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REGISTER INFORMATION PAGE 

THE VIRGINIA REGISTER OF REGULATIONS is an official state 

publication issued every other week throughout the year. Indexes are published 

quarterly, and are cumulative for the year. The Virginia Register has several 

functions. The new and amended sections of regulations, both as proposed and 

as finally adopted, are required by law to be published in the Virginia Register. 

In addition, the Virginia Register is a source of other information about state 

government, including petitions for rulemaking, emergency regulations, 

executive orders issued by the Governor, and notices of public hearings on 

regulations. 

ADOPTION, AMENDMENT, AND REPEAL OF REGULATIONS 

Unless exempted by law, an agency wishing to adopt, amend, or repeal 

regulations must follow the procedures in the Administrative Process Act (§ 

2.2-4000 et seq. of the Code of Virginia). Typically, this includes first 

publishing in the Virginia Register a notice of intended regulatory action; a 

basis, purpose, substance and issues statement; an economic impact analysis 

prepared by the Department of Planning and Budget; the agency’s response to 

the economic impact analysis; a summary; a notice giving the public an 

opportunity to comment on the proposal; and the text of the proposed 

regulation. 

Following publication of the proposed regulation in the Virginia Register, the 

promulgating agency receives public comments for a minimum of 60 days. 

The Governor reviews the proposed regulation to determine if it is necessary 

to protect the public health, safety, and welfare, and if it is clearly written and 

easily understandable. If the Governor chooses to comment on the proposed 

regulation, his comments must be transmitted to the agency and the Registrar 

of Regulations no later than 15 days following the completion of the 60-day 

public comment period. The Governor’s comments, if any, will be published 

in the Virginia Register. Not less than 15 days following the completion of the 

60-day public comment period, the agency may adopt the proposed regulation. 

The Joint Commission on Administrative Rules or the appropriate standing 

committee of each house of the General Assembly may meet during the 

promulgation or final adoption process and file an objection with the Registrar 

and the promulgating agency. The objection will be published in the Virginia 

Register. Within 21 days after receipt by the agency of a legislative objection, 

the agency shall file a response with the Registrar, the objecting legislative 

body, and the Governor. 

When final action is taken, the agency again publishes the text of the 

regulation as adopted, highlighting all changes made to the proposed 

regulation and explaining any substantial changes made since publication of 

the proposal. A 30-day final adoption period begins upon final publication in 

the Virginia Register. 

The Governor may review the final regulation during this time and, if he 

objects, forward his objection to the Registrar and the agency. In addition to 

or in lieu of filing a formal objection, the Governor may suspend the effective 

date of a portion or all of a regulation until the end of the next regular General 

Assembly session by issuing a directive signed by a majority of the members 

of the appropriate legislative body and the Governor. The Governor’s 

objection or suspension of the regulation, or both, will be published in the 

Virginia Register. 

If the Governor finds that the final regulation contains changes made after 

publication of the proposed regulation that have substantial impact, he may 

require the agency to provide an additional 30-day public comment period on 

the changes. Notice of the additional public comment period required by the 

Governor will be published in the Virginia Register. Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.06 

of the Code of Virginia, any person may request that the agency solicit 

additional public comment on certain changes made after publication of the 

proposed regulation. The agency shall suspend the regulatory process for 30 

days upon such request from 25 or more individuals, unless the agency 

determines that the changes have minor or inconsequential impact. 

A regulation becomes effective at the conclusion of the 30-day final adoption 

period, or at any other later date specified by the promulgating agency, unless 

(i) a legislative objection has been filed, in which event the regulation, unless 

withdrawn, becomes effective on the date specified, which shall be after the 

expiration of the 21-day objection period; (ii) the Governor exercises his 

authority to require the agency to provide for additional public comment, in 

which event the regulation, unless withdrawn, becomes effective on the date 

specified, which shall be after the expiration of the period for which the 

Governor has provided for additional public comment; (iii) the Governor and 

the General Assembly exercise their authority to suspend the effective date of 

a regulation until the end of the next regular legislative session; or (iv) the 

agency suspends the regulatory process, in which event the regulation, unless 

withdrawn, becomes effective on the date specified, which shall be after the 

expiration of the 30-day public comment period and no earlier than 15 days 

from publication of the readopted action. 

A regulatory action may be withdrawn by the promulgating agency at any 

time before the regulation becomes final. 

FAST-TRACK RULEMAKING PROCESS 

Section 2.2-4012.1 of the Code of Virginia provides an alternative to the 

standard process set forth in the Administrative Process Act for regulations 

deemed by the Governor to be noncontroversial. To use this process, the 

Governor's concurrence is required and advance notice must be provided to 

certain legislative committees. Fast-track regulations become effective on the 

date noted in the regulatory action if fewer than 10 persons object to using the 

process in accordance with § 2.2-4012.1. 

EMERGENCY REGULATIONS 

Pursuant to § 2.2-4011 of the Code of Virginia, an agency may adopt 

emergency regulations if necessitated by an emergency situation or when 

Virginia statutory law or the appropriation act or federal law or federal 

regulation requires that a regulation be effective in 280 days or fewer from its 

enactment. In either situation, approval of the Governor is required. The 

emergency regulation is effective upon its filing with the Registrar of 

Regulations, unless a later date is specified per § 2.2-4012 of the Code of 

Virginia. Emergency regulations are limited to no more than 18 months in 

duration; however, may be extended for six months under the circumstances 

noted in § 2.2-4011 D. Emergency regulations are published as soon as 

possible in the Virginia Register and are on the Register of Regulations website 

at register.dls.virgina.gov. 

During the time the emergency regulation is in effect, the agency may 

proceed with the adoption of permanent regulations in accordance with the 

Administrative Process Act. If the agency chooses not to adopt the regulations, 

the emergency status ends when the prescribed time limit expires. 

STATEMENT 

The foregoing constitutes a generalized statement of the procedures to be 

followed. For specific statutory language, it is suggested that Article 2 (§ 2.2-

4006 et seq.) of Chapter 40 of Title 2.2 of the Code of Virginia be examined 

carefully. 

CITATION TO THE VIRGINIA REGISTER 

The Virginia Register is cited by volume, issue, page number, and date. 34:8 

VA.R. 763-832 December 11, 2017, refers to Volume 34, Issue 8, pages 763 

through 832 of the Virginia Register issued on  

December 11, 2017. 

The Virginia Register of Regulations is published pursuant to Article 6 (§ 2.2-

4031 et seq.) of Chapter 40 of Title 2.2 of the Code of Virginia. 

Members of the Virginia Code Commission: John S. Edwards, Chair; 

Marcus B. Simon, Vice Chair; Ward L. Armstrong; Nicole Cheuk; Rita 

Davis; Leslie L. Lilley; Jennifer L. McClellan; Christopher R. Nolen; Don 

L. Scott, Jr.; Charles S. Sharp; Samuel T. Towell; Malfourd W. Trumbo. 

Staff of the Virginia Register: Karen Perrine, Registrar of Regulations; Anne 

Bloomsburg, Assistant Registrar; Nikki Clemons, Regulations Analyst; 

Rhonda Dyer, Publications Assistant; Terri Edwards, Senior Operations 

Staff Assistant. 

https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/2.2-4011/
https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/2.2-4011/
http://register.dls.virgina.gov/
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PUBLICATION SCHEDULE AND DEADLINES 

February 2021 through February 2022 

Volume: Issue Material Submitted By Noon* Will Be Published On 

37:13 January 27, 2021 February 15, 2021 

37:14 February 10, 2021 March 1, 2021 

37:15 February 24, 2021 March 15, 2021 

37:16 March 10, 2021 March 29, 2021 

37:17 March 24, 2021 April 12, 2021 

37:18 April 7, 2021 April 26, 2021 

37:19 April 21, 2021 May 10, 2021 

37:20 May 5, 2021 May 24, 2021 

37:21 May 19, 2021 June 7, 2021 

37:22 June 2, 2021 June 21, 2021 

37:23 June 16, 2021 July 5, 2021 

37:24 June 30, 2021 July 19, 2021 

37:25 July 14, 2021 August 2, 2021 

37:26 July 28, 2021 August 16, 2021 

38:1 August 11, 2021 August 30, 2021 

38:2 August 25, 2021 September 13, 2021 

38:3 September 8, 2021 September 27, 2021 

38:4 September 22, 2021 October 11, 2021 

38:5 October 6, 2021 October 25, 2021 

38:6 October 20, 2021 November 8, 2021 

38:7 November 3, 2021 November 22, 2021 

38:8 November 15, 2021 (Monday) December 6, 2021 

38:9 December 1, 2021 December 20, 2021 

38:10 December 15, 2021 January 3, 2022 

38:11 December 29, 2021 January 17, 2022 

38:12 January 12, 2022 January 31, 2022 

38:13 January 26, 2022 February 14, 2022 

38:14 February 9, 2022 February 28, 2022 

*Filing deadlines are Wednesdays unless otherwise specified. 
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PETITIONS FOR RULEMAKING 

TITLE 12. HEALTH 

STATE BOARD OF HEALTH 

Initial Agency Notice 

Title of Regulation: 12VAC5-501. Rules and Regulations 

Governing the Construction of Migrant Labor Camps. 

Statutory Authority: § 32.1-211 of the Code of Virginia. 

Name of Petitioner: Legal Aid Justice Center. 

Nature of Petitioner's Request: Dear Commissioner Oliver: We 

write to follow up on our petitions of March 30 and May 6 

requesting rulemaking and immediate protection for the 

Commonwealth's farmworker and migrant worker community 

during this dire health crisis. We just entered June. We must 

act now, as many migrant workers are already here, 

imminently arriving, or slated to arrive in the thousands in the 

coming months. 

The Present and Looming Crisis for Farmworkers in the 

Commonwealth. As we have noted, migrant workers are 

plainly essential workers, feeding both Virginians and indeed 

the world, but they are also highly vulnerable to COVID-19, 

particularly in light of their lack of access to medical care, 

health insurance, and personal transportation; their incredibly 

close-quartered living and working conditions (often working 

shoulder to shoulder); and their often limited English 

proficiency (leaving them less likely to have access to testing 

or treatment). Many workers are also older, adding additional 

risk factors. Additionally, hundreds of these workers will be 

located on the Eastern Shore, which has been a hotspot both 

for Virginia and indeed nationwide. Without further 

protections, they are left abandoned while they work to feed 

us. 

The Commonwealth has not Enacted Enforceable COVID 

Protections for Farmworkers. Despite numerous petitions from 

our office for enforceable regulations and protections for 

farmworkers, we have not seen anything issued beyond 

recommendations, many of which are untenable or shift the 

burden to the workers; none of them can be enforced against 

an employer who chooses not to follow them. 

Recommendations plainly do not create enforceable 

protections for workers. That is: None of VDH's suggestions 

are mandatory. 

Other States Are Proactively Taking Enforceable Measures to 

Protect Vulnerable Workers. By way of contrast, other state 

governments, in recognition of the need to treat essential 

workers as essential, have been implementing measures to 

protect farmworkers. As we previously noted, in late April and 

early May in Oregon, temporary regulations were enacted by 

the Oregon Occupational Safety and Health Administration to 

require farms to maintain social distancing during work, break 

and meal periods, and in employer-provided housing and 

transportation. Oregon also released $12 million in emergency 

housing funds, for which a large portion was earmarked for 

providing safe housing for migrant and seasonable 

farmworkers. In Wisconsin, in late April, the Wisconsin 

Department of Health Services issued an emergency order that 

mandated agricultural employers to take certain steps to 

prevent the spread of COVID-19. 

The Commonwealth Can and Should Do More to Protect 

Farmworkers. Although some states have indeed begun to take 

measures to protect their most vulnerable workers, many been 

derelict in their duties to these workers. Virginia still has the 

opportunity to be a leader amongst states to enact enforceable 

protections. Virginia law grants the State Board of Health 

additional powers that may be used to protect public health 

during public health emergencies. Governor Northam declared 

COVID-19 a communicable disease of public health threat in 

his state-of-emergency order in March 2020, which has been 

extended. VDH, moreover, has broad authority to issue orders 

and special regulations needed to protect public health in 

emergencies. See § 32.1-13 of the Code of Virginia. It has the 

authority to issue mandatory requirements for employers to 

protect farmworkers' health, not just recommendations. VDH 

additionally has broad oversight over migrant labor camps. See 

§§ 32.1-203 through 32.1-211 of the Code of Virginia. Thus, 

pursuant to § 32.1-13 of the Code of Virginia, we again request 

VDH to promulgate regulations for the following: 

1. Requiring Additional COVID-19 Plans Prior to 

Issuance of License for Migrant Housing. VDH must 

review and license farmworker housing. In addition to its 

current checklist, VDH should add additional COVID-19 

plans prior to the issuance of any license. 1. Those 

requirements should include, but not be limited to: (a) 

Ensuring that employer provided migrant housing 

sleeping arrangements comply with recommended 6 feet 

apart social distancing and are highly ventilated. (b) 

Providing separate living facilities for workers that are 

over 60 or have underlying health conditions and have 

these workers work within 6 feet of other workers. (c) 

Requiring designated quarantine sleeping areas with 

separate cooking and bathing facilities for quarantined 

workers. (d) Requiring proof of sufficient sanitizing and 

handwashing supplies. (e) Requiring proof of sufficient 

masks for all quarantined workers who develop COVID-

19 symptoms or test positive for COVID-19. (f) Requiring 

a designated specific individual responsible for ensuring 

workers comply with health and sanitation requirements. 

(g) Requiring a designated specific individual to receive 

reports from workers who may have COVID-19 

symptoms and be able to coordinate and transport such 

workers to obtain medical services. (h) Requiring a 

designated specific individual whose sole responsibility is 

to care for quarantined workers and ensure they have 

sufficient food, that the quarantine is enforced, and that 

transportation to medical care is provided. 

2. Requiring Employers to Inform Workers about 

COVID-19 Concerns. In addition to informing workers 

about the terms and conditions of employment when 
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workers are still in their hometowns, all persons who are 

recruiting workers for agricultural and migrant 

employment in Virginia in 2020 must provide detailed 

information about the risks of COVID-19. That 

information should include how employers will protect 

their safety while transporting, housing, and employing 

them in the United States. Prospective workers should also 

be advised that they will not be required to pay for any 

cleaning and sanitizing products and the agricultural 

employer will have an approved health plan for all 

workers that includes regular sanitizing of the housing and 

vehicles and other communal areas. All prospective H-2A 

and H-2B employees should also be informed that they 

will receive health care at no cost should they develop 

COVID-19 symptoms and need to be tested, and how they 

will be quarantined if they develop symptoms or test 

positive. 

3. Requiring Employers to Implement COVID-19 

Workplace Protections and Plans. Employers must plan 

work crew activity to ensure proper distancing to avoid 

unnecessary transmission of the disease at work. 

Additionally, most H-2A worker housing is located in 

rural areas, and employers normally bus workers into 

small towns to purchase groceries and obtain banking and 

financial services. Sufficient vehicles must be available 

such that workers are not sitting directly next to other 

workers and sufficient ventilation exists. Given the recent 

hoarding of essential supplies and food, it is possible that 

small grocery stores could run out of such items and leave 

workers or members of the community vulnerable. 

Moreover, a busload of 50 to 100 or so H-2 workers all 

entering stores at busy times for local shoppers could 

drastically increase the likelihood of spreading COVID-

19. Therefore, advance arrangements must be made with 

these services to avoid creating a scarcity of essential food 

and supplies at grocery stores and to protect against the 

spread of the virus in these small communities already 

stressed by the impacts of this global pandemic.  

4. Disallowing Terminations Based on COVID-19. Under 

no circumstances should growers or their agents be 

allowed to terminate and send home H-2A and H-2B 

workers who are sick with or have been exposed to 

COVID-19. 

5. Disallowing Evictions from Employer Housing. H-2A 

employers (and many H-2B employers) control workers' 

housing, and have, in the past, revoked workers' access to 

that housing on short notice. No H-2A or H-2B workers 

should be evicted or in any way removed from their 

housing without prior review and approval of the 

Department of Health (H-2A) and written notification 

provided to the Mexican Consulate. 

6. Ensuring Medical Coverage and Resources for Migrant 

Workers. All medical treatment and costs for all COVID-

19 related treatment and medical expenses should be 

covered by the Commonwealth of Virginia, and no worker 

should be sent home with any COVID-19 symptoms. In 

order to help stop the spread of COVID-19, all H-2A and 

H-2B workers need to know their medical treatment and 

expenses related to COVID-19 will be fully covered 

during the time they are working and residing in Virginia. 

This should include assurances that any worker who is 

tested for COVID-19 will have those costs covered even 

if the result is negative for COVID-19. A designated 

hotline in Spanish capable of receiving information or 

messages 24 hours a day should be established within the 

Department of Health to allow workers to report potential 

symptoms and request medical assistance, and the 

departments should have ready access to COVID-19 

testing. Workers' compensation coverage needs to cover 

H-2A and H-2B workers who contract COVID- 19 or must 

be quarantined due to the virus. These workers would not 

be exposed to the virus if they had not come to Virginia to 

perform migrant work. 

Conclusion. Legal Aid Justice Center reiterates its petition for 

prompt rulemaking and emergency, enforceable measures to 

ensure the protection of all farmworkers, their families and 

communities, and the residents of the Commonwealth of 

Virginia, and asks the Commonwealth to support our most 

vulnerable workers in these harrowing times. 

Agency Plan for Disposition of Request: In accordance with 

Virginia law, the petition has been filed with the Virginia 

Registrar of Regulations and will be published on February 1, 

2021, and posted to the Virginia Regulatory Town Hall at 

www.townhall.virginia.gov. Following receipt of all comment 

on the petition, and within 90 days of February 22, 2021, the 

matter will be considered by the State Health Commissioner 

acting on behalf of the State Board of Health or by the State 

Board of Health in order to decide whether to grant or deny the 

petition. 

Public Comment Deadline: February 22, 2021. 

Agency Contact: Kristin Marie Clay, Senior Policy Analyst, 

Virginia Department of Health, 109 Governor Street, 5th 

Floor, Richmond, 23219, telephone (804) 864-7474, or email 

kristin.clay@vdh.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. PFR21-17; Filed June 5, 2020, 1:02 p.m. 

http://www.townhall.virginia.gov/
mailto:kristin.clay@vdh.virginia.gov
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PERIODIC REVIEWS AND SMALL BUSINESS IMPACT REVIEWS 

TITLE 2. AGRICULTURE 

BOARD OF AGRICULTURE AND CONSUMER 
SERVICES 

Report of Findings 

Pursuant to §§ 2.2-4007.1 and 2.2-4017 of the Code of 

Virginia, the Board of Agriculture and Consumer Services 

conducted a periodic review and a small business impact 

review of 2VAC5-11, Public Participation Guidelines, and 

determined that this regulation should be retained in its current 

form. The board is publishing its report of findings dated 

October 21, 2020, to support this decision. 

This regulation is required by § 2.2-4007.02 of the Code of 

Virginia and establishes the mechanisms by which the board 

will advise the public of the board's regulatory actions. Notice 

of the board's regulatory actions assists in protecting the 

public's welfare. The regulation is clearly written and easily 

understandable. 

The board determined this regulation continues to be 

necessary, as it is required by § 2.2-4007.02 of the Code of 

Virginia and establishes the mechanisms by which the board 

will advise the public of the board's regulatory actions. The 

board has not received any comments or complaints regarding 

this regulation. The regulation is not complex and is easily 

understood. The regulation does not overlap, duplicate, or 

conflict with federal or state law or regulation. The regulation 

was promulgated in 2008 using the model public participation 

guidelines issued by the Department of Planning and Budget. 

No factors have changed since 2008 that necessitate amending 

this regulation. This regulation places no economic burden on 

any small business. 

Contact Information: Kevin Schmidt, Board Secretary, 

Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services, Oliver Hill 

Building, 102 Governor Street, Suite 219, Richmond, VA 

23219, telephone (804) 786-1346. 

Report of Findings 

Pursuant to §§ 2.2-4007.1 and 2.2-4017 of the Code of 

Virginia, the Board of Agriculture and Consumer Services 

conducted a periodic review and a small business impact 

review of 2VAC5-61, Regulations Governing Livestock 

Dealers and Marketing Facilities for the Purpose of 

Controlling and Eradicating Infectious and Contagious 

Diseases of Livestock, and determined that this regulation 

should be retained in its current form. The board is publishing 

its report of findings dated September 8, 2020, to support this 

decision. 

This regulation is necessary for the protection of public health, 

safety, and welfare because it provides for the protection of the 

animal population in Virginia, which is a major component of 

the public food supply. Since a safe food supply is imperative 

for the public health, safety, and welfare, it is important that 

this regulation stay in place for the continued protection of the 

public. The regulation is clearly written and easy to understand. 

Retaining this regulation as currently written will not have a 

significant negative impact on small businesses. There is a 

continued need for this regulation to stay in effect in order to 

protect livestock and public health. If the regulation is not 

maintained, then the risk of disease could have a negative 

impact on small businesses and producers who rely on 

livestock for the viability of their farms and businesses. This 

regulation is important for the livestock industry and is 

consistent with federal laws and regulations regarding 

interstate movement of animals. The board has not received 

any complaints from the public regarding this regulation. The 

regulation is not unnecessarily complicated. Since the last time 

this regulation was evaluated, there have not been significant 

changes in technology, economic conditions, or other factors 

necessitating that this regulation be amended. 

Contact Information: Carolynn Bissett, Program Manager, 

Office of Veterinary Services, Department of Agriculture and 

Consumer Services, P.O. Box 1163, Richmond, VA 23218, 

telephone (804) 786-2483. 

Report of Findings 

Pursuant to §§ 2.2-4007.1 and 2.2-4017 of the Code of 

Virginia, the Board of Agriculture and Consumer Services 

conducted a periodic review and a small business impact 

review of 2VAC5-70, Health Requirements Governing the 

Control of Equine Infectious Anemia in Virginia, and 

determined that this regulation should be retained in its current 

form. The board is publishing its report of findings dated 

September 8, 2020, to support this decision. 

Horses are an important component of Virginia's animal 

agriculture industry, and the equine industry is a significant 

economic sector in Virginia. Equine Infectious Anemia (EIA) 

is a fatal disease with no treatment. The most effective way to 

control EIA is through testing, as has been conducted over the 

last 40 years, during which time the incidence of disease has 

been dramatically reduced but not eradicated in the United 

States. This regulation is necessary for the protection of 

economic welfare of horse owners in Virginia. Since healthy 

horses are critical for the economic viability of horse owners, 

it is important that this regulation stay in place. The regulation 

is clearly written and easy to understand. 

Retaining the current regulation will not have a significant 

negative impact on small businesses. There is a continued need 

for this regulation to stay in effect in order to protect livestock 

and public health. If the regulation is not maintained, then the 

risk of disease could have a negative impact on small 

businesses and producers who rely on livestock for the viability 

of their farms and businesses. This regulation is important for 

the livestock industry and is consistent with federal laws and 

regulations regarding interstate movement of animals. The 

board has not received any complaints from the public 

regarding this regulation. The regulation is not unnecessarily 

complicated and does not overlap, duplicate, or conflict with 

federal or state law or regulation. Since the last time this 
regulation was evaluated, there have not been significant 
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changes in technology, economic conditions, or other factors 

that would necessitate amending the regulation. 

Contact Information: Carolynn Bissett, Program Manager, 

Office of Veterinary Services, Department of Agriculture and 

Consumer Services, P.O. Box 1163, Richmond, VA 23218, 

telephone (804) 786-2483. 

Report of Findings 

Pursuant to §§ 2.2-4007.1 and 2.2-4017 of the Code of 

Virginia, the Board of Agriculture and Consumer Services 

conducted a periodic review and a small business impact 

review of 2VAC5-80, Requirements Governing the 

Branding of Cattle in Virginia, and determined that this 

regulation should be retained in its current form. The board is 

publishing its report of findings dated September 8, 2020, to 

support this decision. 

This regulation is necessary for the protection the economic 

welfare of Virginia's cattle industry because it provides the 

structure for the system to regulate cattle brands in Virginia. 

The cattle industry is a significant economic sector in Virginia. 

The regulation is clearly written and easy to understand. 

Retaining the current regulation will not have a significant 

negative impact on small businesses. Many farms that have 

cattle are small businesses, and this regulation facilitates the 

tracing and identification of cattle and protects farmers against 

theft and unlawful dealing in cattle. The board has received no 

complaints from the public regarding this regulation. The 

regulation is not unnecessarily complicated and does not 

overlap, duplicate, or conflict with federal or state law or 

regulation. Since the last time this regulation was evaluated, 

there have not been significant changes in technology, 

economic conditions, or other factors that would necessitate 

amending the regulation. 

Contact Information: Carolynn Bissett, Program Manager, 

Office of Veterinary Services, Department of Agriculture and 

Consumer Services, P.O. Box 1163, Richmond, VA 23218, 

telephone (804) 786-2483. 

Report of Findings 

Pursuant to §§ 2.2-4007.1 and 2.2-4017 of the Code of 

Virginia, the Board of Agriculture and Consumer Services 

conducted a periodic review and a small business impact 

review of 2VAC5-111, Public and Private Animal Shelters, 

and determined that this regulation should be retained in its 

current form. The board is publishing its report of findings 

dated September 8, 2020, to support this decision. 

The confinement of animals in animal shelters is intended to 

protect citizens from potential public health and safety risks 

associated with free-roaming dogs. Additionally, the 

regulations requiring confinement of loose animals and a 

holding period are intended to protect the property rights of 

individuals, as companion animals are considered personal 

property under Virginia law. This regulation is clearly written 

and easily understandable. 

Retaining this regulation as currently written will not have a 

significant negative impact on small businesses. There is a 

continued need for this regulation to stay in effect in order to 

protect pet species and public health. The board has received 

no complaints from the public regarding this regulation. The 

regulation is not unnecessarily complicated. This regulation 

does not overlap, duplicate, or conflict with federal or state law 

or regulations. There have not been significant changes in 

technology, economic conditions, or other factors since this 

regulation was promulgated that would necessitate any 

amendments to the regulation. 

Contact Information: Carolynn Bissett, Program Manager, 

Office of Veterinary Services, Department of Agriculture and 

Consumer Services, P.O. Box 1163, Richmond, VA 23218, 

telephone (804) 786-2483. 

Report of Findings 

Pursuant to §§ 2.2-4007.1 and 2.2-4017 of the Code of 

Virginia, the Board of Agriculture and Consumer Services 

conducted a periodic review and a small business impact 

review of 2VAC5-190, Rules and Regulations Establishing 

a Monitoring Program for Avian Influenza and Other 

Poultry Diseases, and determined that this regulation should 

be retained in its current form. The board is publishing its 

report of findings dated September 8, 2020, to support this 

decision. 

This regulation is necessary for the protection of public health, 

safety, and welfare because it provides protection to the poultry 

populations in Virginia, which are important components of 

the animal agriculture industry. Since a safe food supply and 

good poultry health is imperative for the public's health, it is 

important that this regulation stay in place for the continued 

protection of the public and the poultry populations. 

Additionally, the poultry industry is a significant economic 

sector in Virginia. The regulation is clearly written and easy to 

understand. 

Retaining the current regulation will not have a significant 

negative impact on small businesses. There is a continued need 

for this regulation to stay in effect in order to protect poultry 

and public health. If the regulation is not maintained, then the 

risk of disease could have a negative impact on small 

businesses and producers who rely on poultry for the viability 

of their farms and businesses. This regulation is important for 

the poultry industry and is consistent with federal laws and 

regulations regarding interstate movement of animals. The 

board has not received any complaints from the public 

regarding this regulation. The regulation is not unnecessarily 

complicated and does not overlap, duplicate, or conflict with 

federal or state law or regulation. Since the last time this 

regulation was evaluated, there have not been significant 

changes in technology, economic conditions, or other factors 

that would necessitate amending the regulation. 

Contact Information: Carolynn Bissett, Program Manager, 

Office of Veterinary Services, Department of Agriculture and 
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Consumer Services, P.O. Box 1163, Richmond, VA 23218, 

telephone (804) 786-2483. 

Report of Findings 

Pursuant to §§ 2.2-4007.1 and 2.2-4017 of the Code of 

Virginia, the Board of Agriculture and Consumer Services 

conducted a periodic review and a small business impact 

review of 2VAC5-240, Rules and Regulations for 

Enforcement of the Grain Handlers Law, and determined 

that this regulation should be retained in its current form. The 

board is publishing its report of findings dated September 15, 

2020, to support this decision. 

This regulation protects the economic welfare of grain sellers 

by ensuring that grain sold to handlers is accurately weighed, 

graded, and accounted for assuring the fair and equitable 

treatment of grain sellers. The regulation is clearly written and 

easily understood by the regulated industry. 

The board has determined that this regulation continues to be 

necessary and should remain in effect without change. The 

board received one comment regarding the regulation, and the 

comment supported the regulation. The board has determined 

that this regulation is not unnecessarily complex and that the 

complexity of this regulation is not such that it would have an 

economic impact on small businesses. This regulation does not 

overlap, duplicate, or conflict with federal or state law or 

regulation. The board last conducted a periodic review of the 

regulation in 2015, and the board has determined that no 

changes in technology, economic conditions, or other factors 

have occurred that necessitate amendments to the regulation. 

The board continues to believe the current regulation is the 

least burdensome and intrusive alternative for the required 

regulation of the grain industry. 

Contact Information: Olivia Wilson, Deputy Director, 

Commodity Services, Department of Agriculture and 

Consumer Services, P.O. Box 1163, Richmond, VA 23218, 

telephone (804) 786-2112. 

Report of Findings 

Pursuant to §§ 2.2-4007.1 and 2.2-4017 of the Code of 

Virginia, the Board of Agriculture and Consumer Services 

conducted a periodic review and a small business impact 

review of 2VAC5-319, Best Management Practices for the 

Operation of Apiaries in Order to Limit Operator 

Liability, and determined that this regulation should be 

retained in its current form. The board is publishing its report 

of findings dated October 26, 2020, to support this decision. 

The regulation outlines clearly written and easily understood 

best management practices that apiary operators can follow in 

order to limit their liability. The best management practices in 

the regulation not only safeguard the apiary operator by 

limiting the apiary operator's liability, but also protect the 

public health, safety, and welfare by including certain 

provisions that are intended to reduce the chances of stinging 

incidents associated with keeping and maintaining honeybees. 

The regulation also safeguards honeybee health and can 

increase survivability by preventing exposure to environmental 

stressors and establishing proper management strategies. 

The board has determined that this regulation is necessary in 

order to provide liability protection for those apiary operators 

who follow the best management practices in 2VAC5-319, 

Best Management Practices for the Operation of Apiaries in 

Order to Limit Operator Liability. There are no small business 

impacts, as a person is not required to comply with the 

provisions of this chapter unless he seeks to limit his liability 

as provided for in § 3.2-4411.1 of the Code of Virginia. 

The board received one complaint in 2017 regarding the 

regulation. The complainant filed a petition for rulemaking 

requesting, in part, that the board (i) provide a mechanism to 

offer public comment regarding the regulation via a regional 

apiary inspector and (ii) establish provisions for short-term 

waivers, long-term waivers, and permanent exemptions from 

the best management practices included in the regulation. On 

December 7, 2017, the board considered and subsequently 

denied the petition for rulemaking as Virginia's Beekeeping 

Law does not provide authority to the board to establish 

methods for a person to request amendments to the regulation. 

In addition, § 2.2-4007 of the Administrative Process Act 

establishes a formal process by which a person can request 

changes to a regulation. Virginia's Beekeeping Law does not 

provide authority to the board to amend the regulation to allow 

for waivers or exemptions to provisions established in the 

regulation. The best management practices in the regulation are 

those that reduce risks associated with keeping honeybees and 

amending the regulation to allow for waivers or exemptions to 

a voluntary best management practice could provide liability 

protection for those operations that should not be afforded the 

limited liability. 

The regulation does not overlap, duplicate, or conflict with 

federal or state laws. No significant changes to technology, 

economic conditions, or other factors have occurred that would 

necessitate amendments to this regulation. The board has 

determined that the regulation is not unnecessarily burdensome 

or complex, especially considering that apiary operators are not 

required to comply with this regulation unless they choose to 

follow the best management practices in order to limit their 

liability. As such, the board will retain the regulation in effect 

without change. 

Contact Information: David Gianino, Program Manager, 

Office of Plant Industry Services, Department of Agriculture 

and Consumer Services, P.O. Box 1163, Richmond, VA 

23218, telephone (800) 786-3515. 

Report of Findings 

Pursuant to §§ 2.2-4007.1 and 2.2-4017 of the Code of 

Virginia, the Board of Agriculture and Consumer Services 

conducted a periodic review and a small business impact 

review of 2VAC5-330, Rules and Regulations for 

Enforcement of the Virginia Pest Law - Virginia Gypsy 

Moth Quarantine, and determined that this regulation should 

be retained in its current form. The board is publishing its 
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report of findings dated October 8, 2020, to support this 

decision. 

This regulation is necessary for the protection of the economic 

welfare of Virginia's nursery and timber industries because it 

is intended to prevent or retard the spread of the gypsy moth. 

If this regulation were not in place, U.S. Department of 

Agriculture Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service 

(USDA-APHIS) would issue a federal quarantine over the 

entire state of Virginia, which would place restrictions on 

businesses in noninfested areas of Virginia. Many nurseries 

and timber operations in Virginia are small businesses, and this 

regulation ensures that businesses in noninfested areas are not 

subject to the quarantine. The regulation is clearly written and 

easy to understand. 

The board has determined that there is a continued need for this 

regulation. This regulation requires that nurseries and timber 

operations located in infested areas obtain inspections and 

certifications for regulated articles before these articles may be 

moved from regulated to nonregulated areas. The regulation 

was last amended in 2017. In the period since this regulation 

was last amended, there have been no significant changes to 

technology, economic conditions, or other factors that would 

necessitate modifications to the regulation. There have been no 

complaints received from the public regarding this regulation. 

The regulation is not complex and does not overlap, duplicate, 

or conflict with federal or state law or regulation. The board 

will retain the regulation in effect without change. 

Contact Information: David Gianino, Program Manager, 

Office of Plant Industry Services, Department of Agriculture 

and Consumer Services, P.O. Box 1163, Richmond, VA 

23218, telephone (800) 786-3515. 

Report of Findings 

Pursuant to §§ 2.2-4007.1 and 2.2-4017 of the Code of 

Virginia, the Board of Agriculture and Consumer Services 

conducted a periodic review and a small business impact 

review of 2VAC5-350, Rules and Regulations for the 

Enforcement of the Virginia Commission Merchant Law, 

and determined that this regulation should be retained in its 

current form. The board is publishing its report of findings 

dated October 7, 2020, to support this decision. 

The licensing and bonding of commission merchants and the 

requirements of this regulation provide protection to tobacco 

farmers by assuring prompt and accurate payment for their 

tobacco. As such, this regulation protects the economic welfare 

of Virginia tobacco producers. Retaining the regulation 

represents the lease burdensome alternative for commission 

merchants, while retaining a mechanism to assure tobacco 

producers that they will be paid. This regulation is clearly 

written and easily understood. 

The board has determined that there is a continued need for this 

regulation. Tobacco auction warehouses that serve as agents 

for tobacco farmers on the basis of a fee or commission are 

required to obtain a license under the Commission Merchants 

Law. Many farms that grow tobacco are small businesses, and 

the licensing and bonding of commission merchants and the 

requirements of this regulation, by which commission 

merchants must abide, provide protection to tobacco farmers 

by assuring prompt and accurate payment for their tobacco. 

There have been no complaints received regarding this 

regulation. The only comment received did not recommend 

any change to this regulation. The regulation is not complex 

and does not include any unnecessary or overly burdensome 

requirements with which small businesses must comply. This 

regulation does not overlap, duplicate, or conflict with federal 

or state law or regulation. No significant changes to 

technology, economic conditions, or other factors have 

occurred since the previous periodic review of this regulation 

in 2015 that would necessitate modifications to this regulation. 

The board will retain the regulation in effect without change. 

Contact Information: Gary Milton, Program Manager, Office 

of Weights and Measures, Department of Agriculture and 

Consumer Services, P.O. Box 1163, Richmond, VA 23218, 

telephone (804) 786-1274. 

Report of Findings 

Pursuant to §§ 2.2-4007.1 and 2.2-4017 of the Code of 

Virginia, the Board of Agriculture and Consumer Services 

conducted a periodic review and a small business impact 

review of 2VAC5-360, Regulations for the Enforcement of 

the Virginia Commercial Feed Act, and determined that this 

regulation should be retained in its current form. The board is 

publishing its report of findings dated October 30, 2020, to 

support this decision. 

Commercial feed purchasers must be able to ensure that animal 

feed ingredients will not subsequently adulterate food products 

consumed by humans. As such, this regulation is necessary in 

order to protect the public's health, safety, and welfare. This 

regulation is clearly written and easily understood. Currently, 

the Official Methods of Analysis of AOAC International 

(2002), 17th edition, is used to determine the standards for the 

sampling and analysis of commercial feed. While the board is 

aware that the Association of Official Agricultural Chemists 

(AOAC) has published a 21st edition, the AOAC methods used 

for testing and analysis of commercial feed remain unchanged 

from the 17th edition. Therefore, board will retain the 

regulation in effect without change. 

This regulation establishes labeling requirements with which 

commercial feed manufacturers must comply. Many 

commercial feed purchasers are farmers who operate small 

businesses, and this regulation ensures that commercial feed 

available for purchase is properly formulated and labeled. The 

labeling requirements established in this regulation also assist 

commercial feed purchasers in determining whether a given 

feed will satisfy the nutritional needs of their animals. There 

have been no complaints or comments received from the public 

for this regulation. The regulation is not complex and does not 

include any unnecessary or overly burdensome requirements 

with which small businesses must comply. The regulation does 
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not overlap, duplicate, or conflict with federal or state law or 

regulation. No significant changes to technology, economic 

conditions, or other factors have occurred that would 

necessitate modifications to this regulation since the previous 

periodic review of this regulation in 2015. The board will retain 

the regulation in effect without change. 

Contact Information: David Gianino, Program Manager, 

Office of Plant Industry Services, Department of Agriculture 

and Consumer Services, P.O. Box 1163, Richmond, VA 

23218, telephone (800) 786-3515. 

Report of Findings 

Pursuant to §§ 2.2-4007.1 and 2.2-4017 of the Code of 

Virginia, the Board of Agriculture and Consumer Services 

conducted a periodic review and a small business impact 

review of 2VAC5-400, Rules and Regulations for the 

Enforcement of the Virginia Fertilizer Law, and determined 

that this regulation should be retained in its current form. The 

board is publishing its report of findings dated October 8, 2020, 

to support this decision. 

This regulation assists in ensuring the quality of fertilizer 

products available for sale in the Commonwealth, thereby 

impacting the ultimate quality of crops, human health, the 

environment, and competition in the marketplace. As such, the 

regulation is necessary for the protection of public health, 

safety, and welfare. The regulation is clearly written and easily 

understood by the regulated industry. 

The agency has determined that there is a continued need for 

this regulation to assist in ensuring the proper oversight of 

fertilizer sale in the Commonwealth. The agency has not 

received any complaints from the public concerning this 

regulation. The regulation is not complex and does not overlap, 

duplicate, or conflict with federal or state law or regulation. In 

the period since this regulation was last reviewed in 2016, there 

have been no significant changes in technology, economic 

conditions, or other factors that necessitate amendments to this 

regulation. 

The agency has determined that the regulation is not 

unnecessarily burdensome or complex. As such, the board will 

retain the regulation in effect without change. 

Contact Information: David Gianino, Program Manager, 

Office of Plant Industry Services, Department of Agriculture 

and Consumer Services, P.O. Box 1163, Richmond, VA 

23218, telephone (800) 786-3515. 

Report of Findings 

Pursuant to §§ 2.2-4007.1 and 2.2-4017 of the Code of 

Virginia, the Board of Agriculture and Consumer Services 

conducted a periodic review and a small business impact 

review of 2VAC5-480, Regulation Governing the 

Oxygenation of Gasoline, and determined that this regulation 

should be retained in its current form. The board is publishing 

its report of findings dated October 7, 2020, to support this 

decision. 

The agency has determined that this regulation, in its current 

form, remains necessary for the protection of public health, as 

it is currently used by the Department of Environmental 

Quality (DEQ) as a part of a federally required air quality 

management plan for the control of carbon monoxide (CO) in 

northern Virginia. The regulation is clearly written and easily 

understood by the individuals and entities affected. 

Additionally, the regulation is the least burdensome alternative 

to meet the federally required air quality management plan for 

the control of CO. 

The board has not received any complaints from the public 

regarding this regulation. This regulation does not place 

unnecessary burdens on industry and is not overly complex. 

The regulation does not overlap, duplicate, or conflict with 

federal or state law or regulation. The regulation was last 

evaluated by periodic review in 2016. In the period since this 

regulation was last evaluated, there have been no significant 

changes in technology, economic conditions, or other factors 

that would necessitate amending the regulation. In its review, 

the board has determined this regulation was developed in 

accordance with the laws relating to the impact of regulations 

on small businesses and with the goal of minimizing the 

economic impact on small businesses. The board will retain the 

regulation in effect without change. 

Contact Information: Gary Milton, Program Manager, Office 

of Weights and Measures, Department of Agriculture and 

Consumer Services, P.O. Box 1163, Richmond, VA 23218, 

telephone (804) 786-1274. 

Report of Findings 

Pursuant to §§ 2.2-4007.1 and 2.2-4017 of the Code of 

Virginia, the Board of Agriculture and Consumer Services 

conducted a periodic review and a small business impact 

review of 2VAC5-550, Rules and Regulations Pertaining to 

Tolerances and Prohibitions Applicable to Sausage, and 

determined that this regulation should be retained in its current 

form. The board is publishing its report of findings dated 

September 8, 2020, to support this decision. 

The regulation is necessary to ensure that the consuming public 

is able to purchase a product that meets expectations regarding 

what is considered to be a sausage product. Limits regarding 

the amount of fat in the product ensure that consumers are able 

to purchase a sausage product that is not excessively harmful 

to health, as large amounts of saturated fat have been known to 

contribute to cardiovascular disease. The regulation is clearly 

written and easily understandable. 

This regulation is still needed because to ensure that sausage 

products are produced according to and meet minimum 

acceptable standards relative to product formulation and 

saturated fat content. Without this regulation, it would be 

difficult to ensure that sausage products conform to and meet 

acceptable standards. There have no complaints or comments 

received relative to this regulation. The regulation is not 

complex and easily understandable with standards and 

requirements that are reasonable and easily attainable. Federal 
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regulations also provide certain standards for sausage products. 

However, this regulation is primarily enforced and policed at 

meat processing facilities that produce and sell wholesale. The 

subject regulation is typically enforced and applied to sausage 

products formulated or sold by a food establishment directly to 

consumers, such as at a retail food store. The regulation 

establishes specific production standards applicable to retail 

environments. This regulation was evaluated during a periodic 

review conducted in 2016. Since that time, there have not been 

significant changes in technology, economic conditions, or 

other factors that would render the regulations outdated. Since 

the regulation is not complex or burdensome and provides for 

a product standard that consumer find desirable, it will have 

minimal to no negative economic impact on small businesses. 

Contact Information: Ryan Davis, Program Manager, Office of 

Dairy and Foods, Department of Agriculture and Consumer 

Services, P.O. Box 1163, Richmond, VA 23218, telephone 

(804) 786-8899. 

Report of Findings 

Pursuant to §§ 2.2-4007.1 and 2.2-4017 of the Code of 

Virginia, the Board of Agriculture and Consumer Services 

conducted a periodic review and a small business impact 

review of 2VAC5-560, Rules and Regulations Pertaining to 

Labeling and Sale of Infant Formula, and determined that 

this regulation should be retained in its current form. The board 

is publishing its report of findings dated September 8, 2020, to 

support this decision. 

This regulation is necessary for the protection of the health, safety, 

and welfare of infants within the Commonwealth as it ensures that 

they consume infant formula that clearly meets the nutrition 

requirements for an infant. The regulation is clearly written and 

easily understandable. 

This regulation continues to be necessary because it ensures infant 

formula produced and sold at retail meets minimum acceptable 

standards regarding infant formula nutrition. Nutrients contained 

in infant formula can degrade over time, thus producing an inferior 

product incapable of meeting the nutritional needs of infants. The 

regulation also ensures that consumers are informed regarding 

expiration dates and the quality of the infant formula that they are 

buying. The board has not received any complaints or comments 

regarding this regulation. The regulation is written in a form that 

is not overly complex and is easily understandable by regulators 

as well as the regulated industry. 

Federal regulations also establish mandates for infant formula. 

However, these mandates are complex and burdensome to the 

industry and are configured to apply primarily to large infant 

formula manufacturers participating in significant interstate 

commerce that are regularly inspected by the U.S. Food and 

Drug Administration. The subject regulations are typically 

enforced at both large and small manufacturers participating in 

both intrastate and interstate commerce as well as at retail food 

store locations. An attempt to strictly enforce overly complex 

federal standards at both manufacturers and retail locations 

within the Commonwealth would likely be overly burdensome 

to the industry. Since the last time this regulation was 

evaluated, there have not been significant changes in 

technology, economic conditions, or other factors that would 

render the regulation nonrelevant. This regulation was 

promulgated with due concerns for industry and has minimal 

impact on small businesses. 

Contact Information: Ryan Davis, Program Manager, Office of 

Dairy and Foods, Department of Agriculture and Consumer 

Services, P.O. Box 1163, Richmond, VA 23218, telephone 

(804) 786-8899. 

Report of Findings 

Pursuant to §§ 2.2-4007.1 and 2.2-4017 of the Code of 

Virginia, the Board of Agriculture and Consumer Services 

conducted a periodic review and a small business impact 

review of 2VAC5-570, Rules and Regulations Defining 

Standards for Grades/Sizes of Shell Eggs, and determined 

that this regulation should be retained in its current form. The 

board is publishing its report of findings dated September 8, 

2020, to support this decision. 

The regulation is necessary for the protection of public health 

because it ensures that consumers are provided egg products 

that meet specific quality standards. The regulation is clearly 

written and easily understandable. 

The board has determined there is a continued need for this 

regulation. The regulation provides for eggs that are properly 

graded in adherence to a specific standard. Additionally, the 

regulation requires that eggs be produced, distributed, and sold 

under conditions that are sanitary. The board has not received any 

complaints or comments regarding this regulation, which is not 

complex. The regulation is written in a straightforward manner 

and is easily understandable and enforceable by regulators and the 

regulated industry. The regulation does not overlap, duplicate, or 

conflict with federal or state law or regulation. The regulation was 

evaluated during the periodic review conducted in 2016. Since that 

time, there have not been significant changes in technology, 

economic conditions, or other factors that would necessitate 

amending this regulation. This regulation was promulgated with 

due concerns for industry and has minimal impact on small 

businesses. Compliance with the regulations will not require a 

significant effort by industry. The regulation is not complex, is 

easily understandable, and will present a minimal financial cost to 

the industry. Thus, although essential, the regulation will have 

minimal economic impact on businesses. 

Contact Information: Ryan Davis, Program Manager, Office of 

Dairy and Foods, Department of Agriculture and Consumer 

Services, P.O. Box 1163, Richmond, VA 23218, telephone 

(804) 786-8899. 

Report of Findings 

Pursuant to §§ 2.2-4007.1 and 2.2-4017 of the Code of 

Virginia, the Board of Agriculture and Consumer Services 

conducted a periodic review and a small business impact 

review of 2VAC5-585, Retail Food Establishment 

Regulations, and determined that this regulation should be 
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retained in its current form. The board is publishing its report 

of findings dated September 8, 2020, to support this decision. 

This regulation is applicable to many thousands of retail 

establishments, all involved in diverse food related activities. 

The regulation provides specific requirements that are 

designed to ensure the optimal protection of the public's health, 

safety, and welfare. The regulation ensures that the consuming 

public has access to food products that are received, processed, 

and held in a safe manner and that requirements are in place 

that help ensure that foodborne illnesses do not occur. The 

standards are not arbitrary but are based on sound science and 

practical requirements. The regulation, although 

comprehensive, is constructed in a manner that is clearly 

written and easily understandable by regulators and the 

industry as well as interested citizens. 

There is a continued need for this regulation. The regulation 

ensures that retail food stores meet minimum sanitary 

requirements and provide safe food products to the citizens of 

Virginia. The regulation provides effective and practical science-

based measures and requirements that are designed to ensure the 

optimal protection of the public's health, safety, and welfare. The 

regulation ensures that the consuming public has access to food 

products that are received, processed, held, and sold in a safe 

manner. The regulation also provides essential requirements that 

help to ensure that foodborne illnesses do not occur. The board has 

not received any complaints regarding the regulation. Although 

the regulation provides comprehensive measures to ensure the 

safety of food products at retail food stores, the regulation is not 

overly complex and is easily understood by regulators, the 

industry, and the citizens of Virginia. The regulation does not 

overlap, duplicate, or conflict with federal or state law or 

regulation. 

The regulation was evaluated following the U.S. Food and 

Drug Administration's (FDA's) publication of the 2017 Model 

Food Code. The regulation is regularly evaluated and updated 

as the FDA publishes the Model Food Code every four years. 

Since the Model Food Code is updated on a regular basis, the 

model code keeps pace with changes in technology and 

economic conditions. A regulatory action to amend 2VAC5-

585 to reflect the 2017 Model Food Code and 2019 Model 

Food Code Supplement is currently underway. 

The regulation is science based, practical requirements for 

retail food businesses. The regulation is not overly burdensome 

and will help ensure the prevention of food borne illnesses. 

These requirements take into account and minimize the 

economic impact of the regulations for small businesses. 

Contact Information: Ryan Davis, Program Manager, Office of 

Dairy and Foods, Department of Agriculture and Consumer 

Services, P.O. Box 1163, Richmond, VA 23218, telephone 

(804) 786-8899. 

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 6. CRIMINAL JUSTICE AND 
CORRECTIONS 

BOARD OF JUVENILE JUSTICE 

Report of Findings 

Pursuant to §§ 2.2-4007.1 and 2.2-4017 of the Code of 

Virginia, the Board of Juvenile Justice conducted a periodic 

review and a small business impact review of 6VAC35-30, 

Regulation Governing State Reimbursement of Local 

Juvenile Residential Facility Costs, and determined that this 

regulation should be amended to update and clarify the 

regulation. 

The Notice of Intended Regulatory Action to amend 6VAC35-

30, which is published in this issue of the Virginia Register, 

serves as the report of findings.  

Contact Information: Kristen Peterson, Regulatory 

Coordinator, Department of Juvenile Justice, P.O. Box 1110, 

Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 588-3902, or email 

kristen.peterson@djj.virginia.gov. 

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 22. SOCIAL SERVICES 

DEPARTMENT FOR AGING AND REHABILITATIVE 
SERVICES 

Report of Findings 

Pursuant to §§ 2.2-4007.1 and 2.2-4017 of the Code of 

Virginia, the Department for Aging and Rehabilitative 

Services conducted a periodic review and a small business 

impact review of 22VAC30-11, Public Participation 

Guidelines, and determined that this regulation should be 

retained in its current form. The department is publishing its 

report of findings dated January 4, 2021, to support this 

decision. 

The department's public participation guidelines afford 

interested persons an opportunity to submit data, views, and 

arguments, either orally or in writing, to the board, including 

an online public comment forum on the Virginia Regulatory 

Town Hall, and other specially designated subordinate; and 

interested persons may be accompanied by and represented by 

counsel or other representative. 

This regulation is clearly written. This regulation meets the 

criteria set out in Executive Order 14, as amended, July 16, 

2018, as it is necessary for the protection of public health, 

safety, and welfare and is clearly written and easily 

understandable. There is no negative impact on the regulated 

community and the regulation does not overlap, duplicate, or 

conflict with federal or state law or regulation. 

This regulation is needed in order to meet the state 

requirements under Virginia law (§ 2.2-4007.02 of the Code of 

Virginia). The board received no complaints or comments 
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regarding the need to repeal or amend this regulation, and the 

regulation is written clearly and is easy to understand. This 

regulation does not overlap, duplicate, or conflict with any 

federal or state law or regulation, and was last revised 

November 30, 2016. As a result of this periodic review, the 

department has determined that the regulation has no negative 

economic impact on small business. 

Contact Information: Charlotte Arbogast, Policy Analyst, 

Department for Aging and Rehabilitative Services, 8004 

Franklin Farms Drive, Richmond, VA 23229, telephone (804) 

662-7063.  

Agency Notice 

Pursuant to Executive Order 14 (as amended July 16, 2018) 

and §§ 2.2-4007.1 and 2.2-4017 of the Code of Virginia, the 

following regulation is undergoing a periodic review and a 

small business impact review: 22VAC30-20, Provision of 

Vocational Rehabilitation Services. The review will be 

guided by the principles in Executive Order 14 (as amended 

July 16, 2018). The purpose of this review is to determine 

whether this/each regulation should be repealed, amended, or 

retained in its current form. Public comment is sought on the 

review of any issue relating to this/each regulation, including 

whether the regulation (i) is necessary for the protection of 

public health, safety, and welfare or for the economical 

performance of important governmental functions; (ii) 

minimizes the economic impact on small businesses in a 

manner consistent with the stated objectives of applicable law; 

and (iii) is clearly written and easily understandable. 

Public comment period begins February 1, 2021, and ends 

February 22, 2021. 

Comments must include the commenter's name and address 

(physical or email) information in order to receive a response 

to the comment from the agency. 

Following the close of the public comment period, a report of 

both reviews will be posted on the Virginia Regulatory Town 

Hall and published in the Virginia Register of Regulations. 

Contact Information: Charlotte Arbogast, Policy Analyst, 

Department for Aging and Rehabilitative Services, 8004 

Franklin Farms Drive, Richmond, VA 23229, telephone (804) 

662-7063. 
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NOTICES OF INTENDED REGULATORY ACTION 

TITLE 6. CRIMINAL JUSTICE AND 
CORRECTIONS 

BOARD OF JUVENILE JUSTICE 

Notice of Intended Regulatory Action 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 2.2-4007.01 of the 

Code of Virginia that the Board of Juvenile Justice intends to 

consider amending 6VAC35-20, Regulation Governing the 

Monitoring, Approval, and Certification of Juvenile 

Justice Programs and Facilities, and 6VAC35-30, 

Regulation Governing State Reimbursement of Local 

Juvenile Residential Facility Costs. The purpose of the 

proposed action is to update and clarify the regulations to 

ensure that the agency retains some authority to review plans 

for applicable local facility projects without subjecting 

localities to a lengthy process required by the current 

regulation. The proposed amendments may include (i) 

repealing provisions that make the regulations applicable to a 

locality engaged in construction and related local juvenile 

facility projects, regardless of whether the locality intends to 

seek state reimbursement for those costs, (ii) establishing in a 

new chapter a new, separate process for a locality engaging in 

relevant projects but not seeking reimbursement; (iii) allowing 

flexibility regarding the deadline for the board's review of 

certain documents; (iv) allowing for state reimbursement for 

emergency maintenance projects in accordance with the 

Appropriation Act; (v) modifying provisions regarding a 

board-established funding formula to determine constructions 

costs; (vi) clarifying terminology and provisions that are vague 

or difficult to understand; (vii) removing certain documents 

incorporated by reference; and (viii) addressing additional 

areas of concern that arise during the regulatory process. 

The agency does not intend to hold a public hearing at the 

proposed stage. 

Statutory Authority: §§ 16.1-309.5, 16.1-309.9, 16.1-322.7, 

and 66-10 of the Code of Virginia. 

Public Comment Deadline: March 3, 2021. 

Agency Contact: Kristen Peterson, Regulatory Coordinator, 

Department of Juvenile Justice, P.O. Box 1110, Richmond, 

VA 23219, telephone (804) 588-3902, or email 

kristen.peterson@djj.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R21-5821; Filed January 7, 2021, 1:20 p.m. 

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 12. HEALTH 

STATE BOARD OF BEHAVIORAL HEALTH AND 
DEVELOPMENTAL SERVICES 

Notice of Intended Regulatory Action 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 2.2-4007.01 of the 

Code of Virginia that the State Board of Behavioral Health and 

Developmental Services intends to consider amending 

12VAC35-46, Regulations for Children's Residential 

Facilities. The purpose of the proposed action is to align 

licensing regulations with the American Society of Addiction 

Medicine Levels of Care Criteria or an equivalent set of criteria 

to ensure individualized, clinically driven, participant-directed, 

and outcome-informed treatment pursuant to Item 318 of 

Chapter 1289 of the 2020 Acts of Assembly (Appropriation 

Act of 2020). The proposed action incorporates best practices 

in the department's licensing regulations to promote recovery 

from the disease of addiction. 

The agency does not intend to hold a public hearing at the 

proposed stage. 

Statutory Authority: §§ 37.2-203 and 37.2-408 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

Public Comment Deadline: March 3, 2021. 

Agency Contact: John Cimino, Licensing Legal and 

Regulatory Coordinator, Department of Behavioral Health and 

Developmental Services, 1220 Bank Street P.O. Box 1797, 

Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 298-3279, FAX (804) 

692-0066, TDD (804) 371-8977, or email 

john.cimino@dbhds.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R21-6440; Filed January 8, 2021, 1:32 p.m. 

Notice of Intended Regulatory Action 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 2.2-4007.01 of the 

Code of Virginia that the State Board of Behavioral Health and 

Developmental Services intends to consider amending 

12VAC35-105, Rules and Regulations for Licensing 

Providers by the Department of Behavioral Health and 

Developmental Services. The purpose of the proposed action 

is to comply with Item 318 of Chapter 1289 of the 2020 Acts 

of Assembly (2020 Appropriation Act) to align the 

department's licensing regulations with anticipated changes to 

Medicaid behavioral health regulations in Item 313 of Chapter 

1289. The proposed amendments remove provisions that 

would conflict with newly funded behavioral health services 

and establish new licensed services for those newly funded 

behavioral health services that cannot be nested under an 

existing department license. For most of the department's 

existing licensed services, including functional family therapy, 

multisystemic family therapy, intensive outpatient services, 

partial hospitalization programs, mobile crisis intervention 

services, 23-hour temporary observation services, crisis 

stabilization services, and residential crisis stabilization unit 

services, minimal changes are anticipated in the proposed 
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action. The existing license requirements for Program for 

Assertive Community Treatment (PACT) services, however, 

are inconsistent with the Assertive Community Treatment 

(ACT) services that will be funded as part of Behavioral Health 

Enhancement and substantive changes are proposed for the 

specific licensing regulations for this service to align licensing 

requirements with ACT service expectations. 

The agency does not intend to hold a public hearing at the 

proposed stage. 

Statutory Authority: § 37.2-203 of the Code of Virginia. 

Public Comment Deadline: March 3, 2021. 

Agency Contact: Ruth Anne Walker, Director of Regulatory 

Affairs, Department of Behavioral Health and Developmental 

Services, 1220 Bank Street, 4th Floor, Richmond, VA 23219, 

telephone (804) 225-2252, FAX (804) 371-4609, TDD (804) 

371-8977, or email ruthanne.walker@dbhds.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R21-6076; Filed January 8, 2021, 1:30 p.m. 

Notice of Intended Regulatory Action 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 2.2-4007.01 of the 

Code of Virginia that the State Board of Behavioral Health and 

Developmental Services intends to consider amending 

12VAC35-105, Rules and Regulations for Licensing 

Providers by the Department of Behavioral Health and 

Developmental Services. The purpose of the proposed action 

is to align the licensing regulations with the American Society 

of Addiction Medicine Levels of Care Criteria (ASAM) or an 

equivalent set of criteria to ensure individualized, clinically 

driven, participant-directed, and outcome-informed treatment 

pursuant to Item 318 of Chapter 1289 of the 2020 Acts of 

Assembly (Appropriation Act of 2020). The proposed action 

incorporates best practices to promote recovery from the 

disease of addiction. 

The agency does not intend to hold a public hearing at the 

proposed stage. 

Statutory Authority: §§ 37.2-302 and 37.2-400 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

Public Comment Deadline: March 3, 2021. 

Agency Contact: Ruth Anne Walker, Director of Regulatory 

Affairs, Department of Behavioral Health and Developmental 

Services, Jefferson Building, 1220 Bank Street, 4th Floor, 

Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 225-2252, FAX (804) 

371-4609, TDD (804) 371-8977, or email 

ruthanne.walker@dbhds.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R21-6439; Filed January 8, 2021, 1:31 p.m. 

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 18. PROFESSIONAL AND 
OCCUPATIONAL LICENSING 

BOARD OF FUNERAL DIRECTORS AND 
EMBALMERS 

Notice of Intended Regulatory Action 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 2.2-4007.01 of the 

Code of Virginia that the Board of Funeral Directors and 

Embalmers intends to consider amending 18VAC65-20, 

Regulations of the Board of Funeral Directors and 

Embalmers; 18VAC65-30, Regulations for Preneed 

Funeral Planning; and 18VAC65-40, Regulations for the 

Funeral Service Internship Program. The purpose of the 

proposed action is to implement Chapter 943 of the 2020 Acts 

of Assembly and establish the education, examination, and 

experience required to be issued a license as a funeral director 

or a license as an embalmer. Applicants will be required to 

obtain an associate degree in an accredited mortuary science 

program or complete a program approved by the board. 

Coursework in embalming will not be required for the funeral 

director license, and coursework in funeral directing and 

preneed financing will not be required for the embalmer 

license. All funeral interns will be required to complete 2,000 

hours of supervised experience in the area of funeral practice 

for which the interns are seeking licensure. Amendments are 

also necessary for the three types of licenses and scopes of 

practice, as applicable, throughout 18VAC65-20, 18VAC65-

30, and 18VAC65-40. 

The agency intends to hold a public hearing on the proposed 

action after publication in the Virginia Register. 

Statutory Authority: § 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia. 

Public Comment Deadline: March 3, 2021. 

Agency Contact: Corie Tillman Wolf, Executive Director, 

Board of Funeral Directors and Embalmers, 9960 Mayland 

Drive, Suite 300, Richmond, VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-

4479, FAX (804) 527-4471, or email fanbd@dhp.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R21-6539; Filed January 4, 2021, 6:18 p.m. 

BOARD OF PHARMACY 

Notice of Intended Regulatory Action 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 2.2-4007.01 of the 

Code of Virginia that the Board of Pharmacy intends to 

consider amending 18VAC110-20, Regulations Governing 

the Practice of Pharmacy, and 18VAC110-21, Regulations 

Governing the Licensure of Pharmacists and Registration 

of Pharmacy Technicians. The purpose of the proposed 

action is to establish (i) the list of drugs and devices that may 

be initiated by a pharmacist for a patient over 18 years of age 

and (ii) requirements for notification of a primary care 

provider, maintenance of patient records, and protection of 
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patient privacy. The proposed action implements Chapter 731 

of the 2020 Acts of Assembly. 

The agency intends to hold a public hearing on the proposed 

action after publication in the Virginia Register. 

Statutory Authority: §§ 54.1-2400 and 54.1-3307 of the Code 

of Virginia. 

Public Comment Deadline: March 3, 2021. 

Agency Contact: Caroline Juran, RPh, Executive Director, 

Board of Pharmacy, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, 

Richmond, VA 23233-1463, telephone (804) 367-4456, FAX 

(804) 527-4472, or email caroline.juran@dhp.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R21-6488; Filed January 1, 2021, 6:07 p.m. 

Notice of Intended Regulatory Action 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 2.2-4007.01 of the 

Code of Virginia that the Board of Pharmacy intends to 

consider amending 18VAC110-20. Regulations Governing 

the Practice of Pharmacy. The purpose of the proposed action 

is to (i) establish the requirements for registration as a 

pharmacy technician trainee for a person enrolled in a training 

program and engaging in tasks that may be delegated to a 

technician, (ii) specify the certification examinations that are 

acceptable for registration as a pharmacy technician, (iii) set 

out the requirement for accreditation of training programs that 

will become effective on July 1, 2022, and (iv) modify other 

provisions as applicable to changes in the Code of Virginia 

pursuant to Chapters 102 and 237 of the 2020 Acts of 

Assembly. 

The agency intends to hold a public hearing on the proposed 

action after publication in the Virginia Register. 

Statutory Authority: §§ 54.1-2400 and 54.1-3307 of the Code 

of Virginia. 

Public Comment Deadline: March 3, 2021. 

Agency Contact: Caroline Juran, RPh, Executive Director, 

Board of Pharmacy, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, 

Richmond, VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-4456, FAX (804) 

527-4472, or email caroline.juran@dhp.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R20-6513; Filed January 2, 2021, 10:18 a.m. 

Notice of Intended Regulatory Action 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 2.2-4007.01 of the 

Code of Virginia that the Board of Pharmacy intends to 

consider amending 18VAC110-30, Regulations for 

Practitioners of the Healing Arts to Sell Controlled 

Substances. The purpose of the proposed action is to (i) define 

the term "practitioner" to include nurse practitioners or 

physician assistants for the purpose of issuance of a limited-

use license and (ii) include the allowance for issuance of a 

limited-use permit for nonprofit facilities for the sale of 

Schedule VI drugs and devices used in administration of such 

drugs. The proposed action is pursuant to Chapters 609 and 610 

of the 2020 Acts of Assembly.  

The agency intends to hold a public hearing on the proposed 

action after publication in the Virginia Register. 

Statutory Authority: §§ 54.1-2400 and 54.1-3307 of the Code 

of Virginia. 

Public Comment Deadline: March 3, 2021. 

Agency Contact: Caroline Juran, RPh, Executive Director, 

Board of Pharmacy, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, 

Richmond, VA 23233-1463, telephone (804) 527-4456, FAX 

(804) 527-4472, or email caroline.juran@dhp.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R21-6380; Filed January 4, 2021, 1:02 p.m. 

BOARD OF PSYCHOLOGY 

Notice of Intended Regulatory Action 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 2.2-4007.01 of the 

Code of Virginia that the Board of Psychology intends to 

consider amending 18VAC125-20, Regulations Governing 

the Practice of Psychology. The purpose of the proposed 

action is to implement Chapter 1162 of the 2020 Acts of 

Assembly, which mandates membership of the 

Commonwealth of Virginia in the Psychology 

Interjurisdictional Compact. The proposed amendments (i) add 

definitions consistent with the compact and (ii) revise the 

standards of practice and the grounds for disciplinary action to 

ensure that persons practicing with an E.Passport or temporary 

authorization to practice in Virginia through the compact are 

covered by the regulations. 

The agency intends to hold a public hearing on the proposed 

action after publication in the Virginia Register. 

Statutory Authority: § 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia.  

Public Comment Deadline: March 3, 2021. 

Agency Contact: Jaime Hoyle, Executive Director, Board of 

Psychology, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, Richmond, VA 

23233, telephone (804) 367-4406, FAX (804) 327-4435, or 

email jaime.hoyle@dhp.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R21-6421; Filed January 1, 2021, 6:13 p.m. 

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 22. SOCIAL SERVICES 

STATE BOARD OF SOCIAL SERVICES 

Notice of Intended Regulatory Action 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 2.2-4007.01 of the 

Code of Virginia that the State Board of Social Services 

intends to consider amending 22VAC40-211, Foster and 

Adoptive Home Approval Standards for Local 

Departments of Social Services. The purpose of the proposed 

action is to comply with Chapter 336 of the 2019 Acts of 

Assembly. The proposed amendments add require a local 

board of social services and a licensed child-placing agency 
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(LCPA) to provide foster parents with (i) all reasonably 

ascertainable background, medical, and psychological records 

of the child prior to placement; (ii) all information relevant to 

the child's foster care services; and (iii) copies of all documents 

related to the foster parent, the foster parent's family, and 

services provided to the foster home on an ongoing basis. The 

action also requires local boards and LCPAs to notify foster 

parents of court hearings; scheduled meetings; and decisions 

made by the court, local board, or LCPA concerning the child's 

foster care service, changes to the child's case plan, or 

termination of child's placement in a timely manner. The 

regulation requires a timely response to requests for 

information regarding the child's progress after leaving foster 

care if it is in the child's best interest. The regulation sets forth 

a dispute resolution process through which a foster parent may 

contest an alleged violation by the local board or LCPA, 

including an appeal process for the foster parent. 

The agency does not intend to hold a public hearing at the 

proposed stage. 

Statutory Authority: §§ 63.2-217 and 63.2-319 Code of 

Virginia 

Public Comment Deadline: March 3, 2021. 

Agency Contact: C. Garrett Jones, Resource Family Program 

Manager, Department of Social Services, 801 East Main Street, 

Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 726-7527, or email 

garrett.jones@dss.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R21-6042; Filed January 4, 2021, 10:49 a.m. 
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REGULATIONS 

TITLE 8. EDUCATION 

STATE BOARD OF EDUCATION 

Fast-Track Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 8VAC20-250. Regulations Governing 

the Testing of Sight and Hearing of Pupils (amending 

8VAC20-250-10). 

Statutory Authority: §§ 22.1-253.13:3 and 22.1-273 of the 

Code of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: No public hearings are currently 

scheduled. 

Public Comment Deadline: March 3, 2021. 

Effective Date: March 18, 2021. 

Agency Contact: Dr. Samantha Hollins, Assistant 

Superintendent for Special Education and Student Services, 

Department of Education, 101 North 14th Street, Richmond, 

VA 23219, telephone (804) 786-8079, or email 

samantha.hollins@doe.virginia.gov. 

Basis: The board's authority to establish regulations 

establishing standards for accrediting public schools is 

established in § 22.1-253.13:3 of the Code of Virginia. 

Purpose: This regulatory action is necessary to conform 

regulation to statute. This regulatory action also updates the 

language used in reference to how the hearing and vision 

screenings are monitored to reflect current practice. The 

revisions to 8VAC-20-250-10 protects public health and child 

welfare as the timely implementation of vision and hearing 

screening of students ensures that all students have access to 

effective learning environments. Impaired vision and/or 

hearing in children can seriously impede learning and 

contribute to the development of educational, emotional and 

behavioral problems.  

Rationale for Using Fast-Track Rulemaking Process: The 

amendments to 8VAC20-250-10 are mandated to conform 

with statute. This regulatory action is noncontroversial because 

its only purpose is to align the regulations with statute. 

Substance: The 2017 Virginia General Assembly amended 

§ 22.1-273 of the Code of Virginia, related to the timeline and 

scheduling of vision screenings. The Virginia Department of 

Education engaged several stakeholders and gathered input 

and feedback to draft the proposed revisions to the 

Regulations. Stakeholder groups included Conexus, Lions 

Club of Virginia, school nurse coordinators, and licensed 

hearing and vision providers. 

Based on the feedback from stakeholders, the proposed 

revisions to 8VAC-20-250-10 align the chapter with § 22.1-

273 of the Code of Virginia regarding the timeline and 

scheduling of vision screenings and align the hearing screening 

timeline and scheduling to match that of the required vision 

screenings. It also updates the language used in reference to 

how the hearing and vision screenings will be monitored to 

reflect current practice. 

Issues: Early discovery through the timely screenings outlined 

in 8VAC-20-250-10 can prevent or at least alleviate many of 

these problems and thus be of great benefit to the public, which 

is an advantage. There are no disadvantages to the public, the 

agency, or the Commonwealth. These revisions conform 

regulation to § 22.1-273 of the Code of Virginia. 

Department of Planning and Budget Economic Impact 

Analysis: 

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. The 

Board of Education (Board) proposes to specify that: 1) 

mandatory vision and hearing screening can be conducted in 

either second or third grade rather than just third grade, and 2) 

mandatory vision and hearing screening for grades K, 2 or 3, 

7, and 10 be scheduled within the first 60 administrative 

working days of the school year (and could occur at any time 

during the school year), rather than take place within the first 

60 administrative working days of the school year. 

Background. The current regulation requires that the sight and 

hearing of pupils in grades K, 3, 7, and 10 be screened within 

60 administrative working days of the opening of school. 

Virginia Code § 22.1-273 as amended by Chapter 312 of the 

2017 Acts of Assembly (Chapter 312)1 specifies that vision be 

screened in grades K, 2 or 3, 7, and 10. Also, Chapter 312 states 

that the "screenings may be conducted at any time during the 

school year; however, the scheduling of such screenings shall 

be completed no later than the sixtieth administrative working 

day of the school year." Chapter 312 does not specify the 

grades or timing within the school year for hearing tests. 

Estimated Benefits and Costs. Both proposed amendments are 

potentially beneficial for local school divisions in that there is 

greater flexibility in when the screenings occur. This may 

result in fewer disruptions to academics and other activities. 

Allowing the screening to take place later in the school year 

may in some cases lead to a later diagnosis of vision or hearing 

problems than would otherwise occur. 

Conversely, screening later in the year may in some cases 

enable vision or hearing problems that develop after the early 

part of the school year to be diagnosed sooner than they 

otherwise would be. Allowing screening to take place in either 
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second or third grade, rather than only third grade, may in some 

cases lead to an earlier diagnosis of vision or hearing problems 

than would otherwise occur. Conversely, screening in second 

grade rather than third grade may in some cases result in vision 

or hearing problems that develop after the second grade being 

diagnosed later than they otherwise would be. 

Businesses and Other Entities Affected. The proposed 

amendments affect the 133 public school divisions in the 

Commonwealth, as well as their staff and students. 

Small Businesses2 Affected. The proposed amendments do not 

appear to substantively affect small businesses. 

Localities3 Affected.4 The proposed amendments affect all 133 

local school divisions, but none disproportionately. The 

proposed amendments do not introduce costs for local 

governments. 

Projected Impact on Employment. The proposed amendments 

do not appear to affect total employment. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. The proposed 

amendments do not appear to substantively affect the use and 

value of private property. The proposed amendments do not 

affect real estate development costs. 

_______________________________ 

1See http://lis.virginia.gov/cgi-bin/legp604.exe?171 ful CHAP0312 

2Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.04 of the Code of Virginia, small business is defined 

as "a business entity, including its affiliates, that (i) is independently owned 

and operated and (ii) employs fewer than 500 full-time employees or has gross 

annual sales of less than $6 million." 

3"Locality" can refer to either local governments or the locations in the 

Commonwealth where the activities relevant to the regulatory change are most 

likely to occur. 

4§ 2.2-4007.04 defines "particularly affected" as bearing disproportionate 

material impact. 

Agency's Response to the Economic Impact Analysis: The 

agency concurs with the economic impact analysis completed 

by the Department of Planning and Budget. 

Summary:  

The amendments align regulation with § 22.1-273 of the 

Code of Virginia and (i) allow schools to conduct vision and 

hearing screenings at any time of the school year as long as 

the scheduling of such screenings is completed no later than 

the 60th administrative working day of the school year, (ii) 

provide schools with the option and flexibility to conduct 

vision and hearing screenings in grade two or three, and 

(iii) specify that hearing and vision screenings be monitored 

through the Department of Education's annual data 

collection process. 

8VAC20-250-10. Testing of sight and hearing; monitoring. 

That sight and hearing of pupils in grades K, 3, 7, and 10 be 

screened within 60 administrative working days of the opening 

of school. The principal of each public elementary and 

secondary school shall cause the vision and hearing of students 

enrolled in (i) kindergarten, (ii) grade two or three, (iii) grade 

seven, and (iv) grade 10 to be screened subject to the 

conditions and exceptions as established in § 22.1-273 of the 

Code of Virginia. The vision and hearing screen of students 

shall be scheduled within the first 60 administrative working 

days of the school year. Whenever a pupil student is found to 

have any defect of vision or hearing or a disease of the eyes or 

ears, the principal shall notify the parent or guardian in writing, 

of such defect or disease. This screening of pupils students will 

be monitored through the administrative review department's 

annual data collection process. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R21-6179; Filed January 5, 2021, 4:09 p.m. 

Fast-Track Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 8VAC20-730. Regulations Governing 

the Collection and Reporting of Truancy-Related Data and 

Student Attendance Policies (amending 8VAC20-730-10, 

8VAC20-730-20, 8VAC20-730-30). 

Statutory Authority: §§ 22.1-16 and 22.1-258 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: No public hearings are currently 

scheduled. 

Public Comment Deadline: March 3, 2021. 

Effective Date: March 18, 2021. 

Agency Contact: Maribel Saimre, Director, Office of Student 

Services, Department of Education, 101 North 14th Street, 

Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 225-2818, or email 

maribel.saimre@doe.virginia.gov. 

Basis: Section 22.1-16 of the Code of Virginia allows that the 

"Board of Education may adopt bylaws for its own government 

and promulgate such regulations as may be necessary to carry 

out its powers and duties and the provisions of this title." 

Section 22.1-269 of the Code of Virginia "authorizes and 

requires the Board of Education to enforce Virginia's 

compulsory school attendance statutes." 

Purpose: It is the primary goal of these amendments to align 

regulation with § 22.1-258 of the Code of Virginia. Students 

who attend school regularly beginning in kindergarten are 

more likely to succeed academically. Academic achievement, 

especially in math, is affected by attendance. Moreover, 

student nonattendance affects standardized test scores, 

graduation rates, and dropout rates. The amendments put in 

place an early identification and intervention process that 

provides school division personnel additional time to address 

barriers that disengage a student from school, thus improving 

school attendance. 

Rationale for Using Fast-Track Rulemaking Process: In 2018, 

the Virginia General Assembly amended § 22.1-258 of the 

Code of Virginia relating to the appointment of attendance 

officers, notification when a pupil fails to report to school, 

attendance plan, conference, and court proceedings. The 

Virginia Department of Education proposes to use the fast-

track rulemaking process as the amendments to 8VAC20-730 

http://lis.virginia.gov/cgi-bin/legp604.exe?171%20ful%20CHAP0312
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/Register/SectionDetails/SectionEdit/6016/6/8VAC20/maribel.saimre@doe.virginia.gov
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align the chapter with the Code of Virginia and therefore are 

deemed to be noncontroversial. 

Substance: The substantive changes conform with § 22.1-258 

of the Code of Virginia and reflect feedback from school 

division personnel across the Commonwealth, including 

expanding the number of days a parent has to respond to a 

school division's request for information to make decisions on 

excused versus unexcused absences from three days to five 

days. Additionally, changes to the regulation reflect a need to 

remove specific data element specifications and indicate that 

data will be collected reflective of § 22.1-258 of the Code of 

Virginia and definitions within 8VAC20-730. Data 

specifications regarding the collection of unexcused absences 

will be outlined in a manner prescribed by the Virginia 

Department of Education. 

Issues: The proposed amendments pose no disadvantage to the 

public or the Commonwealth. The proposed amendments will 

serve to collect daily attendance data and nonattendance data 

and guide an early identification and intervention process that 

provides school division personnel additional time to 

thoughtfully and purposefully remove barriers that disengage 

a student from school, thus improving school attendance. 

Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 

Analysis: 

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. 

Chapters 713 and 753 of the 2018 Acts of Assembly 

(legislation) amended § 22.1-258 of the Code of Virginia, 

relating to a pupil's unexcused absences and conferences 

concerning those absences. In response, the Board of 

Education (Board) proposes several amendments to 8 VAC 20-

730, Regulations Governing Unexcused Absences and 

Truancy, to match the legislation. Additionally, the Board 

proposes to: 1) expand the number of days a parent has to 

provide an excuse for an absence from three days to five days, 

and 2) remove specific data collection requirements from the 

regulation. 

Background. Prior to the legislation, § 22.1-258 indicated that: 

1) an attendance conference is to be scheduled if the pupil has 

accrued six unexcused absences from school, and 2) the 

conference is to be held no later than 15 school days after the 

sixth absence. The legislation amended § 22.1- 258 so the 

attendance conference is to be scheduled after the seventh 

unexcused absence, and the conference is to be held no later 

than 10 school days after the seventh absence. The current 

regulation reflects the pre-legislation rules. The Board 

proposes to amend the regulation to match the requirements in 

the current Code of Virginia. 

Section 22.1-258 indicates that the school principal or his 

designee schedule the conference with the pupil, his parent, 

and school personnel. The legislation added that the conference 

is to be held "regardless of whether his parent approves of the 

conference." To reflect this addition, the Board proposes to add 

to the regulation: 

The principal or principal's designee shall make reasonable 

efforts to contact the student's parent or parents to attend the 

attendance conference either in person or via communication 

technology. If the principal or principal's designee, after 

reasonable efforts have been made, is unable to contact the 

student's parent or parents, the conference shall be held 

regardless of whether the student's parent approves of the 

conference. 

Additionally, the current regulation defines "attendance 

conference" as including parent(s) and the student. The Board 

proposes to amend the definition so that it may include the 

parent(s) and student. 

Estimated Benefits and Costs. The current regulation defines 

"unexcused absence" as: "...an absence where (i) the student 

misses his scheduled instructional school day in its entirety and 

(ii) no indication has been received by school personnel within 

three days of the absence that the student's parent is aware and 

supports the absence, or the parent provides a reason for the 

absence that is unacceptable to the school administration. 

The Board proposes to give the parent five days to notify 

school staff that he or she is aware and supports the absence. 

Given busy schedules, this is a reasonable accommodation and 

would be beneficial for parents and students, without 

producing an apparent cost for schools. 

The current regulation also specifies the following data 

reporting requirements: 

Excused and unexcused absences shall be counted for each 

individual student and shall be reported to the Virginia 

Department of Education as follows: 

1. All excused and unexcused absences as defined in this 

chapter for each individual student shall be collected. 

2. For each student with five unexcused absences, whether 

an attendance plan was developed, and if not, the reason. 

3. For each student with six unexcused absences, whether an 

attendance conference was scheduled, and if not, the reason. 

4. For each student with six unexcused absences, whether an 

attendance conference was actually held, and if not, the 

reason. 

5. For each student with seven unexcused absences, whether 

a court referral was made or if proceedings against the parent 

or parents were initiated and, if not, the reason. 

These data reporting requirements do not match post-

legislation § 22.1-258. For example, the statutory requirement 

for scheduling an attendance conference is now after seven 

unexcused absences, not six. When there is a conflict between 

statutory requirements and regulatory requirements, the statute 

prevails. According to the Department of Education, their 

Office of Education Information Management has sent 

guidance to the school divisions to collect and report data so 

that it matches post-legislation § 22.1-258. 
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The Board proposes to repeal the language on data collection 

requirements and instead state that "Data shall be reported to 

the Virginia Department of Education pursuant to the Code of 

Virginia § 22.1-258 and 8VAC20-730-20." The Office of 

Education Information Management would continue to send 

guidance to the school divisions on how the data is to be 

collected and sent. This proposal would be beneficial in that 

the regulation would no longer present misleading information 

concerning the data to be collected and reported. 

Businesses and Other Entities Affected. The proposed 

amendments affect the 132 local school divisions. No school 

division is disproportionately affected. The proposed 

amendments do not appear to impose costs. 

Localities1 Affected2. The proposed amendments affect all 

Virginia localities. No locality is particularly affected. The 

proposed amendments do not appear to introduce costs for 

local governments. Accordingly, no additional funds would be 

required. 

Projected Impact on Employment. The proposed amendments 

do not appear to affect total employment. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. The proposed 

amendments do not appear to substantively affect the use and 

value of private property. The proposed amendments do not 

affect real estate development costs. 

Adverse Effect on Small Businesses3. The proposed 

amendments do not appear to adversely affect small 

businesses. 

________________________________ 

1"Locality" can refer to either local governments or the locations in the 

Commonwealth where the activities relevant to the regulatory change are most 

likely to occur. 

2§ 2.2-4007.04 defines "particularly affected" as bearing disproportionate 

material impact. 

3Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.04 of the Code of Virginia, small business is defined 

as "a business entity, including its affiliates, that (i) is independently owned 

and operated and (ii) employs fewer than 500 full-time employees or has gross 

annual sales of less than $6 million." 

Agency's Response to the Economic Impact Analysis: The 

agency concurs with the economic impact analysis completed 

by the Department of Planning and Budget. 

Summary: 

The amendments (i) increase the number of days a parent 

has to provide an excuse for an absence from three days to 

five days; (ii) remove the specific data collection 

requirements and state that data will be collected based on 

§ 22.1-258 of the Code of Virginia; and (iii) update the 

requirements for the post-absence conference to align with 

statute. 

8VAC20-730-10. Definitions. 

The following words and terms when used in this chapter 

shall have the following meanings unless the context clearly 

indicates otherwise: 

"Attendance conference" means a face-to-face meeting, or an 

interaction that is conducted through the use of communication 

technology, at a minimum, scheduled with the student, parent, 

and school personnel after the sixth unexcused seventh 

unexcused absence. The attendance conference shall be held 

no later than 10 school days after the 10th unexcused absence 

among school staff,. The attendance conference is held by a 

multi-disciplinary team and may include the parents, and 

student. The conference may include community 

representatives to participate in resolving issues related to 

nonattendance and revisions to the current attendance plan if 

necessary. 

"Attendance plan" means a plan developed jointly by a school 

representative, such as a school principal or his the principal's 

designee or attendance officer; parent; and student to resolve 

the student's nonattendance and engage the student in regular 

school attendance. The plan shall identify reasons for 

nonattendance and academic, social, emotional, and familial 

barriers that impede daily attendance along with positive 

strategies to address such reasons and impedances 

impediments and support regular attendance. This plan may 

include school-based activities or suggested referrals to 

community supports, or both. 

"Court referral" means filing a complaint to with the Juvenile 

and Domestic Relations Court after the student's seventh 

unexcused absence multi-disciplinary team has held an 

attendance conference and attempted interventions to address 

the student's continued nonattendance. Documentation of 

interventions regarding the student's unexcused absences, such 

as copies of the attendance plan and documentation of 

conference meetings, and compliance with § 22.1-258 of the 

Code of Virginia will be provided to the intake worker. 

"Excused absence" means an absence of an entire assigned 

instructional school day with a reason acceptable to the school 

administration that is provided by the parent. If circumstances 

permit, the parent should provide the school administration 

with the reason for the nonattendance prior to the absence. 

Examples of an excused absence may include, but are not 

limited to, the following reasons: funeral, illness (including 

mental health and substance abuse illnesses), injury, legal 

obligations, medical procedures, suspensions, religious 

observances, and military obligation. Expelled and suspended 

Suspended students continue to remain under the provisions of 

compulsory school attendance as described in § 22.1-254 of the 

Code of Virginia. An absence from school attendance resulting 

from a suspension or expulsion may shall be considered 

excused recorded in compliance with 8VAC20-730-30 for the 

period of the suspension or expulsion. 
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"Instructional school day" means the length of a regularly 

scheduled school day for an individual student. 

"Multi-disciplinary team" means a school-based conference 

team that may be convened to review student records and to 

participate in prevention, early intervention, and provision of 

support services to address unexcused absences, including 

school-based case management. These services should address 

academic, social, emotional, and familial issues in order to 

improve regular school attendance. Team members may 

include, but are not limited to, the following: an administrator, 

school counselor, social worker or psychologist, student 

assistance specialist, special education and regular general 

education teacher, and attendance officer, and community 

representatives. 

"Parent" means the parent or parents, guardian or guardians, 

legal custodian or legal custodians, or other person or persons 

having legal control or charge of the student. 

"Truancy" means the act of accruing one or more unexcused 

absences. 

"Unexcused absence" means an absence where (i) the student 

misses his scheduled instructional school day in its entirety and 

(ii) no indication has been received by school personnel within 

three five days of the absence that the student's parent is aware 

and supports the absence, or the parent provides a reason for 

the absence that is unacceptable to the school administration. 

The school administration may change an unexcused absence 

to an excused absence when it determines that the parent has 

provided an acceptable reason meeting criteria for the student's 

absence or there are extenuating circumstances. 

8VAC20-730-20. Unexcused absences intervention process 

and responsibilities. 

A. Each local school board shall provide guidance regarding 

what would constitute an excused absence in order to address 

when the explanation provided by the parent will be 

determined to be reasonable and acceptable. 

B. Each local school board shall develop procedures to ensure 

that appropriate interventions will be implemented when a 

student engages in a pattern of absences less than a full day, 

the explanation for which, if it were a full-day absence, would 

not be deemed an excused absence. 

C. The following intervention steps shall be implemented to 

respond to unexcused absences from school and to engage 

students in regular school attendance. 

1. Whenever a student fails to report to school on a regularly 

scheduled school day and no information has been received 

by school personnel that the student's parent is aware of and 

supports the absence, or the parent provides a reason for the 

absence that is unacceptable to the school administration, the 

school principal or designee, attendance officer, or other 

school personnel or volunteer will notify the parent by phone 

or email or any other electronic means to obtain an 

explanation. The school staff shall record the student's 

absence for each day as "excused" or "unexcused." Early 

intervention with the student and parent or parents shall take 

place for repeated unexcused absences. 

2. When a student has received five unexcused absences, the 

school principal or designee or the attendance officer shall 

make a reasonable effort to ensure that direct contact is made 

with the parent. The parent shall be contacted in a face-to-

face conference, by telephone, or through the use of other 

communication devices. During the direct contact with the 

parent and the student (if appropriate), reasons for 

nonattendance shall be documented and the consequences of 

nonattendance explained. An attendance plan shall be made 

with the student and parent or parents to resolve the 

nonattendance issues. The student and parent may be 

referred to a school-based multi-disciplinary team for 

assistance implementing the attendance plan and case 

management. 

3. The When the student accrues a seventh unexcused 

absence, the school principal or principal's designee or the 

attendance officer shall schedule a face-to-face attendance 

conference, or an interaction that is conducted through the 

use of communication technology, within 10 school days 

from the date of the student's sixth unexcused absence for 

the school year. The attendance conference must be held 

within 15 10 school days from the date of the sixth 

unexcused 10th unexcused absence. The principal or 

principal's designee shall make reasonable efforts to contact 

the student's parent or parents to attend the attendance 

conference either in person or via communication 

technology. If the principal or principal's designee, after 

reasonable efforts have been made, is unable to contact the 

student's parent, the conference shall be held regardless of 

whether the student's parent approves of the conference. The 

conference shall include the parent, student, principal or 

principal's designee and school personnel (which may be a 

representative or representatives from the multi-disciplinary 

team ) and may include community service providers. 

4. The multi-disciplinary team shall monitor the student's 

attendance and, as necessary, meet again to address concerns 

and plan additional interventions if the student's attendance 

does not improve. If additional meetings are necessary, the 

principal or principal's designee shall make reasonable 

efforts to contact the student's parent or parents and schedule 

a face-to-face meeting, or an interaction that is conducted 

through the use of communication technology. If the 

principal or principal's designee, after reasonable efforts 

have been made, is unable to contact the student's parent, the 

conference shall be held regardless of whether the student's 

parent approves of the conference. 

5. In circumstances in which the parent is intentionally 

noncompliant with compulsory attendance requirements or 

the student is resisting parental efforts to comply with 
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compulsory attendance requirements, the school principal or 

principal's designee shall notify make a referral to the 

attendance officer or division superintendent of the student's 

seventh unexcused absence for the school year. The 

attendance officer shall schedule a conference with the 

student and the student's parent or parents within 10 days of 

receiving the referral. The division superintendent or 

designee attendance officer shall contact the Juvenile and 

Domestic Relations Court intake to may (i) file a complaint 

with the juvenile and domestic relations district court 

alleging the student is a child in need of supervision 

(CHINSup) as defined in § 16.1-228 of the Code of Virginia 

or to (ii) institute proceedings against the parent pursuant to 

§ 18.2-371 or 22.1-262 of the Code of Virginia. In addition 

to written documentation of compliance the efforts to 

comply with the notice provisions of § 22.1-258 of the Code 

of Virginia, all records of intervention regarding the 

student's unexcused absences, such as copies of the 

conference meeting notes, attendance plan, and description 

of the supports offered or made available to the student shall 

be presented to the intake worker. 

D. A record shall be maintained of each meeting that includes 

the attendance plan, the name of individuals in attendance at 

each conference meeting (including via telephone or electronic 

devices), the location and date of the conference, a summary 

of what occurred, and follow-up steps. 

8VAC20-730-30. Data collection and reporting. 

Data collection shall begin on the first day students attend for 

the school year. Each school division shall provide student 

level attendance data for each student that includes the number 

of unexcused absences in a manner prescribed by the Virginia 

Department of Education. A student's attendance is cumulative 

and begins on the first official day of the school year or the first 

day the student is officially enrolled. All nonattendance days 

are cumulative and begin with the first absence. For purposes 

of this data collection, truancy shall start with the first 

unexcused absence and will be cumulative. Data shall be 

reported to the Virginia Department of Education pursuant to 

§ 22.1-258 of the Code of Virginia and 8VAC20-730-20. 

Excused and unexcused absences shall be counted for each 

individual student and shall be reported to the Virginia 

Department of Education as follows: 

1. All excused and unexcused absences as defined in this 

chapter for each individual student shall be collected.  

2. For each student with five unexcused absences, whether 

an attendance plan was developed, and if not, the reason.  

3. For each student with six unexcused absences, whether an 

attendance conference was scheduled, and if not, the reason.  

4. For each student with six unexcused absences, whether an 

attendance conference was actually held, and if not, the 

reason.  

5. For each student with seven unexcused absences, whether 

a court referral was made or if proceedings against the parent 

or parents were initiated and, if not, the reason. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R21-6016; Filed January 5, 2021, 4:04 p.m. 

  ––––––––––––––––––  

TITLE 9. ENVIRONMENT 

STATE WATER CONTROL BOARD 

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The State Water Control Board is 

claiming an exemption from the Administrative Process Act in 

accordance with § 2.2-4006 A 8 of the Code of Virginia, which 

exempts general permits issued by the State Water Control 

Board pursuant to the State Water Control Law (§ 62.1-44.2 et 

seq.) and Chapters 24 (§ 62.1-242 et seq.) and 25 (§ 62.1-254 

et seq.) of Title 62.1 of the Code of Virginia if the board (i) 

provides a Notice of Intended Regulatory Action in 

conformance with the provisions of § 2.2-4007.01 of the Code 

of Virginia; (ii) following the passage of 30 days from the 

publication of the Notice of Intended Regulatory Action, forms 

a technical advisory committee composed of relevant 

stakeholders, including potentially affected citizens groups, to 

assist in the development of the general permit; (iii) provides 

notice and receives oral and written comment as provided in 

§ 2.2-4007.03 of the Code of Virginia; and (iv) conducts at 

least one public hearing on the proposed general permit. The 

State Water Control Board will receive, consider, and respond 

to petitions by any interested person at any time with respect 

to reconsideration or revision. 

Title of Regulation: 9VAC25-110. Virginia Pollutant 

Discharge Elimination System (VPDES) General Permit 

for Domestic Sewage Discharges of Less Than or Equal to 

1,000 Gallons Per Day (amending 9VAC25-110-10, 

9VAC25-110-15, 9VAC25-110-20, 9VAC25-110-60, 

9VAC25-110-70, 9VAC25-110-80). 

Statutory Authority: § 62.1-44.15 of the Code of Virginia; 

§ 402 of the Clean Water Act; 40 CFR Parts 122, 123, and 124. 

Effective Date: August 2, 2021. 

Agency Contact: Peter Sherman, Department of 

Environmental Quality, 1111 East Main Street, Suite 1400, 

P.O. Box 1105, Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 698-

4044, FAX (804) 698-4032, or email 

peter.sherman@deq.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendments to the general permit include (i) clarifying 

the definition of "individual single family dwelling"; (ii) 

revising the term of the general permit to August 2, 2021, 

through July 31, 2026; (iii) requiring that the owner of an 

individual single family dwelling must submit a combined 

mailto:peter.sherman@deq.virginia.gov
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application; (iv) making certain language more generic so 

that dates do not have to be changed each reissuance; (v) 

adding language regarding continuation of permit coverage 

to address automatic renewal; (vi) adding latitude and 

longitude data requirement to the registration statement; 

(vii) adding State Corporation Commission entity 

identification data requirement to the registration statement 

for non-single-family homes (NSFHs); (viii) clarifying the 

Virginia Department of Health (VDH) notification and 

documentation necessary for the registration statement that 

an onsite system is not available; (ix) revising the discharge 

limits for E. coli and enterococci to reflect revised water 

quality standards that became effective October 21, 2019; 

(x) changing the operation and maintenance (O&M) 

requirements for NSFHs to be consistent with VDH 

requirements for single family homes to require NSFHs to 

engage a licensed operator, specify that persons who 

perform maintenance on discharging systems must hold a 

Class IV or higher wastewater work operator license or an 

alternative onsite sewage system operator license, require 

the licensed operator to visit the system two times per year, 

remove the requirement for NSFHs to have a maintenance 

contract, and remove the alternative for NSFHs to conduct 

O&M under an approved O&M plan; (xi) adding signature 

requirements for the combined application; (xii) adding 

conditional requirements for the electronic submission of 

registration statements; and (xiii) adding conditional 

requirements for the electronic submission of discharge 

monitoring reports. The general permit is being amended in 

order to reissue it. 

Chapter 110 

Virginia Pollutant Discharge Elimination System (VPDES) 

General Permit Regulation for Domestic Sewage Discharges 

of Less Than or Equal to 1,000 Gallons Per Day 

9VAC25-110-10. Definitions. 

The words and terms used in this chapter shall have the same 

meanings as given in the State Water Control Law, Chapter 3.1 

(§ 62.1-44.2 et seq.) of Title 62.1 of the Code of Virginia and 

the VPDES Permit Regulation (9VAC25-31), unless the 

context clearly indicates otherwise, except that for the purposes 

of this chapter: 

"7Q10" means the lowest flow averaged over a period of 

seven consecutive days that can be statistically expected to 

occur once every 10 years. 

"Board" or "State Water Control Board" means the Virginia 

State Water Control Board. 

"Combined application" means the Virginia Department of 

Health Discharging System Application for Single Family 

Dwellings Discharging Sewage Less Than or Equal to 1,000 

Gallons per Day and State Water Control Board Virginia 

Pollutant Discharge Elimination System General Permit 

Registration Statement for Domestic Sewage Discharges Less 

Than or Equal to 1,000 Gallons per Day. This application 

combines the VDH Alternative Discharging Sewage 

Treatment Regulations for Individual Single Family Dwellings 

(12VAC5-640) requirements with the board's registration 

statement requirements. 

"Department" or "DEQ" means the Virginia Department of 

Environmental Quality. 

"Domestic sewage" means the water-carried human wastes 

from residences, buildings, industrial establishments, or other 

places. 

"Individual single family dwelling" means a residence 

housing one family or household structure, including any 

accessory structure such as a garage or pool house, housing one 

family or household or one that is designed for one family only. 

When a treatment works serving an individual single family 

dwelling has additional unused connections, it remains a 

treatment works serving an individual single family dwelling 

until such time that an additional single family dwelling is 

connected to the treatment works. 

"Receiving water" means a creek, stream, river, lake, estuary, 

groundwater formation, or other body of water into which 

treated waste or untreated waste is discharged. 

"Total maximum daily load" or "TMDL" means a calculation 

of the maximum amount of a pollutant that a waterbody can 

receive and still meet water quality standards, and an allocation 

of that amount to the pollutant's sources. A TMDL includes 

wasteload allocations (WLAs) for point source discharges, and 

load allocations (LAs) for nonpoint sources or natural 

background or both, and must include a margin of safety 

(MOS) and account for seasonal variations. 

"VDH" means the Virginia Department of Health. 

9VAC25-110-15. Applicability of incorporated references 

based on the dates that they became effective. 

Except as noted, when a regulation of the U.S. Environmental 

Protection Agency set forth in Title 40 of the Code of Federal 

Regulations (CFR) is referenced and incorporated herein, that 

regulation shall be as it exists and has been published as of July 

1, 2015 2021. 

9VAC25-110-20. Purpose; delegation of authority; 

effective date of permit. 

A. This general permit regulation governs domestic sewage 

discharges to surface waters from treatment works with a 

design discharge flow of less than or equal to 1,000 gallons per 

day on a monthly average. 

B. The Director of the Department of Environmental Quality, 

or his designee, may perform any act of the board provided 

under this chapter, except as limited by § 62.1-44.14 of the 

Code of Virginia. 

C. This general VPDES permit will become effective on 

August 2, 2016 2021, and it expires on August 1, 2021 July 31, 
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2026. With respect to a particular dwelling, building, or site 

served, this general permit shall become effective upon the 

dwelling, building, or site served owner's compliance with the 

provisions of 9VAC25-110-60. 

9VAC25-110-60. Authorization to discharge. 

A. Any owner of a treatment works governed by this general 

permit is hereby authorized to discharge treated domestic 

sewage to surface waters of the Commonwealth of Virginia 

provided that: 

1. The owner submits a registration statement, if required to 

do so, in accordance with 9VAC25-110-70 and that 

registration statement is accepted by the board. For an 

individual single family dwelling, the owner may shall 

submit a combined application in place of a registration 

statement; 

2. The owner complies with the effluent limitations and 

other requirements of 9VAC25-110-80; and 

3. The board has not notified the owner, in accordance with 

subsection B of this section, that the discharge is not eligible 

for coverage under this permit. 

B. The board will notify an owner that the discharge is not 

eligible for coverage under this permit in the event of any of 

the following: 

1. The owner is required to obtain an individual VPDES 

permit in accordance with 9VAC25-31-170 B 3 of the 

VPDES Permit Regulation; 

2. The owner is proposing to discharge to surface waters 

specifically named in other board regulations that prohibit 

such discharges; 

3. The owner is proposing to discharge to surface waters in 

an area where there are central sewage facilities reasonably 

available, as determined by the board; 

4. The owner of any proposed treatment works or any 

treatment works that has not previously been issued a 

VPDES permit has applied to the Virginia Department of 

Health for an onsite sewage disposal system permit, and the 

Virginia Department of Health has determined that an onsite 

system is available to serve that parcel of land in accordance 

with the criteria in 12VAC5-640; 

5. The discharge would violate the antidegradation policy 

stated in 9VAC25-260-30 of the Virginia Water Quality 

Standards; or 

6. The discharge is not consistent with the assumptions and 

requirements of an approved TMDL. 

C. Compliance with this general permit constitutes 

compliance, for purposes of enforcement, with the federal 

Clean Water Act §§ 301, 302, 306, 307, 318, 403, and 405 (a) 

through (b), and the State Water Control Law, with the 

exceptions stated in 9VAC25-31-60 of the VPDES Permit 

Regulation. Approval for coverage under this general VPDES 

permit does not relieve any owner of the responsibility to 

comply with any other applicable federal, state or local statute, 

ordinance or regulation, including, for owners of sewage 

treatment works that serve individual single family dwellings, 

the Alternative Discharging Sewage Treatment Regulations for 

Individual Single Family Dwellings (12VAC5-640) of the 

Virginia Department of Health adopted pursuant to §§ 32.1-12, 

32.1-163, and 32.1-164 of the Code of Virginia and, for owners 

of sewage treatment works that serve buildings or dwellings 

other than individual single family dwellings, the Sewage 

Collection and Treatment Regulations (9VAC25-790) adopted 

by the State Water Control Board pursuant to § 62.1-44.19 of 

the Code of Virginia. 

D. Continuation of permit coverage. 

1. Any owner that was authorized to discharge under the 

domestic sewage discharges general permit issued in 2011 

and who is required to and submits a complete registration 

statement, or for an individual single family dwelling a 

combined application, on or before August 1, 2016, is 

authorized to continue to discharge treated domestic sewage 

under the terms of the 2011 general permit Permit coverage 

shall expire at the end of the applicable permit term. 

However, expiring permit coverages are continued if the 

owner has submitted a complete registration statement or, 

for an individual single family dwelling, a combined 

application, at least 60 days prior to the expiration date of 

the permit, or a later submittal date established by the board, 

which cannot extend beyond the expiration date of the 

permit. Where the expiring permit coverage was originally 

based on automatic renewal as found in 9VAC25-110-70 A 

2 b, such coverage is continued provided the owner 

continues to meet the automatic renewal criteria. The 

permittee is authorized to continue to discharge until such 

time as the board either: 

a. Issues coverage to the owner under this general permit; 

or 

b. Notifies the owner that the discharge is not eligible for 

coverage under this general permit. 

2. When the owner that was covered under the expiring or 

expired general permit has violated or is violating the 

conditions of that permit, the board may choose to do any or 

all of the following: 

a. Initiate enforcement action based upon the 2011 general 

permit coverage that has been continued; 

b. Issue a notice of intent to deny coverage under the 

reissued general permit. If the general permit coverage is 

denied, the owner would then be required to cease the 

discharges authorized by the administratively continued 

coverage under the terms of the 2011 general permit or be 

subject to enforcement action for operating without a 

permit; 

c. Issue an individual permit with appropriate conditions; or 
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d. Take other actions authorized by the VPDES Permit 

Regulation (9VAC25-31). 

9VAC25-110-70. Registration statement. 

A. Deadlines for submitting registration statement. Any 

owner seeking coverage under this general permit, and who is 

required to submit a registration statement, shall submit a 

complete VPDES general VPDES permit registration 

statement in accordance with this section, which shall serve as 

a notice of intent for coverage under the VPDES General 

VPDES Permit for Domestic Sewage Discharges of Less Than 

or Equal to 1,000 Gallons per Day. For an individual single 

family dwelling, the owner may shall submit a combined 

application in place of the registration statement. 

1. New treatment works. Any owner proposing a new 

discharge shall submit a complete registration statement, or 

for an individual single family dwelling a combined 

application, to the department at least 60 days prior to the 

date planned for commencing operation of the treatment 

works or a later submittal date established by the board. 

2. Existing treatment works. 

a. Any owner of an existing treatment works covered by 

an VPDES individual VPDES permit who is proposing to 

be covered by this general permit shall notify the 

department and submit a complete registration statement, 

or for an individual single family dwelling a combined 

application, at least 240 days prior to the expiration date 

of the individual VPDES permit or a later submittal date 

established by the board. 

b. Any owner of a treatment works that was authorized to 

discharge under the expiring general permit issued in 

2011, and who intends to continue coverage under this 

general permit, is automatically covered by this general 

permit and is not required to submit a registration 

statement, or for an individual single family dwelling a 

combined application, if: 

(1) The ownership of the treatment works has not changed 

since the registration statement or combined application 

for coverage under the 2011 expiring general permit was 

submitted, or, if the ownership has changed (i) a new 

registration statement or combined application or (ii) 

VPDES Change of Ownership form was submitted to the 

department by the new owner at the time of the title 

transfer; 

(2) There has been no change in the design or operation, 

or both, of the treatment works since the registration 

statement or combined application for coverage under the 

2011 expiring general permit was submitted; 

(3) For treatment works serving individual single family 

dwellings, VDH has no objection to the automatic permit 

coverage renewal for this treatment works based on 

system performance issues, enforcement issues, or other 

issues sufficient to the board. If VDH objects to the 

automatic renewal for this treatment works, the owner will 

be notified by the board in writing; and 

(4) For treatment works serving buildings or dwellings 

other than individual single family dwellings, the board 

has no objection to the automatic permit coverage renewal 

for this treatment works based on system performance 

issues, enforcement issues, or other issues sufficient to the 

board. If the board objects to the automatic renewal for 

this treatment works, the owner will be notified by the 

board in writing. 

c. Any owner of a treatment works that was authorized to 

discharge under the expiring general permit issued in 2011 

that does not qualify for automatic permit coverage 

renewal shall submit a complete registration statement, or 

for an individual single family dwelling a combined 

application, to the department on or before June 2, 2016 at 

least 60 days prior to the expiration of the existing general 

permit or a later submittal date established by the board. 

3. Late registration statements. Registration statements, or 

for individual single family dwellings combined 

applications, for existing treatment works [ not ] covered 

under subdivision 2 b of this subsection will be accepted 

after August 1, 2016, but authorization to discharge will not 

be retroactive. Owners described in subdivision 2 b of this 

subsection that submit registration statements or combined 

applications after June 2, 2016, are authorized to discharge 

under the provisions of 9VAC25-110-60 D if a complete 

registration statement, or combined application, is submitted 

before August 2, 2016 the expiration [ date of this permit of 

the existing general permit but authorization to discharge 

will not be retroactive ]. 

B. Registration statement. The registration statement shall 

contain the following information: 

1. a. Indicate if the building served by the treatment works is 

an individual single family dwelling. (If it is an individual 

single family dwelling, see the requirement to submit a 

combined application in 9VAC25-110-60 A 1.) If the 

building is not an individual single family dwelling, describe 

the use of the building or site served. 

b. Name and street address of the building or site served 

by the treatment works. 

2. a. Name, mailing address, email address (where 

available), and telephone number of the owner of the 

treatment works. Indicate if the owner is or will be the 

occupant of the dwelling or building served by the treatment 

works. 

b. If the owner is not or will not be the occupant of the 

dwelling or building, provide an alternate contact name, 

mailing address, email address (where available), and 

telephone number of the dwelling or building, if available. 



Regulations 

Volume 37, Issue 12  Virginia Register of Regulations  February 1, 2021 

1158 

3. Name of the water body receiving the discharge. Outfall 

latitude and longitude. Indicate if the discharge point is on a 

stream that usually flows during dry weather. 

4. The amount of discharge from the treatment works, in 

gallons per day, on a monthly average, and the design flow 

of the treatment works, in gallons per day. 

5. A description of any pollutants, other than domestic 

sewage, to be discharged. 

6. For a proposed treatment works, indicate if there are 

central sewage facilities available to serve the building or 

site. 

7. If the treatment works currently has a VPDES permit, 

provide the permit number. Indicate if the treatment works 

has been built and begun discharging. 

8. For the owner of any proposed treatment works or any 

treatment works that has not previously been issued a 

VPDES permit: 

a. A 7.5 minute U.S. Geological Survey (USGS) topographic 

map or equivalent (e.g., a computer generated map) that 

indicates the discharge point, the location of the property to 

be served by the treatment works, and the location of any 

wells, springs, other water bodies, and any residences within 

1/2 mile downstream from the discharge point; 

b. A site diagram of the existing or proposed treatment works; 

to include the property boundaries, the location of the 

dwelling, building, or site served, the individual sewage 

treatment units, the receiving water body, and the discharge 

line location; and 

c. A copy of the notification from the Virginia Department of 

Health that an onsite sewage disposal system permit has been 

was applied for and that the Virginia Department of Health 

has determined that there is no an onsite system available 

cannot be constructed to serve that parcel of land. 

9. Operation and maintenance. 

a. For the owner of a treatment works serving an 

individual single family dwelling, operation and 

maintenance requirements are specified in VDH 

regulations at 12VAC5-640-500 12VAC5-640; 

b. For the owner of a treatment works serving a building 

or dwelling other than an individual single family 

dwelling, indicate if a valid maintenance contract has been 

obtained, or if an exception to the maintenance contract 

requirement has been requested and granted in accordance 

with subdivision 10 of this subsection. Provide the name 

of the individual or company contracted to perform the 

treatment works maintenance and the expiration date of 

the current contract, if applicable. If the treatment works 

has not been constructed yet, provide the name after the 

certificate to construct (CTC) is issued, and prior to 

requesting a certificate to operate (CTO) operation and 

maintenance must be consistent with Part I D 2 b, which 

requires that such owners engage a licensed operator. 

10. The owner of a treatment works serving a building or 

dwelling other than an individual single family dwelling 

may request an exception to the maintenance contract 

requirement by submitting an operation and maintenance 

plan to the board for review and approval. If an operation 

and maintenance plan has been approved by the board 

previously and remains current and complete, then it does 

not need to be resubmitted. In such cases, the owner shall 

provide the date of approval of the operation and 

maintenance plan and identify any changes that have been 

made to the approved plan State Corporation Commission 

entity identification number for dwellings other than 

individual single family dwellings if the facility is required 

to obtain an entity identification number by law. 

11. The following certification: "I hereby grant to duly 

authorized agents of the Department of Environmental 

Quality, upon presentation of credentials, permission to 

enter the property where the treatment works is located for 

the purpose of determining compliance with or the 

suitability of coverage under the General Permit. I certify 

under penalty of law that this document and all attachments 

were prepared under my direction or supervision in 

accordance with a system designed to assure that qualified 

personnel properly gather and evaluate the information 

submitted. Based on my inquiry of the person or persons 

who manage the system or those persons directly responsible 

for gathering the information, the information submitted is 

to the best of my knowledge and belief true, accurate, and 

complete. I am aware that there are significant penalties for 

submitting false information including the possibility of fine 

and imprisonment for knowing violations." 

C. The registration statement or combined application shall 

be signed in accordance with 9VAC25-31-110 A of the 

VPDES Permit Regulation. 

D. The registration statement may be or combined application 

shall be delivered to the department department's regional 

office serving the area where the treatment facility is located 

by either postal or electronic mail and shall be submitted to the 

DEQ regional office serving the area where the treatment 

works is located. Following notification from the department 

of the start date for the required electronic submission of 

Notices of Intent to discharge forms (i.e., registration 

statements or combined applications), as provided for in 

9VAC25-31-1020, such forms submitted after that date shall 

be electronically submitted to the department in compliance 

with this section and 9VAC25-31-1020. There shall be at least 

three months' notice provided between the notification from 

the department and the date after which such forms must be 

submitted electronically. 

9VAC25-110-80. General permit. 

Any owner whose registration statement is accepted by the 

board, or whose permit coverage is automatically renewed, 
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shall comply with the requirements contained herein and be 

subject to all requirements of 9VAC25-31-170. 

General Permit No.: VAG40  

Effective Date: August 2, 2016 2021  

Expiration Date: August 1 July 31, 2021 2026 

GENERAL PERMIT FOR DOMESTIC SEWAGE 

DISCHARGES OF LESS THAN OR EQUAL TO 1,000 

GALLONS PER DAY 

AUTHORIZATION TO DISCHARGE UNDER THE 

VIRGINIA POLLUTANT DISCHARGE ELIMINATION 

SYSTEM AND THE VIRGINIA STATE WATER 

CONTROL LAW 

In compliance with the provisions of the Clean Water Act (33 

USC § 1251 et seq.), as amended, and pursuant to the State 

Water Control Law and regulations adopted pursuant thereto, 

owners of treatment works with domestic sewage discharges 

of a design flow of less than or equal to 1,000 gallons per day 

on a monthly average are authorized to discharge to surface 

waters within the boundaries of the Commonwealth of 

Virginia, except those waters specifically named in board 

regulations that prohibit such discharges. 

The authorized discharge shall be in accordance with the 

information submitted with the registration statement or 

combined application, this cover page, Part I-Effluent 

Limitations, Monitoring Requirements and Special 

Conditions, and Part II-Conditions Applicable to All VPDES 

Permits, as set forth herein. 

Part I  

Effluent Limitations, Monitoring Requirements and Special Conditions 

A. Effluent limitations and monitoring requirements - receiving waters where the 7Q10 flows are less than 0.2 MGD. 

1. During the period beginning with the permit's effective date and lasting until the permit's expiration date, the permittee is 

authorized to discharge from outfall number 001 to receiving waters where the 7Q10 flows are less than 0.2 MGD. 

The discharge shall be limited and monitored by the permittee as specified below in the following table:  

EFFLUENT CHARACTERISTICS 

DISCHARGE LIMITATIONS 
MONITORING 

REQUIREMENTS 
 

Instantaneous 

Minimum 

Instantaneous 

Maximum 
Frequency Sample Type 

 

Flow (MGD)(1) NA NL 1/year Estimate 
 

BOD5 NA 30 mg/l 1/year Grab 
 

Total Suspended Solids NA 30 mg/l 1/year Grab 
 

Total Residual Chlorine(2) 

    

 

After contact tank 1.0 mg/l NA 1/year Grab 
 

Final effluent NA 0.016 mg/l(6) 1/year Grab 
 

E. coli(3) NA 235 126 CFU/100 ml 1/year Grab 
 

enterococci(4) NA 104 35 CFU/100 ml 1/year Grab 
 

Fecal Coliform Bacteria(5) NA 200 CFU/100 ml 1/year Grab 
 

pH (standard units) 6.0 9.0 1/year Grab 
 

Dissolved Oxygen 5.0 mg/l(6) NA 1/year Grab 
 

NL = No Limitation, monitoring required 

NA = Not Applicable 

 

 
(1)The design flow of this treatment works is less than or equal to 1,000 gallons per day. 

 
(2)Applies only when chlorine is used for disinfection and the discharge is into freshwater (see 9VAC25-260-140 C for the 

classes of waters and boundary designations). 
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(3)Applies only when methods other than chlorine are used for disinfection and the discharge is into freshwater (see 

9VAC25-260-140 C for the classes of waters and boundary designations). When the treatment works is discharging, 

continuous disinfection shall be provided in order to maintain this effluent limit. 
 

(4)Applies only when the discharge is into saltwater or the transition zone (see 9VAC25-260-140 C for the classes of waters 

and boundary designations). When the treatment works is discharging, continuous disinfection shall be provided in order to 

maintain this effluent limit. 
 

(5)Applies only when the discharge is into shellfish waters (see 9VAC25-260-160 for the description of what are shellfish 

waters). When the treatment works is discharging, continuous disinfection shall be provided in order to maintain this effluent 

limit. 
 

(6)Does not apply when the receiving stream is an ephemeral stream. "Ephemeral streams" are drainage ways, ditches, 

hollows, or swales that contain only (i) flowing water during or immediately following periods of rainfall or (ii) water 

supplied by the discharger. These waterways would normally have no active aquatic community. 

2. All monitoring data required by Part I A 1 shall be maintained on site in accordance with Part II B. Monitoring results for 

treatment works serving buildings or dwellings other than individual single family dwellings shall be submitted to the 

department on a Discharge Monitoring Report (DMR) no later than the 10th of September following the monitoring period. 

The monitoring period is September 1 through August 31. A copy of the maintenance log required by Part I D 2 b (4) (2) (e) 

shall also be submitted with the DMR. Monitoring results for treatment works serving individual single family dwellings are 

submitted to the Virginia Department of Health in accordance with 12VAC5-640. 

3. The 30-day average percent removal for BOD5 and total suspended solids shall not be less than 85%. 

B. Effluent limitations and monitoring requirements - receiving waters where the 7Q10 flows are equal to or greater than 0.2 

MGD. 

1. During the period beginning with the permit's effective date and lasting until the permit's expiration date, the permittee is 

authorized to discharge from outfall number 001 to receiving waters where the 7Q10 flows are equal to or greater than 0.2 

MGD. 

The discharge shall be limited and monitored by the permittee as specified below in the following table:  

EFFLUENT CHARACTERISTICS 

DISCHARGE LIMITATIONS 
MONITORING 

REQUIREMENTS 
 

Instantaneous 

Minimum 

Instantaneous 

Maximum 
Frequency Sample Type 

 

Flow (MGD)(1) NA NL 1/year Estimate 
 

BOD5 NA 30 mg/l 1/year Grab 
 

Total Suspended Solids NA 30 mg/l 1/year Grab 
 

Total Residual Chlorine(2) 

    

 

After contact tank 1.0 mg/l NA 1/year Grab 
 

Final effluent NA 2.0 mg/l 1/year Grab 
 

E. coli(3) NA 235 126 CFU/100 ml 1/year Grab 
 

enterococci(4) NA 104 35 CFU/100 ml 1/year Grab 
 

Fecal Coliform Bacteria(5) NA 200 CFU/100 ml 1/year Grab 
 

pH (standard units) 6.0 9.0 1/year Grab 
 

NL = No Limitation, monitoring required 

NA = Not Applicable 
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(1)The design flow of this treatment works is less than or equal to 1,000 gallons per day. 

 
(2)Applies only when chlorine is used for disinfection and the discharge is into freshwater (see 9VAC25-260-140 C for the 

classes of waters and boundary designations). 
 

(3)Applies only when methods other than chlorine are used for disinfection and the discharge is into freshwater (see 

9VAC25-260-140 C for the classes of waters and boundary designations). When the treatment works is discharging, 

continuous disinfection shall be provided in order to maintain this effluent limit. 
 

(4)Applies only when the discharge is into saltwater or the transition zone (see 9VAC25-260-140 C for the classes of waters 

and boundary designations). When the treatment works is discharging, continuous disinfection shall be provided in order to 

maintain this effluent limit. 
 

(5)Applies only when the discharge is into shellfish waters (see 9VAC25-260-160 for the description of what are shellfish 

waters). When the treatment works is discharging, continuous disinfection shall be provided in order to maintain this effluent 

limit. 

2. All monitoring data required by Part I B 1 shall be maintained on site in accordance with Part II B. Monitoring results for 

treatment works serving buildings or dwellings other than individual single family dwellings shall be submitted to the 

department on a Discharge Monitoring Report (DMR) no later than the 10th of September following the monitoring period. 

The monitoring period is September 1 through August 31. A copy of the maintenance log required by Part I D 2 b (4) (2) (e) 

shall also be submitted with the DMR. Monitoring results for treatment works serving individual single family dwellings are 

submitted to the Virginia Department of Health in accordance with 12VAC5-640. 

3. The 30-day average percent removal for BOD5 and total suspended solids shall not be less than 85%. 

C. Effluent limitations and monitoring requirements - discharges to receiving waters subject to the Policy for the Potomac River 

Embayments (9VAC25-415). 

1. During the period beginning with the permit's effective date and lasting until the permit's expiration date, the permittee is 

authorized to discharge from outfall number 001 to receiving waters subject to the Policy for the Potomac River Embayments 

(9VAC25-415). 

The discharge Discharges subject to the requirements in 9VAC25-415-40(1) shall be limited and monitored by the permittee as 

specified below in the following table:  

EFFLUENT CHARACTERISTICS 

DISCHARGE LIMITATIONS 
MONITORING 

REQUIREMENTS 
 

Instantaneous 

Minimum 

Instantaneous 

Maximum 
Frequency Sample Type 

 

Flow (MGD)(1) (2) NA NL 1/3 months Estimate 
 

pH (standard units) 6.0 9.0 1/3 months Grab 
 

cBOD5 NA 5 mg/l 1/3 months Grab 
 

Total Suspended Solids NA 6.0 mg/l 1/3 months Grab 
 

Ammonia as N 

(Apr 1 - Oct 31) 

NA 1.0 mg/l 1/3 months Grab 

 

Ammonia as N 

(Nov 1 - Mar 31) 

NA 3.1 mg/l 1/3 months Grab 

 

Dissolved Oxygen 6.0 mg/l NA 1/3 months Grab 
 

E. coli(3) (4) NA 235 126 CFU/100 ml 1/3 months Grab 
 

enterococci(4) (5) NA 104 35 CFU/100 ml 1/3 months Grab 
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Total Phosphorus NA 0.18 mg/l 1/3 months Grab 
 

Total Residual Chlorine(2) (3) 

    

 

After contact tank 1.0 mg/l NA 1/3 months Grab 
 

Final effluent NA 0.016 mg/l 1/3 months Grab 
 

NL = No Limitation, monitoring required 

NA = Not Applicable 

 

 
(1)Note conditional exemptions in 9VAC25-415-30. 
(1) (2)The design flow of this treatment works is less than or equal to 1,000 gallons per day. 

 
(2) (3)Applies only when chlorine is used for disinfection and the discharge is into freshwater (see 9VAC25-260-140 C for the 

classes of waters and boundary designations). 
 

(3) (4)Applies only when methods other than chlorine are used for disinfection and the discharge is into freshwater (see 

9VAC25-260-140 C for the classes of waters and boundary designations). When the treatment works is discharging, 

continuous disinfection shall be provided in order to maintain this effluent limit. 
 

(4) (5)Applies only when the discharge is into saltwater or the transition zone (see 9VAC25-260-140 C for the classes of 

waters and boundary designations). When the treatment works is discharging, continuous disinfection shall be provided in 

order to maintain this effluent limit. 

2. All monitoring data required by Part I C 1 shall be 

maintained on site in accordance with Part II B. Monitoring 

results shall be submitted to the department on a Discharge 

Monitoring Report (DMR) no later than the 10th day of the 

month following the monitoring period. The quarterly 

monitoring periods shall be January through March, April 

through June, July through September, and October through 

December. A copy of the maintenance log required by Part 

I D 2 b (4) (2) (e) shall also be submitted with the DMR. 

Monitoring results for treatment works serving individual 

single family dwellings shall also be submitted to the 

Virginia Department of Health in accordance with 12VAC5-

640. 

3. The 30-day average percent removal for BOD5 and total 

suspended solids shall not be less than 85%. 

D. Special conditions. 

1. There shall be no discharge of floating solids or visible 

foam in other than trace amounts. 

2. Operation and maintenance. 

a. Treatment works serving individual single family 

dwellings. Operation and maintenance requirements for 

treatment works serving individual single family 

dwellings are specified in the Virginia Department of 

Health regulations at 12VAC5-640-500 12VAC5-640. 

b. Treatment works serving buildings or dwellings other 

than individual single family dwellings. 

(1) For existing treatment works, the permittee shall keep 

a maintenance contract in force during the permit term, 

unless an exception to the maintenance contract 

requirement has been requested and granted in accordance 

with Part I D 3. A copy of the maintenance contract, if 

applicable, shall be kept at the site of the treatment works 

and made available to DEQ for examination upon request 

To ensure the treatment works is operated, maintained, 

monitored, and reported properly, the permittee shall 

engage a licensed operator as defined in subdivision D 3 

of this section. 

(2) For proposed treatment works, the permittee shall 

submit a certification that the permittee has a valid 

maintenance contract to DEQ prior to operation of the 

treatment works, unless an exception to the maintenance 

contract requirement has been requested and granted in 

accordance with Part I D 3. A maintenance contract shall 

be kept in force during the permit term. A copy of the 

maintenance contract shall be kept at the site of the 

treatment works, and shall be made available to DEQ for 

examination upon request. The permittee shall: 

(a) Have the system operated and maintained by a licensed 

operator, including the responsibilities specified in Part I 

D 2 b (3); 

(b) Have a licensed operator visit the system at least 

semiannually; 

(c) Have a licensed operator collect, analyze, and submit 

to the department any samples required under Part I A, 

Part I B, or Part I C, as appropriate, of this general permit; 

(d) Provide prompt maintenance and repair of the 

treatment works once notified by the operator that repair 

or maintenance is necessary. The owner is responsible for 

all costs associated with the maintenance or repair. 
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Immediately upon receipt of notice that repair or 

maintenance is required, the owner shall begin emergency 

pump and haul of all sewage generated from the building 

or dwelling or otherwise ensure that no discharge occurs 

if full and complete repairs cannot be accomplished within 

48 hours; 

(e) Maintain a copy of the log provided by the operator on 

the property where the system is located in electronic or 

hard copy form, make the log available to the department 

upon request, and make a reasonable effort to transfer the 

log to any future owner; 

(f) Follow the treatment works operation and maintenance 

(O&M) manual (where available) and keep a copy of the 

O&M manual in electronic or hard copy form on the 

property where the system is located, make the O&M 

manual available to the department upon request, and 

make a reasonable effort to transfer the O&M manual to 

any future owner; 

(3) At a minimum, the maintenance contract shall provide 

for the following The licensed operator has the following 

responsibilities: 

(a) Performance of Perform all testing monitoring required 

in accordance with either Part I A, Part I B, or Part I C, as 

appropriate, and periodic (at least annual) semiannually) 

inspections of the treatment works. Note: Discharges from 

the treatment works should to the maximum extent 

feasible be sampled during normal discharging operations 

or normal discharging conditions (i.e., operations that are 

normal for that treatment works). The owner or 

maintenance provider should not force a discharge in order 

to collect a sample; 

(b) During visits required by this subsection, fulfill the 

operator responsibilities specified in this subsection 

through observing the system and through laboratory or 

field tests required by this permit or that the operator 

deems appropriate. In performing a required visit, the 

operator is responsible for the entire system and, where 

applicable, shall follow the O&M manual; 

(b) A (c) Provide a written or electronic notification to the 

owner within 24 hours whenever the contract provider 

operator becomes aware that maintenance or repair of the 

owner's treatment works is necessary. The owner is 

responsible for prompt maintenance and repair of the 

treatment works including all costs associated with the 

maintenance or repair. Immediately upon receipt of notice 

that repair or maintenance is required, the owner shall 

begin emergency pump and haul of all sewage generated 

from the building or dwelling or otherwise ensure that no 

discharge occurs if full and complete repairs cannot be 

accomplished within 48 hours; 

(c) A log of the following items shall be maintained at the 

treatment works by the contract provider: (d) Report 

monitoring results to DEQ as required in Part I A 2, Part I 

B 2, and Part I C 2, as applicable, as well as Part II C, and 

maintain at the treatment works and provide to the 

permittee a log of the following items:  

(i) Results of all tests and sampling. Note: If sampling is 

attempted, but no sample was taken or possible, the log 

shall show all sampling attempts and document and 

explain why no sample was taken or possible; 

(ii) Alarm activation incidents, including the date and time 

of equipment failure and return to service; 

(iii) Maintenance, corrective, including the date and 

amount of disinfection chemicals added to the chlorinator, 

the date and amount of dechlorination chemicals added if 

applicable, the date and approximate volume of sludge 

removed, and date receipts for chemicals and equipment 

purchased and maintenance performed; 

(iv) Corrective or repair activities performed; 

(iv) (v) Recommended repair or replacement items; and 

(v) (vi) Copies of all reports prepared by the contract 

provider operator; and 

(d) An (vii) Sludge or solids removal; and 

(e) Conduct an inspection shall be conducted by the 

contract provider within 48 hours after notification by the 

owner that a problem may be occurring. 

(4) The permittee shall keep a log of all maintenance 

performed on the treatment works including, but not 

limited to, the following:  

(a) The date and amount of disinfection chemicals added 

to the chlorinator. 

(b) If dechlorination is used, the date and amount of any 

dechlorination chemicals that are added. 

(c) The date and time of equipment failure and the date 

and time the equipment was restored to service.  

(d) The date and approximate volume of sludge removed. 

(e) Dated receipts for chemicals purchased, equipment 

purchased, and maintenance performed. 

3. Operation and maintenance plan. The owner of any 

treatment works serving a building or dwelling other than an 

individual single family dwelling may request an exception 

to the maintenance contract requirement by submitting an 

operation and maintenance plan to the board for review and 

approval. At a minimum, the operation and maintenance 

plan shall contain the following information:  

a. An up-to-date operation and maintenance manual for 

the treatment works;  

b. A log of all maintenance performed on the treatment 

works including, but not limited to, the following:  

(1) The date and amount of disinfection chemicals added 

to the chlorinator (if applicable). 

(2) If dechlorination is used, the date and amount of any 

dechlorination chemicals that are added. 
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(3) The date and time of equipment failure and the date 

and time the equipment was restored to service.  

(4) The date and approximate volume of sludge removed. 

(5) Results of all tests and sampling. Note: If sampling is 

attempted, but no sample was taken or possible, the log 

shall show all sampling attempts and document and 

explain why no sample was taken or possible;  

c. Dated receipts for chemicals purchased, equipment 

purchased, and maintenance performed; and  

d. An effluent monitoring plan to conform with the 

requirements of Part I A, Part I B, or Part I C, as 

appropriate, including all sample collection, preservation, 

and analysis procedures. Note: Discharges from the 

treatment works should be sampled during normal 

discharging operations or normal discharging conditions 

(i.e., operations that are normal for that treatment works). 

The owner or maintenance provider should not force a 

discharge in order to collect a sample. 

Should the permittee fail to implement the approved 

operation and maintenance plan, or if there are violations of 

effluent limitations, the board reserves the right to require 

the permittee to obtain a maintenance contract.  

3. All individuals who perform maintenance on discharging 

systems pursuant to this general permit are required to hold 

a valid Class IV or higher wastewater works operator license 

or an alternative onsite sewage system operator license 

issued by the Board for Waterworks and Wastewater Works 

Operators and Onsite Sewage System Professionals. For 

purposes of this general permit, this requirement is satisfied 

where an individual is directly supervised by and under the 

direction of a licensed operator who remains responsible for 

such maintenance. 

4. Compliance recordkeeping under Part I A, Part I B, and 

Part I C. 

a. The quantification levels (QL) shall be less than or equal 

to the following concentrations: 

Effluent Parameter Quantification Level 

BOD5 2 mg/l 

cBOD5 2 mg/l 

Ammonia as N 0.20 mg/l 

Total Phosphorus 0.10 mg/l 

TSS 1.0 mg/l 

Chlorine 0.10 mg/l 

The QL is defined as the lowest concentration used to 

calibrate a measurement system in accordance with the 

procedures published for the test method. 

b. Recording results. Any concentration data below the QL 

used in the analysis shall be recorded as "<QL" if it is less 

than the QL in subdivision 4 a of this subsection. 

Otherwise the numerical value shall be recorded. 

c. Monitoring results shall be recorded using the same 

number of significant digits as listed in the permit. 

Regardless of the rounding convention used by the 

permittee (e.g., 5 always rounding up or to the nearest 

even number), the permittee shall use the convention 

consistently, and shall ensure that consulting laboratories 

employed by the permittee use the same convention. 

5. The discharges authorized by this permit shall be 

controlled as necessary to meet water quality standards. 

Part II  

Conditions Applicable to All VPDES Permits 

A. Monitoring. 

1. Samples and measurements taken as required by this 

permit shall be representative of the monitored activity. 

2. Monitoring shall be conducted according to procedures 

approved under 40 CFR Part 136 or alternative methods 

approved by the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency, 

unless other procedures have been specified in this permit. 

3. The permittee shall periodically calibrate and perform 

maintenance procedures on all monitoring and analytical 

instrumentation at intervals that will ensure accuracy of 

measurements. 

4. Samples taken as required by this permit shall be analyzed 

in accordance with 1VAC30-45 (Certification for 

Noncommercial Environmental Laboratories) or 1VAC30-

46 (Accreditation for Commercial Environmental 

Laboratories). 

B. Records. 

1. Records of monitoring information shall include: 

a. The date, exact place, and time of sampling or 

measurements; 

b. The individual(s) individuals who performed the 

sampling or measurements; 

c. The date(s) dates and time(s) times analyses were 

performed; 

d. The individual(s) individuals who performed the 

analyses; 

e. The analytical techniques or methods used; and 

f. The results of such analyses. 

2. Except for records of monitoring information required by 

this permit related to the permittee's sewage sludge use and 

disposal activities, which shall be retained for a period of at 

least five years, the permittee shall retain records of all 

monitoring information, including all calibration and 
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maintenance records and all original strip chart recordings 

for continuous monitoring instrumentation, copies of all 

reports required by this permit, and records of all data used 

to complete the registration statement for this permit, for a 

period of at least three years from the date of the sample, 

measurement, report, or request for coverage. This period of 

retention shall be extended automatically during the course 

of any unresolved litigation regarding the regulated activity 

or regarding control standards applicable to the permittee, or 

as requested by the board. 

C. Reporting monitoring results. Monitoring results under 

this permit are not required to be submitted to the department 

must be submitted consistent with the requirements in Part I A 

2, Part I B 2, and Part I C 2, as applicable. However, should the 

board request that the permittee submit monitoring results, the 

following subsections would apply. 

1. The permittee shall submit the results of the monitoring 

required by this permit not later than the 10th day of the 

month after monitoring takes place, unless another reporting 

schedule is specified elsewhere in this permit. Monitoring 

results shall be submitted to the department's regional office. 

2. 1. Monitoring results submitted to the department shall be 

reported on a Discharge Monitoring Report (DMR) or on 

forms provided, approved or specified by the department. 

Following notification from the department of the start date 

for the required electronic submission of monitoring reports, 

as provided for in 9VAC25-31-1020, such forms and reports 

submitted after that date shall be electronically submitted to 

the department in compliance with this section and 

9VAC25-31-1020. There shall be at least three months' 

notice provided between the notification from the 

department and the date after which such forms and reports 

must be submitted electronically. 

3. 2. If the permittee monitors any pollutant specifically 

addressed by this permit more frequently than required by 

this permit using test procedures approved under 40 CFR 

Part 136 or using other test procedures approved by the U.S. 

Environmental Protection Agency or using procedures 

specified in this permit, the results of this monitoring shall 

be included in the calculation and reporting of the data 

submitted on the DMR or reporting form specified by the 

department. 

4. 3. Calculations for all limitations that require averaging of 

measurements shall utilize an arithmetic mean unless 

otherwise specified in this permit. 

D. Duty to provide information. The permittee shall furnish 

to the department, within a reasonable time, any information 

that the board may request to determine whether cause exists 

for modifying, revoking and reissuing, or terminating coverage 

under this permit or to determine compliance with this permit. 

The board may require the permittee to furnish, upon request, 

such plans, specifications, and other pertinent information as 

may be necessary to determine the effect of the wastes from 

the discharge on the quality of state waters, or such other 

information as may be necessary to accomplish the purposes of 

the State Water Control Law. The permittee shall also furnish 

to the department, upon request, copies of records required to 

be kept by this permit. 

E. Compliance schedule reports. Reports of compliance or 

noncompliance with, or any progress reports on, interim and 

final requirements contained in any compliance schedule of 

this permit shall be submitted no later than 14 days following 

each schedule date. 

F. Unauthorized discharges. Except in compliance with this 

permit, or another permit issued by the board, it shall be 

unlawful for any person to: 

1. Discharge into state waters sewage, industrial wastes, 

other wastes, or any noxious or deleterious substances; or 

2. Otherwise alter the physical, chemical or biological 

properties of such state waters and make them detrimental to 

the public health, to animal or aquatic life, to the use of such 

waters for domestic or industrial consumption, for 

recreation, or for other uses. 

G. Reports of unauthorized discharges. Any permittee who 

that discharges or causes or allows a discharge of sewage, 

industrial waste, other wastes or any noxious or deleterious 

substance into or upon state waters in violation of Part II F, or 

who that discharges or causes or allows a discharge that may 

reasonably be expected to enter state waters in violation of Part 

II F, shall notify the department of the discharge immediately 

upon discovery of the discharge, but in no case later than 24 

hours after said discovery. A written report of the unauthorized 

discharge shall be submitted to the department within five days 

of discovery of the discharge. The written report shall contain: 

1. A description of the nature and location of the discharge; 

2. The cause of the discharge; 

3. The date on which the discharge occurred; 

4. The length of time that the discharge continued; 

5. The volume of the discharge; 

6. If the discharge is continuing, how long it is expected to 

continue; 

7. If the discharge is continuing, what the expected total 

volume of the discharge will be; and 

8. Any steps planned or taken to reduce, eliminate, and 

prevent a recurrence of the present discharge or any future 

discharges not authorized by this permit. 

Discharges reportable to the department under the immediate 

reporting requirements of other regulations are exempted from 

this requirement. 
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H. Reports of unusual or extraordinary discharges. If any 

unusual or extraordinary discharge including a bypass or upset 

should occur from a treatment works and the discharge enters 

or could be expected to enter state waters, the permittee shall 

promptly notify, in no case later than 24 hours, the department 

by telephone after the discovery of the discharge. This 

notification shall provide all available details of the incident, 

including any adverse effects on aquatic life and the known 

number of fish killed. The permittee shall reduce the report to 

writing and shall submit it to the department within five days 

of discovery of the discharge in accordance with Part II I 2. 

Unusual and extraordinary discharges include, but are not 

limited to, any discharge resulting from: 

1. Unusual spillage of materials resulting directly or 

indirectly from processing operations; 

2. Breakdown of processing or accessory equipment; 

3. Failure or taking out of service some or all of the treatment 

works; and 

4. Flooding or other acts of nature. 

I. Reports of noncompliance. 

1. The permittee shall report any noncompliance that may 

adversely affect state waters or may endanger public health. 

1. a. An oral report shall be provided within 24 hours from 

the time the permittee becomes aware of the 

circumstances. The following shall be included as 

information that shall be reported within 24 hours under 

this [ paragraph subdivision ]: 

a. (1) Any unanticipated bypass; and 

b. (2) Any upset that causes a discharge to surface waters. 

2. b. A written report shall be submitted within five days 

and shall contain: 

a. (1) A description of the noncompliance and its cause; 

b. (2) The period of noncompliance, including exact dates 

and times, and if the noncompliance has not been 

corrected, the anticipated time it is expected to continue; 

and 

c. (3) Steps taken or planned to reduce, eliminate, and 

prevent reoccurrence of the noncompliance. 

The board may waive the written report on a case-by-case 

basis for reports of noncompliance under Part II I if the 

oral report has been received within 24 hours and no 

adverse impact on state waters has been reported. 

3. 2. The permittee shall report all instances of 

noncompliance not reported under Part II I 1 [ or 2 ], in 

writing, at the time the next monitoring reports are 

submitted. The reports shall contain the information listed in 

Part II I [ 2 1 ]. 

3. [ The immediate (within 24 hours) reports required in Part 

II G, H, and I may be made to the department's regional 

office. Reports may be made by telephone, FAX, or online 

at http://www.deq.virginia.gov/Programs/Pollution 

ResponsePreparedness/MakingaReport.aspx. For reports 

outside normal working hours, a message may be left and 

this shall fulfill the immediate reporting requirement. For 

emergencies, the Virginia Department of Emergency 

Management maintains a 24-hour telephone service at 1-

800-468-8892. 

4. ] Where the permittee becomes aware that it failed to 

submit any relevant facts in a permit registration statement 

or submitted incorrect information in a permit registration 

statement or in any report to the department, it shall 

promptly submit such facts or information. 

[ NOTE: The immediate (within 24 hours) reports required 

in Parts II G, H and I may be made to the department's 

regional office. Reports may be made by telephone, FAX, or 

online at 

http://www.deq.virginia.gov/Programs/PollutionResponseP

reparedness/MakingaReport.aspx. For reports outside 

normal working hours, a message may be left and this shall 

fulfill the immediate reporting requirement. For 

emergencies, the Virginia Department of Emergency 

Management maintains a 24-hour telephone service at 1-

800-468-8892. ] 

J. Notice of planned changes 

1. The permittee shall give notice to the department as soon 

as possible of any planned physical alterations or additions 

to the permitted facility. Notice is required only when: 

a. The permittee plans alteration or addition to any 

building, structure, facility, or installation from which 

there is or may be a discharge of pollutants, the 

construction of which commenced: 

(1) After promulgation of standards of performance under 

§ 306 of the Clean Water Act (33 USC § 1251 et seq.) that 

are applicable to such source; or 

(2) After proposal of standards of performance in 

accordance with § 306 of the Clean Water Act that are 

applicable to such source, but only if the standards are 

promulgated in accordance with § 306 within 120 days of 

their proposal; 

b. The alteration or addition could significantly change the 

nature or increase the quantity of pollutants discharged. 

This notification applies to pollutants that are subject 

neither to effluent limitations nor to notification 

requirements specified elsewhere in this permit; or 

c. The alteration or addition results in a significant change 

in the permittee's sludge use or disposal practices, and 

such alteration, addition, or change may justify the 

application of permit conditions that are different from or 

absent in the existing permit, including notification of 

additional use or of disposal sites not reported during the 
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permit application process or not reported pursuant to an 

approved land application plan. 

2. The permittee shall give advance notice to the department 

of any planned changes in the permitted facility or activity 

that may result in noncompliance with permit requirements. 

K. Signatory requirements. 

1. Registration statement. All registration statements shall be 

signed as follows: 

a. For a corporation: by a responsible corporate officer. 

For the purpose of this section, a responsible corporate 

officer means: (i) a president, secretary, treasurer, or vice-

president of the corporation in charge of a principal 

business function, or any other person who performs 

similar policy-making or decision-making functions for 

the corporation,; or (ii) the manager of one or more 

manufacturing, production, or operating facilities, 

provided the manager is authorized to make management 

decisions which govern the operation of the regulated 

facility including having the explicit or implicit duty of 

making major capital investment recommendations, and 

initiating and directing other comprehensive measures to 

assure long term environmental compliance with 

environmental laws and regulations; the manager can 

ensure that the necessary systems are established or other 

actions taken to gather complete and accurate information 

for permit registration requirements; and where authority 

to sign documents has been assigned or delegated to the 

manager in accordance with corporate procedures; 

b. For a partnership or sole proprietorship: by a general 

partner or the proprietor, respectively; or 

c. For a municipality, state, federal, or other public 

agency: by either a principal executive officer or ranking 

elected official. For purposes of this section, a principal 

executive officer of a public agency includes: (i) the chief 

executive officer of the agency or (ii) a senior executive 

officer having responsibility for the overall operations of 

a principal geographic unit of the agency. 

2. Reports, etc. All reports required by permits and other 

information requested by the board shall be signed by a 

person described in Part II K 1 or by a duly authorized 

representative of that person. A person is a duly authorized 

representative only if: 

a. The authorization is made in writing by a person 

described in Part II K 1; 

b. The authorization specifies either an individual or a 

position having responsibility for the overall operation of 

the regulated facility or activity such as the position of 

plant manager, operator of a well or a well field, 

superintendent, position of equivalent responsibility, or an 

individual or position having overall responsibility for 

environmental matters for the company. A duly authorized 

representative may thus be either a named individual or 

any individual occupying a named position; and 

c. The written authorization is submitted to the 

department. 

3. Changes to authorization. If an authorization under Part II 

K 2 is no longer accurate because a different individual or 

position has responsibility for the overall operation of the 

facility, a new authorization satisfying the requirements of 

Part II K 2 shall be submitted to the department prior to or 

together with any reports or information to be signed by an 

authorized representative. 

4. Certification. Any person signing a document under Part 

II K 1 or 2 shall make the following certification: 

"I certify under penalty of law that this document and all 

attachments were prepared under my direction or 

supervision in accordance with a system designed to 

assure that qualified personnel properly gather and 

evaluate the information submitted. Based on my inquiry 

of the person or persons who manage the system, or those 

persons directly responsible for gathering the information, 

the information submitted is, to the best of my knowledge 

and belief, true, accurate, and complete. I am aware that 

there are significant penalties for submitting false 

information, including the possibility of fine and 

imprisonment for knowing violations." 

L. Duty to comply. The permittee shall comply with all 

conditions of this permit. Any permit noncompliance 

constitutes a violation of the State Water Control Law and the 

Clean Water Act, except that noncompliance with certain 

provisions of this permit may constitute a violation of the State 

Water Control Law but not the Clean Water Act. Permit 

noncompliance is grounds for enforcement action; or for 

permit coverage termination, revocation and reissuance, or 

modification; or for denial of a permit coverage renewal 

application. 

The permittee shall comply with effluent standards or 

prohibitions established under § 307(a) of the Clean Water Act 

for toxic pollutants and with standards for sewage sludge use 

or disposal established under § 405(d) of the Clean Water Act 

within the time provided in the regulations that establish these 

standards or prohibitions or standards for sewage sludge use or 

disposal, even if this permit has not yet been modified to 

incorporate the requirement. 

M. Duty to reapply. 

1. If the permittee wishes to continue an activity regulated 

by this permit after the expiration date of this permit, and the 

permittee does not qualify for automatic permit coverage 

renewal, the permittee shall submit a new registration 

statement, or for an individual single family dwelling a 

combined application, at least 60 days before the expiration 

date of the existing permit, unless permission for a later date 

has been granted by the board. The board shall not grant 
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permission for registration statements or combined 

applications to be submitted later than the expiration date of 

the existing permit. 

2. A permittee qualifies for automatic permit coverage 

renewal and is not required to submit a registration 

statement, or for an individual single family dwelling a 

combined application, if: 

a. The ownership of the treatment works has not changed 

since this general permit went into effect on August 2, 

[ 2016 2021, ] or, if the ownership has changed, (i) a new 

registration statement or for an individual single family 

dwelling a combined application or (ii) a VPDES Change 

of Ownership form was submitted to the department by the 

new owner at the time of the title transfer; 

b. There has been no change in the design or operation, or 

both, of the treatment works since this general permit went 

into effect on August 2, [ 2016 2021 ]; 

c. For treatment works serving individual single family 

dwellings, the Virginia Department of Health does not 

object to the automatic permit coverage renewal for this 

treatment works based on system performance issues, 

enforcement issues, or other issues sufficient to the board. 

If the Virginia Department of Health objects to the 

automatic renewal for this treatment works, the permittee 

will be notified by the board in writing; and 

d. For treatment works serving buildings or dwellings 

other than single family dwellings, the board has no 

objection to the automatic permit coverage renewal for 

this treatment works based on system performance issues, 

enforcement issues, or other issues sufficient to the board. 

If the board objects to the automatic renewal for this 

treatment works, the permittee will be notified by the 

board in writing. 

3. Any permittee that does not qualify for automatic permit 

coverage renewal shall submit a new registration statement, 

or for an individual single family dwelling a combined 

application, in accordance with Part II M 1. 

N. Effect of a permit. This permit does not convey any 

property rights in either real or personal property or any 

exclusive privileges, nor does it authorize any injury to private 

property or invasion of personal rights, or any infringement of 

federal, state, or local law or regulations. 

O. State law. Nothing in this permit shall be construed to 

preclude the institution of any legal action under, or relieve the 

permittee from any responsibilities, liabilities, or penalties 

established pursuant to, any other state law or regulation or 

under authority preserved by § 510 of the Clean Water Act. 

Except as provided in permit conditions on "bypassing" (Part 

II U) and "upset" (Part II V) nothing in this permit shall be 

construed to relieve the permittee from civil and criminal 

penalties for noncompliance. 

P. Oil and hazardous substance liability. Nothing in this 

permit shall be construed to preclude the institution of any 

legal action or relieve the permittee from any responsibilities, 

liabilities, or penalties to which the permittee is or may be 

subject under §§ 62.1-44.34:14 through 62.1-44.34:23 of the 

State Water Control Law. 

Q. Proper operation and maintenance. The permittee shall at 

all times properly operate and maintain all facilities and 

systems of treatment and control (and related appurtenances) 

that are installed or used by the permittee to achieve 

compliance with the conditions of this permit. Proper operation 

and maintenance also include effective plant performance, 

adequate funding, adequate staffing, and adequate laboratory 

and process controls, including appropriate quality assurance 

procedures. This provision requires the operation of back-up or 

auxiliary facilities or similar systems that are installed by the 

permittee only when the operation is necessary to achieve 

compliance with the conditions of this permit. 

R. Disposal of solids or sludges. Solids, sludges, or other 

pollutants removed in the course of treatment or management 

of pollutants shall be disposed of in a manner so as to prevent 

any pollutant from such materials from entering state waters. 

S. Duty to mitigate. The permittee shall take all reasonable 

steps to minimize or prevent any discharge or sludge use or 

disposal in violation of this permit that has a reasonable 

likelihood of adversely affecting human health or the 

environment. 

T. Need to halt or reduce activity not a defense. It shall not be 

a defense for a permittee in an enforcement action that it would 

have been necessary to halt or reduce the permitted activity in 

order to maintain compliance with the conditions of this 

permit. 

U. Bypass. 

1. "Bypass" means the intentional diversion of waste streams 

from any portion of a treatment facility. The permittee may 

allow any bypass to occur that does not cause effluent 

limitations to be exceeded, but only if it also is for essential 

maintenance to ensure efficient operation. These bypasses 

are not subject to the provisions of Parts Part II U 2 and 3. 

2. Notice. 

a. Anticipated bypass. If the permittee knows in advance 

of the need for a bypass, prior notice shall be submitted, if 

possible, at least 10 days before the date of the bypass. 

b. Unanticipated bypass. The permittee shall submit notice 

of an unanticipated bypass as required in Part II I. 

3. Prohibition of bypass. 

a. Bypass is prohibited, and the board may take 

enforcement action against a permittee for bypass, unless: 

(1) Bypass was unavoidable to prevent loss of life, 

personal injury, or severe property damage; 
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(2) There were no feasible alternatives to the bypass, such 

as the use of auxiliary treatment facilities, retention of 

untreated wastes, or maintenance during normal periods of 

equipment downtime. This condition is not satisfied if 

adequate back-up equipment should have been installed in 

the exercise of reasonable engineering judgment to 

prevent a bypass that occurred during normal periods of 

equipment downtime or preventive maintenance; and 

(3) The permittee submitted notices as required under Part 

II U 2. 

b. The board may approve an anticipated bypass after 

considering its adverse effects if the board determines that 

it will meet the three conditions listed in Part II U 3 a. 

V. Upset. 

1. An upset, defined in 9VAC25-31-10, constitutes an 

affirmative defense to an action brought for noncompliance 

with technology-based permit effluent limitations if the 

requirements of Part II V 2 are met. A determination made 

during administrative review of claims that noncompliance 

was caused by upset, and before an action for 

noncompliance, is not a final administrative action subject 

to judicial review. 

2. A permittee who wishes to establish the affirmative 

defense of upset shall demonstrate through properly signed, 

contemporaneous operating logs, or other relevant evidence 

that: 

a. An upset occurred and that the permittee can identify 

the cause(s) cause of the upset; 

b. The permitted facility was at the time being properly 

operated; 

c. The permittee submitted notice of the upset as required 

in Part II I; and 

d. The permittee complied with any remedial measures 

required under Part II S. 

3. In any enforcement proceeding the permittee seeking to 

establish the occurrence of an upset has the burden of proof. 

W. Inspection and entry. The permittee shall allow the 

director, or an authorized representative (including an 

authorized contractor acting as a representative of the 

administrator), upon presentation of credentials and other 

documents as may be required by law, to: 

1. Enter upon the permittee's premises where a regulated 

facility or activity is located or conducted, or where records 

must be kept under the conditions of this permit; 

2. Have access to and copy, at reasonable times, any records 

that must be kept under the conditions of this permit; 

3. Inspect at reasonable times any facilities, equipment 

(including monitoring and control equipment), practices, or 

operations regulated or required under this permit; and 

4. Sample or monitor at reasonable times, for the purposes 

of assuring permit compliance or as otherwise authorized by 

the Clean Water Act and the State Water Control Law, any 

substances or parameters at any location. 

For purposes of this section, the time for inspection shall be 

deemed reasonable during regular business hours, and 

whenever the facility is discharging. Nothing contained herein 

shall make an inspection unreasonable during an emergency. 

X. Permit actions. Permits may be modified, revoked and 

reissued, or terminated for cause. The filing of a request by the 

permittee for a permit modification, revocation and reissuance, 

termination, or notification of planned changes or anticipated 

noncompliance does not stay any permit condition. 

Y. Transfer of permits permit coverage. Permits are Permit 

coverage is not transferable to any person except after notice 

to the department. Coverage under this permit may be 

automatically transferred to a new permittee if: 

1. The current permittee notifies the department within 30 

days of the transfer of the title to the facility or property, 

unless permission for a later date has been granted by the 

board; 

2. The notice includes a written agreement between the 

existing and new permittees containing a specific date for 

transfer of permit responsibility, coverage, and liability 

between them; and 

3. The board does not notify the existing permittee and the 

proposed new permittee of its intent to deny the new 

permittee coverage under the permit. If this notice is not 

received, the transfer is effective on the date specified in the 

agreement mentioned in Part II Y 2. 

Z. Severability. The provisions of this permit are severable, 

and if any provision of this permit or the application of any 

provision of this permit to any circumstance is held invalid, the 

application of such provision to other circumstances, and the 

remainder of this permit, shall not be affected thereby. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R19-5864; Filed January 12, 2021, 9:49 a.m. 

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The State Water Control Board is 

claiming an exemption from the Administrative Process Act in 

accordance with § 2.2-4006 A 8 of the Code of Virginia, which 

exempts general permits issued by the State Water Control 

Board pursuant to the State Water Control Law (§ 62.1-44.2 et 

seq.) and Chapters 24 (§ 62.1-242 et seq.) and 25 (§ 62.1-254 

et seq.) of Title 62.1 of the Code of Virginia if the board (i) 

provides a Notice of Intended Regulatory Action in 

conformance with the provisions of § 2.2-4007.01 of the Code 

of Virginia; (ii) following the passage of 30 days from the 

publication of the Notice of Intended Regulatory Action, forms 

a technical advisory committee composed of relevant 

stakeholders, including potentially affected citizens groups, to 
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assist in the development of the general permit; (iii) provides 

notice and receives oral and written comment as provided in 

§ 2.2-4007.03 of the Code of Virginia; and (iv) conducts at 

least one public hearing on the proposed general permit. The 

State Water Control Board will receive, consider, and respond 

to petitions by any interested person at any time with respect 

to reconsideration or revision. 

Title of Regulation: 9VAC25-115. General Virginia 

Pollutant Discharge Elimination System (VPDES) Permit 

for Seafood Processing Facilities (amending 9VAC25-115-

10 through 9VAC25-115-50). 

Statutory Authority: § 62.1-44.15 of the Code of Virginia; 

§ 402 of the Clean Water Act; 40 CFR Parts 122, 123, and 124. 

Effective Date: July 24, 2021. 

Agency Contact: Elleanore M. Daub, Department of 

Environmental Quality, 1111 East Main Street, Suite 1400, 

P.O. Box 1105, Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 698-

4111, FAX (804) 698-4178, or email 

elleanore.daub@deq.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendments (i) update the industrial stormwater 

requirements to be consistent with other industries subject 

to stormwater permitting and to be consistent with other 

VPDES general permits, including adding quarterly visual 

monitoring and annual inspections for nonstormwater 

discharges; (ii) exclude aquaculture from the requirements 

of the permit; and (iii) update definitions, including the 

definition of "seafood processing" to exclude shellfish 

aquaculture and to include NAICS (North American 

Industry Classification System) codes. The general permit is 

being amended in order to reissue it.  

Chapter 115 

General Virginia Pollutant Discharge Elimination System 

(VPDES) General Permit Regulation for Seafood Processing 

Facilities 

9VAC25-115-10. Definitions. 

The words and terms used in this chapter shall have the 

meanings defined in the State Water Control Law, Chapter 3.1 

(§ 62.1-44.2 et seq.) of Title 62.1 of the Code of Virginia and 

the Virginia Pollutant Discharge Elimination System (VPDES) 

Permit Regulation (9VAC25-31) unless the context clearly 

indicates otherwise. Additionally, for the purposes of this 

chapter: 

"Best management practices" or "BMPs" means schedules of 

activities, practices, prohibitions of practices, structures, 

vegetation, maintenance procedures, and other management 

practices, including both structural and nonstructural practices, 

to prevent or reduce the discharge of pollutants to surface 

waters. 

"Control measure" means any best management practice or 

other method, including effluent limitations, used to prevent or 

reduce the discharge of pollutants to surface waters. 

"Corrective action" means any action to (i) repair, modify, or 

replace any stormwater control used at the facility; (ii) clean 

up and properly dispose of spills, releases, or other deposits at 

the facility; or (iii) return to compliance with permit 

requirements. 

"Industrial activity" means the facilities classified under 

NAICS 311710 and SIC Code 2091 or 2092. 

"Minimize" means reduce or eliminate to the extent 

achievable using control measures, including best management 

practices, that are technologically available and economically 

practicable and achievable in light of best industry practice. 

"NAICS" means North American Industry Classification 

System from the U.S. Office of Management and Budget, 2017 

edition. 

"No exposure" means all industrial materials or activities are 

protected by a storm-resistant shelter to prevent exposure to 

rain, snow, snowmelt, or runoff. 

"Seafood" includes crabs, oysters, hand-shucked clams, 

scallops, squid, eels, turtles, fish, conchs, and crayfish. 

"Seafood processing facility" means any facility classified 

under SIC Code 2091, 2092, 5142, or 5146, which that 

processes or handles seafood intended for human consumption 

or as bait, except a mechanized clam facility. Seafood includes 

but is not limited to crabs, oysters, hand-shucked clams, 

scallops, squid, eels, turtles, fish, conchs and crayfish., where 

the primary purpose is classified under the following NAICS 

and SIC codes:  

1. NAICS Code 311710 – Seafood Product Preparation and 

Packaging and SIC Code 2091 – Canned and Cured Fish and 

Seafoods, 2092 – Prepared Fresh or Frozen Fish and 

Seafoods; 

2. NAICS Code 424420 – Packaged Frozen Food Merchant 

Wholesalers and SIC Code 5142 – Packaged Frozen Foods; 

and 

3. NAICS Code 424460 – Fish and Seafood Merchant 

Wholesalers and SIC Code 5146 – Fish and Seafoods.  

This definition does not include aquaculture facilities 

(including hatcheries) classified under SIC Code 0272 or 0921 

and NAICS Code 112512. 

"SIC" means the Standard Industrial Classification Code or 

Industrial Grouping from the U.S. Office of Management and 

Budget Standard Industrial Classification Manual, 1987 

edition. 

"Significant materials" includes, but is not limited to, raw 

materials; fuels; materials such as solvents, detergents, and 

plastic pellets; finished materials such as metallic products; 

mailto:elleanore.daub@deq.virginia.gov
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raw materials used in food processing or production (except 

oyster, clam or scallop shells); hazardous substances 

designated under § 101(14) of the Comprehensive 

Environmental Response, Compensation and Liability Act 

(CERCLA) (42 USC § 9601); any chemical the facility is 

required to report pursuant to § 313 of the Emergency Planning 

and Community Right-to-Know Act (EPCRA) (42 USC 

§ 11023); fertilizers; pesticides; and waste products such as 

ashes, slag, and sludge that have the potential to be released 

with stormwater discharges. 

"Stormwater discharge associated with industrial activity" 

means the discharge from any conveyance that is used for 

collecting and conveying stormwater and that is directly 

related to manufacturing, processing, or raw materials storage 

areas at an industrial plant. The term does not include 

discharges from facilities or activities excluded from the 

VPDES program under 9VAC25-31. For the categories of 

industries identified in the "industrial activity" definition, the 

term includes, but is not limited to, stormwater discharges from 

industrial plant yards; immediate access roads and rail lines 

used or traveled by carriers of raw materials, manufactured 

products, waste material, or byproducts (except for oyster, 

clam or scallop shells) used or created by the facility; material 

handling sites; refuse sites; sites used for the application or 

disposal of process wastewaters; sites used for the storage and 

maintenance of material handling equipment; sites used for 

residual treatment, storage, or disposal; shipping and receiving 

areas; manufacturing buildings; storage area (including tank 

farms) for raw materials and intermediate and finished final 

products; and areas where industrial activity has taken place in 

the past and significant materials remain and are exposed to 

stormwater. For the purposes of this paragraph definition, 

material handling activities include the storage, loading and 

unloading, transportation, or conveyance of any raw material, 

intermediate product, finished final product, byproduct, or 

waste product (except for oyster, clam or scallop shells). The 

term excludes areas located on plant lands separate from the 

plant's industrial activities, such as office buildings and 

accompanying parking lots, as long as the drainage from the 

excluded areas is not mixed with stormwater drained from the 

above described areas. Industrial facilities, including industrial 

facilities that are federally, state, or municipally owned or 

operated that meet the description of the facilities listed in the 

"industrial activity" definition, include those facilities 

designated under the provisions of 9VAC25-31-120 A 1 c or 

A 7 a (1) or (2) of the VPDES Permit Regulation. 

"Total maximum daily load" or "TMDL" means a calculation 

of the maximum amount of a pollutant that a waterbody can 

receive and still meet water quality standards, and an allocation 

of that amount to the pollutant's sources. A TMDL includes 

wasteload allocations (WLAs) for point source discharges, and 

load allocations (LAs) for nonpoint sources or natural 

background, or both, and must include a margin of safety 

(MOS) and account for seasonal variations. 

"Virginia Environmental Excellence Program" or "VEEP" 

means a voluntary program established by the department to 

provide public recognition and regulatory incentives to 

encourage higher levels of environmental performance for 

program participants that develop and implement 

environmental management systems (EMSs). The program is 

based on the use of EMSs that improve compliance, prevent 

pollution, and utilize other measures to improve environmental 

performance. 

9VAC25-115-15. Applicability of incorporated references 

based on the dates that they became effective. 

Except as noted, when a regulation of the U.S. Environmental 

Protection Agency set forth in Title 40 of the Code of Federal 

Regulations is referenced or adopted in this chapter and 

incorporated by reference, that regulation shall be as it exists 

and has been published as of July 1, 2015 2020. 

9VAC25-115-20. Purpose; delegation of authority; 

effective date of permit. 

A. This general permit regulation governs the discharge of 

wastewater from seafood processing facilities and stormwater 

associated with industrial activity from seafood processing 

facilities classified NAICS Code 311710 and as SIC Code 

Codes 2091 and 2092. 

B. The director, or an authorized representative, may perform 

any act of the board provided under this regulation, except as 

limited by § 62.1-44.14 of the Code of Virginia. 

C. This general permit will become effective on July 24, 2016 

2021, and will expire on July 23, 2021 June 30, 2026. For any 

covered owner, this general permit is effective upon 

compliance with all the provisions of 9VAC25-115-30. 

9VAC25-115-30. Authorization to discharge. 

A. Any owner governed by this general permit is hereby 

authorized to discharge process wastewater and stormwater as 

described in 9VAC25-115-20 A to surface waters of the 

Commonwealth of Virginia provided that: 

1. The owner files a registration statement, in accordance 

with 9VAC25-115-40, and that registration statement is 

accepted by the board; 

2. The owner submits the required permit fee; 

3. The owner complies with the applicable effluent 

limitations and other requirements of 9VAC25-115-50; and 

4. The owner has not been notified by the board that the 

discharge is not eligible for coverage under this permit in 

accordance with subsection B of this section. 

B. The board will notify an owner that the discharge is not 

eligible for coverage under this permit in the event of any of 

the following: 
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1. The owner is required to obtain an individual permit in 

accordance with 9VAC25-31-170 B 3 of the VPDES Permit 

Regulation; 

2. The owner is proposing to discharge to state waters 

specifically named in other board regulations that prohibit 

such discharges; 

3. The owner is proposing to discharge annual mass loadings 

of total nitrogen in excess of 2,300 pounds per year or of 

total phosphorus in excess of 300 pounds per year; 

4. The discharge would violate the antidegradation policy 

stated in 9VAC25-260-30 of the Virginia Water Quality 

Standards; or 

5. The discharge is not consistent with the assumptions and 

requirements of an approved TMDL. 

C. Conditional exclusion for no exposure to stormwater. Any 

owner covered by this permit that becomes eligible for a no 

exposure exclusion from stormwater permitting under 

9VAC25-31-120 E may file a no exposure certification. Upon 

submission and acceptance by the board of a complete and 

accurate no exposure certification, the permit requirements for 

stormwater no longer apply. A no exposure certification must 

be submitted to the board once every five years. 

D. Compliance with this general permit constitutes 

compliance, for purposes of enforcement, with the federal 

Clean Water Act §§ 301, 302, 306, 307, 318, 403, and 405 (a) 

through (b) and the State Water Control Law, with the 

exceptions stated in 9VAC25-31-60 of the VPDES Permit 

Regulation. Approval for coverage under this general permit 

does not relieve any owner of the responsibility to comply with 

any other applicable federal, state or local statute, ordinance or 

regulation. 

D. E. Continuation of permit coverage. 

1. Any owner that was authorized to discharge under the 

seafood processing facilities general permit issued in 2011, 

and who submits a complete registration statement on or 

before July 23, 2016, is authorized to continue to discharge 

under the terms of the 2011 general permit Permit coverage 

shall expire at the end of the applicable permit term. 

However, expiring permit coverages are automatically 

continued if the owner has submitted a complete registration 

statement at least 60 days prior to the expiration date of the 

permit or a later submittal date established by the board, 

which cannot extend beyond the expiration date of the 

permit. The permittee is authorized to continue to discharge 

until such time as the board either: 

a. Issues coverage to the owner under this general permit; 

or 

b. Notifies the owner that the discharge is not eligible for 

coverage under this general permit. 

2. When the owner that was covered under the expiring or 

expired general permit has violated or is violating the 

conditions of that permit, the board may choose to do any or 

all of the following: 

a. Initiate enforcement action based upon the 2011 general 

permit coverage that has been continued; 

b. Issue a notice of intent to deny coverage under the 

reissued amended general permit. If the general permit 

coverage is denied, the owner would then be required to 

cease the discharges authorized by coverage under the 

2011 the continued general permit coverage or be subject 

to enforcement action for discharging without a permit; 

c. Issue an individual permit with appropriate conditions; 

or 

d. Take other actions authorized by the VPDES Permit 

Regulation (9VAC25-31). 

9VAC25-115-40. Registration statement. 

A. Deadlines for submitting registration statement. Any 

owner seeking coverage under this general permit shall submit 

a complete general VPDES permit registration statement in 

accordance with this chapter, which shall serve as a notice of 

intent for coverage under the general VPDES general permit 

regulation for seafood processing facilities. 

1. New facilities. Any owner proposing a new discharge 

shall submit a complete registration statement to the board 

at least 30 60 days prior to the date planned for 

commencement of the discharge. 

2. Existing facilities. 

a. Any owner of an existing seafood processing facility 

covered by an individual VPDES permit that is proposing 

to be covered by this general permit shall submit a 

complete registration statement at least 240 days prior to 

the expiration date of the individual VPDES permit or a 

later submittal established by the board. 

b. Any owner that was authorized to discharge under the 

general an expiring or expired VPDES general permit for 

seafood processing facilities that became effective on July 

24, 2011, and that intends to continue coverage under this 

general permit shall submit a complete registration 

statement to the board on or before June 24, 2016 at least 

60 days prior to the expiration date of the existing permit 

or a later submittal established by the board. 

c. Any owner of an existing seafood processing facility 

adding a new process after coverage under the general 

permit is obtained shall submit an amended registration 

statement to the board at least 30 60 days prior to 

commencing operation of the new process or a later 

submittal established by the board. 

3. Late registration statements. Registration statements for 

existing facilities covered under subdivision 2 b of this 

subsection will be accepted after July 23, 2016 the expiration 
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date of the permit, but authorization to discharge will not be 

retroactive. Owners described in subdivision 2 b of this 

subsection that submit registration statements after June 24, 

2016, are authorized to discharge under the provisions of 

9VAC25-115-30 D if a complete registration statement is 

submitted before July 24, 2016. 

B. The registration statement shall contain the following 

information: 

1. Facility name, owner name, mailing address, email 

address (where available), and telephone number; 

2. Facility street address (if different from mailing address); 

3. Facility operator name, mailing address, email address, 

and telephone number if different than owner; 

4. Does the facility discharge to surface waters? Name of 

receiving stream or streams if yes and, if no, describe the 

discharge or discharges; 

5. Does the facility have a current VPDES Permit? Include 

the permit number if yes; 

6. The original date of construction of the seafood 

processing facility building and dates and description of all 

subsequent facility construction; 

7. A U.S. Geological Survey (USGS) 7.5 minute 

topographic map or other equivalent computer generated 

map with sufficient resolution to clearly show the facility 

location, the discharge location or locations, and the 

receiving water body; 

8. Facility SIC code or codes; 

9. Nature of business at the facility; 

10. Discharge outfall information including latitude and 

longitude, seafood process, receiving stream, discharge 

flow, and days per year of discharge for each outfall; 

11. Facility maximum production information; 

12. Facility line (water balance) drawing; 

13. Discharge and outfall descriptions for different seafood 

processes that operate simultaneously; 

14. Treatment and solid waste disposal information; 

15. Information on use of chemicals at the facility; and 

16. State Corporation Commission entity identification 

number if the facility is required to obtain an entity 

identification number by law; and 

17. The following certification: "I certify under penalty of 

law that this document and all attachments were prepared 

under my direction or supervision in accordance with a 

system designed to assure that qualified personnel properly 

gather and evaluate the information submitted. Based on my 

inquiry of the person or persons who manage the system or 

those persons directly responsible for gathering the 

information, the information submitted is to the best of my 

knowledge and belief true, accurate, and complete. I am 

aware that there are significant penalties for submitting false 

information including the possibility of fine and 

imprisonment for knowing violations." 

The registration statement shall be signed in accordance with 

9VAC25-31-110 of the VPDES Permit Regulation. 

C. The registration statement may shall be delivered to the 

department department's regional office where the seafood 

processing facility is located by either postal or electronic mail 

and shall be submitted to the DEQ regional office serving the 

area where the seafood processing facility is located. 

Following notification from the department of the start date for 

the required electronic submission of Notices of Intent to 

discharge forms (i.e., registration statements) as provided for 

in 9VAC25-31-1020, such forms submitted after that date shall 

be electronically submitted to the department in compliance 

with this section and 9VAC25-31-1020. There shall be at least 

three months' notice provided between the notification from 

the department and the date after which such forms must be 

submitted electronically. 

9VAC25-115-50. General permit. 

Any owner whose registration statement is accepted by the 

board shall comply with the requirements of the general permit 

and be subject to all requirements of 9VAC25-31-170 of the 

VPDES Permit Regulation. 

General Permit No.: VAG52  

Effective Date: July 24, 2016 2021 

Expiration Date: July 23, 2021 June 30, 2026 

GENERAL PERMIT FOR SEAFOOD PROCESSING 

FACILITIES 

AUTHORIZATION TO DISCHARGE UNDER THE 

VIRGINIA POLLUTANT DISCHARGE ELIMINATION 

SYSTEM AND THE VIRGINIA STATE WATER 

CONTROL LAW 

In compliance with the provisions of the Clean Water Act, as 

amended, and pursuant to the State Water Control Law and 

regulations adopted pursuant to it, owners of seafood 

processing facilities, other than mechanized clam processing 

facilities, are authorized to discharge to surface waters within 

the boundaries of the Commonwealth of Virginia, except those 

specifically named in board regulations that prohibit such 

discharges. 

The authorized discharge shall be in accordance with the 

information submitted with the registration statement, this 

cover page, Part I-Effluent Limitations [ and, ] Monitoring 

Requirements, [ and ] Special Conditions, [ and ] Part II-

Stormwater Pollution Prevention Plans [ , ] and Part III-

Conditions Applicable to All VPDES Permits, as set forth in 

this general permit. 
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Part I 

A. EFFLUENT LIMITATIONS AND MONITORING REQUIREMENTS 

1. SEAFOOD PROCESSING NOT LIMITED ELSEWHERE IN PART I. A.— SIC 2091, 2092, 5142 AND 5146 SOURCES 

EXCEPT MECHANIZED CLAM FACILITIES 

During the period beginning with the permittee's coverage under this general permit and lasting until the permit's expiration 

date, the permittee is authorized to discharge wastewater from seafood processing not otherwise classified from outfall(s) 

__________. 

Such discharges shall be limited and monitored by the permittee as specified below: 

EFFLUENT 

CHARACTERISTICS 

MONITORING 

REQUIREMENTS kg/day 

DISCHARGE LIMITATIONS 

kg/kkg Sample 

Frequency 
Sample Type 

Monthly Avg 
Daily 

Max 
Monthly Avg 

Daily 

Max 

Daily 

Min 

Flow (MGD) NA NL NA NA NA 1/YEAR Estimate 

pH (S.U.) NA NA NA 9.0 6.0 1/YEAR Grab 

TSS NL NL NA NA NA 1/YEAR Composite 

Oil and Grease NL NL NA NA NA 1/YEAR Grab 

Production NA NL NA NA NA 1/YEAR Measurement 

NL = No limitation, monitoring required. 

NA = Not applicable. 

Grab = Individual grab sample is to be taken in the middle of a composite sampling period. 

Composite = Hourly grab samples taken over the duration of a processing cycle (including cleanup) combined to form one 

representative sample, not to exceed eight grab samples. 

Production = See Special Condition No. 5 (Part I B 5). 

Samples shall be collected by the end of the calendar year and reported by the 10th of January of the following calendar year 

on the facility's Discharge Monitoring Report (DMR). All calculations shall be submitted with the DMR. 

Part I 

A. EFFLUENT LIMITATIONS AND MONITORING REQUIREMENTS 

2. CONVENTIONAL (HANDPICKED) BLUE CRAB PROCESSING—EXISTING SOURCES PROCESSING MORE 

THAN 3,000 POUNDS OF RAW MATERIAL PER DAY ON ANY DAY 

During the period beginning with the permittee's coverage under this general permit and lasting until the permit's expiration 

date, the permittee is authorized to discharge wastewater from conventional blue crab processing, from outfall(s) __________. 

Such discharges shall be limited and monitored by the permittee as specified below: 

EFFLUENT 

CHARACTERISTICS 

MONITORING 

REQUIREMENTS 

kg/day 

DISCHARGE LIMITATIONS 

kg/kkg Sample 

Frequency 
Sample Type 

Monthly Avg 
Daily 

Max 
Monthly Avg 

Daily 

Max 

Daily 

Min 

Flow (MGD) NA NL NA NA NA 1/3 Months Estimate 

pH (S.U.) NA NA NA 9.0 6.0 1/3 Months Grab 

TSS NL NL 0.74 2.2 NA 1/3 Months Composite 

Oil and Grease NL NL 0.20 0.60 NA 1/3 Months Grab 

Production NA NL NA NA NA 1/3 Months Measurement 
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NL = No limitation, monitoring required. 

NA = Not applicable. 

Grab = Individual grab sample is to be taken in the middle of a composite sampling period. 

Composite = Hourly grab samples taken over the duration of a processing cycle (including cleanup) combined to form one 

representative sample, not to exceed eight grab samples. 

Production = See Special Condition No. 5 (Part I B 5). 

Samples shall be collected by March 31, June 30, September 30, and December 31 and reported by the 10th of the following 

month on the facility's Discharge Monitoring Report (DMR). All calculations shall be submitted with the DMR. 

Part I 

A. EFFLUENT LIMITATIONS AND MONITORING REQUIREMENTS 

3. CONVENTIONAL (HANDPICKED) BLUE CRAB PROCESSING—ALL NEW SOURCES 

During the period beginning with the permittee's coverage under this general permit and lasting until the permit's expiration 

date, the permittee is authorized to discharge wastewater from conventional blue crab processing, from outfall(s) __________. 

Such discharges shall be limited and monitored by the permittee as specified below: 

EFFLUENT 

CHARACTERISTICS 

MONITORING 

REQUIREMENTS 

kg/day 

DISCHARGE LIMITATIONS 

kg/kkg Sample 

Frequency 
Sample Type 

Monthly 

Avg 

Daily 

Max 

Monthly 

Avg 

Daily 

Max 

Daily 

Min 

Flow (MGD) NA NL NA NA NA 1/3 Months Estimate 

pH (S.U.) NA NA NA 9.0 6.0 1/3 Months Grab 

BOD5 NL NL 0.15 0.30 NA 1/3 Months Composite 

TSS NL NL 0.45 0.90 NA 1/3 Months Composite 

Oil and Grease NL NL 0.065 0.13 NA 1/3 Months Grab 

Production NA NL NA NA NA 1/3 Months Measurement 

NL = No limitation, monitoring required. 

NA = Not applicable. 

Grab = Individual grab sample is to be taken in the middle of a composite sampling period. 

Composite = Hourly grab samples taken over the duration of a processing cycle (including cleanup) combined to form one 

representative sample, not to exceed eight grab samples. 

Production = See Special Condition No. 5 (Part I B 5). 

Samples shall be collected by March 31, June 30, September 30, and December 31 and reported by the 10th of the following 

month on the facility's Discharge Monitoring Report (DMR). All calculations shall be submitted with the DMR. 

Part I 

A. EFFLUENT LIMITATIONS AND MONITORING REQUIREMENTS 

4. MECHANIZED BLUE CRAB PROCESSING—ALL EXISTING SOURCES 

During the period beginning with the permittee's coverage under this general permit and lasting until the permit's expiration 

date, the permittee is authorized to discharge wastewater from mechanized blue crab processing, from outfall(s) __________. 
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Such discharges shall be limited and monitored by the permittee as specified below: 

EFFLUENT 

CHARACTERISTICS 

MONITORING 

REQUIREMENTS 

kg/day 

DISCHARGE LIMITATIONS 

kg/kkg Sample 

Frequency 
Sample Type 

Monthly 

Avg 

Daily 

Max 

Monthly 

Avg 

Daily 

Max 

Daily 

Min 

Flow (MGD) NA NL NA NA NA 1/3 Months Estimate 

pH (S.U.) NA NA NA 9.0 6.0 1/3 Months Grab 

TSS NL NL 12 36 NA 1/3 Months Composite 

Oil and Grease NL NL 4.2 13 NA 1/3 Months Grab 

Production NA NL NA NA NA 1/3 Months Measurement 

NL = No limitation, monitoring required. 

NA = Not applicable. 

Grab = Individual grab sample is to be taken in the middle of a composite sampling period. 

Composite = Hourly grab samples taken over the duration of a processing cycle (including cleanup) combined to form one 

representative sample, not to exceed eight grab samples. 

Production = See Special Condition No. 5 (Part I B 5). 

Samples shall be collected by March 31, June 30, September 30, and December 31 and reported by the 10th of the following 

month on the facility's Discharge Monitoring Report (DMR). All calculations shall be submitted with the DMR. 

Part I 

A. EFFLUENT LIMITATIONS AND MONITORING REQUIREMENTS 

5. MECHANIZED BLUE CRAB PROCESSING—ALL NEW SOURCES 

During the period beginning with the permittee's coverage under this general permit and lasting until the permit's expiration 

date, the permittee is authorized to discharge wastewater from mechanized blue crab processing, from outfall(s) __________. 

Such discharges shall be limited and monitored by the permittee as specified below: 

EFFLUENT 

CHARACTERISTICS 

MONITORING 

REQUIREMENTS 

kg/day 

DISCHARGE LIMITATIONS 

kg/kkg Sample 

Frequency 
Sample Type 

Monthly 

Avg 

Daily 

Max 

Monthly 

Avg 

Daily 

Max 

Daily 

Min 

Flow (MGD) NA NL NA NA NA 1/3 Months Estimate 

pH (S.U.) NA NA NA 9.0 6.0 1/3 Months Grab 

BOD5 NL NL 2.5 5.0 NA 1/3 Months Composite 

TSS NL NL 6.3 13 NA 1/3 Months Composite 

Oil and Grease NL NL 1.3 2.6 NA 1/3 Months Grab 

Production NA NL NA NA NA 1/3 Months Measurement 

NL = No limitation, monitoring required. 

NA = Not applicable. 

Grab = Individual grab sample is to be taken in the middle of a composite sampling period. 

Composite = Hourly grab samples taken over the duration of a processing cycle (including cleanup) combined to form one 

representative sample, not to exceed eight grab samples. 

Production = See Special Condition No. 5 (Part I B 5). 
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Samples shall be collected by March 31, June 30, September 30, and December 31 and reported by the 10th of the following 

month on the facility's Discharge Monitoring Report (DMR). All calculations shall be submitted with the DMR. 

Part I 

A. EFFLUENT LIMITATIONS AND MONITORING REQUIREMENTS 

6. NON-BREADED SHRIMP PROCESSING—EXISTING SOURCES PROCESSING MORE THAN 2,000 POUNDS OF 

RAW MATERIAL PER DAY ON ANY DAY 

During the period beginning with the permittee's coverage under this general permit and lasting until the permit's expiration 

date, the permittee is authorized to discharge wastewater from non-breaded shrimp processing, from outfall(s) __________. 

Such discharges shall be limited and monitored by the permittee as specified below: 

EFFLUENT 

CHARACTERISTICS 

MONITORING 

REQUIREMENTS 

kg/day 

DISCHARGE LIMITATIONS 

kg/kkg Sample 

Frequency 
Sample Type 

Monthly 

Avg 

Daily 

Max 

Monthly 

Avg 

Daily 

Max 

Daily 

Min 

Flow (MGD) NA NL NA NA NA 1/3 Months Estimate 

pH (S.U.) NA NA NA 9.0 6.0 1/3 Months Grab 

TSS NL NL 38 110 NA 1/3 Months Composite 

Oil and Grease NL NL 12 36 NA 1/3 Months Grab 

Production NA NL NA NA NA 1/3 Months Measurement 

NL = No limitation, monitoring required. 

NA = Not applicable. 

Grab = Individual grab sample is to be taken in the middle of a composite sampling period. 

Composite = Hourly grab samples taken over the duration of a processing cycle (including cleanup) combined to form one 

representative sample, not to exceed eight grab samples. 

Production = See Special Condition No. 5 (Part I B 5). 

Samples shall be collected by March 31, June 30, September 30, and December 31 and reported by the 10th of the following 

month on the facility's Discharge Monitoring Report (DMR). All calculations shall be submitted with the DMR. 

Part I 

A. EFFLUENT LIMITATIONS AND MONITORING REQUIREMENTS 

7. NON-BREADED SHRIMP PROCESSING—ALL NEW SOURCES 

During the period beginning with the permittee's coverage under this general permit and lasting until the permit's expiration 

date, the permittee is authorized to discharge wastewater from non-breaded shrimp processing, from outfall(s) __________. 

Such discharges shall be limited and monitored by the permittee as specified below: 

EFFLUENT 

CHARACTERISTICS 

MONITORING 

REQUIREMENTS 

kg/day 

DISCHARGE LIMITATIONS 

kg/kkg Sample 

Frequency 
Sample Type 

Monthly 

Avg 

Daily 

Max 

Monthly 

Avg 

Daily 

Max 

Daily 

Min 

Flow (MGD) NA NL NA NA NA 1/3 Months Estimate 

pH (S.U.) NA NA NA 9.0 6.0 1/3 Months Grab 

BOD5 NL NL 25 63 NA 1/3 Months Composite 
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TSS NL NL 10 25 NA 1/3 Months Composite 

Oil and Grease NL NL 1.6 4.0 NA 1/3 Months Grab 

Production NA NL NA NA NA 1/3 Months Measurement 

NL = No limitation, monitoring required. 

NA = Not applicable. 

Grab = Individual grab sample is to be taken in the middle of a composite sampling period. 

Composite = Hourly grab samples taken over the duration of a processing cycle (including cleanup) combined to form one 

representative sample, not to exceed eight grab samples. 

Production = See Special Condition No. 5 (Part I B 5). 

Samples shall be collected by March 31, June 30, September 30, and December 31 and reported by the 10th of the following 

month on the facility's Discharge Monitoring Report (DMR). All calculations shall be submitted with the DMR. 

Part I 

A. EFFLUENT LIMITATIONS AND MONITORING REQUIREMENTS 

8. BREADED SHRIMP PROCESSING—EXISTING SOURCES PROCESSING MORE THAN 2,000 POUNDS OF RAW 

MATERIAL PER DAY ON ANY DAY 

During the period beginning with the permittee's coverage under this general permit and lasting until the permit's expiration 

date, the permittee is authorized to discharge wastewater from breaded shrimp processing, from outfall(s) __________. 

Such discharges shall be limited and monitored by the permittee as specified below: 

EFFLUENT 

CHARACTERISTICS 

MONITORING 

REQUIREMENTS 

kg/day 

DISCHARGE LIMITATIONS 

kg/kkg Sample 

Frequency 
Sample Type 

Monthly 

Avg 

Daily 

Max 

Monthly 

Avg 

Daily 

Max 

Daily 

Min 

Flow (MGD) NA NL NA NA NA 1/3 Months Estimate 

pH (S.U.) NA NA NA 9.0 6.0 1/3 Months Grab 

TSS NL NL 93 280 NA 1/3 Months Composite 

Oil and Grease NL NL 12 36 NA 1/3 Months Grab 

Production NA NL NA NA NA 1/3 Months Measurement 

NL = No limitation, monitoring required. 

NA = Not applicable. 

Grab = Individual grab sample is to be taken in the middle of a composite sampling period. 

Composite = Hourly grab samples taken over the duration of a processing cycle (including cleanup) combined to form one 

representative sample, not to exceed eight grab samples. 

Production = See Special Condition No. 5 (Part I B 5). 

Samples shall be collected by March 31, June 30, September 30, and December 31 and reported by the 10th of the following 

month on the facility's Discharge Monitoring Report (DMR). All calculations shall be submitted with the DMR. 

Part I 

A. EFFLUENT LIMITATIONS AND MONITORING REQUIREMENTS 

9. BREADED SHRIMP PROCESSING—ALL NEW SOURCES 

During the period beginning with the permittee's coverage under this general permit and lasting until the permit's expiration 

date, the permittee is authorized to discharge wastewater from breaded shrimp processing, from outfall(s) __________. 
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Such discharges shall be limited and monitored by the permittee as specified below: 

EFFLUENT 

CHARACTERISTICS 

MONITORING 

REQUIREMENTS 

kg/day 

DISCHARGE LIMITATIONS 

kg/kkg Sample 

Frequency 
Sample Type 

Monthly 

Avg 

Daily 

Max 

Monthly 

Avg 

Daily 

Max 

Daily 

Min 

Flow (MGD) NA NL NA NA NA 1/3 Months Estimate 

pH (S.U.) NA NA NA 9.0 6.0 1/3 Months Grab 

BOD5 NL NL 40 100 NA 1/3 Months Composite 

TSS NL NL 22 55 NA 1/3 Months Composite 

Oil and Grease NL NL 1.5 3.8 NA 1/3 Months Grab 

Production NA NL NA NA NA 1/3 Months Measurement 

NL = No limitation, monitoring required. 

NA = Not applicable. 

Grab = Individual grab sample is to be taken in the middle of a composite sampling period. 

Composite = Hourly grab samples taken over the duration of a processing cycle (including cleanup) combined to form one 

representative sample, not to exceed eight grab samples. 

Production = See Special Condition No. 5 (Part I B 5). 

Samples shall be collected by March 31, June 30, September 30, and December 31 and reported by the 10th of the following 

month on the facility's Discharge Monitoring Report (DMR). All calculations shall be submitted with the DMR. 

Part I 

A. EFFLUENT LIMITATIONS AND MONITORING REQUIREMENTS 

10. TUNA PROCESSING—ALL EXISTING SOURCES 

During the period beginning with the permittee's coverage under this general permit and lasting until the permit's expiration 

date, the permittee is authorized to discharge wastewater from tuna processing, from outfall(s) __________. 

Such discharges shall be limited and monitored by the permittee as specified below: 

EFFLUENT 

CHARACTERISTICS 

MONITORING 

REQUIREMENTS 

kg/day 

DISCHARGE LIMITATIONS 

kg/kkg Sample 

Frequency 
Sample Type 

Monthly 

Avg 

Daily 

Max 

Monthly 

Avg 

Daily 

Max 

Daily 

Min 

Flow (MGD) NA NL NA NA NA 1/3 Months Estimate 

pH (S.U.) NA NA NA 9.0 6.0 1/3 Months Grab 

TSS NL NL 3.3 8.3 NA 1/3 Months Composite 

Oil and Grease NL NL 0.84 2.1 NA 1/3 Months Grab 

Production NA NL NA NA NA 1/3 Months Measurement 

NL = No limitation, monitoring required. 

NA = Not applicable. 

Grab = Individual grab sample is to be taken in the middle of a composite sampling period. 

Composite = Hourly grab samples taken over the duration of a processing cycle (including cleanup) combined to form one 

representative sample, not to exceed eight grab samples. 

Production = See Special Condition No. 5 (Part I B 5). 
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Samples shall be collected by March 31, June 30, September 30, and December 31 and reported by the 10th of the following 

month on the facility's Discharge Monitoring Report (DMR). All calculations shall be submitted with the DMR. 

Part I 

A. EFFLUENT LIMITATIONS AND MONITORING REQUIREMENTS 

11. TUNA PROCESSING—ALL NEW SOURCES 

During the period beginning with the permittee's coverage under this general permit and lasting until the permit's expiration 

date, the permittee is authorized to discharge wastewater from tuna processing, from outfall(s) __________. 

Such discharges shall be limited and monitored by the permittee as specified below: 

EFFLUENT 

CHARACTERISTICS 

MONITORING 

REQUIREMENTS 

kg/day 

DISCHARGE LIMITATIONS 

kg/kkg Sample 

Frequency 
Sample Type 

Monthly 

Avg 

Daily 

Max 

Monthly 

Avg 

Daily 

Max 

Daily 

Min 

Flow (MGD) NA NL NA NA NA 1/3 Months Estimate 

pH (S.U.) NA NA NA 9.0 6.0 1/3 Months Grab 

BOD5 NL NL 8.1 20 NA 1/3 Months Composite 

TSS NL NL 3.0 7.5 NA 1/3 Months Composite 

Oil and Grease NL NL 0.76 1.9 NA 1/3 Months Grab 

Production NA NL NA NA NA 1/3 Months Measurement 

NL = No limitation, monitoring required. 

NA = Not applicable. 

Grab = Individual grab sample is to be taken in the middle of a composite sampling period. 

Composite = Hourly grab samples taken over the duration of a processing cycle (including cleanup) combined to form one 

representative sample, not to exceed eight grab samples. 

Production = See Special Condition No. 5 (Part I B 5). 

Samples shall be collected by March 31, June 30, September 30, and December 31 and reported by the 10th of the following 

month on the facility's Discharge Monitoring Report (DMR). All calculations shall be submitted with the DMR. 

Part I 

A. EFFLUENT LIMITATIONS AND MONITORING REQUIREMENTS 

12. CONVENTIONAL BOTTOM FISH PROCESSING—EXISTING SOURCES PROCESSING MORE THAN 4,000 

POUNDS OF RAW MATERIAL PER DAY ON ANY DAY 

During the period beginning with the permittee's coverage under this general permit and lasting until the permit's expiration 

date, the permittee is authorized to discharge wastewater from conventional bottom fish processing, from outfall(s) 

__________. 

Such discharges shall be limited and monitored by the permittee as specified below: 

EFFLUENT 

CHARACTERISTICS 

MONITORING 

REQUIREMENTS 

kg/day 

DISCHARGE LIMITATIONS 

kg/kkg Sample 

Frequency 
Sample Type 

Monthly 

Avg 

Daily 

Max 

Monthly 

Avg 

Daily 

Max 

Daily 

Min 

Flow (MGD) NA NL NA NA NA 1/3 Months Estimate 
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pH (S.U.) NA NA NA 9.0 6.0 1/3 Months Grab 

TSS NL NL 2.0 3.6 NA 1/3 Months Composite 

Oil and Grease NL NL 0.55 1.0 NA 1/3 Months Grab 

Production NA NL NA NA NA 1/3 Months Measurement 

NL = No limitation, monitoring required. 

NA = Not applicable. 

Grab = Individual grab sample is to be taken in the middle of a composite sampling period. 

Composite = Hourly grab samples taken over the duration of a processing cycle (including cleanup) combined to form one 

representative sample, not to exceed eight grab samples. 

Production = See Special Condition No. 5 (Part I B 5). 

Samples shall be collected by March 31, June 30, September 30, and December 31 and reported by the 10th of the following 

month on the facility's Discharge Monitoring Report (DMR). All calculations shall be submitted with the DMR. 

Part I 

A. EFFLUENT LIMITATIONS AND MONITORING REQUIREMENTS 

13. CONVENTIONAL BOTTOM FISH PROCESSING—ALL NEW SOURCES 

During the period beginning with the permittee's coverage under this general permit and lasting until the permit's expiration 

date, the permittee is authorized to discharge wastewater from conventional bottom fish processing, from outfall(s) 

__________. 

Such discharges shall be limited and monitored by the permittee as specified below: 

EFFLUENT 

CHARACTERISTICS 

MONITORING 

REQUIREMENTS 

kg/day 

DISCHARGE LIMITATIONS 

kg/kkg Sample 

Frequency 
Sample Type 

Monthly 

Avg 

Daily 

Max 

Monthly 

Avg 

Daily 

Max 

Daily 

Min 

Flow (MGD) NA NL NA NA NA 1/3 Months Estimate 

pH (S.U.) NA NA NA 9.0 6.0 1/3 Months Grab 

BOD5 NL NL 0.71 1.2 NA 1/3 Months Composite 

TSS NL NL 0.73 1.5 NA 1/3 Months Composite 

Oil and Grease NL NL 0.042 0.077 NA 1/3 Months Grab 

Production NA NL NA NA NA 1/3 Months Measurement 

NL = No limitation, monitoring required. 

NA = Not applicable. 

Grab = Individual grab sample is to be taken in the middle of a composite sampling period. 

Composite = Hourly grab samples taken over the duration of a processing cycle (including cleanup) combined to form one 

representative sample, not to exceed eight grab samples. 

Production = See Special Condition No. 5 (Part I B 5). 

Samples shall be collected by March 31, June 30, September 30, and December 31 and reported by the 10th of the following 

month on the facility's Discharge Monitoring Report (DMR). All calculations shall be submitted with the DMR. 
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Part I 

A. EFFLUENT LIMITATIONS AND MONITORING REQUIREMENTS 

14. MECHANIZED BOTTOM FISH PROCESSING—ALL EXISTING SOURCES 

During the period beginning with the permittee's coverage under this general permit and lasting until the permit's expiration 

date, the permittee is authorized to discharge wastewater from mechanized bottom fish processing, from outfall(s) __________. 

Such discharges shall be limited and monitored by the permittee as specified below: 

EFFLUENT 

CHARACTERISTICS 

MONITORING 

REQUIREMENTS 

kg/day 

DISCHARGE LIMITATIONS 

kg/kkg Sample 

Frequency 
Sample Type 

Monthly 

Avg 

Daily 

Max 

Monthly 

Avg 

Daily 

Max 

Daily 

Min 

Flow (MGD) NA NL NA NA NA 1/3 Months Estimate 

pH (S.U.) NA NA NA 9.0 6.0 1/3 Months Grab 

TSS NL NL 12 22 NA 1/3 Months Composite 

Oil and Grease NL NL 3.9 9.9 NA 1/3 Months Grab 

Production NA NL NA NA NA 1/3 Months Measurement 

NL = No limitation, monitoring required. 

NA = Not applicable. 

Grab = Individual grab sample is to be taken in the middle of a composite sampling period. 

Composite = Hourly grab samples taken over the duration of a processing cycle (including cleanup) combined to form one 

representative sample, not to exceed eight grab samples. 

Production = See Special Condition No. 5 (Part I B 5). 

Samples shall be collected by March 31, June 30, September 30, and December 31 and reported by the 10th of the following 

month on the facility's Discharge Monitoring Report (DMR). All calculations shall be submitted with the DMR. 

Part I 

A. EFFLUENT LIMITATIONS AND MONITORING REQUIREMENTS 

15. MECHANIZED BOTTOM FISH PROCESSING—ALL NEW SOURCES 

During the period beginning with the permittee's coverage under this general permit and lasting until the permit's expiration 

date, the permittee is authorized to discharge wastewater from mechanized bottom fish processing, from outfall(s) __________. 

Such discharges shall be limited and monitored by the permittee as specified below: 

EFFLUENT 

CHARACTERISTICS 

MONITORING 

REQUIREMENTS 

kg/day 

DISCHARGE LIMITATIONS 

kg/kkg Sample 

Frequency 
Sample Type 

Monthly 

Avg 

Daily 

Max 

Monthly 

Avg 

Daily 

Max 

Daily 

Min 

Flow (MGD) NA NL NA NA NA 1/3 Months Estimate 

pH (S.U.) NA NA NA 9.0 6.0 1/3 Months Grab 

BOD5 NL NL 7.5 13 NA 1/3 Months Composite 

TSS NL NL 2.9 5.3 NA 1/3 Months Composite 

Oil and Grease NL NL 0.47 1.2 NA 1/3 Months Grab 

Production NA NL NA NA NA 1/3 Months Measurement 
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NL = No limitation, monitoring required. 

NA = Not applicable. 

Grab = Individual grab sample is to be taken in the middle of a composite sampling period. 

Composite = Hourly grab samples taken over the duration of a processing cycle (including cleanup) combined to form one 

representative sample, not to exceed eight grab samples. 

Production = See Special Condition No. 5 (Part I B 5). 

Samples shall be collected by March 31, June 30, September 30, and December 31 and reported by the 10th of the following 

month on the facility's Discharge Monitoring Report (DMR). All calculations shall be submitted with the DMR. 

Part I 

A. EFFLUENT LIMITATIONS AND MONITORING REQUIREMENTS 

16. HAND-SHUCKED CLAM PROCESSING—EXISTING SOURCES PROCESSING MORE THAN 4,000 POUNDS OF 

RAW MATERIAL PER DAY ON ANY DAY 

During the period beginning with the permittee's coverage under this general permit and lasting until the permit's expiration 

date, the permittee is authorized to discharge wastewater from hand-shucked clam processing, from outfall(s) __________. 

Such discharges shall be limited and monitored by the permittee as specified below: 

EFFLUENT 

CHARACTERISTICS 

MONITORING 

REQUIREMENTS 

kg/day 

DISCHARGE LIMITATIONS 

kg/kkg Sample 

Frequency 
Sample Type 

Monthly 

Avg 

Daily 

Max 

Monthly 

Avg 

Daily 

Max 

Daily 

Min 

Flow (MGD) NA NL NA NA NA 1/3 Months Estimate 

pH (S.U.) NA NA NA 9.0 6.0 1/3 Months Grab 

TSS NL NL 18 59 NA 1/3 Months Composite 

Oil and Grease NL NL 0.23 0.60 NA 1/3 Months Grab 

Production NA NL NA NA NA 1/3 Months Measurement 

NL = No limitation, monitoring required. 

NA = Not applicable. 

Grab = Individual grab sample is to be taken in the middle of a composite sampling period. 

Composite = Hourly grab samples taken over the duration of a processing cycle (including cleanup) combined to form one 

representative sample, not to exceed eight grab samples. 

Production = See Special Condition No. 5 (Part I B 5). 

Samples shall be collected by March 31, June 30, September 30, and December 31 and reported by the 10th of the following 

month on the facility's Discharge Monitoring Report (DMR). All calculations shall be submitted with the DMR. 

Part I 

A. EFFLUENT LIMITATIONS AND MONITORING REQUIREMENTS 

17. HAND-SHUCKED CLAM PROCESSING—ALL NEW SOURCES 

During the period beginning with the permittee's coverage under this general permit and lasting until the permit's expiration 

date, the permittee is authorized to discharge wastewater from hand-shucked clam processing, from outfall(s) __________. 
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Such discharges shall be limited and monitored by the permittee as specified below: 

EFFLUENT 

CHARACTERISTICS 

MONITORING 

REQUIREMENTS 

kg/day 

DISCHARGE LIMITATIONS 

kg/kkg Sample 

Frequency 
Sample Type 

Monthly 

Avg 

Daily 

Max 

Monthly 

Avg 

Daily 

Max 

Daily 

Min 

Flow (MGD) NA NL NA NA NA 1/3 Months Estimate 

pH (S.U.) NA NA NA 9.0 6.0 1/3 Months Grab 

TSS NL NL 17 55 NA 1/3 Months Composite 

Oil and Grease NL NL 0.21 0.56 NA 1/3 Months Grab 

Production NA NL NA NA NA 1/3 Months Measurement 

NL = No limitation, monitoring required. 

NA = Not applicable. 

Grab = Individual grab sample is to be taken in the middle of a composite sampling period. 

Composite = Hourly grab samples taken over the duration of a processing cycle (including cleanup) combined to form one 

representative sample, not to exceed eight grab samples. 

Production = See Special Condition No. 5 (Part I B 5). 

Samples shall be collected by March 31, June 30, September 30, and December 31 and reported by the 10th of the following 

month on the facility's Discharge Monitoring Report (DMR). All calculations shall be submitted with the DMR. 

Part I 

A. EFFLUENT LIMITATIONS AND MONITORING REQUIREMENTS 

18. HAND-SHUCKED OYSTER PROCESSING—EXISTING SOURCES PROCESSING MORE THAN 1,000 POUNDS 

OF RAW MATERIAL PER DAY ON ANY DAY 

During the period beginning with the permittee's coverage under this general permit and lasting until the permit's expiration 

date, the permittee is authorized to discharge wastewater from hand-shucked oyster processing, from outfall(s) __________. 

Such discharges shall be limited and monitored by the permittee as specified below: 

EFFLUENT 

CHARACTERISTICS 

MONITORING 

REQUIREMENTS 

kg/day 

DISCHARGE LIMITATIONS 

kg/kkg Sample 

Frequency 
Sample Type 

Monthly 

Avg 

Daily 

Max 

Monthly 

Avg 

Daily 

Max 

Daily 

Min 

Flow (MGD) NA NL NA NA NA 1/3 Months Estimate 

pH (S.U.) NA NA NA 9.0 6.0 1/3 Months Grab 

TSS NL NL 16 23 NA 1/3 Months Composite 

Oil and Grease NL NL 0.77 1.1 NA 1/3 Months Grab 

Production NA NL NA NA NA 1/3 Months Measurement 

NL = No limitation, monitoring required. 

NA = Not applicable. 

Raw material = The weight of oyster meat after shucking. 

Grab = Individual grab sample is to be taken in the middle of a composite sampling period. 

Composite = Hourly grab samples taken over the duration of a processing cycle (including cleanup) combined to form one 

representative sample, not to exceed eight grab samples. 
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Production = See Special Condition No. 5 (Part I B 5). 

Samples shall be collected by March 31, June 30, September 30, and December 31 and reported by the 10th of the following 

month on the facility's Discharge Monitoring Report (DMR). All calculations shall be submitted with the DMR. 

Part I 

A. EFFLUENT LIMITATIONS AND MONITORING REQUIREMENTS 

19. HAND-SHUCKED OYSTER PROCESSING—ALL NEW SOURCES 

During the period beginning with the permittee's coverage under this general permit and lasting until the permit's expiration 

date, the permittee is authorized to discharge wastewater from hand-shucked oyster processing, from outfall(s) __________. 

Such discharges shall be limited and monitored by the permittee as specified below: 

EFFLUENT 

CHARACTERISTICS 

MONITORING 

REQUIREMENTS 

kg/day 

DISCHARGE LIMITATIONS 

kg/kkg Sample 

Frequency 
Sample Type 

Monthly 

Avg 

Daily 

Max 

Monthly 

Avg 

Daily 

Max 

Daily 

Min 

Flow (MGD) NA NL NA NA NA 1/3 Months Estimate 

pH (S.U.) NA NA NA 9.0 6.0 1/3 Months Grab 

TSS NL NL 16 23 NA 1/3 Months Composite 

Oil and Grease NL NL 0.77 1.1 NA 1/3 Months Grab 

Production NA NL NA NA NA 1/3 Months Measurement 

NL = No limitation, monitoring required. 

NA = Not applicable. 

Grab = Individual grab sample is to be taken in the middle of a composite sampling period. 

Composite = Hourly grab samples taken over the duration of a processing cycle (including cleanup) combined to form one 

representative sample, not to exceed eight grab samples. 

Production = See Special Condition No. 5 (Part I B 5). 

Samples shall be collected by March 31, June 30, September 30, and December 31 and reported by the 10th of the following 

month on the facility's Discharge Monitoring Report (DMR). All calculations shall be submitted with the DMR. 

Part I 

A. EFFLUENT LIMITATIONS AND MONITORING REQUIREMENTS 

20. STEAMED AND CANNED OYSTER PROCESSING—ALL EXISTING SOURCES 

During the period beginning with the permittee's coverage under this general permit and lasting until the permit's expiration 

date, the permittee is authorized to discharge wastewater from mechanized oyster processing, from outfall(s) __________. 

Such discharges shall be limited and monitored by the permittee as specified below: 

EFFLUENT 

CHARACTERISTICS 

MONITORING 

REQUIREMENTS 

kg/day 

DISCHARGE LIMITATIONS 

kg/kkg Sample 

Frequency 
Sample Type 

Monthly 

Avg 

Daily 

Max 

Monthly 

Avg 

Daily 

Max 

Daily 

Min 

Flow (MGD) NA NL NA NA NA 1/3 Months Estimate 

pH (S.U.) NA NA NA 9.0 6.0 1/3 Months Grab 

TSS NL NL 190 270 NA 1/3 Months Composite 
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Oil and Grease NL NL 1.7 2.3 NA 1/3 Months Grab 

Production NA NL NA NA NA 1/3 Months Measurement 

NL = No limitation, monitoring required. 

NA = Not applicable. 

Grab = Individual grab sample is to be taken in the middle of a composite sampling period. 

Composite = Hourly grab samples taken over the duration of a processing cycle (including cleanup) combined to form one 

representative sample, not to exceed eight grab samples. 

Production = See Special Condition No. 5 (Part I B 5). 

Samples shall be collected by March 31, June 30, September 30, and December 31 and reported by the 10th of the following 

month on the facility's Discharge Monitoring Report (DMR). All calculations shall be submitted with the DMR. 

Part I 

A. EFFLUENT LIMITATIONS AND MONITORING REQUIREMENTS 

21. STEAMED AND CANNED OYSTER PROCESSING—ALL NEW SOURCES 

During the period beginning with the permittee's coverage under this general permit and lasting until the permit's expiration 

date, the permittee is authorized to discharge wastewater from mechanized oyster processing, from outfall(s) __________. 

Such discharges shall be limited and monitored by the permittee as specified below: 

EFFLUENT 

CHARACTERISTICS 

MONITORING 

REQUIREMENTS 

kg/day 

DISCHARGE LIMITATIONS 

kg/kkg Sample 

Frequency 
Sample Type 

Monthly 

Avg 

Daily 

Max 

Monthly 

Avg 

Daily 

Max 

Daily 

Min 

Flow (MGD) NA NL NA NA NA 1/3 Months Estimate 

pH (S.U.) NA NA NA 9.0 6.0 1/3 Months Grab 

BOD5 NL NL 17 67 NA 1/3 Months Composite 

TSS NL NL 39 56 NA 1/3 Months Composite 

Oil and Grease NL NL 0.42 0.84 NA 1/3 Months Grab 

Production NA NL NA NA NA 1/3 Months Measurement 

NL = No limitation, monitoring required. 

NA = Not applicable. 

Grab = Individual grab sample is to be taken in the middle of a composite sampling period. 

Composite = Hourly grab samples taken over the duration of a processing cycle (including cleanup) combined to form one 

representative sample, not to exceed eight grab samples. 

Production = See Special Condition No. 5 (Part I B 5). 

Samples shall be collected by March 31, June 30, September 30, and December 31 and reported by the 10th of the following 

month on the facility's Discharge Monitoring Report (DMR). All calculations shall be submitted with the DMR. 

Part I 

A. EFFLUENT LIMITATIONS AND MONITORING REQUIREMENTS 

22. SCALLOP PROCESSING—ALL EXISTING SOURCES 

During the period beginning with the permittee's coverage under this general permit and lasting until the permit's expiration 

date, the permittee is authorized to discharge wastewater from scallop processing, from outfall(s) __________. 
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Such discharges shall be limited and monitored by the permittee as specified below: 

EFFLUENT 

CHARACTERISTICS 

MONITORING 

REQUIREMENTS 

kg/day 

DISCHARGE LIMITATIONS 

kg/kkg Sample 

Frequency 
Sample Type 

Monthly 

Avg 

Daily 

Max 

Monthly 

Avg 

Daily 

Max 

Daily 

Min 

Flow (MGD) NA NL NA NA NA 1/3 Months Estimate 

pH (S.U.) NA NA NA 9.0 6.0 1/3 Months Grab 

TSS NL NL 1.4 5.7 NA 1/3 Months Composite 

Oil and Grease NL NL 0.23 7.3 NA 1/3 Months Grab 

Production NA NL NA NA NA 1/3 Months Measurement 

NL = No limitation, monitoring required. 

NA = Not applicable. 

Grab = Individual grab sample is to be taken in the middle of a composite sampling period. 

Composite = Hourly grab samples taken over the duration of a processing cycle (including cleanup) combined to form one 

representative sample, not to exceed eight grab samples. 

Production = See Special Condition No. 5 (Part I B 5). 

Samples shall be collected by March 31, June 30, September 30, and December 31 and reported by the 10th of the following 

month on the facility's Discharge Monitoring Report (DMR). All calculations shall be submitted with the DMR. 

Part I 

A. EFFLUENT LIMITATIONS AND MONITORING REQUIREMENTS 

23. SCALLOP PROCESSING—ALL NEW SOURCES 

During the period beginning with the permittee's coverage under this general permit and lasting until the permit's expiration 

date, the permittee is authorized to discharge wastewater from scallop processing, from outfall(s) __________. 

Such discharges shall be limited and monitored by the permittee as specified below: 

EFFLUENT 

CHARACTERISTICS 

MONITORING 

REQUIREMENTS 

kg/day 

DISCHARGE LIMITATIONS 

kg/kkg Sample 

Frequency 
Sample Type 

Monthly 

Avg 

Daily 

Max 

Monthly 

Avg 

Daily 

Max 

Daily 

Min 

Flow (MGD) NA NL NA NA NA 1/3 Months Estimate 

pH (S.U.) NA NA NA 9.0 6.0 1/3 Months Grab 

TSS NL NL 1.4 5.7 NA 1/3 Months Composite 

Oil and Grease NL NL 0.23 7.3 NA 1/3 Months Grab 

Production NA NL NA NA NA 1/3 Months Measurement 

NL = No limitation, monitoring required. 

NA = Not applicable. 

Grab = Individual grab sample is to be taken in the middle of a composite sampling period. 

Composite = Hourly grab samples taken over the duration of a processing cycle (including cleanup) combined to form one 

representative sample, not to exceed eight grab samples. 

Production = See Special Condition No. 5 (Part I B 5). 
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Samples shall be collected by March 31, June 30, September 30, and December 31 and reported by the 10th of the following 

month on the facility's Discharge Monitoring Report (DMR). All calculations shall be submitted with the DMR. 

Part I 

A. EFFLUENT LIMITATIONS AND MONITORING REQUIREMENTS 

24. FARM-RAISED CATFISH PROCESSING—EXISTING SOURCES PROCESSING MORE THAN 3,000 POUNDS OF 

RAW MATERIAL PER DAY ON ANY DAY 

During the period beginning with the permittee's coverage under this general permit and lasting until the permit's expiration 

date, the permittee is authorized to discharge wastewater from farm-raised catfish processing, from outfall(s) __________. 

Such discharges shall be limited and monitored by the permittee as specified below: 

EFFLUENT 

CHARACTERISTICS 

MONITORING 

REQUIREMENTS 

kg/day 

DISCHARGE LIMITATIONS 

kg/kkg Sample 

Frequency 
Sample Type 

Monthly 

Avg 

Daily 

Max 

Monthly 

Avg 

Daily 

Max 

Daily 

Min 

Flow (MGD) NA NL NA NA NA 1/3 Months Estimate 

pH (S.U.) NA NA NA 9.0 6.0 1/3 Months Grab 

TSS NL NL 9.2 28 NA 1/3 Months Composite 

Oil and Grease NL NL 3.4 10 NA 1/3 Months Grab 

Production NA NL NA NA NA 1/3 Months Measurement 

NL = No limitation, monitoring required. 

NA = Not applicable. 

Grab = Individual grab sample is to be taken in the middle of a composite sampling period. 

Composite = Hourly grab samples taken over the duration of a processing cycle (including cleanup) combined to form one 

representative sample, not to exceed eight grab samples. 

Production = See Special Condition No. 5 (Part I B 5). 

Samples shall be collected by March 31, June 30, September 30, and December 31 and reported by the 10th of the following 

month on the facility's Discharge Monitoring Report (DMR). All calculations shall be submitted with the DMR. 

Part I 

A. EFFLUENT LIMITATIONS AND MONITORING REQUIREMENTS 

25. FARM-RAISED CATFISH PROCESSING—ALL NEW SOURCES 

During the period beginning with the permittee's coverage under this general permit and lasting until the permit's expiration 

date, the permittee is authorized to discharge wastewater from farm-raised catfish processing, from outfall(s) __________. 

Such discharges shall be limited and monitored by the permittee as specified below: 

EFFLUENT 

CHARACTERISTICS 

MONITORING 

REQUIREMENTS 

kg/day 

DISCHARGE LIMITATIONS 

kg/kkg Sample 

Frequency 
Sample Type 

Monthly 

Avg 

Daily 

Max 

Monthly 

Avg 

Daily 

Max 

Daily 

Min 

Flow (MGD) NA NL NA NA NA 1/3 Months Estimate 

pH (S.U.) NA NA NA 9.0 6.0 1/3 Months Grab 

BOD5 NL NL 2.3 4.6 NA 1/3 Months Composite 



Regulations 

Volume 37, Issue 12  Virginia Register of Regulations  February 1, 2021 

1189 

TSS NL NL 5.7 11 NA 1/3 Months Composite 

Oil and Grease NL NL 0.45 0.90 NA 1/3 Months Grab 

Production NA NL NA NA NA 1/3 Months Measurement 

NL = No limitation, monitoring required. 

NA = Not applicable. 

Grab = Individual grab sample is to be taken in the middle of a composite sampling period. 

Composite = Hourly grab samples taken over the duration of a processing cycle (including cleanup) combined to form one 

representative sample, not to exceed eight grab samples. 

Production = See Special Condition No. 5 (Part I B 5). 

Samples shall be collected by March 31, June 30, September 30, and December 31 and reported by the 10th of the following 

month on the facility's Discharge Monitoring Report (DMR). All calculations shall be submitted with the DMR. 

Part I 

A. EFFLUENT LIMITATIONS AND MONITORING REQUIREMENTS 

26. HERRING PROCESSING—ALL 

During the period beginning with the permittee's coverage under this general permit and lasting until the permit's expiration 

date, the permittee is authorized to discharge wastewater from herring processing, from outfall(s) __________. 

Such discharges shall be limited and monitored by the permittee as specified below: 

EFFLUENT 

CHARACTERISTICS 

MONITORING 

REQUIREMENTS 

kg/day 

DISCHARGE LIMITATIONS 

kg/kkg Sample 

Frequency 
Sample Type 

Monthly 

Avg 

Daily 

Max 

Monthly 

Avg 

Daily 

Max 

Daily 

Min 

Flow (MGD) NA NL NA NA NA 1/3 Months Estimate 

pH (S.U.) NA NA NA 9.0 6.0 1/3 Months Grab 

TSS NL NL 24 32 NA 1/3 Months Composite 

Oil and Grease NL NL 10 27 NA 1/3 Months Grab 

Production NA NL NA NA NA 1/3 Months Measurement 

NL = No limitation, monitoring required. 

NA = Not applicable. 

Grab = Individual grab sample is to be taken in the middle of a composite sampling period. 

Composite = Hourly grab samples taken over the duration of a processing cycle (including cleanup) combined to form one 

representative sample, not to exceed eight grab samples. 

Production = See Special Condition No. 5 (Part I B 5). 

Samples shall be collected by March 31, June 30, September 30, and December 31 and reported by the 10th of the following 

month on the facility's Discharge Monitoring Report (DMR). All calculations shall be submitted with the DMR. 

Part I 

A. EFFLUENT LIMITATIONS AND MONITORING REQUIREMENTS 

27. HERRING PROCESSING—ALL NEW SOURCES 

During the period beginning with the permittee's coverage under this general permit and lasting until the permit's expiration 

date, the permittee is authorized to discharge wastewater from herring processing, from outfall(s) __________. 
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Such discharges shall be limited and monitored by the permittee as specified below: 

EFFLUENT 

CHARACTERISTICS 

MONITORING 

REQUIREMENTS 

kg/day 

DISCHARGE LIMITATIONS 

kg/kkg Sample 

Frequency 
Sample Type 

Monthly 

Avg 

Daily 

Max 

Monthly 

Avg 

Daily 

Max 

Daily 

Min 

Flow (MGD) NA NL NA NA NA 1/3 Months Estimate 

pH (S.U.) NA NA NA 9.0 6.0 1/3 Months Grab 

BOD5 NL NL 15 16 NA 1/3 Months Composite 

TSS NL NL 5.2 7.0 NA 1/3 Months Composite 

Oil and Grease NL NL 1.1 2.9 NA 1/3 Months Grab 

Production NA NL NA NA NA 1/3 Months Measurement 

NL = No limitation, monitoring required. 

NA = Not applicable. 

Grab = Individual grab sample is to be taken in the middle of a composite sampling period. 

Composite = Hourly grab samples taken over the duration of a processing cycle (including cleanup) combined to form one 

representative sample, not to exceed eight grab samples. 

Production = See Special Condition No. 5 (Part I B 5). 

Samples shall be collected by March 31, June 30, September 30, and December 31 and reported by the 10th of the following 

month on the facility's Discharge Monitoring Report (DMR). All calculations shall be submitted with the DMR. 

B. SPECIAL CONDITIONS APPLYING TO PART I A 1 

THROUGH PART I A 27. 

1. No sewage shall be discharged from a point source to 

surface waters at this facility except under the provisions of 

another VPDES permit specifically issued for that purpose. 

2. There shall be no chemicals added to the water or waste 

to be discharged, other than those listed on the owner's 

accepted registration statement. 

3. Wastewater should be reused or recycled to the maximum 

extent practicable. 

4. The permittee shall comply with the following solids 

management plan: 

a. There shall be no discharge of floating solids or visible 

foam in other than trace amounts. 

b. All floors, machinery, conveyor belts, dock areas, etc. 

shall be dry swept or dry brushed prior to washdown. 

c. All settling basins shall be cleaned frequently in order 

to achieve effective settling. 

d. All solids resulting from the seafood processes covered 

under this general permit, other than oyster, clam, or 

scallop shells, shall be handled, stored, and disposed of so 

as to prevent a discharge to state waters of such solids or 

industrial wastes or other wastes from those solids. 

e. The permittee shall install and properly maintain 

wastewater treatment necessary in order to remove 

organic solids present in the wastewater that may settle 

and accumulate on the substrate of the receiving waters in 

other than trace amounts. 

f. All employees shall receive training relative to 

preventive measures to be taken to control the release of 

solids from the facility into surface waters. 

5. Production to be reported and used in calculating effluent 

discharge levels in terms of kg/kkg shall be the weight in 

kilograms of raw material processed, in the form in which it is 

received at the processing plant, on the day of effluent 

sampling, except for the hand-shucked oyster, steamed and 

canned oyster, and scallop processing subcategories, for which 

production shall mean the weight of oyster or scallop meat after 

processing. The effluent levels in terms of kg/kkg shall be 

calculated by dividing the measured pollutant load in kg/day by 

the production level in kkg (thousands of kilograms). 

6. The permittee shall notify the department as soon as they 

know or have reason to believe: 

a. That any activity has occurred or will occur that would 

result in the discharge on a routine or frequent basis of any 

toxic pollutant that is not limited in the permit, if that 

discharge will exceed the highest of the following 

notification levels: 

(1) One hundred micrograms per liter (100 μg/l) of the 

toxic pollutant; 

(2) Two hundred micrograms per liter (200 μg/l) for 

acrolein and acrylonitrile; five hundred micrograms per 

liter (500 μg/l) for 2,4-dinitrophenol and for 2-methyl-4,6-
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dinitrophenol; and one milligram per liter (1 mg/l) for 

antimony; 

(3) Five times the maximum concentration value reported 

for that pollutant in the permit application; or 

(4) The level established by the board. 

b. That any activity has occurred or will occur that would 

result in any discharge on a nonroutine or infrequent basis 

of a toxic pollutant that is not limited in the permit if that 

discharge will exceed the highest of the following 

notification levels: 

(1) Five hundred micrograms per liter (500 μg/l) of the 

toxic pollutant; 

(2) One milligram per liter (1 mg/l) for antimony; 

(3) Ten times the maximum concentration value reported 

for that pollutant in the permit application; or 

(4) The level established by the board. 

7. Compliance reporting and recordkeeping under Part I A. 

a. The quantification levels (QL) shall be less than or equal 

to the following concentrations: 

Effluent Parameter Quantification Level 

BOD 2 mg/l 

TSS 1.0 mg/l 

Oil and Grease 5.0 mg/l 

The QL is defined as the lowest concentration used to 

calibrate a measurement system in accordance with the 

procedures published for the test method. 

b. Recording results. Any concentration below the QL 

used in the analysis shall be recorded as "<QL" if it is less 

than the QL used in the analysis (the QL must be less than 

or equal to the QL in subdivision 7 a of this subsection. 

Otherwise the numerical value shall be recorded. 

c. Monitoring results shall be recorded using the same 

number of significant digits as listed in the permit. 

Regardless of the rounding conventions used by the 

permittee (e.g., five always rounding up or to the nearest 

even number), the permittee shall use the convention 

consistently, and shall ensure that consulting laboratories 

employed by the permittee use the same convention. 

8. The discharges authorized by this permit shall be 

controlled as necessary to meet water quality standards in 

9VAC25-260. 

9. If a new process is added after coverage under the general 

permit is obtained, an amended registration statement must 

be submitted at least 30 60 days prior to commencing 

operation of the new process or a later submittal approved 

by the board. 

10. Notice of termination. 

a. The owner may terminate coverage under this general 

permit by filing a complete notice of termination. The 

notice of termination may be filed after one or more of the 

following conditions have been met: 

(1) Operations have ceased at the facility and there are no 

longer discharges of process wastewater or stormwater 

associated with the industrial activity; 

(2) A new owner has assumed responsibility for the 

facility. A notice of termination does not have to be 

submitted if a VPDES Change of Ownership Agreement 

Form has been submitted; 

(3) All discharges associated with this facility have been 

covered by an individual VPDES permit or an alternative 

VPDES permit; or 

(4) Termination of coverage is being requested for another 

reason, provided the board agrees that coverage under this 

general permit is no longer needed. 

b. The notice of termination shall contain the following 

information: 

(1) Owner's name, mailing address, telephone number, 

and email address (if available); 

(2) Facility name and location; 

(3) VPDES general permit registration number for the 

facility; and 

(4) The basis for submitting the notice of termination, 

including: 

(a) A statement indicating that a new owner has assumed 

responsibility for the facility; 

(b) A statement indicating that operations have ceased at 

the facility, and there are no longer discharges from the 

facility; 

(c) A statement indicating that all discharges have been 

covered by an individual VPDES permit or an alternative 

VPDES permit; or 

(d) A statement indicating that termination of coverage is 

being requested for another reason (state the reason). 

(5) The following certification: "I certify under penalty of 

law that all wastewater and stormwater discharges from 

the identified facility that are authorized by this VPDES 

general permit have been eliminated, or covered under a 

VPDES individual or alternative permit, or that I am no 

longer the owner of the facility, or permit coverage should 

be terminated for another reason listed above. I understand 

that by submitting this notice of termination, that I am no 

longer authorized to discharge seafood processing 

wastewater or, for facilities classified as SIC Code 2091 

or 2092, stormwater associated with industrial activity in 

accordance with the general permit, and that discharging 

pollutants to surface waters is unlawful where the 

discharge is not authorized by a VPDES permit. I also 

understand that the submittal of this notice of termination 
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does not release an owner from liability for any violations 

of this permit or the Clean Water Act." 

C. c. The notice of termination shall be submitted to the 

department and signed in accordance with Part III K. 

Part II 

Stormwater Pollution Prevention Plans Stormwater 

Management 

A stormwater pollution prevention plan (SWPPP) shall be 

developed for each facility covered by this permit, The 

following stormwater management requirements apply only to 

seafood processors classified as Standard Industrial 

Classifications (SIC) Codes 2091 and 2092. 

A. Monitoring and inspections. 

1. Quarterly visual monitoring of stormwater quality. The 

permittee shall perform and document visual monitoring of 

stormwater discharges associated with industrial activity 

from each outfall, except discharges waived in subdivision d 

of this subsection. The visual monitoring must be made 

during normal working hours, at least once in each of the 

following three-month periods: January through March, 

April through June, July through September, and October 

through December. 

a. Samples will be in clean, colorless glass or plastic 

containers and examined in a well-lit area; 

b. Samples will be collected within the first 30 minutes (or 

as soon thereafter as practical, but not to exceed three 

hours, provided that the permittee explains in the 

stormwater pollution prevention plan (SWPPP) why an 

examination during the first 30 minutes was impractical) 

of when the runoff or snowmelt begins discharging. All 

such samples shall be collected from the discharge 

resulting from a storm event that results in an actual 

discharge from the site (defined as a "measurable storm 

event") providing the interval from the preceding 

measurable storm event is at least 72 hours. The required 

72-hour storm event interval is waived where the 

preceding measurable storm event did not result in a 

measurable discharge from the facility. The 72-hour storm 

event interval may also be waived where the permittee 

documents that less than a 72-hour interval is 

representative for local storm events during the season 

when sampling is being conducted. 

c. The examination shall observe color, odor, clarity, 

floating solids, settled solids, suspended solids, foam, oil 

sheen, and other obvious indicators of stormwater 

pollution.  

d. If no qualifying storm event resulted in discharge from 

the facility during a monitoring period, or adverse weather 

conditions create dangerous conditions for personnel 

during each measurable storm event during a monitoring 

period, visual monitoring is exempted provided this is 

documented in the SWPPP. Acceptable documentation 

includes dates and times the outfalls were viewed or 

sampling was attempted, national Climatic Data Center 

weather station data, local weather station data, facility 

rainfall logs, and other appropriate supporting data. 

e. Representative outfalls – substantially identical 

stormwater discharges. If the facility has two or more 

outfalls that discharge substantially identical stormwater 

effluents, based on similarities of the industrial activities, 

significant materials, size of drainage areas, frequency of 

discharges, and stormwater management practices 

occurring within the drainage areas of the outfalls, the 

permittee may conduct quarterly visual monitoring on the 

stormwater discharges of just one representative outfall.  

f. Visual monitoring reports shall be maintained on-site 

with the SWPPP. The report shall include: 

(1) Outfall location;  

(2) Monitoring date and time;  

(3) Duration of storm event;  

(4) Rainfall measurement or estimate (in inches) of the 

storm event that generated the discharge;  

(5) Duration between the storm event sampled and the end 

of the previous measurable storm event;  

(6) Monitoring personnel;  

(7) Nature of the discharge (i.e., runoff or snow melt);  

(8) Visual quality of the stormwater discharge, including 

observations of color, odor, clarity, floating solids, settled 

solids, suspended solids, foam, oil sheen, and other 

obvious indicators of stormwater pollution;  

(9) Probable sources of any observed stormwater 

contamination;  

(10) Why it was not possible to take the sample within the 

first 30 minutes (if applicable); and 

(11) Documentation to support substantially identical 

outfalls (if applicable) required by Part II A 1 e. 

g. Corrective action. Whenever the visual monitoring 

shows evidence of stormwater pollution, the SWPPP and 

stormwater control measures shall be updated per Part II 

B. 

2. Routine facility inspections. Personnel who possess the 

knowledge and skills to assess conditions and activities that 

could impact stormwater quality at the facility and who can 

also evaluate the effectiveness of control measures shall 

regularly inspect all areas of the facility where industrial 

materials or activities are exposed to stormwater.  

a. Inspections include loading and unloading areas, 

storage areas, including associated containment areas, 

waste management units, vents and stacks emanating from 

industrial activities, spoiled product and broken product 

container hold areas, animal holding pens, staging areas, 

air pollution control equipment, areas where spills or leaks 
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have occurred in the past three years, discharge points, and 

control measures.  

b. At least one member of the pollution prevention team 

shall participate in the routine facility inspections. 

c. The inspection frequency shall be specified in the 

SWPPP based upon a consideration of the level of 

industrial activity at the facility but shall be at a minimum 

of once per calendar quarter unless written approval is 

received from the department for less frequent intervals. 

Inspections shall be performed during operating hours. At 

least once each calendar year, the routine facility 

inspection shall be conducted during a period when a 

stormwater discharge is occurring.  

d. Any deficiencies in the implementation of the SWPPP 

that are found shall be corrected as soon as practicable, but 

not later than within 60 days of the inspection, unless 

permission for a later date is granted in writing by the 

director. The results of the inspections shall be 

documented in the SWPPP and shall include at a 

minimum: 

(1) The inspection date; 

(2) The names of the inspectors; 

(3) Weather information and a description of any 

discharges occurring at the time of the inspection; 

(4) Any previously unidentified discharges of pollutants 

from the site; 

(5) Any control measures needing maintenance or repairs; 

(6) Any failed control measures that need replacement; 

(7) Any incidents of noncompliance observed; and 

(8) Any additional control measures needed to comply 

with the permit requirements. 

e. Corrective action. Whenever the routine inspection 

shows evidence of stormwater pollution, the SWPPP and 

stormwater control measures shall be updated per Part II 

B. 

f. The requirement for routine facility inspections is 

waived for facilities that have maintained an active VEEP 

E3/E4 status.  

3. Nonstormwater discharges.  

a. Allowable nonstormwater discharges. Discharges of 

certain sources of nonstormwater listed in Part II A 3 c are 

allowable discharges under this permit. All other 

nonstormwater discharges are not authorized and shall be 

either eliminated, covered under this permit, or covered 

under a separate VPDES permit.  

b. Annual outfall inspection for unauthorized discharges. 

The SWPPP shall include documentation that all 

stormwater outfalls associated with industrial activity 

have been evaluated annually for the presence of 

unauthorized discharges. The documentation shall 

include: 

(1) The date of the evaluation; 

(2) A description of the evaluation criteria used; 

(3) A list of the outfalls or on-site drainage points that 

were directly observed during the evaluation; 

(4) A description of the results of the evaluation for the 

presence of unauthorized discharges; and 

(5) The actions taken to eliminate unauthorized discharges 

if any were identified. 

c. The following nonstormwater discharges are authorized 

by this permit:  

(1) Discharges from emergency firefighting activities;  

(2) Fire hydrant flushing, managed in a manner to avoid 

an instream impact;  

(3) Potable water, including water line flushing, managed 

in a manner to avoid an instream impact;  

(4) Uncontaminated condensate from air conditioners, 

coolers, and other compressors and from the outside 

storage of refrigerated gases or liquids;  

(5) Irrigation drainage;  

(6) Landscape watering provided all pesticides, 

herbicides, and fertilizers have been applied in accordance 

with the approved labeling;  

(7) Pavement wash waters where no detergents or 

hazardous cleaning products are used and no spills or leaks 

of toxic or hazardous materials have occurred, unless all 

spilled material has been removed. Pavement wash waters 

shall be managed in a manner to avoid an instream impact;  

(8) Routine external building washdown that does not use 

detergents or hazardous cleaning products; 

(9) Uncontaminated groundwater or spring water;  

(10) Foundation or footing drains where flows are not 

contaminated with process materials; and  

(11) Incidental windblown mist from cooling towers that 

collects on rooftops or adjacent portions of the facility, but 

not intentional discharges from the cooling tower (e.g., 

"piped" cooling tower blowdown or drains).  

B. Corrective actions. The permittee shall take corrective 

action whenever: 

1. Routine facility inspections, visual monitoring, 

inspections by local, state, or federal officials, or any other 

process, observation, or event result in a determination that 

modifications to the stormwater control measures are 

necessary to meet the permit requirements;  

2. The department determines, or the permittee becomes 

aware, that the stormwater control measures are not stringent 

enough for the discharge to meet applicable water quality 

standards. 

3. The permittee shall review the SWPPP and modify it as 

necessary to address any deficiencies. Revisions to the 
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SWPPP shall be completed within 60 days following the 

discovery of the deficiency. When control measures need to 

be modified or added, implementation shall be completed 

before the next anticipated storm event if possible, but no 

later than 60 days after the deficiency is discovered, or as 

otherwise provided or approved by the department. In cases 

where construction is necessary to implement control 

measures, the permittee shall include a schedule in the 

SWPPP that provides for the completion of the control 

measures as expeditiously as practicable, but no later than 

three years after the deficiency is discovered. Where a 

construction compliance schedule is included in the SWPPP, 

the SWPPP shall include appropriate nonstructural and 

temporary controls to be implemented in the affected portion 

of the facility prior to completion of the permanent control 

measure. The amount of time taken to modify a control 

measure or implement additional control measures shall be 

documented in the SWPPP. 

4. Any corrective actions taken shall be documented and 

retained with the SWPPP. Reports of corrective actions shall 

be signed in accordance with Part III K. 

C. Stormwater pollution prevention plans (SWPPPs). An 

SWPPP shall be developed and implemented for the facility 

covered by this permit, which has stormwater discharges 

associated with industrial activity and is classified under SIC 

Code 2091 or 2092. The SWPPP is intended to document the 

selection, design, and installation of control measures, 

including BMPs, to minimize the pollutants in all stormwater 

discharges from the facility and to meet applicable effluent 

limitations and water quality standards. 

The SWPPP shall be prepared in accordance with good 

engineering practices and shall identify potential sources of 

pollution that may reasonably be expected to affect the quality 

of stormwater discharges from the facility. In addition, the plan 

shall describe and ensure the implementation of practices that 

will be used to reduce the pollutants in stormwater discharges 

from the facility and shall assure compliance with the terms 

and conditions of this permit. Permittees must implement the 

provisions of the SWPPP as a condition of this permit.  

The SWPPP requirements of this general permit may be 

fulfilled, in part, by incorporating by reference other plans or 

documents such as an erosion and sediment control (ESC) 

plan, a spill prevention control and countermeasure (SPCC) 

plan developed for the facility under § 311 of the Clean Water 

Act or best management practices (BMP) programs otherwise 

required for the facility provided that the incorporated plan 

meets or exceeds the plan requirements of this section. Part II 

C 2 (Contents of the SWPPP). If an ESC plan is being 

incorporated by reference, it shall have been approved by the 

locality in which the activity is to occur or by another 

appropriate plan approving authority authorized under the 

Erosion and Sediment Control Regulations, 9VAC25-840. All 

plans incorporated by reference into the SWPPP become 

enforceable under this permit. If a plan incorporated by 

reference does not contain all of the required elements of the 

SWPPP of Part III C 2, the permittee shall develop the missing 

SWPPP elements and include them in the required plan. 

A. 1. Deadlines for plan SWPPP preparation and 

compliance. 

1. Facilities that were covered under the 2011 Seafood 

Processing Facilities General Permit. a. Owners of 

facilities that were covered under the 2011 2016 Seafood 

Processing Facilities General Permit who are continuing 

coverage under this general permit shall update and 

implement any revisions to the SWPPP required by this 

part within 60 days of the board granting coverage under 

this permit. 

2. New facilities, facilities previously covered by an 

expiring individual permit, and existing facilities not 

currently covered by a VPDES permit. b. Owners of new 

facilities, facilities previously covered by an expiring 

individual permit, and existing facilities not currently 

covered by a VPDES permit that elect to be covered under 

this general permit must shall prepare and implement the 

SWPPP within 60 days of the board granting coverage 

under this permit. 

3. New owners of existing facilities. c. Where the owner 

of an existing facility that is covered by this permit 

changes, the new owner of the facility must update and 

implement any revisions to the SWPPP within 60 days of 

the transfer of title of the facility ownership change. 

4. Extensions. d. Upon a showing of good cause, the 

director may establish a later date in writing for 

preparation of and compliance with the SWPPP. 

B. 2. Contents of the SWPPP. The contents of the SWPPP 

shall include, at a minimum, the following items: 

1. a. Pollution prevention team. The SWPPP shall identify 

the staff individuals by name or title who comprise the 

facility's stormwater pollution prevention team. The 

pollution prevention team is responsible for assisting the 

facility or plant manager in developing, implementing, 

maintaining, revising, and maintaining ensuring 

compliance with the facility's SWPPP. Specific 

responsibilities of each staff individual on the team shall 

be identified and listed. 

2. b. Site description. The SWPPP shall include the 

following: 

a. Activities at the facility. (1) A description of the nature 

of the industrial activities at the facility. 

b. General location map. A general location map (e.g., 

USGS quadrangle or other map) with enough detail to 

identify the location of the facility and the receiving 

waters within one mile of the facility.  

c. (2) Site map. A site map identifying the following: 
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(1) The size of the property (in acres) (a) The boundaries 

of the property and the size of the property in acres; 

(2) (b) The location and extent of significant structures and 

impervious surfaces (roofs, paved areas, and any other 

impervious areas); 

(3) (c) Locations of all stormwater conveyances, including 

ditches, pipes, swales, and inlets, and the directions of 

stormwater flow (e.g., use arrows to show which ways 

stormwater will flow), using arrows to indicate which 

direction stormwater will flow; 

(4) (d) Locations of all existing structural and source 

control BMPs stormwater control measures, including 

BMPs; 

(5) (e) Locations of all surface water bodies receiving 

discharges from the site, including wetlands; 

(6) (f) Locations of identified potential pollutant sources 

identified in Part II C 2 c; 

(7) (g) Locations where significant spills or leaks 

identified under Part II C 2 c (3) have occurred; 

(8) Locations of the following activities where such 

activities are exposed to precipitation: fueling stations; 

vehicle and equipment maintenance or cleaning areas; 

loading or unloading areas; locations used for the 

treatment, storage or disposal of wastes; liquid storage 

tanks; processing and storage areas; access roads, rail cars 

and tracks; transfer areas for substances in bulk; and 

machinery; (9) (h) Locations of stormwater outfalls and, 

monitoring locations, an approximate outline of the area 

draining to each outfall, and the drainage area of each 

outfall in acres, the longitude and latitude of each outfall, 

the location of any municipal separate storm sewer 

systems (MS4s), if the stormwater from the facility 

discharges to them; system (MS4) conveyance receiving 

discharge from the facility, and each outfall identified with 

a unique numerical identification codes. For example: 

Outfall Number 001, Outfall Number 002, etc.; 

(10) (i) Location and description of all nonstormwater 

discharges; 

(11) (j) Location of any storage piles containing salt used 

for deicing or other commercial or industrial purposes; 

and; 

(12) (k) Location and source of runon suspected run-on to 

the site from an adjacent property, where the runon 

contains property if the run-on is suspected of containing 

significant quantities of pollutants; and 

(l) Locations of vents and stacks from cooking, drying, 

and similar operations; dry product vacuum transfer lines; 

animal holding pens; spoiled product; and broken product 

container storage area if exposed to precipitation or runoff.  

d. Receiving waters and wetlands. The name of all surface 

waters receiving discharges from the site, including 

intermittent streams. A description of wetland sites that 

may receive discharges from the facility shall also be 

provided. If the facility discharges through an MS4, the 

MS4 operator and the receiving water to which the MS4 

discharges shall also be identified. 

3. c. Summary of potential pollutant sources. The SWPPP 

shall identify each separate area at the facility where 

industrial materials or activities are exposed to 

stormwater. Industrial materials or activities include, but 

are not limited to, material handling equipment or 

activities, industrial machinery, raw materials, industrial 

production and processes, intermediate products, 

byproducts, final products, and waste products, and 

application and storage of pest control chemicals used on 

facility grounds. Material handling activities include, but 

are not limited to, the storage, loading and unloading, 

transportation, disposal, or conveyance of any raw 

material, intermediate product, final product or waste 

product. For each separate area identified, the description 

shall include: 

a. (1) Activities in area. A list of the industrial activities 

(e.g., material storage, equipment fueling and cleaning, 

cutting steel beams); exposed to stormwater; 

b. (2) Pollutants. A list of the associated pollutant(s) or 

pollutant parameter(s) (e.g., crankcase oil, zinc, sulfuric 

acid, cleaning solvents, etc.) for each activity pollutants, 

pollutant constituents, or industrial chemicals associated 

with each industrial activity that could potentially be 

exposed to stormwater. The pollutant list shall include all 

significant materials handled, treated, stored, or disposed 

that have been exposed to stormwater in the three years 

prior to the date the SWPPP was prepared or amended. 

The list shall include any hazardous substance substances 

or oil at the facility. 

4. (3) Spills and leaks. The SWPPP shall clearly identify 

areas where potential spills and leaks that can contribute 

pollutants to stormwater discharges can occur and their 

corresponding outfalls. The SWPPP shall include a list of 

significant spills and leaks of toxic or hazardous pollutants 

that actually occurred at exposed areas, or that drained to 

a stormwater conveyance during the three-year period 

prior to the date this SWPPP was prepared or amended. 

The list shall be updated within 60 days of the incident if 

significant spills or leaks occur in exposed areas of the 

facility during the term of the permit. Significant spills and 

leaks include, but are not limited to, releases of oil or 

hazardous substances in excess of reportable quantities. 

5. Stormwater controls.  

a. BMPs d. Control measure considerations. Control 

measures shall be implemented for all the areas identified 

in Part II B 3 C 2 c (Summary of potential pollutant 

sources) to prevent or control pollutants in stormwater 

discharges from the facility. If applicable, steps shall be 

taken to control or address the quality of discharges from 

the site that do not originate at the facility. regulated 
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stormwater discharges from the facility include 

stormwater run-on that commingles with stormwater 

discharges associated with industrial activity at the 

facility. The SWPPP shall describe the type, location, and 

implementation of all BMPs control measures for each 

area where industrial materials or activities are exposed to 

stormwater. Selection of BMPs control measures shall 

take into consideration: 

(1) That preventing stormwater from coming into contact 

with polluting materials is generally more effective, and 

less costly, than trying to remove pollutants from 

stormwater; 

(2) BMPs Control measures generally must be used in 

combination with each other for most effective water 

quality protection; 

(3) Assessing the type and quantity of pollutants, 

including their potential to impact receiving water quality, 

is critical to designing effective control measures; 

(4) That minimizing impervious areas at the facility can 

reduce runoff and improve groundwater recharge and 

stream base flows in local streams (however, care must be 

taken to avoid groundwater contamination); 

(5) Flow attenuation by use of open vegetated swales and 

natural depressions can reduce in-stream instream impacts 

of erosive flows; 

(6) Conservation or restoration of riparian buffers will 

help protect streams from stormwater runoff and improve 

water quality; and 

(7) Treatment interceptors (e.g., swirl separators and sand 

filters) may be appropriate in some instances to minimize 

the discharge of pollutants. 

b. e. Control measures. The permittee shall implement the 

following types of BMPs control measures to prevent and 

control pollutants in the stormwater discharges from the 

facility, unless it can be demonstrated and documented 

that such controls are not relevant to the discharges (e.g., 

there are no storage piles containing salt). 

(1) Good housekeeping. The permittee shall keep clean all 

exposed areas of the facility that are potential sources of 

pollutants to stormwater discharges. Typical problem 

areas include areas around trash containers, storage areas, 

loading docks, and vehicle fueling and maintenance areas. 

The SWPPP shall include a schedule for regular pickup 

and disposal of waste materials, along with routine 

inspections for leaks and of the conditions of drums, tanks, 

and containers. The introduction of raw, final or waste 

materials to exposed areas of the facility shall be 

minimized. The generation of dust, along with off-site 

vehicle tracking of raw, final or waste materials, or 

sediments, shall be minimized. The permittee shall 

perform the following good housekeeping measures to 

minimize pollutant discharges: 

(a) The SWPPP shall include a schedule for regular pickup 

and disposal of waste materials along with routine 

inspections for leaks and conditions of drums, tanks, and 

containers; 

(b) Sweep or vacuum as feasible; 

(c) Store materials in containers constructed of appropriate 

materials; 

(d) Manage all waste containers to prevent a discharge of 

pollutants; 

(e) Minimize the potential for waste, garbage, and 

floatable debris to be discharged by keeping areas exposed 

to stormwater free of such materials or by intercepting 

such materials prior to discharge; and 

(f) Implement BMPs to eliminate stormwater discharges 

of plastics. 

(2) Eliminating and minimizing exposure. To the 

maximum extent practicable, industrial materials and 

activities manufacturing, processing, and material storage 

areas, including loading and unloading, storage, disposal, 

cleaning, maintenance, and fueling operations, shall be 

located inside, or protected by a storm-resistant covering 

to prevent exposure to rain, snow, snowmelt, and runoff. 

Unless infeasible, facilities shall implement the following: 

(a) Use grading, berming, or curbing to prevent runoff of 

contaminated flows and divert run-on away from potential 

sources of pollutants; 

(b) Locate materials, equipment, and activities so that 

potential leaks and spills are contained, or able to be 

contained, or diverted before discharge; 

(c) Clean up spills and leaks immediately, upon discovery 

of the spills or leaks, using dry methods (e.g., absorbents) 

to prevent the discharge of pollutants; 

(d) Store leaking vehicles and equipment indoors, or if 

stored outdoors, use drip pans and adsorbents; 

(e) Utilize appropriate spill or overflow protections 

equipment;  

(f) Perform all vehicle maintenance or equipment cleaning 

operations indoors, under cover, or in bermed areas that 

prevent runoff and run-on and also capture any overspray; 

and 

(g) Drain fluids from equipment and vehicles that will be 

decommissioned, and for any equipment and vehicles that 

remain unused for extended periods of time, inspect at 

least monthly for leaks. 

(3) Preventive maintenance. The permittee shall have a 

preventive maintenance program that includes regular 

inspection, testing, SWPPP shall include preventive 

maintenance that includes a description of procedures and 

a regular schedule for inspection of the following: 

(a) All control measures that includes a description of the 

back-up practices that are in place should a runoff event 

occur while a control measure is off line; and 
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(b) Testing, maintenance, and repairing of all industrial 

equipment and systems to avoid breakdowns or failures 

situations that could result in leaks, spills, and other 

releases. This program is in addition to the specific BMP 

maintenance required under Part II C (Maintenance of 

BMPs) of the permit of pollutants in stormwater 

discharged from the facility. 

(4) Spill prevention and response procedures. The SWPPP 

shall describe the procedures that will be followed for 

preventing and responding to spills and leaks., including: 

(a) Preventive measures include, such as barriers between 

material storage and traffic areas, secondary containment 

provisions, and procedures for material storage and 

handling.; 

(b) Response procedures shall include (i), including 

notification of appropriate facility personnel, emergency 

agencies, and regulatory agencies; and (ii) procedures for 

stopping, containing, and cleaning up spills. Measures for 

cleaning up hazardous material spills or leaks shall be 

consistent with applicable RCRA the Resource 

Conservation and Recovery Act regulations at 40 CFR 

Part 264 and 40 CFR Part 265. Employees who may cause, 

detect, or respond to a spill or leak shall be trained in these 

procedures and have necessary spill response equipment 

available. One If possible, one of these individuals shall 

be a member of the pollution prevention team.; 

(c) Procedures for plainly labeling containers (e.g., "used 

oil," "spent solvents," and "fertilizers and pesticides") that 

could be susceptible to spillage or leakage to encourage 

proper handling and facilitate rapid response if spills or 

leaks occur; and 

(c) (d) Contact information for individuals and agencies 

that must be notified in the event of a spill shall be 

included in the SWPPP and maintained in other locations 

where it will be readily available. 

(5) Routine facility inspections. Facility personnel who 

possess the knowledge and skills to assess conditions and 

activities that could impact stormwater quality at the 

facility, and who can also evaluate the effectiveness of 

BMPs shall regularly inspect all areas of the facility where 

industrial materials or activities are exposed to 

stormwater. These inspections are in addition to, or as part 

of, the comprehensive site evaluation required under Part 

II D. At least one member of the pollution prevention team 

shall participate in the routine facility inspections. The 

inspection frequency shall be specified in the SWPPP and 

be based upon a consideration of the level of industrial 

activity at the facility, but shall be a minimum of quarterly 

unless more frequent intervals are specified elsewhere in 

the permit or written approval is received from the 

department for less frequent intervals. Any deficiencies in 

the implementation of the SWPPP that are found shall be 

corrected as soon as practicable, but not later than within 

30 days of the inspection, unless permission for a later date 

is granted in writing by the director. The results of the 

inspections shall be documented in the SWPPP, along 

with the date(s) and description(s) of any corrective 

actions that were taken in response to any deficiencies or 

opportunities for improvement that were identified. 

(6) (5) Employee training. The permittee shall implement 

a stormwater employee training program for the facility. 

The SWPPP shall include a schedule for all training and 

shall document all training sessions and the employees 

who received the training. Training shall be provided at 

least annually for all employees who work in areas where 

industrial materials or activities are exposed to 

stormwater, and for employees who are responsible for 

implementing activities identified in the SWPPP (e.g., 

inspectors and maintenance personnel). The training shall 

cover the components and goals of the SWPPP and 

include such topics as spill response, good housekeeping, 

material management practices, BMP operation and 

maintenance, etc. and pest control. The SWPPP shall 

include a summary of any training performed. 

(7) (6) Sediment and erosion control. The SWPPP shall 

identify areas at the facility that, due to topography, land 

disturbance (e.g., construction, landscaping, site grading), 

or other factors, have a potential for soil erosion. The 

permittee shall identify and implement structural, 

vegetative, or stabilization BMPs control measures to 

prevent or control on-site and off-site erosion and 

sedimentation. Flow velocity dissipation devices shall be 

placed at discharge locations and along the length of any 

outfall channel if the flows would otherwise create erosive 

conditions. 

(8) (7) Management of runoff. The plan shall describe the 

stormwater runoff management practices (i.e., permanent 

structural BMPs) control measures) for the facility. These 

types of BMPs are typically control measures shall be used 

to divert, infiltrate, reuse, or otherwise reduce pollutants 

in stormwater discharges from the site. 

Structural BMPs control measures may require a separate 

permit under § 404 of the federal Clean Water Act and the 

Virginia Water Protection Permit Program Regulation 

(9VAC25-210) before installation begins. 

C. Maintenance. All BMPs identified in the SWPPP shall be 

maintained in effective operating condition. Stormwater BMPs 

identified in the SWPPP shall be observed during active 

operation (i.e., during a stormwater runoff event) to ensure that 

they are functioning correctly. The observations shall be 

documented in the SWPPP. 

The SWPPP shall include a description of procedures and a 

regular schedule for preventive maintenance of all BMPs and 

shall include a description of the back-up practices that are in 

place should a runoff event occur while a BMP is off line. The 

effectiveness of nonstructural BMPs shall also be maintained 

(e.g., spill response supplies available and personnel trained). 
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If site inspections required by Part II B 5 b (5) (Routine 

facility inspections) or Part II D (Comprehensive site 

compliance evaluation) identify BMPs that are not operating 

effectively, repairs or maintenance shall be performed before 

the next anticipated storm event. In the interim, back-up 

measures shall be employed and documented in the SWPPP 

until repairs or maintenance is complete. Documentation shall 

be kept with the SWPPP of maintenance and repairs of BMPs, 

including the date or dates of regular maintenance, date or 

dates of discovery of areas in need of repair or replacement, 

and for repairs, date or dates that the BMPs returned to full 

function, and the justification for any extended maintenance or 

repair schedules. 

D. Comprehensive site compliance evaluation. The permittee 

shall conduct comprehensive site compliance evaluations at 

least once a year. The evaluations shall be done by qualified 

personnel who possess the knowledge and skills to assess 

conditions and activities that could impact stormwater quality 

at the facility, and who can also evaluate the effectiveness of 

BMPs. The personnel conducting the evaluations may be either 

facility employees or outside constituents hired by the facility.  

1. Scope of the compliance evaluation. Evaluations shall 

include all areas where industrial materials or activities are 

exposed to stormwater, as identified in Part II B 3. The 

personnel shall evaluate: 

a. Industrial materials, residue or trash that may have or 

could come into contact with stormwater;  

b. Leaks or spills from industrial equipment, drums, 

barrels, tanks or other containers that have occurred within 

the past three years; 

c. Off-site tracking of industrial or waste materials or 

sediment where vehicles enter or exit the site;  

d. Tracking or blowing of raw, final, or waste materials 

from areas of no exposure to exposed areas;  

e. Evidence of, or the potential for, pollutants entering the 

drainage system; 

f. Evidence of pollutants discharging to surface waters at 

all facility outfalls, and the condition of and around the 

outfall, including flow dissipation measures to prevent 

scouring; 

g. Review of training performed, inspections completed, 

maintenance performed, quarterly visual examinations, 

and effective operation of BMPs; and 

h. Review of the results of both visual and any analytical 

monitoring done during the past year.  

2. Based on the results of the evaluation, the SWPPP shall 

be modified as necessary (e.g., show additional controls on 

the map required by Part II B 2 c; revise the description of 

controls required by Part II B 5 to include additional or 

modified BMPs designed to correct problems identified). 

Revisions to the SWPPP shall be completed within 30 days 

following the evaluation, unless permission for a later date 

is granted in writing by the director. If existing BMPs need 

to be modified or if additional BMPs are necessary, 

implementation shall be completed before the next 

anticipated storm event, if practicable, but not more than 60 

days after completion of the comprehensive site evaluation, 

unless permission for a later date is granted in writing by the 

department.  

3. Compliance evaluation report. A report shall be written 

summarizing the scope of the evaluation, the name or names 

of personnel making the evaluation, the date or dates of the 

evaluation, and all observations relating to the 

implementation of the SWPPP, including elements 

stipulated in Part II D 1 (a) through (f) of this general permit. 

Observations shall include such things as: the location or 

locations of discharges of pollutants from the site; the 

location or locations of previously unidentified sources of 

pollutants; the location or locations of BMPs that need to be 

maintained or repaired; the location or locations of failed 

BMPs that need replacement; and location or locations 

where additional BMPs are needed. The report shall identify 

any incidents of noncompliance that were observed. Where 

a report does not identify any incidents of noncompliance, 

the report shall contain a certification that the facility is in 

compliance with the SWPPP and this permit. The report 

shall be signed in accordance with Part III K and maintained 

with the SWPPP. 

4. Where compliance evaluation schedules overlap with 

routine inspections required under Part II B 5 b (5), the 

annual compliance evaluation may be used as one of the 

routine inspections. 

E. 3. Signature and plan SWPPP review. 

1. Signature/location. a. Signature and location. The 

SWPPP, including revisions to the SWPPP to document 

any corrective actions taken as required by Part II B, shall 

be signed in accordance with Part III K, dated, and 

retained on-site at the facility covered by this permit. All 

other changes to the SWPPP, and other permit compliance 

documentation, must be signed and dated by the person 

preparing the change or documentation. 

2. b. Availability. The permittee shall make the SWPPP, 

annual site compliance evaluation report, and other 

information available to the department retain a copy of 

the current SWPPP required by this permit at the facility, 

and it shall be immediately available to the department, 

EPA, or the operator of an MS4 receiving discharges from 

the site at the time of an on-site inspection or upon request. 

3. c. Required modifications. The permittee shall modify 

the SWPPP whenever necessary to address all corrective 

actions required by Part II B. Changes to the SWPPP shall 

be made in accordance with the corrective action deadlines 

in Part II B and shall be signed and dated in accordance 

with Part III K. The director may notify the permittee at 

any time that the SWPPP, BMPs control measures, or 
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other components of the facility's stormwater program do 

not meet one or more of the requirements of this permit. 

The notification shall identify specific provisions of the 

permit that are not being met and may include required 

modifications to the stormwater program, additional 

monitoring requirements, and special reporting 

requirements. The permittee shall make any required 

changes to the SWPPP within 60 days of receipt of such 

notification, unless permission for a later date is granted 

in writing by the director, and shall submit a written 

certification to the director that the requested changes have 

been made. 

F. 4. Maintaining an updated SWPPP. 1. The permittee shall 

review and amend the SWPPP as appropriate whenever: 

a. There is construction or a change in design, operation, 

or maintenance at the facility that has an effect on the 

discharge, or the potential for the discharge, of pollutants 

from the facility sufficient to impact water quality; 

b. Routine inspections or compliance evaluations visual 

monitoring determine that there are deficiencies in the 

control measures, including BMPs; 

c. Inspections by local, state, or federal officials determine 

that modifications to the SWPPP are necessary; 

d. There is a significant spill, leak or other release at the 

facility; or 

e. There is an unauthorized discharge from the facility. 

2. f. SWPPP modifications shall be made within 30 60 

calendar days after the discovery, observation, or event 

requiring a SWPPP modification. Implementation of new 

or modified BMPs (distinct from regular preventive 

maintenance of existing BMPs described in Part II C) 

control measures shall be initiated before the next storm 

event if possible, but no later than 60 days after discovery, 

or as otherwise provided or approved by the director. The 

amount of time taken to modify a BMP control measure or 

implement additional BMPs control measures shall be 

documented in the SWPPP. 

3. g. If the SWPPP modification is based on a significant 

spill, leak, release, or unauthorized discharge, include a 

description and date of the release incident, the 

circumstances leading to the release incident, actions 

taken in response to the release incident, and measures to 

prevent the recurrence of such releases. Unauthorized 

releases and discharges are subject to the reporting 

requirements of Part III G of this permit. 

G. Allowable nonstormwater discharges. The following 

nonstormwater discharges are authorized by this permit: 

1. Discharges from fire-fighting activities;  

2. Fire hydrant flushings;  

3. Potable water including water line flushings;  

4. Uncontaminated condensate from air conditioners, 

coolers, and other compressors and from the outside storage 

of refrigerated gases or liquids; 

5. Irrigation drainage;  

6. Landscape watering provided all pesticides, herbicides, 

and fertilizer have been applied in accordance with the 

approved labeling; 

7. Pavement wash waters where no detergents are used and 

no spills or leaks of toxic or hazardous materials have 

occurred, unless all spilled material has been removed; 

8. Routine external building wash down that does not use 

detergents;  

9. Uncontaminated groundwater or spring water;  

10. Foundation or footing drains where flows are not 

contaminated with process materials; and  

11. Incidental windblown mist from cooling towers that 

collects on rooftops or adjacent portions of the facility, but 

not intentional discharges from the cooling tower, for 

example, "piped" cooling tower blowdown or drains. 

Part III  

Conditions Applicable to All VPDES Permits 

A. Monitoring. 

1. Samples and measurements taken as required by this 

permit shall be representative of the monitored activity. 

2. Monitoring shall be conducted according to procedures 

approved under 40 CFR Part 136 or alternative methods 

approved by the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency, 

unless other procedures have been specified in this permit. 

3. The permittee shall periodically calibrate and perform 

maintenance procedures on all monitoring and analytical 

instrumentation at intervals that will ensure accuracy of 

measurements. 

4. Samples taken as required by this permit shall be analyzed 

in accordance with 1VAC30-45, Certification for 

Noncommercial Environmental Laboratories, or 1VAC30-

46, Accreditation for Commercial Environmental 

Laboratories. 

B. Records. 

1. Records of monitoring information shall include: 

a. The date, exact place, and time of sampling or 

measurements; 

b. The individual(s) individuals who performed the 

sampling or measurements; 

c. The date(s) and time(s) dates and times analyses were 

performed; 

d. The individual(s) individuals who performed the 

analyses; 
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e. The analytical techniques or methods used; and 

f. The results of such analyses. 

2. The permittee shall retain records of all monitoring 

information, including all calibration and maintenance 

records and all original strip chart recordings for continuous 

monitoring instrumentation, copies of all reports required by 

this permit, and records of all data used to complete the 

registration statement for this permit, for a period of at least 

three years from the date of the sample, measurement, report 

or request for coverage. This period of retention shall be 

extended automatically during the course of any unresolved 

litigation regarding the regulated activity or regarding 

control standards applicable to the permittee, or as requested 

by the board. 

C. Reporting monitoring results. 

1. The permittee shall submit the results of the monitoring 

required by this permit not later than the 10th day of the 

month after monitoring takes place, unless another reporting 

schedule is specified elsewhere in this permit. Monitoring 

results shall be submitted to the department's regional office. 

2. Monitoring results shall be reported on a Discharge 

Monitoring Report (DMR) or on forms provided, approved 

or specified by the department. Following notification from 

the department of the start date for the required electronic 

submission of monitoring reports, as provided for in 

9VAC25-31-1020, such forms and reports submitted after 

that date shall be electronically submitted to the department 

in compliance with this section and 9VAC25-31-1020. 

There shall be at least three months' notice provided between 

the notification from the department and the date after which 

such forms and reports must be submitted electronically. 

3. If the permittee monitors any pollutant specifically 

addressed by this permit more frequently than required by 

this permit using test procedures approved under 40 CFR 

Part 136 or using other test procedures approved by the U.S. 

Environmental Protection Agency or using procedures 

specified in this permit, the results of this monitoring shall 

be included in the calculation and reporting of the data 

submitted in the DMR or reporting form specified by the 

department. 

4. Calculations for all limitations that require averaging of 

measurements shall utilize an arithmetic mean unless 

otherwise specified in this permit. 

D. Duty to provide information. The permittee shall furnish 

to the department, within a reasonable time, any information 

that the board may request to determine whether cause exists 

for modifying, revoking and reissuing, or terminating coverage 

under this permit or to determine compliance with this permit. 

The board may require the permittee to furnish, upon request, 

such plans, specifications, and other pertinent information as 

may be necessary to determine the effect of the wastes from his 

the permittee's discharge on the quality of state waters, or such 

other information as may be necessary to accomplish the 

purposes of the State Water Control Law. The permittee shall 

also furnish to the department, upon request, copies of records 

required to be kept by this permit. 

E. Compliance schedule reports. Reports of compliance or 

noncompliance with, or any progress reports on, interim and 

final requirements contained in any compliance schedule of 

this permit shall be submitted no later than 14 days following 

each schedule date. 

F. Unauthorized discharges. Except in compliance with this 

permit or another permit issued by the board, it shall be 

unlawful for any person to: 

1. Discharge into state waters sewage, industrial wastes, 

other wastes, or any noxious or deleterious substances; or 

2. Otherwise alter the physical, chemical or biological 

properties of such state waters and make them detrimental to 

the public health, or to animal or aquatic life, or to the use of 

such waters for domestic or industrial consumption, or for 

recreation, or for other uses. 

G. Reports of unauthorized discharges. Any permittee who 

discharges or causes or allows a discharge of sewage, industrial 

waste, other wastes or any noxious or deleterious substance 

into or upon state waters in violation of Part III F 

(Unauthorized discharges); or who discharges or causes or 

allows a discharge that may reasonably be expected to enter 

state waters in violation of Part III F, shall notify (see [ NOTE 

in Part III I) Part III I 3) ] the department of the discharge 

immediately upon discovery of the discharge, but in no case 

later than 24 hours after said discovery. A written report of the 

unauthorized discharge shall be submitted to the department 

within five days of discovery of the discharge. The written 

report shall contain: 

1. A description of the nature and location of the discharge; 

2. The cause of the discharge; 

3. The date on which the discharge occurred; 

4. The length of time that the discharge continued; 

5. The volume of the discharge; 

6. If the discharge is continuing, how long it is expected to 

continue; 

7. If the discharge is continuing, what the expected total 

volume of the discharge will be; and 

8. Any steps planned or taken to reduce, eliminate and 

prevent a recurrence of the present discharge or any future 

discharges not authorized by this permit. 

Discharges reportable to the department under the immediate 

reporting requirements of other regulations are exempted from 

this requirement. 
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H. Reports of unusual or extraordinary discharges. If any 

unusual or extraordinary discharge including a bypass or upset, 

should occur from a treatment works and the discharge enters 

or could be expected to enter state waters, the permittee shall 

promptly notify, in no case later than 24 hours, the department 

by telephone after the discovery of the discharge. This 

notification shall provide all available details of the incident, 

including any adverse effects on aquatic life and the known 

number of fish killed. The permittee shall reduce the report to 

writing and shall submit it to the department within five days 

of discovery of the discharge in accordance with Part III I 2. 

Unusual and extraordinary discharges include but are not 

limited to any discharge resulting from: 

1. Unusual spillage of materials resulting directly or 

indirectly from processing operations; 

2. Breakdown of processing or accessory equipment; 

3. Failure or taking out of service some or all of the treatment 

works; and 

4. Flooding or other acts of nature. 

I. Reports of noncompliance. 

1. The permittee shall report any noncompliance that may 

adversely affect state waters or may endanger public health. 

1. a. An oral report shall be provided within 24 hours from 

the time the permittee becomes aware of the 

circumstances. The following shall be included as 

information that shall be reported within 24 hours under 

this subdivision: 

a. (1) Any unanticipated bypass; and 

b. (2) Any upset that causes a discharge to surface waters. 

2. b. A written report shall be submitted within five days 

and shall contain: 

a. (1) A description of the noncompliance and its cause; 

b. (2) The period of noncompliance, including exact dates 

and times, and if the noncompliance has not been 

corrected, the anticipated time it is expected to continue; 

and 

c. (3) Steps taken or planned to reduce, eliminate, and 

prevent reoccurrence of the noncompliance. 

The board may waive the written report on a case-by-case 

basis for reports of noncompliance under Part III I if the oral 

report has been received within 24 hours and no adverse 

impact on state waters has been reported. 

3. 2. The permittee shall report all instances of 

noncompliance not reported under Parts III I 1 or 2, in 

writing, at the time the next monitoring reports are 

submitted. The reports shall contain the information listed in 

Part III I 2. 

NOTE: 3. The immediate (within 24 hours) reports required 

in Part III G, H, and I may be made to the department's 

regional office. Reports may be made by telephone, FAX, or 

online at http://www.deq.virginia.gov/Programs/Pollution 

ResponsePreparedness/MakingaReport.aspx. 

For reports outside normal working hours, leave a message 

and this shall fulfill the immediate reporting requirement. 

For emergencies, the Virginia Department of Emergency 

Management maintains a 24-hour telephone service at 1-

800-468-8892. 

4. Where the permittee becomes aware that it failed to 

submit any relevant facts in a permit registration statement 

or submitted incorrect information in a permit registration 

statement or in any report to the department, it shall 

promptly submit such facts or information. 

J. Notice of planned changes. 

1. The permittee shall give notice to the department as soon 

as possible of any planned physical alterations or additions 

to the permitted facility. Notice is required only when: 

a. The permittee plans alteration or addition to any 

building, structure, facility, or installation from which 

there is or may be a discharge of pollutants, the 

construction of which commenced: 

(1) After promulgation of standards of performance under 

§ 306 of the federal Clean Water Act that are applicable to 

such source; or 

(2) After proposal of standards of performance in 

accordance with § 306 of the federal Clean Water Act that 

are applicable to such source, but only if the standards are 

promulgated in accordance with § 306 within 120 days of 

their proposal; 

b. The alteration or addition could significantly change the 

nature or increase the quantity of pollutants discharged. 

This notification applies to pollutants that are subject 

neither to effluent limitations nor to notification 

requirements specified elsewhere in this permit; under 

Part I B 6; or 

c. The alteration or addition results in a significant change 

in the permittee's sludge use or disposal practices and such 

alteration, addition, or change may justify the application 

of permit conditions that are different from or absent in the 

existing permit, including notification of additional use or 

disposal sites not reported during the permit application 

registration process or not reported pursuant to an 

approved land application plan. 

2. The permittee shall give advance notice to the department 

of any planned changes in the permitted facility or activity 

that may result in noncompliance with permit requirements. 

K. Signatory requirements. 

1. Registration statement. All registration statements shall be 

signed as follows: 

http://www.deq.virginia.gov/Programs/PollutionResponsePreparedness/MakingaReport.aspx
http://www.deq.virginia.gov/Programs/PollutionResponsePreparedness/MakingaReport.aspx
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a. For a corporation: by a responsible corporate officer. 

For the purposes of this section, a responsible corporate 

officer means: (i) a president, secretary, treasurer, or vice-

president of the corporation in charge of a principal 

business function, or any other person who performs 

similar policy-making or decision-making functions for 

the corporation, or (ii) the manager of one or more 

manufacturing, production, or operating facilities 

provided the manager is authorized to make management 

decisions that govern the operation of the regulated 

facility, including having the explicit or implicit duty of 

making capital investment recommendations, and 

initiating and directing other comprehensive measures to 

assure long term environmental compliance with 

environmental laws and regulations; the manager can 

ensure that the necessary systems are established or other 

actions taken to gather complete and accurate information 

for permit application requirements; and where authority 

to sign documents has been assigned or delegated to the 

manager in accordance with corporate procedures; 

b. For a partnership or sole proprietorship: by a general 

partner or the proprietor, respectively; or 

c. For a municipality, state, federal, or other public 

agency: by either a principal executive officer or ranking 

elected official. For purposes of this section, a principal 

executive officer of a public agency includes: (i) the chief 

executive officer of the agency or (ii) a senior executive 

officer having responsibility for the overall operations of 

a principal geographic unit of the agency. 

2. Reports and other requested information. All reports 

required by permits, and other information requested by the 

board, shall be signed by a person described in Part III K 1 

or by a duly authorized representative of that person. A 

person is a duly authorized representative only if: 

a. The authorization is made in writing by a person 

described in Part III K 1; 

b. The authorization specifies either an individual or a 

position having responsibility for the overall operation of 

the regulated facility or activity such as the position of 

plant manager, operator of a well or a well field, 

superintendent, position of equivalent responsibility, or an 

individual or position having overall responsibility for 

environmental matters for the company. A duly authorized 

representative may thus be either a named individual or 

any individual occupying a named position; and 

c. The written authorization is submitted to the 

department. 

3. Changes to authorization. If an authorization under Part 

III K 2 is no longer accurate because a different individual 

or position has responsibility for the overall operation of the 

facility, a new authorization satisfying the requirements of 

Part III K 2 shall be submitted to the department prior to or 

together with any reports or information to be signed by an 

authorized representative. 

4. Certification. Any person signing a document under Part 

III K 1 or 2 shall make the following certification: 

"I certify under penalty of law that this document and all 

attachments were prepared under my direction or 

supervision in accordance with a system designed to 

assure that qualified personnel properly gather and 

evaluate the information submitted. Based on my inquiry 

of the person or persons who manage the system, or those 

persons directly responsible for gathering the information, 

the information submitted is, to the best of my knowledge 

and belief, true, accurate, and complete. I am aware that 

there are significant penalties for submitting false 

information, including the possibility of fine and 

imprisonment for knowing violations." 

L. Duty to comply. The permittee shall comply with all 

conditions of this permit. Any permit noncompliance 

constitutes a violation of the State Water Control Law and the 

federal Clean Water Act, except that noncompliance with 

certain provisions of this permit may constitute a violation of 

the State Water Control Law but not the federal Clean Water 

Act. Permit noncompliance is grounds for enforcement action; 

for permit coverage termination, revocation and reissuance, or 

modification; or denial of a permit renewal application. 

The permittee shall comply with effluent standards or 

prohibitions established under § 307(a) of the Clean Water Act 

for toxic pollutants within the time provided in the regulations 

that establish these standards, even if this permit has not yet 

been modified to incorporate the requirement. 

M. Duty to reapply. If the permittee wishes to continue an 

activity regulated by this permit after the expiration date of this 

permit, the permittee shall submit a new registration statement 

at least 30 60 days before the expiration date of the existing 

permit, unless permission for a later date has been granted by 

the board. The board shall not grant permission for registration 

statements to be submitted later than the expiration date of the 

existing permit. 

N. Effect of a permit. This permit does not convey any 

property rights in either real or personal property or any 

exclusive privileges, nor does it authorize any injury to private 

property or invasion of personal rights or any infringement of 

federal, state or local laws or regulations. 

O. State law. Nothing in this permit shall be construed to 

preclude the institution of any legal action under, or relieve the 

permittee from any responsibilities, liabilities, or penalties 

established pursuant to, any other state law or regulation or 

under authority preserved by § 510 of the federal Clean Water 

Act. Except as provided in permit conditions in Part III U 

(Bypass) and Part III V (Upset) nothing in this permit shall be 

construed to relieve the permittee from civil and criminal 

penalties for noncompliance. 
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P. Oil and hazardous substance liability. Nothing in this 

permit shall be construed to preclude the institution of any 

legal action or relieve the permittee from any responsibilities, 

liabilities, or penalties to which the permittee is or may be 

subject under §§ 62.1-44.34:14 through 62.1-44.34:23 of the 

State Water Control Law. 

Q. Proper operation and maintenance. The permittee shall at 

all times properly operate and maintain all facilities and 

systems of treatment and control (and related appurtenances) 

that are installed or used by the permittee to achieve 

compliance with the conditions of this permit. Proper operation 

and maintenance also includes effective plant performance, 

adequate funding, adequate staffing, and adequate laboratory 

and process controls, including appropriate quality assurance 

procedures. This provision requires the operation of back-up or 

auxiliary facilities or similar systems that are installed by the 

permittee only when the operation is necessary to achieve 

compliance with the conditions of this permit. 

R. Disposal of solids or sludges. Solids, sludges, or other 

pollutants removed in the course of treatment or management 

of pollutants shall be disposed of in a manner so as to prevent 

any pollutant from such materials from entering state waters. 

S. Duty to mitigate. The permittee shall take all reasonable 

steps to minimize or prevent any discharge or sludge use or 

disposal in violation of this permit that has a reasonable 

likelihood of adversely affecting human health or the 

environment. 

T. Need to halt or reduce activity not a defense. It shall not be 

a defense for a permittee in an enforcement action that it would 

have been necessary to halt or reduce the permitted activity in 

order to maintain compliance with the conditions of this 

permit. 

U. Bypass. 

1. "Bypass" means the intentional diversion of waste streams 

from any portion of a treatment facility. The permittee may 

allow any bypass to occur that does not cause effluent 

limitations to be exceeded, but only if it also is for essential 

maintenance to ensure efficient operation. These bypasses 

are not subject to the provisions of Part III U 2 and U 3. 

2. Notice. 

a. Anticipated bypass. If the permittee knows in advance 

of the need for a bypass, prior notice shall be submitted if 

possible at least 10 days before the date of the bypass. 

b. Unanticipated bypass. The permittee shall submit notice 

of an unanticipated bypass as required in Part III I (Reports 

of noncompliance). 

3. Prohibition of bypass. 

a. Bypass is prohibited, and the board may take 

enforcement action against a permittee for bypass, unless: 

(1) Bypass was unavoidable to prevent loss of life, 

personal injury, or severe property damage; 

(2) There were no feasible alternatives to the bypass, such 

as the use of auxiliary treatment facilities, retention of 

untreated wastes, or maintenance during normal periods of 

equipment downtime. This condition is not satisfied if 

adequate back-up equipment should have been installed in 

the exercise of reasonable engineering judgment to 

prevent a bypass that occurred during normal periods of 

equipment downtime or preventive maintenance; and 

(3) The permittee submitted notices as required under Part 

III U 2. 

b. The board may approve an anticipated bypass, after 

considering its adverse effects, if the board determines that 

it will meet the three conditions listed in Part III U 3 a. 

V. Upset. 

1. An upset, defined in 9VAC25-31-10, constitutes an 

affirmative defense to an action brought for noncompliance 

with technology-based permit effluent limitations if the 

requirements of Part III V 2 are met. A determination made 

during administrative review of claims that noncompliance 

was caused by upset, and before an action for 

noncompliance, is not a final administrative action subject 

to judicial review. 

2. A permittee that wishes to establish the affirmative 

defense of upset shall demonstrate, through properly signed, 

contemporaneous operating logs or other relevant evidence 

that: 

a. An upset occurred and that the permittee can identify 

the cause(s) causes of the upset; 

b. The permitted facility was at the time being properly 

operated; 

c. The permittee submitted notice of the upset as required 

in Part III I; and 

d. The permittee complied with any remedial measures 

required under Part III S. 

3. In any enforcement proceeding, the permittee seeking to 

establish the occurrence of an upset has the burden of proof. 

W. Inspection and entry. The permittee shall allow the 

director or an authorized representative, (including an 

authorized contractor acting as a representative of the 

administrator), upon presentation of credentials and other 

documents as may be required by law, to: 

1. Enter upon the permittee's premises where a regulated 

facility or activity is located or conducted or where records 

must be kept under the conditions of this permit; 

2. Have access to and copy, at reasonable times, any records 

that must be kept under the conditions of this permit; 
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3. Inspect at reasonable times any facilities, equipment 

(including monitoring and control equipment), practices, or 

operations regulated or required under this permit; and 

4. Sample or monitor at reasonable times, for the purposes 

of ensuring permit compliance or as otherwise authorized by 

the federal Clean Water Act and the State Water Control 

Law, any substances or parameters at any location. 

For purposes of this section, the time for inspection shall be 

deemed reasonable during regular business hours and or 

whenever the facility is discharging. Nothing contained herein 

shall make an inspection unreasonable during an emergency. 

X. Permit actions. Permits may be modified, revoked and 

reissued, or terminated for cause. The filing of a request by the 

permittee for a permit modification, revocation and reissuance, 

or termination, or a notification of planned changes or 

anticipated noncompliance does not stay any permit condition. 

Y. Transfer of permits. Permits are permit coverage.  

1. Permit coverage is not transferable to any person except 

after notice to the department. 

2. Coverage under this permit may be automatically 

transferred to a new permittee if: 

1. a. The current permittee notifies the department within 

30 days of the transfer of the title to the facility or property 

unless permission for a later date has been granted by the 

board; 

2. b. The notice includes a written agreement between the 

existing and new permittees containing a specific date for 

transfer of permit responsibility, coverage, and liability 

between them; and 

3. c. The board does not notify the existing permittee and 

the proposed new permittee of its intent to deny the 

permittee coverage under the permit. If this notice is not 

received, the transfer is effective on the date specified in 

the agreement mentioned in Part III Y 2. 

Z. Severability. The provisions of this permit are severable, 

and if any provision of this permit or the application of any 

provision of this permit to any circumstance is held invalid, the 

application of such provision to other circumstances and the 

remainder of this permit shall not be affected thereby. 

DOCUMENTS INCORPORATED BY REFERENCE 

(9VAC25-115) 

Standard Industrial Classification (SIC) 2091, 2092, 5142 or 

5046 (Office of Management and Budget (OMB) SIC Manual, 

1987). U.S. Office of Management and Budget (OMB) SIC 

Manual, 1987 

North American Industry Classification System (NAICS) U.S. 

Office of Management and Budget, 2017 

VA.R. Doc. No. R19-5819; Filed January 12, 2021, 9:58 a.m. 

Proposed Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The State Water Control Board is 

claiming an exemption from Article 2 (§ 2.2-4006 et seq.) of 

the Administrative Process Act in accordance with the second 

enactment of Chapter 1207 of the 2020 Acts of Assembly, 

which exempts the actions of the board relating to the initial 

adoption of regulations necessary to implement the provisions 

of the act; however, the board is required to provide a public 

comment period of at least 60 days prior to adoption of final 

regulations. 

Title of Regulation: 9VAC25-830. Chesapeake Bay 

Preservation Area Designation and Management 

Regulations (amending 9VAC25-830-130, 9VAC25-830-

140). 

Statutory Authority: §§ 62.1-44.15:69 and 62.1-44.15:72 of the 

Code of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: No public hearings are currently 

scheduled. 

Public Comment Deadline: May 3, 2021. 

Agency Contact: Justin L. Williams, State Water Control 

Board, 1111 East Main Street, Suite 1400, P.O. Box 1105, 

Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 698-4185, FAX (804) 

698-4178, or email justin.williams@deq.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

Pursuant to Chapter 1207 of the 2020 Acts of Assembly, 

which amended the Chesapeake Bay Preservation Act 

(§ 62.1-44.15:72 et seq. of the Code of Virginia) and added 

coastal resilience and adaptation to sea-level rise and 

climate change to the criteria requirements for regulations 

to be established by the State Water Control Board for use 

by local governments under the Chesapeake Bay 

Preservation Act, the proposed amendments provide 

performance criteria requirements related to trees, 

particularly mature trees, under the Chesapeake Bay 

Preservation Act program, including (i) requiring 

preservation and protection of mature trees, including in 

instances where existing vegetation is removed that includes 

trees and that trees are utilized in reestablishing vegetation 

to the maximum extent practicable; and (ii) providing that 

where vegetation or buffers must be established, the planting 

of trees should be utilized where practicable. 

9VAC25-830-130. General performance criteria. 

Through their applicable land use ordinances, regulations, 

and enforcement mechanisms, local governments shall require 

that any use, development, or redevelopment of land in 

Chesapeake Bay Preservation Areas meets the following 

performance criteria: 

1. No more land shall be disturbed than is necessary to 

provide for the proposed use or development. 

2. Indigenous vegetation shall be preserved to the maximum 

extent practicable, consistent with the use or development 

http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=20e5d005819~1l.pdf&typ=40&actno=005819&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=20e5d005819~1l.pdf&typ=40&actno=005819&mime=application/pdf
mailto:justin.williams@deq.virginia.gov
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proposed. Mature trees shall only be removed where 

determined to be necessary to provide for the proposed use 

or development and protected during development to the 

maximum extent practicable. 

3. All development exceeding 2,500 square feet of land 

disturbance shall be accomplished through a plan of 

development review process consistent with § 15.2-2286 A 

8 of the Code of Virginia and subdivision 1 e of 9VAC25-

830-240. 

4. Land development shall minimize impervious cover 

consistent with the proposed use or development. 

5. Any land disturbing activity that exceeds an area of 2,500 

square feet (including construction of all single family 

houses, septic tanks, and drainfields, but otherwise as 

defined in § 62.1-44.15:51 of the Code of Virginia) shall 

comply with the requirements of the local erosion and 

sediment control ordinance. Enforcement for 

noncompliance with the erosion and sediment control 

requirements referenced in this criterion shall be conducted 

under the provisions of the Erosion and Sediment Control 

Law and attendant regulations. 

6. Any Chesapeake Bay Preservation Act land-disturbing 

activity as defined in § 62.1-44.15:24 of the Code of Virginia 

shall comply with the requirements of 9VAC25-870-51 and 

9VAC25-870-103. 

7. Onsite sewage treatment systems not requiring a Virginia 

Pollutant Discharge Elimination System (VPDES) permit 

shall: 

a. Have pump-out accomplished for all such systems at 

least once every five years. 

(1) If deemed appropriate by the local health department 

and subject to conditions the local health department may 

set, local governments may offer to the owners of such 

systems, as an alternative to the mandatory pump-out, the 

option of having a plastic filter installed and maintained in 

the outflow pipe from the septic tank to filter solid material 

from the effluent while sustaining adequate flow to the 

drainfield to permit normal use of the septic system. Such 

a filter should satisfy standards established in the Sewage 

Handling and Disposal Regulations (12VAC5-610) 

administered by the Virginia Department of Health. 

(2) Furthermore, in lieu of requiring proof of septic tank 

pump-out every five years, local governments may allow 

owners of onsite sewage treatment systems to submit 

documentation every five years, certified by an operator 

or onsite soil evaluator licensed or certified under Chapter 

23 (§ 54.1-2300 et seq.) of Title 54.1 of the Code of 

Virginia as being qualified to operate, maintain, or design 

onsite sewage systems, that the septic system has been 

inspected, is functioning properly, and the tank does not 

need to have the effluent pumped out of it. 

b. For new construction, provide a reserve sewage disposal 

site with a capacity at least equal to that of the primary 

sewage disposal site. This reserve sewage disposal site 

requirement shall not apply to any lot or parcel recorded 

prior to October 1, 1989, if the lot or parcel is not sufficient 

in capacity to accommodate a reserve sewage disposal 

site, as determined by the local health department. 

Building shall be prohibited on the area of all sewage 

disposal sites until the structure is served by public sewer 

or an onsite sewage treatment system that operates under 

a permit issued by the board. All sewage disposal site 

records shall be administered to provide adequate notice 

and enforcement. As an alternative to the 100% reserve 

sewage disposal site, local governments may offer the 

owners of such systems the option of installing an 

alternating drainfield system meeting the following 

conditions: 

(1) Each of the two alternating drainfields in the system 

shall have, at a minimum, an area not less than 50% of the 

area that would otherwise be required if a single primary 

drainfield were constructed. 

(2) An area equaling 50% of the area that would otherwise 

be required for the primary drainfield site must be reserved 

for subsurface absorption systems that utilize a flow 

diversion device, in order to provide for future 

replacement or repair to meet the requirements for a 

sewage disposal system. Expansion of the primary system 

will require an expansion of this reserve area. 

(3) The two alternating drainfields shall be connected by a 

diversion valve, approved by the local health department, 

located in the pipe between the septic (aerobic) tank and 

the distribution boxes. The diversion valve shall be used 

to alternate the direction of effluent flow to one drainfield 

or the other at a time. However, diversion valves shall not 

be used for the following types of treatment systems: 

(a) Sand mounds; 

(b) Low-pressure distribution systems; 

(c) Repair situations when installation of a valve is not 

feasible; and 

(d) Any other approved system for which the use of a 

valve would adversely affect the design of the system, as 

determined by the local health department. 

(4) The diversion valve shall be a three-port, two-way 

valve of approved materials (i.e., resistant to sewage and 

leakproof and designed so that the effluent from the tank 

can be directed to flow into either one of the two 

distribution boxes). 

(5) There shall be a conduit from the top of the valve to 

the ground surface with an appropriate cover to be level 

with or above the ground surface. 

(6) The valve shall not be located in driveways, 

recreational courts, parking lots, or beneath sheds or other 

structures. 
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(7) In lieu of the aforementioned diversion valve, any 

device that can be designed and constructed to 

conveniently direct the flow of effluent from the tank into 

either one of the two distribution boxes may be approved 

if plans are submitted to the local health department and 

found to be satisfactory. 

(8) The local government shall require that the owner(s) 

owner alternate the drainfields every 12 months to permit 

the yearly resting of half of the absorption system. 

(9) The local government shall ensure that the owner(s) 

owner are notified annually of the requirement to switch 

the valve to the opposite drainfield. 

8. Land upon which agricultural activities are being 

conducted, including but not limited to crop production, 

pasture, and dairy and feedlot operations, or lands otherwise 

defined as agricultural land by the local government, shall 

have a soil and water quality conservation assessment 

conducted that evaluates the effectiveness of existing 

practices pertaining to soil erosion and sediment control, 

nutrient management, and management of pesticides, and, 

where necessary, results in a plan that outlines additional 

practices needed to ensure that water quality protection is 

being accomplished consistent with the Act and this chapter. 

a. Recommendations for additional conservation practices 

need address only those conservation issues applicable to 

the tract or field being assessed. Any soil and water quality 

conservation practices that are recommended as a result of 

such an assessment and are subsequently implemented 

with financial assistance from federal or state cost-share 

programs must be designed, consistent with cost-share 

practice standards effective in January 1999 in the "Field 

Office Technical Guide" of the U.S. Department of 

Agriculture Natural Resource Conservation Service or the 

June 2000 edition of the "Virginia Agricultural BMP 

Manual" of the Virginia Department of Conservation and 

Recreation, respectively. Unless otherwise specified in 

this section, general standards pertaining to the various 

agricultural conservation practices being assessed shall be 

as follows: 

(1) For erosion and sediment control recommendations, 

the goal shall be, where feasible, to prevent erosion from 

exceeding the soil loss tolerance level, referred to as "T," 

as defined in the "National Soil Survey Handbook" of 

November 1996 in the "Field Office Technical Guide" of 

the U.S. Department of Agriculture Natural Resource 

Conservation Service. However, in no case shall erosion 

exceed the soil loss consistent with an Alternative 

Conservation System, referred to as an "ACS", as defined 

in the "Field Office Technical Guide" of the U.S. 

Department of Agriculture Natural Resource 

Conservation Service. 

(2) For nutrient management, whenever nutrient 

management plans are developed, the operator or 

landowner must provide soil test information, consistent 

with the Virginia Nutrient Management Training and 

Certification Regulations (4VAC50-85). 

(3) For pest chemical control, referrals shall be made to 

the local cooperative extension agent or an Integrated Pest 

Management Specialist of the Virginia Cooperative 

Extension Service. Recommendations shall include copies 

of applicable information from the "Virginia Pest 

Management Guide" or other Extension materials related 

to pest control. 

b. A higher priority shall be placed on conducting 

assessments of agricultural fields and tracts adjacent to 

Resource Protection Areas. However, if the landowner or 

operator of such a tract also has Resource Management 

Area fields or tracts in his operation, the assessment for 

that landowner or operator may be conducted for all fields 

or tracts in the operation. When such an expanded 

assessment is completed, priority must return to Resource 

Protection Area fields and tracts. 

c. The findings and recommendations of such assessments 

and any resulting soil and water quality conservation plans 

will be submitted to the local Soil and Water Conservation 

District Board, which will be the plan-approving 

authority. 

9. Silvicultural activities in Chesapeake Bay Preservation 

Areas are exempt from this chapter provided that 

silvicultural operations adhere to water quality protection 

procedures prescribed by the Virginia Department of 

Forestry in the Fifth Edition (March 2011) of "Virginia's 

Forestry Best Management Practices for Water Quality 

Technical Manual." The Virginia Department of Forestry 

will oversee and document installation of best management 

practices and will monitor in-stream impacts of forestry 

operations in Chesapeake Bay Preservation Areas. 

10. Local governments shall require evidence of all wetlands 

permits required by law prior to authorizing grading or other 

onsite activities to begin. 

9VAC25-830-140. Development criteria for Resource 

Protection Areas. 

In addition to the general performance criteria set forth in 

9VAC25-830-130, the criteria in this section are applicable in 

Resource Protection Areas. 

1. Land development may be allowed in the Resource 

Protection Area, subject to approval by the local 

government, only if it (i) is water dependent; (ii) constitutes 

redevelopment; (iii) constitutes development or 

redevelopment within a designated Intensely Developed 

Area; (iv) is a new use established pursuant to subdivision 4 

a of this section; (v) is a road or driveway crossing satisfying 

the conditions set forth in subdivision 1 d of this section; or 

(vi) is a flood control or stormwater management facility 

satisfying the conditions set forth in subdivision 1 e of this 

section. 
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a. A water quality impact assessment in accordance with 

subdivision 6 of this section shall be required for any 

proposed land disturbance. 

b. A new or expanded water-dependent facility may be 

allowed provided that the following criteria are met: 

(1) It does not conflict with the comprehensive plan; 

(2) It complies with the performance criteria set forth in 

9VAC25-830-130; 

(3) Any nonwater-dependent component is located outside 

of Resource Protection Areas; and 

(4) Access to the water-dependent facility will be provided 

with the minimum disturbance necessary. Where 

practicable, a single point of access will be provided. 

c. Redevelopment outside locally designated Intensely 

Developed Areas shall be permitted in the Resource 

Protection Area only if there is no increase in the amount 

of imperious cover and no further encroachment within the 

Resource Protection Area, and it shall conform to 

applicable erosion and sediment control and stormwater 

management criteria set forth in the Erosion and Sediment 

Control Law and the Virginia Stormwater Management 

Act and their attendant regulations, as well as all 

applicable stormwater management requirements of other 

state and federal agencies. 

d. Roads and driveways not exempt under subdivision B 1 

of 9VAC25-830-150 and which, therefore, must comply 

with the provisions of this chapter, may be constructed in 

or across Resource Protection Areas if each of the 

following conditions is met: 

(1) The local government makes a finding that there are no 

reasonable alternatives to aligning the road or driveway in 

or across the Resource Protection Area; 

(2) The alignment and design of the road or driveway are 

optimized, consistent with other applicable requirements, 

to minimize (i) encroachment in the Resource Protection 

Area and (ii) adverse effects on water quality; 

(3) The design and construction of the road or driveway 

satisfy all applicable criteria of this chapter, including 

submission of a water quality impact assessment; and 

(4) The local government reviews the plan for the road or 

driveway proposed in or across the Resource Protection 

Area in coordination with local government site plan, 

subdivision and plan of development approvals. 

e. Flood control and stormwater management facilities 

that drain or treat water from multiple development 

projects or from a significant portion of a watershed may 

be allowed in Resource Protection Areas provided such 

facilities are allowed and constructed in accordance with 

the Virginia Stormwater Management Act and its 

attendant regulations, and provided that (i) the local 

government has conclusively established that location of 

the facility within the Resource Protection Area is the 

optimum location; (ii) the size of the facility is the 

minimum necessary to provide necessary flood control or 

stormwater treatment, or both; (iii) the facility must be 

consistent with a comprehensive stormwater management 

plan developed and approved in accordance with 

9VAC25-870-92 of the Virginia Stormwater Management 

Program (VSMP) regulations; (iv) all applicable permits 

for construction in state or federal waters must be obtained 

from the appropriate state and federal agencies, such as the 

U.S. Army Corps of Engineers, the department, and the 

Virginia Marine Resources Commission; (v) approval 

must be received from the local government prior to 

construction; and (vi) routine maintenance is allowed to 

be performed on such facilities to assure that they continue 

to function as designed. It is not the intent of this 

subdivision to allow a best management practice that 

collects and treats runoff from only an individual lot or 

some portion of the lot to be located within a Resource 

Protection Area. 

2. Exemptions in Resource Protection Areas. The following 

land disturbances in Resource Protection Areas may be 

exempt from the criteria of this part provided that they 

comply with subdivisions a and b of this subdivision 2: (i) 

water wells; (ii) passive recreation facilities such as 

boardwalks, trails, and pathways; and (iii) historic 

preservation and archaeological activities: 

a. Local governments shall establish administrative 

procedures to review such exemptions. 

b. Any land disturbance exceeding an area of 2,500 square 

feet shall comply with the erosion and sediment control 

criteria in subdivision 5 of 9VAC25-830-130. 

3. Buffer area requirements. The 100-foot wide buffer area 

shall be the landward component of the Resource Protection 

Area as set forth in subdivision B 5 of 9VAC25-830-80. 

Notwithstanding permitted uses, encroachments, and 

vegetation clearing, as set forth in this section, the 100-foot 

wide buffer area is not reduced in width. To minimize the 

adverse effects of human activities on the other components 

of the Resource Protection Area, state waters, and aquatic 

life, a 100-foot wide buffer area of vegetation that is 

effective in retarding runoff, preventing erosion, and 

filtering nonpoint source pollution from runoff shall be 

retained if present and established where it does not exist. 

Where such buffer must be established, the planting of trees 

should be utilized to the maximum extent practicable and 

appropriate to site conditions. 

a. The 100-foot wide buffer area shall be deemed to 

achieve a 75% reduction of sediments and a 40% 

reduction of nutrients. 

b. Where land uses such as agriculture or silviculture 

within the area of the buffer cease and the lands are 

proposed to be converted to other uses, the full 100-foot 

wide buffer shall be reestablished. In reestablishing the 
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buffer, management measures shall be undertaken to 

provide woody vegetation that assures the buffer functions 

set forth in this chapter. Such measures should include to 

the maximum extent practicable and appropriate to site 

conditions the planting of trees in reestablishing the 

buffer. 

4. Permitted encroachments into the buffer area. 

a. When the application of the buffer area would result in 

the loss of a buildable area on a lot or parcel recorded prior 

to October 1, 1989, encroachments into the buffer area 

may be allowed through an administrative process in 

accordance with the following criteria: 

(1) Encroachments into the buffer area shall be the 

minimum necessary to achieve a reasonable buildable area 

for a principal structure and necessary utilities. 

(2) Where practicable, a vegetated area that will maximize 

water quality protection, mitigate the effects of the buffer 

encroachment, and is equal to the area of encroachment 

into the buffer area shall be established elsewhere on the 

lot or parcel. Such vegetated area where established 

should include the planting of trees to the maximum extent 

practicable. 

(3) The encroachment may not extend into the seaward 50 

feet of the buffer area. 

b. When the application of the buffer area would result in 

the loss of a buildable area on a lot or parcel recorded 

between October 1, 1989, and March 1, 2002, 

encroachments into the buffer area may be allowed 

through an administrative process in accordance with the 

following criteria: 

(1) The lot or parcel was created as a result of a legal 

process conducted in conformity with the local 

government's subdivision regulations; 

(2) Conditions or mitigation measures imposed through a 

previously approved exception shall be met; 

(3) If the use of a best management practice (BMP) was 

previously required, the BMP shall be evaluated to 

determine if it continues to function effectively and, if 

necessary, the BMP shall be reestablished or repaired and 

maintained as required; and 

(4) The criteria in subdivision 4 a of this section shall be 

met. 

5. Permitted modifications of the buffer area. 

a. In order to maintain the functional value of the buffer 

area, existing vegetation may be removed, subject to 

approval by the local government, only to provide for 

reasonable sight lines, access paths, general woodlot 

management, and best management practices, including 

those that prevent upland erosion and concentrated flows 

of stormwater, as follows: 

(1) Trees may be pruned or removed as necessary to 

provide for sight lines and vistas, provided that where 

removed, they shall be replaced with other vegetation that 

is equally effective in retarding runoff, preventing erosion, 

and filtering nonpoint source pollution from runoff. 

Mature trees should be preserved and not removed to the 

maximum extent practicable under this provision. When 

trees are removed, the other vegetation to replace the trees 

should be trees as well to the maximum extent practicable. 

(2) Any path shall be constructed and surfaced so as to 

effectively control erosion. 

(3) Dead, diseased, or dying trees or shrubbery and 

noxious weeds (such as Johnson grass, kudzu, and 

multiflora rose) may be removed and thinning of trees may 

be allowed pursuant to sound horticultural practice 

incorporated into locally-adopted standards. 

(4) For shoreline erosion control projects, trees and woody 

vegetation may be removed, necessary control techniques 

employed, and appropriate vegetation established to 

protect or stabilize the shoreline in accordance with the 

best available technical advice and applicable permit 

conditions or requirements. Mature trees should be 

preserved to the maximum extent practicable consistent 

with the best available technical advice and permit 

conditions or requirements and trees should be utilized in 

the projects to the maximum extent practicable. 

b. On agricultural lands the agricultural buffer area shall 

be managed to prevent concentrated flows of surface water 

from breaching the buffer area and appropriate measures 

may be taken to prevent noxious weeds (such as Johnson 

grass, kudzu, and multiflora rose) from invading the buffer 

area. Agricultural activities may encroach into the buffer 

area as follows: 

(1) Agricultural activities may encroach into the landward 

50 feet of the 100-foot wide buffer area when at least one 

agricultural best management practice which, in the 

opinion of the local soil and water conservation district 

board, addresses the more predominant water quality issue 

on the adjacent land—erosion control or nutrient 

management—is being implemented on the adjacent land, 

provided that the combination of the undisturbed buffer 

area and the best management practice achieves water 

quality protection, pollutant removal, and water resource 

conservation at least the equivalent of the 100-foot wide 

buffer area. If nutrient management is identified as the 

predominant water quality issue, a nutrient management 

plan, including soil tests, must be developed consistent 

with the Virginia Nutrient Management Training and 

Certification Regulations (4VAC5-15) (4VAC50-85) 

administered by the Virginia Department of Soil and 

Water Conservation and Recreation Board. 

(2) Agricultural activities may encroach within the 

landward 75 feet of the 100-foot wide buffer area when 

agricultural best management practices which address 

erosion control, nutrient management, and pest chemical 

control, are being implemented on the adjacent land. The 
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erosion control practices must prevent erosion from 

exceeding the soil loss tolerance level, referred to as "T," 

as defined in the "National Soil Survey Handbook" of 

November 1996 in the "Field Office Technical Guide" of 

the U.S. Department of Agriculture Natural Resource 

Conservation Service. A nutrient management plan, 

including soil tests, must be developed, consistent with the 

Virginia Nutrient Management Training and Certification 

Regulations (4VAC5-15) (4VAC50-85) administered by 

the Virginia Department of Soil and Water Conservation 

and Recreation Board. In conjunction with the remaining 

buffer area, this collection of best management practices 

shall be presumed to achieve water quality protection at 

least the equivalent of that provided by the 100-foot wide 

buffer area. 

(3) The buffer area is not required to be designated 

adjacent to agricultural drainage ditches if at least one best 

management practice which, in the opinion of the local 

soil and water conservation district board, addresses the 

more predominant water quality issue on the adjacent 

land—either erosion control or nutrient management—is 

being implemented on the adjacent land. 

(4) If specific problems are identified pertaining to 

agricultural activities that are causing pollution of the 

nearby water body with perennial flow or violate 

performance standards pertaining to the vegetated buffer 

area, the local government, in cooperation with soil and 

water conservation district, shall recommend a 

compliance schedule to the landowner and require the 

problems to be corrected consistent with that schedule. 

This schedule shall expedite environmental protection 

while taking into account the seasons and other temporal 

considerations so that the probability for successfully 

implementing the corrective measures is greatest. 

(5) In cases where the landowner or his the landowner's 

agent or operator has refused assistance from the local soil 

and water conservation district in complying with or 

documenting compliance with the agricultural 

requirements of this chapter, the district shall report the 

noncompliance to the local government. The local 

government shall require the landowner to correct the 

problems within a specified period of time not to exceed 

18 months from their initial notification of the deficiencies 

to the landowner. The local government, in cooperation 

with the district, shall recommend a compliance schedule 

to the landowner. This schedule shall expedite 

environmental protection while taking into account the 

seasons and other temporal considerations so that the 

probability for successfully implementing the corrective 

measures is greatest. 

6. Water quality impact assessment. A water quality impact 

assessment shall be required for any proposed development 

within the Resource Protection Area consistent with this part 

and for any other development in Chesapeake Bay 

Preservation Areas that may warrant such assessment 

because of the unique characteristics of the site or intensity 

of the proposed use or development. 

a. The purpose of the water quality impact assessment is 

to identify the impacts of proposed development on water 

quality and lands in the Resource Protection Areas 

consistent with the goals and objectives of the Act, this 

chapter, and local programs, and to determine specific 

measures for mitigation of those impacts. The specific 

content and procedures for the water quality impact 

assessment shall be established by each local government. 

Local governments should notify the board of all 

development requiring such an assessment. 

b. The water quality impact assessment shall be of 

sufficient specificity to demonstrate compliance with the 

criteria of the local program. 

7. Buffer area requirements for Intensely Developed Areas. 

In Intensely Developed Areas the local government may 

exercise discretion regarding whether to require 

establishment of vegetation in the 100-foot wide buffer area. 

However, while the immediate establishment of vegetation 

in the buffer area may be impractical, local governments 

shall give consideration to implementing measures that 

would establish vegetation in the buffer in these areas over 

time in order to maximize water quality protection, pollutant 

removal, and water resource conservation. In considering 

such measures, the local government should consider the 

planting of trees as a part of any such measures. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R21-6648; Filed January 12, 2021, 5:39 p.m. 

Proposed Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The State Water Control Board is 

claiming an exemption from Article 2 (§ 2.2-4006 et seq.) of 

the Administrative Process Act in accordance with the second 

enactment of Chapter 1207 of the 2020 Acts of Assembly, 

which exempts the actions of the board relating to the initial 

adoption of regulations necessary to implement the provisions 

of the act; however, the board is required to provide a public 

comment period of at least 60 days prior to adoption of final 

regulations. 

Title of Regulation: 9VAC25-830. Chesapeake Bay 

Preservation Area Designation and Management 

Regulations (adding 9VAC25-830-155). 

Statutory Authority: §§ 62.1-44.15:69 and 62.1-44.15:72 of the 

Code of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: No public hearings are currently 

scheduled. 

Public Comment Deadline: May 3, 2021. 

Agency Contact: Justin L. Williams, State Water Control 

Board, 1111 East Main Street, Suite 1400, P.O. Box 1105, 

Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 698-4185, FAX (804) 

698-4178, or email justin.williams@deq.virginia.gov. 

mailto:justin.williams@deq.virginia.gov
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Summary: 

Pursuant to Chapter 1207 of the 2020 Acts of Assembly, 

which amended the Chesapeake Bay Preservation Act 

(§ 62.1-44.15:72 et seq. of the Code of Virginia) and added 

coastal resilience and adaptation to sea-level rise and 

climate change to the criteria requirements for regulations 

to be established by the State Water Control Board for use 

by local governments under the Chesapeake Bay 

Preservation Act, the proposed amendments define specific 

criteria related to coastal resilience for Tidewater Virginia 

localities to consider in land development activities. 

9VAC25-830-155. Climate change resilience and 

adaptation criteria.  

A. This section applies in addition to 9VAC25-830-130 and 

9VAC25-830-140. Local governments shall incorporate these 

provisions into all relevant ordinances and ensure their 

enforcement through implementation of appropriate processes 

and documentation for oversight and enforcement. Localities 

shall update and amend their ordinances to adopt and 

incorporate these performance criteria by (insert date three 

years after effective date of this amendment). 

B. Land development and adaption measures or activities, 

including buffer modifications or encroachments necessary to 

install adaptation measures, mitigation measures, or other 

actions necessary to address the impacts of climate change, 

including sea-level rise, recurrent flooding, and storm surge, 

may be allowed in a Chesapeake Bay Preservation area 

provided the activity complies with all other applicable 

provisions of this chapter. Nothing in these provisions shall 

preclude a locality from adopting requirements or criteria in 

addition to the requirements of these provisions to address the 

impacts of climate change and sea-level rise in Chesapeake 

Bay Preservation areas in the locality, including extension of 

the Resource Protection Areas, further restrictions on 

development, or further preservation of existing vegetation. 

C. Local governments shall consider the impacts of climate 

change or sea-level rise on any proposed land development in 

the Resource Protection Area. Based upon this consideration, 

local governments may require the installation of additional 

measures or design features as part of the proposed land 

development consistent with the requirements of the Act and 

this chapter. In considering the future impact, local 

governments shall: 

1. Consider a potential impact range of no less than 30 years; 

2. Utilize an appropriate model or forecast to aid in the 

consideration of impacts through use of: 

a. The most updated 2017 National Oceanographic and 

Atmospheric Administration (NOAA) Intermediate–High 

scenario projection curve; 

b. A model or forecast that incorporates or utilizes the 

2017 National Oceanographic and Atmospheric 

Administration (NOAA) Intermediate–High scenario 

projection curve; or 

c. A peer-reviewed model or forecast that includes NOAA 

2017 projections, including the Intermediate–High 

scenario projection curve and has been developed, 

utilized, or recognized by a state or federal agency and is 

not based solely upon extrapolation of historical data; 

3. Include the consideration of future floodplain, water level, 

storm surge, or other impacts in altering the Resource 

Protection Area or diminishing the protection of water 

quality due to the proposed development from these impacts; 

and 

4. Identify measures, conditions, or alterations to the 

proposed land development to address these impacts as 

necessary and appropriate based upon site conditions, type 

of proposed land development, and projected potential 

impacts. This includes measures such as state or federally 

recognized or approved best management practices 

appropriate for the site conditions and land development to 

address such impacts. 

D. Local governments shall not grant exceptions to the 

requirements of 9VAC25-830-130, 9VAC250-830-140, or 

9VAC20-830-155 where: 

1. The impact of climate change, including sea-level rise on 

the land development is not considered as outlined in 

subsection C or this section for exceptions in the Resource 

Protection Area; 

2. The exception consists of approval solely for the use of 

fill or other material to the Resource Protection Area or 

within 100 feet of the Resource Protection Area; or 

3. The exception permits encroachment into seaward 50 feet 

of the buffer area of the Resource Protection Area 

notwithstanding permitted modifications and adaptive 

measures. 

E. Local governments may allow adaption measures or 

activities within the Resource Protection Area to address 

climate change, including sea-level rise subject to the 

following criteria. These criteria and requirements shall apply 

to such adaptation measure or activity in lieu of the criteria in 

9VAC25-830-130 and 9VAC25-830-140: 

1. Where the adaptation measure or activity is within a 

Resource Protection Area that has been previously 

developed, including Intensely Developed Areas, and is not 

naturally vegetated, the adaptation measure or activity shall: 

a. Be designed, implemented, and maintained in 

accordance with best management practices applicable to 

the adaptation measure or activity as recognized or 

approved by a state or federal agency; 

b. Not consist solely of the use of fill or other materials to 

raise the elevation of a Resource Protection Area; 



Regulations 

Volume 37, Issue 12  Virginia Register of Regulations  February 1, 2021 

1211 

c. Incorporate natural features or measures such as the 

planting of vegetation or trees, maximize preservation of 

existing natural vegetation and trees particularly mature 

trees, and minimize land disturbance and impervious 

cover to the maximum extent practicable consistent with 

the applicable best management practices; and 

d. Where applicable, obtain any applicable federal, state, 

and local permits and comply with any applicable federal, 

state, and local requirements. 

2. Where the adaptation measure or activity is within a 

Resource Protection Area that is naturally vegetated or has 

not been previously developed, the measure or activity shall: 

a. Be designed and implemented in accordance with best 

management practices applicable to the adaptation 

measure or activity as recognized or approved by state or 

federal agencies; 

b. Preserve to the maximum extent practicable any 

existing vegetation in the additional 50 feet landward from 

the Resource Protection Area; 

c. Not consist solely of the use of fill or other materials to 

raise the elevation of a Resource Protection Area; 

d. Maximize the preservation of existing vegetation and 

trees, particularly mature trees, incorporate the planting 

and establishment of vegetation, particularly trees, and 

minimize land disturbance and impervious cover to the 

maximum extent practicable consistent with the 

applicable best management practices; and 

e. Where applicable, obtain any applicable federal, state, 

and local permits and comply with any applicable federal, 

state, and local requirements. 

3. Where the adaptation measure or activity is a best 

management practice recognized or approved by a state or 

federal agency to reduce runoff, prevent erosion, and filter 

nonpoint source pollution, a Water Quality Impact 

Assessment in accordance with subdivision 6 of 9VAC25-

830-140 shall not be required. All other measures or 

activities shall require a Water Quality Impact Assessment 

in accordance with subdivision 6 of 9VAC25-830-140. 

4. Where the proposed adaptation measure is a living 

shoreline project or related activity, the locality otherwise 

approves of the project, the projects maintains or establishes 

a vegetative buffer inland of the living shoreline to the 

maximum extent practicable, minimizes land disturbance to 

the maximum extent practicable, and the project receives 

approval from the Virginia Marine Resources Commission, 

including a permit as applicable, and any other necessary 

permits or approvals, the adaptation measure shall be exempt 

from additional requirements or criteria, including a Water 

Quality Impact Assessment. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R21-6647; Filed January 12, 2021, 5:34 p.m. 

  ––––––––––––––––––  

TITLE 10. FINANCE AND FINANCIAL 
INSTITUTIONS 

STATE CORPORATION COMMISSION 

Proposed Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The State Corporation Commission 

is claiming an exemption from the Administrative Process Act 

in accordance with § 2.2-4002 A 2 of the Code of Virginia, 

which exempts courts, any agency of the Supreme Court, and 

any agency that by the Constitution is expressly granted any of 

the powers of a court of record. 

Title of Regulation: 10VAC5-210. Motor Vehicle Title 

Lending (amending 10VAC5-210-10 through 10VAC5-

210-95). 

Statutory Authority: §§ 12.1-13 and 6.2-2214 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: A public hearing will be held 

upon request. 

Public Comment Deadline: February 12, 2021. 

Agency Contact: Dustin Physioc, Deputy Commissioner, 

Bureau of Financial Institutions, State Corporation 

Commission, P.O. Box 640, Richmond, VA 23218, telephone 

(804) 786-0831, FAX (804) 371-9416, or email 

dustin.physioc@scc.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The proposed amendments conform the regulation to 

Chapters 1215 and 1258 of the 2020 Acts of Assembly and 

make technical changes to the regulation. Specifically, 

proposed amendments (i) modify the definitions; (ii) 

reorganize and update the motor vehicle title lending 

pamphlet; (iii) require an applicant's surety bond be 

retained in the event that a person's application for a license 

is withdrawn or denied; (iv) clarify that licensees need to 

continuously maintain the requirements and standards for 

licensure prescribed in § 6.2-2206 of the Code of Virginia; 

(v) remove the requirement that a licensee provide each 

prospective borrower with a separate printed notice before 

the licensee furnishes the borrower with a loan application 

or receives information relating to loan qualification; (vi) 

require a licensee to post the schedule of finance charges 

and notice prescribed by subdivision 15 of § 6.2-2215 of the 

Code of Virginia on its website as well as in each licensed 

location; (vii) update the required contents of the annual 

report that licensees are required to furnish to the 

Commissioner of Financial Institutions; (viii) establish that 

if a licensee performs certain loan functions on or through 

its website or mobile application and any other products or 

services are offered or sold to Virginia residents using such 

website or mobile application, then the offer or sale of such 

other products or services constitutes other business; (ix) 

impose specific conditions on the conduct of a check cashing 

mailto:dustin.physioc@scc.virginia.gov
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business from a licensee's motor vehicle title lending offices; 

(x) revise the condition that specifically pertains to the 

operation of an automated teller machine from a licensee's 

motor vehicle title lending offices; (xi) prohibit a licensee 

from providing a consumer with an envelope or other written 

material that gives the false impression that the mailing or 

written material is an official communication from a 

governmental entity; (xii) establish that a licensee's 

advertisements need to comply with the disclosure 

requirements for advertisements that are contained in 

Regulation Z (12 CFR Part 1026); (xiii) require a licensee 

to maintain copies of any notices or disclosures that the 

licensee furnishes to a borrower; and (xiv) eliminate the 

annual fee that is currently imposed on companies that are 

granted a license between January 1 and September 15 of 

the year of the assessment. 

AT RICHMOND, JANUARY 11, 2021 

COMMONWEALTH OF VIRGINIA, ex rel. 

STATE CORPORATION COMMISSION 

CASE NO. BFI-2021-00001 

Ex Parte: In the matter of Adopting 

Revisions to the Regulations Governing 

Motor Vehicle Title Lending 

ORDER TO TAKE NOTICE 

Section 6.2-2214 of the Code of Virginia ("Code") provides 

that the State Corporation Commission ("Commission") shall 

adopt such regulations as it deems appropriate to effect the 

purposes of Chapter 22 (§ 6.2-2200 et seq.) of Title 6.2 of the 

Code ("Chapter 22"). The Commission's regulations governing 

motor vehicle title lending are set forth in Chapter 210 of Title 

10 of the Virginia Administrative Code ("Chapter 210"). 

The Bureau of Financial Institutions ("Bureau") has 

submitted to the Commission proposed amendments to 

Chapter 210. The proposed amendments are prompted by 

Chapters 1215 and 1258 of the 2020 Virginia Acts of 

Assembly ("Chapters 1215 and 1258"), which made extensive 

changes to Chapter 22 that became effective on January 1, 

2021. In particular, Chapters 1215 and 1258 altered many of 

the requirements, prohibitions, and limitations that govern 

motor vehicle title loans made by licensees under Chapter 22. 

Accordingly, the Bureau has proposed substantial revisions to 

Chapter 210, which are needed in order to conform the 

regulations to Chapters 1215 and 1258. 

The vast majority of the Bureau's proposal aligns Chapter 210 

with Chapters 1215 and 1258, as well as clarifies certain issues 

that stem from the legislation. However, the Bureau is also 

proposing various technical changes as well as an assortment 

of revisions that are not prompted by the legislation. These 

revisions include the following: 

Definitions. 

The proposed amendments to section 10 VAC 5-210-10 

modify the definitions of "business day," "good funds 

instrument," and "liquid assets," and remove several terms that 

are now defined in § 6.2-100 of the Code or that do not appear 

in Chapter 210 as proposed. 

Requirements for licensees; reporting requirements; 

acquisitions. 

In section 10 VAC 5-210-20, the Bureau proposes to retain 

an applicant's surety bond in the event that a person's 

application for a license is withdrawn or denied. The proposal 

also modifies the requirement for reporting certain contact and 

loan record location information to the Bureau, and clarifies 

that licensees need to continuously maintain the requirements 

and standards for licensure prescribed in § 6.2-2206 of the 

Code. 

Motor vehicle title lending pamphlet. 

The proposed revisions to section 10 VAC 5-210-30 remove 

the requirement that a licensee provide each prospective 

borrower with a separate printed notice before the licensee 

furnishes the borrower with a loan application or receives 

information relating to loan qualification. Additionally, the 

proposal relocates the acknowledgment for the borrower rights 

and responsibilities pamphlet to the end of the licensee's 

application form. Section 10 VAC 5-210-30 also contains 

amendments that update the prescribed text of the pamphlet to 

reflect changes that are being proposed elsewhere in Chapter 

210. 

Posting of charges and contact information for complaints. 

The proposed amendments to section 10 VAC 5-210-40 

require a licensee to post the schedule of finance charges and 

notice prescribed by subdivision 15 of § 6.2-2215 of the Code 

on its website as well as in each licensed location. In addition, 

the Bureau is proposing to modify the contents of the notice as 

well as remove the minimum type sizes that are specified for 

the notice and schedule of finance charges. 

Annual reporting requirements. 

The modifications that are proposed in section 10 VAC 5-

210-60 update the required contents of the annual report that 

licensees are required to furnish to the Commissioner of 

Financial Institutions. 

Conducting other business. 

In section 10 VAC 5-210-70, the proposal establishes that if 

a licensee performs certain loan functions on or through its 

website or mobile application and any other products or 

services are offered or sold to Virginia residents using such 

website or mobile application, then the offer or sale of such 

other products or services constitutes other business for 

purposes of this section.  
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Additionally, the proposed revisions clarify that although 

Commission approval is not required for either a registered 

check cashing business or a licensed short-term lending 

business to be conducted from a licensee's motor vehicle title 

lending offices, the conduct of these businesses from such 

offices is otherwise governed by section 10 VAC 5-210-70. In 

this regard, the proposal imposes specific conditions on the 

conduct of a check cashing business from a licensee's motor 

vehicle title lending offices. Furthermore, subsection E of this 

section currently attaches specific conditions to the conduct of 

a payday lending business from a licensee's motor vehicle title 

lending offices, so the Bureau has proposed that the references 

therein to payday lending and payday loans be changed to 

short-term lending and short-term loans in order to reflect the 

new purview of Chapter 18 of Title 6.2 (§ 6.2-1800 et seq.) of 

the Code.1 

Lastly, the proposal revises the condition that specifically 

pertains to the operation of an automated teller machine from 

a licensee's motor vehicle title lending offices, and clarifies that 

the conditions prescribed in section 10 VAC 5-210-70 

generally supersede the conditions that were set forth in the 

other business approval orders previously entered by the 

Commission. 

Advertising. 

The modifications proposed by the Bureau in section 10 VAC 

5-210-80 prohibit a licensee from providing a consumer with 

an envelope or other written material that gives the false 

impression that the mailing or written material is an official 

communication from a governmental entity. The proposal also 

establishes that a licensee's advertisements need to comply 

with the disclosure requirements for advertisements that are 

contained in Regulation Z (12 C.F.R. Part 1026). 

Books, accounts, and records; responding to requests from the 

Bureau. 

The proposed revisions to section 10 VAC 5-210-90 require 

a licensee to maintain copies of any notices or disclosures that 

the licensee furnishes to a borrower pursuant to Chapter 22 or 

Chapter 210. In addition, the Bureau is proposing to extend the 

provisions concerning the disposal of records containing a 

consumer's personal financial information to former licensees. 

Schedule of annual fees for the examination, supervision, and 

regulation of motor vehicle title lenders. 

The amendments proposed by the Bureau in section 10 VAC 

5-210-95 eliminate the annual fee that is currently imposed on 

companies that are granted a license under Chapter 22 between 

January 1 and September 15 of the year of the assessment. 

NOW THE COMMISSION, based on the information 

supplied by the Bureau, is of the opinion and finds that the 

proposed regulations should be considered for adoption. 

Accordingly, IT IS ORDERED THAT: 

(1) The proposed regulations are attached hereto and made a 

part hereof. 

(2) Comments or requests for a hearing on the proposed 

regulations must be submitted in writing to the Clerk of the 

Commission, State Corporation Commission, c/o Document 

Control Center, P.O. Box 2118, Richmond, Virginia 23218, on 

or before February 12, 2021. Requests for a hearing shall state 

why a hearing is necessary and why the issues cannot be 

adequately addressed in written comments. All 

correspondence shall contain a reference to Case No. BFI-

2021-00001. Interested persons desiring to submit comments 

or request a hearing electronically may do so by following the 

instructions available at the Commission's website: 

scc.virginia.gov/casecomments/Submit-Public-Comments. 

(3) This Order and the attached proposed regulations shall be 

made available on the Commission's website: 

scc.virginia.gov/pages/Case-Information. 

(4) The Commission's Division of Information Resources 

shall provide a copy of this Order and the proposed regulations 

to the Virginia Registrar of Regulations for publication in the 

Virginia Register of Regulations. 

A COPY of this Order and the attached proposed regulations 

shall be sent by the Clerk of the Commission to the 

Commission's Office of General Counsel and to the 

Commissioner of Financial Institutions, who shall send by e-

mail or U.S. mail a copy of this Order and the attached 

proposed regulations to all licensed motor vehicle title lenders 

and such other interested persons as he may designate. 

__________________________________ 

1Chapters 1215 and 1258 removed all existing references to payday loans 

from Chapter 18 and instead authorized companies licensed under Chapter 18 

to make short-term loans. 

10VAC5-210-10. Definitions. 

A. The following words and terms when used in this chapter 

shall have the following meanings unless the context clearly 

indicates otherwise: 

"Act" means Chapter 22 (§ 6.2-2200 et seq.) of Title 6.2 of 

the Code of Virginia. 

"Advertisement" for purposes of the Act and this chapter 

means a commercial message in any medium that promotes, 

directly or indirectly, a motor vehicle title loan. The term 

includes a communication sent to a consumer as part of a 

solicitation of business, but excludes messages on promotional 

items such as pens, pencils, notepads, hats, and calendars, etc. 

"Bureau" means the Bureau of Financial Institutions. 

"Business day" for purposes of the Act and this chapter means 

a day on which the licensee's office licensee is open for 

business as posted as required by subsection B of 10VAC5-

210-50 able to make loans pursuant to the Act. 
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"Commission" means the State Corporation Commission. 

"Commissioner" means the Commissioner of Financial 

Institutions. 

"Duplicate original" for purposes of the Act and this chapter 

means an exact copy of a signed original, an exact copy with 

signatures created by the same impression as the original, or an 

exact copy bearing an original signature. 

"Good funds instrument" for purposes of the Act and this 

chapter means a certified check, cashier's check, money order 

or, if the licensee is equipped to handle and willing to accept 

such payments, payment effected by use of a credit card, 

prepaid card, or debit card, or the Automated Clearing House 

system. 

"Liquid assets" for purposes of the Act and this chapter means 

cash funds held in a checking account or savings account at a 

depository institutions institution, money market funds, 

commercial paper, and treasury bills. 

"Prepaid card" means a card with a network logo (e.g., Visa, 

MasterCard, American Express, or Discover) that is used by a 

cardholder to access money that has been loaded onto the card 

in advance. 

B. Other terms used in this chapter shall have the meanings 

set forth in § 6.2-100 or 6.2-2200 of the Act Code of Virginia. 

10VAC5-210-20. Requirements for licensees; reporting 

requirements; acquisitions. 

A. A licensee shall maintain in its own name unencumbered 

liquid assets per approved place of business in Virginia of at 

least $75,000 at all times. 

1. The minimum liquid assets required to be maintained 

pursuant to this subsection shall be separate and apart from, 

and in addition to, any minimum liquid assets that the 

licensee is required to maintain in connection with any other 

business conducted in the same office. 

2. A licensee shall upon request by the bureau submit proof 

that it is complying with the provisions of this subsection. 

B. After receiving its license from the commission, a licensee 

shall give written notice to the bureau of its commencement of 

business within 10 days thereafter. 

C. Within 15 days following the occurrence of any of the 

following events, a licensee shall file a written report with the 

commissioner describing the event and its expected impact, if 

any, on the activities of the licensee in Virginia: 

1. Bankruptcy, reorganization, or receivership proceedings 

are filed by or against the licensee. 

2. The Attorney General or any other Virginia governmental 

authority institutes an action against the licensee under the 

Virginia Consumer Protection Act (§ 59.1-196 et seq. of the 

Code of Virginia). 

3. Any local, state, or federal governmental authority 

institutes revocation, suspension, or other formal 

administrative, regulatory, or enforcement proceedings 

against the licensee. 

4. Any local, state, or federal governmental authority (i) 

revokes or suspends the licensee's motor vehicle title lender 

license, title pawn license, or similar license; (ii) takes 

formal administrative, regulatory, or enforcement action 

against the licensee relating to its motor vehicle title lending, 

title pawn, or similar business; or (iii) takes any other action 

against the licensee relating to its motor vehicle title lending, 

title pawn, or similar business where the total amount of 

restitution or other payment from the licensee exceeds 

$20,000. A licensee shall not be required to provide the 

commissioner with information about such event to the 

extent that such disclosure is prohibited by the laws of 

another state. 

5. Based on allegations by any local, state, or federal 

governmental authority that the licensee violated any law or 

regulation applicable to the conduct of its licensed motor 

vehicle title lending, title pawn, or similar business, the 

licensee enters into, or otherwise agrees to the entry of, a 

settlement or consent order, decree, or agreement with or by 

such governmental authority. 

6. The licensee surrenders its license to engage in motor 

vehicle title lending, title pawn, or similar business in 

another state in lieu of threatened or pending license 

revocation, license suspension, or other administrative, 

regulatory, or enforcement action. 

7. The licensee is denied a license to engage in motor vehicle 

title lending, title pawn, or similar business in another state. 

8. The licensee or any of its members, partners, directors, 

officers, principals, or employees is indicted or convicted of 

a felony. 

D. Any person submitting an application to acquire, directly 

or indirectly, 25% or more of the voting shares of a corporation 

or 25% or more of the ownership of any other person licensed 

to conduct business under the Act shall pay a nonrefundable 

application fee of $500. 

E. If a person has filed a bond with the bureau, as required by 

§ 6.2-2204 of the Code of Virginia, such bond shall be retained 

by the bureau notwithstanding the occurrence of any of the 

following events: 

1. The person's license is surrendered, suspended, or 

revoked; or 

2. The person ceases making motor vehicle title loans; or 

3. The person's application for a license is withdrawn or 

denied. 

F. Within 30 A licensee or former licensee shall provide the 

following information to the bureau within 10 days after a such 
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person's license is surrendered or revoked, the former licensee 

shall provide the bureau with or the licensed business is 

otherwise closed: (i) the name names, address addresses, email 

addresses, and telephone number numbers of a designated 

contact person and the person who consumers may contact to 

make payment arrangements for outstanding motor vehicle 

title loans; (ii) the location of the licensee's or former licensee's 

motor vehicle title loan records; and (iii) any additional 

information that the bureau may reasonably require. A licensee 

or former licensee shall maintain current information with the 

bureau until the licensee or former licensee has no outstanding 

motor vehicle title loans. 

G. A person shall remain subject to the provisions of the Act 

and this chapter applicable to licensees in connection with all 

motor vehicle title loans that the person made while licensed 

as a motor vehicle title lender notwithstanding the occurrence 

of any of the following events: 

1. The person's license is surrendered, suspended, or 

revoked; or 

2. The person ceases making motor vehicle title loans. 

H. Loans made pursuant to the Act prior to January 1, 2021, 

that remain outstanding on or after January 1, 2021, may be 

collected in accordance with the preexisting terms of the loan 

contracts provided that such terms were permitted by law when 

the loans were made. 

I. A licensee shall continuously maintain the requirements 

and standards for licensure prescribed in § 6.2-2206 of the 

Code of Virginia. 

10VAC5-210-30. Notice and Motor vehicle title lending 

pamphlet. 

A. Prior to furnishing a prospective borrower with a loan 

application or receiving any information relating to loan 

qualification, a A licensee shall provide the prospective 

borrower each applicant for a motor vehicle title loan with (i) 

a written notice that complies with subsection B of this section; 

and (ii) a borrower rights and responsibilities pamphlet that 

complies with subsections C and D of this section. 

B. 1. The required text of the written notice shall be as 

follows: "WARNING: A motor vehicle title loan is not 

intended to meet your long-term financial needs. The interest 

rate on a motor vehicle title loan is high and you are pledging 

your motor vehicle as collateral for the loan. If you fail to repay 

your loan in accordance with your loan agreement, we may 

repossess and sell your motor vehicle. You should consider 

whether there are other lower cost loans available to you. If 

you obtain a motor vehicle title loan, you should request the 

minimum loan amount required to meet your immediate 

needs." A licensee shall not modify or supplement the required 

text of the written notice. 2. The written notice shall be printed 

on a single 8-1/2 x 11 sheet of paper and be separate from all 

other papers, documents, or notices obtained or furnished by 

the licensee. The notice shall be printed in at least 24-point 

bold type and contain an acknowledgment that is signed and 

dated by each prospective borrower. The end of each 

application form shall contain a separate acknowledgment 

shall state stating the following: "I acknowledge that I have 

received a copy of this notice and the pamphlet entitled "Motor 

Vehicle Title Lending in the Commonwealth of Virginia - 

Borrower Rights and Responsibilities." 3. A duplicate original 

of the acknowledged notice shall be kept by a licensee in the 

separate file maintained with respect to the loan for the period 

specified in § 6.2-2209 of the Code of Virginia. The 

acknowledgment shall be initialed and dated by each applicant 

for a motor vehicle title loan. 

C. The borrower rights and responsibilities pamphlet shall be 

printed in at least 12-point type and be separate from all other 

papers, documents, or notices obtained or furnished by the 

licensee. The pamphlet shall contain the exact language 

prescribed in subsection D of this section. A licensee shall not 

modify or supplement the required text of the pamphlet. The 

title of the pamphlet ("Motor Vehicle Title Lending in the 

Commonwealth of Virginia - Borrower Rights and 

Responsibilities") and the headings for the individual sections 

of the pamphlet (e.g., "In General," "Notice Information from 

Lender," etc.) shall be printed in bold type. 

D. The required text of the borrower rights and 

responsibilities pamphlet shall be as follows: 

MOTOR VEHICLE TITLE LENDING IN THE 

COMMONWEALTH OF VIRGINIA 

BORROWER RIGHTS AND RESPONSIBILITIES 

Please take the time to carefully review the information 

contained in this pamphlet. It is designed to advise you of your 

rights and responsibilities in connection with obtaining a motor 

vehicle title loan in Virginia under Chapter 22 (§ 6.2-2200 et 

seq.) of Title 6.2 of the Code of Virginia. 

If you have any questions about motor vehicle title lending or 

want additional information, you may contact the Virginia 

State Corporation Commission's Bureau of Financial 

Institutions toll-free at (800) 552-7945 or on the Internet at 

http://www.scc.virginia.gov/bfi scc.virginia.gov. 

In General: You are responsible for evaluating whether a 

motor vehicle title loan is right for you. Alternatives may 

include among other things less expensive short-term 

financing from another financial institution, family, or friends, 

a cash advance on a credit card, or an account with overdraft 

protection. 

Notice from Lender: A motor vehicle title lender is required 

to provide you with a clear and conspicuous printed notice 

advising you that a motor vehicle title loan is not intended to 

meet your long-term financial needs; that the interest rate on a 

motor vehicle title loan is high; and that if you fail to repay 

your loan in accordance with your loan agreement, the motor 

vehicle title lender may repossess and sell your motor vehicle. 
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Information from Lender: Virginia law prohibits a motor 

vehicle title lender from providing you with any false, 

misleading, or deceptive information. 

Prohibition on Obtaining Loan if Motor Vehicle has 

Existing Lien / One Loan at a Time: Virginia law prohibits a 

motor vehicle title lender from making a motor vehicle title 

loan to you if (i) your certificate of title indicates that your 

motor vehicle is security for another loan or has an existing 

lien; or (ii) you currently have another motor vehicle title loan 

from either the same motor vehicle title lender or any other 

motor vehicle title lender conducting a motor vehicle title 

lending business in Virginia; or (iii) you currently have a short-

term loan from any lender that is licensed to make this type of 

loan under Chapter 18 (§ 6.2-1800 et seq.) of Title 6.2 of the 

Code of Virginia. 

Prohibition on Obtaining Loan on Same Day Another 

Loan was Repaid: Virginia law prohibits a motor vehicle title 

lender from making a motor vehicle title loan to you on the 

same day that you repaid or satisfied in full a motor vehicle 

title loan from either the same motor vehicle title lender or any 

other motor vehicle title lender conducting a motor vehicle title 

lending business in Virginia. 

Verification of Income: Before making a motor vehicle title 

loan to you, a lender must make a reasonable attempt to verify 

and document your income. 

Prohibition on Loans to Covered Members of the Armed 

Forces and their Dependents: Virginia law prohibits a motor 

vehicle title lender from making motor vehicle title loans to 

covered members of the armed forces and their dependents. If 

you are (i) on active duty under a call or order that does not 

specify a period of 30 days or less; or (ii) on active guard and 

reserve duty, then you are a covered member of the armed 

forces and a motor vehicle title lender is prohibited from 

making a motor vehicle title loan to you. A motor vehicle title 

lender is also prohibited from making a motor vehicle title loan 

to you if (i) you are married to a covered member of the armed 

forces; (ii) you are the child, as defined in 38 USC § 101(4), of 

a covered member of the armed forces; or (iii) more than one-

half of your support during the past 180 days was provided by 

a covered member of the armed forces. 

Certificate of Title / Other Security Interests: Prior to 

obtaining a motor vehicle title loan, you will be required to 

give a motor vehicle title lender the certificate of title for your 

motor vehicle. The motor vehicle title lender is required to 

record its lien with the motor vehicle department in the state 

where your motor vehicle is registered and hold the certificate 

of title until your loan is repaid or satisfied in full. The motor 

vehicle title lender cannot take an interest in more than one 

motor vehicle as security for a motor vehicle title loan. Apart 

from your motor vehicle and any accessories that are attached 

to it, the motor vehicle title lender cannot take an interest in 

any other property you own as security for a motor vehicle title 

loan. 

Maximum Loan Amount: A motor vehicle title lender 

cannot loan you more than 50% of the fair market value of your 

motor vehicle. The fair market value is generally based on the 

loan value for your motor vehicle according to a recognized 

pricing guide $2,500. 

Minimum and Maximum Loan Term / Monthly 

Payments: Under Virginia law, your loan term cannot be 

either less than 120 days or more than 12 24 months. Your loan 

term also cannot be less than six months unless your total 

monthly payment will not exceed the greater of (i) 5.0% of 

your verified gross monthly income or (ii) 6.0% of your 

verified net monthly income. Your motor vehicle title loan will 

be repayable in substantially equal monthly installments of 

principal, fees, and interest combined. However, if you have a 

longer first payment period, your first monthly payment may 

be larger than your remaining monthly payments. 

Interest, Fees, and Other Loan Costs Charges: The 

following are the maximum interest rates that a A motor 

vehicle title lender is permitted to charge you PER MONTH 

on the principal amount of your loan that remains outstanding: 

(i) 22% per month on the portion of the outstanding balance up 

to and including $700 interest at a simple annual rate not to 

exceed 36%; and (ii) 18% per month on the portion of the 

outstanding balance between $700.01 and $1,400; and (iii) 

15% per month on the portion of the outstanding balance of 

$1,400.01 and higher. As long as these maximum rates are not 

exceeded, a motor vehicle title lender is allowed to accrue 

interest using a single blended interest rate if the initial 

principal is higher than $700 a monthly maintenance fee that 

does not exceed the lesser of $15 or 8.0% of your originally 

contracted loan amount, provided that the maintenance fee is 

not added to your loan balance on which interest is charged. In 

addition to interest and the monthly maintenance fee, a motor 

vehicle title lender may charge you for the actual cost of 

recording its lien with the motor vehicle department in the state 

where your motor vehicle is registered a deposit item return fee 

for the actual amount incurred by the motor vehicle title lender, 

not to exceed $25, if your check or electronic payment is 

returned unpaid because the account on which it was drawn 

was closed by you or contained insufficient funds, or you 

stopped payment on the check or electronic payment. 

If you make a payment more than seven calendar days after 

its due date, a motor vehicle title lender may impose a late 

charge of up to five percent 5.0% of the amount of the payment, 

but not to exceed $20. 

Note that if your originally contracted loan amount is $1,500 

or less, a motor vehicle title lender cannot charge or receive 

from you a total amount of fees and charges greater than 50% 

of your loan amount. If your loan amount is more than $1,500, 

the total amount of fees and charges cannot exceed 60% of 

your loan amount. 

A motor vehicle title lender is prohibited from accruing or 

charging you interest on or after (i) the date the motor vehicle 
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title lender or a person acting on behalf of the lender 

repossesses your motor vehicle; or (ii) 60 days after you fail to 

make a monthly payment on your loan, unless you are hiding 

your motor vehicle. 

Other than interest and the costs specifically mentioned in this 

section and the section below ("Costs of Repossession and 

Sale"), no additional amounts may be directly or indirectly 

charged, contracted for, collected, or received, or recovered by 

a motor vehicle title lender. 

The interest, fees, and charges mentioned in this section may 

not be charged, collected, or received unless they are included 

in your written loan agreement. 

Costs of Repossession and Sale: A motor vehicle title lender 

may charge you for any reasonable costs that it incurs in 

repossessing, preparing for sale, and selling your motor vehicle 

if (i) you default on your motor vehicle title loan; (ii) the motor 

vehicle title lender sends you a written notice at least 10 days 

prior to repossession advising you that your motor vehicle title 

loan is in default and that your motor vehicle may be 

repossessed unless you pay the outstanding principal and 

interest; and (iii) you fail to pay the amount owed prior to the 

date of repossession. However, the total amount charged to you 

for the repossession and sale of your motor vehicle cannot 

exceed 5.0% of your originally contracted loan amount. A 

motor vehicle title lender is prohibited from charging you for 

any storage costs if the motor vehicle title lender takes 

possession of your motor vehicle. 

Written Loan Agreement: A motor vehicle title lender must 

provide you with a written loan agreement, which must be 

signed by both you and an authorized representative of the 

motor vehicle title lender. Your motor vehicle title loan 

agreement is a binding, legal document that requires you to 

repay your loan. Make sure you read the entire loan agreement 

carefully before signing and dating it. A motor vehicle title 

lender must provide you with a duplicate original copy of your 

signed loan agreement at the time you sign it. If any provision 

of your loan agreement violates Chapter 22 (§ 6.2-2200 et seq.) 

of Title 6.2 of the Code of Virginia, the provision will not be 

enforceable against you. 

Property Insurance: A motor vehicle title lender may 

require you to purchase or maintain property insurance for your 

motor vehicle. However, a motor vehicle title lender cannot 

require you to purchase or maintain property insurance from or 

through a particular provider or list of providers. 

Prohibition on Obtaining Funds Electronically / 

Authority to Prepare Checks / Electronic Payments / 

Obtaining PINs: A motor vehicle title lender is prohibited 

from electronically debiting your deposit account or obtaining 

any of your funds by electronic means. The lender also cannot 

obtain obtaining any agreement from you that gives the lender 

or a third party the authority to prepare a check that is drawn 

upon your deposit account. If the motor vehicle title lender is 

equipped to handle and willing to accept such payments, you 

may make a payment on your loan by using a credit card, 

prepaid card, or debit card, or the Automated Clearing House 

system. However, the lender is prohibited from obtaining or 

receiving a personal identification number (PIN) for a credit 

card, prepaid card, debit card, or any other type of card in 

connection with your loan. If you have authorized electronic 

payments for your loan, you have the right to remove your 

authorization at any time. 

Loan Proceeds: You will receive your loan proceeds in the 

form of (i) cash; (ii) a check from the motor vehicle title lender; 

or (iii) a debit card. If you receive a check, the motor vehicle 

title lender or an affiliate of the lender is prohibited from 

charging you a fee for cashing the check. Similarly, a check 

casher located in the same office as the motor vehicle title 

lender is prohibited from charging you a fee for cashing the 

motor vehicle title lender's check. If you receive a debit card, 

the motor vehicle title lender is prohibited from charging you 

an additional fee when you withdraw or use the loan proceeds. 

Other Businesses: A motor vehicle title lender is prohibited 

from engaging in any other businesses in its motor vehicle title 

loan offices unless permitted by order of the State Corporation 

Commission. A motor vehicle title lender is also prohibited by 

statute from selling you any type of insurance coverage. 

Using Motor Vehicle Title Loan to Purchase Products or 

Services or Repay Other Loans: A motor vehicle title lender 

is You are prohibited from making you a using any of the 

money from your motor vehicle title loan so that you can to 

purchase another product or service sold (i) at the motor 

vehicle title lender's business location, or (ii) on or through the 

motor vehicle title lender's website or mobile application. A 

motor vehicle title lender is also prohibited from making you a 

motor vehicle title loan so that you can repay another loan you 

may have from either the motor vehicle title lender or an 

affiliate of the motor vehicle title lender. 

Right to Cancel or Rescind: You have the right to cancel or 

rescind your motor vehicle title loan at any time prior to the 

close 5 p.m. of the third business on the next day the motor 

vehicle title lender is open immediately following the date your 

day you entered into the loan is made agreement by either 

returning the original loan proceeds check or paying the motor 

vehicle title lender the amount advanced to you in cash or by 

certified check, cashier's check, money order or, if the motor 

vehicle title lender is equipped to handle and willing to accept 

such payments, by using a credit card, prepaid card, or debit 

card, or the Automated Clearing House system. If you timely 

cancel or rescind your motor vehicle title loan, the motor 

vehicle title lender must mark your original loan agreement 

with the word "canceled" and return it to you along with your 

certificate of title. 

Cash Payments / Partial Payments / Prepayments / 

Refinancing: You are permitted to make payments on your 

motor vehicle title loan by cash, certified check, cashier's 
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check, money order, or if the motor vehicle title lender is 

equipped to handle and willing to accept such payments, by 

using a credit card, prepaid card, debit card, or the Automated 

Clearing House system. You have the right to receive a signed, 

dated receipt for each cash payment made in person, which will 

show the along with a statement of the balance remaining on 

your motor vehicle title loan. 

Additionally, you have the right to make a partial payment on 

your motor vehicle title loan at any time prior to its specified 

due the maturity date of the loan without penalty. However, a 

motor vehicle title lender may apply a partial payment first to 

any amounts that are due and unpaid at the time of such 

payment. If your motor vehicle title loan is current, a partial 

payment will reduce your outstanding balance as well as the 

total amount of interest that you will be required to pay. 

You also have the right to prepay your motor vehicle title loan 

in full before its specified maturity date without penalty by 

paying the motor vehicle title lender the total outstanding 

balance on your loan, including any accrued and unpaid 

interest and other charges fees that you may owe on your motor 

vehicle title loan. If you prepay your loan in full or your loan 

is refinanced with another motor vehicle title loan, the motor 

vehicle title lender must refund to you a prorated portion of 

loan charges, except for any deposit item return fees and late 

charges, based on a ratio of the number of days the loan was 

outstanding and the number of days for which the loan was 

originally contracted. The lender must provide you with the 

refund in the form of cash or a check no later than two business 

days after you prepay your loan in full or your loan is 

refinanced. Your loan may be refinanced with another motor 

vehicle title loan only if the new loan is made by the same 

motor vehicle title lender (i.e., the lender who made the loan 

that you are currently obligated to repay). 

Lender to Return Original Loan Agreement and 

Certificate of Title: Within 10 days after the date that you 

repay your motor vehicle title loan in full, the motor vehicle 

title lender must (i) mark your original loan agreement with the 

word "paid" or "canceled" and return it to you; (ii) take any 

action necessary to reflect the termination of terminate its lien 

on your motor vehicle's certificate of title; and (iii) return the 

certificate of title to you. If you have any questions or concerns 

regarding your certificate of title, you should contact the motor 

vehicle department in the state where your motor vehicle is 

registered. 

No Rollovers, Extensions, Etc.: A motor vehicle title lender 

cannot refinance, renew, extend, or rollover your motor vehicle 

title loan. 

Failure to Repay: Pay back your motor vehicle title loan! 

Know when your payments are due and be sure to repay your 

motor vehicle title loan on time and in full. IF YOU DO NOT 

REPAY YOUR MOTOR VEHICLE TITLE LOAN IN 

ACCORDANCE WITH YOUR LOAN AGREEMENT, THE 

MOTOR VEHICLE TITLE LENDER MAY REPOSSESS 

AND SELL YOUR MOTOR VEHICLE (see section below on 

"Repossession and Sale of your Motor Vehicle"). 

In general, a motor vehicle title lender cannot seek a personal 

money judgment against you if you fail to pay any amount 

owed in accordance with your loan agreement. However, a 

motor vehicle title lender may seek a personal money judgment 

against you if you impair the motor vehicle title lender's 

security interest by (i) intentionally damaging or destroying 

your motor vehicle; (ii) intentionally hiding your motor 

vehicle; (iii) giving the motor vehicle title lender a lien on a 

motor vehicle that has an undisclosed prior lien; (iv) selling 

your motor vehicle without the motor vehicle title lender's 

written consent; or (v) securing another loan or obligation with 

a security interest in your motor vehicle without the motor 

vehicle title lender's written consent. 

In collecting or attempting to collect a motor vehicle title 

loan, a motor vehicle title lender is required to comply with the 

restrictions and prohibitions applicable to debt collectors 

contained in the Fair Debt Collection Practices Act, 15 USC 

§ 1692 et seq., regarding harassment or abuse; false, 

misleading or deceptive statements or representations; and 

unfair practices in collections. A motor vehicle title lender is 

also prohibited from threatening or beginning criminal 

proceedings against you if you fail to pay any amount owed in 

accordance with your loan agreement. 

Repossession and Sale of your Motor Vehicle: If you do not 

repay your motor vehicle title loan in accordance with your 

loan agreement, the motor vehicle title lender may repossess 

and sell your motor vehicle in order to recover any outstanding 

amounts that you owe. 

If a motor vehicle title lender repossesses your motor vehicle, 

the motor vehicle title lender must (i) allow you to recover any 

personal items from your motor vehicle promptly and at no 

cost, and (ii) send you a written notice at least 15 days prior to 

the sale of your motor vehicle. The notice will contain (i) the 

date and time after which your motor vehicle may be sold; and 

(ii) a written accounting of the redemption amount, which is 

the sum of the outstanding balance on your motor vehicle title 

loan, the amount of interest accrued through the date the motor 

vehicle title lender took possession of your motor vehicle, and 

any reasonable costs incurred to date by the motor vehicle title 

lender in connection with repossessing, preparing for sale, and 

selling your motor vehicle. At any time prior to the sale of your 

motor vehicle, you may obtain your motor vehicle by paying 

the motor vehicle title lender the total amount specified in the 

notice. Payment must be made in cash or by certified check, 

cashier's check, money order or, if the motor vehicle title 

lender is equipped to handle and willing to accept such 

payments, by using a credit card, prepaid card, or debit card, 

or the Automated Clearing House system. 

Within 30 10 days of a motor vehicle title lender receiving 

funds from the sale of your motor vehicle, you are entitled to 

receive any surplus all proceeds from the sale in excess of the 
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sum of the following: (i) the outstanding balance on your motor 

vehicle title loan; (ii) the amount of interest accrued on 

redemption amount specified in the notice that the motor 

vehicle title lender sent you prior to selling your motor vehicle 

title loan through the date. However, the motor vehicle title 

lender repossessed your motor vehicle; and (iii) may reduce the 

amount that you receive by any additional reasonable costs 

incurred by the motor vehicle title lender in repossessing, 

preparing for sale, and selling your motor vehicle that were not 

included in the redemption amount. 

See section above on "Costs of Repossession and Sale" for 

additional information regarding the conditions that must be 

met in order for a motor vehicle title lender to collect the 

reasonable costs of repossessing, preparing for sale, and selling 

your motor vehicle. 

Violation of the Virginia Consumer Protection Act Legal 

Action Against Lender: You have the right to bring a civil 

action against a motor vehicle lender if you suffer a loss as a 

result of the motor vehicle title lender violating any provision 

of Chapter 22 (§ 6.2-2200 et seq.) of Title 6.2 of the Code of 

Virginia. If you are successful in your civil action, you have 

the right to be reimbursed for reasonable attorney fees, expert 

witness fees, and court costs you have incurred in connection 

with your civil action. Losses suffered as the result of a motor 

vehicle title lender's violation of Chapter 22 (§ 6.2-2200 et 

seq.) of Title 6.2 of the Code of Virginia may also be pursued 

under the Virginia Consumer Protection Act (§ 59.1-196 et seq. 

of the Code of Virginia), which in some cases permits 

consumers to recover actual and punitive damages. 

Complaints and Contacting the Bureau of Financial 

Institutions: For assistance with any complaints you may have 

against a motor vehicle title lender, please contact the Bureau 

of Financial Institutions toll-free at (800) 552-7945 or on the 

Internet at http://www.scc.virginia.gov/bfi scc.virginia.gov. 

Complaints must be filed in writing with the Bureau of 

Financial Institutions. Complaints should be mailed to the 

Bureau of Financial Institutions, Attn: Complaints, P.O. Box 

640, Richmond, Virginia 23218-0640, or faxed to the Bureau 

of Financial Institutions, Attn: Complaints, at (804) 371-9416 

and include copies of supporting documentation. 

10VAC5-210-40. Posting of charges and contact 

information for complaints. 

Licensees shall conspicuously post in each licensed location 

and on their websites the schedule of finance charges and 

notice required by subdivision 14 15 of § 6.2-2215 of the Code 

of Virginia in accordance with the provisions of this section. 

A. The minimum size for the poster in licensed locations shall 

be 24 inches by 18 inches. 

B. The title for the schedule of finance charges, which shall 

be printed or displayed in at least 48-point bold type, shall be 

"SCHEDULE OF FINANCE CHARGES FOR MOTOR 

VEHICLE TITLE LOANS." The title for the notice, which 

shall also be printed or displayed in at least 48-point bold type, 

shall be "HOW TO FILE A COMPLAINT AGAINST US." 

C. The schedule of finance charges and notice shall be printed 

or displayed in at least 24-point bold type. 

D. The notice shall contain the following statement: "Should 

you wish to file a complaint against us, you may contact the 

Virginia Bureau of Financial Institutions at (800) 552-7945 or 

on the Internet at http://www.scc.virginia.gov/bfi. Complaints 

must be filed in writing with the Bureau of Financial 

Institutions. Complaints should be mailed to the Bureau of 

Financial Institutions, Attn: Complaints, P.O. Box 640, 

Richmond, Virginia 23218-0640, or faxed to the Bureau of 

Financial Institutions, Attn: Complaints, at (804) 371-9416 

scc.virginia.gov." 

10VAC5-210-50. Additional business requirements and 

restrictions. 

A. Each original license shall be prominently posted in each 

place of business of the licensee. 

B. A licensee shall post in or on its licensed locations the days 

and hours during which it is open for business so that the 

posting is legible from outside. 

C. B. A licensee shall endeavor to provide the loan 

documents, printed notice, and pamphlet required by 10VAC5-

210-30, in a language other than English when a prospective 

borrower is unable to read the materials printed in English. 

D. C. A licensee shall not knowingly make a motor vehicle 

title loan to (i) a person who has an outstanding motor vehicle 

title loan from the same licensee or another licensee; (ii) a 

covered member of the armed forces;, or (iii) a dependent of a 

covered member of the armed forces. To enable a licensee to 

make these determinations and the this determination in 

subsection F of this section, a licensee shall clearly and 

conspicuously include the following questions in its written 

loan application, which the licensee shall require each 

applicant to answer before obtaining a motor vehicle title loan. 

A licensee shall not make a motor vehicle title loan to an 

applicant unless the applicant answers "no" to all of these 

questions: 

1. Do you currently have a motor vehicle title loan from any 

motor vehicle title lender? 

2. At any time today, did you repay or satisfy in full a motor 

vehicle title loan from any motor vehicle title lender? 

3. Are you (i) on active duty in the armed forces under a call 

or order that does not specify a period of 30 days or less, or 

(ii) on active guard and reserve duty? 

4. 2. Are you married to an individual who is either (i) on 

active duty in the armed forces under a call or order that does 

not specify a period of 30 days or less, or (ii) on active guard 

and reserve duty? 
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5. 3. Are you the child, as defined in 38 USC § 101(4), of an 

individual who is either (i) on active duty in the armed forces 

under a call or order that does not specify a period of 30 days 

or less, or (ii) on active guard and reserve duty? 

6. 4. Was more than one-half of your support during the past 

180 days provided by an individual who is either (i) on active 

duty in the armed forces under a call or order that does not 

specify a period of 30 days or less, or (ii) on active guard and 

reserve duty? 

E. D. A licensee shall not require a borrower to purchase or 

maintain property insurance for a motor vehicle from or 

through a particular provider or list of providers. 

F. A licensee shall not knowingly make a motor vehicle title 

loan to a borrower on the same day that the borrower repaid or 

satisfied in full a motor vehicle title loan from the same 

licensee or another licensee. Any motor vehicle title loan made 

in violation of this subsection shall for purposes of subdivision 

17 of § 6.2-2215 of the Code of Virginia be deemed an evasion 

of the prohibition on refinancing a motor vehicle title loan 

agreement set forth in § 6.2-2216 F of the Code of Virginia. 

G. The maturity date of a motor vehicle title loan shall not be 

earlier than 120 days from the date a motor vehicle title loan 

agreement is executed by a borrower or later than 12 months 

from the date a motor vehicle title loan agreement is executed 

by a borrower. 

H. E. A licensee shall not (i) electronically debit a borrower's 

deposit account or otherwise obtain any funds from a borrower 

by electronic means, including the use of the Automated 

Clearing House network, electronic funds transfers, electronic 

check conversions, or re-presented check entries; or (ii) obtain 

any agreement from a borrower that gives the licensee or a 

third party the authority to create or otherwise prepare a check 

that is drawn upon the borrower's account at a depository 

institution. This subsection shall not be construed to prohibit a 

licensee from accepting a payment made by good funds 

instrument. 

I. F. If a licensee disburses loan proceeds by means of a check, 

the licensee shall not (i) charge the borrower a fee for cashing 

the check or (ii) permit either a check casher located in the 

same office as the licensee or any affiliated check casher to 

charge the borrower a fee for cashing the check. 

J. G. A borrower shall have the right to cancel or rescind a 

motor vehicle title loan agreement at any time on or before 5 

p.m. of the close of third business on the next business day 

immediately following the date that the loan agreement is 

executed by the borrower by returning the original loan 

proceeds check or paying to the licensee, in the form of cash 

or good funds instrument, the principal amount advanced to the 

borrower. If a borrower cancels or rescinds a loan agreement 

in accordance with this subsection, the licensee shall upon 

receipt of the loan proceeds check, cash, or good funds 

instrument (i) mark the original loan agreement with the word 

"canceled," return it to the borrower, and retain a copy in its 

records; and (ii) return the certificate of title to the borrower. 

Furthermore, the licensee shall not be entitled to charge, 

contract for, collect, receive, recover, or require a borrower to 

pay any interest, fees, or other amounts otherwise permitted by 

§ 6.2-2216 of the Code of Virginia. 

K. H. A licensee shall give a borrower a signed, dated receipt 

for each cash payment made in person, which shall state the 

updated balance due on the loan. 

L. A borrower shall be permitted to prepay a motor vehicle 

title loan either in whole or in part without charge. Partial 

prepayments shall reduce the outstanding loan balance upon 

which interest is calculated. A licensee may apply a payment 

first to any amounts that are due and unpaid at the time of such 

payment. 

M. I. A licensee shall release its security interest and perform 

the following acts within 10 days after the date that a 

borrower's obligations under a motor vehicle title loan 

agreement are satisfied in full: (i) mark the original loan 

agreement with the word "paid" or "canceled," return it to the 

borrower, and retain a copy in its records; (ii) take any action 

necessary to reflect the termination of its lien on the motor 

vehicle's certificate of title; and (iii) return the certificate of 

title to the borrower. 

N. J. When sending the written notices and accounting 

specified by subsection 19 of § 6.2-2215 and § 6.2-2217 of the 

Code of Virginia, a licensee shall obtain proof of mailing from 

the United States Postal Service or other common carrier. 

O. K. A licensee may impose a late charge for failure to make 

timely payment of any amount due under a motor vehicle title 

loan agreement provided that (i) the late charge is specified in 

the loan agreement and (ii) the amount of the late charge does 

not exceed the lesser of $20 or 5.0% of the amount of the 

payment. A payment shall be considered to be timely if it is 

made no later than seven calendar days after the due date 

specified in the loan agreement. 

P. L. Nothing in the Act or this chapter shall be construed to 

prohibit a licensee from (i) voluntarily accepting a payment on 

an outstanding motor vehicle title loan from a borrower after 

the date that such payment was due to the licensee or (ii) 

considering a payment to be timely if it is made more than 

seven calendar days after its due date. However, except as 

otherwise permitted by the Act and this chapter, the licensee 

shall not charge, contract for, collect, receive, recover, or 

require a borrower to pay any additional interest, fees, or other 

amounts. 

Q. M. Pursuant to subdivision 2 of § 6.2-2201 of the Code of 

Virginia and subdivision 17 of § 6.2-2215 of the Code of 

Virginia, a licensee shall not make a motor vehicle title loan 

that has been arranged or brokered by another person. This 

provision shall not be construed to prohibit a licensee from 
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originating motor vehicle title loans through its own 

employees. 

R. N. A licensee shall not obtain or receive a personal 

identification number (PIN) for a credit card, prepaid card, 

debit card, or any other type of card in connection with a motor 

vehicle title loan transaction. 

S. O. A licensee shall comply with all federal laws and 

regulations applicable to the conduct of its business, including 

the Truth in Lending Act (15 USC § 1601 et seq.), Regulation 

Z (12 CFR Part 1026), the Equal Credit Opportunity Act 

(15 USC § 1691 et seq.), Regulation B (12 CFR Part 1002), 

and the Standards for Safeguarding Customer Information 

(16 CFR Part 314). 

T. P. A licensee shall not provide any information to a 

borrower or prospective borrower that is false, misleading, or 

deceptive. 

U. Q. A licensee shall not engage in any business or activity 

that directly or indirectly results in an evasion of the provisions 

of this chapter. 

10VAC5-210-60. Annual reporting requirements. 

When making the annual report required by § 6.2-2210 of the 

Code of Virginia, in addition to other information required by 

the commissioner, a licensee shall provide the following data 

regarding motor vehicle title loans made under the Act: 

1. The total number and dollar amount of motor vehicle title 

loans made by the licensee. 

2. The total number of individual borrowers to whom motor 

vehicle title loans were made by the licensee. 

3. The minimum, and maximum, and average loan amount 

of motor vehicle title loans made by the licensee amounts. 

4. The minimum, maximum, and average contracted Annual 

Percentage Rate of motor vehicle title loans made by the 

licensee Rates. 

5. The minimum, maximum, and average term loan terms (in 

days) of motor vehicle title loans made by the licensee. 

6. The total contracted loan charges. 

7. The total loan charges paid by borrowers. 

8. The total number and dollar amount of deposit item return 

fees paid by borrowers. 

9. The total number of loans that went into default. 

10. The total number of individual borrowers that failed to 

make a monthly payment on a motor vehicle title loan for at 

least 60 days. 

7. 11. The total number of motor vehicles that were 

repossessed by or on behalf of the licensee. 

12. The total number of motor vehicles that were 

surrendered to the licensee. 

13. The total number of motor vehicles that were redeemed 

by borrowers after being repossessed or surrendered. 

8. 14. The total number of repossessed or surrendered motor 

vehicles that were sold by or on behalf of the licensee. 

15. The total fair market value, as stated in the loan 

agreements, of repossessed or surrendered motor vehicles 

that were sold by or on behalf of the licensee. 

16. The total amount of proceeds the licensee received from 

the sale of repossessed or surrendered motor vehicles. 

17. The total amount of sale proceeds paid to borrowers 

pursuant to subsection C of § 6.2-2217 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

18. The total amount of charges paid by borrowers for the 

repossession and sale of motor vehicles, including charges 

the licensee collected or recovered through the proceeds it 

received from the sale of repossessed or surrendered motor 

vehicles. 

19. The total number of charged-off loans and the total dollar 

amount charged off. 

9. 20. The total number and dollar amount of personal 

money judgments against borrowers that were obtained by 

or on behalf of the licensee along with a breakdown of this 

total these totals that identifies the number and dollar amount 

of judgments the licensee pursued based on each of the 

following borrower actions: (i) intentionally damaging or 

destroying a motor vehicle that secures a title loan; (ii) 

intentionally concealing a motor vehicle that secures a title 

loan; (iii) giving the licensee a lien on a motor vehicle that 

is already encumbered by an undisclosed prior lien; and (iv) 

subsequently giving a security interest in, or selling, a motor 

vehicle that secures a title loan to a third party, without the 

licensee's written consent. 

10VAC5-210-70. Other Conducting other business in 

motor vehicle title lending offices. 

A. This section governs the conduct of any business other 

than motor vehicle title lending where a licensed motor vehicle 

title lending business is conducted. As used in this section, the 

term "other business operator" refers to a licensed motor 

vehicle title lender licensee or third party, including an affiliate 

or subsidiary of the licensed motor vehicle title lender licensee, 

who conducts or wants to conduct other business from one or 

more motor vehicle title lending offices. 

1. Pursuant to subdivision 18 of § 6.2-2215 6.2-2218.1 of the 

Code of Virginia, a licensee shall not conduct the business 

of making motor vehicle title loans at any office, suite, room, 

or place of business where any other business is solicited or 

conducted, except a registered check cashing business 

registered under Chapter 21 (§ 6.2-2100 et seq.) of Title 6.2 
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of the Code of Virginia, a short-term lending business 

licensed under Chapter 18 (§ 6.2-1800 et seq.) of Title 6.2 of 

the Code of Virginia, or such other business as the 

commission determines should be permitted, and subject to 

such conditions as the commission deems necessary and in 

the public interest. 

2. No person shall engage in the business of selling insurance 

or enrolling borrowers under group insurance policies from 

any office, suite, room, or place of business where a licensed 

motor vehicle title lending business is conducted. 

3. Pursuant to § 6.2-2107 of the Code of Virginia, no person 

registered or required to be registered as a check casher 

under Chapter 21 (§ 6.2-2100 et seq.) of Title 6.2 of the Code 

of Virginia shall make loans from any location, including an 

office, suite, room, or place of business where a licensed 

motor vehicle title lending business is conducted, unless the 

person is licensed under Chapter 18 (§ 6.2-1800 et seq.) of 

Title 6.2 of the Code of Virginia and the loans are made in 

accordance with Chapter 18 of Title 6.2 of the Code of 

Virginia. Accordingly, a person registered or required to be 

registered as a check casher shall not make motor vehicle 

title loans. This section shall not apply to any other business 

that is transacted solely with persons residing outside of 

Virginia. 

4. Notwithstanding any provision of this section or order 

entered by the commission prior to January 1, 2021, the 

business of making loans under an open-end credit plan as 

described in § 6.2-312 of the Code of Virginia shall not be 

conducted from any office, suite, room, or place of business 

where a licensed motor vehicle title lending business is 

conducted. However, if prior to January 1, 2021, a licensee 

received commission authority for an other business 

operator to conduct open-end credit business from the 

licensee's motor vehicle title lending offices, the other 

business operator may continue collecting payments on any 

outstanding open-end loans (i) in accordance with the 

preexisting terms of the open-end credit agreements 

provided that such terms were permitted by law when the 

agreements were made, and (ii) subject to the conditions that 

were imposed by the commission in its approval order. 

5. Notwithstanding any provision of this section or order 

entered by the commission prior to January 1, 2021, a 

licensee shall not make motor vehicle title loans at the same 

location at which the licensee, or any affiliate or owner of 

the licensee, conducts business under Chapter 15 (§ 6.2-

1500 et seq.) of Title 6.2 of the Code of Virginia. However, 

if prior to January 1, 2021, a licensee received commission 

authority for the licensee or its affiliate or owner to make 

consumer finance loans from the licensee's motor vehicle 

title lending offices, then the licensee or its affiliate or owner 

may continue collecting payments on any outstanding 

consumer finance loans (i) in accordance with the 

preexisting terms of the loan contracts provided that such 

terms were permitted by law when the loans were made, and 

(ii) subject to the general conditions set forth in subsection 

D of this section. 

6. If a licensee accepts loan applications, sends or receives 

loan-related information or documents, disburses loan funds, 

or accepts loan payments on or through the licensee's 

website or mobile application, and any other products or 

services are or will be offered or sold to Virginia residents 

on or through such website or mobile application, then the 

offer or sale of such other products or services shall 

constitute the conduct of other business and shall be subject 

to all of the provisions of this section to the same extent as 

if such other business was conducted by an other business 

operator from the licensee's motor vehicle title lending 

offices. 

B. No other business shall be conducted in a location where a 

licensee conducts a motor vehicle title lending business unless 

the proposed other business is financial in nature and the 

licensee obtains prior approval from the commission. 

Applications for approval shall be made in writing on a form 

provided by the commissioner, and shall be accompanied by 

payment of the a $300 fee required by law and any information 

relating to the application that the commissioner may require. 

In acting upon an application, the commission shall consider 

(i) whether the other business operator has the general fitness 

to warrant belief that the business will be operated in 

accordance with law; (ii) whether the applicant has been 

operating its motor vehicle title lending business in accordance 

with the Act and this chapter; and (iii) any other factors that 

the commission deems relevant. 

1. The commission shall in its discretion determine whether 

a proposed other business is "financial in nature," and shall 

not be obliged to consider the meaning of this term under 

federal law. A business is financial in nature if it primarily 

deals with the offering of debt, money or credit, or services 

directly related thereto. 

2. Prior approval from the commission shall not be required 

for a licensee to conduct a motor vehicle title lending 

business from one or more locations where an other business 

operator will conduct (i) a registered check cashing business 

under Chapter 21 (§ 6.2-2100 et seq.) of Title 6.2 of the Code 

of Virginia, or (ii) a licensed short-term lending business 

under Chapter 18 (§ 6.2-1800 et seq.) of Title 6.2 of the Code 

of Virginia. However, the conduct of these other businesses 

from a licensee's motor vehicle title lending offices shall 

otherwise be governed by this section, including the 

conditions prescribed in subsections D, E, and K of this 

section. 

C. Written Except as provided in subdivision B 2 of this 

section, written evidence of commission approval of each other 

business conducted by an other business operator should be 

maintained at each approved location where such other 

business is conducted. 
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D. All approved other businesses in motor vehicle title 

lending offices shall be conducted in accordance with the 

following conditions: 

1. The licensee shall not make a motor vehicle title loan to a 

borrower to enable the borrower to purchase or pay any 

amount owed in connection with the (i) goods or services 

sold, or (ii) loans offered, facilitated, or made, by the other 

business operator at the licensee's motor vehicle title lending 

offices. 

2. The other business operator shall comply with all federal 

and state laws and regulations applicable to its other 

business, including any applicable licensing or registration 

requirements. 

3. The other business operator shall not use or cause to be 

published any advertisement or other information that 

contains any false, misleading, or deceptive statement or 

representation concerning its other business, including the 

rates, terms, or conditions of the products, services, or loans 

that it offers. The other business operator shall not make or 

cause to be made any misrepresentation as to (i) its being 

licensed to conduct the other business or (ii) the extent to 

which it is subject to supervision or regulation. 

4. The licensee shall not make a motor vehicle title loan or 

vary the terms of a motor vehicle title loan on the condition 

or requirement that a person also (i) purchase a good or 

service from, or (ii) obtain a loan from or through, the other 

business operator. The other business operator shall not (a) 

sell its goods or services, (b) offer, facilitate, or make loans, 

or (c) vary the terms of its goods, services, or loans, on the 

condition or requirement that a person also obtain a motor 

vehicle title loan from the licensee. 

5. The other business operator shall maintain books and 

records for its other business separate and apart from the 

licensee's motor vehicle title lending business and in a 

different location within the licensee's motor vehicle title 

lending offices. The bureau shall be given access to all such 

books and records and be furnished with any information 

and records that it may require in order to determine 

compliance with all applicable conditions, laws, and 

regulations. 

E. If a licensee receives commission authority for an other 

business operator to conduct conducts a payday short-term 

lending business from the licensee's motor vehicle title lending 

offices, the following additional conditions shall be applicable: 

1. The licensee shall not make a motor vehicle title loan to a 

person if (i) the person has an outstanding payday short-term 

loan from the other business operator or (ii) on the same day 

the person repaid or satisfied in full a payday short-term loan 

from the other business operator. 

2. The other business operator shall not make a payday short-

term loan to a person if (i) the person has an outstanding 

motor vehicle title loan from the licensee or (ii) on the same 

day the person repaid or satisfied in full a motor vehicle title 

loan from the licensee. 

3. The other business operator and the licensee shall not 

make a payday short-term loan and a motor vehicle title loan 

contemporaneously or in response to a single request for a 

loan or credit. 

4. The licensee and other business operator shall provide 

each applicant for a motor vehicle title loan or payday short-

term loan with a separate disclosure, signed by the applicant, 

that clearly identifies all of the loan products available in the 

licensee's motor vehicle title lending offices along with the 

corresponding Annual Percentage Rate, interest rate, and 

other costs associated with each loan product. The disclosure 

shall also identify the collateral, if any, that will be used to 

secure repayment of each loan product. 

5. The other business operator shall be licensed or exempt 

from licensing under Chapter 18 (§ 6.2-1800 et seq.) of Title 

6.2 of the Code of Virginia. 

F. If a licensee received or receives commission authority for 

an other business operator to conduct business as an authorized 

delegate or agent of a money order seller or money transmitter 

from the licensee's motor vehicle title lending offices, the other 

business operator shall be and remain a party to a written 

agreement to act as an authorized delegate or agent of a person 

licensed or exempt from licensing as a money order seller or 

money transmitter under Chapter 19 (§ 6.2-1900 et seq.) of 

Title 6.2 of the Code of Virginia. The other business operator 

shall not engage in money order sales or money transmission 

services on its own behalf or on behalf of any person other than 

a licensed or exempt money order seller or money transmitter 

with whom it has a written agreement. 

G. If a licensee received or receives commission authority for 

an other business operator to conduct the business of (i) tax 

preparation and or electronic tax filing services, or (ii) 

facilitating third party tax preparation and or electronic tax 

filing services, from the licensee's motor vehicle title lending 

offices, the following additional conditions shall be applicable: 

1. The licensee shall not make, arrange, or broker a motor 

vehicle title loan that is secured by (i) an interest in a 

borrower's tax refund, (ii) an assignment of income payable 

to a borrower, or (iii) an assignment of an interest in a 

borrower's account at a depository institution. 

2. The other business operator shall not engage in the 

business of (i) accepting funds for transmission to the 

Internal Revenue Service or other government 

instrumentalities, or (ii) receiving tax refunds for delivery to 

individuals, unless licensed or exempt from licensing under 

Chapter 19 (§ 6.2-1900 et seq.) of Title 6.2 of the Code of 

Virginia. 
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H. If a licensee received or receives commission authority for 

an other business operator to conduct the business of 

facilitating or arranging tax refund anticipation loans or tax 

refund payments from the licensee's motor vehicle title lending 

offices, the following additional conditions shall be applicable: 

1. The other business operator shall not facilitate or arrange 

a tax refund anticipation loan or tax refund payment to 

enable a person to pay any amount owed to the licensee as a 

result of a motor vehicle title loan transaction. 

2. The other business operator and the licensee shall not 

facilitate or arrange a tax refund anticipation loan or tax 

refund payment and make a motor vehicle title loan 

contemporaneously or in response to a single request for a 

loan or credit. 

3. The licensee shall not make, arrange, or broker a motor 

vehicle title loan that is secured by (i) an interest in a 

borrower's tax refund, (ii) an assignment of income payable 

to a borrower, or (iii) an assignment of an interest in a 

borrower's account at a depository institution. 

4. The other business operator shall not engage in the 

business of receiving tax refunds or tax refund payments for 

delivery to individuals unless licensed or exempt from 

licensing under Chapter 19 (§ 6.2-1900 et seq.) of Title 6.2 

of the Code of Virginia. 

5. The licensee and other business operator shall provide 

each applicant for a motor vehicle title loan or tax refund 

anticipation loan with a separate disclosure, signed by the 

applicant, that clearly identifies all of the loan products 

available in the licensee's motor vehicle title lending offices 

along with the corresponding Annual Percentage Rate, 

interest rate, and other costs associated with each loan 

product. The disclosure shall also identify the collateral, if 

any, that will be used to secure repayment of each loan 

product. 

I. If a licensee received or receives commission authority for 

an other business operator to conduct a consumer finance 

business from the licensee's motor vehicle title lending offices, 

the following additional conditions shall be applicable: 

1. The other business operator shall be licensed or exempt 

from licensing under Chapter 15 (§ 6.2-1500 et seq.) of Title 

6.2 of the Code of Virginia. 

2. Pursuant to subdivision A 5 of this section, the other 

business shall be conducted by a person other than the 

licensee or an affiliate or owner of the licensee. 

3. The licensee shall not make a motor vehicle title loan to a 

person if (i) the person has an outstanding consumer finance 

loan from the other business operator, or (ii) on the same day 

the person repaid or satisfied in full a consumer finance loan 

from the other business operator. 

2. 4. The other business operator shall not make a consumer 

finance loan to a person if (i) the person has an outstanding 

motor vehicle title loan from the licensee, or (ii) on the same 

day the person repaid or satisfied in full a motor vehicle title 

loan from the licensee. 

3. 5. The licensee and other business operator shall not make 

a motor vehicle title loan and a consumer finance loan 

contemporaneously or in response to a single request for a 

loan or credit. 

4. 6. The licensee and other business operator shall provide 

each applicant for a motor vehicle title loan or consumer 

finance loan with a separate disclosure, signed by the 

applicant, that clearly identifies all of the loan products 

available in the licensee's motor vehicle title lending offices 

along with the corresponding Annual Percentage Rate, 

interest rate, and other costs associated with each loan 

product. The disclosure shall also identify the collateral, if 

any, that will be used to secure repayment of each loan 

product. 

J. If a licensee received or receives commission authority for 

an other business operator to conduct the business of operating 

an automated teller machine from the licensee's motor vehicle 

title lending offices, the other business operator shall not 

charge a fee or receive other compensation in connection with 

the use of its automated teller machine by a person when the 

person is withdrawing funds in order to make a payment on a 

motor vehicle title loan from that was made by the licensee or 

any other lender conducting business from the licensee's motor 

vehicle title lending offices. 

K. If an other business operator conducts a check cashing 

business from the licensee's motor vehicle title lending offices, 

the following additional conditions shall be applicable: 

1. The other business operator shall be registered or exempt 

from registration under Chapter 21 (§ 6.2-2100 et seq.) of 

Title 6.2 of the Code of Virginia. 

2. If the other business operator is registered under Chapter 

21 (§ 6.2-2100 et seq.) of Title 6.2 of the Code of Virginia, 

then the other business operator shall not make any loans 

unless the other business operator is licensed under, and the 

loans are made in accordance with, Chapter 18 (§ 6.2-1800 

et seq.) of Title 6.2 of the Code of Virginia. 

3. The other business operator shall not charge a fee to cash 

a check issued by the licensee or any other person operating 

in the licensee's motor vehicle title lending offices. 

L. The commission may impose any additional conditions 

upon the conduct of other business in motor vehicle title 

lending offices that it deems necessary and in the public 

interest. 

M. Except as otherwise provided in subdivision A 4 of this 

section, the conditions set forth or referred to in subsections D 

through L of this section shall supersede the conditions set 
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forth in the commission's approval orders entered prior to 

January 1, 2021. 

L. N. Failure by a licensee or other business operator to 

comply with any provision of this section or any condition 

imposed by the commission, or failure by a licensee to comply 

with the Act, this chapter, or any other law or regulation 

applicable to the conduct of the licensee's business, may result 

in revocation of the authority to conduct other business or any 

form of enforcement action specified in 10VAC5-210-100. 

10VAC5-210-80. Advertising. 

A. A licensee shall disclose the following information in its 

advertisements: 

1. The name of the motor vehicle title lender as set forth in 

the license issued by the commission. 

2. A statement that the motor vehicle title lender is "licensed 

by the Virginia State Corporation Commission." 

3. The license number assigned by the commission to the 

motor vehicle title lender (i.e., VTL-XXX). 

B. The information required by subsection A of this section 

shall be disclosed in accordance with the disclosure standards 

prescribed in § 6.2-2218 B of the Code of Virginia. 

C. A licensee shall not deliver or cause to be delivered to a 

consumer any envelope or other written material that gives the 

false impression that the mailing or written material is an 

official communication from a governmental entity, unless 

required by the United States Postal Service. 

D. Every advertisement used by, or published on behalf of, a 

licensee shall comply with the disclosure requirements for 

advertisements contained in Regulation Z (12 CFR Part 1026). 

10VAC5-210-90. Books, accounts, and records; responding 

to requests from the bureau. 

A. A licensee shall maintain in its licensed offices such books, 

accounts, and records as the bureau may reasonably require in 

order to determine whether the licensee is complying with the 

Act and this chapter. Such books, accounts, and records shall 

be maintained apart and separate from those relating to any 

other business in which the licensee is involved. 

B. In addition to any other books, accounts, and records as the 

bureau may reasonably require, a licensee shall maintain 

copies of the following records for at least three years after 

final payment is made on any motor vehicle title loan: 

1. The signed and dated loan application. 

2. The motor vehicle title loan agreement. If a loan has been 

repaid or satisfied in full, a licensee shall maintain a copy of 

the motor vehicle title loan agreement with the word "paid" 

or "canceled" along with documentation showing that the 

licensee released its security interest in the borrower's motor 

vehicle. 

3. A record of the fair market value of the motor vehicle 

securing the loan along with supporting documentation from 

a recognized pricing guide. Supporting documentation shall 

include any factors used to determine the value of the motor 

vehicle, including the motor vehicle's condition, features, 

mileage, as well as the name of the pricing guide that the 

licensee relied upon in making the loan. 

4. Any disclosures that were given to a borrower pursuant to 

the Truth in Lending Act (15 USC § 1601 et seq.) or any 

other federal or state laws. 

5. The certificate of title for the motor vehicle, which shall 

reflect the licensee's security interest unless the borrower 

canceled, rescinded, or fully satisfied the motor vehicle title 

loan prior to the licensee recording its security interest with 

the motor vehicle department in the state where the motor 

vehicle is registered. 

6. Any notices or disclosures that a licensee is required to 

furnish to a borrower pursuant to the Act or this chapter. 

C. A licensee shall maintain a repossession log or similar 

record of all motor vehicles that have been repossessed by or 

on behalf of the licensee, including motor vehicles that are 

voluntarily surrendered by borrowers. The log or record shall 

include the following information: (i) the borrower's first and 

last name; (ii) the make, model, year, and vehicle identification 

number of the motor vehicle; (iii) the date the motor vehicle 

was repossessed; (iv) the date the motor vehicle was sold; (v) 

the name of the purchaser; and (vi) the sale price of the motor 

vehicle. Furthermore, in addition to any other books, accounts, 

and records as the bureau may reasonably require, a licensee 

shall maintain copies of the following records for at least three 

years after a motor vehicle used to secure a loan is repossessed 

and sold by or on behalf of the licensee: 

1. The written notices and accounting sent by the licensee to 

a borrower pursuant to § 6.2-2217 of the Code of Virginia 

along with the proof of mailing from the United States Postal 

Service or other common carrier. 

2. Supporting documentation of the sale of the motor vehicle 

and the proceeds derived from the sale. 

3. The check or other method of payment used to deliver any 

excess proceeds from the sale of the motor vehicle to a 

borrower. 

D. A motor vehicle title lender shall retain for at least three 

years after it is last published, delivered, transmitted, or made 

available, an example of every advertisement used, including 

but not limited to solicitation letters, commercial scripts, and 

recordings of all radio and television broadcasts, but excluding 

copies of Internet web pages. 

E. When the bureau requests a written response, books, 

records, documentation, or other information from a licensee 

in connection with the bureau's investigation, enforcement, or 

examination of compliance with applicable laws, the licensee 
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shall deliver a written response as well as any requested books, 

records, documentation, or information within the time period 

specified in the bureau's request. If no time period is specified, 

a written response as well as any requested books, records, 

documentation, or information shall be delivered by the 

licensee to the bureau not later than 30 days from the date of 

such request. In determining the specified time period for 

responding to the bureau and when considering a request for 

an extension of time to respond, the bureau shall take into 

consideration the volume and complexity of the requested 

written response, books, records, documentation, or 

information, and such other factors as the bureau determines to 

be relevant under the circumstances. Requests made by the 

bureau pursuant to this subsection are deemed to be in 

furtherance of the investigation and examination authority 

provided for in § 6.2-2212 of the Code of Virginia. 

F. If a licensee or former licensee disposes of records 

containing a consumer's personal financial information 

following the expiration of any applicable record retention 

periods, such records shall be shredded, incinerated, or 

otherwise disposed of in a secure manner. Licensees A licensee 

or former licensee may arrange for service from a business 

record destruction vendor. 

10VAC5-210-95. Schedule of annual fees for the 

examination, supervision, and regulation of motor vehicle 

title lenders. 

Pursuant to § 6.2-2213 of the Code of Virginia, the 

commission sets the following schedule of annual fees to be 

paid by persons licensed licensees under the Act. The 

assessment defrays the costs of the examination, supervision, 

and regulation of licensees by the bureau. 

The annual fee shall be $500 per office plus $2.85 per motor 

vehicle title loan made by each licensee. The annual fee shall 

be computed on the basis of (i) the number of offices, 

authorized and opened, as of December 31 of the year 

preceding the year of the assessment, and (ii) the number of 

motor vehicle title loans made under the Act during the 

calendar year preceding the year of the assessment. 

The amount calculated using the above schedule shall be 

rounded down to the nearest whole dollar. 

Fees shall be assessed on or before September 15 for the 

current calendar year. The assessment shall be paid by 

licensees on or before October 15. 

The annual report, due March 25 each year, of each licensee 

provides the basis for its assessment (i.e., the number of offices 

and motor vehicle title loans made). In cases where a license 

has been granted between January 1 and September 15 of the 

year of the assessment, the licensee shall pay $250 per office, 

authorized and opened, as of September 15 of that year. 

Fees prescribed and assessed pursuant to this schedule are 

apart from, and do not include, the reimbursement for expenses 

authorized by subsection B of § 6.2-2213 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R21-6616; Filed January 12, 2021, 12:20 p.m. 

  ––––––––––––––––––  

TITLE 12. HEALTH 

STATE BOARD OF BEHAVIORAL HEALTH AND 
DEVELOPMENTAL SERVICES 

Emergency Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 12VAC35-46. Regulations for 

Children's Residential Facilities (amending 12VAC35-46-

10; adding 12VAC35-46-1150 through 12VAC35-46-1250). 

Statutory Authority: §§ 37.2-203 and 37.2-408 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

Effective Dates: February 20, 2021, through August 19, 2022. 

Agency Contact: John Cimino, Licensing Legal and 

Regulatory Coordinator, Department of Behavioral Health and 

Developmental Services, 1220 Bank Street P.O. Box 1797, 

Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 298-3279, FAX (804) 

692-0066, TDD (804) 371-8977, or email 

john.cimino@dbhds.virginia.gov. 

Preamble: 

Section 2.2-4011 B of the Code of Virginia states that 

agencies may adopt emergency regulations in situations in 

which Virginia statutory law or the appropriation act or 

federal law or federal regulation requires that a regulation 

be effective in 280 days or less from its enactment, and the 

regulation is not exempt under the provisions of § 2.2-4006 

A 4 of the Code of Virginia. 

Pursuant to Item 318 of Chapter 1289 of the 2020 Acts of 

Assembly (Appropriation Act of 2020), the amendments 

align Virginia children's residential facilities licensing 

regulations with the American Society of Addiction 

Medicine (ASAM) Levels of Care Criteria or an equivalent 

set of criteria to ensure the provision of outcome-oriented 

and strengths-based care in the treatment of addiction to 

ensure individualized, clinically driven, participant-

directed, and outcome-informed treatment. 

12VAC35-46-10. Definitions. 

The following words and terms when used in this chapter 

shall have the following meanings unless the context clearly 

indicates otherwise. 

"Allegation" means an accusation that a facility is operating 

without a license or receiving public funds for services it is not 

certified to provide. 

"Allied health professionals" means a professional who is 

involved with the delivery of health or related services 

pertaining to the identification, evaluation, and prevention of 

mailto:john.cimino@dbhds.virginia.gov
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diseases and disorders, such as a certified substance abuse 

counselor, certified substance abuse counseling assistant, peer 

recovery support specialist, certified nurse aide, or 

occupational therapist. 

"Annual" means within 13 months of the previous event or 

occurrence. 

"Applicable state regulation" means any regulation that the 

department determines applies to the facility. The term 

includes, but is not necessarily limited to, regulations 

promulgated by the Departments of Education, Health, 

Housing and Community Development, or other state 

agencies. 

"Applicant" means the person, corporation, partnership, 

association, or public agency that has applied for a license. 

"ASAM" means the American Society of Addiction 

Medicine. 

"Aversive stimuli" means the physical forces (e.g., sound, 

electricity, heat, cold, light, water, or noise) or substances (e.g., 

hot pepper sauce or pepper spray) measurable in duration and 

intensity that when applied to a resident are noxious or painful 

to the resident but in no case shall the term "aversive stimuli" 

include striking or hitting the individual with any part of the 

body or with an implement or pinching, pulling, or shaking the 

resident. 

"Behavior support" means those principles and methods 

employed by a provider to help a child achieve positive 

behavior and to address and correct a child's inappropriate 

behavior in a constructive and safe manner in accordance with 

written policies and procedures governing program 

expectations, treatment goals, child and staff safety and 

security, and the child's individualized service plan. 

"Behavior support assessment" means identification of a 

resident's behavior triggers, successful intervention strategies, 

anger and anxiety management options for calming, techniques 

for self-management, and specific goals that address the 

targeted behaviors that lead to emergency safety interventions. 

"Body cavity search" means any examination of a resident's 

rectal or vaginal cavities, except the performance of medical 

procedures by medical personnel. 

"Brain injury" means any injury to the brain that occurs after 

birth, but before age 65, that is acquired through traumatic or 

nontraumatic insults. Nontraumatic insults may include, but 

are not limited to, anoxia, hypoxia, aneurysm, toxic exposure, 

encephalopathy, surgical interventions, tumor, and stroke. 

Brain injury does not include hereditary, congenital, or 

degenerative brain disorders, or injuries induced by birth 

trauma. 

"Brain Injury Waiver" means a Virginia Medicaid home and 

community-based waiver for persons with brain injury 

approved by the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services. 

"Care" or "treatment" means a set of individually planned 

interventions, training, habilitation, or supports that help a 

resident obtain or maintain an optimal level of functioning, 

reduce the effects of disability or discomfort, or ameliorate 

symptoms, undesirable changes or conditions specific to 

physical, mental, behavioral, or social functioning. 

"Child" means any person legally defined as a child under 

state law. The term includes residents and other children 

coming into contact with the resident or facility (e.g., visitors). 

When the term is used, the requirement applies to every child 

at the facility regardless of whether the child has been admitted 

to the facility for care (e.g., staff/child ratios apply to all 

children present even though some may not be residents). 

"Child-placing agency" means any person licensed to place 

children in foster homes or adoptive homes or a local board of 

social services authorized to place children in foster homes or 

adoptive homes. 

"Children's residential facility" or "facility" means a publicly 

or privately operated facility, other than a private family home, 

where 24-hour per day care is provided to children separated 

from their legal guardians and is required to be licensed or 

certified by the Code of Virginia except: 

1. Any facility licensed by the Department of Social Services 

as a child-caring institution as of January 1, 1987, and that 

receives public funds; and 

2. Acute-care private psychiatric hospitals serving children 

that are licensed by the Department of Behavioral Health and 

Developmental Services under the Rules and Regulations for 

the Licensing of Providers of Mental Health, Mental 

Retardation and Substance Abuse, the Individual and Family 

Developmental Disabilities Support Waiver, and Residential 

Brain Injury by the Department of Behavioral Health and 

Developmental Services, 12VAC35-105. 

"Clinically managed, low-intensity residential care" means 

providing an ongoing therapeutic environment for children 

requiring some structured support in which treatment is 

directed toward applying recovery skills; preventing relapse; 

improving emotional functioning; promoting personal 

responsibility; reintegrating the child into work, education, and 

family environments; and strengthening adaptive skills that 

may not have been achieved or have been diminished during 

the child's active addiction. A clinically managed, low-

intensity residential care is also designed for the child suffering 

from chronic, long-term alcoholism or drug addiction and 

affords an extended period of time to establish sound recovery 

and a solid support system.  

"Clinically managed, medium-intensity residential care" 

means a substance use treatment program that offers 24-hour 

supportive treatment of children with significant psychological 

and social problems by credentialed addiction treatment 

professionals in an interdisciplinary treatment approach. The 

children served by clinically managed, medium-intensity 
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residential care are children who are not sufficiently stable to 

benefit from outpatient treatment regardless of intensity of 

service.  

"Commissioner" means the Commissioner of the Department 

of Behavioral Health and Developmental Services or his 

authorized agent. 

"Complaint" means an accusation against a licensed facility 

regarding an alleged violation of regulations or law. 

"Contraband" means any item prohibited by law or by the 

rules and regulations of the department, or any item that 

conflicts with the program or safety and security of the facility 

or individual residents. 

"Corporal punishment" means punishment administered 

through the intentional inflicting of pain and discomfort to the 

body through actions such as, but not limited to (i) striking or 

hitting with any part of the body or with an implement; or (ii) 

any similar action that normally inflicts pain or discomfort. 

"Counseling" means certain formal treatment interventions 

such as individual, family, and group modalities, that provide 

for support and problem solving. Such interventions take place 

between provider staff and resident families or groups and are 

aimed at enhancing appropriate psychosocial functioning or 

personal sense of well-being. 

"Corrective action plan" means the provider's pledged 

corrective action in response to cited areas of noncompliance 

documented by the department. A corrective action plan must 

be completed within a specified time. 

"Crisis" means any acute emotional disturbance in which a 

resident presents an immediate danger to self or others or is at 

risk of serious mental or physical health deterioration caused 

by acute mental distress, behavioral or situational factors, or 

acute substance abuse related problems. 

"Crisis intervention" means those activities aimed at the rapid 

management of a crisis. 

"Day" means calendar day unless the context clearly indicates 

otherwise. 

"Department" means the Department of Behavioral Health 

and Developmental Services (DBHDS). 

"Developmental disability" means a severe, chronic disability 

of an individual that (i) is attributable to a mental or physical 

impairment or a combination of mental and physical 

impairments other than a sole diagnosis of mental illness; (ii) 

is manifested before the individual reaches 22 years of age; (iii) 

is likely to continue indefinitely; (iv) results in substantial 

functional limitations in three or more of the following areas 

of major life activity: self-care, receptive and expressive 

language, learning, mobility, self-direction, capacity for 

independent living, or economic self-sufficiency; and (v) 

reflects the individual's need for a combination and sequence 

of special interdisciplinary or generic services, individualized 

supports, or other forms of assistance that are of lifelong or 

extended duration and are individually planned and 

coordinated. An individual from birth to nine years of age, 

inclusive, who has a substantial developmental delay or 

specific congenital or acquired condition may be considered to 

have a developmental disability without meeting three or more 

of the criteria described in clauses (i) through (v) if the 

individual without services and supports has a high probability 

of meeting those criteria later in life. 

"Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders" or 

"DSM" means the Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental 

Disorders, 5th Edition, DSM-5, of the American Psychiatric 

Association. 

"DOE" means the Department of Education. 

"Emergency" means a sudden, generally unexpected 

occurrence or set of circumstances demanding immediate 

action. Emergency does not include regularly scheduled time 

off for permanent staff or other situations that should 

reasonably be anticipated. 

"Emergency admission" means the sudden, unplanned, 

unexpected admittance of a child who needs immediate care or 

a court-ordered placement. 

"Goal" means expected results or conditions that usually 

involve a long period of time and that are written in behavioral 

terms in a statement of relatively broad scope. Goals provide 

guidance in establishing specific short-term objectives directed 

toward the attainment of the goal. 

"Good character and reputation" means findings have been 

established and knowledgeable and objective people agree that 

the individual maintains business or professional, family, and 

community relationships that are characterized by honesty, 

fairness, truthfulness, and dependability, and has a history or 

pattern of behavior that demonstrates that the individual is 

suitable and able to care for, supervise, and protect children. 

Relatives by blood or marriage, and persons who are not 

knowledgeable of the individual, such as recent acquaintances, 

shall not be considered objective references. 

"Group home" means a children's residential facility that is a 

community-based, homelike single dwelling, or its acceptable 

equivalent, other than the private home of the operator, and 

serves up to 12. 

"Health record" means the file maintained by the provider that 

contains personal health information. 

"Human research" means any systematic investigation 

including research development, testing, and evaluation, 

utilizing human subjects, that is designed to develop or 

contribute to generalized knowledge. Human research shall not 

include research exempt from federal research regulations 

pursuant to 45 CFR 46.101(b). 

"Immediately" means directly without delay. 
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"Independent living program" means a competency-based 

program that is specifically approved by the department to 

provide the opportunity for the residents to develop the skills 

necessary to live successfully on their own following 

completion of the program. 

"Individualized service plan" means a written plan of action 

developed and modified at intervals to meet the needs of a 

specific resident. It specifies measurable short and long-term 

goals, objectives, strategies, and time frames for reaching the 

goals and the individuals responsible for carrying out the plan. 

"Intellectual disability" means mental retardation a disability 

originating before 18 years of age, characterized concurrently 

by (i) significant subaverage intellectual functioning as 

demonstrated by performance on a standardized measure of 

intellectual functioning administered in conformity with 

accepted professional practice that is at least two standard 

deviations below the mean and (ii) significant limitations in 

adaptive behavior as expressed in conceptual, social, and 

practical adaptive skills. 

"Legal guardian" means the natural or adoptive parents or 

other person, agency, or institution that has legal custody of a 

child. 

"License" means a document verifying approval to operate a 

children's residential facility and that indicates the status of the 

facility regarding compliance with applicable state regulations. 

"Live-in staff" means staff who are required to be on duty for 

a period of 24 consecutive hours or more during each work 

week. 

"Living unit" means the space in which a particular group of 

children in care of a residential facility reside. A living unit 

contains sleeping areas, bath and toilet facilities, and a living 

room or its equivalent for use by the residents of the unit. 

Depending upon its design, a building may contain one living 

unit or several separate living units. 

"Mechanical restraint" means the use of a mechanical device 

that cannot be removed by the individual to restrict the freedom 

of movement or functioning of a limb or a portion of an 

individual's body when that behavior places him or others at 

imminent risk. 

"Medication" means prescribed and over-the-counter drugs. 

"Medication administration" means the direct application of 

medications by injection, inhalation, or ingestion or any other 

means to a resident by (i) persons legally permitted to 

administer medications; or (ii) the resident at the direction and 

in the presence of persons legally permitted to administer 

medications. 

"Medication assisted treatment" or "MAT" means the use of 

U.S. Food and Drug Administration-approved medications in 

combination with counseling and behavioral therapies to 

provide treatment of substance use disorders. 

"Medication error" means an error made in administering a 

medication to a resident including the following: (i) the wrong 

medication is given to the resident; (ii) the wrong resident is 

given the medication; (iii) the wrong dosage is given to a 

resident; (iv) medication is given to a resident at the wrong 

time or not at all; and (v) the proper method is not used to give 

the medication to the resident. A medication error does not 

include a resident's refusal of offered medication. 

"Mental retardation" ("intellectual disability") means a 

disability originating before the age of 18 years characterized 

concurrently by (i) significantly subaverage intellectual 

functioning as demonstrated by performance on a standardized 

measure of intellectual functioning, administered in 

conformity with accepted professional practice, that is at least 

two standard deviations below the mean; and (ii) significant 

limitations in adaptive behavior as expressed as conceptual, 

social, and practical adaptive skills (§ 37.2-100 of the Code of 

Virginia). According to the American Association of 

Intellectual Disabilities (AAID) definition, these impairments 

should be assessed in the context of the individual's 

environment, considering cultural and linguistic diversity as 

well as differences in communication, and sensory motor and 

behavioral factors. Within an individual limitations often 

coexist with strengths. The purpose of describing limitations is 

to develop a profile of needed supports. With personalized 

supports over a sustained period, the functioning of an 

individual will improve. In some organizations the term 

"intellectual disability" is used instead of "mental retardation." 

"Motivational enhancement" means a person-centered 

approach that is collaborative, employs strategies to strengthen 

motivation for change, increases engagement in substance use 

services, resolves ambivalence about changing substance use 

behaviors, and supports individuals to set goals to change their 

substance use. 

"Neurobehavioral services" means the assessment, 

evaluation, and treatment of cognitive, perceptual, behavioral, 

and other impairments caused by brain injury, that affect an 

individual's ability to function successfully in the community. 

"Objective" means expected short-term results or conditions 

that must be met in order to attain a goal. Objectives are stated 

in measurable, behavioral terms and have a specified time for 

achievement. 

"On-duty" means that period of time during which a staff 

person is responsible for the supervision of one or more 

children. 

"On-site" "On-site" means services that are delivered by the 

provider and are an integrated part of the overall service 

delivery system. 

"Parent" means a natural or adoptive parent or surrogate 

parent appointed pursuant to DOE's regulations governing 

special education programs for students with disabilities." 

"Parent" means either parent unless the facility has been 
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provided documentation that there is a legally binding 

instrument, a state law, or court order governing such matters 

as divorce, separation, or custody, that provides to the contrary. 

"Pat down" means a thorough external body search of a 

clothed resident. 

"Personal health information" means oral, written, or 

otherwise recorded information that is created or received by 

an entity relating to either an individual's physical or mental 

health or the provision of or payment for health care to an 

individual. 

"Placement" means an activity by any person that provides 

assistance to a parent or legal guardian in locating and effecting 

the movement of a child to a foster home, adoptive home, or 

children's residential facility. 

"Premises" means the tracts of land on which any part of a 

residential facility for children is located and any buildings on 

such tracts of land. 

"Provider" means any person, entity, or organization, 

excluding an agency of the federal government by whatever 

name or designation, that delivers (i) residential services to 

children with mental illness, mental retardation (intellectual 

disability) developmental disability, or substance abuse; or (ii) 

residential services for persons with brain injury. 

"Record" means up-to-date written or automated information 

relating to one resident. This information includes social data, 

agreements, all correspondence relating to the care of the 

resident, service plans with periodic revisions, aftercare plans 

and discharge summary, and any other data related to the 

resident. 

"Resident" means a person admitted to a children's residential 

facility for supervision, care, training, or treatment on a 24-

hour per day basis. 

"Residential treatment program" means 24-hour, supervised, 

medically necessary, out-of-home programs designed to 

provide necessary support and address mental health, 

behavioral, substance abuse, cognitive, or training needs of a 

child or adolescent in order to prevent or minimize the need for 

more intensive inpatient treatment. Services include, but shall 

not be limited to, assessment and evaluation, medical treatment 

(including medication), individual and group counseling, 

neurobehavioral services, and family therapy necessary to treat 

the child. The service provides active treatment or training 

beginning at admission related to the resident's principle 

diagnosis and admitting symptoms. These services do not 

include interventions and activities designed only to meet the 

supportive nonmental health special needs including, but not 

limited to, personal care, habilitation, or academic educational 

needs of the resident. 

"Respite care facility" means a facility that is specifically 

approved to provide short-term, periodic residential care to 

children accepted into its program in order to give the parents 

or legal guardians temporary relief from responsibility for their 

direct care. 

"Rest day" means a period of not less than 24 consecutive 

hours during which a staff person has no responsibility to 

perform duties related to the facility. 

"Restraint" means the use of a mechanical device, 

medication, physical intervention, or hands-on hold to prevent 

an individual from moving his body to engage in a behavior 

that places him or others at imminent risk. There are three 

kinds of restraints: 

1. Mechanical restraint means the use of a mechanical device 

that cannot be removed by the individual to restrict the 

freedom of movement or functioning of a limb or a portion 

of an individual's body when that behavior places him or 

others at imminent risk. 

2. Pharmacological restraint means the use of a medication 

that is administered involuntarily for the emergency control 

of an individual's behavior when that individual's behavior 

places him or others at imminent risk and the administered 

medication is not a standard treatment for the individual's 

medical or psychiatric condition. 

3. Physical restraint, also referred to as manual hold, means 

the use of a physical intervention or hands-on hold to prevent 

an individual from moving his body when that individual's 

behavior places him or others at imminent risk. 

"Routine admission" means the admittance of a child 

following evaluation of an application for admission and 

execution of a written placement agreement. 

"Rules of conduct" means a listing of a facility's rules or 

regulations that is maintained to inform residents and others 

about behaviors that are not permitted and the consequences 

applied when the behaviors occur. 

"Sanitizing agent" means any substance approved by the 

Environmental Protection Agency to destroy bacteria. 

"Seclusion" means the involuntary placement of an individual 

alone in an area secured by a door that is locked or held shut 

by a staff person by physically blocking the door, or by any 

other physical or verbal means so that the individual cannot 

leave it. 

"Self-admission" means the admittance of a child who seeks 

admission to a temporary care facility as permitted by Virginia 

statutory law without completing the requirements for "routine 

admission." 

"Serious incident" means: 

1. Any accident or injury requiring medical attention by a 

physician; 

2. Any illness that requires hospitalization; 
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3. Any overnight absence from the facility without 

permission; 

4. Any runaway; or 

5. Any event that affects, or potentially may affect, the 

health, safety or welfare of any resident being served by the 

provider. 

"Serious injury" means any injury resulting in bodily hurt, 

damage, harm, or loss that requires medical attention by a 

licensed physician. 

"Service" or "services" means planned individualized 

interventions intended to reduce or ameliorate mental illness, 

mental retardation (intellectual disability) developmental 

disability, or substance abuse through care, treatment, training, 

habilitation, or other supports that are delivered by a provider 

to individuals with mental illness, mental retardation 

(intellectual disability) developmental disability, or substance 

abuse. Services include residential services, including those for 

persons with brain injury. 

"Severe weather" means extreme environment or climate 

conditions that pose a threat to the health, safety, or welfare of 

residents. 

"Social skills training" means activities aimed at developing 

and maintaining interpersonal skills. 

"Strategies" means a series of steps and methods used to meet 

goals and objectives. 

"Strip search" means a visual inspection of the body of a 

resident when that resident's outer clothing or total clothing is 

removed and an inspection of the removed clothing. Strip 

searches are conducted for the detection of contraband. 

"Structured program of care" means a comprehensive planned 

daily routine including appropriate supervision that meets the 

needs of each resident both individually and as a group. 

"Student/intern" means an individual who simultaneously is 

affiliated with an educational institution and a residential 

facility. Every student/intern who is not an employee is either 

a volunteer or contractual service provider depending upon the 

relationship among the student/intern, educational institution, 

and facility. 

"Substantial compliance" means that while there may be 

noncompliance with one or more regulations that represents 

minimal risk, compliance clearly and obviously exists with 

most of the regulations as a whole. 

"Systemic deficiency" means violations documented by the 

department that demonstrate defects in the overall operation of 

the facility or one or more of its components. 

"Target population" means individuals with a similar, 

specified characteristic or disability. 

"Temporary contract worker" means an individual who is not 

a direct salaried employee of the provider but is employed by 

a third party and is not a consistently scheduled staff member. 

"Therapy" means provision of direct diagnostic, preventive, 

and treatment services where functioning is threatened or 

affected by social and psychological stress or health 

impairment. 

"Time out" means the involuntary removal of a resident by a 

staff person from a source of reinforcement to a different open 

location for a specified period of time or until the problem 

behavior has subsided to discontinue or reduce the frequency 

of problematic behavior. 

"Treatment" means individually planned, sound, and 

therapeutic interventions that are intended to improve or 

maintain functioning of an individual receiving services in 

those areas that show impairment as the result of mental 

disability, substance addiction, or physical impairment. In 

order to be considered sound and therapeutic, the treatment 

must conform to current acceptable professional practice. 

"Variance" means temporary or permanent waiver of 

compliance with a regulation or portion of a regulation, or 

permission to meet the intent of the regulation by a method 

other than that specified in the regulation, when the 

department, in its sole discretion, determines (i) enforcement 

will create an undue hardship and (ii) resident care will not be 

adversely affected. 

"Volunteers" means any individual or group who of their own 

free will, and without any financial gain, provides goods and 

services to the program without compensation. 

12VAC35-46-1150. (Reserved).  

12VAC35-46-1160. Clinically managed, medium-intensity 

residential services staff criteria.  

A clinically managed, medium-intensity residential care 

program shall meet the following staff requirements. The 

program shall: 

1. Ensure the availability of emergency consultation with a 

licensed physician by telephone or in person in case of 

emergency related to an individual's substance use disorder, 

available 24 hours a day, seven days a week. The program 

shall also provide staff 24 hours a day;  

2. Provide licensed clinicians who are able to obtain and 

interpret information regarding the signs and symptoms of 

intoxication and withdrawal, as well as the appropriate 

monitoring and treatment of those conditions and how to 

facilitate entry into ongoing care;  

3. Provide appropriately trained staff who are competent to 

implement physician-approved protocols for the child's or 

adolescent's observation, supervision, and treatment, 

including over the counter medications for symptomatic 

relief, determination for the appropriate level of care, and 
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facilitation of the child's or adolescent's transition to 

continuing care;  

4. Provide staff training that shall include at a minimum the 

requirements within 12VAC35-46-310, and all staff 

administering over the counter medications shall complete 

the training program approved by the Board of Nursing and 

required by subsection L of § 54.1-3408 of the Code of 

Virginia;  

5. Provide access, as needed, to medical evaluation and 

consultation, which shall be available 24 hours a day to 

monitor the safety and outcome of withdrawal management 

in this setting, in accordance with the provider's written 

criteria for admission and discharge as required by 

12VAC35-46-640 and 12VAC35-46-765; and 

6. Ensure all clinical staff are qualified by training and 

experience and appropriately licensed, certified, or 

registered by the appropriate health regulatory board to serve 

individuals admitted to the service. 

12VAC35-46-1170. Clinically managed, medium-intensity 

residential services program criteria.  

A clinically managed, medium-intensity residential care 

program shall meet the following programmatic requirements. 

The program shall: 

1. Provide daily clinical services, including a range of 

cognitive, behavioral, and other therapies in individual or 

group therapy, programming, and psychoeducation as 

deemed appropriate by a licensed professional and included 

in an assessment and treatment plan; 

2. Provide counseling and clinical interventions to teach a 

child or adolescent the skills needed for daily productive 

activity, prosocial behavior, and reintegration into family 

and community; 

3. Provide motivational enhancement and engagement 

strategies appropriate to the child's or adolescent's stage of 

readiness to change and level of comprehension; 

4. Have direct affiliations with other easily accessible levels 

of care or coordinate through referral to more or less 

intensive levels of care and other services;  

5. Provide family and caregiver treatment services as 

deemed appropriate by a licensed professional and included 

in an assessment and treatment plan;  

6. Provide educational, vocational, and informational 

programming adaptive to individual needs;  

7. Utilize random drug screening to monitor progress and 

reinforce treatment gains as appropriate to an individual 

treatment plan;  

8. Ensure and document that the length of stay is determined 

by the child's or adolescent's condition and functioning;  

9. Make medication assisted treatment (MAT) available for 

all individuals. MAT may be provided by facility staff or 

coordinated through alternative resources;  

10. Provide educational services in accordance with state 

law to maintain the educational and intellectual development 

of the child or adolescent while they are admitted to the 

service. When indicated, additional educational 

opportunities shall be provided to remedy deficits in the 

educational level of children or adolescents who have fallen 

behind because of their involvement with alcohol and other 

drugs;  

11. Ensure that all children and adolescents served by the 

residential service have access to the substance use treatment 

program; and  

12. Provide daily clinical services to assess and address the 

child's or adolescent's withdrawal status and service needs. 

This may include nursing or medical monitoring, use of 

medications to alleviate symptoms, or individual or group 

therapy or programming specific to withdrawal and 

withdrawal support. 

12VAC35-46-1180. Clinically managed, medium-intensity 

residential services admission criteria.  

A. A clinically managed, medium-intensity residential care 

program provides treatment for children who have impaired 

functioning across a broad range of psychosocial domains, 

including disruptive behaviors, delinquency and juvenile 

justice involvement, educational difficulties, family conflicts 

and chaotic home situations, developmental immaturity and 

psychological problems.  

B. Before a clinically managed, medium-intensity residential 

service program may admit a child or adolescent, the child or 

adolescent shall meet the criteria for admission as defined by 

the provider's policies. The provider's policy regarding 

admission shall at a minimum require the child or adolescent: 

1. Meet diagnostic criteria for a substance use disorder or 

addictive disorder of moderate to high severity as defined by 

the Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders 

(DSM); and 

2. Meet the admission criteria of Level 3.5 of ASAM, 

including the specific criteria for adolescent populations.  

12VAC35-46-1190. Clinically managed, medium-intensity 

residential services discharge criteria.  

Before a clinically managed, medium-intensity residential 

service program may discharge or transfer a child or 

adolescent, the child or adolescent shall meet the criteria for 

discharge or transfer as defined by the provider's policies, 

which shall include provisions for the discharge or transfer of 

children or adolescents who have: 

1. Achieved the goals of the treatment services and no longer 

require ASAM 3.5 level of care;  
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2. Been unable to achieve the goals of the child's or 

adolescent's treatment but could achieve the child's or 

adolescent's goals with a different type of treatment; or 

3. Achieved the child's or adolescent's original treatment 

goals but have developed new treatment challenges that can 

only be adequately addressed in a different type of treatment. 

12VAC35-46-1200. Clinically managed, medium-intensity 

residential services co-occurring enhanced programs.  

A. Clinically managed, medium-intensity residential services 

co-occurring enhanced programs shall offer psychiatric 

services, medication evaluation, and laboratory services. Such 

services shall be available by telephone within eight hours and 

onsite or closely coordinated offsite within 24 hours. 

B. Clinically managed, medium-intensity residential services 

co-occurring enhanced programs shall be staffed by 

appropriately credentialed mental health professionals, 

including addiction psychiatrists who are able to assess and 

treat co-occurring mental disorders and who have specialized 

training in behavior management techniques. All clinical staff 

shall be qualified by training and experience and appropriately 

licensed, certified, or registered by the appropriate health 

regulatory board to serve individuals admitted to the service. 

C. Clinically managed, medium-intensity residential services 

co-occurring enhanced programs shall offer planned clinical 

activities designed to stabilize the child's or adolescent's mental 

health problems and psychiatric symptoms and to maintain 

such stabilization, including medication education and 

management and motivational and engagement strategies. 

Goals of therapy shall apply to both the substance use disorder 

and any co-occurring mental disorder.  

12VAC35-46-1210. Clinically managed, low-intensity 

residential services staff criteria.  

A clinically managed, low-intensity residential services 

program shall meet the following staff requirements. The 

program shall:  

1. Offer telephone or in-person consultation with a physician 

and emergency services, available 24 hours a day, seven 

days a week by the clinically managed, low-intensity 

residential services provider. The program shall also provide 

allied health professional staff present onsite 24 hours a day;  

2. Have clinical staff, with the credentials described in 

subdivision 3 of this section, who are knowledgeable about 

the biological and psychosocial dimensions of substance use 

disorder and their treatment and are able to identify the signs 

and symptoms of acute psychiatric conditions;  

3. Have a team comprised of appropriately trained and 

credentialed medical, addiction, and mental health 

professionals; and 

4. Have staff that shall be knowledgeable about child or 

adolescent development and experienced in engaging and 

working with children or adolescents.  

5. Ensure all clinical staff are qualified by training and 

experience and appropriately licensed, certified, or 

registered by the appropriate health regulatory board to serve 

individuals admitted to the service. 

12VAC35-46-1220. Clinically managed, low-intensity 

residential services program criteria.  

A clinically managed, low-intensity residential services 

program shall meet the following programmatic requirements. 

The program shall: 

1. Offer a minimum of five hours a week of professionally 

directed treatment in addition to other treatment services 

offered to children or adolescents, such as partial 

hospitalization or intensive outpatient treatment. Services 

shall be designed to stabilize the child's or adolescent's 

substance use disorder, improve the child's or adolescent's 

ability to structure and organize the tasks of daily living and 

recovery;  

2. Collaborate with care providers to develop an individual 

treatment plan for each child or adolescent with time-

specific goals and objectives; 

3. Provide counseling and clinical monitoring to support 

successful initial involvement in regular, productive daily 

activity; 

4. Provide case management services;  

5. Provide motivational interventions appropriate to the 

child's or adolescent's stage of readiness to change and level 

of comprehension; 

6. Maintain direct affiliations with other easily accessible 

levels of care or coordinate through referral to more or less 

intensive levels of care and other services. Include the ability 

to arrange for needed procedures as appropriate to the 

severity and urgency of the child's or adolescent's condition;  

7. Provide family and caregiver treatment and peer recovery 

support services as deemed appropriate by a licensed 

professional and included in an assessment and treatment 

plan;  

8. Provide addiction pharmacotherapy and the ability to 

arrange for pharmacotherapy for psychiatric medications;  

9. Utilize random drug screening to monitor progress and 

reinforce treatment gains;  

10. Ensure that all children and adolescents served by the 

residential service have access to the substance use treatment 

program; and  
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11. Make MAT available for all children. MAT may be 

provided by facility staff or coordinated through alternative 

resources.  

12VAC35-46-1230. Clinically managed, low-intensity 

residential services admission criteria.  

Before a clinically managed, low-intensity residential service 

program may admit a child or adolescent, the child or 

adolescent shall meet the criteria for admission as defined by 

the provider's policies. The provider's policy regarding 

admission shall at a minimum require the child or adolescent 

to: 

1. Meet diagnostic criteria for a substance use disorder or 

addictive disorder of moderate to high severity as defined by 

the DSM; and 

2. Meet the admission criteria of Level 3.1 of ASAM, 

including the specific criteria of adolescent populations. 

12VAC35-46-1240. Clinically managed, low-intensity 

residential services discharge criteria.  

Before a clinically managed, low-intensity residential service 

program may discharge or transfer a child or adolescent, the 

child or adolescent shall meet the criteria for discharge or 

transfer as defined by the provider's policies, which shall 

include provisions for the discharge or transfer of children or 

adolescents who have: 

1. Achieved the goals of the treatment services and no longer 

require ASAM 3.1 level of care;  

2. Been unable to achieve the goals of the child's or 

adolescent's treatment but could achieve the child's or 

adolescent's goals with a different type of treatment; or 

3. Achieved the child's or adolescent's original treatment 

goals but have developed new treatment challenges that can 

only be adequately addressed in a different type of treatment. 

12VAC35-46-1250. Clinically managed, low-intensity 

residential services co-occurring enhanced programs.  

A. Clinically managed, low-intensity residential services co-

occurring enhanced programs shall offer appropriate 

psychiatric services, including medication evaluation and 

laboratory services. Such services shall be provided onsite or 

closely coordinated offsite, as appropriate to the severity and 

urgency of the child's or adolescent's mental condition. 

B. Clinically managed, low-intensity residential services co-

occurring enhanced programs shall be staffed by appropriately 

credentialed mental health professionals who are able to assess 

and treat co-occurring disorders with the capacity to involve 

addiction-trained psychiatrists.  

C. Clinically managed, low-intensity residential services co-

occurring enhanced programs shall offer planned clinical 

activities that are designed to stabilize the child's or 

adolescent's mental health problems and psychiatric symptoms 

and to maintain such stabilization, including medication 

education and management and motivational and engagement 

strategies. Goals of therapy shall apply to both the substance 

use disorder and any co-occurring mental disorder.  
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http://www.vdh.virginia.gov/epidemiology/DiseasePreventio

n/Programs/Tuberculosis/Forms/documents/Form2.pdf. 
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Department of Agriculture Dietary Guidelines for Americans, 

6th Edition, January 2005, U.S. Government Printing Office, 
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The ASAM: Treatment for Addictive, Substance-Related and 

Co-Occuring Conditions, Third Edition, American Society of 
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Edition. DSM-5, American Psychiatric Association, 800 
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VA.R. Doc. No. R21-6440; Filed January 8, 2021, 1:32 p.m. 

Emergency Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 12VAC35-105. Rules and Regulations 

for Licensing Providers by the Department of Behavioral 

Health and Developmental Services (amending 12VAC35-

105-20, 12VAC35-105-30, 12VAC35-105-1360 through 

12VAC35-105-1390, 12VAC35-105-1410). 

Statutory Authority: § 37.2-203 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Dates: February 20, 2021, through August 19, 2022. 

Agency Contact: Ruth Anne Walker, Director of Regulatory 

Affairs, Department of Behavioral Health and Developmental 

Services, 1220 Bank Street, 4th Floor, Richmond, VA 23219, 

telephone (804) 225-2252, FAX (804) 371-4609, TDD (804) 

371-8977, or email ruthanne.walker@dbhds.virginia.gov. 

Preamble: 

Section 2.2-4011 B of the Code of Virginia states that 

agencies may adopt emergency regulations in situations in 

which Virginia statutory law or the appropriation act or 

federal law or federal regulation requires that a regulation 

be effective in 280 days or less from its enactment, and the 

regulation is not exempt under the provisions of § 2.2-4006 

A 4 of the Code of Virginia. 

Pursuant to Item 318 of Chapter 1289 of the 2020 Acts of 

Assembly (2020 Appropriation Act) and to align the 

department's licensing regulations with anticipated changes 

to Medicaid behavioral health regulations in Item 313 of 

Chapter 1289, the amendments remove provisions that 

would conflict with newly funded behavioral health services 

mailto:ruthanne.walker@dbhds.virginia.gov
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and establish new licensed services for those newly funded 

behavioral health services that cannot be nested under an 

existing department license, including substantive changes 

to the existing license requirements for Program for 

Assertive Community Treatment (PACT) services, which are 

inconsistent with the Assertive Community Treatment (ACT) 

services that will be funded as part of Behavioral Health 

Enhancement. 

12VAC35-105-20. Definitions and units of measurement. 

The following words and terms when used in this chapter 

shall have the following meanings unless the context clearly 

indicates otherwise: 

"Abuse" means any act or failure to act by an employee or 

other person responsible for the care of an individual in a 

facility or program operated, licensed, or funded by the 

department, excluding those operated by the Virginia 

Department of Corrections, that was performed or was failed 

to be performed knowingly, recklessly, or intentionally, and 

that caused or might have caused physical or psychological 

harm, injury, or death to an individual receiving care or 

treatment for mental illness, developmental disabilities, or 

substance abuse. Examples of abuse include acts such as: 

1. Rape, sexual assault, or other criminal sexual behavior; 

2. Assault or battery; 

3. Use of language that demeans, threatens, intimidates, or 

humiliates the individual; 

4. Misuse or misappropriation of the individual's assets, 

goods, or property; 

5. Use of excessive force when placing an individual in 

physical or mechanical restraint; 

6. Use of physical or mechanical restraints on an individual 

that is not in compliance with federal and state laws, 

regulations, and policies, professional accepted standards of 

practice, or his individualized services plan; or 

7. Use of more restrictive or intensive services or denial of 

services to punish an individual or that is not consistent with 

his individualized services plan. 

"Activities of daily living" or "ADLs" means personal care 

activities and includes bathing, dressing, transferring, toileting, 

grooming, hygiene, feeding, and eating. An individual's degree 

of independence in performing these activities is part of 

determining the appropriate level of care and services. 

"Admission" means the process of acceptance into a service 

as defined by the provider's policies. 

"Assertive community treatment service" or "ACT" means a 

self-contained interdisciplinary community-based team of 

medical, behavioral health, and rehabilitation professionals 

who use a team approach to meet the needs of an individual 

with severe and persistent mental illness. ACT teams:  

1. Provide person-centered services addressing the breadth 

of an individual's needs, helping him achieve his personal 

goals; 

2. Serve as the primary provider of all the services that an 

individual receiving ACT services needs;  

3. Maintain a high frequency and intensity of community-

based contacts; 

4. Maintain a very low individual-to-staff ratio;  

5. Offer varying levels of care for all individuals receiving 

ACT services, and appropriately adjust service levels 

according to each individual's needs over time;  

6. Assist individuals in advancing toward personal goals 

with a focus on enhancing community integration and 

regaining valued roles, such as worker, family member, 

resident, spouse, tenant, or friend;  

7. Carry out planned assertive engagement techniques, 

including rapport-building strategies, facilitating meeting 

basic needs, and motivational interviewing techniques; 

8. Monitor the individual's mental status and provide needed 

supports in a manner consistent with the individual's level of 

need and functioning; 

9. Deliver all services according to a recovery-based 

philosophy of care; and 

10. Promote self-determination, respect for the individual 

receiving ACT as an individual in such individual's own 

right, and engage peers in promoting recovery and regaining 

meaningful roles and relationships in the community. 

"Authorized representative" means a person permitted by law 

or 12VAC35-115 to authorize the disclosure of information or 

consent to treatment and services or participation in human 

research. 

"Behavior intervention" means those principles and methods 

employed by a provider to help an individual receiving services 

to achieve a positive outcome and to address challenging 

behavior in a constructive and safe manner. Behavior 

intervention principles and methods shall be employed in 

accordance with the individualized services plan and written 

policies and procedures governing service expectations, 

treatment goals, safety, and security. 

"Behavioral treatment plan," "functional plan," or "behavioral 

support plan" means any set of documented procedures that are 

an integral part of the individualized services plan and are 

developed on the basis of a systematic data collection, such as 

a functional assessment, for the purpose of assisting 

individuals to achieve the following: 

1. Improved behavioral functioning and effectiveness; 

2. Alleviation of symptoms of psychopathology; or 

3. Reduction of challenging behaviors. 
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"Brain injury" means any injury to the brain that occurs after 

birth, but before age 65, that is acquired through traumatic or 

nontraumatic insults. Nontraumatic insults may include 

anoxia, hypoxia, aneurysm, toxic exposure, encephalopathy, 

surgical interventions, tumor, and stroke. Brain injury does not 

include hereditary, congenital, or degenerative brain disorders 

or injuries induced by birth trauma. 

"Care," "treatment," or "support" means the individually 

planned therapeutic interventions that conform to current 

acceptable professional practice and that are intended to 

improve or maintain functioning of an individual receiving 

services delivered by a provider. 

"Case management service" or "support coordination service" 

means services that can include assistance to individuals and 

their family members in accessing needed services that are 

responsive to the individual's needs. Case management 

services include identifying potential users of the service; 

assessing needs and planning services; linking the individual 

to services and supports; assisting the individual directly to 

locate, develop, or obtain needed services and resources; 

coordinating services with other providers; enhancing 

community integration; making collateral contacts; monitoring 

service delivery; discharge planning; and advocating for 

individuals in response to their changing needs. "Case 

management service" does not include assistance in which the 

only function is maintaining service waiting lists or 

periodically contacting or tracking individuals to determine 

potential service needs. 

"Clinical experience" means providing direct services to 

individuals with mental illness or the provision of direct 

geriatric services or special education services. Experience 

may include supervised internships, practicums, and field 

experience. 

"Commissioner" means the Commissioner of the Department 

of Behavioral Health and Developmental Services. 

"Community gero-psychiatric residential services" means 24-

hour care provided to individuals with mental illness, 

behavioral problems, and concomitant health problems who 

are usually age 65 or older in a geriatric setting that is less 

intensive than a psychiatric hospital but more intensive than a 

nursing home or group home. Services include assessment and 

individualized services planning by an interdisciplinary 

services team, intense supervision, psychiatric care, behavioral 

treatment planning and behavior interventions, nursing, and 

other health related services. 

"Complaint" means an allegation of a violation of this chapter 

or a provider's policies and procedures related to this chapter. 

"Co-occurring disorders" means the presence of more than 

one and often several of the following disorders that are 

identified independently of one another and are not simply a 

cluster of symptoms resulting from a single disorder: mental 

illness, a developmental disability, substance abuse (substance 

use disorders), or brain injury. 

"Co-occurring services" means individually planned 

therapeutic treatment that addresses in an integrated concurrent 

manner the service needs of individuals who have co-occurring 

disorders. 

"Corrective action plan" means the provider's pledged 

corrective action in response to cited areas of noncompliance 

documented by the regulatory authority. 

"Correctional facility" means a facility operated under the 

management and control of the Virginia Department of 

Corrections. 

"Crisis" means a deteriorating or unstable situation often 

developing suddenly or rapidly that produces acute, 

heightened, emotional, mental, physical, medical, or 

behavioral distress. 

"Crisis stabilization" means direct, intensive nonresidential or 

residential direct care and treatment to nonhospitalized 

individuals experiencing an acute crisis that may jeopardize 

their current community living situation. Crisis stabilization is 

intended to avert hospitalization or rehospitalization; provide 

normative environments with a high assurance of safety and 

security for crisis intervention; stabilize individuals in crisis; 

and mobilize the resources of the community support system, 

family members, and others for ongoing rehabilitation and 

recovery. 

"Day support service" means structured programs of training, 

assistance, and specialized supervision in the acquisition, 

retention, or improvement of self-help, socialization, and 

adaptive skills for adults with a developmental disability 

provided to groups or individuals in nonresidential 

community-based settings. Day support services may provide 

opportunities for peer interaction and community integration 

and are designed to enhance the following: self-care and 

hygiene, eating, toileting, task learning, community resource 

utilization, environmental and behavioral skills, social skills, 

medication management, prevocational skills, and 

transportation skills. The term "day support service" does not 

include services in which the primary function is to provide 

employment-related services, general educational services, or 

general recreational services. 

"Department" means the Virginia Department of Behavioral 

Health and Developmental Services. 

"Developmental disability" means a severe, chronic disability 

of an individual that (i) is attributable to a mental or physical 

impairment or a combination of mental and physical 

impairments other than a sole diagnosis of mental illness; (ii) 

is manifested before the individual reaches 22 years of age; (iii) 

is likely to continue indefinitely; (iv) results in substantial 

functional limitations in three or more of the following areas 

of major life activity: self-care, receptive and expressive 
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language, learning, mobility, self-direction, capacity for 

independent living, or economic self-sufficiency; and (v) 

reflects the individual's need for a combination and sequence 

of special interdisciplinary or generic services, individualized 

supports, or other forms of assistance that are of lifelong or 

extended duration and are individually planned and 

coordinated. An individual from birth to nine years of age, 

inclusive, who has a substantial developmental delay or 

specific congenital or acquired condition may be considered to 

have a developmental disability without meeting three or more 

of the criteria described in clauses (i) through (v) if the 

individual without services and supports has a high probability 

of meeting those criteria later in life. 

"Developmental services" means planned, individualized, 

and person-centered services and supports provided to 

individuals with developmental disabilities for the purpose of 

enabling these individuals to increase their self-determination 

and independence, obtain employment, participate fully in all 

aspects of community life, advocate for themselves, and 

achieve their fullest potential to the greatest extent possible. 

"Direct care position" means any position that includes 

responsibility for (i) treatment, case management, health, 

safety, development, or well-being of an individual receiving 

services or (ii) immediately supervising a person in a position 

with this responsibility. 

"Discharge" means the process by which the individual's 

active involvement with a service is terminated by the 

provider, individual, or authorized representative. 

"Discharge plan" means the written plan that establishes the 

criteria for an individual's discharge from a service and 

identifies and coordinates delivery of any services needed after 

discharge. 

"Dispense" means to deliver a drug to an ultimate user by or 

pursuant to the lawful order of a practitioner, including the 

prescribing and administering, packaging, labeling, or 

compounding necessary to prepare the substance for that 

delivery (§ 54.1-3400 et seq. of the Code of Virginia). 

"Emergency service" means unscheduled and sometimes 

scheduled crisis intervention, stabilization, and referral 

assistance provided over the telephone or face-to-face, if 

indicated, available 24 hours a day and seven days per week. 

Emergency services also may include walk-ins, home visits, 

jail interventions, and preadmission screening activities 

associated with the judicial process. 

"Group home or community residential service" means a 

congregate service providing 24-hour supervision in a 

community-based home having eight or fewer residents. 

Services include supervision, supports, counseling, and 

training in activities of daily living for individuals whose 

individualized services plan identifies the need for the specific 

types of services available in this setting. 

"HCBS Waiver" means a Medicaid Home and Community 

Based Services Waiver. 

"Home and noncenter based" means that a service is provided 

in the individual's home or other noncenter-based setting. This 

includes noncenter-based day support, supportive in-home, 

and intensive in-home services. 

"Individual" or "individual receiving services" means a 

current direct recipient of public or private mental health, 

developmental, or substance abuse treatment, rehabilitation, or 

habilitation services and includes the terms "consumer," 

"patient," "resident," "recipient," or "client". When the term is 

used in this chapter, the requirement applies to every individual 

receiving licensed services from the provider. 

"Individualized services plan" or "ISP" means a 

comprehensive and regularly updated written plan that 

describes the individual's needs, the measurable goals and 

objectives to address those needs, and strategies to reach the 

individual's goals. An ISP is person-centered, empowers the 

individual, and is designed to meet the needs and preferences 

of the individual. The ISP is developed through a partnership 

between the individual and the provider and includes an 

individual's treatment plan, habilitation plan, person-centered 

plan, or plan of care, which are all considered individualized 

service plans. 

"Informed choice" means a decision made after considering 

options based on adequate and accurate information and 

knowledge. These options are developed through collaboration 

with the individual and his authorized representative, as 

applicable, and the provider with the intent of empowering the 

individual and his authorized representative to make decisions 

that will lead to positive service outcomes. 

"Informed consent" means the voluntary written agreement of 

an individual, or that individual's authorized representative, to 

surgery, electroconvulsive treatment, use of psychotropic 

medications, or any other treatment or service that poses a risk 

of harm greater than that ordinarily encountered in daily life or 

for participation in human research. To be voluntary, informed 

consent must be given freely and without undue inducement; 

any element of force, fraud, deceit, or duress; or any form of 

constraint or coercion. 

"Initial assessment" means an assessment conducted prior to 

or at admission to determine whether the individual meets the 

service's admission criteria; what the individual's immediate 

service, health, and safety needs are; and whether the provider 

has the capability and staffing to provide the needed services. 

"Inpatient psychiatric service" means intensive 24-hour 

medical, nursing, and treatment services provided to 

individuals with mental illness or substance abuse (substance 

use disorders) in a hospital as defined in § 32.1-123 of the Code 

of Virginia or in a special unit of such a hospital. 
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"Instrumental activities of daily living" or "IADLs" means 

meal preparation, housekeeping, laundry, and managing 

money. A person's degree of independence in performing these 

activities is part of determining appropriate level of care and 

services. 

"Intellectual disability" means a disability originating before 

18 years of age, characterized concurrently by (i) significant 

subaverage intellectual functioning as demonstrated by 

performance on a standardized measure of intellectual 

functioning administered in conformity with accepted 

professional practice that is at least two standard deviations 

below the mean and (ii) significant limitations in adaptive 

behavior as expressed in conceptual, social, and practical 

adaptive skills. 

"Intensive community treatment service" or "ICT" means a 

self-contained interdisciplinary team of at least five full-time 

equivalent clinical staff, a program assistant, and a full-time 

psychiatrist that: 

1. Assumes responsibility for directly providing needed 

treatment, rehabilitation, and support services to identified 

individuals with severe and persistent mental illness, 

especially those who have severe symptoms that are not 

effectively remedied by available treatments or who because 

of reasons related to their mental illness resist or avoid 

involvement with mental health services; 

2. Minimally refers individuals to outside service providers; 

3. Provides services on a long-term care basis with 

continuity of caregivers over time; 

4. Delivers 75% or more of the services outside program 

offices; and 

5. Emphasizes outreach, relationship building, and 

individualization of services. 

"Intensive in-home service" means family preservation 

interventions for children and adolescents who have or are at-

risk of serious emotional disturbance, including individuals 

who also have a diagnosis of developmental disability. 

Intensive in-home service is usually time-limited and is 

provided typically in the residence of an individual who is at 

risk of being moved to out-of-home placement or who is being 

transitioned back home from an out-of-home placement. The 

service includes 24-hour per day emergency response; crisis 

treatment; individual and family counseling; life, parenting, 

and communication skills; and case management and 

coordination with other services. 

"Intermediate care facility/individuals with intellectual 

disability" or "ICF/IID" means a facility or distinct part of a 

facility certified by the Virginia Department of Health as 

meeting the federal certification regulations for an 

intermediate care facility for individuals with intellectual 

disability and persons with related conditions and that 

addresses the total needs of the residents, which include 

physical, intellectual, social, emotional, and habilitation, 

providing active treatment as defined in 42 CFR 435.1010 and 

42 CFR 483.440. 

"Investigation" means a detailed inquiry or systematic 

examination of the operations of a provider or its services 

regarding an alleged violation of regulations or law. An 

investigation may be undertaken as a result of a complaint, an 

incident report, or other information that comes to the attention 

of the department. 

"Licensed mental health professional" or "LMHP" means a 

physician, licensed clinical psychologist, licensed professional 

counselor, licensed clinical social worker, licensed substance 

abuse treatment practitioner, licensed marriage and family 

therapist, certified psychiatric clinical nurse specialist, licensed 

behavior analyst, or licensed psychiatric/mental health nurse 

practitioner. 

"Location" means a place where services are or could be 

provided. 

"Medically managed withdrawal services" means 

detoxification services to eliminate or reduce the effects of 

alcohol or other drugs in the individual's body. 

"Mandatory outpatient treatment order" means an order 

issued by a court pursuant to § 37.2-817 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

"Medical detoxification" means a service provided in a 

hospital or other 24-hour care facility under the supervision of 

medical personnel using medication to systematically 

eliminate or reduce effects of alcohol or other drugs in the 

individual's body. 

"Medical evaluation" means the process of assessing an 

individual's health status that includes a medical history and a 

physical examination of an individual conducted by a licensed 

medical practitioner operating within the scope of his license. 

"Medication" means prescribed or over-the-counter drugs or 

both. 

"Medication administration" means the direct application of 

medications by injection, inhalation, ingestion, or any other 

means to an individual receiving services by (i) persons legally 

permitted to administer medications or (ii) the individual at the 

direction and in the presence of persons legally permitted to 

administer medications. 

"Medication assisted treatment (Opioid treatment service)" 

means an intervention strategy that combines outpatient 

treatment with the administering or dispensing of synthetic 

narcotics, such as methadone or buprenorphine (suboxone), 

approved by the federal Food and Drug Administration for the 

purpose of replacing the use of and reducing the craving for 

opioid substances, such as heroin or other narcotic drugs. 

"Medication error" means an error in administering a 

medication to an individual and includes when any of the 
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following occur: (i) the wrong medication is given to an 

individual, (ii) the wrong individual is given the medication, 

(iii) the wrong dosage is given to an individual, (iv) medication 

is given to an individual at the wrong time or not at all, or (v) 

the wrong method is used to give the medication to the 

individual. 

"Medication storage" means any area where medications are 

maintained by the provider, including a locked cabinet, locked 

room, or locked box. 

"Mental Health Community Support Service " or "MCHSS" 

means the provision of recovery-oriented services to 

individuals with long-term, severe mental illness. MHCSS 

includes skills training and assistance in accessing and 

effectively utilizing services and supports that are essential to 

meeting the needs identified in the individualized services plan 

and development of environmental supports necessary to 

sustain active community living as independently as possible. 

MHCSS may be provided in any setting in which the 

individual's needs can be addressed, skills training applied, and 

recovery experienced. 

"Mental health intensive outpatient service" means a 

structured program of skilled treatment focused on maintaining 

and improving functional abilities through a time-limited, 

interdisciplinary approach. This service is provided weekly 

over a period of time for individuals requiring more intensive 

services than an outpatient service can provide and may 

include individual, family, or group counseling or 

psychotherapy; skill development and psychoeducational 

activities; certified peer support services; medication 

management; and psychological assessment or testing. 

"Mental illness" means a disorder of thought, mood, emotion, 

perception, or orientation that significantly impairs judgment, 

behavior, capacity to recognize reality, or ability to address 

basic life necessities and requires care and treatment for the 

health, safety, or recovery of the individual or for the safety of 

others. 

"Missing" means a circumstance in which an individual is not 

physically present when and where he should be and his 

absence cannot be accounted for or explained by his 

supervision needs or pattern of behavior. 

"Neglect" means the failure by a person, or a program or 

facility operated, licensed, or funded by the department, 

excluding those operated by the Department of Corrections, 

responsible for providing services to do so, including 

nourishment, treatment, care, goods, or services necessary to 

the health, safety, or welfare of an individual receiving care or 

treatment for mental illness, developmental disabilities, or 

substance abuse. 

"Neurobehavioral services" means the assessment, 

evaluation, and treatment of cognitive, perceptual, behavioral, 

and other impairments caused by brain injury that affect an 

individual's ability to function successfully in the community. 

"Outpatient service" means treatment provided to individuals 

on an hourly schedule, on an individual, group, or family basis, 

and usually in a clinic or similar facility or in another location. 

Outpatient services may include diagnosis and evaluation, 

screening and intake, counseling, psychotherapy, behavior 

management, psychological testing and assessment, laboratory 

and other ancillary services, medical services, and medication 

services. "Outpatient service" specifically includes: 

1. Services operated by a community services board or a 

behavioral health authority established pursuant to Chapter 

5 (§ 37.2-500 et seq.) or Chapter 6 (§ 37.2-600 et seq.) of 

Title 37.2 of the Code of Virginia; 

2. Services contracted by a community services board or a 

behavioral health authority established pursuant to Chapter 

5 (§ 37.2-500 et seq.) or Chapter 6 (§ 37.2-600 et seq.) of 

Title 37.2 of the Code of Virginia; or 

3. Services that are owned, operated, or controlled by a 

corporation organized pursuant to the provisions of either 

Chapter 9 (§ 13.1-601 et seq.) or Chapter 10 (§ 13.1-801 et 

seq.) of Title 13.1 of the Code of Virginia. 

"Partial hospitalization service" means time-limited active 

treatment interventions that are more intensive than outpatient 

services, designed to stabilize and ameliorate acute symptoms, 

and serve as an alternative to inpatient hospitalization or to 

reduce the length of a hospital stay. Partial hospitalization is 

focused on individuals with serious mental illness, substance 

abuse (substance use disorders), or co-occurring disorders at 

risk of hospitalization or who have been recently discharged 

from an inpatient setting. 

"Person-centered" means focusing on the needs and 

preferences of the individual; empowering and supporting the 

individual in defining the direction for his life; and promoting 

self-determination, community involvement, and recovery. 

"Program of assertive community treatment service" or 

"PACT" means a self-contained interdisciplinary team of at 

least 10 full-time equivalent clinical staff, a program assistant, 

and a full-time or part-time psychiatrist that: 

1. Assumes responsibility for directly providing needed 

treatment, rehabilitation, and support services to identified 

individuals with severe and persistent mental illnesses, 

including those who have severe symptoms that are not 

effectively remedied by available treatments or who because 

of reasons related to their mental illness resist or avoid 

involvement with mental health services; 

2. Minimally refers individuals to outside service providers; 

3. Provides services on a long-term care basis with 

continuity of caregivers over time; 

4. Delivers 75% or more of the services outside program 

offices; and 
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5. Emphasizes outreach, relationship building, and 

individualization of services. 

"Provider" means any person, entity, or organization, 

excluding an agency of the federal government by whatever 

name or designation, that delivers (i) services to individuals 

with mental illness, developmental disabilities, or substance 

abuse (substance use disorders) or (ii) residential services for 

individuals with brain injury. The person, entity, or 

organization shall include a hospital as defined in § 32.1-123 

of the Code of Virginia, community services board, behavioral 

health authority, private provider, and any other similar or 

related person, entity, or organization. It shall not include any 

individual practitioner who holds a license issued by a health 

regulatory board of the Department of Health Professions or 

who is exempt from licensing pursuant to §§ 54.1-2901, 54.1-

3001, 54.1-3501, 54.1-3601, and 54.1-3701 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

"Psychosocial rehabilitation service" means a program of two 

or more consecutive hours per day provided to groups of adults 

in a nonresidential setting. Individuals must demonstrate a 

clinical need for the service arising from a condition due to 

mental, behavioral, or emotional illness that results in 

significant functional impairments in major life activities. This 

service provides education to teach the individual about mental 

illness, substance abuse, and appropriate medication to avoid 

complication and relapse and opportunities to learn and use 

independent skills and to enhance social and interpersonal 

skills within a consistent program structure and environment. 

Psychosocial rehabilitation includes skills training, peer 

support, vocational rehabilitation, and community resource 

development oriented toward empowerment, recovery, and 

competency. 

"Qualified developmental disability professional" or "QDDP" 

means a person who possesses at least one year of documented 

experience working directly with individuals who have a 

developmental disability and who possesses one of the 

following credentials: (i) a doctor of medicine or osteopathy 

licensed in Virginia, (ii) a registered nurse licensed in Virginia, 

(iii) a licensed occupational therapist, or (iv) completion of at 

least a bachelor's degree in a human services field, including 

sociology, social work, special education, rehabilitation 

counseling, or psychology. 

"Qualified mental health professional" or "QMHP" means a 

person who by education and experience is professionally 

qualified and registered by the Board of Counseling in 

accordance with 18VAC115-80 to provide collaborative 

mental health services for adults or children. A QMHP shall 

not engage in independent or autonomous practice. A QMHP 

shall provide such services as an employee or independent 

contractor of the department or a provider licensed by the 

department. 

"Qualified mental health professional-adult" or "QMHP-A" 

means a person who by education and experience is 

professionally qualified and registered with the Board of 

Counseling in accordance with 18VAC115-80 to provide 

collaborative mental health services for adults. A QMHP-A 

shall provide such services as an employee or independent 

contractor of the department or a provider licensed by the 

department. A QMHP-A may be an occupational therapist who 

by education and experience is professionally qualified and 

registered with the Board of Counseling in accordance with 

18VAC115-80. 

"Qualified mental health professional-child" or "QMHP-C" 

means a person who by education and experience is 

professionally qualified and registered with the Board of 

Counseling in accordance with 18VAC115-80 to provide 

collaborative mental health services for children. A QMHP-C 

shall provide such services as an employee or independent 

contractor of the department or a provider licensed by the 

department. A QMHP-C may be an occupational therapist who 

by education and experience is professionally qualified and 

registered with the Board of Counseling in accordance with 

18VAC115-80. 

"Qualified mental health professional-eligible" or "QMHP-E" 

means a person receiving supervised training in order to 

qualify as a QMHP in accordance with 18VAC115-80 and who 

is registered with the Board of Counseling. 

"Qualified paraprofessional in mental health" or "QPPMH" 

means a person who must meet at least one of the following 

criteria: (i) registered with the United States Psychiatric 

Association (USPRA) as an Associate Psychiatric 

Rehabilitation Provider (APRP); (ii) has an associate's degree 

in a related field (social work, psychology, psychiatric 

rehabilitation, sociology, counseling, vocational rehabilitation, 

human services counseling) and at least one year of experience 

providing direct services to individuals with a diagnosis of 

mental illness; (iii) licensed as an occupational therapy 

assistant, and supervised by a licensed occupational therapist, 

with at least one year of experience providing direct services 

to individuals with a diagnosis of mental illness; or (iv) has a 

minimum of 90 hours classroom training and 12 weeks of 

experience under the direct personal supervision of a QMHP-

A providing services to individuals with mental illness and at 

least one year of experience (including the 12 weeks of 

supervised experience). 

"Quality improvement plan" means a detailed work plan 

developed by a provider that defines steps the provider will 

take to review the quality of services it provides and to manage 

initiatives to improve quality. A quality improvement plan 

consists of systematic and continuous actions that lead to 

measurable improvement in the services, supports, and health 

status of the individuals receiving services. 

"Recovery" means a journey of healing and transformation 

enabling an individual with a mental illness to live a 

meaningful life in a community of his choice while striving to 

achieve his full potential. For individuals with substance abuse 
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(substance use disorders), recovery is an incremental process 

leading to positive social change and a full return to biological, 

psychological, and social functioning. For individuals with a 

developmental disability, the concept of recovery does not 

apply in the sense that individuals with a developmental 

disability will need supports throughout their entire lives 

although these may change over time. With supports, 

individuals with a developmental disability are capable of 

living lives that are fulfilling and satisfying and that bring 

meaning to themselves and others whom they know. 

"Referral" means the process of directing an applicant or an 

individual to a provider or service that is designed to provide 

the assistance needed. 

"Residential crisis stabilization service" means (i) providing 

short-term, intensive treatment to nonhospitalized individuals 

who require multidisciplinary treatment in order to stabilize 

acute psychiatric symptoms and prevent admission to a 

psychiatric inpatient unit; (ii) providing normative 

environments with a high assurance of safety and security for 

crisis intervention; and (iii) mobilizing the resources of the 

community support system, family members, and others for 

ongoing rehabilitation and recovery. 

"Residential service" means providing 24-hour support in 

conjunction with care and treatment or a training program in a 

setting other than a hospital or training center. Residential 

services provide a range of living arrangements from highly 

structured and intensively supervised to relatively independent 

requiring a modest amount of staff support and monitoring. 

Residential services include residential treatment, group 

homes, supervised living, residential crisis stabilization, 

community gero-psychiatric residential, ICF/IID, sponsored 

residential homes, medical and social detoxification, 

neurobehavioral services, and substance abuse residential 

treatment for women and children. 

"Residential treatment service" means providing an intensive 

and highly structured mental health, substance abuse, or 

neurobehavioral service, or services for co-occurring disorders 

in a residential setting, other than an inpatient service. 

"Respite care service" means providing for a short-term, time-

limited period of care of an individual for the purpose of 

providing relief to the individual's family, guardian, or regular 

care giver. Persons providing respite care are recruited, trained, 

and supervised by a licensed provider. These services may be 

provided in a variety of settings including residential, day 

support, in-home, or a sponsored residential home. 

"Restraint" means the use of a mechanical device, 

medication, physical intervention, or hands-on hold to prevent 

an individual receiving services from moving his body to 

engage in a behavior that places him or others at imminent risk. 

There are three kinds of restraints: 

1. Mechanical restraint means the use of a mechanical device 

that cannot be removed by the individual to restrict the 

individual's freedom of movement or functioning of a limb 

or portion of an individual's body when that behavior places 

him or others at imminent risk. 

2. Pharmacological restraint means the use of a medication 

that is administered involuntarily for the emergency control 

of an individual's behavior when that individual's behavior 

places him or others at imminent risk and the administered 

medication is not a standard treatment for the individual's 

medical or psychiatric condition. 

3. Physical restraint, also referred to as manual hold, means 

the use of a physical intervention or hands-on hold to prevent 

an individual from moving his body when that individual's 

behavior places him or others at imminent risk. 

"Restraints for behavioral purposes" means using a physical 

hold, medication, or a mechanical device to control behavior 

or involuntary restrict the freedom of movement of an 

individual in an instance when all of the following conditions 

are met: (i) there is an emergency; (ii) nonphysical 

interventions are not viable; and (iii) safety issues require an 

immediate response. 

"Restraints for medical purposes" means using a physical 

hold, medication, or mechanical device to limit the mobility of 

an individual for medical, diagnostic, or surgical purposes, 

such as routine dental care or radiological procedures and 

related post-procedure care processes, when use of the restraint 

is not the accepted clinical practice for treating the individual's 

condition. 

"Restraints for protective purposes" means using a 

mechanical device to compensate for a physical or cognitive 

deficit when the individual does not have the option to remove 

the device. The device may limit an individual's movement, for 

example, bed rails or a gerichair, and prevent possible harm to 

the individual or it may create a passive barrier, such as a 

helmet to protect the individual. 

"Restriction" means anything that limits or prevents an 

individual from freely exercising his rights and privileges. 

"Risk management" means an integrated system-wide 

program to ensure the safety of individuals, employees, 

visitors, and others through identification, mitigation, early 

detection, monitoring, evaluation, and control of risks. 

"Root cause analysis" means a method of problem solving 

designed to identify the underlying causes of a problem. The 

focus of a root cause analysis is on systems, processes, and 

outcomes that require change to reduce the risk of harm. 

"Screening" means the process or procedure for determining 

whether the individual meets the minimum criteria for 

admission. 

"Seclusion" means the involuntary placement of an individual 

alone in an area secured by a door that is locked or held shut 
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by a staff person, by physically blocking the door, or by any 

other physical means so that the individual cannot leave it. 

"Serious incident" means any event or circumstance that 

causes or could cause harm to the health, safety, or well-being 

of an individual. The term "serious incident" includes death 

and serious injury. 

"Level I serious incident" means a serious incident that 

occurs or originates during the provision of a service or on 

the premises of the provider and does not meet the definition 

of a Level II or Level III serious incident. Level I serious 

incidents do not result in significant harm to individuals, but 

may include events that result in minor injuries that do not 

require medical attention or events that have the potential to 

cause serious injury, even when no injury occurs. "Level II 

serious incident" means a serious incident that occurs or 

originates during the provision of a service or on the 

premises of the provider that results in a significant harm or 

threat to the health and safety of an individual that does not 

meet the definition of a Level III serious incident. 

"Level II serious incident" includes a significant harm or 

threat to the health or safety of others caused by an 

individual. Level II serious incidents include: 

1. A serious injury; 

2. An individual who is or was missing; 

3. An emergency room visit; 

4. An unplanned psychiatric or unplanned medical 

hospital admission of an individual receiving services 

other than licensed emergency services, except that a 

psychiatric admission in accordance with the individual's 

Wellness Recovery Action Plan shall not constitute an 

unplanned admission for the purposes of this chapter; 

5. Choking incidents that require direct physical 

intervention by another person; 

6. Ingestion of any hazardous material; or 

7. A diagnosis of: 

a. A decubitus ulcer or an increase in severity of level of 

previously diagnosed decubitus ulcer; 

b. A bowel obstruction; or 

c. Aspiration pneumonia. 

"Level III serious incident" means a serious incident whether 

or not the incident occurs while in the provision of a service 

or on the provider's premises and results in: 

1. Any death of an individual; 

2. A sexual assault of an individual; or 

3. A suicide attempt by an individual admitted for 

services, other than licensed emergency services, that 

results in a hospital admission. 

"Serious injury" means any injury resulting in bodily hurt, 

damage, harm, or loss that requires medical attention by a 

licensed physician, doctor of osteopathic medicine, physician 

assistant, or nurse practitioner. 

"Service" means (i) planned individualized interventions 

intended to reduce or ameliorate mental illness, developmental 

disabilities, or substance abuse (substance use disorders) 

through care, treatment, training, habilitation, or other supports 

that are delivered by a provider to individuals with mental 

illness, developmental disabilities, or substance abuse 

(substance use disorders). Services include outpatient services, 

intensive in-home services, opioid treatment services, inpatient 

psychiatric hospitalization, community gero-psychiatric 

residential services, assertive community treatment and other 

clinical services; day support, day treatment, partial 

hospitalization, psychosocial rehabilitation, and habilitation 

services; case management services; and supportive 

residential, special school, halfway house, in-home services, 

crisis stabilization, and other residential services; and (ii) 

planned individualized interventions intended to reduce or 

ameliorate the effects of brain injury through care, treatment, 

or other supports provided in residential services for persons 

with brain injury. 

"Shall" means an obligation to act is imposed. 

"Shall not" means an obligation not to act is imposed. 

"Skills training" means systematic skill building through 

curriculum-based psychoeducational and cognitive-behavioral 

interventions. These interventions break down complex 

objectives for role performance into simpler components, 

including basic cognitive skills such as attention, to facilitate 

learning and competency. 

"Social detoxification service" means providing nonmedical 

supervised care for the individual's natural process of 

withdrawal from use of alcohol or other drugs. 

"Sponsored residential home" means a service where 

providers arrange for, supervise, and provide programmatic, 

financial, and service support to families or persons (sponsors) 

providing care or treatment in their own homes for individuals 

receiving services. 

"State board" means the State Board of Behavioral Health and 

Developmental Services. The board has statutory 

responsibility for adopting regulations that may be necessary 

to carry out the provisions of Title 37.2 of the Code of Virginia 

and other laws of the Commonwealth administered by the 

commissioner or the department. 

"State methadone authority" means the Virginia Department 

of Behavioral Health and Developmental Services that is 

authorized by the federal Center for Substance Abuse 

Treatment to exercise the responsibility and authority for 

governing the treatment of opiate addiction with an opioid 

drug. 

"Substance abuse (substance use disorders)" means the use of 

drugs enumerated in the Virginia Drug Control Act (§ 54.1-
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3400 et seq.) without a compelling medical reason or alcohol 

that (i) results in psychological or physiological dependence or 

danger to self or others as a function of continued and 

compulsive use or (ii) results in mental, emotional, or physical 

impairment that causes socially dysfunctional or socially 

disordering behavior; and (iii), because of such substance 

abuse, requires care and treatment for the health of the 

individual. This care and treatment may include counseling, 

rehabilitation, or medical or psychiatric care. 

"Substance abuse intensive outpatient service" means 

structured treatment provided in a concentrated manner for two 

or more consecutive hours per day to groups of individuals in 

a nonresidential setting. This service is provided over a period 

of time for individuals requiring to individuals who require 

more intensive services than is normally provided in an 

outpatient service can provide. Substance abuse intensive 

outpatient services include multiple group therapy sessions 

during the week, individual and family therapy, individual 

monitoring, and case management. but do not require inpatient 

services. Treatment consists primarily of counseling and 

education about addiction-related and mental health challenges 

delivered a minimum of nine to 19 hours of services per week 

for adults or six to 19 hours of services per week for children 

and adolescents. Within this level of care, an individual's needs 

for psychiatric and medical services are generally addressed 

through consultation and referrals. 

"Substance abuse residential treatment for women with 

children service" means a 24-hour residential service providing 

an intensive and highly structured substance abuse service for 

women with children who live in the same facility. 

"Suicide attempt" means a nonfatal, self-directed, potentially 

injurious behavior with an intent to die as a result of the 

behavior regardless of whether it results in injury. 

"Supervised living residential service" means the provision of 

significant direct supervision and community support services 

to individuals living in apartments or other residential settings. 

These services differ from supportive in-home service because 

the provider assumes responsibility for management of the 

physical environment of the residence, and staff supervision 

and monitoring are daily and available on a 24-hour basis. 

Services are provided based on the needs of the individual in 

areas such as food preparation, housekeeping, medication 

administration, personal hygiene, treatment, counseling, and 

budgeting. 

"Supportive in-home service" (formerly supportive 

residential) means the provision of community support 

services and other structured services to assist individuals, to 

strengthen individual skills, and that provide environmental 

supports necessary to attain and sustain independent 

community residential living. Services include drop-in or 

friendly-visitor support and counseling to more intensive 

support, monitoring, training, in-home support, respite care, 

and family support services. Services are based on the needs of 

the individual and include training and assistance. These 

services normally do not involve overnight care by the 

provider; however, due to the flexible nature of these services, 

overnight care may be provided on an occasional basis. 

"Systemic deficiency" means violations of regulations 

documented by the department that demonstrate multiple or 

repeat defects in the operation of one or more services. 

"Therapeutic day treatment for children and adolescents" 

means a treatment program that serves (i) children and 

adolescents from birth through 17 years of age and under 

certain circumstances up to 21 years of age with serious 

emotional disturbances, substance use, or co-occurring 

disorders or (ii) children from birth through seven years of age 

who are at risk of serious emotional disturbance, in order to 

combine psychotherapeutic interventions with education and 

mental health or substance abuse treatment. Services include: 

evaluation; medication education and management; 

opportunities to learn and use daily living skills and to enhance 

social and interpersonal skills; and individual, group, and 

family counseling. 

"Time out" means the involuntary removal of an individual 

by a staff person from a source of reinforcement to a different, 

open location for a specified period of time or until the problem 

behavior has subsided to discontinue or reduce the frequency 

of problematic behavior. 

"Volunteer" means a person who, without financial 

remuneration, provides services to individuals on behalf of the 

provider. 

12VAC35-105-30. Licenses. 

A. Licenses are issued to providers who offer services to 

individuals who have mental illness, a developmental 

disability, or substance abuse (substance use disorders) or have 

brain injury and are receiving residential services. 

B. Providers shall be licensed to provide specific services as 

defined in this chapter or as determined by the commissioner. 

These services include: 

1. Assertive community treatment (ACT); 

2. Case management; 

2. 3. ICF/IID; 

3. 4. Community intermediate care facility-MR; 

4. 5. Residential crisis stabilization; 

5. 6. Nonresidential crisis stabilization; 

6. 7. Day support; 

7. 8. Day treatment, includes therapeutic day treatment for 

children and adolescents; 

8. 9. Group home and community residential; 

9. 10. Inpatient psychiatric; 
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10. 11. Intensive community treatment (ICT); 

11. 12. Intensive in-home; 

12. 13. Managed withdrawal, including medical 

detoxification and social detoxification; 

13. 14. Mental health community support; 

15. Mental health intensive outpatient; 

14. 16. Opioid treatment/medication assisted treatment; 

15. 17. Emergency; 

16. 18. Outpatient; 

17. 19. Partial hospitalization; 

18. Program of assertive community treatment (PACT);  

19. 20. Psychosocial rehabilitation; 

20. 21. Residential treatment; 

21. 22. Respite care; 

22 .23. Sponsored residential home; 

23. 24. Substance abuse residential treatment for women 

with children; 

24. 25. Substance abuse intensive outpatient; 

25. 26. Supervised living residential; and 

26. 27. Supportive in-home. 

C. A license addendum shall describe the services licensed, 

the disabilities of individuals who may be served, the specific 

locations where services are to be provided or administered, 

and the terms and conditions for each service offered by a 

licensed provider. For residential and inpatient services, the 

license identifies the number of individuals each residential 

location may serve at a given time. 

Article 7 

Intensive Community Treatment and Program of Assertive 

Community Treatment Services 

12VAC35-105-1360. Admission and discharge criteria. 

A. Individuals must meet the following admission criteria: 

1. Diagnosis of a severe and persistent mental illness, 

predominantly schizophrenia, other psychotic disorder, or 

bipolar disorder that seriously impairs functioning in the 

community. Individuals with a sole diagnosis of substance 

addiction or abuse use disorder or developmental disability, 

personality disorder, or brain injury, are not eligible for 

services. 

2. Significant challenges to community integration without 

intensive community support including persistent or 

recurrent difficulty with one or more of the following: 

a. Performing practical daily living tasks; 

b. Maintaining employment at a self-sustaining level or 

consistently carrying out homemaker roles; or 

c. Maintaining a safe living situation. 

3. High service needs indicated due to one or more of the 

following: 

a. Residence in a state hospital or other psychiatric 

hospital but clinically assessed to be able to live in a more 

independent situation if intensive services were provided 

or anticipated to require extended hospitalization, if more 

intensive services are not available; 

b. Multiple admissions to or at least one recent long-term 

stay (30 days or more) in a state hospital or other acute 

psychiatric hospital inpatient setting within the past two 

years; or a recent history of more than four interventions 

by psychiatric emergency services per year; 

c. Persistent or very recurrent severe major symptoms 

(e.g., affective, psychotic, suicidal); 

d. Co-occurring substance addiction or abuse of 

significant duration (e.g., greater than six months); 

e. High risk or a recent history (within the past six months) 

of criminal justice involvement (e.g., arrest or 

incarceration); 

f. Ongoing difficulty meeting basic survival needs or 

residing in substandard housing, homeless, or at imminent 

risk of becoming homeless; or 

g. Inability to consistently participate in traditional office-

based services. 

B. Individuals receiving PACT ACT or ICT services should 

not be discharged for failure to comply with treatment plans or 

other expectations of the provider, except in certain 

circumstances as outlined. Individuals must meet at least one 

of the following criteria to be discharged: 

1. Change in the individual's residence to a location out of 

the service area; 

2. Death of the individual; 

3. Incarceration of the individual for a period to exceed a 

year or long-term hospitalization (more than one year); 

however, the provider is expected to prioritize these 

individuals for PACT ACT or ICT services upon the 

individual's anticipated return to the community if the 

individual wishes to return to services and the service level 

is appropriate to his needs; 

4. Choice of the individual with the provider responsible for 

revising the ISP to meet any concerns of the individual 

leading to the choice of discharge; or 

5. Significant sustained recovery by the individual in all 

major role areas with minimal team contact and support for 

at least two years as determined by both the individual and 

ICT or PACT ACT team. 
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12VAC35-105-1370. Treatment team and staffing plan. 

A. Services are delivered by interdisciplinary teams. 

1. PACT and ICT teams shall include the following 

positions: 

a. Team Leader leader - one full-time QMHP-A with at 

least three years of experience in the provision of mental 

health services to adults with serious mental illness. The 

team leader shall oversee all aspects of team operations 

and shall routinely provide direct services to individuals 

in the community. 

b. Nurses - PACT and ICT nurses shall be full-time 

employees or contractors with the following minimum 

qualifications: A registered nurse (RN) shall have one year 

of experience in the provision of mental health services to 

adults with serious mental illness. A licensed practical 

nurse (LPN) shall have three years of experience in the 

provision of mental health services to adults with serious 

mental illness. ICT teams shall have at least one qualified 

full-time nurse. PACT teams shall have at least three 

qualified full-time nurses at least one of whom shall be a 

qualified RN.  

c. One full-time vocational specialist and one full-time 

substance abuse specialist. These staff members shall 

provide direct services to individuals in their area of 

specialty and provide leadership to other team members to 

also assist individuals with their self-identified 

employment or substance abuse recovery goals. 

d. Peer ICT peer specialists - one or more full-time 

equivalent QPPMH or QMHP-A who is or has been a 

recipient of mental health services for severe and 

persistent mental illness. The peer specialist shall be a 

fully integrated team member who provides peer support 

directly to individuals and provides leadership to other 

team members in understanding and supporting 

individuals' recovery goals. 

e. Program assistant - one full-time person with skills and 

abilities in medical records management shall operate and 

coordinate the management information system, maintain 

accounts and budget records for individual and program 

expenditures, and provide receptionist activities. 

f. Psychiatrist - one physician who is board certified in 

psychiatry or who is board eligible in psychiatry and is 

licensed to practice medicine in Virginia. An equivalent 

ratio to 20 minutes (.008 FTE) of psychiatric time for each 

individual served must be maintained. The psychiatrist 

shall be a fully integrated team member who attends team 

meetings and actively participates in developing and 

implementing each individual ISP. 

2. QMHP-A and mental health professional standards for 

ICT teams: 

a. At least 80% of the clinical employees or contractors on 

an ICT team, not including the program assistant or 

psychiatrist, shall be QMHP-As qualified to provide the 

services described in 12VAC35-105-1410. 

b. Mental health professionals - At least half of the clinical 

employees or contractors on an ICT team, not including 

the team leader or nurses and including the peer specialist 

if that person holds such a degree, shall hold a master's 

degree in a human service field. 

3. Staffing capacity for ICT teams: 

a. An ICT team shall have at least five full-time equivalent 

clinical employees or contractors. A PACT team shall 

have at least 10 full-time equivalent clinical employees or 

contractors. 

b. ICT and PACT teams shall include a minimum number 

of employees (counting contractors but not counting the 

psychiatrist and program assistant) to maintain an 

employee to individual ratio of at least 1:10. 

c. ICT teams may serve no more than 80 individuals. 

PACT teams may serve no more than 120 individuals.  

d. A transition plan shall be required of PACT teams that 

will allow for "start-up" when newly forming teams are 

not in full compliance with the PACT model relative to 

staffing patterns and individuals receiving services 

capacity. 

4. ACT teams shall have sufficient staffing composition to 

meet the varying needs of individuals served by the team as 

required by this section. Each ACT team shall meet the 

following minimum position and staffing requirements:  

a. Team leader - one full-time LMHP with three years of 

experience in the provision of mental health services to 

adults with serious mental illness or one full-time 

registered QMHP-A with at least three years of experience 

in the provision of mental health services to adults with 

serious mental illness who was employed by the provider 

as a team leader prior to July 1, 2020. The team leader 

shall oversee all aspects of team operations and shall 

provide direct services to individuals in the community. 

b. Nurses - ACT nurses shall be full-time employees or 

contractors with the following minimum qualifications: a 

registered nurse shall have one year of experience in the 

provision of mental health services to adults with serious 

mental illness; or a licensed practical nurse shall have 

three years of experience in the provision of mental health 

services to adults with serious mental illness.  

(1) Small ACT teams shall have at least one full-time 

nurse, who shall be either an RN or an LPN; 

(2) Medium ACT teams shall have at least one full-time 

RN, and at least one additional full-time nurse who shall 

be an LPN or RN; and 

(3) Large ACT teams shall have at least one full-time RN 

and at least two additional full-time nurses who shall be 

LPNs or RNs.  
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c. Vocational specialist - one full-time vocational 

specialist, who shall be a registered QMHP with 

demonstrated expertise in vocational services through 

experience or education.  

d. Co-occurring disorder specialist - one full-time co-

occurring disorder specialist, who shall be a LMHP, 

registered QMHP, or certified substance abuse specialist 

(CSAC) with training or experience working with adults 

with co-occurring serious mental illness and substance use 

disorder. 

e. ACT peer specialists - one or more full-time equivalent 

peer recovery specialists who is or has been a recipient of 

mental health services for severe and persistent mental 

illness. The peer specialist shall be a certified peer 

recovery specialist (CPRS) or shall become certified in the 

first year of employment. The peer specialist shall be a 

fully integrated team member who provides peer support 

directly to individuals and provides leadership to other 

team members in understanding and supporting each 

individual's recovery goals.  

f. Program assistant - one full-time person with skills and 

abilities in medical records management shall operate and 

coordinate the management information system, maintain 

accounts and budget records for individual and program 

expenditures, and perform administrative support 

activities. 

g. Psychiatric care provider - one physician who is board 

certified in psychiatry or who is board eligible in 

psychiatry and is licensed to practice medicine in Virginia 

or a psychiatric nurse practitioner practicing within the 

scope of practice as defined in 18VAC90-30-120. An 

equivalent ratio of 16 hours of psychiatric time per 50 

individuals served must be maintained. The psychiatric 

care provider shall be a fully integrated team member who 

attends team meetings and actively participates in 

developing and implementing each individual ISP. 

h. Generalist clinical staff - additional clinical staff with 

the knowledge, skill, and ability required, based on the 

population and age of individuals being served, to carry 

out rehabilitation and support functions, at least 50% of 

whom shall be LMHPs, QMHP-As, QMHP-Es, or 

QPPMHs. 

(1) Small ACT teams shall have at least one generalist 

clinical staff; 

(2) Medium ACT teams shall have at least two generalist 

clinical staff; and 

(3) Large ACT teams shall have at least three generalist 

clinical staff. 

5. Staff to individual ratios for ACT Teams: 

a. Small ACT teams shall maintain a caseload of no more 

than 50 individuals and shall maintain at least one staff 

member per eight individuals, in addition to a psychiatric 

care provider and a program assistant. 

b. Medium ACT teams shall maintain a caseload of no 

more than 74 individuals and shall maintain at least one 

staff member per nine individuals, in addition to a 

psychiatric care provider and a program assistant. 

c. Large ACT teams shall maintain a caseload of no more 

than 120 individuals and shall maintain at least one staff 

member per nine individuals, in addition to a psychiatric 

care provider and a program assistant. 

B. ICT and PACT ACT teams shall meet daily Monday 

through Friday or at least four days per week to review and 

plan routine services and to address or prevent emergency and 

crisis situations. 

C. ICT teams shall operate a minimum of eight hours per day, 

five days per week and shall provide services on a case-by-case 

basis in the evenings and on weekends. PACT ACT teams shall 

be available to individuals 24 hours per day and shall operate 

a minimum of 12 hours each weekday and eight hours each 

weekend day and each holiday. 

D. The ICT or PACT ACT team shall make crisis services 

directly available 24 hours a day but may arrange coverage 

through another crisis services provider if the team coordinates 

with the crisis services provider daily. 

E. The PACT ACT team shall operate an after-hours on-call 

system and be available to individuals by telephone or in 

person have 24-hour responsibility for directly responding to 

psychiatric crises, including meeting the following criteria: 

1. The team shall be available to individuals in crisis 24 

hours per day, seven days per week, including in person 

when needed as determined by the team; 

2. The team shall be the first-line crisis evaluator and 

responder for individuals served by the team; and 

3. The team shall have access to the practical, individualized 

crisis plans developed to help them address crises for each 

individual receiving services. 

12VAC35-105-1380. Contacts. 

A. The ICT and PACT ACT team shall have the sufficient 

capacity to provide multiple contacts per week to individuals 

experiencing severe symptoms or significant problems in daily 

living, for an. The team shall provide a minimum aggregate 

average of three contacts per individual per week. A minimum 

aggregate average of two hours per individual per week shall 

be face to face. 

B. Each individual receiving ICT or PACT ACT services 

shall be seen face-to-face by an employee or contractor; or the 

employee or contractor should attempt to make contact as 

specified in the individual's ISP. Providers shall document all 

attempts to make contact, and if contact is not made, the 

reasons why contact was not made. 
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12VAC35-105-1390. ICT and PACT ACT service daily 

operation and progress notes. 

A. ICT teams and PACT ACT teams shall conduct daily 

organizational meetings Monday through Friday at a regularly 

scheduled time to review the status of all individuals and the 

outcome of the most recent employee or contractor contact, 

assign daily and weekly tasks to employees and contractors, 

revise treatment plans as needed, plan for emergency and crisis 

situations, and to add service contacts that are identified as 

needed. 

B. A daily log that provides a roster of individuals served in 

the ICT or PACT ACT services program and documentation of 

services provided and contacts made with them shall be 

maintained and utilized in the daily team meeting. There shall 

also be at least a weekly individual progress note documenting 

services provided in accordance with the ISP or attempts to 

engage the individual in services. 

12VAC35-105-1410. Service requirements. 

Providers ICT and ACT shall document that the following 

services are provided consistent with the individual's 

assessment and ISP. 

1. Ongoing assessment to ascertain the needs, strengths, and 

preferences of the individual; 

2. Case management; 

3. Nursing; 

4. Support for wellness self-management, including the 

development and implementation of individual recovery 

plans, symptom assessment, and recovery education; 

5. Psychopharmacological treatment, administration, and 

monitoring; 

6. Substance abuse assessment and treatment for individuals 

with a co-occurring diagnosis of mental illness and 

substance abuse Co-occurring diagnosis substance use 

disorder services that are nonconfrontational, trauma 

informed, person-centered, consider interactions of mental 

illness and substance use, and have goals determined by the 

individual; 

7. Individual supportive therapy Empirically supported 

interventions and psychotherapy; 

8. Skills training in activities of daily living, social skills, 

interpersonal relationships, and leisure time Psychiatric 

rehabilitation, which may include skill-building, coaching, 

and access to necessary resources to help individuals with 

personal care, safety skills, money management, grocery 

shopping, cooking, food safety and storage, purchasing and 

caring for clothing, household maintenance and cleaning 

skills, social skills, and use of transportation and other 

community resources; 

9. Supportive in-home services; 10. Work-related services to 

help find and maintain employment; that follow evidence-

based supported employment principles, such as direct 

assistance with job development, locating preferred jobs, 

assisting the individual through the application process, and 

communicating with employers; 

11. 10. Support for resuming education; 

12. 11. Support, education, consultation, and skill-teaching 

to family members, and significant others, and broader 

natural support systems, which shall be directed exclusively 

to the well-being and benefit of the individual; 

13. 12. Collaboration with families and assistance to 

individuals with children; 

13. Assistance in obtaining and maintaining safe, decent, and 

affordable housing that follows the individual's preferences 

in level of independence and location, consistent with an 

evidence-based supportive housing model; 

14. Direct support to help individuals secure and maintain 

decent, affordable housing that is integrated into the broader 

community and to obtain legal and advocacy services, 

financial support, money-management services, medical and 

dental services, transportation, and natural supports in the 

community; and 

15. Mobile crisis assessment, interventions to prevent or 

resolve potential crises, and admission to and discharge from 

psychiatric hospitals; 

16. Assistance in developing and maintaining natural 

supports and social relationships; 

17. Medication education, assistance, and support; and 

18. Peer support services, such as coaching, mentoring, 

assistance with self-advocacy and self-direction, and 

modeling recovery practices. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R21-6076; Filed January 8, 2021, 1:30 p.m. 

Emergency Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 12VAC35-105. Rules and Regulations 

for Licensing Providers by the Department of Behavioral 

Health and Developmental Services (amending 12VAC35-

105-20, 12VAC35-105-30, 12VAC35-105-925, 12VAC35-

105-930, 12VAC35-105-960, 12VAC35-105-1000, 

12VAC35-105-1110; adding 12VAC35-105-1420 through 

12VAC35-105-1860). 

Statutory Authority: §§ 37.2-302 and 37.2-400 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

Effective Dates: February 20, 2021, through August 19, 2022. 

Agency Contact: Ruth Anne Walker, Director of Regulatory 

Affairs, Department of Behavioral Health and Developmental 

Services, Jefferson Building, 1220 Bank Street, 4th Floor, 

Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 225-2252, FAX (804) 
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371-4609, TDD (804) 371-8977, or email 

ruthanne.walker@dbhds.virginia.gov. 

Preamble: 

Section 2.2-4011 B of the Code of Virginia states that 

agencies may adopt emergency regulations in situations in 

which Virginia statutory law or the appropriation act or 

federal law or federal regulation requires that a regulation 

be effective in 280 days or less from its enactment, and the 

regulation is not exempt under the provisions of § 2.2-4006 

A 4 of the Code of Virginia. 

Pursuant to Item 318 of Chapter 1289 of the 2020 Acts of 

Assembly (Appropriation Act of 2020), the amendments 

align Virginia provider licensing regulations with the 

American Society of Addiction Medicine (ASAM) Levels of 

Care Criteria or an equivalent set of criteria to ensure the 

provision of outcome-oriented and strengths-based care in 

the treatment of addiction to ensure individualized, 

clinically driven, participant-directed, and outcome-

informed treatment. 

12VAC35-105-20. Definitions. 

The following words and terms when used in this chapter 

shall have the following meanings unless the context clearly 

indicates otherwise: 

"Abuse" means any act or failure to act by an employee or 

other person responsible for the care of an individual in a 

facility or program operated, licensed, or funded by the 

department, excluding those operated by the Virginia 

Department of Corrections, that was performed or was failed 

to be performed knowingly, recklessly, or intentionally, and 

that caused or might have caused physical or psychological 

harm, injury, or death to an individual receiving care or 

treatment for mental illness, developmental disabilities, or 

substance abuse. Examples of abuse include acts such as: 

1. Rape, sexual assault, or other criminal sexual behavior; 

2. Assault or battery; 

3. Use of language that demeans, threatens, intimidates, or 

humiliates the individual; 

4. Misuse or misappropriation of the individual's assets, 

goods, or property; 

5. Use of excessive force when placing an individual in 

physical or mechanical restraint; 

6. Use of physical or mechanical restraints on an individual 

that is not in compliance with federal and state laws, 

regulations, and policies, professional accepted standards of 

practice, or his individualized services plan; or 

7. Use of more restrictive or intensive services or denial of 

services to punish an individual or that is not consistent with 

his individualized services plan. 

"Activities of daily living" or "ADLs" means personal care 

activities and includes bathing, dressing, transferring, toileting, 

grooming, hygiene, feeding, and eating. An individual's degree 

of independence in performing these activities is part of 

determining the appropriate level of care and services. 

"Admission" means the process of acceptance into a service 

as defined by the provider's policies. 

"Allied health professional" means a professional who is 

involved with the delivery of health or related services 

pertaining to the identification, evaluation, and prevention of 

diseases and disorders, such as a certified substance abuse 

counselor, certified substance abuse counseling assistant, peer 

recovery support specialist, certified nurse aide, or 

occupational therapist.  

"ASAM" means the American Society of Addiction 

Medicine. 

"Authorized representative" means a person permitted by law 

or 12VAC35-115 to authorize the disclosure of information or 

consent to treatment and services or participation in human 

research. 

"Behavior intervention" means those principles and methods 

employed by a provider to help an individual receiving services 

to achieve a positive outcome and to address challenging 

behavior in a constructive and safe manner. Behavior 

intervention principles and methods shall be employed in 

accordance with the individualized services plan and written 

policies and procedures governing service expectations, 

treatment goals, safety, and security. 

"Behavioral treatment plan," "functional plan," or "behavioral 

support plan" means any set of documented procedures that are 

an integral part of the individualized services plan and are 

developed on the basis of a systematic data collection, such as 

a functional assessment, for the purpose of assisting 

individuals to achieve the following: 

1. Improved behavioral functioning and effectiveness; 

2. Alleviation of symptoms of psychopathology; or 

3. Reduction of challenging behaviors. 

"Brain injury" means any injury to the brain that occurs after 

birth, but before age 65, that is acquired through traumatic or 

nontraumatic insults. Nontraumatic insults may include 

anoxia, hypoxia, aneurysm, toxic exposure, encephalopathy, 

surgical interventions, tumor, and stroke. Brain injury does not 

include hereditary, congenital, or degenerative brain disorders 

or injuries induced by birth trauma. 

"Care," "treatment," or "support" means the individually 

planned therapeutic interventions that conform to current 

acceptable professional practice and that are intended to 

improve or maintain functioning of an individual receiving 

services delivered by a provider. 
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"Case management service" or "support coordination service" 

means services that can include assistance to individuals and 

their family members in accessing needed services that are 

responsive to the individual's needs. Case management 

services include identifying potential users of the service; 

assessing needs and planning services; linking the individual 

to services and supports; assisting the individual directly to 

locate, develop, or obtain needed services and resources; 

coordinating services with other providers; enhancing 

community integration; making collateral contacts; monitoring 

service delivery; discharge planning; and advocating for 

individuals in response to their changing needs. "Case 

management service" does not include assistance in which the 

only function is maintaining service waiting lists or 

periodically contacting or tracking individuals to determine 

potential service needs. 

"Clinical experience" means providing direct services to 

individuals with mental illness or the provision of direct 

geriatric services or special education services. Experience 

may include supervised internships, practicums, and field 

experience. 

"Clinically managed high-intensity residential care" means a 

substance use treatment program that offers 24-hour 

supportive treatment of individuals with significant 

psychological and social problems by credentialed addiction 

treatment professionals in an interdisciplinary treatment 

approach. A clinically managed high-intensity residential care 

program provides treatment to individuals who present with 

significant challenges, such as physical, sexual, or emotional 

trauma; past criminal or antisocial behaviors, with a risk of 

continued criminal behavior; an extensive history of treatment; 

inadequate anger management skills; extreme impulsivity; and 

antisocial value system.  

"Clinically managed low-intensity residential care" means 

providing an ongoing therapeutic environment for individuals 

requiring some structured support in which treatment is 

directed toward applying recovery skills; preventing relapse; 

improving emotional functioning; promoting personal 

responsibility; reintegrating the individual into work, 

education, and family environments; and strengthening and 

developing adaptive skills that may not have been achieved or 

have been diminished during the individual's active addiction. 

A clinically managed low-intensity residential care program 

also provides treatment for individuals suffering from chronic, 

long-term alcoholism or drug addiction and affords an 

extended period of time to establish sound recovery and a solid 

support system. 

"Commissioner" means the Commissioner of the Department 

of Behavioral Health and Developmental Services. 

"Community gero-psychiatric residential services" means 24-

hour care provided to individuals with mental illness, 

behavioral problems, and concomitant health problems who 

are usually age 65 or older in a geriatric setting that is less 

intensive than a psychiatric hospital but more intensive than a 

nursing home or group home. Services include assessment and 

individualized services planning by an interdisciplinary 

services team, intense supervision, psychiatric care, behavioral 

treatment planning and behavior interventions, nursing, and 

other health related services. 

"Complaint" means an allegation of a violation of this chapter 

or a provider's policies and procedures related to this chapter. 

"Co-occurring disorders" means the presence of more than 

one and often several of the following disorders that are 

identified independently of one another and are not simply a 

cluster of symptoms resulting from a single disorder: mental 

illness, a developmental disability, substance abuse (substance 

use disorders), or brain injury. 

"Co-occurring services" means individually planned 

therapeutic treatment that addresses in an integrated concurrent 

manner the service needs of individuals who have co-occurring 

disorders. 

"Corrective action plan" means the provider's pledged 

corrective action in response to cited areas of noncompliance 

documented by the regulatory authority. 

"Correctional facility" means a facility operated under the 

management and control of the Virginia Department of 

Corrections. 

"Credentialed addiction treatment professional" means a 

person who possesses one of the following credentials issued 

by the appropriate health regulatory board: (i) an addiction-

credentialed physician or physician with experience or training 

in addiction medicine; (ii) a licensed nurse practitioner or a 

licensed physician assistant with experience or training in 

addiction medicine; (iii) a licensed psychiatrist; (iv) a licensed 

clinical psychologist; (v) a licensed clinical social worker; (vi) 

a licensed professional counselor; (vii) a licensed psychiatric 

clinical nurse specialist; (viii) a licensed psychiatric nurse 

practitioner; (ix) a licensed marriage and family therapist; (x) 

a licensed substance abuse treatment practitioner; (xi) a 

resident who is under the supervision of a licensed professional 

counselor (18VAC115-20-10), licensed marriage and family 

therapist (18VAC115-50-10), or licensed substance abuse 

treatment practitioner (18VAC115-60-10) and is registered 

with the Virginia Board of Counseling; (xii) a resident in 

psychology who is under supervision of a licensed clinical 

psychologist and is registered with the Virginia Board of 

Psychology (18VAC125-20-10); or (xiii) a supervisee in social 

work who is under the supervision of a licensed clinical social 

worker and is registered with the Virginia Board of Social 

Work (18VAC140-20-10). 

"Crisis" means a deteriorating or unstable situation often 

developing suddenly or rapidly that produces acute, 

heightened, emotional, mental, physical, medical, or 

behavioral distress. 
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"Crisis stabilization" means direct, intensive nonresidential or 

residential direct care and treatment to nonhospitalized 

individuals experiencing an acute crisis that may jeopardize 

their current community living situation. Crisis stabilization is 

intended to avert hospitalization or rehospitalization; provide 

normative environments with a high assurance of safety and 

security for crisis intervention; stabilize individuals in crisis; 

and mobilize the resources of the community support system, 

family members, and others for ongoing rehabilitation and 

recovery. 

"Day support service" means structured programs of training, 

assistance, and specialized supervision in the acquisition, 

retention, or improvement of self-help, socialization, and 

adaptive skills for adults with a developmental disability 

provided to groups or individuals in nonresidential 

community-based settings. Day support services may provide 

opportunities for peer interaction and community integration 

and are designed to enhance the following: self-care and 

hygiene, eating, toileting, task learning, community resource 

utilization, environmental and behavioral skills, social skills, 

medication management, prevocational skills, and 

transportation skills. The term "day support service" does not 

include services in which the primary function is to provide 

employment-related services, general educational services, or 

general recreational services. 

"Department" means the Virginia Department of Behavioral 

Health and Developmental Services. 

"Developmental disability" means a severe, chronic disability 

of an individual that (i) is attributable to a mental or physical 

impairment or a combination of mental and physical 

impairments other than a sole diagnosis of mental illness; (ii) 

is manifested before the individual reaches 22 years of age; (iii) 

is likely to continue indefinitely; (iv) results in substantial 

functional limitations in three or more of the following areas 

of major life activity: self-care, receptive and expressive 

language, learning, mobility, self-direction, capacity for 

independent living, or economic self-sufficiency; and (v) 

reflects the individual's need for a combination and sequence 

of special interdisciplinary or generic services, individualized 

supports, or other forms of assistance that are of lifelong or 

extended duration and are individually planned and 

coordinated. An individual from birth to nine years of age, 

inclusive, who has a substantial developmental delay or 

specific congenital or acquired condition may be considered to 

have a developmental disability without meeting three or more 

of the criteria described in clauses (i) through (v) if the 

individual without services and supports has a high probability 

of meeting those criteria later in life. 

"Developmental services" means planned, individualized, 

and person-centered services and supports provided to 

individuals with developmental disabilities for the purpose of 

enabling these individuals to increase their self-determination 

and independence, obtain employment, participate fully in all 

aspects of community life, advocate for themselves, and 

achieve their fullest potential to the greatest extent possible. 

"Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders" or 

"DSM" means the Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental 

Disorders, 5th Edition, DSM-5, of the American Psychiatric 

Association. 

"Direct care position" means any position that includes 

responsibility for (i) treatment, case management, health, 

safety, development, or well-being of an individual receiving 

services or (ii) immediately supervising a person in a position 

with this responsibility. 

"Discharge" means the process by which the individual's 

active involvement with a service is terminated by the 

provider, individual, or authorized representative. 

"Discharge plan" means the written plan that establishes the 

criteria for an individual's discharge from a service and 

identifies and coordinates delivery of any services needed after 

discharge. 

"Dispense" means to deliver a drug to an ultimate user by or 

pursuant to the lawful order of a practitioner, including the 

prescribing and administering, packaging, labeling, or 

compounding necessary to prepare the substance for that 

delivery (§ 54.1-3400 et seq. of the Code of Virginia). 

"Emergency service" means unscheduled and sometimes 

scheduled crisis intervention, stabilization, and referral 

assistance provided over the telephone or face-to-face, if 

indicated, available 24 hours a day and seven days per week. 

Emergency services also may include walk-ins, home visits, 

jail interventions, and preadmission screening activities 

associated with the judicial process. 

"Group home or community residential service" means a 

congregate service providing 24-hour supervision in a 

community-based home having eight or fewer residents. 

Services include supervision, supports, counseling, and 

training in activities of daily living for individuals whose 

individualized services plan identifies the need for the specific 

types of services available in this setting. 

"HCBS Waiver" means a Medicaid Home and Community 

Based Services Waiver. 

"Home and noncenter based" means that a service is provided 

in the individual's home or other noncenter-based setting. This 

includes noncenter-based day support, supportive in-home, 

and intensive in-home services. 

"Individual" or "individual receiving services" means a 

current direct recipient of public or private mental health, 

developmental, or substance abuse treatment, rehabilitation, or 

habilitation services and includes the terms "consumer," 

"patient," "resident," "recipient," or "client". When the term is 

used in this chapter, the requirement applies to every individual 

receiving licensed services from the provider. 
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"Individualized services plan" or "ISP" means a 

comprehensive and regularly updated written plan that 

describes the individual's needs, the measurable goals and 

objectives to address those needs, and strategies to reach the 

individual's goals. An ISP is person-centered, empowers the 

individual, and is designed to meet the needs and preferences 

of the individual. The ISP is developed through a partnership 

between the individual and the provider and includes an 

individual's treatment plan, habilitation plan, person-centered 

plan, or plan of care, which are all considered individualized 

service plans. 

"Informed choice" means a decision made after considering 

options based on adequate and accurate information and 

knowledge. These options are developed through collaboration 

with the individual and his authorized representative, as 

applicable, and the provider with the intent of empowering the 

individual and his authorized representative to make decisions 

that will lead to positive service outcomes. 

"Informed consent" means the voluntary written agreement of 

an individual, or that individual's authorized representative, to 

surgery, electroconvulsive treatment, use of psychotropic 

medications, or any other treatment or service that poses a risk 

of harm greater than that ordinarily encountered in daily life or 

for participation in human research. To be voluntary, informed 

consent must be given freely and without undue inducement; 

any element of force, fraud, deceit, or duress; or any form of 

constraint or coercion. 

"Initial assessment" means an assessment conducted prior to 

or at admission to determine whether the individual meets the 

service's admission criteria; what the individual's immediate 

service, health, and safety needs are; and whether the provider 

has the capability and staffing to provide the needed services. 

"Inpatient psychiatric service" means intensive 24-hour 

medical, nursing, and treatment services provided to 

individuals with mental illness or substance abuse (substance 

use disorders) in a hospital as defined in § 32.1-123 of the Code 

of Virginia or in a special unit of such a hospital. 

"Instrumental activities of daily living" or "IADLs" means 

meal preparation, housekeeping, laundry, and managing 

money. A person's degree of independence in performing these 

activities is part of determining appropriate level of care and 

services. 

"Intellectual disability" means a disability originating before 

18 years of age, characterized concurrently by (i) significant 

subaverage intellectual functioning as demonstrated by 

performance on a standardized measure of intellectual 

functioning administered in conformity with accepted 

professional practice that is at least two standard deviations 

below the mean and (ii) significant limitations in adaptive 

behavior as expressed in conceptual, social, and practical 

adaptive skills. 

"Intensity of service" means the number, type, and frequency 

of staff interventions and other services provided during 

treatment at a particular level of care. 

"Intensive community treatment service" or "ICT" means a 

self-contained interdisciplinary team of at least five full-time 

equivalent clinical staff, a program assistant, and a full-time 

psychiatrist that: 

1. Assumes responsibility for directly providing needed 

treatment, rehabilitation, and support services to identified 

individuals with severe and persistent mental illness, 

especially those who have severe symptoms that are not 

effectively remedied by available treatments or who because 

of reasons related to their mental illness resist or avoid 

involvement with mental health services; 

2. Minimally refers individuals to outside service providers; 

3. Provides services on a long-term care basis with 

continuity of caregivers over time; 

4. Delivers 75% or more of the services outside program 

offices; and 

5. Emphasizes outreach, relationship building, and 

individualization of services. 

"Intensive in-home service" means family preservation 

interventions for children and adolescents who have or are at-

risk of serious emotional disturbance, including individuals 

who also have a diagnosis of developmental disability. 

Intensive in-home service is usually time-limited and is 

provided typically in the residence of an individual who is at 

risk of being moved to out-of-home placement or who is being 

transitioned back home from an out-of-home placement. The 

service includes 24-hour per day emergency response; crisis 

treatment; individual and family counseling; life, parenting, 

and communication skills; and case management and 

coordination with other services. 

"Intermediate care facility/individuals with intellectual 

disability" or "ICF/IID" means a facility or distinct part of a 

facility certified by the Virginia Department of Health as 

meeting the federal certification regulations for an 

intermediate care facility for individuals with intellectual 

disability and persons with related conditions and that 

addresses the total needs of the residents, which include 

physical, intellectual, social, emotional, and habilitation, 

providing active treatment as defined in 42 CFR 435.1010 and 

42 CFR 483.440. 

"Investigation" means a detailed inquiry or systematic 

examination of the operations of a provider or its services 

regarding an alleged violation of regulations or law. An 

investigation may be undertaken as a result of a complaint, an 

incident report, or other information that comes to the attention 

of the department. 
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"Licensed mental health professional" or "LMHP" means a 

physician, licensed clinical psychologist, licensed professional 

counselor, licensed clinical social worker, licensed substance 

abuse treatment practitioner, licensed marriage and family 

therapist, certified psychiatric clinical nurse specialist, licensed 

behavior analyst, or licensed psychiatric/mental health nurse 

practitioner. 

"Location" means a place where services are or could be 

provided. 

"Medically managed withdrawal services" means 

detoxification services to eliminate or reduce the effects of 

alcohol or other drugs in the individual's body. 

"Medically managed intensive inpatient service" means an 

organized service delivered in an inpatient setting, including 

an acute care general hospital, psychiatric unit in a general 

hospital, or a freestanding psychiatric hospital. This service is 

appropriate for individuals whose acute biomedical and 

emotional, behavioral, and cognitive problems are so severe 

that they require primary medical and nursing care. Services at 

this level of care are managed by a physician who is 

responsible for diagnosis, treatment, and treatment plan 

decisions in collaboration with the individual. 

"Medically monitored intensive inpatient treatment" means a 

substance use treatment program that provides 24-hour care in 

a facility under the supervision of medical personnel. The care 

provided shall include directed evaluation, observation, 

medical monitoring, and addiction treatment in an inpatient 

setting. The care provided may include the use of medication 

to address the effects of substance use. This service is 

appropriate for an individual whose subacute biomedical, 

emotional, behavioral, or cognitive problems are so severe that 

they require inpatient treatment but who does not need the full 

resources of an acute care general hospital or a medically 

managed intensive inpatient treatment program. 

"Mandatory outpatient treatment order" means an order 

issued by a court pursuant to § 37.2-817 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

"Medical detoxification" means a service provided in a 

hospital or other 24-hour care facility under the supervision of 

medical personnel using medication to systematically 

eliminate or reduce effects of alcohol or other drugs in the 

individual's body. 

"Medical evaluation" means the process of assessing an 

individual's health status that includes a medical history and a 

physical examination of an individual conducted by a licensed 

medical practitioner operating within the scope of his license. 

"Medication" means prescribed or over-the-counter drugs or 

both. 

"Medication administration" means the direct application of 

medications by injection, inhalation, ingestion, or any other 

means to an individual receiving services by (i) persons legally 

permitted to administer medications or (ii) the individual at the 

direction and in the presence of persons legally permitted to 

administer medications. 

"Medication assisted opioid treatment (Opioid treatment 

service)" means an intervention strategy that combines 

outpatient treatment with the administering or dispensing of 

synthetic narcotics, such as methadone or buprenorphine 

(suboxone), approved by the federal Food and Drug 

Administration for the purpose of replacing the use of and 

reducing the craving for opioid substances, such as heroin or 

other narcotic drugs. 

"Medication assisted treatment" or "MAT" means the use of 

FDA-approved medications in combination with counseling 

and behavioral therapies to provide treatment of substance use 

disorders. Medication assisted treatment includes medication 

assisted opioid treatment. 

"Medication error" means an error in administering a 

medication to an individual and includes when any of the 

following occur: (i) the wrong medication is given to an 

individual, (ii) the wrong individual is given the medication, 

(iii) the wrong dosage is given to an individual, (iv) medication 

is given to an individual at the wrong time or not at all, or (v) 

the wrong method is used to give the medication to the 

individual. 

"Medication storage" means any area where medications are 

maintained by the provider, including a locked cabinet, locked 

room, or locked box. 

"Mental Health Community Support Service" or "MCHSS" 

means the provision of recovery-oriented services to 

individuals with long-term, severe mental illness. MHCSS 

includes skills training and assistance in accessing and 

effectively utilizing services and supports that are essential to 

meeting the needs identified in the individualized services plan 

and development of environmental supports necessary to 

sustain active community living as independently as possible. 

MHCSS may be provided in any setting in which the 

individual's needs can be addressed, skills training applied, and 

recovery experienced. 

"Mental health intensive outpatient service" means a 

structured program of skilled treatment services focused on 

maintaining and improving functional abilities through a time-

limited, interdisciplinary approach to treatment. This service is 

provided over a period of time for individuals requiring more 

intensive services than an outpatient service can provide and 

may include individual, family, or group counseling or 

psychotherapy; skill development and psychoeducational 

activities; certified peer support services; medication 

management; and psychological assessment or testing. 

"Mental health outpatient service" means treatment provided 

to individuals on an hourly schedule, on an individual, group, 

or family basis, and usually in a clinic or similar facility or in 

another location. Mental health outpatient services may 



Regulations 

Volume 37, Issue 12  Virginia Register of Regulations  February 1, 2021 

1253 

include diagnosis and evaluation, screening and intake, 

counseling, psychotherapy, behavior management, 

psychological testing and assessment, laboratory, and other 

ancillary services, medical services, and medication services. 

Mental health outpatient service specifically includes:  

1. Mental health services operated by a community services 

board or a behavioral health authority established pursuant 

to Chapter 5 (§ 37.2-500 et seq.) or Chapter 6 (§ 37.2-600 et 

seq.) of Title 37.2 of the Code of Virginia;  

2. Mental health services contracted by a community 

services board or a behavioral health authority established 

pursuant to Chapter 5 (§ 37.2-500 et seq.) or Chapter 6 

(§ 37.2-600 et seq.) of Title 37.2 of the Code of Virginia; or 

3. Mental health services that are owned, operated, or 

controlled by a corporation organized pursuant to the 

provisions of either Chapter 9 (§ 13.1-601 et seq.) or Chapter 

10 (§ 13.1-801 et seq.) of Title 13.1 of the Code of Virginia.  

"Mental health partial hospitalization service" means time-

limited active treatment interventions that are more intensive 

than outpatient services, designed to stabilize and ameliorate 

acute symptoms, and serve as an alternative to inpatient 

hospitalization or to reduce the length of a hospital stay. Partial 

hospitalization is provided through a minimum of 20 hours per 

week of skilled treatment services focused on individuals who 

require intensive, highly coordinated, structured, and inter-

disciplinary ambulatory treatment within a stable environment 

that is of greater intensity than intensive outpatient, but of 

lesser intensity than inpatient. 

"Mental illness" means a disorder of thought, mood, emotion, 

perception, or orientation that significantly impairs judgment, 

behavior, capacity to recognize reality, or ability to address 

basic life necessities and requires care and treatment for the 

health, safety, or recovery of the individual or for the safety of 

others. 

"Missing" means a circumstance in which an individual is not 

physically present when and where he should be and his 

absence cannot be accounted for or explained by his 

supervision needs or pattern of behavior. 

"Motivational enhancement" means a person-centered 

approach that is collaborative, employs strategies to strengthen 

motivation for change, increases engagement in substance use 

services, resolves ambivalence about changing substance use 

behaviors, and supports individuals to set goals to change their 

substance use. 

"Neglect" means the failure by a person, or a program or 

facility operated, licensed, or funded by the department, 

excluding those operated by the Department of Corrections, 

responsible for providing services to do so, including 

nourishment, treatment, care, goods, or services necessary to 

the health, safety, or welfare of an individual receiving care or 

treatment for mental illness, developmental disabilities, or 

substance abuse. 

"Neurobehavioral services" means the assessment, 

evaluation, and treatment of cognitive, perceptual, behavioral, 

and other impairments caused by brain injury that affect an 

individual's ability to function successfully in the community. 

"Outpatient service" means treatment provided to individuals 

on an hourly schedule, on an individual, group, or family basis, 

and usually in a clinic or similar facility or in another location. 

Outpatient services may include diagnosis and evaluation, 

screening and intake, counseling, psychotherapy, behavior 

management, psychological testing and assessment, laboratory 

and other ancillary services, medical services, and medication 

services. "Outpatient service" specifically includes:  

1. Services operated by a community services board or a 

behavioral health authority established pursuant to Chapter 

5 (§ 37.2-500 et seq.) or Chapter 6 (§ 37.2-600 et seq.) of 

Title 37.2 of the Code of Virginia;  

2. Services contracted by a community services board or a 

behavioral health authority established pursuant to Chapter 

5 (§ 37.2-500 et seq.) or Chapter 6 (§ 37.2-600 et seq.) of 

Title 37.2 of the Code of Virginia; or  

3. Services that are owned, operated, or controlled by a 

corporation organized pursuant to the provisions of either 

Chapter 9 (§ 13.1-601 et seq.) or Chapter 10 (§ 13.1-801 et 

seq.) of Title 13.1 of the Code of Virginia.  

"Partial hospitalization service" means time-limited active 

treatment interventions that are more intensive than outpatient 

services, designed to stabilize and ameliorate acute symptoms, 

and serve as an alternative to inpatient hospitalization or to 

reduce the length of a hospital stay. Partial hospitalization is 

focused on individuals with serious mental illness, substance 

abuse (substance use disorders), or co-occurring disorders at 

risk of hospitalization or who have been recently discharged 

from an inpatient setting.  

"Person-centered" means focusing on the needs and 

preferences of the individual; empowering and supporting the 

individual in defining the direction for his life; and promoting 

self-determination, community involvement, and recovery. 

"Program of assertive community treatment service" or 

"PACT" means a self-contained interdisciplinary team of at 

least 10 full-time equivalent clinical staff, a program assistant, 

and a full-time or part-time psychiatrist that: 

1. Assumes responsibility for directly providing needed 

treatment, rehabilitation, and support services to identified 

individuals with severe and persistent mental illnesses, 

including those who have severe symptoms that are not 

effectively remedied by available treatments or who because 

of reasons related to their mental illness resist or avoid 

involvement with mental health services; 
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2. Minimally refers individuals to outside service providers; 

3. Provides services on a long-term care basis with 

continuity of caregivers over time; 

4. Delivers 75% or more of the services outside program 

offices; and 

5. Emphasizes outreach, relationship building, and 

individualization of services. 

"Provider" means any person, entity, or organization, 

excluding an agency of the federal government by whatever 

name or designation, that delivers (i) services to individuals 

with mental illness, developmental disabilities, or substance 

abuse (substance use disorders) or (ii) residential services for 

individuals with brain injury. The person, entity, or 

organization shall include a hospital as defined in § 32.1-123 

of the Code of Virginia, community services board, behavioral 

health authority, private provider, and any other similar or 

related person, entity, or organization. It shall not include any 

individual practitioner who holds a license issued by a health 

regulatory board of the Department of Health Professions or 

who is exempt from licensing pursuant to §§ 54.1-2901, 54.1-

3001, 54.1-3501, 54.1-3601, and 54.1-3701 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

"Psychosocial rehabilitation service" means a program of two 

or more consecutive hours per day provided to groups of adults 

in a nonresidential setting. Individuals must demonstrate a 

clinical need for the service arising from a condition due to 

mental, behavioral, or emotional illness that results in 

significant functional impairments in major life activities. This 

service provides education to teach the individual about mental 

illness, substance abuse, and appropriate medication to avoid 

complication and relapse and opportunities to learn and use 

independent skills and to enhance social and interpersonal 

skills within a consistent program structure and environment. 

Psychosocial rehabilitation includes skills training, peer 

support, vocational rehabilitation, and community resource 

development oriented toward empowerment, recovery, and 

competency. 

"Qualified developmental disability professional" or "QDDP" 

means a person who possesses at least one year of documented 

experience working directly with individuals who have a 

developmental disability and who possesses one of the 

following credentials: (i) a doctor of medicine or osteopathy 

licensed in Virginia, (ii) a registered nurse licensed in Virginia, 

(iii) a licensed occupational therapist, or (iv) completion of at 

least a bachelor's degree in a human services field, including 

sociology, social work, special education, rehabilitation 

counseling, or psychology. 

"Qualified mental health professional" or "QMHP" means a 

person who by education and experience is professionally 

qualified and registered by the Board of Counseling in 

accordance with 18VAC115-80 to provide collaborative 

mental health services for adults or children. A QMHP shall 

not engage in independent or autonomous practice. A QMHP 

shall provide such services as an employee or independent 

contractor of the department or a provider licensed by the 

department. 

"Qualified mental health professional-adult" or "QMHP-A" 

means a person who by education and experience is 

professionally qualified and registered with the Board of 

Counseling in accordance with 18VAC115-80 to provide 

collaborative mental health services for adults. A QMHP-A 

shall provide such services as an employee or independent 

contractor of the department or a provider licensed by the 

department. A QMHP-A may be an occupational therapist who 

by education and experience is professionally qualified and 

registered with the Board of Counseling in accordance with 

18VAC115-80. 

"Qualified mental health professional-child" or "QMHP-C" 

means a person who by education and experience is 

professionally qualified and registered with the Board of 

Counseling in accordance with 18VAC115-80 to provide 

collaborative mental health services for children. A QMHP-C 

shall provide such services as an employee or independent 

contractor of the department or a provider licensed by the 

department. A QMHP-C may be an occupational therapist who 

by education and experience is professionally qualified and 

registered with the Board of Counseling in accordance with 

18VAC115-80. 

"Qualified mental health professional-eligible" or "QMHP-E" 

means a person receiving supervised training in order to 

qualify as a QMHP in accordance with 18VAC115-80 and who 

is registered with the Board of Counseling. 

"Qualified paraprofessional in mental health" or "QPPMH" 

means a person who must meet at least one of the following 

criteria: (i) registered with the United States Psychiatric 

Association (USPRA) as an Associate Psychiatric 

Rehabilitation Provider (APRP); (ii) has an associate's degree 

in a related field (social work, psychology, psychiatric 

rehabilitation, sociology, counseling, vocational rehabilitation, 

human services counseling) and at least one year of experience 

providing direct services to individuals with a diagnosis of 

mental illness; (iii) licensed as an occupational therapy 

assistant, and supervised by a licensed occupational therapist, 

with at least one year of experience providing direct services 

to individuals with a diagnosis of mental illness; or (iv) has a 

minimum of 90 hours classroom training and 12 weeks of 

experience under the direct personal supervision of a QMHP-

A providing services to individuals with mental illness and at 

least one year of experience (including the 12 weeks of 

supervised experience). 

"Quality improvement plan" means a detailed work plan 

developed by a provider that defines steps the provider will 

take to review the quality of services it provides and to manage 

initiatives to improve quality. A quality improvement plan 

consists of systematic and continuous actions that lead to 
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measurable improvement in the services, supports, and health 

status of the individuals receiving services. 

"Recovery" means a journey of healing and transformation 

enabling an individual with a mental illness to live a 

meaningful life in a community of his choice while striving to 

achieve his full potential. For individuals with substance abuse 

(substance use disorders), recovery is an incremental process 

leading to positive social change and a full return to biological, 

psychological, and social functioning. For individuals with a 

developmental disability, the concept of recovery does not 

apply in the sense that individuals with a developmental 

disability will need supports throughout their entire lives 

although these may change over time. With supports, 

individuals with a developmental disability are capable of 

living lives that are fulfilling and satisfying and that bring 

meaning to themselves and others whom they know. 

"Referral" means the process of directing an applicant or an 

individual to a provider or service that is designed to provide 

the assistance needed. 

"Residential crisis stabilization service" means (i) providing 

short-term, intensive treatment to nonhospitalized individuals 

who require multidisciplinary treatment in order to stabilize 

acute psychiatric symptoms and prevent admission to a 

psychiatric inpatient unit; (ii) providing normative 

environments with a high assurance of safety and security for 

crisis intervention; and (iii) mobilizing the resources of the 

community support system, family members, and others for 

ongoing rehabilitation and recovery. 

"Residential service" means providing 24-hour support in 

conjunction with care and treatment or a training program in a 

setting other than a hospital or training center. Residential 

services provide a range of living arrangements from highly 

structured and intensively supervised to relatively independent 

requiring a modest amount of staff support and monitoring. 

Residential services include residential treatment, group 

homes, supervised living, residential crisis stabilization, 

community gero-psychiatric residential, ICF/IID, sponsored 

residential homes, medical and social detoxification, 

neurobehavioral services, and substance abuse residential 

treatment for women and children. 

"Residential treatment service" means providing an intensive 

and highly structured mental health, substance abuse, or 

neurobehavioral service, or services for co-occurring disorders 

in a residential setting, other than an inpatient service. 

"Respite care service" means providing for a short-term, time-

limited period of care of an individual for the purpose of 

providing relief to the individual's family, guardian, or regular 

care giver. Persons providing respite care are recruited, trained, 

and supervised by a licensed provider. These services may be 

provided in a variety of settings including residential, day 

support, in-home, or a sponsored residential home. 

"Restraint" means the use of a mechanical device, 

medication, physical intervention, or hands-on hold to prevent 

an individual receiving services from moving his body to 

engage in a behavior that places him or others at imminent risk. 

There are three kinds of restraints: 

1. Mechanical restraint means the use of a mechanical device 

that cannot be removed by the individual to restrict the 

individual's freedom of movement or functioning of a limb 

or portion of an individual's body when that behavior places 

him or others at imminent risk. 

2. Pharmacological restraint means the use of a medication 

that is administered involuntarily for the emergency control 

of an individual's behavior when that individual's behavior 

places him or others at imminent risk and the administered 

medication is not a standard treatment for the individual's 

medical or psychiatric condition. 

3. Physical restraint, also referred to as manual hold, means 

the use of a physical intervention or hands-on hold to prevent 

an individual from moving his body when that individual's 

behavior places him or others at imminent risk. 

"Restraints for behavioral purposes" means using a physical 

hold, medication, or a mechanical device to control behavior 

or involuntary restrict the freedom of movement of an 

individual in an instance when all of the following conditions 

are met: (i) there is an emergency; (ii) nonphysical 

interventions are not viable; and (iii) safety issues require an 

immediate response. 

"Restraints for medical purposes" means using a physical 

hold, medication, or mechanical device to limit the mobility of 

an individual for medical, diagnostic, or surgical purposes, 

such as routine dental care or radiological procedures and 

related post-procedure care processes, when use of the restraint 

is not the accepted clinical practice for treating the individual's 

condition. 

"Restraints for protective purposes" means using a 

mechanical device to compensate for a physical or cognitive 

deficit when the individual does not have the option to remove 

the device. The device may limit an individual's movement, for 

example, bed rails or a gerichair, and prevent possible harm to 

the individual or it may create a passive barrier, such as a 

helmet to protect the individual. 

"Restriction" means anything that limits or prevents an 

individual from freely exercising his rights and privileges. 

"Risk management" means an integrated system-wide 

program to ensure the safety of individuals, employees, 

visitors, and others through identification, mitigation, early 

detection, monitoring, evaluation, and control of risks. 

"Root cause analysis" means a method of problem solving 

designed to identify the underlying causes of a problem. The 

focus of a root cause analysis is on systems, processes, and 

outcomes that require change to reduce the risk of harm. 
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"Screening" means the process or procedure for determining 

whether the individual meets the minimum criteria for 

admission. 

"Seclusion" means the involuntary placement of an individual 

alone in an area secured by a door that is locked or held shut 

by a staff person, by physically blocking the door, or by any 

other physical means so that the individual cannot leave it. 

"Serious incident" means any event or circumstance that 

causes or could cause harm to the health, safety, or well-being 

of an individual. The term "serious incident" includes death 

and serious injury. 

"Level I serious incident" means a serious incident that occurs 

or originates during the provision of a service or on the 

premises of the provider and does not meet the definition of a 

Level II or Level III serious incident. Level I serious incidents 

do not result in significant harm to individuals, but may include 

events that result in minor injuries that do not require medical 

attention or events that have the potential to cause serious 

injury, even when no injury occurs. "Level II serious incident" 

means a serious incident that occurs or originates during the 

provision of a service or on the premises of the provider that 

results in a significant harm or threat to the health and safety 

of an individual that does not meet the definition of a Level III 

serious incident. 

"Level II serious incident" includes a significant harm or 

threat to the health or safety of others caused by an individual. 

Level II serious incidents include: 

1. A serious injury; 

2. An individual who is or was missing; 

3. An emergency room visit; 

4. An unplanned psychiatric or unplanned medical 

hospital admission of an individual receiving services 

other than licensed emergency services, except that a 

psychiatric admission in accordance with the individual's 

Wellness Recovery Action Plan shall not constitute an 

unplanned admission for the purposes of this chapter; 

5. Choking incidents that require direct physical 

intervention by another person; 

6. Ingestion of any hazardous material; or 

7. A diagnosis of: 

a. A decubitus ulcer or an increase in severity of level of 

previously diagnosed decubitus ulcer; 

b. A bowel obstruction; or 

c. Aspiration pneumonia. 

"Level III serious incident" means a serious incident whether 

or not the incident occurs while in the provision of a service or 

on the provider's premises and results in: 

1. Any death of an individual; 

2. A sexual assault of an individual; or 

3. A suicide attempt by an individual admitted for 

services, other than licensed emergency services, that 

results in a hospital admission. 

"Serious injury" means any injury resulting in bodily hurt, 

damage, harm, or loss that requires medical attention by a 

licensed physician, doctor of osteopathic medicine, physician 

assistant, or nurse practitioner. 

"Service" means (i) planned individualized interventions 

intended to reduce or ameliorate mental illness, developmental 

disabilities, or substance abuse (substance use disorders) 

through care, treatment, training, habilitation, or other supports 

that are delivered by a provider to individuals with mental 

illness, developmental disabilities, or substance abuse 

(substance use disorders). Services include outpatient services, 

intensive in-home services, opioid treatment services, inpatient 

psychiatric hospitalization, community gero-psychiatric 

residential services, assertive community treatment and other 

clinical services; day support, day treatment, partial 

hospitalization, psychosocial rehabilitation, and habilitation 

services; case management services; and supportive 

residential, special school, halfway house, in-home services, 

crisis stabilization, and other residential services; and (ii) 

planned individualized interventions intended to reduce or 

ameliorate the effects of brain injury through care, treatment, 

or other supports provided in residential services for persons 

with brain injury. 

"Shall" means an obligation to act is imposed. 

"Shall not" means an obligation not to act is imposed. 

"Skills training" means systematic skill building through 

curriculum-based psychoeducational and cognitive-behavioral 

interventions. These interventions break down complex 

objectives for role performance into simpler components, 

including basic cognitive skills such as attention, to facilitate 

learning and competency. 

"Social detoxification service" means providing nonmedical 

supervised care for the individual's natural process of 

withdrawal from use of alcohol or other drugs.  

"Specific high-intensity residential services" means a 

substance use treatment program that provides a structured 

recovery environment in combination with high-intensity 

clinical services provided in a manner to meet the functional 

limitations of individuals. The functional limitations of 

individuals who are placed within this level of care are 

primarily cognitive and can be either temporary or permanent. 

"Sponsored residential home" means a service where 

providers arrange for, supervise, and provide programmatic, 

financial, and service support to families or persons (sponsors) 

providing care or treatment in their own homes for individuals 

receiving services. 

"State board" means the State Board of Behavioral Health and 

Developmental Services. The board has statutory 
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responsibility for adopting regulations that may be necessary 

to carry out the provisions of Title 37.2 of the Code of Virginia 

and other laws of the Commonwealth administered by the 

commissioner or the department. 

"State methadone authority" means the Virginia Department 

of Behavioral Health and Developmental Services that is 

authorized by the federal Center for Substance Abuse 

Treatment to exercise the responsibility and authority for 

governing the treatment of opiate addiction with an opioid 

drug. 

"Substance abuse (substance use disorders)" means the use of 

drugs enumerated in the Virginia Drug Control Act (§ 54.1-

3400 et seq.) without a compelling medical reason or alcohol 

that (i) results in psychological or physiological dependence or 

danger to self or others as a function of continued and 

compulsive use or (ii) results in mental, emotional, or physical 

impairment that causes socially dysfunctional or socially 

disordering behavior; and (iii), because of such substance 

abuse, requires care and treatment for the health of the 

individual. This care and treatment may include counseling, 

rehabilitation, or medical or psychiatric care. 

"Substance abuse intensive outpatient service" means 

structured treatment provided in a concentrated manner for two 

or more consecutive hours per day to groups of individuals in 

a nonresidential setting. This service is provided over a period 

of time for individuals requiring more intensive services than 

an outpatient service can provide. Substance abuse intensive 

outpatient services include multiple group therapy sessions 

during the week, individual and family therapy, individual 

monitoring, and case management. to individuals who require 

more intensive services than is normally provided in an 

outpatient service but do not require inpatient services. 

Treatment consists primarily of counseling and education 

about addiction-related and mental health challenges delivered 

a minimum of nine to 19 hours of services per week for adults 

or six to 19 hours of services per week for children and 

adolescents. Within this level of care an individual's needs for 

psychiatric and medical services are generally addressed 

through consultation and referrals.  

"Substance abuse outpatient service" means a center based 

substance abuse treatment delivered to individuals for fewer 

than nine hours of service per week for adults or fewer than six 

hours per week for adolescents on an individual, group, or 

family basis. Substance abuse outpatient services may include 

diagnosis and evaluation, screening and intake, counseling, 

psychotherapy, behavior management, psychological testing 

and assessment, laboratory and other ancillary services, 

medical services, and medication services. Substance abuse 

outpatient service includes substance abuse services or an 

office practice that provides professionally directed aftercare, 

individual, and other addiction services to individuals 

according to a predetermined regular schedule of fewer than 9 

contact hours a week. Substance abuse outpatient service also 

includes:  

1. Substance abuse services operated by a community 

services board or a behavioral health authority established 

pursuant to Chapter 5 (§ 37.2-500 et seq.) or Chapter 6 

(§ 37.2-600 et seq.) of Title 37.2 of the Code of Virginia; 

2. Substance abuse services contracted by a community 

services board or a behavioral health authority established 

pursuant to Chapter 5 (§ 37.2-500 et seq.) or Chapter 6 

(§ 37.2-600 et seq.) of Title 37.2 of the Code of Virginia; or 

3. Substance abuse services that are owned, operated, or 

controlled by a corporation organized pursuant to the 

provisions of either Chapter 9 (§ 13.1-601 et seq.) or Chapter 

10 (§ 13.1-801 et seq.) of Title 13.1 of the Code of Virginia.  

"Substance abuse partial hospitalization services" means a 

short-term, nonresidential substance use treatment program 

provided for a minimum of 20 hours a week that uses 

multidisciplinary staff and is provided for individuals who 

require a more intensive treatment experience than intensive 

outpatient treatment but who do not require residential 

treatment. This level of care is designed to offer highly 

structured intensive treatment to those individuals whose 

condition is sufficiently stable so as not to require 24-hour-per-

day monitoring and care, but whose illness has progressed so 

as to require consistent near-daily treatment intervention. 

"Substance abuse residential treatment for women with 

children service" means a 24-hour residential service providing 

an intensive and highly structured substance abuse service for 

women with children who live in the same facility. 

"Suicide attempt" means a nonfatal, self-directed, potentially 

injurious behavior with an intent to die as a result of the 

behavior regardless of whether it results in injury. 

"Supervised living residential service" means the provision of 

significant direct supervision and community support services 

to individuals living in apartments or other residential settings. 

These services differ from supportive in-home service because 

the provider assumes responsibility for management of the 

physical environment of the residence, and staff supervision 

and monitoring are daily and available on a 24-hour basis. 

Services are provided based on the needs of the individual in 

areas such as food preparation, housekeeping, medication 

administration, personal hygiene, treatment, counseling, and 

budgeting. 

"Supportive in-home service" (formerly supportive 

residential) means the provision of community support 

services and other structured services to assist individuals, to 

strengthen individual skills, and that provide environmental 

supports necessary to attain and sustain independent 

community residential living. Services include drop-in or 

friendly-visitor support and counseling to more intensive 

support, monitoring, training, in-home support, respite care, 
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and family support services. Services are based on the needs of 

the individual and include training and assistance. These 

services normally do not involve overnight care by the 

provider; however, due to the flexible nature of these services, 

overnight care may be provided on an occasional basis. 

"Systemic deficiency" means violations of regulations 

documented by the department that demonstrate multiple or 

repeat defects in the operation of one or more services. 

"Therapeutic day treatment for children and adolescents" 

means a treatment program that serves (i) children and 

adolescents from birth through 17 years of age and under 

certain circumstances up to 21 years of age with serious 

emotional disturbances, substance use, or co-occurring 

disorders or (ii) children from birth through seven years of age 

who are at risk of serious emotional disturbance, in order to 

combine psychotherapeutic interventions with education and 

mental health or substance abuse treatment. Services include: 

evaluation; medication education and management; 

opportunities to learn and use daily living skills and to enhance 

social and interpersonal skills; and individual, group, and 

family counseling. 

"Time out" means the involuntary removal of an individual 

by a staff person from a source of reinforcement to a different, 

open location for a specified period of time or until the problem 

behavior has subsided to discontinue or reduce the frequency 

of problematic behavior. 

"Volunteer" means a person who, without financial 

remuneration, provides services to individuals on behalf of the 

provider. 

12VAC35-105-30. Licenses. 

A. Licenses are issued to providers who offer services to 

individuals who have mental illness, a developmental 

disability, or substance abuse (substance use disorders) or have 

brain injury and are receiving residential services. 

B. Providers shall be licensed to provide specific services as 

defined in this chapter or as determined by the commissioner. 

These services include: 

1. Case management; 

2. Clinically managed high-intensity residential care; 

3. Clinically managed low-intensity residential care;  

4. Community gero-psychiatric residential; 

3. 5. ICF/IID; 

4. 6. Residential crisis stabilization; 

5. 7. Nonresidential crisis stabilization; 

6. 8. Day support; 

7. 9. Day treatment, includes therapeutic day treatment for 

children and adolescents; 

8. 10. Group home and community residential; 

9. 11. Inpatient psychiatric; 

10. 12. Intensive community treatment (ICT); 

11. 13. Intensive in-home; 

12. Managed withdrawal, including medical detoxification 

and social detoxification;  

13. 14. Medically managed intensive inpatient service; 

15. Medically monitored intensive inpatient treatment; 

16. Medication assisted opioid treatment; 

17. Mental health community support; 

14. Opioid treatment/medication assisted treatment;  

15. 18. Mental health intensive outpatient;  

19. Mental health outpatient;  

20. Mental health partial hospitalization; 

21. Emergency; 

16. Outpatient;  

17. Partial hospitalization;  

18. 22. Program of assertive community treatment (PACT); 

19. 23. Psychosocial rehabilitation; 

20. 24. Residential treatment; 

21. 25. Respite care; 

22. 26. Specific high-intensity residential; 

27. Sponsored residential home; 

23. 28. Substance abuse residential treatment for women 

with children; 

24. 29. Substance abuse intensive outpatient; 

25. 30. Substance abuse outpatient; 

31. Substance abuse partial hospitalization; 

32. Supervised living residential; and 

26. 33. Supportive in-home. 

C. A license addendum shall describe the services licensed, 

the disabilities of individuals who may be served, the specific 

locations where services are to be provided or administered, 

and the terms and conditions for each service offered by a 

licensed provider. For residential and inpatient services, the 

license identifies the number of individuals each residential 

location may serve at a given time. 
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Article 1 

Medication Assisted Opioid Treatment (Opioid Treatment 

Services) 

12VAC35-105-925. Standards for the evaluation of new 

licenses for providers of services to individuals with opioid 

addiction. 

A. Applicants requesting an initial license to provide a service 

for the treatment of opioid addiction through the use of 

methadone or any other opioid treatment medication or 

controlled substance shall supply information to the 

department that demonstrates the appropriateness of the 

proposed service in accordance with this section. 

B. The proposed site of the service shall comply with § 37.2-

406 of the Code of Virginia. 

C. In jurisdictions without zoning ordinances, the department 

shall request that the local governing body advise it as to 

whether the proposed site is suitable for and compatible with 

use as an office and the delivery of health care services. The 

department shall make this request when it notifies the local 

governing body of a pending application. 

D. Applicants shall demonstrate that the building or space to 

be used to provide the proposed service is suitable for the 

treatment of opioid addiction by submitting documentation of 

the following: 

1. The proposed site complies with the requirements of the 

local building regulatory entity; 

2. The proposed site complies with local zoning laws or 

ordinances, including any required business licenses; 

3. In the absence of local zoning ordinances, the proposed 

site is suitable for and compatible with use as offices and the 

delivery of health care services; 

4. In jurisdictions where there are no parking ordinances, the 

proposed site has sufficient off-street parking to 

accommodate the needs of the individuals being served and 

prevent the disruption of traffic flow; 

5. The proposed site can accommodate individuals during 

periods of inclement weather; 

6. The proposed site complies with the Virginia Statewide 

Fire Prevention Code; and 

7. The applicant has a written plan to ensure security for 

storage of methadone at the site, which complies with 

regulations of the Drug Enforcement Agency (DEA), and the 

Virginia Board of Pharmacy. 

E. Applicants shall submit information to demonstrate that 

there are sufficient personnel available to meet the following 

staffing requirements and qualifications: 

1. The program director shall be licensed or certified by the 

applicable Virginia health regulatory board or by a 

nationally recognized certification board or eligible for this 

license or certification with relevant training, experience, or 

both, in the treatment of individuals with opioid addiction; 

2. The medical director shall be a board-certified 

addictionologist or have successfully completed or will 

complete within one year a course of study in opiate 

addiction that is approved by the department; 

3. A minimum of one pharmacist; 

4. Nurses; 

5. Counselors shall be licensed or certified by the applicable 

Virginia health regulatory board or by a nationally 

recognized certification board or eligible for this license or 

certification; and 

6. Personnel to provide support services. 

F. Applicants shall submit a description for the proposed 

service that includes: 

1. Proposed mission, philosophy, and goals of the provider; 

2. Care, treatment, and services to be provided, including a 

comprehensive discussion of levels of care provided and 

alternative treatment strategies offered; 

3. Proposed hours and days of operation; 

4. Plans for on-site onsite security; and 

5. A diversion control plan for dispensed medications, 

including policies for use of drug screens. 

G. Applicants shall, in addition to the requirements of 

12VAC35-105-580 C 2, provide documentation of their 

capability to provide the following services and support 

directly or by arrangement with other specified providers when 

such services and supports are (i) requested by an individual 

being served or (ii) identified as an individual need, based on 

the assessment conducted in accordance with 12VAC35-105-

60 B and included in the individualized services plan: 

1. Psychological services; 

2. Social services; 

3. Vocational services; 

4. Educational services; and 

5. Employment services. 

H. Applicants shall submit documentation of contact with 

community services boards or behavioral health authorities in 

their service areas to discuss their plans for operating in the 

area and to develop joint agreements, as appropriate. 

I. Applicants shall provide policies and procedures that each 

individual served to be assessed every six months by the 

treatment team to determine if that individual is appropriate for 

safe and voluntary medically supervised withdrawal, 

alternative therapies including other medication assisted 
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treatments, or continued federally approved pharmacotherapy 

treatment for opioid addiction. 

J. Applicants shall submit policies and procedures describing 

services they will provide to individuals who wish to 

discontinue opioid treatment services. 

K. Applicants shall provide assurances that the service will 

have a community liaison responsible for developing and 

maintaining cooperative relationships with community 

organizations, other service providers, local law enforcement, 

local government officials, and the community at large. 

L. The department shall conduct announced and unannounced 

reviews and complaint investigations in collaboration with the 

Virginia Board of Pharmacy and DEA to determine 

compliance with the regulations. 

12VAC35-105-930. Registration, certification or 

accreditation. 

A. The medication assisted opioid treatment service shall 

maintain current registration or certification with: 

1. The federal Drug Enforcement Administration; 

2. The federal Department of Health and Human Services; 

and 

3. The Virginia Board of Pharmacy. 

B. A provider of medication assisted opioid treatment 

services shall maintain accreditation with an entity approved 

under federal regulations. 

12VAC35-105-960. Physical examinations. 

A. The individual shall have a complete physical examination 

prior to admission to the service unless the individual is 

transferring from another licensed opioid agonist medication 

assisted opioid treatment service. The results of serology and 

other tests shall be available within 14 days of admission. 

B. Physical exams of each individual shall be completed 

annually or more frequently if there is a change in the 

individual's physical or mental condition. 

C. The provider shall maintain the report of the individual's 

physical examination in the individual's service record. 

D. On admission, all individuals shall be offered testing for 

AIDS/HIV. The individual may sign a notice of refusal without 

prejudice. 

E. The provider shall coordinate treatment services for 

individuals who are prescribed benzodiapines and prescription 

narcotics with the treating physician. The coordination shall be 

the responsibility of the provider's physician and shall be 

documented. 

12VAC35-105-1000. Preventing duplication of medication 

services. 

To prevent duplication of medication assisted opioid 

medication treatment services to an individual, the provider 

shall implement a written policy and procedures for contacting 

every medication assisted opioid treatment service within a 50-

mile radius before admitting an individual. 

Article 2 

Medically Managed Withdrawal Monitored Intensive 

Inpatient Services 

12VAC35-105-1110. Admission assessments. 

During the admission process, providers of managed 

withdrawal services medically monitored intensive inpatient 

services shall: 

1. Identify individuals with a high-risk for medical 

complications or who may pose a danger to themselves or 

others; 

2. Assess substances used and time of last use; 

3. Determine time of last meal; 

4. Administer a urine screen; 

5. Analyze blood alcohol content or administer a 

breathalyzer; and 

6. Record vital signs. 

12VAC35-105-1420. (Reserved.).  

Part VII 

Addition Medicine Service Requirements 

Article 1 

Medically Managed Intensive Inpatient 

12VAC35-105-1430. Medically managed intensive 

inpatient staff criteria.  

A medically managed intensive inpatient program shall meet 

the following staff requirements:  

1. Have a team of appropriately trained and credentialed 

professionals who provide medical management by 

physicians 24 hours a day, primary nursing care and 

observation 24 hours a day, and professional counseling 

services 16 hours a day; 

2. Have an interdisciplinary team of appropriately 

credentialed clinical staff, including addiction-credentialed 

physicians, nurse practitioners, physician assistants, nurses, 

counselors, psychologists, and social workers, who assess 

and treat individuals with severe substance use disorders or 

addicted individuals with concomitant acute biomedical, 

emotional, or behavioral disorders;  
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3. Have staff who are knowledgeable about the 

biopsychosocial dimensions of addiction as well as 

biomedical, emotional, behavioral, and cognitive disorders; 

4. Have facility-approved addiction counselors or licensed, 

certified, or registered addiction clinicians who administer 

planned interventions according to the assessed needs of the 

individual; and 

5. All clinical staff shall be qualified by training and 

experience and appropriately licensed, certified, or 

registered by the appropriate health regulatory board to serve 

individuals admitted to the service. 

12VAC35-105-1440. Medically managed intensive 

inpatient program criteria.  

A medically managed intensive inpatient program shall meet 

the following programmatic requirements. The program shall: 

1. Deliver services in a 24-hour medically managed, acute 

care setting and shall be available to all individuals within 

that setting;  

2. Provide cognitive, behavioral, motivational, 

pharmacologic, and other therapies provided on an 

individual or group basis, depending on the individual's 

needs;  

3. Provide, for the individual who has a severe biomedical 

disorder, physical health interventions to supplement 

addiction treatment;  

4. Provide, for the individual who has stable psychiatric 

symptoms, individualized treatment activities designed to 

monitor the individual's mental health; 

5. Provide planned clinical interventions that are designed to 

enhance the individual's understanding and acceptance of his 

addiction illness; 

6. Provide family and caregiver treatment services as 

deemed appropriate by a licensed professional and included 

in an assessment and treatment plan;  

7. Provide health education services;  

8. Make medication assisted treatment (MAT) available for 

all individuals admitted to the service. MAT may be 

provided by facility staff or coordinated through alternative 

resources; and 

9. Comply with 12VAC35-105-1055 through 12VAC35-

105-1130.  

12VAC35-105-1450. Medically managed intensive 

inpatient admission criteria.  

Before a medically managed intensive inpatient program may 

admit an individual, the individual shall meet the criteria for 

admission as defined by the provider's policies. The provider's 

policy regarding admission shall at a minimum require the 

individual to: 

1. Meet diagnostic criteria for a substance use disorder or 

addictive disorder of moderate to high severity as defined by 

the DSM; and 

2. Meet the admission criteria of Level 4.0 of ASAM, 

including the specific criteria for adult and adolescent 

populations. 

12VAC35-105-1460. Medically managed intensive 

inpatient discharge criteria.  

Before a medically managed intensive inpatient program may 

discharge or transfer an individual, the individual shall meet 

the criteria for discharge or transfer as defined by the provider's 

policies, which shall include provisions for the discharge or 

transfer of individuals who have: 

1. Achieved the goals of the treatment services and no longer 

require ASAM 4.0 level of care;  

2. Been unable to achieve the goals of the individual's 

treatment but could achieve the individual's goals with a 

different type of treatment; or 

3. Achieved the individual's original treatment goals but 

have developed new treatment challenges that can only be 

adequately addressed in a different type of treatment. 

12VAC35-105-1470. Medically managed intensive 

inpatient co-occurring enhanced programs.  

A. Medically managed intensive inpatient co-occurring 

enhanced programs shall be staffed by appropriately 

credentialed mental health professionals who assess and treat 

the individual's co-occurring mental disorders. All clinical staff 

shall be qualified by training and experience and appropriately 

licensed, certified, or registered by the appropriate health 

regulatory board to serve individuals admitted to the service. 

B. Medically managed intensive inpatient co-occurring 

enhanced programs shall offer individualized treatment 

activities designed to stabilize the individual's active 

psychiatric symptoms, including medication evaluation and 

management.  

Article 2 

Medically Monitored Intensive Inpatient Services 

12VAC35-105-1480. Medically monitored intensive 

inpatient services staff criteria.  

A medically monitored intensive inpatient treatment program 

shall meet the following staff requirements. The program shall: 

1. Have a licensed physician to oversee the treatment process 

and ensure quality of care. A physician, a licensed nurse 

practitioner, or a licensed physician assistant shall be 

available 24 hours a day in person or by telephone. A 

physician shall assess the individual in person within 24 

hours of admission;  
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2. Offer 24-hour nursing care and conduct a nursing 

assessment on admission. The level of nursing care must be 

appropriate to the severity of needs of individuals admitted 

to the service;  

3. Have interdisciplinary staff, including physicians, nurses, 

addiction counselors, and behavioral health specialists, who 

are able to assess and treat the individual and obtain and 

interpret information regarding the individual's psychiatric 

and substance use or addictive disorders; 

4. Offer daily onsite counseling and clinical services. 

Clinical staff shall be knowledgeable about the biological 

and psychosocial dimensions of addiction and other 

behavioral health disorders with specialized training in 

behavior management techniques and evidence-based 

practices;  

5. Have staff able to provide a planned regimen of 24-hour 

professionally directed evaluation, care, and treatment 

services;  

6. Make MAT available for all individuals. MAT may be 

provided by facility staff or coordinated through alternative 

resources; and 

7. Ensure all clinical staff are qualified by training and 

experience and appropriately licensed, certified, or 

registered by the appropriate health regulatory board to serve 

individuals admitted to the service. 

12VAC35-105-1490. Medically monitored intensive 

inpatient services program criteria.  

A medically monitored intensive inpatient treatment program 

shall meet the following programmatic requirements. The 

program shall: 

1. Be made available to all individuals within the inpatient 

setting;  

2. Provide a combination of individual and group therapy as 

deemed appropriate by a licensed mental health professional 

and included in an assessment and treatment plan. Such 

therapy shall be adapted to the individual's level of 

comprehension;  

3. Make available medical and nursing services onsite to 

provide ongoing assessment and care of addiction needs;  

4. Provide direct affiliations with other easily accessible 

levels of care or close coordination through referral to more 

or less intensive levels of care and other services;  

5. Provide family and caregiver treatment services as 

deemed appropriate by a licensed mental health professional 

and included in an assessment and treatment plan;  

6. Provide educational and informational programming 

adapted to individual needs. The educational and 

informational programming shall include materials designed 

to enhance the individual's understanding of addiction and 

may include peer recovery support services as appropriate;  

7. Utilize random drug screening to monitor drug use and 

reinforce treatment gains;  

8. Regularly monitor the individual's adherence in taking 

any prescribed medications; and 

9. Comply with 12VAC35-105-1055 through 12VAC35-

105-1130.  

12VAC35-105-1500. Medically monitored intensive 

inpatient admission criteria.  

Before a medically monitored intensive inpatient program 

may admit an individual, the individual shall meet the criteria 

for admission as defined by the provider's policies. The 

provider's policy regarding admission shall at a minimum 

require the individual to:  

1. Meet diagnostic criteria for a substance use disorder of the 

DSM or addictive disorder of moderate to high severity; and 

2. Meet the admission criteria of Level 3.7 of ASAM, 

including the specific criteria for adult and adolescent 

populations.  

12VAC35-105-1510. Medically monitored intensive 

inpatient discharge criteria.  

A. Before a medically monitored intensive inpatient program 

may discharge or transfer an individual, the individual shall 

meet the criteria for discharge or transfer as defined by the 

provider's policies, which shall include provisions for the 

discharge or transfer of individuals who have: 

1. Achieved the goals of the treatment services and no longer 

require ASAM 3.7 level of care;  

2. Been unable to achieve the goals of the individual's 

treatment but could achieve the individual's goals with a 

different type of treatment; or 

3. Achieved the individual's original treatment goals but 

have developed new treatment challenges that can only be 

adequately addressed in a different type of treatment. 

B. Discharge planning shall occur for individuals and include 

realistic plans for the continuity of MAT services as indicated. 

12VAC35-105-1520. Medically monitored intensive 

inpatient co-occurring enhanced programs.  

A. Medically monitored intensive inpatient co-occurring 

enhanced programs shall offer psychiatric services, medication 

evaluation, and laboratory services as indicated by the needs of 

individuals admitted to the service. A psychiatrist shall assess 

the individual by telephone within four hours of admission and 

in person with 24 hours following admission. An LMHP shall 

conduct a behavioral health-focused assessment at the time of 

admission. A registered nurse shall monitor the individual's 
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progress and administer or monitor the individual's self-

administration of psychotropic medications. 

B. Medically monitored intensive inpatient co-occurring 

enhanced programs shall be staffed by addiction psychiatrists 

and appropriately credentialed behavioral health professionals 

who are able to assess and treat co-occurring psychiatric 

disorders and who have specialized training in behavior 

management techniques and evidence based practices. All 

clinical staff shall be qualified by training and experience and 

appropriately licensed, certified, or registered by the 

appropriate health regulatory board to serve individuals 

admitted to the service.  

C. Medically monitored intensive inpatient co-occurring 

enhanced programs shall offer planned clinical activities 

designed to promote stabilization of the individual's behavioral 

health needs and psychiatric symptoms and to promote such 

stabilization, including medication education and management 

and motivational and engagement strategies.  

Article 3 

Clinically Managed High-Intensity Residential Services 

12VAC35-105-1530. Clinically managed high-intensity 

residential services staff criteria.  

A clinically managed high-intensity residential care program 

shall meet the following staff requirements. The program shall:  

1. Offer telephone or in-person consultation with a 

physician, a licensed nurse practitioner, or a licensed 

physician assistant in case of emergency related to an 

individual's substance use disorder 24 hours a day seven 

days a week; 

2. Offer onsite 24-hour-a-day clinical staffing by 

credentialed addiction treatment professionals and other 

allied health professionals, such as peer recovery specialists, 

who work in an interdisciplinary team;  

3. Have clinical staff knowledgeable about the biological 

and psychosocial dimensions of substance use and mental 

health disorders and their treatment. Staff shall be able to 

identify the signs and symptoms of acute psychiatric 

conditions. Staff shall have specialized training in behavior 

management techniques; and 

4. All clinical staff shall be qualified by training and 

experience and appropriately licensed, certified, or 

registered by the appropriate health regulatory board to serve 

individuals admitted to the service. 

12VAC35-105-1540. Clinically managed high-intensity 

residential services program criteria.  

A clinically managed high-intensity residential care program 

shall meet the following programmatic requirements. The 

program shall: 

1. Provide daily clinical services, including a range of 

cognitive, behavioral, and other therapies in individual or 

group therapy; programming; and psychoeducation as 

deemed appropriate by a licensed professional and included 

in an assessment and treatment plan; 

2. Provide counseling and clinical interventions to teach an 

individual the skills needed for daily productive activity, 

prosocial behavior, and reintegration into family and 

community; 

3. Provide motivational enhancement and engagement 

strategies appropriate to an individual's stage of readiness to 

change and level of comprehension; 

4. Have direct affiliations with other easily accessible levels 

of care or provide coordination through referral to more or 

less intensive levels of care and other services;  

5. Provide family and caregiver treatment services as 

deemed appropriate by a licensed professional and included 

in an assessment and treatment plan;  

6. Provide educational, vocational, and informational 

programming adaptive to individual needs;  

7. Utilize random drug screening to monitor progress and 

reinforce treatment gains as appropriate to an individual 

treatment plan;  

8. Ensure and document that the length of an individual's 

stay shall be determined by the individual's condition and 

functioning;  

9. Make a substance use treatment program available for all 

individuals; and 

10. Make MAT available for all individuals. Medication 

assisted treatment may be provided by facility staff, or 

coordinated through alternative resources. 

12VAC35-105-1550. Clinically managed high-intensity 

residential services admission criteria.  

A. The individuals served by clinically managed high-

intensity residential care are individuals who are not 

sufficiently stable to benefit from outpatient treatment 

regardless of intensity of service. 

B. Before a clinically managed high-intensity residential 

service program may admit an individual, the individual shall 

meet the criteria for admission as defined by the provider's 

policies. The provider's policy regarding admission shall at a 

minimum require the individual to: 

1. Meet diagnostic criteria for a substance use disorder or 

addictive disorder of moderate to high severity as defined by 

the DSM; and 

2. Meet the admission criteria of Level 3.5 of ASAM.  
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12VAC35-105-1560. Clinically managed high-intensity 

residential services discharge criteria.  

Before a clinically managed high-intensity residential service 

program may discharge or transfer an individual, the individual 

shall meet the criteria for discharge or transfer as defined by 

the provider's policies, which shall include provisions for the 

discharge or transfer of individuals who have: 

1. Achieved the goals of the treatment services and no longer 

require ASAM 3.5 level of care;  

2. Been unable to achieve the goals of the individual's 

treatment but could achieve the individual's goals with a 

different type of treatment; or 

3. Achieved the individual's original treatment goals but 

have developed new treatment challenges that can only be 

adequately addressed in a different type of treatment. 

12VAC35-105-1570. Clinically managed high-intensity 

residential services co-occurring enhanced programs.  

A. Clinically managed high-intensity residential services co-

occurring enhanced programs shall offer psychiatric services, 

medication evaluation, and laboratory services. Such services 

shall be available by telephone within eight hours and onsite or 

closely coordinated offsite within 24 hours. 

B. Clinically managed high-intensity residential services co-

occurring enhanced programs shall be staffed by appropriately 

credentialed mental health professionals, including addiction 

psychiatrists who are able to assess and treat co-occurring 

mental disorders and who have specialized training in behavior 

management techniques. All clinical staff shall be qualified by 

training and experience and appropriately licensed, certified, 

or registered by the appropriate health regulatory board to 

serve individuals admitted to the service. 

C. Clinically managed high-intensity residential services co-

occurring enhanced programs shall offer planned clinical 

activities designed to stabilize the individual's mental health 

problems and psychiatric symptoms and to maintain such 

stabilization, including medication education and management 

and motivational and engagement strategies. Goals of therapy 

shall apply to both the individual's substance use disorder and 

any co-occurring mental disorder.  

Article 4 

Clinically Managed Population-Specific High Intensity 

Residential Services 

12VAC35-105-1580. Clinically managed population-

specific high-intensity residential services staff criteria.  

A high-intensity residential services program shall meet the 

following staff requirements. The program shall: 

1. Offer telephone or in-person consultation with a 

physician, a licensed nurse practitioner, or a physician 

assistant in case of emergency related to an individual's 

substance use disorder 24 hours a day, seven days a week;  

2. Have allied health professional staff onsite 24 hours a day. 

At least one clinician with competence in the treatment of 

substance use disorder shall be available onsite or by 

telephone 24 hours a day;  

3. Have clinical staff knowledgeable about the biological 

and psychosocial dimensions of substance use and mental 

health disorders and their treatment and able to identify the 

signs and symptoms of acute psychiatric conditions. Staff 

shall have specialized training in behavior management 

techniques; and  

4. Ensure all clinical staff are qualified by training and 

experience and appropriately licensed, certified, or 

registered by the appropriate health regulatory board to serve 

individuals admitted to the service. 

12VAC35-105-1590. Clinically managed population-

specific high-intensity residential services program 

criteria.  

A high-intensity residential services program shall meet the 

following programmatic requirements. The program shall: 

1. Provide daily clinical services that shall include a range of 

cognitive, behavioral, and other therapies administered on an 

individual and group basis, medication education and 

management, educational groups, and occupational or 

recreation activities as deemed appropriate by a licensed 

professional and included in an assessment and treatment 

plan;  

2. Provide daily professional addiction and mental health 

treatment services that may include relapse prevention, 

exploring interpersonal choices, peer recovery support, and 

development of a social network;  

3. Provide services to improve the individual's ability to 

structure and organize the tasks of daily living and recovery. 

Such services shall accommodate the cognitive limitations 

within this population;  

4. Make available medical, psychiatric, psychological, and 

laboratory and toxicology services through consultation or 

referral as indicated by the individual's condition;  

5. Provide case management, including ongoing transition 

and continuing care planning; 

6. Provide motivational interventions appropriate to the 

individual's stage of readiness to change and designed to 

address the individual's functional limitations;  

7. Have direct affiliations with other easily accessible levels 

of care or coordinate through referral to more or less 

intensive levels of care and other services;  

8. Provide family and caregiver treatment services as 

deemed appropriate by an assessment and treatment plan; 

9. Utilize random drug screening to monitor progress and 

reinforce treatment gains;  
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10. Regularly monitor the individual's adherence to taking 

prescribed medications;  

11. Make the substance use treatment program available to 

all individuals served by the residential care service; and 

12. Make MAT available for all individuals. Medication 

assisted treatment may be provided by facility staff or 

coordinated through alternative resources. 

12VAC35-105-1600. Clinically managed population-

specific high-intensity residential services admission 

criteria.  

Before a clinically managed, population-specific, high-

intensity residential service program may admit an individual, 

the individual shall meet the criteria for admission as defined 

by the provider's policies. The provider's policy regarding 

admission shall at a minimum require the individual to: 

1. Meet diagnostic criteria for a substance use disorder or 

addictive disorder of moderate to high severity as defined by 

the DSM; and 

2. Meet the admission criteria of Level 3.3 of ASAM.  

12VAC35-105-1610. Clinically managed population-

specific high-intensity residential services discharge 

criteria.  

A. Before a clinically managed, population-specific, high-

intensity residential service program may discharge or transfer 

an individual, the individual shall meet the criteria for 

discharge or transfer as defined by the provider's policies, 

which shall include provisions for the discharge or transfer of 

individuals who have: 

1. Achieved the goals of the treatment services and no longer 

require ASAM 3.3 level of care;  

2. Been unable to achieve the goals of the individual's 

treatment but could achieve the individual's goals with a 

different type of treatment; or 

3. Achieved the individual's original treatment goals but 

have developed new treatment challenges that can only be 

adequately addressed in a different type of treatment. 

B. Discharge planning shall occur for individuals and include 

realistic plans for the continuity of MAT services as indicated. 

12VAC35-105-1620. Clinically managed population-

specific high-intensity residential services co-occurring 

enhanced programs.  

A. Clinically managed population-specific high-intensity 

residential services co-occurring enhanced programs shall 

offer psychiatric services, medication evaluation, and 

laboratory services. Such services shall be available by 

telephone within eight hours and onsite or closely coordinated 

offsite within 24 hours, as appropriate to the severity and 

urgency of the individual's mental condition.  

B. Clinically managed population-specific high-intensity 

residential services co-occurring enhanced programs shall be 

staffed by appropriately credentialed psychiatrists and licensed 

mental health professionals who are able to assess and treat co-

occurring mental disorders and who have specialized training 

in behavior management techniques. All clinical staff shall be 

qualified by training and experience and appropriately 

licensed, certified, or registered by the appropriate health 

regulatory board to serve individuals admitted to the service. 

C. Clinically managed population-specific high-intensity 

residential services co-occurring enhanced programs shall 

offer planned clinical activities designed to stabilize the 

individual's mental health problems and psychiatric symptoms 

and to maintain such stabilization, including medication 

education and management and motivational and engagement 

strategies. Goals of therapy shall apply to both the substance 

use disorder and any co-occurring mental health disorder.  

Article 5 

Clinically Managed Low-Intensity Residential Services 

12VAC35-105-1630. Clinically managed low-intensity 

residential services staff criteria.  

A clinically managed low-intensity residential services 

program shall meet the following staff requirements. The 

program shall: 

1. Offer telephone or in-person consultation with a physician 

in case of emergency related to an individual's substance use 

disorder, available 24 hours a day, seven days a week. The 

program shall also provide allied health professional staff 

onsite 24 hours a day;  

2. Have clinical staff who are knowledgeable about the 

biological and psychosocial dimensions of substance use 

disorder and their treatment and are able to identify the signs 

and symptoms of acute psychiatric conditions;  

3. Have a team comprised of appropriately trained and 

credentialed medical, addiction, and mental health 

professionals; and 

4. Ensure all clinical staff are qualified by training and 

experience and appropriately licensed, certified, or 

registered by the appropriate health regulatory board to serve 

individuals admitted to the service. 

12VAC35-105-1640. Clinically managed low-intensity 

residential services program criteria.  

A clinically managed low-intensity residential services 

program shall meet the following programmatic requirements. 

The program shall: 

1. Offer a minimum of five hours a week of professionally 

directed treatment in addition to other treatment services 

offered to individuals, such as partial hospitalization or 

intensive outpatient treatment the focus of which is 

stabilizing the individual's substance use disorder. Services 
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shall be designed to improve the individual's ability to 

structure and organize the tasks of daily living and recovery;  

2. Ensure collaboration with care providers to develop an 

individual treatment plan for each individual with time-

specific goals and objectives; 

3. Provide counseling and clinical monitoring to support 

successful initial involvement in regular, productive daily 

activity; 

4. Provide case management services;  

5. Provide motivational interventions appropriate to the 

individual's stage of readiness to change and level of 

comprehension; 

6. Have direct affiliations with other easily accessible levels 

of care or coordinate through referral to more or less 

intensive levels of care and other services;  

7. Include the ability to arrange for needed procedures as 

appropriate to the severity and urgency of the individual's 

condition;  

8. Provide family and caregiver treatment and peer recovery 

support services as deemed appropriate by a licensed 

professional and included in an assessment and treatment 

plan;  

9. Provide addiction pharmacotherapy and the ability to 

arrange for pharmacotherapy for psychiatric medications;  

10. Utilize random drug screening to monitor progress and 

reinforce treatment gains;  

11. Make a substance abuse treatment program available to 

all individuals; and  

12. Make MAT available for all individuals. Medication 

assisted treatment may be provided by facility staff or 

coordinated through alternative resources. 

12VAC35-105-1650. Clinically managed low-intensity 

residential services admission criteria.  

Before a clinically managed low-intensity residential service 

program may admit an individual, the individual shall meet the 

criteria for admission as defined by the provider's policies. The 

provider's policy regarding admission shall at a minimum 

require the individual to: 

1. Meet diagnostic criteria for a substance use disorder or 

addictive disorder of moderate to high severity as defined by 

the DSM; and 

2. Meet the admission criteria of Level 3.1 of ASAM. 

12VAC35-105-1660. Clinically managed low-intensity 

residential services discharge criteria.  

Before a clinically managed low-intensity residential service 

program may discharge or transfer an individual, the individual 

shall meet the criteria for discharge or transfer as defined by 

the provider's policies, which shall include provisions for the 

discharge or transfer of individuals who have: 

1. Achieved the goals of the treatment services and no longer 

require ASAM 3.1 level of care;  

2. Been unable to achieve the goals of the individual's 

treatment but could achieve the individual's goals with a 

different type of treatment; or 

3. Achieved the individual's original treatment goals but 

have developed new treatment challenges that can only be 

adequately addressed in a different type of treatment. 

12VAC35-105-1670. Clinically managed low-intensity 

residential services co-occurring enhanced programs.  

A. Clinically managed low-intensity residential services co-

occurring enhanced programs shall offer psychiatric services, 

including medication evaluation and laboratory services. Such 

services shall be provided onsite or closely coordinated offsite, 

as appropriate to the severity and urgency of the individual's 

mental condition. 

B. Clinically managed low-intensity residential services co-

occurring enhanced programs shall be staffed by appropriately 

credentialed licensed mental health professionals who are able 

to assess and treat co-occurring disorders with the capacity to 

involve addiction-trained psychiatrists. All clinical staff shall 

be qualified by training and experience and appropriately 

licensed, certified, or registered by the appropriate health 

regulatory board to serve individuals admitted to the service. 

C. Clinically managed low-intensity residential services co-

occurring enhanced programs shall offer planned clinical 

activities that are designed to stabilize the individual's mental 

health problems and psychiatric symptoms and to maintain 

such stabilization, including medication education and 

management and motivational and engagement strategies. 

Goals of therapy shall apply to both the substance use disorder 

and any co-occurring mental disorder.  

Article 6 

Partial Hospitalization 

12VAC35-105-1680. Substance abuse partial 

hospitalization services (ASAM LOC 2.5) staff criteria.  

A substance abuse partial hospitalization program shall meet 

the following staff requirements. The program shall: 

1. Have an interdisciplinary team of addiction treatment 

professionals, including counselors, psychologists, social 

workers, and addiction-credentialed physicians. Physicians 

treating individuals in this level shall have specialty training 

or experience in addiction medicine;  

2. Have staff able to obtain and interpret information 

regarding the individual's biopsychosocial needs;  

3. Have staff trained to understand the signs and symptoms 

of mental disorders and to understand and be able to explain 
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the uses of psychotropic medications and their interactions 

with substance-related disorders; and 

4. Ensure all clinical staff are qualified by training and 

experience and appropriately licensed, certified, or 

registered by the appropriate health regulatory board to serve 

individuals admitted to the service. 

12VAC35-105-1690. Substance abuse partial 

hospitalization services program criteria.  

A substance abuse partial hospitalization program shall meet 

the following programmatic requirements. The program shall: 

1. Offer no fewer than 20 hours of programming per week in 

a structured program. Services may include individual and 

group counseling, medication management, family therapy, 

peer recovery support services, educational groups, or 

occupational and recreational therapy;  

2. Provide a combination of individual and group therapy as 

deemed appropriate by a licensed professional and included 

in an assessment and treatment plan; 

3. Provide medical and nursing services as deemed 

appropriate by a licensed professional and included in an 

assessment and treatment plan; 

4. Provide motivational enhancement and engagement 

strategies appropriate to an individual's stage of readiness to 

change and level of comprehension; 

5. Have direct affiliations with other easily accessible levels 

of care or coordinate through referral to more or less 

intensive levels of care and other services;  

6. Provide family and caregiver treatment services as 

deemed appropriate by a licensed professional and included 

in an assessment and treatment plan;  

7. Provide educational and informational programming 

adaptable to individual needs; 

8. Ensure and document that the length of service shall be 

determined by the individual's condition and functioning;  

9. Make emergency services available by telephone 24 hours 

a day, seven days a week when the program is not in session; 

and 

10. Make MAT available for all individuals. MAT may be 

provided by facility staff or coordinated through alternative 

resources. 

12VAC35-105-1700. Substance abuse partial 

hospitalization admission criteria.  

Before a substance abuse partial hospitalization program may 

admit an individual, the individual shall meet the criteria for 

admission as defined by the provider's policies. The provider's 

policy regarding admission shall at a minimum require the 

individual to: 

1. Meet diagnostic criteria for a substance use disorder or 

addictive disorder as defined by the DSM; and 

2. Meet the admission criteria of Level 2.5 of ASAM, 

including the specific criteria for adult and adolescent 

populations. 

12VAC35-105-1710. Substance abuse partial 

hospitalization discharge criteria.  

Before a substance abuse partial hospitalization program may 

discharge or transfer an individual, the individual shall meet 

the criteria for discharge or transfer as defined by the provider's 

policies, which shall include provisions for the discharge or 

transfer of individuals who have: 

1. Achieved the goals of the treatment services and no longer 

require ASAM 2.5 level of care;  

2. Been unable to achieve the goals of the individual's 

treatment but could achieve the individual's goals with a 

different type of treatment; or 

3. Achieved the individual's original treatment goals but 

have developed new treatment challenges that can only be 

adequately addressed in a different type of treatment. 

12VAC35-105-1720. Substance abuse partial 

hospitalization co-occurring enhanced programs.  

A. Substance abuse partial hospitalization co-occurring 

enhanced programs shall offer psychiatric services appropriate 

to the individual's mental health condition. Such services shall 

be available by telephone and onsite or closely coordinated 

offsite, within a shorter time than in a co-occurring capable 

program. 

B. Substance abuse partial hospitalization co-occurring 

enhanced programs shall be staffed by appropriately 

credentialed mental health professionals who assess and treat 

co-occurring mental disorders. Intensive case management 

shall be delivered by cross-trained, interdisciplinary staff 

through mobile outreach and shall involve engagement-

oriented addiction treatment and psychiatric programming. All 

clinical staff shall be qualified by training and experience and 

appropriately licensed, certified, or registered by the 

appropriate health regulatory board to serve individuals 

admitted to the service. 

C. Substance abuse partial hospitalization co-occurring 

enhanced programs shall offer intensive case management, 

assertive community treatment, medication management, and 

psychotherapy.  

Article 7 

Intensive Outpatient Services 

12VAC35-105-1730. Substance abuse intensive outpatient 

services staff criteria.  

A substance abuse intensive outpatient services program shall 

meet the following staff requirements. The program shall: 
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1. Be staffed by interdisciplinary team of appropriately 

credentialed addiction treatment professionals, including 

counselors, psychologists, social workers, and addiction-

credentialed physicians. Physicians shall have specialty 

training or experience in addiction medicine or addiction 

psychiatry; 

2. Have program staff that are able to obtain and interpret 

information regarding the individual's biopsychosocial 

needs;  

3. Have program staff trained to understand the signs and 

symptoms of mental disorders and to understand and be able 

to explain the uses of psychotropic medications and their 

interactions with substance use and other addictive 

disorders; and 

4. Ensure all clinical staff are qualified by training and 

experience and appropriately licensed, certified, or 

registered by the appropriate health regulatory board to serve 

individuals admitted to the service. 

12VAC35-105-1740. Substance abuse intensive outpatient 

services program criteria.  

A substance abuse intensive outpatient program shall meet 

the following programmatic requirements. The program shall: 

1. Offer a minimum of three service hours per service day to 

achieve no fewer than nine hours and no more than 19 hours 

of programming per week in a structured environment;  

2. Ensure psychiatric and other medical consultation shall be 

available within 24 hours by telephone and within 72 hours 

in person;  

3. Offer consultation in case of emergency related to an 

individual's substance use disorder by telephone 24 hours a 

day, seven days a week when the treatment program is not 

in session; 

4. Provide a combination of individual and group therapy as 

deemed appropriate by a licensed professional and included 

in an assessment and treatment plan;  

5. Have direct affiliations with other easily accessible levels 

of care or coordinate through referral to more or less 

intensive levels of care and other services;  

6. Provide family and caregiver treatment and peer recovery 

support services as deemed appropriate by a licensed 

professional and included in an assessment and treatment 

plan;  

7. Provide education and informational programming 

adaptable to individual needs and developmental status; 

8. Ensure and document that the length of service shall be 

determined by the individual's condition and functioning; 

and  

9. Make MAT available for all individuals. MAT may be 

provided by facility staff or coordinated through alternative 

resources. 

12VAC35-105-1750. Substance abuse intensive outpatient 

services admission criteria.  

Before a substance abuse intensive outpatient service 

program may admit an individual, the individual shall meet the 

criteria for admission as defined by the provider's policies. The 

provider's policy regarding admission shall at a minimum 

require the individual to: 

1. Meet diagnostic criteria for a substance use disorder or 

addictive disorder as defined by the DSM; and 

2. Meet the admission criteria of Level 2.1 of ASAM, 

including the specific criteria for adult and adolescent 

populations. 

12VAC35-105-1760. Substance abuse intensive outpatient 

services discharge criteria.  

Before a substance abuse intensive outpatient service 

program may discharge or transfer an individual, the individual 

shall meet the criteria for discharge or transfer as defined by 

the provider's policies, which shall include provisions for the 

discharge or transfer of individuals who have: 

1. Achieved the goals of the treatment services and no longer 

require ASAM 2.1 level of care;  

2. Been unable to achieve the goals of the individual's 

treatment but could achieve the individual's goals with a 

different type of treatment; or 

3. Achieved the individual's original treatment goals but 

have developed new treatment challenges that can only be 

adequately addressed in a different type of treatment. 

12VAC35-105-1770. Substance abuse intensive outpatient 

services co-occurring enhanced programs.  

A. Substance abuse intensive outpatient services co-occurring 

enhanced programs shall offer psychiatric services appropriate 

to the individual's mental health condition. Such services shall 

be available by telephone and onsite or closely coordinated 

offsite, within a shorter time than in a co-occurring capable 

program. 

B. Substance abuse intensive outpatient services co-occurring 

enhanced programs shall be staffed by appropriately credential 

mental health professionals who assess and treat co-occurring 

mental disorders. Capacity to consult with an addiction 

psychiatrist shall be available. All clinical staff shall be 

qualified by training and experience and appropriately 

licensed, certified, or registered by the appropriate health 

regulatory board to serve individuals admitted to the service. 

C. Substance abuse intensive outpatient services co-occurring 

enhanced programs shall offer intensive case management, 
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assertive community treatment, medication management, and 

psychotherapy. 

Article 8 

Substance Abuse Outpatient Services 

12VAC35-105-1780. Substance abuse outpatient services 

staff criteria.  

Substance abuse outpatient service programs shall meet the 

following staff requirements. The program shall: 

1. Have appropriately credentialed or licensed treatment 

professionals who assess and treat substance-related mental 

and addictive disorders;  

2. Have program staff who are capable of monitoring 

stabilized mental health problems and recognizing any 

instability of individuals with co-occurring mental health 

conditions;  

3. Provide medication management services by a licensed 

independent practitioner with prescribing authority; and 

4. Ensure all clinical staff are qualified by training and 

experience and appropriately licensed, certified, or 

registered by the appropriate health regulatory board to serve 

individuals admitted to the service. 

12VAC35-105-1790. Substance abuse outpatient service 

program criteria.  

Substance abuse outpatient service programs shall meet the 

following programmatic requirements. The program shall: 

1. Offer no more than nine hours of programming a week;  

2. Ensure emergency services shall be available by telephone 

24 hours a day, seven days a week;  

3. Provide individual or group counseling, motivational 

enhancement, family therapy, educational groups, 

occupational and recreational therapy, psychotherapy, 

addiction and pharmacotherapy as indicated by each 

individual's needs; 

4. For individuals with mental illness, ensure the use of 

psychotropic medication, mental health treatment and that 

the individual's relationship to substance abuse disorders 

shall be addressed as the need arises;  

5. Provide medical, psychiatric, psychological, laboratory, 

and toxicology services onsite or through consultation or 

referral. Medical and psychiatric consultation shall be 

available within 24 hours by telephone, or if in person, 

within a timeframe appropriate to the severity and urgency 

of the consultation requested;  

6. Have direct affiliations with other easily accessible levels 

of care or coordinate through referral to more or less 

intensive levels of care and other services; and  

7. Ensure through documentation that the duration of 

treatment varies with the severity of the individual's illness 

and response to treatment. 

12VAC35-105-1800. Substance abuse outpatient service 

admission criteria.  

Before a substance abuse outpatient service program may 

admit an individual, the individual shall meet the criteria for 

admission as defined by the provider's policies. The provider's 

policy regarding admission shall at a minimum require the 

individual to: 

1. Meet diagnostic criteria for a substance use disorder or 

addictive disorder as defined by the DSM; and 

2. Meet the admission criteria of Level 1.0 of ASAM, 

including the specific criteria for adult and adolescent 

populations.  

12VAC35-105-1810. Substance abuse outpatient services 

discharge criteria.  

Before a substance abuse outpatient service program may 

discharge or transfer an individual, the individual shall meet 

the criteria for discharge or transfer as defined by the provider's 

policies, which shall include provisions for the discharge or 

transfer of individuals who have: 

1. Achieved the goals of the treatment services and no longer 

require ASAM 1.0 level of care;  

2. Been unable to achieve the goals of the individual's 

treatment but could achieve the individual's goals with a 

different type of treatment; or 

3. Achieved the individual's original treatment goals but 

have developed new treatment challenges that can only be 

adequately addressed in a different type of treatment. 

12VAC35-105-1820. Substance abuse outpatient services 

co-occurring enhanced programs.  

A. Substance abuse outpatient services co-occurring 

enhanced programs shall offer ongoing intensive case 

management for highly crisis-prone individuals with co-

occurring disorders. 

B. Substance abuse outpatient services co-occurring 

enhanced programs shall include credentialed mental health 

trained personnel who are able to assess, monitor, and manage 

the types of severe and chronic mental disorders seen in a level 

1 setting as well as other psychiatric disorders that are mildly 

unstable. Staff shall be knowledgeable about management of 

co-occurring mental and substance-related disorders, including 

assessment of the individual's stage of readiness to change and 

engagement of individuals who have co-occurring mental 

disorders. All clinical staff shall be qualified by training and 

experience and appropriately licensed, certified, or registered 

by the appropriate health regulatory board to serve individuals 

admitted to the service. 
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C. Substance abuse outpatient services co-occurring 

enhanced programs shall offer therapies to actively address, 

monitor, and manage psychotropic medication, mental health 

treatment, and interaction with substance-related and addictive 

disorders.  

Article 9 

Medication Assisted Opioid Treatment Program 

12VAC35-105-1830. Medication assisted opioid treatment 

staff criteria.  

Medication assisted opioid treatment programs shall meet the 

following staff requirements. The program shall: 

1. Have linkage with or access to psychological, medical, 

and psychiatric consultation;  

2. Have access to emergency medical and psychiatric care 

through affiliations with more intensive levels of care;  

3. Have access to physical evaluations and ongoing primary 

medical care;  

4. Have the ability to conduct or arrange for appropriate 

laboratory and toxicology tests; and 

5. Ensure all clinical staff, whether employed by the provider 

or available through consultation, contract, or other means, 

are qualified by training and experience and appropriately 

licensed, certified, or registered by the appropriate health 

regulatory board to serve individuals admitted to the service. 

12VAC35-105-1840. Medication assisted opioid treatment 

program criteria.  

Medication assisted opioid treatment programs shall meet the 

following programmatic requirements. The program shall: 

1. Provide individualized, patient-centered assessment and 

treatment, which may include peer recovery support 

services;  

2. Provide case management, including medical monitoring 

and coordination, with onsite and offsite treatment services 

provided as needed; 

3. Provide psychoeducation, including HIV/AIDS education 

and other health education services;  

4. Assess, order, administer, reassess, and regulate 

medication and dose levels appropriate to the individual; 

supervise withdrawal management from opioid analgesics, 

including methadone or buprenorphine; and oversee and 

facilitate access to appropriate treatment;  

5. Monitor drug testing that is to be done a minimum of eight 

times per year; and 

6. Comply with 12VAC35-105-925 through 12VAC35-105-

1050.  

12VAC35-105-1850. Medication assisted opioid treatment 

admission criteria.  

Before a medication assisted opioid treatment program may 

admit an individual, the individual shall meet the criteria for 

admission as defined by the provider's policies. The provider's 

policy regarding admission shall at a minimum require the 

individual to: 

1. Meet diagnostic criteria for severe opioid use disorder; and 

2. Meet the admission criteria of Level 1.0 of ASAM.  

12VAC35-105-1860. Medication assisted opioid treatment 

discharge criteria.  

Before a medication assisted opioid treatment program may 

discharge or transfer an individual, the individual shall meet 

the criteria for discharge or transfer as defined by the provider's 

policies, which shall include provisions for the discharge or 

transfer of individuals who have: 

1. Achieved the goals of the treatment services and no longer 

require ASAM OTS level of care;  

2. Been unable to achieve the goals of the individual's 

treatment but could achieve the individual's goals with a 

different type of treatment; or 

3. Achieved the individual's original treatment goals but 

have developed new treatment challenges that can only be 

adequately addressed in a different type of treatment. 

DOCUMENTS INCORPORATED BY REFERENCE 

(12VAC35-105) 

The ASAM: Treatment for Addictive, Substance-Related and 

Co-Occuring Conditions, Third Edition, American Society of 

Addiction Medicine, asam.org 

Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders, 5th 

Edition. DSM-5, American Psychiatric Association, 800 

Maine Avenue, SW, Suite 900 Washington, DC 20024, 

psychiatry.org 

VA.R. Doc. No. R21-6439; Filed January 8, 2021, 1:31 p.m. 

Final Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 12VAC35-105. Rules and Regulations 

for Licensing Providers by the Department of Behavioral 

Health and Developmental Services (amending 12VAC35-

105-675). 

Statutory Authority: § 37.2-203 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: March 4, 2021. 

Agency Contact: Ruth Anne Walker, Director of Regulatory 

Affairs, Department of Behavioral Health and Developmental 

Services, Jefferson Building, 1220 Bank Street, 4th Floor, 

Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 225-2252, FAX (804) 

371-4609, TDD (804) 371-8977, or email 

ruthanne.walker@dbhds.virginia.gov. 

mailto:ruthanne.walker@dbhds.virginia.gov
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Summary: 

The amendments allow case management providers a 30-

day grace period and other mental health providers a 15-

day grace period for documentation of an individualized 

services plan, aligning the regulation with Medicaid 

timeframe requirements. 

Summary of Public Comments and Agency's Response: A 

summary of comments made by the public and the agency's 

response may be obtained from the promulgating agency or 

viewed at the office of the Registrar of Regulations. 

12VAC35-105-675. Reassessments and ISP reviews.  

A. Reassessments shall be completed at least annually and 

any time there is a need based on changes in the medical, 

psychiatric, behavioral, or other status of the individual. 

B. Providers shall complete changes to the ISP as a result of 

the assessments. 

C. The provider shall update the ISP at least annually and any 

time assessments identify risks, injuries, needs, or a change in 

status of the individual. 

D. The provider shall review complete quarterly reviews of 

the ISP at least every three months from the date of the 

implementation of the comprehensive ISP or whenever there is 

a revised assessment based upon the individual's changing 

needs or goals. 

1. These reviews shall evaluate the individual's progress 

toward meeting the ISP's goals and objectives and the 

continued relevance of the ISP's objectives and strategies. 

The provider shall update the goals, objectives, and 

strategies contained in the ISP, if indicated, and implement 

any updates made. 

2. These reviews shall document evidence of progression 

toward or achievement of a specific targeted outcome for 

each goal and objective. 

3. For goals and objectives that were not accomplished by 

the identified target date, the provider and any appropriate 

treatment team members shall meet to review the reasons for 

lack of progress and provide the individual an opportunity to 

make an informed choice of how to proceed. Documentation 

of the quarterly review shall be added to the individual's 

record no later than 15 calendar days from the date the 

review was due to be completed, with the exception of case 

management services. Case management quarterly reviews 

shall be added to the individual's record no later than 30 

calendar days from the date the review was due. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R19-5541; Filed January 8, 2021, 1:19 p.m. 

  ––––––––––––––––––  

TITLE 18. PROFESSIONAL AND 
OCCUPATIONAL LICENSING 

BOARD OF ACCOUNTANCY 

Final Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC5-22. Board of Accountancy 

Regulations (amending 18VAC5-22-20, 18VAC5-22-40, 

18VAC5-22-50, 18VAC5-22-70, 18VAC5-22-90, 18VAC5-

22-120, 18VAC5-22-170, 18VAC5-22-180; adding 

18VAC5-22-91). 

Statutory Authority: §§ 54.1-4402 and 54.1-4403 of the Code 

of Virginia. 

Effective Date: March 3, 2021. 

Agency Contact: Nancy Glynn, Executive Director, Board of 

Accountancy, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 402, Richmond, VA 

23233, telephone (804) 367-8540, FAX (804) 527-4409, TDD 

(804) 367-9753, or email nancy.glynn@boa.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

As the result of a periodic review, the amendments require 

that certified public accountant (CPA) licensees notify the 

board within 30 days of (i) any administrative disciplinary 

action that the licensee is the subject of or party to before 

any court, agency of the state or federal government, branch 

of the United States armed forces, or before the American 

Institute of Certified Public Accountants, the Virginia 

Society of Certified Public Accountants, or their successors; 

(ii) any conviction concerning a felony or misdemeanor, 

regardless of whether sentence is imposed, suspended, or 

executed; (iii) any guilty plea or plea of nolo contendere; 

(iv) any final judgment rendered against the holder in a civil 

court of law; or (v) any receipt of a peer review report or a 

Public Company Accounting Oversight Board firm 

inspection report containing criticisms of or identifying 

potential defects in the firm's quality control systems.  

Summary of Public Comments and Agency's Response: A 

summary of comments made by the public and the agency's 

response may be obtained from the promulgating agency or 

viewed at the office of the Registrar of Regulations. 

18VAC5-22-20. Fees.  

A. The board shall charge the following fees for services it 

provides: 

Processing an initial application to take one or 

more sections of the CPA examination 

$120 

Processing additional applications to take one 

or more sections of the CPA examination 

$20 

Processing an application for issuance of a 

Virginia license to a person 

$75 

Processing an application for issuance of a 

Virginia license to a firm 

$100 

mailto:nancy.glynn@boa.virginia.gov
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Processing an application for the timely 

renewal of a person's Virginia license except as 

provided in subsection B of 18VAC5-22-180 

$60 

Processing an application for the timely 

renewal of a firm's Virginia license except as 

provided in subsection B of 18VAC5-22-180 

$75 

Additional fee for processing an application for 

the renewal of a person's Virginia license that 

is not timely 

$100 

Additional fee for processing an application for 

the renewal of a firm's Virginia license that is 

not timely 

$100 

Processing an application for reinstatement of a 

person's Virginia license 

$350 

Processing an application for reinstatement of a 

firm's Virginia license 

$500 

Processing an application for lifting the 

suspension of the privilege of using the CPA 

title in Virginia 

$350 

Processing an application for lifting the 

suspension of the privilege of providing attest 

services, compilation services, or financial 

statement preparation services for persons or 

entities located in Virginia 

$500 

Providing or obtaining information about a 

person's grades on sections of the CPA 

examination 

$25 

Processing requests for verification that a 

person or firm holds a Virginia license: 

 

1. Online request $25 

2. Manual request $50 

Providing an additional CPA wall certificate $25 

Additional fee for not responding within 30 

calendar days to any request for information by 

the board under subsection A of 18VAC5-22-

170 

$100 

Additional fee for not using the online payment 

option for any service provided by the board 

$25 

B. All fees for services the board provides are due when the 

service is requested and are nonrefundable. 

C. Any original application for a CPA license in Virginia will 

expire six years from the original application date, and a new 

application with the corresponding fees and requirements will 

need to be submitted. 

18VAC5-22-40. Determining whether a person who holds a 

Virginia license is providing services to the public using the 

CPA title or to or on behalf of an employer using the CPA 

title.  

For the purpose of determining whether a person who holds a 

Virginia license is providing services to the public or to or on 

behalf of an employer, those terms are to be defined in 

accordance with § 54.1-4400 of the Code of Virginia. 

18VAC5-22-50. Determining whether the principal place of 

business of a person or of a firm is in Virginia.  

Complying with subdivision A 1 of § 54.1-4409.1, subsection 

B of § 54.1-4411, or subsection B of § 54.1-4412.1 of the Code 

of Virginia requires the person or firm to use reasonable 

judgment in determining whether Virginia is the principal 

place of business in which: 

1. The person provides services to the public; or 

2. The firm provides attest services or, compilation services, 

or financial statement preparation services. 

The determination shall be reasonable considering the facts 

and circumstances and can be based on quantitative or 

qualitative assessments. The determination shall be 

reconsidered for changes in facts and circumstances that are 

not temporary. 

18VAC5-22-70. Education.  

A. In order for a person to take the CPA examination through 

Virginia, he must have obtained from one or more accredited 

institutions at least 120 semester hours of education, a 

baccalaureate or higher degree, and an accounting 

concentration or equivalent prior to taking any part of the CPA 

examination. 

B. For the purpose of complying with subsection A of this 

section and with subdivision A 1 a of § 54.1-4409.2 of the 

Code of Virginia, obtaining an accounting concentration or 

equivalent requires obtaining at a minimum: 

1. 24 semester hours of accounting courses, including that 

must include courses in auditing, financial accounting, 

management accounting, and taxation; and 

2. 24 semester hours of business courses, no more than six 

semester hours of which could be considered accounting 

courses. 

Principles or introductory accounting courses cannot be 

considered in determining whether a person has obtained the 

48 minimum number of semester hours required for an 

accounting concentration or equivalent. 

18VAC5-22-90. Continuing professional education.  

A. If during the current calendar year a person holds a 

Virginia license and has not been granted an exemption from 

meeting continuing professional education requirements by the 

board pursuant to subsection C of this section, he shall have 

obtained at least 120 hours of continuing professional 

education during the three-calendar-year period ending with 
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the current calendar year. For each of the calendar years in that 

period, he shall have obtained at least 20 hours of continuing 

professional education, including an ethics course of at least 

two hours., which conforms to the requirements prescribed by 

the board. If a person holds an active license in another state 

and his principal place of business is not located in Virginia 

and: 

1. If the person also holds the license of another state and 

Virginia is not his principal place of business, the ethics 

course taken to comply with this subsection either shall 

conform with the requirements prescribed by the board or 

shall be an ethics course acceptable to the board of 

accountancy of another state in which the person holds a 

license. The other state has a continuing professional 

education requirement for ethics, he is eligible for an 

exemption from meeting the continuing professional 

education requirements of Virginia if he meets the 

continuing professional education requirements in the other 

state in which he holds an active license, or 

2. Otherwise, the ethics course shall conform to the 

requirements The other state does not have a continuing 

professional education requirement for ethics, he is eligible 

for an exemption from meeting the continuing professional 

education requirements of Virginia if he meets the 

continuing professional education requirements in the other 

state in which he holds an active license and in addition he 

meets the continuing professional education requirement for 

ethics in Virginia as prescribed by the board. 

B. If during the current calendar year a person who holds a 

Virginia license provided services to the public or to or on 

behalf of an employer, has not been granted an exemption by 

the board pursuant to subsection C of this section, and did not 

hold a Virginia license or the license of another state during 

one or both of the two preceding calendar years, he shall 

determine whether he has complied with the requirements of 

subsection A of this section as follows: 

1. If the person became licensed during the current calendar 

year, he shall be considered to have met the requirements of 

subsection A of this section for the three-calendar-year 

period ending with the current calendar year. 

2. If the person became licensed during the preceding 

calendar year, he shall be considered to have met the 

requirements of the subsection for the three-calendar-year 

period ending with the current calendar year if during the 

current calendar year he obtained at least the minimum 

number of hours of continuing professional education 

required by subsection A of this section for the current 

calendar year, including an ethics course of at least two 

hours. 

3. If the person became licensed during the calendar year 

prior to the preceding calendar year, he shall be considered 

to have met the requirements of the subsection for the three-

calendar-year period ending with the current calendar year if 

during the current calendar year and the preceding calendar 

year he obtained at least the minimum number of hours of 

continuing professional education required by subsection A 

of this section for each of the years, including for each year 

an ethics course of at least two hours. 

C. If during the current calendar year a person who holds a 

Virginia license did not provide services to the public or to or 

on behalf of an employer, including on a volunteer basis, and 

has demonstrated to the board that he does not provide those 

services been granted an exemption from continuing 

professional education requirements in writing by the board, 

he is not required to have obtained meet the continuing 

professional education requirements during the three-calendar-

year period ending with the current calendar year for which the 

exemption was granted. Any person who holds a Virginia 

license to whom an exemption has been granted shall annually 

affirm and certify to the board his continued eligibility for the 

exemption in that he does not provide services to the public or 

to or on behalf of an employer. However, in order to begin 

providing those services to the public or to or on behalf of an 

employer, including on a volunteer basis: 

1. He is required to have obtained at least 120 hours of 

continuing professional education prior to providing the 

services, including an ethics course of at least two hours. 

2. The ethics course shall conform to the requirements 

prescribed by the board for the calendar year in which the 

person begins providing the services. 

Continuing professional education obtained during the three 

calendar years prior to the current calendar year and from the 

start of the current calendar year to when he begins providing 

the services shall be considered in determining whether the 

person has complied with the requirements of this subsection. 

D. If a person who has not held the license of any state applies 

for a Virginia license within the same calendar year in which 

he passes the CPA examination, he does not need to obtain 

continuing professional education for that calendar year. If a 

person who has not held the license of any state applies for a 

Virginia license after the end of the calendar year in which he 

passes the CPA examination, he shall obtain continuing 

professional education prior to applying for the license, 

including an ethics course of at least two hours. 

1. The required minimum number of hours of continuing 

professional education shall be 40, 80, or 120 depending on 

whether he applies for the Virginia license by the end of the 

first calendar year after the calendar year in which he passes 

the CPA examination, by the end of the second calendar 

year, or later. 

2. The ethics course shall conform to the requirements 

prescribed by the board for the calendar year in which the 

person applies for the license. 
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Continuing professional education obtained subsequent to 

passing the CPA examination but during the three calendar 

years prior to the calendar year in which the person applies for 

the license and from the start of that calendar year to when he 

applies for the license shall be considered in determining 

whether he has complied with this requirement. 

E. Continuing professional education acceptable to the board 

may be obtained through a variety of forums, provided there is 

a means of demonstrating that the education was obtained. The 

acceptable forums are: 

1. Attending seminars and educational conferences, 

provided that the instructors have appropriate knowledge of 

the subject matter and use appropriate teaching materials and 

that attendance is monitored in a manner that can be verified 

by the board; 

2. Taking courses at an accredited institution for credit; 

3. Completing self-study courses, provided there is a method 

for determining that the person met the learning objectives; 

4. Making a presentation at a professional seminar, 

educational conference, or in a classroom setting, provided 

the person has appropriate knowledge of the subject matter 

and uses appropriate teaching materials;  

5. Writing material that is relevant to providing services to 

or on behalf of an employer or to the public that is formally 

reviewed by an independent party and that is published in a 

book, magazine, or similar publication; and 

6. Passing examinations and obtaining certifications that 

have been approved by the board. 

Whether other forums are acceptable shall be determined by 

the board on a case-by-case basis. 

F. In determining whether a person has obtained the required 

number of hours of continuing professional education: 

1. Repeat presentations shall not be considered. 

2. No more than 30 hours from preparing for and making 

presentations shall be considered during each three-

calendar-year period. 

3. One semester-hour of credit for courses at an accredited 

institution constitutes 15 hours of continuing professional 

education, and one quarter-hour of credit constitutes 10 

hours of continuing professional education. 

4. Credit for examination and certification shall be awarded 

for the calendar year in which the examination was passed 

and certification was received. If passage of the examination 

and certification occur in different calendar years, credit 

shall be awarded for the calendar year in which the 

examination was passed. The board shall determine how 

many hours are credited per certification. 

5. No more than 60 hours from examination and certification 

shall be considered during each three-calendar-year period. 

G. Depending on the facts and circumstances, the board may 

waive all or part of the continuing professional education 

requirement for one or more calendar years or grant additional 

time for complying with the continuing professional education 

requirement, provided that the waiver or deferral is in the 

public interest. 

18VAC5-22-91. Documentation of continuing professional 

education.  

A. Continuing professional education acceptable to the board 

may be obtained through a variety of forums, provided there is 

a means of demonstrating that the education was obtained. The 

acceptable forums are: 

1. Attending seminars and educational conferences, 

provided that the instructors have appropriate knowledge of 

the subject matter and use appropriate teaching materials and 

that attendance is monitored in a manner that can be verified 

by the board; 

2. Completing courses at an accredited institution for credit; 

3. Completing self-study courses, provided there is a method 

for determining that the person met the learning objectives; 

4. Making a presentation at a professional seminar, 

educational conference, or in a classroom setting, provided 

the person has appropriate knowledge of the subject matter 

and uses appropriate teaching materials; 

5. Writing material that is relevant to providing services to 

the public or to or on behalf of an employer that is formally 

reviewed by an independent party and that is published in a 

book, magazine, or similar publication; and 

6. Passing examinations and obtaining certifications that 

have been approved by the board. 

Whether other forums are acceptable shall be determined by 

the board on a case-by-case basis. 

B. In determining whether a person has obtained the required 

number of hours of continuing professional education: 

1. Repeat presentations, examinations, and courses shall not 

be considered. 

2. No more than 30 hours from preparing for and making 

presentations shall be considered during each three-

calendar-year period. 

3. One semester-hour of credit for courses at an accredited 

institution constitutes 15 hours of continuing professional 

education, and one quarter-hour of credit constitutes 10 

hours of continuing professional education. 

4. Credit for examination and certification shall be awarded 

for the calendar year in which the examination was passed 

and certification was received. If passage of the examination 
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and certification occur in different calendar years, credit 

shall be awarded for the calendar year in which the 

examination was passed. The board shall determine how 

many hours are credited per certification. 

5. No more than 60 hours from examination and certification 

shall be considered during each three-calendar-year period. 

C. Depending on the facts and circumstances, the board may 

waive all or part of the continuing professional education 

requirement for one or more calendar years or grant additional 

time for complying with the continuing professional education 

requirement, provided that the waiver or deferral is in the 

public interest. 

D. Evidence of satisfactory completion of the continuing 

professional education requirements shall include: 

1. Certificates of completion or some other form of 

documentation from the continuing professional education 

sponsor, including the sponsor's name, participant's name, 

course or content name, date taken, and hours of continuing 

professional education earned; 

2. Official transcripts of the college or university for earning 

course credit at an accredited college or university; 

3. A syllabus or agenda and a signed statement from the 

sponsoring individual or sponsoring organization indicating 

the length of the presentation for making a presentation; 

4. A copy of the published article, book, written material, or 

other proof of publication for producing written material 

relevant to CPAs who provide services to the public or to or 

on behalf of an employer; or 

5. In the case of exams and certifications that have been 

approved by the board, a letter from the administering 

organization that identifies the passage of the exam or the 

certification, the participant's name, and the date of passage 

or certification; 

The board shall not accept receipts, registration 

confirmations, canceled checks, outlines, presentation slides, 

or sign-in sheets as valid evidence of satisfactory completion 

of the continuing professional education requirements. 

Whether other documentation is acceptable shall be 

determined by the board on a case-by-case basis. 

E. A person who holds a Virginia license shall retain evidence 

of his satisfactory completion of the continuing professional 

education requirements for a period of four years preceding the 

current calendar year. 

F. One continuing professional education hour is satisfied by 

50 minutes of participation in a program of continuing 

professional education. 

18VAC5-22-120. Supervision of firm personnel.  

To comply with subdivision C 2 of § 54.1-4412.1 of the Code 

of Virginia, a person's work must be planned, supervised, and 

reviewed by a person who either (i) holds a an active Virginia 

license or (ii) holds the active license of another state and 

complies with the substantial equivalency provisions of § 54.1-

4411 of the Code of Virginia. 

18VAC5-22-170. Communication with the board.  

A. Pursuant to § 54.1-4425 of the Code of Virginia, each 

licensee or applicant shall respond within 30 calendar days to 

any board request for information regarding compliance with 

any statutes or regulations pertaining to the board or any of the 

programs that may be in another title of the Code of Virginia 

for which the board has regulatory responsibility. When the 

requested response is not produced by the licensee or applicant 

within 30 calendar days, this nonproduction shall be deemed a 

violation of this rule, unless otherwise determined by the 

board. 

B. Each holder of a Virginia license shall notify the board in 

writing within 30 calendar days of any: 

1. Any change in the holder's legal name or in the postal and 

electronic addresses where the person or firm may be 

reached; 

2. Any administrative disciplinary action that the holder is 

the subject of or party to before any court, agency of the state 

or federal government, branch of the armed forces of the 

United States of America, or before the American Institute 

of Certified Public Accountants, the Virginia Society of 

Certified Public Accountants, or their successors; 

3. Any conviction concerning a felony or misdemeanor, 

regardless of whether sentence is imposed, suspended, or 

executed; 

4. Any guilty plea or plea of nolo contendere; 

5. Any final judgment rendered against the holder in a civil 

court of law; or 

6. Any receipt of a peer review report or a PCAOB firm 

inspection report containing criticisms of or identifying 

potential defects in the firm's quality control systems. 

C. The board shall transmit license renewal notices 

electronically unless a person or firm is unable to communicate 

electronically. The responsibility for renewing a Virginia 

license is on its holder, and that responsibility is not affected 

by whether the holder receives a license renewal notice Upon 

the renewal, reinstatement of, or the application for a Virginia 

license each person or entity shall notify the board in writing if 

any of the sanctions in subsection B of this section have 

occurred. 

18VAC5-22-180. Issuance, renewal, and reinstatement of 

licenses.  

A. Any Virginia license issued, renewed, or reinstated on or 

after February 26, 2018, and on or before June 30, 2018, shall 

expire on June 30, 2019, and its holder shall pay the fee 
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prescribed in 18VAC5-22-20 upon submission of a completed 

license application.  

B. Any Virginia license expiring between July 31, 2018, and 

on or before March 31, 2019, that is renewed pursuant to this 

subsection shall expire on June 30, 2019. Any Virginia license 

expiring between April 30, 2019, and on or before May 31, 

2019, that is renewed pursuant to this subsection shall expire 

on June 30, 2020. 

1. A person who holds a Virginia license that expires 

between July 31, 2018, and May 31, 2019, shall pay a 

prorated renewal fee as prescribed in this subdivision upon 

submission of a completed license renewal application. 

Current Expiration 

Date Renewal Fee 

Expiration Date 

Following 

Renewal 

July 31, 2018 $55 June 30, 2019 

August 31, 2018 $50 June 30, 2019 

September 30, 2018 $45 June 30, 2019 

October 31, 2018 $40 June 30, 2019 

November 30, 2018 $35 June 30, 2019 

December 31, 2018 $30 June 30, 2019 

January 31, 2019 $25 June 30, 2019 

February 28, 2019 $20 June 30, 2019 

March 31, 2019 $15 June 30, 2019 

April 30, 2019 $60 June 30, 2020 

May 31, 2019 $60 June 30, 2020 

2. A firm that holds a Virginia license that expires between 

July 31, 2018, and May 31, 2019, shall pay a prorated 

renewal fee as prescribed in this subdivision upon 

submission of a completed license renewal application. 

Current Expiration 

Date Renewal Fee 

Expiration Date 

Following 

Renewal 

July 31, 2018 $68 June 30, 2019 

August 31, 2018 $62 June 30, 2019 

September 30, 

2018 

$56 June 30, 2019 

October 31, 2018 $50 June 30, 2019 

November 30, 2018 $43 June 30, 2019 

December 31, 2018 $37 June 30, 2019 

January 31, 2019 $31 June 30, 2019 

February 28, 2019 $25 June 30, 2019 

March 31, 2019 $18 June 30, 2019 

April 30, 2019 $75 June 30, 2020 

May 31, 2019 $75 June 30, 2020 

C. Any Virginia license issued or reinstated from July 1, 

2018, to on or before March 31, 2019, shall expire on June 30, 

2019, and its holder shall pay the fee prescribed in 18VAC5-

22-20 upon submission of a completed license application. 

Beginning April 1, 2019, any Virginia license issued or 

reinstated during the months of April, May, or June shall expire 

on June 30 of the succeeding calendar year, and its holder shall 

pay the fee prescribed in 18VAC5-22-20 upon submission of a 

completed license application. 

D. A. For Virginia licenses expiring on June 30, 2019, or 

later, the holder of a Virginia license shall annually renew his 

license on or before June 30 of each calendar year by 

submitting a completed license renewal application and paying 

to the board a renewal fee as prescribed in 18VAC5-22-20. 

B. If a person or entity applies for an initial license or 

reinstatement on or after March 1 of a calendar year, the license 

will not expire until June 30 of the following calendar year. 

C. The board shall transmit license renewal notices 

electronically unless a person or firm is unable to communicate 

electronically. The responsibility for renewing a Virginia 

license is on its holder, and that responsibility is not affected 

by whether the holder receives a license renewal notice. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R19-5755; Filed January 11, 2021, 8:26 a.m. 

BOARD OF AUDIOLOGY AND SPEECH-LANGUAGE 
PATHOLOGY 

Forms 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: Forms used in administering the 

regulation have been filed by the agency. The forms are not 

being published; however, online users of this issue of the 

Virginia Register of Regulations may click on the name of a 

form with a hyperlink to access it. The forms are also available 

from the agency contact or may be viewed at the Office of the 

Registrar of Regulations, 900 East Main Street, 11th Floor, 

Richmond, Virginia 23219.  

Title of Regulation: 18VAC30-21. Regulations Governing 

Audiology and Speech-Language Pathology.  

Agency Contact: Elaine Yeatts, Agency Regulatory 

Coordinator, Department of Health Professions, 9960 Mayland 

Drive, Henrico, VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-4688, FAX 

(804) 527-4434, or email elaine.yeatts@dhp.virginia.gov. 

FORMS (18VAC30-21) 

Instructions/Checklist and Application for Audiology or 

Speech-Language Pathology Licensure in Virginia (rev. 

3/2019) 

mailto:elaine.yeatts@dhp.virginia.gov
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Instructions/Checklist and Application for a Provisional 

License (rev. 3/2019) 

Instructions/Checklist and Application for a School Speech-

Language Pathologist without Virginia Board of Education 

Endorsement (rev. 3/2019) 

Instructions/Checklist and Application for a School Speech-

Language Pathologist with Virginia Board of Education 

Endorsement (rev. 3/2019) 

Instructions/Checklist and Application for Reinstatement of 

an Expired Virginia License (rev. 3/2019) 

Instructions/Checklist and Application for Reactivation of an 

Inactive Current License (rev. 3/2019) 

Licensure Verification Form (rev. 3/2019) 

Employment Verification Form (rev. 3/2019) 

Continuing Education Reporting Form (rev. 3/2017) 

Continuing Education (CE) Credit Form for Volunteer Practice 

(rev. 3/2019) 

Request for Verification of a Virginia License Form (rev. 

3/2019) 

Name/Address Change Form (rev. 3/2019) 

Sponsor Certification for Volunteer Registration Form (rev. 

3/2019) 

Application for Registration for Volunteer Practice (rev. 3/2019) 

Instructions/Checklist for Completing an Application to 

Practice as an Audiologist in Virginia (Includes Provisional for 

Re-entry Into Practice) (rev. 6/2020) 

Instructions/Checklist for Application for Provisional 

License to Practice as an Audiologist in Virginia (New 

Graduates Only) (rev. 6/2020) 

Instructions/Checklist for Application for Provisional 

License to Practice as a Speech-Language Pathologist in 

Virginia (New Graduates Only) (rev. 6/2020) 

Instructions/Checklist for Completing an Application to 

Practice as a School Speech-Language Pathologist in Virginia 

(rev. 6/2020) 

Instructions/Checklist for Reinstatement of an Expired 

License (rev. 6/2020) 

Instructions/Checklist for Reactivating a Current Inactive 

License (rev. 6/2020) 

Request for Verification of Out-of-State License (rev. 

6/2020) 

Employment Verification (rev. 6/2020) 

Continuing Education Reporting Form (rev. 6/2020) 

Continuing Education (CE) Credit Form for Volunteer 

Practice (rev. 6/2020) 

Request for Verification of a Virginia License (rev. 6/2020) 

Name/Address Change Form (rev. 6/2020) 

Sponsor Certification for Volunteer Registration (rev. 

6/2020) 

Application for Registration to Volunteer Practice (rev. 

6/2020) 

VA.R. Doc. No. R21-6617; Filed January 5, 2021, 2:04 p.m. 

BOARD OF DENTISTRY 

Forms 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: Forms used in administering the 

regulation have been filed by the agency. The forms are not 

being published; however, online users of this issue of the 

Virginia Register of Regulations may click on the name of a 

form with a hyperlink to access it. The forms are also available 

from the agency contact or may be viewed at the Office of the 

Registrar of Regulations, 900 East Main Street, 11th Floor, 

Richmond, Virginia 23219.  

Title of Regulation: 18VAC60-21. Regulations Governing 

the Practice of Dentistry.  

Agency Contact: Elaine Yeatts, Agency Regulatory 

Coordinator, Department of Health Professions, 9960 Mayland 

Drive, Henrico, VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-4688, FAX 

(804) 527-4434, or email elaine.yeatts@dhp.virginia.gov. 

FORMS (18VAC60-21) 

Instructions and Application for a Faculty License to Teach 

Dentistry (rev. 5/2019) 

Instructions and Application for Registration for Volunteer 

Dental Practice (rev. 5/2019) 

Instructions and Application for a Temporary Resident's License 

(rev. 5/2019) 

Instructions and Application for a Temporary Dental Permit (rev. 

5/2019) 

Instructions and Application for a Permit to Administer 

Moderate Sedation (rev. 5/2019) 

Instructions and Application for a Permit to Administer Deep 

Sedation/General Anesthesia (rev. 5/2019) 

Instructions and Application for Reinstatement of a Permit to 

Administer Moderate Sedation or Deep Sedation/General 

Anesthesia (rev. 5/2019) 

Instructions and Application for Certification to Perform 

Cosmetic Procedures (rev. 5/2019) 

Instructions and Application for Reinstatement of Certification 

to Perform Cosmetic Procedures (rev. 5/2019) 

https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC30/forms/Full%20Audiology%20App-20201229115139.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC30/forms/Full%20Audiology%20App-20201229115139.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC30/forms/Full%20Audiology%20App-20201229115139.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC30/forms/Audiology%20Provisional%20App-20201229115654.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC30/forms/Audiology%20Provisional%20App-20201229115654.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC30/forms/Audiology%20Provisional%20App-20201229115654.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC30/forms/SLP%20Provisional%20App-20201229120043.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC30/forms/SLP%20Provisional%20App-20201229120043.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC30/forms/SLP%20Provisional%20App-20201229120043.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC30/forms/School%20SLP%20Application%2006.09.20-20201229105518.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC30/forms/School%20SLP%20Application%2006.09.20-20201229105518.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC30/forms/School%20SLP%20Application%2006.09.20-20201229105518.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC30/forms/Reinstatement-20201229120505.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC30/forms/Reinstatement-20201229120505.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC30/forms/Reactivation-20201229120520.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC30/forms/Reactivation-20201229120520.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC30/forms/License%20Verification%2006.09.20-20201229110116.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC30/forms/License%20Verification%2006.09.20-20201229110116.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC30/forms/Employ%20Verif-20201229120826.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC30/forms/CE%20Reporting%20Form%2006.09.20-20201229110203.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC30/forms/CE%20Volunteer%20Practice%2006.09.20-20201229110218.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC30/forms/CE%20Volunteer%20Practice%2006.09.20-20201229110218.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC30/forms/VA%20Lic%20Verif-20201229120958.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC30/forms/Name.Address%20Change%2006.09.20-20201229110308.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC30/forms/Volunteer%20Sponsor%2006.09.20-20201229111618.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC30/forms/Volunteer%20Sponsor%2006.09.20-20201229111618.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC30/forms/App%20Volunteer%20Prac-20201229121157.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC30/forms/App%20Volunteer%20Prac-20201229121157.pdf
mailto:elaine.yeatts@dhp.virginia.gov
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Instructions and Application for Restricted Volunteer Dental 

License (rev. 5/2019) 

Instructions and Application for Oral and Maxillofacial Surgeon 

Registration of Practice (rev. 5/2019) 

Instructions and Application for Reinstatement of Oral and 

Maxillofacial Surgeon Registration of Practice (rev. 5/2019) 

Instructions and Application for Registration of a Mobile Dental 

Facility or Portable Dental Operation (rev. 5/2019) 

Instructions and Application for Reactivation of Dental License 

(rev. 5/2019) 

Instructions and Application for Reinstatement of Dental 

License (rev. 5/2019) 

Instructions for Filing Online Application for Licensure by 

Examination or Credentials for Dentists (rev. 4/2019) 

Instructions for a Faculty License to Teach Dentistry (rev. 

8/2020) 

Instructions for Registration for Volunteer Dental Practice 

(rev. 8/2020) 

Instructions for a Temporary Resident's License (rev. 8/2020) 

Instructions for a Temporary Dental Permit (rev. 8/2020) 

Application for a Permit to Administer Moderate Sedation 

(rev. 8/2020) 

Instructions for a Permit to Administer Deep 

Sedation/General Anesthesia (rev. 8/2020) 

Instructions for Reinstatement of a Permit to Administer 

Moderate Sedation or Deep Sedation/General Anesthesia (rev. 

8/2020) 

Instructions for Certification to Perform Cosmetic Procedures 

(rev. 8/2020) 

Instructions for Reinstatement of Certification to Perform 

Cosmetic Procedures (rev. 8/2020) 

Instructions for Restricted Volunteer Dental License (rev. 

8/2020) 

Instructions for Oral and Maxillofacial Surgeon Registration 

of Practice (rev. 8/2020) 

Instructions for Reinstatement of Oral and Maxillofacial 

Surgeon Registration of Practice (rev. 8/2020) 

Instructions for Registration of a Mobile Dental Facility or 

Portable Dental Operation (rev. 8/2020) 

Instructions for Reactivation of Dental License (rev. 8/2020) 

Instructions for Reinstatement of Dental License (rev. 

8/2020) 

Application Instructions for a Dental License (rev. 11/2020) 

VA.R. Doc. No. R21-6595; Filed January 5, 2021, 2:03 p.m. 

Forms 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: Forms used in administering the 

regulation have been filed by the agency. The forms are not 

being published; however, online users of this issue of the 

Virginia Register of Regulations may click on the name of a 

form with a hyperlink to access it. The forms are also available 

from the agency contact or may be viewed at the Office of the 

Registrar of Regulations, 900 East Main Street, 11th Floor, 

Richmond, Virginia 23219.  

Title of Regulation: 18VAC60-25. Regulations Governing 

the Practice of Dental Hygiene.  

Agency Contact: Elaine Yeatts, Agency Regulatory 

Coordinator, Department of Health Professions, 9960 Mayland 

Drive, Henrico, VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-4688, FAX 

(804) 527-4434, or email elaine.yeatts@dhp.virginia.gov. 

FORMS (18VAC60-25) 

Instructions for Filing Online Application for Licensure by 

Examination or Credentials for Dental Hygienists (rev. 5/2019) 

Instructions and Application for Registration for Dental 

Hygiene Volunteer Practice (rev. 5/2019) 

Instructions and Application for Reactivation of Dental 

Hygienist (rev. 5/2019) 

Instructions and Application for Reinstatement of Dental 

Hygienist License (rev. 5/2019) 

Instructions and Application for Restricted Volunteer Dental 

Hygiene License (rev. 5/2019) 

Instructions and Application for a Faculty License to Teach 

Dental Hygiene (rev. 5/2019) 

Instructions and Application for a Temporary Dental Hygiene 

Permit (rev. 5/2019) 

Continuing Education (CE) Credit Form for Volunteer 

Practice (rev. 5/2019) 

Application Instructions for Dental Hygienists (rev. 11/2020) 

Instructions for Registration for Dental Hygiene Volunteer 

Practice (rev. 8/2020) 

Instructions for Reactivation of Dental Hygienist License 

(rev. 8/2020) 

Instructions for Reinstatement of Dental Hygiene License 

(rev. 8/2020) 

Instructions for Restricted Volunteer Dental Hygiene License 

(rev. 8/2020) 

Instructions for a Faculty License to Teach Dental Hygiene 

(rev. 8/2020) 

Instructions for a Temporary Dental Hygiene Permit (rev. 

8/2020) 

https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC60/forms/FacultyApp_Dental-20201228153118.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC60/forms/FacultyApp_Dental-20201228153118.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC60/forms/Volunteer_Dental-20201228153147.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC60/forms/Volunteer_Dental-20201228153147.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC60/forms/TemporaryResidentApp-20201228153220.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC60/forms/App_Temporary_DentalPermit-20201228153243.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC60/forms/Moderate_Sedation_App-20201228153429.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC60/forms/Moderate_Sedation_App-20201228153429.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC60/forms/Deep_Sedation_App-20201228153454.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC60/forms/Deep_Sedation_App-20201228153454.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC60/forms/Reinstatement_Sedation-20201228153532.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC60/forms/Reinstatement_Sedation-20201228153532.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC60/forms/Reinstatement_Sedation-20201228153532.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC60/forms/Cosmetic_Certification-20201228153606.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC60/forms/Cosmetic_Certification-20201228153606.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC60/forms/Reinstatement%20of%20Certification%20to%20Perform%20Cosmetic%20Procedures-20201228165212.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC60/forms/Reinstatement%20of%20Certification%20to%20Perform%20Cosmetic%20Procedures-20201228165212.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC60/forms/Restricted_Volunteer_Dental-20201228153650.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC60/forms/Restricted_Volunteer_Dental-20201228153650.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC60/forms/OMS_App-20201228153719.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC60/forms/OMS_App-20201228153719.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC60/forms/Reinstatement_OMS-20201228153742.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC60/forms/Reinstatement_OMS-20201228153742.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC60/forms/Mobile_Facility_App-20201228153807.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC60/forms/Mobile_Facility_App-20201228153807.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC60/forms/Reactivation_Dentist-20201228153837.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC60/forms/Reinstatement_Dentist-20201228153857.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC60/forms/Reinstatement_Dentist-20201228153857.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC60/forms/Dentist_InstrForms-20201228153924.pdf
mailto:elaine.yeatts@dhp.virginia.gov
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC60/forms/DenHyg_InstrForms-20201228133340.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC60/forms/Volunteer_DentalHygiene-20201228133624.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC60/forms/Volunteer_DentalHygiene-20201228133624.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC60/forms/Reactivation_DentalHygienist-20201228133520.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC60/forms/Reactivation_DentalHygienist-20201228133520.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC60/forms/Reinstatement_DentalHygienist-20201228133539.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC60/forms/Reinstatement_DentalHygienist-20201228133539.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC60/forms/Restricted_Volunteer_DH-20201228133602.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC60/forms/Restricted_Volunteer_DH-20201228133602.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC60/forms/FacultyApp_DentalHygiene-20201228133455.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC60/forms/FacultyApp_DentalHygiene-20201228133455.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC60/forms/DentalHygiene_TemporaryPermit-20201228133410.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC60/forms/DentalHygiene_TemporaryPermit-20201228133410.pdf
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Continuing Education (CE) Credit Form for Volunteer 

Practice (rev. 5/2019) 

VA.R. Doc. No. R21-6610; Filed January 5, 2021, 2:02 p.m. 

Forms 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: Forms used in administering the 

regulation have been filed by the agency. The forms are not 

being published; however, online users of this issue of the 

Virginia Register of Regulations may click on the name of a 

form with a hyperlink to access it. The forms are also available 

from the agency contact or may be viewed at the Office of the 

Registrar of Regulations, 900 East Main Street, 11th Floor, 

Richmond, Virginia 23219.  

Title of Regulation: 18VAC60-30. Regulations Governing 

the Practice of Dental Assistants.  

Agency Contact: Elaine Yeatts, Agency Regulatory 

Coordinator, Department of Health Professions, 9960 Mayland 

Drive, Henrico, VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-4688, FAX 

(804) 527-4434, or email elaine.yeatts@dhp.virginia.gov. 

FORMS (18VAC60-30) 

Instructions and Application for Registration as a Dental 

Assistant II (rev.5/2019) 

Instructions and Application Reactivation of Dental Assistant 

II Registration (rev.5/2019) 

Instructions and Application for Reinstatement of Dental 

Assistant II Registration (rev.5/2019) 

Instructions for Registration of Dental Assistant II (rev. 

8/2020) 

Instructions for Reactivation of Dental Assistant II 

Registration (rev. 8/2020) 

Instructions for Reinstatement of Dental Assistant II 

Registration (rev. 8/2020) 

VA.R. Doc. No. R21-6609; Filed January 5, 2021, 2:03 p.m. 

BOARD OF FUNERAL DIRECTORS AND 
EMBALMERS 

Final Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC65-20. Regulations of the Board 

of Funeral Directors and Embalmers (amending 

18VAC65-20-10, 18VAC65-20-50, 18VAC65-20-60, 

18VAC65-20-70, 18VAC65-20-130, 18VAC65-20-151 

through 18VAC65-20-154, 18VAC65-20-170, 18VAC65-

20-171, 18VAC65-20-240, 18VAC65-20-400, 18VAC65-20-

435, 18VAC65-20-436, 18VAC65-20-440, 18VAC65-20-

500, 18VAC65-20-510, 18VAC65-20-580, 18VAC65-20-

700). 

Statutory Authority: §§ 54.1-2400 and 54.1-2803 of the Code 

of Virginia. 

Effective Date: March 3, 2021. 

Agency Contact: Corie Tillman Wolf, Executive Director, 

Board of Funeral Directors and Embalmers, 9960 Mayland 

Drive, Suite 300, Richmond, VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-

4479, FAX (804) 527-4471, or email fanbd@dhp.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendments clarify and update provisions and include 

(i) a new definition for "affiliation" of a branch to the main 

establishment, (ii) an allowance for newly licensed persons 

to be exempt from continuing education for the first renewal, 

(iii) an allowance for a funeral establishment experiencing 

an emergency to utilize the building in another 

establishment until restoration, (iv) a requirement for a 

registered surface transportation and removal service to 

hold liability insurance, (v) an allowance for a crematory to 

test operation of a retort before it is registered, and (vi) 

establishment of grounds for disciplinary action in the case 

of an inappropriate sexual relationship between a 

supervisor and funeral intern. 

Summary of Public Comments and Agency's Response: A 

summary of comments made by the public and the agency's 

response may be obtained from the promulgating agency or 

viewed at the office of the Registrar of Regulations. 

Chapter 20 

Regulations Governing the Practice of the Board of Funeral 

Directors and Embalmers Services 

18VAC65-20-10. Definitions. 

Words and terms used in this chapter shall have the 

definitions ascribed in § 54.1-2800 of the Code of Virginia or 

in 16 CFR Part 453, Funeral Industry Practices, of the Federal 

Trade Commission, which is incorporated by reference in this 

chapter. In addition, the following words and terms when used 

in this chapter shall have the following meanings unless the 

context clearly indicates otherwise: 

"Affiliation" or "affiliated" means a relationship involving a 

degree of common or subsidiary ownership between two 

establishments or entities.  

"Branch" or "chapel" means a funeral service establishment 

that is affiliated with a licensed main establishment and that 

conforms with the requirements of § 54.1-2811 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

"Courtesy card" means the card issued by the board which 

that grants limited and restricted funeral service privileges in 

the Commonwealth to out-of-state funeral service licensees, 

funeral directors, and embalmers. 

"Cremation container" means a container in which human 

remains are transported to the crematory and placed in the 

retort for cremation. 

"Cremation urn" means a wood, metal, stone, plastic, or 

composition container or a container of other material, which 

is designed for encasing cremated ashes. 

https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC60/forms/VolunteerPractice_CEForm-20201228133640.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC60/forms/VolunteerPractice_CEForm-20201228133640.pdf
mailto:elaine.yeatts@dhp.virginia.gov
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC60/forms/DentalAssistantII-20210114095540.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC60/forms/DentalAssistantII-20210114095540.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC60/forms/Reactivation-20210114095600.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC60/forms/Reactivation-20210114095600.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC60/forms/Reinstatement-20210114095613.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC60/forms/Reinstatement-20210114095613.pdf
mailto:fanbd@dhp.virginia.gov
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"Cremation vault" or "cremation outer burial container" 

means any container that is designed for encasement of an 

inner container or urn containing cremated ashes. Also known 

as a cremation box. 

"FTC" means the Federal Trade Commission. 

"Manager of record" means a funeral service licensee or 

licensed funeral director who is responsible for the direct 

supervision and management of a funeral service 

establishment or branch facility. 

18VAC65-20-50. Posting of license. 

A. Each licensee shall post an original or photocopy of his 

license in a place conspicuous to consumers of funeral services 

in each establishment or branch where he is employed 

practices. 

B. The establishment license shall be posted in a place 

conspicuous to consumers of funeral services. 

18VAC65-20-60. Accuracy of information. 

A. All changes in the address of record or the public address, 

if different from the address of record, or in the name of a 

licensee or registrant shall be furnished to the board within 30 

days after the change occurs. 

B. Any change in ownership or manager of record for an 

establishment or crematory shall be reported to the board 

within 14 days of the change. 

C. A surface transportation and removal service shall notify 

the board within 30 14 days of any change in the name of the 

manager on of record with the board. 

D. All notices required by law and by this chapter to be mailed 

provided by the board to any registrant or licensee shall be 

validly given when mailed to the latest address of record on file 

with the board and shall not relieve the licensee, funeral service 

intern, establishment, crematory, or firm of obligation to 

comply. Renewal notices may be mailed or sent electronically 

by the board. 

18VAC65-20-70. Required fees. 

A. The following fees shall apply for initial licensure or 

registration: 

1. License to practice funeral service or as a 

funeral director or an embalmer 

$325 

2. Funeral service establishment license $600 

3. Surface transportation and removal service 

registration 

$325 

4. Courtesy card $325 

5. Crematory $250 

6. Waiver of full-time manager requirement $150 

B. The following fees shall apply for renewal of licensure or 

registration: 

1. License to practice funeral service or as a 

funeral director or an embalmer 

$225 

2. Funeral service establishment license $400 

3. Surface transportation and removal service 

registration 

$300 

4. Courtesy card $300 

5. Crematory $200 

6. Waiver of full-time manager requirement $100 

7. Inactive funeral service, funeral director, 

or embalmer license 

$115 

C. The following fees shall apply for late renewal of licensure 

or registration up to one year following expiration: 

1. License to practice funeral service or as a 

funeral director or an embalmer 

$75 

2. Funeral service establishment license $135 

3. Surface transportation and removal service 

registration 

$100 

4. Courtesy card $100 

5. Crematory $75 

6. Waiver of full-time manager requirement $35 

7. Inactive funeral service, funeral director, 

or embalmer license 

$40 

D. The following fees shall apply for reinstatement of 

licensure or registration: 

1. License to practice funeral service or as a 

funeral director or an embalmer 

$400 

2. Establishment license $635 

3. Surface transportation and removal service 

registration 

$425 

4. Courtesy card $425 

5. Crematory $275 

6. Reinstatement following suspension $1,000 

7. Reinstatement following revocation $2,000 

E. Other fees. 

1. Change of manager or establishment name $100 

2. Verification of license or registration to 

another state 

$50 

3. Duplicate license, registration, or courtesy 

card 

$25 
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4. Duplicate wall certificates $60 

5. Change of ownership $100 

6. Nonroutine reinspection (i.e., structural 

change to preparation room, change of 

location or ownership) 

$400 

F. Fees for approval of continuing education providers. 

1. Application or renewal for continuing 

education provider 

$400 

2. Late renewal of continuing education 

provider approval 

$100 

3. Review of additional courses not included 

on initial or renewal application (per 

application for review of additional courses 

not per individual course) 

$300 

G. For each renewal in the two years after January 14, 2015, 

the following shortfall reduction fee shall be assessed:  

1. License to practice funeral service or as a 

funeral director or an embalmer 

$40 

2. Funeral service establishment license $75 

3. Surface transportation and removal service 

registration 

$60 

4. Courtesy card $60 

5. Crematory 

6. Continuing education provider 

$40 

$75  

18VAC65-20-130. Renewal of license; registration. 

A. A person, establishment, crematory, courtesy card holder, 

or surface transportation and removal service that desires to 

renew its license or registration for the next year shall, not later 

than the expiration date as provided in 18VAC65-20-120, 

submit the renewal form and applicable fee. 

1. In order to renew an active funeral service, funeral 

director, or embalmer license, a licensee shall be required to 

comply with continuing competency requirements set forth 

in 18VAC65-20-151. 

2. The board shall not renew a license for any licensee who 

fails to attest to compliance with continuing competency 

requirements on the renewal form. 

3. In order to renew a courtesy card, the courtesy card holder 

shall provide documentation of current, unrestricted 

licensure for funeral service, funeral directing, or embalming 

from the licensing authority in the states in which the 

courtesy card holder is licensed to practice. 

B. A person who or entity that desires to renew an expired 

license for up to one year following expiration shall comply 

with requirements of subsection A of this section and also 

submit the applicable fee for late renewal. 

C. A person who or entity which that fails to renew a license, 

registration, or courtesy card by the expiration dates prescribed 

in 18VAC65-20-120 shall be deemed to have an invalid 

license, registration, or courtesy card and continued practice 

may subject the licensee to disciplinary action by the board. 

18VAC65-20-151. Continued competency requirements for 

renewal of an active license. 

A. Funeral service licensees, funeral directors, or funeral 

embalmers shall be required to have completed a minimum of 

five hours per year of continuing education offered by a board-

approved sponsor for licensure renewal in courses that 

emphasize the ethics, standards of practice, preneed contracts, 

and funding, or federal or state laws and regulations governing 

the profession of funeral service. 

1. One hour per year shall cover compliance with laws and 

regulations governing the profession, and at least one hour 

per year shall cover preneed funeral arrangements. The one-

hour requirement on compliance with laws and regulations 

may be met once every two years by attendance at a meeting 

of the board or at a committee of the board or an informal 

conference or formal hearing. 

2. One hour of the five hours required for annual renewal 

may be satisfied through delivery of professional services, 

without compensation, to low-income individuals receiving 

health services through a local health department or a free 

clinic organized in whole or primarily for the delivery of 

those services. One hour of continuing education may be 

credited for one hour of providing such volunteer services, 

as documented by the health department or free clinic. For 

the purposes of continuing education credit for volunteer 

service, an approved sponsor shall be a local health 

department or free clinic. 

B. Courses must be directly related to the scope of practice of 

funeral service. Courses for which the principal purpose is to 

promote, sell, or offer goods, products, or services to funeral 

homes are not acceptable for the purpose of credit toward 

renewal. 

C. The board may grant an extension for good cause of up to 

one year for the completion of continuing education 

requirements upon written request from the licensee prior to 

the renewal date. Such extension shall not relieve the licensee 

of the continuing education requirement. 

D. The board may grant an exemption for all or part of the 

continuing education requirements for one renewal cycle due 

to circumstances determined by the board to be beyond the 

control of the licensee. 

E. A licensee shall be exempt from the continuing education 

requirements for the first renewal following the date of initial 

licensure by examination in Virginia. 
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18VAC65-20-152. Continuing education providers. 

A. Unless disqualified by action of the board, courses offered 

by the following providers are approved for continuing 

education credit: 

1. Local, state, or federal government agencies; 

2. Regionally accredited colleges and universities; or 

3. Board-recognized national, regional, state, and local 

associations or organizations as follows: 

a. National Funeral Directors Association and state 

chapters; 

b. National Funeral Directors and Morticians Association 

and state chapters; 

c. Association of Independent Funeral Homes of Virginia; 

d. Cremation Association of North America; 

e. American Board of Funeral Service Education; 

f. International Conference of Funeral Service Examining 

Boards; 

g. Virginia Morticians Association; and 

h. Other similar associations or organizations as approved 

by action of the board. 

B. Course providers not listed in subsection A of this section 

may apply for approval by the board as continuing education 

providers. 

1. To be considered for board approval, a continuing 

education provider shall submit 60 days prior to offering a 

continuing education course: 

a. Documentation of an instructional plan and course 

objectives for the continuing education courses course that 

meet meets the criteria set forth in 18VAC65-20-151 B; 

b. A syllabus of the course or courses to be offered with 

the credentials of the course instructors, a description of 

each session, including number of continuing education 

hours; and 

c. The continuing education provider fee set forth under 

18VAC65-20-70. 

2. Board approval of continuing education providers under 

this subsection shall expire on July 1 of each year and may 

be renewed upon resubmission of documentation on courses 

and instructors and the provider fee as required by the board. 

3. Continued Renewed approval of a continuing education 

provider may be granted without submission of the provider 

an additional course review fee if the provider submits a 

statement that courses and instructors offered for the coming 

year will not change from the previous year. If there will be 

additions or alterations to the continuing education offerings 

of a provider, resubmission of course documentation and a 

provider an additional course review fee is required. 

4. If additional courses are submitted for board approval 

beyond those courses submitted with an initial or renewal 

application, the continuing education provider shall remit 

the fee for review under 18VAC65-20-70. 

C. Continuing education providers approved under 

subsection A or B of this section shall: 

1. Maintain and provide to the board upon request 

documentation of the course titles and objectives and of 

licensee attendance and completion of courses for a period 

of two years; 

2. Monitor attendance at classroom or similar educational 

experiences for compliance with law and regulations; and 

3. Provide a certificate of completion for licensees who 

successfully complete a course. 

18VAC65-20-153. Documenting compliance with 

continuing education requirements. 

A. All licensees with active status are required to maintain 

original documentation of continuing education for a period of 

two years after the corresponding annual renewal period. 

B. After the end of each renewal period, the board may 

conduct a random audit of licensees to verify compliance with 

the requirement for that renewal period. 

C. Upon request, a licensee shall provide documentation 

within 14 days as follows: 

1. Official transcripts showing credit hours earned from an 

accredited institution; or 

2. Certificates of completion from approved providers. 

D. Compliance with continuing education requirements, 

including the subject and purpose of the courses as prescribed 

in 18VAC65-20-151 B, the maintenance of records and the 

relevance of the courses to the category of licensure is the 

responsibility of the licensee. The board may request additional 

information if such compliance is not clear from the transcripts 

or certificates. 

E. Continuing education hours required by disciplinary order 

shall not be used to satisfy renewal requirements. 

18VAC65-20-154. Inactive license. 

A. A funeral service licensee, a funeral director, or an 

embalmer who holds a current, unrestricted license in Virginia 

shall, upon a request for inactive status on the renewal 

application and submission of the required renewal fee of 

$115, be issued an inactive license. The fee for late renewal up 

to one year following expiration of an inactive license shall be 

$40. 

1. An inactive licensee shall not be entitled to perform any 

act requiring a license to practice funeral service in Virginia. 
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2. The holder of an inactive license shall not be required to 

meet continuing education requirements, except as may be 

required for reactivation in subsection B of this section. 

B. A funeral service licensee, a funeral director, or an 

embalmer who holds an inactive license may reactivate his 

license by: 

1. Paying the difference between the renewal fee for an 

inactive license and that of an active license for the year in 

which the license is being reactivated; and 

2. Providing proof of completion of the number of 

continuing competency hours required for the period in 

which the license has been inactive, not to exceed three 

years. 

18VAC65-20-170. Requirements for an establishment 

license. 

A. No person shall maintain, manage, or operate a funeral 

service establishment in the Commonwealth, unless such 

establishment holds a license issued by the board. The name of 

the funeral service licensee or licensed funeral director 

designated by the ownership to be manager of record for the 

establishment shall be included on the license. 

B. Except as provided in § 54.1-2810 of the Code of Virginia, 

every funeral service establishment and every branch or chapel 

of such establishment, regardless of how owned, shall have a 

separate manager of record who has responsibility for the 

establishment as prescribed in 18VAC65-20-171. The owner 

of the establishment shall not abridge the authority of the 

manager of record relating to compliance with the laws 

governing the practice of funeral services and regulations of 

the board. 

C. At least 30 days prior to opening an establishment, an 

owner or licensed manager seeking an establishment license 

shall submit simultaneously a completed application, any 

additional documentation as may be required by the board to 

determine eligibility, and the applicable fee. An incomplete 

package will be returned to the licensee. A license shall not be 

issued until an inspection of the establishment has been 

completed and approved. 

D. Within 30 days following a change of ownership, the 

owner or licensed manager shall request a reinspection of the 

establishment, submit an application for a new establishment 

license with documentation that identifies the new owner, and 

pay the licensure and reinspection fees as required by 

18VAC65-20-70. Reinspection of the establishment may occur 

on a schedule determined by the board, but shall occur no later 

than one year from the date of the change. 

E. The application for licensure of a branch or chapel shall 

specify the name of the main establishment and contain an 

attestation of the affiliation of the branch or chapel and the 

main establishment. 

F. In the event of an emergency requiring the evacuation or 

discontinued use of a funeral establishment, the impacted 

establishment may be approved by the board to continue 

operations out of another licensed funeral establishment for a 

period of no more than 60 days. The impacted establishment 

may request an extension of emergency operations for an 

additional 30 days upon good cause shown. In requesting 

approval for conducting emergency operations under this 

section, the impacted funeral establishment shall submit 

documentation that identifies the manager of record for both 

the impacted establishment and establishment for emergency 

operations and any agreement for emergency usage.  

18VAC65-20-171. Responsibilities of the manager of 

record. 

A. Every funeral establishment shall have a manager of 

record who is employed full time by and in charge of the 

establishment. 

B. The manager shall be fully accountable for the operation 

of the establishment as it pertains to the laws and regulations 

governing the practice of funeral services, to include but not be 

limited to: 

1. Maintenance of the facility within standards established 

in this chapter; 

2. Retention of reports and documents as prescribed by the 

board in 18VAC65-20-700 during the period in which he 

serves as manager of record; and 

3. Reporting to the board of any changes in information as 

required by 18VAC65-20-60; and 

4. Correcting or seeking corrections of any deficiencies 

identified during the course of an inspection of the 

establishment. 

18VAC65-20-240. Requirements for funeral service 

licensure by examination. 

A. Application requirements. 1. Applicants shall submit 

official mortuary school transcripts and national examination 

board scores as part of an application package, including the 

required fee and any additional documentation as may be 

required to determine eligibility. 

2. An individual applying for the state examination shall 

submit the application package not less than 30 days prior to 

an examination date. The board may, for good cause shown 

by the applicant, waive the time for the filing of any 

application.  

B. National examination requirements. Prior to applying for 

licensure by examination, every applicant shall pass the 

National Board Examination of the International Conference 

of Funeral Service Examining Boards. 

C. State examination requirements. All applicants shall pass 

the Virginia State Board Examination. 
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18VAC65-20-400. Registration of surface transportation 

and removal services. 

All persons applying to own or operate a surface 

transportation and removal service, according to requirements 

of § 54.1-2819 of the Code of Virginia, shall submit an 

application package for registration which shall include: 

1. A completed and signed application; 

2. The fee prescribed in 18VAC65-20-70 A 3; 

3. Additional documentation as may be required by the 

board to determine eligibility of the applicant, including, but 

not limited to, evidence of training of the service manager 

and staff in compliance with standards of the Occupational 

Safety and Health Administration (OSHA) for universal 

precautions and blood-borne bloodborne pathogens, and 

proof of bonding or liability insurance coverage related to 

the operation of the service; and 

4. The name of the manager for the service. 

18VAC65-20-435. Registration of crematories. 

A. At least 30 days prior to opening a crematory, any person 

intending to own or operate a crematory shall apply for 

registration with the board by submitting a completed 

application and fee as prescribed in 18VAC65-20-70. The 

name of the individual designated by the ownership to be the 

crematory manager shall be included on the application. The 

owner of the crematory shall not abridge the authority of the 

crematory manager relating to compliance with the laws 

governing the practice of funeral services and regulations of 

the board. The designated crematory manager may be the 

manager of record of a funeral establishment colocated on the 

same premises. 

B. Every crematory, regardless of how owned, shall have a 

manager who has (i) achieved certification by the Cremation 

Association of North America (CANA); the International 

Cemetery, Cremation and Funeral Association (ICCFA); or 

other certification recognized by the board and (ii) received 

training in compliance with standards of the Occupational 

Health and Safety Administration (OSHA) for universal 

precautions and blood-borne bloodborne pathogens. 

C. The manager shall be fully accountable for the operation 

of the crematory as it pertains to the laws and regulations 

governing the practice of funeral services, to include but not be 

limited to: 

1. Maintenance of the facility within standards established 

in this chapter; 

2. Retention of reports and documents as prescribed by the 

board in 18VAC65-20-436 during the period in which he 

serves as crematory manager; and 

3. Reporting to the board of any changes in information as 

required by 18VAC65-20-60. 

D. All persons who operate the retort in a crematory shall 

have certification by the Cremation Association of North 

America (CANA); the International Cemetery, Cremation and 

Funeral Association (ICCFA); or other certification recognized 

by the board. Persons receiving training toward certification to 

operate a retort shall be allowed to work under the supervision 

of an operator who holds certification for a period not to exceed 

six months. 

E. A crematory providing cremation services directly to the 

public shall also be licensed as a funeral service establishment 

or shall be a branch of a licensed establishment. 

F. When a crematory application is pending and the conduct 

of a cremation is necessary to ensure the proper function of 

retort equipment, the board may authorize the crematory to 

conduct a test cremation prior to registration. Once the 

crematory equipment is deemed functional and an initial 

crematory inspection is completed, the board may issue the 

crematory a registration to operate. 

G. The board may take disciplinary action against a crematory 

registration for a violation of § 54.1-2818.1 of the Code of 

Virginia or for the inappropriate handling of dead human 

bodies or remains. 

18VAC65-20-436. Standards for registered crematories or 

funeral establishments relating to cremation. 

A. Authorization to cremate. 

1. A crematory shall require a cremation authorization form 

executed in person or electronically in a manner that 

provides a copy of an original signature in accordance with 

§ 54.1-2818.1 of the Code of Virginia. 

2. The cremation authorization form shall include an 

attestation of visual identification of the deceased from a 

viewing of the remains or a photograph of the remains 

signed by the person making the identification. Visual 

identification may be made by viewing unique identifiers or 

markings on the remains. The identification attestation shall 

either be given on the cremation authorization form or on an 

identification form attached to the cremation authorization 

form. 

3. In the event visual identification is not feasible, a 

crematory may use other positive identification of the 

deceased in consultation with law enforcement, a medical 

examiner, or medical personnel as a prerequisite for 

cremation pursuant to § 54.1-2818.1 of the Code of Virginia. 

B. Standards for cremation. The following standards shall be 

required for every crematory: 

1. Every crematory shall provide evidence at the time of an 

inspection of a permit to operate issued by the Department 

of Environmental Quality (DEQ). 
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2. A crematory shall not knowingly cremate a body with a 

pacemaker, defibrillator, or other potentially hazardous 

implant in place. 

3. A crematory shall not cremate the human remains of more 

than one person simultaneously in the same chamber of the 

retort or cremation unit, unless the crematory has received 

specific written authorization to do so from the person 

signing the cremation authorization form. 

4. A crematory shall not cremate nonhuman remains in a 

retort permitted by DEQ for cremation of human remains. 

5. Whenever a crematory is unable to cremate the remains 

within 24 hours upon taking custody thereof, the crematory 

shall maintain the remains in refrigeration at approximately 

40° Fahrenheit or less, unless the remains have been 

embalmed. 

C. Handling of human remains. 

1. Human remains shall be transported to a crematory in a 

cremation container and shall not be removed from the 

container unless the crematory has been provided with 

written instructions to the contrary by the person who signed 

the authorization form. A cremation container shall 

substantially meet all the following standards: 

a. Be composed of readily combustible materials suitable 

for cremation; 

b. Be able to be closed in order to provide complete 

covering for the human remains; 

c. Be resistant to leakage or spillage; and 

d. Be rigid enough for handling with ease. 

2. No crematory shall require that human remains be placed 

in a casket before cremation nor shall it require that the 

cremains be placed in a cremation urn, cremation vault, or 

receptacle designed to permanently encase the cremains 

after cremation. Cremated remains shall be placed in a 

plastic bag inside a rigid container provided by the 

crematory or by the next-of-kin next of kin for return to the 

funeral establishment or to the next-of-kin next of kin. If 

cremated remains are placed in a biodegradable container, a 

biodegradable bag shall be used. If placed in a container 

designed for scattering, the cremated remains may be placed 

directly into the container if the next-of-kin next of kin so 

authorized in writing. 

3. The identification of the decedent shall be physically 

attached to the remains, and appropriate identification 

placed on the exterior of the cremation container. The 

crematory operator shall verify the identification on the 

remains with the identification attached to the cremation 

container and with the identification attached to the 

cremation authorization. The crematory operator shall also 

verify the identification of the cremains and place evidence 

of such verification in the cremation record. 

D. Recordkeeping. A crematory shall maintain the records of 

cremation for a period of three years from the date of the 

cremation that indicate the name of the decedent, the date and 

time of the receipt of the body, and the date and time of the 

cremation and shall include: 

1. The cremation authorization form signed by the person 

authorized by law to dispose of the remains and the form on 

which the next-of-kin next of kin or the person authorized 

by § 54.1-2818.1 of the Code of Virginia to make the 

identification has made a visual identification of the 

deceased or evidence of positive identification if visual 

identification is not feasible; 

2. The permission form from the medical examiner; 

3. The DEQ permit number of the retort used for the 

cremation and the name of the retort operator; and 

4. The form verifying the release of the cremains, including 

date and time of release, the name of the person and the 

entity to whom the cremains were released, and the name of 

the decedent. 

18VAC65-20-440. Courtesy cards. 

A. An out-of-state person applying for a courtesy card 

pursuant to § 54.1-2801 B of the Code of Virginia shall hold a 

valid license for funeral service, funeral directing, or 

embalming in another state, territory, or the District of 

Columbia. 

B. An applicant for a courtesy card shall submit: 

1. A completed application and prescribed fee; and 

2. Verification of a current, unrestricted licensure for funeral 

service license in good standing from the applicant's 

licensing authority, funeral directing, or embalming from the 

licensing authorities in the states in which the courtesy card 

holder is licensed to practice. 

C. The holder of a Virginia courtesy card shall only engage in 

the practice for which he is currently licensed in another 

jurisdiction. The privilege to practice shall not include the right 

to establish or engage generally in the business of funeral 

directing and embalming in Virginia. 

18VAC65-20-500. Disciplinary action. 

Part VI  

Refusal, Suspension, Revocation, and Disciplinary Action 

In accordance with the provisions of § 54.1-2806 of the Code 

of Virginia, the following practices are considered 

unprofessional conduct and may subject the licensee to 

disciplinary action by the board: 

1. Breach of confidence. The unnecessary or unwarranted 

disclosure of confidences by the funeral licensee. 

2. Unfair competition. 
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a. Interference by a funeral service licensee, funeral 

director, or registered surface transportation and removal 

service when another has been called to take charge of a 

dead human body and the caller or agent of the caller has 

the legal right to the body's disposition. 

b. Consent by a funeral service licensee or funeral director 

to take charge of a body unless authorized by the person 

or his agent having the legal right to disposition. 

3. False advertising. 

a. No licensee or registrant shall make, publish, 

disseminate, circulate, or place before the public, or cause 

directly or indirectly to be made, an advertisement of any 

sort regarding services or anything so offered to the public 

which that contains any promise, assertion, representation, 

or statement of fact which is untrue, deceptive, or 

misleading. 

b. The following practices, both written and verbal, shall 

constitute false, deceptive, or misleading advertisement 

within the meaning of subdivision 4 of § 54.1-2806 of the 

Code of Virginia: 

(1) Advertising containing inaccurate statements; and 

(2) Advertisement which gives a false impression as to 

ability, care, and cost of conducting a funeral, or that 

creates an impression of things not likely to be true. 

c. The following practices are among those which that 

shall constitute an untrue, deceptive, and misleading 

representation or statement of fact: 

(1) Representing that funeral goods or services will delay 

the natural decomposition of human remains for a long 

term or indefinite time; and 

(2) Representing that funeral goods have protective 

features or will protect the body from gravesite substances 

over or beyond that offered by the written warranty of the 

manufacturer. 

4. Inappropriate handling and storage of dead human bodies, 

consistent with § 54.1-2811.1 of the Code of Virginia and 

regulations of the board. Transportation and removal 

vehicles shall be of such nature as to eliminate exposure of 

the deceased to the public during transportation. During the 

transporting of a human body, consideration shall be taken 

to avoid unnecessary delays or stops during travel. 

5. Failure to furnish price information disclosing the cost to 

the purchaser for each of the specific funeral goods and 

funeral services used in connection with the disposition of 

deceased human bodies. 

6. Conducting the practice of funeral services in such a 

manner as to constitute a danger to the health, safety, and 

well-being of the staff or the public. 

7. Inability to practice with skill or safety because of 

physical, mental, or emotional illness, or substance abuse. 

8. Failure to register as a supervisor for a funeral service 

intern or failure to provide reports to the board as required 

by the Code of Virginia and 18VAC65-40-320. 

9. Failure to comply with applicable federal and state laws 

and regulations, including requirements for continuing 

education. 

10. Inappropriate sexual contact between a supervisor and a 

funeral service intern if the sexual contact is a result of the 

exploitation of trust, knowledge, or influence derived from 

the professional relationship or if the contact has had or is 

likely to have an adverse effect on the practice of funeral 

services or on intern training.  

18VAC65-20-510. Embalming. 

Part VII  

Standards for Embalming and Refrigeration 

A. In accordance with the provisions of subdivision 26 of 

§ 54.1-2806 and subsection B of § 54.1-2811.1 of the Code of 

Virginia, express permission by a next of kin for embalming 

means written authorization to embalm as a specific and 

separate statement on a document or contract provided by the 

funeral establishment. Express permission may include direct, 

verbal authorization to embalm, provided it is followed as soon 

as possible by a written document or statement signed by the 

next of kin confirming the verbal authorization to embalm and 

including the time, date, and name of the person who gave 

verbal authorization. 

B. Every funeral establishment shall record and maintain a 

separate, identifiable report for each embalming procedure 

conducted, which shall at a minimum include the following 

information: 

1. The name of the deceased and the date of death; 

2. The date and location of the embalming; 

3. The name and signature of the embalmer and the Virginia 

license number of the embalmer; and 

4. If the embalming was performed by a funeral service 

intern, the name and signature of the supervisor; and 

5. The name of each student and the signature of the 

supervisor of any mortuary science student who assisted in 

the embalming. 

18VAC65-20-580. Preparation room equipment. 

The preparation room or rooms shall be equipped with: 

1. A ventilation system which operates and is appropriate to 

the size and function of the room; 

2. Running hot and cold water; 

3. Flush or slop sink connected with public sewer or with 

septic tank where no public sewer is available; 

4. Metal, fiberglass, or porcelain morgue table; 



Regulations 

Volume 37, Issue 12  Virginia Register of Regulations  February 1, 2021 

1287 

5. Covered waste container; 

6. Instruments and apparatus for the embalming process; 

7. A means or method for the sterilization or disinfection of 

reusable instruments by chemical bath or soak; autoclave 

(steam); or ultraviolet light; 

8. Disinfectants and antiseptic solutions; 

9. Clean gowns or aprons, preferably impervious to water; 

10. Rubber gloves for each embalmer or, intern, or student 

using the room; 

11. An electric aspirator or hydroaspirator equipped with a 

vacuum breaker; 

12. An eye wash station that is readily accessible; and 

13. A standard first aid kit, which that is immediately 

accessible, either in the preparation room or outside the door 

to the preparation room. 

18VAC65-20-700. Retention of documents. 

A. The following retention schedule shall apply: 

1. Price lists shall be retained for three years after the date 

on which they are no longer effective; 

2. Itemized statements shall be retained for three years 

from the date on which the arrangements were made; and 

3. Embalming reports shall be retained at the location of 

the embalming for three years after the date of the 

embalming. 

B. The manager of record shall be responsible for retention 

and maintenance of all required documents. 

C. Documents shall be maintained on the premises of the 

funeral establishment and made available for inspection. 

D. In instances where the funeral establishment is sold, 

documents shall be transferred to the new owner, unless the 

existing firm is relocating to a new facility. The new owner 

shall retain transferred documents in accordance with the 

provisions of this section. When transferred documents include 

preneed contracts, the documents shall be retained and 

maintained in accordance with the provisions of the Code of 

Virginia and regulations of the board.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R19-5988; Filed January 1, 2021, 6:05 p.m. 

Forms 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: Forms used in administering the 

regulation have been filed by the agency. The forms are not 

being published; however, online users of this issue of the 

Virginia Register of Regulations may click on the name of a 

form with a hyperlink to access it. The forms are also available 

from the agency contact or may be viewed at the Office of the 

Registrar of Regulations, 900 East Main Street, 11th Floor, 

Richmond, Virginia 23219.  

Title of Regulation: 18VAC65-20. Regulations of the Board 

of Funeral Directors and Embalmers.  

Agency Contact: Elaine Yeatts, Agency Regulatory 

Coordinator, Department of Health Professions, 9960 Mayland 

Drive, Henrico, VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-4688, FAX 

(804) 527-4434, or email elaine.yeatts@dhp.virginia.gov. 

FORMS (18VAC65-20) 

Funeral Service Licensee Application (rev. 3/2018) 

Application for Reinstatement as a Funeral Service License 

(rev. 3/2018) 

Verification of State Licensure Form (rev. 3/2018) 

Courtesy Card Application (rev. 3/2018) 

Surface Transportation and Removal Services Application 

(rev. 3/2018) 

Crematory Registration Application (rev. 9/2018) 

Continuing Education Provider Application (rev. 3/2018) 

Continuing Education Summary Form (rev. 8/2016) 

Continuing Education Provider Application for Approval of 

Additional Courses (rev. 3/2018) 

Continuing Education Renewal Form (rev. 3/2018) 

Continuing Education Credit for Volunteer Practice (rev. 

2/2018) 

Funeral Service Establishment Application (rev. 9/2018) 

Branch Establishment Application (rev. 9/2018) 

Application for Notification of Establishment Changes (rev. 

9/2018) 

Application for Change of Manager - Funeral Establishment 

(rev. 3/2018) 

Request for Reinspection - Structural Change of 

Establishment (rev. 3/2018) 

Waiver of Full-Time Manager Application (rev. 7/2019) 

Application for Reinstatement Funeral Service Establishment 

(rev. 3/2018) 

Application for Reinstatement of Courtesy Card (rev. 3/2018) 

Checklist and Instructions for Funeral Service Licensee (rev. 

7/2020) 

Funeral Service License Reinstatement Application (rev. 

7/2020) 

Request for Verification of a Virginia Funeral License (rev. 

11/2019) 

Checklist and Instructions for Courtesy Card Application 

(rev. 8/2020) 

mailto:elaine.yeatts@dhp.virginia.gov
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC65/forms/CheckInstr_Licensee-20210104103853.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC65/forms/CheckInstr_Licensee-20210104103853.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC65/forms/FSL_Reinstatement-20210104103915.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC65/forms/FSL_Reinstatement-20210104103915.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC65/forms/Req_Verif_VA-20210104103943.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC65/forms/Req_Verif_VA-20210104103943.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC65/forms/CheckInstr_CourtesyCard-20210104104007.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC65/forms/CheckInstr_CourtesyCard-20210104104007.pdf
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Checklist and Instructions for Surface Transportation and 

Removal Service Registration Application (rev. 7/2020) 

Checklist and Instructions for Crematory Registration 

Application (rev. 7/2020) 

Checklist and Instructions for Continuing Education 

Providers (rev. 7/2020) 

Instructions for Completing the Continuing Education 

Summary Form for The Virginia Board of Funeral Directors 

and Embalmers (rev. 8/2016) 

Instructions for Continuing Education Providers Adding 

Additional Courses (rev. 3/2018) 

Continuing Education Provider Renewal Form (rev. 3/2018) 

Continuing Education (CE) Credit Form for Volunteer 

Practice (rev. 7/2020) 

Continued Competency Activity and Assessment Form (rev. 

7/2012) 

Funeral Service New Establishment Application (rev. 

7/2020) 

Funeral Service Establishment/Branch Application (rev. 

7/2020) 

Funeral Service Establishment/Branch Change Application 

(rev. 7/2020) 

Funeral Establishment or Branch Change of Manager 

Application (rev. 3/2018) 

Request for Reinspection due to Structural Change to 

Preparation Room (rev. 7/2020) 

Waiver of Full-Time Manager (rev. 7/2020) 

Funeral Service Establishment Reinstatement Application 

(rev. 7/2020) 

Courtesy Card Reinstatement Application (rev. 7/2020) 

Appendix I. General Price List (rev. 10/2019) 

Appendix II. Casket Price List, Outer Burial Container Price 

List (rev. 10/2019) 

Appendix III. Itemized Statement of Funeral Goods and 

Services Selected (rev. 10/2019) 

VA.R. Doc. No. R21-6630; Filed January 5, 2021, 2:31 p.m. 

Final Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC65-30. Regulations for Preneed 

Funeral Planning (amending 18VAC65-30-10, 18VAC65-

30-50, 18VAC65-30-60, 18VAC65-30-70, 18VAC65-30-90, 

18VAC65-30-110, 18VAC65-30-180, 18VAC65-30-220, 

18VAC65-30-230). 

Statutory Authority: §§ 54.1-2400 and 54.1-2803 of the Code 

of Virginia. 

Effective Date: March 3, 2021. 

Agency Contact: Corie Tillman Wolf, Executive Director, 

Board of Funeral Directors and Embalmers, 9960 Mayland 

Drive, Suite 300, Richmond, VA 23233-1463, telephone (804) 

367-4546, FAX (804) 527-4637, or email 

corie.wolf@dhp.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendments include (i) prohibiting a funeral service 

intern from engaging in preneed planning or sales, (ii) 

clarifying and adding disclosures of information regarding 

the content of a preneed contract, (iii) increasing the 

retention period for preneed contract documentation to 

three years, and (iv) specifying requirements for notification 

to the Board of Funeral Directors and Embalmers and each 

contract buyer when a funeral home closes or changes 

ownership. 

Summary of Public Comments and Agency's Response: No 

public comments were received by the promulgating agency. 

18VAC65-30-10. Definitions. 

In addition to those defined in § 54.1-2800 of the Code of 

Virginia, the following words and terms when used in this 

chapter shall have the following meanings unless the context 

clearly indicates otherwise: 

"Appointee" means the individual selected by the contract 

beneficiary to arrange a preneed funeral plan on behalf of the 

contract beneficiary. 

"Capper," "steerer," or "shill" means a person who serves to 

entice another to purchase a product or to direct the course of 

action and choice of the buyer in a preneed funeral contract 

sale.  

"Cash advance item" means any item of service or 

merchandise described to a purchaser as a "cash advance," 

"accommodation," "cash disbursement," or similar term. A 

cash advance item is also any item obtained from a third party 

and paid for by the funeral provider on the behalf of the 

contract buyer. Cash advance items may include, but are not 

limited to, cemetery or crematory services, pallbearers, public 

transportation, clergy honoraria, flowers, musicians or singers, 

nurses, obituary notices, gratuities, and death certificates. 

"Consideration," "contract price," or "funds" means money, 

property, or any other thing of value provided to be 

compensation to a contract seller or contract provider for the 

funeral services and funeral goods to be performed or furnished 

under a preneed funeral contract. Consideration does not 

include late payment penalties and payments required to be 

made to a governmental agency at the time the contract is 

entered into. 

"Contract" means a written, preneed funeral contract, and all 

documents pertinent to the terms of the contract under which, 

for consideration paid to a contract seller or a contract provider 

by or on behalf of a contract buyer prior to the death of the 

https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC65/forms/CheckInstr_SurfaceTrans-20210104104120.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC65/forms/CheckInstr_SurfaceTrans-20210104104120.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC65/forms/CheckInstr_Crematory-20210104105800.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC65/forms/CheckInstr_Crematory-20210104105800.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC65/forms/CheckInstr_CEProviders-20210104105940.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC65/forms/CheckInstr_CEProviders-20210104105940.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC65/forms/Instr_CESummary-20210104110108.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC65/forms/Instr_CESummary-20210104110108.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC65/forms/Instr_CESummary-20210104110108.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC65/forms/Instr_CEProvidersAdding-20210104110311.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC65/forms/Instr_CEProvidersAdding-20210104110311.pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=70514006212~10p.pdf&typ=40&actno=006212&mime=application/pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC65/forms/CE_VolunteerPractice-20210104110514.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC65/forms/CE_VolunteerPractice-20210104110514.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC65/forms/ContComp_Activity-20210104110618.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC65/forms/ContComp_Activity-20210104110618.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC65/forms/FunServ_NewEstab-20210104110942.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC65/forms/FunServ_NewEstab-20210104110942.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC65/forms/FunServ_Branch-20210104111025.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC65/forms/FunServ_Branch-20210104111025.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC65/forms/EstabBranch_Change-20210104111145.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC65/forms/EstabBranch_Change-20210104111145.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC65/forms/ChangeofManagerApp-20210104112352.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC65/forms/ChangeofManagerApp-20210104112352.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC65/forms/Req_Reinspection-20210104112416.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC65/forms/Req_Reinspection-20210104112416.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC65/forms/Waiver_FTManager-20210104112451.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC65/forms/Estab_Reinstatement-20210104112847.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC65/forms/Estab_Reinstatement-20210104112847.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC65/forms/Courtesy_Reinstatement-20210104112929.pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/pdfs/6410/1036f006410~11.pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=3886b006212~219.pdf&typ=40&actno=006212&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=3886b006212~219.pdf&typ=40&actno=006212&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=915b2006212~229.pdf&typ=40&actno=006212&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=915b2006212~229.pdf&typ=40&actno=006212&mime=application/pdf
mailto:corie.wolf@dhp.virginia.gov
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contract beneficiary, a person promises to furnish, make 

available, or provide funeral services or funeral goods after the 

death of a contract beneficiary. 

"Contract beneficiary" means the individual for whom the 

funeral services and supplies are being arranged. 

"Contract buyer" means the purchaser of the preneed contract. 

"Contract provider" means the funeral establishment 

designated by the contract buyer and contracting with the 

contract buyer to provide for funeral services and supplies in 

the preneed funeral contract. 

"Contract seller" means the funeral service licensee who 

makes the preneed arrangements with the contract buyer for 

the funeral service and who makes the financial arrangements 

for the service and the goods and supplies to be provided. 

"Designee" means the individual designated to make 

arrangements for burial or final disposition of the remains 

pursuant to § 54.1-2825 of the Code of Virginia. 

"Funding source" means the trust agreement, insurance 

policy, annuity, personal property, or real estate used to fund 

the preneed plan. 

"Funeral supplies and services" means the items of 

merchandise sold or offered for sale or lease to consumers that 

will be used in connection with a funeral or an alternative to a 

funeral or final disposition of human remains including 

caskets, combination units, and catafalques. Funeral goods 

does not mean land or interests in land, crypts, lawn crypts, 

mausoleum crypts, or niches that are sold by a cemetery that 

complies with Chapter 23.1 (§ 54.1-2310 et seq.) of Title 54.1 

of the Code of Virginia. In addition, "funeral supplies and 

services" does not mean cemetery burial vaults or other outside 

containers, markers, monuments, urns, and merchandise items 

used for the purpose of memorializing a decedent and placed 

on or in proximity to a place of interment or entombment of a 

casket, catafalque, or vault or to a place of inurnment that are 

sold by a cemetery operating in accordance with Chapter 23.1 

of Title 54.1 of the Code of Virginia. 

"Guaranteed contract price" means (i) the amount paid by the 

contract buyer on a preneed funeral contract, and income 

derived from that amount, or (ii) the amount paid by a contract 

buyer for a life insurance policy or annuity as the funding 

source and its increasing death benefit. These amounts shall be 

accepted as payment in full for the preselected funeral goods 

and services. 

"Income" means the amount of gain received in a period of 

time from investment of consideration paid for a preneed 

contract. 

"Nonguaranteed contract price" means the costs of items on a 

preneed funeral contract that are not fixed for the specified 

funeral goods or funeral services selected and nonguaranteed 

costs may increase from the date of the contract to the death of 

the contract beneficiary and the family or estate will be 

responsible for paying at the time of need for the services and 

supplies that were nonguaranteed. Cash advance items are not 

guaranteed. 

18VAC65-30-50. Solicitation. 

A. In accordance with provisions of § 54.1-2806 of the Code 

of Virginia, a licensee shall not initiate any preneed solicitation 

using in-person communication by the licensee, or his agents, 

assistants, or employees. 

B. After a request to discuss preneed planning is initiated by 

the contract buyer or interested consumer, any contact and in-

person communication shall take place only with a funeral 

service licensee [ or a licensed funeral director ]. Funeral 

service interns shall not engage in preneed planning or sales. 

18VAC65-30-60. Records; general. 

A. A licensee shall keep accurate accounts, books, and 

records of all transactions required by this chapter. 

B. Preneed contracts and reporting documents shall be 

retained on the premises of the establishment for one year three 

years after the death of the contract beneficiary. 

C. A funeral home shall keep on file a written verification 

from the insurance company that the insurance or annuity 

contract complies with § 54.1-2820 C of the Code of Virginia. 

D. All preneed records shall be available for inspection by the 

Department of Health Professions. 

18VAC65-30-70. Record reporting. 

A. A contract provider shall keep a chronological or an 

alphabetical listing of all preneed contracts. The listing shall 

include the following: 

1. Name of contract buyer; 

2. Name of contract beneficiary; 

3. Date of contract; 

4. How contract was funded, where the contract is funded, 

and where the funds are maintained; 

5. Whether up to 10% of funds are retained by the contract 

provider for contracts funded through trust; and 

6. Whether funeral goods and supplies are stored for the 

contract buyer. 

B. A contract provider who that discontinues its business 

operations, whether by closure or change of ownership, shall 

notify the board and each existing contract buyer in writing. in 

accordance with the following provisions: 

1. A contract provider that discontinues its business 

operations by closure shall: 

a. Provide to the board a current list of preneed contracts 

at the time of closure; and 
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b. Notify each existing contract buyer in writing prior to 

closure and include a statement in the notification 

regarding the contract buyer's right to change the contract 

provider at any time prior to at-need. 

2. If a contract provider changes ownership and the new 

establishment intends to honor existing contracts, the new 

establishment shall provide notice of the change of 

ownership and intent to honor existing contracts in a 

publication of general circulation in the locality where the 

establishment is located within 90 days after the change in 

ownership. 

3. If a contract provider changes ownership and the new 

establishment does not intend to honor existing contracts, 

notification shall be provided to each existing contract buyer 

in writing within 90 days after the change in ownership. The 

notice shall include a statement regarding the contract 

buyer's right to change the contract provider at any time prior 

to at-need. 

18VAC65-30-90. Disclosures. 

A. At the time of the inquiry, licensees shall furnish to each 

person inquiring about preneed arrangements a copy of the 

general price list and preneed disclosure questions and 

answers. 

B. Immediately upon concluding the arrangement conference, 

licensees shall furnish to each person who makes a preneed 

arrangement a copy of the preneed contract and funding 

contract. Licensees shall receive a written acknowledgment 

from the contract buyer that the buyer has received a copy of 

the general price list and preneed disclosure questions and 

answers. 

C. An itemized statement of funeral goods and services shall 

be given at the time of need even if the arrangements were 

made through a preneed contract. 

18VAC65-30-110. Cancellation or transfer of contract. 

A. Any person who makes payment under this contract may 

terminate the agreement at any time prior to the time for which 

the services or supplies are furnished. 

B. If the contract buyer terminates the contract within 30 days 

of the execution of the contract, the contract buyer shall be 

refunded all consideration paid or delivered and any interest or 

income accrued on it. 

C. If the contract buyer uses a revocable trust as the funding 

source and terminates the contract after 30 days of the 

execution of the contract, the contract buyer shall be refunded: 

1. All consideration paid or delivered on nonguaranteed 

items; 

2. At least 90% of all consideration paid for guaranteed 

items; and 

3. All interest or income accrued on it. 

D. If the contract buyer uses an irrevocable trust as the 

funding source, the contract buyer is not able to cancel the trust 

after 30 days following its execution except in accordance with 

§§ 64.2-729 and 64.2-730 of the Code of Virginia. 

E. The contract buyer shall have the right to change the 

contract provider and the trustee at any time prior to the 

furnishing of the services or supplies contracted for under the 

preneed contract. 

18VAC65-30-180. Life insurance or annuity. 

If a life insurance or annuity policy is used to fund the preneed 

funeral contract, the contract shall be in compliance with 

provisions of §§ 38.2-3100.3 and 54.1-2820 B C of the Code 

of Virginia and shall contain the following information: 

1. Name of the contract provider; 

2. Name and funeral license number of contract seller; 

3. Place of employment of contract seller; 

4. Name of insurance agent and agent's insurance license 

number; 

5. Insurance agent's employer and insurance company 

represented by insurance agent; and 

6. Identification as to whether the insurance agent is a 

funeral service licensee and, if so, the funeral service license 

number. 

18VAC65-30-220. Content of preneed contracts. 

Part VIII  

Required Content of Contracts and Disclosures 

The following information shall be contained in any contract 

for preneed funeral planning. 

Date: ______________________________ 

Contract: ______________________________ 

PRENEED FUNERAL CONTRACT 

for 

(Name of Recipient of Services) 

______________________________ 

__________________________ (Zip)________ 

I. SUPPLIES AND SERVICES PURCHASED 

If the prices of goods and services are guaranteed and your 

contract is fully paid or funded at the time of your death, no 

additional cost will incur for your family or estate even though 

the actual prices of goods and services may increase between 

the date of this contract and the time of need. (Please see the 

disclosure document.) 

If goods and services are nonguaranteed, your family or estate 

may incur additional costs for goods and services as the prices 

for these items may increase from the date of the contract to 

the time of need. 
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Cash advance items are not guaranteed. A cash advance item 

is any item obtained from a third party by the funeral home on 

your behalf. Cash advance items may include cemetery or 

crematory services, pall bearers, public transportation, clergy 

honoraria, flowers, musicians or singers, nurses, obituary 

notices, gratuities, and death certificates. 

Charges are only for those items that you selected or that are 

required. If we are required by law or by a cemetery or 

crematory to use an item, we will explain the reasons in writing 

below. If you selected a funeral that may require embalming, 

such as a funeral with a viewing, you may have to pay for 

embalming. You do not have to pay for embalming you did not 

select if you select arrangements such as a direct cremation or 

immediate burial. 

Guaranteed Services Purchased 

I. BASIC SERVICES OF FUNERAL 

DIRECTOR AND STAFF 

$_________ 

II. FUNERAL HOME FACILITIES 

 

A. Facilities and Staff for visitation/viewing $_________ 

B. Facilities and Staff for funeral ceremony $_________ 

C. Facilities and Staff for memorial service $_________ 

D. Equipment and Staff for graveside 

service 

$_________ 

(NOTE TO FUNERAL HOME: If you have additional 

charges such as facilities and staff for home/church 

viewing, or a charge for additional staff person or through 

calculation of manhours, etc., add here as extra items. If you 

have a charge for equipment for interment, add here.) 

III. EMBALMING 

 

A. Normal remains $_________ 

B. Autopsy remains $_________ 

IV. OTHER PREPARATION OF THE 

BODY 

$_________ 

(NOTE: List all items that you placed under Other 

Preparation on your General Price List.) 

V. IMMEDIATE BURIAL $_________ 

VI. DIRECT CREMATION $_________ 

VII. TRANSFER OF REMAINS TO 

FUNERAL ESTABLISHMENT 

$_________ 

VIII. FORWARDING REMAINS TO 

ANOTHER FUNERAL HOME 

$_________ 

IX. RECEIVING REMAINS FROM 

ANOTHER FUNERAL HOME 

$_________ 

X. AUTOMOTIVE EQUIPMENT 

 

A. Hearse $_________ 

B. Limousine $_________ 

(NOTE: List all others that you placed on General Price 

List.) 

XI. FUNERAL MERCHANDISE 

 

A. Casket (*describe) 

 

_________________________________ 

 

_________________________________ $_________ 

B. Outer Burial Container (*describe) 

 

_________________________________ 

 

_________________________________ $_________ 

C. List any others 

 

_________________________________ $_________ 

Supplies Purchased 

 

Clothing $_________ 

Temporary marker $_________ 

Acknowledgment cards $_________ 

Register/attendance books $_________ 

Memorial folders $_________ 

Other $_________ 

SUBTOTAL COSTS OF 

(GUARANTEED) SUPPLIES 

PURCHASED: 

$_________ 

XII. PACKAGE PRICES 

 

(NOTE: List all package prices by name.) 

SUBTOTAL COSTS OF 

(GUARANTEED) SUPPLIES 

PURCHASED: 

$_________ 

Nonguaranteed Goods and Services Purchased 

The actual prices of goods and services below are NOT 

GUARANTEED. These items may include, but not be 

limited to, obituary notices, death certificates, cemetery 

fees, flowers, sales tax, etc. The prices are estimated and the 

estimates will be included in the Grand Total Contract 

Price. The differences between the estimated prices below 

and the actual cost will be settled with your family or estate 

at the time of need: 

SUBTOTAL ESTIMATED COSTS OF 

NONGUARANTEED ITEMS: 

$________ 

GRAND TOTAL FOR PRENEED 

ARRANGEMENTS 
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1. Total cost of (guaranteed) services 

purchased 

$_________ 

2. Total cost of (guaranteed) supplies 

purchased 

$_________ 

3. Total estimated cost of nonguaranteed 

items 

$_________ 

GRAND TOTAL $_________ 

The only warranties, express or implied, granted in 

connection with the goods sold in this preneed funeral 

contract, are the express written warranties, if any, extended 

by the manufacturers thereof. No other warranties and no 

warranties of MERCHANTABILITY OR FITNESS FOR A 

PARTICULAR PURPOSE are extended by the (funeral 

home) ____________________. 

II. GENERAL INFORMATION 

In order that the Buyer may understand the relationship of 

all parties involved in this preneed arrangement and 

contract, the following is provided: 

A. Buyer: 

B. Funeral Home Providing Services: 

C. Contract seller: 

Employed by: (Funeral Home) 

Virginia Funeral Director or Funeral Service Licensee 

License Number: 

Method of Funding II. METHOD OF FUNDING 

A. Insurance  

B. A. Trust. 

The following information will be given if a trust is used to 

fund this agreement: 

1. Amount to be trusted: 

2. Name of trustee: 

3. Disposition of Interest: 

4. Fees, expenses, taxes deducted from earned interest: 

5. Buyer's responsibility for taxes owned on interest: 

B. Insurance or annuity contract. 

The following information will be given if an insurance 

policy or annuity contract is used to fund this agreement: 

A. 1. Buyer: 

B. 2. Insurance Company: 

C. 3. Insurance Agent: 

Employed by: (Insurance Company) 

Licensed Funeral Director or Funeral Service Licensee in 

Virginia: ___yes ___no 

Funeral Director or Funeral Service Licensee License 

Number (If Applicable): 

Employed by Funeral Home (If Applicable): 

D. 4. The life insurance or annuity contract provides either 

that: 

_____ The face value thereof shall be adjusted annually by 

a factor equal to the Consumer Price Index as published by 

the Office of Management and Budget of the United States; 

or 

_____ A benefit payable at death under such contract that 

will be equal or exceed the sum of all premiums paid for 

such contract plus thereon at the annual rate of at least 5.0%, 

compounded annually. 

III. CONSUMER INFORMATION 

The Board of Funeral Directors and Embalmers is authorized 

by Chapter 28 (§ 54.1-2800 et seq.) of Title 54.1 of the Code 

of Virginia to regulate the practice of preneed funeral planning. 

Consumer complaints should be directed to: 

The Board of Funeral Directors and Embalmers 

9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300 

Richmond, Virginia 23233 

Telephone Number: (804) 367-4479 

Toll Free Number for complaints: 1-800-533-1560 

FAX: (804) 527-4413 

Website: www.dhp.virginia.gov 

IV. DISCLOSURES 

The disclosure statements will be available for your review. 

The General Price List shall be furnished to you by the contract 

seller. These contain information that you must receive by law 

and/or the authority of the Board of Funeral Directors and 

Embalmers. You are entitled to receive all information in clear 

and simple language including the language of the funding 

agreement for this preneed arrangement. 

If any law, cemetery, or crematory requires the purchase of 

any of those items listed in Part I, the requirements will be 

explained in writing. 

By signing this contract, buyer acknowledges availability of 

and opportunity to read a copy of all of the required documents. 

By signing this contract, contract seller acknowledges that the 

General Price List and the required disclosures have been 

furnished to the contract buyer. 
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V. TERMINATION OF CONTRACT 

This person who funds this contract through a trust agreement 

may terminate this preneed contract at any time prior to the 

furnishing of the services or supplies contracted for: 

Within 30 days 

If you terminate this preneed contract within 30 days of 

the date of this contract, you will be refunded all payments 

of whatever type you have made, plus any interest or 

income you may have earned. 

More than 30 days 

If you terminate this preneed contract more than 30 days 

after the date on this contract, you will be refunded 

whatever amount was required to be placed in a revocable 

trust fund, plus any interest or income it has earned. 

Any person who funds this contract through a trust fund 

which that is irrevocable or through an insurance/annuity 

policy or through the transfer of real estate/personal property 

may not be eligible for a refund. 

VI. STATEMENT OF GUARANTEE 

By signing this contract, (Funeral Home) __________ agrees 

to the statement checked below (check one): 

______ Prefinancing guarantees that no additional payment 

will be required from the family or estate for guaranteed 

services and supplies provided the Grand Total of these 

arrangements is paid in full and the interest is allowed to 

accumulate in your account (see page ______ for Grand Total 

amount). Payment of the difference will be required for the 

nonguaranteed estimated items if they increase in price. 

______ The prices for items under supplies and services are 

not guaranteed. 

VII. AGREEMENT 

In witness whereof, the Buyer and the Funeral Home have 

executed this contract, intending its terms to be in accordance 

with the Code of Virginia and any regulations implementing 

the Code. By signing this contract you acknowledge that you 

have been provided access to and the opportunity to read the 

Disclosure Statements. 

(Designee of Funeral 

Home) 

 

(Buyer) 

(Funeral Home) 

 

(Contract Date) 

VIII. PENALTIES OR RESTRICTIONS 

The (funeral home) __________, has the following penalties 

or restrictions on the provisions of this contract. 

1. (Insert geographic restrictions); 

2. (Insert an explanation of the Funeral Home's inability to 

perform the request(s) of the Buyer); 

3. (Insert a description of any other circumstances which that 

apply); 

4. (Insert information that if particular goods and services 

specified in the contract are unavailable at the time of need): 

A. The funeral home shall be required to furnish supplies 

and services similar in style and at least equal in quality of 

material and workmanship; and 

B. The representative of the deceased shall have the right 

to choose the supplies or services to be substituted. 

Addendum to Preneed Contract IX. ADDENDUM TO 

PRENEED CONTRACT 

APPOINTEE AGREEMENT 

I appoint ____________________ of (address) 

_______________________ to assist with the preneed 

arrangements in my behalf. The relationship of my appointee 

to me is ____________________. 

Contract Beneficiary: ____________________ Date: 

__________ 

I accept the request of (contract beneficiary) 

____________________ to assist with his/her preneed 

arrangements. 

Appointee: _________________________ Date: 

__________ 

The foregoing was acknowledged before me this __________ 

day of __________, 19____ 20____ 

Notary: ____________________________ 

Date Commission Expires: __________ 

18VAC65-30-230. Content of disclosure statements. 

The following disclosure statements shall be provided as a 

part of any contract used for preneed funeral planning: 

We are required by law and/or the Virginia Board of Funeral 

Directors and Embalmers to provide access to and the 

opportunity for you to read the following information to assist 

you in preplanning. A question and answer format is used for 

clarity and includes the most commonly asked questions. 

PRENEED CONTRACTS 

-- Is there more than one type of preneed agreement? 

Yes. Guaranteed contracts mean that the costs of certain 

individual items or the cost of the total package will never 

be more to your family or estate. Nonguaranteed means 

contracts mean just the opposite. Nonguaranteed contracts 

mean costs may increase or decrease between the time of the 

agreement and the time of need. A preneed contract may 
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have both guaranteed and nonguaranteed costs. (See the 

section entitled "General Funding Information" for more 

information on guaranteed and nonguaranteed costs.) 

Contracts may be funded by insurance/annuity policies, 

trusts, or transfer of real estate/personal property. 

-- What are my protections? 

You should take your completed preneed contract home 

before you sign it and review it with your family or your 

legal advisor. You have a right to this review before you sign 

the contract or pay any money. 

You should also read carefully the information in this 

disclosure statement. If you have any questions, contact the 

seller for more information or contact your legal advisor. 

CANCELLATION 

-- Can I cancel my preneed agreement if I change my mind? 

Will I get my money back? 

You may cancel payment for supplies or services within 30 

days after signing the agreement. If you funded your preneed 

arrangement through a trust (revocable or irrevocable), the 

contract seller will refund all the money you have paid plus 

any interest or income you have earned. 

If you funded your preneed arrangement through a revocable 

trust and you cancel the preneed contract AFTER the 30-day 

deadline, you will be refunded all of your money on the 

items that are not guaranteed and 90% of all your money on 

the items that are guaranteed. You will also receive any 

interest or income on that amount. A revocable trust is a trust 

that you can cancel. 

There may be a penalty to withdraw money from a revocable 

trust account which has already been established in your 

name. If there is, your contract will give you this 

information. (See the first question under the section entitled 

"Payment" below.) 

If you have funded your preneed arrangement through an 

irrevocable trust, you will not be able to cancel the trust 

agreement or receive a refund after 30 days following its 

execution the signing of the agreement except in accordance 

with § 64.2-729 §§ 64.2-729 and 64.2-730 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

If you funded your preneed arrangement through an 

insurance policy/annuity contract which will be used at the 

time of your death to purchase the supplies and services you 

have selected, you will need to pay careful attention to the 

cancellation terms and conditions of the policy. You may not 

be eligible for a refund. 

PAYMENT 

-- What happens to my money after the contract is signed? 

Your money will be handled in one of several ways. It may 

be deposited in a separate trust account in your name. The 

trust account will list a trustee who will be responsible for 

handling your account. The funeral home you have selected 

as your beneficiary will also be listed. You have the right to 

change the funeral home and the trustee of your account 

prior to receiving the supplies and services under the preneed 

contract. 

Your money may be used to purchase a preneed life 

insurance policy which may be used to pay for your 

arrangements upon your death. The proceeds of the policy 

will be assigned to the funeral home of your choice. You 

may change the funeral home assignment at any time prior 

to receiving the supplies and services under the preneed 

contract. 

You may decide to choose a life insurance policy or a trust 

account that requires regular premium payments and not 

have to make an up-front, lump sum payment. 

-- May I pay for goods and services with real estate or 

personal property? 

Yes. When you pay for these supplies and services in whole 

or in part with any real estate you may own, the preneed 

contract that you sign will be attached to the deed on the real 

estate and the deed will be recorded in the clerk's office of 

the circuit court in the city or county where the real estate is 

located. 

If you pay for goods and services with personal property 

other than cash or real estate, the contract seller, will declare 

in writing that the property will be placed in a trust until the 

time of your death and will give you written information on 

all the terms, conditions, and considerations surrounding the 

trust. The contract seller will confirm in writing that he has 

received property. 

You may decide not to transfer the title of the personal 

property to the contract seller of your preneed contract. In 

this situation, you will have to submit information to the 

contract seller in writing that you are giving him the property 

without a title, and describe the property and where it will be 

kept until the time of your death. 

In either case, the written statements will be recorded in the 

clerk's office of the circuit court of the city or county in 

which you live. The written statement does not have to be a 

separate document. 

GENERAL FUNDING INFORMATION 

-- If the prices of the goods and services are affected by 

inflation between now and my death, will the funding I choose 

be adjusted accordingly? 

There is a possibility that the funding may fail to keep up 

with inflation. This could mean that the funding you choose 
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could have insufficient may not have enough value to cover 

all expenses at the time of need. 

-- What happens if my funding is not enough to cover the full 

cost of these arrangements? 

If the entire funeral or specific items in the agreement are 

guaranteed by the contract seller, your family or estate will 

not have to pay any more for those items provided that you 

have paid the grand total in full and all interest earned is 

allowed to accumulate in your account. However, if you 

have not paid the account in full and have not allowed the 

interest to accumulate in the account and any items increase 

in price, your family or estate would be responsible for the 

extra amount if the funds are not sufficient. In some 

situations where you pay toward your funding with regular 

premiums rather than in one lump sum, your account may 

not be enough at the time of your death to cover everything. 

-- What happens to the extra money if my funding is more 

than what is needed to pay for these arrangements? 

Sometimes, as explained in the answer above, your funding 

account may not have had the time to grow sufficiently 

before your death to cover items which are guaranteed in 

price to you, yet have increased in price for the funeral home. 

After funeral expenses are paid, there may be money left 

over. Because of the ongoing risk that a funeral home takes 

in guaranteeing prices for you, the funeral home may not be 

required to return this excess money. 

Some funding agreements and funeral homes, however, 

require that extra money be returned to the estate or family. 

Others do not. You should obtain information concerning 

this in writing before signing the preneed contract. 

The answers to the following questions will depend upon the 

terms and conditions of the individual's funding and preneed 

agreements. 

Please review your preneed contract and/or funding 

agreement for answers to these questions. 

-- What happens to my preneed contract if I change my 

assignment from one funeral home to another? 

(Funeral home shall place answer here) 

-- What happens to my preneed contract if I change the 

beneficiary of my funding or the use of my proceeds from the 

funding.? 

If you make such changes, it could void your contract. You 

should request specific information from the contract seller 

and the funding arrangement. 

-- What will happen to my preneed contract if I fail to make 

agreed to premium payments to my funding source? 

(Funeral home shall place answer here) 

-- Do I get any money back if I surrender or cancel my 

funding arrangements? 

(Funeral home shall place answer here) 

-- What happens if the funeral home closes? Will I be able to 

transfer my contract to another funeral home? 

You have the right to change the funeral home (contract 

provider) at any time prior to receiving services or supplies 

under the preneed contract. A funeral home is required to 

notify you in writing if it closes or is sold to a buyer that does 

not intend to honor your preneed contract. 

TRUST ACCOUNT 

-- If my money goes into a trust account, what information 

will I receive about that account? 

If you want your money to go into a trust fund, the trust 

agreement must furnish you with information about the 

amount to be deposited into the account, the name of the 

trustee, information about what happens to the interest your 

trust account will earn, and information about your 

responsibility to file and pay taxes on that interest. 

If there are filing expenses connected with your trust 

account, you will be notified what the expenses are and 

whether you or the contract seller is the responsible party for 

paying those. 

-- What happens to the interest earned by the trust? 

The interest earned by the trust may be handled in different 

ways by different trust arrangements. The interest may have 

to go back into your account if items on your contract are 

guaranteed. You may be responsible for reporting that 

interest to the Internal Revenue Service and paying taxes on 

it. You will be responsible to pay any taxes on the interest 

earned even if you cancel your trust account. 

Some trust accounts cannot be cancelled. 

There may be special fees deducted from your interest. 

However, you may still be responsible for paying taxes on 

the entire amount of interest earned before the fees were 

deducted. Please ask your contract seller for a written list of 

any fees so you will have a clear understanding about them 

before you sign the contract. 

-- If I pay my trust in premium payments, what happens if I 

die before the grand total of the funeral has been placed in 

trust? 

(Funeral home shall place answer here) 

CLAIMS AGAINST THIS CONTRACT 

-- Can someone to whom I owe money make a claim against 

the money, personal property, or real estate that I have used to 

pay for this contract? 
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No. This money or property cannot be used to settle a debt, 

a bankruptcy, or resolve a claim. These funds cannot be 

garnished. 

-- Can the money or property be taxed? 

No. Currently, interest earned on the money you deposit in a 

trust, savings account, or the value of the property you used 

for payment can be taxed but not the original amount which 

you invested. Interest earned on annuities is generally 

deferred until withdrawal. 

GENERAL GOODS AND SERVICES 

-- If I choose goods and services that might not be available 

at the time of my death, what is the provider required to do? 

The funeral home which that you select is required to furnish 

supplies and services that are similar in style and equal in 

value and quality if what you choose is no longer made or is 

not available at the time of your death. 

Your representative or next-of-kin will have the right to 

choose the supplies or services to be substituted. However, 

if the substitute is more expensive than the item originally 

selected by you, your designee or next-of-kin would be 

responsible for paying the difference. Under no 

circumstances will the funeral establishment be allowed to 

substitute lesser goods and services than the ones you chose. 

If, before your death, the funeral home goes out of business 

or is otherwise unable to fulfill its obligation to you under 

the preneed contract, you have the right to use the proceeds 

at the funeral home of your choice. 

If the inability to provide services does not become apparent 

until the time of your death, the individual that you named 

as your designee could use the funds for services at another 

funeral home. 

-- May I choose the exact item I want now and have the 

funeral home store it until my death? 

If the funeral home or supplier has a storage policy you may 

ask for this service. If the funeral home or contract seller 

agrees to store these items, the risk of loss or damage shall 

be upon the funeral home during the storage period. 

For example, what would happen if you select a casket 

which that is in-stock at the time you make these 

arrangements and the funeral home or supplier agrees to 

store it for you in their warehouse and: (i) damage occurs, 

(ii) the funeral home or supplier goes out of business, (iii) 

the funeral home or supplier is sold, etc.? You need to be 

assured in writing of protection in these types of situations. 

-- What happens if I choose to have a unique service that is 

not customary or routine in my community? Must the funeral 

home comply with my wishes? 

The funeral home which you have chosen to conduct your 

service may be able to only provide certain types of services. 

They may not be able to fulfill your request. If there is a 

restriction on what they can provide, you will be notified in 

writing before you sign the preneed contract. 

If the funeral home agrees in writing before you sign the 

contract to perform such services, the funeral home shall 

provide you a written, itemized statement of fees which you 

will be charged. 

-- Will the funeral home agree to transport my body to another 

area for burial? 

Again, the funeral home may have restrictions on the 

distance they are willing to travel to conduct a burial. If 

restrictions apply, you will be notified in writing. 

If the funeral home agrees in writing before you sign the 

contract to honor your wishes, the funeral home shall 

provide you a written, itemized statement of any penalties 

(fees) which you will be charged. 

-- I may die and be buried in a city other than one where the 

funeral home that I select for my goods and services is located. 

Will the funeral home that I select under this contract deliver 

my merchandise to the city where I die and am to be buried? 

This is entirely up to the funeral home to decide. If the 

funeral home has restrictions on this, they will notify you in 

writing. If they agree to ship merchandise to another area for 

your funeral, you will be notified before signing this contract 

of the fees involved if they can be determined and 

guaranteed at this time. 

However, the preneed contract arrangements and funding is 

considered portable. This means that they are available for 

transfer from one locality to another. It is unusual for actual 

goods and merchandise to be transferred. 

PRICING 

-- How will I know that the prices of items which I select are 

the same for everyone? 

The funeral home maintains a general price list and a casket 

and outer burial container price list. Your contract seller will 

give this to you before you begin talking about 

arrangements. After your discussion is finished, you will be 

given a copy of your preneed contract on which charges will 

be listed. Charges will only be made for the items you select. 

If there are any legal or other requirements that mandate that 

you must buy any items you did not specifically ask for, the 

contract seller will explain the reason for the charges to you 

in writing. 

You may ask a funeral home to purchase certain items or 

make special arrangements for you. If the funeral home 

charges you for these services, you will receive an 

explanation in writing. The charges to you for these services 

may be higher than if you or your family purchased them 

directly. 
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At the time of your death, your family or estate will be given 

an itemized statement which will list all of the specific 

charges. 

-- What is meant by guaranteed and nonguaranteed prices? 

Some contract sellers may agree that certain prices are 

guaranteed. Some may guarantee the price of the total 

package. Other funeral homes may not guarantee any prices. 

Guaranteed prices are those that will not increase for your 

family or estate at the time of your death, provided your 

preneed contract is fully paid for or funded at the time of 

your death. Basically, this means that your funeral 

arrangement for those items will be covered by and will not 

exceed your funding and the interest it earns. 

Nonguaranteed prices are those which might increase or 

decrease. The nonguaranteed prices may be written in at the 

time of this contract with you your understanding that the 

price is an estimate only and may increase or decrease. A 

settlement to that effect of any difference in the estimated 

cost and the actual cost at death may have to be made with 

your family or representative after your death. Examples of 

prices that are often not guaranteed include cemetery or 

crematory services, pallbearers, public transportation, clergy 

honoraria, flowers musicians or singers, obituary notices, 

gratuities, and death certificates. 

-- Can the contract seller and I negotiate a projected charge 

for the nonguaranteed items based on the rate of inflation? 

It is entirely up to the contract seller to inform you of the 

funeral home policy in that regard. 

CASKETS AND CONTAINERS 

-- Do I have to buy a vault or a container to surround the 

casket in the grave? 

In most areas of the country, state and local laws do not 

require that you buy a container to surround the casket in the 

grave. However, many cemeteries ask that you have such a 

container to support the earth above the grave. Either a burial 

vault or a grave liner will satisfy if such requirements exist. 

-- Is a casket required? 

A casket is not required for direct cremation. If you want to 

arrange a direct cremation, you may use an unfinished wood 

box or an alternative container made of heavy cardboard or 

composition materials. You may choose a canvas pouch. 

-- Do certain cemeteries and crematoriums have special 

requirements? 

Particular cemeteries and crematoriums may have policies 

requiring that certain goods and services be purchased. If 

you decide not to purchase goods and services required by a 

particular cemetery or crematorium, you have the right to 

select another location that has no such policy. 

EMBALMING 

-- Is embalming always required? 

Except in certain special cases, embalming Embalming is 

not required by law. Embalming may be necessary, however, 

if you select certain funeral arrangements such as viewing or 

visitation with an open casket. You do not have to pay for 

embalming you did not approve if you select arrangements 

such as a direct cremation or immediate burial. If the funeral 

home must charge to conduct an embalming, your designee 

will be notified of the reasons in writing. 

RECORDS 

-- What should I do with my preneed contract and documents? 

A preneed contract is a legal document. You should keep a 

copy of your preneed contract and related documentation as 

you would any similar legal document such as in a safe place 

or with the person designated to make arrangements at the 

time of your death. 

-- Will the funeral home keep a copy of the preneed contract? 

The funeral home is required to maintain a copy of the 

preneed contract on file prior to and after need. Preneed 

contracts and related documents are required to be kept by 

the funeral home for three years after your death. 

ASSISTANCE 

-- This is all very confusing to me. May I pick someone close 

to me to help with all of this? May this person also work with 

the funeral home to ensure that my wishes as written in the 

preneed contract are carried out? 

You may designate in writing a person of your choice to 

work with the funeral home and contract seller either before 

or after your death to ensure that your wishes are fulfilled. 

You must sign the statement and have it notarized. The 

person that you designate must agree to this in writing. 

Under the laws governing preneed contracts, the individual 

whom you designate has final authority at the time of your 

death. 

-- Where can I complain if I have a problem concerning my 

preneed contract, the contract seller, or the funeral home? 

You may direct your complaints or concerns to: 

The Board of Funeral Directors and Embalmers 

9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300 

Richmond, Virginia 23233 

Telephone Number: (804) 367-4479 

Toll Free Number for complaints: 1-800-533-1560 

Fax: (804) 527-4413 

Website: www.dhp.virginia.gov 

VA.R. Doc. No. R19-5826; Filed January 1, 2021, 6:05 p.m. 
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Emergency Regulation 

Titles of Regulations: 18VAC65-20. Regulations of the 

Board of Funeral Directors and Embalmers (amending 

18VAC65-20-130, 18VAC65-20-140, 18VAC65-20-151, 

18VAC65-20-154, 18VAC65-20-235, 18VAC65-20-350, 

18VAC65-20-500, 18VAC65-20-630; adding 18VAC65-20-

231, 18VAC65-20-232). 

18VAC65-30. Regulations for Preneed Funeral Planning 

(amending 18VAC65-30-10, 18VAC65-30-50, 18VAC65-

30-220). 

18VAC65-40. Regulations for the Funeral Service 

Internship Program (amending 18VAC65-40-10, 

18VAC65-40-40, 18VAC65-40-90, 18VAC65-40-110, 

18VAC65-40-130, 18VAC65-40-180, 18VAC65-40-220, 

18VAC65-40-250, 18VAC65-40-280, 18VAC65-40-320, 

18VAC65-40-340, 18VAC65-40-640; adding 18VAC65-40-

185). 

Statutory Authority: § 54.-2400 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Dates: January 5, 2021, through July 4, 2022. 

Agency Contact: Corie Tillman Wolf, Executive Director, 

Board of Funeral Directors and Embalmers, 9960 Mayland 

Drive, Suite 300, Richmond, VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-

4479, FAX (804) 527-4471, or email fanbd@dhp.virginia.gov. 

Preamble: 

Section 2.2-4011 B of the Code of Virginia states that 

agencies may adopt emergency regulations in situations in 

which Virginia statutory law or the appropriation act or 

federal law or federal regulation requires that a regulation 

be effective in 280 days or less from its enactment, and the 

regulation is not exempt under the provisions of § 2.2-4006 

A 4 of the Code of Virginia. 

Pursuant to Chapter 943 of the 2020 Acts of Assembly, the 

amendments establish education, examination, and 

experience for licensure as a funeral director or an 

embalmer, including that (i) applicants will be required to 

obtain an associate's degree in an accredited mortuary 

science program or complete a program approved by the 

Board of Funeral Directors and Embalmers specific to the 

licensure category sought (that is, funeral director or 

embalmer), and (ii) all funeral interns will be required to 

complete 2,000 hours of supervised experience in the area 

of funeral practice for which they are seeking licensure. 

Amendments also insert the three types of licenses and 

scopes of practice throughout board regulations.  

18VAC65-20-130. Renewal of license; registration.  

A. A person, establishment, crematory, courtesy card holder 

or surface transportation and removal service that desires to 

renew its license or registration for the next year shall, not later 

than the expiration date as provided in 18VAC65-20-120, 

submit the renewal form and applicable fee. 

1. In order to renew an active funeral service, funeral 

director, or embalmer license, a licensee shall be required to 

comply with continuing competency requirements set forth 

in 18VAC65-20-151. 

2. The board shall not renew a license for any licensee who 

fails to attest to compliance with continuing competency 

requirements on the renewal form. 

B. A person who or entity that desires to renew an expired 

license for up to one year following expiration shall comply 

with requirements of subsection A of this section and also 

submit the applicable fee for late renewal. 

C. A person who or entity which that fails to renew a license, 

registration, or courtesy card by the expiration dates prescribed 

in 18VAC65-20-120 shall be deemed to have an invalid 

license, registration, or courtesy card and continued practice 

may subject the licensee to disciplinary action by the board. 

18VAC65-20-140. Reinstatement of expired license or 

registration.  

A. The board may consider reinstatement of an expired 

license or registration that has not been renewed within one 

year of expiration for up to three years following expiration. 

An application request for reinstatement shall be submitted to 

the board and shall include payment of the reinstatement fee 

prescribed in 18VAC65-20-70. 

B. If the Virginia license of a funeral service provider 

licensee, funeral director and, or embalmer is lapsed three 

years or less and the applicant is seeking reinstatement, he the 

applicant shall provide evidence of having completing the 

number of continuing competency hours required for the 

period in which the license has been lapsed. 

C. When a license is not reinstated within three years of its 

expiration date, an applicant shall reapply for licensure and 

pass the state examination. 

18VAC65-20-151. Continued competency requirements for 

renewal of an active license.  

A. Funeral service licensees, funeral directors, or funeral 

embalmers shall be required to have completed a minimum of 

five hours per year of continuing education offered by a board-

approved sponsor for licensure renewal in courses that 

emphasize the ethics, standards of practice, preneed contracts 

and funding, or federal or state laws and regulations governing 

the profession of funeral service. 

1. One hour per year shall cover compliance with laws and 

regulations governing the profession, and at least one hour 

per year shall cover preneed funeral arrangements. The one-

hour requirement on compliance with laws and regulations 

may be met once every two years by attendance at a meeting 

of the board or at a committee of the board or an informal 

conference or formal hearing. 

2. One hour of the five hours required for annual renewal 

may be satisfied through delivery of professional services, 

without compensation, to low-income individuals receiving 

mailto:fanbd@dhp.virginia.gov
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health services through a local health department or a free 

clinic organized in whole or primarily for the delivery of 

those services. One hour of continuing education may be 

credited for one hour of providing such volunteer services, 

as documented by the health department or free clinic. For 

the purposes of continuing education credit for volunteer 

service, an approved sponsor shall be a local health 

department or free clinic. 

B. Courses must be directly related to the scope of practice of 

funeral service. Courses for which the principal purpose is to 

promote, sell or offer goods, products or services to funeral 

homes are not acceptable for the purpose of credit toward 

renewal. 

C. The board may grant an extension for good cause of up to 

one year for the completion of continuing education 

requirements upon written request from the licensee prior to 

the renewal date. Such extension shall not relieve the licensee 

of the continuing education requirement. 

D. The board may grant an exemption for all or part of the 

continuing education requirements for one renewal cycle due 

to circumstances determined by the board to be beyond the 

control of the licensee. 

18VAC65-20-154. Inactive license.  

A. A funeral service licensee, funeral director, or embalmer 

who holds a current, unrestricted license in Virginia shall, upon 

a request for inactive status on the renewal application and 

submission of the required renewal fee of $115, be issued an 

inactive license. The fee for late renewal up to one year 

following expiration of an inactive license shall be $40. 

1. An inactive licensee shall not be entitled to perform any 

act requiring a license to practice funeral service, funeral 

directing, or embalming in Virginia. 

2. The holder of an inactive license shall not be required to 

meet continuing education requirements, except as may be 

required for reactivation in subsection B of this section. 

B. A funeral service licensee, funeral director, or embalmer 

who holds an inactive license may reactivate his license by: 

1. Paying the difference between the renewal fee for an 

inactive license and that of an active license for the year in 

which the license is being reactivated; and 

2. Providing proof of completion of the number of 

continuing competency hours required for the period in 

which the license has been inactive, not to exceed three 

years. 

18VAC65-20-231. Requirements for a funeral director 

license by examination.  

A. To qualify for licensure as a funeral director, a person 

shall: 

1. Be at least 18 years of age and hold a high school diploma 

or its equivalent;  

2. Have completed a funeral service internship prescribed by 

the board in regulation; 

3. Have graduated from a school of mortuary science or 

funeral service accredited by the American Board of Funeral 

Service Education, Incorporated or have completed an 

associate's degree or its equivalent, which consists of at least 

60 credit hours of coursework, from a funeral directing 

program approved by the board; 

4. Have successfully completed coursework in the area of 

pathology as approved by the board; 

5. Have passed the National Board Examination in Arts or 

State Board Examination in Arts of the International 

Conference of Funeral Service Examining Boards; and  

6. Have passed the Virginia State Board Examination on the 

laws, rules, and regulations for funeral practice.  

B. Applicants shall submit school transcripts and National 

Board Examination or State Board Examination scores as part 

of an application package, including the required fee and any 

additional documentation as may be required to determine 

eligibility.  

C. The board, in its discretion, may license an individual 

convicted of a felony if such individual has successfully 

fulfilled all conditions of sentencing, been pardoned, or has had 

his civil rights restored. The board may refuse to license an 

individual who has a criminal or disciplinary proceeding 

pending against him in any jurisdiction in the United States. 

18VAC65-20-232. Requirements for an embalmer license 

by examination.  

A. To qualify for licensure as an embalmer, a person shall: 

1. Be at least 18 years of age and hold a high school diploma 

or its equivalent;  

2. Have completed a funeral service internship prescribed by 

the board in regulation; 

3. Have graduated from a school of mortuary science or 

funeral service accredited by the American Board of Funeral 

Service Education, Incorporated or have completed an 

embalming program approved by the board;  

4. Have passed the National Board Examination in Sciences 

or State Board Examination in Sciences of the International 

Conference of Funeral Service Examining Boards; and  

5. Have passed the Virginia State Board Examination on the 

laws, rules, and regulations for funeral practice.  

B. Applicants shall submit school transcripts and National 

Board Examination or State Board Examination scores as part 

of an application package, including the required fee and any 
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additional documentation as may be required to determine 

eligibility.  

C. The board, in its discretion, may license an individual 

convicted of a felony if such individual has successfully 

fulfilled all conditions of sentencing, been pardoned, or has had 

his civil rights restored. The board may refuse to license an 

individual who has a criminal or disciplinary proceeding 

pending against him in any jurisdiction in the United States. 

18VAC65-20-235. Approval of educational programs.  

All applicants for funeral service licensure as a funeral service 

licensee are required to have graduated from a funeral service 

program offered by a school of mortuary science or funeral 

service accredited by the American Board of Funeral Service 

Education, Incorporated. 

18VAC65-20-350. Requirements for licensure by 

reciprocity or endorsement.  

A. Licenses for the practice of funeral service, funeral 

directing, embalming, or its an equivalent license issued by 

other states, territories, or the District of Columbia may be 

recognized by the board and the holder of such license or 

licenses may be granted a license to practice funeral service, 

funeral directing, or embalming within the Commonwealth. 

Licenses may be granted to applicants by the board on a case-

by-case basis if the applicant holds a valid license for the 

practice of funeral service, funeral directing, embalming, or its 

an equivalent license in another state, territory, or the District 

of Columbia and possesses credentials which that are 

substantially similar to or more stringent than required by the 

Commonwealth for initial licensure at the time the applicant 

was initially licensed. 

B. An applicant for licensure by reciprocity or endorsement 

shall pass the Virginia State Board Examination. 

18VAC65-20-500. Disciplinary action.  

In accordance with the provisions of § 54.1-2806 of the Code 

of Virginia, the following practices are considered 

unprofessional conduct and may subject the licensee to 

disciplinary action by the board: 

1. Breach of confidence. The unnecessary or unwarranted 

disclosure of confidences by the funeral licensee. 

2. Unfair competition. 

a. Interference by a funeral service licensee, funeral 

director, or registered surface transportation and removal 

service when another has been called to take charge of a 

dead human body and the caller or agent of the caller has 

the legal right to the body's disposition. 

b. Consent by a funeral service licensee or funeral director 

to take charge of a body unless authorized by the person 

or his agent having the legal right to disposition. 

3. False advertising. 

a. No licensee or registrant shall make, publish, 

disseminate, circulate or place before the public, or cause 

directly or indirectly to be made, an advertisement of any 

sort regarding services or anything so offered to the public 

which contains any promise, assertion, representation, or 

statement of fact which is untrue, deceptive, or 

misleading. 

b. The following practices, both written and verbal, shall 

constitute false, deceptive, or misleading advertisement 

within the meaning of subdivision 4 of § 54.1-2806 of the 

Code of Virginia: 

(1) Advertising containing inaccurate statements; and 

(2) Advertisement which gives a false impression as to 

ability, care, and cost of conducting a funeral, or that 

creates an impression of things not likely to be true. 

c. The following practices are among those which shall 

constitute an untrue, deceptive, and misleading 

representation or statement of fact: 

(1) Representing that funeral goods or services will delay 

the natural decomposition of human remains for a long 

term or indefinite time; and 

(2) Representing that funeral goods have protective 

features or will protect the body from gravesite substances 

over or beyond that offered by the written warranty of the 

manufacturer. 

4. Inappropriate handling and storage of dead human bodies, 

consistent with § 54.1-2811.1 of the Code of Virginia and 

regulations of the board. Transportation and removal 

vehicles shall be of such nature as to eliminate exposure of 

the deceased to the public during transportation. During the 

transporting of a human body, consideration shall be taken 

to avoid unnecessary delays or stops during travel. 

5. Failure to furnish price information disclosing the cost to 

the purchaser for each of the specific funeral goods and 

funeral services used in connection with the disposition of 

deceased human bodies. 

6. Conducting the practice of funeral services, funeral 

directing, or embalming in such a manner as to constitute a 

danger to the health, safety, and well-being of the staff or the 

public. 

7. Inability to practice with skill or safety because of 

physical, mental, or emotional illness, or substance abuse. 

8. Failure to register as a supervisor for a funeral service 

intern or failure to provide reports to the board as required 

by the Code of Virginia and 18VAC65-40-320. 

9. Failure to comply with applicable federal and state laws 

and regulations, including requirements for continuing 

education. 
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10. Conducting activities or performing services that are 

outside the scope of a licensee's practice or for which the 

licensee is not trained and individually competent. 

18VAC65-20-630. Disclosures.  

Funeral providers licensees shall make all required 

disclosures and provide accurate information from price lists 

pursuant to the rules of the Federal Trade Commission. Price 

lists shall comply with requirements of the FTC and shall 

contain the information included in: 

APPENDIX I - General Price List; 

APPENDIX II - Casket Price List, Outer Burial Container 

Price List; and 

APPENDIX III - Itemized Statement of Funeral Goods and 

Services Selected. 

18VAC65-30-10. Definitions.  

In addition to those defined in § 54.1-2800 of the Code of 

Virginia, the following words and terms when used in this 

chapter shall have the following meanings unless the context 

clearly indicates otherwise: 

"Appointee" means the individual selected by the contract 

beneficiary to arrange a preneed funeral plan on behalf of the 

contract beneficiary. 

"Capper," "steerer," or "shill" means a person who serves to 

entice another to purchase a product or to direct the course of 

action and choice of the buyer in a preneed funeral contract 

sale. 

"Cash advance item" means any item of service or 

merchandise described to a purchaser as a "cash advance," 

"accommodation," "cash disbursement," or similar term. A 

cash advance item is also any item obtained from a third party 

and paid for by the funeral provider on the behalf of the 

contract buyer. Cash advance items may include, but are not 

limited to, cemetery or crematory services, pallbearers, public 

transportation, clergy honoraria, flowers, musicians or singers, 

nurses, obituary notices, gratuities, and death certificates. 

"Consideration," "contract price," or "funds" means money, 

property, or any other thing of value provided to be 

compensation to a contract seller or contract provider for the 

funeral services and funeral goods to be performed or furnished 

under a preneed funeral contract. Consideration does not 

include late payment penalties and payments required to be 

made to a governmental agency at the time the contract is 

entered into. 

"Contract" means a written, preneed funeral contract, and all 

documents pertinent to the terms of the contract under which, 

for consideration paid to a contract seller or a contract provider 

by or on behalf of a contract buyer prior to the death of the 

contract beneficiary, a person promises to furnish, make 

available, or provide funeral services or funeral goods after the 

death of a contract beneficiary. 

"Contract beneficiary" means the individual for whom the 

funeral services and supplies are being arranged. 

"Contract buyer" means the purchaser of the preneed contract. 

"Contract provider" means the funeral establishment 

designated by the contract buyer and contracting with the 

contract buyer to provide for funeral services and supplies in 

the preneed funeral contract. 

"Contract seller" means the funeral service licensee or funeral 

director who makes the preneed arrangements with the contract 

buyer for the funeral service and who makes the financial 

arrangements for the service and the goods and supplies to be 

provided. 

"Designee" means the individual designated to make 

arrangements for burial or final disposition of the remains 

pursuant to § 54.1-2825 of the Code of Virginia. 

"Funding source" means the trust agreement, insurance 

policy, annuity, personal property, or real estate used to fund 

the preneed plan. 

"Funeral supplies and services" means the items of 

merchandise sold or offered for sale or lease to consumers that 

will be used in connection with a funeral or an alternative to a 

funeral or final disposition of human remains including 

caskets, combination units, and catafalques. Funeral goods 

does not mean land or interests in land, crypts, lawn crypts, 

mausoleum crypts, or niches that are sold by a cemetery that 

complies with Chapter 23.1 (§ 54.1-2310 et seq.) of Title 54.1 

of the Code of Virginia. In addition, "funeral supplies and 

services" does not mean cemetery burial vaults or other outside 

containers, markers, monuments, urns, and merchandise items 

used for the purpose of memorializing a decedent and placed 

on or in proximity to a place of interment or entombment of a 

casket, catafalque, or vault or to a place of inurnment that are 

sold by a cemetery operating in accordance with Chapter 23.1 

of Title 54.1 of the Code of Virginia. 

"Guaranteed contract price" means (i) the amount paid by the 

contract buyer on a preneed funeral contract, and income 

derived from that amount, or (ii) the amount paid by a contract 

buyer for a life insurance policy or annuity as the funding 

source and its increasing death benefit. These amounts shall be 

accepted as payment in full for the preselected funeral goods 

and services. 

"Income" means the amount of gain received in a period of 

time from investment of consideration paid for a preneed 

contract. 

"Nonguaranteed contract price" means the costs of items on a 

preneed funeral contract that are not fixed for the specified 

funeral goods or funeral services selected and nonguaranteed 

costs may increase from the date of the contract to the death of 

the contract beneficiary and the family or estate will be 

responsible for paying at the time of need for the services and 
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supplies that were nonguaranteed. Cash advance items are not 

guaranteed. 

18VAC65-30-50. Solicitation.  

A. In accordance with provisions of § 54.1-2806 of the Code 

of Virginia, a licensee shall not initiate any preneed solicitation 

using in-person communication by the licensee, his agents, 

assistants, or employees. 

B. After a request to discuss preneed planning is initiated by 

the contract buyer or interested consumer, any contact and in-

person communication shall take place only with a funeral 

service licensee or a funeral director. 

18VAC65-30-220. Content of preneed contracts.  

The following information shall be contained in any contract 

for preneed funeral planning. 

Date: ______________________________ 

Contract: ______________________________ 

PRENEED FUNERAL CONTRACT 

for 

(Name of Recipient of Services) 

______________________________ 

__________________________ (Zip)________ 

I. SUPPLIES AND SERVICES PURCHASED 

If the prices of goods and services are guaranteed, no 

additional cost will incur for your family or estate even though 

the actual prices of goods and services may increase between 

the date of this contract and the time of need. (Please see the 

disclosure document.) 

Charges are only for those items that you selected or that are 

required. If we are required by law or by a cemetery or 

crematory to use an item, we will explain the reasons in writing 

below. If you selected a funeral that may require embalming, 

such as a funeral with a viewing, you may have to pay for 

embalming. You do not have to pay for embalming you did not 

select if you select arrangements such as a direct cremation or 

immediate burial. 

Guaranteed Services Purchased 

I. BASIC SERVICES OF FUNERAL 

DIRECTOR AND STAFF 

$_________ 

II. FUNERAL HOME FACILITIES 

 

A. Facilities and Staff for visitation/viewing $_________ 

B. Facilities and Staff for funeral ceremony $_________ 

C. Facilities and Staff for memorial service $_________ 

D. Equipment and Staff for graveside service $_________ 

(NOTE TO FUNERAL HOME: If you have additional 

charges such as facilities and staff for home/church 

viewing, or a charge for additional staff person or through 

calculation of manhours, etc., add here as extra items. If you 

have a charge for equipment for interment, add here.) 

III. EMBALMING 

 

A. Normal remains $_________ 

B. Autopsy remains $_________ 

IV. OTHER PREPARATION OF THE 

BODY 

$_________ 

(NOTE: List all items that you placed under Other 

Preparation on your General Price List.) 

V. IMMEDIATE BURIAL $_________ 

VI. DIRECT CREMATION $_________ 

VII. TRANSFER OF REMAINS TO 

FUNERAL ESTABLISHMENT 

$_________ 

VIII. FORWARDING REMAINS TO 

ANOTHER FUNERAL HOME 

$_________ 

IX. RECEIVING REMAINS FROM 

ANOTHER FUNERAL HOME 

$_________ 

X. AUTOMOTIVE EQUIPMENT 

 

A. Hearse $_________ 

B. Limousine $_________ 

(NOTE: List all others that you placed on General Price 

List.) 

XI. FUNERAL MERCHANDISE 

 

A. Casket (*describe) 

 

_________________________________ 

 

_________________________________ $_________ 

B. Outer Burial Container (*describe) 

 

_________________________________ 

 

_________________________________ $_________ 

C. List any others 

 

_________________________________ $_________ 

Supplies Purchased 

 

Clothing $_________ 

Temporary marker $_________ 

Acknowledgment cards $_________ 

Register/attendance books $_________ 

Memorial folders $_________ 
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Other $_________ 

SUBTOTAL COSTS OF (GUARANTEED) 

SUPPLIES PURCHASED: 

$_________ 

XII. PACKAGE PRICES 

 

(NOTE: List all package prices by name.) 

SUBTOTAL COSTS OF (GUARANTEED) 

SUPPLIES PURCHASED: 

$_________ 

Nonguaranteed Goods and Services Purchased 

The actual prices of goods and services below are NOT 

GUARANTEED. These items may include, but not be 

limited to, obituary notices, death certificates, cemetery 

fees, flowers, sales tax, etc. The prices are estimated and the 

estimates will be included in the Grand Total Contract 

Price. The differences between the estimated prices below 

and the actual cost will be settled with your family or estate 

at the time of need: 

SUBTOTAL ESTIMATED COSTS OF 

NONGUARANTEED ITEMS: 

$________ 

GRAND TOTAL FOR PRENEED 

ARRANGEMENTS 

 

1. Total cost of (guaranteed) services 

purchased 

$_________ 

2. Total cost of (guaranteed) supplies 

purchased 

$_________ 

3. Total estimated cost of nonguaranteed 

items 

$_________ 

GRAND TOTAL $_________ 

The only warranties, express or implied, granted in 

connection with the goods sold in this preneed funeral 

contract, are the express written warranties, if any, extended 

by the manufacturers thereof. No other warranties and no 

warranties of MERCHANTABILITY OR FITNESS FOR A 

PARTICULAR PURPOSE are extended by the (funeral 

home) ____________________. 

II. GENERAL INFORMATION 

In order that the Buyer may understand the relationship of 

all parties involved in this preneed arrangement and 

contract, the following is provided: 

A. Buyer: 

B. Funeral Home Providing Services: 

C. Contract seller: 

Employed by: (Funeral Home) 

Virginia Funeral Director License Number: 

Method of Funding 

A. Insurance 

B. Trust 

1. Amount to be trusted: 

2. Name of trustee: 

3. Disposition of Interest: 

4. Fees, expenses, taxes deducted from earned interest: 

5. Buyer's responsibility for taxes owned on interest: 

The following information will be given if an insurance 

policy or annuity contract is used to fund this agreement: 

A. Buyer: 

B. Insurance Company: 

C. Insurance Agent: 

Employed by: (Insurance Company) 

Licensed Funeral Director or Funeral Service Licensee in 

Virginia: ___yes ___no 

Funeral Director or Funeral Service License Number (If 

Applicable): 

Employed by Funeral Home (If Applicable): 

D. The life insurance or annuity contract provides either that: 

_____ The face value thereof shall be adjusted annually by 

a factor equal to the Consumer Price Index as published by 

the Office of Management and Budget of the United States; 

or 

_____ A benefit payable at death under such contract that 

will be equal or exceed the sum of all premiums paid for 

such contract plus thereon at the annual rate of at least 5.0%, 

compounded annually. 

III. CONSUMER INFORMATION 

The Board of Funeral Directors and Embalmers is authorized 

by Chapter 28 (§ 54.1-2800 et seq.) of Title 54.1 of the Code 

of Virginia to regulate the practice of preneed funeral planning. 

Consumer complaints should be directed to: 

The Board of Funeral Directors and Embalmers 

9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300 

Richmond, Virginia 23233 

Telephone Number (804) 367-4479 

Toll Free Number 1-800-533-1560 

FAX: (804) 527-4413 
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IV. DISCLOSURES 

The disclosure statements will be available for your review. 

The General Price List shall be furnished to you by the contract 

seller. These contain information that you must receive by law 

and/or the authority of the Board of Funeral Directors and 

Embalmers. You are entitled to receive all information in clear 

and simple language including the language of the funding 

agreement for this preneed arrangement. 

If any law, cemetery, or crematory requires the purchase of 

any of those items listed in Part I, the requirements will be 

explained in writing. 

By signing this contract, buyer acknowledges availability of 

and opportunity to read a copy of all of the required documents. 

V. TERMINATION OF CONTRACT 

This person who funds this contract through a trust agreement 

may terminate this preneed contract at any time prior to the 

furnishing of the services or supplies contracted for: 

Within 30 days 

If you terminate this preneed contract within 30 days of 

the date of this contract, you will be refunded all payments 

of whatever type you have made, plus any interest or 

income you may have earned. 

More than 30 days 

If you terminate this preneed contract more than 30 days 

after the date on this contract, you will be refunded 

whatever amount was required to be placed in a revocable 

trust fund, plus any interest or income it has earned. 

Any person who funds this contract through a trust fund 

which is irrevocable or through an insurance/annuity policy or 

through the transfer of real estate/personal property may not be 

eligible for a refund. 

VI. STATEMENT OF GUARANTEE 

By signing this contract, (Funeral Home) __________ agrees 

to the statement checked below (check one): 

______ Prefinancing guarantees that no additional payment 

will be required from the family or estate for guaranteed 

services and supplies provided the Grand Total of these 

arrangements is paid in full and the interest is allowed to 

accumulate in your account (see page ______ for Grand Total 

amount). Payment of the difference will be required for the 

nonguaranteed estimated items if they increase in price. 

______ The prices for items under supplies and services are 

not guaranteed. 

VII. AGREEMENT 

In witness whereof, the Buyer and the Funeral Home have 

executed this contract, intending its terms to be in accordance 

with the Code of Virginia and any regulations implementing 

the Code. By signing this contract you acknowledge that you 

have been provided access to and the opportunity to read the 

Disclosure Statements. 

(Designee of Funeral 

Home) 

 

(Buyer) 

(Funeral Home) 

 

(Contract Date) 

VIII. PENALTIES OR RESTRICTIONS 

The (funeral home) __________, has the following penalties 

or restrictions on the provisions of this contract. 

1. (Insert geographic restrictions); 

2. (Insert an explanation of the Funeral Home's inability to 

perform the request(s) of the Buyer); 

3. (Insert a description of any other circumstances which 

apply); 

4. (Insert information that if particular goods and services 

specified in the contract are unavailable at the time of need): 

A. The funeral home shall be required to furnish supplies 

and services similar in style and at least equal in quality of 

material and workmanship; and 

B. The representative of the deceased shall have the right 

to choose the supplies or services to be substituted. 

Addendum to Preneed Contract 

APPOINTEE AGREEMENT 

I appoint ____________________ of (address) 

_______________________ to assist with the preneed 

arrangements in my behalf. The relationship of my appointee 

to me is ____________________. 

Contract Beneficiary: ____________________ Date: 

__________ 

I accept the request of (contract beneficiary) 

____________________ to assist with his/her preneed 

arrangements. 

Appointee: _________________________ Date: 

__________ 

The foregoing was acknowledged before me this __________ 

day of __________, 19____ 

Notary: ____________________________ 

Date Commission Expires: __________ 

18VAC65-40-10. Definitions.  

In addition to words and terms defined in § 54.1-2800 of the 

Code of Virginia, the following words and terms when used in 

this chapter shall have the following meanings unless the 

context clearly indicates otherwise: 
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"Direct supervision" means that a person licensed for the 

practice of funeral service professional, funeral directing, or 

embalming is present and on the premises of the facility. 

"Supervisor" means a licensed employee at the training site 

who has been approved by the board to provide supervision for 

the funeral intern. 

"Training site" means the licensed funeral establishment, 

facility, or institution that has agreed to serve as a location for 

a funeral service internship and has been approved by the 

board. 

18VAC65-40-40. Fees.  

A. The following fees shall be paid as applicable for 

registration: 

1. Funeral service, funeral directing, or 

embalming intern registration 

$150 

2. Funeral service, funeral directing, or 

embalming intern renewal 

$125 

3. Late fee for renewal up to one year after 

expiration 

$45 

4. Duplicate copy of intern registration $25 

5. Handling fee for returned check or 

dishonored credit card or debit card 

$50 

6. Registration of supervisor $35 

7. Change of supervisor $35 

8. Reinstatement fee $195 

B. Fees shall be made payable to the Treasurer of Virginia 

and shall not be refundable once submitted. 

18VAC65-40-90. Renewal of registration.  

A. The funeral service, funeral directing, or embalming intern 

registration shall expire on March 31 of each calendar year and 

may be renewed by submission of the renewal notice and 

prescribed fee. 

B. A person who fails to renew a registration by the expiration 

date shall be deemed to have an invalid registration. No credit 

will be allowed for an internship period served under an 

expired registration. 

C. The funeral service, funeral directing, or embalming intern 

is responsible for notifying the board within 14 days of any 

changes in name, address, employment, or supervisor. Any 

notices shall be validly given when mailed to the address on 

record with the board. 

18VAC65-40-110. Reinstatement of expired registration.  

A. A funeral service, funeral directing, or embalming intern 

whose registration has expired may be reinstated within one 

year following expiration by payment of the current renewal 

fee and the late renewal fee. 

B. A funeral service, funeral directing, or embalming intern 

whose registration has been expired for more than one year 

shall apply for reinstatement by submission of an application 

and payment of a reinstatement fee. The board may consider 

reinstatement of an expired registration for up to three years 

following expiration. 

C. When a registration is not reinstated within three years of 

its expiration date, a new application for registration shall be 

filed and a new internship begun. 

18VAC65-40-130. Funeral service, funeral directing, or 

embalming internship.  

A. The An internship for funeral service, funeral directing, or 

embalming shall consist of at least 3,000 2,000 hours of 

training to be completed within no less than 12 months and no 

more than 48 months. For good cause shown, the board may 

grant an extension of time for completion of an internship. 

B. The funeral service intern shall be assigned a work 

schedule of not less than 20 hours nor more than 60 hours per 

week in order to receive credit for such training. For good 

cause shown, the board may waive the limitation on an intern's 

work schedule. 

C. A funeral service intern shall receive training in all areas 

of funeral service. 

D. A funeral directing intern shall receive training in all areas 

of funeral directing, including assisting in at least 25 funerals, 

25 arrangement conferences, as well as visitations and 

financing of funeral services.  

E. An embalming intern shall receive training in all aspects 

of embalming practice, including assisting in at least 25 

embalmings, as well as treatment, restorative art, safety and 

sanitation, and organ, tissue, or anatomical donation. 

18VAC65-40-180. Intern application package for funeral 

service licensure.  

A. Any person who meets the qualifications of § 54.1-2817 

of the Code of Virginia may seek registration with the board as 

a funeral service intern by submission of an application 

package, which shall include documentation of the 

qualifications and signatures of any supervising licensees. 

B. Applicants shall submit school transcripts as part of an 

application package, including the required fee and any 

additional documentation as may be required to determine 

eligibility. 

18VAC65-40-185. Intern application for funeral directing 

or embalming licensure.  

A. An applicant who attests to holding a high school diploma 

or its equivalent may seek registration with the board as a 

funeral directing or an embalming intern by submission of an 

application package, which shall include documentation of the 

qualifications and signatures of any supervising licensees. 
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B. Applicants shall submit school transcripts as part of an 

application package, including the required fee and any 

additional documentation as may be required to determine 

eligibility.  

C. The board, in its discretion, may approve an application to 

be a funeral directing or an embalming intern for an individual 

convicted of a felony, if the applicant has successfully fulfilled 

all conditions of sentencing, been pardoned, or has had civil 

rights restored. The board shall not, however, approve an 

application to be an intern for any person convicted of 

embezzlement or of violating subsection B of § 18.2-126 of the 

Code of Virginia. The board, in its discretion, may refuse to 

approve an application to be a funeral directing or an 

embalming intern for an individual who has a criminal or 

disciplinary proceeding pending against him in any jurisdiction 

in the United States. 

18VAC65-40-220. Qualifications of training site.  

A. The board shall approve only an establishment or two 

combined establishments to serve as the training site or sites 

that: 

1. Have a full and unrestricted Virginia license; 

2. Have complied in all respects with the provisions of the 

regulations of the Board of Funeral Directors and 

Embalmers; and 

3. Have For a funeral service internship, have 50 or more 

funerals and 50 or more bodies for embalming over a 12-

month period for each person to be trained. This total must 

be maintained throughout the period of training. If the 

establishment does not meet the required number of funerals 

or embalmings, the funeral service intern may seek approval 

for an additional training site.; or 

4. For a funeral directing internship, have 50 or more 

funerals over a 12-month period for each person to be 

trained. This total must be maintained throughout the period 

of training. If the establishment does not meet the required 

number of funerals, the funeral directing intern may seek 

approval for an additional training site; or 

5. For an embalming internship, have 50 or more bodies for 

embalming over a 12-month period for each person to be 

trained. This total must be maintained throughout the period 

of training. If the establishment does not meet the required 

number of embalmings, the embalming intern may seek 

approval for an additional training site. 

B. The board may grant approval for a resident trainee funeral 

service or embalming intern to receive all or a portion of the 

embalming training at a facility of state or federal government 

or an accredited educational institution. 

18VAC65-40-250. Requirements for supervision.  

A. Training shall be conducted under the direct supervision 

of a licensee or licensees approved by the board. Credit shall 

only be allowed for training under direct supervision. 

B. The board shall approve only funeral service licensees, 

licensed funeral directors, or licensed embalmers to give 

funeral training who have a full and unrestricted Virginia 

funeral license, have at least two consecutive years in practice 

and are employed full time in or under contract with the 

establishment, facility, or institution where training occurs. 

C. A supervisor licensed as an embalmer or a funeral director 

shall provide supervision only in the areas of funeral practice 

for which he is licensed. 

D. Failure to register as a supervisor may subject the licensee 

to disciplinary action by the board. 

E. If a supervisor is unable or unwilling to continue providing 

supervision, the funeral service intern shall obtain a new 

supervisor. Credit for training shall resume when a new 

supervisor is approved by the board and the intern has paid the 

prescribed fee for the change of supervisor. 

F. No more than a combined total of two funeral service, 

funeral directing, or embalming interns shall be concurrently 

registered under any one person licensed for the practice of 

funeral service, funeral directing, or embalming. Each 

supervisor for a registered funeral directing intern or a 

registered embalming intern must be actively employed by or 

under contract with a funeral establishment. 

18VAC65-40-280. Supervisor application package.  

A. A licensee seeking approval by the board as a supervisor 

shall submit a completed application and any additional 

documentation as may be required to determine eligibility. 

B. The application for supervision of a funeral service, funeral 

directing, or embalming intern shall be signed by the 

establishment manager and by the persons who will be 

providing supervision for embalming and, for funeral 

directing, or for the funeral services. 

18VAC65-40-320. Reports to the board.  

A. The intern, the supervisor or supervisors, and the 

establishment shall submit a written report to the board at the 

end of every 1,000 hours of training. The report shall: 

1. Specify the period of time in which the 1,000 hours has 

been completed and verify that the intern has actually served 

in the required capacity during the preceding period; and 

2. Be received in the board office no later than 14 days 

following the end of the completion of 1,000 hours. Late 

reports may result in additional time being added to the 

internship. 

B. If the internship is terminated or interrupted prior to 

completion of 1,000 hours or if the intern is changing 

supervisors or training sites, the intern and the supervisor shall 
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submit a partial report to the board with a written explanation 

of the cause of program termination or interruption or of the 

change in training or supervision. 

1. The partial report shall provide the amount of time served 

and the dates since the last reporting period. Credit for partial 

reports shall be given for the number of hours of training 

completed. 

2. Partial reports shall be received in the board office no later 

than 14 days after the interruption or termination of the 

internship or after the change in supervisors or training sites. 

Credit may be deducted for late reports. 

C. An intern shall not receive credit for training hours on a 

new 1,000-hour report until the previous 1,000-hour report has 

been approved by the board.  

D. Credit shall not be allowed for any period of internship that 

has been completed more than three years prior to application 

for license or more than five years prior to examination for 

license. If all requirements for licensure are not completed 

within five years of initial application, the board may deny an 

additional internship. A funeral directing or an embalming 

intern may continue to practice for up to 90 days from the 

completion of internship hours or until the intern has taken and 

received the results of all examinations required by the board, 

whichever occurs first. However, the board may waive such 

limitation for any person in the armed service of the United 

States when application for the waiver is made in writing 

within six months of leaving service or if the board determines 

that enforcement of the limitation will create an unreasonable 

hardship. 

Part III 

Internship: Funeral Supervisors' Responsibilities 

18VAC65-40-340. Supervisors' responsibilities.  

A. The supervisor shall provide the intern with all applicable 

laws and regulations or sections of regulations relating to the 

funeral industry. 

B. The supervisor shall provide the intern with copies of and 

instruction in the use of all forms and price lists employed by 

the funeral establishment. 

C. The supervisor shall provide the funeral service or funeral 

directing intern with instruction in all aspects of funeral 

services and shall allow the intern under direct supervision to 

conduct all necessary arrangements for a minimum of 25 

funerals. 

D. The embalming supervisor shall provide instruction on all 

necessary precautions, embalming functions, and reporting 

forms and shall allow the funeral service or embalming intern 

under direct supervision to perform a minimum of 25 

embalmings. 

E. The supervisor shall provide the funeral service or funeral 

directing intern with instruction in making preneed funeral 

arrangements and instruction on the laws and regulations 

pertaining to preneed funeral contracts and disclosures. 

F. The supervisor shall provide the funeral service or funeral 

directing intern instruction on cremation and on the laws and 

regulations pertaining to cremation. 

G. If a training site does not offer preneed funeral planning or 

cremation services, the supervisor shall arrange for such 

training at another licensed funeral establishment that does. 

18VAC65-40-640. Disciplinary action.  

The board may refuse to issue or renew a license, registration, 

or approval to any applicant; and may suspend for a stated 

period of time or indefinitely, or revoke any license, 

registration, or approval, or reprimand any person, or place his 

license or registration on probation with such terms and 

conditions and for such time as it may designate or impose a 

monetary penalty for failure to comply with the laws and 

regulations of the Board of Funeral Directors and Embalmers. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R21-6539; Filed January 4, 2021, 6:18 p.m. 

Forms 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: Forms used in administering the 

regulation have been filed by the agency. The forms are not 

being published; however, online users of this issue of the 

Virginia Register of Regulations may click on the name of a 

form with a hyperlink to access it. The forms are also available 

from the agency contact or may be viewed at the Office of the 

Registrar of Regulations, 900 East Main Street, 11th Floor, 

Richmond, Virginia 23219.  

Title of Regulation: 18VAC65-40. Regulations for the 

Funeral Service Internship Program.  

Agency Contact: Elaine Yeatts, Agency Regulatory 

Coordinator, Department of Health Professions, 9960 Mayland 

Drive, Henrico, VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-4688, FAX 

(804) 527-4434, or email elaine.yeatts@dhp.virginia.gov. 

FORMS (18VAC65-40) 

Registration for Funeral Service Internship Program 

Checklist and Instructions (rev. 4/08). 

Funeral Service Intern Program Application (rev. 4/08). 

Checklist and Instructions for Funeral Service Provider (rev. 

4/08). 

Funeral Supervisor Registration Application (rev. 4/08). 

First 1000 Hour Internship Report (rev. 3/08). 

Second 1000 Hour Internship Report (rev. 3/08). 

Third 1000 Hour Internship Report (rev. 3/08). 

Funeral Service Internship Program Change of Supervisor 

Application (rev. 3/08). 

Application for Reinstatement as a Funeral Service Intern 

(rev. 4/08). 

mailto:elaine.yeatts@dhp.virginia.gov
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Application for Funeral Service Internship Program, online 

form available at https://www/license/dhp.virginia.gov/apply/ 

Funeral Supervisor Registration Application (rev. 7/2020) 

First 1000 Hour Funeral Internship Report (rev. 7/2020) 

Second 1000 Hour Funeral Internship Report (rev. 7/2020) 

Third 1000 Hour Funeral Internship Report (rev. 7/2020) 

Funeral Internship – Report of Final Completion (rev. 

7/2020) 

Funeral Service Intern Reinstatement Application (rev. 

7/2020) 

VA.R. Doc. No. R21-6631; Filed January 5, 2021, 2:31 p.m. 

BOARD OF HEALTH PROFESSIONS 

Forms 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: Forms used in administering the 

regulation have been filed by the agency. The forms are not 

being published; however, online users of this issue of the 

Virginia Register of Regulations may click on the name of a 

form with a hyperlink to access it. The forms are also available 

from the agency contact or may be viewed at the Office of the 

Registrar of Regulations, 900 East Main Street, 11th Floor, 

Richmond, Virginia 23219.  

Title of Regulation: 18VAC75-20. Regulations Governing 

Practitioner Self-Referral.  

Agency Contact: Elaine Yeatts, Agency Regulatory 

Coordinator, Department of Health Professions, 9960 Mayland 

Drive, Henrico, VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-4688, FAX 

(804) 527-4434, or email elaine.yeatts@dhp.virginia.gov. 

FORMS (18VAC75-20) 

Application for an Advisory Opinion - Virginia Self-Referral 

Act/With Certification (rev. 7/08). 

Application for an Exception to the Prohibitions of the 

Virginia Practitioner Self-Referral Act/With Certification (rev. 

7/08). 

Practitioner Listing (rev. 7/08). 

Application for an Advisory Opinion - Virginia Self-Referral 

Act (rev. 7/2013) 

Application for an Exception to the Prohibitions of the 

Virginia Practitioner Self-Referral Act (rev. 7/2013) 

VA.R. Doc. No. R21-6632; Filed January 5, 2021, 2:31 p.m. 

BOARD OF NURSING 

Final Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC90-19. Regulations Governing 

the Practice of Nursing (amending 18VAC90-19-30, 

18VAC90-19-210). 

Statutory Authority: §§ 54.1-2400 and 54.1-3505 of the Code 

of Virginia. 

Effective Date: March 3, 2021. 

Agency Contact: Jay P. Douglas, R.N., Executive Director, 

Board of Nursing, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, Richmond, 

VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-4520, FAX (804) 527-4455, 

or email jay.douglas@dhp.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendments clarify that the Board of Nursing will 

accept for registration evidence of a clinical nurse specialist 

(CNS) certification that has been retired or is the core 

certification, provided the certification has been maintained 

and is current. Similarly, a retired or core certification that 

remains current qualifies a clinical nurse specialist to renew 

registration. The amendments also amend the requirements 

for renewal of a lapsed registration or reinstatement of a 

registration to be similar to the requirements for 

reinstatement of a registered nurse license. The action is in 

response to a petition for rulemaking. 

Summary of Public Comments and Agency's Response: A 

summary of comments made by the public and the agency's 

response may be obtained from the promulgating agency or 

viewed at the office of the Registrar of Regulations. 

18VAC90-19-30. Fees. 

A. Fees required by the board are: 

1. Application for licensure by examination - 

RN 

$190 

2. Application for licensure by endorsement - 

RN 

$190 

3. Application for licensure by examination - 

LPN 

$170 

4. Application for licensure by endorsement - 

LPN 

$170 

5. Reapplication for licensure by examination $50 

6. Biennial licensure renewal - RN $140 

7. Biennial inactive licensure renewal - RN $70 

8. Biennial licensure renewal - LPN $120 

9. Biennial inactive licensure renewal - LPN $60 

10. Late renewal - RN $50 

11. Late renewal - RN inactive $25 

12. Late renewal - LPN $40 

13. Late renewal - LPN inactive $20 

14. Reinstatement of lapsed license - RN $225 

15. Reinstatement of lapsed license - LPN $200 

https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC65/forms/Supervisor_Reg-20210104101629.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC65/forms/First%201000-20210104101643.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC65/forms/Second%201000-20210104101656.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC65/forms/Third%201000-20210104101714.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC65/forms/Report_Completion-20210104101729.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC65/forms/Report_Completion-20210104101729.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC65/forms/Reinstatement-20210104101742.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC65/forms/Reinstatement-20210104101742.pdf
mailto:elaine.yeatts@dhp.virginia.gov
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC75/forms/AdvisoryOpinion-20210104115809.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC75/forms/AdvisoryOpinion-20210104115809.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC75/forms/APP_EXCEPTION-20210104115822.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC75/forms/APP_EXCEPTION-20210104115822.pdf
mailto:jay.douglas@dhp.virginia.gov
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16. Reinstatement of suspended or revoked 

license or registration 

$300 

17. Duplicate license $15 

18. Replacement wall certificate $25 

19. Verification of license $35 

20. Transcript of all or part of applicant or 

licensee records 

$35 

21. Handling fee for returned check or 

dishonored credit card or debit card 

$50 

22. Application for CNS registration $130 

23. Biennial renewal of CNS registration $80 

24. Reinstatement of lapsed CNS registration $125 

25. Verification of CNS registration to 

another jurisdiction 

$35 

26. Late renewal of CNS registration $35 

B. For renewal of licensure or registration from July 1, 2017, 

through June 30, 2019, the following fees shall be in effect: 

1. Biennial licensure renewal - RN $105 

2. Biennial inactive licensure renewal - RN $52 

3. Biennial licensure renewal - LPN $90 

4. Biennial inactive licensure renewal - LPN $45 

5. Biennial renewal of CNS registration $60 

18VAC90-19-210. Clinical nurse specialist registration. 

A. Initial registration. An applicant for initial registration as a 

clinical nurse specialist shall: 

1. Be currently licensed as a registered nurse in Virginia or 

hold a current multistate licensure privilege as a registered 

nurse; 

2. Submit evidence of current national clinical nurse 

specialist certification, including core certification or a 

certification that has been retired, as required by § 54.1-

3018.1 of the Code of Virginia or have an exception 

available from March 1, 1990, to July 1, 1990; and 

3. Submit the required application and fee. 

B. Renewal of registration. 

1. Registration as a clinical nurse specialist shall be renewed 

biennially at the same time the registered nurse license is 

renewed. If registered as a clinical nurse specialist with a 

multistate licensure privilege to practice in Virginia as a 

registered nurse, a licensee born in an even-numbered year 

shall renew his license by the last day of the birth month in 

even-numbered years and a licensee born in an odd-

numbered year shall renew his license by the last day of the 

birth month in odd-numbered years. 

2. The clinical nurse specialist shall complete the renewal 

form and submit it with the required fee. An attestation of 

current national certification as a clinical nurse specialist, 

including core certification or a certification that has been 

retired, is required unless registered in accordance with an 

exception. 

3. Registration as a clinical nurse specialist shall lapse if the 

registered nurse license is not renewed or the multistate 

licensure privilege is lapsed or registration as a clinical nurse 

specialist is not renewed and may be reinstated within one 

renewal period upon: 

a. Reinstatement of RN license or multistate licensure 

privilege, if lapsed; 

b. Payment of reinstatement and current renewal fees and 

late renewal fees; and 

c. Submission of evidence of continued national 

certification as a clinical nurse specialist, including core 

certification or a certification that has been retired, unless 

registered in accordance with an exception. 

C. Reinstatement of registration. 

1. A clinical nurse specialist whose registration has lapsed 

for more than one renewal period may be reinstated by 

submission of: 

a. A reinstatement application and reinstatement fee; 

b. Evidence of a current RN license or multistate privilege; 

and 

c. Evidence of current national certification as a clinical 

nurse specialist, including core certification or a 

certification that has been retired, unless registered in 

accordance with an exception. 

2. A clinical nurse specialist whose registration has been 

suspended or revoked by the board may apply for 

reinstatement by: 

a. Filing a reinstatement application;  

b. Fulfilling requirements specified in subdivision 1 c of 

this subsection; and  

c. Paying the fee for reinstatement after suspension or 

revocation.  

The board may request additional evidence that the clinical 

nurse specialist is prepared to resume practice in a competent 

manner. A clinical nurse specialist whose registration has 

been revoked may not apply for reinstatement sooner than 

three years from entry of the order of revocation.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R19-28; Filed January 1, 2021, 6:06 p.m. 
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BOARD OF LONG-TERM CARE ADMINISTRATORS 

Forms 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: Forms used in administering the 

regulation have been filed by the agency. The forms are not 

being published; however, online users of this issue of the 

Virginia Register of Regulations may click on the name of a 

form with a hyperlink to access it. The forms are also available 

from the agency contact or may be viewed at the Office of the 

Registrar of Regulations, 900 East Main Street, 11th Floor, 

Richmond, Virginia 23219.  

Title of Regulation: 18VAC95-20. Regulations Governing 

the Practice of Nursing Home Administrators.  

Agency Contact: Elaine Yeatts, Agency Regulatory 

Coordinator, Department of Health Professions, 9960 Mayland 

Drive, Henrico, VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-4688, FAX 

(804) 527-4434, or email elaine.yeatts@dhp.virginia.gov. 

FORMS (18VAC95-20) 

Nursing Home Administrator Application - form available 

online only at https://www.license.dhp.virginia.gov/apply/ 

Nursing Home Administrator-in-Training Application, online 

form available at https://www.license.dhp.virginia.gov/apply/ 

Nursing Home Administrator-in-Training Notice of Change 

of Status or Discontinuance (rev. 3/2019) 

Nursing Home Administrator-in-Training Notice of Change 

of Status or Discontinuance (rev. 7/2020) 

Nursing Home Administrator Preceptor Application, online 

form available at https://www.license.dhp.virginia.gov/apply/ 

Checklist and Instructions for Nursing Home Administrator 

Reinstatement Application (rev. 3/2019) 

Monthly Report of Nursing Home Administrator-in-Training 

(rev. 3/2019) 

Nursing Home Administrator-in-Training Documentation of 

Completion Form (rev. 3/2019) 

Proposed AIT Program Training Plan Domains of Practice 

(rev. 3/2019) 

Checklist and Instructions for Nursing Home Administrator 

Reinstatement Application (rev. 7/2020) 

Monthly Report of Nursing Home Administrator-in-Training 

(rev. 7/2020) 

Nursing Home Administrator-in-Training Documentation of 

Completion Form (rev. 7/2020) 

Proposed AIT Program Training Plan Domains of Practice 

(rev. 7/2020) 

Continued Competency Activity and Assessment Form for 

Nursing Home Administrators (rev. 10/2014) 

Continued Education (CE) Credit Form for Voluntary 

Practice (eff. 2/2018) 

Continued Education (CE) Credit Form for Volunteer 

Practice (rev. 7/2020) 

VA.R. Doc. No. R21-6618; Filed January 5, 2021, 2:32 p.m. 

Forms 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: Forms used in administering the 

regulation have been filed by the agency. The forms are not 

being published; however, online users of this issue of the 

Virginia Register of Regulations may click on the name of a 

form with a hyperlink to access it. The forms are also available 

from the agency contact or may be viewed at the Office of the 

Registrar of Regulations, 900 East Main Street, 11th Floor, 

Richmond, Virginia 23219.  

Title of Regulation: 18VAC95-30. Regulations Governing 

the Practice of Assisted Living Facility Administrators. 

Agency Contact: Elaine Yeatts, Agency Regulatory 

Coordinator, Department of Health Professions, 9960 Mayland 

Drive, Henrico, VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-4688, FAX 

(804) 527-4434, or email elaine.yeatts@dhp.virginia.gov. 

FORMS (18VAC95-30) 

Assisted Living Facility Administrator Application for 

Licensure - form available online only at 

https://www.dhp.virginia.gov/nha/nha_forms.htm#alfa 

Assisted Living Facility Administrators Education and 

Experience Matrix (rev. 3/2019) 

Assisted Living Facility Administrators Education and 

Experience Matrix (rev. 7/2020) 

Assisted Living Facility Administrator Administrator-in-

Training Application - form available online only at 

https://www.dhp.virginia.gov/nha/nha_forms.htm#alfa 

https://www.license.dhp.virginia.gov/apply/ 

Monthly Report of Assisted Living Facility Administrator-in-

Training (rev. 3/2019) 

Assisted Living Facility Administrator-in-Training 

Documentation of Completion Form (rev. 3/2019) 

Assisted Living Facility Administrator-in-Training Notice of 

Change of Status or Discontinuance (rev. 3/2019) 

Monthly Report of Assisted Living Facility Administrator-in-

Training (rev. 7/2020) 

Assisted Living Facility Administrator-in-Training 

Documentation of Completion Form (rev. 7/2020) 

Assisted Living Facility Administrator-in-Training Notice of 

Change of Status or Discontinuance (rev. 7/2020) 

Assisted Living Facility Administrator Preceptor Application 

- form only available online at 

https://www.dhp.virginia.gov/nha/nha_forms.htm#alfa 

mailto:elaine.yeatts@dhp.virginia.gov
https://www.license.dhp.virginia.gov/apply/
https://www.license.dhp.virginia.gov/apply/
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC95/forms/NoticeofChange_Discontinue-20201229170305.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC95/forms/NoticeofChange_Discontinue-20201229170305.pdf
https://www.license.dhp.virginia.gov/apply/
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC95/forms/Reinstatement_App-20201229170331.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC95/forms/Reinstatement_App-20201229170331.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC95/forms/AIT_MonthlyReport-20201229170423.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC95/forms/AIT_MonthlyReport-20201229170423.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC95/forms/DocumentCompletionForm-20201229170446.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC95/forms/DocumentCompletionForm-20201229170446.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC95/forms/Proposed_AIT_Program-20201229170502.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC95/forms/Proposed_AIT_Program-20201229170502.pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=1c084005868~184.pdf&typ=40&actno=005868&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=1c084005868~184.pdf&typ=40&actno=005868&mime=application/pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC95/forms/CE_VolunteerPracticeLTCA-20201229170600.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC95/forms/CE_VolunteerPracticeLTCA-20201229170600.pdf
mailto:elaine.yeatts@dhp.virginia.gov
https://www.dhp.virginia.gov/nha/nha_forms.htm#alfa
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC95/forms/AIT_Matrix-20210104150020.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC95/forms/AIT_Matrix-20210104150020.pdf
https://www.license.dhp.virginia.gov/apply/
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC95/forms/MonthlyReport-20210104150038.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC95/forms/MonthlyReport-20210104150038.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC95/forms/Documentation_Completion-20210104150101.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC95/forms/Documentation_Completion-20210104150101.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC95/forms/Change_Discontinuance-20210104150253.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC95/forms/Change_Discontinuance-20210104150253.pdf
https://www.dhp.virginia.gov/nha/nha_forms.htm#alfa
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Proposed AIT Training Plan Domains of Practice (rev. 

3/2019) 

Checklist and Instructions for Assisted Living Facility 

Administrator Reinstatement Application (rev. 3/2019) 

Checklist and Instructions for Assisted Living Facility 

Administrator Preceptor Reinstatement Application (rev. 

3/2019) 

Checklist and Instructions for Acting Assisted Living Facility 

Administrator-in-Training (rev. 3/2019) 

Proposed AIT Program Training Plan Domains of Practice 

(rev. 7/2020) 

Checklist and Instructions for Assisted Living Facility 

Administrator Reinstatement Application (rev. 7/2020) 

Checklist and Instructions for Assisted Living Facility 

Administrator Preceptor Reinstatement Application (rev. 

7/2020) 

Checklist and Instructions for Acting Assisted Living Facility 

Administrator-in-Training (rev. 7/2020) 

Continuing Competency Activity and Assessment Form for 

Assisted Living Facility Administrators (rev. 9/2010) 

Continuing Education (CE) Credit Form for Volunteer 

Practice (eff. 2/2018) 

Name/Address Change Form (rev. 3/2019) 

Request for Verification of Virginia NHA or ALFA License 

(eff. 3/2019) 

Continuing Education (CE) Credit Form for Volunteer 

Practice (rev. 7/2020) 

Name/Address Change Form (rev. 1/2021) 

Request for Verification of Virginia Long-Term Care 

Administrators License (rev. 11/2019) 

VA.R. Doc. No. R21-6633; Filed January 5, 2021, 2:32 p.m. 

Emergency Regulation 

Titles of Regulations: 18VAC110-20. Regulations 

Governing the Practice of Pharmacy (amending 

18VAC110-20-111). 

18VAC110-21. Regulations Governing the Licensure of 

Pharmacists and Registration of Pharmacy Technicians 

(amending 18VAC110-21-10, 18VAC110-21-20, 

18VAC110-21-40, 18VAC110-21-140 through 18VAC110-

21-180; adding 18VAC110-21-135, 18VAC110-21-141). 

Statutory Authority: §§ 54.1-2400 and 54.1-3307 of the Code 

of Virginia. 

Effective Dates: January 3, 2021, through July 2, 2022. 

Agency Contact: Caroline Juran, RPh, Executive Director, 

Board of Pharmacy, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, 

Richmond, VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-4456, FAX (804) 

527-4472, or email caroline.juran@dhp.virginia.gov. 

Preamble: 

Section 2.2-4011 B of the Code of Virginia states that 

agencies may adopt emergency regulations in situations in 

which Virginia statutory law or the appropriation act or 

federal law or federal regulation requires that a regulation 

be effective in 280 days or less from its enactment, and the 

regulation is not exempt under the provisions of § 2.2-4006 

A 4 of the Code of Virginia. 

The amendments conform regulation to Chapters 102 and 

237 of the 2020 Acts of Assembly, including (i) establishing 

the requirements for registration as a pharmacy technician 

trainee for a person enrolled in a training program and 

engaging in tasks that may be delegated to a technician; (ii) 

specifying the certification examinations that are 

acceptable for registration as a pharmacy technician; and 

(iii) setting out the requirement for accreditation of training 

programs that will become effective on July 1, 2022. 

18VAC110-20-111. Pharmacy technicians. 

A. Every pharmacy that employs or uses pharmacy 

technicians shall maintain a site-specific training program and 

manual for training pharmacy technicians to work at that 

pharmacy. The program shall include training consistent with 

that specific pharmacy practice to include, but not be limited 

to, training in proper use of site-specific computer programs 

and equipment, proper use of other equipment used at the 

pharmacy in performing technician duties, and pharmacy 

calculations consistent with the duties at that pharmacy. 

B. Every pharmacy shall maintain documentation of 

successful completion of the site specific training program for 

each pharmacy technician for the duration of the employment 

and for a period of two years from date of termination of 

employment. Documentation for currently employed 

pharmacy technicians shall be maintained on site or at another 

location where the records are readily retrievable upon request 

for inspection. After employment is terminated, such 

documentation may be maintained at an off-site location where 

it is retrievable upon request. 

C. Every pharmacy that employs or uses a person enrolled in 

an approved a pharmacy technician training program pursuant 

to § 54.1-3321 D of the Code of Virginia shall allow such 

person to conduct tasks restricted to pharmacy technicians for 

no more than nine months without that person becoming 

registered as a pharmacy technician with the board as set forth 

in 18VAC110-20-101. Every pharmacy using such a person 

shall have documentation on site and available for inspection 

showing that the person is currently enrolled in an approved 

training program and the start date for each pharmacy 

technician in training only if the person is currently registered 

as a pharmacy technician trainee. 

https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC95/forms/Prop_DomainsofPractice-20210104150321.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC95/forms/Prop_DomainsofPractice-20210104150321.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC95/forms/Reinstatement-20210104150415.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC95/forms/Reinstatement-20210104150415.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC95/forms/Preceptor_Reinstatement-20210104150438.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC95/forms/Preceptor_Reinstatement-20210104150438.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC95/forms/Preceptor_Reinstatement-20210104150438.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC95/forms/Acting_AIT_App-20210104150507.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC95/forms/Acting_AIT_App-20210104150507.pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=bbef9005868~19m.pdf&typ=40&actno=005868&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=bbef9005868~19m.pdf&typ=40&actno=005868&mime=application/pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC95/forms/CE_VolunteerPractice-20210104150531.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC95/forms/CE_VolunteerPractice-20210104150531.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC95/forms/NameAddressChange_Form-20210108140053.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC95/forms/Request_VA_Verif-20210104150617.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC95/forms/Request_VA_Verif-20210104150617.pdf
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18VAC110-21-10. Definitions. 

In addition to words and terms defined in §§ 54.1-3300 and 

54.1-3401 of the Code of Virginia, the following words and 

terms when used in this chapter shall have the following 

meanings, unless the context clearly indicates otherwise: 

"ACPE" means the Accreditation Council for Pharmacy 

Education. 

"ASHP" means the American Society of Health-System 

Pharmacists. 

"Board" means the Virginia Board of Pharmacy. 

"CE" means continuing education as required for renewal of 

licensure by the board. 

"CEU" means a continuing education unit awarded for credit 

as the equivalent of 10 contact hours. 

"Contact hour" means the amount of credit awarded for 60 

minutes of participation in and successful completion of a 

continuing education program. 

"Foreign school of pharmacy" means a school outside the 

United States and its territories offering a course of study in 

basic sciences, pharmacology, and pharmacy of at least four 

years in duration resulting in a degree that qualifies a person to 

practice pharmacy in that country. 

"FPGEC certificate" means the certificate given by the 

Foreign Pharmacy Equivalency Committee of NABP that 

certifies that the holder of such certificate has passed the 

Foreign Pharmacy Equivalency Examination and a credential 

review of foreign training to establish educational equivalency 

to board approved schools of pharmacy and has passed 

approved examinations establishing proficiency in English. 

"Inactive license" means a license that is registered with the 

Commonwealth but does not entitle the licensee to practice, 

and the holder of which is not required to submit 

documentation of CE necessary to hold an active license. 

"NABP" means the National Association of Boards of 

Pharmacy. 

"NHA" means National Healthcareer Association. 

"Pharmacy technician trainee" means a person who is 

registered with the board and is currently enrolled in an 

approved pharmacy technician training program and is 

performing to perform duties restricted to pharmacy 

technicians for the purpose of obtaining practical experience in 

accordance with provisions of subsection G of § 54.1-3321 D 

of the Code of Virginia. 

"PTCB" means the Pharmacy Technician Certification 

Board, co-founded by the American Pharmaceutical 

Association and the American Society of Health System 

Pharmacists, as the national organization for the voluntary 

examination and certification of pharmacy technicians. 

18VAC110-21-20. Fees. 

A. Unless otherwise provided, fees listed in this section shall 

not be refundable. 

B. Unless otherwise provided, any fees for taking required 

examinations shall be paid directly to the examination service 

as specified by the board. 

C. Initial application fees. 

1. Pharmacist license $235 

2. Pharmacy intern registration $20 

3. Pharmacy technician trainee 

registration 

$20 

3. 4. Pharmacy technician registration $35 

4. 5. Approval of a pharmacy technician 

training program 

$200 

5. 6. Approval of a continuing education 

program 

$130 

D. Annual renewal fees.  

1. Pharmacist active license – due no 

later than December 31 

$120 

2. Pharmacist inactive license – due no 

later than December 31 

$60 

3. Pharmacy technician registration – 

due no later than December 31 

$35 

4. Pharmacy technician training program $100 every two 

years 

E. Late fees. The following late fees shall be paid in addition to 

the current renewal fee to renew an expired license or registration 

within one year of the expiration date or within two years in the 

case of a pharmacy technician training program. In addition, 

engaging in activities requiring a license or registration after the 

expiration date of such license or registration shall be grounds for 

disciplinary action by the board.  

1. Pharmacist license $40 

2. Pharmacist inactive license $20 

3. Pharmacy technician registration $15 

4. Pharmacy technician training program $20 

F. Reinstatement fees. Any person or entity attempting to 

renew a license or registration more than one year after the 

expiration date, or more than two years after the expiration date 

in the case of a pharmacy technician training program, shall 

submit an application for reinstatement with any required fees. 

Reinstatement is at the discretion of the board and, except for 

reinstatement following revocation or suspension, may be 
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granted by the executive director of the board upon completion 

of an application and payment of any required fees.  

1. Pharmacist license $275 

2. Pharmacist license after revocation or 

suspension 

$650 

3. Pharmacy technician registration $45 

4. Pharmacy technician or pharmacy 

technician trainee registration after 

revocation or suspension 

$165 

5. A pharmacy technician training 

program that failed to renew and 

continued to operate for more than one 

renewal cycle shall pay the current and all 

back renewal fees for the years in which 

they were operating plus a reinstatement 

fee of $75. A pharmacy technician 

training program that ceases operation 

and wishes to resume shall not be eligible 

for reinstatement but shall apply for a 

new registration. 

 

G. Miscellaneous fees.  

1. Duplicate wall certificate $50 

2. Returned check $35 

3. Duplicate license or registration $15 

4. Verification of licensure or registration $35 

18VAC110-21-40. Unprofessional conduct. 

The following practices shall constitute unprofessional 

conduct within the meaning of § 54.1-3316 of the Code of 

Virginia: 

1. Failing to comply with provisions of § 32.1-127.1:03 of 

the Code of Virginia related to the confidentiality and 

disclosure of patient records or related to providing patient 

records to another practitioner or to the patient or the 

patient's personal representative; 

2. Willfully or negligently breaching the confidentiality of a 

patient unless otherwise required or permitted by applicable 

law; 

3. Failing to maintain the confidentiality of information 

received from the Prescription Monitoring Program, 

obtaining such information for reasons other than to assist in 

determining the validity of a prescription to be filled, or 

misusing information received from the program; 

4. Engaging in disruptive or abusive behavior in a pharmacy 

or other health care setting that interferes with patient care 

or could reasonably be expected to adversely impact the 

quality of care rendered to a patient; 

5. Engaging or attempting to engage in a relationship with a 

patient that constitutes a professional boundary violation in 

which the practitioner uses his professional position to take 

advantage of the vulnerability of a patient or the patient's 

family, including sexual misconduct with a patient or a 

member of the patient's family or other conduct that results 

or could result in personal gain at the expense of the patient; 

6. Failing to maintain adequate safeguards against the 

diversion of controlled substances; 

7. Failing to appropriately respond to a known dispensing 

error in a manner that protects the health and safety of the 

patient; 

8. Delegating a task within the practice of pharmacy to a 

person who is not adequately trained to perform such a task; 

9. Failing by the pharmacist in charge to ensure that 

pharmacy interns and, pharmacy technicians, and pharmacy 

technician traineees working in the pharmacy are registered 

and that such registration is current; 

10. Failing to exercise professional judgment in determining 

whether a prescription meets the requirements of law before 

dispensing; 

11. Obtaining money or property of a patient or client by 

fraud or misrepresentation; 

12. Providing false information or failing to cooperate with 

an employee of the Department of Health Professions in the 

conduct on an investigation or inspection; 

13. Violating any provision of this chapter, 18VAC110-20, 

or Chapter 33 (§ 54.1-3300 et seq.) or 34 (§ 54.1-3400 et 

seq.) of Title 54.1 of the Code of Virginia; 

14. Performing any act likely to deceive, defraud, or harm 

the public; or 

15. Having a restriction of a license to practice pharmacy or 

a registration as a pharmacy technician in another 

jurisdiction in the United States. 

18VAC110-21-135. Registration as a pharmacy technician 

trainee.  

A. A person desiring to gain practical pharmacy experience 

toward completion of a pharmacy technician training program 

in Virginia shall first register with the board as a pharmacy 

technician trainee on a form provided by the board prior to 

engaging in the duties of a pharmacy technician pursuant to 

§ 54.1-3321 of the Code of Virginia. 

B. In order to be eligible to register as a pharmacy technician 

trainee, an applicant shall be enrolled in a pharmacy technician 

training program. An expiration date, not to exceed two years, 

shall be assigned to the registration to cover the estimated time 

period for the trainee to complete the practical pharmacy 

experience required for completion of the training program and 

pass the required examination. If the trainee is no longer 
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enrolled in the training program, takes a voluntary break from 

the program, or is otherwise not actively progressing toward 

completion of such program, the registration is no longer valid 

and shall be returned to the board immediately. 

C. A pharmacy technician trainee shall be directly monitored 

by a supervising pharmacist who holds a current active license 

and assumes full responsibility for the training and supervision 

of the trainee.  

D. A pharmacy technician trainee shall notify the board in 

writing of any change in address of record within 14 days of 

such change. 

18VAC110-21-140. Application for registration as a 

pharmacy technician (Effective until July 1, 2022). 

A. Any person wishing to apply for registration as a pharmacy 

technician shall submit the application fee and an application 

on a form approved by the board. 

B. To be registered as a pharmacy technician, an applicant 

shall provide evidence of the following: 

1. Satisfactory completion of a board-approved training 

program; and 

2. A passing score on a board-approved examination. 

C. In lieu of the requirements of subsection B of this section, 

an applicant may provide evidence of current PTCB 

certification. 

D. A pharmacy technician trainee enrolled in an approved 

pharmacy technician training program pursuant to § 54.1-3321 

D of the Code of Virginia may perform tasks restricted to 

pharmacy technicians for no more than nine consecutive 

months from the date the trainee begins performing duties 

restricted to a pharmacy technician without becoming 

registered as a pharmacy technician. 

18VAC110-21-141. Requirements for pharmacy technician 

training (Effective July 1, 2022).  

A. Any person wishing to apply for registration as a pharmacy 

technician shall submit the application fee and an application 

on a form approved by the board.  

B. To be registered as a pharmacy technician, an applicant 

shall provide evidence of the following:  

1. Completion of a pharmacy technician training program 

that is: 

a. Jointly accredited by the ASHP and ACPE; 

b. An accredited training program operated through the 

Department of Education's Career and Technical 

Education Program; 

c. Operated through a federal agency or branch of the 

military; or 

d. Accredited by an accreditation body approved by the 

board. 

2. Successfully having passed a national certification 

examination administered by PTCB or NHA. 

C. A pharmacy technician who has previously practiced in 

another United States jurisdiction may be eligible to obtain 

registration as a pharmacy technician upon documentation of 

previous practice and having passed a national certification 

examination administered by PTCB or NHA. 

D. A person who successfully completed or was enrolled in a 

board-approved pharmacy technician training program but did 

not successfully pass a national examination prior to July 1, 

2022, may be eligible to obtain registration as a pharmacy 

technician after successfully passing a national certification 

examination administered by PTCB or NHA and submitting to 

the board documentation of such completion or enrollment in 

a board-approved pharmacy technician training program and 

passing examination score.  

E. A person who passed a national certification examination 

administered by PTCB or NHA but did not complete a board-

approved pharmacy technician training program prior to July 

1, 2022, may be eligible to obtain registration as a pharmacy 

technician upon documentation of having passed such 

examination. 

18VAC110-21-150. Criteria for approval for training 

programs (Effective until July 1, 2022). 

A. Any person wishing to apply for approval of a pharmacy 

technician training program shall submit the application fee, a 

sample certificate, and an application on a form approved by 

the board and meet the criteria established in this section.  

B. The curriculum of a training program for pharmacy 

technicians shall include instruction in applicable current laws 

and regulations and in the tasks that may be performed by a 

pharmacy technician to include the following or any other task 

restricted to pharmacy technicians in regulation:  

1. The entry of prescription information and drug history 

into a data system or other recordkeeping system;  

2. The preparation of prescription labels or patient 

information;  

3. The removal of the drug to be dispensed from inventory;  

4. The counting, measuring, or compounding of the drug to 

be dispensed;  

5. The packaging and labeling of the drug to be dispensed 

and the repackaging thereof;  

6. The stocking or loading of automated dispensing devices 

or other devices used in the dispensing process; and  

7. The acceptance of refill authorization from a prescriber or 

the prescriber's authorized agent provided there is no change 

to the original prescription.  
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C. Each program shall have a program director who shall be 

either (i) a pharmacist with a current license in any jurisdiction 

and who is not currently suspended or revoked in any 

jurisdiction in the United States; (ii) a pharmacy technician 

with at least one year of experience performing technician 

tasks who holds a current registration in Virginia or current 

PTCB certification and who is not currently suspended or 

revoked as a pharmacy technician in any jurisdiction; or (iii) 

other person approved and deemed qualified by the board to be 

a program director.  

D. Instructors for the core components listed in subsection B 

of this section shall meet the requirements for the program 

director listed in subsection C of this section. The program 

director may serve as an instructor.  

E. The length of the program shall be sufficient to prepare a 

program participant to sit for the board-approved examination 

and demonstrate entry-level competency.  

F. The program shall maintain records of program 

participants either on site or at another location where the 

records are readily retrievable upon request for inspection. A 

program shall provide a certificate of completion, including the 

program approval number, to participants who successfully 

complete the program and provide verification of completion 

of the program for a participant upon request by the board. 

Records shall be maintained for two years from date of 

completion or termination of program.  

G. The program shall report within 14 days any substantive 

change in the program to include a change in program name, 

program certificate, program director, instructors, name of 

institution or business if applicable, address, program content, 

length of program, or location of records.  

H. A pharmacy technician training program approval expires 

after two years, after which the program may apply for 

renewal. For continued approval, the program shall submit the 

renewal application, renewal fee, and a self-evaluation report 

on a form provided by the board at the time of renewal 

notification. Renewal of a program's approval is at the 

discretion of the board, and the decision to renew shall be 

based on documentation of continued compliance with the 

criteria set forth in this section. 

18VAC110-21-160. Examination. (Repealed.). 

A. The board shall approve one or more examinations to test 

entry-level competency for pharmacy technicians. In order to 

be approved, a competency examination shall be developed in 

accordance with and meet the recognized acceptable test 

measurement standards of the Joint Technical Standards for 

Education and Psychological Testing (American 

Psychological Association, current edition), and shall be 

administered by an independent third party.  

B. The board may contract with an examination service for 

the development and administration of a competency 

examination.  

C. The board shall determine the minimum passing standard 

on the competency examination.  

D. Any requests for testing accommodations under the 

Americans with Disabilities Act shall be in accordance with 

the provisions of 18VAC110-21-80 F. 

18VAC110-21-170. Renewal and reinstatement of 

registration. 

A. Pharmacy technician registrations expire on December 31 

and shall be renewed annually prior to that date by the 

submission of a renewal fee, renewal form, and an e-profile 

number issued by NABP. A pharmacy technician newly 

registered on or after July 1 shall not be required to renew that 

registration until December 31 of the following year. Failure to 

receive the application for renewal shall not relieve the 

pharmacy technician of the responsibility for renewing the 

registration by the expiration date. 

B. A pharmacy technician who fails to renew his registration 

by the expiration date may renew his registration at any time 

within one year of its expiration by submission of the renewal 

fee and late fee, renewal form, and attestation of having met 

the continuing education requirements. 

C. A pharmacy technician who fails to renew his registration 

for more than one year following expiration and who wishes to 

reinstate such registration shall submit an application for 

reinstatement, pay the current renewal fee and a reinstatement 

fee, and submit documentation showing compliance with 

continuing education requirements. Reinstatement is at the 

discretion of the board and may be granted by the executive 

director of the board provided no grounds exist to deny said 

reinstatement. Practicing as a pharmacy technician with a 

lapsed registration shall be illegal and may subject the 

registrant to disciplinary action by the board. 

D. A person who fails to reinstate a pharmacy technician 

registration within five years of expiration shall not be eligible 

for reinstatement and shall repeat an approved training 

program and repeat and pass the examination or hold current 

PTCB certification before applying to be reregistered: 

1. Take and pass a national certification examination 

administered by PTCB or NHA; 

2. Document completion of 20 hours of continuing 

education; and 

3. Pay the current renewal fee and a reinstatement fee. 

18VAC110-21-180. Requirements for continued 

competency. 

A. A pharmacy technician shall be required to have 

completed a minimum of 0.5 CEUs or five contact hours of 
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approved continuing education for each annual renewal of 

registration. Hours in excess of the number required for 

renewal may not be transferred or credited to another year.  

B. An approved continuing education program shall meet the 

requirements as set forth in 18VAC110-21-120 B or 

18VAC110-21-130 B.  

C. Upon written request of a pharmacy technician, the board 

may grant an extension of up to one year in order for the 

pharmacy technician to fulfill the continuing education 

requirements for the period of time in question. The granting 

of an extension shall not relieve the pharmacy technician from 

complying with current year requirements. Any subsequent 

extension shall be granted for good cause shown.  

D. Up to one hour of the five hours required for annual 

renewal may be satisfied through delivery of pharmacy 

services as a pharmacy technician, without compensation, to 

low-income individuals receiving health services through a 

local health department or a free clinic organized in whole or 

primarily for the delivery of those services. One hour of 

continuing education may be credited for three hours of 

providing such volunteer services, as documented by the health 

department or free clinic. 

E. Original documentation Documentation showing 

successful completion of continuing education programs shall 

be maintained by the pharmacy technician for a period of two 

years following the renewal of his registration. The pharmacy 

technician shall provide such documentation to the board upon 

request in a manner to be determined by the board. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R20-6513; Filed January 2, 2021, 10:18 a.m. 

Emergency Regulation 

Titles of Regulations: 18VAC110-20. Regulations 

Governing the Practice of Pharmacy (amending 

18VAC110-20-150). 

18VAC110-21. Regulations Governing the Licensure of 

Pharmacists and Registration of Pharmacy Technicians 

(adding 18VAC110-21-46). 

Statutory Authority: §§ 54.1-2400 and 54.1-3307 of the Code 

of Virginia. 

Effective Dates: January 3, 2021, through July 2, 2022. 

Agency Contact: Caroline Juran, RPh, Executive Director, 

Board of Pharmacy, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, 

Richmond, VA 23233-1463, telephone (804) 367-4456, FAX 

(804) 527-4472, or email caroline.juran@dhp.virginia.gov. 

Preamble: 

Section 2.2-4011 B of the Code of Virginia states that 

agencies may adopt emergency regulations in situations in 

which Virginia statutory law or the appropriation act or 

federal law or federal regulation requires that a regulation 

be effective in 280 days or less from its enactment, and the 

regulation is not exempt under the provisions of § 2.2-4006 

A 4 of the Code of Virginia. 

The amendments (i) list drugs and devices that may be 

initiated by a pharmacist for a patient older than 18 years 

of age and (ii) provide the protocol to notify a primary care 

provider, maintain patient records, and protect patient 

privacy. 

18VAC110-20-150. Physical standards for all pharmacies.  

A. The prescription department shall not be less than 240 

square feet. The patient waiting area or the area used for 

counseling, devices, cosmetics, and proprietary medicines 

shall not be considered a part of the minimum 240 square feet. 

The total area shall be consistent with the size and scope of the 

services provided. 

B. Access to stock rooms, rest rooms, and other areas other 

than an office that is exclusively used by the pharmacist shall 

not be through the prescription department. A rest room in the 

prescription department, used exclusively by pharmacists and 

personnel assisting with dispensing functions, may be allowed 

provided there is another rest room outside the prescription 

department available to other employees and the public. This 

subsection shall not apply to prescription departments in 

existence prior to November 4, 1993. 

C. The pharmacy shall be constructed of permanent and 

secure materials. Trailers or other moveable facilities or 

temporary construction shall not be permitted. 

D. The entire area of the location of the pharmacy practice, 

including all areas where drugs are stored, shall be well lighted 

and well ventilated; the proper storage temperature shall be 

maintained to meet USP-NF specifications for drug storage. 

E. The prescription department counter work space shall be 

used only for the compounding and dispensing of drugs and 

necessary recordkeeping. 

F. A sink with hot and cold running water shall be within the 

prescription department. A pharmacy issued a limited-use 

permit that does not stock prescription drugs as part of its 

operation is exempt from this requirement. 

G. Adequate refrigeration facilities equipped with a 

monitoring thermometer for the storage of drugs requiring cold 

storage temperature shall be maintained within the prescription 

department if the pharmacy stocks such drugs. 

H. A pharmacy stocking drugs requiring cold storage 

temperature shall record the temperature daily and adjust the 

thermostat as necessary to ensure an appropriate temperature 

range. The record shall be maintained manually or 

electronically for a period of two years. 

I. The physical settings of a pharmacy in which a pharmacist 

initiates treatment with, dispenses, or administers drugs and 

devices pursuant to § 54.1-3303.1 of the Code of Virginia and 

18VAC110-21-46 shall protect patient confidentiality and 

comply with the Health Insurance Portability and 

Accountability Act, 42 USC § 1320d et seq. 
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Regulations 

Volume 37, Issue 12  Virginia Register of Regulations  February 1, 2021 

1317 

18VAC110-21-46. Initiation of treatment by a pharmacist.  

A. Pursuant to § 54.1-3303.1 of the Code of Virginia, a 

pharmacist may initiate treatment with, dispense, or administer 

the following drugs and devices to persons 18 years of age or 

older:  

1. Naloxone or other opioid antagonist, including such 

controlled paraphernalia as defined in § 54.1-3466 of the 

Code of Virginia as may be necessary to administer such 

naloxone or other opioid antagonist; 

2. Epinephrine; 

3. Injectable or self-administered hormonal contraceptives, 

provided the patient completes an assessment consistent 

with the United States Medical Eligibility Criteria for 

Contraceptive Use; 

4. Prenatal vitamins for which a prescription is required; 

5. Dietary fluoride supplements, in accordance with 

recommendations of the American Dental Association for 

prescribing of such supplements for persons whose drinking 

water has a fluoride content below the concentration 

recommended by the U.S. Department of Health and Human 

Services; and 

6. Medications covered by the patient's health carrier when 

the patient's out-of-pocket cost is lower than the out-of-

pocket cost to purchase an over-the-counter equivalent of the 

same drug. 

B. Pharmacists who initiate treatment with, dispense, or 

administer a drug or device pursuant to subsection A of this 

section shall: 

1. Follow the statewide protocol adopted by the board for 

each drug or device. 

2. Notify the patient's primary health care provider that 

treatment has been initiated with such drug or device or that 

such drug or device has been dispensed or administered to 

the patient, provided that the patient consents to such 

notification. If the patient does not have a primary health 

care provider, the pharmacist shall counsel the patient 

regarding the benefits of establishing a relationship with a 

primary health care provider and, upon request, provide 

information regarding primary health care providers, 

including federally qualified health centers, free clinics, or 

local health departments serving the area in which the patient 

is located. If the pharmacist is initiating treatment with, 

dispensing, or administering injectable or self-administered 

hormonal contraceptives, the pharmacist shall counsel the 

patient regarding seeking preventative care, including (i) 

routine well-woman visits, (ii) testing for sexually 

transmitted infections, and (iii) pap smears. 

3. Maintain a patient record for a minimum of six years 

following the last patient encounter with the following 

exceptions:  

a. Records that have previously been transferred to another 

practitioner or health care provider or provided to the 

patient or the patient's personal representative; or  

b. Records that are required by contractual obligation or 

federal law to be maintained for a longer period of time.  

4. Perform the activities in a manner that protects patient 

confidentiality and complies with the Health Insurance 

Portability and Accountability Act, 42 USC § 1320d et seq. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R21-6488; Filed January 1, 2021, 6:07 p.m. 

BOARD OF PHARMACY 

Fast-Track Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC110-21. Regulations Governing 

the Licensure of Pharmacists and Registration of 

Pharmacy Technicians (amending 18VAC110-21-120). 

Statutory Authority: §§ 54.1-2400 and 54.1-3307 of the Code 

of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: No public hearings are currently 

scheduled. 

Public Comment Deadline: March 3, 2021. 

Effective Date: March 18, 2021. 

Agency Contact: Caroline Juran, RPh, Executive Director, 

Board of Pharmacy, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, 

Richmond, VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-4456, FAX (804) 

527-4472, or email caroline.juran@dhp.virginia.gov. 

Basis: Regulations are promulgated under the general authority 

of § 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia, which provides the 

Board of Pharmacy the authority to promulgate regulations to 

administer the regulatory system. The specific statutory 

mandate for continuing education is found in § 54.1-3314.1 I 

of the Code of Virginia: "The Board shall provide for an 

inactive status for those pharmacists who do not wish to 

practice in Virginia. The Board shall require upon request for 

change from inactive to active status proof of continuing 

education hours as specified in regulations. No person shall 

practice in Virginia unless he holds a current active license." 

Purpose: The purpose of the regulatory change is to allow 

pharmacists to receive credit toward fulfilling the requirement 

of three hours of live continuing education by volunteering. To 

the extent such an allowance is an incentive for a pharmacist 

to work without compensation in a free clinic or local health 

department, the proposed rule will improve the health, safety, 

and welfare of low income citizens who receive pharmacy 

services from one of those entities. 

Rationale for Using Fast-Track Rulemaking Process: The 

amended rule will benefit pharmacists and free clinics or local 

health departments and will not be controversial. 

Substance: 18VAC110-21-120 C is amended to allow two 

hours of live continuing education credit for the delivery of 

volunteer pharmacy services in accordance with 18VAC110-

21-120 D. 
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Issues: The possible advantage to the public would be an 

increase in the amount of volunteer pharmacy services 

available to low-income individuals receiving health services 

through a local health department of a free clinic. There would 

also be an advantage to a pharmacist who is able to fulfill some 

of the three hours of live continuing education with such 

service. There are no disadvantages to the public. There are no 

advantages or disadvantages to this agency or the 

Commonwealth. 

Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 

Analysis:  

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. The 

Board of Pharmacy (Board) proposes to allow up to two 

continuing education contact hours1 earned through volunteer 

pharmacist work to count toward the required minimum of 

three contact hours that must be obtained in courses or 

programs that are live or real-time interactive. 

Background. The regulation requires that pharmacists 

complete a minimum of 15 contact hours of continuing 

pharmacy education in an approved program for each annual 

renewal of licensure. Up to two hours of the 15 contact hours 

required for annual renewal may be satisfied through delivery 

of pharmacy services as a pharmacist, without compensation, 

to low-income individuals receiving health services through a 

local health department or a free clinic organized in whole or 

primarily for the delivery of those services. One contact hour 

of continuing education is credited for each three hours of 

providing such volunteer services, as documented by the health 

department or free clinic. 

Of the 15 contact hours required for annual renewal, at least 

three hours must be obtained in courses or programs that are 

live or real-time interactive. The current regulation does not 

allow the contact hours obtained through volunteer pharmacist 

work to count toward the minimum of three contact hours that 

are live or real-time interactive. 

Estimated Benefits and Costs. The proposal to allow up to two 

continuing education contact hours earned through volunteer 

pharmacist work to count toward the required three contact 

hours that are live or real-time interactive may encourage more 

pharmacists to provide such volunteer services. Since in order 

to qualify for continuing education contact hours the volunteer 

pharmacy services must be provided to low-income 

individuals receiving health services through a local health 

department or a free clinic, the proposal may be beneficial in 

that some low-income individuals may receive pharmacist 

services that they would not otherwise have received. 

Businesses and Other Entities Affected. The proposed 

amendment potentially affects the 15,360 pharmacists licensed 

in the Commonwealth, local health departments, and free 

clinics. The proposal does not produce costs. 

Small Businesses2 Affected: The proposed amendment does 

not substantively affect small businesses. 

Localities3 Affected.4 The proposed amendment applies 

throughout the Commonwealth, but lower-income localities 

may be disproportionately positively affected in that there may 

be greater need for volunteer pharmacist services. The proposal 

does not introduce costs for local governments. 

Projected Impact on Employment. The proposed amendment 

is unlikely to substantively affect total employment. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. The proposed 

amendment is unlikely to substantively affect the use and value 

of private property or real estate development costs. 

___________________________________ 

1"Contact hour" is defined in the regulation as "the amount of credit awarded 

for 60 minutes of participation in and successful completion of a continuing 

education program." 

2Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.04 of the Code of Virginia, small business is defined 

as "a business entity, including its affiliates, that (i) is independently owned 

and operated and (ii) employs fewer than 500 full-time employees or has gross 

annual sales of less than $6 million." 

3"Locality" can refer to either local governments or the locations in the 

Commonwealth where the activities relevant to the regulatory change are most 

likely to occur. 

4§ 2.2-4007.04 defines "particularly affected" as bearing disproportionate 

material impact. 

Agency's Response to the Economic Impact Analysis: The 

Board of Pharmacy concurs with the economic impact analysis 

of the Department of Planning and Budget. 

Summary: 

The amendment allows a pharmacist to satisfy two hours of 

the requirement for three hours of live or real-time 

interactive continuing education by volunteering pharmacy 

services for three hours. 

18VAC110-21-120. Requirements for continuing 

education. 

A. A pharmacist shall be required to have completed a 

minimum of 1.5 CEUs or 15 contact hours of continuing 

pharmacy education in an approved program for each annual 

renewal of licensure. CEUs or hours in excess of the number 

required for renewal may not be transferred or credited to 

another year. 

B. A pharmacy education program approved for continuing 

pharmacy education is: 

1. One that is approved by the ACPE; 

2. One that is approved as a Category I continuing medical 

education course, the primary focus of which is pharmacy, 

pharmacology, or drug therapy; or 

3. One that is approved by the board in accordance with the 

provisions of 18VAC110-21-130. 

C. Of the 15 contact hours required for annual renewal, at 

least three hours shall be obtained in courses or programs that 
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are live or real-time interactive. Included in the three hours, the 

following may be credited: 

1. A maximum of one hour for attendance at a board meeting 

or formal hearing; or 

2. A maximum of one hour for serving as a preceptor for a 

pharmacy student or resident in an accredited school or 

program or for a foreign-trained student obtaining hours of 

practical experience; or 

3. A maximum of two hours for the delivery of volunteer 

pharmacy services in accordance with provisions of 

subsection D of this section. 

D. Up to two hours of the 15 hours required for annual 

renewal may be satisfied through delivery of pharmacy 

services as a pharmacist, without compensation, to low-income 

individuals receiving health services through a local health 

department or a free clinic organized in whole or primarily for 

the delivery of those services. One hour of continuing 

education may be credited for three hours of providing such 

volunteer services, as documented by the health department or 

free clinic. 

E. The board may grant an extension pursuant to § 54.1-

3314.1 E of the Code of Virginia. Any subsequent extension 

shall be granted only for good cause shown. 

F. Pharmacists are required to attest to compliance with the 

CE requirements in a manner approved by the board at the time 

of their annual license renewal. Following each renewal 

period, the board may conduct an audit of the immediate past 

two years CE documents to verify compliance with the 

requirements. Pharmacists are required to maintain for two 

years following renewal the original certificates documenting 

successful completion of CE, showing the date and title of the 

CE program or activity, the number of CEUs or contact hours 

awarded, and a certifying signature or other certification of the 

approved provider. Pharmacists selected for audit must provide 

these original documents to the board by the deadline date 

specified by the board in the audit notice. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R21-6416; Filed January 1, 2021, 6:10 p.m. 

Emergency Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC110-30. Regulations for 

Practitioners of the Healing Arts to Sell Controlled 

Substances (amending 18VAC110-30-10, 18VAC110-30-

20, 18VAC110-30-21, 18VAC110-30-40, 18VAC110-30-

270). 

Statutory Authority: §§ 54.1-2400 and 54.1-3307 of the Code 

of Virginia. 

Effective Dates: January 4, 2021, through July 3, 2022. 

Agency Contact: Caroline Juran, RPh, Executive Director, 

Board of Pharmacy, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, 

Richmond, VA 23233-1463, telephone (804) 527-4456, FAX 

(804) 527-4472, or email caroline.juran@dhp.virginia.gov. 

Preamble: 

Section 2.2-4011 B of the Code of Virginia states that 

agencies may adopt emergency regulations in situations in 

which Virginia statutory law or the appropriation act or 

federal law or federal regulation requires that a regulation 

be effective in 280 days or less from its enactment, and the 

regulation is not exempt under the provisions of § 2.2-4006 

A 4 of the Code of Virginia. 

Pursuant to Chapters 609 and 610 of the 2020 Acts of 

Assembly, the amendments (i) define the term "practitioner" 

to include nurse practitioners or physician assistants for the 

purpose of issuance of a limited-use license and (ii) include 

the allowance for issuance of a limited-use permit for 

nonprofit facilities for the sale of Schedule VI drugs and 

devices used in administration of such drugs. 

18VAC110-30-10. Definitions. 

The following words and terms when used in this chapter 

shall have the following meanings unless the context clearly 

indicates otherwise. 

"Board" means the Virginia Board of Pharmacy. 

"Controlled substance" means a drug, substance or immediate 

precursor in Schedules I through VI of the Drug Control Act. 

"Licensee" means a practitioner who is licensed by the Board 

of Pharmacy to sell controlled substances. 

"Personal supervision" means the licensee must be physically 

present and render direct, personal control over the entire 

service being rendered or acts being performed. Neither prior 

nor future instructions shall be sufficient nor shall supervision 

be rendered by telephone, written instructions, or by any 

mechanical or electronic methods. 

"Practitioner" or "practitioner of the healing arts" means a 

doctor of medicine, osteopathic medicine or podiatry who 

possesses a current active license issued by the Board of 

Medicine. For the purpose of a limited-use permit for a 

nonprofit facility, a "practitioner" or "practitioner of the 

healing arts" may also mean a physician assistant with a current 

active license issued by the Board of Medicine or a nurse 

practitioner with a current active license issued by the Joint 

Boards of Nursing and Medicine. 

"Sale" means barter, exchange, or gift, or offer thereof, and 

each such transaction made by any person, whether as an 

individual, proprietor, agent, servant or employee. It does not 

include the gift of manufacturer's samples to a patient. 

"Special packaging" means packaging that is designed or 

constructed to be significantly difficult for children under five 

years of age to open or obtain a toxic or harmful amount of the 

controlled substance contained therein within a reasonable 

time and not difficult for normal adults to use properly, but 

does not mean packaging which all such children cannot open 

or obtain a toxic or harmful amount within a reasonable time. 
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"U.S.P.-N.F." means the United States Pharmacopeia-

National Formulary. 

18VAC110-30-20. Application for licensure. 

A. Prior to engaging in the sale of controlled substances, a 

practitioner shall make application on a form provided by the 

board and be issued a license. After June 7, 2016, the 

practitioner shall engage in such sale from a location that has 

been issued a facility permit. 

B. In order to be eligible for a license to sell controlled 

substances, a practitioner shall possess a current, active license 

to practice medicine, osteopathic medicine, or podiatry issued 

by the Virginia Board of Medicine. Prior to engaging in the 

sale of Schedule VI controlled substances, excluding the 

combination of misoprostol and methotrexate, and hypodermic 

syringes and needles for the administration of prescribed 

controlled substances from a nonprofit facility, a doctor of 

medicine, osteopathic medicine, or podiatry; a nurse 

practitioner; or a physician assistant shall make application on 

a form provided by the board and be issued a limited-use 

license. 

C. Any disciplinary action taken by the Board of Medicine, 

or in the case of a nurse practitioner, by the Joint Boards of 

Nursing and Medicine, against the practitioner's license to 

practice shall constitute grounds for the board to deny, restrict, 

or place terms on the license to sell. 

18VAC110-30-21. Application for facility permit. 

A. After June 7, 2016, any location at which practitioners of 

the healing arts sell controlled substances shall have a permit 

issued by the board in accordance with § 54.1-3304.1 of the 

Code of Virginia. A licensed practitioner of the healing arts 

shall apply for the facility permit on a form provided by the 

board.  

B. For good cause shown, the board may issue a limited-use 

facility permit when the scope, degree, or type of services 

provided to the patient is of a limited nature. The permit to be 

issued shall be based on conditions of use requested by the 

applicant or imposed by the board in cases where certain 

requirements of this chapter may be waived.  

1. The limited-use facility permit application shall list the 

regulatory requirements for which a waiver is requested, if 

any, and a brief explanation as to why each requirement 

should not apply to that practice. 

2. A policy and procedure manual detailing the type and 

volume of controlled substances to be sold and safeguards 

against diversion shall accompany the application.  

3. The issuance and continuation of a limited-use facility 

permit shall be subject to continuing compliance with the 

conditions set forth by the board. 

4. A limited-use facility permit may be issued to a nonprofit 

facility for the purpose of dispensing Schedule VI controlled 

substances, excluding the combination of misoprostol and 

methotrexate, and hypodermic syringes and needles for the 

administration of prescribed controlled substances. 

C. The executive director may grant a waiver of the security 

system when storing and selling multiple strengths and 

formulations of no more than five different topical Schedule 

VI drugs intended for cosmetic use. 

18VAC110-30-40. Acts to be performed by the licensee. 

A. The selection of the controlled substance from the stock, 

any preparation or packaging of a controlled substance or the 

preparation of a label for a controlled substance to be 

transferred to a patient shall be the personal responsibility of 

the licensee.  

1. Any compounding of a controlled substance shall be 

personally performed by the licensee or a registered 

pharmacy technician under the supervision of the licensee.  

2. A licensee may supervise one person who may be present 

in the storage and selling area to assist in performance of 

pharmacy technician tasks, as set forth in § 54.1-3321 of the 

Code of Virginia, provided such person is not licensed to sell 

controlled substances and is either:  

a. A pharmacy technician registered with the board; or  

b. A licensed nurse or physician assistant who has received 

training in technician tasks consistent with training 

required for pharmacy technicians.  

3. Unless using one of the board-approved training courses 

for pharmacy technicians, a licensee who uses a nurse or 

physician assistant to perform pharmacy technician tasks 

shall develop and maintain a training manual and shall 

document that such licensee has successfully completed 

general training in the following areas:  

a. The entry of prescription information and drug history 

into a data system or other recordkeeping system;  

b. The preparation of prescription labels or patient 

information;  

c. The removal of the drug to be dispensed from inventory;  

d. The counting or measuring of the drug to be dispensed 

to include pharmacy calculations;  

e. The packaging and labeling of the drug to be dispensed 

and the repackaging thereof;  

f. The stocking or loading of automated dispensing 

devices or other devices used in the dispensing process, if 

applicable; and  

g. Applicable laws and regulations related to dispensing.  

4. A licensee who employs or uses pharmacy technicians, 

licensed nurses or physician assistants to assist in the storage 

and selling area shall develop and maintain a site-specific 

training program and manual for training to work in that 

practice. The program shall include training consistent with 

that specific practice to include, but not be limited to, 
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training in proper use of site-specific computer programs 

and equipment, proper use of other equipment used in the 

practice in performing technician duties, and pharmacy 

calculations consistent with the duties in that practice.  

5. A licensee shall maintain documentation of successful 

completion of the site-specific training program for each 

pharmacy technician, nurse or physician assistant for the 

duration of the employment and for a period of two years 

from date of termination of employment. Documentation for 

currently employed persons shall be maintained on site or at 

another location where the records are readily retrievable 

upon request for inspection. After employment is 

terminated, such documentation may be maintained at an 

off-site location where it is retrievable upon request.  

B. Prior to the dispensing, the licensee shall:  

1. Conduct a prospective drug review and offer to counsel a 

patient in accordance with provisions of § 54.1-3319 of the 

Code of Virginia; and  

2. Inspect the prescription product to verify its accuracy in 

all respects, and place his initials on the record of sale as 

certification of the accuracy of, and the responsibility for, 

the entire transaction.  

C. If the record of sale is maintained in an automated data 

processing system as provided in 18VAC110-30-200, the 

licensee shall personally place his initials with each entry of a 

sale as a certification of the accuracy of, and the responsibility 

for, the entire transaction.  

18VAC110-30-270. Grounds for disciplinary action. 

In addition to those grounds listed in § 54.1-3316 of the Code 

of Virginia, the board may revoke, suspend, refuse to issue or 

renew a license to sell controlled substances or may deny any 

application if it finds that the licensee or applicant has had his 

license to practice medicine, osteopathic medicine, or podiatry 

or license as a physician assistant or nurse practitioner 

suspended or revoked in Virginia or in any other state or no 

longer holds a current active license to practice in the 

Commonwealth of Virginia. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R21-6380; Filed January 4, 2021, 1:02 p.m. 

Final Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC110-50. Regulations Governing 

Wholesale Distributors, Manufacturers, Third-Party 

Logistics Providers, and Warehousers (adding 18VAC110-

50-55). 

Statutory Authority: §§ 54.1-2400 and 54.1-3307 of the Code 

of Virginia. 

Effective Date: March 3, 2021. 

Agency Contact: Caroline Juran, RPh, Executive Director, 

Board of Pharmacy, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, 

Richmond, VA 23233-1463, telephone (804) 367-4456, FAX 

(804) 527-4472, or email caroline.juran@dhp.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

Chapters 241 and 242 of the 2018 Acts of Assembly, which 

enacted § 54.1-3415.1 of the Code of Virginia, establish the 

requirements for delivery of Schedule VI devices directly to 

an ultimate user or consumer on behalf of a medical 

equipment supplier upon a valid order from a prescriber or 

upon request from the medical director of a home health 

agency, nursing home, assisted living facility, or hospice. 

This action adds 18VAC110-50-55 to implement Chapters 

241 and 242. 

Summary of Public Comments and Agency's Response: No 

public comments were received by the promulgating agency. 

18VAC110-50-55. Delivery of Schedule VI devices.  

A. In accordance with the provisions of subsection A of 

§ 54.1-3415.1 of the Code of Virginia, a manufacturer, 

nonresident manufacturer, wholesale distributor, nonresident 

wholesaler distributor, third-party logistics provider, 

nonresident third-party logistics provider, warehouser, or 

nonresident warehouser licensed, permitted, or registered in 

Virginia may deliver Schedule VI prescription devices directly 

to an ultimate user or consumer on behalf of a medical 

equipment supplier. 

1. Such delivery shall only occur in accordance with an 

agreement between a delivering entity named in this 

subsection and a medical equipment supplier in compliance 

with law and regulation. 

2. The agreement shall be between an individual delivering 

entity or multiple delivering entities under shared ownership 

and an individual medical equipment supplier or multiple 

medical equipment suppliers under shared ownership. The 

agreement shall be applicable to all ultimate users or 

consumers receiving services from the medical equipment 

supplier who require delivery of Schedule VI prescription 

devices. 

3. The medical equipment supplier shall represent to the 

delivering entity that it has complied with the provisions of 

§ 54.1-3415.1 of the Code of Virginia regarding the 

existence of a valid order from a prescriber for the delivery 

of a Schedule VI prescription device to an ultimate user or 

consumer. Validation of orders of prescribers shall be the 

responsibility of the medical equipment supplier upon 

request of the board or delivering entity. 

B. In accordance with the provisions of subsection B of 

§ 54.1-3415.1 of the Code of Virginia, a manufacturer, 

nonresident manufacturer, wholesale distributor, nonresident 

wholesaler distributor, third-party logistics provider, 

nonresident third-party logistics provider, warehouser, or 

nonresident warehouser licensed, permitted, or registered in 

Virginia may deliver Schedule VI prescription devices directly 

to an ultimate user's or consumer's residence to be administered 

by persons authorized to administer such devices, provided 

that (i) such delivery is made on behalf of a medical director of 
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a home health agency, nursing home, assisted living facility, or 

hospice who has requested the distribution of the Schedule VI 

prescription device and directs the delivery of such device to 

the ultimate user's or consumer's residence and (ii) the medical 

director on whose behalf such Schedule VI prescription device 

is being delivered has entered into an agreement with the 

manufacturer, nonresident manufacturer, wholesale 

distributor, nonresident wholesale distributor, warehouser, 

nonresident warehouser, third-party logistics provider, or 

nonresident third-party logistics provider for such delivery. 

1. Such delivery shall only occur in accordance with an 

agreement between a delivering entity authorized in this 

subsection and a medical director of a home health agency, 

nursing home, assisted living facility, or hospice and in 

compliance with law and regulation. 

2. The agreement shall be between an individual delivering 

entity or multiple delivering entities under shared ownership 

and the medical director of an individual home health 

agency, nursing home, assisted living facility, or hospice, or 

multiple such entities under shared ownership. The 

agreement shall be applicable to all ultimate users or 

consumers of the home health agency, nursing home, 

assisted living facility, or hospice who require delivery of 

Schedule VI prescription devices.  

3. The home health agency, nursing home, assisted living 

facility, or hospice shall represent to the delivering entity 

that it has complied with provisions of § 54.1-3415.1 of the 

Code of Virginia regarding the existence of a request from a 

prescriber for the delivery of a Schedule VI prescription 

device to an ultimate user or consumer. Validation of the 

request from a prescriber shall be the responsibility of the 

home health agency, nursing home, assisted living facility, 

or hospice upon request of the board or delivering entity. 

C. The agreement, as required by subdivisions A 1 and B 1 of 

this section, shall be in written or electronic format and shall 

be retained in a format available upon request to the board at 

all times the agreement is in effect and for two years after the 

date the agreement is terminated or concluded. 

D. An agreement shall not contain any patient specific or 

patient health information that would be subject to the 

provisions of the Health Insurance Portability and 

Accountability Act of 1996, P.L. No. 104-191. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R19-5526; Filed January 1, 2021, 6:11 p.m. 

Fast-Track Regulation 

Titles of Regulations: 18VAC110-20. Regulations 

Governing the Practice of Pharmacy (amending 

18VAC110-20-20). 

18VAC110-21. Regulations Governing the Licensure of 

Pharmacists and Registration of Pharmacy Technicians 

(amending 18VAC110-21-20). 

18VAC110-30. Regulations for Practitioners of the Healing 

Arts to Sell Controlled Substances (amending 18VAC110-

30-15). 

18VAC110-50. Regulations Governing Wholesale 

Distributors, Manufacturers, Third-Party Logistics 

Providers, and Warehousers (amending 18VAC110-50-

20). 

18VAC110-60. Regulations Governing Pharmaceutical 

Processors (amending 18VAC110-60-20). 

Statutory Authority: §§ 54.1-2400 and 54.1-3307 of the Code 

of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: No public hearings are currently 

scheduled. 

Public Comment Deadline: March 3, 2021. 

Effective Date: March 18, 2021. 

Agency Contact: Caroline Juran, RPh, Executive Director, 

Board of Pharmacy, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, 

Richmond, VA 23233-1463, telephone (804) 367-4456, FAX 

(804) 527-4472, or email caroline.juran@dhp.virginia.gov. 

Basis: Regulations are promulgated under the general authority 

of § 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia, which provides the 

Board of Counseling the authority to promulgate regulations to 

administer the regulatory system. The specific mandate for 

collection of a handling fee is found in the Virginia Debt 

Collection Act, § 2.2-4805 et seq. of the Code of Virginia. 

Purpose: The amendments conform the regulation to the 

Virginia Debt Collection Act (§ 2.2-4800 et seq.) of the Code 

of Virginia in which the General Assembly has determined that 

the cost for handling returned checks or dishonored credit or 

debit cards is $50. The department and its regulatory boards 

license and discipline health care practitioners with the mission 

of protecting the health and safety of the public, which must be 

supported by its licensing and miscellaneous fees. 

Rationale for Using Fast-Track Rulemaking Process: The 

Office of the Comptroller has advised the department that the 

costs for handling a returned check or dishonored credit card 

or debit card payment is $50, as set forth in § 2.2-4805 of the 

Code of Virginia. Therefore, all board regulations are being 

amended to delete the returned check fee of $35 and replace it 

with a handling fee of $50. The Office of the Attorney General 

concurs with amending regulations accordingly but advised 

that it is not an exempt action. The rulemaking is concurring 

with financial policy of the Commonwealth and is not expected 

to be controversial. 

Substance: All board regulations are being amended to delete 

the returned check fee of $35 and replace it with a handling fee 

of $50 for a returned check or dishonored credit card or 

dishonored debit card. 

Issues: There are no primary advantages or disadvantages to 

the public. The primary advantage to the department is 

compliance with auditors from the Office of the Comptroller. 

mailto:caroline.juran@dhp.virginia.gov


Regulations 

Volume 37, Issue 12  Virginia Register of Regulations  February 1, 2021 

1323 

Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 

Analysis:  

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. The 

Board of Pharmacy (Board) proposes to amend five of its 

regulations to state that the handling fee for a returned check 

or dishonored credit card or debit card is $50. 

Background. Code of Virginia § 2.2-614.1 specifies that: 

If any check or other means of payment tendered to a public 

body in the course of its duties is not paid by the financial 

institution on which it is drawn, because of insufficient funds 

in the account of the drawer, no account is in the name of the 

drawer, or the account of the drawer is closed, and the check 

or other means of payment is returned to the public body 

unpaid, the amount thereof shall be charged to the person on 

whose account it was received, and his liability and that of his 

sureties, shall be as if he had never offered any such payment. 

A penalty of $35 or the amount of any costs, whichever is 

greater, shall be added to such amount. 

With the exception of 18VAC110-60 Regulations Governing 

Pharmaceutical Processors, the Board’s current regulations 

that include fees include a $35 returned check charge. 

On the other hand, Code of Virginia § 2.2-4805 specifies that 

"Returned checks or dishonored credit card or debit card 

payments shall incur a handling fee of $50 unless a higher 

amount is authorized by statute to be added to the principal 

account balance." According to the Department of Health 

Professions (DHP), the Office of the Attorney General has 

advised that the handling fee of $50 in Virginia Code 2.2-4805 

governs. 

Estimated Benefits and Costs. Based on the view of the Office 

of the Attorney General that Virginia Code 2.2-4805 prevails, 

the fee by law for a returned check or dishonored credit card or 

debit card is $50. The Board’s proposal therefore conforms the 

regulations to current law. DHP has indicated that in practice 

they will not raise the fee to $50 until this proposed regulatory 

action becomes effective. The services provided by DHP are 

funded by the fees paid by the regulated individuals and 

entities. To the extent that the $50 fee more accurately 

represents the cost incurred by DHP, the proposed change may 

be beneficial in that the cost would need not be subsidized by 

other regulants who did not cause the cost to be incurred. 

Businesses and Other Entities Affected. The proposal pertains 

to fee-paying individuals and entities regulated by the Board. 

As of March 31, 2020, there were 1,373 businesses with 

controlled substance registrations,1 9 continuing education 

programs, 220 medical equipment suppliers, 186 non-resident 

manufacturers, 325 non-resident medical equipment suppliers, 

28 non-resident outsourcing facilities, 796 non-resident 

pharmacies, 611 non-resident wholesale distributors, 31 non-

resident manufacturers, 129 non-resident third-party logistics 

providers, 33 non-resident warehousers, 15,360 pharmacists, 1 

pharmaceutical processor, 1,787 pharmacies, 1,577 pharmacy 

interns, 12,819 pharmacy technicians, 135 pharmacy 

technician training programs, 607 physicians licensed to 

dispense drugs to their own patients, 166 facilities where 

physicians are licensed to dispense drugs to their own patients, 

22 pilot/innovative programs,2 340 registered physicians for 

CBD/THC-A oil, 2 repackaging training programs, 44 

restricted manufacturers, 6 third-party logistic providers, 109 

warehousers, and 64 wholesale distributors regulated by and 

required to pay fees to the Board.3 If any of these individuals 

or entities (other than pharmaceutical processors and registered 

physicians for CBD/THC-A oil) have a check returned or a 

credit card or debit card dishonored, the proposal would 

increase their cost by $15. It is not known whether 

pharmaceutical processors and registered physicians for 

CBD/THC-A oil would be charged a $35 returned check fee if 

they had a check returned prior to the proposed regulatory 

action becoming effective.4 If they would not receive the 

charge, the proposal would increase their costs by $50 in the 

event that they have a check returned or a credit card or debit 

card dishonored. Since adverse impact is indicated if there is 

any increase in net cost or reduction in net revenue for any 

entity, even if the benefits of the proposal exceed the costs for 

all entities combined, adverse impact is indicated for this 

action. 

Small Businesses Affected. Types and Estimated Number of 

Small Businesses Affected. The proposal would potentially 

affect the 1,373 businesses with controlled substance 

registrations, 9 continuing education programs, 220 medical 

equipment suppliers, 186 non-resident manufacturers, 325 

non-resident medical equipment suppliers, 28 non-resident 

outsourcing facilities, 796 non-resident pharmacies, 611 

nonresident wholesale distributors, 31 non-resident 

manufacturers, 129 non-resident thirdparty logistics providers, 

33 non-resident warehousers, 1 pharmaceutical processor, 

1,787 pharmacies, 135 pharmacy technician training programs, 

166 facilities where physicians are licensed to dispense drugs 

to their own patients, 22 pilot/innovative programs, 2 

repackaging training programs, 44 restricted manufacturers, 6 

third-party logistic providers, 109 warehousers, and 64 

wholesale distributors. Data is not available to determine how 

many of these entities would qualify as a small business, 

though many likely would.5 

Costs and Other Effects. If any of the small entities, other than 

a small pharmaceutical processor, has a check returned or a 

credit card or debit card dishonored, the proposal would 

increase their cost by $15. Since the current Regulations 

Governing Pharmaceutical Processors does not include a $35 

returned check charge, it is not clear whether a small 

pharmaceutical processor would be charged a $35 returned 

check fee if they had a check returned prior to the proposed 

regulatory action becoming effective. If they would not receive 

the charge, the proposal would increase their costs by $50 in 

the event that they have a check returned or a credit card or 

debit card dishonored. 

Alternative Method that Minimizes Adverse Impact. There are 

no clear alternative methods that both reduce adverse impact 

and meet the intended policy goals 
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Localities6 Affected.7 The proposal does not disproportionately 

affect any particular localities or introduce costs for local 

governments. 

Projected Impact on Employment. The proposal does not affect 

employment. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. The proposal 

does not substantially affect the use and value of private 

property or real estate development costs. 

______________________________________ 

118VAC110-20-690: "Persons or entities that may be [controlled substance] 

registered by the board shall include hospitals without in-house pharmacies, 

nursing homes without in-house pharmacies that use automated drug 

dispensing systems, ambulatory surgery centers, outpatient clinics, alternate 

delivery sites, crisis stabilization units, persons authorized by the Department 

of Behavioral Health and Developmental Services to train individuals on the 

administration of naloxone and to dispense naloxone for opioid overdose 

reversal, and emergency medical services agencies provided such persons or 

entities are otherwise authorized by law and hold required licenses or 

appropriate credentials to administer the drugs for which the registration is 

being sought." 

2Code of Virginia § 54.1-3307.2: "Any person who proposes to use a process 

or procedure related to the dispensing of drugs or devices or to the practice of 

pharmacy not specifically authorized by Chapter 33 (§ 54.1-3300 et seq.) of 

this title or by a regulation of the Board of Pharmacy may apply to the Board 

for approval to use such process or procedure. The application under this 

section may only include new processes or procedures, within the current 

scope of the practice of pharmacy, that relate to the form or format of 

prescriptions, the manner of transmitting prescriptions or prescription 

information, the manner of required recordkeeping, the use of unlicensed 

ancillary personnel in the dispensing process, and the use of new technologies 

in the dispensing process." 

3Sources: https://www.dhp.virginia.gov/about/stats/2020Q3/04Current 

LicenseCountQ3FY2020.pdf, the current Board regulations, and DHP 

4The fees for pharmaceutical processors and registered physicians for 

CBD/THC-A oil are in 18VAC110-60 Regulations Governing Pharmaceutical 

Processors, which currently does not specify a returned check charge. 

5Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.04 of the Code of Virginia, small business is defined 

as "a business entity, including its affiliates, that (i) is independently owned 

and operated and (ii) employs fewer than 500 full-time employees or has gross 

annual sales of less than $6 million." 

6"Locality" can refer to either local governments or the locations in the 

Commonwealth where the activities relevant to the regulatory change are most 

likely to occur. 

7§ 2.2-4007.04 defines "particularly affected" as bearing disproportionate 

material impact. 

Agency's Response to the Economic Impact Analysis: The 

Board of Pharmacy concurs with the economic impact analysis 

of the Department of Planning and Budget. 

Summary: 

The amendments delete the returned check fee of $35 and 

replace it with a handling fee of $50 to conform the 

regulations to the Virginia Debt Collection Act (§ 2.2-4800 

et seq.) of the Code of Virginia. 

18VAC110-20-20. Fees. 

A. Unless otherwise provided, fees listed in this section shall 

not be refundable. 

B. Initial application fees. 

1. Pharmacy permit $500 

2. Permitted physician licensed to dispense 

drugs 

$500 

3. Medical equipment supplier permit $235 

4. Outsourcing facility permit $350 

5. Nonresident pharmacy registration $350 

6. Nonresident outsourcing facility 

registration 

$350 

7. Controlled substances registrations $120 

8. Innovative program approval. $325 

If the board determines that a technical 

consultant is required in order to make 

a decision on approval, any consultant 

fee, not to exceed the actual cost, shall 

also be paid by the applicant in addition 

to the application fee. 

 

9. Approval of a repackaging training 

program 

$65 

C. Annual renewal fees. 

1. Pharmacy permit – due no later than 

April 30 

$350 

2. Physician permit to practice pharmacy – 

due no later than February 28 

$350 

3. Medical equipment supplier permit – 

due no later than February 28 

$235 

4. Outsourcing facility permit – due no 

later than April 30 

$350 

5. Nonresident pharmacy registration – due 

no later than the date of initial registration 

$350 

6. Nonresident outsourcing facility 

registration – due no later than the date of 

initial registration 

$350 

7. Controlled substances registrations – 

due no later than February 28 

$120 

8. Innovative program continued approval 

based on board order not to exceed $260 

per approval period. 

 

9. Repackaging training program $40 every 

two years 

D. Late fees. The following late fees shall be paid in addition 

to the current renewal fee to renew an expired permit or 

registration within one year of the expiration date. In addition, 

engaging in activities requiring a permit or registration after 

https://www.dhp.virginia.gov/about/stats/2020Q3/04CurrentLicenseCountQ3FY2020.pdf
https://www.dhp.virginia.gov/about/stats/2020Q3/04CurrentLicenseCountQ3FY2020.pdf
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the expiration date of such permit or registration shall be 

grounds for disciplinary action by the board. 

1. Pharmacy permit $120 

2. Physician permit to practice pharmacy $120 

3. Medical equipment supplier permit $80 

4. Outsourcing facility permit $120 

5. Nonresident pharmacy registration $120 

6. Nonresident outsourcing facility 

registration 

$120 

7. Controlled substances registrations $40 

8. Repackaging training program $15 

E. Reinstatement fees. 

1. Any person or entity attempting to renew a permit or 

registration more than one year after the expiration date shall 

submit an application for reinstatement with any required 

fees. Reinstatement is at the discretion of the board and, 

except for reinstatement following revocation or suspension, 

may be granted by the executive director of the board upon 

completion of an application and payment of any required 

fees. 

2. Facilities or entities that cease operation and wish to 

resume shall not be eligible for reinstatement but shall apply 

for a new permit or registration. Facilities or entities that 

failed to renew and continued to operate for more than one 

renewal cycle shall pay the current and all back renewal fees 

for the years in which they were operating plus the following 

reinstatement fees: 

a. Pharmacy permit $315 

b. Physician permit to practice 

pharmacy 

$315 

c. Medical equipment supplier 

permit 

$275 

d. Outsourcing facility permit $315 

e. Nonresident pharmacy 

registration 

$150 

f. Nonresident outsourcing 

facility registration 

$315 

g. Controlled substances 

registration 

$235 

h. Repackaging training program $65 

F. Application for change or inspection fees for facilities or 

other entities. 

1. Change of pharmacist-in-charge $65 

2. Change of ownership for any facility $65 

3. Inspection for remodeling or change of 

location for any facility 

$300 

4. Reinspection of any facility $300 

5. Board-required inspection for a robotic 

pharmacy system 

$300 

6. Board-required inspection of an 

innovative program location 

$300 

7. Change of pharmacist responsible for 

an approved innovative program 

$35 

G. Miscellaneous fees. 

1. Returned check Handling fee for 

returned check or a dishonored credit card 

or debit card 

$35 $50 

2. Duplicate permit or registration $15 

3. Verification of permit or registration $35 

18VAC110-21-20. Fees. 

A. Unless otherwise provided, fees listed in this section shall 

not be refundable. 

B. Unless otherwise provided, any fees for taking required 

examinations shall be paid directly to the examination service 

as specified by the board. 

C. Initial application fees. 

1. Pharmacist license $235 

2. Pharmacy intern registration $20 

3. Pharmacy technician registration $35 

4. Approval of a pharmacy technician 

training program 

$200 

5. Approval of a continuing education 

program 

$130 

D. Annual renewal fees. 

1. Pharmacist active license – due no 

later than December 31 

$120 

2. Pharmacist inactive license – due 

no later than December 31 

$60 

3. Pharmacy technician registration – 

due no later than December 31 

$35 

4. Pharmacy technician training 

program 

$100 every 

two years 

E. Late fees. The following late fees shall be paid in addition 

to the current renewal fee to renew an expired license or 

registration within one year of the expiration date or within two 

years in the case of a pharmacy technician training program. In 

addition, engaging in activities requiring a license or 
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registration after the expiration date of such license or 

registration shall be grounds for disciplinary action by the 

board. 

1. Pharmacist license $40 

2. Pharmacist inactive license $20 

3. Pharmacy technician registration $15 

4. Pharmacy technician training 

program 

$20 

F. Reinstatement fees. Any person or entity attempting to 

renew a license or registration more than one year after the 

expiration date, or more than two years after the expiration date 

in the case of a pharmacy technician training program, shall 

submit an application for reinstatement with any required fees. 

Reinstatement is at the discretion of the board and, except for 

reinstatement following revocation or suspension, may be 

granted by the executive director of the board upon completion 

of an application and payment of any required fees. 

1. Pharmacist license $275 

2. Pharmacist license after revocation 

or suspension 

$650 

3. Pharmacy technician registration $45 

4. Pharmacy technician registration 

after revocation or suspension 

$165 

5. A pharmacy technician training 

program that failed to renew and 

continued to operate for more than one 

renewal cycle shall pay the current and 

all back renewal fees for the years in 

which they were operating plus a 

reinstatement fee of $75. A pharmacy 

technician training program that ceases 

operation and wishes to resume shall 

not be eligible for reinstatement but 

shall apply for a new registration. 

 

G. Miscellaneous fees. 

1. Duplicate wall certificate $50 

2. Returned check Handling fee for 

returned check or a dishonored credit 

card or debit card 

$35 $50 

3. Duplicate license or registration $15 

4. Verification of licensure or 

registration 

$35 

18VAC110-30-15. Fees. 

A. Unless otherwise provided, fees listed in this section shall 

not be refundable. 

B. Initial application fees. 

1. License for practitioner of the healing arts to sell 

controlled substances: $235. 

2. Permit for facility in which practitioners of the healing arts 

sell controlled substances: $315. 

C. Annual renewal fees. 

1. License for practitioner of the healing arts to sell 

controlled substances: $120. 

2. Permit for facility in which practitioners of the healing arts 

sell controlled substances: $315. 

D. Late fees. The following late fees shall be paid in addition 

to the current renewal fee to renew an expired license within 

one year of the expiration date. 

1. License for practitioner of the healing arts to sell 

controlled substances: $40. 

2. Permit for facility in which practitioners of the healing arts 

sell controlled substances: $50. 

E. Reinstatement fees. Any person or entity attempting to 

renew a license or permit more than one year after the 

expiration date shall submit an application for reinstatement 

with any required fees. 

1. License for practitioner of the healing arts to sell 

controlled substances: $195. 

2. Permit for facility in which practitioners of the healing arts 

sell controlled substances: $315. 

3. Application fee for reinstatement of a license or permit 

that has been revoked or suspended indefinitely: $650. 

F. Facilities in which only one practitioner of the healing arts 

is licensed by the board to sell controlled substances shall be 

exempt from fees associated with obtaining and renewing a 

facility permit. Facilities that change from only one 

practitioner to more than one shall notify the board within 30 

days of such change. 

G. The fee for reinspection of any facility shall be 300. 

H. The fee for a returned check handling fee for returned 

check or a dishonored credit card or debit card shall be $35 

$50. 

18VAC110-50-20. Fees. 

A. Unless otherwise provided, fees listed in this section shall 

not be refundable. 

B. Initial application fees. 

1. Nonrestricted manufacturer permit $350 

2. Restricted manufacturer permit $235 

3. Wholesale distributor license $350 

4. Warehouser permit $350 
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5. Nonresident wholesale distributor 

registration 

$350 

6. Controlled substances registration $120 

7. Third-party logistics provider permit $350 

8. Nonresident manufacturer registration $350 

9. Nonresident warehouser registration $350 

10. Nonresident third-party logistics 

provider registration 

$350 

C. Annual renewal fees shall be due on February 28 of each 

year. 

1. Nonrestricted manufacturer permit $350 

2. Restricted manufacturer permit $235 

3. Wholesale distributor license $350 

4. Warehouser permit $350 

5. Nonresident wholesale distributor 

registration 

$350 

6. Controlled substances registration $120 

7. Third-party logistics provider permit $350 

8. Nonresident manufacturer registration $350 

9. Nonresident warehouser registration $350 

10. Nonresident third-party logistics 

provider registration 

$350 

D. Late fees. The following late fees shall be paid in addition 

to the current renewal fee to renew an expired license within 

one year of the expiration date. In addition, engaging in 

activities requiring a license, permit, or registration after the 

expiration date of such license, permit, or registration shall be 

grounds for disciplinary action by the board. 

1. Nonrestricted manufacturer permit $120 

2. Restricted manufacturer permit $80 

3. Wholesale distributor license $120 

4. Warehouser permit $120 

5. Nonresident wholesale distributor 

registration 

$120 

6. Controlled substances registration $40 

7. Third-party logistics provider permit $120 

8. Nonresident manufacturer registration $120 

9. Nonresident warehouser registration $120 

10. Nonresident third-party logistics 

provider registration 

$120 

E. Reinstatement fees. 

1. Any entity attempting to renew a license, permit, or 

registration more than one year after the expiration date shall 

submit an application for reinstatement with any required 

fees. Reinstatement is at the discretion of the board and, 

except for reinstatement following license revocation or 

suspension, may be granted by the executive director of the 

board upon completion of an application and payment of any 

required fees. 

2. Engaging in activities requiring a license, permit, or 

registration after the expiration date of such license, permit, 

or registration shall be grounds for disciplinary action by the 

board. Facilities or entities that cease operation and wish to 

resume shall not be eligible for reinstatement but shall apply 

for a new permit or registration. 

3. Facilities or entities that failed to renew and continued to 

operate for more than one renewal cycle shall pay the current 

and all back renewal fees for the years in which they were 

operating plus the following reinstatement fees: 

a. Nonrestricted manufacturer permit $315 

b. Restricted manufacturer permit $275 

c. Wholesale distributor license $315 

d. Warehouser permit $315 

e. Nonresident wholesale distributor 

registration 

$315 

f. Controlled substances registration $235 

g. Third-party logistics provider permit $315 

h. Nonresident manufacturer 

registration 

$315 

i. Nonresident warehouser registration $315 

j. Nonresident third-party logistics 

provider registration 

$315 

F. Application for change or inspection fees. 

1. Reinspection fee $300 

2. Inspection fee for change of location, 

structural changes, or security system 

changes 

$300 

3. Change of ownership fee $65 

4. Change of responsible party $65 

G. The handling fee for a returned check or a dishonored 

credit card or debit card shall be $35 $50. 

H. The fee for verification of license, permit, or registration 

shall be $35. 
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18VAC110-60-20. Fees. 

A. Fees are required by the board as specified in this section. 

Unless otherwise provided, fees listed in this section shall not 

be refundable. 

B. Registration of practitioner. 

1. Initial registration. $50 

2. Annual renewal of registration. $50 

3. Replacement of registration for a 

qualifying practitioner whose information 

has changed or whose original registration 

certificate has been lost, stolen, or 

destroyed. 

$50 

C. Registration by a qualifying patient, parent, or legal 

guardian. 

1. Initial registration of a patient. $50 

2. Annual renewal of registration of a 

patient. 

3. Initial registration of a parent or legal 

guardian. 

4. Annual renewal of registration of a 

parent or guardian. 

$50 

$25 

$25 

5. Replacement of registration for a 

qualifying patient, parent, or legal guardian 

whose original registration certificate has 

been lost, stolen, or destroyed. 

$25 

D. Pharmaceutical processor permit. 

1. Application. $10,000 

2. Initial permit. $60,000 

3. Annual renewal of permit. $10,000 

4. Change of name of processor. $100 

5. Change of PIC or any other information 

provided on the permit application. 

$100 

6. Change of ownership not requiring a 

criminal background check. 

$100 

7. Change of ownership requiring a 

criminal background check. 

$250 

8. Any acquisition, expansion, remodel, or 

change of location requiring an inspection. 

$1,000 

9. Reinspection fee. 

10. Registration of each cannabis oil 

product. 

$1,000 

$25 

E. The handling fee for returned check or dishonored credit 

card or debit card shall be $50. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R21-6173; Filed January 1, 2021, 6:09 p.m. 

Fast-Track Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC110-60. Regulations Governing 

Pharmaceutical Processors (amending 18VAC110-60-280). 

Statutory Authority: §§ 54.1-2400 and 54.1-3447 of the Code 

of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: No public hearings are currently 

scheduled. 

Public Comment Deadline: March 3, 2021. 

Effective Date: March 18, 2021. 

Agency Contact: Caroline Juran, RPh, Executive Director, 

Board of Pharmacy, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, 

Richmond, VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-4456, FAX (804) 

527-4472, or email caroline.juran@dhp.virginia.gov. 

Basis: Regulations are promulgated under the general authority 

of § 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia, which provides the 

Board of Pharmacy the authority to promulgate regulations to 

administer the regulatory system. The specific language 

relating to use of industrial hemp extract by processors is found 

in §§ 54.1-3408.3 and 54.1-3442.6 of the Code of Virginia. 

Purpose: Consistent with the specific provisions of § 54.1-

3442.6 of the Code of Virginia, regulations specify that oil 

from industrial hemp must be subject to the same testing 

standards as those required for cannabis plant extract. Since the 

product (cannabis oil) may contain oil from industrial hemp, it 

is essential that the product comply with the same rigorous 

testing to ensure it can safely be consumed by a patient. The 

regulation also requires proper storage and handling of hemp 

oil that will allow a processor to trace the source of such oil in 

case of a recall. Testing, recordkeeping, and storage and 

handling standards are necessary to protect public health and 

safety in the same way in which standards for compounding 

drugs are intended to protect patients. 

Rationale for Using Fast-Track Rulemaking Process: Chapter 

928 of the 2020 Acts of Assembly authorizes pharmaceutical 

processors to acquire oil from industrial hemp extract in to be 

used in formulations of cannabis oil for dispensing to patients. 

While most of the amendments to 18VAC110-60-280 are 

conforming the regulation to changes in the law, there are 

additional requirements relating to recordkeeping and storage 

and handling that are authorized but not specified in the statute. 

Therefore, this regulation was deemed appropriate for fast-

track rulemaking process but not as an exempt action. Since 

the law authorizes processors to acquire and utilize industrial 

hemp oil as of July 1, 2020, it is important to implement this 

regulation as soon as possible. Processors are aware of this 

regulation, and it is not expected to be controversial. 

Substance: Regulations for pharmaceutical processors to use 

oil from industrial hemp extract are consistent with provisions 

of subsection I of § 54.1-3442.6 of the Code of Virginia, which 

requires acquisition from a registered hemp dealer or processor 

in Virginia and third-party testing of the hemp product by the 

same testing requirements as those for cannabis plant testing. 

The regulation also (i) specifies the content of records relating 

mailto:caroline.juran@dhp.virginia.gov
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to such acquisition and the time period for maintenance of the 

record and (ii) requires policies and procedures for proper 

storage and handling of the oil, including a process to follow 

in case of a recall of a product. 

Issues: There are no primary advantages or disadvantages to 

the public. The advantage for hemp growers and dealers is the 

creation of a new market for their product. The advantage to 

the processors is the availability of hemp oil to be added to the 

oil produced from the Cannabis grown in the facility. There are 

no advantages or disadvantages to the agency or the 

Commonwealth. 

Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 

Analysis:  

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. Chapter 

928 (HB1670) of the 2020 Acts of Assembly1 authorized 

pharmaceutical processors to acquire oil from industrial hemp 

extract to be used in formulating cannabis oil for dispensing to 

patients and requires the same third-party testing requirements 

for industrial hemp extracts as those for cannabis plant extract. 

The Board of Pharmacy (Board) proposes to incorporate this 

legislative change in the regulations. In addition, the Board 

proposes discretionary changes to further ensure patient safety. 

These include specifying the content of records relating to such 

acquisition and the time period for maintenance of the record 

and requiring policies and procedures for proper storage and 

handling of the oil, including a process to follow in case of a 

recall of a product. 

Background. Cannabis oil can be extracted from both 

marijuana and hemp. Both of these are types of the Cannabis 

sativa family, which are annual flowering plants. Both varieties 

can contain cannabidiol (CBD), but marijuana contains higher 

amounts of Tetrahydrocannabinol (THC). THC is one of many 

cannabinoids identified in cannabis and is the principal 

psychoactive constituent (the chemical that produces an 

intoxicated feeling). The federal 2018 Farm Bill considers 

Cannabis sativa plants with less than 0.3 percent THC to be 

hemp or industrial hemp. In Virginia, industrial hemp growers, 

dealers, and processors are regulated separately from 

pharmaceutical processors. The Virginia Department of 

Agriculture and Consumer Services (VDACS) administers a 

registration program for industrial hemp under the Virginia 

Industrial Hemp Law2 while the Board regulates the 

pharmaceutical processors. 

The 2020 General Assembly authorized pharmaceutical 

processors to acquire oil from industrial hemp extract to be 

used in formulating cannabis oil for dispensing to patients as 

of July 1, 2020. The Board proposes to incorporate this 

legislative change in the regulations. 

Estimated Benefits and Costs. Industrial hemp extract, which 

may have no more than 0.3 percent THC, can be produced from 

industrial hemp and can be used by pharmaceutical processors 

in formulations of cannabis oil with higher THC content for 

dispensing to patients. In economic terminology, that means 

there is some degree of possible substitution between hemp and 

marijuana flower extracts. Pursuant to the 2020 legislation, the 

proposed regulation would allow pharmaceutical processors to 

purchase hemp extract from industrial hemp dealers or 

processors.3 Pharmaceutical processors would likely take 

advantage of this option if it is economically advantageous. In 

other words, pharmaceutical processors would be inclined to 

purchase hemp extract from industrial hemp dealers or 

processors if doing so is cheaper than the cost of obtaining the 

marijuana extract by growing it themselves. Generally 

speaking, that appears to be the case. 

This option made possible by the new legislation would allow 

pharmaceutical processors to reduce their cost of production 

and create a new market for industrial hemp. The trade would 

take place only if it is economically advantageous to both 

parties. Currently there are four licensed pharmaceutical 

processors in Virginia. Only one of them is actively selling 

cannabis oil products. The other three are in the startup phase. 

There are approximately 1,200 registered growers and 337 

processors of industrial hemp. However, only 17 of the 

registered industrial hemp processors have been approved to 

produce food grade hemp extract, which is the most likely 

version of the hemp extract that pharmaceutical processors 

may be interested in purchasing. 

The proposed regulation is beneficial because it would allow 

pharmaceutical processors to acquire suitable hemp extract at 

lower cost, which may help to bring cannabis oil to market at 

lower prices than otherwise would be possible. Such sales 

would also benefit participating industrial hemp processors. 

The size of benefits from this proposed change would depend 

on the magnitude of the quantity and the market value of hemp 

extract that may be purchased by the pharmaceutical 

processors. However, there is no data available to estimate the 

quantity or the market value of hemp extract that may be 

purchased by the pharmaceutical processors. Currently, there 

are approximately 7,000 registered users of cannabis oil, but 

the market appears to be in its infancy and growing fast. 

In addition, the Board proposes to specify the content of 

records relating to such acquisition and the time period for 

maintenance of the record; and require policies and procedures 

for proper storage and handling of the oil, including a process 

to follow in case of a recall of a product. These particular 

changes are not expected to create any significant economic 

effects as the processors are already required to maintain 

records. However, the proposed clarification may improve 

compliance and help with recalls to avoid some adverse health 

consequences should a health risk arise with a particular 

product. 

Businesses and Other Entities Affected. The proposed 

regulation would directly affect four licensed pharmaceutical 

processors (only one of whom is currently selling cannabis oil 

products while the other three are in the process of setting up 

their operations) and approximately 17 food grade industrial 

hemp processors. To the extent the legislative change creates a 

new market for the use of industrial hemp and allows 
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pharmaceutical processors to acquire CBD extract at lower 

cost and reduce cannabis oil product prices, approximately 

1,200 hemp growers and over 7,000 cannabis oil consumers 

may be indirectly affected.4 None of these entities appear to be 

disproportionately affected. 

Small Businesses5 Affected: DHP believes one of the four 

pharmaceutical processors likely qualifies as a small business. 

However, the proposed amendments do not appear to adversely 

affect small businesses. 

Localities6 Affected:7The proposed amendments do not affect 

or introduce costs for local governments. 

Projected Impact on Employment. The proposed amendments 

would allow pharmaceutical processors to purchase CBD 

extract from industrial hemp processors rather than produce it 

themselves. This may add to demand for labor in the hemp 

industry while having an offsetting effect on demand by the 

pharmaceutical processors. The net impact on total 

employment is unlikely to be significant. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. To the extent 

pharmaceutical processors purchase CBD extract from the 

hemp industry, there may be an increase in the demand for and 

the use of farm land for hemp production and an increase in the 

value of such land as well as an increase in the asset values of 

hemp processors. An increase in the asset values of 

pharmaceutical processors may also be expected due to 

enabling them to acquire CBD extract at lower cost than 

otherwise would be possible. 

___________________ 

1https://lis.virginia.gov/cgi-bin/legp604.exe?201 ful CHAP0928 

2https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title3.2/chapter41.1/ 

3Although hemp seed oil is extracted from hemp seeds for other uses, it is the 

extract from the flowers of the hemp plant that is suitable for cannabis oil 

products. 

4Data source: DHP and VDACS 

5Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.04 of the Code of Virginia, small business is defined 

as "a business entity, including its affiliates, that (i) is independently owned 

and operated and (ii) employs fewer than 500 full-time employees or has gross 

annual sales of less than $6 million." 

6"Locality" can refer to either local governments or the locations in the 

Commonwealth where the activities relevant to the regulatory change are most 

likely to occur. 

7§ 2.2-4007.04 defines "particularly affected" as bearing disproportionate 

material impact. 

Agency's Response to the Economic Impact Analysis: The 

Board of Pharmacy concurs with the economic impact analysis 

of the Department of Planning and Budget. 

Summary: 

Amendments (i) conform the regulation to § 54.1-3442.6 of 

the Code of Virginia, which requires acquisition from a 

registered hemp dealer or processor in Virginia and third-

party testing of the hemp product by the same testing 

requirements as those for cannabis plant testing; (ii) specify 

the content of records relating to such acquisition and the 

time period for maintenance of the record; and (iii) require 

policies and procedures for proper storage and handling of 

the oil, including a process to follow in case of a recall of a 

product. 

18VAC110-60-280. Cultivation and production of cannabis 

oil. 

A. No cannabis oil shall have had pesticide chemicals or 

petroleum-based solvents used during the cultivation, 

extraction, production, or manufacturing process, except that 

the board may authorize the use of pesticide chemicals for 

purposes of addressing an infestation that could result in a 

catastrophic loss of Cannabis crops. 

B. Cultivation methods for Cannabis plants and extraction 

methods used to produce the cannabis oil shall be performed in 

a manner deemed safe and effective based on current standards 

or scientific literature. 

C. Any Cannabis plant, seed, parts of plant, extract, or 

cannabis oil not in compliance with this section shall be 

deemed adulterated. 

D. A pharmaceutical processor may acquire oil from 

industrial hemp extract for the purpose of formulating such oil 

extract with cannabis plant extract into allowable dosages of 

cannabis oil provided: 

1. The pharmaceutical processor acquires the oil from 

industrial hemp extract processed in Virginia and in 

compliance with state or federal law from a registered 

industrial hemp dealer or processor; 

2. The oil from industrial hemp acquired by a 

pharmaceutical processor is subject to the same third-party 

testing requirements applicable to cannabis plant extract as 

verified by testing performed by a laboratory located in 

Virginia and in compliance with state law; and  

3. The industrial hemp dealer or processor provides such 

third-party testing results to the pharmaceutical processor 

before oil from industrial hemp is acquired. 

E. A pharmaceutical processor acquiring oil from industrial 

hemp extract shall ensure receipt of a record of the transaction 

that shows the date of distribution, the names and addresses of 

the registered industrial hemp dealer or processor distributing 

the product and the pharmaceutical processor receiving the 

product, and the kind and quantity of product being distributed. 

The record of the transaction shall be maintained by the 

pharmaceutical processor with its records of receipt. Such 

records shall be maintained by each pharmaceutical processor 

for three years.  

F. A pharmaceutical processor shall maintain policies and 

procedures for the proper storage and handling of oil from 

industrial hemp extract, to include a process for executing or 

https://lis.virginia.gov/cgi-bin/legp604.exe?201%20ful%20CHAP0928
https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title3.2/chapter41.1/
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responding to mandatory and voluntary recalls in a manner that 

complies with 18VAC110-60-250.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R21-6516; Filed January 1, 2021, 6:12 p.m. 

BOARD OF COUNSELING 

Forms 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: Forms used in administering the 

regulation have been filed by the agency. The forms are not 

being published; however, online users of this issue of the 

Virginia Register of Regulations may click on the name of a 

form with a hyperlink to access it. The forms are also available 

from the agency contact or may be viewed at the Office of the 

Registrar of Regulations, 900 East Main Street, 11th Floor, 

Richmond, Virginia 23219.  

Title of Regulation: 18VAC115-20. Regulations Governing 

the Practice of Professional Counseling.  

Agency Contact: Elaine Yeatts, Agency Regulatory 

Coordinator, Department of Health Professions, 9960 Mayland 

Drive, Henrico, VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-4688, FAX 

(804) 527-4434, or email elaine.yeatts@dhp.virginia.gov. 

FORMS (18VAC115-20) 

Registration of Supervision - Post Graduate Degree 

Supervised Experience, LPC Form 1 (rev. 2/2011). 

Quarterly Evaluation, LPC Form 1-QE (rev. 2/2011). 

Licensure Verification of Out-of-State Supervisor, LPC Form 

1-LV (rev. 2/2011). 

Licensure Application, LPC Form 2 (rev. 2/2011). 

Verification of Supervision Post-Graduate Degree 

Supervised Experience, LPC Form 2-VS (rev. 2/2011). 

Coursework Outline Form, LPC Form 2-CO (rev. 2/2011). 

Verification of Internship Hours Towards the Residency, 

LPC Form 2-IR (rev. 2/2011). 

Verification of Internship, LPC Form 2-VI (rev. 2/2011). 

Verification of Licensure, LPC Form 2-VL (rev. 2/2011). 

Supervision Outline - Examination Applicants Only, LPC 

Form 2-SO (rev. 2/2011). 

Verification of Clinical Practice, 5 of Last 6 Years 

Immediately Preceding Submission of Application for 

Licensure, LPC Form-ECP (rev. 2/2011). 

Continuing Education Summary Form (LPC) (rev. 3/2009). 

Application for Reinstatement of a Lapsed License (rev. 

8/2007). 

Application for Reinstatement of a Revoked, Suspended, or 

Surrendered License (rev. 8/2007). 

Application for Board Approved LPC, LMFT and LSATP 

Supervisor (rev. 2/2020) 

Quarterly Evaluation for LPC Licensure (rev. 12/2019) 

Licensure Verification of Out-of-State Supervisor (rev. 

12/2019) 

Application for a License to Practice as a Licensed 

Professional Counselor by examination or endorsement, online 

form available at https://www.license.dhp.virginia.gov/apply/ 

Verification of Supervision for LPC Licensure (rev. 12/2019) 

Verification of Required Coursework and Internship for LPC 

Licensure (rev. 12/2019) 

Doctoral Verification of Supervised Internship/Practicum 

Hours Toward LPC Licensure (rev. 10/2019) 

Verification of Degree and Internship for LPC Licensure (rev. 

12/2019) 

Request for Verification of Virginia Counseling 

License/Certification/Registration (rev. 5/2018) 

Supervision Summary Form for LPC Licensure (rev. 

12/2019) 

Verification of Clinical Independent Practice as a Licensed 

Professional Counselor for 24 of the Last 60 Months 

Immediately Preceding Submission of Application for 

Licensure (rev. 04/2018) 

Continuing Education Summary Form (LPC) (rev. 09/2019) 

Application for Reinstatement of a LPC, LMFT, LSATP (rev. 

4/2018) 

Application for Reinstatement of a LPC, LMFT, LSATP 

Following Revocation or Suspension (rev. 4/2018) 

VA.R. Doc. No. R21-6623; Filed January 5, 2021, 2:29 p.m. 

Forms 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: Forms used in administering the 

regulation have been filed by the agency. The forms are not 

being published; however, online users of this issue of the 

Virginia Register of Regulations may click on the name of a 

form with a hyperlink to access it. The forms are also available 

from the agency contact or may be viewed at the Office of the 

Registrar of Regulations, 900 East Main Street, 11th Floor, 

Richmond, Virginia 23219.  

Title of Regulation: 18VAC115-30. Regulations Governing 

the Certification of Substance Abuse Counselors and 

Substance Abuse Counseling. 

Agency Contact: Elaine Yeatts, Agency Regulatory 

Coordinator, Department of Health Professions, 9960 Mayland 

Drive, Henrico, VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-4688, FAX 

(804) 527-4434, or email elaine.yeatts@dhp.virginia.gov. 

mailto:elaine.yeatts@dhp.virginia.gov
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC115/forms/Supervisor_App-20210102115718.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC115/forms/Supervisor_App-20210102115718.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC115/forms/Quarterly_Evaluation-20210102115830.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC115/forms/Supervisor_OutofState_Verif-20210102120036.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC115/forms/Supervisor_OutofState_Verif-20210102120036.pdf
https://www.license.dhp.virginia.gov/apply/
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC115/forms/Verif_Supervision-20210102120635.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC115/forms/Verif_Coursework-20210102120707.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC115/forms/Verif_Coursework-20210102120707.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC115/forms/Doctoral_Verif_Hours-20210102120755.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC115/forms/Doctoral_Verif_Hours-20210102120755.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC115/forms/Verif_Degree_Internship-20210102120821.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC115/forms/Verif_Degree_Internship-20210102120821.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC115/forms/Request_Verif_VA-20210102120929.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC115/forms/Request_Verif_VA-20210102120929.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC115/forms/Supervision_Summary-20210102121002.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC115/forms/Supervision_Summary-20210102121002.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC115/forms/Verif_Clinical_Practice-20210102121032.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC115/forms/Verif_Clinical_Practice-20210102121032.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC115/forms/Verif_Clinical_Practice-20210102121032.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC115/forms/Verif_Clinical_Practice-20210102121032.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC115/forms/CE_Summary-20210102121107.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC115/forms/Reinstatement_general-20210102121124.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC115/forms/Reinstatement_general-20210102121124.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC115/forms/Reinstatement_Revocation-20210102121140.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC115/forms/Reinstatement_Revocation-20210102121140.pdf
mailto:elaine.yeatts@dhp.virginia.gov
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FORMS (18VAC115-30) 

Certification Application – Certified Substance Abuse 

Counselor (rev. 1/08). 

Registration of Supervision – Form 1 (rev. 1/08). 

Verification of Supervision, Form CSAC-2VS (rev. 1/08). 

Licensure Verification of Out-of-State Supervisor, Form 

CSAC-LV (rev. 1/08). 

Substance Abuse Education Outline, Form CSAC-EO (rev. 

1/08). 

Substance Abuse Education Tasks, Form CSAC-ET (rev. 

1/08). 

CSAC-A Certification Application (rev. 8/09). 

Substance Abuse Education Outline, Form CSAC-A-EO (rev. 

8/09). 

Substance Abuse Education Tasks, Form CSAC-A-ET (rev. 

8/09). 

Verification of Licensure/Certification, Form CSAC-VL 

(rev. 1/08). 

Application for Reinstatement of a Lapsed Certification (rev. 

8/07). 

Application Instructions Certified Substance Abuse 

Counselor (CSAC) By Examination (rev. 1/2020) 

Application Instructions Certified Substance Abuse 

Counselor (CSAC) By Endorsement (rev. 1/2020) 

Paper Application Instructions for Initial Registration of 

Supervision for Certified Substance Abuse Counselor (CSAC) 

(rev. 1/2020) 

Paper Application Instructions for Add/Change Registration 

of Supervision for Certified Substance Abuse Counselor 

(CSAC) (rev. 1/2020) 

Certified Substance Abuse Counselor (CSAC) Verification of 

Supervision Form (rev. 1/2020) 

CSAC Didactic Training Required for Registration of 

Supervision (rev. 1/2020) 

Request for Termination of Supervision (rev. 4/2018) 

Supervisor Out-of-State Licensure Verification (rev. 4/2018) 

Application Instructions: Certified Substance Abuse 

Counselor Assistant (CSAC-A) By Examination (rev. 1/2020) 

CSAC-A Verification of Experience While Under 

Supervision (rev. 4/2018) 

CSAC-A Didactic Training Verification (rev. 4/2018) 

Request for Verification of Virginia Counseling 

License/Certification/Registration (rev. 5/2018) 

Applicant Out-of-State Licensure/Certification Verification 

(rev. 4/2018) 

Application Instructions: CSAC and CSAC-A Reinstatement 

(rev. 1/2020) 

Application for Reinstatement of a CSAC and CSAC-A 

Following Revocation or Suspension (rev. 4/2018) 

VA.R. Doc. No. R21-6626; Filed January 5, 2021, 2:28 p.m. 

Forms 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: Forms used in administering the 

regulation have been filed by the agency. The forms are not 

being published; however, online users of this issue of the 

Virginia Register of Regulations may click on the name of a 

form with a hyperlink to access it. The forms are also available 

from the agency contact or may be viewed at the Office of the 

Registrar of Regulations, 900 East Main Street, 11th Floor, 

Richmond, Virginia 23219.  

Title of Regulation: 18VAC115-40. Regulations Governing 

the Certification of Rehabilitation Providers.  

Agency Contact: Elaine Yeatts, Agency Regulatory 

Coordinator, Department of Health Professions, 9960 Mayland 

Drive, Henrico, VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-4688, FAX 

(804) 527-4434, or email elaine.yeatts@dhp.virginia.gov. 

FORMS (18VAC115-40) 

Application for Certification as a Rehabilitation Provider, 

Form 1 (rev. 8/07). 

Application for Certification as a Rehabilitation Provider 

(rev. 5/2018)  

General Information for Certification as a Rehabilitation 

Provider (rev. 7/2011). 

Verification of Experience for Rehabilitation Provider 

Certification, Form 2 (rev. 8/07). 

Rehabilitation Provider Verification of 

Licensure/Certification (rev. 8/07). 

Licensure/Certification Verification of Out-of-State 

Supervisor, Form 4 (rev. 8/07). 

Rehabilitation Provider Application for Reinstatement of a 

Lapsed Certificate (rev. 8/07).  

Verification of Experience for Rehabilitation Provider 

Certification (rev. 5/2018)  

Applicant Out-of-State Licensure/Certification Verification 

(rev. 4/2018)  

Supervisor Out-of-State Licensure Verification (rev. 4/2018)  

Rehabilitation Provider Application for Reinstatement (rev. 

5/2018)  

VA.R. Doc. No. R21-6625; Filed January 5, 2021, 2:28 p.m. 

https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC115/forms/AppInstructions_Exam-20201230123722.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC115/forms/AppInstructions_Exam-20201230123722.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC115/forms/AppInstructions_Endorse-20201230123743.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC115/forms/AppInstructions_Endorse-20201230123743.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC115/forms/PaperApp_InitialReg-20201230123822.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC115/forms/PaperApp_InitialReg-20201230123822.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC115/forms/PaperApp_InitialReg-20201230123822.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC115/forms/PaperApp_AddChange-20201230123852.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC115/forms/PaperApp_AddChange-20201230123852.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC115/forms/PaperApp_AddChange-20201230123852.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC115/forms/CSAC_Verif_Superivsoin-20201230124000.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC115/forms/CSAC_Verif_Superivsoin-20201230124000.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC115/forms/CSAC_Didactic_ROS-20201230124037.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC115/forms/CSAC_Didactic_ROS-20201230124037.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC115/forms/Request_Termination-20201230124109.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC115/forms/Supervisor_Outstate_verif-20201230124135.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC115/forms/AppInstructions_AssistantExam-20201230124217.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC115/forms/AppInstructions_AssistantExam-20201230124217.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC115/forms/CSAC-A_Verif_Exp-20201230124243.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC115/forms/CSAC-A_Verif_Exp-20201230124243.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC115/forms/CSAC-A_Didactic_Verif-20201230124309.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC115/forms/Request_Verif_VA-20201230124346.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC115/forms/Request_Verif_VA-20201230124346.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC115/forms/Applicant_Outstate_verif-20201230124424.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC115/forms/Applicant_Outstate_verif-20201230124424.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC115/forms/AppInstructions_Reinstate-20201230124456.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC115/forms/AppInstructions_Reinstate-20201230124456.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC115/forms/App_Reinstate_Revocation-20201230124522.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC115/forms/App_Reinstate_Revocation-20201230124522.pdf
mailto:elaine.yeatts@dhp.virginia.gov
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC115/forms/App_general-20210102125343.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC115/forms/App_general-20210102125343.pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=e9c90002945~17&typ=40&actno=002945&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=e9c90002945~17&typ=40&actno=002945&mime=application/pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC115/forms/Verif_Experience-20210102125443.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC115/forms/Verif_Experience-20210102125443.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC115/forms/Applicant_Outstate_verif-20210102125500.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC115/forms/Applicant_Outstate_verif-20210102125500.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC115/forms/Supervisor_Outstate_verif-20210102125514.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC115/forms/App_Reinstatement-20210102125535.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC115/forms/App_Reinstatement-20210102125535.pdf
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Forms 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: Forms used in administering the 

regulation have been filed by the agency. The forms are not 

being published; however, online users of this issue of the 

Virginia Register of Regulations may click on the name of a 

form with a hyperlink to access it. The forms are also available 

from the agency contact or may be viewed at the Office of the 

Registrar of Regulations, 900 East Main Street, 11th Floor, 

Richmond, Virginia 23219.  

Title of Regulation: 18VAC115-50. Regulations Governing 

the Practice of Marriage and Family Therapy.  

Agency Contact: Elaine Yeatts, Agency Regulatory 

Coordinator, Department of Health Professions, 9960 Mayland 

Drive, Henrico, VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-4688, FAX 

(804) 527-4434, or email elaine.yeatts@dhp.virginia.gov. 

FORMS (18VAC115-50) 

Licensure Application - Marriage and Family Therapist, MFT 

Form 2 (rev. 2/2011). 

Verification of Licensure, MFT Form 2-VL (rev. 2/2011). 

Verification of Supervision – Post-Graduate Degree 

Supervised Experience, MFT Form 2-VS (rev. 2/2011). 

Licensure Verification of Out-of-State Supervisor, MFT 

Form 1-LV (rev. 2/2011). 

Quarterly Evaluation, MFT Form 1-QE (rev. 2/2011). 

Coursework Outline Form, MFT Form 2-CO (rev. 2/2011). 

Verification of Internship, MFT Form 2-VI (rev. 2/2011). 

Verification of Internship Hours Towards the Residency, 

MFT Form 2-IR (rev. 2/2011). 

Supervision Outline - Examination Applicants Only, MFT 

Form 2-SO (rev. 2/2011). 

Verification of Clinical Practice 5 of Last 6 Years 

Immediately Preceding Submission for Application of 

Licensure, Endorsement Applicants Only, Form MFT-ECP 

(rev. 2/2011). 

Registration of Supervision - Post Graduate Degree 

Supervised Experience, MFT Form 1 (rev. 2/2011). 

Application for Reinstatement of a Lapsed License (rev. 

8/2007). 

Continuing Education Summary Form (LMFT) (rev. 3/2009). 

Applicant Out-of-State Licensure Verification/Certification 

(rev. 12/2019) 

Request for Verification of Virginia Counseling 

License/Certification/Registration (rev. 5/2018) 

Verification of Supervision for LMFT Licensure (rev. 

12/2019) 

Licensure Verification of Out-of-State Supervisor (rev. 

12/2019) 

Quarterly Evaluation for LMFT Licensure (rev. 12/2019) 

Verification of Required Coursework and Internship for 

LMFT Licensure (rev. 12/2019) 

Verification of Degree and Internship for LMFT Licensure 

(rev. 12/2019) 

Doctoral Verification of Supervised Internship/Practicum 

Hours Toward LMFT Licensure (rev. 9/2019) 

Supervision Summary Form for LPC Licensure (rev. 

12/2019) 

Termination of Supervision for a Licensed Resident (rev. 

12/2019) 

Verification of Clinical Independent Practice as a LMFT for 

24 of the Last 60 Months Immediately Preceding Submission 

of Application for Licensure (rev. 5/2018) 

Application for Board Approved LPC, LMFT and LSATP 

Supervisor (rev. 2/2020) 

Application for Reinstatement of a LPC, LMFT, LSATP (rev. 

4/2018) 

Application for Reinstatement of a LPC, LMFT, LSATP 

Following Revocation or Suspension (rev. 4/2018) 

Continuing Education Summary Form for LMFT (rev. 

9/2019) 

VA.R. Doc. No. R21-6621; Filed January 5, 2021, 2:29 p.m. 

Forms 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: Forms used in administering the 

regulation have been filed by the agency. The forms are not 

being published; however, online users of this issue of the 

Virginia Register of Regulations may click on the name of a 

form with a hyperlink to access it. The forms are also available 

from the agency contact or may be viewed at the Office of the 

Registrar of Regulations, 900 East Main Street, 11th Floor, 

Richmond, Virginia 23219.  

Title of Regulation: 18VAC115-60. Regulations Governing 

the Practice of Licensed Substance Abuse Treatment 

Practitioners.  

Agency Contact: Elaine Yeatts, Agency Regulatory 

Coordinator, Department of Health Professions, 9960 Mayland 

Drive, Henrico, VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-4688, FAX 

(804) 527-4434, or email elaine.yeatts@dhp.virginia.gov. 

FORMS (18VAC115-60) 

Licensure Application, Licensed Substance Abuse Treatment 

Practitioner, LSATP Form 2 (rev. 1/2011). 

Verification of Licensure, Form LSATP 2-VL (rev. 1/2011). 

mailto:elaine.yeatts@dhp.virginia.gov
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC115/forms/Applicant_Out-of-State_Verif-20201230213707.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC115/forms/Applicant_Out-of-State_Verif-20201230213707.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC115/forms/Request_Verif_VA-20201230213746.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC115/forms/Request_Verif_VA-20201230213746.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC115/forms/Verif_Supervision-20201230215300.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC115/forms/Verif_Supervision-20201230215300.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC115/forms/LicenseureVerif_OutofState-20201230215318.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC115/forms/LicenseureVerif_OutofState-20201230215318.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC115/forms/Quarterly_Evaluation-20210102110314.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC115/forms/Verif_Req_Coursework-20201230215354.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC115/forms/Verif_Req_Coursework-20201230215354.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC115/forms/Verif_Degree_Internship-20210102110533.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC115/forms/Verif_Degree_Internship-20210102110533.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC115/forms/Doctoral_Verif_Hours-20201230215427.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC115/forms/Doctoral_Verif_Hours-20201230215427.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC115/forms/Supervision_Summary-20201230215454.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC115/forms/Supervision_Summary-20201230215454.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC115/forms/Termination_Supervision-20201230214306.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC115/forms/Termination_Supervision-20201230214306.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC115/forms/Verif_Clinical_Practice-20201230215533.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC115/forms/Verif_Clinical_Practice-20201230215533.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC115/forms/Verif_Clinical_Practice-20201230215533.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC115/forms/App_Board_Supervisor-20201230215642.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC115/forms/App_Board_Supervisor-20201230215642.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC115/forms/Reinstate_general-20201230215726.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC115/forms/Reinstate_general-20201230215726.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC115/forms/Reinstate_Revocation-20201230215741.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC115/forms/Reinstate_Revocation-20201230215741.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC115/forms/CE_Summary_LMFT-20201230215759.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC115/forms/CE_Summary_LMFT-20201230215759.pdf
mailto:elaine.yeatts@dhp.virginia.gov
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Verification of Supervision – Post Graduate Degree 

Supervised Experience, LSATP 2-VS (rev. 1/2011). 

Supervisor's Experience and Education (rev. 1/2011). 

Licensure Verification of Out-of-State Supervisor, LSATP 

Form 1-LV (rev. 1/2011). 

Coursework Outline Form, Form LSATP 2-CO (rev. 1/2011). 

Verification of Internship, Form LSATP 2-VI (rev. 1/2011). 

Verification of Internship Hours Towards the Residency, 

Form LSATP 2-IR (rev. 1/2011). 

Registration of Supervision – Post Graduate Degree 

Supervised Experience, LSATP Form 1 (rev. 1/2011). 

Quarterly Evaluation Form, LSATP Form 1-QE (rev. 

1/2011). 

Supervision Outline Form – Examination Applicants Only, 

Form LSATP 2-SO (rev. 1/2011). 

Verification of Post-Licensure Clinical Practice, 

Endorsement Applicants Only, Form LSATP-ECP (rev. 

1/2011). 

Licensed Substance Abuse Treatment Practitioner 

Application for Reinstatement of a Lapsed Certificate (rev. 

7/2011). 

Continuing Education Summary Form (LSATP) (rev. 

3/2009). 

Application Instructions for Pre-Review of Education 

Toward LSATP Licensure (rev. 12/2019) 

Request for Verification of Virginia Counseling 

License/Certification/Registration (rev.5/2018) 

Applicant Out-of-State Licensure Verification/Certification 

(rev. 12/2019) 

Verification of Supervision for LSATP Licensure 

(rev.12/2019) 

Application for Board Approved LPC, LMFT and LSATP 

Supervisor (rev.2/2020) 

Licensure Verification of Out-of-State Supervisor (rev. 

12/2019) 

Verification of Required Coursework and Internship for 

LSATP Licensure (rev. 12/2019) 

Verification of Degree and Internship for LSATP Licensure 

(rev.12/2019) 

Termination of Supervision for a Licensed Resident (rev. 

12/2019) 

Quarterly Evaluation For LSATP Licensure (rev 12/2019) 

Supervision Summary Form for LSATP Licensure 

(rev.12/2019) 

Verification of Clinical Practice for 24 of the Last 60 Months 

in Substance Abuse Treatment Services Immediately 

Preceding Submission of Application for Licensure (rev. 

4/2018) 

Application for Reinstatement of a LPC, LMFT, LSATP (rev. 

4/2018) 

Application for Reinstatement of a LPC, LMFT, LSATP 

Following Revocation or Suspension (rev. 4/2018) 

Continuing Education Summary Form for LSATP (rev. 

9/2019) 

Resident in Substance Abuse Treatment Supervisory Contract 

(sample) 

VA.R. Doc. No. R21-6620; Filed January 5, 2021, 2:30 p.m. 

Forms 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: Forms used in administering the 

regulation have been filed by the agency. The forms are not 

being published; however, online users of this issue of the 

Virginia Register of Regulations may click on the name of a 

form with a hyperlink to access it. The forms are also available 

from the agency contact or may be viewed at the Office of the 

Registrar of Regulations, 900 East Main Street, 11th Floor, 

Richmond, Virginia 23219.  

Title of Regulation: 18VAC115-70. Regulations Governing 

the Registration of Peer Recovery Specialists.  

Agency Contact: Elaine Yeatts, Agency Regulatory 

Coordinator, Department of Health Professions, 9960 Mayland 

Drive, Henrico, VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-4688, FAX 

(804) 527-4434, or email elaine.yeatts@dhp.virginia.gov. 

FORMS (18VAC115-70) 

The following form is available online only at 

https://www.license.dhp.virginia.gov/apply/: 

Registered Peer Recovery Specialists Application and 

Instructions 

Peer Recovery Specialist Application – Form available online 

only at https://www.license.dhp.virginia.gov/apply/ 

VA.R. Doc. No. R21-6622; Filed January 5, 2021, 2:29 p.m. 

Forms 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: Forms used in administering the 

regulation have been filed by the agency. The forms are not 

being published; however, online users of this issue of the 

Virginia Register of Regulations may click on the name of a 

form with a hyperlink to access it. The forms are also available 

from the agency contact or may be viewed at the Office of the 

Registrar of Regulations, 900 East Main Street, 11th Floor, 

Richmond, Virginia 23219.  

Title of Regulation: 18VAC115-80. Regulations Governing 

the Registration of Qualified Mental Health Professionals.  

https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC115/forms/App_Instructions_PreReview-20201230195900.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC115/forms/App_Instructions_PreReview-20201230195900.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC115/forms/Request_Verif_VA-20201230200138.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC115/forms/Request_Verif_VA-20201230200138.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC115/forms/App_OutofState_Verif-20201230200201.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC115/forms/App_OutofState_Verif-20201230200201.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC115/forms/Verif_Supervision-20201230210523.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC115/forms/Verif_Supervision-20201230210523.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC115/forms/App_BoardSupervisor-20201230200420.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC115/forms/App_BoardSupervisor-20201230200420.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC115/forms/LicVerif_OutStateSupervis-20201230211236.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC115/forms/LicVerif_OutStateSupervis-20201230211236.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC115/forms/Verif_ReqCoursework-20201230200744.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC115/forms/Verif_ReqCoursework-20201230200744.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC115/forms/Verif_Degree-20201230200842.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC115/forms/Verif_Degree-20201230200842.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC115/forms/Termination_Supervision-20201230200950.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC115/forms/Termination_Supervision-20201230200950.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC115/forms/Quarterly_Evaluation-20201230201432.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC115/forms/Supervision_Summary-20201230211535.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC115/forms/Supervision_Summary-20201230211535.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC115/forms/Verif_ClinicalPractice-20201230201751.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC115/forms/Verif_ClinicalPractice-20201230201751.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC115/forms/Verif_ClinicalPractice-20201230201751.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC115/forms/Verif_ClinicalPractice-20201230201751.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC115/forms/Reinstatement_general-20201230201826.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC115/forms/Reinstatement_general-20201230201826.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC115/forms/Reinstatement_Revocation-20201230201917.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC115/forms/Reinstatement_Revocation-20201230201917.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC115/forms/CE_Summary-20201230202017.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC115/forms/CE_Summary-20201230202017.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC115/forms/Resident_K_Sample-20201230202039.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC115/forms/Resident_K_Sample-20201230202039.pdf
mailto:elaine.yeatts@dhp.virginia.gov
https://www.license.dhp.virginia.gov/apply/
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Agency Contact: Elaine Yeatts, Agency Regulatory 

Coordinator, Department of Health Professions, 9960 Mayland 

Drive, Henrico, VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-4688, FAX 

(804) 527-4434, or email elaine.yeatts@dhp.virginia.gov. 

FORMS (18VAC115-80) 

The following forms are available online only at 

https://www.license.dhp.virginia.gov/apply/: 

Qualified Mental Health Profession-Adult, Application and 

Instructions 

Qualified Mental Health Profession-Child, Application and 

Instructions 

Supervised Trainee, Application and Instructions 

Verification of Supervised Experience for a Qualified Mental 

Health Profession-Adult (eff. 10/2018) 

Verification of supervised experience for a Qualified Mental 

Health Profession-Child (eff. 10/2018) 

Verification of Internship/Practicum for a Qualified Mental 

Health Profession (eff. 7/2018) 

Verification of Supervised Experience for a Qualified Mental 

Health Professional-Adult (QMHP-A) (rev. 11/2019) 

Verification of supervised experience for a Qualified Mental 

Health Professional-Child (QMHP-C) (rev. 11/2019) 

Verification of Internship/Practicum for a Qualified Mental 

Health Professional (QMHP) (rev. 11/2019) 

Reinstatement Instructions for a Qualified Mental Health 

Professional-Adult (QMHP-A) (rev. 7/2020) 

Reinstatement Instructions for a Qualified Mental Health 

Professional-Child (QMHP-C) (rev. 7/2020) 

VA.R. Doc. No. R21-6624; Filed January 5, 2021, 2:29 p.m. 

BOARD OF PSYCHOLOGY 

Emergency Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC125-20. Regulations Governing 

the Practice of Psychology (amending 18VAC125-20-10, 

18VAC125-20-150, 18VAC125-20-160). 

Statutory Authority: § 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Dates: January 3, 2021, through July 2, 2022. 

Agency Contact: Jaime Hoyle, Executive Director, Board of 

Psychology, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, Richmond, VA 

23233, telephone (804) 367-4406, FAX (804) 327-4435, or 

email jaime.hoyle@dhp.virginia.gov. 

Preamble: 

Section 2.2-4011 B of the Code of Virginia states that 

agencies may adopt emergency regulations in situations in 

which Virginia statutory law or the appropriation act or 

federal law or federal regulation requires that a regulation 

be effective in 280 days or less from its enactment, and the 

regulation is not exempt under the provisions of § 2.2-4006 

A 4 of the Code of Virginia. 

Chapter 1162 of the 2020 Acts of Assembly mandates 

membership of the Commonwealth of Virginia in the 

Psychology Interjurisdictional Compact and requires the 

Board of Psychology to promulgate regulations to 

implement the provisions. The amendments add definitions 

consistent with the compact and revise the standards of 

practice and the grounds for disciplinary action to cover 

persons practicing with an E.Passport or temporary 

authorization to practice in Virginia through the compact. 

18VAC125-20-10. Definitions.  

Part I  

General Provisions 

The following words and terms, in addition to the words and 

terms defined in § §§ 54.1-3600 and 54.1-3606.2 of the Code 

of Virginia, when used in this chapter shall have the following 

meanings, unless the context clearly indicates otherwise: 

"APA" means the American Psychological Association. 

"ASPPB" means the Association of State and Provincial 

Psychology Boards. 

"APPIC" means the Association of Psychology Postdoctoral 

and Internship Centers. 

"Board" means the Virginia Board of Psychology. 

"Candidate for licensure" means a person who has 

satisfactorily completed the appropriate educational and 

experience requirements for licensure and has been deemed 

eligible by the board to sit for the required examinations. 

"Compact" means the Psychology Interjurisdictional 

Compact. 

"Demonstrable areas of competence" means those therapeutic 

and assessment methods and techniques, and populations 

served, for which one can document adequate graduate 

training, workshops, or appropriate supervised experience. 

"E.Passport" means a certificate issued by ASPPB that 

authorizes telepsychology services in a compact state. 

"Internship" means an ongoing, supervised and organized 

practical experience obtained in an integrated training program 

identified as a psychology internship. Other supervised 

experience or on-the-job training does not constitute an 

internship. 

"IPC" means an interjurisdictional practice certificate issued 

by ASPPB that grants temporary authority to practice in a 

compact state. 

"NASP" means the National Association of School 

Psychologists. 

mailto:elaine.yeatts@dhp.virginia.gov
https://www.license.dhp.virginia.gov/apply/
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC115/forms/Verif_A-20210102124004.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC115/forms/Verif_A-20210102124004.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC115/forms/Verif_C-20210102124053.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC115/forms/Verif_C-20210102124053.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC115/forms/Verify_Internship-20210102124115.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC115/forms/Verify_Internship-20210102124115.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC115/forms/Reinstate_A-20210102124128.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC115/forms/Reinstate_A-20210102124128.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC115/forms/Reinstate_C-20210102124141.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC115/forms/Reinstate_C-20210102124141.pdf
mailto:jaime.hoyle@dhp.virginia.gov
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"NCATE" means the National Council for the Accreditation 

of Teacher Education. 

"Practicum" means the pre-internship clinical experience that 

is part of a graduate educational program. 

"Professional psychology program" means an integrated 

program of doctoral study designed to train professional 

psychologists to deliver services in psychology. 

"Regional accrediting agency" means one of the six regional 

accrediting agencies recognized by the United States Secretary 

of Education established to accredit senior institutions of 

higher education. 

"Residency" means a post-internship, post-terminal degree, 

supervised experience approved by the board. 

"School psychologist-limited" means a person licensed 

pursuant to § 54.1-3606 of the Code of Virginia to provide 

school psychology services solely in public school divisions. 

"Supervision" means the ongoing process performed by a 

supervisor who monitors the performance of the person 

supervised and provides regular, documented individual 

consultation, guidance and instruction with respect to the skills 

and competencies of the person supervised. 

"Supervisor" means an individual who assumes full 

responsibility for the education and training activities of a 

person and provides the supervision required by such a person.  

18VAC125-20-150. Standards of practice.  

A. The protection of the public health, safety, and welfare and 

the best interest of the public shall be the primary guide in 

determining the appropriate professional conduct of all persons 

whose activities are regulated by the board. Psychologists 

respect the rights, dignity and worth of all people, and are 

mindful of individual differences. 

B. Persons licensed by the board and persons practicing in 

Virginia with an E.Passport or an IPC shall: 

1. Provide and supervise only those services and use only 

those techniques for which they are qualified by training and 

appropriate experience. Delegate to their employees, 

supervisees, residents and research assistants only those 

responsibilities such persons can be expected to perform 

competently by education, training and experience. Take 

ongoing steps to maintain competence in the skills they use; 

2. When making public statements regarding credentials, 

published findings, directory listings, curriculum vitae, etc., 

ensure that such statements are neither fraudulent nor 

misleading; 

3. Neither accept nor give commissions, rebates or other 

forms of remuneration for referral of clients for professional 

services. Make appropriate consultations and referrals 

consistent with the law and based on the interest of patients 

or clients; 

4. Refrain from undertaking any activity in which their 

personal problems are likely to lead to inadequate or harmful 

services; 

5. Avoid harming patients or clients, research participants, 

students and others for whom they provide professional 

services and minimize harm when it is foreseeable and 

unavoidable. Not exploit or mislead people for whom they 

provide professional services. Be alert to and guard against 

misuse of influence; 

6. Avoid dual relationships with patients, clients, residents 

or supervisees that could impair professional judgment or 

compromise their well-being (to include but not limited to 

treatment of close friends, relatives, employees); 

7. Withdraw from, adjust or clarify conflicting roles with due 

regard for the best interest of the affected party or parties and 

maximal compliance with these standards; 

8. Not engage in sexual intimacies or a romantic relationship 

with a student, supervisee, resident, therapy patient, client, or 

those included in collateral therapeutic services (such as a 

parent, spouse, or significant other) while providing 

professional services. For at least five years after cessation or 

termination of professional services, not engage in sexual 

intimacies or a romantic relationship with a therapy patient, 

client, or those included in collateral therapeutic services. 

Consent to, initiation of, or participation in sexual behavior or 

romantic involvement with a psychologist does not change the 

exploitative nature of the conduct nor lift the prohibition. Since 

sexual or romantic relationships are potentially exploitative, 

psychologists shall bear the burden of demonstrating that there 

has been no exploitation; 

9. Keep confidential their professional relationships with 

patients or clients and disclose client records to others only 

with written consent except: (i) when a patient or client is a 

danger to self or others, (ii) as required under § 32.1-

127.1:03 of the Code of Virginia, or (iii) as permitted by law 

for a valid purpose; 

10. Make reasonable efforts to provide for continuity of care 

when services must be interrupted or terminated; 

11. Inform clients of professional services, fees, billing 

arrangements and limits of confidentiality before rendering 

services. Inform the consumer prior to the use of collection 

agencies or legal measures to collect fees and provide 

opportunity for prompt payment. Avoid bartering goods and 

services. Participate in bartering only if it is not clinically 

contraindicated and is not exploitative; 

12. Construct, maintain, administer, interpret and report 

testing and diagnostic services in a manner and for purposes 

which are appropriate; 

13. Keep pertinent, confidential records for at least five years 

after termination of services to any consumer; 
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14. Design, conduct and report research in accordance with 

recognized standards of scientific competence and research 

ethics; and 

15. Report to the board known or suspected violations of the 

laws and regulations governing the practice of psychology. 

18VAC125-20-160. Grounds for disciplinary action or 

denial of licensure.  

The board may take disciplinary action or deny a license or 

authorization to practice in Virginia with an E.Passport or an 

IPC for any of the following causes: 

1. Conviction of a felony, or a misdemeanor involving moral 

turpitude; 

2. Procuring of a license by fraud or misrepresentation; 

3. Misuse of drugs or alcohol to the extent that it interferes 

with professional functioning; 

4. Negligence in professional conduct or violation of 

practice standards including but not limited to this chapter; 

5. Performing functions outside areas of competency; 

6. Mental, emotional, or physical incompetence to practice 

the profession; 

7. Failure to comply with the continued competency 

requirements set forth in this chapter; or 

8. Violating or aiding and abetting another to violate any 

statute applicable to the practice of the profession regulated 

or any provision of this chapter. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R21-6421; Filed January 1, 2021, 6:13 p.m. 

BOARD OF SOCIAL WORK 

Fast-Track Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC140-20. Regulations Governing 

the Practice of Social Work (amending 18VAC140-20-10, 

18VAC140-20-50). 

Statutory Authority: § 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: No public hearings are currently 

scheduled. 

Public Comment Deadline: March 3, 2021. 

Effective Date: March 18, 2021. 

Agency Contact: Jaime Hoyle, Executive Director, Board of 

Social Work, 9960 Mayland Drive Suite 300, Richmond, VA 

23233-1463, telephone (804)367-4406, FAX (804)527-4435, 

TDD ()-, or email jaime.hoyle@dhp.virginia.gov. 

Basis: Regulations are promulgated under the general authority 

of § 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia, which provides the 

Board of Social Work the authority to promulgate regulations 

to administer the regulatory system 

Purpose: While the regulatory change is primarily intended to 

clarify existing requirements, an amendment to the definition 

of face-to-face will allow persons obtaining supervised 

experience to use technology that is real-time and interactive 

in providing their social work services to clients. Additionally, 

an amendment will clarify that persons who have completed 

their supervised hours but have not yet passed the licensing 

examination must remain under supervision until licensed if 

they continue to provide clinical services. The purpose of these 

regulatory changes is to protect public health and safety in the 

clinical practice of social work while persons are registered for 

supervised experience. 

Rationale for Using Fast-Track Rulemaking Process: There is 

no mandate for this regulatory change; the impetus comes from 

recommendations of the Regulation Committee to eliminate 

burdensome requirements, to clarify current provisions, and to 

eliminate any ambiguity in the regulations. The regulatory 

action is less burdensome and does not add any new 

requirement, so it is not expected to be controversial. 

Substance: The board proposes amendments to clarify that the 

definition of face-to-face may include the use of technology in 

the contact between a supervisee and a client and to add a 

definition for a supervisory contract. Other amendments (i) 

clarify that the educational requirements must be completed 

before persons begin their post-graduate supervised 

experience; (ii) eliminate the requirement that a supervisee 

notify the board whenever there is a change of location or 

supervised experiences; and (ii) reiterate that a person must 

remain under supervision until issued a license. 

Issues: The primary advantage to the public is the possibility 

of greater access to licensed clinical social workers by reducing 

some of the burden for supervisees. There may be greater 

access for supervisees who will be able to provide face-to-face 

services to clients through the use of interactive technology. 

There are no disadvantages to the public. There are no 

advantages and disadvantages to the agency or the 

Commonwealth. 

Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 

Analysis:  

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. The 

Board of Social Work (Board) proposes to eliminate the 

requirement that a supervisee notify the Board whenever there 

is a change of location or supervised experiences, and clarify 

that the definition of "face-to-face" may include the use of 

technology in the contact between a supervisor and a 

supervisee as well as between a supervisee and a client. 

Background. This regulation contains rules for the provision of 

clinical services in social work under supervision. The impetus 

for the proposed changes comes from recommendations of the 

Regulation Committee to eliminate burdensome requirements, 

to clarify current provisions, and to eliminate any ambiguity in 

the regulations. 

Estimated Benefits and Costs. One of the proposed 

amendments would eliminate the requirement that a supervisee 

notify the Board whenever there is a change of location or 

mailto:jaime.hoyle@dhp.virginia.gov
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supervised experiences. Currently, a supervisee must notify the 

Board whenever there is an addition or change of supervised 

practice, supervisor, clinical social work services, or location. 

Each notification of such changes must be accompanied by a 

$25 fee. The amendment would eliminate three of the four 

required notifications: a change or addition of supervised 

practice, services, or location. The required notification for the 

change in supervisor would remain the same. According to the 

Department of Health Professions (DHP), it was determined 

that the only change that is pertinent is a change in supervisor 

because that is the person who is accountable to the Board for 

the services of a supervisee to a client. 

DHP reports that 611 notifications were received in 2019 and 

estimates that half of these notifications were for non-

supervisor related changes, which would no longer be required 

under the proposed language. Thus, this change would 

eliminate approximately 305 notifications, provide $7,625 in 

fee avoidances for the supervisees as well as the time and effort 

to file these notifications, and reduce the Board's revenues and 

administrative workload by an equivalent amount. 

The Board also proposes to (a) clarify that the definition of 

"face-to-face" may include the use of interactive technology in 

the contact between a supervisee and a client and (b) add a 

definition for a "supervisory contract." These changes would 

essentially clarify that the use of technology is allowed in the 

contact between a supervisor and a supervisee as well as 

between a supervisee and a client. DHP points out that these 

clarifications are in keeping with current practice: the 

regulation does not prohibit the use of interactive technology 

in the delivery of services or supervision, and the use of 

technology is already believed to be a common practice among 

the regulated community. However, Board staff receive 

questions about whether such a practice is allowed, and thus 

this clarification would be beneficial by addressing such 

questions and eliminating the need to contact Board staff. A 

benefit would also be conferred to the extent these changes 

cause practitioners who are not aware of this option to elect to 

provide services through interactive means. 

Other proposed amendments in the action would clarify that 

the educational requirements must be completed before a 

person begins their post-graduate supervised experience and 

reiterate that a person must remain under supervision until 

issued a license. These changes are not expected to create any 

significant economic effects other than clarifying existing 

requirements. 

Businesses and Other Entities Affected. This regulation 

primarily affects persons who are currently approved to 

provide supervision for clinical social work practice and those 

persons who want to begin their supervised experience. There 

are currently 2,697 registered clinical supervisees and the 

Board received 730 initial applications to begin supervised 

experience in 2019.1 No supervisees appear to be adversely2 or 

disproportionately affected. 

Small Businesses3 Affected. The proposed amendments do not 

appear to adversely affect small businesses.  

Localities4 Affected.5 The proposed amendments do not 

introduce costs for local governments. Accordingly, no 

additional funds would be required 

Projected Impact on Employment. The proposed amendments 

do not appear to affect total employment. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. One of the 

proposed changes would eliminate approximately 305 

notifications, provide $7,625 in fee avoidances for the 

supervisees as well as the time and effort to file these 

notifications. Consequently, to the extent a supervisee has an 

ownership interest in a business they may be working for, the 

asset value of such a business may moderately increase. 

The proposed amendments do not affect real estate 

development costs. 

_____________________________________________ 

1Data source: DHP 

2Adverse impact is indicated if there is any increase in net cost or reduction in 

net revenue for any entity, even if the benefits exceed the costs for all entities 

combined. 

3Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.04 of the Code of Virginia, small business is defined 

as "a business entity, including its affiliates, that (i) is independently owned 

and operated and (ii) employs fewer than 500 full-time employees or has gross 

annual sales of less than $6 million." 

4"Locality" can refer to either local governments or the locations in the 

Commonwealth where the activities relevant to the regulatory change are most 

likely to occur. 

5§ 2.2-4007.04 defines "particularly affected" as bearing disproportionate 

material impact. 

Agency's Response to the Economic Impact Analysis: The 

Board of Social Work concurs with the analysis of the 

Department of Planning and Budget. 

Summary: 

The amendments (i) clarify that the definition of "face-to-

face" may include the use of technology in the contact 

between a supervisee and a client and add a definition for 

"supervisory contract"; (ii) clarify that the educational 

requirements must be completed before persons begin their 

post-graduate supervised experience; (iii) eliminate the 

requirement that a supervisee notify the board whenever 

there is a change of location or supervised experiences; and 

(iv) clarify the requirement that a person must remain under 

supervision until issued a license. 

18VAC140-20-10. Definitions. 

A. The following words and terms when used in this chapter 

shall have the meanings ascribed to them in § 54.1-3700 of the 

Code of Virginia: 

Baccalaureate social worker 

Board 

Casework 
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Casework management and supportive services 

Clinical social worker 

Master's social worker 

Practice of social work 

Social worker 

B. The following words and terms when used in this chapter 

shall have the following meanings unless the context clearly 

indicates otherwise: 

"Accredited school of social work" means a school of social 

work accredited by the Council on Social Work Education. 

"Active practice" means post-licensure practice at the level of 

licensure for which an applicant is seeking licensure in 

Virginia and shall include at least 360 hours of practice in a 12-

month period. 

"Ancillary services" means activities such as case 

management, recordkeeping, referral, and coordination of 

services. 

"Clinical course of study" means graduate course work that 

includes specialized advanced courses in human behavior and 

the social environment, social justice and policy, 

psychopathology, and diversity issues; research; clinical 

practice with individuals, families, and groups; and a clinical 

practicum that focuses on diagnostic, prevention, and 

treatment services. 

"Clinical social work services" include the application of 

social work principles and methods in performing assessments 

and diagnoses based on a recognized manual of mental and 

emotional disorders or recognized system of problem 

definition, preventive and early intervention services, and 

treatment services, including psychosocial interventions, 

psychotherapy, and counseling for mental disorders, substance 

abuse, marriage and family dysfunction, and problems caused 

by social and psychological stress or health impairment. 

"Exempt practice" is that which meets the conditions of 

exemption from the requirements of licensure as defined in 

§ 54.1-3701 of the Code of Virginia. 

"Face-to-face supervision" means the physical presence of the 

individuals involved in the supervisory relationship during 

either individual or group supervision or in the delivery of 

clinical social work services by a supervisee and may include 

the use of technology that provides real-time, visual interactive 

contact among the individuals involved. 

"LBSW" means a licensed baccalaureate social worker. 

"LMSW" means a licensed master's social worker. 

"Nonexempt practice" is that which does not meet the 

conditions of exemption from the requirements of licensure as 

defined in § 54.1-3701 of the Code of Virginia. 

"Supervisee" means an individual who has submitted a 

supervisory contract and has received board approval to 

provide clinical services in social work under supervision. 

"Supervision" means a professional relationship between a 

supervisor and supervisee in which the supervisor directs, 

monitors and evaluates the supervisee's social work practice 

while promoting development of the supervisee's knowledge, 

skills and abilities to provide social work services in an ethical 

and competent manner. 

“Supervisory contract” means an agreement that outlines the 

expectations and responsibilities of the supervisor and 

supervisee in accordance with regulations of the board. 

18VAC140-20-50. Experience requirements for a licensed 

clinical social worker. 

A. Supervised experience. Supervised post-master's degree 

experience without prior written board approval will not be 

accepted toward licensure, except supervision obtained in 

another United States jurisdiction may be accepted if it met the 

requirements of that jurisdiction. Prior to registration for 

supervised experience, a person shall satisfactorily complete 

the educational requirements of 18VAC140-20-49. 

1. Registration. An individual who proposes to obtain 

supervised post-master's degree experience in Virginia shall, 

prior to the onset of such supervision, or whenever there is 

an addition or change of supervised practice, a supervisor, 

clinical social work services or location: 

a. Register on a form provided by the board and; 

b. Submit a copy of a supervisory contract completed by 

the supervisor and the supervised individual supervisee; 

c. Submit an official transcript documenting a graduate 

degree and clinical practicum as specified in 18VAC140-

20-49; and 

b. d. Pay the registration of supervision fee set forth in 

18VAC140-20-30. 

2. Hours. The applicant shall have completed a minimum of 

3,000 hours of supervised post-master's degree experience in 

the delivery of clinical social work services and in ancillary 

services that support such delivery. A minimum of one hour 

and a maximum of four hours of face-to-face supervision 

shall be provided per 40 hours of work experience for a total 

of at least 100 hours. No more than 50 of the 100 hours may 

be obtained in group supervision, nor shall there be more 

than six persons being supervised in a group unless approved 

in advance by the board. The board may consider 

alternatives to face-to-face supervision if the applicant can 

demonstrate an undue burden due to hardship, disability or 

geography. 

a. Supervised experience shall be acquired in no less than 

two nor more than four consecutive years. 

b. Supervisees shall obtain throughout their hours of 

supervision a minimum of 1,380 hours of supervised 
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experience in face-to-face client contact in the delivery of 

clinical social work services. The remaining hours may be 

spent in ancillary services supporting the delivery of 

clinical social work services. 

3. An individual who does not complete the supervision 

requirement after four consecutive years of supervised 

experience may request an extension of up to 12 months. The 

request for an extension shall include evidence that 

demonstrates extenuating circumstances that prevented 

completion of the supervised experience within four 

consecutive years. 

B. Requirements for supervisors. 

1. The supervisor shall hold an active, unrestricted license as 

a licensed clinical social worker in the jurisdiction in which 

the clinical services are being rendered with at least two 

years of post-licensure clinical social work experience. The 

board may consider supervisors with commensurate 

qualifications if the applicant can demonstrate an undue 

burden due to geography or disability or if supervision was 

obtained in another United States jurisdiction. 

2. The supervisor shall have received professional training in 

supervision, consisting of a three credit-hour graduate course in 

supervision or at least 14 hours of continuing education offered 

by a provider approved under 18VAC140-20-105. The graduate 

course or hours of continuing education in supervision shall be 

obtained by a supervisor within five years immediately 

preceding registration of supervision. 

3. The supervisor shall not provide supervision for a family 

member or provide supervision for anyone with whom he 

has a dual relationship. 

4. The board may consider supervisors from jurisdictions 

outside of Virginia who provided clinical social work 

supervision if they have commensurate qualifications but were 

either (i) not licensed because their jurisdiction did not require 

licensure or (ii) were not designated as clinical social workers 

because the jurisdiction did not require such designation. 

C. Responsibilities of supervisors. The supervisor shall: 

1. Be responsible for the social work activities of the 

supervisee as set forth in this subsection once the 

supervisory arrangement is accepted; 

2. Review and approve the diagnostic assessment and 

treatment plan of a representative sample of the clients 

assigned to the applicant during the course of supervision. 

The sample should be representative of the variables of 

gender, age, diagnosis, length of treatment and treatment 

method within the client population seen by the applicant. It 

is the applicant's responsibility to assure the 

representativeness of the sample that is presented to the 

supervisor; 

3. Provide supervision only for those social work activities 

for which the supervisor has determined the applicant is 

competent to provide to clients; 

4. Provide supervision only for those activities for which the 

supervisor is qualified by education, training and 

experience; 

5. Evaluate the supervisee's knowledge and document 

minimal competencies in the areas of an identified theory 

base, application of a differential diagnosis, establishing and 

monitoring a treatment plan, development and appropriate 

use of the professional relationship, assessing the client for 

risk of imminent danger, understanding the requirements of 

law for reporting any harm or risk of harm to self or others, 

and implementing a professional and ethical relationship 

with clients; 

6. Be available to the applicant on a regularly scheduled 

basis for supervision; 

7. Maintain documentation, for five years post-supervision, 

of which clients were the subject of supervision; and 

8. Ensure that the board is notified of any change in 

supervision or if supervision has ended or been terminated 

by the supervisor. 

D. Responsibilities of supervisees. 

1. Supervisees may not directly bill for services rendered or 

in any way represent themselves as independent, 

autonomous practitioners, or licensed clinical social 

workers. 

2. During the supervised experience, supervisees shall use 

their names and the initials of their degree, and the title 

"Supervisee in Social Work" in all written communications. 

3. Clients shall be informed in writing of the supervisee's 

status and the supervisor's name, professional address, and 

phone number. 

4. Supervisees shall not supervise the provision of clinical 

social work services provided by another person. 

5. While providing clinical social work services, a 

supervisee shall remain under board approved supervision 

until licensed in Virginia as a licensed clinical social worker. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R21-6545; Filed January 1, 2021, 6:14 p.m. 

  ––––––––––––––––––  
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TITLE 22. SOCIAL SERVICES 

STATE BOARD OF SOCIAL SERVICES 

Emergency Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 22VAC40-211. Foster and Adoptive 

Home Approval Standards for Local Departments of 

Social Services (adding 22VAC40-211-130). 

Statutory Authority: §§ 63.2-217 and 63.2-319 Code of 

Virginia 

Effective Dates: January 4, 2021, through July 3, 2022. 

Agency Contact: C. Garrett Jones, Resource Family Program 

Manager, Department of Social Services, 801 East Main Street, 

Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 726-7527, or email 

garrett.jones@dss.virginia.gov. 

Preamble: 

Section 2.2-4011 B of the Code of Virginia states that 

agencies may adopt emergency regulations in situations in 

which Virginia statutory law or the appropriation act or 

federal law or federal regulation requires that a regulation 

be effective in 280 days or less from its enactment, and the 

regulation is not exempt under the provisions of § 2.2-4006 

A 4 of the Code of Virginia. 

Pursuant to Chapter 336 of the 2019 Acts of Assembly, the 

amendments add new regulatory requirements that a local 

board of social services and a licensed child-placing agency 

(LCPA) provide foster parents with (i) all reasonably 

ascertainable background, medical, and psychological 

records of the child prior to placement; (ii) all information 

relevant to the child's foster care services; and (iii) copies 

of all documents related to the foster parent, the foster 

parent's family, and services provided to the foster home on 

an ongoing basis. Local boards and LCPAs are also 

required to notify foster parents of court hearings; 

scheduled meetings; and decisions made by the court, local 

board, or LCPA concerning the child's foster care service, 

changes to the child's case plan, or termination of child's 

placement in a timely manner. The regulation also requires 

the timely response to requests for information regarding 

the child's progress after leaving foster care if it is in the 

child's best interest. The regulation sets forth a dispute 

resolution process through which a foster parent may 

contest an alleged violation by the local board or LCPA, 

including an appeal process for the foster parent. 

22VAC40-211-130. Foster parent bill of rights and dispute 

resolution process.  

A. In accordance with § 63.2-902 of the Code of Virginia 

relating to foster care agreements and the rights of foster 

parents regarding resolution of disputes, each local department 

of social services shall implement and ensure that all foster 

parents receive a copy of the Foster Parent Bill of Rights and 

that a signed copy of receipt is placed in the foster parent's file.  

Foster parents shall abide by all responsibilities as set forth in 

state and federal law, including all responsibilities set forth in 

this chapter. 

In addition to any claim for benefits pursuant to 42 USC § 671 

et seq., and pursuant to § 63.2-905 of the Code of Virginia, all 

foster parents have the following rights regarding 

collaboration, communication, access, and transparency: 

1. To be regarded as the primary caretaker of a child placed 

in foster care and to be treated with dignity, respect, trust, 

value, and consideration, including the local department 

giving due consideration to the foster parent's family values, 

traditions, and beliefs; 

2. To receive copies of all documents related to the foster 

parent, the foster parent's family, and ongoing services 

provided to the foster home; 

3. To be considered part of the foster care team and to be 

able to contribute input regarding the child's permanency 

plan and receive copies of the plan; 

4. To be provided all reasonably ascertainable background, 

medical, and psychological records of the child prior to 

placement, at the initial placement, or at any time during the 

placement of a child in foster care; 

5. To be provided all information relevant to the child's 

foster care services as allowed by federal and state law;  

6. To be notified of court hearings and scheduled meetings;  

7. To be informed of decisions made by the court, local 

board, or licensed child-placing agency concerning the 

child's foster care services;  

8. To be able to communicate, to the extent permitted under 

federal and state law, with professionals who work directly 

with the child in foster care, including therapists, physicians, 

and teachers;  

9. To be informed in a timely manner of changes to the 

child's case plan or the termination of the child's placement; 

10. To be afforded the same rights as outlined in the Foster 

Care Placement Agreement and the Code of Ethics and 

Mutual Responsibilities; 

11. To be provided with reimbursements for costs associated 

with foster care services in a timely manner; 

12. To be provided with a method to contact the local board 

or licensed child-placing agency for assistance 24 hours a 

day and seven days a week; and 

13. To receive a timely response from the local department 

of social services regarding whether or not information may 

be provided to requests for information regarding the child's 

progress after leaving foster care. 

B. Foster parents have a right to file a complaint regarding 

alleged violations of the regulations governing collaboration, 

mailto:garrett.jones@dss.virginia.gov
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communication, access, and transparency between the local 

boards, the licensed child-placing agencies, and the foster 

parents. When filing such a complaint, foster parents must 

follow the following steps: 

1. The foster parent shall contact the service worker assigned 

to the foster home within 10 business days and provide a 

detailed description of the conduct constituting the alleged 

violation of the regulations governing collaboration, 

communication, access, and transparency between the local 

boards, the licensed child placing agencies, and the foster 

parents and attempt to resolve the dispute. 

2. The service worker shall respond within five business 

days and explain any corrective action to be taken in 

response to the foster parent's complaint. 

3. If the foster parent and service worker are unable to 

resolve the complaint informally, the foster parent may file 

a written complaint through the dispute resolution process 

with the local board's foster care supervisor or assigned 

designee. 

a. The written complaint shall include a detailed 

description of the conduct constituting the alleged 

violation of the regulations governing collaboration, 

communication, access, and transparency between the 

local boards, the licensed child-placing agencies, and the 

foster parents and a copy of the service worker's response. 

b. The written complaint shall be sent to the supervisor and 

must be received by the supervisor within 10 business 

days of the foster parent receiving the service worker's 

response. 

4. The foster care supervisor or assigned designee shall 

respond to the complaint in writing within five business days 

setting forth all findings regarding the alleged violation and 

any corrective action taken.  

5. If the foster parent disagrees with the findings or 

corrective actions proposed by the foster care supervisor or 

assigned designee, the foster parent may appeal the decision 

to the local director by filing a written notice of appeal.  

a. The notice of appeal shall include a detailed description 

of the conduct constituting the alleged violation of the 

regulations governing collaboration, communication, 

access, and transparency between the local boards, the 

licensed child-placing agencies, and the foster parents and 

a copy of the foster care supervisor or assigned designee's 

findings or recommendations. 

b. The notice of appeal shall be sent to the local director 

and must be received by the local director within 10 

business days of the foster parent receiving the 

supervisor's response.  

6. The local director shall hold a meeting between all parties 

within seven business days to gather any information 

necessary to determine (i) the validity of the alleged 

violation of the regulations governing collaboration, 

communication, access, and transparency between the local 

boards, the licensed child-placing agencies, and the foster 

parents and (ii) the appropriateness of any recommendations 

for corrective action made by the family services specialist 

and foster care supervisor or assigned designee.  

7. A summary of the meeting shall be documented in writing 

by the service worker after approval by the foster care 

supervisor or assigned designee.  

8. Following such meeting and documentation, the local 

director shall issue to all parties written findings and, when 

applicable, recommendations for corrective actions. 

C. The dispute resolution process set forth in subsection B of 

this section does not apply to a complaint related to the denial 

or failure of a local board to act upon an individual's claim for 

benefits. Complaints related to a claim for benefits shall be 

appealable pursuant to 42 USC § 671(a)(12) and 22VAC40-

201-115.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R21-6042; Filed January 4, 2021, 10:49 a.m. 
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Governor 

EXECUTIVE ORDER NUMBER SEVENTY-FOUR (2020) 

Protecting Businesses from Increasing Cost of 
Unemployment Insurance 

Importance of the Issue 

Due to the novel coronavirus (COVID-19) public health 

emergency, many Virginians are out of work due to business 

closures, school closures, and other health-related 

emergencies. The United States Department of Labor has 

greatly expanded the definition of who is eligible for 

unemployment compensation benefits, the period of time a 

person may be on unemployment compensation benefits, and 

the amount of unemployment pay a dislocated worker receives 

per week. The increase in workers who are eligible as well as 

the increase in funds distributed to families in the 

Commonwealth has depleted the Virginia Unemployment 

Insurance Trust Fund, and resulted in greatly increased levels 

of employer benefit charges and anticipated increases in the tax 

rates of covered employers under the Virginia Unemployment 

Compensation Act. 

In response to this crisis, the United States Department of 

Labor's Employment and Training Administration has issued 

guidance letters (Federal Guidance) regarding the broad, 

emergency flexibility that States have to provide temporary 

relief to unemployed individuals and employers directly 

impacted by COVID-19. Pursuant to that guidance and its own 

authority, the Virginia Employment Commission 

(Commission) has already taken action with the United States 

Department of Labor to secure benefits for Virginians and 

request and repay Title XII advances from the Federal 

Unemployment Account. 

However, there is still work that the Commission can do to 

lessen the tax burden on businesses that has resulted from 

record unemployment. Under the Federal Guidance, the 

Virginia Employment Commission may also relax its ordinary 

requirements in calculating the annual statement of the 

employers' benefit charges and taxes for the preceding fiscal 

year because of the historic demands on the Commonwealth's 

unemployment system and resulting employer benefit charges 

during this pandemic. Pursuant to that guidance, the Virginia 

Employment Commission must take action to provide relief to 

employers whose experience rating accounts have been 

chargeable with overwhelming amounts of benefits 

attributable to record high rates of unemployment during the 

COVID-19 pandemic. 

Directive 

Therefore, by virtue of the authority vested in me as Governor 

under Article V of the Constitution of Virginia, Section 2.2-

104 of the Code of Virginia, Item 131, Section F, Chapter 56 

of the Acts of Assembly of the 2020 Special Session I, § 44-

146.17 of the Code of Virginia, in furtherance of Amended 

Executive Order 51 (2020), and my continuing and ultimate 

authority and responsibility to act in such matters, I hereby 

delegate to the Commissioner of the Virginia Employment 

Commission the following authority and responsibility. The 

Commissioner shall: 

• Calculate the appropriate tax rate of each covered 

employer whose experience rating account has been 

chargeable with benefits for the second quarter (April 

2020, May 2020, and June 2020) of the calendar year 

2020; 

• Modify the annual computation to omit addition of the 

benefits for the second quarter (April 2020, May 2020, and 

June 2020) of the calendar year 2020, that she may 

calculate and provide to every covered employer by 

December 31st, or as soon as practical thereafter, a 

statement of the employer's benefit charges and taxes for 

the preceding fiscal year under Article 4 of Title 60.2 of 

the Code of Virginia, and as contained in the Virginia 

Unemployment Compensation Act; 

• Calculate a proper variation in the computation of the 

employers' benefit charges for the preceding fiscal year; 

• Execute any necessary agreements with the United States 

Department of Labor related to continued implementation 

of the Coronavirus Aid, Relief, and Economic Security 

Act (CARES Act), 15 USC § 9001, et seq., for such other 

temporary tax relief for such covered employers during 

this public health emergency. 

Effective Date of this Executive Order 

This Executive Order shall be effective upon its signing and 

remain in full force and effect until the expiration of Amended 

Executive Order 51 unless sooner amended or rescinded. 

Given under my hand and under the Seal of the 

Commonwealth of Virginia this 22nd day of December, 2020. 

/s/ Ralph S. Northam 

Governor 

EXECUTIVE ORDER NUMBER SEVENTY-FIVE (2020)  

Declaration of a State of Emergency Due to Civil 
Unrest in Washington, D.C. and Potential Civil 

Unrest in the Commonwealth 

Importance of the Issue 

On this day, January 6, 2021, I declare that a state of 

emergency exists in the Commonwealth of Virginia due to 

potential civil unrest that poses a danger to public safety. Due 

to significant events in Washington, District of Columbia, the 

Commonwealth is at a heightened risk of civil unrest that may 

require intervention to restore order, ensure the safety of the 

public, protect property, and provide additional resources to 

support our local, state, and federal partners. Specifically, 

violent protests in Washington, D.C. have led its Mayor to 

declare a state of emergency and impose a curfew. The District 

also requested assistance from the Commonwealth to address 

this unrest and restore order to our nation's Capital. 

There is significant concern that the unrest unfolding in our 

nation's Capital may spark violence in the Commonwealth. 
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This is of particular concern with respect to areas of the 

Commonwealth in close proximity to the District. To alleviate 

that potential, the Mayor of the City of Alexandria and the 

Chair of Arlington County Board requested curfews in the City 

of Alexandria and the County of Arlington. 

The Commonwealth has a compelling interest to maintain 

peace and order in the face of escalating tension. The effects of 

this civil unrest constitute an emergency wherein human lives 

and public and private property are imperiled, as described in 

§ 44-146.16 of the Code of Virginia (Code). Action is 

necessary to preserve life and property and to alleviate the 

conditions caused by this situation. 

Therefore, by virtue of the authority vested in me by Article V 

of the Constitution of Virginia, by §§ 44-146.17 and 44-75.1 

of the Code, and as Governor and Director of Emergency 

Management and Commander-in-Chief of the 

Commonwealth's armed forces, I proclaim that a state of 

emergency exists in the Commonwealth of Virginia. 

Accordingly, I direct state and local governments to render 

appropriate assistance to prepare for and respond to this 

situation, to alleviate any conditions resulting from the 

situation, and to implement recovery and mitigation operations 

and activities so as to return impacted areas to pre-event 

conditions as much as possible. Emergency services shall be 

conducted in accordance with § 44-146.13 et seq. of the Code. 

In order to marshal all public resources and appropriate 

preparedness, response, and recovery measures, I order the 

following actions: 

1. Implementation by state agencies of the 

Commonwealth of Virginia Emergency Operations Plan, 

as amended, along with other appropriate state plans. 

2. Activation of the Virginia Emergency Operations 

Center and the Virginia Emergency Support Team, as 

directed by the State Coordinator of Emergency 

Management, to coordinate the provision of assistance to 

state, local, and tribal governments and to facilitate 

emergency services assignments to other agencies. 

3. Authorization for the heads of executive branch 

agencies, on behalf of their regulatory boards as 

appropriate, and with the concurrence of their Cabinet 

Secretary, to waive any state requirement or regulation, 

and enter into contracts without regard to normal 

procedures or formalities, and without regard to 

application or permit fees or royalties. All waivers issued 

by agencies shall be posted on their websites. 

4. Activation of the Virginia National Guard to State 

Active Duty to assist in mitigating this emergency as well 

as providing support to Washington, D.C. pursuant to the 

National Guard Mutual Assistance Compact, § 44-54.1 et 

seq. and the Emergency Management Assistance 

Compact, § 44-146.28:1 et seq. of the Code, as well as any 

other applicable law. 

5. Persons traveling to and from home, work, or places of 

worship; 

6. Authorization of a maximum of $2,750,000.00 in state 

sum sufficient funds for state and local government 

mission assignments and state response and recovery 

operations authorized and coordinated through the 

Virginia Department of Emergency Management 

allowable by The Stafford Act, 42 U.S.C. § 5121 et seq. 

Included in this authorization is $750,000.00 for the 

Department of Military Affairs. 

Further, I declare that the City of Alexandria and the County 

of Arlington shall be under a curfew between the hours of 6 

p.m., January 6, 2021 and 6 a.m., January 7, 2021. Unless 

extended by further executive order, that curfew shall end at 

6:01 a.m. January 7, 2021. While the curfew is in place, no 

person shall be present on any street, road, alley, avenue, park, 

or other public place in the City of Alexandria and the County 

of Arlington with the following exceptions: 

• Hospital personnel; 

• Members of the press; 

• State and City of Alexandria or County of Arlington 

employees and volunteers; 

• Military personnel including but not limited to national 

guard troops; 

• Private emergency medical transport workers; 

• Travel to and from public meetings of the City of 

Alexandria and the County of Arlington; 

• Persons seeking emergency services; and 

• Other emergency workers. 

Nothing in this Order shall be construed to prohibit or restrict 

travel to a hospital in the event of a medical emergency, nor 

shall such travel be considered in violation of this Order.  

Further, in the event of any conflict between this Order and 

Executive Order 72, Order of Public Health Emergency Nine, 

Section I, this Order governs. 

Violation of this Order shall be a Class 1 misdemeanor 

pursuant to § 44-146.17 of the Code. 

Effective Date of this Executive Order 

This Order shall be effective immediately, and with the 

exception to the provisions instituting the curfews, shall 

remain in full force and effect until February 6, 2021, unless 

amended or rescinded by further executive order. 

Given under my hand and under the Seal of the 

Commonwealth of Virginia this 6th day of January, 2021. 

/s/ Ralph S. Northam 

Governor 
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PUBLIC COMMENT OPPORTUNITY 

Pursuant to § 2.2-4002.1 of the Code of Virginia, a certified guidance document is subject to a 30-day public comment period 

after publication in the Virginia Register of Regulations and prior to the guidance document's effective date. During the public 

comment period, comments may be made through the Virginia Regulatory Town Hall website (http://www.townhall.virginia.gov) 

or sent to the agency contact. Under subsection C of § 2.2-4002.1, the effective date of the guidance document may be delayed 

for an additional period. The guidance document may also be withdrawn. 

The following guidance documents have been submitted for publication by the listed agencies for a public comment period. 

Online users of this issue of the Virginia Register of Regulations may click on the name of a guidance document to access it. 

Guidance documents are also available on the Virginia Regulatory Town Hall (http://www.townhall.virginia.gov) or from the 

agency contact or may be viewed at the Office of the Registrar of Regulations, 900 East Main Street, Richmond, Virginia 23219.

BOARD OF AGRICULTURE AND CONSUMER 
SERVICES 

Title of Document: Virginia Produce Safety Law and Related 

Regulations Civil Penalty Matrix Guidelines for Enforcement. 

Public Comment Deadline: March 3, 2021. 

Effective Date: March 4, 2021. 

Agency Contact: Ryan Davis, Program Manager, Office of 

Dairy and Foods, Department of Agriculture and Consumer 

Services, P.O. Box 1163, Richmond, VA 23218, telephone 

(804) 786-8899, or email ryan.davis@vdacs.virginia.gov. 

STATE BOARD OF EDUCATION 

Title of Document: Career and Technical Education Work-

Based Learning Guide. 

Public Comment Deadline: March 3, 2021. 

Effective Date: July 1, 2021. 

Agency Contact: George Willcox, Director of Career and 

Technical Education, Operations and Accounting, State Board 

of Education, 101 North 14th Street, Richmond, VA 23219, 

telephone (804) 225-2052, or email 

george.willcox@doe.virginia.gov. 

BOARD OF HOUSING AND COMMUNITY 
DEVELOPMENT 

Titles of Documents: Virginia Enterprise Zone Agreed Upon 

Procedures for CPA Attestation, Grant Year 2020. 

Virginia Enterprise Zone Job Creation Grant Instruction 

Manual, Grant Year 2020. 

Virginia Enterprise Zone Real Property Investment Grant 

Instruction Manual, Grant Year 2020. 

Public Comment Deadline: March 3, 2021. 

Effective Date: March 4, 2021. 

Agency Contact: Kyle Flanders, Senior Policy Analyst, 

Department of Housing and Community Development, Main 

Street Centre, 600 East Main Street, Suite 300, Richmond, VA 

23219, telephone (804) 786-6761, or email 
kyle.flanders@dhcd.virginia.gov. 

DEPARTMENT OF MOTOR VEHICLES 

Titles of Documents: Disability Accommodations Process and 

Guidelines (NEW). 

Obtaining a Virginia Driver's License or Identification (ID) 

Card. 

Obtención de una licencia de conducción de Virginia o una 

tarjeta de identificación (ID). 

Virginia DMV Title VI Program Compliance Plan (NEW). 

Public Comment Deadline: March 3, 2021. 

Effective Date: March 4, 2021. 

Agency Contact: Melissa K. Velazquez, Legislative Manager, 

Department of Motor Vehicles, 2300 West Broad Street, 

Richmond, VA 23220, telephone (804) 367-1844, or email 

melissa.velazquez@dmv.virginia.gov. 

https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title2.2/chapter40/section2.2-4002.1/
http://www.townhall.virginia.gov/
https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title2.2/chapter40/section2.2-4002.1/
http://www.townhall.virginia.gov/
https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/GetFile.cfm?File=C:/TownHall/docroot/GuidanceDocs_Proposed/301/GDoc_VDACS_4707_20201231.pdf
https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/GetFile.cfm?File=C:/TownHall/docroot/GuidanceDocs_Proposed/301/GDoc_VDACS_4707_20201231.pdf
mailto:Ryan.Davis@vdacs.virginia.gov
https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/GetFile.cfm?File=C:/TownHall/docroot/GuidanceDocs_Proposed/201/GDoc_DOE_4708_20210105.pdf
https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/GetFile.cfm?File=C:/TownHall/docroot/GuidanceDocs_Proposed/201/GDoc_DOE_4708_20210105.pdf
mailto:george.willcox@doe.virginia.gov
mailto:george.willcox@doe.virginia.gov
https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/GetFile.cfm?File=C:/TownHall/docroot/GuidanceDocs_Proposed/165/GDoc_DHCD_4712_20210112.pdf
https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/GetFile.cfm?File=C:/TownHall/docroot/GuidanceDocs_Proposed/165/GDoc_DHCD_4712_20210112.pdf
https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/GetFile.cfm?File=C:/TownHall/docroot/GuidanceDocs_Proposed/165/GDoc_DHCD_4713_20210112.pdf
https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/GetFile.cfm?File=C:/TownHall/docroot/GuidanceDocs_Proposed/165/GDoc_DHCD_4713_20210112.pdf
https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/GetFile.cfm?File=C:/TownHall/docroot/GuidanceDocs_Proposed/165/GDoc_DHCD_4714_20210112.pdf
https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/GetFile.cfm?File=C:/TownHall/docroot/GuidanceDocs_Proposed/165/GDoc_DHCD_4714_20210112.pdf
mailto:kyle.flanders@dhcd.virginia.gov
https://www.dmv.virginia.gov/documents/guidance/disability_policies_employees_dmv_intranet.pdf
https://www.dmv.virginia.gov/documents/guidance/disability_policies_employees_dmv_intranet.pdf
https://www.dmv.virginia.gov/documents/guidance/dmv141.pdf
https://www.dmv.virginia.gov/documents/guidance/dmv141.pdf
https://www.dmv.virginia.gov/documents/guidance/dmv141s_changes.pdf
https://www.dmv.virginia.gov/documents/guidance/dmv141s_changes.pdf
https://www.dmv.virginia.gov/documents/guidance/va_dmv_title_vi_program_compliance_plan_fy_2020.pdf
mailto:melissa.velazquez@dmv.virginia.gov
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General Notices 

AIR POLLUTION CONTROL BOARD 

Proposed Revision to Plan to Attain and Maintain 
the National Ambient Air Quality Standard for 

Ozone, State Implementation Plan 

Notice of action: The Department of Environmental Quality 

(DEQ) is announcing an opportunity for public comment on a 

proposed plan to attain and maintain the national ambient air 

quality standard for ozone. The Commonwealth intends to 

submit the plan as a revision to the Commonwealth of Virginia 

State Implementation Plan (SIP) in accordance with the 

requirements of § 110(a) of the federal Clean Air Act. The SIP 

is the plan developed by the Commonwealth in order to fulfill 

its responsibilities under the federal Clean Air Act to attain and 

maintain the ambient air quality standards promulgated by the 

U.S. Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) under the 

federal Clean Air Act. 

Purpose of notice: DEQ is seeking comment on the issue of 

whether a regulation amendment should be submitted as a 

revision to the SIP. 

Public comment period: February 1, 2021, to March 3, 2021. 

Public hearing: A public hearing will be conducted if a request 

is made in writing to the contact listed at the end of this notice. 

In order to be considered, the request must include the full 

name, address, and telephone number of the person requesting 

the hearing and be received by DEQ by the last day of the 

comment period. Notice of the date, time, and location of any 

requested public hearing will be announced in a separate 

notice, and another 30-day comment period will be conducted. 

Public comment stage: The regulation amendment is exempt 

from the state administrative procedures for adoption of 

regulations contained in Article 2 of the Administrative 

Process Act by the provisions of § 2.2-4006 A 4 c of the Code 

of Virginia because it is necessary to meet the requirements of 

the federal Clean Air Act and does not differ materially from 

the pertinent EPA regulations. Since the amendment is exempt 

from administrative procedures for the adoption of regulations, 

DEQ is accepting comment only on the issue cited under 

"purpose of notice" and not on the content of the regulation 

amendment. 

Description of proposal: Article 43 (Emission Standards for 

Municipal Solid Waste Landfills) of 9VAC5-40 was originally 

designed to control two separate pollutants: (i) ozone in the 

Northern Virginia ozone nonattainment area as required by 

§ 110 of the Clean Air Act and implemented by 40 CFR Part 

51 and (ii) nonmethane organic compounds as required by 

§ 111(d) of the Clean Air Act and implemented by Subpart Cc 

of 40 CFR Part 60, which is applicable statewide. On August 

29, 2016 (81 FR 59276), EPA promulgated new emissions 

guidelines for municipal solid waste landfills as Subpart Cf of 

40 CFR Part 60. To adopt the requirements of Subpart Cf while 

maintaining the state-only requirements specific to the 

Northern Virginia ozone nonattainment area, the board 

promulgated a new Article 43.1 and amended Article 43 to 

include transitional text (Revision H16). This enabled the 

adoption of the new statewide standards without affecting the 

more restrictive requirements of Article 43 applicable to the 

nonattainment area. The § 111(d) portion of Revision H16 was 

submitted to EPA as a § 111(d) plan revision and approved 

June 23, 2020 (85 FR 37568). The department now seeks to 

amend the § 110 SIP to incorporate the changes to Article 43 

effected by Revision H16. 

Federal information: This notice is being given to satisfy the 

public participation requirements of federal regulations 

(40 CFR 51.102). The proposal will be submitted as a revision 

to the Commonwealth of Virginia SIP under § 110(a) of the 

federal Clean Air Act in accordance with 40 CFR 51.104. 

How to comment: DEQ accepts written comments by email, 

fax, and postal mail. In order to be considered, comments must 

include the full name, address, and telephone number of the 

person commenting and be received by DEQ on the last day of 

the comment period. All faxes must have a cover page that lists 

the intended recipient. All materials received are part of the 

public record. 

To review proposal: The proposal and any supporting 

documents are available on the DEQ Air Public Notices 

website at https://www.deq.virginia.gov/permits-

regulations/public-notices. The documents may also be 

obtained by contacting the DEQ representative listed. The 

public may schedule an appointment to review the documents 

between 8:30 a.m. and 4:30 p.m. of each business day until the 

close of the public comment period at the following DEQ 

locations: 

1) Main Street Office, 22nd Floor, 1111 East Main Street, 

Richmond, VA, telephone (804) 698-4249, and 

2) Northern Regional Office, 13901 Crown Court, 

Woodbridge, VA, telephone (703) 583-3800. 

Contact Information: Cindy Berndt, Regulatory Coordinator, 

Department of Environmental Quality, 1111 East Main Street, 

Suite 1400, P.O. Box 1105, Richmond, VA 23218, telephone 

(804) 698-4378, FAX (804) 698-4178. 

STATE WATER CONTROL BOARD 

Proposed Enforcement Action for Amelia 
Enterprises Inc., Facilities 4039618 and 4023056 

The State Water Control Board proposes to issue a consent 

special order to Amelia Enterprises Inc. for alleged violation 

of the State Water Control Law at 7730 Military Road, Amelia, 

Virginia 23002 and 9024 Woodman Road, Richmond, Virginia 

23228. A description of the proposed action is available at the 

Department of Environmental Quality office listed or online at 

www.deq.virginia.gov. The staff contact listed will accept 

https://www.deq.virginia.gov/permits-regulations/public-notices).
https://www.deq.virginia.gov/permits-regulations/public-notices).
http://www.deq.virginia.gov/
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comments by email or postal mail from February 1, 2021, to 

March 4, 2021. 

Contact Information: Aree Reinhardt, Department of 

Environmental Quality, Piedmont Regional Office, 4949-A 

Cox Road, Glen Allen, VA 23060, or email 

aree.reinhardt@deq.virginia.gov. 

Proposed Enforcement Action for BVU Authority 

An enforcement action has been proposed for the BVU 

Authority for violations of the State Water Control Law in the 

City of Bristol, Virginia and Washington County, Virginia. A 

description of the proposed action is available at the 

Department of Environmental Quality office listed or online at 

www.deq.virginia.gov. The staff contact person listed will 

accept comments by email or postal mail from February 1, 

2021, through March 3, 2021. 

Contact Information: Jonathan Chapman, Department of 

Environmental Quality, Southwest Regional Office, 355-A 

Deadmore Street, Abingdon, VA 24210, or email 

jonathan.chapman@deq.virginia.gov. 

Proposed Enforcement Action for DAS Brothers Inc. 

The State Water Control Board proposes to issue a consent 

special order to DAS Brothers Inc. for alleged violation of the 

State Water Control Law at 523 South Washington Highway, 

Ashland, Virginia 23005. A description of the proposed action 

is available at the Department of Environmental Quality office 

listed or online at www.deq.virginia.gov. The staff contact 

person listed will accept comments by email or postal mail 

from February 1, 2021, to March 4, 2021. 

Contact Information: Aree Reinhardt, Department of 

Environmental Quality, Piedmont Regional Office 

(Enforcement), 4949-A Cox Road , Glen Allen, VA 23060, or 

email aree.reinhardt@deq.virginia.gov. 

Proposed Enforcement Action for the  
Town of Honaker 

An enforcement action has been proposed for the Town of 

Honaker for violations of the State Water Control Law at the 

Honaker sewage treatment plant in Russell County. A 

description of the proposed action is available at the 

Department of Environmental Quality office listed or online at 

www.deq.virginia.gov. The staff contact person listed will 

accept comments by email or postal mail from February 1, 

2021, through March 3, 2021. 

Contact Information: Jonathan Chapman, Department of 

Environmental Quality, Southwest Regional Office, 355-A 

Deadmore Street, Abingdon, VA 24210, or email 

jonathan.chapman@deq.virginia.gov. 

Proposed Enforcement Action for Norfolk Southern 
Railway Company 

An enforcement action has been proposed for Norfolk 

Southern Railway Company for violations of the State Water 

Control Law at Railway Mile Post D16.4, near Hurley in 

Buchanan County, Virginia. A description of the proposed 

action is available at the Department of Environmental Quality 

office listed or online at www.deq.virginia.gov. The staff 

contact person listed will accept comments by email or postal 

mail from February 1, 2021, through March 3, 2021. 

Contact Information: Jonathan Chapman, Department of 

Environmental Quality, Southwest Regional Office, 355-A 

Deadmore Street, Abindgon, VA 24210, or email 

jonathan.chapman@deq.virginia.gov. 

Proposed Enforcement Action for PAPCO Inc. 

An enforcement action has been proposed for PAPCO Inc. for 

violations of the State Water Control Law in Newport News, 

Virginia. A description of the proposed action is available at 

the Department of Environmental Quality office listed or 

online at www.deq.virginia.gov. Russell Deppe will accept 

comments by email at russell.deppe@deq.virginia.gov, FAX at 

(757) 518-2009, or postal mail at Department of 

Environmental Quality, Tidewater Regional Office, 5636 

Southern Boulevard, Virginia Beach, VA 23462, from 

February 1, 2021, to March 2, 2021. 

Proposed Enforcement Action for Richmond 
Petroleum Marketing Inc. 

The State Water Control Board proposes to issue a consent 

special order to Richmond Petroleum Marketing Inc. for 

alleged violation of the State Water Control Law at 2301 

Mechanicsville Turnpike, Richmond, Virginia 23223. A 

description of the proposed action is available at the 

Department of Environmental Quality office listed or online at 

www.deq.virginia.gov. The staff contact person listed will 

accept comments from February 1, 2021, through March 4, 

2021. 

Contact Information: Aree Reinhardt, Department of 

Environmental Quality, Piedmont Regional Office, 4949-A 

Cox Road, Glen Allen, VA 23060, telephone (804) 527-5079, 

FAX (804) 698.4178, or email 

aree.reinhardt@deq.virginia.gov. 

Proposed Enforcement Action for  
Sydnor Utilities Inc. 

An enforcement action has been proposed for Sydnor Utilities 

Inc. for violations of the State Water Control Law and 

regulations at the Cedar Crest Subdivision in King William 

County. A description of the proposed action is available at the 

office listed or from the contact person listed. Comments will 

mailto:aree.reinhardt@deq.virginia.gov
http://www.deq.virginia.gov/
mailto:jonathan.chapman@deq.virginia.gov
http://www.deq.virginia.gov/
mailto:aree.reinhardt@deq.virginia.gov
http://www.deq.virginia.gov/
mailto:jonathan.chapman@deq.virginia.gov
http://www.deq.virginia.gov/
mailto:jonathan.chapman@deq.virginia.gov
http://www.deq.virginia.gov/
mailto:russell.deppe@deq.virginia.gov
http://www.deq.virginia.gov/
mailto:aree.reinhardt@deq.virginia.gov
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be accepted by the contact person from February 1, 2021, 

through March 3, 2021. 

Contact Information: Lee Crowell, Department of 

Environmental Quality, 1111 East Main Street, Suite 1400, 

P.O. Box 1105, Richmond, VA 23218, or email 

lee.crowell@deq.virginia.gov. 

Proposed Enforcement Action for Taff and Frye 
Company Inc. 

An enforcement action has been proposed for Taff and Frye 

Company Inc. for violations of the State Water Control Law in 

Bristol, Virginia. A description of the proposed action is 

available at the Department of Environmental Quality office 

listed or online at www.deq.virginia.gov. The staff contact 

person listed will accept comments by email or postal mail 

from February 1, 2021, through March 3, 2021. 

Contact Information: Jonathan Chapman, Department of 

Environmental Quality, Southwest Regional Office, 355-A 

Deadmore Street, Abingdon, VA 24210, or email 

jonathan.chapman@deq.virginia.gov. 

Proposed Enforcement Action for Varsha 10504 LLC 

The State Water Control Board proposes to issue a consent 

special order to Varsha 10504 LLC for alleged violation of the 

State Water Control Law at 10504 Patterson Avenue, 

Richmond, Virginia 23838. A description of the proposed 

action is available at the Department of Environmental Quality 

office listed or online at www.deq.virginia.gov. The staff 

person listed will accept comments by email or postal mail 

from February 1, 2021, to March 4, 2021. 

Contact Information: Aree Reinhardt, Department of 

Environmental Quality, Piedmont Regional Office 

(Enforcement), 4949-A Cox Road, Glen Allen, VA 23060, or 

email aree.reinhardt@deq.virginia.gov. 

VIRGINIA CODE COMMISSION 

Notice to State Agencies 

Contact Information: Mailing Address: Virginia Code 

Commission, Pocahontas Building, 900 East Main Street, 8th 

Floor, Richmond, VA 23219; Telephone: (804) 698-1810; 

Email: varegs@dls.virginia.gov. 

Meeting Notices: Section 2.2-3707 C of the Code of Virginia 

requires state agencies to post meeting notices on their 

websites and on the Commonwealth Calendar at 

https://commonwealthcalendar.virginia.gov. 

Cumulative Table of Virginia Administrative Code 

Sections Adopted, Amended, or Repealed: A table listing 

regulation sections that have been amended, added, or repealed 

in the Virginia Register of Regulations since the regulations 

were originally published or last supplemented in the print 

version of the Virginia Administrative Code is 

available at http://register.dls.virginia.gov/documents/ 

cumultab.pdf. 

Filing Material for Publication in the Virginia Register of 

Regulations: Agencies use the Regulation Information System 

(RIS) to file regulations and related items for publication in the 

Virginia Register of Regulations. The Registrar's office works 

closely with the Department of Planning and Budget (DPB) to 

coordinate the system with the Virginia Regulatory Town Hall. 

RIS and Town Hall complement and enhance one another by 

sharing pertinent regulatory information. 

 

mailto:Lee.Crowell@DEQ.Virginia.Gov
http://www.deq.virginia.gov/
mailto:jonathan.chapman@deq.virginia.gov
http://www.deq.virginia.gov/
mailto:aree.reinhardt@deq.virginia.gov
file://///legmain/sysdata/dlsdata/CODEREGS/regispub/Vol33/Iss04/varegs@dls.virginia.gov
https://commonwealthcalendar.virginia.gov/
http://register.dls.virginia.gov/documents/cumultab.pdf
http://register.dls.virginia.gov/documents/cumultab.pdf
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Errata 

STATE CORPORATION COMMISSION 

Title of Regulation: 20VAC5-314. Regulations Governing 

Interconnection of Small Electrical Generators.  

Publication: 37:1 VA.R. 151-236 August 31, 2020. 

Correction to Final Regulation: 

Page 167, 20VAC5-314-50 A, end of line 4, after "Schedule 6 

of" replace "20VAC5-315-170" with "[ 20VAC5-315-170 

20VAC5-314-170 ]" 

VA.R. Doc. No. R20-5389; Filed January 7, 2021, 10:11 a.m. 

STATE BOARD OF SOCIAL SERVICES 

Title of Regulation: 22VAC40-665. Child Care Program. 

Publication: 37:2 VA.R. 454-455 September 2, 2020. 

Correction to Final Regulation: 

Page 455, column 2, 22VAC40-665-530, subdivision 5, 

replace "22VAC-665-580" with "[ 22VAC-665-580 

22VAC40-665-580 ]" 

VA.R. Doc. No. R21-6435; Filed January 15, 2021, 1:53 p.m. 
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