays unless otherwise specified. 
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PETITIONS FOR RULEMAKING 

TITLE 18. PROFESSIONAL AND 
OCCUPATIONAL LICENSING 

BOARD OF VETERINARY MEDICINE 
Initial Agency Notice 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC150-20. Regulations Governing 
the Practice of Veterinary Medicine. 
Statutory Authority: § 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia. 
Name of Petitioner: Daniel Gideon. 
Nature of Petitioner's Request: To amend 18VAC150-20-172 
to allow an unlicensed veterinary assistant to place an 
intravenous catheter. 
Agency Plan for Disposition of Request: The petition will be 
published on November 23, 2020, in the Virginia Register of 
Regulations and also posted on the Virginia Regulatory Town 
Hall at www.townhall.virginia.gov to receive public comment 
ending December 23, 2020. Following receipt of all comments 
on the petition to amend regulations, the board will decide 
whether to make any changes to the regulatory language. This 
matter will be on the board's agenda for its first meeting after 
the comment period, which is scheduled for March 11, 2021. 
The petitioner will be informed of the board's decision after 
that meeting. 
Public Comment Deadline: December 23, 2020. 
Agency Contact: Leslie L. Knachel, Executive Director, Board 
of Veterinary Medicine, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, 
Richmond, VA 23233, telephone (804) 597-4130, or email 
leslie.knachel@dhp.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R21-06; Filed October 26, 2020, 10:46 a.m. 

  ––––––––––––––––––   
TITLE 24. TRANSPORTATION AND MOTOR 

VEHICLES 

COMMISSION ON THE VIRGINIA ALCOHOL SAFETY 
ACTION PROGRAM 

Agency Decision 
Title of Regulation: 24VAC35-60. Ignition Interlock 
Program Regulations. 
Statutory Authority: § 18.2-270.2 of the Code of Virginia. 
Name of Petitioner: Cynthia Hites. 
Nature of Petitioner's Request: "I, Cynthia Hites, a citizen of 
the Commonwealth of Virginia, pursuant to § 2.2-4007of the 
Code of Virginia, do humbly submit this petition for the 
following amendment to Virginia Administrative Code 
24VAC35-60-80. 
Currently, interlock devices are implemented contrary to the 
"Visual-Manual NHTSA Driver Distraction Guidelines for 
Portable and Aftermarket Devices." 

This publication states, "Driver distraction is a specific type of 
inattention that occurs when drivers divert their attention away 
from the driving task to focus on another activity." 
"Phase 1 Guidelines are based upon a number of fundamental 
principles. These principles include that: the driver's eyes 
should usually be looking at the road ahead; the driver should 
be able to keep at least one hand on the steering wheel while 
performing a secondary task (both driving-related and non-
driving related); the distraction induced by any secondary task 
performed while driving should not exceed that associated with 
a baseline reference task (manual radio tuning); any task 
performed by a driver should be interruptible at any time; the 
driver, not the system/device, should control the pace of task 
interactions; and displays should be easy for the driver to see 
and content presented should be easily discernible." 
These data show that many drivers continue to engage in 
visual-manual distraction activities with their portable devices 
while driving. 
IID rolling retests are very concerning because research by 
NHTSA shows "visual-manual manipulation of devices while 
driving dramatically increases crash risk." 
Installed in any vehicle, I believe ignition interlock is an inherent, 
significant cognitive distraction, but to install IID in a vehicle that 
is exclusively hand-foot-operated is extraordinarily dangerous to 
the driver, and to overall public safety. 
The mandated use of the in-car Breath Alcohol Ignition 
Interlock Device is the epitome of visual-manual, and 
cognitive driver distraction, and I submit no IID shall be 
installed on any vehicle with a non-fully-automatic 
transmission. 
In the interest of offender and public safety, please add the 
following language to the statute: 
"N. Under no circumstances shall an ignition interlock device 
be installed on a vehicle having manual transmission." 
I totaled my 5-speed '07 Mustang while retrieving a dropped 
IID handset, and attempting to simultaneously shift into second 
gear in order to pull over. 
Thank you for considering the public safety hazard posed by 
ignition interlock devices. 
Cynthia Hites" 
Agency Decision: Take no action. 
Statement of Reason for Decision: The Commission on the 
Virginia Alcohol Safety Action Program reviewed this petition at 
its October 30, 2020, meeting and voted to deny it based on the 
commission's lack of authority to act. Current statutes would have 
to be amended, requiring action by the General Assembly. 
Agency Contact: Richard L. Foy, Field Services Specialist, 
Commission on the Virginia Alcohol Safety Action Program, 
1111 East Main Street, Suite 801, Richmond, VA, 23219, 
telephone (804) 786-5895, or email rfoy@vasap.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R21-03; Filed November 3, 2020, 11:00 a.m. 

http://www.townhall.virginia.gov/
mailto:leslie.knachel@dhp.virginia.gov
mailto:rfoy@vasap.virginia.gov
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PERIODIC REVIEWS AND SMALL BUSINESS IMPACT REVIEWS 

TITLE 16. LABOR AND EMPLOYMENT 

DEPARTMENT OF LABOR AND INDUSTRY 
Report of Findings 

Pursuant to §§ 2.2-4007.1 and 2.2-4017 of the Code of 
Virginia, the Department of Labor and Industry conducted a 
periodic review and small business impact review of 
16VAC15-50, Regulation Governing the Employment of 
Minors on Farms, in Gardens and in Orchards, and 
determined that this regulation should be retained in its current 
form. The department is publishing its report of findings dated 
October 14, 2020, to support this decision. 

This regulation is highly effective in ensuring that agricultural 
employers do not place minors in truly hazardous situations. 
All hazardous occupations in this regulation are demonstrable 
and proven hazards, even for adults. This regulation is essential 
in focusing society's attention to the fact that while minors may 
work at many jobs at 14 years of age and may work at most 
jobs at 16 years of age, certain occupations are so clearly 
dangerous, even to adults, that they should be only performed 
by mature adults. 

The regulation is clearly written and easily understandable. 

This regulation should have minimal economic impact on 
small businesses. The regulation also offers clarity and 
guidance for small businesses that employ minors to work on 
farms, in gardens, and in orchards. 

This regulation does not overlap, duplicate, or conflict with 
federal or state law or regulation. This regulation was last 
reviewed four years ago. There have not been significant 
changes in technology, economic conditions, or other factors 
in the area affected by the regulation since it became effective. 

The department has determined that retaining the regulation 
without amendment is consistent with the stated objectives of 
applicable law, and is the most effective way to minimize the 
economic impact of regulations on small businesses. 

Contact Information: Holly Trice, Attorney, Department of 
Labor and Industry, Main Street Centre, 600 East Main Street, 
Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 786-2641, or email 
holly.trice@doli.virginia.gov. 

  ––––––––––––––––––   
 

 
TITLE 22. SOCIAL SERVICES 

DEPARTMENT FOR AGING AND REHABILITATIVE 
SERVICES 

Agency Notice 

Pursuant to Executive Order 14 (as amended July 16, 2018) 
and §§ 2.2-4007.1 and 2.2-4017 of the Code of Virginia, the 
following regulation is undergoing a periodic review and a 
small business impact review: 22VAC30-11, Public 
Participation Guidelines. The review will be guided by the 
principles in Executive Order 14 (as amended July 16, 2018). 

The purpose of this review is to determine whether this 
regulation should be repealed, amended, or retained in its 
current form. Public comment is sought on the review of any 
issue relating to this regulation, including whether the 
regulation (i) is necessary for the protection of public health, 
safety, and welfare or for the economical performance of 
important governmental functions; (ii) minimizes the 
economic impact on small businesses in a manner consistent 
with the stated objectives of applicable law; and (iii) is clearly 
written and easily understandable. 

Public comment period begins November 23, 2020, and ends 
December 14, 2020. 

Comments must include the commenter's name and address 
(physical or email) information in order to receive a response 
to the comment from the agency. 

Following the close of the public comment period, a report of 
both reviews will be posted on the Virginia Regulatory Town 
Hall and published in the Virginia Register of Regulations. 

Contact Information: Charlotte Arbogast, Policy Analyst, 
Department for Aging and Rehabilitative Services, 8004 
Franklin Farms Drive, Richmond, VA 23229, telephone (804) 
662-7063, FAX (804) 662-7663, TDD (800) 464-9950, or 
email charlotte.arbogast@dars.virginia.gov. 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

mailto:holly.trice@doli.virginia.gov
mailto:charlotte.arbogast@dars.virginia.gov
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NOTICES OF INTENDED REGULATORY ACTION 

TITLE 9. ENVIRONMENT 

STATE WATER CONTROL BOARD 

Notice of Intended Regulatory Action 
Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 2.2-4007.01 of the 
Code of Virginia that the State Water Control Board intends to 
consider promulgating 9VAC25-920, General Permit for Use 
of the Surficial Aquifer in a Groundwater Management 
Area. This regulatory action will create a new general permit 
to promote use of the surficial aquifer in any groundwater 
management area. The purpose of the proposed new regulation 
is to conserve groundwater in the confined aquifers within 
groundwater management areas for potable needs. Chapter 670 
of the 2020 Acts of Assembly directs the State Water Control 
Board to address the impacts of nonagricultural irrigation on 
the confined aquifer system by prohibiting the use of these 
aquifers unless the quality and quantity of the surficial aquifer 
is insufficient for the proposed beneficial use. The new general 
permit for nonagricultural irrigation from the surficial aquifer 
will include the establishment of permit terms, withdrawal 
limits, reporting requirements, and criteria for determining 
adequate quality and quantity from the surficial aquifer 
necessary to permit withdrawals. 
Statutory Authority: §§ 62.1-256, 62.1-258.1, and 62.1-266 of 
the Code of Virginia. 
Public Comment Deadline: December 23, 2020. 
Agency Contact: Joseph Grist, Department of Environmental 
Quality, 1111 East Main Street, Suite 1400, P.O. Box 1105, 
Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 698-4031, or email 
joseph.grist@deq.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R21-6550; Filed October 22, 2020. 

mailto:joseph.grist@deq.virginia.gov
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REGULATIONS 

TITLE 4. CONSERVATION AND NATURAL 
RESOURCES 

BOARD OF WILDLIFE RESOURCES 
Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Board of Wildlife Resources is 
claiming an exemption from the Administrative Process Act 
pursuant to § 2.2-4002 A 3 of the Code of Virginia when 
promulgating regulations regarding the management of 
wildlife.  

Title of Regulation: 4VAC15-20. Definitions and 
Miscellaneous: In General (amending 4VAC15-20-50). 
Statutory Authority: §§ 29.1-103, 29.1-501, and 29.1-502 of 
the Code of Virginia. 
Effective Date: January 1, 2021. 
Agency Contact: Aaron Proctor, Regulations Coordinator, 
Department of Wildlife Resources, 7870 Villa Park Drive, 
Suite 400, Henrico, VA 23228, telephone (804) 367-8341, or 
email aaron.proctor@dwr.virginia.gov. 
Summary: 

The amendment updates the List of Native and Naturalized 
Fauna of Virginia to the 2020 version. 

4VAC15-20-50. Definitions; "wild animal," "native 
animal," "naturalized animal," "nonnative (exotic) 
animal," and "domestic animal." 

A. In accordance with § 29.1-100 of the Code of Virginia, the 
following terms shall have the meanings ascribed to them by 
this section when used in regulations of the board:  

"Native animal" means those species and subspecies of 
animals naturally occurring in Virginia, as included in the 
department's 2018 2020 "List of Native and Naturalized Fauna 
of Virginia," with copies available in the headquarters and 
regional offices of the department.  

"Naturalized animal" means those species and subspecies of 
animals not originally native to Virginia that have established 
wild, self-sustaining populations, as included in the 
department's 2018 2020 "List of Native and Naturalized Fauna 
of Virginia," with copies available in the headquarters and 
regional offices of the department.  

"Nonnative (exotic) animal" means those species and 
subspecies of animals not naturally occurring in Virginia, 
excluding domestic and naturalized species.  

The following animals are defined as domestic animals:  

Domestic dog (Canis familiaris), including wolf hybrids.  

Domestic cat (Felis catus), including hybrids with wild 
felines.  

Domestic horse (Equus caballus), including hybrids with 
Equus asinus.  

Domestic ass, burro, and donkey (Equus asinus).  

Domestic cattle (Bos taurus and Bos indicus).  

Domestic sheep (Ovis aries) including hybrids with wild 
sheep.  

Domestic goat (Capra hircus).  

Domestic swine (Sus scrofa), including pot-bellied pig and 
excluding any swine that are wild or for which no claim of 
ownership can be made.  

Llama (Lama glama).  

Alpaca (Lama pacos).  

Camels (Camelus bactrianus and Camelus dromedarius).  

Domesticated races of hamsters (Mesocricetus spp.).  

Domesticated races of mink (Mustela vison) where adults 
are heavier than 1.15 kilograms or their coat color can be 
distinguished from wild mink.  

Domesticated races of guinea pigs (Cavia porcellus).  

Domesticated races of gerbils (Meriones unguiculatus).  

Domesticated races of chinchillas (Chinchilla laniger).  

Domesticated races of rats (Rattus norvegicus and Rattus 
rattus).  

Domesticated races of mice (Mus musculus).  

Domesticated breeds of European rabbit (Oryctolagus 
cuniculus) recognized by the American Rabbit Breeders 
Association, Inc. and any lineage resulting from 
crossbreeding recognized breeds. A list of recognized rabbit 
breeds is available on the department's website.  

Domesticated races of chickens (Gallus).  

Domesticated races of turkeys (Meleagris gallopavo).  

Domesticated races of ducks and geese distinguishable 
morphologically from wild birds.  

Feral pigeons (Columba domestica and Columba livia) and 
domesticated races of pigeons.  

mailto:aaron.proctor@dwr.virginia.gov
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Domesticated races of guinea fowl (Numida meleagris).  

Domesticated races of peafowl (Pavo cristatus). 
"Wild animal" means any member of the animal kingdom, 

except domestic animals, including without limitation any 
native, naturalized, or nonnative (exotic) mammal, fish, bird, 
amphibian, reptile, mollusk, crustacean, arthropod, or other 
invertebrate, and includes any hybrid of them, except as 
otherwise specified in regulations of the board, or part, 
product, egg, or offspring of them, or the dead body or parts of 
them.  

B. Exception for red foxes and European rabbits. 
Domesticated red foxes (Vulpes vulpes) having coat colors 
distinguishable from wild red foxes and wild European rabbits 
possessed in captivity on July 1, 2017, may be maintained in 
captivity until the animal dies, but the animal may not be bred 
or sold without a permit from the department. Persons 
possessing domesticated red foxes or European rabbits without 
a permit from the department must declare such possession in 
writing to the department by January 1, 2018. This written 
declaration must include the number of individual animals in 
possession and date acquired, sex, estimated age, coloration, 
and a photograph of each fox or European rabbit. This written 
declaration shall (i) serve as a permit for possession only, (ii) 
is not transferable, and (iii) must be renewed every five years. 
DOCUMENTS INCORPORATED BY REFERENCE 
List of Native and Naturalized Fauna of Virginia, April 2018, 
Virginia Department of Game and Inland Fisheries 
List of Native and Naturalized Fauna of Virginia, October 
2020, Virginia Department of Wildlife Resources 
Federal Endangered and Threatened Animal Species as of May 
7, 2019 

VA.R. Doc. No. R21-5905; Filed October 28, 2020. 

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Board of Wildlife Resources is 
claiming an exemption from the Administrative Process Act 
pursuant to § 2.2-4002 A 3 of the Code of Virginia when 
promulgating regulations regarding the management of 
wildlife.  

Title of Regulation: 4VAC15-20. Definitions and 
Miscellaneous: In General (amending 4VAC15-20-66). 
Statutory Authority: §§ 29.1-103, 29.1-501, and 29.1-502 of 
the Code of Virginia. 
Effective Date: January 1, 2021. 
Agency Contact: Aaron Proctor, Regulations Coordinator, 
Department of Wildlife Resources, 7870 Villa Park Drive, 
Suite 400, Henrico, VA 23228, telephone (804) 367-8341, or 
email aaron.proctor@dwr.virginia.gov. 
Summary: 

The amendments extend the daily or annual fee provision for 
use of certain department-owned or department-managed 

facilities to include all department-managed lands and boat 
launch sites. This fee shall not apply to any person who is a 
passenger of but not the owner or operator of a paddlecraft 
or registered vessel. 

4VAC15-20-66. Admittance, parking, or other use fee at 
certain department-owned and department-managed 
facilities.  

A. Pursuant to the authority of the board under § 29.1-103 
(14) of the Code of Virginia and in accordance with § 29.1-113 
of the Code of Virginia, a daily fee of $3.00 or an annual fee 
equal to the price of an annual basic state resident fishing or 
hunting license is established for admittance, parking, or other 
use at department-owned wildlife management areas or 
department-managed lands, boat launch sites, and public 
fishing lakes. Such fee shall not apply to (i) any person holding 
a valid hunting, trapping, or fishing license, or a current 
certificate of boat registration issued by the department; (ii) 
persons 16 years of age or younger; or (iii) the use of 
department-owned boat ramps. any person who is a passenger 
in but not the owner or operator of a paddlecraft or registered 
vessel. 

B. Any person violating this section may, in lieu of any 
criminal penalty, be assessed a civil penalty of $50 in lieu of 
any criminal penalty. 

C. The director may waive fees for any person, group, or 
organization whenever such action is deemed to be in the 
department's interest. Any or all facilities may be closed by the 
director without notice due to an emergency or natural disaster. 
Full refunds or credits may be issued whenever the closure 
prevents any use of the facility during the term of the permit. 
Partial refunds of fees may be made in the interest of providing 
better customer service. 

D. The director may allow deviations from established fees in 
the form of discounts or special promotions for the purpose of 
stimulating visitation and use of departmental facilities. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R21-5914; Filed October 28, 2020. 

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Board of Wildlife Resources is 
claiming an exemption from the Administrative Process Act 
pursuant to § 2.2-4002 A 3 of the Code of Virginia when 
promulgating regulations regarding the management of 
wildlife.  

Title of Regulation: 4VAC15-20. Definitions and 
Miscellaneous: In General (adding 4VAC15-20-155). 
Statutory Authority: §§ 29.1-103, 29.1-501, and 29.1-502 of 
the Code of Virginia. 
Effective Date: January 1, 2021. 
Agency Contact: Aaron Proctor, Regulations Coordinator, 
Department of Wildlife Resources, 7870 Villa Park Drive, 
Suite 400, Henrico, VA 23228, telephone (804) 367-8341, or 
email aaron.proctor@dwr.virginia.gov. 

http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=32d01005905%7E10.pdf&typ=40&actno=005905&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=32d01005905%7E10.pdf&typ=40&actno=005905&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=b10fe005933%7E39.pdf&typ=40&actno=005933&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=b10fe005933%7E39.pdf&typ=40&actno=005933&mime=application/pdf
mailto:aaron.proctor@dwr.virginia.gov
mailto:aaron.proctor@dwr.virginia.gov
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Summary: 

The regulation authorizes dispersed primitive camping on 
Wildlife Management Areas and other department-owned or 
department-controlled lands. The regulation additionally 
establishes and defines terms and conditions for camping. 

4VAC15-20-155. Camping on Wildlife Management Areas 
and other department-owned or department-managed 
lands.  

A. Temporary dispersed camping, with no amenities 
provided, may only be performed on Wildlife Management 
Areas (WMAs) and other department-owned or managed lands 
when occupants are engaged in authorized activities and in 
strict compliance with established terms and conditions, 
including those listed in this section. Camping may be 
prohibited on certain portions or entire parcels of department-
owned or managed lands, including certain WMAs.  

B. Authorization. It shall be unlawful to camp without written 
authorization from the department. Written authorization to 
camp is required in addition to any and all other licenses, 
permits or authorizations that may otherwise be required. 
Written authorization is obtained by completing and 
submitting a Camping Authorization Form. Only an individual 
18 years of age or older who is a member of and accepts 
responsibility for the camp and camping group may be issued 
a camping authorization. 

C. Camping periods. Unless otherwise posted or authorized, 
it shall be unlawful to camp for more than 14 consecutive 
nights, or more than 14 nights in a 28-day period on 
department-owned or controlled lands. At the end of the 
authorized camping period, all personal property and any 
refuse must be removed. 

D. Prohibited locations. Camping is allowed only at 
previously cleared and established sites. No vegetation may be 
cut, damaged, or removed to establish a camp site. It shall be 
unlawful to camp within 300 feet of any department-owned 
lake, boat ramp or other facility. It shall be unlawful to camp 
at other specific locations as posted. This section shall not 
prohibit active angling at night along shorelines where 
permitted. 

E. Removal of personal property and refuse. Any person who 
establishes or occupies a camp shall be responsible for the 
complete removal of all personal property and refuse when the 
camping authorization has expired. Any personal property or 
refuse that remains after the camping authorization has expired 
shall be considered litter and punishable pursuant to § 33.2-802 
of the Code of Virginia. 

F. It shall be unlawful when camping on department-owned 
or managed lands to store or leave unattended any food 
(including food for pets and livestock), refuse, bear attractant, 
or other wildlife attractant unless it is (i) in a bear-resistant 
container; (ii) in a trunk of a vehicle or in a closed, locked, 
hard-sided motor vehicle with a solid top; (iii) in a closed, 
locked, hard-body trailer; or (iv) suspended at least 10 feet 

clear of the ground at all points and at least four feet 
horizontally from the supporting tree or pole and any other tree 
or pole. It shall be unlawful to discard, bury, or abandon any 
food, refuse, bear attractant, or other wildlife attractant unless 
it is disposed of by placing it inside an animal-resistant trash 
receptacle provided by the department.  

G. Any violation of this section or other posted rules shall be 
punishable as a Class III misdemeanor, and the camping permit 
shall become null and void. The permittee shall be required to 
immediately vacate the property upon summons or 
notification. A second or subsequent offense may result in the 
loss of camping privileges on department-owned or managed 
properties.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R21-5916; Filed October 28, 2020. 

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Board of Wildlife Resources is 
claiming an exemption from the Administrative Process Act 
pursuant to § 2.2-4002 A 3 of the Code of Virginia when 
promulgating regulations regarding the management of 
wildlife.  

Title of Regulation: 4VAC15-30. Definitions and 
Miscellaneous: Importation, Possession, Sale, etc., of 
Animals (amending 4VAC15-30-40). 
Statutory Authority: §§ 29.1-103, 29.1-501, and 29.1-502 of 
the Code of Virginia. 
Effective Date: January 1, 2021. 
Agency Contact: Aaron Proctor, Regulations Coordinator, 
Department of Wildlife Resources, 7870 Villa Park Drive, 
Suite 400, Henrico, VA 23228, telephone (804) 367-8341, or 
email aaron.proctor@dwr.virginia.gov. 
Summary: 

The amendments clarify the exception for grass carp and 
add an exception relating to the possession and transport of 
Alabama bass. 

4VAC15-30-40. Importation requirements, possession, and 
sale of nonnative (exotic) animals.  

A. Permit required. A special permit is required and may be 
issued by the department, if consistent with the department's 
fish and wildlife management program, to import, possess, or 
sell those nonnative (exotic) animals listed [ below in the 
following table ] and in 4VAC15-20-210 that the board finds 
and declares to be predatory or undesirable within the meaning 
and intent of § 29.1-542 of the Code of Virginia, in that their 
introduction into the Commonwealth will be detrimental to the 
native fish and wildlife resources of Virginia.  

 

 

mailto:aaron.proctor@dwr.virginia.gov
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AMPHIBIANS 

Order Family Genus/Species Common Name 

Anura Bufonidae Rhinella marina Cane toad* 

Pipidae Hymenochirus spp. 
Pseudohymenochiris merlini 

African dwarf frog 

Xenopus spp. Tongueless or African clawed frog 

Caudata Ambystomatidae All species All mole salamanders 

BIRDS 

Order Family Genus/Species Common Name 

Psittaciformes Psittacidae  Myiopsitta monachus Monk parakeet* 

Anseriformes Anatidae  Cygnus olor Mute swan 

FISH 

Order Family Genus/Species Common Name 

Cypriniformes  Catostomidae Catostomus microps Modoc sucker 

Catostomus santaanae Santa Ana sucker 

Catostomus warnerensis Warner sucker  

Ictiobus bubalus  Smallmouth* buffalo 

I. cyprinellus Bigmouth* buffalo 

I. niger  Black buffalo* 

Characidae Pygopristis spp. 
Pygocentrus spp. 
Rooseveltiella spp. 
Serrasalmo spp. 
Serrasalmus spp. 
Taddyella spp. 

Piranhas 

Cobitidae Misgurnus anguillicaudatus Oriental weatherfish 

Cyprinidae Aristichyhys nobilis Bighead carp* 

Chrosomus saylori Laurel dace 

Ctenopharyngodon idella Grass carp or white amur 

Cyprinella caerulea Blue shiner 

Cyprinella formosa Beautiful shiner 

Cyprinella lutrensis  Red shiner 

Hypophthalmichthys molitrix Silver carp* 

Mylopharyngodom piceus Black carp* 

Notropis albizonatus Palezone shiner 

Notropis cahabae Cahaba shiner 

Notropis girardi Arkansas River shiner 

Notropis mekistocholas Cape Fear shiner 

Notropis simus pecosensis Pecos bluntnose shiner 
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Notropis topeka (= tristis) Topeka shiner 

Phoxinus cumberlandensis Blackside dace 

Rhinichthys osculus lethoporus Independence Valley speckled dace 

Rhinichthys osculus nevadensis Ash Meadows speckled dace 

Rhinichthys osculus oligoporus Clover Valley speckled dace 

Rhinichthys osculus ssp. Foskett speckled dace 

Rhinichthys osculus thermalis Kendall Warm Springs dace 

Scardinius erythrophthalmus Rudd 

Tinca tinca Tench* 

Cyprinodontiformes Poeciliidae Gambusia gaigei Big Bend gambusia 

Gambusia georgei San Marcos gambusia 

Gambusia heterochir Clear Creek gambusia 

Gambusia nobilis Pecos gambusia 

Peociliopsis occidentalis Gila topminnow 

Gasterosteiformes Gasterosteidae Gasterosteus aculeatus williamsoni Unarmored threespine stickleback 

Gobiesociformes Gobiidae Proterorhinus marmoratus Tubenose goby 

Neogobius melanostomus Round goby 

Perciformes Channidae Channa spp. 
Parachanna spp. 

Snakeheads 

Cichlidae Tilapia spp. Tilapia 

Gymnocephalus cernuum Ruffe* 

Elassomatidae Elassoma alabamae Spring pygmy sunfish 

Percidae Crystallaria cincotta Diamond darter 

Etheostoma chermocki Vermilion darter 

Etheostoma boschungi Slackwater darter 

Etheostoma chienense Relict darter 

Etheostoma etowahae Etowah darter 

Etheostoma fonticola Fountain darter 

Etheostoma moorei Yellowcheek darter 

Etheostoma nianguae Niangua darter 

Etheostoma nuchale Watercress darter 

Etheostoma okaloosae Okaloosa darter 

Etheostoma phytophilum Rush darter 

Etheostoma rubrum Bayou darter 

Etheostoma scotti Cherokee darter 

Etheostoma sp. Bluemask (= jewel) darter 

Etheostoma susanae Cumberland darter 
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Etheostoma wapiti Boulder darter 

Percina antesella Amber darter 

Percina aurolineata Goldline darter 

Percina jenkinsi Conasauga logperch 

Percina pantherina Leopard darter 

Percina tanasi Snail darter 

Scorpaeniformes Cottidae Cottus sp. Grotto sculpin 

Cottus paulus (= pygmaeus) Pygmy sculpin 

Siluriformes Clariidae All species Air-breathing catfish 

Ictaluridae Noturus baileyi Smoky madtom 

Noturus crypticus Chucky madtom 

Noturus placidus Neosho madtom 

Noturus stanauli Pygmy madtom 

Noturus trautmani Scioto madtom 

Synbranchiformes Synbranchidae Monopterus albus Swamp eel 

MAMMALS 

Order Family Genus/Species Common Name 

Artiodactyla Suidae  All Species Pigs or Hogs* 

Cervidae All Species Deer* 

Carnivora Canidae All Species Wild Dogs,* Wolves, Coyotes or Coyote 
hybrids, Jackals and Foxes 

Ursidae All Species Bears* 

Procyonidae All Species Raccoons and* Relatives 

Mustelidae All Species Weasels, Badgers,* Skunks and Otters 

(except Mustela putorius furo) Ferret 

Viverridae All Species Civets, Genets,* Lingsangs, Mongooses, and 
Fossas 

Herpestidae All Species Mongooses* 

Hyaenidae All Species Hyenas and Aardwolves* 

Felidae All Species Cats* 

Chiroptera   All Species Bats* 

Lagomorpha Lepridae Brachylagus idahoensis Pygmy rabbit 

Lepus europeaeous European hare 

Oryctolagus cuniculus European rabbit 

Sylvilagus bachmani riparius Riparian brush rabbit 

Sylvilagus palustris hefneri Lower Keys marsh rabbit 

Rodentia   All species native to Africa All species native to Africa 
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Dipodidae Zapus hudsonius preblei Preble's meadow jumping mouse 

Muridae Microtus californicus scirpensis Amargosa vole 

Microtus mexicanus hualpaiensis Hualapai Mexican vole 

Microtus pennsylvanicus 
dukecampbelli 

Florida salt marsh vole 

Neotoma floridana smalli Key Largo woodrat 

Neotoma fuscipes riparia Riparian (= San Joaquin Valley) woodrat 

Oryzomys palustris natator Rice rat 

Peromyscus gossypinus 
allapaticola 

Key Largo cotton mouse 

Peromyscus polionotus allophrys Choctawhatchee beach mouse 

Peromyscus polionotus ammobates Alabama beach mouse 

Peromyscus polionotus niveiventris  Southeastern beach mouse  

Peromyscus polionotus 
peninsularis 

St. Andrew beach mouse 

Peromyscus polionotus phasma Anastasia Island beach mouse 

Peromyscus polionotus trissyllepsis Perdido Key beach mouse 

Reithrodontomys raviventris Salt marsh harvest mouse 

Heteromyidae Dipodomys heermanni morroensis Morro Bay kangaroo rat 

Dipodomys ingens  Giant kangaroo rat 

Dipodomys merriami parvus San Bernadino Merriam's kangaroo rat 

Dipodomys nitratoides exilis Fresno kangaroo rat 

Dipodomys nitratoides nitratoides Tipton kangaroo rat 

Dipodomys stephensi (including D. 
cascus) 

Stephens' kangaroo rat 

Perognathus longimembris 
pacificus 

Pacific pocket mouse 

Sciuridae Cynomys spp. Prairie dogs 

Spermophilus brunneus brunneus Northern Idaho ground squirrel 

Tamiasciurus hudsonicus 
grahamensis 

Mount Graham red squirrel 

Soricomorpha Soricidae Sorex ornatus relictus Buena Vista Lake ornate shrew 

MOLLUSKS 

Order Family Genus/Species Common Name 

Neotaenioglossa Hydrobiidae Potamopyrgus antipodarum New Zealand mudsnail 

Veneroida Dreissenidae Dreissena bugensis  Quagga mussel 

Dreissena polymorpha  Zebra mussel 

REPTILES 

Order Family Genus/Species Common Name 
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Crocodilia Alligatoridae All species Alligators, caimans* 

Crocodylidae  All species Crocodiles*  

Gavialidae All species Gavials* 

Squamata Colubridae Boiga irregularis Brown tree snake* 

CRUSTACEANS 

Order Family Genus/Species Common Name 

Decapoda Cambaridae Cambarus aculabrum Cave crayfish 

Cambarus zophonastes Cave crayfish 

Orconectes rusticus Rusty crayfish 

Orconectes shoupi Nashville crayfish 

Pacifastacus fortis Shasta crayfish 

Procambarus sp. Marbled crayfish 

Parastacidae Cherax spp. Australian crayfish 

Varunidea Eriocheir sinensis Chinese mitten crab 

B. Temporary possession permit for certain animals. 
Notwithstanding the permitting requirements of subsection A 
of this section, a person, company, or corporation possessing 
any nonnative (exotic) animal, designated with an asterisk (*) 
in subsection A of this section, prior to July 1, 1992, must 
declare such possession in writing to the department by 
January 1, 1993. This written declaration shall serve as a 
permit for possession only, is not transferable, and must be 
renewed every five years. This written declaration must 
include species name, common name, number of individuals, 
date or dates acquired, sex (if possible), estimated age, height 
or length, and other characteristics such as bands and band 
numbers, tattoos, registration numbers, coloration, and specific 
markings. Possession transfer will require a new permit 
according to the requirements of this subsection.  

C. Exception for certain monk parakeets. A permit is not 
required for monk parakeets (quakers) that have been captive 
bred and are closed-banded with a seamless band.  

D. Exception for parts or products. A permit is not required 
for parts or products of those nonnative (exotic) animals listed 
in subsection A of this section that may be used for personal 
use, in the manufacture of products, or used in scientific 
research, provided that such parts or products be packaged 
outside the Commonwealth by any person, company, or 
corporation duly licensed by the state in which the parts 
originate. Such packages may be transported into the 
Commonwealth, consistent with other state laws and 
regulations, so long as the original package remains unbroken, 
unopened and intact until its point of destination is reached. 
Documentation concerning the type and cost of the animal 
parts ordered, the purpose and date of the order, point and date 
of shipping, and date of receiving shall be kept by the person, 

business, or institution ordering such nonnative (exotic) animal 
parts. Such documentation shall be open to inspection by a 
representative of the Department of [ Game and Inland 
Fisheries Wildlife Resources ].  

E. Exception for prairie dogs. The effective date of listing of 
prairie dogs under subsection A of this section shall be January 
1, 1998. Prairie dogs possessed in captivity in Virginia on 
December 31, 1997, may be maintained in captivity until the 
animals' deaths, but they may not be sold on or after January 1, 
1998, without a permit.  

F. Exception for snakehead fish. Anglers may legally harvest 
snakehead fish of the family Channidae, provided that they 
immediately kill such fish and that they notify the department, 
as soon as practicable, of such actions.  

G. Exception for feral hogs. Anyone may legally trap feral 
hogs with written permission of the landowner, provided that 
any trapped hogs are not removed from the trap site alive and 
are killed immediately.  

H. Exception for grass carp. Anglers may legally harvest 
grass carp of the family Cyprinidae only from public waters of 
the Commonwealth, except from department-owned or 
department-controlled lakes, provided that anglers. It is 
unlawful to harvest grass carp from any public inland lake or 
reservoir. Anglers taking grass carp must ensure that harvested 
grass carp are dead.  

I. Exception for Alabama bass. Anglers may possess live 
Alabama bass of the family Centrarchidae only on the body of 
water from which the fish were captured, provided that the 
angler does not live transport these fish outside of the body of 
water from which the fish were captured. Anglers may only 
release live Alabama bass back into the body of water from 
which the fish were captured. Anglers may legally harvest 
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Alabama bass provided that the anglers ensure all harvested 
Alabama bass are dead. 

J. All other nonnative (exotic) animals. All other nonnative 
(exotic) animals not listed in subsection A of this section may 
be possessed, purchased, and sold; provided, that such animals 
shall be subject to all applicable local, state, and federal laws 
and regulations, including those that apply to 
threatened/endangered species, and further provided, that such 
animals shall not be liberated within the Commonwealth.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R21-5906; Filed October 28, 2020. 

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Board of Wildlife Resources is 
claiming an exemption from the Administrative Process Act 
pursuant to § 2.2-4002 A 3 of the Code of Virginia when 
promulgating regulations regarding the management of 
wildlife.  

Title of Regulation: 4VAC15-320. Fish: Fishing Generally 
(amending 4VAC15-320-25, 4VAC15-320-60, 4VAC15-
320-100). 
Statutory Authority: §§ 29.1-103, 29.1-501, and 29.1-502 of 
the Code of Virginia. 
Effective Date: January 1, 2021. 

Agency Contact: Aaron Proctor, Regulations Coordinator, 
Department of Wildlife Resources, 7870 Villa Park Drive, 
Suite 400, Henrico, VA 23228, telephone (804) 367-8341, or 
email aaron.proctor@dwr.virginia.gov. 
Summary: 

The amendments (i) adjust creel and length limits for 
largemouth bass, smallmouth bass, spotted bass, Alabama 
bass, white bass, saugeye, yellow perch, and blue catfish; 
(ii) prohibit the stocking of spotted bass in private waters; 
(iii) remove the prohibition of mechanical paddle wheel 
boats on department-owned or department-controlled 
waters; and (iv) require a boat ramp special use permit and 
immediate live release of fish taken at the capture site 
following certification during a fishing tournament. 

4VAC15-320-25. Creel and length limits.  
The creel limits (including live possession) and the length 

limits for the various species of fish shall be as follows, unless 
otherwise excepted by posted rules at department-owned or 
department-controlled waters (see 4VAC15-320-100 D).  

 

 

 

Type of fish Subtype or location Creel and length 
limits Geographic exceptions Creel or length limits for 

exceptions 

largemouth bass, 
smallmouth bass, 
spotted bass 

  5 per day in the 
aggregate 
(combined)  
No statewide length 
limits 

Lakes   
Briery Creek Lake No largemouth or 

smallmouth bass 16 to 24 
inches; only 1 largemouth or 
smallmouth bass per day in 
the aggregate longer than 24 
inches 

Buggs Island (Kerr) Only 2 of 5 largemouth or 
smallmouth bass in the 
aggregate less than 14 
inches 

Claytor Lake No smallmouth bass less 
than 14 inches; 15 spotted 
bass per day 

Flannagan Reservoir No smallmouth bass less 
than 15 inches  
No largemouth bass less 
than 12 inches 

Lake Gaston Only 2 of 5 largemouth or 
smallmouth bass in the 
aggregate less than 14 
inches 

mailto:aaron.proctor@dwr.virginia.gov
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Leesville Reservoir Only 2 of 5 largemouth or 
smallmouth bass in the 
aggregate less than 14 
inches 

Lake Moomaw No largemouth or 
smallmouth bass less than 
12 inches 

Philpott Reservoir No largemouth or 
smallmouth bass less than 
12 inches 

Quantico Marine Base 
waters 

No largemouth or 
smallmouth bass 12 to 15 
inches 

Smith Mountain Lake 
and its tributaries below 
Niagara Dam 

Only 2 of 5 largemouth or 
smallmouth  bass in the 
aggregate less than 14 
inches 

Rivers   
Clinch River – within 
the boundaries of Scott, 
Wise, Russell, or 
Tazewell Counties 

No largemouth or 
smallmouth bass less than 
20 inches; only 1 
largemouth or smallmouth 
bass in the aggregate per 
day longer than 20 inches 

Levisa Fork River – 
within the boundaries 
Buchanan County 

No largemouth or 
smallmouth bass less than 
20 inches; only 1 
largemouth or smallmouth 
bass in the aggregate per 
day longer than 20 inches 

Dan River and 
tributaries downstream 
from the Union Street 
Dam, Danville 

Only 2 of 5 largemouth or 
smallmouth bass less than 
14 inches 

James River – 
Confluence of the 
Jackson and Cowpasture 
rivers (Botetourt 
County) downstream to 
the 14th Street Bridge in 
Richmond 

No largemouth or 
smallmouth bass 14 to 22 
inches; only 1 largemouth or 
smallmouth bass in the 
aggregate per day longer 
than 22 inches 
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New River – Fields 
Dam (Grayson County) 
downstream to the VA - 
WV state line and its 
tributaries Little River 
downstream from Little 
River Dam in 
Montgomery County, 
Big Walker Creek from 
the Norfolk Southern 
Railroad Bridge 
downstream to the New 
River, and Wolf Creek 
from the Narrows Dam 
downstream to the New 
River in Giles County 
(This does not include 
Claytor Lake, which is 
delineated as: The upper 
end of the island at 
Allisonia downstream to 
the dam) 

No largemouth or 
smallmouth bass 14 to 22 
inches; only 1 largemouth or 
smallmouth bass in the 
aggregate per day longer 
than 22 inches 

North Fork Holston 
River - Rt. 91 bridge 
upstream of Saltville, 
VA downstream to the 
VA - TN state line 

No largemouth or 
smallmouth bass less than 
20 inches; only 1 
largemouth or smallmouth 
bass in the aggregate per 
day longer than 20 inches 

North Fork Shenandoah 
River – Rt. 42 bridge, 
Rockingham County 
downstream to the 
confluence with S. Fork 
Shenandoah at Front 
Royal 

No bass 11 to 14 inches 

Potomac River - 
Virginia tidal tributaries 
above Rt. 301 bridge 

No largemouth or 
smallmouth bass less than 
15 inches from March 1 
through June 15 

Roanoke (Staunton) 
River - and its 
tributaries below 
Difficult Creek, 
Charlotte County 

Only 2 of 5 largemouth or 
smallmouth bass in the 
aggregate less than 14 
inches 

Shenandoah River –    

Confluence of South 
Fork and North Fork 
Rivers, Front Royal, 
downstream, to the 
Warren Dam, near Front 
Royal 

No bass 11 to 14 inches 
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Base of Warren Dam, 
near Front Royal 
downstream to Rt. 17/50 
bridge 

No bass 14 to 20 inches; 
only 1 per day longer than 
20 inches 

Rt. 17/50 bridge 
downstream to VA - 
WV state line 

No bass 11 to 14 inches 

South Fork Shenandoah 
River - 

  

Shenandoah River, 
South Fork Shenandoah 
River, North Fork 
Shenandoah River 
Confluence of North 
and South rivers, below 
Port Republic, 
downstream to 
Shenandoah Dam, near 
Town of Shenandoah 

No largemouth or 
smallmouth bass 11 to 14 
inches 

Base of Shenandoah 
Dam, near Town of 
Shenandoah, 
downstream to Luray 
Dam, near Luray  

No bass 14 to 20 inches; 
only 1 per day longer than 
20 inches 

Base of Luray Dam, 
near Luray, downstream 
to the confluence with 
North Fork of 
Shenandoah, Front 
Royal 

No bass 11 to 14 inches 

Staunton River -   

Leesville Dam 
(Campbell County) 
downstream to the 
mouth of Difficult 
Creek, Charlotte County 

No largemouth or 
smallmouth bass less than 
20 inches; only 1 
largemouth or smallmouth 
bass in the aggregate per 
day longer than 20 inches 

Alabama bass, 
spotted bass 

 
No statewide daily 
limit 
No statewide length 
limit 
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striped bass landlocked striped 
bass and landlocked 
striped bass - white 
bass hybrids 

4 per day in the 
aggregate  
No fish less than 20 
inches 

Buggs Island (Kerr) 
Reservoir, including the 
Staunton River to 
Leesville Dam and the 
Dan River to Union 
Street Dam (Danville) 

October 1 - May 31: 2 per 
day in the aggregate; no 
striped bass or hybrid 
striped bass less than 20 
inches  
June 1 - September 30: 4 per 
day in the aggregate; no 
length limit 

Claytor Lake and its 
tributaries 

September 16 – June 30: 2 
per day in the aggregate; no 
striped bass or hybrid bass 
less than 20 inches 
July 1 – September 15: 4 per 
day in the aggregate;  
no length limit 

Smith Mountain Lake 
and its tributaries, 
including the Roanoke 
River upstream to 
Niagara Dam 

2 per day in the aggregate  
November 1 - May 31: No 
striped bass 30 to 40 inches 
June 1 - October 31: No 
length limit 

Lake Gaston 4 per day in the aggregate 
October 1 - May 31: No 
striped bass or hybrid 
striped bass less than 20 
inches 
June 1 - September 30: No 
length limit 

anadromous 
(coastal) striped 
bass above the fall 
line in all coastal 
rivers of the 
Chesapeake Bay 

Creel and length 
limits shall be set by 
the Virginia Marine 
Resources 
Commission for 
recreational fishing 
in tidal waters 
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anadromous 
(coastal) in the 
Meherrin, 
Nottoway, 
Blackwater 
(Chowan Drainage), 
North Landing and 
Northwest Rivers 
and their tributaries 
plus Back Bay 

2 per day  
No striped bass less 
than 18 inches 

    

white bass   5 per day  
No statewide length 
limits 

Buggs Island (Kerr) 
Reservoir, including the 
Staunton River to 
Leesville Dam and the 
Dan River to Union 
Street Dam (Danville) 

10 per day; no white bass 
less than 14 inches 

Lake Gaston 10 per day; no white bass 
less than 14 inches 

walleye, saugeye   5 per day in the 
aggregate 
No walleye or 
saugeye less than 18 
inches 

New River upstream of 
Buck Dam in Carroll 
County 

No walleye less than 20 
inches 

Claytor Lake and the 
New River upstream of 
Claytor Lake Dam to 
Buck Dam in Carroll 
County 

February 1 - May 31: 2 
walleye per day; no walleye 
19 to 28 inches 
June 1 - January 31: 5 
walleye per day; no walleye 
less than 20 inches 

sauger   2 per day  
No statewide length 
limits 

    

yellow perch 
 

No statewide daily 
limit 
No statewide length 
limits 

Lake Moomaw 10 per day 

Below the fall line in all 
coastal rivers of the 
Chesapeake Bay 

No yellow perch less than 9 
inches; no daily limit 

chain pickerel   5 per day  
No statewide length 
limits 

Gaston and Buggs 
Island (Kerr) Reservoirs 

No daily limit 

northern pike   2 per day  
No pike less than 20 
inches 
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muskellunge   2 per day  
No muskellunge less 
than 30 inches 

New River - Fields Dam 
(Grayson County) 
downstream to Claytor 
Dam, including Claytor 
Lake 

1 per day; no muskellunge 
less than 42 inches 

New River - Claytor 
Dam downstream to the 
VA - WV state line 

1 per day  
June 1 - last day of 
February: No muskellunge 
40 to 48 inches 
March 1 - May 31: No 
muskellunge less than 48 
inches 

bluegill (bream) and 
other sunfish 
excluding crappie, 
rock bass (redeye) 
and Roanoke bass 

  50 per day in the 
aggregate  
No statewide length 
limits 

Gaston and Buggs 
Island (Kerr) Reservoirs 
and that portion of the 
New River from the 
VA - NC state line 
downstream to the 
confluence of the New 
and Little Rivers in 
Grayson County 

No daily limit 

crappie (black or 
white) 

  25 per day in the 
aggregate  
No statewide length 
limits 

Lake Gaston and that 
portion of the New 
River from the VA - NC 
state line downstream to 
the confluence of the 
New and Little Rivers in 
Grayson County 

No daily limit 

Buggs Island (Kerr) 
Reservoir 

No crappie less than 9 
inches 

Briery Creek and Sandy 
River Reservoirs 

No crappie less than 9 
inches 

Flannagan and South 
Holston Reservoirs 

No crappie less than 10 
inches 

rock bass (redeye)   25 per day; in the 
aggregate with 
Roanoke bass  
No statewide length 
limits 

Gaston and Buggs 
Island (Kerr) Reservoirs 
and that portion of the 
New River from the 
VA - NC state line 
downstream to the 
confluence of the New 
and Little Rivers in 
Grayson County 

No daily limit 
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Nottoway, Meherrin, 
Blackwater (Franklin 
County), Falling, and 
Smith Rivers and their 
tributaries 

5 per day in the aggregate 
with Roanoke bass;  
no rock bass less than 8 
inches  

Roanoke bass   25 per day in the 
aggregate with rock 
bass  
No statewide length 
limits 

Nottoway, Meherrin, 
Blackwater (Franklin 
County), Falling, and 
Smith Rivers and their 
tributaries 

5 per day in the aggregate 
with rock bass;  
no Roanoke bass less than 8 
inches 

trout See 4VAC15-330. Fish: Trout Fishing.   
catfish channel, white, and 

flathead catfish 
20 per day;  
No length limits 

All rivers below the fall 
line 

No daily limit 

blue catfish 20 per day; 
No statewide length 
limits 

Lake Gaston No daily limit, except only 1 
blue catfish per day longer 
than 32 inches 

Kerr Reservoir 20 per day, except only 1 
blue catfish per day longer 
than 32 inches 

James River and its 
tributaries below the fall 
line, Rappahannock 
River and its tributaries 
below the fall line, and 
York River and its 
tributaries (including the 
Pamunkey River and 
Mattaponi River) below 
the fall line 

No daily limit, except only 1 
blue catfish per day longer 
than 32 inches 

All rivers below the fall 
line other than the James 
River and its tributaries, 
Rappahannock River 
and its tributaries, and 
the York River and its 
tributaries 

No daily limit 

yellow, brown, and 
black bullheads 

No daily limit; 
No length limits 

    

hickory shad 

Above and below 
the fall line in all 
coastal rivers of the 
Chesapeake Bay 

Creel and length 
limits shall be the 
same as those set by 
the Virginia Marine 
Resources 
Commission in tidal 
rivers 
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Meherrin River 
below Emporia 
Dam Nottoway 
River, Blackwater 
River (Chowan 
Drainage), North 
Landing and 
Northwest Rivers, 
and their tributaries 
plus Back Bay 

10 per day  
No length limits 

    

American shad 
 

No possession     

anadromous (coastal) 
alewife and blueback 
herring 

Above and below 
the fall line in all 
coastal rivers of the 
Chesapeake Bay 

Creel and length 
limits shall be the 
same as those set by 
the Virginia Marine 
Resources 
Commission for 
these species in tidal 
rivers 

    

Meherrin River, 
Nottoway River, 
Blackwater River 
(Chowan Drainage), 
North Landing and 
Northwest Rivers, 
and their tributaries 
plus Back Bay 

No possession      

red drum Back Bay and 
tributaries including 
Lake Tecumseh and 
the North Landing 
River and its 
tributaries 

1 per day  
No drum less than 18 
inches or greater than 
27 inches 

  

spotted sea trout 
(speckled trout) 

Back Bay and 
tributaries including 
Lake Tecumseh and 
the North Landing 
River and its 
tributaries 

4 per day  
No sea trout less than 
14 inches 

  

grey trout (weakfish) Back Bay and 
tributaries including 
Lake Tecumseh and 
North Landing 
River and its 
tributaries 

1 per day  
No grey trout less 
than 12 inches 

  



Regulations 

Volume 37, Issue 7  Virginia Register of Regulations  November 23, 2020  

863 

southern flounder Back Bay and 
tributaries including 
Lake Tecumseh and 
the North Landing 
River and its 
tributaries 

6 per day  
No flounder less than 
15 inches 

  

northern snakehead 
 

Anglers may possess 
snakeheads taken 
from Virginia waters 
if they immediately 
kill the fish and 
notify the 
headquarters or a 
regional office of the 
department; 
notification may be 
made by telephoning 
(804) 367-2925 
No statewide daily 
limit 
No statewide length 
limits 

    

longnose gar   5 per day 
No statewide length 
limits 

    

bowfin   5 per day 
No statewide length 
limits 

    

American eel   25 per day 
No eel less than 9 
inches 

Back Bay and North 
Landing River 

No possession limit for 
those individuals possessing 
a permit obtained under 
4VAC15-340-80 

other native or 
naturalized nongame 
fish 

See 4VAC15-360-10. Fish: Aquatic 
Invertebrates, Amphibians, Reptiles, and 
Nongame Fish. Taking aquatic 
invertebrates, amphibians, reptiles, and 
nongame fish for private use. 

  

endangered or 
threatened fish 

See 4VAC15-20-130. Definitions and 
Miscellaneous: In General. Endangered and 
threatened species; adoption of federal list; 
additional species enumerated. 

  

nonnative (exotic) 
fish 

See 4VAC15-30-40. Definitions and 
Miscellaneous: Importation, Possession, 
Sale, Etc., of Animals. Importation 
requirements, possession and sale of 
nonnative (exotic) animals. 
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4VAC15-320-60. Approval required to stock fish into 
inland waters.  

It shall be unlawful to stock any species of fish into any inland 
waters of the Commonwealth, without first obtaining written 
approval to do so from the department. Nothing in this section 
shall be construed as restricting the use of native and 
naturalized species of fish in privately-owned ponds and lakes, 
except spotted bass, blue catfish, and their hybrids may not be 
stocked.  

4VAC15-320-100. Department-owned or department-
controlled lakes, ponds, streams, boat access sites, or 
hatcheries.  

A. Motors and boats. Unless otherwise posted at each 
recognized entrance to any department-owned or department-
controlled lake, pond, or stream, the use of boats propelled by 
a gasoline motors, motor or sail or mechanically operated 
recreational paddle wheel is prohibited. Department 
employees and other government agency officials may use 
gasoline motors in the performance of official duties.  

B. Method of fishing. Taking any fish at any department-
owned or department-controlled lake, pond, or stream by any 
means other than by use of one or more attended poles with 
hook and line attached is prohibited unless otherwise posted in 
which case cast nets (subject to 4VAC15-360-10 B) may be 
used for collecting nongame fish for use as bait.  

C. Hours for fishing. Fishing is permitted 24 hours a day 
unless otherwise posted at each recognized entrance to any 
department-owned or department-controlled lake, pond, 
stream, or boat access site.  

D. Seasons; hours and methods of fishing; size and creel 
limits; hunting and trapping. The open seasons for (i) fishing, 
as well as fishing hours, methods of taking fish, and the size, 
possession, and creel limits, and (ii) hunting and trapping for 
department-owned or department-controlled lakes, ponds, 
streams or boat access sites shall conform to the regulations of 
the board unless otherwise excepted by posted rules by the 
director or his designee. Such posted rules shall be displayed 
at each lake, pond, stream, or boat access site, in which case 
the posted rules shall be in effect. Failure to comply with 
posted rules concerning seasons, hours, methods of taking, bag 
limits, and size, possession, and creel limits shall constitute a 
violation of this regulation.  

E. Other uses. Camping overnight or building fires (except in 
developed and designated areas), swimming, or wading in 
department-owned or department-controlled lakes, ponds, or 
streams (except by anglers, hunters and trappers actively 
engaged in fishing, hunting, or trapping), is prohibited. All 
other uses shall conform to the regulations of the board unless 
excepted by posted rules.  

F. Fishing tournaments, etc. It shall be unlawful A boat ramp 
special use permit is required to organize, conduct, supervise, 
or solicit entries for fishing tournaments, rodeos, or other 
fishing events on lakes, ponds, or streams owned by the 

department, for which prizes are offered, awarded, or accepted 
based on size or numbers of fish caught, either in money or 
other valuable considerations. This chapter will not prohibit 
events approved by the department that are intended to 
promote youth fishing or provide instruction, provided no 
prizes, as defined above, are awarded and no participation fees 
are charged. Any fish captured and entered for scoring or 
consideration during a permitted fishing tournament, rodeo, or 
other fishing event on lakes, ponds, or streams owned by the 
department must be immediately released at the capture site. A 
boat ramp special use permit is not required for tournaments, 
rodeos, or other fishing events that occur on a statewide or 
nationwide basis and that do not have a designated meeting or 
gathering location. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R21-5909; Filed October 28, 2020. 

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Board of Wildlife Resources is 
claiming an exemption from the Administrative Process Act 
pursuant to § 2.2-4002 A 3 of the Code of Virginia when 
promulgating regulations regarding the management of 
wildlife.  

Title of Regulation: 4VAC15-330. Fish: Trout Fishing 
(amending 4VAC15-330-150, 4VAC15-330-160; repealing 
4VAC15-330-110). 
Statutory Authority: §§ 29.1-103, 29.1-501, and 29.1-502 of 
the Code of Virginia. 
Effective Date: January 1, 2021. 
Agency Contact: Aaron Proctor, Regulations Coordinator, 
Department of Wildlife Resources, 7870 Villa Park Drive, 
Suite 400, Henrico, VA 23228, telephone (804) 367-8341, or 
email aaron.proctor@dwr.virginia.gov. 
Summary: 

The amendments (i) repeal the special provisions applicable 
to certain portions of Green Cove Creek, Smith Creek, Snake 
Creek, and Whitetop Laurel Creek regarding the taking of 
trout; (ii) add portions of Green Cove Creek in Washington 
County, Whitetop Laurel Creek in Washington County, 
Smith Creek in Alleghany County, and Snake Creek and 
Little Snake Creek in Carroll County to the special provision 
for artificial lure, single hook-only trout fishing; and (iii) 
remove portions of the Hardware River in Fluvanna County 
and Peak Creek in Pulaski County and add portions of the 
Hardy Creek in Lee County and the Piney River in Nelson 
County to the special provision for artificial lure only and 
no live possession of bait or trout for trout fishing. 

4VAC15-330-110. Special provisions applicable to certain 
portions of Green Cove Creek, Smith Creek, Snake Creek 
and Whitetop Laurel Creek. (Repealed.) 

It shall be lawful to fish using only artificial lures with single 
hooks in that portion of Green Cove Creek in Washington County 
from Route 859 downstream to its mouth, in that portion of Smith 
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Creek in Alleghany County from the Clifton Forge Reservoir Dam 
downstream to a sign at the Forest Service boundary above the C 
+ O Dam, on Snake Creek in Carroll County upstream from its 
mouth to Hall's Fork on Big Snake Fork and to the junction of 
Routes 922 and 674 on Little Snake Fork, in Whitetop Laurel 
Creek in Washington County upstream from the mouth of Straight 
Branch to a sign at the Forest Service boundary just downstream 
of Taylor Valley, and in Whitetop Laurel Creek in Washington 
County upstream from the first railroad trestle above Taylor 
Valley to the mouth of Green Cove Creek at Creek Junction. All 
trout caught in these waters under 12 inches in length shall be 
immediately returned to the water unharmed. It shall be unlawful 
for any person to have in his possession any bait or any trout under 
12 inches in length in these areas.  

4VAC15-330-150. Special provision applicable to trout 
fishing using artificial lures with single hook.  

It shall be lawful year around to fish for trout using only 
artificial lures with single hooks within:  

1. The Stewarts Creek Trout Management Area in Carroll 
County.  

2. The Rapidan and Staunton Rivers and their tributaries 
upstream from a sign at the Lower Shenandoah National 
Park boundary in Madison County.  

3. The Dan River and its tributaries between the Townes 
Dam and the Pinnacles Hydroelectric Project powerhouse in 
Patrick County.  

4. The East Fork of Chestnut Creek (Farmers Creek) and its 
tributaries upstream from the Blue Ridge Parkway in 
Grayson and Carroll Counties.  

5. Roaring Fork and its tributaries upstream from the 
southwest boundary of Beartown Wilderness Area in 
Tazewell County.  

6. That section of the South Fork Holston River and its 
tributaries from the concrete dam at Buller Fish Culture 
Station downstream to the lower boundary of the Buller Fish 
Culture Station in Smyth County.  

7. North Creek and its tributaries upstream from a sign at the 
George Washington National Forest North Creek 
Campground in Botetourt County.  

8. Spring Run from it confluence with Cowpasture River 
upstream to a posted sign at the discharge for Coursey 
Springs Hatchery in Bath County.  

9. Venrick Run and its tributaries within the Big Survey 
Wildlife Management Area and Town of Wytheville 
property in Wythe County.  

10. Brumley Creek and its tributaries from the Hidden Valley 
Wildlife Management Area boundary upstream to the Hidden 
Valley Lake Dam in Washington County.  

11. Stony Creek (Mountain Fork) and its tributaries within 
the Jefferson National Forest in Wise and Scott Counties 

from the outlet of High Knob Lake downstream to the 
confluence of Chimney Rock Fork and Stony Creek.  

12. Little Stony Creek and its tributaries within the Jefferson 
National Forest in Scott County from the Falls of Little 
Stony Creek downstream to a posted sign at the Hanging 
Rock Recreation Area.  

13. Little Tumbling Creek and its tributaries within the 
Clinch Mountain Wildlife Management Area in Smyth and 
Tazewell Counties downstream to the concrete bridge.  

14. Big Tumbling Creek and its tributaries within the Clinch 
Mountain Wildlife Management Area in Smyth County from 
a sign starting at the foot of the mountain and extending 
upstream seasonally from October 1 until five days prior to 
the first Saturday in April. 

15. South River in the City of Waynesboro from the Wayne 
Avenue Bridge downstream 2.2 miles to the Second Street 
Bridge. 

16. Wolf Creek and its tributaries within the Abingdon 
Muster Grounds in the Town of Abingdon from Colonial 
Road downstream to Stone Mill Road. 

17. Beaver Creek and its tributaries within the boundaries of 
Sugar Hollow Park in the City of Bristol.  

18. Green Cove Creek in Washington County from Route 859 
downstream to its mouth. 

19. Whitetop Laurel Creek in Washington County upstream 
from the mouth of Straight Branch to a sign posted at the Forest 
Service boundary just downstream of Taylor Valley, and in 
Whitetop Laurel Creek in Washington County upstream from 
the first railroad trestle above Taylor Valley to the mouth of 
Green Cove Creek at Creek Junction. 

20. Smith Creek in Alleghany County from the Clifton Forge 
Dam downstream to a sign at the Forest Service boundary above 
the C & O Dam.  

21. Snake Creek in Carroll County below Hall Ford and that 
portion of Little Snake Creek below the junction of Routes 922 
and 674, downstream to Route 58. 

All trout caught in these waters must be immediately returned to 
the water. No trout or bait may be in possession at any time in 
these areas.  

4VAC15-330-160. Special provisions applicable to certain 
portions of Accotink Creek, Back Creek, Big Moccasin 
Creek, Chestnut Creek, Hardware River Hardy Creek, 
Holliday Creek, Holmes Run, Indian Creek, North River, 
Passage Creek, Peak Creek, Pedlar River, Piney River, 
North Fork of Pound and Pound rivers, Middle Fork of 
Powell River, and Roanoke River.  

It shall be lawful to fish from October 1 through May 31, both 
dates inclusive, using only artificial lures in Accotink Creek 
(Fairfax County) from King Arthur Road downstream 3.1 
miles to Route 620 (Braddock Road), in Back Creek (Bath 
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County) from the Route 600 bridge just below the Virginia 
Power Back Creek Dam downstream 1.5 miles to the Route 
600 bridge at the lower boundary of the Virginia Power 
Recreational Area, in Big Moccasin Creek (Scott County) from 
the Virginia Department of Transportation foot bridge 
downstream approximately 1.9 miles to the Wadlow Gap 
Bridge, in Chestnut Creek (Carroll County) from the U.S. 
Route 58 bridge downstream 11.4 miles to the confluence with 
New River, in the Hardware River (Fluvanna County) from the 
Route 646 bridge upstream 3.0 miles to Muleshoe Bend as 
posted Hardy Creek (Lee County) from the Virginia 
Department of Transportation swinging bridge just upstream 
of the Route 658 ford downstream to the Route 661 bridge, in 
Holliday Creek (Appomattox/Buckingham Counties) from the 
Route 640 crossing downstream 2.8 miles to a sign posted at 
the headwaters of Holliday Lake, in Holmes Run (Fairfax 
County) from the Lake Barcroft Dam downstream 1.2 miles to 
a sign posted at the Alexandria City line, in Indian Creek 
within the boundaries of Wilderness Road State Park (Lee 
County), in the North River (Augusta County) from the base 
of Elkhorn Dam downstream 1.5 miles to a sign posted at the 
head of Staunton City Reservoir, in Passage Creek (Warren 
County) from the lower boundary of the Front Royal State 
Hatchery upstream 0.9 miles to the Shenandoah/Warren 
County line, in Peak Creek (Pulaski County) from the 
confluence of Tract Fork downstream 2.7 miles to the Route 
99 bridge, in the Pedlar River (Amherst County) from the City 
of Lynchburg/George Washington National Forest boundary 
line (below Lynchburg Reservoir) downstream 2.7 miles to the 
boundary line of the George Washington National Forest, in 
the Piney River (Nelson County) in that portion of stream from 
the Piney River Trailhead (Route 151) to the Rose Mill 
Trailhead (Route 674) adjacent to the Blue Ridge Railway 
Trail, in North Fork of Pound and Pound rivers from the base 
of North Fork of Pound Dam downstream to the confluence 
with Indian Creek, in the Middle Fork of Powell River (Wise 
County) from the old train trestle at the downstream boundary 
of Appalachia extending approximately 1.9 miles downstream 
to the trestle just upstream of the Town of Big Stone Gap, in 
the Roanoke River (Roanoke County) from the Route 760 
bridge (Diuguids Lane) upstream 1.0 miles to a sign posted at 
the upper end of Green Hill Park (Roanoke County), and in the 
Roanoke River (City of Salem) from the Route 419 bridge 
upstream 2.2 miles to the Colorado Street bridge. From 
October 1 through May 31, all trout caught in these waters 
must be immediately returned to the water unharmed, and it 
shall be unlawful for any person to have in possession any bait 
or trout. During the period of June 1 through September 30, the 
above restrictions will not apply.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R21-5910; Filed October 28, 2020. 

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Board of Wildlife Resources is 
claiming an exemption from the Administrative Process Act 
pursuant to § 2.2-4002 A 3 of the Code of Virginia when 

promulgating regulations regarding the management of 
wildlife.  

Title of Regulation: 4VAC15-340. Fish: Seines and Nets 
(amending 4VAC15-340-10, 4VAC15-340-30, 4VAC15-
340-60). 
Statutory Authority: §§ 29.1-103, 29.1-501, and 29.1-502 of 
the Code of Virginia. 
Effective Date: January 1, 2021. 
Agency Contact: Aaron Proctor, Regulations Coordinator, 
Department of Wildlife Resources, 7870 Villa Park Drive, 
Suite 400, Henrico, VA 23228, telephone (804) 367-8341, or 
email aaron.proctor@dwr.virginia.gov. 
Summary: 

The amendments (i) prohibit American shad from being 
taken using haul seines or gill nets in the City of Virginia 
Beach on Back Bay and its natural tributaries and (ii) 
prohibit the use of seines, nets, or traps in streams and their 
associated tributaries that flow into Hungry Mother Lake in 
Smyth County. 

4VAC15-340-10. Haul seines to take fish for sale.  
A. Authorization to take fish for sale. A haul seine permit 

shall authorize the person to whom issued to take fish for sale 
as specified with a haul seine from the waters designated in this 
section.  

B. Permit holder to be present when seine operated. The 
holder of a haul seine permit must be present with the seine at 
all times when it is being operated. The holder, however, may 
have others to assist him, and such persons assisting are not 
required to have a permit.  

C. Length and size of nets. The length of haul seine nets shall 
not be more than 500 yards. The size of mesh shall be 1-1/2 
inch bar mesh.  

D. Season and fish to be taken in Virginia Beach City. In Back 
Bay and its natural tributaries (not including Lake Tecumseh 
and Red Wing Lake), North Landing River from the North 
Carolina line to Pungo Ferry (not including Blackwater River), 
the open season to take all fish, except game fish, American 
shad, alewife, and blueback herring, with a haul seine shall be 
from November 1 through March 31, both dates inclusive. The 
harvest limit for anadromous American and hickory shad shall 
be 10 per day, in the aggregate.  

E. Labeling packages containing fish taken with haul seine. It 
shall be unlawful for any person to ship or otherwise transport 
any package, box, or other receptacle containing fish taken 
under a haul seine permit unless the same bears a label showing 
the name and address of the owner of the seine and a statement 
of the kind of fish contained in it.  

F. Reporting. The holder of a permit to take fish for sale by 
means of haul seines shall keep a record of the pounds of fish 
taken by species and location (name and county of water body), 
and the pounds of each species sold.  
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4VAC15-340-30. Gill nets.  
A. Authorization to take fish. A gill net permit shall authorize 

the holder thereof to take nongame fish during the times and in 
the waters and for the purposes provided for in this section. 
Such gill net shall not be more than 300 feet in length. The 
mesh size shall be not less than one-inch bar or square mesh 
(three-inch stretch mesh). Applicants must annually purchase 
tags for each net the applicant intends to operate and attach a 
department tag to each net prior to use. A single permit will be 
issued to the permittee and shall list each tag number the 
permittee has been issued. All nets must be checked daily and 
all game fish returned to the wild.  

B. Permit holder to be present when gill net is being set and 
checked for fish. The holder of a gill net permit must be present 
with the net at all times when it is being set and checked for 
fish. The holder may have others to assist him, and such 
persons assisting are not required to have a permit. However, 
those assisting the permittee must meet the fishing license 
requirements of the Commonwealth.  

C. Times and places permitted in Virginia Beach City; fish 
which may be taken. Gill nets may be used in Virginia Beach 
City in Back Bay and its natural tributaries (not including Lake 
Tecumseh and Red Wing Lake) and North Landing River from 
the North Carolina line to Pungo Ferry (not including 
Blackwater River) for the taking of nongame fish, except 
American shad, alewife, and blueback herring, for table use 
and also for sale from November 1 through March 31, both 
dates inclusive. The harvest limit for anadromous American 
and hickory shad shall be 10 per day, in the aggregate. Gill nets 
set in Back Bay waters shall be at least 300 feet from any other 
net and at least 300 feet from the shoreline. All such nets must 
be marked at both ends and at least every 100 feet along the 
length of the net with a five-inch by 12-inch minimum 
dimensions float.  

4VAC15-340-60. Seines, traps, and nets prohibited in 
certain areas.  

A. It shall be unlawful to use seines and nets of any kind for 
the taking of fish from the public waters of the Roanoke 
(Staunton) and Dan Rivers in Campbell, Charlotte, Halifax, 
and Pittsylvania Counties and in the City of Danville; 
provided, however, this section shall not be construed to 
prohibit the use of hand-landing nets for the landing of fish 
legally hooked or the taking of fish from these waters pursuant 
to the provisions of 4VAC15-360. In addition, this section shall 
not be construed to prohibit the use of cast nets, also known as 
throw nets, for the taking of bait fish. 

B. In Lick Creek and tributaries in Smyth and Bland Counties, 
in Bear Creek and Hungry Mother Creek above in streams and 
their associated tributaries that flow into Hungry Mother Lake 
in Smyth County, in Laurel Creek and tributaries upstream of 
Highway 16 bridge in Tazewell and Bland Counties, in Susong 
Branch and Mumpower Creek in Washington County and the 
City of Bristol, and in Timbertree Branch in Scott County, it 
shall be unlawful to use seines, nets, or traps; provided, 

however, this section shall not be construed to prohibit the use 
of hand-landing nets for the landing of fish legally hooked.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R21-5911; Filed October 28, 2020. 

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Board of Wildlife Resources is 
claiming an exemption from the Administrative Process Act 
pursuant to § 2.2-4002 A 3 of the Code of Virginia when 
promulgating regulations regarding the management of 
wildlife.  

Title of Regulation: 4VAC15-350. Fish: Gigs, Grab Hooks, 
Trotlines, Snares, etc. (amending 4VAC15-350-20, 
4VAC15-350-70). 
Statutory Authority: §§ 29.1-103, 29.1-501, and 29.1-502 of 
the Code of Virginia. 
Effective Date: January 1, 2021. 
Agency Contact: Aaron Proctor, Regulations Coordinator, 
Department of Wildlife Resources, 7870 Villa Park Drive, 
Suite 400, Henrico, VA 23228, telephone (804) 367-8341, or 
email aaron.proctor@dwr.virginia.gov. 
Summary: 

The amendments (i) define a fishing spear and allow the 
taking of nongame fish by gig or fishing spear from a 
position above the surface of the water on those portions 
below the fall line of the Rappahannock River and its 
tributaries and the Potomac River and its tributaries and (ii) 
change the lawful taking of certain fish with a bow and 
arrow or crossbow from public inland waters to public 
rivers and streams as well as changing the exception from 
department-owned or department-controlled lakes to public 
inland lakes and reservoirs. 

4VAC15-350-20. Gigs, grab hooks, etc.; certain counties 
east of the Blue Ridge Mountains.  

A. It shall be lawful to take nongame fish (daily creel 
(possession) and length limits for nongame fish are found in 
4VAC15-320-25) at any time by snagging, grabbing, snaring, 
gigging, and with a striking iron in all waters of the following 
counties, except (i) public impoundments, (ii) the Roanoke 
(Staunton) and River, (iii) the Dan rivers River, (iv) the James 
River in Goochland County, and (v) those waters stocked by 
the department, of the following counties: Amelia, 
Appomattox, Brunswick, Buckingham, Campbell, Charlotte, 
Cumberland, Dinwiddie, Goochland, Greensville, Halifax, 
Louisa, Lunenburg, Mecklenburg, Nottoway, Pittsylvania, and 
Prince Edward.  

B. It shall be lawful to take nongame fish by gig or fishing 
spear from a position above the surface of the water on those 
portions below the fall line of the Rappahannock River and its 
tributaries and the Potomac River and its tributaries. For the 
purpose of this section, a fishing spear is defined as an 
implement with a shaft and sharp point or tines designed to be 
thrusted or thrown by hand. 
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C. Daily creel (possession) and length limits for nongame fish 
are found in 4VAC15-320-25. 

4VAC15-350-70. Taking of fish with bow and arrow or 
crossbow.  

A. Season. Except as otherwise provided by local legislation 
or as posted, it shall be lawful to take common carp, northern 
snakehead, goldfish, and gar from the public inland waters of 
the Commonwealth, grass carp from public inland waters 
rivers and streams of the Commonwealth except department-
owned or department-controlled lakes public inland lakes and 
reservoirs, and bowfin and catfish from below the fall line in 
tidal rivers of the Chesapeake Bay, except waters stocked with 
trout, by means of bow and arrow or crossbow.  

B. Poison arrows or explosive-head arrows prohibited. It shall 
be unlawful to use poison arrows or arrows with explosive 
heads at any time for the purpose of taking common carp, grass 
carp, northern snakehead, bowfin, catfish, goldfish, or gar in 
the public inland waters of the Commonwealth.  

C. Fishing license required. All persons taking fish in the 
manner described in this section shall be required to have a 
regular fishing license.  

D. Creel limits. The creel limits for common carp, grass carp, 
northern snakehead, goldfish, and catfish shall be unlimited, 
provided that any angler taking northern snakehead 
immediately kill such fish and notify the department, as soon 
as practicable, of such actions and provided that any angler 
taking grass carp ensure that harvested fish are dead. The creel 
limit for bowfin and longnose gar shall be five fish per day. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R21-5912; Filed October 28, 2020. 

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Board of Wildlife Resources is 
claiming an exemption from the Administrative Process Act 
pursuant to § 2.2-4002 A 3 of the Code of Virginia when 
promulgating regulations regarding the management of 
wildlife.  

Title of Regulation: 4VAC15-360. Fish: Aquatic 
Invertebrates, Amphibians, Reptiles, and Nongame Fish 
(amending 4VAC15-360-10). 
Statutory Authority: §§ 29.1-103, 29.1-501, and 29.1-502 of 
the Code of Virginia. 
Effective Date: January 1, 2021. 
Agency Contact: Aaron Proctor, Regulations Coordinator, 
Department of Wildlife Resources, 7870 Villa Park Drive, 
Suite 400, Henrico, VA 23228, telephone (804) 367-8341, or 
email aaron.proctor@dwr.virginia.gov. 
Summary: 

This amendments (i) limit the harvest of grass carp to only 
public inland rivers and streams and prohibit their harvest 
from any public inland lake or reservoir and (ii) remove the 

provision for take of candy darter as previously allowed 
under this section. 

4VAC15-360-10. Taking aquatic invertebrates, 
amphibians, reptiles, and nongame fish for private use.  

A. Possession limits. Except as otherwise provided for in 
§ 29.1-418 of the Code of Virginia, 4VAC15-20-130, 
4VAC15-320-40, and the sections of this chapter, it shall be 
lawful to capture and possess live for private use and not for 
sale no more than five individuals of any single native or 
naturalized (as defined in 4VAC15-20-50) species of 
amphibian and reptile and 20 individuals of any single native 
or naturalized (as defined in 4VAC15-20-50) species of 
aquatic invertebrate and nongame fish unless specifically listed 
below in this subsection:  

1. The following species may be taken in unlimited numbers 
from inland waters statewide: carp, mullet, yellow bullhead, 
brown bullhead, black bullhead, flat bullhead, snail 
bullhead, white sucker, northern hogsucker, gizzard shad, 
threadfin shad, blueback herring (see 4VAC15-320-25 for 
anadromous blueback herring limits), white perch, yellow 
perch, alewife (see 4VAC15-320-25 for anadromous alewife 
limits), stoneroller (hornyhead), fathead minnow, golden 
shiner, goldfish, and Asian clams. Grass carp may only be 
harvested in unlimited numbers from public inland waters 
rivers and streams of the Commonwealth other than 
department-owned or department-controlled lakes. It is 
unlawful to harvest grass carp from any public inland lake 
and reservoir. Anglers taking grass carp must ensure that all 
harvested grass carp are dead. 

2. See 4VAC15-320-25 for American shad, hickory shad, 
channel catfish, white catfish, flathead catfish, and blue 
catfish limits.  

3. For the purpose of this chapter, "fish bait" shall be defined 
as native or naturalized species of minnows and chubs 
(Cyprinidae), salamanders (each under six inches in total 
length), crayfish, and hellgrammites. The possession limit 
for taking "fish bait" shall be 50 individuals in aggregate, 
unless said person has purchased "fish bait" and has a receipt 
specifying the number of individuals purchased by species, 
except salamanders and crayfish which cannot be sold 
pursuant to the provisions of 4VAC15-360-60 and 4VAC15-
360-70. However, stonerollers (hornyheads), fathead 
minnows, golden shiners, and goldfish may be taken and 
possessed in unlimited numbers as provided for in 
subdivision 1 of this subsection.  

4. The daily limit for bullfrogs shall be 15 and for snapping 
turtles shall be five. Snapping turtles shall only be taken 
from June 1 to September 30. Bullfrogs and snapping turtles 
may not be taken from the banks or waters of designated 
stocked trout waters.  
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5. The following species may not be taken in any number for 
private use: candy darter, eastern hellbender, diamondback 
terrapin, and spotted turtle.  

6. Native amphibians and reptiles, as defined in 4VAC15-
20-50, that are captured within the Commonwealth and 
possessed live for private use and not for sale may be 
liberated under the following conditions: 

a. Period of captivity does not exceed 30 days; 
b. Animals must be liberated at the site of capture; 
c. Animals must have been housed separately from other 
wild-caught and domestic animals; and 
d. Animals that demonstrate symptoms of disease or 
illness or that have sustained injury during their captivity 
may not be released. 

B. Methods of taking species in subsection A of this section. 
Except as otherwise provided for in the Code of Virginia, 
4VAC15-20-130, 4VAC15-320-40, and other regulations of 
the board, and except in any waters where the use of nets is 
prohibited, the species listed in subsection A of this section 
may only be taken (i) by hand, hook and line; (ii) with a seine 
not exceeding four feet in depth by 10 feet in length; (iii) with 
an umbrella type net not exceeding five by five feet square; (iv) 
by small minnow traps with throat openings no larger than one 
inch in diameter; (v) with cast nets; and (vi) with hand-held 
bow nets with diameter not to exceed 20 inches and handle 
length not to exceed eight feet (such cast net and hand-held 
bow nets when so used shall not be deemed dip nets under the 
provisions of § 29.1-416 of the Code of Virginia). Gizzard 
shad and white perch may also be taken from below the fall 
line in all tidal rivers of the Chesapeake Bay using a gill net in 
accordance with Virginia Marine Resources Commission 
recreational fishing regulations. Bullfrogs may also be taken 
by gigging or bow and arrow and, from private waters, by 
firearms no larger than .22 caliber rimfire. Snapping turtles 
may be taken for personal use with hoop nets not exceeding six 
feet in length with a throat opening not exceeding 36 inches. 

C. Areas restricted from taking mollusks. Except as provided 
for in §§ 29.1-418 and 29.1-568 of the Code of Virginia, it shall 
be unlawful to take the spiny riversnail (Io fluvialis) in the 
Tennessee drainage in Virginia (Clinch, Powell, and the North, 
South, and Middle Forks of the Holston Rivers and tributaries). 
It shall be unlawful to take mussels from any inland waters of 
the Commonwealth.  

D. Areas restricted from taking salamanders. Except as 
provided for in §§ 29.1-418 and 29.1-568 of the Code of 
Virginia, it shall be unlawful to take salamanders in Grayson 
Highlands State Park and on National Forest lands in the 
Jefferson National Forest in those portions of Grayson, Smyth, 
and Washington Counties bounded on the east by State Route 
16, on the north by State Route 603 and on the south and west 
by U.S. Route 58.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R21-5913; Filed October 28, 2020. 

MARINE RESOURCES COMMISSION 
Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Marine Resources Commission 
is claiming an exemption from the Administrative Process Act 
in accordance with § 2.2-4006 A 11 of the Code of Virginia; 
however, the commission is required to publish the full text of 
final regulations. 

Title of Regulation: 4VAC20-270. Pertaining to Blue Crab 
Fishery (amending 4VAC20-270-30, 4VAC20-270-40, 
4VAC20-270-51, 4VAC20-270-55). 
Statutory Authority: § 28.2-201 of the Code of Virginia. 
Effective Date: November 1, 2020. 
Agency Contact: Jennifer Farmer, Regulatory Coordinator, 
Marine Resources Commission, 380 Fenwick Road, Fort 
Monroe, VA 23651, telephone (757) 247-2248, or email 
jennifer.farmer@mrc.virginia.gov. 
Summary: 

The amendments extend the season for the hard crab pot 
fishery through December 19, 2020. 

4VAC20-270-30. Daily time limits for commercial harvest.  
A. It shall be unlawful for any person licensed to catch and 

sell crabs taken by crab pot or peeler pot to take and harvest 
crabs from any crab pot or peeler pot, or to retrieve, bait, or set 
any crab pot or peeler pot, except during the lawful daily time 
periods described in subsections A, B, C, and D of this section. 
The lawful daily time periods for the commercial harvesting of 
crabs by crab pot or peeler pot shall be from 6 a.m. to 2 p.m. 
during the lawful seasons, as described in 4VAC20-270-40 A, 
except as described in subsections B, C, and D of this section. 
The lawful daily time periods for the commercial harvesting of 
crabs by crab pot or peeler pot shall be from 5 a.m. to 1 p.m. 
during the months of May, June, July, and August, as described 
in 4VAC20-270-40 A, except as specified in subsections B, C, 
and D of this section. Crab pots or peeler pots already on board 
a boat at the end of the lawful daily time period, as defined in 
subsections A, B, and C of this section, may be set immediately 
following the end of lawful daily time period to one hour after 
the lawful daily time period ends.  

B. Any licensed crab pot or peeler pot fisherman who 
provides an opinion and supporting documentation from an 
attending physician to the commissioner of an existing medical 
condition that prevents him from adhering to the daily time 
limit established in subsection A of this section may be 
permitted by the commissioner or his designee to take and 
harvest crabs from his crab pot or peeler pot, or to retrieve, bait, 
or set his crab pot or peeler pot during an alternate eight-hour 
daily time limit. That alternative eight-hour daily time limit 
will be prescribed by the commissioner or his designee in 
accordance with the medical condition that forms a basis for 
the exception to the daily time limit as described in subsection 
A of this section.  
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Nothing in this regulation shall prohibit any licensed crab pot 
or peeler pot fisherman, who has been granted an exception to 
the eight-hour work schedule, on a medical basis, from using 
another licensed crab pot or peeler pot fisherman as a mate; 
provided, however, during the designated alternate work hours, 
only the crab pots or peeler pots of the fisherman receiving the 
exception shall be fished. Further, it shall be unlawful for the 
licensed crab fisherman, who has been granted an exception, 
or his mate, who is a licensed crab pot or peeler pot fisherman, 
to fish, set, retrieve, or bait, during the alternate work hours, 
any crab pot or peeler pot that is not owned and licensed by the 
fisherman granted the exception.  

C. Any licensed crab pot or peeler pot fisherman who requests 
and obtains an alternate eight-hour daily time limit permit shall 
be authorized to take and harvest crabs from his crab pot or 
peeler pot or to retrieve, bait, or set his crab pot or peeler pot 
one hour earlier than described in subsection A of this section, 
only for the months of June, July, August, and September. 
During the months of March, April, May, October, and 
November, and December, the lawful daily time period 
described in subsection A of this section applies to any crab 
pot or peeler pot licensee. The alternate lawful daily time 
periods for the commercial harvesting of crabs by crab pot or 
peeler pot shall be from 4 a.m. to 12 noon from June 1 through 
August 31 and from 5 a.m. to 1 p.m. from September 1 through 
September 30. Licensed crab pot or peeler pot fishermen must 
apply for this permit on an annual basis and shall adhere to the 
alternate daily time limit from the day the permit is issued 
through September 30, as well as subdivisions 1, 2, and 3 of 
this subsection. 

1. It shall be unlawful for two or more licensed crab pot or 
peeler pot fishermen, or their agents, to crab aboard the same 
vessel if their authorized eight-hour daily time limits are not 
identical. 

2. Requests for an alternate eight-hour time limit permit shall 
be submitted to the Marine Resources Commission annually 
and prior to May 15. Requests submitted on or after May 15 
will not be considered. 

3. Once any legal crab pot or peeler pot licensee obtains an 
alternate eight-hour daily time limit permit, that permittee 
shall be legally bound by the alternate eight-hour daily time 
limit as described in this subsection. 

D. The lawful daily time periods for the commercial harvest 
of crabs by crab pot or peeler pot may be rescinded by the 
Commissioner of Marine Resources when the commissioner 
determines that a pending weather event is sufficient cause for 
the removal of crab pots from the tidal waters of the 
Commonwealth.  

4VAC20-270-40. Season limits.  
A. In 2020, the lawful season for the commercial harvest of 

crabs by crab pot shall be March 17 through November 30 
December 19. In 2021, the lawful season for the commercial 
harvest of crabs by crab pot shall be March 17 through 

November 30. For all other lawful commercial gear used to 
harvest crabs, as described in 4VAC20-1040, the lawful 
seasons for the harvest of crabs shall be April 1 through 
October 31. 

B. It shall be unlawful for any person to harvest crabs or to 
possess crabs on board a vessel, except during the lawful 
season as described in subsection A of this section. 

C. It shall be unlawful for any person knowingly to place, set, 
fish, or leave any hard crab pot in any tidal waters of Virginia 
from December 1 20, 2020, through March 16, 2021. It shall 
be unlawful for any person to knowingly place, set, fish, or 
leave any lawful commercial gear used to harvest crabs, except 
any hard crab pot or any gear as described in 4VAC20-460-25, 
in any tidal waters of Virginia from November 1, 2020, 
through March 31, 2021. 

D. It shall be unlawful for any person knowingly to place, set, 
fish, or leave any fish pot in any tidal waters from March 12 
through March 16, except as provided in subdivisions 1 and 2 
of this subsection.  

1. It shall be lawful for any person to place, set, or fish any 
fish pot in those Virginia waters located upriver of the 
following boundary lines:  

a. In the James River the boundary shall be a line 
connecting Hog Point and the downstream point at the 
mouth of College Creek.  
b. In the York River the boundary lines shall be the Route 
33 bridges at West Point.  
c. In the Rappahannock River the boundary line shall be 
the Route 360 bridge at Tappahannock.  
d. In the Potomac River the boundary line shall be the 
Route 301 bridge that extends from Newberg, Maryland 
to Dahlgren, Virginia. 

2. This subsection shall not apply to legally licensed eel pots 
as described in 4VAC20-500-50.  

E. It shall be unlawful for any person to place, set, or fish any 
number of fish pots in excess of 10% of the amount allowed by 
the gear license limit, up to a maximum of 30 fish pots per 
vessel, when any person on that vessel has set any crab pots. 

1. This subsection shall not apply to fish pots set in the areas 
described in subdivision D 1 of this section. 

2. This subsection shall not apply to legally licensed eel pots 
as described in 4VAC20-500.  

3. This subsection shall not apply to fish pots constructed of 
a mesh less than one-inch square or hexagonal mesh. 

4VAC20-270-51. Daily commercial harvester, vessel, and 
harvest and possession limits.  

A. Any barrel used by a harvester to contain or possess any 
amount of crabs will be equivalent in volume to no more than 
three bushels of crabs. 
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B. From July 5, 2020, through November 30 December 19, 
2020, and April 1, 2021, through July 4, 2021, any commercial 
fisherman registration licensee legally licensed for any crab pot 
license, as described in 4VAC20-270-50 B, shall be limited to 
the following maximum daily harvest and possession limits for 
any of the following crab pot license categories: 

1. 10 bushels, or three barrels and one bushel, of crabs if 
licensed for up to 85 crab pots. 

2. 14 bushels, or four barrels and two bushels, of crabs if 
licensed for up to 127 crab pots. 

3. 18 bushels, or six barrels, of crabs if licensed for up to 170 
crab pots. 

4. 29 bushels, or nine barrels and two bushels, of crabs if 
licensed for up to 255 crab pots. 

5. 47 bushels, or 15 barrels and two bushels, of crabs if 
licensed for up to 425 crab pots. 

C. From March 17, 2021, through March 31, 2021, any 
commercial fisherman registration licensee legally licensed for 
any crab pot license, as described in 4VAC20-270-50 B, shall 
be limited to the following maximum daily harvest and 
possession limits for any of the following crab pot license 
categories: 

1. Eight bushels, or two barrels and two bushels, of crabs if 
licensed for up to 85 crab pots. 

2. 10 bushels, or three barrels and one bushel, of crabs if 
licensed for up to 127 crab pots. 

3. 13 bushels, or four barrels and one bushel, of crabs if 
licensed for up to 170 crab pots. 

4. 21 bushels, or seven barrels, of crabs if licensed for up to 
255 crab pots. 

5. 27 bushels, or nine barrels, of crabs if licensed for up to 
425 crab pots. 

D. When a single harvester or multiple harvesters are on 
board any vessel, that vessel's daily harvest and possession 
limit shall be equal to only one daily harvest and possession 
limit, as described in subsections B and C of this section, and 
that daily limit shall correspond to the highest harvest and 
possession limit of only one licensee on board that vessel. 

E. When transporting or selling one or more legal crab pot 
licensee's crab harvest in bushels or barrels, any agent shall 
possess either the crab pot license of that one or more crab pot 
licensees or a bill of lading indicating each crab pot licensee's 
name, address, commercial fisherman registration license 
number, date, and amount of bushels or barrels of crabs to be 
sold. 

F. If any police officer finds crabs in excess of any lawful 
daily bushel, barrel, or vessel limit, as described in this section, 
that excess quantity of crabs shall be returned immediately to 
the water by the licensee or licensees who possess that excess 

over lawful daily harvest or possession limit. The refusal to 
return crabs, in excess of any lawful daily harvest or possession 
limit, to the water shall constitute a separate violation of this 
chapter. 

G. When any person on board any boat or vessel possesses a 
crab pot license, it shall be unlawful for that person or any other 
person aboard that boat or vessel to possess a seafood buyers 
boat license and buy any crabs on any day.  

4VAC20-270-55. Minimum size limits.  
A. From March 17 through July 15, it shall be unlawful for 

any person to harvest, possess, sell, or offer for sale more than 
10 peeler crabs, per United States standard bushel, or 5.0% of 
peeler crabs in any other container, that measure less than 3-
1/4 inches across the shell from tip to tip of the longest spikes. 
From July 16 through November 30 December 19, it shall be 
unlawful for any person to harvest, possess, sell, or offer for 
sale more than 10 peeler crabs, per United States standard 
bushel, or 5.0% of peeler crabs in any other container, that 
measure less than 3-1/2 inches across the shell from tip to tip 
of the longest spikes, except as described in subsections B and 
C of this section. 

B. From July 16 through November 30 December 19, it shall 
be unlawful for any person to harvest, possess, sell, or offer for 
sale more than 10 peeler crabs, per United States standard 
bushel, or 5.0% of peeler crabs in any other container, that are 
harvested from waters on the ocean side of Accomack and 
Northampton Counties and measure less than 3-1/4 inches 
across the shell from tip to tip of the longest spikes, except as 
described in subsection C of this section.  

C. In the enforcement of these peeler crab minimum size 
limits aboard a vessel, the marine police officer shall select a 
single container of peeler crabs of his choosing to determine if 
the contents of that container violate the minimum size and 
tolerance described in this section. If the officer determines the 
contents of the container are in violation, then the officer shall 
return all peeler crabs on board the vessel to the water alive. 

D. It shall be unlawful for any person to take, catch, harvest, 
possess, sell or offer for sale, or to destroy in any manner, any 
soft crab that measures less than 3-1/2 inches across the shell 
from tip to tip of the longest spikes.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R21-6554; Filed October 27, 2020. 

  ––––––––––––––––––   
TITLE 12. HEALTH 

DEPARTMENT OF MEDICAL ASSISTANCE 
SERVICES 

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Department of Medical 
Assistance Services is claiming an exemption from Article 2 of 
the Administrative Process Act in accordance with § 2.2-4006 
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A 4 a of the Code of Virginia, which excludes regulations that 
are necessary to conform to changes in Virginia statutory law 
or the appropriation act where no agency discretion is 
involved. The Department of Medical Assistance Services will 
receive, consider, and respond to petitions by any interested 
person at any time with respect to reconsideration or revision. 

Titles of Regulations: 12VAC30-70. Methods and Standards 
for Establishing Payment Rates - Inpatient Hospital 
Services (amending 12VAC30-70-301). 

12VAC30-80. Methods and Standards for Establishing 
Payment Rates; Other Types of Care (amending 
12VAC30-80-30). 

12VAC30-90. Methods and Standards for Establishing 
Payment Rates for Long-Term Care (amending 12VAC30-
90-264). 
Statutory Authority: § 32.1-325 of the Code of Virginia; 
42 USC § 1396 et seq. 
Effective Date: December 23, 2020. 
Agency Contact: Emily McClellan, Regulatory Supervisor, 
Policy Division, Department of Medical Assistance Services, 
600 East Broad Street, Suite 1300, Richmond, VA 23219, 
telephone (804) 371-4300, FAX (804) 786-1680, or email 
emily.mcclellan@dmas.virginia.gov. 
Summary: 

The amendments conform the regulations to items in the 
budget bill (Chapter 1289 of the 2020 Acts of Assembly) 
adopted during the 2020 Session of the General Assembly. 
Pursuant to Item 313 HHHH, a supplemental 
disproportionate share hospital (DSH) payment for non-
state government, public acute care hospitals, up to its 
hospital-specific disproportionate share hospital limit 
(Omnibus Reconciliation Act 1993 DSH limit) as determined 
pursuant to 42 USC § 1396r-4, shall be made annually based 
upon the hospital's disproportionate share limit for the most 
recent year for which the disproportionate share limit has 
been calculated subject to the availability of DSH funds 
under the federal allotment of such funds to the department. 
Pursuant to Item 313 SSSS (1), which raised the rates for 
agency and consumer directed personal care, respite, and 
companion services in the home and community based 
services waivers and Early Periodic Screening, and 
Diagnosis and Treatment program by 5.0%, such rates are 
set to those established July 1, 2020. Pursuant to Item 313 
LLLL, specialized care operating rates for fiscal years 2021 
and 2022 are established by inflating the fiscal year 2020 
rates using Virginia nursing home inflation.  

12VAC30-70-301. Payment to disproportionate share 
hospitals.  

A. Payments to disproportionate share hospitals (DSH) shall 
be prospectively determined in advance of the state fiscal year 
to which they apply. The payments shall be made on a 

quarterly basis and shall be final subject to subsections E and 
K of this section. 

B. Effective July 1, 2014, in order to qualify for DSH 
payments, DSH eligible hospitals shall have a total Medicaid 
inpatient utilization rate equal to 14% or higher in the base year 
using Medicaid days eligible for Medicare DSH defined in 
42 USC § 1396r-4(b)(2) or a low income utilization rate 
defined in 42 USC § 1396r-4(b)(3) in excess of 25%. 
Eligibility for out-of-state cost reporting hospitals shall be 
based on total Medicaid utilization or on total Medicaid 
neonatal intensive care unit (NICU) utilization equal to 14% or 
higher. Effective July 1, 2018, freestanding children's hospitals 
located in the District of Columbia shall not be eligible for 
DSH payments. 

C. Effective July 1, 2014, the DSH reimbursement 
methodology for all hospitals except Type One hospitals is the 
following: 

1. Each hospital's DSH payment shall be equal to the DSH 
per diem multiplied by each hospital's eligible DSH days in 
a base year. Days reported in provider fiscal years in state 
fiscal year (FY) 2011 (available from the Medicaid cost 
report through the Hospital Cost Report Information System 
(HCRIS) as of July 30, 2013) will be the base year for FY 
2015 prospective DSH payments. DSH shall be recalculated 
annually with an updated base year. Future base year data 
shall be extracted from Medicare cost report summary 
statistics available through HCRIS as of October 1 prior to 
next year's effective date. 

2. Eligible DSH days are the sum of all Medicaid inpatient 
acute, psychiatric, and rehabilitation days above 14% for 
each DSH hospital subject to special rules for out-of-state 
cost reporting hospitals. Eligible DSH days for out-of-state 
cost reporting hospitals shall be the higher of the number of 
eligible days based on the calculation in the first sentence of 
this subdivision times Virginia Medicaid utilization 
(Virginia Medicaid days as a percent of total Medicaid days) 
or the Medicaid NICU days above 14% times Virginia NICU 
Medicaid utilization (Virginia NICU Medicaid days as a 
percent of total NICU Medicaid days). Eligible DSH days 
for out-of-state cost reporting hospitals that qualify for DSH 
but that have less than 12% Virginia Medicaid utilization 
shall be 50% of the days that would have otherwise been 
eligible DSH days. 

3. Additional eligible DSH days are days that exceed 28% 
Medicaid utilization for Virginia Type Two hospitals, 
excluding Children's Hospital of the Kings Daughters 
(CHKD). 

4. The DSH per diem shall be calculated in the following 
manner: 

a. The DSH per diem for Type Two hospitals is calculated 
by dividing the total Type Two DSH allocation by the sum 
of eligible DSH days for all Type Two DSH hospitals. For 
purposes of DSH, Type Two hospitals do not include 
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CHKD or any hospital whose reimbursement exceeds its 
federal uncompensated care cost limit. The Type Two 
hospital DSH allocation shall equal the amount of DSH 
paid to Type Two hospitals in state FY 2014 increased 
annually by the percent change in the federal allotment, 
including any reductions as a result of the Patient 
Protection and Affordable Care Act (Affordable Care 
Act), Public Law 111-148, adjusted for the state fiscal 
year. Effective July 1, 2018, the Type Two hospital DSH 
allocation shall be reduced by the amount of DSH 
allocated to freestanding children's hospitals located in the 
District of Columbia. 
b. The DSH per diem for state inpatient psychiatric 
hospitals is calculated by dividing the total state inpatient 
psychiatric hospital DSH allocation by the sum of eligible 
DSH days. The state inpatient psychiatric hospital DSH 
allocation shall equal the amount of DSH paid in state FY 
2013 increased annually by the percent change in the 
federal allotment, including any reductions as a result of 
the Affordable Care Act, adjusted for the state fiscal year. 
c. Effective July 1, 2017, the annual DSH payment shall 
be calculated separately for each eligible hospital by 
multiplying each year's state inpatient psychiatric hospital 
DSH allocation described in subdivision C 4 b of this 
section by the ratio of each hospital's uncompensated care 
cost for the most recent DSH audited year completed prior 
to the DSH payment year to the uncompensated care cost 
of all state inpatient psychiatric hospitals for the same 
audited year. 
d. The DSH per diem for CHKD shall be three times the 
DSH per diem for Type Two hospitals. 

5. Each year, the department shall determine how much 
Type Two DSH has been reduced as a result of the 
Affordable Care Act and adjust the percent of cost 
reimbursed for outpatient hospital reimbursement. 

D. Effective July 1, 2014, the DSH reimbursement 
methodology for Type One hospitals shall be to pay its 
uncompensated care costs up to the available allotment. 
Interim payments shall be made based on estimates of the 
uncompensated care costs and allotment. Payments shall be 
settled at cost report settlement and at the conclusion of the 
DSH audit.  

E. Prior to July 1, 2014, hospitals qualifying under the 14% 
inpatient Medicaid utilization percentage shall receive a DSH 
payment based on the hospital's type and the hospital's 
Medicaid utilization percentage.  

1. Type One hospitals shall receive a DSH payment equal to:  
a. The sum of (i) the hospital's Medicaid utilization 
percentage in excess of 10.5%, times 17, times the 
hospital's Medicaid operating reimbursement, times 
1.4433 and (ii) the hospital's Medicaid utilization 
percentage in excess of 21%, times 17, times the hospital's 
Medicaid operating reimbursement, times 1.4433.  

b. Multiplied by the Type One hospital DSH factor. The 
Type One hospital DSH factor shall equal a percentage 
that when applied to the DSH payment calculation yields 
a DSH payment equal to the total calculated using the 
methodology outlined in subdivision 1 a of this subsection 
using an adjustment factor of one in the calculation of 
operating payments rather than the adjustment factor 
specified in subdivision B 1 of 12VAC30-70-331.  

2. Type Two hospitals shall receive a DSH payment equal to 
the sum of (i) the hospital's Medicaid utilization percentage 
in excess of 10.5%, times the hospital's Medicaid operating 
reimbursement, times 1.2074 and (ii) the hospital's Medicaid 
utilization percentage in excess of 21%, times the hospital's 
Medicaid operating reimbursement, times 1.2074. Out-of-
state cost reporting hospitals with Virginia utilization in the 
base year of less than 12% of total Medicaid days shall 
receive 50% of the payment described in this subsection. 

F. Hospitals qualifying under the 25% low-income patient 
utilization rate shall receive a DSH payment based on the 
hospital's type and the hospital's low-income utilization rate.  

1. Type One hospitals shall receive a DSH payment equal to 
the product of the hospital's low-income utilization in excess 
of 25%, times 17, times the hospital's Medicaid operating 
reimbursement.  

2. Type Two hospitals shall receive a DSH payment equal to 
the product of the hospital's low-income utilization in excess 
of 25%, times the hospital's Medicaid operating 
reimbursement.  

3. Calculation of a hospital's low-income patient utilization 
percentage is defined in 42 USC § 1396r-4(b)(3).  

G. Each hospital's eligibility for DSH payment and the 
amount of the DSH payment shall be calculated at the time of 
each rebasing using the most recent reliable utilization data and 
projected operating reimbursement data available. The 
utilization data used to determine eligibility for DSH payment 
and the amount of the DSH payment shall include days for 
Medicaid recipients enrolled in capitated managed care 
programs. In years when DSH payments are not rebased in the 
way described in this section, the previous year's amounts shall 
be adjusted for inflation.  

For freestanding psychiatric facilities licensed as hospitals, 
DSH payment shall be based on the most recently settled 
Medicare cost report available before the beginning of the state 
fiscal year for which a payment is being calculated.  

H. Effective July 1, 2010, DSH payments shall be rebased for 
all hospitals with the final calculation reduced by a uniform 
percentage such that the expenditures in FY 2011 do not 
exceed expenditures in FY 2010 separately for Type One and 
Type Two hospitals. The reduction shall be calculated after 
determination of eligibility. Payments determined in FY 2011 
shall not be adjusted for inflation in FY 2012. 
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I. Effective July 1, 2013, DSH payments shall not be rebased 
for all hospitals in FY 2014 and shall be frozen at the payment 
levels for FY 2013 eligible providers.  

J. To be eligible for DSH, a hospital shall also meet the 
requirements in 42 USC § 1396r-4(d). No DSH payment shall 
exceed any applicable limitations upon such payment 
established by 42 USC § 1396r-4(g). 

K. If making the DSH payments prescribed in this chapter 
would exceed the DSH allotment, DMAS shall adjust DSH 
payments to Type One hospitals. Any DSH payment not made 
as prescribed in the State Plan as a result of the DSH allotment 
shall be made upon a determination that an available allotment 
exists. 

L. Effective July, 1, 2020, a supplemental DSH payment shall 
be made quarterly for non-state government, public acute care 
hospitals up to its hospital-specific DSH (Omnibus 
Reconciliation Act 1993 DSH limit) as determined pursuant to 
42 USC § 1396r-4(g)(1). The annual payment total shall be 
based upon the hospital's disproportionate share limit for the 
most recent year for which the disproportionate share limit has 
been calculated subject to the availability of DSH funds under 
the federal allotment of such funds to the department. 

12VAC30-80-30. Fee-for-service providers.  
A. Payment for the following services, except for physician 

services, shall be the lower of the state agency fee schedule 
(12VAC30-80-190 has information about the state agency fee 
schedule) or actual charge (charge to the general public). 
Except as otherwise noted in this section, state developed fee 
schedule rates are the same for both governmental and private 
individual practitioners. The state agency fee schedule is 
published on the Department of Medical Assistance Services 
(DMAS) website at 
http://www.dmas.virginia.gov/#/searchcptcodes. 

1. Physicians' services. Payment for physician services shall 
be the lower of the state agency fee schedule or actual charge 
(charge to the general public).  

2. Dentists' services. Dental services, dental provider 
qualifications, and dental service limits are identified in 
12VAC30-50-190. Dental services are paid based on 
procedure codes, which are listed in the agency's fee 
schedule. Except as otherwise noted, state-developed fee 
schedule rates are the same for both governmental and 
private individual practitioners.  

3. Mental health services. 
a. Professional services furnished by nonphysicians as 
described in 12VAC30-50-150. These services are 
reimbursed using current procedural technology (CPT) 
codes. The agency's fee schedule rate is based on the 
methodology as described in subsection A of this section. 
(1) Services provided by licensed clinical psychologists 
shall be reimbursed at 90% of the reimbursement rate for 
psychiatrists in subdivision A 1 of this section. 

(2) Services provided by independently enrolled licensed 
clinical social workers, licensed professional counselors, 
licensed clinical nurse specialists-psychiatric, or licensed 
marriage and family therapists shall be reimbursed at 75% 
of the reimbursement rate for licensed clinical 
psychologists. 
b. Intensive in-home services are reimbursed on an hourly 
unit of service. The agency's rates are set as of July 1, 
2011, and are effective for services on or after that date.  
c. Therapeutic day treatment services are reimbursed 
based on the following units of service: one unit equals 
two to 2.99 hours per day; two units equals three to 4.99 
hours per day; three units equals five or more hours per 
day. No room and board is included in the rates for 
therapeutic day treatment. The agency's rates are set as of 
July 1, 2011, and are effective for services on or after that 
date. 
d. Therapeutic group home services (formerly called level 
A and level B group home services) shall be reimbursed 
based on a daily unit of service. The agency's rates are set 
as of July 1, 2011, and are effective for services on or after 
that date. 
e. Therapeutic day treatment or partial hospitalization 
services shall be reimbursed based on the following units 
of service: one unit equals two to three hours per day; two 
units equals four to 6.99 hours per day; three units equals 
seven or more hours per day. The agency's rates are set as 
of July 1, 2011, and are effective for services on or after 
that date. 
f. Psychosocial rehabilitation services shall be reimbursed 
based on the following units of service: one unit equals 
two to 3.99 hours per day; two units equals four to 6.99 
hours per day; three units equals seven or more hours per 
day. The agency's rates are set as of July 1, 2011, and are 
effective for services on or after that date. 
g. Crisis intervention services shall be reimbursed on the 
following units of service: one unit equals two to 3.99 
hours per day; two units equals four to 6.99 hours per day; 
three units equals seven or more hours per day. The 
agency's rates are set as of July 1, 2011, and are effective 
for services on or after that date. 
h. Intensive community treatment services shall be 
reimbursed on an hourly unit of service. The agency's rates 
are set as of July 1, 2011, and are effective for services on 
or after that date. 
i. Crisis stabilization services shall be reimbursed on an 
hourly unit of service. The agency's rates are set as of July 
1, 2011, and are effective for services on or after that date. 
j. Independent living and recovery services (previously 
called mental health skill building services) shall be 
reimbursed based on the following units of service: one 
unit equals one to 2.99 hours per day; two units equals 
three to 4.99 hours per day. The agency's rates are set as 
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of July 1, 2011, and are effective for services on or after 
that date.  

4. Podiatry. 

5. Nurse-midwife services. 

6. Durable medical equipment (DME) and supplies. 
Definitions. The following words and terms when used in 
this section shall have the following meanings unless the 
context clearly indicates otherwise: 
"DMERC" means the Durable Medical Equipment 
Regional Carrier rate as published by the Centers for 
Medicare and Medicaid Services at 
http://www.cms.gov/Medicare/Medicare-Fee-for-
Service-Payment/DMEPOSFeeSched/DMEPOS-Fee-
Schedule.html. 
"HCPCS" means the Healthcare Common Procedure 
Coding System, Medicare's National Level II Codes, 
HCPCS 2006 (Eighteenth edition), as published by 
Ingenix, as may be periodically updated. 
a. Obtaining prior authorization shall not guarantee 
Medicaid reimbursement for DME.  
b. The following shall be the reimbursement method used 
for DME services: 
(1) If the DME item has a DMERC rate, the 
reimbursement rate shall be the DMERC rate minus 10%. 
For dates of service on or after July 1, 2014, DME items 
subject to the Medicare competitive bidding program shall 
be reimbursed the lower of: 
(a) The current DMERC rate minus 10%; or 
(b) The average of the Medicare competitive bid rates in 
Virginia markets.  
(2) For DME items with no DMERC rate, the agency shall 
use the agency fee schedule amount. The reimbursement 
rates for DME and supplies shall be listed in the DMAS 
Medicaid Durable Medical Equipment (DME) and 
Supplies Listing and updated periodically. The agency fee 
schedule shall be available on the agency website at 
www.dmas.virginia.gov. 
(3) If a DME item has no DMERC rate or agency fee 
schedule rate, the reimbursement rate shall be the 
manufacturer's net charge to the provider, less shipping 
and handling, plus 30%. The manufacturer's net charge to 
the provider shall be the cost to the provider minus all 
available discounts to the provider. Additional 
information specific to how DME providers, including 
manufacturers who are enrolled as providers, establish and 
document their costs for DME codes that do not have 
established rates can be found in the relevant agency 
guidance document.  
c. DMAS shall have the authority to amend the agency fee 
schedule as it deems appropriate and with notice to 
providers. DMAS shall have the authority to determine 

alternate pricing, based on agency research, for any code 
that does not have a rate. 
d. The reimbursement for incontinence supplies shall be 
by selective contract. Pursuant to § 1915(a)(1)(B) of the 
Social Security Act and 42 CFR 431.54(d), the 
Commonwealth assures that adequate services or devices 
shall be available under such arrangements. 
e. Certain durable medical equipment used for intravenous 
therapy and oxygen therapy shall be bundled under 
specified procedure codes and reimbursed as determined 
by the agency. Certain services or durable medical 
equipment such as service maintenance agreements shall 
be bundled under specified procedure codes and 
reimbursed as determined by the agency. 
(1) Intravenous therapies. The DME for a single therapy, 
administered in one day, shall be reimbursed at the 
established service day rate for the bundled durable 
medical equipment and the standard pharmacy payment, 
consistent with the ingredient cost as described in 
12VAC30-80-40, plus the pharmacy service day and 
dispensing fee. Multiple applications of the same therapy 
shall be included in one service day rate of reimbursement. 
Multiple applications of different therapies administered 
in one day shall be reimbursed for the bundled durable 
medical equipment service day rate as follows: the most 
expensive therapy shall be reimbursed at 100% of cost; the 
second and all subsequent most expensive therapies shall 
be reimbursed at 50% of cost. Multiple therapies 
administered in one day shall be reimbursed at the 
pharmacy service day rate plus 100% of every active 
therapeutic ingredient in the compound (at the lowest 
ingredient cost methodology) plus the appropriate 
pharmacy dispensing fee. 
(2) Respiratory therapies. The DME for oxygen therapy 
shall have supplies or components bundled under a service 
day rate based on oxygen liter flow rate or blood gas 
levels. Equipment associated with respiratory therapy may 
have ancillary components bundled with the main 
component for reimbursement. The reimbursement shall 
be a service day per diem rate for rental of equipment or a 
total amount of purchase for the purchase of equipment. 
Such respiratory equipment shall include oxygen tanks 
and tubing, ventilators, noncontinuous ventilators, and 
suction machines. Ventilators, noncontinuous ventilators, 
and suction machines may be purchased based on the 
individual patient's medical necessity and length of need. 
(3) Service maintenance agreements. Provision shall be 
made for a combination of services, routine maintenance, 
and supplies, to be known as agreements, under a single 
reimbursement code only for equipment that is recipient 
owned. Such bundled agreements shall be reimbursed 
either monthly or in units per year based on the individual 
agreement between the DME provider and DMAS. Such 
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bundled agreements may apply to, but not necessarily be 
limited to, either respiratory equipment or apnea monitors. 

7. Local health services. 

8. Laboratory services (other than inpatient hospital). The 
agency's rates for clinical laboratory services were set as of 
July 1, 2014, and are effective for services on or after that 
date. 

9. Payments to physicians who handle laboratory specimens, 
but do not perform laboratory analysis (limited to payment 
for handling). 

10. X-ray services. 

11. Optometry services. 

12. Reserved. 

13. Home health services. Effective June 30, 1991, cost 
reimbursement for home health services is eliminated. A rate 
per visit by discipline shall be established as set forth by 
12VAC30-80-180. 

14. Physical therapy; occupational therapy; and speech, 
hearing, language disorders services when rendered to 
noninstitutionalized recipients. 

15. Clinic services, as defined under 42 CFR 440.90, except 
for services in ambulatory surgery clinics reimbursed under 
12VAC30-80-35. 

16. Supplemental payments for services provided by Type I 
physicians. 

a. In addition to payments for physician services specified 
elsewhere in this chapter, DMAS provides supplemental 
payments to Type I physicians for furnished services 
provided on or after July 2, 2002. A Type I physician is a 
member of a practice group organized by or under the 
control of a state academic health system or an academic 
health system that operates under a state authority and 
includes a hospital, who has entered into contractual 
agreements for the assignment of payments in accordance 
with 42 CFR 447.10. 
b. The methodology for determining the Medicare 
equivalent of the average commercial rate is described in 
12VAC30-80-300. 
c. Supplemental payments shall be made quarterly no later 
than 90 days after the end of the quarter. 
d. Effective May 1, 2017, the supplemental payment 
amount for Type I physician services shall be the 
difference between the Medicaid payments otherwise 
made for physician services and 258% of Medicare rates. 

17. Supplemental payments for services provided by 
physicians at Virginia freestanding children's hospitals. 

a. In addition to payments for physician services specified 
elsewhere in this chapter, DMAS provides supplemental 

payments to Virginia freestanding children's hospital 
physicians providing services at freestanding children's 
hospitals with greater than 50% Medicaid inpatient 
utilization in state fiscal year 2009 for furnished services 
provided on or after July 1, 2011. A freestanding children's 
hospital physician is a member of a practice group (i) 
organized by or under control of a qualifying Virginia 
freestanding children's hospital, or (ii) who has entered 
into contractual agreements for provision of physician 
services at the qualifying Virginia freestanding children's 
hospital and that is designated in writing by the Virginia 
freestanding children's hospital as a practice plan for the 
quarter for which the supplemental payment is made 
subject to DMAS approval. The freestanding children's 
hospital physicians also must have entered into contractual 
agreements with the practice plan for the assignment of 
payments in accordance with 42 CFR 447.10. 
b. Effective July 1, 2015, the supplemental payment 
amount for freestanding children's hospital physician 
services shall be the difference between the Medicaid 
payments otherwise made for freestanding children's 
hospital physician services and 178% of Medicare rates as 
defined in the supplemental payment calculation for Type 
I physician services. Payments shall be made on the same 
schedule as Type I physicians. 

18. Supplemental payments for services provided by 
physicians affiliated with Eastern Virginia Medical Center.  

a. In addition to payments for physician services specified 
elsewhere in this chapter, the Department of Medical 
Assistance Services provides supplemental payments to 
physicians affiliated with Eastern Virginia Medical Center 
for furnished services provided on or after October 1, 
2012. A physician affiliated with Eastern Virginia 
Medical Center is a physician who is employed by a 
publicly funded medical school that is a political 
subdivision of the Commonwealth of Virginia, who 
provides clinical services through the faculty practice plan 
affiliated with the publicly funded medical school, and 
who has entered into contractual arrangements for the 
assignment of payments in accordance with 42 CFR 
447.10. 
b. Effective November 1, 2018, the supplemental payment 
amount shall be the difference between the Medicaid 
payments otherwise made for physician services and 
145% of the Medicare rates. The methodology for 
determining the Medicare equivalent of the average 
commercial rate is described in 12VAC30-80-300. 
c. Supplemental payments shall be made quarterly, no 
later than 90 days after the end of the quarter. 

19. Supplemental payments for services provided by 
physicians at freestanding children's hospitals serving 
children in Planning District 8.  
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a. In addition to payments for physician services specified 
elsewhere in this chapter, DMAS shall make supplemental 
payments for physicians employed at a freestanding 
children's hospital serving children in Planning District 8 
with more than 50% Medicaid inpatient utilization in 
fiscal year 2014. This applies to physician practices 
affiliated with Children's National Health System. 
b. The supplemental payment amount for qualifying 
physician services shall be the difference between the 
Medicaid payments otherwise made and 178% of 
Medicare rates but no more than $551,000 for all 
qualifying physicians. The methodology for determining 
allowable percent of Medicare rates is based on the 
Medicare equivalent of the average commercial rate 
described in this chapter. 
c. Supplemental payments shall be made quarterly no later 
than 90 days after the end of the quarter. Any quarterly 
payment that would have been due prior to the approval 
date shall be made no later than 90 days after the approval 
date.  

20. Supplemental payments to nonstate government-owned 
or operated clinics.  

a. In addition to payments for clinic services specified 
elsewhere in this chapter, DMAS provides supplemental 
payments to qualifying nonstate government-owned or 
government-operated clinics for outpatient services 
provided to Medicaid patients on or after July 2, 2002. 
Clinic means a facility that is not part of a hospital but is 
organized and operated to provide medical care to 
outpatients. Outpatient services include those furnished by 
or under the direction of a physician, dentist, or other 
medical professional acting within the scope of his license 
to an eligible individual. Effective July 1, 2005, a 
qualifying clinic is a clinic operated by a community 
services board. The state share for supplemental clinic 
payments will be funded by general fund appropriations.  
b. The amount of the supplemental payment made to each 
qualifying nonstate government-owned or government-
operated clinic is determined by:  
(1) Calculating for each clinic the annual difference 
between the upper payment limit attributed to each clinic 
according to subdivision 20 d of this subsection and the 
amount otherwise actually paid for the services by the 
Medicaid program;  
(2) Dividing the difference determined in subdivision 20 
b (1) of this subsection for each qualifying clinic by the 
aggregate difference for all such qualifying clinics; and  
(3) Multiplying the proportion determined in subdivision 
20 b (2) of this subsection by the aggregate upper payment 
limit amount for all such clinics as determined in 
accordance with 42 CFR 447.321 less all payments made 
to such clinics other than under this section.  

c. Payments for furnished services made under this section 
will be made annually in a lump sum during the last 
quarter of the fiscal year.  
d. To determine the aggregate upper payment limit 
referred to in subdivision 20 b (3) of this subsection, 
Medicaid payments to nonstate government-owned or 
government-operated clinics will be divided by the 
"additional factor" whose calculation is described in 
12VAC30-80-190 B 2 in regard to the state agency fee 
schedule for Resource Based Relative Value Scale. 
Medicaid payments will be estimated using payments for 
dates of service from the prior fiscal year adjusted for 
expected claim payments. Additional adjustments will be 
made for any program changes in Medicare or Medicaid 
payments. 

21. Personal assistance services (PAS) or personal care 
services for individuals enrolled in the Medicaid Buy-In 
program described in 12VAC30-60-200 or covered under 
Early and Periodic Screening, Diagnosis, and Treatment 
(EPSDT), and respite services covered under EPSDT. These 
services are reimbursed in accordance with the state agency 
fee schedule described in 12VAC30-80-190. The state 
agency fee schedule is published on the DMAS website at 
http://www.dmas.virginia.gov. The agency's rates, based 
upon one-hour increments, were set as of July 1, 2019 2020, 
and shall be effective for services on and after that date. 

22. Supplemental payments to state-owned or state-operated 
clinics.  

a. Effective for dates of service on or after July 1, 2015, 
DMAS shall make supplemental payments to qualifying 
state-owned or state-operated clinics for outpatient 
services provided to Medicaid patients on or after July 1, 
2015. Clinic means a facility that is not part of a hospital 
but is organized and operated to provide medical care to 
outpatients. Outpatient services include those furnished by 
or under the direction of a physician, dentist, or other 
medical professional acting within the scope of his license 
to an eligible individual.  
b. The amount of the supplemental payment made to each 
qualifying state-owned or state-operated clinic is 
determined by calculating for each clinic the annual 
difference between the upper payment limit attributed to 
each clinic according to subdivision 19 b of this subsection 
and the amount otherwise actually paid for the services by 
the Medicaid program.  
c. Payments for furnished services made under this section 
shall be made annually in lump sum payments to each 
clinic.  
d. To determine the upper payment limit for each clinic 
referred to in subdivision 19 b of this subsection, the state 
payment rate schedule shall be compared to the Medicare 
resource-based relative value scale nonfacility fee 
schedule per Current Procedural Terminology code for a 
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base period of claims. The base period claims shall be 
extracted from the Medical Management Information 
System and exclude crossover claims. 

B. Hospice services payments must be no lower than the 
amounts using the same methodology used under Part A of 
Title XVIII, and take into account the room and board 
furnished by the facility. As of July 1, 2019, payments for 
hospice services in a nursing facility are 100% of the rate that 
would have been paid by the state under the plan for facility 
services in that facility for that individual. Hospice services 
shall be paid according to the location of the service delivery 
and not the location of the agency's home office. 

C. Effective July 1, 2019, the telehealth originating site 
facility fee shall be increased to 100% of the Medicare rate and 
shall reflect changes annually based on changes in the 
Medicare rate. Federally qualified health centers and rural 
health centers are exempt from this reimbursement change. 

12VAC30-90-264. Specialized care services.  
Specialized care services provided in conformance with 

12VAC30-60-40 E and H, 12VAC30-60-320, and 12VAC30-
60-340 shall be reimbursed under the following methodology. 
The nursing facilities that provide adult specialized care for the 
categories of Ventilator Dependent Care, will be placed in one 
group for rate determination. The nursing facilities that provide 
pediatric specialized care in a dedicated pediatric unit of eight 
beds or more will be placed in a second group for rate 
determination.  

1. Routine operating cost. Routine operating cost shall be 
defined as in 12VAC30-90-271 and 12VAC30-90-272. To 
calculate the routine operating cost reimbursement rate, 
routine operating cost shall be converted to a per diem 
amount by dividing it by actual patient days. Effective July 
1, 2016, the base year for routine operating cost shall be the 
most recently settled cost reports with a fiscal year ending in 
a calendar year for all specialized care facilities as of the end 
of the calendar year prior to the prospective rate year. 

2. Allowable cost identification and cost reimbursement 
limitations. The provisions of Article 5 (12VAC30-90-50 et 
seq.) of Subpart II of Part II of this chapter and of Appendix 
III (12VAC30-90-290) of Part III of this chapter shall apply 
to specialized care cost and reimbursement.  

3. Routine operating cost rates. Each facility shall be 
reimbursed a prospective rate for routine operating costs. 
This rate will be the lesser of the facility-specific prospective 
routine operating ceiling, or the facility-specific prospective 
routine operating cost per day plus an efficiency incentive. 
This efficiency incentive shall be calculated by the same 
method as in 12VAC30-90-41.  

4. Facility-specific prospective routine operating ceiling. 
Each nursing facility's prospective routine operating ceiling 
shall be calculated as:  

a. Statewide ceiling. The statewide routine operating 
ceiling shall be $415 as of July 1, 2002. This routine 
operating ceiling amount shall be adjusted for inflation 
based on 12VAC30-90-41. Effective July 1, 2016, the 
routine operating ceiling shall be $573.09 as of state fiscal 
year 2015 and shall be adjusted for inflation based on 
12VAC-30-90-44 to the upcoming state fiscal year, the 
prospective rate year. 
b. The portion of the statewide routine operating ceiling 
relating to nursing salaries (as determined by the 1994 
audited cost report data, or 67.22%) will be wage adjusted 
using a normalized wage index. The normalized wage 
index shall be the wage index applicable to the individual 
provider's geographic location under Medicare rules of 
reimbursement for skilled nursing facilities, divided by the 
statewide average of such wage indices across the state. 
This normalization of wage indices shall be updated 
January 1, after each time the CMS publishes wage indices 
for skilled nursing facilities. Updated normalization shall 
be effective for fiscal years starting on and after the 
January 1 for which the normalization is calculated. 
Effective July 1, 2016, the normalized wage index for the 
federal fiscal year following the base year shall be applied 
to the state fiscal year ceiling. 

5. Facility-specific prospective routine operating base cost 
per day. The facility-specific routine operating cost per day 
to be used in the calculation of the routine operating rate and 
the efficiency incentive shall be the actual routine cost per 
day from the most recent fiscal year's cost report, adjusted 
for inflation based on 12VAC30-90-41. Effective July 1, 
2016, the routine operating base cost per day in subdivision 
1 of this subsection shall be adjusted for inflation based on 
12VAC30-90-44 to the upcoming state fiscal year, the 
prospective rate year.  

6. Interim rates. Interim rates, for processing claims during 
the year, shall be calculated from the most recent settled cost 
report available at the time the interim rates must be set, 
except that failure to submit a cost report timely may result 
in adjustment to interim rates as provided elsewhere. 
Effective July 1, 2016, this subdivision is no longer 
applicable. 

7. Ancillary costs. Specialized care ancillary costs will be 
paid on a pass-through basis for those Medicaid specialized 
care patients who do not have Medicare or any other 
sufficient third-party insurance coverage. Ancillary costs 
will be reimbursed as follows:  

a. All covered ancillary services, except kinetic therapy 
devices, will be reimbursed for reasonable costs as defined 
in the current NHPS. Effective for specialized care days 
on or after January 15, 2007, reimbursement for 
reasonable costs shall be subject to a ceiling. The ceiling 
shall be $238.81 per day for calendar year 2004 (150% of 
average costs) and shall be inflated to the appropriate 
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provider fiscal year. For cost report years beginning in 
each calendar year, ancillary ceilings will be inflated 
based on 12VAC30-90-41. See 12VAC30-90-290 for the 
cost reimbursement limitations. Effective July 1, 2016, the 
ancillary ceiling of $300.38 in state fiscal year 2015, 
inclusive of kinetic therapy devices, shall be adjusted for 
inflation to the prospective rate year based on 12VAC30-
90-44. 
b. Kinetic therapy devices will have a limit per day (based 
on 1994 audited cost report data inflated to the rate 
period). See 12VAC30-90-290 for the cost reimbursement 
limitations.  
c. Kinetic therapy devices will be reimbursed only if a 
resident is being treated for wounds that meet the 
following wound care criteria. Residents receiving this 
wound care must require kinetic bed therapy (that is, low 
air loss mattresses, fluidized beds, or rotating or turning 
beds) and require treatment for a grade (stage) IV 
decubitus, a large surgical wound that cannot be closed, or 
second to third degree burns covering more than 10% of 
the body.  

8. Covered ancillary services are defined as follows: 
laboratory, X-ray, medical supplies (e.g., infusion pumps, 
incontinence supplies), physical therapy, occupational 
therapy, speech therapy, inhalation therapy, IV therapy, 
enteral feedings, and kinetic therapy. The following are not 
specialized care ancillary services and are excluded from 
specialized care reimbursement: physician services, 
psychologist services, total parenteral nutrition (TPN), and 
drugs. These services must be separately billed to DMAS. 
An interim rate for the covered ancillary services will be 
determined (using data from the most recent settled cost 
report) by dividing allowable ancillary costs by the number 
of patient days for the same cost reporting period. The 
interim rate will be retroactively cost settled based on the 
specialized care nursing facility cost reporting period.  

9. Capital costs. Effective July 1, 2016, capital cost 
reimbursement rate shall be based on subsection C of 
12VAC30-90-44 in accordance with 12VAC30-90-35, 
12VAC30-90-36, and 12VAC30-90-37, except that the 
required occupancy percentage shall not be separately 
applied to specialized care. To determine the capital cost 
related to specialized care patients, the following calculation 
shall be applied.  

a. Licensed beds, including specialized care beds, 
multiplied by days in the cost reporting period, shall equal 
available days. 
b. The required occupancy days shall equal the required 
occupancy percentage multiplied by available days. 
c. The required occupancy days minus actual resident 
days, including specialized care days, shall equal the 
shortfall of days. If the shortfall of days is negative, the 
shortfall of days shall be zero. 

d. Actual resident days, not including specialized care 
days, plus the shortfall of days shall equal the minimum 
number of days to be used to calculate the capital cost per 
day.  

10. Nurse aide training and competency evaluation programs 
(NATCEP) costs. NATCEP costs will be paid on a pass-
through basis in accordance with the current NHPS. 
Effective July 1, 2016, NATCEP costs shall be paid on a 
prospective basis in accordance with 12VAC30-90-170. 

11. Pediatric routine operating cost rate. For pediatric 
specialized care in a distinct part pediatric specialized care 
unit, one routine operating cost ceiling will be developed. 
The routine operating cost ceiling will be $418 as of July 1, 
2002. Effective July 1, 2016, the pediatric routine operating 
cost ceiling shall be $577.24. 

a. The statewide operating ceiling shall be adjusted for 
each nursing facility in the same manner as described in 
subdivision 4 of this section.  
b. The final routine operating cost reimbursement rate 
shall be computed as described for other than pediatric 
units in subdivision 3 of this section.  

12. Pediatric unit capital cost. Pediatric unit capital costs will 
be reimbursed in accordance with subdivision 9 of this 
section, except that the occupancy requirement shall be 70% 
rather than the required occupancy percentage. 

13. The cost reporting requirements of 12VAC30-90-70 and 
12VAC30-90-80 shall apply to specialized care providers.  

14. Effective July 1, 2020, through June 30, 2022, 
specialized care operating rates shall be increased annually 
by inflation based on 12VAC30-90-44. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R21-6419; Filed October 21, 2020. 

  ––––––––––––––––––   
TITLE 14. INSURANCE 

STATE CORPORATION COMMISSION 
Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The State Corporation Commission 
is claiming an exemption from the Administrative Process Act 
in accordance with § 2.2-4002 A 2 of the Code of Virginia, 
which exempts courts, any agency of the Supreme Court, and 
any agency that by the Constitution is expressly granted any of 
the powers of a court of record. 

Title of Regulation: 14VAC5-405. Rules Governing Balance 
Billing for Out-of-Network Health Care Services (adding 
14VAC5-405-10 through 14VAC5-405-90). 
Statutory Authority: §§ 12.1-13 and 38.2-223 of the Code of 
Virginia. 
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Effective Date: January 1, 2021. 
Agency Contact: Jackie Myers, Chief Insurance Market 
Examiner, Bureau of Insurance, State Corporation 
Commission, P.O. Box 1157, Richmond, VA 23218, telephone 
(804) 371-9630, FAX (804) 371-9944, or email 
jackie.myers@scc.virginia.gov. 
Summary: 

Pursuant to Chapters 1080 and 1081 of the 2020 Acts of 
Assembly, the amendments add Rules Governing Balance 
Billing for Out-of-Network Health Care Services (14VAC5-
405). The new regulation establishes requirements and 
processes to protect consumers from surprise balance 
billing from out-of-network providers for emergency health 
care services or nonemergency ancillary and surgical 
services received at an in-network facility, including 
procedures for the use of arbitration between health carriers 
and out-of-network providers to address reimbursement 
disputes concerning balance billing.  

As a result of comments received and additional review, the 
following substantive revisions have been made to the 
proposed new rules: (i) the definition of "arbitrator" has 
been revised to allow only individuals, not entities, to apply 
as an arbitrator; the definition of "clean claim" has been 
revised to remove the timeframe requirement to file a claim; 
the definition of "geographic area" has been removed to 
allow carriers, providers, and arbitrators more flexibility in 
resolving balance billing disputes; and the definitions of 
"self-funded group health plan" and "group health plan" 
have been removed and replaced with "elective group health 
plan" to avoid confusion about the types of group health 
plans that may opt-in to the balance billing requirements; 
(ii) for consistency with statute, language limiting the 
prohibition on balance billing to out-of-network providers 
"located in Virginia" has been removed, a notice of intent to 
arbitrate form has been developed, and timeframes have 
been clarified or changed; (iii) for consistency within the 
regulation text, arbitrator qualifications for applications 
can come from individuals only, conflict of interest 
requirements have been clarified and revised to require 
disclosure to the parties, the commission will not request 
adjustments to the data set but will instead accept and 
implement adjustments in accordance with statutory 
requirements, and references to "self-funded group health 
plan" are changed to "elective group health plan"; and (iv) 
related forms are added or updated.  

AT RICHMOND, OCTOBER 23, 2020 
COMMONWEALTH OF VIRGINIA, ex rel. 

STATE CORPORATION COMMISSION 

CASE NO. INS-2020-00136 

Ex Parte: In the matter of Adopting 
New Rules Governing Balance Billing for 
Out-of-Network Health Care Services 

ORDER ADOPTING RULES 
By Order to Take Notice ("Order") entered July 10, 2020, 

insurers, health care providers, and all other interested persons 
were ordered to take notice that subsequent to 
September 1, 2020, the State Corporation Commission 
("Commission") would consider the entry of an order adopting 
new rules in Chapter 405 of Title 14 of the Virginia 
Administrative Code, entitled "Rules Governing Balance 
Billing for Out-of-Network Health Care Services" (hereinafter 
referred to as "Rules"), recommended to be set out at 14 VAC 
5-405-10 through 14 VAC 5-405-90, unless on or before 
September 1, 2020 any person objecting to the adoption of said 
Rules filed a request for hearing with the Clerk of the 
Commission ("Clerk").  

The Order also required insurers, health care providers, and 
all other interested persons to file their comments in support of 
or in opposition to the proposed Rules with the Clerk on or 
before September 1, 2020. 

The proposed Rules are necessary as a result of action by the 
2020 General Assembly, specifically Acts of Assembly 
Chapter 1080 (HB 1251) and Chapter 1081 (SB 172). This 
legislation, in part, adds §§ 38.2-3445.01 through 38.2-
3445.07 to Chapter 34 of Title 38.2 of the Code. These sections 
become effective January 1, 2021. The provisions of the 
Bureau's proposed Rules are intended to establish requirements 
and processes to carry out the provisions of these new Code 
sections, which protect consumers from "surprise" balance 
billing from out-of-network providers for emergency health 
care services or nonemergency ancillary and surgical services 
received at an in-network facility. The proposed Rules also set 
forth procedures for the use of arbitration between health 
carriers and out-of-network providers to address 
reimbursement disputes concerning balance billing. 

Following entry of the Order to Take Notice, the Bureau 
received comments from twenty-four (24) stakeholders, 
including health insurance carriers, health insurance providers, 
a consumer advocacy organization, and individual citizens. 
The comments generally were supportive of the proposed 
Rules and some addressed certain issues for further 
consideration. No requests for a hearing were filed with the 
Clerk.  

The majority of comments received related to the following 
three categories: (i) the definitions of "clean claim" and 
"geographic area" as set forth in 14 VAC 5-405-20; (ii) the 
jurisdictional scope of balance billing protections as set forth 
in 14 VAC 5-405-30 A and G; and (iii) the arbitration process 
as set forth in 14 VAC 5-405-40. The Bureau carefully 
evaluated all comments and developed a Response to 
Comments ("Response"), which was filed with the Clerk on 
October 16, 2020. 
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As a result of comments filed and additional review by the 
Bureau, the Response recommends several amendments to the 
proposed Rules. 

First, the Response revises definitions in 14 VAC 5-405-20, 
including the following: 

• "Arbitrator" has been revised to allow only individuals – 
instead of entities – to apply as an arbitrator;  

• "Clean claim" has been revised to remove the timeframe 
requirement to file a claim;  

• The definition of "geographic area" has been removed to 
allow carriers, providers, and arbitrators more flexibility in 
resolving balance billing disputes; and 

• The definitions of "self-funded group health plan" and "group 
health plan" have been removed and replaced with "elective 
group health plan" to avoid confusion about the types of group 
health plans that may opt-in to the balance billing 
requirements.  

Second, the Response amends 14 VAC 5-405-30 by 
removing language limiting the prohibition on balance billing 
to out-of-network providers "located in Virginia." This 
language has been removed from subsection A for consistency 
with the statute as written, and subsection G has been removed. 

Third, regarding 14 VAC 5-405-40, the Response notes that 
a Notice of Intent to Arbitrate form has been developed and 
timeframes have been clarified or changed for consistency with 
the statute. 

Fourth, the Response revises arbitrator qualifications in 
14 VAC 5-405-50 to allow for applications from individuals 
only, consistent with the revised definition of "arbitrator." 
Additionally, the Response clarifies and revises the conflict of 
interest requirements to require disclosure to the parties.  

Fifth, the Response revises 14 VAC 5-405-60 C to indicate 
that the Commission will not request adjustments to the data 
set but will instead accept and implement adjustments in 
accordance with statutory requirements. 

Sixth, consistent with the removal of the definition of "self-
funded group plan" and inclusion of the definition of "elective 
group health plan," the Response replaces reference in 
14 VAC 5-405-80 from "self-funded group health plan" to 
"elective group health plan."  

Finally, the Response includes other technical amendments to 
the proposed Rules for clarification or correction, revises the 
Notice of Consumer Rights based on comments received, and 
now includes other related forms that were not developed 
previously. 

NOW THE COMMISSION, having considered the proposal 
to adopt new Rules, the comments filed, the Bureau's Response 
and the amendments recommended by the Bureau as a result 
of the comments, is of the opinion that the attached new Rules 
and appurtenant forms should be adopted, effective January 1, 
2021. 

Accordingly, IT IS ORDERED THAT: 

(1) Chapter 405 of the new Rules entitled "Rules Governing 
Balance Billing for Out-of-Network Health Care Services," set 
out at 14 VAC 5-405-10 through 14 VAC 5-405-90 and forms 
which are attached hereto and made a part hereof, are hereby 
ADOPTED effective January 1, 2021. 

(2) The Bureau of Insurance forthwith shall give notice of the 
adoption of the new Rules to all carriers licensed in Virginia to 
write accident and sickness insurance and to all Life & Health 
interested persons. 

(3) The Commission's Division of Information Resources 
forthwith shall cause a copy of this Order, together with the 
revisions to the Rules, to be forwarded to the Virginia Registrar 
of Regulations for appropriate publication in the Virginia 
Register of Regulations. 

(4) The Commission's Division of Information Resources 
shall make available this Order and the attached amendments 
to the Rules on the Commission's website: 
scc.virginia.gov/pages/Case-Information. 

(5) The Bureau shall file with the Clerk of the Commission a 
certificate of compliance with the notice requirements of 
Ordering Paragraph (2) above. 

(6) This case is dismissed, and the papers herein shall be 
placed in the file for ended causes. 

A COPY hereof shall be sent electronically by the Clerk of 
the Commission to: C. Meade Browder, Jr., Senior Assistant 
Attorney General, Office of the Attorney General, Division of 
Consumer Counsel, at mbrowder@oag.state.va.us, 202 N. 9th 
Street, 8th Floor, Richmond, Virginia 23219-3424; and a copy 
hereof shall be delivered to the Commission's Office of 
General Counsel and the Bureau of Insurance in care of Deputy 
Commissioner Julie S. Blauvelt. 

CHAPTER 405 
RULES GOVERNING BALANCE BILLING FOR OUT-

OF-NETWORK HEALTH CARE SERVICES 

14VAC5-405-10. Purpose and scope.  
The purpose of this chapter is to set forth rules and procedures 

that address balance billing and the use of arbitration between 
health carriers and out-of-network providers pursuant to the 
provisions of §§ 38.2-3445 through 38.2-3445.07 of Chapter 
34 (§ 38.2-3400 et seq.) of Title 38.2 of the Code of Virginia. 
This chapter shall apply to all health benefit [ and managed 
care ] plans [ that use a provider network offered issued and 
delivered ] in this Commonwealth except as provided for in 
§ 38.2-3445.06 of the Code of Virginia. 

14VAC5-405-20. Definitions.  
The following words and terms when used in this chapter 

shall have the following meanings, unless the context clearly 
indicates otherwise: 

"Allowed amount" means the maximum portion of a billed 
charge a health carrier will pay, including any applicable cost-

https://scc.virginia.gov/pages/Case-Information
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sharing requirements, for a covered service or item rendered 
by a participating provider or by a nonparticipating provider. 

"Arbitrator" means an individual [ or entity ] included on a 
list of arbitrators approved by the commission pursuant to 
[ 14VAC5-405-40 14VAC5-405-50 ]. 

"Balance bill" means a bill sent to an enrollee by an out-of-
network provider for health care services provided to the 
enrollee after the provider's billed amount is not fully 
reimbursed by the carrier, exclusive of applicable cost-sharing 
requirements. 

"Child" means a son, daughter, stepchild, adopted child, 
including a child placed for adoption, foster child, or any other 
child eligible for coverage under the health benefit plan. 

"Clean claim" means a claim (i) [ that is received by the 
carrier within 90 days of the service being provided to the 
enrollee unless submission of the claim within 90 days is not 
possible due to the provider receiving inaccurate information 
about the enrollee or the enrollee's coverage; (ii) ] that has no 
material defect or impropriety, including any lack of any 
reasonably required substantiation documentation, that 
substantially prevents timely payment from being made on the 
claim; and [ (iii) (ii) ] that includes [ appropriate required ] 
Internal Revenue Service documentation [ necessary ] for the 
carrier to process payment. A [ failure by the provider to 
submit a clean claim will not remove the claim from being 
subject to this chapter carrier shall notify the person submitting 
the claim of any defect or impropriety ]. 

"Commercially reasonable payment" or "commercially 
reasonable amount" means payments or amounts a carrier is 
required to reimburse a health care provider for out-of-network 
services pursuant to §§ 38.2-3445.01 [ and 38.2-3445.02 ] of 
the Code of Virginia. 

"Commission" means the State Corporation Commission. 
"Cost-sharing requirement" means an enrollee's deductible, 

copayment amount, or coinsurance rate. 
"Covered benefits" or "benefits" means those health care 

services to which an individual is entitled under the terms of a 
health benefit plan. 

"Dependent" means the spouse or child of an eligible 
employee, subject to the applicable terms of the policy, 
contract, or plan covering the eligible employee. 

[ "Elective group health plan" means (i) a self-funded group 
health plan providing or administering an employee welfare 
benefit plan as defined in § 3(1) of ERISA, 29 USC § 1002(1), 
that is self-insured or self-funded with respect to such plan and 
that establishes for its enrollees a network of participating 
providers, or a self-funded group health plan for local 
government employees, local officers, teachers, and retirees, 
and the dependents of such employees, officers, teachers, and 
retirees; and (ii) elects to participate in the requirements of 
§§ 38.2-3445 through 38.2-3445.07 of the Code of Virginia by 
notifying the commission in accordance with 14VAC5-405-
80. ]  

"Emergency medical condition" means, regardless of the final 
diagnosis rendered to an enrollee, a medical condition 
manifesting itself by acute symptoms of sufficient severity, 
including severe pain, so that a prudent layperson, who 
possesses an average knowledge of health and medicine, could 
reasonably expect the absence of immediate medical attention 
to result in (i) serious jeopardy to the mental or physical health 
of the individual, (ii) danger of serious impairment to bodily 
functions, (iii) serious dysfunction of any bodily organ or part, 
or (iv) in the case of a pregnant woman, serious jeopardy to the 
health of the fetus. 

"Emergency services" means with respect to an emergency 
medical condition (i) a medical screening examination as 
required under § 1867 of the Social Security Act (42 USC 
§ 1395dd) that is within the capability of the emergency 
department of a hospital, including ancillary services routinely 
available to the emergency department to evaluate such 
emergency medical condition and (ii) such further medical 
examination and treatment, to the extent they are within the 
capabilities of the staff and facilities available at the hospital, 
as are required under § 1867 of the Social Security Act 
(42 USC § 1395dd (e)(3)) to stabilize the patient. 

"Enrollee" means a policyholder, subscriber, covered person, 
participant, or other individual covered by a health benefit 
plan. 

"ERISA" means the Employee Retirement Income Security 
Act of 1974 (29 USC § 1001 et seq.). 

"Facility" means an institution providing health care related 
services or a health care setting, including hospitals and other 
licensed inpatient centers; ambulatory surgical or treatment 
centers; skilled nursing centers; residential treatment centers; 
diagnostic, laboratory, and imaging centers; and rehabilitation 
and other therapeutic health settings. 

[ "Geographic area" means any of the following: (i) for the 
purpose of determining a cost-sharing requirement under a 
health benefit plan, a geographic rating area established by the 
commission; or (ii) for the purpose of providing data to assist 
in determining a commercially reasonable amount and 
resolving payment disputes, the health planning region as 
defined at § 32.1-102.1 of the Code of Virginia, the geographic 
rating area established by the commission, or other geographic 
region representative of a market for health care services as 
determined by a working group established pursuant to § 38.2-
3445.03 of the Code of Virginia.  

"Group health plan" means an employee welfare benefit plan 
as defined in § 3(1) of ERISA to the extent that the plan 
provides medical care within the meaning of § 733(a) of 
ERISA to employees, including both current and former 
employees, or their dependents as defined under the terms of 
the plan directly or through insurance, reimbursement, or 
otherwise. ]  

"Health benefit plan" means a policy, contract, certificate, or 
agreement offered by a health carrier to provide, deliver, 
arrange for, pay for, or reimburse any of the costs of health care 
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services. "Health benefit plan" includes short-term and 
catastrophic health insurance policies, and a policy that pays 
on a cost-incurred basis, except as otherwise specifically 
exempted in this definition. [ "Health benefit plan" also 
includes an elective group health plan. ] "Health benefit plan" 
does not include the "excepted benefits" as defined in § 38.2-
3431 of the Code of Virginia. 

"Health care professional" means a physician or other health 
care practitioner licensed, accredited, or certified to perform 
specified health care services consistent with state law. 

"Health care provider" or "provider" means a health care 
professional or facility. 

"Health care services" means services for the diagnosis, 
prevention, treatment, cure, or relief of a health condition, 
illness, injury, or disease. 

"Health carrier" means an entity subject to the insurance laws 
and regulations of the Commonwealth and subject to the 
jurisdiction of the commission that contracts or offers to 
contract to provide, deliver, arrange for, pay for, or reimburse 
any of the costs of health care services, including an insurer 
licensed to sell accident and sickness insurance, a health 
maintenance organization, a health services plan, or any other 
entity providing a plan of health insurance, health benefits, or 
health care services. 

"Initiating party" means the health carrier or out-of-network 
provider that requests arbitration pursuant to § 38.2-3445.02 of 
the Code of Virginia and 14VAC5-405-40. 

"In-network" or "participating" means a provider that has 
contracted with a carrier or a carrier's contractor or 
subcontractor to provide health care services to enrollees and 
be reimbursed by the carrier at a contracted rate as payment in 
full for the health care services, including applicable cost-
sharing requirements. 

"Managed care plan" means a health benefit plan that either 
requires an enrollee to use, or creates incentives, including 
financial incentives, for an enrollee to use health care providers 
managed, owned, under contract with, or employed by the 
health carrier. 

"Network" means the group of participating providers 
providing services to a managed care plan. 

"Offer to pay" or "payment notification" means a claim that 
has been adjudicated and paid by a carrier or determined by a 
carrier to be payable by an enrollee to an out-of-network 
provider for services described in subsection A of § 38.2-
3445.01 of the Code of Virginia. 

"Out-of-network" or "nonparticipating" means a provider that 
has not contracted with a carrier or a carrier's contractor or 
subcontractor to provide health care services to enrollees. 

"Out-of-pocket maximum" or "maximum out-of-pocket" 
means the maximum amount an enrollee is required to pay in 
the form of cost-sharing requirements for covered benefits in a 
plan year, after which the carrier covers the entirety of the 

allowed amount of covered benefits under the contract of 
coverage. 

"Provider group" means a group of multispecialty or single 
specialty health care [ providers professionals ] who contract 
with a facility to exclusively provide multispecialty or single 
specialty health care services at the facility. 

[ "Receipt" means five calendar days after mailing or the date 
of electronic transmittal. ]  

[ "Self-funded group health plan" means an entity providing 
or administering an employee welfare benefit plan, as defined 
in ERISA, 29 USC § 1002(1), that is self-insured or self-
funded with respect to such plan and that establishes for its 
enrollees a network of participating providers. A self-funded 
group health plan also includes the state employee health plan 
and group health plans for local governments, local officers, 
teachers, and retirees, and the dependents of such employees, 
officers, teachers, and retirees. ]  

"Surgical or ancillary services" means any professional 
services, including surgery, anesthesiology, pathology, 
radiology, or hospitalist services and laboratory services. 

"Written" or "in writing" means a written communication that 
is [ only ] electronically transmitted. [ Paper communication is 
discouraged. ]  

14VAC5-405-30. Balance billing for out-of-network 
services.  

A. Pursuant to § 38.2-3445.01 of the Code of Virginia, no out-
of-network provider shall balance bill or attempt to collect 
payment amounts from an enrollee other than those described 
in subsection B of this section for: 

1. Emergency services provided to an enrollee by an out-of-
network provider [ located in Virginia ]; or 

2. Nonemergency services provided to an enrollee at an in-
network facility [ located in Virginia ] if the nonemergency 
services involve [ otherwise ] covered surgical or ancillary 
services provided by an out-of-network provider. 

B. An enrollee who receives services described in subsection 
A of this section is obligated to pay the in-network cost-sharing 
requirement specified in the enrollee's or applicable group 
health plan contract, which shall be determined using the 
carrier's median in-network contracted rate for the same or 
similar service in the same or similar geographic area. When 
there is no median in-network contracted rate for the specific 
services provided, the enrollee's cost-sharing requirement shall 
be determined as provided in § 38.2-3407.3 of the Code of 
Virginia. An enrollee who is enrolled in a high deductible 
health plan associated with a Health Savings Account or other 
health plan for which the carrier is prohibited from providing 
first-dollar coverage prior to the enrollee meeting the 
deductible requirement under 26 USC § 223(c)(2) or any other 
applicable federal or state law may be responsible for any 
additional amounts necessary to meet deductible requirements 
beyond those described in this subsection, including additional 
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amounts pursuant to subsection E of this section and owed to 
the out-of-network provider in 14VAC5-405-40, but only to 
the extent that the deductible has not yet been met and not to 
exceed the deductible amount.  

C. When a clean claim is received pursuant to the provisions 
of subsection A of this section, the health carrier shall be 
responsible for: 

1. Providing an explanation of benefits to the enrollee and 
the out-of-network provider that reflects the cost-sharing 
requirement determined under this subsection;  

2. Applying the in-network cost-sharing requirement under 
subsection B of this section and any cost-sharing 
requirement paid by the enrollee for such services toward the 
in-network maximum out-of-pocket payment obligation; 

3. Making commercially reasonable payments for services 
other than cost-sharing requirements directly to the out-of-
network provider without requiring the completion of any 
assignment of benefits or other documentation by the 
provider or enrollee; 

4. Paying any additional amounts owed to the out-of-
network provider through good faith negotiation or 
arbitration directly to the out-of-network provider; and  

5. Making available to a provider through electronic or other 
method of communication generally used by a provider to 
verify enrollee eligibility and benefits information regarding 
whether an enrollee's health benefit plan is subject to the 
requirements of this section. 

D. If the enrollee pays the out-of-network provider an amount 
that exceeds the amount determined under subsection B of this 
section, the out-of-network provider shall be responsible for: 

1. Refunding to the enrollee the excess amount that the 
enrollee paid to the provider within 30 business days of 
receipt [ of the later of payment or notice that the enrollee's 
managed care plan is subject to the requirements of this 
section ]; and 

2. Paying the enrollee interest computed daily at the legal 
rate of interest stated in § 6.2-301 of the Code of Virginia 
beginning on the first calendar day after the 30 business days 
for any unrefunded payments. 

E. The amount paid to an out-of-network provider for health 
care services described in subsection A of this section shall be 
a commercially reasonable amount [ , based on payments for 
the same or similar services provided in a similar geographic 
area ]. Within 30 calendar days of receipt of a clean claim from 
an out-of-network provider, the carrier shall offer to pay the 
provider a commercially reasonable amount. Disputes between 
the out-of-network provider and the carrier regarding the 
commercially reasonable amount shall be handled as follows: 

1. If the out-of-network provider disputes the carrier's 
payment, the provider shall notify the carrier in writing [ and 

negotiate in good faith ] no later than 30 calendar days after 
[ the earlier of ] receipt of payment or payment notification 
from the carrier; [ 2. The carrier and provider shall have 30 
calendar days from the date of the notice described in 
subdivision E 1 of this subsection to negotiate in good 
faith; ] and 

[ 3. 2. ] If the carrier and provider do not agree to a 
commercially reasonable payment amount within the good 
faith negotiation period and either party  [ chooses acts 
within the required timeframes ] to pursue further action to 
resolve the dispute, the dispute shall be resolved through 
arbitration as provided in § 38.2-3445.02 of the Code of 
Virginia and 14VAC5-405-40. A carrier may not require a 
provider to reject or return claim payment as a condition of 
pursuing further arbitration. 

F. A health carrier shall not be prohibited from [ (i) ] 
informing enrollees in a nonemergency situation of the 
availability of in-network facilities that employ or contract 
with only in-network providers that render surgical and 
ancillary services [ ; or (ii) offering plan designs that encourage 
enrollees to utilize specific in-network health care providers ].  

[ G. The requirements of this chapter only apply to out-of-
network services rendered in Virginia. A carrier's payment for 
covered services received outside Virginia by an out-of-
network provider shall be in accordance with 45 CFR 
§147.138. An enrollee's payment responsibility for services 
received by an out-of-network provider outside Virginia may 
be based on such federal rules that allow balance billing. ]  

14VAC5-405-40. Arbitration process.  
A. If a good faith negotiation does not result in resolution of 

the dispute, the health carrier or provider may initiate 
arbitration by providing [ written the ] notice of intent to 
arbitrate [ form ] to the commission and the non-initiating 
party within 10 calendar days following completion of the 
good faith negotiation period. The notice shall state the 
initiating party's final payment offer. [ Failure to timely submit 
the notice of intent to arbitrate form shall negate the party's 
opportunity to seek arbitration for the claim that was the 
subject of the untimely notice. ]  

B. [ Within 30 calendar days following receipt of the notice 
of intent to arbitrate, the non-initiating party shall provide its 
final payment offer to the initiating party. ] Agreement 
between the parties may be reached at any time in the process. 
[ The arbitration will then be terminated. ] The claim shall 
[ then ] be paid within 10 calendar days and the matter closed 
upon agreement [ or after the arbitration decision ]. 

C. The commission shall maintain a list of qualified 
arbitrators and each arbitrator's fixed fee on its website. 

1. Within five calendar days of the notice of intent to 
arbitrate, the initiating party shall notify the commission of 
either agreement on an arbitrator from the list or that the 
parties cannot agree on an arbitrator. 
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2. If the parties cannot agree on an arbitrator, within [ three 
business five calendar ] days the commission shall provide 
the parties with the names of five arbitrators from the list. 
Within five calendar days, each party is responsible for 
reviewing the list of five arbitrators and notifying the 
commission if there is an apparent conflict of interest with 
any of the arbitrators on the list. Each party may veto up to 
two of the named arbitrators. If one name remains, that 
arbitrator shall be chosen. If more than one name remains, 
the commission shall choose the arbitrator from the 
remaining names. 

3. Once the arbitrator is chosen, the commission shall notify 
the parties and the arbitrator within [ three business five 
calendar ] days. 

4. The arbitrator's fee is payable within 10 calendar days of 
the assignment of the arbitrator with the health carrier and 
the provider to divide the fee equally.  

D. Both parties shall agree to [ and execute ] a nondisclosure 
agreement [ provided by the commission and executed ] within 
10 business days following receipt of the notice of intent to 
arbitrate. 

E. Within [ five calendar days after receiving notification of 
the final selection of an arbitrator 30 calendar days following 
receipt of the notice of intent to arbitrate ], each party shall 
provide written submissions in support of its position [ as well 
as the final payment offers ] directly to the arbitrator. [ At this 
time, the non-initiating party also shall provide its final offer 
to the initiating party. ] Each party shall include in its written 
submission the evidence and methodology for asserting that 
the amount proposed to be paid is or is not commercially 
reasonable. Any party that fails to make a written submission 
required by this subsection without good cause shown will be 
in default. The arbitrator shall require the defaulting party to 
pay or accept the final payment offer of the non-defaulting 
party and may require the defaulting party to pay the entirety 
of the arbitrator's fee. 

F. The arbitrator shall consider the following factors in 
reviewing the submissions of the parties and making a decision 
requiring payment of the final offer amount of either the 
initiating or non-initiating party: 

1. The evidence and methodology submitted by the parties 
to assert that their final offer amount is reasonable; 

2. Patient characteristics and the circumstances and 
complexity of the case, including time and place of service 
and type of facility, that are not already reflected in the 
provider's billing code for the service;  

3. The arbitrator may also consider other information that a 
party believes is relevant as part of their original written 
submission, including data sets developed pursuant to 
§ 38.2-3445.03 of the Code of Virginia. The arbitrator shall 
not require extrinsic evidence of authenticity for admitting 
such data sets. 

G. Within 15 calendar days after receipt of the parties' written 
submissions, the arbitrator shall issue a written decision 
requiring payment of the final offer amount of either of the 
parties. The arbitrator shall notify the parties and the 
commission of this decision. The decision shall include an 
explanation by the arbitrator of the basis for the decision and 
factors relied upon in making the decision and copies of all 
written submissions by each party. The decision shall also 
include information required to be reported to the commission, 
including the name of the health carrier, the name of the 
provider, the provider's employer or business entity in which 
the provider has an ownership interest, the name of the facility 
where services were provided, and the type of health care 
service at issue. [ The claim shall be paid within 10 calendar 
days after the arbitration decision. ]  

H. Within 30 calendar days of receipt of the arbitrator's 
decision, either party may appeal to the commission in 
accordance with the provisions of 5VAC5-20-100 B based 
only on one of the following grounds: (i) the decision was 
substantially influenced by corruption, fraud, or other undue 
means; (ii) there was evident partiality, corruption, or 
misconduct prejudicing the rights of any party; (iii) the 
arbitrator exceeded his powers; or (iv) the arbitrator conducted 
the proceeding contrary to the provisions of § 38.2-3445.02 of 
the Code of Virginia, and commission rules in such a way as 
to materially prejudice the rights of the party. 

I. A single provider is permitted to bundle claims for 
arbitration. Multiple claims may be addressed in a single 
arbitration proceeding if the claims at issue (i) involve identical 
health carrier or administrator and provider parties; (ii) involve 
claims with the same or related Current Procedural Technology 
(CPT) codes, Healthcare Common Procedure Coding System 
(HCPCS) codes, or in the case of facility services, Diagnosis 
Related Group (DRG) codes, Revenue Codes, or other 
procedural codes relevant to a particular procedure, and (iii) 
occur within a period of two months of one another. Provider 
groups are not permitted to bundle claims for arbitration if the 
[ health care ] professional providing the service is not the 
same. 

J. All written submissions and notifications required under 
this section shall be submitted electronically. Individual 
information related to any arbitration is confidential and not 
subject to disclosure. 

14VAC5-405-50. Arbitrator qualifications and application.  
A. Any person meeting the minimum qualifications of an 

arbitrator may submit an application on a form prescribed by 
the commission. An application fee of up to $500 may be 
required. The commission shall review the application within 
30 days of receipt and notify the arbitrator of its decision. 

B. An arbitrator approved by the commission shall meet the 
following minimum qualifications: 

1. Any professional license the arbitrator has is in good 
standing; 



Regulations 

Volume 37, Issue 7  Virginia Register of Regulations  November 23, 2020  

886 

2. Training in the principles of arbitration or dispute 
resolution by an organization recognized by the commission;  

3. Experience in matters related to medical or health care 
services; 

4. Completion of any training made available to the 
applicants by the commission;  

5. Experience in arbitration or dispute resolution; and 

6. Any other information deemed relevant by the 
commission.   

C. The applicant shall supply the following information to the 
commission as part of the application process: 

1. Number of years of experience in arbitrations or dispute 
resolutions; 

2. Number of years of experience engaging in the practice of 
medicine, law, or administration responsible for one or more 
of the following issues: health care billing disputes, carrier 
and provider or facility contract negotiations, health services 
coverage disputes, or other applicable experience; 

3. The names of the health carriers for which the arbitrator 
has conducted arbitrations or dispute resolutions; 

4. Membership in an association related to health care, 
arbitration or dispute resolutions and any association 
training related to health care or arbitration or dispute 
resolution; 

5. A list of specific areas of expertise in which the applicant 
conducts arbitrations;  

6. Fee to be charged for arbitration that shall reflect the total 
amount that will be charged by the proposed arbitrator, 
inclusive of indirect costs, administrative fees, and 
incidental expenses; and 

7. Any other information deemed relevant by the 
commission. 

D. Before accepting any appointment, an arbitrator shall 
[ ensure that there is no disclose to the parties any potential ] 
conflict of interest that would adversely impact the arbitrator's 
independence and impartiality in rendering a decision in the 
arbitration. A conflict of interest [ includes may include ] (i) 
current or recent ownership or employment [ of the arbitrator 
or a close family member by with ] any health carrier; (ii) 
[ serving as or having been employed by current or recent 
ownership or employment with ] a physician, health care 
provider, or a health care facility; or (iii) having a material 
professional, familial, or financial conflict of interest with a 
party to the arbitration to which the arbitrator is assigned. [ A 
close family member is generally a spouse, child, or other 
person living in your home for whom you provide more than 
half of their financial support. ]  

E. An arbitrator shall ensure that arbitrations are conducted 
within the specified timeframes and that required notices are 
provided in a timely manner. 

F. The arbitrator shall maintain records and provide reports to 
the commission as requested in accordance with the 
requirements set out in § 38.2-3445.02 of the Code of Virginia 
and 14VAC5-405-40. 

G. The commission shall immediately terminate the approval 
of an arbitrator who no longer meets the qualifications or 
requirements to serve as an arbitrator. Failure to disclose any 
known facts that a reasonable person would consider likely to 
affect the impartiality of the arbitrator in the arbitration 
proceeding shall serve as potential grounds for termination. 

14VAC5-405-60. Data sets.  
A. The commission shall contract with Virginia Health 

Information or its successor to establish a data set and business 
process to provide health carriers, health care providers, and 
arbitrators with data to assist in determining commercially 
reasonable payments and resolving payment disputes for out-
of-network medical services rendered by health care providers. 
This contractor will develop the data sets and business process 
in collaboration with health carriers and health care providers. 
The data set shall be reviewed by the advisory committee 
established pursuant to § 32.1-276.7:1 of the Code of Virginia. 

B. The 2020 data set shall be based upon the most recently 
available full calendar year of claims data drawn from 
commercial health plan claims and shall not include claims 
paid under Medicare or Medicaid or other claims paid on other 
than a fee-for-service basis. The 2020 data set shall be adjusted 
annually for inflation by applying the Consumer Price Index-
Medical Component as published by the Bureau of Labor 
Statistics of the U.S. Department of Labor to the previous 
year's data set.  

C. The commission may [ request implement ] other 
adjustments to the data sets [ as it deems necessary in 
accordance with § 38.2-3445.03 of the Code of Virginia ]. 

14VAC5-405-70. Notification to consumers.  
A. The notice of consumer rights shall be in a standard format 

provided by the commission and available on the commission's 
website. 

B. A health carrier shall provide an enrollee with: 

1. A clear description of the [ health managed care ] plan's 
out-of-network health benefits outlined in the plan 
documents that also explains the circumstances under which 
the enrollee may have payment responsibility in excess of 
cost-sharing amounts for services provided out-of-network; 

2. The notice of consumer rights delivered with the plan 
documents; and 

3. An explanation of benefits [ containing claims from out-
of-network providers ] that clearly indicates whether the 
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enrollee may or may not be subject to balance billing [ if it 
contains claims from out-of-network providers ]. 

C. A health carrier shall update its website and provider 
directory no later than 30 days after the addition or termination 
of a participating provider.  

D. A health care facility shall provide the notice of consumer 
rights to an enrollee at the time any nonemergency service is 
scheduled and also along with the bill. A health care facility 
shall provide the notice of consumer rights to an enrollee with 
any bill for an emergency service. The notice may be provided 
electronically. However, a posted notice on a website will not 
satisfy this requirement. 

E. A health care provider shall provide a notice of consumer 
rights upon request and post the notice on its website, along 
with a list of carrier provider networks with which it contracts. 
If no website is available, a health care provider shall provide 
to each consumer a list of carrier provider networks with which 
it contracts and the notice of consumer rights. [ This list shall 
be updated on a regular basis. ] 

14VAC5-405-80. [ Self-funded Elective ] group health 
plans may opt-in.  

A. [ A self-funded An elective ] group health plan [ that elects 
to participate in §§ 38.2-3445 through 38.2-3445.07 of the 
Code of Virginia, ] shall provide notice to the commission and 
to [ the its ] third-party administrator [ of the self-funded group 
health plan ] of [ their election its opt-in ] decision on a form 
prescribed by the commission. The completed form must 
include an attestation that the [ self-funded elective ] group 
health plan has elected to participate in and be bound by 
§§ 38.2-3445 through 38.2-3445.07 of the Code of Virginia 
and this chapter, except as described in subsection E of this 
section. The form will be posted on the commission's public 
website for use by [ self-funded elective ] group health plans. 

B. [ A self-funded An elective ] group health plan [ that elects 
to opt in ] shall reflect in its coverage documents its 
participation pursuant to subsection A of this section. The 
[ self-funded elective ] group health plan or plan administrator 
shall submit the required form electronically to the commission 
at least 30 days prior to the effective date. No other documents 
are required to be filed with the commission. 

C. [ A self-funded An elective ] group health plan may elect 
to initiate its participation on January [ 1st 1 ] of any year or in 
any year on the first day of the [ self-funded elective ] group 
health plan's plan year. 

D. [ A self-funded An elective ] group health plan's election 
occurs on an annual basis. [ A An elective ] group [ health 
plan ] may choose to automatically renew its election to opt in 
to §§ 38.2-3445 through 38.2-3445.07 of the Code of Virginia 
on an annual basis or it may choose to renew on an annual basis 
until the commission receives advance notice from the plan 
that it is terminating its election as of either December 31 of a 
calendar year or the last day of its plan year. Notices under this 
subsection must be submitted to the commission at least 30 

days in advance of the effective date of the election to initiate 
participation and the effective date of the termination of 
participation. 

E. [ Self-funded Elective ] group health plan sponsors and 
their third-party administrators may develop their own internal 
processes related to member notification, member appeals, and 
other functions associated with any fiduciary duty to enrollees 
under ERISA [ , if applicable ]. 

F. A list of all [ participating entities elective group health 
plans ] shall be posted on the commission's public website, to 
be updated at least each quarter. Posted information shall 
include relevant plan information. 

G. A carrier that administers [ a self-funded an elective ] 
group health plan shall, at the time of coverage verification 
[ through electronic and other methods of communication 
generally used by a provider to verify enrollee eligibility and 
benefits information ], make information available to a 
provider of the [ group's elective group health plan's ] 
participation in the provisions of this chapter.  

14VAC5-405-90. Severability.  
If any provision of this chapter or its application to any person 

or circumstance is for any reason held to be invalid by a court, 
the remainder of this chapter and the application of the 
provisions to other persons or circumstances shall not be 
affected. 

NOTICE: Forms used in administering the regulation have 
been filed by the agency. The forms are not being published; 
however, online users of this issue of the Virginia Register of 
Regulations may click on the name of a form with a hyperlink 
to access it. The forms are also available from the agency 
contact or may be viewed at the Office of the Registrar of 
Regulations, 900 East Main Street, 11th Floor, Richmond, 
Virginia 23219. 

FORMS (14VAC5-405) 

Notice of Consumer Rights [ (URL to be provided), Form 405-
A (eff. 1/2021) 

Elective Group Health Plan Opt-In , Form 405-B (eff. 1/2021) 

Elective Group Health Plan Change/Termination, Form 405-C 
(eff. 1/2021) 

Notice of Intent to Arbitrate, Form 405-D (eff. 1/2021) 

Arbitrator Application, Form 405-E (eff. 1/2021) ]  
VA.R. Doc. No. R20-6423; Filed October 26, 2020. 

  ––––––––––––––––––   

http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=2bff1006423%7E1e.pdf&typ=40&actno=006423&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=2bff1006423%7E1e.pdf&typ=40&actno=006423&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=64dbb006423%7E2n.pdf&typ=40&actno=006423&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=d49d7006423%7E3e.pdf&typ=40&actno=006423&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=d49d7006423%7E3e.pdf&typ=40&actno=006423&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=9917e006423%7E4e.pdf&typ=40&actno=006423&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=d8515006423%7E5n.pdf&typ=40&actno=006423&mime=application/pdf
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TITLE 18. PROFESSIONAL AND 
OCCUPATIONAL LICENSING 

BOARD OF OPTOMETRY 
Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Board of Optometry is claiming 
an exemption from the Administrative Process Act in 
accordance with § 2.2-4002 A 14 of the Code of Virginia, 
which exempts the Board of Optometry from the 
Administrative Process Act when specifying therapeutic 
pharmaceutical agents, treatment guidelines, and diseases and 
abnormal conditions of the human eye and its adnexa for TPA-
certification of optometrists pursuant to Article 5 (§ 54.1-3222 
et seq.) of Chapter 32 of Title 54.1 of the Code of Virginia. 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC105-20. Regulations Governing 
the Practice of Optometry (amending 18VAC105-20-47). 
Statutory Authority: §§ 54.1-2400 and 54.1-3223 of the Code 
of Virginia. 
Effective Date: December 9, 2020. 
Agency Contact: Leslie L. Knachel, Executive Director, Board 
of Optometry, 9960 Mayland Drive Suite 300, Richmond, VA 
23233, telephone (804) 597-4130, FAX (804) 527-4471, or 
email leslie.knachel@dhp.virginia.gov. 
Summary: 

The amendment adds alpha-adrenergic agonists to the 
therapeutic pharmaceutical agent formulary in the category 
of a topically administered Schedule VI medication. 

18VAC105-20-47. Therapeutic pharmaceutical agents.  
A. A TPA-certified optometrist, acting within the scope of his 

practice, may procure, administer, and prescribe medically 
appropriate therapeutic pharmaceutical agents (or any 
therapeutically appropriate combination thereof) to treat 
diseases and abnormal conditions of the human eye and its 
adnexa within the following categories: 

1. Oral analgesics - Schedule II controlled substances 
consisting of hydrocodone in combination with 
acetaminophen and Schedule III, IV, and VI narcotic and 
nonnarcotic agents. 

2. Topically administered Schedule VI agents: 
a. Alpha-adrenergic blocking agents; 
b. Alpha-adrenergic agonists;  
c. Anesthetic (including esters and amides); 
c. d. Anti-allergy (including antihistamines and mast cell 
stabilizers); 
d. e. Anti-fungal; 
e. f. Anti-glaucoma (including carbonic anhydrase 
inhibitors and hyperosmotics); 

f. g. Anti-infective (including antibiotics and antivirals); 
g. h. Anti-inflammatory; 
h. i Cycloplegics and mydriatics; 
i. j. Decongestants; and 
j. k. Immunosuppressive agents. 

3. Orally administered Schedule VI agents: 
a. Aminocaproic acids (including antifibrinolytic agents); 
b. Anti-allergy (including antihistamines and leukotriene 
inhibitors); 
c. Anti-fungal; 
d. Anti-glaucoma (including carbonic anhydrase 
inhibitors and hyperosmotics); 
e. Anti-infective (including antibiotics and antivirals); 
f. Anti-inflammatory (including steroidal and 
nonsteroidal); 
g. Decongestants; and 
h. Immunosuppressive agents. 

B. Schedule I, II, and V drugs are excluded from the list of 
therapeutic pharmaceutical agents with the exception of 
controlled substances in Schedule II consisting of hydrocodone 
in combination with acetaminophen and gabapentin in 
Schedule V. 

C. Over-the-counter topical and oral medications for the 
treatment of the eye and its adnexa may be procured for 
administration, administered, prescribed, or dispensed. 

VA.R. Doc. No. 21-6523; Filed 11/2/2020 4:13:29 PM. 

REAL ESTATE APPRAISER BOARD 

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The following regulatory action is 
exempt from Article 2 of the Administrative Process Act in 
accordance with § 2.2-4006 A 4 c of the Code of Virginia, 
which excludes regulations that are necessary to meet the 
requirements of federal law or regulations, provided such 
regulations do not differ materially from those required by 
federal law or regulation. The Real Estate Appraiser Board will 
receive, consider, and respond to petitions by any interested 
person at any time with respect to reconsideration or revision. 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC130-20. Real Estate Appraiser 
Board Rules and Regulations (amending 18VAC130-20-
10). 
Statutory Authority: § 54.1-2013 of the Code of Virginia.  
Effective Date: January 1, 2021. 
Agency Contact: Christine Martine, Executive Director, Real 
Estate Appraiser Board, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 400, 
Richmond, VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-8552, FAX (804) 
527-4298, or email reappraisers@dpor.virginia.gov. 

mailto:leslie.knachel@dhp.virginia.gov
mailto:reappraisers@dpor.virginia.gov
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Summary: 

Federal law authorizes the Appraisal Qualifications Board 
(AQB) to set the minimum criteria for states to license and 
certify real estate appraisers. The AQB's minimum 
qualification requirements are expressed in The Real 
Property Appraiser Qualification Criteria. The AQB revised 
the definition of licensed residential real estate appraiser. 
The amendments conform the Virginia regulations to comply 
with the January 1, 2021, AQB Criteria changes. 

18VAC130-20-10. Definitions.  
Part I  

General  
The following words and terms when used in this chapter, 

unless a different meaning is provided or is plainly required by 
the context, shall have the following meanings:  

"Accredited colleges, universities, junior and community 
colleges" means those accredited institutions of higher learning 
approved by the State Council of Higher Education for 
Virginia or listed in the Transfer Credit Practices of Designated 
Educational Institutions, published by the American 
Association of Collegiate Registrars and Admissions Officers 
or a recognized international equivalent.  

"Adult distributive or marketing education programs" means 
those programs offered at schools approved by the Virginia 
Department of Education or any other local, state, or federal 
government agency, board or commission to teach adult 
education or marketing courses.  

"Analysis" means a study of real estate or real property other 
than the estimation of value.  

"Appraisal Foundation" means the foundation incorporated as 
an Illinois Not for Profit Corporation on November 30, 1987, 
to establish and improve uniform appraisal standards by 
defining, issuing, and promoting such standards.  

"Appraisal subcommittee" means the designees of the heads 
of the federal financial institutions regulatory agencies 
established by the Federal Financial Institutions Examination 
Council Act of 1978 (12 USC § 3301 et seq.), as amended.  

"Appraiser" means an individual who is expected to perform 
valuation services competently and in a manner that is 
independent, impartial, and objective.  

"Appraiser classification" means any category of appraiser, 
which the board creates by designating criteria for qualification 
for such category and by designating the scope of practice 
permitted for such category.  

"Appraiser Qualifications Board" means the board created by 
the Appraisal Foundation to establish appropriate criteria for 
the certification and recertification of qualified appraisers by 
defining, issuing, and promoting such qualification criteria; to 
disseminate such qualification criteria to states, governmental 
entities, and others; and to develop or assist in the development 
of appropriate examinations for qualified appraisers.  

"Appraiser trainee" means an individual who is licensed as an 
appraiser trainee to appraise those properties that the 
supervising appraiser is permitted to appraise.  

"Business entity" means any corporation, partnership, 
association, or other business entity under which appraisal 
services are performed.  

"Certified general real estate appraiser" means an individual 
who meets the requirements for licensure that relate to the 
appraisal of all types of real estate and real property and is 
licensed as a certified general real estate appraiser.  

"Certified instructor" means an individual holding an 
instructor certificate issued by the Real Estate Appraiser Board 
to act as an instructor.  

"Certified residential real estate appraiser" means an 
individual who meets the requirements for licensure for the 
appraisal of or the review appraisal of any residential real 
estate or real property of one to four residential units regardless 
of transaction value or complexity. Certified residential real 
estate appraisers may also appraise or provide a review 
appraisal of nonresidential properties with a transaction value 
or market value as defined by the Uniform Standards of 
Professional Appraisal Practice up to $250,000, whichever is 
the lesser.  

"Classroom hour" means 50 minutes out of each 60-minute 
segment. The prescribed number of classroom hours includes 
time devoted to tests which are considered to be part of the 
course.  

"Distance education" means an educational process based on 
the geographical separation of provider and student (i.e., CD-
ROM, online learning, correspondence courses, etc.).  

"Experience" as used in this chapter includes experience 
gained in the performance of traditional appraisal assignments, 
or in the performance of the following: fee and staff appraisals, 
ad valorem tax appraisal, review appraisal, appraisal analysis, 
real estate consulting, highest and best use analysis, and 
feasibility analysis or study.  

For the purpose of this chapter, experience has been divided 
into four major categories: (i) fee and staff appraisal, (ii) ad 
valorem tax appraisal, (iii) review appraisal, and (iv) real estate 
consulting.  

1. "Fee and staff appraiser experience" means experience 
acquired as a sole appraiser, as a cosigner, or through 
disclosure of assistance in the certification in accordance 
with the Uniform Standards of Professional Appraisal 
Practice.  

Sole appraiser experience is experience obtained by an 
individual who makes personal inspections of real estate, 
assembles and analyzes the relevant facts, and by the use of 
reason and the exercise of judgment forms objective 
opinions and prepares reports as to the market value or other 
properly defined value of identified interests in said real 
estate.  
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Cosigner appraiser experience is experience obtained by an 
individual who signs an appraisal report prepared by 
another, thereby accepting full responsibility for the content 
and conclusions of the appraisal.  

To qualify for fee and staff appraiser experience, an 
individual must have prepared written appraisal reports after 
January 30, 1989, that comply with the Uniform Standards 
of Professional Appraisal Practice in the edition in effect at 
the time of the reports' preparation, including Standards 1 
and 2.  

2. "Ad valorem tax appraisal experience" means experience 
obtained by an individual who assembles and analyzes the 
relevant facts and who correctly employs those recognized 
methods and techniques that are necessary to produce and 
communicate credible appraisals within the context of the 
real property tax laws. Ad valorem tax appraisal experience 
may be obtained either through individual property 
appraisals or through mass appraisals as long as applicants 
under this category of experience can demonstrate that they 
are using techniques to value real property similar to those 
being used by fee and staff appraisers and that they are 
effectively utilizing the appraisal process.  

To qualify for ad valorem tax appraisal experience for 
individual property appraisals, an individual must have 
prepared written appraisal reports after January 30, 1989, 
that comply with the Uniform Standards of Professional 
Appraisal Practice in the edition in effect at the time of the 
reports' preparation.  

To qualify for ad valorem tax appraisal experience for mass 
appraisals, an individual must have prepared mass appraisals 
or have documented mass appraisal reports after January 30, 
1989, that comply with the Uniform Standards of 
Professional Appraisal Practice in the edition in effect at the 
time of the reports' preparation, including Standard 6.  

In addition to the preceding, to qualify for ad valorem tax 
appraisal experience, the applicant's experience log must be 
attested to by the applicant's supervisor.  

3. "Reviewer experience" means experience obtained by an 
individual who examines the reports of appraisers to 
determine whether their conclusions are consistent with the 
data reported and other generally known information. An 
individual acting in the capacity of a reviewer does not 
necessarily make personal inspection of real estate but does 
review and analyze relevant facts assembled by fee and staff 
appraisers and by the use of reason and exercise of judgment 
forms objective conclusions as to the validity of fee and staff 
appraisers' opinions. Reviewer experience shall not 
constitute more than 1,000 hours of total experience 
claimed, and at least 50% of the review experience claimed 
must be in field review wherein the individual has personally 
inspected the real property which is the subject of the review.  

To qualify for reviewer experience, an individual must have 
prepared written reports after January 30, 1989, 
recommending the acceptance, revision, or rejection of the 
fee and staff appraiser's opinions that comply with the 
Uniform Standards of Professional Appraisal Practice in the 
edition in effect at the time of the reports' preparation, 
including Standard 3.  

Signing as "Review Appraiser" on an appraisal report 
prepared by another will not qualify an individual for 
experience in the reviewer category. Experience gained in 
this capacity will be considered under the cosigner 
subcategory of fee and staff appraiser experience.  

4. "Real estate consulting experience" means experience 
obtained by an individual who assembles and analyzes the 
relevant facts and by the use of reason and the exercise of 
judgment forms objective opinions concerning matters other 
than value estimates relating to real property. Real estate 
consulting experience includes the following:  

Absorption Study  
Ad Valorem Tax Study  
Annexation Study  
Assemblage Study  
Assessment Study  
Condominium Conversion Study  
Cost-Benefit Study  
Cross Impact Study  
Depreciation/Cost Study  
Distressed Property Study  
Economic Base Analysis  
Economic Impact Study  
Economic Structure Analysis  
Eminent Domain Study  
Feasibility Study  
Highest and Best Use Study  
Impact Zone Study  
Investment Analysis Study  
Investment Strategy Study  
Land Development Study  
Land Suitability Study  
Land Use Study  
Location Analysis Study  
Market Analysis Study  
Market Strategy Study  
Market Turning Point Analysis  
Marketability Study  
Portfolio Study  
Rehabilitation Study  
Remodeling Study  
Rental Market Study  
Right of Way Study  
Site Analysis Study  
Utilization Study  
Urban Renewal Study  
Zoning Study  
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To qualify for real estate consulting experience, an 
individual must have prepared written reports after January 
30, 1989, that comply with the Uniform Standards of 
Professional Appraisal Practice in the edition in effect at the 
time of the reports' preparation, including Standards 4 and 5. 
Real estate consulting shall not constitute more than 500 
hours of experience for any type of appraisal license.  

"Inactive license" means a license that has been renewed 
without meeting the continuing education requirements 
specified in this chapter. Inactive licenses do not meet the 
requirements set forth in § 54.1-2011 of the Code of Virginia.  

"Licensed residential real estate appraiser" means an 
individual who meets the requirements for licensure for the 
appraisal of or the review appraisal of any noncomplex, 
residential real estate or real property of one to four one-to-four 
residential units, including federally related transactions, 
where the transaction value or market value as defined by the 
Uniform Standards of Professional Appraisal Practice is less 
than $1 million, and complex one-to-four residential units 
having a transaction value less than $400,000. Licensed 
residential real estate appraisers may also appraise or provide 
a review appraisal of noncomplex, nonresidential properties 
with a transaction value or market value as defined by the 
Uniform Standards of Professional Appraisal Practice up to 
$250,000, whichever is the lesser.  

"Licensee" means any individual holding an active license 
issued by the Real Estate Appraiser Board to act as a certified 
general real estate appraiser, certified residential real estate 
appraiser, licensed residential real estate appraiser, or appraiser 
trainee as defined, respectively, in § 54.1-2009 of the Code of 
Virginia and in this chapter.  

"Local, state or federal government agency, board or 
commission" means an entity established by any local, federal, 
or state government to protect or promote the health, safety, 
and welfare of its citizens.  

"Proprietary school" means a privately owned school offering 
appraisal or appraisal related courses approved by the board.  

"Provider" means accredited colleges, universities, junior and 
community colleges; adult distributive or marketing education 
programs; local, state or federal government agencies, boards 
or commissions; proprietary schools; or real estate appraisal or 
real estate related organizations.  

"Real estate appraisal activity" means the act or process of 
valuation of real property or preparing an appraisal report.  

"Real estate appraisal" or "real estate related organization" 
means any appraisal or real estate related organization 
formulated on a national level, where its membership extends 
to more than one state or territory of the United States.  

"Reciprocity agreement" means a conditional agreement 
between two or more states that will recognize one another's 
regulations and laws for equal privileges for mutual benefit.  

"Registrant" means any corporation, partnership, association, 
or other business entity that provides appraisal services and 

that is registered with the Real Estate Appraiser Board in 
accordance with § 54.1-2011 E of the Code of Virginia.  

"Reinstatement" means having a license or registration 
restored to effectiveness after the expiration date has passed.  

"Renewal" means continuing the effectiveness of a license or 
registration for another period of time.  

"Sole proprietor" means any individual, but not a corporation, 
partnership, or association, who is trading under his own name, 
or under an assumed or fictitious name pursuant to the 
provisions of §§ 59.1-69 through 59.1-76 of the Code of 
Virginia.  

"Substantially equivalent" means any educational course or 
seminar, experience, or examination taken in this or another 
jurisdiction that is equivalent in classroom hours, course 
content and subject, and degree of difficulty, respectively, to 
those requirements outlined in this chapter and Chapter 20.1 
(§ 54.1-2009 et seq.) of Title 54.1 of the Code of Virginia for 
licensure and renewal.  

"Supervising appraiser" means any individual holding a 
license issued by the Real Estate Appraiser Board to act as a 
certified general real estate appraiser or certified residential 
real estate appraiser who supervises any unlicensed individual 
acting as a real estate appraiser or an appraiser trainee as 
specified in this chapter.  

"Transaction value" means the monetary amount of a 
transaction that may require the services of a certified or 
licensed appraiser for completion. The transaction value is not 
always equal to the market value of the real property interest 
involved. For loans or other extensions of credit, the 
transaction value equals the amount of the loan or other 
extensions of credit. For sales, leases, purchases, and 
investments in or exchanges of real property, the transaction 
value is the market value of the real property interest involved. 
For the pooling of loans or interests in real property for resale 
or purchase, the transaction value is the amount of the loan or 
the market value of real property calculated with respect to 
each such loan or interest in real property.  

"Uniform Standards of Professional Appraisal Practice" 
means the 2020-2021 edition of those standards promulgated 
by the Appraisal Standards Board of the Appraisal Foundation 
for use by all appraisers in the preparation of appraisal reports.  

"Valuation" means an estimate or opinion of the value of real 
property.  

"Valuation assignment" means an engagement for which an 
appraiser is employed or retained to give an analysis, opinion, 
or conclusion that results in an estimate or opinion of the value 
of an identified parcel of real property as of a specified date.  

"Waiver" means the voluntary, intentional relinquishment of 
a known right.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R21-6551; Filed October 27, 2020. 

  ––––––––––––––––––   
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TITLE 20. PUBLIC UTILITIES AND 
TELECOMMUNICATIONS 

STATE CORPORATION COMMISSION 

Proposed Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The State Corporation Commission 
is claiming an exemption from the Administrative Process Act 
in accordance with § 2.2-4002 A 2 of the Code of Virginia, 
which exempts courts, any agency of the Supreme Court, and 
any agency that by the Constitution is expressly granted any of 
the powers of a court of record. 

Title of Regulation: 20VAC5-315. Regulations Governing 
Net Energy Metering (amending 20VAC5-315-20, 
20VAC5-315-40, 20VAC5-315-50). 
Statutory Authority: §§ 12.1-13 and 56-594 of the Code of 
Virginia.  
Public Hearing Information: A public hearing will be held 
upon request. 
Public Comment Deadline: December 22, 2020. 
Agency Contact: Neil Joshipura, Utility Engineer, Public 
Utility Regulation Division, State Corporation Commission, 
P.O. Box 1197, Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 225-
3201, FAX (804) 371-9350, or email 
neil.joshipura@scc.virginia.gov. 
Summary: 

The proposed amendments implement provisions enacted in 
Chapter 1188 of the 2020 Acts of Assembly, including (i) 
increasing the caps on participation in net metering by 
residential and nonresidential customers and (ii) adding the 
parameters under which the commission will conduct a net 
metering proceeding and establish the rules under which 
certain localities will be permitted to install solar-powered 
or wind-powered facilities.  

AT RICHMOND, OCTOBER 21, 2020 
COMMONWEALTH OF VIRGINIA, ex rel.  

STATE CORPORATION COMMISSION 

CASE NO. PUR-2020-00195 
Ex Parte: In the matter of amending regulations 
governing net energy metering 

ORDER ESTABLISHING PROCEEDING 
The Regulations Governing Net Energy Metering, 20 VAC 

5-315-10 et seq. ("Net Energy Metering Rules"), adopted by 
the State Corporation Commission ("Commission") pursuant 
to § 56-594 of the Virginia Electric Utility Regulation Act, 
Chapter 23 (§ 56-576 et seq.) of Title 56 of the Code of 
Virginia ("Code"), establish the requirements for participation 
by an eligible customer-generator in net energy metering in the 
Commonwealth. The Net Energy Metering Rules include 

conditions for interconnection and metering, billing, and 
contract requirements between net metering customers, 
electric distribution companies, and energy service providers. 

Chapter 1188 of the 2020 Acts of Assembly amended § 56-
594 of the Code to (1) increase the caps on participation in net 
metering by residential and non-residential customers; (2) 
establish revised limits on capacity on net metering facilities 
based on the customer's expected annual energy consumption; 
(3) require the Commission to conduct a net metering 
proceeding under parameters set by the Code when certain 
criteria have been met; and (4) permit localities meeting 
criteria established in the Code to install solar or wind-powered 
facilities under parameters set forth in the statute. The current 
Net Energy Metering Rules thus must be revised to reflect the 
changes set forth in Chapter 1188. 

NOW THE COMMISSION, upon consideration of the 
matter, is of the opinion and finds that a proceeding should be 
established to amend the Net Energy Metering Rules to provide 
for net metering by eligible customer-generators, as defined in 
the Code. 

To initiate this proceeding, the Commission Staff has 
prepared proposed rules ("Proposed Rules") which are 
appended to this Order. We will direct that notice of the 
Proposed Rules be given to the public and that interested 
persons be provided an opportunity to file written comments 
on, propose modifications or supplements to, or request a 
hearing on the Proposed Rules. We will further direct that each 
Virginia electric distribution company within the meaning of 
20 VAC 5-315-20 serve a copy of this Order upon each of their 
respective net metering customers and file a certificate of 
service. Individuals should be specific in their comments, 
proposals, or supplements to the Proposed Rules and address 
only those issues pertaining to the amendment of § 56-594 of 
the Code pursuant to Chapter 1188 of the 2020 Acts of 
Assembly. Issues outside the scope of implementing these 
amendments will not be open for consideration. 

The Commission takes judicial notice of the ongoing public 
health emergency related to the spread of the novel 
coronavirus, or COVID-19, and the declarations of emergency 
issued at both the state and federal levels.1The Commission has 
taken certain actions, and may take additional actions going 
forward, that could impact the procedures in this proceeding.2 

Accordingly, IT IS ORDERED THAT: 
(1) This case is docketed and assigned Case No. PUR-2020-

00195. 
(2) The Commission's Division of Information Resources 

shall forward a copy of this Order Establishing Proceeding to 
the Registrar of Regulations for publication in the Virginia 
Register of Regulations. 

(3) On or before November 20, 2020, each Virginia electric 
distribution company shall serve a copy of this Order upon 
each of their respective net metering customers and file a 

mailto:neil.joshipura@scc.virginia.gov
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certificate of service no later than December 11, 2020, 
consistent with the findings above. 

(4) On or before December 22, 2020, any interested person 
may comment on, propose modifications or supplements to, or 
request a hearing on the Proposed Rules following the 
instructions on the Commission's website: 
scc.virginia.gov/casecomments/Submit-Public-Comments. 
All comments shall refer to Case No. PUR-2020-00195. 
Individuals should be specific in their comments, proposals, or 
supplements to the Proposed Rules and address only those 
issues pertaining to the amendment of § 56-594 of the Code 
pursuant to Chapter 1188 of the 2020 Acts of Assembly. Issues 
outside the scope of implementing this amendment will not be 
open for consideration. Any request for hearing shall state with 
specificity why the issues raised in the request for hearing 
cannot be adequately addressed in written comments. If a 
sufficient request for hearing is not received, the Commission 
may consider the matter and enter an order based upon the 
comments, documents or other pleadings filed in this 
proceeding.  

(5) All comments and other documents and pleadings filed in 
this matter shall be submitted electronically to the extent 
authorized by Rule 5 VAC 5-20-150, Copies and format, of the 
Commission's Rules of Practice and Procedure ("Rules of 
Practice"),3 as modified herein.4 Confidential and 
Extraordinarily Sensitive Information shall not be submitted 
electronically and shall comply with Rule 5 VAC 5-20-170, 
Confidential information. For the duration of the COVID-19 
emergency, any person seeking to hand deliver and physically 
file or submit any pleading or document shall contact the 
Clerk's Office Document Control Center at (804) 371-9838 to 
arrange the delivery.5 

(6) This matter is continued for further orders of the 
Commission. 

A COPY hereof shall be sent electronically by the Clerk of 
the Commission to all persons on the official Service List in 
this matter. The Service List is available from the Clerk of the 
Commission. 
____________________________ 
1See, e.g., Executive Order No. 51, Declaration of a State of Emergency Due 
to Novel Coronavirus, COVID-19, issued March 12, 2020, by Gov. Ralph S. 
Northam. See also, Executive Order No. 53, Temporary Restrictions on 
Restaurants, Recreational, Entertainment, Gatherings, Non-Essential Retail 
Businesses, and Closure of K-12 Schools Due to Novel Coronavirus (COVID-
19), issued March 23, 2020, by Governor Ralph S. Northam, and Executive 
Order No. 55, Temporary Stay At Home Order Due to Novel Coronavirus 
(COVID-19), issued March 30, 2020, by Governor Ralph S. Northam. These 
and subsequent Executive Orders related to COVID-19 may be found at: 
https://www.governor.virginia.gov/executive-actions/. 
2See, e.g., Commonwealth of Virginia, ex rel. State Corporation Commission, 
Ex Parte: Electronic Service of Commission Orders, Case No. CLK-2020-
00004, Doc. Con. Cen. No. 200330035, Order Concerning Electronic Service 
of Commission Orders (Mar. 19, 2020), extended by Doc. Con. Cen. No. 
200520105, Order Regarding the State Corporation Commission's Revised 
Operating Procedures During COVID-19 Emergency (May 11, 2020); 
Commonwealth of Virginia, ex rel., State Corporation Commission, Ex 
Parte:  Revised Operating Procedures During COVID-19 Emergency, Case 

No. CLK-2020-00005, Doc. Con. Cen. No. 200330042, Order Regarding the 
State Corporation Commission's Revised Operating Procedures During 
COVID-19 Emergency (Mar. 19, 2020) ("Revised Operating Procedures 
Order"), extended by Doc. Con. Cen. No. 200520105, Order Regarding the 
State Corporation Commission's Revised Operating Procedures During 
COVID-19 Emergency (May 11, 2020); Commonwealth of Virginia, ex rel. 
State Corporation Commission, Ex Parte: Electronic service among parties 
during COVID-19 emergency, Case No. CLK-2020-00007, Doc. Con. Cen. 
No. 200410009, Order Requiring Electronic Service (Apr. 1, 2020). 
35 VAC 5-20-10 et seq. 
4See supra, note 2. 
5As noted in the Revised Operating Procedures Order, submissions to the 
Commission's Clerk's Office via U.S. mail or commercial mail equivalents 
may not be processed for an indefinite period of time due to the COVID-19 
emergency. See supra, note 2. 

20VAC5-315-20. Definitions.  
The following words and terms when used in this chapter 

shall have the following meanings unless the context clearly 
indicates otherwise: 

"Agricultural business" means any sole proprietorship, 
corporation, partnership, electing small business (Subchapter 
S) corporation, or limited liability company engaged primarily 
in the production and sale of plants and animals, products 
collected from plants and animals, or plant and animal services 
that are useful to the public. 

"Agricultural net metering customer" means a customer that 
operates an electrical generating facility consisting of one or 
more agricultural renewable fuel generators having an 
aggregate generation capacity of not more than 500 kilowatts 
as part of an agricultural business under a net metering service 
arrangement. An agricultural net metering customer may be 
served by multiple meters of one utility serving the agricultural 
net metering customer that are located at separate but 
contiguous the same or adjacent sites and that may be 
aggregated into one account. This account shall be served 
under the appropriate tariff. 

"Agricultural renewable fuel generator" or "agricultural 
renewable fuel generating facility" means one or more 
electrical generators that: 

1. Use as their sole energy source solar power, wind power, 
or aerobic or anaerobic digester gas; 

2. The agricultural net metering customer owns and 
operates, or has contracted with other persons to own or 
operate, or both; 

3. Are located on land owned or controlled by the 
agricultural business; 

4. Are connected to the agricultural net metering customer's 
wiring on the agricultural net metering customer's side of the 
agricultural net metering customer's interconnection with the 
distributor; 

5. Are interconnected and operated in parallel with an 
electric company's distribution facilities; and 
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6. Are used primarily to provide energy to metered accounts 
of the agricultural business. 

"Billing period" means, as to a particular agricultural net 
metering customer or a net metering customer, the time period 
between the two meter readings upon which the electric 
distribution company and the energy service provider calculate 
the agricultural net metering customer's or net metering 
customer's bills. 

"Billing period credit" means, for a nontime-of-use 
agricultural net metering customer or a nontime-of-use net 
metering customer, the quantity of electricity generated and fed 
back into the electric grid by the agricultural net metering 
customer's agricultural renewable fuel generator or by the net 
metering customer's renewable fuel generator in excess of the 
electricity supplied to the customer over the billing period. For 
time-of-use agricultural net metering customers or time-of-use 
net metering customers, billing period credits are determined 
separately for each time-of-use tier. 

"Competitive service provider" means a person, licensed by 
the State Corporation Commission, that sells or offers to sell a 
competitive energy service within the Commonwealth. This 
term includes affiliated competitive service providers but does 
not include a party that supplies electricity or natural gas, or 
both, exclusively for its own consumption or the consumption 
of one or more of its affiliates. For the purpose of this chapter, 
competitive service providers include aggregators. 

"Contiguous sites" means a group of land parcels in which 
each parcel shares at least one boundary point with at least one 
other parcel in the group. Property whose surface is divided 
only by public right-of-way is considered contiguous. 

"Customer" means a net metering customer or an agricultural 
net metering customer. 

"Demand charge-based time-of-use tariff" means a retail 
tariff for electric supply service that has two or more time-of-
use tiers for energy-based charges and an electricity supply 
demand (kilowatt) charge. 

"Electric cooperative" means an electric distribution 
company organized pursuant to Chapter 9.1 (§ 56-231.15 et 
seq.) of Title 56 of the Code of Virginia, owned by its 
members. 

"Electric distribution company" means the entity that owns or 
operates the distribution facilities delivering electricity to the 
premises of an agricultural net metering customer or a net 
metering customer. 

"Energy service provider (supplier)" means the entity 
providing electricity supply service, either tariffed or 
competitive service, to an agricultural net metering customer 
or a net metering customer. 

"Excess generation" means the amount of electrical energy 
generated in excess of the electrical energy consumed by the 
agricultural net metering customer or net metering customer 
over the course of the net metering period. For time-of-use 
agricultural net metering customers or net metering customers, 

excess generation is determined separately for each time-of-
use tier. 

"Generator" or "generating facility" means an electrical 
generating facility consisting of one or more renewable fuel 
generators or one or more agricultural renewable fuel 
generators that meet the criteria under the definition of "net 
metering customer" and "agricultural net metering customer," 
respectively. 

"Low-income utility customer" means the same as that term 
is defined in § 56-576 of the Code of Virginia. 

"Net metering customer" means a customer owning and 
operating, or contracting with other persons to own or operate, 
or both, an electrical generating facility consisting of one or 
more renewable fuel generators having an aggregate 
generation capacity of not more than 20 25 kilowatts for 
residential customers and not more than one megawatt three 
megawatts for nonresidential customers. The generating 
facility shall be operated under a net metering service 
arrangement. 

"Net metering period" means each successive 12-month 
period beginning with the first meter reading date following 
the final interconnection of an agricultural net metering 
customer or a net metering customer's generating facility 
consisting of one or more agricultural renewable fuel 
generators or one or more renewable fuel generators, 
respectively, with the electric distribution company's 
distribution facilities. 

"Net metering service" means providing retail electric service 
to an agricultural net metering customer operating an 
agricultural renewable fuel generating facility or a net metering 
customer operating a renewable fuel generating facility and 
measuring the difference, over the net metering period, 
between the electricity supplied to the customer from the 
electric grid and the electricity generated and fed back to the 
electric grid by the customer. 

"Nonprofit customer" or "not-for-profit customer" means a 
person that is exempt from federal income taxation, including 
(without limitation) schools, hospitals, institutions of higher 
education, public charities, and churches and other houses of 
religious worship, as determined by the Internal Revenue 
Service. 

"Person" means any individual, sole proprietorship, 
corporation, limited liability company, partnership, 
association, company, business, trust, joint venture, or other 
private legal entity, the Commonwealth, or any city, county, 
town, authority, or other political subdivision of the 
Commonwealth. 

"Phase I Utility" shall be defined in accordance with 
subdivision A 1 of § 56-585.1 of the Code of Virginia. 

"Phase II Utility" shall be defined in accordance with 
subdivision A 1 of § 56-585.1 of the Code of Virginia. 

"Purchase power agreement provider" or "PPA provider" 
means, in an electric cooperative service territory, a person 
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registered with the commission's Division of Public Utility 
Regulation pursuant to 20VAC5-315-77 to offer third-party 
partial requirements power purchase agreements to customers. 

"Registry" means, in reference to a PPA provider, the list of 
those persons registered with the commission's Division of 
Public Utility Regulation as PPA providers. 

"Renewable Energy Certificate" or "REC" represents the 
renewable energy attributes associated with the production of 
one megawatt-hour (MWh) of electrical energy by a generator. 

"Renewable fuel generator" or "renewable fuel generating 
facility" means one or more electrical generators that: 

1. Use renewable energy, as defined by § 56-576 of the Code 
of Virginia, as their total fuel source; 

2. The net metering customer owns and operates, or has 
contracted with other persons to own or operate, or both; 

3. Are located on the net metering customer's premises land 
owned or leased by the net metering customer and connected 
to the net metering customer's wiring on the net metering 
customer's side of its interconnection with the distributor; 

4. Are interconnected pursuant to a net metering 
arrangement and operated in parallel with the electric 
distribution company's distribution facilities; and 

5. Are intended primarily to offset all or part of the net 
metering customer's own electricity requirements. The 
capacity of any generating facility installed on or after July 
1, 2015, shall not exceed the expected annual energy 
consumption based on the previous 12 months of billing 
history or an annualized calculation of billing history if 12 
months of billing history is not available.  

"Small agricultural generating facility" means an electrical 
generating facility that: 

1. Has a capacity of not more than 1.5 megawatts and does 
not exceed 150% of the customer's expected annual energy 
consumption based on the previous 12 months of billing 
history or an annualized calculation of billing history if 12 
months of billing history is not available; 

2. Uses as its total source of fuel renewable energy; 

3. Is located on the customer's premises and is 
interconnected with the utility's distribution system through 
a separate meter; 

4. Is interconnected and operated in parallel with an electric 
utility's distribution system but not transmission facilities; 

5. Is designed so that the electricity generated is expected to 
remain on the utility's distribution system; and 

6. Is a qualifying small power production facility pursuant to 
the Public Utility Regulatory Policies Act of 1978 (P.L. 95-
617). 

"Small agricultural generator" means a customer that: 

1. Is not an eligible agricultural customer-generator pursuant 
to § 56-594 of the Code of Virginia; 

2. Operates a small agricultural generating facility as part of 
an agricultural business; 

3. May be served by multiple meters that are located at 
separate but contiguous sites; 

4. May aggregate the electricity consumption measured by 
the meters, solely for purposes of calculating 150% of the 
customer's expected annual energy consumption but not for 
billing or retail service purposes, provided that the same 
utility serves all of its meters; 

5. Uses not more than 25% of the contiguous land owned or 
controlled by the agricultural business for purposes of the 
renewable energy generating facility; and 

6. Provides the electric utility with a certification, attested 
under oath, as to the amount of land being used for 
renewable generation. 

"System peak" for an electric cooperative, means the highest 
peak, based on the noncoincident peak of the electric 
cooperative or the coincident peak of all of the electric 
cooperative's customers of the past three years listed in Part O, 
Line 20 of Form 7 (Financial And Operating Report - Electric 
Distribution) filed with the U.S. Department of Agriculture's 
Rural Utilities Service (RUS), or an equivalent form if a 
cooperative is not an RUS borrower, less any portion of the 
cooperative's total load that is served by a competitive service 
provider or by a market-based rate. 

"Third-party partial requirements power purchase agreement" 
or "third-party PPA" means, for an electric cooperative, an 
agreement entered into pursuant to § 56-594.01 K of the Code 
of Virginia between a customer engaging in net energy 
metering and a registered PPA provider pursuant to 20VAC5-
315-77. 

"Time-of-use customer" means an agricultural net metering 
customer or net metering customer receiving retail electricity 
supply service under a demand charge-based time-of-use tariff. 

"Time-of-use period" means an interval of time over which 
the energy (kilowatt-hour) rate charged to a time-of-use 
customer does not change. 

"Time-of-use tier" or "tier" means all time-of-use periods 
given the same name (e.g., on-peak, off-peak, critical peak, 
etc.) for the purpose of time-differentiating energy (kilowatt-
hour)-based charges. The rates associated with a particular tier 
may vary by day and by season. 

20VAC5-315-40. Conditions of interconnection.  
A. A prospective customer may begin operation of the 

generating facility on an interconnected basis when: 

1. The customer has properly notified both the electric 
distribution company and energy service provider (in 
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accordance with 20VAC5-315-30) of the customer's intent 
to interconnect. 

2. If required by the electric distribution company's tariff, the 
customer has installed a lockable, electric distribution 
company accessible, load breaking manual disconnect 
switch at each of the facility's generators. 

3. The licensed electrician who installs the customer's 
generator certifies, by signing the commission-approved 
notification form, that any required manual disconnect 
switch is being installed properly and that the generator has 
been installed in accordance with the manufacturer's 
specifications as well as all applicable provisions of the 
National Electrical Code. If the customer or licensed 
Virginia Class A or B general contractor installs the 
customer's generator, the signed final electrical inspection 
can be used in lieu of the licensed electrician's certification. 

4. The vendor certifies by signing the commission-approved 
notification form that the generator being installed is in 
compliance with the requirements established by 
Underwriters Laboratories or other national testing 
laboratories in accordance with IEEE Standard 1547, 
Standard for Interconnecting Distributed Resources with 
Electric Power Systems, July 2003. 

5. In the case of static inverter-connected generators with an 
alternating current capacity in excess of 10 kilowatts, the 
customer has had the inverter settings inspected by the 
electric distribution company. The electric distribution 
company may impose a fee on the customer of no more than 
$50 for each generator that requires this inspection. 

6. In the case of nonstatic inverter-connected generators, the 
customer has interconnected according to the electric 
distribution company's interconnection guidelines and the 
electric distribution company has inspected all protective 
equipment settings. The electric distribution company may 
impose a fee on the customer of no more than $50 for each 
generator that requires this inspection. 

7. The following requirements shall be met before 
interconnection may occur: 

a. Electric distribution facilities and customer impact 
limitations. A customer's generator shall not be permitted 
to interconnect to distribution facilities if the 
interconnection would reasonably lead to damage to any 
of the electric distribution company's facilities or would 
reasonably lead to voltage regulation or power quality 
problems at other customer revenue meters due to the 
incremental effect of the generator on the performance of 
the electric distribution system, unless the customer 
reimburses the electric distribution company for its cost to 
accommodate the interconnection, including the 
reasonable cost of equipment required for the 
interconnection. 

b. Secondary, service, and service entrance limitations. 
The capacity of the generators at any one service location 
shall be less than the capacity of the electric distribution 
company-owned secondary, service, and service entrance 
cable connected to the point of interconnection, unless the 
customer reimburses the electric distribution company for 
the reasonable cost of equipment required for the 
interconnection. 
c. Transformer loading limitations. A customer's generator 
shall not have the ability to overload the electric 
distribution company's transformer, or any transformer 
winding, beyond manufacturer or nameplate ratings, 
unless the customer reimburses the electric distribution 
company for the reasonable cost of equipment required for 
the interconnection. 
d. Integration with electric distribution company facilities 
grounding. The grounding scheme of each generator shall 
comply with IEEE 1547, Standard for Interconnecting 
Distributed Resources with Electric Power Systems, July 
2003, and shall be consistent with the grounding scheme 
used by the electric distribution company. If requested by 
a prospective customer, the electric distribution company 
shall assist the prospective customer in selecting a 
grounding scheme that coordinates with its distribution 
system. 
e. Balance limitation. The generator shall not create a 
voltage imbalance of more than 3.0% at any other 
customer's revenue meter if the electric distribution 
company transformer, with the secondary connected to the 
point of interconnection, is a three-phase transformer, 
unless the customer reimburses the electric distribution 
company for the reasonable cost of equipment required for 
the interconnection. 

B. For an investor-owned electric distribution company, a 
prospective customer or small agricultural generator shall not 
be allowed to interconnect a generator to the distribution 
system if doing so will cause the total rated generating 
alternating current capacity of all interconnected net metered 
generators, as defined in 20VAC5-315-20, within that 
customer's electric distribution company's Virginia service 
territory to exceed 1.0% 6.0%, in the aggregate, 5.0% that is 
available to all customers and 1.0% that is available only to 
low-income utility customers of that company's adjusted 
Virginia peak-load forecast for the previous year. In any case 
where a prospective customer has submitted a notification 
form required by 20VAC5-315-30 and that customer's 
interconnection would cause the total rated generating 
alternating current capacity of all interconnected net metered 
generators, as defined in 20VAC5-315-20, within that 
investor-owned electric distribution company's service 
territory to exceed 1.0% of that company's Virginia peak-load 
forecast for the previous year the limitations described in this 
subsection, the electric distribution company shall, at the time 
it becomes aware of the fact, send written notification to the 
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prospective customer and to the commission's Division of 
Public Utility Regulation that the interconnection is not 
allowed. In addition, upon request from any customer, the 
electric distribution company shall provide to the customer the 
amount of capacity still available for interconnection pursuant 
to § 56-594 D of the Code of Virginia. 

C. For an electric cooperative, a prospective customer shall 
not be allowed to interconnect a generator to the distribution 
system if doing so will cause the total rated generating 
alternating current capacity of all interconnected net metered 
generators, as defined in 20VAC5-315-20, within the 
cooperative's Virginia service territory to exceed the following 
percentages of system peak: (i) for nonjurisdictional and 
nonprofit customers, 2.0% of the cooperative's system peak; 
(ii) for residential customers, 2.0% of the cooperative's system 
peak; or (iii) for other nonresidential customers, 1.0% of the 
cooperative's system peak. Such caps shall not decrease but 
may increase if the system peak in any year exceeds the 
previous year's system peak. For purposes of calculating the 
caps established in this subsection, all net energy metering 
shall be counted, whenever interconnected, and shall include 
net energy metering interconnected pursuant to § 56-594 of the 
Code of Virginia, agricultural net energy metering, and any net 
energy metering entered into with a third-party PPA provider 
registered pursuant to § 56-594.01 K of the Code of Virginia. 
Net energy metering with nonjurisdictional customers entered 
into prior to July 1, 2019, may be counted toward the caps, in 
the discretion of the cooperative, as net energy metering if the 
nonjurisdictional customer takes service pursuant to a 
cooperative's net energy metering rider. Net energy metering 
with nonjurisdictional customers entered into on or after July 
1, 2019, shall be counted toward the caps by default unless the 
cooperative has reason to exclude such net energy metering as 
subject to a separate contract or arrangement. Each electric 
cooperative governed by this section shall publish information 
regarding the calculation and status of its caps, or the electric 
cooperative's systemwide cap established via § 56-585.4 or 56-
594.01 G of the Code of Virginia if applicable, on the electric 
cooperative's website. In any case where a prospective 
customer has submitted a notification form required by 
20VAC5-315-30 and that customer's interconnection would 
cause the total rated generating alternating current nameplate 
capacity of all interconnected net metered generators to exceed 
the percentages stated in this subsection, the electric 
cooperative shall, at the time it becomes aware of the fact, send 
written notification to the prospective customer and to the 
commission's Division of Public Utility Regulation that the 
interconnection is not allowed and shall update its website. In 
addition, upon request from any customer, the electric 
distribution company shall provide to the customer the amount 
of capacity still available for interconnection pursuant to § 56-
594.01 F of the Code of Virginia. 

D. Neither the electric distribution company nor the energy 
service provider shall impose any charges upon a customer for 
any interconnection requirements specified by this chapter, 

except as provided under subdivisions A 5, A 6, and A 7 of this 
section, 20VAC5-315-50, and 20VAC5-315-70 as related to 
additional metering. 

E. A customer shall immediately notify the electric 
distribution company of any changes in the ownership of, 
operational responsibility for, or contact information for any of 
the customer's generators. 

F. The capacity of any generating facility installed between 
July 1, 2015, and July 1, 2020, shall not exceed the expected 
annual energy consumption based on the previous 12 months 
of billing history or an annualized calculation of billing history 
if 12 months of billing history is not available. In the 
certificated service territory of a Phase I Utility, the capacity of 
any generating facility installed pursuant to this section after 
July 1, 2020, shall not exceed 100% of the expected annual 
energy consumption based on the previous 12 months of billing 
history or an annualized calculation of billing history if 12 
months of billing history is not available. In the certificated 
service territory of a Phase II Utility, the capacity of any 
generating facility installed pursuant to this section after July 
1, 2020, shall not exceed 150% of the expected annual energy 
consumption based on the previous 12 months of billing 
history or an annualized calculation of billing history if 12 
months of billing history is not available. 

20VAC5-315-50. Metering, billing, payment and contract 
or tariff considerations.  

Net metered energy shall be measured in accordance with 
standard metering practices by metering equipment capable of 
measuring (but not necessarily displaying) power flow in both 
directions. Each contract or tariff governing the relationship 
between a customer, electric distribution company, or energy 
service provider shall be identical, with respect to the rate 
structure, all retail rate components, and monthly charges, to 
the contract or tariff under which the same customer would be 
served if such customer were not an agricultural net metering 
customer or a net metering customer with the exceptions that a 
residential net metering customer or an agricultural net 
metering customer in the service territory of a Phase II Utility 
whose generating facility has a capacity that exceeds 10 15 
kilowatts shall pay any applicable tariffed monthly standby 
charges to the supplier, and that time-of-use metering under an 
electricity supply service tariff having no demand charges is 
not permitted. Said contract or tariff shall be applicable to both 
the electric energy supplied to, and consumed from, the grid by 
that customer. For customers of all other investor-owned 
utilities, on and after July 1, 2020, standby charges are 
prohibited for any residential net metering customer or 
agricultural net metering customer. 

In instances where a customer's metering equipment is of a 
type for which meter readings are made off site and where this 
equipment has, or will be, installed for the convenience of the 
electric distribution company, the electric distribution 
company shall provide the necessary additional metering 
equipment to enable net metering service at no charge to the 
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customer. In instances where a customer has requested, and 
where the electric distribution company would not have 
otherwise installed, metering equipment that is intended to be 
read off site, the electric distribution company may charge the 
customer its actual cost of installing any additional equipment 
necessary to implement net metering service. A time-of-use 
customer shall bear the incremental metering costs associated 
with net metering. Any incremental metering costs associated 
with measuring the output of any generator for the purposes of 
receiving renewable energy certificates shall be installed at the 
customer's expense unless otherwise negotiated between the 
customer and the REC purchaser. Agricultural net metering 
customers may be responsible for the cost of additional 
metering equipment necessary to accomplish account 
aggregation. 

The customer shall receive no compensation for excess 
generation unless the customer has entered into a power 
purchase agreement with its supplier. 

Upon the written request of the customer, the customer's 
supplier shall enter into a power purchase agreement for the 
excess generation for one or more net metering periods, as 
requested by the customer. The written request of the customer 
shall be submitted prior to the beginning of the first net 
metering period covered by the power purchase agreement. 
The power purchase agreement shall be consistent with this 
chapter. If the customer's supplier is an investor-owned electric 
distribution company, the supplier shall be obligated by the 
power purchase agreement to purchase the excess generation 
for the requested net metering periods at a price equal to the 
PJM Interconnection, L.L.C. (PJM) zonal day-ahead annual, 
simple average LMP (locational marginal price) for the PJM 
load zone in which the electric distribution company's Virginia 
retail service territory resides (simple average of hourly LMPs, 
by tiers, for time-of-use customers), as published by the PJM 
Market Monitoring Unit, for the most recent calendar year 
ending on or before the end of each net metering period, unless 
the electric distribution company and the customer mutually 
agree to a higher price or unless, after notice and opportunity 
for hearing, the commission establishes a different price or 
pricing methodology. If the Virginia retail service territory of 
the investor-owned electric distribution company does not 
reside within a PJM load zone, the power purchase agreement 
shall obligate the electric distribution company to purchase 
excess generation for the requested net metering periods at a 
price equal to the systemwide PJM day-ahead annual, simple 
average LMP (simple average of hourly LMPs, by tiers, for 
time-of-use customers), as published by the PJM Market 
Monitoring Unit, for the most recent calendar year ending on 
or before the end of each net metering period, unless the 
electric distribution company and the customer mutually agree 
to a higher price or unless, after notice and opportunity for 
hearing, the commission establishes a different price or pricing 
methodology. 

If the customer's supplier is a member-owned electric 
cooperative, the supplier shall be obligated by the power 

purchase agreement to purchase excess generation for the 
requested net metering periods at a price equal to the simple 
average (by tiers for time-of-use customers) of the electric 
cooperative's hourly avoidable cost of energy, including fuel, 
based on the energy and energy-related charges of its primary 
wholesale power supplier for the net metering period, unless 
the electric distribution company and the customer mutually 
agree to a higher price or unless, after notice and opportunity 
for hearing, the commission establishes a different price or 
pricing methodology. 

If the customer's supplier is a competitive service provider, 
the supplier shall be obligated by the power purchase 
agreement to purchase the excess generation for the requested 
net metering periods at a price equal to the systemwide PJM 
day-ahead annual, simple average LMP (simple average of 
hourly LMPs, by tiers, for time-of-use customers), as 
published by the PJM Market Monitoring Unit, for the most 
recent calendar year ending on or before the end of each net 
metering period, unless the supplier and the customer mutually 
agree to a higher price or unless, after notice and opportunity 
for hearing, the commission establishes a different price or 
pricing methodology. 

The customer's supplier shall make full payment annually to 
the customer within 30 days following the latter of the end of 
the net metering period or, if applicable, the date of the PJM 
Market Monitoring Unit's publication of the previous calendar-
year's applicable zonal or systemwide PJM day-ahead annual, 
simple average LMP, or hourly LMP, as appropriate. The 
supplier may offer the customer the choice of an account credit 
in lieu of a direct payment. The option of a customer to request 
payment from its supplier for excess generation and the price 
or pricing formula shall be clearly delineated in the net 
metering tariff of the electric distribution company or timely 
provided by the customer's competitive supplier, as applicable. 
A copy of such tariff, or an Internet link to such tariff, at the 
option of the customer, shall be provided to each prospective 
customer requesting interconnection of a generating facility. A 
competitive service provider shall provide in its contract with 
the customer the price or pricing formula for excess generation. 

For a nontime-of-use customer, in any billing period in which 
there is a billing period credit, the customer shall be required 
to pay only the nonusage sensitive charges, including any 
applicable standby charges, for that billing period. For a time-
of-use customer, in any billing period for which there are 
billing period credits in all tiers, the customer shall be required 
to pay only the demand charges, nonusage sensitive charges, 
and any applicable standby charges for that billing period. Any 
billing period credits shall be accumulated, carried forward, 
and applied at the first opportunity to any billing periods 
having positive net consumptions (by tiers, in the case of time-
of-use customers). However, any accumulated billing period 
credits remaining unused at the end of a net metering period 
shall be carried forward into the next net metering period only 
to the extent that such accumulated billing period credits 
carried forward do not exceed the customer's billed 
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consumption for the current net metering period, adjusted to 
exclude accumulated billing period credits carried forward and 
applied from the previous net metering period (recognizing 
tiers for time-of-use customers). 

A customer owns any renewable energy certificates (RECs) 
associated with the total output of its generating facility. A 
supplier is only obligated to purchase a customer's RECs if the 
customer has exercised its one-time option at the time of 
signing a power purchase agreement with its supplier to 
include a provision requiring the purchase by the supplier of 
all generated RECs over the duration of the power purchase 
agreement.  

Payment for all whole RECs purchased by the supplier during 
a net metering period in accordance with the power purchase 
agreement shall be made at the same time as the payment for 
any excess generation. The supplier will post a credit to the 
customer's account, or the customer may elect a direct 
payment. Any fractional REC remaining shall not receive 
immediate payment but may be carried forward to subsequent 
net metering periods for the duration of the power purchase 
agreement.  

The rate of the payment by the supplier for a customer's RECs 
shall be the daily unweighted average of the "CR" component 
of Virginia Electric and Power Company's Virginia 
jurisdiction Rider G tariff in effect over the period for which 
the rate of payment for the excess generation is determined, 
unless the customer's supplier is not Virginia Electric and 
Power Company, and that supplier has an applicable Virginia 
retail renewable energy tariff containing a comparable REC 
commodity price component, in which case that price 
component shall be the basis of the rate of payment. The 
commission may, with notice and opportunity for hearing, set 
another rate of payment or methodology for setting the rate of 
payment for RECs. 

To the extent that RECs are not sold to the customer's 
supplier, they may be sold to any willing buyer at any time at 
a mutually agreeable price.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R21-6241; Filed October 21, 2020. 
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Guidance Documents 

PUBLIC COMMENT OPPORTUNITY 

Pursuant to § 2.2-4002.1 of the Code of Virginia, a certified guidance document is subject to a 30-day public comment period 
after publication in the Virginia Register of Regulations and prior to the guidance document's effective date. During the public 
comment period, comments may be made through the Virginia Regulatory Town Hall website (http://www.townhall.virginia.gov) 
or sent to the agency contact. Under subsection C of § 2.2-4002.1, the effective date of the guidance document may be delayed 
for an additional period. The guidance document may also be withdrawn. 

The following guidance documents have been submitted for publication by the listed agencies for a public comment period. 
Online users of this issue of the Virginia Register of Regulations may click on the name of a guidance document to access it. 
Guidance documents are also available on the Virginia Regulatory Town Hall (http://www.townhall.virginia.gov) or from the 
agency contact or may be viewed at the Office of the Registrar of Regulations, 900 East Main Street, Richmond, Virginia 23219. 

BOARD FOR CONTRACTORS 
Title of Document: Board for Contractors Interpretations and 
Policies. 

Public Comment Deadline: December 23, 2020. 

Effective Date: December 24, 2020. 

Agency Contact: Marjorie King, Regulatory Boards 
Administrator, Board for Contractors, 9960 Mayland Drive, 
Suite 400, Richmond, VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-2785, 
or email contractors@dpor.virginia.gov. 

STATE BOARD OF EDUCATION 
Title of Document: Guidance and Model Policy for the 
Notification of Protective Orders in Public Elementary and 
Secondary Schools. 

Public Comment Deadline: December 23, 2020. 

Effective Date: December 24, 2020. 

Agency Contact: Dr. Samantha Hollins, Assistant 
Superintendent for Special Education and Student Services, 
Department of Education, 101 North 14th Street, Richmond, 
VA 23219, telephone (804)786-8079, or email 
samantha.hollins@doe.virginia.gov. 

DEPARTMENT OF MOTOR VEHICLES 
Titles of Documents:  

Infracciones de la Circulacion y Calculo de Puntos, Programa 
de mejoramiento para conductores de Virginia. 

Moving Violations and Point Assessments, the Virginia Driver 
Improvement Program. 

Obtaining a Virginia Driver Privilege Card. 

Obtencion de una Tarjeta de Privilegio de Conductor en 
Virginia. 

Public Comment Deadline: December 23, 2020. 

Effective Date: December 24, 2020. 

Agency Contact: Melissa K. Velazquez, Legislative Manager, 
Department of Motor Vehicles, 2300 West Broad Street, 
Richmond, VA 23220, telephone (804) 367-1844, or email 
melissa.velazquez@dmv.virginia.gov. 

 

https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title2.2/chapter40/section2.2-4002.1/
http://www.townhall.virginia.gov/
https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title2.2/chapter40/section2.2-4002.1/
http://www.townhall.virginia.gov/
http://leg5.state.va.us/pdfs/6553/3a281006553%7E1s.pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/pdfs/6553/3a281006553%7E1s.pdf
mailto:Contractors@DPOR.Virginia.gov
http://leg5.state.va.us/pdfs/6553/d1030006553%7E2c.pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/pdfs/6553/d1030006553%7E2c.pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/pdfs/6553/d1030006553%7E2c.pdf
mailto:samantha.hollins@doe.virginia.gov
https://www.dmv.virginia.gov/webdoc/pdf/dmv115s.pdf
https://www.dmv.virginia.gov/webdoc/pdf/dmv115s.pdf
https://www.dmv.virginia.gov/webdoc/pdf/dmv115.pdf
https://www.dmv.virginia.gov/webdoc/pdf/dmv115.pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/pdfs/6553/31f65006553%7E3d.pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/pdfs/6553/35582006553%7E4a.pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/pdfs/6553/35582006553%7E4a.pdf
mailto:melissa.velazquez@dmv.virginia.gov
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General Notices 

STATE CORPORATION COMMISSION 

AT RICHMOND, OCTOBER 22, 2020 
COMMONWEALTH OF VIRGINIA, ex rel.  

STATE CORPORATION COMMISSION 

CASE NO. PUR-2019-00182 
Ex Parte: In the matter 
concerning the implementation 
of a pilot program for 
municipal net energy metering 

ORDER REVISING GUIDELINES 
Chapters 746 and 747 of the 2019 Virginia Acts of Assembly 

(the "Act") amended the Code of Virginia by adding a new 
§ 56-585.1:8 to provide for a pilot program for municipal net 
energy metering ("Pilot Program") in the service territories of 
Virginia Electric and Power Company d/b/a Dominion Energy 
Virginia ("Dominion") and Appalachian Power Company 
("APCo").1 The Act became effective July 1, 2019. 

The Act instructed the State Corporation Commission 
("Commission"), by December 1, 2019, to adopt such rules or 
establish such guidelines as may be necessary for its general 
administration of the Pilot Program. On November 1, 2019, the 
Commission issued an Order for Comments on Draft 
Guidelines, which included draft guidelines ("Proposed 
Guidelines") to govern the Pilot Program required by the Act 
and inviting comments from interested parties on or before 
November 15, 2019. 

The Commission received comments from the Virginia 
Energy Purchasing Governmental Association ("VEPGA"), 
the VML/VACo APCo Steering Committee ("Steering 
Committee"), the Southern Environmental Law Center on 
behalf of Appalachian Voices ("Appalachian Voices"), and the 
City of Alexandria ("Alexandria"). Several of these parties 
proposed modifications to the Proposed Guidelines. In 
addition, VEPGA proposed that the Commission "provide 
municipalities impacted by the Proposed Guidelines with the 
opportunity to propose amendments to such Proposed 
Guidelines by determining that the guidelines adopted on 
December 1, 2019 will be subject to amendment after 
December 1, 2019 based on substantive comments submitted 
by municipalities or other similarly interested parties in this 
docket." 

On November 25, 2019, the Commission entered an Order 
adopting the Proposed Guidelines ("Guidelines") and inviting 
additional comments from interested persons on proposed 
changes to the Guidelines, to be filed on or before January 15, 
2020. The Commission received additional comments from the 
Steering Committee and Dominion.2 

On May 18, 2020, the Commission entered an Order directing 
the Commission's Staff ("Staff") to file a Staff Report in this 
docket on or before July 31, 2020. Staff filed its Report as 
directed on July 31, 2020. 

Term of the Pilot Program 
Several parties suggest that the term of the Pilot Program, as 

set forth in the Guidelines, is incorrect, as the Guidelines set 
the term of the program as six years, while the Code states that 
the Commission may extend the term of the program beyond 
its initial term, and if the term is not extended, target accounts 
participating at the end of the initial term shall be permitted to 
continue to participate under the terms of the Pilot Program 
that existed during the initial term.3 We agree and have revised 
the Guidelines accordingly. 
Commencement Date 

Appalachian Voices and the Steering Committee recommend 
that the commencement date of the Pilot Program be revised. 
Appalachian Voices states that the Guidelines "incorrectly 
base the commencement of the six year period on the 
Commission's order adopting the guidelines and not the 
commencement of the actual Pilot Program," while the 
Steering Committee recommends that the "Commencement 
Date for the Pilot Program be set on a date after the approval 
of the Pilot Program for each Utility, and that the Commission 
set a deadline for APCo to submit a proposed pilot program to 
the Commission."4 

Staff and Dominion each note that the Guidelines themselves 
represent the Pilot Program proposals from Dominion and 
APCo as set forth in the statute, and thus recommend that the 
Guidelines be revised to state that the commencement date be 
determined by the final order adopting guidelines in this 
docket.5 We agree with Staff and Dominion and have revised 
the Guidelines accordingly. 
Definition of "Renewable Fuel Generator" 

Alexandria and the Steering Committee note that the 
Guidelines define "Renewable Fuel Generator" in a more 
restrictive manner than is specified by the enabling statute.6 
Dominion proposes that the Commission eliminate the 
definition of "Renewable Fuel Generator," as the Guidelines 
primarily use the term "Municipal Customer-Generator," 
which is defined in reference to the specific language of the 
Code.7 Dominion proposes a modified definition of 
"Renewable Generating Facility" in Section III of the 
Guidelines that references Code 56-576. Staff supports 
Dominion's proposed modifications.8 We agree with Dominion 
and Staff. The guidelines adopted herein incorporate 
Dominion's proposed changes. 
Definition of "Target School" 

The Steering Committee states in its comments that the 
definition of "Target School" in the Guidelines excludes public 
schools that admit students from another school division.9 Staff 
states that the Guidelines describe which public school 
technical centers may be included, not which should be 
excluded, but nevertheless supports modifying the Guidelines 
to ensure no public school technical center is excluded based 
upon the school division from which it accepts public school 
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students.10 We agree and will revise the Guidelines as 
recommended by Staff. 
APCo Phase I Utility Agreement 

Appalachian Voices requests clarity on whether APCo's 
Municipal Customer Generators are subject to the three 
megawatt ("MW") net metering cap for municipalities found 
in the terms of their "Phase I Utility Agreement," or the higher 
caps allowable under the Pilot Program. This agreement is a 
private contract between a utility and its non-jurisdictional 
customers, and the Commission does not have jurisdiction to 
modify it. Accordingly, we will not modify the parameters of 
the Pilot Program set forth in the Guidelines, which are 
consistent with the directive to the Commission in the Code. 
Definition of "Net Metering Customer" 

The Steering Committee argues against the Guidelines' 
adoption of the definition of "Net Metering Customer" from 
20 VAC 5-315-20 of the Regulations Governing Net Energy 
Metering, 20 VAC 5-315-10 et seq., because those limit 
generation capacity to 1 MW for nonresidential customers, 
whereas the enabling statute for the Pilot Program defines a 
Municipal Customer-Generator as having a generation 
capacity up to 2 MW.11 

Staff notes that the definition of Municipal Customer-
Generator found within the Guidelines correctly establishes the 
necessary 2 MW capacity limit, and that the reference to Net 
Metering Customer in Section IV.A.1 of the Guidelines should 
be removed.12 We note that the concern regarding an alleged 
conflict between 20 VAC 5-315-20 and the Pilot Program 
established by the Code is now moot, as the General Assembly 
has raised the capacity limit in Code § 56-594 B to 3 MW. We 
agree with Staff that Section IV.A.1 of the Guidelines should 
be deleted. We further agree with Staff that other provisions of 
the Commission's Net Metering Rules are applicable to the 
Pilot Program and will revise the Guidelines to make clear that 
20 VAC 5-315 applies to the extent there is no conflict with 
the Guidelines. 
Administrative Costs 

The Steering Committee notes that the Guidelines are silent 
regarding when administrative costs are to be assessed.13 
Dominion proposes that the Guidelines be revised to require 
administrative costs be assessed annually, coincident with the 
Utility's application of bill credits for the Municipal Customer-
Generator's Excess Generation.14 We agree with Dominion and 
have revised the Guidelines accordingly. 

Alexandria proposes that the Commission add a definition of 
"administrative costs" to the Guidelines, and requests that 
reasonable administrative costs be subject to Commission 
review.15 As Staff notes, no party proposed a definition of 
administrative costs in this proceeding, and thus we do not 
have a record upon which to base such a definition. We will, 
however, modify Sections VI.A.1 and VI.B.l of the Guidelines 
to specify that administrative costs covered by the Guidelines 

be reasonable. We will not require that administrative costs be 
reviewed by the Commission. 
Metering Requirements 

The Steering Committee and Appalachian Voices both 
request that the Guidelines be modified to clarify that 
Municipal Customer-Generators should not be made to pay 
twice for Advanced Metering Infrastructure ("AMI") meters.16 
We do not believe that modification of the Guidelines is 
necessary, as the existing language is clear that no customer 
should be required to pay for AMI meter upgrades more than 
once. 
Renewable Energy Certificates 

Alexandria recommends removal of Section VIII.B 
restricting a Municipal Customer-Generator's ability to sell 
RECs associated with the Renewable Generation Facility 
during the Pilot Program, stating that neither "Section § 56-
585.1:8(C) of the Code of Virginia (1950) as amended, nor any 
other section of the Code of Virginia, imposes any restrictions 
or limitations on the ownership of Renewable Energy 
Certificates (RECs)."17 Dominion opposes this request, stating 
that the Commission "has in its Final Order in Case No. PUR-
2018-00039 recognized that when RECs are separated from the 
energy from which those RECs generated, that energy can no 
longer be considered renewable."18 

The Commission continues to find, as we did in our approval 
of the public school net metering pilot program,19 that it is 
reasonable to prohibit a REC from being separated from the 
energy that created that REC and, thus, to prohibit a municipal 
customer-generator's ability to sell such RECs. In addition, the 
Commission notes that no participant identified any provision 
of Code § 56-585.1:8 that limits the Commission's authority to 
exercise its discretion thereunder in this manner. 
Virginia Tort Claims Act 

The Steering Committee considers the last sentence of 
Section X to be unnecessary and recommends that it be deleted. 
That section currently states that "[t]o the extent permissible 
under the Virginia Tort Claims Act, the participating schools 
and school districts shall be responsible for any negligent acts 
or omissions of their board members, employees, contractors, 
agents, students, or other representatives associated with the 
Pilot Program."20 We agree with the Steering Committee, as 
these Guidelines do not address liability. 
Reporting Requirements 

Section XI of the Guidelines states that "[t]he Utility shall 
submit a report to the General Assembly by December 1 of 
each year the Pilot Program is in effect, commencing in 2020, 
regarding the status of the Pilot Program's enrollment and any 
other information the Utility deems appropriate." Appalachian 
Voices believes this requirement does not accurately reflect the 
requirements of the Code, which requires that the 
"Commission shall review the pilot programs established 
pursuant to this section in 2021 and every two years thereafter 
for the duration of the pilot program."21 Staff proposes that this 
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section be revised to provide that each utility 
contemporaneously provide a copy of its General Assembly 
report to the Commission by December 1.22 

The Guidelines we have promulgated cannot limit the reports 
required by the Code. We agree, however, with Staff that the 
utility reports to the General Assembly can inform the 
Commission's own reports to the General Assembly and will 
adopt the change to the Guidelines proposed by Staff. 

NOW THE COMMISSION, upon consideration of the 
foregoing, finds that it is appropriate to modify the Guidelines 
as set forth herein. 

Accordingly, IT IS ORDERED THAT: 
(1) The Commission adopts the revised guidelines attached to 

this Order to govern the Pilot Program, as discussed herein. 
(2) This matter is continued to accept the reports required by 

this Order. 
A COPY HEREOF shall be sent electronically by the Clerk 

of the Commission to all persons on the official Service List in 
this matter. The Service List is available from the Clerk of the 
Commission. 

____________________________ 
1The Commission was directed to establish rules or guidelines for this Pilot 
Program in the uncodified Second Enactments of these Acts of Assembly. 
2The Dominion Comments included proposed changes to the adopted 
Guidelines. Where necessary, these proposals are referred to herein as the 
"Dominion Proposal." 
3Alexandria Comments at 1; Appalachian Voices Comments at 4-5; Steering 
Committee Comments at 1; Staff Report at 2. 
4Appalachian Voices Comments at 5-6; Steering Committee Comments at 2. 
5Dominion Proposal at 5; Staff Report at 6. 
6Alexandria Comments at 2; Steering Committee Comments at 2. 
7See generally, Dominion Proposal §§ I and III. 
8Staff Report at 7. 
9Steering Committee Comments at 3. 
10Staff Report at 7. 
11Steering Committee Comments at 3. 
12Staff Report at 10. 
13Steering Committee Comments at 4. 
14 Dominion Proposal, Sections VI.A.1 and VI.B.l. 
15Alexandria Comments at 2. 
16Steering Committee Comments at 4; Appalachian Voices Comments at 6. 
17Alexandria Comments at 2. 
18Dominion Comments at 6. See also Appalachian Power Company v. 
Collegiate Clean Energy, LLC, Case No. PUR-2018-00039, 2018 S.C.C. Ann. 
Rept. 382, Final Order (Sept. 21, 2018). 
19Commonwealth of Virginia, ex rel., State Corporation Commission, Ex 
Parte: In the matter concerning the implementation by Virginia Electric and 
Power Company d/b/a Dominion Energy Virginia of a pilot aggregation 
program pursuant to House Bill 1451, Case No. PUR-2018-00061, 2018 

S.C.C. Ann. Rept. 413, Order Establishing Guidelines (Nov. 26, 2018). Section 
VIII.B of these guidelines reads, "During the [t]erm of the [p]ilot [p]rogram 
and continuing after the [t]ermination [d]ate of the [p]ilot [p]rogram, the [h]ost 
[s]chool agrees to waive any right (i) to sell to the [c]ompany or to any other 
party or (ii) to offer to market all Renewable Generation Facility RECs which 
are created and accumulated during the [t]erm of the [p]ilot [p]rogram." 
20Steering Committee Comments at 4-5. 
21Appalachian Voices Comments at 6. 
22Staff Report at 15-16. 

STATE WATER CONTROL BOARD 

Proposed Enforcement Action for USDA-US Forest 
Service Grindstone Recreation Area 

An enforcement action has been proposed for the USDA-US 
Forest Service for violations of the State Water Control Law at 
the Grindstone Recreation Area sewage treatment plant in 
Smyth County. A description of the proposed action is 
available at the office named or from the contact person listed. 
Comments will be accepted by Jonathan Chapman from 
November 23, 2020, through December 23, 2020. 

Contact Information: Jonathan Chapman, Department of 
Environmental Quality, Southwest Regional Office, 355-A 
Deadmore Street, Abingdon, VA 24210, or email 
jonathan.chapman@deq.virginia.gov. 

Proposed Amended Enforcement Action for 
Hampton Roads Sanitation District's Acquisition of 

the Town of Surry's Wastewater Treatment Plant 
An amended enforcement action has been proposed for 
Hampton Roads Sanitation District's acquisition of the Town 
of Surry's wastewater treatment plant located at 11463 Rolfe 
Highway in Surry, VA. The purpose of this amendment is to 
extend the scheduled date for the town's discharge elimination 
in the amended consent order issued on March 28, 2018. A 
description of the proposed action is available at the office 
named or from the contact person listed. Comments will be 
accepted by Frank Lupini from November 23, 2020, through 
December 23, 2020. 

Contact Information: Frank Lupini, Enforcement Specialist 
Senior, Department of Environmental Quality, P.O. Box 1105, 
Richmond, VA 23218, or email 
frank.lupini@deq.virginia.gov. 

Total Maximum Daily Load for the Mattaponi River 
and Tributaries 

Public Meeting: The Virginia Department of Environmental 
Quality (DEQ) will virtually host the final public meeting for 
the Mattaponi River and Tributaries total maximum daily load 
(TMDL) project on Wednesday, December 9, 2020 at 5:30 
p.m. This meeting will be open to the public and all are 
welcome to participate. Register and gain access to the meeting 
at https://attendee.gotowebinar.com/register/35421057064917

mailto:jonathan.chapman@deq.virginia.gov
mailto:frank.lupini@deq.virginia.gov
https://attendee.gotowebinar.com/register/3542105706491764495
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64495. The webinar ID is: 280-864-043. Please register ahead 
of the meeting. Given the current State of Emergency related 
to the COVID-19 pandemic, this meeting will be held entirely 
virtually. A computer or a telephone are necessary to 
participate virtually. All participants are encouraged to access 
the meeting using a computer to view presentations or visual 
displays, although audio only participation using a phone is 
also an option. 

If you have technical issues registering or difficultly signing on 
to the meeting please contact Marilee Tretina at (804) 698-
4506 or email marilee.tretina@deq.virginia.gov. 

In the event that the Governor's State of Emergency is lifted, 
the meeting will be held on the same date and time in the 
Training Room of the Piedmont Regional Office, 4949-A Cox 
Road, Glen Allen, VA 23060. 

Purpose of Notice: DEQ and its contractors, the Virginia 
Institute of Marine Sciences and StreamsTech, will present a 
draft water quality study known as a TMDL for a portion of 
the Mattaponi River and tributaries located in King and Queen, 
Essex, Caroline, and King William Counties. The draft study 
reports the current status of the waterbodies and the possible 
sources of bacterial contamination. The study recommends 
TMDLs for the impaired waters. A TMDL is the total amount 
of a pollutant a water body can contain and still meet water 
quality standards. To restore water quality, bacterial levels 
have to be reduced to the TMDL amount. A 30-day public 
comment period (December 10, 2020, to January 11, 2021) 
will follow the meeting. 

Description of Study: Portions of the Mattaponi River and its 
tributaries were identified in Virginia's 2016 and 2018 Water 
Quality Assessment Integrated Report as impaired due to 
exceedances of the state's water quality standards for E. coli 
and do not support the Designated Uses of 2018 Primary 
Contact (recreational or swimming). The specific impairments 
are listed in the table. Reductions and TMDLs for the causes 
of the impairments have been developed through the water 
quality study process. 

Affected Waterways: Mattaponi River and Tributaries 

Aylett Creek (F23R-04-BAC), 6.83 miles, King William County, 
Assessment unit VAP-F23R_AYL01A12 headwaters to mouth at 
Mattaponi River 

Courthouse Creek (F24R-03-BAC), 0.72 miles, King and Queen 
County, Assessment unit VAP-F24R_CTH01A00 extends from 
King and Queen Courthouse Pond downstream to the tidal limit 

Dickeys Swamp, (F23R-08-BAC), 4.33 miles, King and Queen 
County, Assessment unit VAP-F23R_DKW01B00 begins at 
Dogwoods Fork and ends at Route 620 

Dogwood Fork (F23R-11-BAC), 2.91 miles, King and Queen 
County, Assessment unit VAP-F23R_DWD01A00 headwaters to 
its mouth at Dickeys Swamp 

Dorrell Creek, (F21R-08-BAC), 4.96 miles, King William 
County, Assessment unit VAN-F21R_DRL01A18 begins at the 
confluence with Little Dorrell Creek downstream to the 
confluence with Herring Creek 

Garnetts Creek (F23R-01-BAC), 2.83 miles, King and Queen 
County, Assessment unit VAP-F23R_GNT01A00 extends from 
Dickeys Swamp to the tidal limit 

Gravel Run (F21R-09-BAC), 3.54 miles, King and Queen 
County, Assessment unit VAN-F21R_GVL01A18 extends from 
its perennial headwaters to the confluence with the Mattaponi 
River 

Herring Creek (F21R-05-BAC), 7.23 miles, King William 
County, Assessment units VAN-F21R_HER01B02 and VAN-
F21R_HER01A06 begin at the confluence with Dorrell Creek and 
continue downstream until the confluence with the Mattaponi 
River 

Market Swamp (F23R-09-BAC), 2.01 miles, King and Queen 
County, Assessment unit VAP-F23R_MKT01B00 begins at 
Walker Coleman Pond and extends to mouth at confluence with 
Dickeys Swamp 

Mattaponi River (F21R-06-BAC), 8.00 miles, King William and 
King and Queen Counties, Assessment Units VAN-
F21R_MPN01C02 and VAN-F21R_MPN01B02 begin at the 
confluence with Maracossic Creek and continue downstream to 
the confluence with Gravel Run 

Mattaponi River (F23E-02-BAC), 3.14 square miles, King 
William and King and Queen Counties, Assessment units VAP-
F24E_MPN03A98 and VAP-F23E_MPN03A06 begin at Aylett 
Creek and extend to the tidal freshwater boundary (approximately 
river mile 18), tidal 

XDN - Garnetts Creek, UT (F23R-12-BAC), 2.53 miles, King 
and Queen County, Assessment unit VAP-F23R_XDN01A00 
begins at headwaters and extends to mouth at confluence with 
Garnetts Creek 

XJG - Dickeys Swamp, UT (F23R-10-BAC) 1.99 miles, King 
and Queen County, Assessment unit VAP-F23R_XJG01A14 
headwaters to mouth at confluence with Dickeys Swamp 

How to Comment and Participate: The meetings of the TMDL 
process are open to the public and all interested parties are 
welcome. Written comments will be accepted through January 
11, 2021 and should include the name, address, and telephone 
number of the person submitting the comments. For more 
information or to submit written comments, contact the staff 
person listed. 

Contact Information: Jen Rogers, Department of 
Environmental Quality, Piedmont Regional Office, 4949-A 
Cox Road, Glen Allen, VA 23060, telephone (804) 527-5174, 
or email jennifer.rogers@deq.virginia.gov. 

https://attendee.gotowebinar.com/register/3542105706491764495
mailto:marilee.tretina@deq.virginia.gov
mailto:jennifer.rogers@deq.virginia.gov
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VIRGINIA CODE COMMISSION 
Notice to State Agencies 

Contact Information: Mailing Address: Virginia Code 
Commission, Pocahontas Building, 900 East Main Street, 8th 
Floor, Richmond, VA 23219; Telephone: (804) 698-1810; 
Email: varegs@dls.virginia.gov. 

Meeting Notices: Section 2.2-3707 C of the Code of Virginia 
requires state agencies to post meeting notices on their 
websites and on the Commonwealth Calendar at 
https://commonwealthcalendar.virginia.gov. 

Cumulative Table of Virginia Administrative Code 
Sections Adopted, Amended, or Repealed: A table listing 
regulation sections that have been amended, added, or repealed 
in the Virginia Register of Regulations since the regulations 
were originally published or last supplemented in the print 
version of the Virginia Administrative Code is available at 
http://register.dls.virginia.gov/documents/cumultab.pdf. 

Filing Material for Publication in the Virginia Register of 
Regulations: Agencies use the Regulation Information System 
(RIS) to file regulations and related items for publication in the 
Virginia Register of Regulations. The Registrar's office works 
closely with the Department of Planning and Budget (DPB) to 
coordinate the system with the Virginia Regulatory Town Hall. 
RIS and Town Hall complement and enhance one another by 
sharing pertinent regulatory information. 
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