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REGISTER INFORMATION PAGE 

THE VIRGINIA REGISTER OF REGULATIONS is an official 

state publication issued every other week throughout the year. Indexes are 

published quarterly, and are cumulative for the year. The Virginia 

Register has several functions. The new and amended sections of 

regulations, both as proposed and as finally adopted, are required by law 

to be published in the Virginia Register. In addition, the Virginia Register 

is a source of other information about state government, including 

petitions for rulemaking, emergency regulations, executive orders issued 

by the Governor, and notices of public hearings on regulations. 

ADOPTION, AMENDMENT, AND REPEAL OF REGULATIONS 

Unless exempted by law, an agency wishing to adopt, amend, or repeal 

regulations must follow the procedures in the Administrative Process Act 

(§ 2.2-4000 et seq. of the Code of Virginia). Typically, this includes first 

publishing in the Virginia Register a notice of intended regulatory action; 

a basis, purpose, substance and issues statement; an economic impact 

analysis prepared by the Department of Planning and Budget; the 

agency’s response to the economic impact analysis; a summary; a notice 

giving the public an opportunity to comment on the proposal; and the text 

of the proposed regulation. 

Following publication of the proposed regulation in the Virginia 

Register, the promulgating agency receives public comments for a 

minimum of 60 days. The Governor reviews the proposed regulation to 

determine if it is necessary to protect the public health, safety, and welfare, 

and if it is clearly written and easily understandable. If the Governor 

chooses to comment on the proposed regulation, his comments must be 

transmitted to the agency and the Registrar of Regulations no later than 

15 days following the completion of the 60-day public comment period. 

The Governor’s comments, if any, will be published in the Virginia 

Register. Not less than 15 days following the completion of the 60-day 

public comment period, the agency may adopt the proposed regulation. 

The Joint Commission on Administrative Rules or the appropriate 

standing committee of each house of the General Assembly may meet 

during the promulgation or final adoption process and file an objection 

with the Registrar and the promulgating agency. The objection will be 

published in the Virginia Register. Within 21 days after receipt by the 

agency of a legislative objection, the agency shall file a response with the 

Registrar, the objecting legislative body, and the Governor. 

When final action is taken, the agency again publishes the text of the 

regulation as adopted, highlighting all changes made to the proposed 

regulation and explaining any substantial changes made since publication 

of the proposal. A 30-day final adoption period begins upon final 

publication in the Virginia Register. 

The Governor may review the final regulation during this time and, if he 

objects, forward his objection to the Registrar and the agency. In addition 

to or in lieu of filing a formal objection, the Governor may suspend the 

effective date of a portion or all of a regulation until the end of the next 

regular General Assembly session by issuing a directive signed by a 

majority of the members of the appropriate legislative body and the 

Governor. The Governor’s objection or suspension of the regulation, or 

both, will be published in the Virginia Register.  

If the Governor finds that the final regulation contains changes made 

after publication of the proposed regulation that have substantial impact, 

he may require the agency to provide an additional 30-day public 

comment period on the changes. Notice of the additional public comment 

period required by the Governor will be published in the Virginia 

Register. Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.06 of the Code of Virginia, any person 

may request that the agency solicit additional public comment on certain 

changes made after publication of the proposed regulation. The agency 

shall suspend the regulatory process for 30 days upon such request from 

25 or more individuals, unless the agency determines that the changes 

have minor or inconsequential impact. 

A regulation becomes effective at the conclusion of the 30-day final 

adoption period, or at any other later date specified by the promulgating 

agency, unless (i) a legislative objection has been filed, in which event the 

regulation, unless withdrawn, becomes effective on the date specified, 

which shall be after the expiration of the 21-day objection period; (ii) the 

Governor exercises his authority to require the agency to provide for 

additional public comment, in which event the regulation, unless 

withdrawn, becomes effective on the date specified, which shall be after 

the expiration of the period for which the Governor has provided for 

additional public comment; (iii) the Governor and the General Assembly 

exercise their authority to suspend the effective date of a regulation until 

the end of the next regular legislative session; or (iv) the agency suspends 

the regulatory process, in which event the regulation, unless withdrawn, 

becomes effective on the date specified, which shall be after the expiration 

of the 30-day public comment period and no earlier than 15 days from 

publication of the readopted action. 

A regulatory action may be withdrawn by the promulgating agency at 

any time before the regulation becomes final. 

FAST-TRACK RULEMAKING PROCESS 

Section 2.2-4012.1 of the Code of Virginia provides an alternative to the 

standard process set forth in the Administrative Process Act for 

regulations deemed by the Governor to be noncontroversial. To use this 

process, the Governor's concurrence is required and advance notice must 

be provided to certain legislative committees. Fast-track regulations 

become effective on the date noted in the regulatory action if fewer than 

10 persons object to using the process in accordance with § 2.2-4012.1. 

EMERGENCY REGULATIONS 

Pursuant to § 2.2-4011 of the Code of Virginia, an agency may adopt 

emergency regulations if necessitated by an emergency situation or when 

Virginia statutory law or the appropriation act or federal law or federal 

regulation requires that a regulation be effective in 280 days or fewer from 

its enactment. In either situation, approval of the Governor is required. 

The emergency regulation is effective upon its filing with the Registrar of 

Regulations, unless a later date is specified per § 2.2-4012 of the Code of 

Virginia. Emergency regulations are limited to no more than 18 months in 

duration; however, may be extended for six months under the 

circumstances noted in § 2.2-4011 D. Emergency regulations are 

published as soon as possible in the Virginia Register and are on the 

Register of Regulations website at register.dls.virgina.gov. 

During the time the emergency regulation is in effect, the agency may 

proceed with the adoption of permanent regulations in accordance with 

the Administrative Process Act. If the agency chooses not to adopt the 

regulations, the emergency status ends when the prescribed time limit 

expires. 

STATEMENT 

The foregoing constitutes a generalized statement of the procedures to 

be followed. For specific statutory language, it is suggested that Article 2 

(§ 2.2-4006 et seq.) of Chapter 40 of Title 2.2 of the Code of Virginia be 

examined carefully. 

CITATION TO THE VIRGINIA REGISTER 

The Virginia Register is cited by volume, issue, page number, and date. 

34:8 VA.R. 763-832 December 11, 2017, refers to Volume 34, Issue 8, 

pages 763 through 832 of the Virginia Register issued on  

December 11, 2017. 

The Virginia Register of Regulations is published pursuant to Article 6 

(§ 2.2-4031 et seq.) of Chapter 40 of Title 2.2 of the Code of Virginia.  

Members of the Virginia Code Commission: John S. Edwards, Chair; 

Marcus B. Simon, Vice Chair; Ward L. Armstrong; Nicole Cheuk; 

Rita Davis; Leslie L. Lilley; Jennifer L. McClellan; Christopher R. 

Nolen; Don L. Scott, Jr.; Charles S. Sharp; Samuel T. Towell; 

Malfourd W. Trumbo. 

Staff of the Virginia Register: Karen Perrine, Registrar of Regulations; 

Anne Bloomsburg, Assistant Registrar; Nikki Clemons, Regulations 

Analyst; Rhonda Dyer, Publications Assistant; Terri Edwards, Senior 

Operations Staff Assistant. 

https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/2.2-4011/
https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/2.2-4011/
http://register.dls.virgina.gov/
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PUBLICATION SCHEDULE AND DEADLINES 

March 2021 through March 2022 

Volume: Issue Material Submitted By Noon* Will Be Published On 

37:14 February 10, 2021 March 1, 2021 

37:15 February 24, 2021 March 15, 2021 

37:16 March 10, 2021 March 29, 2021 

37:17 March 24, 2021 April 12, 2021 

37:18 April 7, 2021 April 26, 2021 

37:19 April 21, 2021 May 10, 2021 

37:20 May 5, 2021 May 24, 2021 

37:21 May 19, 2021 June 7, 2021 

37:22 June 2, 2021 June 21, 2021 

37:23 June 16, 2021 July 5, 2021 

37:24 June 30, 2021 July 19, 2021 

37:25 July 14, 2021 August 2, 2021 

37:26 July 28, 2021 August 16, 2021 

38:1 August 11, 2021 August 30, 2021 

38:2 August 25, 2021 September 13, 2021 

38:3 September 8, 2021 September 27, 2021 

38:4 September 22, 2021 October 11, 2021 

38:5 October 6, 2021 October 25, 2021 

38:6 October 20, 2021 November 8, 2021 

38:7 November 3, 2021 November 22, 2021 

38:8 November 15, 2021 (Monday) December 6, 2021 

38:9 December 1, 2021 December 20, 2021 

38:10 December 15, 2021 January 3, 2022 

38:11 December 29, 2021 January 17, 2022 

38:12 January 12, 2022 January 31, 2022 

38:13 January 26, 2022 February 14, 2022 

38:14 February 9, 2022 February 28, 2022 

38:15 February 23, 2022 March 14, 2022 

*Filing deadlines are Wednesdays unless otherwise specified.
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PETITIONS FOR RULEMAKING 

TITLE 18. PROFESSIONAL AND 
OCCUPATIONAL LICENSING 

BOARD OF SOCIAL WORK 

Initial Agency Notice 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC140-20. Regulations Governing 

the Practice of Social Work. 

Statutory Authority: § 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia. 

Name of Petitioner: Florine Edmunds. 

Nature of Petitioner's Request: To extend the requirement for 

passage of the licensing examination and allow an additional 

one to three years for remediation, training, and equitable 

opportunities. To reduce the passing score by 10 points and 

provide study sheets for retaking examination. 

Agency Plan for Disposition of Request: The petition will be 

published on February 15, 2021, with a comment period ending 

March 10, 2021. The board will consider the petition and any 

comment received at its meeting on March 12, 2021. 

Public Comment Deadline: March 10, 2021. 

Agency Contact: Jaime Hoyle, Executive Director, Board of 

Social Work, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, Richmond, VA, 

23233, telephone (804) 367-4406, or email 

jaime.hoyle@dhp.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. PFR21-337; Filed January 26, 2021, 3:03 p.m. 

mailto:jaime.hoyle@dhp.virginia.gov
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PERIODIC REVIEWS AND SMALL BUSINESS IMPACT REVIEWS 

TITLE 12. HEALTH 

STATE BOARD OF HEALTH 

Agency Notice 

Pursuant to Executive Order 14 (as amended July 16, 2018) 

and §§ 2.2-4007.1 and 2.2-4017 of the Code of Virginia, the 

following regulation is undergoing a periodic review and a 

small business impact review: 12VAC5-600, Waterworks 

Operation Fee. The review will be guided by the principles in 

Executive Order 14 (as amended July 16, 2018). The purpose 

of this review is to determine whether this regulation should be 

repealed, amended, or retained in its current form. Public 

comment is sought on the review of any issue relating to this 

regulation, including whether the regulation (i) is necessary for 

the protection of public health, safety, and welfare or for the 

economical performance of important governmental functions; 

(ii) minimizes the economic impact on small businesses in a 
manner consistent with the stated objectives of applicable law; 
and (iii) is clearly written and easily understandable.

Public comment period begins February 15, 2021, and ends 

March 8, 2021.

Comments must include the commenter's name and address 

(physical or email) information in order to receive a response 

to the comment from the agency. Following the close of the 

public comment period, a report of both reviews will be posted 

on the Virginia Regulatory Town Hall and published in the 

Virginia Register of Regulations. 

Contact Information: Nelson Daniel, Policy and Program 

Director, Virginia Department of Health, 109 Governor Street, 

Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 864-7210. 

 –––––––––––––––––– 

TITLE 18. PROFESSIONAL AND 
OCCUPATIONAL LICENSING 

BOARD FOR WATERWORKS AND WASTEWATER 
WORKS OPERATORS AND ONSITE SEWAGE 

SYSTEM PROFESSIONALS 

Report of Findings 

Pursuant to §§ 2.2-4007.1 and 2.2-4017 of the Code of 

Virginia, the Board for Waterworks and Wastewater Works 

Operators and Onsite Sewage System Professionals conducted 

a periodic review and a small business impact review of 

18VAC160-30, Waterworks and Wastewater Works 

Operators Licensing Regulations, and determined that this 

regulation should be retained in its current form. The 

department is publishing its report of findings dated January 

22, 2021, to support this decision. 

The General Assembly has charged the board with the 

responsibility for regulating operators of waterworks or 

wastewater works by requiring that the board examine such 

individuals and issue licenses to those who have demonstrated 

sufficient competency to operate and supervise the operation 

of waterworks or wastewater works, while protecting the 

public health, welfare, and property and conserving and 

protecting the water resources of the Commonwealth. 

Waterworks or wastewater works that are not properly 

operated may pose a risk to the public health. The regulation 

helps fulfill this mandate from the General Assembly by 

ensuring that those who receive a license from the board meet 

minimum requirements for education and experience in order 

to operate and supervise the operation of waterworks or 

wastewater works. 

The regulation meets the criteria set forth in Executive Order 

14 (2018). The regulation contains the requirements for 

licensure of waterworks and wastewater works operators. The 

regulation is necessary to interpret and apply the requirements 

imposed upon the board by Chapter 23 of Title 54.1 (§ 54.1-

2300 et seq.) of the Code of Virginia. The regulation is clearly 

written and understandable. The regulation is designed to 

achieve its objective in the most efficient and cost effective 

manner. 

Waterworks and wastewater works operator licenses are issued 

to individuals. These individuals do not fall within the meaning 

of the term small business as defined in § 2.2-4007.1 of the 

Code of Virginia.  

Section 54.1-2301 of the Code of Virginia mandates that the 

board examine waterworks and wastewater works operators 

and issue licenses in order to protect the public health, welfare, 

and property and conserving while protecting the water 

resources of the Commonwealth. The continued need for the 

regulation is established in statute. Repeal of the regulation 

would remove the current public protections provided by the 

regulation. The board provides protection to the public welfare 

of the citizens of the Commonwealth by ensuring that those 

who receive a license from the board meet minimum 

requirements for education, experience, and competency in 

order to operate and supervise the operation of waterworks or 

wastewater works. The regulation is clearly written, easily 

understandable, and does not overlap, duplicate, or conflict 

with federal or state law or regulation. Based on the comments 

received during the public comment period, there does not 

appear to be a reason to repeal the regulation. There also does 

not appear to be a reason to amend the regulation at this time. 

However, the decision to retain a regulation in its current form 

does not prevent the board from conducting review or 

amendment of the regulation in the future. 

This is the first periodic review of this regulation since it 

became effective in 2017. On January 14, 2021, the board 

discussed the regulation and for the reasons stated determined 

that the regulation should not be amended or repealed, but 

should be retained in its current form. 
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Contact Information: Trisha Henshaw, Executive Director, 

Board for Waterworks and Wastewater Works Operators and 

Onsite Sewage System Professionals, 9960 Mayland Drive, 

Suite 400, Richmond, VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-8595. 

Report of Findings 

Pursuant to §§ 2.2-4007.1 and 2.2-4017 of the Code of 

Virginia, the Board for Waterworks and Wastewater Works 

Operators and Onsite Sewage System Professionals conducted 

a periodic review and a small business impact review of 

18VAC160-40, Onsite Sewage System Professionals 

Licensing Regulations, and determined that this regulation 

should be retained in its current form. The department is 

publishing its report of findings dated January 22, 2021, to 

support this decision. 

The General Assembly has charged the board with the 

responsibility for regulating installers or operators of onsite 

sewage systems and onsite soil evaluators by requiring that 

such individuals obtain a license in order to engage in these 

occupations. Residences that do not have access to public 

water systems must rely on onsite septic systems to properly 

and safely dispose of wastewater they produce. Installation and 

operation of onsite septic systems by those who lack sufficient 

expertise in these tasks poses a risk to the public health. Soil 

evaluators are responsible for testing soils to determine 

whether sites are appropriate for installation of a disposal 

system, designing such systems, and certifying that such 

systems comply with applicable state regulations and local 

ordinances. Soil evaluators who lack sufficient expertise to 

perform these duties may pose a risk to the public health. In 

addition, the improper installation or operation of an onsite 

septic system can pose a substantial risk of financial harm to 

homeowners who will be responsible for assuming the costs to 

remediate damage and repair or replace defective systems. 

The regulation meets the criteria set forth in Executive Order 

14 (2018). The regulation contains the requirements for 

licensure of onsite sewage system installers, onsite sewage 

system operators, and onsite soil evaluators. The regulation is 

necessary to interpret and apply the requirements imposed 

upon the board by Chapter 23 of Title 54.1 (§ 54.1-2300 et 

seq.) of the Code of Virginia and to protect the public welfare, 

in part by ensuring those who install and operate onsite sewage 

systems meet minimum requirements for education, 

experience, and competency. The regulation is clearly written 

and understandable. The regulation is designed to achieve its 

objective in the most efficient and cost effective manner. 

Onsite sewage system installer, onsite sewage system operator, 

and onsite soil evaluator licenses are issued to individuals. 

These individuals do not fall within the meaning of the term 

small business as defined in § 2.2-4007.1 of the Code of 

Virginia. Individuals who are required to be licensed may be 

owners or employees of business entities that fall within the 

meaning of small business. Business entities that perform 

installation, repair, improvement, or removal of septic tanks, 

septic systems, and other onsite sewage disposal systems 

annexed to real property are subject to regulation by the Board 

for Contractors as contractors and are required to have a 

contractor license issued by that agency. Some of these 

business entities may fall within the meaning of the term small 

business. The Board for Contractors requires contractors who 

offer and engage in this type of contracting work to have a 

specialty designation on the contractor license for sewage 

disposal systems contracting. The Board for Contractors 

requires certain personnel of the contractor to be licensed as an 

onsite sewage system installer in order for the business entity 

to qualify for a contractor license with such designation.  

Section 54.1-2301 of the Code of Virginia mandates that the 

board license and regulate onsite sewage system professionals 

in order to protect the public health and welfare. The continued 

need for the regulation is established in statute. Repeal of the 

regulation would remove the current public protections 

provided by the regulation. The board provides protection to 

the public welfare of the citizens of the Commonwealth by 

ensuring that those who receive a license from the board meet 

minimum requirements for education, experience, and 

competency in order to install or operate onsite septic systems, 

or perform the duties of an onsite soil evaluator. The regulation 

is clearly written, easily understandable, and does not overlap, 

duplicate, or conflict with federal or state law or regulation. 

Based on the comment received during the public comment 

period, there does not appear to be a reason to repeal the 

regulation. There also does not appear to be a reason to amend 

the regulation at this time. However, the decision to retain a 

regulation in its current form does not prevent the board from 

conducting review or amendment of the regulation in the 

future. 

This is the first periodic review of this regulation since it 

became effective in 2017. On January 14, 2021, the board 

discussed the regulation and for the reasons stated determined 

that the regulation should not be amended or repealed, but 

should be retained in its current form. 

Contact Information: Trisha Henshaw, Executive Director, 

Board for Waterworks and Wastewater Works Operators and 

Onsite Sewage System Professionals, 9960 Mayland Drive, 

Suite 400, Richmond, VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-8595. 
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NOTICES OF INTENDED REGULATORY ACTION 

TITLE 9. ENVIRONMENT 

VIRGINIA WASTE MANAGEMENT BOARD 

Notice of Intended Regulatory Action 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 2.2-4007.01 of the 

Code of Virginia that the Virginia Waste Management Board 

intends to consider amending 9VAC20-81, Solid Waste 

Management Regulations. The purpose of the proposed 

action is to consider the results of the 2019 periodic review of 

the regulation. Proposed amendments to the siting, design, and 

operation requirements of solid waste management facilities, 

primarily landfills, and to the requirements pertaining to the 

open burning of household trash will be considered. Minor 

clarifications or revisions may also be made to other areas of 

the regulation. Proposed amendments may also include areas 

identified in the August 2019 final report of the Office of the 

Secretary of Natural Resources to Governor Ralph Northam 

pursuant to the Governor's Executive Order 6 (2018). 

The agency does not intend to hold a public hearing at the 

proposed stage unless requests for a public hearing are received 

during the Notice of Intended Regulatory Action public 

comment period from at least 25 persons. 

Statutory Authority: §§ 10.1-1402 and 10.1-1408.1 of the Code 

of Virginia; 42 USC § 6941 et seq.; 40 CFR Part 258. 

Public Comment Deadline: April 16, 2021. 

Agency Contact: Melissa Porterfield, Department of 

Environmental Quality, 1111 East Main Street, Suite 1400, 

P.O. Box 1105, Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 698-

4238, FAX (804) 698-4178, or email 

melissa.porterfield@deq.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R21-6661; Filed January 1, 0001, 12:00 a.m. 

mailto:melissa.porterfield@deq.virginia.gov
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REGULATIONS 

TITLE 4. CONSERVATION AND NATURAL 
RESOURCES 

MARINE RESOURCES COMMISSION 

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Marine Resources Commission 

is claiming an exemption from the Administrative Process Act 

in accordance with § 2.2-4006 A 11 of the Code of Virginia; 

however, the commission is required to publish the full text of 

final regulations. 

Title of Regulation: 4VAC20-620. Pertaining to Summer 

Flounder (amending 4VAC20-620-40). 

Statutory Authority: § 28.2-201 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: February 1, 2021. 

Agency Contact: Jennifer Farmer, Regulatory Coordinator, 

Marine Resources Commission, 380 Fenwick Road, Fort 

Monroe, VA 23551, telephone (757) 247-2248, or email 

jennifer.farmer@mrc.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendments modify landing dates, possession limits, 

and landing limits for summer flounder commercially 

harvested offshore (federal waters) and landed in Virginia. 

4VAC20-620-40. Commercial vessel possession and 

landing limitations. 

A. It shall be unlawful for any person harvesting summer 

flounder outside of Virginia's waters to do any of the 

following, except as described in subsections B, C, D, E, and 

F of this section: 

1. Possess aboard any vessel in Virginia waters any amount 

of summer flounder in excess of 10% by weight of Atlantic 

croaker or the combined landings, on board a vessel, of black 

sea bass, scup, squid, scallops, and Atlantic mackerel. 

2. Possess aboard any vessel in Virginia waters any amount 

of summer flounder in excess of 1,500 pounds landed in 

combination with Atlantic croaker. 

3. Fail to sell the vessel's entire harvest of all species at the 

point of landing. 

B. Nothing in this chapter shall preclude a vessel from 

possessing any North Carolina or New Jersey vessel 

possession limit of summer flounder in Virginia; however, no 

vessel that possesses the North Carolina or New Jersey vessel 

possession limit of summer flounder shall offload any amount 

of that possession limit, except as described in subsection K of 

this section. 

C. From February 24 25 through March 31 April 7, it shall be 

unlawful for any person harvesting summer flounder outside 

of Virginia waters to do any of the following: 

1. Possess aboard any vessel in Virginia waters any amount 

of summer flounder in excess of the combined total of the 

Virginia landing limit described in subdivision 2 of this 

subsection and the amount of the legal North Carolina or 

New Jersey landing limit or trip limit. 

2. Land in Virginia more than a total of 12,500 15,000 

pounds of summer flounder. 

3. Land in Virginia any amount of summer flounder more 

than once in any consecutive five-day period. 

D. From September 8 through October 31, it shall be unlawful 

for any person harvesting summer flounder outside of Virginia 

waters to do any of the following: 

1. Possess aboard any vessel in Virginia waters any amount 

of summer flounder in excess of the combined total of the 

Virginia landing limit described in subdivision 2 of this 

subsection and the amount of the legal North Carolina or 

New Jersey landing limit or trip limit. 

2. Land in Virginia more than a total of 12,000 pounds of 

summer flounder. 

3. Land in Virginia any amount of summer flounder more 

than once in any consecutive five-day period. 

E. From November 1 through December 31, it shall be 

unlawful for any person harvesting summer flounder outside 

of Virginia waters to do any of the following: 

1. Possess aboard any vessel in Virginia waters any amount 

of summer flounder in excess of the total of the Virginia 

landing limit described in subdivision 2 of this subsection 

and the amount of the legal North Carolina or New Jersey 

landing limit or trip limit. 

2. Land in Virginia more than a total of 12,000 pounds of 

summer flounder. 

3. Land in Virginia any amount of summer flounder more 

than once in any consecutive five-day period. 

F. From January 1 through December 31, any boat or vessel 

issued a valid federal summer flounder moratorium permit and 

owned and operated by a legal Virginia Commercial Hook-

and-Line Licensee that possesses a Restricted Summer 
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Flounder Endorsement shall be restricted to a possession and 

landing limit of 200 pounds of summer flounder, except as 

described in 4VAC20-620-30 F. 

G. Upon request by a marine police officer, the seafood buyer 

or processor shall offload and accurately determine the total 

weight of all summer flounder aboard any vessel landing 

summer flounder in Virginia. 

H. Any possession limit described in this section shall be 

determined by the weight in pounds of summer flounder as 

customarily packed, boxed, and weighed by the seafood buyer 

or processor. The weight of any summer flounder in pounds 

found in excess of any possession limit described in this 

section shall be prima facie evidence of violation of this 

chapter. Persons in possession of summer flounder aboard any 

vessel in excess of the possession limit shall be in violation of 

this chapter unless that vessel has requested and been granted 

safe harbor. Any buyer or processor offloading or accepting 

any quantity of summer flounder from any vessel in excess of 

the possession limit shall be in violation of this chapter, except 

as described by subsection K of this section. A buyer or 

processor may accept or buy summer flounder from a vessel 

that has secured safe harbor, provided that vessel has satisfied 

the requirements described in subsection K of this section. 

I. If a person violates the possession limits described in this 

section, the entire amount of summer flounder in that person's 

possession shall be confiscated. Any confiscated summer 

flounder shall be considered as a removal from the appropriate 

commercial harvest or landings quota. Upon confiscation, the 

marine police officer shall inventory the confiscated summer 

flounder and, at a minimum, secure two bids for purchase of 

the confiscated summer flounder from approved and licensed 

seafood buyers. The confiscated fish will be sold to the highest 

bidder, and all funds derived from such sale shall be deposited 

for the Commonwealth pending court resolution of the charge 

of violating the possession limits established by this chapter. 

All of the collected funds will be returned to the accused upon 

a finding of innocence or forfeited to the Commonwealth upon 

a finding of guilty. 

J. It shall be unlawful for a licensed seafood buyer or federally 

permitted seafood buyer to fail to contact the Marine Resources 

Commission Operation Station prior to a vessel offloading 

summer flounder harvested outside of Virginia. The buyer 

shall provide to the Marine Resources Commission the name 

of the vessel, its captain, an estimate of the amount in pounds 

of summer flounder on board that vessel, and the anticipated 

or approximate offloading time. Once offloading of any vessel 

is complete and the weight of the landed summer flounder has 

been determined, the buyer shall contact the Marine Resources 

Commission Operations Station and report the vessel name and 

corresponding weight of summer flounder landed. It shall be 

unlawful for any person to offload from a boat or vessel for 

commercial purposes any summer flounder during the period 

of 9 p.m. to 7 a.m. 

K. Any boat or vessel that has entered Virginia waters for safe 

harbor shall only offload summer flounder when the state that 

licenses that vessel requests to transfer quota to Virginia, in the 

amount that corresponds to that vessel's possession limit, and 

the commissioner agrees to accept that transfer of quota. 

L. After any commercial harvest or landing quota as 

described in 4VAC20-620-30 has been attained and announced 

as such, any boat or vessel possessing summer flounder on 

board may enter Virginia waters for safe harbor but shall 

contact the Marine Resources Commission Operation Center 

in advance of such entry into Virginia waters. 

M. It shall be unlawful for any person harvesting summer 

flounder outside of Virginia waters to possess aboard any 

vessel, in Virginia, any amount of summer flounder, once it has 

been projected and announced that 100% of the quota 

described in 4VAC20-620-30 A has been taken. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R21-6681; Filed January 26, 2021, 4:28 p.m. 

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Marine Resources Commission 

is claiming an exemption from the Administrative Process Act 

in accordance with § 2.2-4006 A 11 of the Code of Virginia; 

however, the commission is required to publish the full text of 

final regulations. 

Title of Regulation: 4VAC20-950. Pertaining to Black Sea 

Bass (amending 4VAC20-950-20, 4VAC20-950-40, 

4VAC20-950-45). 

Statutory Authority: § 28.2-201 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: February 1, 2021. 

Agency Contact: Jennifer Farmer, Regulatory Coordinator, 

Marine Resources Commission, 380 Fenwick Road, Fort 

Monroe, VA 23551, telephone (757) 247-2248, email 

jennifer.farmer@mrc.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendments modify the reporting requirements for the 

February recreational season and clarify the size of the 

degradable panel required on commercial fish pots. 

4VAC20-950-20. Definitions. 

The following words and terms when used in this chapter 

shall have the following meaning unless the context clearly 

indicates otherwise. 

"Annual quota" means the Commonwealth's Virginia's 20% 

share of the annual coastwide commercial black sea bass quota 

managed by the Atlantic States Marine Fisheries Commission. 

"Black sea bass" means any fish of the species Centropristis 

striata. 

"Land" or "landing" means to (i) enter port with finfish, 

shellfish, crustaceans, or other marine seafood on board any 

boat or vessel; (ii) begin offloading finfish, shellfish, 
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crustaceans, or other marine seafood; or (iii) offload finfish, 

shellfish, crustaceans, or other marine seafood. 

"Recreational vessel" means any vessel, kayak, charter 

vessel, or headboat participating in the recreational black sea 

bass fishery fishing recreationally. 

"Snout" means the most forward projection from a fish's head 

that includes the upper and lower jaw. 

"Total length" means the length of a fish measured from the 

most forward projection of the snout, with the mouth closed, to 

the tip of the longer lobe of the tail (caudal) fin, excluding the 

caudal fin filament, measured with the tail compressed along 

the midline, using a straight-line measure, not measured over 

the curve of the body. 

"Virginia Saltwater Fisherman's Journal" means the online 

web-based resource provided by the Marine Resources 

Commission to report recreational harvest of seafood at 

https://www.vasaltwaterjournal.com. 

4VAC20-950-40. Gear restrictions. 

It shall be unlawful for any person to place, set, or fish any 

fish pot in Virginia tidal waters for the purposes of harvesting 

black sea bass or to possess or to land in Virginia black sea 

bass harvested by fish pots which are not constructed as 

follows: 

1. With two escape vents of 2-1/2 inches diameter circular 

dimension, or 2 inches square dimension, or 1-3/8 inches by 

5-3/4 inches rectangular dimension. 

2. With hinges or fasteners on one side panel or door , which 

measures at least 3 inches by 6 inches, made of the following 

materials: 

a. Untreated hemp, jute, or cotton string of 3/16 inches or 

less diameter; 

b. Magnesium alloy, timed float releases (pop-up devices), 

or similar magnesium alloy fasteners; or 

c. Ungalvanized or uncoated iron wire of 0.094 inches or 

less in diameter. 

4VAC20-950-45. Recreational possession limits and 

seasons. 

A. It shall be unlawful for any person fishing with hook and 

line hook-and-line, rod and reel, spear, gig, or other 

recreational gear to possess more than 15 black sea bass. When 

fishing is from a boat or recreational vessel where the entire 

catch is held in a common hold or container, the possession 

limit shall be for that boat or vessel and shall be equal to the 

number of persons on board legally licensed to fish, multiplied 

by 15. The captain or operator of the boat or vessel shall be 

responsible for that boat or vessel possession limit. Any black 

sea bass taken after the possession limit has been reached shall 

be returned to the water immediately. 

B. Possession of any quantity of black sea bass that exceeds 

the possession limit described in subsection A of this section 

shall be presumed to be for commercial purposes. 

C. The open recreational fishing season shall be from 

February 1 through the last day of February 29, May 15 

through May 31, and June 22 through December 31. 

D. It shall be unlawful for any person fishing recreationally 

to take, catch, or possess any black sea bass, except during an 

open recreational season. 

E. From February 1 through the last day of February 29, it 

shall be unlawful for any person to possess or land any black 

sea bass harvested from a recreational vessel, unless the 

captain or operator of that recreational vessel has obtained a 

Recreational Black Sea Bass Permit from the Marine 

Resources Commission. The captain or operator shall be 

responsible for reporting for all anglers on the recreational 

vessel and shall provide that captain's or that operator's Marine 

Resources Commission identification (MRC ID) number, the 

date of fishing, the number of persons on board, the mode of 

fishing, and the number of black sea bass kept or released. That 

report shall be submitted to the commission or to the Standard 

Atlantic Fisheries Information System as described in this 

subsection. It shall be unlawful for any permittee to fail to 

report trips where black sea bass were caught, whether 

harvested, released, or possessed in accordance with this 

section, on forms provided by the commission or through the 

Virginia Saltwater Fisherman's Journal within seven days after 

the trip occurred. It shall be unlawful for any permittee to fail 

to report trips where black sea bass were targeted but not 

successfully caught by March 15 of the current calendar year. 

Any permittee who did not participate in the recreational black 

sea bass season during February shall notify the commission 

of the permittee's lack of participation by March 15 of the 

current calendar year. 

1. The captain or operator shall be responsible for reporting 

for all anglers on the recreational vessel and shall provide 

that captain's or that operator's Marine Resources 

Commission identification (MRC ID) number, the date of 

fishing, the number of persons on board, the mode of fishing, 

and the number of black sea bass kept or released. That 

report shall be submitted to the Marine Resources 

Commission (commission) on forms provided by the 

commission or through the Virginia Saltwater Fisherman's 

Journal.  

a. It shall be unlawful for any permittee to fail to report 

each trip where black sea bass were targeted, whether 

black sea bass were harvested, released, or not caught, by 

March 15 of the current calendar year. 

b. It shall be unlawful for any permittee who did not take 

any fishing trips to target black sea bass in the February 

recreational black sea bass season to fail to report lack of 

participation by March 15 of the current calendar year. 

https://www.vasaltwaterjournal.com/
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F. 2. It shall be unlawful for any permittee to fail to contact 

the Law Enforcement Operations at 1-800-541-4646 before 

or immediately after the start of each fishing trip. The 

permittee shall provide the Law Enforcement Operations 

with the permittee's name, MRC ID number, the point of 

landing, a description of the vessel, estimated return to shore 

time, and a contact phone number. Any authorized permittee 

shall allow commission staff to sample the catch to obtain 

biological information for scientific and management 

purposes only. 

3. Any permittee shall allow the commission to sample the 

vessel's catch to obtain biological information for scientific 

and management purposes. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R21-6680; Filed January 26, 2021, 4:28 p.m. 

  ––––––––––––––––––  

TITLE 9. ENVIRONMENT 

STATE WATER CONTROL BOARD 

Forms 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: Forms used in administering the 

regulation have been filed by the agency. The forms are not 

being published; however, online users of this issue of the 

Virginia Register of Regulations may click on the name of a 

form with a hyperlink to access it. The forms are also available 

from the agency contact or may be viewed at the Office of the 

Registrar of Regulations, 900 East Main Street, 11th Floor, 

Richmond, Virginia 23219. 

Title of Regulation: 9VAC25-800. Virginia Pollutant 

Discharge Elimination System (VPDES) General Permit 

Regulation for Discharges Resulting from the Application 

of Pesticides to Surface Waters. 

Statutory Authority: § 62.1-44.15 of the Code of Virginia; 

§ 402 of the Clean Water Act. 

Agency Contact: Debra Harris, Policy and Planning Specialist, 

Department of Environmental Quality, P.O. Box 1105, 

Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 698-4209, FAX (804) 

698-4178, or email debra.harris@deq.virginia.gov. 

FORMS (9VAC25-800) 

Pesticide Discharge Management Plan (PDMP) VAG-87 

(rev. 2019) 

VA.R. Doc. No. R21-6246; Filed January 26, 2021, 1:59 p.m. 

  ––––––––––––––––––  

TITLE 12. HEALTH 

DEPARTMENT OF MEDICAL ASSISTANCE 
SERVICES 

Fast-Track Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 12VAC30-50. Amount, Duration, and 

Scope of Medical and Remedial Care Services (amending 

12VAC30-50-210). 

Statutory Authority: § 32.1-325 of the Code of Virginia; 

42 USC § 1396 et seq. 

Public Hearing Information: No public hearings are currently 

scheduled. 

Public Comment Deadline: March 17, 2021. 

Effective Date: April 4, 2021. 

Agency Contact: Emily McClellan, Regulatory Supervisor, 

Policy Division, Department of Medical Assistance Services, 

600 East Broad Street, Suite 1300, Richmond, VA 23219, 

telephone (804) 371-4300, FAX (804) 786-1680, or email 

emily.mcclellan@dmas.virginia.gov. 

Basis: Section 32.1-325 of the Code of Virginia grants to the 

Board of Medical Assistance Services the authority to 

administer and amend the State Plan for Medical Assistance 

and to promulgate regulations. Section 32.1-324 of the Code 

of Virginia grants the Director of the Department of Medical 

Assistance Services (DMAS) the authority of the board when 

it is not in session. 

Purpose: The regulation is essential to protect the health, 

safety, and welfare of citizens in that it ensures that DMAS can 

continue to obtain state supplemental drug rebates and that the 

rules for such rebates are transparent to all parties. 

Rationale for Using Fast-Track Rulemaking Process: These 

regulatory changes are expected to be noncontroversial 

because they do not represent changes in practice and do not 

involve any costs to Medicaid providers or the 

Commonwealth. The changes align the language in the 

Virginia Administrative Code to language that was approved 

by the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMS) in 

the Virginia State Plan. 

Substance: This regulation updates the text related to 

supplemental drug rebates in accordance with text changes 

requested by CMS. No changes are made to practices related 

to drug rebates, and no costs are associated with these changes. 

The amendments align the regulation with the CMS-approved 

language in the state plan. 

Issues: The primary advantage of this regulatory action is that 

it provides clarity on the CMS-approved rules relating to 

supplemental drug rebate agreements. There are no 

disadvantages to the public or the Commonwealth. 

mailto:debra.harris@deq.virginia.gov
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Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 

Analysis: 

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. The 

Board of Medical Assistance Services proposes to remove 

limiting language that predicates that a supplemental drug 

rebate agreement can only be between the Commonwealth and 

manufacturers and to clarify the regulatory text. 

Background. This regulation establishes the authority for the 

Department of Medical Assistance Services (DMAS) to seek 

supplemental rebates from pharmaceutical manufacturers for 

drug purchases for fee-for-service claims and for Medicaid 

member utilization through managed care organizations 

(MCO). Supplemental rebates are cash rebates that offset 

Virginia Medicaid expenditures and that supplement federal 

rebates. The amount of supplemental rebates is negotiated with 

drug manufacturers. 

With the expansion of managed care, utilization of drugs has 

shifted significantly away from fee-for-service to managed 

care over the last two decades. As a result, the amount of 

supplemental rebates collected from drug purchases for the 

fee-for-service population shrunk, which in turn caused an 

erosion in the individual negotiating power of most states.1 In 

response, some states have formed multi-state purchasing 

pools when negotiating supplemental rebates to maximize the 

amount of rebates they can collect. 

In preparation for joining a multi-state purchasing pool, 

DMAS submitted a state plan amendment that would authorize 

it, and was subsequently advised by the Centers for Medicare 

and Medicaid Services (CMS) to resubmit the changes when 

such a plan was impending rather than being a future 

possibility.2 However, during its review, CMS suggested 

amendments governing the supplemental rebates because some 

of the language was outdated and not consistent with federal 

rules. In addition, CMS agreed to amend the language that 

predicated that an agreement could only be between the 

Commonwealth and the manufacturers. 

Estimated Benefits and Costs. One of the proposed 

amendments would remove the predicating language. As it 

stands now, the predicating language is limiting in the sense 

that it does not accommodate the Commonwealth’s 

membership in a multi-state purchasing pool. Removal of this 

limitation however would not authorize DMAS to join such a 

pool. For DMAS to join such a pool, additional approval from 

CMS and further regulatory action would be needed. 

Therefore, although this change would remove limiting 

language, it would have no practical economic impact at this 

time. 

Likewise, the removal of outdated language would also have 

no practical economic effect other than improving the clarity 

and accuracy of the regulatory text and satisfying the request 

from CMS. 

Businesses and Other Entities Affected. Virginia Medicaid has 

supplemental rebate agreements with approximately 35 

manufacturers. The amount of supplemental rebates collected 

in the second half of 2019 was approximately $12.8 million for 

218,176 prescriptions. No adverse economic impact3 on 

manufacturers is indicated. 

Small Businesses4 Affected. This regulatory action does not 

impact small businesses since the supplemental rebate 

agreements are with large national pharmaceutical 

manufacturers.5 

Localities6 Affected.7 The proposed amendments do not affect 

any particular locality and do not introduce costs for local 

governments. 

Projected Impact on Employment. The proposed amendments 

do not affect total employment. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. The proposed 

amendments do not affect the use and value of private property 

or the real estate development costs. 

______________________________________ 

1Supplemental rebates for the managed care drug utilization are retained by 

MCOs. 

2Currently, Magellan, DMAS's Pharmacy Benefit Management Services 

contractor, negotiates Virginia specific supplemental rebate agreements with 

manufacturers. 

3Adverse impact is indicated if there is any increase in net cost or reduction in 

net revenue for any entity, even if the benefits exceed the costs for all entities 

combined. 

4Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.04 of the Code of Virginia, small business is defined 

as "a business entity, including its affiliates, that (i) is independently owned 

and operated and (ii) employs fewer than 500 full-time employees or has gross 

annual sales of less than $6 million." 

5Source: DMAS 

6"Locality" can refer to either local governments or the locations in the 

Commonwealth where the activities relevant to the regulatory change are most 

likely to occur. 

7§ 2.2-4007.04 defines "particularly affected" as bearing disproportionate 

material impact. 

Agency's Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The agency 

has reviewed the economic impact analysis prepared by the 

Department of Planning and Budget and raised no issues with 

this analysis. 

Summary: 

The amendment updates provisions regarding supplemental 

drug rebates in accordance with text changes requested by 

the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services to conform 

the regulation to language in the State Plan for Medical 

Assistance. 

12VAC30-50-210. Prescribed drugs, dentures, and 

prosthetic devices, and eyeglasses prescribed by a 

physician skilled in diseases of the eye or by an optometrist. 

A. Prescribed drugs. 

1. Drugs for which Federal Financial Participation is not 

available, pursuant to the requirements of § 1927 of the 

Social Security Act (OBRA 90 § 4401), shall not be covered. 
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2. Nonlegend drugs shall be covered by Medicaid in the 

following situations: 

a. Insulin, syringes, and needles for diabetic patients; 

b. Diabetic test strips for Medicaid recipients younger than 

21 years of age; 

c. Family planning supplies; 

d. Designated categories of nonlegend drugs for Medicaid 

recipients in nursing homes; 

e. Designated drugs prescribed by a licensed prescriber to 

be used as less expensive therapeutic alternatives to 

covered legend drugs; and 

f. U.S. Environmental Protection Agency-registered insect 

repellents with one of the following active ingredients: 

DEET, picaridin, IR3535, oil of lemon eucalyptus, or p-

Menthane-3,8-diol for all Medicaid members of 

reproductive age (ages 14 through 44 years) and all 

pregnant women, when prescribed by an authorized health 

professional. 

3. Legend drugs are covered for a maximum of a 34-day 

supply per prescription per patient with the exception of the 

drugs or classes of drugs identified in 12VAC30-50-520. 

FDA-approved drug therapies and agents for weight loss, 

when preauthorized, will be covered for recipients who meet 

the strict disability standards for obesity established by the 

Social Security Administration in effect on April 7, 1999, 

and whose condition is certified as life threatening, 

consistent with Department of Medical Assistance Services' 

medical necessity requirements, by the treating physician. 

For prescription orders for which quantity exceeds a 34-day 

supply, refills may be dispensed in sufficient quantity to 

fulfill the prescription order within the limits of federal and 

state laws and regulations. 

4. Prescriptions for Medicaid recipients for multiple source 

drugs subject to 42 CFR 447.332 shall be filled with generic 

drug products unless the physician or other practitioners so 

licensed and certified to prescribe drugs certifies in his own 

handwriting "brand necessary" for the prescription to be 

dispensed as written or unless the drug class is subject to the 

preferred drug list. 

5. New drugs shall be covered in accordance with the Social 

Security Act § 1927(d) (OBRA 90 § 4401). 

6. The number of refills shall be limited pursuant to § 54.1-

3411 of the Drug Control Act. 

7. Drug prior authorization. 

a. Definitions. The following words and terms used in this 

section shall have the following meanings unless the 

context clearly indicates otherwise: 

"Clinical data" means drug monographs as well as any 

pertinent clinical studies, including peer review literature. 

"Complex drug regimen" means treatment or course of 

therapy that typically includes multiple medications, co-

morbidities, or caregivers. 

"Department" or "DMAS" means the Department of 

Medical Assistance Services. 

"Drug" shall have the same meaning, unless the context 

otherwise dictates or the board otherwise provides by 

regulation, as provided in the Drug Control Act (§ 54.1-

3400 et seq. of the Code of Virginia). 

"Emergency supply" means 72-hour supplies of the 

prescribed medication that may be dispensed if the 

prescriber cannot readily obtain authorization, or if the 

physician is not available to consult with the pharmacist, 

including after hours, weekends, and holidays and the 

pharmacist, in his professional judgment consistent with 

current standards of practice, feels that the patient's health 

would be compromised without the benefit of the drug, or 

other criteria defined by the Pharmacy and Therapeutics 

Committee and DMAS. 

"Nonpreferred drugs" means those drugs that were 

reviewed by the Pharmacy and Therapeutics Committee 

and not included on the preferred drug list. Nonpreferred 

drugs may be prescribed but require authorization prior to 

dispensing to the patient. 

"Pharmacy and Therapeutics Committee," "P&T 

Committee" or "committee" means the committee 

formulated to review therapeutic classes, conduct clinical 

reviews of specific drugs, recommend additions or 

deletions to the preferred drug list, and perform other 

functions as required by the department. 

"Preferred drug list" or "PDL" means the list of drugs that 

meet the safety, clinical efficacy, and pricing standards 

employed by the P&T Committee and adopted by the 

department for the Virginia Medicaid fee-for-service 

program. Most drugs on the PDL may be prescribed and 

dispensed in the Virginia Medicaid fee-for-service 

program without prior authorization; however, some drugs 

as recommended by the Pharmacy and Therapeutics 

Committee may require authorization prior to dispensing 

to the patient. 

"Prior authorization," as it relates to the PDL, means the 

process of review by a clinical pharmacist of legend drugs 

that are not on the preferred drug list, or other drugs as 

recommended by the Pharmacy and Therapeutics 

Committee, to determine if medically justified. 

"State supplemental rebate" means any cash rebate that 

offsets Virginia Medicaid expenditure and that 

supplements the federal rebate. State supplemental rebate 

amounts shall be calculated in accordance with the 

Virginia Supplemental Drug Rebate Agreement Contract 

and Addenda. 

"Therapeutic class" means a grouping of medications 

sharing the same Specific Therapeutic Class Code (GC3) 
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within the Federal Drug Data File published by First Data 

Bank, Inc. 

"Utilization review" means the prospective and 

retrospective processes employed by the agency to 

evaluate the medical necessity of reimbursing for certain 

covered services. 

b. Medicaid Pharmacy and Therapeutics Committee. 

(1) The department shall utilize a Pharmacy and 

Therapeutics Committee to assist in the development and 

ongoing administration of the preferred drug list and other 

pharmacy program issues. The committee may adopt 

bylaws that set out its make-up and functioning. A quorum 

for action of the committee shall consist of seven 

members. 

(2) Vacancies on the committee shall be filled in the same 

manner as original appointments. DMAS shall appoint 

individuals for the committee that assures a cross-section 

of the physician and pharmacy community and remains 

compliant with General Assembly membership 

guidelines. 

(3) Duties of the committee. The committee shall receive 

and review clinical and pricing data related to the drug 

classes. The committee's medical and pharmacy experts 

shall make recommendations to DMAS regarding various 

aspects of the pharmacy program. For the preferred drug 

list program, the committee shall select those drugs to be 

deemed preferred that are safe, clinically effective, as 

supported by available clinical data, and meet pricing 

standards. Cost effectiveness or any pricing standard shall 

be considered only after a drug is determined to be safe 

and clinically effective. 

(4) As the U.S. Food and Drug Administration (FDA) 

approves new drug products, the department shall ensure 

that the Pharmacy and Therapeutics Committee will 

evaluate the drug for clinical effectiveness and safety. 

Based on clinical information and pricing standards, the 

P&T Committee will determine if the drug will be 

included in the PDL or require prior authorization. 

(a) If the new drug product falls within a drug class 

previously reviewed by the P&T Committee, until the 

review of the new drug is completed, it will be classified 

as nonpreferred, requiring prior authorization in order to 

be dispensed. The new drug will be evaluated for inclusion 

in the PDL no later than at the next review of the drug 

class. 

(b) If the new drug product does not fall within a drug class 

previously reviewed by the P&T Committee, the new drug 

shall be treated in the same manner as the other drugs in 

its class. 

(5) To the extent feasible, the Pharmacy and Therapeutics 

Committee shall review all drug classes included in the 

preferred drug list at least every 12 months and may 

recommend additions to and deletions from the PDL. 

(6) In formulating its recommendations to the department, 

the committee shall not be deemed to be formulating 

regulations for the purposes of the Administrative Process 

Act (§ 2.2-4000 et seq. of the Code of Virginia). 

(7) Immunity. The members of the committee, the staff of 

the department, and the contractor shall be immune, 

individually and jointly, from civil liability for any act, 

decision, or omission done or made in performance of 

their duties pursuant to this subsection while serving as a 

member of such board, committee, or staff provided that 

such act, decision, or omission is not done or made in bad 

faith or with malicious intent. 

c. Pharmacy prior authorization program. Pursuant to 

§ 1927 of the Act and 42 CFR 440.230, the department 

shall require the prior authorization of certain specified 

legend drugs. For those therapeutic classes of drugs 

subject to the PDL program, drugs with nonpreferred 

status included in the DMAS drug list shall be subject to 

prior authorization. The department also may require prior 

authorization of other drugs only if recommended by the 

P&T Committee. Providers who are licensed to prescribe 

legend drugs shall be required to obtain prior authorization 

for all nonpreferred drugs or other drugs as recommended 

by the P&T Committee. 

(1) Prior authorization shall consist of prescription review 

by a licensed pharmacist or pharmacy technician to ensure 

that all predetermined clinically appropriate criteria, as 

established by the P&T Committee relative to each 

therapeutic class, have been met before the prescription 

may be dispensed. Prior authorization shall be obtained 

through a call center staffed with appropriate clinicians, or 

through written or electronic communications (e.g., faxes, 

mail). Responses by telephone or other 

telecommunications device within 24 hours of a request 

for prior authorization shall be provided. The dispensing 

of 72-hour emergency supplies of the prescribed drug may 

be permitted and dispensing fees shall be paid to the 

pharmacy for such emergency supply. 

(2) The preferred drug list program shall include (i) 

provisions for an expedited review process of denials of 

requested prior authorization by the department; (ii) 

consumer and provider education; and (iii) training and 

information regarding the preferred drug list both prior to 

implementation as well as ongoing communications, to 

include computer and website access to information and 

multilingual material. 

(3) Exclusion of protected groups from the pharmacy 

preferred drug list prior authorization requirements. The 

following groups of Medicaid eligibles shall be excluded 

from pharmacy prior authorization requirements: 

individuals enrolled in hospice care, services through 

PACE or pre-PACE programs; persons having 

comprehensive third party insurance coverage; minor 

children who are the responsibility of the juvenile justice 
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system; and refugees who are not otherwise eligible in a 

Medicaid covered group. 

d. State supplemental Supplemental rebates. The 

department has the authority to seek supplemental rebates 

from pharmaceutical manufacturers. In addition to 

collecting supplemental rebates for fee-for-service claims, 

the department may, at its option, also collect 

supplemental rebates for Medicaid member utilization 

through MCOs under an agreement. The contract 

regarding supplemental rebates shall exist between the 

manufacturer and the Commonwealth. Rebate 

Supplemental rebate agreements between the 

Commonwealth and a pharmaceutical manufacturer shall 

be separate from the federal rebates and in compliance 

with federal law, §§ 1927(a)(1) and 1927(a)(4) of the 

Social Security Act. All rebates collected on behalf of the 

Commonwealth shall be collected for the sole benefit of 

the state share of costs. One hundred percent of the 

supplemental rebates collected on behalf of the state shall 

be remitted to the state. Supplemental drug rebates 

received by the Commonwealth in excess of those 

required under the national drug rebate agreement will be 

shared with the federal government on the same 

percentage basis as applied under the national drug rebate 

agreement. 

e. Pursuant to 42 USC § 1396r-8(b)(3)(D), information 

disclosed to the department or to the committee by a 

pharmaceutical manufacturer or wholesaler which 

discloses the identity of a specific manufacturer or 

wholesaler and the pricing information regarding the 

drugs by such manufacturer or wholesaler is confidential 

and shall not be subject to the disclosure requirements of 

the Virginia Freedom of Information Act (§ 2.2-3700 et 

seq. of the Code of Virginia). 

f. Appeals for denials of prior authorization shall be 

addressed pursuant to 12VAC30-110, Part I, Client 

Appeals. 

8. Coverage of home infusion therapy. This service shall be 

covered consistent with the limits and requirements set out 

within home health services (12VAC30-50-160). Multiple 

applications of the same therapy (e.g., two antibiotics on the 

same day) shall be covered under one service day rate of 

reimbursement. Multiple applications of different therapies 

(e.g., chemotherapy, hydration, and pain management on the 

same day) shall be a full service day rate methodology as 

provided in pharmacy services reimbursement. 

B. Dentures. Dentures are provided only as a result of EPSDT 

and subject to medical necessity and preauthorization 

requirements specified under Dental Services. 

C. Prosthetic devices. 

1. Prosthetic services shall mean the replacement of missing 

arms, legs, eyes, and breasts and the provision of any internal 

(implant) body part. Nothing in this regulation shall be 

construed to refer to orthotic services or devices or organ 

transplantation services. 

2. Artificial arms and legs, and their necessary supportive 

attachments, implants and breasts are provided when 

prescribed by a physician or other licensed practitioner of 

the healing arts within the scope of their professional 

licenses as defined by state law. This service, when provided 

by an authorized vendor, must be medically necessary and 

preauthorized for the minimum applicable component 

necessary for the activities of daily living. 

3. Eye prostheses are provided when eyeballs are missing 

regardless of the age of the recipient or the cause of the loss 

of the eyeball. Eye prostheses are provided regardless of the 

function of the eye. 

D. Eyeglasses. Eyeglasses shall be reimbursed for all 

recipients younger than 21 years of age according to medical 

necessity when provided by practitioners as licensed under the 

Code of Virginia. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R21-6283; Filed January 19, 2021, 8:50 a.m. 

  ––––––––––––––––––  

TITLE 13. HOUSING 

BOARD OF HOUSING AND COMMUNITY 
DEVELOPMENT 

Fast-Track Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 13VAC5-112. Enterprise Zone Grant 

Program Regulation (amending 13VAC5-112-290, 

13VAC5-112-380). 

Statutory Authority: § 59.1-541 of the Code of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: No public hearings are currently 

scheduled. 

Public Comment Deadline: March 17, 2021. 

Effective Date: April 1, 2021. 

Agency Contact: Kyle Flanders, Senior Policy Analyst, 

Department of Housing and Community Development, Main 

Street Centre, 600 East Main Street, Suite 300, Richmond, VA 

23219, telephone (804) 786-6761, FAX (804) 371-7090, TDD 

(804) 371-7089, or email kyle.flanders@dhcd.virginia.gov. 

Basis: The Board of Housing and Community Development is 

authorized to promulgate this regulation under § 59.1-541 of 

the Code of Virginia. 

Purpose: This regulatory change provides additional flexibility 

for applicants and regulants and is necessary to protect the 

health, safety, and welfare of citizens as it removes provisions 

that require unneeded in-person interactions in the COVID-19 

environment. 

Rationale for Using Fast-Track Rulemaking Process: The 

regulatory change is noncontroversial as it allows for digital-

mailto:kyle.flanders@dhcd.virginia.gov
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only applications, which is standard practice for many agencies 

and entities. Most program applicants already submit 

secondary digital applications. 

Substance: This change eliminates the need to submit hard 

copies of Enterprise Zone applications, critical during the 

COVID-19 environment. 

Issues: This regulatory action is advantageous to the public and 

the agency as it provides flexibility and eliminates the need for 

hard copies of applications. No disadvantages exist for the 

public, the agency, or Commonwealth. 

Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 

Analysis: 

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. The 

Board of Housing and Community Development (Board) 

proposes to no longer require that applications for grants under 

the Virginia Enterprise Zone (VEZ) program be submitted in 

hard copy. 

Background. The VEZ program is a partnership between state 

and local government that is designed to encourage job 

creation and private investment. VEZ accomplishes this by 

designating enterprise zones throughout the state and 

providing two grant-based incentives, the Job Creation Grant 

(JCG) and the Real Property Investment Grant (RPIG), to 

qualified investors and job creators within those zones, while 

the locality provides local incentives.  

The current regulation states that applications for the JCG and 

the RPIG must either be hand-delivered by the date specified 

in this section or sent by certified mail with a return receipt 

requested and postmarked no later than the date specified in 

this section. The Board proposes to amend the text to state that 

applications for the JCG and the RPIG must be received by the 

Department, as specified by the Department, no later than the 

date specified in this section. In practice, the Department of 

Housing and Community Development has indicated that it 

would accept applications either electronically or in hard 

copy.1 

Estimated Benefits and Costs. The proposal in practice appears 

to be beneficial in that it would provide greater flexibility for 

firms in delivering applications for the JCG and the RPIG, and 

may moderately reduce costs. By sending applications 

electronically, travel and printing costs could be saved versus 

the hand delivery of applications, and the costs of postage and 

printing could be saved versus applying by certified mail.  

Businesses and Other Entities Affected. The proposed 

amendments affect the approximate 200 annual applicants for 

VEZ grants, as well as about 40 certified public accountants.2 

The existing and proposed regulations require that the accuracy 

and validity of information provided in applications be attested 

to by an independent certified public accountant licensed by 

the Commonwealth. The proposal does not produce cost for 

any affected entity. 

Small Businesses3 Affected. The proposed amendments do not 

appear to adversely affect small businesses.  

Localities4 Affected.5 The proposed regulation particularly 

affects localities with enterprise zones. The following cities 

contain enterprise zones: Bristol, Covington, Danville, 

Emporia, Franklin, Galax, Hampton, Hopewell, Lynchburg, 

Martinsville, Newport News, Norfolk, Petersburg, Portsmouth, 

Radford, Richmond, Roanoke, Staunton, Waynesboro, and 

Winchester. The following counties contain enterprise zones: 

Accomack, Alleghany, Bedford, Brunswick, Carroll, 

Dickenson, Grayson, Greensville, Halifax, Henrico, Henry, 

Isle of Wight, Lancaster, Lunenburg, Mecklenburg, 

Northampton, Northumberland, Page, Patrick, Pittsylvania, 

Prince Edward, Prince George, Pulaski, Richmond, Scott, 

Smyth, Southampton, Tazewell, Washington, Westmoreland, 

Wise, and Wythe.6 

The proposal does not introduce costs for local governments. 

Projected Impact on Employment. The proposal does not 

appear to affect total employment.  

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. The proposal 

may modestly reduce application costs for private firms that 

apply for either the JCG or the RPIG, which may very 

modestly positively affect their value.  

____________________________________________ 

1According to the Department of Housing and Community Development, this 

information would be in a guidance document. 

2Data source: Department of Housing and Community Development 

3Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.04 of the Code of Virginia, small business is defined 

as a business entity, including its affiliates, that (i) is independently owned and 

operated and (ii) employs fewer than 500 full-time employees or has gross 

annual sales of less than $6 million. 

4Locality can refer to either local governments or the locations in the 

Commonwealth where the activities relevant to the regulatory change are most 

likely to occur. 

5§ 2.2-4007.04 defines particularly affected as bearing disproportionate 

material impact. 

6Source: https://www.dhcd.virginia.gov/sites/default/files/Docx/vez/vez-

map.pdf 

Agency's Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The Board 

of Housing and Community Development and the Department 

of Housing and Community Development staff concur with the 

economic impact analysis. 

Summary: 

The amendments remove requirements for a hard copy 

application to be submitted for those seeking grants under 

the Enterprise Zone Program and allow applicants to 

submit digital-only applications. 

13VAC5-112-290. Application submittal and processing. 

A. In order to claim the grant, an application must be 

submitted to the department on a prescribed form. Applicants 

shall provide other documents as prescribed by the department. 

B. Local zone administrators must verify that the location of 

the business is in the enterprise zone in a manner prescribed by 

the department. 

https://www.dhcd.virginia.gov/sites/default/files/Docx/vez/vez-map.pdf
https://www.dhcd.virginia.gov/sites/default/files/Docx/vez/vez-map.pdf
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C. The accuracy and validity of information provided in such 

applications, including that related to permanent full-time 

positions, wage rates, and provision of health benefits are to be 

attested to by an independent certified public accountant 

licensed in Virginia through an agreed-upon procedures 

engagement conducted in accordance with current attestation 

standards established by the American Institute of Certified 

Public Accountants, using procedures provided by the 

department as assurance that the firm has met the criteria for 

qualification prescribed in this section. 

D. Business firms with base year employment of 100 or fewer 

permanent full-time positions and that create in a qualification 

year 25 or fewer grant eligible positions seeking to qualify for 

job creation grants as provided for in § 59.1-547 of the Code 

of Virginia shall be exempt from the attestation requirement 

for that qualification year. The permanent full-time positions, 

wage rates, and provision of health benefits of such business 

firms shall be subject to verification by the department. 

E. In order to request job creation grants, business firms shall 

submit the application form, final attestation report, if an 

attestation is required, and all required documentation to the 

department by no later than April 1 of the calendar year 

subsequent to the qualification year. 

F. If the April 1 due date falls on a weekend or holiday, 

applications are due the next business day. 

G. Applications submitted by April 1 without the required 

attestation report shall be considered late applications and 

processed according to subsection I of this section. 

H. The department shall notify the business in writing of any 

incomplete or missing required documentation or request 

written clarification from the business firm on information 

provided by no later than May 15. Business firms must respond 

to any unresolved issues by no later than June 1. If the 

department does not meet its May 15 date for notification, then 

businesses must respond to any unresolved issues within 10 

calendar days of the actual notification. 

I. Any applications with the required final attestation report 

and required documentation submitted after the April 1 due 

date but before May 15 of the calendar year subsequent to the 

qualification year will be held until the department determines 

that funds remain and it will not have to prorate grant awards. 

At such time, the department will review and process such 

applications and any applications pursuant to subsection F of 

this section on a first-come first served basis. 

J. The department shall award job creation grants and notify 

all applicants by June 30 as to the amount of the grant they 

shall receive. 

K. Applications must either be hand-delivered by the date 

specified in this section or sent by certified mail with a return 

receipt requested and postmarked received by the department, 

as specified by the department, no later than the date specified 

in this section. 

L. Applicants may only apply for grants that they are 

otherwise eligible to claim for such calendar year, subject to 

the limitations provided by 13VAC5-112-400. 

13VAC5-112-380. Application submittal and processing. 

A. In order to claim the grant an application must be 

submitted to the department on prescribed form or forms. 

Applicants shall provide other documents as prescribed by the 

department. 

B. Local zone administrators must verify that the location of 

the building or facility is in the enterprise zone in a manner 

prescribed by the department. 

C. The accuracy and validity of information provided in such 

applications, including that related to qualified real property 

investments are to be attested to by an independent certified 

public accountant licensed in Virginia through an agreed-upon 

procedures engagement conducted in accordance with current 

attestation standards established by the American Institute of 

Certified Public Accountants, using procedures provided by 

the department as assurance that the firm has met the criteria 

for qualification prescribed in this section. 

D. In order to request real property investment grants, zone 

investors shall submit the application form, final attestation 

report, and all required documentation to the department by no 

later than April 1 of the calendar year subsequent to the 

qualification year. 

E. If the April 1 due date falls on a weekend or holiday, 

applications are due the next business day. 

F. Applications submitted by April 1 without the required 

attestation report shall be considered late applications and 

processed according to subsection H of this section. 

G. The department shall notify zone investors in writing of 

any incomplete or missing required documentation or request 

written clarification from the business firms on information 

provided by no later than May 15. Zone investors must respond 

to any unresolved issues by no later than June 1. If the 

department does not meet its May 15 date for notification, then 

businesses must respond to any unresolved issues within 10 

calendar days of the actual notification. 

H. Any applications with the required final attestation report 

and required documentation submitted after the April 1 due 

date but before May 15 of the calendar year subsequent to the 

qualification year will be held until the department determines 

that funds remain and it will not have to prorate grant awards. 

At such time, the department will review and process such 

applications and any applications pursuant to subsection F of 

this section on a first-come first served basis. 
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I. The department shall award real property investment grants 

and notify all applicants by June 30 as to the amount of the 

grant they shall receive. 

J. Applications must either be hand-delivered by the date 

specified in this section or sent by certified mail with a return 

receipt requested and postmarked received by the department, 

as specified by the department, no later than the date specified 

in this section. 

K. Applicants may only apply for grants that they are 

otherwise eligible to claim for such calendar year, subject to 

the limitations provided by 13VAC5-112-400. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R21-6544; Filed January 19, 2021, 2:37 p.m. 

  ––––––––––––––––––  

TITLE 14. INSURANCE 

STATE CORPORATION COMMISSION 

Proposed Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The State Corporation Commission 

is claiming an exemption from the Administrative Process Act 

in accordance with § 2.2-4002 A 2 of the Code of Virginia, 

which exempts courts, any agency of the Supreme Court, and 

any agency that by the Constitution is expressly granted any of 

the powers of a court of record. 

Title of Regulation: 14VAC5-45. Rules Governing 

Suitability in Annuity Transactions (amending 14VAC5-

45-10 through 14VAC5-45-47). 

Statutory Authority: §§ 12.1-13 and 38.2-223 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: A public hearing will be held 

upon request. 

Public Comment Deadline: March 19, 2021. 

Agency Contact: Raquel C. Pino, Insurance Policy Advisor, 

Bureau of Insurance, State Corporation Commission, P.O. Box 

1157, Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 371-9499, FAX 

(804) 371-9873, or email raquel.pino@scc.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The proposed amendments incorporate provisions 

contained in the National Association of Insurance 

Commissioners' Suitability in Annuity Transactions Model 

Regulation and include several new definitions, require 

insurers and agents to follow specified best interest 

obligations when recommending an annuity, require agents 

to use consumer disclosure forms, and require agents to 

complete a one-time four-credit annuity suitability training 

course that includes the best interest standard. 

AT RICHMOND, JANUARY 19, 2021 

COMMONWEALTH OF VIRGINIA, ex rel. 

STATE CORPORATION COMMISSION 

CASE NO. INS-2021-00001 

Ex Parte: In the matter of 

Adopting Revisions to the Rules 

Governing Suitability in Annuity Transactions  

ORDER TO TAKE NOTICE 

Section 12.1-13 of the Code of Virginia ("Code") provides 

that the State Corporation Commission ("Commission") shall 

have the power to promulgate rules and regulations in the 

enforcement and administration of all laws within its 

jurisdiction. Section 38.2-223 of the Code provides that the 

Commission may issue any rules and regulations necessary or 

appropriate for the administration and enforcement of Title 

38.2 of the Code.  

The rules and regulations issued by the Commission pursuant 

to § 38.2-223 of the Code are set forth in Title 14 of the 

Virginia Administrative Code. A copy may also be found at the 

Commission's website: https://scc.virginia.gov/case. 

The Bureau of Insurance ("Bureau") has submitted to the 

Commission proposed revisions to rules set forth in Chapter 45 

of Title 14 of the Virginia Administrative Code, entitled Rules 

Governing Suitability in Annuity Transactions ("Rules"), 

which revise the Rules set out at 14 VAC 5-45-10 through 

14 VAC 5-45-47 and adds new forms.  

The proposed revisions to Chapter 45 are necessary to 

incorporate provisions contained in the revised National 

Association of Insurance Commissioners' Suitability in 

Annuity Transactions Model Regulation. These revisions add 

several new definitions, require insurers and agents to follow 

specified best interest obligations when recommending an 

annuity, require agents to use consumer disclosure forms, and 

require agents to complete a one-time four-credit annuity 

suitability training course that includes the best interest 

standard.  

NOW THE COMMISSION is of the opinion that the 

proposed revisions submitted by the Bureau to amend the 

Rules set out at 14 VAC 5-45-10 through 14 VAC 5-45-47 

should be considered for adoption with a proposed effective 

date of May 1, 2021.  

Accordingly, IT IS ORDERED THAT: 

(1) The proposal to amend Chapter 45 of Title 14 of the 

Virginia Administrative Code, by revising the Rules set out at 

14 VAC 5-45-10 through 14 VAC 5-45-47 and adding new 

forms are attached hereto and made a part hereof.  

(2) All interested persons who desire to comment in support 

of or in opposition to, or request a hearing to oppose 

amendments to Chapter 45 shall file such comments or hearing 

requests on or before March 19, 2021, with Bernard Logan, 

mailto:raquel.pino@scc.virginia.gov
https://scc.virginia.gov/case
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Clerk, State Corporation Commission, c/o Document Control 

Center, P.O. Box 2118, Richmond, Virginia 23218 and shall 

refer to Case No. INS-2021-00001. Interested persons desiring 

to submit comments electronically may do so by following the 

instructions available at the Commission's website: 

https://scc.virginia.gov/case. All comments shall refer to Case 

No. INS-2021-00001. 

(3) If no written request for a hearing on the proposal to 

amend rules as outlined in this Order is received on or before 

March 19, 2021, the Commission, upon consideration of any 

comments submitted in support of or in opposition to the 

proposal, may adopt the amendments in Chapter 45 of Title 14 

of the Virginia Administrative Code as submitted by the 

Bureau.  

(4) The Bureau shall provide notice of the proposal to all 

companies, agencies, and agents licensed by the Commission 

to sell annuities or variable annuities in Virginia and to all 

interested persons. 

(5) The Commission's Division of Information Resources 

shall cause a copy of this Order, together with the proposal to 

amend rules, to be forwarded to the Virginia Registrar of 

Regulations for appropriate publication in the Virginia 

Register of Regulations.  

(6) The Commission's Division of Information Resources 

shall make available this Order and the attached proposal on 

the Commission's website: https://scc.virginia.gov/case. 

(7) The Bureau shall file with the Clerk of the Commission 

an affidavit of compliance with the requirements of Ordering 

Paragraph (4) above.  

(8) This matter is continued.  

A COPY hereof shall be sent by the Clerk of the Commission 

to: C. Meade Browder, Jr., Senior Assistant Attorney General, 

mbrowder@oag.state.va.us, Office of the Attorney General, 

Division of Consumer Counsel, 202 N. 9th Street, 8th Floor, 

Richmond, Virginia 23219-3424; and a copy hereof shall be 

delivered to the Commission's Office of General Counsel and 

the Bureau of Insurance in care of Deputy Commissioner Julie 

S. Blauvelt.  

14VAC5-45-10. Purpose and scope. 

The purpose of this chapter is to set forth rules and procedures 

for recommendations to consumers that result in a transaction 

involving annuity products require agents, as defined in this 

chapter, to act in the best interest of the consumer when making 

a recommendation of an annuity and to require insurers to 

establish and maintain a system to supervise recommendations 

so that the insurance needs and financial objectives of 

consumers at the time of the transaction are appropriately 

effectively addressed. This chapter shall apply to any sale or 

recommendation to purchase, exchange, or replace of an 

annuity made to a consumer by an agent, or insurer where no 

agent is involved, that results in the purchase, exchange, or 

replacement recommended. 

14VAC5-45-20. Definitions. 

The following words and terms when used in this chapter 

shall have the following meaning meanings, unless the context 

clearly indicates otherwise: 

"Agent" or "insurance agent" "Agent," "insurance agent," 

"producer," or "insurance producer," when used without 

qualification, means an individual or business entity that sells, 

solicits, or negotiates contracts of insurance or annuity in this 

Commonwealth. 

"Annuity" means a fixed, variable, or modified guaranteed 

annuity that is individually solicited, whether the product is 

classified as an individual annuity or group annuity. 

"Board" means the Virginia Insurance Continuing Education 

Board established pursuant to § 38.2-1867 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

"Cash compensation" means any discount, concession, fee, 

service fee, commission, sales charge, loan, override, or cash 

benefit received by an agent in connection with the 

recommendation or sale of an annuity from an insurer, 

intermediary, or directly from the consumer. 

"Commission" means the State Corporation Commission. 

"Consumer profile information" means information that is 

reasonably appropriate to determine whether a 

recommendation addresses the consumer's financial situation, 

insurance needs, and financial objectives, including, at a 

minimum, the following: 

1. Age; 

2. Annual income; 

3. Financial situation and needs, including debts and other 

obligations; 

4. Financial experience; 

5. Insurance needs; 

6. Financial objectives; 

7. Intended use of the annuity; 

8. Financial time horizon; 

9. Existing assets or financial products, including 

investment, annuity, and insurance holdings; 

10. Liquidity needs; 

11. Liquid net worth; 

12. Risk tolerance, including willingness to accept non-

guaranteed elements in the annuity; 

13. Financial resources used to fund the annuity; and 

https://scc.virginia.gov/case
https://scc.virginia.gov/case
mailto:mbrowder@oag.state.va.us
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14. Tax status. 

"Continuing education credit" or "CE credit" means one 

continuing education credit as defined in § 38.2-1867 of the 

Code of Virginia. 

"Continuing education provider" or "CE provider" means an 

individual or entity that is approved to offer continuing 

education courses pursuant to § 38.2-1867 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

"FINRA" means the Financial Industry Regulatory Authority 

or a succeeding agency. 

"Insurer" means an insurance company required to be 

licensed under the laws of this Commonwealth to provide 

insurance products, including annuities. 

"Intermediary" means an entity contracted directly with an 

insurer or with another entity contracted with an insurer to 

facilitate the sale of the insurer's annuities by agents. 

"Material conflict of interest" means a financial interest of the 

agent in the sale of an annuity that a reasonable person would 

expect to influence the impartiality of a recommendation. 

"Material conflict of interest" does not include cash 

compensation or non-cash compensation. 

"Non-cash compensation" means any form of compensation 

that is not cash compensation, including health insurance, 

office rent, office support, and retirement benefits. 

"Nonguaranteed elements" means the premiums, credited 

interest rates (including any bonus), benefits, values, 

dividends, non-interest based credits, charges, or elements of 

formulas used to determine any of these that are subject to 

company discretion and are not guaranteed at issue. An 

element is considered nonguaranteed if any of the underlying 

nonguaranteed elements are used in its calculation. 

"Recommendation" means advice provided by an agent, or an 

insurer where no agent is involved, to an individual consumer 

that results was intended to result or does result in a purchase, 

exchange, or replacement, or surrender of an annuity in 

accordance with that advice. Recommendation does not 

include general communication to the public, generalized 

customer services assistance or administrative support, general 

educational information and tools, prospectuses, or other 

product and sales material. 

"Replacement" means a transaction in which a new policy or 

contract annuity is to be purchased, and it is known or should 

be known to the proposing agent, or to the proposing insurer if 

there is no whether or not an agent is involved, that by reason 

of the transaction, an existing annuity or other insurance policy 

or contract, has been or is to be any of the following: 

1. Lapsed, forfeited, surrendered or partially surrendered, 

assigned to the replacing insurer, or otherwise terminated; 

2. Converted to reduced paid-up insurance, continued as 

extended term insurance, or otherwise reduced in value by 

the use of nonforfeiture benefits or other policy values; 

3. Amended so as to effect either a reduction in benefits or 

in the term for which coverage would otherwise remain in 

force or for which benefits would be paid; 

4. Reissued with any reduction in cash value; or 

5. Used in a financed purchase. 

"Suitability information" means information that is 

reasonably appropriate to determine the suitability of a 

recommendation, including the following: 

1. Age; 

2. Annual income; 

3. Financial situation and needs, including the financial 

resources used for the funding of the annuity; 

4. Financial experience; 

5. Financial objectives; 

6. Intended use of the annuity; 

7. Financial time horizon; 

8. Existing assets, including investment and life insurance 

holdings; 

9. Liquidity needs; 

10. Liquid net worth; 

11. Risk tolerance; and 

12. Tax status. 

"SEC" means the U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission. 

"Virginia Securities Act" means § 13.1-501 et seq. of the 

Code of Virginia. 

14VAC5-45-30. Exemptions. 

Unless otherwise specifically included, this chapter shall not 

apply to transactions involving: 

1. Direct response solicitations where there is no 

recommendation based on information collected from the 

consumer pursuant to this chapter. 

2. Contracts used to fund: 

a. An employee pension or welfare benefit plan that is 

covered by the Employee Retirement Income Security Act 

of 1974 (29 USC § 1001 et seq.); 

b. A plan described by 26 USC § 401(a), 401(k), 403(b), 

408(k), or 408(p) of the Internal Revenue Code, if 

established or maintained by an employer; 

c. A government or church plan defined in 26 USC § 414 

of the Internal Revenue Code, a government or church 
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welfare benefit plan, or a deferred compensation plan of a 

state or local government or tax exempt organization 

under 26 USC § 457 of the Internal Revenue Code; or 

d. A nonqualified deferred compensation arrangement 

established or maintained by an employer or plan sponsor; 

e. 3. Settlements of or assumptions of liabilities associated 

with personal injury litigation or any dispute or claim 

resolution process; or 

f. 4. Preneed funeral contracts as defined in § 54.1-2800 of 

the Code of Virginia. 

14VAC5-45-40. Duties of insurers and agents. 

A. In recommending to a consumer the purchase of an annuity 

or the exchange of an annuity that results in another insurance 

transaction or series of insurance transactions, the agent, or the 

insurer where no agent is involved, shall have reasonable 

grounds for believing that the recommendation is suitable for 

the consumer on the basis of the facts disclosed by the 

consumer as to his investments and other insurance products 

and as to his financial situation and needs, including the 

consumer's suitability information, and that there is a 

reasonable basis to believe all of the following: Best interest 

obligations. An agent, when making a recommendation of an 

annuity, shall act in the best interest of the consumer under the 

circumstances known at the time the recommendation is made, 

without placing the agent's or the insurer's financial interest 

ahead of the consumer's interest. An agent has acted in the best 

interest of the consumer if the agent has satisfied the following 

obligations regarding care, disclosure, conflict of interest, and 

documentation: 

1. Care Obligation.  

a. The agent, in making a recommendation shall exercise 

reasonable diligence, care, and skill to: 

(1) Know the consumer's financial situation, insurance 

needs, and financial objectives; 

(2) Understand the available recommendation options 

after making a reasonable inquiry into options available to 

the agent; 

(3) Have a reasonable basis to believe the recommended 

option effectively addresses the consumer's financial 

situation, insurance needs, and financial objectives over 

the life of the product, as evaluated in light of the 

consumer profile information; and 

(4) Communicate the basis of the recommendation. 

b. The requirements under subdivision 1 a of this 

subsection include making reasonable efforts to obtain 

consumer profile information from the consumer prior to 

the recommendation of an annuity. 

c. The requirements under subdivision 1 a of this 

subsection require an agent to consider the types of 

products the agent is authorized and licensed to 

recommend or sell that address the consumer's financial 

situation, insurance needs, and financial objectives. This 

does not require analysis or consideration of any products 

outside the authority and license of the agent or other 

possible alternative products or strategies available in the 

market at the time of the recommendation. Agents shall be 

held to standards applicable to agents with similar 

authority and licensure. 

d. The requirements under this subdivision 1 of this 

subsection do not create a fiduciary obligation or 

relationship. 

e. The consumer profile information, characteristics of the 

insurer, and product costs, rates, benefits, and features are 

those factors generally relevant in making a determination 

whether an annuity effectively addresses the consumer's 

financial situation, insurance needs, and financial 

objectives, but the level of importance of each factor under 

the care obligation of this subdivision 1 may vary 

depending on the facts and circumstances of a particular 

case. However, each factor may not be considered in 

isolation. 

f. The requirements under subdivision 1 a of this 

subsection include having a reasonable basis to believe the 

consumer would benefit from certain features of the 

annuity, such as annuitization, death or living benefit, or 

other insurance-related features. 

g. The requirements under subdivision 1 a of this 

subsection apply to the particular annuity as a whole and 

the underlying subaccounts to which funds are allocated at 

the time of purchase or exchange of an annuity, and riders 

and similar agent enhancements, if any. 

h. The requirements under subdivision 1 a of this 

subsection do not mean the annuity with the lowest one-

time or multiple occurrence compensation structure shall 

necessarily be recommended. 

i. The requirements under subdivision 1 a of this 

subsection do not mean the agent has ongoing monitoring 

obligations under the care obligation under subdivision 1 

a of this subsection, although such an obligation may be 

separately owed under the terms of a fiduciary, consulting, 

investment advising, or financial planning agreement 

between the consumer and the agent. 

j. In the case of an exchange or replacement of an annuity, 

the agent shall consider the whole transaction, which 

includes taking into consideration whether: 

(1) The consumer will incur a surrender charge, be subject 

to the commencement of a new surrender period, lose 

existing benefits, such as death, living, or other contractual 

benefits, or be subject to increased fees, investment 

advisory fees, or charges for riders and similar product 

enhancements; 

(2) The replacing product would substantially benefit the 

consumer in comparison to the replaced product over the 

life of the product; and 
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(3) The consumer has had another annuity exchange or 

replacement and, in particular, an exchange or 

replacement within the preceding 60 months. 

k. Nothing in this chapter should be construed to require 

an agent to obtain any license other than an agent license 

with the appropriate line of authority to sell, solicit, or 

negotiate insurance in this Commonwealth, including any 

securities license, in order to fulfill the duties and 

obligations contained in this chapter; provided the agent 

does not give advice or provide services that are otherwise 

subject to securities laws or engage in any other activity 

requiring other professional licenses. 

2. Disclosure obligation. 

a. Prior to the recommendation or sale of an annuity, the 

agent shall prominently disclose to the consumer on the 

commission's Insurance Agent (Producer) Disclosure for 

Annuities form: 

(1) A description of the scope and terms of the relationship 

with the consumer and the role of the agent in the 

transaction; 

(2) An affirmative statement on whether the agent is 

licensed and authorized to sell the following products: 

(a) Fixed annuities; 

(b) Fixed indexed annuities; 

(c) Variable annuities; 

(d) Life insurance; 

(e) Mutual funds; 

(f) Any securities as defined in the Virginia Securities Act; 

and 

(g) Certificates of deposit; 

(3) An affirmative statement describing the insurers the 

agent is authorized, contracted (or appointed), or 

otherwise able to sell insurance products for, using the 

following descriptions: 

(a) From one insurer; 

(b) From two or more insurers; or 

(c) From two or more insurers although primarily 

contracted with one insurer; 

(4) A description of the sources and types of cash 

compensation and non-cash compensation to be received 

by the agent, including whether the agent is to be 

compensated for the sale of a recommended annuity by 

commission as part of premium or other remuneration 

received from the insurer, intermediary, or other agent or 

by fee as a result of a contract for advice or consulting 

services; and 

(5) A notice of the consumer's right to request additional 

information regarding cash compensation described in 

subdivision 2 b of this subsection; 

b. Upon request of the consumer or the consumer's 

designated representative, the agent shall disclose: 

(1) A reasonable estimate of the amount of cash 

compensation to be received by the agent, which may be 

stated as a range of amounts or percentages; and 

(2) Whether the cash compensation is a one-time or 

multiple occurrence amount, and if a multiple occurrence 

amount, the frequency and amount of the occurrence, 

which may be stated as a range of amounts or percentages; 

and 

1. The c. Prior to or at the time of the recommendation or 

sale of an annuity, the agent shall have a reasonable basis 

to believe the consumer has been reasonably informed of 

various features of the annuity, such as the potential 

surrender period and surrender charge; potential tax 

penalty if the consumer sells, exchanges, surrenders, or 

annuitizes the annuity; mortality and expense fees; 

investment advisory fees; any annual fees; potential 

charges for and features of riders of other options of the 

annuity; limitations on interest returns; potential changes 

in nonguaranteed elements of the annuity; insurance and 

investment components; and market risk;. 

2. The consumer would benefit from certain features of the 

annuity, such as tax deferred growth, annuitization, or death 

or living benefit; 

3. The particular annuity as a whole, the underlying 

subaccounts to which funds are allocated at the time of 

purchase or exchange of the annuity, and riders and similar 

product enhancements, if any, are suitable (and in the case 

of an exchange or replacement, the transaction as a whole is 

suitable) for the particular consumer based on the 

consumer's suitability information; and 

4. In the case of an exchange or replacement of an annuity, 

the exchange or replacement is suitable, including taking 

into consideration whether: 

a. The consumer will incur a surrender charge, be subject 

to the commencement of a new surrender period, lose 

existing benefits (such as death, living, or other 

contractual benefits), or be subject to increased fees, 

investment advisory fees, or charges for riders and similar 

product enhancements; 

b. The consumer would benefit from product 

enhancements and improvements; and 

c. The consumer has had another annuity exchange or 

replacement, and, in particular, an exchange or 

replacement within the preceding 36 months. 

3. Conflict of interest obligation. An agent shall identify and 

avoid or reasonably manage and disclose material conflicts 

of interest, including material conflicts of interest related to 

an ownership interest. 
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4. Documentation obligation. An agent shall at the time of 

recommendation or sale: 

a. Make a written record of any recommendation and the 

basis for the recommendation subject to this chapter; 

b. Obtain a consumer signed statement on the 

commission's Consumer Refusal to Provide Information 

form documenting: 

(1) A customer's refusal to provide the consumer profile 

information, if any; and 

(2) A customer's understanding of the ramifications of not 

providing their consumer profile information or providing 

insufficient consumer profile information; and 

c. Obtain a consumer signed statement on the 

commission's Consumer Decision to Purchase an Annuity 

Not Based on a Recommendation form acknowledging the 

annuity transaction is not recommended if a customer 

decides to enter into an annuity transaction that is not 

based on the agent's recommendation. 

5. Application of the best interest obligation. Any 

requirement applicable to an agent under this subsection 

shall apply to every agent who has exercised material control 

or influence in the making of a recommendation and has 

received direct compensation as a result of the 

recommendation or sale, regardless of whether the agent has 

had any direct contact with the consumer. Activities such as 

providing or delivering marketing or educational materials, 

product wholesaling or other back office product support, 

and general supervision of an agent do not, in and of 

themselves, constitute material control or influence. 

B. Prior to the execution of a purchase, exchange, or 

replacement of an annuity resulting from a recommendation, 

an agent, or insurer where no agent is involved, shall make 

reasonable efforts to obtain the consumer's suitability 

information. C. Except as permitted under subsection D of this 

section, an insurer shall not issue an annuity recommended to 

a consumer unless there is a reasonable basis to believe the 

annuity is suitable based on the consumer's suitability 

information. D. Transactions not based on a recommendation. 

1. Except as provided in subdivision 2 of this subsection, 

neither an agent, nor an insurer where no agent is involved, 

an agent shall have any no obligation to a consumer under 

subsection subdivision A or C 1 of this section related to any 

annuity transaction if any of the following occurs: 

a. No recommendation is made; 

b. A recommendation was made and was later found to 

have been prepared based on materially inaccurate 

information provided by the consumer; 

c. A consumer refuses to provide relevant suitability 

consumer profile information requested by the insurer or 

agent and the annuity transaction is not recommended; 

d. A consumer decides to enter into an annuity transaction 

that is not based on a recommendation of the insurer or 

agent; or 

e. A consumer fails to provide complete or accurate 

information. 

2. An insurer or agent's recommendation subject to 

subdivision 1 of this subsection shall be reasonable under all 

the circumstances actually known to the insurer or agent at 

the time of the recommendation. 

E. An agent, or where no agent is involved the responsible 

insurer representative, shall at the time of sale: 

1. Make a record of any recommendation subject to 

subsection A of this section; 

2. Obtain a customer signed statement, documenting a 

customer's refusal to provide suitability information, if any; 

and 

3. Obtain a customer signed statement acknowledging that 

an annuity transaction is not recommended if a customer 

decides to enter into an annuity transaction that is not based 

on the agent's or insurer's recommendation. 

F. 1. C. Supervision system. 

1. Except as permitted under subsection B of this section, an 

insurer may not issue an annuity recommended to a 

consumer unless there is a reasonable basis to believe the 

annuity would effectively address the particular consumer's 

financial situation, insurance needs, and financial objectives 

based on the consumer's consumer profile information. 

2. An insurer either shall assure that a system to supervise 

recommendations that is reasonably designed to achieve 

compliance with this chapter is established and maintained 

by complying with subdivisions 3 4 and 4 5 of this 

subsection or shall establish and maintain such a system, 

including the following: 

a. The insurer shall establish and maintain reasonable 

procedures to inform its agents of the requirements of this 

chapter and shall incorporate the requirements of this 

chapter into relevant agent training manuals; 

b. The insurer shall establish and maintain standards for 

agent product training and shall establish and maintain 

reasonable procedures to require its agents to comply with 

the requirements of 14VAC5-45-45; 

c. The insurer shall provide product-specific training and 

training materials that explain all material features of its 

annuity products to its agents; 

d. The insurer shall establish and maintain procedures for 

the review of each recommendation prior to issuance of an 

annuity that are designed to ensure that there is a 

reasonable basis to determine that a recommendation is 

suitable the recommended annuity would effectively 

address the particular consumer's financial situation, 
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insurance needs, and financial objectives. Such review 

procedures may apply a screening system for the purpose 

of identifying selected transactions for additional review 

and may be accomplished electronically or through other 

means including physical review. Such an electronic or 

other system may be designed to require additional review 

only of those transactions identified for additional review 

by the selection criteria; 

e. The insurer shall establish and maintain reasonable 

procedures to detect recommendations that are not suitable 

in compliance with subsections A, B, D, and E of this 

section. This may include confirmation of consumer 

suitability the consumer's consumer profile information, 

systematic customer surveys, agent and consumer 

interviews, confirmation letters, agent statements or 

attestations, and programs of internal monitoring. Nothing 

in this subdivision prevents an insurer from complying 

with this subdivision by applying sampling procedures, or 

by confirming suitability the consumer profile information 

or other required information under this section after 

issuance or delivery of the annuity; and 

f. The insurer shall establish and maintain reasonable 

procedures to assess, prior to or upon issuance or delivery 

of an annuity, whether an agent has provided to the 

consumer the information required to be provided under 

this section; 

g. The insurer shall establish and maintain reasonable 

procedures to identify and address suspicious consumer 

refusals to provide consumer profile information; 

h. The insurer shall establish and maintain reasonable 

procedures to identify and eliminate any sales contests, 

sales quotas, bonuses, and non-cash compensation that are 

based on the sales of specific annuities within a limited 

period of time. The requirements of this subdivision are 

not intended to prohibit the receipt of health insurance, 

office rent, office support, retirement benefits, or other 

employee benefits by employees as long as those benefits 

are not based upon the volume of sales of a specific 

annuity within a limited period of time; and 

i. The insurer shall annually provide a written report to 

senior management, including to the senior manager 

responsible for audit functions, which details a review, 

with appropriate testing, reasonably designed to determine 

the effectiveness of the supervision system, the exceptions 

found, and corrective action taken or recommended, if 

any. 

2. 3. An agent and independent agency either shall adopt a 

system established by an insurer to supervise 

recommendations of its agents that is reasonably designed to 

achieve compliance with this chapter or shall establish and 

maintain such a system, including, but not limited to: 

a. Maintaining written procedures; and 

b. Conducting periodic reviews of records that are 

reasonably designed to assist in detecting and preventing 

violations of this chapter. 

3. 4. An insurer may contract with a third party, including an 

agent or independent agency, to establish and maintain a 

system of supervision as required by subdivision 1 2 of this 

subsection with respect to agents under contract with or 

employed by the third party. 

4. 5. An insurer shall make reasonable inquiry to assure that 

the third party contracting under subdivision 3 4 of this 

subsection is performing the functions required under 

subdivision 1 2 of this subsection and shall take action that 

is reasonable under the circumstances to enforce the 

contractual obligation to perform the functions. An insurer 

may comply with its obligation to make reasonable inquiry 

by doing all of the following: 

a. The insurer annually obtains a certification from a third 

party senior manager who has responsibility for the 

delegated functions that the manager has a reasonable 

basis to represent, and does represent, that the third party 

is performing the required functions; and 

b. The insurer, based on reasonable selection criteria, 

periodically selects third parties contracting under 

subdivision 3 4 of this subsection for a review to determine 

whether the third parties are performing the required 

functions. The insurer shall perform those procedures to 

conduct the review that are reasonable under the 

circumstances. 

5. 6. An insurer that contracts with a third party pursuant to 

subdivision 3 4 of this subsection and that complies with the 

requirements to supervise in subdivision 4 5 of this 

subsection shall have fulfilled its responsibilities under 

subdivision 1 2 of this subsection. 

6. 7. An insurer, or agent, or independent agency is not 

required by subdivision 1 2 or 2 3 of this subsection to: 

a. Review, or provide for review of, all agent-solicited 

transactions; or 

b. Include in its system of supervision an agent's 

recommendations to consumers of products other than the 

annuities offered by the insurer, or agent, or independent 

agency; or 

c. Consider or compare options available to the agent or 

compensation relating to those options other than 

annuities or other products offered by the insurer. 

7. 8. An agent or independent agency contracting with an 

insurer pursuant to subdivision 3 4 of this subsection, when 

requested by the insurer pursuant to subdivision 4 5 of this 

subsection, shall promptly give a certification as described 

in subdivision 4 5 or give a clear statement that it is unable 

to meet the certification criteria. 
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8. 9. No person may provide a certification under 

subdivision 4 5 a of this subsection unless: 

a. The person is a senior manager with responsibility for 

the delegated functions; and 

b. The person has a reasonable basis for making the 

certification. 

G. D. An agent or insurer shall not dissuade or attempt to 

dissuade a consumer from: 

1. Truthfully responding to an insurer's request for 

confirmation of suitability the consumer profile information; 

2. Filing a complaint; or 

3. Cooperating with the investigation of a complaint. 

H. Sales E. Safe harbor. Recommendations and sales of 

annuities made in compliance with FINRA requirements 

pertaining to suitability and supervision of annuity transactions 

comparable standards shall satisfy the requirements under this 

chapter: 

1. This subsection applies to FINRA broker-dealer all 

recommendations and sales of annuities if the suitability and 

supervision is similar to those applied to variable annuity 

sales made by financial professionals in compliance with 

business rules, controls, and procedures that satisfy a 

comparable standard even if such standard would not 

otherwise apply to the product or recommendation at issue. 

However, nothing in this subsection shall limit the 

commission's ability to investigate and enforce (including 

investigate) the provisions of this chapter. 

2. Nothing in subdivision 1 of this subsection shall limit the 

insurer's obligation to comply with subdivision C 1 of this 

section, although the insurer may base its analysis on 

information received from either the financial professional 

or the entity supervising the financial professional. 

3. For subdivision 1 of this subsection to apply, an insurer 

shall: 

a. Monitor the FINRA member broker-dealer relevant 

conduct of the financial professional seeking to rely on 

subdivision 1 of this subsection or the entity responsible 

for supervising the financial professional, such as the 

financial professional's broker-dealer or an investment 

adviser registered under federal securities laws or the 

Virginia Securities Act using information collected in the 

normal course of an insurer's business; and 

b. Provide to the FINRA member broker-dealer entity 

responsible for supervising the financial professional 

seeking to rely on subdivision 1 of this subsection, such as 

the financial professional's broker-dealer or investment 

adviser registered under federal securities laws or the 

Virginia Securities Act, information and reports that are 

reasonably appropriate to assist the FINRA member 

broker-dealer such entity to maintain its supervision 

system. 

4. For purposes of this subsection, "financial professional" 

means an agent that is regulated and acting as: 

a. A broker-dealer registered under federal securities laws 

or the Virginia Securities Act or a registered representative 

of a broker-dealer; 

b. An investment adviser registered under federal 

securities laws or the Virginia Securities Act or an 

investment adviser representative associated with the 

federal or Virginia registered investment adviser; or 

c. A plan fiduciary under § 3(21) of the Employee 

Retirement Income Security Act of 1974 (ERISA) or 

fiduciary under § 4975(e)(3) of the Internal Revenue Code 

(IRC) or any amendments or successor statutes thereto. 

5. For purposes of this subsection, "comparable standards" 

means: 

a. With respect to broker-dealers and registered 

representatives of broker-dealers, applicable SEC and 

FINRA rules pertaining to best interest obligations and 

supervision of annuity recommendations and sales, 

including Regulation Best Interest (17 CFR Part 240.15l1) 

and any amendments or successor regulations thereto; 

b. With respect to investment advisers registered under 

federal securities laws or the Virginia Securities Act or 

investment adviser representatives, the fiduciary duties 

and all other requirements imposed on such investment 

advisers or investment adviser representatives by contract 

or under the Investment Advisers Act of 1940 (15 USC 

§80a-1 et seq.) or the Virginia Securities Act, including 

the Form ADV (https://www.sec.gov/divisions/ 

investment/iard/ia-forms.shtml) and interpretations; and 

c. With respect to plan fiduciaries or fiduciaries, means the 

duties, obligations, prohibitions and all other requirements 

attendant to such status under ERISA or the IRC and any 

amendments or successor statutes thereto. 

I. F. Compliance with FINRA Rule 2111 

(https://www.finra.org/rules-guidance/rulebooks/finra-rules/ 

2111) pertaining to suitability shall satisfy the requirements 

under this section for the recommendation of variable 

annuities. However, nothing in this subsection shall limit the 

commission's ability to enforce the provisions of this chapter. 

14VAC5-45-45. Agent training. 

A. An agent shall not solicit the sale of an annuity product 

unless the agent has adequate knowledge of the product to 

recommend the annuity and the agent is in compliance with the 

insurer's standards for product training. An agent may rely on 

insurer-provided product specific training standards and 

materials to comply with this subsection. 

https://www.sec.gov/divisions/investment/iard/ia-forms.shtml
https://www.sec.gov/divisions/investment/iard/ia-forms.shtml
https://www.sec.gov/divisions/investment/iard/ia-forms.shtml
https://www.sec.gov/divisions/investment/iard/ia-forms.shtml
https://www.sec.gov/divisions/investment/iard/ia-forms.shtml
https://www.finra.org/rules-guidance/rulebooks/finra-rules/2111
https://www.finra.org/rules-guidance/rulebooks/finra-rules/2111
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B. Training requirements are as follows: 

1. An agent Agents who engages hold a life insurance line 

of authority and engage in the sale of annuity products shall 

complete a one-time four-credit annuity suitability training 

course that includes the best interest standard approved as 

continuing education by the Insurance Continuing Education 

Board board in accordance with § 38.2-1867 of the Code of 

Virginia and provided by the Insurance Continuing 

Education Board board approved education provider. 

2. Agents who hold a life insurance line of authority prior to 

May 1, 2021, and who desire to sell annuities engage in the 

sale of annuity products shall complete the requirements of 

this subsection by January 1, 2018 within six months after 

May 1, 2021. Individuals who obtain a life insurance line of 

authority on or after January 1, 2018, May 1, 2021, may not 

engage in the sale of annuities until the one-time four-credit 

annuity suitability training course that includes the best 

interest standard required under this subsection has been 

completed. 

3. The minimum length of the training required under this 

subsection shall be sufficient to qualify for at least four CE 

credits, but may be longer. 

4. The training required under this subsection shall include 

information on the following topics: 

a. The types of annuities and various classifications of 

annuities; 

b. Identification of the parties to an annuity; 

c. How product specific annuity contract features affect 

consumers; 

d. The application of income taxation of qualified and 

nonqualified annuities; 

e. The primary uses of annuities; and 

f. Appropriate standard of conduct, sales practices and, 

replacement, and disclosure requirements. 

5. Providers of courses intended to comply with this 

subsection shall cover all topics listed in subdivision 4 of this 

subsection and shall not present any marketing information 

or provide training on sales techniques or provide specific 

information about a particular insurer's products. Additional 

topics may be offered in conjunction with and in addition to 

those in subdivision 4 of this subsection. 

6. A provider of an annuity training course intended to 

comply with this subsection shall register as a CE provider 

in this Commonwealth and comply with the rules and 

guidelines applicable to agent continuing education courses 

as set forth in § 38.2-1867 of the Code of Virginia. 

7. An agent who has completed the one-time four-credit 

annuity suitability training course approved by the board 

prior to May 1, 2021, shall, within six months after May 1, 

2021, complete either: 

a. A new four-credit training course that includes the best 

interest standard approved by the board; or 

b. An additional one-time one-credit best interest standard 

training course approved by the board and provided by the 

board-approved education provider on appropriate sales 

practices, replacement, and disclosure requirements under 

this chapter. 

8. Annuity training courses may be conducted and 

completed by classroom or self-study methods in accordance 

with the rules and guidelines set forth in § 38.2-1867 of the 

Code of Virginia. 

8. 9. Providers of annuity training shall comply with the 

reporting requirements in § 38.2-1867 of the Code of 

Virginia and shall issue certificates of completion in 

accordance with § 38.2-1867 of the Code of Virginia. 

9. 10. The satisfaction of the training requirements of 

another state that are substantially similar to the provisions 

of this subsection shall be deemed to satisfy the training 

requirements of this subsection in this Commonwealth. 

10. 11. An insurer shall verify that an agent has completed 

the annuity training course required under this subsection 

before allowing the agent to sell an annuity product for that 

insurer. An insurer may satisfy its responsibility under this 

subsection by obtaining certificates of completion of the 

training course or obtaining reports provided by 

commission-sponsored database systems or vendors or from 

a reasonably reliable commercial database vendor that has a 

reporting arrangement with approved insurance education 

providers. 

14VAC5-45-47. Recordkeeping. 

A. Insurers, agencies, and agents shall maintain or be able to 

make available to the commission records of the information 

collected from the consumer; disclosures made to the 

consumer, including summaries of oral disclosures; and other 

information used in making the recommendations that were the 

basis for insurance transactions for five years after the 

insurance transaction is completed by the insurer. An insurer is 

permitted, but shall not be required, to maintain documentation 

on behalf of an agent. 

B. Records required to be maintained by this chapter may be 

maintained in paper, photographic, micro-process, magnetic, 

mechanical, or electronic media or by any process that 

accurately reproduces the actual document. 

NOTICE: The following forms used in administering the 

regulation have been filed by the agency. Amended or added 

forms are reflected in the listing and are published following 

the listing. Online users of this issue of the Virginia Register 

of Regulations may also click on the name to access a form. 

The forms are also available from the agency contact or may 

be viewed at the Office of Registrar of Regulations, 900 East 

Main Street, 11th Floor, Richmond, Virginia 23219. 
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FORMS (14VAC5-45) 

Insurance Agent (Producer) Disclosure for Annuities, CN01 

(eff. 5/2021) 

Consumer Refusal to Provide Information, CN02 (eff. 

5/2021) 

Consumer Decision to Purchase an Annuity Not Based on a 

Recommendation, CN03 (eff. 5/2021) 

VA.R. Doc. No. R21-6588; Filed January 22, 2021, 4:07 p.m. 

  ––––––––––––––––––  

TITLE 16. LABOR AND EMPLOYMENT 

SAFETY AND HEALTH CODES BOARD 

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: Pursuant to subdivision (6a) of 

§ 40.1-22 of the Code of Virginia, the Safety and Health Codes 

Board may adopt an emergency temporary standard to take 

immediate effect upon publication in a newspaper of general 

circulation, published in the City of Richmond, Virginia, if the 

board determines that employees are exposed to grave danger 

from exposure to substances or agents determined to be toxic 

or physically harmful or from new hazards, and that such 

emergency standard is necessary to protect employees from 

such danger. Such emergency standard was published 36:26 

VA.R. 2770-2789 August 17, 2020. The newspaper 

publication constituted notice that the board intends to adopt 

such standard within a period of six months. The board by 

similar publication shall prior to the expiration of six months 

give notice of the time and date of, and conduct a hearing on, 

the adoption of a permanent standard. This permanent standard 

supersedes the emergency standard. 

Title of Regulation: 16VAC25-220. Standard for Infectious 

Disease Prevention of the SARS-CoV-2 Virus that Causes 

COVID-19 (adding 16VAC25-220-10 through 16VAC25-

220-90). 

Statutory Authority: § 40.1-22 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: January 27, 2021. 

Agency Contact: Princy Doss, Director of Policy, Planning, 

and Public Information, Department of Labor and Industry, 

600 East Main Street, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 

786-4300, or email princy.doss@doli.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

This action is taken pursuant to Executive Order 63, Order 

of Public Health Emergency Five, Requirement to Wear 

Face Covering While Inside Buildings. The Safety and 

Health Codes Board adopted the final standard to establish 

requirements for employers to control, prevent, and mitigate 

the spread of SARS-CoV-2, thereby protecting employees 

and the general public. SARS-CoV-2 is the virus that causes 

coronavirus disease 2019 (COVID-19). The final standard 

replaces the Emergency Temporary Standard (ETS) for 

Infectious Disease Prevention: SARS-CoV-2 Virus That 

Causes COVID-19 (16VAC25-220) that was adopted by the 

board effective July 2020. 

Chapter 220 

Standard for Infectious Disease Prevention of the SARS-

CoV-2 Virus that Causes COVID-19 

16VAC25-220-10. Purpose, scope, and applicability.  

A. This standard is designed to establish requirements for 

employers to control, prevent, and mitigate the spread of 

SARS-CoV-2, the virus that causes coronavirus disease 2019 

(COVID-19) to and among employees and employers. 

B. This standard is adopted in accordance with subdivision 6 

a of § 40.1-22 of the Code of Virginia and shall apply to every 

employer, employee, and place of employment in the 

Commonwealth of Virginia within the jurisdiction of the 

VOSH program as described in 16VAC25-60-20 and 

16VAC25-60-30. 

C. This standard is designed to supplement and enhance 

existing VOSH laws, rules, regulations, and standards 

applicable directly or indirectly to SARS-CoV-2 virus or 

COVID-19 disease-related hazards such as, but not limited to, 

those dealing with personal protective equipment, respiratory 

protective equipment, sanitation, access to employee exposure 

and medical records, occupational exposure to hazardous 

chemicals in laboratories, hazard communication, § 40.1-51.1 

A of the Code of Virginia, etc. Should this standard conflict 

with an existing VOSH rule, regulation, or standard, the more 

stringent requirement from an occupational safety and health 

hazard prevention standpoint shall apply. Notwithstanding 

anything to the contrary in this standard, no enforcement action 

shall be brought against an employer or institution for failure 

to provide PPE required by this standard if such PPE is not 

readily available on commercially reasonable terms and the 

employer or institution makes a good faith effort to acquire or 

provide such PPE as is readily available on commercially 

reasonable terms. The Department of Labor and Industry shall 

consult with the Virginia Department of Health as to the ready 

availability of PPE on commercially reasonable terms and, in 

the event there are limited supplies of PPE, whether such 

supplies are being allocated to high risk or very high risk 

workplaces.  

D. Application of this standard to a place of employment will 

be based on the exposure risk level presented by SARS-CoV-

2 virus-related and COVID-19 disease-related hazards present 

or job tasks undertaken by employees at the place of 

employment as defined in this standard (i.e., very high, high, 

medium, and lower risk levels).  

1. It is recognized that various hazards or job tasks at the 

same place of employment can be designated as very high, 

https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/14VAC5/forms/FormCN01-20201208125411-20210203163526.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/14VAC5/forms/FormCN01-20201208125411-20210203163526.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/14VAC5/forms/FormCN02-20201208125433-20210203163839.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/14VAC5/forms/FormCN02-20201208125433-20210203163839.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/14VAC5/forms/FormCN03-20201208125451-20210203164004.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/14VAC5/forms/FormCN03-20201208125451-20210203164004.pdf
http://register.dls.virginia.gov/details.aspx?id=8125
http://register.dls.virginia.gov/details.aspx?id=8125
mailto:princy.doss@doli.virginia.gov
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high, medium, or lower exposure risk for purposes of 

application of the requirements of this standard. It is further 

recognized that various required job tasks prohibit an 

employee from being able to observe physical distancing 

from other persons. 

2. Factors that shall be considered in determining exposure 

risk level include, but are not limited to:  

a. The job tasks being undertaken, the work environment 

(e.g., indoors or outdoors), the known or suspected 

presence of the SARS-CoV-2 virus, the presence of a 

person known or suspected to be infected with the SARS-

CoV-2 virus, the number of employees and other persons 

in relation to the size of the work area, the working 

distance between employees and other employees or 

persons, and the duration and frequency of employee 

exposure through contact inside of six feet with other 

employees or persons (e.g., including shift work 

exceeding eight hours per day); and  

b. The type of hazards encountered, including exposure to 

respiratory droplets and potential exposure to the airborne 

transmission of SARS-CoV-2 virus; contact with 

contaminated surfaces or objects, such as tools, 

workstations, or break room tables, and shared spaces such 

as shared workstations, break rooms, locker rooms, and 

entrances and exits to the facility; shared work vehicles; 

and industries or places of employment where employer 

sponsored shared transportation is a common practice, 

such as ride-share vans or shuttle vehicles, car-pools, and 

public transportation, etc.  

E. To the extent that an employer actually complies with a 

recommendation contained in CDC guidelines, whether 

mandatory or non-mandatory, to mitigate SARS-CoV-2 virus 

and COVID-19 disease related hazards or job tasks addressed 

by this standard, and provided that the CDC recommendation 

provides equivalent or greater protection than provided by a 

provision of this standard, the employer's actions shall be 

considered in compliance with this standard. An employer's 

actual compliance with a recommendation contained in CDC 

guidelines, whether mandatory or non-mandatory, to mitigate 

SARS-CoV-2 and COVID-19 related hazards or job tasks 

addressed by a provision of this standard shall be considered 

evidence of good faith in any enforcement proceeding related 

to this standard. The Commissioner of Labor and Industry shall 

consult with the State Health Commissioner for advice and 

technical aid before making a determination related to 

compliance with CDC guidelines.  

F. A public or private institution of higher education that has 

received certification from the State Council of Higher 

Education for Virginia that the institution's reopening plans are 

in compliance with guidance documents, whether mandatory 

or non-mandatory, developed by the Governor's Office in 

conjunction with the Virginia Department of Health shall be 

considered in compliance with this standard, provided the 

institution operates in compliance with its certified reopening 

plans and the certified reopening plans provide equivalent or 

greater levels of employee protection than this standard.  

G. A public school division or private school that submits its 

plans to the Virginia Department of Education to move to 

Phase II and Phase III that are aligned with CDC guidance for 

reopening of schools that provide equivalent or greater levels 

of employee protection than a provision of this standard and 

that operate in compliance with the public school division's or 

private school's submitted plans shall be considered in 

compliance with this standard. An institution's actual 

compliance with recommendations contained in CDC 

guidelines or the Virginia Department of Education guidance, 

whether mandatory or non-mandatory, to mitigate SARS-

CoV-2 and COVID-19 related hazards or job tasks addressed 

by a provision of this standard shall be considered evidence of 

good faith in any enforcement proceeding related to this 

standard. The Commissioner of Labor and Industry shall 

consult with the State Health Commissioner for advice and 

technical aid before making a determination related to 

compliance with CDC guidelines.  

H. Nothing in the standard shall be construed to require 

employers to conduct contact tracing of the SARS-CoV-2 virus 

or COVID-19 disease. 

16VAC25-220-20. Effective dates.  

A. Adoption process. 

1. This standard shall take effect upon review by the 

Governor, and if no revisions are requested, filing with the 

Registrar of Regulations and publication in a newspaper of 

general circulation published in the City of Richmond, 

Virginia.  

2. If the Governor's review results in one or more requested 

revisions to the standard, the Safety and Health Codes Board 

shall reconvene to approve, amend, or reject the requested 

revisions.  

3. If the Safety and Health Codes Board approves the 

requested revisions to the standard as submitted, the standard 

shall take effect upon filing with the Registrar of Regulations 

and publication in a newspaper of general circulation 

published in the City of Richmond, Virginia.  

4. Should the Governor fail to review the standard under 

subdivision A 1 of this section within 30 days of its approval 

by the Safety and Health Codes Board, the board will not 

need to reconvene to take further action, and the standard 

shall take effect upon filing with the Registrar of Regulations 

and publication in a newspaper of general circulation 

published in the City of Richmond, Virginia. 

5. The Governor reviewed the standard under subdivision A 

1 of this section, and the effective date is January 27, 2021. 
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B. The requirements for 16VAC25-220-70 shall take effect 

on March 26, 2021. The training requirements in 16VAC25-

220-80 shall take effect on March 26, 2021.  

C. Within 14 days of the expiration of the Governor's 

COVID-19 State of Emergency and Commissioner of Health's 

COVID-19 Declaration of Public Emergency, the Safety and 

Health Codes Board shall notice a regular, special, or 

emergency meeting/conduct a regular, special, or emergency 

meeting to determine whether there is a continued need for the 

standard.  

16VAC25-220-30. Definitions.  

The following words and terms when used in this chapter 

shall have the following meanings unless the context clearly 

indicates otherwise: 

"Administrative control" means any procedure that 

significantly limits daily exposure to SARS-CoV-2 virus and 

COVID-19 disease related workplace hazards and job tasks by 

control or manipulation of the work schedule or manner in 

which work is performed. The use of personal protective 

equipment is not considered a means of administrative control. 

"Airborne infection isolation room" or "AIIR," formerly a 

negative pressure isolation room, means a single-occupancy 

patient-care room used to isolate persons with a suspected or 

confirmed airborne infectious disease. Environmental factors 

are controlled in AIIRs to minimize the transmission of 

infectious agents that are usually transmitted from person to 

person by droplet nuclei associated with coughing or 

aerosolization of contaminated fluids. AIIRs provide (i) 

negative pressure in the room so that air flows under the door 

gap into the room, (ii) an air flow rate of six to 12 air changes 

per hour (ACH) (six ACH for existing structures, 12 ACH for 

new construction or renovation), and (iii) direct exhaust of air 

from the room to the outside of the building or recirculation of 

air through a high efficiency particulate air (HEPA) filter 

before returning to circulation. 

"Asymptomatic" means a person who does not have 

symptoms. 

"Building or facility owner" means the legal entity, including 

a lessee, that exercises control over management and 

recordkeeping functions relating to a building or facility in 

which activities covered by this standard take place.  

"CDC" means Centers for Disease Control and Prevention. 

"Cleaning" means the removal of dirt and impurities, 

including germs, from surfaces. Cleaning alone does not kill 

germs. But by removing the germs, cleaning decreases their 

number and therefore the risk of spreading infection. 

"Community transmission," also called "community spread," 

means people have been infected with SARS-CoV-2 in an area, 

including some who are not sure how or where they became 

infected. The level of community transmission is classified by 

the CDC as: 

1. "No to minimal" where there is evidence of isolated cases 

or limited community transmission, case investigations are 

underway, and no evidence of exposure in large communal 

settings; 

2. "Moderate" where there is sustained community 

transmission with high likelihood or confirmed exposure 

within communal settings and potential for rapid increase in 

cases;  

3. "Substantial, controlled" where there is large scale, 

controlled community transmission, including communal 

settings (e.g., schools, workplaces, etc.); or 

4. "Substantial, uncontrolled" where there is large scale, 

uncontrolled community transmission, including communal 

settings (e.g., schools, workplaces, etc.). 

"COVID-19" means Coronavirus Disease 2019, which is 

primarily a respiratory disease, caused by the SARS-CoV-2 

virus. 

"Disinfecting" means using chemicals approved for use 

against SARS-CoV-2 virus, for example EPA-registered 

disinfectants, or non-EPA-registered disinfectants that 

otherwise meet the EPA criteria for use against SARS-CoV-2 

virus, to kill germs on surfaces. The process of disinfecting 

does not necessarily clean dirty surfaces or remove germs, but 

killing germs remaining on a surface after cleaning further 

reduces any risk of spreading infection.  

"Duration and frequency of employee exposure" means how 

long ("duration") and how often ("frequency") an employee is 

potentially exposed to the SARS-CoV-2 virus or COVID-19 

disease. Generally, the greater the frequency or length of time 

of the exposure, the greater the probability is for potential 

infection to occur. Frequency of exposure is generally more 

significant for acute acting agents or situations, while duration 

of exposure is generally more significant for chronic acting 

agents or situations. An example of an acute SARS-CoV-2 

virus or COVID-19 disease situation could involve a customer, 

patient, or other person not wearing a face covering or personal 

protective equipment or coughing or sneezing directly into the 

face of an employee. An example of a chronic situation could 

involve a job task that requires an employee to interact either 

for an extended period of time inside six feet with a smaller 

static group of other employees or persons or for an extended 

period of time inside six feet with a larger group of other 

employees or persons in succession but for periods of shorter 

duration. 

"Economic feasibility" means the employer is financially able 

to undertake the measures necessary to comply with one or 

more requirements in this standard. The cost of corrective 

measures to be taken will not usually be considered as a factor 

in determining whether a violation of this standard has 
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occurred. If an employer's level of compliance lags 

significantly behind that of its industry, an employer's claim of 

economic infeasibility will not support a VOSH decision to 

decline to take enforcement action. 

"Elimination" means a method of exposure control that 

removes the employee completely from exposure to SARS-

CoV-2 virus and COVID-19 disease related workplace hazards 

and job tasks. 

"Employee" means an employee of an employer who is 

employed in a business of his employer. Reference to the term 

"employee" in this standard also includes, but is not limited to, 

temporary employees and other joint employment 

relationships, persons in supervisory or management positions 

with the employer, etc., in accordance with Virginia 

occupational safety and health laws, standards, regulations, 

and court rulings.  

"Engineering control" means the use of substitution, isolation, 

ventilation, and equipment modification to reduce exposure to 

SARS-CoV-2 virus and COVID-19 disease related workplace 

hazards and job tasks. 

"Exposure risk level" means the level of possibility that an 

employee could be exposed to the hazards associated with 

SARS-CoV-2 virus and the COVID-19 disease. The exposure 

risk level assessment should address all risks and all modes of 

transmission, including airborne transmission, as well as 

transmission by asymptomatic and presymptomatic 

individuals. Risk levels should be based on the risk factors 

present that increase risk exposure to COVID-19 and are 

present during the course of employment regardless of 

location. Hazards and job tasks have been divided into four risk 

exposure levels: very high, high, medium, and lower: 

"Very high" exposure risk hazards or job tasks are those in 

places of employment with high potential for employee 

exposure to known or suspected sources of the SARS-CoV-2 

virus (e.g., laboratory samples) or persons known or suspected 

to be infected with the SARS-CoV-2 virus, including, but not 

limited to, during specific medical, postmortem, or laboratory 

procedures: 

1. Aerosol-generating procedures (e.g., intubation, cough 

induction procedures, bronchoscopies, some dental 

procedures and exams, or invasive specimen collection) on 

a patient or person known or suspected to be infected with 

the SARS-CoV-2 virus; 

2. Collecting or handling specimens from a patient or person 

known or suspected to be infected with the SARS-CoV-2 

virus (e.g., manipulating cultures from patients known or 

suspected to be infected with the SARS-CoV-2 virus); and 

3. Performing an autopsy that involves aerosol-generating 

procedures on the body of a person known or suspected to 

be infected with the SARS-CoV-2 virus at the time of their 

death. 

"High" exposure risk hazards or job tasks are those in places 

of employment with high potential for employee exposure 

inside six feet with known or suspected sources of SARS-CoV-

2, or with persons known or suspected to be infected with the 

SARS-CoV-2 virus that are not otherwise classified as very 

high exposure risk, including, but not limited to:  

1. Health care (physical and mental health) delivery and 

support services provided to a patient known or suspected to 

be infected with the SARS-CoV-2 virus, including field 

hospitals (e.g., doctors, nurses, cleaners, and other hospital 

staff who must enter patient rooms or areas);  

2. Health care (physical and mental) delivery, care, and 

support services, wellness services, non-medical support 

services, physical assistance, etc., provided to a patient, 

resident, or other person known or suspected to be infected 

with the SARS-CoV-2 virus involving skilled nursing 

services, outpatient medical services, clinical services, drug 

treatment programs, medical outreach services, mental 

health services, home health care, nursing home care, 

assisted living care, memory care support and services, 

hospice care, rehabilitation services, primary and specialty 

medical care, dental care, COVID-19 testing services, blood 

donation services, and chiropractic services; 

3. First responder services provided to a patient, resident, or 

other person known or suspected to be infected with the 

SARS-CoV-2 virus;  

4. Medical transport services (loading, transporting, 

unloading, etc.) provided to patients known or suspected to 

be infected with the SARS-CoV-2 virus (e.g., ground or air 

emergency transport, staff, operators, drivers, pilots, etc.);  

5. Mortuary services involved in preparing (e.g., for burial 

or cremation) the bodies of persons who are known or 

suspected to be infected with the SARS-CoV-2 virus at the 

time of their death; and 

6. Correctional facilities, jails detention centers, and juvenile 

detention centers. 

"Medium" exposure risk hazards or job tasks are those not 

otherwise classified as very high or high exposure risk in 

places of employment that require more than minimal 

occupational contact inside six feet with other employees, 

other persons, or the general public who may be infected with 

SARS-CoV-2, but who are not known or suspected to be 

infected with the SARS-CoV-2 virus. Medium exposure risk 

hazards or job tasks may include, but are not limited to, 

operations and services in: 

1. Poultry, meat, and seafood processing; agricultural and 

hand labor; commercial transportation of passengers by air, 

land, and water; on campus educational settings in schools, 

colleges, and universities; daycare and afterschool settings; 

restaurants and bars; grocery stores, convenience stores, and 

food banks; drug stores and pharmacies; manufacturing 
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settings; indoor and outdoor construction settings; work 

performed in customer premises, such as homes or 

businesses; retail stores; call centers; package processing 

settings; veterinary settings; personal care, personal 

grooming , salon, and spa settings; venues for sports, 

entertainment, movies, theaters, and other forms of mass 

gatherings; homeless shelters; fitness, gym, and exercise 

facilities; airports, and train and bus stations; etc.; and 

2. Situations not involving exposure to known or suspected 

sources of SARS-CoV-2: hospitals, other health care 

(physical and mental) delivery and support services in a non-

hospital setting, wellness services, physical assistance, etc.; 

skilled nursing facilities; outpatient medical facilities; 

clinics, drug treatment programs, and medical outreach 

services; non-medical support services; mental health 

facilities; home health care, nursing homes, assisted living 

facilities, memory care facilities, and hospice care; 

rehabilitation centers, doctors' offices, dentists' offices, and 

chiropractors' offices; first responders services provided by 

police, fire, paramedic and emergency medical services 

providers, medical transport; contact tracers; correctional 

facilities, jails, detentions centers, and juvenile detention 

centers, etc.  

"Lower" exposure risk hazards or job tasks are those not 

otherwise classified as very high, high, or medium exposure 

risk that do not require contact inside six feet with persons 

known to be, or suspected of being, or who may be infected 

with SARS-CoV-2. Employees in this category have minimal 

occupational contact with other employees, other persons, or 

the general public, such as in an office building setting, or are 

able to achieve minimal occupational contact with others 

through the implementation of engineering, administrative and 

work practice controls, such as, but not limited to:  

1. Installation of floor to ceiling physical barriers 

constructed of impermeable material and not subject to 

unintentional displacement (e.g., such as clear plastic walls 

at convenience stores behind which only one employee is 

working at any one time); 

2. Telecommuting; 

3. Staggered work shifts that allow employees to maintain 

physical distancing from other employees, other persons, 

and the general public;  

4. Delivering services remotely by phone, audio, video, mail, 

package delivery, curbside pickup or delivery, etc., that 

allows employees to maintain physical distancing from other 

employees, other persons, and the general public; and 

5. Mandatory physical distancing of employees from other 

employees, other persons, and the general public. 

Employee use of face coverings for contact inside six feet of 

coworkers, customers, or other persons is not an acceptable 

administrative or work practice control to achieve minimal 

occupational contact.  

"Face covering" means an item made of two or more layers 

of washable, breathable fabric that fits snugly against the sides 

of the face without any gaps, completely covering the nose and 

mouth and fitting securely under the chin. Neck gaiters made 

of two or more layers of washable, breathable fabric, or folded 

to make two such layers are considered acceptable face 

coverings. Face coverings shall not have exhalation valves or 

vents, which allow virus particles to escape, and shall not be 

made of material that makes it hard to breathe, such as vinyl. 

A face covering is not a surgical/medical procedure mask or 

respirator. A face covering is not subject to testing and 

approval by a state or government agency, so it is not 

considered a form of personal protective equipment or 

respiratory protection equipment under VOSH laws, rules, 

regulations, and standards. 

"Face shield" means a form of personal protective equipment 

made of transparent, impermeable materials primarily used for 

eye protection from droplets or splashes for the person wearing 

it. A face shield is not a substitute for a face covering, 

surgical/medical procedure mask, or respirator.  

"Feasible" as used in this standard includes both technical and 

economic feasibility. 

"Filtering facepiece respirator" means a negative pressure air 

purifying particulate respirator with a filter as an integral part 

of the facepiece or with the entire facepiece composed of the 

filtering medium. Filtering facepiece respirators are certified 

for use by the National Institute for Occupational Safety and 

Health (NIOSH).  

"Hand sanitizer" means an alcohol-based hand rub containing 

at least 60% alcohol, unless otherwise provided for in this 

standard. 

"HIPAA" means Health Insurance Portability and 

Accountability Act. 

"Known to be infected with the SARS-CoV-2 virus" means a 

person, whether symptomatic or asymptomatic, who has tested 

positive for SARS-CoV-2, and the employer knew or with 

reasonable diligence should have known that the person has 

tested positive for SARS-CoV-2. 

"May be infected with SARS-CoV-2 virus" means any person 

not currently known or suspected to be infected with SARS-

CoV-2 virus. 

"Minimal occupational contact" means no or very limited, 

brief, and infrequent contact with employees or other persons 

at the place of employment. Examples include, but are not 

limited to, remote work (i.e., those working from home); 

employees with no more than brief contact with others inside 

six feet (e.g., passing another person in a hallway that does not 

allow physical distancing of six feet); health care employees 
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providing only telemedicine services; a long distance truck 

driver.  

"Occupational exposure" means the state of being actually or 

potentially exposed to contact with SARS-CoV-2 virus or 

COVID-19 disease related hazards at the work location or 

while engaged in work activities at another location. 

"Personal protective equipment" means equipment worn to 

minimize exposure to hazards that cause serious workplace 

injuries and illnesses. These injuries and illnesses may result 

from contact with chemical, radiological, physical, electrical, 

mechanical, biological, or other workplace hazards. Personal 

protective equipment for actual or potential exposure to SARS-

CoV-2 or COVID-19 exposure may include, but is not limited 

to, gloves, safety glasses, goggles, shoes, earplugs or muffs, 

hard hats, respirators, surgical/medical procedure masks, 

impermeable gowns or coveralls, face shields, vests, and full 

body suits. 

"Physical distancing" also called "social distancing" means a 

person keeping space between himself and other persons while 

conducting work-related activities inside and outside of the 

physical establishment by staying at least six feet from other 

persons. Physical separation of an employee from other 

employees or persons by a permanent, solid floor to ceiling 

wall (e.g., an office setting) constitutes one form of physical 

distancing from an employee or other person stationed on the 

other side of the wall, provided that six feet of travel distance 

is maintained from others around the edges or sides of the wall 

as well. 

"Respirator" means a protective device that covers the nose 

and mouth or the entire face or head to guard the wearer against 

hazardous atmospheres. Respirators are certified for use by the 

National Institute for Occupational Safety and Health 

(NIOSH). Respirators may be (i) tight-fitting, which means 

either a half mask that covers the mouth and nose or a full face 

piece that covers the face from the hairline to below the chin 

or (ii) loose-fitting, such as hoods or helmets that cover the 

head completely.  

There are two major classes of respirators:  

1. Air-purifying, which remove contaminants from the air; 

and 

2. Atmosphere-supplying, which provide clean, breathable 

air from an uncontaminated source. As a general rule, 

atmosphere-supplying respirators are used for more 

hazardous exposures. 

"Respirator user" means an employee who in the scope of 

their current job may be assigned to tasks that may require the 

use of a respirator in accordance with this standard or required 

by other provisions in the VOSH and OSHA standards. 

"SARS-CoV-2" means the novel virus that causes 

coronavirus disease 2019, or COVID-19. Coronaviruses are 

named for the crown-like spikes on their surfaces.  

"Severely immunocompromised" means a seriously 

weakened immune system that lowers the body's ability to 

fight infection and may increase the risk of getting severely 

sick from SARS-CoV-2, from being on chemotherapy for 

cancer, being within one year out from receiving a 

hematopoietic stem cell or solid organ transplant, untreated 

HIV infection with CD4 T lymphocyte count less than 200, 

combined primary immunodeficiency disorder, and receipt of 

prednisone greater than 20mg per day for more than 14 days. 

The degree of immunocompromise is determined by the 

treating provider, and preventive actions are tailored to each 

individual and situation. 

"Signs of COVID-19" are medical conditions that can be 

objectively observed and may include fever, trouble breathing 

or shortness of breath, cough, vomiting, new confusion, bluish 

lips or face, etc. 

"Surgical/medical procedure mask" means a mask to be worn 

over the wearer's nose and mouth that is fluid resistant and 

provides the wearer protection against large droplets, splashes, 

or sprays of bodily or other hazardous fluids, and prevents the 

wearer from exposing others in the same fashion. A 

surgical/medical procedure mask protects others from the 

wearer's respiratory emissions. A surgical/medical procedure 

mask has a looser fitting face seal than a tight-fitting respirator. 

A surgical/medical procedure mask does not provide the 

wearer with a reliable level of protection from inhaling smaller 

airborne particles. A surgical/medical procedure mask is 

considered a form of personal protective equipment, but is not 

considered respiratory protection equipment under VOSH 

laws, rules, regulations, and standards. Testing and approval is 

cleared by the U.S. Food and Drug Administration (FDA). 

"Suspected to be infected with SARS-CoV-2 virus" means a 

person who has signs or symptoms of COVID-19 but has not 

tested positive for SARS-CoV-2, and no alternative diagnosis 

has been made (e.g., tested positive for influenza). 

"Symptomatic" means a person is experiencing signs or 

symptoms attributed to COVID-19. A person may become 

symptomatic two to 14 days after exposure to the SARS-CoV-

2 virus. 

"Symptoms of COVID-19" are medical conditions that are 

subjective to the person and not observable to others and may 

include chills, fatigue, muscle or body aches, headache, new 

loss of taste or smell, sore throat, nausea, congestion or runny 

nose, or diarrhea, etc. 

"Technical feasibility" means the existence of technical 

know-how as to materials and methods available or adaptable 

to specific circumstances that can be applied to one or more 

requirements in this standard with a reasonable possibility that 

employee exposure to the SARS-CoV-2 virus and COVID-19 

disease hazards will be reduced. If an employer's level of 

compliance lags significantly behind that of the employer's 
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industry, allegations of technical infeasibility will not be 

accepted. 

"USBC" means Virginia Uniform Statewide Building Code. 

"VDH" means Virginia Department of Health. 

"VOSH" means Virginia Occupational Safety and Health. 

"Work practice control" means a type of administrative 

control by which the employer modifies the manner in which 

the employee performs assigned work. Such modification may 

result in a reduction of exposure to SARS-CoV-2 virus and 

COVID-19 disease related workplace hazards and job tasks 

through such methods as changing work habits, improving 

sanitation and hygiene practices, or making other changes in 

the way the employee performs the job. 

16VAC25-220-40. Mandatory requirements for all 

employers.  

A. Employers shall ensure compliance with the requirements 

in this section to protect employees in all exposure risk levels 

from workplace exposure to the SARS-CoV-2 virus that causes 

the COVID-19 disease. 

B. Exposure assessment and determination, notification 

requirements, and employee access to exposure and medical 

records. 

1. Employers shall assess their workplace for hazards and 

job tasks that can potentially expose employees to the 

SARS-CoV-2 virus or COVID-19 disease. Employers shall 

classify each job task according to the hazards employees 

are potentially exposed to and ensure compliance with the 

applicable sections of this standard for very high, high, 

medium, or lower risk levels of exposure. Tasks that are 

similar in nature and expose employees to the same hazard 

may be grouped for classification purposes. 

2. Employers shall inform employees of the methods of and 

encourage employees to self-monitor for signs and 

symptoms of COVID-19 if employees suspect possible 

exposure or are experiencing signs or symptoms of illness. 

3. Serological testing, also known as antibody testing, is a 

test to determine if persons have been infected with SARS-

CoV-2 virus. It has not been determined that persons who 

test positive for the presence of antibodies by serological 

testing are immune from infection. 

a. Serologic test results shall not be used to make decisions 

about returning employees to work who were previously 

classified as known or suspected to be infected with the 

SARS-CoV-2 virus. 

b. Serologic test results shall not be used to make decisions 

concerning employees who were previously classified as 

known or suspected to be infected with the SARS-CoV-2 

virus about grouping, residing in, or being admitted to 

congregate settings, such as schools, dormitories, etc. 

4. Employers shall develop and implement policies and 

procedures for employees to report when they are 

experiencing signs or symptoms consistent with COVID-19, 

and no alternative diagnosis has been made (e.g., tested 

positive for influenza). Such employees shall be designated 

by the employer as "suspected to be infected with SARS-

CoV-2 virus." 

5. Employers shall not permit employees or other persons 

known or suspected to be infected with SARS-CoV-2 virus 

to report to or remain at the work site or engage in work at a 

customer or client location until cleared for return to work 

(see subsection C of this section). Nothing in this standard 

shall prohibit an employer from permitting an employee 

known or suspected to be infected with SARS-CoV-2 virus 

from engaging in teleworking or other form of work 

isolation that would not result in potentially exposing other 

employees to the SARS-CoV-2 virus.  

6. Employers shall discuss with subcontractors and 

companies that provide contract or temporary employees the 

importance and requirement to exclude from work 

employees or other persons (e.g., volunteers) who are known 

or suspected to be infected with the SARS-CoV-2 virus. 

Subcontractor, contract, or temporary employees known or 

suspected to be infected with the SARS-CoV-2 virus shall 

not report to or be allowed to remain at the work site until 

cleared for return to work. Subcontractors shall not allow 

their employees known or suspected to be infected with the 

SARS-CoV-2 virus to report to or be allowed to remain at 

work or on a job site until cleared for return to work. 

7. To the extent permitted by law, including HIPAA, 

employers shall establish a system to receive reports of 

positive SARS-CoV-2 tests by employees, subcontractors, 

contract employees, and temporary employees (excluding 

patients hospitalized on the basis of being known or 

suspected to be infected with SARS-CoV-2 virus) present at 

the place of employment within two days prior to symptom 

onset (or positive test if the employee is asymptomatic) until 

10 days after onset (or positive test). Employers shall notify: 

a. The employer's own employees who may have been 

exposed, within 24 hours of discovery of the employees' 

possible exposure, while keeping confidential the identity 

of the person known to be infected with SARS-CoV-2 

virus in accordance with the requirements of the 

Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) and other 

applicable federal and Virginia laws and regulations; 

b. In the same manner as subdivision 7 a of this subsection, 

other employers whose employees were present at the 

work site during the same time period;  

c. In the same manner as subdivision 7 a of this subsection, 

the building or facility owner. The building or facility 

owner will require all employer tenants to notify the owner 

of the occurrence of a SARS-CoV-2-positive test for any 

employees or residents in the building. This notification 
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will allow the owner to take the necessary steps to sanitize 

the common areas of the building. In addition, the building 

or facility owner will notify all employer tenants in the 

building that one or more cases have been discovered and 

the floor or work area where the case was located. The 

identity of the individual will be kept confidential in 

accordance with the requirements of the Americans with 

Disabilities Act (ADA) and other applicable federal and 

Virginia laws and regulations;  

d. The Virginia Department of Health during a declaration 

of an emergency by the Governor pursuant to § 44-146.17 

of the Code of Virginia. Every employer as defined by § 

40.1-2 of the Code of Virginia shall report to the Virginia 

Department of Health (VDH) when the work site has had 

two or more confirmed cases of COVID-19 of its own 

employees present at the place of employment within a 14-

day period testing positive for SARS-CoV-2 virus during 

that 14-day time period. Employers shall make such a 

report in a manner specified by VDH, including name, 

date of birth, and contact information of each case, within 

24 hours of becoming aware of such cases. Employers 

shall continue to report all cases until the local health 

department has closed the outbreak. After the outbreak is 

closed, subsequent identification of two or more 

confirmed cases of COVID-19 during a declared 

emergency shall be reported, as required by this 

subdivision B 7 d. The following employers are exempt 

from this provision because of separate outbreak reporting 

requirements contained in 12VAC5-90-90: any residential 

or day program, service, or facility licensed or operated by 

any agency of the Commonwealth, school, child care 

center, or summer camp; and 

e. The Virginia Department of Labor and Industry within 

24 hours of the discovery of three or more of its own 

employees present at the place of employment within a 14-

day period testing positive for SARS-CoV-2 virus during 

that 14-day time period. A reported positive SARS-CoV-

2 test does not need to be reported more than once and will 

not be used for the purpose of identifying more than one 

grouping of three or more cases, or more than one 14-day 

period. 

8. Employers shall ensure employee access to the 

employee's own SARS-CoV-2 virus and COVID-19 disease 

related exposure and medical records in accordance with the 

standard applicable to its industry. Employers in the 

agriculture, public sector marine terminal, and public sector 

longshoring industries shall ensure employees' access to the 

employees' own SARS-CoV-2 virus and COVID-19 disease 

related exposure and medical records in accordance with 

16VAC25-90-1910.1020, Access to Employee Exposure 

and Medical Records. 

C. Return to work. Employers shall develop and implement 

policies and procedures for employees known or suspected to 

be infected with the SARS-CoV-2 virus to return to work.  

1. Symptomatic employees known or suspected to be 

infected with the SARS-CoV-2 virus are excluded from 

returning to work until all three of the following conditions 

have been met:  

a. The employee is fever-free (below 100.0° F) for at least 

24 hours, without the use of fever-reducing medications;  

b. Respiratory symptoms, such as cough and shortness of 

breath have improved; and  

c. At least 10 days have passed since symptoms first 

appeared.  

However, a limited number of employees with severe illness 

may produce replication-competent virus beyond 10 days 

that may warrant extending duration of isolation for up to 20 

days after symptom onset. Employees who are severely 

immunocompromised may require testing to determine 

when they can return to work, and the employer shall 

consider consultation with infection control experts. VOSH 

will consult with VDH when identifying severe employee 

illnesses that may warrant extended duration of isolation or 

severely immunocompromised employees required to 

undergo testing. 

2. Employees known to be infected with SARS-CoV-2 who 

never develop signs or symptoms are excluded from 

returning to work until 10 days after the date of their first 

positive RT-PCR test for SARS-CoV-2 RNA. 

3. For purposes of this section, COVID-19 testing is 

considered a "medical examination" under § 40.1-28 of the 

Code of Virginia. Employers shall not require employees to 

pay for the cost of COVID-19 testing for return to work 

determinations. If an employer's health insurance covers the 

entire cost of COVID-19 testing, use of the insurance 

coverage would not be considered a violation of this 

subdivision C 3. 

D. Unless otherwise provided in this standard, employers 

shall establish and implement policies and procedures that 

ensure employees observe physical distancing while on the job 

and during paid breaks on the employer's property, including 

policies and procedures that: 

1. Use verbal announcements, signage, or visual cues to 

promote physical distancing. 

2. Decrease worksite density by limiting non-employee 

access to the place of employment or restrict access to only 

certain workplace areas to reduce the risk of exposure. An 

employer's compliance with occupancy limits contained in 

any applicable Virginia executive order or order of public 

health emergency will constitute compliance with the 

requirements in this subsection. 

E. Access to common areas, breakrooms, or lunchrooms shall 

be closed or controlled. If the nature of an employer's work or 

the work area does not allow employees to consume meals in 

the employee's workspace while observing physical 
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distancing, an employer may designate, reconfigure, and 

alternate usage of spaces where employees congregate, 

including lunch and break rooms, locker rooms, time clocks, 

etc., with controlled access, provided the following conditions 

are met: 

1. At the entrance of the designated common area or room, 

employers shall clearly post the policy limiting the 

occupancy of the space and requirements for physical 

distancing, hand washing and hand sanitizing, and cleaning 

and disinfecting of shared surfaces. 

2. Employers shall limit occupancy of the designated 

common area or room so that occupants can maintain 

physical distancing from each other. Employers shall 

enforce the occupancy limit. 

3. Employees shall be required to clean and disinfect the 

immediate area in which they were located prior to leaving, 

or employers may provide for cleaning and disinfecting of 

the common area or room at regular intervals throughout the 

day and between shifts of employees using the same 

common area or room (i.e., where an employee or groups of 

employees have a designated lunch period and the common 

area or room can be cleaned in between occupancies). 

4. Handwashing facilities, and hand sanitizer where feasible, 

are available to employees. Hand sanitizers required for use 

to protect against SARS-CoV-2 are flammable and use and 

storage in hot environments can result in a hazard. 

F. When multiple employees are occupying a vehicle for 

work purposes, employers shall use the hierarchy of hazard 

controls to mitigate the hazards associated with SARS-CoV-2 

and COVID-19 to prevent employee exposures in the 

following order: 

1. Eliminate the need for employees to share work vehicles 

and arrange for alternative means for additional employees 

to travel to work sites. 

2. Provide access to fresh air ventilation (e.g., windows). Do 

not recirculate cabin air.  

3. When physical distancing cannot be maintained, establish 

procedures to maximize separation between employees 

during travel (e.g., setting occupancy limits, sitting in 

alternate seats, etc.). 

4. When employees must share work vehicles because no 

other alternatives are available, employees shall be provided 

with respiratory protection, such as an N95 filtering face 

piece respirator. The employer shall ensure compliance with 

respiratory protection and personal protective equipment 

standards applicable to the employer's industry. 

5. Until adequate supplies of respiratory protection and/or 

personal protective equipment become readily available for 

non-medical and non-first responder employers and 

employees, employers shall provide and employees shall 

wear face coverings while occupying a work vehicle with 

other employees or persons.  

Notwithstanding anything to the contrary in this standard, 

the Secretary of Commerce and Trade may exercise 

discretion in the enforcement of an employer's failure to 

provide PPE required by this standard, if the employer 

demonstrates that the employer:  

a. Is exercising due diligence to come into compliance 

with such requirement; and 

b. Is implementing alternative methods and measures to 

protect employees that are satisfactory to the Secretary of 

Commerce and Trade after consultation with the 

commissioner and the Secretary of Health and Human 

Services. 

G. Where the nature of an employee's work or the work area 

does not allow the employee to observe physical distancing 

requirements, employers shall ensure compliance with 

respiratory protection and personal protective equipment 

standards applicable to its industry.  

H. When it is necessary for employees solely exposed to 

lower risk hazards or job tasks to have brief contact with others 

inside six feet (e.g., passing another person in a hallway that 

does not allow physical distancing of six feet), a face covering 

is required. 

I. When required by this standard, face coverings shall be 

worn over the wearer's nose and mouth and extend under the 

chin. 

J. Nothing in this standard shall require the use of a respirator, 

surgical/medical procedure mask, or face covering by any 

employee for whom doing so would be contrary to the 

employee's health or safety because of a medical condition; 

however, nothing in this standard shall negate an employer's 

obligations to comply with personal protective equipment and 

respiratory protection standards applicable to its industry.  

1. Although face shields are not considered a substitute for 

face coverings as a method of source control and not used as 

a replacement for face coverings among people without 

medical contraindications, face shields may provide some 

level of protection against contact with respiratory droplets. 

In situations where a face covering cannot be worn due to 

medical contraindications, employers shall provide and 

employees shall wear either: 

a. A face shield that wraps around the sides of the wearer's 

face and extends below the chin; or 

b. A hooded face shield. 

2. To the extent feasible, employees wearing face shields in 

accordance with this subsection shall observe physical 

distancing requirements in this standard. 
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3. Face shield wearers shall wash their hands before and after 

removing the face shield and avoid touching their eyes, nose, 

and mouth when removing it. 

4. Disposable face shields shall only be worn for a single use 

and disposed of according to manufacturer instructions. 

5. Reusable face shields shall be cleaned and disinfected 

after each use according to manufacturer instructions. 

K. Requests to the Department of Labor and Industry for 

religious waivers from the required use of respirators, 

surgical/medical procedure masks, or face coverings will be 

handled in accordance with the requirements of applicable 

federal and state law, standards, regulations and the U.S. and 

Virginia Constitutions, after Department of Labor and Industry 

consultation with the Office of the Attorney General. 

L. Sanitation and disinfecting. 

1. In addition to the requirements contained in this standard, 

employers shall comply with the VOSH sanitation standard 

applicable to its industry.  

2. Employees that interact with customers, the general 

public, contractors, and other persons shall be provided with 

and immediately use supplies to clean and disinfectant 

surfaces contacted during the interaction where there is the 

potential for exposure to the SARS-CoV-2 virus by 

themselves or other employees. 

3. In addition to the requirements contained in this standard, 

employers shall comply with the VOSH hazard 

communication standard applicable to the employers' 

industry for cleaning and disinfecting materials and hand 

sanitizers. 

4. Areas in the place of employment where employees or 

other persons known or suspected to be infected with the 

SARS-CoV-2 virus accessed or worked shall be cleaned and 

disinfected prior to allowing other employees access to the 

areas. Where feasible, a period of 24 hours will be observed 

prior to cleaning and disinfecting. This requirement shall not 

apply if the areas in question have been unoccupied for 

seven or more days. 

5. All common spaces, including bathrooms (including port-

a-johns, privies, etc.), frequently touched surfaces, and 

doors, shall at a minimum be cleaned and disinfected at least 

once during or at the end of the shift. Where multiple shifts 

are employed, such spaces shall be cleaned and disinfected 

no less than once every 12 hours.  

6. All shared tools, equipment, workspaces, and vehicles 

shall be cleaned and disinfected prior to transfer from one 

employee to another.  

7. Employers shall ensure that cleaning and disinfecting 

products are readily available to employees to accomplish 

the required cleaning and disinfecting. In addition, 

employers shall ensure use of only disinfecting chemicals 

and products indicated in the Environmental Protection 

Agency (EPA) List N for use against SARS-CoV-2, or non-

EPA-registered disinfectants that otherwise meet the EPA 

criteria for use against SARS-CoV-2. 

8. Employers shall ensure that the manufacturer's 

instructions for use of all disinfecting chemicals and 

products are complied with (e.g., concentration, application 

method, contact time, PPE, etc.). 

9. Employees shall have easy, frequent access and 

permission to use soap and water, and hand sanitizer where 

feasible, for the duration of work. Employees assigned to a 

work station where job tasks require frequent interaction 

inside six feet with other persons shall be provided with hand 

sanitizer where feasible at the employees work station.  

10. Mobile crews shall be provided with hand sanitizer 

where feasible for the duration of work at a work site or 

client or customer location and shall have transportation 

immediately available to nearby toilet facilities and 

handwashing facilities that meet the requirements of VOSH 

laws, standards, and regulations dealing with sanitation. 

Hand sanitizers required for use to protect against SARS-

CoV-2 are flammable, and use and storage in hot 

environments can result in a hazard. 

11. It is recognized that various hazards or job tasks at the 

same place of employment can be designated as very high, 

high, medium, or lower as presenting potential exposure risk 

for purposes of application of the requirements of this 

standard. In situations other than emergencies, employers 

shall ensure that protective measures are put in place to 

prevent cross-contamination between tasks, areas, and 

personnel. 

M. Unless otherwise provided in this standard, when 

engineering, work practice, and administrative controls are not 

feasible or do not provide sufficient protection, employers shall 

provide personal protective equipment to their employees and 

ensure the equipment's proper use in accordance with VOSH 

laws, standards, and regulations applicable to personal 

protective equipment, including respiratory protection 

equipment. 

16VAC25-220-50. Requirements for hazards or job tasks 

classified as very high or high exposure risk.  

A. The requirements in this section for employers with 

hazards or job tasks classified as very high or high exposure 

risk apply in addition to requirements contained in 16VAC25-

220-40, 16VAC25-220-70, and 16VAC25-220-80. 

B. Engineering controls. 

1. Employers shall ensure that appropriate air-handling 

systems under their control: 

a. Are installed and maintained in accordance with the 

USBC and manufacturer's instructions in healthcare 

facilities and other places of employment treating, caring 
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for, or housing persons known or suspected to be infected 

with the SARS-CoV-2 virus; and  

b. Where feasible and within the design parameters of the 

system, are utilized as follows:  

(1) Increase total airflow supply to occupied spaces 

provided that a greater hazard is not created (e.g., airflow 

that is increased too much may make doors harder to open 

or may blow doors open); 

(2) In ground transportation settings, use natural 

ventilation to increase outdoor air dilution of inside air in 

a manner that will aid in mitigating the spread of SARS-

CoV-2 virus and COVID-19 disease transmission to 

employees, and when environmental conditions and 

transportation safety and health requirements allow; 

(3) Inspect filter housing and racks to ensure appropriate 

filter fit and check for ways to minimize filter bypass; 

(4) Increase air filtration to as high as possible in a manner 

that will still enable the system to provide airflow rates as 

the system design requires. Ensure compliance with 

higher filtration values is allowed by the air handler 

manufacturer's installation instructions and listing; 

(5) Generate clean-to-less-clean air movements by re-

evaluating the positioning of supply and exhaust air 

diffusers and/or dampers and adjusting zone supply and 

exhaust flow rates to establish measurable pressure 

differentials; 

(6) Have staff work in "clean" ventilation zones that do not 

include higher-risk areas such as visitor reception or 

exercise facilities (if open); 

(7) Ensure exhaust fans in restroom facilities are 

functional and operating continuously when the building 

is occupied; 

(8) If the system's design can accommodate such an 

adjustment and is allowed by the air handler 

manufacturer's installation instructions and listing, 

improve central air filtration to MERV-13 and seal edges 

of the filter to limit bypass; and 

(9) Check filters to ensure they are within service life and 

appropriately installed. 

c. Comply with USBC and applicable referenced 

American Society of Heating, Refrigerating and Air-

Conditioning Engineers (ASHRAE) Standards. 

2. For employers not covered by subdivision 1 of this 

subsection, ensure that air-handling systems where installed 

and under their control are appropriate to address the SARS-

CoV-2 virus and COVID-19 disease related hazards and job 

tasks that occur at the workplace: 

a. Are maintained in accordance with the manufacturer's 

instructions; and 

b. Comply with subdivisions 1 b and 1 c of this subsection. 

3. Hospitalized patients known or suspected to be infected 

with the SARS-CoV-2 virus, where feasible and available, 

shall be placed in airborne infection isolation room (AIIRs). 

4. Employers shall use AIIRs when available for performing 

aerosol-generating procedures on patients with known or 

suspected to be infected with the SARS-CoV-2 virus. 

5. For postmortem activities, employers shall use autopsy 

suites or other similar isolation facilities when performing 

aerosol-generating procedures on the bodies of persons 

known or suspected to be infected with the SARS-CoV-2 

virus at the time of their death. 

6. Employers shall use special precautions associated with 

Biosafety Level 3 (BSL-3), as defined by the U.S. 

Department of Health and Human Services Publication No. 

(CDC) 21-1112 Biosafety in Microbiological and 

Biomedical Laboratories" (Dec. 2009), which is hereby 

incorporated by reference, when handling specimens from 

patients or persons known or suspected to be infected with 

the SARS-CoV-2 virus. Diagnostic laboratories that conduct 

routine medical testing and environmental specimen testing 

for COVID-19 are not required to operate at BSL-3. 

7. To the extent feasible, employers shall install physical 

barriers, (e.g., clear plastic sneeze guards, etc.), where such 

barriers will aid in mitigating the spread of SARS-CoV-2 

virus and COVID-19 disease transmission. 

C. Administrative and work practice controls. 

1. Prior to the commencement of each work shift, 

prescreening or surveying shall be required to verify each 

covered employee does not have signs or symptoms of 

COVID-19. 

2. In health care facilities, employers shall follow existing 

guidelines and facility standards of practice for identifying 

and isolating infected persons and for protecting employees. 

3. Employers shall limit non-employee access to the place of 

employment or restrict access to only certain workplace 

areas to reduce the risk of exposure. An employer's 

compliance with occupancy limits contained in any 

applicable Virginia executive order or order of public health 

emergency will constitute compliance with the requirements 

of this subdivision C 3. 

4. Employers shall post signs requesting patients and family 

members to immediately report signs or symptoms of 

respiratory illness on arrival at the health care facility and 

use disposable face coverings. 

5. Employers shall offer enhanced medical monitoring of 

employees during COVID-19 outbreaks. 

6. To the extent feasible, an employer shall ensure that 

psychological and behavioral support is available to address 

employee stress at no cost to the employee. 
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7. In health care settings, employers shall provide alcohol-

based hand sanitizers containing at least 60% ethanol or 70% 

isopropanol to employees at fixed work sites and to 

emergency responders and other personnel for 

decontamination in the field when working away from fixed 

work sites. 

8. Employers shall provide face coverings to non-employees 

suspected to be infected with SARS-CoV-2 virus to contain 

respiratory secretions until the non-employees are able to 

leave the site (i.e., for medical evaluation and care or to 

return home).  

9. Where feasible, employers shall: 

a. Implement flexible work site (e.g., telework). 

b. Implement flexible work hours (e.g., staggered shifts). 

c. Increase physical distancing between employees at the 

work site to six feet. 

d. Increase physical distancing between employees and 

other persons to six feet. 

e. Implement flexible meeting and travel options (e.g., use 

telephone or video conferencing instead of in person 

meetings; postpone non-essential travel or events; etc.). 

f. Deliver services remotely (e.g. phone, video, internet, 

etc.). 

g. Deliver products through curbside pick-up.  

D. Personal protective equipment (PPE). Employers covered 

by this section and not otherwise covered by the VOSH 

Standards for General Industry (16VAC25-90-1910.132), shall 

comply with the following requirements for a SARS-CoV-2 

virus and COVID-19 disease-related hazard assessment and 

personal protective equipment selection: 

1. Employers shall assess the workplace to determine if 

SARS-CoV-2 virus or COVID-19 disease hazards or job 

tasks are present or are likely to be present that necessitate 

the use of personal protective equipment (PPE). Employers 

shall provide for employee and employee representative 

involvement in the assessment process. If such hazards or 

job tasks are present or likely to be present, employers shall:  

a. Except as otherwise required in the standard, select and 

have each affected employee use the types of PPE that will 

protect the affected employee from the SARS-CoV-2 

virus or COVID-19 disease hazards identified in the 

hazard assessment; 

b. Communicate selection decisions to each affected 

employee; and 

c. Select PPE that properly fits each affected employee. 

2. Employers shall verify that the required SARS-CoV-2 

virus and COVID-19 disease workplace hazard assessment 

has been performed through a written certification that 

identifies the workplace evaluated, the person certifying that 

the evaluation has been performed, the date of the hazard 

assessment, and the document as a certification of hazard 

assessment. 

3. Unless specifically addressed by an industry specific 

standard applicable to the employer and providing for PPE 

protections to employees from the SARS-CoV-2 virus or 

COVID-19 disease (e.g., 16VAC25-175-1926, 16VAC25-

190-1928, 16VAC25-100-1915, 16VAC25-120-1917, or 

16VAC25-130-1918), the requirements of 16VAC25-90-

1910.132 (General requirements) and 16VAC25-90-

1910.134 (Respiratory protection) shall apply to all 

employers for that purpose. 

4. Unless contraindicated by a hazard assessment and 

equipment selection requirements in subdivision 1 of this 

subsection, employees classified as very high or high 

exposure risk shall be provided with and wear gloves, a 

gown, a face shield or goggles, and a respirator when in 

contact with or inside six feet of patients or other persons 

known to be or suspected of being infected with SARS-CoV-

2. Gowns shall be the correct size to assure protection. 

16VAC25-220-60. Requirements for hazards or job tasks 

classified at medium exposure risk.  

A. The requirements in this section for employers with 

hazards or job tasks classified as medium exposure risk apply 

in addition to requirements contained in 16VAC25-220-40, 

16VAC25-70, and 16VAC25-80. 

B. Engineering controls. 

1. Employers shall ensure that air-handling systems under 

their control:  

a. Are maintained in accordance with the manufacturer's 

instructions; and  

b. Where feasible and within the design parameters of the 

system, are utilized as follows:  

(1) Increase total airflow supply to occupied spaces 

provided that a greater hazard is not created (e.g., airflow 

that is increased too much may make doors harder to open 

or may blow doors open); 

(2) In ground transportation settings, use natural 

ventilation to increase outdoor air dilution of inside air in 

a manner that will aid in mitigating the spread of SARS-

CoV-2 virus and COVID-19 disease transmission to 

employees and when environmental conditions and 

transportation safety and health requirements allow; 

(3) Inspect filter housing and racks to ensure appropriate 

filter fit and check for ways to minimize filter bypass; 

(4) Increase air filtration to as high as possible in a manner 

that will still enable the system to provide airflow rates as 

the system design requires. Ensure compliance with 

higher filtration values is allowed by the air handler 

manufacturer's installation instructions and listing; 

(5) Generate clean-to-less-clean air movements by re-

evaluating the positioning of supply and exhaust air 
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diffusers and/or dampers and adjusting zone supply and 

exhaust flow rates to establish measurable pressure 

differentials; 

(6) Have staff work in "clean" ventilation zones that do not 

include higher-risk areas such as visitor reception or 

exercise facilities (if open); 

(7) Ensure exhaust fans in restroom facilities are 

functional and operating continuously when the building 

is occupied; 

(8) If the system's design can accommodate such an 

adjustment and is allowed by the air handler 

manufacturer's installation instructions and listing, 

improve central air filtration to MERV-13 and seal edges 

of the filter to limit bypass; and 

(9) Check filters to ensure they are within service life and 

appropriately installed. 

c. Comply with USBC and applicable referenced 

American Society of Heating, Refrigerating and Air-

Conditioning Engineers (ASHRAE) Standards. 

2. Where feasible, employers shall Install physical barriers 

(e.g., such as clear plastic sneeze guards, etc.), where such 

barriers will aid in mitigating the spread of SARS-CoV-2 

virus transmission.  

C. Administrative and work practice controls. To the extent 

feasible, employers shall implement the following 

administrative and work practice controls: 

1. Prior to the commencement of each work shift, 

prescreening or surveying shall be required to verify each 

covered employee does not have signs or symptoms of 

COVID-19. 

2. Provide face coverings to non-employees suspected to be 

infected with SARS-CoV-2 to contain respiratory secretions 

until the non-employees are able to leave the site (i.e., for 

medical evaluation and care or to return home). 

3. Implement flexible work site (e.g., telework). 

4. Implement flexible work hours (e.g., staggered shifts). 

5. Increase physical distancing between employees at the 

work site to six feet. 

6. Increase physical distancing between employees and other 

persons, including customers, to six feet (e.g., drive-through 

physical barriers) where such barriers will aid in mitigating 

the spread of SARS-CoV-2 virus transmission, etc.  

7. Implement flexible meeting and travel options (e.g., using 

telephone or video conferencing instead of in person 

meetings; postponing non-essential travel or events; etc.). 

8. Deliver services remotely (e.g. phone, video, internet, 

etc.). 

9. Deliver products through curbside pick-up or delivery. 

10. Employers shall provide and require employees to wear 

face coverings who, because of job tasks, cannot feasibly 

practice physical distancing from another employee or other 

person if the hazard assessment has determined that personal 

protective equipment, such as respirators or surgical/medical 

procedure masks, was not required for the job task. 

11. Employers shall provide and require employees in 

customer or other person facing jobs to wear face coverings. 

D. Personal protective equipment. Employers covered by this 

section and not otherwise covered by the VOSH Standards for 

General Industry (16VAC25-90-1910.132) shall comply with 

the requirements of this subsection for a SARS-CoV-2 virus 

and COVID-19 disease related hazard assessment and personal 

protective equipment selection. 

1. Employers shall assess the workplace to determine if 

SARS-CoV-2 virus or COVID-19 disease hazards or job 

tasks are present or are likely to be present that necessitate 

the use of personal protective equipment (PPE). Employers 

shall provide for employee and employee representative 

involvement in the assessment process. If such hazards or 

job tasks are present or likely to be present, employers shall: 

a. Except as otherwise required in the standard, select and 

have each affected employee use the types of PPE that will 

protect the affected employee from the SARS-CoV-2 

virus or COVID-19 disease hazards identified in the 

hazard assessment; 

b. Communicate selection decisions to each affected 

employee; and 

c. Select PPE that properly fits each affected employee. 

2. Employers shall verify that the required SARS-CoV-2 

virus and COVID-19 disease workplace hazard assessment 

has been performed through a written certification that 

identifies the workplace evaluated; the person certifying that 

the evaluation has been performed; the date of the hazard 

assessment; and the document as a certification of hazard 

assessment. 

3. Unless specifically addressed by an industry specific 

standard applicable to the employer and providing for PPE 

protections to employees from the SARS-CoV-2 virus or 

COVID-19 disease (e.g., 16VAC25-175-1926, 16VAC25-

190-1928, 16VAC25-100-1915, 16VAC25-120-1917, or 

16VAC25-130-1918), the requirements of 16VAC25-90-

1910.132 (General requirements) and 16VAC25-90-

1910.134 (Respiratory protection) shall apply to all 

employers for that purpose. 

4. PPE ensembles for employees in the medium exposure 

risk category will vary by work task, the results of the 

employer's hazard assessment, and the types of exposures 

employees have on the job.  
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16VAC25-220-70. Infectious disease preparedness and 

response plan.  

A. Employers with hazards or job tasks classified as: 

1. Very high and high shall develop and implement a written 

Infectious Disease Preparedness and Response Plan; 

2. Medium with 11 or more employees shall develop and 

implement a written Infectious Disease Preparedness and 

Response Plan. 

B. The plan and training requirements tied to the plan shall 

only apply to those employees classified as very high, high, 

and medium covered by this section. 

C. Employers shall designate a person to be responsible for 

implementing their plan. The plan shall: 

1. Identify the name or title of the person responsible for 

administering the plan. This person shall be knowledgeable 

in infection control principles and practices as the principles 

and practices apply to the facility, service, or operation. 

2. Provide for employee involvement in development and 

implementation of the plan. 

3. Consider and address the level of SARS-CoV-2 virus and 

COVID-19 disease risk associated with various places of 

employment, the hazards employees are exposed to at those 

sites, and job tasks employees perform at those sites. Such 

considerations shall include: 

a. Where, how, and to what sources of the SARS-CoV-2 

virus or COVID-19 disease might employees be exposed 

at work, including: 

(1) The general public, customers, other employees, 

patients, and other persons; 

(2) Persons known or suspected to be infected with the 

SARS-CoV-2 virus or those at particularly high risk of 

COVID-19 infection (e.g., local, state, national, and 

international travelers who have visited locations with 

ongoing COVID-19 community transmission and health 

care employees who have had unprotected exposures to 

persons known or suspected to be infected with SARS-

CoV-2 virus);  

(3) Situations where employees work more than one job 

with different employers and encounter hazards or engage 

in job tasks that present a very high, high, or medium level 

of exposure risk; and 

(4) Situations where employees work during higher risk 

activities involving potentially large numbers of people or 

enclosed work areas such as at large social gatherings, 

weddings, funerals, parties, restaurants, bars, hotels, 

sporting events, concerts, parades, movie theaters, rest 

stops, airports, bus stations, train stations, cruise ships, 

river boats, airplanes, etc. 

b. To the extent permitted by law, including HIPAA, 

employees' individual risk factors for severe disease. For 

example, people of any age with one or more of the 

following conditions are at increased risk of severe illness 

from COVID-19: chronic kidney disease; COPD (chronic 

obstructive pulmonary disease); immunocompromised 

state (weakened immune system) from solid organ 

transplant; obesity (body mass index or BMI of 30 or 

higher); serious heart conditions, such as heart failure, 

coronary artery disease, or cardiomyopathies; sickle cell 

disease; or type 2 diabetes mellitus. Also, for example, 

people with one or more of the following conditions might 

be at an increased risk for severe illness from COVID-19: 

asthma (moderate-to-severe); cerebrovascular disease 

(affects blood vessels and blood supply to the brain); 

cystic fibrosis; hypertension or high blood pressure; 

immunocompromised state (weakened immune system) 

from blood or bone marrow transplant, immune 

deficiencies, HIV, use of corticosteroids, or use of other 

immune weakening medicines; neurologic conditions, 

such as dementia; liver disease; pregnancy; pulmonary 

fibrosis (having damaged or scarred lung tissues); 

smoking; thalassemia (a type of blood disorder); type 1 

diabetes mellitus; etc. The risk for severe illness from 

COVID-19 also increases with age. 

c. Engineering, administrative, work practice, and 

personal protective equipment controls necessary to 

address those risks. 

4. Consider and address contingency plans for situations that 

may arise as a result of outbreaks that impact employee 

safety and health, such as: 

a. Increased rates of employee absenteeism (an 

understaffed business can be at greater risk for accidents); 

b. The need for physical distancing, staggered work shifts, 

downsizing operations, delivering services remotely, and 

other exposure-reducing workplace control measures such 

as elimination and substitution, engineering controls, 

administrative and work practice controls, and personal 

protective equipment (e.g., respirators, surgical/medical 

procedure masks, etc.); 

c. Options for conducting essential operations in a safe and 

healthy manner with a reduced workforce; and 

d. Interrupted supply chains or delayed deliveries of safety 

and health related products and services essential to 

business operations. 

5. Identify infection prevention measures to be 

implemented: 

a. Promote frequent and thorough hand washing, including 

by providing employees, customers, visitors, the general 

public, and other persons to the place of employment with 

a place to wash their hands. If soap and running water are 

not immediately available, provide hand sanitizers. 

b. Maintain regular housekeeping practices, including 

routine cleaning and disinfecting of surfaces, equipment, 

and other elements of the work environment. 
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c. Establish policies and procedures for managing and 

educating visitors about the procedures at the place of 

employment. 

6. Provide for the prompt identification and isolation of 

employees known or suspected to be infected with the 

SARS-CoV-2 virus away from work, including procedures 

for employees to report when they are experiencing signs or 

symptoms of COVID-19. 

7. Address infectious disease preparedness and response 

with outside businesses, including, but not limited to, 

subcontractors who enter the place of employment, 

businesses that provide contract or temporary employees to 

the employer, and other persons accessing the place of 

employment to comply with the requirements of this 

standard and the employer's plan. 

8. Identify the mandatory and non-mandatory 

recommendations in any CDC guidelines or Commonwealth 

of Virginia guidance documents the employer is complying 

with, if any, in lieu of a provision of this standard, as 

provided for in 16VAC25-220-10 E, F, and G. 

16VAC25-220-80. Training.  

A. Employers with hazards or job tasks classified as very 

high, high, or medium exposure risk at a place of employment 

shall provide training on the hazards and characteristics of the 

SARS-CoV-2 virus and COVID-19 disease to all employees 

working at the place of employment regardless of employee 

risk classification. The training program shall enable each 

employee to recognize the hazards of the SARS-CoV-2 virus 

and signs and symptoms of COVID-19 disease and shall train 

each employee in the procedures to be followed in order to 

minimize these hazards. 

B. The training required under subsection A of this section 

shall include: 

1. The requirements of this standard; 

2. The mandatory and non-mandatory provisions in any 

applicable CDC guidelines or Commonwealth of Virginia 

guidance documents the employer is complying with, if any, 

in lieu of a provision of this standard as provided for in 

16VAC25-220-10 E, F, and G; 

3. The characteristics and methods of transmission of the 

SARS-CoV-2 virus; 

4. The signs and symptoms of COVID-19 disease; 

5. Risk factors for severe COVID-19 illness including 

underlying health conditions and advancing age; 

6. Awareness of the ability of persons pre-symptomatically 

and asymptomatically infected with SARS-CoV-2 to 

transmit the SARS-CoV-2 virus; 

7. Safe and healthy work practices, including, but not limited 

to, physical distancing, the wearing of face coverings, 

disinfection procedures, disinfecting frequency, ventilation, 

noncontact methods of greeting, etc.;  

8. Personal protective equipment (PPE): 

a. When PPE is required; 

b. What PPE is required; 

c. How to properly don, doff, adjust, and wear PPE; 

d. The limitations of PPE; 

e. The proper care, maintenance, useful life, and disposal 

of PPE;  

f. Strategies to extend PPE usage during periods when 

supplies are not available and no other options are 

available for protection, as long as the extended use of the 

PPE does not pose any increased risk of exposure. The 

training to extend PPE usage shall include the conditions 

of extended PPE use, inspection criteria of the PPE to 

determine whether it can or cannot be used for an extended 

period, and safe storage requirements for PPE used for an 

extended period; and 

g. Heat-related illness prevention including the signs and 

symptoms of heat-related illness associated with the use of 

COVID-19 PPE and face coverings; 

9. The anti-discrimination provisions in 16VAC25-220-90; 

and 

10. The employer's Infectious Disease Preparedness and 

Response Plan, where applicable. 

C. Employers covered by 16VAC25-220-50 shall verify 

compliance with 16VAC25-220-80 A by preparing a written 

certification record for those employees exposed to hazards or 

job tasks classified as very high, high, or medium exposure risk 

levels.  

1. The written certification record shall contain: 

a. The name or other unique identifier of the employee 

trained;  

b. The trained employee's physical or electronic signature;  

c. The date of the training; and  

d. The name of the person who conducted the training, or 

for computer-based training, the name of the person or 

entity that prepared the training materials.  

2. A physical or electronic signature is not necessary if other 

documentation of training completion can be provided (e.g., 

electronic certification through a training system, security 

precautions that enable the employer to demonstrate that 

training was accessed by passwords and usernames unique 

to each employee, etc.). 

3. If an employer relies on training conducted by another 

employer, the certification record shall indicate the date the 

employer determined the prior training was adequate rather 

than the date of actual training. 
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4. The latest training or retraining certification shall be 

maintained. 

D. When an employer has reason to believe that any affected 

employee who has already been trained does not have the 

understanding and skill required by 16VAC25-220-80 A, the 

employer shall retrain each such employee. Circumstances 

where retraining is required include, but are not limited to, 

situations where: 

1. Changes in the workplace, SARS-CoV-2 virus or 

COVID-19 disease hazards exposed to, or job tasks 

performed render previous training obsolete;  

2. Changes are made to the employer's Infectious Disease 

Preparedness and Response Plan; or 

3. Inadequacies in an affected employee's knowledge or use 

of workplace control measures indicate that the employee 

has not retained the requisite understanding or skill. 

E. Employers with hazards or job tasks classified at lower risk 

shall provide written or oral information to employees exposed 

to such hazards or engaged in such job tasks on the hazards and 

characteristics of SARS-CoV-2 and the symptoms of COVID-

19 and measures to minimize exposure. The Department of 

Labor and Industry shall develop an information sheet 

containing information on the items listed in subsection F of 

this section, which an employer may utilize to comply with this 

subsection. 

F. The information required under subsection E of this section 

shall include at a minimum: 

1. The requirements of this standard; 

2. The characteristics and methods of transmission of the 

SARS-CoV-2 virus; 

3. The signs and symptoms of COVID-19 disease; 

4. The ability of persons pre-symptomatically and 

asymptomatically infected with SARS-CoV-2 to transmit 

the SARS-CoV-2 virus; 

5. Safe and healthy work practices and control measures, 

including, but not limited to, physical distancing, the 

benefits of wearing face coverings, sanitation and 

disinfection practices; and 

6. The anti-discrimination provisions of this standard in 

16VAC25-220-90. 

16VAC25-220-90. Discrimination against an employee for 

exercising rights under this standard is prohibited.  

A. No person shall discharge or in any way discriminate 

against an employee because the employee has exercised rights 

under the safety and health provisions of this standard, Title 

40.1 of the Code of Virginia, and implementing regulations 

under 16VAC25-60-110 for themselves or others. 

B. No person shall discharge or in any way discriminate 

against an employee who voluntarily provides and wears the 

employee's own personal protective equipment, including, but 

not limited to, a respirator, face shield, gown, or gloves, 

provided that the PPE does not create a greater hazard to the 

employee or create a serious hazard for other employees. In 

situations where face coverings are not provided by the 

employer, no person shall discharge or in any way discriminate 

against an employee who voluntarily provides and wears the 

employee's own face covering that meets the requirements of 

this standard, provided that the face covering does not create a 

greater hazard to the employee or create a serious hazard for 

other employees. Nothing in this subsection shall be construed 

to prohibit an employer from establishing and enforcing legally 

permissible dress code or similar requirements addressing the 

exterior appearance of personal protective equipment or face 

coverings. 

C. No person shall discharge or in any way discriminate 

against an employee who raises a reasonable concern about 

infection control related to the SARS-CoV-2 virus and 

COVID-19 disease to the employer, the employer's agent, 

other employees, a government agency, or to the public such 

as through print, online, social, or any other media. 

D. Nothing in this standard shall limit an employee from 

refusing to do work or enter a location because of a reasonable 

fear of illness or death. The requirements of 16VAC25-60-110 

contain the applicable requirements concerning discharge or 

discipline of an employee who has refused to complete an 

assigned task because of a reasonable fear of illness or death.  

DOCUMENTS INCORPORATED BY REFERENCE 

(16VAC25-220) 

List N Products with Emerging Viral Pathogens and Human 

Coronavirus claims for use against SARS-CoV-2, U.S. 

Environmental Protection Agency, Date Accessed July 20, 

2020, www.epa.gov 

Biosafety in Microbiological and Biomedical Laboratories, 

5th Edition, HHS Publication No. (CDC) 21-112, revised 

December 2009, U.S. Department of Health and Human 

Services, Public Health Service, Centers for Disease Control 

and Prevention, National Institutes of Health 

VA.R. Doc. No. R20-6457; Filed January 25, 2021, 1:00 p.m. 

  ––––––––––––––––––  

http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=2a955006457~10.pdf&typ=40&actno=006457&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=2a955006457~10.pdf&typ=40&actno=006457&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=90050006457~2s.pdf&typ=40&actno=006457&mime=application/pdf
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TITLE 18. PROFESSIONAL AND 
OCCUPATIONAL LICENSING 

BOARD OF DENTISTRY 

Final Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC60-21. Regulations Governing 

the Practice of Dentistry (amending 18VAC60-21-10, 

18VAC60-21-260 through 18VAC60-21-301). 

Statutory Authority: § 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: March 17, 2021. 

Agency Contact: Sandra Reen, Executive Director, Board of 

Dentistry, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, Richmond, VA 

23233, telephone (804) 367-4437, FAX (804) 527-4428, or 

email sandra.reen@dhp.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendments include (i) clarification of supervision of 

certified registered nurse anesthetists; (ii) clarification that 

the regulations address administration to patients of any 

age, but that the specific guidelines for pediatric patients 

should be consulted when practicing pediatric dentistry; (iii) 

a requirement for a focused physician examination to be 

included in the patient evaluation for administration of 

controlled substances; (iv) allowances for special needs 

patients in the evaluation for, administration of, and 

monitoring of sedation and anesthesia with documentation 

in the patient record of the extenuating circumstances that 

necessitate exceptions to regulatory requirements; (v) 

clarification of the requirements for minimal sedation and 

inclusion of oxygen saturation with pulse oximeter as 

required equipment; (vi) requirements that the dentist must 

follow requirements for the level of sedation that has been 

induced and that administration of one drug in excess of 

recommended dosage, or of two or more drugs, exceeds 

minimal sedation; (vii) clarification that no sedating 

medication can be administered to a child 12 years or 

younger prior to arrival at the dental office; (viii) 

clarification of use of the terms "continuously" and 

"continually"; (ix) consideration of extenuating patient 

circumstances in the monitoring and discharge 

requirements; (x) addition of oxygen saturation levels to the 

monitoring requirements; (xi) clarification that 

requirements for moderate sedation or deep/general 

anesthesia must be followed by the dentist if the dentist 

administers controlled substances or if the dentist provides 

it in dentist office with someone else doing the 

administration; and (xiii) requirement of a longer period of 

monitoring if a pharmacological reversal agent has been 

administered.  

Summary of Public Comments and Agency's Response: A 

summary of comments made by the public and the agency's 

response may be obtained from the promulgating agency or 

viewed at the office of the Registrar of Regulations. 

18VAC60-21-10. Definitions. 

A. The following words and terms when used in this chapter 

shall have the meanings ascribed to them in § 54.1-2700 of the 

Code of Virginia: 

"Board" 

"Dental hygiene" 

"Dental hygienist" 

"Dentist" 

"Dentistry" 

"License" 

"Maxillofacial" 

"Oral and maxillofacial surgeon" 

B. The following words and terms when used in this chapter 

shall have the following meanings unless the context clearly 

indicates otherwise: 

"AAOMS" means the American Association of Oral and 

Maxillofacial Surgeons. 

"ADA" means the American Dental Association. 

"Advertising" means a representation or other notice given 

to the public or members thereof, directly or indirectly, by a 

dentist on behalf of himself, his facility, his partner or 

associate, or any dentist affiliated with the dentist or his 

facility by any means or method for the purpose of inducing 

purchase, sale, or use of dental methods, services, 

treatments, operations, procedures, or products, or to 

promote continued or increased use of such dental methods, 

treatments, operations, procedures, or products. 

"CODA" means the Commission on Dental Accreditation of 

the American Dental Association. 

"Code" means the Code of Virginia. 

"Dental assistant I" means any unlicensed person under the 

direction of a dentist or a dental hygienist who renders 

assistance for services provided to the patient as authorized 

under this chapter but shall not include an individual serving 

in purely an administrative, secretarial, or clerical capacity. 

"Dental assistant II" means a person under the direction and 

direct supervision of a dentist who is registered by the board 

to perform reversible, intraoral procedures as specified in 

18VAC60-21-150 and 18VAC60-21-160. 

"Mobile dental facility" means a self-contained unit in which 

dentistry is practiced that is not confined to a single building 

and can be transported from one location to another. 

"Nonsurgical laser" means a laser that is not capable of 

cutting or removing hard tissue, soft tissue, or tooth 

structure. 

mailto:sandra.reen@dhp.virginia.gov
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"Portable dental operation" means a nonfacility in which 

dental equipment used in the practice of dentistry is 

transported to and utilized on a temporary basis at an out-of-

office location, including patients' homes, schools, nursing 

homes, or other institutions. 

"Radiographs" means intraoral and extraoral radiographic 

images of hard and soft tissues used for purposes of 

diagnosis. 

C. The following words and terms relating to supervision as 

used in this chapter shall have the following meanings unless 

the context clearly indicates otherwise: 

"Direct supervision" means that the dentist examines the 

patient and records diagnostic findings prior to delegating 

restorative or prosthetic treatment and related services to a 

dental assistant II for completion the same day or at a later 

date. The dentist prepares the tooth or teeth to be restored 

and remains immediately available in the office to the dental 

assistant II for guidance or assistance during the delivery of 

treatment and related services. The dentist examines the 

patient to evaluate the treatment and services before the 

patient is dismissed. 

"Direction" means the level of supervision (i.e., immediate, 

direct, indirect, or general) that a dentist is required to 

exercise with a dental hygienist, a dental assistant I, or a 

dental assistant II, or a certified registered nurse anesthetist 

or the level of supervision that a dental hygienist is required 

to exercise with a dental assistant to direct and oversee the 

delivery of treatment and related services. 

"General supervision" means that a dentist completes a 

periodic comprehensive examination of the patient and 

issues a written order for hygiene treatment that states the 

specific services to be provided by a dental hygienist during 

one or more subsequent appointments when the dentist may 

or may not be present. Issuance of the order authorizes the 

dental hygienist to supervise a dental assistant performing 

duties delegable to dental assistants I. 

"Immediate supervision" means the dentist is in the 

operatory to supervise the administration of sedation or 

provision of treatment. 

"Indirect supervision" means the dentist examines the 

patient at some point during the appointment and is 

continuously present in the office to advise and assist a 

dental hygienist or, a dental assistant, or a certified registered 

nurse anesthetist who is (i) delivering hygiene treatment, (ii) 

preparing the patient for examination or treatment by the 

dentist, or (iii) preparing the patient for dismissal following 

treatment, or (iv) administering topical local anesthetic, 

sedation, or anesthesia as authorized by law or regulation. 

"Remote supervision" means that a supervising dentist is 

accessible and available for communication and consultation 

with a dental hygienist during the delivery of dental hygiene 

services but such dentist may not have conducted an initial 

examination of the patients who are to be seen and treated 

by the dental hygienist and may not be present with the 

dental hygienist when dental hygiene services are being 

provided. For the purpose of practice by a public health 

dental hygienist, "remote supervision" means that a public 

health dentist has regular, periodic communications with a 

public health dental hygienist regarding patient treatment, 

but such dentist may not have conducted an initial 

examination of the patients who are to be seen and treated 

by the dental hygienist and may not be present with the 

dental hygienist when dental hygiene services are being 

provided. 

D. The following words and terms relating to sedation or 

anesthesia as used in this chapter shall have the following 

meanings unless the context clearly indicates otherwise: 

"Analgesia" means the diminution or elimination of pain. 

"Continual" or "continually" means repeated regularly and 

frequently in a steady succession. 

"Continuous" or "continuously" means prolonged without 

any interruption at any time. 

"Deep sedation" means a drug-induced depression of 

consciousness during which patients cannot be easily 

aroused but respond purposefully following repeated or 

painful stimulation. Reflex withdrawal from a painful 

stimulus is not considered a purposeful response. The ability 

to independently maintain ventilatory function may be 

impaired. Patients may require assistance in maintaining a 

patent airway, and spontaneous ventilation may be 

inadequate. Cardiovascular function is usually maintained. 

"General anesthesia" means a drug-induced loss of 

consciousness during which patients are not arousable, even 

by painful stimulation. The ability to independently maintain 

ventilator function is often impaired. Patients often require 

assistance in maintaining a patent airway, and positive 

pressure ventilation may be required because of depressed 

spontaneous ventilation or drug-induced depression of 

neuromuscular function. Cardiovascular function may be 

impaired. 

"Inhalation" means a technique of administration in which a 

gaseous or volatile agent, including nitrous oxide, is 

introduced into the pulmonary tree and whose primary effect 

is due to absorption through the pulmonary bed. 

"Inhalation analgesia" means the inhalation of nitrous oxide 

and oxygen to produce a state of reduced sensation of pain 

with minimal alteration of consciousness. 

"Local anesthesia" means the elimination of sensation, 

especially pain, in one part of the body by the topical 

application or regional injection of a drug. 
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"Minimal sedation" means a drug-induced state during 

which patients respond normally to verbal commands. 

Although cognitive function and physical coordination may 

be impaired, airway reflexes, and ventilator and 

cardiovascular functions are unaffected. Minimal sedation 

includes "anxiolysis" (the the diminution or elimination of 

anxiety through the use of pharmacological agents in a 

dosage that does not cause depression of consciousness) 

consciousness and includes "inhalation analgesia" when 

used in combination with any anxiolytic such sedating agent 

administered prior to or during a procedure. 

"Moderate sedation" means a drug-induced depression of 

consciousness, during which patients respond purposefully 

to verbal commands, either alone or accompanied by light 

tactile stimulation. Reflex withdrawal from a painful 

stimulus is not considered a purposeful response. No 

interventions are required to maintain a patent airway, and 

spontaneous ventilation is adequate. Cardiovascular 

function is usually maintained. 

"Monitoring" means to observe, interpret, assess, and record 

appropriate physiologic functions of the body during 

sedative procedures and general anesthesia appropriate to 

the level of sedation as provided in Part VI (18VAC60-21-

260 et seq.) of this chapter. 

"Parenteral" means a technique of administration in which 

the drug bypasses the gastrointestinal tract (i.e., 

intramuscular, intravenous, intranasal, submucosal, 

subcutaneous, or intraocular). 

"Provide" means, in the context of regulations for moderate 

sedation or deep sedation/general anesthesia, to supply, give, 

or issue sedating medications. A dentist who does not hold 

the applicable permit cannot be the provider of moderate 

sedation or deep sedation/general anesthesia. 

"Titration" means the incremental increase in drug dosage to 

a level that provides the optimal therapeutic effect of 

sedation. 

"Topical oral anesthetic" means any drug, available in 

creams, ointments, aerosols, sprays, lotions, or jellies, that 

can be used orally for the purpose of rendering the oral 

cavity insensitive to pain without affecting consciousness. 

Part VI 

Controlled Substances, Sedation, and Anesthesia 

18VAC60-21-260. General provisions. 

A. Application of Part VI. of this chapter: 

This part applies 1. Applies to prescribing, dispensing, and 

administering controlled substances in dental offices, mobile 

dental facilities, and portable dental operations and shall not 

apply to administration by a dentist practicing in (i) a 

licensed hospital as defined in § 32.1-123 of the Code, (ii) a 

state-operated hospital, or (iii) a facility directly maintained 

or operated by the federal government. 

2. Addresses the minimum requirements for administration 

to patients of any age. Guidelines for Monitoring and 

Management of Pediatric Patients During and After Sedation 

for Diagnostic and Therapeutic Procedures, issued by the 

American Academy of Pediatrics and American Academy of 

Pediatric Dentistry, should be consulted when practicing 

pediatric dentistry. 

B. Registration required. Any dentist who prescribes, 

administers, or dispenses Schedules II through V controlled 

drugs substances must hold a current registration with the 

federal Drug Enforcement Administration. 

C. Patient evaluation required. 

1. An appropriate medical history and patient evaluation, 

including medication use and a focused physical exam, shall 

be performed before the decision to administer controlled 

substances for dental treatment is made. The decision to 

administer controlled drugs substances for dental treatment 

must be based on a documented evaluation of the health 

history and current medical condition of the patient in 

accordance with the Class I through V risk category 

classifications of the American Society of Anesthesiologists 

(ASA) in effect at the time of treatment. The findings of the 

evaluation, the ASA risk assessment class assigned, and any 

special considerations must be recorded in the patient's 

record. 

2. Any level of sedation and general anesthesia may be 

provided for a patient who is ASA Class I and Class II. 

3. A patient in ASA Class III shall only be provided minimal 

sedation, moderate sedation, deep sedation, or general 

anesthesia by: 

a. A dentist after he has documented a consultation with 

the patient's primary care physician or other medical 

specialist regarding potential risks and special monitoring 

requirements that may be necessary; 

b. An oral and maxillofacial surgeon who has performed a 

physical evaluation and documented the findings and the 

ASA risk assessment category of the patient and any 

special monitoring requirements that may be necessary; or 

c. A person licensed under Chapter 29 (§ 54.1-2900 et 

seq.) of Title 54.1 of the Code who has a specialty in 

anesthesia. 

4. Minimal sedation may only be provided for a patient who 

is in ASA Class IV by: 

a. A dentist after he has documented a consultation with 

the patient's primary care physician or other medical 

specialist regarding potential risks and special monitoring 

requirements that may be necessary; or 

b. An oral and maxillofacial surgeon who has performed a 

physical evaluation and documented the findings and the 

ASA risk assessment category of the patient and any 

special monitoring requirements that may be necessary. 



Regulations 

Volume 37, Issue13  Virginia Register of Regulations  February 15, 2021  

1395 

5. Moderate sedation, deep sedation, or general anesthesia 

shall not be provided in a dental office for patients in ASA 

Class IV and Class V. 

D. Additional requirements for patient information and 

records. In addition to the record requirements in 18VAC60-

21-90, when moderate sedation, deep sedation, or general 

anesthesia is administered, the patient record shall also include: 

1. Notation of the patient's American Society of 

Anesthesiologists classification; 

2. Review of medical history and current conditions, 

including the patient's weight and height or, if appropriate, 

the body mass index; 

3. Written informed consent for administration of sedation 

and anesthesia and for the dental procedure to be performed; 

4. Preoperative vital signs; 

5. A record of the name, dose, and strength of drugs and 

route of administration including the administration of local 

anesthetics with notations of the time sedation and 

anesthesia were administered; 

6. Monitoring records of all required vital signs and 

physiological measures recorded every five minutes 

continually; and 

7. A list of staff participating in the administration, 

treatment, and monitoring including name, position, and 

assigned duties. 

E. Pediatric patients. No sedating medication shall be 

prescribed for or administered administration to a patient 12 

years of age or younger prior to his arrival at the dentist office 

or treatment facility. 

F. Informed written consent. Prior to administration of any 

level of sedation or general anesthesia, the dentist shall discuss 

the nature and objectives of the planned level of sedation or 

general anesthesia along with the risks, benefits, and 

alternatives and shall obtain informed, written consent from the 

patient or other responsible party for the administration and for 

the treatment to be provided. The written consent must be 

maintained in the patient record. 

G. Level of sedation. The determinant for the application of 

the rules for any level of sedation or for general anesthesia shall 

be the degree of sedation or consciousness level of a patient 

that should reasonably be expected to result from the type, 

strength, and dosage of medication, the method of 

administration, and the individual characteristics of the patient 

as documented in the patient's record. The drugs and 

techniques used must carry a margin of safety wide enough to 

render the unintended reduction of or loss of consciousness 

unlikely, factoring in titration and the patient's age, weight, and 

ability to metabolize drugs. 

H. Emergency management. 

1. If a patient enters a deeper level of sedation than the 

dentist is qualified and prepared to provide, the dentist shall 

stop the dental procedure until the patient returns to and is 

stable at the intended level of sedation. 

2. A dentist in whose office sedation or anesthesia is 

administered shall have written basic emergency procedures 

established and staff trained to carry out such procedures. 

I. Ancillary personnel. Dentists who employ unlicensed, 

ancillary personnel to assist in the administration and 

monitoring of any form of minimal sedation, moderate 

sedation, deep sedation, or general anesthesia shall maintain 

documentation that such personnel have: 

1. Training and hold current certification in basic 

resuscitation techniques with hands-on airway training for 

health care providers, such as Basic Cardiac Life Support for 

Health Professionals or a clinically oriented course devoted 

primarily to responding to clinical emergencies offered by 

an approved provider of continuing education as set forth in 

18VAC60-21-250 C; or 

2. Current certification as a certified anesthesia assistant 

(CAA) by the American Association of Oral and 

Maxillofacial Surgeons or the American Dental Society of 

Anesthesiology (ADSA). 

J. Assisting in administration. A dentist, consistent with the 

planned level of administration (i.e., local anesthesia, minimal 

sedation, moderate sedation, deep sedation, or general 

anesthesia) and appropriate to his education, training, and 

experience, may utilize the services of a dentist, 

anesthesiologist, certified registered nurse anesthetist, dental 

hygienist, dental assistant, or nurse to perform functions 

appropriate to such practitioner's education, training, and 

experience and consistent with that practitioner's respective 

scope of practice. 

K. Patient monitoring. 

1. A dentist may delegate monitoring of a patient to a dental 

hygienist, dental assistant, or nurse who is under his 

direction or to another dentist, anesthesiologist, or certified 

registered nurse anesthetist. The person assigned to monitor 

the patient shall be continuously in the presence of the 

patient in the office, operatory, and recovery area (i) before 

administration is initiated or immediately upon arrival if the 

patient self-administered a sedative agent, (ii) throughout the 

administration of drugs, (iii) throughout the treatment of the 

patient, and (iv) throughout recovery until the patient is 

discharged by the dentist. 

2. The person monitoring the patient shall: 

a. Have the patient's entire body in sight; 

b. Be in close proximity so as to speak with the patient; 
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c. Converse with the patient to assess the patient's ability 

to respond in order to determine the patient's level of 

sedation; 

d. Closely observe the patient for coloring, breathing, level 

of physical activity, facial expressions, eye movement, 

and bodily gestures in order to immediately recognize and 

bring any changes in the patient's condition to the attention 

of the treating dentist; and 

e. Read, report, and record the patient's vital signs and 

physiological measures. 

L. A dentist who allows the administration of general 

anesthesia, deep sedation, or moderate sedation in his dental 

office is responsible for assuring that: 

1. The equipment for administration and monitoring, as 

required in subsection B of 18VAC60-21-291 or subsection 

C of 18VAC60-21-301, is readily available and in good 

working order prior to performing dental treatment with 

anesthesia or sedation. The equipment shall either be 

maintained by the dentist in his office or provided by the 

anesthesia or sedation provider; and 

2. The person administering the anesthesia or sedation is 

appropriately licensed and the staff monitoring the patient is 

qualified. 

M. Special needs patients. If a patient is mentally or 

physically challenged, and it is not possible to have a 

comprehensive physical examination or appropriate laboratory 

tests prior to administering care, the dentist is responsible for 

documenting in the patient record the reasons preventing the 

recommended preoperative management. In selected 

circumstances, sedation or general anesthesia may be utilized 

without establishing an intravenous line. These selected 

circumstances include very brief procedures or periods of time, 

which may occur in some patients; or the establishment of 

intravenous access after deep sedation or general anesthesia 

has been induced because of poor patient cooperation. 

18VAC60-21-270. Administration of local anesthesia. 

A dentist may administer or use the services of the following 

personnel to administer local anesthesia: 

1. A dentist; 

2. An anesthesiologist; 

3. A certified registered nurse anesthetist under his medical 

the dentist's direction and indirect supervision; 

4. A dental hygienist with the training required by 

18VAC60-25-100 C to parenterally administer Schedule VI 

local anesthesia to persons 18 years of age or older under his 

indirect supervision; 

5. A dental hygienist to administer Schedule VI topical oral 

anesthetics under indirect supervision or under his order for 

such treatment under general supervision; or 

6. A dental assistant or a registered or licensed practical 

nurse to administer Schedule VI topical oral anesthetics 

under indirect supervision. 

18VAC60-21-279. Administration of only inhalation 

analgesia (nitrous oxide) oxide only). 

A. Education and training requirements. A dentist who 

utilizes nitrous oxide shall have training in and knowledge of: 

1. The appropriate use and physiological effects of nitrous 

oxide, the potential complications of administration, the 

indicators for complications, and the interventions to address 

the complications. 

2. The use and maintenance of the equipment required in 

subsection D of this section. 

B. No sedating medication shall be prescribed for or 

administered administration to a patient 12 years of age or 

younger prior to his the patient's arrival at the dental office or 

treatment facility. 

C. Delegation of administration. 

1. A qualified dentist may administer or use the services of 

the following personnel to administer nitrous oxide: 

a. A dentist; 

b. An anesthesiologist; 

c. A certified registered nurse anesthetist under his 

medical the dentist's direction and indirect supervision; 

d. A dental hygienist with the training required by 

18VAC60-25-100 B and under indirect supervision; or 

e. A registered nurse upon his direct instruction and under 

immediate supervision. 

2. Preceding the administration of nitrous oxide, a dentist 

may use the services of the following personnel working 

under indirect supervision to administer local anesthesia to 

numb an injection or treatment site: 

a. A dental hygienist with the training required by 

18VAC60-25-100 C to parenterally administer Schedule 

VI local anesthesia to persons 18 years of age or older; or 

b. A dental hygienist, dental assistant, registered nurse, or 

licensed practical nurse to administer Schedule VI topical 

oral anesthetics. 

D. Equipment requirements. A dentist who utilizes nitrous 

oxide only or who directs the administration by another 

licensed health professional as permitted in subsection C of this 

section shall maintain the following equipment in working 

order and immediately available to the areas where patients 

will be sedated and treated and will recover: 

1. Blood pressure monitoring equipment; 

2. Source of delivery of oxygen under controlled positive 

pressure; 
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3. Mechanical (hand) respiratory bag; and 

4. Suction apparatus; and 

5. Oxygen saturation with pulse oximeter, unless 

extenuating circumstances exist and are documented in the 

patient's record. 

E. Required staffing. When only nitrous oxide/oxygen is 

administered, a second person in the operatory is not required. 

Either the dentist or qualified dental hygienist under the 

indirect supervision of a dentist may administer the nitrous 

oxide/oxygen and treat and monitor the patient. 

F. Monitoring requirements. 

1. Baseline vital signs, to include blood pressure and heart 

rate, shall be taken and recorded prior to administration of 

nitrous oxide analgesia, intraoperatively as necessary, and 

prior to discharge, unless extenuating circumstances exist 

and are documented in the patient's record. 

2. Continual clinical observation of the patient's 

responsiveness, color, respiratory rate, and depth of 

ventilation shall be performed. 

3. Once the administration of nitrous oxide has begun, the 

dentist shall ensure that a licensed health care professional 

or a person qualified in accordance with 18VAC60-21-260 I 

monitors the patient at all times until discharged as required 

in subsection G of this section. 

4. Monitoring shall include making the proper adjustments 

of nitrous oxide/oxygen machines at the request of or by the 

dentist or by another qualified licensed health professional 

identified in subsection C of this section. Only the dentist or 

another qualified licensed health professional identified in 

subsection C of this section may turn the nitrous 

oxide/oxygen machines on or off. 

5. Upon completion of nitrous oxide administration, the 

patient shall be administered 100% oxygen for a minimum 

of five minutes to minimize the risk of diffusion hypoxia. 

G. Discharge requirements. 

1. The dentist shall not discharge a patient until he exhibits 

baseline responses in a post-operative evaluation of the level 

of consciousness. Vital signs, to include blood pressure and 

heart rate, shall be taken and recorded prior to discharge, 

unless extenuating circumstances exist and are documented 

in the patient's record. 

2. Post-operative instructions shall be given verbally and in 

writing. The written instructions shall include a 24-hour 

emergency telephone number. 

3. Pediatric patients shall be discharged with a responsible 

individual who has been instructed with regard to the 

patient's care. 

18VAC60-21-280. Administration of minimal sedation. 

A. Education and training requirements. A dentist who 

utilizes minimal sedation shall have training in and knowledge 

of: 

1. The medications used, the appropriate dosages, the 

potential complications of administration, the indicators for 

complications, and the interventions to address the 

complications. 

2. The physiological effects of minimal sedation, the 

potential complications of administration, the indicators for 

complications, and the interventions to address the 

complications. 

3. The use and maintenance of the equipment required in 

subsection D of this section. 

B. No sedating medication shall be prescribed for or 

administered administration to a patient 12 years of age or 

younger prior to his the patient's arrival at the dental office or 

treatment facility. 

C. Delegation of administration. 

1. A qualified dentist may administer or use the services of 

the following personnel to administer minimal sedation: 

a. A dentist; 

b. An anesthesiologist; 

c. A certified registered nurse anesthetist under his 

medical the dentist's direction and indirect supervision; 

d. A dental hygienist with the training required by 

18VAC60-25-100 C B only for administration of nitrous 

oxide/oxygen with the dentist present in the operatory 

under indirect supervision; or 

e. A registered nurse upon his direct instruction and under 

immediate supervision. 

2. Preceding the administration of minimal sedation, a 

dentist may use the services of the following personnel 

working under indirect supervision to administer local 

anesthesia to numb an injection or treatment site: 

a. A dental hygienist with the training required by 

18VAC60-25-100 C to parenterally administer Schedule 

VI local anesthesia to persons 18 years of age or older; or 

b. A dental hygienist, dental assistant, registered nurse, or 

licensed practical nurse to administer Schedule VI topical 

oral anesthetics. 

3. If minimal sedation is self-administered by or to a patient 

13 years of age or older before arrival at the dental office or 

treatment facility, the dentist may only use the personnel 

listed in subdivision 1 of this subsection to administer local 

anesthesia.  

D. Equipment requirements. A dentist who utilizes minimal 

sedation or who directs the administration by another licensed 
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health professional as permitted in subsection C of this section 

shall maintain the following equipment in working order and 

immediately available to the areas where patients will be 

sedated and treated and will recover: 

1. Blood pressure monitoring equipment; 

2. Source of delivery of oxygen under controlled positive 

pressure; 

3. Mechanical (hand) respiratory bag; 

4. Suction apparatus; and 

5. Pulse oximeter. 

E. Required staffing. The treatment team for minimal 

sedation shall consist of the dentist and a second person in the 

operatory with the patient to assist the dentist and monitor the 

patient. The second person shall be a licensed health care 

professional or a person qualified in accordance with 

18VAC60-21-260 I. 

F. Monitoring requirements. 

1. Baseline vital signs to include blood pressure, respiratory 

rate, and heart rate, and oxygen saturation shall be taken and 

recorded prior to administration of sedation and prior to 

discharge. 

2. Blood pressure, oxygen saturation, respiratory rate, and 

pulse shall be monitored continuously continually during the 

procedure unless extenuating circumstances exist and are 

documented in the patient's record. 

3. Once the administration of minimal sedation has begun by 

any route of administration, the dentist shall ensure that a 

licensed health care professional or a person qualified in 

accordance with 18VAC60-21-260 I monitors the patient at 

all times until discharged as required in subsection G of this 

section. 

4. If nitrous Nitrous oxide/oxygen is may be used in addition 

to any with one other pharmacological agent, monitoring 

shall include making the proper adjustments of nitrous 

oxide/oxygen machines at the request of or by the dentist or 

by another qualified licensed health professional identified 

in subsection C of this section. Only the dentist or another 

qualified licensed health professional identified in 

subsection C of this section may turn the nitrous 

oxide/oxygen machines on or off in the recommended 

dosage for minimal sedation. If deeper levels of sedation are 

produced, the regulations for the induced level shall be 

followed. The administration of one drug in excess of the 

maximum recommended dose or of two or more drugs, with 

or without nitrous oxide, exceeds minimal sedation and 

requires compliance with the regulations for the level of 

sedation induced. 

5. Monitoring shall include making the proper adjustments 

of nitrous oxide/oxygen machines at the request of or by the 

dentist or by another qualified licensed health professional 

identified in subsection C of this section. Only the dentist or 

another qualified licensed health professional identified in 

subsection C of this section may turn the nitrous 

oxide/oxygen machines on or off. 

6. If any other pharmacological agent is used in addition to 

nitrous oxide/oxygen and a local anesthetic, requirements 

for the induced level of sedation must be met. 

G. Discharge requirements. 

1. The dentist shall not discharge a patient until he exhibits 

baseline responses in a post-operative evaluation of the level 

of consciousness. Vital signs, to include blood pressure, 

respiratory rate, and heart rate, and oxygen saturation shall 

be taken and recorded prior to discharge unless extenuating 

circumstances exist and are documented in the patient's 

record. 

2. Post-operative instructions shall be given verbally and in 

writing. The written instructions shall include a 24-hour 

emergency telephone number. 

3. Pediatric patients shall be discharged with a responsible 

individual who has been instructed with regard to the 

patient's care. 

18VAC60-21-290. Requirements for a moderate sedation 

permit. 

A. No dentist may employ or use provide or administer 

moderate sedation in a dental office unless he has been issued 

a permit by the board. The requirement for a permit shall not 

apply to an oral and maxillofacial surgeon who maintains 

membership in the American Association of Oral and 

Maxillofacial Surgeons (AAOMS) and who provides the board 

with reports that result from the periodic office examinations 

required by AAOMS. Such an oral and maxillofacial surgeon 

shall be required to post a certificate issued by AAOMS. 

B. Automatic qualification. Dentists who hold a current 

permit to administer deep sedation and general anesthesia may 

administer moderate sedation. 

C. To determine eligibility for a moderate sedation permit, a 

dentist shall submit the following: 

1. A completed application form; 

2. The application fee as specified in 18VAC60-21-40; 

3. A copy of a transcript, certification, or other 

documentation of training content that meets the educational 

and training qualifications as specified in subsection D of 

this section; and 

4. A copy of current certification in advanced cardiac life 

support (ACLS) or pediatric advanced life support (PALS) 

as required in subsection E of this section. 
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D. Education requirements for a permit to administer 

moderate sedation. A dentist may be issued a moderate 

sedation permit to administer by any method by meeting one 

of the following criteria: 

1. Completion of training for this treatment modality 

according to the ADA's Guidelines for Teaching Pain 

Control and Sedation to Dentists and Dental Students in 

effect at the time the training occurred, while enrolled in an 

accredited dental program or while enrolled in a post-

doctoral university or teaching hospital program; or 

2. Completion of a continuing education course that meets 

the requirements of 18VAC60-21-250 and consists of (i) 60 

hours of didactic instruction plus the management of at least 

20 patients per participant, (ii) demonstration of competency 

and clinical experience in moderate sedation, and (iii) 

management of a compromised airway. The course content 

shall be consistent with the ADA's Guidelines for Teaching 

Pain Control and Sedation to Dentists and Dental Students 

in effect at the time the training occurred. 

E. Additional training required. Dentists who administer 

moderate sedation shall: 

1. Hold current certification in advanced resuscitation 

techniques with hands-on simulated airway and megacode 

training for health care providers, such as ACLS or PALS 

as evidenced by a certificate of completion posted with the 

dental license; and 

2. Have current training in the use and maintenance of the 

equipment required in 18VAC60-21-291. 

18VAC60-21-291. Requirements for administration of 

moderate sedation. 

A. Delegation of administration. 

1. A dentist who does not hold a permit to provide or 

administer moderate sedation shall only use utilize the 

services of a qualified dentist [ or, ] an anesthesiologist [ , or 

a certified registered nurse anesthetist ] to administer such 

sedation in a dental office. [ In a licensed outpatient surgery 

center, a dentist who does not hold a permit to provide or 

administer moderate sedation shall ] use [ utilize a qualified 

dentist, an anesthesiologist, or a certified registered nurse 

anesthetist to administer such sedation. ]  

2. A dentist who holds a permit may administer or use the 

services of the following personnel to administer moderate 

sedation: 

a. A dentist with the training required by 18VAC60-21-

290 D to administer by any method and who holds a 

moderate sedation permit; 

b. An anesthesiologist; 

c. A certified registered nurse anesthetist under the 

medical direction and indirect supervision of a dentist who 

meets the training requirements of 18VAC60-21-290 D 

and holds a moderate sedation permit or under the 

supervision of a doctor of medicine or osteopathic 

medicine; or 

d. A registered nurse upon his the dentist's direct 

instruction and under the immediate supervision of a 

dentist who meets the training requirements of 18VAC60-

21-290 D and holds a moderate sedation permit. 

3. If minimal sedation is self-administered by or to a patient 

13 years of age or older before arrival at the dental office, 

the dentist may only use the personnel listed in subdivision 

2 of this subsection to administer local anesthesia. No 

sedating medication shall be prescribed for or administered 

administration to a patient 12 years of age or younger prior 

to his the patient's arrival at the dentist office or treatment 

facility. 

4. Preceding the administration of moderate sedation, a 

permitted dentist may use the services of the following 

personnel under indirect supervision to administer local 

anesthesia to anesthetize the injection or treatment site: 

a. A dental hygienist with the training required by 

18VAC60-25-100 C to parenterally administer Schedule 

VI local anesthesia to persons 18 years of age or older; or 

b. A dental hygienist, dental assistant, registered nurse, or 

licensed practical nurse to administer Schedule VI topical 

oral anesthetics. 

5. A dentist who delegates administration of moderate 

sedation shall ensure that: 

a. All equipment required in subsection B of this section 

is present, in good working order, and immediately 

available to the areas where patients will be sedated and 

treated and will recover; and 

b. Qualified staff is on site to monitor patients in 

accordance with requirements of subsection D of this 

section. 

B. Equipment requirements. A dentist who provides or 

administers or who utilizes a qualified anesthesia provider to 

administer moderate sedation shall have available the 

following equipment in sizes for adults or children as 

appropriate for the patient being treated and shall maintain it in 

working order and immediately available to the areas where 

patients will be sedated and treated and will recover: 

1. Full face mask or masks; 

2. Oral and nasopharyngeal airway management adjuncts; 

3. Endotracheal tubes with appropriate connectors or other 

appropriate airway management adjunct such as a laryngeal 

mask airway; 

4. A laryngoscope with reserve batteries and bulbs and 

appropriately sized laryngoscope blades; 

5. Pulse oximetry; 

6. Blood pressure monitoring equipment; 
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7. Pharmacologic antagonist agents; 

8. Source of delivery of oxygen under controlled positive 

pressure; 

9. Mechanical (hand) respiratory bag; 

10. Appropriate emergency drugs for patient resuscitation; 

11. Electrocardiographic monitor if a patient is receiving 

parenteral administration of sedation or if the dentist is using 

titration; 

12. Defibrillator; 

13. Suction apparatus; 

14. Temperature measuring device; 

15. Throat pack Airway protective device; 

16. Precordial or pretracheal stethoscope; and 

17. An end-tidal carbon dioxide monitor (capnograph); [ and 

]  

18. Equipment necessary to establish intravenous or 

intraosseous access. 

C. Required staffing. At a minimum, there shall be a [ two-

person three-person ] treatment team for moderate sedation. 

The team shall include the operating dentist [ and a second, one 

] person to monitor the patient as provided in 18VAC60-21-

260 K, and [ one person to ] assist the operating dentist as 

provided in 18VAC60-21-260 J, [ both all ] of whom shall be 

in the operatory with the patient throughout the dental 

procedure. If [ the second person is ] a dentist, an 

anesthesiologist, or a certified registered nurse anesthetist [ 

who ] administers the drugs as permitted in subsection A of 

this section, such person may monitor the patient. 

D. Monitoring requirements. 

1. Baseline vital signs to include blood pressure, oxygen 

saturation, respiratory rate, and heart rate shall be taken and 

recorded prior to administration of any controlled drug at the 

facility and prior to discharge. 

2. Blood pressure, oxygen saturation, respiratory rate, and 

end-tidal carbon dioxide, and pulse shall be monitored 

continually during the administration and recorded every 

five minutes unless precluded or invalidated by the nature of 

the patient, procedure, or equipment. 

3. Monitoring of the patient under moderate sedation is to 

begin prior to administration of sedation or, if pre-

medication is self-administered by the patient, immediately 

upon the patient's arrival at the dental facility and shall take 

place continuously during the dental procedure and recovery 

from sedation. The person who administers the sedation or 

another licensed practitioner qualified to administer the 

same level of sedation must remain on the premises of the 

dental facility until the patient is evaluated and is discharged. 

E. Discharge requirements. 

1. The patient shall not be discharged until the responsible 

licensed practitioner determines that the patient's level of 

consciousness, oxygenation, ventilation, and circulation 

blood pressure and heart rate are satisfactory for discharge 

and vital signs have been taken and recorded. 

2. Post-operative instructions shall be given verbally and in 

writing. The written instructions shall include a 24-hour 

emergency telephone number. 

3. The patient shall be discharged with a responsible 

individual who has been instructed with regard to the 

patient's care. 

4. If a separate recovery area is utilized, oxygen and suction 

equipment shall be immediately available in that area. 

5. Since re-sedation may occur once the effects of the 

reversal agent have waned, the patient shall be monitored for 

a longer period than usual when a pharmacological reversal 

agent has been administered before discharge criteria have 

been met.  

F. Emergency management. The dentist shall be proficient in 

handling emergencies and complications related to pain 

control procedures, including the maintenance of respiration 

and circulation, immediate establishment of an airway, and 

cardiopulmonary resuscitation. 

18VAC60-21-300. Requirements for a deep 

sedation/general anesthesia permit. 

A. After March 31, 2013, no No dentist may employ or use 

provide or administer deep sedation or general anesthesia in a 

dental office unless he has been issued a permit by the board. 

The requirement for a permit shall not apply to an oral and 

maxillofacial surgeon who maintains membership in AAOMS 

and who provides the board with reports that result from the 

periodic office examinations required by AAOMS. Such an 

oral and maxillofacial surgeon shall be required to post a 

certificate issued by AAOMS. 

B. To determine eligibility for a deep sedation/general 

anesthesia permit, a dentist shall submit the following: 

1. A completed application form; 

2. The application fee as specified in 18VAC60-21-40; 

3. A copy of the certificate of completion of a CODA 

accredited program or other documentation of training 

content which meets the educational and training 

qualifications specified in subsection C of this section; and 

4. A copy of current certification in Advanced Cardiac Life 

Support for Health Professionals (ACLS) or Pediatric 

Advanced Life Support for Health Professionals (PALS) as 

required in subsection C of this section. 



Regulations 

Volume 37, Issue13  Virginia Register of Regulations  February 15, 2021  

1401 

C. Educational and training qualifications for a deep 

sedation/general anesthesia permit. 

1. Completion of a minimum of one calendar year of 

advanced training in anesthesiology and related academic 

subjects beyond the undergraduate dental school level in a 

training program in conformity with the ADA's Guidelines 

for Teaching the Comprehensive Control of Anxiety and 

Pain in Dentistry in effect at the time the training occurred; 

or 

2. Completion of an CODA accredited residency in any 

dental specialty that incorporates into its curriculum a 

minimum of one calendar year of full-time training in 

clinical anesthesia and related clinical medical subjects (i.e., 

medical evaluation and management of patients) comparable 

to those set forth in the ADA's Guidelines for Graduate and 

Postgraduate Training in Anesthesia in effect at the time the 

training occurred; and 

3. Current certification in advanced resuscitative techniques 

with hands-on simulated airway and megacode training for 

health care providers, including basic electrocardiographic 

interpretations, such as courses in ACLS or PALS; and 

4. Current training in the use and maintenance of the 

equipment required in 18VAC60-21-301. 

18VAC60-21-301. Requirements for administration of 

deep sedation or general anesthesia. 

A. Preoperative requirements. Prior to the appointment for 

treatment under deep sedation or general anesthesia the patient 

shall: 

1. Be informed about the personnel and procedures used to 

deliver the sedative or anesthetic drugs to assure informed 

consent as required by 18VAC60-21-260 F. 

2. Have a physical evaluation as required by 18VAC60-21-

260 C. 

3. Be given preoperative verbal and written instructions 

including any dietary or medication restrictions. 

B. Delegation of administration. 

1. A dentist who does not meet the requirements of 

18VAC60-21-300 shall only use utilize the services of a 

dentist who does meet those requirements or an 

anesthesiologist to administer deep sedation or general 

anesthesia in a dental office. In a licensed outpatient surgery 

center, a dentist shall use utilize either a dentist who meets 

the requirements of 18VAC60-21-300, an anesthesiologist, 

or a certified registered nurse anesthetist to administer deep 

sedation or general anesthesia. 

2. A dentist who meets the requirements of 18VAC60-21-

300 may administer or use utilize the services of the 

following personnel to administer deep sedation or general 

anesthesia: 

a. A dentist with the training required by 18VAC60-21-

300 C; 

b. An anesthesiologist; or 

c. A certified registered nurse anesthetist under the 

medical direction and indirect supervision of a dentist who 

meets the training requirements of 18VAC60-21-300 C or 

under the supervision of a doctor of medicine or 

osteopathic medicine. 

3. Preceding the administration of deep sedation or general 

anesthesia, a dentist who meets the requirements of 

18VAC60-21-300 may use utilize the services of the 

following personnel under indirect supervision to administer 

local anesthesia to anesthetize the injection or treatment site: 

a. A dental hygienist with the training required by 

18VAC60-25-100 C to parenterally administer Schedule 

VI local anesthesia to persons 18 years of age or older; or 

b. A dental hygienist, dental assistant, registered nurse, or 

licensed practical nurse to administer Schedule VI topical 

oral anesthetics. 

C. Equipment requirements. A dentist who administers or 

utilizes the services of a qualified anesthesia provider to 

administer deep sedation or general anesthesia shall have 

available the following equipment in sizes appropriate for the 

patient being treated and shall maintain it in working order and 

immediately available to the areas where patients will be 

sedated and treated and will recover: 

1. Full face mask or masks; 

2. Oral and nasopharyngeal airway management adjuncts; 

3. Endotracheal tubes with appropriate connectors or other 

appropriate airway management adjunct such as a laryngeal 

mask airway; 

4. A laryngoscope with reserve batteries and bulbs and 

appropriately sized laryngoscope blades; 

5. Source of delivery of oxygen under controlled positive 

pressure; 

6. Mechanical (hand) respiratory bag; 

7. Pulse oximetry and blood pressure monitoring equipment 

available and used in the treatment room; 

8. Blood pressure monitoring equipment; 

9. Appropriate emergency drugs for patient resuscitation; 

9. 10. EKG monitoring equipment; 

10. 11. Temperature measuring devices; 

11. 12. Pharmacologic antagonist agents; 

12. 13. External defibrillator (manual or automatic); 

13. 14. An end-tidal carbon dioxide monitor (capnograph); 

14. 15. Suction apparatus; 
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15. Throat pack 16. Airway protective device; and 

16. 17. Precordial or pretracheal stethoscope; and 

18. Equipment necessary to establish intravenous or 

intraosseous access. 

D. Required staffing. At a minimum, there shall be a three-

person treatment team for deep sedation or general anesthesia. 

The team shall include the operating dentist, a second person 

to monitor the patient as provided in 18VAC60-21-260 K, and 

a third person to assist the operating dentist as provided in 

18VAC60-21-260 J, all of whom shall be in the operatory with 

the patient during the dental procedure. If a second dentist, an 

anesthesiologist, or a certified registered nurse anesthetist 

administers the drugs as permitted in subsection B of this 

section, such person may serve as the second person to monitor 

the patient. 

E. Monitoring requirements. 

1. Baseline vital signs shall be taken and recorded prior to 

administration of any controlled drug at the facility to 

include: temperature, blood pressure, pulse, oxygen 

saturation, EKG, and respiration. 

2. The patient's vital signs, end-tidal carbon dioxide (unless 

precluded or invalidated by the nature of the patient, 

procedure, or equipment), and EKG readings, blood 

pressure, pulse, oxygen saturation, temperature, and 

respiratory rate shall be monitored, continually; recorded 

[ every five minutes, every five minutes ] ; and reported to 

the treating dentist throughout the administration of 

controlled drugs and recovery. When a depolarizing 

medications are medication or inhalation agent other than 

nitrous oxide is administered, temperature shall be 

monitored constantly continuously. 

3. Monitoring of the patient undergoing deep sedation or 

general anesthesia is to begin prior to the administration of 

any drugs and shall take place continuously continually 

during administration, the dental procedure, and recovery 

from anesthesia. The person who administers the anesthesia 

or another licensed practitioner qualified to administer the 

same level of anesthesia must remain on the premises of the 

dental facility until the patient has regained consciousness 

and is discharged. 

F. Emergency management. 

1. A secured intravenous line must be established and 

maintained throughout the procedure. 

2. The dentist shall be proficient in handling emergencies 

and complications related to pain control procedures, 

including the maintenance of respiration and circulation, 

immediate establishment of an airway, and cardiopulmonary 

resuscitation. 

G. Discharge requirements. 

1. If a separate recovery area is utilized, oxygen and suction 

equipment shall be immediately available in that area. 

2. The patient shall not be discharged until the responsible 

licensed practitioner determines that the patient's level of 

consciousness, oxygenation, ventilation, and circulation 

blood pressure, and heart rate are satisfactory for discharge 

and vital signs have been taken assessed and recorded, 

unless extenuating circumstances exist and are documented 

in the patient's record. 

2. 3. Since re-sedation may occur once the effects of the 

reversal agent have waned, the patient shall be monitored for 

a longer period than usual before discharge if a 

pharmacological reversal agent has been administered 

before discharge criteria have been met. 

4. Post-operative instructions shall be given verbally and in 

writing. The written instructions shall include a 24-hour 

emergency telephone number for the dental practice. 

3. 5. The patient shall be discharged with a responsible 

individual who has been instructed with regard to the 

patient's care. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R18-5513; Filed January 15, 2021, 3:20 p.m. 

DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH PROFESSIONS 

Forms 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: Forms used in administering the 

regulation have been filed by the agency. The forms are not 

being published; however, online users of this issue of the 

Virginia Register of Regulations may click on the name of a 

form with a hyperlink to access it. The forms are also available 

from the agency contact or may be viewed at the Office of the 

Registrar of Regulations, 900 East Main Street, 11th Floor, 

Richmond, Virginia 23219. 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC76-20. Regulations Governing 

the Prescription Monitoring Program. 

Agency Contact: Elaine Yeatts, Agency Regulatory 

Coordinator, Department of Health Professions, 9960 Mayland 

Drive, Henrico, VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-4688, FAX 

(804) 527-4434, or email elaine.yeatts@dhp.virginia.gov. 

FORMS (18VAC76-20) 

Request for a Waiver or an Exemption from Reporting (rev. 

10/2019) 

Request for a Waiver or an Exemption from Reporting: 

Veterinarian (rev. 10/2019) 

Request to Register as an Authorized Agent to Receive 

Information from the Prescription Monitoring Program (rev. 

7/2017) 

mailto:elaine.yeatts@dhp.virginia.gov
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=a23d6006207~1P.pdf&typ=40&actno=006207&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=a23d6006207~1P.pdf&typ=40&actno=006207&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=1ba39006207~2).pdf&typ=40&actno=006207&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=1ba39006207~2).pdf&typ=40&actno=006207&mime=application/pdf
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Request to Register as an Authorized Agent to Receive 

Information from the Prescription Monitoring Program (rev. 

4/2018) 

Recipient Request for Discretionary Disclosure of 

Information from the Prescription Monitoring Program (rev. 

7/2017) 

Regulatory Authority Request for Discretionary Disclosure of 

Information from the Prescription Monitoring Program (rev. 

4/2018) 

Application to Register as a Virginia Medicaid Managed Care 

Authorized Agent to Receive Information from Prescription 

Monitoring Program (rev. 4/2018) 

Application to Register as a Virginia Medicaid Managed Care 

Authorized Agent Clinical Designee to Receive Information 

from the Prescription Monitoring Program (rev. 4/2018) 

Application to Register as a Virginia Medicaid Managed Care 

Authorized Agent to Receive Information from the 

Prescription Monitoring Program (rev. 4/2018) 

Account Development Form for Reporting to Virginia's 

Prescription Monitoring Program (rev. 7/2018) 

Request to Register as an Authorized Parole or Probation 

Officer to Receive Information from the Prescription 

Monitoring Program (rev. 4/2018) 

Request to Register as an Authorized Drug Diversion 

Investigator to Receive Information from the Prescription 

Monitoring Program (rev. 4/2018) 

Request to Register as an Authorized Investigator for the 

Department of Corrections to Receive Information from the 

Prescription Monitoring Program (eff. 8/2019) 

VA.R. Doc. No. R21-6672; Filed January 24, 2021, 4:34 p.m. 

Forms 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: Forms used in administering the 

regulation have been filed by the agency. The forms are not 

being published; however, online users of this issue of the 

Virginia Register of Regulations may click on the name of a 

form with a hyperlink to access it. The forms are also available 

from the agency contact or may be viewed at the Office of the 

Registrar of Regulations, 900 East Main Street, 11th Floor, 

Richmond, Virginia 23219. 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC76-40. Regulations Governing 

Emergency Contact Information. 

Agency Contact: Elaine Yeatts, Agency Regulatory 

Coordinator, Department of Health Professions, 9960 Mayland 

Drive, Henrico, VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-4688, FAX 

(804) 527-4434, or email elaine.yeatts@dhp.virginia.gov. 

FORMS (18VAC76-40) 

Emergency Contact Information Letter and Application (rev. 

7/08). 

To provide emergency contact information in accordance 

with instructions from the Department of Health Professions or 

to update information, login to the online licensing site at 

https://www.license.dhp.virginia.gov/license/. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R21-6676; Filed January 24, 2021, 4:34 p.m. 

BOARD OF MEDICINE 

Proposed Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC85-20. Regulations Governing 

the Practice of Medicine, Osteopathic Medicine, Podiatry, 

and Chiropractic (amending 18VAC85-20-10, 18VAC85-

20-29). 

Statutory Authority: § 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: 

February 18, 2021 - 12 p.m. - Department of Health 

Professions, Perimeter Center, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 

201, Richmond, VA 23233-1463 

Public Comment Deadline: April 16, 2021. 

Agency Contact: William L. Harp, M.D., Executive Director, 

Board of Medicine, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, 

Richmond, VA 23233-1463, telephone (804) 367-4621, FAX 

(804) 527-4429, or email william.harp@dhp.virginia.gov. 

Basis: Regulations are promulgated under the general authority 

of § 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia, which provides the 

Board of Medicine the authority to promulgate regulations to 

administer the regulatory system. Section 54.1-2409.5 of the 

Code of Virginia establishes a prohibition on conversion 

therapy. 

Purpose: The purpose of this regulatory action is to specify in 

regulations the interpretation of the board that conversion 

therapy has the potential for significant harm if practiced with 

persons younger than 18 years of age. The regulation defines 

the term, consistent with accepted usage within the profession 

and consistent with policy statements by state and national 

professional organizations. 

Substance: The amendments to 18VAC85-20-29 to specify 

that the standard of practice would prohibit a physician from 

engaging in conversion therapy with a person younger than 18 

years of age. Regulations define conversion therapy as it is 

defined in § 54.1-2409.5 of the Code of Virginia. 

Issues: The primary advantage to the public is protection for 

minors who might otherwise be subjected to reparative or 

conversion therapy; the board does not believe there are 

disadvantages because practitioners can provide assistance to 

a person undergoing gender transition or psychological 

services that offer acceptance, support, and understanding of a 

person or facilitates a person's coping, social support, and 

identity exploration and development. There are no advantages 

or disadvantages to the agency or the Commonwealth. 

https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC76/forms/Agent-20210120210228.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC76/forms/Agent-20210120210228.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC76/forms/Agent-20210120210228.pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=46b4b006038~47.pdf&typ=40&actno=006038&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=46b4b006038~47.pdf&typ=40&actno=006038&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=46b4b006038~47.pdf&typ=40&actno=006038&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=505f0006038~5y.pdf&typ=40&actno=006038&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=505f0006038~5y.pdf&typ=40&actno=006038&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=505f0006038~5y.pdf&typ=40&actno=006038&mime=application/pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC76/forms/Medicaid_ClinicalDesignee-20210120210318.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC76/forms/Medicaid_ClinicalDesignee-20210120210318.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC76/forms/Medicaid_ClinicalDesignee-20210120210318.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC76/forms/MMC-20210120210343.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC76/forms/MMC-20210120210343.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC76/forms/MMC-20210120210343.pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=ac834006038~7m.pdf&typ=40&actno=006038&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=ac834006038~7m.pdf&typ=40&actno=006038&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=9265b006038~8s.pdf&typ=40&actno=006038&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=9265b006038~8s.pdf&typ=40&actno=006038&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=9265b006038~8s.pdf&typ=40&actno=006038&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=34e69006038~9r.pdf&typ=40&actno=006038&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=34e69006038~9r.pdf&typ=40&actno=006038&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=34e69006038~9r.pdf&typ=40&actno=006038&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=40ce6006133~1m.pdf&typ=40&actno=006133&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=40ce6006133~1m.pdf&typ=40&actno=006133&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=40ce6006133~1m.pdf&typ=40&actno=006133&mime=application/pdf
mailto:elaine.yeatts@dhp.virginia.gov
https://www.license.dhp.virginia.gov/license/
mailto:william.harp@dhp.virginia.gov
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The Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 

Analysis: 

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. The 

Board of Medicine (Board) proposes to amend 18 VAC 85-20 

Regulations Governing the Practice of Medicine, Osteopathic 

Medicine, Podiatry, and Chiropractic (regulation) in order to 

add a definition of conversion therapy and a stipulation that 

licensees shall not engage in conversion therapy with 

individuals under 18 years of age.  

Background. Chapters 41 and 721 of the 2020 Acts of 

Assembly ban the use of conversion therapy on minors by any 

provider licensed by a health regulatory board with the 

Department of Health Professions (DHP).1 Specifically, the 

Act creates § 54.1-2409.5 of the Code of Virginia, which 

defines conversion therapy as follows: Conversion therapy 

means any practice or treatment that seeks to change an 

individual's sexual orientation or gender identity, including 

efforts to change behaviors or gender expressions or to 

eliminate or reduce sexual or romantic attractions or feelings 

toward individuals of the same gender. Conversion therapy 

does not include counseling that provides acceptance, support, 

and understanding of a person or facilitates a person's coping, 

social support, and identity exploration and development, 

including sexual-orientation-neutral interventions to prevent or 

address unlawful conduct or unsafe sexual practices, as long as 

such counseling does not seek to change an individual's sexual 

orientation or gender identity. DHP reports that providers are 

more likely to be familiar with the regulations put forth by their 

licensing board than statutes. Thus, the Board seeks to amend 

the regulation to (i) define conversion therapy by referring the 

reader to § 54.1-2409.5, and (ii) explicitly state that 

practitioners shall not engage in conversion therapy with a 

person under 18 years of age. 

Estimated Benefits and Costs. DHP estimates that few, if any, 

providers would be affected because conversion therapy has 

been considered harmful2 to minors and contrary to the 

professions code of ethics.3 To the extent that the Board's 

licensees are currently engaging in conversion therapy with 

individuals under 18 years of age, they would be in violation 

of state law. Any current license-holders choosing to forfeit 

their licensure in favor of continuing to practice conversion 

therapy may only continue to do so if employed as a rabbi, 

priest, minister, or clergyman, as long as they belong to an 

established and legally cognizable church, denomination or 

sect and remain accountable to its established authority.4 

Clients under age 18, who seek to receive, or continue 

receiving, conversion therapy would need to find providers 

who are not licensed by any board within DHP, which may 

result in some costs for the client depending on the availability 

of such providers. Conversely, the proposed amendments 

would benefit children and their parents to the extent that it 

prevents the use of a practice that has been found to be harmful 

to children and has been banned for such use under state law. 

Businesses and Other Entities Affected. As mentioned, some 

licensed practitioners who may also have been working in a 

religious setting may have to alter their practice or else face 

disciplinary action, but DHP estimates that these are most 

likely a very small fraction of the overall number of license-

holders.5 Although DHP does not have an estimate of the 

number of affected providers, the agency reports that the vast 

majority of current license-holders likely do not engage in 

conversion therapy at all (in either religious or secular settings) 

since it is not taught by any accredited program and has been 

considered contrary to the professional code of ethics in an 

informal capacity for more than a decade.  

Small Businesses6 Affected. Although some licensed providers 

may be employed in a small business setting, DHP estimates 

that only a very small fraction of the overall number of license-

holders would be affected by the regulation at all, and there is 

no reason to suggest that those affected are more likely to be 

working in a small business. Even so, the cost to providers of 

complying with the regulation is unlikely to be significant, and 

there are no alternatives to the regulation that would provide 

greater flexibility while also conforming to the Code of 

Virginia.  

Localities7 Affected.8 The proposed amendments do not 

introduce new costs for local governments and are unlikely to 

affect any locality in particular. 

Projected Impact on Employment. The proposed amendments 

are unlikely to affect the overall number of employed Doctors 

of Medicine or Doctors of Osteopathic Medicine.  

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. The proposed 

amendments are unlikely to affect the use and value of private 

property. Real estate development costs are not affected. 

______________________________________________ 

1See http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?201 ful CHAP0041. 

2In a 2013 Position Statement, the American Psychiatric Association stated 

that it does not believe that same-sex orientation should or needs to be changed, 

and efforts to do so represent a significant risk of harm by subjecting 

individuals to forms of treatment which have not been scientifically validated 

and by undermining self-esteem when sexual orientation fails to change. No 

credible evidence exists that any mental health intervention can reliably and 

safely change sexual orientation; nor, from a mental health perspective does 

sexual orientation need to be changed. Downloaded from 

https://www.psychiatry.org/home/policy-finder 

3In 2019, the Board also adopted a guidance document addressing conversion 

therapy: https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/ViewGDoc.cfm?gdid=6791 

4As per COV § 54.1-3501 Exemption from requirements of licensure: The 

activities, including marriage and family therapy, counseling, or substance 

abuse treatment, of rabbis, priests, ministers or clergymen of any religious 

denomination or sect when such activities are within the scope of the 

performance of their regular or specialized ministerial duties, and no separate 

charge is made or when such activities are performed, whether with or without 

charge, for or under auspices or sponsorship, individually or in conjunction 

with others, of an established and legally cognizable church, denomination or 

sect, and the person rendering service remains accountable to its established 

authority. 

5According to the ABD, the overall numbers of licensees are as follows: 39,645 

doctors of medicine and 4001 doctors of osteopathic medicine. DHP states that 

http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?201%20ful%20CHAP0041
https://www.psychiatry.org/home/policy-finder
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conversion therapy falls outside the scope of practice for podiatrists and 

chiropractors. 

6Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.04 of the Code of Virginia, small business is defined 

as a business entity, including its affiliates, that (i) is independently owned and 

operated and (ii) employs fewer than 500 full-time employees or has gross 

annual sales of less than $6 million. 

7Locality can refer to either local governments or the locations in the 

Commonwealth where the activities relevant to the regulatory change are most 

likely to occur. 

8§ 2.2-4007.04 defines particularly affected" as bearing disproportionate 

material impact. 

Agency's Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The Board 

of Medicine concurs with the economic impact analysis of the 

Department of Planning and Budget. 

Summary: 

Pursuant to Chapters 41 and 721 of the 2020 Acts of 

Assembly, the proposed amendments (i) define conversion 

therapy as it is defined in § 54.1-2409.5 of the Code of 

Virginia and (ii) specify that the standard of practice for 

nurse practitioners prohibits a nurse practitioner from 

engaging in conversion therapy with a person younger than 

18 years of age. 

18VAC85-20-10. Definitions. 

A. The following words and terms when used in this chapter 

shall have the meanings ascribed to them in § 54.1-2900 of the 

Code of Virginia: 

Board 

Healing arts 

Practice of chiropractic 

Practice of medicine or osteopathic medicine 

Practice of podiatry 

B. The following words and terms when used in this chapter 

shall have the following meanings unless the context clearly 

indicates otherwise: 

"Approved institution" means any accredited school or 

college of medicine, osteopathic medicine, podiatry, or 

chiropractic located in the United States, its territories, or 

Canada. 

"Conversion therapy" means any practice or treatment as 

defined in § 54.1-2409.5 A of the Code of Virginia. 

"Principal site" means the location in a foreign country where 

teaching and clinical facilities are located. 

18VAC85-20-29. Practitioner responsibility. 

A. A practitioner shall not: 

1. Knowingly allow subordinates to jeopardize patient safety 

or provide patient care outside of the subordinate's scope of 

practice or area of responsibility. Practitioners shall delegate 

patient care only to subordinates who are properly trained 

and supervised; 

2. Engage in an egregious pattern of disruptive behavior or 

an interaction in a health care setting that interferes with 

patient care or could reasonably be expected to adversely 

impact the quality of care rendered to a patient; or 

3. Exploit the practitioner and patient relationship for 

personal gain; or 

4. Engage in conversion therapy with a person younger than 

18 years of age. 

B. Advocating for patient safety or improvement in patient 

care within a health care entity shall not constitute disruptive 

behavior provided the practitioner does not engage in behavior 

prohibited in subdivision A 2 of this section. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R21-6216; Filed January 15, 2021, 3:50 p.m. 

Forms 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: Forms used in administering the 

regulation have been filed by the agency. The forms are not 

being published; however, online users of this issue of the 

Virginia Register of Regulations may click on the name of a 

form with a hyperlink to access it. The forms are also available 

from the agency contact or may be viewed at the Office of the 

Registrar of Regulations, 900 East Main Street, 11th Floor, 

Richmond, Virginia 23219. 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC85-20. Regulations Governing 

the Practice of Medicine, Osteopathic Medicine, Podiatry, 

and Chiropractic. 

Agency Contact: Elaine J. Yeatts, Agency Regulatory 

Coordinator, Board of Medicine, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 

300, Richmond, VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-4688, or 

email elaine.yeatts@dhp.virginia.gov. 

FORMS (18VAC85-20) 

Instructions and Application for a License to Practice 

Medicine and Surgery in Virginia for Graduates of American 

Medical Schools (US/Canada) (rev. 3/10). 

Instructions and Application for a License to Practice 

Medicine and Surgery for Graduates of Non-American 

Medical Schools (outside of the US/Canada) (rev. 3/10). 

Information and Chiropractic Endorsement Application (rev. 

12/08). 

Information and Podiatry Endorsement Application (rev. 

12/08). 

Instructions and Application for a License to Practice 

Osteopathic Medicine (rev. 1/09). 

Form A, Claims History Sheet (rev. 8/07). 

Form B, Activity Questionnaire (rev. 10/09). 

Form C, Clearance from Other State Boards (rev. 11/09). 

mailto:elaine.yeatts@dhp.virginia.gov
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Form E, Disciplinary Inquiry (rev. 5/11). 

Form H, Federation of Podiatric Medical Boards Report (rev. 

12/08). 

Instructions and Application for a Temporary License for 

Intern/Resident Training Program (rev. 8/07). 

Form A, Intern/Resident, Memorandum from Associate Dean 

of Graduate Medical Education (rev. 8/07). 

Application to Practice Medicine, Osteopathic Medicine, 

Chiropractic, and Podiatry, online application available at 

https://www.license.dhp.virginia.gov/apply/ 

Application to Practice Medicine, by endorsement, online 

application at https://www.license.dhp.virginia.gov/apply/ 

Instructions for Completing an Application to Practice 

Medicine in Virginia for Graduates of Allopathic Medical 

Schools and Osteopathic Medical Schools (rev. 12/2017) 

Instructions for Completing an Application to Practice 

Chiropractic in Virginia (rev. 12/2017) 

Instructions for Completing an Application for Licensure by 

Endorsement (rev. 8/2020) 

Instructions for Completing Podiatric Medicine Application 

(rev. 12/2017) 

Form B, Activity Questionnaire (rev. 7/2017) 

Form A, Intern/Resident, Memorandum from Associate Dean 

of Graduate Medical Education or Program Director (rev. 

8/2007) 

Form B, Intern/Resident Certificate of Professional 

Education (rev. 8/2007) 

Form G, Intern Resident, Request for Status Report of 

ECFMG Certification (eff. 8/2007) 

Form H, Report of Clinical Rotations (rev. 12/02). 

Transfer Request, Intern/Resident (eff. 8/07). 

Intern/Resident, Transfer Request (rev. 6/2016) 

Instructions for Completing an Application for a Limited 

License to Foreign Medical Graduates Pursuant to § 54.1-2936 

(rev. 8/2007) 

Application for a Limited License to Foreign Medical 

Graduates Pursuant to § 54.1-2936 (rev. 8/2007) 

Form L, Certificate of Professional Education (rev. 12/08). 

Instructions for Reinstatement of Medicine and Surgery 

Licensure Application (rev. 4/08). 

Application for Reinstatement of License to Practice 

Medicine (rev. 3/09). 

Form A, MD Reinstatement, Claims History Sheet (rev. 

9/2009) 

Form B, MD Reinstatement, Activity Questionnaire Form 

(rev. 8/07). 

Form C, MD Reinstatement, State Questionnaire Form (rev. 

8/07). 

MD Reinstatement, Disciplinary Inquiries to Federation of 

State Medical Boards (rev. 8/07). 

Instructions for Reinstatement of Osteopathic Medicine 

Licensure Application (rev. 4/08). 

Application for Reinstatement of License to Practice 

Osteopathic Medicine (rev. 8/07). 

Form A, Osteopathy Reinstatement, Claims History (rev. 

8/07). 

Instructions for Reinstatement of a Chiropractic Licensure 

Application (rev. 4/08). 

Application for Reinstatement of License to Practice as a 

Chiropractor (rev. 8/07). 

Instructions for Reinstatement of Podiatry Licensure 

Application (rev. 4/08). 

Application for Reinstatement of License to Practice Podiatry 

(rev. 8/07). 

Reinstatement Application Instructions for Medicine & 

Surgery or Osteopathy Licensure after Reinstatement Denied 

or License Revoked (rev. 8/07). 

Reinstatement Application Instructions for Medicine & 

Surgery or Osteopathy Licensure after Mandatory Suspension, 

Suspension or Surrender (rev. 8/07). 

Reinstatement Application Instructions for Podiatry 

Licensure after Mandatory Suspension, Suspension or 

Surrender (rev. 8/07). 

Application for Reinstatement of License to Practice 

Medicine/Osteopathy After Petition for Reinstatement Denied 

or License Revoked (rev. 8/07). 

Application for Registration for Volunteer Practice (rev. 

8/07). 

Sponsor Certification for Volunteer Registration (rev. 8/08). 

Guidelines for Completing the Practitioner Profile 

Questionnaire (rev. 7/11). 

Practitioner's Help Section (rev. 11/10). 

Practitioner Questionnaire (rev. 7/11). 

MD/DO Reinstatement Instructions and Application for MD 

and DO licenses in EXPIRED status for more than two years 

ONLY (rev. 8/2020) 

Instructions for Reinstatement of a Chiropractic Licensure 

Application (rev. 4/2018) 

https://www.license.dhp.virginia.gov/apply/
https://www.license.dhp.virginia.gov/apply/
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC85/forms/Inst_MedinVA_All&Ost-20210105121746.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC85/forms/Inst_MedinVA_All&Ost-20210105121746.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC85/forms/Inst_MedinVA_All&Ost-20210105121746.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC85/forms/Instr_ChiropracticeVA-20210105121817.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC85/forms/Instr_ChiropracticeVA-20210105121817.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC85/forms/Instr_Med_Endorse-20210105121855.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC85/forms/Instr_Med_Endorse-20210105121855.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC85/forms/Instr_Pod-20210105121926.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC85/forms/Instr_Pod-20210105121926.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC85/forms/FormB_ActivityQ-20210105121955.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC85/forms/formA_intern_memo_Dean-20210105122058.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC85/forms/formA_intern_memo_Dean-20210105122058.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC85/forms/formA_intern_memo_Dean-20210105122058.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC85/forms/formB_Cert_Prof_Ed-20210105122922.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC85/forms/formB_Cert_Prof_Ed-20210105122922.pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=c3ceb002953~91&typ=40&actno=002953&mime=application/msword
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=c3ceb002953~91&typ=40&actno=002953&mime=application/msword
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC85/forms/Intern_Transfer-20210105122655.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC85/forms/Instr_Limit_Foreign-20210105122809.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC85/forms/Instr_Limit_Foreign-20210105122809.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC85/forms/Instr_Limit_Foreign-20210105122809.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC85/forms/App_Limit_Foreign-20210105122839.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC85/forms/App_Limit_Foreign-20210105122839.pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=edd74002953~56&typ=40&actno=002953&mime=application/msword
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=edd74002953~56&typ=40&actno=002953&mime=application/msword
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC85/forms/MD_DO_Reinstate-20210105123010.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC85/forms/MD_DO_Reinstate-20210105123010.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC85/forms/MD_DO_Reinstate-20210105123010.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC85/forms/Instr_Reinstate-Chiro-20210105133038.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC85/forms/Instr_Reinstate-Chiro-20210105133038.pdf
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Reinstatement of a Podiatry License – Please contact Pam 

Smith for licensure package at (804) 367-4570 or 

pam.smith@dhp.virginia.gov 

Application for Registration for Volunteer Practice (rev. 

8/2015) 

Sponsor Certification for Volunteer Registration (rev. 

3/2018) 

Application for Restricted Volunteer License (rev. 12/2007) 

VA.R. Doc. No. R21-6639; Filed January 24, 2021, 4:28 p.m. 

Forms 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: Forms used in administering the 

regulation have been filed by the agency. The forms are not 

being published; however, online users of this issue of the 

Virginia Register of Regulations may click on the name of a 

form with a hyperlink to access it. The forms are also available 

from the agency contact or may be viewed at the Office of the 

Registrar of Regulations, 900 East Main Street, 11th Floor, 

Richmond, Virginia 23219. 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC85-40. Regulations Governing 

the Practice of Respiratory Therapists. 

Agency Contact: Elaine J. Yeatts, Agency Regulatory 

Coordinator, Board of Medicine, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 

300, Richmond, VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-4688, or 

email elaine.yeatts@dhp.virginia.gov. 

FORMS (18VAC85-40) 

Sponsor Certification for Volunteer Registration (rev. 

8/2008) 

Instructions and Application for a License to Practice as a 

Respiratory Therapist (rev. 8/2015) 

Application for Registration for Volunteer Practice (undated) 

Form B, Activity Questionnaire (rev. 8/2015) 

Application to reactivate an Inactive License for a 

Respiratory Therapist (eff. 8/2015) 

Instructions for Completing an Application to Practice as a 

Respiratory Therapist in Virginia (rev. 12/2017) 

Form B Supplemental Form (rev. 9/2018) 

Application for Registration for Volunteer Practice (8/2015) 

Sponsor Certification for Volunteer Registration (rev. 

3/2018) 

Application for Restricted Volunteer License (rev. 8/2015) 

Continued Competency Activity and Assessment Form (rev. 

4/2000) 

Application to Reactivate an Inactive License for a 

Respiratory Therapist (rev. 5/2019) 

Instructions and Application for Reinstatement of a 

Respiratory Therapist License (4/2018) 

VA.R. Doc. No. R21-6644; Filed January 24, 2021, 4:27 p.m. 

Final Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC85-50. Regulations Governing 

the Practice of Physician Assistants (amending 18VAC85-

50-10, 18VAC85-50-35, 18VAC85-50-40, 18VAC85-50-57, 

18VAC85-50-101, 18VAC85-50-110, 18VAC85-50-115, 

18VAC85-50-117, 18VAC85-50-140, 18VAC85-50-160, 

18VAC85-50-181). 

Statutory Authority: § 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: March 16, 2021. 

Agency Contact: William L. Harp, M.D., Executive Director, 

Board of Medicine, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, 

Richmond, VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-4558, FAX (804) 

527-4429, or email william.harp@dhp.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

Pursuant to Chapters 92 and 137 of the 2019 Acts of 

Assembly, the amendments replace practice by a physician 

assistant under the supervision of a physician or a podiatrist 

with practice in collaboration and consultation with a 

patient care team physician or patient care team podiatrist. 

Summary of Public Comments and Agency's Response: No 

public comments were received by the promulgating agency. 

18VAC85-50-10. Definitions. 

A. The following words and terms shall have the meanings 

ascribed to them in § 54.1-2900 of the Code of Virginia: 

"Board." 

"Collaboration." 

"Consultation." 

"Patient care team physician." 

"Patient care team podiatrist." 

"Physician assistant." 

B. The following words and terms when used in this chapter 

shall have the following meanings unless the context clearly 

indicates otherwise: 

"Group practice" means the practice of a group of two or more 

doctors of medicine, osteopathy, or podiatry licensed by the 

board who practice as a partnership or professional 

corporation. 

"Institution" means a hospital, nursing home or other health 

care facility, community health center, public health center, 

industrial medicine or corporation clinic, a medical service 

facility, student health center, or other setting approved by the 

board. 

https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC85/forms/App_Reg_Volunteer-20210105114046.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC85/forms/App_Reg_Volunteer-20210105114046.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC85/forms/SponsorCert-20210105114109.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC85/forms/SponsorCert-20210105114109.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC85/forms/App_RestrictVolunteer-20210105114225.pdf
mailto:elaine.yeatts@dhp.virginia.gov
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC85/forms/instruct_forms-20210105150416.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC85/forms/instruct_forms-20210105150416.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC85/forms/SupplementalForm-20210105150431.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC85/forms/Volunteer_App-20210105150915.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC85/forms/Volunteer_Sponsor-20210105150400.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC85/forms/Volunteer_Sponsor-20210105150400.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC85/forms/Restrict_Volunteer-20210105151028.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC85/forms/ContComp_Activity-20210105150514.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC85/forms/ContComp_Activity-20210105150514.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC85/forms/InactivetoActive-20210105150534.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC85/forms/InactivetoActive-20210105150534.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC85/forms/Reinstatement-20210105150545.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC85/forms/Reinstatement-20210105150545.pdf
mailto:william.harp@dhp.virginia.gov


Regulations 

Volume 37, Issue13  Virginia Register of Regulations  February 15, 2021  

1408 

"NCCPA" means the National Commission on Certification 

of Physician Assistants. 

"Practice agreement" means a written or electronic agreement 

developed by the supervising patient care team physician or 

podiatrist and the physician assistant that defines the 

supervisory relationship between the physician assistant and 

the physician or podiatrist, the prescriptive authority of the 

physician assistant, and the circumstances under which the 

physician or podiatrist will see and evaluate the patient. 

"Supervision" means the supervising physician has on-going, 

regular communication with the physician assistant on the care 

and treatment of patients, is easily available, and can be 

physically present or accessible for consultation with the 

physician assistant within one hour. 

18VAC85-50-35. Fees. 

Unless otherwise provided, the following fees shall not be 

refundable: 

1. The initial application fee for a license, payable at the time 

application is filed, shall be $130. 

2. The biennial fee for renewal of an active license shall be 

$135 and for renewal of an inactive license shall be $70, 

payable in each odd-numbered year in the birth month of the 

licensee. For 2021, the fee for renewal of an active license 

shall be $108, and the fee for renewal of an inactive license 

shall be $54. 

3. The additional fee for late renewal of licensure within one 

renewal cycle shall be $50. 

4. A restricted volunteer license shall expire 12 months from 

the date of issuance and may be renewed without charge by 

receipt of a renewal application that verifies that the 

physician assistant continues to comply with provisions of 

§ 54.1-2951.3 of the Code of Virginia. 

5. The fee for review and approval of a new protocol 

submitted following initial licensure shall be $15.  

6. 5. The fee for reinstatement of a license pursuant to 

§ 54.1-2408.2 of the Code of Virginia shall be $2,000. 

7. 6. The fee for a duplicate license shall be $5.00, and the 

fee for a duplicate wall certificate shall be $15. 

8. 7. The handling fee for a returned check or a dishonored 

credit card or debit card shall be $50. 

9. 8. The fee for a letter of good standing or verification to 

another jurisdiction shall be $10. 

10. 9. The fee for an application or for the biennial renewal 

of a restricted volunteer license shall be $35, due in the 

licensee's birth month. An additional fee for late renewal of 

licensure shall be $15 for each renewal cycle. 

18VAC85-50-40. General requirements. 

A. No person shall practice as a physician assistant in the 

Commonwealth of Virginia except as provided in this chapter. 

B. All services rendered by a physician assistant shall be 

performed only under the continuous supervision of in 

accordance with a practice agreement with a doctor of 

medicine, osteopathy, or podiatry licensed by this board to 

practice in the Commonwealth. 

18VAC85-50-57. Discontinuation of employment. 

If for any reason the physician assistant discontinues working 

in the employment and under the supervision of a licensed 

practitioner with a patient care team physician or podiatrist, a 

new practice agreement shall be entered into in order for the 

physician assistant either to be reemployed by the same 

practitioner or to accept new employment with another 

supervising physician patient care team physician or podiatrist. 

18VAC85-50-101. Requirements for a practice agreement. 

A. Prior to initiation of practice, a physician assistant and his 

supervising patient care team physician or podiatrist shall enter 

into a written or electronic practice agreement that spells out 

the roles and functions of the assistant and is consistent with 

provisions of § 54.1-2952 of the Code of Virginia. 

1. The supervising patient care team physician or podiatrist 

shall be a doctor of medicine, osteopathy, or podiatry 

licensed in the Commonwealth who has accepted 

responsibility for the supervision of the service that a 

physician assistant renders. 

2. Any such practice agreement shall take into account such 

factors as the physician assistant's level of competence, the 

number of patients, the types of illness treated by the 

physician or podiatrist, the nature of the treatment, special 

procedures, and the nature of the physician or podiatrist 

availability in ensuring direct physician or podiatrist 

involvement at an early stage and regularly thereafter. 

3. The practice agreement shall also provide an evaluation 

process for the physician assistant's performance, including 

a requirement specifying the time period, proportionate to 

the acuity of care and practice setting, within which the 

supervising physician or podiatrist shall review the record of 

services rendered by the physician assistant. 

4. The practice agreement may include requirements for 

periodic site visits by supervising licensees who supervise 

and direct the patient care team physician or podiatrist to 

collaborate and consult with physician assistants who 

provide services at a location other than where the licensee 

physician or podiatrist regularly practices. 

B. The board may require information regarding the level 

degree of supervision with which the supervising collaboration 

and consultation by the patient care team physician plans to 

supervise the physician assistant for selected tasks or 
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podiatrist. The board may also require the supervising patient 

care team physician or podiatrist to document the physician 

assistant's competence in performing such tasks. 

C. If the role of the physician assistant includes prescribing 

drugs and devices, the written practice agreement shall include 

those schedules and categories of drugs and devices that are 

within the scope of practice and proficiency of the supervising 

patient care team physician or podiatrist. 

D. If the initial practice agreement did not include 

prescriptive authority, there shall be an addendum to the 

practice agreement for prescriptive authority. 

E. If there are any changes in supervision consultation and 

collaboration, authorization, or scope of practice, a revised 

practice agreement shall be entered into at the time of the 

change. 

18VAC85-50-110. Responsibilities of the supervisor patient 

care team physician or podiatrist. 

The supervising patient care team physician or podiatrist 

shall: 

1. Review the clinical course and treatment plan for any 

patient who presents for the same acute complaint twice in a 

single episode of care and has failed to improve as expected. 

The supervising physician or podiatrist shall be involved 

with any patient with a continuing illness as noted in the 

written or electronic practice agreement for the evaluation 

process. 

2. Be responsible for all invasive procedures. 

a. Under supervision, a physician assistant may insert a 

nasogastric tube, bladder catheter, needle, or peripheral 

intravenous catheter, but not a flow-directed catheter, and 

may perform minor suturing, venipuncture, and 

subcutaneous intramuscular or intravenous injection. 

b. All other invasive procedures not listed in subdivision 

2 a of this section must be performed under supervision 

with the physician in the room unless, after directly 

observing the performance of a specific invasive 

procedure three times or more, the supervising patient care 

team physician or podiatrist attests on the practice 

agreement to the competence of the physician assistant to 

perform the specific procedure without direct observation 

and supervision. 

3. Be responsible for all prescriptions issued by the 

physician assistant and attest to the competence of the 

assistant to prescribe drugs and devices. 

4. Be available at all times to collaborate and consult with 

the physician assistant. 

18VAC85-50-115. Responsibilities of the physician 

assistant. 

A. The physician assistant shall not render independent health 

care and shall: 

1. Perform only those medical care services that are within 

the scope of the practice and proficiency of the supervising 

patient care team physician or podiatrist as prescribed in the 

physician assistant's practice agreement. When a physician 

assistant is to be supervised by an alternate supervising 

physician working outside the scope of specialty of the 

supervising patient care team physician or podiatrist, then 

the physician assistant's functions shall be limited to those 

areas not requiring specialized clinical judgment, unless a 

separate practice agreement has been executed for that 

alternate supervising patient care team physician or 

podiatrist. 

2. Prescribe only those drugs and devices as allowed in Part 

V (18VAC85-50-130 et seq.) of this chapter. 

3. Wear during the course of performing his duties 

identification showing clearly that he is a physician assistant. 

B. An alternate supervising patient care team physician or 

podiatrist shall be a member of the same group, professional 

corporation, or partnership of any licensee who supervises is 

the patient care team physician or podiatrist for a physician 

assistant or shall be a member of the same hospital or 

commercial enterprise with the supervising patient care team 

physician or podiatrist. Such alternating supervising physician 

or podiatrist shall be a physician or podiatrist licensed in the 

Commonwealth who has accepted responsibility for the 

supervision of the service that a physician assistant renders. 

C. If, due to illness, vacation, or unexpected absence, the 

supervising patient care team physician or podiatrist or 

alternate supervising physician or podiatrist is unable to 

supervise the activities of his physician assistant, such 

supervising patient care team physician or podiatrist may 

temporarily delegate the responsibility to another doctor of 

medicine, osteopathic medicine, or podiatry. 

Temporary coverage may not exceed four weeks unless 

special permission is granted by the board. 

D. With respect to physician assistants employed by 

institutions, the following additional regulations shall apply: 

1. No physician assistant may render care to a patient unless 

the physician or podiatrist responsible for that patient has 

signed the practice agreement to act as supervising patient 

care team physician or podiatrist for that physician assistant. 

2. Any such practice agreement as described in subdivision 

1 of this subsection shall delineate the duties which said 

patient care team physician or podiatrist authorizes the 

physician assistant to perform. 
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3. The physician assistant shall, as soon as circumstances 

may dictate, report an acute or significant finding or change 

in clinical status to the supervising physician concerning the 

examination of the patient. The physician assistant shall also 

record his findings in appropriate institutional records.  

E. Practice by a physician assistant in a hospital, including an 

emergency department, shall be in accordance with § 54.1-

2952 of the Code of Virginia. 

18VAC85-50-117. Authorization to use fluoroscopy. 

A physician assistant working under the supervision of a 

practice agreement with a licensed doctor of medicine or 

osteopathy specializing in the field of radiology is authorized 

to use fluoroscopy for guidance of diagnostic and therapeutic 

procedures provided such activity is specified in his protocol 

and he has met the following qualifications: 

1. Completion of at least 40 hours of structured didactic 

educational instruction and at least 40 hours of supervised 

clinical experience as set forth in the Fluoroscopy 

Educational Framework for the Physician Assistant created 

by the American Academy of Physician Assistants (AAPA) 

and the American Society of Radiologic Technologists 

(ASRT); and 

2. Successful passage of the American Registry of 

Radiologic Technologists (ARRT) Fluoroscopy 

Examination. 

18VAC85-50-140. Approved drugs and devices. 

A. The approved drugs and devices which the physician assistant 

with prescriptive authority may prescribe, administer, or dispense 

manufacturer's professional samples shall be in accordance with 

provisions of § 54.1-2952.1 of the Code of Virginia: 

B. The physician assistant may prescribe only those 

categories of drugs and devices included in the practice 

agreement. The supervising patient care team physician or 

podiatrist retains the authority to restrict certain drugs within 

these approved categories. 

C. The physician assistant, pursuant to § 54.1-2952.1 of the 

Code of Virginia, shall only dispense manufacturer's 

professional samples or administer controlled substances in 

good faith for medical or therapeutic purposes within the 

course of his professional practice. 

18VAC85-50-160. Disclosure. 

A. Each prescription for a Schedule II through V drug shall 

bear the name of the supervising patient care team physician or 

podiatrist and of the physician assistant. 

B. The physician assistant shall disclose to the patient that he 

is a licensed physician assistant, and also the name, address and 

telephone number of the supervising patient care team 

physician or podiatrist. Such disclosure shall either be included 

on the prescription or be given in writing to the patient. 

18VAC85-50-181. Pharmacotherapy for weight loss. 

A. A practitioner shall not prescribe amphetamine, Schedule 

II, for the purpose of weight reduction or control. 

B. A practitioner shall not prescribe controlled substances, 

Schedules III through VI, for the purpose of weight reduction 

or control in the treatment of obesity, unless the following 

conditions are met: 

1. An appropriate history and physical examination are 

performed and recorded at the time of initiation of 

pharmacotherapy for obesity by the prescribing physician, 

and the physician reviews the results of laboratory work, as 

indicated, including testing for thyroid function; 

2. If the drug to be prescribed could adversely affect cardiac 

function, the physician shall review the results of an 

electrocardiogram performed and interpreted within 90 days 

of initial prescribing for treatment of obesity; 

3. A diet and exercise program for weight loss is prescribed 

and recorded; 

4. The patient is seen within the first 30 days following 

initiation of pharmacotherapy for weight loss, by the 

prescribing physician or a licensed practitioner with 

prescriptive authority working under the supervision of the 

prescribing physician, at which time a recording shall be 

made of blood pressure, pulse, and any other tests as may be 

necessary for monitoring potential adverse effects of drug 

therapy; and 

5. The treating physician shall direct the follow-up care, 

including the intervals for patient visits and the continuation 

of or any subsequent changes in pharmacotherapy. 

Continuation of prescribing for treatment of obesity shall 

occur only if the patient has continued progress toward 

achieving or maintaining a target weight and has no 

significant adverse effects from the prescribed program. 

C. If specifically authorized in his practice agreement with a 

supervising patient care team physician, a physician assistant 

may perform the physical examination, review tests, and 

prescribe Schedules III through VI controlled substances for 

treatment of obesity as specified in subsection B of this section. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R20-6083; Filed January 15, 2021, 3:11 p.m. 

Forms 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: Forms used in administering the 

regulation have been filed by the agency. The forms are not 

being published; however, online users of this issue of the 

Virginia Register of Regulations may click on the name of a 

form with a hyperlink to access it. The forms are also available 

from the agency contact or may be viewed at the Office of the 

Registrar of Regulations, 900 East Main Street, 11th Floor, 

Richmond, Virginia 23219. 
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Title of Regulation: 18VAC85-50. Regulations Governing 

the Practice of Physician Assistants. 

Agency Contact: Elaine J. Yeatts, Agency Regulatory 

Coordinator, Board of Medicine, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 

300, Richmond, VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-4688, or 

email elaine.yeatts@dhp.virginia.gov. 

FORMS (18VAC85-50) 

Instructions for Completing an Application (rev. 11/2017) 

Form #B, Activity Questionnaire (rev. 7/2017) 

Application for a pharmacist license by endorsement or 

examination, online form available at: 

https://www.dhp.virginia.gov/medicine/medicine_forms.htm#

PA 

Practice Agreement (eff. 10/2019) 

Physician Assistant Volunteer License Application (rev. 

8/2015) 

Application for a License to Practice as a Physician Assistant, 

by endorsement or examination, online form available at: 

https://www.license.dhp.virginia.gov/apply/ 

Instructions for Completing an Application to Practice as a 

Physician Assistant in Virginia (rev. 11/2017) 

Form B, Employment History (rev. 7/2017) 

Form B, Supplemental Form (rev. 9/2018) 

ARRT Fluoroscopy Examination Application for a Physician 

Assistant (rev. 2/2014) 

Physician Assistant Authorization to Use Fluoroscopy (rev. 

1/2014) 

Practice Agreement as a Physician Assistant (PA) (rev. 

10/2019) 

Application for Registration for Volunteer Practice (rev. 

8/2015) 

Sponsor Certification for Volunteer Registration (rev. 

3/2018) 

Application for Restricted Volunteer License (rev. 8/2015) 

VA.R. Doc. No. R21-6641; Filed January 24, 2021, 4:27 p.m. 

Forms 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: Forms used in administering the 

regulation have been filed by the agency. The forms are not 

being published; however, online users of this issue of the 

Virginia Register of Regulations may click on the name of a 

form with a hyperlink to access it. The forms are also available 

from the agency contact or may be viewed at the Office of the 

Registrar of Regulations, 900 East Main Street, 11th Floor, 

Richmond, Virginia 23219. 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC85-80. Regulations Governing 

the Practice of Occupational Therapy. 

Agency Contact: Elaine J. Yeatts, Agency Regulatory 

Coordinator, Board of Medicine, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 

300, Richmond, VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-4688, or 

email elaine.yeatts@dhp.virginia.gov. 

FORMS (18VAC85-80) 

Instructions and Application for Occupational Therapist 

Licensure (rev. 1/09). 

Instructions and Application for Occupational Therapy 

Assistant Licensure (rev. 1/09). 

Form A, Claims History Sheet (rev. 8/07). 

Form A, Occupational Therapy Assistant, Claims History 

Sheet (eff. 11/08). 

Form B, Activity Questionnaire (rev. 8/07). 

Form B, Occupational Therapy Assistant, Activity 

Questionnaire (eff. 11/08). 

Form C, Clearance from Other State Boards (rev. 10/07). 

Form C, Occupational Therapy Assistant, Clearance from 

Other State Boards (eff. 11/08). 

Form L, Occupational Therapy, Certificate of Professional 

Education (rev. 1/09). 

Form L, Occupational Therapy Assistant, Certificate of 

Professional Education (rev. 1/09). 

Board Approved Practice, Occupational Therapist 

Traineeship (rev. 8/07). 

Instructions and Application for Reinstatement of 

Occupational Therapy Licensure (rev. 11/10). 

Reinstatement Application Instructions for Occupational 

Therapy Practitioner Licensure after Mandatory Suspension, 

Suspension or Surrender (rev. 10/07). 

Application for Reinstatement of Licensure to Practice 

Occupational Therapy (rev. 8/07). 

Instructions for Supervised Practice, Occupational Therapy 

Reinstatement (rev. 8/07). 

Supervised Practice Application, Occupational Therapy 

Reinstatement (rev. 8/07). 

Applications for a License to Practice Occupational Therapy 

or as an Occupational Therapy Assistant, available online at 

https://www.license.dhp.virginia.gov/apply/ 

Instructions for Completing an Application to Practice as an 

Occupational Therapist/Occupational Therapy Assistant in 

Virginia (rev. 12/2017) 

Supplemental Form to Form B (rev. 9/2018) 

mailto:elaine.yeatts@dhp.virginia.gov
https://www.dhp.virginia.gov/medicine/medicine_forms.htm#PAhttps://www.license.dhp.virginia.gov/apply/
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC85/forms/instr_PA-20210105153028.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC85/forms/instr_PA-20210105153028.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC85/forms/FormB_EmpHist-20210105153117.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC85/forms/SupplementalForm-20210105153127.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC85/forms/ARRT_Exam-20210105153140.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC85/forms/ARRT_Exam-20210105153140.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC85/forms/Auth_Fluoroscopy-20210105153152.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC85/forms/Auth_Fluoroscopy-20210105153152.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC85/forms/Auth_Fluoroscopy-20210105153152.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC85/forms/Auth_Fluoroscopy-20210105153152.pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=f3712006206~4n.pdf&typ=40&actno=006206&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=f3712006206~4n.pdf&typ=40&actno=006206&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=d8779006206~5m.pdf&typ=40&actno=006206&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=d8779006206~5m.pdf&typ=40&actno=006206&mime=application/pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC85/forms/Restrict_Volunteer-20210105153208.pdf
mailto:elaine.yeatts@dhp.virginia.gov
https://www.license.dhp.virginia.gov/apply/
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC85/forms/Instr_OT_OTA-20210105160142.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC85/forms/Instr_OT_OTA-20210105160142.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC85/forms/Instr_OT_OTA-20210105160142.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC85/forms/SupplementalForm-20210105160152.pdf
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Instructions and Application for Reinstatement of a License 

to Practice as an Occupational Therapist/Occupational 

Therapy Assistant (rev. 4/2018) 

Application to Reactivate an Inactive License for an 

Occupational Therapist Assistant Pursuant to Virginia 

Regulations 18VAC85-80-72 (rev. 5/2019) 

Application to Reactivate an Inactive License for an 

Occupational Therapist Pursuant to Virginia Regulations 

18VAC85-80-72 (rev. 1/2018) 

Supervised Occupational Therapy Services (lapse between 

two to six years) (rev. 5/2017) 

Supervised Occupational Therapy Services (lapse six years or 

more) (rev. 5/2017) 

Continued Competency Activity and Assessment Form (rev. 

4/2000) 

Application for Registration for Volunteer Practice (rev. 

8/07). 

Sponsor Certification for Volunteer Registration (rev. 8/08). 

Application for Restricted Volunteer License (rev. 8/2015) 

Application for Registration for Volunteer Practice (rev. 

8/2015) 

Sponsor Certification for Volunteer Registration (rev. 

3/2018) 

VA.R. Doc. No. R21-6640; Filed January 24, 2021, 4:27 p.m. 

Forms 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: Forms used in administering the 

regulation have been filed by the agency. The forms are not 

being published; however, online users of this issue of the 

Virginia Register of Regulations may click on the name of a 

form with a hyperlink to access it. The forms are also available 

from the agency contact or may be viewed at the Office of the 

Registrar of Regulations, 900 East Main Street, 11th Floor, 

Richmond, Virginia 23219. 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC85-101. Regulations Governing 

the Practice of Radiologic Technology. 

Agency Contact: Elaine J. Yeatts, Agency Regulatory 

Coordinator, Board of Medicine, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 

300, Richmond, VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-4688, or 

email elaine.yeatts@dhp.virginia.gov. 

FORMS (18VAC85-101) 

Instructions for Completing an Application for Licensure as 

a Radiologic Technologist By Examination/Endorsement (rev. 

11/10). 

Instructions for Completing an Application for Licensure as 

a Radiologist Assistant (rev. 11/10). 

Application for a License as a Radiologic Technologist (rev. 

11/10). 

Application for a License to Practice as a Radiologist 

Assistant (rev. 11/10). 

Form A, Radiologic Technologist, Claims History Sheet (rev. 

11/10). 

Form A, Radiologist Assistant, Claims History (rev. 11/10). 

Form B, Radiologic Technologist, Activity Questionnaire 

(rev. 11/10). 

Form B, Radiologist Assistant, Activity Questionnaire (rev. 

11/10). 

Form C, Radiologic Technologist, Clearance from Other 

States (rev. 11/10). 

Form C, Radiologist Assistant, Clearance from Other States 

(rev. 11/10). 

Form E, Radiologist Assistant, Certification Request from 

ARRT (rev. 11/10). 

Form E, Radiologic Technologist, Certification Request from 

ARRT (rev. 11/10). 

Form F, Traineeship Application (rev. 11/10). 

Form L, Radiologic Technologist, Certificate of Professional 

Education (rev. 11/10). 

Form L, Radiologist Assistant, Certificate of Professional 

Education (rev. 11/10). 

Instructions for Completing an Application for Licensure as 

a Radiologic Technologist-Limited (rev. 11/10). 

Application for a License to Practice Radiologic Technology-

Limited (rev. 11/10). 

Form T/A (1) and T/A (2), Radiologic Technologist-Limited 

Training Application for Abdomen/Pelvis pursuant to Virginia 

Regulations 18VAC85–101–60 B (3) (rev. 11/10). 

Form T/C (1) and T/C (2), Radiologic Technologist-Limited 

Clinical Training Application (rev. 11/10). 

Form T/E, Radiologic Technologist-Limited Traineeship 

Application (rev. 11/10). 

Form A, Radiologic Technologist-Limited, Claims History 

Sheet (rev. 11/10). 

Form B, Radiologic Technologist-Limited, Activity 

Questionnaire (rev. 11/10). 

Form C, Radiologic Technologist-Limited, Clearance From 

Other States (rev. 11/10). 

Instructions for Completing Reinstatement of Radiologic 

Technology Licensure (rev. 8/07). 

https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC85/forms/Reinstatement-20210105160216.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC85/forms/Reinstatement-20210105160216.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC85/forms/Reinstatement-20210105160216.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC85/forms/Reactivate_OTA-20210105160241.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC85/forms/Reactivate_OTA-20210105160241.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC85/forms/Reactivate_OTA-20210105160241.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC85/forms/Reactivate_Inactive-20210105160228.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC85/forms/Reactivate_Inactive-20210105160228.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC85/forms/Reactivate_Inactive-20210105160228.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC85/forms/Lapse6less-20210105160306.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC85/forms/Lapse6less-20210105160306.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC85/forms/Lapse6more-20210105160317.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC85/forms/Lapse6more-20210105160317.pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=27c8b002953~74&typ=40&actno=002953&mime=application/msword
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=27c8b002953~74&typ=40&actno=002953&mime=application/msword
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC85/forms/Restrict_volunteer-20210105160331.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC85/forms/App_Reg_Volunteer-20210105160355.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC85/forms/App_Reg_Volunteer-20210105160355.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC85/forms/SponsorCert-20210105160404.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC85/forms/SponsorCert-20210105160404.pdf
mailto:elaine.yeatts@dhp.virginia.gov
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Application for Reinstatement of License to Practice 

Radiologic Technologist (rev. 10/07). 

Instructions for Completing Reinstatement of Radiologic 

Technologist-Limited Licensure (rev. 8/07). 

Application for Reinstatement of License to Practice 

Radiologic Technologist-Limited (eff. 10/07). 

Application for Registration for Volunteer Practice (rev. 

8/07). 

Sponsor Certification for Volunteer Registration (rev. 8/08). 

Application to Practice as a Radiologic Technologist, Limited 

Radiologic Technologist, or Radiologist Assistant, online 

application available at 

https://www.license.dhp.virginia.gov/apply/ 

Instructions for Completing an Application to Practice as a 

Radiologic Technologist in Virginia (rev. 12/2017) 

Instructions for Completing an Application to Practice as a 

Limited Radiologic Technologist in Virginia (rev. 12/2017) 

Instructions for Completing an Application to Practice as a 

Radiologist Assistant in Virginia (rev. 12/2017) 

Form B, Activity Questionnaire (rev. 7/2017) 

Supplemental Form to Form B (rev. 9/2018) 

Form C, Radiologic Technologist/Radiologist Assistant, 

Clearance from Other States (rev. 11/2010) 

Form B, Certificate of Professional Education (rev. 8/2007) 

Instructions and Application for Reinstatement of a License 

to Practice as a Radiologic Technologist/Limited Radiologic 

Technologist (rev. 12/2019) 

Application for Registration for Volunteer Practice (rev. 

8/2015) 

Sponsor Certification for Volunteer Registration (rev. 

7/2018). 

Continued Competency Activity and Assessment Form (eff. 

7/2008). 

VA.R. Doc. No. R21-6643; Filed January 24, 2021, 4:27 p.m. 

Forms 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: Forms used in administering the 

regulation have been filed by the agency. The forms are not 

being published; however, online users of this issue of the 

Virginia Register of Regulations may click on the name of a 

form with a hyperlink to access it. The forms are also available 

from the agency contact or may be viewed at the Office of the 

Registrar of Regulations, 900 East Main Street, 11th Floor, 

Richmond, Virginia 23219. 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC85-110. Regulations Governing 

the Practice of Licensed Acupuncturists. 

Agency Contact: Elaine J. Yeatts, Agency Regulatory 

Coordinator, Board of Medicine, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 

300, Richmond, VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-4688, or 

email elaine.yeatts@dhp.virginia.gov. 

FORMS (18VAC85-110) 

Instructions and Application for a License to Practice as an 

Acupuncturist - Graduates of Approved Institutions or 

Programs in the United States (rev. 11/10). 

Instructions and Application for a License to Practice as an 

Acupuncturist - Graduates of Nonapproved Educational 

Programs (rev. 11/10). 

Instructions for Completing an Application as an 

Acupuncturist in Virginia (rev. 3/2017) 

Form A, Claims History (rev. 11/2010) 

Form B, Activity Questionnaire (rev. 11/10). 

Form B, Employment History (rev. 7/2017) 

Form C, Clearance from Other State Boards (rev. 11/2010) 

Form L, Certification of Professional Education (rev. 11/10). 

Form L, Certification of Professional Education (rev. 8/2007) 

Verification of NCCAOM Certification (rev. 3/2008) 

Recommendation for Examination by a Physician (rev. 

11/2006) 

Application for Registration for Volunteer Practice (rev. 

8/07). 

Sponsor Certification for Volunteer Registration (rev. 8/08). 

Instructions and Application for Reinstatement as a Licensed 

Acupuncturist (rev. 2/09). 

Instructions for Completing a Reinstatement Application for 

Licensed Acupuncturist after Suspension, Surrender, or 

Mandatory Suspension (rev. 3/10). 

Application for Reinstatement of a License to Practice as a 

Licensed Acupuncturist after Suspension, Surrender, or 

Mandatory Suspension (rev. 3/10). 

Application for Registration for Volunteer Practice (rev. 

8/2015) 

Sponsor Certification for Volunteer Registration (rev. 

3/2018) 

Instructions and Application for Reinstatement of an 

Acupuncture Licensure (rev. 4/2018) 

Application to Reactivate an Inactive License for a Licensed 

Acupuncturist (rev. 1/2018) 

VA.R. Doc. No. R21-6637; Filed January 24, 2021, 4:28 p.m. 

https://www.license.dhp.virginia.gov/apply/
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC85/forms/Instr_RT-20210105145017.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC85/forms/Instr_RT-20210105145017.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC85/forms/Instr_LimitedRT-20210105145032.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC85/forms/Instr_LimitedRT-20210105145032.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC85/forms/Instr_RTAssistant-20210105145247.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC85/forms/Instr_RTAssistant-20210105145247.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC85/forms/FormB_ActQ-20210105145524.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC85/forms/SupplementalForm-20210105145542.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC85/forms/FormC-20210105145554.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC85/forms/FormC-20210105145554.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC85/forms/Form%20B_Cert_Prof_Ed-20210105145617.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC85/forms/Reinstate_RT-20210105145634.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC85/forms/Reinstate_RT-20210105145634.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC85/forms/Reinstate_RT-20210105145634.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC85/forms/App_Reg_Volunteer-20210105145648.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC85/forms/App_Reg_Volunteer-20210105145648.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC85/forms/Sponsor_Cert-20210105145658.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC85/forms/Sponsor_Cert-20210105145658.pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=3e2a9002130~22&typ=40&actno=002130&mime=application/msword
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=3e2a9002130~22&typ=40&actno=002130&mime=application/msword
mailto:elaine.yeatts@dhp.virginia.gov
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC85/forms/Instructions_App-20210105110639.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC85/forms/Instructions_App-20210105110639.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC85/forms/FormA_ClaimsHistory-20210105110701.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC85/forms/FormB_EmpHistory-20210105110715.pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=b5170002953~13&typ=40&actno=002953&mime=application/msword
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC85/forms/FormB_Cert_Prof-20210105110741.pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=55cc3002953~78&typ=40&actno=002953&mime=application/msword
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC85/forms/Recommend_Exam-20210105110810.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC85/forms/Recommend_Exam-20210105110810.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC85/forms/Volunteer_Application_Med-20210105110829.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC85/forms/Volunteer_Application_Med-20210105110829.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC85/forms/Volunteer_Sponsor-20210105110841.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC85/forms/Volunteer_Sponsor-20210105110841.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC85/forms/Reinstatement-20210105110859.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC85/forms/Reinstatement-20210105110859.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC85/forms/Reactivate-20210105110910.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC85/forms/Reactivate-20210105110910.pdf
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Forms 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: Forms used in administering the 

regulation have been filed by the agency. The forms are not 

being published; however, online users of this issue of the 

Virginia Register of Regulations may click on the name of a 

form with a hyperlink to access it. The forms are also available 

from the agency contact or may be viewed at the Office of the 

Registrar of Regulations, 900 East Main Street, 11th Floor, 

Richmond, Virginia 23219. 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC85-120. Regulations Governing 

the Licensure of Athletic Trainers. 

Agency Contact: Elaine Yeatts, Agency Regulatory 

Coordinator, Department of Health Professions, 9960 Mayland 

Drive, Henrico, VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-4688, FAX 

(804) 527-4434, or email elaine.yeatts@dhp.virginia.gov. 

FORMS (18VAC85-120) 

Instructions for Completing and Athletic Trainer Licensure 

Application (10/09). 

Form A, Claims History (rev. 8/07). 

Form B, Activity Questionnaire (rev. 8/07). 

Form C, Clearance from Other State Boards (rev. 8/07). 

Form L, Certificate of Professional Education (rev. 8/07). 

Provisional License to Practice as an Athletic Trainer 

Pursuant to 18VAC85–120–80 (rev. 10/10). 

Application for Registration for Volunteer Practice (rev. 

8/07). 

Sponsor Certification for Volunteer Registration (rev. 8/08). 

Instructions for Completing and a Reinstatement Application 

for Athletic Training (rev. 11/10). 

Application for a License to Practice as an Athletic Trainer, 

online form available at 

https://www.dhp.virginia.gov/medicine/medicine_forms.htm 

Instructions for Completing an Athletic Trainer Licensure 

Application (12/2017) 

Form B Supplemental Form (rev. 9/2018) 

Application for Registration for Volunteer Practice (rev. 

8/2015) 

Sponsor Certification for Volunteer Registration (rev. 

3/2018) 

Instructions and Application for Reinstatement of an Athletic 

Trainer Licensure (rev. 4/2018) 

Certificate of Professional Education (rev. 8/2007) 

VA.R. Doc. No. R21-6634; Filed January 24, 2021, 4:29 p.m. 

Forms 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: Forms used in administering the 

regulation have been filed by the agency. The forms are not 

being published; however, online users of this issue of the 

Virginia Register of Regulations may click on the name of a 

form with a hyperlink to access it. The forms are also available 

from the agency contact or may be viewed at the Office of the 

Registrar of Regulations, 900 East Main Street, 11th Floor, 

Richmond, Virginia 23219. 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC85-130. Regulations Governing 

the Practice of Licensed Midwives. 

Agency Contact: Elaine J. Yeatts, Agency Regulatory 

Coordinator, Board of Medicine, 9960 MaylandDrive, Suite 

300, Richmond, VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-4688, or 

email elaine.yeatts@dhp.virginia.gov. 

FORMS (18VAC85-130) 

Instructions for and Application to Practice as a Licensed 

Midwife (rev. 11/10). 

Instructions for Completing a Licensed Midwife Application 

(rev. 3/2017) 

Form A, Claims History (rev. 11/2010) 

Form B, Activity Questionnaire (rev. 11/10). 

Form B, Activity Questionnaire (rev. 7/2017) 

Form B Supplemental Form (rev. 9/2018) 

Form C, Jurisdiction Clearance (rev. 11/2010) 

Instructions and Application for Reinstatement of a License 

to Practice as a Certified Professional Midwife (CPM) (rev. 

4/2018) 

Application to Reactivate an Inactive License for a Licensed 

Midwife (rev. 5/2019) 

VA.R. Doc. No. R21-6638; Filed January 24, 2021, 4:28 p.m. 

Forms 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: Forms used in administering the 

regulation have been filed by the agency. The forms are not 

being published; however, online users of this issue of the 

Virginia Register of Regulations may click on the name of a 

form with a hyperlink to access it. The forms are also available 

from the agency contact or may be viewed at the Office of the 

Registrar of Regulations, 900 East Main Street, 11th Floor, 

Richmond, Virginia 23219. 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC85-140. Regulations Governing 

the Practice of Polysomnographic Technologists. 

Agency Contact: Elaine J. Yeatts, Agency Regulatory 

Coordinator, Board of Medicine, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 

300, Richmond, VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-4688, or 

email elaine.yeatts@dhp.virginia.gov. 

mailto:elaine.yeatts@dhp.virginia.gov
https://www.dhp.virginia.gov/medicine/medicine_forms.htm
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC85/forms/AT_instruct_form-20210105094450.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC85/forms/AT_instruct_form-20210105094450.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC85/forms/SupplementalForm-20210105094505.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC85/forms/App_Reg_Volunteer-20210105094524.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC85/forms/App_Reg_Volunteer-20210105094524.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC85/forms/Sponsor_Certification-20210105094536.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC85/forms/Sponsor_Certification-20210105094536.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC85/forms/AT_Reinstatement-20210105094556.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC85/forms/AT_Reinstatement-20210105094556.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC85/forms/Certif_Prof_Ed-20210105094610.pdf
mailto:elaine.yeatts@dhp.virginia.gov
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC85/forms/Instructions-20210105113034.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC85/forms/Instructions-20210105113034.pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=e71c0002953~2&typ=40&actno=002953&mime=application/msword
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC85/forms/B_ActivityQ-20210105113052.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC85/forms/SupplementalForm-20210105113105.pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=b4c95002953~4&typ=40&actno=002953&mime=application/msword
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC85/forms/Reinstatement-20210105113120.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC85/forms/Reinstatement-20210105113120.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC85/forms/Reinstatement-20210105113120.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC85/forms/Reactivate-20210105113133.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC85/forms/Reactivate-20210105113133.pdf
mailto:elaine.yeatts@dhp.virginia.gov
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FORMS (18VAC85-140) 

Instructions for Completing an Application to Practice 

Polysomnographic Technology in Virginia (undated) 

Form A, Claims History (rev. 8/13) 

Form B, Employment Activity (rev. 8/13) 

Application to Practice as a Polysomnographic Technologist 

in Virginia, online application at 

https://www.license.dhp.virginia.gov/apply/ 

Instructions for Completing an Application to Practice as a 

Polysomnographic Technologist in Virginia (rev. 12/2017) 

Form B, Employment Activity (rev. 7/2017) 

Form B Supplemental Form (rev. 09/2018) 

Form C, Verification Form (rev. 8/2013) 

Application to Reactivate an Inactive License for a 

Polysomnographic Technologist (rev. 10/2018) 

VA.R. Doc. No. R21-6642; Filed January 24, 2021, 4:27 p.m. 

Forms 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: Forms used in administering the 

regulation have been filed by the agency. The forms are not 

being published; however, online users of this issue of the 

Virginia Register of Regulations may click on the name of a 

form with a hyperlink to access it. The forms are also available 

from the agency contact or may be viewed at the Office of the 

Registrar of Regulations, 900 East Main Street, 11th Floor, 

Richmond, Virginia 23219. 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC85-150. Regulations Governing 

the Practice of Behavior Analysis. 

Agency Contact: Elaine Yeatts, Agency Regulatory 

Coordinator, Department of Health Professions, 9960 Mayland 

Drive, Henrico, VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-4688, FAX 

(804) 527-4434, or email elaine.yeatts@dhp.virginia.gov. 

FORMS (18VAC85-150) 

Application to Practice as a Behavior Analyst or Assistant 

Behavior Analyst (apply online) 

Behavior Analyst - Form A, Claims History (09/2013) 

Assistant Behavior Analyst - Form A, Claims History 

(09/2013) 

Behavior Analyst and Assistant Behavior Analyst - Form B 

(09/2013) 

Behavior Analyst - Form C (09/2013) 

Assistant Behavior Analyst - Form C (09/2013) 

Instructions for Completing an Assistant Behavior Analyst 

Licensure Reinstatement Application (09/2013) 

Application to Practice as a Behavior Analyst or Assistant 

Behavior Analyst, online form available at 

https://www.dhp.virginia.gov/medicine/medicine_forms.htm 

Instructions for Completing an Application to Practice as a 

Board Certified Behavior Analyst/Assistant Behavior Analyst 

in Virginia (rev. 12/2017) 

Form B Supplemental Form (rev. 9/2018) 

Instructions and Application for Reinstatement of a Behavior 

Analyst or Assistant Behavior Analyst Licensure (rev. 4/2018) 

Application to Reactivate an Inactive License for a Behavior 

Analyst or Assistant Behavior Analyst (rev. 1/2018) 

VA.R. Doc. No. R21-6635; Filed January 24, 2021, 4:28 p.m. 

Forms 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: Forms used in administering the 

regulation have been filed by the agency. The forms are not 

being published; however, online users of this issue of the 

Virginia Register of Regulations may click on the name of a 

form with a hyperlink to access it. The forms are also available 

from the agency contact or may be viewed at the Office of the 

Registrar of Regulations, 900 East Main Street, 11th Floor, 

Richmond, Virginia 23219. 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC85-160. Regulations Governing 

the Licensure of Surgical Assistants and Registration of 

Surgical Technologists. 

Agency Contact: Elaine J. Yeatts, Agency Regulatory 

Coordinator, Board of Medicine, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 

300, Richmond, VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-4688, or 

email elaine.yeatts@dhp.virginia.gov. 

FORMS (18VAC85-160) 

Application to Register as a Surgical Assistant or Surgical 

Technologist (rev. 12/14) 

Instructions for Completing an Application to Practice as a 

Licensed Surgical Assistant (rev. 10/2020) 

Instructions for Completing an Application to Register as a 

Surgical Technologist (rev. 10/2020) 

VA.R. Doc. No. R21-6645; Filed January 24, 2021, 4:26 p.m. 

Forms 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: Forms used in administering the 

regulation have been filed by the agency. The forms are not 

being published; however, online users of this issue of the 

Virginia Register of Regulations may click on the name of a 

form with a hyperlink to access it. The forms are also available 

from the agency contact or may be viewed at the Office of the 

Registrar of Regulations, 900 East Main Street, 11th Floor, 

Richmond, Virginia 23219. 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC85-170. Regulations Governing 

the Practice of Genetic Counselors. 

https://www.license.dhp.virginia.gov/apply/
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC85/forms/Instruct_app-20210105133540.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC85/forms/Instruct_app-20210105133540.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC85/forms/FormB-20210105133555.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC85/forms/SupplementalForm-20210105133606.pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=fd8de002762~8&typ=40&actno=002762&mime=application/pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC85/forms/InactivetoActive-20210105133619.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC85/forms/InactivetoActive-20210105133619.pdf
mailto:elaine.yeatts@dhp.virginia.gov
https://www.dhp.virginia.gov/medicine/medicine_forms.htm
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC85/forms/instruct_forms-20210105100904.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC85/forms/instruct_forms-20210105100904.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC85/forms/instruct_forms-20210105100904.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC85/forms/FormB-20210105100921.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC85/forms/Reinstatement-20210105101604.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC85/forms/Reinstatement-20210105101604.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC85/forms/InactivetoActiveapp-20210105101008.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC85/forms/InactivetoActiveapp-20210105101008.pdf
mailto:elaine.yeatts@dhp.virginia.gov
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC85/forms/SurgicalAssistantApp._Approved-20210104174239.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC85/forms/SurgicalAssistantApp._Approved-20210104174239.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC85/forms/SurgicalTechnologistApp-20210104174744.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC85/forms/SurgicalTechnologistApp-20210104174744.pdf
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Agency Contact: Elaine Yeatts, Agency Regulatory 

Coordinator, Department of Health Professions, 9960 Mayland 

Drive, Henrico, VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-4688, FAX 

(804) 527-4434, or email elaine.yeatts@dhp.virginia.gov. 

FORMS (18VAC85-170) 

Genetic Counselor Application 

(https://www.license.dhp.virginia.gov/apply/) 

Instructions for Completing an Application to Practice 

Genetic Counseling in Virginia (eff. 4/2017) 

Instructions for Completing an Application for a Temporary 

License to Practice Genetic Counseling in Virginia (eff. 

4/2017) 

Form B, Employment History (rev. 3/2017) 

Instructions for Completing an Application to Practice as a 

Genetic Counselor, available online at 

https://www.dhp.virginia.gov/medicine/medicine_forms.htm#

Genetic 

Instructions for Completing an Application to Practice 

Genetic Counseling in Virginia (rev. 12/2017) 

Instructions for Completing an Application for a Temporary 

License to Practice in "Active Candidate Status" to Practice 

Genetic Counseling in Virginia (rev. 6/2017) 

Form B, Employment History (rev. 7/2017) 

Form B Supplemental Form (rev. 9/2018) 

Continued Competency Activity and Assessment Form (eff. 

6/2017) 

VA.R. Doc. No. R21-6636; Filed January 24, 2021, 4:28 p.m. 

BOARD OF NURSING 

Proposed Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC90-19. Regulations Governing 

the Practice of Nursing (amending 18VAC90-19-10, 

18VAC90-19-230). 

Statutory Authority: § 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: No public hearings are currently 

scheduled. 

Public Comment Deadline: April 16, 2021. 

Agency Contact: Jay P. Douglas, R.N., Executive Director, 

Board of Nursing, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, Richmond, 

VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-4520, FAX (804) 527-4455, 

or email jay.douglas@dhp.virginia.gov. 

Basis: Regulations are promulgated under the general authority 

of § 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia, which provides the 

Board of Nursing the authority to promulgate regulations to 

administer the regulatory system. Section 54.1-2409.5 of the 

Code of Virginia establishes a prohibition on conversion 

therapy. 

Purpose: The purpose of this regulatory action is to specify in 

regulations the interpretation of the board that conversion 

therapy has the potential for significant harm if practiced with 

persons younger than 18 years of age. The amendments define 

the term, consistent with accepted usage within the profession 

and consistent with policy statements by state and national 

professional organizations. 

Substance: The Board of Nursing has amended 18VAC90-19-

230 to specify that the standard of practice prohibits a nurse 

from engaging in conversion therapy with a person younger 

than 18 years of age. Regulations define conversion therapy as 

it is defined in § 54.1-2409.5 of the Code of Virginia. 

Issues: The primary advantage to the public is protection for 

minors who might otherwise be subjected to reparative or 

conversion therapy; the board does not believe there are 

disadvantages because practitioners can provide assistance to 

a person undergoing gender transition or psychological 

services that offer acceptance, support, and understanding of a 

person or facilitates a person's coping, social support, and 

identity exploration and development. There are no advantages 

or disadvantages to the agency or the Commonwealth. 

The Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 

Analysis: 

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. The 

Board of Nursing (Board) proposes to amend 18VAC90-19 

Regulations Governing the Practice of Nursing (regulation) in 

order to add a definition of conversion therapy and a stipulation 

that licensees shall not engage in conversion therapy with 

individuals under 18 years of age.  

Background. Chapters 41 and 721 of the 2020 Acts of 

Assembly bans the use of conversion therapy on minors by any 

provider licensed by a health regulatory board with the 

Department of Health Professions (DHP).1 Specifically, the 

Act creates § 54.1-2409.5 of the Code of Virginia, which 

defines conversion therapy as follows: Conversion therapy 

means any practice or treatment that seeks to change an 

individual's sexual orientation or gender identity, including 

efforts to change behaviors or gender expressions or to 

eliminate or reduce sexual or romantic attractions or feelings 

toward individuals of the same gender. Conversion therapy 

does not include counseling that provides acceptance, support, 

and understanding of a person or facilitates a person's coping, 

social support, and identity exploration and development, 

including sexual-orientation-neutral interventions to prevent or 

address unlawful conduct or unsafe sexual practices, as long as 

such counseling does not seek to change an individual's sexual 

orientation or gender identity. DHP reports that registered 

nurses (RNs) and clinical nurse specialists are more likely to 

be familiar with the regulations put forth by their licensing 

board than statutes. Thus, the Board seeks to amend the 

regulation to (i) define conversion therapy by referring the 

reader to § 54.1-2409.5, and (ii) explicitly prohibit licensees 

and holders of multistate licensure privilege from engaging in 

conversion therapy with a person under 18 years of age. 

mailto:elaine.yeatts@dhp.virginia.gov
https://www.dhp.virginia.gov/medicine/medicine_forms.htm#Genetic
https://www.dhp.virginia.gov/medicine/medicine_forms.htm#Genetic
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC85/forms/Instruct-20210105102426.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC85/forms/Instruct-20210105102426.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC85/forms/Temporary_Instruct-20210105102439.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC85/forms/Temporary_Instruct-20210105102439.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC85/forms/Temporary_Instruct-20210105102439.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC85/forms/Employ_History-20210105102709.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC85/forms/SupplementalForm-20210105102721.pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=ddb3e004172~1&typ=40&actno=004172&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=ddb3e004172~1&typ=40&actno=004172&mime=application/pdf
mailto:jay.douglas@dhp.virginia.gov
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Estimated Benefits and Costs. DHP estimates that few, if any, RNs 

or clinical nurse specialists would be affected because conversion 

therapy has been considered harmful2 to minors and contrary to 

the professions code of ethics.3 To the extent that licensed RNs or 

clinical nurse specialists are currently engaging in conversion 

therapy with individuals under 18 years of age, they would be in 

violation of state law. Any licensed RNs or clinical nurse 

specialists choosing to forfeit their licensure in favor of continuing 

to practice conversion therapy may only continue to do so if 

employed as a rabbi, priest, minister or clergyman, as long as they 

belong to an established and legally cognizable church, 

denomination or sect and remain accountable to its established 

authority.4 Clients under age 18, who seek to receive, or continue 

receiving, conversion therapy would need to find providers who 

are not licensed by any board within DHP, which may result in 

some costs for the client depending on the availability of such 

providers. Conversely, the proposed amendments would benefit 

children and their parents to the extent that it prevents the use of a 

practice that has been found to be harmful to children and has been 

banned for such use under state law. 

Businesses and Other Entities Affected. As mentioned, some 

licensed RNs and clinical nurse specialists who may also have 

been working in a religious setting may have to alter their practice 

or else face disciplinary action, but DHP estimates that these are 

most likely a very small fraction of the overall number of license-

holders.5 Although DHP does not have an estimate of the number 

of affected RNs or clinical nurse specialists, the agency reports 

that the vast majority of current license-holders likely do not 

engage in conversion therapy at all (in either religious or secular 

settings) since it is not taught by any accredited nursing program 

and has been considered contrary to the professional code of ethics 

in an informal capacity for more than a decade.  

Small Businesses6 Affected. Although some licensed RNs or 

clinical nurse specialists may be employed in a small business 

setting, DHP estimates that only a very small fraction of the 

overall number of license-holders would be affected by the 

regulation at all, and there is no reason to suggest that those 

affected are more likely to be working in a small business. 

Even so, the cost to providers of complying with the regulation 

is unlikely to be significant, and there are no alternatives to the 

regulation that would provide greater flexibility while also 

conforming to the Code of Virginia.  

Localities7 Affected.8 The proposed amendments do not 

introduce new costs for local governments and are unlikely to 

affect any locality in particular. 

Projected Impact on Employment. The proposed amendments 

are unlikely to affect the overall number of employed RNs or 

clinical nurse specialists.  

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. The proposed 

amendments are unlikely to affect the use and value of private 

property. Real estate development costs are not affected. 

___________________________________________ 

1See http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?201 ful CHAP0041. 

2In a 2013 Position Statement, the American Psychiatric Association stated 

that it does not believe that same-sex orientation should or needs to be changed, 

and efforts to do so represent a significant risk of harm by subjecting 

individuals to forms of treatment which have not been scientifically validated 

and by undermining self-esteem when sexual orientation fails to change. No 

credible evidence exists that any mental health intervention can reliably and 

safely change sexual orientation; nor, from a mental health perspective does 

sexual orientation need to be changed. Downloaded from 

https://www.psychiatry.org/home/policy-finder. 

3In 2019, the Board also adopted a guidance document addressing conversion 

therapy: https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/ViewGDoc.cfm?gdid=6784. 

4As per COV § 54.1-3501 Exemption from requirements of licensure: The 

activities, including marriage and family therapy, counseling, or substance 

abuse treatment, of rabbis, priests, ministers or clergymen of any religious 

denomination or sect when such activities are within the scope of the 

performance of their regular or specialized ministerial duties, and no separate 

charge is made or when such activities are performed, whether with or without 

charge, for or under auspices or sponsorship, individually or in conjunction 

with others, of an established and legally cognizable church, denomination or 

sect, and the person rendering service remains accountable to its established 

authority. 

5According to the ABD, there are 111,710 RNs and 406 clinical nurse 

specialists currently licensed by the Board. 

6Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.04 of the Code of Virginia, small business is defined 

as a business entity, including its affiliates, that (i) is independently owned and 

operated and (ii) employs fewer than 500 full-time employees or has gross 

annual sales of less than $6 million. 

7Locality can refer to either local governments or the locations in the 

Commonwealth where the activities relevant to the regulatory change are most 

likely to occur. 

8§ 2.2-4007.04 defines particularly affected" as bearing disproportionate 

material impact. 

Agency's Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The Board 

of Nursing concurs with the economic impact analysis of the 

Department of Planning and Budget. 

Summary: 

Pursuant to Chapters 41 and 721 of the 2020 Acts of 

Assembly, the proposed amendments (i) define conversion 

therapy as it is defined in § 54.1-2409.5 of the Code of 

Virginia, and (ii) specify that the standard of practice for 

nurse practitioners prohibits a nurse practitioner from 

engaging in conversion therapy with a person younger than 

18 years of age. 

18VAC90-19-10. Definitions. 

In addition to words and terms defined in §§ 54.1-3000 and 

54.1-3030 of the Code of Virginia, the following words and 

terms when used in this chapter shall have the following 

meanings unless the context clearly indicates otherwise: 

"Active practice" means activities performed, whether or not 

for compensation, for which an active license to practice 

nursing is required. 

"Board" means the Board of Nursing. 

"CGFNS" means the Commission on Graduates of Foreign 

Nursing Schools. 

"Contact hour" means 50 minutes of continuing education 

coursework or activity. 

http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?201%20ful%20CHAP0041
https://www.psychiatry.org/home/policy-finder
https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/ViewGDoc.cfm?gdid=6784
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"Conversion therapy" means any practice or treatment as 

defined in § 54.1-2409.5 A of the Code of Virginia.  

"National certifying organization" means an organization that 

has as one of its purposes the certification of a specialty in 

nursing based on an examination attesting to the knowledge of 

the nurse for practice in the specialty area. 

"NCLEX" means the National Council Licensure 

Examination. 

"NCSBN" means the National Council of State Boards of 

Nursing. 

"Primary state of residence" means the state of a person's 

declared fixed, permanent, and principal home or domicile for 

legal purposes. 

18VAC90-19-230. Disciplinary provisions. 

A. The board has the authority to deny, revoke, or suspend a 

license or multistate licensure privilege issued, or to otherwise 

discipline a licensee or holder of a multistate licensure 

privilege upon proof that the licensee or holder of a multistate 

licensure privilege has violated any of the provisions of § 54.1-

3007 of the Code of Virginia. For the purpose of establishing 

allegations to be included in the notice of hearing, the board 

has adopted the following definitions: 

1. Fraud or deceit in procuring or maintaining a license 

means, but shall not be limited to: 

a. Filing false credentials; 

b. Falsely representing facts on an application for initial 

license, reinstatement, or renewal of a license; or 

c. Giving or receiving assistance in the taking of the 

licensing examination. 

2. Unprofessional conduct means, but shall not be limited to: 

a. Performing acts beyond the limits of the practice of 

professional or practical nursing as defined in Chapter 30 

(§ 54.1-3000 et seq.) of Title 54.1 of the Code of Virginia, 

or as provided by §§ 54.1-2901 and 54.1-2957 of the Code 

of Virginia; 

b. Assuming duties and responsibilities within the practice 

of nursing without adequate training or when competency 

has not been maintained; 

c. Obtaining supplies, equipment, or drugs for personal or 

other unauthorized use; 

d. Employing or assigning unqualified persons to perform 

functions that require a licensed practitioner of nursing; 

e. Falsifying or otherwise altering patient, employer, 

student, or educational program records, including falsely 

representing facts on a job application or other 

employment-related documents; 

f. Abusing, neglecting, or abandoning patients or clients; 

g. Practice of a clinical nurse specialist beyond that 

defined in 18VAC90-19-220 and § 54.1-3000 of the Code 

of Virginia; 

h. Representing oneself as or performing acts constituting 

the practice of a clinical nurse specialist unless so 

registered by the board; 

i. Delegating nursing tasks to an unlicensed person in 

violation of the provisions of Part VI (18VAC90-19-240 

et seq.) of this chapter; 

j. Giving to or accepting from a patient or client property 

or money for any reason other than fee for service or a 

nominal token of appreciation; 

k. Obtaining money or property of a patient or client by 

fraud, misrepresentation, or duress; 

l. Entering into a relationship with a patient or client that 

constitutes a professional boundary violation in which the 

nurse uses his professional position to take advantage of 

the vulnerability of a patient, a client, or his family, to 

include actions that result in personal gain at the expense 

of the patient or client, or a nontherapeutic personal 

involvement or sexual conduct with a patient or client; 

m. Violating state laws relating to the privacy of patient 

information, including § 32.1-127.1:03 the Code of 

Virginia; 

n. Providing false information to staff or board members 

in the course of an investigation or proceeding; 

o. Failing to report evidence of child abuse or neglect as 

required in § 63.2-1509 of the Code of Virginia or elder 

abuse or neglect as required in § 63.2-1606 of the Code of 

Virginia; or 

p. Engaging in conversion therapy with a person younger 

than 18 years of age; or 

q. Violating any provision of this chapter. 

B. Any sanction imposed on the registered nurse license of a 

clinical nurse specialist shall have the same effect on the 

clinical nurse specialist registration. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R21-6475; Filed January 15, 2021, 6:43 p.m. 

Forms 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: Forms used in administering the 

regulation have been filed by the agency. The forms are not 

being published; however, online users of this issue of the 

Virginia Register of Regulations may click on the name of a 

form with a hyperlink to access it. The forms are also available 

from the agency contact or may be viewed at the Office of the 

Registrar of Regulations, 900 East Main Street, 11th Floor, 

Richmond, Virginia 23219. 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC90-19. Regulations Governing 

the Practice of Nursing. 

Agency Contact: Elaine Yeatts, Agency Regulatory 

Coordinator, Department of Health Professions, 9960 Mayland 
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Drive, Henrico, VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-4688, FAX 

(804) 527-4434, or email elaine.yeatts@dhp.virginia.gov. 

FORMS (18VAC90-19) 

Licensure by examination: 

Instructions and Application for Licensure by Examination 

for Registered Nurses (rev. 8/2011) 

Instructions and Application for Licensure by Examination -

- Licensed Practical Nurse (rev. 8/2011) 

Instructions and Application for Licensure by Repeat 

Examination for Registered Nurse (rev.12/2014) 

Instructions and Application for Licensure by Repeat 

Examination for Licensed Practical Nurse (rev.12/2014) 

License by endorsement: 

Application for Licensure by Endorsement -- Registered 

Nurse (rev. 5/2011) 

Instructions for Licensure by Endorsement -- Registered 

Nurse (rev. 5/2011) 

Instructions for Licensure by Endorsement -- Licensed 

Practical Nurse (rev. 5/2011) 

Application for Licensure by Endorsement -- Licensed 

Practical Nurse (rev. 6/2011) 

Verification of Clinical Practice -- Licensure by Endorsement 

(rev. 1/2010) 

Reinstatement: 

Instructions and Application for Reinstatement -- Registered 

Nurse or Licensed Practical Nurse (rev. 10/2016) 

Instructions and Application for Reinstatement of License as 

a Registered Nurse Following Suspension or Revocation (rev. 

6/2011) 

Instructions and Application for Reinstatement of License as 

a Licensed Practical Nurse Following Suspension or 

Revocation (rev. 6/2011) 

Clinical nurse specialist: 

Procedure (rev. 3/10) and Application for Registration as a 

Clinical Nurse Specialist (rev. 6/2011) 

Instructions and Application for Reinstatement of 

Registration as a Clinical Nurse Specialist (rev. 3/2014) 

Other: 

Declaration of Primary State of Residency for Purposes of the 

Nurse Licensure Compact (rev. 7/2015) 

License Verification Form (rev. 7/2016) 

Application for Registration for Volunteer Practice (undated, 

filed 12/2016) 

Sponsor Certification for Volunteer Registration (rev. 

8/2008) 

Verification of Supervised Clinical Practice -- Registered 

Nurse Provisional License (eff. 8/013) 

Notification of Intent to Supervise Clinical Practice -- 

Registered Nurse Provisional License (rev. 4/2015) 

Instructions and Application for Restricted Volunteer 

Nursing License (rev. 5/2016) 

Request to Change License Status: Inactive to Active for RN 

and LPN (rev. 8/2016) 

Registered Nurse - Licensure by examination: 

Application for initial licensure as a registered nurse by 

examination available online at 

https://www.dhp.virginia.gov/Boards/Nursing/Practitioner

Resources/Forms/ 

Checklist Instructions Examination Application (rev. 

6/2020)  

Checklist Instructions Repeat Examination Application (rev. 

11/2019) 

Registered Nurse - License by endorsement: 

Application for initial licensure as a registered nurse by 

endorsement available online at 

https://www.dhp.virginia.gov/Boards/Nursing/Practitioner

Resources/Forms/ 

Checklist Instructions Endorsement Application (rev. 

3/2020)  

Registered Nurse - Reinstatement: 

Application for reinstatement of licensure as a registered 

nurse available online at 

https://www.dhp.virginia.gov/Boards/Nursing/Practitioner

Resources/Forms/ 

Checklist Instructions Reinstatement Application (rev. 

8/2018) 

Checklist Instructions for Reinstatement Application 

Following Suspension or Revocation (rev. 5/2018) 

Request to Change License Status: Inactive to Active for RN 

& LPN (rev. 7/2019)  

Clinical nurse specialist: 

Application for registration or reinstatement as a clinical 

nurse specialist, available online at 

https://www.dhp.virginia.gov/Boards/Nursing/Practitioner

Resources/Forms/ 

Checklist Instructions for Reinstatement Application: 

Clinical Nurse Specialist Registration (rev. 5/2018) 

mailto:elaine.yeatts@dhp.virginia.gov
https://www.dhp.virginia.gov/Boards/Nursing/PractitionerResources/Forms/
https://www.dhp.virginia.gov/Boards/Nursing/PractitionerResources/Forms/
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC90/forms/Examination-20210113193400.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC90/forms/Examination-20210113193400.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC90/forms/Repeat_Exam-20210113193446.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC90/forms/Repeat_Exam-20210113193446.pdf
https://www.dhp.virginia.gov/Boards/Nursing/PractitionerResources/Forms/
https://www.dhp.virginia.gov/Boards/Nursing/PractitionerResources/Forms/
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC90/forms/Endorsement-20210113193743.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC90/forms/Endorsement-20210113193743.pdf
https://www.dhp.virginia.gov/Boards/Nursing/PractitionerResources/Forms/
https://www.dhp.virginia.gov/Boards/Nursing/PractitionerResources/Forms/
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC90/forms/Reinstatement-20210113193822.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC90/forms/Reinstatement-20210113193822.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC90/forms/Reinstatement_Suspension-20210113193902.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC90/forms/Reinstatement_Suspension-20210113193902.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC90/forms/Reinstatement_Suspension-20210113193902.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC90/forms/Inactive_toActive-20210113193949.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC90/forms/Inactive_toActive-20210113193949.pdf
https://www.dhp.virginia.gov/Boards/Nursing/PractitionerResources/Forms/
https://www.dhp.virginia.gov/Boards/Nursing/PractitionerResources/Forms/
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC90/forms/ClinicalNurse_Reinstatement-20210113194133.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC90/forms/ClinicalNurse_Reinstatement-20210113194133.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC90/forms/ClinicalNurse_Reinstatement-20210113194133.pdf
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Other: 

Declaration of Primary State of Residence Form Under the 

Nurse Licensure Compact (rev. 4/2020)  

Instructions for Registration for Volunteer Nursing Practice 

(rev. 8/2018) 

Checklist Instructions Application for Restricted Volunteer 

License (rev. 8/2018) 

VA.R. Doc. No. R21-6660; Filed January 24, 2021, 4:29 p.m. 

Forms 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: Forms used in administering the 

regulation have been filed by the agency. The forms are not 

being published; however, online users of this issue of the 

Virginia Register of Regulations may click on the name of a 

form with a hyperlink to access it. The forms are also available 

from the agency contact or may be viewed at the Office of the 

Registrar of Regulations, 900 East Main Street, 11th Floor, 

Richmond, Virginia 23219. 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC90-25. Regulations Governing 

Certified Nurse Aides. 

Agency Contact: Elaine J. Yeatts, Agency Regulatory 

Coordinator, Board of Nursing, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 

300, Richmond, VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-4688, or 

email elaine.yeatts@dhp.virginia.gov. 

FORMS (18VAC90-25) 

Instructions for Application for Nurse Aide Certification by 

Endorsement (rev. 1/11) 

Application for Nurse Aide Certification by Endorsement 

(rev. 8/08) 

Nurse Aide Certification Verification Form (rev. 11/07) 

Instructions and Application for Certification as Advanced 

Certified Nurse Aide (rev. 8/07) 

Instructions and Application for Reinstatement of Nurse Aide 

Certification (rev. 8/08) 

Instructions and Application for Reinstatement of Advanced 

Nurse Aide Certification (rev. 8/07) 

Application for Certification as a Nurse Aide by 

Examination, available online at 

https://www.dhp.virginia.gov/Boards/Nursing/PractitionerRes

ources/Forms/ 

Application for Certification as a Nurse Aide by 

Endorsement, available online at 

https://www.dhp.virginia.gov/Boards/Nursing/PractitionerRes

ources/Forms/ 

Application for Certification as an Advanced Certified Nurse 

Aide, available online at 

https://www.dhp.virginia.gov/Boards/Nursing/PractitionerRes

ources/Forms/ 

Checklist Instructions Reinstatement of Nurse Aide 

Certification (rev. 4/2020) 

Checklist Instructions Reinstatement of Advanced Nurse 

Aide Certification (rev. 4/2020) 

VA.R. Doc. No. R21-6649; Filed January 24, 2021, 4:29 p.m. 

Proposed Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC90-30. Regulations Governing 

the Licensure of Nurse Practitioners (amending 18VAC90-

30-10, 18VAC90-30-220). 

Statutory Authority: §§ 54.1-2400 and 54.1-2957 of the Code 

of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: No public hearings are scheduled. 

Public Comment Deadline: April 16, 2021. 

Agency Contact: Jay P. Douglas, R.N., Executive Director, 

Board of Nursing, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, Richmond, 

VA 23233-1463, telephone (804) 367-4520, FAX (804) 527-

4455, or email jay.douglas@dhp.virginia.gov. 

Basis: Regulations are promulgated under the general authority 

of § 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia, which provides the 

Boards of Nursing and Medicine the authority to promulgate 

regulations to administer the regulatory system. Section 54.1-

2409.5 of the Code of Virginia establishes a prohibition on 

conversion therapy. 

Purpose: The purpose of this regulatory action is to specify in 

regulations the interpretation of the boards that conversion 

therapy has the potential for significant harm if practiced with 

persons younger than 18 years of age. The amendments define 

the term, consistent with accepted usage within the profession 

and consistent with policy statements by state and national 

professional organizations. 

Substance: The Board of Nursing and Medicine have amended 

18VAC90-30-220 to specify that the standard of practice 

would prohibit a nurse practitioner from engaging in 

conversion therapy with a person younger than 18 years of age. 

Regulations define conversion therapy as it is defined in 

§ 54.1-2409.5 of the Code of Virginia as amended by Chapters 

41 and 721 of the 2020 Acts of Assembly. 

Issues: The primary advantage to the public is protection for 

minors who might otherwise be subjected to conversion 

therapy; the boards do not believe there are disadvantages 

because practitioners can provide assistance to a person 

undergoing gender transition or psychological services that 

offer acceptance, support, and understanding of a person or 

facilitates a person's coping, social support, and identity 

exploration and development. There are no advantages or 

disadvantages to the agency or the Commonwealth. 

The Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 

Analysis: 

The Board of Nursing (Board) proposes to amend 18VAC90-

30 Regulations Governing the Licensure of Nurse Practitioners 

(regulation) in order to add a definition of "conversion therapy" 

https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC90/forms/Dec_Residence-20210113194213.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC90/forms/Dec_Residence-20210113194213.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC90/forms/Vol_Practice-20210113194244.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC90/forms/Vol_Practice-20210113194244.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC90/forms/RestrictedVol_Prac-20210113194308.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC90/forms/RestrictedVol_Prac-20210113194308.pdf
mailto:elaine.yeatts@dhp.virginia.gov
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC90/forms/Reinstatement_Instructions-20210111105105.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC90/forms/Reinstatement_Instructions-20210111105105.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC90/forms/Reinstatement_AdvancedCNA-20210111105131.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC90/forms/Reinstatement_AdvancedCNA-20210111105131.pdf
mailto:jay.douglas@dhp.virginia.gov
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and a stipulation that licensees shall not engage in conversion 

therapy with individuals under 18 years of age. 

Background. Chapters 41 and 721 of the 2020 Acts of 

Assembly bans the use of conversion therapy on minors by any 

provider licensed by a health regulatory board with the 

Department of Health Professions (DHP).1 Specifically, the 

Act creates § 54.1-2409.5 of the Code of Virginia, which 

defines conversion therapy as follows: 

"Conversion therapy" means any practice or treatment that 

seeks to change an individual's sexual orientation or gender 

identity, including efforts to change behaviors or gender 

expressions or to eliminate or reduce sexual or romantic 

attractions or feelings toward individuals of the same gender. 

"Conversion therapy" does not include counseling that 

provides acceptance, support, and understanding of a person or 

facilitates a person's coping, social support, and identity 

exploration and development, including sexual-orientation-

neutral interventions to prevent or address unlawful conduct or 

unsafe sexual practices, as long as such counseling does not 

seek to change an individual's sexual orientation or gender 

identity. 

DHP reports that nurse practitioners (NPs) are more likely to 

be familiar with the regulations put forth by their licensing 

board than statutes. Thus, the Board seeks to amend the 

regulation to (i) define conversion therapy by referring the 

reader to § 54.1-2409.5, and (ii) explicitly state that the Board 

may "deny licensure or relicensure, revoke or suspend the 

license, or take other disciplinary action upon proof that the 

nurse practitioner has engaged in conversion therapy with a 

person under 18 years of age." 

Estimated Benefits and Costs. DHP estimates that few, if any, 

NPs would be affected because conversion therapy has been 

considered harmful2 to minors and contrary to the profession’s 

code of ethics.3 To the extent that licensed NPs are currently 

engaging in conversion therapy with individuals under 18 

years of age, they would be in violation of state law. Any 

licensed NPs choosing to forfeit their licensure in favor of 

continuing to practice conversion therapy may only continue 

to do so if employed as a rabbi, priest, minister or clergyman, 

as long as they belong to "an established and legally cognizable 

church, denomination or sect" and remain "accountable to its 

established authority."4 

Clients under age 18, who seek to receive, or continue 

receiving, conversion therapy would need to find providers 

who are not licensed by any board within DHP, which may 

result in some costs for the client depending on the availability 

of such providers. Conversely, the proposed amendments 

would benefit children and their parents to the extent that it 

prevents the use of a practice that has been found to be harmful 

to children and has been banned for such use under state law. 

Businesses and Other Entities Affected. As mentioned, some 

licensed NPs who may also have been working in a religious 

setting may have to alter their practice or else face disciplinary 

action, but DHP estimates that these are most likely a very 

small fraction of the overall number of license-holders.5 

Although DHP does not have an estimate of the number of 

affected NPs, the agency reports that the vast majority of 

current license-holders likely do not engage in conversion 

therapy at all (in either religious or secular settings) since it is 

not taught by any accredited nursing program and has been 

considered contrary to the "professional code of ethics" in an 

informal capacity for more than a decade. 

Small Businesses6 Affected. Although some licensed NPs may 

be employed in a small business setting, DHP estimates that 

only a very small fraction of the overall number of license-

holders would be affected by the regulation at all, and there is 

no reason to suggest that those affected are more likely to be 

working in a small business. Even so, the cost to providers of 

complying with the regulation is unlikely to be significant, and 

there are no alternatives to the regulation that would provide 

greater flexibility while also conforming to the Code of 

Virginia. 

Localities7 Affected.8 The proposed amendments do not 

introduce new costs for local governments and are unlikely to 

affect any locality in particular. 

Projected Impact on Employment. The proposed amendments 

are unlikely to affect the overall number of employed NPs. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. The proposed 

amendments are unlikely to affect the use and value of private 

property. Real estate development costs are not affected. 

____________________ 

1See http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?201 ful CHAP0041. 

2In a 2013 Position Statement, the American Psychiatric Association stated 

that it "does not believe that same-sex orientation should or needs to be 

changed, and efforts to do so represent a significant risk of harm by subjecting 

individuals to forms of treatment which have not been scientifically validated 

and by undermining self-esteem when sexual orientation fails to change. No 

credible evidence exists that any mental health intervention can reliably and 

safely change sexual orientation; nor, from a mental health perspective does 

sexual orientation need to be changed." Downloaded from 

https://www.psychiatry.org/home/policy-finder. 

3In 2019, the Board also adopted a guidance document addressing conversion 

therapy: https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/ViewGDoc.cfm?gdid=6784. 

4As per COV § 54.1-3501 Exemption from requirements of licensure: The 

activities, including marriage and family therapy, counseling, or substance 

abuse treatment, of rabbis, priests, ministers or clergymen of any religious 

denomination or sect when such activities are within the scope of the 

performance of their regular or specialized ministerial duties, and no separate 

charge is made or when such activities are performed, whether with or without 

charge, for or under auspices or sponsorship, individually or in conjunction 

with others, of an established and legally cognizable church, denomination or 

sect, and the person rendering service remains accountable to its established 

authority. 

5According to the ABD, 12,863 nurse practitioners are currently licensed by 

the Board. 

6Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.04 of the Code of Virginia, small business is defined 

as "a business entity, including its affiliates, that (i) is independently owned 

and operated and (ii) employs fewer than 500 full-time employees or has gross 

annual sales of less than $6 million." 

http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?201%20ful%20CHAP0041
https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/ViewGDoc.cfm?gdid=6784
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7"Locality" can refer to either local governments or the locations in the 

Commonwealth where the activities relevant to the regulatory change are most 

likely to occur. 

8§ 2.2-4007.04 defines "particularly affected" as bearing disproportionate 

material impact.  

Agency's Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The Boards 

of Nursing and Medicine concur with the economic impact 

analysis of the Department of Planning and Budget. 

Summary: 

Pursuant to Chapters 41 and 721 of the 2020 Acts of 

Assembly, the proposed amendments (i) define conversion 

therapy as it is defined in § 54.1-2409.5 of the Code of 

Virginia and (ii) specify that the standard of practice for 

nurse practitioners prohibits a nurse practitioner from 

engaging in conversion therapy with a person younger than 

18 years of age.  

18VAC90-30-10. Definitions. 

The following words and terms when used in this chapter 

shall have the following meanings unless the context clearly 

indicates otherwise: 

"Approved program" means a nurse practitioner education 

program that is accredited by the Council on Accreditation of 

Nurse Anesthesia Educational Programs/Schools, American 

College of Nurse Midwives, Commission on Collegiate 

Nursing Education, or the National League for Nursing 

Accrediting Commission or is offered by a school of nursing 

or jointly offered by a school of medicine and a school of 

nursing that grant a graduate degree in nursing and that hold a 

national accreditation acceptable to the boards. 

"Autonomous practice" means practice in a category in which 

a nurse practitioner is certified and licensed without a written 

or electronic practice agreement with a patient care team 

physician in accordance with 18VAC90-30-86. 

"Boards" means the Virginia Board of Nursing and the 

Virginia Board of Medicine. 

"Certified nurse midwife" means an advanced practice 

registered nurse who is certified in the specialty of nurse 

midwifery and who is jointly licensed by the Boards of 

Medicine and Nursing as a nurse practitioner pursuant to 

§ 54.1-2957 of the Code of Virginia. 

"Certified registered nurse anesthetist" means an advanced 

practice registered nurse who is certified in the specialty of 

nurse anesthesia, who is jointly licensed by the Boards of 

Medicine and Nursing as a nurse practitioner pursuant to 

§ 54.1-2957 of the Code of Virginia, and who practices under 

the supervision of a doctor of medicine, osteopathy, podiatry, 

or dentistry but is not subject to the practice agreement 

requirement described in § 54.1-2957. 

"Collaboration" means the communication and decision-

making process among members of a patient care team related 

to the treatment and care of a patient and includes (i) 

communication of data and information about the treatment 

and care of a patient, including exchange of clinical 

observations and assessments, and (ii) development of an 

appropriate plan of care, including decisions regarding the 

health care provided, accessing and assessment of appropriate 

additional resources or expertise, and arrangement of 

appropriate referrals, testing, or studies. 

"Committee" means the Committee of the Joint Boards of 

Nursing and Medicine. 

"Consultation" means the communicating of data and 

information, exchanging of clinical observations and 

assessments, accessing and assessing of additional resources 

and expertise, problem solving, and arranging for referrals, 

testing, or studies. 

"Conversion therapy" means any practice or treatment as 

defined in § 54.1-2409.5 A of the Code of Virginia. 

"Licensed nurse practitioner" means an advanced practice 

registered nurse who has met the requirements for licensure as 

stated in Part II (18VAC90-30-60 et seq.) of this chapter. 

"National certifying body" means a national organization that 

is accredited by an accrediting agency recognized by the U.S. 

Department of Education or deemed acceptable by the 

National Council of State Boards of Nursing and has as one of 

its purposes the certification of nurse anesthetists, nurse 

midwives, or nurse practitioners, referred to in this chapter as 

professional certification, and whose certification of such 

persons by examination is accepted by the committee. 

"Patient care team physician" means a person who holds an 

active, unrestricted license issued by the Virginia Board of 

Medicine to practice medicine or osteopathic medicine. 

"Practice agreement" means a written or electronic statement, 

jointly developed by the collaborating patient care team 

physician and the licensed nurse practitioner that describes the 

procedures to be followed and the acts appropriate to the 

specialty practice area to be performed by the licensed nurse 

practitioner in the care and management of patients. The 

practice agreement also describes the prescriptive authority of 

the nurse practitioner, if applicable. For a nurse practitioner 

licensed in the category of certified nurse midwife, the practice 

agreement is a statement jointly developed with the consulting 

physician. 

18VAC90-30-220. Grounds for disciplinary action against 

the license of a licensed nurse practitioner. 

The boards may deny licensure or relicensure, revoke or 

suspend the license, or take other disciplinary action upon 

proof that the nurse practitioner: 

1. Has had a license or multistate privilege to practice 

nursing in this Commonwealth or in another jurisdiction 

revoked or suspended or otherwise disciplined; 
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2. Has directly or indirectly represented to the public that the 

nurse practitioner is a physician, or is able to, or will practice 

independently of a physician; 

3. Has exceeded the authority as a licensed nurse 

practitioner; 

4. Has violated or cooperated in the violation of the laws or 

regulations governing the practice of medicine, nursing or 

nurse practitioners; 

5. Has become unable to practice with reasonable skill and 

safety to patients as the result of a physical or mental illness 

or the excessive use of alcohol, drugs, narcotics, chemicals 

or any other type of material; 

6. Has violated or cooperated with others in violating or 

attempting to violate any law or regulation, state or federal, 

relating to the possession, use, dispensing, administration or 

distribution of drugs; 

7. Has failed to comply with continuing competency 

requirements as set forth in 18VAC90-30-105; 

8. Has willfully or negligently breached the confidentiality 

between a practitioner and a patient. A breach of 

confidentiality that is required or permitted by applicable 

law or beyond the control of the practitioner shall not be 

considered negligent or willful; or 

9. Has engaged in unauthorized use or disclosure of 

confidential information received from the Prescription 

Monitoring Program, the electronic system within the 

Department of Health Professions that monitors the 

dispensing of certain controlled substances; or 

10. Has engaged in conversion therapy with a person 

younger than 18 years of age. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R21-6476; Filed January 15, 2021, 6:50 p.m. 

Forms 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: Forms used in administering the 

regulation have been filed by the agency. The forms are not 

being published; however, online users of this issue of the 

Virginia Register of Regulations may click on the name of a 

form with a hyperlink to access it. The forms are also available 

from the agency contact or may be viewed at the Office of the 

Registrar of Regulations, 900 East Main Street, 11th Floor, 

Richmond, Virginia 23219. 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC90-30. Regulations Governing 

the Licensure of Nurse Practitioners. 

Agency Contact: Elaine J. Yeatts, Agency Regulatory 

Coordinator, Board of Nursing, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 

300, Richmond, VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-4688, or 

email elaine.yeatts@dhp.virginia.gov. 

FORMS (18VAC90-30) 

Instructions for Licensure -- Nurse Practitioner (rev. 2/2009) 

Application for Licensure as a Nurse Practitioner (rev. 

6/2011) 

Application for Reinstatement of License as a Nurse 

Practitioner (rev. 6/2011) 

License Verification Form (rev. 7/2007) 

Application for Restricted Volunteer License (eff. 7/2015) 

Application for Licensure as a Nurse Practitioner, available 

online at https://www.dhp.virginia.gov/Boards/Nursing/ 

PractitionerResources/Forms/ 

Checklist Instructions: Application for Licensure - Nurse 

Practitioner (LNP) (rev. 7/2020) 

Instructions: Application – Attestation/Authorization for 

Autonomous Practice – Licensed Nurse Practitioner (LNP) 

(rev. 1/2019) 

Checklist Instructions Reinstatement Application (rev. 

8/2018) 

Checklist Instructions for Reinstatement Application 

Following Suspension or Revocation (rev. 8/2018) 

Checklist Instructions Application for Restricted Volunteer 

License (rev. 8/2018) 

VA.R. Doc. No. R21-6652; Filed January 24, 2021, 4:30 p.m. 

Forms 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: Forms used in administering the 

regulation have been filed by the agency. The forms are not 

being published; however, online users of this issue of the 

Virginia Register of Regulations may click on the name of a 

form with a hyperlink to access it. The forms are also available 

from the agency contact or may be viewed at the Office of the 

Registrar of Regulations, 900 East Main Street, 11th Floor, 

Richmond, Virginia 23219. 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC90-50. Regulations Governing 

the Licensure of Massage Therapists. 

Agency Contact: Elaine J. Yeatts, Agency Regulatory 

Coordinator, Board of Nursing, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 

300, Richmond, VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-4688, or 

email elaine.yeatts@dhp.virginia.gov. 

FORMS (18VAC90-50) 

Application for Licensure as a Massage Therapist - online 

application only at 

http://www.dhp.virginia.gov/nursing/nursing_forms.htm#Mas

sageTherapist 

https://www.dhp.virginia.gov/Boards/Nursing/PractitionerRes

ources/Forms/ 

Massage Therapist Certification/Licensure Verification Form 

(rev. 4/2014) 

Application for Reinstatement of Licensure as a Massage 

Therapist (rev. 7/2016) 

mailto:elaine.yeatts@dhp.virginia.gov
https://www.dhp.virginia.gov/Boards/Nursing/PractitionerResources/Forms/
https://www.dhp.virginia.gov/Boards/Nursing/PractitionerResources/Forms/
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC90/forms/Instr_Licensure-20210111110241.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC90/forms/Instr_Licensure-20210111110241.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC90/forms/Instr_AutoPrac-20210111110346.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC90/forms/Instr_AutoPrac-20210111110346.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC90/forms/Instr_AutoPrac-20210111110346.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC90/forms/Reinstatement-20210111110411.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC90/forms/Reinstatement-20210111110411.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC90/forms/Reinstatement_Suspension-20210111110423.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC90/forms/Reinstatement_Suspension-20210111110423.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC90/forms/RestrictVolunteer-20210111110435.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC90/forms/RestrictVolunteer-20210111110435.pdf
mailto:elaine.yeatts@dhp.virginia.gov
https://www.dhp.virginia.gov/Boards/Nursing/PractitionerResources/Forms/
https://www.dhp.virginia.gov/Boards/Nursing/PractitionerResources/Forms/
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Instructions and Application for Reinstatement of Licensure 

as a Licensed Massage Therapist following Suspension or 

Revocation (7/2016) 

Checklist Instructions for Initial Licensure as a Massage 

Therapist (rev. 5/2019) 

Checklist Instructions For Licensure by Endorsement as a 

Massage Therapist (rev. 5/2019) 

Massage Therapist Applicant Verification Form (rev. 5/2019) 

Checklist Instructions for Reinstatement as a Massage 

Therapist (rev. 5/2019) 

Checklist Instructions for Reinstatement as a Massage 

Therapist Following Suspension or Revocation (rev. 5/2019) 

VA.R. Doc. No. R21-6650; Filed January 24, 2021, 4:30 p.m. 

Forms 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: Forms used in administering the 

regulation have been filed by the agency. The forms are not 

being published; however, online users of this issue of the 

Virginia Register of Regulations may click on the name of a 

form with a hyperlink to access it. The forms are also available 

from the agency contact or may be viewed at the Office of the 

Registrar of Regulations, 900 East Main Street, 11th Floor, 

Richmond, Virginia 23219. 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC90-60. Regulations Governing 

the Registration of Medication Aides. 

Agency Contact: Elaine Yeatts, Agency Regulatory 

Coordinator, Department of Health Professions, 9960 Mayland 

Drive, Henrico, VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-4688, FAX 

(804) 527-4434, or email elaine.yeatts@dhp.virginia.gov. 

FORMS (18VAC90-60) 

Application to Establish a Medication Aide Training Program 

(eff. 7/07). 

Instructions for Filing Application for Registration by 

Examination for Medication Aides (eff. 7/07). 

Checklist for Submission and Application for Registration by 

Examination for Medication Aide (rev 8/09). 

Instructions for Filing Application for Registration by 

Endorsement for Medication Aides (rev. 7/07). 

Checklist for Submission and Application for Registration by 

Endorsement for Medication Aide (rev. 1/09). 

Instructions for Filing Application for Reinstatement as a 

Medication Aide (rev. 7/11). 

Application for Reinstatement of Medication Aide 

Registration (eff. 7/07). 

Application for registration as a medication aide, by 

examination or endorsement, available online at 

https://www.dhp.virginia.gov/Boards/Nursing/PractitionerRes

ources/Forms/ 

Application, Checklist, and Instructions for Medication Aide 

Reinstatement (rev. 4/2018) 

VA.R. Doc. No. R21-6659; Filed January 24, 2021, 4:30 p.m. 

BOARD OF LONG-TERM CARE ADMINISTRATORS 

Fast-Track Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC95-15. Regulations Governing 

Delegation to an Agency Subordinate (adding 18VAC95-

15-10, 18VAC95-15-20, 18VAC95-15-30). 

Statutory Authority: § 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: No public hearings are currently 

scheduled. 

Public Comment Deadline: March 17, 2021. 

Effective Date: April 16, 2021. 

Agency Contact: Corie Tillman Wolf, Executive Director, 

Board of Long-Term Care Administrators, 9960 Mayland 

Drive, Suite 300, Richmond, VA 23233-1463, telephone (804) 

367-4595, FAX (804) 527-4413, or email 

corie.wolf@dhp.virginia.gov. 

Basis: Regulations are promulgated under the general authority 

of § 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia, which provides the 

Board of Long-Term Care Administrators the authority to 

promulgate regulations to administer the regulatory system. 

Purpose: Delegation of nonstandard care cases to an agency 

subordinate may improve the completion rate for adjudication 

of cases that come before the board. Delegation of cases that 

do not involve patient harm may facilitate the adjudication of 

more serious cases and enable the board to take action that 

protects the health, safety, and welfare of patients and residents 

in long-term care facilities. 

Rationale for Using Fast-Track Rulemaking Process: The 

impetus for the regulatory change was the periodic review of 

18VAC95-20 begun in 2017. It was recommended that 

18VAC95-20-471 on delegation to an agency subordinate be 

repealed and the provisions of that section placed in a new 

chapter so that they would apply to all disciplinary cases under 

the authority of the board and not just to persons regulated 

under that chapter. 

Substance: New 18VAC95-15 will set out provisions for (i) 

making the decision of whether to delegate an informal fact-

finding proceeding to an agency subordinate, (ii) determining 

the types of cases that may be delegated, and (iii) the criteria 

for an agency subordinate. 

Issues: There are no primary advantages or disadvantages to 

the public. The cases to be heard by an agency subordinate 

would likely be those that do not involve violations of standard 

of care. The primary advantage to the board is the possibility 

of facilitating the adjudication of disciplinary cases; there are 

https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC90/forms/Instr_Initial-20210111105519.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC90/forms/Instr_Initial-20210111105519.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC90/forms/Instr_Endorsement-20210111105630.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC90/forms/Instr_Endorsement-20210111105630.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC90/forms/Verification-20210111105709.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC90/forms/Reinstatement-20210111105728.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC90/forms/Reinstatement-20210111105728.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC90/forms/Reinstatement_Suspension-20210111105741.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC90/forms/Reinstatement_Suspension-20210111105741.pdf
mailto:elaine.yeatts@dhp.virginia.gov
https://www.dhp.virginia.gov/Boards/Nursing/PractitionerResources/Forms/
https://www.dhp.virginia.gov/Boards/Nursing/PractitionerResources/Forms/
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC90/forms/Reinstatement-20210113185631.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC90/forms/Reinstatement-20210113185631.pdf
mailto:corie.wolf@dhp.virginia.gov


Regulations 

Volume 37, Issue13  Virginia Register of Regulations  February 15, 2021  

1425 

no disadvantages. Delegation to an agency subordinate is 

authorized but not required. 

Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 

Analysis: 

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. The 

Board of Long-Term Care Administrators (Board) proposes to 

promulgate a new regulation, 18 VAC 95-15 Regulations 

Governing Delegation to an Agency Subordinate, to set out the 

rules for delegation of informal fact-finding to an agency 

subordinate. 

Background. Code of Virginia § 54.1-2400(10) states that the 

Board may delegate to an appropriately qualified agency 

subordinate1 the authority to conduct informal fact-finding 

proceedings in accordance with § 2.2-4019, upon receipt of 

information that a practitioner may be subject to a disciplinary 

action. Further, the Code section specifies that, "Criteria for the 

appointment of an agency subordinate shall be set forth in 

regulations adopted by the board." 

Specifics of Proposed Regulation. The proposed new 

regulation has three sections: 18VAC95-15-10 Decision to 

delegate, 18VAC95-15-20 Criteria for delegation, and 

18VAC95-15-30 Criteria for an agency subordinate. Section 

10 merely states that "In accordance with § 54.1-2400 (10) of 

the Code of Virginia, the board may delegate an informal fact-

finding proceeding to an agency subordinate upon 

determination that probable cause exists that a practitioner may 

be subject to a disciplinary action." This essentially does not 

provide criteria beyond that which is already in the Code. 

Section 20 in full states that "Cases that may not be delegated 

to an agency subordinate include violations of standards of 

practice, except as may otherwise be determined by the 

executive director in consultation with the board chair." This 

provides guidance beyond the Code as to which cases may by 

default be delegated, but does not conclusively limit any cases 

from being delegated. 

Section 30.A states that "An agency subordinate authorized by 

the board to conduct an informal fact-finding proceeding may 

include current or past board members and professional staff 

or other persons deemed knowledgeable by virtue of their 

training and experience in administrative proceedings 

involving the regulation and discipline of health 

professionals." This is consistent with the Code and is slightly 

more specific, in that the Code definition of subordinate 

includes "any other person or persons designated by the agency 

to act in its behalf," versus "other persons deemed 

knowledgeable by virtue of their training and experience in 

administrative proceedings involving the regulation and 

discipline of health professionals" in the proposed regulation. 

Section 30.B specifies that "The executive director shall 

maintain a list of appropriately qualified persons to whom an 

informal fact-finding proceeding may be delegated." This is 

not in the Code. 

Section 30.C specifies that "The board may delegate to the 

executive director the selection of the agency subordinate who 

is deemed appropriately qualified to conduct a proceeding 

based on the qualifications of the subordinate and the type of 

case being heard." This is also only in the proposed regulation. 

Estimated Benefits and Costs. According to the Department of 

Health Professions (DHP), the Board is not currently 

delegating any cases to an agency subordinate, but will likely 

start using agency subordinates once the regulation becomes 

effective. It is generally easier for smaller groups (including 

just one individual) to schedule the time necessary to conduct 

fact-finding proceedings than for larger groups, i.e., a quorum 

of the board. Thus, to the extent that the adoption of the 

proposed regulation makes it more likely that the board 

delegates to an agency subordinate the task to conduct informal 

fact-finding proceedings, closure may be brought to some 

disciplinary cases in a timelier manner. Since the Board must 

still ratify recommendations of the subordinate, the subject of 

the potential disciplinary action would still be under the 

judgment of the Board. 

Businesses and Other Entities Affected. The proposed 

regulation affects members of the Board and other individuals 

who may be chosen as agency subordinates, such as past 

members of the Board, staff of DHP, and other persons deemed 

knowledgeable by virtue of their training and experience in 

administrative proceedings involving the regulation and 

discipline of health professionals. The proposed regulation 

may also affect the 936 nursing home administrators and 656 

assisted living administrators regulated by the Board. The 

proposal does not produce cost. 

Small Businesses2 Affected.  

Types and Estimated Number of Small Businesses Affected: 

The Board only regulates individual practitioners; thus, data on 

number of small businesses is not available. 

Costs and Other Effects: Delegating to an agency subordinate 

may reduce the time it takes to resolve cases before the Board. 

This may moderately reduce time costs for small businesses 

that employ nursing home administrators or assisted living 

administrators who go before the Board. 

Alternative Method that Minimizes Adverse Impact. The 

proposed regulation does not produce adverse impact. 

Localities3 Affected.4 The proposed regulation does not 

disproportionately affect any particularly locality nor appear to 

introduce additional costs for local governments. 

Projected Impact on Employment. The proposed regulation 

does not appear to substantively affect total employment. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. The proposed 

regulation appears to neither substantively affect the use and 

value of private property, nor affect real estate development 

costs. 

______________________________________ 

1"Subordinate" is defined as "(i) one or more but less than a quorum of the 

members of a board constituting an agency, (ii) one or more of its staff 
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members or employees, or (iii) any other person or persons designated by the 

agency to act in its behalf." 

2Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.04 of the Code of Virginia, small business is defined 

as "a business entity, including its affiliates, that (i) is independently owned 

and operated and (ii) employs fewer than 500 full-time employees or has gross 

annual sales of less than $6 million." 

3"Locality" can refer to either local governments or the locations in the 

Commonwealth where the activities relevant to the regulatory change are most 

likely to occur. 

4§ 2.2-4007.04 defines "particularly affected" as bearing disproportionate 

material impact. 

Agency's Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The Board 

of Long-Term Care Administrators concurs with the economic 

impact analysis of the Department of Planning and Budget. 

Summary: 

The regulatory action establishes a new regulation with 

provisions for (i) making the decision of whether to delegate 

an informal fact-finding proceeding to an agency 

subordinate, (ii) determining the types of cases that may be 

delegated, and (iii) establishing the criteria for an agency 

subordinate. 

Chapter 15 

Regulations Governing Delegation to an Agency 

Subordinate 

18VAC95-15-10. Decision to delegate.  

In accordance with subdivision 10 of § 54.1-2400 of the Code 

of Virginia, the board may delegate an informal fact-finding 

proceeding to an agency subordinate upon determination that 

probable cause exists that a practitioner may be subject to a 

disciplinary action. 

18VAC95-15-20. Criteria for delegation.  

Cases that may not be delegated to an agency subordinate 

include violations of standards of practice, except as may 

otherwise be determined by the executive director in 

consultation with the board chair. 

18VAC95-15-30. Criteria for an agency subordinate.  

A. An agency subordinate authorized by the board to conduct 

an informal fact-finding proceeding may include current or 

past board members and professional staff or other persons 

deemed knowledgeable by virtue of their training and 

experience in administrative proceedings involving the 

regulation and discipline of health professionals.  

B. The executive director shall maintain a list of appropriately 

qualified persons to whom an informal fact-finding proceeding 

may be delegated.  

C. The board may delegate to the executive director the 

selection of the agency subordinate who is deemed 

appropriately qualified to conduct a proceeding based on the 

qualifications of the subordinate and the type of case being 

heard. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R21-6273; Filed January 15, 2021, 3:04 p.m. 

BOARD OF OPTOMETRY 

Forms 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: Forms used in administering the 

regulation have been filed by the agency. The forms are not 

being published; however, online users of this issue of the 

Virginia Register of Regulations may click on the name of a 

form with a hyperlink to access it. The forms are also available 

from the agency contact or may be viewed at the Office of the 

Registrar of Regulations, 900 East Main Street, 11th Floor, 

Richmond, Virginia 23219. 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC105-20. Regulations Governing 

the Practice of Optometry. 

Agency Contact: Elaine J. Yeatts, Agency Regulatory 

Coordinator, Board of Optometry, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 

300, Richmond, VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-4688, or 

email elaine.yeatts@dhp.virginia.gov. 

FORMS (18VAC105-20) 

Application for a License to Practice as a TPA-Certified 

Optometrist, online form available at 
https://www.dhp.virginia.gov/Optometry/optometry_forms.htm. 

Application Instructions for Licensure/TPA Certification 

(rev. 5/2019) 

Professional Designation Instructions and Application (rev. 

5/2019) 

Application for Reinstatement (rev. 5/2019) 

Application for Registration for Volunteer Practice (rev. 

5/2019) 

Sponsor Certification for Volunteer Registration (rev. 

5/2019) 

Certificate of Training (rev. 5/2019) 

Applicant License Verification Form (rev. 5/2019) 

Employment Verification Form (rev. 5/2019) 

Continuing Education Form (rev. 5/2019) 

Continuing Education Credit Form for Volunteer Practice 

(rev. 5/2019) 

Name/Address Change Form (rev. 5/2019) 

Professional Designation Change Form (rev. 5/2019) 

Written Evidence for Injections (rev. 5/2019) 

Application Instructions for Licensure/TPA Certification 

(rev. 6/2020) 

Instructions/Checklist for Reactivation of an Inactive License 

(rev. 6/2020) 

Instructions/Checklist for Reinstatement of an Expired 

License (rev. 06/2020) 

mailto:elaine.yeatts@dhp.virginia.gov
https://www.dhp.virginia.gov/Optometry/optometry_forms.htm.
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC105/forms/TPA_Application-20210112205939.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC105/forms/TPA_Application-20210112205939.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC105/forms/Reactivation-20210112210403.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC105/forms/Reactivation-20210112210403.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC105/forms/Reinstatement-20210112210700.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC105/forms/Reinstatement-20210112210700.pdf
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Application for Registration for Volunteer Practice (rev. 

6/2020) 

Sponsor Certification for Volunteer Registration (rev. 

6/2020) 

Licensure Verification Form (rev. 06/2020) 

Employment Verification Form (rev. 6/2020) 

Instructions for Completing the Continuing Education (CE) 

Reporting Form (rev. 06/2020) 

Continuing Education Credit Form for Volunteer Practice 

(rev. 6/2020) 

Name/Address Change Form (rev. 6/2020) 

Written Evidence for Injections (rev. 6/2020) 

Request for Verification of a Virginia License (rev. 6/2020) 

VA.R. Doc. No. R21-6655; Filed January 24, 2021, 4:31 p.m. 

BOARD OF PHARMACY 

Forms 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: Forms used in administering the 

regulation have been filed by the agency. The forms are not 

being published; however, online users of this issue of the 

Virginia Register of Regulations may click on the name of a 

form with a hyperlink to access it. The forms are also available 

from the agency contact or may be viewed at the Office of the 

Registrar of Regulations, 900 East Main Street, 11th Floor, 

Richmond, Virginia 23219. 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC110-20. Regulations Governing 

the Practice of Pharmacy. 

Agency Contact: Elaine Yeatts, Agency Regulatory 

Coordinator, Department of Health Professions, 9960 Mayland 

Drive, Henrico, VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-4688, FAX 

(804) 527-4434, or email elaine.yeatts@dhp.virginia.gov. 

FORMS (18VAC110-20) 

Application for a Pharmacy Permit (rev. 5/2018) 

Application for a Nonresident Pharmacy Registration (rev. 

7/2018) 

Application for a Nonresident Outsourcing Facility 

Registration (rev. 7/2018) 

Application for an Outsourcing Facility Permit (rev 6/2018) 

Application for a Permit as a Medical Equipment Supplier 

(rev. 7/2018) 

Application for a Permit as a Nonresident Medical Equipment 

Supplier (rev. 7/2018) 

Application for a Controlled Substances Registration 

Certificate (rev. 5/2020) 

Application for a Pharmacy Permit (rev. 10/2020) 

Application for a Non-resident Pharmacy Registration (rev. 

10/2020) 

Application for a Non-Resident Wholesale Distributor 

Registration (rev. 10/2020) 

Application for Registration as Nonresident Manufacturer 

(rev. 10/2020) 

Application for a Non-Resident Third Party Logistics 

Provider Registration (rev. 10/2020) 

Application for Registration as a Nonresident Warehouser 

(rev. 10/2020) 

Application for a Non-resident Outsourcing Facility 

Registration (rev. 10/2020) 

Application for an Outsourcing Facility Permit (rev. 10/2020) 

Application for a Medical Equipment Supplier Permit (rev. 

10/2020) 

Application for a Permit as a Restricted Manufacturer (rev. 

10/2020) 

Application for a Permit as a Non-Restricted Manufacturer 

(rev. 10/2020) 

Application for a License as a Wholesale Distributor (rev. 

10/2020) 

Application for a Permit as Warehouser (rev. 10/2020) 

Application for a Permit as a Third-Party Logistics Provider 

(rev. 10/2020) 

Application for Registration as a Non-resident Medical 

Equipment Supplier (rev. 10/2020) 

Application for a Controlled Substances Registration 

Certificate (rev. 10/2020) 

Closing of a Pharmacy (rev. 5/2018) 

Application for Approval of an Innovative (Pilot) Program 

(rev. 5/2018) 

Application for Approval of an Innovative (Pilot) Program 

(rev. 10/2020) 

Registration for a Pharmacy to be a Collection Site for 

Donated Drugs (rev. 5/2018) 

Application for Approval of Repackaging Training Program 

(rev. 5/2018) 

Application for Approval of a Repackaging Training Program 

(rev. 10/2020) 

Registration for a Facility to be an Authorized Collector for 

Drug Disposal (rev. 5.2018) 

Application for Re-Inspection of a Facility (rev. 8/2019) 

Application for a Re-Inspection of a Facility (rev. 10/2020) 

https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC105/forms/Volunteer-20210112210946.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC105/forms/Volunteer-20210112210946.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC105/forms/Volunteer_Sponso-20210112211233.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC105/forms/Volunteer_Sponso-20210112211233.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC105/forms/LicensVerif-20210112211404.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC105/forms/EmployVerif-20210112211553.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC105/forms/CE_Reporting-20210112211917.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC105/forms/CE_Reporting-20210112211917.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC105/forms/CE_VolunteerPrac-20210112211952.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC105/forms/CE_VolunteerPrac-20210112211952.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC105/forms/Name_Address-20210112212125.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC105/forms/Injections_Attest-20210112212310.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC105/forms/VA_%20LicenseVerif-20210112212409.pdf
mailto:elaine.yeatts@dhp.virginia.gov
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC110/forms/PharmacyApp-20210116203211.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC110/forms/NonRes_PharmApp-20210116203356.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC110/forms/NonRes_PharmApp-20210116203356.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC110/forms/Nonres_WholesaleDistr-20210116203436.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC110/forms/Nonres_WholesaleDistr-20210116203436.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC110/forms/NonRes_Manuf-20210116203515.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC110/forms/NonRes_Manuf-20210116203515.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC110/forms/NonRes_ThirdPartyLog-20210116203634.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC110/forms/NonRes_ThirdPartyLog-20210116203634.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC110/forms/Nonres_Warehous-20210116203715.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC110/forms/Nonres_Warehous-20210116203715.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC110/forms/Nonres_Outsorc-20210116203846.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC110/forms/Nonres_Outsorc-20210116203846.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC110/forms/Outsorc_Facil_App-20210116203955.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC110/forms/Med_EquipSup_App-20210116204319.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC110/forms/Med_EquipSup_App-20210116204319.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC110/forms/RestrictManufacturer-20210116204637.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC110/forms/RestrictManufacturer-20210116204637.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC110/forms/Non-restrict_Manuf_App-20210116204803.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC110/forms/Non-restrict_Manuf_App-20210116204803.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC110/forms/WholesaleDistr_App-20210116204903.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC110/forms/WholesaleDistr_App-20210116204903.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC110/forms/WarehouserApp-20210116210503.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC110/forms/ThirdPartyLogistics-20210116205028.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC110/forms/ThirdPartyLogistics-20210116205028.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC110/forms/Nonres_MES-20210116205429.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC110/forms/Nonres_MES-20210116205429.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC110/forms/Contr_Subst_Reg_App-20210116205525.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC110/forms/Contr_Subst_Reg_App-20210116205525.pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=a7e83004673~108.pdf&typ=40&actno=004673&mime=application/pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC110/forms/PilotProgramApp-20210116205722.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC110/forms/PilotProgramApp-20210116205722.pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=e250a004673~128.pdf&typ=40&actno=004673&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=e250a004673~128.pdf&typ=40&actno=004673&mime=application/pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC110/forms/RepackagingTraining-20210116210003.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC110/forms/RepackagingTraining-20210116210003.pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=718f6004673~148.pdf&typ=40&actno=004673&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=718f6004673~148.pdf&typ=40&actno=004673&mime=application/pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC110/forms/ReInspectionApp-20210116210125.pdf
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Notification of Distribution Cessation due to Suspicious 

Orders (rev. 5/2018) 

VA.R. Doc. No. R21-6665; Filed January 24, 2021, 4:32 p.m. 

Forms 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: Forms used in administering the 

regulation have been filed by the agency. The forms are not 

being published; however, online users of this issue of the 

Virginia Register of Regulations may click on the name of a 

form with a hyperlink to access it. The forms are also available 

from the agency contact or may be viewed at the Office of the 

Registrar of Regulations, 900 East Main Street, 11th Floor, 

Richmond, Virginia 23219. 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC110-21. Regulations Governing 

the Licensure of Pharmacists and Registration of 

Pharmacy Technicians. 

Agency Contact: Elaine J. Yeatts, Agency Regulatory 

Coordinator, Board of Pharmacy, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 

300, Richmond, VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-4688, or 

email elaine.yeatts@dhp.virginia.gov. 

FORMS (18VAC110-21) 

Application for a Pharmacist license by endorsement or 

examination, online form available at 

https://www.dhp.virginia.gov/Pharmacy/pharmacy_forms.ht

m#Pharmactists https://www.dhp.virginia.gov/Pharmacy 

/pharmacy_forms 

Application and Instructions for Reinstatement of a 

Pharmacist License (rev. 4/2018) 

Instructions for Reinstating or Reactivating a Pharmacist 

License (rev. 10/2020) 

Application for registration as a Pharmacy Technician, online 

form available at https://www.dhp.virginia.gov/Pharmacy/ 

pharmacy_forms 

Application and Instructions for Reinstatement of a Pharmacy 

Technician Registration (rev. 4/2018) 

Application for Registration as a Limited-use Pharmacy 

Technician (rev. 4/2018) 

Affidavit for Free Clinic Director for Limited-use Pharmacy 

Technician (rev. 4/2018) 

Application for Approval of a Pharmacy Technician Training 

Program (rev. 3/2019) 

Instructions for Reinstating a Pharmacy Technician 

Registration (rev. 10/2020) 

Application for Registration as a Limited-use Pharmacy 

Technician (rev. 07/2020) 

Affidavit for Limited-use Pharmacy Technician (rev. 

05/2018) 

Application for Approval of Pharmacy Technician Training 

Program (rev. 10/2020) 

Application for registration as a Pharmacy Intern, online form 

available at https://www.dhp.virginia.gov/Pharmacy/ 

pharmacy_forms 

Affidavit of Practical Experience as a Pharmacy Intern (rev. 

3/2019) 

Name Change Form for Individuals (rev. 3/2018) 

Application for Board Approval of a Continuing Education 

Program for CE credit (rev. 5/2018) 

Application for Approval of ACPE Pharmacy School Course 

for Continuing Education Credit (rev. 5/2018) 

Volunteer Practice Sponsor Form (rev. 4/2018) 

Application for Registration for Volunteer Practice (rev. 

4/2018) 

Application for Approval of a Continuing Education Program 

(rev. 5/2018) 

Application for Approval of an Innovative (PILOT) Program 

(rev. 10/2020) 

Application for Approval of a Repackaging Training Program 

(rev. 10/2020) 

Continuing Education (CE) Credit Form for Preceptors (rev. 

07/2020) 

Application for Approval of ACPE Accredited Pharmacy 

School Course(s) for Continuing Education Credit (rev. 

06/2020) 

Sponsor Certification for Volunteer Registration (rev. 

4/2018) 

Application for Volunteer Practice By a Pharmacist (rev. 

4/2018) 

Continuing Education (CE) Credit Form for Volunteer 

Practice (rev. 4/2018) 

VA.R. Doc. No. R21-6656; Filed January 24, 2021, 4:32 p.m. 

Forms 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: Forms used in administering the 

regulation have been filed by the agency. The forms are not 

being published; however, online users of this issue of the 

Virginia Register of Regulations may click on the name of a 

form with a hyperlink to access it. The forms are also available 

from the agency contact or may be viewed at the Office of the 

Registrar of Regulations, 900 East Main Street, 11th Floor, 

Richmond, Virginia 23219. 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC110-30. Regulations for 

Practitioners of the Healing Arts to Sell Controlled 

Substances. 

http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=21e50004673~168.pdf&typ=40&actno=004673&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=21e50004673~168.pdf&typ=40&actno=004673&mime=application/pdf
mailto:elaine.yeatts@dhp.virginia.gov
https://www.dhp.virginia.gov/Pharmacy/pharmacy_forms.htm#Pharmacists
https://www.dhp.virginia.gov/Pharmacy/pharmacy_forms.htm#Pharmacists
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC110/forms/Reinstate_Reactivate-20210113204328.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC110/forms/Reinstate_Reactivate-20210113204328.pdf
https://www.dhp.virginia.gov/Pharmacy/pharmacy_forms
https://www.dhp.virginia.gov/Pharmacy/pharmacy_forms
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC110/forms/Reinstatement_Tech-20210113204507.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC110/forms/Reinstatement_Tech-20210113204507.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC110/forms/Limited-Use_PT-20210113204616.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC110/forms/Limited-Use_PT-20210113204616.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC110/forms/Aff_FreeClinicDir-20210113204932.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC110/forms/Aff_FreeClinicDir-20210113204932.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC110/forms/PT_TrainingApp-20210113205044.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC110/forms/PT_TrainingApp-20210113205044.pdf
https://www.dhp.virginia.gov/Pharmacy/pharmacy_forms
https://www.dhp.virginia.gov/Pharmacy/pharmacy_forms
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=8fb24004673~309.pdf&typ=40&actno=004673&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=8fb24004673~309.pdf&typ=40&actno=004673&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=5946f004673~318.pdf&typ=40&actno=004673&mime=application/pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC110/forms/CE_Programs-20210113205215.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC110/forms/CE_Programs-20210113205215.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC110/forms/PilotProgram-20210113205342.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC110/forms/PilotProgram-20210113205342.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC110/forms/RepackagingTraining-20210113205357.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC110/forms/RepackagingTraining-20210113205357.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC110/forms/CECredit-20210113205411.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC110/forms/CECredit-20210113205411.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC110/forms/ACPE_SchoolCourse-20210113205525.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC110/forms/ACPE_SchoolCourse-20210113205525.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC110/forms/ACPE_SchoolCourse-20210113205525.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC110/forms/Vol_Prac_Sponsor-20210113205611.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC110/forms/Vol_Prac_Sponsor-20210113205611.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC110/forms/Volunt_App_Pharm-20210113205627.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC110/forms/Volunt_App_Pharm-20210113205627.pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=114d3004673~368.pdf&typ=40&actno=004673&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=114d3004673~368.pdf&typ=40&actno=004673&mime=application/pdf
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Agency Contact: Elaine Yeatts, Agency Regulatory 

Coordinator, Department of Health Professions, 9960 Mayland 

Drive, Henrico, VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-4688, FAX 

(804) 527-4434, or email elaine.yeatts@dhp.virginia.gov. 

FORMS (18VAC110-30) 

Application for a License to Sell Controlled Substances by a 

Practitioner of the Healing Arts (rev. 12/2015) 

Application for a Facility Permit for Practitioner(s) of the 

Healing Arts to Sell Controlled Substances (rev. 12/2015) 

Application for a Controlled Substances Registration 

Certificate (rev. 10/2020) 

Controlled Substances Registration Inspection Report (rev. 

1/2020) 

VA.R. Doc. No. R21-6666; Filed January 24, 2021, 4:31 p.m. 

Forms 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: Forms used in administering the 

regulation have been filed by the agency. The forms are not 

being published; however, online users of this issue of the 

Virginia Register of Regulations may click on the name of a 

form with a hyperlink to access it. The forms are also available 

from the agency contact or may be viewed at the Office of the 

Registrar of Regulations, 900 East Main Street, 11th Floor, 

Richmond, Virginia 23219. 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC110-50. Regulations Governing 

Wholesale Distributors, Manufacturers, Third-Party 

Logistics Providers, and Warehousers. 

Agency Contact: Elaine Yeatts, Agency Regulatory 

Coordinator, Department of Health Professions, 9960 Mayland 

Drive, Henrico, VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-4688, FAX 

(804) 527-4434, or email elaine.yeatts@dhp.virginia.gov. 

FORMS (18VAC110-50) 

Application for a License as a Wholesale Distributor - 

Limited Use for Distribution of Medical Gases Only (rev. 

3/2010) 

Application for a Permit as a Restricted Manufacture (rev. 

6/2018) 

Application for a Permit as a Nonrestricted Manufacturer 

(rev. 6/2018) 

Application for a Permit as a Nonresident Manufacturer (rev. 

6/2018) 

Application for a Permit as a Warehouser (rev. 6/2018) 

Application for a Permit as a Nonresident Warehouser (rev. 

6/2018) 

Application for a License as a Wholesale Distributor (rev. 

6/2018) 

Application for a License as a Nonresident Wholesale 

Distributor Registration (rev. 6/2018) 

Application for a Permit as a Third-Party Logistics Provider 

(rev. 6/2018) 

Application for a Permit as a Nonresident Third-Party 

Logistics Provider (rev. 2/2019) 

Application for Reinspection of a Facility (rev. 8/2019) 

Application for License as a Wholesale Distributor (rev. 

10/2020) 

Application for a Permit as a Restricted Manufacturer (rev. 

10/2020) 

Application for a Permit as a Non-Restricted Manufacturer 

(rev. 10/2020) 

Application for Registration as a Nonresident Manufacturer 

(rev. 10/2020) 

Application for a Permit as a Warehouser (rev. 10/2020) 

Application for Registration as a Nonresident Warehouser 

(rev. 10/2020) 

Application for License as a Wholesale Distributor (rev. 

10/2020) 

Application for a Non-Resident Wholesale Distributor 

Registration (rev. 10/2020) 

Application for a Non-Resident Third-Party Logistics 

Provider Registration (rev. 10/2020) 

Application for a Permit as a Third-Party Logistics Provider 

(rev. 10/2020) 

Application for a Re-Inspection of Facility (rev. 10/2020) 

VA.R. Doc. No. R21-6667; Filed January 24, 2021, 4:31 p.m. 

Forms 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: Forms used in administering the 

regulation have been filed by the agency. The forms are not 

being published; however, online users of this issue of the 

Virginia Register of Regulations may click on the name of a 

form with a hyperlink to access it. The forms are also available 

from the agency contact or may be viewed at the Office of the 

Registrar of Regulations, 900 East Main Street, 11th Floor, 

Richmond, Virginia 23219. 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC110-60. Regulations Governing 

Pharmaceutical Processors. 

Agency Contact: Elaine Yeatts, Agency Regulatory 

Coordinator, Department of Health Professions, 9960 Mayland 

Drive, Henrico, VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-4688, FAX 

(804) 527-4434, or email elaine.yeatts@dhp.virginia.gov. 

mailto:elaine.yeatts@dhp.virginia.gov
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC110/forms/Contr_Subst_Reg-20210116202337.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC110/forms/Contr_Subst_Reg-20210116202337.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC110/forms/InspectionReport-20210116202357.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC110/forms/InspectionReport-20210116202357.pdf
mailto:elaine.yeatts@dhp.virginia.gov
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC110/forms/WholesaleDist_App-20210116200029.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC110/forms/WholesaleDist_App-20210116200029.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC110/forms/Restric_Manuf_App-20210116200127.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC110/forms/Restric_Manuf_App-20210116200127.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC110/forms/Nonrestric_Manuf_App-20210116200424.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC110/forms/Nonrestric_Manuf_App-20210116200424.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC110/forms/NonRes_Manuf-20210116200606.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC110/forms/NonRes_Manuf-20210116200606.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC110/forms/WarehouserApp-20210116200720.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC110/forms/Nonres_Warehous-20210116200843.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC110/forms/Nonres_Warehous-20210116200843.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC110/forms/WholesaleDist_App-20210116201016.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC110/forms/WholesaleDist_App-20210116201016.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC110/forms/Nonres_WholesaleDistr-20210116201146.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC110/forms/Nonres_WholesaleDistr-20210116201146.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC110/forms/NonRes_ThirdPartyLog-20210116201328.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC110/forms/NonRes_ThirdPartyLog-20210116201328.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC110/forms/ThirdPartyLogis_Prov-20210116201529.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC110/forms/ThirdPartyLogis_Prov-20210116201529.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC110/forms/ReInspection-20210116201732.pdf
mailto:elaine.yeatts@dhp.virginia.gov
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FORMS (18VAC110-60) 

Application for registration of a patient, online form available 

at https://www.license.dhp.virginia.gov/apply 

Application for registration of a parent or legal guardian, 

online form available at 

https://www.license.dhp.virginia.gov/apply 

Application for registration of a practitioner to issue 

certifications, online form available at 

https://www.license.dhp.virginia.gov/apply 

Application for Pharmaceutical Processor Permit (eff. 

6/2019) 

Patient Parent or Legal Guardian Reporting Requirements 

(eff. 6/2019) 

How to Register with the Board as a Patient, Parent or Legal 

Guardian (rev. 7/2020) 

Application for a Pharmaceutical Processor Permit (rev. 

1/2021) 

Practitioner Reporting Requirements (eff. 6/2019) 

Registration of CBD or THC-A Oil Products (eff. 6/2019) 

Pharmaceutical Processor Inspection Form (eff. 10/2019) 

Application for Registration as a Registered Agent (eff. 

12/2019) 

Request for Visitor Approval (eff. 5/2020) 

VA.R. Doc. No. R21-6657; Filed January 24, 2021, 4:32 p.m. 

BOARD OF PHYSICAL THERAPY 

Forms 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: Forms used in administering the 

regulation have been filed by the agency. The forms are not 

being published; however, online users of this issue of the 

Virginia Register of Regulations may click on the name of a 

form with a hyperlink to access it. The forms are also available 

from the agency contact or may be viewed at the Office of the 

Registrar of Regulations, 900 East Main Street, 11th Floor, 

Richmond, Virginia 23219. 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC112-20. Regulations Governing 

the Practice of Physical Therapy. 

Agency Contact: Elaine Yeatts, Agency Regulatory 

Coordinator, Department of Health Professions, 9960 Mayland 

Drive, Henrico, VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-4688, FAX 

(804) 527-4434, or email elaine.yeatts@dhp.virginia.gov. 

FORMS (18VAC112-20) 

Application for Licensure by Examination to Practice 

Physical Therapy as a Physical Therapist or Physical Therapist 

Assistant - form available online only at 

https://www.dhp.virginia.gov/PhysicalTherapy/physther_for

ms.htm 

Application for Licensure by Endorsement to Practice 

Physical Therapy as a Physical Therapist or Physical Therapist 

Assistant - form available online only at 

https://www.dhp.virginia.gov/PhysicalTherapy/physther_for

ms.htm 

Application for Reinstatement to Practice as a Physical 

Therapist or Physical Therapist Assistant (rev. 4/2017) 

Application for Reinstatement after Disciplinary Action (rev. 

4/2017) 

Checklist and Instructions for Application for Licensure by 

Endorsement to Practice Physical Therapy (rev. 3/2018) 

Checklist and Instructions for Application for Licensure by 

Endorsement to Practice Physical Therapy (Graduate of a Non-

approved Program) (rev. 3/2018) 

Checklist and Instructions for Application for Licensure by 

Examination to Practice Physical Therapy (rev. 3/2018) 

Checklist and Instructions for Application for Licensure by 

Examination to Practice Physical Therapy (Graduate of a Non-

Approved Program) (rev. 3/2018) 

Instructions - Reinstatement of Licensure to Practice as a 

Physical Therapist or Physical Therapist Assistant (rev. 

7/2017) 

Trainee Application Statement of Authorization (graduates 

awaiting examination results) (rev. 4/2018) 

Trainee Application Statement of Authorization (1,000-hour 

traineeship) (rev. 6/2018) 

Trainee Application, Statement of Authorization (320-hour 

traineeship) (rev. 6/2018) 

320 Hour Trainee Completion Form (rev. 6/2018) 

Trainee Application Statement of Authorization (160-hour 

traineeship) (rev. 6/2018) 

160 Hour Traineeship Completion Form (rev. 6/2018) 

Education Authorization Form (rev. 2/2019) 

Continuing Competency Activity and Assessment Form (rev. 

1/2015) 

Continuing Education (CE) Credit Form for Volunteer 

Practice (eff. 2/2018) 

Application for Reinstatement to Practice Physical Therapy 

(rev. 7/2020) 

Application for Reinstatement After Disciplinary Action (rev. 

7/2020) 

Checklist and Instructions for Application for Licensure by 

Endorsement to Practice Physical Therapy (rev. 7/2020) 

https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC110/forms/HowToPatientRegistration-20210113210109.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC110/forms/HowToPatientRegistration-20210113210109.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC110/forms/Permit-20210116191718.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC110/forms/Permit-20210116191718.pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=91500004878~3).pdf&typ=40&actno=004878&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=c3140004878~4).pdf&typ=40&actno=004878&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=b212c006224~19.pdf&typ=40&actno=006224&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=9638d006274~1A.pdf&typ=40&actno=006274&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=9638d006274~1A.pdf&typ=40&actno=006274&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=b19f0006378~3l.pdf&typ=40&actno=006378&mime=application/pdf
mailto:elaine.yeatts@dhp.virginia.gov
https://www.dhp.virginia.gov/PhysicalTherapy/physther_forms.htm
https://www.dhp.virginia.gov/PhysicalTherapy/physther_forms.htm
https://www.dhp.virginia.gov/PhysicalTherapy/physther_forms.htm
https://www.dhp.virginia.gov/PhysicalTherapy/physther_forms.htm
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC112/forms/Reinstatement-20210116212624.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC112/forms/Reinstatement-20210116212624.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC112/forms/Reinstatement_Disciplinary-20210116212645.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC112/forms/Reinstatement_Disciplinary-20210116212645.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC112/forms/End_instruct-20210116213258.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC112/forms/End_instruct-20210116213258.pdf
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Checklist and Instructions for Application for Licensure by 

Endorsement to Practice Physical Therapy (Graduate of a Non-

Approved Program) (rev. 7/2020) 

Checklist and Instructions for Application for Licensure by 

Examination to Practice Physical Therapy (rev. 7/2020) 

Checklist and Instructions for Application for Licensure by 

Examination to Practice Physical Therapy (Graduate of a Non-

Approved Program) (rev. 7/2020) 

Instructions: Reinstatement of Licensure to Practice as a 

Physical Therapist or Physical Therapist Assistant (rev. 

7/2020) 

Trainee Application - Statement of Authorization (rev. 

7/2020) 

Trainee Application - Statement of Authorization (Graduates 

of a Non-Approved PT or PTA Program Who Need to 

Complete a Full Time 1,000 Hours of Traineeship) (rev. 

7/2020) 

Trainee Application - Statement of Authorization (320-hour 

Traineeship) (rev. 7/2020) 

320 Hour Traineeship Completion Form (rev. 7/2020) 

Educational Authorization Form (rev. 7/2020) 

Continued Competency Activity and Assessment Form (rev. 

1/2015) 

Continuing Education (CE) Credit Form for Volunteer 

Practice (rev. 7/2020) 

Application for Direct Access Certification - form available 

online only at 

https://www.dhp.virginia.gov/PhysicalTherapy/physther_for

ms.htm 

Instructions - Direct Access Certification by Experience (rev. 

8/2016) 

Instructions - Direct Access Certification by Transitional 

Doctorate (rev. 6/2015) 

Direct Access Patient Attestation and Medical Release Form 

(eff. 5/2018) 

Name/Address Change Form (rev. 6/2018) 

Request for Verification of Virginia Physical Therapist 

License (rev. 6/2018) 

Name/Address Change Form (rev. 7/2020) 

Request for Verification of a Virginia Physical Therapy 

License (rev. 7/2020) 

VA.R. Doc. No. R21-6658; Filed January 24, 2021, 4:33 p.m. 

BOARD OF PSYCHOLOGY 

Forms 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: Forms used in administering the 

regulation have been filed by the agency. The forms are not 

being published; however, online users of this issue of the 

Virginia Register of Regulations may click on the name of a 

form with a hyperlink to access it. The forms are also available 

from the agency contact or may be viewed at the Office of the 

Registrar of Regulations, 900 East Main Street, 11th Floor, 

Richmond, Virginia 23219. 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC125-20. Regulations Governing 

the Practice of Psychology. 

Agency Contact: Elaine Yeatts, Agency Regulatory 

Coordinator, Department of Health Professions, 9960 Mayland 

Drive, Henrico, VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-4688, FAX 

(804) 527-4434, or email elaine.yeatts@dhp.virginia.gov. 

FORMS (18VAC125-20) 

Virginia Board of Psychology Application Instructions - 

Licensure by Examination (rev. 5/12). 

Instructions - Virginia Board of Psychology Application of 

Licensure by Endorsement (rev. 2/10). 

Psychologist Application for Licensure by Examination, 

Form 1 (rev. 8/07). 

Application for Licensure as a School Psychologist-Limited 

(rev. 8/07). 

Employment Verification Form (rev. 8/07). 

Registration of Residency -- Post-Graduate Degree 

Supervised Experience, Form 2 (rev. 8/07). 

Virginia Board of Psychology Application for Licensure by 

Endorsement (rev. 5/12). 

Psychologist Application for Reinstatement of a Lapsed 

License, PSYREIN (rev. 8/07). 

School Psychologist-Limited Application for Reinstatement 

of a Lapsed License, PSYREIN (rev. 8/07). 

Psychologist Application for Reinstatement Following 

Disciplinary Action, PSYREDISC (rev. 8/07). 

Verification of Post-Degree Supervision, Form 3 (rev. 8/07). 

Internship Verification, Form 4 (rev. 8/07). 

Licensure/Certification Verification, Form 5 (rev. 8/07). 

Areas of Graduate Study, Form 6 (rev. 2/10). 

Application Instructions For Clinical Psychology (LCP), 

School Psychology, or Applied Psychology Licensure by 

Examination (rev. 4/2018) 

Endorsement Application Instructions for Licensure as a 

Clinical, School, or Applied Psychologist (rev. 12/2018) 

https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC112/forms/Endorse_NonApproved-20210116213310.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC112/forms/Endorse_NonApproved-20210116213310.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC112/forms/Endorse_NonApproved-20210116213310.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC112/forms/Exam_instruct-20210116213645.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC112/forms/Exam_instruct-20210116213645.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC112/forms/Exam_NonApproved-20210116213701.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC112/forms/Exam_NonApproved-20210116213701.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC112/forms/Exam_NonApproved-20210116213701.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC112/forms/PT_Reinstatement_Instr-20210116214041.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC112/forms/PT_Reinstatement_Instr-20210116214041.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC112/forms/PT_Reinstatement_Instr-20210116214041.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC112/forms/Traineeship_Stmt_Auth-20210116221220.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC112/forms/Traineeship_Stmt_Auth-20210116221220.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC112/forms/PTTraineeship_1000-20210116221421.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC112/forms/PTTraineeship_1000-20210116221421.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC112/forms/PTTraineeship_1000-20210116221421.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC112/forms/PTTraineeship_1000-20210116221421.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC112/forms/PTTraineeship_320-20210116221533.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC112/forms/PTTraineeship_320-20210116221533.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC112/forms/320TraineeshipComplet-20210116221602.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC112/forms/Educational_Auth-20210116221648.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC112/forms/Continued_Competency-20210117160957.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC112/forms/Continued_Competency-20210117160957.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC112/forms/CE_VolunteerPracticePT-20210117155818.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC112/forms/CE_VolunteerPracticePT-20210117155818.pdf
https://www.dhp.virginia.gov/PhysicalTherapy/physther_forms.htm
https://www.dhp.virginia.gov/PhysicalTherapy/physther_forms.htm
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=4334d005938~16t.pdf&typ=40&actno=005938&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=4334d005938~16t.pdf&typ=40&actno=005938&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=dcd49005938~17t.pdf&typ=40&actno=005938&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=dcd49005938~17t.pdf&typ=40&actno=005938&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=475b6005938~21m.pdf&typ=40&actno=005938&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=475b6005938~21m.pdf&typ=40&actno=005938&mime=application/pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC112/forms/NameAddressChange-20210117160010.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC112/forms/Verif_VA_License-20210117160059.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC112/forms/Verif_VA_License-20210117160059.pdf
mailto:elaine.yeatts@dhp.virginia.gov
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC125/forms/Exam_app-20210118083830.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC125/forms/Exam_app-20210118083830.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC125/forms/Exam_app-20210118083830.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC125/forms/Endorsement-20210117171800.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC125/forms/Endorsement-20210117171800.pdf
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Application Instructions for Licensure as a School 

Psychologist-Limited (rev. 5/2018) 

Employment Verification (rev. 5/2018) 

Registration of Residency in Clinical or School Psychology 

(Post-Graduate Degree Supervised Experience) (rev. 5/2018) 

Psychologist Application for Reinstatement of a Lapsed 

License (rev. 5/2018) 

School Psychologist-Limited Application for Reinstatement 

of a Lapsed License (rev. 5/2018) 

Psychologist/CSOTP Application for Reinstatement 

Following Disciplinary Action (rev. 5/2018) 

Verification of Post-Degree Supervision (rev. 5/2018) 

Internship Verification (rev. 5/2018) 

Licensure/Certification Verification (rev. 5/2018) 

Areas of Graduate Study (rev. 5/2018) 

Continuing Education Summary Form (rev. 12/11) 

Verification of Pre-Doctoral Supervised Practicum Hours 

(eff. 5/12). 

Verification of Pre-Doctoral Supervised Practicum Hours (eff. 

5/2018) 

Verification of Post-Licensure Active Practice (rev. 8/2018) 

Licensure Verification of Out-of-State Supervisor (rev. 5/2018) 

Form for Reporting Psychology Grand Rounds Attendance (rev. 

10/2011) 

Continuing Education/Course Approval Request (rev. 4/2018) 

Request for Board Approval of Evaluator (rev. 10/2017) 

Request for Board Approval of Practice Supervisor (rev. 

10/2017) 

Request for Board Approval of Therapist (rev. 10/2017) 

Psychology Name/Address Change Form (rev. 3/2016) 

Request for Verification of Virginia Psychology License (rev. 

7/2017) 

Request for Change in Status of Virginia Clinical, School or 

Applied Psychologist License and School Psychologist 

Limited License (Current Active to Current Inactive) (rev. 

5/2020) 

Request for Change in Status of Virginia Psychology License 

(Current Inactive to Current Active) (rev. 5/2020) 

Request for Change in Status of Virginia Psychology License 

(Current Inactive to Current Active at Annual Renewal Time) 

(rev. 5/2020) 

VA.R. Doc. No. R21-6668; Filed January 24, 2021, 4:33 p.m. 

Forms 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: Forms used in administering the 

regulation have been filed by the agency. The forms are not 

being published; however, online users of this issue of the 

Virginia Register of Regulations may click on the name of a 

form with a hyperlink to access it. The forms are also available 

from the agency contact or may be viewed at the Office of the 

Registrar of Regulations, 900 East Main Street, 11th Floor, 

Richmond, Virginia 23219. 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC125-30. Regulations Governing 

the Certification of Sex Offender Treatment Providers. 

Agency Contact: Elaine Yeatts, Agency Regulatory 

Coordinator, Department of Health Professions, 9960 Mayland 

Drive, Henrico, VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-4688, FAX 

(804) 527-4434, or email elaine.yeatts@dhp.virginia.gov. 

FORMS (18VAC125-30) 

General Information for Certification as a Sex Offender 

Treatment Provider (rev. 4/09). 

Application for Certification as a Sex Offender Treatment 

Provider, Form 1 (rev. 8/07). 

Licensure or Certification Verification of Applicant, SOTP Form 

2 (rev. 8/07). 

Sex Offender Treatment Provider, Verification of Supervision, 

SOTP Form 3 (rev. 4/09). 

Licensure Verification of Out-of-State Supervisor, SOTP Form 

4 (rev. 8/07). 

Registration of Supervision Instructions (rev. 4/09). 

Registration of Supervision, Post-Graduate Degree Supervised 

Experience, Form 5 (rev. 8/07). 

Application for Reinstatement of Certification as a Sex Offender 

Treatment Provider (rev. 8/07).  

Application Instructions for Certification as a Sex Offender 

Treatment Provider (rev. 12/2020) 

Applicant Out-of-State Licensure Verification (rev. 12/2020) 

Verification of Post-Degree Supervision (rev. 12/2020) 

Verification of Training (rev. 12/2020) 

Applicant Out-of-State Supervisor Licensure Verification (rev. 

12/2020) 

Application Instructions for Initial Registration of Supervision 

for Sex Offender Treatment Providers (rev. 12/2020) 

Application Instructions for Add/Change Registration of 

Supervision for Sex Offender Treatment Providers (rev. 12/2020) 

Reinstatement Instructions for Certification of Sex Offender 

Treatment Providers (rev. 12/2020) 

VA.R. Doc. No. R21-6669; Filed January 24, 2021, 4:33 p.m. 

https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC125/forms/School_Psy_Ltd-20210117172034.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC125/forms/School_Psy_Ltd-20210117172034.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC125/forms/EmployVerif-20210118084244.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC125/forms/Reg_Residency-20210117172425.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC125/forms/Reg_Residency-20210117172425.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC125/forms/Reinstatement-20210117172528.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC125/forms/Reinstatement-20210117172528.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC125/forms/School_Psy_LtdReinstate-20210117172639.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC125/forms/School_Psy_LtdReinstate-20210117172639.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC125/forms/Reinstate_Discipline-20210117172739.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC125/forms/Reinstate_Discipline-20210117172739.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC125/forms/Verif_PostDeg_Supvsn-20210117172818.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC125/forms/Internship_Verif-20210117172858.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC125/forms/Lic_Cert_Verif_Juris-20210117173008.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC125/forms/Areas_GraduateStudy-20210117173132.pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=e4a58002226~13&typ=40&actno=002226&mime=application/msword
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC125/forms/Verif_PreDoctoral_Hours-20210117173303.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC125/forms/Verif_PreDoctoral_Hours-20210117173303.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC125/forms/Verif_ActivePrac-20210118083517.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC125/forms/Lic_Verif_OutState_Supervis-20210117173744.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC125/forms/Grand%20Round-20210117174329.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC125/forms/Grand%20Round-20210117174329.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC125/forms/CE_CourseApproval-20210117174352.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC125/forms/EvaluatorApprovalRequest-20210117174435.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC125/forms/SupervisorApproval-20210117174547.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC125/forms/SupervisorApproval-20210117174547.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC125/forms/TherapistApproval-20210117174610.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC125/forms/NameAddressChangeForm-20210117174632.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC125/forms/Virginia-20210117174956.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC125/forms/Virginia-20210117174956.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC125/forms/Active_Inactive-20210117175035.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC125/forms/Active_Inactive-20210117175035.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC125/forms/Active_Inactive-20210117175035.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC125/forms/Active_Inactive-20210117175035.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC125/forms/Inactive_Active_req-20210117175101.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC125/forms/Inactive_Active_req-20210117175101.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC125/forms/Inactive_ActiveRenewal-20210117175124.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC125/forms/Inactive_ActiveRenewal-20210117175124.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC125/forms/Inactive_ActiveRenewal-20210117175124.pdf
mailto:elaine.yeatts@dhp.virginia.gov
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC125/forms/App_Cert-20210118090103.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC125/forms/App_Cert-20210118090103.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC125/forms/OutState_Verif-20210118090135.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC125/forms/Verif_PostDegree-20210118090151.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC125/forms/Verif_Training-20210118090208.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC125/forms/OutState_Supervisor-20210118090233.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC125/forms/OutState_Supervisor-20210118090233.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC125/forms/Reg_Supervision-20210118090301.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC125/forms/Reg_Supervision-20210118090301.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC125/forms/AddChange_RegSupvsn-20210118090318.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC125/forms/AddChange_RegSupvsn-20210118090318.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC125/forms/Reinstatement-20210118090340.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC125/forms/Reinstatement-20210118090340.pdf
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BOARD OF SOCIAL WORK 

Final Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC140-20. Regulations Governing 

the Practice of Social Work (amending 18VAC140-20-10, 

18VAC140-20-150). 

Statutory Authority: § 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: March 16, 2021. 

Agency Contact: Jaime Hoyle, Executive Director, Board of 

Social Work, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, Richmond, VA 

23233-1463, telephone (804) 367-4406, FAX (804) 527-4435, 

or email jaime.hoyle@dhp.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendments define conversion therapy and establish 

that the standard of practice for licensed baccalaureate 

social workers, license master's social workers, and clinical 

social workers preclude the provision of conversion therapy 

to persons younger than 18 years of age. 

Summary of Public Comments and Agency's Response: A 

summary of comments made by the public and the agency's 

response may be obtained from the promulgating agency or 

viewed at the office of the Registrar of Regulations. 

18VAC140-20-10. Definitions. 

A. The following words and terms when used in this chapter 

shall have the meanings ascribed to them in § 54.1-3700 of the 

Code of Virginia: 

Baccalaureate social worker 

Board 

Casework 

Casework management and supportive services 

Clinical social worker 

Master's social worker 

Practice of social work 

Social worker 

B. The following words and terms when used in this chapter 

shall have the following meanings unless the context clearly 

indicates otherwise: 

"Accredited school of social work" means a school of social 

work accredited by the Council on Social Work Education. 

"Active practice" means post-licensure practice at the level of 

licensure for which an applicant is seeking licensure in 

Virginia and shall include at least 360 hours of practice in a 12-

month period. 

"Ancillary services" means activities such as case 

management, recordkeeping, referral, and coordination of 

services. 

"Clinical course of study" means graduate course work that 

includes specialized advanced courses in human behavior and 

the social environment, social justice and policy, 

psychopathology, and diversity issues; research; clinical 

practice with individuals, families, and groups; and a clinical 

practicum that focuses on diagnostic, prevention, and 

treatment services. 

"Clinical social work services" include the application of 

social work principles and methods in performing assessments 

and diagnoses based on a recognized manual of mental and 

emotional disorders or recognized system of problem 

definition, preventive and early intervention services, and 

treatment services, including psychosocial interventions, 

psychotherapy, and counseling for mental disorders, substance 

abuse, marriage and family dysfunction, and problems caused 

by social and psychological stress or health impairment. 

"Conversion therapy" means any practice or treatment [ that 

seeks to change an individual's sexual orientation or gender 

identity, including efforts to change behaviors or gender 

expressions or to eliminate or reduce sexual or romantic 

attractions or feelings toward individuals of any gender. 

Conversion therapy does not include: 1. Social work services 

that provide assistance to a person undergoing gender 

transition; or 2. Social work services that provide acceptance, 

support, and understanding of a person or facilitates a person's 

coping, social support, and identity exploration and 

development, including sexual-orientation-neutral 

interventions to prevent or address unlawful conduct or unsafe 

sexual practices, as long as such services do not seek to change 

an individual's sexual orientation or gender identity in any 

direction as defined in § 54.1-2409.5 A of the Code of 

Virginia ]. 

"Exempt practice" is that which meets the conditions of 

exemption from the requirements of licensure as defined in 

§ 54.1-3701 of the Code of Virginia. 

"Face-to-face supervision" means the physical presence of the 

individuals involved in the supervisory relationship during 

either individual or group supervision or the use of technology 

that provides real-time, visual contact among the individuals 

involved. 

"LBSW" means a licensed baccalaureate social worker. 

"LMSW" means a licensed master's social worker. 

"Nonexempt practice" is means that which does not meet the 

conditions of exemption from the requirements of licensure as 

defined in § 54.1-3701 of the Code of Virginia. 

"Supervisee" means an individual who has submitted a 

supervisory contract and has received board approval to 

provide clinical services in social work under supervision. 

"Supervision" means a professional relationship between a 

supervisor and supervisee in which the supervisor directs, 

monitors, and evaluates the supervisee's social work practice 

mailto:jaime.hoyle@dhp.virginia.gov
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while promoting development of the supervisee's knowledge, 

skills, and abilities to provide social work services in an ethical 

and competent manner. 

18VAC140-20-150. Professional conduct. 

A. The protection of the public health, safety, and welfare and 

the best interest of the public shall be the primary guide in 

determining the appropriate professional conduct of all persons 

whose activities are regulated by the board. Regardless of the 

delivery method, whether in person, by telephone, or 

electronically, these standards shall apply to the practice of 

social work. 

B. Persons licensed as LBSWs, LMSWs, and clinical social 

workers shall: 

1. Be able to justify all services rendered to or on behalf of 

clients as necessary for diagnostic or therapeutic purposes. 

2. Provide for continuation of care when services must be 

interrupted or terminated. 

3. Practice only within the competency areas for which they 

are qualified by education and experience. 

4. Report to the board known or suspected violations of the 

laws and regulations governing the practice of social work. 

5. Neither accept nor give commissions, rebates, or other 

forms of remuneration for referral of clients for professional 

services. 

6. Ensure that clients are aware of fees and billing 

arrangements before rendering services. 

7. Inform clients of potential risks and benefits of services 

and the limitations on confidentiality and ensure that clients 

have provided informed written consent to treatment. 

8. Keep confidential their therapeutic relationships with 

clients and disclose client records to others only with written 

consent of the client, with the following exceptions: (i) when 

the client is a danger to self or others; or (ii) as required by 

law. 

9. When advertising their services to the public, ensure that 

such advertising is neither fraudulent nor misleading. 

10. As treatment requires and with the written consent of the 

client, collaborate with other health or mental health 

providers concurrently providing services to the client. 

11. Refrain from undertaking any activity in which one's 

personal problems are likely to lead to inadequate or harmful 

services. 

12. Recognize conflicts of interest and inform all parties of 

the nature and directions of loyalties and responsibilities 

involved. 

13. Not engage in conversion therapy with any person 

younger than 18 years of age. 

C. In regard to client records, persons licensed by the board 

shall comply with provisions of § 32.1-127.1:03 of the Code of 

Virginia on health records privacy and shall: 

1. Maintain written or electronic clinical records for each 

client to include identifying information and assessment that 

substantiates diagnosis and treatment plans. Each record 

shall include a diagnosis and treatment plan, progress notes 

for each case activity, information received from all 

collaborative contacts and the treatment implications of that 

information, and the termination process and summary. 

2. Maintain client records securely, inform all employees of 

the requirements of confidentiality, and provide for the 

destruction of records that are no longer useful in a manner 

that ensures client confidentiality. 

3. Disclose or release records to others only with clients' 

expressed written consent or that of their legally authorized 

representative or as mandated by law. 

4. Ensure confidentiality in the usage of client records and 

clinical materials by obtaining informed consent from clients 

or their legally authorized representative before (i) 

videotaping, (ii) audio recording, (iii) permitting third-party 

observation, or (iv) using identifiable client records and 

clinical materials in teaching, writing, or public 

presentations. 

5. Maintain client records for a minimum of six years or as 

otherwise required by law from the date of termination of the 

therapeutic relationship with the following exceptions: 

a. At minimum, records of a minor child shall be 

maintained for six years after attaining the age of majority 

or 10 years following termination, whichever comes later. 

b. Records that are required by contractual obligation or 

federal law to be maintained for a longer period of time. 

c. Records that have been transferred to another mental 

health professional or have been given to the client or his 

legally authorized representative. 

D. In regard to dual relationships, persons licensed by the 

board shall: 

1. Not engage in a dual relationship with a client or a 

supervisee that could impair professional judgment or 

increase the risk of exploitation or harm to the client or 

supervisee. (Examples of such a relationship include 

familial, social, financial, business, bartering, or a close 

personal relationship with a client or supervisee.) Social 

workers shall take appropriate professional precautions 

when a dual relationship cannot be avoided, such as 

informed consent, consultation, supervision, and 

documentation to ensure that judgment is not impaired and 

no exploitation occurs. 

2. Not have any type of romantic relationship or sexual 

intimacies with a client or those included in collateral 

therapeutic services, and not provide services to those 
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persons with whom they have had a romantic or sexual 

relationship. Social workers shall not engage in romantic 

relationship or sexual intimacies with a former client within 

a minimum of five years after terminating the professional 

relationship. Social workers who engage in such a 

relationship after five years following termination shall have 

the responsibility to examine and document thoroughly that 

such a relationship did not have an exploitive nature, based 

on factors such as duration of therapy, amount of time since 

therapy, termination circumstances, client's personal history 

and mental status, adverse impact on the client. A client's 

consent to, initiation of or participation in sexual behavior or 

involvement with a social worker does not change the nature 

of the conduct nor lift the regulatory prohibition. 

3. Not engage in any romantic or sexual relationship or 

establish a therapeutic relationship with a current supervisee 

or student. Social workers shall avoid any nonsexual dual 

relationship with a supervisee or student in which there is a 

risk of exploitation or potential harm to the supervisee or 

student, or the potential for interference with the supervisor's 

professional judgment. 

4. Recognize conflicts of interest and inform all parties of 

the nature and directions of loyalties and responsibilities 

involved. 

5. Not engage in a personal relationship with a former client 

in which there is a risk of exploitation or potential harm or if 

the former client continues to relate to the social worker in 

his professional capacity. 

E. Upon learning of evidence that indicates a reasonable 

probability that another mental health provider is or may be 

guilty of a violation of standards of conduct as defined in 

statute or regulation, persons licensed by the board shall advise 

their clients of their right to report such misconduct to the 

Department of Health Professions in accordance with § 54.1-

2400.4 of the Code of Virginia. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R19-5872; Filed January 15, 2021, 3:10 p.m. 

Forms 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: Forms used in administering the 

regulation have been filed by the agency. The forms are not 

being published; however, online users of this issue of the 

Virginia Register of Regulations may click on the name of a 

form with a hyperlink to access it. The forms are also available 

from the agency contact or may be viewed at the Office of the 

Registrar of Regulations, 900 East Main Street, 11th Floor, 

Richmond, Virginia 23219. 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC140-20. Regulations Governing 

the Practice of Social Work. 

Agency Contact: Elaine Yeatts, Agency Regulatory 

Coordinator, Department of Health Professions, 9960 Mayland 

Drive, Henrico, VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-4688, FAX 

(804) 527-4434, or email elaine.yeatts@dhp.virginia.gov. 

FORMS (18VAC140-20) 

Verification of Clinical Supervision (rev. 8/2016) 

Request for Termination of Supervision (rev. 11/2015) 

Request for Termination of Supervision (rev. 2/2020) 

Application for Initial and Add or Change Registration of 

Supervision toward LCSW licensure, online form available at 

https://www.dhp.virginia.gov/social/social_forms.htm 

Application for Licensure by Examination and Endorsement 

as a Licensed Clinical Social Worker, online form available at 

https://www.dhp.virginia.gov/social/social_forms.htm 

Electronic Application Instructions for Licensure by 

Examination as a Licensed Baccalaureate Social Worker 

(LBSW) (rev. 8/2019) 

Electronic Application Instructions for Licensure by 

Endorsement as a Licensed Baccalaureate Social Worker 

(LBSW) (rev. 8/2019) 

Electronic Application Instructions for Licensure by 

Examination as a Licensed Master's Social Worker (LMSW) 

(rev. 8/2019) 

Electronic application instructions for Licensure by 

Endorsement as a Licensed Master's Social Worker (LMSW) 

(rev. 8/2019) 

Electronic Application Instructions for Licensure by 

Examination as a Licensed Clinical Social Worker (LCSW) 

(rev. 8/2019) 

Electronic application instructions for Licensure by 

Endorsement as a Licensed Clinical Social Worker (LCSW) 

(rev. 8/2019) 

Instructions and Application for Registration of Supervision 

for LSW (rev. 9/2015) 

Reinstatement Application for LCSW, LMSW, LBSW (rev. 

12/2013) 

Reinstatement Following Disciplinary Action for LCSW, 

LMSW, LBSW (rev. 12/2013) 

Social Work Name-Address Change Form (rev. 5/2018) 

Request for Inactive Status of Current Social Work License 

(rev. 7/2017) 

Request for Change of Status - Inactive to Active (rev. 

7/2017) 

Request for Verification of Virginia License (rev. 7/2017) 

Request for Late Renewal (rev. 6/2017) 

Application for Licensure by Examination and Endorsement 

as a Licensed Baccalaureate Social Worker, online form 

available at https://www.dhp.virginia.gov/social/social_ 

forms.htm 

mailto:elaine.yeatts@dhp.virginia.gov
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=0aee9005436~1n.pdf&typ=40&actno=005436&mime=application/pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC140/forms/Termination_Supervis-20210118091403.pdf
https://www.dhp.virginia.gov/social/social_forms.htm
https://www.dhp.virginia.gov/social/social_forms.htm
https://www.dhp.virginia.gov/social/social_forms.htm
https://www.dhp.virginia.gov/social/social_forms.htm
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LCSW Supervision Log (rev. 3/2020) 

Application for Reinstatement of Licensure: Checklist 

Instructions (rev. 3/2020) 

Application for Reinstatement Following Disciplinary 

Action: Checklist Instructions (rev. 3/2020) 

Social Work Name/Address Change (rev. 2/2020) 

Request for Change in Status of Virginia Social Work License 

(Current Active to Current Inactive) (rev. 3/2020) 

Request for Change in Status of Virginia Social Work License 

(Current Inactive to Current Active) (rev. 3/2020) 

Request for Verification of Virginia Social Work License 

(rev. 2/2020) 

Request for Late Renewal Instructions (rev. 3/2020) 

VA.R. Doc. No. R21-6670; Filed January 24, 2021, 4:33 p.m. 

BOARD OF VETERINARY MEDICINE 

Forms 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: Forms used in administering the 

regulation have been filed by the agency. The forms are not 

being published; however, online users of this issue of the 

Virginia Register of Regulations may click on the name of a 

form with a hyperlink to access it. The forms are also available 

from the agency contact or may be viewed at the Office of the 

Registrar of Regulations, 900 East Main Street, 11th Floor, 

Richmond, Virginia 23219. 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC150-20. Regulations Governing 

the Practice of Veterinary Medicine. 

Agency Contact: Elaine Yeatts, Agency Regulatory 

Coordinator, Department of Health Professions, 9960 Mayland 

Drive, Henrico, VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-4688, FAX 

(804) 527-4434, or email elaine.yeatts@dhp.virginia.gov. 

FORMS (18VAC150-20) 

Instructions for Licensure to Practice Veterinary Medicine 

(rev. 5/2019) 

Application for a License to Practice Veterinary Medicine 

online form available at 

https://www.dhp.virginia.gov/vet/vet_forms.htm. 

Instructions for Licensure to Practice Veterinary Technology 

(rev. 5/2019) 

Application for a License to Practice Veterinary Technology 

online form available at 

https://www.dhp.virginia.gov/vet/vet_forms.htm. 

Checklist and Application for Veterinary Establishment 

Permit (rev. 5/2019) 

Change in Veterinarian-in-Charge Form (rev. 5/2019) 

Veterinary Establishment Closure Form (rev. 5/2019) 

Application for Reinstatement (rev. 5/2019) 

Application Licensure Verification (rev. 5/2019) 

Employment Verification Form (rev. 5/2019) 

Name/Address Change Form (rev. 5/2019) 

Application for Registration for Volunteer Practice (rev. 

5/2019) 

Sponsor Certification for Volunteer Registration (rev. 

5/2019) 

Continuing Education Credit Form for Volunteer Practice (rev. 

5/2019) 

Application for Registration to Practice as an Equine Dental 

Technician (rev. 5/2019) 

Recommendation for Registration as an Equine Dental 

Technician (rev. 5/2019) 

Instructions for Completing an Application to Practice as a 

Veterinarian in Virginia (rev. 6/2020) 

Application for a License to Practice Veterinary Medicine online 

form available at 

https://www.dhp.virginia.gov/Boards/VetMed/PractitionerResou

rces/Forms/ 

Instructions for Completing an Application to Practice as a 

Veterinary Technician in Virginia (rev. 6/2020) 

Application for a License to Practice Veterinary Technology 

online form available at 

https://www.dhp.virginia.gov/Boards/VetMed/PractitionerResou

rces/Forms/ 

Application for Registration of a Veterinary Establishment and 

Changes/Updates to a Registered Establishment (rev. 6/2020) 

Change of Veterinarian-in-Charge Form (rev. 6/2020) 

Veterinary Establishment Inspection Report (rev. 10/2019) 

Veterinary Establishment Closure Form (rev. 6/2020) 

Employment Verification (rev. 6/2020) 

Name/Address Change Form (rev. 6/2020) 

Request for Verification of a Virginia License (rev. 6/2020) 

Application for Registration for Volunteer Practice (rev. 6/2020) 

Sponsor Certification for Volunteer Registration (rev. 6/2020) 

Continuing Education (CE) Credit Form for Volunteer Practice 

(rev. 6/2020) 

Instructions/Checklist for Completing an Application for 

Registration to Practice as an Equine Dental Technician in 

Virginia (rev. 6/2020) 

Instructions for Reinstating an Expired License to Practice as a 

Veterinarian or Veterinary Technician in Virginia (rev. 6/2020) 

https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC140/forms/SupervisionLog-20210118092007.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC140/forms/Reinstatement-20210118092052.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC140/forms/Reinstatement-20210118092052.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC140/forms/Reinstatement_Discipline-20210118092201.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC140/forms/Reinstatement_Discipline-20210118092201.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC140/forms/Name_Address-20210118092253.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC140/forms/Req_Active_to_Inactive-20210118092348.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC140/forms/Req_Active_to_Inactive-20210118092348.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC140/forms/Req_Inactive_to_Active-20210118092403.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC140/forms/Req_Inactive_to_Active-20210118092403.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC140/forms/Req_Verif_VALic-20210118092529.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC140/forms/Req_Verif_VALic-20210118092529.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC140/forms/Req_Late_Renewal-20210118092545.pdf
mailto:elaine.yeatts@dhp.virginia.gov
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC150/forms/Veterinarian%20Instr-20210118093230.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC150/forms/Veterinarian%20Instr-20210118093230.pdf
https://www.dhp.virginia.gov/Boards/VetMed/PractitionerResources/Forms/
https://www.dhp.virginia.gov/Boards/VetMed/PractitionerResources/Forms/
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC150/forms/Vet%20Tech%20Instr-20210118093345.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC150/forms/Vet%20Tech%20Instr-20210118093345.pdf
https://www.dhp.virginia.gov/Boards/VetMed/PractitionerResources/Forms/
https://www.dhp.virginia.gov/Boards/VetMed/PractitionerResources/Forms/
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC150/forms/Establishment_App-20210118093523.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC150/forms/Establishment_App-20210118093523.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC150/forms/Change%20of%20VIC-20210118093612.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC150/forms/Inspection-20210118095439.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC150/forms/Facility%20Closure-20210118093807.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC150/forms/Employment_Verif-20210118093839.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC150/forms/Name_AddressChange-20210118093909.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC150/forms/Verif_VA%20License-20210118095525.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC150/forms/Reg_Volunteer_Prac-20210118094007.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC150/forms/Volunteer%20Sponsor-20210118094048.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC150/forms/CE_Volunteer%20Practice-20210118094212.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC150/forms/CE_Volunteer%20Practice-20210118094212.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC150/forms/EDT-20210118094308.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC150/forms/EDT-20210118094308.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC150/forms/EDT-20210118094308.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC150/forms/Reinstatement_Vet.Tech-20210118095047.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC150/forms/Reinstatement_Vet.Tech-20210118095047.pdf
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Instructions for Reactivating an Inactive License to Practice as a 

Veterinarian or Veterinary Technician in Virginia (rev. 6/2020) 

Recommendation for Registration as an Equine Dental 

Technician (rev. 6/2020) 

VA.R. Doc. No. R21-6671; Filed January 24, 2021, 4:34 p.m. 

  ––––––––––––––––––  

TITLE 20. PUBLIC UTILITIES AND 
TELECOMMUNICATIONS 

STATE CORPORATION COMMISSION 

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The State Corporation Commission 

is claiming an exemption from the Administrative Process Act 

in accordance with § 2.2-4002 A 2 of the Code of Virginia, 

which exempts courts, any agency of the Supreme Court, and 

any agency that by the Constitution is expressly granted any of 

the powers of a court of record. 

Title of Regulation: 20VAC5-350. Rules Governing 

Exemptions for Large General Services Companies 

(adding 20VAC5-350-10 through 20VAC5-350-50). 

Statutory Authority: §§ 12.1-13 and 56-585.1 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

Effective Date: February 4, 2021. 

Agency Contact: Allison Samuel, Principal Utilities Analyst, 

Public Utility Regulation Division, State Corporation 

Commission, P.O. Box 1197, Richmond, VA 23218, telephone 

(804) 225-3177, FAX (804) 371-9350, or email 

allison.samuel@scc.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The action implements certain provisions of Chapters 1193 

and 1194 of the 2020 Acts of Assembly that amend § 56-

585.1 A 5 c of the Code of Virginia and require the State 

Corporation Commission to establish rules under which 

eligible large general service customers may be exempted 

from participation in energy efficiency programs. The new 

regulation, Rules Governing Exemption for Large General 

Service Customers (20VAC5-350), defines the applicability 

and scope of the exemption and provides for notice 

requirements, dispute resolution, waiver, and enforcement. 

Changes since publication of the proposed regulation 

include (i) simplifying the large general service customer 

eligibility exemption timelines and threshold requirements; 

(ii) clarifying notice requirements and the addition of an 

April 1, 2021, notice of nonparticipation submission 

deadline; and (iii) clarifying standard notice and annual 

reporting criteria.  

AT RICHMOND, JANUARY 29, 2021 

COMMONWEALTH OF VIRGINIA, ex rel. 

STATE CORPORATION COMMISSION 

CASE NO. PUR-2020-00172 

Ex Parte: In the matter of adopting new 

rules of the State Corporation Commission 

governing exemptions for large general 

services customers under § 56-585-1 A 5 c 

of the Code of Virginia 

ORDER ADOPTING REGULATIONS 

The Virginia General Assembly enacted legislation during its 

2020 Session1 requiring the State Corporation Commission 

("Commission") to establish rules by which large general 

services customers may be exempted from participation in 

energy efficiency programs.2 The new rules are to be effective 

by June 30, 2021. 

On September 30, 2020, the Commission entered an Order for 

Notice and Comment ("Initial Order") initiating this 

proceeding to promulgate rules governing the manner in which 

large general services customers may be exempted from 

participation in energy efficiency programs. The Commission 

appended to its Initial Order proposed rules ("Proposed 

Rules"), which were prepared by the Staff of the Commission 

("Staff"). 

Notice of the proceeding and the Proposed Rules were 

published in the Virginia Register of Regulations on November 

9, 2020. Additionally, those persons and entities identified by 

Staff as potentially having an interest in this matter were 

provided notice via electronic transmittal of the Initial Order. 

Furthermore, the notice in the Attachment to Initial Order was 

sent by Virginia Electric and Power Company ("DEV") and 

Appalachian Power Company ("APCo"), to each of their Large 

General Service ("LGS") customers, by separate first class 

mailing, by electronic mail, or by bill insert. An electronic 

version of the Proposed Rules was also posted on the 

Commission's website and the Commission's Division of 

Public Utility Regulation website. Interested persons were 

directed to file any comments and requests for hearing on the 

Proposed Rules on or before November 17, 2020. 

The Virginia Committee for Fair Utility Rates & Old 

Dominion Committee for Fair Utility Rates ("the 

Committees"), DEV, APCo, the Virginia Department of 

Mines, Minerals, and Energy ("DMME"), and the Natural 

Resources Defense Council ("NRDC") filed comments. 

Comments were also received from the Virginia Poverty Law 

Center ("VPLC"), Virginia Energy Efficiency Council 

("VAEEC"), as well as three LGS customers. (All of these 

entities collectively are referred to as the "Commenters"). No 

one requested a hearing on the Proposed Rules. On December 

17, 2020, the Staff filed its report. 

https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC150/forms/Reactivation_VetTech-20210118095100.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC150/forms/Reactivation_VetTech-20210118095100.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC150/forms/EDT%20Recommendation-20210118094323.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC150/forms/EDT%20Recommendation-20210118094323.pdf
mailto:allison.samuel@scc.virginia.gov
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The Committees, DEV, APCo, and the NRDC proposed 

specific changes to the language of the Proposed Rules. The 

other Commenters provided more general recommendations 

related to the Proposed Rules. 

SECTION 20 VAC 5-250-10: APPLICABILITY AND 

SCOPE 

DEV recommended that the rules be modified to require that 

a customer must have a verifiable history of using at least one 

megawatt of demand at least three months within a consecutive 

twelve-month period.3 Per DEV, requiring a minimum of three 

occurrences would eliminate anomalies caused by extreme 

weather or other external conditions.4 DEV also recommended 

that the twelve-month period in which the demand exceeds one 

megawatt be required to be within the most recent three years 

of the customer's electric service.5 Finally, DEV recommended 

that the word "contiguous" be added to the description of a 

"single site" to avoid ambiguity about certain geographical 

locations.6 

APCo recommended that LGS customers have a verifiable 

history of one megawatt of demand in any single billing month 

during the three previous calendar years.7 

NRDC argued that Staff's restatement of § 56-585.1 A 5 c was 

incomplete and that this provision only permits exemption if 

an applicant has energy efficiency "programs" in place, that 

provide measured and verified savings which are both 

"consistent with industry standards" and "other regulatory 

criteria stated in § 56-585.1."8 NRDC further argued the Code 

"plainly requires that any applied-for exemption is dependent 

upon the Commission first making a 'finding' of each of the 

above requirements."9 NRDC proposed changes to Section 

20 VAC 5-350-10 that require the customer demonstrate it has 

implemented energy efficiency programs that the Commission 

finds are consistent with industry standards for similar such 

customers and which meet other regulatory criteria in § 56-

585.1.10 

VAEEC recommended that an LGS customer be defined as a 

facility whose peak measured demand has reached or exceeded 

one megawatt during at least three billing months within any 

prior twelve-month period during the last three years prior to 

the exemption.11 VAEEC further recommended that the 

Commission not only set an energy savings threshold that must 

be met in order for an LGS customer to receive an exemption, 

but also to set it at such a level that these internal programs are 

producing effective energy savings for the customer.12 

SECTION 20 VAC 5-350-20: ADMINISTRATIVE 

PROCEDURES FOR NOTICE TO UTILITY AND 

COMMISSION  

DEV recommended that a deadline be established for utilities 

to provide responses by June 1 of a given year to the notices of 

nonparticipation submitted during January 1 through March 1 

of that year, rather than utilities having to process the notices 

on a rolling basis.13 Per DEV, having a more structured process 

with firm dates will better enable utilities to manage workflow 

and monitor compliance deadlines.14 Similarly, DEV 

recommended that the billing changes for nonparticipating 

LGS customers become effective on July 1 of the applicable 

calendar year rather than on a rolling basis.15 DEV further 

proposed that notices of nonparticipation received after the 

March 1 deadline not be processed for that year.16 DEV 

suggested the customers that provided notices after March 1 

should be required to submit a new notice of nonparticipation 

for the following year.17 Lastly, DEV recommended that this 

section include a notification of material changes by 

nonparticipating customers to be provided within sixty days of 

the material change.18 

APCo recommended that customers should not be qualified 

for exemption if they have participated in or received a rebate 

through a Commission-approved utility energy efficiency 

program in the last sixty months.19 

The Committees requested insertion of a new paragraph E in 

Section 20 VAC 5-350-20 related to customers exempted from 

any rate adjustment clause approved by the Commission 

pursuant to § 56-585.1 A 5 c at the time this chapter comes into 

effect. Pursuant to the Committees' newly proposed paragraph 

E, such customers would be presumed to remain exempt; those 

seeking to continue an exemption would have to provide a 

notice of nonparticipation to their utility on or before March 1 

of the year after this chapter is approved.20 The Committees 

argued these changes provide clarity to customers as to when 

they must provide their notice of nonparticipation in order to 

continue exemptions uninterrupted from rate adjustment 

clauses for energy efficiency programs ("EE RACs").21 

SECTION 20 VAC 5-350-30: STANDARD CRITERIA FOR 

NOTICE TO THE UTILITY  

DEV recommended that the LGS customers include the 

applicable utility account numbers within the notice and stated 

this was relevant for those customers that may seek to 

aggregate multiple accounts within a single site to reach the 

one megawatt demand threshold.22 Regarding annual reporting 

requirements, DEV recommended that each LGS customer 

provide an annual report that describes the energy efficiency 

savings achieved by the customer during each twelve-month 

period in which such notice of nonparticipation is in effect to 

both the utility and Commission Staff.23 DEV proposed that the 

report also include the status of the measures and operational 

changes included in the notice of nonparticipation.24 

APCo recommended that the notice of nonparticipation 

describe the energy efficiency savings achieved in kilowatt-

hours during each of the prior five years as well as the life 

expectancy of each measure.25 APCo also recommended a new 

requirement that energy savings achieved by the customer 

meet or exceed the required percentage energy reduction as 

required by the VCEA for their respective utility, and that the 

customer include analysis in its notice of nonparticipation 

regarding such savings.26 APCo recommended that the utility 
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have no responsibility for verifying such compliance but would 

"verify information has been provided by the customer in its 

notice of nonparticipation."27 In paragraphs E and F of this 

Section, APCo recommended language stating that it is the 

customer's sole responsibility to ensure that the energy savings 

claimed in the customer's notice of nonparticipation meet the 

definition of "measured and verified" as defined in § 56-576 of 

the Code, and that compliance be attested to in the customer's 

affidavit.28 Lastly, APCo recommended removing paragraph G 

of this Section from the rules.29 

NRDC argued that Section 20 VAC 5-350-30 also fails to 

include a Commission finding requirement,30 and NRDC 

recommended language in paragraph E of this Section that 

indicates nonparticipation would not be approved by the 

Commission unless the Commission first finds that each 

annual report demonstrates energy efficiency savings of a level 

consistent with commonly accepted industry standards.31 

NRDC further commented that such industry standards "may 

be based on ISO 50001 or other similar energy management 

systems standards."32 

DMME recommended that specific energy savings targets be 

established that compel participants to implement programs 

that achieve substantial savings in line with the energy 

efficiency standards applied to the investor-owned utilities in 

the VCEA.33 DMME also encouraged the inclusion of more 

detailed information on qualifying Evaluation, Measurement, 

and Verification ("EM&V") measures, including the 

prescription of an International Performance Measurement and 

Verification Protocol and its associated options for different 

types of energy efficiency measures in order to establish a 

strong performance standard for this program.34 DMME 

further recommended use of a standardized EM&V tool for 

administering this program, as the standardization and 

digitization of data may provide benefits for both users and 

Commission Staff.35 

DMME also suggested adjusting the baselines to the 2016-

2019 timeframe given the impacts of COVID-19 affecting 

energy demand, as well as establishing an energy savings 

account which could be administered by the Commission or 

the utility and would enable a participating LGS customer to 

earmark funds for energy efficiency measures.36 

VAEEC recommended aligning LGS customer internal 

program EM&V protocols and reporting requirements with the 

Federal Energy Management Program Protocols as used by 

DMME for public Energy Savings Performance Contracting 

("ESPC").37 VAEEC recommended aligning LGS customer 

self-direct enforcement guidelines with the protocols set forth 

by DMME for public ESPC contracts with an additional option 

of revoking an exemption if needed.38 Finally, VAEEC 

recommended developing a process to address end-of-life 

measure savings in relation to the customer exemption, which 

VAEEC argued should include a timeline or submitting 

EM&V plans for new measures.39 

VPLC did not provide any specific changes to the language 

of the Proposed Rules but supported the comments of VAEEC 

and emphasized the importance of incorporating energy 

savings targets for the LGS customers.40 

SECTION 20 VAC 5-350-40: DISPUTE RESOLUTION 

APCo recommended incorporating language which states, 

"For the utility, all costs incurred shall be recoverable through 

rates."41 

STAFF'S REPORT 

In its Report, Staff noted some agreement with the 

Commenters' suggestions, objected to some of the comments 

as outside the scope of the authority granted by the Code, and 

proffered modifications to some of the suggested edits in order 

to both address the concerns of the Commenters as well as 

alleviate potential undue burdens on LGS participants. A copy 

of the black-lined Rules with Staff's additional edits was 

included as Attachment A to the Staff Report. 

NOW THE COMMISSION, upon consideration of this 

matter, is of the opinion and finds that the revised regulations 

appended hereto as Attachment A should be adopted as final 

rules, as discussed herein. As an initial matter, the Commission 

expresses appreciation to those who have submitted written 

comments for our consideration and have otherwise 

participated in this proceeding. We have carefully reviewed 

and considered all comments, changes to the Proposed Rules, 

and the Staff Report filed in this case. 

The Rules we now adopt strike a reasonable balance of the 

interests of LGS customers and utilities and support the 

objectives of Code § 56-585.1 A 5 c, while also protecting the 

electric system and Virginia consumers. These Rules provide 

a workable solution for the unique issues faced in this 

rulemaking. As experience is gained and lessons are learned, 

these Rules may be updated and revised. In this regard, we 

further note that the Rules, as adopted herein, permit requests 

for waiver for good cause shown.42 

The Rules we adopt herein contain certain modifications to 

those that were first proposed by Staff and published in the 

Virginia Register of Regulations on November 9, 2020. 

Although we will not comment on each modification in detail, 

we now address: (i) NRDC's request for Commission findings 

on initial notices of nonparticipation and annual reports, (ii) 

NRDC's and DMME' s requests to include in the Rules 

specifically named energy efficiency protocols, and (iii) the 

Committees' comments on the timing of the filing of notices of 

nonparticipation and continued exemptions. 

First, NRDC stated in its comments that the Commission 

must make an affirmative finding regarding each LGS 

customer's notice of nonparticipation.43 NRDC further asserted 

that the Commission must make affirmative findings regarding 

each LGS customer's energy efficiency annual report for that 

customer to maintain nonparticipant status.44 Staff responded 
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by modifying the last sentence of 20 VAC 5-350-10 to require 

LGS customers to "certify" implementation of energy 

efficiency programs, at the customer's expense, showing 

measured and verified results within the prior five years, 

consistent with industry standards and any other regulatory 

criteria in Code § 56-585.1 A 5 c that the Commission 

reasonably deems appropriate.45 The Rules we adopt herein 

incorporate Staff's recommended approach requiring 

certification. To the extent that objections are made to an LGS 

customer's certified notice of nonparticipation, the 

Commission's informal and formal complaint processes are 

available to the disputants to resolve their differences.46  

Such certification process complies with the VCEA47 and 

provides administrative efficiencies. NRDC's alternative 

would require the expenditure of significant Commission 

resources related to the initial notice of nonparticipation and 

each year thereafter for each and every LGS customer seeking 

an initial or continuing exemption. Ongoing proceedings 

before the Commission are not required by the statute, and we 

decline to adopt such. 

Second, NRDC requested that the Commission add language 

to these rules specifying that industry standards for energy 

savings "may be based on ISO 50001 or other similar energy 

management systems standards"48 and DMME recommended 

the use of more detailed information on qualifying EM&V 

measures, including the prescription of an International 

Performance Measurement and Verification Protocol.49 

Similarly, Staff recommended use of the following language: 

"Such industry standards for energy savings may be based on 

ISO 50001, or the International Performance Measurement and 

Verification Protocol, or other similar energy management 

systems standards."50 

The Commission appreciates NRDC's, DMME's and Staff's 

recommendations on this point and encourages the use of 

highly regarded EM&V protocols. We decline at this time, 

however, to adopt specific EM&V protocols within the text of 

these rules. EM&V protocols are updated periodically, so 

adopting specific protocols may hinder the ability to use the 

most up-to-date protocols available at the time of such 

filings.51 

We next address the Committees' concerns related to the 

expiration of exemptions for those exempt from paying for EE 

RACs before the effective date of the VCEA and the timing by 

which such customers must provide notices of nonparticipation 

to their utilities to continue their exemptions uninterrupted.52 

As initially proposed, Rule 20 VAC 5-350-20 A provided the 

relevant deadline by which notices of nonparticipation must be 

received, specifically "on or before March 1 of the year in 

which an exemption is sought." In an effort to provide 

clarification regarding expiration of exemptions and the timing 

of filing of notices of nonparticipation for those LGS 

customers that held exemption under the pre-VCEA wording 

of Code § 56-585.1 A 5 c, the Committees proposed adding a 

new subsection E to Rule 20 VAC 5-350-20 which, among 

other things, specifies that "customers seeking to continue an 

existing exemption must provide a new notice of 

nonparticipation . . . on or before March 1 of the year after this 

chapter is approved."53 

Absent swift resolution to this rulemaking and a reasonable 

opportunity for the filing of notices of nonparticipation by 

eligible LGS customers, there would be a chance that any LGS 

customers eligible for exemption under Code § 56-585.1 A 5 

c, as revised by the VCEA, and who previously enjoyed 

exemption from the utilities' EE RACs under the pre-VCEA 

wording of Code § 56-585.1 A 5 c, would become subject to 

such RACs with the onset of new EE RAC rates starting in the 

summer of 2021. To remedy this situation, the Commission has 

established an April 1 filing deadline for receipt of notices of 

nonparticipation from all eligible LGS customers for the year 

2021, with a standing June 1 deadline for acceptance by the 

utilities.54 Any LGS customer, including those desiring to 

continue a prior statutory exemption, would thus have the 

opportunity to provide notice of nonparticipation therefor, on 

or before April 1, 2021.55 This solution, for 2021 only, is a 

reasonable way in which to ensure the continuation of pre-

VCEA exemptions. Further, all LGS customers were provided 

notice of this rulemaking56 and thus, have been on notice of the 

exemption question and the proposed notice of 

nonparticipation requirement. Accordingly, all eligible LGS 

customers should be prepared to act affirmatively should they 

desire this VCEA exemption. 

Accordingly, IT IS ORDERED THAT: 

(1) The rules governing exemptions for large general services 

customers under Code § 56-585-1 A 5 c, as shown in 

Attachment A to this Order, are hereby adopted and are 

effective as of February 4, 2021. 

(2) The Commission's Division of Information Resources 

shall forward a copy of this Order, with Attachment A, to the 

Registrar of Regulations for publication in the Virginia 

Register of Regulations. 

(3) An electronic copy of this Order with Attachment A 

including the rules governing exemptions for large general 

services customers under Code § 56-585-1 A 5 c shall be made 

available on the Division of Public Utility Regulation's section 

of the Commission's website: 

scc.virginia.gov/pages/rulemaking. 

(4) Any LGS customer seeking an exemption, including those 

desiring to continue a prior statutory exemption from a rate 

adjustment clause authorized by the Commission pursuant to 

Code § 56-585.1 A 5 c for the rate year beginning in 2021, shall 

provide a notice of nonparticipation concerning the rate 

adjustment clause to its utility on or before April 1, 2021. 

(5) Consistent with the rules adopted herein, on or before June 

1, 2021, APCo and DEV shall accept or reject all notices of 

https://scc.virginia.gov/pages/Rulemaking
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nonparticipation provided by eligible LGS customers on or 

before April 1, 2021. 

(6) DEV and APCo shall forthwith, but in no event later than 

February 5, 2021, transmit to each of their Large General 

Service Customers by electronic mail, or where electronic mail 

is not available by separate first class mailing, a copy of this 

Order and Attachment A. Proofs of Service of such notice shall 

be filed with the Commission by February 15, 2021. 

(7) This docket is dismissed. 

A COPY hereof shall be sent electronically by the Clerk of 

the Commission to all persons on the official Service List in 

this matter. The Service List is available from the Clerk of the 

Commission. A copy hereof also shall be sent to C. Meade 

Browder, Jr., Senior Assistant Attorney General, Division of 

Consumer Counsel, Office of the Attorney General, 202 North 

9th Street, 8th Floor, Richmond, Virginia 23219-3424, 

mbrowder@oag.state.va.us; the Commission's Office of 

General Counsel and Divisions of Public Utility Regulation 

and Utility Accounting and Finance. 

______________________________ 

1Chapters 1193 (HB 1526) and 1194 (SB 851) of the 2020 Virginia Acts of 

Assembly. 

2These duplicate Acts of Assembly, known as the Virginia Clean Economy 

Act ("VCEA"), became effective on July 1, 2020. 

3Staff Report at 2; DEV Comments at 3. 

4Staff Report at 2; DEV Comments at 3. 

5Id. 

6Id. 

7Staff Report at 4; APCo Comments at 1. 

8Staff Report at 5; NRDC Comments at 1. 

9Id. 

10Staff Report at 5; NRDC Comments at 2. 

11Staff Report at 7; VAEEC Comments at 2. 

12Staff Report at 7; VAEEC Comments at 3. 

13Staff Report at 2; DEV Comments at 3-4. 

14Id. at 4. 

15Staff Report at 2-3; DEV Comments at 4. 

16Staff Report at 3; DEV Comments at 4-5. 
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18Staff Report at 3; DEV Comments at 5. 

19Staff Report at 4; APCo Comments at 1. 

20Staff Report at 7; Committees' Comments at 1. 

21Staff Report at 7; Committees' Comments at 4. 

22Staff Report at 3; DEV Comments at 5. 

23Staff Report at 3; DEV Comments at 5. 

24Id. 

25Staff Report at 4; APCo Comments at 2. 

26Id. 

27Id. 

28Staff Report at 4, 5; APCo Comments at 2, 3. 

29Staff Report at 5; APCo Comments at 3. 

30Staff Report at 5; NRDC Comments at 1. 

31Staff Report at 5-6; NRDC Comments at 2. 

32Staff Report at 13; NRDC Comments at 2. 

33Staff Report at 6; DMME Comments at 1. 

34Staff Report at 6; DMME Comments at 2. 

35Staff Report at 6; DMME Comments at 2. 

36Id. 

37Staff Report at 7-8; VAEEC Comments at 4. 

38Staff Report at 8; VAEEC Comments at 5. 

39Id. 

40Staff Report at 8; VPLC Comments at 2. 

41Staff Report at 5; APCo Comments at 3. 

4220 VAC 5-350-50 A. 

43NRDC Comments at 2. 

44Id. 

45Staff Report at 10. 

46See 5 VAC 5-20-70, Informal complaints, and 5 VAC 5-20-100, Other 

proceedings, of the Commission's Rules of Practice and Procedure, 5 VAC 5-

20-10 et seq. 

47The Commission notes that in the same Code § 56-585-1 A 5 c paragraph 

cited by NRDC, the Commission is charged with drafting rules wherein LGS 

customers will: notify the utility of their nonparticipation intent; certify to the 

utility and the Commission all claimed energy efficiency measures; and "in 

adopting such rules or regulations, the Commission shall also specify the 

timing as to when a utility shall accept and act on such notice." (Emphasis 

added.) 

48NRDC Comments at 2. 

49DMME Comments at 2. 

50Staff Report at 14. 

51In fact, Staff's recommended language otherwise, which is being adopted in 

part, by this Commission, expressly states: 

Each customer shall certify that each such annual report demonstrates energy 

efficiency savings at a level consistent with commonly accepted industry 

standards for energy efficiency savings obtained by similarly situated 

customers, and adheres to any other regulatory criteria the commission 

reasonably deems appropriate. 

Revised 20VAC5-350-30 D (emphasis added). We further note that, if a 

specific protocol is identified in these final rules, users would be bound to the 

version of that protocol embedded in the rules, even if such protocols are 

updated in the future. 

52Committees' Comments at 2-4. 

53Id. at 1. 

54For all subsequent years beyond 2021, the deadline for receipt of notices of 

nonparticipation is March 1. 
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55The Commission notes the late-filed motion and comments regarding 

exemptions filed by the Committees (Motion for Leave to File Additional 

Comments and Comments of the Virginia Committee for Fair Utility Rates 

and the Old Dominion Committee for Fair Utility Rates, Doc. Con. Cen. No. 

210120013 (Jan. 13, 2021)). With the findings made in this Order, the 

Committees' late-filed submission is rendered moot. 

56See Proofs of Service filed by APCo on October 27, 2020 and DEV on 

October 29, 2020. 

Chapter 350 

Rules Governing Exemptions for Large General [ Service 

Customers Services Companies ] 

20VAC5-350-10. Applicability and scope.  

This chapter is promulgated pursuant to the provisions of 

§ 56-585.1 A 5 c of the Virginia Electric Utility Regulation 

Act, Chapter 23 (§ 56-576 et seq.) of Title 56 of the Code of 

Virginia. This chapter is specifically applicable to the large 

general service customers of Virginia's electric utilities subject 

to the provisions of § 56-585.1 A 5 c that have verifiable 

histories of using more than one megawatt of [ monthly ] 

demand from a single site [ , in any single billing month, during 

each of the previous three calendar years ]. As used in this 

chapter, a customer comprises all of the individual electric 

utility accounts owned by a single entity, located on a single 

site [ each of the previous three calendar years ], and that are 

engaged in the same business. This chapter is also applicable 

to customers with highest measured demands from a single site 

of more than one megawatt in any single [ billing ] month if 

such customers do not have three calendar years of history. A 

customer is eligible for an exemption from any rate adjustment 

clause approved for a utility by the State Corporation 

Commission pursuant to § 56-585.1 A 5 c, if any customer can 

[ demonstrate certify to the commission ] that it has 

implemented [ an ] energy efficiency [ program programs ], at 

the customer's expense, that [ has have ] produced measured 

and verified results within the prior five years. [ Such 

certification shall be consistent with industry standards for 

similar customers and meet other regulatory criteria in § 56-

585.1 A 5 c that the commission reasonably deems 

appropriate. ] 

20VAC5-350-20. Administrative procedures for notice to 

utility and commission.  

A. [ Any Except for the 2021 notice period, any ] customer 

seeking to establish its exemption from a rate adjustment 

clause authorized by the commission pursuant to § 56-585.1 A 

5 c of the Code of Virginia shall provide a notice of 

nonparticipation concerning the rate adjustment clause to its 

utility on or before March 1 of the [ upcoming rate ] year in 

which [ an the customer seeks to begin its ] exemption [ is 

sought ]. [ The notice Any customer seeking to establish its 

exemption from a rate adjustment clause authorized by the 

commission pursuant to § 56-585.1 A 5 c for the rate year 

beginning in 2021 shall provide a notice of nonparticipation 

concerning the rate adjustment clause to its utility on or before 

April 1, 2021. All notices ] of nonparticipation shall be [ filed ] 

concurrently [ filed ] by the customer with the commission's 

Division of Public Utility Regulation. [ Notices provided after 

the April 1, 2021, or subsequent annual March 1 deadlines, will 

not be accepted during that calendar year and must be 

resubmitted for the next period being sought. ]  

B. Upon receipt of the notice of nonparticipation, a utility 

shall, [ within 60 days thereof on or before June 1 ], verify the 

customer's highest measured demand in the three prior 

calendar years preceding the receipt of such notice. [ The 

exemption will commence with the effective date of the 

utility's next rate adjustment clause. ] The utility shall accept 

the exemption request if the customer [ has a highest measured 

usage in excess of one megawatt meets the criteria for a large 

general service customer set forth in 20VAC5-350-10 ] and has 

submitted the information required by 20VAC5-350-30. In the 

event the utility fails to notify the customer of any deficiency 

in its notice of nonparticipation [ within the 60-day period by 

June 1 ], the exemption shall be deemed accepted by the utility. 

The utility's acceptance or denial of any exemption request 

shall concurrently be sent to the customer and [ filed provided ] 

by the utility [ with to ] the commission's Division of Public 

Utility Regulation. 

C. Once a utility has accepted a customer's exemption 

request, that customer shall be exempt from any rate 

adjustment clause approved for the utility by the commission 

pursuant to § 56-585.1 A 5 c of the Code of Virginia, beginning 

with the [ billing month effective date of the utility's next rate 

adjustment clause on or after July 1, ] following the date of 

acceptance of the exemption request and continuing 

throughout the life of the customer's energy efficiency 

improvements described in the customer's notice of 

nonparticipation. A customer shall notify the utility and the 

commission if the conditions of the customer's notice of 

nonparticipation change in any material respect [ within 60 

days of the change ]. 

D. Each notice of nonparticipation that contains confidential 

information shall be treated in accordance with 5VAC5-20-

170 of State Corporation Commission Rules of Practice and 

Procedure (5VAC5-20). 

[ E. Customers seeking to continue a previous statutory 

exemption must provide a new notice of nonparticipation, as 

defined in 20VAC5-350-30, concerning the rate adjustment 

clause to its utility on or before April 1, 2021. ] 

20VAC5-350-30. Standard criteria for notice to utility.  

A. Each notice of nonparticipation shall identify the 

customer, the customer's billing address and [ all applicable ] 

utility account [ number numbers ], and the location of the 

specific facility and [ metering point single site ] for which any 

such exemption is being sought. 

B. The notice of nonparticipation shall also contain an 

affidavit signed by the customer's president, corporate 

secretary, or other officer of the customer concerning [ each 
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the ] energy efficiency [ program programs ]. Such affidavit 

shall attest to the validity of information submitted in support 

of the customer's notice of nonparticipation. 

C. The notice of nonparticipation shall [ describe certify ] the 

energy efficiency savings achieved [ in from investment in 

such programs, in kWhs, within ] the prior five years [ from its 

investment in its energy efficiency program; and as well as ] 

the specific measures undertaken to achieve those savings [ and 

the life expectancy of each measure. The notice of 

nonparticipation shall certify the energy efficiency savings 

achieved by the customer meets or exceeds the requirements of 

§ 56-596.2 of the Code of Virginia ]. 

D. [ The notice of nonparticipation shall include information 

concerning any anticipated change in operations that may 

affect achieved or expected energy efficiency savings, 

including the life expectancy of the energy efficiency measures 

undertaken. E. ] To qualify for the exemption, each customer 

shall have measurable and verifiable energy efficiency savings 

in the prior five years consistent with § 56-585.1 A 5 c of the 

Code of Virginia. [ It shall be the customer's sole responsibility 

to ensure the energy savings claimed in the customer's notice 

of nonparticipation meets the definition of measured and 

verified as set forth in § 56-576 of the Code of Virginia, and 

such compliance shall be attested to in the customer's 

affidavit. ] Additionally, each customer providing a notice of 

nonparticipation to its utility pursuant to this chapter shall 

subsequently furnish yearly reports to the [ utility and the ] 

commission's Division of Public Utility Regulation describing 

the energy efficiency savings achieved by the customer during 

each 12-month period in which such notice of nonparticipation 

is [ intended to be ] in effect. [ The annual reports shall include 

the status of energy efficiency measures and operational 

changes included in the customer's notice of nonparticipation. 

Each customer shall certify that each such annual report 

demonstrates energy efficiency savings at a level consistent 

with commonly accepted industry standards for energy 

efficiency savings obtained by similarly situated customers 

and adheres to any other regulatory criteria the commission 

reasonably deems appropriate. ] Such reports shall be filed on 

or about March 1 of the year following such customer's filing 

of its notice of nonparticipation, with such March 1 filings 

continuing thereafter throughout the life of the customer's 

energy efficiency improvements described in the customer's 

notice of nonparticipation. 

[ F. E. ] Each notice of nonparticipation shall also include a 

measurement and verification plan conforming to the protocol 

set forth in the definition of "measured and verified" as 

provided in § 56-576 of the Code of Virginia. [ It shall be the 

customer's sole responsibility to ensure its measurement and 

verification plan conforms to this definition. ] 

[ G. Not later than December 31 of each year, each utility 

shall notify its customers of the percentage energy efficiency 

reductions expected to be achieved by the utility's energy 

efficiency programs for which the commission has approved 

rate adjustment clauses pursuant to § 56-585.1 A 5 c of the 

Code of Virginia. ] 

20VAC5-350-40. Dispute resolution.  

A. Customers and utilities shall seek to resolve all disputes 

arising out of the exemption process established under this 

chapter pursuant to the provisions of this section. 

B. In the event of any such dispute, either party shall furnish 

the other a written notice of dispute. The notice shall describe 

in detail the nature of the dispute. The parties shall make good 

faith efforts to resolve the dispute informally within 10 

business days of the receipt of such notice.  

C. If any such dispute has not been resolved within 10 

business days following receipt of the notice, either party may 

seek resolution assistance from the commission's Division of 

Public Utility Regulation where such matter will be treated as 

an informal complaint under State Corporation Commission 

Rules of Practice and Procedure (5VAC5-20). 

Alternatively, the parties may, upon mutual agreement, seek 

resolution through the assistance of a dispute resolution service 

for the purpose of assisting the parties in (i) resolving the 

dispute or (ii) selecting an appropriate dispute resolution 

method or mechanism (e.g., mediation, settlement judge, early 

neutral evaluation, or technical expert) to assist the parties in 

resolving their dispute. In any such dispute resolution 

proceeding, each party shall conduct all negotiations in good 

faith and shall be responsible for one half of any charges for 

the dispute resolution provider, but each party shall bear its 

own legal fees and other costs incurred as a result of the dispute 

resolution process. 

D. If any such dispute remains unresolved following the 

parties' good faith exercise of the dispute resolution 

alternatives set forth in this section, either party may file a 

formal complaint with the commission pursuant to State 

Corporation Commission Rules of Practice and Procedure 

(5VAC5-20). 

20VAC5-350-50. Waiver and enforcement.  

A. The commission may waive any or all parts of this chapter 

for good cause shown. 

B. The commission on its own motion may initiate steps 

necessary to verify a nonparticipating customer's achievement 

of energy efficiency if the commission has a body of evidence 

that the nonparticipating customer has knowingly 

misrepresented its energy efficiency achievement. Such 

proceedings shall be governed by State Corporation 

Commission Rules of Practice and Procedure (5VAC5-20). 

VA.R. Doc. No. R21-6100; Filed January 29, 2021, 1:25 p.m. 

  ––––––––––––––––––  
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TITLE 22. SOCIAL SERVICES 

DEPARTMENT FOR THE BLIND AND VISION 
IMPAIRED 

Fast-Track Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 22VAC45-100. Regulations Governing 

Deaf-Blind Services (amending 22VAC45-100-10, 

22VAC45-100-20, 22VAC45-100-30). 

Statutory Authority: § 51.5-60 of the Code of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: No public hearings are currently 

scheduled. 

Public Comment Deadline: March 17, 2021. 

Effective Date: April 1, 2021. 

Agency Contact: Susan K. Davis, MS, CRC, Regulatory 

Coordinator, Department for the Blind and Vision Impaired, 

401 Azalea Avenue, Richmond, VA 23227, telephone (804) 

371-3184, FAX (804) 371-3157, TDD (804) 371-3140, or 

email susan.davis@dbvi.virginia.gov. 

Basis: The Department for the Blind and Vision Impaired 

(DBVI) has statutory authority from § 51.5-65 of the Code of 

Virginia, which identifies the functions, duties, and powers of 

the DBVI Commissioner to adopt regulations to carry out the 

applicable provisions of the chapter. 

Purpose: The goal of the regulatory action is to change the 

agency name from the outdated Department for the Visually 

Handicapped to the current Department for the Blind and 

Vision Impaired; it is critical that citizens know and can 

identify the name of the agency in order to access deafblind 

services. 

Rationale for Using Fast-Track Rulemaking Process: The 

proposed changes to 22VAC45-100 are noncontroversial. 

There are no additional costs incurred by DBVI, and existing 

deafblind services are not changed. Individuals who are blind, 

vision impaired, or deafblind will be unharmed therefore the 

fast-track process is appropriate. 

Substance: The current regulation contains obsolete language 

and definitions. The revisions modernize definitions to 

incorporate people first language and remove definitions that 

reference repealed Code of Virginia sections or old 

terminology. Citations to the Code of Virginia, the Virginia 

Administrative Code, and federal law are updated to reflect 

current law and regulations ensuring that constituents are able 

to determine the source of regulatory authority. 

Issues: The advantage to the public is clearer explanation of 

deafblind services delivered by the department to individuals 

who are deafblind. There are no disadvantages to revising this 

regulation. 

Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 

Analysis: 

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. The 

Department for the Blind and Vision Impaired (DBVI) 

proposes to amend 22VAC45-100, Regulations Governing 

Deaf-Blind Services, to update the definitions of key terms to 

match the Code of Virginia or United States Code, as well as 

to update the title of the regulation, the name of the agency, 

and the names of the services they provide. 

Background. DBVI seeks to update definitions for terms 

associated with the communities they serve to be consistent 

with the Code of Virginia and the United States Code and to 

reflect the typical contemporary usage of these terms. In 

particular, DBVI proposes the following definitions: 

• "Blind person," as defined in § 51.5-60 of the Code of 

Virginia, means an individual who has central visual acuity of 

20/200 or less in the better eye, as measured with best 

correction, or a limitation in the field of vision in the better eye, 

such that the widest diameter of the visual field subtends an 

angle of 20 degrees or less.1 

• "Persons who are deaf," as defined in § 51.5-111(1) of the 

Code of Virginia, means individuals whose hearing is totally 

impaired or whose hearing, with or without amplification, is so 

seriously impaired that the primary means of receiving spoken 

communication is through visual input such as lip-reading, 

sign language, finger spelling, reading, or writing.2 

• Persons who are hard-of-hearing," as defined in § 51.5-111(2) 

of the Code of Virginia, means individuals whose hearing is 

impaired to an extent that makes hearing difficult but does not 

preclude the understanding of spoken communication through 

the ear alone, with or without a hearing aid. 

• "Persons who are deafblind," pursuant to 29 USC 

§ 1905(2)(A) and 20 USC § 1905(2)(B), means individuals: (i) 

who have central visual acuity of 20/200 or less in the better 

eye with corrective lenses, or a field defect such that the 

peripheral diameter of visual fields subtends an angular 

distance no greater than 20 degrees, or a progressive visual loss 

having a prognosis leading to one or both of these conditions; 

(ii) who have a chronic hearing impairment so severe that most 

speech cannot be understood with optimum amplification, or a 

progressive hearing loss having a prognosis leading to this 

condition; (iii) for whom the combination of impairments 

described in this definition cause extreme difficulty in attaining 

independence in daily life activities, achieving psychological 

adjustment or obtaining a vocation; and (iv) who, despite the 

inability to be measured accurately for hearing and vision loss 

due to cognitive or behavioral constraints, or both, can be 

determined through functional and performance assessments to 

have severe hearing and visual disabilities that cause extreme 

difficulty in attaining independence in daily life activities, 

achieving psychological adjustment or obtaining vocational 

objectives.3 

Since "deaf-blind" is now written as "deafblind" the title of the 

regulation would also be amended to reflect this change. 

Definitions of "severely visually impaired" and "speech 

discrimination" would remain unchanged. 

Estimated Benefits and Costs. The proposed amendments 

benefit readers of the regulation, especially deafblind 

mailto:susan.davis@dbvi.virginia.gov
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individuals, their families, caregivers and advocates, by 

improving the clarity of the language. It does not introduce any 

additional costs. 

Businesses and Other Entities Affected. Readers of the 

regulation, especially deafblind individuals, their families, 

caregivers and advocates would be affected. The proposed 

amendments do not introduce any new costs for businesses or 

other entities. 

Small Businesses4 Affected. The proposed amendments do not 

directly affect any small businesses, nor would they face any 

new costs as a result of the proposed amendments. 

Localities5 Affected.6 The proposed amendments do not 

disproportionately affect any specific localities, nor introduce 

new costs for local governments. 

Projected Impact on Employment. The proposed amendments 

are unlikely to cause any changes to total employment. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. The proposed 

amendments are unlikely to affect the use or value of private 

property. Real estate development costs are unlikely to be 

affected. 

______________________________ 

1See § 51.5-60 of the Code of Virginia: http://lis.virginia.gov/cgi-

bin/legp604.exe?191 ful CHAP0088 

2See § 51.5-111(1) of the Code of Virginia: 

https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title51.5/chapter13/section51.5-111/ 

3See https://www.law.cornell.edu/uscode/text/29/1905 

4Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.04 of the Code of Virginia, small business is defined 

as "a business entity, including its affiliates, that (i) is independently owned 

and operated and (ii) employs fewer than 500 full-time employees or has gross 

annual sales of less than $6 million." 

5"Locality" can refer to either local governments or the locations in the 

Commonwealth where the activities relevant to the regulatory change are most 

likely to occur. 

6§ 2.2-4007.04 defines "particularly affected" as bearing disproportionate 

material impact. 

Agency's Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The 

Department for the Blind and Vision Impaired concurs with the 

economic impact analysis performed by the Department of 

Planning and Budget. 

Summary: 

The amendments update (i) the definitions of key terms to 

match the Code of Virginia or the United States Code and 

(ii) the title of the regulation, the name of the department, 

and the names of the services the department provides. 

Chapter 100 

Regulations Governing Deaf-Blind DeafBlind Services 

Part I  

Introduction 

22VAC45-100-10. Definitions. 

The following words and terms, when used in this chapter, 

shall have the following meaning unless the context clearly 

indicates otherwise: 

"Blindness, legal blindness" means the condition as defined 

in §§ 63.1-142 and 63.1-166 of the Code of Virginia.  

"Client" means any person receiving a service provided by 

Deaf-Blind Services of the Department for the Visually 

Handicapped.  

"Deaf" means those individuals who cannot hear and 

understand speech through the ear alone under normal 

conditions, with or without amplification; a hearing loss 

greater than 70 decibels in the better ear without amplification; 

a speech discrimination score below 40%; or both.  

"Blind person," as defined in § 51.5-60 of the Code of 

Virginia, means an individual who has central visual acuity of 

20/200 or less in the better eye, as measured with best 

correction, or a limitation in the field of vision in the better eye, 

such that the widest diameter of the visual field subtends an 

angle of 20 degrees or less. 

"Deaf-Blind DeafBlind Services" means special services 

assistance and supports a client would need due to person 

needs because of a combined loss of vision and hearing; i.e., 

including an interpreter for the deaf-blind a person who is 

deafblind; communication skills assessment and training; and 

assessment of special aids and devices such as tactile or visual 

signaling systems, telecommunication devices, and assistive 

listening devices. 

"DBVI" means the Department for the Blind and Vision 

Impaired. 

"Department" means the Department for the Blind and Vision 

Impaired. 

"Persons who are deaf," as defined in subdivision 1 of § 51.5-

111 of the Code of Virginia, means individuals whose hearing 

is totally impaired or whose hearing, with or without 

amplification, is so seriously impaired that the primary means 

of receiving spoken communication is through visual input 

such as lip-reading, sign language, finger spelling, reading, or 

writing. 

"Persons who are deafblind," pursuant to 29 USC 

§ 1905(2)(A) and 20 USC § 1905(2)(B), means individuals (i) 

who have central visual acuity of 20/200 or less in the better 

eye with corrective lenses, or a field defect such that the 

peripheral diameter of visual fields subtends an angular 

distance no greater than 20 degrees, or a progressive visual loss 

having a prognosis leading to one or both of these conditions; 

http://lis.virginia.gov/cgi-bin/legp604.exe?191%20ful%20CHAP0088
http://lis.virginia.gov/cgi-bin/legp604.exe?191%20ful%20CHAP0088
https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title51.5/chapter13/section51.5-111/
https://www.law.cornell.edu/uscode/text/29/1905
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(ii) who have a chronic hearing impairment so severe that most 

speech cannot be understood with optimum amplification, or a 

progressive hearing loss having a prognosis leading to this 

condition; (iii) for whom the combination of impairments 

described in this definition cause extreme difficulty in attaining 

independence in daily life activities, achieving psychological 

adjustment, or obtaining a vocation; and (iv) who, despite the 

inability to be measured accurately for hearing and vision loss 

due to cognitive or behavioral constraints, or both, can be 

determined through functional and performance assessments to 

have severe hearing and visual disabilities that cause extreme 

difficulty in attaining independence in daily life activities, 

achieving psychological adjustment or obtaining vocational 

objectives. 

"Hard of hearing," Persons who are hard-of-hearing," as 

defined in subdivision 2 of § 51.5-111 of the Code of Virginia, 

means those individuals whose hearing is impaired to an extent 

that makes hearing difficult but does not preclude the 

understanding of spoken communication through the ear alone, 

with or without amplification. Hearing loss is in the range of 

30 decibels to 70 decibels, a speech discrimination score below 

75%, or both a hearing aid. 

"Severely visually impaired" means vision no better than 

20/70 in the better eye with correction or a field of vision 

restricted to 70 degrees or less in the better eye. 

"Speech discrimination" means the ability to hear and 

understand spoken communication. 

Part II  

Eligibility  

22VAC45-100-20. Eligibility. 

An individual who is blind or severely visually impaired, and 

also deaf or hard of hearing hard-of-hearing is eligible for deaf-

blind deafblind services. 

Part III  

Services 

22VAC45-100-30. Delivery of services. 

It is the intent of these regulations this chapter that deaf-blind 

clients persons who are deafblind be fully integrated into the 

service programs provided by the department to the extent 

practical. 

Procedures for the delivery of deaf-blind services can may be 

found in the DBVI manuals of the following agency programs: 

Intake and Social Services; Independent Living Rehabilitation 

Services; Rehabilitation Teaching Services; Vocational 

Rehabilitation Services; Program for Infants, Children, Youth; 

Volunteer Services; and Low Vision. Rehabilitation Teaching 

and Independent Living Services, Education Services, and 

Vocational Rehabilitation Services. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R21-6236; Filed January 19, 2021, 3:19 p.m. 

Fast-Track Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 22VAC45-110. Regulations Governing 

Low Vision (amending 22VAC45-110-10, 22VAC45-110-

30, 22VAC45-110-40, 22VAC45-110-50). 

Statutory Authority: § 51.5-60 of the Code of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: No public hearings are currently 

scheduled. 

Public Comment Deadline: March 17, 2021. 

Effective Date: April 1, 2021. 

Agency Contact: Susan K. Davis, MS, CRC, Regulatory 

Coordinator, Department for the Blind and Vision Impaired, 

401 Azalea Avenue, Richmond, VA 23227, telephone (804) 

371-3184, FAX (804) 371-3157, TDD (804) 371-3140, or 

email susan.davis@dbvi.virginia.gov. 

Basis: The Department for the Blind and Vision Impaired 

(DBVI) statutory authority comes from § 51.5-65 of the Code 

of Virginia, which identifies the functions, duties, and powers 

of the commissioner to adopt regulations to carry out the 

applicable provisions of the chapter. 

Purpose: The goal of this regulatory action is to change the 

agency name from the outdated Department for the Visually 

Handicapped to the current Department for the Blind and 

Vision Impaired; it is critical that citizens know and can 

identify the name of the agency in order to access low vision 

services. 

Rationale for Using Fast-Track Rulemaking Process: The 

proposed changes to 22VAC45-110 are noncontroversial. 

There are no additional costs incurred by DBVI, and existing 

low vision services remain unchanged. Individuals who are 

blind, vision impaired, or deafblind will be unharmed. The 

fast-track process is therefore appropriate. 

Substance: The current regulation contains obsolete language 

and definitions. The revisions modernize definitions to 

incorporate people first language and remove definitions that 

use outdated terminology. Additional edits revise wording of 

the regulation for clarity and readability. 

Issues: The advantage to the public is clearer explanation of 

low vision services delivered by the department to individuals 

with low vision. There are no disadvantages to revising this 

regulation. 

The Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 

Analysis:  

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. The 

Department for the Blind and Vision Impaired (DBVI) 

proposes to amend 22VAC45-110, Regulations Governing 

Low Vision, to update the agency name and clarify definitions, 

eligibility criteria, and financial participation in cost of 

services. These clarifications serve to replace outdated 

language and do not change the substance of the regulation. 

Background. Based on a recent review of the regulation, DBVI 

elects to update language to reflect current usage. The 

proposed amendments include adding definitions for "DBVI" 

mailto:susan.davis@dbvi.virginia.gov
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and "Department," removing the definition of "consumer," and 

clarifying that "Low vision services" means "assistance and 

supports provided to an individual who has low vision, 

including preexamination evaluations, low vision 

examinations, provision of prescribed low vision aids, and 

follow up training and counseling in the use of low vision 

aids." Although the nature of assistance provided by DBVI has 

not changed, replacing the term "consumer" throughout the 

text with "individual who has low vision" or "individual 

seeking low vision services" would reflect current norms that 

encourage the use of people-first language. 

DBVI also proposes to rename 22VAC45-110-50 Financial 

participation as Financial participation in cost of services and 

to add the stipulation that individuals not receiving services 

through other DBVI programs shall be responsible for the full 

cost of low vision services. DBVI states that this change 

reflects current practice and would not impose any new costs 

on individuals seeking low vision services. 

Estimated Benefits and Costs. The proposed amendments 

benefit readers of the regulation, especially individuals with 

low vision, their families, caregivers and advocates, by 

removing outdated terminology and improving the clarity of 

the language. It does not introduce any additional costs. 

Businesses and Other Entities Affected. Readers of the 

regulation, especially individuals with low vision, their 

families, caregivers and advocates would be affected. The 

proposed amendments do not introduce any new costs for 

businesses or other entities. 

Small Businesses1 Affected. The proposed amendments do not 

directly affect any small businesses, nor would they face any 

new costs as a result of the proposed amendments. 

Localities2 Affected.3 The proposed amendments do not 

disproportionately affect any specific localities or introduce 

new costs for local governments. 

Projected Impact on Employment. The proposed amendments 

are unlikely to cause any changes to total employment. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. The proposed 

amendments are unlikely to affect the use or value of private 

property. Real estate development costs are unlikely to be 

affected. 

_______________________________ 

1Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.04 of the Code of Virginia, small business is defined 

as "a business entity, including its affiliates, that (i) is independently owned 

and operated and (ii) employs fewer than 500 full-time employees or has gross 

annual sales of less than $6 million." 

2"Locality" can refer to either local governments or the locations in the 

Commonwealth where the activities relevant to the regulatory change are most 

likely to occur. 

3§ 2.2-4007.04 defines "particularly affected" as bearing disproportionate 

material impact. 

Agency's Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The 

Department for the Blind and Visually Impaired concurs with 

the economic impact analysis performed by the Department of 

Planning and Budget. 

Summary: 

The amendments update the agency name and clarify 

definitions, eligibility criteria, and financial participation in 

cost of services. 

22VAC45-110-10. Definitions. 

The following words and terms when used in this chapter 

shall have the following meaning unless the context clearly 

indicates otherwise: 

"Consumer" means any person receiving a service provided 

by the Low Vision Program of the Department for the Blind 

and Vision Impaired (DBVI).  

"DBVI" means the Department for the Blind and Vision 

Impaired. 

"Department" means the Department for the Blind and Vision 

Impaired. 

"Low vision" means reduced visual functioning. It is the 

condition that exists when no further medical or surgical 

procedures or regular prescription lenses are beneficial but 

residual vision exists. 

"Low vision aids" means optical and nonoptical devices that 

are prescribed for the purpose of enhancing low vision. 

"Low vision services" means all aspects that are necessary to 

the comprehensive provision of services, i.e., assistance and 

supports provided to an individual who has low vision, 

including preexamination evaluations, low vision examination, 

provision of prescribed low vision aids, and follow-up training 

and counseling in the use of low vision aids. 

22VAC45-110-30. Eligibility. 

An individual may be eligible for low vision services if the 

individual's corrected visual acuity vision is 20/70 or worse in 

the better eye and the consumer has met individual meets the 

eligibility requirements of at least one of the following 

department programs: education services, vocational 

rehabilitation, or rehabilitation teaching and independent 

living. 

22VAC45-110-40. Preexamination. 

An ophthalmological or optometrical eye report shall be 

required before a low vision examination is scheduled. The eye 

examination report shall have been made be dated within one 

year from the date of the scheduled low vision examination; 

except where the eye condition is stable, the eye examination 

may have been made within two years from the date of the 

scheduled low vision examination. 
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22VAC45-110-50. Financial participation in cost of 

services. 

A. Low vision examination. An authorization form may be 

issued by the agency a DBVI case manager may be prepared 

to pay for the examination through an appropriate payment 

source in the agency as long as department if funds are 

available. There is shall be no charge cost to the consumer 

individual seeking low vision services for a low vision 

examination as long as funds are available for this activity as 

determined by the agency department. 

B. Low vision aids. Consumer An individual's financial 

participation in the cost of low vision aids will shall be 

determined according to regulations promulgated by the 

sponsoring DBVI program in accordance with the applicable 

DBVI policies. 

C. Individuals who are not receiving services through other 

DBVI programs shall be responsible for the full cost of low 

vision services. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R21-6238; Filed January 19, 2021, 3:25 p.m. 
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Guidance Documents 

PUBLIC COMMENT OPPORTUNITY 

Pursuant to § 2.2-4002.1 of the Code of Virginia, a certified guidance document is subject to a 30-day public comment period 

after publication in the Virginia Register of Regulations and prior to the guidance document's effective date. During the public 

comment period, comments may be made through the Virginia Regulatory Town Hall website (http://www.townhall.virginia.gov) 

or sent to the agency contact. Under subsection C of § 2.2-4002.1, the effective date of the guidance document may be delayed 

for an additional period. The guidance document may also be withdrawn. 

The following guidance documents have been submitted for publication by the listed agencies for a public comment period. 

Online users of this issue of the Virginia Register of Regulations may click on the name of a guidance document to access it. 

Guidance documents are also available on the Virginia Regulatory Town Hall (http://www.townhall.virginia.gov) or from the 

agency contact or may be viewed at the Office of the Registrar of Regulations, 900 East Main Street, Richmond, Virginia 23219. 

BOARD OF FUNERAL DIRECTORS AND 
EMBALMERS 

Titles of Documents: Guidance for Educational and Pathology 

Coursework Requirements for Funeral Director License 

Applicants. 

Guidance for Inspectors and Licensees. 

Guidelines for Processing Applications for Licensure: 

Examination, Endorsement and Reinstatement. 

Public Comment Deadline: March 17, 2021. 

Effective Date: March 18, 2021. 

Agency Contact: Elaine J. Yeatts, Agency Regulatory 

Coordinator, Department of Health Professions, 9960 Mayland 

Drive, Suite 300, Richmond, VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-

4688, or email elaine.yeatts@dhp.virginia.gov. 

STATE BOARD OF HEALTH 

Title of Document: Policy for Virginia's Public Health 

Shellfish Program. 

Public Comment Deadline: March 17, 2021. 

Effective Date: March 18, 2021. 

Agency Contact: Danielle Schools, Acting Director, Division 

of Shellfish Safety, Department of Health, 109 Governor 

Street, 6th Floor, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 864-

7467, or email danielle.schools@vdh.virginia.gov. 

REAL ESTATE BOARD 

Title of Document: Housing Discrimination on the Basis of 

Source of Funds. 

Public Comment Deadline: March 17, 2021. 

Effective Date: March 18, 2021. 

Agency Contact: Christine Martine, Executive Director, Real 

Estate Board, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 400, Richmond, VA 

23233, telephone (804) 367-8552, or email 

reboard@dpor.virginia.gov. 

VIRGINIA WASTE MANAGEMENT BOARD 

Title of Document: Guidance for the Certification of Recycling 

Machinery and Equipment for State Income Tax Credit (rev. 

2021). 

Public Comment Deadline: March 17, 2021. 

Effective Date: March 19, 2021. 

Agency Contact: Sanjay Thirunagari, Program Manager, 

Department of Environmental Quality, P.O. Box 1105, 

Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 698-4193, or email 

sanjay.thirunagari@deq.virginia.gov. 

https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title2.2/chapter40/section2.2-4002.1/
http://www.townhall.virginia.gov/
https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title2.2/chapter40/section2.2-4002.1/
http://www.townhall.virginia.gov/
https://townhall.virginia.gov/l/GetFile.cfm?File=C:/TownHall/docroot/GuidanceDocs_Proposed/223/GDoc_DHP_4718_20210121.pdf
https://townhall.virginia.gov/l/GetFile.cfm?File=C:/TownHall/docroot/GuidanceDocs_Proposed/223/GDoc_DHP_4718_20210121.pdf
https://townhall.virginia.gov/l/GetFile.cfm?File=C:/TownHall/docroot/GuidanceDocs_Proposed/223/GDoc_DHP_4718_20210121.pdf
https://townhall.virginia.gov/l/GetFile.cfm?File=C:/TownHall/docroot/GuidanceDocs_Proposed/223/GDoc_DHP_4716_20210121.pdf
https://townhall.virginia.gov/l/GetFile.cfm?File=C:/TownHall/docroot/GuidanceDocs_Proposed/223/GDoc_DHP_4717_20210121.pdf
https://townhall.virginia.gov/l/GetFile.cfm?File=C:/TownHall/docroot/GuidanceDocs_Proposed/223/GDoc_DHP_4717_20210121.pdf
mailto:elaine.yeatts@dhp.virginia.gov
https://townhall.virginia.gov/l/GetFile.cfm?File=C:/TownHall/docroot/GuidanceDocs_Proposed/601/GDoc_VDH_4715_20210120.pdf
https://townhall.virginia.gov/l/GetFile.cfm?File=C:/TownHall/docroot/GuidanceDocs_Proposed/601/GDoc_VDH_4715_20210120.pdf
mailto:danielle.schools@vdh.virginia.gov
https://townhall.virginia.gov/l/GetFile.cfm?File=C:/TownHall/docroot/GuidanceDocs_Proposed/222/GDoc_DPOR_4722_20210128.pdf
https://townhall.virginia.gov/l/GetFile.cfm?File=C:/TownHall/docroot/GuidanceDocs_Proposed/222/GDoc_DPOR_4722_20210128.pdf
mailto:reboard@dpor.virginia.gov
https://townhall.virginia.gov/l/GetFile.cfm?File=C:/TownHall/docroot/GuidanceDocs_Proposed/440/GDoc_DEQ_4721_20210125.pdf
https://townhall.virginia.gov/l/GetFile.cfm?File=C:/TownHall/docroot/GuidanceDocs_Proposed/440/GDoc_DEQ_4721_20210125.pdf
https://townhall.virginia.gov/l/GetFile.cfm?File=C:/TownHall/docroot/GuidanceDocs_Proposed/440/GDoc_DEQ_4721_20210125.pdf
mailto:sanjay.thirunagari@deq.virginia.gov
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General Notices 

STATE CORPORATION COMMISSION 

Bureau of Insurance 

February 1, 2021 

TO: All Carriers Licensed to Market Credit Life Insurance or 

Credit Accident and Sickness Insurance in Virginia  

RE: Credit Insurance Experience Exhibits 

Virginia Code § 38.2-3730 

Administrative Letter 2021-01 

This Administrative Letter Withdraws and Replaces 

Administrative Letter 2018-01.  

In accordance with § 38.2-3730 B of the Code of Virginia, 

adjustments to the prima facie rates applicable to credit life and 

credit accident and sickness insurance for the triennium 

commencing January 1, 2022 will be established and published 

later this year.  

This letter serves as a reminder to all carriers licensed to write 

either or both of these coverages that the Credit Insurance 

Experience Exhibit (CIEE) for the 2020 reporting year, from 

which information will be obtained to properly calculate these 

rates, must be submitted in accordance with § 38.2-3730 A of 

the Code of Virginia, no later than April 1, 2021.  

In order to expedite the review process, we are requesting that 

ALL carriers complete the attached questionnaire. This 

questionnaire will enable the Bureau of Insurance to 

distinguish carriers who have Virginia experience to report on 

the CIEE from those who do not have any Virginia experience 

to report. Carriers that have experience to report must answer 

all questions and submit the completed questionnaire to the 

Life and Health Forms and Rates Section of the Bureau. 

Because of the time constraints under which the rate 

calculation must be completed, carriers must submit complete 

and accurate CIEEs, as well as the questionnaire, on or before 

April 1, 2021. Please note that carriers with no experience to 

report are not required to answer questions 1-9 on the 

questionnaire; however, all carriers must return the 

questionnaire to the Bureau with its name, NAIC # and contact 

information completed.  

We have attached to this administrative letter examples of 

some of the problems identified with CIEE filings in previous 

years. In some instances, although information was correct, an 

explanation was necessary to properly evaluate the 

information. Carriers are hereby directed to review the 

attachment to ensure that similar problems do not recur this 

year. Please note that the CIEE must be filed on a direct basis; 

i.e. before taking into account reinsurance ceded.  

We require all carriers to electronically submit the 

questionnaires to the Life and Health Forms and Rates Section 

via the Company Filing Portal. To access the questionnaire and 

the portal, go to https://scc.virginia.gov/pages/Life-Health-

Companies and scroll down to "Credit Insurance Experience 

Exhibit and Questionnaire". You will note that instructions are 

provided on the Bureau’s website for submitting the 

documents through the portal.  

Please contact the Bureau with any questions or requests for 

clarification. Questions or requests for clarification regarding 

the filing of required documents should be directed to: Amanda 

McCauley, (804) 371-0034, 

amanda.mccauley@scc.virginia.gov.  

Questions or requests for clarification regarding the use of the 

portal should be directed to: Trish Todd, (804) 371-9195, 

trish.todd@scc.virginia.gov.  

/s/ Scott A. White 

Commissioner of Insurance 

The following are examples of problems identified in filings of 

the Credit Insurance Experience Exhibits (CIEEs) in previous 

reporting years. Companies are directed to review the 

information below to ensure that similar problems do not recur 

in their 2020 CIEEs. Any of the following situations 

legitimately applicable to a 2020 CIEE should include an 

appropriate explanation in the attached questionnaire.  

• Prima facie premium not listed. The prima facie premium 

is needed to evaluate the rates. Each company should explicitly 

state the prima facie premium on the appropriate exhibit line, 

even if it is the same as earned premium.  

• Prima facie premiums greater than earned premiums. 

While this may not be a problem, our experience is that most 

companies charge the maximum rate allowed. This may be 

indicative of a miscalculation, especially on MOB business.  

• Earned premiums greater than prima facie premium. 

For MOB business, this may be indicative of a miscalculation. 

Such premiums violate statutes unless the premium rates have 

been approved. If the premium rates have been approved, we 

ask that reporting carriers provide the Bureau with the approval 

date(s) to facilitate our analysis.  

• Changes in the reserves reported from the end of one 

reporting year to the beginning of the subsequent reporting 

year. This can cause previously charged premium and claims 

to disappear. It can also cause claims without corresponding 

premium and vice versa. Restatement of opening reserves 

merely results in delay and unnecessary expense for the Bureau 

and, in light of the purpose of these CIEEs, companies should 

ensure that opening reserves (at the beginning of the year) are 

equal to closing reserves (at the end of the previous year).  

• Claim reserve errors. These cause inaccurate incurred 

claims and may also indicate inadequate reserves for the 

product line.  

https://scc.virginia.gov/pages/Life-Health-Companies
https://scc.virginia.gov/pages/Life-Health-Companies
mailto:amanda.mccauley@scc.virginia.gov
mailto:trish.todd@scc.virginia.gov
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• Premium reserve errors. These cause inaccurate premium 

reserve calculations.  

• Assumption reinsurance transactions. If any business is 

transferred by assumption reinsurance, identify in the 

questionnaire the companies involved and the reserve amounts 

impacted by the transaction.  

• Company Name Changes or Mergers. If the reporting 

company has changed its name and/or has been involved in a 

merger, full details should be provided in the questionnaire to 

enable the Bureau to appropriately combine experience for the 

past three years.  

• Calculation of Earned Premium at Prima Facie Rates. 
Prima facie premium must be calculated using the prima facie 

rates approved and published by the Bureau effective January 

1, 2019. Approval by the Bureau to charge alternate rates or 

use alternative rate structures does not constitute a change to 

the published prima facie rates, and these alternative rates or 

rates structures should not be used in calculating earned 

premium at prima facie rates.  

Questionnaire 

Company Name: ______________________________ 

NAIC #: ____________  

For calendar year 2020, did the company have any earned 

premiums or incurred claims?  

______ Yes ______ No  

If "yes," please complete the entire questionnaire. If "no," 

please proceed to the last page and complete the contact 

information only. Responses to questions 1-9 are not 

required.  

1. Are both the earned premiums and earned premiums at 

prima facie rates stated? _____Yes _____No 

What adjustments, if any, were made to the earned premiums 

at prima facie rates? Please explain in detail how the 

adjustments were made. If none were made, please explain 

why not. 

2. Are incurred claims stated without stating earned premiums 

and earned premiums at prima facie rates? ____Yes _____No 

If "yes," please explain. 

3. Are the beginning of year (BOY) reserves equal to the prior 

years’ stated end of year (EOY) reserves? _____Yes _____No 

If “no,” please provide a detailed explanation. (This applies to 

the premium, IBNR and claim reserves.) 

4. Are the BOY reserves positive but no data was reported last 

year? _____Yes ____No If “yes,” please explain. 

5. Has the reserve methodology changed since the prior year’s 

CIEE was filed in Virginia? ____Yes _____No If “yes,” please 

explain. 

6. Was any business transferred by assumption reinsurance? 

_____Yes _____No If “yes,” identify the companies involved 

and explain how any values in the CIEE have been impacted 

by the transaction. 

7. Has the Company changed its name or has the Company 

been involved in a merger since the prior year’s CIEE was filed 

in Virginia? _____Yes _____No If “yes,” please provide 

complete details in order that the Bureau of Insurance can 

appropriately combine experience for the past three years.  

8. Have all totals been verified as correct? _____Yes _____No 

If "no," please explain. 

9. Does the CIEE contain any negative numbers? _____Yes 

_____No If “yes,” please provide a detailed explanation. 

Completed by: 

________________________________________ 

Title: 

_______________________________________________ 

Date: 

_______________________________________________ 

Phone #: 

____________________________________________ 

Email Address: 

_______________________________________ 

(Revised 1/7/21) 

Contact Information: Amanda McCauley, State Corporation, 

Commission, 1300 East Main Street, Richmond, VA 23219, 

telephone (804) 371-0034, or email 

amanda.mccauley@scc.virginia.gov. 

DEPARTMENT OF GENERAL SERVICES 

Request for Comments on Revision to Fees for 
Drinking Water Laboratory Certification  

(1VAC30-41-270)  

Effective May 1, 2021, to April 30, 2022 

Purpose of notice and background information: The Division 

of Consolidated Laboratory Services (DCLS) is seeking 

comment on the revision to fees charged for certifying drinking 

water laboratories under 1VAC30-41-270. 

1VAC30-41-270 I 2 requires DCLS to increase or decrease 

annually the fees charged for certifying drinking water 

laboratories using the Consumer Price Index-Urban percentage 

change, average to average for the previous calendar year 

published by the U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics in January. 

The percentage change, average to average for 2020 is an 

mailto:amanda.mccauley@scc.virginia.gov
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additional 1.2%. See the table labeled "Historical Consumer 

Price Index for All Urban Consumers (CPI-U): U.S. city 

average, all items, index averages" in the following document 

(page 4): bls.gov/cpi/tables/supplemental-files/historical-cpi-

u-202012.pdf. 

The revised fees are exempt from the requirements of the 

Administrative Process Act. The Budget of the 

Commonwealth of Virginia (Chapter 1289, effective July 1, 

2020) in Part I, Item 76, at C 3.a requires DCLS to provide 

notice and an opportunity to submit written comments on the 

revised fees.  

The notice of fees for May 1, 2021, through April 30, 2022, 

will be published on the DCLS drinking water laboratory 

certification webpage after consideration of submitted 

comments. 

Public comment period: February 15, 2021, through March 17, 

2021. 

How to comment: DCLS accepts written comments by email, 

fax, and postal mail. In order to be considered, comments must 

include the full name, address, and telephone number of the 

person commenting and be received by DCLS by the last day 

of the comment period. All materials received are part of the 

public record. Email comments should be sent to 

rhonda.bishton@dgs.virginia.gov. The number for faxed 

comments is (804) 371-8305. Written comments should be 

sent to Rhonda Bishton, Regulatory Coordinator, Department 

of General Services, Attn: DCLS DW Fee Comments, 1100 

Bank Street, Richmond, VA, 23219. 

NOTICE OF FEES FOR MAY 1, 2021 – APRIL 30, 2022 

DCLS requests comments on the revised fees in the notice 

below. 

TESTING CATEGORY FEE ($) 

Microbiological testing  

 

 

1 - 2 methods 
667 

 

3 - 5 methods 
777 

 

6 methods 
889 

Inorganic chemistry, nonmetals testing  

 

 

1 - 2 methods 
722 

 

3 - 5 methods 
942 

 

6 - 8 methods 
1166 

 

9 methods 
1387 

Inorganic chemistry, metals testing 

 

 

1 - 2 methods 
1109 

 

3 - 5 methods 
1331 

 

6 methods 
1551 

Organic chemistry 

 

 

1 - 2 methods 
1166 

 

3 - 5 methods 
1387 

 

6 - 8 methods 
1608 

 

9 methods 
1832 

Radiochemistry 

 

 

1 - 2 methods 
1221 

 

3 - 5 methods 
1442 

 

6 methods 
1665 

Asbestos 

 

 

1 - 2 methods 
998 

 

3 - 5 methods 
1221 

Contact Information: Rhonda Bishton, Director's Executive 

Administrative Assistant, Department of General Services, 

1100 Bank Street, Suite 420, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone 

(804) 786-3311, FAX (804) 371-8305. 

DEPARTMENT OF ENVIRONMENTAL QUALITY 

Energix Aditya LLC Notice of Intent for Small 
Renewable Energy Project (Solar) - Louisa County 

Energix Aditya LLC, has provided the Department of 

Environmental Quality a notice of intent to submit the 

necessary document for a permit by rule for a small renewable 

energy project (solar) in Louisa County. Energix Aditya LLC 

will be located near the Town of Louisa. Latitude and longitude 

coordinates are as follows: 38.017539 -77.957089. The 

estimated fenced-in project area will be 95 acres and the 

maximum generating capacity of the project in alternating 

current will be 11 megawatts. The solar facility will consist of 

approximately 31,000 photovoltaic modules. 

Contact Information: Mary Major, Department of 

Environmental Quality, 1111 East Main Street, Suite 1400, 

P.O. Box 1105, Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 698-

4423, FAX (804) 698-4178. 

Availability of the 2021 Annual Monitoring Plan 

Purpose of notice: The Virginia Department of Environmental 

Quality (DEQ) is announcing the availability of the 2021 

Water Quality Monitoring Plan (MonPlan). The 2021 MonPlan 

is now available on the agency's website at 

https://www.deq.virginia.gov/water/water-quality/water-

quality-monitoring/current-year-water-quality-monitoring-

plan. 

https://www.bls.gov/cpi/tables/supplemental-files/historical-cpi-u-202012.pdf
https://www.bls.gov/cpi/tables/supplemental-files/historical-cpi-u-202012.pdf
https://www.deq.virginia.gov/water/water-quality/water-quality-monitoring/current-year-water-quality-monitoring-plan
https://www.deq.virginia.gov/water/water-quality/water-quality-monitoring/current-year-water-quality-monitoring-plan
https://www.deq.virginia.gov/water/water-quality/water-quality-monitoring/current-year-water-quality-monitoring-plan
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A map view of the 2021 MonPlan is available through DEQ's 

VEGIS viewer a https://geohub-vadeq.hub.arcgis.com 

/datasets/fcbf74731d4d4c79a881f8dd23587e52_131. 

Background: Every year, DEQ staff from the agency's six 

regional offices collect water samples for testing from more 

than 1,000 locations across the Commonwealth. The agency's 

various monitoring activities for each calendar year are 

outlined in the annual statewide MonPlan. 

2021 MonPlan: The 2021 MonPlan summarizes DEQ's water 

quality monitoring activities to be conducted from January 1 

through December 31, and is developed for the purpose of 

implementing the goals and objectives of DEQ's Water Quality 

Monitoring Strategy. This water quality information is 

presented in compliance with the Virginia Water Quality 

Monitoring, Information and Restoration Act (§ 62.1-44.19:5 

et seq. of the Code of Virginia) to help ensure public awareness 

of water quality issues and conditions. The MonPlan contains 

detailed information on DEQ's monitoring activities, including 

the station locations, specific conditions, frequency of 

monitoring, and costs. 

Contacts for more information: Requests for more information 

on the 2021 MonPlan can be directed to Roger Stewart at (804) 

698-4449 or roger.stewart@deq.virginia.gov. Additional 

information is also available on DEQ's Water Quality 

Monitoring website at https://www.deq.virginia.gov 

 /water/water-quality/water-quality-monitoring. 

Citizen Nominations for the 2022 MonPlan: Citizens can 

nominate portions of lakes, streams, and rivers of Virginia for 

water quality monitoring by DEQ. Nominations received on or 

before April 30, 2021, will be considered for inclusion in 

DEQ's 2022 MonPlan. More information on the citizen 

nomination process is available on DEQ's Citizen Monitoring 

website at https://www.deq.virginia.gov/water/water-

quality/water-quality-monitoring/citizen-monitoring. Contact 

Stuart Torbeck at (804) 698-4461 or 

charles.torbeck@deq.virginia.gov for more information. 

Contact Information: Roger Stewart, Department of 

Environmental Quality, Central Office, P.O. Box 1105, 

Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 698-4449, FAX (804) 

698-4178, or email roger.stewart@deq.virginia.gov. 

DEPARTMENT OF MEDICAL ASSISTANCE 
SERVICES 

All Manuals Chapter III Draft Available for Review 

The draft Chapter III of all provider manuals is now available 

on the Department of Medical Assistance Services website at 

https://www.dmas.virginia.gov/#/manualdraft for public 

comment until February 24, 2021. 

Contact Information: Emily McClellan, Regulatory Manager, 

Division of Policy and Research, Department of Medical 

Assistance Services, 600 East Broad Street, Suite 1300, 

Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 371-4300, FAX (804) 

786-1680. 

Hospital Provider Manual Chapter IV Draft Available 
for Review 

The draft Hospital Manual Chapter IV is now available on the 

Department of Medical Assistance Services website at 

https://www.dmas.virginia.gov/#/manualdraft for public 

comment until February 24, 2021. 

Contact Information: Emily McClellan, Regulatory Manager, 

Division of Policy and Research, Department of Medical 

Assistance Services, 600 East Broad Street, Suite 1300, 

Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 371-4300, FAX (804) 

786-1680. 

Physician/Practitioner Provider Manual Chapter IV 
Draft Available for Review 

The draft Physician/Practitioner Manual Chapter IV is now 

available on the Department of Medical Assistance Services 

website at https://www.dmas.virginia.gov/#/manualdraft for 

public comment until February 24, 2021. 

Contact Information: Emily McClellan, Regulatory Manager, 

Division of Policy and Research, Department of Medical 

Assistance Services, 600 East Broad Street, Suite 1300, 

Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 371-4300, FAX (804) 

786-1680. 

STATE WATER CONTROL BOARD 

Proposed Enforcement Action for Good Luck Good 
Luck LLC 

An enforcement action has been proposed for Good Luck Good 

Luck LLC for violations at the underground storage tank 

facility known as Mechanicsville Station, 2000 Mechanicsville 

Turnpike, Richmond, Virginia. The State Water Control Board 

proposes to issue a consent order to address noncompliance 

with State Water Control Law and regulations at the facility. 

The consent order requires corrective action and payment of a 

civil charge. A description of the proposed action is available 

at the Department of Environmental Quality office listed or 

online at www.deq.virginia.gov. The staff contact will accept 

comments by email, fax, or postal mail from February 15, 

2021, to April 17, 2021. 

Contact Information: Frank Lupini, Department of 

Environmental Quality, Piedmont Regional Office, 4949-A 

Cox Road, Glen Allen, VA 23060, FAX (804) 698-4178, or 

email frank.lupini@deq.virginia.gov. 

https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/Register/Documents/GeneralNoticesEdit/74/GeneralNotices/9VAC15/%20https:/geohub-vadeq.hub.arcgis.com/datasets/fcbf74731d4d4c79a881f8dd23587e52_131
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/Register/Documents/GeneralNoticesEdit/74/GeneralNotices/9VAC15/%20https:/geohub-vadeq.hub.arcgis.com/datasets/fcbf74731d4d4c79a881f8dd23587e52_131
https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title62.1/chapter3.1/section62.1-44.19:5/
mailto:Roger.Stewart@deq.virginia.gov
https://www.deq.virginia.gov/water/water-quality/water-quality-monitoring
https://www.deq.virginia.gov/water/water-quality/water-quality-monitoring
https://www.deq.virginia.gov/water/water-quality/water-quality-monitoring/citizen-monitoring
https://www.deq.virginia.gov/water/water-quality/water-quality-monitoring/citizen-monitoring
mailto:Charles.Torbeck@deq.virginia.gov
mailto:Roger.Stewart@DEQ.Virginia.gov
https://www.dmas.virginia.gov/#/manualdraft
https://www.dmas.virginia.gov/#/manualdraft
https://www.dmas.virginia.gov/#/manualdraft
mailto:frank.lupini@deq.virginia.gov
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Public Meeting and Public Comment for a TMDL 
Implementation Plan for the McClure River 

Watershed in Dickenson County 

Purpose of notice: The Department of Environmental Quality 

(DEQ) is seeking feedback from watershed stakeholders on the 

proposed draft plan to restore water quality in the McClure 

River watershed. A draft total maximum daily load (TMDL) 

Implementation Plan (IP) has been developed to explain the 

pollutant reductions needed to meet the targets contained in the 

2018 TMDL report prepared for the watershed. A 30-day 

public comment period starts February 24, 2021, for interested 

persons to submit written comments. See directions in this 

notice to submit a comment. A public meeting to discuss the 

Water Quality Improvement Plan (also known as the 

Implementation Plan (IP)) for the McClure River watershed 

will be held on Tuesday, February 23, 2021, from 5:30 - 7 p.m. 

Given the existing State of Emergency related to the COVID-

19 pandemic, this meeting will be held entirely virtually. The 

URL to register for the virtual meeting is provided at the end 

of this notice. 

How to participate in meeting: This meeting is open to the 

public and all interested parties are welcome. A computer or a 

telephone are necessary to participate virtually. URL and 

telephone information to participate in the meeting. 

Department of Environmental Quality, Southwest Regional 

Office, 355A Deadmore Street, Abingdon, VA 24210. 

How to comment on draft: A public comment period on the 

development of the TMDL IP begins February 24, 2021, and 

ends March 26, 2021. All comments must be written and 

submitted via postal mail or email by 11:59 p.m. on March 26, 

2021. Comments must include the name, address, and 

telephone number of the person submitting the comments. 

Please submit comments to staff contact person. 

Contact Information: Stephanie Kreps, Department of 

Environmental Quality, Southwest Regional Office, 355A 

Deadmore Street, Abingdon, VA 24210, telephone (276) 676-

4803, FAX (804) 698-4178, or email 

stephanie.kreps@deq.virginia.gov. 

Proposal to Amend 9VAC25-71 to add Sarah Creek 
and Perrin River to Virginia's List of Designated No 

Discharge Zones 

Purpose of notice: The U.S. Environmental Protection Agency 

(EPA) submitted to the Federal Register its final affirmative 

determination for No Discharge Zones (NDZ) for Sarah Creek 

and Perrin River, Gloucester County, Virginia pursuant to the 

federal Clean Water Act. EPA determined that there exists 

adequate facilities for the safe and sanitary removal and 

treatment of sewage from all vessels within these two 

waterbodies. The NDZ designations would prohibit the 

overboard discharge of treated sewage from marine sanitation 

devices in these waterways. The Virginia Department of 

Environmental Quality (DEQ) is announcing its intent to ask 

the State Water Control Board to amend 9VAC25-71 to add 

the Sarah Creek and Perrin River NDZs to Virginia's list of 

designated NDZs and is seeking public comment. 

Background: Section 62.1-44.33 of the Code of Virginia 

resolves that all tidal creeks in Virginia be designated federal 

No Discharge Zones premised on the improvement of impaired 

tidal creeks and directs DEQ to pursue this designation. It is 

illegal to discharge raw sewage in U.S. territorial waters. In an 

NDZ, this ban is expanded to include sewage treated by on-

board marine sanitation devices. An NDZ is determined by 

EPA upon application from the state, and is contingent on the 

state demonstrating (i) the need for enhanced protection of 

water quality, (ii) the availability of sufficient local alternatives 

to overboard discharge (i.e. pump-outs), and (iii) local 

stakeholder support. 

The Go Green Gloucester Advisory Committee of the 

Gloucester County Board of Supervisors partnered with the 

Virginia Institute of Marine Science (VIMS) to conduct an 

analysis of boat usage and pump-out availability for Sarah 

Creek and Perrin River in Gloucester County. VIMS, with the 

assistance of DEQ, then prepared a draft application and held 

a public meeting with a 30-day public comment period for 

which 25 comments were received; all in support of the 

application. The application was then transmitted to Virginia's 

Secretary of Natural Resources for submittal to EPA 

requesting an affirmative determination. EPA published its 

tentative affirmative determination in the Federal Register on 

March 11, 2020, followed by a 30-day public comment period. 

EPA did not receive any comments and published its final 

affirmative determination in the Federal Register on 

September 23, 2020. DEQ intends to ask the State Water 

Control Board to amend 9VAC25-71 to add the Sarah Creek 

and Perrin River NDZs to Virginia's list of designated NDZs. 

The NDZ application is located at 

https://www.deq.virginia.gov/water/water-quality 

/implementation/no-discharge-zone-program/ and EPA's final 

affirmative determination is located at 

https://www.federalregister.gov/documents/2020/09/23/2020-

20956/clean-water-act-virginia-sarah-creek-and-perrin-river-

vessel-sewage-no-discharge-zone-final. 

How to comment: DEQ will accept written comments 

beginning Tuesday, February 16, 2021, by email or postal mail. 

Comments should include the name, address, and telephone 

number of the person commenting and be received by DEQ 

during the comment period, which will expire on Thursday, 

March 18, 2021. 

Contact the staff contact person listed for additional 

information and to submit comments. 

Contact Information: Anne Schlegel, TMDL Coordinator, 

Department of Environmental Quality, Central Office, P.O. 

Box 1105, Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 698-4046, 

FAX (804) 698-4178, or email 

anne.schlegel@deq.virginia.gov. 

mailto:Stephanie.Kreps@deq.virginia.gov
https://www.deq.virginia.gov/water/water-quality/implementation/no-discharge-zone-program/
https://www.deq.virginia.gov/water/water-quality/implementation/no-discharge-zone-program/
https://www.federalregister.gov/documents/2020/09/23/2020-20956/clean-water-act-virginia-sarah-creek-and-perrin-river-vessel-sewage-no-discharge-zone-final
https://www.federalregister.gov/documents/2020/09/23/2020-20956/clean-water-act-virginia-sarah-creek-and-perrin-river-vessel-sewage-no-discharge-zone-final
https://www.federalregister.gov/documents/2020/09/23/2020-20956/clean-water-act-virginia-sarah-creek-and-perrin-river-vessel-sewage-no-discharge-zone-final
mailto:anne.schlegel@deq.virginia.gov
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VIRGINIA CODE COMMISSION 

Notice to State Agencies 

Contact Information: Mailing Address: Virginia Code 

Commission, Pocahontas Building, 900 East Main Street, 8th 

Floor, Richmond, VA 23219; Telephone: (804) 698-1810; 

Email: varegs@dls.virginia.gov. 

Meeting Notices: Section 2.2-3707 C of the Code of Virginia 

requires state agencies to post meeting notices on their 

websites and on the Commonwealth Calendar at 

https://commonwealthcalendar.virginia.gov. 

Cumulative Table of Virginia Administrative Code 

Sections Adopted, Amended, or Repealed: A table listing 

regulation sections that have been amended, added, or repealed 

in the Virginia Register of Regulations since the regulations 

were originally published or last supplemented in the print 

version of the Virginia Administrative Code is available at 

http://register.dls.virginia.gov/documents/cumultab.pdf. 

Filing Material for Publication in the Virginia Register of 

Regulations: Agencies use the Regulation Information System 

(RIS) to file regulations and related items for publication in the 

Virginia Register of Regulations. The Registrar's office works 

closely with the Department of Planning and Budget (DPB) to 

coordinate the system with the Virginia Regulatory Town Hall. 

RIS and Town Hall complement and enhance one another by 

sharing pertinent regulatory information. 

file://///legmain/sysdata/dlsdata/CODEREGS/regispub/Vol33/Iss04/varegs@dls.virginia.gov
https://commonwealthcalendar.virginia.gov/
http://register.dls.virginia.gov/documents/cumultab.pdf
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