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REGISTER INFORMATION PAGE 

THE VIRGINIA REGISTER OF REGULATIONS is an official state 

publication issued every other week throughout the year. Indexes are published 

quarterly, and are cumulative for the year. The Virginia Register has several 

functions. The new and amended sections of regulations, both as proposed and 

as finally adopted, are required by law to be published in the Virginia Register. 

In addition, the Virginia Register is a source of other information about state 

government, including petitions for rulemaking, emergency regulations, 

executive orders issued by the Governor, and notices of public hearings on 

regulations. 

ADOPTION, AMENDMENT, AND REPEAL OF REGULATIONS 

Unless exempted by law, an agency wishing to adopt, amend, or repeal 

regulations must follow the procedures in the Administrative Process Act (§ 

2.2-4000 et seq. of the Code of Virginia). Typically, this includes first 

publishing in the Virginia Register a notice of intended regulatory action; a 

basis, purpose, substance and issues statement; an economic impact analysis 

prepared by the Department of Planning and Budget; the agency’s response to 

the economic impact analysis; a summary; a notice giving the public an 

opportunity to comment on the proposal; and the text of the proposed 

regulation. 

Following publication of the proposed regulation in the Virginia Register, the 

promulgating agency receives public comments for a minimum of 60 days. 

The Governor reviews the proposed regulation to determine if it is necessary 

to protect the public health, safety, and welfare, and if it is clearly written and 

easily understandable. If the Governor chooses to comment on the proposed 

regulation, his comments must be transmitted to the agency and the Registrar 

of Regulations no later than 15 days following the completion of the 60-day 

public comment period. The Governor’s comments, if any, will be published 

in the Virginia Register. Not less than 15 days following the completion of the 

60-day public comment period, the agency may adopt the proposed regulation. 

The Joint Commission on Administrative Rules or the appropriate standing 

committee of each house of the General Assembly may meet during the 

promulgation or final adoption process and file an objection with the Registrar 

and the promulgating agency. The objection will be published in the Virginia 

Register. Within 21 days after receipt by the agency of a legislative objection, 

the agency shall file a response with the Registrar, the objecting legislative 

body, and the Governor. 

When final action is taken, the agency again publishes the text of the 

regulation as adopted, highlighting all changes made to the proposed 

regulation and explaining any substantial changes made since publication of 

the proposal. A 30-day final adoption period begins upon final publication in 

the Virginia Register. 

The Governor may review the final regulation during this time and, if he 

objects, forward his objection to the Registrar and the agency. In addition to 

or in lieu of filing a formal objection, the Governor may suspend the effective 

date of a portion or all of a regulation until the end of the next regular General 

Assembly session by issuing a directive signed by a majority of the members 

of the appropriate legislative body and the Governor. The Governor’s 

objection or suspension of the regulation, or both, will be published in the 

Virginia Register. 

If the Governor finds that the final regulation contains changes made after 

publication of the proposed regulation that have substantial impact, he may 

require the agency to provide an additional 30-day public comment period on 

the changes. Notice of the additional public comment period required by the 

Governor will be published in the Virginia Register. Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.06 

of the Code of Virginia, any person may request that the agency solicit 

additional public comment on certain changes made after publication of the 

proposed regulation. The agency shall suspend the regulatory process for 30 

days upon such request from 25 or more individuals, unless the agency 

determines that the changes have minor or inconsequential impact. 

A regulation becomes effective at the conclusion of the 30-day final adoption 

period, or at any other later date specified by the promulgating agency, unless 

(i) a legislative objection has been filed, in which event the regulation, unless 

withdrawn, becomes effective on the date specified, which shall be after the 

expiration of the 21-day objection period; (ii) the Governor exercises his 

authority to require the agency to provide for additional public comment, in 

which event the regulation, unless withdrawn, becomes effective on the date 

specified, which shall be after the expiration of the period for which the 

Governor has provided for additional public comment; (iii) the Governor and 

the General Assembly exercise their authority to suspend the effective date of 

a regulation until the end of the next regular legislative session; or (iv) the 

agency suspends the regulatory process, in which event the regulation, unless 

withdrawn, becomes effective on the date specified, which shall be after the 

expiration of the 30-day public comment period and no earlier than 15 days 

from publication of the readopted action. 

A regulatory action may be withdrawn by the promulgating agency at any 

time before the regulation becomes final. 

FAST-TRACK RULEMAKING PROCESS 

Section 2.2-4012.1 of the Code of Virginia provides an alternative to the 

standard process set forth in the Administrative Process Act for regulations 

deemed by the Governor to be noncontroversial. To use this process, the 

Governor's concurrence is required and advance notice must be provided to 

certain legislative committees. Fast-track regulations become effective on the 

date noted in the regulatory action if fewer than 10 persons object to using the 

process in accordance with § 2.2-4012.1. 

EMERGENCY REGULATIONS 

Pursuant to § 2.2-4011 of the Code of Virginia, an agency may adopt 

emergency regulations if necessitated by an emergency situation or when 

Virginia statutory law or the appropriation act or federal law or federal 

regulation requires that a regulation be effective in 280 days or fewer from its 

enactment. In either situation, approval of the Governor is required. The 

emergency regulation is effective upon its filing with the Registrar of 

Regulations, unless a later date is specified per § 2.2-4012 of the Code of 

Virginia. Emergency regulations are limited to no more than 18 months in 

duration; however, may be extended for six months under the circumstances 

noted in § 2.2-4011 D. Emergency regulations are published as soon as 

possible in the Virginia Register and are on the Register of Regulations website 

at register.dls.virgina.gov. 

During the time the emergency regulation is in effect, the agency may 

proceed with the adoption of permanent regulations in accordance with the 

Administrative Process Act. If the agency chooses not to adopt the regulations, 

the emergency status ends when the prescribed time limit expires. 

STATEMENT 

The foregoing constitutes a generalized statement of the procedures to be 

followed. For specific statutory language, it is suggested that Article 2 (§ 2.2-

4006 et seq.) of Chapter 40 of Title 2.2 of the Code of Virginia be examined 

carefully. 

CITATION TO THE VIRGINIA REGISTER 

The Virginia Register is cited by volume, issue, page number, and date. 34:8 

VA.R. 763-832 December 11, 2017, refers to Volume 34, Issue 8, pages 763 

through 832 of the Virginia Register issued on  

December 11, 2017. 

The Virginia Register of Regulations is published pursuant to Article 6 (§ 

2.2-4031 et seq.) of Chapter 40 of Title 2.2 of the Code of Virginia. 

Members of the Virginia Code Commission: John S. Edwards, Chair; 

Marcus B. Simon, Vice Chair; Ward L. Armstrong; Nicole Cheuk; Rita 

Davis; Leslie L. Lilley; Jennifer L. McClellan; Christopher R. Nolen; Don 

L. Scott, Jr.; Charles S. Sharp; Samuel T. Towell; Malfourd W. Trumbo. 

Staff of the Virginia Register: Karen Perrine, Registrar of Regulations; 

Anne Bloomsburg, Assistant Registrar; Nikki Clemons, Regulations 

Analyst; Rhonda Dyer, Publications Assistant; Terri Edwards, Senior 

Operations Staff Assistant. 

https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/2.2-4011/
https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/2.2-4011/
http://register.dls.virgina.gov/
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PUBLICATION SCHEDULE AND DEADLINES 

May 2021 through May 2022 

Volume: Issue Material Submitted By Noon* Will Be Published On 

37:19 April 21, 2021 May 10, 2021 

37:20 May 5, 2021 May 24, 2021 

37:21 May 19, 2021 June 7, 2021 

37:22 June 2, 2021 June 21, 2021 

37:23 June 16, 2021 July 5, 2021 

37:24 June 30, 2021 July 19, 2021 

37:25 July 14, 2021 August 2, 2021 

37:26 July 28, 2021 August 16, 2021 

38:1 August 11, 2021 August 30, 2021 

38:2 August 25, 2021 September 13, 2021 

38:3 September 8, 2021 September 27, 2021 

38:4 September 22, 2021 October 11, 2021 

38:5 October 6, 2021 October 25, 2021 

38:6 October 20, 2021 November 8, 2021 

38:7 November 3, 2021 November 22, 2021 

38:8 November 15, 2021 (Monday) December 6, 2021 

38:9 December 1, 2021 December 20, 2021 

38:10 December 15, 2021 January 3, 2022 

38:11 December 29, 2021 January 17, 2022 

38:12 January 12, 2022 January 31, 2022 

38:13 January 26, 2022 February 14, 2022 

38:14 February 9, 2022 February 28, 2022 

38:15 February 23, 2022 March 14, 2022 

38:16 March 9, 2022 March 28, 2022 

38:17 March 23, 2022 April 11, 2022 

38:18 April 6, 2022 April 25, 2022 

38:19 April 20, 2022 May 9, 2022 

38:20 May 4, 2022 May 23, 2022 

*Filing deadlines are Wednesdays unless otherwise specified. 
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PETITIONS FOR RULEMAKING 

TITLE 12. HEALTH 

STATE BOARD OF HEALTH 

Agency Decision 

Title of Regulation: 12VAC5-371. Regulations for the 

Licensure of Nursing Facilities. 

Statutory Authority: §§ 32.1-12 and 32.1-127 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

Name of Petitioner: James Sherlock. 

Nature of Petitioner's Request: "Change Virginia Nursing 

Facility Licensure Regulations to Align with Federal 

Medicare/Medicaid Certification Regulations. The weaknesses 

of Virginia's nursing facility (NF) and skilled nursing facility 

(SNF) system have been exposed by COVID-19 with deadly 

consequences. Virginia's regulations applicable to these 

facilities may be part of the problem. 12VAC5-371 

Regulations for the Licensure of Nursing Facilities published 

by the Board of Health conflict with and are more permissive 

than the regulatory requirements for Medicare/Medicaid 

certification in 42 CFR Part 483 - Requirements for States and 

Long Term Care Facilities. The Virginia Department of 

Health, the state agency contracted with the Centers for 

Medicare and Medicaid Services to conduct certification 

inspections, must at least in theory enforce both sets of 

regulations. However, the Virginia regulations have little 

practical effect in that 95% of Virginia NFs and SNF's seek 

certification for Medicare and/or Medicaid and thus must 

comply with the more stringent federal regulations. Indeed 

many facilities contain both SNF and NF facilities and swing 

beds in a single complex. Under Medicaid regulations, NFs are 

required to meet virtually the same requirements that SNFs 

participating in Medicare must meet. There is no reason that 

Virginia regulations for licensing the other 5.0% should be 

different. I thus recommend Virginia nursing facility licensing 

regulations either mirror or incorporate by reference 42 CFR 

Part 483. I also recommend that the Board of Nursing review 

18VAC90-19-250 (Criteria ford delegation) and other nursing 

practice regulations to ensure they align with the federal rules 

for nursing homes. I find important reasons why Virginia 

regulations should be aligned with federal regulations for the 

same facilities, and no provision in the Constitution of Virginia 

or existing Virginia law that prohibits such action. I also see no 

requirement for additional funding to do so. A few of the 

federal statutes or regulations allow for waivers in the presence 

of verified temporary shortages of health personnel or in the 

presence of equivalent alternative patient safeguards. CMS 

Medicare SNF waiver authority is re-delegated to the CMS 

Regional Offices (ROs). Waivers for NFs to provide licensed 

personnel on a 24-hour basis repose with the states. Life safety 

code waivers for NFs and Intermediate Care Facilities for 

Individuals with Intellectual Disabilities (ICF/IIDs) are the 

responsibility of the states (See 42 CFR 483.470(j)(2)(A)). I 

suggest that on the heels of the COVID-19 deaths, Virginia not 

waive or request a waiver for any federal nursing home 

regulation. But if such waivers exist, they should appear in the 

VAC in sequence with the federal regulation they waive. It will 

also prove useful to create a single Nursing and Skilled 

Nursing Facilities section of the VAC to offer a complete 

reference for operators and inspectors. Those actions will 

resolve current regulatory chaos and clarify the state's waivers 

of federal regulations. They will also save whatever time and 

cost has historically been expended in drafting, seeking public 

comments, resolving disagreements, and approving Virginia 

nursing facility licensure regulations that are, in the main, 

irrelevant." 

Agency Decision: Request granted. 

Statement of Reason for Decision: The State Health 

Commissioner, acting on behalf of the State Board of Health, 

has decided that a standard regulatory action should be 

initiated. 

Agency Contact: Rebekah E. Allen, Senior Policy Analyst, 

Department of Health, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 401, 

Richmond, VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-2102, or email 

regulatorycomment@vdh.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R20-54; Filed April 7, 2021, 9:08 a.m. 

mailto:regulatorycomment@vdh.virginia.gov
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PERIODIC REVIEWS AND SMALL BUSINESS IMPACT REVIEWS 

TITLE 9. ENVIRONMENT 

STATE WATER CONTROL BOARD 

Agency Notice 

Pursuant to Executive Order 14 (as amended July 16, 2018) 

and §§ 2.2-4007.1 and 2.2-4017 of the Code of Virginia, the 

following regulations are undergoing a periodic review and a 

small business impact review: 9VAC25-790, Sewage 

Collection and Treatment Regulations, and 9VAC25-800, 

Virginia Pollutant Discharge Elimination System (VPDES) 

General Permit Regulation for Discharges Resulting from 

the Application of Pesticides to Surface Waters. The review 

of these regulations will be guided by the principles in 

Executive Order 14 (as amended July 16, 2018). The purpose 

of this review is to determine whether each regulation should 

be repealed, amended, or retained in its current form. Public 

comment is sought on the review of any issue relating to these 

regulations, including whether each regulation (i) is necessary 

for the protection of public health, safety, and welfare or for 

the economical performance of important governmental 

functions; (ii) minimizes the economic impact on small 

businesses in a manner consistent with the stated objectives of 

applicable law; and (iii) is clearly written and easily 

understandable.  

Public comment period begins April 26, 2021, and ends May 

17, 2021. 

Comments must include the commenter's name and address 

(physical or email) information in order to receive a response 

to the comment from the agency. Following the close of the 

public comment period, a report of both reviews will be posted 

on the Virginia Regulatory Town Hall and published in the 

Virginia Register of Regulations. 

Contact Information: Melissa Porterfield, Department of 

Environmental Quality, 1111 East Main Street, Suite 1400, 

P.O. Box 1105, Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (803) 698-

4238. 

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 22. SOCIAL SERVICES 

STATE BOARD OF SOCIAL SERVICES 

Agency Notice 

Pursuant to Executive Order 14 (as amended July 16, 2018) 

and §§ 2.2-4007.1 and 2.2-4017 of the Code of Virginia, the 

following regulation is undergoing a periodic review and a 

small business impact review: 22VAC40-12, Public 

Participation Guidelines. The review will be guided by the 

principles in Executive Order 14 (as amended July 16, 2018). 

The purpose of this review is to determine whether this 

regulation should be repealed, amended, or retained in its 

current form. Public comment is sought on the review of any 

issue relating to this regulation, including whether the 

regulation (i) is necessary for the protection of public health, 

safety, and welfare or for the economical performance of 

important governmental functions; (ii) minimizes the 

economic impact on small businesses in a manner consistent 

with the stated objectives of applicable law; and (iii) is clearly 

written and easily understandable.  

Public comment period begins April 26, 2021, and ends May 

17, 2021. 

Comments must include the commenter's name and address 

(physical or email) information in order to receive a response 

to the comment from the agency. Following the close of the 

public comment period, a report of both reviews will be posted 

on the Virginia Regulatory Town Hall and published in the 

Virginia Register of Regulations. 

Contact Information: Karin Clark, Regulatory Coordinator, 

Department of Social Services, 801 East Main Street, 

Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 726-7017. 

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 24. TRANSPORTATION AND MOTOR 
VEHICLES 

COMMONWEALTH TRANSPORTATION BOARD 

Report of Findings 

Pursuant to §§ 2.2-4007.1 and 2.2-4017 of the Code of 

Virginia, the Commonwealth Transportation Board conducted 

a periodic review and a small business impact review of 

24VAC30-160, Rules and Regulations to Comply with the 

Setoff Debt Collection Act, and determined that this 

regulation should be repealed. 

The Commonwealth Transportation Board voted on July 17, 

2019, to repeal 24VAC30-160. All of the substantive portions 

of the regulation that affect citizens are duplicative of 

provisions in the Setoff Debt Collection Act. 

The Fast-Track Rulemaking Action to amend 24VAC30-160, 

which is published in this issue of the Virginia Register, serves 

as the report of findings. 

Contact Information: Jo Anne Maxwell, Director, Governance 

and Legislative Affairs, Department of Transportation, 1401 

East Broad Street, Richmond, VA 23235, telephone (804) 786-

1830, or email joanne.maxwell@vdot.virginia.gov. 

mailto:joanne.maxwell@vdot.virginia.gov
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NOTICES OF INTENDED REGULATORY ACTION 

TITLE 9. ENVIRONMENT 

STATE AIR POLLUTION CONTROL BOARD 

Notice of Intended Regulatory Action 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 2.2-4007.01 of the 

Code of Virginia that the State Air Pollution Control Board 

intends to consider amending 9VAC5-40, Existing Stationary 

Sources. The purpose of the proposed action is to fulfill the 

Governor's direction announced on September 12, 2018. The 

Virginia Department of Environmental Quality is to identify 

ways to improve environmental protection in the 

Commonwealth, specifically, to develop a framework for 

limiting methane leakage from natural gas infrastructure that 

applies to new and existing sources and is tailored to Virginia-

specific needs. This regulatory action will establish standards 

for limiting methane leakage from natural gas infrastructure 

tailored to meet Virginia-specific needs. 

The primary focus of the regulatory action will be on 

transmission and storage, including pipelines, compressor 

stations and underground storage associated with the natural 

gas transmission and storage sector, and gathering/boosting 

compressors and gas processing plants associated with 

production and processing. Secondary focus will be on 

production and processing, including drilling and well 

completion, producing wells, and gathering lines. If additional 

requirements for new natural gas infrastructure sources are 

determined to be necessary to meet Virginia-specific needs, 

amendments to the requirements for new sources may also be 

considered as part of this rulemaking 

The agency intends to hold a public hearing on the proposed 

action after publication in the Virginia Register. 

Statutory Authority: § 10.1-1308 of the Code of Virginia; 

Clean Air Act (§§ 110, 111, 123, 129, 171, 172 and 182); 

40 CFR Parts 51 and 60. 

Public Comment Deadline: June 25, 2021. 

Agency Contact: Karen Sabasteanski, Department of 

Environmental Quality, 1111 East Main Street, Suite 1400 

P.O. Box 1105, Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 698-

4426, FAX (804) 698-4178, or email 

karen.sabasteanski@deq.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R21-6494; Filed April 1, 2021, 10:32 a.m. 

mailto:karen.sabasteanski@deq.virginia.gov
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REGULATIONS 

TITLE 1. ADMINISTRATION 

DEPARTMENT OF LAW 

Fast-Track Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 1VAC45-10. Regulations Governing 

Disclosure of CID (Civil Investigative Demand) (amending 

1VAC45-10-10, 1VAC45-10-30, 1VAC45-10-70, 1VAC45-

10-80). 

Statutory Authority: § 59.1-9.10 of the Code of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: No public hearing is currently 

scheduled. 

Public Comment Deadline: May 26, 2021. 

Effective Date: June 14, 2021. 

Agency Contact: R. Thomas Payne, II, Senior Assistant 

Attorney General, Section Chief, Department of Law, Office 

of the Attorney General, 202 North 9th Street, Richmond, VA 

23219, telephone (804) 225-2019, or email 

oagregcoordinator@oag.state.va.us. 

Basis: The Office of the Attorney General (OAG) is the 

promulgating agency. The Attorney General is the chief 

executive officer of the Virginia Department of Law and is 

authorized to perform such duties as may be provided by § 2.2-

500 of the Code of Virginia. Section 59.1-9.10 of the Code of 

Virginia authorizes the Attorney General to promulgate rules 

and regulations to implement and carry out the provisions of 

the Virginia Antitrust Act (§ 59.1-9.1 et seq. of the Code of 

Virginia), giving the Attorney General authority to issue a civil 

investigative demand (CID). 

Purpose: The amendments serve the public welfare by 

promoting enforcement of the Bad Faith Assertions of Patent 

Infringement law and encouraging coordination between 

consumer protection authorities operating in different states. 

Rationale for Using Fast-Track Rulemaking Process: The 

proposed regulatory changes were prompted by a periodic 

review conducted by the OAG. 1VAC45-10 (the CID 

regulations) were last amended in November 2015 pursuant to 

another periodic review. The proposed amendments are 

expected to be noncontroversial because they do not directly 

affect the public. The direct effect of the CID Regulations is 

limited to law-enforcement authorities that represent the 

Commonwealth (and its political subdivisions) in enforcing the 

Virginia Antitrust Act and other consumer protection statutes 

that incorporate its CID provisions. In addition, the CID 

Regulations merely establish a formal, transparent process for 

the OAG to evaluate information sharing requests it receives 

from other Virginia law-enforcement authorities that enforce 

the same laws. One proposed amendment extends coverage to 

allow the OAG to share CID material it receives with other 

Virginia law-enforcement authorities that enforce the Bad 

Faith Assertions of Patent Infringement law. The other 

amendment makes clear that the CID Regulations do not apply 

to information sharing requests the OAG may receive from 

law-enforcement authorities that represent states other than the 

Commonwealth, similar to the manner in which the CID 

Regulations do not apply to requests the OAG may receive 

from federal law-enforcement authorities. 

Substance: The first amendment makes clear that the OAG can 

share CID material with other Virginia law-enforcement 

authorities that enforce the Bad Faith Assertions of Patent 

Infringement law. The law gives this authority to local 

Commonwealth Attorneys. The second amendment makes 

clear that the CID Regulations do not apply to the OAG sharing 

CID material with Attorneys General and agencies in other 

states that enforce similar consumer protection laws. The CID 

Regulations already make clear that their provisions do not 

apply to the OAG sharing of CID material with federal law-

enforcement authorities. The CID provisions found within the 

Virginia Antitrust Act, which are incorporated mutatis 

mutandis into each of the other consumer protection statutes 

listed, are clear that the OAG can share investigative material 

with other federal and state law-enforcement authorities that 

have restrictions governing confidentiality similar to those 

contained in § 59.1-9.10 of the Code of Virginia. 

Issues: The first proposed amendment will benefit the OAG 

and local Commonwealth Attorneys by allowing the sharing of 

CID material if it relates to possible violations of the Bad Faith 

Assertions of Patent Infringement law. The second proposed 

amendment will benefit the OAG and the Attorneys General 

and associated agencies in other states that enforce similar 

consumer protection laws by making clear that nothing in the 

CID Regulations limits Virginia OAG ability to share CID 

material with those agencies. The OAG is still limited, 

however, by the CID statute itself that makes clear that the 

OAG can only share CID material with federal and state law-

enforcement authorities that have similar restrictions 

governing confidentiality. Neither proposed amendment 

results in any disadvantages to the public or the agency. 

Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 

Analysis: 

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. 

Following a periodic review,1 the Department of Law 

(Department) proposes to update this regulation regarding civil 

investigative demands (CID) to clarify that 1) CIDs issued 

mailto:oagregcoordinator@oag.state.va.us
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pursuant to the Bad Faith Assertions of Patent Infringement 

statutes are subject to this regulation, and 2) this regulation 

does not apply to law-enforcement authorities in other states. 

Background. The Virginia Antitrust Act, the Solicitation of 

Contributions law, Virginia Consumer Protection Act, and the 

Virginia Telephone Privacy Protection Act all authorize the 

Attorney General to issue CIDs. This regulation contains rules 

on sharing of information obtained through such demands with 

local law enforcement authorities (e.g., local Commonwealth 

Attorneys).  

Estimated Benefits and Costs. Following a periodic review of 

this regulation, the Department proposes that the authority to 

share information obtained through CIDs issued pursuant to 

the "Bad Faith Assertions of Patent Infringement" statutes, 

which were enacted by Chapter 810 and 819 of the 2014 Acts 

of Assembly,2 be incorporated in the regulatory text. 

The Department states that since 2015 it has handled between 

15 and 20 cases involving bad faith assertions of patent 

infringement, most of which did not involve litigation. 

Furthermore, the Department asserts that while these CIDs 

could have been issued under the statute, no CIDs have been 

issued under the bad faith assertions of patent infringement law 

during the same time period nor has any of the local 

Commonwealth's Attorneys with whom it shares enforcement 

authority requested sharing of such CID material. The 

proposed change mainly clarifies the existing authority of the 

Department to issue CIDs and share the information regarding 

bad faith assertions of patent infringement. Thus, the proposed 

amendment is not expected to create any economic effects if 

this change becomes final other than improving the clarity of 

the text. 

Additionally, consistent with the Code of Virginia § 59.1-

9.10(M), the Department proposes to clarify that sharing of 

CID information with law-enforcement authorities 

representing states other than the Commonwealth is not limited 

by this regulation. Current language is clear that sharing of CID 

information with federal authorities is not inhibited by this 

regulation. The proposed change would clarify that this 

regulation also does not inhibit the Department's authority to 

share information with law enforcement authorities from other 

states. This change is also not expected to create any economic 

effects upon becoming final other than improving the clarity of 

the regulatory text. 

Businesses and Other Entities Affected. The proposed 

regulation applies to the Department and the 120 local 

Commonwealth's Attorneys who have authority to enforce the 

Bad Faith Assertions of Patent Infringement statutes. As noted, 

the proposals mainly clarify the regulatory text. Thus, no 

adverse economic impact3 on any entity is indicated and no 

entity appears to be disproportionately affected. 

Small Businesses4 Affected. The proposed amendments do not 

adversely affect small businesses.  

Localities5 Affected.6 The proposed amendments neither 

disproportionately affect particular localities nor introduce 

costs for local governments.  

Projected Impact on Employment. The proposed amendments 

do not affect employment. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. The proposed 

amendments neither effect the use and value of private 

property nor affect real estate development costs. 

_____________________________ 
1https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/ViewPReview.cfm?PRid=1998 

2https://lis.virginia.gov/cgi-bin/legp604.exe?141 ful CHAP0810&141 ful 

CHAP0810 

https://lis.virginia.gov/cgi-bin/legp604.exe?141 ful CHAP0819&141 ful 

CHAP0819 

3Adverse impact is indicated if there is any increase in net cost or reduction in 

net revenue for any entity, even if the benefits exceed the costs for all entities 

combined. 

4Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.04 of the Code of Virginia, small business is defined 

as "a business entity, including its affiliates, that (i) is independently owned 

and operated and (ii) employs fewer than 500 full-time employees or has gross 

annual sales of less than $6 million." 

5"Locality" can refer to either local governments or the locations in the 

Commonwealth where the activities relevant to the regulatory change are most 

likely to occur. 

6§ 2.2-4007.04 defines "particularly affected" as bearing disproportionate 

material impact. 

Agency's Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The agency 

concurs with the economic impact analysis performed by the 

Department of Planning and Budget. 

Summary: 

Pursuant to Chapters 810 and 819 of the 2014 Acts of 

Assembly, the amendments provide a uniform procedure for 

select Virginia law-enforcement authorities to request 

copies of civil investigative demand (CID) material 

obtained through CIDs issued pursuant to the Virginia 

Antitrust Act, Solicitation of Contributions law, Virginia 

Consumer Protection Act, and Virginia Telephone Privacy 

Protection Act. The amendments (i) extend coverage to 

CIDs issued pursuant to the Bad Faith Assertions of Patent 

Infringement law, which was enacted in 2014 but is not 

currently included in the list of laws governed by the CID 

regulations, and (ii) clarify that the chapter does not apply 

to law-enforcement authorities representing states other 

than the Commonwealth. 

1VAC45-10-10. Definitions. 

The following words and terms when used in this chapter 

shall have the following meanings, unless the context clearly 

indicates otherwise: 

"Bad Faith Assertions of Patent Infringement law" means 

Chapter 18.1 (§ 59.1-215.1 et seq.) of Title 59.1 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

"Law-enforcement authority" means any public official, and 

his designees, (i) representing the Commonwealth, which 

https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/ViewPReview.cfm?PRid=1998
https://lis.virginia.gov/cgi-bin/legp604.exe?141%20ful%20CHAP0810&141%20ful%20CHAP0810
https://lis.virginia.gov/cgi-bin/legp604.exe?141%20ful%20CHAP0810&141%20ful%20CHAP0810
https://lis.virginia.gov/cgi-bin/legp604.exe?141%20ful%20CHAP0819&141%20ful%20CHAP0819
https://lis.virginia.gov/cgi-bin/legp604.exe?141%20ful%20CHAP0819&141%20ful%20CHAP0819
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includes its political subdivisions and its public agencies, and 

(ii) empowered to bring civil actions to enforce the Virginia 

Antitrust Act, Virginia Consumer Protection Act, Virginia 

Telephone Privacy Protection Act, the Bad Faith Assertions of 

Patent Infringement law, or the Solicitation of Contributions 

law. 

"Material" means any information taken, furnished, received, 

examined, or copied pursuant to civil investigative demands 

issued by the Attorney General pursuant to the Virginia 

Antitrust Act, the Virginia Consumer Protection Act, the 

Virginia Telephone Privacy Protection Act, the Bad Faith 

Assertions of Patent Infringement law, or the Solicitation of 

Contributions law, including, but not limited to, names, 

testimony, documents, or answers to interrogatories. 

"Person" means any natural person, corporation, trust, 

partnership, association, company, or any other legal entity. 

"Solicitation of Contributions law" means Chapter 5 (§ 57-48 

et seq.) of Title 57 of the Code of Virginia. 

"Virginia Antitrust Act" means Chapter 1.1 (§ 59.1-9.1 et 

seq.) of Title 59.1 of the Code of Virginia. 

"Virginia Consumer Protection Act" means Chapter 17 

(§ 59.1-196 et seq.) of Title 59.1 of the Code of Virginia. 

"Virginia Telephone Privacy Protection Act" means Chapter 

44 (§ 59.1-510 et seq.) of Title 59 of the Code of Virginia. 

1VAC45-10-30. Applicability. 

This chapter shall apply to all law-enforcement authorities 

that request material from the Attorney General. This chapter 

shall not apply to federal law-enforcement authorities or to 

law-enforcement authorities that represent states other than the 

Commonwealth. 

1VAC45-10-70. Restrictions on use. 

The law-enforcement authority and its custodian in receipt of 

material shall strictly maintain the confidentiality of the 

material. The law-enforcement authority shall use material 

provided pursuant to this chapter to conduct an investigation 

into violations of the Virginia Antitrust Act, the Virginia 

Consumer Protection Act, the Virginia Telephone Privacy 

Protection Act and, the Bad Faith Assertions of Patent 

Infringement law, or the Solicitation of Contributions law or to 

conduct any litigation related to such violations. Nothing in 

this section shall preclude the use of the materials provided by 

this chapter before a court of law except as may otherwise be 

precluded by law. 

1VAC45-10-80. Restrictions on disclosure. 

The law-enforcement authority and its custodian in receipt of 

materials shall not release material provided pursuant to this 

chapter, either directly or indirectly, to any person not 

employed by or assigned to the law-enforcement authority for 

purposes of enforcement of the Virginia Antitrust Act, the 

Virginia Consumer Protection Act, the Virginia Telephone 

Privacy Act, the Bad Faith Assertions of Patent Infringement 

law, or the Solicitation of Contributions law, nor to any other 

law-enforcement authority. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R21-6593; Filed March 31, 2021, 4:27 p.m. 

TREASURY BOARD 

Fast-Track Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 1VAC75-11. Public Participation 

Guidelines (amending 1VAC75-11-50). 

Statutory Authority: §§ 2.2-2416 and 2.2-4007.02 of the Code 

of Virginia 

Public Hearing Information: No public hearing is currently 

scheduled. 

Public Comment Deadline: May 26, 2021. 

Effective Date: June 11, 2021. 

Agency Contact: William Watt, Senior Policy Analyst, 

Department of the Treasury, 101 North 14th Street, Third 

Floor, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 371-6242, FAX 

(804) 225-3187, or email william.watt@trs.virginia.gov. 

Basis: Section 2.2-4007.02 of the Code of Virginia mandates 

each agency develop, adopt, and use public participation 

guidelines for soliciting the input of interested parties in the 

formation and development of its regulations. Chapter 795 of 

the 2012 Acts of Assembly provides that in formulating any 

regulation or in evidentiary hearings on regulations, an 

interested party shall be entitled to be accompanied by and 

represented by counsel or other qualified representative. 

Purpose: This regulatory change is intended to bring the public 

participation guidelines into conformance with state code and 

model guidelines development by the Department of Planning 

and Budget. The change clarifies that public commenters may 

be represented by counsel or other representatives. Public 

participation is an integral part in the adoption of regulations 

that affect the public's health, safety, and welfare. This change 

will support public participation in the board's regulatory 

processes. 

Rationale for Using Fast-Track Rulemaking Process: As this 

change is intended to update the regulation to conform with 

statute it is expected to be noncontroversial, and the fast-track 

rulemaking process is appropriate. 

Substance: Treasury has amended subsection A of 1VAC75-

11-50 to include a requirement to afford interested persons an 

opportunity to present their views and be accompanied by and 

represented by counsel or other representative in the 

promulgation of any regulatory action. 

Issues: This change clarifies language in the public 

participation guidelines stating that individuals may have 

counsel or other representatives represent them during 

regulatory processes. This will provide added assurance to 

those wishing to comment that they may be represented by 

mailto:william.watt@trs.virginia.gov
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counsel or others and have their views heard. There are no 

disadvantages to the public or the Commonwealth as a result 

of this change. 

Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 

Analysis:  

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. 

Pursuant to Chapter 795 of the 2012 Acts of Assembly,1 the 

Treasury Board (Board) proposes to specify in this regulation 

that interested persons shall be afforded an opportunity to be 

accompanied by and represented by counsel or other 

representative when submitting data, views, and arguments, 

either orally or in writing, to the agency.  

Background. Chapter 795 of the 2012 Acts of Assembly added 

to the Code of Virginia § 2.2-4007.02. "Public participation 

guidelines" that persons interested in submitting data, views, 

and arguments, either orally or in writing, to the agency also 

be afforded an opportunity to be accompanied by and 

represented by counsel or other representative.  

Estimated Benefits and Costs. The current Public Participation 

Guidelines state that: "In considering any nonemergency, 

nonexempt regulatory action, the agency shall afford interested 

persons an opportunity to submit data, views, and arguments, 

either orally or in writing, to the agency." The Board proposes 

to append "and (ii) be accompanied by and represented by 

counsel or other representative." Since the Code of Virginia 

already specifies that interested persons shall be afforded an 

opportunity to be accompanied by and represented by counsel 

or other representative, the boards proposal to add this 

language to the regulation would not change the law in effect, 

but would be beneficial in that it would inform interested 

parties who read this regulation but not the statute of their legal 

rights concerning representation.  

Businesses and Other Entities Affected. The proposed 

amendment potentially affects all individuals who comment on 

pending regulatory changes. It would particularly affect those 

who are interested in being accompanied by and represented 

by counsel or other representative, and were not previously 

aware of this right. The proposal does not produce cost. 

Small Businesses2 Affected. The proposed amendment does 

not appear to adversely affect small businesses.  

Localities3 Affected.4 The proposed amendment applies 

statewide. No locality would be particularly affected. The 

proposed amendment does not introduce costs for local 

governments. 

Projected Impact on Employment. The proposed amendment 

is unlikely to affect total employment. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. The proposed 

amendment does not affect the use and value of private 

property. The proposed amendment does not affect real estate 

development costs. 

________________________________________ 

1See http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?121 ful CHAP0795 hil 

2Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.04 of the Code of Virginia, small business is defined 

"as a business entity, including its affiliates, that (i) is independently owned 

and operated and (ii) employs fewer than 500 full-time employees or has gross 

annual sales of less than $6 million." 

3"Locality" can refer to either local governments or the locations in the 

Commonwealth where the activities relevant to the regulatory change are most 

likely to occur. 

4§ 2.2-4007.04 defines "particularly affected" as bearing disproportionate 

material impact. 

Agency's Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The agency 

concurs with the economic impact analysis of the Department 

of Planning and Budget. 

Summary: 

Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.02 of the Code of Virginia, the 

amendment provides that interested persons submitting 

data, views, and arguments on a regulatory action may be 

accompanied by and represented by counsel or another 

representative. 

1VAC75-11-50. Public comment. 

A. In considering any nonemergency, nonexempt regulatory 

action, the agency shall afford interested persons an 

opportunity to (i) submit data, views, and arguments, either 

orally or in writing, to the agency; and (ii) be accompanied by 

and represented by counsel or other representative. Such 

opportunity to comment shall include an online public 

comment forum on the Town Hall. 

1. To any requesting person, the agency shall provide copies 

of the statement of basis, purpose, substance, and issues; the 

economic impact analysis of the proposed or fast-track 

regulatory action; and the agency's response to public 

comments received. 

2. The agency may begin crafting a regulatory action prior 

to or during any opportunities it provides to the public to 

submit comments. 

B. The agency shall accept public comments in writing after 

the publication of a regulatory action in the Virginia Register 

as follows: 

1. For a minimum of 30 calendar days following the 

publication of the notice of intended regulatory action 

(NOIRA). 

2. For a minimum of 60 calendar days following the 

publication of a proposed regulation. 

3. For a minimum of 30 calendar days following the 

publication of a reproposed regulation. 

4. For a minimum of 30 calendar days following the 

publication of a final adopted regulation. 

5. For a minimum of 30 calendar days following the 

publication of a fast-track regulation. 

6. For a minimum of 21 calendar days following the 

publication of a notice of periodic review. 

http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?121%20ful%20CHAP0795%20hil
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7. Not later than 21 calendar days following the publication 

of a petition for rulemaking. 

C. The agency may determine if any of the comment periods 

listed in subsection B of this section shall be extended. 

D. If the Governor finds that one or more changes with 

substantial impact have been made to a proposed regulation, he 

may require the agency to provide an additional 30 calendar 

days to solicit additional public comment on the changes in 

accordance with § 2.2-4013 C of the Code of Virginia. 

E. The agency shall send a draft of the agency's summary 

description of public comment to all public commenters on the 

proposed regulation at least five days before final adoption of 

the regulation pursuant to § 2.2-4012 E of the Code of Virginia. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R21-6695; Filed March 29, 2021, 4:05 p.m. 

  ––––––––––––––––––  

TITLE 4. CONSERVATION AND NATURAL 
RESOURCES 

BOARD OF WILDLIFE RESOURCES 

Proposed Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Board of Wildlife Resources is 

claiming an exemption from the Administrative Process Act 

pursuant to § 2.2-4002 A 3 of the Code of Virginia when 

promulgating regulations regarding the management of 

wildlife. 

Title of Regulation: 4VAC15-20. Definitions and 

Miscellaneous: In General (amending 4VAC15-20-10, 

4VAC15-20-65, 4VAC15-20-100, 4VAC15-20-130, 

4VAC15-20-150, 4VAC15-20-240; adding 4VAC15-20-151, 

4VAC15-20-152). 

Statutory Authority: §§ 29.1-103 and 29.1-501 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: 

May 27, 2021 - 12 a.m. - Department of Wildlife Resources, 

7870 Villa Park Drive, Suite 400, Henrico, Virginia. 

Public Comment Deadline: May 10, 2021. 

Agency Contact: Aaron Proctor, Regulations Coordinator, 

Department of Wildlife Resources, 7870 Villa Park Drive, 

Suite 400, Henrico, VA 23228, telephone (804) 367-8341, or 

email aaron.proctor@dwr.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The proposed amendments (i) add a resident and 

nonresident elk hunting license, (ii) lower the price of a 

nonresident license to freshwater fish in designated stocked 

trout waters, (iii) clarify that class one and class two electric 

power-assist bicycles may be used on Wildlife Management 

Areas where bicycles are allowed, (iv) update the List of the 

Federal Endangered and Threatened Species, (v) add the 

Clinch dace and red-cockaded woodpecker and remove the 

barking treefrog from the state Threatened and Endangered 

Species List, (vi) set calendar restrictions on leaving 

treestands on department-owned lands, (vii) add 

parameters on habitat manipulation on department-owned 

lands, (viii) add a prohibition on target shooting on 

department-owned lands that are not designated sighting in 

ranges, (ix) prohibit use of drones to assist in a hunt on the 

same calendar day, and (x) define the Counties of 

Buchanan, Dickenson, and Wise as the newly-established 

Elk Management Zone. 

4VAC15-20-10. Definitions; generally. 

A. Words and phrases used in any regulations made by the 

board shall have the same meaning, unless the context clearly 

indicates otherwise, as is given for such words and phrases in 

Title 29.1 (§ 29.1-100 et seq.) of the Code of Virginia. 

B. The following word or term when used in this chapter shall 

have the following meaning unless the context indicates 

otherwise: 

"Elk Management Zone" means the Counties of (i) Buchanan, 

(ii) Dickenson, and (iii) Wise, and the cities and towns therein. 

4VAC15-20-65. Hunting, trapping, and fishing license and 

permit fees. 

In accordance with the authority of the board under 

subdivision 16 of § 29.1-103 of the Code of Virginia, the 

following fees are established for hunting, trapping, and 

fishing licenses and permits: 

Virginia Resident Licenses to Hunt 

Type license Fee 

One-year Resident License to Hunt, for 

licensees 16 years of age or older 
$22.00 

Two-year Resident License to Hunt, for 

licensees 16 years of age or older 
$43.00 

Three-year Resident License to Hunt, for 

licensees 16 years of age or older 
$64.00 

Four-year Resident License to Hunt, for 

licensees 16 years of age or older 
$85.00 

County or City Resident License to Hunt in 

County or City of Residence Only, for 

licensees 16 years of age or older 

$15.00 

Resident Senior Citizen Annual License to 

Hunt, for licensees 65 years of age or older 
$8.00 

Resident Junior License to Hunt, for 

licensees 12 through 15 years of age, 
$7.50 

mailto:aaron.proctor@dwr.virginia.gov
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optional for licensees younger than 12 

years of age 

Resident Youth Combination License to 

Hunt, and to hunt bear, deer, and turkey, to 

hunt with archery equipment during 

archery hunting season, and to hunt with 

muzzleloading guns during muzzleloading 

hunting season, for licensees younger than 

16 years of age 

$15.00 

Resident Sportsman License to Hunt and 

Freshwater Fish, and to hunt bear, deer, 

and turkey, to hunt with archery equipment 

during archery hunting season, to hunt with 

muzzleloading guns during muzzleloading 

hunting season, to fish in designated 

stocked trout waters (also listed under 

Virginia Resident Licenses to Fish) 

$99.00 

Resident Hunting License for Partially 

Disabled Veterans 
$11.00 

Resident Infant Lifetime License to Hunt $130.00 

Resident Junior Lifetime License to Hunt, 

for licensees younger than 12 years of age 

at the time of purchase 

$260.00 

Resident Lifetime License to Hunt, for 

licensees at the time of purchase: 
 

through 44 years of age $265.00 

45 through 50 years of age $215.00 

51 through 55 years of age $165.00 

56 through 60 years of age $115.00 

61 through 64 years of age $65.00 

65 years of age and older $25.00 

Totally and Permanently Disabled Resident 

Special Lifetime License to Hunt 
$15.00 

Service-Connected Totally and 

Permanently Disabled Veteran Resident 

Lifetime License to Hunt or Freshwater 

Fish (also listed under Virginia Resident 

Licenses to Fish) 

no fee 

Virginia Resident Licenses for Additional Hunting 

Privileges 

Type license or permit Fee 

Resident Deer and Turkey Hunting 

License, for licensees 16 years of age or 

older 

$22.00 

Resident Junior Deer and Turkey Hunting 

License, for licensees younger than 16 

years of age 

$7.50 

Resident Archery License to Hunt with 

archery equipment during archery hunting 

season 

$17.00 

Resident Bear Hunting License $20.00 

Resident Muzzleloading License to Hunt 

during muzzleloading hunting season 
$17.00 

Resident Bonus Deer Permit $17.00 

Resident Fox Hunting License to hunt 

foxes on horseback with hounds without 

firearms (not required of an individual 

holding a general License to Hunt) 

$22.00 

Resident Special Elk Hunting License (not 

required outside of the Elk Management 

Zone and only awarded to individuals 

through a department elk license program)  

$40.00 

Virginia Nonresident Licenses to Hunt 

Type license Fee 

Nonresident License to Hunt, for licensees 

16 years of age or older 
$110.00 

Nonresident Three-Day Trip License to 

Hunt 
$59.00 

Nonresident Youth License to Hunt, for 

licensees: 
 

younger than 12 years of age $12.00 

12 through 15 years of age $15.00 

Nonresident Youth Combination License to 

Hunt, and to hunt bear, deer, and turkey, to 

hunt with archery equipment during archery 

hunting season, and to hunt with 

muzzleloading guns during muzzleloading 

hunting season, for licensees younger than 

16 years of age 

$30.00 

Nonresident Annual Hunting License for 

Partially Disabled Veterans 
$55.00 

Nonresident Annual Hunting License for 

Totally and Permanently Disabled Veterans 
$27.50 

Nonresident Infant Lifetime License to Hunt $275.00 

Nonresident Lifetime License to Hunt $580.00 
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Virginia Nonresident Licenses for Additional Hunting 

Privileges 

Type license or permit Fee 

Nonresident Deer and Turkey Hunting 

License, for licensees: 
 

16 years of age or older $85.00 

12 through 15 years of age $15.00 

younger than 12 years of age $12.00 

Nonresident Bear Hunting License $150.00 

Nonresident Archery License to Hunt with 

archery equipment during archery hunting 

season 

$30.00 

Nonresident Muzzleloading License to Hunt 

during muzzleloading hunting season 
$30.00 

Nonresident Shooting Preserve License to 

Hunt within the boundaries of a licensed 

shooting preserve 

$22.00 

Nonresident Bonus Deer Permit $30.00 

Nonresident Fox Hunting License to hunt 

foxes on horseback with hounds without 

firearms (not required of an individual 

holding a general License to Hunt) 

$110.00 

Nonresident Special Elk Hunting License 

(not required outside of the Elk 

Management Zone and only awarded to 

individuals through a department elk license 

program)  

$400.00 

Miscellaneous Licenses or Permits to Hunt 

Type license or permit Fee 

Waterfowl Hunting Stationary Blind in 

Public Waters License 
$22.50 

Waterfowl Hunting Floating Blind in Public 

Waters License 
$40.00 

Foxhound Training Preserve License $17.00 

Public Access Lands for Sportsmen Permit 

to Hunt, Trap, or Fish on Designated Lands 

(also listed under Miscellaneous Licenses or 

Permits to Fish) 

$17.00 

Virginia Resident and Nonresident Licenses to Trap 

Type license Fee 

One-year Resident License to Trap, for 

licensees 16 years of age or older 
$45.00 

Two-year Resident License to Trap, for 

licensees 16 years of age or older 
$89.00 

Three-year Resident License to Trap, for 

licensees 16 years of age or older 
$133.00 

Four-year Resident License to Trap, for 

licensees 16 years of age or older 
$177.00 

County or City Resident License to Trap in 

County or City of Residence Only 
$20.00 

Resident Junior License to Trap, for 

licensees younger than 16 years of age 
$10.00 

Resident Senior Citizen License to Trap, for 

licensees 65 years of age or older 
$8.00 

Resident Senior Citizen Lifetime License to 

Trap, for licensees 65 years of age or older 
$25.00 

Totally and Permanently Disabled Resident 

Special Lifetime License to Trap 
$15.00 

Service-Connected Totally and Permanently 

Disabled Veteran Resident Lifetime License 

to Trap 

$15.00 

Nonresident License to Trap $205.00 

Virginia Resident Licenses to Fish 

Type license Fee 

One-year Resident License to Freshwater 

Fish 
$22.00 

Two-year Resident License to Freshwater 

Fish 
$43.00 

Three-year Resident License to Freshwater 

Fish 
$64.00 

Four-year Resident License to Freshwater 

Fish 
$85.00 

County or City Resident License to 

Freshwater Fish in County or City of 

Residence Only 

$15.00 

Resident License to Freshwater Fish, for 

licensees 65 years of age or older 
$8.00 

Resident License to Fish in Designated 

Stocked Trout Waters 
$22.00 
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Resident License to Freshwater and 

Saltwater Fish 
$38.50 

Resident License to Freshwater Fish for 

Five Consecutive Days 
$13.00 

Resident License to Freshwater and 

Saltwater Fish for Five Consecutive Days 
$23.00 

Resident Sportsman License to Hunt and 

Freshwater Fish, and to hunt bear, deer, and 

turkey, to hunt with archery equipment 

during archery hunting season, to hunt with 

muzzleloading guns during muzzleloading 

hunting season, to fish in designated stocked 

trout waters (also listed under Virginia 

Resident Licenses to Hunt) 

$99.00 

Resident Fishing License for Partially 

Disabled Veterans 
$11.00 

Resident Infant Lifetime License to Fish $130.00 

Resident Special Lifetime License to 

Freshwater Fish, for licensees at the time of 

purchase: 

 

through 44 years of age $265.00 

45 through 50 years of age $215.00 

51 through 55 years of age $165.00 

56 through 60 years of age $115.00 

61 through 64 years of age $65.00 

65 years of age and older $25.00 

Resident Special Lifetime License to Fish in 

Designated Stocked Trout Waters, for 

licensees at the time of purchase: 

 

through 44 years of age $265.00 

45 through 50 years of age $215.00 

51 through 55 years of age $165.00 

56 through 60 years of age $115.00 

61 through 64 years of age $65.00 

65 years of age and older $25.00 

Totally and Permanently Disabled Resident 

Special Lifetime License to Freshwater Fish 
$15.00 

Service-Connected Totally and Permanently 

Disabled Veteran Resident Lifetime License 

to Hunt and Freshwater Fish (also listed 

under Virginia Resident Licenses to Hunt) 

no fee 

Virginia Nonresident Licenses to Fish 

Type license Fee 

Nonresident License to Freshwater Fish $46.00 

Nonresident License to Freshwater Fish in 

Designated Stocked Trout Waters 
$46.00 $22.00 

Nonresident License to Freshwater and 

Saltwater Fish 
$70.00 

Nonresident Fishing License for Partially 

Disabled Veterans 
$23.00 

Nonresident Annual Fishing License for 

Totally and Permanently Disabled Veterans 
$11.50 

Nonresident License to Freshwater Fish for 

One Day 
$7.00 

Nonresident License to Freshwater Fish for 

Five Consecutive Days 
$20.00 

Nonresident License to Freshwater and 

Saltwater Fish for Five Consecutive Days 
$30.00 

Nonresident Infant Lifetime License to Fish $275.00 

Nonresident Special Lifetime License to 

Freshwater Fish 
$580.00 

Nonresident Special Lifetime License to in 

Fish in Designated Stocked Trout Waters 
$580.00 

Miscellaneous Licenses or Permits to Fish 

Type license or permit Fee 

Permit to Fish for One Day at Board-

Designated Stocked Trout Fishing Areas with 

Daily Use Fees 

$7.00 

Public Access Lands for Sportsmen Permit to 

Hunt, Trap, or Fish on Designated Lands 

(also listed under Miscellaneous Licenses or 

Permits to Hunt) 

$17.00 

Special Guest Fishing License $60.00 

4VAC15-20-100. Prohibited use of vehicles on department-

owned lands. 

It shall be unlawful on department-owned lands to drive 

through or around gates designed to prevent entry with any 

type of motorized vehicle or to use such vehicles to travel 

anywhere on such lands except on roads open to vehicular 

traffic. Any motor-driven vehicle shall conform with all state 

laws for highway travel; provided, that this requirement shall 

not apply to the operation of motor vehicles for administrative 

purposes by department-authorized personnel on department-
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owned lands. Nothing in this section shall be construed to 

prohibit the use of Class one or Class two electric power-

assisted bicycles as defined in § 46.2-100 of the Code of 

Virginia where traditional bicycles are allowed. Class three 

electric power-assisted bicycles as defined in § 46.2-100 are 

prohibited. Nothing in this section shall be construed to 

prohibit the department from allowing the use of wheelchairs 

or other power-driven mobility devices by individuals with 

mobility disabilities in accordance with the federal Americans 

with Disabilities Act of 1990 (P.L. 101-336, 104 Stat. 327). 

For the purposes of this section, the term "wheelchair" means 

a manually operated or power-driven device designed 

primarily for use by an individual with a mobility disability for 

the main purpose of indoor, or of both indoor and outdoor, 

locomotion. "Other power-driven mobility device" means any 

mobility device powered by batteries, fuel, or other engines, 

whether or not designed primarily for use by individuals with 

mobility disabilities, that is used by individuals with mobility 

disabilities for the purpose of locomotion, including golf cars, 

electronic personal assistive mobility devices, or any mobility 

device designed to operate in areas without defined pedestrian 

routes, but that is not a wheelchair within the meaning of this 

section. 

4VAC15-20-130. Endangered and threatened species; 

adoption of federal list; additional species enumerated. 

A. The board hereby adopts the Federal Endangered and 

Threatened Species List, Endangered Species Act of December 

28, 1973 (16 USC §§ 1531-1543), as amended as of May 7, 

2019 January 13, 2021, and declares all species listed thereon 

to be endangered or threatened species in the Commonwealth. 

Pursuant to subdivision 12 of § 29.1-103 of the Code of 

Virginia, the director of the department is hereby delegated 

authority to propose adoption of modifications and 

amendments to the Federal Endangered and Threatened 

Species List in accordance with the procedures of §§ 29.1-501 

and 29.1-502 of the Code of Virginia. 

B. In addition to the provisions of subsection A of this section, 

the following species are declared endangered or threatened in 

this Commonwealth, and are afforded the protection provided 

by Article 6 (§ 29.1-563 et seq.) of Chapter 5 of Title 29.1 of 

the Code of Virginia: 

1. Fish: 

Endangered: 

 Dace, Clinch 
Chrosomus sp. cf. 

saylori 
 

Dace, Tennessee Phoxinus 

tennesseensis 
 

Darter, sharphead Etheostoma acuticeps 
 

Darter, variegate Etheostoma variatum 

 

Sunfish, blackbanded Enneacanthus 

chaetodon 

Threatened: 
 

Darter, Carolina Etheostoma collis 
 

Darter, golden Etheostoma 

denoncourti 
 

Darter, greenfin Etheostoma 

chlorobranchium 
 

Darter, sickle Percina willliamsi 
 

Darter, western sand Ammocrypta clara 
 

Madtom, orangefin Noturus gilberti 
 

Paddlefish Polyodon spathula 
 

Shiner, emerald Notropis atherinoides 
 

Shiner, steelcolor Cyprinella whipplei 
 

Shiner, whitemouth Notropis alborus 

2. Amphibians: 

Endangered: 
 

Salamander, eastern tiger Ambystoma tigrinum 

Threatened: 
 

Salamander, Mabee's Ambystoma mabeei 
 

Treefrog, barking Hyla gratiosa 

3. Reptiles: 

Endangered: 
 

Rattlesnake, canebrake (Coastal 

Plain population of timber 

rattlesnake) 

Crotalus horridus 

 

Turtle, bog Glyptemys 

muhlenbergii 
 

Turtle, eastern chicken Deirochelys reticularia 

reticularia 

Threatened: 
 

Lizard, eastern glass Ophisaurus ventralis 
 

Turtle, wood Glyptemys insculpta 

4. Birds: 

Endangered: 
 

Plover, Wilson's Charadrius wilsonia 
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Rail, black Laterallus jamaicensis 

 Woodpecker, red-cockaded Dryobates borealis 
 

Wren, Bewick's Thryomanes bewickii 

bewickii 

Threatened: 
 

Falcon, peregrine Falco peregrinus 
 

Shrike, loggerhead Lanius ludovicianus 
 

Sparrow, Bachman's Aimophila aestivalis 
 

Sparrow, Henslow's Ammodramus 

henslowii 
 

Tern, gull-billed Sterna nilotica 

5. Mammals: 

Endangered: 
 

Bat, Rafinesque's eastern big-

eared 

Corynorhinus 

rafinesquii macrotis 
 

Bat, little brown Myotis lucifugus 
 

Bat, tri-colored Perimyotis subflavus 
 

Hare, snowshoe Lepus americanus 
 

Shrew, American water Sorex palustris 
 

Vole, rock Microtus chrotorrhinus 

6. Mollusks: 

Endangered: 
 

Coil, rubble Helicodiscus lirellus 
 

Coil, shaggy Helicodiscus diadema 
 

Deertoe Truncilla truncata 
 

Elephantear Elliptio crassidens 
 

Elimia, spider Elimia arachnoidea 
 

Floater, brook Alasmidonta varicosa 
 

Ghostsnail, thankless Holsingeria 

unthanksensis 
 

Heelsplitter, Tennessee Lasmigona holstonia 
 

Lilliput, purple Toxolasma lividus 
 

Mussel, slippershell Alasmidonta viridis 
 

Pigtoe, Ohio Pleurobema cordatum 
 

Pigtoe, pyramid Pleurobema rubrum 

 

Springsnail, Appalachian Fontigens bottimeri 
 

Springsnail (no common name) Fontigens morrisoni 
 

Supercoil, spirit Paravitrea hera 

Threatened: 
 

Floater, green Lasmigona subviridis 
 

Papershell, fragile Leptodea fragilis 
 

Pigtoe, Atlantic Fusconaiamasoni 
 

Pimpleback Quadrula pustulosa 

pustulosa 
 

Pistolgrip Tritogonia verrucosa 
 

Riversnail, spiny Iofluvialis 
 

Sandshell, black Ligumia recta 
 

Supercoil, brown Paravitrea septadens 

7. Arthropods: 

Threatened: 
 

Amphipod, Madison Cave Stygobromus 

stegerorum 
 

Pseudotremia, Ellett Valley Pseudotremia 

cavernarum 
 

Xystodesmid, Laurel Creek Sigmoria whiteheadi 

C. It shall be unlawful to take, transport, process, sell, or offer 

for sale within the Commonwealth any threatened or 

endangered species of fish or wildlife except as authorized by 

law. 

D. The incidental take of certain species may occur in certain 

circumstances and with the implementation of certain 

conservation practices as described in this subsection: 
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Species Location Allowable Circumstances 
Required Conservation 

Measures 

Expected Incidental 

Take 

Little brown 

bat 

Tri-colored bat 

Statewide Human health risk – need for 

removal of individual 

animals from human-habited 

structures. 

Between May 15 and August 

31, no exclusion of bats from 

maternity colonies, except for 

human health concerns. 

DGIF-permitted Department-

permitted nuisance wildlife 

control operator with DGIF-

recognized department-

recognized certification in 

techniques associated with 

removal of bats. 

Use of exclusion devices that 

allow individual animals to 

escape. 

Manual collection of 

individual animals incapable 

of sustaining themselves; 

transport to a willing and 

appropriately permitted 

wildlife rehabilitator. 

Little to no direct 

lethal taking 

expected. 

Public safety or property 

damage risk – need for tree 

removal, application of 

prescribed fire, or other land 

management actions 

affecting known roosts; 

removal of animals from 

known roosts. 

Hibernacula: no tree removal, 

use of prescribed fire, or other 

land management action 

within a 250-foot radius buffer 

area from December 1 through 

April 30. Between September 

1 and November 30, increase 

the buffer to a 1/4-mile radius 

with the following conditions: 

for timber harvests greater 

than 20 acres, retain snags and 

wolf trees (if not presenting 

public safety or property risk) 

and small tree groups up to 15 

trees of 3-inch diameter at 

breast height (dbh) or greater, 

one tree group per 20 acres. 

Otherwise, document the need 

(public safety, property 

damage risk) for tree removal 

during this period and verify 

that no known roost trees exist 

in the buffer area. Tree 

removal and prescribed fire 

are permitted outside of these 

dates. 

Known roost trees: no tree 

removal, use of prescribed 

fire, or other land management 

action within a 150-foot radius 

buffer area from June 1 

Little to no direct 

lethal taking 

expected. 
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through July 31, if possible. 

Otherwise, document public 

safety or property damage 

risk. 

DGIF-permitted Department-

permitted nuisance wildlife 

control operator with DGIF 

recognized department-

recognized certification in 

techniques associated with 

removal of bats. 

Use of exclusion devices that 

allow individual animals to 

escape. 

Manual collection of 

individual animals incapable 

of sustaining themselves; 

transport to a willing and 

appropriately permitted 

wildlife rehabilitator. 

Facility or project operations 

when conducted in 

accordance with a DGIF-

approved plan associated 

with these species. 

Development and 

implementation of a plan that 

avoids, minimizes, and 

mitigates incidental take 

associated with an otherwise 

lawful activity. 

The plan shall include, but not 

be limited to, documenting the 

specific condition or action, 

the specific mitigation to be 

taken, and the expected 

incidental take. 

Little to no direct 

lethal taking 

expected. 

4VAC15-20-150. Structures on department-owned lands 

and national forest lands. 

A. It shall be unlawful to construct, maintain or occupy any 

permanent structure, except by permit, on department-owned 

lands and national forest lands. This provision shall not apply 

to structures, stands or blinds provided by the department. 

B. It shall be unlawful to maintain any temporary dwelling on 

department-owned lands for a period greater than 14 

consecutive days. Any person constructing or occupying any 

temporary structure shall be responsible for complete removal 

of such structures when vacating the site. 

C. It shall be unlawful to construct, maintain or occupy any 

tree stand on department-owned lands and national forest lands 

and on Department of Conservation and Recreation owned or 

controlled lands, provided that portable tree stands which are 

not permanently affixed may be used. 

D. Portable tree stands that are not permanently affixed can 

be placed on department-owned lands on or after September 15 

and must be removed on or prior to January 31 of the following 

calendar year. Tree stands will be considered abandoned and 

will be confiscated by the department if left on department-

owned lands after January 31. 

4VAC15-20-151. Manipulation of vegetation on 

department-owned lands.  

A. It shall be unlawful to plant, manipulate, cut, mutilate, 

destroy, or remove vegetation or to remove other minerals, 

artifacts, or other property from department-owned lands. 

B. Nothing in this section shall prohibit the gathering of 

mushrooms, picking of berries, or collection of other fruits. 

C. The use of down and dead trees and branches as firewood 

while camping on a wildlife management area shall be allowed 

by individuals with a valid camping permit issued by the 

department. 
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D. The department may issue permits for the collection of 

firewood under conditions and in locations determined by the 

department. 

E. Nothing in this section shall prohibit department 

employees, contractors, or permitees from engaging in 

agriculture, forestry, herbicide application, or other habitat 

restoration and manipulation for the purpose of enhancing 

wildlife habitat and populations. 

4VAC15-20-152. Target shooting on department-owned 

lands.  

It shall be unlawful to target shoot on any department-owned 

or department-managed lands, except at designated ranges. 

Target shooting is defined as the discharge of a firearm (as 

defined in § 18.2-308.2:2 of the Code of Virginia), 

muzzleloader (as defined in 4VAC15-50-71), or archery 

equipment (as defined in 4VAC15-40-20) for purposes other 

than hunting, trapping, or self-defense. Nothing in this 

regulation shall prohibit department employees in execution of 

their duties from training with department-issued firearms. 

4VAC15-20-240. Use of drones for certain activities 

prohibited. 

A. Except as authorized by the director or the director's 

designee, it shall by unlawful at any time for any person to use 

a drone or unmanned aircraft: 

1. To hunt, take, or kill a wild animal or to drive or herd any 

wild animal for the purpose of hunting, trapping, or killing. 

2. To attempt to locate, surveil, aid, or assist in the hunting 

of any wild animal. 

3. 2. To harass any wild animal. For the purposes of this 

section, "harass" means any action that creates the likelihood 

of injury to wildlife by annoying it to such an extent as to 

significantly disrupt normal behavior patterns, which 

include breeding, feeding, or sheltering. 

4. 3. On department-owned lands, except that department 

employees and contractors or agents acting on behalf of the 

department may use drones or other unmanned aircraft when 

addressing human safety, law enforcement, management, or 

other needs approved by the department.  

4. It shall be unlawful for any person to hunt or assist another 

to hunt on the same calendar day on a property after having 

used a drone or unmanned aircraft to locate or surveil any 

wild animal during any open season. 

B. No part of this section shall be construed to restrict the use 

of drones or other unmanned aircraft for wildlife management 

activities conducted or authorized by the department; by 

employees of the United States government or any of its 

agencies whose responsibility includes fisheries and wildlife 

management; or by county, city, or town animal control 

officers in the performance of their official duties. 

DOCUMENTS INCORPORATED BY REFERENCE 

(4VAC15-20) 

List of Native and Naturalized Fauna of Virginia, October 

2020, Virginia Department of Wildlife Resources 

List of Native and Naturalized Fauna of Virginia, January 

2021, Virginia Department of Wildlife Resources 

Federal Endangered and Threatened Animal Species as of 

May 7, 2019 

VA.R. Doc. No. R21-6734; Filed March 30, 2021, 10:41 p.m. 

Proposed Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Board of Wildlife Resources is 

claiming an exemption from the Administrative Process Act 

pursuant to § 2.2-4002 A 3 of the Code of Virginia when 

promulgating regulations regarding the management of 

wildlife. 

Title of Regulation: 4VAC15-30. Definitions and 

Miscellaneous: Importation, Possession, Sale, etc., of 

Animals (amending 4VAC15-30-40). 

Statutory Authority: §§ 29.1-103, 29.1-501, and 29.1-502 of 

the Code of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: 

May 27, 2021 - 12 a.m. - Department of Wildlife Resources, 

7870 Villa Park Drive, Suite 400, Henrico, Virginia. 

Public Comment Deadline: May 10, 2021. 

Agency Contact: Aaron Proctor, Regulations Coordinator, 

Department of Wildlife Resources, 7870 Villa Park Drive, 

Suite 400, Henrico, VA 23228, telephone (804) 367-8341, or 

email aaron.proctor@dwr.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The proposed amendments remove the Mexican axolotl from 

and add the Alabama bass to the list of predatory and 

undesirable species that cannot be imported, possessed, or 

sold within the Commonwealth without a permit. 

4VAC15-30-40. Importation requirements, possession, and 

sale of nonnative (exotic) animals. 

A. Permit required. A special permit is required and may be 

issued by the department, if consistent with the department's 

fish and wildlife management program, to import, possess, or 

sell those nonnative (exotic) animals listed in the following 

table and in 4VAC15-20-210 that the board finds and declares 

to be predatory or undesirable within the meaning and intent of 

§ 29.1-542 of the Code of Virginia, in that their introduction 

into the Commonwealth will be detrimental to the native fish 

and wildlife resources of Virginia. 

 

 

https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/4VAC15/dibr/1-13-2021FederalListedAnimals-20210408083152.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/4VAC15/dibr/1-13-2021FederalListedAnimals-20210408083152.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/4VAC15/DIBR/b10fe005933~39.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/4VAC15/DIBR/b10fe005933~39.pdf
mailto:aaron.proctor@dwr.virginia.gov
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AMPHIBIANS 

Order Family Genus/Species Common Name 

Anura Bufonidae Rhinella marina Cane toad* 

Pipidae Hymenochirus spp. 

Pseudohymenochiris merlini 

African dwarf frog 

Xenopus spp. Tongueless or African clawed frog 

Caudata Ambystomatidae All species, except Ambystoma 

mexicanum 

All mole salamanders, except Mexican axolotl 

BIRDS 

Order Family Genus/Species Common Name 

Psittaciformes Psittacidae Myiopsitta monachus Monk parakeet* 

Anseriformes Anatidae Cygnus olor Mute swan 

FISH 

Order Family Genus/Species Common Name 

Cypriniformes Catostomidae Catostomus microps Modoc sucker 

Catostomus santaanae Santa Ana sucker 

Catostomus warnerensis Warner sucker 

Ictiobus bubalus Smallmouth* buffalo 

I. cyprinellus Bigmouth* buffalo 

I. niger Black buffalo* 

Characidae Pygopristis spp. 

Pygocentrus spp. 

Rooseveltiella spp. 

Serrasalmo spp. 

Serrasalmus spp. 

Taddyella spp. 

Piranhas 

Cobitidae Misgurnus anguillicaudatus Oriental weatherfish 

Cyprinidae Aristichyhys nobilis Bighead carp* 

Chrosomus saylori Laurel dace 

Ctenopharyngodon idella Grass carp or white amur 

Cyprinella caerulea Blue shiner 

Cyprinella formosa Beautiful shiner 

Cyprinella lutrensis Red shiner 

Hypophthalmichthys molitrix Silver carp* 

Mylopharyngodom piceus Black carp* 

Notropis albizonatus Palezone shiner 

Notropis cahabae Cahaba shiner 

Notropis girardi Arkansas River shiner 

Notropis mekistocholas Cape Fear shiner 
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Notropis simus pecosensis Pecos bluntnose shiner 

Notropis topeka (= tristis) Topeka shiner 

Phoxinus cumberlandensis Blackside dace 

Rhinichthys osculus lethoporus Independence Valley speckled dace 

Rhinichthys osculus nevadensis Ash Meadows speckled dace 

Rhinichthys osculus oligoporus Clover Valley speckled dace 

Rhinichthys osculus ssp. Foskett speckled dace 

Rhinichthys osculus thermalis Kendall Warm Springs dace 

Scardinius erythrophthalmus Rudd 

Tinca tinca Tench* 

Cyprinodontiformes Poeciliidae Gambusia gaigei Big Bend gambusia 

Gambusia georgei San Marcos gambusia 

Gambusia heterochir Clear Creek gambusia 

Gambusia nobilis Pecos gambusia 

Peociliopsis occidentalis Gila topminnow 

Gasterosteiformes Gasterosteidae Gasterosteus aculeatus williamsoni Unarmored threespine stickleback 

Gobiesociformes Gobiidae Proterorhinus marmoratus Tubenose goby 

Neogobius melanostomus Round goby 

Perciformes Centrarchidae Micropterus henshalli Alabama bass 

Channidae 
Channa spp. 

Parachanna spp. 
Snakeheads 

Cichlidae Tilapia spp. Tilapia 

Gymnocephalus cernuum Ruffe* 

Elassomatidae Elassoma alabamae Spring pygmy sunfish 

Percidae Crystallaria cincotta Diamond darter 

Etheostoma chermocki Vermilion darter 

Etheostoma boschungi Slackwater darter 

Etheostoma chienense Relict darter 

Etheostoma etowahae Etowah darter 

Etheostoma fonticola Fountain darter 

Etheostoma moorei Yellowcheek darter 

Etheostoma nianguae Niangua darter 

Etheostoma nuchale Watercress darter 

Etheostoma okaloosae Okaloosa darter 

Etheostoma phytophilum Rush darter 

Etheostoma rubrum Bayou darter 

Etheostoma scotti Cherokee darter 
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Etheostoma sp. Bluemask (= jewel) darter 

Etheostoma susanae Cumberland darter 

Etheostoma wapiti Boulder darter 

Percina antesella Amber darter 

Percina aurolineata Goldline darter 

Percina jenkinsi Conasauga logperch 

Percina pantherina Leopard darter 

Percina tanasi Snail darter 

Scorpaeniformes Cottidae Cottus sp. Grotto sculpin 

Cottus paulus (= pygmaeus) Pygmy sculpin 

Siluriformes Clariidae All species Air-breathing catfish 

Ictaluridae Noturus baileyi Smoky madtom 

Noturus crypticus Chucky madtom 

Noturus placidus Neosho madtom 

Noturus stanauli Pygmy madtom 

Noturus trautmani Scioto madtom 

Synbranchiformes Synbranchidae Monopterus albus Swamp eel 

MAMMALS 

Order Family Genus/Species Common Name 

Artiodactyla Suidae All Species Pigs or Hogs* 

Cervidae All Species Deer* 

Carnivora Canidae All Species Wild Dogs,* Wolves, Coyotes or Coyote 

hybrids, Jackals and Foxes 

Ursidae All Species Bears* 

Procyonidae All Species Raccoons and* Relatives 

Mustelidae All Species Weasels, Badgers,* Skunks and Otters 

(except Mustela putorius furo) Ferret 

Viverridae All Species Civets, Genets,* Lingsangs, Mongooses, and 

Fossas 

Herpestidae All Species Mongooses* 

Hyaenidae All Species Hyenas and Aardwolves* 

Felidae All Species Cats* 

Chiroptera 

 

All Species Bats* 

Lagomorpha Lepridae Brachylagus idahoensis Pygmy rabbit 

Lepus europeaeous European hare 

Oryctolagus cuniculus European rabbit 

Sylvilagus bachmani riparius Riparian brush rabbit 
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Sylvilagus palustris hefneri Lower Keys marsh rabbit 

Rodentia 

 

All species native to Africa All species native to Africa 

Dipodidae Zapus hudsonius preblei Preble's meadow jumping mouse 

Muridae Microtus californicus scirpensis Amargosa vole 

Microtus mexicanus hualpaiensis Hualapai Mexican vole 

Microtus pennsylvanicus 

dukecampbelli 

Florida salt marsh vole 

Neotoma floridana smalli Key Largo woodrat 

Neotoma fuscipes riparia Riparian (= San Joaquin Valley) woodrat 

Oryzomys palustris natator Rice rat 

Peromyscus gossypinus allapaticola Key Largo cotton mouse 

Peromyscus polionotus allophrys Choctawhatchee beach mouse 

Peromyscus polionotus ammobates Alabama beach mouse 

Peromyscus polionotus niveiventris Southeastern beach mouse 

Peromyscus polionotus peninsularis St. Andrew beach mouse 

Peromyscus polionotus phasma Anastasia Island beach mouse 

Peromyscus polionotus trissyllepsis Perdido Key beach mouse 

Reithrodontomys raviventris Salt marsh harvest mouse 

Heteromyidae Dipodomys heermanni morroensis Morro Bay kangaroo rat 

Dipodomys ingens Giant kangaroo rat 

Dipodomys merriami parvus San Bernadino Merriam's kangaroo rat 

Dipodomys nitratoides exilis Fresno kangaroo rat 

Dipodomys nitratoides nitratoides Tipton kangaroo rat 

Dipodomys stephensi (including D. 

cascus) 

Stephens' kangaroo rat 

Perognathus longimembris pacificus Pacific pocket mouse 

Sciuridae Cynomys spp. Prairie dogs 

Spermophilus brunneus brunneus Northern Idaho ground squirrel 

Tamiasciurus hudsonicus 

grahamensis 

Mount Graham red squirrel 

Soricomorpha Soricidae Sorex ornatus relictus Buena Vista Lake ornate shrew 

MOLLUSKS 

Order Family Genus/Species Common Name 

Neotaenioglossa Hydrobiidae Potamopyrgus antipodarum New Zealand mudsnail 

Veneroida Dreissenidae Dreissena bugensis Quagga mussel 

Dreissena polymorpha Zebra mussel 
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REPTILES 

Order Family Genus/Species Common Name 

Crocodilia Alligatoridae All species Alligators, caimans* 

Crocodylidae All species Crocodiles* 

Gavialidae All species Gavials* 

Squamata Colubridae Boiga irregularis Brown tree snake* 

CRUSTACEANS 

Order Family Genus/Species Common Name 

Decapoda Cambaridae Cambarus aculabrum Cave crayfish 

Cambarus zophonastes Cave crayfish 

Orconectes rusticus Rusty crayfish 

Orconectes shoupi Nashville crayfish 

Pacifastacus fortis Shasta crayfish 

Procambarus sp. Marbled crayfish 

Parastacidae Cherax spp. Australian crayfish 

Varunidea Eriocheir sinensis Chinese mitten crab 

B. Temporary possession permit for certain animals. 

Notwithstanding the permitting requirements of subsection A 

of this section, a person, company, or corporation possessing 

any nonnative (exotic) animal, designated with an asterisk (*) 

in subsection A of this section, prior to July 1, 1992, must 

declare such possession in writing to the department by 

January 1, 1993. This written declaration shall serve as a 

permit for possession only, is not transferable, and must be 

renewed every five years. This written declaration must 

include species name, common name, number of individuals, 

date or dates acquired, sex (if possible), estimated age, height 

or length, and other characteristics such as bands and band 

numbers, tattoos, registration numbers, coloration, and specific 

markings. Possession transfer will require a new permit 

according to the requirements of this subsection. 

C. Exception for certain monk parakeets. A permit is not 

required for monk parakeets (quakers) that have been captive 

bred and are closed-banded with a seamless band. 

D. Exception for parts or products. A permit is not required 

for parts or products of those nonnative (exotic) animals listed 

in subsection A of this section that may be used for personal 

use, in the manufacture of products, or used in scientific 

research, provided that such parts or products be packaged 

outside the Commonwealth by any person, company, or 

corporation duly licensed by the state in which the parts 

originate. Such packages may be transported into the 

Commonwealth, consistent with other state laws and 

regulations, so long as the original package remains unbroken, 

unopened and intact until its point of destination is reached. 

Documentation concerning the type and cost of the animal 

parts ordered, the purpose and date of the order, point and date 

of shipping, and date of receiving shall be kept by the person, 

business, or institution ordering such nonnative (exotic) animal 

parts. Such documentation shall be open to inspection by a 

representative of the Department of Wildlife Resources. 

E. Exception for prairie dogs. The effective date of listing of 

prairie dogs under subsection A of this section shall be January 

1, 1998. Prairie dogs possessed in captivity in Virginia on 

December 31, 1997, may be maintained in captivity until the 

animals' deaths, but they may not be sold on or after January 1, 

1998, without a permit. 

F. Exception for snakehead fish. Anglers may legally harvest 

snakehead fish of the family Channidae, provided that they 

immediately kill such fish and that they notify the department, 

as soon as practicable, of such actions. 

G. Exception for feral hogs. Anyone may legally trap feral 

hogs with written permission of the landowner, provided that 

any trapped hogs are not removed from the trap site alive and 

are killed immediately. 

H. Exception for grass carp. Anglers may legally harvest 

grass carp of the family Cyprinidae only from public waters of 

the Commonwealth. It is unlawful to harvest grass carp from 

any public inland lake or reservoir. Anglers taking grass carp 

must ensure that harvested grass carp are dead. 

I. Exception for Alabama bass. Anglers may possess live 

Alabama bass of the family Centrarchidae only on the body of 
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water from which the fish were captured, provided that the 

angler does not live transport these fish outside of the body of 

water from which the fish were captured. Anglers may only 

release live Alabama bass back into the body of water from 

which the fish were captured. Anglers may legally harvest 

Alabama bass provided that the anglers ensure all harvested 

Alabama bass are dead. 

J. All other nonnative (exotic) animals. All other nonnative 

(exotic) animals not listed in subsection A of this section may 

be possessed, purchased, and sold; provided, that such animals 

shall be subject to all applicable local, state, and federal laws 

and regulations, including those that apply to 

threatened/endangered species, and further provided, that such 

animals shall not be liberated within the Commonwealth. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R21-6736; Filed March 31, 2021, 10:54 a.m. 

Proposed Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Board of Wildlife Resources is 

claiming an exemption from the Administrative Process Act 

pursuant to § 2.2-4002 A 3 of the Code of Virginia when 

promulgating regulations regarding the management of 

wildlife. 

Title of Regulation: 4VAC15-40. Game: In General 

(amending 4VAC15-40-220, 4VAC15-40-240). 

Statutory Authority: §§ 29.1-103, 29.1-501, and 29.1-502 of 

the Code of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: 

May 27, 2021 - 12 p.m. - Department of Wildlife Resources, 

7870 Villa Park Drive, Suite 400, Henrico, Virginia. 

Public Comment Deadline: May 10, 2021. 

Agency Contact: Aaron Proctor, Regulations Coordinator, 

Department of Wildlife Resources, 7870 Villa Park Drive, 

Suite 400, Henrico, VA 23228, telephone (804) 367-8341, or 

email aaron.proctor@dwr.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The proposed amendments (i) change the maximum loop 

size for a snare trap from a 12-inch diameter to a maximum 

size of 38 inches in circumference and (ii) allow the director 

to issue special permits to take game and fur-bearing 

animals for the purpose of population reduction in 

situations where existing statutory and regulatory options 

for population reduction are not applicable. 

4VAC15-40-220. Use of deadfalls prohibited; restricted use 

of snares. 

It shall be unlawful to trap, or attempt to trap, on land any 

wild bird or wild animal with any deadfall or snare; provided, 

that snares with loops no more than 12 inches in diameter 38 

inches in circumference and with the bottom of the snare loop 

set not to exceed 12 inches above ground level may be used 

with the written permission of the landowner. Snares with the 

top of the snare loop set higher than 12 inches above ground 

level must include a single-piece lock that is not power 

assisted, a cable stop that prevents the snare loop from closing 

smaller than 2-1/2 inches in diameter, and a break-away device 

that has been tested to break or disassemble at no more than 

285 pounds pull. 

4VAC15-40-240. Animal population control. 

Whenever biological evidence suggests that populations of 

game animals or fur-bearing animals may exceed or threaten 

to exceed the carrying capacity of a specified range, or 

whenever population reduction of a species is necessary to 

manage for another wildlife species, or whenever the health or 

general condition of a species indicates the need for population 

reduction, or whenever the threat of human public health and 

safety or significant economic loss indicates the need for 

population reduction, the director is authorized to issue special 

permits to obtain the desired reduction by licensed hunters or 

licensed trappers on areas prescribed by department wildlife 

biologists. Further, in situations where existing statutory and 

regulatory options for population reduction are not applicable, 

the director is authorized to issue special permits to obtain the 

desired population reduction by individuals named within the 

director's authorization document. Designated game species or 

fur-bearing species may be taken in excess of the general bag 

limits, during closed seasons, with all legal methods outlined 

in the Code of Virginia or board regulation, and with any type 

of lawful weapon, as defined in § 29.1-519 of the Code of 

Virginia and in board regulation, on special permits issued 

under this section under such conditions as may be prescribed 

by the director. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R21-6737; Filed March 31, 2021, 11:03 a.m. 

Proposed Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Board of Wildlife Resources is 

claiming an exemption from the Administrative Process Act 

pursuant to § 2.2-4002 A 3 of the Code of Virginia when 

promulgating regulations regarding the management of 

wildlife. 

Title of Regulation: 4VAC15-50. Game: Bear (amending 

4VAC15-50-71, 4VAC15-50-81, 4VAC15-50-91, 4VAC15-

50-110, 4VAC15-50-120). 

Statutory Authority: §§ 29.1-103, 29.1-501, and 29.1-502 of 

the Code of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: 

May 27, 2021 - 12 p.m. - Department of Wildlife Resources, 

7870 Villa Park Drive, Suite 400, Henrico, Virginia. 

Public Comment Deadline: May 10, 2021. 

Agency Contact: Aaron Proctor, Regulations Coordinator, 

Department of Wildlife Resources, 7870 Villa Park Drive, 

Suite 400, Henrico, VA 23228, telephone (804) 367-8341, or 

email aaron.proctor@dwr.virginia.gov. 

mailto:aaron.proctor@dwr.virginia.gov
mailto:aaron.proctor@dwr.virginia.gov
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Summary: 

The proposed amendments (i) clarify the different types of 

muzzleloading guns that are legal during the muzzleloading 

bear season, update language consistent with recent 

technological changes, and conform regulations regarding 

muzzleloading guns to statute; (ii) remove all references to 

checking, check stations, and check cards to reflect the 

requirement for all big game harvests to be reported 

electronically using the telephone, Internet, or GoOutdoors 

Virginia mobile harvest reporting application beginning in 

the 2021-2022 hunting season; (iii) more explicitly define 

current time restrictions on the use of dogs for hunting bears 

to enable the extension of deer firearms open seasons for 

disease and population management purposes in certain 

areas; and (iv) add Dinwiddie County to the list of counties 

allowing bear hound training season as originally intended 

when the training season was initiated in that area in 2013. 

4VAC15-50-71. Muzzleloading gun hunting. 

A. It shall be lawful to hunt bears during the special 

muzzleloading season with muzzleloading guns from the 

Saturday prior to the second Monday in November through the 

Friday prior to the third Monday in November, both dates 

inclusive, except in the Cities of Chesapeake, Suffolk, and 

Virginia Beach. 

B. It shall be unlawful to hunt bear with dogs during any 

special season for hunting with muzzleloading guns, except 

that tracking dogs as defined in § 29.1-516.1 of the Code of 

Virginia may be used. 

C. A muzzleloading gun Muzzleloading guns, for the purpose 

of this section, means a single shot weapon,.45 caliber or 

larger, firing a single projectile or sabot (with a .35 caliber or 

larger projectile) where the propellant and projectile are loaded 

from the muzzle of the weapon. include: 

1. Single shot muzzleloading rifles .40 caliber or larger, 

firing a single projectile or sabot (with a .35 caliber or larger 

projectile) where the projectile is loaded from the muzzle;  

2. Muzzleloading shotguns (one or more barrels) not larger 

than 10 gauge where the projectiles are loaded from the 

muzzle; 

3. Muzzleloading pistols (one or more barrels) .45 caliber or 

larger, firing a single projectile or sabot (with a .35 caliber 

or larger projectile) per barrel where the propellant and 

projectile are loaded from the muzzle; and 

4. Muzzleloading revolvers .45 caliber or larger, firing a 

single projectile or sabot (with a .35 caliber or larger 

projectile) per cylinder where the propellant and projectile 

are loaded from the forward end of the cylinder. 

D. It shall be unlawful to have in immediate possession any 

firearm other than a muzzleloading gun while hunting with a 

muzzleloading gun in a special muzzleloading season. 

4VAC15-50-81. Validating tags and checking reporting 

bear and tooth submission by licensee or permittee. 

A. Any person killing a bear shall, before removing the 

carcass from the place of kill, validate an appropriate tag on 

their special license for hunting bear or special permit by 

completely removing the designated notch area from the tag or 

by electronically notching a tag and reporting the bear using 

the department's mobile harvest reporting application. Place of 

kill shall be defined as the location where the animal is first 

reduced to possession. It shall be unlawful for any person to 

validate (notch) a bear tag from any special license for hunting 

bear or special permit prior to the killing of a bear. A bear tag 

that is mistakenly validated (notched) prior to the killing of a 

bear must be immediately voided by the licensee or permittee 

by writing, in ink, the word "VOID" on the line provided on 

the license tag. All electronically notched tags are permanent 

and cannot be voided. 

B. Upon killing a bear and validating (notching) a license tag 

or special permit, as provided in subsection A of this section, 

the licensee shall, upon vehicle transport of the carcass or at 

the conclusion of legal hunting hours, whichever occurs first, 

and without unnecessary delay, present the carcass and 

validated (notched) license tag or special permit to an 

authorized bear checking station or to an appropriate 

representative of the department in the county or adjoining 

county in which the bear was killed or report the kill through 

the department's automated harvest reporting system. At such 

time, the person checking or reporting the carcass will be given 

a black bear check card furnished by the department or a 

confirmation number from the automated reporting system. 

The successful hunter shall then immediately record the game 

check card number or confirmation number, in ink, on the line 

provided on the tag that was validated (notched) in the field. If 

checked at an authorized bear check station, the black bear 

check card must be kept in possession with the carcass until the 

carcass is processed. If the carcass is left unattended, the bear 

check card must be securely attached to the carcass. If After 

the kill is reported using the automated harvest reporting 

system, no check card written documentation is required as 

long as the hunter who killed the animal is in possession of the 

carcass. If the automated harvest reported carcass is left 

unattended or transferred to the possession of another 

individual, written documentation including the successful 

hunter's full name, the date the animal was killed, and the 

confirmation number must be created and kept in possession 

with the carcass until the carcass is processed. If the carcass is 

left unattended, this written documentation must be securely 

attached to the carcass. Processed carcass parts of a bear killed 

legally in Virginia may be transported; however, upon request 

of any authorized law-enforcement officer, sufficient verbal or 

written information necessary to properly establish legal 

possession must be furnished immediately. 

C. If the carcass is checked at a bear check station, upon 

presentation of the carcass and validated (notched) license tag 
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or special permit to the bear checking station, the licensee shall 

surrender or allow to be removed one premolar tooth from the 

carcass. If the kill is reported through the department's 

automated harvest reporting system, a A premolar tooth must 

be removed by the hunter immediately after reporting the kill 

through the department's automated harvest reporting system. 

The premolar shall be placed in an envelope furnished by the 

department and labeled with the hunter's full name, check 

confirmation number, date of kill, and the sex of the harvested 

bear. This envelope with premolar and accompanying 

information must be mailed or delivered to the department no 

later than 14 days after the close of the bear harvest season. 

D. It shall be unlawful for any person to destroy the identity 

of the sex of any bear killed unless and until the license tag or 

special permit is validated (notched) and checked reported as 

required by this section. Successful bear hunters are allowed to 

dismember the carcass to pack it out from the place of kill, after 

an appropriate license tag has been validated (notched) as 

required in subsection A of this section, as long as they do not 

destroy the identity of the sex, and all the parts of the carcass 

are present when the bear is checked at an authorized bear 

checking station or reported through the automated harvest 

reporting system. Any bear found in the possession of any 

person without a validated (notched) license tag or 

documentation that the bear has been checked at an authorized 

bear checking station or reported through the department's 

automated harvest reporting system as required by this section 

shall be forfeited to the Commonwealth to be disposed of as 

provided by law. 

4VAC15-50-91. Checking Reporting bear and tooth 

submission by persons exempt from license requirements 

or holding a license authorization number. 

A. Upon killing a bear, any person (i) exempt from license 

requirements as prescribed in § 29.1-301 of the Code of 

Virginia, (ii) issued a complimentary license as prescribed in 

§ 29.1-339 of the Code of Virginia, (iii) holding a permanent 

license issued pursuant to § 29.1-301 E of the Code of Virginia, 

or (iv) the holder of a Virginia license authorization number 

issued by a telephone or electronic media agent pursuant to 

§ 29.1-327 B of the Code of Virginia shall, upon vehicle 

transport of the carcass or at the conclusion of legal hunting 

hours, whichever occurs first, and without unnecessary delay, 

present the carcass to an authorized bear checking station or to 

any appropriate representative of the department in the county 

or adjoining county in which the bear was killed, or report the 

kill through the department's automated harvest reporting 

system. At such time, the person checking or reporting the 

carcass shall be given a black bear check card furnished by the 

department or a confirmation number from the automated 

reporting system. If checked at a bear check station, the black 

bear check card must be kept in possession with the carcass 

until the carcass is processed. If the carcass is left unattended, 

the black bear check card must be securely attached to the 

carcass. If After the kill is reported using the automated harvest 

reporting system, the successful hunter shall immediately 

create written documentation including the successful hunter's 

full name, the date the animal was killed, and the confirmation 

number. This written documentation must be kept in 

possession with the carcass until the carcass is processed. If the 

automated harvest reported carcass is transferred to the 

possession of another individual, the written documentation 

must be transferred with the carcass to the individual and kept 

in possession with the carcass until the carcass is processed. If 

the carcass is left unattended, this written documentation must 

be securely attached to the carcass. Processed carcass parts of 

a black bear killed legally in Virginia may be transported; 

however, upon request of any authorized law-enforcement 

officer, sufficient verbal or written information necessary to 

properly establish legal possession must be furnished 

immediately. 

B. If the bear is checked at a bear checking station, the person 

checking the carcass shall surrender or allow to be removed 

one premolar tooth from the carcass. If the kill is reported 

through the department's automated harvest reporting system, 

a A premolar tooth must be removed by the hunter immediately 

after reporting the kill through the department's automated 

harvest reporting system. The premolar shall be placed in an 

envelope furnished by the department and labeled with the 

hunter's full name, check confirmation number, date of kill, 

and the sex of the harvested bear. This envelope with premolar 

and accompanying information must be mailed or delivered to 

the department no later than 14 days after the close of the bear 

harvest season. 

C. It shall be unlawful for any person to destroy the identity 

of the sex of any bear killed until the bear is checked reported 

as required by this section. Successful bear hunters are allowed 

to dismember the carcass to pack it out from the place of kill 

as long as they do not destroy the identity of the sex and all the 

parts of the carcass are present when the bear is checked at an 

authorized bear check station or reported through the 

automated harvest reporting system. Any bear that has not been 

checked, via an authorized bear check station or the reported 

through the department's automated harvest reporting system 

as required by this section, found in the possession of any 

person exempt from the license requirements or holding a 

license authorization number shall be forfeited to the 

Commonwealth to be disposed of as provided by law. 

4VAC15-50-110. Use of dogs in hunting bear. 

A. It shall be unlawful to use dogs for the hunting of bear 

during the open season for hunting deer on the Saturday prior 

to the third Monday in November and for 15 consecutive days 

following in the counties west of the Blue Ridge Mountains 

and during the first 16 days of the deer open season in the 

Counties of Amherst (west of Business U.S. 29 from the James 

River to its intersection with U.S. 29 just south of the town of 

Amherst continuing north on U.S. 29 to the Tye River), 

Bedford, and Nelson (west of Route 151) and within the 
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boundaries of the national forests, except that tracking dogs as 

described in § 29.1-516.1 of the Code of Virginia may be used. 

B. It shall be unlawful to use dogs for the hunting of bear 

during the first 14 days of the open season for hunting deer on 

the Saturday prior to the third Monday in November and for 13 

consecutive days following in the Counties of Greene and 

Madison, except that tracking dogs as described in § 29.1-

516.1 of the Code of Virginia may be used. 

C. It shall be unlawful to use dogs for the hunting of bear 

during the open season prescribed in 4VAC15-50-11 in the 

Counties of Campbell (west of Norfolk Southern Railroad), 

Carroll (east of the New River), Fairfax, Floyd, Franklin, 

Grayson (east of the New River), Henry, Loudoun, 

Montgomery (south of Interstate 81), Patrick, Pittsylvania 

(west of Norfolk Southern Railroad), Pulaski (south of 

Interstate 81), Roanoke (south of Interstate 81), and Wythe 

(southeast of the New River or that part bounded by Route 21 

on the west, Interstate 81 on the north, the county line on the 

east, the New River on the southeast, and Cripple Creek on the 

south); in the City of Lynchburg; and on Amelia, Chester F. 

Phelps, G. Richard Thompson, and Pettigrew Wildlife 

Management Areas, except that tracking dogs as described in 

§ 29.1-516.1 of the Code of Virginia may be used. 

4VAC15-50-120. Bear hound training season. 

A. It shall be lawful to chase black bear with dogs, without 

capturing or taking, from August 1 through the last Saturday in 

September, both dates inclusive, in the Counties of Albemarle, 

Alleghany, Amherst, Augusta, Bath, Bedford, Bland, 

Botetourt, Brunswick, Buchanan, Carroll, Charlotte, Craig, 

Culpeper, Dickenson, Floyd, Franklin, Giles, Grayson (east of 

Route 16), Greene, Greensville, Highland, Lee, Lunenburg, 

Madison, Mecklenburg, Montgomery, Nelson, Page, Pulaski, 

Rappahannock, Roanoke (west of I-81), Rockbridge, 

Rockingham, Russell, Scott, Shenandoah, Smyth (except for 

the part southeast of I-81 and west of State Route 16), 

Tazewell, Warren, Washington (northwest of I-81), Wise, and 

Wythe and in the Cities of Chesapeake, Suffolk, and Virginia 

Beach. 

B. It shall be lawful to chase black bear with dogs, without 

capturing or taking, from the Saturday prior to the third 

Monday in November and for 14 days following, both dates 

inclusive, in the Counties of Amelia, Appomattox, 

Buckingham, Brunswick, Campbell (east of the Norfolk 

Southern Railroad), Charles City, Charlotte, Cumberland, 

Dinwiddie, Essex, Gloucester, Greensville, Halifax, Isle of 

Wight, James City, King and Queen, King George, King 

William, Lancaster, Lunenburg, Mathews, Mecklenburg, 

Middlesex, New Kent, Northumberland, Nottoway, 

Pittsylvania (east of the Norfolk Southern Railroad), Prince 

Edward, Prince George, Richmond, Southampton, Surry, 

Sussex, Westmoreland, and York. 

C. It shall be unlawful to have in possession a firearm, bow, 

crossbow, or any weapon capable of taking a black bear while 

participating in the bear hound training season. The meaning 

of "possession" for the purpose of this section shall include 

having a firearm, bow, crossbow, or any weapon capable of 

taking a black bear in or on one's person, vehicle, or 

conveyance. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R21-6738; Filed March 31, 2021, 11:16 a.m. 

Proposed Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Board of Wildlife Resources is 

claiming an exemption from the Administrative Process Act 

pursuant to § 2.2-4002 A 3 of the Code of Virginia when 

promulgating regulations regarding the management of 

wildlife. 

Title of Regulation: 4VAC15-90. Game: Deer (amending 

4VAC15-90-10, 4VAC15-90-70, 4VAC15-90-80, 4VAC15-

90-89, 4VAC15-90-90, 4VAC15-90-91, 4VAC15-90-231, 

4VAC15-90-241, 4VAC15-90-260, 4VAC15-90-293; adding 

4VAC15-90-500 through 4VAC15-90-550; repealing 

4VAC15-90-85). 

Statutory Authority: §§ 29.1-103, 29.1-501, and 29.1-502 of 

the Code of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: 

May 27, 2021 - 12 p.m. - Department of Wildlife Resources, 

7870 Villa Park Drive, Suite 400, Henrico, Virginia. 

Public Comment Deadline: May 10, 2021. 

Agency Contact: Aaron Proctor, Regulations Coordinator, 

Department of Wildlife Resources, 7870 Villa Park Drive, 

Suite 400, Henrico, VA 23228, telephone (804) 367-8341, or 

email aaron.proctor@dwr.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The proposed amendments:  

(i) establish an early September antlerless-only firearms 

deer season and a late (January through March) antlerless-

only firearms deer season in certain counties on selected 

private lands within department-designated disease 

containment areas to meet antlerless deer harvest 

population objectives;  

(ii) conform the definition of "common interest community" 

to statute;  

(iii) expand early and late muzzleloading hunting days in 

certain counties to meet deer population objectives;  

(iv) clarify that four different types of muzzleloading guns 

are legal during muzzleloading deer seasons;  

(v) change the minimum caliber for muzzleloading rifles 

from .45 to .40 caliber;  

(vi) require that only the projectile be loaded from the 

muzzle for muzzleloading rifles and muzzleloading shotguns 

to conform to statute;  

(vii) repeal and replace elk hunting regulations;  

mailto:aaron.proctor@dwr.virginia.gov
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(viii) establish an unlimited daily bag limit for deer in all 

the cities and towns in Virginia that allow deer hunting 

except in the Cities of Chesapeake, Suffolk, and Virginia 

Beach;  

(ix) create a uniform statewide deer bag limit of one deer 

per day on national forest, department-owned, and 

department-managed lands;  

(x) clarify that national forest lands in Amherst, Bedford, 

and Nelson Counties are included under the "west of the 

Blue Ridge Mountains" bag limit;  

(xi) adjust firearms hunting either-sex hunting days in 

certain counties to meet deer population objectives;  

(xii) expand the Earn-A-Buck Program to select private 

lands while making adjustments to the program in some 

areas where it is already designated;  

(xiii) address electronic deer tags and deer reporting using 

the eNotch feature of the department's smartphone 

application;  

(xiv) require mandatory drop off of deer heads from 

designated areas on designated days for disease testing;  

(xv) more explicitly define current time restrictions on the 

use of dogs for hunting deer to enable the extension of deer 

firearms open seasons for disease and population 

management purposes in September and January through 

March;  

(xvi) add cleaned jaw bones to the list of parts permitted to 

be imported and possessed and outline how deer parts and 

whole deer carcasses may be transported within, outside, 

and between disease management areas; and  

(xvii) outline seasons, bag limits, and tag validation 

associated with administering the hunting of elk within the 

Elk Management Zone, including the creation of a special 

elk license awarded to a wildlife conservation organization, 

providing access on private lands, a random drawing 

program, and provisions related to hunting within the Elk 

Management Zone. 

4VAC15-90-10. Open season; generally. 

A. It shall be lawful to hunt deer in the following localities, 

including the cities and towns therein, during the following 

seasons, all dates inclusive. 

Locality Season 

Accomack County 

Saturday prior to the 

third Monday in 

November through the 

first Saturday in January 

Albemarle County 

Saturday prior to the 

third Monday in 

November through the 

first Saturday in January 

Alleghany County 

Saturday prior to the 

third Monday in 

November and for 14 

consecutive days 

following 

Amelia County 

Saturday prior to the 

third Monday in 

November through the 

first Saturday in January 

Amherst County (west of 

Business U.S. 29 from the James 

River to its intersection with 

U.S. 29 just south of the Town 

of Amherst continuing north on 

U.S. 29 to the Tye River, except 

on national forest lands) 

Saturday prior to the 

third Monday in 

November and for 28 

consecutive days 

following 

Amherst County (national forest 

lands) 

Saturday prior to the 

third Monday in 

November and for 14 

consecutive days 

following 

Amherst County (east of 

Business U.S. 29, as defined 

above) 

Saturday prior to the 

third Monday in 

November through the 

first Saturday in January 

Appomattox County 

Saturday prior to the 

third Monday in 

November through the 

first Saturday in January 

Arlington County 

Saturday prior to the 

third Monday in 

November through the 

first Saturday in January 

Arlington County (antlerless 

deer only) 

First Saturday in 

September through the 

Friday prior to the first 

Saturday in October and 

the Sunday following the 

first Saturday in January 

through the last Sunday 

in March 

Augusta County 

Saturday prior to the 

third Monday in 

November and for 14 

consecutive days 

following 
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Bath County 

Saturday prior to the 

third Monday in 

November and for 14 

consecutive days 

following 

Bedford County (except on 

national forest lands) 

Saturday prior to the 

third Monday in 

November and for 28 

consecutive days 

following 

Bedford County (national forest 

lands) 

Saturday prior to the 

third Monday in 

November and for 14 

consecutive days 

following 

Bland County 

Saturday prior to the 

third Monday in 

November and for 14 

consecutive days 

following 

Botetourt County 

Saturday prior to the 

third Monday in 

November and for 14 

consecutive days 

following 

Brunswick County 

Saturday prior to the 

third Monday in 

November through the 

first Saturday in January 

Buchanan County 

Saturday prior to the 

third Monday in 

November and for 14 

consecutive days 

following 

Buckingham County 

Saturday prior to the 

third Monday in 

November through the 

first Saturday in January 

Campbell County 

Saturday prior to the 

third Monday in 

November through the 

first Saturday in January 

Caroline County 

Saturday prior to the 

third Monday in 

November through the 

first Saturday in January 

Carroll County 

Saturday prior to the 

third Monday in 

November and for 14 

consecutive days 

following 

Charles City County 

Saturday prior to the 

third Monday in 

November through the 

first Saturday in January 

Charlotte County 

Saturday prior to the 

third Monday in 

November through the 

first Saturday in January 

Chesapeake (City of) 
October 1 through 

November 30 

Chesterfield County 

Saturday prior to the 

third Monday in 

November through the 

first Saturday in January 

Clarke County 

Saturday prior to the 

third Monday in 

November through the 

first Saturday in January 

Clarke County (antlerless deer 

only) 

First Saturday in 

September through the 

Friday prior to the first 

Saturday in October and 

the Sunday following the 

first Saturday in January 

through the last Sunday 

in March 

Craig County 

Saturday prior to the 

third Monday in 

November and for 14 

consecutive days 

following 

Culpeper County (except 

Chester F. Phelps Wildlife 

Management Area) 

Saturday prior to the 

third Monday in 

November through the 

first Saturday in January 

Culpeper County (Chester F. 

Phelps Wildlife Management 

Area) 

Saturday prior to the 

third Monday in 

November and for 14 

consecutive days 

following 

Culpeper County (private lands 

and antlerless deer only)  

First Saturday in 

September through the 

Friday prior to the first 

Saturday in October 
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Culpeper County (disease focus 

areas defined by the department, 

antlerless deer only) 

First Saturday in 

September through the 

Friday prior to the first 

Saturday in October and 

the Sunday following the 

first Saturday in January 

through the last Sunday 

in March 

Cumberland County 

Saturday prior to the 

third Monday in 

November through the 

first Saturday in January 

Dickenson County 

Saturday prior to the 

third Monday in 

November and for 14 

consecutive days 

following 

Dinwiddie County 

Saturday prior to the 

third Monday in 

November through the 

first Saturday in January 

Essex County 

Saturday prior to the 

third Monday in 

November through the 

first Saturday in January 

Fairfax County 

Saturday prior to the 

third Monday in 

November through the 

first Saturday in January 

Fairfax County (antlerless deer 

only) 

First Saturday in 

September through the 

Friday prior to the first 

Saturday in October and 

the Sunday following the 

first Saturday in January 

through the last Sunday 

in March 

Fauquier County (except 

Chester F. Phelps Wildlife 

Management Area) 

Saturday prior to the 

third Monday in 

November through the 

first Saturday in January 

Fauquier County (Chester F. 

Phelps Wildlife Management 

Area) 

Saturday prior to the 

third Monday in 

November and for 14 

consecutive days 

following 

Fauquier County (private lands 

and antlerless deer only)  

First Saturday in 

September through the 

Friday prior to the first 

Saturday in October 

Fauquier County (disease focus 

areas defined by the department, 

antlerless deer only) 

First Saturday in 

September through the 

Friday prior to the first 

Saturday in October and 

the Sunday following the 

first Saturday in January 

through the last Sunday 

in March 

Floyd County 

Saturday prior to the 

third Monday in 

November and for 28 

consecutive days 

following 

Fluvanna County 

Saturday prior to the 

third Monday in 

November through the 

first Saturday in January 

Franklin County 

Saturday prior to the 

third Monday in 

November and for 28 

consecutive days 

following 

Frederick County (non-national 

forest lands) 

Saturday prior to the 

third Monday in 

November through the 

first Saturday in January 

Frederick County (national 

forest lands) 

Saturday prior to the 

third Monday in 

November and for 14 

consecutive days 

following 

Frederick County (non-national 

forest lands antlerless deer only)  

First Saturday in 

September through the 

Friday prior to the first 

Saturday in October and 

the Sunday following the 

first Saturday in January 

through the last Sunday 

in March 

Giles County 

Saturday prior to the 

third Monday in 

November and for 14 

consecutive days 

following 

Gloucester County 

Saturday prior to the 

third Monday in 

November through the 

first Saturday in January 
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Goochland County 

Saturday prior to the 

third Monday in 

November through the 

first Saturday in January 

Grayson County 

Saturday prior to the 

third Monday in 

November and for 14 

consecutive days 

following 

Greene County 

Saturday prior to the 

third Monday in 

November through the 

first Saturday in January 

Greensville County 

Saturday prior to the 

third Monday in 

November through the 

first Saturday in January 

Halifax County 

Saturday prior to the 

third Monday in 

November through the 

first Saturday in January 

Hanover County 

Saturday prior to the 

third Monday in 

November through the 

first Saturday in January 

Henrico County 

Saturday prior to the 

third Monday in 

November through the 

first Saturday in January 

Henry County 

Saturday prior to the 

third Monday in 

November and for 28 

consecutive days 

following 

Highland County 

Saturday prior to the 

third Monday in 

November and for 14 

consecutive days 

following 

Isle of Wight County 

Saturday prior to the 

third Monday in 

November through the 

first Saturday in January 

James City County 

Saturday prior to the 

third Monday in 

November through the 

first Saturday in January 

King and Queen County 

Saturday prior to the 

third Monday in 

November through the 

first Saturday in January 

King George County 

Saturday prior to the 

third Monday in 

November through the 

first Saturday in January 

King William County 

Saturday prior to the 

third Monday in 

November through the 

first Saturday in January 

Lancaster County 

Saturday prior to the 

third Monday in 

November through the 

first Saturday in January 

Lee County 

Saturday prior to the 

third Monday in 

November and for 14 

consecutive days 

following 

Loudoun County 

Saturday prior to the 

third Monday in 

November through the 

first Saturday in January 

Loudoun County (antlerless deer 

only) 

First Saturday in 

September through the 

Friday prior to the first 

Saturday in October and 

the Sunday following the 

first Saturday in January 

through the last Sunday 

in March 

Louisa County 

Saturday prior to the 

third Monday in 

November through the 

first Saturday in January 

Lunenburg County 

Saturday prior to the 

third Monday in 

November through the 

first Saturday in January 

Madison County 

Saturday prior to the 

third Monday in 

November through the 

first Saturday in January 

Madison County (private lands 

and antlerless deer only) 

First Saturday in 

September through the 

Friday prior to the first 

Saturday in October 
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Madison County (disease focus 

areas defined by the department, 

antlerless deer only) 

First Saturday in 

September through the 

Friday prior to the first 

Saturday in October and 

the Sunday following the 

first Saturday in January 

through the last Sunday 

in March 

Mathews County 

Saturday prior to the 

third Monday in 

November through the 

first Saturday in January 

Mecklenburg County 

Saturday prior to the 

third Monday in 

November through the 

first Saturday in January 

Middlesex County 

Saturday prior to the 

third Monday in 

November through the 

first Saturday in January 

Montgomery County 

Saturday prior to the 

third Monday in 

November and for 14 

consecutive days 

following 

Nelson County  

(west of Route 151, except on 

national forest lands) 

Saturday prior to the 

third Monday in 

November and for 28 

consecutive days 

following 

Nelson County (national forest 

lands) 

Saturday prior to the 

third Monday in 

November and for 14 

consecutive days 

following 

Nelson County  

(east of Route 151) 

Saturday prior to the 

third Monday in 

November through the 

first Saturday in January 

New Kent County 

Saturday prior to the 

third Monday in 

November through the 

first Saturday in January 

Northampton County 

Saturday prior to the 

third Monday in 

November through the 

first Saturday in January 

Northumberland County 

Saturday prior to the 

third Monday in 

November through the 

first Saturday in January 

Nottoway County 

Saturday prior to the 

third Monday in 

November through the 

first Saturday in January 

Orange County 

Saturday prior to the 

third Monday in 

November through the 

first Saturday in January 

Orange County (private lands 

and antlerless deer only)  

First Saturday in 

September through the 

Friday prior to the first 

Saturday in October 

Orange County (disease focus 

areas defined by the department, 

antlerless deer only) 

First Saturday in 

September through the 

Friday prior to the first 

Saturday in October and 

the Sunday following the 

first Saturday in January 

through the last Sunday 

in March 

Page County 

Saturday prior to the 

third Monday in 

November and for 14 

consecutive days 

following 

Page County (disease focus 

areas defined by the department, 

antlerless deer only)  

First Saturday in 

September through the 

Friday prior to the first 

Saturday in October and 

the Sunday following the 

first Saturday in January 

through the last Sunday 

in March 

Patrick County 

Saturday prior to the 

third Monday in 

November and for 28 

consecutive days 

following 

Pittsylvania County 

Saturday prior to the 

third Monday in 

November through the 

first Saturday in January 

Powhatan County 

Saturday prior to the 

third Monday in 

November through the 

first Saturday in January 
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Prince Edward County 

Saturday prior to the 

third Monday in 

November through the 

first Saturday in January 

Prince George County 

Saturday prior to the 

third Monday in 

November through the 

first Saturday in January 

Prince William County 

Saturday prior to the 

third Monday in 

November through the 

first Saturday in January 

Prince William County 

(antlerless deer only) 

First Saturday in 

September through the 

Friday prior to the first 

Saturday in October and 

the Sunday following the 

first Saturday in January 

through the last Sunday 

in March 

Pulaski County (except on New 

River Unit of the Radford Army 

Ammunition Plant adjacent to 

the Town of Dublin) 

Saturday prior to the 

third Monday in 

November and for 14 

consecutive days 

following 

Pulaski County (New River Unit 

of the Radford Army 

Ammunition Plant adjacent to 

the Town of Dublin) 

Saturday prior to the 

second Monday in 

November through the 

first Saturday in January 

Rappahannock County 

Saturday prior to the 

third Monday in 

November through the 

first Saturday in January 

Rappahannock County (private 

lands and antlerless deer only)  

First Saturday in 

September through the 

Friday prior to the first 

Saturday in October 

Rappahannock County (disease 

focus areas defined by the 

department, antlerless deer only) 

First Saturday in 

September through the 

Friday prior to the first 

Saturday in October and 

the Sunday following the 

first Saturday in January 

through the last Sunday 

in March 

Richmond County 

Saturday prior to the 

third Monday in 

November through the 

first Saturday in January 

Roanoke County 

Saturday prior to the 

third Monday in 

November and for 14 

consecutive days 

following 

Rockbridge County 

Saturday prior to the 

third Monday in 

November and for 14 

consecutive days 

following 

Rockingham County 

Saturday prior to the 

third Monday in 

November and for 14 

consecutive days 

following 

Russell County 

Saturday prior to the 

third Monday in 

November and for 14 

consecutive days 

following 

Scott County 

Saturday prior to the 

third Monday in 

November and for 14 

consecutive days 

following 

Shenandoah County 

Saturday prior to the 

third Monday in 

November and for 14 

consecutive days 

following 

Shenandoah County (non-

national forest lands antlerless 

deer only)  

First Saturday in 

September through the 

Friday prior to the first 

Saturday in October and 

the Sunday following the 

first Saturday in January 

through the last Sunday 

in March 

Smyth County 

Saturday prior to the 

third Monday in 

November and for 14 

consecutive days 

following 

Southampton County 

Saturday prior to the 

third Monday in 

November through the 

first Saturday in January 



Regulations 

Volume 37, Issue18  Virginia Register of Regulations  April 26, 2021  

2668 

Spotsylvania County 

Saturday prior to the 

third Monday in 

November through the 

first Saturday in January 

Stafford County 

Saturday prior to the 

third Monday in 

November through the 

first Saturday in January 

Suffolk (City of)  

(east of Dismal Swamp Line) 

October 1 through 

November 30 

Suffolk (City of)  

(west of Dismal Swamp Line) 

Saturday prior to the 

third Monday in 

November through the 

first Saturday in January 

Surry County 

Saturday prior to the 

third Monday in 

November through the 

first Saturday in January 

Sussex County 

Saturday prior to the 

third Monday in 

November through the 

first Saturday in January 

Tazewell County 

Saturday prior to the 

third Monday in 

November and for 14 

consecutive days 

following 

Virginia Beach (City of) 
October 1 through 

November 30 

Warren County 

Saturday prior to the 

third Monday in 

November and for 14 

consecutive days 

following 

Warren (non-national forest 

lands antlerless deer only)  

First Saturday in 

September through the 

Friday prior to the first 

Saturday in October and 

the Sunday following the 

first Saturday in January 

through the last Sunday 

in March 

Washington County 

Saturday prior to the 

third Monday in 

November and for 14 

consecutive days 

following 

Westmoreland County 

Saturday prior to the 

third Monday in 

November through the 

first Saturday in January 

Wise County 

Saturday prior to the 

third Monday in 

November and for 14 

consecutive days 

following 

Wythe County 

Saturday prior to the 

third Monday in 

November and for 14 

consecutive days 

following 

York County 

Saturday prior to the 

third Monday in 

November through the 

first Saturday in January 

B. Except as provided in subsection A of this section, east of 

the Blue Ridge Mountains deer may be hunted from the 

Saturday prior to the third Monday in November through the 

first Saturday in January, both dates inclusive, within the 

incorporated limits of any city or town that allows deer 

hunting. 

C. Except as provided in subsection A of this section, west of 

the Blue Ridge Mountains deer may be hunted from the 

Saturday prior to the third Monday in November and for 14 

consecutive days following within the incorporated limits of 

any city or town that allows deer hunting. 

4VAC15-90-70. Archery hunting. 

A. It shall be lawful to hunt deer during the early special 

archery season with archery equipment or a slingbow from the 

first Saturday in October through the Friday prior to the third 

Monday in November, both dates inclusive. 

B. In addition to the season provided in subsection A of this 

section, it shall be lawful to hunt deer during the late special 

archery season with archery equipment or a slingbow: 

1. From the Sunday following the close of the general 

firearms season on deer through the first Saturday in 

January, both dates inclusive, (i) in all cities, towns, and 

counties west of the Blue Ridge Mountains (except Clarke 

County and on non-national forest lands in Frederick 

County); (ii) in the Counties (including the cities and towns 

within) of Amherst (west of Business U.S. 29 from the 

James River to its intersection with U.S. 29 just south of the 

Town of Amherst continuing north on U.S. 29 to the Tye 

River), Bedford, Franklin, Henry, Nelson (west of Route 

151), and Patrick; (iii) on the Chester F. Phelps Wildlife 

Management Area; and (iv) on national forest lands in 

Frederick County. 



Regulations 

Volume 37, Issue18  Virginia Register of Regulations  April 26, 2021  

2669 

2. From December 1 through the first Saturday in January, 

both dates inclusive, in the Cities of Chesapeake, Suffolk 

(east of the Dismal Swamp Line), and Virginia Beach. 

C. Deer of either sex may be taken full season during the 

special archery seasons as provided in subsections A and B of 

this section. 

D. It shall be unlawful to carry firearms while hunting with 

archery equipment during the special archery seasons, except 

that a muzzleloading gun, as defined in 4VAC15-90-80, may 

be in the possession of a properly licensed muzzleloading gun 

hunter when and where a special archery deer season overlaps 

a special muzzleloading deer season. 

E. It shall be unlawful to use dogs when hunting with archery 

equipment during any special archery season, except that 

tracking dogs as described in § 29.1-516.1 of the Code of 

Virginia may be used. 

F. It shall be lawful to hunt antlerless deer during the special 

urban archery season with archery equipment or a slingbow 

from the first Saturday in September through the Friday prior 

to the first Saturday in October, both dates inclusive, and from 

the Sunday following the first Saturday in January through the 

last Sunday in March, both dates inclusive, within the 

incorporated limits of any city or town in the Commonwealth 

(except on national forest and department-owned lands) and 

counties with a human population density of 300 persons per 

square mile or more (except on national forest and department-

owned lands), provided that its governing body submits by 

certified letter to the department prior to April 1, its intent to 

participate in the special urban archery season. Any city, town, 

or county no longer participating in this season shall submit by 

certified letter to the department prior to April 1 notice of its 

intent not to participate in the special urban archery season. 

When consistent with the department's deer management 

objectives and subject to the director's approval, a participating 

county may exclude from this season a geographic area by 

submitting a clear description of such area in a certified letter 

to the department prior to April 1. 

G. It shall be lawful to hunt antlerless deer during the special 

urban archery season with archery equipment or a slingbow 

during dates specified in subsection F of this section within the 

boundaries of any common interest community as defined in 

§ 55-528 § 54.1-2345 of the Code of Virginia provided that (i) 

the association submits by certified letter to the department 

prior to July 1 the association's request to participate in the 

special urban archery season and (ii) the department approves 

such request. 

1. The special urban archery season will in no way supersede 

any local ordinance, any restriction in the association's 

governing documents, or the requirement to obtain a 

landowner's permission to hunt. 

2. An association no longer participating in the special urban 

archery season shall submit notice of the association's intent 

not to participate in the special urban archery season. The 

association shall submit the certified letter to the department 

prior to July 1. 

3. At its discretion, the department may suspend or revoke 

the special urban archery season in any association upon 

written notice to the association. 

For the purposes of this subsection, "association" means the 

governing board or the authorized agent of the governing board 

of an association of property owners, condominium unit 

owners, or proprietary lessees. 

H. It shall be lawful to hunt antlerless deer during the special 

antlerless archery season with archery equipment or a slingbow 

from the Monday following the last Sunday in March through 

the last Sunday in April, both dates inclusive, in the Counties 

of Arlington, Fairfax, Loudoun, and Prince William (including 

the cities and towns within). 

4VAC15-90-80. Muzzleloading gun hunting. 

A. It shall be lawful to hunt deer during the early special 

muzzleloading season with muzzleloading guns from the 

Saturday prior to the first Monday in November through the 

Friday prior to the third Monday in November, both dates 

inclusive, in all cities, towns, and counties where deer hunting 

with a rifle or muzzleloading gun is permitted, except in the 

Cities of Chesapeake, Suffolk (east of the Dismal Swamp 

Line), and Virginia Beach. 

B. It shall be lawful to hunt deer during the late special 

muzzleloading season with muzzleloading guns starting 21 

consecutive days immediately prior to and on the first Saturday 

in January: 

1. In all cities, towns, and counties west of the Blue Ridge 

Mountains (except Clarke County and on non-national forest 

lands in Frederick County); 

2. East of the Blue Ridge Mountains in the Counties 

(including the cities and towns within) of Amherst (west of 

Business U.S. 29 from the James River to its intersection 

with U.S. 29 just south of the Town of Amherst continuing 

north on U.S. 29 to the Tye River), Bedford, Franklin, 

Henry, Nelson (west of Route 151), and Patrick; 

3. On national forest lands in Frederick County; and 

4. In the Cities of Chesapeake, Suffolk (east of the Dismal 

Swamp Line), and Virginia Beach. 

C. Deer of either sex may be taken during the entire early 

special muzzleloading season east of the Blue Ridge 

Mountains unless otherwise noted in this subsection: 

1. Deer of either sex may be taken on the second Saturday 

only of the early special muzzleloading season on state forest 

lands, state park lands (except Occoneechee State Park), 

department-owned lands (except on Merrimac Farm 

Wildlife Management Area), and Philpott Reservoir. 
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2. Antlered bucks only—no either-sex deer hunting days 

during the early special muzzleloading season on national 

forest lands in Amherst, Bedford, and Nelson Counties. 

D. Deer of either sex may be taken on the second Saturday 

only during the early special muzzleloading season west of the 

Blue Ridge Mountains unless otherwise noted in this 

subsection. 

1. Deer of either sex may be taken during the entire early 

special muzzleloading season in Clarke and Floyd Counties 

and on private lands in Augusta, Botetourt, Carroll, 

Frederick, Grayson, Montgomery, Pulaski, Roanoke, 

Rockingham (east of Routes 613 and 731), Scott, 

Shenandoah, Warren, and Wythe Counties. 

2. Antlered bucks only—no either-sex deer hunting days 

during the early special muzzleloading season in Buchanan, 

on federal and department-managed lands in Dickenson, 

Lee, Russell, Tazewell, and Wise Counties and on national 

forest lands in Alleghany, Bland, Craig, Frederick, Giles, 

Grayson, Montgomery, Page, Pulaski, Rockingham, Scott, 

Shenandoah, and Warren Counties, and on national forest 

and department-owned lands in Augusta, Bath, Botetourt, 

Carroll, Highland (except Highland Wildlife Management 

Area), Roanoke, Rockbridge, Smyth, Washington, and 

Wythe Counties and on Channels State Forest, Grayson 

Highlands State Park, Hungry Mother State Park, and on 

private lands west of Routes 613 and 731 in Rockingham 

County. 

E. Deer of either sex may be taken during the last six days of 

the late special muzzleloading season unless otherwise listed 

in this subsection: 

1. Deer of either sex may be taken full season during the 

entire late special muzzleloading season in the Counties 

(including the cities and towns within) of Amherst (west of 

Business U.S. 29 from the James River to its intersection 

with U.S. 29 just south of the Town of Amherst continuing 

north on U.S. 29 to the Tye River, except on national forest 

lands), Bedford (except on national forest lands), Floyd, 

Franklin, Henry, Nelson (west of Route 151, except on 

national forest lands), and Patrick and on private lands in 

Augusta, Botetourt, Carroll, Grayson, Montgomery, Pulaski, 

Roanoke, Rockingham (east of Routes 613 and 731), 

Shenandoah, Warren, and Wythe Counties. 

2. Deer of either sex may be taken the last day only during 

the late special muzzleloading season in Alleghany, Bath, 

Dickenson, Highland, Lee, Russell, Tazewell, and Wise 

Counties and on national forest lands in Amherst, Bedford, 

Bland, Craig, Frederick, Giles, Grayson, Montgomery, 

Nelson, Page, Pulaski, Rockingham, Scott, Shenandoah, and 

Warren Counties, and on national forest and department-

owned lands in Augusta, Botetourt, Carroll, Roanoke, 

Rockbridge, Smyth, Washington, and Wythe Counties and 

on private lands west of Routes 613 and 731 in Rockingham 

County, Channels State Forest, Grayson Highlands State 

Park, and Hungry Mother State Park. 

3. Antlered bucks only—no either-sex deer hunting days 

during the late special muzzleloading season in Buchanan 

County. 

F. Deer of either sex may be taken full season during the 

special muzzleloading seasons within the incorporated limits 

of any city or town in the Commonwealth that allows deer 

hunting except in the Cities of Chesapeake, Suffolk, and 

Virginia Beach. 

G. It shall be unlawful to hunt deer with dogs during any 

special season for hunting with muzzleloading guns, except 

that tracking dogs as described in § 29.1-516.1 of the Code of 

Virginia may be used. 

H. A muzzleloading gun, Muzzleloading guns, for the 

purpose of this section, means a single shot weapon,.45 caliber 

or larger, firing a single projectile or sabot (with a .35 caliber 

or larger projectile) where the propellant and projective are 

loaded from the muzzle of the weapon. include: 

1. Single shot muzzleloading rifles .40 caliber or larger, 

firing a single projectile or sabot (with a .35 caliber or larger 

projectile) where the projectile is loaded from the muzzle; 

2. Muzzleloading shotguns (one or more barrels) not larger 

than 10 gauge where the projectiles are loaded from the 

muzzle; 

3. Muzzleloading pistols (one or more barrels) .45 caliber or 

larger, firing a single projectile or sabot (with a .35 caliber 

or larger projectile) per barrel where the propellant and 

projectile are loaded from the muzzle; 

4. Muzzleloading revolvers .45 caliber or larger, firing a 

single projectile or sabot (with a .35 caliber or larger 

projectile) per cylinder where the propellant and projectile 

are loaded from the forward end of the cylinder. 

I. It shall be unlawful to have in immediate possession any 

firearm other than a muzzleloading gun while hunting with a 

muzzleloading gun in a special muzzleloading season. 

4VAC15-90-85. Elk hunting. (Repealed.) 

A. Closed season. There shall be a continuous closed season 

for elk (Cervus elaphus) hunting in Buchanan, Dickenson, and 

Wise counties.  

B. Open season. Except as otherwise provided by this chapter, 

it shall be lawful to hunt elk of either sex during (i) the general 

firearms deer seasons (as prescribed by 4VAC15-90-10 and 

4VAC15-90-23), (ii) the special archery seasons (as prescribed 

by 4VAC15-90-70), and (iii) the special muzzleloading 

seasons (as prescribed by 4VAC15-90-80) with bag limits as 

prescribed in 4VAC15-90-90. 

C. Validating tags and checking elk by licensee or permittee. 

Upon killing an elk, any licensed or permitted hunter shall 
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validate a tag, bonus deer permit, or special permit and check 

the elk in accordance with 4VAC15-90-231. At the time of 

checking, the hunter must call the department upon receiving a 

check card or confirmation number to schedule an inspection 

of the carcass and the site of kill for the collection of biological 

samples for disease testing.  

D. Checking elk by persons exempt from license 

requirements or holding a license authorization number. Upon 

killing an elk, any person (i) exempt from license requirement 

as prescribed in § 29.1-301 of the Code of Virginia, (ii) issued 

a complimentary license as prescribed in § 29.1-339 of the 

Code of Virginia, (iii) holding a permanent license issued 

pursuant to § 29.1-301 E, or (iv) holding a Virginia license 

authorization number issued by a telephone or electronic media 

agent pursuant to § 29.1-327 B of the Code of Virginia shall 

check the elk in accordance with 4VAC15-90-241. At the time 

of checking, the hunter must call the department upon 

receiving a check card or confirmation number to schedule an 

inspection of the carcass and the site of kill for the collection 

of biological samples for disease testing. 

4VAC15-90-89. Earn a buck (EAB). 

A. For the purposes of this section, the term "license year" 

defines means the period between July 1 and June 30 of the 

following year. 

Albemarle County on private lands. During a license year, it 

shall be unlawful to take a second antlered deer on private 

lands in Albemarle County prior to taking at least one 

antlerless deer on private lands in Albemarle County, and it 

shall be unlawful to take a third antlered deer on private lands 

in Albemarle County prior to taking at least two antlerless deer 

on private lands in Albemarle County. 

Arlington County. During a license year, it shall be unlawful 

to take a second antlered deer in Arlington County prior to 

taking at least two antlerless deer in Arlington County, and it 

shall be unlawful to take a third antlered deer in Arlington 

County prior to taking at least three antlerless deer in Arlington 

County. 

Bedford County on private lands. During a license year, it 

shall be unlawful to take a second antlered deer on private 

lands in Bedford County prior to taking at least one antlerless 

deer on private lands in Bedford County, and it shall be 

unlawful to take a third antlered deer on private lands in 

Bedford County prior to taking at least two antlerless deer on 

private lands in Bedford County. 

Clarke County on private lands. During a license year, it shall 

be unlawful to take a second antlered deer on private lands in 

Clarke County prior to taking at least two antlerless deer on 

private lands in Clarke County. 

Culpeper County on private lands. During a license year, it 

shall be unlawful to take a second antlered deer on private 

lands in Culpeper County prior to taking at least one antlerless 

deer on private lands in Culpeper County, and it shall be 

unlawful to take a third antlered deer on private lands in 

Culpeper County prior to taking at least two antlerless deer on 

private lands in Culpeper County. 

Fairfax County. During a license year, it shall be unlawful to 

take a second antlered deer in Fairfax County prior to taking at 

least two antlerless deer in Fairfax County, and it shall be 

unlawful to take a third antlered deer in Fairfax County prior 

to taking at least three antlerless deer in Fairfax County. 

Fauquier County on private lands. During a license year, it 

shall be unlawful to take a second antlered deer on private 

lands in Fauquier County prior to taking at least one antlerless 

deer on private lands in Fauquier County, and it shall be 

unlawful to take a third antlered deer on private lands in 

Fauquier County prior to taking at least two antlerless deer on 

private lands in Fauquier County. 

Floyd County on private lands. During a license year, it shall 

be unlawful to take a second antlered deer on private lands in 

Floyd County prior to taking at least one antlerless deer on 

private lands in Floyd County. 

Franklin County on private lands. During a license year, it 

shall be unlawful to take a second antlered deer on private 

lands in Franklin County prior to taking at least one antlerless 

deer on private lands in Franklin County, and it shall be 

unlawful to take a third antlered deer on private lands in 

Franklin County prior to taking at least two antlerless deer on 

private lands in Franklin County. 

Frederick County on private lands. During a license year, it 

shall be unlawful to take a second antlered deer on private 

lands in Frederick County prior to taking at least two antlerless 

deer on private lands in Frederick County. 

Grayson County on private lands. During a license year, it 

shall be unlawful to take a second antlered deer on private 

lands in Grayson County prior to taking at least one antlerless 

deer on private lands in Grayson County. 

Hanover County on private lands. During a license year, it 

shall be unlawful to take a second antlered deer on private 

lands in Hanover County prior to taking at least one antlerless 

deer on private lands in Hanover County, and it shall be 

unlawful to take a third antlered deer on private lands in 

Hanover County prior to taking at least two antlerless deer on 

private lands in Hanover County. 

Henrico County on private lands. During a license year, it 

shall be unlawful to take a second antlered deer on private 

lands in Henrico County prior to taking at least one antlerless 

deer on private lands in Henrico County, and it shall be 

unlawful to take a third antlered deer on private lands in 

Henrico County prior to taking at least two antlerless deer on 

private lands in Henrico County. 

James City County on private lands. During a license year, it 

shall be unlawful to take a second antlered deer on private 
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lands in James City County prior to taking at least one 

antlerless deer on private lands in James City County, and it 

shall be unlawful to take a third antlered deer on private lands 

in James City County prior to taking at least two antlerless deer 

on private lands in James City County. 

Loudoun County. During a license year, it shall be unlawful 

to take a second antlered deer in Loudoun County prior to 

taking at least two antlerless deer in Loudoun County, and it 

shall be unlawful to take a third antlered deer in Loudoun 

County prior to taking at least three antlerless deer in Loudoun 

County. 

Montgomery County on private lands. During a license year, 

it shall be unlawful to take a second antlered deer on private 

lands in Montgomery County prior to taking at least one 

antlerless deer on private lands in Montgomery County. 

Prince George County on private lands. During a license year, 

it shall be unlawful to take a second antlered deer on private 

lands in Prince George County prior to taking at least one 

antlerless deer on private lands in Prince George County, and 

it shall be unlawful to take a third antlered deer on private lands 

in Prince George County prior to taking at least two antlerless 

deer on private lands in Prince George County. 

Prince William County except on Department of Defense 

lands. During a license year, it shall be unlawful to take a 

second antlered deer in Prince William County (except on 

Department of Defense lands) prior to taking at least two 

antlerless deer in Prince William County (except on 

Department of Defense lands), and it shall be unlawful to take 

a third antlered deer in Prince William County (except on 

Department of Defense lands) prior to taking at least three 

antlerless deer in Prince William County (except on 

Department of Defense lands). 

Pulaski County on private lands. During a license year, it shall 

be unlawful to take a second antlered deer on private lands in 

Pulaski County prior to taking at least one antlerless deer on 

private lands in Pulaski County. 

Rappahannock County. During a license year, it shall be 

unlawful to take a second antlered deer in Rappahannock 

County prior to taking at least one antlerless deer in 

Rappahannock County, and it shall be unlawful to take a third 

antlered deer in Rappahannock County prior to taking at least 

two antlerless deer in Rappahannock County. 

Roanoke County on private lands. During a license year, it 

shall be unlawful to take a second antlered deer on private 

lands in Roanoke County prior to taking at least one antlerless 

deer on private lands in Roanoke County. 

Shenandoah County on private lands. During a license year, 

it shall be unlawful to take a second antlered deer on private 

lands in Shenandoah County prior to taking at least one 

antlerless deer on private lands in Shenandoah County. 

Warren County on private lands. During a license year, it 

shall be unlawful to take a second antlered deer on private 

lands in Warren County prior to taking at least two antlerless 

deer on private lands in Warren County. 

York County on private lands. During a license year, it shall 

be unlawful to take a second antlered deer on private lands in 

York County prior to taking at least one antlerless deer on 

private lands in York County, and it shall be unlawful to take 

a third antlered deer on private lands in York County prior to 

taking at least two antlerless deer on private lands in York 

County. 

Cities and towns. During a license year in any town or city 

(except Chesapeake, Suffolk, and Virginia Beach) east of the 

Blue Ridge Mountains, it shall be unlawful to take a second 

antlered deer prior to taking at least one antlerless deer in that 

town or city, and it shall be unlawful to take a third antlered 

deer prior to taking at least two antlerless deer in that town or 

city. During a license year in any town or city west of the Blue 

Ridge Mountains, it shall be unlawful to take a second antlered 

deer prior to taking at least one antlerless deer in that town or 

city. 

B. Within a license year and within in each individual county 

listed in this subsection, a hunter must have taken at least one 

antlerless deer on private lands in that county before taking a 

second antlered deer on private lands in that county. In those 

counties listed in this subsection east of the Blue Ridge 

Mountains, a hunter must have taken at least two antlerless 

deer on private lands in that county before taking a third 

antlered deer on private lands in that county.  

The counties subject to the provisions of this subsection are 

Accomack, Albemarle, Amherst (west of Route 29), Bedford, 

Carroll, Clarke, Culpeper, Fauquier, Floyd, Franklin, 

Frederick, Grayson, Greene, Hanover, Henrico, Madison, 

Montgomery, Orange, Prince George, Pulaski, Rappahannock, 

Roanoke, Rockingham (east of Routes 613 and 731), 

Shenandoah, Stafford, Warren, and Wythe. 

C. Within a license year and within in each individual county 

listed in this subsection, a hunter must have taken at least two 

antlerless deer on private lands in that county before taking a 

second antlered deer on private lands in that county. A hunter 

also must have taken at least three antlerless deer on private 

lands in that county before taking a third antlered deer on 

private lands in that county.  

The counties subject to the provisions of this subsection are 

James City and York. 

D. Within a license year and within each individual county 

listed in this subsection, a hunter must have taken at least two 

antlerless deer in that county before taking a second antlered 

deer in that county. A hunter must also have taken at least three 

antlerless deer in that county before taking a third antlered deer 

in that county. 
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The counties subject to the provisions of this subsection are 

Arlington, Fairfax, Loudoun, and Prince William (except on 

Department of Defense lands). 

E. Within a license year and within any city or town, except 

the cities of Chesapeake, Suffolk (east of the Dismal Swamp 

line), and Virginia Beach, a hunter must have taken at least one 

antlerless deer in that city or town before taking a second 

antlered deer in that city or town. In those cities and towns east 

of the Blue Ridge Mountains, a hunter must have taken at least 

two antlerless deer in that city or town before taking a third 

antlered deer in that city or town. 

F. The Earn A Buck Program does not apply to the Cities of 

Chesapeake, Suffolk (east of the Dismal Swamp line), and 

Virginia Beach. 

4VAC15-90-90. Bag limit, bonus deer permits and special 

antlerless provision for youth hunters. 

A. The bag limit for deer east of the Blue Ridge Mountains 

(except on national forest lands in Amherst, Bedford, and 

Nelson Counties) is two per day, six per license year, three of 

which must be antlerless unless otherwise noted in this 

subsection. 

1. The daily bag limit for deer is unlimited in the Counties 

(including, including the cities and towns within) within, of 

Arlington, Fairfax, Loudoun, and Prince William and in all 

the cities and towns that allow deer hunting (except in the 

Cities of Chesapeake, Suffolk, and Virginia Beach). 

2. Only one deer per day may be taken on national forest, 

lands in Amherst, Bedford, and Nelson Counties 

department-owned, and department-managed lands. 

3. Only one elk per day may be taken east of the Blue Ridge 

Mountains. 

B. The bag limit for deer west of the Blue Ridge Mountains 

and on national forest lands in Amherst, Bedford, and Nelson 

Counties is two per day, five per license year, three of which 

must be antlerless unless otherwise noted in this subsection. 

1. The daily bag limit for deer is unlimited in all the cities 

and towns that allow deer hunting. 

2. Only one deer per day may be taken on national forest, 

department-owned, and department-managed lands west of 

the Blue Ridge Mountains. 

2. 3. If a deer hunter kills two antlered bucks in a license year 

in Alleghany, Augusta, Bath, Highland, or Rockbridge 

County, at least one of the antlered bucks must have at least 

four antler points, one inch or longer, on one side of the 

antlers. This subdivision shall not apply to any county 

designated by the department within 25 miles of a confirmed 

detection of Chronic Wasting Disease. 

3. 4. Only one elk per day may be taken west of the Blue 

Ridge Mountains. 

C. Except as noted in subsection E of this section, antlerless 

deer may be taken only during designated either-sex deer 

hunting days during the special archery seasons, special 

muzzleloading seasons, and the general firearms season. 

D. Bonus deer permits shall be valid on private land in 

counties and cities where deer hunting is permitted (except 

Buchanan, Dickenson, and Wise Counties) during the special 

archery seasons, special muzzleloading seasons, and the 

general firearms season. Bonus deer permits shall be valid on 

public lands, including state parks, state forests, national 

wildlife refuges, military areas, etc., as authorized by the 

managing agency. Unless otherwise posted or authorized in 

writing for wildlife management areas by the department, or 

for national forest lands by the U.S. Forest Service, the use of 

bonus permits is prohibited on department-owned and national 

forest lands. Bonus deer permits shall be valid for antlerless 

deer only. Deer taken on bonus permits shall count against the 

daily bag limit but are in addition to the seasonal bag limit. 

E. Deer hunters 15 years of age and younger, including those 

exempt from purchasing a hunting license and holders of an 

apprentice hunting license, when in compliance with all 

applicable laws and license requirements, may take one 

antlerless deer per license year on days other than designated 

either-sex deer hunting days during the special muzzleloading 

seasons or the general firearms season in all counties. 

4VAC15-90-91. General firearms season either-sex deer 

hunting days. 

A. During the general firearms deer season, deer of either sex 

may be taken within: 

Accomack County: full season. 

Albemarle County: full season. 

Alleghany County: the second Saturday and the last day. 

-National forest lands: the last day. 

Amelia County: the second and third Saturdays and the last 

13 days. 

-Amelia WMA: the second and third Saturdays and the 

last six days. 

Amherst County (east of Business U.S. 29 from the James 

River to its intersection with U.S. 29 just south of the Town 

of Amherst continuing north on U.S. 29 to the Tye River): 

the second and third Saturdays and the last 29 days. 

Amherst County (west of Business U.S. 29 from the James 

River to its intersection with U.S. 29 just south of the Town 

of Amherst continuing north on U.S. 29 to the Tye River): 

full season. 

-National forest lands: the last day. 
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Appomattox County: the second and third Saturdays and the 

last six days. 

-Appomattox-Buckingham State Forest: the second and 

third Saturdays. 

-Featherfin WMA: the second and third Saturdays and the 

last 29 days. 

Arlington County: full season. 

Augusta County: full season. 

-National forest and department-owned lands: the last day. 

Bath County: the second Saturday and the last day. 

-National forest and department-owned lands: the last day. 

Bedford County: full season. 

-National forest lands: the last day. 

Bland County: the second Saturday and the last day. 

-National forest lands: the second Saturday and the last day. 

Botetourt County: full season. 

-National forest and department-owned lands: the last day. 

Brunswick County: the second and third Saturdays and the 

last six days. 

Buchanan County: antlered bucks only—no either-sex days. 

Only deer with antlers above the hairline may be taken. 

Buckingham County: the second and third Saturdays and the 

last six days. 

-Horsepen Lake WMA: the second and third Saturdays 

and the last six days. 

-Appomattox-Buckingham State Forest: the second and 

third Saturdays. 

-Featherfin WMA: the second and third Saturdays and the 

last 29 days. 

Campbell County (east of Norfolk Southern Railroad): the 

second and third Saturdays and the last 29 days.  

Campbell County (west of Norfolk Southern Railroad): full 

season. 

Caroline County: the second and third Saturdays and the last 

six days. 

-Mattaponi WMA: the second and third Saturdays and the 

last six days. 

Carroll County: full season. 

-National forest and department-owned lands: the second 

Saturday and the last day. 

Charles City County: the second and third Saturdays and the 

last 29 days full season. 

-Chickahominy WMA: antlered bucks only—no either-

sex days. Only deer with antlers above the hairline may be 

taken. 

Charlotte County: the second and third Saturdays and the last 

six days. 

Chesapeake (City of): the second and third Saturdays and the 

last 13 days. 

Chesterfield County: the second and third Saturdays and the 

last six 13 days. 

Clarke County: full season. 

Craig County: full season. 

-National forest and department-owned lands: the second 

Saturday and the last day. 

Culpeper County: full season. 

-Chester F. Phelps WMA: the second Saturday and the last 

day. 

Cumberland County: the second and third Saturdays and the 

last 13 days. 

-Cumberland State Forest: the second and third Saturdays. 

Dickenson County: antlered bucks only—no either-sex 

days. Only deer with antlers above the hairline may be taken. 

Dinwiddie County: the second and third Saturdays and the 

last six days. 

Essex County: the second and third Saturdays and the last 

six days. 

Fairfax County: full season. 

Fauquier County: full season. 

-G. Richard Thompson WMA: the second Saturday and 

the last day third Saturdays and the last 13 days. 

-Chester F. Phelps WMA: the second Saturday and the last 

day. 

Floyd County: full season. 

Fluvanna County: second and third Saturdays and the last 13 

29 days. 

-Hardware River WMA: the second and third Saturdays 

and the last 13 days. 

Franklin County: full season. 

-Philpott Reservoir: the second Saturday and the last six 

days. 

-Turkeycock Mountain WMA: the second Saturday and 

the last six days. 

Frederick County: full season. 

-National forest lands: the last day. 
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Giles County: full season. 

-National forest lands: the second Saturday and the last 

day. 

Gloucester County: the second and third Saturdays and the 

last six days. 

Goochland County: the second and third Saturdays and the 

last 29 days full season. 

Grayson County: full season. 

-National forest lands and Grayson Highlands State Park: 

the last day. 

Greene County: full season. 

Greensville County: the second and third Saturdays and the 

last six days. 

Halifax County: the second and third Saturdays and the last 

13 days. 

Hanover County: full season. 

Henrico County: full season. 

Henry County: the second and third Saturdays and the last 

13 days. 

-Fairystone Farms WMA, Fairystone State Park, and 

Philpott Reservoir: the second Saturday and the last six 

days. 

-Turkeycock Mountain WMA: the second Saturday and 

the last six days. 

Highland County: the second Saturday and the last day. 

-National forest lands: the last day. 

-Department-owned lands: the second Saturday and the 

last day. 

Isle of Wight County: full season. 

-Ragged Island WMA: antlered bucks only—no either-sex 

days. Only deer with antlers above the hairline may be 

taken. 

James City County: full season. 

King and Queen County: the second and third Saturdays and 

the last six 13 days. 

King George County: the second and third Saturdays and the 

last 13 days. 

King William County: the second and third Saturdays and 

the last six 13 days. 

Lancaster County: the second and third Saturdays and the 

last 13 days. 

Lee County: the second Saturday and the last two days. 

-National forest lands: antlered bucks only—no either-sex 

days. Only deer with antlers above the hairline may be 

taken. 

Loudoun County: full season. 

Louisa County: the second and third Saturdays and the last 

29 days. 

Lunenburg County: the second and third Saturdays and the 

last six days. 

Madison County: full season. 

-Rapidan WMA: the second and third Saturdays and the 

last 29 13 days. 

Mathews County: the second and third Saturdays and the last 

six days. 

Mecklenburg County: the second and third Saturdays and 

the last six days. 

-Dick Cross WMA: the second and third Saturdays and the 

last six days. 

Middlesex County: the second and third Saturdays and the 

last six days. 

Montgomery County: full season. 

-National forest lands: the second Saturday and the last 

day. 

Nelson County (east of Route 151): the second and third 

Saturdays and the last 29 days. 

-James River WMA: the second Saturday and the last six 

days. 

Nelson County (west of Route 151): full season. 

-National forest lands: the last day. 

New Kent County: the second and third Saturdays and the 

last 29 days full season. 

Northampton County: full season. 

Northumberland County: the second and third Saturdays and 

the last 13 days. 

Nottoway County: the second and third Saturdays and the 

last six days. 

Orange County: full season. 

Page County: the second Saturday and the last six days full 

season. 

-National forest lands: the last day. 

Patrick County: the second and third Saturdays and the last 

13 days. 

-Fairystone Farms WMA, Fairystone State Park, and 

Philpott Reservoir: the second Saturday and the last six 

days. 

Pittsylvania County (east of Norfolk Southern Railroad): the 

second and third Saturdays and the last 29 days. 

-White Oak Mountain WMA: the second Saturday and the 

last day three days. 
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Pittsylvania County (west of Norfolk Southern Railroad): 

full season. 

Powhatan County: the second and third Saturdays and the 

last 29 days full season. 

-Powhatan WMA: the second and third Saturdays and the 

last 13 days. 

Prince Edward County: the second and third Saturdays and 

the last six days. 

-Briery Creek WMA: the second and third Saturdays and 

the last six days. 

-Featherfin WMA: the second and third Saturdays and the 

last 29 days. 

-Prince Edward State Forest: the second and third 

Saturdays. 

Prince George County: full season. 

Prince William County: full season. 

Pulaski County: full season. 

-National forest lands: the second Saturday and the last 

day. 

Rappahannock County: full season. 

Richmond County: the second and third Saturdays and the 

last 13 days. 

Roanoke County: full season. 

-National forest and department-owned lands: the last day. 

Rockbridge County: the second Saturday and the last two 

days. 

-National forest and department-owned lands: the last day. 

Rockingham County: full season. 

-National forest lands: the last day. 

-Private lands west of Routes 613 and 731: the second 

Saturday and the last day. 

Russell County: the second Saturday and the last two days. 

-Department-owned lands and the Channels State Forest: 

the last day. 

Scott County: the second Saturday and the last six days. 

-National forest lands: antlered bucks only—no either-sex 

days. Only deer with antlers above the hairline may be 

taken. 

Shenandoah County: full season. 

-National forest lands: the last day. 

Smyth County: full season. 

-National forest lands, department-owned lands, and 

Hungry Mother State Park: the last day. 

Southampton County: full season. 

Spotsylvania County: the second and third Saturdays and the 

last 29 days full season. 

-Oakley Forest WMA: the second and third Saturdays and 

the last 13 days. 

Stafford County: full season. 

Suffolk (east of the Dismal Swamp Line): the second and 

third Saturdays and the last 13 days. 

Suffolk (west of the Dismal Swamp Line): full season. 

Surry County: full season. 

-Carlisle and Stewart Tracts of the Hog Island WMA: 

antlered bucks only—no either-sex days. Only deer with 

antlers above the hairline may be taken. 

Sussex County: full season. 

-Big Woods WMA (including the Parkers Branch Tract) 

and Big Woods State Forest: the second and third 

Saturdays and the last six days. 

Tazewell County: the second Saturday and the last two days. 

-National forest and department-owned lands: the last day. 

Virginia Beach (City of): the second and third Saturdays and 

the last 13 days. 

Warren County: full season. 

-National forest lands: the last day. 

Washington County: the second Saturday and the last six 

days. 

-National forest lands, department-owned lands, and the 

Channels State Forest: the last day. 

Westmoreland County: the second and third Saturdays and 

the last 13 days. 

Wise County: antlered bucks only—no either-sex days. Only 

deer with antlers above the hairline may be taken. 

Wythe County: full season. 

-National forest and department-owned lands: the second 

Saturday and the last day. 

York County: full season. 

B. Except as provided in the subsection A of this section, deer 

of either sex may be taken full season during the general 

firearms deer season within the incorporated limits of any city 

or town, state park, national wildlife refuge, or military 

installation that allows deer hunting or within any common 

interest community participating in the special urban archery 

season according to provisions of 4VAC15-90-70. 

4VAC15-90-231. Validating tags and checking reporting 

deer by licensee or permittee. 

A. Any person killing a deer shall, before removing the 

carcass from the place of kill, validate an appropriate tag on his 
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special license for hunting deer and turkey, bonus deer permit, 

or special permit by completely removing the designated notch 

area from the tag or by electronically notching a tag and 

reporting the deer using the department's mobile harvest 

reporting application. Place of kill shall be defined as the 

location where the animal is first reduced to possession. It shall 

be unlawful for any person to validate (notch) a deer tag from 

any special license for hunting deer and turkey, bonus deer 

permit, or special permit prior to the killing of a deer. A deer 

tag that is mistakenly validated (notched) prior to the killing of 

a deer must be immediately voided by the licensee or permittee 

by writing, in ink, the word "VOID" on the line provided on 

the license tag. All electronically notched tags are permanent 

and cannot be voided. 

B. Upon killing a deer and validating (notching) a license tag, 

bonus deer permit or special permit, as provided in subsection 

A of this section, the licensee or permittee shall, upon vehicle 

transport of the carcass or at the conclusion of legal hunting 

hours, whichever occurs first, and without unnecessary delay, 

present the carcass and validated (notched) license tag, bonus 

deer permit or special permit to an authorized checking station 

or to an appropriate representative of the department in the 

county or adjoining county in which the deer was killed or 

report the kill through the department's automated harvest 

reporting system. All deer killed after the first Saturday in 

January (as prescribed in 4VAC15-90-10 and 4VAC15-90-70) 

must be checked by telephone or Internet. At such time, the 

person checking or reporting the carcass will be given a game 

check card furnished by the department or a confirmation 

number from the automated reporting system. The successful 

hunter shall then immediately record the game check card 

number or confirmation number, in ink, on the line provided 

on the tag that was validated (notched) in the field. If checked 

at a big game check station, the game check card must be kept 

in possession with the carcass until the carcass is processed. If 

the carcass is left unattended, the game check card must be 

securely attached to the carcass. If the kill is reported using the 

automated harvest reporting system, no check card is required 

as long as the hunter who killed the animal is in possession of 

the carcass. If the automated harvest reported carcass is left 

unattended or transferred to the possession of another 

individual, written documentation including the successful 

hunter's full name, the date the animal was killed, and the 

confirmation number must be created and kept in possession 

with the carcass until the carcass is processed. If the carcass is 

left unattended, this written documentation must be securely 

attached to the carcass. Processed carcass parts of a deer killed 

legally in Virginia may be transported; however, upon request 

of any authorized law-enforcement officer, sufficient verbal or 

written information necessary to properly establish legal 

possession must be furnished immediately. 

C. After the kill is reported, no written documentation is 

required as long as the hunter who killed the animal is in 

possession of the carcass. If the reported carcass is left 

unattended or transferred to the possession of another 

individual, written documentation that includes the successful 

hunter's full name, the date the animal was killed, and the 

confirmation number must be created and kept in possession 

with the carcass until the carcass is processed. If the carcass is 

left unattended, this written documentation must be securely 

attached to the carcass. 

C. D. It shall be unlawful for any person to destroy the 

identity of the sex of any deer killed unless and until the license 

tag, bonus deer permit or special permit is validated (notched) 

and checked reported as required by this section. Successful 

deer hunters are allowed to dismember the carcass to pack it 

out from the place of kill, after an appropriate license tag has 

been validated (notched) as required in subsection A of this 

section, as long as they do not destroy the identity of the sex 

and all the parts of the carcass are present when the deer is 

checked at a big game check station or reported through the 

automated harvest reporting system. Any deer found in the 

possession of any person without a validated (notched) license 

tag or documentation that the deer has been checked (via a big 

game check station or the automated harvest reporting system) 

as required by this section shall be forfeited to the 

Commonwealth to be disposed of as provided by law reported. 

E. Processed carcass parts of a deer killed legally in Virginia 

may be transported. However, upon request of any authorized 

law-enforcement officer, sufficient verbal or written 

information necessary to properly establish legal possession 

must be furnished immediately. 

F. Any deer found in the possession of any person without a 

validated (notched) license tag or documentation that the deer 

has been reported as required by this section shall be forfeited 

to the Commonwealth to be disposed of as provided by law. 

D. G. Upon killing a deer within an area designated by the 

department for deer disease management and on days 

designated by the department, the licensee or permittee shall 

present the carcass, on the day of kill, at or submit carcass parts 

or samples as directed by the department, to a location 

designated by the department for the purposes of disease 

surveillance or biological monitoring. 

4VAC15-90-241. Checking Reporting deer by persons 

exempt from license requirement or holding a license 

authorization number. 

A. Upon killing a deer, any person (i) exempt from license 

requirement as prescribed in § 29.1-301 of the Code of 

Virginia, (ii) issued a complimentary license as prescribed in § 

29.1-339 of the Code of Virginia, (iii) holding a permanent 

license issued pursuant to § 29.1-301 E of the Code of Virginia, 

or (iv) holding a Virginia license authorization number issued 

by a telephone or electronic media agent pursuant to § 29.1-

327 B of the Code of Virginia shall, upon vehicle transport of 

the carcass or at the conclusion of legal hunting hours, 

whichever occurs first, and without unnecessary delay, present 
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the carcass to an authorized checking station or to any 

appropriate representative of the department in the county or 

adjoining county in which the deer was killed or report the kill 

through the department's automated harvest reporting system. 

All deer killed after the first Saturday in January (as prescribed 

in 4VAC15-90-22 and 4VAC15-90-70) must be checked by 

telephone or Internet. At such time, the person checking or 

reporting the carcass shall be given a game check card 

furnished by the department or a confirmation number from the 

automated reporting system. If checked at a big game check 

station, the game check card must be kept in possession with 

the carcass until the carcass is processed. If the carcass is left 

unattended, the game check card must be securely attached to 

the carcass. If the kill is reported using the automated harvest 

reporting system, the The successful hunter shall immediately 

create written documentation including the successful hunter's 

full name, the date the animal was killed, and the confirmation 

number. This written documentation must be kept in 

possession with the carcass until the carcass is processed. If the 

automated harvest reported carcass is transferred to the 

possession of another individual, the written documentation 

must be transferred with the carcass to the individual and kept 

in possession with the carcass until the carcass is processed. If 

the carcass is left unattended, this written documentation must 

be securely attached to the carcass. Processed carcass parts of 

a deer killed legally in Virginia may be transported; however, 

upon request of any authorized law enforcement officer, 

sufficient verbal or written information necessary to properly 

establish legal possession must be furnished immediately. 

B. It shall be unlawful for any person to destroy the identity 

(sex) of any deer killed until the deer is checked reported as 

required by this section. Successful deer hunters are allowed to 

dismember the carcass to pack it out from the place of kill as 

long as they do not destroy the identity of the sex and all the 

parts of the carcass are present when the deer is checked at a 

big game check station or reported through the automated 

harvest reporting system. Any deer that has not been checked 

(via a big game check station or the automated harvest 

reporting system) as required by this section found in the 

possession of any person exempt from license requirements or 

holding a license authorization number shall be forfeited to the 

Commonwealth to be disposed of as provided by law reported. 

C. Processed carcass parts of a deer killed legally in Virginia 

may be transported; however, upon request of any authorized 

law-enforcement officer, sufficient verbal or written 

information necessary to properly establish legal possession 

must be furnished immediately. 

D. Any deer that has not been reported as required by this 

section found in the possession of any person exempt from 

license requirements or holding a license authorization number 

shall be forfeited to the Commonwealth to be disposed of as 

provided by law.  

E. Upon killing a deer within an area designated by the 

department for deer disease management and on days 

designated by the department, the hunter shall present the 

carcass, on the same day the deer was killed, at or submit 

carcass parts or samples as directed by the department to a 

location designated by the department for the purposes of deer 

disease surveillance or biological monitoring. 

4VAC15-90-260. Hunting with dogs prohibited in certain 

counties and areas. 

A. Generally. It shall be unlawful to hunt deer with dogs in 

the counties of Amherst (west of Business U.S. 29 from the 

James River to its intersection with U.S. 29 just south of the 

Town of Amherst continuing north on U.S. 29 to the Tye 

River), Bedford, Campbell (west of Norfolk Southern 

Railroad, and in the City of Lynchburg), Fairfax, Franklin, 

Henry, Loudoun, Nelson (west of Route 151), Northampton, 

Patrick and Pittsylvania (west of Norfolk Southern Railroad); 

and on the Amelia, Chester F. Phelps, G. Richard Thompson 

and Pettigrew Wildlife Management Areas, except that 

tracking dogs as defined in § 29.1-516.1 of the Code of 

Virginia may be used. 

B. Special provision for Greene and Madison counties. It shall 

be unlawful to hunt deer with dogs during the first 14 days on 

the Saturday prior to the third Monday in November and for 13 

consecutive days following in the counties of Greene and 

Madison Counties, except that tracking dogs as defined in 

§ 29.1-516.1 of the Code of Virginia may be used. 

C. It shall be unlawful to hunt deer with dogs in any county 

or city during open deer season for antlerless deer only as 

defined in 4VAC15-90-10. 

4VAC15-90-293. Unauthorized cervid parts, excretions, 

and carcass importation, movement, possession, and use. 

A. The following words or terms, when used in 4VAC15-40-

285, this section, and 4VAC15-90-294, shall have the 

following meanings unless the context clearly indicates 

otherwise: 

"Cervid" means any member of the deer family Cervidae, 

including white-tailed deer, fallow deer, sika deer, elk, and 

reindeer. 

"Import" means to transport a carcass or carcass parts, other 

than those outlined in subsection B of this section, into the 

Commonwealth in such a manner that the carcass or carcass 

parts are removed from their place of storage within a vehicle 

or other conveyance and placed or deposited within the 

Commonwealth. Deer harvested on properties that span the 

Commonwealth's boundary with an adjoining state shall not be 

considered imported. 

B. No person shall import or possess any carcass or part of a 

carcass of any member of the family Cervidae (deer) 

originating outside of the Commonwealth, except that the 

following carcass parts may be imported and possessed: 
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1. Boned-out meat; 

2. Quarters or other portions of meat with no part of the 

spinal column or skull attached; 

3. Hides or capes with no skull attached; 

4. Clean (no meat or tissue attached) skulls or skull plates 

with or without antlers attached; 

5. Clean (no meat or tissue attached) lower jaw bones; 

6. Antlers (with no meat or tissue attached); 

6. 7. Upper canine teeth (buglers, whistlers, or ivories); and 

7. 8. Finished taxidermy products. 

A legible label shall be affixed to packages or containers 

containing the allowed carcass parts bearing the following 

information: the species of animal, the state or province from 

where the animal originated, and the name and address of the 

person who either killed or possesses the allowed parts in the 

Commonwealth. 

C. Any person who imports into Virginia any deer carcass or 

parts described in subsection A of this section and is notified 

that the animal has tested positive for Chronic Wasting Disease 

must report the test results to the department within 72 hours 

of receiving the notification. In order to facilitate the proper 

disposal of any infected material, the department may take into 

possession any imported carcass or carcass part of an animal if 

the animal has tested positive for Chronic Wasting Disease. 

D. No person shall transport any carcass or part of a carcass 

of any cervid out of any area designated by the department as 

a disease management area, except that the carcass parts 

enumerated in subsection B of this section may be transported, 

and carcasses or parts may be transported directly to locations 

designated by the department, provided that such carcasses or 

parts are transported without unnecessary delay and secured 

within a vehicle during transit. Provisions of this section shall 

not apply to employees of the department or another 

government agency, or their designees, working in an official 

disease investigation or management capacity: 

1. Carcass parts enumerated in subsection B of this section; 

or 

2. Carcasses and parts transported to other locations or areas 

within the Commonwealth designated by the department or 

to specified locations in other states and provinces where it 

is legal to import such materials, provided that such 

carcasses or parts are transported without delay and secured 

within a vehicle or other conveyance during transit. 

Provided further that, except for carcass parts enumerated in 

subsection B of this section, no person shall transport any 

carcass or part of a carcass of any cervid between 

administrative units of a disease management area when 

prohibited by the department. Provisions of this section shall 

not apply to employees of the department or another 

government agency, or their designees, working in an official 

disease investigation or management capacity. 

E. No person shall for the purposes of taking or attempting to 

take, attracting, or scouting any wild animal in Virginia possess 

or use any substance or material that contains or purports to 

contain any excretion collected from a cervid, including feces, 

urine, blood, gland oil, or other bodily fluid. 

4VAC15-90-500. Elk hunting outside the Elk Management 

Zone.  

A. Open season. Except as otherwise provided by 4VAC15-

90-510, it shall be lawful to hunt elk of either sex during (i) the 

general firearms deer seasons as prescribed by 4VAC15-90-10 

and 4VAC15-90-23, (ii) the special archery seasons as 

prescribed by 4VAC15-90-70, and (iii) the special 

muzzleloading seasons as prescribed by 4VAC15-90-80 with 

bag limits as prescribed in 4VAC15-90-90. 

B. Upon killing an elk. Any licensed or permitted hunter shall 

validate a tag on that hunter's special license for hunting deer 

and turkey or bonus deer permit and check the elk in 

accordance with 4VAC15-90-231. Upon receiving a 

confirmation number, the hunter must call the department to 

schedule an inspection of the carcass and the site of kill for the 

collection of biological samples. 

C. Checking elk by persons exempt from license 

requirements or holding a license authorization number. Upon 

killing an elk, any person (i) exempt from license requirement 

as prescribed in § 29.1-301 of the Code of Virginia, (ii) issued 

a complimentary license as prescribed in § 29.1-339 of the 

Code of Virginia, (iii) holding a permanent license issued 

pursuant to § 29.1-301 E, or (iv) holding a Virginia license 

authorization number issued by a telephone or electronic media 

agent pursuant to § 29.1-327 B of the Code of Virginia shall 

check the elk in accordance with 4VAC15-90-241. Upon 

receiving a confirmation number, the hunter must call the 

department to schedule an inspection of the carcass and the site 

of kill for the collection of biological samples.  

4VAC15-90-510. Elk hunting within the Elk Management 

Zone.  

A. It shall be lawful to hunt elk within the Elk Management 

Zone from the second Saturday in October through the 

following Friday, both dates inclusive. 

B. The seasonal bag limit for elk shall be one per season as 

prescribed on the special elk hunting license. The department 

shall determine the number and type of special elk hunting 

licenses distributed within a season and license year. 

C. Except as provided in 4VAC15-90-540 or 4VAC15-90-

550 individuals selected to purchase a special elk hunting 

license shall not be eligible to receive a subsequent special elk 

hunting license for a period of three years. 
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D. All licensed elk hunters and persons accompanying elk 

hunters are required to wear or display a blaze color as 

described in § 29.1-530.1 of the Code of Virginia. 

E. Upon killing an elk, any licensed hunter shall validate the 

tag on the hunter's special elk hunting license and report the elk 

in accordance with procedures outlined in 4VAC15-90-231. 

Upon receiving a confirmation number, the hunter must call 

the department to schedule an inspection of the carcass and the 

site of kill for the collection of biological samples.  

4VAC15-90-520. Special provisions for hunting elk within 

the Elk Management Zone.  

A. It shall be unlawful for any person to destroy the identity 

of the sex of any harvested elk unless and until requirements 

outlined in this section are met. Successful elk hunters are 

allowed to dismember the carcass to pack it out from the place 

of kill as long as evidence of the sex remains naturally attached 

to a major portion of the meat. Once the requirements for tag 

validation, reporting, and biological sampling have been met 

in accordance with 4VAC15-90-510, evidence of sex is no 

longer required. 

B. Any elk found in the possession of any person without a 

validated (notched) license tag or documentation that the elk 

has been reported in accordance with 4VAC15-90-510, shall 

be forfeited to the Commonwealth to be disposed of as 

provided by law.  

C. It is unlawful for a person to fail to reasonably attempt to 

dress, care for, and remove from the field the edible portions 

of any harvested elk, at a minimum that includes the meat from 

front shoulders, back quarters, and back-straps. Violation of 

this subsection shall constitute wanton waste for the purposes 

of section § 29.1-553.1 of the Code of Virginia. 

D. It shall be unlawful to hunt elk with dogs. This subsection 

shall not prohibit the use of tracking dogs, which may be used 

in accordance with § 29.1-516.1 of the Code of Virginia. 

E. It shall be unlawful to drive elk from any area, including 

man-drives, pushing with vehicles, or any other human action 

that is intended to cause animals to move into a harvestable 

situation. 

F. The special elk hunting license shall be valid on all private 

land, with written permission from the landowner, within the 

Elk Management Zone. The special elk hunting license shall 

also be valid on public lands as designated on an individual's 

special elk hunting license. This is only applicable to special 

elk hunting licenses awarded through the random drawing and 

conservation license programs. 

G. Elk hunters 15 years of age and younger or holders of an 

apprentice hunting license must be accompanied by and 

directly supervised by an adult who has a valid Virginia 

hunting license or is exempt from purchasing a hunting license. 

Adult hunters accompanying youth or apprentice hunters on a 

special elk hunt may not carry or discharge weapons. 

4VAC15-90-530. Special elk hunting license, random 

drawing license program.  

A. The annual application period to enter the random drawing 

for a special elk hunting license shall be February 1 to March 

30, both dates inclusive, unless extended by the director. 

Individuals selected for special elk hunting licenses via the 

random drawing will be notified by May 30, and special elk 

hunting licenses must be purchased from the department within 

30 days of notification. 

B. To enter the random drawing for a special elk hunting 

license, applicants shall: 

1. Complete the application for a special elk hunting license 

as provided by the department. 

2. Pay a nonrefundable application fee. 

3. Apply only once for each random drawing. 

C. Nonresidents shall not comprise more than 10%, or one 

drawn applicant, whichever is greater, of all drawn applicants 

in any application pool for the random drawing license 

program. 

D. Applicants who physically reside within the Elk 

Management Zone shall comprise no less than 10%, or a 

minimum of one, whichever is greater, of all drawn applicants 

in any application pool for the random drawing license 

program. 

E. A special elk hunting license awarded through the Random 

Drawing License Program shall not be transferable. 

F. An applicant drawn for a special elk hunting license may 

be rejected if it is determined that the applicant has been 

convicted of two or more wildlife violations within three years 

prior to the last date of the application period. In determining 

an applicant's eligibility, the director shall take into account the 

nature and severity of the violations. 

G. The department will award unclaimed special elk hunting 

licenses to alternates who are drawn during the initial 

application and draw period in the order that the alternates are 

drawn. 

4VAC15-90-540. Special elk hunting license, Landowner 

License Program.  

A. Upon receipt of a valid Landowner License Program 

application from a landowner within the Elk Management 

Zone, the director or the director's designee shall verify the 

application materials and have sole discretion in enrolling the 

property in the Landowner License Program. Applications 

must be received or postmarked by July 1 each year to be 

eligible for the Landowner License Program during that 

calendar year. 



Regulations 

Volume 37, Issue18  Virginia Register of Regulations  April 26, 2021  

2681 

B. A valid Landowner License Program application shall 

include: 

1. Landowner's name, home address, telephone number, and 

address of the property to be enrolled in the program. 

2. A recorded survey or other legal documentation certifying 

that the property to be enrolled is greater than or equal to 50 

contiguous acres. 

3. Affidavit that elk hunters on the enrolled property shall 

not be charged a fee. 

4. Original signature of the landowner. 

5. Only a single application per license year, per landowner. 

C. Landowners enrolled in the Landowner License Program 

maintain the right to limit access to certain areas of the property 

for safety or privacy reasons, provided a minimum of 50 acres 

are open to elk hunting. Areas of limited access must be 

outlined in the initial application. Enrollment in the Landowner 

License Program does not preclude or limit in any way the 

landowner from allowing other hunting or other hunters on the 

property. 

D. The department shall determine and make available to the 

public a program guidance document outlining how 

landowners enrolled in the Landowner License Program shall 

accrue points toward a special elk hunting license, the number 

of points necessary to be awarded such license, and other 

program requirements. The program guidance document will 

be published annually prior to June 1. 

E. Landowners who accrue the necessary number of points, 

as defined in the program guidance document, on an enrolled 

property may request one either-sex special elk hunting license 

from the department. A request for a special elk hunting license 

must be submitted prior to July 1 in the year the license is to 

be used. Once a request for a special elk hunting license is 

made, landowners lose all accrued points. There is no time 

limit over which a landowner is required to accrue license 

points. Landowners shall not combine points from separate 

enrolled properties. 

F. Landowners enrolled in the Landowner License Program 

shall not subdivide contiguous properties under the same 

ownership into multiple, smaller parcels for the purposes of 

this program. 

G. License points cannot be sold or traded. License points are 

nontransferable if the property changes ownership, except that 

if the property is inherited from parents, grandparents, or 

children, resident or nonresident, license points may be 

transferred. The department may request documentation to 

certify the relationship between seller and purchaser as well as 

a copy of bill of sale. 

H. Landowners receiving a special elk hunting license shall 

comply with all of the requirements established in this section 

as well as 4VAC15-90-510, 4VAC15-90-520, and § 29.1-

305.01 of the Code of Virginia. Landowners who fail to 

comply with this chapter may forfeit any accrued license points 

and may not be eligible to accrue new license points. 

I. A special elk hunting license awarded to the landowner 

shall only be used on the property enrolled with the department 

in the Landowner License Program. 

J. A landowner may transfer or sell the special elk hunting 

license to any person eligible to hunt in Virginia. Transfer of 

the special elk hunting license must be reported to the 

department no less than one month prior to the opening day of 

the elk hunting season during the year in which the special elk 

hunting license is requested. To report a transfer to the 

department, the landowner shall provide the department with 

the hunter's:  

1. Name;  

2. Department customer identification number; 

3. Address; and 

4. Telephone number. 

K. A special elk hunting license transferee may be rejected if 

it is determined that the transferee has been convicted of two 

or more wildlife violations, within three years prior to the last 

date of the application period. In determining the transferee's 

eligibility, the director shall take into account the nature and 

severity of the violations. 

4VAC15-90-550. Special elk hunting license, Conservation 

License Program.  

A. For the purposes of this section, the following words or 

terms shall have the following meanings, unless the context 

clearly indicates otherwise: 

"Individual, cooperators, or wildlife conservation 

organizations" means those people or entities whose mission 

is to promote and ensure the conservation of Virginia's 

wildlife resources or to promote opportunities for hunting, 

fishing, trapping, boating, or other wildlife-related 

recreation within Virginia. 

"Proceeds" means the amount of money received by the 

cooperator or organization from the transfer of a special elk 

hunting license minus all expenses and administrative costs 

directly attributable to the transfer of the permit or the 

implementation of the defined project. 

B. Upon receipt of a valid Conservation License Program 

application from an officer or other designated official 

representative of any individual, cooperator, or wildlife 

conservation organization, the director or the director's 

designee shall verify the application materials and may select 

a program awardee annually. Applications must be received or 

postmarked no later than April 1 to be eligible for the 

Conservation License Program during that calendar year. 
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C. A valid Conservation License Program application shall 

include: 

1. Cooperator or organization name, name of the individual 

designated to submit and receive official correspondence, 

address for such correspondence, and a telephone number. 

2. Cooperator or organization mission statement. 

3. A written application describing: 

a. Cooperator or organization role in wildlife conservation 

in Virginia. 

b. Cooperator or organization purpose and intent for 

requesting special elk hunting license through the 

Conservation License Program. 

c. Cooperator or organization proposal for method of 

generating funds from transfer of the special elk hunting 

license to an eligible individual. 

d. Cooperator or organization strategy to direct proceeds 

received from the transfer of the special elk hunting 

license and any matching funding toward wildlife 

conservation or wildlife-related recreation in Virginia's 

Elk Management Zone. 

D. The director shall establish a Conservation License 

Program Committee to review program applications and 

submit a recommendation to the director to award no more than 

one special elk hunting license to a cooperator or organization 

whose application is deemed to provide the greatest benefit to 

wildlife conservation and wildlife-related recreation in 

Virginia per license year. This committee shall be composed 

of a minimum of three individuals and make a recommendation 

to the director by May 1 each year. 

E. A cooperator or organization receiving a special elk 

hunting license must direct all proceeds from the transfer of 

such license, toward a project to improve and enhance wildlife 

habitat, wildlife populations, or wildlife-related recreation 

within the Elk Management Zone. The proposed strategy and 

requirements will be outlined in a memorandum of agreement 

between the department and the cooperator or organization. 

F. A cooperator or organization may transfer the special elk 

hunting license to any person eligible to hunt in Virginia. The 

generation of funds from the transfer of the special elk hunting 

license may only be conducted through a raffle. 

G. Transfer of the special elk hunting license must be reported 

to the department no less than one month prior to the opening 

day of the elk hunting season during which the special elk 

hunting license is valid. To report a transfer to the department, 

the cooperator or organization shall provide the department 

with the hunter's: 

1. Name;  

2. Department customer identification number; 

3. Address; and 

4. Telephone number. 

H. A special elk hunting license transferee may be rejected if 

it is determined that the transferee has been convicted of two 

or more wildlife violations within three years prior to the last 

date of the application period. In determining the transferee's 

eligibility, the director shall take into account the nature and 

severity of the violations. 

I. A cooperator or organization awarded a special elk hunting 

license shall submit an annual report to the department 

regarding any proceeds received from the transfer of the 

license and an accounting of how those funds were directed 

toward wildlife conservation or wildlife-related recreation in 

the Elk Management Zone. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R21-6739; Filed April 1, 2021, 10:03 a.m. 

Proposed Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Board of Wildlife Resources is 

claiming an exemption from the Administrative Process Act 

pursuant to § 2.2-4002 A 3 of the Code of Virginia when 

promulgating regulations regarding the management of 

wildlife. 

Title of Regulation: 4VAC15-200. Game: Rabbit and Hares 

(amending 4VAC15-200-30; adding 4VAC15-200-15, 

4VAC15-200-50, 4VAC15-200-60). 

Statutory Authority: §§ 29.1-103, 29.1-501, and 29.1-502 of 

the Code of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: 

May 27, 2021 - 12 a.m. - Department of Wildlife Resources, 

7870 Villa Park Drive, Suite 400, Henrico, Virginia. 

Public Comment Deadline: May 10, 2021. 

Agency Contact: Aaron Proctor, Regulations Coordinator, 

Department of Wildlife Resources, 7870 Villa Park Drive, 

Suite 400, Henrico, VA 23228, telephone (804) 367-8341, or 

email aaron.proctor@dwr.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The proposed amendments (i) limit the translocation of live 

wild rabbits box trapped in Virginia to within the county of 

capture in order to reduce the risk of spreading Rabbit 

Hemorrhagic Disease, (ii) prohibit the import and 

possession of all whole wild rabbit carcasses originating 

from anywhere outside of Virginia, and (iii) prohibit the 

disposal of wild rabbit parts onto the landscape of the 

Commonwealth. 

4VAC15-200-15. Definitions.  

The following words or terms, when used in this chapter, shall 

have the following meanings unless the context clearly 

indicates otherwise: 

"Import" means to transport a carcass or carcass parts, other 

than those outlined in 4VAC15-200-60, into the 

Commonwealth in such a manner that the carcass or carcass 

mailto:aaron.proctor@dwr.virginia.gov
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parts are removed from their place of storage within a vehicle 

or other conveyance and placed or deposited within the 

Commonwealth. Rabbits harvested on properties that span the 

Commonwealth's boundary with an adjoining state shall not be 

considered imported. 

"Wild rabbit" means any member of the taxonomic order 

Lagomorpha, including rabbits, hares, and pika regulated by 

the Department of Wildlife Resources and not defined as 

domestic breeds by the American Rabbit Breeders Association. 

4VAC15-200-30. Trapping with box traps. 

It shall be lawful to trap rabbits with box traps from October 

15 through January 31, both dates inclusive; provided, that no 

traps shall be set on the lands of another without written 

permission; provided further, that it shall be lawful to live-trap 

rabbits and transport them only within the county of capture, 
for release or restocking purposes in Virginia at any time, 

provided they are not released onto the lands of another 

without permission. 

4VAC15-200-50. Unauthorized wild rabbit carcass 

importation and possession.  

No person shall import or possess a whole carcass or any part 

of a carcass of a wild rabbit originating from outside the 

Commonwealth, except for a fully dressed carcass with the 

skin, feet, head, and internal organs removed. 

4VAC15-200-60. Disposal of wild rabbit parts.  

No wild rabbit carcasses or carcass parts may be discarded or 

disposed of directly on the ground. All such carcasses or 

carcass parts must be buried at least two feet below ground, 

incinerated, or securely bagged and discarded in household 

trash for ultimate disposal in a permitted landfill. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R21-6740; Filed March 31, 2021, 5:02 p.m. 

Proposed Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Board of Wildlife Resources is 

claiming an exemption from the Administrative Process Act 

pursuant to § 2.2-4002 A 3 of the Code of Virginia when 

promulgating regulations regarding the management of 

wildlife. 

Title of Regulation: 4VAC15-240. Game: Turkey (amending 

4VAC15-240-20, 4VAC15-240-32, 4VAC15-240-40, 

4VAC15-240-60, 4VAC15-240-81, 4VAC15-240-91). 

Statutory Authority: §§ 29.1-103, 29.1-501, and 29.1-502 of 

the Code of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: 

May 27, 2021 - 12 p.m. - Department of Wildlife Resources, 

7870 Villa Park Drive, Suite 400, Henrico, Virginia. 

Public Comment Deadline: May 10, 2021. 

Agency Contact: Aaron Proctor, Regulations Coordinator, 

Department of Wildlife Resources, 7870 Villa Park Drive, 

Suite 400, Henrico, VA 23228, telephone (804) 367-8341, or 

email aaron.proctor@dwr.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The proposed amendments (i) increase the Orange County 

fall turkey season to a six-week season, (ii) allow hunting 

from one-half an hour before sunrise to sunset for the entire 

spring turkey season, (iii) align the fall turkey archery 

season with the current statewide deer and bear archery 

season dates, and (iv) remove all references to checking, 

check stations, and check cards to reflect the requirement 

for all big game harvests, including turkey, to be reported 

electronically using the telephone, Internet, or GoOutdoors 

Virginia mobile harvest reporting application beginning in 

the 2021-2022 hunting season. 

4VAC15-240-20. Open season; certain counties and areas; 

two-week season. 

It shall be lawful to hunt turkeys 14 days immediately before 

the Saturday prior to the first Monday in November and on 

Thanksgiving Day in the Counties of Albemarle, Alleghany, 

Augusta, Bath, Greene, Highland, Madison, Page, Orange, and 

Rockingham. 

4VAC15-240-32. Open season; certain counties and areas; 

six-week season. 

It shall be lawful to hunt turkeys 14 days immediately before 

the Saturday prior to the first Monday in November; on 

Thanksgiving Day and the day before; on the Monday nearest 

December 2 and for 12 days following, both dates inclusive; 

and on the second Saturday in January and for 14 days 

following in the Counties of Amherst, Appomattox, 

Brunswick, Buchanan, Buckingham, Campbell, Charlotte, 

Chesterfield, Cumberland, Floyd, Fluvanna, Frederick, 

Goochland, Halifax, Hanover, Henrico, Henry, Louisa, 

Lunenburg, Mecklenburg, Nottoway, Orange, Patrick, 

Pittsylvania, Prince Edward, Shenandoah, Spotsylvania, 

Tazewell, and Warren. 

4VAC15-240-40. Open season; spring season for bearded 

turkeys. 

A. Except as otherwise provided in this section, it shall be 

lawful to hunt bearded turkeys from the second Saturday in 

April and for 35 days following, both dates inclusive, from 1/2 

hour before sunrise to 12:00 noon prevailing time during the 

first 23 days and from 1/2 hour before sunrise to sunset during 

the last 13 days of the spring season sunset. 

B. Turkey hunters 15 years of age and younger and holders of 

an apprentice hunting license may hunt on the first Saturday in 

April and the following calendar day from 1/2 hour before 

sunrise to sunset, when in compliance with applicable license 

requirements and when accompanied and directly supervised 

by an adult who has a valid Virginia hunting license on his 

person or an adult who is exempt from purchasing a hunting 

license. Adult hunters accompanying youth hunters or 
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apprentice license holders on these days may assist with calling 

but they shall not carry or discharge weapons. Youth and 

apprentice turkey hunters are limited on this weekend to one 

turkey per hunter. 

C. Upon receipt of an application from an officer or other 

designated official representative of any nonprofit organization 

that has support for sportsmen with impaired mobility as one 

of its mission statements, the director may issue a permit to an 

officer or representative of the organization that allows 

sportsmen with impaired mobility to hunt bearded wild turkeys 

from 1/2 hour before sunrise to sunset from the 10th through 

16th days of the spring season. Such authorization shall be 

valid only when hunting during an authorized event. All 

participants shall be in compliance with all requirements of law 

and regulation that apply during the spring season, and bearded 

turkeys killed during these events shall count toward daily and 

annual bag limits. 

D. Bearded turkeys may be hunted by calling. 

E. It shall be unlawful to use dogs or organized drives for the 

purpose of hunting. 

F. It shall be unlawful to use or have in possession any shot 

larger than number 2 fine shot when hunting turkeys with a 

shotgun. 

4VAC15-240-60. Archery hunting. 

A. Season. It shall be lawful to hunt turkey with archery 

equipment or a slingbow in those counties and areas open to 

fall turkey hunting from the first Saturday in October through 

the Friday that is 13 days after the Saturday before the last 

Monday in October prior to the third Monday in November, 

both dates inclusive. 

B. Bag limit. The daily and seasonal bag limit for hunting 

turkey with archery equipment or a slingbow shall be the same 

as permitted during the general turkey season in those counties 

and areas open to fall turkey hunting, and any turkey taken 

shall apply toward the total season bag limit. 

C. Carrying firearms prohibited. It shall be unlawful to carry 

firearms while hunting with archery equipment or a slingbow 

during the special archery season. 

D. Use of dogs prohibited during archery season. It shall be 

unlawful to use dogs when hunting with archery equipment 

from the first Saturday in October through the Saturday prior 

to the second Monday in November, both dates inclusive. 

4VAC15-240-81. Validating tags and reporting turkey by 

licensee. 

A. Any person killing a turkey shall, before removing the 

carcass from the place of kill, validate an appropriate tag on his 

special license for hunting deer and turkey by completely 

removing the designated notch area from the tag or by 

electronically notching a tag and reporting the turkey using the 

department's mobile harvest reporting application. Place of kill 

shall be defined as the location where the animal is first 

reduced to possession. It shall be unlawful for any person to 

validate (notch) a turkey tag from any special license for 

hunting deer and turkey prior to the killing of a turkey. A 

turkey tag that is mistakenly validated (notched) prior to the 

killing of a turkey must be immediately voided by the licensee 

by writing, in ink, the word "VOID" on the line provided on 

the tag. All electronically notched tags are permanent and 

cannot be voided. 

B. Upon killing a turkey and validating (notching) a license 

tag, as provided above, the licensee shall, upon vehicle 

transport of the carcass or at the conclusion of legal hunting 

hours, whichever occurs first, and without unnecessary delay, 

present the carcass and validated (notched) license tag to an 

authorized checking station or to an appropriate representative 

of the department in the county or adjoining county in which 

the turkey was killed or report his the kill through the 

department's automated harvest reporting system. Turkeys 

killed during the January season (as prescribed in 4VAC15-

240-10) and the spring turkey seasons (as prescribed in 

4VAC15-240-40 and 4VAC15-240-60) must be reported 

through the department's automated harvest reporting system. 

The person reporting the carcass will be given a game check 

card furnished by the department or a confirmation number 

from the automated harvest reporting system. The successful 

hunter shall then immediately record the game check card 

number or confirmation number, in ink, on the line provided 

on the license tag that was validated (notched) in the field. If 

checked at a big game check station, the game check card must 

be kept in possession with the carcass until the carcass is 

processed. If the carcass is left unattended, the game check 

card must be securely attached to the carcass. If reported using 

the automated harvest reporting system, no check card is 

required as long as the hunter who killed the turkey is in 

possession of the carcass. If the automated harvest reported 

carcass is left unattended or transferred to the possession of 

another individual, written documentation including the 

successful hunter's full name, the date the turkey was killed, 

and the confirmation number must be created and kept in 

possession with the carcass until the carcass is processed. If the 

carcass is left unattended, this written documentation must be 

securely attached to the carcass. 

C. It shall be unlawful for any person to destroy the identity 

of the sex of any turkey killed unless and until the license tag 

is validated (notched) and reported to an authorized checking 

station or to an appropriate representative of the department in 

the county or adjoining county in which the turkey was killed 

or by using the automated harvest reporting system as required 

by this section. Any turkey found in the possession of any 

person without a validated (notched) license tag or 

documentation that the turkey has been reported to an 

authorized checking station or to an appropriate representative 

of the department in the county or adjoining counties in which 

the turkey was killed or by using the automated harvest 
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reporting system as required by this section shall be forfeited 

to the Commonwealth to be disposed of as provided by law. 

4VAC15-240-91. Reporting turkey by persons exempt 

from license requirement or holding a license authorization 

number. 

A. Upon killing a turkey, any person exempt from the license 

requirement as described in § 29.1-301 of the Code of Virginia, 

or issued a complimentary license as prescribed in § 29.1-339, 

or the holder of a permanent license issued pursuant to § 29.1-

301 E, or the holder of a Virginia license authorization number 

issued by a telephone or electronic media agent pursuant to 

§ 29.1-327 B shall, upon vehicle transport of the carcass or at 

the conclusion of legal hunting hours, whichever comes first, 

and without unnecessary delay, present the carcass to an 

authorized checking station or to an appropriate representative 

of the department in the county or adjoining county in which 

the turkey was killed or report his kill through the department's 

automated harvest reporting system. Turkeys killed during the 

January season (as prescribed in 4VAC15-240-10) and the 

spring turkey seasons (as prescribed in 4VAC15-240-40 and 

4VAC15-240-60) must be reported through the department's 

automated harvest reporting system. The person reporting the 

carcass shall be given a game check card furnished by the 

department or a confirmation number from the automated 

harvest reporting system. If checked at a big game check 

station, the game check card must be kept in possession with 

the carcass until the carcass is processed. If the carcass is left 

unattended, the game check card must be securely attached to 

the carcass. If reported using the automated harvest reporting 

system, no No check card is required as long as the hunter who 

killed the turkey is in possession of the carcass. If the 

automated harvest reported carcass is left unattended or 

transferred to the possession of another individual, written 

documentation including the successful hunter's full name, the 

date the turkey was killed, and the confirmation number must 

be created and kept in possession with the carcass until the 

carcass is processed. If the automated harvest reported carcass 

is transferred to the possession of another individual, the 

written documentation must be transferred with the carcass to 

the individual and kept in possession with the carcass until the 

carcass is processed. If the carcass is left unattended, this 

written documentation must be securely attached to the 

carcass. 

B. It shall be unlawful for any person to destroy the identity 

of the sex of any turkey killed until the turkey is reported to an 

authorized checking station or to an appropriate representative 

of the department in the county or adjoining county in which 

the turkey was killed or by using the automated harvest 

reporting system as required by this section. Any turkey that 

has not been reported to an authorized checking station or to 

an appropriate representative of the department in the county 

or adjoining county or counties in which the turkey was killed 

or by using the automated harvest reporting system as required 

by this section found in the possession of any person exempt 

from license requirements or holding a license authorization 

number shall be forfeited to the Commonwealth to be disposed 

of as provided by law. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R21-6741; Filed March 31, 2021, 6:16 p.m. 

Proposed Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Board of Wildlife Resources is 

claiming an exemption from the Administrative Process Act 

pursuant to § 2.2-4002 A 3 of the Code of Virginia when 

promulgating regulations regarding the management of 

wildlife. 

Title of Regulation: 4VAC15-270. Game: Firearms 

(amending 4VAC15-270-10). 

Statutory Authority: §§ 29.1-103, 29.1-501, and 29.1-502 of 

the Code of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: 

May 27, 2021 - 12 p.m. - Department of Wildlife Resources, 

7870 Villa Park Drive, Suite 400, Henrico, Virginia. 

Public Comment Deadline: May 10, 2021. 

Agency Contact: Aaron Proctor, Regulations Coordinator, 

Department of Wildlife Resources, 7870 Villa Park Drive, 

Suite 400, Henrico, VA 23228, telephone (804) 367-8341, or 

email aaron.proctor@dwr.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The proposed amendment includes elk in the list of species 

that must be hunted with rifles not less than .23 caliber and 

removes the .23 caliber restriction for humanely 

dispatching a bear, elk, or deer in circumstances where a 

smaller caliber weapon may be more appropriate.  

4VAC15-270-10. Size rifles for hunting bear, elk, and deer. 

It shall be unlawful to use a rifle of a caliber less than 23 for 

the hunting or killing of bear, elk, and deer. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R21-6742; Filed March 31, 2021, 6:30 p.m. 

Proposed Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Board of Wildlife Resources is 

claiming an exemption from the Administrative Process Act 

pursuant to § 2.2-4002 A 3 of the Code of Virginia when 

promulgating regulations regarding the management of 

wildlife. 

Title of Regulation: 4VAC15-360. Fish: Aquatic 

Invertebrates, Amphibians, Reptiles, and Nongame Fish 

(amending 4VAC15-360-10, 4VAC15-360-60). 

Statutory Authority: §§ 29.1-103, 29.1-501, and 29.1-502 of 

the Code of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: 

May 27, 2021 - 12 p.m. - Department of Wildlife Resources, 

7870 Villa Park Drive, Suite 400, Henrico, Virginia. 

Public Comment Deadline: May 10, 2021. 
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Agency Contact: Aaron Proctor, Regulations Coordinator, 

Department of Wildlife Resources, 7870 Villa Park Drive, 

Suite 400, Henrico, VA 23228, telephone (804) 367-8341, or 

email aaron.proctor@dwr.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The proposed amendments (i) limit the number of native and 

naturalized amphibians and reptiles that can be held in 

personal possession, (ii) protect from collection those 

reptiles and amphibians designated as Species of Greatest 

Conservation Need in Virginia's 2015 Wildlife Action Plan, 

(iii) prohibit the use and sale of salamanders as bait, (iv) 

preclude the collection of reptiles and amphibians on all 

state and federal lands without an appropriate permit or 

license, (v) establish an online registry to report those 

animals legally held prior to the effective date, (vi) include 

requiring snapping turtles harvested for personal use have 

a minimum curved-line carapace length of 13 inches for 

consistency with commercial harvest requirements and 

protection of the species, and (vii) remove the Mexican 

axolotl from the list of predatory and undesirable species as 

found in 4VAC15-30-40, as its listing in 2013 was 

inadvertent.  

4VAC15-360-10. Taking aquatic invertebrates, 

amphibians, reptiles, and nongame fish for private use. 

A. Possession limits. Except as otherwise provided for in 

§ 29.1-418 of the Code of Virginia, 4VAC15-20-130, 

4VAC15-320-40, and the sections of this chapter, it shall be 

lawful to capture and possess live for private use and not for 

sale or export no more than five individuals of any single native 

or naturalized (as defined in 4VAC15-20-50) species of 

amphibian and reptile one individual of any native or 

naturalized, as defined in 4VAC15-20-50, species of 

amphibian or reptile per physical address, and 20 individuals 

of any single native or naturalized (as defined in 4VAC15-20-

50) species of aquatic invertebrate and nongame fish unless 

specifically listed in this subsection: 

1. The following species may be taken in unlimited numbers 

from inland waters statewide: carp, mullet, yellow bullhead, 

brown bullhead, black bullhead, flat bullhead, snail 

bullhead, white sucker, northern hogsucker, gizzard shad, 

threadfin shad, blueback herring (see 4VAC15-320-25 for 

anadromous blueback herring limits), white perch, yellow 

perch, alewife (see 4VAC15-320-25 for anadromous alewife 

limits), stoneroller (hornyhead), fathead minnow, golden 

shiner, goldfish, and Asian clams. Grass carp may only be 

harvested in unlimited numbers from public inland rivers 

and streams of the Commonwealth. It is unlawful to harvest 

grass carp from any public inland lake and reservoir. Anglers 

taking grass carp must ensure that all harvested grass carp 

are dead. 

2. See 4VAC15-320-25 for American shad, hickory shad, 

channel catfish, white catfish, flathead catfish, and blue 

catfish limits. 

3. For the purpose of this chapter, "fish bait" shall be defined 

as native or naturalized species of minnows and chubs 

(Cyprinidae), salamanders (each under six inches in total 

length), crayfish, and hellgrammites. The possession limit 

for taking "fish bait" shall be 50 individuals in aggregate, 

unless said person has purchased "fish bait" and has a receipt 

specifying the number of individuals purchased by species, 

except salamanders and crayfish which cannot be sold 

pursuant to the provisions of 4VAC15-360-60 and 4VAC15-

360-70. However, stonerollers (hornyheads), fathead 

minnows, golden shiners, and goldfish may be taken and 

possessed in unlimited numbers as provided for in 

subdivision 1 of this subsection. 

4. The daily limit for bullfrogs shall be 15 and for snapping 

turtles shall be five. Snapping turtles shall only be taken 

from June 1 to September 30 and must have a minimum 

curved-line carapace length of 13 inches. Bullfrogs and 

snapping turtles may not be taken from the banks or waters 

of designated stocked trout waters. 

5. The following species may not be taken or possessed in 

any number for private use: eastern hellbender, 

diamondback terrapin, and spotted turtle red-eared slider and 

all reptile and amphibian Species of Greatest Conservation 

Need designated in Virginia's 2015 Wildlife Action Plan. 

6. Native amphibians and reptiles, as defined in 4VAC15-

20-50, that are captured within the Commonwealth and 

possessed live for private use and not for sale may be 

liberated under the following conditions: 

a. Period of captivity does not exceed 30 days; 

b. Animals must be liberated at the site of capture; 

c. Animals must have been housed separately from other 

wild-caught and domestic animals; and 

d. Animals that demonstrate symptoms of disease or 

illness or that have sustained injury during their captivity 

may not be released. 

7. Native or naturalized amphibians and reptiles, as defined 

in 4VAC15-20-50, may not be taken or possessed in any 

number from state or federal land without an appropriate 

permit or license. 

B. Methods of taking species in subsection A of this section. 

Except as otherwise provided for in the Code of Virginia, 

4VAC15-20-130, 4VAC15-320-40, and other regulations of 

the board, and except in any waters where the use of nets is 

prohibited, the species listed in subsection A of this section 

may only be taken (i) by hand, hook, and line; (ii) with a seine 

not exceeding four feet in depth by 10 feet in length; (iii) with 

an umbrella type net not exceeding five by five feet square; (iv) 

by small minnow traps with throat openings no larger than one 

inch in diameter; (v) with cast nets; and (vi) with hand-held 

bow nets with diameter not to exceed 20 inches and handle 

length not to exceed eight feet (such cast net and hand-held 

bow nets when so used shall not be deemed dip nets under the 
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provisions of § 29.1-416 of the Code of Virginia). Gizzard shad 

and white perch may also be taken from below the fall line in 

all tidal rivers of the Chesapeake Bay using a gill net in 

accordance with Virginia Marine Resources Commission 

recreational fishing regulations. Bullfrogs may also be taken 

by gigging or bow and arrow and, from private waters, by 

firearms no larger than .22 caliber rimfire. Snapping turtles 

may be taken for personal use with hoop nets not exceeding six 

feet in length with a throat opening not exceeding 36 inches. 

C. Areas restricted from taking mollusks. Except as provided 

for in §§ 29.1-418 and 29.1-568 of the Code of Virginia, it shall 

be unlawful to take the spiny riversnail (Io fluvialis) in the 

Tennessee drainage in Virginia (Clinch, Powell, and the North, 

South, and Middle Forks of the Holston Rivers and tributaries). 

It shall be unlawful to take mussels from any inland waters of 

the Commonwealth. 

D. Areas restricted from taking salamanders. Except as 

provided for in §§ 29.1-418 and 29.1-568 of the Code of 

Virginia, it shall be unlawful to take salamanders in Grayson 

Highlands State Park and on National Forest lands in the 

Jefferson National Forest in those portions of Grayson, Smyth, 

and Washington Counties bounded on the east by State Route 

16, on the north by State Route 603 and on the south and west 

by U.S. Route 58. 

D. Reduction of possession limits for native and naturalized 

amphibians and reptiles. Any person in possession of legally-

obtained native and naturalized amphibians and reptiles, as 

defined in 4VAC15-20-50, prior to the change in personal 

possession allowances in subsection A of this section, effective 

July 1, 2021, must declare such possession to the department 

by January 1, 2022, in a manner prescribed by the department. 

This declaration shall serve as authorization for possession 

only and is not transferable. 

4VAC15-360-60. Prohibit the sale of salamander and 

madtom species. 

It shall be unlawful to sell any species of madtom (Noturus 

sp.) and any species of salamander with the exception of 

nonnative newts (Salamandridae) and Mexican axolotls 

(Ambystoma mexicanum). 

VA.R. Doc. No. R21-6743; Filed March 31, 2021, 7:19 p.m. 

  ––––––––––––––––––  

 

TITLE 6. CRIMINAL JUSTICE AND 
CORRECTIONS 

BOARD OF JUVENILE JUSTICE 

Forms 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: Forms used in administering the 

regulation have been filed by the agency. The forms are not 

being published; however, online users of this issue of the 

Virginia Register of Regulations may click on the name of a 

form with a hyperlink to access it. The forms are also available 

from the agency contact or may be viewed at the Office of the 

Registrar of Regulations, 900 East Main Street, 11th Floor, 

Richmond, Virginia 23219. 

Title of Regulation: 6VAC35-170. Regulation Governing 

Juvenile Data Requests and Research Involving Human 

Subjects. 

Agency Contact: Kristen Peterson, Regulatory and Policy 

Coordinator, Department of Juvenile Justice, 600 East Main 

Street, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 971-2776, email 

kristen.peterson@djj.virginia.gov. 

FORMS (6VAC35-170) 

Research Agreement (rev. 1/2016) 

Research Proposal Summary (rev. 1/2016) 

Research Agreement Form (rev. 4/2021) 

Research Proposal Summary (rev. 4/2021) 

Confidentiality Agreement (eff. 4/2021) 

VA.R. Doc. No. R21-6750; Filed April 7, 2021, 11:07 a.m. 

  ––––––––––––––––––  

TITLE 12. HEALTH 

STATE BOARD OF HEALTH 

Fast-Track Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 12VAC5-421. Food Regulations 

(amending 12VAC5-421-10, 12VAC5-421-30, 12VAC5-

421-40, 12VAC5-421-55, 12VAC5-421-60, 12VAC5-421-70, 

12VAC5-421-80, 12VAC5-421-90, 12VAC5-421-100, 

12VAC5-421-180, 12VAC5-421-190, 12VAC5-421-255, 

12VAC5-421-260, 12VAC5-421-270, 12VAC5-421-295, 

12VAC5-421-300, 12VAC5-421-310, 12VAC5-421-340, 

12VAC5-421-350, 12VAC5-421-400, 12VAC5-421-410, 

12VAC5-421-440, 12VAC5-421-450, 12VAC5-421-470, 

12VAC5-421-540, 12VAC5-421-660, 12VAC5-421-700, 

12VAC5-421-720, 12VAC5-421-725, 12VAC5-421-730, 

12VAC5-421-740, 12VAC5-421-760, 12VAC5-421-830, 

12VAC5-421-850, 12VAC5-421-860, 12VAC5-421-870, 

12VAC5-421-900, 12VAC5-421-930, 12VAC5-421-940, 

mailto:kristen.peterson@djj.virginia.gov
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12VAC5-421-950, 12VAC5-421-1180, 12VAC5-421-1190, 

12VAC5-421-1300, 12VAC5-421-1380, 12VAC5-421-1520, 

12VAC5-421-1535, 12VAC5-421-1550, 12VAC5-421-1620, 

12VAC5-421-1700, 12VAC5-421-1920, 12VAC5-421-2090, 

12VAC5-421-2100, 12VAC5-421-2110, 12VAC5-421-2140, 

12VAC5-421-2270, 12VAC5-421-2330, 12VAC5-421-2350, 

12VAC5-421-2570, 12VAC5-421-2720, 12VAC5-421-2750, 

12VAC5-421-3040, 12VAC5-421-3310, 12VAC5-421-3360, 

12VAC5-421-3390, 12VAC5-421-3410, 12VAC5-421-3510, 

12VAC5-421-3520, 12VAC5-421-3570, 12VAC5-421-3580, 

12VAC5-421-3600 through 12VAC5-421-3750, 12VAC5-

421-3770, 12VAC5-421-3780, 12VAC5-421-3800 through 

12VAC5-421-3840, 12VAC5-421-3860 through 12VAC5-

421-3950, 12VAC5-421-3970, 12VAC5-421-4020, 12VAC5-

421-4040, 12VAC5-421-4050, 12VAC5-421-4060; adding 

12VAC5-421-235, 12VAC5-421-2505, 12VAC5-421-3595, 

12VAC5-421-3961 through 12VAC5-421-3966; repealing 

12VAC5-421-3550, 12VAC5-421-3560, 12VAC5-421-3960, 

12VAC5-421-4010, 12VAC5-421-4035).  

Statutory Authority: §§ 35.1-11 and 35.1-14 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: No public hearing is currently 

scheduled. 

Public Comment Deadline: May 26, 2021. 

Effective Date: June 10, 2021. 

Agency Contact: Julie Henderson, Director of Food and 

General Environmental Services, Virginia Department of 

Health, 109 Governor Street, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone 

(804) 864-7455, FAX (804) 864-7475, TDD (800) 828-1120, 

or email julie.henderson@vdh.virginia.gov. 

Basis: Sections 35.1-11 and 35.1-14 of the Code of Virginia 

authorize and require the State Board of Health to promulgate 

and enforce regulations governing restaurants in accordance 

with the provisions of Title 35.1 of the Code of Virginia. 

Section 35.1-14 provides the legal basis for the promulgation 

and modification of this regulation when the board elects to 

adopt any edition of the Food and Drug Administration (FDA) 

Food Code, or any portion thereof. The authority to adopt the 

FDA Food Code is discretionary; the authority to regulate food 

establishments is not. 

Purpose: The U.S. Centers for Disease Control and Prevention 

estimate that foodborne diseases cause approximately 48 

million people to become ill, 128,000 hospitalizations, and 

3,000 deaths in the United States each year. This translates into 

one in six Virginians who become ill. The purpose of this 

regulation is to prevent foodborne illness by ensuring that 

foods prepared and served at food establishments in Virginia 

are safe, unadulterated, and prepared under sanitary conditions. 

This is accomplished by ensuring the regulation reflects 

current science and technology regarding minimum sanitary 

standards for food establishments to protect the dining public. 

These standards include approved sources for foods used in 

food establishments; specifications for safe handling, storage, 

preparation, and serving of food; personal hygiene of 

employees; precautions to prevent the transmission of diseases 

communicable through food; and the general sanitation of the 

facility. When followed, these minimum standards protect the 

public health, safety, and welfare. In addition, amending the 

Food Regulations to conform to the 2017 FDA Food Code will 

ensure the regulation promotes uniformity in administration of 

the food safety program. The benefits of adopting and 

implementing uniform standards have shown to lead to higher 

compliance, consistent training of public health staff, and an 

increased shared responsibility of the food industry and the 

government in ensuring food provided to the consumer is safe 

and does not become a vehicle for a disease outbreak or for the 

transmission of communicable disease. 

Rationale for Using Fast-Track Rulemaking Process: The 

Virginia Department of Health is initiating this regulatory 

action to amend its regulations to comport the Food 

Regulations with the current FDA Food Code and to ensure 

clarity and uniform application. The FDA Food Code, revised 

approximately every four years, serves as a model document to 

assist state and local agencies with regulatory authority over 

food safety by creating a regulatory scheme that reflects the 

most current science available to reduce the risk of food borne 

illnesses associated with food establishments. VDH has 

revised the Food Regulations to reflect updates to the FDA 

Food Code, which include updates to effective controls as a 

means to reduce the risk of foodborne illness that contribute to 

financial losses and have dire health consequences. This 

regulatory action is best suited for the fast-track rulemaking 

process as it is expected to be noncontroversial. The proposed 

changes ensure the Food Regulations reflect changes made to 

the 2017 FDA Food Code, complement current Virginia law, 

and provide minimal burdens on regulants while protecting 

public health. 

Substance: The proposed changes to the Food Regulations 

revise the regulations to incorporate the 2017 FDA Food Code 

and the 2017 FDA Food Code Annex I, in part. The proposed 

changes also ensure that the regulations complement current 

Virginia law and provide minimal burdens on regulants while 

protecting public health. Substantive changes include (i) the 

removal, addition, and revision of definitions; (ii) language 

amended to require the person in charge to be a certified food 

protection manager, (iii) language added to include standards 

for the use of bandages, finger cots, or finger stalls, (iv) 

language added to require written procedures for the clean-up 

of vomiting and diarrheal events, (v) language added to require 

the separation of raw animal foods from fruits and vegetables 

in certain instances, (vi) language amended to reflect new 

cooking time for raw animal foods, (vii) the removal of the 

Food Service Advisory Committee to reflect changes within 

the Food and Drug Administration, and (viii) language added 

to provide clarity to enforcement procedures when impounding 

food. 

Issues: The primary advantage of the regulation to the public 

is the establishment of modern science-based standards that 

support the prevention of foodborne illness risk factors and 
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ensure the safety of food service within the Commonwealth. 

The revisions will also make the regulation more 

understandable and align them with best practices. The primary 

advantage to the agency is that the regulation will be based on 

current food science and clarify ambiguous areas relating to 

enforcement and inspection standards. Staff who better 

understand the regulatory scheme of food safety provide 

enhanced communication to the public and regulant 

community on how to prevent food borne illness. The primary 

advantage to the regulated community, particularly chains and 

franchises that operate in other states as well as in multiple 

jurisdictions across the Commonwealth that have adopted the 

current version of the FDA Food Code, will be more consistent 

regulatory application. There are no known disadvantages to 

the public or the Commonwealth with the adoption of this 

regulation. 

Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 

Analysis: 

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. The 

State Board of Health proposes numerous amendments to 

12VAC5-421 Food Regulations, many of which conform to 

the latest U.S. Food and Drug Administration (FDA) model 

regulations. 

Background. The FDA describes its Food Code as "a model for 

safeguarding public health and ensuring food is unadulterated 

and honestly presented when offered to the consumer. It 

represents FDA's best advice for a uniform system of 

provisions that address the safety and protection of food 

offered at retail and in food service."1 The FDA encourages 

states to adopt the latest version of the FDA Food Code,2 but it 

is not federal law. 

Conforming to 2017 FDA Food Code 

The following proposed amendments to the regulation 

conform to requirements in the 2017 FDA Food Code: 

• Require that that there be a certified food protection 

manager (CFPM) on the premises of the food 

establishment3 at all times of operation. 

• Require that if used, an impermeable cover such as a 

bandage, finger cot, or finger stall located on the wrist, 

hand or finger of the food employee working with exposed 

food shall be covered with a single-use glove. 

• Require that food establishments have written 

procedures for employees to follow when responding to 

vomiting or diarrheal events that involve the discharge of 

vomitus or fecal matter onto surfaces in the food 

establishment. The procedures must address the specific 

actions employees must take to minimize the spread of 

contamination and the exposure of employees, consumers, 

food, and surfaces to vomitus or fecal matter. 

• Require the protection of prewashed fruits and 

vegetables from cross contamination by separating them 

from raw animal foods during storage, preparation holding 

and display. 

• Increase the minimum required cooking time from 15 to 

17 seconds (at 155°F) for certain raw animal foods.4 

• Reduce the minimum required cooking time from 15 

seconds to less than one second (165°F or above) for 

certain raw animal foods.5 

• Include timelines for required reporting of nitrate and E. 

coli positive lab results to the Virginia Department of 

Health (VDH). 

• Require that food establishments notify customers that a 

copy of the most recent establishment inspection report is 

available upon request by either: a) posting a sign or 

placard in a location in the food establishment that is 

conspicuous to customers, or b) by another method 

acceptable to the department. 

When inspectors find violations of any of the regulations 

requirements, the food establishment must correct the 

deficiencies within specified time periods. All requirements 

are delineated as priority, priority foundation, or core. Priority 

items must be remedied within 72 hours, priority foundation 

items within 10 calendar days, and core items within 90 days. 

In order to conform to the 2017 FDA Food Code, the Board 

proposes to change times in which violations of requirements 

must be corrected as follows: 

Core to Priority (90 calendar days to 72 hours): 

• When a food employee is excluded from the food 

establishment as required due to being diagnosed with an 

infection from Salmonella (nontyphoidal), the exclusion 

for the food employee who is symptomatic should be 

retained until either of the following are met: a) the 

excluded food employee provides to the person in charge 

written medical documentation from a health practitioner 

stating that the food employee is free of a Salmonella 

(nontyphoidal) infection based on test results showing two 

consecutive negative stool specimen cultures that are 

taken, or b) the food employee was restricted after 

symptoms of vomiting or diarrhea are resolved, and more 

than 30 days have passed since the food employee became 

asymptomatic. 

• In a food establishment that serves a highly susceptible 

population,6 unpackaged juice that is prepared on the 

premises for service or sale in a ready-to-eat form must be 

processed under a Hazard Analysis and Critical Control 

Point (HACCP) plan7 and as specified in 21 CFR 120.24. 

Priority Foundation to Priority (10 calendar days to 72 hours): 

• Food must be safe, unadulterated, and honestly 

presented.8 

• Whole-muscle, intact beef steaks that are intended for 

consumption in an undercooked form without a consumer 

advisory must, if individually cut in a food establishment, 

be cut from whole-muscle intact beef that is labeled by a 

food processing plant. 



Regulations 

Volume 37, Issue18  Virginia Register of Regulations  April 26, 2021  

2690 

Core to Priority Foundation (90 calendar days to 10 calendar 

days): 

• In manual warewashing9 operations, a temperature 

measuring device must be provided and readily accessible 

for frequently measuring the washing and sanitizing 

temperatures. 

• In hot water mechanical warewashing operations, an 

irreversible registering temperature indicator must be 

provided and readily accessible for measuring the utensil 

surface temperature. 

• Water from a private well must be sampled and tested at 

least annually for nitrate and total coliform. 

• For a food establishment that is required to have a 

HACCP plan, the HACCP plan must include general 

information such as the name of the permit applicant or 

permit holder, the food establishment address, and contact 

information. 

Priority to Priority Foundation (72 hours to 10 calendar days): 

• If time without temperature control is used as the public 

health control up to a maximum of four hours, the food 

must be marked or otherwise identified to indicate the time 

that is four hours past the point in time when the food is 

removed from temperature control; 

• If time without temperature control is used as the public 

health control up to a maximum of six hours, the food shall 

be monitored to ensure the warmest portion of the food 

does not exceed 70ºF (21ºC) during the six-hour period, 

unless an ambient air temperature is maintained that 

ensures the food does not exceed 70ºF (21ºC) during the 

six-hour holding period. 

Other Proposed Changes 

The following proposed amendments to the regulation are not 

related to the 2017 FDA Food Code: 

• Specify that shucked shellfish from one tagged or labeled 

container are not commingled with shellstock10 or 

shucked shellfish from another container with different 

certification numbers, different harvest dates, or different 

growing areas as identified on the tag or label before being 

ordered by the consumer. 

• Specify that records demonstrating inspection and 

service of water treatment devices and backflow 

preventers be maintained by the person in charge for a 

minimum of five years. 

• Require that any food establishment permit applicant 

who fails to complete the application process within 12 

months of receipt of the application by the local health 

department's office may be required to submit a new 

application and plan. 

• Require that existing food establishments notify VDH in 

writing of a change of legal ownership or when business 

operations have terminated. Such notice must be 

submitted, in writing, to VDH at least 30 days prior to the 

legal ownership transfer or termination of business 

operation. 

• Eliminate the option for Bed & Breakfast operations to 

have a food establishment permit. 

Estimated Benefits and Costs 

Conforming to 2017 FDA Food Code 

The current regulation requires food establishments to employ 

a CFPM; however, they are not required to be onsite at all times 

of operation. The proposed regulation expands this, and 

requires that a CFPM be onsite at all times of operation. More 

specifically, the person in charge of the open food 

establishment would have to be a CFPM. The regulation 

defines "person in charge" as "the individual present at a food 

establishment who is responsible for the operation at the time 

of inspection." Since most food establishments do not have one 

person who works 100 percent of open hours, most would need 

to get one or more additional employees certified. 

Under both the existing and proposed regulations, proficiency 

as a certified food protection manager is established through 

passing a test, not completing a program. According to VDH, 

certification costs (for the test) range from $28 to $100 per 

individual and requires renewal every five years. Tests are 

available via six accredited programs and take approximately 

two hours. Those persons who elect to take training (not 

required) may sign up for a training course via an accredited 

provider where the training time various from self-pace to 

approximately sixteen hours. Training and tests are available 

both online and in person.11 The total cost of requiring that a 

CFPM be onsite at all times of operation would be: a) the test 

fees for each additional needed CFPM, b) fees for training if 

needed to pass the test, and c) the value of the staff time spent 

preparing for and taking the test. If say a CFPM candidate 

spends eight hours preparing for the test and two hours taking 

the test, there is the cost of ten hours of staff time that has to be 

covered by another employee. Having a CFPM always present 

in the open operation who is knowledgeable on food protection 

as guaranteed through certification, would likely reduce the 

probability of unsafe food practices occurring. 

The current regulation only requires the use of a single-use 

glove when "a lesion containing pus such as a boil or infected 

wound that is open or draining and is on the hands or wrists..." 

The proposed regulation requires that "If used, an impermeable 

cover such as a bandage, finger cot, or finger stall located on 

the wrist, hand or finger of the food employee working with 

exposed food shall be covered with a single-use glove." This 

would include band aids for simple uninfected cuts. Thus, 

single use gloves would need to be purchased and used more 

often under the proposed regulation. Single-use gloves are 

available for about five cents a glove when purchasing in bulk 

(100 gloves).12 

The current regulation requires that food establishments have 

procedures for employees to follow when responding to 

vomiting or diarrheal events that involve the discharge of 

vomitus or fecal matter onto surfaces in the food establishment. 
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The procedures must address the specific actions employees 

must take to minimize the spread of contamination and the 

exposure of employees, consumers, food, and surfaces to 

vomitus or fecal matter. The Board proposes to specify that 

those procedures are written. This would help ensure that those 

procedures are consistent, regardless of whoever is in charge 

at a given time. VDH has a template that it can make available 

to food establishments to use for their written procedures. 

Thus, it should not be costly for the businesses to produce 

written procedures that satisfy the department. 

The FDA believes that: a) requiring the protection of 

prewashed fruits and vegetables from cross contamination by 

separating them from raw animal foods during storage, 

preparation holding and display and b) increasing the 

minimum required cooking time from 15 to 17 seconds (at 

155°F) for certain raw animal foods,13 would increase food 

safety. For any food establishments that do not already separate 

prewashed fruits and vegetables from raw animal foods during 

storage, preparation holding and display, there may be some 

cost in finding additional space to keep these items separated. 

For establishments that already keep such separation, neither 

of these two proposals appear to be particularly costly. 

For other raw animal foods,14 which must be cooked at 165°F 

or above, the FDA believes that it is safe to reduce the 

minimum required cooking time from 15 seconds to less than 

one second (instantaneous). The Board's proposal to make this 

amendment would cumulatively moderately reduce the time 

necessary to prepare such food without apparently increasing 

health risks. 

The current regulation requires that water from a private well 

be sampled and tested at least annually for nitrate and total 

coliform. If nitrate exceeds 10 milligrams per liter, the owner 

must notify VDH. If a sample is total coliform positive, the 

positive culture medium must be further analyzed to determine 

if E. coli is present. The owner must notify VDH within two 

days from when the owner is notified of the coliform positive 

test result. If E. coli is present, the owner must notify VDH. 

The current regulation does not specify deadlines for 

notification for positive results of either nitrate exceeding 10 

mg/L or the presence of E. coli. The Board proposes to specify 

that notification must be within 24 hours. This would be 

beneficial in that it would enable VDH to take faster action 

regarding a potential health threat. 

The Board proposes to require that food establishments notify 

customers that a copy of the most recent establishment 

inspection report is available upon request by either: a) posting 

a sign or placard in a location in the food establishment that is 

conspicuous to customers, or b) by another method acceptable 

to department. According to VDH, the food establishment 

would not need to have the report on hand. The customers 

could be referred to VDHs online portal that publicly displays 

the reports, as well as the local health department. Thus, there 

would only be the minimal cost of posting the sign or placard. 

Other Proposed Changes. The current regulation specifies that 

shellstock from one tagged or labeled container are not to be 

commingled with shellstock from another container with 

different certification numbers, different harvest dates, or 

different growing areas as identified on the tag or label before 

being ordered by the consumer. "Shellstock" is defined as 

"raw, in-shell molluscan shellfish," and thus does not include 

shucked shellfish. The Board proposes to mandate that 

shucked shellfish from one tagged or labeled container are not 

commingled with shellstock or shucked shellfish from another 

container with different certification numbers, different 

harvest dates, or different growing areas as identified on the 

tag or label before being ordered by the consumer. To the 

extent that this is not already done by food establishments with 

shucked shellfish, this proposal would be beneficial in that it 

would likely reduce the probability that spoiled shellfish is 

mistakenly served to patrons. 

The current regulation states that records demonstrating 

inspection and service of water treatment devices and backflow 

preventers be maintained by the person in charge. The Board 

proposes to specify that the records be maintained for a 

minimum of five years. Since the current language implies that 

the records must be kept indefinitely, the proposal for a five-

year minimum reduces the burden in that the records could be 

disposed of after five years. 

The Board proposes to state that any food establishment permit 

applicant who fails to complete the application process within 

12 months of receipt of the application by the local health 

department's office may be required to submit a new 

application and plan. This is valuable for the department in that 

relevant information that was already submitted might have 

changed such that the application would no longer be 

appropriate for approval. The applicant would have to pay an 

additional $40 application fee, and if a new plan review is 

deemed necessary, an additional $40 plan review fee. The 

applicant would also incur the time needed to produce the new 

application and plan. 

The current regulation does not specify that existing food 

establishments notify VDH in writing of a change of legal 

ownership or when business operations have terminated. The 

Board proposes to specify that such notice be submitted, in 

writing, to VDH at least 30 days prior to the legal ownership 

transfer or termination of business operation. To the extent that 

it is followed, this proposal would help the department 

maintain contact with those actually serving food to the public 

and help ensure food safety. 

Bed & Breakfasts are not required to have a food establishment 

permit. Under the current regulation these businesses may 

optionally apply for such a permit, which does not provide 

them with any privileges that they would not possess without 

the permit. It is likely that the permit is used for marketing 

purposes.15 The Board proposes to eliminate the option for Bed 

& Breakfasts to have a food establishment permit. This would 

not prevent any Bed & Breakfast from operating, but to the 
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extent that the permit helped garner demand for some, it may 

reduce revenue. According to VDH, allowing voluntary 

permitting has created issues for its staff when these facilities 

are found in violation and then elect to "deregulate" to avoid 

corrections. 

Businesses and Other Entities Affected. The proposed 

amendments affect the approximate 38,000 food 

establishments in the Commonwealth, the six accredited 

CFPM programs, and Bed & Breakfasts16 that have or might 

wish to have a food establishment permit. As described in the 

Estimated Benefits and Costs section, the proposal to require 

that there be a CFPM on the premises of the food establishment 

at all times of operation would increase costs for most food 

establishments. The proposal to mandate that single-use gloves 

be worn whenever there is an impermeable cover such as a 

bandage, finger cot, or finger stall located on the wrist, hand or 

finger of the food employee would also increase costs for most 

food establishments. The proposal to state that any food 

establishment permit applicant who fails to complete the 

application process within 12 months of receipt of the 

application by the local health department's office may be 

required to submit a new application and plan would increase 

cost for applicants in such a situation. The proposal to 

eliminate the option for Bed & Breakfasts to have a food 

establishment permit may reduce revenue for those Bed & 

Breakfasts that have had a permit. 

Adverse impact is indicated if there is any increase in net cost 

or reduction in net revenue for any entity, even if the benefits 

exceed the costs for all entities combined. While the benefits 

to public health may be large, there would likely be some 

increases in net costs for some of the affected entities as 

described in the Estimated Benefits and Costs section. 

Small Businesses17 Affected: 

Types and Estimated Number of Small Businesses Affected. 

VDH estimates that 95% to 100% of the approximate 38,000 

food establishments in the Commonwealth are small 

businesses. The sizes of the six accredited CFPM programs are 

unknown. 

Costs and Other Effects. Costs for small food establishments 

are affected by the proposed amendments as described in the 

Estimated Benefits and Costs section. The proposal to require 

that there be a CFPM on the premises of the food establishment 

at all times of operation would very likely increase revenue for 

at least some of the six accredited CFPM programs 

Alternative Method that Minimizes Adverse Impact. There are 

no clear alternative methods that both reduce adverse impact 

and meet the intended policy goals. 

Localities18 Affected19. The proposed amendments affect food 

establishments in all localities, not disproportionately affecting 

any particularly. The proposed amendments do not appear to 

introduce additional costs for local governments. 

Projected Impact on Employment. The proposal to require that 

there be a CFPM on the premises of the food establishment at 

all times of operation would very likely increase demand for 

the services of the six accredited CFPM programs, which may 

moderately increase their employment. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. The 

proposals to require that there be a CFPM on the premises of 

the food establishment at all times of operation and that single-

use gloves be worn whenever there is an impermeable cover 

on the wrist, hand or finger of the food employee would 

increase costs for most food establishments. The proposal to 

state that any food establishment permit applicant who fails to 

complete the application process within 12 months of receipt 

of the application by the local health department's office may 

be required to submit a new application and plan would 

increase cost for applicants in such a situation. The proposal to 

eliminate the option for Bed & Breakfasts to have a food 

establishment permit may reduce revenue for those Bed & 

Breakfasts that have had a permit. These cost increases and 

potential revenue reduction would likely moderately reduce 

the value of affected firms commensurately. 

The proposal to specify that records demonstrating inspection 

and service of water treatment devices and backflow 

preventers must only be maintained for five years would 

moderately reduce recordkeeping costs, producing a potential 

small commensurate increase in firm value. The proposal to 

require that there be a CFPM on the premises of the food 

establishment at all times of operation would very likely 

increase demand for the services of the six accredited CFPM 

programs, which may moderately increase their value. 

The proposed amendments do not appear to affect real estate 

development costs. 

_______________________________ 

1See https://www.fda.gov/food/fda-food-code/food-code-2017 

2Ibid 

3"Food establishment" is defined as "an operation that (i) stores, prepares, 

packages, serves, or vends food directly to the consumer, or otherwise provides 

food to the public for human consumption, such as a restaurant, satellite or 

catered feeding location, catering operation if the operation provides food 

directly to a consumer or to a conveyance used to transport people, market, 

vending location, conveyance used to transport people, institution, or food 

bank, and (ii) relinquishes possession of food to a consumer directly or 

indirectly through a delivery service, such as home delivery of grocery orders 

or restaurant takeout orders, or delivery service that is provided by common 

carriers." 

4See 12VAC5-421-700 A 2 for affected raw animal foods. 

https://townhall.virginia.gov/l/viewXML.cfm?textid=14169&replace=yes 

5See 12VAC5-421-700 A 3 for affected raw animal foods. 

https://townhall.virginia.gov/l/viewXML.cfm?textid=14169&replace=yes 

6"Highly susceptible population" is defined as "persons who are more likely 

than other people in the general population to experience foodborne disease 

because they are: 1. immunocompromised, preschool age children, or older 

adults; and 2. obtaining food at a facility that provides services such as 

custodial care, health care, or assisted living, such as a child or adult day care 

center, kidney dialysis center, hospital or nursing home, or nutritional or 

socialization services such as a senior center." 

7"Hazard Analysis and Critical Control Point plan" is defined as "a written 

document that delineates the formal procedures for following the Hazard 
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Analysis and Critical Control Point principles developed by The National 

Advisory Committee on Microbiological Criteria for Foods." 

8Pursuant to 12VAC5-421-890, honestly presented is: a) food shall be offered 

for human consumption in a way that does not mislead or misinform the 

consumer, and b) food or color additives, colored overwraps, or lights shall not 

be used to misrepresent the true appearance, color, or quality of a food. 

9"Warewashing" is defined as "the cleaning and sanitizing of utensils and food-

contact surfaces of equipment." 

10"Shellstock" is defined as "raw, in-shell molluscan shellfish." 

11Data and other information source: VDH 

12Source: Amazon.com accessed on March 13, 2020. 

13See 12VAC5-421-700 A 2 for affected raw animal foods. 

https://townhall.virginia.gov/l/viewXML.cfm?textid=14169&replace=yes 

14See 12VAC5-421-700.A 3 for affected raw animal foods. 

https://townhall.virginia.gov/l/viewXML.cfm?textid=14169&replace=yes 

15VDH does not have data on the number of Bed & Breakfasts with permits. 

16Ibid 

17Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.04 of the Code of Virginia, small business is defined 

as "a business entity, including its affiliates, that (i) is independently owned 

and operated and (ii) employs fewer than 500 full-time employees or has gross 

annual sales of less than $6 million." 

18"Locality" can refer to either local governments or the locations in the 

Commonwealth where the activities relevant to the regulatory change are most 

likely to occur. 

19§2.2-4007.04 defines "particularly affected" as bearing disproportionate 

material impact. 

Agency's Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The agency 

concurs with the economic impact analysis of the Department 

of Planning and Budget. 

Summary: 

The amendments comport (12VAC5-421) Food Regulations 

with the current 2017 Food and Drug Administration (FDA) 

Food Code and the Supplement to the 2017 FDA Food Code 

Annex I, increase clarity, and ensure uniform application. The 

FDA Food Code, revised approximately every four years, 

serves as a model document to assist state and local agencies 

with regulatory authority over food safety by creating a 

regulatory scheme that reflects the most current science 

available to reduce the risk of food borne illnesses associated 

with food establishments. Changes to the FDA Food Code 

reflected in the amendments to 12VAC5-421 include updates to 

effective controls as a means to reduce the risk of foodborne 

illness that contribute to financial losses and have dire health 

consequences. Substantive changes include (i) the removal, 

addition, and revision of definitions; (ii) a requirement that the 

person in charge be a certified food protection manager; (iii) 

standards for the use of bandages, finger cots, or finger stalls; 

(vi) written procedures requirements for the clean-up of 

vomiting and diarrheal events; (v) requirements for the 

separation of raw animal foods from fruits and vegetables in 

certain instances; (vi) new cooking time requirements for raw 

animal foods; (vii) removal of the Food Service Advisory 

Committee to reflect changes within the Food and Drug 

Administration; and (viii) clarifying enforcement procedures 

when impounding food.  

12VAC5-421-10. Definitions. 

A. Section 35.1-1 of the Code of Virginia provides definitions 

of the following terms and phrases as used in this chapter. 

"Board" 

"Commissioner" 

"Department" 

B. For the purposes of implementing this chapter, the term 

"food establishment" as defined herein is equivalent to the term 

"restaurant" as defined in 35.1-1 of the Code of Virginia.  

C. The following words and terms when used in this chapter 

shall have the following meanings unless the context clearly 

indicates otherwise. 

"Accredited program" means a food protection manager 

certification program that has been evaluated and listed by an 

accrediting agency as conforming to national standards that 

certify individuals. "Accredited program" refers to the 

certification process and is a designation based upon an 

independent evaluation of factors such as the sponsor's 

mission; organizational structure; staff resources; revenue 

sources; policies; public information regarding program scope, 

eligibility requirements, recertification, discipline and 

grievance procedures; and test development and 

administration. "Accredited program" does not refer to training 

functions or educational programs. 

"Additive" means either a (i) "food additive" having the 

meaning stated in the Federal Food, Drug, and Cosmetic Act, 

§ 201(s) and 21 CFR 170.3(e)(1) or (ii) "color additive" having 

the meaning stated in the Federal Food, Drug, and Cosmetic 

Act, § 201(t) and 21 CFR 70.3(f). 

"Adulterated" has the meaning stated in the Federal Food, 

Drug, and Cosmetic Act, § 402. 

"Agent" means a legally authorized representative of the 

owner. 

"Agent of the commissioner" means the district or local health 

director, unless otherwise stipulated. 

"Approved" means acceptable to the department based on a 

determination of conformity with principles, practices, and 

generally recognized standards that protect public health. 

"Approved water system" means a permitted waterworks 

constructed, maintained, and operated pursuant to 12VAC5-

590, Waterworks Regulations; or a private well constructed, 

maintained, and operated pursuant to 12VAC5-630, Private 

Well Regulations. 

"Asymptomatic" means without obvious symptoms; not 

showing or producing indications of a disease or other medical 

condition, such as an individual infected with a pathogen but 

not exhibiting or producing any signs or symptoms of 

vomiting, diarrhea, or jaundice. Asymptomatic includes not 
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showing symptoms because symptoms have resolved or 

subsided, or because symptoms never manifested. 

"aw" means water activity that is a measure of the free 

moisture in a food, is the quotient of the water vapor pressure 

of the substance divided by the vapor pressure of pure water at 

the same temperature, and is indicated by the symbol aw. 

"Balut" means an embryo inside a fertile egg that has been 

incubated for a period sufficient for the embryo to reach a 

specific stage of development after which it is removed from 

incubation before hatching. 

"Bed and breakfast operation" means a residential-type 

establishment that provides (i) two or more rental 

accommodations for transient guests and food service to a 

maximum of 18 transient guests on any single day for five or 

more days in any calendar year or (ii) at least one rental 

accommodation for transient guests and food service to a 

maximum of 18 transient guests on any single day for 30 or 

more days in any calendar year. 

"Beverage" means a liquid for drinking, including water. 

"Board" means the State Board of Health. 

"Bottled drinking water" means water that is sealed in bottles, 

packages, or other containers and offered for sale for human 

consumption, including bottled mineral water. 

"Building official" means a representative of the Department 

of Housing and Community Development. 

"Casing" means a tubular container for sausage products 

made of either natural or artificial (synthetic) material. 

"Catering operation" means a person who contracts with a 

client to prepare a specific menu and amount of food in an 

approved and a permitted food establishment for service to the 

client's guests or customers at a service location different from 

the permitted food establishment. Catering may also include 

cooking or performing final preparation of food at the service 

location. 

"Catering operation" does not include: 

1. A private chef or cook who, as the employee of a 

consumer, prepares food solely in the consumer's home. 

2. Delivery service of food by an approved and permitted 

food establishment to an end consumer. 

"Certification number" means a unique combination of letters 

and numbers assigned by a shellfish control authority to a 

molluscan shellfish dealer according to the provisions of the 

National Shellfish Sanitation Program. 

"CFR" means Code of Federal Regulations. Citations in this 

chapter to the CFR refer sequentially to the title, part, and 

section number, such as 40 CFR 180.194 refers to Title 40, Part 

180, Section 194. 

"Clean in Place" or "CIP" means cleaned in place by the 

circulation or flowing by mechanical means through a piping 

system of a detergent solution, water rinse, and sanitizing 

solution onto or over equipment surfaces that require cleaning, 

such as the method used, in part, to clean and sanitize a frozen 

dessert machine. CIP "CIP" does not include the cleaning of 

equipment such as band saws, slicers or mixers that are 

subjected to in-place manual cleaning without the use of a CIP 

system. 

"Commingle" means: 

1. To combine shellstock harvested on different days or from 

different growing areas as identified on the tag or label; or 

2. To combine shucked shellfish from containers with 

different container codes or different shucking dates. 

"Comminuted" means reduced in size by methods including 

chopping, flaking, grinding, or mincing. "Comminuted" 

includes (i) fish or meat products that are reduced in size and 

restructured or reformulated such as gefilte fish, gyros, ground 

beef, and sausage and (ii) a mixture of two or more types of 

meat that have been reduced in size and combined, such as 

sausages made from two or more meats. 

"Commissary" means a catering establishment, food 

establishment, or any other place in which food, food 

containers, or supplies are kept, handled, prepared, packaged, 

or stored for distribution to satellite operations. 

"Commissioner" means the State Health Commissioner, his 

duly designated officer, or his agent. 

"Commonwealth" means the Commonwealth of Virginia. 

"Conditional employee" means a potential food employee to 

whom a job offer is made with employment dependent upon, 

conditional on responses to subsequent medical questions or 

examinations designed to identify potential food employees 

who may be suffering from a disease that can be transmitted 

through food and done in compliance with Title 1 of the 

Americans with Disabilities Act of 1990. 

"Confirmed disease outbreak" means a foodborne disease 

outbreak in which laboratory analysis of appropriate 

specimens identifies a causative organism or chemical agent 

and epidemiological analysis implicates the food as the source 

of the illness. 

"Consumer" means a person who is a member of the public, 

takes possession of food, is not functioning in the capacity of 

an operator of a food establishment or food processing plant, 

and does not offer the food for resale. 

"Core item" means a provision in this chapter that is not 

designated as a priority item or a priority foundation item. Core 

item includes an item that usually relates to general sanitation, 

operational controls, sanitation standard operating procedures 

(SSOPs), facilities or structures, equipment design, or general 

maintenance. 
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"Corrosion-resistant materials" means a material that 

maintains acceptable surface cleanability characteristics under 

prolonged influence of the food to be contacted, the normal use 

of cleaning compounds and sanitizing solutions, and other 

conditions of the use environment. 

"Counter-mounted equipment" means equipment that is not 

portable and is designed to be mounted off the floor on a table, 

counter, or shelf. 

"Critical control point" means a point or procedure in a 

specific food system where loss of control may result in an 

unacceptable health risk. 

"Critical limit" means the maximum or minimum value to 

which a physical, biological, or chemical parameter must be 

controlled at a critical control point to minimize the risk that 

the identified food safety hazard may occur. 

"Cut leafy greens" means fresh leafy greens whose leaves 

have been cut, shredded, sliced, chopped, or torn. The term 

"leafy greens" includes iceberg lettuce, romaine lettuce, leaf 

lettuce, butter lettuce, baby leaf lettuce (i.e., immature lettuce 

or leafy greens), escarole, endive, spring mix, spinach, 

cabbage, kale, arugula, and chard. The term "leafy greens" 

does not include herbs such as cilantro or parsley. 

"Dealer" means a person who is authorized by a shellfish 

control authority for the activities of a shellstock shipper, 

shucker-packer, repacker, reshipper, or depuration processor 

of molluscan shellfish according to the provisions of the 

National Shellfish Sanitation Program and is listed in the U.S. 

Food and Drug Administration's Interstate Certified Shellfish 

Shippers List, updated monthly (U.S. Food and Drug 

Administration). 

"Delicatessen" means a store where ready to eat products such 

as cooked meats, prepared salads, etc. are sold for off-premises 

consumption. 

"Department" means the Virginia Department of Health. 

"Director" means the district or local health director. 

"Disclosure" means a written statement that clearly identifies 

the animal derived foods that are, or can be ordered, raw, 

undercooked, or without otherwise being processed to 

eliminate pathogens in their entirety, or items that contain an 

ingredient that is raw, undercooked, or without otherwise being 

processed to eliminate pathogens. 

"Dry storage area" means a room or area designated for the 

storage of packaged or containerized bulk food that is not 

time/temperature control for safety food and dry goods such as 

single-service items. 

"Easily cleanable" means a characteristic of a surface that: 

1. Allows effective removal of soil by normal cleaning 

methods; 

2. Is dependent on the material, design, construction, and 

installation of the surface; and 

3. Varies with the likelihood of the surface's role in 

introducing pathogenic or toxigenic agents or other 

contaminants into food based on the surface's approved 

placement, purpose, and use. 

"Easily cleanable" includes a tiered application of the criteria 

that qualify the surface as easily cleanable as specified above 

in this definition to different situations in which varying 

degrees of cleanability are required such as: 

1. The appropriateness of stainless steel for a food 

preparation surface as opposed to the lack of need for 

stainless steel to be used for floors or for tables used for 

consumer dining; or 

2. The need for a different degree of cleanability for a 

utilitarian attachment or accessory in the kitchen as opposed 

to a decorative attachment or accessory in the consumer 

dining area. 

"Easily movable" means: 

1. Portable; mounted on casters, gliders, or rollers; or 

provided with a mechanical means to safely tilt a unit of 

equipment for cleaning; and 

2. Having no utility connection, a utility connection that 

disconnects quickly, or a flexible utility connection line of 

sufficient length to allow the equipment to be moved for 

cleaning of the equipment and adjacent area. 

"Egg" means the shell egg of avian species such as chicken, 

duck, goose, guinea, quail, ratite, ratites, or turkey. Egg does 

not include a balut; egg of the reptile species such as alligator; 

or an egg product. 

"Egg product" means all, or a portion of, the contents found 

inside eggs separated from the shell and pasteurized in a food 

processing plant, with or without added ingredients, intended 

for human consumption, such as dried, frozen, or liquid eggs. 

Egg product does not include food that contains eggs only in a 

relatively small proportion such as cake mixes. 

"Employee" means the permit holder, person in charge, food 

employee, person having supervisory or management duties, 

person on the payroll, family member, volunteer, person 

performing work under contractual agreement, or other person 

working in a food establishment. 

"EPA" means the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency. 

"Equipment" means an article that is used in the operation of 

a food establishment. "Equipment" includes items such as a 

freezer, grinder, hood, ice maker, meat block, mixer, oven, 

reach-in refrigerator, scale, sink, slicer, stove, table, 

temperature measuring device for ambient air, vending 

machine, or warewashing machine. Equipment does not 

include apparatuses used for handling or storing large 
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quantities of packaged foods that are received from a supplier 

in a cased or overwrapped lot, such as hand trucks, forklifts, 

dollies, pallets, racks, and skids. 

"Exclude" means to prevent a person from working as an 

employee in a food establishment or entering a food 

establishment as an employee. 

"°F" means degrees Fahrenheit. 

"FDA" means the U.S. Food and Drug Administration. 

"Fish" means fresh or saltwater finfish, crustaceans, and other 

forms of aquatic life (including alligator, frog, aquatic turtle, 

jellyfish, sea cucumber, and sea urchin and the roe of such 

animals) other than birds or mammals, and all mollusks, if such 

animal life is intended for human consumption and includes 

any an edible human food product derived in whole or in part 

from fish, including fish that has been processed in any 

manner. 

"Food" means (i) a raw, cooked, or processed edible 

substance, ice, beverage, or ingredient used or intended for use 

or for sale in whole or in part for human consumption or (ii) 

chewing gum. 

"Foodborne disease outbreak" means the occurrence of two 

or more cases of a similar illness resulting from the ingestion 

of a common food. 

"Food-contact surface" means a surface of equipment or a 

utensil with which food normally comes into contact, or a 

surface of equipment or a utensil from which food may drain, 

drip, or splash into a food, or onto a surface normally in contact 

with food. 

"Food employee" means an individual working with 

unpackaged food, food equipment or utensils, or food-contact 

surfaces. 

"Food establishment" means an operation that (i) stores, 

prepares, packages, serves, or vends food directly to the 

consumer, or otherwise provides food to the public for human 

consumption, such as a restaurant, satellite or catered feeding 

location, catering operation if the operation provides food 

directly to a consumer or to a conveyance used to transport 

people, market, vending location, conveyance used to transport 

people, institution, or food bank, and (ii) relinquishes 

possession of food to a consumer directly or indirectly through 

a delivery service, such as home delivery of grocery orders or 

restaurant takeout orders, or delivery service that is provided 

by common carriers. 

"Food establishment" includes (i) an element of the operation 

such as a transportation vehicle or a central preparation facility 

that supplies a vending location or satellite feeding location 

unless the vending or feeding location is permitted under this 

chapter; and (ii) an operation that is conducted in a mobile, 

stationary, temporary, or permanent facility or location where 

consumption is on or off the premises and regardless of 

whether there is a charge for the food; and (iii) a facility that 

does not meet the exemption criteria identified in subdivision 

6 of this definition or a facility that meets the exemption 

requirements but chooses to be regulated under this chapter. 

For the purpose of implementing this chapter, the following 

places are also included in the definition of a "food 

establishment" as defined in § 35.1-1 of the Code of Virginia: 

1. Any place where food is prepared for service to the public 

on or off the premises, or any place where food is served, 

including lunchrooms, short order places, cafeterias, coffee 

shops, cafes, taverns, delicatessens, dining accommodations 

of public or private clubs, kitchen facilities of hospitals and 

nursing homes, dining accommodations of public and 

private schools and colleges, and kitchen areas of local 

correctional facilities subject to standards adopted under 

§ 53.1-68 of the Code of Virginia.  

2. Any place or operation that prepares or stores food for 

distribution to persons of the same business operation or of 

a related business operation for service to the public, 

including operations preparing or storing food for catering 

services, push cart operations, hotdog stands, and other 

mobile points of service.  

3. Mobile points of service to which food is distributed by a 

place or operation described in subdivision 2 of this 

definition, unless the point of service and of consumption is 

in a private residence. 

"Food establishment" does not include: 

1. An establishment that offers only prepackaged food that 

is not time/temperature control for safety food; 

2. A produce stand that only offers whole, uncut fresh fruits 

and vegetables; or 

3. A food processing plant, including those that are located 

on the premises of a food establishment;. 

4. A kitchen in a private home if only food that is not 

time/temperature control for safety food is prepared for sale 

or service at a function such as a religious or charitable 

organization's bake sale if allowed by law and if the 

consumer is informed by a clearly visible placard at the sales 

or service location that the food is prepared in a kitchen that 

is not subject to regulation and inspection by the regulatory 

authority; 

5. An area where food that is prepared as specified in 

subdivision 4 of this definition is sold or offered for human 

consumption; 

6. A kitchen in a private home, such as, but not limited to, a 

family day-care provider or a home for adults, serving 12 or 

fewer recipients;  

7. A private home that receives catered or home-delivered 

food; or 
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8. Places manufacturing packaged or canned foods that are 

distributed to grocery stores or other similar food retailers 

for sale to the public. 

For the purpose of implementing this chapter, the following 

are also exempt from the definition of a "food establishment" 

in this chapter, as defined in §§ 35.1-25 and 35.1-26 of the 

Code of Virginia: 

1. Boarding houses that do not accommodate transients; 

2. Cafeterias operated by industrial plants for employees 

only; 

3. Churches, fraternal, school and social organizations and 

volunteer fire departments and rescue squads that hold 

dinners and bazaars not more than one time per week and 

not in excess of two days duration at which food prepared in 

homes of members or in the kitchen of the church or 

organization and is offered for sale to the public; 

4. Grocery stores, including the delicatessen that is a part of 

a grocery store, selling exclusively for off-premises 

consumption and places manufacturing or selling packaged 

or canned goods; 

5. Churches that serve meals for their members as a regular 

part of their religious observance;  

6. Convenience stores or gas stations that are subject to the 

State Board of Agriculture and Consumer Services' Retail 

Food Establishment Regulations (2VAC5-585) or any 

regulations subsequently adopted and that (i) have 15 or 

fewer seats at which food is served to the public on the 

premises of the convenience store or gas station and (ii) are 

not associated with a national or regional restaurant chain. 

Notwithstanding this exemption, such convenience stores or 

gas stations shall remain responsible for collecting any 

applicable local meals tax; and 

7. Any bed and breakfast operation that prepares food for 

and offers food to guests, regardless of the time the food is 

prepared and offered, if (i) the premises of the bed and 

breakfast operation is a home that is owner occupied or 

owner-agent occupied, (ii) the bed and breakfast operation 

prepares food for and offers food to transient guests of the 

bed and breakfast only, (iii) the number of guests served by 

the bed and breakfast operation does not exceed 18 on any 

single day, and (iv) guests for whom food is prepared and to 

whom food is offered are informed by statements contained 

in published advertisements, mailed brochures, and placards 

posted at the registration area that the food is prepared in a 

kitchen that is not licensed as a restaurant and is not subject 

to the regulations governing restaurants.  

"Food processing plant" means a commercial operation that 

manufactures, packages, labels, or stores food for human 

consumption and provides food for sale or distribution to other 

business entities such as food processing plants or food 

establishments. Food processing plant does not include a food 

establishment. 

"Game animal" means an animal, the products of which are 

food, that is not classified as (i) livestock, sheep, swine, goat, 

horse, mule, or other equine in 9 CFR 301.2; (ii) poultry; or 

(iii) fish. "Game animal" includes mammals such as reindeer, 

elk, deer, antelope, water buffalo, bison, rabbit, squirrel, 

opossum, raccoon, nutria, or muskrat and nonaquatic reptiles 

such as land snakes. "Game animal" does not include ratites. 

"Game animal" includes mammals such as reindeer, elk, deer, 

antelope, water buffalo, bison, rabbit, squirrel, opossum, 

raccoon, nutria, or muskrat and nonaquatic reptiles such as land 

snakes. 

"Game animal" does not include ratites such as ostrich, emu, 

and rhea. 

"General use pesticide" means a pesticide that is not classified 

by EPA for restricted use as specified in 40 CFR 152.175. 

"Grade A standards" means the requirements of the Grade 

"A" Pasteurized Milk Ordinance, 2013 2017 Revision (U.S. 

Food and Drug Administration), with which certain fluid and 

dry milk and milk products comply. 

"HACCP plan" means a written document that delineates the 

formal procedures for following the Hazard Analysis Critical 

Control Point principles developed by The National Advisory 

Committee on Microbiological Criteria for Foods. 

"Handwashing sink" means a lavatory, a basin or vessel for 

washing, a wash basin, or a plumbing fixture especially placed 

for use in personal hygiene and designed for the washing of 

hands. Handwashing sink includes an automatic handwashing 

facility. 

"Hazard" means a biological, chemical, or physical property 

that may cause an unacceptable consumer health risk. 

"Hazard Analysis and Critical Control Point" or "HACCP 

plan" means a written document that delineates the formal 

procedures for following the Hazard Analysis and Critical 

Control Point principles developed by The National Advisory 

Committee on Microbiological Criteria for Foods. 

"Health practitioner" means a physician licensed to practice 

medicine, or if allowed by law, a nurse practitioner, physician 

assistant, or similar medical professional. 

"Hermetically sealed container" means a container that is 

designed and intended to be secure against the entry of 

microorganisms and, in the case of low acid canned foods, to 

maintain the commercial sterility of its contents after 

processing. 

"Highly susceptible population" means persons who are more 

likely than other people in the general population to experience 

foodborne disease because they are: 
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1. Immunocompromised, preschool age children, or older 

adults; and 

2. Obtaining food at a facility that provides services such as 

custodial care, health care, or assisted living, such as a child 

or adult day care center, kidney dialysis center, hospital or 

nursing home, or nutritional or socialization services such as 

a senior center. 

"Imminent health hazard" means a significant threat or danger 

to health that is considered to exist when there is evidence 

sufficient to show that a product, practice, circumstance, or 

event creates a situation that requires immediate correction or 

cessation of operation to prevent injury based on the number 

of potential injuries, and the nature, severity, and duration of 

the anticipated injury. 

"Injected" means manipulating meat to which a solution has 

been introduced into its interior by processes such that are 

referred to as "injecting," "pump marinating," or "stitch 

pumping." 

"Intact meat" means a cut of whole muscle meat that has not 

undergone comminution, injection, mechanical tenderization, 

or reconstruction. 

"Juice" means the aqueous liquid expressed or extracted from 

one or more fruits or vegetables, purées of the edible portions 

of one or more fruits or vegetables, or any concentrate of such 

liquid or purée. Juice does not include, for purposes of 

HACCP, liquids, purées, or concentrates that are not used as 

beverages or ingredients of beverages. 

"Kitchenware" means food preparation and storage utensils. 

"Law" means applicable local, state, and federal statutes, 

regulations, and ordinances. 

"Linens" means fabric items such as cloth hampers, cloth 

napkins, table cloths, wiping cloths, and work garments 

including cloth gloves. 

"Major food allergen" means milk, egg, fish (such as bass, 

flounder, cod, and including crustacean shellfish such as crab, 

lobster, or shrimp), tree nuts (such as almonds, pecans, or 

walnuts), wheat, peanuts, and soybeans; or a food ingredient 

that contains protein derived from one of these foods. Major 

food allergen does not include any highly refined oil derived 

from a major food allergen in this definition and any ingredient 

derived from such highly refined oil or any ingredient that is 

exempt under the petition or notification process specified in 

the Food Allergen Labeling and Consumer Protection Act of 

2004 (P.L. 108-282). 

"Meat" means the flesh of animals used as food including the 

dressed flesh of cattle, swine, sheep, or goats and other edible 

animals, except fish, poultry, and wild game animals as 

specified under 12VAC5-421-330 A 2 and A 3. 

"Mechanically tenderized" means manipulating meat with 

deep penetration by processes which may be referred to as 

"blade tenderizing," "jaccarding," "pinning," "needling," or 

using blades, pins, needles, or any mechanical device. 

"Mechanically tenderized" does not include processes by 

which solutions are injected into meat. 

"mg/L" means milligrams per liter, which is the metric 

equivalent of parts per million (ppm). 

"Mobile food unit" means a food establishment mounted on 

wheels (excluding boats in the water) readily moveable from 

place to place at all times during operation and shall include 

pushcarts, trailers, trucks, or vans. The unit, all operations, and 

all equipment must be integral to and be within or attached to 

the unit. 

"Molluscan shellfish" means any edible species of fresh or 

frozen oysters, clams, mussels, and scallops or edible portions 

thereof, except when the scallop product consists only of the 

shucked adductor muscle. 

"Noncontinuous cooking" means the cooking of food in a 

food establishment using a process in which the initial heating 

of the food is intentionally halted so that it may be cooled and 

held for complete cooking at a later time prior to sale or 

service. "Noncontinuous cooking" does not include cooking 

procedures that only involve temporarily interrupting or 

slowing an otherwise continuous cooking process. 

"Occasional" means not more than one time per week, and not 

in excess of two days duration. 

"Packaged" means bottled, canned, cartoned, bagged, or 

wrapped, whether packaged in a food establishment or a food 

processing plant. Packaged does not include wrapped or placed 

in a carry-out container to protect the food during service or 

delivery to the consumer, by a food employee, upon consumer 

request. 

"Permit" means a license issued by the regulatory authority 

department that authorizes a person to operate a food 

establishment. 

"Permit holder" means the entity person that is legally 

responsible for the operation of the food establishment such as 

the owner, the owner's agent, or other person, and possesses a 

valid permit to operate a food establishment. 

"Person" means an association, a corporation, individual, 

partnership, other legal entity, government, or governmental 

subdivision or agency. 

"Person in charge" means the individual present at a food 

establishment who is responsible for the operation at the time 

of inspection. 

"Personal care items" means items or substances that may be 

poisonous, toxic, or a source of contamination and are used to 

maintain or enhance a person's health, hygiene, or appearance. 

Personal care items include items such as medicines; first aid 

supplies; and other items such as cosmetics, and toiletries such 

as toothpaste and mouthwash. 
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"pH" means the symbol for the negative logarithm of the 

hydrogen ion concentration, which is a measure of the degree 

of acidity or alkalinity of a solution. Values between 0 and 7.0 

7 indicate acidity and values between 7.0 7 and 14 indicate 

alkalinity. The value for pure distilled water is 7.0 7, which is 

considered neutral. 

"Physical facilities" means the structure and interior surfaces 

of a food establishment including accessories such as soap and 

towel dispensers and attachments such as light fixtures and 

heating or air conditioning system vents. 

"Plumbing fixture" means a receptacle or device that is 

permanently or temporarily connected to the water distribution 

system of the premises and demands a supply of water from 

the system or discharges used water, waste materials, or 

sewage directly or indirectly to the drainage system of the 

premises. 

"Plumbing system" means the water supply and distribution 

pipes; plumbing fixtures and traps; soil, waste, and vent pipes; 

sanitary and storm sewers and building drains, including their 

respective connections, devices, and appurtenances within the 

premises; and water-treating equipment. 

"Poisonous or toxic materials" means substances that are not 

intended for ingestion and are included in four categories: 

1. Cleaners and sanitizers, that include cleaning and 

sanitizing agents and agents such as caustics, acids, drying 

agents, polishes, and other chemicals; 

2. Pesticides, except sanitizers, that include substances such 

as insecticides and rodenticides; 

3. Substances necessary for the operation and maintenance 

of the establishment such as nonfood grade lubricants, 

paints, and personal care items that may be deleterious to 

health; and 

4. Substances that are not necessary for the operation and 

maintenance of the establishment and are on the premises for 

retail sale, such as petroleum products and paints. 

"Potable water" means water fit for human consumption that 

is obtained from an approved water supply and that is (i) 

sanitary and normally free of minerals, organic substances, and 

toxic agents in excess of reasonable amounts and (ii) adequate 

in quantity and quality for the minimum health requirements of 

the persons served (see Article 2 (§ 32.1-167 et seq.) of Chapter 

6 of Title 32.1 of the Code of Virginia). Potable water is 

traditionally known as drinking water and excludes such 

nonpotable forms as "boiler water, "mop water," "rainwater," 

"wastewater," and "nondrinking water." 

"Poultry" means any domesticated bird (chickens, turkeys, 

ducks, geese, guineas, ratites, or squabs), whether live or dead, 

as defined in 9 CFR 381.1, and any migratory waterfowl, game 

bird, pheasant, partridge, quail, grouse, or pigeon whether live 

or dead, as defined in 9 CFR 362.1. 

"Premises" means the physical facility, its contents, and the 

contiguous land or property under the control of the permit 

holder; or the physical facility, its contents, and the land or 

property which are under the control of the permit holder and 

may impact food establishment personnel, facilities, or 

operations, if a food establishment is only one component of a 

larger operation such as a health care facility, hotel, motel, 

school, recreational camp, or prison. 

"Primal cut" means a basic major cut into which carcasses and 

sides of meat are separated, such as a beef round, pork loin, 

lamb flank, or veal breast. 

"Priority foundation item" means a provision in this chapter 

whose application supports, facilitates, or enables one or more 

priority items. "Priority foundation item" includes an item that 

requires the purposeful incorporation of specific actions, 

equipment, or procedures by industry management to attain 

control of risk factors that contribute to foodborne illness or 

injury such as personnel training, infrastructure or necessary 

equipment, HACCP plans, documentation or record keeping, 

and labeling and is denoted in this regulation with a superscript 

Pf-Pf. 

"Priority item" means a provision in this chapter whose 

application contributes directly to the elimination, prevention 

or reduction to an acceptable level of, hazards associated with 

foodborne illness or injury and there is no other provision that 

more directly controls the hazard. "Priority item" includes 

items with a quantifiable measure to show control of hazards 

such as cooking, reheating, cooling, and handwashing and is 

denoted in this chapter with a superscript P-p. 

"Private well" means any water well constructed for a person 

on land that is owned or leased by that person and is usually 

intended for household, groundwater source heat pump, 

agricultural use, industrial use, or other nonpublic water well. 

"Pure water" means potable water fit for human consumption 

that is (i) sanitary and normally free of minerals, organic 

substances, and toxic agents in excess of reasonable amounts 

and (ii) adequate in quantity and quality for the minimum 

health requirements of the persons served (see §§ 32.1-167 and 

32.1-176.1 of the Code of Virginia and 12VAC5-590, 

Waterworks Regulations and 12VAC5-630-370). 12VAC5-

630, Private Well Regulations. Potable water is traditionally 

known as drinking water, and excludes such nonpotable forms 

as "boiler water," "mop water," "rainwater," "wastewater," and 

"nondrinking water." 

"Pushcart" means any wheeled vehicle or device other than a 

motor vehicle or trailer that may be moved with or without the 

assistance of a motor and that does not require registration by 

the department of motor vehicles.  

"Ratite" means a flightless bird such as an emu, ostrich, or 

rhea. 

"Ready-to-eat food" means food that: 
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1. Is in a form that is edible without additional preparation 

to achieve food safety, as specified under 12VAC5-421-700 

A, B, and C, 12VAC5-421-710 or 12VAC5-421-730; 

2. Is a raw or partially cooked animal food and the consumer 

is advised as specified under 12VAC5-421- 700 D 1 and 3; 

or 

3. Is prepared in accordance with a variance that is granted 

as specified under 12VAC5-421-700 D 4. 

Ready-to-eat food "Ready-to-eat food" may receive 

additional preparation for palatability or aesthetic, epicurean, 

gastronomic, or culinary purposes. 

"Ready-to-eat food" includes: 

1. Raw animal food that is cooked as specified under 

12VAC5-421-700, or 12VAC5-421-710 or frozen as 

specified under 12VAC5-421-730; 

2. Raw fruits and vegetables that are washed as specified 

under 12VAC5-421-510; 

3. Fruits and vegetables that are cooked for hot holding as 

specified under 12VAC5-421-720; 

4. All time/temperature control for safety food that is cooked 

to the temperature and time required for the specific food 

under 12VAC5-421-700 Article 4 (12VAC5-421-700 et 

seq.) of Part III and cooled as specified in 12VAC5-421-800; 

5. Plant food for which further washing, cooking, or other 

processing is not required for food safety, and from which 

rinds, peels, husks, or shells, if naturally present, are 

removed; 

6. Substances derived from plants such as spices, seasonings, 

and sugar; 

7. A bakery item such as bread, cakes, pies, fillings, or icing 

for which further cooking is not required for food safety; 

8. The following products that are produced in accordance 

with USDA guidelines and that have received a lethality 

treatment for pathogens: dry, fermented sausages, such as 

dry salami or pepperoni; salt-cured meat and poultry 

products, such as prosciutto ham, country cured ham, and 

Parma ham; and dried meat and poultry products, such as 

jerky or beef sticks; and 

9. Food manufactured according to as specified in 21 CFR 

Part 113. 

"Reduced oxygen packaging" means the reduction of the 

amount of oxygen in a package by removing oxygen; 

displacing oxygen and replacing it with another gas or 

combination of gases; or otherwise controlling the oxygen 

content to a level below that normally found in the atmosphere 

(approximately 21% at sea level); and a process as specified in 

this definition that involves a food for which the hazards 

Clostridium botulinum or Listeria monocytogenes require 

control in the final packaged form. Reduced oxygen packaging 

includes: 

1. Vacuum packaging, in which air is removed from a 

package of food and the package is hermetically sealed so 

that a vacuum remains inside the package; 

2. Modified atmosphere packaging, in which the atmosphere 

of a package of food is modified so that its composition is 

different from air, but the atmosphere may change over time 

due to the permeability of the packaging material or the 

respiration of the food. Modified atmosphere packaging 

includes reduction in the proportion of oxygen, total 

replacement of oxygen, or an increase in the proportion of 

other gases such as carbon dioxide or nitrogen; 

3. Controlled atmosphere packaging, in which the 

atmosphere of a package of food is modified so that until the 

package is opened, its composition is different from air, and 

continuous control of that atmosphere is maintained, such as 

by using oxygen scavengers or a combination of total 

replacement of oxygen, nonrespiring food, and impermeable 

packaging material; 

4. Cook chill packaging, in which cooked food is hot filled 

into impermeable bags that have the air expelled and are then 

sealed or crimped closed. The bagged food is rapidly chilled 

and refrigerated at temperatures that inhibit the growth of 

psychrotrophic psychotrophic pathogens; or 

5. Sous vide packaging, in which raw or partially cooked 

food is vacuum packaged in an impermeable bag, cooked in 

the bag, rapidly chilled, and refrigerated at temperatures that 

inhibit the growth of psychrotrophic psychotropic 

pathogens. 

"Refuse" means solid waste not carried by water through the 

a sewage system. 

"Regulatory authority" means the Virginia Department of 

Agriculture and Consumer Services, the Virginia Department 

of Health or their authorized representative having jurisdiction 

over the food establishment. local, state, or federal 

enforcement body or authorized representative having 

jurisdiction over the food establishment.  

"Reminder" means a written statement concerning the health 

risk of consuming animal foods raw, undercooked, or without 

otherwise being processed to eliminate pathogens. 

"Reservice" "Re-service" means the transfer of food that is 

unused and returned by a consumer after being served or sold 

and in the possession of the consumer, to another person. 

"Restrict" means to limit the activities of a food employee so 

that there is no risk of transmitting a disease that is 

transmissible through food and the food employee does not 

work with exposed food, clean equipment, utensils, linens, and 

or unwrapped single-service or single-use articles. 
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"Restricted egg" means any check, dirty egg, incubator reject, 

inedible, leaker, or loss as defined in 9 CFR Part 590. 

"Restricted use pesticide" means a pesticide product that 

contains the active ingredients specified in 40 CFR 152.175 

and that is limited to use by or under the direct supervision of 

a certified applicator. 

"Risk" means the likelihood that an adverse health effect will 

occur within a population as a result of a hazard in a food. 

"Safe material" means an article manufactured from or 

composed of materials that shall may not reasonably be 

expected to result, directly or indirectly, in their becoming a 

component or otherwise affecting the characteristics of any 

food; an additive that is used as specified in § 409 of the 

Federal Food, Drug, and Cosmetic Act (21 USC § 348); or 

other materials that are not additives and that are used in 

conformity with applicable regulations of the Food and Drug 

Administration FDA. 

"Sanitization" means the application of cumulative heat or 

chemicals on cleaned food-contact surfaces that, when 

evaluated for efficacy, is sufficient to yield a reduction of five 

logs, which is equal to a 99.999% reduction, of representative 

disease microorganisms of public health importance. 

"Sealed" means free of cracks or other openings that permit 

allow the entry or passage of moisture. 

"Service animal" means an animal such as a guide dog, signal 

dog, or other animal individually trained to provide assistance 

to an individual with a disability. 

"Servicing area" means an operating base location to which a 

mobile food establishment or transportation vehicle returns 

regularly for such things as vehicle and equipment cleaning, 

discharging liquid or solid wastes, refilling water tanks and ice 

bins, and boarding food. 

"Sewage" means liquid waste containing animal or vegetable 

matter in suspension or solution and may include liquids 

containing chemicals in solution. Sewage includes water-

carried and non-water-carried human excrement or kitchen, 

laundry, shower, bath, or lavatory waste separately or together 

with such underground surface, storm, or other water and 

liquid industrial wastes as may be present from residences, 

buildings, vehicles, industrial establishments, or other places. 

"Shellfish control authority" means a state, federal, foreign, 

tribal or other government entity legally responsible for 

administering a program that includes certification of 

molluscan shellfish harvesters and dealers for interstate 

commerce such as the Virginia Department of Health Division 

of Shellfish Sanitation. 

"Shellstock" means raw, in-shell molluscan shellfish. 

"Shiga toxin-producing Escherichia coli" or "STEC" means 

any E. coli capable of producing Shiga toxins (also called 

verocytotoxins). STEC infections can be asymptomatic or may 

result in a spectrum of illness ranging from mild nonbloody 

diarrhea, to hemorrhagic colitis (i.e., bloody diarrhea) to 

hemolytic uremic syndrome (HUS), which is a type of kidney 

failure. Examples of serotypes of STEC include E. coli 

0157:H7, E. coli 0157:NM, E. coli 026:H11; E. coli 0145NM 

E. Coli 0145:NM, E. coli 0103:H2, and E. coli 0111:NM. 

STEC are sometimes referred to as VTEC (verocytotoxigenic 

E. coli) or as EHEC (Enterohemorrhagic E. coli). EHEC are a 

subset of STEC that can cause hemorrhagic colitis or HUS. 

"Shucked shellfish" means molluscan shellfish that have one 

or both shells removed. 

"Single-service articles" means tableware, carry-out utensils, 

and other items such as bags, containers, placemats, stirrers, 

straws, toothpicks, and wrappers that are designed and 

constructed for one time, one person use after which they are 

intended for discard. 

"Single-use articles" means utensils and bulk food containers 

designed and constructed to be used once and discarded. 

Single-use articles includes items such as wax paper, butcher 

paper, plastic wrap, formed aluminum food containers, jars, 

plastic tubs or buckets, bread wrappers, pickle barrels, ketchup 

bottles, and number 10 cans which that do not meet the 

materials, durability, strength, and cleanability specifications 

contained in 12VAC5-421-960, 12VAC5-421-1080, and 

12VAC5-421-1100 for multiuse utensils. 

"Slacking" means the process of moderating the temperature 

of a food such as allowing a food to gradually increase from a 

temperature of -10°F (-23°C) to 25°F (-4°C) in preparation for 

deep-fat frying or to facilitate even heat penetration during the 

cooking of previously block-frozen food such as shrimp. 

"Smooth" means a food-contact surface having a surface free 

of pits and inclusions with a cleanability equal to or exceeding 

that of (100 grit) number three stainless steel; a non-food-

contact surface of equipment having a surface equal to that of 

commercial grade hot-rolled steel free of visible scale; and a 

floor, wall, or ceiling having an even or level surface with no 

roughness or projections that render it difficult to clean. 

"Substantial compliance" means equipment or structure 

design or construction; food preparation, handling, storage, 

transportation; or cleaning procedures that will not 

substantially affect health consideration or performance of the 

facility or the employees. 

"Tableware" means eating, drinking, and serving utensils for 

table use such as flatware including forks, knives, and spoons; 

hollowware including bowls, cups, serving dishes, tumblers; 

and plates. 

"Temperature measuring device" means a thermometer, 

thermocouple, thermistor, or other device that indicates the 

temperature of food, air, or water. 
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"Temporary food establishment" means a food establishment 

that operates for a period of no more than 14 consecutive days 

in conjunction with a single event or celebration. 

"Time/temperature control for safety food" or "TCS food" 

means a food that requires time/temperature control for safety 

to limit pathogenic microorganism growth or toxin formation: 

1. TCS food includes an animal food that is raw or heat 

treated; a plant food that is heat treated or consists of raw 

seed sprouts, cut melons, cut leafy greens, cut tomatoes, or 

mixtures of cut tomatoes that are not modified in a way so 

that they are unable to support pathogenic microorganism 

growth or toxin formation, or garlic-in-oil mixtures that are 

not modified in a way so that they are unable to support 

pathogenic microorganism growth or toxin formation; and 

except as specified in subdivision 2 d of this definition, a 

food that because of the interaction of its Aw and pH values 

is designated as product assessment required (PA) in Table 

A or B of this definition: 

Table A. Interaction of pH and Aw for control of spores 

in food heat treated to destroy vegetative cells and 

subsequently packaged. 

Aw values 
pH values 

4.6 or less >4.6 - 5.6 >5.6 

≤0.92 non-TCS 

food* 

non-TCS 

food 

non-TCS 

food 

>0.92 - 

0.95 

non-TCS 

food 

non-TCS 

food 

PA** 

>0.95 non-TCS 

food 

PA PA 

*TCS food means time/temperature control for safety 

food 

**PA means product assessment required 

Table B. Interaction of pH and Aw for control of 

vegetative cells and spores in food not heat treated or 

heat treated but not packaged. 

Aw 

values 

pH values 

< 4.2 4.2 - 4.6 > 4.6 - 

5.0 

> 5.0 

<0.88 non-TCS 

food* 

non-

TCS 

food 

non-TCS 

food 

non-TCS 

food 

0.88 - 

0.90 

non-TCS 

food 

non-

TCS 

food 

non-TCS 

food 

PA** 

>0.90 - 

0.92 

non-TCS 

food 

non-

TCS 

food 

PA PA 

>0.92 non-TCS 

food 

PA PA PA 

*TCS food means time/temperature control for safety 

food 

**PA means product assessment required 

2. TCS food does not include: 

a. An air-cooled hard-boiled egg with shell intact, or an 

egg with shell intact that is not hard-boiled, but has been 

pasteurized to destroy all viable salmonellae; 

b. A food in an unopened hermetically sealed container 

that is commercially processed to achieve and maintain 

commercial sterility under conditions of nonrefrigerated 

storage and distribution; 

c. A food that because of its pH or Aw value, or interaction 

of Aw and pH values, is designated as a non-TCS food in 

Table A or B of this definition; 

d. A food that is designated as PA in Table A or B of this 

definition and has undergone a product assessment 

showing that the growth or toxin formation of pathogenic 

microorganisms that are reasonably likely to occur in that 

food is precluded due to: 

(1) Intrinsic factors including added or natural 

characteristics of the food such as preservatives, 

antimicrobials, humectants, acidulants, or nutrients; 

(2) Extrinsic factors including environmental or 

operational factors that affect the food such as packaging, 

modified atmosphere such as reduced oxygen packaging, 

shelf-life and use, or temperature range of storage and use; 

or 

(3) A combination of intrinsic and extrinsic factors; or 

e. A food that does not support the growth or toxin 

formation of pathogenic microorganisms in accordance 

with one of the subdivisions 2 a through 2 d of this 

definition even though the food may contain a pathogenic 

microorganism or chemical or physical contaminant at a 

level sufficient to cause illness or injury. 

"USDA" means the U.S. Department of Agriculture. 

"Utensil" means a food-contact implement or container used 

in the storage, preparation, transportation, dispensing, sale, or 

service of food, such as kitchenware or tableware that is 

multiuse, single service, or single use; gloves used in contact 

with food; temperature sensing probes of food temperature 

measuring devices and probe-type price or identification tags 

used in contact with food. 

"Variance" means a written document issued by the 

regulatory authority department that authorizes a modification 
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or waiver of one or more requirements of this chapter if, in the 

opinion of the regulatory authority department, a health hazard 

or nuisance will not result from the modification or waiver. 

"Vending machine" means a self-service device that, upon 

insertion of a coin, paper currency, token, card, or key, 

electronic transaction, or by optional manual operation, 

dispenses unit servings of food in bulk or in packages without 

the necessity of replenishing the device between each vending 

operation. 

"Vending machine location" means the room, enclosure, 

space, or area where one or more vending machines are 

installed and operated and includes the storage areas and areas 

on the premises that are used to service and maintain the 

vending machines. 

"Warewashing" means the cleaning and sanitizing of utensils 

and food-contact surfaces of equipment. 

"Waterworks" means a system that serves piped water for 

human consumption to at least 15 service connections or 25 or 

more individuals for at least 60 days out of the year. 

"Waterworks" includes all structures, equipment and 

appurtenances used in the storage, collection, purification, 

treatment, and distribution of potable pure water except the 

piping and fixtures inside the building where such water is 

delivered (see Article 2 (§ 32.1-167 et seq.) of Chapter 6 of 

Title 32.1 of the Code of Virginia). 

"Whole-muscle, intact beef" means whole muscle beef that is 

not injected, mechanically tenderized, reconstructed, or scored 

and marinated, from which beef steaks may be cut. 

12VAC5-421-30. Purpose. 

This chapter has been promulgated by the State Board of 

Health board to specify the following requirements to protect 

public health: 

1. A procedure for obtaining a license (permit); 

2. Criteria for assuring the safe preparation, handling, 

protection and/or temperature control for food; 

3. Criteria for the safe and sanitary maintenance, storage, 

operation and use of equipment; 

4. Requirements that food establishments be connected to, 

and use utilize an approved water supply and sewage 

disposal system; 

5. Requirements for toilet and cleansing facilities for 

employees and customers; 

6. Criteria for vector and pest control; 

7. Requirements for the sanitary maintenance and use of 

food establishment's physical plant; 

8. Requirements for appropriate lighting and ventilation not 

otherwise provided for in the Uniform Statewide Building 

Code; and 

9. A classification system for food establishments. 

12VAC5-421-40. Administration of regulation. 

This chapter is administered by the following: 

1. The State Board of Health, hereinafter referred to as the 

board, board has responsibility to promulgate, amend and 

repeal regulations necessary to protect the public health. 

2. The State Health Commissioner, hereinafter referred to as 

the commissioner, commissioner is the chief executive 

officer of the State Department of Health department. The 

commissioner has the authority to act within the scope of 

regulations promulgated by the board and for the board when 

it is not in session. 

3. The district or local health director, hereinafter referred to 

as the director, is responsible for the permitting and 

inspection of food establishments located within the 

director's district and for assuring compliance with this part 

chapter. The director is the duly designated officer or agent 

of the commissioner.  

12VAC5-421-55. Certified food protection manager. 

A. At least one employee with supervisory and management 

responsibility and the authority to direct and control food 

preparation and service The person in charge shall be a 

certified food protection manager, demonstrating who has 

shown proficiency of required knowledge and information 

through passing a test that is part of an accredited program. 

B. This section does not apply to food establishments that 

serve only non-temperature non-time/temperature control for 

safety food and food establishments where food handling does 

not exceed reheating, cold holding, and hot holding of 

commercially processed and packaged ready-to-eat foods that 

store and prepare food only to the extent that they reheat or 

cold hold commercially processed, fully cooked 

time/temperature control for safety foods. Food establishments 

exempt from the certified food protection manager 

requirement may not cool time/temperature control for safety 

foods. 

C. For purposes of enforcement, this section will take effect 

on July 1, 2018 June 10, 2023. 

12VAC5-421-60. Demonstration of knowledge. 

Based on the risks of foodborne illness inherent to the food 

operation, during inspections and upon request the person in 

charge shall demonstrate to the regulatory authority 

department knowledge of foodborne disease prevention, and 

the requirements of this chapter. The person in charge shall 

demonstrate this knowledge by: 

1. Complying with this chapter by having no violations of 

priority items during the current inspection;Pf 
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2. Being a certified food protection manager who has shown 

proficiency of required information through passing a test 

that is part of an accredited program;Pf or 

3. Responding correctly to the environmental health 

specialist's questions as they relate to the specific food 

operation. The areas of operation may include: 

a. Describing the relationship between the prevention of 

foodborne disease and the personal hygiene of a food 

employee;Pf 

b. Explaining the responsibility of the person in charge for 

preventing the transmission of foodborne disease by a 

food employee who has a disease or medical condition that 

may cause foodborne disease;Pf 

c. Describing the symptoms associated with the diseases 

that are transmissible through food;Pf 

d. Explaining the significance of the relationship between 

maintaining the time and temperature of time/temperature 

control for safety food and the prevention of foodborne 

illness;Pf 

e. Explaining the hazards involved in the consumption of 

raw or undercooked meat, poultry, eggs, and fish;Pf 

f. Stating the required food temperatures and times for safe 

cooking of time/temperature control for safety food 

including meat, poultry, eggs, and fish;Pf 

g. Stating the required temperatures and times for the safe 

refrigerated storage, hot holding, cooling, and reheating of 

time/temperature control for safety food;Pf 

h. Describing the relationship between the prevention of 

foodborne illness and the management and control of the 

following: 

(1) Cross contamination,;Pf 

(2) Hand contact with ready-to-eat foods,;Pf 

(3) Handwashing,;Pf and 

(4) Maintaining the food establishment in a clean 

condition and in good repair;Pf 

i. Describing the foods identified as major food allergens 

and the symptoms that a major food allergen could cause 

in a sensitive individual who has an allergic reaction;Pf 

j. Explaining the relationship between food safety and 

providing equipment that is: 

(1) Sufficient in number and capacity,;Pf and 

(2) Properly designed, constructed, located, installed, 

operated, maintained, and cleaned;Pf 

k. Explaining correct procedures for cleaning and 

sanitizing utensils and food-contact surfaces of 

equipment;Pf 

l. Identifying the source of water used and measures taken 

to ensure that the water supply remains protected from 

contamination such as providing protection from 

backflow and precluding the creation of cross 

connections;Pf 

m. Identifying poisonous or toxic materials in the food 

establishment and the procedures necessary to ensure that 

they are safely stored, dispensed, used, and disposed of 

according to law;Pf 

n. Identifying critical control points in the operation from 

purchasing through sale or service that when not 

controlled may contribute to the transmission of 

foodborne illness and explaining steps taken to ensure that 

the points are controlled in accordance with the 

requirements of this chapter;Pf 

o. Explaining the details of how the person in charge and 

food employees comply with a HACCP plan if such a plan 

is required by the law, this chapter, or a voluntary an 

agreement between the regulatory authority department 

and the food establishment; Pf 

p. Explaining the responsibilities, rights, and authorities 

assigned by this chapter to the: 

(1) Food employee,;Pf 

(2) Conditional employee,;Pf 

(3) Person in charge,;Pf and 

(4) Regulatory authority Department;Pf and 

q. Explaining how the person in charge, food employees, 

and conditional employees comply with reporting 

responsibilities and the exclusion or restriction of food 

employees.Pf 

12VAC5-421-70. Duties of person in charge. 

The person in charge shall ensure that: 

1. Food establishment operations are not conducted in a 

private home or in a room used as living or sleeping quarters 

as specified under 12VAC5-421-2990;Pf 

2. Persons unnecessary to the food establishment operation 

are not allowed in the food preparation, food storage, or 

warewashing areas, except that brief visits and tours may be 

authorized by the person in charge if steps are taken to 

ensure that exposed food; clean equipment, utensils, and 

linens; and unwrapped single-service and single-use articles 

are protected from contamination;Pf 

3. Employees and other persons such as delivery and 

maintenance persons and pesticide applicators entering the 

food preparation, food storage, and warewashing areas 

comply with this chapter;Pf 

4. Employees are effectively cleaning their hands, by 

routinely monitoring the employees' handwashing;Pf 

5. Employees are visibly observing foods as they are 

received to determine that they are from approved sources, 

delivered at the required temperatures, protected from 

contamination, unadulterated, and accurately presented, by 
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routinely monitoring the employees' observations and 

periodically evaluating foods upon their receipt;Pf 

6. Employees are verifying that foods delivered to the food 

establishment during non-operating hours are from approved 

sources and are placed into appropriate storage locations 

such that they are maintained at the required temperatures, 

protected from contamination, unadulterated, and accurately 

presented;Pf 

7. Employees are properly cooking time/temperature control 

for safety food, being particularly careful in cooking those 

foods known to cause severe foodborne illness and death, 

such as eggs and comminuted meats, through daily oversight 

of the employees' routine monitoring of the cooking 

temperatures using appropriate temperature measuring 

devices properly scaled and calibrated as specified under 

12VAC5-421-1180 and 12VAC5-421-1730 B;Pf 

8. Employees are using proper methods to rapidly cool 

time/temperature control for safety food that is not held hot 

or is not for consumption within four hours, through daily 

oversight of the employees' routine monitoring of food 

temperatures during cooling;Pf 

9. Employees are properly maintaining the temperatures of 

time/temperature control for safety food during hot and cold 

holding through daily oversight of the employees routine 

monitoring of food temperatures;Pf 

10. Consumers who order raw or partially cooked ready-to-

eat foods of animal origin are informed as specified under 

12VAC5-421-930 that the food is not cooked sufficiently to 

ensure its safety;Pf 

11. Employees are properly sanitizing cleaned multiuse 

equipment and utensils before they are reused, through 

routine monitoring of solution temperature and exposure 

time for hot water sanitizing, and chemical concentration, 

pH, temperature, and exposure time for chemical 

sanitizing;Pf 

12. Consumers are notified that clean tableware is to be used 

when they return to self-service areas such as salad bars and 

buffets as specified in 12VAC5-421-590;Pf 

13. Except when approval is obtained from the regulatory 

authority department as specified in 12VAC5-421-450 E, 

employees are preventing cross-contamination of ready-to-

eat food with bare hands by properly using suitable utensils 

such as deli tissue, spatulas, tongs, single-use gloves, or 

dispensing equipment; Pf 

14. Employees are properly trained in food safety, including 

food allergy awareness, as it relates to their assigned duties;Pf 

15. Food employees and conditional employees are 

informed in a verifiable manner of their responsibility to 

report in accordance with law, to the person in charge, 

information about their health and activities as they relate to 

diseases that are transmissible through food, as specified 

under 12VAC5-421-80;Pf and 

16. Written procedures and plans, where specified by this 

chapter and as developed by the food establishment, are 

maintained and implemented as required.Pf 

12VAC5-421-80. Responsibility of permit holder, person in 

charge, and conditional employees. 

A. The permit holder shall require food employees and 

conditional employees to report to the person in charge 

information about their health and activities as they relate to 

diseases that are transmissible through food. A food employee 

or conditional employee shall report the information in a 

manner that allows the person in charge to reduce the risk of 

foodborne disease transmission, including providing necessary 

additional information, such as the date of onset of symptoms 

and an illness, or of a diagnosis without symptoms, if the food 

employee or conditional employee: 

1. Has any of the following symptoms: 

a. Vomiting;P 

b. Diarrhea;P 

c. Jaundice;P  

d. Sore throat with fever;P or 

e. A lesion containing pus such as a boil or infected wound 

that is open or draining and is: 

(1) On the hands or wrists, unless an impermeable cover 

such as a finger cot or stall protects the lesion and a single-

use glove is worn over the impermeable cover;P 

(2) On exposed portions of the arms, unless the lesion is 

protected by an impermeable cover;P or 

(3) On other parts of the body, unless the lesion is covered 

by a dry, durable, tight-fitting bandage;P 

2. Has an illness diagnosed by a health practitioner due to: 

a. Norovirus;P 

b. Hepatitis A virus;P 

c. Shigella spp.;P 

d. Shiga toxin-producing Escherichia coli; P 

e. Typhoid fever (caused by Salmonella typhi);P or 

f. Salmonella (nontyphoidal);P 

3. Had typhoid Typhoid fever, diagnosed by a health 

practitioner, within the past three months, without having 

received antibiotic therapy, as determined by a health 

practitioner;P 

4. Has been exposed to, or is the suspected source of, a 

confirmed disease outbreak, because the food employee or 

conditional employee consumed or prepared food implicated 

in the outbreak, or consumed food at an event prepared by a 

person who is infected or ill with: 
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a. Norovirus within the past 48 hours of the last exposure; 
P 

b. Shiga toxin-producing Escherichia coli, or Shigella spp. 

within the past three days of the last exposure;P 

c. Typhoid fever (caused by Salmonella typhi) within the 

past 14 days of the last exposure;P or 

d. Hepatitis A virus within the past 30 days of the last 

exposure;P or 

5. Has been exposed by attending or working in a setting 

where there is a confirmed disease outbreak, or living in the 

same household as, and has knowledge about an individual 

who works or attends a setting where there is a confirmed 

disease outbreak, or living in the same household as, and has 

knowledge about, and an individual diagnosed with an 

illness caused by: 

a. Norovirus within the past 48 hours of the last exposure;P 

b. Shiga toxin-producing Escherichia coli or Shigella spp. 

within the past three days of the last exposure;P 

c. Typhoid fever (caused by Salmonella typhi) within the 

past 14 days of the last exposure;P or 

d. Hepatitis A virus within the past 30 days of the last 

exposure.P 

B. The person in charge shall notify the regulatory authority 

department when a food employee is: 

1. Jaundiced;Pf or 

2. Diagnosed with an illness due to a pathogen as specified 

under subdivisions A 2 a through f of this section.Pf 

C. The person in charge shall ensure that a conditional 

employee: 

1. Who exhibits or reports a symptom, or who reports a 

diagnosed illness as specified under subdivisions A 1, 2, and 

3 of this section, is prohibited from becoming a food 

employee until the conditional employee meets the criteria 

for the specific symptoms or diagnosed illness as specified 

under 12VAC5-421-100;P and 

2. Who will work as a food employee in a food establishment 

that serves a highly susceptible population and reports a 

history of exposure as specified under subdivisions A 4 and 

5 of this section, is prohibited from becoming a food 

employee until the conditional employee meets the criteria 

specified under subdivision 10 of 12VAC5-421-100.P 

D. The person in charge shall ensure that a food employee 

who exhibits or reports a symptom, or who reports a diagnosed 

illness or history of exposure as specified under subdivisions 

A 1 through 5 of this section is: 

1. Excluded as specified under subdivisions 1, 2, and 3 of 

12VAC5-421-90, and subdivisions 4 a, 5 a, 6 a, 7, or 8 a of 

12VAC5-421-90 and in compliance with the provisions 

specified under subdivisions 1 through 8 of 12VAC5-421-

100;P or 

2. Restricted as specified under subdivision 4 b, 5 b, 6 b, or 

8 b of 12VAC5-421-90, or subdivision 9 or 10 of 12VAC5-

421-90 and in compliance with the provisions specified 

under subdivisions 4 through 10 of 12VAC5-421-100.P 

E. A food employee or conditional employee shall report to 

the person in charge the information as specified under 

subsection A of this section.Pf 

F. A food employee shall: 

1. Comply with an exclusion as specified under subdivisions 

1, 2, and 3 of 12VAC5-421-90 and subdivision 4 a, 5 a, 6 a, 

7, or 8 a of 12VAC5-421-90 and with the provisions 

specified under subdivisions 1 through 8 of 12VAC5-421-

100;P or 

2. Comply with a restriction as specified under subdivisions 

subdivision 4 b, 5 b, 6 b, 7, or 8 b of 12VAC5-421-90, or 

subdivision 8, 9, or 10 of 12VAC5-421-90 and comply with 

the provisions specified under subdivisions 4 through 10 of 

12VAC5-421-100.P 

12VAC5-421-90. Exclusions and restrictions. 

The person in charge shall exclude or restrict a food employee 

from a food establishment in accordance with the following: 

1. Except when the symptom is from a noninfectious 

condition, exclude a food employee if the food employee is: 

a. Symptomatic with vomiting or diarrhea;P or 

b. Symptomatic with vomiting or diarrhea and diagnosed 

with an infection from Norovirus, Shigella spp., 

Salmonella (nontyphoidal), or Shiga toxin-producing 

Escherichia coli.P 

2. Exclude a food employee who is: 

a. Jaundiced and the onset of jaundice occurred within the 

last seven calendar days, unless the food employee 

provides to the person in charge written medical 

documentation from a health practitioner specifying that 

the jaundice is not caused by Hepatitis A virus or other 

fecal-orally transmitted infection;P 

b. Diagnosed with an infection from Hepatitis A virus 

within 14 calendar days from the onset of any illness 

symptoms, or within seven calendar days of the onset of 

jaundice;P or 

c. Diagnosed with an infection from Hepatitis A virus 

without developing symptoms.P 

3. Exclude a food employee who is diagnosed with typhoid 

Typhoid fever, or reports having had typhoid Typhoid fever 

within the past three months as specified in 12VAC5-421-

80 A 3.P 
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4. If a food employee is diagnosed with an infection from 

Norovirus and is asymptomatic: 

a. Exclude the food employee who works in a food 

establishment serving a highly susceptible population;P or 

b. Restrict the food employee who works in a food 

establishment not serving a highly susceptible 

population.P 

5. If a food employee is diagnosed with an infection from 

Shigella spp. and is asymptomatic: 

a. Exclude the food employee who works in a food 

establishment serving a highly susceptible population;P or 

b. Restrict the food employee who works in a food 

establishment not serving a highly susceptible 

population.P 

6. If a food employee is diagnosed with an infection from 

Shiga toxin-producing Escherichia coli, and is 

asymptomatic: 

a. Exclude the food employee who works in a food 

establishment serving a highly susceptible population;P or 

b. Restrict the food employee who works in a food 

establishment not serving a highly susceptible 

population.P 

7. If a food employee is diagnosed with an infection from 

Salmonella (nontyphoidal) and is asymptomatic, restrict the 

food employee who works in a food establishment: 

a. Serving a highly susceptible population,P or 

b. Not serving a highly susceptible population.P 

8. If a food employee is ill with symptoms of acute onset of 

sore throat with fever: 

a. Exclude the food employee who works in a food 

establishment serving a highly susceptible population;P or 

b. Restrict the food employee who works in a food 

establishment not serving a highly susceptible 

population.P 

9. If a food employee is infected with a skin lesion 

containing pus such as a boil or infected wound that is open 

or draining and not properly covered as specified under 

12VAC5-421-80 A 1 e, restrict the food employee.P 

10. If a food employee is exposed to a foodborne pathogen 

as specified under 12VAC5-421-80 A 4 or 5, restrict the 

food employee who works in a food establishment serving a 

highly susceptible population.P 

12VAC5-421-100. Removal, adjustment, or retention of 

exclusions and restrictions. 

The person in charge shall adhere to the following conditions 

when removing, adjusting, or retaining the exclusion or 

restriction of a food employee: 

1. Except when a food employee is diagnosed with typhoid 

Typhoid fever or an infection from Hepatitis A virus: 

a. Reinstate a food employee who was excluded as 

specified under subdivision 1 a of 12VAC5-421-90 if the 

food employee: 

(1) Is asymptomatic for at least 24 hours;P or 

(2) Provides to the person in charge written medical 

documentation from a health practitioner that states the 

symptom is from a noninfectious condition.P 

b. If a food employee was diagnosed with an infection 

from Norovirus and excluded as specified under 

subdivision 1 b of 12VAC5-421-90: 

(1) Restrict the food employee, who is asymptomatic for 

at least 24 hours and works in a food establishment not 

serving a highly susceptible population until the 

conditions for reinstatement as specified in subdivision 4 

a or b of this section are met;P or 

(2) Retain the exclusion for the food employee, who is 

asymptomatic for at least 24 hours and works in a food 

establishment that serves a highly susceptible population, 

until the conditions for reinstatement as specified in 

subdivision 4 a or b of this section are met.P 

c. If a food employee was diagnosed with an infection 

from Shigella spp. and excluded as specified under 

subdivision 1 b of 12VAC5-421-90: 

(1) Restrict the food employee, who is asymptomatic, for 

at least 24 hours and works in a food establishment not 

serving a highly susceptible population, until the 

conditions for reinstatement as specified in subdivision 5 

a or b of this section are met;P or 

(2) Retain the exclusion for the food employee, who is 

asymptomatic for at least 24 hours and works in a food 

establishment that serves a highly susceptible population, 

until the conditions for reinstatement as specified in 

subdivision 5 a or b, or 5 a and 1 c (1) of this section are 

met.P 

d. If a food employee was diagnosed with an infection 

from Shiga toxin-producing Escherichia coli and excluded 

as specified under subdivision 1 b of 12VAC5-421-90: 

(1) Restrict the food employee, who is asymptomatic for 

at least 24 hours and works in a food establishment not 

serving a highly susceptible population, until the 

conditions for reinstatement as specified in subdivision 6 

a or b of this section are met;P or 

(2) Retain the exclusion for the food employee, who is 

asymptomatic for at least 24 hours and works in a food 

establishment that serves a highly susceptible population, 

until the conditions for reinstatement as specified in 

subdivision 6 a or b are met.P 

e. If a food employee was diagnosed with an infection 

from Salmonella (nontyphoidal) and excluded as specified 

under subdivision 1 b of 12VAC5-421-90: 
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(1) Restrict the food employee who is asymptomatic for at 

least 30 days until conditions for reinstatement as 

specified under subdivision 7 a or 7 b of this section are 

met;P or 

(2) Retain the exclusion for the food employee who is 

symptomatic, until conditions for reinstatement as 

specified under subdivision 7 a or 7 b of this section are 

met. P 

2. Reinstate a food employee who was excluded as specified 

under subdivision 2 of 12VAC5-421-90 if the person in 

charge obtains approval from the regulatory authority 

department and one of the following conditions is met: 

a. The food employee has been jaundiced for more than 

seven calendar days;P 

b. The anicteric food employee has been symptomatic 

with symptoms other than jaundice for more than 14 

calendar days;P or 

c. The food employee provides to the person in charge 

written medical documentation from a health practitioner 

stating that the food employee is free of a Hepatitis A virus 

infection.P 

3. Reinstate a food employee who was excluded as specified 

under subdivision 3 of 12VAC5-421-90 if: 

a. The person in charge obtains approval from the 

regulatory authority department;P and 

b. The food employee provides to the person in charge 

written medical documentation from a health practitioner 

that states the employee is free from typhoid Typhoid 

fever.P 

4. Reinstate a food employee who was excluded as specified 

under subdivision 1 b or 4 a of 12VAC5-421-90, who was 

restricted under subdivision 4 b of 12VAC5-421-90 if the 

person in charge obtains approval from the regulatory 

authority department and one of the following conditions is 

met: 

a. The excluded or restricted food employee provides to 

the person in charge written medical documentation from 

a health practitioner stating that the food employee is free 

of a Norovirus infection;P 

b. The food employee was excluded or restricted after 

symptoms of vomiting or diarrhea resolved, and more than 

48 hours have passed since the food employee became 

symptomatic asymptomatic;P or 

c. The food employee was excluded or restricted and did 

not develop symptoms and more than 48 hours have 

passed since the food employee was diagnosed.P 

5. Reinstate a food employee who was excluded as specified 

under subdivision 1 b or 5 a of 12VAC5-421-90 or who was 

restricted under subdivision 5 b of 12VAC5-421-90 if the 

person in charge obtains approval from the regulatory 

authority department and one of the following conditions is 

met: 

a. The excluded or restricted food employee provides to 

the person in charge written medical documentation from 

a health practitioner stating that the food employee is free 

of a Shigella spp. infection based on test results showing 

two consecutive negative stool specimen cultures that are 

taken: 

(1) Not earlier than 48 hours after discontinuance of 

antibiotics,P and 

(2) At least 24 hours apart;P 

b. The food employee was excluded or restricted after 

symptoms of vomiting or diarrhea resolved, and more than 

seven calendar days have passed since the food employee 

became asymptomatic;P or 

c. The food employee was excluded or restricted and did 

not develop symptoms and more than seven calendar days 

have passed since the food employee was diagnosed.P 

6. Reinstate a food employee who was excluded or restricted 

as specified under subdivision 1 b or 6 a of 12VAC5-421-90 

or who was restricted under subdivision 6 b of 12VAC5-

421-90 if the person in charge obtains approval from the 

regulatory authority department and one of the following 

conditions is met: 

a. The excluded or restricted food employee provides to 

the person in charge written medical documentation from 

a health practitioner stating that the food employee is free 

of an infection from Shiga toxin-producing Escherichia 

coli based on test results that show two consecutive 

negative stool specimen cultures that are taken: 

(1) Not earlier than 48 hours after the discontinuance of 

antibiotics;P and 

(2) At least 24 hours apart;P 

b. The food employee was excluded or restricted after 

symptoms of vomiting or diarrhea resolved and more than 

seven calendar days have passed since the employee 

became asymptomatic;P or 

c. The food employee was excluded or restricted and did 

not develop symptoms and more than seven days have 

passed since the employee was diagnosed.P 

7. Reinstate a food employee who was excluded as specified 

under subsection 1 ab of 12VAC5-421-90 or who was 

restricted as specified under subsection 7 of 12VAC5-421-

90 if the person in charge obtains approval from the 

regulatory authorityP departmentP and one of the following 

conditions is met: 

a. The excluded or restricted food employee provides to 

the person in charge written medical documentation from 

a health practitioner stating that the food employee is free 

of a Salmonella (nontyphoidal) infection based on test 

results showing two consecutive negative stool specimen 

cultures that are taken: 
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(1) Not earlier than 48 hours after discontinuance of 

antibiotics;P and 

(2) At least 24 hours apart;P 

b. The food employee was restricted after symptoms of 

vomiting or diarrhea resolved, and more than 30 days have 

passed since the food employee became asymptomatic;P or 

c. The food employee was excluded or restricted and did 

not develop symptoms and more than 30 days have passed 

since the food employee was diagnosed.P 

8. Reinstate a food employee who was excluded or restricted 

as specified under subdivision 8 a or b of 12VAC5-421-90 

if the food employee provides to the person in charge written 

medical documentation from a health practitioner stating 

that the food employee meets one of the following 

conditions: 

a. Has received antibiotic therapy for Streptococcus 

pyogenes infection for more than 24 hours;P 

b. Has at least one negative throat specimen culture for 

Streptococcus pyogenes infection;P or 

c. Is otherwise determined by a health practitioner to be 

free of Streptococcus pyogenes infection.P 

9. Reinstate a food employee who was restricted as specified 

under subdivision 9 of 12VAC5-421-90 if the skin, infected 

wound, cut, or pustular boil is properly covered with one of 

the following: 

a. An impermeable cover such as a finger cot or stall and 

a single-use glove over the impermeable cover if the 

infected wound or pustular boil is on the hand, finger, or 

wrist;P 

b. An impermeable cover on the arm if the infected wound 

or pustular boil is on the arm;P or 

c. A dry, durable, tight-fitting bandage if the infected 

wound or pustular boil is on another part of the body.P 

10. Reinstate a food employee who was restricted as 

specified under subdivision 10 of 12VAC5-421-90 and was 

exposed to one of the following pathogens as specified under 

12VAC5-421-80 A 4 or 5: 

a. Norovirus and one of the following conditions is met: 

(1) More than 48 hours have passed since the last day the 

food employee was potentially exposed;P or 

(2) More than 48 hours have passed since the food 

employee's household contact became asymptomatic.P 

b. Shigella spp. or Shiga toxin-producing Escherichia coli 

and one of the following conditions is met: 

(1) More than three calendar days have passed since the 

last day the food employee was potentially exposed;P or 

(2) More than three calendar days have passed since the 

food employee's household contact became 

asymptomatic.P 

c. Typhoid fever (caused by Salmonella typhi) and one of 

the following conditions is met: 

(1) More than 14 calendar days have passed since the last 

day the food employee was potentially exposed;P or 

(2) More than 14 calendar days have passed since the food 

employee's household contact became asymptomatic.P 

d. Hepatitis A virus and one of the following conditions is 

met: 

(1) The food employee is immune to Hepatitis A virus 

infection because of prior illness from Hepatitis A;P 

(2) The food employee is immune to Hepatitis A virus 

infection because of vaccination against Hepatitis A;P 

(3) The food employee is immune to Hepatitis A virus 

infection because of IgG administration;P 

(4) More than 30 calendar days have passed since the last 

time the food employee was potentially exposed;P 

(5) More than 30 calendar days have passed since the food 

employee's household contact became jaundiced;P or 

(6) The food employee does not use an alternative 

procedure that allows bare hand contact with ready-to-eat 

food until at least 30 days after the potential exposure, as 

specified in subdivisions 10 d (4) and (5) of this section, 

and the food employee receives additional training about: 

(a) Hepatitis A symptoms and preventing the transmission 

of infection;P 

(b) Proper handwashing procedures;P and 

(c) Protecting ready-to-eat food from contamination 

introduced by bare hand contact.P 

12VAC5-421-180. Hand antiseptics. 

A. A hand antiseptic used as a topical application, a hand 

antiseptic solution used as a hand dip, or a hand antiseptic soap 

shall: 

1. Comply with one of the following: 

a. Be an approved drug that is listed in the FDA 

publication "Approved Drug Products with Therapeutic 

Equivalence Evaluations," 34th Edition, 2014, 39th 

Edition, 2019 (U.S. Food and Drug Administration) as an 

approved drug based on safety and effectiveness;Pf or 

b. Have active antimicrobial ingredients that are listed in 

the FDA monograph for OTC (over the counter) Health-

Care Antiseptic Drug Products as an antiseptic 

handwash;Pf  

2. Consist only of components which the intended use of 

each complies with one of the following: 

a. A threshold of regulation exemption under 21 CFR 

170.39;Pf 

b. 21 CFR Part 178, as regulated for use as a food additive 

with conditions of safe use;Pf 
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c. A determination of generally recognized as safe 

(GRAS). Partial listings of substances with food uses that 

are GRAS may be found in 21 CFR Part 182, 21 CFR 184, 

or 21 CFR Part 186 for use in contact with food and in 

FDA's Inventory of GRAS Notices;Pf 

d. A prior sanction listed under 21 CFR 181;Pf or 

e. A Food Contact Notification food contact notification 

that is effective;Pf and 

3. Be applied only to hands that are cleaned as specified 

under 12VAC5-421-140.Pf 

B. If a hand antiseptic or a hand antiseptic solution used as a 

hand dip does not meet the criteria specified in subdivision A 

2 of this section, use shall be: 

1. Followed by thorough hand rinsing in clean water before 

hand contact with food or by the use of gloves;Pf or 

2. Limited to situations that involve no direct contact with 

food by the bare hands.Pf 

C. A hand antiseptic solution used as a hand dip shall be 

maintained clean and at a strength equivalent to at least 100 

ppm (mg/l) chlorine or above.Pf 

12VAC5-421-190. Maintenance of fingernails. 

A. Food employees shall keep their fingernails trimmed, 

filed, and maintained so the edges and surfaces are cleanable 

and not rough.Pf 

B. Unless wearing intact gloves in good repair, a food 

employee shall not wear fingernail polish or artificial nails 

when working with exposed food.Pf 

12VAC5-421-235. Use of bandages, finger cots, or finger 

stalls.  

If used, an impermeable cover such as a bandage, finger cot, 

or finger stall located on the wrist, hand, or finger of the food 

employee working with exposed food shall be covered with a 

single-use glove. 

12VAC5-421-255. Clean-up of vomiting and diarrheal 

events. 

A food establishment shall have written procedures for 

employees to follow when responding to vomiting or diarrheal 

events that involve the discharge of vomitus or fecal matter 

onto surfaces in the food establishment. The procedures shall 

address the specific actions employees must take to minimize 

the spread of contamination and the exposure of employees, 

consumers, food, and surfaces to vomitus or fecal matter.Pf 

12VAC5-421-260. Safe and, unadulterated, and honestly 

presented. 

Food shall be safe, and unadulterated, and, as specified in 

12VAC5-421-890, honestly presented.PfP 

12VAC5-421-270. Compliance with food law. 

A. Food shall be obtained from sources that comply with 

law.P 

B. Food prepared in a private home shall not be used or 

offered for human consumption in a food establishment unless 

the home kitchen is inspected and regulated by the Virginia 

Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services.P 

C. Packaged food shall be labeled as specified in law, 

including 21 CFR Part 101, 9 CFR Part 317, and Subpart N of 

9 CFR Part 381, and as specified under 12VAC5-421-400 and 

12VAC5-421-410.Pf 

D. Fish, other than those specified in 12VAC5-421-730 B, 

that are intended for consumption in raw or undercooked form 

and allowed as specified in 12VAC5-421-700 D, may be 

offered for sale or service if they are obtained from a supplier 

that freezes fish as specified under 12VAC5-421-730 A; or if 

they are frozen on premises as specified under 12VAC5-421-

730 A and records are retained as specified under 12VAC5-

421-740. 

E. Whole-muscle, intact beef steaks that are intended for 

consumption in an undercooked form without a consumer 

advisory as specified in 12VAC5-421-700 C shall be: 

1. Obtained from a food processing plant that, upon request 

by the purchaser, packages the steaks and labels them to 

indicate that they meet the definition of whole-muscle, intact 

beef;Pf or 

2. Deemed acceptable by the regulatory authority 

department based on other evidence, such as written buyer 

specifications or invoices, that indicates that the steaks meet 

the definition of whole-muscle, intact beef;Pf and 

3. If individually cut in a food establishment: 

a. Cut from whole-muscle intact beef that is labeled by a 

food processing plant as specified in subdivision 1 of this 

subsection or identified as specified in subdivision 2 of 

this subsection;PfP 

b. Prepared so they remain intact;Pf and 

c. If packaged for undercooking in a food establishment, 

labeled as specified in subdivision 1 of this subsection or 

identified as specified in subdivision 2 of this subsection.Pf 

F. Meat and poultry that are is not a ready-to-eat food and are 

is in a packaged form when offered for sale or otherwise 

offered for consumption shall be labeled to include safe 

handling instructions as specified in law, including 9 CFR 

317.2(l) and 9 CFR 381.125(b). 

G. Shell eggs Eggs that have not been specifically treated to 

destroy all viable Salmonellae shall be labeled to include safe 

handling instructions as specified in law, including 21 CFR 

101.17(h). 
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12VAC5-421-295. Juice treated. 

Prepackaged juice shall: 

1. Be obtained from a processor with a HACCP system as 

specified in 21 CFR Part 120;Pf and 

2. Be obtained pasteurized or otherwise treated to attain a 

five-log reduction of the most resistant microorganism of 

public health significance as specified in 21 CFR 120.24.P 

12VAC5-421-300. Fish. 

A. Fish that are received for sale or service shall be: 

1. Commercially and legally caught or harvested;P or 

2. Approved for sale or service by a regulatory agency of 

competent jurisdiction.P 

B. Molluscan shellfish that are recreationally caught shall not 

be received for sale or service.P 

12VAC5-421-310. Molluscan shellfish. 

A. Molluscan shellfish shall be obtained from sources 

according to law and the requirements specified in the U.S. 

Department of Health and Human Services, Public Health 

Service, Food and Drug Administration, National Shellfish 

Sanitation Program (NSSP) Guide for the Control of 

Molluscan Shellfish, 2013 2017 Revision, (U.S. Food and 

Drug Administration).P 

B. Molluscan shellfish shall be from sources that are listed in 

the "Interstate Certified Shellfish Shippers List," updated 

monthly (U.S. Food and Drug Administration).P 

12VAC5-421-340. Temperature. 

A. Except as specified in subsection B of this section, 

refrigerated, time/temperature control for safety food shall be 

at a temperature of 41°F (5°C) or below when received.P 

B. If a temperature other than 41°F (5°C) for a 

time/temperature control for safety food is specified in law 

governing its distribution, such as laws governing milk and 

molluscan shellfish, the food may be received at the specified 

temperature. 

C. Raw shell eggs shall be received in refrigerated equipment 

that maintains an ambient air temperature of 45°F (7°C) or 

less.P 

D. t Time/temperature control for safety food that is cooked 

to a temperature and for a time specified under 12VAC5-421-

700, 12VAC5-421-710, and 12VAC5-421-720 and received 

hot shall be at a temperature of 135° (57°C) or above.P 

E. A food that is labeled frozen and shipped frozen by a food 

processing plant shall be received frozen.Pf 

F. Upon receipt, time/temperature control for safety food 

shall be free of evidence of previous temperature abuse.Pf 

12VAC5-421-350. Additives. 

Food shall not contain unapproved food additives or additives 

that exceed amounts allowed specified in 21 CFR Parts 170-

180 relating to food additives; generally recognized as safe 

(GRAS) or prior sanctioned substances that exceed amounts 

allowed in 21 CFR Parts 181-186; substances that exceed 

amounts specified in 9 CFR 424.21(b), Subpart C; or pesticide 

residues that exceed provisions specified in 40 CFR Part 185 

180 and exceptions.P 

12VAC5-421-400. Shucked shellfish, packaging, and 

identification. 

A. Raw shucked shellfish shall be obtained in nonreturnable 

packages that bear a legible label that identifies the:Pf 

1. Name The name, address, and certification number of the 

shucker, packer, shucker-packer or repacker of the 

molluscan shellfish;Pf and 

2. The "sell by" or "best if used by" date for packages with a 

capacity of less than one-half gallon (1.89 L) 64 fluid ounces 

(1.89L) or the date shucked for packages with a capacity of 

one-half gallon (1.89 L) 64 fluid ounces (1.89L) or more.Pf 

B. A package of raw shucked shellfish that does not bear a 

label or that bears a label which does not contain all the 

information as specified under subsection A of this section 

shall be subject to a hold order, as allowed by law, or seizure 

and destruction in accordance with 21 CFR 1240.60(d), 

Subpart D. 

12VAC5-421-410. Shellstock identification. 

A. Shellstock shall be obtained in containers bearing legible 

source identification tags or labels that are affixed by a dealer 

that depurates, ships, or reships the shellstock, as specified in 

the National Shellfish Sanitation Program (NSSP) Guide for 

the Control of Molluscan Shellfish, 2013 2017 Revision, (U.S. 

Food and Drug Administration), and that include the following 

information:Pf 

1. The dealer's name and address, and the certification 

number assigned by the shellfish control authority.;Pf 

2. The original shipper's certification number assigned by 

the shellfish control authority.;Pf 

3. The harvest date, or if depurated, the date of depuration 

processing, or if wet stored, the original harvest date and the 

final harvest date.;Pf 

4. If wet stored or depurated, the wet storage or depuration 

cycle or lot number. The wet storage lot number shall begin 

with the letter "w.";Pf 

5. The harvest area, including the initials of the state or, as 

applicable, country of harvest.;Pf 

6. The type and quantity of shellstock.;Pf 
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7. The following statement in bold, capitalized type: "THIS 

TAG (OR LABEL) IS REQUIRED TO BE ATTACHED 

UNTIL CONTAINER IS EMPTY OR IS RETAGGED 

AND THEREAFTER KEPT ON FILE, IN 

CHRONOLOGICAL ORDER, FOR 90 DAYS." 

"RETAILERS: DATE WHEN LAST SHELLFISH FROM 

THIS CONTAINER SOLD OR SERVED (INSERT 

DATE)"Pf; and 

8. All shellstock intended for raw consumption shall include 

a consumer advisory using the statement from 12VAC5-

421-930 C, or an equivalent statement. 

B. A container of shellstock that does not bear a tag or label 

or that bears a tag or label that does not contain all the 

information as specified under subsection A of this section 

shall be subject to a hold order, as allowed by law, or seizure 

and destruction in accordance with 21 CFR 1240.60(d), 

Subpart D. 

12VAC5-421-440. Shellstock; maintaining identification. 

A. Except as specified under subdivision C 2 of this section, 

shellstock tags or labels shall remain attached to the container 

in which the shellstock are received until the container is 

empty.Pf 

B. The date when the last shellstock from the container is sold 

or served shall be recorded on the tag or label.Pf 

C. The identity of the source of shellstock that are sold or 

served shall be maintained by retaining shellstock tags or labels 

for 90 calendar days from the date that is recorded on the tag 

or label as specified in subsection B of this section, by:Pf 

1. Using an approved recordkeeping system that keeps the 

tags or labels in chronological order correlated to the date 

that is recorded on the tag or label, as specified under 

subsection B of this section;Pf and 

2. If shellstock are removed from its tagged or labeled 

container: 

a. Preserving source identification by using a 

recordkeeping system as specified under subdivision C 1 

of this section,Pf and 

b. Ensuring that shellstock or shucked shellfish from one 

tagged or labeled container are not commingled with 

shellstock or shucked shellfish from another container 

with different certification numbers, different harvest 

dates, or different growing areas as identified on the tag or 

label before being ordered by the consumer.Pf 

12VAC5-421-450. Preventing contamination from hands. 

A. Food employees shall wash their hands as specified under 

12VAC5-421-140. 

B. Except when washing fruits and vegetables as specified 

under 12VAC5-421-510 or as specified in subsections D and 

E of this section, food employees shall not contact exposed, 

ready-to-eat food with their bare hands and shall use suitable 

utensils such as deli tissue, spatulas, tongs, single-use gloves, 

or dispensing equipment.P 

C. Food employees shall minimize bare hand and arm contact 

with exposed food that is not in a ready-to-eat form.Pf 

D. Subsection B of this section does not apply to a food 

employee who contacts exposed, ready-to-eat food with bare 

hands at the time the ready-to-eat food is being added as an 

ingredient to food that: 

1. Contains a raw animal food and is to be cooked in the food 

establishment to heat all parts of the food to the minimum 

temperatures specified in subsection A or B of 12VAC5-

421-700 or in 12VAC5-421-710; or 

2. Does not contain a raw animal food but is to be cooked in 

the food establishment to heat all parts of the food to a 

temperature of at least 145°F (63°C). 

E. Food employees not serving a highly susceptible 

population may contact exposed, ready-to-eat food with their 

bare hands if: 

1. The permit holder obtains prior approval from the 

regulatory authority department; 

2. Written procedures are maintained in the food 

establishment and made available to the regulatory authority 

department upon request that include: 

a. For each bare hand contact procedure, a listing of the 

specific ready-to-eat foods that are touched by bare hands; 

b. Diagrams and other information showing that 

handwashing facilities, installed, located, equipped, and 

maintained as specified under 12VAC5-421-2230, 

12VAC5-421-2280, 12VAC5-421-2310, 12VAC5-421-

3020, 12VAC5-421-3030, and 12VAC5-421-3045 are in 

an easily accessible location and in close proximity to the 

work station where the bare hand contact procedure is 

conducted; 

3. A written employee health policy that details how the food 

establishment complies with 12VAC5-421-80, 12VAC5-

421-90, and 12VAC5-421-100 including: 

a. Documentation that the food employees and conditional 

employees acknowledge that they are informed to report 

information about their health and activities as they relate 

to gastrointestinal symptoms and diseases that are 

transmittable through food as specified under 12VAC5-

421-80 A; 

b. Documentation that food employees and conditional 

employees acknowledge their responsibilities as specified 

under 12VAC5-421-80 E and F; and 

c. Documentation that the person in charge acknowledges 

the responsibilities as specified under 12VAC5-421-80 B, 

C, and D, and 12VAC5-421-90 and 12VAC5-421-100; 
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4. Documentation that the food employees acknowledge that 

they have received training in: 

a. The risks of contacting the specific ready-to-eat foods 

with their bare hands; 

b. Proper handwashing as specified under 12VAC5-421-

140; 

c. When to wash their hands as specified under 12VAC5-

421-160; 

d. Where to wash their hands as specified under 12VAC5-

421-170; 

e. Proper fingernail maintenance as specified under 

12VAC5-421-190; 

f. Prohibition of jewelry as specified under 12VAC5-421-

200; and 

g. Good hygienic practices as specified under 12VAC5-

421-220 and 12VAC5-421-230; 

5. Documentation that hands are washed before food 

preparation and as necessary to prevent cross-contamination 

by food employees as specified under 12VAC5-421-130 

through 12VAC5-421-170 during all hours of operation 

when the specific ready-to-eat foods are prepared; 

6. Documentation that food employees contacting ready-to-

eat food with bare hands use two or more of the following 

control measures to provide additional safeguards to hazards 

associated with bare hand contact: 

a. Double handwashing; 

b. Nail brushes; 

c. A hand antiseptic after handwashing as specified under 

12VAC5-421-180; 

d. Incentive programs such as paid sick leave that assist or 

encourage food employees not to work when they are ill; 

or 

e. Other control measures approved by the regulatory 

authority department; and 

7. Documentation that corrective action is taken when 

subdivisions 1 through 6 of this subsection are not followed. 

12VAC5-421-470. Packaged and unpackaged food - 

separation, packaging, and segregation. 

A. Food shall be protected from cross contamination by: 

1. Except as specified in subdivision 1 c d of this subsection, 

separating raw animal foods during storage, preparation, 

holding, and display from: 

a. Raw ready-to-eat food including other raw animal food 

such as fish for sushi or molluscan shellfish, or other raw 

ready-to-eat food such as fruits and vegetables,;P and 

b. Cooked ready-to-eat food.;P 

c. Fruits and vegetables before they are washed;P and 

c. d. Frozen, commercially processed, and packaged raw 

animal food may be stored or displayed with or above 

frozen, commercially processed and packaged, ready-to-

eat food; 

2. Except when combined as ingredients, separating types of 

raw animal foods from each other such as beef, fish, lamb, 

pork, and poultry during storage, preparation, holding, and 

display by: 

a. Using separate equipment for each type,;P or 

b. Arranging each type of food in equipment so that cross 

contamination of one type with another is prevented,;P and 

c. Preparing each type of food at different times or in 

separate areas;.P 

3. Cleaning equipment and utensils as specified under 

12VAC5-421-1780 A and sanitizing as specified under 

12VAC5-421-1900; 

4. Except as specified in subsection B of this section and 

12VAC5-421-810 B 2, storing the food in packages, covered 

containers, or wrappings; 

5. Cleaning hermetically sealed containers of food of visible 

soil before opening; 

6. Protecting food containers that are received packaged 

together in a case or overwrap from cuts when the case or 

overwrap is opened; 

7. Storing damaged, spoiled, or recalled food being held in 

the food establishment as specified under 12VAC5-421-

3150; and 

8. Separating fruits and vegetables, before they are washed 

as specified under 12VAC5-421-510 from ready-to-eat 

food. 

B. Subdivision A 4 of this section does not apply to: 

1. Whole, uncut, raw fruits and vegetables and nuts in the 

shell that require peeling or hulling before consumption; 

2. Primal cuts, quarters, or sides of raw meat or slab bacon 

that are hung on clean, sanitized hooks or placed on clean, 

sanitized racks; 

3. Whole, uncut, processed meats such as country hams, and 

smoked or cured sausages that are placed on clean, sanitized 

racks; 

4. Food being cooled as specified under 12VAC5-421-810 

B 2; or 

5. Shellstock. 

12VAC5-421-540. Food contact with equipment and 

utensils. 

Food shall only contact surfaces of: 
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1. Equipment and utensils that are cleaned as specified under 

12VAC5-421-1770 through 12VAC5-421-1870 12VAC5-

421-1860 and sanitized as specified under 12VAC5-421-

1885, 12VAC5-421-1890 and 12VAC5-421-1900;P 

2. Single-service and single-use articles;P or 

3. Linens, such as cloth napkins, as specified under 

12VAC5-421-560 that are laundered as specified under 

12VAC5-421-1920 C.P 

12VAC5-421-660. Condiments; protection. 

A. Condiments shall be protected from contamination by 

being kept in dispensers that are designed to provide 

protection, protected food displays provided with the proper 

utensils, original containers designed for dispensing, or 

individual packages or portions. 

B. Condiments at a vending machine location shall be in 

individual packages or provided in dispensers that are filled at 

a location that is approved by the regulatory authority 

department, such as the food establishment that provides food 

to the vending machine location, a food processing plant that 

is regulated by the agency that has jurisdiction over the 

operation, or a properly equipped facility that is located on the 

site of the vending machine location. 

12VAC5-421-700. Raw animal foods. 

A. Except as specified in subsections B, C, and D of this 

section, raw animal foods such as eggs, fish, meat, poultry, and 

foods containing these raw animal foods shall be cooked to 

heat all parts of the food to a temperature and for a time that 

complies with one of the following methods based on the food 

that is being cooked: 

1. 145°F (63°C) or above for 15 seconds for:P 

a. Raw eggs that are broken and prepared in response to a 

consumer's order and for immediate service;P and 

b. Except as specified under subdivisions A 2 and 3 and 

subsections B and C of this section, fish and intact meat, 

including game animals commercially raised for food and 

game animals under a voluntary inspection program as 

specified under 12VAC5-421-330 A 1;P 

2. 155°F (68°C) for 15 17 seconds or the temperature 

specified in the following chart that corresponds to the 

holding time for ratites and, mechanically tenderized meats, 

and injected meats; the following if they are comminuted: 

fish, meat, game animals commercially raised for food and 

game animals under a voluntary inspection program as 

specified under 12VAC5-421-330 A 1; and raw eggs that are 

not prepared as specified under subdivision 1 a of this 

subsection:P 

Minimum 

Temperature 

°F (°C) 
Time 

145 (63) 3 minutes 

150 (66) 1 minute 

158 (70) <1 second (instantaneous) 

; or 

3. 165°F (74°C) or above for 15 seconds less than one 

second (instantaneous) for poultry, baluts, wild game 

animals as specified under 12VAC5-421-330 A 2, stuffed 

fish, stuffed meat, stuffed pasta, stuffed poultry, stuffed 

ratites, or stuffing containing fish, meat, poultry, or ratites.P 

B. Whole meat roasts including beef, corned beef, lamb, pork, 

and cured pork roasts such as ham shall be cooked: 

1. As specified in the following chart, to heat all parts of the 

food to a temperature and for the holding time that 

corresponds to that temperature:P  

Temperature 

°F (°C) 

Time1 in 

Minutes 

Temperature 

°F (°C) 

Time1 in 

Seconds 

130 (54.4) 112 147 (63.9) 134 

131 (55.0) 89 149 (65.0) 85 

133 (56.1) 56 151 (66.1) 54 

135 (57.2) 36 153 (67.2) 34 

136 (57.8) 28 155 (68.3) 22 

138 (58.9) 18 157 (69.4) 14 

140 (60.0) 12 158 (70.0) 0 

142 (61.1) 8 

  

144 (62.2) 5 

  

145 (62.8) 4 

  

1Holding time may include postoven heat rise. 

; and 

1. In 2. If cooked in an oven, use an oven that is preheated 

to the temperature specified for the roast's weight in the 

following chart and that is held at that temperature;.Pf and  

Oven Type 
Oven Temperature Based on Roast 

Weight 

 Less than 10 lbs 

(4.5 kg) 

10 lbs (4.5 kg) or 

more 
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Still Dry 
350°F (177°C) or 

more 

250°F (121°C) or 

more 

Convection 
325°F (163°C) or 

more 

250°F (121°C) or 

more 

High 

Humidity1 

250°F (121°C) or 

less 

250°F (121°C) or 

less 

1Relative humidity greater than 90% for at least one hour 

as measured in the cooking chamber or exit of the oven; 

or in a moisture-impermeable bag that provides 100% 

humidity. 

2. As specified in the following chart, to heat all parts of the 

food to a temperature and for the holding time that 

corresponds to that temperature.P  

Temperature 

°F (°C) 

Time1 in 

Minutes 

Temperature 

°F (°C) 

Time1 in 

Seconds 

130 (54.4) 112 147 (63.9) 134 

131 (55.0) 89 149 (65.0) 85 

133 (56.1) 56 151 (66.1) 54 

135 (57.2) 36 153 (67.2) 34 

136 (57.8) 28 155 (68.3) 22 

138 (58.9) 18 157 (69.4) 14 

140 (60.0) 12 158 (70.0) 0 

142 (61.1) 8 

  

144 (62.2) 5 

  

145 (62.8) 4 

  

1Holding time may include postoven heat rise. 

C. A raw or undercooked whole-muscle, intact beef steak may 

be served or offered for sale in a ready-to-eat form if: 

1. The food establishment serves a population that is not a 

highly susceptible population; 

2. The steak is labeled, as specified under 12VAC5-421-270 

E, to indicate that it meets the definition of "whole-muscle, 

intact beef"; and 

3. The steak is cooked on both the top and bottom to a 

surface temperature of 145°F (63°C) or above and a cooked 

color change is achieved on all external surfaces. 

D. A raw animal food such as raw egg, raw fish, raw-

marinated fish, raw molluscan shellfish, or steak tartare, or a 

partially cooked food such as lightly cooked fish, soft cooked 

eggs, or rare meat other than whole-muscle, intact beef steaks 

as specified in subsection C of this section, may be served or 

offered for sale upon request or consumer selection in a ready-

to-eat form if: 

1. As specified under subdivisions 3 a and b of 12VAC5-

421-950 the food establishment serves a population that is 

not a highly susceptible population; 

2. The food, if served or offered for service by consumer 

selection from a children's menu, does not contain 

comminuted meat;Pf and 

3. The consumer is informed as specified under 12VAC5-

421-930 that to ensure its safety, the food should be cooked 

as specified under subsection A or B of this section; or 

4. The regulatory authority department grants a variance 

from subsection A or B of this section as specified in 

12VAC5-421-3570 based on a HACCP plan that: 

a. Is submitted by the permit holder and approved as 

specified under 12VAC5-421-3570; 

b. Documents scientific data or other information that 

shows that a lesser time and temperature regimen results 

in a safe food; and 

c. Verifies that equipment and procedures for food 

preparation and training of food employees at the food 

establishment meet the conditions of the variance. 

12VAC5-421-720. Plant food cooking for hot holding. 

Fruits and vegetables Plant foods that are cooked for hot 

holding shall be cooked to a temperature of 135°F (57°C).Pf 

12VAC5-421-725. Noncontinuous cooking. 

Raw animal foods that are cooked using a noncontinuous 

cooking process shall be: 

1. Subject to an initial heating process that is no longer than 

60 minutes in duration;P 

2. Immediately after initial heating, cooled according to the 

time and temperature requirements specified for cooked 

time/temperature control for safety food under 12VAC5-

421-800 A;P 

3. After cooling, held frozen or cold, as specified for 

time/temperature control for safety food under 12VAC5-

421-820 A 2;P 

4. Prior to sale or service, cooked using a process that heats 

all parts of the food to a temperature and for a time as 

designated in 12VAC5-421-700 A, B, and C;P 

5. Cooled according to the time and temperature parameters 

specified for cooked time/temperature control for safety 

food under 12VAC5-421-800 A if not either hot held as 

specified under 12VAC5-421-820 A 1, served immediately, 

or held using time as a public health control as specified 

under 12VAC5-421-850 after complete cooling;P and 

6. Prepared and stored according to written procedures that: 
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a. Have obtained prior approval from the regulatory 

authority department;Pf 

b. Are maintained in the food establishment and are made 

available to the regulatory authority department upon 

request;Pf 

c. Describe how the requirements specified under 

subdivisions 1 through 5 of this section are to be 

monitored and documented by the permit holder and the 

corrective actions to be taken if the requirements are not 

met;Pf 

d. Describe how the foods, after initial heating, but prior 

to complete cooking, are to be marked or otherwise 

identified as foods that must be cooked as specified under 

subdivision 4 of this section prior to being offered for sale 

or service;Pf and 

e. Describe how the foods, after initial heating but prior to 

cooking as specified in subdivision 4 of this section, are to 

be separated from ready-to-eat foods as specified under 

12VAC5-421-470 A.Pf 

12VAC5-421-730. Parasite destruction. 

A. Except as specified in subsection B of this section, before 

service or sale in ready-to-eat form, raw, raw-marinated, 

partially cooked or marinated-partially cooked fish shall be: 

1. Frozen and stored at a temperature of -4°F (-20°C) or 

below for a minimum of 168 hours (seven days) in a freezer;P 

2. Frozen at -31°F (-35°C) or below until solid and stored at 

-31°F (-35°C) or below for a minimum of 15 hours;P or 

3. Frozen at -31°F (-35°C) or below until solid and stored at 

-4°F (-20°C) or below for a minimum of 24 hours.P 

B. Subsection A of this section does not apply to: 

1. Molluscan shellfish, including the shucked adductor 

muscle of scallops; 

2. A scallop product consisting only of the shucked adductor 

muscle; 

3. Tuna of the species Thunnus alalunga, Thunnus albacares 

(Yellowfin tuna), Thunnus atlanticus, Thunnus maccoyii 

(Bluefin tuna, Southern), Thunnus obesus (Bigeye tuna), or 

Thunnus thynnus (Bluefin tuna, Northern); 

3. 4. Aquacultured fish, such as salmon, that: 

a. If raised in open water, are raised in net-pens; or 

b. Are raised in land-based operations such as ponds or 

tanks; and 

c. Are fed formulated feed, such as pellets, that contains 

no live parasites infective to the aquacultured fish, or 

4. 5. Fish eggs that have been removed from the skein and 

rinsed. 

12VAC5-421-740. Records, creation and retention. 

A. Except as specified in 12VAC5-421-730 B and subsection 

B of this section, if raw, marinated, raw-marinated, partially 

cooked, or marinated-partially cooked fish are served or sold 

in ready-to-eat form, the person in charge shall record the 

freezing temperature and time to which the fish are subjected 

and shall retain the records at the food establishment for 90 

calendar days beyond the time of service or sale of the fish.Pf 

B. If the fish are frozen by a supplier, a written agreement or 

statement from the supplier stipulating that the fish supplied 

are frozen to a temperature and for a time specified under 

12VAC5-421-730 may substitute for the records specified 

under subsection A of this section. 

C. If raw, raw-marinated, partially cooked, or marinated-

partially cooked fish are served or sold in ready-to-eat form, 

and the fish are raised and fed as specified in 12VAC5-421-

730 B 3 4, a written agreement or statement from the supplier 

or aquaculturist stipulating that the fish were raised and fed as 

specified in 12VAC5-421-730 B 3 4 shall be obtained by the 

person in charge and retained in the records of the food 

establishment for 90 calendar days beyond the time of service 

or sale of the fish.Pf 

12VAC5-421-760. Reheating for hot holding. 

A. Except as specified under subsections B, C, and E of this 

section, time/temperature control for safety food that is 

cooked, cooled, and reheated for hot holding shall be reheated 

so that all parts of the food reach at least 165°F (74°C) for 15 

seconds.P 

B. Except as specified under subsection C of this section, 

time/temperature control for safety food reheated in a 

microwave oven for hot holding shall be reheated so that all 

parts of the food reach a temperature of at least 165°F (74°C) 

and the food is rotated or stirred, covered, and allowed to stand 

covered two minutes after reheating.P 

C. Ready-to-eat time/temperature control for safety food that 

has been commercially processed and packaged in a food 

processing plant that is inspected by the regulatory authority 

department that has jurisdiction over the plant shall be heated 

to a temperature of at least 135°F (57°C) when being reheated 

for hot holding.P 

D. Reheating for hot holding as specified under subsections 

A, B, and C of this section shall be done rapidly and the time 

the food is between 41°F (5°C) and the temperatures specified 

under subsections A, B, and C of this section may not exceed 

two hours.P 

E. Remaining unsliced portions of meat roasts that are cooked 

as specified under 12VAC5-421-700 B may be reheated for hot 

holding using the oven parameters and minimum time and 

temperature conditions specified under 12VAC5-421-700 B. 
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12VAC5-421-830. Ready-to-eat, time/temperature control 

for safety food; date marking. 

A. Except when packaging food using a reduced oxygen 

packaging method as specified under 12VAC5-421-870, and 

except as specified in subsections D and E and F of this section, 

refrigerated ready-to-eat time/temperature control for safety 

food prepared and held in a food establishment for more than 

24 hours shall be clearly marked to indicate the date or day by 

which the food shall be consumed on the premises, sold, or 

discarded when held at a temperature of 41°F (5°C) or less for 

a maximum of seven days. The day of preparation shall be 

counted as day 1.Pf 

B. Except as specified in subsections D, E, F, and F G of this 

section, refrigerated ready-to-eat, time/temperature control for 

safety food prepared and packaged by a food processing plant 

shall be clearly marked at the time the original container is 

opened in a food establishment and if the food is held for more 

than 24 hours, to indicate the date or day by which the food 

shall be consumed on the premises, sold, or discarded, based 

on the temperature and time combinations specified in 

subsection A of this section and:Pf 

1. The day the original container is opened in the food 

establishment shall be counted as day 1;Pf and 

2. The day or date marked by the food establishment shall 

not exceed a manufacturer's "use by" date if the 

manufacturer determined the "use by" date based on food 

safety.Pf 

C. A refrigerated, ready-to-eat, time/temperature control for 

safety food ingredient or a portion of a refrigerated, ready-to-

eat, time/temperature control for safety food that is 

subsequently combined with additional ingredients or portions 

of food shall retain the date marking of the earliest-prepared or 

first-prepared ingredient.Pf 

D. A date marking system that meets the criteria specified in 

subsections A and B of this section may include: 

1. Using a method approved by the regulatory authority 

department for refrigerated, ready-to-eat time/temperature 

control for safety food that is frequently rewrapped, such as 

lunchmeat or a roast, or for which date marking is 

impractical, such as soft-serve mix or milk in a dispensing 

machine; 

2. Marking the date or day of preparation, with a procedure 

to discard the food on or before the last date or day by which 

the food must be consumed on the premises, sold, or 

discarded as specified in subsection A of this section; 

3. Marking the date or day the original container is opened 

in a food establishment, with a procedure to discard the food 

on or before the last date or day by which the food must be 

consumed on the premises, sold, or discarded as specified 

under subsection B of this section; or 

4. Using calendar dates, days of the week, color-coded 

marks, or other effective marking methods, provided that the 

marking system is disclosed to the regulatory authority 

department upon request. 

E. Subsections A and B of this section do not apply to 

individual meal portions served or repackaged for sale from a 

bulk container upon a consumer's request. 

F. Subsections A and B of this section do not apply to 

shellstock. 

G. Subsection B of this section does not apply to the 

following foods prepared and packaged by a food processing 

plant inspected by a regulatory authority: 

1. Deli salads, such as ham salad, seafood salad, chicken 

salad, egg salad, pasta salad, potato salad, and macaroni 

salad, manufactured in accordance with 21 CFR Part 110; 

2. Hard cheeses containing not more than 39% moisture as 

defined in 21 CFR Part 133, such as cheddar, gruyere, 

parmesan and reggiano, and romano; 

3. Semi-soft cheese containing more than 39% moisture, but 

not more than 50% moisture, as defined in 21 CFR Part 133, 

such as blue, edam, gorgonzola, gouda, and monterey jack; 

4. Cultured dairy products as defined in 21 CFR Part 131, 

such as yogurt, sour cream, and buttermilk; 

5. Preserved fish products, such as pickled herring and dried 

or salted cod, and other acidified fish products as defined in 

21 CFR Part 114; 

6. Shelf stable, dry fermented sausages, such as pepperoni 

and Genoa salami; and 

7. Shelf stable salt-cured products such as prosciutto and 

Parma (ham). 

12VAC5-421-850. Time as a public health control. 

A. Except as specified under subsection D of this section, if 

time without temperature control is used as the public health 

control for a working supply of time/temperature control for 

safety food before cooking or for ready-to-eat 

time/temperature control for safety food that is displayed or 

held for sale or service, written procedures shall be prepared in 

advance, maintained in the food establishment, and made 

available to the regulatory authority department upon request 

that specify:Pf 

1. Methods of compliance with subdivisions subsection B 1, 

2, and 3 or C 1 through 5 of this section;Pf and 

2. Methods of compliance with 12VAC5-421-800 for food 

that is prepared, cooked, and refrigerated before time is used 

as a public health control.Pf 

B. If time without temperature control is used as the public 

health control up to a maximum of four hours: 
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1. The food shall have an initial temperature of 41°F (5°C) 

or less when removed from cold holding temperature control 

or 135°F (57°C) or greater when removed from hot holding 

temperature control;P 

2. The food shall be marked or otherwise identified to 

indicate the time that is four hours past the point in time 

when the food is removed from temperature control;P Pf 

3. The food shall be cooked and served, served at any 

temperature if ready-to-eat, or discarded, within four hours 

from the point in time when the food is removed from 

temperature control;P and 

4. The food in unmarked containers or packages, or marked 

to exceed a four-hour limit shall be discarded.P 

C. If time without temperature control is used as the public 

health control up to a maximum of six hours: 

1. The food shall have an initial temperature of 41ºF (5ºC) 

or less when removed from temperature control and the food 

temperature may not exceed 70ºF (21ºC) within a maximum 

time period of six hours;P 

2. The food shall be monitored to ensure the warmest portion 

of the food does not exceed 70ºF (21ºC) during the six-hour 

period, unless an ambient air temperature is maintained that 

ensures the food does not exceed 70ºF (21ºC) during the six-

hour holding period;PPf 

3. The food shall be marked or otherwise identified to 

indicate:Pf 

a. The time when the food is removed from 41ºF (5ºC) or 

less cold-holding temperature control,Pf and 

b. The time that is six hours past the point in time when 

the food is removed from 41ºF (5ºC) or less cold-holding 

temperature control;Pf 

4. The food shall be: 

a. Discarded if the temperature of the foods exceeds 70ºF 

(21ºC);P or 

b. Cooked and served, served at any temperature if ready-

to-eat, or discarded within a maximum of six hours from 

the point in time when the food is removed from 41ºF 

(5ºC) or less cold-holding temperature control;P and 

5. The food in unmarked containers or packages, or marked 

with a time that exceeds the six-hour limit shall be 

discarded.P 

D. A food establishment that serves a highly susceptible 

population may not use time as specified under subsection A, 

B, or C of this section as the public health control for raw eggs. 

12VAC5-421-860. Variance requirement. 

A food establishment shall obtain a variance from the 

regulatory authority department as specified in 12VAC5-421-

3570 and 12VAC5-421-3580 before:Pf 

1. Smoking food as a method of food preservation rather 

than as a method of flavor enhancement; Pf 

2. Curing food;Pf 

3. Using food additives or adding components such as 

vinegar:Pf 

a. As a method of food preservation rather than as a 

method of flavor enhancement;Pf or 

b. To render a food so that it is not a time/temperature 

control for safety food; Pf 

4. Packaging time/temperature control for safety food using 

a reduced oxygen packaging method except where the 

growth of and toxin formation by Clostridium botulinum and 

the growth of Listeria monocytogenes are controlled as 

specified under 12VAC5-421-870;Pf 

5. Operating a molluscan shellfish life-support system 

display tank used to store or display shellfish that are offered 

for human consumption;Pf 

6. Custom processing animals that are for personal use as 

food and not for sale or service in a food establishment;Pf 

7. Sprouting seeds or beans;Pf or 

8. Preparing food by another method that is determined by 

the regulatory authority department to require a variance.Pf 

12VAC5-421-870. Reduced oxygen packaging without a 

variance, criteria. 

A. Except for a food establishment that obtains a variance as 

specified under 12VAC5-421-860, a food establishment that 

packages time/temperature control for safety food using a 

reduced oxygen packaging method shall control the growth 

and toxin formation of Clostridium botulinum and the growth 

of Listeria monocytogenes.P 

B. Except as specified under subsection F of this section, a 

food establishment that packages time/temperature control for 

safety food using a reduced oxygen method shall have 

implement a HACCP plan that contains the following 

information specified under subdivisions 3 and 4 of 12VAC5-

421-3630 and that:Pf 

1. Identifies food to be packaged;Pf 

2. Except as specified in subsections C, D, and E of this 

section and as specified in subsection D of this section, 

requires that the packaged food shall be maintained at 41°F 

(5°C) or less and meet at least one of the following criteria:Pf 

a. Has an Aw of 0.91 or less,;Pf 

b. Has a pH of 4.6 or less,;Pf 

c. Is a meat or poultry product cured at a food processing 

plant regulated by the USDA using substances specified 

in 9 CFR 424.21 and is received in an intact package,;Pf or 

d. Is a food with a high level of competing organisms such 

as raw meat, raw poultry, or raw vegetables;.Pf 
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3. Describes how the package shall be prominently and 

conspicuously labeled on the principal display panel in bold 

type on a contrasting background, with instructions to:Pf 

a. Maintain food at 41°F (5°C) or below,;Pf and 

b. Discard the food if within 30 calendar days of its 

packaging it is not served for on-premises consumption, 

or consumed if served or sold for off-premises 

consumption;Pf 

4. Limits the refrigerated shelf life to no more than 30 

calendar days from packaging to consumption, except the 

time the product is maintained frozen, or the original 

manufacturer's "sell by" or "use by" date, whichever occurs 

first;P 

5. Includes operational procedures that: 

a. Prohibit contacting ready-to-eat food with bare hands as 

specified in 12VAC5-421-450 B,;Pf 

b. Identify a designated work area and the method by 

which:Pf 

(1) Physical barriers or methods of separation of raw foods 

and ready-to-eat foods minimize cross contamination,;Pf 

and 

(2) Access to the processing equipment is limited to 

responsible trained personnel familiar with the potential 

hazards of the operation,;Pf and 

c. Delineate cleaning and sanitization procedures for food 

contact surfaces;Pf 

6. Describes the training program that ensures that the 

individual responsible for the reduced oxygen packaging 

operation understands the:Pf 

a. Concepts required for safe operation,;Pf 

b. Equipment and facilities,;Pf and 

c. Procedures specified under subdivision B 5 of this 

section and subdivisions 3 and 4 of 12VAC5-421-3630; Pf 

and 

7. Is provided to the regulatory authority department prior to 

implementation as specified under 12VAC5-421-3620 B. 

C. Except for fish that is frozen before, during, and after 

packaging and bears a label indicating that it is to be kept 

frozen until time of use, a food establishment may not package 

fish using a reduced oxygen packaging method.P 

D. Except as specified in subsections C and F of this section, 

a food establishment that packages time/temperature control 

for safety food using a cook-chill or sous-vide process shall: 

1. Provide to the regulatory authority department prior to 

implementation a HACCP plan that contains the information 

as specified under subdivisions 3 and 4 of 12VAC5-421-

3630;Pf 

2. Ensure the food is: 

a. Prepared and consumed on the premises, or prepared 

and consumed off the premises but within the same 

business entity with no distribution or sale of the bagged 

product to another business entity or the consumer;Pf 

b. Cooked to heat all parts of the food to a temperature and 

for a time as specified under subsections A, B, and C of 

12VAC5-421-700;P 

c. Protected from contamination before and after cooking 

as specified in 12VAC5-421-450 through 12VAC5-421-

765;P 

d. Placed in a package with an oxygen barrier and sealed 

before cooking, or placed in a package and sealed 

immediately after cooking, and before reaching a 

temperature below 135°F (57°C);P 

e. Cooled to 41°F (5°C) in the sealed package as specified 

under 12VAC5-421-800,; and:P 

(1) Cooled to 34°F (1°C) within 48 hours of reaching 41°F 

(5°C) and held at that temperature until consumed or 

discarded within 30 days after the date of packaging;P 

(2) Held at 41°F (5°C) or less for no more than seven days, 

at which time the food must be consumed or discarded;P 

or 

(3) Held frozen with no shelf-life restriction while frozen 

until consumed or used;P 

f. Held in a refrigeration unit that is equipped with an 

electronic system that continuously monitors time and 

temperature and is visually examined for proper operation 

twice daily;Pf 

g. If transported off site to a satellite location of the same 

business entity, equipped with verifiable electronic 

monitoring devices to ensure that times and temperatures 

are monitored during transportation;Pf and 

h. Labeled with the product name and the date packaged; 

Pf and 

3. Maintain the records required to confirm that cooling and 

cold holding refrigeration time/temperature parameters are 

required as part of the HACCP plan, are maintained and are: 

a. Made available to the regulatory authority department 

upon request,;Pf and 

b. Held for six months;Pf and 

4. Implement written operational procedures as specified 

under subdivision B 5 of this section and a training program 

as specified under subdivision B 6 of this section.Pf 

E. Except as specified under subsection F of this section, a 

food establishment that packages cheese using a reduced 

oxygen packaging method shall: 

1. Limit the cheeses packaged to those that are commercially 

manufactured in a food processing plant with no ingredients 

added in the food establishment and that meet the Standards 
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of Identity as specified in 21 CFR 133.150, 21 CFR 133.169, 

or 21 CFR 133.187;P 

2. Have a HACCP plan that contains the information 

specified in subdivisions 3 and 4 of 12VAC5-421-3630 and 

as specified under subdivisions B 1, B 3 a, B 5, and B 6 of 

this section;Pf 

3. Label the package on the principal display panel with a 

"use by" date that does not exceed 30 days from its 

packaging or the original manufacturer's "sell by" or "use 

by" date, whichever occurs first;Pf and 

4. Discard the reduced oxygen packaged cheese if it is not 

sold for off-premises consumption or consumed within 30 

calendar days of its packaging.Pf 

F. A HACCP plan is not required when a food establishment 

uses a reduced oxygen packaging method to package 

time/temperature control for safety food that is always: 

1. Labeled with the production time and date; 

2. Held at 41°F (5°C) or less during refrigerated storage; and 

3. Removed from its packaging in the food establishment 

within 48 hours after packaging. 

12VAC5-421-900. Food labels. 

A. Food packaged in a food establishment, shall be labeled as 

specified in accordance with all applicable laws and 

regulations, including 21 CFR Part 101 and 9 CFR Part 317. 

B. Label information shall include: 

1. The common name of the food, or absent a common name, 

an adequately descriptive identity statement; 

2. If made from two or more ingredients, a list of ingredients 

and sub-ingredients in descending order of predominance by 

weight, including a declaration of artificial colors, artificial 

flavors, and chemical preservatives, if contained in the food; 

3. An accurate declaration of the net quantity of contents; 

4. The name and place of business of the manufacturer, 

packer, or distributor; and 

5. The name of the food source for each major food allergen 

contained in the food unless the food source is already part 

of the common or usual name of the respective ingredient;Pf 

6. Except as exempted in the Federal Food, Drug, and 

Cosmetic Act § 403(Q)(3) through (5), nutrition labeling as 

specified in 21 CFR Part 101 and 9 CFR Part 317, Subpart 

B; and 

7. For any salmonid fish containing canthaxanthin or 

astaxanthin as a color additive, the labeling of the bulk fish 

container, including a list of ingredients, displayed on the 

retail container or by other written means, such as a counter 

card, that discloses the use of canthaxanthin or astaxanthin. 

C. Bulk food that is available for consumer self-dispensing 

shall be prominently labeled with the following information in 

plain view of the consumer: 

1. The manufacturer's or processor's label that was provided 

with the food; or 

2. A card, sign, or other method of notification that includes 

the information specified under subdivisions B 1, 2, and 5 6 

of this section. 

D. Bulk, unpackaged foods such as bakery products and 

unpackaged foods that are portioned to consumer specification 

need not be labeled if: 

1. A health, nutrient content, or other claim is not made; 

2. There are no state or local laws requiring labeling; and 

3. The food is manufactured or prepared on the premises of 

the food establishment or at another food establishment or a 

food processing plant that is owned by the same person and 

is regulated by the food regulatory agency that has 

jurisdiction. 

12VAC5-421-930. Consumer advisory: consumption of 

animal foods that are raw, undercooked, or not otherwise 

processed to eliminate pathogens. 

A. Except as specified in 12VAC5-421-700 C and D 4 and 

under subdivision 3 of 12VAC5-421-950, if an animal food 

such as beef, eggs, fish, lamb, pork, poultry, or shellfish is 

served or sold raw, undercooked, or without otherwise being 

processed to eliminate pathogens, either in ready-to-eat form 

or as an ingredient in another ready-to-eat food, the permit 

holder shall inform consumers of the significantly increased 

risk of consuming such foods by way of a disclosure and 

reminder, as specified in subsections B and C of this section, 

using brochures, deli case or menu advisories, label statements, 

table tents, placards, or other effective written means.Pf 

B. Disclosure shall include: 

1. A description of the animal-derived foods, such as 

"oysters on the half shell (raw oysters)," "raw-egg Caesar 

salad," and "hamburgers (can be cooked to order)";Pf or 

2. Identification of the animal-derived foods by asterisking 

them to a footnote that states that the items are served raw or 

undercooked, or contain (or may contain) raw or 

undercooked ingredients.Pf 

C. Reminder shall include asterisking the animal-derived 

foods requiring disclosure to a footnote that states: 

1. "Regarding the safety of these items, written information 

is available upon request";Pf 

2. "Consuming raw or undercooked meats, poultry, seafood, 

shellfish, or eggs may increase your risk of foodborne 

illness";Pf or 
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3. "Consuming raw or undercooked meats, poultry, seafood, 

shellfish, or eggs may increase your risk of foodborne 

illness, especially if you have certain medical conditions."Pf 

12VAC5-421-940. Discarding or reconditioning unsafe, 

adulterated, or contaminated food. 

A. A food that is unsafe, adulterated, or not from an approved 

source as specified under 12VAC5-421-270 through 12VAC5-

421-330 honestly presented as specified in 12VAC5-421-260 

shall be rendered unusable and discarded or reconditioned 

according to an approved procedure.P 

B. Food that is not from an approved source as specified 

under 12VAC5-421-270 through 12VAC5-421-330 shall be 

discarded.P 

C. Ready-to-eat food that may have been contaminated by an 

employee who has been restricted or excluded as specified 

under 12VAC5-421-90 shall be rendered unusable and 

discarded.P 

C. D. Food that is contaminated by food employees, 

consumers, or other persons through contact with their hands, 

bodily discharges, such as nasal or oral discharges, or other 

means shall be rendered unusable and discarded.P 

12VAC5-421-950. Pasteurized foods, prohibited reservice, 

and prohibited food. 

In a food establishment that serves a highly susceptible 

population: 

1. The following criteria apply to juice: 

a. For the purposes of this paragraph only, children who 

are age nine or less and receive food in a school, day care 

setting, or similar facility that provides custodial care are 

included as highly susceptible populations; 

b. Prepackaged juice or a prepackaged beverage 

containing juice that bears a warning label as specified in 

21 CFR 101.17(g) (Juices that have not been specifically 

processed to prevent, reduce or eliminate the presence of 

pathogens) or a packaged juice or beverage containing 

juice that bears a warning label as specified under 

subdivision 2 of 12VAC5-421-765 may not be served or 

offered for sale;P and 

c. Unpackaged juice that is prepared on the premises for 

service or sale in a ready-to-eat form shall be processed 

under a HACCP plan that contains the information 

specified in subdivisions 2 through 3, 4, and 5 of 12VAC5-

421-3630 and as specified in 21 CFR 120.24.P 

2. Pasteurized eggs or egg products shall be substituted for 

raw eggs in the preparation of:P 

a. Foods such as Caesar salad, hollandaise or bearnaise 

bèarnaise sauce, mayonnaise, meringue, eggnog, ice 

cream, and egg-fortified beverages;P and 

b. Except as specified in subdivision 6 of this section, 

recipes in which more than one egg is broken and the eggs 

are combined.P 

3. The following foods shall not be served or offered for sale 

in a ready-to-eat form:P 

a. Raw animal foods such as raw fish, raw-marinated fish, 

raw molluscan shellfish, and steak tartare;P 

b. A partially cooked animal food such as lightly cooked 

fish, rare meat, soft-cooked eggs that are made from raw 

eggs, and meringue;P and 

c. Raw seed sprouts.P 

4. Food employees shall not contact ready-to-eat food as 

specified in 12VAC5-421-450 B and E.P 

5. Time only, as the public health control as specified under 

12VAC5-421-850 D, may not be used for raw eggs.P 

6. Subdivision 2 b of this section does not apply if: 

a. The raw eggs are combined immediately before cooking 

for one consumer's serving at a single meal, cooked as 

specified under 12VAC5-421-700 A 1, and served 

immediately, such as an omelet, soufflé, or scrambled 

eggs; 

b. The raw eggs are combined as an ingredient 

immediately before baking and the eggs are thoroughly 

cooked to a ready-to-eat form, such as a cake, muffin, or 

bread; or 

c. The preparation of the food is conducted under a 

HACCP plan that: 

(1) Identifies the food to be prepared; 

(2) Prohibits contacting ready-to-eat food with bare hands; 

(3) Includes specifications and practices that ensure: 

(a) Salmonella Enteritidis growth is controlled before and 

after cooking; and 

(b) Salmonella Enteritidis is destroyed by cooking the 

eggs according to the temperature and time specified in 

12VAC5-421-700 A 2; 

d. (4) Contains the information specified under 

subdivision 4 of 12VAC5-421-3630 including procedures 

that: 

(1) (a) Control cross contamination of ready-to-eat food 

with raw eggs; and 

(2) (b) Delineate cleaning and sanitization procedures for 

food-contact surfaces; and 

e. (5) Describes the training program that ensures that the 

food employee responsible for the preparation of the food 

understands the procedures to be used. 

7. Except as specified in subdivision 8 of this section, food 

may be re-served as specified under 12VAC5-421-680 B 1 

and 2. 
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8. Foods Food may not be re-served under the following 

conditions: 

a. Any food served to patients or clients who are under 

contact precautions in medical isolation or quarantine, or 

protective environment isolation may not be re-served to 

others outside. 

b. Packages of food from any patients, clients, or other 

consumers should not be re-served to persons in protective 

environment isolation. 

12VAC5-421-1180. Temperature measuring devices; food. 

A. Food temperature measuring devices that are scaled only 

in Fahrenheit Celsius or dually scaled in Fahrenheit and 

Celsius and Fahrenheit shall be scaled in 2°F increments and 

accurate to ±2°F plus or minus 1°C in the intended range of 

use.Pf 

B. Food temperature measuring devices that are scaled only 

in Celsius Fahrenheit shall be scaled in 1°C increments 

accurate to ±1°C plus or minus 2°F in the intended range of 

use.Pf 

12VAC5-421-1190. Temperature measuring devices; 

ambient air and water. 

A. Ambient air and water temperature measuring devices that 

are scaled in Fahrenheit Celsius or dually scaled in Fahrenheit 

and Celsius and Fahrenheit shall be designed to be easily 

readable and scaled in 3°F increments and accurate to ±3°F 

plus or minus 1.5°C in the intended range of use.Pf 

B. Ambient air and water temperature measuring devices that 

are scaled only in Celsius Fahrenheit shall be scaled in 1.5°C 

increments and accurate to ±1.5°C plus or minus 3°F in the 

intended range of use.Pf 

12VAC5-421-1300. Molluscan shellfish tanks. 

A. Except as specified under subsection B of this section, 

molluscan shellfish life support system display tanks shall not 

be used to store or display shellfish that are offered for human 

consumption and shall be conspicuously marked so that it is 

obvious to consumers that the shellfish are for display only.P 

B. Molluscan shellfish life-support system display tanks that 

are used to store and or display shellfish that are offered for 

human consumption shall be operated and maintained in 

accordance with a variance granted by the regulatory authority 

department as specified in 12VAC5-421-3570 and a HACCP 

plan that:Pf 

1. Is submitted by the permit holder and approved as 

specified under 12VAC5-421-3580 12VAC5-421-3620;Pf 

and 

2. Ensures that: 

a. Water used with fish other than molluscan shellfish does 

not flow into the molluscan tank;Pf 

b. The safety and quality of the shellfish as they were 

received are not compromised by the use of the tank;Pf and 

c. The identity of the source of the shellstock is retained as 

specified under 12VAC5-421-440.Pf 

12VAC5-421-1380. Warewashing machines, flow pressure 

device. 

A. Warewashing machines that provide a fresh hot water 

sanitizing rinse shall be equipped with a pressure gauge or 

similar device such as a transducer that measures and displays 

the water pressure in the supply line immediately before 

entering the warewashing machine.; and 

B. If the flow pressure measuring device is upstream of the 

fresh hot water sanitizing rinse control valve, the device shall 

be mounted in a one-fourth inch or 6.4 millimeter Iron Pipe 

Size (IPS) valve. 

C. Subsections A and B of this section do not apply to a 

machine that uses only a pumped or recirculated sanitizing 

rinse. 

D. Subsections A and B of this section shall not apply to home 

model dishwashers used in bed and breakfast operations 

serving 18 or fewer guests.  

12VAC5-421-1520. Temperature measuring devices, 

manual and mechanical warewashing. 

A. In manual warewashing operations, a temperature 

measuring device shall be provided and readily accessible for 

frequently measuring the washing and sanitizing 

temperatures.Pf 

B. In hot water mechanical warewashing operations, an 

irreversible registering temperature indicator shall be provided 

and readily accessible for measuring the utensil surface 

temperature. Pf 

12VAC5-421-1535. Cleaning agents and sanitizers, 

availability. 

A. Cleaning agents that are used to clean equipment and 

utensils as specified under Article 6 (12VAC5-421-1770 et 

seq.) of this part shall be provided and available for use during 

all hours of operation. 

B. Except for chemical sanitizers that are generated on site at 

the time of use, chemical sanitizers that are used to sanitize 

equipment and utensils as specified under Article 6 7 shall be 

provided and available for use during all hours of operation. 

12VAC5-421-1550. Fixed equipment, spacing or sealing. 

A. Equipment that is fixed because it is not easily movable 

shall be installed so that it is: 

1. Spaced to allow access for cleaning along the sides, 

behind, and above the equipment; 
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2. Spaced from adjoining equipment, walls, and ceilings a 

distance of not more than 1/32 inch or 1 millimeter; or 

3. Sealed to adjoining equipment or walls, if the equipment 

is exposed to spillage or seepage. 

B. Counter-mounted equipment that is not easily movable 

shall be installed to allow cleaning of the equipment and areas 

underneath and around the equipment by being: 

1. Sealed to the table; or 

2. Elevated on legs as specified under 12VAC5-421-1560 D. 

12VAC5-421-1620. Warewashing sinks, use limitation. 

A. A warewashing sink shall not be used for handwashing. 

B. If a warewashing sink is used to wash wiping cloths, wash 

produce, or thaw food, the sink shall be cleaned as specified 

under 12VAC5-421-1600 before and after each time it is used 

to wash wiping cloths or wash produce or thaw food. Sinks 

used to wash or thaw food shall be sanitized as specified under 

Article 7 (12VAC5-421-1880 et seq.) (12VAC5-421-1885 et 

seq.) of this part before and after using the sink to wash 

produce or thaw food. 

12VAC5-421-1700. Manual and mechanical warewashing 

equipment, chemical sanitization - temperature, pH, 

concentration, and hardness. 

A chemical sanitizer used in a sanitizing solution for a manual 

or mechanical operation at contact times specified under 

subdivision 3 of 12VAC5-421-1900 shall be listed in 40 CFR 

180.940, shall meet the criteria as specified under 12VAC5-

421-3380, shall be used in accordance with the EPA-registered 

label use instructions,P and shall be used as follows: 

1. A chlorine solution shall have a minimum temperature 

based on the concentration and pH of the solution as listed 

in the following chart:P 

Minimum 

Concentration 

Minimum 

Temperature 

mg/L (ppm) 
pH 10 or less 

°F (°C) 

pH 8 or less 

°F (°C) 

25-49 120 (49) 120 (49) 

50-99 100 (38) 75 (24) 

100 55 (13) 55 (13) 

2. An iodine solution shall have a: 

a. Minimum temperature of 68°F (20°C);P 

b. pH of 5.0 or less or a pH no higher than the level for 

which the manufacturer specifies the solution is effective;P 

and 

c. Concentration between 12.5 mg/L (ppm) and 25 mg/L 

(ppm);P 

3. A quaternary ammonium compound solution shall: 

a. Have a minimum temperature of 75°F (24°C);P 

b. Have a concentration as specified under 40 CFR 

180.940 12VAC5-421-3380 and as indicated by the 

manufacturer's use directions included in the labeling;P 

and 

c. Be used only in water with 500 mg/L hardness or less 

or in water having a hardness no greater than specified by 

the manufacturer's label;P 

4. If another solution of a chemical specified under 

subdivisions 1, 2 and 3 of this section is used, the permit 

holder shall demonstrate to the regulatory authority 

department that the solution achieves sanitization and the 

use of the solution shall be approved;P 

5. If a chemical sanitizer other than chlorine, iodine, or a 

quaternary ammonium compound is used, it shall be applied 

in accordance with the EPA-registered label use 

instructions;P and 

6. If a chemical sanitizer is generated by a device located on 

site at the food establishment it shall be used as specified in 

subdivisions 1 through 4 of this section and shall be 

produced by a device that: 

a. Complies with regulation as specified in §§ 2(q)(1) and 

12 of the Federal Insecticide, Fungicide and Rodenticide 

Act (FIFRA),P 

b. Complies with 40 CFR 152.500 and 40 CFR 156.10,P 

c. Displays the EPA device manufacturing facility 

registration number on the device,Pf and 

d. Is operated and maintained in accordance with 

manufacturer's instructions.Pf 

12VAC5-421-1920. Laundering frequency for linens, cloth 

gloves, napkins, and wiping cloths. 

A. Linens that do not come in direct contact with food shall 

be laundered between operations if they become wet, sticky, or 

visibly soiled. 

B. Cloth gloves used as specified in 12VAC5-421-580 D shall 

be laundered before being used with a different type of raw 

animal food such as beef, fish, lamb, pork, and fish poultry. 

C. Linens and napkins that are used as specified under 

12VAC5-421-560 and cloth napkins shall be laundered 

between each use. 

D. Wet wiping cloths shall be laundered daily. 

E. Dry wiping cloths shall be laundered as necessary to 

prevent contamination of food and clean serving utensils. 

12VAC5-421-2090. Nonpotable water. 

A. A nonpotable water supply shall be used only if its use is 

approved by the regulatory authority department.P 
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B. Nonpotable water shall be used only for nonculinary 

purposes such as air conditioning, nonfood equipment cooling, 

and fire protection, and irrigation.P 

12VAC5-421-2100. Sampling. 

Water from a private well shall be sampled and tested at least 

annually for nitrate and total coliform. Pf 

1. If nitrate, which is reported as "N" on the test results, 

exceeds 10 mg/L (ppm), the owner shall notify the 

regulatory authority department within 24 hours from when 

the owner is notified of the nitrate positive test result.Pf 

2. If a sample is total coliform positive, the positive culture 

medium shall be further analyzed to determine if E. coli is 

present. The owner shall notify the regulatory authority 

department within two calendar days from when the owner 

is notified of the coliform positive test result.Pf 

3. If E. coli is present, the owner shall notify the regulatory 

authority department within 24 hours from when the owner 

is notified of the E. coli positive test result.Pf 

12VAC5-421-2110. Sample report. 

All sample reports for the private well shall be retained on file 

in the food establishment for a minimum of five years and be 

made available to the regulatory authority department upon 

request. 

12VAC5-421-2140. [Reserved] Water System. 

Water shall be received from the source through the use of:  

1. An approved public water main;Pf or  

2. One or more of the following that shall be constructed, 

maintained, and operated according to law: Pf  

a. Nonpublic water main, water pumps, pipes, hoses, 

connections, and other appurtenances;Pf  

b. Water transport vehicles;Pf or  

c. Water containers.Pf 

12VAC5-421-2270. Backflow prevention device, 

carbonator. 

A. If not provided with an air gap as specified under 

12VAC5-421-2200, a double dual check valve with an 

intermediate vent preceded by a screen of not less than 100 

mesh to 1 inch (100 mesh to 25.4mm) shall be installed 

upstream from a carbonating device and downstream from any 

copper in the water supply line.P 

B. A dual check valve attached to the carbonator need not be 

of the vented type if an air gap or vented backflow prevention 

device has been otherwise approved provided as specified 

under subsection A of this section. 

12VAC5-421-2330. Scheduling inspection and service for a 

water system device. 

A device such as a water treatment device or backflow 

preventer shall be scheduled for inspection and service, in 

accordance with manufacturer's instructions and as necessary 

to prevent device failure based on local water conditions, and 

records demonstrating inspection and service shall be 

maintained by the person in charge for a minimum of five years 

and made available to the department upon request.Pf 

12VAC5-421-2350. System maintained in good repair. 

A plumbing system shall be (i) repaired: 

1. Repaired according to law;P and (ii) maintained 

2. Maintained in good repair.  

12VAC5-421-2505. Establishment drainage system.  

Food establishment drainage systems, including grease traps, 

that convey sewage shall be designed and installed as specified 

under 12VAC5-421-2180 A. 

12VAC5-421-2570. Approved sewage disposal system. 

Sewage shall be disposed through an approved facility that is: 

1. A public sewage treatment plant;P or 

2. An individual sewage disposal system that is sized, 

constructed, maintained, and operated according to the State 

Board of Health's regulations promulgated pursuant to 

Chapter 6 (§ 32.1-163 et seq.) of Title 32 of the Code of 

Virginia, including 12VAC5-610, Sewage Handling and 

Disposal Regulations, 12VAC5-613, and 12VAC5-640 

Regulations for Alternative Onsite Sewage Systems, or 

otherwise according to law.P  

12VAC5-421-2720. Covering receptacles. 

1. Inside the food establishment if the receptacles and units 

(i) contain: 

a. Contain food residue and are not in continuous use; or 

(ii) after 

b. After they are filled; and 

2. With tight-fitting lids or doors if kept outside the food 

establishment. 

12VAC5-421-2750. Cleaning receptacles. 

A. Receptacles and waste handling units for refuse, 

recyclables, and returnables shall be thoroughly cleaned in a 

way that does not contaminate food, equipment, utensils, 

linens, or single-service and single-use articles, and waste 

water shall be disposed of as specified under 12VAC5-421-

2550 12VAC5-421-2540. 

B. Soiled receptacles and waste handling units for refuse, 

recyclables, and returnables shall be cleaned at a frequency 
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necessary to prevent them from developing a buildup of soil or 

becoming attractants for insects and rodents. 

12VAC5-421-3040. Handwashing aids and devices, use 

restrictions. 

A sink used for food preparation or utensil washing, or a 

service sink or curbed cleaning facility used for the disposal of 

mop water or similar wastes, shall not be provided with the 

handwashing aids and devices required for a handwashing sink 

as specified under 12VAC5-421-3020 and, 12VAC5-421-

3030, and 12VAC5-421-2650 C. 

12VAC5-421-3310. Prohibiting animals. 

A. Except as specified in subsections B and C of this section, 

live animals shall not be allowed on the premises of a food 

establishment.Pf 

B. Live animals may be allowed in the following situations if 

the contamination of food; clean equipment, utensils, and 

linens; and unwrapped single-service and single-use articles 

cannot result: 

1. Edible fish or decorative fish in aquariums, shellfish or 

crustacea on ice or under refrigeration, and shellfish and 

crustacea in display tank systems; 

2. Patrol dogs accompanying police or security officers in 

offices and dining, sales, and storage areas, and sentry dogs 

running loose in outside fenced areas; 

3. In areas that are not used for food preparation and that are 

usually open for customers, such as dining and sales areas, 

service animals that are controlled by the disabled employee 

or person if a health or safety hazard will not result from the 

presence or activities of the service animal; 

4. Pets in the common dining areas of institutional care 

facilities such as nursing homes, assisted living facilities, 

group homes, residential care facilities, and bed and 

breakfast operations at times other than during meals if: 

a. Effective partitioning and self-closing doors separate 

the common dining areas from food storage or food 

preparation areas; 

b. Condiments, equipment, and utensils are stored in 

enclosed cabinets or removed from the common dining 

areas when pets are present; and 

c. Dining areas including tables, countertops, and similar 

surfaces are effectively cleaned before the next meal 

service; 

5. In areas that are not used for food preparation, storage, 

sales, display, or dining, in which there are caged animals or 

animals that are similarly restricted, such as in a variety store 

that sells pets or a tourist park that displays animals; and 

6. Dogs in outdoor dining areas if: 

a. The outdoor dining area is not fully enclosed with floor 

to ceiling walls and is not considered a part of the interior 

physical facility.; 

b. The outdoor dining area is equipped with an entrance 

that is separate from the main entrance to the food 

establishment and the separate entrance serves as the sole 

means of entry for patrons accompanied by dogs.; 

c. A sign stating that dogs are allowed in the outdoor 

dining area is posted at each entrance to the outdoor dining 

area in such a manner as to be clearly observable by the 

public.; 

d. A sign within the outdoor dining area stating the 

requirements as specified in subdivisions 6 e, 6 f, and 6 g 

of this subsection is provided in such a manner as to be 

clearly observable by the public.; 

e. Food and water provided to dogs is served using 

equipment that is not used for service of food to persons 

or is served in single-use articles.; 

f. Dogs are not allowed on chairs, seats, benches, or 

tables.; 

g. Dogs are kept on a leash or within a pet carrier and 

under the control of an adult at all times.; and 

h. Establishment provides effective means for cleaning up 

dog vomitus and fecal matter. 

C. Live or dead fish bait may be stored if contamination of 

food; clean equipment, utensils, and linens; and unwrapped 

single-service and single-use articles cannot result. 

D. In bed and breakfast operations serving 18 or fewer guests, 

live animals shall be allowed in the facility but shall not be fed 

using the same equipment or utensils that are used to feed 

humans. 

12VAC5-421-3360. Conditions of use. 

Poisonous or toxic materials shall be: 

1. Used according to: 

a. Law and this chapter; 

b. Manufacturer's use directions included in labeling, and, 

for a pesticide, manufacturer's label instructions that state 

that use is allowed in a food establishment;P 

c. The conditions of certification, if certification is 

required, for use of the pest control materials;P and 

d. Additional conditions that may be established by the 

regulatory authority.P department; and 

2. Applied so that: 

a. A hazard to employees or other persons is not 

constituted;P and 

b. Contamination including toxic residues due to drip, 

drain, fog, splash, or spray on food, equipment, utensils, 

linens, and single-service and single-use articles is 
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prevented, and for a restricted-use pesticide, this is 

achieved by:P 

(1) Removing the items, covering;P 

(2) Covering the items with impermeable covers,;P or 

taking 

(3) Taking other appropriate preventive actions;P and 

(2) (4) Cleaning and sanitizing equipment and utensils 

after the application.P 

A restricted use pesticide shall be applied only by an 

applicator certified as defined in 7 USC § 136(e) (Federal 

Insecticide, Fungicide and Rodenticide Act), or a person under 

the direct supervision of a certified applicator.Pf 

12VAC5-421-3390. Chemicals for washing, treatment, 

storage, and processing fruits and vegetables, criteria. 

A. Chemicals, including those generated on site, used to wash 

or peel raw, whole fruits and vegetables or used in the 

treatment, storage, and processing of fruits and vegetables 

shall: 

1. Be an approved food additive listed for this intended use 

in 21 CFR Part 173,;P or 

2. Be generally recognized as safe (GRAS) for this intended 

use,;P or 

3. Be the subject of an effective food contact notification for 

this intended use (only effective for the manufacturer or 

supplier identified in the notification),;P and 

4. Meet the requirements in the 40 CFR Part 156.P 

B. Ozone as an antimicrobial agent used in the treatment, 

storage, and processing of fruits and vegetables in a food 

establishment shall meet the requirements specified in 21 CFR 

173.368.P 

12VAC5-421-3410. Drying agents, criteria. 

Drying agents used in conjunction with sanitization shall: 

1. Contain only components that are listed as one of the 

following: 

a. Generally recognized as safe (GRAS) for use in food as 

specified in 21 CFR Part 182 or 21 CFR Part 184,P 

b. Generally recognized as safe GRAS for the intended use 

as specified in 21 CFR Part 186,P 

c. Generally recognized as safe GRAS for the intended use 

as determined by experts qualified in scientific training 

and experience to evaluate the safety of substances added, 

directly or indirectly, to food as described in 21 CFR 

170.30, P 

d. Subject of an effective Food Contact Notification as 

described in the Federal Food Drug and Cosmetic Act 

(FFDCA) § 409(h),P 

e. Approved for use as a drying agent under a prior 

sanction specified in 21 CFR Part 181 as specified in the 

Federal Food Drug and Cosmetic Act (FFDCA) § 

201(s)(4),P 

f. Specifically regulated as an indirect food additive for 

use as a drying agent as specified in 21 CFR Parts 175 174 

through 178,P or 

g. Approved for use as a drying agent under the threshold 

of regulation process established by 21 CFR 170.39;P and 

2. When sanitization is with chemicals, the approval 

required under subdivision 1 e or g of this section or the 

regulation as an indirect food additive required under 

subdivision 1 f of this section, shall be specifically for use 

with chemical sanitizing solutions.P 

12VAC5-421-3510. Public health protection. 

A. The regulatory authority department shall apply this 

regulation chapter to promote its underlying purpose, as 

specified in 12VAC5-421-30, of safeguarding public health 

and ensuring that food is safe and, unadulterated and honestly 

presented when offered to the consumer. 

B. In enforcing the provisions of this regulation, the 

regulatory authority department shall assess existing facilities 

or equipment that were in use before March 1, 2002 June 10, 

2021, based on the following considerations: 

1. Whether the facilities or equipment are in good repair and 

capable of being maintained in a sanitary condition; 

2. Whether food-contact surfaces comply with 12VAC5-

421-960 through 12VAC5-421-1060; and 

3. Whether the capacities of cooling, heating, and holding 

equipment are sufficient to comply with 12VAC5-421-1450. 

12VAC5-421-3520. Preventing health hazards, provision 

for conditions not addressed. 

A. If necessary to protect against public health hazards or 

nuisances, the regulatory authority department may impose 

specific requirements in addition to the requirements contained 

in this regulation that are authorized by law. 

B. The regulatory authority department shall document the 

conditions that necessitate the imposition of additional 

requirements and the underlying public health rationale. The 

documentation shall be provided to the permit applicant or 

permit holder and a copy shall be maintained in the regulatory 

authority's department's file for the food establishment. 

12VAC5-421-3550. Food Service Advisory Committee. 

(Repealed.) 

The commissioner shall appoint a Food Service Advisory 

Committee (FSAC). He shall appoint to the FSAC as many 

members as he wishes, but a minimum of one individual each 

from the following: Department of Agriculture and Consumer 

Services, Department of Housing and Community 
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Development, Department of Social Services, Virginia 

Hospitality and Travel Association, Virginia Retail Merchants 

Association, public at large, Virginia Public Health 

Association, Virginia Environmental Health Association, 

Virginia Caterers Association, Virginia Food Dealers 

Association, a consumer and/or civic organization 

representative, and an environmental health specialist.  

Ex-officio members shall be the Director of the Division of 

Food and General Environmental Services and the Director of 

Health Facilities Regulation.  

Appointed members of the FSAC shall serve at the discretion 

of the commissioner and shall make recommendation to the 

commissioner regarding food service policies, procedures and 

other food program operations. The FSAC shall meet at least 

annually.  

12VAC5-421-3560. Exemptions to regulations. (Repealed.) 

A. The following are exempt from this chapter as defined in 

§§ 35.1-25 and 35.1-26 of the Code of Virginia. 

1. Boarding houses that do not accommodate transients; 

2. Cafeterias operated by industrial plants for employees 

only; 

3. Churches, fraternal, school and social organizations and 

volunteer fire departments and rescue squads which hold 

dinners and bazaars of not more than one time per week and 

not in excess of two days duration at which food prepared in 

homes of members or in the kitchen of the church or 

organization and is offered for sale to the public; 

4. Grocery stores, including the delicatessen that is a part of 

a grocery store, selling exclusively for off-premises 

consumption and places manufacturing or selling packaged 

or canned goods;  

5. Churches that serve meals for their members as a regular 

part of their religious observance;  

6. Convenience stores or gas stations that are subject to the 

State Board of Agriculture and Consumer Services' Retail 

Food Establishment Regulations (2VAC5-585) or any 

regulations subsequently adopted and that (i) have 15 or 

fewer seats at which food is served to the public on the 

premises of the convenience store or gas station and (ii) are 

not associated with a national or regional restaurant chain. 

Notwithstanding this exemption, such convenience stores or 

gas stations shall remain responsible for collecting any 

applicable local meals tax; and 

7. Any bed and breakfast operation that prepares food for 

and offers food to guests, regardless of the time the food is 

prepared and offered, if (i) the premises of the bed and 

breakfast operation is a home that is owner occupied or 

owner-agent occupied, (ii) the bed and breakfast operation 

prepares food for and offers food to transient guests of the 

bed and breakfast only, (iii) the number of guests served by 

the bed and breakfast operation does not exceed 18 on any 

single day, and (iv) guests for whom food is prepared and to 

whom food is offered are informed by statements contained 

in published advertisements, mailed brochures, and placards 

posted at the registration area that the food is prepared in a 

kitchen that is not licensed as a restaurant and is not subject 

to regulations governing restaurants.  

B. The governing body of any county, city or town may 

provide by ordinance that this chapter shall not apply to food 

booths at fairs and youth athletic activities if such booths are 

promoted or sponsored by any political subdivision of the 

Commonwealth or by any charitable nonprofit organization or 

group thereof. The ordinance shall provide that the director of 

the county, city, or town in which the fair and youth athletic 

activities are held, or a qualified person designated by the 

director, shall exercise such supervision of the sale of food as 

the ordinance may prescribe. 

12VAC5-421-3570. Variances. 

A. The commissioner or his designee may grant a variance to 

this chapter by following the appropriate procedures set forth 

in this section and 12VAC5-421-3580. 

B. The commissioner or the commissioner's designee may 

grant a variance if he finds that the hardship imposed, which 

may be economic, outweighs the benefits that may be received 

by the public and that granting such a variance does not subject 

the public to unreasonable health risks or environmental 

pollution. 

C. Any owner or permit holder who seeks a variance shall 

apply in writing within the time period specified in 12VAC5-

421-4000. The request should shall be sent to the local health 

department. The application shall include: 

1. A citation to the regulation from which a variance is 

requested; 

2. The nature and duration of the variance requested; 

3. Any relevant analytical results including result of relevant 

tests conducted pursuant to the requirements of these 

regulations; 

4. Statements or evidence which establishes that the public 

health, welfare and environment would not be adversely 

affected if the variance were granted; 

5. Suggested conditions that might be imposed on the 

granting of a variance that would limit the detrimental 

impact on the public health and welfare; 

6. A HACCP plan if required as specified under 12VAC5-

421-3620 A that includes the information specified under 

12VAC5-421-3630 as it is relevant to the variance 

requested. 

7. Other information believed pertinent by the applicant; and 
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8. Such other information as the district or local health 

department or commissioner may require. 

12VAC5-421-3580. Evaluation of a variance application. 

A. The commissioner shall act on any variance request 

submitted pursuant to 12VAC5-421-3570 B C within 60 days 

of receipt of the request. 

B. In evaluating a variance application, the commissioner 

shall consider such factors as the following: 

1. The effect that such a variance would have on the 

operation of the food establishment. 

2. The cost and other economic considerations imposed by 

this requirement; 

3. The effect that such a variance would have on protection 

of the public health, safety, welfare and the environment; 

4. Such other factors as the commissioner, deputy 

commissioner, or director of the office of environmental 

health services may deem appropriate. 

12VAC5-421-3595. Conformance with approved 

procedures.  

If the commissioner or the commissioner's designee grants a 

variance as specified in 12VAC5-421-3570, or a HACCP plan 

is otherwise required as specified under 12VAC5-421-3620, 

the permit holder shall: 

1. Comply with the HACCP plans and procedures that are 

submitted as specified under 12VAC5-421-3630 and 

approved as a basis for the variance;P and 

2. Maintain and provide to the department, upon request, 

records specified under subdivisions 4 and 5 c of 12VAC5-

421-3630 that demonstrate that the following are routinely 

employed: 

a. Procedures for monitoring the critical control points;PF 

b. Monitoring of the critical control points;PF 

c. Verification of the effectiveness of the operation or 

process;PF and 

d. Necessary corrective actions if there is failure at the 

critical control point.PF 

12VAC5-421-3600. Facility and operating plans. 

A permit applicant or permit holder shall submit to the 

regulatory authority department properly prepared plans and 

specifications for review and approval before: 

1. The construction of a food establishment;Pf 

2. The conversion of an existing structure for use as a food 

establishment;Pf or 

3. The remodeling of a food establishment or a change of 

type of food establishment or food operation as specified 

under subdivision 3 of 12VAC-421-3700 12VAC5-421-

3700 if the regulatory authority department determines that 

plans and specifications are necessary to ensure compliance 

with this chapter.Pf 

12VAC5-421-3610. Contents of the plans and 

specifications. 

The plans and specifications for a food establishment, 

including a food establishment specified under 12VAC5-421-

3620, shall include, as required by the regulatory authority 

department based on the type of operation, type of food 

preparation, and foods prepared, the following information to 

demonstrate conformance with the provisions of this chapter: 

1. Intended menu; 

2. Anticipated volume of food to be stored, prepared, and 

sold or served; 

3. Proposed layout, mechanical schematics, construction 

materials, and finish schedules; 

4. Proposed equipment types, manufacturers, model 

numbers, locations, dimensions, performance capacities, 

and installation specifications; 

5. Evidence that standard procedures ensuring compliance 

with the requirements of this chapter are developed or are 

being developed; and 

6. Other information that may be required by the regulatory 

authority department for the proper review of the proposed 

construction, conversion or modification, and procedures for 

operating a food establishment. 

12VAC5-421-3620. When a HACCP plan is required. 

A. Before engaging in an activity that requires a HACCP 

plan, a permit applicant or permit holder shall submit to the 

regulatory authority department for approval a properly 

prepared HACCP plan as specified under 12VAC5-421-3630 

and the relevant provisions of this chapter if: 

1. Submission of a HACCP plan is required according to 

law; 

2. A variance is required as specified under 12VAC5-421-

700 D 4,12VAC5-421-860, or 12VAC5-421-1300 B, or 

12VAC5-421-700 D 4; or 

3. The regulatory authority department determines that a 

food preparation or processing method requires a variance 

based on a plan submittal specified under 12VAC5-421-

3610, an inspectional finding, or a variance request. 

B. Before engaging in reduced oxygen packaging without a 

variance as specified under 12VAC5-421-870, a permit 

applicant or permit holder shall submit a properly prepared 

HACCP plan to the regulatory authority. department. 
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12VAC5-421-3630. Contents of a HACCP plan. 

For a food establishment that is required under 12VAC5-421-

3620 to have a HACCP plan, the permit applicant or permit 

holder shall submit to the regulatory authority department a 

properly prepared HACCP plan that includes: 

1. General information such as the name of the permit 

applicant or permit holder, the food establishment address, 

and contact information;Pf 

2. A categorization of the types of time/temperature control 

for safety food that is to be controlled under the HACCP 

plan;Pf 

3. A flow diagram or chart for each specific food or category 

type that identifies:Pf 

a. Each step in the process,Pf 

b. The hazards and controls for each step in the flow 

diagram or chart,Pf 

c. The steps that are critical control points,Pf 

d. The ingredients, materials, and equipment used in the 

preparation of that food,Pf and 

e. Formulations or recipes that delineate methods and 

procedural control measures that address the food safety 

concerns involved;.Pf 

4. A critical control pointpoints summary for each specific 

food or category type that clearly identifies: 

a. Each critical control point;Pf 

b. The critical limits for each critical control point;Pf 

c. The method and frequency for monitoring and 

controlling each critical control point by the food 

employee designated by the person in charge;Pf 

d. The method and frequency for the person in charge to 

routinely verify that the food employee is following 

standard operating procedures and monitoring critical 

control points;Pf 

e. Action to be taken by the person in charge if the critical 

limits for each critical control point are not met;Pf and 

f. Records to be maintained by the person in charge to 

demonstrate that the HACCP plan is properly operated and 

managed;Pf  

5. Supporting documents such as;: 

a. Food employee and supervisory training plan 

addressing food safety issues;Pf 

b. Copies of blank records forms that are necessary to 

implement a the HACCP plan;Pf 

c. Additional scientific data or other information, as 

required by the regulatory authority department 

supporting the determination that food safety is not 

compromised by the proposal;Pf and 

6. Any other information required by the regulatory 

authority department. 

12VAC5-421-3640. Confidentiality -- trade secrets. 

The regulatory authority department shall treat as confidential 

in accordance with law, information that meets the criteria 

specified in law for a trade secret and is contained on 

inspection report forms and in the plans and specifications 

submitted as specified under 12VAC5-421-3610 and 

12VAC5-421-3630. 

12VAC5-421-3650. Preoperational inspections. 

The regulatory authority department shall conduct one or 

more preoperational inspections to verify that the food 

establishment is constructed and equipped in accordance with 

the approved plans and approved modifications of those plans, 

has established standard operating procedures as specified 

under subdivision 5 of 12VAC5-421-3610 and is in 

compliance with law and this chapter. 

12VAC5-421-3660. Permits. 

A. No person shall own, establish, conduct, maintain, 

manage, or operate any food establishment in this 

Commonwealth unless the food establishment is permitted as 

provided in this section. All permits shall be in the name of the 

owner or lessee. Permits shall not be issued to newly 

constructed or extensively remodeled food establishments until 

a certificate of occupancy has been issued by the Building 

Official. Only a person who complies with the requirements of 

this part shall be entitled to receive or retain such a permit. 

B. Permits issued shall not be transferable from one person to 

another or from one location to another. A new owner shall be 

required to make a written application for a permit. The 

application forms are obtainable at all local health departments. 

C. Any person operating a food establishment with a valid 

permit who desires to expand or modify the establishment, 

shall notify the director local health department in the 

jurisdiction where the food establishment is located, and the 

director local health department shall determine whether such 

expansion, modification, or reclassification is in compliance 

with the applicable sections of this chapter. 

D. The permit shall be posted in every food establishment in 

a place where it is readily observable by the public transacting 

business with the establishment. 

E. Permits shall expire annually otherwise not to exceed 12 

months from the date of issuance. 

12VAC5-421-3670. Application procedure, submission 

before proposed opening. 

A. An applicant seeking to operate a nontemporary food 

establishment shall submit an application for a permit at least 

30 calendar days before the date planned for opening a food 
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establishment or at least 30 calendar days before the expiration 

date of the current permit for an existing facility. 

B. An applicant seeking to operate a temporary food 

establishment shall submit an application for a permit at least 

10 calendar days before the date planned for opening the 

temporary food establishment. 

C. Any applicant who fails to complete the application 

process within 12 months of receipt of the application by the 

local health department's office may be required to submit a 

new application and plan.  

12VAC5-421-3680. Form of submission. 

A person desiring to operate a food establishment shall submit 

to the regulatory authority department a written application for 

a permit on a form provided by the regulatory authority. 

department. 

12VAC5-421-3690. Qualifications and responsibilities of 

applicants. 

To qualify for a permit, an applicant shall: 

1. Be an owner of the food establishment or an officer of the 

legal ownership; 

2. Comply with the requirements of this regulation chapter; 

and 

3. As specified under 12VAC5-421-3820, agree to allow 

access to the food establishment and to provide required 

information. 

12VAC5-421-3700. Contents of the application. 

The application shall include: 

1. The name, mailing address, telephone number, and 

signature of the person applying for the permit and the name, 

mailing address, and location of the food establishment; 

2. Information specifying whether the food establishment is 

owned by an association, corporation, individual, 

partnership, or other legal entity; 

3. A statement specifying whether the food establishment: 

a. Is mobile or stationary, and temporary or permanent; 

and 

b. Is an operation that includes one or more of the 

following: 

(1) Prepares, offers for sale, or serves time/temperature 

control for safety food: 

(a) Only to order upon a consumer's request; 

(b) In advance in quantities based on projected consumer 

demand and discards food that is not sold or served at an 

approved frequency; or 

(c) Using time as the public health control as specified 

under 12VAC5-421-850; 

(2) Prepares time/temperature control for safety food in 

advance using a food preparation method that involves 

two or more steps which may include combining 

time/temperature control for safety food ingredients; 

cooking; cooling; reheating; hot or cold holding; freezing; 

or thawing; 

(3) Prepares food as specified under subdivision 3 b (2) of 

this section for delivery to and consumption at a location 

off the premises of the food establishment where it is 

prepared; 

(4) Prepares food as specified under subdivision 3 b (2) of 

this section for service to a highly susceptible population; 

(5) Prepares only food that is not time/temperature control 

for safety food; or 

(6) Does not prepare, but offers for sale only prepackaged 

food that is not time/temperature control for safety food; 

4. The name, title, address, and telephone number of the 

person directly responsible for the food establishment; 

5. The name, title, address, and telephone number of the 

person who functions as the immediate supervisor of the 

person specified under subdivision 4 of this section such as 

the zone, district, or regional supervisor; 

6. The names, titles, and addresses of: 

a. The persons comprising the legal ownership as specified 

under subdivision 2 of this section including the owners 

and officers; and 

b. The local resident agent if one is required based on the 

type of legal ownership; 

7. A statement signed by the applicant that: 

a. Attests to the accuracy of the information provided in 

the application; and 

b. Affirms that the applicant will: 

(1) Comply with this chapter; and 

(2) Allow the regulatory authority department access to 

the establishment as specified under 12VAC5-421-3820 

and to the records specified under 12VAC5-421-440 and 

12VAC5-421-2330 and subdivision 4 of 12VAC5-421-

3630; and 

8. Other information required by the regulatory authority. 

department. 

12VAC5-421-3710. New, converted, or remodeled 

establishments. 

For food establishments that are required to submit plans as 

specified under 12VAC5-421-3600 the regulatory authority 

department shall issue a permit to the applicant after: 

1. A properly completed application is submitted; 

2. Any required fee is submitted; 
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3. The required plans, specifications, and information are 

reviewed and approved; and 

4. A preoperational inspection as specified in 12VAC5-421-

3650 shows that the establishment is built or remodeled in 

accordance with the approved plans and specifications and 

that the establishment is in compliance with this chapter. 

12VAC5-421-3720. Existing establishments, permit 

renewal, and change of ownership, or termination. 

A. The regulatory authority department may renew a permit 

for an existing food establishment or may issue a permit to a 

new owner of an existing food establishment after a properly 

completed application is submitted, reviewed, and approved, 

any fees are paid, and an inspection shows that the 

establishment is in compliance with this chapter. 

B. An existing food establishment shall notify the department 

in writing of a change of legal ownership or when business 

operations have terminated. Such notice shall be submitted in 

writing to the department at least 30 days prior to the legal 

ownership transfer or termination of business operation.  

12VAC5-421-3730. Denial of application for permit, notice. 

If an application for a permit to operate is denied, the 

regulatory authority department shall provide the applicant 

with a notice that includes: 

1. The specific reasons and chapter citations for the permit 

denial; 

2. The actions, if any, that the applicant must take to qualify 

for a permit; and 

3. Advisement of the applicant's right of appeal and the 

process and time frames for appeal that are provided in law. 

12VAC5-421-3740. Responsibilities of the regulatory 

authority department. 

A. At the time a permit is first issued, the regulatory authority 

department shall provide to the permit holder a copy (or 

opportunity to obtain a copy) of this chapter so that the permit 

holder is notified of the compliance requirements and the 

conditions of retention, as specified under 12VAC5-421-3750, 

that are applicable to the permit. 

B. Failure to provide the information specified in subsection 

A of this section does not prevent the regulatory authority 

department from taking authorized action or seeking remedies 

if the permit holder fails to comply with this chapter or an 

order, warning, or directive of the regulatory authority 

department. 

12VAC5-421-3750. Responsibilities of the permit holder. 

Upon acceptance of the permit issued In order to retain a 

permit issued by the regulatory authority department, the 

permit holder in order to retain the permit shall: 

1. Post the permit in a location in the food establishment that 

is conspicuous to consumers; 

2. Comply with the provisions of this chapter including the 

conditions of a granted variance as specified under 

12VAC5-421-3590 and 12VAC5-421-3595, and approved 

plans as specified under 12VAC5-421-3610; 

3. If a food establishment is required under 12VAC5-421-

3620 to operate under a HACCP plan, comply with the plan 

as specified under 12VAC5-421-3590 12VAC5-421-3595; 

4. Immediately contact the regulatory authority department 

to report an illness of a food employee or conditional 

employee as specified under 12VAC5-421-80 B; 

5. Immediately discontinue operations and notify the 

regulatory authority department if an imminent health 

hazard may exist as specified under 12VAC5-421-3910; 

6. Allow representatives of the regulatory authority 

department access to the food establishment as specified 

under 12VAC5-421-3820; 

7. Replace existing facilities and equipment specified in 

12VAC5-421-3510 with facilities and equipment that 

comply with this chapter if: 

a. The regulatory authority department directs the 

replacement because the facilities and equipment 

constitute a public health hazard or nuisance or no longer 

comply with the criteria upon which the facilities and 

equipment were accepted; 

b. The regulatory authority department directs the 

replacement of the facilities and equipment because of a 

change of ownership; or 

c. The facilities and equipment are replaced in the normal 

course of operation; 

8. Comply with directives of the regulatory authority 

department including time frames for corrective actions 

specified in inspection reports, notices, orders, warnings, 

and other directives issued by the regulatory authority 

department in regard to the permit holder's food 

establishment or in response to community emergencies; 

9. Accept notices issued and served by the regulatory 

authority department according to law; and 

10. Be subject to the administrative, civil, injunctive, and 

criminal remedies authorized in law for failure to comply 

with this chapter or a directive of the regulatory authority 

department, including time frames for corrective actions 

specified in inspection reports, notices, orders, warnings, 

and other directives. 

11. Notify customers that a copy of the most recent 

establishment inspection report is available upon request by: 

a. Posting a sign or placard in a location in the food 

establishment that is conspicuous to customers; or  
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b. By another method acceptable to the department.  

12VAC5-421-3770. Summary suspension of a permit. 

The director may summarily suspend a permit to operate a 

restaurant food establishment if the director finds the continued 

operation constitutes a substantial and imminent threat to the 

public health, except the director may summarily suspend the 

permit of a temporary restaurant as addressed under 12VAC5-

421-3870. Upon receipt of such notice that a permit is 

suspended, the permit holder shall cease food operations 

immediately and begin corrective action. 

Whenever a permit is suspended, the holder of the permit or 

the person in charge shall be notified in writing by certified 

mail or by hand delivery. Upon service receipt of notice that 

the permit is immediately suspended, the former permit holder 

shall be given an opportunity for an informal fact-finding 

conference in accordance with § 2.2-4019 of the Code of 

Virginia. The request for an informal fact-finding conference 

shall be in writing. The written request shall be filed with the 

local department by the former holder of the permit. If written 

request for an informal fact-finding conference is not filed 

within 10 working days, the suspension is sustained. Each 

holder of a suspended permit shall be afforded an opportunity 

for an informal fact-finding conference, within three working 

days of receipt of a request for the informal fact-finding 

conference. The director may end the suspension at any time if 

the reasons for the suspension no longer exist. 

12VAC5-421-3780. Revocation of a permit. 

The director may, after providing an opportunity for 

conducting an informal fact-finding conference in accordance 

with § 2.2-4019 of the Code of Virginia, revoke a permit for 

flagrant or continuing violation of any of the requirements of 

this part. 

12VAC5-421-3800. Periodic inspection. 

Food establishments shall be inspected by the designee of the 

director department. Inspections of the food establishments 

shall be performed as often as necessary for the enforcement 

of this part chapter in accordance with the following: 

1. Except as specified in subdivisions 2 and 3 of this section, 

the regulatory authority department shall inspect a food 

establishment at least once every six months. 

2. The regulatory authority department may increase the 

interval between inspections beyond six months if: 

a. The food establishment is fully operating under an 

approved and validated HACCP plan as specified under 

12VAC5-421-3595 and 12VAC5-421-3630; 

b. The food establishment is assigned a less frequent 

inspection frequency based on an established risk-based 

inspection schedule uniformly applied throughout the 

Commonwealth and updated annually upon reissuance of 

the annual permit; or 

c. The establishment's operation involves only coffee 

service and other unpackaged or prepackaged food that is 

not time/temperature control for safety food, such as 

carbonated beverages and snack food such as chips, nuts, 

popcorn, and pretzels. 

3. The regulatory authority department shall inspect a 

temporary food establishment during its permit period, 

unless the Virginia Department of Health department 

develops a written risk-based plan for adjusting the 

frequency of inspections of temporary food establishments 

that is uniformly applied throughout the Commonwealth. 

12VAC5-421-3810. Performance-based and risk-based 

inspections. 

Within the parameters specified in 12VAC5-421-3800, the 

regulatory authority department shall prioritize, and conduct 

the conducting of more frequent inspections based upon its 

assessment of a food establishment's history of compliance 

with this chapter and the establishment's potential as a vector 

of foodborne illness by evaluating: 

1. Past performance for nonconformance with this chapter or 

HACCP plan requirements that are priority items or priority 

foundation items; 

2. Past performance for numerous or repeat violations of this 

chapter or HACCP plan requirements that are core items; 

3. Past performance for complaints investigated and found 

to be valid; 

4. The hazards associated with the particular foods that are 

prepared, stored, or served; 

5. The type of operation including the methods and extent of 

food storage, preparation, and service; 

6. The number of people served; and 

7. Whether the population served is a highly susceptible 

population. 

12VAC5-421-3815. Competency of environmental health 

specialists. 

A. An authorized representative of the commissioner who 

inspects a food establishment or conducts plan review for 

compliance with this chapter shall have the knowledge, skills, 

and ability to adequately perform the required duties. For the 

purposes of this section, competency shall be demonstrated 

when an environmental health specialist meets the training and 

standardization requirements specified in the Virginia 

Department of Health Procedures for Certification and 

Standardization of Retail Food Protection Staff, 2014, (VDH, 

Division of Food and Environmental Services) as determined 

by the department. 

B. The regulatory authority department shall ensure that 

authorized representatives who inspect a food establishment or 

conduct plan review for compliance with this chapter have 
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access to training and continuing education as needed to 

properly identify violations and apply this chapter. 

12VAC5-421-3820. Access allowed at reasonable times 

after due notice. 

After the regulatory authority department presents official 

credentials and provides notice of the purpose of, and an intent 

to conduct, an inspection, the person in charge shall allow the 

regulatory authority department to determine if the food 

establishment is in compliance with this chapter by allowing 

access to the establishment, allowing inspection, and providing 

information and records specified in this chapter and to which 

the regulatory authority department is entitled according to 

law, during the food establishment's hours of operation and 

other reasonable times. 

12VAC5-421-3830. Refusal, notification of right to access, 

and final request for access. 

If a person denies access to the regulatory authority 

department, the regulatory authority department shall: 

1. Inform the person that: 

a. The permit holder is required to allow access to the 

regulatory authority department as specified under 

12VAC5-421-3820, 

b. Access is a condition of the acceptance and retention of 

a food establishment permit to operate as specified under 

subdivision 6 of 12VAC5-421-3750 F, and 

c. If access is denied, the commissioner or his designee 

may apply to an appropriate circuit court for an inspection 

warrant authorizing such inspection, testing, or taking 

samples for testing as provided in Chapter 24 (§ 19.2-393 

et seq.) of Title 19.2 of the Code of Virginia; and 

2. Make a final request for access. 

12VAC5-421-3840. Refusal, reporting. 

If after the regulatory authority department presents 

credentials and provides notice as specified under 12VAC5-

421-3820, explains the authority upon which access is 

requested, and makes a final request for access as specified in 

12VAC5-421-3830, the person in charge continues to refuse 

access, the regulatory authority department shall provide 

details of the denial of access on an inspection report form. 

12VAC5-421-3860. Documenting information and 

observations. 

The regulatory authority department shall document on an 

inspection report form: 

1. Administrative information about the food establishment's 

legal identity, street and mailing addresses, type of 

establishment and operation as specified under 12VAC5-

421-3700, inspection date, and other information such as 

type of water supply and sewage disposal, status of the 

permit, and personnel certificates that may be required; and 

2. Specific factual observations of violative conditions or 

other deviations from this chapter that require correction by 

the permit holder including: 

a. Failure of the person in charge to demonstrate the 

knowledge of foodborne illness prevention, application of 

HACCP principles, and the requirements of this chapter 

specified under 12VAC5-421-60; 

b. Failure of food employees, conditional employees, and 

the person in charge to report a disease or medical 

condition as specified under 12VAC5-421-80 B and D; 

c. Nonconformance with priority items or, priority 

foundation, or core items of this chapter; 

d. Failure of the appropriate food employees to 

demonstrate their knowledge of, and ability to perform in 

accordance with, the procedural, monitoring, verification, 

and corrective action practices required by the regulatory 

authority department as specified under 12VAC5-421-60; 

e. Failure of the person in charge to provide records 

required by the regulatory authority department for 

determining conformance with a HACCP plan as specified 

under subdivision 4 f of 12VAC5-421-3630; and 

f. Nonconformance with critical limits of a HACCP plan. 

12VAC5-421-3870. Specifying time frame for corrections. 

The regulatory authority department shall specify on the 

inspection report form the time frame for correction of the 

violations as specified under 12VAC5-421-3910, 12VAC5-

421-3930, and 12VAC5-421-3950. In the case of temporary 

food establishments, all violations shall be corrected within a 

maximum of 24 hours or the permit shall be suspended. The 

establishment shall immediately cease food service operations 

until authorized to resume by the director. 

12VAC5-421-3880. Issuing report and obtaining 

acknowledgment of receipt. 

At the conclusion of the inspection and according to law, the 

regulatory authority department shall provide a copy of the 

completed inspection report and the notice to correct violations 

to the permit holder or to the person in charge, and request a 

signed acknowledgment of receipt. 

12VAC5-421-3890. Refusal to sign acknowledgment. 

The regulatory authority department shall: 

1. Inform a person who declines to sign an acknowledgment 

of receipt of inspectional findings as specified in 12VAC5-

421-3880 that: 

a. An acknowledgment of receipt is not an agreement with 

findings, 

b. Refusal to sign an acknowledgment of receipt will not 

affect the permit holder's obligation to correct the 

violations noted in the inspection report within the time 

frames specified, and 
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c. A refusal to sign an acknowledgment of receipt is noted 

in the inspection report and conveyed to the regulatory 

authority's department's historical record for the food 

establishment; and 

2. Make a final request that the person in charge sign an 

acknowledgment receipt of inspectional findings. 

12VAC5-421-3900. Public records. 

Except as specified in 12VAC5-421-3640, the regulatory 

authority department shall treat the inspection report as a 

public record and shall make it available for disclosure to a 

person who requests it as provided in law. 

12VAC5-421-3910. Imminent health hazard, ceasing 

operations and reporting. 

A. Except as specified in subsection subsections B and C of 

this section, a permit holder shall immediately discontinue 

operations and notify the regulatory authority department if an 

imminent health hazard may exist because of an emergency 

such as a fire, flood, extended interruption of electrical or water 

service, sewage backup, misuse of poisonous or toxic 

materials, onset of an apparent foodborne illness outbreak, 

gross insanitary occurrence or condition, or other circumstance 

that may endanger public health.P 

B. A permit holder need not discontinue operations in an area 

of an establishment that is unaffected by the imminent health 

hazard. 

C. Considering the nature of the potential hazard involved and 

the complexity of the corrective action needed, the department 

may agree to continuing operations in the event of an extended 

interruption of electrical or water service if: 

1. A written emergency operating plan has been approved by 

the department; 

2. Immediate corrective action is taken to eliminate, prevent, 

or control any food safety risk and imminent health hazard 

associated with the electrical or water service interruption; 

and  

3. The department is informed upon implementation of the 

written emergency operating plan.  

12VAC5-421-3920. Resumption of operations. 

If operations are discontinued as specified under 12VAC5-

421-3910 or otherwise according to law, the permit holder 

shall obtain approval from the regulatory authority department 

before resuming operations. 

12VAC5-421-3930. Timely correction. 

A. Except as specified in subsection B of this section, a permit 

holder shall at the time of inspection correct a priority item or 

priority foundation item in this chapter and implement 

corrective actions for a HACCP plan provision that is not in 

compliance with its critical limit. Pf 

B. Considering the nature of the potential hazard involved and 

the complexity of the corrective action needed, the regulatory 

authority department may agree to or specify a longer 

timeframe, not to exceed: 

1. 72 hours after the inspection for the permit holder to 

correct priority items; or 

2. 10 calendar days after the inspection for the permit holder 

to correct priority foundation items or HACCP plan 

deviations. 

C. In the case of temporary food establishments, priority 

items shall be corrected within a maximum of 24 hours after 

inspection. 

12VAC5-421-3940. Verification and documentation of 

correction. 

A. After observing at the time of inspection a correction of a 

priority item or, priority foundation item, or a HACCP plan 

deviation, the regulatory authority department shall enter the 

observation and information about the corrective action on the 

inspection report. 

B. As specified under 12VAC5-421-3930 B, after receiving 

notification that the permit holder has corrected a priority item, 

or priority foundation item, or a HACCP plan deviation, or at 

the end of the specified period of time, the regulatory authority 

department shall verify correction, document the information 

on an inspection report, and enter the report in the regulatory 

authority's department records. 

12VAC5-421-3950. Core item, timeframe for correction. 

A. Except as specified in subsection B of this section, the 

permit holder shall correct core items by a date and time agreed 

to or specified by the regulatory authority department but no 

later than 90 calendar days after the inspection. 

B. The regulatory authority department may approve a 

compliance schedule that extends beyond the time limits 

specified under subsection A of this section if a written 

schedule of compliance is submitted by the permit holder and 

no health hazard exists or will result from allowing an extended 

schedule for compliance. 

12VAC5-421-3960. Examination for condemnation of food. 

(Repealed.) 

Food may be examined or sampled by the department as often 

as necessary for enforcement of this chapter. Also, the 

department may, upon written notice to the owner or permit 

holder or person in charge impound any food which it believes 

is in violation of Part III (12VAC5-421-260 et seq.) or any 

other section of this chapter. The department shall tag, label, or 

otherwise identify any food subject to impoundment. No food 

under conditions specified in the impoundment shall be used, 

served or moved from the establishment. The department shall 

permit storage of the food under conditions specified in the 

impoundment unless storage is not possible without risk to the 
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public health in which case immediate destruction shall be 

accomplished by the owner or permit holder or person in 

charge. The impoundment shall state that a request for an 

informal fact-finding conference may be filed within 10 days 

and that if no conference is requested, the food shall be 

destroyed by the owner or permit holder or person in charge. 

The department shall hold an informal fact-finding conference 

if so requested, and on the basis of evidence produced at the 

hearing, the impoundment may be vacated, or the owner or 

permit holder or person in charge of the food may be directed 

in writing by the director to denature or destroy such food or to 

bring it into compliance with the provisions of this chapter. 

12VAC5-421-3961. Hold order, justifying conditions, and 

removal of food.  

Upon written notice to the owner, permit holder, or person in 

charge, the department may place a hold order on food that: 

1. Originated from an unapproved source; 

2. May be unsafe, adulterated, or not honestly presented; or 

3. Is not otherwise in compliance with this chapter.  

12VAC5-421-3962. Hold order, contents.  

The hold order notice shall: 

1. State food subject to the order may not be used, sold, 

moved from the food establishment, or destroyed without a 

written release of the order from the department; 

2. State the specific reasons for placing the food under the 

hold order with reference to the applicable provisions of this 

chapter and the hazard or adverse effect created by the 

observed condition; 

3. Sufficiently identify the food subject to the hold order by 

the common name, the label information, a container 

description, quantity, department's tag or identification 

information, and location; and 

4. Notify the permit holder of the right to request an informal 

fact-finding conference pursuant to the Virginia 

Administrative Process Act (§ 2.2-4000 et seq. of the Code 

of Virginia) within 10 calendar days of receipt of the hold 

order notice. Otherwise, the food under the hold order shall 

be destroyed by the owner, permit holder, or the person in 

charge. 

12VAC5-421-3963. Hold order, official tagging of food.  

A. The department shall securely place an official tag or label 

on the food or containers or otherwise conspicuously identity 

food subject to the hold order.  

B. The tag or label used to identify a food subject to a hold 

order shall include a summary of the provisions specified in 

12VAC5-421-3962 and shall be signed and dated by the 

department.  

C. Only the department may remove hold order tags, labels, 

or other identification from food subject to a hold order.  

12VAC5-421-3964. Hold order, food may not be used or 

moved.  

A. Except as specified in subsection B of this section, food 

placed under a hold order may not be used, sold, served, or 

moved from the food establishment.  

B. The department may allow the permit holder to store the 

food in an area of the food establishment if the food is protected 

from subsequent deterioration.  

12VAC5-421-3965. Appeals, releasing hold order.  

A. Any appeal of a hold order must be made in writing and 

received by the department within 10 calendar days of receipt 

of the hold order.  

B. The department shall issue a notice of release from a hold 

order and shall remove hold tags, labels, or other identification 

from the food if the hold order is lifted.  

12VAC5-421-3966. Destroying or denaturing food.  

The department may order the permit holder to bring food 

under a hold order into compliance with this chapter or to 

destroy or denature food if: 

1. Following an informal fact-finding conference held 

pursuant to the Virginia Administrative Process Act (§ 2.2-

4000 et seq. of the Code of Virginia) the director affirms the 

hold order; or 

2. The permit holder fails to file an appeal within 10 calendar 

days of receipt of the hold order notice.  

12VAC5-421-3970. Enforcement of regulation. 

A. This chapter shall be enforced by the State Board of Health 

and the State Health Commissioner, as executive officer of the 

board. 

B. A. The directors are appointed by the board and 

commissioner as duly designated officers and are department 

is responsible for the implementation and enforcement of this 

chapter. 

C. All food establishments shall operate in compliance with 

the requirements set forth in this chapter and shall not operate 

without a valid permit. 

D. The commissioner shall be vested with all the authority of 

the board when it is not in session, subject to such rules and 

regulations as may be prescribed by the board. 

E. B Pursuant to the authority granted in §§ 32.1-26 and 35.1-

6 of the Code of Virginia, the commissioner may issue orders 

to require any owner or permit holder or other person to 

comply with the provisions of this chapter. The order may 

require the following: 

1. The immediate cessation and correction of the violation; 
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2. Appropriate remedial action to ensure that the violation 

does not continue or recur; 

3. The submission of a plan to prevent future violations; 

4. The submission of an application for a variance; and 

5. Any other corrective action deemed necessary for proper 

compliance with the regulations. 

F. C. The commissioner may act as the agent of the board to 

enforce all effective orders and this chapter. Should any owner 

or permit holder fail to comply with any effective order or this 

chapter, the commissioner may: 

1. Institute a proceeding to revoke the owner's or permit 

holder's permit in accordance with 12VAC5-421-3780; 

2. Request the attorney for the Commonwealth to bring a 

criminal action; 

3. Request the Attorney General to bring an action for civil 

penalty, injunction, or other appropriate remedy; or 

4. Do any combination of the above. 

G. Not exclusive means of enforcement. D. Nothing 

contained in this section shall be interpreted to require the 

commissioner to issue an order prior to seeking enforcement of 

any regulations or statute through an injunction, mandamus or 

criminal prosecution. 

H. E. Proceedings before the commissioner or his designee 

shall include any of the following forms depending on the 

nature of the controversy and the interests of the parties 

involved. 

1. Informal fact-finding conferences. An informal fact-

finding conference is a meeting with a district or local health 

department with the district or local health director presiding 

and held in conformance with § 2.2-4019 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

2. Adjudicatory hearing. The adjudicatory hearing is a 

formal, public adjudicatory proceeding before a hearing 

officer as defined by § 2.2-4001 of the Code of Virginia, and 

held in conformance with § 2.2-4020 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

12VAC5-421-4010. Penalties, injunctions, civil penalties 

and charges for violations. (Repealed.) 

1. Any person willfully violating, or refusing, failing, or 

neglecting to comply with any regulations or order of the board 

or commissioner, or any provision of this title, shall be guilty 

of a Class 3 misdemeanor unless a different penalty is 

specified. Each day of violation shall constitute a separate 

offense.  

2. Any person violating, or failing, neglecting, or refusing to 

obey any order of the board or commissioner, or any provision 

of this part may be compelled, in a proceeding instituted in an 

appropriate court by the board or commissioner, to obey and 

comply with such regulations, order, or any applicable 

provision of Title 35.1 of the Code of Virginia. The proceeding 

may be by injunction, mandamus, or other appropriate remedy.  

3. Without limiting the remedies which may be obtained 

pursuant to the above subsection, any person violating or 

failing, neglecting, or refusing to obey any injunction, 

mandamus, or other remedy obtained pursuant to the above 

subsection shall be subject, in the discretion of the court. to a 

civil penalty not to exceed ten thousand dollars for each 

violation. Each day of violation shall constitute a separate 

offense.  

4. With the consent of any person who has violated or failed, 

neglected or refused to obey any regulation or order of the 

board or commissioner or any applicable provision of Title 

35.1, the board may provide, in an order issued by the board 

against such person, for the payment of civil charges for past 

violations in specific sums not to exceed the limit set forth in 

the above subsection. Such civil charges shall be in place of 

any appropriate civil penalty which could be imposed under 

the above subsection.  

12VAC5-421-4020. Compliance with the Uniform 

Statewide Building Code. 

All buildings or structures utilized as restaurants food 

establishments constructed prior to. the effective date of the 

Virginia Uniform Statewide Building Code shall be 

maintained in conformance with the Virginia Fire Safety Law 

or other code in effect at the time of construction. 

12VAC5-421-4035. Exempt facilities that choose to be 

regulated. (Repealed.) 

Exempt facilities, as defined in subdivision 6 of 12VAC5-

421-10 of the definition of a "food establishment" and 

subdivision A 7 of 12VAC5-421-3560, that choose to be 

regulated by this chapter, shall be exempt from the following 

requirements:  

1. In lieu of 12VAC5-421-1200, home model dishwashers 

may be used in lieu of manual cleaning and drying of 

utensils; 

2. 12VAC5-421-1340, the requirement for internal baffles in 

warewashing machines does not apply to home model 

dishwashers; 

3. 12VAC5-421-1350, the requirement for temperature 

measuring devices does not apply to home model 

dishwashers; 

4. 12VAC5-421-1360, manual warewashing equipment, 

heaters and baskets are not required but manual 

warewashing shall include, as a minimum, thorough 

washing with adequate soap or detergent, thorough rinsing, 

and drying before storage or use. Drying may be by clean 

towels used for no other purpose; 
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5. 12VAC5-421-1370, the requirement for a sanitizer level 

indicator does not apply to home model dishwashers; 

6. 12VAC5-421-1380, the requirement for flow pressures 

device does not apply to home model dishwashers; 

7. 12VAC5-421-1460, the requirement for sink 

compartments does not apply to exempt facilities. It shall 

include thorough washing with adequate soap or detergent, 

thorough rinsing, and drying before storage or use. Drying 

may be by clean towels used for no other purpose; 

8. 12VAC5-421-1520, temperature measuring devices for 

manual warewashing are not required; 

9. 12VAC5-421-1530, sanitizing solutions testing devices 

are not required; 

10. 12VAC5-421-1620, warewashing sinks in exempt 

facilities may be used for handwashing, however, approved 

dispensers, soap, and single-use paper towels are provided; 

11. 12VAC5-421-1640, clean solutions in warewashing 

equipment is not required for exempt facilities. It shall 

include, as a minimum, thorough washing with adequate 

soap or detergent, thorough rinsing, and drying before 

storage or use. Drying may be by clean towels used for no 

other purpose; 

12. 12VAC5-421-1660, minimum wash solution 

temperature for mechanical warewashing equipment shall 

not be required for home model dishwashers; 

13. 12VAC5-421-1670, minimum hot water sanitization 

temperatures for manual warewashing equipment shall not 

be required; 

14. 12VAC5-421-1680, minimum hot water sanitization 

temperatures for mechanical warewashing equipment shall 

not be required for home model dishwashers; 

15. 12VAC5-421-1690, sanitization pressure for mechanical 

warewashing equipment shall not be required; 

16. 12VAC5-421-1700, minimum and maximum pressure, 

pH, sanitizer concentration, and hardness levels shall not be 

required for home model dishwashers; 

17. 12VAC5-421-1710, chemical sanitization for manual 

warewashing using detergent sanitizers shall not be required; 

18. 12VAC5-421-1720, determination of chemical sanitizer 

concentration shall not be required; 

19. 12VAC5-421-1885, food-contact surfaces and utensils 

shall not be required to be sanitized; 

20. 12VAC5-421-1890, before use after cleaning, utensils 

and food-contact surfaces shall not be required to be 

sanitized; 

21. 12VAC5-421-1900, hot water and chemical sanitizing 

shall not be required; 

22. 12VAC5-421-2790, floors, walls, and ceilings shall be 

in good repair and kept clean; 

23, 12VAC5-421-2810, floors, walls, and ceilings in exempt 

facilities shall not be required to meet the cleanability 

requirements but shall be in good repair and kept clean; 

24. 12VAC5-421-2820, the prohibition of exposed utility 

service lines and pipes shall not apply; 

25. 12VAC5-421-2840, floor carpeting in exempt facilities 

may be installed in food preparation areas, walk-in 

refrigerators, warewashing areas, toilet rooms, refuse 

storage rooms or other areas, however they shall be kept in 

good repair and kept clean; 

26. 12VAC5-421-2850, floor covering, mats and 

duckboards may be used in exempt facilities, however, they 

shall be kept clean and in good repair. 

27. 12VAC5-421-2870, attachments to walls and ceilings in 

exempt facilities shall be kept in good repair and kept clean; 

28. 12VAC5-421-3130, approved dispensers, soap and 

single-use paper towels shall be made available to 

accommodate hand washing; 

29. 12VAC5-421-3310, live animals may be allowed in the 

facility but shall not be fed using the same equipment or 

utensils that are used to feed humans. 

12VAC5-421-4040. Investigation and control, obtaining 

information: personal history of illness, medical 

examination, and specimen analysis. 

The regulatory authority department shall act when it has 

reasonable cause to believe that a food employee or conditional 

employee has possibly transmitted disease; may be infected 

with a disease in a communicable form that is transmissible 

through food; may be a carrier of infectious agents that cause 

a disease that is transmissible through food; or is affected with 

a boil, an infected wound, or acute respiratory infection, by: 

1. Securing a confidential medical history of the employee 

suspected of transmitting disease or making other 

investigations as deemed appropriate; and 

2. Requiring appropriate medical examinations, including 

collection of specimens for laboratory analysis, of a 

suspected food employee and other employees or 

conditional employee. 

12VAC5-421-4050. Restriction or exclusion of food 

employee, or summary suspension of permit. 

Based on the findings of an investigation related to a food 

employee or conditional employee who is suspected of being 

infected or diseased, the regulatory authority department may 

issue an order to the suspected food employee, conditional 

employee, or permit holder instituting one or more of the 

following control measures: 
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1. Restricting the food employee or conditional employee; 

2. Excluding the food employee or conditional employee; or 

3. Closing the food establishment by summarily suspending 

a permit to operate in accordance with law. 

12VAC5-421-4060. Restriction or exclusion order: warning 

or hearing not required, information required in order. 

Based on the findings of the investigation as specified in 

12VAC5-421-4040 and to control disease transmission, the 

regulatory authority department may issue an order of 

restriction or exclusion to a suspected food employee or the 

permit holder without prior warning, notice of a hearing, or a 

hearing if the order: 

1. States the reasons for the restriction or exclusion that is 

ordered; 

2. States the evidence that the food employee or permit 

holder shall provide in order to demonstrate that the reasons 

for the restriction or exclusion are eliminated; 

3. States that the suspected food employee or the permit 

holder may request an appeal hearing by submitting a timely 

request as provided in law; and 

4. Provides the name and address of the regulatory authority 

department representative to whom a request for an appeal 

hearing may be made. 

DOCUMENTS INCORPORATED BY REFERENCE 

(12VAC5-421) 

Approved Drug Products with Therapeutic Equivalence 

Evaluations, 34th Edition, 2014, U.S. Department of Health 

and Human Services, Food and Drug Administration, Center 

for Drug Evaluation and Research, Office of Pharmaceutical 

Science, Office of Generic Drugs at 

http://www.fda.gov/cder/ob/default.htm 

Grade "A" Pasteurized Milk Ordinance, 2013 Revision, U.S. 

Department of Health and Human Services, Public Health 

Service, Food and Drug Administration, Milk Safety Branch 

(HFS-626), 5100 Paint Branch Parkway, College Park, MD 

20740-3835 

Approved Drug Products with Therapeutic Equivalence 

Evaluations, 40th Edition, 2020, U.S. Department of Health 

and Human Services, Food and Drug Administration, Center 

for Drug Evaluation and Research, Office of Pharmaceutical 

Science, Office of General Drugs 

Grade "A" Pasteurized Milk Ordinance, 2017 Revision, U.S. 

Department of Health and Human Services, Public Health 

Service, Food and Drug Administration, Milk Safety Branch 

(HFS-626), 5100 Paint Branch Parkway, College Park, MD 

20740-3835 

Interstate Certified Shellfish Shippers List (updated 

monthly), published by the U.S. Department of Health and 

Human Services, Public Health Service, Food and Drug 

Administration, Office of Seafood (HFS-417), 5100 Paint 

Branch Parkway, College Park, MD 20740-3835 

National Shellfish Sanitation Program (NSSP) Guide for the 

Control of Molluscan Shellfish, 2013 Revision, U.S. 

Department of Health and Human Services, Public Health 

Service, Food and Drug Administration, Office of Seafood 

(HFS-417), 5100 Paint Branch Parkway, College Park, MD 

20740-3835 

NSF/ANSI 18-2012 Manual Food and Beverage Dispensing 

Equipment, 2012, NSF International, 789 North Dixboro 

Road, P.O. Box 130140, Ann Arbor, MI 48113-0140, 

www.nsf.org 

Standards for Accreditation of Food Protection Manager 

Certification Programs, April 2012, Conference for Food 

Protection, 30 Elliott Court, Martinsville, IN 46151-1331 

United States Standards, Grades, and Weight Classes for 

Shell Eggs, AMS-56, effective July 20, 2000, U.S. Department 

of Agriculture, Agricultural Marketing Service, Poultry 

Programs, STOP 0259, Room 3944-South, 1400 Independence 

Avenue, SW, Washington, DC 20250-0259  

VDH Procedures for Certification and Standardization of 

Food Inspection Staff, 2017, Virginia Department of Health, 

Division of Food and Environmental Services, 109 Governor 

Street, 5th Floor, Richmond, VA 23219 

VA.R. Doc. No. R21-5671; Filed April 3, 2021, 5:09 p.m. 

  ––––––––––––––––––  

TITLE 18. PROFESSIONAL AND 
OCCUPATIONAL LICENSING 

BOARD OF DENTISTRY 

Final Regulation  

Title of Regulation: 18VAC60-25. Regulations Governing 

the Practice of Dental Hygiene (amending 18VAC60-25-

40). 

Statutory Authority: §§ 54.1-2400 and 54.1-2722 of the Code 

of Virginia. 

Effective Date: May 25, 2021. 

Agency Contact: Sandra Reen, Executive Director, Board of 

Dentistry, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, Richmond, VA 

23233, telephone (804) 367-4437, FAX (804) 527-4428, or 

email sandra.reen@dhp.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendments (i) adopt the protocols for the remote 

supervision of dental hygienists employed by the Department 

of Behavioral Health and Developmental Services (DBHDS) 

by dentists employed by DBHDS in accordance with 

https://www.fda.gov/drugs/drug-approvals-and-databases/approved-drug-products-therapeutic-equivalence-evaluations-orange-book
https://www.fda.gov/drugs/drug-approvals-and-databases/approved-drug-products-therapeutic-equivalence-evaluations-orange-book
https://www.fda.gov/drugs/drug-approvals-and-databases/approved-drug-products-therapeutic-equivalence-evaluations-orange-book
https://www.fda.gov/drugs/drug-approvals-and-databases/approved-drug-products-therapeutic-equivalence-evaluations-orange-book
https://www.fda.gov/drugs/drug-approvals-and-databases/approved-drug-products-therapeutic-equivalence-evaluations-orange-book
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=38417005671~1r.pdf&typ=40&actno=005671&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=38417005671~1r.pdf&typ=40&actno=005671&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=38417005671~1r.pdf&typ=40&actno=005671&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=38417005671~1r.pdf&typ=40&actno=005671&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=38417005671~1r.pdf&typ=40&actno=005671&mime=application/pdf
http://www.fda.gov/Food/GuidanceRegulation/FederalStateFoodPrograms/ucm2006753.htm
http://www.fda.gov/Food/GuidanceRegulation/FederalStateFoodPrograms/ucm2006753.htm
http://www.fda.gov/Food/GuidanceRegulation/FederalStateFoodPrograms/ucm2006753.htm
http://www.fda.gov/Food/GuidanceRegulation/FederalStateFoodPrograms/ucm2006753.htm
http://www.fda.gov/Food/GuidanceRegulation/FederalStateFoodPrograms/ucm2006753.htm
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=926f4002701~1&typ=40&actno=002701&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=926f4002701~1&typ=40&actno=002701&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=926f4002701~1&typ=40&actno=002701&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=926f4002701~1&typ=40&actno=002701&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=926f4002701~1&typ=40&actno=002701&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=926f4002701~1&typ=40&actno=002701&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=85086002701~6&typ=40&actno=002701&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=85086002701~6&typ=40&actno=002701&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=85086002701~6&typ=40&actno=002701&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=85086002701~6&typ=40&actno=002701&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=d8e19004032~4&typ=40&actno=004032&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=d8e19004032~4&typ=40&actno=004032&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=d8e19004032~4&typ=40&actno=004032&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=dd140004032~5&typ=40&actno=004032&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=dd140004032~5&typ=40&actno=004032&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=dd140004032~5&typ=40&actno=004032&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=dd140004032~5&typ=40&actno=004032&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=dd140004032~5&typ=40&actno=004032&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=7f001005409~1).pdf&typ=40&actno=005409&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=7f001005409~1).pdf&typ=40&actno=005409&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=7f001005409~1).pdf&typ=40&actno=005409&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=7f001005409~1).pdf&typ=40&actno=005409&mime=application/pdf
mailto:sandra.reen@dhp.virginia.gov
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Chapter 86 of the 2019 Acts of Assembly and (ii) update the 

protocols for remote supervision of dental hygienists 

employed by the Department of Health (VDH) by dentists 

employed by VDH. The amendments replace emergency 

regulations currently in effect. 

Summary of Public Comments and Agency's Response: A 

summary of comments made by the public and the agency's 

response may be obtained from the promulgating agency or 

viewed at the office of the Registrar of Regulations. 

18VAC60-25-40. Scope of practice. 

A. Pursuant to § 54.1-2722 of the Code, a licensed dental 

hygienist may perform services that are educational, 

diagnostic, therapeutic, or preventive under the direction and 

indirect or, general, or remote supervision of a licensed dentist. 

B. The following duties of a dentist shall not be delegated: 

1. Final diagnosis and treatment planning; 

2. Performing surgical or cutting procedures on hard or soft 

tissue, except as may be permitted by subdivisions C 1 and 

D 1 of this section; 

3. Prescribing or parenterally administering drugs or 

medicaments, except a dental hygienist who meets the 

requirements of 18VAC60-25-100 C may parenterally 

administer Schedule VI local anesthesia to patients 18 years 

of age or older; 

4. Authorization of work orders for any appliance or 

prosthetic device or restoration that is to be inserted into a 

patient's mouth; 

5. Operation of high speed rotary instruments in the mouth; 

6. Administration of deep sedation or general anesthesia and 

moderate sedation; 

7. Condensing, contouring, or adjusting any final, fixed, or 

removable prosthodontic appliance or restoration in the 

mouth with the exception of packing and carving amalgam 

and placing and shaping composite resins by dental 

assistants II with advanced training as specified in 

18VAC60-30-120; 

8. Final positioning and attachment of orthodontic bonds and 

bands; and 

9. Final adjustment and fitting of crowns and bridges in 

preparation for final cementation. 

C. The following duties shall only be delegated to dental 

hygienists under direction and may only be performed under 

indirect supervision: 

1. Scaling, root planing, or gingival curettage of natural and 

restored teeth using hand instruments, slow-speed rotary 

instruments, ultrasonic devices, and nonsurgical lasers with 

any sedation or anesthesia administered. 

2. Performing an initial examination of teeth and 

surrounding tissues including the charting of carious lesions, 

periodontal pockets, or other abnormal conditions for 

assisting the dentist in the diagnosis. 

3. Administering nitrous oxide or local anesthesia by dental 

hygienists qualified in accordance with the requirements of 

18VAC60-25-100. 

D. The following duties shall only be delegated to dental 

hygienists and may be performed under indirect supervision or 

may be delegated by written order in accordance with § 54.1-

2722 D of the Code to be performed under general supervision: 

1. Scaling, root planning, or gingival curettage of natural and 

restored teeth using hand instruments, slow-speed rotary 

instruments, ultrasonic devices, and nonsurgical lasers with 

or without topical oral anesthetics. 

2. Polishing of natural and restored teeth using air polishers. 

3. Performing a clinical examination of teeth and 

surrounding tissues including the charting of carious lesions, 

periodontal pockets, or other abnormal conditions for further 

evaluation and diagnosis by the dentist. 

4. Subgingival irrigation or subgingival and gingival 

application of topical Schedule VI medicinal agents pursuant 

to § 54.1-3408 J of the Code. 

5. Duties appropriate to the education and experience of the 

dental hygienist and the practice of the supervising dentist, 

with the exception of those listed as nondelegable in 

subsection B of this section and those restricted to indirect 

supervision in subsection C of this section. 

E. The following duties may only be delegated under the 

direction and direct supervision of a dentist to a dental assistant 

II: 

1. Performing pulp capping procedures; 

2. Packing and carving of amalgam restorations; 

3. Placing and shaping composite resin restorations with a 

slow speed handpiece; 

4. Taking final impressions; 

5. Use of a non-epinephrine retraction cord; and 

6. Final cementation of crowns and bridges after adjustment 

and fitting by the dentist. 

F. A dental hygienist employed by the Virginia Department 

of Health may provide educational and preventative dental care 

under remote supervision, as defined in § 54.1-2722 D E of the 

Code, of a dentist employed by the Virginia Department of 

Health and in accordance with the protocol Protocol adopted 

by the Commissioner Virginia Department of Health (VDH) 

for Dental Hygienists to Practice in an Expanded Capacity 

under Remote Supervision by Public Health Dentists, 
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September 2012 May 2019, which is hereby incorporated by 

reference. 

G. A dental hygienist employed by the Virginia Department 

of Behavioral Health and Developmental Services (DBHDS) 

may provide educational and preventative dental care under 

remote supervision, as defined in § 54.1-2722 E of the Code of 

Virginia, of a dentist employed by DBHDS and in accordance 

with the Protocol for Virginia Department of Behavioral 

Health and Developmental Services (DBHDS) Dental 

Hygienists to Practice in an Expanded Capacity under Remote 

Supervision by DBHDS Dentists, May 2019, which is hereby 

incorporated by reference. 

DOCUMENTS INCORPORATED BY REFERENCE 

Protocol adopted by Virginia Department of Health for 

Dental Hygienists to Practice in an Expanded Capacity under 

Remote Supervision by Public Health Dentists, September 

2012  

Protocol adopted by Virginia Department of Health for 

Dental Hygienists to Practice in an Expanded Capacity under 

Remote Supervision by Public Health Dentists, Virginia 

Department of Health (rev. 5/2019) 

Protocol for Virginia Department of Behavioral Health and 

Developmental Services (DBHDS) Dental Hygienists to 

Practice in an Expanded Capacity under Remote Supervision 

by DBHDS Dentists, Virginia Department of Behavioral 

Health and Developmental Services (rev. 5/2019) 

VA.R. Doc. No. R20-6044; Filed March 29, 2021, 3:26 p.m. 

Notice of Extension of Emergency Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC60-25. Regulations Governing 

the Practice of Dental Hygiene (amending 18VAC60-25-

40). 

Statutory Authority: §§ 54.1-2400 and 54.1-2722 of the Code 

of Virginia. 

Expiration Date Extended Through: September 30, 2021. 

The Governor has approved the request of the Board of 

Dentistry to extend the expiration date of the emergency 

regulation for 18VAC60-25 for six months as provided for in 

§ 2.2-4011 D of the Code of Virginia. Therefore, the 

emergency regulation is continued in effect through September 

30, 2021. This extension is required because this regulation 

provides for remote supervision of Virginia Department of 

Health and Department of Behavioral Health and 

Developmental Services dental hygienists; its expiration may 

have an impact on the ability of those agencies to deliver dental 

services to underserved populations in the Commonwealth. 

The emergency regulation was published in 36:4 VA.R. 325-

327 October 14, 2019. 

Agency Contact: Sandra Reen, Executive Director, Board of 

Dentistry, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, Richmond, VA 

23233, telephone (804) 367-4437, FAX (804) 527-4428, email 

sandra.reen@dhp.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R20-6044; Filed March 29, 2021, 3:26 p.m. 

BOARD OF NURSING 

Forms 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: Forms used in administering the 

regulation have been filed by the agency. The forms are not 

being published; however, online users of this issue of the 

Virginia Register of Regulations may click on the name of a 

form with a hyperlink to access it. The forms are also available 

from the agency contact or may be viewed at the Office of the 

Registrar of Regulations, 900 East Main Street, 11th Floor, 

Richmond, Virginia 23219. 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC90-27. Regulations for Nursing 

Education Programs. 

Agency Contact: Elaine Yeatts, Board of Nursing, 9960 

Mayland Drive, Henrico, VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-

4688, FAX (804) 527-4434, or email 

elaine.yeatts@dhp.virginia.gov. 

FORMS (18VAC90-27) 

Application to Establish a Nursing Education Program (rev. 

10/2016) 

Survey Visit Report (rev. 10/2016) 

Survey Visit Report for Programs Having Accreditation (rev. 

10/2016) 

Application to Establish a Nursing Education Program 

Continued Approval Survey Visit Report 

Application to Establish a Nursing Educational Program (rev. 

3/2021) 

Continued Approval Survey Visit Report (rev. 12/2019) 

VA.R. Doc. No. R21-6664; Filed April 11, 2021, 10:13 a.m. 

  ––––––––––––––––––  

TITLE 24. TRANSPORTATION AND MOTOR 
VEHICLES 

DEPARTMENT OF MOTOR VEHICLES 

Fast-Track Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 24VAC20-100. Virginia Motor Vehicle 

Rental Taxes and Fees Rules and Regulations (repealing 

24VAC20-100-10 through 24VAC20-100-550). 

Statutory Authority: §§ 46.2-203 and 58.1-2421 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=19299006044~39.pdf&typ=40&actno=006044&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=19299006044~39.pdf&typ=40&actno=006044&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=19299006044~39.pdf&typ=40&actno=006044&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=19299006044~39.pdf&typ=40&actno=006044&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=37978006044~4l.pdf&typ=40&actno=006044&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=37978006044~4l.pdf&typ=40&actno=006044&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=37978006044~4l.pdf&typ=40&actno=006044&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=37978006044~4l.pdf&typ=40&actno=006044&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=37978006044~4l.pdf&typ=40&actno=006044&mime=application/pdf
http://register.dls.virginia.gov/details.aspx?id=7758
http://register.dls.virginia.gov/details.aspx?id=7758
mailto:sandra.reen@dhp.virginia.gov
mailto:elaine.yeatts@dhp.virginia.gov
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC90/forms/2021%20App-20210326132211.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC90/forms/2021%20App-20210326132211.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC90/forms/Survey%20Report-20210326132713.pdf
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Public Hearing Information: No public hearing is currently 

scheduled. 

Public Comment Deadline: May 26, 2021. 

Effective Date: June 10, 2021. 

Agency Contact: Melissa Velazquez, Legislative Services 

Manager, Department of Motor Vehicles, P.O. Box 27412, 

Richmond, VA 23269-0001, telephone (804) 367-1844, FAX 

(804) 367-6631, TDD (800) 272-9268, or email 

melissa.velazquez@dmv.virginia.gov. 

Basis: Section 46.2-203 of the Code of Virginia provides the 

Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) with specific and 

general authority to adopt reasonable administrative 

regulations necessary to carry out the laws administered by the 

department, and the Commissioner of the DMV may enforce 

these regulations and laws through the agencies of the 

Commonwealth the commissioner may designate. Chapters 

405 and 639 of the 2011 Acts of Assembly transferred 

authority to administer and collect the motor vehicle rental tax 

from the DMV to the Department of Taxation. Therefore, the 

DMV's Virginia Motor Vehicle Rental Taxes and Fees Rules 

and Regulations (24VAC20-100) must be repealed. 

Purpose: The intent of this legislative action is to repeal 

24VAC20-100. Repeal of the regulation does not affect the 

public health, safety, or welfare. 

Rationale for Using the Fast-Track Rulemaking Process: This 

regulatory action is in compliance with Chapters 405 and 639 

of the 2011 Acts of Assembly, which transferred 

administration and collection of the motor vehicle rental tax 

from the DMV to the Department of Taxation. This action is 

deemed to be noncontroversial. 

Substance: 24VAC20-100 will be repealed since the 

administration and collection of the motor vehicle rental tax 

was transferred to the Department of Taxation in 2012. 

Issues: There are no disadvantages to the public or to the 

department. The advantage to the public, agency, and 

Commonwealth is that this regulatory change eliminates 

obsolete language from the Virginia Administrative Code. 

Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 

Analysis:  

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. The 

Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) proposes to repeal 

24VAC20-100 Virginia Motor Vehicle Rental Taxes and Fees 

Rules and Regulations, since motor vehicle rental taxes are now 

administered and collected by the Department of Taxation (TAX.)  

Background. Chapters 405 and 639 of the 2011 Acts of 

Assembly, which became effective on July 1, 2012, transferred 

the authority to administer the motor vehicle rental tax to TAX 

and added Article 9 Virginia Motor Vehicle Rental Tax to Title 

58.1 (Chapter 17) of the Code of Virginia.1 Hence, DMV seeks 

to repeal 24VAC20-100, which is no longer under its authority. 

Estimated Benefits and Costs. The proposed repeal does not 

introduce any additional costs to operators or consumers of 

rental motor vehicles. It may benefit readers of regulations by 

preventing any confusion about taxes owed to DMV. However, 

none of the current TAX regulations appear to address the 

motor vehicle rental tax, nor do any of TAX's regulatory 

actions currently underway.2 Hence, readers looking for the 

current motor vehicle rental tax regulation would not find it in 

the Virginia Administrative Code (VAC) once 24VAC20-100 

is repealed and would need to refer to the Code of Virginia 

(§ 58.1-1734 1741, link in footnote 1) or to guidance on the 

agency's website.3 

Businesses and Other Entities Affected. Readers of regulations 

may be affected if it appears that the VAC no longer addresses 

motor vehicle rental taxes; they would need to refer to the Code 

of Virginia or agency guidance as mentioned. The proposed 

repeal does not appear to introduce any new costs for 

businesses or other entities.  

Small Businesses4 Affected. The proposed repeal neither 

directly affects any small businesses nor causes small 

businesses to face any new costs as a result of the proposed 

amendments. 

Localities5 Affected.6 The proposed repeal neither 

disproportionately affects any specific localities nor introduces 

new costs for local governments.  

Projected Impact on Employment. The proposed repeal is 

unlikely to cause any changes to total employment.  

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. The proposed 

repeal is unlikely to affect the use or value of private property. 

Real estate development costs are unlikely to be affected. 

_____________________________________________ 
1See https://lis.virginia.gov/cgi-bin/legp604.exe?ses=111&typ=bil&val 

=ch405 for the Act and https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacodefull/title58.1/ 

chapter17/article9/ for the provisions of Article 9. 

2As per https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/ViewBoard.cfm?BoardID=75 and 

https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/NowInProgress.cfm?BoardID=75 as of this 

writing. 

3See https://www.tax.virginia.gov/laws-rules-decisions/rulings-tax-

commissioner/13-109 and https://www.tax.virginia.gov/motor-vehicle-rental-

tax-and-fee 

4Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.04 of the Code of Virginia, small business is defined 

as "a business entity, including its affiliates, that (i) is independently owned 

and operated and (ii) employs fewer than 500 full-time employees or has gross 

annual sales of less than $6 million." 

5"Locality" can refer to either local governments or the locations in the 

Commonwealth where the activities relevant to the regulatory change are most 

likely to occur. 

6§ 2.2-4007.04 defines "particularly affected" as bearing disproportionate 

material impact. 

Agency's Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The 

Department of Motor Vehicles concurs with the economic 

impact analysis conducted by the Virginia Department of 

Planning and Budget.  

Summary: 

Chapters 405 and 639 of the 2011 Acts of Assembly transferred 

administration and collection of the motor vehicle rental tax 

from the Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) to the 

Department or Taxation, removing DMV's authority to 

mailto:melissa.velazquez@dmv.virginia.gov
https://lis.virginia.gov/cgi-bin/legp604.exe?ses=111&typ=bil&val=ch405
https://lis.virginia.gov/cgi-bin/legp604.exe?ses=111&typ=bil&val=ch405
https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacodefull/title58.1/chapter17/article9/
https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacodefull/title58.1/chapter17/article9/
https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/ViewBoard.cfm?BoardID=75
https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/NowInProgress.cfm?BoardID=75
https://www.tax.virginia.gov/laws-rules-decisions/rulings-tax-commissioner/13-109
https://www.tax.virginia.gov/laws-rules-decisions/rulings-tax-commissioner/13-109
https://www.tax.virginia.gov/motor-vehicle-rental-tax-and-fee
https://www.tax.virginia.gov/motor-vehicle-rental-tax-and-fee
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regulate motor vehicle rental tax, therefore the amendments 

repeal Virginia Motor Vehicle Rental Taxes and Fees Rules 

and Regulations (24VAC20-100).  

VA.R. Doc. No. R21-6226; Filed March 29, 2021, 3:28 p.m. 

Fast-Track Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 24VAC20-110. T&M Vehicle, Trailer, 

and Motorcycle Dealer Advertising Practices and 

Enforcement Regulations (repealing 24VAC20-110-10 

through 24VAC20-110-60). 

Statutory Authority: §§ 46.2-1991, 46.2-1992.85, and 46.2-

1993.82 of the Code of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: No public hearing is currently 

scheduled. 

Public Comment Deadline: May 26, 2021. 

Effective Date: June 10, 2021. 

Agency Contact: Melissa Velazquez, Legislative Services 

Manager, Department of Motor Vehicles, P.O. Box 27412, 

Richmond, VA 23269, telephone (804) 367-1844, FAX (804) 

367-6631, TDD (800) 272-9268, or email 

melissa.velazquez@dmv.virginia.gov. 

Basis: Section 46.2-203 of the Code of Virginia provides the 

Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) with specific and 

general authority to adopt reasonable administrative 

regulations necessary to carry out the laws administered by the 

department, and the commissioner may enforce these 

regulations and laws through the agencies of the 

Commonwealth he may designate. Chapter 615 of the 2015 

Acts of Assembly transferred administration of the T&M 

Vehicle, Trailer, and Motorcycle Dealer Advertising Practices 

and Enforcement Regulations from the DMV to the Motor 

Vehicle Dealer Board (MVDB). 

Purpose: The intent of this regulatory action is to repeal 

24VAC20-110 as DMV no longer has authority to regulate 

T&M vehicle, trailer, and motorcycle dealer advertising 

practices. Repeal of the regulation does not affect the public 

health, safety, or welfare. 

Rationale for Using Fast-Track Rulemaking Process: This 

regulatory action is in compliance with Chapter 615 of the 

2015 Acts of Assembly, which transferred authority to regulate 

T&M T&M vehicle, trailer, and motorcycle dealer advertising 

practices from the DMV to the MVDB, and therefore the action 

is deemed to be noncontroversial. 

Substance: The amendments repeal 24VAC20-110 in entirety 

since the administration of T&M vehicle, trailer, and 

motorcycle dealer advertising practices was transferred to the 

MVDB in 2015. 

Issues: There are no disadvantages to the public or to the 

department. The advantage to the public, agency, and 

Commonwealth is that this regulatory change eliminates 

obsolete language from the Virginia Administrative Code. 

Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 

Analysis:  

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. The 

Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) proposes to repeal 

24VAC20-110 T&M Vehicle, Trailer, and Motorcycle Dealer 

Advertising Practices and Enforcement Regulations, since all 

motor vehicle dealer advertising practices are now regulated 

by the Motor Vehicle Dealer Board (MVDB.)  

Background. Chapter 615 of the 2015 Acts of Assembly 

transferred the administration of 24VAC20-110 from DMV to 

MVDB.1 MVDB's current regulations include a chapter on 

advertising practices for motor vehicle dealers in general, 

including dealers of T&M (recreation) vehicles, trailers and 

motorcycles.2 

Estimated Benefits and Costs. The proposed repeal does not 

introduce any additional costs to motor vehicle dealers or 

consumers. Readers of the regulations may benefit from greater 

clarity since all rules and requirements pertaining to advertising 

by motor vehicle dealers would now be contained in the same 

chapter. 

Businesses and Other Entities Affected. Readers of the regulations 

may be affected by gaining greater clarity. The proposed repeal 

does not appear to introduce any new costs for businesses or other 

entities.  

Small Businesses3 Affected. The proposed repeal would not 

directly affect any small businesses, nor would they face any new 

costs as a result of the proposed amendments. 

Localities4 Affected.5 The proposed repeal neither 

disproportionately affects any specific localities nor introduces 

new costs for local governments.  

Projected Impact on Employment. The proposed repeal is 

unlikely to cause any changes to total employment.  

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. The proposed 

repeal is unlikely to affect the use or value of private property. 

Real estate development costs are unlikely to be affected. 

____________________________________ 
1See https://lis.virginia.gov/cgi-bin/legp604.exe?151 ful HB2189 

2See 24 VAC 22-30 Motor Vehicle Dealer Advertising Practices and 

Enforcement Regulations https://law.lis.virginia.gov/admincode/title24/ 

agency22/chapter30/ 

3Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.04 of the Code of Virginia, small business is defined 

as "a business entity, including its affiliates, that (i) is independently owned 

and operated and (ii) employs fewer than 500 full-time employees or has gross 

annual sales of less than $6 million." 

4"Locality" can refer to either local governments or the locations in the 

Commonwealth where the activities relevant to the regulatory change are most 

likely to occur. 

5§ 2.2-4007.04 defines "particularly affected" as bearing disproportionate 

material impact. 

Agency's Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The 

Department of Motor Vehicles concurs with the economic 

impact analysis conducted by the Virginia Department of 

Planning and Budget. 

mailto:melissa.velazquez@dmv.virginia.gov
https://lis.virginia.gov/cgi-bin/legp604.exe?151%20ful%20HB2189
https://law.lis.virginia.gov/admincode/title24/agency22/chapter30/
https://law.lis.virginia.gov/admincode/title24/agency22/chapter30/
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Summary:  

Pursuant to Chapter 615 of the 2015 Acts of Assembly, which 

transferred administration of T&M vehicle, trailer, and 

motorcycle dealer advertising practices from the Department 

of Motor Vehicles to the Motor Vehicle Dealer Board, the 

amendments repeal Virginia Motor Vehicle Rental Taxes and 

Fees Rules and Regulations (24VAC20-110). 

VA.R. Doc. No. R21-6225; Filed March 29, 2021, 10:55 a.m. 

COMMONWEALTH TRANSPORTATION BOARD 

Fast-Track Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 24VAC30-11. Public Participation 

Guidelines (amending 24VAC30-11-50). 

Statutory Authority: §§ 2.2-4007.02 and 33.2-210 of the Code 

of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: No public hearing in currently 

scheduled. 

Public Comment Deadline: May 26, 2021. 

Effective Date: June 11, 2021. 

Agency Contact: JoAnne P. Maxwell, Director, Governance 

and Legislative Affairs Division, Department of 

Transportation, 1401 East Broad Street, Richmond, VA 23219, 

telephone (804) 786-1830, FAX (804) 225-4700, or email 

joanne.maxwell@vdot.virginia.gov. 

Basis: Section 2.2-4007.02 of the Code of Virginia mandates 

each agency develop, adopt, and use public participation 

guidelines for soliciting the input of interested parties in the 

formation and development of its regulations. Chapter 795 of 

the 2012 Acts of Assembly provides that in formulating any 

regulation or in evidentiary hearings on regulations, an 

interested party shall be entitled to be accompanied by and 

represented by counsel or other qualified representative. The 

Commonwealth Transportation Board is authorized to 

promulgate regulations for the protection of and covering 

traffic on and for the use of systems of state highways pursuant 

to § 33.2-210 of the Code of Virginia. 

Purpose: This regulatory change is intended to bring the public 

participation guidelines into conformance with state code and 

model guidelines development by the Department of Planning 

and Budget. The change clarifies that public commenters may 

be represented by counsel or other representatives. Public 

participation is an integral part in the adoption of regulations 

that affect the public's health, safety, and welfare. This change 

will support public participation in the board's regulatory 

processes. 

Rationale: As this change is intended to update the regulation 

to conform with statute it is expected to be noncontroversial, 

and the fast-track rulemaking process is appropriate. 

Substance: The current action will amend 24VAC30-11-50 to 

allow for interested persons to be accompanied by and 

represented by counsel or other representative when 

submitting data, views, and information to an agency during 

the promulgation of regulations. 

Issues: This change clarifies language in the public 

participation guidelines stating that individuals may have 

counsel or other representatives represent them during 

regulatory processes. This will provide added assurance to 

those wishing to comment that they may be represented by 

counsel or others and have their views heard. There are no 

disadvantages to the public or the Commonwealth as a result 

of this change. 

Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 

Analysis.  

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. 

Pursuant to Chapter 795 of the 2012 Acts of Assembly 

(Chapter 795),1 the Commonwealth Transportation Board 

(Board) proposes to specify in this regulation that interested 

persons shall be afforded an opportunity to be accompanied by 

and represented by counsel or other representative when 

submitting data, views, and arguments, either orally or in 

writing, to the agency.  

Background. Chapter 795 added to Code of Virginia § 2.2-

4007.02. "Public participation guidelines" that persons 

interested in submitting data, views, and arguments, either 

orally or in writing, to the agency also be afforded an 

opportunity to be accompanied by and represented by counsel 

or other representative.  

The current regulation Public Participation Guidelines states 

that: "In considering any nonemergency, nonexempt regulatory 

action, the agency shall afford interested persons an 

opportunity to submit data, views, and arguments, either orally 

or in writing, to the agency." The Board proposes to append 

"and (ii) be accompanied by and represented by counsel or 

other representative." 

Estimated Benefits and Costs. Since the Code of Virginia 

already specifies that interested persons shall be afforded an 

opportunity to be accompanied by and represented by counsel 

or other representative, the Boards proposal to add this 

language to the regulation would not change the law in effect, 

but would be beneficial in that it would inform interested 

parties who read this regulation but not the statute of their legal 

rights concerning representation. 

Businesses and Other Entities Affected. The proposed 

amendment potentially affects all individuals who comment on 

pending regulatory changes. It would particularly affect those 

who are interested in being accompanied by and represented 

by counsel or other representative, and were not previously 

aware of this right. The proposal does not produce cost. 

Localities2 Affected.3 The proposed amendment applies 

statewide. No locality would be particularly affected. The 

proposed amendment does not introduce costs for local 

governments. 

Projected Impact on Employment. The proposed amendment 

is unlikely to affect total employment. 

mailto:joanne.maxwell@vdot.virginia.gov
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Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. The proposed 

amendment does not affect the use and value of private 

property. The proposed amendment does not affect real estate 

development costs. 

Adverse Effect on Small Businesses.4 The proposed 

amendment does not adversely affect small businesses. 

_____________________________________ 
1See http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?121 ful CHAP0795 hil 

2"Locality" can refer to either local governments or the locations in the 

Commonwealth where the activities relevant to the regulatory change are most 

likely to occur. 

3§ 2.2-4007.04 defines "particularly affected" as bearing disproportionate 

material impact. 

4Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.04 of the Code of Virginia, small business is defined 

as "a business entity, including its affiliates, that (i) is independently owned 

and operated and (ii) employs fewer than 500 full-time employees or has gross 

annual sales of less than $6 million." 

Agency's Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The agency 

agrees with the economic impact analysis prepared by the 

Department of Planning and Budget. 

Summary: 

Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.02 of the Code of Virginia, the 

amendment provides that interested persons submitting 

data, views, and arguments on a regulatory action may be 

accompanied by and represented by counsel or another 

representative. 

24VAC30-11-50. Public comment. 

A. In considering any nonemergency, nonexempt regulatory 

action, the agency shall afford interested persons an 

opportunity to (i) submit data, views, and arguments, either 

orally or in writing, to the agency; and (ii) be accompanied by 

and represented by counsel or other representative. Such 

opportunity to comment shall include an online public 

comment forum on the Town Hall. 

1. To any requesting person, the agency shall provide copies 

of the statement of basis, purpose, substance, and issues; the 

economic impact analysis of the proposed or fast-track 

regulatory action; and the agency's response to public 

comments received. 

2. The agency may begin crafting a regulatory action prior 

to or during any opportunities it provides to the public to 

submit comments. 

B. The agency shall accept public comments in writing after 

the publication of a regulatory action in the Virginia Register 

as follows: 

1. For a minimum of 30 calendar days following the 

publication of the notice of intended regulatory action 

(NOIRA). 

2. For a minimum of 60 calendar days following the 

publication of a proposed regulation. 

3. For a minimum of 30 calendar days following the 

publication of a reproposed regulation. 

4. For a minimum of 30 calendar days following the 

publication of a final adopted regulation. 

5. For a minimum of 30 calendar days following the 

publication of a fast-track regulation. 

6. For a minimum of 21 calendar days following the 

publication of a notice of periodic review. 

7. Not later than 21 calendar days following the publication 

of a petition for rulemaking. 

C. The agency may determine if any of the comment periods 

listed in subsection B of this section shall be extended. 

D. If the Governor finds that one or more changes with 

substantial impact have been made to a proposed regulation, he 

may require the agency to provide an additional 30 calendar 

days to solicit additional public comment on the changes in 

accordance with § 2.2-4013 C of the Code of Virginia. 

E. The agency shall send a draft of the agency's summary 

description of public comment to all public commenters on the 

proposed regulation at least five days before final adoption of 

the regulation pursuant to § 2.2-4012 E of the Code of Virginia. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R21-6088; Filed March 29, 2021, 3:46 p.m. 

Fast-Track Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 24VAC30-160. Rules and Regulations to 

Comply with the Setoff Debt Collection Act (repealing 

24VAC30-160-10 through 24VAC30-160-90). 

Statutory Authority: §§ 33.2-215 and 58.1-526 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: No public hearing is currently 

scheduled. 

Public Comment Deadline: May 26, 2021. 

Effective Date: June 11, 2021. 

Agency Contact: Jo Anne Maxwell, Director, Governance and 

Legislative Affairs, Department of Transportation, 1401 East 

Broad Street, Richmond, VA 23235, telephone (804) 786-

1830, or email joanne.maxwell@vdot.virginia.gov. 

Basis: Section 33.2-210 of the Code of Virginia authorizes the 

Commonwealth Transportation Board (CTB) to develop 

regulations relating to traffic and the use of systems of state 

highways. The CTB promulgated the Rules and Regulations to 

Comply with the Setoff Debt Collection Act (24VAC30-160) 

to comply with the Setoff Debt Collection Act. 

Purpose: The Commonwealth Transportation Board originally 

adopted the regulation in 1984, and the regulation has not been 

amended since. However, all of the substantive portions that 

affect citizens are duplicative of provisions in the Setoff Debt 

Collection Act. Keeping the current administrative sections 

would be inefficient, confusing, and duplicative. VDOT 

currently is the only agency that has regulations regarding the 

http://leg1.state.va.us/cgi-bin/legp504.exe?121%20ful%20CHAP0795%20hil
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Setoff Debt Collection Act. Since the Setoff Debt Collections 

Act describes the process sufficiently, there is no longer a need 

for 24VAC30-160. The repeal of the regulation will have no 

practical effect on public health, safety, or welfare. 

Rationale for Using Fast-Track Rulemaking Process: The 

decision to repeal the regulation was made after a periodic 

review, pursuant to § 2.2-4007.1 of the Code of Virginia and 

Executive Order 14 (2018). All of the substantive portions of 

the regulation that affect citizens are duplicative of provisions 

in the Setoff Debt Collection Act, therefore the action is 

noncontroversial. 

Substance: The current action will repeal 24VAC30-160. 

Issues: The repeal will not substantively affect the public or the 

department because the regulation is duplicative of substantive 

provisions in the Setoff Debt Collection Act. There are no 

disadvantages to the public or the Commonwealth. 

Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 

Analysis: 

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. The 

Commonwealth Transportation Board (Board) proposes to 

repeal 24VAC30-160 Rules and Regulations to Comply with 

the Setoff Debt Collection Act. 

Background. The Virginia Debt Collection Act, § 2.2-4800, et 

seq., states that "Each state agency and institution shall take all 

appropriate and cost-effective actions to aggressively collect 

its accounts receivable."2 The Setoff Debt Collection Act, 

§ 58.1-520, et seq., establishes a method by which state 

agencies pursue collection via the withholding of state or local 

income tax refunds; § 58.1-525 of the Setoff Debt Collection 

Act provides for the impacted party to have the opportunity to 

give written notice of intent to contest the validity of the claim. 

Section 58.1-526 states that: If a claimant agency "receives 

written application of the debtor's intention to contest at a 

hearing the claim upon which the intended setoff is based, it 

shall grant a hearing according to procedures established by 

that agency under its operating statutes to determine whether 

the claim is valid. Additionally, it shall be determined at the 

hearing whether the claimed sum asserted as due and owing is 

correct, and if not, an adjustment to the claim shall be made." 

Unlike most agencies, in 1984 the Department of 

Transportation (VDOT) promulgated a regulation pertaining to 

its rules and procedures in relation to setoff debt collection: 

24VAC30-160, Rules and Regulations to Comply with the 

Setoff Debt Collection Act. Most of the regulation concerns 

hearings when the impacted party contests VDOT's claim. All 

parts of the regulation that are not duplicative of the Act 

concern such hearings. VDOT has a manual that covers debt 

setoff hearing procedures. The agency has indicated that it 

would send a copy of the manual to the debtor as an attachment 

to the acknowledgment letter that is sent when a written 

application of the debtor's intention to contest a claim is 

received. 

In 2017, VDOT collected $371,929.62 against delinquent 

debts through setoff of tax return funds. In 2018, the agency 

collected $113,320.37. Through October 21, VDOT has 

collected $169,773.04 for the current year.3 

Estimated Benefits and Costs. To the degree that regulations 

confer broader protections to the regulated community and 

provide greater transparency than internal policies and 

procedures, then the proposed repeal of the regulation has the 

potential to impact the public. However, in this instance, other 

than hearings, all rules and procedures concerning setoff debt 

collection are set forth within statutes. Specifics concerning 

hearings are covered in the manual that would be provided to 

affected individuals and entities.  

Businesses and Other Entities Affected. The proposal affects 

individuals and entities who in VDOT's understanding owe 

debt to VDOT. The proposal does not substantively produce 

cost. 

Localities4 Affected.5 The proposal does not disproportionately 

affect particular localities. The proposal does not introduce 

costs for local governments. 

Projected Impact on Employment. The proposal is unlikely to 

affect total employment. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. The proposal 

does not substantively affect the use and value of private 

property or real estate development costs. 

Adverse Effect on Small Businesses.6 The proposed 

amendment does not adversely affect small businesses.  

_____________________________ 
1Adverse impact is indicated if there is any increase in net cost or reduction in 

net revenue for any entity, even if the benefits exceed the costs for all entities 

combined. 

2See § 2.2-4806 specifically: https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title2.2/ 

chapter48/section2.2-4806/ 

3Source: VDOT 

4"Locality" can refer to either local governments or the locations in the 

Commonwealth where the activities relevant to the regulatory change are most 

likely to occur. 

5§ 2.2-4007.04 defines "particularly affected" as bearing disproportionate 

material impact. 

6Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.04 of the Code of Virginia, small business is defined 

as "business entity, including its affiliates, that (i) is independently owned and 

operated and (ii) employs fewer than 500 full-time employees or has gross 

annual sales of less than $6 million." 

Agency's Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The agency 

agrees with the economic impact analysis prepared by the 

Department of Planning and Budget. 

Summary: 

The amendments repeal Rules and Regulations to Comply 

with the Setoff Debt Collection Act (24VAC30-160). The 

regulation is unnecessary as all of the substantive portions 

of the regulation that affect citizens are duplicative of 

provisions in the Setoff Debt Collection Act (§ 58.1-520, et 

seq. of the Code of Virginia). 

VA.R. Doc. No. R21-6090; Filed March 29, 2021, 3:18 p.m. 
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Guidance Documents 

PUBLIC COMMENT OPPORTUNITY 

Pursuant to § 2.2-4002.1 of the Code of Virginia, a certified guidance document is subject to a 30-day public comment period 

after publication in the Virginia Register of Regulations and prior to the guidance document's effective date. During the public 

comment period, comments may be made through the Virginia Regulatory Town Hall website (http://www.townhall.virginia.gov) 

or sent to the agency contact. Under subsection C of § 2.2-4002.1, the effective date of the guidance document may be delayed 

for an additional period. The guidance document may also be withdrawn. 

The following guidance documents have been submitted for publication by the listed agencies for a public comment period. 

Online users of this issue of the Virginia Register of Regulations may click on the name of a guidance document to access it. 

Guidance documents are also available on the Virginia Regulatory Town Hall (http://www.townhall.virginia.gov) or from the 

agency contact or may be viewed at the Office of the Registrar of Regulations, 900 East Main Street, Richmond, Virginia 23219. 

STATE BOARD OF EDUCATION 

Title of Document: Guidelines for the Consideration of the 

Need for Age and Developmentally Appropriate Instruction. 

Public Comment Deadline: May 26, 2021. 

Effective Date: May 27, 2021. 

Agency Contact: Samantha Hollins, Assistant Superintendent 

for Special Education and Student Services, Department of 

Education, 101 North 14th Street, Richmond, VA 23219, 

telephone (804) 786-8079, or email 

samantha.hollins@doe.virginia.gov. 

* * * 

Title of Document: Virginia Social Emotional Learning 

Standards. 

Public Comment Deadline: May 26, 2021. 

Effective Date: May 27, 2021. 

Agency Contact: Maribel Saimre, Director, Office of Student 

Services, Department of Education, 101 North 14th Street 

Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 225-2818, or email 

maribel.saimre@doe.virginia.gov. 

* * * 

Title of Document: Definition of Students with Limited or 

Interrupted Formal Education. 

Public Comment Deadline: May 26, 2021. 

Effective Date: May 27, 2021. 

Agency Contact: Michael Bolling, Assistant Superintendent 

for Learning and Innovation, Department of Education, 101 

North 14th Street Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 225-

2034, or email michael.bolling@doe.virginia.gov. 

 

 

BOARD OF PHARMACY 

Titles of Documents: Pharmacist-In-Charge Responsibilities. 

Pharmacy Interns as Pharmacy Technicians; Pharmacy 

Technician Ratio. 

Proximity of a School or Daycare to a Cannabis Dispensing 

Facility. 

Public Comment Deadline: May 26, 2021. 

Effective Date: May 27, 2021. 

Agency Contact: Elaine J. Yeatts, Agency Regulatory 

Coordinator, Department of Health Professions, Perimeter 

Center, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, Richmond, VA 

23233, telephone (804) 367-4688, or email 

elaine.yeatts@dhp.virginia.gov. 

BOARD OF PSYCHOLOGY 

Title of Document: Preparing for Expected and Unexpected 

Departures from the Operation of a Psychological Practice. 

Public Comment Deadline: May 26, 2021. 

Effective Date: May 27, 2021. 

Agency Contact: Elaine J. Yeatts, Agency Regulatory 

Coordinator, Department of Health Professions, Perimeter 

Center, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, Richmond, VA 

23233, telephone (804) 367-4688, or email 

elaine.yeatts@dhp.virginia.gov. 

STATE BOARD OF SOCIAL SERVICES 

Title of Document: Child and Family Services Manual Chapter 

A, Practice Foundations. 

Public Comment Deadline: May 26, 2021. 

Effective Date: May 27, 2021. 

Agency Contact: Nikki Clarke Callaghan, Legislation, 

Regulations, and Guidance Manager, Department of Social 

Services, 801 East Main Street, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone 

(804) 726-7943, or email nikki.clark@dss.virginia.gov. 

https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title2.2/chapter40/section2.2-4002.1/
http://www.townhall.virginia.gov/
https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title2.2/chapter40/section2.2-4002.1/
http://www.townhall.virginia.gov/
https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/GetFile.cfm?File=C:/TownHall/docroot/GuidanceDocs_Proposed/201/GDoc_DOE_4779_20210329.pdf
https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/GetFile.cfm?File=C:/TownHall/docroot/GuidanceDocs_Proposed/201/GDoc_DOE_4779_20210329.pdf
mailto:samantha.hollins@doe.virginia.gov
mailto:samantha.hollins@doe.virginia.gov
mailto:samantha.hollins@doe.virginia.gov
https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/GetFile.cfm?File=C:/TownHall/docroot/GuidanceDocs_Proposed/201/GDoc_DOE_4780_20210329.pdf
https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/GetFile.cfm?File=C:/TownHall/docroot/GuidanceDocs_Proposed/201/GDoc_DOE_4780_20210329.pdf
mailto:maribel.saimre@doe.virginia.gov
https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/GetFile.cfm?File=C:/TownHall/docroot/GuidanceDocs_Proposed/201/GDoc_DOE_4786_20210331.pdf
https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/GetFile.cfm?File=C:/TownHall/docroot/GuidanceDocs_Proposed/201/GDoc_DOE_4786_20210331.pdf
mailto:michael.bolling@doe.virginia.gov
https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/GetFile.cfm?File=C:/TownHall/docroot/GuidanceDocs_Proposed/223/GDoc_DHP_4782_20210330.pdf
https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/GetFile.cfm?File=C:/TownHall/docroot/GuidanceDocs_Proposed/223/GDoc_DHP_4783_20210330.pdf
https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/GetFile.cfm?File=C:/TownHall/docroot/GuidanceDocs_Proposed/223/GDoc_DHP_4783_20210330.pdf
https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/GetFile.cfm?File=C:/TownHall/docroot/GuidanceDocs_Proposed/223/GDoc_DHP_4789_20210401.pdf
https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/GetFile.cfm?File=C:/TownHall/docroot/GuidanceDocs_Proposed/223/GDoc_DHP_4789_20210401.pdf
mailto:elaine.yeatts@dhp.virginia.gov
https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/GetFile.cfm?File=C:/TownHall/docroot/GuidanceDocs_Proposed/223/GDoc_DHP_4792_20210406.pdf
https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/GetFile.cfm?File=C:/TownHall/docroot/GuidanceDocs_Proposed/223/GDoc_DHP_4792_20210406.pdf
mailto:elaine.yeatts@dhp.virginia.gov
https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/GetFile.cfm?File=C:/TownHall/docroot/GuidanceDocs_Proposed/765/GDoc_DSS_4791_20210406.pdf
https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/GetFile.cfm?File=C:/TownHall/docroot/GuidanceDocs_Proposed/765/GDoc_DSS_4791_20210406.pdf
mailto:nikki.clark@dss.virginia.gov
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STATE WATER CONTROL BOARD 

Title of Document: 2022 Water Quality Assessment Guidance 

Manual. 

Public Comment Deadline: May 26, 2021. 

Effective Date: May 27, 2021. 

Agency Contact: Amanda Shaver, Department of 

Environmental Quality, 1100 East Main Street, Suite 1400, 

P.O. Box 1105, Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 698-

4181, or email amanda.shaver@deq.virginia.gov. 

https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/GetFile.cfm?File=C:/TownHall/docroot/GuidanceDocs_Proposed/440/GDoc_DEQ_4790_20210405.pdf
https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/GetFile.cfm?File=C:/TownHall/docroot/GuidanceDocs_Proposed/440/GDoc_DEQ_4790_20210405.pdf
mailto:amanda.shaver@deq.virginia.gov
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General Notices 

DEPARTMENT OF ENVIRONMENTAL QUALITY 

Michaux Solar Center LLC Notice of Intent for Small 
Renewable Energy Project (Solar) - Pittsylvania and 

Henry Counties 

Michaux Solar LLC has provided the Department of 

Environmental Quality a notice of intent to submit the 

necessary documentation for a permit by rule for a small 

renewable energy project (solar) in Pittsylvania and Henry 

Counties. Michaux Solar LLC will be located in the southeast 

corner of Henry County and the southwest corner of 

Pittsylvania County adjacent to Michaux Road and the North 

Carolina state border. Latitude and longitude coordinates are 

36.553241, -79.718679. The estimated fenced-in project area 

will be 600 acres, and the maximum generating capacity of the 

project in alternating current will be 50 megawatts. The solar 

facility will consist of approximately 104,000 photovoltaic 

modules that will be supported by 17 separate metal skids 

supported by driven piles. 

Contact Information: Cindy Berndt, Regulatory Coordinator, 

Department of Environmental Quality, 1111 East Main Street, 

Suite 1400, P.O. Box 1105, Richmond, VA 23218, telephone 

(804) 698-4378, FAX (804) 698-4178. 

Solar VA 2019 LLC Notice of Intent for Small 
Renewable Energy Project (Solar) -  

Westmoreland County 

Solar VA 2019 LLC has provided the Department of 

Environmental Quality a notice of intent to submit the 

necessary documentation for a permit by rule for a small 

renewable energy project (solar) in Westmoreland County. 

Solar VA 2019 LLC will be located approximately 0.2 miles 

northeast of Kings Highway (State Route 3) and approximately 

0.3 miles east of Leedstown Road, approximately 2.4 miles 

west of the Potomac River. Latitude and longitude coordinates 

are 38.185139, -76.987864. The estimated fenced-in project 

area will be 125 acres, and the maximum generating capacity 

of the project in alternating current will be 20 megawatts. 

Contact Information: Cindy Berndt, Regulatory Coordinator, 

Department of Environmental Quality, 1111 East Main Street, 

Suite 1400, P.O. Box 1105, Richmond, VA 23218, telephone 

(804) 698-4378, FAX (804) 698-4178. 

DEPARTMENT OF MEDICAL ASSISTANCE 
SERVICES 

Draft Addiction and Recovery Treatment Services 
Appendix B Provider Manual 

The draft Addiction and Recovery Treatment Services 

Appendix B Provider Manual is now available on the 

Department of Medical Assistance Services website at 

https://www.dmas.virginia.gov/#/manualdraft for public 

comment until May 2, 2021. 

Contact Information: Emily McClellan, Regulatory Manager, 

Division of Policy and Research, Department of Medical 

Assistance Services, 600 East Broad Street, Suite 1300, 

Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 371-4300, FAX (804) 

786-1680. 

Draft Hospital Appendix E Provider Manual 

The draft Hospital Appendix E Provider Manual is now 

available on the Department of Medical Assistance Services 

website at https://www.dmas.virginia.gov/#/manualdraft for 

public comment until May 2, 2021. 

Contact Information: Emily McClellan, Regulatory Manager, 

Division of Policy and Research, Department of Medical 

Assistance Services, 600 East Broad Street, Suite 1300, 

Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 371-4300, FAX (804) 

786-1680. 

Draft Hospital Manual Chapter V 

The draft Hospital Manual Chapter V is now available on the 

Department of Medical Assistance Services website at 

https://www.dmas.virginia.gov/#/manualdraft for public 

comment until May 2, 2021. 

Contact Information: Emily McClellan, Regulatory Manager, 

Division of Policy and Research, Department of Medical 

Assistance Services, 600 East Broad Street, Suite 1300, 

Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 371-4300, FAX (804) 

786-1680. 

Draft Physician/Practitioner Provider Manual 
Chapter V 

The draft Physician/Practitioner Provider Manual Chapter V is 

now available on the Department of Medical Assistance 

Services website at 

https://www.dmas.virginia.gov/#/manualdraft for public 

comment until May 2, 2021. 

Contact Information: Emily McClellan, Regulatory Manager, 

Division of Policy and Research, Department of Medical 

Assistance Services, 600 East Broad Street, Suite 1300, 

Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 371-4300, FAX (804) 

786-1680. 

STATE WATER CONTROL BOARD 

Proposed Enforcement Action for Chemung 
Contracting Corporation 

An enforcement action has been proposed for Chemung 

Contracting Corporation for violations of the State Water 

Control Law and regulations at the Chemung Contracting 

Corporation Facility located in Gainesville, Virginia. The State 

https://www.dmas.virginia.gov/#/manualdraft
https://www.dmas.virginia.gov/#/manualdraft
https://www.dmas.virginia.gov/#/manualdraft
https://www.dmas.virginia.gov/#/manualdraft


General Notices 

Volume 37, Issue18  Virginia Register of Regulations  April 26, 2021  

2749 

Water Control Board proposes to issue a consent order to 

resolve violations associated with the Chemung Contracting 

Corporation Facility. A description of the proposed action is 

available at the Department of Environmental Quality office 

listed or online at www.deq.virginia.gov. The staff contact 

person will accept comments by email or by postal mail from 

April 27, 2021, through May 27, 2021. 

Contact Information: Benjamin Holland, Department of 

Environmental Quality, Northern Regional Office, 13901 

Crown Court, Woodbridge, VA 22193, or email 

benjamin.holland@deq.virginia.gov. 

Proposed Enforcement Action for  
Leisure Capital Corporation 

An enforcement action has been proposed for Leisure Capital 

Corporation for violations of the State Water Control Law and 

regulations associated with the Shenandoah Crossing Sewage 

Treatment Plant, located at 174 Horseshoe Circle, 

Gordonsville, Virginia. The State Water Control Board 

proposes to issue a consent order to resolve violations 

associated with Shenandoah Crossing Sewage Treatment 

Plant. A description of the proposed action is available at the 

Department of Environmental Quality office listed or online at 

www.deq.virginia.gov. The staff contact person will accept 

comments by email or postal mail from April 27, 2021, through 

May 27, 2021. 

Contact Information: Stephanie Bellotti, Department of 

Environmental Quality, Northern Regional Office, 13901 

Crown Court, Woodbridge, VA 22193, or email 

stephanie.bellotti@deq.virginia.gov. 

Proposed Enforcement Action for Snow Mountain 
Properties Inc. 

An enforcement action has been proposed for Snow Mountain 

Properties Inc. for violations of the State Water Control Law 

in Carroll County, Virginia. A description of the proposed 

action is available at the Department of Environmental Quality 

office listed or online at www.deq.virginia.gov. The staff 

contact person will accept comments by email or postal mail 

from April 27, 2021, through May 27, 2021. 

Contact Information: Jonathan Chapman, Department of 

Environmental Quality, Southwest Regional Office, 355-A 

Deadmore Street, Abingdon, VA 24210, or email 

jonathan.chapman@deq.virginia.gov. 

 

 

VIRGINIA CODE COMMISSION 

Notice to State Agencies 

Contact Information: Mailing Address: Virginia Code 

Commission, Pocahontas Building, 900 East Main Street, 8th 

Floor, Richmond, VA 23219; Telephone: (804) 698-1810; 

Email: varegs@dls.virginia.gov. 

Meeting Notices: Section 2.2-3707 C of the Code of Virginia 

requires state agencies to post meeting notices on their 

websites and on the Commonwealth Calendar at 

https://commonwealthcalendar.virginia.gov. 

Cumulative Table of Virginia Administrative Code 

Sections Adopted, Amended, or Repealed: A table listing 

regulation sections that have been amended, added, or repealed 

in the Virginia Register of Regulations since the regulations 

were originally published or last supplemented in the print 

version of the Virginia Administrative Code is available at 

http://register.dls.virginia.gov/documents/cumultab.pdf. 

Filing Material for Publication in the Virginia Register of 

Regulations: Agencies use the Regulation Information System 

(RIS) to file regulations and related items for publication in the 

Virginia Register of Regulations. The Registrar's office works 

closely with the Department of Planning and Budget (DPB) to 

coordinate the system with the Virginia Regulatory Town Hall. 

RIS and Town Hall complement and enhance one another by 

sharing pertinent regulatory information. 

https://www.deq.virginia.gov/permits-regulations/public-notices/enforcement-orders
mailto:benjamin.holland@deq.virginia.gov
https://www.deq.virginia.gov/permits-regulations/public-notices/enforcement-orders
mailto:Stephanie.Bellotti@deq.virginia.gov
https://www.deq.virginia.gov/permits-regulations/public-notices/enforcement-orders
mailto:jonathan.chapman@deq.virginia.gov
file://///legmain/sysdata/dlsdata/CODEREGS/regispub/Vol33/Iss04/varegs@dls.virginia.gov
https://commonwealthcalendar.virginia.gov/
http://register.dls.virginia.gov/documents/cumultab.pdf


ERRATA 

Volume 37, Issue18  Virginia Register of Regulations  April 26, 2021  

2750 

BOARD OF NURSING 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC90-26. Regulations for Nurse 

Aide Education Programs. 

Publication: 37:17 VA.R. 2445-2453 April 12, 2021. 

Correction to Final Regulation: 

Page 2448-2449, 18VAC90-26-30, column 1, at "A. Program 

coordinator." remove subsections A through G  

VA.R. Doc. No. R19-5669; Filed April 16, 2021, 2:29 p.m. 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 




