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REGISTER INFORMATION PAGE 

THE VIRGINIA REGISTER OF REGULATIONS is an official state 

publication issued every other week throughout the year. Indexes are published 

quarterly, and are cumulative for the year. The Virginia Register has several 
functions. The new and amended sections of regulations, both as proposed and 

as finally adopted, are required by law to be published in the Virginia Register. 

In addition, the Virginia Register is a source of other information about state 
government, including petitions for rulemaking, emergency regulations, 

executive orders issued by the Governor, and notices of public hearings on 

regulations. 

ADOPTION, AMENDMENT, AND REPEAL OF REGULATIONS 

Unless exempted by law, an agency wishing to adopt, amend, or repeal 

regulations must follow the procedures in the Administrative Process Act (§ 
2.2-4000 et seq. of the Code of Virginia). Typically, this includes first 

publishing in the Virginia Register a notice of intended regulatory action; a 

basis, purpose, substance and issues statement; an economic impact analysis 
prepared by the Department of Planning and Budget; the agency’s response to 

the economic impact analysis; a summary; a notice giving the public an 

opportunity to comment on the proposal; and the text of the proposed 

regulation. 

Following publication of the proposed regulation in the Virginia Register, the 

promulgating agency receives public comments for a minimum of 60 days. 
The Governor reviews the proposed regulation to determine if it is necessary 

to protect the public health, safety, and welfare, and if it is clearly written and 

easily understandable. If the Governor chooses to comment on the proposed 
regulation, his comments must be transmitted to the agency and the Registrar 

of Regulations no later than 15 days following the completion of the 60-day 
public comment period. The Governor’s comments, if any, will be published 

in the Virginia Register. Not less than 15 days following the completion of the 

60-day public comment period, the agency may adopt the proposed regulation. 

The Joint Commission on Administrative Rules or the appropriate standing 

committee of each house of the General Assembly may meet during the 

promulgation or final adoption process and file an objection with the Registrar 
and the promulgating agency. The objection will be published in the Virginia 

Register. Within 21 days after receipt by the agency of a legislative objection, 

the agency shall file a response with the Registrar, the objecting legislative 

body, and the Governor. 

When final action is taken, the agency again publishes the text of the 

regulation as adopted, highlighting all changes made to the proposed 
regulation and explaining any substantial changes made since publication of 

the proposal. A 30-day final adoption period begins upon final publication in 

the Virginia Register. 

The Governor may review the final regulation during this time and, if he 

objects, forward his objection to the Registrar and the agency. In addition to 

or in lieu of filing a formal objection, the Governor may suspend the effective 
date of a portion or all of a regulation until the end of the next regular General 

Assembly session by issuing a directive signed by a majority of the members 

of the appropriate legislative body and the Governor. The Governor’s 
objection or suspension of the regulation, or both, will be published in the 

Virginia Register. 

If the Governor finds that the final regulation contains changes made after 
publication of the proposed regulation that have substantial impact, he may 

require the agency to provide an additional 30-day public comment period on 

the changes. Notice of the additional public comment period required by the 
Governor will be published in the Virginia Register. Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.06 

of the Code of Virginia, any person may request that the agency solicit 

additional public comment on certain changes made after publication of the 
proposed regulation. The agency shall suspend the regulatory process for 30 

days upon such request from 25 or more individuals, unless the agency 

determines that the changes have minor or inconsequential impact. 

A regulation becomes effective at the conclusion of the 30-day final adoption 

period, or at any other later date specified by the promulgating agency, unless 

(i) a legislative objection has been filed, in which event the regulation, unless 
withdrawn, becomes effective on the date specified, which shall be after the 

expiration of the 21-day objection period; (ii) the Governor exercises his 

authority to require the agency to provide for additional public comment, in 

which event the regulation, unless withdrawn, becomes effective on the date 

specified, which shall be after the expiration of the period for which the 

Governor has provided for additional public comment; (iii) the Governor and 
the General Assembly exercise their authority to suspend the effective date of 

a regulation until the end of the next regular legislative session; or (iv) the 

agency suspends the regulatory process, in which event the regulation, unless 
withdrawn, becomes effective on the date specified, which shall be after the 

expiration of the 30-day public comment period and no earlier than 15 days 

from publication of the readopted action. 

A regulatory action may be withdrawn by the promulgating agency at any 

time before the regulation becomes final. 

FAST-TRACK RULEMAKING PROCESS 

Section 2.2-4012.1 of the Code of Virginia provides an alternative to the 

standard process set forth in the Administrative Process Act for regulations 

deemed by the Governor to be noncontroversial. To use this process, the 
Governor's concurrence is required and advance notice must be provided to 

certain legislative committees. Fast-track regulations become effective on the 

date noted in the regulatory action if fewer than 10 persons object to using the 
process in accordance with § 2.2-4012.1. 

EMERGENCY REGULATIONS 

Pursuant to § 2.2-4011 of the Code of Virginia, an agency may adopt 
emergency regulations if necessitated by an emergency situation or when 

Virginia statutory law or the appropriation act or federal law or federal 

regulation requires that a regulation be effective in 280 days or fewer from its 
enactment. In either situation, approval of the Governor is required. The 

emergency regulation is effective upon its filing with the Registrar of 
Regulations, unless a later date is specified per § 2.2-4012 of the Code of 

Virginia. Emergency regulations are limited to no more than 18 months in 

duration; however, may be extended for six months under the circumstances 
noted in § 2.2-4011 D. Emergency regulations are published as soon as 

possible in the Virginia Register and are on the Register of Regulations website 

at register.dls.virgina.gov. 

During the time the emergency regulation is in effect, the agency may 

proceed with the adoption of permanent regulations in accordance with the 

Administrative Process Act. If the agency chooses not to adopt the regulations, 
the emergency status ends when the prescribed time limit expires. 

STATEMENT 

The foregoing constitutes a generalized statement of the procedures to be 
followed. For specific statutory language, it is suggested that Article 2 (§ 2.2-

4006 et seq.) of Chapter 40 of Title 2.2 of the Code of Virginia be examined 

carefully. 

CITATION TO THE VIRGINIA REGISTER 

The Virginia Register is cited by volume, issue, page number, and date. 34:8 

VA.R. 763-832 December 11, 2017, refers to Volume 34, Issue 8, pages 763 
through 832 of the Virginia Register issued on  

December 11, 2017. 

The Virginia Register of Regulations is published pursuant to Article 6 (§ 2.2-
4031 et seq.) of Chapter 40 of Title 2.2 of the Code of Virginia. 

Members of the Virginia Code Commission: John S. Edwards, Chair; 

Marcus B. Simon, Vice Chair; Ward L. Armstrong; Nicole Cheuk; Rita 

Davis; Leslie L. Lilley; Jennifer L. McClellan; Christopher R. Nolen; Don 

L. Scott, Jr.; Charles S. Sharp; Samuel T. Towell; Malfourd W. Trumbo. 

Staff of the Virginia Register: Karen Perrine, Registrar of Regulations; 
Anne Bloomsburg, Assistant Registrar; Nikki Clemons, Regulations 

Analyst; Rhonda Dyer, Publications Assistant; Terri Edwards, Senior 

Operations Staff Assistant. 

https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/2.2-4011/
https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/2.2-4011/
http://register.dls.virgina.gov/
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PUBLICATION SCHEDULE AND DEADLINES 

May 2021 through June 2022 

Volume: Issue Material Submitted By Noon* Will Be Published On 

37:20 May 5, 2021 May 24, 2021 

37:21 May 19, 2021 June 7, 2021 

37:22 June 2, 2021 June 21, 2021 

37:23 June 16, 2021 July 5, 2021 

37:24 June 30, 2021 July 19, 2021 

37:25 July 14, 2021 August 2, 2021 

37:26 July 28, 2021 August 16, 2021 

38:1 August 11, 2021 August 30, 2021 

38:2 August 25, 2021 September 13, 2021 

38:3 September 8, 2021 September 27, 2021 

38:4 September 22, 2021 October 11, 2021 

38:5 October 6, 2021 October 25, 2021 

38:6 October 20, 2021 November 8, 2021 

38:7 November 3, 2021 November 22, 2021 

38:8 November 15, 2021 (Monday) December 6, 2021 

38:9 December 1, 2021 December 20, 2021 

38:10 December 17, 2021 January 3, 2022 

38:11 December 31, 2021 January 17, 2022 

38:12 January 14, 2022 January 31, 2022 

38:13 January 26, 2022 February 14, 2022 

38:14 February 9, 2022 February 28, 2022 

38:15 February 23, 2022 March 14, 2022 

38:16 March 9, 2022 March 28, 2022 

38:17 March 23, 2022 April 11, 2022 

38:18 April 6, 2022 April 25, 2022 

38:19 April 20, 2022 May 9, 2022 

38:20 May 4, 2022 May 23, 2022 

38:21 May 18, 2022 June 6, 2022 

*Filing deadlines are Wednesdays unless otherwise specified. 
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PETITIONS FOR RULEMAKING 

TITLE 2. AGRICULTURE 

BOARD OF AGRICULTURE AND CONSUMER 
SERVICES 

Initial Agency Notice 

Title of Regulation: 2VAC5 - a regulation regarding home 

service contract providers currently does not exist.  

Statutory Authority: § 59.1-434.4 of the Code of Virginia. 

Name of Petitioner: David Sacks. 

Nature of Petitioner's Request: Petitioner requests that the 

Board of Agriculture and Consumer Services promulgate 

regulations governing the issuance and provision of home 

service contracts to protect the Virginia consumers who 

purchase these contracts. 

Agency Plan for Disposition of Request: The Board of 

Agriculture and Consumer Services will consider this request 

at its next scheduled meeting following the public comment 

period. This meeting will occur in July 2021. As of April 12, 

2021, the board has not established the date for its July 2021 

meeting. The agency will update its plan when this meeting 

date is established. 

Public Comment Deadline: May 30, 2021. 

Agency Contact: Michael Menefee, Program Manager, 

Charitable and Regulatory Programs, Department of 

Agriculture and Consumer Services, P.O. Box 1163, 

Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 786-3983, or email 

michael.menefee@vdacs.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. PFR21-31; Filed April 12, 2021, 10:46 a.m. 

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 12. HEALTH 

STATE BOARD OF HEALTH 

Agency Decision 

Title of Regulation: 12VAC5-371. Regulations for the 

Licensure of Nursing Facilities. 

Statutory Authority: § 32.1-127 of the Code of Virginia. 

Name of Petitioner: Vic Nicholls. 

Nature of Petitioner's Request: Virginia regulations must be 

changed to conform to federal Medicare and Medicaid 

regulations for long-term care facilities to comply with the 

clear direction of § 32.1-127 of the Code of Virginia. That law 

requires that Virginia regulations for hospitals and nursing 

homes "conform" to "health and safety standards established 

under provisions of Title XVIII (Medicare) and Title XIX 

(Medicaid) of the Social Security Act." 42 CFR Part 483. 

12VAC5-371, Regulations for the Licensure of Nursing 

Facilities, contains Virginia licensure regulations for the same 

facilities. The Virginia licensure regulations not only do not 

conform to their federal certification counterparts but are 

weaker across the board. That is, 95% of Virginia NFs and 

SNFs seek certification for Medicare or Medicaid and thus 

must comply with the more stringent federal regulations. There 

is no reason that Virginia regulations for licensing the other 

5.0% should be different, and by Virginia law they may not be. 

A few of the federal regulations allow for waivers in the 

presence of verified temporary shortages of health personnel 

or in the presence of equivalent alternative patient safeguards. 

CMS Medicare SNF waiver authority is re-delegated to the 

CMS Regional Offices (ROs). Waivers for NFs to provide 

licensed personnel on a 24-hour basis repose with the states. 

Life safety code waivers for NFs and Intermediate Care 

Facilities for Individuals with Intellectual Disabilities 

(ICF/IIDs) are the responsibility of the states (See 42 CFR 

483.470(j)(2)(A)). I recommend that the State Board of Health 

delete the current contents of 12VAC5-371 and incorporate by 

reference 42 CFR Part 483 to comply with Virginia law. 

Incorporation by reference rather that mirroring the language 

will ensure that they are always in compliance with Virginia 

law and always up to date. I also recommend that the Board of 

Nursing review 18VAC90-19-250. Criteria for delegation, and 

other nursing practice regulations to ensure they conform to the 

federal rules for nursing homes and hospitals. Similarly, the 

Department of Medical Assistance Services should review its 

regulations for conformity. A list of waived and emergency 

regulations, whether for a single home or for the industry, can 

be maintained on a web page of the Department of Health. 

Agency Decision: Request granted. 

Statement of Reason for Decision: The State Health 

Commissioner, acting on behalf of the State Board of Health, 

has decided that a standard regulatory action should be 

initiated. 

Agency Contact: Rebekah E. Allen, Senior Policy Analyst, 

Virginia Department of Health, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 

401, Richmond, VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-2102, or 

email regulatorycomment@vdh.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R20-53; Filed April 7, 2021, 4:51 p.m. 

Agency Decision 

Title of Regulation: 12VAC5-501. Rules and Regulations 

Governing the Construction and Maintenance of Migrant 

Labor Camps. 

Statutory Authority: § 32.1-211 of the Virginia Code. 

Name of Petitioner: Legal Aid Justice Center. 

Nature of Petitioner's Request: "Dear Commissioner Oliver: 

We write to follow up on our petitions of March 30 and May 6 

requesting rulemaking and immediate protection for the 

mailto:Michael.Menefee@vdacs.virginia.gov
mailto:regulatorycomment@vdh.virginia.gov
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Commonwealth's farmworker and migrant worker community 

during this dire health crisis. We just entered June. We must 

act now, as many migrant workers are already here, 

imminently arriving, or slated to arrive in the thousands in the 

coming months. 

The Present and Looming Crisis for Farmworkers in the 

Commonwealth. As we have noted, migrant workers are 

plainly essential workers, feeding both Virginians and indeed 

the world, but they are also highly vulnerable to COVID-19, 

particularly in light of their lack of access to medical care, 

health insurance, and personal transportation; their incredibly 

close-quartered living and working conditions (often working 

shoulder to shoulder); and their often limited English 

proficiency (leaving them less likely to have access to testing 

or treatment). Many workers are also older, adding additional 

risk factors. Additionally, hundreds of these workers will be 

located on the Eastern Shore, which has been a hotspot both 

for Virginia and indeed nationwide. Without further 

protections, they are left abandoned while they work to feed 

us. 

The Commonwealth has not Enacted Enforceable COVID 

Protections for Farmworkers. Despite numerous petitions from 

our office for enforceable regulations and protections for 

farmworkers, we have not seen anything issued beyond 

recommendations, many of which are untenable or shift the 

burden to the workers; none of them can be enforced against 

an employer who chooses not to follow them. 

Recommendations plainly do not create enforceable 

protections for workers. That is: None of the Virginia 

Department of Health's (VDH's) suggestions are mandatory. 

Other States Are Proactively Taking Enforceable Measures to 

Protect Vulnerable Workers. By way of contrast, other state 

governments, in recognition of the need to treat essential 

workers as essential, have been implementing measures to 

protect farmworkers. As we previously noted, in late April and 

early May in Oregon, temporary regulations were enacted by 

the Oregon Occupational Safety and Health Administration to 

require farms to maintain social distancing during work, break 

and meal periods, and in employer-provided housing and 

transportation. Oregon also released $12 million in emergency 

housing funds, for which a large portion was earmarked for 

providing safe housing for migrant and seasonable 

farmworkers. In Wisconsin, in late April, the Wisconsin 

Department of Health Services issued an emergency order that 

mandated agricultural employers to take certain steps to 

prevent the spread of COVID-19. 

The Commonwealth Can and Should Do More to Protect 

Farmworkers. Although some states have indeed begun to take 

measures to protect their most vulnerable workers, many been 

derelict in their duties to these workers. Virginia still has the 

opportunity to be a leader amongst states to enact enforceable 

protections. Virginia law grants the State Board of Health 

additional powers that may be used to protect public health 

during public health emergencies. Governor Northam declared 

COVID-19 a communicable disease of public health threat in 

his state-of-emergency order in March 2020, which has been 

extended. VDH, moreover, has broad authority to issue orders 

and special regulations needed to protect public health in 

emergencies. See § 32.1-13 of the Code of Virginia. It has the 

authority to issue mandatory requirements for employers to 

protect farmworkers' health, not just recommendations. VDH 

additionally has broad oversight over migrant labor camps. See 

§§ 32.1-203 through 32.1-211 of the Code of Virginia. Thus, 

pursuant to § 32.1-13 of the Code of Virginia, we again request 

VDH to promulgate regulations for the following: 

1. Requiring Additional COVID-19 Plans Prior to Issuance 

of License for Migrant Housing. VDH must review and 

license farmworker housing. In addition to its current 

checklist, VDH should add additional COVID-19 plans prior 

to the issuance of any license. 1. Those requirements should 

include, but not be limited to: (a) Ensuring that employer 

provided migrant housing sleeping arrangements comply 

with recommended six feet apart social distancing and are 

highly ventilated. (b) Providing separate living facilities for 

workers that are over 60 or have underlying health 

conditions and have these workers work within six feet of 

other workers. (c) Requiring designated quarantine sleeping 

areas with separate cooking and bathing facilities for 

quarantined workers. (d) Requiring proof of sufficient 

sanitizing and handwashing supplies. (e) Requiring proof of 

sufficient masks for all quarantined workers who develop 

COVID-19 symptoms or test positive for COVID-19. (f) 

Requiring a designated specific individual responsible for 

ensuring workers comply with health and sanitation 

requirements. (g) Requiring a designated specific individual 

to receive reports from workers who may have COVID-19 

symptoms and be able to coordinate and transport such 

workers to obtain medical services. (h) Requiring a 

designated specific individual whose sole responsibility is to 

care for quarantined workers and ensure they have sufficient 

food, that the quarantine is enforced, and that transportation 

to medical care is provided. 

2. Requiring Employers to Inform Workers about COVID-

19 Concerns. In addition to informing workers about the 

terms and conditions of employment when workers are still 

in their hometowns, all persons who are recruiting workers 

for agricultural and migrant employment in Virginia in 2020 

must provide detailed information about the risks of 

COVID-19. That information should include how employers 

will protect their safety while transporting, housing, and 

employing them in the United States. Prospective workers 

should also be advised that they will not be required to pay 

for any cleaning and sanitizing products and the agricultural 

employer will have an approved health plan for all workers 

that includes regular sanitizing of the housing and vehicles 

and other communal areas. All prospective H-2A and H-2B 

employees should also be informed that they will receive 
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health care at no cost should they develop COVID-19 

symptoms and need to be tested, and how they will be 

quarantined if they develop symptoms or test positive. 

3. Requiring Employers to Implement COVID-19 

Workplace Protections and Plans. Employers must plan 

work crew activity to ensure proper distancing to avoid 

unnecessary transmission of the disease at work. 

Additionally, most H-2A worker housing is located in rural 

areas, and employers normally bus workers into small towns 

to purchase groceries and obtain banking and financial 

services. Sufficient vehicles must be available such that 

workers are not sitting directly next to other workers and 

sufficient ventilation exists. Given the recent hoarding of 

essential supplies and food, it is possible that small grocery 

stores could run out of such items and leave workers or 

members of the community vulnerable. Moreover, a busload 

of 50 to 100 or so H-2 workers all entering stores at busy 

times for local shoppers could drastically increase the 

likelihood of spreading COVID-19. Therefore, advance 

arrangements must be made with these services to avoid 

creating a scarcity of essential food and supplies at grocery 

stores and to protect against the spread of the virus in these 

small communities already stressed by the impacts of this 

global pandemic. 

4. Disallowing Terminations Based on COVID-19. Under 

no circumstances should growers or their agents be allowed 

to terminate and send home H-2A and H-2B workers who 

are sick with or have been exposed to COVID-19. 

5. Disallowing Evictions from Employer Housing. H-2A 

employers (and many H-2B employers) control workers' 

housing, and have, in the past, revoked workers' access to 

that housing on short notice. No H-2A or H-2B workers 

should be evicted or in any way removed from their housing 

without prior review and approval of the Department of 

Health (H-2A) and written notification provided to the 

Mexican Consulate. 

6. Ensuring Medical Coverage and Resources for Migrant 

Workers. All medical treatment and costs for all COVID-19 

related treatment and medical expenses should be covered 

by the Commonwealth of Virginia, and no worker should be 

sent home with any COVID-19 symptoms. In order to help 

stop the spread of COVID-19, all H-2A and H-2B workers 

need to know their medical treatment and expenses related 

to COVID-19 will be fully covered during the time they are 

working and residing in Virginia. This should include 

assurances that any worker who is tested for COVID-19 will 

have those costs covered even if the result is negative for 

COVID-19. A designated hotline in Spanish capable of 

receiving information or messages 24 hours a day should be 

established within the Department of Health to allow 

workers to report potential symptoms and request medical 

assistance, and the Departments should have ready access to 

COVID-19 testing. Workers' compensation coverage needs 

to cover H-2A and H-2B workers who contract COVID-19 

or must be quarantined due to the virus. These workers 

would not be exposed to the virus if they had not come to 

Virginia to perform migrant work. 

Conclusion. Legal Aid Justice Center reiterates its petition for 

prompt rulemaking and emergency, enforceable measures to 

ensure the protection of all farmworkers, their families and 

communities, and the residents of the Commonwealth of 

Virginia and asks the Commonwealth to support our most 

vulnerable workers in these harrowing times." 

Agency Decision: Request denied. 

Statement of Reason for Decision: This petition for rulemaking 

was considered by the State Health Commissioner on April 8, 

2021. After a review of the information provided, wherein no 

comments were received, the State Health Commissioner on 

behalf of the State Board of Health responds as follows: 

Response to Section 1: Proactively, the Virginia Department of 

Health has coordinated with both private and state agency 

stakeholders to convey best practices and guidance to mitigate 

the spread of COVID-19 within agricultural worker 

communities. This guidance encompasses the concerns 

outlined in section 1 of the petition; a sample of available 

guidance is listed. 

• Meat and Poultry Industry Guidance (VDH) (3/12/2021) 

• Summary of Options for Managing COVID-19 Exposed, 

Asymptomatic Meat and Poultry Plant Workers (3/12/2021) 

• Poultry Plant Workers Tested for COVID-19 (VDH) 

(3/12/2021) 

• Poultry Employer Toolkit for COVID-19 (VDH): English, 

Spanish, Korean, Mandarin Chinese, Arabic, Haitian Creole 

• Meat and Poultry Industry Guidance (CDC) 

• Protecting Seafood Processing Workers from COVID-19 

(CDC) 

• Guidance for Meat and Seafood Processors (CDC) 

• Interim Guidance for Migrant Labor Camp Operators and 

Employees Regarding COVID-19 

Response to Sections 2-3: In January of 2021, the Virginia 

Department of Labor and Industry finalized emergency 

standards to establish requirements for employers to control, 

prevent, and mitigate the spread of COVID-19. It appears these 

standards address the concerns of sections 2 and 3 of the 

petition. 

Response to Sections 4-6: The Virginia Department of Health 

does not hold the statutory or regulatory authority to administer 

or enforce the rules regarding termination of employment or 

eviction of H-2A or H-2B workers. In regards to treatment and 

costs associated with COVID-19 treatment, the Virginia 

Department of Health has embarked on a campaign to ensure 

https://www.vdh.virginia.gov/coronavirus/vdh-interim-guidance-for-implementing-safety-practices-for-critical-infrastructure-workers-non-healthcare-during-widespread-community-transmission-in-virginia-meat-and-poultry-processing-focu/
https://www.vdh.virginia.gov/content/uploads/sites/182/2020/12/VDH_ExposedAsymptomaticWorkers.pdf
https://www.vdh.virginia.gov/content/uploads/sites/182/2020/12/VDH_ExposedAsymptomaticWorkers.pdf
https://www.vdh.virginia.gov/content/uploads/sites/182/2020/07/Poultry-Plant-Workers-Tested-for-COVID-19-VDH.pdf
https://www.vdh.virginia.gov/content/uploads/sites/182/2020/06/1.Poultry-Toolkit-Overview.docx
https://www.vdh.virginia.gov/content/uploads/sites/182/2020/06/1.Poultry-Toolkit-Overview_Spanish.docx
https://www.vdh.virginia.gov/content/uploads/sites/182/2020/06/1.Poultry-Toolkit-Overview_Korean.docx
https://www.vdh.virginia.gov/content/uploads/sites/182/2020/06/1.Poultry-Toolkit-Overview_Mandarin.docx
https://www.vdh.virginia.gov/content/uploads/sites/182/2020/06/1.Poultry-Toolkit-Overview_Arabic.docx
https://www.vdh.virginia.gov/content/uploads/sites/182/2020/06/1.Poultry-Toolkit-Overview_Haitian-Creole.docx
https://www.cdc.gov/coronavirus/2019-ncov/community/organizations/meat-poultry-processing-workers-employers.html
https://www.cdc.gov/coronavirus/2019-ncov/community/guidance-seafood-processing.html
https://www.cdc.gov/coronavirus/2019-ncov/community/guidance-seafood-processing.html
https://www.vdh.virginia.gov/content/uploads/sites/182/2020/05/Seafood_Processing_Industry.pdf
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equitable access to COVID-19 testing and vaccines for all 

Virginians while focusing on vulnerable populations, such as 

our agriculture workers. Costs associated with COVID-19 

testing or vaccines are typically covered by state or federal 

funds where services are rendered at no cost. It appears the 

items listed in sections 4-6 fall outside of the scope of authority 

of the Virginia Department of Health. 

Agency Contact: Kristin Marie Clay, Senior Policy Analyst, 

Virginia Department of Health, 109 Governor Street, 5th 

Floor, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 864-7474, or 

email kristin.clay@vdh.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. PFR21-17; Filed April 8, 2021, 2:21 p.m. 

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 24. TRANSPORTATION AND MOTOR 
VEHICLES 

COMMISSION ON THE VIRGINIA ALCOHOL SAFETY 
ACTION PROGRAM 

Initial Agency Notice 

Title of Regulation: 24VAC35-30. VASAP Case 

Management Policy and Procedure Manual. 

Statutory Authority: §§ 18.2-271.1 and 18.2-271.2 of the Code 

of Virginia. 

Name of Petitioner: Cynthia Hites. 

Nature of Petitioner's Request: "I, Cynthia Hites, a citizen of 

the Commonwealth of Virginia, pursuant to § 2.2-4007 of the 

Code of Virginia, do humbly submit this petition. 

For years VASAP has been flying blind regarding the number 

of false positive interlock readings being suffered by their 

clients. 

Unexplained instances of failed interlock readings have 

classically been attributed to a glitch, or malfunction in an 

individual device, instead of VASAP admitting the issue is 

systemic in nature. 

Utilizing the electrochemical fuel cell as sensor technology for 

interlock devices means a very high number of failed readings 

are expected due to sources other than consumed ethanol 

(C2H6O). ASAP has chosen to adopt this vastly inferior 

technology and has also grossly misapplied it. 

In order to evaluate the full scope of effects wrought by using 

the fuel cell, it is now imperative the VASAP agency strive to 

quantify how this choice impacts the efficacy of its Interlock 

Program. 

Certain metrics need to be consistently and continually 

obtained for review in order to properly evaluate the VASAP 

IID program. 

We need to know how may IIDs are installed, and how many 

failed readings (>.02) occur per device. Then, out of those fails, 

how many are deemed "violations," and of those "violations" 

the number of revocation hearings set, the number of clients 

denied due process by having their interlock time altered by 

ASAP, and the number of subsequent convictions. 

It was estimated during a recent quarterly VASAP meeting that 

there are 200 failed IID readings per day. If this holds true, and 

if there are 7000 interlocks installed at any given time, then 

statistically, after 35 days, every single client has one failed 

reading; after 70 days that jumps to two failed readings per 

client, and these numbers are unacceptable. 

A high number of failed interlock readings due to high BrAc 

would clearly be indicative of a failed program. Either the IID 

machines are detecting non-consumed ethanol at an 

unacceptably high rate, indicating systemic failure, or despite 

their installation, people in large numbers are deciding to 

attempt drunk driving, indicating systemic failure. 

For VASAP to continue to neglect the obscenely high number 

of false positives and operate as if interlocks were reasonably 

accurate, would be irresponsible and highly suspect. 

VASAP owes the citizens of Virginia a level of interlock 

accountability that, to this date, has not been realized. Without 

obtaining this empirical data, VASAP can continue to claim 

program integrity and assert purely anecdotal evidence that the 

interlock devices are accurate. 

I would be very willing to wager that after the number of 

Virginia's false positives is ascertained, the interlock devices 

will lose all of their assumed credibility. 

Employing any language the agency sees fit, I propose that the 

following amendment of interlock data acquisition be made to 

either 24VAC35-30-150, included in the annual VASAP 

Executive Summary, and/or included in an otherwise 

appropriate agency document, to be publicly disseminated on 

a yearly basis. 

To be broken down by each individual ASAP, and by case 

worker, we need to know: 

1) Number of IIDs installed 

2) Number of failed IID readings per machine (per client). 

Of all the interlock fails, further disseminated by: 

(A) Number of men, and number of women 

(B) Number of fails occurring upon rolling retest 

(C) Number of those clients with readings deemed 

"violations." 

a) Number of clients with "violations" being given the benefit 

of a revocation hearing. 

b) Number of clients with "violations" being given additional 

interlock time without being afforded due process. 

mailto:kristin.clay@vdh.virginia.gov
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(D) Number of these revocation hearings resulting in 

conviction. 

Keeping track of these statistics will serve a vital role in 

affirming program integrity. 

Most humbly, 

Cynthia Hites" 

Agency Plan for Disposition of Request: This petition will be 

considered by the Commission on Virginia Alcohol Safety 

Action Program at its quarterly meeting on September 17, 

2021. 

Public Comment Deadline: September 10, 2021. 

Agency Contact: Richard L. Foy, Field Services Specialist, 

Commission on the Virginia Alcohol Safety Action Program, 

1111 East Main Street, Suite 801, Richmond, VA 23219, 

telephone (804) 786-5895, or email 

richard.foy@vasap.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. PFR21-32; Filed April 21, 2021, 1:16 p.m. 

mailto:Richard.Foy@vasap.virginia.gov
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PERIODIC REVIEWS AND SMALL BUSINESS IMPACT REVIEWS 

TITLE 4. CONSERVATION AND NATURAL 
RESOURCES 

VIRGINIA SOIL AND WATER CONSERVATION 
BOARD 

Agency Notice 

Pursuant to Executive Order 14 (as amended July 16, 2018) 

and §§ 2.2-4007.1 and 2.2-4017 of the Code of Virginia, the 

following regulation is undergoing a periodic review and a 

small business impact review: 4VAC50-85, Nutrient 

Management Training and Certification Regulations. The 

review will be guided by the principles in Executive Order 14 

(as amended July 16, 2018). The purpose of this review is to 

determine whether this regulation should be repealed, 

amended, or retained in its current form. Public comment is 

sought on the review of any issue relating to this regulation, 

including whether the regulation (i) is necessary for the 

protection of public health, safety, and welfare or for the 

economical performance of important governmental functions; 

(ii) minimizes the economic impact on small businesses in a 

manner consistent with the stated objectives of applicable law; 

and (iii) is clearly written and easily understandable. 

Public comment period begins May 10, 2021, and ends May 

31, 2021. 

Comments must include the commenter's name and address 

(physical or email) information in order to receive a response 

to the comment from the agency. Following the close of the 

public comment period, a report of both reviews will be posted 

on the Virginia Regulatory Town Hall and published in the 

Virginia Register of Regulations. 

Contact Information: Lisa McGee, Policy and Planning 

Director, Virginia Soil and Water Conservation Board, 600 

East Main Street, 24th Floor, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone 

(804) 786-4378. 

TITLE 12. HEALTH 

STATE BOARD OF HEALTH 

Agency Notice 

Pursuant to Executive Order 14 (as amended July 16, 2018) 

and §§ 2.2-4007.1 and 2.2-4017 of the Code of Virginia, the 

following regulation is undergoing a periodic review and a 

small business impact review: 12VAC5-71, Regulations 

Governing Virginia Newborn Screening Services. The 

review will be guided by the principles in Executive Order 14 

(as amended July 16, 2018). The purpose of this review is to 

determine whether this regulation should be repealed, 

amended, or retained in its current form. Public comment is 

sought on the review of any issue relating to this regulation, 

including whether the regulation (i) is necessary for the 

protection of public health, safety, and welfare or for the 

economical performance of important governmental functions; 

(ii) minimizes the economic impact on small businesses in a 

manner consistent with the stated objectives of applicable law; 

and (iii) is clearly written and easily understandable. 

Public comment period begins May 10, 2021, and ends May 

31, 2021. 

Comments must include the commenter's name and address 

(physical or email) information in order to receive a response 

to the comment from the agency. Following the close of the 

public comment period, a report of both reviews will be posted 

on the Virginia Regulatory Town Hall and published in the 

Virginia Register of Regulations. 

Contact Information: Robin Buskey, Policy Analyst, Office of 

Family Health Services, Department of Health, 109 Governor 

Street, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 863-7253. 

* * * 

Report of Findings 

Pursuant to §§ 2.2-4007.1 and 2.2-4017 of the Code of 

Virginia, the State Board of Health conducted a periodic 

review and a small business impact review of 12VAC5-165, 

Regulations for the Repacking of Crab Meat, and 

determined that this regulation should be retained in its current 

form. The department is publishing its report of findings dated 

December 3, 2020, to support this decision. 

This regulation meets the criteria set out in Executive Order 14 

(2010) because it is necessary to protect public health. The 

Regulations for the Repacking of Crab Meat (12VAC5-165) 

pertain to the practice of transferring crab meat from one 

container of one establishment, and the term is defined in 

§ 28.2-800 in the Code of Virginia, into the container of an 

establishment certified by the Division of Shellfish Sanitation. 

This regulation pertains to the source of crabmeat and handling 

to prevent pathogenic growth in the ready to eat product to 

protect the consumer. 

The Department of Health recommends that this regulation 

remain in effect with no change. No public comments were 

received about this regulation during the public comment 

period, which began December 9, 2019, and ended December 

30, 2019. The regulation was amended in 2014. 

There is a continuing need for this regulation because the 

regulation protects public health in regards to consumption of 

imported crabmeat that is repacked into containers that differ 

from the original processor. This periodic review is the first 

evaluation of the regulation since it was amended in 2014. In 

that time, technology, economic conditions, and other factors 

have not changed in the area affected by this regulation. No 

comments were received on this regulation during the public 

comment period, which began December 9, 2019, and 
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concluded December 30, 2019. This regulation is required by 

state law, and is not overly complex. Consistent with the stated 

objectives of applicable law, it has no negative impact on the 

regulated community or on small businesses and does not 

overlap, duplicate, or conflict with federal or state law or 

regulation. As a result of this periodic review, the Department 

of Health recommends retention of the existing regulation with 

no changes. 

Contact Information: Danielle Schools, Shellfish Plant 

Program Manager, Virginia Department of Health, 109 

Governor Street, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 864-

7467. 

TITLE 22. SOCIAL SERVICES 

DEPARTMENT FOR AGING AND REHABILITATIVE 
SERVICES 

Report of Findings 

Pursuant to §§ 2.2-4007.1 and 2.2-4017 of the Code of 

Virginia, the Department for Aging and Rehabilitative 

Services (DARS) conducted a periodic review and a small 

business impact review of 22VAC30-20, Provision of 

Vocational Rehabilitation Services, and determined that this 

regulation should be amended. The department is publishing 

its report of findings dated April 13, 2021, to support this 

decision. 

The agency recommends that the regulation be amended. Upon 

review of the chapter during the periodic review, DARS 

identified a few areas that could benefit from minor revisions 

and clarifications. 

The regulation meets the criteria set out in Executive Order 14 

(2018) as it is necessary for the protection of public health, 

safety, and welfare of individuals in the Commonwealth. The 

regulation ensures vocational rehabilitation (VR) services are 

provided in accordance with federal laws and regulations and 

state laws. The regulation provides VR clients and the public 

clarity with regard to VR eligibility, types of services, 

participation in the cost of services, and client rights. No 

comments have been received indicating that the regulation 

was not clearly written or easily understandable. 

There is a continued need for the regulation as it protects the 

health, welfare, and safety of VR clients. During the periodic 

review, DARS received one comment regarding pre-

employment transition services for youth in psychiatric 

residential treatment facilities and other temporary congregate 

residential settings. The regulation is designed to support 

clarity and ensure transparency in the delivery of VR services 

in the Commonwealth. The regulation ensures VR services are 

provided in accordance with federal laws and regulations and 

state laws. The regulation aligns and supports compliance with 

the federal Rehabilitation Act of 1973 (29 USC § 701 et seq.) 

and the ensuing federal VR regulations found at 34 CFR Part 

361. The regulation does not conflict with federal or state law 

or regulation. The regulation ensures fidelity to the federal and 

state intent of the VR program. The chapter was last revised in 

2018 to bring the existing regulation into conformity with the 

federal regulations found at 34 CFR Part 361 that were 

amended in 2016. During the 2018 revision, 22VAC30-20 was 

amended to (i) provide for pre-employment transition services 

for students with disabilities; (ii) require that a client obtain 

competitive employment in an integrated setting before the 

client's vocational rehabilitation case be closed with the client 

obtaining a successful employment outcome; (iii) disallow the 

case of a vocational rehabilitation client to be closed as 

successful if the client is earning less than the minimum or 

customary wages or benefits paid for the client's employment; 

and (iv) require that individuals with disabilities receive 

vocational counseling before they can be employed in 

positions earning less than minimum or customary wages or 

benefits paid for their employment. There is a no small 

business impact as a result of this regulation. 

Contact Information: Charlotte Arbogast, Policy Analyst, 

Department for Aging and Rehabilitative Services, 8004 

Franklin Farms Drive, Richmond, VA 23229, telephone (804) 

662-7063, FAX (804) 662-7663, TDD (800) 464-9950, or 

email charlotte.arbogast@dars.virginia.gov. 

* * * 

Report of Findings 

Pursuant to §§ 2.2-4007.1 and 2.2-4017 of the Code of 

Virginia, the Department for Aging and Rehabilitative 

Services conducted a periodic review and a small business 

impact review of 22VAC30-50, Policies and Procedures for 

Administering the Commonwealth Neurotrauma Initiative 

Trust Fund, and determined that this regulation should be 

amended. Upon review, DARS identified several areas that 

could benefit from minor revisions. The changes align the 

regulatory chapter with the Code of Virginia and current 

practices and reduce potential ambiguities. 

The fast-track regulatory action to amend 22VAC30-50, which 

is published in this issue of the Virginia Register, serves as the 

report of findings. 

Contact Information: Charlotte Arbogast, Policy Advisor, 

Department for Aging and Rehabilitative Services, 8004 

Franklin Farms Drive, Richmond, VA 23229, telephone (804) 

662-7063, FAX (804) 662-7663, TDD (800) 464-9950, or 

email charlotte.arbogast@dars.virginia.gov. 

STATE BOARD OF SOCIAL SERVICES 

Report of Findings 

Pursuant to §§ 2.2-4007.1 and 2.2-4017 of the Code of 

Virginia, the State Board of Social Services conducted a 

periodic review and a small business impact review of 

mailto:charlotte.arbogast@dars.virginia.gov
mailto:charlotte.arbogast@dars.virginia.gov
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22VAC40-221, Additional Daily Supervision Rate 

Structure. 

This regulation is essential in determining additional daily 

supervision (ADS) payments for children in foster care, 

adopted youth, and youth participating in the kinship 

guardianship assistance program. There were no public 

comments during the NOIRA stage. This regulation does not 

overlap or conflict with federal or state laws or regulations. 

This regulation became effective on January 1, 2014, and this 

is the first comprehensive review. 

The proposed action to amend 22VAC40-221, which is 

published in this issue of the Virginia Register, serves as the 

report of findings. 

Contact Information: Traci B. Jones, Program Manager, 

Department of Social Services, 801 East Main Street, 

Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 726-7499, or email 

traci.jones@dss.virginia.gov. 

mailto:traci.jones@dss.virginia.gov
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NOTICES OF INTENDED REGULATORY ACTION 

TITLE 9. ENVIRONMENT 

STATE AIR POLLUTION CONTROL BOARD 

Notice of Intended Regulatory Action 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 2.2-4007.01 of the 

Code of Virginia that the State Air Pollution Control Board 

intends to consider amending 9VAC5-80, Permits for Stationary 

Sources, and 9VAC5-170, Regulation for General 

Administration. The purpose of the proposed action is to provide 

greater detail as to how the site suitability requirements of § 10.1-

1307 E of the Code of Virginia will be carried out in the permitting 

process. Section 10.1-1307 E provides that the board in making 

regulations and in approving variances, control programs, or 

permits shall consider facts and circumstances relevant to the 

reasonableness of the activity involved and the regulations 

proposed to control it. Currently, these criteria are examined on a 

case-by-case basis, however, setting forth the parameters the 

board and the agency will use to implement these criteria in the 

context of air permitting will provide clarity for the regulated 

community and the public. The intent of this action is to consider 

amending the regulations to provide greater detail as to how the 

requirements of § 10.1-1307 E are to be met, with the goal of 

greater consistency, clarity, and effectiveness of the site suitability 

determination process. 

The agency intends to hold a public hearing on the proposed 

action after publication in the Virginia Register. 

Statutory Authority: § 10.1-1308 of the Code of Virginia; 

Clean Air Act §§ 110, 112, 165, 173, 182 and Title V; 40 CFR 

Parts 51, 61, 63, 70, and 72. 

Public Comment Deadline: July 9, 2021. 

Agency Contact: Karen G. Sabasteanski, Department of 

Environmental Quality, 1111 East Main Street, Suite 1400, 

P.O. Box 1105, Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 698-

4426, or email karen.sabasteanski@deq.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R21-6537; Filed April 8, 2021, 8:36 a.m. 

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 16. LABOR AND EMPLOYMENT 

DEPARTMENT OF LABOR AND INDUSTRY 

Notice of Intended Regulatory Action 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 2.2-4007.01 of the 

Code of Virginia that the Department of Labor and Industry 

intends to consider promulgating 16VAC15-60, Regulation 

Governing On-The-Job Training Programs or Other 

Training Programs. The purpose of the proposed action is to 

provide the standards required for any employer on-the-job 

training program or other training program established in 

accordance with § 40.1-28.10 of the Code of Virginia. The 

proposed action promulgates a new regulation that sets forth 

the standards required for any on-the-job training or other 

training program that an employer must establish if the 

employer wishes to pay its employees the reduced rate for the 

duration of the 90-day training period, including the period for 

which the employee can be paid the training wage, what type 

of employee qualifies for the program, what type of program 

qualifies, and what type of skills an employee must learn in the 

training program. 

The agency does not intend to hold a public hearing on the 

proposed action after publication in the Virginia Register. 

Statutory Authority: §§ 40.1-6 and 40.1-28.10 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

Agency Contact: Holly Trice, Attorney, Department of Labor 

and Industry, Main Street Centre, 600 East Main Street, 

Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 786-2641, FAX (804) 

786-8418, or email holly.trice@doli.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R21-6714; Filed April 28, 2021, 11:26 a.m. 

SAFETY AND HEALTH CODES BOARD 

Notice of Intended Regulatory Action 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 2.2-4007.01 of the 

Code of Virginia that the Safety and Health Codes Board intends 

to consider promulgating 16VAC25-210, Heat Illness 

Prevention Standard. The purpose of the proposed action is to 

reduce or eliminate employee injuries, illnesses, and fatalities by 

considering adoption of a comprehensive regulation to address 

employee exposure to heat illness hazards during indoor and 

outdoor work activities in all industries under the jurisdiction of 

the Virginia State Plan for occupational safety and health. Goals 

of the regulation include (i) identifying methods to reduce or 

eliminate heat illness hazards and (ii) educating employees and 

employers about heat-related illness external risk factors, heat-

related illness internal risk factors, medical conditions that can 

contribute to heat illness, symptoms of heat-related illness, and 

precautions to take to reduce or eliminate heat illness hazards. 

A review of existing federal and state regulations, national 

consensus standards, and guidelines designed to protect 

employees from heat illness hazards will be conducted. The 

proposed regulation will address indoor and outdoor heat 

illness hazards experienced by similarly situated employees in 

all industries covered by the Virginia Occupational Safety and 

Health jurisdiction. 

The agency intends to hold a public hearing on the proposed 

action after publication in the Virginia Register. 

Statutory Authority: § 40.1-22 of the Code of Virginia; 

Occupational Safety and Health Act of 1970 (P.L. 91-596) 

Public Comment Deadline: June 9, 2021. 

Agency Contact: Jay Withrow, Director, Legal Support, 

Department of Labor and Industry, Main Street Centre, 600 

East Main Street, Suite 207, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone 

(804) 786-9873, FAX (804) 786-8418, or email 

jay.withrow@doli.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R21-6753; Filed April 12, 2021, 3:34 p.m. 
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REGULATIONS 

TITLE 1. ADMINISTRATION 

DEPARTMENT OF GENERAL SERVICES 

Proposed Regulation 

Titles of Regulations: 1VAC30-45. Certification for 

Noncommercial Environmental Laboratories (amending 

1VAC30-45-40, 1VAC30-45-95, 1VAC30-45-100, 1VAC30-

45-130, 1VAC30-45-520, 1VAC30-45-650, 1VAC30-45-730, 

1VAC30-45-750, 1VAC30-45-760, 1VAC30-45-771). 

1VAC30-46. Accreditation for Commercial Environmental 

Laboratories (amending 1VAC30-46-15, 1VAC30-46-40, 

1VAC30-46-70, 1VAC30-46-95, 1VAC30-46-100, 1VAC30-

46-140, 1VAC30-46-150, 1VAC30-46-200, 1VAC30-46-210, 

1VAC30-46-220). 

Statutory Authority: § 2.2-1105 of the Code of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: No public hearing is currently 

scheduled. 

Public Comment Deadline: July 9, 2021. 

Agency Contact: Rhonda Bishton, Executive Administrative 

Assistant to the Director, Department of General Services, 

1100 Bank Street, Suite 420, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone 

(804) 786-3311, FAX (804) 371-8305, or email 

rhonda.bishton@dgs.virginia.gov. 

Basis: Section 2.2-1102 A 1 of the Code of Virginia authorizes 

the Department of General Services to prescribe regulations 

necessary or incidental to the performance of the department's 

duties or execution of powers conferred by the Code of 

Virginia. Section 2.2-1105 of the Code of Virginia authorizes 

the Division of Consolidated Laboratory Services (DCLS) to 

establish and conduct a program for the certification of 

laboratories conducting any tests, analyses, measurements, or 

monitoring and establish a fee system to pay for the costs of 

the certification program. 

Purpose: The NELAC Institute (TNI) program standards are 

widely recognized standards for the accreditation of 

environmental laboratories and are currently incorporated by 

reference in 1VAC30-46. TNI revises their standards regularly 

to improve those standards and to provide the most up-to-date 

information available for the accreditation of environmental 

laboratories. 

Accrediting commercial environmental laboratories to a single 

set of standards has several benefits. Environmental 

laboratories test environmental samples to determine whether 

the samples meet the air, water, and waste pollutant limits set 

by the Department of Environmental Quality (DEQ). Under the 

accreditation program, all environmental laboratories meet the 

same proficiency testing and quality assurance and quality 

control standards. Meeting these standards ensures that the 

laboratories are capable of providing results of known quality 

and defensibility for measurements of pollutants in 

environmental samples. The limits set by DEQ for air, water, 

and waste pollutants protect public health and welfare. 

Laboratory measurements of environmental samples 

determine compliance with Virginia's environmental laws and 

therefore are the key to providing protection of public health 

and welfare. 

Certifying noncommercial environmental laboratories to a 

single set of standards provides the same benefits as those 

described for commercial environmental laboratories. 

Noncommercial environmental laboratories are certified to 

standards that are similar to the TNI standards. 

Substance: In 1VAC30-46, DCLS is updating to the 2016 TNI 

standards. Commercial environmental laboratories and DCLS 

must meet the standards in order to remain accredited under the 

nationally accepted TNI program. DCLS is revising the dates 

for the transition period for laboratories to meet the 2016 TNI 

standards in 1VAC30-46-15. DCLS is adding to the Certificate 

of Compliance a provision for the laboratory to acknowledge 

it has a copy of the TNI standards incorporated by reference 

into 1VAC30-46. 

DCLS is revising the definitions in 1VAC30-46 to conform to 

the 2016 TNI standards. When appropriate, DCLS is revising 

the definitions for the same terms in 1VAC30-45. This ensures 

compatibility between the programs for commercial and 

noncommercial environmental laboratories. 

In both 1VAC30-46 and 1VAC30-45, DCLS is adding as a 

cause for suspension, laboratory failure to submit an acceptable 

corrective action plan after two opportunities. DCLS currently 

may only withdraw accreditation or certification. This adds 

flexibility for DCLS and provides the possibility of a less 

onerous outcome for a laboratory; adding as a reason to 

withdraw accreditation or certification, laboratory failure to 

correct the causes for suspension within the term of 

suspension; adding as a reason to withdraw accreditation in 

part or in total when a laboratory fails three consecutive 

proficiency testing (PT) studies; adding as a reason to 

withdraw accreditation or certification when a laboratory fails 

to meet the provisions concerning communicating with other 

laboratories with regard to proficiency testing; adding a 

statement that the agency will regularly review its budget to 

determine if the fees charged under the program offset its costs; 

and adding a provision requiring a laboratory to pay the cost of 

compliance determination when the agency has suspended 
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accreditation or certification in total and the laboratory wishes 

to demonstrate that reasons for suspension have been resolved. 

DCLS is revising 1VAC30-45 in two cases to provide more 

flexibility for the laboratory. First DCLS is revising the time 

between PT supplemental studies in 1VAC30-45-520 B. 

Second DCLS is deleting the requirement for an access log to 

archived records in 1VAC30-45-650 E. 

DCLS is revising 1VAC30-45 to require a successful 

performance of the demonstration of capability procedure 

when the laboratory has not performed this procedure within 

12 months. This change strengthens the defensibility of a 

laboratory's records. 

DCLS is revising 1VAC30-45 to conform to the 

Environmental Protection Agency's 2017 Methods Update 

Rule regarding testing done in accordance with the federal 

Clean Water Act using the approved methods listed in 40 CFR 

Part 136. 

Issues: The primary advantage to the public associated with 

this proposed action is the maintenance of up-to-date standards 

for the certification (1VAC30-45) and accreditation (1VAC30-

46) of environmental laboratories. For commercial 

laboratories, the 2016 TNI Standards are the most current 

version of these national accreditation standards for 

environmental laboratories. Accrediting environmental 

laboratories benefits the public because it ensures that the 

laboratories can produce environmental data of known quality 

and defensibility. DEQ uses these environmental data to 

determine compliance with environmental standards that 

protect the public health and welfare. The second advantage is 

for DEQ permit holders who contract with the commercial 

laboratories to analyze environmental samples. The permit 

holders are assured of the quality of the laboratory analyses. 

There are no disadvantages to the public. 

With regard to DCLS and the Commonwealth, TNI requires 

accreditation bodies to use the latest TNI standards to accredit 

environmental laboratories. This proposed action is necessary 

for DCLS to meet that requirement. There are no disadvantages 

to the agency or Commonwealth. 

The primary advantage of the proposed action for the affected 

noncommercial laboratories is increased flexibility in one 

revised provision and the deletion of another provision of 

1VAC30-45. The primary disadvantage of the proposed action 

for the affected noncommercial laboratories are additional 

requirements in two provisions of the revised regulation. The 

balance between the advantages and disadvantages should 

limit the impact for these laboratories. 

The primary advantage of the proposed action for the affected 

commercial laboratories is maintaining their accreditation 

under TNI. By meeting the 2016 TNI Standards, the 

laboratories will continue to be recognized as TNI-accredited 

laboratories. This enables the Virginia commercial laboratories 

to obtain secondary accreditation from other National 

Environmental Laboratory Accreditation Program 

accreditation bodies so that they can provide laboratory 

services as accredited laboratories in these other states. 

The primary disadvantage of the proposed action for the 

affected commercial laboratories is the time it may take to meet 

the 2016 TNI standards. DCLS is allowing six months for this 

transition. The length of this transition period benefits both the 

agency and the affected laboratories. This disadvantage should 

be offset for the affected commercial laboratories because of 

the benefits to remaining accredited under TNI. 

Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 

Analysis: 

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. The 

Division of Consolidated Laboratory Services (DCLS) of the 

Department of General Services (DGS) proposes to amend 

1VAC30-45 Certification for Noncommercial Environmental 

Laboratories and 1VAC30-46 Accreditation for Commercial 

Environmental Laboratories to reflect the most recent revision1 

of the standards of the National Environmental Laboratory 

Accreditation Conference, now known as The NELAC 

Institute (TNI). Additionally, DCLS proposes a new fee 

covering the cost of compliance determination when the 

division has suspended accreditation or certification in total 

and the laboratory wishes to demonstrate that the reasons for 

suspension have been resolved. DCLS proposal also includes 

adding violations to the lists of causes that could result in 

suspension or withdrawal of certification and accreditation. 

Background. Section 2.2-11052 of the Code of Virginia 

requires DCLS to by regulation establish a program for the 

certification of laboratories conducting any tests, analyses, 

measurements, or monitoring required pursuant to Air 

Pollution Control Board statutes,3 the Virginia Waste 

Management Act,4 or the State Water Control Law.5 Such a 

program for noncommercial environmental laboratories is 

established in 1VAC30-45, Certification for Noncommercial 

Environmental Laboratories. A program for commercial 

environmental laboratories is established in 1VAC30-46, 

Accreditation for Commercial Environmental Laboratories 

(certification is referred to as accreditation throughout 

1VAC30-46).6 Code of Virginia § 2.2-1105 further requires 

that the regulations shall be promulgated only after adoption of 

national accreditation standards by the National Environmental 

Laboratory Accreditation Conference sponsored by the United 

States Environmental Protection Agency. 

For both regulations, "commercial environmental laboratory" 

and "noncommercial environmental laboratory" are defined as 

follows. "Commercial environmental laboratory" means an 

environmental laboratory where environmental analysis is 

performed for another person. "Noncommercial environmental 

laboratory" means either of the following: 

1. An environmental laboratory where environmental 

analysis is performed solely for the owner of the 

laboratory. 
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2. An environmental laboratory where the only 

performance of environmental analysis for another person 

is one of the following: 

a. Environmental analysis performed by an environmental 

laboratory owned by a local government for an owner of a 

small wastewater treatment system treating domestic 

sewage at a flow rate of less than or equal to 1,000 gallons 

per day. 

b. Environmental analysis performed by an environmental 

laboratory operated by a corporation as part of a general 

contract issued by a local government to operate and 

maintain a wastewater treatment system or a waterworks. 

c. Environmental analysis performed by an environmental 

laboratory owned by a corporation as part of the 

prequalification process or to confirm the identity or 

characteristics of material supplied by a potential or 

existing customer or generator as required by a hazardous 

waste management permit under 9VAC20-60. 

d. Environmental analysis performed by an environmental 

laboratory owned by a Publicly Owned Treatment Works 

(POTW) for an industrial source of wastewater under a 

permit issued by the POTW to the industrial source as part 

of the requirements of a pretreatment program under Part 

VII (9VAC25-31-730 et seq.) of 9VAC25-31. 

e. Environmental analysis performed by an environmental 

laboratory owned by a county authority for any 

municipality within the county's geographic jurisdiction 

when the environmental analysis pertains solely to the 

purpose for which the authority was created. 

f. Environmental analysis performed by an environmental 

laboratory owned by an authority or a sanitation district 

for any participating local government of the authority or 

sanitation district when the environmental analysis 

pertains solely to the purpose for which the authority or 

sanitation district was created." 

Generally speaking, noncommercial laboratories provide 

limited analytical services either for their own organization or 

for other entities (such as wastewater treatment facilities).7 

Moreover, in contrast to commercial laboratories, 

noncommercial laboratories generally use a more limited 

number and complexity of methods. 

Although the noncommercial laboratories meet similar 

standards to those met by the commercial laboratories, 

according to DGS the differences are sufficient to require 

separate regulations. In addition, the TNI Standards include 

provisions that do not pertain to the noncommercial 

laboratories work. For example, the TNI Standards include 

provisions related to the commercial provision of laboratory 

services such as contracting. Further, the TNI Standards cover 

asbestos, radiochemical, and toxicity testing which the 

noncommercial laboratories do not perform. The commercial 

laboratories typically want to meet the nationally-recognized 

TNI Standards8 because this provides them with accreditation 

credentials that can be used to market their services. 

Estimated Benefits and Costs. DCLS proposed amendments 

include numerous changes in testing specifics to comply with 

the latest TNI Standards, as well as changes in definitions and 

changes to improve clarity. Amending the regulations to match 

the most up-to-date TNI Standards may improve the quality 

and reliability of environmental testing. According to DGS, all 

of these amendments would have minimal impact on lab staff 

time and the cost of any needed materials would be negligible. 

Suspension and Withdrawal. Both regulations have a list of 

violations for which certification (noncommercial) or 

accreditation (commercial) can be suspended in part or in total. 

For the most part these violations can be identified either 

during annual proficiency tests or from reassessments. 

Environmental laboratories may not continue to analyze 

samples or report analysis for the fields of 

certification/accreditation for which DCLS has suspended 

certification or accreditation. The term of suspension is six 

months or the remaining period of certification/accreditation, 

whichever is longer. If the laboratory demonstrates to DCLS 

that it has corrected the deficiency or deficiencies for which its 

certification or accreditation was suspended within the term of 

the suspension, the laboratory's suspended status changes to 

certified or accredited and it may resume analyzing samples 

and reporting analysis. If the laboratory fails to correct the 

causes of suspension within the term of suspension, DCLS 

withdraws9 the laboratory's certification or accreditation in 

total or in part. In order to resume operations, the lab would 

have to file a new application. DCLS has 90 days to determine 

if applications are complete, then another 120 days to schedule 

an on-site assessment before granting, if merited, certification 

or accreditation. Application fees are the same as renewal fees. 

The fees vary greatly depending on the number of methods of 

analysis, the categories of the methods of analysis, and the 

number of components to be analyzed for each method.10 Both 

regulations also have a list of violations for which certification 

(noncommercial) or accreditation (commercial) can be 

withdrawn directly. 

Providing for Suspension in Addition to Withdrawal. DCLS 

reassesses each noncommercial laboratory at least once every 

three years or more often under specified circumstances, and 

each commercial laboratory every two years. If in its 

assessment the division finds deficiencies, the laboratory has 

30 days to provide a response. This response is called a 

corrective action plan. Under the current regulations if a 

laboratory fails to submit an acceptable corrective action plan 

after two opportunities, DCLS may withdraw accreditation or 

certification, but suspension is not an option. DCLS proposes 

to add this violation to the lists of causes for which a lab can 

be suspended in part or in total, in addition to withdrawal of 

accreditation or certification. By expanding the enforcement 

options, this proposal is beneficial in that it provides the 

division with a less onerous option for when that is deemed 

most appropriate. Affected labs that are suspended, rather than 
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having their certification or accreditation withdrawn, and that 

are able to rectify their deficiencies in a timely manner would 

be able to resume operations much sooner. Once a suspended 

lab demonstrates to DCLS that it has corrected the deficiency 

for which its certification or accreditation was suspended 

within the term of the suspension, it may essentially resume 

operations immediately. In contrast, it can take seven months 

or more for a reapplication after withdrawal to be approved. 

Expanding Reasons for Withdrawal. Certification for 

Noncommercial Environmental Laboratories currently 

includes failure to successfully complete three consecutive 

proficiency tests as a cause for which DCLS may withdraw 

certification in part or total. Proficiency tests are defined as a 

process to evaluate a laboratory's performance under 

controlled conditions relative to a given set of criteria through 

analysis of unknown samples provided by an external source. 

This cause for withdrawal is not currently in Accreditation for 

Commercial Environmental Laboratories. DCLS proposes to 

add it to the list of causes for which the division may withdraw 

accreditation of commercial labs in part or total. To the extent 

that this proposed amendment helps prevent inaccurate testing 

or analyses of the safety of air, waste, and water in the 

Commonwealth from being conducted and communicated to 

the public and environmental regulators, it may be beneficial. 

The regulations include prohibitions on communicating with 

any individual at another laboratory concerning the labs 

proficiency testing sample prior to the time the results of the 

study are released. Exchanging information with other labs or 

asking other labs about running proficiency test samples 

violates the rules for running proficiency tests. The current 

regulations do not include explicit repercussions if this is 

violated. DCLS proposes to add this violation to the causes for 

which it may withdraw certification or accreditation in part or 

in total. To the extent that this proposed amendment helps 

maintain the integrity of proficiency testing by creating a 

strong deterrent to biasing the results, it may be beneficial. 

New Fee. Pursuant to § 2.2-1105 of the Code of Virginia, the 

certification and accreditation programs are funded through 

fees charged to the laboratories. DCLS proposes to add a 

provision in both regulations requiring a laboratory to pay a fee 

covering the cost of compliance determination when the 

division has suspended accreditation or certification in total 

and the laboratory wishes to demonstrate that the reasons for 

suspension have been resolved. The laboratory would be 

charged the cost of any necessary follow-up on-site 

assessments or data review or both. Depending on the 

laboratory's overall scope of certification or accreditation and 

the number and complexity of the noncompliances causing the 

suspension, DCLS estimates that the fee could range from 

approximately $400 to approximately $4,000. Currently the 

general pool of fees charged to all laboratories pays for these 

costs. By charging this proposed fee to the lab that causes the 

cost to be incurred, the cost would no longer be subsidized by 

other labs that had no involvement in creating the cost. Though 

laboratories would not intentionally have their operations 

suspended in total, this extra cost could provide some extra 

incentive to avoid violations. 

Documentation. The current 1VAC30-45, Certification for 

Noncommercial Environmental Laboratories, requires that 

access to archived information be documented with an access 

log. DCLS has determined that the access log does not serve a 

useful purpose in practice. Thus, the division proposes to 

eliminate this requirement. This should save some staff time 

for noncommercial labs. 

Businesses and Other Entities Affected. The proposal affects 

the 85 noncommercial certified environmental laboratories that 

are subject to 1VAC30-45, Certification for Noncommercial 

Environmental Laboratories, which consist of 64 public 

utilities, 11 industrial laboratories, five laboratories associated 

with educational institutions, four laboratories run by the 

federal government, and one laboratory at a state correctional 

facility. The proposal affects the 48 commercial accredited 

environmental laboratories that are subject to1VAC30-46, 

Accreditation for Commercial Environmental Laboratories, 

which consist of 33 small businesses, 11 industrial 

laboratories, three public utilities, and one university.11 The 

proposed new fee would adversely impact12 labs that have their 

accreditation or certification suspended in total that wish to 

demonstrate that the reasons for suspension have been 

resolved. 

Small Businesses13 Affected. 

Types and Estimated Number of Small Businesses Affected. 

The proposed amendments affect 33 small commercial 

environmental laboratories.14 

Costs and Other Effects. If any of the 33 small commercial 

environmental laboratories were to be suspended in total and 

wishes to demonstrate that the reasons for suspension have 

been resolved, the proposed new fee would increase their costs 

from approximately $400 to approximately $4,000, depending 

on the laboratory's overall scope of certification or 

accreditation and the number and complexity of the 

noncompliances causing the suspension. 

Alternative Method that Minimizes Adverse Impact. There are 

no clear alternative methods that both reduce adverse impact 

and meet the intended policy goals. 

Localities15 Affected.16 The proposal affects 133 

environmental laboratories that test for air and water quality 

and contaminated waste throughout the Commonwealth. No 

particular localities are known to be disproportionately 

affected. The proposal does not appear to directly introduce 

costs for local governments. 

Projected Impact on Employment. The proposed amendments 

are unlikely to substantively affect total employment. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. For private 

labs that may have substantial difficulty demonstrating 

proficiency or that may participate in unethical 

communication, the proposed additions to causes for potential 

withdrawal of certification or accreditation would potentially 
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have a large negative impact on their firm value. If DCLS did 

choose to withdraw their certification or accreditation, the labs 

would be prevented from analyzing samples or reporting 

analyses for customers for possibly seven months or longer. 

The proposed addition of failure to submit an acceptable 

corrective action plan after two opportunities to the list of 

causes for which DCLS may suspend certification or 

accreditation, may have a positive impact on the value of 

private labs in this situation if suspension is used instead of 

withdrawal by the division. As described, a lab rectifying this 

deficiency could potentially resume operations many months 

earlier if its certification or accreditation is suspended rather 

than withdrawn. 

The proposal does not appear to affect real estate development 

costs. 

_________________________________________________ 
1The current regulations reflect the 2009 TNI Standards. The proposed 

regulation would reflect the 2016 TNI Standards. 

2See https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title2.2/chapter11/section2.2-1105/ 

3See https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title10.1/chapter13/ 
4See https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title10.1/chapter14/ 

5See https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title62.1/chapter3.1/ 
6See https://law.lis.virginia.gov/admincode/title1/agency30/chapter46/ 

section10/ 

7Source: DGS 

8Ibid 
91VAC30-45 uses the term "decertification," while 1VAC30-46 uses 

"withdrawal of accreditation". For ease of reading, this document uses 

withdrawal for both certification and accreditation. 
10For detail on fee calculation, see 

https://law.lis.virginia.gov/admincode/title1/agency30/chapter45/section130/ 
and https://law.lis.virginia.gov/admincode/title1/agency30/chapter46/ 

section150/ 

11Data source: DGS 
12Adverse impact is indicated if there is any increase in net cost or reduction 

in net revenue for any entity, even if the benefits exceed the costs for all entities 

combined. 
13Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.04 of the Code of Virginia, small business is defined 

as "a business entity, including its affiliates, that (i) is independently owned 

and operated and (ii) employs fewer than 500 full-time employees or has gross 

annual sales of less than $6 million." 
14Data source: DGS 

15"Locality" can refer to either local governments or the locations in the 
Commonwealth where the activities relevant to the regulatory change are most 

likely to occur. 
16§ 2.2-4007.04 defines "particularly affected" as bearing disproportionate 

material impact. 

Agency's Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The agency 

has reviewed the economic impact analysis prepared by the 

Department of Planning and Budget and has no comment. 

Summary: 

The proposed amendments update the regulations to the 

2016 TNI standards, including adding (i) as a cause for 

suspension, laboratory failure to submit an acceptable 

corrective action plan after two opportunities; (ii) as a 

reason to withdraw accreditation or certification, 

laboratory failure to correct the causes for suspension 

within the term of suspension; (iii) as a reason to withdraw 

accreditation in part or in total, when a laboratory fails 

three consecutive proficiency testing (PT) studies; (iv) as a 

reason to withdraw accreditation or certification, when a 

laboratory fails to meet the provisions concerning 

communicating with other laboratories with regard to 

proficiency testing; (v) a statement that the agency will 

regularly review its budget to determine if the fees charged 

under the program offset its costs; and (vi) a provision 

requiring a laboratory to pay the cost of compliance 

determination when the agency has suspended accreditation 

or certification in total and the laboratory wishes to 

demonstrate that reasons for suspension have been 

resolved. 

In 1VAC30-45, the proposed amendments revise the time 

between PT supplemental studies, delete the requirement for 

an access log to archived records, require a successful 

performance of the demonstration of capability procedure 

when the laboratory has not performed this procedure 

within 12 months, and conform to the U.S. Environmental 

Protection Agency's 2017 Methods Update Rule. 

1VAC30-45-40. Definitions. 

The following words and terms when used in this chapter 

shall have the following meanings unless the context clearly 

indicates otherwise. 

"Acceptance criteria" means specified limits placed on 

characteristics of an item, process, or service defined in 

requirement documents. 

"Accuracy" means the degree of agreement between an 

observed value and an accepted reference value. Accuracy 

includes a combination of random error (precision) and 

systematic error (bias) components that are due to sampling 

and analytical operations. Accuracy is an indicator of data 

quality. 

"Algae" means simple single-celled, colonial, or multicelled, 

mostly aquatic plants, containing chlorophyll and lacking 

roots, stems and leaves that are either suspended in water 

(phytoplankton) or attached to rocks and other substrates 

(periphyton). 

"Aliquot" means a portion of a sample taken for analysis. 

"Analyte" means the substance or physical property to be 

determined in samples examined, organism, physical 

parameter, or chemical constituent for which an environmental 

sample is being analyzed. 

"Analytical method" means a technical procedure for 

providing analysis of a sample, defined by a body such as the 

Environmental Protection Agency or the American Society for 

Testing and Materials, that may not include the sample 

preparation method. 

https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title2.2/chapter11/section2.2-1105/
https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title10.1/chapter13/
https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title10.1/chapter14/
https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title62.1/chapter3.1/
https://law.lis.virginia.gov/admincode/title1/agency30/chapter46/section10/
https://law.lis.virginia.gov/admincode/title1/agency30/chapter46/section10/
https://law.lis.virginia.gov/admincode/title1/agency30/chapter45/section130/
https://law.lis.virginia.gov/admincode/title1/agency30/chapter46/section150/
https://law.lis.virginia.gov/admincode/title1/agency30/chapter46/section150/


Regulations 

Volume 37, Issue 19 Virginia Register of Regulations  May 10, 2021  

2767 

"Assessment" means the evaluation process used to measure 

or establish the performance, effectiveness, and conformance 

of an organization and its systems or both to defined criteria 

(i.e., to the standards and requirements of laboratory 

certification). 

"Assessor" means the person assigned by DCLS to perform, 

alone or as part of an assessment team, an assessment of an 

environmental laboratory. 

"Audit" means a systematic evaluation to determine the 

conformance to quantitative and qualitative specifications of 

some operational function or activity. 

"Authority" means, in the context of a governmental body or 

local government, an authority created under the provisions of 

the Virginia Water and Waste Authorities Act, Chapter 51 (§ 

15.2-5100 et seq.) of Title 15.2 of the Code of Virginia. 

"Batch" means environmental samples that are prepared 

together or analyzed together or both with the same process 

and personnel, using the same lot or lots of reagents. 

"Analytical batch" means a batch composed of prepared 

environmental samples (extracts, digestates, or concentrates) 

that are analyzed together as a group. An analytical batch can 

include prepared samples originating from various 

environmental matrices and can exceed 20 samples. 

"Preparation batch" means a batch composed of one to 20 

environmental samples of the same matrix that meets the 

criteria in this definition for "batch" and with a maximum time 

between the start of processing of the first and last sample in 

the batch to be 24 hours. 

"Benthic macroinvertebrates" means bottom dwelling 

animals without backbones that live at least part of their life 

cycles within or upon available substrates within a body of 

water. 

"Blank" means a sample that has not been exposed to the 

analyzed sample stream in order to monitor contamination 

during sampling, transport, storage or analysis. The blank is 

subjected to the usual analytical and measurement process to 

establish a zero baseline or background value and is sometimes 

used to adjust or correct routine analytical results. Blanks 

include the following types: 

1. Field blank. A blank prepared in the field by filling a clean 

container with pure deionized water and appropriate 

preservative, if any, for the specific sampling activity being 

undertaken. 

2. Method blank. A sample of a matrix similar to the batch 

of associated samples (when available) that is free from the 

analytes of interest and is processed simultaneously with and 

under the same conditions as samples through all steps of the 

analytical procedures, and in which no target analytes or 

interferences are present at concentrations that impact the 

analytical results for sample analyses. 

"Calibration" means to determine, by measurement or 

comparison with a standard, the correct value of each scale 

reading on a meter, instrument or other device. The levels of 

the applied calibration standard should bracket the range of 

planned or expected sample measurements. 

"Calibration curve" means the graphical relationship between 

the known values, such as concentrations, of a series of 

calibration standards and their instrument response. 

"Calibration standard" means a substance or reference 

material used to calibrate an instrument. 

"Certified reference material" means a reference material one 

or more of whose property values are certified by a technically 

valid procedure, accompanied by or traceable to a certificate or 

other documentation that is issued by a certifying body. 

"Client" or "customer" means the Department of 

Environmental Quality (DEQ) when used in the context of 

quality assurance and specific quality control provisions. 

"Commercial environmental laboratory" means an 

environmental laboratory where environmental analysis is 

performed for another person. 

"Corrective action" means the action taken to eliminate the 

causes of an existing nonconformity, defect or other 

undesirable situation in order to prevent recurrence. 

"DCLS" means the Division of Consolidated Laboratory 

Services of the Department of General Services. 

"Demonstration of capability" means the procedure to 

establish the ability of the analyst to generate data of 

acceptable accuracy and precision. 

"Detection limit" means the lowest concentration or amount 

of the target analyte that can be determined to be different from 

zero by a single measurement at a stated degree of confidence. 

"Environmental analysis" or "environmental analyses" means 

any test, analysis, measurement, or monitoring used for the 

purposes of the Virginia Air Pollution Control Law, the 

Virginia Waste Management Act or the State Water Control 

Law (§ 10.1-1300 et seq., § 10.1-1400 et seq., and § 62.1-44.2 

et seq., respectively, of the Code of Virginia). For the purposes 

of these regulations, any test, analysis, measurement, or 

monitoring required pursuant to the regulations promulgated 

under these three laws, or by any permit or order issued under 

the authority of any of these laws or regulations is "used for the 

purposes" of these laws. The term shall not include the 

following: 

1. Sampling of water, solid and chemical materials, 

biological tissue, or air and emissions. 

2. Field testing and measurement of water, solid and 

chemical materials, biological tissue, or air and emissions, 

except when performed in an environmental laboratory 

rather than at the site where the sample was taken. 
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3. Taxonomic identification of samples for which there is no 

national accreditation standard such as algae, benthic 

macroinvertebrates, macrophytes, vertebrates, and 

zooplankton. 

4. Protocols used pursuant to § 10.1-104.2 of the Code of 

Virginia to determine soil fertility, animal manure nutrient 

content, or plant tissue nutrient uptake for the purposes of 

nutrient management. 

5. Geochemical and permeability testing for solid waste 

compliance. 

6. Materials specification for air quality compliance when 

product certifications specify the data required by an air 

permit such as fuel type, Btu content, sulfur content, or VOC 

content. 

"Environmental laboratory" or "laboratory" means a facility 

or a defined area within a facility where environmental analysis 

is performed. A structure built solely to shelter field personnel 

and equipment from inclement weather shall not be considered 

an environmental laboratory. 

"Establishment date" means the date set for the accreditation 

program under 1VAC30-46 and the certification program to be 

established under this chapter. 

"Establishment of certification program" or "established 

program" means that DCLS has completed the initial 

accreditation of environmental laboratories covered by 

1VAC30-46 and the initial certification of environmental 

laboratories covered by 1VAC30-45. 

"Facility" means something that is built or installed to serve a 

particular function. 

"Field of certification" or "FoC" means those matrix, 

technology/method, and analyte combinations for which 

DCLS offers certification. 

"Field of proficiency testing" or "FoPT" means analytes for 

which a laboratory is required to successfully analyze a PT 

sample in order to obtain or maintain certification, collectively 

defined as the matrix, technology/method, and analyte 

combinations for which the composition spike concentration 

ranges and acceptance criteria have been established by the 

Proficiency Testing Program Executive Committee of TNI. 

"Field testing and measurement" means any of the following: 

1. Any test for parameters under 40 CFR Part 136 for which 

the holding time indicated for the sample requires immediate 

analysis; or 

2. Any test defined as a field test in federal regulation. 

The following is a limited list of currently recognized field 

tests or measures that is not intended to be inclusive: 

continuous emissions monitoring; online monitoring; flow 

monitoring; tests for pH, residual chlorine, temperature and 

dissolved oxygen; and field analysis for soil gas. 

"Finding" means an assessment conclusion referenced to a 

laboratory certification standard and supported by objective 

evidence that identifies a deviation from a laboratory 

certification standard requirement. 

"Governmental body" means any department, agency, 

bureau, authority, or district of the United States government, 

of the government of the Commonwealth of Virginia, or of any 

local government within the Commonwealth of Virginia. 

"Holding time" means the maximum time that can elapse 

between two specified activities. 

"International System of Units (SI)" means the coherent 

system of units adopted and recommended by the General 

Conference on Weights and Measures. 

"Laboratory control sample" or "LCS" means a sample 

matrix, free from the analytes of interest, spiked with verified 

known amounts of analytes or a material containing known and 

verified amounts of analytes. It is generally used to establish 

intra-laboratory or analyst specific precision and bias or to 

assess the performance of all or a portion of the measurement 

system. "Laboratory control sample" or "LCS" may also be 

named laboratory fortified blank, spiked blank, or QC check 

sample. 

"Laboratory manager" means the person who has overall 

responsibility for the technical operation of the environmental 

laboratory and who exercises actual day-to-day supervision of 

laboratory operation for the appropriate fields of testing and 

reporting of results. The title of this person may include but is 

not limited to laboratory director, technical director, laboratory 

supervisor, or laboratory manager. 

"Legal entity" means an entity, other than a natural person, 

who that has sufficient existence in legal contemplation that it 

can function legally, be sued or sue, and make decisions 

through agents as in the case of corporations. 

"Limit of detection" or "LOD" means an estimate of the 

minimum amount of a substance that an analytical process can 

reliably detect. An LOD is analyte and matrix specific and may 

be laboratory dependent. 

"Limit of quantitation" or "LOQ" means the minimum levels, 

concentrations, or quantities of a target variable (e.g., target 

analyte) that can be reported with a specified degree of 

confidence. 

"Local government" means a municipality (city or town), 

county, sanitation district, or authority. 

"Macrophytes" means any aquatic or terrestrial plant species 

that can be identified and observed with the eye, unaided by 

magnification. 

"Matrix" means the component or substrate that may contain 

the analyte of interest. A matrix can be a field of certification 

matrix or a quality system matrix. 
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1. Field of certification matrix. These matrix definitions 

shall be used when certifying a laboratory. 

a. Nonpotable water. Any aqueous sample that has not 

been designated a potable or potential potable water 

source. Includes surface water, groundwater, effluents, 

water treatment chemicals, and TCLP or other extracts. 

b. Solid and chemical materials. Includes soils, sediments, 

sludges, products, and byproducts of an industrial process 

that results in a matrix not previously defined. 

c. Biological tissue. Any sample of a biological origin 

such as fish tissue, shellfish, or plant material. Such 

samples shall be grouped according to origin. 

d. Air and emissions. Whole gas or vapor samples 

including those contained in flexible or rigid wall 

containers and the extracted concentrated analytes of 

interest from a gas or vapor that are collected with a 

sorbent tube, impinger solution, filter or other device. 

2. Quality system matrix. For purposes of batch and quality 

control requirement determinations, the following matrix 

types shall be used: 

a. Drinking water. Any aqueous sample that has been 

designated a potable or potential potable water source. 

b. Aqueous. Any aqueous sample excluded from the 

definition of drinking water matrix or saline/estuarine 

source. Includes surface water, groundwater, effluents, 

and TCLP or other extracts. 

c. Saline/estuarine. Any aqueous sample from an ocean or 

estuary, or other salt water source. 

d. Nonaqueous liquid. Any organic liquid with less than 

15% settleable solids. 

e. Biological tissue. Any sample of a biological origin 

such as fish tissue, shellfish, or plant material. Such 

samples shall be grouped according to origin. 

f. Solids. Includes soils, sediments, sludges, and other 

matrices with more than 15% settleable solids. 

g. Chemical waste. A product or byproduct of an industrial 

process that results in a matrix not previously defined. 

h. Air and emissions. Whole gas or vapor samples 

including those contained in flexible or rigid wall 

containers and the extracted concentrated analytes of 

interest from a gas or vapor that are collected with a 

sorbent tube, impinger solution, filter, or other device. 

"Matrix spike (spiked sample or fortified sample)" means a 

sample prepared by adding a known mass of target analyte to 

a specified amount of matrix sample for which an independent 

estimate of target analyte concentration is available. Matrix 

spikes are used, for example, to determine the effect of the 

matrix on a method's recovery efficiency. 

"Matrix spike duplicate (spiked sample or fortified sample 

duplicate)" means a second replicate matrix spike prepared in 

the laboratory and analyzed to obtain a measure of the 

precision of the recovery for each analyte. 

"National Environmental Laboratory Accreditation 

Conference (NELAC)" or "NELAC" means a voluntary 

organization of state and federal environmental officials and 

interest groups with the primary purpose to establish mutually 

acceptable standards for accrediting environmental 

laboratories. NELAC preceded the formation of The NELAC 

Institute or TNI. 

"National Institute of Standards and Technology" or "NIST" 

means an agency of the U.S. Department of Commerce's 

Technology Administration that is working with EPA, states, 

NELAC, and other public and commercial entities to establish 

a system under which private sector companies and interested 

states can be certified by NIST to provide NIST-traceable 

proficiency testing (PT) samples. 

"Negative control" means measures taken to ensure that a test, 

its components, or the environment do not cause undesired 

effects, or produce incorrect test results. 

"Noncommercial environmental laboratory" means either of 

the following: 

1. An environmental laboratory where environmental 

analysis is performed solely for the owner of the laboratory. 

2. An environmental laboratory where the only performance 

of environmental analysis for another person is one of the 

following: 

a. Environmental analysis performed by an environmental 

laboratory owned by a local government for an owner of a 

small wastewater treatment system treating domestic 

sewage at a flow rate of less than or equal to 1,000 gallons 

per day. 

b. Environmental analysis performed by an environmental 

laboratory operated by a corporation as part of a general 

contract issued by a local government to operate and 

maintain a wastewater treatment system or a waterworks. 

c. Environmental analysis performed by an environmental 

laboratory owned by a corporation as part of the 

prequalification process or to confirm the identity or 

characteristics of material supplied by a potential or 

existing customer or generator as required by a hazardous 

waste management permit under 9VAC20-60. 

d. Environmental analysis performed by an environmental 

laboratory owned by a Publicly Owned Treatment Works 

(POTW) for an industrial source of wastewater under a 

permit issued by the POTW to the industrial source as part 

of the requirements of a pretreatment program under Part 

VII (9VAC25-31-730 et seq.) of 9VAC25-31. 

e. Environmental analysis performed by an environmental 

laboratory owned by a county authority for any 

municipality within the county's geographic jurisdiction 
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when the environmental analysis pertains solely to the 

purpose for which the authority was created. 

f. Environmental analysis performed by an environmental 

laboratory owned by an authority or a sanitation district 

for any participating local government of the authority or 

sanitation district when the environmental analysis 

pertains solely to the purpose for which the authority or 

sanitation district was created. 

"Owner" means any person who owns, operates, leases, or 

controls an environmental laboratory. 

"Person" means an individual, corporation, partnership, 

association, company, business, trust, joint venture, or other 

legal entity. 

"Physical," for the purposes of fee test categories, means the 

tests to determine the physical properties of a sample. Tests for 

solids, turbidity, and color are examples of physical tests. 

"Positive control" means measures taken to ensure that a test 

or its components are working properly and producing correct 

or expected results from positive test subjects. 

"Precision" means the degree to which a set of observations 

or measurements of the same property, obtained under similar 

conditions, conform to themselves. Precision is an indicator of 

data quality. Precision is expressed usually as standard 

deviation, variance, or range, in either absolute or relative 

terms. 

"Primary accreditation body" means the accreditation body 

responsible for assessing a laboratory's total quality system, 

on-site assessment, and PT performance tracking for fields of 

accreditation. 

"Proficiency test or testing (PT)" or "PT" means evaluating a 

process to evaluate a laboratory's performance under 

controlled conditions relative to a given set of criteria through 

analysis of unknown samples provided by an external source. 

"Proficiency test (PT) sample" means a sample, the 

composition of which is unknown to the laboratory and is 

provided to test whether the laboratory can produce analytical 

results within specified acceptance criteria. 

"Proficiency testing (PT) program" means the aggregate of 

providing rigorously controlled and standardized 

environmental samples to a laboratory for analysis, reporting 

of results, statistical evaluation of the results, and the collective 

demographics and results summary of all participating 

laboratories. 

"Program," in the context of a regulatory program, means the 

relevant U.S. Environmental Protection Agency program such 

as the water program under the Clean Water Act (CWA), the 

air program under the Clean Air Act (CAA), the waste program 

under the Comprehensive Environmental Response, 

Compensation and Liability Act (CERCLA or Superfund), or 

the waste program under the Resource Conservation and 

Recovery Act (RCRA). 

"Publicly Owned Treatment Works (POTW)" or "POTW" 

means a treatment works as defined by § 212 of the CWA, 

which is owned by a state or municipality (as defined by 

§ 502(4) of the CWA). This definition includes any devices 

and systems used in the storage, treatment, recycling, and 

reclamation of municipal sewage or industrial wastes of a 

liquid nature. It also includes sewers, pipes, and other 

conveyances only if they convey wastewater to a POTW 

treatment plant. The term also means the municipality as 

defined in § 502(4) of the CWA, which has jurisdiction over 

the indirect discharges to and the discharges from such a 

treatment works. 

"Quality assurance" or "QA" means an integrated system of 

management activities involving planning, implementation, 

assessment, reporting, and quality improvement to ensure that 

a process, item, or service is of the type and quality needed and 

expected by the client. 

"Quality assurance officer" means the person who has 

responsibility for the quality system and its implementation. 

Where staffing is limited, the quality assurance officer may 

also be the laboratory manager. 

"Quality control" or "QC" means the overall system of 

technical activities that measures the attributes and 

performance of a process, item, or service against defined 

standards to verify that they meet the stated requirements 

established by the customer; operational techniques and 

activities that are used to fulfill requirements for quality; and 

also the system of activities and checks used to ensure that 

measurement systems are maintained within prescribed limits, 

providing protection against "out of control" conditions and 

ensuring that the results are of acceptable quality. 

"Quality manual" means a document stating the management 

policies, objectives, principles, organizational structure and 

authority, responsibilities, accountability, and implementation 

of an agency, organization, or laboratory, to ensure the quality 

of its product and the utility of its product to its users. 

"Quality system" means a structured and documented 

management system describing the policies, objectives, 

principles, organizational authority, responsibilities, 

accountability, and implementation plan of an organization for 

ensuring quality in its work processes, products (items), and 

services. The quality system provides the framework for 

planning, implementing, and assessing work performed by the 

organization and for carrying out required quality assurance 

and quality control activities. 

"Range" means the difference between the minimum and 

maximum of a set of values. 

"Reference material" means a material or substance one or 

more properties of which are sufficiently well established to be 
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used for the calibration of an apparatus, the assessment of a 

measurement test method, or for assigning values to materials. 

"Reference standard" means a standard, generally of the 

highest metrological quality available at a given location, from 

which measurements made at that location are derived. 

"Responsible official" means one of the following, as 

appropriate: 

1. If the laboratory is owned or operated by a private 

corporation, "responsible official" means (i) a president, 

secretary, treasurer, or a vice-president of the corporation in 

charge of a principal business function, or any other person 

who performs similar policy-making or decision-making 

functions for the corporation or (ii) the manager of one or 

more manufacturing, production, or operating facilities 

employing more than 250 persons or having gross annual 

sales or expenditures exceeding $25 million (in second-

quarter 1980 dollars), if authority to sign documents has 

been assigned or delegated in accordance with corporate 

procedures. 

2. If the laboratory is owned or operated by a partnership, 

association, or a sole proprietor, "responsible official" means 

a general partner, officer of the association, or the proprietor, 

respectively. 

3. If the laboratory is owned or operated by a governmental 

body, "responsible official" means a director or highest 

official appointed or designated to oversee the operation and 

performance of the activities of the environmental 

laboratory. 

4. Any person designated as the responsible official by an 

individual described in subdivision 1, 2, or 3 of this 

definition, provided the designation is in writing, the 

designation specifies an individual or position with 

responsibility for the overall operation of the environmental 

laboratory, and the designation is submitted to DCLS. 

"Sampling" means the act of collection for the purpose of 

analysis an activity related to obtaining a representative sample 

of the object of conformity assessment, according to a 

procedure. 

"Sanitation district" means a sanitation district created under 

the provisions of Chapters 3 (§ 21-141 et seq.) through 5 (§ 21-

291 et seq.) of Title 21 of the Code of Virginia. 

"Selectivity" means the ability to analyze, distinguish, and 

determine a specific analyte from another component that may 

be a potential interferent or that may behave similarly to the 

target analyte within the measurement system. 

"Sewage" means the water-carried human wastes from 

residences, buildings, industrial establishments, or other places 

together with such industrial wastes and underground, surface, 

storm, or other water as may be present. 

"Simple test procedures" or "STP" means any of the 

following: 

1. Field testing and measurement performed in an 

environmental laboratory. 

2. The test procedures to determine: 

a. Biochemical oxygen demand (BOD) or carbonaceous 

BOD (CBOD); 

b. Fecal coliform; 

c. Total coliform; 

d. Fecal streptococci; 

e. E. coli; 

f. Enterococci; 

g. Settleable solids (SS); 

h. Total dissolved solids (TDS); 

i. Total solids (TS); 

j. Total suspended solids (TSS); 

k. Total volatile solids (TVS); and 

l. Total volatile suspended solids (TVSS). 

"Standard operating procedure" or "SOP" means a written 

document that details the method for an operation, analysis, or 

action with thoroughly prescribed techniques and steps. An 

SOP is officially approved as the method for performing 

certain routine or repetitive tasks. 

"Standardized reference material" or "SRM" means a 

certified reference material produced by the U.S. National 

Institute of Standards and Technology or other equivalent 

organization and characterized for absolute content, 

independent of analytical method. 

"System laboratory" means a noncommercial laboratory that 

analyzes samples from multiple facilities having the same 

owner. 

"Test" means a technical operation that consists of the 

determination of one or more characteristics or performance of 

a given product, material, equipment, organism, physical 

phenomenon, process, or service according to a specified 

procedure. 

"Test, analysis, measurement or monitoring required pursuant 

to the Virginia Air Pollution Control Law" means any method 

of analysis required by the Virginia Air Pollution Control Law 

(§ 10.1-1300 et seq.); by the regulations promulgated under 

this law (9VAC5) including any method of analysis listed 

either in the definition of "reference method" in 9VAC5-10-

20, or listed or adopted by reference in 9VAC5; or by any 

permit or order issued under and in accordance with this law 

and these regulations. 

"Test, analysis, measurement or monitoring required pursuant 

to the Virginia Waste Management Act" means any method of 

analysis required by the Virginia Waste Management Act 
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(§ 10.1-1400 et seq.); by the regulations promulgated under 

this law (9VAC20), including any method of analysis listed or 

adopted by reference in 9VAC20; or by any permit or order 

issued under and in accordance with this law and these 

regulations. 

"Test, analysis, measurement or monitoring required pursuant 

to the Virginia Water Control Law" means any method of 

analysis required by the Virginia Water Control Law (§ 62.1-

44.2 et seq.); by the regulations promulgated under this law 

(9VAC25), including any method of analysis listed or adopted 

by reference in 9VAC25; or by any permit or order issued 

under and in accordance with this law and these regulations. 

"Test method" means an adoption of a scientific technique for 

performing a specific measurement as documented in a 

laboratory standard operating procedure or as published by a 

recognized authority. 

"The NELAC Institute" or "TNI" means the organization 

whose standards environmental laboratories must meet to 

become accredited under 1VAC30-46, the regulation 

governing commercial environmental laboratories in Virginia. 

"Toxicity characteristic leachate procedure" or "TCLP" 

means Test Method 1311 in "Test Methods for Evaluating 

Solid Waste, Physical/Chemical Methods," EPA Publication 

SW-846, as incorporated by reference in 40 CFR 260.11. This 

method is used to determine whether a solid waste exhibits the 

characteristic of toxicity (see 40 CFR 261.24). 

"Traceability" means the property of a result of a 

measurement whereby it can be related to appropriate 

standards, generally international or national standards, 

through an unbroken chain of comparisons. 

"U.S. Environmental Protection Agency" or "EPA" means the 

federal government agency with responsibility for protecting, 

safeguarding, and improving the natural environment (i.e., air, 

water, and land) upon which human life depends. 

"Virginia Air Pollution Control Law" means Chapter 13 

(§ 10.1-1300 et seq.) of Title 10.1 of the Code of Virginia, 

which is titled "Air Pollution Control Board." 

"Virginia Environmental Laboratory Accreditation Program" 

or "VELAP" means the program DCLS operates to certify 

environmental laboratories under this chapter. 

"Wastewater" means liquid and water-carried industrial 

wastes and domestic sewage from residential dwellings, 

commercial buildings, industrial and manufacturing facilities, 

and institutions. 

"Waterworks" means each system of structures and 

appliances used in connection with the collection, storage, 

purification, and treatment of water for drinking or domestic 

use and the distribution thereof to the public, except 

distribution piping. 

"Zooplankton" means microscopic animals that float freely 

with voluntary movement in a body of water. 

1VAC30-45-95. Suspension of certification. 

A. DCLS may suspend certification from an environmental 

laboratory in total or in part to allow the laboratory time to 

correct the reason for which DCLS may withdraw certification. 

Suspension is limited to the reasons listed in subsection B of 

this section. 

B. DCLS may suspend certification from an environmental 

laboratory in part or in total when the laboratory has failed to 

do any of the following: 

1. Participate in the proficiency testing program as required 

by Article 3 (1VAC30-45-500 et seq.) of Part II of this 

chapter. 

2. Satisfactorily complete proficiency testing studies as 

required by Article 3 (1VAC30-45-500 et seq.) of Part II of 

this chapter. 

3. Submit an acceptable corrective action plan after two 

opportunities as specified in 1VAC30-45-390. 

4. Maintain a quality system as defined in Article 4 

(1VAC30-45-600 et seq.) of Part II of this chapter. 

4. 5. Employ staff that meets the personnel qualifications of 

Article 1 (1VAC30-45-200 et seq.) of Part II of this chapter. 

5. 6. Notify DCLS of any changes in key certification criteria 

as set forth in 1VAC30-45-90. 

C. Process to suspend certification. 

1. When DCLS becomes aware of a cause to suspend a 

laboratory, the agency shall send notification to the 

responsible official and the laboratory manager stating it 

appears to DCLS that the laboratory has failed to meet the 

1VAC30-45 standards for one or more of the reasons listed 

in subsection B of this section. DCLS shall send the 

notification by certified mail. 

2. The DCLS notification shall do the following: 

a. Require the laboratory to provide DCLS with 

documentation of the corrective action already taken with 

regard to its failure to meet a standard under subsection B 

of this section. 

b. State the corrective action the laboratory must take and 

the time allowed for this corrective action to be completed 

in order to retain certification. 

3. The environmental laboratory may proceed to correct the 

deficiencies for which DCLS may suspend the laboratory's 

certification. 

4. Alternatively the laboratory may state in writing that 

DCLS is incorrect in its observations regarding potential 

suspension and give specific reasons why the laboratory 

believes DCLS should not suspend certification. The 
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laboratory has the right to due process as set forth in 

1VAC30-45-110, the Administrative Process Act (§ 2.2-

4000 et seq. of the Code of Virginia), and Part 2A of the 

Rules of the Supreme Court of Virginia. 

5. With the exception of subdivision B 4 of this section, 

DCLS may allow the laboratory up to 60 days to correct the 

problem for which it may have its certification suspended. 

6. DCLS shall set a date for suspension that follows the 

period provided under subdivision 5 of this subsection to 

restore certification. 

7. If the laboratory does not correct its deficiencies within 

the time period allowed or pursue options under subdivision 

4 of this subsection, DCLS may suspend a laboratory in part 

or in total. 

8. DCLS shall notify the laboratory by letter if the 

laboratory's certification is suspended in part or in total. 

DCLS shall send the notification by certified mail. DCLS 

shall also notify the pertinent Virginia state agency of the 

laboratory's suspension status. 

9. The laboratory may provide information demonstrating 

why suspension is not warranted in accordance with 

subdivision 4 of this subsection. 

D. Responsibilities of the environmental laboratory and 

DCLS when certification has been suspended. 

1. The term of suspension shall be limited to six months or 

the period of certification whichever is longer. 

2. The environmental laboratory shall not continue to 

analyze samples or report analysis for the fields of 

certification for which DCLS has suspended certification. 

3. The environmental laboratory shall retain certification for 

the fields of certification, methods, and analytes where it 

continues to meet the requirements of this chapter. 

4. The laboratory's suspended certification status shall 

change to certified when the laboratory demonstrates to 

DCLS that the laboratory has corrected the deficiency or 

deficiencies for which its certification was suspended. 

5. An environmental laboratory with suspended certification 

shall not have to reapply for certification if the cause or 

causes for suspension are corrected within the term of 

suspension. 

6. An environmental laboratory that DCLS has suspended in 

total shall pay the cost of any necessary follow-up on-site 

assessments or data review or both to determine compliance. 

This cost shall be calculated under the provisions of 

1VAC30-45-130 F and G. 

7. If the laboratory fails to correct the causes of suspension 

within the term of suspension, DCLS shall decertify the 

laboratory in total or in part. 

1VAC30-45-100. Decertification. 

A. DCLS shall decertify an environmental laboratory in total 

if the laboratory is found to be falsifying any data or providing 

false information to support certification. 

B. DCLS may decertify an environmental laboratory in part 

or in total when the laboratory has failed to do any of the 

following: 

1. Participate in the proficiency testing program as required 

by Article 3 (1VAC30-45-500 et seq.) of Part II of this 

chapter. 

2. Satisfactorily complete proficiency testing studies as 

required by Article 3 (1VAC30-45-500 et seq.) of Part II of 

this chapter. 

3. Successfully complete three consecutive PT studies, either 

by failure to participate in the required PT study or by failure 

to obtain acceptable results for the same field of 

certification. 

4. Maintain a quality system as defined in Article 4 

(1VAC30-45-600 et seq.) of Part II of this chapter. 

4. 5. Employ staff that meets the personnel qualifications in 

Article 1 (1VAC30-45-200 et seq.) of Part II of this chapter. 

5. 6. Submit an acceptable corrective action plan after two 

opportunities as specified in 1VAC30-45-390. 

6. 7. Implement corrective action specified in the 

laboratory's corrective action plan as set out under 1VAC30-

45-390. 

7. 8. Correct the causes of suspension within the term of 

suspension. 

9. Notify DCLS of any changes in key certification criteria 

as set forth in 1VAC30-45-90. 

8. 10. Use accurate references to the laboratory's 

certification status in the laboratory's documentation. 

9. 11. Allow a DCLS assessment team entry during normal 

business hours to conduct an on-site assessment required by 

Article 2 (1VAC30-45-300 et seq.) of Part II of this chapter. 

10. 12. Pay the required fees specified in 1VAC30-45-130. 

13. Meet the provisions regarding communication with 

others in 1VAC30-45-510 C. 

C. DCLS shall follow the process specified in 1VAC30-45-

110 when decertifying an environmental laboratory. 

D. Responsibilities of the environmental laboratory and 

DCLS when certification has been withdrawn. 

1. Laboratories that lose their certification in full shall return 

their certificate to DCLS. 

2. If a laboratory loses certification in part, DCLS shall issue 

a revised certificate to the laboratory. 
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3. When the environmental laboratory has lost certification 

in full or in part, the laboratory shall not continue to analyze 

samples or report analyses for the fields of certification that 

DCLS has decertified. 

E. After correcting the reason or cause for decertification 

under subsection A or B of this section, the laboratory owner 

may reapply for certification under 1VAC30-45-70. 

1VAC30-45-130. Fees. 

A. General. 

1. Environmental laboratories shall pay a fee with all 

applications, including reapplications, for certification. 

DCLS shall not designate an application as complete until it 

receives payment of the fee. 

2. Each certified environmental laboratory shall pay an 

annual fee to maintain its certification. DCLS shall send an 

invoice to the certified environmental laboratory. 

3. Fees shall be nonrefundable. 

4. DCLS, as part of its regular budgetary review of the 

program, shall determine whether the fees charged under this 

section offset the program costs as required under § 2.2-1105 

of the Code of Virginia. 

B. Environmental laboratories performing only simple test 

procedures shall pay an annual fee of $690. 

C. Fee computation for general environmental laboratories. 

1. Fees shall be applied on an annual basis. 

2. Environmental laboratories shall pay the total of the base 

fee and the test category fees set out in subsections D and E 

of this section. 

D. Base fees for general environmental laboratories. 

1. DCLS determines the base fee for a laboratory by taking 

into account both the total number of methods and the total 

number of field of certification matrices for which the 

laboratory would be certified. 

2. DCLS shall charge the base fees set out in Table 1. The base 

fee for a laboratory is located by first finding the row for the 

total number of methods to be certified and then finding the box 

on that row located in the column headed by the total number 

of matrices to be certified. For example, DCLS charges a base 

fee of $1495 to a laboratory performing a total of eight methods 

for one matrix. 

TABLE 1: BASE FEES 

Number of 

Methods 

1 Matrix 2 Matrices 

1 - 9 $1495 $1645 

10 - 29 $1610 $1811 

30 - 99 $1783 $2099 

E. Test category fees for general environmental laboratories. 

1. The test category fees cover the types of testing for which 

a laboratory may be certified as specified in the laboratory's 

application or as certified at the time of annual billing. 

2. Fees shall be charged for each category of tests to be 

certified. 

3. Fees shall be charged for the total number of field of 

certification matrices to be certified under the specific test 

category. For example, if a laboratory is performing 

inorganic chemistry for both nonpotable water and solid and 

chemical materials matrices, the fee for this test category 

would be found in the column for two matrices. 

4. The fee for each category includes one or more analytical 

methods unless otherwise specified. 

5. DCLS shall charge the test category fees set out in Table 

2. The test category fees for a laboratory are located by first 

finding the row with the total number of test methods for the 

test category to be certified. The fee to be charged for the 

test category will be found on that row in the column headed 

by the total number of matrices to be certified. A laboratory 

performing four test methods for inorganic chemistry in 

nonpotable water and solid and chemical materials (two 

matrices) would be charged a test category fee of $431. 

6. Noncommercial environmental laboratories that perform 

toxicity, radiochemical, or asbestos testing shall pay the test 

category fees established for these types of testing in 

1VAC30-46-150. 

TABLE 2: TEST CATEGORY FEES 

Test Category 

Fees by Number of 

Matrices 

 
One Two 

Oxygen demand $259 $385 

Bacteriology, 1 - 3 total 

methods $201 $305 

Bacteriology, 4 or more total 

methods $253 $380 

Physical, 1 - 5 total methods $201 $305 

Physical, 6 - 10 total methods $253 $380 

Inorganic chemistry, 1 - 10 

total methods $288 $431 

Inorganic chemistry, 11 - 20 

total methods $362 $546 

Inorganic chemistry, 21 - 49 

total methods $453 $679 
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Chemistry metals, 1 - 5 total 

methods $374 $564 

Chemistry metals, 6 - 20 total 

methods $472 $707 

Organic chemistry, 1 - 5 total 

methods $460 $690 

Organic chemistry, 6 - 20 

total methods $575 $863 

7. Fee examples. Three examples are provided. 

a. Example 1: 

Base Fee 
One matrix and four 

test methods 
$1495 

Test Category Fees   

One Matrix   

Nonpotable 

Water 

Bacteriology  

(2 methods) 
$201 

Nonpotable 

Water 

Oxygen demand  

(1 method) 
$259 

Nonpotable 

Water 
Physical (1) $201 

TOTAL  $2156 

b. Example 2: 

Base Fee 
One matrix and 15 

test methods 
$1610 

Test Category Fees   

One Matrix   

Nonpotable 

Water 

Bacteriology  

(2 methods) 
$201 

Nonpotable 

Water 

Inorganic chemistry 

(9 methods) 
$288 

Nonpotable 

Water 

Chemistry metals  

(2 methods) 
$374 

Nonpotable 

Water 

Oxygen demand  

(1 method) 
$259 

Nonpotable 

Water 
Physical (1) $201 

TOTAL  $2933 

c. Example 3: 

Base Fee 

Two matrices 

and 27 test 

methods 

$1811 

Test Category Fees   

One Matrix   

Nonpotable 

Water 

Bacteriology  

(4 methods) 
$253 

Nonpotable 

Water 

Oxygen demand 

(1 method) 
$259 

Solid and 

Chemical 

Materials 

Chemistry 

metals  

(1 method) 

$374 

Two Matrices   

Nonpotable 

Water and Solid 

and Chemical 

Materials 

Inorganic 

chemistry  

(13 methods) 

$546 

Nonpotable 

Water and Solid 

and Chemical 

Materials 

Physical  

(7 methods) 
$380 

TOTAL  $3623 

F. Additional fees. Additional fees shall be charged to 

laboratories applying for the following: (i) modification to 

scope of certification under 1VAC30-45-90 B, (ii) transfer of 

ownership under 1VAC30-45-90 C, (iii) review of compliance 

following total suspension, (iv) exemption under 1VAC30-45-

120, or (iv) (v) petition for a variance under 1VAC30-45-140. 

1. For any certified environmental laboratory that applies to 

modify its scope of certification as specified under 1VAC30-

45-90 B, DCLS shall assess a fee determined by the method 

in subsection G of this section. 

2. Under 1VAC30-45-90 C, DCLS may charge a transfer fee 

to a certified laboratory that transfers ownership. A fee shall 

be charged if DCLS (i) needs to review documentation sent 

by the laboratory about the transfer of ownership or (ii) 

determines that an on-site assessment is necessary to 

evaluate the effect of the transfer of ownership. DCLS shall 

assess a fee determined by the method in subsection G of 

this section. If, under 1VAC30-45-90 C, DCLS determines 

that the change of ownership or location of laboratory 

requires recertification of or reapplication by the laboratory, 

the laboratory shall pay the application fees required under 

this section. 

3. Under 1VAC30-45-95 D 6, an environmental laboratory 

that DCLS has suspended in total shall be charged the cost 



Regulations 

Volume 37, Issue 19 Virginia Register of Regulations  May 10, 2021  

2776 

of any necessary follow-up on-site assessments or data 

review or both to determine compliance. This charge shall 

be calculated under the method specified in subsection G of 

this section. 

4. General environmental laboratories applying for an 

exemption under 1VAC30-45-120 shall pay an initial 

application fee of $700 plus an additional fee based on the 

actual time needed for DCLS to assess the exemption 

request. The total fee shall not exceed the actual time DCLS 

takes to assess the exemption request. Laboratories 

performing only simple test procedures applying for an 

exemption under 1VAC30-45-120 shall pay an initial 

application fee of $300 plus an additional fee based on the 

actual time needed for DCLS to assess the exemption 

request. The total fee shall not exceed the actual time DCLS 

takes to assess the exemption request. The fee assessed shall 

be calculated using the method in subsection G of this 

section. 

4. 5. Under 1VAC30-45-140, any person regulated by this 

chapter may petition the director to grant a variance from 

any requirement of this chapter. DCLS shall charge an initial 

fee of $700 plus an additional fee based on the actual time 

needed for DCLS to review the petition, including any on-

site assessment required. The total fee shall not exceed the 

actual time DCLS takes to review and make a determination 

on the request for a variance. The fee shall be determined by 

the method specified in subsection G of this section. 

G. Fee determination. 

1. The fee shall be the sum of the total hourly charges for all 

reviewers plus any on-site review costs incurred. 

2. An hourly charge per reviewer shall be determined by (i) 

obtaining a yearly cost by multiplying the reviewer's annual 

salary by 1.35 (accounts for overhead such as taxes and 

insurance) and then (ii) dividing the yearly cost by 1,642 

(number of annual hours established by Fiscal Services, the 

Department of General Services, for billing purposes). 

3. The charge per reviewer shall be determined by 

multiplying the number of hours expended in the review by 

the reviewer's hourly charge. 

4. If an on-site review is required, travel time and on-site 

review time shall be charged at the same hourly charge per 

reviewer, and any travel expenses shall be added. 

H. Out-of-state laboratories - travel costs. The owner of an 

environmental laboratory located in another state who applies 

for certification under this chapter shall also pay a fee equal to 

the reasonable travel costs associated with conducting an on-

site assessment at the laboratory. Reasonable travel costs 

include transportation, lodging, per diem, and telephone and 

duplication charges. 

I. DCLS shall derive the travel costs charged under 

subsections G and H of this section from the Commonwealth 

of Virginia reimbursement allowances and rates for lodging, 

per diem, and mileage. 

1VAC30-45-520. PT criteria for laboratory certification. 

A. Result categories. 

1. The criteria described in this section apply individually to 

each FoPT, as defined by the laboratory seeking to obtain or 

maintain certification in its certification request. These 

criteria apply only to the PT portion of the overall 

certification standard. 

2. There are two PT result categories: "acceptable" and "not 

acceptable." 

B. Initial and continuing certification. 

1. A laboratory seeking to obtain or maintain certification 

shall successfully complete one PT study for each requested 

FoC. 

2. Once a laboratory has been granted certification status, it 

shall continue to complete PT studies for each FoPT and 

maintain a history of at least one acceptable PT study each 

calendar year. The laboratory shall complete its PT studies 

by September 30 of each calendar year. 

3. When the PT sample used for initial certification was 

analyzed by the laboratory prior to the date of application, 

the analysis date of the PT sample shall be no more than 12 

months prior to the application date of certification. 

4. For a laboratory performing supplemental testing, the PT 

studies shall be at least 15 seven calendar days apart from 

the closing date of one study to the shipment opening date of 

another study for the same FoPT. 

5. When the PT study result is reported by the PT provider 

as "acceptable" the environmental laboratory has satisfied 

the PT requirement. 

6. When the PT study result is "not acceptable," the 

environmental laboratory shall follow the procedure in 

subsection C of this section. 

7. DCLS shall consider a laboratory's analytical result for a 

FoPT not acceptable when the laboratory makes any 

reporting error or omission that results in a nonspecific 

match between the analytical result for the FoPT and any 

criterion that identifies the laboratory or the field of 

certification for which the PT sample was analyzed for the 

purpose of initial or continued certification. 

C. Procedure and requirements for "not acceptable" PT study 

results. 

1. When a laboratory receives a PT study result of "not 

acceptable," the laboratory shall determine the cause for the 

failure and perform and document corrective action. The 

corrective action documentation shall be completed within 

30 days of receiving the "not acceptable" PT study result and 
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be submitted to DCLS upon request. DCLS may extend the 

time for corrective action and documentation. 

2. Upon completion of the corrective action the laboratory 

shall perform another PT study for each FoPT that had a "not 

acceptable" result. 

3. If the laboratory successfully completes the makeup PT 

study by receiving an "acceptable" result before December 

31, DCLS shall not suspend the laboratory's certification for 

the pertinent FoC. 

4. If the laboratory receives a "not acceptable" result on the 

makeup PT study, DCLS shall notify the laboratory that 

there is cause to suspend the laboratory's certification for the 

FoC for which the PT study was "not acceptable." 

5. DCLS shall not extend the period for annual PT study 

completion beyond December 31 each year. Failure to 

satisfactorily complete a PT study, including any corrective 

action and makeup PT study, by December 31 shall result in 

suspension of certification in total or in part. 

6. If the laboratory receives a "not acceptable" result on three 

successive PT studies, DCLS shall decertify the laboratory 

for the pertinent FoC until such time that the laboratory: 

a. Completes corrective action for all failed studies and 

submits its corrective action report to DCLS; 

b. Obtains an "acceptable" result for the PT studies; and 

c. Applies for a change to its scope of certification and 

pays applicable fees required by 1VAC30-45-90 B and 

1VAC30-45-130 F. 

7. DCLS shall follow the provisions of 1VAC30-45-110 in 

decertifying the laboratory. 

D. Withdrawal from PT studies. A laboratory may withdraw 

from a PT study for any FoPT on or before the close date of 

the study. Withdrawing from a study shall not exempt the 

laboratory from meeting the annual analysis requirements 

necessary for continued certification. 

1VAC30-45-650. Records management and storage. 

A. The laboratory shall keep all records, certificates, and 

reports as required by applicable state and federal 

recordkeeping laws and regulations. The laboratory shall 

safely store these records and hold them secure. 

B. The laboratory shall retain all records for a minimum of 

three years from generation of the last entry in the records, or 

longer, if required by an applicable regulatory program, 

whichever is greater. The laboratory shall maintain all 

information necessary for the historical reconstruction of data, 

including all original observations, calculations and derived 

data, calibration records and a copy of the test report. 

C. Records that are stored only on electronic media shall be 

supported by the hardware and software necessary for their 

retrieval. Records that are stored or generated by computers or 

personal computers shall have hard copy or write-protected 

backup copies. 

D. The laboratory shall establish a record management 

system for control of laboratory notebooks, instrument 

logbooks, standards logbooks, and records for data reduction, 

validation storage and reporting. 

E. Access to archived information shall be documented with 

an access log. The laboratory shall protect these records against 

fire, theft, loss, environmental deterioration, vermin and, in the 

case of electronic records, electronic or magnetic sources. 

F. The laboratory shall have a plan to ensure that the records 

are maintained or transferred in the event that a laboratory 

transfers ownership or goes out of business. In addition, in 

cases of bankruptcy, the laboratory shall follow appropriate 

regulatory and state legal requirements concerning laboratory 

records. 

1VAC30-45-730. Test methods and standard operating 

procedures. 

A. Methods documentation. 

1. The laboratory shall have documented instructions on the 

use and operation of all relevant equipment, on the handling 

and preparation of samples, and for calibration or testing, 

where the absence of such instructions could jeopardize the 

calibrations or tests. 

2. All instructions, standards, manuals, and reference data 

relevant to the work of the laboratory shall be maintained up 

to date and be readily available to the staff. 

B. Standard operating procedures (SOPs). 

1. Laboratories shall maintain SOPs that accurately reflect 

all phases of current laboratory activities such as assessing 

data integrity, corrective actions, handling customer 

complaints, and all test methods. These documents, for 

example, may be equipment manuals provided by the 

manufacturer or internally written documents. The test 

methods may be copies of published methods as long as any 

changes or selected options in the methods are documented 

and included in the laboratory methods manual. 

2. The SOPs shall be organized. Each SOP shall clearly 

indicate the effective date of the document, the revision 

number, and the signature or signatures of the responsible 

laboratory manager or managers. 

3. Copies of all SOPs shall be accessible to all personnel. 

C. SOPs for laboratory methods. 

1. The laboratory shall have and maintain an SOP for each 

certified analyte or test method. 

2. This SOP may be a copy of a published or referenced 

method or may be written by the laboratory. In cases where 

modifications to the published method have been made by 
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the laboratory or where the referenced test method is 

ambiguous or provides insufficient detail, these changes or 

clarifications shall be clearly described. Each test method 

shall include or reference where applicable: 

a. Identification of the test method; 

b. Applicable matrix or matrices; 

c. Limits of detection or quantitation; 

d. Scope and application, including parameters to be 

analyzed; 

e. Summary of the test method; 

f. Definitions; 

g. Interferences; 

h. Safety; 

i. Equipment and supplies; 

j. Reagents and standards; 

k. Sample collection, preservation, shipment, and storage; 

l. Quality control; 

m. Calibration and standardization; 

n. Procedure; 

o. Data analysis and calculations; 

p. Method performance; 

q. Pollution prevention; 

r. Data assessment and acceptance criteria for quality 

control measures; 

s. Corrective actions for out-of-control data; 

t. Contingencies for handling out-of-control or 

unacceptable data; 

u. Waste management; 

v. References; and 

w. Any tables, diagrams, flowcharts, and validation data. 

D. Test methods. 

1. Laboratories shall use (i) promulgated test methods in 

accordance with the Code of Federal Regulations; (ii) test 

methods stated in any current permit issued by the State Air 

Pollution Control Board, the Virginia Waste Management 

Board, or the State Water Control Board; or (iii) alternate 

test procedures approved by the board issuing the permit or 

the Department of Environmental Quality, including 

applicable quality assurance requirements, and sample 

preservation, container, storage, and holding time 

requirements. 

2. The laboratory shall use appropriate test methods and 

procedures for all tests and related activities within its 

responsibility (including sample handling, transport and 

storage, preparation, and analysis). The method and 

procedures shall be consistent with the accuracy required 

and with any standard specifications relevant to the 

calibrations or tests concerned. 

3. When the use of reference test methods for a sample 

analysis is mandated, only those methods shall be used. 

4. Where test methods are employed that are not required, as 

in the Performance Based Measurement System approach, 

the methods shall be fully documented and validated (see 

subsection E of this section). 

E. Demonstration of capability. 

1. Prior to acceptance and institution of any test method, 

satisfactory initial demonstration of method capability is 

required. In general, this demonstration does not test the 

performance of the method in real world samples, but in the 

applicable and available clean quality system matrix sample 

(a quality system matrix in which no target analytes or 

interferences are present at concentrations that impact the 

results of a specific test method), for example, drinking 

water, solids, biological tissue, and air. Laboratories shall 

follow the procedure in subsection F of this section to 

demonstrate capability. 

2. Thereafter, ongoing demonstration of method 

performance, such as laboratory control samples, is required. 

3. In cases where a laboratory analyzes samples using a test 

method that has been in use by the laboratory for at least one 

year prior to applying for certification, and there have been 

no significant changes in instrument type, personnel or test 

method, the continuing demonstration of method 

performance and the analyst's documentation of continued 

proficiency shall be acceptable. The laboratory shall have 

records on file to demonstrate that an initial demonstration 

of capability is not required. 

4. In cases where a laboratory analyzes samples using a test 

method that has not been in use by an individual in the 

laboratory for at least one 12-month period, another 

successful demonstration of capability in accordance with 

subsection F of this section shall be required for that 

individual to resume testing by the method. 

5. In all cases, the laboratory shall document each 

demonstration of capability as required by subsection G of 

this section. 

5. 6. The laboratory shall complete a demonstration of 

capability each time there is a change in instrument type, 

personnel or test method, including the addition of an 

analyte to a certified test method. 

F. Procedure for demonstration of capability. The following 

steps shall be performed for mandated test methods. However, 

before any results are reported using this method, actual 

sample spike results may be used to meet this standard (i.e., at 

least four consecutive matrix spikes within the last 12 months). 

For analytes that do not lend themselves to spiking (e.g., TSS) 

the demonstration of capability may be performed using 

quality control samples. The laboratory may document that 

other approaches to demonstration of capability are adequate. 
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This documentation shall be included in the laboratory's 

quality manual: 

1. A quality control (QC) sample may be obtained from an 

outside source or may be prepared by the laboratory using 

alternate source stock standards that are prepared 

independently from those used in instrument calibration. 

2. The analyte or analytes shall be diluted in a volume of 

clean quality system matrix sufficient to prepare four 

aliquots at the concentration specified, or if unspecified, to a 

concentration of 1-4 times the limit of quantitation. 

3. At least four aliquots shall be prepared and analyzed 

according to the test method either concurrently or over a 

period of days. 

4. Using all of the results, calculate the mean recovery in the 

appropriate reporting units (such as g/L) and the standard 

deviations of the population sample (n-1) (in the same units) 

for each parameter of interest. When it is not possible to 

determine mean and standard deviations, such as for 

presence or absence of the analyte and logarithmic values, 

the laboratory shall assess performance against established 

and documented criteria. 

5. Compare the information from subdivision 4 of this 

subsection to the corresponding acceptance criteria for 

precision and accuracy in the test method (if applicable) or 

in laboratory-generated acceptance criteria (if there are not 

established mandatory criteria). If all parameters meet the 

acceptance criteria, the analysis of actual samples may 

begin. If any one of the parameters do not meet the 

acceptance criteria, the performance is unacceptable for that 

parameter. 

6. When one or more of the tested parameters fail at least 

one of the acceptance criteria, the analyst shall proceed 

according to either subdivision 6 a or 6 b of this subsection. 

a. Locate and correct the source of the problem and repeat 

the test for all parameters of interest beginning with 

subdivision 3 of this subsection. 

b. Beginning with subdivision 3 of this subsection, repeat 

the test for all parameters that failed to meet criteria. 

Repeated failure, however, confirms a general problem 

with the measurement system. If this occurs, locate and 

correct the source of the problem and repeat the test for all 

compounds of interest beginning with subdivision 3 of this 

subsection. 

G. Documentation of demonstration of capability. The 

laboratory shall document each demonstration of capability so 

that the following information shall be readily available for 

each employee: 

1. Analyst or analysts involved in preparation and analysis. 

2. Matrix. 

3. Analytes, class of analytes, measured parameters, or 

organisms. 

4. Identification of methods performed. 

5. Identification of laboratory-specific SOP used for 

analysis, including revision number. 

6. Date or dates of analysis. 

7. All raw data necessary to reconstruct and validate the 

analyses. 

8. Data evaluation required by subsection F of this section. 

H. Sample aliquots. Where sampling (as in obtaining sample 

aliquots from a submitted sample) is carried out as part of the 

test method, the laboratory shall use documented procedures 

and appropriate techniques to obtain representative 

subsamples. 

I. Data verification. Calculations and data transfers shall be 

subject to appropriate checks. The laboratory shall establish 

standard operating procedures to ensure that (i) the reported 

data are free from transcription and calculation errors and (ii) 

all quality control measures are reviewed and evaluated before 

data are reported. The laboratory also shall establish standard 

operating procedures addressing manual calculations including 

manual integrations. 

J. Documentation and labeling of standards and reagents. 

Documented procedures shall exist for the reception and 

storage of consumable materials used for the technical 

operations of the laboratory. 

1. The laboratory shall retain records for all standards, 

reagents, reference materials, and media including the 

manufacturer/vendor, the manufacturer's Certificate of 

Analysis or purity (if available), the date of receipt, 

recommended storage conditions, and an expiration date 

after which the material shall not be used unless its reliability 

is verified by the laboratory. 

2. Original containers (such as provided by the manufacturer 

or vendor) shall be labeled with an expiration date if this date 

is provided by the manufacturer or vendor. 

3. Records shall be maintained on standard and reference 

material preparation. These records shall indicate 

traceability to purchased stocks or neat compounds, 

reference to the method of preparation, date of preparation, 

expiration date and preparer's initials. 

4. Sufficient identification of containers of prepared reagents 

and standards shall be provided to ensure proper 

performance of tests. 

K. Computers and electronic data related requirements. 

Where computers, automated equipment or microprocessors 

are used for the capture, processing, manipulation, recording, 

reporting, storage or retrieval of test data, the laboratory shall 

ensure the following: 
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1. Computer software developed by the user is documented 

in sufficient detail and is suitably validated as being 

adequate for use. 

2. Procedures are established and implemented for 

protecting the integrity of data, such as integrity of data entry 

or capture, data storage, data transmission and data 

processing. 

3. Computer and automated equipment are maintained to 

ensure proper functioning and provided with the 

environmental and operating conditions necessary to 

maintain the integrity of calibration and test data. 

4. Appropriate procedures are established and implemented 

for the maintenance of security of data including the 

prevention of unauthorized access to, and the unauthorized 

amendment of, computer records. 

1VAC30-45-750. Quality assurance. 

A. General. The laboratory shall have quality control 

procedures for monitoring the validity of environmental tests 

undertaken. The resulting data shall be recorded in such a way 

that trends are detectable and, where practicable, statistical 

techniques shall be applied to the reviewing of the results. This 

monitoring shall be planned and reviewed and may include, but 

not be limited to, the following: 

1. Regular use of certified reference materials or internal 

quality control using secondary reference materials or both. 

2. Participation in interlaboratory comparison or proficiency 

testing program. 

3. Replicate tests using the same or different methods. 

4. Retesting of retained samples. 

5. Correlation of results for different characteristics of a 

sample (e.g., total phosphate should be greater than or equal 

to orthophosphate). 

B. Essential quality control procedures. The general quality 

control principles in subsection C of this section shall apply, 

where applicable, to all environmental laboratories. The 

manner in which they are implemented is dependent on the 

types of tests performed by the laboratory. 1VAC30-45-770 

through 1VAC30-45-775, 1VAC30-45-790 through 1VAC30-

45-798, and 1VAC30-45-810 through 1VAC30-45-818 

specify quality control requirements for chemical testing, 

microbiological testing, and air testing, respectively. 

Noncommercial environmental laboratories that analyze 

environmental samples using other types of testing such as 

toxicity, radiochemical, or asbestos testing shall meet the 

quality control standards for the specific method and the 

specific type of testing in the 2009 Modules 3, 6, and 7 of 

Volume 1 of the 2016 TNI Standards for Environmental 

Laboratories. The standards for any given test type shall assure 

that the applicable principles are addressed. 

C. All laboratories shall have detailed written protocols in 

place to monitor the following quality controls: 

1. Positive and negative controls to monitor tests such as 

blanks, spikes, reference toxicants. 

2. Tests to define the variability or repeatability of the 

laboratory results or both such as replicates. 

3. Measures to assure the accuracy of the test method 

including calibration or continuing calibrations or both, use 

of certified reference materials, proficiency test samples, or 

other measures. 

4. Measures to evaluate test method capability, such as 

method detection limits and quantitation limits or range of 

applicability such as linearity. 

5. Selection of appropriate formulae to reduce raw data to 

final results such as regression analysis, comparison to 

internal and external standard calculations, and statistical 

analyses. 

6. Selection and use of reagents and standards of appropriate 

quality. 

7. Measures to assure the selectivity of the test for its 

intended purpose. 

8. Measures to assure constant and consistent test conditions 

(both instrumental and environmental) where required by the 

test method such as temperature, humidity, light, or specific 

instrument conditions. 

1VAC30-45-760. Quality control requirements. 

A. General. 

1. The quality control protocols specified by the laboratory's 

SOPs shall be followed (1VAC30-45-730 C). The laboratory 

shall ensure that either the (i) applicable essential standards 

outlined in this section through 1VAC30-45-775, 1VAC30-

45-790 through 1VAC30-45-798, and 1VAC30-45-810 

through 1VAC30-45-818 or (ii) mandated methods or 

regulations, whichever are more stringent, are incorporated 

into their method SOPs. When it is not apparent which is 

more stringent, the quality controls in the mandated method 

or regulations are to be followed. 

2. All quality control measures shall be assessed and 

evaluated on an ongoing basis and quality control 

acceptance criteria shall be used to determine the validity of 

the data. The laboratory shall have procedures for the 

development of acceptance/rejection criteria where no 

method or regulatory criteria exists. 

B. Initial test method evaluation. For all test methods other 

than microbiology, the requirements of subdivisions 1 and 2 of 

this subsection apply. For microbiology testing, the initial test 

method evaluation requirements are contained in 1VAC30-45-

790 through 1VAC30-45-798. For the evaluation of precision 

and bias (subdivision 3 of this subsection), the requirements of 
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subdivision 3 a of this subsection apply to standard methods. 

The requirements of subdivision 3 b of this subsection apply to 

the methods referenced in that subdivision. 

1. Limit of detection (LOD). 

a. The laboratory shall determine the LOD for the method 

for each target analyte of concern in the quality system 

matrices. All when the testing is done in accordance with 

the federal Clean Water Act using approved methods 

listed in 40 CFR Part 136, except when the procedure for 

Determination of Method Detection Limit at 40 CFR Part 

136 Appendix B states the procedure is not applicable to a 

measurement. 

b. The laboratory shall determine the LOD for the method 

for each target analyte of concern in the quality system 

matrices when test results are to be reported to the LOD 

(versus the limit of quantitation or working range of 

instrument calibration), according to 1VAC30-45-771 and 

1VAC30-45-814. Where an LOD study is not performed, 

the laboratory may not report a value below the limit of 

quantitation. 

c. When the LOD is required under subdivision 1 a or 1 b 

of this subsection, all sample processing steps of the 

analytical method shall be included in the determination 

of the LOD. 

b. d. The validity of the LOD shall be confirmed as 

described in 40 CFR Part 136 Appendix B as applicable, 

or by qualitative identification of the analyte or analytes in 

a quality control sample in each quality system matrix 

containing the analyte at no more than two to three times 

the LOD for single analyte tests and one to four times the 

LOD for multiple analyte tests. This verification shall be 

performed on every instrument that is to be used for 

analysis of samples and reporting of data. 

c. An LOD study is not required for any component for 

which spiking solutions or quality control samples are not 

available such as temperature, or, when test results are not 

to be reported to the LOD (versus the limit of quantitation 

or working range of instrument calibration), according to 

1VAC30-45-771 and 1VAC30-45-814. Where an LOD 

study is not performed, the laboratory may not report a 

value below the limit of quantitation. 

2. Limit of quantitation (LOQ). 

a. The laboratory shall determine the LOQ for each analyte 

of concern according to a defined, documented procedure. 

b. The LOQ study is not required for any component or 

property for which spiking solutions or quality control 

samples are not commercially available or otherwise 

inappropriate (e.g., pH). 

c. The validity of the LOQ shall be confirmed by 

successful analysis of a QC sample containing the analytes 

of concern in each quality system matrix one to at a 

concentration at or below the LOQ or no more than two 

times the concentration of the claimed LOQ. A successful 

analysis is one where the recovery of each analyte is 

within the established test method acceptance criteria or 

client data quality objectives for accuracy. This single 

analysis is not required if the bias and precision of the 

measurement system is evaluated at the LOQ. 

3. Evaluation of precision and bias. 

a. Standard methods. The laboratory shall evaluate the 

precision and bias of a standard method for each analyte 

of concern for each quality system matrix according to 

either of the following: 

(1) The single-concentration four-replicate recovery study 

procedures in 1VAC30-45-730 F; or 

(2) An alternate procedure documented in the quality 

manual when the analyte cannot be spiked into the sample 

matrix and quality control samples are not commercially 

available. 

b. Nonstandard methods. 

(1) For laboratory-developed test methods or nonstandard 

test methods that were not in use by the laboratory before 

July 2003, the laboratory shall have a documented 

procedure to evaluate precision and bias. The laboratory 

shall also compare results of the precision and bias 

measurements with criteria given in the reference method 

or criteria established by the laboratory. 

(2) Precision and bias measurements shall evaluate the 

method across the analytical calibration range of the 

method. The laboratory shall also evaluate precision and 

bias in the relevant quality system matrices and shall 

process the samples through the entire measurement 

system for each analyte of interest. 

(3) The following are examples of a systematic approach 

to evaluate precision and bias: 

(a) Example 1. Analyze QC samples in triplicate 

containing the analytes of concern at or near the limit of 

quantitation, at the upper-range of the calibration (upper 

20%) and at a mid-range concentration. Process these 

samples on different days as three sets of samples through 

the entire measurement system for each analyte of interest. 

Each day one QC sample at each concentration is 

analyzed. A separate method blank shall be subjected to 

the analytical method along with the QC samples on each 

of the three days. (Note that the three samples at the LOQ 

concentration can demonstrate sensitivity as well.) For 

each analyte, calculate the mean recovery for each day, for 

each level over days, and for all nine samples. Calculate 

the relative standard deviation for each of the separate 

means obtained. Compare the standard deviations for the 

different days and the standard deviations for the different 

concentrations. If the different standard deviations are all 

statistically insignificant (e.g., F-test), then compare the 

overall mean and standard deviation with the established 

criteria from above. 



Regulations 

Volume 37, Issue 19 Virginia Register of Regulations  May 10, 2021  

2782 

(b) Example 2. A validation protocol such as the Tier I, 

Tier II, and Tier III requirements in U.S. EPA Office of 

Water's Alternate Test Procedure (ATP) approval process. 

4. Evaluation of selectivity. The laboratory shall evaluate 

selectivity by following the checks established within the 

method. These checks may include mass spectral tuning, 

second column confirmation, ICP inter-element interference 

checks, chromatography retention time windows, sample 

blanks, spectrochemical absorption or fluorescence profiles, 

co-precipitation evaluations, and electrode response factors. 

1VAC30-45-771. Chemical testing: limit of detection and 

limit of quantitation. 

A. General. All procedures used shall be documented. 

Documentation shall include the quality system matrix type. 

All supporting data shall be retained. 

B. Limit of detection (LOD). The laboratory shall utilize a 

test method that provides an LOD that is appropriate and 

relevant for the intended use of the data. An LOD is not 

required for a test method when test results are not reported 

outside of the calibration range. LOD determination and 

validation are required as specified by 1VAC3045-760 B 1. 

LODs shall be determined by the protocol in the mandated test 

method or applicable regulation. If the protocol for 

determining LODs is not specified, the selection of the 

procedure shall reflect instrument limitations and the intended 

application of the test method. 

1. The LOD shall be initially determined for the compounds 

of interest in each test method in a quality system matrix in 

which there are no target analytes or interferences at a 

concentration that would impact the results. Alternatively 

the LOD shall be determined in the quality system matrix of 

interest (see definition of matrix). 

2. LODs shall be determined each time there is a change in 

the test method that affects how the test is performed, or 

when a change in instrumentation occurs that affects the 

sensitivity of the analysis. 

3. The LOD shall be verified annually for each quality 

system matrix, method and analyte according to the 

procedure as specified in 1VAC30-45-760 B 1. 

C. Limit of quantitation (LOQ). 

1. Any established LOQ shall be above the LOD. 

2. The LOQ shall be verified annually for each quality 

system matrix, method and analyte according to the 

procedure specified in 1VAC30-45-760 B 2. Alternatively, 

the annual LOQ verification is not required if the LOD is 

reevaluated or verified according to subdivision B 3 of this 

section. 

NOTICE: The following forms used in administering the 

regulation have been filed by the agency. Amended or added 

forms are reflected in the listing and are published following 

the listing. Online users of this issue of the Virginia Register 

of Regulations may also click on the name to access a form. 

The forms are also available from the agency contact or may 

be viewed at the Office of Registrar of Regulations, 900 East 

Main Street, 11th Floor, Richmond, Virginia 23219. 

FORMS (1VAC30-45) 

Application for Certification of Environmental Laboratories 

DGS-21-156 (eff. 1/2009) (Application for Certification 

Laboratories applying for certification under 1VAC30-45 must 

be obtained obtain the application from DCLS program staff at 

Lab_Cert@dgs.virginia.gov) 

DOCUMENTS INCORPORATED BY REFERENCE 

(1VAC30-45) 

The Standards for Environmental Laboratories and 

Accreditation Bodies, 2009 2016, The NELAC Institute (TNI), 

P.O. Box 2439, Weatherford, TX 76086; www.nelac-

institute.org: 

Volume 1: Management and Technical Requirements for 

Laboratories Performing Environmental Analysis (EL-V1-

2009) 

Volume 2: General Requirements for Accreditation Bodies 

Accrediting Environmental Laboratories (EL-V2-2009) 

Volume 1: Management and Technical Requirements for 

Laboratories Performing Environmental Analysis (EL-V1-

2016, rev. 2.1). Modules 3, 6, and 7 only 

1VAC30-46-15. Standards for accreditation transition. 

A. Commercial environmental laboratories are accredited 

under the standards of the National Environmental Laboratory 

Accreditation Conference (NELAC), now The NELAC 

Institute (TNI). 

B. DCLS shall accredit commercial environmental 

laboratories under the 2003 NELAC 2009 TNI Standards as 

specified by the provisions of this chapter that became 

effective on January 1, 2009 November 1, 2015, for the first 10 

six months following November 1, 2015 (insert the effective 

date of this chapter). 

C. DCLS shall accredit commercial environmental 

laboratories under the 2009 2016 TNI Standards as specified 

by the provisions of this chapter effective on November 1, 

2015 (insert the effective date of this chapter), beginning on 

the first day of the 11th seventh month following November 1, 

2015 (insert the effective date of this chapter). 

1VAC30-46-40. Definitions. 

A. The definitions contained in the 2009 2016 TNI Standards 

are incorporated by reference into this section. Some of these 

definitions are included in this section because the terms are 

used throughout this chapter. 

mailto:Lab_Cert@dgs.virginia.gov
http://www.nelac-institute.org/
http://www.nelac-institute.org/
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/1VAC30/dibr/STD-ELV1-2016-Rev2.1_Modules%203%206%20and%207%20only%20(2)-20210426141635.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/1VAC30/dibr/STD-ELV1-2016-Rev2.1_Modules%203%206%20and%207%20only%20(2)-20210426141635.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/1VAC30/dibr/STD-ELV1-2016-Rev2.1_Modules%203%206%20and%207%20only%20(2)-20210426141635.pdf
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B. The following words and terms when used in this chapter 

shall have the following meanings unless the context clearly 

indicates otherwise: 

"Acceptance criteria" means specified limits placed on 

characteristics of an item, process, or service defined in 

requirement documents. 

"Accreditation" means the process by which an agency or 

organization evaluates and recognizes a laboratory as meeting 

certain predetermined qualifications or standards, thereby 

accrediting the laboratory. "Accreditation" is the term used as 

a substitute for the term "certification" under this chapter. 

"Accreditation body" or "AB" means the territorial, state, or 

federal agency having responsibility and accountability for 

environmental laboratory accreditation and which grants 

accreditation. 

"Algae" means simple single-celled, colonial, or multicelled, 

mostly aquatic plants, containing chlorophyll and lacking 

roots, stems and leaves that are either suspended in water 

(phytoplankton) or attached to rocks and other substrates 

(periphyton). 

"Analyte" means the substance or physical property to be 

determined in samples examined, organism, physical 

parameter, or chemical constituent for which an environmental 

sample is being analyzed. 

"Analytical method" means a technical procedure for 

providing analysis of a sample, defined by a body such as the 

Environmental Protection Agency or the American Society for 

Testing and Materials, that may not include the sample 

preparation method. 

"Assessment" means the evaluation process used to measure 

or establish the performance, effectiveness, and conformance 

of an organization and its systems or both to defined criteria 

(i.e., to the standards and requirements of laboratory 

accreditation). 

"Assessor" means the person assigned by DCLS to perform, 

alone or as part of an assessment team, an assessment of an 

environmental laboratory. 

"Authority" means, in the context of a governmental body or 

local government, an authority created under the provisions of 

the Virginia Water and Waste Authorities Act, Chapter 51 (§ 

15.2-5100 et seq.) of Title 15.2 of the Code of Virginia. 

"Benthic macroinvertebrates" means bottom dwelling 

animals without backbones that live at least part of their life 

cycles within or upon available substrates within a body of 

water. 

"Commercial environmental laboratory" means an 

environmental laboratory where environmental analysis is 

performed for another person. 

"Corrective action" means the action taken to eliminate the 

causes of an existing nonconformity, defect or other 

undesirable situation in order to prevent recurrence. 

"DCLS" means the Division of Consolidated Laboratory 

Services of the Department of General Services. 

"Environmental analysis" or "environmental analyses" means 

any test, analysis, measurement, or monitoring used for the 

purposes of the Virginia Air Pollution Control Law, the 

Virginia Waste Management Act or the State Water Control 

Law (§ 10.1-1300 et seq., § 10.1-1400 et seq., and § 62.1-44.2 

et seq., respectively, of the Code of Virginia). For the purposes 

of these regulations, any test, analysis, measurement, or 

monitoring required pursuant to the regulations promulgated 

under these three laws, or by any permit or order issued under 

the authority of any of these laws or regulations is "used for the 

purposes" of these laws. The term shall not include the 

following: 

1. Sampling of water, solid and chemical materials, 

biological tissue, or air and emissions. 

2. Field testing and measurement of water, solid and 

chemical materials, biological tissue, or air and emissions, 

except when performed in an environmental laboratory 

rather than at the site where the sample was taken. 

3. Taxonomic identification of samples for which there is no 

national accreditation standard such as algae, benthic 

macroinvertebrates, macrophytes, vertebrates, and 

zooplankton. 

4. Protocols used pursuant to § 10.1-104.2 of the Code of 

Virginia to determine soil fertility, animal manure nutrient 

content, or plant tissue nutrient uptake for the purposes of 

nutrient management. 

5. Geochemical and permeability testing for solid waste 

compliance. 

6. Materials specification for air quality compliance when 

product certifications specify the data required by an air 

permit such as fuel type, Btu content, sulfur content, or 

volatile organic chemical (VOC) content. 

"Environmental laboratory" or "laboratory" means a facility 

or a defined area within a facility where environmental analysis 

is performed. A structure built solely to shelter field personnel 

and equipment from inclement weather shall not be considered 

an environmental laboratory. 

"Establishment date" means the date set for the accreditation 

program under this chapter and the certification program under 

1VAC30-45 to be established. 

"Establishment of accreditation program" or "established 

program" means that DCLS has completed the initial 

accreditation of environmental laboratories covered by this 

chapter and the initial certification of environmental 

laboratories covered by 1VAC30-45. 
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"Facility" means something that is built or installed to serve a 

particular function. 

"Field of accreditation" means those matrix, 

technology/method, and analyte combinations for which 

DCLS offers accreditation. 

"Field of accreditation matrix" means the following when 

accrediting a laboratory: 

1. Drinking water. Any aqueous sample that has been 

designated a potable or potential potable water source. 

2. Nonpotable water. Any aqueous sample excluded from 

the definition of drinking water matrix. Includes surface 

water, groundwater, effluents, water treatment chemicals, 

and TCLP or other extracts. 

3. Solid and chemical materials. Includes soils, sediments, 

sludges, products and byproducts of an industrial process 

that results in a matrix not previously defined. 

4. Biological tissue. Any sample of a biological origin such 

as fish tissue, shellfish, or plant material. Such samples shall 

be grouped according to origin (i.e., by species). 

5. Air and emissions. Whole gas or vapor samples including 

those contained in flexible or rigid wall containers and the 

extracted concentrated analytes of interest from a gas or 

vapor that are collected with a sorbent tube, impinger 

solution, filter or other device. 

"Field of proficiency testing" or "FoPT" means analytes for 

which a laboratory is required to successfully analyze a PT 

sample in order to obtain or maintain accreditation, collectively 

defined as: the matrix, technology/method, and analyte 

combinations for which the composition spike concentration 

ranges and acceptance criteria have been established by the 

Proficiency Testing Program Executive Committee of TNI. 

"Field testing and measurement" means any of the following: 

1. Any test for parameters under 40 CFR Part 136 for which 

the holding time indicated for the sample requires immediate 

analysis; or 

2. Any test defined as a field test in federal regulation. 

The following is a limited list of currently recognized field 

tests or measures that is not intended to be inclusive: 

continuous emissions monitoring; online monitoring; flow 

monitoring; tests for pH, residual chlorine, temperature and 

dissolved oxygen; and field analysis for soil gas. 

"Finding" means an assessment conclusion referenced to a 

laboratory accreditation standard incorporated by reference or 

contained in this chapter and supported by objective evidence 

that identifies a deviation from a laboratory accreditation 

standard requirement. 

"Governmental body" means any department, agency, 

bureau, authority, or district of the United States government, 

of the government of the Commonwealth of Virginia, or of any 

local government within the Commonwealth of Virginia. 

"Holding time" means the maximum time that can elapse 

between two specified activities. 

"Legal entity" means an entity, other than a natural person, 

who has sufficient existence in legal contemplation that it can 

function legally, be sued or sue and make decisions through 

agents as in the case of corporations. 

"Local government" means a municipality (city or town), 

county, sanitation district, or authority. 

"Macrophytes" means any aquatic or terrestrial plant species 

that can be identified and observed with the eye, unaided by 

magnification. 

"Matrix" means the substrate of a test sample. 

"National Environmental Laboratory Accreditation 

Conference (NELAC)" or "NELAC" means a voluntary 

organization of state and federal environmental officials and 

interest groups with the primary purpose to establish mutually 

acceptable standards for accrediting environmental 

laboratories. NELAC preceded the formation of The NELAC 

Institute or TNI. 

"National Environmental Laboratory Accreditation Program" 

or "NELAP" means the program under TNI the purpose of 

which is to establish and implement a program for the 

accreditation of environmental laboratories. This program is 

comprised in part of NELAP Accreditation Bodies which are 

recognized and approved under the program to implement the 

TNI standards. The NELAP accreditation bodies currently are 

state programs such as the one in Virginia. 

"Noncommercial environmental laboratory" means either of 

the following: 

1. An environmental laboratory where environmental 

analysis is performed solely for the owner of the laboratory. 

2. An environmental laboratory where the only performance 

of environmental analysis for another person is one of the 

following: 

a. Environmental analysis performed by an environmental 

laboratory owned by a local government for an owner of a 

small wastewater treatment system treating domestic 

sewage at a flow rate of less than or equal to 1,000 gallons 

per day. 

b. Environmental analysis performed by an environmental 

laboratory operated by a corporation as part of a general 

contract issued by a local government to operate and 

maintain a wastewater treatment system or a waterworks. 

c. Environmental analysis performed by an environmental 

laboratory owned by a corporation as part of the 

prequalification process or to confirm the identity or 

characteristics of material supplied by a potential or 
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existing customer or generator as required by a hazardous 

waste management permit under 9VAC20-60. 

d. Environmental analysis performed by an environmental 

laboratory owned by a Publicly Owned Treatment Works 

(POTW) for an industrial source of wastewater under a 

permit issued by the POTW to the industrial source as part 

of the requirements of a pretreatment program under Part 

VII (9VAC25-31-730 et seq.) of 9VAC25-31. 

e. Environmental analysis performed by an environmental 

laboratory owned by a county authority for any 

municipality within the county's geographic jurisdiction 

when the environmental analysis pertains solely to the 

purpose for which the authority was created. 

f. Environmental analysis performed by an environmental 

laboratory owned by an authority or a sanitation district 

for any participating local government of the authority or 

sanitation district when the environmental analysis 

pertains solely to the purpose for which the authority or 

sanitation district was created. 

"Owner" means any person who owns, operates, leases, or 

controls an environmental laboratory. 

"Person" means an individual, corporation, partnership, 

association, company, business, trust, joint venture or other 

legal entity. 

"Physical," for the purposes of fee test categories, means the 

tests to determine the physical properties of a sample. Tests for 

solids, turbidity, and color are examples of physical tests. 

"Pretreatment requirements" means any requirements arising 

under Part VII (9VAC25-31-730 et seq.) of 9VAC25-31 

including the duty to allow or carry out inspections, entry, or 

monitoring activities; any rules, regulations, or orders issued 

by the owner of a POTW; or any reporting requirements 

imposed by the owner of a POTW or by the regulations of the 

State Water Control Board. Pretreatment requirements do not 

include the requirements of a national pretreatment standard. 

"Primary accreditation body" or "primary AB" means the 

accreditation body responsible for assessing a laboratory's total 

quality system, on-site assessment, and PT performance 

tracking for fields of accreditation. 

"Proficiency test," "proficiency testing," or "PT" means 

evaluating a process to evaluate a laboratory's performance 

under controlled conditions relative to a given set of criteria 

through analysis of unknown samples provided by an external 

source. 

"Proficiency test sample" or "PT sample" means a sample, the 

composition of which is unknown to the laboratory and is 

provided to test whether the laboratory can produce analytical 

results within specified acceptance criteria. 

"Proficiency testing program" or "PT program" means the 

aggregate of providing rigorously controlled and standardized 

environmental samples to a laboratory for analysis, reporting 

of results, statistical evaluation of the results and the collective 

demographics and results summary of all participating 

laboratories. 

"Publicly Owned Treatment Works" or "POTW" means a 

treatment works as defined by § 212 of the CWA, which is 

owned by a state or municipality (as defined by § 502(4) of the 

CWA). This definition includes any devices and systems used 

in the storage, treatment, recycling, and reclamation of 

municipal sewage or industrial wastes of a liquid nature. It also 

includes sewers, pipes, and other conveyances only if they 

convey wastewater to a POTW treatment plant. The term also 

means the municipality as defined in § 502(4) of the CWA, 

which has jurisdiction over the indirect discharges to and the 

discharges from such a treatment works. 

"Quality assurance" or "QA" means an integrated system of 

management activities involving planning, implementation, 

assessment, reporting, and quality improvement to ensure that 

a process, item, or service is of the type and quality needed and 

expected by the client. 

"Quality assurance officer" means the person who has 

responsibility for the quality system and its implementation. 

Where staffing is limited, the quality assurance officer may 

also be the technical manager. 

"Quality control" or "QC" means the (i) overall system of 

technical activities that measures the attributes and 

performance of a process, item, or service against defined 

standards to verify that they meet the stated requirements 

established by the customer; (ii) operational techniques and 

activities that are used to fulfill requirements for quality; and 

(iii) system of activities and checks used to ensure that 

measurement systems are maintained within prescribed limits, 

providing protection against "out of control" conditions and 

ensuring that the results are of acceptable quality. 

"Quality manual" means a document stating the management 

policies, objectives, principles, organizational structure and 

authority, responsibilities, accountability, and implementation 

of an agency, organization, or laboratory, to ensure the quality 

of its product and the utility of its product to its users. 

"Quality system" means a structured and documented 

management system describing the policies, objectives, 

principles, organizational authority, responsibilities, 

accountability, and implementation plan of an organization for 

ensuring quality in its work processes, products (items), and 

services. The quality system provides the framework for 

planning, implementing, and assessing work performed by the 

organization and for carrying out required quality assurance 

and quality control activities. 

"Quality system matrix," for purposes of batch and quality 

control requirements, means the following: 

1. Air and emissions. Whole gas or vapor samples, including 

those contained in flexible or rigid wall containers and the 
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extracted concentrated analytes of interest from a gas or 

vapor that are collected with a sorbent tube, impinger 

solution, filter, or other device. 

2. Aqueous. Any aqueous sample excluded from the 

definition of drinking water matrix or saline/estuarine 

source. Includes surface water, groundwater, effluents, and 

TCLP or other extracts. 

3. Biological tissue. Any sample of a biological origin such 

as fish tissue, shellfish, or plant material. Such samples shall 

be grouped according to origin. 

4. Chemical waste. A product or byproduct of an industrial 

process that results in a matrix not previously defined. 

5. Drinking water. Any aqueous sample that has been 

designated a potable or potential potable water source. 

6. Non-aqueous liquid. Any organic liquid with less than 

15% settleable solids. 

7. Saline/estuarine. Any aqueous sample from an ocean or 

estuary, or other salt water source such as the Great Salt 

Lake. 

8. Solids. Includes soils, sediments, sludges, and other 

matrices with more than 15% settleable solids.  

"Responsible official" means one of the following, as 

appropriate: 

1. If the laboratory is owned or operated by a private 

corporation, "responsible official" means (i) a president, 

secretary, treasurer, or a vice-president of the corporation in 

charge of a principal business function, or any other person 

who performs similar policy-making or decision-making 

functions for the corporation or (ii) the manager of one or 

more manufacturing, production, or operating facilities 

employing more than 250 persons or having gross annual 

sales or expenditures exceeding $25 million (in second-

quarter 1980 dollars), if authority to sign documents has 

been assigned or delegated in accordance with corporate 

procedures. 

2. If the laboratory is owned or operated by a partnership, 

association, or a sole proprietor, "responsible official" means 

a general partner, officer of the association, or the proprietor, 

respectively. 

3. If the laboratory is owned or operated by a governmental 

body, "responsible official" means a director or highest 

official appointed or designated to oversee the operation and 

performance of the activities of the governmental laboratory. 

4. Any person designated as the responsible official by an 

individual described in subdivision 1, 2, or 3 of this 

definition provided the designation is in writing, the 

designation specifies an individual or position with 

responsibility for the overall operation of the laboratory, and 

the designation is submitted to DCLS. 

"Sampling" means the act of collection for the purpose of 

analysis an activity related to obtaining a representative sample 

of the object of conformity assessment, according to a 

procedure. 

"Sanitation district" means a sanitation district created under 

the provisions of Chapters 3 (§ 21-141 et seq.) through 5 (§ 21-

291 et seq.) of Title 21 of the Code of Virginia. 

"Secondary accreditation body" or "secondary AB" means the 

accreditation body that grants TNI accreditation to laboratories 

based on their accreditation by a TNI-recognized primary 

accreditation body laboratory accreditation for a field of 

accreditation based on recognition of accreditation from a 

primary accreditation body for the same field of accreditation. 

"Sewage" means the water-carried human wastes from 

residences, buildings, industrial establishments, or other places 

together with such industrial wastes and underground, surface, 

storm, or other water as may be present. 

"Standard operating procedure" or "SOP" means a written 

document that details the method for an operation, analysis, or 

action with thoroughly prescribed techniques and steps. An 

SOP is officially approved as the method for performing 

certain routine or repetitive tasks. 

"TCLP" or "toxicity characteristic leachate procedure" means 

Test Method 1311 in "Test Methods for Evaluating Solid 

Waste, Physical/Chemical Methods," EPA Publication SW-

846, as incorporated by reference in 40 CFR 260.11. This 

method is used to determine whether a solid waste exhibits the 

characteristic of toxicity (see 40 CFR 261.24). 

"Technical manager (however named)" means the person 

who has overall responsibility for the technical operation of the 

environmental laboratory and who exercises actual day-to-day 

supervision of laboratory operation for the appropriate fields 

of testing and reporting of results. The title of this person may 

include but is not limited to laboratory director, technical 

manager, laboratory supervisor, or laboratory manager. 

"Technology" means a specific arrangement of analytical 

instruments, detection systems, or preparation techniques, or 

any combination of these elements. 

"Test" means a technical operation that consists of the 

determination of one or more characteristics or performance of 

a given product, material, equipment, organism, physical 

phenomenon, process, or service according to a specified 

procedure. 

"Test, analysis, measurement or monitoring required pursuant 

to the Virginia Air Pollution Control Law" means any method 

of analysis required by the Virginia Air Pollution Control Law 

(§ 10.1-1300 et seq. of the Code of Virginia); by the regulations 

promulgated under this law (9VAC5), including any method of 

analysis listed either in the definition of "reference method" in 

9VAC5-10-20, or listed or adopted by reference in 9VAC5; or 
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by any permit or order issued under and in accordance with this 

law and these regulations. 

"Test, analysis, measurement or monitoring required pursuant 

to the Virginia Waste Management Act" means any method of 

analysis required by the Virginia Waste Management Act 

(§ 10.1-1400 et seq. of the Code of Virginia); by the 

regulations promulgated under this law (9VAC20), including 

any method of analysis listed or adopted by reference in 

9VAC20; or by any permit or order issued under and in 

accordance with this law and these regulations. 

"Test, analysis, measurement or monitoring required pursuant 

to the Virginia Water Control Law" means any method of 

analysis required by the Virginia Water Control Law (§ 62.1-

44.2 et seq. of the Code of Virginia); by the regulations 

promulgated under this law (9VAC25), including any method 

of analysis listed or adopted by reference in 9VAC25; or by 

any permit or order issued under and in accordance with this 

law and these regulations. 

"Test method" means an adoption of a scientific technique for 

performing a specific measurement, as documented in a 

laboratory standard operating procedure or as published by a 

recognized authority. 

"The NELAC Institute (TNI)" or "TNI" means the 

organization whose standards environmental laboratories must 

meet to be accredited in Virginia. 

"TNI standards" means the 2009 2016 Standards for 

Environmental Laboratories and Accreditation Bodies 

approved by TNI. 

"Virginia Air Pollution Control Law" means Chapter 13 

(§ 10.1-1300 et seq.) of Title 10.1 of the Code of Virginia that 

is titled "Air Pollution Control Board." 

"Virginia Environmental Laboratory Accreditation Program" 

or "VELAP" means the program DCLS operates to accredit 

environmental laboratories under this chapter. 

"Wastewater" means liquid and water-carried industrial 

wastes and domestic sewage from residential dwellings, 

commercial buildings, industrial and manufacturing facilities, 

and institutions. 

"Waterworks" means each system of structures and 

appliances used in connection with the collection, storage, 

purification, and treatment of water for drinking or domestic 

use and the distribution thereof to the public, except 

distribution piping. 

"Zooplankton" means microscopic animals that float freely 

with voluntary movement in a body of water. 

1VAC30-46-70. Process to apply and obtain accreditation. 

A. Duty to apply. All owners of (i) commercial environmental 

laboratories and (ii) TNI-accredited commercial 

environmental laboratories applying for secondary 

accreditation shall apply for accreditation as specified by the 

provisions of this section. Applications for accreditation must 

be obtained from DCLS program staff by email at 

Lab_Cert@dgs.virginia.gov. 

B. Initial applications. Owners of commercial environmental 

laboratories applying for accreditation under this chapter for 

the first time shall submit an application to DCLS as specified 

under subsection F of this section. 

C. Renewal and reassessment. 

1. DCLS shall renew accreditation annually for the 

accredited laboratory provided the laboratory does the 

following: 

a. Maintains compliance with this chapter. 

b. Attests to this compliance by signing the certificate of 

compliance provided under subdivision F 3 of this section. 

c. Reports acceptable proficiency test values as required 

by 1VAC30-46-210 B. 

d. Pays the fee required by 1VAC30-46-150. 

2. DCLS shall reassess the accredited environmental 

laboratory during an on-site assessment as required by 

1VAC30-46-220. 

D. Responsibilities of the owner and operator when the 

laboratory is owned by one person and operated by another 

person. 

1. When an environmental laboratory is owned by one 

person but is operated by another person, the operator may 

submit the application for the owner. 

2. If the operator fails to submit the application, the owner is 

not relieved of his responsibility to apply for accreditation. 

3. While DCLS may notify environmental laboratories of the 

date their applications are due, failure of DCLS to notify 

does not relieve the owner of his obligation to apply under 

this chapter. 

E. Submission of applications for modifications to 

accreditation. An owner of an accredited environmental 

laboratory shall follow the process set out in 1VAC30-46-90 B 

to modify the laboratory's scope of accreditation. 

F. Contents of application. 

1. Applications shall include but not be limited to the 

following information and documents: 

a. Legal name of laboratory; 

b. Name of owner of laboratory; 

c. Name of operator of laboratory, if different than owner; 

d. Street address and description of location of laboratory; 

e. Mailing address of laboratory, if different from street 

address; 

f. Address of owner, if different from laboratory address; 



Regulations 

Volume 37, Issue 19 Virginia Register of Regulations  May 10, 2021  

2788 

g. Name, address, telephone number, facsimile number, 

and email, as applicable, of responsible official; 

h. Name, address, telephone number, facsimile number, 

and email, as applicable, of technical manager; 

i. Name, address, telephone number, facsimile number, 

and email, as applicable, of designated quality assurance 

officer; 

j. Name and telephone number of laboratory contact 

person; 

k. Laboratory type (e.g., commercial, public wastewater 

system, mobile); 

l. Laboratory hours of operation; 

m. Fields of accreditation for which the laboratory is 

seeking accreditation; 

n. The results of two successful unique TNI-compliant PT 

studies for each accreditation field of proficiency testing 

as required by 1VAC30-46-210 B (for primary 

accreditation only); 

o. Quality assurance manual (for primary accreditation 

only); 

p. Copy of the primary certificate of accreditation for 

secondary accreditation applications; and 

q. For mobile laboratories, a unique vehicle identification 

number, such as a manufacturer's vehicle identification 

number (VIN #), serial number, or license number. 

2. Fee. The application shall include payment of the fee as 

specified in 1VAC30-46-150. 

3. Certification of compliance. 

a. The application shall include a "Certification of 

Compliance" statement signed and dated by (i) the quality 

assurance officer, and (ii) the responsible official or the 

technical manager, or both. 

b. The certification of compliance shall state: "The 

applicant understands and acknowledges that the 

laboratory is required to be continually in compliance with 

the Virginia environmental laboratory accreditation 

program regulation (1VAC30 Chapter 46) and is subject 

to the provisions of 1VAC30-46-100 in the event of 

noncompliance. Specifically the applicant: 

(1) Shall commit to fulfill continually the requirements for 

accreditation set by DCLS for the areas where 

accreditation is sought or granted. 

(2) When requested, shall afford such accommodation and 

cooperation as is necessary to enable DCLS to verify 

fulfillment of requirements for accreditation. This applies 

to all premises where laboratory services take place. 

(3) Shall provide access to information, documents, and 

records as necessary for the assessment and maintenance 

of the accreditation. 

(4) Shall provide access to those documents that provide 

insight into the level of independence and impartiality of 

the laboratory from its related bodies, where applicable. 

(5) Shall arrange the witnessing of laboratory services 

when requested by DCLS. 

(6) Shall claim accreditation only with respect to the scope 

for which it has been granted accreditation. 

(7) Shall pay fees as shall be determined by the 

accreditation body. 

(8) Shall have access to a copy of the TNI standards 

incorporated by reference into this chapter. 

I certify under penalty of law that this document and all 

attachments were prepared under my direction or 

supervision in accordance with a system designed to 

assure that qualified personnel properly gather and 

evaluate the information submitted. Based on my inquiry 

of the person or persons who manage the laboratory or 

those persons directly responsible for gathering and 

evaluating the information, the information submitted is, 

to the best of my knowledge and belief, true, accurate and 

complete. Submitting false information or data shall result 

in denial or withdrawal of accreditation. I further certify 

that I am authorized to sign this application." 

G. Completeness determination. 

1. DCLS shall determine whether an application is complete 

and notify the laboratory of the result of such determination. 

DCLS shall provide this notice within 90 calendar days of 

its receipt of the application. 

2. An application shall be determined complete if it contains 

all the information required pursuant to subsection F of this 

section and is sufficient to evaluate the laboratory prior to 

the on-site assessment. Designating an application complete 

does not preclude DCLS from requesting or accepting 

additional information. 

3. If DCLS determines that an application is incomplete, the 

DCLS notification of such determination shall explain why 

the application is incomplete and specify the additional 

information needed to make the application complete. 

4. If DCLS makes no determination within 90 calendar days 

of its receipt of either (i) the application or (ii) additional 

information, in the case of an application determined to be 

incomplete, the application shall be determined to be 

complete. 

5. If the laboratory has not submitted the required additional 

information within 90 days of receiving a notice from DCLS 

requesting additional information, DCLS may inform the 

laboratory that the application cannot be processed. The 

laboratory may then submit a new application. 

H. Grant of interim accreditation pending final determination 

on application. 
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1. DCLS shall grant interim accreditation status to 

laboratories applying initially under the following 

conditions: 

a. The laboratory's application is determined to be 

complete; 

b. The laboratory has satisfied all the requirements for 

accreditation, including all requests for additional 

information, with the exception of on-site assessment; and 

c. DCLS is unable to schedule the on-site assessment 

within 120 days of its determination that the application is 

complete. 

2. A laboratory with interim accreditation status shall have 

the same rights and status as a laboratory that has been 

granted accreditation by DCLS. 

3. Interim accreditation status shall not exceed 12 months. 

I. On-site assessment. An on-site assessment shall be 

performed and the follow-up and reporting procedures for such 

assessments shall be completed in accordance with 1VAC30-

46-220 prior to issuance of a final determination on 

accreditation. 

J. Final determination on accreditation. Upon completion of 

the accreditation review process and corrective action, if any, 

DCLS shall grant accreditation in accordance with subsection 

K of this section or deny accreditation in accordance with 

subsection L of this section. 

K. Grant of accreditation. 

1. When a laboratory meets the requirements specified for 

receiving accreditation, DCLS shall issue a certificate to the 

laboratory. The certificate shall be sent to the technical 

manager, and the responsible official shall be notified. 

2. The director of DCLS or his designee shall sign the 

certificate. 

3. The certificate shall include the following information: 

a. Name of owner of laboratory; 

b. Name of operator of laboratory, if different from owner; 

c. Name of responsible official; 

d. Address and location of laboratory; 

e. Laboratory identification number; 

f. Fields of accreditation (matrix, technology/method, and 

analyte) for which accreditation is granted; 

g. Any addenda or attachments; and 

h. Issuance date and expiration date. 

4. TNI accreditation status. 

a. Laboratories accredited under this chapter are 

accredited under the standards of TNI. 

b. The certificate of accreditation shall contain the TNI 

insignia. 

c. Accredited laboratories shall comply with the 

provisions of 1VAC30-46-130 with regard to the use of 

these certificates and their status as TNI-accredited 

laboratories. 

5. The laboratory shall post the most recent certificate of 

accreditation and any addenda to the certificate issued by 

DCLS in a prominent place in the laboratory facility. 

6. Accreditation shall expire one year after the date on which 

accreditation is granted. 

L. Denial of accreditation. 

1. DCLS shall deny accreditation to an environmental 

laboratory in total if the laboratory is found to be falsifying 

any data or providing false information to support 

accreditation. 

2. Denial of accreditation in total or in part. 

a. DCLS may deny accreditation to an environmental 

laboratory in total or in part if the laboratory fails to do 

any of the following: 

(1) Pay the required fees; 

(2) Employ laboratory staff to meet the personnel 

qualifications as required by 1VAC30-46-210 A; 

(3) Successfully analyze and report proficiency testing 

samples as required by 1VAC30-46-210 B; 

(4) Submit a corrective action plan in accordance with 

1VAC30-46-220 in response to a deficiency report from 

the on-site assessment team within the required 30 

calendar days; 

(5) Implement the corrective actions detailed in the 

corrective action plan within the time frame specified by 

DCLS; 

(6) Pass required on-site assessment as specified in 

1VAC30-46-220; or 

(7) Implement a quality system as defined in 1VAC30-46-

210 C. 

b. DCLS may deny accreditation to an environmental 

laboratory in total or in part if the laboratory's application 

is not determined to be complete within 90 days following 

notification of incompleteness because the laboratory is 

delinquent in submitting information required by DCLS in 

accordance with this chapter. 

c. DCLS may deny accreditation to an environmental 

laboratory in total or in part if the DCLS on-site 

assessment team is unable to carry out the on-site 

assessment pursuant to 1VAC30-46-220 because a 

representative of the environmental laboratory denied the 

team entry during the laboratory's normal business hours 

that it specified in the laboratory application. 

3. DCLS shall follow the process specified in 1VAC30-46-

110 when denying accreditation to an environmental 

laboratory. 
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M. Reapplication following denial of accreditation. DCLS 

shall not waive application fees for a laboratory reapplying for 

accreditation. 

1VAC30-46-95. Suspension of accreditation. 

A. Before withdrawing accreditation, DCLS may suspend 

accreditation from an environmental laboratory in total or in 

part to allow the laboratory time to correct the reason for which 

DCLS may withdraw accreditation. Suspension is limited to 

the reasons listed in subsection B of this section. 

B. DCLS may suspend accreditation from an environmental 

laboratory in part or in total when the laboratory has failed to 

do any of the following: 

1. Participate in the proficiency testing program as required 

by 1VAC30-46-210 B. 

2. Complete proficiency testing studies and maintain a 

history of at least two successful proficiency testing studies 

for each accredited field of testing out of the three most 

recent proficiency testing studies as defined in 1VAC30-46-

210 B. 

3. Submit an acceptable corrective action plan after two 

opportunities as specified in 1VAC30-46-220 L. 

4. Maintain a quality system as defined in 1VAC30-46-210 

C. 

4. 5. Employ staff that meets the personnel qualifications of 

1VAC30-46-210 A. 

5. 6. Notify DCLS of any changes in key accreditation 

criteria as set forth in 1VAC30-46-90. 

C. Process to suspend accreditation. 

1. When DCLS determines that cause exists to suspend a 

laboratory, the agency shall send notification to the 

responsible official and the technical manager stating the 

agency's determination that the laboratory has failed to meet 

the 1VAC30-46 standards for one or more of the reasons 

listed in subsection B of this section. DCLS shall send the 

notification by certified mail. 

2. In its notice, DCLS shall request the laboratory to notify 

DCLS in writing if the laboratory believes the agency is 

incorrect in its determination. 

3. The notification shall state that the laboratory is required 

to take corrective action whenever a failure occurs and to 

document the corrective action. The notification shall 

require the laboratory to provide DCLS with documentation 

of the corrective action taken with regard to its failure to 

meet a standard under this chapter. 

4. The notification shall state what the laboratory is required 

to do to restore its accreditation status and the time allowed 

to do so. 

5. The environmental laboratory may proceed to correct the 

deficiencies for which DCLS has suspended the laboratory's 

accreditation. 

6. Alternatively the laboratory may state in writing that 

DCLS is incorrect in its determination regarding suspension, 

giving specific reasons why the laboratory believes DCLS 

should not suspend accreditation. 

7. With the exception of subdivision B 4 of this section, 

DCLS may allow the laboratory up to 60 days to correct the 

problem for which it may have its accreditation suspended. 

8. DCLS shall set a date for suspension that follows the 

period provided under subdivision 7 of this subsection to 

restore accreditation. 

9. If the laboratory does not correct its deficiencies within 

the time period allowed, DCLS shall suspend a laboratory in 

part or in total. 

10. DCLS shall notify the laboratory by letter of its 

suspension status. DCLS shall send the notification by 

certified mail. DCLS shall also notify the pertinent Virginia 

state agency of the laboratory's suspension status. 

11. The laboratory may provide information demonstrating 

why suspension is not warranted in accordance with the 

standard referenced in the initial DCLS notification. If such 

information is not provided prior to the suspension date, the 

laboratory accepts the DCLS decision to suspend. 

12. The laboratory has the right to due process as set forth in 

1VAC30-46-110. 

D. Responsibilities of the environmental laboratory and 

DCLS when accreditation has been suspended. 

1. The term of suspension shall be limited to six months or 

the period of accreditation whichever is longer. 

2. The environmental laboratory shall not continue to 

analyze samples or report analysis for the fields of 

accreditation for which DCLS has suspended accreditation. 

3. The environmental laboratory shall retain accreditation 

for the fields of accreditation, methods, and analytes where 

it continues to meet the requirements of this chapter. 

4. The laboratory's suspended accreditation status shall 

change to accredited when the laboratory demonstrates to 

DCLS that the laboratory has corrected the deficiency or 

deficiencies for which its accreditation was suspended. 

5. An environmental laboratory with suspended 

accreditation shall not have to reapply for accreditation if the 

cause or causes for suspension are corrected within the term 

of suspension. 

6. An environmental laboratory that DCLS has suspended in 

total shall pay the cost of any necessary follow-up on-site 

assessments or data review or both to determine compliance. 
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This cost shall be calculated under the provisions of 

1VAC30-46-150 E and F. 

7. If the laboratory fails to correct the causes of suspension 

within the term of suspension, DCLS shall withdraw the 

laboratory's accreditation in total or in part. 

1VAC30-46-100. Withdrawal of accreditation. 

A. DCLS shall withdraw accreditation from an environmental 

laboratory in total if the laboratory is found to be falsifying any 

data or providing false information to support accreditation. 

B. DCLS may withdraw accreditation from an environmental 

laboratory in part or in total when the laboratory has failed to 

do any of the following: 

1. Participate in the proficiency testing program as required 

by 1VAC30-46-210 B. 

2. Complete proficiency testing studies and maintain a 

history of at least two successful proficiency testing studies 

for each affected accredited field of testing out of the three 

most recent proficiency testing studies as defined in 

1VAC30-46-210 B. 

3. Successfully complete three consecutive PT studies, either 

by failure to participate in the required PT study or by failure 

to obtain acceptable results for the same field of 

accreditation. 

4. Maintain a quality system as defined in 1VAC30-46-210 

C. 

4. 5. Employ staff that meets the personnel qualifications of 

1VAC30-46-210 A. 

5. 6. Submit an acceptable corrective action plan after two 

opportunities as specified in 1VAC30-46-220. 

6. 7. Implement corrective action specified in the 

laboratory's corrective action plan as set out under 1VAC30-

46-220. 

7. 8. Correct the causes of suspension within the term of 

suspension. 

9. Notify DCLS of any changes in key accreditation criteria 

as set forth in 1VAC30-46-90. 

8. 10. Use correct and authorized references to the 

laboratory's accreditation status or that of DCLS in the 

laboratory's documentation and advertising as set forth in 

1VAC30-46-130. 

9. 11. Allow a DCLS assessment team entry during normal 

business hours to conduct an on-site assessment required by 

1VAC30-46-220. 

10. 12. Pay required fees specified in 1VAC30-46-150. 

13. Meet the provisions regarding communication with 

others in Volume 1, Module 1, Section 4.1.5 of the 2016 TNI 

Standards. 

C. DCLS shall follow the process specified in 1VAC30-46-

110 when withdrawing accreditation from an environmental 

laboratory. 

D. Responsibilities of the environmental laboratory and 

DCLS when accreditation has been withdrawn. 

1. Laboratories that lose their accreditation in full shall 

return their certificate to DCLS. 

2. If a laboratory loses accreditation in part, DCLS shall 

issue a revised certificate to the laboratory. 

3. The laboratory shall discontinue the use of all materials 

that contain either a reference to the environmental 

laboratory's past accreditation status or that display the TNI 

logo. These materials may include catalogs, advertising, 

business solicitations, proposals, quotations, laboratory 

analytical reports, or other materials. 

4. The environmental laboratory shall not continue to 

analyze samples or report analyses for the fields of 

accreditation for which DCLS has withdrawn accreditation. 

E. After correcting the reason or cause for the withdrawal of 

accreditation under 1VAC30-46-100 A or B, the laboratory 

owner may reapply for accreditation under 1VAC30-46-70 B 

and E. 

1VAC30-46-140. Secondary accreditation. 

A. DCLS may grant secondary accreditation to an 

environmental laboratory that holds a current accreditation 

from another TNI-recognized NELAP-recognized primary 

accreditation body. 

B. The owner of a TNI-accredited environmental laboratory 

that seeks accreditation under this chapter shall apply as 

specified in 1VAC30-46-70 with the exception of 1VAC30-

46-70 F 1 n and o. 

C. The owner of the applicant laboratory shall pay the fee 

required by 1VAC30-46-150. 

D. DCLS shall not require a TNI-accredited environmental 

laboratory that seeks accreditation under this section to meet 

any additional proficiency testing, quality assurance, or on-site 

assessment requirements for the fields of accreditation for 

which the laboratory holds primary TNI accreditation. 

E. DCLS shall consider only the current certificate of 

accreditation issued by the TNI-recognized primary 

accreditation body. 

F. DCLS shall grant secondary accreditation for only the 

fields of accreditation offered under this chapter for which the 

laboratory holds current primary TNI accreditation. 

1VAC30-46-150. Fees. 

A. General. 



Regulations 

Volume 37, Issue 19 Virginia Register of Regulations  May 10, 2021  

2792 

1. Environmental laboratories shall pay a fee with all 

applications, including reapplications, for accreditation. 

DCLS shall not designate an application as complete until it 

receives payment of the fee. 

2. Each accredited environmental laboratory shall pay an 

annual fee to maintain its accreditation. DCLS shall send an 

invoice to the accredited environmental laboratory. 

3. An environmental laboratory applying for secondary 

accreditation under 1VAC30-46-140 shall pay the same fee 

as other laboratories subject to this chapter. 

4. Fees shall be nonrefundable. 

5. DCLS, as part of its regular budgetary review of the 

program, shall determine whether the fees charged under this 

section offset the program costs as required under § 2.2-1105 

of the Code of Virginia. 

B. Fee computation. 

1. Fees shall be applied on an annual basis. 

2. Environmental laboratories shall pay the total of the base 

fee and the test category fees set out in subsections C and D 

of this section. 

C. Base fee. 

1. DCLS determines the base fee for a laboratory by taking 

into account both the total number of methods and the total 

number of field of accreditation matrices for which the 

laboratory would be accredited. 

2. DCLS shall charge the base fees set out in Table 1. The 

base fee for a laboratory is located by first finding the row 

for the total number of methods to be accredited and then 

finding the box on that row located in the column headed by 

the total number of matrices to be accredited. For example, 

DCLS charges a base fee of $1625 to a laboratory 

performing a total of eight methods for one matrix. 

TABLE 1: BASE FEES 

Number 

of 

Methods 

One 

Matrix 

Two 

Matrices 

Three 

Matrices 

Four or 

more 

Matrices 

1 - 9 $1625 $1788 $1969 $2163 

10 - 29 $1750 $1969 $2188 $2438 

30 - 99 $1938 $2281 $2688 $3188 

100 - 149 $2063 $2475 $2969 $3563 

150+ $2250 $2813 $3531 $4406 

D. Test category fees. 

1. The test category fees cover the types of testing for which 

a laboratory may be accredited as specified in the 

laboratory's application or as accredited at the time of annual 

billing. 

2. Fees shall be charged for each category of tests to be 

accredited. 

3. Fees shall be charged for the total number of field of 

accreditation matrices to be accredited under the specific test 

category. For example, if a laboratory is performing 

inorganic chemistry for both nonpotable water and solid and 

chemical matrices, the fee for this test category would be 

found in the column for two matrices. 

4. The fee for each category includes one or more analytical 

methods unless otherwise specified. 

5. Test category fees. DCLS shall charge the test category 

fees set out in Table 2. The test category fees for a laboratory 

are located by first finding the row with the total number of 

test methods for the test category to be accredited. The fee 

to be charged for the test category will be found on that row 

in the column headed by the total number of matrices to be 

accredited. A laboratory performing four test methods for 

bacteriology in both nonpotable and drinking water (two 

matrices) would be charged a test category fee of $413. 

TABLE 2: TEST CATEGORY FEES 

 

Fees by Number of 

Matrices 

Test Category One Two 

Three 

or More 

Aquatic toxicity, acute methods 

only $740 N/A N/A 

Aquatic toxicity, acute and 

chronic methods $990 N/A N/A 

Oxygen demand $281 $419 $544 

Bacteriology, 1 - 3 total 

methods $219 $331 $431 

Bacteriology, 4 or more total 

methods $275 $413 $538 

Physical, 1 - 5 total methods $219 $331 $431 

Physical, 6 - 10 total methods $275 $413 $538 

Physical, 11 or more total 

methods $344 $519 $675 

Inorganic chemistry, 1 - 10 total 

methods $313 $469 $613 

Inorganic chemistry, 11 - 20 

total methods $394 $594 $775 
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Inorganic chemistry, 21 - 49 

total methods $493 $738 $959 

Inorganic chemistry, 50 or more 

total methods $615 $925 $1203 

Chemistry metals, 1 - 5 total 

methods $406 $613 $796 

Chemistry metals, 6 - 20 total 

methods $513 $769 $1000 

Chemistry metals, 21 or more 

total methods $640 $963 $1250 

Organic chemistry, 1 - 5 total 

methods $1020 $1270 $1495 

Organic chemistry, 6 - 20 total 

methods $1145 $1458 $1739 

Organic chemistry, 21 - 40 total 

methods $1301 $1695 $2048 

Organic chemistry, 41 or more 

total methods $1495 $1983 $2420 

Radiochemical, 1 - 10 total 

methods $990 $1365 $1703 

Radiochemical, 11 or more total 

methods $1146 $1603 $2015 

Asbestos $1146 $1603 $2015 

6. Fee examples. Three examples are provided. 

a. Example 1: 

Base Fee 

One matrix and four 

test methods $1625 

Test Category Fees 
  

One Matrix 
  

Nonpotable Water 

Bacteriology  

(2 methods) $219 

Nonpotable Water 

Oxygen demand  

(1 method) $281 

Nonpotable Water Physical (1 method) $219 

TOTAL 
 

$2344 

b. Example 2: 

Base Fee 

One matrix and 15 

test methods $1750 

Test Category Fees 
  

One Matrix 
  

Nonpotable Water 

Bacteriology  

(2 methods) $219 

Nonpotable Water 

Inorganic chemistry 

(9 methods) $313 

Nonpotable Water Metals (2 methods) $406 

Nonpotable Water 

Oxygen demand  

(1 method) $281 

Nonpotable Water Physical (1 method) $219 

TOTAL 
 

$3188 

c. Example 3: 

Base Fee 

Two matrices and 27 

test methods $1969 

Test Category Fees 
  

One Matrix 
  

Nonpotable Water 

Bacteriology  

(4 methods) $275 

Nonpotable Water 

Oxygen demand 

 (1 method) $281 

Solid and 

Chemical 

Materials Metals (1 method) $406 

Two Matrices 
  

Nonpotable Water 

and Solid and 

Chemical 

Materials 

Inorganic chemistry 

(13 methods) $594 

Nonpotable Water 

and Solid and 

Chemical 

Materials Physical (7 methods) $413 

TOTAL 
 

$3938 

E. Additional fees. Additional fees shall be charged to 

laboratories applying for the following: (i) modification to 

scope of accreditation under 1VAC30-46-90 B, (ii) transfer of 

ownership under 1VAC30-46-90 C, (iii) review of compliance 

following total suspension, or (iii) (iv) petition for a variance 

under 1VAC30-46-160. 

1. For any accredited environmental laboratory that applies 

to modify its scope of accreditation as specified under 

1VAC30-46-90 B, DCLS shall assess a fee determined by 

the method in subsection F of this section. 
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2. Under 1VAC30-46-90 C, DCLS may charge a transfer fee 

to a certified laboratory that transfers ownership. A fee shall 

be charged if DCLS (i) needs to review documentation sent 

by the laboratory about the transfer of ownership or (ii) 

determines that an on-site assessment is necessary to 

evaluate the effect of the transfer of ownership. DCLS shall 

assess a fee determined by the method in subsection F of this 

section. If, under 1VAC30-46-90 C, DCLS determines that 

the change of ownership or location of laboratory requires 

reaccreditation of or reapplication by the laboratory, the 

laboratory shall pay the application fee required under this 

section. 

3. Under 1VAC30-46-95 D 6, an environmental laboratory 

that DCLS has suspended in total shall be charged the cost 

of any necessary follow-up on-site assessments or data 

review or both to determine compliance. This charge shall 

be calculated under the method specified in subsection F of 

this section. 

4. Under 1VAC30-46-160, any person regulated by this 

chapter may petition the director to grant a variance from 

any requirement of this chapter. DCLS shall charge a fee for 

the time needed to review the petition, including any on-site 

assessment required. The fee shall be determined by the 

method specified in subsection F of this section. 

F. Additional fees determination. 

1. The fee shall be the sum of the total hourly charges for all 

reviewers plus any on-site review costs incurred. 

2. An hourly charge per reviewer shall be determined by (i) 

obtaining a yearly cost by multiplying the reviewer's annual 

salary by 1.35 (accounts for overhead such as taxes and 

insurance) and then (ii) dividing the yearly cost by 1,642 

(number of annual hours established by Fiscal Services, 

Department of General Services, for billing purposes). 

3. The charge per reviewer shall be determined by 

multiplying the number of hours expended in the review by 

the reviewer's hourly charge. 

4. If an on-site review is required, travel time and on-site 

review time shall be charged at the same hourly charge per 

reviewer, and any travel expenses shall be added. 

G. Out-of-state laboratories applying for primary 

accreditation. 

1. The owner of an environmental laboratory located in 

another state who applies for primary accreditation under 

this chapter shall pay a surcharge of $5000 plus the labor 

costs of the on-site assessment and reasonable travel costs 

associated with conducting an on-site assessment at the 

laboratory. Reasonable travel costs include transportation, 

lodging, per diem, and telephone and duplication charges. 

These charges shall be in addition to the fees charged under 

subdivision A 1 and subsections B through D of this section. 

2. Once the laboratory is accredited, DCLS shall charge the 

annual fee specified in subdivision A 2 and subsections B 

through D of this section, the labor costs for the on-site 

assessment, and reasonable travel costs associated with 

conducting the on-site assessment. 

H. DCLS shall derive the travel costs charged under 

subsections F and G of this section from the Commonwealth 

of Virginia reimbursement allowances and rates for lodging, 

per diem, and mileage. 

1VAC30-46-200. Incorporation by reference of TNI 

standards. 

A. The following TNI standards are incorporated by reference 

into this chapter: The Standards for Environmental 

Laboratories and Accreditation Bodies, 2009 2016 (The 

NELAC Institute (TNI)), Volume 1: Management and 

Technical Requirements for Laboratories Performing 

Environmental Analysis, and Volume 2: General 

Requirements for Accreditation Bodies Accrediting 

Environmental Laboratories, except for section Section 6.6 of 

Module 3 concerning confidential business information. 

B. Environmental laboratories applying for accreditation and 

accredited under this chapter shall comply with the TNI 

standards incorporated by reference into subsection A of this 

section. For convenience these standards are specified by 

accreditation component in 1VAC30-46-210 and 1VAC30-46-

220. 

C. The TNI standards are organized by volume and module. 

1. Volume 1 - Management and Technical Requirements for 

Laboratories Performing Environmental Analysis includes 

the following modules: 

a. Proficiency Testing. 

b. Quality Systems General Requirements. 

c. Quality Systems for Asbestos Testing. 

d. Quality Systems for Chemical Testing. 

e. Quality Systems for Microbiological Testing. 

f. Quality Systems for Radiochemical Testing. 

g. Quality Systems for Toxicity Testing. 

2. Volume 2 - General Requirements for Accreditation 

Bodies Accrediting Environmental Laboratories includes 

the following modules: 

a. General Requirements. 

b. Proficiency Testing. 

c. On-Site Assessment. 

1VAC30-46-210. Standards for accreditation. 

A. Standards for personnel. The standards for personnel are 

found in Section 5.2 of Volume 1, Module 2 of the TNI 

standards. 

B. Standards for proficiency testing. 
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1. The standards for proficiency testing are found in (i) 

Module 1 and (ii) section 4.11 of Module 2 of Volume 1 of 

the TNI standards. 

2. Additional requirements from Volume 2, Module 2 of the 

TNI standards. 

a. A laboratory shall perform two proficiency test studies 

each calendar year for each FoPT. These proficiency 

testing studies shall be performed at least five months 

apart and no longer than seven months apart within the 

calendar year. 

b. The following proficiency testing studies shall not apply 

when meeting the requirements of subdivision 2 a of this 

subsection: 

(1) Studies used for corrective action to reestablish 

successful history in order to maintain accreditation; and 

(2) Studies used to reinstate accreditation after DCLS 

suspends accreditation. 

c. DCLS shall consider a laboratory's analytical result for 

a FoPT not acceptable for the following reasons: 

(1) When the laboratory does not report the results within 

the time frames specified in Volume 1, Module 1 of the 

TNI standards. 

(2) When the laboratory makes any reporting error or 

omission that results in a nonspecific match between the 

analytical result for the FoPT and any criterion that 

identifies the laboratory or the field of accreditation for 

which the PT sample was analyzed for the purpose of 

initial or continued accreditation. 

d. If DCLS requests a corrective action plan from a 

laboratory, the laboratory shall provide the plan within 30 

calendar days of the request. 

e. A laboratory may withdraw from a study for any FoPT 

on or before the close date of the study. Withdrawing from 

a study shall not exempt the laboratory from meeting the 

semiannual analysis requirements necessary for continued 

accreditation. 

C. Standards for quality systems. 

1. General requirements for all environmental laboratories 

are found in Volume 1, Module 2 of the TNI standards. 

2. Requirements for the specific types of testing that may be 

performed by an individual environmental laboratory are 

found in Volume 1, Modules 3 through 7 of the TNI 

standards. 

3. Drinking water laboratories obtaining certification under 

this chapter shall meet the reporting requirements set out in 

1VAC30-41 for compliance with 12VAC5-590-530 and 

12VAC5-590-540. 

1VAC30-46-220. On-site assessment. 

A. The standards for on-site assessment are found in Volume 

2, Module 3 of the TNI standards. The requirements specific to 

environmental laboratories are set out in this section. 

B. DCLS shall conduct a comprehensive on-site assessment 

of an environmental laboratory prior to granting final primary 

accreditation to the laboratory. 

C. Frequency of on-site assessment. 

1. DCLS shall reassess each accredited laboratory every two 

years starting from the date of the previous assessment plus 

or minus six months. 

2. Other on-site assessments. 

a. If DCLS identified a deficiency on a previous on-site 

assessment, the agency may conduct a follow-up on-site 

assessment. 

b. DCLS may conduct an on-site assessment under the 

following circumstances: 

(1) A laboratory applies to modify its scope of 

accreditation; 

(2) A transfer of ownership occurs that affects personnel, 

equipment, or the laboratory facilities; or 

(3) A laboratory applies for an exemption or a variance. 

c. Any other change occurring in a laboratory's operations 

that might reasonably be expected to alter or impair 

analytical capability and quality may trigger an on-site 

assessment. 

D. Announced and unannounced on-site assessments. DCLS, 

at its discretion, may conduct either announced or 

unannounced on-site assessments. Advance notice of an 

assessment shall not be necessary. 

E. Preparation for the on-site assessment. 

1. Prior to the actual site visit, DCLS may request in writing 

from a laboratory those records required to be maintained by 

this chapter. 

2. DCLS may opt not to proceed with an on-site assessment 

based on nonconformities found during document and 

record review. 

F. Areas to be assessed. 

1. DCLS shall assess the laboratory against the standards 

incorporated by reference and specified in 1VAC30-46-200 

and 1VAC30-46-210. 

2. The laboratory shall ensure that its quality manual, 

analytical methods, quality control data, proficiency test 

data, laboratory SOPs, and all records needed to verify 

compliance with the standards specified in 1VAC30-46-200 

and 1VAC30-46-210 are available for review during the on-

site assessment. 
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G. National security considerations. 

1. Assessments at facilities owned or operated by federal 

agencies or contractors may require security clearances, 

appropriate badging, or a security briefing before the 

assessment begins. 

2. The laboratory shall notify DCLS in writing of any 

information that is controlled for national security reasons 

and cannot be released to the public. 

H. Arrival, admittance, and opening conference. 

1. Arrival. DCLS and the laboratory shall agree to the date 

and schedule for announced on-site assessments. 

2. Admittance of assessment personnel. A laboratory's 

refusal to admit the assessment personnel for an on-site 

assessment shall result in an automatic failure of the 

laboratory to receive accreditation or loss of an existing 

accreditation by the laboratory, unless there are extenuating 

circumstances that are accepted and documented by DCLS. 

3. Health and safety. Under no circumstance, and especially 

as a precondition to gain access to a laboratory, shall 

assessment personnel be required or even allowed to sign 

any waiver of responsibility on the part of the laboratory for 

injuries incurred during an assessment. 

4. Opening conference. An opening conference shall be 

conducted and shall address the following topics: 

a. The purpose of the assessment; 

b. The identification of assessment personnel; 

c. The test methods that will be examined; 

d. Any pertinent records and procedures to be examined 

during the assessment and the names of the individuals in 

the laboratory responsible for providing assessment 

personnel with such records; 

e. The roles and responsibilities of laboratory staff and 

managers; 

f. Any special safety procedures that the laboratory may 

think necessary for the protection of assessment 

personnel; 

g. The standards and criteria that will be used in judging 

the adequacy of the laboratory operation; 

h. Confirmation of the tentative time for the exit 

conference; and 

i. Discussion of any questions the laboratory may have 

about the assessment process. 

I. On-site laboratory records review and collection. 

1. Records shall be reviewed by assessment personnel for 

accuracy, completeness, and the use of proper methodology 

for each analyte and test method to be evaluated. 

2. Records required to be maintained pursuant to this chapter 

shall be examined as part of an assessment for accreditation. 

J. Observations of and interviews with laboratory personnel. 

1. As an element of the assessment process, the assessment 

team shall evaluate an analysis regimen by requesting that 

the analyst normally conducting the procedure give a step-

by-step description of exactly what is done and what 

equipment and supplies are needed to complete the regimen. 

Any deficiencies shall be noted and discussed with the 

analyst. In addition, the deficiencies shall be discussed in the 

closing conference. 

2. Assessment personnel may conduct interviews with 

appropriate laboratory personnel. 

3. Calculations, data transfers, calibration procedures, 

quality control, and quality assurance practices, adherence to 

test methods, and report preparation shall be assessed for the 

complete scope of accreditation with appropriate laboratory 

analysts. 

K. Closing conference. 

1. Assessment personnel shall meet with representatives of 

the laboratory following the assessment for a closing 

conference. 

2. During the closing conference, assessment personnel shall 

inform the laboratory of the preliminary findings and the 

basis for such findings. The laboratory shall have an 

opportunity to provide further explanation or clarification 

relevant to the preliminary findings. If the laboratory objects 

to the preliminary findings during the closing conference, all 

objections shall be documented by the assessment personnel 

and included in the final report to DCLS. 

3. Additional problem areas may be identified in the final 

report. 

L. Follow-up and reporting procedures. 

1. DCLS shall provide an on-site assessment report to the 

laboratory documenting any deficiencies found by DCLS 

within 30 calendar days of the last day of the on-site 

assessment. 

2. When deficiencies are identified in the assessment report, 

the laboratory shall have 30 calendar days from the date of 

its receipt of the on-site assessment report to provide a 

corrective action plan to DCLS. 

3. The laboratory's corrective action plan shall include the 

following: 

a. Any objections that the laboratory has with regard to the 

on-site assessment report; 

b. The action that the laboratory proposes to correct each 

deficiency identified in the assessment report; 

c. The time period required to accomplish the corrective 

action; and 
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d. Documentation of corrective action that the laboratory 

has already completed at the time the corrective action 

plan is submitted. 

4. If the corrective action plan, or a portion of the plan, is 

determined to be unacceptable to remedy the deficiency, 

DCLS shall provide written notification to the responsible 

official and technical manager of the laboratory, including a 

detailed explanation of the basis for such determination. 

Following receipt of such notification, the laboratory shall 

have an additional 30 calendar days to submit a revised 

corrective action plan acceptable to DCLS. 

5. DCLS may suspend accreditation from a laboratory under 

1VAC30-46-95 B 3 or withdraw accreditation from a 

laboratory under 1VAC30-46-100 B 5 if DCLS finds the 

second revised corrective action plan to be unacceptable. 

6. The laboratory shall submit documentation to DCLS that 

the corrective action set out in its plan has been completed 

within the time period specified in the plan. 

7. DCLS, under 1VAC30-46-100 B 6, may withdraw 

accreditation from a laboratory if the laboratory fails to 

implement the corrective actions set out in its corrective 

action plan. 

8. DCLS shall grant final accreditation as specified in 

1VAC30-46-70 K upon successful completion of any 

required corrective action following the on-site assessment. 

DOCUMENTS INCORPORATED BY REFERENCE 

(1VAC30-46) 

The Standards for Environmental Laboratories and 

Accreditation Bodies, 2009 2016, The NELAC Institute (TNI), 

P.O. Box 2439, Weatherford, TX 76086; www.nelac-

institute.org: 

Volume 1: Management and Technical Requirements for 

Laboratories Performing Environmental Analysis (EL-V1-

2009) 

Volume 2: General Requirements for Accreditation Bodies 

Accrediting Environmental Laboratories (EL-V2-2009) 

Volume 1: Management and Technical Requirements for 

Laboratories Performing Environmental Analysis (EL-V1-

2016, rev. 2.1) 

Volume 2: General Requirements for Accreditation Bodies 

Accrediting Environmental Laboratories (EL-V2-2016, rev. 

2.0)  

VA.R. Doc. No. R20-6196; Filed April 14, 2021, 11:22 a.m. 

  ––––––––––––––––––  

TITLE 2. AGRICULTURE 

BOARD OF AGRICULTURE AND CONSUMER 
SERVICES 

Fast-Track Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 2VAC5-585. Retail Food Establishment 

Regulations (amending 2VAC5-585-20, 2VAC5-585-30, 

2VAC5-585-40, 2VAC5-585-50, 2VAC5-585-65, 2VAC5-

585-67, 2VAC5-585-80, 2VAC5-585-180, 2VAC5-585-255, 

2VAC5-585-300, 2VAC5-585-310, 2VAC5-585-330, 

2VAC5-585-400, 2VAC5-585-410, 2VAC5-585-440, 

2VAC5-585-470, 2VAC5-585-540, 2VAC5-585-700, 

2VAC5-585-720, 2VAC5-585-730, 2VAC5-585-740, 

2VAC5-585-790, 2VAC5-585-820, 2VAC5-585-850, 

2VAC5-585-870, 2VAC5-585-880, 2VAC5-585-950, 

2VAC5-585-980, 2VAC5-585-1180, 2VAC5-585-1190, 

2VAC5-585-1230, 2VAC5-585-1300, 2VAC5-585-1310, 

2VAC5-585-1430, 2VAC5-585-1435, 2VAC5-585-1535, 

2VAC5-585-1620, 2VAC5-585-1700, 2VAC5-585-1780, 

2VAC5-585-1900, 2VAC5-585-2100, 2VAC5-585-2120, 

2VAC5-585-2190, 2VAC5-585-2200, 2VAC5-585-2230, 

2VAC5-585-2270, 2VAC5-585-2320, 2VAC5-585-2520, 

2VAC5-585-2570, 2VAC5-585-2750, 2VAC5-585-2790, 

2VAC5-585-3390, 2VAC5-585-3510, 2VAC5-585-3520, 

2VAC5-585-3540, 2VAC5-585-3541, 2VAC5-585-3542, 

2VAC5-585-3630, 2VAC5-585-3800, 2VAC5-585-3815, 

2VAC5-585-3820, 2VAC5-585-3860, 2VAC5-585-3910, 

2VAC5-585-3940; adding 2VAC5-585-235, 2VAC5-585-

3740, 2VAC5-585-3750; repealing 2VAC5-585-3655, 

2VAC5-585-3660). 

Statutory Authority: § 3.2-5121 of the Code of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: No public hearing is currently 

scheduled. 

Public Comment Deadline: June 9, 2021. 

Effective Date: June 24, 2021. 

Agency Contact: Ryan Davis, Program Manager, Office of 

Dairy and Foods, Department of Agriculture and Consumer 

Services, P.O. Box 1163, Richmond, VA 23218, telephone 

(804) 786-8910, FAX (804) 371-7792, TDD (800) 828-1120, 

or email ryan.davis@vdacs.virginia.gov. 

Basis: Section 3.2-109 of the Code of Virginia establishes the 

Board of Agriculture and Consumer Services as a policy board 

with the authority to adopt regulations in accordance with the 

provisions of Title 3.2 of the Code of Virginia. Section 3.2-

5121 of the Code of Virginia provides the legal basis for the 

promulgation and modification of this regulation. 

Purpose: This regulation is essential to the protection of the 

health and welfare of citizens in that it sets the necessary 

standards of operation for the retail segment of Virginia's food 

industry to (i) provide a system of prevention and overlapping 

safeguards designed to minimize foodborne illness; (ii) ensure 

employee health; industry manager knowledge; safe food; 

http://www.nelac-institute.org/
http://www.nelac-institute.org/
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/1VAC30/dibr/Microsoft%20Word%20-%20STD-ELV1-2016-Rev2.1_LabReqs_ANSIapp.doc-20210426142653.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/1VAC30/dibr/Microsoft%20Word%20-%20STD-ELV1-2016-Rev2.1_LabReqs_ANSIapp.doc-20210426142653.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/1VAC30/dibr/Microsoft%20Word%20-%20STD-ELV1-2016-Rev2.1_LabReqs_ANSIapp.doc-20210426142653.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/1VAC30/dibr/Microsoft%20Word%20-%20STD-2-ELV2-2016-Rev2.0_temp.doc-20210426142717.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/1VAC30/dibr/Microsoft%20Word%20-%20STD-2-ELV2-2016-Rev2.0_temp.doc-20210426142717.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/1VAC30/dibr/Microsoft%20Word%20-%20STD-2-ELV2-2016-Rev2.0_temp.doc-20210426142717.pdf
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equipment that is used, easily cleaned, and kept in a sanitary 

condition; and acceptable levels of sanitation for food 

establishments; and (iii) promote fair dealings with the 

consumer. The regulation is essential in order to provide a 

regulatory framework necessary to educate the industry and 

protect the public. 

The first goal of the regulation and the proposed amendments 

is to maintain a scientifically sound basis for regulation of the 

retail food industry. The modifications proposed to the existing 

regulation are necessary to ensure appropriate measures are in 

place to address emerging and ongoing food safety concerns 

that exist within an evolving food industry. 

The second goal is to facilitate the shared responsibility of the 

food industry and the government in ensuring that food 

provided to the consumer is safe and does not become a vehicle 

in a disease outbreak or in the transmission of communicable 

disease. Foodborne disease in the United States is a major 

cause of personal distress, preventable death, and avoidable 

economic burden. The U.S. Centers for Disease Control and 

Prevention estimate that foodborne diseases cause 

approximately 48 million people to become ill, 128,000 

hospitalizations, and 3,000 deaths each year in the United 

States. Epidemiological outbreak data repeatedly identify five 

major risk factors related to employee behaviors and 

preparation practices in retail and food service establishments 

as contributing to foodborne illness. Those risk factors include 

(i) improper holding temperatures; (ii) inadequate cooking, 

such as undercooking raw eggs; (iii) contaminated equipment; 

(iv) food from unsafe sources; and (v) poor personal hygiene. 

The amendments address controls for these risk factors. The 

regulation also provides the necessary guidance to the retail 

food industry relative to controlling risk factors and 

implementing appropriate intervention strategies. 

The third goal of the proposed regulation is to ensure a 

regulatory approach that is uniform throughout the retail 

segment of Virginia's food industry by administering standards 

that are equivalent to those administered by the Virginia 

Department of Health (VDH) in restaurants and food service 

establishments. This regulatory uniformity also extends 

throughout the nation, as most states have adopted versions of 

Food and Drug Administration (FDA) Food Code. 

Rationale for Using Fast-Track Rulemaking Process: This 

regulatory action will update the existing regulation, which is 

based on FDA's 2013 Food Code and the 2015 Food Code 

Supplement, so that it is consistent with FDA's 2017 Food 

Code and the 2019 Food Code Supplement as well as the 

regulations adopting FDA's Food Code that VDH enforces. 

The proposed amendments are necessary to address changes 

that have occurred in the food industry and emerging science 

relating to the prevention of foodborne illnesses. The new 

regulations will assist in optimizing public health protection. 

This regulatory action is expected to be noncontroversial 

because the proposed amendments were generated from the 

Conference for Food Protection, which provides a formal 

process whereby members of industry, regulatory, academia, 

consumer, and professional organizations are afforded equal 

input in the modification of the FDA Food Code. 

Substance: The proposed changes would: (i) allow an 

exception for providing a person in charge for certain types of 

food establishments; (ii) require that the person in charge be a 

certified food protection manager (CFPM), including 

exemptions for certain low risk establishments; (iii) require, if 

used, an impermeable cover such as a bandage located on the 

wrist, hand, or finger of a food employee be covered with a 

single-use glove; (iv) add information regarding labeling 

requirements for commercially slaughtered or processed 

rabbits; (v) harmonize cooking time/temperature parameters 

for intact and non-intact meat and poultry in accordance with 

guidance from U.S. Department of Agriculture (USDA) and 

add cooking time/temperature for commercially slaughtered 

rabbits; and (vi) allow the regulatory authority to agree to 

continuing operation in the event of an extended interruption 

of electrical or water service if certain conditions are met. 

Issues: The primary advantage of the proposed amendments to 

this regulation for the public is that they will further enhance 

the safety of food products sold through the retail segment of 

the food industry. The regulation and the proposed 

amendments are based on the most current sound science 

available. Consumers purchasing food products from retail 

establishments should develop greater confidence in the safety 

of the retail food supply. 

There do not appear to be any disadvantages to the public. 

The advantage for regulated business is that the benefits of 

well-written, scientifically sound, and up-to-date retail food 

safety requirements have long been recognized by industry and 

regulatory officials. Industry conformance with acceptable 

procedures and practices is far more likely where regulatory 

officials speak with one voice about what is required to protect 

public health, why it is important, and which alternatives for 

compliance may be accepted. With both the Virginia 

Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services (VDACS) 

and VDH administering equivalent food safety requirements in 

each agency's respective portion of the retail segment of the 

food industry, Virginia's regulatory officials will be speaking 

with one voice, greatly enhancing the uniform application of 

retail standards and requirements. This will in turn prevent the 

retail food industry from adhering to separate standards, which 

will ultimately eliminate confusion and additional costs 

relative to compliance with two different regulations and will 

further enhance the industry's ability to comply with existing 

food safety standards. The standards and requirements of this 

proposal can also be used by the retail segment of the food 

industry in training and quality assurance programs. 

The requirement that each retail food establishment have a 

person in charge who is a certified food protection manager 

(CFPM) may pose an initial disadvantage in that it may require 

some level of effort by them to ensure the presence of a CFPM 

at the establishment. However, the designation of a person in 
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charge within each retail food establishment who is 

knowledgeable regarding food safety will ultimately provide 

an advantage to each establishment, as taking additional steps 

to further ensure that food products produced and offered for 

sale should enhance consumer confidence and ultimately food 

product sales. 

The advantage to the agency and the Commonwealth is that the 

proposed changes will further ensure the safety of the food 

supply. This will, in turn, engender a greater level of 

confidence by the public that both the agency and the 

Commonwealth are taking the necessary steps to provide an 

appropriate level of public health protection. This confidence 

in the food supply should ultimately enhance Virginia's 

economy via enhanced food product sales. 

There do not appear to be any disadvantages to the 

Commonwealth. 

Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 

Analysis: 

The Board of Agriculture and Consumer Services (Board) 

proposes numerous amendments to 2VAC5-585, Retail Food 

Establishment Regulations, mostly for consistency with the 

latest U.S. Food and Drug Administration (FDA) model 

regulations, (i.e., the FDA's 2017 Food Code and the 2019 

Food Code Supplement). 

Background. 

The Retail Food Establishment Regulations establish 

minimum sanitary standards for retail food establishments 

such as supermarkets, grocery stores, and convenience stores. 

Those standards include the safe and sanitary maintenance, 

storage, operation, and use of equipment; the safe preparation, 

handling, protection, and preservation of food, including 

necessary refrigeration or heating methods; procedures for 

vector and pest control; requirements for toilet and hand 

washing facilities for employees; requirements for appropriate 

lighting and ventilation; requirements for an approved water 

supply and sewage disposal system; personal hygiene 

standards for employees; and the appropriate use of 

precautions to prevent the transmission of communicable 

diseases. The current regulation is based on the FDA's 2013 

Food Code and the 2015 Food Code Supplement. 

The FDA describes its Food Code as "a model for safeguarding 

public health and ensuring food is unadulterated and honestly 

presented when offered to the consumer." It represents FDA's 

best advice for a uniform system of provisions that address the 

safety and protection of food offered at retail and in food 

service.1 The FDA encourages states to adopt the latest version 

of the FDA Food Code,2 but it is not federal law. 

Conforming to 2017 FDA Food Code and 2019 Food Code 

Supplement. The following proposed amendments to the 

regulation conform to requirements in the 2017 FDA Food 

Code or the 2019 Food Code Supplement: 

• Require that the person in charge be a certified food 

protection manager (CFPM). 

• Add an exception to the requirement that a person in 

charge3 is present at the food establishment during all 

hours of operation. The exception is proposed for food 

establishments deemed by the Virginia Department of 

Agriculture and Consumer Services (VDACS) to pose 

minimal risk of causing, or contributing to, foodborne 

illness based on the nature of the operation and the extent 

of the food preparation. 

• Require that if used, an impermeable cover such as a 

bandage, finger cot, or finger stall located on the wrist, 

hand or finger of the food employee working with exposed 

food shall be covered with a single-use glove. 

• Require that food establishments have written 

procedures for employees to follow when responding to 

vomiting or diarrheal events that involve the discharge of 

vomitus or fecal matter onto surfaces in the food 

establishment. The procedures must address the specific 

actions employees must take to minimize the spread of 

contamination and the exposure of employees, consumers, 

food, and surfaces to vomitus or fecal matter. 

• Require the protection of prewashed fruits and 

vegetables from cross contamination by separating them 

from raw animal foods during storage, preparation holding 

and display. 

• Increase the minimum required cooking time from 15 to 

17 seconds (at 155°F) for certain raw animal foods.4 

• Reduce the minimum required cooking time from 15 

seconds to less than one second (165°F or above) for 

certain raw animal foods.5 

• Include timelines for required reporting of nitrate and E. 

coli positive lab results to VDACS. 

• Permit VDACS to allow the continuing operation of food 

establishments in the event of an extended interruption of 

electrical or water service if certain conditions are met. 

When inspectors find violations of any of the regulation's 

requirements, the food establishment must correct the 

deficiencies within specified time periods. All requirements 

are delineated as priority, priority foundation, or core. Priority 

items must be remedied within 72 hours, priority foundation 

items within 10 calendar days, and core items within 90 days. 

In order to conform to the 2017 FDA Food Code, the Board 

proposes to decrease the length of time in which certain 

violations of requirements must be corrected, as follows: 

Priority instead of Core (requiring correction within 72 hours 

instead of 90 calendar days): 

• Except during preparation, cooking, or cooling, or when 

time is used as the public health control,6,7 

time/temperature control for safety food must be 

maintained at 41°F (5°C) or less. 

• Priority Foundation instead of Core (requiring correction 

within 10 calendar days instead of 90 calendar days): 
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• Water from a private well must be sampled and tested at 

least annually for nitrate and total coliform. 

• Various specifications for thawing of food. 

• Cleaning agents and chemical sanitizer must be provided 

and available for use during all hours of operation. 

Other Proposed Changes. The following proposed 

amendments to the regulation are not related to the 2017 FDA 

Food Code or the 2019 Food Code Supplement: 

• Specify that shucked shellfish from one tagged or labeled 

container are not commingled with shellstock8 or shucked 

shellfish from another container with different 

certification numbers, different harvest dates, or different 

growing areas as identified on the tag or label before being 

ordered by the consumer. 

• Require that labels for commercially slaughtered or 

processed rabbits that are offered for sale or service 

contain certain specified information, including a 

producer number, safe handling instructions, identifying 

code, and a warning statement. 

Estimated Benefits and Costs. 

Conforming to 2017 FDA Food Code and 2019 Food Code 

Supplement. The current regulation requires food 

establishments to employ a CFPM; however, they are not 

required to be onsite at all times of operation. The proposed 

regulation expands this time requirement, and effectively 

requires that a CFPM be onsite at all times of operation. More 

specifically, the person in charge of the open food 

establishment would have to be a CFPM. The regulation 

defines "person in charge" as "the individual present at a food 

establishment who is responsible for the operation at the time 

of inspection." Since most food establishments are unlikely to 

have one person who works 100% of open hours, many would 

likely need to get one or more additional employees certified. 

Under both the existing and proposed regulations, proficiency 

as a CFPM is established through passing a test, not completing 

a program. Certification costs (for the test) are approximately 

$100 per individual9 and renewal is required every five years. 

Tests are available via six accredited programs and take 

approximately two hours. Those persons who elect to take 

training (not required) may sign up for a training course via an 

accredited provider, and the training time varies from self-pace 

to approximately sixteen hours. Training and tests are available 

both online and in person.10 The total cost of requiring that a 

CFPM be onsite at all times of operation would therefore be: 

a) the test fees for each additional needed CFPM, b) fees for 

training if needed to pass the test, and c) the value of the staff 

time spent preparing for and taking the test. For example, if a 

CFPM candidate spends eight hours preparing for the test and 

two hours taking the test, the ten hours of staff time represents 

a cost that has to be covered by another employee. However, 

having a CFPM always present in the open operation, who is 

certified to be knowledgeable about food protection, would 

likely reduce the probability that unsafe food practices would 

occur. 

The proposal to provide an exception for certain food 

establishments to the requirement that a person in charge be 

present during all hours of operation could potentially reduce 

costs for such establishments; this exception would apply to 

food establishments deemed by VDACS to pose minimal risk 

of causing, or contributing to, foodborne illness. For example, 

such minimal risk establishments would not need incur the cost 

of additional staff becoming a CFPM. Since by definition these 

establishments pose minimal risk, the absence of having a 

CFPM always present in the open operation would not likely 

substantively affect the probability of unsafe food practices 

occurring. 

The current regulation only requires the use of a single-use 

glove when "a lesion containing pus such as a boil or infected 

wound that is open or draining and is on the hands or wrists." 

The proposed regulation would require that "If used, an 

impermeable cover such as a bandage, finger cot, or finger stall 

located on the wrist, hand or finger of the food employee 

working with exposed food shall be covered with a single use 

glove." This would include band aids for simple uninfected 

cuts. Thus, single use gloves would need to be purchased and 

used more often under the proposed regulation. Single-use 

gloves are available for about five cents a glove when 

purchasing in bulk (100 gloves).11 

The current regulation requires that food establishments have 

procedures for employees to follow when responding to 

vomiting or diarrheal events that involve the discharge of 

vomitus or fecal matter onto surfaces in the food establishment. 

The procedures must address the specific actions employees 

must take to minimize the spread of contamination and the 

exposure of employees, consumers, food, and surfaces to 

vomitus or fecal matter. The Board proposes to specify that 

those procedures be written. This would help ensure that those 

procedures are consistent, regardless of whoever is in charge 

at a given time. VDACS has a template that can be made 

available to food establishments to use for their written 

procedures. Thus, it should not be costly for the businesses to 

produce written procedures that satisfy the department. 

The FDA believes that certain requirements would protect food 

safety: a) protecting prewashed fruits and vegetables from 

cross contamination by separating them from raw animal foods 

during storage, preparation holding and display, and b) 

increasing the minimum required cooking time from 15 to 17 

seconds (at 155°F) for certain raw animal foods.12 For any food 

establishments that do not already protect prewashed fruits and 

vegetables from cross contamination in the above manner, 

there may be some cost in finding additional space to keep 

these items separated. For establishments that already keep 

such separation, neither of these two proposals appear to be 

particularly costly. For other raw animal foods,13 which must 

be cooked at 165°F or above, the FDA believes that it is safe 

to reduce the minimum required cooking time from 15 seconds 
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to less than one second (instantaneous). The Board's proposal 

to make this amendment would cumulatively moderately 

reduce the time necessary to prepare such food without 

apparently increasing health risks. 

The current regulation requires that water from a private well 

be sampled and tested at least annually for nitrate and total 

coliform. If nitrate exceeds 10 milligrams per liter, the operator 

must notify VDACS. If a sample is total coliform positive, the 

positive culture medium must be further analyzed to determine 

if E. coli is present. The operator must notify VDACS within 

two days from when the operator is notified of the coliform 

positive test result. If E. coli is present, the operator must notify 

VDACS. The current regulation does not specify deadlines for 

notification for positive results of either nitrate exceeding 10 

mg/L or the presence of E. coli. The Board proposes to specify 

that notification must be within 24 hours. This would be 

beneficial in that it would enable VDACS to take faster action 

regarding a potential health threat. 

The proposal to permit VDACS to allow food establishments 

to continue operating in the event of an extended interruption 

of electrical or water service if certain conditions are met, 

would give greater flexibility to retail food establishments to 

continue operations if they have a written emergency operation 

plan that has been approved by the department. 

Other Proposed Changes. The current regulation specifies that 

shellstock from one tagged or labeled container are not to be 

commingled with shellstock from another container with 

different certification numbers, different harvest dates, or 

different growing areas as identified on the tag or label before 

being ordered by the consumer. "Shellstock" is defined as 

"raw, in-shell molluscan shellfish," and thus does not include 

shucked shellfish. The Board proposes to mandate that 

shucked shellfish from one tagged or labeled container not be 

commingled with shellstock or shucked shellfish from another 

container with different certification numbers, different 

harvest dates, or different growing areas as identified on the 

tag or label before being ordered by the consumer. To the 

extent that this is not already done by food establishments with 

shucked shellfish, this proposal would be beneficial in that it 

would likely reduce the probability that spoiled shellfish is 

mistakenly sold. 

The proposal to require that the labels for commercially 

slaughtered or processed rabbits that are offered for sale or 

service contain certain specified information, including a 

producer number, safe handling instructions, identifying code, 

and a warning statement may effectively require the size of 

labels used for such rabbits to be larger (or the use of a smaller 

font) for those that are not already providing this information. 

The potential cost for larger labels would not likely be large. 

The provision of information such as safe handling instructions 

may reduce the likelihood of illness. 

Businesses and Other Entities Affected. The proposed 

amendments would affect the approximate 9,411 retail food 

stores in the Commonwealth14 and the six accredited CFPM 

programs.15 As described in the Estimated Benefits and Costs 

section, the proposal to require that there be a CFPM on the 

premises of the food establishment at all times of operation 

would likely increase costs for most food establishments. The 

proposal to mandate that single-use gloves be worn whenever 

there is an impermeable cover such as a bandage, finger cot, or 

finger stall located on the wrist, hand, or finger of the food 

employee would also modestly increase costs for most food 

establishments. 

Adverse impact is indicated if there is any increase in net cost 

or reduction in net revenue for any entity, even if the benefits 

exceed the costs for all entities combined. While the benefits 

to public health may be large, there would likely be some 

increases in net costs for some of the affected entities as 

described in the Estimated Benefits and Costs section. 

Small Businesses16 Affected: 

Types and Estimated Number of Small Businesses Affected. 

VDACS estimates that 4,705 of the retail food stores in the 

Commonwealth are small businesses. The sizes of the six 

accredited CFPM programs are unknown. 

Costs and Other Effects. Costs for small food establishments 

would be affected by the proposed amendments as described 

in the Estimated Benefits and Costs section. The proposal to 

require that there be a CFPM on the premises of the food 

establishment at all times of operation would very likely 

increase revenue for at least some of the six accredited CFPM 

programs. 

Alternative Method that Minimizes Adverse Impact. There are 

no clear alternative methods that both reduce adverse impact 

and meet the intended policy goals. 

Localities17 Affected.18 The proposed amendments would 

affect food establishments in all localities, not 

disproportionately affecting any particularly. The proposed 

amendments do not appear to introduce additional costs for 

local governments. 

Projected Impact on Employment. The proposal to require that 

there be a CFPM on the premises of the food establishment at 

all times of operation would very likely increase demand for 

the services of the six accredited CFPM programs, which may 

moderately increase their employment. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. The 

proposals to require that there be a CFPM on the premises of 

the food establishment at all times of operation and that single-

use gloves be worn whenever there is an impermeable cover 

on the wrist, hand, or finger of the food employee would likely 

increase costs for most food establishments. These cost 

increases would likely moderately reduce the value of affected 

firms commensurately. 

The proposal to require that there be a CFPM on the premises 

of the food establishment at all times of operation would very 

likely increase demand for the services of the six accredited 

CFPM programs, which may moderately increase their value. 



Regulations 

Volume 37, Issue 19 Virginia Register of Regulations  May 10, 2021  

2802 

The proposed amendments do not appear to affect real estate 

development costs. 

___________________________ 
1See https://www.fda.gov/food/fda-food-code/food-code-2017 

2Ibid 
3"Person in charge" is defined as the individual present at a food establishment 

who is responsible for the operation at the time of inspection. 
4See 2VAC5-585-700 A 2 for affected raw animal foods. 

https://townhall.virginia.gov/l/viewXML.cfm?textid=14682&replace=yes 

5See 2VAC5-585-700 A 3 for affected raw animal foods. 
6See 2VAC5-585-850 for time is used as the public health control 

https://law.lis.virginia.gov/admincode/title2/agency5/chapter585/section850/ 

7The situations described in 2VAC5-585-820 B and C would also be excepted: 

https://law.lis.virginia.gov/admincode/title2/agency5/chapter585/section820/ 
8"Shellstock" is defined as "raw, in-shell molluscan shellfish." 

9Source: VDACS 

10Data and other information source: Virginia Department of Health (VDH) 
11Source: Amazon.com accessed on March 13, 2020. 

12See 2VAC5-585-700 A 2 for affected raw animal foods. 

https://townhall.virginia.gov/l/viewXML.cfm?textid=14682&replace=yes 
13See 2VAC5-585-700 A 3 for affected raw animal foods. 

14Source: VDACS 

15Source: VDH 
16Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.04 of the Code of Virginia, small business is defined 
as "a business entity, including its affiliates, that (i) is independently owned 

and operated and (ii) employs fewer than 500 full-time employees or has gross 

annual sales of less than $6 million." 
17"Locality" can refer to either local governments or the locations in the 

Commonwealth where the activities relevant to the regulatory change are most 

likely to occur. 
18§ 2.2-4007.04 defines "particularly affected" as bearing disproportionate 

material impact. 

Agency's Response to the Economic Impact Analysis: The 

agency concurs with the economic impact analysis of the 

Department of Planning and Budget. 

Summary: 

The amendments update the current regulation so that it is 

consistent with the Food and Drug Administration's 2017 

Food Code and the 2019 Food Code Supplement. Many of 

the changes simply refine and clarify provisions in the 

existing regulation. Substantive amendments include (i) 

providing an exemption from the requirement that a food 

establishment have a person in charge present during all 

hours of operation for certain types of food establishments; 

(ii) requiring that the person in charge be a Certified Food 

Protection Manager and providing exemptions for certain 

low risk establishments; (iii) requiring an impermeable 

cover, such as a bandage, that is located on the wrist, hand, 

or finger of a food employee be covered with a single-use 

glove; (iv) labeling requirements for commercially 

slaughtered or processed rabbits; (v) harmonizing cooking 

time/temperature parameters for intact and non-intact meat 

and poultry in accordance with guidance from the U.S. 

Department of Agriculture and adding cooking 

time/temperature for commercially slaughtered rabbits; and 

(vi) allowing the regulatory authority to allow the continued 

operation of a food establishment in the event of an extended 

interruption of electrical or water service if certain 

conditions are met. 

2VAC5-585-20. Food safety, illness prevention, and honest 

presentation. 

The purpose of this regulation chapter is to safeguard public 

health and provide to consumers food that is safe, 

unadulterated, and honestly presented. 

2VAC5-585-30. Statement. 

This regulation chapter establishes definitions; sets standards 

for management and personnel, food operations, and 

equipment and facilities; and provides for inspection, food 

establishment plan review, and employee restriction. 

2VAC5-585-40. Definitions. 

The following words and terms when used in this chapter 

shall have the following meanings unless the context clearly 

indicates otherwise: 

"Accredited program" means a food protection manager 

certification program that has been evaluated and listed by an 

accrediting agency as conforming to national standards for 

organizations that certify individuals. "Accredited program" 

refers to the certification process and is a designation based 

upon an independent evaluation of factors such as the sponsor's 

mission; organizational structure; staff resources; revenue 

sources; policies; public information regarding program scope, 

eligibility requirements, recertification, discipline, and 

grievance procedures; and test development and 

administration. "Accredited program" does not refer to training 

functions or educational programs. 

"Additive" means either a (i) "food additive" having the 

meaning stated in the Federal Food, Drug, and Cosmetic Act, 

21 USC § 321(s) and 21 CFR 170.3(e)(1) or (ii) "color 

additive" having the meaning stated in the Federal Food, Drug, 

and Cosmetic Act, 21 USC § 321(t) and 21 CFR 70.3(f). 

"Adulterated" has the meaning stated in the Federal Food, 

Drug, and Cosmetic Act, 21 USC § 342. 

"Approved" means acceptable to the department based on a 

determination of conformity with principles, practices, and 

generally recognized standards that protect public health. 

"Approved water system" means a permitted waterworks 

constructed, maintained, and operated pursuant to 12VAC5-

590 or a private well constructed, maintained, and operated 

pursuant to 12VAC5-630. 

"Asymptomatic" means without obvious symptoms; not 

showing or producing indications of a disease or other medical 

condition, such as an individual infected with a pathogen but 

not exhibiting or producing any signs or symptoms of 

vomiting, diarrhea, or jaundice. "Asymptomatic" includes not 

about:blank
https://townhall.virginia.gov/l/viewXML.cfm?textid=14682&replace=yes
https://law.lis.virginia.gov/admincode/title2/agency5/chapter585/section850/
https://law.lis.virginia.gov/admincode/title2/agency5/chapter585/section820/
https://townhall.virginia.gov/l/viewXML.cfm?textid=14682&replace=yes
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showing symptoms because symptoms have resolved or 

subsided, or because symptoms never manifested. 

"Aw" means water activity that is a measure of the free 

moisture in a food, is the quotient of the water vapor pressure 

of the substance divided by the vapor pressure of pure water at 

the same temperature, and is indicated by the symbol Aw. 

"Balut" means an embryo inside a fertile egg that has been 

incubated for a period sufficient for the embryo to reach a 

specific stage of development after which it is removed from 

incubation before hatching. 

"Beverage" means a liquid for drinking, including water. 

"Board" means the Board of Agriculture and Consumer 

Services. 

"Bottled drinking water" means water that is sealed in bottles, 

packages, or other containers and offered for sale for human 

consumption, including bottled mineral water. 

"Casing" means a tubular container for sausage products 

made of either natural or artificial (synthetic) material. 

"Certification number" means a unique combination of letters 

and numbers assigned by a shellfish control authority to a 

molluscan shellfish dealer according to the provisions of the 

National Shellfish Sanitation Program. 

"CFR" means Code of Federal Regulations. Citations in this 

chapter to the CFR refer sequentially to the title, part, and 

section numbers. For example, 40 CFR 180.194 refers to Title 

40, Part 180, Section 194. 

"CIP" means cleaned in place by the circulation or flowing by 

mechanical means through a piping system of a detergent 

solution, water rinse, and sanitizing solution onto or over 

equipment surfaces that require cleaning, such as the method 

used, in part, to clean and sanitize a frozen dessert machine. 

"CIP" does not include the cleaning of equipment such as band 

saws, slicers, or mixers that are subjected to in-place manual 

cleaning without the use of a CIP system. 

"Commingle" means: 

1. To combine shellstock harvested on different days or from 

different growing areas as identified on the tag or label; or 

2. To combine shucked shellfish from containers with 

different container codes or different shucking dates. 

"Comminuted" means reduced in size by methods including 

chopping, flaking, grinding, or mincing. "Comminuted" 

includes (i) fish or meat products that are reduced in size and 

restructured or reformulated such as gefilte fish, gyros, ground 

beef, and sausage and (ii) a mixture of two or more types of 

meat that have been reduced in size and combined, such as 

sausages made from two or more meats. 

"Commissioner" means the Commissioner of Agriculture and 

Consumer Services, his duly designated officer, or his agent. 

"Conditional employee" means a potential food employee to 

whom a job offer is made, conditional on responses to 

subsequent medical questions or examinations designed to 

identify potential food employees who may be suffering from 

a disease that can be transmitted through food and done in 

compliance with Title 1 of the Americans with Disabilities Act 

of 1990. 

"Confirmed disease outbreak" means a foodborne disease 

outbreak in which laboratory analysis of appropriate 

specimens identifies a causative agent and epidemiological 

analysis implicates the food as the source of the illness. 

"Consumer" means a person who is a member of the public, 

takes possession of food, is not functioning in the capacity of 

an operator of a food establishment or food processing plant, 

and does not offer the food for resale. 

"Core item" means a provision in this chapter that is not 

designated as a priority item or a priority foundation item. 

"Core item" includes an item that usually relates to general 

sanitation, operational controls, sanitation standard operating 

procedures (SSOPs), facilities or structures, equipment design, 

or general maintenance. 

"Corrosion-resistant materials" means a material that 

maintains acceptable surface cleanability characteristics under 

prolonged influence of the food to be contacted, the normal use 

of cleaning compounds and sanitizing solutions, and other 

conditions of the use environment. 

"Counter-mounted equipment" means equipment that is not 

portable and is designed to be mounted off the floor on a table, 

counter, or shelf. 

"Critical control point" means a point or procedure in a 

specific food system where loss of control may result in an 

unacceptable health risk. 

"Critical limit" means the maximum or minimum value to 

which a physical, biological, or chemical parameter must be 

controlled at a critical control point to minimize the risk that 

the identified food safety hazard may occur. 

"Cut leafy greens" means fresh leafy greens whose leaves 

have been cut, shredded, sliced, chopped, or torn. The term 

"leafy greens" includes iceberg lettuce, romaine lettuce, leaf 

lettuce, butter lettuce, baby leaf lettuce (i.e., immature lettuce 

or leafy greens), escarole, endive, spring mix, spinach, 

cabbage, kale, arugula, and chard. The term "leafy greens" 

does not include herbs such as cilantro or parsley. 

"Dealer" means a person who is authorized by a shellfish 

control authority for the activities of a shellstock shipper, 

shucker-packer, repacker, reshipper, or depuration processor 

of molluscan shellfish according to the provisions of the 

National Shellfish Sanitation Program. 

"Department" means the Virginia Department of Agriculture 

and Consumer Services. 
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"Disclosure" means a written statement that clearly identifies 

the animal-derived foods that are, or can be ordered, raw, 

undercooked, or without otherwise being processed to 

eliminate pathogens, or items that contain an ingredient that is 

raw, undercooked, or without otherwise being processed to 

eliminate pathogens. 

"Dry storage area" means a room or area designated for the 

storage of packaged or containerized bulk food that is not 

time/temperature control for safety food and dry goods such as 

single-service items. 

"Easily cleanable" means a characteristic of a surface that: 

1. Allows effective removal of soil by normal cleaning 

methods; 

2. Is dependent on the material, design, construction, and 

installation of the surface; and 

3. Varies with the likelihood of the surface's role in 

introducing pathogenic or toxigenic agents or other 

contaminants into food based on the surface's approved 

placement, purpose, and use. 

"Easily cleanable" includes a tiered application of the criteria 

that qualify the surface as easily cleanable as specified above 

in this definition to different situations in which varying 

degrees of cleanability are required such as: 

1. The appropriateness of stainless steel for a food 

preparation surface as opposed to the lack of need for 

stainless steel to be used for floors or for tables used for 

consumer dining; or 

2. The need for a different degree of cleanability for a 

utilitarian attachment or accessory in the kitchen as opposed 

to a decorative attachment or accessory in the consumer 

dining area. 

"Easily movable" means: 

1. Portable; mounted on casters, gliders, or rollers; or 

provided with a mechanical means to safely tilt a unit of 

equipment for cleaning; and 

2. Having no utility connection, a utility connection that 

disconnects quickly, or a flexible utility connection line of 

sufficient length to allow the equipment to be moved for 

cleaning of the equipment and adjacent area. 

"Egg" means the shell egg of avian species such as chicken, 

duck, goose, guinea, quail, ratites, or turkey. "Egg" does not 

include a balut, egg of the reptile species such as alligator, or 

an egg product. 

"Egg product" means all, or a portion of, the contents found 

inside eggs separated from the shell and pasteurized in a food 

processing plant, with or without added ingredients, intended 

for human consumption, such as dried, frozen, or liquid eggs. 

"Egg product" does not include food that contains eggs only in 

a relatively small proportion such as cake mixes. 

"Employee" means the operator, person in charge, food 

employee, person having supervisory or management duties, 

person on the payroll, family member, volunteer, person 

performing work under contractual agreement, or other person 

working in a food establishment. 

"EPA" means the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency. 

"Equipment" means an article that is used in the operation of 

a food establishment, such as a freezer, grinder, hood, ice 

maker, meat block, mixer, oven, reach-in refrigerator, scale, 

sink, slicer, stove, table, temperature measuring device for 

ambient air, vending machine, or warewashing machine. 

"Equipment" does not include apparatuses used for handling or 

storing large quantities of packaged foods that are received 

from a supplier in a cased or overwrapped lot, such as hand 

trucks, forklifts, dollies, pallets, racks, and skids. 

"Exclude" means to prevent a person from working as an 

employee in a food establishment or entering a food 

establishment as an employee. 

"FDA" means the U.S. Food and Drug Administration. 

"Fish" means fresh or saltwater finfish, crustaceans, and other 

forms of aquatic life (including alligator, frog, aquatic turtle, 

jellyfish, sea cucumber, and sea urchin and the roe of such 

animals) other than birds or mammals;, and all mollusks, if 

such animal life is intended for human consumption; and 

includes any an edible human food product derived in whole 

or in part from fish, including fish that has been processed in 

any manner. 

"Food" means (i) a raw, cooked, or processed edible 

substance, ice, beverage, or ingredient used or intended for use 

or for sale in whole or in part for human consumption or (ii) 

chewing gum. 

"Foodborne disease outbreak" means the occurrence of two 

or more cases of a similar illness resulting from the ingestion 

of a common food. 

"Food-contact surface" means a surface of equipment or a 

utensil with which food normally comes into contact, or a 

surface of equipment or a utensil from which food may drain, 

drip, or splash into a food, or onto a surface normally in contact 

with food. 

"Food employee" means an individual working with 

unpackaged food, food equipment or utensils, or food-contact 

surfaces. 

"Food establishment" means an operation that (i) stores, 

prepares, packages, serves, vends food directly to the 

consumer, or otherwise provides food for human consumption 

(i) such as a market, restaurant, satellite or catered feeding 

location, catering operation if the operation provides food 

directly to a consumer or to a conveyance used to transport 

people, vending location, conveyance used to transport people, 

institution, or food bank and (ii) that relinquishes possession of 
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a food to a consumer directly, or indirectly through a delivery 

service such as home delivery of grocery orders or restaurant 

takeout orders, or delivery service that is provided by common 

carriers. 

"Food establishment" includes (i) an element of the operation 

such as a transportation vehicle or a central preparation facility 

that supplies a vending location or satellite feeding location 

unless the vending or satellite feeding location is inspected by 

the regulatory authority and (ii) an operation that is conducted 

in a mobile, stationary, temporary, or permanent facility or 

location where consumption is on or off the premises. 

"Food establishment" does not include: 

1. An establishment that offers only prepackaged foods that 

are not time/temperature control for safety foods; 

2. A produce stand that only offers whole, uncut fresh fruits 

and vegetables; 

3. A food processing plant, including those that are located 

on the premises of a food establishment; 

4. A food warehouse; 

5. A kitchen in a private home; or 

6. A private home that receives catered or home delivered 

food. 

"Food processing plant" means a commercial operation that 

manufactures, packages, labels, or stores food for human 

consumption and provides food for sale or distribution to other 

business entities such as food processing plants or food 

establishments. "Food processing plant" does not include a 

"food establishment." 

"Game animal" means an animal, the products of which are 

food, that is not classified as (i) livestock, sheep, swine, goat, 

horse, mule, or other equine in 9 CFR 301.2; (ii) poultry; or 

(iii) fish. "Game animal" includes mammals such as reindeer, 

elk, deer, antelope, water buffalo, bison, rabbit, squirrel, 

opossum, raccoon, nutria, or muskrat, and nonaquatic reptiles 

such as land snakes. "Game animal" does not include ratites. 

"General use pesticide" means a pesticide that is not classified 

by EPA for restricted use as specified in 40 CFR 152.175. 

"Grade A standards" means the requirements of the Grade 

"A" Pasteurized Milk Ordinance, 2013 2017 Revision, (U.S. 

Food and Drug Administration) with which certain fluid and 

dry milk and milk products comply. 

"HACCP plan" means a written document that delineates the 

formal procedures for following the Hazard Analysis and 

Critical Control Point principles developed by the National 

Advisory Committee on Microbiological Criteria for Foods. 

"Handwashing sink" means a lavatory, a basin or vessel for 

washing, a wash basin, or a plumbing fixture especially placed 

for use in personal hygiene and designed for the washing of 

hands. "Handwashing sink" includes an automatic 

handwashing facility. 

"Hazard" means a biological, chemical, or physical property 

that may cause an unacceptable consumer health risk. 

"Health practitioner" means a physician licensed to practice 

medicine, or if allowed by law, a nurse practitioner, physician 

assistant, or similar medical professional. 

"Hermetically sealed container" means a container that is 

designed and intended to be secure against the entry of 

microorganisms and, in the case of low acid canned foods, to 

maintain the commercial sterility of its contents after 

processing. 

"Highly susceptible population" means persons who are more 

likely than other people in the general population to experience 

foodborne disease because they are (i) immunocompromised; 

preschool age children, or older adults; and (ii) obtaining food 

at a facility that provides services such as custodial care, health 

care, or assisted living, such as a child or adult day care center, 

kidney dialysis center, hospital or nursing home, or nutritional 

or socialization services such as a senior center. 

"Imminent health hazard" means a significant threat or danger 

to health that is considered to exist when there is evidence 

sufficient to show that a product, practice, circumstance, or 

event creates a situation that requires immediate correction or 

cessation of operation to prevent injury based on the number 

of potential injuries, and the nature, severity, and duration of 

the anticipated injury. 

"Injected" means manipulating meat to which a solution has 

been introduced into its interior by processes such as that are 

referred to as "injecting," "pump marinating," or "stitch 

pumping." 

"Intact meat" means a cut of whole muscle meat that has not 

undergone comminution, vacuum tumbling with solutions, 

mechanical tenderization, or reconstruction. 

"Juice" means the aqueous liquid expressed or extracted from 

one or more fruits or vegetables, purées of the edible portions 

of one or more fruits or vegetables, or any concentrate of such 

liquid or purée. "Juice" does not include, for purposes of 

HACCP, liquids, purées, or concentrates that are not used as 

beverages or ingredients of beverages. 

"Kitchenware" means food preparation and storage utensils. 

"Law" means applicable local, state, and federal statutes, 

regulations, and ordinances. 

"Linens" means fabric items such as cloth hampers, cloth 

napkins, table cloths, wiping cloths, and work garments, 

including cloth gloves. 

"Major food allergen" means milk, egg, fish (such as bass, 

flounder, cod, and including crustacean shellfish such as crab, 

lobster, or shrimp), tree nuts (such as almonds, pecans, or 
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walnuts), wheat, peanuts, and soybeans or a food ingredient 

that contains protein derived from one of these foods. "Major 

food allergen" does not include (i) any highly refined oil 

derived from a major food allergen in this definition and any 

ingredient derived from such highly refined oil or (ii) any 

ingredient that is exempt under the petition or notification 

process specified in the Food Allergen Labeling and Consumer 

Protection Act of 2004 (P.L. 108-282). 

"Meat" means the flesh of animals used as food including the 

dressed flesh of cattle, swine, sheep, or goats and other edible 

animals, except fish, poultry, and wild game animals as 

specified under 2VAC5-585-330 A 2 and 3. 

"Mechanically tenderized" means manipulating meat with 

deep penetration by processes that may be referred to as "blade 

tenderizing," "jaccarding," "pinning," "needling," or using 

blades, pins, needles or any mechanical device. "Mechanically 

tenderized" does not include processes by which solutions are 

injected into meat. by piercing with a set of needles, pins, 

blades, or any mechanical device that breaks up muscle fiber 

and tough connective tissue to increase tenderness. This 

includes injection, scoring, and processes that may be referred 

to as "blade tenderizing," "jaccarding," "pinning," or 

"needling." 

"mg/L" means milligrams per liter, which is the metric 

equivalent of parts per million (ppm). 

"Molluscan shellfish" means any edible species of fresh or 

frozen oysters, clams, mussels, and scallops or edible portions 

thereof, except when the scallop product consists only of the 

shucked adductor muscle. 

"Noncontinuous cooking" means the cooking of food in a 

food establishment using a process in which the initial heating 

of the food is intentionally halted so that it may be cooled and 

held for complete cooking at a later time prior to sale or 

service. "Noncontinuous cooking" does not include cooking 

procedures that only involve temporarily interrupting or 

slowing an otherwise continuous cooking process. 

"Operator" means the entity that is legally responsible for the 

operation of the food establishment such as the owner, the 

owner's agent, or other person. 

"Packaged" means bottled, canned, cartoned, bagged, or 

wrapped, whether packaged in a food establishment or a food 

processing plant. "Packaged" does not include wrapped or 

placed in a carry-out container to protect the food during 

service or delivery to the consumer, by a food employee, upon 

consumer request. 

"Person" means an association, a corporation, individual, 

partnership, other legal entity, government, or governmental 

subdivision or agency. 

"Person in charge" means the individual present at a food 

establishment who is responsible for the operation at the time 

of inspection. 

"Personal care items" means items or substances that may be 

poisonous, toxic, or a source of contamination and are used to 

maintain or enhance a person's health, hygiene, or appearance. 

"Personal care items" include items such as medicines, first aid 

supplies, and other items such as cosmetics and toiletries such 

as toothpaste and mouthwash. 

"pH" means the symbol for the negative logarithm of the 

hydrogen ion concentration, which is a measure of the degree 

of acidity or alkalinity of a solution. Values between 0 and 7.0 

indicate acidity and values between 7.0 and 14 indicate 

alkalinity. The value for pure distilled water is 7.0, which is 

considered neutral. 

"Physical facilities" means the structure and interior surfaces 

of a food establishment including accessories such as soap and 

towel dispensers and attachments such as light fixtures and 

heating or air conditioning system vents. 

"Plumbing fixture" means a receptacle or device that is 

permanently or temporarily connected to the water distribution 

system of the premises and demands a supply of water from 

the system or discharges used water, waste materials, or 

sewage directly or indirectly to the drainage system of the 

premises. 

"Plumbing system" means the water supply and distribution 

pipes; plumbing fixtures and traps; soil, waste, and vent pipes; 

sanitary and storm sewers and building drains, including their 

respective connections, devices, and appurtenances within the 

premises; and water-treating equipment. 

"Poisonous or toxic materials" means substances that are not 

intended for ingestion and are included in four categories: 

1. Cleaners and sanitizers, which include cleaning and 

sanitizing agents and agents such as caustics, acids, drying 

agents, polishes, and other chemicals; 

2. Pesticides, except sanitizers, which include substances 

such as insecticides and rodenticides; 

3. Substances necessary for the operation and maintenance 

of the establishment such as nonfood grade lubricants and 

personal care items that may be deleterious to health; and 

4. Substances that are not necessary for the operation and 

maintenance of the establishment and are on the premises for 

retail sale, such as petroleum products and paints. 

"Potable water" means water fit for human consumption that 

is obtained from an approved water supply and that is (i) 

sanitary and normally free of minerals, organic substances, and 

toxic agents in excess of reasonable amounts and (ii) adequate 

in quantity and quality for the minimum health requirements of 

the person served. Potable water is traditionally known as 

drinking water and excludes such nonpotable forms as boiler 

water, mop water, rainwater, wastewater, and nondrinking 

water. 
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"Poultry" means any domesticated bird (chickens, turkeys, 

ducks, geese, guineas, ratites, or squabs), whether live or dead, 

as defined in 9 CFR 381.1 and any migratory waterfowl, game 

bird, pheasant, partridge, quail, grouse, or pigeon, whether live 

or dead, as defined in 9 CFR 362.1. 

"Premises" means the physical facility, its contents, and the 

contiguous land or property under the control of the operator 

or the physical facility, its contents, and the land or property 

not described above if its facilities and contents are under the 

control of the operator and may impact food establishment 

personnel, facilities, or operations, and a food establishment is 

only one component of a larger operation. 

"Primal cut" means a basic major cut into which carcasses and 

sides of meat are separated, such as a beef round, pork loin, 

lamb flank, or veal breast. 

"Priority foundation item" means a provision in this chapter 

whose application supports, facilitates, or enables one or more 

priority items. "Priority foundation item" includes an item that 

requires the purposeful incorporation of specific actions, 

equipment, or procedures by industry management to attain 

control of risk factors that contribute to foodborne illness or 

injury such as personnel training, infrastructure or necessary 

equipment, HACCP plans, documentation or recordkeeping, 

and labeling and is denoted in this chapter with a superscript 

"Pf," which looks like this: Pf. 

"Priority item" means a provision in this chapter whose 

application contributes directly to the elimination, prevention, 

or reduction to an acceptable level of hazards associated with 

foodborne illness or injury and there is no other provision that 

more directly controls the hazard. "Priority item" includes 

items with a quantifiable measure to show control of hazards 

such as cooking, reheating, cooling, and handwashing and is 

denoted in this chapter with a superscript "P," which looks like 

this: p. 

"Priority foundation item" means a provision in this chapter 

whose application supports, facilitates, or enables one or more 

priority items. "Priority foundation item" includes an item that 

requires the purposeful incorporation of specific actions, 

equipment, or procedures by industry management to attain 

control of risk factors that contribute to foodborne illness or 

injury such as personnel training, infrastructure or necessary 

equipment, HACCP plans, documentation or recordkeeping, 

and labeling and is denoted in this chapter with a superscript 

PfPf. 

"Private well" means any water well constructed for a person 

on land that is owned or leased by that person and is usually 

intended for household, groundwater source heat pump, 

agricultural use, industrial use, or other nonpublic water well. 

"Pure water" means potable water fit for human consumption 

that is (i) sanitary and normally free of minerals, organic 

substances, and toxic agents in excess of reasonable amounts 

and (ii) adequate in quantity and quality for the minimum 

health requirements of the persons served. Potable water is 

traditionally known as drinking water and excludes such 

nonpotable forms as boiler water, mop water, rainwater, 

wastewater, and nondrinking water. 

"Ratite" means a flightless bird such as an emu, ostrich, or 

rhea. 

"Ready-to-eat food" means food that: 

1. (i) Is in a form that is edible without additional preparation 

to achieve food safety, as specified under 2VAC5-585-700 

A, B, and C; 2VAC5-585-710; or 2VAC5-585-730; (ii) is a 

raw or partially cooked animal food and the consumer is 

advised as specified under 2VAC5-585-700 D 1 and D 3; or 

(iii) is prepared in accordance with a variance that is granted 

as specified under 2VAC5-585-700 D 4; and 

2. May receive additional preparation for palatability or 

aesthetic, epicurean, gastronomic, or culinary purposes. 

"Ready-to-eat food" includes: 

1. Raw animal food that is cooked as specified under 

2VAC5-585-700 or 2VAC5-585-710, or frozen as specified 

under 2VAC5-585-730; 

2. Raw fruits and vegetables that are washed as specified 

under 2VAC5-585-510; 

3. Fruits and vegetables Plant food that are is cooked for hot 

holding as specified under 2VAC5-585-720; 

4. All time/temperature control for safety food that is cooked 

to the temperature and time required for the specific food 

under Article 4 (2VAC5-585-700 et seq.) of Part III of this 

chapter and cooled as specified in 2VAC5-585-800; 

5. Plant food for which further washing, cooking, or other 

processing is not required for food safety, and from which 

rinds, peels, husks, or shells, if naturally present, are 

removed; 

6. Substances derived from plants such as spices, seasonings, 

and sugar; 

7. A bakery item such as bread, cakes, pies, fillings, or icing 

for which further cooking is not required for food safety; 

8. The following products that are produced in accordance 

with USDA guidelines and that have received a lethality 

treatment for pathogens: dry, fermented sausages, such as 

dry salami or pepperoni; salt-cured meat and poultry 

products, such as prosciutto ham, country cured ham, and 

Parma ham; and dried meat and poultry products, such as 

jerky or beef sticks; and 

9. Food manufactured according to as specified in 21 CFR 

Part 113. 

"Reduced oxygen packaging" means (i) the reduction of the 

amount of oxygen in a package by removing oxygen; 

displacing oxygen and replacing it with another gas or 
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combination of gases; or otherwise controlling the oxygen 

content to a level below that normally found in the atmosphere 

(approximately 21% at sea level); and (ii) a process as 

specified in clause (i) of this definition that involves a food for 

which the hazards Clostridium botulinum or Listeria 

monocytogenes require control in the final packaged form. 

"Reduced oxygen packaging" includes: 

1. Vacuum packaging, in which air is removed from a 

package of food and the package is hermetically sealed so 

that a vacuum remains inside the package; 

2. Modified atmosphere packaging, in which the atmosphere 

of a package of food is modified so that its composition is 

different from air, but the atmosphere may change over time 

due to the permeability of the packaging material or the 

respiration of the food. Modified atmosphere packaging 

includes reduction in the proportion of oxygen, total 

replacement of oxygen, or an increase in the proportion of 

other gases such as carbon dioxide or nitrogen; 

3. Controlled atmosphere packaging, in which the 

atmosphere of a package of food is modified so that until the 

package is opened, its composition is different from air, and 

continuous control of that atmosphere is maintained, such as 

by using oxygen scavengers or a combination of total 

replacement of oxygen, nonrespiring food, and impermeable 

packaging material; 

4. Cook chill packaging, in which cooked food is hot filled 

into impermeable bags that have the air expelled and are then 

sealed or crimped closed. The bagged food is rapidly chilled 

and refrigerated at temperatures that inhibit the growth of 

psychotrophic pathogens; or 

5. Sous vide packaging, in which raw or partially cooked 

food is vacuum packaged in an impermeable bag, cooked in 

the bag, rapidly chilled, and refrigerated at temperatures that 

inhibit the growth of psychotrophic pathogens. 

"Refuse" means solid waste not carried by water through the 

sewage system. 

"Regulatory authority" means local, state, or federal 

enforcement body or their authorized representative having 

jurisdiction over the food establishment. 

"Reminder" means a written statement concerning the health 

risk of consuming animal foods raw, undercooked, or without 

otherwise being processed to eliminate pathogens. 

"Reservice" means the transfer of food that is unused and 

returned by a consumer after being served or sold and in the 

possession of the consumer, to another person. 

"Restrict" means to limit the activities of a food employee so 

that there is no risk of transmitting a disease that is 

transmissible through food and the food employee does not 

work with exposed food, clean equipment, utensils, linens, or 

unwrapped single-service or single-use articles. 

"Restricted egg" means any check, dirty egg, incubator reject, 

inedible, leaker, or loss as defined in 9 CFR Part 590. 

"Restricted use pesticide" means a pesticide product that 

contains the active ingredients specified in 40 CFR 152.175 

and that is limited to use by or under the direct supervision of 

a certified applicator. 

"Risk" means the likelihood that an adverse health effect will 

occur within a population as a result of a hazard in a food. 

"Safe material" means an article manufactured from or 

composed of materials that may not reasonably be expected to 

result, directly or indirectly, in their becoming a component or 

otherwise affecting the characteristics of any food; an additive 

that is used as specified in § 409 of the Federal Food, Drug, 

and Cosmetic Act (21 USC § 348); or other materials that are 

not additives and that are used in conformity with applicable 

regulations of the Food and Drug Administration. 

"Sanitization" means the application of cumulative heat or 

chemicals on cleaned food-contact surfaces that, when 

evaluated for efficacy, is sufficient to yield a 5-log reduction, 

which is equal to a 99.999% reduction, of representative 

disease microorganisms of public health importance. 

"Sealed" means free of cracks or other openings that allow the 

entry or passage of moisture. 

"Service animal" means an animal such as a guide dog, signal 

dog, or other animal individually trained to provide assistance 

to an individual with a disability. 

"Servicing area" means an operating base location to which a 

mobile food establishment or transportation vehicle returns 

regularly for such things as vehicle and equipment cleaning, 

discharging liquid or solid wastes, refilling water tanks and ice 

bins, and boarding food. 

"Sewage" means liquid waste containing animal or vegetable 

matter in suspension or solution and may include liquids 

containing chemicals in solution. "Sewage" includes water-

carried and non-water-carried human excrement or kitchen, 

laundry, shower, bath, or lavatory waste separately or together 

with such underground surface, storm, or other water and 

liquid industrial wastes as may be present from residences, 

buildings, vehicles, industrial establishments, or other places. 

"Shellfish control authority" means a state, federal, foreign, 

tribal, or other government entity legally responsible for 

administering a program that includes certification of 

molluscan shellfish harvesters and dealers for interstate 

commerce. 

"Shellstock" means raw, in-shell molluscan shellfish. 

"Shiga toxin-producing Escherichia coli" or "STEC" means 

any E. coli capable of producing Shiga toxins (also called 

verocytotoxins). STEC infections can be asymptomatic or may 

result in a spectrum of illness ranging from mild nonbloody 

diarrhea to hemorrhagic colitis (i.e., bloody diarrhea) to 
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hemolytic uremic syndrome (HUS), which is a type of kidney 

failure. Examples of serotypes of STEC include: E. coli 

O157:H7, E. coli O157:NM, E. coli O26:H11, E. coli 

O145:NM, E. coli O103:H2, and E. coli O111:NM. STEC are 

sometimes referred to as VTEC (verocytotoxigenic E. coli) or 

as EHEC (enterohemorrhagic E. coli). EHEC are a subset of 

STEC that can cause hemorrhagic colitis or HUS. 

"Shucked shellfish" means molluscan shellfish that have one 

or both shells removed. 

"Single-service articles" means tableware, carry-out utensils, 

and other items such as bags, containers, placemats, stirrers, 

straws, toothpicks, and wrappers that are designed and 

constructed for one time, one person use after which they are 

intended for discard. 

"Single-use articles" means utensils and bulk food containers 

designed and constructed to be used once and discarded. 

"Single-use articles" includes items such as wax paper, butcher 

paper, plastic wrap, formed aluminum food containers, jars, 

plastic tubs or buckets, bread wrappers, pickle barrels, ketchup 

bottles, and number 10 cans that do not meet the materials, 

durability, strength, and cleanability specifications under 

2VAC5-585-960, 2VAC5-585-1080, and 2VAC5-585-1100 

for multiuse utensils. 

"Slacking" means the process of moderating the temperature 

of a food such as allowing a food to gradually increase from a 

temperature of -10°F (-23°C) to 25°F (-4°C) in preparation for 

deep-fat frying or to facilitate even heat penetration during the 

cooking of previously block-frozen food such as shrimp. 

"Smooth" means a food-contact surface having a surface free 

of pits and inclusions with a cleanability equal to or exceeding 

that of (100 grit) number three stainless steel; a nonfood-

contact surface of equipment having a surface equal to that of 

commercial grade hot-rolled steel free of visible scale; and a 

floor, wall, or ceiling having an even or level surface with no 

roughness or projections that render it difficult to clean. 

"Tableware" means eating, drinking, and serving utensils for 

table use such as flatware including forks, knives, and spoons; 

hollowware including bowls, cups, serving dishes, and 

tumblers; and plates. 

"Temperature measuring device" means a thermometer, 

thermocouple, thermistor, or other device that indicates the 

temperature of food, air, or water. 

"Temporary food establishment" means a food establishment 

that operates for a period of no more than 14 consecutive days 

in conjunction with a single event or celebration. 

"Time/temperature control for safety food" or "TCS" 

(formerly "potentially hazardous food") means a food that 

requires time/temperature control for safety to limit pathogenic 

microorganism growth or toxin formation: 

1. "Time/temperature control for safety food" includes an 

animal food that is raw or heat treated; a plant food that is 

heat treated or consists of raw seed sprouts, cut melons, cut 

leafy greens, cut tomatoes or mixtures of cut tomatoes that 

are not modified in a way so that they are unable to support 

pathogenic microorganism growth or toxin formation, or 

garlic-in-oil mixtures that are not modified in a way so that 

they are unable to support pathogenic microorganism growth 

or toxin formation; and except as specified in subdivision 2 

d of this definition, a food that because of the interaction of 

its Aw and pH values is designated as product assessment 

required (PA) in Table A or B of this definition: 

Table A. Interaction of pH and Aw for control of spores in 

food heat treated to destroy vegetative cells and 

subsequently packaged. 

Aw values pH values 

4.6 or less >4.6 - 5.6 >5.6 

≤0.92 non-TCS 

food* 

non-TCS 

food 

non-TCS 

food 

>0.92 - 

0.95 

non-TCS 

food 

non-TCS 

food 

PA** 

>0.95 non-TCS 

food 

PA PA 

*TCS means time/temperature control for safety food 

**PA means product assessment required 

Table B. Interaction of pH and Aw for control of vegetative 

cells and spores in food not heat treated or heat treated but 

not packaged. 

Aw values pH values 

< 4.2 4.2 - 4.6 > 4.6 - 

5.0 

> 5.0 

<0.88 non-TCS 

food* 

non-TCS 

food 

non-TCS 

food 

non-TCS 

food 

0.88 - 

0.90 

non-TCS 

food 

non-TCS 

food 

non-TCS 

food 

PA** 

>0.90 - 

0.92 

non-TCS 

food 

non-TCS 

food 

PA PA 

>0.92 non-TCS 

food 

PA PA PA 

*TCS means time/temperature control for safety food 

**PA means product assessment required 

2. "Time/temperature control for safety food" does not 

include: 
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a. An air-cooled hard-boiled egg with shell intact, or an 

egg with shell intact that is not hard boiled, but has been 

pasteurized to destroy all viable salmonellae; 

b. A food in an unopened hermetically sealed container 

that is commercially processed to achieve and maintain 

commercial sterility under conditions of nonrefrigerated 

storage and distribution; 

c. A food that because of its pH or Aw value, or interaction 

of Aw and pH values, is designated as a non-TCS food in 

Table A or B of this definition; 

d. A food that is designated as PA in Table A or B of this 

definition and has undergone a product assessment 

showing that the growth or toxin formation of pathogenic 

microorganisms that are reasonably likely to occur in that 

food is precluded due to: 

(1) Intrinsic factors including added or natural 

characteristics of the food such as preservatives, 

antimicrobials, humectants, acidulants, or nutrients; 

(2) Extrinsic factors including environmental or 

operational factors that affect the food such as packaging, 

modified atmosphere such as reduced oxygen packaging, 

shelf-life and use, or temperature range of storage and use; 

or 

(3) A combination of intrinsic and extrinsic factors; or 

e. A food that does not support the growth or toxin 

formation of pathogenic microorganisms in accordance 

with one of the subdivisions 2 a through 2 d of this 

definition even though the food may contain a pathogenic 

microorganism or chemical or physical contaminant at a 

level sufficient to cause illness or injury. 

"USDA" means the U.S. Department of Agriculture. 

"Utensil" means a food-contact implement or container used 

in the storage, preparation, transportation, dispensing, sale, or 

service of food, such as kitchenware or tableware that is 

multiuse, single service, or single use; gloves used in contact 

with food; temperature sensing probes of food temperature 

measuring devices; and probe-type price or identification tags 

used in contact with food. 

"Variance" means a written document issued by the 

department that authorizes a modification or waiver of one or 

more requirements of this chapter if, in the opinion of the 

department, a health hazard or nuisance will not result from the 

modification or waiver. 

"Vending machine" means a self-service device that, upon 

insertion of a coin, paper currency, token, card, or key, or by 

electronic transaction or optional manual operation, dispenses 

unit servings of food in bulk or in packages without the 

necessity of replenishing the device between each vending 

operation. 

"Vending machine location" means the room, enclosure, 

space, or area where one or more vending machines are 

installed and operated and includes the storage areas and areas 

on the premises that are used to service and maintain the 

vending machines. 

"Warewashing" means the cleaning and sanitizing of utensils 

and food-contact surfaces of equipment. 

"Waterworks" means a system that serves piped water for 

human consumption to at least 15 service connections or 25 or 

more individuals for at least 60 days out of the year. 

"Waterworks" includes all structures, equipment, and 

appurtenances used in the storage, collection, purification, 

treatment, and distribution of potable pure water except the 

piping and fixtures inside the building where such water is 

delivered. 

"Whole-muscle, intact beef" means whole muscle beef that is 

not injected, mechanically tenderized, reconstructed, or scored 

and marinated, from which beef steaks may be cut. 

2VAC5-585-50. Assignment. 

A. Except as specified in subsection B or C of this section, 

the operator shall be the person in charge or shall designate a 

person in charge and shall ensure that a person in charge is 

present at the food establishment during all hours of 

operation.Pf 

B. In a food establishment with two or more separately 

inspected departments that are the legal responsibility of the 

same operator and that are located on the same premises, the 

operator may, during specific time periods when food is not 

being prepared, packaged, or served, designate a single person 

in charge who is present on the premises during all hours of 

operation, and who is responsible for each separately inspected 

food establishment on the premises.Pf 

C. This section does not apply to certain types of food 

establishments deemed by the department to pose minimal risk 

of causing, or contributing to, foodborne illness based on the 

nature of the operation and the extent of the food preparation.Pf 

2VAC5-585-65. Certified food protection manager. 

A. At least one employee who has supervisory and 

management responsibility and the authority to direct and 

control food preparation and service shall be a certified food 

protection manager who has shown proficiency of required 

information through passing a test that is part of an accredited 

program. 

B. The person in charge shall be a certified food protection 

manager who has shown proficiency of required information 

through passing a test that is part of an accredited program. For 

purposes of enforcing this subsection, this requirement will 

take effect on June 24, 2023.  

C. This section does not apply to certain types of food 

establishments deemed by the regulatory authority department 

to pose minimal risk of causing, or contributing to, foodborne 



Regulations 

Volume 37, Issue 19 Virginia Register of Regulations  May 10, 2021  

2811 

illness based on the nature of the operation and extent of food 

preparation. 

C. For purposes of enforcing this section, this requirement 

will take effect July 1, 2018. 

2VAC5-585-67. Food protection manager certification. 

A. A person in charge who demonstrates knowledge by being 

a food protection manager and who is certified by a food 

protection manager certification program that is evaluated and 

listed by a Conference for Food Protection-recognized 

accrediting agency as conforming to the Conference for Food 

Protection Standards for Accreditation of Food Protection 

Manager Certification Programs, April 2012 2018, 

(Conference for Food Protection) is deemed to comply with 

subdivision 2 of 2VAC5-585-60. 

B. A food establishment that has an employee a person in 

charge who is certified by a food protection manager 

certification program that is evaluated and listed by a 

Conference for Food Protection-recognized accrediting agency 

as conforming to the Conference for Food Protection Standards 

for Accreditation of Food Protection Manager Certification 

Programs, April 2012, 2018, (Conference for Food Protection) 

is deemed to comply with 2VAC5-585-65. 

2VAC5-585-80. Responsibility of operator, person in 

charge, and conditional employees. 

A. The operator shall require food employees and conditional 

employees to report to the person in charge information about 

their health and activities as they relate to diseases that are 

transmissible through food. A food employee or conditional 

employee shall report the information in a manner that allows 

the person in charge to reduce the risk of foodborne disease 

transmission, including providing necessary additional 

information, such as the date of onset of symptoms and an 

illness, or of a diagnosis without symptoms, if the food 

employee or conditional employee: 

1. Has any of the following symptoms: 

a. Vomiting;P 

b. Diarrhea;P 

c. Jaundice;P 

d. Sore throat with fever;P or 

e. A lesion containing pus such as a boil or infected wound 

that is open or draining and is: 

(1) On the hands or wrists, unless an impermeable cover 

such as a finger cot or stall protects the lesion and a single-

use glove is worn over the impermeable cover;P 

(2) On exposed portions of the arms, unless the lesion is 

protected by an impermeable cover;P or 

(3) On other parts of the body, unless the lesion is covered 

by a dry, durable, tight-fitting bandage;P 

2. Has an illness diagnosed by a health practitioner due to: 

a. Norovirus;P 

b. Hepatitis A virus;P 

c. Shigella spp.;P 

d. Shiga toxin-producing Escherichia coli; P 

e. Typhoid fever (caused by Salmonella typhi);P or 

f. Salmonella (nontyphoidal);P 

3. Had typhoid fever, diagnosed by a health practitioner, 

within the past three months due to Salmonella typhi, 

without having received antibiotic therapy, as determined by 

a health practitioner;P 

4. Has been exposed to, or is the suspected source of, a 

confirmed disease outbreak, because the food employee or 

conditional employee consumed or prepared food implicated 

in the outbreak, or consumed food at an event prepared by a 

person who is infected or ill with: 

a. Norovirus within the past 48 hours of the last exposure;P 

b. Shiga toxin-producing Escherichia coli, or Shigella spp. 

within the past three days of the last exposure;P 

c. Typhoid fever within the past 14 days of the last 

exposure;P or 

d. Hepatitis A virus within the past 30 days of the last 

exposure;P or 

5. Has been exposed by attending or working in a setting 

where there is a confirmed disease outbreak, or living in the 

same household as, and has knowledge about an individual 

who works or attends a setting where there is a confirmed 

disease outbreak, or living in the same household as, and has 

knowledge about, an individual diagnosed with an illness 

caused by: 

a. Norovirus within the past 48 hours of the last exposure;P 

b. Shiga toxin-producing Escherichia coli or Shigella spp. 

within the past three days of the last exposure;P 

c. Typhoid fever (caused by Salmonella typhi) within the 

past 14 days of the last exposure;P or 

d. Hepatitis A virus within the past 30 days of the last 

exposure.P 

B. The person in charge shall notify the department when a 

food employee is: 

1. Jaundiced;Pf or 

2. Diagnosed with an illness due to a pathogen as specified 

under subdivisions A 2 a through f of this section.Pf 

C. The person in charge shall ensure that a conditional 

employee: 

1. Who exhibits or reports a symptom, or who reports a 

diagnosed illness as specified under subdivisions A 1 

through 3 of this section, is prohibited from becoming a food 

employee until the conditional employee meets the criteria 
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for the specific symptoms or diagnosed illness as specified 

under 2VAC5-585-100;P and 

2. Who will work as a food employee in a food establishment 

that serves a highly susceptible population and reports a 

history of exposure as specified under subdivisions A 4 and 

5 of this section, is prohibited from becoming a food 

employee until the conditional employee meets the criteria 

specified under subdivision 10 of 2VAC5-585-100.P 

D. The person in charge shall ensure that a food employee 

who exhibits or reports a symptom, or who reports a diagnosed 

illness or a history of exposure as specified under subsection A 

of this section is: 

1. Excluded as specified under subdivisions 1 through 3 and 

4 a, 5 a, 6 a, 7, or 8 a of 2VAC5-585-90 and in compliance 

with the provisions specified under subdivisions 1 through 8 

of 2VAC5-585-100;P or 

2. Restricted as specified under subdivision 4 b, 5 b, 6 b, 8 

b, 9, or 10 of 2VAC5-585-90 and in compliance with the 

provisions specified under subdivisions 4 through 10 of 

2VAC5-585-100.P 

E. A food employee or conditional employee shall report to 

the person in charge the information as specified under 

subsection A of this section.Pf 

F. A food employee shall: 

1. Comply with an exclusion as specified under subdivisions 

1 through 3 and 4 a, 5 a, 6 a, 7, or 8 a of 2VAC5-585-90, and 

with the provisions specified under subdivisions 1 through 8 

of 2VAC5-585-100;P or 

2. Comply with a restriction specified under subdivision 4 b, 

5 b, 6 b, 7, or 8 b of 2VAC5-585-90 or under subdivision 8, 

9, or 10 of 2VAC5-585-90 and comply with the provisions 

specified under subdivisions 4 through 10 of 2VAC5-585-

100.P 

2VAC5-585-180. Hand antiseptics. 

A. A hand antiseptic used as a topical application, a hand 

antiseptic solution used as a hand dip, or a hand antiseptic soap 

shall: 

1. Comply with one of the following: 

a. Be an approved drug that is listed in the "Approved 

Drug Products with Therapeutic Equivalence Evaluations, 

34th 39th Edition," 2014, 2019 (U.S. Food and Drug 

Administration) as an approved drug based on safety and 

effectiveness;Pf or 

b. Have active antimicrobial ingredients that are listed in 

the FDA tentative final monograph for over the counter 

(OTC) Health-Care Antiseptic Drug Products, 59 FR 

31402-31452 (June 17, 1994) 82 FR 60474 (December 20, 

2017) as an antiseptic handwash;Pf 

2. Consist only of components that the intended use of each 

complies with one of the following: 

a. A threshold of regulation exemption under 21 CFR 

170.39; Pf 

b. 21 CFR Part 178, as regulated for use as a food additive 

with conditions of safe use;Pf 

c. A determination of generally recognized as safe 

(GRAS). Partial listings of substances with food uses that 

are GRAS may be found in 21 CFR Part 182, 21 CFR Part 

184, or 21 CFR Part 186; and in FDA's Inventory of GRAS 

Notices;Pf 

d. A prior sanction listed under 21 CFR Part 181;Pf or 

e. A food contact notification that is effective;Pf and  

3. Be applied only to hands that are cleaned as specified 

under 2VAC5-585-140.Pf 

B. If a hand antiseptic or a hand antiseptic solution used as a 

hand dip does not meet the criteria specified under subdivision 

A 2 of this section, use shall be: 

1. Followed by thorough hand rinsing in clean water before 

hand contact with food or by the use of gloves;Pf or 

2. Limited to situations that involve no direct contact with 

food by the bare hands.Pf 

C. A hand antiseptic solution used as a hand dip shall be 

maintained clean and at a strength equivalent to at least 100 

mg/l (ppm) chlorine.Pf 

2VAC5-585-235. Use of bandages, finger cots, or finger 

stalls.  

If used, an impermeable cover such as a bandage, finger cot, 

or finger stall located on the wrist, hand, or finger of a food 

employee working with exposed food shall be covered with a 

single-use glove. 

2VAC5-585-255. Clean-up of vomiting and diarrheal 

events. 

A. A food establishment shall have written procedures for 

employees to follow when responding to vomiting or diarrheal 

events that involve the discharge of vomitus or fecal matter 

onto surfaces in the food establishment.Pf 

B. The procedures shall address the specific actions 

employees must take to minimize the spread of contamination 

and the exposure of employees, consumers, food, and surfaces 

to vomitus or fecal matter.Pf  

2VAC5-585-300. Fish. 

A. Fish that are received for sale or service shall be: 

1. Commercially and legally caught or harvested;P or 

2. Approved for sale or service by a regulatory authority.P 
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B. Molluscan shellfish that are recreationally caught may not 

be received for sale or service.P 

2VAC5-585-310. Molluscan shellfish. 

A. Molluscan shellfish shall be obtained from sources 

according to law and the requirements specified in the National 

Shellfish Sanitation Program (NSSP) Guide for the Control of 

Molluscan Shellfish, 2013 2017 Revision, (U.S. Food and 

Drug Administration).P 

B. Molluscan shellfish shall be from sources that are listed in 

the "Interstate Certified Shellfish Shippers List," updated 

monthly List" (U.S. Food and Drug Administration).P 

2VAC5-585-330. Game animals. 

A. If game animals are received for sale or service they shall 

be: 

1. Commercially raised for food and raised, slaughtered, and 

processed under a voluntary inspection program that is 

conducted by the state agency that has animal health 

jurisdiction or under a voluntary inspection program 

administered by the USDA for game animals such as exotic 

animals (i.e., reindeer, elk, deer, antelope, water buffalo, or 

bison) that are "inspected and approved" in accordance with 

9 CFR Part 352;P 

2. As allowed by law, for wild game animals that are live-

caught: 

a. Under a routine inspection program conducted by a 

regulatory agency such as the agency that has animal 

health jurisdiction;P 

b. Slaughtered and processed according to: 

(1) Laws governing meat and poultry as determined by the 

agency that has animal health jurisdiction and the agency 

that conducts the inspection program;P and 

(2) Requirements that are developed by the agency that 

has animal health jurisdiction and the agency that conducts 

the inspection program with consideration of factors such 

as the need for antemortem and postmortem examination 

by an approved veterinarian or veterinarian's designee;P or 

3. As allowed by law for field-dressed wild game animals 

under a routine inspection program that ensures the animals: 

a. Receive a postmortem examination by an approved 

veterinarian or veterinarian's designee; P 

b. Are field-dressed and transported according to 

requirements specified by the agency that has animal 

health jurisdiction and the agency that conducts the 

inspection program;P and 

c. Are processed according to laws governing meat and 

poultry as determined by the agency that has animal health 

jurisdiction and the agency that conducts the inspection 

program.P 

B. A game animal may not be received for sale or service if it 

is a species of wildlife that is listed in 50 CFR Part 17. 

C. The requirements of subsection A of this section shall not 

apply to commercially slaughtered or processed rabbits that are 

offered for sale or service. 

D. Commercially slaughtered or processed rabbits that are 

offered for sale or service shall be packaged with a label that 

complies with 2VAC5-585-900 B and includes the following 

information: 

1. Producer number; 

2. Safe handling instructions, as required by 9 CFR 317.2(l) 

and 9 CFR 381.125(b); 

3. An identifying code that is permanently visible to the 

naked eye to aid in traceback throughout sale and 

distribution; and 

4. The statement: "WARNING: EXEMPT FROM 

CARCASS INSPECTION. PREPARED IN 

COMPLIANCE WITH THE VIRGINIA RABBIT 

PROGRAM." on the principal display panel.  

E. An entity commercially slaughtering or processing rabbits 

that are offered for sale or service may elect to participate in a 

voluntary inspection program that is conducted by the state 

agency that has animal health jurisdiction or a voluntary 

inspection program that is administered by USDA. The 

requirements of subsection D of this section shall not apply to 

commercially slaughtered or processed rabbits that are offered 

for sale or service that bear a mark of inspection and that are 

under a voluntary inspection program that is conducted by the 

state agency that has animal health jurisdiction or that is 

administered by USDA. 

2VAC5-585-400. Shucked shellfish, packaging and 

identification. 

A. Raw shucked shellfish shall be obtained in nonreturnable 

packages that bear a legible label that identifies the:Pf 

1. Name, address, and certification number of the shucker, 

packer, shucker-packer or repacker of the molluscan 

shellfish;Pf and 

2. The "sell by" or "best if used by" date for packages with a 

capacity of less than one-half gallon 64 fluid ounces (1.89 

L) or the date shucked for packages with a capacity of one-

half gallon 64 fluid ounces (1.89 L) or more.Pf 

B. A package of raw shucked shellfish that does not bear a 

label or that bears a label that does not contain all the 

information as specified under subsection A of this section 

shall be subject to a hold order, as allowed by law, or seizure 

and destruction in accordance with 21 CFR 1240.60(d). 
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2VAC5-585-410. Shellstock identification. 

A. Shellstock shall be obtained in containers bearing legible 

source identification tags or labels that are affixed by the dealer 

that depurates, ships, or reships the shellstock, as specified in 

the National Shellfish Sanitation Program (NSSP) Guide for 

the Control of Molluscan Shellfish, 2013 Revision, (U.S. Food 

and Drug Administration) and that list on each dealer's tag or 

label the following information in the following order:Pf 

1. The dealer's name and address, and the certification 

number assigned by the shellfish control authority;Pf 

2. The original shipper's certification number assigned by 

the shellfish control authority;Pf 

3. The harvest date, or if depurated, the date of depuration 

processing, or if wet stored, the original harvest date and the 

final harvest date;Pf 

4. If wet stored or depurated, the wet storage or depuration 

cycle or lot number. The wet storage lot number shall begin 

with the letter "w";Pf 

5. The harvest area including the initials of the state or 

country of harvest;Pf 

6. The type and quantity of shellstock;Pf 

7. The following statement in bold, capitalized type: "THIS 

TAG IS REQUIRED TO BE ATTACHED UNTIL 

CONTAINER IS EMPTY AND THEREAFTER KEPT ON 

FILE FOR 90 DAYS" "THIS TAG (or LABEL) IS 

REQUIRED TO BE ATTACHED UNTIL CONTAINER IS 

EMPTY OR IS RETAGGED AND THEREAFTER KEPT 

ON FILE IN CHRONOLOGICAL ORDER FOR 90 

DAYS." "RETAILERS: DATE WHEN LAST SHELLFISH 

FROM THIS CONTAINER SOLD OR SERVED (INSERT 

DATE)";Pf and 

8. A consumer advisory as specified in 2VAC5-585-930. 

B. A container of shellstock that does not bear a tag or label 

or that bears a tag or label that does not contain all the 

information as specified under subsection A of this section 

shall be subject to a hold order, as allowed by law, or seizure 

and destruction in accordance with 21 CFR 1240.60(d) and § 

28.2-801 of the Code of Virginia. 

2VAC5-585-440. Shellstock; maintaining identification. 

A. Except as specified under subdivision C 2 of this section, 

shellstock tags or labels shall remain attached to the container 

in which the shellstock are received until the container is 

empty.Pf 

B. The date when the last shellstock from the container is sold 

or served shall be recorded on the tag or label.Pf 

C. The identity of the source of shellstock that are sold or 

served shall be maintained by retaining shellstock tags or labels 

for 90 calendar days from the date that is recorded on the tag 

or label as specified in subsection B of this section by:Pf 

1. Using an approved recordkeeping system that keeps the 

tags or labels in chronological order correlated to the date 

that is recorded on the tag or label, as specified under 

subsection B of this section;Pf and 

2. If shellstock are removed from its tagged or labeled 

container: 

a. Preserving source identification by using a 

recordkeeping system as specified under subdivision 1 of 

this subsection;Pf and 

b. Ensuring that shellstock or shucked shellfish from one 

tagged or labeled container are not commingled with 

shellstock or shucked shellfish from another container 

with different certification numbers; different harvest 

dates; or different growing areas as identified on the tag or 

label before being ordered by the consumer.Pf 

2VAC5-585-470. Packaged and unpackaged food - 

separation, packaging, and segregation. 

A. Food shall be protected from cross contamination by: 

1. Except as specified in subdivision 1 c of this subsection, 

subsection C of this section, separating raw animal foods 

during storage, preparation, holding, and display from: 

a. Raw ready-to-eat food including other raw animal food 

such as fish for sushi or molluscan shellfish, or other raw 

ready-to-eat food such as fruits and vegetables;P 

b. Cooked ready-to-eat food;P and 

c. Frozen, commercially processed and packaged raw 

animal food may be stored or displayed with or above 

frozen, commercially processed and packaged, ready-to-

eat food Fruits or vegetables before they are washed; 

2. Except when combined as ingredients, separating types of 

raw animal foods from each other such as beef, fish, lamb, 

pork, and poultry during storage, preparation, holding, and 

display by: 

a. Using separate equipment for each type; P 

b. Arranging each type of food in equipment so that cross 

contamination of one type with another is prevented;P and 

c. Preparing each type of food at different times or in 

separate areas;P 

3. Cleaning equipment and utensils as specified under 

2VAC5-585-1780 A and sanitizing as specified under 

2VAC5-585-1900; 

4. Except as specified in subdivision B 2 of 2VAC5-585-810 

and subsection B of this section, storing the food in 

packages, covered containers, or wrappings; 

5. Cleaning hermetically sealed containers of food of visible 

soil before opening; 
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6. Protecting food containers that are received packaged 

together in a case or overwrap from cuts when the case or 

overwrap is opened; 

7. Storing damaged, spoiled, or recalled food being held in 

the food establishment as specified under 2VAC5-585-3150; 

and 

8. Separating fruits and vegetables before they are washed 

as specified under 2VAC5-585-510 from ready-to-eat food. 

B. Subdivision A 4 of this section does not apply to: 

1. Whole, uncut, raw fruits and vegetables and nuts in the 

shell that require peeling or hulling before consumption; 

2. Primal cuts, quarters, or sides of raw meat or slab bacon 

that are hung on clean, sanitized hooks or placed on clean, 

sanitized racks; 

3. Whole, uncut, processed meats such as country hams, and 

smoked or cured sausages that are placed on clean, sanitized 

racks; 

4. Food being cooled as specified under 2VAC5-585-810 B 

2; or 

5. Shellstock. 

C. Frozen, commercially processed and packaged raw animal 

food may be stored or displayed with or above frozen, 

commercially processed and packaged, ready-to-eat food. 

2VAC5-585-540. Food contact with equipment and 

utensils. 

Food shall only contact surfaces of: 

1. Equipment and utensils that are cleaned as specified under 

2VAC5-585-1770 through 2VAC5-585-1860 and sanitized 

as specified under 2VAC5-585-1885, 2VAC5-585-1890, 

and 2VAC5-585-1900; P 

2. Single-service and single-use articles;P or P 

3. Linens, such as cloth napkins, as specified under 2VAC5-

585-560, that are laundered as specified under 2VAC5-585-

1910 through 2VAC5-585-1950.P 

2VAC5-585-700. Raw animal foods. 

A. Except as specified in subsections B, C, and D of this 

section, raw animal foods such as eggs, fish, meat, poultry, and 

foods containing these raw animal foods shall be cooked to 

heat all parts of the food to a temperature and for a time that 

complies with one of the following methods based on the food 

that is being cooked: 

1. 145°F (63°C) or above for 15 seconds for:P 

a. Raw eggs that are broken and prepared in response to a 

consumer's order and for immediate service;P and 

b. Except as specified under subdivisions A 2 and 3 and 

subsections B and C of this section, fish and intact meat, 

including game animals commercially raised for food and 

under a voluntary inspection program as specified under 

2VAC5-585-330 A 1;P 

2. 155°F (68°C) for 15 17 seconds or the temperature 

specified in the following chart that corresponds to the 

holding time for ratites, mechanically tenderized, and 

injected meats; the following if they are comminuted: fish, 

meat, game animals commercially raised for food and under 

a voluntary inspection program as specified under 2VAC5-

585-330 A 1; and raw eggs that are not prepared as specified 

under subdivision A 1 a of this section:P 

Minimum 

Temperature °F (°C) Time 

145 (63) 3 minutes 

150 (66) 1 minute 

158 (70) <1 second (instantaneous) 

3. 165°F (74°C) or above for 15 seconds less than one 

second (instantaneous) for poultry, baluts, wild game 

animals as specified under 2VAC5-585-330 A 2 and 3, 

commercially raised rabbits as specified under 2VAC5-585-

330 C, stuffed fish, stuffed meat, stuffed pasta, stuffed 

poultry, stuffed ratites, or stuffing containing fish, meat, 

poultry, or ratites.P 

B. Whole meat roasts including beef, corned beef, lamb, pork, 

and cured pork roasts such as ham shall be cooked: 

1. In an oven that is preheated to the temperature specified 

for the roast's weight As specified in the following chart and 

that is held at chart, to heat all parts of the food to a 

temperature and for the holding time that corresponds to that 

temperature;Pf P and 

 Oven Temperature Based on Roast 

Weight 

Oven Type Less than 10 

lbs (4.5 kg) 

10 lbs (4.5 kg) 

or more 

Still Dry 350°F (177°C) 

or more 

250°F (121°C) 

or more 

Convection 325°F (163°C) 

or more 

250°F (121°C) 

or more 

High 

Humidity1 

250°F (121°C) 

or less 

250°F (121°C) 

or less 

1Relative humidity greater than 90% for at least one 

hour as measured in the cooking chamber or exit of the 

oven; or in a moisture-impermeable bag that provides 

100% humidity 
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Temperature 

°F (°C) 

Time1 in 

Minutes 

Temperature 

°F (°C) 

Time1 in 

Seconds 

130 (54.4) 112 147 (63.9) 134 

131 (55.0) 89 149 (65.0) 85 

133 (56.1) 56 151 (66.1) 54 

135 (57.2) 36 153 (67.2) 34 

136 (57.8) 28 155 (68.3) 22 

138 (58.9) 18 157 (69.4) 14 

140 (60.0) 12 158 (70.0) 0 

142 (61.1) 8   

144 (62.2) 5   

145 (62.8) 4   

1Holding time may include postoven heat rise. 

2. As specified in the following chart, to heat all parts of the 

food to a temperature and for the holding time that 

corresponds to that temperature.P 

Temperature 

°F (°C) 

Time1 in 

Minutes 

Temperature 

°F (°C) 

Time1 in 

Seconds 

130 (54.4) 112 147 (63.9) 134 

131 (55.0) 89 149 (65.0) 85 

133 (56.1) 56 151 (66.1) 54 

135 (57.2) 36 153 (67.2) 34 

136 (57.8) 28 155 (68.3) 22 

138 (58.9) 18 157 (69.4) 14 

140 (60.0) 12 158 (70.0) 0 

142 (61.1) 8   

144 (62.2) 5   

145 (62.8) 4   

1Holding time may include postoven heat rise. 

If cooked in an oven, use an oven that is preheated to the 

temperature specified for the roast's weight in the following 

chart and that is held at that temperature;Pf 

 Oven Temperature Based on Roast 

Weight 

Oven Type Less than 10 

lbs (4.5 kg) 

10 lbs (4.5 kg) 

or more 

Still Dry 350°F (177°C) 

or more 

250°F (121°C) 

or more 

Convection 325°F (163°C) 

or more 

250°F (121°C) 

or more 

High 

Humidity1 

250°F (121°C) 

or less 

250°F (121°C) 

or less 

1Relative humidity greater than 90% for at least one 

hour as measured in the cooking chamber or exit of the 

oven; or in a moisture-impermeable bag that provides 

100% humidity 

C. A raw or undercooked whole-muscle, intact beef steak may 

be served or offered for sale in a ready-to-eat form if: 

1. The food establishment serves a population that is not a 

highly susceptible population; 

2. The steak is labeled, as specified under 2VAC5-585-270 

E, to indicate that it meets the definition of "whole-muscle, 

whole-muscle, intact beef"; beef; and 

3. The steak is cooked on both the top and bottom to a 

surface temperature of 145°F (63°C) or above and a cooked 

color change is achieved on all external surfaces. 

D. A raw animal food such as raw egg, raw fish, raw-

marinated fish, raw molluscan shellfish, or steak tartare or a 

partially cooked food such as lightly cooked fish, soft cooked 

eggs, or rare meat other than whole-muscle, intact beef steaks 

as specified in subsection C of this section may be served or 

offered for sale upon consumer request or selection in a ready-

to-eat form if: 

1. As specified under subdivisions 3 a and 3 b of 2VAC5-

585-950, the food establishment serves a population that is 

not a highly susceptible population; 

2. The food, if served or offered for service by consumer 

selection from a children's menu, does not contain 

comminuted meat;Pf and 

3. The consumer is informed as specified under 2VAC5-

585-930 that to ensure its safety, the food should be cooked 

as specified under subsection A or B of this section; or 

4. The department grants a variance from subsection A or B 

of this section as specified in 2VAC5-585-3540 based on a 

HACCP plan that: 

a. Is submitted by the operator and approved as specified 

under 2VAC5-585-3541; 

b. Documents scientific data or other information showing 

that a lesser time and temperature regimen results in a safe 

food; and 

c. Verifies that equipment and procedures for food 

preparation and training of food employees at the food 

establishment meet the conditions of the variance. 

2VAC5-585-720. Plant food cooking for hot holding. 

Fruits and vegetables Plant foods that are cooked for hot 

holding shall be cooked to a temperature of 135°F (57°C).Pf 



Regulations 

Volume 37, Issue 19 Virginia Register of Regulations  May 10, 2021  

2817 

2VAC5-585-730. Parasite destruction. 

A. Except as specified in subsection B of this section, before 

service or sale in ready-to-eat form, raw, raw-marinated, 

partially cooked, or marinated-partially cooked fish shall be: 

1. Frozen and stored at a temperature of -4°F (-20°C) or 

below for a minimum of 168 hours (seven days) in a freezer;P 

2. Frozen at -31°F (-35°C) or below until solid and stored at 

-31°F (-35°C) or below for a minimum of 15 hours;P or 

3. Frozen at -31°F (-35°C) or below until solid and stored at 

-4°F (-20°C) or below for a minimum of 24 hours.P 

B. Subsection A of this section does not apply to: 

1. Molluscan shellfish; 

2. A scallop product consisting only of the shucked abductor 

adductor muscle; 

3. Tuna of the species Thunnus alalunga, Thunnus albacares 

(Yellowfin tuna), Thunnus atlanticus, Thunnus maccoyii 

(Bluefin tuna, Southern), Thunnus obesus (Bigeye tuna), or 

Thunnus thynnus (Bluefin tuna, Northern); 

4. Aquacultured fish, such as salmon, that: 

a. If raised in open water, are raised in net pens, or 

b. Are raised in land-based operations such as ponds or 

tanks, and 

c. Are fed formulated feed, such as pellets, that contains 

no live parasites infective to the aquacultured fish; or 

5. Fish eggs that have been removed from the skein and 

rinsed. 

2VAC5-585-740. Records; creation and retention. 

A. Except as specified in 2VAC5-585-730 B and subsection 

B of this section, if raw, marinated, raw-marinated, partially 

cooked, or marinated-partially cooked fish are served or sold 

in ready-to-eat form, the person in charge shall record the 

freezing temperature and time to which the fish are subjected 

and shall retain the records at the food establishment for 90 

calendar days beyond the time of service or sale of the fish.Pf 

B. If the fish are frozen by a supplier, a written agreement or 

statement from the supplier stipulating that the fish supplied 

are frozen to a temperature and for a time specified under 

2VAC5-585-730 may substitute for the records specified under 

subsection A of this section. 

C. If raw, raw-marinated, partially cooked, or marinated-

partially cooked fish are served or sold in ready-to-eat form, 

and the fish are raised and fed as specified in 2VAC5-585-730 

B 4, a written agreement or statement from the supplier or 

aquaculturist stipulating that the fish were raised and fed as 

specified in 2VAC5-585-730 B 4 shall be obtained by the 

person in charge and retained in the records of the food 

establishment for 90 calendar days beyond the time of service 

or sale of the fish.Pf 

2VAC5-585-790. Thawing. 

A. Except as specified in subdivision 4 of this subsection, 

time/temperature control for safety food shall be thawed: 

1. Under refrigeration that maintains the food temperature at 

41°F (5°C) or less;Pf 

2. Completely submerged under running water: 

a. At a water temperature of 70°F (21°C) or below;Pf 

b. With sufficient water velocity to agitate and float off 

loose particles in an overflow;Pf and 

c. For a period of time that does not allow thawed portions 

of ready-to-eat food to rise above 41°F (5°C);Pf or 

d. For a period of time that does not allow thawed portions 

of a raw animal food requiring cooking as specified under 

2VAC5-585-700 A or B to be above 41°F (5°C) for more 

than four hours including: 

(1) The time the food is exposed to the running water and 

the time needed for preparation for cooking;Pf or 

(2) The time it takes under refrigeration to lower the food 

temperature to 41°F (5°C);Pf 

3. As part of a cooking process if the food that is frozen is: 

a. Cooked as specified under 2VAC5-585-700 A or B or 

2VAC5-585-710;Pf or 

b. Thawed in a microwave oven and immediately 

transferred to conventional cooking equipment, with no 

interruption in the process;Pf or 

4. Using any procedure if a portion of frozen ready-to-eat 

food is thawed and prepared for immediate service in 

response to an individual consumer's order. 

B. Reduced oxygen packaged fish that bears a label indicating 

that it is to be kept frozen until time of use shall be removed 

from the reduced oxygen environment: 

1. Prior to its thawing under refrigeration as specified in 

subdivision A 1 of this section; or 

2. Prior to, or immediately upon completion of, its thawing 

using procedures specified in subdivision A 2 of this section. 

2VAC5-585-820. Time/temperature control for safety food; 

hot and cold holding. 

A. Except during preparation, cooking, or cooling, or when 

time is used as the public health control as specified under 

2VAC5-585-850, and except as specified under subsections B 

and C of this section, time/temperature control for safety food 

shall be maintained: 

1. At 135°F (57°C) or above, except that roasts cooked to a 

temperature and for a time specified in 2VAC5-585-700 B 
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or reheated as specified in 2VAC5-585-760 E may be held 

at a temperature of 130°F (54°C) or above;P or 

2. At 41°F (5°C) or less.P 

B. Eggs that have not been treated to destroy all viable 

Salmonellae shall be stored in refrigerated equipment that 

maintains an ambient air temperature of 45°F (7°C) or less.P 

C. Time/temperature control for safety food in a homogenous 

liquid form may be maintained outside of the temperature 

control requirements, as specified in subsection A of this 

section, while contained within specially designed equipment 

that complies with the design and construction requirements as 

specified under subdivision 5 of 2VAC5-585-1230. 

2VAC5-585-850. Time as a public health control. 

A. Except as specified under subsection D of this section, if 

time without temperature control is used as the public health 

control for a working supply of time/temperature control for 

safety food before cooking, or for ready-to-eat, 

time/temperature control for safety food that is displayed or 

held for sale or service. Written, written procedures shall be 

prepared in advance, maintained in the food establishment, and 

made available to the department upon request that specify:Pf 

1. Methods of compliance with subdivisions B 1, 2, and 3 or 

subsection B or C of this section;Pf and 

2. Methods of compliance with 2VAC5-585-800 for food 

that is prepared, cooked, and refrigerated before time is used 

as a public health control.Pf 

B. If time without temperature control is used as the public 

health control up to a maximum of 4 four hours: 

1. The Except as specified in subdivision B 2 of this section, 

the food shall have an initial temperature of 41°F (5°C) or 

less when removed from cold holding temperature control, 

or 135°F (57°C) or greater when removed from hot-holding 

temperature control;P 

2. The food shall be marked or otherwise identified to 

indicate the time that is four hours past the point in time 

when the food is removed from temperature control;Pf may 

have an initial temperature of 70°F (21°C) or less if: 

a. It is a ready-to-eat (i) fruit or vegetable that, upon 

cutting, is rendered a time/temperature control for safety 

food or (ii) hermetically sealed food that, upon opening, is 

rendered a time/temperature control for safety food; 

b. The food temperature does not exceed 70°F (21°C) 

within a maximum time period of four hours from the time 

it was rendered a time/temperature control for safety food; 

and  

c. The food is marked or otherwise identified to indicate 

the time that is four hours past the point in time when the 

food is rendered a time/temperature control for safety food 

as specified in subdivision B 2 a of this section. 

3. The food shall be cooked and served, served at any 

temperature if ready-to-eat, or discarded, within four hours 

from marked or otherwise identified to indicate the time that 

is four hours past (i) the point in time when the food is 

removed from temperature control;P and or (ii) the time that 

the food becomes a time/temperature control for safety 

food;Pf 

4. The food in unmarked containers or packages or marked 

to exceed a four-hour limit shall be discarded.P shall be 

cooked and served; served at any temperature, if ready-to-

eat; or discarded within four hours from the point in time 

when the food is removed from temperature control;P 

5. The food in unmarked containers or packages or marked 

to exceed a four-hour limit shall be discarded.P 

C. If time without temperature control is used as the public 

health control up to a maximum of six hours: 

1. The food shall have an initial temperature of 41°F (5°C) 

or less when removed from temperature control and the food 

temperature may not exceed 70°F (21°C) within a maximum 

time period of six hours;P 

2. The food shall be monitored to ensure the warmest portion 

of the food does not exceed 70°F (21°C) during the six-hour 

period, unless an ambient air temperature is maintained that 

ensures the food does not exceed 70°F (21°C) during the six-

hour holding period;Pf 

3. The food shall be marked or otherwise identified to 

indicate:Pf 

a. The time when the food is removed from 41°F (5°C) or 

less cold holding temperature control;Pf and 

b. The time that is six hours past the point in time when 

the food is removed from 41°F (5°C) or less cold holding 

temperature control;Pf 

4. The food shall be: 

a. Discarded if the temperature of the foods exceeds 70°F 

(21°C);P or 

b. Cooked and served, served at any temperature if ready-

to-eat, or discarded within a maximum of six hours from 

the point in time when the food is removed from 41°F 

(5°C) or less cold holding temperature control;P and 

5. The food in unmarked containers or packages, or marked 

with a time that exceeds the six-hour limit shall be 

discarded.P 

D. A food establishment that serves a highly susceptible 

population may not use time as specified under subsection A, 

B, or C of this section as the public health control for raw eggs. 

2VAC5-585-870. Reduced oxygen packaging without a 

variance; criteria. 

A. Except for a food establishment that obtains a variance as 

specified under 2VAC5-585-860, a food establishment that 
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packages time/temperature control for safety food using a 

reduced oxygen packaging method shall control the growth 

and toxin formation of Clostridium botulinum and the growth 

of Listeria monocytogenes.P 

B. Except as specified in subsection F E of this section, a food 

establishment that packages time/temperature control for 

safety food using a reduced oxygen packaging method shall 

implement a HACCP plan that contains the information 

specified under subdivisions 3 and 4 of 2VAC5-585-3630 and 

that:Pf 

1. Identifies food to be packaged;Pf 

2. Except as specified in subsections C, D, and E D of this 

section, requires that the packaged food shall be maintained 

at 41°F (5°C) or less and meet at least one of the following 

criteria:Pf 

a. Has an Aw of 0.91 or less,Pf 

b. Has a pH of 4.6 or less,Pf 

c. Is a meat or poultry product cured at a food processing 

plant regulated by the USDA using substances specified 

in 9 CFR 424.21 and is received in an intact package,Pf or 

d. Is a food with a high level of competing organisms such 

as raw meat, raw poultry, or raw vegetables;Pf or 

e. Is a cheese that is commercially manufactured in a food 

processing plant with no ingredients added in the food 

establishment and that meets the Standards of Identity as 

specified in 21 CFR 133.150, 21 CFR 133.169, or 21 CFR 

133.187;P 

3. Describes how the package shall be prominently and 

conspicuously labeled on the principal display panel in bold 

type on a contrasting background, with instructions to:Pf 

a. Maintain the food at 41°F (5°C) or below,Pf and  

b. Discard the food within 30 calendar days of its 

packaging if it is not served for on-premises consumption, 

or consumed if served or sold for off-premises 

consumption;Pf 

4. 2. Limits the refrigerated shelf life to no more than 30 

calendar days from packaging to consumption, except the 

time the product is maintained frozen, or the original 

manufacturer's "sell by" or "use by" date, whichever occurs 

first;P 

5. 3. Includes operational procedures that: 

a. Prohibit contacting ready-to-eat food with bare hands as 

specified under 2VAC5-585-450 B;Pf 

b. Identify a designated work area and the method by 

which:Pf 

(1) Physical barriers or methods of separation of raw foods 

and ready-to-eat foods minimize cross contamination,Pf 

and 

(2) Access to the processing equipment is limited to 

responsible trained personnel familiar with the potential 

hazards of the operation;Pf and 

c. Delineate cleaning and sanitization procedures for food-

contact surfaces; Pf and 

d. Describe how the package shall be prominently and 

conspicuously labeled on the principal display panel in 

bold type on a contrasting background, with instructions 

to:Pf 

(1) Maintain the food at 41°F (5°C) or below,Pf and 

(2) Discard the food if, within 30 calendar days of its 

packaging, it is not served for on-premises consumption 

or consumed, if served or sold for off-premises 

consumption; Pf 

6. 4. Describes the training program that ensures that the 

individual responsible for the reduced oxygen packaging 

operation understands the:Pf 

a. Concepts required for safe operation;Pf 

b. Equipment and facilities;Pf and 

c. Procedures specified under subdivision 5 3 of this 

subsection and subdivisions 3 and 4 of 2VAC5-585-

3630;Pf and 

7. 5. Is provided to the department prior to implementation 

as specified under subsection B of 2VAC5-585-3620. 

C. Except for fish that is frozen before, during, and after 

packaging and that bears a label indicating that it is to be kept 

frozen until time of use, a food establishment may not package 

fish using a reduced oxygen packaging method.P 

D. Except as specified in subsections C and F E of this 

section, a food establishment that packages time/temperature 

control for safety food using a cook-chill or sous vide process 

shall: 

1. Provide to the department prior to implementation, a 

HACCP plan that contains the information as specified 

under subdivisions 3 and 4 of 2VAC5-585-3630;Pf 

2. Ensure the food is: 

a. Prepared and consumed on the premises, or prepared 

and consumed off the premises but within the same 

business entity with no distribution or sale of the packaged 

product to another business entity or the consumer;Pf 

b. Cooked to heat all parts of the food to a temperature and 

for a time as specified under 2VAC5-585-700 A, B, and 

C;P 

c. Protected from contamination before and after cooking 

as specified in 2VAC5-585-450 through 2VAC5-585-

765;P 

d. Placed in a package with an oxygen barrier and sealed 

before cooking, or placed in a package and sealed 

immediately after cooking, and before reaching a 

temperature below 135°F (57°C);P 
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e. Cooled to 41°F (5°C) in the sealed package or bag as 

specified under 2VAC5-585-800 and P 

(1) Cooled to 34°F (1°C) within 48 hours of reaching 41°F 

(5°C) and held at that temperature until consumed or 

discarded within 30 calendar days after the date of 

packaging;P 

(2) Held at 41°F (5°C) or less for no more than seven 

calendar days, at which time the food must be consumed 

or discarded;P or 

(3) Cooled to 34°F (1°C) within 48 hours of reaching 41°F 

(5°C), removed from refrigeration equipment that 

maintains a 34°F (1°C) food temperature, and then held at 

41°F (5°C) or less for no more than seven calendar days, 

not to exceed 30 calendar days from its date of packaging, 

at which time the food must be consumed or discarded;P 

or 

(4) Held frozen with no shelf-life restriction while frozen 

until consumed or used;P 

f. Held in a refrigeration unit that is equipped with an 

electronic system that continuously monitors time and 

temperature and is visually examined for proper operation 

twice daily;Pf 

g. If transported off-site to a satellite location of the same 

business entity, equipped with verifiable electronic 

monitoring devices to ensure that times and temperatures 

are monitored during transportation;Pf and 

h. Labeled with the product name and the date packaged;Pf 

and 

3. Maintain the records required to confirm that cooling and 

cold holding refrigeration time/temperature parameters are 

required as part of the HACCP plan and: 

a. Make such records available to the department upon 

request;Pf and 

b. Hold such records for at least six months;Pf and 

4. Implement written operational procedures as specified 

under subdivision B 5 3 of this section and a training 

program as specified under subdivision B 6 4 of this 

section.Pf 

E. Except as specified under subsection F of this section, a 

food establishment that packages cheese using a reduced 

oxygen packaging method shall: 

1. Limit the cheeses packaged to those that are commercially 

manufactured in a food processing plant with no ingredients 

added in the food establishment and that meet the Standards 

of Identity as specified in 21 CFR 133.150, 21 CFR 133.169, 

or 21 CFR 133.187;P 

2. Have a HACCP plan that contains the information 

specified in subdivisions 3 and 4 of 2VAC5-585-3630 and 

as specified in subdivisions B 1, B 3 a, B 5, and B 6 of this 

section;Pf 

3. Label the package on the principal display panel with a 

"use by" date that does not exceed 30 days from its 

packaging or the original manufacturer's "sell by" or "use 

by" date, whichever occurs first;Pf and 

4. Discard the reduced oxygen packaged cheese if it is not 

sold for off-premises consumption or consumed within 30 

calendar days of its packaging.Pf 

F. E. A HACCP plan is not required when a food 

establishment uses a reduced oxygen packaging method to 

package time/temperature control for safety food that is 

always: 

1. Labeled with the production time and date; 

2. Held at 41°F (5°C) or less during refrigerated storage; and 

3. Removed from its packaging in the food establishment 

within 48 hours after packaging. 

2VAC5-585-880. Standards of identity. 

Packaged food shall comply with standard of identity 

requirements in 21 CFR Parts 131-169 and 9 CFR Part 319, 

Definitions and Standards of Identity or Composition, and the 

general requirements in 21 CFR Part 130, Food Standards: 

General, and 9 CFR Part 319, Subpart A, General. 

2VAC5-585-950. Pasteurized foods, prohibited reservice, 

and prohibited food. 

In a food establishment that serves a highly susceptible 

population: 

1. The following criteria apply to juice: 

a. For the purposes of subdivision 1 of this section only, 

children who are age nine years or younger and receive 

food in a school, day care setting, or similar facility that 

provides custodial care are included as highly susceptible 

populations; 

b. Prepackaged juice or a prepackaged beverage 

containing juice that bears a warning label as specified in 

21 CFR 101.17(g) or a packaged juice or beverage 

containing juice that bears a warning label as specified 

under subdivision 2 of 2VAC5-585-765 may not be served 

or offered for sale;P and 

c. Unpackaged juice that is prepared on the premises for 

service or sale in a ready-to-eat form shall be processed 

under a HACCP plan that contains the information 

specified in subdivisions 3 through 5 of 2VAC5-585-3630 

and as specified in 21 CFR 120.24.P 

2. Pasteurized eggs or egg products shall be substituted for 

raw eggs in the preparation of:P 

a. Foods such as Caesar salad, hollandaise or béarnaise 

sauce, mayonnaise, meringue, eggnog, ice cream, and egg-

fortified beverages;P and 
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b. Except as specified in subdivision 6 of this section, 

recipes in which more than one egg is broken and the eggs 

are combined.P 

3. The following foods may not be served or offered for sale 

in a ready-to-eat form:P 

a. Raw animal foods such as raw fish, raw-marinated fish, 

raw molluscan shellfish, and steak tartare;P 

b. A partially cooked animal food such as lightly cooked 

fish, rare meat, soft-cooked eggs that are made from raw 

eggs, and meringue;P and 

c. Raw seed sprouts.P 

4. Food employees may not contact ready-to-eat food as 

specified in 2VAC5-585-450 B and E.P 

5. Time only, as the public health control as specified under 

2VAC5-585-850 D, may not be used for raw eggs.P 

6. Subdivision 2 b of this section does not apply if: 

a. The raw eggs are combined immediately before cooking 

for one consumer's serving at a single meal, cooked as 

specified under 2VAC5-585-700 A 1, and served 

immediately, such as an omelet, soufflé, or scrambled 

eggs; 

b. The raw eggs are combined as an ingredient 

immediately before baking and the eggs are thoroughly 

cooked to a ready-to-eat form, such as a cake, muffin, or 

bread; or 

c. The preparation of the food is conducted under a 

HACCP plan that: 

(1) Identifies the food to be prepared; 

(2) Prohibits contacting ready-to-eat food with bare hands; 

(3) Includes specifications and practices that ensure: 

(a) Salmonella Enteritidis growth is controlled before and 

after cooking; and 

(b) Salmonella Enteritidis is destroyed by cooking the 

eggs according to the temperature and time specified in 

2VAC5-585-700 A 2; 

d. (4) Contains the information specified under 

subdivision 4 5 of 2VAC5-585-3630 including procedures 

that: 

(1) (a) Control cross contamination of ready-to-eat food 

with raw eggs; and 

(2) (b) Delineate cleaning and sanitization procedures for 

food-contact surfaces; and 

e. (5) Describes the training program that ensures that the 

food employee responsible for the preparation of the food 

understands the procedures to be used. 

7. Except as specified in subdivision 8 of this section, food 

may be re-served as specified under 2VAC5-585-680 B 1 

and 2. 

8. Foods Food may not be re-served under the following 

conditions: 

a. Any food served to patients or clients who are under 

contact precautions in medical isolation or quarantine, or 

protective environment isolation may not be re-served to 

others outside. 

b. Packages of food from any patients, clients, or other 

consumers should not be re-served to persons in protective 

environment isolation. 

2VAC5-585-980. Lead use limitation. 

A. Ceramic, china, and crystal utensils, and decorative 

utensils such as hand-painted ceramic or china that are used in 

contact with food shall be lead-free or contain levels of lead 

not exceeding the limits of the following utensil categories:P 

Utensil 

Category 

Ceramic Article 

Description 

Maximum Lead 

(mg/L) 

(ppm) 

Beverage 

Mugs, Cups, 

Pitchers 

Coffee Mugs 0.5 

Large 

Hollowware 

(excluding 

pitchers) 

Bowls ≥1.1 

Liter (1.16 

Quart) 

1.0 

Small 

Hollowware 

(excluding cups 

and mugs) 

Bowls <1.1 

Liter (1.16 

Quart) 

2.0 

Flat Tableware Plates, Saucers 3.0 

B. Pewter alloys containing lead in excess of 0.05% may not 

be used as a food-contact surface.P 

C. Solder and flux containing lead in excess of 0.2% may not 

be used as a food-contact surface. 

2VAC5-585-1180. Temperature measuring devices; food. 

A. Food temperature measuring devices that are scaled only 

in Fahrenheit or dually scaled in Fahrenheit and Celsius shall 

be scaled in 2°F increments and accurate to ± plus or minus 

2°F in the intended range of use.Pf 

B. Food temperature measuring devices that are scaled only 

in Celsius or dually scaled in Celsius and Fahrenheit shall be 

scaled in 1°C increments accurate to ± plus or minus 1°C in the 

intended range of use.Pf 

2VAC5-585-1190. Temperature measuring devices; 

ambient air and water. 

A. Ambient air and water temperature measuring devices that 

are scaled only in Fahrenheit or dually scaled in Fahrenheit and 

Celsius and shall be designed to be easily readable and scaled 
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in 3°F increments and accurate to ± plus or minus 3°F in the 

intended range of use.Pf 

B. Ambient air and water temperature measuring devices that 

are scaled only in Celsius or dually scaled in Celsius and 

Farenheit shall be scaled in 1.5°C increments designed to be 

easily readable and accurate to ± plus or minus 1.5°C in the 

intended range of use.Pf 

2VAC5-585-1230. Dispensing equipment, protection of 

equipment and food. 

In equipment that dispenses or vends liquid food or ice in 

unpackaged form: 

1. The delivery tube, chute, orifice, and splash surfaces 

directly above the container receiving the food shall be 

designed in a manner, such as with barriers, baffles, or drip 

aprons, so that drips from condensation and splash are 

diverted from the opening of the container receiving the 

food. 

2. The delivery tube, chute, and orifice shall be protected 

from manual contact such as by being recessed. 

3. The delivery tube or chute and orifice of equipment used 

to vend liquid food or ice in unpackaged form to self-service 

consumers shall be designed so that the delivery tube or 

chute and orifice are protected from dust, insects, rodents, 

and other contamination by a self-closing door if the 

equipment is: 

a. Located in an outside area that does not otherwise afford 

the protection of an enclosure against the rain, windblown 

debris, insects, rodents, and other contaminants that are 

present in the environment; or 

b. Available for self-service during hours when it is not 

under the full-time supervision of a food employee. 

4. The dispensing equipment actuating lever or mechanism 

and filling device of consumer self-service beverage 

dispensing equipment shall be designed to prevent contact 

with the lip-contact surface of glasses or cups that are 

refilled. 

5. Dispensing equipment in which time/temperature control 

for safety food in homogenous liquid form is maintained 

outside of the temperature control requirements as specified 

in 2VAC5-585-820 A shall: 

a. Be specifically designed and equipped to maintain the 

commercial sterility of aseptically packaged food in a 

homogenous liquid form for a specified duration from the 

time of opening the packaging within the equipment;P and 

b. Conform to the requirements for this equipment as 

specified in NSF/ANSI 18-2012 18-2016 Manual Food 

and Beverage Dispensing Equipment, 2012 2016, (NSF 

International).P 

2VAC5-585-1300. Molluscan shellfish tanks. 

A. Except as specified under subsection B of this section, 

molluscan shellfish life support system display tanks may not 

be used to store or display shellfish that are offered for human 

consumption and shall be conspicuously marked so that it is 

obvious to consumers that the shellfish are for display only.P 

B. Molluscan shellfish life-support system display tanks that 

are used to store or display shellfish that are offered for human 

consumption shall be operated and maintained in accordance 

with a variance granted by the department as specified in 

2VAC5-585-3540 and a HACCP plan that:Pf 

1. Is submitted by the operator and approved as specified 

under 2VAC5-585-3541;Pf and 

2. Ensures that: 

a. Water used with fish other than molluscan shellfish does 

not flow into the molluscan tank;Pf 

b. The safety and quality of the shellfish as they were 

received are not compromised by the use of the tank;Pf and 

c. The identity of the source of the shellstock is retained as 

specified under 2VAC5-585-440.Pf 

2VAC5-585-1310. Vending machines, automatic shutoff. 

A. A machine vending time/temperature control for safety 

food shall have an automatic control that prevents the machine 

from vending food: 

1. If there is a power failure, mechanical failure, or other 

condition that results in an internal machine temperature that 

cannot maintain food temperatures as specified under Part 

III (2VAC5-585-260 et seq.) of this chapter;P and 

2. If a condition specified under subdivision 1 of this 

subsection occurs, until the machine is serviced and 

restocked with food that has been maintained at 

temperatures specified under Part III (2VAC5-585-260 et 

seq.) of this chapter.P 

B. When the automatic shutoff within a machine vending 

time/temperature control for safety food is activated: 

1. In a refrigerated vending machine, the ambient 

temperature may not exceed 41°F (5°C) for more than 30 

minutes immediately after the machine is filled, serviced, or 

restocked;P or 

2. In a hot holding vending machine, the ambient 

temperature may not be less than 135°F (57°C) for more than 

120 minutes immediately after the machine is filled, 

serviced, or restocked.P 

2VAC5-585-1430. Vending machine doors and openings. 

A. Vending machine doors and access opening covers to food 

and container storage spaces shall be tight-fitting so that the 

space along the entire interface between the doors or covers 

and the cabinet of the machine, if the doors or covers are in a 
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closed position, is no greater than one-sixteenth inch or 1.5 

millimeters by: 

1. Being covered with louvers, screens, or materials that 

provide an equivalent opening of not greater than one-

sixteenth inch or 1.5 millimeters. Screening of 12 mesh to 

one inch (12 or more mesh to 2.5 centimeters) meets this 

requirement; 

2. Being effectively gasketed; 

3. Having interface surfaces that are at least one-half inch 

wide or 13 millimeters; or 

4. Jambs or surfaces used to form an L-shaped entry path to 

the interface. 

B. Vending machine service connection openings through an 

exterior wall of a machine shall be closed by sealants, clamps, 

or grommets so that the openings are no larger than 1.5 

millimeters or one-sixteenth inch or 1.5 millimeters. 

2VAC5-585-1435. Food equipment, certification and 

classification. 

Food equipment that is certified or classified for sanitation in 

conformance to a recognized American National Standard by 

an American National Standards Institute accredited 

certification program is deemed to comply with the 

requirements of Articles 1 (2VAC5-585-960 et seq.) and 2 

(2VAC5-585-1080 et seq.) of this part. 

2VAC5-585-1535. Cleaning agents and sanitizers; 

availability. 

A. Cleaning agents that are used to clean equipment and 

utensils as specified under Article 6 (2VAC5-585-1770 et seq.) 

of this part shall be provided and available for use during all 

hours of operation.Pf 

B. Except for chemical sanitizers those that are generated on 

site at the time of use, chemical sanitizers that are used to 

sanitize equipment and utensils as specified under Article 7 

(2VAC5-585-1885 et seq.) of this part shall be provided and 

available for use during all hours of operation.Pf 

2VAC5-585-1620. Warewashing sinks, use limitation. 

A. A warewashing sink may not be used for handwashing as 

specified under 2VAC5-585-170. 

B. If a warewashing sink is used to wash wiping cloths, wash 

produce, or thaw food, the sink shall be cleaned as specified 

under 2VAC5-585-1600 before and after each time it is used 

to wash wiping cloths or wash produce or thaw food. Sinks 

used to wash or thaw food shall be sanitized as specified under 

Article 7 (2VAC5-585-1880 et seq.) (2VAC5-585-1885 et 

seq.) of this part before and after using the sink to wash 

produce or thaw food. 

2VAC5-585-1700. Manual and mechanical warewashing 

equipment, chemical sanitization - temperature, pH, 

concentration, and hardness. 

A chemical sanitizer used in a sanitizing solution for a manual 

or mechanical operation at contact times specified under 

subdivision 3 of 2VAC5-585-1900 shall meet the criteria 

specified under 2VAC5-585-3380, shall be used in accordance 

with the EPA-registered label use instructions,P and shall be 

used as follows: 

1. A chlorine solution shall have a minimum temperature 

based on the concentration and pH of the solution as listed 

in the following chart;P 

Minimum 

Concentration 
Minimum Temperature 

mg/L (ppm) 
pH 10 or less 

°F (°C) 

pH 8.0 or less 

°F (°C) 

25-49 120 (49) 120 (49) 

50-99 100 (38) 75 (24) 

100 55 (13) 55 (13) 

2. An iodine solution shall have a: 

a. Minimum temperature of 68°F (20°C);P 

b. pH of 5.0 or less or a pH no higher than the level for 

which the manufacturer specifies the solution is effective;P 

and 

c. Concentration between 12.5 mg/L(ppm) mg/L (ppm) 

and 25 mg/L (ppm);P 

3. A quaternary ammonium compound solution shall: 

a. Have a minimum temperature of 75°F (24°C);P 

b. Have a concentration as specified under 2VAC5-585-

3380 and as indicated by the manufacturer's use directions 

included in the labeling;P and 

c. Be used only in water with 500 mg/L (ppm) hardness or 

less or in water having a hardness no greater than specified 

by the EPA-registered label use instructions;P 

4. If another solution of a chemical specified under 

subdivisions 1 through 3 of this section is used, the operator 

shall demonstrate to the department that the solution 

achieves sanitization and the use of the solution shall be 

approved;P or 

5. If a chemical sanitizer other than chlorine, iodine, or a 

quaternary ammonium compound is used, it shall be applied 

in accordance with the EPA-registered label use 

instructions;P and 

6. If a chemical sanitizer is generated by a device located on 

site at the food establishment, it shall be used as specified in 

subdivisions 1 through 4 of this section and shall be 

produced by a device that: 
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a. Complies with regulation as specified in §§ 2(q)(1) and 

12 of the Federal Insecticide, Fungicide, and Rodenticide 

Act (7 USC § 136(q)(1) and 7 USC § 136j);P 

b. Complies with 40 CFR 152.500 and 40 CFR 156.10;P 

c. Displays the EPA device manufacturing facility 

registration number on the device;Pf and 

d. Is operated and maintained in accordance with 

manufacturer's instructions.Pf 

2VAC5-585-1780. Equipment food-contact surfaces and 

utensils. 

A. Equipment food-contact surfaces and utensils shall be 

cleaned: 

1. Except as specified in subsection B of this section, before 

each use with a different type of raw animal food such as 

beef, fish, lamb, pork, or poultry;P 

2. Each time there is a change from working with raw foods 

to working with ready-to-eat foods;P 

3. Between uses with raw fruits and vegetables and with 

time/temperature control for safety food;P 

4. Before using or storing a food temperature measuring 

device;P and 

5. At any time during the operation when contamination may 

have occurred.P 

B. Subdivision A 1 of this section does not apply if the food-

contact surface or utensil is in contact with a succession of 

different types of raw meat and poultry each requiring a higher 

cooking temperature as specified under 2VAC5-585-700 than 

the previous type. 

C. Except as specified in subsection D of this section, if used 

with time/temperature control for safety food, equipment food-

contact surfaces and utensils shall be cleaned throughout the 

day at least every four hours.P 

D. Surfaces of utensils and equipment contacting 

time/temperature control for safety food may be cleaned less 

frequently than every four hours if: 

1. In storage, containers of time/temperature control for 

safety food and their contents are maintained at temperatures 

specified under Part III (2VAC5-585-260 et seq.) of this 

chapter and the containers are cleaned when they are empty; 

2. Utensils and equipment are used to prepare food in a 

refrigerated room or area that is maintained at one of the 

temperatures in the following chart and: 

a. The utensils and equipment are cleaned at the frequency in 

the following chart that corresponds to the temperature; and 

Temperature Cleaning Frequency 

41°F (5.0°C) or less 24 hours 

>41°F - 45°F 

(>5.0°C - 7.2°C) 
20 hours 

>45°F - 50°F 

(>7.2°C - 10.0°C) 
16 hours 

>50°F - 55°F 

(>10.0°C - 12.8°C) 
10 hours 

b. The cleaning frequency based on the ambient 

temperature of the refrigerated room or area is 

documented in the food establishment. 

3. Containers in serving situations such as salad bars, delis, 

and cafeteria lines that hold ready-to-eat time/temperature 

control for safety food that is maintained at the temperatures 

specified under Part III, are intermittently combined with 

additional supplies of the same food that is at the required 

temperature, and the containers are cleaned at least every 24 

hours; 

4. Temperature measuring devices are maintained in contact 

with food, such as when left in a container of deli food or in 

a roast, held at temperatures specified under Part III; 

5. Equipment is used for storage of packaged or unpackaged 

food such as a reach-in refrigerator and the equipment is 

cleaned at a frequency necessary to preclude accumulation 

of soil residues; 

6. The cleaning schedule is approved based on consideration 

of: 

a. Characteristics of the equipment and its use; 

b. The type of food involved; 

c. The amount of food residue accumulation; and 

d. The temperature at which the food is maintained during 

the operation and the potential for the rapid and 

progressive multiplication of pathogenic or toxigenic 

microorganisms that are capable of causing foodborne 

disease; or 

7. In-use utensils are intermittently stored in a container of 

water in which the water is maintained at 135°F (57°C) or 

more and the utensils and container are cleaned at least every 

24 hours or at a frequency necessary to preclude 

accumulation of soil residues. 

E. Except when dry cleaning methods are used as specified 

under 2VAC5-585-1810, surfaces of utensils and equipment 

contacting food that is not time/temperature control for safety 

food shall be cleaned: 

1. At any time when contamination may have occurred; 

2. At least every 24 hours for iced tea dispensers and 

consumer self-service utensils such as tongs, scoops, or 

ladles; 
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3. Before restocking consumer self-service equipment and 

utensils such as condiment dispensers and display 

containers; and 

4. In equipment such as ice bins and beverage dispensing 

nozzles and enclosed components of equipment such as ice 

makers, cooking oil storage tanks and distribution lines, 

beverage and syrup dispensing lines or tubes, coffee bean 

grinders, and water vending equipment: 

a. At a frequency specified by the manufacturer; or 

b. Absent manufacturer specifications, at a frequency 

necessary to preclude accumulation of soil or mold. 

2VAC5-585-1900. Hot water and chemical. 

After being cleaned, equipment food-contact surfaces and 

utensils shall be sanitized in: 

1. Hot water manual operations by immersion for at least 30 

seconds as specified under 2VAC5-585-1670;P 

2. Hot water mechanical operations by being cycled through 

equipment that is set up as specified under 2VAC5-585-

1610, 2VAC5-585-1680, and 2VAC5-585-1690 and 

achieving a utensil surface temperature of 160°F (71°C) as 

measured by an irreversible registering temperature 

indicator;P or 

3. Chemical manual or mechanical operations, including the 

application of sanitizing chemicals by immersion, manual 

swabbing, brushing, or pressure spraying methods, using a 

solution as specified under 2VAC5-585-1700. Contact times 

shall be consistent with those on EPA-registered label use 

instructions by providing: 

a. Except as specified under subdivision 3 b of this section, 

a contact time of at least 10 seconds for a chlorine solution 

specified under subdivision 1 of 2VAC5-585-1700;P 

b. A contact time of at least seven seconds for a chlorine 

solution of 50 mg/L (ppm) that has a pH of 10 or less and 

a temperature of at least 100°F (38°C) or a pH of 8.0 or 

less and a temperature of at least 75°F (24°C);P 

c. A contact time of at least 30 seconds for other chemical 

sanitizing solutions;P or 

d. A contact time used in relationship with a combination 

of temperature, concentration, and pH that, when 

evaluated for efficacy, yields sanitization as defined in 

2VAC5-585-40.P 

2VAC5-585-2100. Sampling. 

A. Water from a private well shall be sampled and tested at 

least annually for nitrate and total coliform.Pf 

B. If nitrate, which is reported as "N" on the test results, 

exceeds 10 mg/L (ppm), the operator shall notify the 

department by the end of the day within 24 hours from when 

the operator is notified of the nitrate positive test result. 

Additional sampling may be required.Pf 

C. If a sample is total coliform positive, the positive culture 

medium shall be further analyzed to determine if E. coli is 

present. The operator shall notify the department within two 

calendar days from when the operator is notified of the 

coliform-positive test result. Pf 

D. If E. coli is present, the operator shall notify the 

department by the end of the day within 24 hours from when 

the operator is notified of the E. coli positive test result.Pf  

2VAC5-585-2120. Capacity. 

A. The water source and system shall be of sufficient capacity 

to meet the maximum daily water demands and the peak hourly 

water demands of the food establishment.Pf 

B. Hot water generation and distribution systems shall be 

sufficient to meet the peak hot water demands throughout the 

food establishment.Pf 

2VAC5-585-2190. Handwashing sink, water temperature, 

and flow. 

A. A handwashing sink shall be equipped to provide water at 

a temperature of at least 100°F (38°C) through a mixing valve 

or combination faucet.Pf 

B. A steam mixing valve may not be used at a handwashing 

sink. 

C. A self-closing, slow-closing, or metering faucet shall 

provide a flow of water for at least 15 seconds without the need 

to reactivate the faucet. 

D. If an An automatic handwashing facility is installed, it 

shall be installed in accordance with manufacturer's 

instructions. 

2VAC5-585-2200. Backflow prevention, air gap. 

An air gap between the water supply inlet outlet and the flood 

level rim of the plumbing fixture, equipment, or nonfood 

equipment shall be at least twice the diameter of the water 

supply inlet outlet and may not be less than one inch (25 mm).P 

2VAC5-585-2230. Handwashing sinks, numbers and 

capacities. 

A. Except as specified in subsections subsection B and C of 

this section, at least one handwashing sink, or the number of 

handwashing sinks necessary for their convenient use by 

employees in areas specified under 2VAC5-585-2280, and not 

fewer than the number of handwashing sinks required by law 

shall be provided.Pf 

B. If approved and capable of removing the types of soils 

encountered in the food operations involved, automatic 

handwashing facilities may be substituted for handwashing 

sinks in a food establishment that has at least one handwashing 

sink. 

C. If approved, when food exposure is limited and 

handwashing sinks are not conveniently available, such as in 
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some mobile or temporary food establishments or at some 

vending machine locations, employees may use chemically-

treated towelettes for handwashing. 

2VAC5-585-2270. Backflow prevention device, carbonator. 

A. If not provided with an air gap as specified under 2VAC5-

585-2200, a double dual check valve with an intermediate vent 

preceded by a screen of not less than 100 mesh to one inch (100 

mesh to 25.4mm) shall be installed upstream from a 

carbonating device and downstream from any copper in the 

water supply line.P 

B. A dual check valve attached to the carbonator need not be 

of the vented type if an air gap or vented backflow prevention 

device has been otherwise provided as specified under 

subsection A of this section. 

2VAC5-585-2320. Prohibiting a cross connection. 

A. A person may not create a cross connection by connecting 

a pipe or conduit between the drinking pure water system and 

a nondrinking nonpotable water system or a water system of 

unknown quality.P 

B. The piping of a nondrinking nonpotable water system shall 

be durably identified so that it is readily distinguishable from 

piping that carries drinking pure water. Pf 

2VAC5-585-2520. Backflow prevention. 

A. Except as specified in subsections B, C, and D of this 

section, a direct connection may not exist between the sewage 

system and a drain originating from equipment in which food, 

portable equipment, or utensils are placed.P 

B. Subsection A of this section does not apply to floor drains 

that originate in refrigerated spaces that are constructed as an 

integral part of the building. 

C. If allowed by law, a warewashing machine may have a 

direct connection between its waste outlet and a floor drain 

when the machine is located within five feet (1.5 meters) of a 

trapped floor drain and the machine outlet is connected to the 

inlet side of a properly vented floor drain trap. 

D. If allowed by law, a warewashing or culinary sink may 

have a direct connection. 

2VAC5-585-2570. Approved sewage disposal system. 

Sewage shall be disposed through an approved facility that is: 

1. A public sewage treatment plant;P or 

2. An individual sewage disposal system that is sized, 

constructed, maintained, and operated in accordance with 

the regulations promulgated pursuant to Chapter 6 (§ 32.1-

163 et seq.) of Title 32.1 of the Code of Virginia or in 

accordance with the related local ordinance.P 

2VAC5-585-2750. Cleaning receptacles. 

A. Receptacles and waste handling units for refuse, 

recyclables, and returnables shall be thoroughly cleaned in a 

way that does not contaminate food, equipment, utensils, 

linens, or single-service and single-use articles, and waste 

water shall be disposed of as specified under 2VAC5-585-2550 

2VAC5-585-2540. 

B. Soiled receptacles and waste handling units for refuse, 

recyclables, and returnables shall be cleaned at a frequency 

necessary to prevent them from developing a buildup of soil or 

becoming attractants for insects and rodents. 

2VAC5-585-2790. Indoor areas; surface characteristics. 

A. Except as specified in subsection B of this section, 

materials for indoor floor, wall, and ceiling surfaces under 

conditions of normal use shall be: 

1. Smooth, durable, and easily cleanable for areas where 

food establishment operations are conducted; 

2. Closely woven and easily cleanable carpet for carpeted 

areas; and 

3. Nonabsorbent for areas subject to moisture such as food 

preparation areas, walk-in refrigerators, warewashing areas, 

toilet rooms, mobile food establishment servicing areas, and 

areas subject to flushing or spray cleaning methods. 

B. In a temporary food establishment: 

1. A floor may be concrete, if If graded to drain, a floor may 

be concrete, machine-laid asphalt, or dirt or gravel if it is 

covered with mats, removable platforms, duckboards, or 

other approved materials that are effectively treated to 

control dust and mud; and 

2. Walls and ceilings may be constructed of a material that 

protects the interior from the weather and windblown dust 

and debris. 

2VAC5-585-3390. Chemicals for washing, treating, storing, 

and processing fruits and vegetables, criteria. 

A. Chemicals, including those generated on site, used to wash 

or peel raw, whole fruits and vegetables or used in the 

treatment, storage, and processing of fruits and vegetables shall 

meet the requirements specified in 40 CFR Part 156 and shall:P 

1. Be an approved food additive listed for this intended use 

in 21 CFR Part 173;P 

2. Be generally recognized as safe for this intended use;P or 

3. Be the subject of an effective food contact notification for 

this intended use (only effective for the manufacturer or 

supplier identified in the notification).P 

B. Ozone as an antimicrobial agent used in the treatment, 

storage, and processing of fruits and vegetables in a food 
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establishment shall meet the requirements specified in 21 CFR 

173.368.P 

2VAC5-585-3510. Public health protection. 

A. The department shall apply this chapter to promote its 

underlying purpose, as specified in 2VAC5-585-20, of 

safeguarding public health and ensuring that food is safe, 

unadulterated, and honestly presented when offered to the 

consumer. 

B. In enforcing the provisions of this chapter, the department 

shall assess existing facilities or equipment that were in use 

before the effective date of this chapter based on the following 

considerations: 

1. Whether the facilities or equipment are in good repair and 

capable of being maintained in a sanitary condition; 

2. Whether food-contact surfaces comply with 2VAC5-585-

960 through 2VAC5-585-1060; 

3. Whether the capacities of cooling, heating, and holding 

equipment are sufficient to comply with 2VAC5-585-1450; 

and 

4. The existence of a documented agreement with the 

establishment operator that the facilities or equipment will 

be replaced or upgraded as specified in subdivision 6 of 

2VAC5-585-3660 2VAC5-585-3750. 

2VAC5-585-3520. Preventing health hazards, provision for 

conditions not addressed. 

A. If necessary to protect against public health hazards or 

nuisances, the department may impose specific requirements 

in addition to the requirements contained in this regulation 

chapter that are authorized by law. 

B. The department shall document the conditions that 

necessitate the imposition of additional requirements and the 

underlying public health rationale. The documentation shall be 

provided to the establishment operator or person in charge and 

a copy shall be maintained in the department's file for the food 

establishment. 

2VAC5-585-3540. Variances, modifications and waivers. 

The department may grant a variance by modifying or 

waiving the requirements of this regulation chapter if, in the 

opinion of the department, a health hazard or nuisance will not 

result from the variance. If a variance is granted, the 

department shall retain the information specified under 

2VAC5-585-3541 in its records for the food establishment. 

2VAC5-585-3541. Documentation of proposed variance 

and justification. 

Before a variance from a requirement of this chapter is 

approved, the information that shall be provided by the person 

requesting the variance and retained by the food establishment 

and in the department's file on the food establishment includes: 

1. A statement of the proposed variance of the regulation 

chapter requirement citing relevant regulation chapter 

section numbers;Pf 

2. An analysis of the rationale for how the potential public 

health hazards and nuisances addressed by the relevant 

regulation chapter sections will be alternatively addressed by 

the proposal;Pf and 

3. A HACCP plan if required as specified under 2VAC5-

585-3620 A that includes the information specified under 

2VAC5-585-3630 as it is relevant to the variance 

requested.Pf 

2VAC5-585-3542. Conformance with approved 

procedures. 

If the department grants a variance as specified in 2VAC5-

585-3540, or a HACCP plan is otherwise required as specified 

under 2VAC5-585-3620, the operator shall: 

1. Maintain the approved variance at the food 

establishment;Pf 

2. Comply with the HACCP plans and procedures that are 

submitted as specified under 2VAC5-585-3630 and 

approved as a basis for the modification or waiver;P and 

2. 3. Maintain and provide to the department, upon request, 

records specified under subdivisions 4 5 and 5 6 c of 

2VAC5-585-3630 that demonstrate that the following are 

routinely employed: 

a. Procedures for monitoring critical control points;Pf 

b. Monitoring of the critical control points;Pf 

c. Verification of the effectiveness of an the operation or 

process;Pf and 

d. Necessary corrective actions if there is failure at a 

critical control point.Pf 

2VAC5-585-3630. Contents of a HACCP plan. 

For a food establishment that is required under 2VAC5-585-

3620 to have a HACCP plan, the operator shall submit to the 

department a properly prepared HACCP plan that includes: 

1. General information such as the name of the operator, the 

food establishment address, and contact information; 

2. A categorization of the types of time/temperature control 

for safety foods that are to be controlled under the HACCP 

plan;Pf 

3. A flow diagram or chart for each specific food or category 

type that identifies: 

a. Each step in the process;Pf and 

b. The hazards and controls for each step in the flow 

diagram or chart;Pf 

c. The steps that are critical control points;Pf 
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d. The ingredients, materials, and equipment used in the 

preparation of that food;Pf and 

e. 4. The ingredients, recipes, or formulations; or recipe that 

delineates materials and equipment used in the preparation 

of each specific food or category type; and methods and 

procedural control measures that address the food safety 

concerns involved;Pf 

4. 5. A critical control points summary for each specific food 

category type that clearly identifies: 

a. Each critical control point;Pf 

b. The significant hazards for each critical control point;Pf 

c. The critical limits for each critical control point;Pf 

c. d. The method and frequency for monitoring and 

controlling each critical control point by the designated 

food employee or the person in charge;Pf 

d. The method and frequency for the person in charge to 

routinely verify that the food employee is following 

standard operating procedures and monitoring critical 

control points;Pf 

e. Action to be taken by the designated food employee or 

person in charge if the critical limits for each critical 

control point are not met;Pf and 

f. The method and frequency for the person in charge to 

routinely verify that the food employee is following 

standard operating procedures and monitoring critical 

control points;Pf and 

g. Records to be maintained by the person in charge to 

demonstrate that the HACCP plan is properly operated and 

managed;Pf 

5. 6. Supporting documents such as: 

a. Food employee and supervisory training plan and 

operating procedures that addresses address the food 

safety issues of concern;Pf 

b. Copies of blank record forms that are necessary to 

implement the HACCP plan;Pf 

c. Additional scientific data or other information, as 

required by the department, supporting the determination 

that food safety is not compromised by the proposal;Pf and 

6. 7. Any other information required by the department. 

Article 3 

(Reserved) Conditions to Operate 

2VAC5-585-3655. Responsibilities of the department. 

(Repealed.) 

A. At the time of the initial inspection, the department shall 

provide to the operator a copy of this chapter so that the 

operator is notified of the compliance requirements and the 

conditions of retention, as specified under 2VAC5-585-3660, 

that are applicable to the food establishment. 

B. Failure to provide the information specified in subsection 

A of this section does not prevent the department from taking 

authorized action or seeking remedies if the operator fails to 

comply with this chapter or an order, warning, or directive of 

the department. 

2VAC5-585-3660. Responsibilities of the operator. 

(Repealed.) 

The operator shall: 

1. Comply with the provisions of this chapter including the 

conditions of a granted variance as specified under 2VAC5-

585-3542 and approved plans as specified under 2VAC5-

585-3610;  

2. If a food establishment is required under 2VAC5-585-

3620 to operate under a HACCP plan, comply with the plan 

as specified under 2VAC5-585-3542;  

3. Immediately contact the department to report an illness of 

a food employee or conditional employee as specified under 

2VAC5-585-80 B;  

4. Immediately discontinue operations and notify the 

department if an imminent health hazard may exist as 

specified under 2VAC5-585-3910;  

5. Allow authorized representatives of the commissioner 

access to the food establishment as specified under 2VAC5-

585-3820;  

6. Replace existing facilities and equipment specified in 

2VAC5-585-3510 with facilities and equipment that comply 

with this chapter if:  

a. The department directs the replacement because the 

facilities and equipment constitute a public health hazard 

or nuisance or no longer comply with the criteria upon 

which the facilities and equipment were accepted;  

b. The department directs the replacement of the facilities 

and equipment because of a change of ownership; or  

c. The facilities and equipment are replaced in the normal 

course of operation;  

7. Comply with directives of the department including 

timeframes for corrective actions specified in inspection 

reports, notices, orders, warnings, and other directives issued 

by the department in regard to the operator's food 

establishment or in response to community emergencies;  

8. Accept notices issued and served by the department 

according to law;  

9. Be subject to the administrative, civil, injunctive, and 

criminal remedies authorized in law for failure to comply 

with this chapter or a directive of the department, including 

timeframes for corrective actions specified in inspection 

reports, notices, orders, warnings, and other directives; and  
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10. Notify customers that a copy of the most recent 

establishment inspection report is available upon request by 

posting a sign or placard in a location in the food 

establishment that is conspicuous to customers or by another 

method acceptable to the department. 

2VAC5-585-3740. Responsibilities of the department.  

A. At the time of the initial inspection, the department shall 

provide to the operator a copy of this chapter so that the 

operator is notified of the compliance requirements and the 

conditions of retention, as specified under 2VAC5-585-3750, 

that are applicable to the food establishment. 

B. Failure to provide the information specified in subsection 

A of this section does not prevent the department from taking 

authorized action or seeking remedies if the operator fails to 

comply with this chapter or an order, warning, or directive of 

the department.  

2VAC5-585-3750. Responsibilities of the operator.  

The operator shall: 

1. Comply with the provisions of this chapter including the 

conditions of a granted variance as specified under 2VAC5-

585-3542 and approved plans as specified under 2VAC5-

585-3610;  

2. If a food establishment is required under 2VAC5-585-

3620 to operate under a HACCP plan, comply with the plan 

as specified under 2VAC5-585-3542;  

3. Immediately contact the department to report an illness of 

a food employee or conditional employee as specified under 

2VAC5-585-80 B;  

4. Immediately discontinue operations and notify the 

department if an imminent health hazard may exist as 

specified under 2VAC5-585-3910;  

5. Allow authorized representatives of the commissioner 

access to the food establishment as specified under 2VAC5-

585-3820;  

6. Replace existing facilities and equipment specified in 

2VAC5-585-3510 with facilities and equipment that comply 

with this chapter if:  

a. The department directs the replacement because the 

facilities and equipment constitute a public health hazard 

or nuisance or no longer comply with the criteria upon 

which the facilities and equipment were accepted;  

b. The department directs the replacement of the facilities 

and equipment because of a change of ownership; or  

c. The facilities and equipment are replaced in the normal 

course of operation;  

7. Comply with directives of the department, including 

timeframes for corrective actions specified in inspection 

reports, notices, orders, warnings, and other directives issued 

by the department in regard to the operator's food 

establishment or in response to community emergencies;  

8. Accept notices issued and served by the department 

according to law;  

9. Be subject to the administrative, civil, injunctive, and 

criminal remedies authorized in law for failure to comply 

with this chapter or a directive of the department, including 

timeframes for corrective actions specified in inspection 

reports, notices, orders, warnings, and other directives; and  

10. Notify customers that a copy of the most recent 

establishment inspection report is available upon request by 

posting a sign or placard in a location in the food 

establishment that is conspicuous to customers or by another 

method acceptable to the department. 

2VAC5-585-3800. Frequency, establishing inspection 

interval. 

A. Except as specified in subsections B and C of this section, 

the department shall inspect a food establishment at least once 

every six months. 

B. The department may increase the interval between 

inspections beyond six months if: 

1. The food establishment is fully operating under an 

approved and validated HACCP plan as specified under 

subdivisions 1 2 and 2 3 of 2VAC5-585-3542 and 2VAC5-

585-3630.; 

2. The food establishment is assigned a less frequent 

inspection frequency based on a written risk-based 

inspection schedule that is being uniformly applied 

throughout the jurisdiction.; or 

3. The establishment's operation involves only coffee service 

and other unpackaged or prepackaged food that is not 

time/temperature control for safety food such as carbonated 

beverages and snack food such as chips, nuts, popcorn, and 

pretzels. 

C. The department shall periodically inspect a temporary food 

establishment that prepares, sells, or serves unpackaged 

time/temperature control for safety food and that: 

1. Has improvised rather than permanent facilities or 

equipment for accomplishing functions such as 

handwashing, food preparation and protection, food 

temperature control, warewashing, providing drinking 

water, waste retention and disposal, and insect and rodent 

control; or 

2. Has inexperienced food employees. 

2VAC5-585-3815. Competency of inspectors. 

A. An authorized representative of the commissioner who 

inspects a food establishment or conducts plan review for 

compliance with this regulation chapter shall have the 
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knowledge, skills, and ability to adequately perform the 

required duties. 

B. The department shall ensure that authorized 

representatives who inspect a food establishment or conduct 

plan review for compliance with this chapter have access to 

training and continuing education as needed to properly 

identify violations and apply the chapter. 

2VAC5-585-3820. Access allowed at reasonable times. 

After the authorized representative of the commissioner 

presents official credentials and provides notice of the purpose 

of, and an intent to conduct, an inspection, the person in charge 

shall allow the authorized representative to determine if the 

food establishment is in compliance with this chapter by 

allowing access to the establishment, allowing inspection, and 

providing information and records specified in this chapter and 

to which the department is entitled according to law, during the 

food establishment's hours of operation and other reasonable 

times. 

2VAC5-585-3860. Documenting information and 

observations. 

The authorized representative of the commissioner shall 

document on an inspection report form: 

1. Administrative information about the food establishment's 

legal identity, street and mailing addresses, type of 

establishment and operation, inspection date, and other 

information such as type of water supply and sewage 

disposal, and personnel certificates that may be required; and 

2. Specific factual observations of violative conditions or 

other deviations from this chapter that require correction by 

the establishment operator including: 

a. Failure of the person in charge to demonstrate the 

knowledge of foodborne illness prevention, application of 

HACCP principles, and the requirements of this chapter 

specified under 2VAC5-585-60; 

b. Failure of food employees, conditional employees, and 

the person in charge to report a disease or medical 

condition as specified under 2VAC5-585-80 B and D; 

c. Nonconformance with priority items and priority 

foundation items of this chapter; 

d. Failure of the appropriate food employees to 

demonstrate their knowledge of, and ability to perform in 

accordance with, the procedural, monitoring, verification, 

and corrective action practices required by the department 

as specified under 2VAC5-585-3542; 

e. Failure of the person in charge to provide records 

required by the department for determining conformance 

with a HACCP plan as specified under subdivision 4 f 5 g 

of 2VAC5-585-3630; and 

f. Nonconformance with critical limits of a HACCP plan. 

2VAC5-585-3910. Imminent health hazard, ceasing 

operations and reporting. 

A. Except as specified in subsection subsections B and C of 

this section, an operator shall immediately discontinue 

operations and notify the department if an imminent health 

hazard may exist because of an emergency such as a fire, flood, 

extended interruption of electrical or water service, sewage 

backup, misuse of poisonous or toxic materials, onset of an 

apparent foodborne illness outbreak, gross insanitary 

occurrence or condition, or other circumstance that may 

endanger public health.P 

B. An operator need not discontinue operations in an area of 

an establishment that is unaffected by the imminent health 

hazard. 

C. Considering the nature of the potential hazard involved and 

the complexity of the corrective action needed, the department 

may agree to continuing operations in the event of an extended 

interruption of electrical or water service if:  

1. A written emergency operating plan has been approved by 

the department; 

2. Immediate corrective action is taken to eliminate, prevent, 

or control any food safety risk and imminent health hazard 

associated with the electrical or water service interruption; 

and 

3. The department is informed upon implementation of the 

written emergency operating plan. 

2VAC5-585-3940. Verification and documentation of 

correction. 

A. After observing at the time of inspection a correction of a 

violation of a priority item or priority foundation item or a 

HACCP plan deviation, the authorized representative of the 

commissioner shall enter the violation and information about 

the corrective action on the inspection report. 

B. As specified under 2VAC5-585-3930 B, after receiving 

notification that the operator has corrected a violation of a 

priority item or priority foundation item or HACCP plan 

deviation, or at the end of the specified period of time, the 

authorized representative shall verify correction of the 

violation or deviation during the next scheduled inspection of 

the establishment and shall document the information on an 

inspection report, and enter the report in the department's 

records. 

NOTICE: The following forms used in administering the 

regulation have been filed by the agency. Amended or added 

forms are reflected in the listing and are published following 

the listing. Online users of this issue of the Virginia Register 

of Regulations may also click on the name to access a form. 

The forms are also available from the agency contact or may 

be viewed at the Office of Registrar of Regulations, 900 East 

Main Street, 11th Floor, Richmond, Virginia 23219. 



Regulations 

Volume 37, Issue 19 Virginia Register of Regulations  May 10, 2021  

2831 

FORMS (2VAC5-585) 

Retail Inspection Report, ODF-FSP-10001 (rev. 7/2016) 

Foodborne Illness Complaint Report, ODF-FSP-10003 (rev. 

6/2016) 

Complaint Form, ODF-FSP-10004 (rev. 6/2016) 

Retail Inspection Report, ODF-FSP-10001 (rev. 7/2018) 

DOCUMENTS INCORPORATED BY REFERENCE 

(2VAC5-585) 

Approved Drug Products with Therapeutic Equivalence 

Evaluations, 34th Edition, 2014, U.S. Department of Health 

and Human Services, Food and Drug Administration, Center 

for Drug Evaluation and Research, Office of Pharmaceutical 

Science, Office of Generic Drugs at 

http://www.fda.gov/cder/ob/default.htm 

Grade "A" Pasteurized Milk Ordinance, 2013 Revision, U.S. 

Department of Health and Human Services, Public Health 

Service, Food and Drug Administration, Milk Safety Branch 

(HFS-626), 5100 Paint Branch Parkway, College Park, MD 

20740-3835 

Approved Drug Products with Therapeutic Equivalence 

Evaluations, 39th Edition, 2019, U.S. Department of Health 

and Human Services, Food and Drug Administration, Center 

for Drug Evaluation and Research, Office of Pharmaceutical 

Science, Office of Generic Drugs at 

http://www.fda.gov/cder/ob/default.htm 

Conference for Food Protection Standards for Accreditation 

of Food Protection Manager Certification Programs, April 

2018, Conference for Food Protection, 30 Elliott Court, 

Martinsville, IN 46151-1331 

Grade "A" Pasteurized Milk Ordinance, 2017 Revision, U.S. 

Department of Health and Human Services, Public Health 

Service, Food and Drug Administration, Milk Safety Branch 

(HFS-626), 5100 Paint Branch Parkway, College Park, MD 

20740-3835 

Interstate Certified Shellfish Shippers List (updated 

monthly), published by the U.S. Department of Health and 

Human Services, Public Health Service, Food and Drug 

Administration, Office of Seafood (HFS-417), 5100 Paint 

Branch Parkway, College Park, MD 20740-3835 

National Shellfish Sanitation Program (NSSP) Guide for the 

Control of Molluscan Shellfish, 2013 Revision, U.S. 

Department of Health and Human Services, Public Health 

Service, Food and Drug Administration, Office of Seafood 

(HFS-417), 5100 Paint Branch Parkway, College Park, MD 

20740-3835 

NSF/ANSI 18-2012 Manual Food and Beverage Dispensing 

Equipment, 2012, NSF International, 789 North Dixboro 

Road, P.O. Box 130140, Ann Arbor, MI 48113-0140, 

www.nsf.org 

Standards for Accreditation of Food Protection Manager 

Certification Programs, April 2012, Conference for Food 

Protection, 30 Elliott Court, Martinsville, IN 46151-1331 

National Shellfish Sanitation Program (NSSP) Guide for the 

Control of Molluscan Shellfish, 2017 Revision, U.S. 

Department of Health and Human Services, Public Health 

Service, Food and Drug Administration, Office of Seafood 

(HFS-417), 5100 Paint Branch Parkway, College Park, MD 

20740-3835 

NSF/ANSI 18-2016 Manual Food and Beverage Dispensing 

Equipment, 2012, NSF International, 789 North Dixboro 

Road, P.O. Box 130140, Ann Arbor, MI 48113-0140, 

www.nsf.org 

United States Standards, Grades, and Weight Classes for 

Shell Eggs, AMS-56, effective July 20, 2000, U.S. Department 

of Agriculture, Agricultural Marketing Service, Poultry 

Programs, STOP 0259, Room 3944-South, 1400 Independence 

Avenue, SW, Washington, DC 20250-0259 

VA.R. Doc. No. R21-5895; Filed April 12, 2021, 1:32 p.m. 

  ––––––––––––––––––  

TITLE 4. CONSERVATION AND NATURAL 
RESOURCES 

MARINE RESOURCES COMMISSION 

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Marine Resources Commission 

is claiming an exemption from the Administrative Process Act 

in accordance with § 2.2-4006 A 11 of the Code of Virginia; 

however, the commission is required to publish the full text of 

final regulations. 

Title of Regulation: 4VAC20-252. Pertaining to the Taking 

of Striped Bass (amending 4VAC20-252-20, 4VAC20-252-

50, 4VAC20-252-130, 4VAC20-252-135). 

Statutory Authority: § 28.2-201 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: May 1, 2021. 

Agency Contact: Jennifer Farmer, Marine Resources 

Commission, 380 Fenwick Road, Fort Monroe, VA 23551, 

telephone (757) 247-2248, or email 

jennifer.farmer@mrc.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendments establish a definition of bait as it pertains 

to the use of non-offset, non-stainless steel circle hooks 

when fishing recreationally and clarify existing language 

relevant to reporting and commercial fisheries. 

https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/2VAC5/forms/Retail%20Inspection%20Report%202018-20210419160833.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/2VAC5/dibr/Approved%20Drug%20Products%20with%20Therapeutic%20Equivalence%20Evaluations%202019-20210419161258.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/2VAC5/dibr/Approved%20Drug%20Products%20with%20Therapeutic%20Equivalence%20Evaluations%202019-20210419161258.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/2VAC5/dibr/Approved%20Drug%20Products%20with%20Therapeutic%20Equivalence%20Evaluations%202019-20210419161258.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/2VAC5/dibr/Approved%20Drug%20Products%20with%20Therapeutic%20Equivalence%20Evaluations%202019-20210419161258.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/2VAC5/dibr/Approved%20Drug%20Products%20with%20Therapeutic%20Equivalence%20Evaluations%202019-20210419161258.pdf
http://www.fda.gov/cder/ob/default.htm
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/2VAC5/dibr/CFP%20Standards%20for%20Accrediation%20of%20Food%20Protection%20Manager%20Certification%20Programs%202018-20210419161358.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/2VAC5/dibr/CFP%20Standards%20for%20Accrediation%20of%20Food%20Protection%20Manager%20Certification%20Programs%202018-20210419161358.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/2VAC5/dibr/CFP%20Standards%20for%20Accrediation%20of%20Food%20Protection%20Manager%20Certification%20Programs%202018-20210419161358.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/2VAC5/dibr/CFP%20Standards%20for%20Accrediation%20of%20Food%20Protection%20Manager%20Certification%20Programs%202018-20210419161358.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/2VAC5/dibr/Grade%20A%20Pasteurized%20Milk%20Ordinance%202017-20210419161427.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/2VAC5/dibr/Grade%20A%20Pasteurized%20Milk%20Ordinance%202017-20210419161427.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/2VAC5/dibr/Grade%20A%20Pasteurized%20Milk%20Ordinance%202017-20210419161427.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/2VAC5/dibr/Grade%20A%20Pasteurized%20Milk%20Ordinance%202017-20210419161427.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/2VAC5/dibr/Grade%20A%20Pasteurized%20Milk%20Ordinance%202017-20210419161427.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/2VAC5/dibr/NSSP%20Guide%20for%20the%20Control%20of%20Molluscan%20Shellfish%202017-20210419161623.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/2VAC5/dibr/NSSP%20Guide%20for%20the%20Control%20of%20Molluscan%20Shellfish%202017-20210419161623.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/2VAC5/dibr/NSSP%20Guide%20for%20the%20Control%20of%20Molluscan%20Shellfish%202017-20210419161623.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/2VAC5/dibr/NSSP%20Guide%20for%20the%20Control%20of%20Molluscan%20Shellfish%202017-20210419161623.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/2VAC5/dibr/NSSP%20Guide%20for%20the%20Control%20of%20Molluscan%20Shellfish%202017-20210419161623.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/2VAC5/dibr/NSSP%20Guide%20for%20the%20Control%20of%20Molluscan%20Shellfish%202017-20210419161623.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/2VAC5/dibr/United%20States%20Standards%20Grades%20and%20Weight%20Classes%20for%20Shell%20Eggs%202000-20210419161817.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/2VAC5/dibr/United%20States%20Standards%20Grades%20and%20Weight%20Classes%20for%20Shell%20Eggs%202000-20210419161817.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/2VAC5/dibr/United%20States%20Standards%20Grades%20and%20Weight%20Classes%20for%20Shell%20Eggs%202000-20210419161817.pdf
http://www.nsf.org/
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=dd140004032~5&typ=40&actno=004032&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=dd140004032~5&typ=40&actno=004032&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=dd140004032~5&typ=40&actno=004032&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=dd140004032~5&typ=40&actno=004032&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=dd140004032~5&typ=40&actno=004032&mime=application/pdf
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4VAC20-252-20. Definitions. 

The following words and terms when used in this chapter 

shall have the following meanings unless the context clearly 

indicates otherwise: 

"Bait" means any whole or part of any marine or aquatic 

organism, live or dead. 

"Chesapeake Bay area" means the commercial fishing area 

that includes the Chesapeake Bay and its tributaries and the 

Potomac River tributaries. 

"Chesapeake Bay and its tributaries" means all tidal waters of 

the Chesapeake Bay and its tributaries within Virginia, 

westward of the shoreward boundary of the Territorial Sea, 

excluding the coastal area and the Potomac River tributaries as 

defined in this section. 

"Circle hook" means a non-offset, non-stainless steel hook 

with the point turned sharply and straight back toward the 

shank. 

"Coastal area" means the area that includes Virginia's portion 

of the Territorial Sea, plus all of the creeks, bays, inlets, and 

tributaries on the seaside of Accomack County, Northampton 

County (including areas east of the causeway from Fisherman 

Island to the mainland), and the City of Virginia Beach 

(including federal areas and state parks, fronting on the 

Atlantic Ocean and east and south of the point where the 

shoreward boundary of the Territorial Sea joins the mainland 

at Cape Henry). 

"Commercial fishing," "fishing commercially," or 

"commercial fishery" means fishing by any person where the 

catch is or is intended for sale, barter, trade, or any commercial 

purpose. 

"Great Wicomico-Tangier Striped Bass Management Area" 

means the area that includes the Great Wicomico River and 

those Virginia waters bounded by a line beginning at Dameron 

Marsh at NAD 83 North Latitude 37-46.9535, West Longitude 

76-17.1294; extending to the southernmost point of Tangier 

Island, and north to a point on the Virginia-Maryland state 

boundary at NAD 83 North Latitude 37-57.0407, West 

Longitude 75-58.5043, and then westerly along the Virginia-

Maryland state boundary to Smith Point. 

"Potomac River tributaries" means all the tributaries of the 

Potomac River that are within Virginia's jurisdiction beginning 

with, and including, Flag Pond extending upstream to the 

District of Columbia boundary. 

"Recreational fishing," "fishing recreationally," or 

"recreational fishery" means fishing by any person, whether 

licensed or exempted from licensing, where the catch is not or 

is not intended for sale, barter, trade, or any commercial 

purpose. 

"Recreational vessel" means any vessel, kayak, charter 

vessel, or headboat participating in the recreational striped bass 

fishery. 

"Share" means a percentage of the striped bass commercial 

harvest quota. 

"Snout" means the most forward projection from a fish's head 

that includes the upper and lower jaw. 

"Spawning reaches" means sections within the spawning 

rivers as follows: 

1. James River from a line connecting Dancing Point and 

New Sunken Meadow Creek upstream to a line connecting 

City Point and Packs Point. 

2. Pamunkey River from the Route 33 Bridge at West Point 

upstream to a line connecting Liberty Hall and the opposite 

shore. 

3. Mattaponi River from the Route 33 Bridge at West Point 

upstream to the Route 360 bridge at Aylett. 

4. Rappahannock River from the Route 360 Bridge at 

Tappahannock upstream to the Route 1 Falmouth Bridge. 

"Spear" or "spearing" means to fish while the person is fully 

submerged under the water's surface with a mechanically aided 

device designed to accelerate a barbed spear. 

"Striped bass" means any fish or any hybrid of the species 

Morone saxatilis. 

"Total length" means the length of a fish measured from the 

most forward projection of the snout, with the mouth closed, to 

the tip of the longer lobe of the tail (caudal) fin, measured with 

the tail compressed along the midline, using a straight-line 

measure, not measured over the curve of the body. 

4VAC20-252-50. Concerning recreational fishing: general. 

A. It shall be unlawful for any person fishing recreationally 

to take, catch, or attempt to take or catch any striped bass by 

any gear or method other than hook-and-line, rod and reel, 

hand line, or spearing. 

B. Any person fishing recreationally shall use non-offset, 

corrodible, non-stainless steel circle hooks when fishing with 

bait, live or chunk. 

C. When fishing from a boat or vessel where the entire catch 

is held in a common hold or container, the possession limit 

shall be for the boat or vessel and shall be equal to the number 

of persons on board legally eligible to fish multiplied by the 

applicable personal possession limit. The captain or operator 

of the boat or vessel shall be responsible for any boat or vessel 

possession limit. 

D. When fishing from a boat or vessel where the entire catch 

is held in a common hold or container, the captain or operator 

of the boat or vessel shall be responsible for any minimum or 

maximum size limits. 
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E. It shall be unlawful to combine possession limits when 

there is more than one area or season open at the same time. 

F. It shall be unlawful for any person while actively fishing 

pursuant to a recreational fishery to possess any striped bass 

that are smaller than the minimum size limit or larger than the 

maximum size limit for the area and season then open and 

being fished. 

G. It shall be unlawful for any person fishing recreationally 

to transfer any striped bass to another person, while on the 

water or while fishing from a pier or shore. 

4VAC20-252-130. Entry limits, permits, and reports. 

A. There is established a special permit for engaging in either 

the Chesapeake Bay area commercial fishery for striped bass 

or the coastal area commercial fishery for striped bass. It shall 

be unlawful for any person to engage in either commercial 

fishery for striped bass without first having obtained the permit 

from the commission and meeting the following conditions: 

1. The person shall be a licensed registered commercial 

fisherman. 

2. The person shall have reported all prior fishing activity in 

accordance with 4VAC20-610 and shall not be under any 

sanction by the Marine Resources Commission for 

noncompliance with the regulation. 

B. Permits for the commercial harvest of striped bass in the 

Chesapeake Bay area or coastal area shall be issued to any 

registered commercial fishermen holding striped bass quota 

shares issued under the provisions of 4VAC20-252-150 and 

4VAC20-252-160. 

C. Permits shall be in the possession of the permittee while 

catching, harvesting, selling, or possessing striped bass. 

Failure to have the appropriate permit in possession shall be a 

violation of this chapter. 

D. It shall be unlawful for any person, business, or 

corporation, except for licensed restaurants, to purchase from 

the harvester any quantity of striped bass greater than 10 

pounds in total weight taken from Virginia's tidal waters for 

the purpose of resale without first obtaining a striped bass 

buyer's permit from the commission, except as described in 

subsection E of this section. Such permit shall be completed in 

full by the permittee and kept in possession of the permittee 

while selling or possessing striped bass. Failure to have the 

appropriate permit in possession shall be a violation of this 

chapter. 

E. Restaurants shall not be required to obtain a striped bass 

buyer's permit from the commission but shall be required to 

certify and maintain a record of any striped bass purchased 

from any harvester for a period of not less than one year. 

F. All permitted commercial harvesters of striped bass shall 

report to the commission in accordance with 4VAC20-610. In 

addition to the reporting requirements of 4VAC20-610, all 

permitted commercial harvesters of striped bass shall record 

and report daily striped bass harvest by specifying the number 

of tags used on striped bass harvested for each day in either the 

Chesapeake Bay area or coastal area and reporting the daily 

total whole weight of striped bass harvested in either the 

Chesapeake Bay area or coastal area. Daily striped bass tag use 

on harvested striped bass and daily total whole weight of 

harvested striped bass from either the Chesapeake Bay area or 

coastal area, within any month, shall be recorded on forms 

provided by the commission and shall accompany the monthly 

catch report submitted no later than the fifth day of the 

following month. 

G. Any permitted commercial harvester of striped bass who 

self markets his striped bass to a restaurant, person, or out-of-

state market shall be required to prepare a receipt describing 

each sale greater than 10 pounds in total weight. Each receipt 

shall be a record and report of the date of transaction, name and 

signature of buyer, address and phone number of buyer, 

number and total weight of striped bass sold, and name and 

signature of harvester. Copies of each receipt shall be 

forwarded submitted to the commission in accordance with 

4VAC20-610 no later than the fifth day of the following 

month. 

H. Any buyer permitted to purchase striped bass harvested 

from Virginia tidal waters shall provide written reports to the 

commission of daily purchases and harvest information on 

forms provided by the Marine Resources Commission. Such 

information shall include the date of the purchase, buyer's 

name, and harvester's Commercial Fisherman Registration 

License number. In addition, for each different purchase of 

striped bass harvested from Virginia waters, the buyer shall 

record the weight of whole fish and number and type of tags 

(Chesapeake Bay area or coastal area) that applies to that 

harvest. These reports shall be completed in full and submitted 

monthly to the Marine Resources Commission no later than the 

fifth day of the following month. 

I. Failure of any person permitted to harvest, buy, or sell 

striped bass, to submit the required written report for any 

fishing day shall constitute a violation of this chapter. 

4VAC20-252-135. Gill net mesh size and tending 

restrictions: exemptions. 

A. Any registered commercial fisherman who is permitted to 

harvest harvesting striped bass from the coastal area in 

accordance with 4VAC20-252-130 A and C and sets or fishes 

any gill net in the coastal area shall be prohibited from using a 

gill net mesh size greater than nine inches in stretched mesh. 

B. Any registered commercial fisherman who is permitted to 

harvest harvesting striped bass from the coastal area in 

accordance with 4VAC20-252-130 A and C and sets or fishes 

any gill net in the coastal area shall be exempt from the 

maximum gill net mesh size requirements during November 

and December as described in 4VAC20-430-65 A and B. 
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C. Any registered commercial fisherman who is permitted to 

harvest harvesting striped bass from the coastal area in 

accordance with 4VAC20-252-130 A and C and sets or fishes 

any gill net seven inches or greater in stretched mesh in the 

coastal area shall be exempt from the tending requirements 

described in 4VAC20-430-65 E and F during the months of 

November and December. 

D. Any registered commercial fisherman who is permitted to 

harvest harvesting striped bass from the coastal area in 

accordance with 4VAC20-252-130 A and C shall display an 

optic yellow flag issued by the commission while fishing for 

striped bass in the coastal area and while transiting the coastal 

area before and after a striped bass fishing trip. This flag shall 

be prominently displayed on the starboard side of the vessel. 

E. Any registered commercial fisherman who is permitted to 

harvest harvesting striped bass from the Chesapeake Bay area 

in accordance with 4VAC20-252-130 A and C and sets or 

fishes any gill net in the Chesapeake Bay area shall be 

prohibited from using a gill net greater than seven inches in 

stretched mesh with the exception of restricted areas as defined 

in 4VAC20-751-20. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R21-6770; Filed April 28, 2021, 11:08 a.m. 

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Marine Resources Commission 

is claiming an exemption from the Administrative Process Act 

in accordance with § 2.2-4006 A 11 of the Code of Virginia; 

however, the commission is required to publish the full text of 

final regulations. 

Title of Regulation: 4VAC20-950. Pertaining to Black Sea 

Bass (amending 4VAC20-950-45). 

Statutory Authority: § 28.2-201 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: May 1, 2021. 

Agency Contact: Jennifer Farmer, Marine Resources 

Commission, 380 Fenwick Road, Fort Monroe, VA 23551, 

telephone (757) 247-2248, or email 

jennifer.farmer@mrc.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendment extends the 2021 recreational black sea 

bass fishing season from May 15 through May 31 and June 

16 through December 31, 2021. 

4VAC20-950-45. Recreational possession limits and 

seasons. 

A. It shall be unlawful for any person fishing with hook-and-

line, rod and reel, spear, gig, or other recreational gear to 

possess more than 15 black sea bass. When fishing from a 

recreational vessel where the entire catch is held in a common 

hold or container, the possession limit shall be for that vessel 

and shall be equal to the number of persons on board legally 

licensed to fish, multiplied by 15. The captain or operator of 

the vessel shall be responsible for that vessel possession limit. 

Any black sea bass taken after the possession limit has been 

reached shall be returned to the water immediately. 

B. Possession of any quantity of black sea bass that exceeds 

the possession limit described in subsection A of this section 

shall be presumed to be for commercial purposes. 

C. The open recreational fishing season shall be from 

February 1 through the last day of February, May 15 through 

May 31, and June 22 16 through December 31. 

D. It shall be unlawful for any person fishing recreationally 

to take, catch, or possess any black sea bass, except during an 

open recreational season. 

E. From February 1 through the last day of February, it shall 

be unlawful for any person to possess or land any black sea 

bass harvested from a recreational vessel, unless the captain or 

operator of that recreational vessel has obtained a Recreational 

Black Sea Bass Permit from the Marine Resources 

Commission. 

1. The captain or operator shall be responsible for reporting 

for all anglers on the recreational vessel and shall provide 

that captain's or that operator's Marine Resources 

Commission identification (MRC ID) number, the date of 

fishing, the number of persons on board, the mode of fishing, 

and the number of black sea bass kept or released. That 

report shall be submitted to the Marine Resources 

Commission (commission) on forms provided by the 

commission or through the Virginia Saltwater Fisherman's 

Journal. 

a. It shall be unlawful for any permittee to fail to report 

each trip where black sea bass were targeted, whether 

black sea bass were harvested, released, or not caught, by 

March 15 of the current calendar year. 

b. It shall be unlawful for any permittee who did not take 

any fishing trips to target black sea bass in the February 

recreational black sea bass season to fail to report lack of 

participation by March 15 of the current calendar year. 

2. It shall be unlawful for any permittee to fail to contact the 

Law Enforcement Operations at 1-800-541-4646 before or 

immediately after the start of each fishing trip. The permittee 

shall provide the Law Enforcement Operations with the 

permittee's name, MRC ID number, the point of landing, a 

description of the vessel, estimated return to shore time, and 

a contact phone number. 

3. Any permittee shall allow the commission to sample the 

vessel's catch to obtain biological information for scientific 

and management purposes. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R21-6769; Filed April 28, 2021, 11:08 a.m. 

  ––––––––––––––––––  
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TITLE 12. HEALTH 

STATE BOARD OF HEALTH 

Proposed Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 12VAC5-71. Regulations Governing 

Virginia Newborn Screening Services (amending 12VAC5-

71-30). 

Statutory Authority: §§ 32.1-12 and 32.1-67 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: No public hearing is currently 

scheduled. 

Public Comment Deadline: July 9, 2021. 

Agency Contact: Joseph Hilbert, Deputy Commissioner, 

Government and Regulatory Affairs, Virginia Department of 

Health, 109 Governor Street, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone 

(804) 864-7001, FAX (804) 864-7022, email 

joe.hilbert@vdh.virginia.gov. 

Basis: The State Board of Health is authorized to make, adopt, 

promulgate, and enforce regulations by § 32.1-12 of the Code 

of Virginia. Section 32.1-65 of the Code of Virginia requires 

newborn screening to be conducted on every infant born in the 

Commonwealth of Virginia. Section 32.1-67 of the Code of 

Virginia requires the State Board of Health to promulgate 

regulations as necessary to implement Newborn Screening 

Services. 

Purpose: Spinal muscular atrophy (SMA) is a genetic disorder 

characterized by weakness and wasting (atrophy) in muscles 

used for movement (skeletal muscles). SMA is caused by a loss 

of specialized nerve cells, called motor neurons, which control 

muscle movement. SMA affects 9.1 out of every 100,000 

births and there are five classification types. Type 0 often leads 

to fetal loss or newborns with significant involvement and 

death in early infancy; this is the rarest and most severe form 

of the condition. Type I, the most common form, leads to 

progressive weakness in the first six months of life and, 

without targeted intervention, death prior to two years of age. 

Type II is associated with progressive weakness by 15 months 

of life and, without targeted intervention, respiratory failure 

and death after the third decade of life. Types III and IV are 

associated with progressive weakness that develops after one 

year of life or in adulthood, and most individuals have a normal 

lifespan. Treatment for SMA generally includes a disease-

modifying therapy that uses FDA-approved Spinraza, as well 

as clinical care support therapies such as nutritional support, 

respiratory support, pulmonary care, orthopedic and 

rehabilitation care, and palliative care. 

X-linked adrenoleukodystrophy (X-ALD) is a genetic disorder 

that occurs primarily in males, mainly affecting the nervous 

system and the adrenal glands. In the United States, X-ALD 

affects six out of every 100,000 births, regardless of sex. There 

are three distinct types of X-ALD: a childhood cerebral form, 

an adrenomyeloneuropathy type, and a form called Addison 

disease only. Childhood cerebral X-ALD is the most serious 

form of X-ALD and it usually presents between 2.5 and 10 

years of age. It is associated with rapid neurologic decline and 

death or disability an average three years after onset. Signs and 

symptoms of the adrenomyeloneuropathy type appear between 

early adulthood and middle age. People with X-ALD whose 

only symptom is adrenocortical insufficiency are said to have 

the Addison disease only form, which is the mildest form of 

the three types. In these individuals, adrenocortical 

insufficiency can begin anytime between childhood and 

adulthood. Treatment for X-ALD is difficult to predict since 

symptom onset varies and, in many cases, might not occur until 

after infancy. Treatment options include hormone therapy and 

hematopoietic stem cell transplantation, depending on the 

severity of the disorder. 

All newborns in Virginia would be screened for SMA and X-

ALD as a result of this proposed regulatory action. Screening 

for SMA and X-ALD can provide affected infants the benefit 

of early diagnosis and treatment. Screening is an effective 

diagnostic tool since these disorders cannot be detected at birth 

through a physical examination. Laboratory screening is 

available at a cost. 

The addition of SMA and X-ALD to the core panel will result 

in an increase to the newborn screening fee. The VDH Office 

of Family Health Services has a longstanding partnership with 

the Division of Consolidated Laboratory Services (DCLS) to 

provide blood spot newborn screening services. The Virginia 

Newborn Screening Program is solely funded through 

Enterprise Funding, which is generated from the collection of 

fees from dried blood spot specimen kits sold to submitting 

birthing facilities and health care providers statewide. As of 

October 1, 2019, the newborn screening fee is $138 per card. 

To implement these two screenings statewide, DCLS will 

require infrastructure investment that includes additional 

laboratory equipment; programmatic staff; application 

development to incorporate screening results; incorporation of 

new education modules; identification of specialized medical 

support systems for infants and their families; and family 

support and case management services for infants diagnosed 

with SMA or X-ALD. Adding SMA to the newborn screening 

panel results in an increase of $2.16, and adding X-ALD to the 

newborn screening results in an increase of $10.84 per sample, 

for a total of $13 for both of these disorders. 

Substance: The proposed changes to 12VAC5-71-30, which 

lists the specific disorders and genetic diseases that must be 

screened in Virginia, add SMA and X-ALD to the state's core 

panel. Currently, DCLS analyzes biological markers that may 

be indicative of 31 certain disorders that constitute the core 

panel. Section 32.1-67 of the Code of Virginia requires that this 

list of screened disorders be in the regulation. Section 32.1-65 

of the Code of Virginia requires that Virginia's screening tests 

are consistent with the panel recommended by the U.S. 

Secretary of Health and Human Services (HHS) Advisory 

Committee on Heritable Disorders in Newborns and Children 

Recommended Uniform Screening Panel. 
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Issues: The primary advantage of the proposed regulatory 

action to the public is that screening for SMA and X-ALD can 

provide affected infants the benefit of early diagnosis and 

treatment. Screening is an effective diagnostic tool since these 

disorders cannot be detected at birth through a physical 

examination. The primary disadvantage to the public is that 

adding these two screenings to the panel results in a cost 

increase. 

A primary advantage of the proposed regulatory action to the 

agency is that the action aligns with the recommendation from 

the Virginia Genetics Advisory Committee to add SMA and X-

ALD to the state's core panel. This also aligns with the panel 

recommended by the U.S. Secretary of HHS Advisory 

Committee on Heritable Disorders in Newborns and Children 

Recommended Uniform Screening Panel. 

A disadvantage to the regulated community, government 

officials, and the public is the projected increase in the cost of 

the two screenings. Newborn screening is a fee-for-service 

program, and the fee is paid by hospitals and other screeners 

who must purchase the filter paper kits used for blood spot 

collection. Most screening is performed in hospitals, with 

about 10% to 15% of screening performed by private 

physicians and military facilities. Hospitals do not generally 

pass on these costs to patients because third-party payers 

usually pay a negotiated bundled amount per delivery, and 

Medicaid reimbursed delivery payment is set by the state. Self-

pay patients may be responsible to pay the screening fee 

themselves if they have the resources to do so. 

Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 

Analysis: 

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. The 

State Board of Health (Board) seeks to amend the existing 

newborn screening regulation to add spinal muscular atrophy 

(SMA) and X-linked adrenoleukodystrophy (X-ALD) to the 

newborn screening panel (NSP). The additions of SMA and X-

ALD to the NSP have been recommended by the Virginia 

Genetics Advisory Committee. Blood spot newborn screening 

services are provided by the Department of General Services 

Division of Consolidated Laboratory Services (DCLS) in 

partnership with the Virginia Department of Health (VDH) 

Office of Family Health Services, and as required by 12VAC5-

71-100. 

Background. The Board proposes to amend 12VAC5-71-30, 

Core Panel of Heritable Disorders and Genetic Diseases, to add 

SMA and X-ALD. VDH reports that SMA is estimated to 

occur in approximately 9.1 out of every 100,000 live births and 

X-ALD is estimated to occur in approximately six out of every 

100,000 live births. If these disorders progress undetected, they 

are known to cause severe disabilities or a severely shortened 

lifespan.1 However, treatment for both these genetic disorders 

are available if they are detected early. Blood spot tests are 

necessary to detect these disorders as they cannot be detected 

at birth through physical examinations. Virginia currently 

screens for 33 genetic disorders: 31 genetic disorders by dried 

blood spot screening along with critical congenital heart 

disease and hearing loss by point of care testing. With the 

addition of X-ALD and SMA, Virginia will be in alignment 

with the 35 disorders on the Secretary of the U.S. Department 

of Health and Human Services Recommended Uniform 

Screening Panel. 

Estimated Benefits and Costs. In Virginia, DCLS conducts 

roughly 99,000 newborn screening tests per year. Thus, the 

proposed amendments would result in the screening of all 

newborns in Virginia for these disorders; this would potentially 

benefit approximately 15 newborns each year who might be 

born with SMA or X-ALD, as well as their families. The 

benefits of early detection and treatment include not only the 

avoidance of disability but also the associated costs and other 

detrimental effects. These benefits would accrue over the entire 

lifespan of individuals having these genetic disorders. 

However, laboratory screening comes at a cost. The Virginia 

Newborn Screening Program is solely funded through 

enterprise funding, which is generated from the collection of 

fees from dried blood spot specimen kits sold to submitting 

birthing facilities and health care providers statewide. VDH 

notes that in order to implement these two screenings 

statewide, DCLS would require infrastructure investment that 

includes additional laboratory equipment, programmatic staff, 

application development to incorporate screening results, 

incorporation of new education modules, identification of 

specialized medical support systems for infants and their 

families, and family support and case management services for 

infants diagnosed with SMA or X-ALD. 

Specifically, adding SMA to the newborn screening panel 

results in an increase of $2.16, and adding X-ALD to the 

newborn screening results in an increase of $10.84 per sample, 

for a total of $13 for both of these disorders per sample. 

Further, the Board anticipates VDH costs to include one full-

time employee for follow-up activities and education, and 

incurring outreach costs. The Board estimates DCLS costs 

related to capital equipment, staff, application development 

and education modules to be $389,631 in start-up costs and 

$192,262 annually for SMA screenings, and $1,101,568 in 

start-up costs and $1,073,422 annually for X-ALD screenings. 

These costs amount to an additional $13-$15 per test, since 

DCLS conducts roughly 99,000 tests a year. 

These projected costs would be funded through a fee increase 

for the blood spot screening panel, which would need to go into 

effect 12 months prior to implementation to accrue start-up 

costs. Therefore, in order to begin including tests for SMA and 

X-ALD in the NSP in the 2020-2021 fiscal year, DCLS 

increased the fee for the blood spot specimen kit from $101.20 

to $138 effective October 1, 2019. An estimated $26-28 of this 

increase can be attributed directly to the changes proposed by 

the Board in this action. The overall fee increase would cover 

the cost of the two tests as well as other costs DCLS seeks to 

recoup for the expected addition of other tests in fiscal year 

2021. Since the fees for the blood spot screening panel are set 
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by DCLS and not the Board, this action does not directly lead 

to the introduction of new costs per se.  

Businesses and Other Entities Affected. The increased fee 

directly affects hospitals, birth centers, and midwives who 

purchase the dried blood spot specimen kits from DCLS, as 

well as health insurance companies. VDH estimates that there 

are 58 hospitals, 10 to 15 birth centers, and an unknown 

number of midwives who would be affected by the fee 

increase.2 Most private health insurance plans include the fee 

for the NSP in the negotiated reimbursement amount for 

childbirth. Hence, hospitals and birth centers are unlikely to 

pass on the increased costs directly to their patients. However, 

not all midwives accept health insurance and may pass on the 

increased costs to their patients. Further, the Department of 

Medical Assistance Services may have to update the 

reimbursements made on behalf of Medicaid enrollees to cover 

the increased fee. An adverse impact is indicated for the 

increased fee, since adverse impact is indicated if there is any 

increase in net cost or reduction in net revenue for any entity, 

even if the benefits exceed the costs for all entities combined. 

Small Businesses Affected.  

Types and Estimated Number of Small Businesses Affected. It 

is not known if any of the hospitals qualify as small businesses, 

as many are nonprofits, and those that are for profit may be too 

large.3 Additionally, affected health insurance companies may 

be too large to qualify. Birth centers and independent midwives 

are more likely to meet the definition of a small business. VDH 

estimates that there are 10 to 15 birth centers in Virginia; the 

number of midwives is unknown. 

Costs and Other Effects. Any hospitals, birth centers, or 

midwives that do qualify as a small business would likely be 

adversely affected by the proposed fee increase. 

Alternative Method that Minimizes Adverse Impact. There are 

no clear alternative methods that both reduce adverse impact 

and meet the intended policy goals. 

Localities4 Affected.5 The proposed amendments do not 

disproportionately affect any specific localities, nor do they 

introduce new costs for local governments. 

Projected Impact on Employment. The proposed amendments 

are directly linked to allocations for six full-time employees at 

DCLS and one full-time employee at VDH. The proposed 

amendments are unlikely to affect employment at hospitals, 

birth centers, or health insurance companies more generally. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. Private 

businesses that end up paying for either part of or all of the fee 

increase either directly or through reimbursements may be 

moderately reduced in value. Real estate development costs 

would not be affected. 

___________________________________ 
1Page 3 of the Agency Background Document includes further details about 
each disorder, including the various sub-types, symptoms, and typical 

outcomes. See 

https://townhall.virginia.gov/l/GetFile.cfm?File=58\5259\8965\AgencyState

ment_VDH_8965_v1.pdf.  

2The Department of Health Professions lists 95 currently licensed midwives, 

but many of them are likely to be employed by hospitals or birth centers. 
3Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.04 of the Code of Virginia, small business is defined 

as "a business entity, including its affiliates, that (i) is independently owned 

and operated and (ii) employs fewer than 500 full-time employees or has gross 

annual sales of less than $6 million". 
4"Locality" can refer to either local governments or the locations in the 

Commonwealth where the activities relevant to the regulatory change are most 

likely to occur. 
5§ 2.2-4007.04 defines "particularly affected" as bearing disproportionate 

material impact. 

Agency's Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The 

Virginia Department of Health concurs with the economic 

impact analysis prepared by the Department of Planning and 

Budget. 

Summary: 

The proposed amendments add spinal muscular atrophy 

(SMA) and X-linked adrenoleukodystrophy (X-ALD) to the 

newborn screening panel. The additions of SMA and X-ALD 

to the newborn screening panel have been recommended by 

the Virginia Genetics Advisory Committee. On the national 

level, these disorders have been added to the core panel of 

35 genetic disorders included in the Recommended Uniform 

Screening Panel of the U.S. Secretary of Health and Human 

Services Advisory Committee on Heritable Disorders in 

Newborns and Children. 

12VAC5-71-30. Core panel of heritable disorders and 

genetic diseases. 

A. The Virginia Newborn Screening System, which includes 

the Virginia Newborn Screening Program, the Virginia Early 

Hearing Detection and Intervention Program, and the Virginia 

critical congenital heart disease screening, shall ensure that the 

core panel of heritable disorders and genetic diseases for which 

newborn screening is conducted is consistent with but not 

necessarily identical to the U.S. Department of Health and 

Human Services Secretary's Recommended Uniform 

Screening Panel. 

B. The department shall review, at least biennially, national 

recommendations and guidelines and may propose changes to 

the core panel of heritable disorders and genetic diseases for 

which newborn dried-blood-spot screening tests are 

conducted. 

C. The Virginia Genetics Advisory Committee may be 

consulted and provide advice to the commissioner on proposed 

changes to the core panel of heritable disorders and genetic 

diseases for which newborn dried-blood-spot screening tests 

are conducted. 

D. Infants under six months of age who are born in Virginia 

shall be screened in accordance with the provisions set forth in 

this chapter for the following heritable disorders and genetic 

diseases, which are identified through newborn dried-blood-

spot screening tests: 

1. Argininosuccinic aciduria (ASA); 

https://townhall.virginia.gov/l/GetFile.cfm?File=58/5259/8965/AgencyStatement_VDH_8965_v1.pdf
https://townhall.virginia.gov/l/GetFile.cfm?File=58/5259/8965/AgencyStatement_VDH_8965_v1.pdf
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2. Beta-Ketothiolase deficiency (BKT); 

3. Biotinidase deficiency (BIOT); 

4. Carnitine uptake defect (CUD); 

5. Classical galactosemia (galactose-1-phosphate 

uridyltransferase deficiency) (GALT); 

6. Citrullinemia type I (CIT-I); 

7. Congenital adrenal hyperplasia (CAH); 

8. Cystic fibrosis (CF); 

9. Glutaric acidemia type I (GA I); 

10. Hb S beta-thalassemia (Hb F,S,A); 

11. Hb SC-disease (Hb F,S,C); 

12. Hb SS-disease (sickle cell anemia) (Hb F, S); 

13. Homocystinuria (HCY); 

14. Isovaleric acidemia (IVA); 

15. Long chain L-3-Hydroxy acyl-CoA dehydrogenase 

deficiency (LCHAD); 

16. Maple syrup urine disease (MSUD); 

17. Medium-chain acyl-CoA dehydrogenase deficiency 

(MCAD); 

18. Methylmalonic acidemia (Methylmalonyl-CoA mutase 

deficiency) (MUT); 

19. Methylmalonic acidemia (Adenosylcobalamin synthesis 

deficiency) (CBL A, CBL B); 

20. Multiple carboxylase deficiency (MCD); 

21. Phenylketonuria (PKU); 

22. Primary congenital hypothyroidism (CH); 

23. Propionic acidemia (PROP); 

24. Severe combined immunodeficiency (SCID); 

25. Tyrosinemia type I (TYR I); 

26. Trifunctional protein deficiency (TFP); 

27. Very long-chain acyl-CoA dehydrogenase deficiency 

(VLCAD); 

28. 3-hydroxy 3-methyl glutaric aciduria (HMG); 

29. 3-Methylcrotonyl-CoA carboxylase deficiency (3-

MCC); 

30. Pompe disease; and 

31. Mucopolysaccharidosis type I (MPS I); 

32. Spinal muscular atrophy (SMA); and 

33. X-linked adrenoleukodystrophy (X-ALD). 

E. Infants born in Virginia shall be screened for hearing loss 

in accordance with provisions set forth in §§ 32.1-64.1 and 

32.1-64.2 of the Code of Virginia and as governed by 

12VAC5-80. 

F. Newborns born in Virginia shall be screened for critical 

congenital heart disease in accordance with provisions set forth 

in §§ 32.1-65.1 and 32.1-67 of the Code of Virginia and as 

governed by 12VAC5-71-210 through 12VAC5-71-260. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R19-5996; Filed April 13, 2021, 10:48 a.m. 

Forms 

NOTICE: The following forms used in administering the 

regulation have been filed by the agency. Amended or added 

forms are reflected in the listing and are published following 

the listing. Online users of this issue of the Virginia Register 

of Regulations may also click on the name to access a form. 

The forms are also available from the agency contact or may 

be viewed at the Office of Registrar of Regulations, 900 East 

Main Street, 11th Floor, Richmond, Virginia 23219. 

Title of Regulation: 12VAC5-381. Regulations for the 

Licensure of Home Care Organizations. 

Agency Contact: Rebekah E. Allen, Senior Policy Analyst, 

Virginia Department of Health, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 

401, Richmond, VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-2102, FAX 

(804) 527-4502, or email 

regulatorycomment@vdh.virginia.gov. 

FORMS (12VAC5-381) 

Application for Home Care Organization Licensure (rev. 

2/2021) 

Application for Home Care Organization Licensure (rev. 

4/2021) 

Renewal Addendum for Licenses Expiring July 31, 2021 (eff. 

4/2021) 

VA.R. Doc. No. R21-6758; Filed April 21, 2021, 10:18 a.m. 

Final Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 12VAC5-410. Regulations for the 

Licensure of Hospitals in Virginia (amending 12VAC5-

410-442, 12VAC5-410-445, 12VAC5-410-650, 12VAC5-

410-760, 12VAC5-410-1350). 

Statutory Authority: §§ 32.1-127 and 32.1-127.001 of the Code 

of Virginia. 

Effective Date: June 9, 2021. 

Agency Contact: Rebekah E. Allen, Senior Policy Analyst, 

Virginia Department of Health, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 

401, Richmond, VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-2102, FAX 

(804) 527-4502, or email 

regulatorycomment@vdh.virginia.gov. 

https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/12VAC5/forms/HCO-License-Application%20(1)-20210420172143.docx
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/12VAC5/forms/HCO-License-Application%20(1)-20210420172143.docx
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/12VAC5/forms/HCO-License-Application-Addendum%20(Draft%2002)-20210420172323.docx
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/12VAC5/forms/HCO-License-Application-Addendum%20(Draft%2002)-20210420172323.docx
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Summary: 

The amendments conform the regulation to § 32.1-127.001 

of the Code of Virginia, which requires the State Board of 

Health to adopt minimum standards for design and 

construction that are consistent with the current edition of 

the Guidelines for Design and Construction of Hospital and 

Health Care Facilities issued by the American Institute of 

Architects Academy of Architecture for Health. The 

American Institute of Architects Academy of Architecture for 

Health has become the Facility Guidelines Institute (FGI). 

The latest guidelines published by the FGI are the 2018 

editions of the Guidelines for Design and Construction of 

Hospitals and the Guidelines for Design and Construction 

of Outpatient Facilities.  

Summary of Public Comments and Agency's Response: No 

public comments were received by the promulgating agency. 

12VAC5-410-442. Obstetric service design and equipment 

criteria. 

A. Renovation or construction of a hospital's obstetric unit 

shall be consistent with (i) section 2.1-4 [ 2.2-2.11 2.2-2.9 ] of 

Part 2 of the 2006 [ 2014 2018 ] Guidelines for Design and 

Construction of Health Care Hospitals [ and Outpatient 

Facilities ] of the American Facility Guidelines Institute of 

Architects pursuant to § 32.1-127.001 of the Code of Virginia 

and (ii) the Virginia Uniform Statewide Building Code 

(13VAC5-63). 

B. Delivery rooms, LDR/LDRP labor, [ delivery deliver ], and 

[ recovery recover ] (LDR) rooms; labor delivery, recovery, 

and postpartrum (LDRP) rooms,; and nurseries shall be 

equipped to provide emergency resuscitation for mothers and 

infants. 

C. Equipment and supplies shall be assigned for exclusive use 

in the obstetric and newborn units. 

D. The same equipment and supplies required for the labor 

room and delivery room shall be available for use in the 

LDR/LDRP rooms during periods of labor, delivery, and 

recovery. 

E. Sterilizing equipment shall be available in the obstetric unit 

or in a central sterilizing department. Flash sterilizing 

equipment or sterile supplies and instruments shall be provided 

in the obstetric unit. 

F. Daily monitoring is required of the stock of necessary 

equipment in the labor, delivery, and recovery LDR rooms 

(LDR) and labor, delivery, recovery and postpartum (LDRP) 

LDRP rooms and nursery. 

G. The hospital shall provide the following equipment in the 

labor, delivery and recovery rooms and, except where noted, in 

the LDR/LDRP rooms: 

1. Labor rooms. 

a. A labor or birthing bed with adjustable side rails. 

b. Adjustable lighting adequate for the examination of 

patients. 

c. An emergency signal and intercommunication system. 

d. A sphygmomanometer, stethoscope and fetoscope or 

doppler. 

e. Fetal monitoring equipment with internal and external 

attachments. 

f. Mechanical infusion equipment. 

g. Wall-mounted oxygen and suction outlets. 

h. Storage equipment. 

i. Sterile equipment for emergency delivery to include at 

least one clamp and suction bulb. 

j. Neonatal resuscitation cart. 

2. Delivery rooms. 

a. A delivery room table that allows variation in positions 

for delivery. This equipment is not required for the 

LDR/LDRP rooms. 

b. Adequate lighting for vaginal deliveries or cesarean 

deliveries. 

c. Sterile instruments, equipment, and supplies to include 

sterile uterine packs for vaginal deliveries or cesarean 

deliveries, episiotomies or laceration repairs, postpartum 

sterilizations and cesarean hysterectomies. 

d. Continuous in-wall oxygen source and suction outlets 

for both mother and infant. 

e. Equipment for inhalation and regional anesthesia. This 

equipment is not required for LDR/LDRP rooms. 

f. A heated, temperature-controlled infant examination 

and resuscitation unit. 

g. An emergency call system. 

h. Plastic pharyngeal airways, adult and newborn sizes. 

i. Laryngoscope and endotracheal tubes, adult and 

newborn sizes. 

j. A self-inflating bag with manometer and adult and 

newborn masks that can deliver 100% oxygen. 

k. Separate cardiopulmonary crash carts for mothers and 

infants. 

l. Sphygmomanometer. 

m. Cardiac monitor. This equipment is not required for the 

LDR/LDRP rooms. 

n. Gavage tubes. 

o. Umbilical vessel catheterization trays. This equipment 

is not required for LDR/LDRP rooms. 

p. Equipment that provides a source of continuous suction 

for aspiration of the pharynx and stomach. 

q. Stethoscope. 

r. Fetoscope. 

s. Intravenous solutions and equipment. 
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t. Wall clock with a second hand. 

u. Heated bassinets equipped with oxygen and transport 

incubator. 

v. Neonatal resuscitation cart. 

3. Recovery rooms. 

a. Beds with side rails. 

b. Adequate lighting. 

c. Bedside stands, overbed tables, or fixed shelving. 

d. An emergency call signal. 

e. Equipment necessary for a complete physical 

examination. 

f. Accessible oxygen and suction equipment. 

12VAC5-410-445. Newborn service design and equipment 

criteria. 

A. Construction and or renovation of a hospital's nursery shall 

be consistent with sections 2.2—2.12.1 through 2.2—2.12.6.6 

(i) section [ 2.2-2.12 2.2-2.10 ] of Part 2 of the 2010 [ 2014 

2018 ] Guidelines for Design and Construction of Health Care 

Hospitals [ and Outpatient Facilities ] of the Facilities Facility 

Guidelines Institute (formerly of the American Institute of 

Architects) pursuant to § 32.1-127.001 of the Code of Virginia 

and (ii) the Virginia Uniform Statewide Building Code 

(13VAC5-63). Hospitals with higher-level nurseries shall 

comply with sections 2.2—2.10.1 through 2.2—10.9.3 section 

[ 2.2-2.10 2.2-2.8 ] of Part 2 of the 2010 guideline [ 2014 2018 ] 

edition of the guidelines as applicable. 

B. The hospital shall provide the following equipment in the 

general level nursery and all higher level nurseries, unless 

additional equipment requirements are imposed for the higher 

level nurseries: 

1. Resuscitation equipment as specified for the delivery 

room in 12VAC5-410-442 G 2 shall be available in the 

nursery at all times; 

2. Equipment for the delivery of 100% oxygen 

concentration, properly heated, blended, and humidified, 

with the ability to measure oxygen delivery in fractional 

inspired concentration (FI02). The oxygen analyzer shall be 

calibrated every eight hours and serviced according to the 

manufacturer's recommendations by a member of the 

hospital's respiratory therapy department or other 

responsible personnel trained to perform the task; 

3. Saturation monitor (pulse oximeter or equivalent); 

4. Equipment for monitoring blood glucose; 

5. Infant scales; 

6. Intravenous therapy equipment; 

7. Equipment and supplies for the insertion of umbilical 

arterial and venous catheters; 

8. Open bassinets, self-contained incubators, open radiant 

heat infant care system or any combination thereof 

appropriate to the service level; 

9. Equipment for stabilization of a sick infant prior to 

transfer that includes a radiant heat source capable of 

maintaining an infant's body temperature at 99°F; 

10. Equipment for insertion of a thoracotomy tube; and 

11. Equipment for proper administration and maintenance of 

phototherapy. 

C. The additional equipment required for the intermediate 

level newborn service and for any higher service level is: 

1. Pediatric infusion pumps accurate to plus or minus 1 

milliliter (ml) per hour; 

2. On-site supply of PgE1; 

3. Equipment for 24-hour cardiorespiratory monitoring for 

neonatal use available for every incubator or radiant warmer; 

4. Saturation monitor (pulse oximeter or equivalent) 

available for every infant given supplemental oxygen; 

5. Portable x-ray machine; and 

6. If a mechanical ventilator is selected to provide assisted 

ventilation prior to transport, it shall be approved for the use 

of neonates. 

D. The additional equipment required for the specialty level 

newborn service and a higher newborn service is as follows: 

1. Equipment for 24-hour cardiorespiratory monitoring with 

central blood pressure capability for each neonate with an 

arterial line; 

2. Equipment necessary for ongoing assisted ventilation 

approved for neonatal use with on-line online capabilities for 

monitoring airway pressure and ventilation performance; 

3. Equipment and supplies necessary for insertion and 

maintenance of chest tube for drainage; 

4. On-site supply of surfactant; 

5. Computed axial tomography equipment (CAT) or 

magnetic resonance imaging equipment (MRI); 

6. Equipment necessary for initiation and maintenance of 

continuous positive airway pressure (CPAP) with ability to 

constantly measure delineated pressures and including alarm 

for abnormal pressure (i.e., vent with PAP mode); and 

7. Cardioversion unit with appropriate neonatal paddles and 

ability to deliver appropriate small watt discharges. 

E. The hospital shall document that it has the appropriate 

equipment necessary for any of the neonatal surgical and 

special procedures it provides that are specified in its medical 

protocol and that are required for the specialty level newborn 

service. 
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F. The additional equipment requirements for the 

subspecialty level newborn service are: 

1. Equipment for emergency gastrointestinal, genitourinary, 

central nervous system, and sonographic studies available 24 

hours a day; 

2. Pediatric cardiac catheterization equipment; 

3. Portable echocardiography equipment; and 

4. Computed axial tomography equipment (CAT) and 

magnetic resonance imaging equipment (MRI). 

G. The hospital shall document that it has the appropriate 

equipment necessary for any of the neonatal surgical and 

special procedures it provides that are specified in the medical 

protocol and are required for the subspecialty level newborn 

service. 

12VAC5-410-650. General building and physical plant 

information. 

A. All construction of new buildings and additions, 

renovations, alterations or repairs of existing buildings for 

occupancy as a hospital shall conform to state and local codes, 

zoning and building ordinances, and the Virginia Uniform 

Statewide Building Code (13VAC5-63). 

In addition, hospitals shall be designed and constructed 

according to consistent with Part 1 and sections 2.1—1 through 

2.2—8 of Part 2 of the 2010 [ 2014 2018 ] Guidelines for 

Design and Construction of Health Care Hospitals [ and 

Outpatient Facilities ] of the Facilities Facility Guidelines 

Institute (formerly of the American Institute of Architects). 

However, the requirements of the Uniform Statewide Building 

Code and local zoning and building ordinances shall take 

precedence pursuant to § 32.1-127.001 of the Code of Virginia. 

B. All buildings shall be inspected and approved as required 

by the appropriate building regulatory entity. Approval shall 

be a Certificate of Use and Occupancy indicating the building 

is classified for its proposed licensed purpose. Architectural 

drawings and specifications for all new construction or for 

additions, alterations, or renovations to any existing building 

shall be dated, stamped with professional seal, and signed by 

the architect. The architect shall certify that the drawings and 

specifications were prepared to conform to the Virginia 

Uniform Statewide Building Code (13VAC5-63) and be 

consistent with Part 1 and Part 2 of the [ 2014 2018 ] 

Guidelines for Design and Construction of Hospitals [ and 

Outpatient Facilities ] of the Facility Guidelines Institute. [ The 

certification shall be forwarded to the OLC. ] 

12VAC5-410-760. Long-term care nursing units. 

Construction and renovation of long-term care nursing units, 

including intermediate and skilled nursing care nursing units, 

shall conform to be designed and constructed consistent with 

section 2.1—3.9 [ 2.2-2.15 2.2-2.13 ] of Part 2 of the 2006 

[ 2014 2018 ] Guidelines for Design and Construction of 

Health Care Hospitals [ and Outpatient Facilities ] of the 

American Facility Guidelines Institute of Architects pursuant 

to § 32.1-127.001 of the Code of Virginia. 

Architectural drawings and specifications for all new 

construction or for additions, alterations, or renovations to any 

existing building shall be dated, stamped with professional 

seal, and signed by the architect. The architect shall certify that 

the drawings and specifications were prepared to conform to 

the Virginia Uniform Statewide Building Code (13VAC5-63) 

and be consistent with section [ 2.2-2.15 2.2-2.13 ] of Part 2 of 

the [ 2014 2018 ] Guidelines for Design and Construction of 

Hospitals [ and Outpatient Facilities ] of the Facility Guidelines 

Institute [ The certification shall be forwarded to the OLC. ] 

12VAC5-410-1350. Codes; fire safety; zoning; construction 

Local and state codes and standards. 

A. All construction of new buildings and additions [ , ] 

alterations [ , ] or repairs to existing buildings for occupancy 

as a "free-standing" outpatient hospital shall conform to state 

and local codes, zoning and building ordinances, and the 

Statewide Virginia Uniform Statewide Building Code 

(13VAC5-63). 

In addition, hospitals shall be designed and constructed 

according to consistent with Part 1 and sections 3.1-1 through 

3.1-8 [ 3.1 and 3.7 of Part 3 2.1 and 2.7 of Part 2 ] of the 2010 

[ 2014 2018 ] Guidelines for Design and Construction of 

Health Care [ Hospitals and ] Outpatient Facilities of the 

Facilities Facility Guidelines Institute (formerly of the 

American Institute of Architects). However, the requirements 

of the Uniform Statewide Building Code and local zoning and 

building ordinances shall take precedence pursuant to § 32.1-

127.001 of the Code of Virginia. 

Architectural drawings and specifications for all new 

construction or for additions, alterations, or renovations to any 

existing building shall be dated, stamped with professional 

seal, and signed by the architect. The architect shall certify that 

the drawings and specifications were prepared to conform to 

the Virginia Uniform Statewide Building Code (13VAC5-63) 

and be consistent with Part 1 and sections [ 3.1 and 3.7 of Part 

3 2.1 and 2.7 of Part 2 ] of the [ 2014 2018 ] Guidelines for 

Design and Construction of [ Hospitals and ] Outpatient 

Facilities of the Facility Guidelines Institute. [ The certification 

shall be forwarded to the OLC. ] 

B. All buildings shall be inspected and approved as required 

by the appropriate building regulatory entity. Approval shall 

be a Certificate of Use and Occupancy indicating the building 

is classified for its proposed licensed purpose.  

C. B. The use of an incinerator shall require permitting from 

the nearest regional office of the Department of Environmental 

Quality. 

D. C. Water shall be obtained from an approved water supply 

system. Outpatient surgery centers shall be connected to 
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sewage systems approved by the Department of Health or the 

Department of Environmental Quality. 

E. D. Each outpatient surgery center shall establish a 

monitoring program for the internal enforcement of all 

applicable fire and safety laws and regulations. 

F. E. All radiological machines shall be registered with the 

Office of Radiological Health of the Virginia Department of 

Health. Installation, calibration and testing of machines and 

storage facilities shall comply with 12VAC5-480 12VAC5-

481, Virginia Radiation Protection Regulations. 

G. F. Pharmacy services shall comply with Chapter 33 

(§ 54.1-3300 et seq.) of Title 54.1 of the Code of Virginia and 

18VAC110-20, Regulations Governing the Practice of 

Pharmacy. 

DOCUMENTS INCORPORATED BY REFERENCE 

(12VAC5-410) 

[ Guidelines for Design and Construction of Health Care and 

Outpatient Facilities, 2014 Edition, Facility Guidelines 

Institute (formerly of the American Institute of Architects), 

Washington, D.C., 2010 Edition, http://www.fgiguidelines.org 

Guidelines for Design and Construction of Hospitals, 2018 

Edition, Facility Guidelines Institute, Washington, D.C., 

http://www.fgiguidelines.org 

Guidelines for Design and Construction of Outpatient 

Facilities, 2018 Edition, Facility Guidelines Institute, 

Washington, D.C., https://fgiguidelines.org ] 

VA.R. Doc. No. R13-23; Filed April 13, 2021, 10:52 a.m. 

DEPARTMENT OF MEDICAL ASSISTANCE 
SERVICES 

Action Withdrawn 

Titles of Regulations: 12VAC30-60. Standards Established 

and Methods Used to Assure High Quality Care (amending 

12VAC30-60-5). 

12VAC30-141. Family Access to Medical Insurance 

Security Plan (amending 12VAC30-141-570). 

Statutory Authority: § 32.1-325 of the Code of Virginia; 

42 USC § 1396 et seq. 

Notice is hereby given that the Department of Medical 

Assistance Services has WITHDRAWN the proposed 

regulatory action for 12VAC30-60, Standards Established and 

Methods Used to Assure High Quality Care, and 12VAC30-

141, Family Access to Medical Insurance Security Plan, that 

was published in 33:24 2675-2677 July 24, 2017. The 

provisions from this action will be included in a different 

regulatory action in order to ensure consistency of 

amendments.  

Agency Contact: Emily McClellan, Regulatory Supervisor, 

Policy Division, Department of Medical Assistance Services, 

600 East Broad Street, Suite 1300, Richmond, VA 23219, 

telephone (804) 371-4300, FAX (804) 786-1680, or email 

emily.mccellan@dmas.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R16-4492; Filed April 15, 2021, 1:26 p.m. 

  ––––––––––––––––––  

TITLE 16. LABOR AND EMPLOYMENT 

DEPARTMENT OF LABOR AND INDUSTRY 

Emergency Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 16VAC15-60. Regulation Governing 

On-The-Job Training Programs or Other Training 

Programs (adding 16VAC15-60-10). 

Statutory Authority: §§ 40.1-6 and 40.1-28.10 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

Effective Dates: May 1, 2021, through October 31, 2022. 

Agency Contact: Holly Trice, Attorney, Department of Labor 

and Industry, Main Street Centre, 600 East Main Street, 

Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 786-2641, FAX (804) 

786-8418, or email holly.trice@doli.virginia.gov. 

Preamble: 

Section 2.2-4011 A of the Code of Virginia states that 

regulations that an agency finds are necessitated by an 

emergency situation may be adopted upon consultation with 

the Attorney General, which approval shall be granted only 

after the agency has submitted a request stating in writing 

the nature of the emergency, and the necessity for such 

action shall be at the sole discretion of the Governor. 

In response to Chapters 1204 and 1242 of the 2020 Acts of 

Assembly and pursuant to § 40.1-28.10 of the Code of 

Virginia, the new regulation provides the standards 

required for any employer on-the-job training program or 

other training program established in accordance with the 

requirements of § 40.1-28.10. 

Chapter 60 

Regulation Governing On-The-Job Training Programs or 

Other Training Programs 

16VAC15-60-10. Requirements for job training programs.  

A. This chapter is promulgated pursuant to § 40.1-28.10 of 

the Code of Virginia. Its purpose is to provide the standards 

required for any employer on-the-job training program or other 

training program established in accordance with § 40.1-28.10. 

B. Beginning May 1, 2021, an employee enrolled in an 

established on-the-job or other training program may, for the 

first 90 calendar days after start of employment, be paid a 

training wage of not less than 75% of the minimum hourly 

wage specified at § 40.1-28.10, provided the following 

conditions are met: 

http://www.fgiguidelines.org/
https://fgiguidelines.org/
http://register.dls.virginia.gov/details.aspx?id=6485
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1. The employee has been hired in, and is receiving training 

for, an occupation in which the employee has no previous 

similar or related experience; 

2. The employer is not utilizing the employee being paid the 

training wage in a manner that causes, induces, encourages, 

or assists any displacement or partial displacement of any 

currently employed worker, including: 

a. By displacing any previous recipient of the training 

wage; 

b. By reducing hours of a currently employed worker; 

c. By replacing a current or laid off employee with a 

trainee;  

d. By relocating operations resulting in a loss of 

employment at a previous workplace; or 

e. In a manner that replaces, supplants, competes with, or 

duplicates any approved apprenticeship program. 

3. The occupation for which the employee is receiving 

training must require a sufficient degree of technical skill to 

necessitate a learning period. The training must not be for 

the purpose of acquiring manual dexterity and high 

production speed in repetitive operations; 

4. Such a training program must involve either formal 

instruction or on-the-job training during a period when the 

learners are entrusted with limited responsibility and are 

under supervision or guidance; 

5. Such a training program shall describe in writing the 

nature and extent of the instruction and supervision 

provided; 

6. The employer makes a good faith effort to continue to 

employ the employee after the period of the training wage 

expires; 

7. The employer shall not hire the employee at the training 

wage unless there is a reasonable expectation that there will 

be regular employment, paying at or above the effective 

minimum wage, for the trainee upon the successful 

completion of the period of the training wage. The training 

wage shall not be applied to: 

a. Seasonal employees; or 

b. Temporary employees; and 

8. An employee can only undergo one on-the-job training 

program or other training program established in accordance 

with § 40.1-28.10 per employer. 

a. A change in employment classification or duties 

required by the employer of the employee would not allow 

an employer to place that employee in another on-the-job 

training program or other training program established in 

accordance with § 40.1-28.10. 

b. An employee may be placed in another on-the-job 

training program or other training program established in 

accordance with § 40.1-28.10 with a subsequent employer 

so long as placing that employee in the on-the-job training 

program or other training program established in 

accordance with § 40.1-28.10 would not violate 

subdivision 1 of this subsection. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R21-6714; Filed April 28, 2021, 11:26 a.m. 

  ––––––––––––––––––  

TITLE 18. PROFESSIONAL AND 
OCCUPATIONAL LICENSING 

BOARD FOR BARBERS AND COSMETOLOGY 

Reproposed Regulation 

Titles of Regulations: 18VAC41-50. Tattooing Regulations 

(amending 18VAC41-50-10, 18VAC41-50-20, 18VAC41-

50-30, 18VAC41-50-40, 18VAC41-50-80, 18VAC41-50-100, 

18VAC41-50-110, 18VAC41-50-120, 18VAC41-50-130, 

18VAC41-50-150, 18VAC41-50-160, 18VAC41-50-180, 

18VAC41-50-210, 18VAC41-50-230, 18VAC41-50-250, 

18VAC41-50-280, 18VAC41-50-290, 18VAC41-50-310, 

18VAC41-50-360, 18VAC41-50-370, 18VAC41-50-380, 

18VAC41-50-390, 18VAC41-50-400, 18VAC41-50-410, 

18VAC41-50-420; adding 18VAC41-50-91, 18VAC41-50-

92 [ , 18VAC41-50-93 ]; repealing 18VAC41-50-50, 

18VAC41-50-60, 18VAC41-50-90, 18VAC41-50-240, 

18VAC41-50-260, 18VAC41-50-270, 18VAC41-50-320, 

18VAC41-50-340, 18VAC41-50-350). 

18VAC41-60. Body-Piercing Regulations (amending 

18VAC41-60-10, 18VAC41-60-20, 18VAC41-60-30, 

18VAC41-60-40, 18VAC41-60-80, 18VAC41-60-110, 

18VAC41-60-120, 18VAC41-60-140, 18VAC41-60-190, 

18VAC41-60-200, 18VAC41-60-220; repealing 18VAC41-

60-50, 18VAC41-60-60). 

Statutory Authority: § 54.1-201 of the Code of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: No public hearing is currently 

scheduled. 

Public Comment Deadline: June 9, 2021. 

Agency Contact: Stephen Kirschner, Executive Director, 

Board for Barbers and Cosmetology, 9960 Mayland Drive, 

Suite 400, Richmond, VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-8590, 

FAX (866) 245-9693, or email 

barbercosmo@dpor.virginia.gov. 

Basis: Section 54.1-201.5 of the Code of Virginia authorizes 

the Board of Nursing to promulgate regulations necessary to 

assure continued competency, prevent deceptive or misleading 

practices by practitioners, and effectively administer the 

regulatory system administered by the regulatory board. 

Purpose: The board seeks to amend its current regulations to 

ensure they are as least intrusive and burdensome as possible; 

provide an environment with the most minimal regulations 

necessary to protect the health, safety, and welfare of the 
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public; and ensure regulations are clearly written, easily 

understandable, and are representative of current industry 

advancements and standards. 

Substance: Following are the proposed substantive changes: 

18VAC41-50-10. Definitions. New definitions of business 

entity, firm, guest tattooer, guest tattooer sponsor, pigments, 

responsible management, sole proprietor, post-secondary 

education level, and tattoo convention have been added. 

Licensee and master permanent cosmetic tattooer have been 

amended to further clarify terms used in subsequent 

regulations. Limited term tattooer has been eliminated and 

limited term tattoo parlor has been changed to event parlor. 

18VAC41-50-20. General Requirements for tattooer, guest 

tattooer, permanent cosmetic tattooer, or master permanent 

cosmetic tattooer. The proposed amendments update this 

section to further clarify and standardize entry requirements, 

including changing the limited term tattooer license into a 

guest tattooer license. The proposed amendments require 

applicants disclose all felony convictions during their lifetime 

and certain misdemeanors within the last two years, add that 

the board may deny licensure to any applicant having prior 

disciplinary violations for which the board deems the applicant 

unfit to engage in the profession, and change the exam 

eligibility requirements for master permanent cosmetic 

tattooers. 

18VAC41-50-30. License by endorsement. The proposed 

amendments update this section to further clarify endorsement 

requirements. 

18VAC41-50-40. Examination requirements and fees. The 

proposed amendments update this section to further clarify and 

consolidate examination requirements. The proposed 

amendments also add requirements that if an applicant does not 

apply for licensure within five years of passing both exams, he 

must reapply, and that the board will only retain examination 

records for non-applicants' for a maximum of five years. 

18VAC41-50-50. Reexamination requirements. The proposed 

amendments repeal this section and incorporate the content 

into 18VAC41-50-40. 

18VAC41-50-60. Examination administration. The proposed 

amendments repeal this section and incorporate the content 

into 18VAC41-50-40. 

18VAC41-50-80. Tattoo parlor, event tattoo parlor, or 

permanent cosmetic tattoo salon license. The proposed 

amendments update this section to further clarify and 

standardize the regulation, including changing the limited term 

tattoo parlor license into an event tattoo parlor license. The 

proposed amendments (i) add the requirement that the 

applicant's license be in good standing; (ii) require applicants 

and all members of responsible management to disclose all 

felony convictions during their lifetime, certain misdemeanors 

within the last two years, and any prior discipline by a licensing 

entity; (iii) add that the board may deny licensure to any 

applicant having prior disciplinary violations for which the 

board deems the applicant unfit to engage in the profession; 

(iv) require disclosure of the applicant's physical address, the 

firm's responsible management, and certification that the 

applicant has read applicable laws and regulations; (v) add the 

requirement that voided licenses be returned to the board 

within 30 days and set forth what events void a license; (vi) 

require any change in responsible management be reported to 

the board within 30 days of the change; (vii) add the 

requirement of parlors or salons that host guest tattooers must 

identify themselves as the sponsor and provide direct 

supervision of the guest tattooer. 

18VAC41-50-90. Limited term tattooer license. The proposed 

amendments repeal this section. 

18VAC41-50-91. Guest tattooer license. The proposed 

amendments create a two-week guest tattooer license and set 

the requirements for licensure, including the requirements set 

forth in 18VAC41-50-20 A 1 through A 4, out-of-state 

residency, and health education in certain areas. Up to five 

guest tattooer licenses may be obtained per calendar year. 

18VAC41-50-92. Guest tattooer sponsor. The proposed 

amendments create requirements for parlor and salons to 

sponsor guest tattooers, including direct supervision by a 

licensee. 

18VAC41-50-100. School license. The proposed amendments 

update this section to further clarify and standardize the 

regulation. The proposed amendments (i) add the requirement 

that the applicant's license be in good standing; (ii) require 

applicants and all members of responsible management to 

disclose all felony convictions during their lifetime, certain 

misdemeanors within the last two years, and any prior 

discipline by a licensing entity; (iii) add that the board may 

deny licensure to any applicant having prior disciplinary 

violations for which the board deems the applicant unfit to 

engage in the profession; (iv) require disclosure of the 

applicant's physical address, the firm's responsible 

management, and certification that the applicant has read 

applicable laws and regulations; (v) add the requirement that 

voided licenses be returned to the board within 30 days and set 

forth what events void a license; and (vi) require any change in 

responsible management be reported to the board within 30 

days of the change. 

18VAC41-50-110. Tattooer instructor certificate. The 

proposed amendments update this section to add the additional 

requirement that instructors pass a course in teaching 

techniques at the post-secondary education level and increase 

the experience requirement from three to five years. 

18VAC41-50-120. Permanent cosmetic tattooer instructor 

certificate. The proposed amendments update this section to 

add the additional requirement that instructors pass a course in 

teaching techniques at the post-secondary education level and 

increase the experience requirement from three to five years. 

18VAC41-50-130. Fees. The proposed amendments remove 

the fee for tattoo instructor endorsement, as the regulation does 

not allow for instructor endorsement. 
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18VAC41-50-150. License renewal required. The proposed 

amendments update this section to further clarify and 

standardize the requirements. Additionally, the amendments 

identify the expiration for the guest tattooer licenses. 

18VAC41-50-160. Continuing education requirement. The 

proposed amendment removes the clock hour requirement 

from the health education needed to renew a license. 

18VAC41-50-180. Failure to renew. The proposed 

amendments update this section to further clarify and 

standardize the requirements, including the addition of 

reinstatement requirements for tattoo schools that are 

consistent with other schools licensed under the board. 

18VAC41-50-210. Hours of instruction and performances. The 

amendment changes the performances requirement from total 

amount to a minimum amount. 

18VAC41-50-230. General Requirements. The proposed 

amendments update this section to further clarify and 

standardize the regulations. The proposed amendments also 

require schools to hold tattoo parlor licenses as required under 

§ 54.1-700 of the Code of Virginia. 

18VAC41-50-240. Apprenticeship curriculum requirements. 

The proposed action repeals this section. 

18VAC41-50-250. Records. The proposed amendments add a 

requirement that schools provide certain documentation to 

students within specified time periods. 

18VAC41-50-260. Hour reported. The proposed action repeals 

this section. 

18VAC41-50-270. Health education. The proposed action 

repeals this section and moves its requirement to 18VAC41-

50-280. 

18VAC41-50-280. Tattooing school curriculum requirements. 

The proposed amendments update this section for consistency, 

add the requirement for health education from 18VAC41-50-

270 and add a method for tattooer schools to award credits to 

transfer students. 

18VAC41-50-290. Hours of instruction and performances. The 

proposed amendments change the hours of instruction for 

tattooing schools from 750 to 1,000 and the amount of hours 

that can be award for prior training and experience. 

18VAC41-50-310. General Requirements. The proposed 

amendments incorporate the addition of the master permanent 

cosmetic tattooing program and instructor requirements for 

schools. 

18VAC41-50-320. School Identification. The proposed action 

repeals this section. 

18VAC41-50-340. Hour reported. The proposed action repeals 

this section. 

18VAC41-50-350. Health education. The proposed action 

repeals this section and moves its requirement to 18VAC41-

50-280. 

18VAC41-50-360. Permanent cosmetic tattooing school 

curriculum requirements. The proposed amendments update 

this section for consistency, add the requirement for health 

education from 18VAC41-50-350, and add a method for 

tattooer schools to award credits to transfer students and 

creates a curriculum for the master permanent cosmetic 

tattooer program. 

18VAC41-50-370. Hours of instruction and performances. The 

proposed amendments revise the clock hour length and 

performances requirements of the permanent cosmetic 

tattooing program, and create hours and performances 

requirements for the master permanent cosmetic tattooing 

program. 

18VAC41-50-380. Display of License. The proposed 

amendments change the location where licenses are to be 

displayed from the reception area to the licensee's station. 

18VAC41-50-390. Physical facilities. The proposed 

amendments update this section to further clarify and 

standardize the regulation. 

18VAC41-50-400. Tattooer or permanent cosmetic tattooer or 

master permanent cosmetic tattooer responsibilities. The 

proposed amendments update this section to further clarify and 

standardize the regulation, provide new requirements for 

wrapping multiuse equipment in a nonporous disposable 

barrier, add disinfection requirements for multiuse equipment, 

and add the requirement to maintain a dirty tube receptacle and 

sharps containers. 

18VAC41-50-410. Client qualifications, disclosures, and 

records. The proposed amendments add a prohibition of 

tattooing on skin that manifests any asymmetrical, irregular, 

blurred, or multicolored mole. 

18VAC41-50-420. Grounds for license revocation or 

suspension; denial of application, renewal or reinstatement; or 

imposition of a monetary penalty. The proposed amendments 

update this section to further clarify and simplify the 

requirements. The proposed amendments (i) provide grounds 

for discipline for failing to teach the approved curriculum, 

bribery, failing to respond or providing false or misleading 

information to the board or its agents, and refusing to allow 

inspection of any parlor, salon, or school; (ii) clarify and refine 

grounds for discipline for certain criminal convictions and 

failing to report convictions within a certain time period; and 

(iii) provide grounds for discipline for allowing unlicensed 

activity, failing to take sufficient measures to prevent 

transmission of communicable disease and failing to comply 

with all procedures with regard to conduct at the examination. 

18VAC41-60-10. Definitions. New definitions of business 

entity, firm, responsible management, and sole proprietor have 

been added. Licensee has been amended to further clarify 

terms used in subsequent sections. 

18VAC41-60-20. General requirements. The proposed 

amendments update this section to further clarify and 

standardize entry requirements. The proposed amendments 

require applicants to disclose all felony convictions during 

their lifetime and certain misdemeanors within the last two 
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years, add that the board may deny licensure to any applicant 

having prior disciplinary violations for which the board deems 

the applicant unfit to engage in the profession, and incorporate 

registered apprenticeship as the means for qualifying for the 

exam. 

18VAC41-60-30. License by endorsement. The proposed 

amendments update this section to further clarify endorsement 

requirements. 

18VAC41-60-40. Examination requirements and fees. The 

proposed amendments update this section to further clarify and 

consolidate examination requirements. The proposed 

amendments also add requirements that if an applicant does not 

apply for licensure within five years of passing both exams, the 

applicant must reapply, and that the board will only retain 

examination records for nonapplicants for a maximum of five 

years. 

18VAC41-60-50. Reexamination requirements. The proposed 

action repeals this section and incorporates the content into 

18VAC41-60-40. 

18VAC41-60-60. Examination administration. The proposed 

action repeals this section and incorporates the content into 

18VAC41-60-40. 

18VAC41-60-70. General requirements for a body piercing 

apprenticeship sponsor. The proposed amendments update this 

section to further clarify and standardize entry requirements. 

18VAC41-60-80. Salon license. The proposed amendments 

update this section to further clarify and standardize the 

regulation. The proposed amendments (i) add the requirement 

that the applicant's license be in good standing; (ii) require 

applicants and all members of responsible management to 

disclose all felony convictions during their lifetime, certain 

misdemeanors within the last two years, and any prior 

discipline by a licensing entity; (iii) add that the board may 

deny licensure to any applicant having prior disciplinary 

violations for which the board deems the applicant unfit to 

engage in the profession; (iv) require disclosure of the 

applicant's physical address, the firm's responsible 

management, and certification that the applicant has read 

applicable laws and regulations; (v) add the requirement that 

voided licenses be returned to the board within 30 days and set 

forth what events void a license; and (vi) require any change in 

responsible management be reported to the board within 30 

days of the change. 

18VAC41-60-110. License renewal required. The proposed 

amendments update this section to further clarify and 

standardize the regulation. 

18VAC41-60-120. Continuing education requirement. The 

proposed amendments update this section to further clarify the 

regulation. 

18VAC41-60-140. Failure to renew. The proposed 

amendments update this section to further clarify and 

standardize the requirements. 

18VAC41-60-160. Body piercing apprenticeship curriculum 

requirements. The proposed amendments update this section to 

further clarify and standardize the requirements. 

18VAC41-60-170. Body piercing hours of instruction and 

performances. The proposed amendments update this section 

to further clarify and standardize the requirements. 

18VAC41-60-180. Display of License. The proposed 

amendments update this section to further clarify and 

standardize the regulation. 

18VAC41-60-190. Physical facilities. The proposed 

amendments update this section to further clarify and 

standardize the regulation. 

18VAC41-60-200. Body piercer and body piercer ear only 

responsibilities. The proposed amendments update this section 

to further clarify and standardize the regulation. 

18VAC41-60-210. Body piercer client qualifications, 

disclosures, and records. The proposed amendments update 

this section to further clarify and standardize the regulation. 

18VAC41-60-220. Grounds for license revocation or 

suspension; denial of application, renewal or reinstatement; or 

imposition of a monetary penalty. The proposed amendments 

update this section to further clarify and simplify the 

requirements. The proposed amendments (i) provide grounds 

for discipline for failing to teach the approved curriculum, 

bribery, failing to respond or providing false or misleading 

information to the board or its agents, and refusing to allow 

inspection of any salon; (ii) clarify and refine grounds for 

discipline for certain criminal convictions and failing to report 

convictions within a certain time period; and (iii) provide 

grounds for discipline for allowing unlicensed activity, failing 

to take sufficient measures to prevent transmission of 

communicable disease, and failing to comply with all 

procedures with regard to conduct at the examination. 

Issues: A primary advantage of the proposed amendments to 

the public is the addition of the responsible management 

system for tracking ownership of tattooing and body piercing 

businesses. This will allow the board to better identify when 

individuals previously disciplined by the board are attempting 

to reenter the profession. The addition of a two-week guest 

tattooer license will facilitate businesses providing better 

services to the public and out-of-state tattooers working as 

guests in Virginia and contributing to Virginia's economy, all 

without diminishing health and safety protections for the 

public. The board will continue to approve applicants and 

license professionals for which it has safeguards to ensure 

proper competency and standards of conduct as required by 

statute. 

Another primary advantage is the improvements to the training 

programs. A major critique of the tattoo school programs from 

public comment was that the school programs do not 

adequately train tattooers. These changes address both the 

length of the program and the qualifications of the instructors, 

in an effort to reach minimally competent training. These 
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amendments also create a much-needed master permanent 

cosmetic tattooing training program. The services under this 

license are growing in demand, but there has not been a formal 

training curriculum in place, and individuals have had a hard 

time finding training in these services. 

The addition of prohibited acts will reduce fraud and better 

ensure the regulant population is minimally competent. 

Further, regulants and applicants within these professions will 

be able to read the board's requirements with greater clarity and 

understanding. The added clarity of the language in the 

proposed regulation will facilitate a quicker and more efficient 

process for applicants and regulants by enhancing their 

understanding of their individual requirements. Consumers in 

the public, as well as regulators from related agencies, will 

have a better understanding of the board's requirements, which 

will also allow them to conduct business with greater 

efficiency and ultimately lead to a more protected public. 

There are no disadvantages to the public that have been 

identified. 

The primary advantage to the Commonwealth will be the 

continued successful regulation of tattooers and body piercers 

who meet the minimum entry standards as required by statute. 

The proposed amendments strengthen the department's ability 

to investigate and discipline regulants who disregard the 

health, safety, and welfare of the public. The primary 

disadvantage to the department is that by adding the 

responsible management systems, as well as adding a new type 

of training program, there is more complexity added to the 

administration of the regulation. 

The clarification of the proposed language will facilitate 

greater understanding of the board's requirements for all 

involved. Several changes, including teaching techniques 

training for tattoo instructors, guest licenses, the master 

permanent cosmetic tattooing curriculum, and increasing the 

hours of training, were included at the request of the regulants. 

Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 

Analysis: 

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. The 

Board for Barbers and Cosmetology (Board) proposes to: 1) 

add the responsible management system for tracking 

ownership of tattooing and body piercing businesses, 2) 

significantly alter the limited-term tattooer license structure, 3) 

amend training requirements for tattooing schools and tattoo 

instructors, 4) address the release of tattoo school records, and 

5) make other amendments for improved clarity. 

Result of Analysis. The benefits likely exceed the costs for the 

majority of proposed changes. For other proposed amendments 

it is uncertain. 

Estimated Economic Impact: 

Responsible Management. The Board proposes to add the 

requirement that applicants for tattoo parlor, limited term tattoo 

parlor, permanent cosmetic tattoo salon, body piercing salon, 

or body piercing ear only salon, disclose the names of the firm's 

responsible management. The proposed regulation defines 

responsible management as: 

1. The sole proprietor of a sole proprietorship; 

2. The partners of a general partnership; 

3. The managing partners of a limited partnership; 

4. The officers of a corporation; 

5. The managers of a limited liability company; 

6. The officers or directors of an association or both; and 

7. Individuals in other business entities recognized under 

the laws of the Commonwealth as having a fiduciary 

responsibility to the firm. 

The applicant and all members of the responsible management 

would be required to be in good standing as a licensed shop or 

salon in Virginia and all other jurisdictions where licensed and 

disclose any disciplinary action taken in Virginia and all other 

jurisdictions. This would allow the Board to better identify 

when individuals previously disciplined by the Board are 

attempting to re-enter the profession. 

Limited-term Tattooer License. The current regulation 

contains a limited term tattooer license that is effective for five 

consecutive days prior to the expiration date. A person may 

obtain a maximum of five limited term tattooer licenses within 

a calendar year and a maximum of two limited term tattooer 

licenses within 30 consecutive days. 

According to the Department of Professional and Occupational 

Regulation (DPOR), out-of-state tattooers coming to Virginia 

for tattoo conventions and the licensee hosts of the convention 

have found the need to reapply for licensure and pay the 

licensing fee multiple times each year to be onerous. Also 

according to the agency, potential guest tattooers from out-of-

state and the potential hosts of the guest tattooers have often 

found the five-day licensing period inadequate to sufficiently 

justify traveling to Virginia. Parlor owners at times find having 

guest tattooers to be good for business. The Board proposes to 

eliminate the current five-day limited-term tattooer license and 

replace it with a one-year convention tattooer license and a 

two-week guest tattooer license. 

For both the one-year convention tattooer license and the two-

week guest tattooer license, the applicant would need to: 1) 

present documentation showing out-of-state residency, 2) 

provide documentation of health education knowledge to 

include but not limited to bloodborne disease, sterilization, and 

aseptic techniques related to tattooing, and first aid and CPR 

that is acceptable to the Board, 3) disclose any disciplinary 

action taken in Virginia or any other jurisdiction in connection 

with the applicant's practice, 4) disclose criminal convictions 

in Virginia and all other jurisdictions, and 5) sign a statement 

certifying that the applicant has read and understands the 

Virginia tattooing license laws and regulation. The guest 

tattooer license applicant would also need to show guest 

tattooer sponsorship, including signature of the sponsor 

parlor's responsible management. An out of state resident 

would be able to obtain up to three guest tattooer licenses per 
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calendar year. The proposed requirements help ensure the same 

level of health, safety and welfare protections as under the 

current regulation. 

Both the existing and proposed regulation contain a $75 fee for 

all individual licenses.1 The one-year convention license 

reduces administrative hassle and fees expended for applicants 

who intend to participate in more than one Virginia convention 

per year. Under the current regulation, licensure for 

participating at two conventions (that are not entirely within 

the same five-day period) would cost $150 in fees, and 

licensure for participating at three conventions would cost 

$225 in fees. With the proposed one-year convention license, 

the tattooer would only need to apply for one license a year and 

pay only $75 in fees. This may encourage greater participation 

at Virginia tattoo conventions, helping ensure the success and 

continuation of such conventions. 

As mentioned above, the limited term tattooer license that is 

effective for only five consecutive days has discouraged 

Virginia tattoo parlors from having out-of-state guest tattooers. 

The proposed two-week guest tattooer license would likely 

greatly alleviate that problem by providing sufficient time for 

the guest tattoo artist to practice and make the trip worthwhile. 

As some parlor owners may find having guest tattooers to be 

good for business, this proposal would be beneficial for the 

Commonwealth. 

Training Requirements. DPOR reports that there have been 

numerous complaints concerning tattoo instructor teaching 

ability. Consequently, the Board proposes to require that tattoo 

instructor applicants and permanent cosmetic tattoo instructor 

applicants pass a course on teaching techniques at the post-

secondary level. There is presumably variation in the 

effectiveness of such courses. Thus it is not known whether the 

benefits would exceed the costs of this proposed requirement. 

As for cost, DPOR has indicated that it would accept online 

courses that may cost about $150 in fees and 24 hours (spread 

over six weeks) in time.2 

The regulation includes an extensive list of topics to be 

addressed within tattooing school instruction. It currently 

states that the curriculum requirements shall be taught over a 

minimum of 750 hours. According to DPOR, there is a 

consensus that the curriculum requirements cannot be 

adequately taught within that time. Thus, the Board proposes 

to increase the minimum hours to 1,000. DPOR does not 

anticipate any objection to this change. 

Tattooing School Records. DPOR has heard frequent 

complaints that tattooing schools are withholding progress 

documentation from their students. In response, the Board 

proposes to require that schools, within 21 days of a student's 

request, produce documentation and performances completed 

by that student. This provision would assist students in 

obtaining their records, which are needed for licensure 

applications. 

Businesses and Entities Affected. The proposed amendments 

potentially affect the 642 tattooers, 242 tattoo parlors, 9 

tattooing instructors, 5 tattoo schools, 355 permanent cosmetic 

tattooers, 7 master permanent cosmetic tattooers, 24 permanent 

cosmetic tattoo instructors, 105 permanent cosmetic tattooing 

salons, 14 permanent cosmetic tattooing schools, 127 body 

piercers, 97 body piercing salons, 304 "ear-only" body 

piercers, and 62 body piercer ear only salons licensed by the 

Board. The Board received 191 limited-term tattooer license 

applications in 2017, which would be replaced by an estimated 

100 to 150 convention and guest tattooer applications under the 

proposed regulatory change.3 Most, if not all, of the parlors and 

salons would qualify as small businesses. The proposal to 

require that tattoo instructor applicants and permanent 

cosmetic tattoo instructor applicants pass a course on teaching 

techniques at the post-secondary level would also affect 

providers of such courses. 

Localities Particularly Affected. The proposed amendments do 

not disproportionately affect particular localities. 

Projected Impact on Employment. The proposal to require that 

tattoo instructor applicants and permanent cosmetic tattoo 

instructor applicants pass a course on teaching techniques at 

the post-secondary level may moderately increase employment 

at private providers of such courses. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. The proposal 

to require that tattoo instructor applicants and permanent 

cosmetic tattoo instructor applicants pass a course on teaching 

techniques at the post-secondary level would increase demand 

for and perhaps increase the value of private providers of such 

courses. To the extent that the proposed one-year convention 

license encourages greater participation at Virginia tattoo 

conventions and the proposed two-week guest tattooer license 

increases the profitable use of such tattoo artists at Virginia 

parlors, the use and value of Virginia tattoo conventions and 

tattoo parlors may be positively affected. 

Real Estate Development Costs. The proposed amendments do 

not affect real estate development costs. 

Small Businesses: 

Definition. Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.04 of the Code of Virginia, 

small business is defined as "a business entity, including its 

affiliates, that (i) is independently owned and operated and (ii) 

employs fewer than 500 full-time employees or has gross 

annual sales of less than $6 million." 

Costs and Other Effects. The proposal to require that tattoo 

instructor applicants and permanent cosmetic tattoo instructor 

applicants pass a course on teaching techniques at the post-

secondary level increases costs for these individuals. This 

would likely add cost for tattooing schools, as they may pay 

for all or part of the instructor's cost, or find it more difficult to 

find qualified instructors. The tattooing schools are likely all 

small businesses. 

Alternative Method that Minimizes Adverse Impact. The 

adverse impact stems from increased cost associated with 

trying to improve teaching quality at tattooing schools. There 
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is no clear alternative that would achieve this goal at lower 

cost. 

Adverse Impacts: 

Businesses. The proposal to require that tattoo instructor 

applicants and permanent cosmetic tattoo instructor applicants 

pass a course on teaching techniques at the post-secondary 

level increases costs for these individuals. This would likely 

add cost for tattooing schools, as they may pay for all or part 

of the instructor's cost, or find it more difficult to find qualified 

instructors. 

Localities. The proposed amendments do not adversely affect 

localities. 

Other Entities. The proposal to require that tattoo instructor 

applicants and permanent cosmetic tattoo instructor applicants 

pass a course on teaching techniques at the post-secondary 

level increases costs for these individuals. 

___________________________ 
1The existing and proposed regulations specify a $75 fee through August 31, 

2020, and a $105 fee for September 1, 2020, and after. 
2For example, as of August 24, 2018, the URL the ed2go course Teaching 

Adult Learners indicated a $149 fee and 24 hours of course time over 6 weeks. 

https://www.ed2go.com/courses/teacher-professional-development/child-

development/ilc/teaching-adult-learners 
3Data source: Department of Professional and Occupational Regulation 

Agency's Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The agency 

concurs with the approval of the economic impact analysis 

performed by the Department of Planning and Budget.  

Summary: 

The proposed amendments (i) add the responsible 

management system for tracking ownership of tattooing and 

body-piercing businesses; (ii) significantly alter the limited 

term tattooer license structure; (iii) update training 

requirements for tattoo schools and tattoo instructors; (iv) 

address the release of tattoo school records; and (v) make 

other changes to clarify, update, and standardize the 

regulations. 

The revised proposed amendments include (i) additional 

changes to the limited-term tattooer license structure, which 

eliminate the five-day limited-term tattooer license and 

replace it with a two-week guest tattooer license; (ii) further 

update training requirements for schools and instructors; 

and (iii) create a curriculum for master permanent cosmetic 

tattooing instruction. 

18VAC41-50-10. Definitions. 

The following words and terms when used in this chapter 

shall have the following meanings unless the context clearly 

indicates otherwise. All terms defined in Chapter 7 (§ 54.1-700 

et seq.) of Title 54.1 of the Code of Virginia are incorporated 

in this chapter. 

"Apprenticeship program" means an approved tattooing 

training program conducted by an approved apprenticeship 

sponsor. 

"Apprenticeship sponsor" means an individual approved to 

conduct tattooing apprenticeship training who meets the 

qualifications in 18VAC41-50-70. 

"Aseptic technique" means a hygienic practice that prevents 

and hinders the direct transfer of microorganisms, regardless 

of pathogenicity, from one person or place to another person 

or place. 

"Business entity" means a sole proprietorship, partnership, 

corporation, limited liability company, limited liability 

partnership, or any other form of organization permitted by 

law.  

[ "Convention tattooer" means a tattooer residing outside 

Virginia who is licensed to work only at a tattoo convention 

located in Virginia. ] 

"Direct supervision" means (i) that a Virginia licensed 

tattooer shall be present in the tattoo parlor at all times when 

services are being performed by an apprentice, (ii) that a 

Virginia licensed tattooing instructor shall be present in the 

tattooing school at all times when services are being performed 

by a student, or (iii) that a Virginia licensed permanent 

cosmetic tattooing instructor shall be present in the permanent 

cosmetic tattooing school at all times when services are being 

performed by a student. 

"Endorsement" means a method of obtaining a license by a 

person who is currently licensed in another state. 

[ "Event tattoo parlor" means a tattoo parlor temporary 

location licensed to operate for a maximum of five consecutive 

days. ] 

"Firm" means any business entity recognized under the laws 

of the Commonwealth of Virginia. 

"Gratuitous services" as used in § 54.1-701.5 of the Code 

Virginia means providing tattooing services without receiving 

compensation or reward, or obligation. Gratuitous services do 

not include services provided at no charge when goods are 

purchased. 

"Guest tattooer" means a tattooer or permanent cosmetic 

tattooer residing outside of Virginia who is licensed only to 

work for a two-week period at a specified tattoo parlor or 

permanent cosmetic tattoo salon. 

"Guest tattooer sponsor" means a licensed tattoo parlor or 

permanent cosmetic tattooing salon that is sponsoring and 

providing direct supervision of a guest tattooer. 

"Licensee" means any person, sole proprietorship, 

partnership, association, corporation, limited liability 

company, or corporation limited liability partnership, or any 

other form of organization permitted by law holding a license 

issued by the Board for Barbers and Cosmetology, as defined 

in § 54.1-700 of the Code of Virginia. 

https://www.ed2go.com/courses/teacher-professional-development/child-development/ilc/teaching-adult-learners
https://www.ed2go.com/courses/teacher-professional-development/child-development/ilc/teaching-adult-learners
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"Limited term tattooer" means a tattooer licensed to perform 

tattooing for a maximum of five consecutive days in an 

organized event or in a Virginia licensed tattoo parlor.  

[ "Limited term tattoo parlor" means a tattoo parlor temporary 

location licensed to operate for a maximum of five consecutive 

days. ]  

"Master permanent cosmetic tattooer" means any person who 

for compensation practices permanent cosmetic tattooing 

known in the industry as advanced permanent cosmetic 

tattooing, including but not limited to cheek blush, eye shadow, 

and breast and scar repigmentation or camouflage. 

"Permanent cosmetic tattoo salon" means any place in which 

permanent cosmetic tattooing is offered or practiced for 

compensation. 

"Permanent cosmetic tattooer" means any person who for 

compensation practices permanent cosmetic tattooing known 

in the industry as basic permanent cosmetic tattooing, 

including but not limited to eyebrows, [ microblading, ] 

eyeliners, lip coloring, lip liners, or full lips. 

"Permanent cosmetic tattooing" means placing marks upon or 

under the skin of any person with ink or any other substance, 

resulting in the permanent coloration of the skin on the face, 

including but not limited to eyebrows, eyeliners, lip coloring, 

lip liners, full lips, cheek blush, eye shadow, [ forehead and 

scalp micropigmentation, ] and on the body for breast and scar 

repigmentation or camouflage;, also known as permanent 

make-up makeup or micropigmentation. 

"Permanent cosmetic tattooing instructor" means a person 

who has been certified by the board who meets the competency 

standards of the board as an instructor of permanent cosmetic 

tattooing. 

"Permanent cosmetic tattooing school" means a place or 

establishment licensed by the board to accept and train students 

and offers a permanent cosmetic tattooing curriculum 

approved by the board. 

[ "Pigments" means tattooing ink designed for use on human 

skin. ] 

"Post-secondary educational level" means an accredited 

college or university that is approved or accredited by an 

accrediting agency that is recognized by the U.S. Department 

of Education. 

"Reinstatement" means having a license restored to 

effectiveness after the expiration date has passed. 

"Renewal" means continuing the effectiveness of a license for 

another period of time. 

"Responsible management" means the following individuals: 

1. The sole proprietor of a sole proprietorship; 

2. The partners of a general partnership; 

3. The managing partners of a limited partnership; 

4. The officers of a corporation; 

5. The managers of a limited liability company; 

6. The officers or directors of an association or both; and 

7. Individuals in other business entities recognized under the 

laws of the Commonwealth as having a fiduciary 

responsibility to the firm. 

"Sole proprietor" means any individual, not a corporation, 

who is trading under his own name or under an assumed or 

fictitious name pursuant to the provisions of §§ 59.1-69 

through 59.1-76 of the Code of Virginia.  

"Sterilization area" means a separate room or area separate 

from workstations with restricted client access in which 

tattooing instruments are cleaned, disinfected, and sterilized. 

"Tattoo convention" means an event where Virginia and out-

of-state tattooers gather for no more than five consecutive days 

to offer tattooing services to the public. 

"Tattooing instructor" means a person who has been certified 

by the board who meets the competency standards of the board 

as an instructor of tattooing. 

"Temporary location" means a fixed location at which 

tattooing is performed for a specified length of time of not 

more than five days in conjunction with a single event or 

celebration. 

18VAC41-50-20. General requirements for tattooer, 

limited term [ convention tattooer ] guest tattooer, 

permanent cosmetic tattooer, or master permanent 

cosmetic tattooer. 

A. In order to receive a license as a tattooer, limited term 

tattooer, permanent cosmetic tattooer, or master permanent 

cosmetic tattooer in compliance with § 54.1-703 of the Code 

of Virginia, an applicant must Any individual wishing to 

engage in tattooing, [ limited term guest ] tattooing, permanent 

cosmetic tattooing, or master permanent cosmetic tattooing 

shall obtain a license in compliance with § 54.1-703 of the 

Code of Virginia and meet the following qualifications: 

1. The applicant must be in good standing as a tattooer, 

limited term [ convention tattooer, ] guest tattooer, 

permanent cosmetic tattooer, or master permanent cosmetic 

tattooer in every jurisdiction where licensed, certified, or 

registered. The applicant shall disclose to the board at the 

time of application for licensure any disciplinary action 

taken in another Virginia or any other jurisdiction in 

connection with the applicant's practice as a tattooer, 

[ limited term guest ] tattooer, permanent cosmetic tattooer, 

or master permanent cosmetic tattooer. This disclosure 

includes monetary penalties, fines, suspensions, revocations, 

surrender of a license in connection with a disciplinary 

action, or voluntary termination of a license. The applicant 
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shall disclose to the board at the time of application for 

licensure whether if he has been previously licensed in 

Virginia as a tattooer, [ limited term guest ] tattooer, 

permanent cosmetic tattooer, or master permanent cosmetic 

tattooer. 

Upon review of the applicant's prior disciplinary action, the 

board, in its discretion, may deny licensure to any applicant 

wherein the board deems the applicant is unfit or unsuited to 

engage in tattooing, [ convention tattooing, ] guest tattooing, 

permanent cosmetic tattooing, or master permanent 

cosmetic tattooing. The board will decide each case by 

taking into account the totality of the circumstances. Any 

plea of nolo contendere or comparable plea shall be 

considered a disciplinary action for the purposes of this 

subdivision. The applicant shall provide a certified copy of 

a final order, decree, or case decision by a court, regulatory 

agency, or board with the lawful authority to issue such 

order, decree, or case decision, and such copy shall be 

admissible as prima facie evidence of such disciplinary 

action. 

2. The applicant shall disclose his physical address. A post 

office box is not acceptable. 

3. The applicant shall sign, as part of the application, a 

statement certifying that the applicant has read and 

understands the Virginia tattooing license laws and the 

board's tattooing regulations this chapter. 

4. In accordance with § 54.1-204 of the Code of Virginia, the 

each applicant must not have been convicted in any 

jurisdiction of a misdemeanor or felony that directly relates 

to the profession of tattooing. The board shall have the 

authority to determine, based upon all the information 

available, including the applicant's record of prior 

convictions, if the applicant is unfit or unsuited to engage in 

the profession of tattooing. The board will decide each case 

by taking into account the totality of the circumstances. Any 

plea of nolo contendere shall be considered a conviction for 

the purposes of this section. The applicant shall provide a 

certified copy of a final order, decree or case decision by a 

court or regulatory agency with the lawful authority to issue 

such order, decree or case decision, and such copy shall be 

admissible as prima facie evidence of such conviction. This 

record shall be forwarded by the applicant to the board 

within 10 days after all appeal rights have expired. shall 

disclose the following information regarding criminal 

convictions in Virginia and all other jurisdictions: 

a. All misdemeanor convictions involving moral 

turpitude, sexual offense, drug distribution, or physical 

injury within two years of the date of the application; and 

b. All felony convictions within 20 years of the date of 

application. 

Any plea of nolo contendere shall be considered a conviction 

for purposes of this subdivision. The record of a conviction 

received from a court shall be accepted as prima facie 

evidence of a conviction or finding of guilt. The board, in its 

discretion, may deny licensure to any applicant in 

accordance with § 54.1-204 of the Code of Virginia. 

5. The applicant shall provide evidence satisfactory to the 

board that the applicant has passed the board approved 

examination, administered either by the board or by a 

designated testing service. 

6. Persons who (i) make application for licensure between 

October 1, 2006, and September 30, 2007; (ii) have 

completed three years of documented work experience 

within the preceding five years as a tattooer; and (iii) have 

completed a minimum of five hours of health education to 

include but not limited to bloodborne disease, sterilization, 

and aseptic techniques related to tattooing and first aid and 

CPR that is acceptable to the board are not required to 

complete subdivision 5 of this subsection.  

B. Eligibility to sit for board-approved examination. 

1. Training in the Commonwealth of Virginia. 

[ a. ] Any person completing an approved tattooing 

apprenticeship program in a Virginia licensed tattoo parlor 

or completing an approved tattooing training program in a 

Virginia licensed school of tattooing, or completing a 

permanent cosmetic tattooing [ or master permanent 

cosmetic tattooing ] training program in a Virginia 

licensed permanent cosmetic tattooing school shall be 

eligible to sit for the applicable examination. 

[ b. Any person completing master permanent cosmetic 

tattooing training that is acceptable to the board shall be 

eligible to sit for the examination. Training should be 

conducted in a permanent facility. ]  

2. Training outside of the Commonwealth of Virginia, but 

within the United States and its territories. 

[ a. ] Any person completing a tattooing [ or, ] permanent 

cosmetic tattooing [ training, or master permanent 

cosmetic tattooing training program, ] or tattooing 

apprenticeship [ program, ] that is substantially equivalent 

to the Virginia program but is outside of the 

Commonwealth of Virginia must submit to the board 

documentation of the successful completion of training or 

apprenticeship to be eligible for examination. If less than 

the required hours [ of tattooing or permanent cosmetic 

tattooing training or tattooing apprenticeship was were ] 

completed, an applicant must submit (i) documentation 

acceptable to the board verifying the completion of a 

substantially equivalent tattooing training or tattooing 

apprenticeship or permanent cosmetic tattooing training 

[ or master permanent cosmetic tattooing ] or 

documentation of three years of work experience within 

the preceding five years as a tattooer, and (ii) 

documentation of completion of a minimum of five hours 

of health education to include but not limited to blood-
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borne disease (a) bloodborne pathogens, sterilization, and 

aseptic techniques related to tattooing and; (b) first aid; 

and (c) CPR that is acceptable to the board in order to be 

eligible for examination. 

[ b. Any person completing master permanent cosmetic 

tattooing training that is acceptable to the board shall be 

eligible to sit for the examination. Training should be 

conducted in a permanent facility. ] 

18VAC41-50-30. License by endorsement. 

Upon proper application to the board, any person currently 

licensed to practice as a tattooer, permanent cosmetic tattooer, 

or master permanent cosmetic tattooer in any other state or 

jurisdiction of the United States and who has completed a 

training or apprenticeship program and an examination that is 

substantially equivalent to that required by this chapter may be 

issued a tattooer license, permanent cosmetic tattooer license, 

or master permanent cosmetic tattooer license, respectively, 

without an examination. The applicant must also meet the 

requirements set forth in 18VAC41-50-20 A 1 through A 4. 

18VAC41-50-40. Examination requirements and fees. 

A. Applicants for initial licensure shall pass an examination 

approved by the board. The examinations may be administered 

by the board or by a designated testing service. 

B. Any candidate failing to appear as scheduled for 

examination shall forfeit the examination fee. 

C. The applicant shall follow all procedures established by 

the board with regard to conduct at the examination. Such 

procedures shall include any written instructions 

communicated prior to the examination date and any 

instructions communicated at the site, either written or oral, on 

the date of the examination. Failure to comply with all 

procedures established by the board and the testing service 

with regard to conduct at the examination may be grounds for 

denial of application. 

D. Any applicant who does not pass a reexamination within 

one year of the initial examination date shall be required to 

submit a new application. 

E. The fee for examination or reexamination is subject to 

contracted charges to the board by an outside vendor. These 

contracts are competitively negotiated and bargained for in 

compliance with the Virginia Public Procurement Act (§ 2.2-

4300 et seq. of the Code of Virginia). Fees may be adjusted and 

charged to the candidate in accordance with these contracts. 

The fee shall not exceed $225 per candidate.  

F. Any candidate failing to apply for initial licensure within 

five years of passing the written examination shall be required 

to retake the examination. Records of examinations shall be 

maintained for a maximum of five years.  

18VAC41-50-50. Reexamination requirements. 

(Repealed.) 

Any applicant who does not pass a reexamination within one 

year of the initial examination date shall be required to submit 

a new application and examination fee.  

18VAC41-50-60. Examination administration. (Repealed.) 

A. The examinations may be administered by the board or the 

designated testing service.  

B. The applicant shall follow all procedures established by 

the board with regard to conduct at the examination. Such 

procedures shall include any written instructions 

communicated prior to the examination date and any 

instructions communicated at the site, either written or oral, on 

the date of the examination. Failure to comply with all 

procedures established by the board and the testing service 

with regard to conduct at the examination may be grounds for 

denial of application.  

C. The fee for examination or reexamination is subject to 

contracted charges to the board by an outside vendor. These 

contracts are competitively negotiated and bargained for in 

compliance with the Virginia Public Procurement Act (§ 2.2-

4300 et seq. of the Code of Virginia). Fees may be adjusted and 

charged to the candidate in accordance with these contracts. 

The fee shall not exceed $225 per candidate.  

18VAC41-50-80. Tattoo parlor, [ limited term event ] tattoo 

parlor, or permanent cosmetic tattoo. 

A. Any individual firm wishing to operate a tattoo parlor, 

[ limited term event ] tattoo parlor, or permanent cosmetic 

tattoo salon shall obtain a tattoo parlor license, [ limited term 

event ] tattoo parlor license, or permanent cosmetic tattoo salon 

license in compliance with § 54.1-704.1 of the Code of 

Virginia. and shall meet the following qualifications in order 

to receive a license: 

1. The applicant and all members of the responsible 

management shall be in good standing as a licensed parlor 

or salon in Virginia and all other jurisdictions where 

licensed. The applicant and all members of the responsible 

management shall disclose to the board at the time of 

application for licensure any disciplinary action taken in 

Virginia and all other jurisdictions in connection with the 

applicant's operation of any tattoo parlor, [ limited term 

event ] tattoo parlor, or permanent cosmetic tattoo salon or 

practice of the profession. This disclosure includes monetary 

penalties, fines, suspensions, revocations, surrender of a 

license in connection with a disciplinary action, or voluntary 

termination of a license. The applicant shall disclose to the 

board at the time of application for licensure if the applicant 

or any member of the responsible management has been 

previously licensed in Virginia as a tattoo parlor, [ limited 

term event ] tattoo parlor, or permanent cosmetic tattoo 

salon.  
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Upon review of the applicant's and all members of the 

responsible management's prior disciplinary action, the 

board, in its discretion, may deny licensure to any applicant 

wherein it deems the applicant is unfit or unsuited to engage 

in the operation of a tattoo parlor, [ limited term event ] 

tattoo parlor, or permanent cosmetic tattoo salon. The board 

will decide each case by taking into account the totality of 

the circumstances. Any plea of nolo contendere or 

comparable plea shall be considered a disciplinary action for 

the purposes of this subdivision. The applicant shall provide 

a certified copy of a final order, decree, or case decision by 

a court, regulatory agency, or board with the lawful authority 

to issue such order, decree, or case decision, and such copy 

shall be admissible as prima facie evidence of such 

disciplinary action.  

2. The applicant shall disclose his physical address. A post 

office box is not acceptable. 

3. The applicant shall sign, as part of the application, a 

statement certifying that the applicant has read and 

understands the Virginia tattooing license laws and this 

chapter.  

4. In accordance with § 54.1-204 of the Code of Virginia, 

each applicant shall disclose the following information about 

the firm and all members of the responsible management 

regarding criminal convictions in Virginia and all other 

jurisdictions: 

a. All misdemeanor convictions involving moral 

turpitude, sexual offense, drug distribution, or physical 

injury within two years of the date of the application; and 

b. All felony convictions within 20 years of the date of 

application. 

Any plea of nolo contendere shall be considered a conviction 

for purposes of this subdivision. The record of a conviction 

received from a court shall be accepted as prima facie 

evidence of a conviction or finding of guilt. The board, in its 

discretion, may deny licensure to any applicant in 

accordance with § 54.1-204 of the Code of Virginia. 

5. The applicant shall disclose the firm's responsible 

management. 

B. A tattoo parlor license, [ limited term event ] tattoo parlor 

license, or permanent cosmetic tattoo salon license shall not be 

transferable and shall bear the same name and address of the 

business. Any changes in the name, or address, or ownership 

of the parlor or salon shall be reported to the board in writing 

within 30 days of such changes. New owners shall be 

responsible for reporting such changes in writing to the board 

applying for a new license within 30 days of the changes. 

C. In the event of a closing of a tattoo parlor or permanent 

cosmetic tattoo salon, the board must be notified by the owners 

in writing within 30 days of the closing, and the license must 

be returned by the owners to the board. Whenever the legal 

business entity holding the license is dissolved or altered to 

form a new business entity, the original license becomes void 

and shall be returned to the board within 30 days of the change. 

Additionally, the firm shall apply for a new license within 30 

days of the change in the business entity. Such changes 

include: 

1. Death of a sole proprietor; 

2. Death or withdrawal of a general partner in a general 

partnership or the managing partner in a limited partnership; 

and 

3. Conversion, formation, or dissolution of a corporation, a 

limited liability company, an association, or any other 

business entity recognized under the laws of the 

Commonwealth of Virginia. 

D. Any change in the officers of a corporation, managers of a 

limited liability company, or officers or directors of an 

association shall be reported to the board in writing within 30 

days of the change. 

E. Any tattoo parlor or permanent cosmetic tattoo salon 

wishing to host a guest tattooer must identify itself as the guest 

tattooer sponsor and must provide direct supervision of any 

tattooing by the guest tattooer. 

D. F. Any individual firm wishing to operate a tattoo parlor 

in a temporary location must have a tattoo parlor license or 

[ limited term event ] tattoo parlor license issued by the board. 

E. G. A [ limited term event ] tattoo parlor license is effective 

for five consecutive days prior to the expiration date. 

F. H. A person or entity firm may obtain a maximum of five 

[ limited term event ] tattoo parlor licenses within a calendar 

year. 

G. [ I. A person or entity firm may obtain a maximum of two 

limited term tattoo parlor licenses within a 30 consecutive days 

time period. ]  

18VAC41-50-90. Limited term tattooer license. (Repealed.) 

A. A limited term tattooer license is effective for five 

consecutive days prior to the expiration date.  

B. A person may obtain a maximum of five limited term 

tattooer licenses within a calendar year.  

C. A person may obtain a maximum of two limited term 

tattooer licenses within a 30 consecutive days time period.  

D. A limited term tattooer applicant must meet the following 

qualifications:  

1. Requirements set forth in 18VAC41-50-20 A 1 through A 

4.  

2. Documentation of health education knowledge to include 

but not limited to blood-borne disease, sterilization, and 
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aseptic techniques related to tattooing, and first aid and CPR 

that is acceptable to the board.  

E. A limited term tattooer applicant is not required to 

complete 18VAC41-50-20 A 5.  

18VAC41-50-91. [ Convention Guest ] tattooer license.  

[ A. A convention tattooer license shall expire one year from 

the last day of the month in which it was issued.  

B. A convention tattooer applicant must meet the following 

qualifications:  

1. Requirements set forth in 18VAC41-50-20 A 1 through A 

4.  

2. Present documentation showing out-of-state residency. 

3. Documentation of health education knowledge to include 

(i) bloodborne disease, sterilization, and aseptic techniques 

related to tattooing; (ii) first aid; and (iii) CPR that is 

acceptable to the board.  

C. A convention tattooer applicant is not required to complete 

18VAC41-50-20 A 5.  

A. A guest tattooer license is effective for 14 days prior to the 

expiration date. 

B. An out-of-state resident may obtain up to five guest 

tattooer licenses per calendar year. 

C. A guest tattooer applicant must meet the following 

qualifications:  

1. Requirements set forth in 18VAC41-50-20 A 1 through A 

4.  

2. Present documentation showing out-of-state residency. 

3. Documentation of health education knowledge to include 

(i) bloodborne disease, sterilization, and aseptic techniques 

related to tattooing; (ii) first aid; and (iii) CPR that is 

acceptable to the board.  

4. Documentation showing guest tattooer sponsor, including 

signature of sponsor parlor's responsible management. 

D. A guest tattooer must provide the name and license number 

of the guest tattooer's sponsor, and the duration of the guest 

tatttooer's tattooing for all guest tattooer locations. 

E. A guest tattooer applicant is not required to complete 

18VAC41-50-20 A 5. ] 

18VAC41-50-92. Guest tattooer [ sponsor ]. 

[ A. A guest tattooer license is effective for 14 days prior to 

the expiration date. 

B. An out-of-state resident may obtain up to three guest 

tattooer licenses per calendar year. 

C. A guest tattooer applicant must meet the following 

qualifications:  

1. Requirements set forth in 18VAC41-50-20 A 1 through A 4.  

2. Present documentation showing out-of-state residency. 

3. Documentation of health education knowledge to include 

(i) bloodborne disease, sterilization, and aseptic techniques 

related to tattooing; (ii) first aid; and (iii) CPR that is 

acceptable to the board.  

4. Documentation showing guest tattooer sponsor including 

signature of sponsor parlor's responsible management. 

D. A guest tattooer applicant is not required to complete 

18VAC41-50-20 A 5.  

A. The licensed tattoo parlor that agrees to sponsor a guest 

tattooer shall ensure that the guest tattooer: 

1. Has a valid, current guest tattooer license for the entire 

duration of his tattooing at the parlor. 

2. Is directly supervised by a licensed tattooer. 

3. Complies with all Virginia regulations relating to health, 

sanitation, client qualifications, and standards of practice. 

B. The licensed permanent cosmetic tattooing salon that 

agrees to sponsor a guest tattooer shall ensure that the guest 

tattooer: 

1. Has a valid, current guest tattooer licensed for the entire 

duration of his tattooing at the salon. 

2. Is directly supervised by a licensed tattooer or permanent 

cosmetic tattooer. 

3. Complies with all Virginia regulations relating to health, 

sanitation, client qualifications, and standards of practice. 

C. With the exception of tattoo conventions, a member of the 

guest tattooer sponsor's responsible management must sign the 

guest tattooer application certifying the sponsor will ensure the 

requirements of subsections A and B of this section. 

D. The guest tattooer sponsor shall be responsible for the acts 

or omissions of the guest tattooer in the performance of 

tattooing or permanent cosmetic tattooing. ] 

[ 18VAC41-50-93. Guest tattooer sponsor.  

A. The licensed tattoo parlor that agrees to sponsor a guest 

tattooer shall ensure that the guest tattooer: 

1. Has a valid, current guest tattooer license for the entire 

duration of his tattooing at the parlor. 

2. Is directly supervised by a licensed tattooer. 

3. Complies with all Virginia regulations relating to health, 

sanitation, client qualifications, and standards of practice. 

B. The licensed permanent cosmetic tattooing salon that 

agrees to sponsor a guest tattooer shall ensure that the guest 

tattooer: 
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1. Has a valid, current guest tattooer licensed for the entire 

duration of his tattooing at the salon. 

2. Is directly supervised by a licensed tattooer or permanent 

cosmetic tattooer. 

3. Complies with all Virginia regulations relating to health, 

sanitation, client qualifications, and standards of practice. 

C. The guest tattooer sponsor's responsible management must 

sign the guest tattooer application certifying the sponsor will 

ensure the requirements of subsections A and B of this section. 

D. The guest tattooer sponsor shall be responsible for the acts 

or omissions of the guest tattooer in the performance of 

tattooing or permanent cosmetic tattooing. ] 

18VAC41-50-100. School license. 

A. Any individual firm wishing to operate a tattooing school 

or permanent cosmetic tattooing school shall obtain a school 

license in compliance with § 54.1-704.2 of the Code of 

Virginia. and shall meet the following qualifications in order 

to receive a license: 

1. The applicant and all members of the responsible 

management shall be in good standing as a licensed parlor 

or salon in Virginia and all other jurisdictions where 

licensed. The applicant and all members of the responsible 

management shall disclose to the board at the time of 

application for licensure any disciplinary action taken in 

Virginia and all other jurisdictions in connection with the 

applicant's operation of any tattoo parlor, event tattoo parlor, 

or permanent cosmetic tattoo salon or practice of the 

profession. This disclosure includes monetary penalties, 

fines, suspensions, revocations, surrender of a license in 

connection with a disciplinary action, or voluntary 

termination of a license. The applicant shall disclose to the 

board at the time of application for licensure if the applicant 

or any member of the responsible management has been 

previously licensed in Virginia as a tattoo parlor, event tattoo 

parlor, or permanent cosmetic tattoo salon.  

Upon review of the applicant's and all members of the 

responsible management's prior disciplinary action, the 

board, in its discretion, may deny licensure to any applicant 

wherein it deems the applicant is unfit or unsuited to engage 

in the operation of a tattoo parlor, event tattoo parlor, or 

permanent cosmetic tattoo salon. The board will decide each 

case by taking into account the totality of the circumstances. 

Any plea of nolo contendere or comparable plea shall be 

considered a disciplinary action for the purposes of this 

subdivision. The applicant shall provide a certified copy of 

a final order, decree, or case decision by a court, regulatory 

agency, or board with the lawful authority to issue such 

order, decree, or case decision, and such copy shall be 

admissible as prima facie evidence of such disciplinary 

action.  

2. The applicant shall disclose his physical address. A post 

office box is not acceptable. 

3. The applicant shall sign, as part of the application, a 

statement certifying that the applicant has read and 

understands the Virginia tattooing license laws and this 

chapter.  

4. In accordance with § 54.1-204 of the Code of Virginia, 

each applicant shall disclose the following information about 

the firm and all members of the responsible management 

regarding criminal convictions in Virginia and all other 

jurisdictions: 

a. All misdemeanor convictions involving moral 

turpitude, sexual offense, drug distribution, or physical 

injury within two years of the date of the application; and 

b. All felony convictions within 20 years of the date of 

application. 

Any plea of nolo contendere shall be considered a conviction 

for purposes of this subdivision. The record of a conviction 

received from a court shall be accepted as prima facie 

evidence of a conviction or finding of guilt. The board, in its 

discretion, may deny licensure to any applicant in 

accordance with § 54.1-204 of the Code of Virginia. 

5. The applicant shall disclose the firm's responsible 

management. 

B. A tattooing school license or permanent cosmetic tattooing 

school license shall not be transferable and shall bear the same 

name and address as the school. Any changes in the name or 

address of the school shall be reported to the board in writing 

within 30 days of such change. The name of the school must 

indicate that it is an educational institution. All signs or other 

advertisements must reflect the name as indicated on the 

license issued by the board and contain language indicating it 

is an educational institution. 

C. In the event of a change of ownership of a school, the new 

owners shall be responsible for reporting such changes in 

writing to the board within 30 days of the changes. Whenever 

the legal business entity holding the license is dissolved or 

altered to form a new business entity, the original license 

becomes void and shall be returned to the board within 30 days 

of the change. Additionally, the firm shall apply for a new 

license within 30 days of the change in the business entity. 

Such changes include: 

1. Death of a sole proprietor; 

2. Death or withdrawal of a general partner in a general 

partnership or the managing partner in a limited partnership; 

and 

3. Conversion, formation, or dissolution of a corporation, a 

limited liability company, an association, or any other 

business entity recognized under the laws of the 

Commonwealth of Virginia. 
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D. In the event of a school closing, the board must be notified 

by the owners in writing within 30 days of the closing, and the 

license must be returned. Within 30 days of the closing, the 

school shall return the license to the board and provide a 

written report to the board on performances and hours of each 

student who has not completed the program. 

E. Any change in the officers of a corporation, managers of a 

limited liability company, or officers or directors of an 

association shall be reported to the board in writing within 30 

days of the change. 

18VAC41-50-110. Tattooing instructor certificate. 

A. Upon filing an application with the Board for Barbers and 

Cosmetology, any person meeting the qualifications set forth 

in this section shall be eligible for a tattooing instructor 

certificate if the person: 

1. Holds a current Virginia tattooer license; and 

2. Provides documentation of [ three years of work 

experience within the past legally tattooing for at least ] five 

years; and  

3. Passes a course on teaching techniques in a post-

secondary education level. 

B. Tattooing instructors shall be required to maintain a 

tattooer license. 

18VAC41-50-120. Permanent cosmetic tattooing instructor 

certificate. 

A. Upon filing an application with the Board for Barbers and 

Cosmetology, any person meeting the qualifications set forth 

in this section shall be eligible for a permanent cosmetic 

tattooing instructor certificate if the person: 

1. Holds a current Virginia permanent cosmetic tattooer 

license or master permanent cosmetic tattooer license; and 

2. Provides documentation of [ three years of work 

experience within the past legally tattooing for at least ] five 

years; and 

3. Passes a course on teaching techniques at the post-

secondary education level. 

B. Permanent cosmetic tattooing instructors shall be required 

to maintain a permanent cosmetic tattooer license or master 

permanent cosmetic tattooer license. 

18VAC41-50-130. Fees. 

The following fees apply: 

FEE TYPE AMOUNT 

DUE 

September 

1, 2016, 

through 

August 31, 

2020 

AMOUNT 

DUE 

September 

1, 2020, 

and after 

WHEN 

DUE 

Individuals: 

Application $75 $105 
With 

application 

License by 
Endorsement 

$75 $105 
With 

application 

Renewal $75 $105 

With 

renewal 

card prior 

to 

expiration 

date 

Reinstatement 

$150* 

*includes 

$75 renewal 
fee and $75 
reinstatement 

fee 

$210* 

*includes 
$105 

renewal fee 

and $105 
reinstatement 

fee 

With 
reinstatement 

application 

Instructors: 

Application $100 $125 
With 

application 

License by 
Endorsement 

$100 $125 
With 

application 

Renewal $100 $150 

With 

renewal 

card prior 

to 

expiration 

date 

Reinstatement 

$200* 

*includes 

$100 
renewal fee 

and $100 
reinstatement 

fee 

$300* 

*includes 

$150 
renewal fee 

and $150 
reinstatement 

fee 

With 
reinstatement 

application 

Parlors or salons: 

Application $130 $190 
With 

application 

Renewal $130 $190 

With 

renewal 

card prior 

to 

expiration 

date 
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Reinstatement 

$260* 

*includes 

$130 
renewal fee 

and $130 
reinstatement 

fee 

$380* 

*includes 

$190 
renewal fee 

and $190 
reinstatement 

fee 

With 
reinstatement 

application 

Schools: 

Application $140 $220 
With 

application 

Renewal $140 $220 

With 

renewal 

card prior 

to 

expiration 

date 

Reinstatement 

$280* 

*includes 

$140 

renewal fee 

and $140 
reinstatement 

fee 

$440* 

*includes 

$220 

renewal fee 

and $220 
reinstatement 

fee 

With 
reinstatement 

application 

Part IV 

Renewal/Reinstatement Renewal and Resinstatement 

18VAC41-50-150. License renewal required. 

All tattooer [ 1. A. ] Tattooer licenses, tattoo parlor licenses, 

tattooing instructors licenses, tattooing schools licenses, 

permanent cosmetic tattooer licenses, master permanent 

cosmetic tattooer licenses, permanent cosmetic tattoo salon 

licenses, and permanent cosmetic tattooing schools licenses 

shall expire two years from the last day of the month in which 

they were issued. 

[ 2. Convention tattooer licenses shall expire one year from 

the last day of the month in which it was issued. 

3. B. ] Guest tattooer licenses will expire 14 days after the 

effective date of the license and may not be renewed. 

18VAC41-50-160. Continuing education requirement. 

All licensed tattooers, permanent cosmetic tattooers, and 

master permanent cosmetic tattooers shall be required to 

satisfactorily complete [ a minimum of five hours of ] health 

education to include but not limited to (i) bloodborne disease, 

sterilization, and aseptic techniques related to tattooing, (ii) 

first aid; and (iii) CPR during their licensed term. 

Documentation of training completion shall be provided at the 

time of renewal along with the required fee. 

18VAC41-50-180. Failure to renew. 

A. When a tattooer, permanent cosmetic tattooer, or master 

permanent cosmetic tattooer licensed or certified individual or 

business entity fails to renew his its license within 30 days 

following its the expiration date of the license, the licensee 

shall meet the renewal requirements as prescribed in 

18VAC41-50-170 and apply for reinstatement of the license by 

submitting to the Department of Professional and Occupational 

Regulation a reinstatement application along with the required 

renewal and reinstatement fees. 

B. When a tattooer, permanent cosmetic tattooer, or master 

permanent cosmetic tattooer licensed or certified individual or 

business entity fails to renew his its license within two years 

following the expiration date, reinstatement is no longer 

possible. To resume practice, the former licensee shall apply 

for licensure as a new applicant, shall meet all current 

application requirements, shall pass the board's current 

examination, and shall receive a new license. 

C. When a tattoo parlor or permanent cosmetic tattoo salon 

fails to renew its license within 30 days following the 

expiration date, it shall be required to apply for reinstatement 

of the license by submitting to the Department of Professional 

and Occupational Regulation a reinstatement application along 

with the required renewal and reinstatement fees.  

D. When a tattoo parlor or permanent cosmetic tattoo salon 

fails to renew its license within two years following the 

expiration date, reinstatement is no longer possible. To resume 

practice, the former licensee shall apply for licensure as a new 

applicant and shall meet all current application requirements.  

E. When a tattooing school or permanent cosmetic tattooing 

school fails to renew its license within 30 days following the 

expiration date, the licensee shall be required to apply for 

reinstatement of the license by submitting to the Department of 

Professional and Occupational Regulation a reinstatement 

application along with the required renewal and reinstatement 

fees.  

F. When a tattooing school or permanent cosmetic tattooing 

school fails to renew its license within two years following the 

expiration date, reinstatement is no longer possible. To resume 

practice, the former licensee shall apply for licensure as a new 

applicant and shall meet all current application requirements.  

C. The application for reinstatement for a school shall provide 

(i) the reasons for failing to renew prior to the expiration date, 

and (ii) a notarized statement that all students currently 

enrolled or seeking to enroll at the school have been notified in 

writing that the school's license has expired. All of these 

materials shall be called the application package. 

Reinstatement will be considered by the board if the school 

consents to and satisfactorily passes an inspection of the school 

and if the school's records are maintained in accordance with 

18VAC41-50-250 and 18VAC41-50-330. Pursuant to 

18VAC41-50-100, 18VAC41-50-230, and 18VAC41-50-310 

upon receipt of the reinstatement fee, application package, and 

inspection results, the board may reinstate the school's license 

or require requalification or both. If the reinstatement 

application package and reinstatement fee are not received by 

the board within six months following the expiration date of 

the school's license, the board will notify the testing service 
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that prospective graduates of the unlicensed school are not 

acceptable candidates for the examination. Such notification 

will be sent to the school and must be displayed in a 

conspicuous manner by the school in an area that is accessible 

to the public. No student shall be disqualified from taking the 

examination because the school was not licensed for a portion 

of the time the student attended if the school license is 

reinstated by the board. 

G. D. The date a renewal fee is received by the Department 

of Professional and Occupational Regulation, or its agent, will 

be used to determine whether the requirement for reinstatement 

of a license is applicable and an additional fee is required. 

H. E. When a license is reinstated, the licensee shall have the 

same license number and shall be assigned an expiration date 

two years from the previous expiration date of the license date 

of the last day of the month of reinstatement. 

I. F. A licensee who that reinstates his its license shall be 

regarded as having been continuously licensed without 

interruption. Therefore, a licensee shall be subject to the 

authority of the board for activities performed prior to 

reinstatement. 

J. G. A licensee who that fails to reinstate his its license shall 

be regarded as unlicensed from the expiration date of the 

license forward. Nothing in this chapter shall divest the board 

of its authority to discipline a licensee for a violation of the law 

or regulations during the period of time for which the 

individual was licensed. 

[ 18VAC41-50-210. Hours of instruction and 

performances. 

A. Curriculum requirements specified in 18VAC41-50-200 

shall be taught over a minimum of 1500 hours as follows: 

1. 350 hours shall be devoted to theory pertaining to 

subdivisions 1, 2, 4, 5, 6, 8, and 9 of 18VAC41-50-200; 

2. 150 hours shall be devoted to theory pertaining to 

subdivision 3 of 18VAC41-50-200; and 

3. The remaining 1000 hours shall be devoted to practical 

training to include but not limited to apprenticeship 

curriculum requirements and a total minimum of 100 

performances pertaining to subdivision 7 of 18VAC41-50-

200. 

B. An approved tattooing apprenticeship program may 

conduct an assessment of an apprentice's competence in the 

theory and practical requirements for tattooing and, based on 

the assessment, give a maximum of 700 hours of credit towards 

the requirements in subdivisions A 1 and A 3 of this section. 

No credit shall be allowed for the 150 hours required in 

subdivision A 2 of this section. ]  

18VAC41-50-230. General requirements. 

A tattooing school shall: 

1. Hold a tattooing school license for each and every 

location. 

2. Hold a tattoo parlor license if the school receives 

compensation for services provided in the area where 

practical instruction is conducted and services are provided. 

3. Employ a staff of certified tattooing instructors. 

4. Develop individuals for entry-level competency in 

tattooing. 

5. Submit its curricula for board approval. All changes to 

curricula must be resubmitted and approved by the board. 

6. Inform the public that all services are performed by 

students if the tattooing school receives compensation for 

services provided in its clinic by posting a notice in the 

reception area of the shop or salon in plain view of the 

public. 

7. Conduct classroom instruction in an area separate from 

the area where practical instruction is conducted and 

services are provided. 

8. Conduct all instruction and training of tattooers under the 

direct supervision of a certified tattooing instructor. 

18VAC41-50-240. School identification. (Repealed.) 

Each tattooing school approved by the board shall identify 

itself to the public as a teaching institution.  

18VAC41-50-250. Records. 

A. Schools are required to keep upon graduation, termination, 

or withdrawal, written records of hours and performances 

showing what instruction a student has received for a period of 

five years after the student terminates or completes the 

curriculum of the school. These records shall be available for 

inspection by the department. All records must be kept on the 

premises of each school. 

B. For a period of five years after a student completes the 

curriculum, terminates, or withdraws from the school, schools 

are required to provide documentation of hours and 

performances completed by a student upon receipt of a written 

request from the student. 

C. Schools shall within 21 days upon receipt of a written 

request from a student provide documentation of hours and 

performances completed by the student as required to be 

maintained by subsection A of this section. 

C. D. Prior to a school changing ownership or a school 

closing, the schools are required to provide to current students 

documentation of hours and performances completed. 

D. E. For a period of one year after a school changes 

ownership, schools are required to provide documentation of 
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hours and performances completed by a current student upon 

receipt of a written request from the student. 

18VAC41-50-260. Hours reported. (Repealed.) 

Within 30 days of the closing of a licensed tattooing school 

for any reason, the school shall provide a written report to the 

board on performances and hours of each of its students who 

has not completed the program.  

18VAC41-50-270. Health education. (Repealed.) 

Any person desiring to enroll in the tattooing school shall be 

required to provide documentation of satisfactory completion 

of a minimum of five hours of health education to include but 

not limited to blood-borne disease, sterilization, and aseptic 

techniques related to tattooing, and first aid and CPR.  

18VAC41-50-280. Tattooing school curriculum 

requirements. 

A. Any person desiring to enroll in the tattooing school shall 

be required to provide documentation of satisfactory 

completion of a minimum of five hours of health education to 

include (i) bloodborne disease, sterilization, and aseptic 

techniques related to tattooing; (ii) first aid; and (iii) CPR.  

B. Tattooing school curriculum requirements are as follows: 

1. Microbiology. 

a. Microorganisms, viruses, bacteria, fungus; 

b. Transmission cycle of infectious diseases; and 

c. Characteristics of antimicrobial agents. 

2. Immunization. 

a. Types of immunizations; 

b. Hepatitis A—G A through G transmission and 

immunization; 

c. HIV/AIDS; 

d. Tetanus, streptococcal, zoonotic, tuberculosis, 

pneumococcal, and influenza; 

e. Measles, mumps, and rubella; 

f. Vaccines and immunization; and 

g. General preventative measures to be taken to protect the 

tattooer and client. 

3. Sanitation and disinfection. 

a. Definition of terms: 

(1) Sterilization; 

(2) Disinfection and disinfectant; 

(3) Sterilizer or sterilant; 

(4) Antiseptic; 

(5) Germicide; 

(6) Decontamination; and 

(7) Sanitation. 

b. The use of steam sterilization equipment and 

techniques; 

c. The use of chemical agents, antiseptics, disinfectants, 

and fumigants; 

d. The use of sanitation equipment; 

e. Preservice sanitation procedure; and 

f. Postservice sanitation procedure. 

4. Safety. 

a. Proper needle handling and disposal; 

b. How to avoid overexposure to chemicals; 

c. The use of Material Safety Data Sheets; 

d. Blood spill procedures; 

e. Equipment and instrument storage; and 

f. First aid and CPR. 

5. Blood-borne Bloodborne pathogen standards. 

a. OSHA and CDC blood-borne bloodborne pathogen 

standards; 

b. Control plan for blood-borne bloodborne pathogens; 

c. Exposure control plan for tattooers; 

d. Overview of compliance requirements; and 

e. Disorders and when not to service a client. 

6. Professional standards. 

a. History of tattooing;. 

b. Ethics;. 

c. Recordkeeping: 

(1) Client health history; 

(2) Consent forms; and 

(3) HIPAA (Health Insurance Portability and 

Accountability Act of 1996 Privacy Rule) Standards. 

d. Preparing station, making appointments, parlor ethics: 

(1) Maintaining professional appearance, notifying clients 

of schedule changes; and 

(2) Promoting services of the parlor and establishing 

clientele. 

e. Parlor management. 

(1) Licensing requirements; and 

(2) Taxes. 

f. Supplies. 

(1) Usages; 

(2) Ordering; and 

(3) Storage. 

7. Tattooing. 

a. Client consultation; 

b. Client health form; 

c. Client disclosure form; 
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d. Client preparation; 

e. Sanitation and safety precautions; 

f. Implement selection and use; 

g. Proper use of equipment; 

h. Material selection and use; 

i. Needles; 

[ (1) Groupings; 

(2) Properties; and 

(3) Making; ] 

j. Ink; 

k. Machine: 

(1) Construction; 

(2) Adjustment; and 

(3) Power supply; 

l. Art, drawing; and 

m. Portfolio. 

8. Anatomy. 

a. Understanding of skin; and 

b. Parts and functions of skin. 

9. Virginia tattooing laws and regulations. 

[ C. A licensed tattoo school may conduct an assessment of a 

student's competence in the respective profession and, based 

on the assessment, give credit toward the hours requirements 

specified in this section and 18VAC41-50-290.  

The school shall make the assessment based on a review of 

the student's transcript and the successful completion of a 

board-approved competency examination administered by the 

school. The school may also request a copy of a catalog or 

bulletin giving the full course description when making the 

evaluation. The number of credit hours awarded shall not 

exceed the actual hours of instruction verified on the transcript 

or the number of hours specified in the board-approved 

curriculum for a specific topic. Credit may only be given for 

in-person training. ] 

18VAC41-50-290. Hours of instruction and performances. 

A. Curriculum requirements specified in 18VAC41-50-280 

shall be taught over a minimum of 750 1,000 hours as follows: 

1. 350 hours shall be devoted to theory pertaining to 

subdivisions 18VAC41-50-280 B 1, 2, 4, 5, 6, 8, and 9 of 

18VAC41-50-280; 

2. 150 hours shall be devoted to theory pertaining to 

subdivision 3 of 18VAC41-50-280; and 

3. The remaining 250 500 hours shall be devoted to practical 

training to include but not limited to tattooing curriculum 

requirements and a [ total minimum ] of 100 performances 

pertaining to subdivision 7 of 18VAC41-50-280 B 7. 

B. An approved tattooing school may conduct an assessment 

of a student's competence in the theory and practical 

requirements for tattooing and, based on the assessment, give 

a maximum of [ 350 700 ] hours of credit towards toward the 

requirements in subdivisions A 1 and A 3 of this section. No 

credit shall be allowed for the 150 hours required in 

subdivision A 2 of this section. 

[ 18VAC41-50-310. General requirements. 

A permanent cosmetic tattooing school shall: 

1. Hold a permanent cosmetic tattooing school license for 

each and every location. 

2. Hold a permanent cosmetic tattoo salon license if the 

school receives compensation for services provided in the 

area where practical instruction is conducted and services 

are provided. 

3. Employ a staff of certified permanent cosmetic tattooing 

instructors or certified master permanent cosmetic tattooing 

instructors. 

4. Develop individuals for entry-level competency in 

permanent cosmetic tattooing or master permanent cosmetic 

tattooing. 

5. Submit its curricula for board approval. 

6. Inform the public that all services are performed by 

students if the permanent cosmetic tattooing school receives 

compensation for services provided in its clinic by posting a 

notice in the reception area of the shop or salon in plain view 

of the public. 

7. Conduct classroom instruction in an area separate from 

the area where practical instruction is conducted and 

services are provided. 

8. Conduct all instruction and training of permanent 

cosmetic tattooers under the direct supervision of a certified 

permanent cosmetic tattooing instructor or a certified master 

permanent cosmetic tattooing instructor.  

9. Conduct all instruction and training of master permanent 

cosmetic tattooers under the direct supervision of a certified 

master permanent cosmetic tattooing instructor. ] 

18VAC41-50-320. School identification. (Repealed.) 

Each permanent cosmetic tattooing school approved by the 

board shall identify itself to the public as a teaching institution.  

18VAC41-50-340. Hours reported. (Repealed.) 

Within 30 days of the closing of a licensed permanent 

cosmetic tattooing school for any reason, the school shall 

provide a written report to the board on performances and 

hours of each of its students who have not completed the 

program.  
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18VAC41-50-350. Health education. (Repealed.) 

Any person desiring to enroll in the permanent cosmetic 

tattooing school shall be required to provide documentation of 

satisfactory completion of health education on blood-borne 

disease.  

18VAC41-50-360. Permanent cosmetic tattooing school 

curriculum requirements. 

A. Any person desiring to enroll in the permanent cosmetic 

tattooing school shall be required to provide documentation of 

satisfactory completion of health education on bloodborne 

disease.  

B. Permanent cosmetic tattooing school curriculum 

requirements are as follows: 

1. Virginia tattooing laws and regulations. 

2. Machines and devices. 

a. Coil machine; 

b. Hand device; and 

c. Others devices. 

3. Needles. 

a. Types; 

b. Uses; and 

c. Application. 

4. Anatomy. 

a. Layers of skin; 

b. Parts and functions of skin; and 

c. Diseases. 

5. Color theory. 

a. Skin and pigment color; and 

b. Handling and storage of pigments. 

6. Transmission cycle of infectious diseases. 

7. Immunization. 

a. Types of immunizations; and 

b. General preventative measures to be taken to protect the 

tattooer and client. 

8. Sanitation and disinfection. 

a. Definition of terms: 

(1) Sterilization; 

(2) Disinfection and disinfectant; 

(3) Sterilizer or sterilant; 

(4) Antiseptic; 

(5) Germicide; 

(6) Decontamination; and 

(7) Sanitation.; 

b. The use of steam sterilization equipment and 

techniques; 

c. The use of chemical agents, antiseptics, and 

disinfectants; 

d. The use of sanitation equipment; 

e. Preservice sanitation procedure; and 

f. Postservice sanitation procedure. 

9. Safety. 

a. Proper needle handling and disposal; 

b. Blood spill procedures; 

c. Equipment and instrument storage; and 

d. First aid. 

10. Blood-borne Bloodborne pathogen standards. 

a. OSHA and CDC blood-borne bloodborne pathogen 

standards; 

b. Overview of compliance requirements; and 

c. Disorders and when not to service a client. 

11. Anesthetics. 

a. Use; 

b. Types; 

c. Application; and 

d. Removal. 

12. Equipment. 

a. Gloves; 

b. Masks; 

c. Apron; 

d. Chair; 

e. Lighting; and 

f. Work table. 

13. Professional standards. 

a. History of permanent cosmetic tattooing;. 

b. Ethics;. 

c. Recordkeeping: 

(1) Client health history; and 

(2) Consent forms. 

d. Preparing station, making appointments, salon ethics: 

(1) Maintaining professional appearance, notifying clients 

of schedule changes; and 

(2) Promoting services of the salon and establishing 

clientele. 

e. Salon management: 

(1) Licensing requirements; and 

(2) Taxes. 

14. Permanent cosmetic tattooing. 
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a. Client consultation; 

b. Client health form; 

c. Client disclosure form; 

d. Client preparation; 

e. [ Drawing and mapping; 

f. ] Sanitation and safety precautions; 

[ f. g. ] Implement selection and use; 

[ g. h. ] Proper use of equipment; 

[ h. i.] Material selection and use. 

[ i. j. ] Eyebrows; 

[ j. Eyeliner; 

k. Lip coloring; and 

l. Lip liners. 

k. Microblading; 

l. Eyeliner; 

m. Lip coloring; and 

n. Lip liners. 

C. Master permanent cosmetic tattooing program curriculum 

requirements are as follows: 

1. Virginia tattooing laws and regulations. 

2. Machines and devices. 

a. Coil machine; 

b. Hand device; and 

c. Others devices. 

3. Needles. 

a. Types; 

b. Uses; and 

c. Application. 

4. Advanced Practical Clinical Anatomy. 

a. Eyelid Anatomy; 

b. Lip Anatomy; and 

c. Breast Anatomy. 

5. Advanced Color theory. 

6. Organic and Inorganic Pigment. 

7. Understanding the Surgical Process. 

a. The Latissimus Dorsi Flap Procedure; 

b. Abdominoplasty and Breast Reconstruction; 

c. Other Reconstruction Procedures; 

(1) Deep Inferior Epigastric Artery Perforator Flap 

(DIEP); and 

(2) Superior Gluteal Artery Perforator Flap (SGAP); 

d. Flap size vs. Areola size; and 

e. Implant Reconstruction; 

(1) Tissue Expansion; 

(2) Placing the Implant; 

(3) Implant vs. Flap Reconstruction; 

(4) Saline vs. Silicone; 

(5) Radiation Therapy; and 

(6) Lyphedema. 

8. Client Consultation. 

9. Breast Areolar Pigmentation. 

a. Chart Notes; 

b. Health Insurance Portability and Accountability Act 

(HIPAA); 

c. Room Setup; 

d. Anesthetic for Breast Procedures; 

e. Color Selection; 

f. Needle Selection; 

g. Design and Placement; 

(1) Position of the Areola/ Nipple Complex; 

(2) The Penn Triangle; 

(3) Diameter of the Areola; and 

(4) Nipple Reconstruction; 

h. Creating 3-dimensional Nipple/Areola; 

(1) Understanding and creating a reflection of light; and 

(2) The Value of Color; 

i. Covering scar tissue and Periareolar scar blending; 

j. Aftercare; 

(1) Tegraderm Aftercare Instructions; and 

(2) Follow up; and 

k. Precautions and Contraindications. 

10. Skin Cancer. 

a. Basal Cell Carcinomas; 

b. Squamous Cell Carcinomas; 

c. Melanoma. 

11. The Art of Camouflage. 

a. Client/Patient Selection and Handling; 

b. Contraindications and When Not to Perform Services; 

c. Skin Tones; 

d. Color Selection and Skin Tone Matching; 

e. Scars; 

f. Burn Scar; and 

g. Common Needle Configurations Used for Camouflage. 

12. Side Effects. 

13. Insurance. 

14. Master Permanent Cosmetic Tattooing Procedures. 
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a. Lip; 

b. Areola; 

c. Scalp; 

d. Blush; 

e. Camouflage; 

f. Eyeshadow. 

D. A licensed school with an approved permanent cosmetic 

tattooing or master permanent cosmetic tattooing program may 

conduct an assessment of a student's competence in the 

respective profession and, based on the assessment, give credit 

towards the hours requirements specified in the respective 

subsection of this section and 18VAC41-50-370. 

The school shall make the assessment based on a review of 

the student's transcript and the successful completion of a 

board-approved competency examination administered by the 

school. The school may also request a copy of a catalog or 

bulletin giving the full course description when making the 

evaluation. The number of credit hours awarded shall not 

exceed the actual hours of instruction verified on the transcript 

or diploma or the number of hours specified in the board-

approved curriculum for a specific topic. Credit may only be 

given for in-person training. ] 

[ 18VAC41-50-370. Hours of instruction and 

performances. 

A. Curriculum and performance requirements specified in 

18VAC41-50-360 and this section shall be taught over a 

minimum of 90 200 clock hours for permanent cosmetic 

tattooing and 200 clock hours for master permanent cosmetic 

tattooing. 

B. A minimum of 50 performances shall be completed as part 

of the required permanent cosmetic tattooing instruction, 

including two eyebrow, two microblading procedures, two lip 

liners, one lip color, and one full lips. Completion of 

performances are determined as follows:  

1. Two complete eyebrows constitutes one performance;  

2. Two complete eye liners constitutes one performance; and  

3. One complete lip liner constitutes one performance.  

C. A minimum of 70 performances shall be completed as part 

of the master permanent cosmetic tattooing instruction, 

including: 

Lip (cleft lip repigmentation 10 

Areola 10 

Scalp Repigmentation 10 

Blush Application 10 

Camouflage 10 

Scar Repigmentation 10 

Eyeshadow 10 

D. Completion of performances are determined as follows:  

1. Two complete eyebrows constitutes one performance;  

2. Two complete eye liners constitutes one performance; and  

3. One complete lip liner constitutes one performance. 

18VAC41-50-380. Display of license. 

A. Each tattoo parlor owner or permanent cosmetic tattoo 

salon owner shall ensure that all current licenses issued by the 

board shall be displayed in the reception area of the parlor or 

salon at the licensee's station or in plain view of the public. 

Duplicate licenses shall be posted in a like manner in every 

parlor or salon or location where the licensee provides services. 

B. Each parlor owner or permanent cosmetic tattoo salon 

owner shall ensure that no licensee, apprentice, or student 

performs any service beyond the scope of practice for the 

applicable license. 

C. Each tattoo parlor owner or permanent cosmetic tattoo 

salon owner shall offer to licensees the full series of Hepatitis 

B vaccine. 

D. Each tattoo parlor owner or permanent cosmetic tattoo 

salon owner shall maintain a record for each licensee of one of 

the following: 

1. Proof of completion of the full series of Hepatitis B 

vaccine; 

2. Proof of immunity by blood titer; or 

3. Written declaration of refusal of the owner's offer of a full 

series of Hepatitis B vaccine. 

E. All licensees shall operate under the name in which the 

license is issued. 

18VAC41-50-390. Physical facilities. 

A. A parlor or salon must be in a permanent building or 

portion of a building, which must be in a location permissible 

under local zoning codes, if any. If applicable, the parlor or 

salon shall be separated from any living quarters by complete 

floor to ceiling partitioning and shall contain no access to 

living quarters. 

B. The parlor, salon or temporary location shall be maintained 

in a clean and orderly manner. 

C. All facilities shall have a blood spill clean-up kit in the 

work area. 

D. Work surfaces shall be cleaned with an EPA registered, 

hospital grade disinfectant. Surfaces that come in contact with 

blood or other body fluids shall be immediately disinfected 

with an EPA registered germicide solution. Appropriate 
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personal protective equipment shall be worn during cleaning 

and disinfecting procedures. 

E. Cabinets for the storage of instruments, dyes, pigments, 

single-use articles, carbon stencils and other utensils shall be 

provided for each operator and shall be maintained in a sanitary 

manner. 

F. Bulk single-use articles shall be commercially packaged 

and handled in such a way as to protect them from 

contamination. 

G. All materials applied to the human skin shall be from 

single-use articles or transferred from bulk containers to 

single-use containers and shall be disposed of after each use. 

H. The walls, ceilings, and floors shall be kept in good repair. 

The tattooing area shall be constructed of smooth, hard 

surfaces that are nonporous, free of open holes or cracks, light 

colored, and easily cleaned. New parlors shall not include any 

dark-colored surfaces in the tattooing area. Existing parlors or 

salons with dark-colored surfaces in the tattooing area shall 

replace the dark-colored surfaces with light-colored surfaces 

whenever the facilities are extensively remodeled or upon 

relocation of the business. 

I. Parlors, salons or temporary locations shall have adequate 

lighting of at least 50-foot candles of illumination in the 

tattooing and sterilization areas. 

J. Adequate mechanical ventilation shall be provided in the 

parlor. 

K. Each parlor, salon or temporary location shall be equipped 

with hand-cleaning facilities for its personnel with 

unobstructed access to the tattooing area such that the tattooer 

can return to the area without having to touch anything with his 

hands. Hand-cleaning facilities shall be equipped either with 

hot and cold or tempered running water under pressure and 

liquid germicidal soap or with a sanitizing solution to clean 

hands. Hand-cleaning facilities shall be equipped with single-

use towels or mechanical hand drying devices and a covered 

refuse container. Such facilities shall be kept clean and in good 

repair. All facilities must have running water and soap 

accessible for cleaning of hands contaminated by body fluids. 

L. Animals are not permitted in the parlor, salon, or temporary 

location except for guide or service animals accompanying 

persons with disabilities, or nonmammalian animals in 

enclosed glass containers such as fish aquariums, which shall 

be outside of the tattooing or sterilization areas. No animals are 

allowed in the tattooing or sterilization areas. 

M. Use of tobacco products and consumption of alcoholic 

beverages shall be prohibited in the tattooing or sterilization 

areas. 

N. No food or drink will be stored or consumed in the 

tattooing or sterilization areas except for client's use in order to 

sustain optimal physical condition; such food and drink must 

be individually packaged. 

O. If tattooing is performed where cosmetology services are 

provided, it shall be performed in an area that is separate and 

enclosed. 

P. All steam sterilizers shall be biological spore tested at least 

monthly. 

Q. Biological spore tests shall be verified through an 

independent laboratory. 

R. Biological spore test records shall be retained for a period 

of three years and made available upon request. 

S. Steam sterilizers shall be used only for instruments used by 

the parlor's employees. ] 

18VAC41-50-400. Tattooer or permanent cosmetic tattooer 

or master permanent cosmetic tattooer responsibilities. 

A. All tattooers shall provide to the [ owner responsible 

management ] one of the following: 

1. Proof of completion of the full series of Hepatitis B 

vaccine; 

2. Proof of immunity by blood titer; or 

3. Written declaration of refusal of the owner's offer of a full 

series of Hepatitis B vaccine. 

B. All tattooers shall wear clean outer garments, maintain a 

high degree of personal cleanliness, and conform to hygienic 

practices while on duty. 

C. All tattooers shall clean their hands thoroughly using hot 

or tempered water with a liquid germicidal soap or use 

sanitizing solution to clean hands before and after tattooing and 

as necessary to remove contaminants. 

D. All tattooers must wear single-use examination gloves 

while assembling tattooing instruments and while tattooing. 

E. Each time there is an interruption in the service, [ each time 

] the gloves become torn or perforated, or whenever the ability 

of the gloves to function as a barrier is compromised: 

1. Gloves shall be removed and disposed of; and 

2. Hands shall be cleaned and a fresh pair of gloves used. 

F. Tattooers shall use standard precautions while tattooing. A 

tattooer diagnosed with a communicable disease shall provide 

to the department a written statement from a health care 

practitioner that the tattooer's condition no longer poses a 

threat to public health. 

G. Tattooers with draining lesions on their hands or face will 

not be permitted to work until cleared by a [ health-care health 

care ] professional. 

H. The area of the client's skin to be tattooed shall be cleaned 

with an approved germicidal soap according to label directions. 
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I. Tattooing [ inks and dyes pigments ] shall be placed in a 

single-use disposable container for each client. Following the 

procedure, the unused contents and container will be properly 

disposed of. 

J. If shaving is required, razors shall be single-use [ and. After 

use, razors shall be recapped and properly ] disposed of [ in a 

puncture resistant container ]. 

K. Each tattooer performing any tattooing procedures in the 

parlor or salon shall have the education, training, and 

experience, or any combination thereof, to practice aseptic 

technique and prevent the transmission of bloodborne 

pathogens. All procedures shall be performed using aseptic 

technique. 

L. [ Multiuse instruments, equipment, furniture, and surfaces 

that may be contaminated during the tattooing process should 

be covered or wrapped in a nonporous disposable barrier. This 

barrier should be removed and disposed of after each service. 

M. After the disposable barrier is removed, covered items 

should be wiped down with an Environmental Protection 

Agency (EPA) registered disinfectant that is bactericidal, 

virucidal, and fungicidal. 

N. ] A set of individual, sterilized needles shall be used for 

each client. Single-use disposable instruments shall be 

disposed of in a puncture resistant container. 

[ M. O. ] Used, nondisposable instruments [ , such as stainless 

steel tubes, tips, and grips, ] shall be kept in a separate, 

puncture resistant container until brush scrubbed in hot water 

soap and then sterilized by autoclaving. Contaminated 

instruments shall be handled with disposable gloves. 

[ N. P. ] Used [ nondisposable ] instruments that are 

ultrasonically cleaned shall be rinsed under running hot water 

prior to being placed in the used instrument container; 

[ O. Q. ] Used [ nondisposable ] instruments that are not 

ultrasonically cleaned prior to being placed in the used 

instrument container shall be kept in a germicidal or soap 

solution until brush scrubbed in hot water and soap and 

sterilized by autoclaving. 

[ P. R. ] The ultrasonic unit shall be sanitized daily with a 

germicidal solution. 

[ Q. S. ] Nondisposable instruments shall be sterilized and 

shall be handled and stored in a manner to prevent 

contamination. Instruments to be sterilized shall be sealed in 

bags made specifically for the purpose of autoclave 

sterilization and shall include the date of sterilization. If 

nontransparent bags are utilized, the bag shall also list the 

contents. 

[ R. T. ] Autoclave sterilization bags with a color code 

indicator that changes color upon proper sterilization shall be 

utilized during the autoclave sterilization process. 

[ S. Instruments U. Nondisposable instruments ] shall be 

placed in the autoclave in a manner to allow live steam to 

circulate around them. 

[ V. A Sealed, puncture proof dirty tube receptacle with cool, 

liquid sterilant should be maintained in the biohazard or 

cleanup room. 

W. Sharps containers should be located within reach of the 

tattooing area. ] 

[ T. X. ] Contaminated disposable and single-use items shall 

be disposed of in accordance with federal and state regulations 

regarding disposal of biological hazardous materials. 

[ U. Y. ] The manufacturer's written instructions of the 

autoclave shall be followed. 

[ 18VAC41-50-410. Client qualifications, disclosures, and 

records. 

A. Except as permitted in § 18.2-371.3 of the Code of 

Virginia, a client must be a minimum of 18 years of age and 

shall present at the time of the tattooing or permanent cosmetic 

tattooing a valid, government issued, positive identification 

card including, but not limited to, a driver's license, passport, 

or military identification. The identification must contain a 

photograph of the individual and a printed date of birth. 

B. The tattooer, permanent cosmetic tattooer, or master 

permanent cosmetic tattooer shall verify and document in the 

permanent client record the client's age, date of birth, and the 

type of identification provided. 

C. No person may be tattooed or permanent cosmetic tattooed 

who appears to be under the influence of alcohol or drugs. 

D. Tattooing or permanent cosmetic tattooing shall not be 

performed on any skin surface that manifests any evidence of 

unhealthy conditions such as rashes, boils, infections, or 

abrasions, or on any asymmetrical, irregular, blurred, or 

multicolored mole. 

E. Before receiving a tattoo or permanent cosmetic tattoo, 

each client and client's parent or guardian, if applicable, shall 

be informed verbally and in writing, using the client disclosure 

form prescribed by the board, about the possible risk and 

dangers associated with the application of each tattoo. 

Signatures of both the client and the tattooer shall be required 

on the client disclosure form to acknowledge receipt of both 

the verbal and written disclosures. 

F. The tattoo parlor or temporary location or permanent 

cosmetic tattoo salon shall maintain proper records for each 

client. The information shall be permanently recorded and 

made available for examination by the department or 

authorized agent. Records shall be maintained at the tattoo 

parlor or permanent cosmetic tattoo salon for at least two years 

following the date of the last entry. The temporary location 

client records shall be maintained by the license holder. The 

permanent records shall include the following: 
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1. The name, address, and telephone number of the client; 

2. The date tattooing or permanent cosmetic tattooing was 

performed; 

3. The client's age, date of birth, and a copy of the positive 

identification provided to the tattooer, permanent cosmetic 

tattooer, or master permanent cosmetic tattooer; 

4. The specific color or colors of the tattoo or permanent 

cosmetic tattoo and, when available, the manufacturer's 

catalogue or identification number of each color used; 

5. The location on the body where the tattooing or permanent 

cosmetic tattooing was performed; 

6. The name of the tattooer, permanent cosmetic tattooer, or 

master permanent cosmetic tattooer; 

7. A statement that the client has received a copy of 

applicable written care instructions, and that the client has 

read and understands the instructions; and 

8. The signature of the client and if applicable parent or 

guardian. ] 

18VAC41-50-420. Grounds for license or certificate 

revocation, suspension or probation; denial of application, 

renewal, or reinstatement; or imposition of a monetary 

penalty. 

A. The board may, in considering the totality of the 

circumstances, fine any licensee or certificate holder and 

suspend, place on probation, or revoke or refuse to renew or 

reinstate any license or certificate, or deny any application 

issued under the provisions of Chapter 7 (§ 54.1-700 et seq.) 

of Title 54.1 of the Code of Virginia and the regulations of the 

board this chapter if the board it finds that the licensee, 

certificate holder, or applicant: 

1. The licensee, certificate holder, or applicant is Is 

incompetent, or negligent in practice tattooing, or incapable 

mentally or physically, as those terms are generally 

understood in the profession, to (i) practice as a tattooer, 

limited term tattooer, tattooer apprentice, permanent 

cosmetic tattooer, or master permanent cosmetic tattooer or 

(ii) operate a parlor, permanent cosmetic tattooing salon, or 

school; 

2. The licensee, certificate holder, or applicant is Is 

convicted of fraud or deceit in the practice of tattooing or 

fails to teach the curriculum as provided for in this chapter; 

3. The licensee, certificate holder, or applicant obtained 

Obtained, attempted to obtain, renewed, or reinstated a 

license by false or fraudulent representation; 

4. The licensee, certificate holder, or applicant violates 

Violates or induces others to violate, or cooperates with 

others in violating, any of the provisions of this chapter or 

Chapter 7 (§ 54.1-700 et seq.) of Title 54.1 of the Code of 

Virginia or any local ordinance or regulation governing 

standards of health and sanitation of the establishment in 

which tattooers may practice or offer to practice; 

5. Offers, gives, or promises anything of value or benefit to 

any federal, state, or local employee for the purpose of 

influencing that employee to circumvent, in the performance 

of his duties, any federal, state, or local law, regulation, or 

ordinance governing tattooing as defined in § 54.1-700 of 

the Code of Virginia; 

6. Fails to respond to the board or any of its agents or 

provides false, misleading, or incomplete information to an 

inquiry by the board or any of its agents; 

7. Fails or refuses to allow the board or any of its agents to 

inspect during reasonable hours any licensed parlor, salon, 

or school for compliance with provisions of Chapter 7 

(§ 54.1-700 et seq.) or this chapter; 

5. The licensee, certificate holder, or applicant fails 8. Fails 

to produce, upon request or demand of the board or any of 

its agents, any document, book, record, or copy thereof in a 

licensee's or owner's possession or maintained in accordance 

with this chapter; 

6. A licensee or certificate holder fails 9. Fails to notify the 

board of a change of name or address in writing within 30 

days of the change for each and every license. The board 

shall not be responsible for the licensee's or certificate 

holder's failure to receive notices, communications and 

correspondence caused by the licensees' or certificate 

holder's failure to promptly notify the board in writing of any 

change of name or address or for any other reason beyond 

the control of the board; 

7. The licensee, certificate holder, or applicant 10. Makes 

any misrepresentation or publishes or causes to be published 

any advertisement that is false, deceptive, or misleading; 

8. The licensee, certificate holder, or applicant fails 11. Fails 

to notify the board in writing within 30 days of the 

suspension, revocation, or surrender of a license or 

certificate in connection with a disciplinary action in any 

other jurisdiction or of any license or certificate that has been 

the subject of disciplinary action in any other jurisdiction; or 

9. In accordance with § 54.1-204 of the Code of Virginia, the 

licensee or certificate holder has been convicted in any 

jurisdiction of a misdemeanor or felony that directly relates 

to the profession of tattooing. The board shall have the 

authority to determine, based upon all the information 

available, including the regulant's record of prior 

convictions, if the regulant is unfit or unsuited to engage in 

the profession of tattooing or permanent cosmetic tattooing. 

The board will decide each case by taking into account the 

totality of the circumstances. Any plea of nolo contendere 

shall be considered a conviction for the purposes of this 

section. The applicant shall provide a certified copy of a final 

order, decree or case decision by a court or regulatory 
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agency with the lawful authority to issue such order, decree 

or case decision, and such copy shall be admissible as prima 

facie evidence of such conviction. This record shall be 

forwarded by the applicant to the board within 10 days after 

all appeal rights have expired.  

B. In addition to subsection A of this section, the board may, 

in considering the totality of the circumstances, revoke, 

suspend, place on probation or refuse to renew or reinstate the 

license of any tattoo parlor, limited term tattoo parlor, or 

permanent cosmetic tattoo salon or impose a fine as permitted 

by law, or both, if the board finds that:  

1. The owner or operator of the tattoo parlor, limited term 

tattoo parlor, or permanent cosmetic tattoo salon fails to 

comply with the facility requirements of tattoo parlors, 

limited term tattoo parlors, or permanent cosmetic tattoo 

salons provided for in this chapter or in any local ordinances; 

or  

2. The owner or operator allows a person who has not 

obtained a license to practice as a tattooer, limited term 

tattooer, permanent cosmetic tattooer, or master permanent 

cosmetic tattooer unless the person is duly enrolled as an 

apprentice.  

C. In addition to subsection A of this section, the board may, 

in considering the totality of the circumstances, revoke, 

suspend, place on probation, or refuse to renew or reinstate the 

license of any school or impose a fine as permitted by law, or 

both, if the board finds that:  

1. An instructor of the approved school fails to teach the 

curriculum as provided for in this chapter;  

2. The owner or director of the approved school permits or 

allows a person to teach in the school without a current 

tattooing instructor certificate; or  

3. The instructor, owner or director is guilty of fraud or 

deceit in the teaching of tattooing.  

D. In addition to subsection A of this section, the board may, 

in considering the totality of the circumstances, revoke, 

suspend, place on probation, or refuse to renew or reinstate the 

license of any licensee or impose a fine as permitted by law, or 

both, if the board finds that the licensee fails to take sufficient 

measures to prevent transmission of communicable or 

infectious diseases or fails to comply with any local, state or 

federal law or regulation governing the standards of health and 

sanitation for the practice of tattooing.  

12. Has been convicted or found guilty, regardless of the 

manner of adjudication in Virginia or any other jurisdiction 

of the United States, of a misdemeanor involving moral 

turpitude, sexual offense, drug distribution, or physical 

injury or any felony, there being no appeal pending 

therefrom or the time for appeal having elapsed. Review of 

convictions shall be subject to the requirements of § 54.1-

204 of the Code of Virginia. Any plea of nolo contendere 

shall be considered a conviction for purposes of this 

subdivision. The record of a conviction certified or 

authenticated in such form as to be admissible in evidence 

under the laws of the jurisdiction where convicted shall be 

admissible as prima facie evidence of such conviction or 

guilt; 

13. Fails to inform the board in writing within 30 days of 

pleading guilty or nolo contendere or being convicted or 

found guilty regardless of adjudication of any convictions as 

stated in subdivision 12 of this section; 

14. Allows, as responsible management of a parlor, salon, or 

school, a person who has not obtained a license or guest 

tattooer license to practice as a tattooer or permanent 

cosmetic tattooer unless the person is duly enrolled as an 

apprentice; 

15. Allows, as responsible management of a school, a person 

who has not obtained an instructor certificate to practice as 

a tattooing or permanent cosmetic tattooing instructor; 

16. Fails to take sufficient measures to prevent transmission 

of communicable or infectious diseases or fails to comply 

with sanitary requirements provided for in this chapter or 

any local, state, or federal law or regulation governing the 

standards of health and sanitation for the practice of 

tattooing, or the operation of tattoo parlors or permanent 

cosmetic tattooing salons; or 

17. Fails to comply with all procedures established by the 

board and the testing service with regard to conduct at any 

board examination. 

NOTICE: The following forms used in administering the 

regulation have been filed by the agency. Amended or added 

forms are reflected in the listing and are published following 

the listing. Online users of this issue of the Virginia Register 

of Regulations may also click on the name to access a form. 

The forms are also available from the agency contact or may 

be viewed at the Office of Registrar of Regulations, 900 East 

Main Street, 11th Floor, Richmond, Virginia 23219. 

FORMS (18VAC41-50) 

Tattooer Examination & License Application, A425-

1231EXLIC (eff. 9/2011)  

Tattoo Training & Experience Verification Form, A425-

12TATTREXP (eff. 9/2011) 

Tattooer Examination & License Application, A425-

1231EXLIC (eff. 9/2011)  

Tattoo Training & Experience Verification Form, A425-

12TATTREXP (eff. 9/2011) 

Tattooing Apprenticeship Sponsor Application, A425-

12TATSPON (eff. 9/2011) 

Tattooer Apprenticeship Certification Application, A425-

1234TAC (eff. 9/2011) 

http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=70809001835~11&typ=40&actno=001835&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=70809001835~11&typ=40&actno=001835&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=512a9001835~12&typ=40&actno=001835&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=512a9001835~12&typ=40&actno=001835&mime=application/pdf
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Tattoo Apprenticeship Completion Form, A425-12TAC (eff. 

9/2011) 

Tattoo Client Disclosure Form, A425-12DIS, A425-12TDIS 

(eff. 9/2011) 

Limited Term Tattooer License Application, A450-1233LIC-

v8 (rev. 9/2016) 

Limited Term Tattoo Parlor License Application, A450-

1235LIC-v5 (rev. 9/2016) 

Permanent Cosmetic Tattooer Examination & License 

Application, A425-1236EXLIC (eff. 9/2011) 

Master Permanent Cosmetic Tattooer Examination & License 

Application, A425-1237EXLIC (eff. 9/2011) 

License by Endorsement Application, A450-1213END-v9 

(rev. 9/2016) 

Training & Experience Verification Form, A425-

1213TREXP (eff. 9/2011) 

Salon, Shop, Spa & Parlor License/Reinstatement 

Application, A450-1213BUS-v8 (rev. 9/2016) 

Licensure Fee Notice, A450-1213FEE-v6 (rev. 9/2016) 

Instructor Certification Application, A450-1213INST-v7 

(rev. 9/2016) 

Individuals - Reinstatement Application, A450-1213REI-v8 

(rev. 9/2016) 

School License Application, A450-1213SCHL-v9 (rev. 

9/2016) 

School Reinstatement Application, A450-1213SCH-REIN-

v2 (rev. 9/2016) 

Tattooer Examination & License Application, A450-

1231EXLIC (rev. 7/2019) 

Tattoo Client Disclosure Form, A450-12TDIS (rev. 4/2013) 

[ Limited Term Event ] Tattoo Parlor License Application, 

A450-1235LIC-v6 (rev. [ 7/2019 3/2020 ]) 

Permanent Cosmetic Tattooer Examination & License 

Application, A450-1236EXLIC-v13 (rev. 7/2019) 

Master Permanent Cosmetic Tattooer Examination & License 

Application, A450-1237EXLIC-v11 (rev. 7/2019) 

License by Endorsement Application, A450-1213END-v10 

(rev. 2/2017) 

Training & Experience Verification Form, A450-

1213TREXP-v6 (eff. 2/2017) 

Salon, Shop, Spa & Parlor License/Reinstatement 

Application, A450-1213BUS-v12 (rev. 7/2019) 

Licensure Fee Notice, A450-1213FEE-v7 (rev. 4/2017) 

Instructor Certification Application, A450-1213INST-v11 

(rev. 7/2019) 

Individuals - Reinstatement Application, A450-1213REI-v9 

(rev. 2/2017) 

School License Application, A450-1213SCHL-v11 (rev. 

2/2017) 

School Reinstatement Application, A450-1213SCH-REIN-

v5 (rev. 3/2017) 

[ Convention Tattooer License Application, A450-

1233COVLIC-v1 (eff. 7/2019) ] 

Guest Tattooer License Application, A450-1233GLIC-v1 

(eff. 7/2019) 

18VAC41-60-10. Definitions. 

The following words and terms when used in this chapter 

shall have the following meanings unless the context clearly 

indicates otherwise. All terms defined in Chapter 7 (§ 54.1-700 

et seq.) of Title 54.1 of the Code of Virginia are incorporated 

in this chapter. 

"Apprenticeship program" means an approved body-piercing 

training program conducted by an approved apprenticeship 

sponsor. 

"Apprenticeship sponsor" means an individual approved to 

conduct body-piercing apprenticeship training who meets the 

qualifications in 18VAC41-60-70. 

"Aseptic technique" means a hygienic practice that prevents 

and hinders the direct transfer of microorganisms, regardless 

of pathogenicity, from one person or place to another person 

or place. 

"Body piercer ear only" means any person who uses only a 

mechanized, presterilized ear-piercing system that penetrates 

the outer perimeter or lobe of the ear or both for compensation. 

"Body piercing ear only" means the use of a mechanized, 

presterilized ear-piercing system that penetrates the outer 

perimeter or lobe of the ear or both. 

"Body-piercing ear only salon" means any place in which a 

fee is charged for the act of using a mechanized, presterilized 

ear-piercing system that penetrates the outer perimeter or lobe 

of the ear or both. 

"Business entity" means a sole proprietorship, partnership, 

corporation, limited liability company, limited liability 

partnership, or any other form of organization permitted by 

law.  

"Endorsement" means a method of obtaining a license by a 

person who is currently licensed in another state. 

"Firm" means any business entity recognized under the laws 

of the Commonwealth of Virginia. 

http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=7d299001835~13&typ=40&actno=001835&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=7d299001835~13&typ=40&actno=001835&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=8b512005125~1f.pdf&typ=40&actno=005125&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=8b512005125~1f.pdf&typ=40&actno=005125&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=deaca005125~3f.pdf&typ=40&actno=005125&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=a1975005125~24s.pdf&typ=40&actno=005125&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=a1975005125~24s.pdf&typ=40&actno=005125&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=eee0c005125~4f.pdf&typ=40&actno=005125&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=eee0c005125~4f.pdf&typ=40&actno=005125&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=c9521005125~5f.pdf&typ=40&actno=005125&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=c9521005125~5f.pdf&typ=40&actno=005125&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=34b44005125~6f.pdf&typ=40&actno=005125&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=34b44005125~6f.pdf&typ=40&actno=005125&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=47dfc005125~2f.pdf&typ=40&actno=005125&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=47dfc005125~2f.pdf&typ=40&actno=005125&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=0ad25005125~7f.pdf&typ=40&actno=005125&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=0ad25005125~7f.pdf&typ=40&actno=005125&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=93c4f005125~8D.pdf&typ=40&actno=005125&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=00765005125~9f.pdf&typ=40&actno=005125&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=00765005125~9f.pdf&typ=40&actno=005125&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=2412d005125~107.pdf&typ=40&actno=005125&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=2412d005125~107.pdf&typ=40&actno=005125&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=76f2a005125~117.pdf&typ=40&actno=005125&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=76f2a005125~117.pdf&typ=40&actno=005125&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=4cc46005125~127.pdf&typ=40&actno=005125&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=4cc46005125~127.pdf&typ=40&actno=005125&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=5540e005125~15f.pdf&typ=40&actno=005125&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=5540e005125~15f.pdf&typ=40&actno=005125&mime=application/pdf
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"Gratuitous services" as used in § 54.1-701.5 of the Code 

Virginia means providing body-piercing services without 

receiving compensation or reward, or obligation. Gratuitous 

services do not include services provided at no charge when 

goods are purchased. 

"Licensee" means any person, partnership, association, 

corporation, limited liability company, or corporation sole 

proprietorship, limited liability partnership, or any other form 

of organization permitted by law holding a license issued by 

the Board for Barbers and Cosmetology as defined in § 54.1-

700 of the Code of Virginia. 

"Reinstatement" means having a license restored to 

effectiveness after the expiration date has passed. 

"Renewal" means continuing the effectiveness of a license for 

another period of time. 

"Responsible management" means the following individuals: 

1. The sole proprietor of a sole proprietorship; 

2. The partners of a general partnership; 

3. The managing partners of a limited partnership; 

4. The officers of a corporation; 

5. The managers of a limited liability company; 

6. The officers or directors of an association or both; and 

7. Individuals in other business entities recognized under the 

laws of the Commonwealth as having a fiduciary 

responsibility to the firm. 

"Sole proprietor" means any individual, not a corporation, 

who is trading under his own name or under an assumed or 

fictitious name pursuant to the provisions of §§ 59.1-69 

through 59.1-76 of the Code of Virginia.  

"Sterilization area" means a separate room or area separate 

from workstations with restricted client access in which body-

piercing instruments are cleaned, disinfected, and sterilized. 

"Temporary location" means a fixed location at which body 

piercing is performed for a specified length of time of not more 

than seven days in conjunction with a single event or 

celebration. 

18VAC41-60-20. General requirements. 

A. In order to receive a license as a body piercer in 

compliance with § 54.1-703 of the Code of Virginia, an 

applicant must Any individual wishing to engage in body 

piercing shall obtain a license in compliance with § 54.1-703 

of the Code of Virginia and meet the following qualifications: 

1. The applicant shall be in good standing as a body piercer 

in every jurisdiction where licensed, certified, or registered. 

The applicant shall disclose to the board at the time of 

application for licensure any disciplinary action taken in 

another Virginia or any other jurisdiction in connection with 

the applicant's practice as a body piercer. This disclosure 

includes monetary penalties, fines, suspensions, revocations, 

surrender of a license in connection with a disciplinary 

action, or voluntary termination of a license. The applicant 

shall disclose to the board at the time of application for 

licensure whether if he has been previously licensed in 

Virginia as a body piercer. 

Upon review of the applicant's prior disciplinary action, the 

board, in its discretion, may deny licensure to any applicant 

wherein the board deems the applicant is unfit or unsuited to 

engage in body piercing and body piercing ear only. The 

board will decide each case by taking into account the 

totality of the circumstances. Any plea of nolo contendere or 

comparable plea shall be considered a disciplinary action for 

the purposes of this subdivision. The applicant shall provide 

a certified copy of a final order, decree, or case decision by 

a court, regulatory agency, or board with the lawful authority 

to issue such order, decree, or case decision, and such copy 

shall be admissible as prima facie evidence of such 

disciplinary action. 

2. The applicant shall disclose his physical address. A post 

office box is not acceptable. 

3. The applicant shall sign, as part of the application, a 

statement certifying that the applicant has read and 

understands the Virginia body-piercing license laws and the 

board's body-piercing regulations this chapter. 

4. In accordance with § 54.1-204 of the Code of Virginia, 

each applicant shall disclose a conviction, in any 

jurisdiction, of any misdemeanor or felony. Any plea of nolo 

contendere shall be considered a conviction for this purpose 

of this section. The record of a conviction certified or 

authenticated in such form as to be admissible in evidence 

under the laws of the jurisdiction where convicted shall be 

admissible as prima facie evidence of such guilt. The board, 

at its discretion, may deny licensure or certification to any 

applicant in accordance with § 54.1-204 of the Code of 

Virginia. the following information regarding criminal 

convictions in Virginia and all other jurisdictions: 

a. All misdemeanor convictions involving moral 

turpitude, sexual offense, drug distribution, or physical 

injury within two years of the date of the application; and 

b. All felony convictions within 20 years of the date of 

application. 

Any plea of nolo contendere shall be considered a conviction 

for purposes of this subdivision. The record of a conviction 

received from a court shall be accepted as prima facie 

evidence of a conviction or finding of guilt. The board, in its 

discretion, may deny licensure to any applicant in 

accordance with § 54.1-204 of the Code of Virginia. 

5. The applicant shall provide evidence satisfactory to the 

board that the applicant has passed the board-approved 
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examination, administered either by the board or by a 

designated testing service. 

6. Persons who (i) make application between April 1, 2007, 

and March 31, 2008; (ii) have completed three years of 

documented work experience within the preceding five years 

as a body piercer; and (iii) have completed a minimum of 

five hours of health education including but not limited to 

blood borne disease, sterilization, and aseptic techniques 

related to body piercing and first aid and CPR that is 

acceptable to the board are not required to complete 

subdivision 5 of this subsection.  

B. Eligibility to sit for board-approved body-piercer 

examination. 

1. Training in the Commonwealth of Virginia. Any person 

completing an approved body-piercing apprenticeship 

program in a Virginia licensed body-piercing salon shall be 

eligible to sit for the examination. 

2. Training outside of the Commonwealth of Virginia, but 

within the United States and its territories. Any person 

completing a body-piercing training or apprenticeship 

program that is substantially equivalent to the Virginia 

program but is outside of the Commonwealth of Virginia 

must submit to the board documentation of the successful 

completion of training or apprenticeship to be eligible for 

examination. If less than required hours of body-piercing 

training or body-piercing apprenticeship was completed, an 

applicant must submit (i) documentation acceptable to the 

board verifying the completion of a substantially equivalent 

body-piercing training or body-piercing apprenticeship or 

documentation of three years of work experience within the 

preceding five years as a body piercer and (ii) documentation 

of completion of a minimum of five hours of health 

education to include but not limited to blood borne (a) 

bloodborne disease, sterilization, and aseptic techniques 

related to body piercing and; (b) first aid; and (c) CPR that 

is acceptable to the board in order to be eligible for 

examination. 

C. In order to receive a license as a body piercer ear only, an 

applicant must meet the following qualifications: 

1. The applicant shall have completed a minimum of three 

hours of health education to include but not limited to blood 

borne bloodborne disease and first aid that is acceptable to 

the board and provide verification of training on a 

mechanized, presterilized ear-piercing system that 

penetrates the outer perimeter or lobe of the ear or both and 

aftercare of piercing. 

2. The applicant shall be in good standing in every 

jurisdiction where licensed, certified, or registered. The 

applicant shall disclose to the board at the time of application 

for licensure any disciplinary action taken in another 

jurisdiction in connection with the applicant's licensed, 

certified, or registered practice. The applicant shall disclose 

to the board at the time of application for licensure whether 

he has been previously licensed in Virginia in any profession 

regulated by the board. 

3. The applicant shall disclose his physical address. A post 

office box is not acceptable. 

4. The applicant shall sign, as part of the application, a 

statement certifying that the applicant has read and 

understands the Virginia body-piercing license laws and the 

board's body-piercing regulations. 

5. In accordance with § 54.1-204 of the Code of Virginia, 

each applicant shall disclose a conviction, in any 

jurisdiction, of any misdemeanor or felony. Any plea of nolo 

contendere shall be considered a conviction for this purpose 

of this section. The record of a conviction certified or 

authenticated in such form as to be admissible in evidence 

under the laws of the jurisdiction where convicted shall be 

admissible as prima facie evidence of such guilt. The board, 

at its discretion, may deny licensure or certification to any 

applicant in accordance with § 54.1-204 of the Code of 

Virginia. the following information regarding criminal 

convictions in Virginia and all other jurisdictions: 

a. All misdemeanor convictions involving moral 

turpitude, sexual offense, drug distribution, or physical 

injury within two years of the date of the application; and 

b. All felony convictions within 20 years of the date of 

application. 

Any plea of nolo contendere shall be considered a conviction 

for purposes of this subdivision. The record of a conviction 

received from a court shall be accepted as prima facie 

evidence of a conviction or finding of guilt. The board, in its 

discretion, may deny licensure to any applicant in 

accordance with § 54.1-204 of the Code of Virginia. 

18VAC41-60-30. License by endorsement. 

Upon proper application to the board, any person currently 

licensed to practice as a body piercer in any other state or 

jurisdiction of the United States and who has completed a 

training or apprenticeship program and an examination that is 

substantially equivalent to that required by this chapter may be 

issued a body-piercer body piercer license without an 

examination. The applicant must also meet the requirements 

set forth in 18VAC41-60-20 A 1 through A 4. 

18VAC41-60-40. Examination requirements and fees. 

A. Applicants for initial licensure shall pass an examination 

approved by the board. The examinations may be administered 

by the board or by a designated testing service. 

B. Any candidate failing to appear as scheduled for 

examination shall forfeit the examination fee. 

C. The applicant shall follow all procedures established by 

the board with regard to conduct at the examination. Such 

procedures shall include any written instructions 
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communicated prior to the examination date and any 

instructions communicated at the site, either written or oral, on 

the date of the examination. Failure to comply with all 

procedures established by the board and the testing service 

with regard to conduct at the examination may be grounds for 

denial of application. 

D. Any applicant who does not pass a reexamination within 

one year of the initial examination date shall be required to 

submit a new application. 

E. The fee for examination or reexamination is subject to 

contracted charges to the board by an outside vendor. These 

contracts are competitively negotiated and bargained for in 

compliance with the Virginia Public Procurement Act (§ 2.2-

4300 et seq. of the Code of Virginia). Fees may be adjusted and 

charged to the candidate in accordance with these contracts. 

The fee shall not exceed $225 per candidate.  

F. Any candidate failing to apply for initial licensure within 

five years of passing the written examination shall be required 

to retake the examination. Records of examinations shall be 

maintained for a maximum of five years. 

18VAC41-60-50. Reexamination requirements. 

(Repealed.) 

Any applicant who does not pass a reexamination within one 

year of the initial examination date shall be required to submit 

a new application and examination fee.  

18VAC41-60-60. Examination administration. (Repealed.) 

A. The examinations may be administered by the board or the 

designated testing service.  

B. The applicant shall follow all procedures established by 

the board with regard to conduct at the examination. Such 

procedures shall include any written instructions 

communicated prior to the examination date and any 

instructions communicated at the site, either written or oral, on 

the date of the examination. Failure to comply with all 

procedures established by the board and the testing service 

with regard to conduct at the examination may be grounds for 

denial of application.  

C. The fee for examination or reexamination is subject to 

contracted charges to the board by an outside vendor. These 

contracts are competitively negotiated and bargained for in 

compliance with the Virginia Public Procurement Act (§ 2.2-

4300 et seq. of the Code of Virginia). Fees may be adjusted and 

charged to the candidate in accordance with these contracts. 

The fee shall not exceed $225 per candidate. 

18VAC41-60-80. Salon license. 

A. Any individual firm wishing to operate a body-piercing 

salon or body-piercing ear only salon shall obtain a salon 

license in compliance with § 54.1-704.1 of the Code of 

Virginia. and shall meet the following qualifications in order 

to receive a license: 

1. The applicant and all members of the responsible 

management shall be in good standing as a licensed salon in 

Virginia and all other jurisdictions where licensed. The 

applicant and all members of the responsible management 

shall disclose to the board at the time of application for 

licensure any disciplinary action taken in Virginia and all 

other jurisdictions in connection with the applicant's 

operation of any body-piercing salon or body-piercing ear 

only salon or practice of the profession. This disclosure 

includes monetary penalties, fines, suspensions, revocations, 

surrender of a license in connection with a disciplinary 

action, or voluntary termination of a license. The applicant 

shall disclose to the board at the time of application for 

licensure if the applicant or any member of the responsible 

management has been previously licensed in Virginia as a 

body-piercing salon or body-piercing ear only salon.  

Upon review of the applicant's and all members of the 

responsible management's prior disciplinary action, the 

board, in its discretion, may deny licensure to any applicant 

wherein it deems the applicant is unfit or unsuited to engage 

in the operation of a body-piercing salon or body-piercing 

ear only salon. The board will decide each case by taking 

into account the totality of the circumstances. Any plea of 

nolo contendere or comparable plea shall be considered a 

disciplinary action for the purposes of this subdivision. The 

applicant shall provide a certified copy of a final order, 

decree, or case decision by a court, regulatory agency, or 

board with the lawful authority to issue such order, decree, 

or case decision, and such copy shall be admissible as prima 

facie evidence of such disciplinary action.  

2. The applicant shall disclose his physical address. A post 

office box is not acceptable. 

3. The applicant shall sign, as part of the application, a 

statement certifying that the applicant has read and 

understands the Virginia body-piercing license laws and this 

chapter.  

4. In accordance with § 54.1-204 of the Code of Virginia, 

each applicant shall disclose the following information about 

the firm and all members of the responsible management 

regarding criminal convictions in Virginia and all other 

jurisdictions: 

a. All misdemeanor convictions involving moral 

turpitude, sexual offense, drug distribution, or physical 

injury within two years of the date of the application; and 

b. All felony convictions within 20 years of the date of 

application. 

Any plea of nolo contendere shall be considered a conviction 

for purposes of this subsection. The record of a conviction 

received from a court shall be accepted as prima facie 

evidence of a conviction or finding of guilt. The board, in its 

discretion, may deny licensure to any applicant in 

accordance with § 54.1-204 of the Code of Virginia. 
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5. The applicant shall disclose the firm's responsible 

management.  

B. A body-piercing salon license or body-piercing ear only 

salon license shall not be transferable and shall bear the same 

name and address of the business. Any changes in the name, or 

address, or ownership of the salon shall be reported to the 

board in writing within 30 days of such changes. New owners 

shall be responsible for reporting such changes in writing to 

the board applying for a new license within 30 days of the 

changes. 

C. In the event of a closing of a body-piercing salon or body-

piercing ear only salon, the board must be notified by the 

owners in writing within 30 days of the closing, and the license 

must be returned by the owners to the board. Whenever the 

legal business entity holding the license is dissolved or altered 

to form a new business entity, the original license becomes 

void and shall be returned to the board within 30 days of the 

change. Additionally, the firm shall apply for a new license 

within 30 days of the change in the business entity. Such 

changes include: 

1. Death of a sole proprietor; 

2. Death or withdrawal of a general partner in a general 

partnership or the managing partner in a limited partnership; 

and 

3. Conversion, formation, or dissolution of a corporation, a 

limited liability company, an association, or any other 

business entity recognized under the laws of the 

Commonwealth of Virginia. 

D. Any change in the officers of a corporation, managers of a 

limited liability company, or officers or directors of an 

association shall be reported to the board in writing within 30 

days of the change. 

D. E. Any individual firm wishing to operate a body-piercing 

salon in a temporary location must have a body-piercing salon 

license issued by the board. 

Part IV 

Renewal/Reinstatement Renewal and Reinstatement 

18VAC41-60-110. License renewal required. 

All body-piercer body piercer, body-piercer body piercer ear 

only, body-piercing salon, and body-piercing ear only salon 

licenses shall expire two years from the last day of the month 

in which they were issued. 

18VAC41-60-120. Continuing education requirement. 

All licensed body piercers shall be required to satisfactorily 

complete a minimum of five hours of health education to 

include but not limited to blood borne (i) bloodborne disease, 

sterilization, and aseptic techniques related to body piercing 

and; (ii) first aid; and (iii) CPR during their licensed term. All 

licensed body piercers ear only shall be required to 

satisfactorily complete a minimum of three hours of health 

education to include but not limited to blood borne bloodborne 

disease and first aid during their licensed term. Documentation 

of training completion shall be provided at the time of renewal 

along with the required fee. 

18VAC41-60-140. Failure to renew. 

A. When a body piercer an individual or body piercer ear only 

business entity fails to renew their license within 30 days 

following its expiration date, the licensee shall meet the 

renewal requirements prescribed in 18VAC41-60-120 and 

18VAC41-60-130 and apply for reinstatement of the license by 

submitting to the Department of Professional and Occupational 

Regulation a reinstatement application along with the required 

renewal and reinstatement fees. 

B. When a body piercer or body piercer ear only an individual 

or business entity fails to renew his its license within two years 

following the expiration date, reinstatement is no longer 

possible. To resume practice, the former body-piercer licensee 

shall apply for licensure as a new applicant, shall meet all 

current application requirements, shall pass the board's current 

examination if applicable, and shall receive a new license. To 

resume practice, the former body-piercer ear only licensee 

shall apply for licensure as a new applicant, shall meet all 

current application requirements, and shall receive a new 

license. 

C. When a body-piercing salon or body-piercing ear only 

salon fails to renew its license within 30 days following the 

expiration date, it shall be required to apply for reinstatement 

of the license by submitting to the Department of Professional 

and Occupational Regulation a reinstatement application along 

with the required renewal and reinstatement fees.  

D. When a body-piercing salon or body-piercing ear only 

salon fails to renew its license within two years following the 

expiration date, reinstatement is no longer possible. To resume 

practice, the former licensee shall apply for licensure as a new 

applicant and shall meet all current application requirements.  

E. C. The date a renewal fee is received by the Department of 

Professional and Occupational Regulation, or its agent, will be 

used to determine whether the requirement for reinstatement of 

a license is applicable and an additional fee is required. 

F. D. When a license is reinstated, the licensee shall have the 

same license number and shall be assigned an expiration date 

two years from the previous expiration date of the license date 

of the last day of the month of reinstatement. 

G. E. A licensee who that reinstates his its license shall be 

regarded as having been continuously licensed without 

interruption. Therefore, a licensee shall be subject to the 

authority of the board for activities performed prior to 

reinstatement. 

H. F. A licensee who that fails to reinstate his its license shall 

be regarded as unlicensed from the expiration date of the 

license forward. Nothing in this chapter shall divest the board 
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of its authority to discipline a licensee for a violation of the law 

or regulations during the period of time for which the 

individual was licensed. 

18VAC41-60-190. Physical facilities. 

A. A body-piercing salon or body-piercing ear only salon 

must be in a permanent building, which must be in a location 

permissible under local zoning codes, if any. If applicable, the 

body-piercing salon or body-piercing ear only salon shall be 

separated from any living quarters by complete floor to ceiling 

partitioning and shall contain no access to living quarters. 

B. The body-piercing salon, body-piercing ear only salon, or 

temporary location shall be maintained in a clean and orderly 

manner. 

C. A body-piercing salon, body-piercing ear only salon, or 

temporary location shall have a blood spill clean-up kit in the 

work area. 

D. Work surfaces in a body-piercing salon, body-piercing ear 

only salon, or temporary location shall be cleaned with an 

EPA-registered, hospital grade disinfectant. Surfaces that 

come in contact with blood or other body fluids shall be 

immediately disinfected with an EPA-registered germicide 

solution. Appropriate personal protective equipment shall be 

worn during cleaning and disinfecting procedures. 

E. In a body-piercing salon, body-piercing ear only salon, or 

temporary location, cabinets or containers for the storage of 

instruments, single-use articles, and other utensils shall be 

provided for each operator and shall be maintained in a sanitary 

manner. 

F. In a body-piercing salon, body-piercing ear only salon, or 

temporary location, bulk single-use articles shall be 

commercially packaged and handled in such a way as to protect 

them the articles from contamination. 

G. In a body-piercing salon, body-piercing ear only salon, or 

temporary location, all materials applied to the human skin 

shall be from single-use articles or transferred from bulk 

containers to single use containers and shall be disposed of 

after each use. 

H. In a body-piercing salon or body-piercing ear only salon, 

the walls, ceilings, and floors shall be kept in good repair. The 

body-piercing area shall be constructed of smooth, hard, 

surfaces that are nonporous, free of open holes or cracks, light 

colored, and easily cleaned. New physical facilities shall not 

include any dark-colored surfaces in the body-piercing area. 

Existing physical facilities with dark-colored surfaces in the 

body-piercing area shall replace the dark-colored surfaces with 

light-colored surfaces whenever the facilities are extensively 

remodeled or upon relocation of the business. 

I. A body-piercing salon, body-piercing ear only salon, or 

temporary location shall have adequate lighting of at least 50 

foot-candles of illumination in the body-piercing and 

sterilization areas. 

J. In a body-piercing salon, body-piercing ear only salon, or 

temporary location, adequate mechanical ventilation shall be 

provided. 

K. A body-piercing salon, body-piercing ear only salon, or 

temporary location shall be equipped with hand-cleaning 

facilities for its personnel with unobstructed access to the 

body-piercing area or body-piercing ear only area such that the 

body piercer or body piercer ear only can return to the area 

without having to touch anything with his hands. Hand-

cleaning facilities shall be equipped either with hot and cold or 

tempered running water under pressure and liquid germicidal 

soap or with a sanitizing solution to clean hands. Hand-

cleaning facilities shall be equipped with single-use towels or 

mechanical hand drying devices and a covered refuse 

container. Such facilities shall be kept clean and in good repair. 

All facilities must have running water and soap accessible for 

cleaning of hands contaminated by body fluids. 

L. Animals are not permitted in the body-piercing salon, 

body-piercing ear only salon, or temporary location except for 

guide or service animals accompanying persons with 

disabilities or nonmammalian animals in enclosed glass 

containers such as fish aquariums, which shall be outside of the 

body-piercing area or sterilization areas area. No animals are 

allowed in the body-piercing area, body-piercing ear only area, 

or sterilization areas area. 

M. In a body-piercing salon, body-piercing ear only salon, or 

temporary location, the use of tobacco products and 

consumption of alcoholic beverages shall be prohibited in the 

body-piercing area, body-piercing ear only area, or 

sterilization areas area. 

N. In a body-piercing salon, body-piercing ear only salon, or 

temporary location, no food or drink will be stored or 

consumed in the body-piercing area, body-piercing ear only 

area, or sterilization areas area. 

O. In a body-piercing salon, body-piercing ear only salon, or 

temporary location, if body-piercing or body-piercing ear only 

is performed where cosmetology services are provided, it shall 

be performed in an area that is separate and enclosed. 

P. All steam sterilizers shall be biological spore tested at least 

monthly. 

Q. Biological spore tests shall be verified through an 

independent laboratory. 

R. Biological spore test records shall be retained for a period 

of three years and made available upon request. 

S. Steam sterilizers shall be used only for instruments used by 

the salon's employees. 
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[ 18VAC41-60-200. Body piercer and body piercer ear only 

responsibilities. 

A. All body piercers and body piercers ear only shall provide 

to the owner one of the following: 

1. Proof of completion of the full series of Hepatitis B 

vaccine; 

2. Proof of immunity by blood titer; or 

3. Written declaration of refusal of the owner's offer of a full 

series of Hepatitis B vaccine. 

B. All body piercers and body piercers ear only shall wear 

clean outer garments, maintain a high degree of personal 

cleanliness, and conform to hygienic practices while on duty. 

C. All body piercers and body piercers ear only shall clean 

their hands thoroughly using hot or tempered water with a 

liquid germicidal soap or use sanitizing solution to clean hands 

before and after body piercing and as necessary to remove 

contaminants. 

D. All body piercers and body piercers ear only must wear 

single-use examination gloves while assembling instruments 

and another pair of single-use examination gloves while 

providing piercing services. 

E. Each time there is an interruption in the service, each time 

the gloves become torn or perforated or become contaminated, 

or whenever the ability of the gloves to function as a barrier is 

compromised: 

1. Gloves shall be removed and disposed of; and 

2. Hands shall be cleaned and a fresh pair of gloves used. 

F. Body piercers and body piercers ear only shall use standard 

precautions while providing piercing services. A body piercer 

or body piercer ear only diagnosed with a communicable 

disease shall provide to the department a written statement 

from a health care practitioner that the body piercer's condition 

no longer poses a threat to public health. 

G. Body piercers and body piercers ear only with draining 

lesions on their hands or face will not be permitted to work 

until cleared by a health care professional. 

H. The area of the client's skin to be pierced shall be cleaned 

with an approved germicidal soap or antiseptic product 

according to label directions. 

I. The external skin of the client to be pierced shall be cleaned 

with an approved germicidal soap or antiseptic product 

according to the label directions. In the case of oral piercings, 

the operator shall provide the individual with antiseptic 

mouthwash in a single-use cup and shall ensure that the 

individual utilizes the mouthwash provided. In the case of a lip, 

labret or cheek piercing, procedures described in this 

subsection for both skin and oral piercings shall be followed. 

J. If shaving is required, razors shall be single-use and 

disposed of in a puncture-resistant container. 

K. Each body piercer or body piercer ear only performing any 

piercing procedures in the salon shall have the education, 

training and experience, or any combination thereof, to 

practice aseptic technique and prevent the transmission of 

blood borne pathogens. All procedures shall be performed 

using aseptic technique. 

L. An individual, single-use, pre-sterilized piercing needle 

shall be used for each client. Single-use disposable instruments 

shall be disposed of in a puncture-resistant container. 

M. Used, nondisposable instruments shall be kept in a 

separate, puncture-resistant container until brush scrubbed in 

hot water soap and then sterilized by autoclaving. 

Contaminated instruments shall be handled with disposable 

gloves. 

N. Used nondisposable instruments that are ultrasonically 

cleaned shall be rinsed under running hot water prior to being 

placed in the used instrument container. 

O. Used nondisposable instruments that are not ultrasonically 

cleaned prior to being placed in the used instrument container 

shall be kept in a germicidal or soap solution until brush 

scrubbed in hot water and soap and sterilized by autoclaving. 

P. The ultrasonic unit shall be sanitized daily with a 

germicidal solution. 

Q. Nondisposable instruments shall be sterilized and shall be 

handled and stored in a manner to prevent contamination. 

Instruments to be sterilized shall be sealed in bags made 

specifically for the purpose of autoclave sterilization and shall 

include the date of sterilization. If nontransparent bags are 

utilized, the bag shall also list the contents. 

R. Autoclave sterilization bags with a color code indicator 

that changes color upon proper sterilization shall be utilized 

during the autoclave sterilization process. 

S. Instruments Nondisposable instruments shall be placed in 

the autoclave in a manner to allow live steam to circulate 

around them. 

T. Contaminated disposable and single-use items shall be 

disposed of in accordance with federal and state regulations 

regarding disposal of biological hazardous materials. 

U. The manufacturer's written instruction of the autoclave 

shall be followed. ] 

18VAC41-60-220. Grounds for license revocation or 

suspension or probation; denial of application, renewal, or 

reinstatement; or imposition of a monetary penalty. 

A. The board may, in considering the totality of the 

circumstances, fine any licensee and suspend, place on 

probation, or revoke or refuse to renew or reinstate any license, 

or deny any application issued under the provisions of Chapter 
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7 (§ 54.1-700 et seq.) of Title 54.1 of the Code of Virginia and 

the regulations of the board this chapter if the board it finds 

that the licensee or applicant: 

1. The licensee is Is incompetent or negligent in practice, or 

incapable mentally or physically, as those terms are 

generally understood in the profession, to (i) practice as a 

body piercer or body piercer ear only, or (ii) operate a body 

piercing salon; 

2. The licensee or applicant is Is convicted of fraud or deceit 

in the practice body piercing or body piercing ear only; 

3. The licensee or applicant attempted Attempted to obtain, 

obtained, renewed, or reinstated a license by false or 

fraudulent representation; 

4. The licensee or applicant violates Violates or induces 

others to violate, or cooperates with others in violating, any 

of the provisions of this chapter or Chapter 7 (§ 54.1-700 et 

seq.) of Title 54.1 of the Code of Virginia or any local 

ordinance or regulation governing standards of health and 

sanitation of the establishment in which body piercers or 

body piercers ear only may practice or offer to practice; 

5. Offers, gives, or promises anything of value or benefit to 

any federal, state, or local employee for the purpose of 

influencing that employee to circumvent in the performance 

of his duties any federal, state, or local law, regulation, or 

ordinance governing body piercing as defined in § 54.1-700 

of the Code of Virginia; 

6. Fails to respond to the board or any of its agents or 

provides false, misleading, or incomplete information to an 

inquiry by the board or any of its agents; 

7. Fails or refuses to allow the board or any of its agents to 

inspect during reasonable hours any licensed salon for 

compliance with provisions of Chapter 7 (§ 54.1-700 et seq.) 

or this chapter; 

5. The licensee or applicant fails 8. Fails to produce, upon 

request or demand of the board or any of its agents, any 

document, book, record, or copy thereof in a licensee's or 

owner's possession or maintained in accordance with this 

chapter; 

6. A licensee fails 9. Fails to notify the board of a change of 

name or address in writing within 30 days of the change for 

each and every license. The board shall not be responsible 

for the licensee's failure to receive notices, communications 

and correspondence caused by the licensee's failure to 

promptly notify the board in writing of any change of name 

or address or for any other reason beyond the control of the 

board; 

7. The licensee or applicant 10. Makes any 

misrepresentation or publishes or causes to be published any 

advertisement that is false, deceptive, or misleading; 

8. The licensee or applicant fails 11. Fails to notify the board 

in writing within 30 days of the suspension, revocation, or 

surrender of a license, certificate, or permit in connection 

with a disciplinary action in any other jurisdiction or of any 

license, certificate, or permit which has been the subject of 

disciplinary action in any other jurisdiction; 

9. The licensee or applicant has been convicted or found 

guilty in any jurisdiction of any misdemeanor or felony. Any 

plea of nolo contendere shall be considered a conviction for 

the purpose of this section. The record of a conviction 

certified or authenticated in such form as to be admissible in 

evidence under the laws of the jurisdiction where convicted 

shall be admissible as prima facie evidence of such guilt; or  

10. The licensee, certificate holder, temporary license 

holder, or applicant fails to notify the board in writing within 

30 days that the licensee, certificate holder, temporary 

license holder, or applicant has pleaded guilty or nolo 

contendere or was convicted and found guilty of any 

misdemeanor or felony. 

B. In addition to subsection A of this section, the board may, 

in considering the totality of the circumstances, revoke, 

suspend, place on probation or refuse to renew or reinstate the 

license of any body-piercing salon or body-piercing ear only 

salon or impose a fine as permitted by law, or both, if the board 

finds that:  

1. The owner or operator of the body-piercing salon or body-

piercing ear only salon fails to comply with the facility 

requirements of body-piercing salons or body-piercing ear 

only salons provided for in this chapter or in any local 

ordinances; or  

2. The owner or operator allows a person who has not 

obtained a license to practice as a body piercer or body 

piercer ear only unless the person is duly enrolled as an 

apprentice.  

C. In addition to subsection A of this section, the board may, 

in considering the totality of the circumstances, revoke, 

suspend, place on probation or refuse to renew or reinstate the 

license of any licensee or impose a fine as permitted by law, or 

both, if the board finds that the licensee fails to take sufficient 

measures to prevent transmission of communicable or 

infectious diseases or fails to comply with any local, state or 

federal law or regulation governing the standards of health and 

sanitation for the practice of body piercing or body piercing ear 

only.  

12. Has been convicted or found guilty, regardless of the 

manner of adjudication in Virginia or any other jurisdiction 

of the United States, of a misdemeanor involving moral 

turpitude, sexual offense, drug distribution, or physical 

injury or any felony, there being no appeal pending 

therefrom or the time for appeal having elapsed. Review of 

convictions shall be subject to the requirements of § 54.1-

204 of the Code of Virginia. Any plea of nolo contendere 



Regulations 

Volume 37, Issue 19 Virginia Register of Regulations  May 10, 2021  

2876 

shall be considered a conviction for purposes of this 

subdivision. The record of a conviction certified or 

authenticated in such form as to be admissible in evidence 

under the laws of the jurisdiction where convicted shall be 

admissible as prima facie evidence of such conviction or 

guilt; 

13. Fails to inform the board in writing within 30 days of 

pleading guilty or nolo contendere or being convicted or 

found guilty regardless of adjudication of any convictions as 

stated in subdivision 12 of this section; 

14. Allows, as responsible management of a salon, a person 

who has not obtained a license to practice as a body piercer 

or body piercer ear only unless the person is duly enrolled as 

an apprentice; 

15. Fails to take sufficient measures to prevent transmission 

of communicable or infectious diseases or fails to comply 

with sanitary requirements provided for in this chapter or 

any local, state, or federal law or regulation governing the 

standards of health and sanitation for the practice of body 

piercing, or the operation of body-piercing salon or body-

piercing ear only salon; or 

16. Fails to comply with all procedures established by the 

board and the testing service with regard to conduct at any 

board examination. 

NOTICE: The following forms used in administering the 

regulation have been filed by the agency. Amended or added 

forms are reflected in the listing and are published following 

the listing. Online users of this issue of the Virginia Register 

of Regulations may also click on the name to access a form. 

The forms are also available from the agency contact or may 

be viewed at the Office of Registrar of Regulations, 900 East 

Main Street, 11th Floor, Richmond, Virginia 23219. 

FORMS 

Body Piercer Examination & License Application, A425-

1241EXLIC (eff. 9/2011)  

Body-Piercing Training & Experience Verification Form, 

A425-12BPTREXP (eff. 9/2011) 

Body-Piercing Apprenticeship Sponsor Application, A425-

12BPSPON (eff. 9/2011) 

Body-Piercing Apprentice Certification Application, A425-

1244BPAC (eff. 9/2011) 

Body-Piercing Apprenticeship Completion Form, A425-

12BPAC (eff. 9/2011) 

Body-Piercing Client Disclosure Form, A425-12BPDIS (eff. 

9/2011) 

Body Piercer Ear Only License Application, A450-1245LIC-

v6 (rev. 9/2016) 

License by Endorsement Application, A450-1213END-v9 

(rev. 9/2016) 

Training & Experience Verification Form, A425-

1213TREXP (eff. 9/2011) 

Salon, Shop, Spa & Parlor License/Reinstatement 

Application, A450-1213BUS-v8 (rev. 9/2016) 

Licensure Fee Notice, A450-1213FEE-v6 (rev. 9/2016) 

Individuals - Reinstatement Application, A450-1213REI-v8 

(rev. 9/2016) 

Body Piercer Examination & License Application, A450-

1241EXLIC-v13 (rev. 7/2019) 

Body-Piercing Client Disclosure Form, A450-12BPDIS-v2 

(rev. 4/2013) 

Body Piercer Ear Only License Application, A450-1245LIC-

v7 (rev. 7/2019) 

License by Endorsement Application, A450-1213END-v10 

(rev. 2/2017) 

Training & Experience Verification Form, A450-

1213TREXP-v6 (eff. 2/2017) 

Salon, Shop, Spa & Parlor License/Reinstatement 

Application, A450-1213BUS-v12 (rev. 7/2019) 

Licensure Fee Notice, A450-1213FEE-v7 (rev. 4/2017) 

Individuals - Reinstatement Application, A450-1213REI-v9 

(rev. 2/2017) 

VA.R. Doc. No. R18-5125; Filed April 13, 2021, 5:49 p.m. 

BOARD OF DENTISTRY 

Proposed Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC60-21. Regulations Governing 

the Practice of Dentistry (adding 18VAC60-21-107). 

Statutory Authority: §§ 54.1-2400 and 54.1-3408.02 of the 

Code of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: 

June 11, 2021 - 9:05 a.m. - Department of Health 

Professions, Perimeter Building, 9960 Mayland Drive, 

2nd Floor, Board Room 4, Henrico, VA 23233 (Location 

subject to change - check the Virginia Regulatory Town 

Hall website at https://townhall.virginia.gov prior to 

meeting.) 

Public Comment Deadline: July 9, 2021. 

Agency Contact: Sandra Reen, Executive Director, Board of 

Dentistry, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, Richmond, VA 

23233, telephone (804) 367-4437, FAX (804) 527-4428, or 

email sandra.reen@dhp.virginia.gov. 

Basis: Regulations are promulgated under the general authority 

of § 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia, which provides the 

http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=5cf74001836~8&typ=40&actno=001836&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=5cf74001836~8&typ=40&actno=001836&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=60f4b001836~9&typ=40&actno=001836&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=60f4b001836~9&typ=40&actno=001836&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=0ffda001836~10&typ=40&actno=001836&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=0ffda001836~10&typ=40&actno=001836&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=65f47005125~16f.pdf&typ=40&actno=005125&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=65f47005125~16f.pdf&typ=40&actno=005125&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=d0c05005125~173.pdf&typ=40&actno=005125&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=d0c05005125~173.pdf&typ=40&actno=005125&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=0dac0005125~18f.pdf&typ=40&actno=005125&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=0dac0005125~18f.pdf&typ=40&actno=005125&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=a7de8005125~19f.pdf&typ=40&actno=005125&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=a7de8005125~19f.pdf&typ=40&actno=005125&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=67801005125~20f.pdf&typ=40&actno=005125&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=67801005125~20f.pdf&typ=40&actno=005125&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=c11aa005125~21f.pdf&typ=40&actno=005125&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=c11aa005125~21f.pdf&typ=40&actno=005125&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=c8bbb005125~22D.pdf&typ=40&actno=005125&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=06c40005125~23f.pdf&typ=40&actno=005125&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=06c40005125~23f.pdf&typ=40&actno=005125&mime=application/pdf
https://townhall.virginia.gov/
https://townhall.virginia.gov/
https://townhall.virginia.gov/
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Board of Dentistry the authority to promulgate regulations to 

administer the regulatory system. The specific statutory 

provisions for electronic prescribing and the authority for 

granting a waiver are found in § 54.1-3408.02 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

Purpose: The purpose of this regulatory action is compliance 

with a statutory requirement to promulgate regulations setting 

out the conditions upon which the board may grant a one-year 

waiver from the requirement for e-prescribing of a controlled 

substance containing an opioid pursuant to Chapter 664 of the 

2019 Acts of Assembly. Since the circumstances may vary 

from practitioner to practitioner, the board has used the 

conditions set forth in statute as the basis for the regulation and 

will take into consideration in making a case-by-case decision 

on a waiver the health, safety, and welfare of a practitioner's 

patients. 

Substance: 18VAC60-21-107 is added to reiterate the 

requirement effective July 1, 2020, that a prescription for a 

controlled substance that contains an opioid must be issued as 

an electronic prescription unless the prescriber qualifies for an 

exemption provided in the law and provide for a one-year from 

the requirement if the practitioner can demonstrate economic 

hardship technological limitations or other exceptional 

circumstances beyond the practitioner's control. 

Issues: There are no advantages or disadvantages to the public 

apart from those in the statutory language. Submitting opioid 

prescriptions electronically has been shown to reduce 

prescription fraud and thereby reduce the volume of opioids 

available for abuse or misuse. The waiver provision, in 

addition to the specific exemptions to electronic prescribing, 

will allow for continued prescribing for practitioners who are 

not able to comply for exceptional circumstances beyond their 

control. There are no particular advantages or disadvantages to 

the agency; there may be an advantage to the Commonwealth 

by a reduction in fraudulent prescriptions. Other matters of 

interest revolve around the implementation and application of 

statutory and regulatory provisions. Some prescribers are 

concerned about the requirement for electronic prescribing, 

which is required by statute by July 1, 2020. 

Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 

Analysis: 

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. The 

Board of Dentistry (Board) proposes to amend 18VAC60-210 

Regulations Governing the Practice of Dentistry in order to 

require that prescriptions of medications containing opioids be 

transmitted electronically from the prescribing authority to the 

pharmacist and to grant one-time waivers up to one year if a 

prescriber cannot transmit prescriptions electronically as of 

July 1, 2020. The proposed amendment would make 

permanent the existing emergency text and is intended to 

prevent the abuse of prescription drugs containing opioids. 

Background. Section 54.1-3408.02 of the Code of Virginia 

states that prescriptions may be transmitted electronically or by 

facsimile machine and shall be treated as valid original 

prescriptions.1 The 2017 Acts of Assembly (Chapters 115 and 

429) amended and reenacted this section of the Code to require 

that any prescription for a controlled substance that contains an 

opiate shall be issued as an electronic prescription. The 

reenacted section containing this requirement took effect on 

July 1, 2020.2 The same legislation also updated the definition 

of electronic prescriptions to be a written prescription that is 

generated on an electronic application and is transmitted to a 

pharmacy as an electronic data file; Schedules II through V 

prescriptions shall be transmitted in accordance with 21 CFR 

Part 1300.3  

Subsequently, pursuant to a statutory change requested by the 

Board,4 Chapter 664 of the 2019 Acts of Assembly further 

amended this section to insert 10 exemptions to this 

requirement and to authorize the licensing health regulatory 

board to grant a hardship waiver for one year.5 Chapter 664 

also required that the Board of Medicine, the Board of Nursing, 

the Board of Dentistry, and the Board of Optometry 

promulgate regulations to implement the waivers within 280 

days of the acts enactment. Hence, the Board promulgated an 

emergency regulation that became effective on December 2, 

2019.6  

The proposed amendment adds a section to the regulation 

(specifically 18VAC60-21-107) containing the two sub-

sections as quoted below: 

18VAC60-21-107. Waiver for electronic prescribing. 

A. Beginning July 1, 2020, a prescription for a controlled 

substance 

that contains an opioid shall be issued as an electronic 

prescription 

consistent with § 54.1-3408.02 of the Code of Virginia, 

unless the 

prescription qualifies for an exemption as set forth in 

subsection C of 

that section. 

B. Upon written request, the board may grant a one-time 

waiver of the 

requirement of subsection A of this section, for a period 

not to exceed 

one year, due to demonstrated economic hardship, 

technological 

limitations that are not reasonably within the control of the 

prescriber, 

or other exceptional circumstances demonstrated by the 

prescriber. 

Thus, the proposed amendment would inform readers as to the 

electronic transmission requirement and the waiver that may 

be obtained, but readers would need to refer to § 54.1-3408.02 

of the Code to find the exemptions that were added by Chapter 

664 of the 2019 Acts of Assembly. 

The exemptions provided in the Code would directly affect the 

potential cost of transmitting electronic prescriptions in a 



Regulations 

Volume 37, Issue 19 Virginia Register of Regulations  May 10, 2021  

2878 

variety of settings. Thus, and although they are not explicitly 

mentioned in the text of the regulation, the exemptions are 

listed here for the reader's reference, with parenthetical notes 

inserted for clarity of context. 

§ 54.1-3408.02 C. The requirements of subsection B 

(electronic transmission) shall not apply if: 

1. The prescriber dispenses the controlled substance that 

contains an opioid directly to the patient or the patient's 

agent; 

2. The prescription is for an individual who is residing in 

a hospital, assisted living facility, nursing home, or 

residential health care facility or is receiving services from 

a hospice provider or outpatient dialysis facility; 

3. The prescriber experiences temporary technological or 

electrical failure or other temporary extenuating 

circumstance that prevents the prescription from being 

transmitted electronically, provided that the prescriber 

documents the reason for this exception in the patient's 

medical record; 

4. The prescriber issues a prescription to be dispensed by 

a pharmacy located on federal property, provided that the 

prescriber documents the reason for this exception in the 

patient's medical record; 

5. The prescription is issued by a licensed veterinarian for 

the treatment of an animal; 

6. The FDA requires the prescription to contain elements 

that are not able to be included in an electronic 

prescription; 

7. The prescription is for an opioid under a research 

protocol; 

8. The prescription is issued in accordance with an 

executive order of the Governor of a declared emergency; 

9. The prescription cannot be issued electronically in a 

timely manner and the patient's condition is at risk, 

provided that the prescriber documents the reason for this 

exception in the patient's medical record; or 

10. The prescriber has been issued a waiver pursuant to 

subsection D (hardship waiver). 

Further, Chapter 664 also amended § 54.1-3410 of the Code, 

effective July 1, 2020, which addresses when pharmacists may 

sell and dispense drugs. It adds a subsection to clarify that, "A 

dispenser who receives a non-electronic prescription for a 

controlled substance containing an opioid is not required to 

verify that one of the exceptions set forth in § 54.1-3408.02 

applies and may dispense such controlled substance pursuant 

to such prescription and applicable law." 

Estimated Benefits and Costs. The 2017 Acts of Assembly 

(Chapters 115 and 429) also directed the Secretary of Health 

and Human Resources to convene a work group of interested 

stakeholders to review actions necessary for the 

implementation of electronic prescriptions for controlled 

substances and evaluate the burden on prescribers, including 

the inability of prescribers to comply with the deadline. The E-

Prescribing Workgroups final report indicates that roughly 61 

percent of prescribers and nearly 99% of pharmacies in 

Virginia had already adopted electronic prescriptions by 2018 

and faced no additional costs.7 The Department of Health 

Professions (DHP) states that all dentists who had a proper 

application (approximately 1,430) have been granted a waiver 

thus far. 

It appears those who needed a waiver have already been 

granted an extension and those with a waiver who need to 

implement e-prescribing before their waiver expires would 

face additional costs such as acquisition and integration of 

software and possibly internet connectivity. The public would 

benefit to the extent that increasing electronic prescriptions of 

controlled substances decreases diversion and instances of 

substance abuse. 

Businesses and Other Entities Affected. The Board currently 

regulates approximately 7,288 dentists. Licensees would only 

be affected by the new requirements if (i) they prescribe 

medications containing opioids, (ii) they do not work in a type 

of facility that is included in the exemptions listed, and (iii) 

they do not already use e-prescription technology. According 

to DHP, approximately 1,430 dentists have been granted a 

waiver. 

Small Businesses8 Affected. It is not known exactly how many 

dentists are small businesses or employees of a small business, 

but most dentists do work in small businesses. However, there 

does not appear to be disproportionately higher costs for small 

businesses. 

Localities9 Affected.10 The proposed amendments potentially 

affect prescribers and patients in all localities. The proposed 

amendments are unlikely to introduce new costs for local 

governments. 

Projected Impact on Employment. The proposed amendments 

are unlikely to affect total employment in the industry. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. The proposed 

amendments are unlikely to substantively affect the use or 

value of private property. Real estate development costs are 

unlikely to be affected. 

____________________________________ 
1See https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title54.1/chapter34/section54.1-

3408.02/  

2See http://lis.virginia.gov/cgi-bin/legp604.exe?171+ful+CHAP0429 
3See Definitions effective July 1, 2020: 

https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title54.1/chapter34/section54.1-3401/ 
4See https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/GetFile.cfm?File=Meeting\30\26790\ 

Agenda_DHP_26790_v1.pdf (page 172) 

5See http://lis.virginia.gov/cgi-bin/legp604.exe?191+ful+CHAP0664 

6See https://townhall.virginia.gov/l/ViewStage.cfm?stageid=8755 

7https://rga.lis.virginia.gov/Published/2018/RD416 

8Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.04 of the Code of Virginia, small business is defined 
as "a business entity, including its affiliates, that (i) is independently owned 

and operated and (ii) employs fewer than 500 full-time employees or has gross 

annual sales of less than $6 million." 

https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title54.1/chapter34/section54.1-3408.02/
https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title54.1/chapter34/section54.1-3408.02/
http://lis.virginia.gov/cgi-bin/legp604.exe?171%20ful%20CHAP0429
https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title54.1/chapter34/section54.1-3401/
https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/GetFile.cfm?File=Meeting/30/26790/Agenda_DHP_26790_v1.pdf
https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/GetFile.cfm?File=Meeting/30/26790/Agenda_DHP_26790_v1.pdf
http://lis.virginia.gov/cgi-bin/legp604.exe?191%20ful%20CHAP0664
https://townhall.virginia.gov/l/ViewStage.cfm?stageid=8755
https://rga.lis.virginia.gov/Published/2018/RD416
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9"Locality" can refer to either local governments or the locations in the 

Commonwealth where the activities relevant to the regulatory change are most 

likely to occur. 
10§ 2.2-4007.04 defines "particularly affected" as bearing disproportionate 

material impact. 

Agency's Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The board 

concurs with the economic impact analysis of the Department 

of Planning and Budget. 

Summary: 

Pursuant to Chapter 664 of the 2019 Acts of Assembly, the 

proposed amendment adds a section to (i) reiterate the 

requirement effective July 1, 2020, that a prescription for a 

controlled substance that contains an opioid must be issued 

as an electronic prescription unless the prescriber qualifies 

for an exemption set out in the law and (ii) provide for a 

one-year from the requirement if the practitioner can 

demonstrate economic hardship technological limitations 

or other exceptional circumstances beyond the 

practitioner's control. 

18VAC60-21-107. Waiver for electronic prescribing.  

A. Beginning July 1, 2020, a prescription for a controlled 

substance that contains an opioid shall be issued as an 

electronic prescription consistent with § 54.1-3408.02 of the 

Code of Virginia, unless the prescription qualifies for an 

exemption as set forth in subsection C of § 54.1-3408.02.  

B. Upon written request, the board may grant a one-time 

waiver of the requirement of subsection A of this section for a 

period not to exceed one year, due to demonstrated economic 

hardship, technological limitations that are not reasonably 

within the control of the prescriber, or other exceptional 

circumstances demonstrated by the prescriber.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R20-6114; Filed April 19, 2021, 8:50 a.m. 

BOARD OF FUNERAL DIRECTORS AND 
EMBALMERS 

Proposed Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC65-40. Regulations for the 

Funeral Service Internship Program (amending 18VAC65-

40-90, 18VAC65-40-110, 18VAC65-40-130, 18VAC65-40-

220, 18VAC65-40-250, 18VAC65-40-280, 18VAC65-40-

320, 18VAC65-40-340, 18VAC65-40-640). 

Statutory Authority: §§ 54.1-2400 and 54.1-2817 of the Code 

of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information:  

June 9, 2021 - 9 a.m. - Electronic only meeting through 

WebEx. Link to the meeting is 

https://covaconf.webex.com/covaconf/j.php?MTID=m86

8a4f502a8842fd890e02ecf0808f0e. Join by audio only 

through US toll free 1-866-692-4530 or US toll 1-517-

466-2023. Meeting number (access code): 185 627 2752. 

Public Comment Deadline: July 9, 2021. 

Agency Contact: Corie Tillman-Wolf, Executive Director, 

Board of Funeral Directors and Embalmers, 9960 Mayland 

Drive, Suite 300, Richmond, VA 23233-1463, telephone (804) 

367-4424, FAX (804) 527-4637, or email 

corie.wolf@dhp.virginia.gov. 

Basis: Regulations for the Funeral Intern Program are 

promulgated under the general authority of § 54.1-2400 of the 

Code of Virginia, which provides the board with authority to 

promulgate regulations to administer the regulatory system. 

Authority for the board to take disciplinary action for failure to 

adequately supervise funeral service interns is found in § 54.1-

2806 of the Code of Virginia. Authority to regulate funeral 

service interns is found in § 54.1-2817 of the Code of Virginia. 

Purpose: The purpose of this regulatory action is to provide 

clear, enforceable regulations for the supervision and practice 

of interns so that interns and funeral homes are not misleading 

the public about an intern's status and that interns are being 

appropriately supervised to protect the public health and safety 

in the handling of human remains. 

Substance: The Board of Funeral Directors and Embalmers has 

adopted proposed regulations to (i) reduce the number of hours 

required for an internship from 3,000 to 2,000 and specify that 

an extension beyond 48 months for completion of an internship 

will only be granted for extenuated circumstances; (ii) require 

supervisors to register for supervision of each funeral service 

intern with an expiration for the registration of 48 months or at 

the completion of the intern's training, whichever occurs first 

in order to allow the board to track active supervisors and make 

sure supervisors are in good standing; (iii) require that interns 

be identified to the public as interns in titles, correspondence, 

and communications with the public; (iv) clarify that a notice 

of renewal may be transmitted electronically, consistent with 

legislation that became effective on July 1, 2018; (v) specify 

that supervision must be provided under a funeral service 

licensee with an unrestricted license and restrict approval of 

supervisors with previous board action within the previous two 

years; (vii) remove language related to deduction of credit 

hours for late intern reports; (viii) clarify that an intern may not 

receive credit for training if they fail to submit a training report, 

rather than forfeiting partial credit for training; and (ix) clarify 

that disciplinary action may be imposed for failure to comply 

with the statutes or regulations of the Board of Funeral 

Directors and Embalmers. 

Issues: The primary advantage to the public is more clarity in 

oversight of funeral interns and assurance that the persons 

supervising their practice hold appropriate licensure that is in 

good standing. All amendments are intended to provide 

additional consumer protection. There are no disadvantages to 

the public. 

There are no advantages or disadvantages to the 

Commonwealth, except more clarity in regulation will assist 

the board in interpretation of the law. 

https://covaconf.webex.com/covaconf/j.php?MTID=m868a4f502a8842fd890e02ecf0808f0e
https://covaconf.webex.com/covaconf/j.php?MTID=m868a4f502a8842fd890e02ecf0808f0e
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Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 

Analysis: 

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. 

Following a periodic review,1 the Board of Funeral Directors 

and Embalmers (Board) proposes to: (1) reduce the number of 

hours required for a funeral service internship from 3,000 to 

2,000, (2) require supervisors to register for the supervision of 

each funeral service intern, (3) prohibit licensees with 

disciplinary records within the last two years from supervising 

interns, and (4) require that interns be identified as interns in 

titles, correspondence, and communications with the public. 

Background. During its periodic review of this regulation, the 

Board compared the number of hours required in Virginia to 

complete an internship to those required in other states, 

including Maryland (1,000 hours), North Carolina (2,000), and 

Kentucky (one year of full time training at 40 hours per week 

which appears to be 2,080 hours). The Board concluded 

Virginia appeared to be out of line with almost every other 

state. Also, a commenter on the periodic review noted that a 

Funeral Service Provider Workforce Study2 showed that 

funeral service licensees are retiring or leaving the profession 

at a higher rate than licensees are entering the profession. The 

Board concurred with the commenter that the current 3,000-

hour internship requirement is one factor that limits the ability 

to continually have a pool of qualified funeral service 

licensees. The Board further compared internship hours for 

other health professions, which range from one year for 

professions such as speech language pathologists to 2,000 

hours as an administrator-in-training for a nursing home 

administrator. To qualify as an assisted living facility 

administrator (a profession with similar educational 

requirements), a person must have 30 hours of post-secondary 

education and 640 hours of training as an administrator-in-

training. 

Estimated Benefits and Costs. One of the proposed changes 

represents a 1,000-hour reduction in the time required to 

complete a funeral service internship, which corresponds to 

125 eight-hour business days or 25 full-working weeks (six 

months). Although interns earn some money during their 

internships, they would likely earn more as a full-time 

employee. The opportunity to increase their earning potential 

six months earlier is clearly beneficial to the interns. 

The impact on the pool of interns is two-fold. On one hand, a 

funeral service intern would be able to complete the program 

about six months earlier under the proposed regulation. This 

change would decrease the current pool of interns. On the other 

hand, the Department of Health Professions (DHP) points out 

that the relatively high number of required internship hours 

currently discourages some potential candidates from 

obtaining their licenses in Virginia. To the extent that a 

decrease in the number of hours would encourage internships, 

funeral homes would benefit from an increase in the pool of 

interns. Whether one of these opposite impacts would 

dominate the other is not clear. 

Similarly, the impact on affected funeral establishments is not 

clear. Generally, under the new rule funeral establishments that 

currently employ interns would likely pay higher wages to 

replace lower-cost intern labor six months earlier, assuming 

another intern cannot be hired. However, whether existing 

establishments can easily replace interns who would complete 

their training earlier than before will depend on the interaction 

of the two opposing factors noted and how they jointly impact 

the intern pool, which cannot be determined. 

DHP does not expect any reduction in the quality of services 

offered by interns who would get their certificates six months 

early. This expectation is supported by the fact that the 

statutory requirements (that an intern assist in embalming at 

least 25 bodies and conduct at least 25 funerals), the 

requirement to pass the licensing examination, and the 

inspection requirements to ensure minimum quality remain the 

same. 

The Board also proposes to require intern supervisors to 

register for the supervision of each intern, and that the 

registration expire after 48 months or at the completion of the 

interns training, whichever occurs first. No fee is proposed for 

this registration. According to the Board, the intent of this rule 

is to ensure that the Board is aware of who is currently 

supervising interns, so there is greater accountability and 

consistency. Currently, 567 persons are registered as 

supervisors, but there are only 186 interns. As a result, the 

Board contends that the majority of those registered are not 

actively supervising interns, since each supervisor may have 

two interns. This change will place on the supervisor the 

burden of sending registration documents for each intern 

supervised. 

The Board further proposes to prohibit someone who has been 

disciplined within the past two years from supervising an 

intern. Since the professionalism, skills, and integrity of the 

supervisor is critical to training an intern for competency in the 

profession, the Board is concerned about the effect upon 

competency if a supervisor has recently been disciplined by the 

Board. Supervisors with a disqualifying record would lose the 

ability to supervise an intern under this change. 

Finally, the Board proposes to require that interns be identified 

as interns in titles, correspondence, and communications with 

the public. The intent of the additional language is protection 

for consumers so that they understand that a person is receiving 

training in a funeral home and is not a licensed funeral service 

provider. 

Businesses and Other Entities Affected. There are 420 licensed 

funeral establishments, and another 79 are licensed as branch 

establishments. Both individual establishments and branch 

establishments hold licenses, but either may be owned by large 

national companies. There are 1,463 funeral service licensees 

with current, active licenses; 567 licensees are also registered 

as supervisors. In the 4th quarter of FY 2019, there were 186 

funeral interns.3 The proposed amendments would introduce 

additional burden in terms of the newly required registration 
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for each intern and prohibition of supervision if someone has 

been disciplined within the past two years. An adverse 

economic impact on businesses is indicated because there do 

not appear to be any offsetting direct benefit to the burden and 

the prohibition. 

Localities4 Affected.5 The proposed amendments should not 

affect any locality more than others. The proposed 

amendments do not introduce costs for localities. 

Projected Impact on Employment. The proposal to reduce the 

number of hours required for an internship from 3,000 to 2,000 

would allow interns to start earning higher wages six months 

earlier. This may change their employment status but is 

unlikely to directly affect total employment. The impact on the 

available pool of interns is mixed due to competing opposite 

effects of the reduction in internship hours as discussed above. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. The proposed 

amendments would not substantively affect the use and value 

of private property. No significant effect is expected on real 

estate development costs. 

Adverse Effect on Small Businesses.6 

Types and Estimated Number of Small Businesses Affected. 

The proposed amendments affect licensed funeral 

establishments and branch establishments that employ interns, 

most if not all of which are likely small businesses.7 As 

indicated, DHP reports 567 licensees are registered as 

supervisors, but there were only 186 funeral interns. 

Costs and Other Effects. Additional burdens in terms of the 

newly required registration for each intern and prohibition of 

supervision if someone has been disciplined within the past 

two years as discussed are also applicable to the businesses that 

are small in size. 

Alternative Method that Minimizes Adverse Impact. There are 

no clear alternative methods that both reduce adverse impact 

and meet the intended policy goals. 

__________________________________ 

1https://townhall.virginia.gov/l/ViewPReview.cfm?PRid=1642 

2https://townhall.virginia.gov/l/GetFile.cfm?File=22\5221\8787\AgencyState
ment_DHP_8787_v3.pdf 

3Data source: Department of Health Professions 

4"Locality" can refer to either local governments or the locations in the 
Commonwealth where the activities relevant to the regulatory change are most 

likely to occur. 

5§ 2.2-4007.04 defines "particularly affected" as bearing disproportionate 

material impact. 

6Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.04 of the Code of Virginia, small business is defined 

as "a business entity, including its affiliates, that (i) is independently owned 
and operated and (ii) employs fewer than 500 full-time employees or has gross 

annual sales of less than $6 million." 

7Virginia Employment Commission records indicate that as of the first quarter 
of 2019, the Commonwealth had: a) 349 Funeral Homes and Funeral Services 

firms, all of which had fewer than 500 employees, and b) 131 Cemeteries and 

Crematories firms, all of which had fewer than 500 employees. 

Agency's Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The Board 

of Funeral Directors and Embalmers concurs with the 

economic impact analysis prepared by the Department of 

Planning and Budget. 

Summary: 

The proposed amendments (i) reduce the number of hours 

required for an internship to 2,000; (ii) require supervisors 

to register for supervision of each funeral service intern 

with an expiration for the registration of 48 months or at the 

completion of the intern's training, whichever occurs first, 

in order to allow the board to track active supervisors and 

make sure supervisors are in good standing; (iii) require 

that interns be identified to the public as interns in titles, 

correspondence, and communications with the public; (iv) 

clarify that a notice of renewal may be transmitted 

electronically, consistent with legislation that became 

effective on July 1, 2018; (v) specify that supervision must 

be provided under a funeral service licensee with an 

unrestricted license and restrict approval of supervisors 

with previous board action within the previous two years; 

(vi) remove language related to deduction of credit hours 

for late intern reports; (vii) clarify that an intern may not 

receive credit for training if the intern fails to submit a 

training report, rather than forfeiting partial credit for 

training; and (viii) clarify that disciplinary action may be 

imposed for failure to comply with the statutes or 

regulations of the Board of Funeral Directors and 

Embalmers. 

18VAC65-40-90. Renewal of registration. 

A. The funeral service intern registration shall expire on 

March 31 of each calendar year and may be renewed by 

submission of the renewal notice and prescribed fee. 

B. A person who fails to renew a registration by the expiration 

date shall be deemed to have an invalid registration. No credit 

will be allowed for an internship period served under an 

expired registration. 

C. The funeral service intern is responsible for notifying the 

board within 14 days of any changes in name, address, 

employment, or supervisor. Any notices shall be validly given 

when mailed to the address on record with the board. Renewal 

notices may be mailed or sent electronically. 

18VAC65-40-110. Reinstatement Renewal or 

reinstatement of expired registration. 

A. A funeral service intern whose registration has expired 

may be reinstated renewed within one year following 

expiration by payment of the current renewal fee and the late 

renewal fee. 

B. A funeral service intern whose registration has been 

expired for more than one year shall apply for reinstatement by 

submission of an application and payment of a reinstatement 

about:blank
about:blank
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fee. The board may consider reinstatement of an expired 

registration for up to three years following expiration. 

C. When a registration is not reinstated within three years of 

its expiration date, a new application for registration shall be 

filed and a new internship begun. 

18VAC65-40-130. Funeral service internship. 

A. The internship shall consist of at least 3,000 2,000 hours 

of training to be completed within no less than 12 months and 

no more than 48 months. For good cause shown, the The board 

may grant an extension of time for completion of an internship 

only for extenuating circumstances. 

B. The funeral service intern shall be assigned a work 

schedule of not less than 20 hours nor more than 60 hours per 

week in order to receive credit for such training. For good 

cause shown, the board may waive the limitation on an intern's 

work schedule. 

C. A funeral service intern shall receive training in all areas 

of funeral service. 

D. A funeral service intern shall be identified to the public as 

a funeral service intern in a title used, name tag worn, and any 

correspondence or communication in which the intern's name 

is used. 

18VAC65-40-220. Qualifications of training site. 

A. The board shall approve only an establishment or two 

combined establishments to serve as the training site or sites 

that: 

1. Have a full and unrestricted Virginia license; 

2. Have complied in all respects with the provisions of the 

regulations of the Board of Funeral Directors and 

Embalmers; and 

3. Have 50 or more funerals and 50 or more bodies for 

embalming over a 12-month period for each person to be 

trained. This total must be maintained throughout the period 

of training. If the establishment does not meet the required 

number of funerals or embalmings, the funeral service intern 

may seek approval for an additional training site. 

B. The board may grant approval for a resident trainee an 

intern to receive all or a portion of the embalming training at a 

facility of state or federal government or an accredited 

educational institution. 

18VAC65-40-250. Requirements for supervision. 

A. Training shall be conducted under the direct supervision 

of a licensee or licensees approved by the board. Credit shall 

only be allowed for training under direct supervision. 

B. The board shall approve only funeral service licensees, 

licensed funeral directors, or licensed embalmers to give 

funeral training who have a full and unrestricted Virginia 

funeral license, have at least two consecutive years in practice 

as a funeral service licensee, funeral director, or embalmer and 

are employed full time in or under contract with the 

establishment, facility, or institution where training occurs. 

The board will not approve registration of a supervisor who has 

been subject to board disciplinary action within the most recent 

two years. 

C. A supervisor licensed as an embalmer or a funeral director 

shall provide supervision only in the areas of funeral practice 

for which he is licensed. A supervisor shall ensure that a 

funeral service intern receives training under the direct 

supervision of a licensee who has a current license in good 

standing. 

D. A supervisor shall register with the board for each funeral 

service intern for whom the supervisor is providing 

supervision. Such registration shall expire 48 months after 

registration or at the completion of the intern's training, 

whichever occurs first. If the intern has been granted an 

extension beyond 48 months for extenuating circumstances, 

the supervisor may continue to provide supervision for a time 

period specified by the board. 

D. E. Failure to register as a supervisor may subject the 

licensee to disciplinary action by the board. 

E. F. If a supervisor is unable or unwilling to continue 

providing supervision, the funeral service intern shall obtain a 

new supervisor. Credit for training shall resume when a new 

supervisor is approved by the board and the intern has paid the 

prescribed fee for the change of supervisor. 

G. No more than two funeral service interns shall be 

concurrently registered under any one person licensed for the 

practice of funeral service, funeral directing, or embalming. 

18VAC65-40-280. Supervisor application package. 

A. A licensee seeking approval by the board as a supervisor 

of an intern shall submit a completed application and any 

additional documentation as may be required to determine 

eligibility for each intern to be supervised. 

B. The application for supervision of a funeral service intern 

shall be signed by the establishment manager and by the 

persons who will be providing supervision for embalming and 

for the funeral services. 

18VAC65-40-320. Reports to the board. 

A. The intern, the supervisor or supervisors, and the 

establishment shall submit a written report to the board at the 

end of every 1,000 hours of training. The report shall: 

1. Specify the period of time in which the 1,000 hours has 

been completed and verify that the intern has actually served 

in the required capacity during the preceding period; and 

2. Be received in the board office no later than 14 days 

following the end of the completion of 1,000 hours. Late 
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reports may result in additional time being added to the 

internship. 

B. If the internship is terminated or interrupted prior to 

completion of 1,000 hours or if the intern is changing 

supervisors or training sites, the intern and the supervisor shall 

submit a partial report to the board with a written explanation 

of the cause of program termination or interruption or of the 

change in training or supervision. 

1. The partial report shall provide the amount of time served 

and the dates since the last reporting period. Credit for partial 

reports shall be given for the number of hours of training 

completed. 

2. Partial reports shall be received in the board office no later 

than 14 days after the interruption or termination of the 

internship or after the change in supervisors or training sites. 

Credit may be deducted for late reports. 

18VAC65-40-340. Supervisors' responsibilities. 

A. The supervisor shall provide the intern with all applicable 

laws and regulations or sections of regulations relating to the 

funeral industry. 

B. The supervisor shall provide the intern with copies of and 

instruction in the use of all forms and price lists employed by 

the funeral establishment. 

C. The supervisor shall provide the intern with instruction in 

all aspects of funeral services and shall allow the intern under 

direct supervision to conduct all necessary arrangements for 

assist in conducting a minimum of 25 funerals. 

D. The embalming supervisor shall provide instruction on all 

necessary precautions, embalming functions, and reporting 

forms and shall allow the intern under direct supervision to 

perform assist in the performance of a minimum of 25 

embalmings. 

E. The supervisor shall provide the intern with instruction in 

making preneed funeral arrangements and instruction on the 

laws and regulations pertaining to preneed funeral contracts 

and disclosures. 

F. The supervisor shall provide instruction on cremation and 

on the laws and regulations pertaining to cremation. 

G. If a training site does not offer preneed funeral planning or 

cremation services, the supervisor shall arrange for such 

training at another licensed funeral establishment that does. 

18VAC65-40-640. Disciplinary action. 

The board may refuse to issue or renew a license, registration, 

or approval to any applicant; and may suspend for a stated 

period of time or indefinitely, or revoke any license, 

registration, or approval, or reprimand any person, or place his 

license or registration on probation with such terms and 

conditions and for such time as it may designate or impose a 

monetary penalty for failure to comply with the laws or 

regulations of the Board of Funeral Directors and Embalmers. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R19-6053; Filed April 16, 2021, 9:34 a.m. 

BOARD OF MEDICINE 

Final Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC85-21. Regulations Governing 

Prescribing of Opioids and Buprenorphine (adding 

18VAC85-21-21). 

Statutory Authority: §§ 54.1-2400 and 54.1-2928.2 of the Code 

of Virginia. 

Effective Date: June 9, 2021. 

Agency Contact: William L. Harp, M.D., Executive Director, 

Board of Medicine, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, 

Richmond, VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-4558, FAX (804) 

527-4429, or email william.harp@dhp.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendments (i) require a prescription for a controlled 

substance that contains an opioid to be issued as an 

electronic prescription unless the prescriber qualifies for an 

exemption set out in the law and (ii) provide a one-time 

waiver of this requirement for a maximum of one year if a 

practitioner can demonstrate economic hardship, 

technological limitations, or other exceptional 

circumstances beyond the practitioner's control.  

Summary of Public Comments and Agency's Response: A 

summary of comments made by the public and the agency's 

response may be obtained from the promulgating agency or 

viewed at the office of the Registrar of Regulations. 

18VAC85-21-21. Electronic prescribing.  

A. Beginning July 1, 2020, a prescription for a controlled 

substance that contains an opioid shall be issued as an 

electronic prescription consistent with § 54.1-3408.02 of the 

Code of Virginia [ , unless the prescription qualifies for an 

exemption as set forth in subsection C of § 54.1-3408.02 ].  

B. Upon written request, the board may grant a one-time 

waiver of the requirement of subsection A of this section for a 

period not to exceed one year due to demonstrated economic 

hardship, technological limitations that are not reasonably 

within the control of the prescriber, or other exceptional 

circumstances demonstrated by the prescriber.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R20-6085; Filed April 12, 2021, 3:47 p.m. 

BOARD OF NURSING 

Proposed Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC90-40. Regulations for 

Prescriptive Authority for Nurse Practitioners (adding 

18VAC90-40-122). 
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Statutory Authority: §§ 54.1-2400 and 54.1-3408.02 of the 

Code of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: 

May 18, 2021 - 10:30 a.m. - Electronic only. The link and 

instructions to attend the electronic meeting will be in the 

agenda package posted prior to the meeting at 

http://www.dhp.virginia.gov and on the Virginia 

Regulatory Town Hall at https://townhall.virginia.gov.  

Public Comment Deadline: July 9, 2021. 

Agency Contact: Jay P. Douglas, R.N., Executive Director, 

Board of Nursing, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, Richmond, 

VA 23233-1463, telephone (804) 367-4520, FAX (804) 527-

4455, or email jay.douglas@dhp.virginia.gov. 

Basis: Regulations are promulgated under the general authority 

of § 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia, which provides the 

Boards of Nursing and Medicine the authority to promulgate 

regulations to administer the regulatory system. The specific 

statutory provisions for electronic prescribing and the authority 

for granting a waiver are found in § 54.1-3408.02 of the Code 

of Virginia. 

Purpose: The purpose of this regulatory action is compliance 

with a statutory requirement to promulgate regulations setting 

out the conditions upon which the boards may grant a one-year 

waiver from the requirement for e-prescribing of a controlled 

substance containing an opioid. Since the circumstances may 

vary from practitioner to practitioner, the boards have used the 

conditions set forth in statute as the basis for the regulation and 

take into consideration in making a case-by-case decision on a 

waiver the health, safety, and welfare of a practitioner's 

patients. 

Substance: 18VAC90-40-122 reiterates the requirement that 

takes effect on July 1, 2020, that a prescription for a controlled 

substance that contains an opioid must be issued as an 

electronic prescription unless the prescriber qualifies for an 

exemption provided in the law and provides for a one-year 

from the requirement if the practitioner can demonstrate 

economic hardship technological limitations or other 

exceptional circumstances beyond the practitioner's control. 

Issues: There are no advantages or disadvantages to the public 

apart from those in the statutory language. Submitting opioid 

prescriptions electronically has been shown to reduce 

prescription fraud and thereby reduce the volume of opioids 

available for abuse or misuse. The waiver provision, in 

addition to the specific exemptions to electronic prescribing, 

will allow for continued prescribing for practitioners who are 

not able to comply for exceptional circumstances beyond their 

control. There are no particular advantages or disadvantages to 

the agency; there may be an advantage to the Commonwealth 

by a reduction in fraudulent prescriptions. Other matters of 

interest revolve around the implementation and application of 

statutory and regulatory provisions. Some prescribers are 

concerned about the requirement for electronic prescribing, 

which is required by statute by July 1, 2020. 

Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 

Analysis: 

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. The 

Board of Nursing (Board) proposes to amend 18VAC90-40 

Regulations for Prescriptive Authority for Nurse Practitioners 

in order to require that prescriptions of medications containing 

opioids be transmitted electronically from the prescribing 

authority to the pharmacist and to grant one-time waivers up to 

one year if a prescriber cannot transmit prescriptions 

electronically as of July 1, 2020. The proposed amendment 

would make permanent the existing emergency text and is 

intended to prevent the abuse of prescription drugs containing 

opioids. 

Background. Section 54.1-3408.02 of the Code of Virginia 

states that prescriptions may be transmitted electronically or by 

facsimile machine and shall be treated as valid original 

prescriptions.1 The 2017 Acts of Assembly (Chapters 115 and 

429) amended and reenacted this section of the Code to require 

that any prescription for a controlled substance that contains an 

opiate shall be issued as an electronic prescription. The 

reenacted section containing this requirement took effect on 

July 1, 2020.2 The same legislation also updated the definition 

of electronic prescriptions to be a written prescription that is 

generated on an electronic application and is transmitted to a 

pharmacy as an electronic data file; Schedule II through V 

prescriptions shall be transmitted in accordance with 21 CFR 

Part 1300.3  

Subsequently, pursuant to a statutory change requested by the 

Board,4 Chapter 664 of the 2019 Acts of Assembly further 

amended this section to insert 10 exemptions to this 

requirement and to authorize the licensing health regulatory 

board to grant a hardship waiver for one year.5 Chapter 664 

also required that the Board of Medicine, the Board of Nursing, 

the Board of Dentistry, and the Board of Optometry 

promulgate regulations to implement the waivers within 280 

days of the acts enactment. Hence, the Board of Nursing 

promulgated an emergency regulation that became effective on 

December 23, 2019.6  

The proposed amendment adds a section to the regulation 

(specifically 18VAC90-40-122) containing two sub-sections 

as quoted below. 

18VAC90-40-122. Waiver for electronic prescribing. 

A. Beginning July 1, 2020, a prescription for a controlled 

substance that contains an 

opioid shall be issued as an electronic prescription 

consistent with § 54.1-3408.02 of the 

Code of Virginia, unless the prescription qualifies for an 

exemption as set forth in 

subsection C of that section. 

B. Upon written request, the boards may grant a one-time 

waiver of the requirement of 

subsection A of this section, for a period not to exceed one 

year, due to demonstrated 

http://www.dhp.virginia.gov/
https://townhall.virginia.gov/
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economic hardship, technological limitations that are not 

reasonably within the control of 

the prescriber, or other exceptional circumstances 

demonstrated by the prescriber. 

Thus, the proposed amendment would inform readers as to the 

electronic transmission requirement and the waiver that may 

be obtained, but readers would need to refer to § 54.1-3408.02 

of the Code to find the exemptions that were added by Chapter 

664 of the 2019 Acts of Assembly. 

The exemptions provided in the Code would directly affect the 

potential cost of transmitting electronic prescriptions in a 

variety of settings. Thus, although they are not explicitly 

mentioned in the text of the regulation, the exemptions are 

listed here for the readers reference, with parenthetical notes 

inserted for clarity of context. 

§ 54.1-3408.02 C. The requirements of subsection B 

(electronic transmission) shall not apply if: 

1. The prescriber dispenses the controlled substance that 

contains an opioid directly to the patient or the patient's 

agent; 

2. The prescription is for an individual who is residing in 

a hospital, assisted living facility, nursing home, or 

residential health care facility or is receiving services from 

a hospice provider or outpatient dialysis facility; 

3. The prescriber experiences temporary technological or 

electrical failure or other temporary extenuating 

circumstance that prevents the prescription from being 

transmitted electronically, provided that the prescriber 

documents the reason for this exception in the patient's 

medical record; 

4. The prescriber issues a prescription to be dispensed by 

a pharmacy located on federal property, provided that the 

prescriber documents the reason for this exception in the 

patient's medical record; 

5. The prescription is issued by a licensed veterinarian for 

the treatment of an animal; 

6. The FDA requires the prescription to contain elements 

that are not able to be included in an electronic 

prescription; 

7. The prescription is for an opioid under a research 

protocol; 

8. The prescription is issued in accordance with an 

executive order of the Governor of a declared emergency; 

9. The prescription cannot be issued electronically in a 

timely manner and the patient's condition is at risk, 

provided that the prescriber documents the reason for this 

exception in the patient's medical record; or 

10. The prescriber has been issued a waiver pursuant to 

subsection D (hardship waiver). 

Further, Chapter 664 also amended § 54.1-3410 of the Code, 

effective July 1, 2020, which addresses when pharmacists may 

sell and dispense drugs. It adds a subsection to clarify that, A 

dispenser who receives a non-electronic prescription for a 

controlled substance containing an opioid is not required to 

verify that one of the exceptions set forth in § 54.1-3408.02 

applies and may dispense such controlled substance pursuant 

to such prescription and applicable law. 

Estimated Benefits and Costs. The 2017 Acts of Assembly 

(Chapters 115 and 429) also directed the Secretary of Health and 

Human Resources to convene a work group of interested 

stakeholders to review actions necessary for the implementation 

of electronic prescriptions for controlled substances and evaluate 

the burden on prescribers, including the inability of prescribers to 

comply with the deadline. The E-Prescribing Workgroups final 

report indicates that roughly 61% of prescribers and nearly 99% 

of pharmacies in Virginia had already adopted electronic 

prescriptions by 2018 and faced no additional costs.7 The 

Department of Health Professions (DHP) states that all nurse 

practitioners who had a proper application (approximately 150) 

have been granted a waiver thus far. 

It appears those who needed a waiver have already been 

granted an extension and those with a waiver who need to 

implement e-prescribing before their waiver expires would 

face additional costs such as acquisition and integration of 

software and possibly internet connectivity. The public would 

benefit to the extent that increasing electronic prescriptions of 

controlled substances decreases diversion and instances of 

substance abuse. 

Businesses and Other Entities Affected. The Board currently has 

approximately 8,700 nurse practitioners with prescriptive 

authority. Licensees would only be affected by the new 

requirements if (i) they prescribe medications containing opioids, 

(ii) they do not work in a type of facility that is included in the 

exemptions listed above, and (iii) they do not already use e-

prescription technology. According to DHP, approximately 150 

nurse practitioners have been granted a waiver. 

Small Businesses8 Affected. DHP could not provide 

information on the number of licensees who may be proprietors 

or employees of a small business. However, there does not 

appear to be disproportionately higher costs for small 

businesses. 

Localities9 Affected.10 The proposed amendments potentially 

affect prescribers and patients in all localities. The proposed 

amendments are unlikely to introduce new costs for local 

governments. 

Projected Impact on Employment. The proposed amendments 

are unlikely to affect total employment in the industry. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. The proposed 

amendments are unlikely to substantively affect the use or 

value of private property. Real estate development costs are 

unlikely to be affected. 

_________________________________________ 
1See https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title54.1/chapter34/section54.1-

3408.02/  
2See http://lis.virginia.gov/cgi-bin/legp604.exe?171+ful+CHAP0429 

3See Definitions effective July 1, 2020: 

https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title54.1/chapter34/section54.1-3401/ 

https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title54.1/chapter34/section54.1-3408.02/
https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title54.1/chapter34/section54.1-3408.02/
http://lis.virginia.gov/cgi-bin/legp604.exe?171%20ful%20CHAP0429
https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title54.1/chapter34/section54.1-3401/
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4See https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/GetFile.cfm?File=Meeting\30\26790\ 

Agenda_DHP_26790_v1.pdf (page 172) 

5See http://lis.virginia.gov/cgi-bin/legp604.exe?191+ful+CHAP0664 
6See https://townhall.virginia.gov/l/ViewStage.cfm?stageid=8798 

7https://rga.lis.virginia.gov/Published/2018/RD416 
8Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.04 of the Code of Virginia, small business is defined 

as "a business entity, including its affiliates, that (i) is independently owned 

and operated and (ii) employs fewer than 500 full-time employees or has gross 

annual sales of less than $6 million." 
9"Locality" can refer to either local governments or the locations in the 

Commonwealth where the activities relevant to the regulatory change are most 

likely to occur. 
10§ 2.2-4007.04 defines "particularly affected" as bearing disproportionate 

material impact. 

Agency's Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The Boards 

of Nursing and Medicine concur with the economic impact 

analysis of the Department of Planning and Budget. 

Summary: 

The proposed amendment adds a section to (i) reiterate the 

requirement that takes effect on July 1, 2020, that a 

prescription for a controlled substance that contains an 

opioid must be issued as an electronic prescription unless 

the prescriber qualifies for an exemption set out in the law 

and (ii) provides for a one-year from the requirement if the 

practitioner can demonstrate economic hardship 

technological limitations or other exceptional 

circumstances beyond the practitioner's control. 

18VAC90-40-122. Waiver for electronic prescribing.  

A. Beginning July 1, 2020, a prescription for a controlled 

substance that contains an opioid shall be issued as an 

electronic prescription consistent with § 54.1-3408.02 of the 

Code of Virginia, unless the prescription qualifies for an 

exemption as set forth in subsection C of § 54.1-3408.02.  

B. Upon written request, the boards may grant a one-time 

waiver of the requirement of subsection A of this section for a 

period not to exceed one year, due to demonstrated economic 

hardship, technological limitations that are not reasonably 

within the control of the prescriber, or other exceptional 

circumstances demonstrated by the prescriber. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R20-6115; Filed April 21, 2021, 8:28 a.m. 

BOARD OF PHARMACY 

Final Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC110-20. Regulations Governing 

the Practice of Pharmacy (amending 18VAC110-20-275). 

Statutory Authority: §§ 54.1-2400 and 54.1-3307 of the Code 

of Virginia. 

Effective Date: June 9, 2021. 

Agency Contact: Caroline Juran, RPh, Executive Director, 

Board of Pharmacy, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, 

Richmond, VA 23233-1463, telephone (804) 367-4456, FAX 

(804) 527-4472, or email caroline.juran@dhp.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendments (i) require the specialty pharmacy 

participating in white bagging to notify the receiving 

pharmacy or alternative delivery site of the shipment to 

ensure appropriate coordination of patient care; (ii) require 

the pharmacy to provide to the receiving pharmacy an 

estimated arrival date, to provide the name of the patient to 

whom the drug has been dispensed, and to provide the exact 

address where the product has been shipped; (iii) require 

appropriate storage and security for a shipped product; and 

(iv) prohibit delivery to a patient's residence of any drug that 

requires special storage, reconstitution, or compounding 

prior to administration is intended and that will be 

subsequently transported by the patient for administration. 

Summary of Public Comments and Agency's Response: A 

summary of comments made by the public and the agency's 

response may be obtained from the promulgating agency or 

viewed at the office of the Registrar of Regulations. 

18VAC110-20-275. Delivery of dispensed prescriptions. 

A. Pursuant to § 54.1-3420.2 B of the Code of Virginia, in 

addition to direct hand delivery to a patient or patient's agent 

or delivery to a patient's residence, a pharmacy may deliver a 

dispensed prescription drug order for Schedule VI controlled 

substances to another pharmacy, to a practitioner of the healing 

arts licensed to practice pharmacy or to sell controlled 

substances, or to an authorized person or entity holding a 

controlled substances registration issued for this purpose in 

compliance with this section and any other applicable state or 

federal law. Prescription drug orders for Schedule II through 

Schedule V controlled substances may not be delivered to an 

alternate delivery location unless such delivery is authorized 

by federal law and regulations of the board. 

B. Delivery to another pharmacy. 

1. One pharmacy may fill prescriptions and deliver the 

prescriptions to a second pharmacy for patient pickup or 

direct delivery to the patient provided the two pharmacies 

have the same owner, or have a written contract or 

agreement specifying the services to be provided by each 

pharmacy, the responsibilities of each pharmacy, and the 

manner in which each pharmacy will comply with all 

applicable federal and state law. 

2. Each pharmacy using such a drug delivery system shall 

maintain and comply with all procedures in a current policy 

and procedure manual that includes the following 

information: 

a. A description of how each pharmacy will comply with 

all applicable federal and state law; 

b. The procedure for maintaining required, retrievable 

dispensing records to include which pharmacy maintains 

the hard-copy prescription, which pharmacy maintains the 

active prescription record for refilling purposes, how each 

pharmacy will access prescription information necessary 

https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/GetFile.cfm?File=Meeting/30/26790/Agenda_DHP_26790_v1.pdf
https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/GetFile.cfm?File=Meeting/30/26790/Agenda_DHP_26790_v1.pdf
http://lis.virginia.gov/cgi-bin/legp604.exe?191%20ful%20CHAP0664
https://townhall.virginia.gov/l/ViewStage.cfm?stageid=8798
https://rga.lis.virginia.gov/Published/2018/RD416
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to carry out its assigned responsibilities, method of 

recordkeeping for identifying the pharmacist or 

pharmacists responsible for dispensing the prescription 

and counseling the patient, and how and where this 

information can be accessed upon request by the board; 

c. The procedure for tracking the prescription during each 

stage of the filling, dispensing, and delivery process; 

d. The procedure for identifying on the prescription label 

all pharmacies involved in filling and dispensing the 

prescription; 

e. The policy and procedure for providing adequate 

security to protect the confidentiality and integrity of 

patient information; 

f. The policy and procedure for ensuring accuracy and 

accountability in the delivery process; 

g. The procedure and recordkeeping for returning to the 

initiating pharmacy any prescriptions that are not 

delivered to the patient; and 

h. The procedure for informing the patient and obtaining 

consent for using such a dispensing and delivery process. 

3. Drugs waiting to be picked up at or delivered from the 

second pharmacy shall be stored in accordance with 

subsection A of 18VAC110-20-200. 

C. Delivery to a practitioner of the healing arts licensed by 

the board to practice pharmacy or to sell controlled substances 

or other authorized person or entity holding a controlled 

substances registration authorized for this purpose. 

1. A prescription may be delivered by a pharmacy to the 

office of such a practitioner or other authorized person 

provided there is a written contract or agreement between 

the two parties describing the procedures for such a delivery 

system and the responsibilities of each party. 

2. Each pharmacy using this delivery system shall maintain 

a policy and procedure manual that includes the following 

information: 

a. Procedure for tracking and assuring security, 

accountability, integrity, and accuracy of delivery for the 

dispensed prescription from the time it leaves the 

pharmacy until it is handed to the patient or agent of the 

patient; 

b. Procedure for providing counseling; 

c. Procedure and recordkeeping for return of any 

prescription medications not delivered to the patient; 

d. The procedure for assuring confidentiality of patient 

information; and 

e. The procedure for informing the patient and obtaining 

consent for using such a delivery process. 

3. Prescriptions waiting to be picked up by a patient at the 

alternate site shall be stored in a lockable room or lockable 

cabinet, cart, or other device that cannot be easily moved and 

that shall be locked at all times when not in use. Access shall 

be restricted to the licensed practitioner of the healing arts or 

the responsible party listed on the application for the 

controlled substances registration, or either person's 

designee. 

D. The contracts or agreements and the policy and procedure 

manuals required by this section for alternate delivery shall be 

maintained both at the originating pharmacy as well as the 

alternate delivery site. 

E. A controlled substances registration as an alternate 

delivery site shall only be issued to an entity without a 

prescriber or pharmacist present at all times the site is open if 

there is a valid patient health or safety reason not to deliver 

dispensed prescriptions directly to the patient and if 

compliance with all requirements for security, policies, and 

procedures can be reasonably assured. 

F. The pharmacy and alternate delivery site shall be exempt 

from compliance with subsections B through E of this section 

if (i) the alternate delivery site is a pharmacy, a practitioner of 

healing arts licensed by the board to practice pharmacy or sell 

controlled substances, or other entity holding a controlled 

substances registration for the purpose of delivering controlled 

substances; (ii) the alternate delivery site does not routinely 

receive deliveries from the pharmacy; and (iii) compliance 

with subsections B through E of this section would create a 

delay in delivery that may result in potential patient harm. 

However, the pharmacy and alternate delivery site shall 

comply with following requirements:  

1. To ensure appropriate coordination of patient care, the 

pharmacy shall notify the alternate delivery site of the 

anticipated arrival date of the shipment, the exact address to 

where the drug was shipped, the name of the patient for whom 

the drug was dispensed, and any special storage requirements. 

2. The pharmacy shall provide counseling or ensure a 

process is in place for the patient to receive counseling. 

3. Prescriptions delivered to the alternate delivery site shall 

be stored in a lockable room or lockable cabinet, cart, or 

other device that cannot be easily moved and that shall be 

locked at all times when not in use. Access shall be restricted 

to the licensed prescriber, pharmacist, or either person's 

designee.  

4. The pharmacy shall provide a procedure for the return of 

any prescription drugs not delivered or subsequently 

administered to the patient.  

G. A pharmacy shall not deliver dispensed drugs to a patient's 

residence that are intended to be subsequently transported by 

the patient or patient's agent to a hospital, medical clinic, 

prescriber's office, or pharmacy for administration and that 

require special storage, reconstitution or compounding prior to 

administration. An exception to this requirement may be made 

for patients with [ hemophilia inherited bleeding disorders ] 
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who may require [ emergent blood factor treatment therapy to 

prevent or treat bleeding episodes ]. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R18-5376; Filed April 12, 2021, 3:45 p.m. 

Forms 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: Forms used in administering the 

regulation have been filed by the agency. The forms are not 

being published; however, online users of this issue of the 

Virginia Register of Regulations may click on the name of a 

form with a hyperlink to access it. The forms are also available 

from the agency contact or may be viewed at the Office of the 

Registrar of Regulations, 900 East Main Street, 11th Floor, 

Richmond, Virginia 23219. 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC110-60. Regulations Governing 

Pharmaceutical Processors. 

Agency Contact: Elaine Yeatts, Board Of Pharmacy, 9960 

Mayland Drive, Henrico, VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-

4688, FAX (804) 527-4434, or email 

elaine.yeatts@dhp.virginia.gov. 

FORMS (18VAC110-60) 

Application for registration of a patient, online form available 

at https://www.license.dhp.virginia.gov/apply 

Application for registration of a parent or legal guardian, 

online form available at 

https://www.license.dhp.virginia.gov/apply 

Application for registration of a practitioner to issue 

certifications, online form available at 

https://www.license.dhp.virginia.gov/apply 

Application for Registration as a Patient for Cannabis Oil 

(rev. 3/2021) 

Application for Registration as a Parent/Guardian for 

Cannabis Oil (rev. 3/2021) 

Application for Registration as a Registered Agent for 

Cannabis Oil (rev. 3/2021) 

How to Register with the Board as a Patient, Parent or Legal 

Guardian (rev. 7/2020) 

Application for a Pharmaceutical Processor Permit (rev. 

1/2021) 

Practitioner Reporting Requirements (eff. 6/2019) 

Registration of CBD or THC-A Oil Products (eff. 6/2019) 

Pharmaceutical Processor & Dispensing Facility Inspection 

Report (rev. 3/2021) 

Application for Registration as a Registered Agent (eff. 

12/2019) 

Request for Visitor Approval (eff. 5/2020) 

VA.R. Doc. No. R21-6748; Filed April 11, 2021, 10:15 a.m. 

  ––––––––––––––––––  

TITLE 22. SOCIAL SERVICES 

DEPARTMENT FOR AGING AND REHABILITATIVE 
SERVICES 

Fast-Track Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 22VAC30-50. Policies and Procedures 

for Administering the Commonwealth Neurotrauma 

Initiative Trust Fund (amending 22VAC30-50-40 through 

22VAC30-50-70, 22VAC30-50-120). 

Statutory Authority: §§ 51.5-131 and 51.5-181 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: No public hearing is currently 

scheduled. 

Public Comment Deadline: June 9, 2021. 

Effective Date: June 25, 2021. 

Agency Contact: Charlotte Arbogast, Policy Advisor, 

Department for Aging and Rehabilitative Services, 8004 

Franklin Farms Drive, Richmond, VA 23229, telephone (804) 

662-7093, FAX (804) 662-7663, TDD (800) 464-9950, or 

email charlotte.arbogast@dars.virginia.gov. 

Basis: The Commonwealth Neurotrauma Initiative (CNI) Trust 

Fund is authorized under Article 12 (§ 51.5-178 et seq.) of 

Chapter 14 of Title 51.5 of the Code of Virginia. Specifically, 

§ 51.5-181 of the Code of Virginia requires that the 

Commissioner of the Department for Aging and Rehabilitative 

Services (DARS) promulgate regulations establishing 

procedures and policies for soliciting and receiving grant 

applications and criteria for reviewing and ranking such 

applications, including goals, timelines, forms, eligibility, and 

mechanisms to ensure avoidance of any conflicts of interest or 

appearances thereof. In addition, § 51.5-131 of the Code of 

Virginia authorizes the commissioner to promulgate 

regulations necessary to carry out the provisions of the laws of 

the Commonwealth administered by DARS. 

Purpose: The CNI Trust Fund is a special nonreverting fund 

established in the Code of Virginia that provides funding to 

Virginia-based organizations, institutions, and researchers to 

address the needs of people with acquired neurotrauma. 

Neurotrauma is defined as injury to the central nervous system 

(i.e., a traumatic spinal cord or brain injury) that results in loss 

of physical functions, cognitive functions, or both. The source 

of revenue for the CNI Trust Fund is a portion of the 

reinstatement fees that are charged before restoring an 

operator's license to any person whose driver's license has been 

revoked or suspended upon conviction for specified dangerous 

driving offenses. In accordance with the Code of Virginia and 

22VAC30-50, the CNI Trust Fund Program provides funding 

for projects that are either researched-based or community-

based rehabilitative programs and services. 

https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC110/forms/Patient%20Cannabis-20210406110811.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC110/forms/Patient%20Cannabis-20210406110811.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC110/forms/Parent%20Cannabis-20210406110920.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC110/forms/Parent%20Cannabis-20210406110920.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC110/forms/Agent%20Cannabis-20210406111013.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC110/forms/Agent%20Cannabis-20210406111013.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC110/forms/HowToPatientRegistration-20210113210109.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC110/forms/HowToPatientRegistration-20210113210109.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC110/forms/Permit-20210116191718.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC110/forms/Permit-20210116191718.pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=91500004878~3).pdf&typ=40&actno=004878&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=c3140004878~4).pdf&typ=40&actno=004878&mime=application/pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC110/forms/ProcessorInspectionReport-20210322101226.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC110/forms/ProcessorInspectionReport-20210322101226.pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=9638d006274~1A.pdf&typ=40&actno=006274&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=9638d006274~1A.pdf&typ=40&actno=006274&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=b19f0006378~3l.pdf&typ=40&actno=006378&mime=application/pdf
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As outlined in 22VAC30-50-30, the regulatory chapter 

establishes (i) policies and procedures for soliciting and 

receiving applications for grants from the fund, (ii) criteria for 

reviewing and ranking such applications, and (iii) procedures 

for distributing moneys in the fund. The chapter requirements 

ensure fidelity to the purpose of the CNI Trust Fund and proper 

use of public funds to improve the lives of individuals who 

have acquired neurotrauma. 

Rationale for Using Fast-Track Rulemaking Process: This fast-

track rulemaking regulatory action was initiated following a 

periodic review of the chapter. Section 51.5-181 of the Code 

of Virginia stipulates the commissioner shall receive the 

recommendations of the CNI Trust Fund Advisory Board prior 

to promulgating or revising any such regulations. In 

accordance, the department shared the potential regulatory 

revisions with the CNI Trust Fund Advisory Board, and the 

CNI Trust Fund Advisory Board unanimously endorsed the 

changes proposed by the department through the fast-track 

rulemaking process, therefore the action is deemed 

noncontroversial. 

Substance: The following changers are being made to this 

chapter: 

In 22VAC30-50-40, strike case decisions reference language. 

This does not apply to the CNI Trust Fund Program. DARS 

and the CNI Trust Fund Advisory Board do not make case 

decisions related to 22VAC30-50. 

In 22VAC30-50-50, correct the subdivision reference from 12 

to 9. The reference relates to the Freedom of Information Act 

exclusions in § 2.2-3705.5 of the Code of Virginia. 

In 22VAC30-50-60, improve clarity and align with practice 

and requirements in 22VAC30-50-120. 

In 22VAC30-50-70, strike the word "three" in relation to the 

reference to Virginia medical schools. 

In 22VAC30-50-120, improve clarity and align with practice 

and requirements in 22VAC30-50-60. 

Issues: The primary advantages of the revisions are to clarify 

language that is ambiguous and align the chapter with the Code 

of Virginia and current practices. The regulatory action poses 

no disadvantages to the public or the Commonwealth. 

Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 

Analysis: 

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. 

Following a periodic review,1 the Department for Aging and 

Rehabilitative Services (DARS) proposes to clarify existing 

regulatory text. 

Background. This regulation establishes: (i) policies and 

procedures for soliciting and receiving applications for grants 

from the Commonwealth Neurotrauma Initiative (CNI) Trust 

Fund, (ii) criteria for reviewing and ranking such applications, 

and (iii) procedures for distributing moneys in the fund. 

The CNI Trust Fund is a special nonreverting fund established 

in § 51.5-178 et seq. of the Code of Virginia that provides 

funding to Virginia-based organizations, institutions, and 

researchers to address the needs of people with acquired 

neurotrauma. Neurotrauma is defined as "injury to the central 

nervous system (i.e., a traumatic spinal cord or brain injury) 

that results in loss of physical functions, cognitive functions, 

or both." The source of revenue for the CNI Trust Fund is a 

portion of the reinstatement fees that are charged before 

restoring an operator's license to any person whose driver's 

license has been revoked or suspended upon conviction for 

specified dangerous driving offenses. 

According to DARS, almost all research or service projects are 

solicited through a Request for Proposals depending on the 

availability of funds. Most projects are funded for three years. 

Individual grants cannot exceed $300,000. 

Estimated Benefits and Costs. The proposed changes in this 

action are strictly clarifying in nature and are not expected to 

affect the programs operation. Thus, no significant economic 

impact other than improving the clarity of the existing 

requirements is expected. 

Businesses and Other Entities Affected. The CNI Trust Fund 

Program currently funds 11 ongoing projects. Seven projects 

are based in Virginia higher education institutions, which may 

include Virginia's public universities.2 Four projects are based 

in community organizations or private research entities. 

However, there are no projected costs or impacts on the funded 

organizations or institutions that may seek CNI Trust Funds. 

Thus, no adverse3 or disproportionate economic impact is 

indicated. 

Small Businesses4 Affected. Although small businesses may 

qualify for grants from the fund, none of the current 11 

recipients is believed to be a for-profit small business. In 

addition, the proposed changes do not introduce costs or other 

effects for any entities. Thus, proposed amendments do not 

appear to adversely affect small businesses. 

Localities5 Affected.6 The proposed amendments do not 

disproportionately affect any localities or introduce costs for 

local governments.  

Projected Impact on Employment. The proposed amendments 

do not affect employment. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. The proposed 

amendments do not affect real estate development costs. 

_________________________________________________ 
1https://townhall.virginia.gov/l/ViewPReview.cfm?PRid=2004 

2Data source: Virginia Employment Commission 

3Adverse impact is indicated if there is any increase in net cost or reduction in 

net revenue for any entity, even if the benefits exceed the costs for all entities 

combined. 
4Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.04 of the Code of Virginia, small business is defined 

as "a business entity, including its affiliates, that (i) is independently owned 
and operated and (ii) employs fewer than 500 full-time employees or has gross 

annual sales of less than $6 million." 

5"Locality" can refer to either local governments or the locations in the 
Commonwealth where the activities relevant to the regulatory change are most 

likely to occur. 

https://townhall.virginia.gov/l/ViewPReview.cfm?PRid=2004
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6§ 2.2-4007.04 defines "particularly affected" as bearing disproportionate 

material impact. 

Agency's Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The 

Department for Aging and Rehabilitative Services concurs 

with the economic impact analysis performed by the 

Department of Planning and Budget. 

Summary: 

The amendments, which result from a periodic review of the 

regulation, make technical and clarifying changes to the 

policies and procedures for administering the 

Commonwealth Neurotrauma Initiative Trust Fund to better 

align the chapter with the Code of Virginia and current 

practices. 

22VAC30-50-40. Compliance with the Administrative 

Process Act. 

Chapter 40 (§ 2.2-4000 et seq.) of Title 2.2 of the Code of 

Virginia (the Administrative Process Act) governs the 

promulgation and administration of this chapter and applies to 

any appeal of a case decision made pursuant to or based upon 

this chapter. 

22VAC30-50-50. Application of exemption to the Virginia 

Freedom of Information Act. 

Pursuant to subdivision 12 9 of § 2.2-3705.5 of the Virginia 

Freedom of Information Act, Chapter 37 (§ 2.2-3700 et seq.) 

of Title 2.2 of the Code of Virginia, records submitted to the 

advisory board as a grant application, or accompanying a grant 

application, pursuant to Article 12 (§ 51.5-178 et seq.) of 

Chapter 14 of Title 51.5 of the Code of Virginia and this 

chapter are excluded from the requirement of open inspection 

to the extent that they contain medical or mental health records 

or other data identifying individual patients, or proprietary 

business or research-related information produced or collected 

by an applicant in the conduct of or as a result of study or 

research on medical, rehabilitative, scientific, technical, or 

scholarly issues. This exemption shall apply when the 

information has not been publicly released, published, 

copyrighted, or patented, if the disclosure of the information 

would be harmful to the competitive position of the applicant. 

The advisory board intends to rely upon this exemption in 

order to encourage the submission of applications. 

22VAC30-50-60. Requests for proposals. 

The advisory board shall solicit applications for grants of 

moneys from the fund by issuing RFPs from time to time. 

These RFPs shall be issued at the discretion of the advisory 

board and shall depend upon the availability of moneys in the 

fund. Each Notwithstanding 22VAC30-50-120, each 

application for a grant must be submitted in response to an 

actual RFP and received by a deadline specified in the RFP. 

22VAC30-50-70. Grant reviewers and technical advisors. 

The advisory board may choose, at any time, to appoint grant 

reviewers or other technical advisors, or both, to assist in 

reviewing and ranking applications. Such reviewers and 

advisors may represent medical researchers, medical 

practitioners, community-based service providers, consumers, 

advocates for consumers, or others deemed appropriate by the 

advisory board for this purpose. Reviewers and advisors shall 

be appointed so as to provide equal representation from 

Virginia's three medical schools. Reviewers and advisors shall 

be selected so as to avoid any conflict of interests or the 

appearance thereof, and the advisory board may choose 

reviewers and advisors residing or working outside Virginia to 

ensure impartiality. Whenever reviewers or advisors sit as a 

committee, the chair of the advisory board or his designee shall 

serve as chair of the committee but shall not vote on individual 

applications. 

22VAC30-50-120. Unexpended funds. 

Notwithstanding any other law to the contrary, the The 

commissioner may reallocate up to $500,000 from unexpended 

balances in the fund for new grant awards for research on 

traumatic brain and spinal cord injuries. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R21-6597; Filed April 12, 2021, 2:40 p.m. 

Fast-Track Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 22VAC30-70. The Virginia Public 

Guardian and Conservator Program (amending 

22VAC30-70-10 through 22VAC30-70-60). 

Statutory Authority: § 51.5-131 of the Code of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: No public hearing is currently 

scheduled. 

Public Comment Deadline: June 9, 2021. 

Effective Date: June 25, 2021. 

Agency Contact: Charlotte Arbogast, Policy Advisor, 

Department for Aging and Rehabilitative Services, 8004 

Franklin Farms Drive, Richmond, VA 23229, telephone (804) 

662-7093, FAX (804) 662-7663, TDD (800) 464-9950, or 

email charlotte.arbogast@dars.virginia.gov. 

Basis: The Virginia Public Guardian and Conservator Program 

is established under Article 6 (§ 51.5-149 et seq.) of Chapter 

14 of Title 51.5 of the Code of Virginia. Section 51.5-149 gives 

the Department for Aging and Rehabilitative Services (DARS) 

the oversight for the provision of the program. In accordance 

with § 51.5-150 B 3 of the Code of Virginia, the department is 

authorized to adopt reasonable regulations to implement, 

administer, and manage the program, including the adoption of 

minimum training and experience requirements for staff and 

volunteers, client-to-staff ratios, and person-centered practices. 

Purpose: The purpose of this action is to improve consistency, 

transparency, clarity, and enforcement of program 

requirements. The program serves some of the 

Commonwealth's most vulnerable citizens: individuals who 

are incapacitated, unbefriended, and indigent. Clear regulatory 

requirements are vital to protecting their health, welfare, and 

safety. 
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Rationale for Using Fast-Track Rulemaking Process: Upon 

review of the Code of Virginia and the requirements in the 

department's contract with public guardian program 

contractors, the department decided to pursue regulatory 

revisions. As the program has grown in size and scope over the 

last decade, an update to the chapter for these reasons is 

needed. Most revisions made through this regulatory action 

align with the Code of Virginia or requirements of public 

guardian program contractors under contracts with the 

department and are intended to clarify or improve the logic and 

flow of the chapter. 

The department shared the potential revisions with the Virginia 

Public Guardian and Conservator Advisory Board and the 

department's 13 public guardian program contractors. The 

department received no objections from the entities for these 

revisions, and therefore the amendments are deemed 

noncontroversial. 

Substance: New substantive provisions in the regulation 

include: 

Technical changes that update Code of Virginia references in 

various places to align with Code of Virginia requirements and 

remove unnecessary and duplicative terminology. 

Definitions are added for "face-to-face" and "volunteer", and 

the definition of "public guardian program" is differentiated 

from the "public guardian program contractor", which is the 

legal entity that operates the public guardian program under 

contract with the department. The terms are clarified 

throughout the chapter in various places. The term "indigent" 

is updated, and the definition revised to reflect criteria found 

in the Code of Virginia. 

Definitions for "local program" and "regional program" are 

removed. As the program has evolved, the terms no longer 

apply, and the requirements are equivalent for both. The public 

guardian program staffing and volunteer requirements are 

restructured for improved logic and flow. A new requirement 

for a face-to-face meeting with the client once per month is 

added. This is best practice and a longstanding contract 

requirement for public guardian program contractors. This 

inclusion will not change the current practices of programs. 

Requirement for coordination on clients receiving case 

management services through the Department of Behavioral 

Health and Developmental Services (DBHDS) is clarified. The 

current requirement was unclear and referenced the client's 

court order, which generally does not discuss planning goals in 

specificity. 

The multidisciplinary panel requirements are restructured to 

improve logic and flow. A requirement for representatives on 

the panel from each jurisdiction when public guardian 

programs are regional is removed. This requirement was overly 

burdensome to some programs and did not add specific value 

to the multidisciplinary panel. Referral screening 

considerations are updated so that the current requirements 

reflect the department's expectations and current panel 

practices. The requirement that panels consider if a limited 

guardianship or conservatorship is appropriate is moved. In 

such cases, specific instructions for how to make 

recommendations to that effect are added. This reflects best 

practice and the department's expectation of programs. 

Volunteers are added to the requirement to report suspected 

abuse, neglect, and exploitation. This was likely an omission, 

and adding volunteers is in keeping with best practice and 

ethical obligations. 

The requirements for new staff hires and training and 

orientation for staff upon hire and for volunteers is updated. 

The requirements for staff criminal record checks and drug 

testing are clarified. The Virginia-specific requirement for a 

diploma or GED from an accredited program for staff 

qualification is removed. A diploma or GED from outside 

Virginia should be acceptable. The requirement for knowledge 

and course work on guardianship prior to hire is removed. For 

non-program director staff, this is best covered upon hire 

during training and orientation, and it is not realistic to expect 

all new staff to have that knowledge upon hire. A new 

requirement that volunteers receive a drug screening is added. 

This is a new requirement. However, many contractors have 

already been doing this as a standard practice. 

That the client's Uniform Assessment Instrument (UAI) or 

other assessment instrument should be a current version and 

that the care plan required should be the guardian program care 

plan and be current are all clarified. This is consistent with the 

intent of § 51.5-150 B 6 of the Code of Virginia. Values history 

report must be current, and guardian report to the court should 

be the most recent one filed. Conservator report to the court 

should be the most recent one filed. 

Requirements for the department for evaluating and 

monitoring public guardian programs and for public guardian 

programs to maintain compliance and provide reports to the 

department are restructured. 

Issues: With ever increasing attention on both public and 

private guardianships in the Commonwealth, the primary 

advantage of the regulatory action is the increased protection 

and clarity it provides to clients and public guardian programs. 

The action is needed to protect the health, safety, and welfare 

of the vulnerable clients served by the program. The new 

regulation also provides clear and consistent requirements for 

public guardian program contractors and public guardian 

programs and for department staff to use in monitoring 

compliance with standards. 

In the proposed regulatory action, a fair and reasonable balance 

has been attempted to ensure adequate protection of clients 

while considering the impact on public guardian program 

contractors. While requirements have been added to the 

regulation, including volunteer drug screening, volunteer 

reporting of abuse, neglect, and exploitation, face-to-face 

meetings with clients, and instructions for how to make 

recommendations for limited guardianship or 

conservatorships, these requirements are either already in place 

with contract provisions or are standard practices for the public 
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guardian programs. Further, some requirements for public 

guardian programs that were deemed unnecessary, outdated, or 

burdensome have been removed, including distinctions 

between local and regional programs, local jurisdiction 

membership on the multidisciplinary panels of regional 

programs, and initial knowledge requirements for staff upon 

hire. 

There are no disadvantages to the public or the 

Commonwealth. 

Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 

Analysis:  

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. The 

Department for Aging and Rehabilitative Services (DARS) 

proposes to: 1) align the regulation with current Code of 

Virginia requirements and with requirements already in place 

in contracts between the public guardian program contractors 

and DARS, and 2) clarify and improve the logic and flow of 

the regulation. 

Background. The Virginia Public Guardian and Conservator 

Program provides public guardian and conservator services for 

adults who are incapacitated, indigent, and for whom no other 

proper or suitable person can be identified who is willing and 

able to serve as the individual's guardian, or conservator, or 

both. The program reports it has capacity to provide public 

guardianship services, public conservatorship services, or both 

to 1,049 incapacitated adult residents of Virginia who are 

found by a Virginia circuit court to be (i) incapacitated, and (ii) 

meet the criteria for public guardianship as set forth in § 64.2-

2010 of the Code of Virginia. These services are provided by 

13 local public guardian programs, which are operated by local 

public guardian program contractors under contract with 

DARS. 

Estimated Benefits and Costs. The proposed changes align the 

regulation with the current Code of Virginia requirements and 

with requirements already in place in contracts between the 

public guardian program contractors and DARS and clarify or 

improve the logic and flow of the regulation. None of the 

proposed changes appear likely to alter the current practices 

followed in the operation of the program. Thus, no significant 

economic effect is expected other than improving the clarity of 

the regulatory language. 

Businesses and Other Entities Affected. This regulation applies 

to 13 local public guardian programs which are operated by 

local public guardian program contractors under contract with 

DARS. The number of individuals the program can serve is 

currently capped at 1,049 incapacitated adult residents.1 No 

adverse or disproportional impact is indicated for any of the 

affected entities.2 

Small Businesses3 Affected. The proposed amendments do not 

appear to adversely affect small businesses. 

Localities4 Affected.5 The proposed amendments do not appear 

to adversely or particularly affect any localities. 

Projected Impact on Employment. The proposed amendments 

do not appear to affect total employment. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. The proposed 

amendments do not appear to affect the use and value of private 

property or the real estate development costs. 

____________________________________ 
1Data source: DARS 

2Adverse impact is indicated if there is any increase in net cost or reduction in 
net revenue for any entity, even if the benefits exceed the costs for all entities 

combined. 

3Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.04 of the Code of Virginia, small business is defined 
as "a business entity, including its affiliates, that (i) is independently owned 

and operated and (ii) employs fewer than 500 full-time employees or has gross 

annual sales of less than $6 million." 
4"Locality" can refer to either local governments or the locations in the 

Commonwealth where the activities relevant to the regulatory change are most 

likely to occur. 
5§ 2.2-4007.04 defines "particularly affected" as bearing disproportionate 

material impact. 

Agency's Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The 

Department for Aging and Rehabilitative Services concurs 

with the economic impact analysis performed by the 

Department of Planning and Budget. 

Summary: 

The amendments, which reflect current practices of the 

department and the public guardian program, (i) align the 

regulation with the Code of Virginia and requirements 

already in place in contracts between the public guardian 

program contractors and the department and (ii) clarify or 

improve the logic and flow of the chapter.  

22VAC30-70-10. Definitions. 

The following words and terms when used in this regulation 

shall have the following meaning unless the context clearly 

indicates otherwise: 

"Advisory board" means the Virginia Public Guardian and 

Conservator Advisory Board as authorized by §§ 2.2-2411 

51.5-149.1 and 2.2-2412 51.5-149.2 of the Code of Virginia. 

"Client" means a person who has been adjudicated 

incapacitated and who is receiving public guardian or 

conservator services from a public guardian program. 

"Conservator" means a person appointed by the a court who 

is responsible for managing the estate and financial affairs of 

an incapacitated person and, where the context plainly 

indicates, includes a "limited conservator" or a "temporary 

conservator." The term includes (i) a local or regional program 

designated by the Department for Aging and Rehabilitative 

Services as a public conservator pursuant to §§ Article 6 

(§ 51.5-149, 51.5-150, and 51.5-151 et seq.) of Chapter 14 of 

Title 51.5 of the Code of Virginia or (ii) any local or regional 

tax-exempt charitable organization established pursuant to 

§ 501(c)(3) of the Internal Revenue Code to provide 

conservatorial services to incapacitated persons. Such tax-
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exempt charitable organization shall not be a provider of direct 

services to the incapacitated person. If a tax-exempt charitable 

organization has been designated by the Virginia Department 

for Aging and Rehabilitative Services as a public conservator, 

it may also serve as a conservator for other individuals. 

Incorporated by reference to this definition is the definition of 

"conservator" found in § 37.2-1000 of the Code of Virginia and 

any successor language thereof. 

"Department" means the Department for Aging and 

Rehabilitative Services. 

"Face-to-face" means an in-person meeting with the client. 

"Guardian" means a person appointed by the a court who is 

responsible for the personal affairs of an incapacitated person, 

including responsibility for making decisions regarding the 

person's support, care, health, safety, habilitation, education, 

therapeutic treatment, and, if not inconsistent with an order of 

involuntary admission, residence. Where the context plainly 

indicates, the term includes a "limited guardian" or a 

"temporary guardian." The term includes (i) a local or regional 

program designated by the department as a public guardian 

pursuant to §§ Article 6 (§ 51.5-149, 51.5-150, and 51.5-151 et 

seq.) of Chapter 14 of Title 51.5 of the Code of Virginia or (ii) 

any local or regional tax-exempt charitable organization 

established pursuant to § 501(c)(3) of the Internal Revenue 

Code to provide guardian services to incapacitated persons. 

Such tax-exempt charitable organization shall not be a provider 

of direct services to the incapacitated person. If a tax-exempt 

charitable organization has been designated by the department 

as a public guardian, it may also serve as a guardian for other 

individuals. Incorporated by reference to this definition is the 

definition of "guardian" found in § 37.2-1000 of the Code of 

Virginia and any successor language thereof. 

"Incapacitated person" means an adult who has been found by 

a court to be incapable of receiving and evaluating information 

effectively or responding to people, events, or environments to 

such an extent that the individual lacks the capacity to (i) meet 

the essential requirements for his health, care, safety, or 

therapeutic needs without the assistance or protection of a 

guardian or (ii) manage property or financial affairs or provide 

for his support or for the support of his legal dependents 

without the assistance or protection of a conservator. A finding 

that the individual displays poor judgment alone shall not be 

considered sufficient evidence that the individual is an 

incapacitated person within the meaning of this definition. A 

finding that a person is incapacitated shall be construed as a 

finding that the person is "mentally incompetent" as that term 

is used in Article II, Section 1 of the Constitution of Virginia 

and Title 24.2 of the Code of Virginia unless the court order 

entered pursuant to this chapter Chapter 20 (§ 64.2-2000 et 

seq.) of Title 64.2 of the Code of Virginia specifically provides 

otherwise. Incorporated by reference to this definition is the 

definition of "incapacitated person" found in § 37.2-1000 of 

the Code of Virginia and any successor language thereof. 

"Indigency" "Indigent" means the client is a current recipient 

of a state-funded a person who (i) is eligible for or receiving 

state-funded or federally funded federally-funded public 

assistance program for the indigent or as otherwise defined in 

§ 19.2-159 of the Code of Virginia benefits whose eligibility 

for such benefits is based in whole or part upon an evaluation 

of their income against federal poverty guidelines, (ii) as 

otherwise defined in § 19.2-159 of the Code of Virginia, or (iii) 

whose resources have been determined by a Virginia circuit 

court to be so limited as to satisfy the criteria for appointment 

of a public guardian, public conservator, or both set forth in 

§ 64.2-2010 of the Code of Virginia. 

"Least restrictive alternatives" means, but is not limited to 

money management services including bill payer and 

representative payee services, care management, and services 

provided pursuant to a financial or health care power of 

attorney. 

"Minimal fee" means allowable fees collected or payable 

from government sources and shall not include any funds from 

an incapacitated person's estate. 

"Public guardian program" means the program operated by 

the public guardian program contractor pursuant to a contract 

with the department to provide public guardianship services, 

public conservatorship services, or both pursuant to Article 6 

(§ 51.5-149 et seq.) of Chapter 14 of Title 51.5 of the Code of 

Virginia. For the purposes of this chapter, a regional public 

guardian program shall be equivalent to a local public guardian 

program.  

"Public guardian program contractor" means a local or 

regional public or private nonprofit legal entity or program 

designated by with whom the department as a public guardian, 

a public conservator or both, pursuant to §§ 51.5-150 and 51.5-

151 of the Code of Virginia, and operating under has entered 

into a contract entered into with the department to operate a 

public guardian program. 

"Virginia Public Guardian and Conservator Program" means 

the statewide program administered by the department 

pursuant to Article 6 (§ 51.5-149 et seq.) of Chapter 14 of Title 

51.5 of the Code of Virginia and operationalized through a 

network of public guardian program contractors under contract 

with the department. 

"Volunteer" means a person, including an unpaid intern, who 

works with the public guardian program and: 

1. Is not paid for services provided to the public guardian 

program; and 

2. Is not counted in the client-to-staff ratio. 

22VAC30-70-20. Introduction and purpose. 

A. Introduction. Pursuant to § 51.5-149 of the Code of 

Virginia, the General Assembly declared that the policy of the 

Commonwealth is to ensure the appointment of a guardian or 
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conservator to that persons who cannot adequately care for 

themselves because of incapacity are able to meet essential 

living requirements for physical and emotional health and 

management of financial resources with the assistance of a 

guardian or conservator, as appropriate, in circumstances 

where (i) the incapacitated person is indigent person's financial 

resources are insufficient to fully compensate a private 

guardian or conservator and pay court costs and fees associated 

with the appointment proceeding, and (ii) there is no other 

proper and suitable person willing and able to serve in such 

capacity or there is no guardian or conservator appointed 

within one month of adjudication pursuant to § 64.2-2015 of 

the Code of Virginia. 

B. Purpose. This regulation sets forth requirements for the 

statewide program of local and regional public guardian 

programs Virginia Public Guardian and Conservator Program 

and establishes the requirements for local and regional entities 

public guardian program contractors to operate a designated 

public guardian program. 

22VAC30-70-30. Public guardian programs. 

A. Designation. The department shall select public guardian 

programs program contractors in accordance with the 

requirements of the Virginia Public Procurement Act. Only 

those programs that operations of the public guardian program 

contractor governed by and funded pursuant to the 

department's contract with the department shall be designated 

as public guardian programs. Funding for public guardian 

programs is provided by the appropriation of general funds. 

B. Authority. A public guardian program appointed as a 

guardian, a conservator, or both as a guardian and conservator, 

shall have all the powers and duties specified in Chapter 20 

(§ 64.2-2000 et seq.) of Title 64.2 of the Code of Virginia, 

except as otherwise specifically limited by a court. 

C. Structure Staff. 

1. Program director. Each public guardian program shall 

have a program director who supervises and is responsible 

for providing public guardianship and public 

conservatorship services to any incapacitated persons 

assigned by the court and to provide overall administration 

for the public guardian program. The program director shall 

be a full-time employee of the program and have experience 

as a service provider or administrator in one or more of the 

following areas: social work, case management, mental 

health, nursing or other human service programs. The 

program director shall also demonstrate, by objective 

criteria, a knowledge and understanding of Virginia's 

guardianship laws, alternatives to guardianship, and 

surrogate decision making activities. The program director 

shall attend all training and activities required by the 

department. 

2. Each public guardian program shall establish a 

multidisciplinary panel to (i) screen cases for the purpose of 

ensuring that appointment of a guardian or conservator is 

appropriate under the circumstances and is the least 

restrictive alternative available to assist the incapacitated 

person. This screening shall include a duty to recommend 

the most appropriate limitations on the power of the guardian 

or conservator, if any, to ensure that the powers and duties 

assigned are the least restrictive, and (ii) annually review 

cases being handled by the program to ensure that a guardian 

or conservator appointment remains appropriate. 

Composition of a multidisciplinary panel should include 

representatives from various human services agencies 

serving the city, county, or region where the public guardian 

program accepts referrals. If serving a region, the 

multidisciplinary panel shall have at least one representative 

from each local jurisdiction within the region. To the extent 

appropriate disciplines are available, this panel should 

include but is not limited to representation from: 

a. Local departments of social services, adult protective 

services; 

b. Community services boards or behavioral health 

authorities; 

c. Attorneys licensed by the Virginia State Bar; 

d. Area agencies on aging; 

e. Local health departments;  

f. Nursing home, assisted living, and group home 

administrators; and 

g. Physicians and community representatives.  

D. Client ratio to paid staff ratio. 

1. a. Each public guardian program shall maintain a direct 

service ratio of clients to paid staff that does not exceed 

the department's established ideal ratio of 20 incapacitated 

persons clients to every one paid full-time staff person 

20:1 20 to one. 

2. b. Each public guardian program shall have in place a 

plan to immediately provide notice to the circuit court or 

courts and sheriffs in its jurisdiction, where appropriate, 

and to the department when the public guardian program 

determines that it may exceed its the ideal ratio of clients 

to paid staff. 

3. c. In an emergency or unusual circumstance, each public 

guardian program, in its discretion, may exceed the 

department's established ideal ratio by no more than five 

additional incapacitated persons clients. Each public 

guardian program shall have in place a policy to 

immediately provide notice to the department when such 

an emergency or unusual circumstance occurs and when 

the emergency or unusual circumstance ends and the ideal 

ratio has returned to 20:1 20 to one. The notice to the 

department shall comply with policy established by the 

department. Other than an emergency or unusual 

circumstance as described in the preceding sentence, a 

waiver must be requested to exceed the department's 
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established ideal ratio. The department, in consultation 

with the advisory board, shall establish written procedures 

for public guardian programs to obtain appropriate 

waivers regarding deviations in the ideal ratio of clients to 

paid staff. Procedures shall comply with §§ 51.5-150 and 

51.5-151 of the Code of Virginia. The department shall 

report waiver requests and status of granted waivers to the 

advisory board at its regularly scheduled meetings. The 

department shall review such waivers every six months to 

ensure that there is no immediate threat to the person or 

property of any incapacitated person nor client and that 

exceeding the department's established ideal ratio is not 

having or will not have a material and adverse effect on 

the ability of the public guardian program to properly 

serve all of the incapacitated persons clients it has been 

designated to serve. 

3. Volunteers. 

a. Volunteers may be recruited and used to supplement 

paid staff. However, volunteers shall not be counted in the 

client to staff ratio. 

b. Volunteers may not exercise the authority of a public 

guardian or conservator. 

c. Each public guardian program that uses volunteers shall 

develop and implement written procedures for volunteer 

management and supervision. 

E. Appointments D. Multidisciplinary panel. 

1. Each public guardian program shall establish a 

multidisciplinary panel to (i) screen cases, consistent with 

subdivision 3 of this subsection, for the purpose of ensuring 

that appointment of a public guardian or public conservator 

is appropriate under the circumstances and is the least 

restrictive alternative available to assist the incapacitated 

person, and (ii) annually review cases being handled by the 

program to ensure that a public guardian or conservator 

appointment remains appropriate.  

2. Composition of a multidisciplinary panel shall include 

representatives from various human services agencies 

serving the city, county, or region where the public guardian 

program accepts referrals. To the extent appropriate 

disciplines are available, this panel may include 

representation from: 

a. Local departments of social services, including adult 

protective services; 

b. Community services boards or behavioral health 

authorities; 

c. Attorneys licensed by the Virginia State Bar; 

d. Area agencies on aging; 

e. Local health departments;  

f. Nursing home, assisted living, and group home 

administrators;  

g. Physicians; and 

h. Other community representatives. 

1. 3. Prior to the public guardian program accepting an 

individual for services, the multidisciplinary panel described 

in subdivision C 2 of this section shall screen referrals to 

ensure that: 

a. The public guardian program is appointed as guardian, 

or conservator, or both only in those cases where public 

guardianship or public conservatorship is the least 

restrictive alternative available to assist the individual; 

b. The appointment The public guardian program has the 

resources to serve the individual, and the appointment of 

the public guardian program is consistent with serving the 

type of client identified by the established priorities of the 

public guardian program; 

c. The individual cannot adequately care for himself; 

d. The individual is indigent; and 

e. There is no other proper or suitable person or entity to 

serve as guardian. 

f. In the case of an individual who receives case 

management services from a community services board 

(CSB) or behavioral health authority (BHA), the 

multidisciplinary panel may also request the results of the 

"determination of capacity" as authorized by 12VAC35-

115-145 (Determination of capacity to give consent or 

authorization) and verification that no other person is 

available or willing to serve as guardian pursuant to 

12VAC35-115-146 E (Authorized representatives). 

2. 4. In the event the multidisciplinary panel determines that 

the referred individual should be accepted as a client, the 

panel shall further consider what, if any, limitations should 

be imposed on the powers of the public guardian or public 

conservator to ensure that the powers and duties assigned are 

the least restrictive necessary. Any such limitations 

recommended by the multidisciplinary panel shall be 

communicated to the person or entity that made the referral 

and to the guardian ad litem appointed in any court 

proceeding pursuant to Chapter 20 (§ 64.2-2000 et seq.) of 

Title 64.2 of the Code of Virginia in which the public 

guardian program has been recommended as the guardian, 

conservator, or both.  

5. The multidisciplinary panel shall review active cases at 

least once every 12 months to determine that: 

a. The client continues to be incapacitated; 

b. The client continues to be indigent; and 

c. There is no other proper or suitable person or entity to 

serve as guardian, conservator, or both. 

E. Appointments. 

1. Appointments by a circuit court shall name the public 

guardian program, rather than an individual person, as the 

public guardian, the public conservator or both guardian and 

conservator, as applicable. 
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3. 2. A public guardian program shall only accept 

appointments as public guardian, public conservator, or both 

guardian and conservator that generate no fee or that 

generate a minimal fee. 

F. Services. 

1. A public guardian program shall have a continuing duty 

to seek a proper and suitable person who is willing and able 

to serve as guardian, conservator, or both guardian and 

conservator for the incapacitated person client. 

2. The public guardian program shall, at a minimum, have 

one face-to-face meeting with every client each calendar 

month.  

3. The public guardian or conservator program shall 

encourage the incapacitated person client to participate in 

decisions, to act on his own behalf, and to develop or regain 

the capacity to manage his personal affairs to the extent 

feasible. 

3. 4. The public guardian or conservator program shall be 

guided by person-centered planning that: 

a. Focuses on the expressed preferences, personal values, 

and needs of the individual receiving public guardian 

program services client; and 

b. Empowers and supports the individual receiving public 

guardian program services client, to the extent feasible, in 

defining the direction for his life and promoting self-

determination and community involvement. 

4. 5. To the maximum extent feasible, the person-centered 

planning process shall: 

a. Include people chosen by the individual client; 

b. Provide necessary information and support to enable the 

individual client to direct the process and to make 

informed choices and decisions; 

c. Be timely and occur at times and locations convenient 

for the individual client; 

d. Require participation and collaboration, in In the case 

of an individual receiving case management services 

licensed or funded by the Department of Behavioral 

Health and Developmental Services, require participation 

and collaboration among the public guardian or 

conservator program, case managers, and service 

providers in meeting the individual's client's planning 

goals, in conformity with the guardian or conservator's 

court order; 

e. Reflect the individual's client's cultural values; 

f. Offer choices to the individual client regarding the 

services the individual client receives and from whom the 

individual client receives those services; and 

g. Include documentation of processes employed in and 

the outcomes of person-centered planning. 

5. The multidisciplinary panel described in subdivision C 2 

of this section shall review active cases at least once every 

12 months to determine that: 

a. The client continues to be incapacitated; 

b. The client continues to be indigent; and 

c. There is no other proper or suitable person or entity to 

serve as guardian, conservator, or both guardian and 

conservator.  

6. Each public guardian program shall set priorities with 

regard to services to be provided to incapacitated persons 

clients in accordance with its contract with the department. 

7. Each public guardian program shall develop written 

procedures and standards to make end-of-life decisions or 

other health-related interventions in accordance with the 

expressed desires and personal values of the incapacitated 

person client to the extent known. If expressed desires or 

personal values are unknown, then written procedures, 

including an ethical decision-making process, shall be used 

to ensure that the public guardian or conservator program 

acts in the incapacitated person's client's best interest and 

exercises reasonable care, diligence and prudence on behalf 

of the client. 

8. The public guardian program shall avoid even the 

appearance of a conflict of interest or impropriety when 

dealing with the needs of the incapacitated person client. 

Impropriety or conflict of interest arises where the public 

guardian program has some personal or agency interest that 

might be perceived as self-serving or adverse to the position 

or the best interest of the incapacitated person client. 

Examples include, but are not limited to, situations where 

the public guardian program provides services such as 

housing, hospice or medical care directly to the client. The 

department reserves the right to monitor all administrative, 

programmatic, and financial activities related to the public 

guardian program to ensure compliance with the terms of the 

contract between the department and the public guardian 

program. 

9. Each public guardian program and its employees paid 

staff and volunteers are required to report any suspected 

abuse, neglect, or exploitation in accordance with § 63.2-

1606 of the Code of Virginia, which provides for the 

protection of aged or incapacitated adults, mandates 

reporting, and provides for a penalty for failure to report. 

10. Each public guardian program shall submit data and 

reports as required by the department and maintain 

compliance with the department's program guidelines. The 

department shall periodically monitor administrative, 

programmatic, and financial activities related to the public 

guardian program, including person-centered planning 

utilization and documentation, to ensure compliance with 

the terms of the contract between the public guardian 

program and the department. 
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22VAC30-70-40. Personnel standards. 

A. Each paid staff who is working in the public guardian 

program and has direct contact with clients or client estates 

shall: 

1. Complete an orientation program concerning guardian 

and conservator duties to include the following subjects: 

a. Privacy and confidentiality requirements; 

b. Recordkeeping; 

c. Services provided, and standards for these services; 

d. A historical and factual review about the needs of the 

elderly and people with disabilities; and 

e. Indications of and actions to be taken where adult abuse, 

neglect, or exploitation is suspected. 

2. Have a satisfactory work record and be a person of good 

character; demonstrate a concern for the well-being of others 

to the extent that the individual person is considered suitable 

to be entrusted with the care, guidance, and protection of an 

incapacitated person; and shall not have not been convicted 

of any criminal offense involving any physical attack, 

neglect or abuse of a person, lying, cheating, or stealing, nor 

convicted of any felony. A criminal record check will shall 

be conducted on each person hired on or after January 1, 

2009. 

3. 2. Be free of illegal drug use as confirmed by a drug 

screening test conducted prior to the assumption of any 

duties with an incapacitated person for. For each person 

hired on or after January 1, 2009, a drug screening test shall 

be conducted.  

4. Demonstrate, by objective criteria, knowledge of 

Virginia's guardianship laws and alternatives to 

guardianship. For each 3. Each person hired on or after 

January 1, 2009, shall have, at a minimum education 

requirements apply and include, a high school diploma or a 

general education diploma (GED) from a Virginia an 

accredited program and training or course work on (i) the 

duties and powers of guardians and conservators in Virginia, 

including an understanding of surrogate decision making 

and how it differs from substituted judgment decision-

making standards, (ii) mandatory reporting requirements to 

the Department of Social Services and Commissioner of 

Accounts where applicable, and (iii) working with special 

needs populations including individuals with physical and 

mental disabilities. Program directors have additional 

requirements as specified in 22VAC30-70-30 C 1. 

5. 4. Participate in mandatory training programs required by 

the department. 

5. In addition, each program director shall: 

a. Be a full-time employee of the public guardian program; 

b. Have experience as a service provider or administrator 

in one or more of the following areas: (i) social work, (ii) 

case management, (iii) mental health, (iv) nursing, (v) or 

other human service program; and  

c. Demonstrate, by objective criteria, a knowledge and 

understanding of Virginia's guardianship laws, 

alternatives to guardianship, and surrogate 

decisionmaking activities.  

B. Volunteers. 

1. Volunteers may be recruited and used to supplement paid 

staff. However, volunteers shall not be included in the public 

guardian program direct service ratio of 20 incapacitated 

persons to every one paid staff person as required under 

22VAC30-70-30 D 1. 

2. Volunteers may not exercise the authority of a guardian or 

conservator. 

3. Each public guardian program that uses volunteers shall 

develop and implement written procedures for volunteer 

management and supervision including requirements that 

each volunteer shall: 

a. Complete an orientation program that provides an 

overview of the  

Prior to having direct contact with any clients or client estates, 

each paid staff of the public guardian program shall complete 

a training and orientation program. The training and orientation 

program shall include instruction on the following topics:  

1. Virginia's guardianship laws and alternatives to 

guardianship, including the duties and powers of guardians 

and conservators in Virginia; 

2. Surrogate decision-making and how it differs from 

substituted judgment decisionmaking standards; 

3. The reporting requirements to the local department of 

social services and Commissioner of Accounts where 

applicable, mandated in §§ 64.2-1305 and 64.2-2020 of the 

Code of Virginia;  

4. Working with special needs populations including 

individuals with physical and mental disabilities;  

5. The provisions governing the operations of the Virginia 

Public Guardian and Conservator Program set forth in 

Article 6 (§ 51.5-149 et seq.) of Chapter 14 of Title 51.5 of 

the Code of Virginia and all ensuing applicable regulations 

and related policies and procedures issued by the 

department; 

6. The policies and procedures of the public guardian 

program including: 

a. Privacy and confidentiality requirements; 

b. Recordkeeping; 

c. Services provided and the standards for services; and 

d. Indications of and actions to be taken when adult abuse, 

neglect, or exploitation is suspected.  
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C. Each person serving as a public guardian program 

volunteer with direct contact with any client or client estates 

shall comply with the provisions of subdivisions A 1 and A 2 

of this section. In addition, prior to having direct contact with 

any client or client estates, each volunteer shall complete an 

orientation program that provides an overview of:  

1. The Virginia Public Guardian and Conservator Program 

(§§ 51.5-149, 51.5-150, and 51.5-151 of the Code of 

Virginia).; and  

b. Complete an orientation program that provides an 

overview of the 2. The local public guardian program for 

which the person intends to serve as a volunteer, including 

(i) services provided by the local public guardian program, 

(ii) specific duties of the volunteer, (iii) privacy and 

confidentially requirements, (iv) recordkeeping and 

documentation requirements, and (v) indications of and 

action to be taken where adult abuse, neglect, or exploitation 

is suspected. 

c. Have a satisfactory work record and personal record and 

be a person of good character and have not been convicted 

of any criminal offense involving any physical attack, 

neglect or abuse of a person, lying, cheating, or stealing nor 

convicted of any felony. A criminal record check will be 

conducted on each volunteer accepted by the local program 

on or after January 1, 2009. 

22VAC30-70-50. Recordkeeping. 

A. Each public guardian program shall maintain an accurate 

and complete client record for each incapacitated person. 

Records shall be kept confidential. Access to client records 

shall be limited to (i) the client's legal representative public 

guardian or conservator as designated by a Virginia circuit 

court; (ii) as otherwise directed by court order; (iii) as directed 

by duly authorized government authorities or; and (iv) as 

specifically authorized by the Code of Virginia or federal 

statutes, including by written consent of the client's legal 

representative public guardian or conservator. Provision shall 

be made for the safe storage of client records or accurate and 

legible reproductions for a minimum of five years following 

termination of the guardian or conservator court order. 

B. The Each client's record shall contain a current Virginia 

Uniform Assessment Instrument (UAI) or a similar 

comprehensive assessment instrument, a current public 

guardian program care plan, a current values history, the most 

recent annual report by guardians of the guardian submitted to 

the Department of Social Services as required by § 64.2-2020 

of the Code of Virginia, the most recent annual accounting by 

the conservator to the Commissioner of Accounts as required 

by § 64.2-1305 of the Code of Virginia, and all applicable court 

orders and petitions. A client's record shall be completed and 

on file within 60 days of the public guardian program's 

appointment as public guardian, public conservator, or both. 

C. Each public guardian program contractor shall maintain all 

records, provide reports, including audit information and 

documents in accordance with its contract with the department. 

22VAC30-70-60. Evaluation and monitoring of public 

guardian programs. 

A. Each public guardian program shall submit data and 

reports as required by the department and maintain compliance 

with the department's program guidelines. 

B. The department reserves the right to monitor all 

administrative, programmatic, and financial activities related 

to the public guardian program, including person-centered 

planning utilization and documentation, to ensure compliance 

with the terms of the contract between the department and the 

public guardian program contractor. 

C. The department shall periodically administer, monitor, 

evaluate, provide technical assistance and expertise, and shall 

ensure fiscal accountability and quality of service of public 

guardian programs. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R21-6322; Filed April 12, 2021, 2:43 p.m. 

Final Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 22VAC30-100. Adult Protective 

Services (amending 22VAC30-100-10, 22VAC30-100-20, 

22VAC30-100-40 through 22VAC30-100-80; adding 

22VAC30-100-45; repealing 22VAC30-100-30). 

Statutory Authority: §§ 51.5-131 and 51.5-148 of the Code of 

Virginia; 42 USC § 1397(3). 

Effective Date: June 9, 2021. 

Agency Contact: Paige L. McCleary, Adult Services Program 

Consultant, Department for Aging and Rehabilitative Services, 

8004 Franklin Farms Drive, Richmond, VA 23229, telephone 

(804) 662-7605, or email paige.mccleary@dars.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendments update standards for local departments of 

social services (LDSSs) for the provision of adult protective 

services (APS) investigations and post-investigation 

services and provisions for the imposition of civil penalties 

on mandated reporters who fail to report suspected adult 

abuse, neglect, or exploitation, including (i) updating 

definitions used during the course of reporting adult abuse, 

neglect, and exploitation; APS investigations; and the 

provision of services to adults who may be victims; (ii) 

clarifying the specific actions an APS worker must take; and 

(iii) establishing a process to afford certain alleged 

perpetrators of adult abuse, neglect, or exploitation the 

opportunity to review the actions taken by an LDSS. The only 

change to the proposed regulation increases the length of 

time for the LDSS to conduct the initial face-to-face contact 

with the alleged victim to seven calendar days.  

Summary of Public Comments and Agency's Response: A 

summary of comments made by the public and the agency's 
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response may be obtained from the promulgating agency or 

viewed at the office of the Registrar of Regulations. 

22VAC30-100-10. Definitions. 

The following words and terms when used in this chapter 

shall have the following meanings unless the context clearly 

indicates otherwise: 

"Abuse" means the willful infliction of physical pain, injury, 

or mental anguish or unreasonable confinement of an adult as 

defined in § 63.2-1603 of the Code of Virginia. 

"Adult" means any person in the Commonwealth who is 

abused, neglected, or exploited, or is at risk of being abused, 

neglected, or exploited; and is 18 years of age or older and 

incapacitated, or is 60 years of age and older, or any person 18 

years of age or older who is incapacitated and who resides in 

the Commonwealth; provided, however, "adult" may include 

qualifying nonresidents who are temporarily in the 

Commonwealth and who are in need of temporary or 

emergency protective services. 

"Adult protective services" or "APS" means services 

provided by the local department that are necessary to protect 

an adult as defined in § 63.2-1603 of the Code of Virginia from 

abuse, neglect, or exploitation. 

"APS case management information system" means the 

computer system that collects and maintains information on 

APS reports, investigations, and service provision. The system 

is the official state automated system for APS. 

"Collateral" means a person whose personal or professional 

knowledge may help confirm or rebut the allegations of adult 

abuse, neglect, or exploitation or whose involvement may help 

ensure the safety of the adult. 

"Commissioner" means the commissioner of the department. 

"Conservator" means a person appointed by the court who is 

responsible for managing the estate and financial affairs of an 

incapacitated person, and where the context plainly indicates, 

includes a "limited conservator" or a "temporary conservator." 

"Department" or "DARS" means the Virginia Department for 

Aging and Rehabilitative Services. 

"Director" means the director or his delegated designated 

representative of the local department of social services of the 

any city or county in which the adult resides or is found the 

Commonwealth. 

"Disposition" means the determination by the local 

department of whether or not adult abuse, neglect, or 

exploitation has occurred. 

"Documentation" means information and materials, written 

or otherwise, concerning allegations, facts, and evidence. 

"Exploitation" means the illegal, unauthorized, improper, or 

fraudulent use of an adult as defined in § 63.2-1603 of the Code 

of Virginia or his the adult's funds, property, benefits, 

resources, or other assets for another's profit, benefit, or 

advantage, including a caregiver or person serving in a 

fiduciary capacity, or that deprives the adult of his rightful use 

of or access to such funds, property, benefits, resources, or 

other assets. "Adult exploitation" includes (i) an intentional 

breach of a fiduciary obligation to an adult to his detriment or 

an intentional failure to use the financial resources of an adult 

in a manner that results in neglect of such adult; (ii) the 

acquisition, possession, or control of an adult's financial 

resources or property through the use of undue influence, 

coercion, or duress; and (iii) forcing or coercing an adult to pay 

for goods or services or perform services against his will for 

another's profit, benefit, or advantage if the adult did not agree, 

or was tricked, misled, or defrauded into agreeing, to pay for 

such goods or services or perform such services. 

"Guardian" means a person who has been legally invested 

with the authority and charged with the duty of taking care of 

the person and managing his property and protecting the rights 

of the person who has been declared by the circuit court to be 

incapacitated and incapable of administering his own affairs 

appointed by the court who is responsible for the personal 

affairs of an incapacitated person, including responsibility for 

making decisions regarding the person's support, care, health, 

safety, habilitation, education, therapeutic treatment, and, if 

not inconsistent with an order of involuntary admission, 

residence. Where the context plainly indicates, the term 

includes a "limited guardian" or a "temporary guardian." The 

powers and duties of the guardian are defined by the court and 

are limited to matters within the areas where in which the 

person in need of a guardian has been determined to be 

incapacitated. 

"Guardian ad litem" means an attorney appointed by the court 

to represent the interest of the adult for whom a guardian or 

conservator is requested. On the hearing of the petition for 

appointment of a guardian or conservator, the guardian ad 

litem advocates for the adult who is the subject of the hearing, 

and his duties are usually concluded when the case is decided.  

"Incapacitated person" means any adult who is impaired by 

reason of mental illness, intellectual disability, physical illness 

or disability, advanced age, or other causes to the extent that 

the adult lacks sufficient understanding or capacity to make, 

communicate, or carry out reasonable responsible decisions 

concerning his well-being. This definition is As used in this 

chapter for the purpose of establishing an adult's eligibility for 

adult protective services and APS, such adult may or may not 

have been found adjudicated incapacitated through by a court 

procedures. 

"Involuntary protective services" means those services 

authorized by the court for an adult who has been determined 

to need protective services and who has been adjudicated 

incapacitated and lacking the capacity to consent to receive the 

needed protective services. 
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"Lacks capacity to consent" means a preliminary judgment of 

a local department of social services social worker that an adult 

is unable to consent to receive needed services for reasons that 

relate to an emotional or psychiatric problems condition, 

intellectual disability, developmental delay disability, or other 

reasons which that impair the adult's ability to recognize a 

substantial risk of death or immediate and serious harm to 

himself. The lack of capacity to consent may be either 

permanent or temporary. The worker must local department 

shall make a preliminary judgment that the adult lacks capacity 

to consent before petitioning the court for authorization to 

provide protective services on an emergency basis pursuant to 

§ 63.2-1609 of the Code of Virginia. 

"Legally incapacitated" means that the person has been 

adjudicated incapacitated by a circuit court because of a mental 

or physical condition which that renders him, either wholly or 

partially, incapable of taking care of himself or his estate. 

"Legally incompetent" means a person who has been 

adjudicated incompetent by a circuit court because of a mental 

condition which renders him incapable of taking care of his 

person or managing his estate.  

"Legitimate interest" means a lawful, demonstrated privilege 

right to access the requested information as defined in § 63.2-

104 pursuant to § 51.5-122 of the Code of Virginia. 

"Local department" means any local department of social 

services in the Commonwealth of Virginia. 

"Mandated reporters" means those persons identified in § 

63.2-1606 of the Code of Virginia who are required to report 

pursuant to § 63.2-1606 of the Code of Virginia to APS when 

such persons have reason to suspect that an adult is abused, 

neglected, or exploited or is at risk of adult abuse, neglect, or 

exploitation. 

"Mental anguish" means a state of emotional pain or distress 

resulting from activity (verbal or behavioral) verbal or 

behavioral actions of a an alleged perpetrator. The intent of the 

activity action is to threaten or intimidate, cause sorrow or fear, 

humiliate, change behavior, or ridicule the adult. There must 

be observable or documented evidence that it is the alleged 

perpetrator's activity action that has caused the adult's feelings 

of emotional pain or distress. 

"Neglect" means that an adult as defined in § 63.2-1603 of the 

Code of Virginia is living under such circumstances that he is 

not able to provide for himself or is not being provided such 

services as are necessary to maintain his physical and mental 

health and that the failure to receive such necessary services 

impairs or threatens to impair his well-being. However, no 

adult shall be considered neglected solely on the basis that such 

adult is receiving religious nonmedical treatment or religious 

nonmedical nursing care in lieu of medical care, provided that 

such treatment or care is performed in good faith and in 

accordance with the religious practices of the adult and there is 

written or oral expression of consent by that adult. Neglect 

includes the failure of a caregiver or another responsible person 

to provide for basic needs to maintain the adult's physical and 

mental health and well-being, and it includes the adult's neglect 

of self. Neglect includes: 

1. The lack of clothing considered necessary to protect a 

person's an adult's health; 

2. The lack of food necessary to prevent physical injury or 

to maintain life, including failure to receive appropriate food 

for adults with conditions requiring special diets; 

3. Shelter that is not structurally safe; has rodents or other 

infestations which that may result in serious health 

problems; or does not have a safe and accessible water 

supply, safe heat source, or sewage disposal. Adequate 

shelter for an adult will depend depends on the impairments 

of an the adult; however, the adult must be protected from 

the elements that would seriously endanger his health (e.g., 

rain, cold, or heat) and could result in serious illness or 

debilitating conditions; 

4. Inadequate supervision by a paid or unpaid caregiver (paid 

or unpaid) who has been designated to provide provides the 

supervision necessary to protect the safety and well-being of 

an adult in his care; 

5. The failure of persons who are responsible for caregiving 

to seek needed medical care or to follow medically 

prescribed treatment for an adult, or the adult has failed to 

obtain such care for himself. The needed medical care is 

believed to be of such a nature as to result in physical or 

mental injury or illness if it is not provided; 

6. Medical neglect includes the withholding of medication 

or aids needed by the adult such as including dentures, eye 

glasses, hearing aids, walker, etc or walkers. It also includes 

the unauthorized administration of prescription drugs, over-

medicating or under-medicating, and the administration of 

drugs for other than bona fide medical reasons, as 

determined by a licensed health care professional; and or 

7. Self-neglect by an adult who is not meeting his own basic 

needs due to mental or physical impairments. Basic needs 

refer to such things as food, clothing, shelter, health, or 

medical care. 

"Notification" means informing designated and appropriate 

individuals or agencies of the local department's action and the 

individual's rights. 

"Preponderance of evidence" means the evidence as a whole 

shows that the facts are more probable and credible than not. It 

is evidence that is of greater weight or more convincing than 

the evidence offered in opposition. 

"Report" means an allegation made in writing or orally by any 

person that an adult is in need of protective services suspected 

of being abused, neglected, or exploited or at risk of being 

abused, neglected, or exploited. The term "report" shall refer 
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to both reports and complaints of abuse, neglect, and 

exploitation of adults. The report may shall be made orally or 

in writing to the local department or by calling the Adult 

Protective Services APS Hotline. 

"Responsible person" means an individual who is authorized 

by state law to make decisions concerning the adult and to 

receive information about the adult.  

"Service plan" means a written plan of action to address the 

service needs of an adult in order to protect the adult, to prevent 

future abuse, neglect, or exploitation, and to preserve the 

autonomy of the adult whenever possible. 

"Unreasonable confinement" means the use of physical or 

chemical restraints (physical or chemical), isolation, or any 

other means of confinement without medical orders, when 

there is no emergency and for reasons other than the adult's 

safety or well-being or the safety of others. 

"Valid report" means the local department of social services 

has evaluated the information and allegations of the report and 

determined that the local department shall conduct an 

investigation because all of the following elements of 

22VAC30-100-20 C for a valid report are present:. 

1. The alleged victim adult is 60 years of age or older or is 

18 years of age or older and is incapacitated;  

2. There is a specific adult with enough identifying 

information to locate the adult;  

3. Circumstances allege abuse, neglect or exploitation or risk 

of abuse, neglect or exploitation; and  

4. The local department receiving the report is a local 

department of jurisdiction as described in 22VAC30-100-

20. 

"Voluntary protective services" means those services 

provided to an adult who, after investigation by a local 

department, is determined to be in need of protective services 

and consents to receiving the services so as to prevent further 

abuse, neglect, and exploitation of an adult at risk of abuse, 

neglect and exploitation.  

22VAC30-100-20. Adult protective services intake and 

investigation. 

A. This section establishes the process for the adult protective 

services APS intake and investigation and provides priority to 

situations that are most critical. 

B. The validity of the report shall be determined. 

Investigations shall be initiated by the local department not 

later than 24 hours from the time a valid report was received in 

the local department. All reports shall be entered into the APS 

case management information system within 48 hours of its 

receipt by the local department.  

C. The local department shall determine if the report is valid 

by evaluating the information and allegations in the report. A 

report is valid if all of the following elements are present: 

1. The alleged adult victim is 60 years of age or older or is 

18 years of age or older and is incapacitated; 

2. There is a specific adult with enough identifying 

information to locate the adult;  

3. Circumstances allege abuse, neglect, or exploitation or 

risk of abuse, neglect, or exploitation; and 

4. The local department receiving the report is the local 

department of jurisdiction as described in this section.  

D. Within 24 hours after receiving a valid report, the local 

department shall initiate an investigation.  

1. To initiate the investigation, the social worker must local 

department shall gather enough information concerning the 

report to determine (i) if the report is valid and (ii) if an 

immediate response is needed to ensure the safety of the 

alleged victim. Pertinent information may be obtained from 

the report, case record reviews, contact with the alleged 

victim, the reporter, friends and, neighbors and, service 

providers, or other sources of information. 

2. When determining the need for an immediate response, 

the social worker local department shall consider the 

following factors: 

a. The imminent danger to the adult or to others; 

b. The severity of the alleged abuse, neglect, or 

exploitation; 

c. The circumstances surrounding the alleged abuse, 

neglect, or exploitation; and 

d. The physical and mental condition of the adult. 

3. A face-to-face contact with the alleged victim shall be 

made as soon as possible but not later than [ five seven ] 

calendar days after the date of the initiation of the 

investigation unless there are valid reasons that the contact 

could not be made. Those reasons shall be documented in 

the Adult Protective Services Assessment Narrative as 

described in 22VAC30-100-40 APS case management 

information system. The timing of the interview with the 

alleged victim should occur in a reasonable amount of time 

pursuant to consistent with the local department's 

consideration of the circumstances in subdivision 2 of this 

subsection. 

C. The report shall be reduced to writing within 72 hours of 

receiving the report on a form prescribed by the department.  

D. E. The purpose of the investigation is to determine whether 

the adult alleged to be abused, neglected, or exploited or at risk 

of abuse, neglect, or exploitation is in need of protective 

services and, if so, to identify those services needed to provide 

the protection. 
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E. F. The local department shall conduct a thorough 

investigation of the report. 

F. G. The investigation shall include a visit and private 

interview with the adult alleged to be abused, neglected, or 

exploited. 

G. H. The investigation shall include consultation with others 

having who may have knowledge of the facts of or information 

about the particular case report. 

I. An APS assessment shall be required for all APS 

investigations and shall be entered into the APS case 

management information system. The APS assessment shall 

address the following: 

1. Allegations in the report or circumstances discovered 

during the investigation that meet the definitions of adult 

abuse, neglect, or exploitation. 

2. The extent to which the adult is physically, emotionally, 

and mentally capable of making and carrying out decisions 

concerning his health and well-being.  

3. How the adult's environment, functional ability, physical 

and mental health, support system, and income and 

resources may be contributing factors in the abuse, neglect, 

or exploitation.  

4. The risk of serious harm to the adult. 

5. The need for an immediate response by the local 

department to a valid report. 

6. The circumstances and information concerning an 

interview with the alleged victim, the alleged perpetrator (if 

known), and any collateral contacts having knowledge of the 

case. 

H. J. Primary responsibility for the investigation when more 

than one local department may have jurisdiction under § 63.2-

1605 of the Code of Virginia shall be assumed by the local 

department: 

1. Where the subject of the investigation resides when the 

place of residence is known and when the alleged abuse, 

neglect, or exploitation occurred in the city or county of 

residence; 

2. Where the abuse, neglect, or exploitation is believed to 

have occurred when the report alleges that the incident 

occurred outside the city or county of residence; 

3. Where the abuse, neglect, or exploitation was discovered 

if the incident did not occur in the city or county of residence 

or if the city or county of residence is unknown and the place 

where the abuse, neglect, or exploitation occurred is 

unknown; or 

4. Where the abuse, neglect, or exploitation was discovered 

if the subject of the report is a nonresident who is 

temporarily in the Commonwealth. 

K. An adult's residence is determined by the physical location 

of the residence. An adult's residence is not determined by the 

locality to which the adult may pay or previously paid taxes or 

by whether the adult currently or previously received services 

or public assistance from another local department.  

L. A local department that may have previously provided a 

service to or conducted an APS investigation on an adult shall 

assist with the investigation at the request of the local 

department with primary responsibility for investigation. 

I. M. When an investigation extends across city or county 

lines into the jurisdiction of another local department, the local 

departments department in those cities or counties the other 

jurisdiction shall assist with the investigation at the request of 

the local department with primary responsibility for the 

investigation. 

J. N. When the local department receives information on 

suspicious deaths of adults, the local department staff shall 

immediately notify the appropriate medical examiner and law 

enforcement. 

22VAC30-100-30. Application for the provision of services. 

(Repealed.) 

A. Local departments are authorized to receive and 

investigate reports of suspected adult abuse, neglect and 

exploitation pursuant to Article 2 (§ 63.2-1603 et seq.) of 

Chapter 16 of Title 63.2 of the Code of Virginia.  

B. Upon completion of the investigation and the 

determination that the adult is in need of protective services, 

the adult protective services worker must obtain an application 

signed by the adult in need of services or his representative 

prior to service provision.  

C. The application process is designed to assure the prompt 

provision of needed adult protective services including 

services to adults who are not able to complete and sign a 

service application.  

D. Persons who may complete and sign an application for 

adult protective services on behalf of an adult who needs the 

service include:  

1. The adult who will receive the services or the adult's 

legally appointed guardian or conservator;  

2. Someone authorized by the adult; or  

3. The local department.  

22VAC30-100-40. Assessment narrative and Adult 

protective services disposition. 

A. An assessment narrative shall be required for all adult 

protective services investigations and shall be titled "Adult 

Protective Services Assessment Narrative." The narrative must 

address, but is not limited to, the following:  
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1. Allegations in the report or circumstances discovered 

during the investigation that meet the definitions of abuse, 

neglect or exploitation.  

2. The extent to which the adult is physically, emotionally 

and mentally capable of making and carrying out decisions 

concerning his health and well-being. 

3. The risk of serious harm to the adult.  

4. The need for an immediate response by the adult 

protective services worker upon receipt of a valid report.  

5. The ability to conduct a private interview with the alleged 

victim, the alleged perpetrator (if known) and any collateral 

contacts having knowledge of the case.  

B. A. After investigating the report, the adult protective 

services worker must local department shall review and 

evaluate the facts collected and make a disposition as to 

whether the adult is in need of protective services and, if so, 

what services are needed. 

C. B. The disposition that the adult needs protective services 

shall be based on the preponderance of evidence that abuse, 

neglect, or exploitation has occurred or that the adult is at risk 

of abuse, neglect, or exploitation. The local department may be 

unable to determine the identity of the alleged perpetrator but 

the inability to determine the identity of the alleged perpetrator 

shall not prohibit the local department from issuing a 

disposition reflecting the need for protective services. 

D. C. Possible dispositions. 

1. Needs protective services and accepts. This disposition 

shall be used when: 

a. A review of the facts shows a preponderance of 

evidence that adult abuse, neglect, or exploitation has 

occurred or is occurring; and 

(1) The adult consents to receive services pursuant to 

§ 63.2-1610 of the Code of Virginia; or 

(2) Involuntary protective services are ordered by a court 

pursuant to § 63.2-1609 or Article 1 (§ 64.2-2000 et seq.) 

of Chapter 20 of Title 64.2 of the Code of Virginia; or 

b. A review of the facts shows a preponderance of 

evidence that the adult is at risk of abuse, neglect, or 

exploitation and needs protective services in order to 

reduce that risk; and 

c. (1) The adult consents to receive services pursuant to 

§ 63.2-1610 of the Code of Virginia; or 

d. (2) Involuntary protective services are ordered by the a 

court pursuant to § 63.2-1609 or Article 1 (§ 64.2-2000 et 

seq.) of Chapter 20 of Title 64.2 of the Code of Virginia. 

2. Needs protective services and refuses. This disposition 

shall be used when: 

a. A review of the facts shows a preponderance of 

evidence that adult abuse, neglect, or exploitation has 

occurred or is occurring or the adult is at risk of abuse, 

neglect, and exploitation; and 

b. The adult refuses or withdraws consent to accept 

protective services pursuant to § 63.2-1610 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

3. Need for protective services no longer exists. This 

disposition shall be used when the subject of the report no 

longer needs protective services. A review of the facts shows 

a preponderance of evidence that adult abuse, neglect, or 

exploitation has occurred. However, at the time the 

investigation is initiated or during the course of the 

investigation, the adult who is the subject of the report ceases 

to be at risk of further abuse, neglect, or exploitation due to 

the circumstances or actions that have occurred or have been 

initiated by the adult or an entity or person other than the 

local department. 

4. Unfounded. This disposition shall be used when review of 

the facts does not show a preponderance of evidence that 

abuse, neglect, or exploitation occurred or that the adult is at 

risk of abuse, neglect, or exploitation. 

5. Invalid. This disposition shall be used when, after 

initiating the investigation, it is determined that the report 

does not meet the criteria for a valid report.  

E. D. The investigation shall be completed and a disposition 

assigned by the local department within 45 calendar days of 

the date the report was received. If the investigation is not 

completed within 45 calendar days, the record local department 

shall document reasons for the delay. The disposition shall be 

entered into the APS case management information system no 

later than five working days of the conclusion of the 

investigation. 

F. A notice E. Notification of the completion of the 

investigation must shall be made in writing and shall be mailed 

to the reporter within 10 working days of the completion of the 

investigation. 

F. Written notification. 

1. The local department shall provide written notification to 

the alleged perpetrator within 30 calendar days of the 

conclusion of the investigation when: 

a. The disposition (i) is needs protective services and 

accepts, (ii) needs protective services and refuses, or (iii) 

need for protective services no longer exists; and  

b. The local department notified a licensing, regulatory, or 

legal authority of the disposition pursuant to § 63.3-1605 

D of the Code of Virginia.  

2. The notification shall include a summary of the evidence 

and information used by the local department to support the 

findings of the investigation; inform the alleged perpetrator 

about his right to review; and if applicable, identify all 

licensing, regulatory, or legal authorities and the date these 

authorities were notified.  
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3. The local department may delay notification to the alleged 

perpetrator by an additional 30 calendar days at the request 

of a law-enforcement agency.  

4. It is optional for the local department to provide such 

notification to an adult whom the local department 

determines to be self-neglecting and is therefore considered 

to be the alleged perpetrator.  

G. The Adult Protective Services Program local department 

shall respect the rights of adults with capacity to consider 

options offered by the program local department and refuse 

services, even if those decisions do not appear to reasonably be 

in the best interests of the adult. 

22VAC30-100-45. Right to review.  

A. Right to review is the process by which the alleged 

perpetrator may request a hearing to amend the record when 

the investigation has resulted in a disposition that the local 

department has communicated to a licensing, regulatory, or 

legal authority.  

B. A written request for an informal hearing with the local 

department must be received by the local department within 30 

calendar days of the date of the local department's written 

notification that meets the requirements of 22VAC30-100-40 

F to be deemed timely. 

C. The local department shall conduct an informal hearing 

within 30 calendar days of receiving the written request for an 

informal hearing.  

D. The director shall preside over the informal hearing. 

Except for the director, no person whose regular duties include 

substantial involvement with the local department's adult 

abuse, neglect, or exploitation investigations shall preside over 

the hearing.  

E. The alleged perpetrator may be represented by counsel. 

The alleged perpetrator shall be entitled to present the 

testimony of witnesses, documents, factual data, arguments, or 

other submissions of proof. 

F. The director shall have the authority to sustain, amend, or 

reverse the findings of the investigation or the disposition. 

G. The director shall notify the alleged perpetrator, in writing, 

of the results of the informal hearing within 30 calendar days 

of the date of the hearing. The decision of the director shall be 

final. The results of the informal hearing shall be mailed, 

certified with return receipt, to the alleged perpetrator. A copy 

of the final decision shall be mailed to the appropriate 

licensing, regulatory, or legal authority. 

H. If the director reverses the identification of the alleged 

perpetrator, the local department shall continue to offer 

services to the adult if the disposition remains needs protective 

services and accepts. 

I. All written findings and actions of the local department or 

its director, including the decision of the director at the 

conclusion of the review, are final and shall not be (i) 

appealable to the Commissioner for Aging and Rehabilitative 

Services or (ii) considered a final agency action for purposes 

of judicial review pursuant to the provisions of the 

Administrative Process Act (§ 2.2-4000 et seq. of the Code of 

Virginia). 

22VAC30-100-50. Disclosure of adult protective services 

information. 

A. This chapter describes the protection of confidential 

information including a description of when such information 

must shall be disclosed, when such disclosure of the 

information is at the discretion of the local department, what 

information may be disclosed, and the procedure for disclosing 

the information. 

B. Department staff having legitimate interest shall have 

regular access to adult protective services APS records 

maintained by the local department. 

C. The following agencies have licensing, regulatory, and 

legal authority for administrative action or criminal 

investigations, and they have a legitimate interest in 

confidential information when such information is relevant and 

reasonably necessary for the fulfillment of their licensing, 

regulatory, and legal responsibilities: 

1. Department of Behavioral Health and Developmental 

Services; 

2. disAbility Law Center of Virginia; 

3. Office of the Attorney General, including the Medicaid 

Fraud Control Program; 

4. Department for Aging and Rehabilitative Services; 

5. Department of Health, including the Office of Licensure 

and Certification and the Office of the Chief Medical 

Examiner; 

6. Department of Medical Assistance Services; 

7. Department of Health Professions; 

8. Department for the Blind and Vision Impaired; 

9. Department of Social Services, including the Division of 

Licensing Programs; 

10. The Office of the State Long-Term Care Ombudsman 

and local ombudsman; 

11. Law-enforcement agencies; 

12. Medical examiners; 

13. Adult fatality review teams; 

14. Prosecutors Commonwealth's attorneys; and 
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15. Any other entity deemed appropriate by the 

commissioner or local department director that demonstrates 

a legitimate interest. 

D. The local department shall disclose all relevant 

information to representatives of the agencies identified in 

subsection C of this section except the identity of the person 

who reported the abuse, neglect, or exploitation unless the 

reporter authorizes the disclosure of his identity or the 

disclosure is ordered by the court. 

E. The local department shall refer any appropriate matter and 

all relevant documentation to the appropriate licensing, 

regulatory, or legal authority for administrative action or 

criminal investigation. 

F. Local departments may release information to the 

following persons when the local department has determined 

the person making the request has legitimate interest in 

accordance with § 63.2-104 § 51.5-122 of the Code of Virginia 

and the release of information is in the best interest of the adult: 

1. Representatives of public and private agencies including 

community services boards, area agencies on aging, and 

local health departments requesting disclosure when the 

agency has legitimate interest; 

2. A physician or other licensed health care professional who 

is treating an adult whom he reasonably suspects is abused, 

neglected, or exploited; 

3. The adult's legally appointed guardian or conservator; 

4. A guardian ad litem who has been appointed for an adult 

who is the subject of an adult protective services APS report; 

5. A family member who is responsible for the welfare of an 

adult who is the subject of an adult protective services APS 

report; 

6. An attorney representing a local department in an adult 

protective services case APS matter; 

7. The Social Security Administration; or 

8. Any other entity that demonstrates to the commissioner or 

local department director that legitimate interest is evident. 

G. Local departments are required to disclose certain 

requested information under the following circumstances: 

1. When disclosure is ordered by a court; 

2. When a person has made an adult protective services APS 

report and an investigation has been completed; or 

3. When a request for access to information is made pursuant 

to the Government Data Collection and Dissemination 

Practices Act (§ 2.2-3800 et seq. of the Code of Virginia). 

H. Any or all of the following specific information may be 

disclosed at the discretion of the local department to agencies 

or persons specified in subsection F of this section: 

1. Name, address, age, race, and gender of the adult who is 

the subject of the request for information; 

2. Name, address, age, race, and gender of the person who is 

alleged to have perpetrated the abuse, neglect, or 

exploitation; 

3. Description of the incident or incidents of abuse, neglect, 

or exploitation; 

4. Description of the adult's medical problems conditions to 

the extent known; 

5. Disposition of the adult protective services APS report; 

and 

6. The protective service needs of the adult. 

I. The identity of the person who reported the suspected 

abuse, neglect, or exploitation shall be held confidential unless 

the reporter authorizes the disclosure of his identity or 

disclosure is ordered by the court. 

J. Agencies or persons who receive confidential information 

pursuant to subsection G of this section shall provide the 

following assurances to the local department: 

1. The purpose for which information is requested is related 

to the protective services goal in the service plan for the 

adult; 

2. The information will be used only for the purpose for 

which it is made available; and 

3. The information will be held confidential by the 

department or individual receiving the information except to 

the extent that disclosure is required by law. 

K. Methods of obtaining assurances. Any one of the 

following methods may be used to obtain assurances required 

in subsection J of this section: 

1. Agreements between local departments and other 

community service agencies that provide blanket assurances 

required in subsection J of this section for all adult protective 

services APS cases; or 

2. State-level agreements that provide blanket assurances 

required in subsection C of this section for all adult 

protective services APS cases. 

L. Notification that information has been disclosed. When 

information has been disclosed pursuant to this chapter section, 

notice of the disclosure shall be given to the adult who is the 

subject of the information or to his legally appointed guardian. 

If the adult has given permission to release the information, 

further notification shall not be required. 

22VAC30-100-60. Opening a case for service provision. 

A A. The local department shall offer a range of services must 

be made available to any abused, neglected and exploited adult 

or to adults at risk of abuse, neglect or exploitation to protect 
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the adult and to prevent any future abuse, neglect or 

exploitation to the adult when the disposition is needs 

protective services and accepts as defined in 22VAC30-100-

40.  

1. Opening a case to adult protective services. Once a 

disposition of the report and an assessment of the adult's 

needs and strengths have been made, the department shall 

assess the adult's service needs.  

B. Application for services. 

1. The local department shall obtain an application when the 

disposition is needs protective services and accepts.  

2. Representatives who may complete and sign an 

application on behalf of an adult who needs protective 

services include: 

a. The adult's legally appointed guardian or conservator; 

b. The adult's responsible person; or 

c. The local department. 

C. A case shall be opened for adult protective services when: 

a. 1. The service needs are identified; 

b. 2. The disposition is that the adult needs protective 

services and accepts; and 

c. 3. The adult or the adult's representative as identified in 

subdivision B 2 of this section agrees to accept protective 

services or protective services are ordered by the court. 

2. Service planning. D. A service plan which that is based on 

the investigative findings and the assessment of the adult's 

need for protective services shall be developed. The service 

plan is the basis for the activities that the worker local 

department, the adult, and other persons individuals will 

undertake to provide the services necessary to protect the adult. 

The service plan shall be documented in the APS case 

management information system. 

3. E. Implementation of the service plan. Implementation of 

the service plan is the delivery of the services necessary to 

provide adequate protection to the adult. The services may be 

delivered directly, through purchase of service, through 

informal support, or through referral. The continuous 

monitoring of the adult's progress and the system's response is 

a part of the implementation. 

4. F. Local departments are required to provide services 

beyond the investigation to the extent that federal or state 

matching funds are made available. 

22VAC30-100-70. Civil penalty for nonreporting. 

A. The department commissioner may impose civil penalties 

when it is determined that a mandated reporter failed to report 

suspected adult abuse, neglect, or exploitation pursuant to 

§ 63.2-1606 of the Code of Virginia. 

B. Civil penalties for all mandated reporters except law-

enforcement officers shall be imposed as described in 

22VAC30-100-80 determined by a court of competent 

jurisdiction, at its discretion. 

22VAC30-100-80. Imposition of civil penalty. 

A. Local department review and recommendation. 

1. Based on a decision by the local department When a 

director or his designee determines that a mandated reporter 

failed to report as required by § 63.2-1606 of the Code of 

Virginia, the local director shall prepare a written statement 

of fact on a form provided by the department concerning the 

mandated reporter's failure to report and submit the 

statement of fact to the commissioner. The director also shall 

prepare a letter notifying the mandated reporter of the intent 

to request imposition of a civil penalty. The letter shall state 

the mandated reporter's right to submit a written statement 

to the commissioner concerning the mandated reporter's 

failure to report. The date of the director's notification shall 

be the date of the letter to the mandated reporter. Any 

supporting documentation that the director considered in 

requesting the imposition of a civil penalty shall be provided 

to the mandated reporter. The letter, statement of facts, and 

any supporting documentation that the director considered 

in requesting the imposition of a civil penalty shall be sent 

to the mandated reporter by registered or certified mail, 

return receipt requested. 

2. The local director or his designee shall notify the 

mandated reporter in writing within 15 calendar days from 

the date of the determination of the intent to recommend that 

a civil penalty be imposed. The notification will include a 

copy of the local director's statement of fact concerning the 

mandated reporter's failure to report. The notification shall 

state the mandated reporter's right to submit a written 

statement to the commissioner concerning the mandated 

reporter's failure to report. The date of the notification is the 

postage date At such time as the letter required under 

subdivision 1 of this subsection is sent, the director shall 

send a letter to the commissioner requesting the imposition 

of a civil penalty on the mandated reporter for failure to 

report. The statement of fact and the letter to the mandated 

reporter shall accompany the letter to the commissioner. Any 

supporting documentation that the director considered in 

requesting the imposition of a civil penalty shall be provided 

to the commissioner. 

3. The mandated reporter's statement concerning his failure 

to report must be received by the commissioner within 45 

days from the date of the local director's notification of intent 

to recommend the imposition of a civil penalty. A mandated 

reporter's statement received after the 45 days shall not be 

considered by the commissioner.  

B. Review by the commissioner or his designee 
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1. The commissioner or his designee shall review the local 

director's written statement of fact concerning the mandated 

reporter's failure to report and the mandated reporter's 

written statement in determining whether to impose a civil 

penalty.  

2. In the case of law-enforcement officers who are alleged to 

have not reported as required, the commissioner or his 

designee shall forward the recommendation to a court of 

competent jurisdiction.  

3. The commissioner or his designee shall impose a civil 

penalty upon a mandated reporter who is determined to have 

not reported as required pursuant to § 63.2-1606 of the Code 

of Virginia. Penalties shall be imposed as follows:  

a. For first offenses of nonreporting pursuant to § 63.2-

1606 H of the Code of Virginia, the penalty shall be not 

more than $500.  

b. For second and subsequent offenses pursuant to § 63.2-

1606 H of the Code of Virginia, the penalty shall be not 

less than $100 and not more than $1,000.  

4. The commissioner or his designee shall notify the 

mandated reporter whether a civil penalty will be imposed 

and, if so, the amount of the penalty. This written notice shall 

describe the reasons for the imposition of the civil penalty. 

The date of notification shall be deemed to be the date the 

mandated reporter received written notice of the alleged 

violation. This notice shall include specifics of the violation 

charged and shall be sent by overnight express mail or by 

registered or certified mail, return receipt requested.  

5. If a civil penalty is imposed, a copy of the notice to the 

mandated reporter shall be sent to the appropriate licensing, 

regulatory, or administrative agency and to the local director 

who recommended the imposition of the penalty. 

B. Statement from mandated reporter. Within 45 calendar 

days from the date of the director's notification to the mandated 

reporter of intent to request the imposition of a civil penalty, 

the mandated reporter may submit a written statement 

concerning his failure to report to the commissioner. 

Statements received by the commissioner after 45 calendar 

days will be deemed untimely and will not be considered.  

C. Review by the commissioner's designee. 

1. The commissioner's designee shall review the director's 

statement of facts, the mandated reporter's written statement, 

and any supporting documentation provided by the director 

in determining whether to impose a civil penalty. 

2. In the case of law-enforcement officers who are alleged 

not to have reported as required, the commissioner or the 

commissioner's designee shall forward a recommendation to 

the court of competent jurisdiction. 

3. Within 30 calendar days after the deadline for the 

commissioner's receipt of the mandated reporter's written 

statement, the commissioner's designee shall issue a final 

decision to the mandated reporter in writing, addressing 

whether a civil penalty will be imposed. The final decision 

shall include specifics of the violation charged, the reasons 

for the imposition of the civil penalty, and the amount of the 

penalty. The date of the final decision is the date the final 

decision is sent to the mandated reporter. The 

commissioner's designee shall also send a copy of the final 

decision to the director who recommended the imposition of 

the civil penalty. 

D. Reconsideration of a final decision imposing a civil 

penalty shall be conducted in accordance with § 2.2-4023.1 of 

the Code of Virginia. The commissioner's review on 

reconsideration shall not include testimony, statements, or 

documentary submissions that were not included in the 

director's intent to request imposition of a civil penalty or 

presented to the commissioner or the commissioner's designee 

prior to issuance of the final decision. 

6. E. Any mandated reporter has the right to appeal the 

decision to impose a civil penalty in accordance with § 2.2-

4026 of the Code of Virginia and pursuant to Part 2 A of the 

Rules of the Supreme Court of Virginia. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R18-5270; Filed April 12, 2021, 2:44 p.m. 

Final Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 22VAC30-110. Assessment in Assisted 

Living Facilities (amending 22VAC30-110-10 through 

22VAC30-110-50, 22VAC30-110-80 through 22VAC30-

110-110). 

Statutory Authority: §§ 51.5-131 and 51.5-146 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

Effective Date: June 9, 2021. 

Agency Contact: Paige McCleary, Adult Services Program 

Consultant, Department for Aging and Rehabilitative Services, 

8004 Franklin Farms Drive, Richmond, VA 23229, telephone 

(804) 662-7605, or email paige.mccleary@dars.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendments (i) permit the use of video conferencing for 

assessments when there are hazardous travel conditions or 

the individual to be assessed is in another state, (ii) specify 

that qualified assessors who are employees of local 

departments of social services shall enter assisted living 

facility assessments in the case management system 

designated by the department, (iii) specify that the earliest 

date that an annual reassessment may be completed is 60 

calendar days prior to the annual reassessment due date, 

(iv) require that qualified assessors and case managers 

make housing options clear, (v) no longer require that 

qualified assessors and case managers advise public pay 

individuals of the outcome of the assessment or the annual 

reassessment orally and in writing, and (vi) amend other 

language for improved clarity. 
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Summary of Public Comments and Agency's Response: No 

public comments were received by the promulgating agency. 

22VAC30-110-10. Definitions. 

The following words and terms when used in this chapter 

shall have the following meanings unless the context clearly 

indicates otherwise: 

"Activities of daily living" or "ADLs" means bathing, 

dressing, toileting, transferring, bowel control, bladder control, 

and eating/feeding. An individual's degree of independence in 

performing these activities is a part of determining appropriate 

level of care and services. 

"Administrator" means the licensee or person designated by 

the licensee who (i) is responsible for the general 

administration and management of an assisted living facility 

and who oversees the day-to-day operation of the facility, 

including compliance with all regulations for assisted living 

facilities and (ii) meets the requirements of 22VAC40-72. 

"Assessment" means a standardized approach using common 

definitions to gather sufficient information about an individual 

applying to or residing in an assisted living facility to 

determine the need for appropriate level of care and services. 

"Assisted living care" means a level of service provided by an 

assisted living facility to individuals who may have physical or 

mental impairments and require at least moderate assistance 

with the activities of daily living. Moderate assistance means 

dependency in two or more of the activities of daily living. 

Included in this level of service are individuals who are 

dependent in behavior pattern (i.e., abusive, aggressive, 

disruptive) as documented on the uniform assessment 

instrument. 

"Assisted living facility" or "ALF" means any public or 

private ALF that is required to be licensed as an ALF by the 

Department of Social Services under Chapter 17 (§ 63.2-1700 

et seq.) of Title 63.2 of the Code of Virginia, specifically, any 

congregate residential setting that provides or coordinates 

personal and health care services, 24-hour supervision, and 

assistance (scheduled and unscheduled) for the maintenance or 

care of four or more adults who are aged, infirm, or disabled 

and who are cared for in a primarily residential setting, except 

(i) a facility or portion of a facility licensed by the State Board 

of Health or the Department of Behavioral Health and 

Developmental Services, but including any portion of such 

facility not so licensed; (ii) the home or residence of an 

individual who cares for or maintains only persons related to 

him by blood or marriage; (iii) a facility or portion of a facility 

serving infirm or disabled persons between the ages of 18 and 

21 years, or 22 years if enrolled in an educational program for 

the handicapped pursuant to § 22.1-214 of the Code of 

Virginia, when such facility is licensed by the Department of 

Social Services as a children's residential facility under 

Chapter 17 (§ 63.2-1700 et seq.) of Title 63.2 of the Code of 

Virginia, but including any portion of the facility not so 

licensed; and (iv) any housing project for persons 62 years of 

age or older or the disabled that provides no more than basic 

coordination of care services and is funded by the U.S. 

Department of Housing and Urban Development, by the U.S. 

Department of Agriculture, or by the Virginia Housing 

Development Authority. Included in this definition are any two 

or more places, establishments or institutions owned or 

operated by a single entity and providing maintenance or care 

to a combined total of four or more aged, infirm, or disabled 

adults. Maintenance or care means the protection, general 

supervision, and oversight of the physical and mental well-

being of an aged, infirm, or disabled individual. Assuming 

responsibility for the well-being of individuals, either directly 

or through contracted agents, is considered general supervision 

and oversight. 

"Auxiliary Grants Program" means a state and locally funded 

assistance program to supplement the income of an individual 

who is receiving Supplemental Security Income (SSI) or an 

individual who would be eligible for SSI except for excess 

income, and who resides in an ALF with an approved rate, an 

adult foster care home, or supportive housing setting with an 

established rate [ in ] the [ annual appropriations act 

Appropriation Act ]. The total number of individuals within the 

Commonwealth of Virginia eligible to receive auxiliary grants 

in a supportive housing setting shall not exceed the number 

individuals designated in the [ annual appropriations act 

Virginia law ] and the signed agreement between the 

department and the Social Security Administration. 

"Case management" means multiple functions designed to 

link individuals to appropriate services. Case management may 

include a variety of common components such as initial 

screening of need, comprehensive assessment of needs, 

development and implementation of a plan of care, service 

monitoring, and follow-up. 

"Case management agency" means a public human service 

agency which employs a case manager or contracts for case 

management. 

"Case manager" means an employee of a public human 

services agency who is qualified to perform assessments and 

to develop and coordinate plans of care. 

"Department" or "DARS" means the Virginia Department for 

Aging and Rehabilitative Services. 

"Department designated case management system" means the 

official state automated computer system that collects and 

maintains information on assessments conducted by 

employees of the local department who meet the definition of 

qualified assessor.  

"Dependent" means, for ADLs and instrumental activities of 

daily living (IADLs), the individual needs the assistance of 

another person or needs the assistance of another person and 

equipment or a device to safely complete the activity an ADL 

or IADL. For medication administration, dependent means the 
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individual needs to have medications administered or 

monitored by another person or professional staff. For 

behavior pattern, dependent means the individual's behavior is 

aggressive, abusive, or disruptive. 

"Discharge" means the process that ends an individual's stay 

in the ALF. 

"Emergency placement" means the temporary status of an 

individual in an ALF when the individual's health and safety 

would be jeopardized by not permitting denying entry into the 

facility until requirements for admission have been met. 

"Face-to-face" means interacting with an individual in need 

of an assessment in a manner that enables the qualified assessor 

or case manager to observe the individual's behavior and 

ability to perform ADLs and IADLs.  

"Facility" means an ALF. 

"Independent physician" means a physician who is chosen by 

an individual residing in the ALF and who has no financial 

interest in the ALF, directly or indirectly, as an owner, officer, 

or employee or as an independent contractor with the facility. 

"Instrumental activities of daily living" or "IADLs" means for 

the purposes of this chapter, meal preparation, housekeeping, 

laundry, and money management. An individual's degree of 

independence in performing these activities is a part of 

determining appropriate level of care and services. 

"Local department" means any local department of social 

services in the Commonwealth of Virginia. 

"Maximum physical assistance" means that an individual has 

a rating of total dependence in four or more of the seven 

activities of daily living as documented on the uniform 

assessment instrument. 

"Medication administration" means for purposes of this 

chapter, assessing the degree of assistance an individual 

requires to take medications in order to determine the 

individual's appropriate level of care. 

"Minimal assistance" means dependency in only one ADL or 

dependency in one or more IADLs as documented on the 

uniform assessment instrument. Included in this level of 

services are individuals who are dependent in medication 

administration as documented on the UAI. 

"Moderate assistance" means dependency in two or more 

ADLs as documented on the UAI. 

"Private pay" means that an individual residing in an assisted 

living facility ALF is not eligible for benefits under the 

Auxiliary Grants Program. 

"Prohibited conditions" means physical or mental health 

conditions or care needs as described in § 63.2-1805 of the 

Code of Virginia. An ALF shall not admit or allow the 

continued residence of an individual with a prohibited 

condition. Prohibited conditions include, but are not limited to, 

an individual who requires maximum physical assistance as 

documented on the uniform assessment instrument and meets 

nursing facility level of care criteria as defined in the State Plan 

for Medical Assistance. Unless the individual's independent 

physician determines otherwise, an individual who requires 

maximum physical assistance and meets nursing facility level 

of care criteria as defined on the State Plan for Medical 

Assistance shall not be admitted to or continue to reside in an 

ALF. 

"Public human services agency" means an agency established 

or authorized by the General Assembly under Chapters 2 and 

3 (§§ 63.2-200 et seq. and 63.2-300 et seq.) of Title 63.2, 

Chapter 14 (§ 51.5-116 et seq.) of Title 51.5, Chapters 1 and 5 

(§§ 37.2-100 et seq. and 37.2-500 et seq.) of Title 37.2, or 

Article 5 (§ 32.1-30 et seq.) of Chapter 1 of Title 32.1, or 

hospitals operated by the state under Chapters 6.1 and 9 (§§ 23-

50.4 et seq. and 23-62 et seq.) of Title 23 of the Code of 

Virginia and supported wholly or principally by public funds, 

including but not limited to funds provided expressly for the 

purposes of case management. 

"Public pay" means that an individual residing in an ALF is 

eligible for benefits under the Auxiliary Grants Program. 

"Qualified assessor" means a person who is authorized to 

perform an assessment, reassessment, or change in level of care 

for an individual who is seeking admission to an ALF or who 

resides in an ALF. For public pay individuals, a qualified 

assessor is an employee of a public human services agency 

who is trained in the completion of the uniform assessment 

instrument and is authorized to approve placement for an 

individual who is seeking admission to or residing in an ALF. 

For private pay individuals, a qualified assessor is staff of the 

ALF trained in the completion of the uniform assessment 

instrument or an independent physician or a qualified assessor 

for public pay individuals. 

"Reassessment" means an update of information on the 

uniform assessment instrument at any time UAI after the initial 

assessment. In addition to an annual reassessment, a 

reassessment shall be completed whenever there is a 

significant change in the individual's condition. 

"Residential living care" means a level of service provided by 

an ALF for individuals who may have physical or mental 

impairments and require only minimal assistance with the 

activities of daily living. Minimal assistance means 

dependency in only one ADL or dependency in one or more of 

the selected IADLs as documented on the uniform assessment 

instrument. Included in this level of service are individuals 

who are dependent in medication administration as 

documented on the uniform assessment instrument. The 

definition of residential living care includes the services 

provided by the ALF to individuals who are assessed as 

capable of maintaining themselves in an independent living 

status. 
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"Significant change" means a change in an individual's 

condition that is expected to last longer than 30 days. It does 

not include short-term changes that resolve with or without 

intervention, a short-term acute illness or episodic event, or a 

well-established, predictive, cyclic pattern of clinical signs and 

symptoms associated with a previously diagnosed condition 

where an appropriate course of treatment is in progress. 

"Targeted case management" means the provision of ongoing 

case management services by an employee of a public human 

services agency contracting with the Department of Medical 

Assistance Services to an individual who is receiving an 

auxiliary grant in an ALF who meets the criteria set forth in 

12VAC30-50-470. 

"Total dependence" means the individual is entirely unable to 

participate in the performance of an ADL. 

"Uniform assessment instrument" or "UAI" means the 

department-designated assessment form. There is an alternate 

version of the uniform assessment instrument that may be used 

for individuals paying privately to reside in the ALF. Social 

and financial information that is not relevant because of the 

individual's payment status is not included on the private pay 

version. 

"User's Manual: Virginia Uniform Assessment Instrument" 

means the department-designated handbook containing 

common definitions and procedures for completing the 

department-designated assessment form.  

"Virginia Department of Medical Assistance Services" or 

"DMAS" means the single state agency designated to 

administer the Medical Assistance Services Program in 

Virginia. 

22VAC30-110-20. Individuals to be assessed. 

A. All individuals applying to or residing in an ALF shall be 

assessed face-to-face using the UAI prior to admission, at least 

annually, and whenever there is a significant change in the 

individual's condition. 

1. When the qualified assessor or case manager and 

individual are unable to be in the same physical space to 

conduct an assessment due to the individual's location in 

another state or due to hazardous travel conditions for the 

qualified assessor or case manager, the use of video 

conferencing to conduct the assessment shall be permitted. 

2. The appropriate qualified assessor or case manager shall 

review the assessment with the adult within seven working 

days of admission to the ALF to ensure all assessment 

information is accurate. 

B. For private pay individuals, qualified staff of the ALF or 

an independent physician may complete the UAI. Qualified 

staff are ALF employees who have successfully completed 

state-approved department designated training course on the 

UAI for either public or private pay assessments. The ALF 

maintains documentation of the completed training. The 

administrator or the administrator's designated representative 

shall approve and sign the completed UAI for private pay 

individuals. A private pay individual may request the 

assessment be completed by a qualified public human services 

agency assessor. When a public human services agency 

assessor completes the UAI for a private pay individual, the 

agency may determine and charge a fee for private pay 

assessments that may not exceed the amount DMAS 

reimburses for public pay assessments. 

C. For public pay individuals, the UAI shall be completed by 

a case manager or a qualified assessor to determine the need 

for residential care or assisted living care services. The 

assessor is qualified to complete the assessment if the assessor 

has completed a state-approved the department designated 

training course on the UAI. Assessors who prior to January 1, 

2004, routinely completed UAIs as part of their job 

descriptions may be deemed to be qualified assessors without 

the completion of the training course. Qualified assessors who 

may initially authorize ALF services for public pay individuals 

are employees of: 

1. Local departments of social services; 

2. Area agencies on aging; 

3. Centers for independent living; 

4. Community services boards or behavioral health 

authorities; 

5. Local departments of health; 

6. State facilities operated by the Department of Behavioral 

Health and Developmental Services; 

7. Acute-care hospitals; 

8. Department of Corrections; and 

9. Independent physicians who have a contract signed 

provider agreement with DMAS to conduct ALF 

assessments. 

D. For public pay individuals, the ALF shall coordinate with 

the qualified assessor or case manager to ensure that the UAI 

is completed as required. If the individual has not been 

assessed, the local department of social services eligibility 

benefits worker shall inform the individual or the individual's 

legal representative of the need to be assessed by a qualified 

assessor prior to admission. If the individual has not applied 

for an auxiliary grant, the qualified assessor or case manager 

conducting the assessment shall inform the individual or the 

individual's legal representative of the need to submit an 

application for an auxiliary grant. 

22VAC30-110-30. Determination of services to be 

provided. 

A. The assessment shall be conducted using the UAI that sets 

forth an individual's care needs. The UAI is designed to be a 
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comprehensive, accurate, standardized, and reproducible 

assessment of individuals seeking or receiving long-term care 

services. The UAI is comprised of a short assessment and a full 

assessment. The short assessment is designed to briefly assess 

the individual's need for appropriate level of care and services 

and to determine if a full assessment is needed. 

B. The following sections of the UAI shall be completed as 

follows: 

1. For private pay individuals, the assessment shall include 

sections related to identification and background, functional 

status, which includes ADLs, continence, ambulation, 

IADLs, medication administration, and behavior pattern. 

The private pay or public pay UAI may be used. 

2. For public pay individuals, the short form of the UAI shall 

be completed. The short form consists of sections related to 

identification and background, and functional status (i.e., the 

first four pages of the UAI), plus sections on medication 

administration, and behavior pattern. If, upon assessment, it 

is determined that the individual is dependent in at least two 

ADLs or is dependent in behavior, then the full assessment 

shall be completed. 

3. For private pay and public pay individuals, the prohibited 

conditions section shall be completed.  

C. The UAI shall be completed within 90 days prior to the 

date of admission to the ALF. If there has been a significant 

change in the individual's condition since the completion of the 

UAI that would affect the admission to an ALF, a new UAI 

shall be completed as specified in 22VAC30-110-20. 

D. When an individual moves to an ALF from another ALF, 

a new UAI is not required except that a new UAI shall be 

completed whenever there is a significant change in the 

individual's condition or the assessment most recent UAI was 

completed more than 12 months ago. 

E. In emergency placements, the UAI shall be completed 

within seven working days from the date of placement. An 

emergency placement shall occur only when the emergency is 

documented and approved by (i) a Virginia local department 

adult protective services worker for public pay individuals or 

by (ii) a Virginia local department adult protective services 

worker or independent physician for private pay individuals. 

F. The UAI shall be completed annually on all individuals 

residing in ALFs and whenever there is a significant change in 

the individual's condition. UAIs shall be completed whenever 

there is a significant change in the individual's condition. All 

UAIs shall be completed as required by 22VAC30-110-20. 

The ALF shall provide an area for assessments and 

reassessment to be conducted that ensures the individual's 

privacy and protects confidentiality. 

G. The ALF shall provide an area for assessments and 

reassessment to be conducted that ensures the individual's 

privacy and protects confidentiality. 

H. At the request of the ALF, the individual residing in the 

ALF, the individual's legal representative, the individual's 

physician, the Virginia Department of Social Services, or the 

local department of social services, an independent assessment 

using the UAI shall be completed to determine whether the 

individual's care needs are being met in the current ALF. An 

independent assessment is an assessment that is completed by 

an entity other than the original assessor. The ALF shall assist 

the individual in obtaining the independent assessment as 

requested. If the request is for a private pay individual, the 

entity requesting the independent assessment shall be 

responsible for paying for the assessment. 

H. I. The assessor shall consult with other appropriate human 

service professionals as needed to complete the assessment. 

J. Qualified assessors who are employees of local 

departments shall enter ALF assessments in the department 

designated case management system. 

I. K. DMAS shall reimburse for completion of assessments 

and authorization of ALF placement for public pay individuals 

pursuant to this section. 

22VAC30-110-40. Discharge. 

A. ALF staff shall assist the individual and the individual's 

legal representative in the discharge or transfer process. For 

public pay individuals, ALF staff shall provide written 

notification of the individual's date and place of discharge or 

of the individual's death to the local department of social 

services eligibility benefits worker in the jurisdiction 

responsible for authorizing the auxiliary grant and the qualified 

assessor or case manager who conducted the most recent 

assessment. The ALF shall make these notifications at least 14 

calendar days prior to the individual's planned discharge or 

within five calendar days after the individual's death. In the 

event of an emergency discharge as specified in 22VAC40-72-

420 22VAC40-73-430, the notification shall be made as 

rapidly as possible, but must be made by close of business on 

the day following the emergency discharge. 

B. Upon issuing a notice of summary order of suspension to 

an ALF, the Commissioner of the Virginia Department of 

Social Services or his designee shall contact the appropriate 

local department of social services to develop a relocation plan. 

Individuals residing in an ALF whose license has been 

summarily suspended pursuant to § 63.2-1709 of the Code of 

Virginia shall be relocated as soon as possible to reduce the 

risk to their health, safety, and welfare. New assessments of the 

individuals who are relocating are not required, pursuant to 

22VAC30-110-30 D. 

22VAC30-110-50. Authorization of services to be provided. 

A. The qualified assessor or case manager is responsible for 

authorizing public payment to the individual for the 

appropriate level of care upon admission to and for continued 

stay in an ALF. 
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B. The ALF staff shall be knowledgeable of the criteria for 

level of care in an ALF and are responsible for discharging the 

individual when the individual does not meet the criteria for 

level of care in an ALF upon admission or at any later time. 

C. The appropriate level of care shall be documented on the 

UAI, and the UAI shall be completed in a manner consistent 

with the definitions of ADLs and directions provided in the this 

chapter. The User's Manual: Virginia Uniform Assessment 

Instrument as well as the requirements set forth in this chapter 

is the department-designated handbook containing procedures 

that may be used in completing the UAI. 

D. During an inspection or review, staff from the Virginia 

Department of Social Services or the local department of social 

services may initiate a change in level of care for any 

individual residing in the ALF for whom it is determined that 

the UAI does not reflect the individual's current status. 

22VAC30-110-80. Rating of levels of care on the uniform 

assessment instrument. 

A. The rating of functional dependencies on the UAI shall be 

based on the individual's ability to function in a community 

environment. 

B. For purposes of this chapter, the following abbreviations 

shall mean: D = dependent; and TD = totally dependent. 

Mechanical help means equipment or a device or both are used; 

human help includes supervision and physical assistance. 

Asterisks (*) denote dependence in a particular function. 

1. Activities of daily living. 

a. Bathing. 

(1) Without help 

(2) Mechanical help only 

(3) Human help only* (D) 

(4) Mechanical help and human help* (D) 

(5) Is performed Performed by others* (TD) 

b. Dressing. 

(1) Without help 

(2) Mechanical help only 

(3) Human help only* (D) 

(4) Mechanical help and human help* (D) 

(5) Is performed Performed by others* (TD) 

(6) Is not performed* (TD) 

c. Toileting. 

(1) Without help 

(2) Mechanical help only 

(3) Human help only* (D) 

(4) Mechanical help and human help* (D) 

(5) Performed by others* (TD) 

(6) Is not performed* (TD) 

d. Transferring. 

(1) Without help 

(2) Mechanical help only 

(3) Human help only* (D) 

(4) Mechanical help and human help* (D) 

(5) Is performed Performed by others* (TD) 

(6) Is not performed* (TD) 

e. Bowel function. 

(1) Continent 

(2) Incontinent less than weekly 

(3) Ostomy self-care 

(4) Incontinent weekly or more* (D) 

(5) Ostomy not self-care* (TD) 

f. Bladder function. 

(1) Continent 

(2) Incontinent less than weekly 

(3) External device, indwelling catheter, ostomy, self-care 

(4) Incontinent weekly or more* (D) 

(5) External device, not self-care* (TD) 

(6) Indwelling catheter, not self-care* (TD) 

(7) Ostomy, not self-care* (TD) 

g. Eating/feeding. 

(1) Without help 

(2) Mechanical help only 

(3) Human help only* (D) 

(4) Mechanical help and human help* (D) 

(5) Performed by others (includes spoon fed, syringe/tube 

fed, fed by IV)* (TD) 

2. Behavior pattern. 

a. Appropriate 

b. Wandering/passive less than weekly 

c. Wandering/passive weekly or more 

d. Abusive/aggressive/disruptive less than weekly* (D) 

e. Abusive/aggressive/disruptive weekly or more* (D) 

3. Instrumental activities of daily living. 

a. Meal preparation. 

(1) No help needed 

(2) Needs help* (D) 

b. Housekeeping. 

(1) No help needed 

(2) Needs help* (D) 

c. Laundry. 

(1) No help needed 

(2) Needs help* (D) 
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d. Money management. 

(1) No help needed 

(2) Needs help* (D) 

4. Medication administration. 

a. Without assistance 

b. Administered/monitored by lay person* (D) 

c. Administered/monitored by professional staff* (D) 

22VAC30-110-90. Actions to be taken upon completion of 

the uniform assessment instrument. 

A. Public Actions to be taken upon completion of the uniform 

assessment instrument for public pay individuals. 

1. Upon completion of the UAI for initial assessment for 

admission, a significant change in the individual's condition, 

or the annual reassessment, the case manager or a qualified 

assessor shall forward to the local department of social 

services eligibility benefits worker in the appropriate agency 

of jurisdiction, in the format specified by the department, the 

effective date of admission or change in level of care. 

Qualified assessors who are authorized to perform the 

annual reassessment or a change in level of care for public 

pay individuals are employees of (i) local departments of 

social services; (ii) area agencies on aging; (iii) centers for 

independent living; (iv) community services boards or 

behavioral health authority; and (v) local departments of 

health, or an independent physician who has a contract 

signed provider agreement with DMAS to conduct 

assessments. 

2. The completed A [ completed ] copy of the UAI, the 

referral to the eligibility local department benefits worker, 

and other relevant data shall be maintained in the individual's 

record at the ALF. 

3. The annual reassessment shall be completed by the 

qualified assessor or case manager conducting the initial 

assessment. If the original assessor is neither willing nor able 

to complete the assessment and another assessor is not 

available, the local department of social services where the 

individual resides in the ALF shall be the assessor, except 

that individuals who receive services from a community 

service board or behavioral health authority shall be assessed 

and reassessed by qualified assessors employed by the 

community services board or behavioral health authority. 

4. The earliest date that an annual reassessment may be 

completed is 60 calendar days prior to the annual 

reassessment due date. 

5. After the annual reassessment has been completed, if the 

individual still meets either residential or assisted living 

level of care, the qualified assessor or case manager shall 

offer the individual the choice, based on availability, of 

housing option pursuant to § 51.5-160 of the Code of 

Virginia.  

4. 6. The ALF shall notify the community services board or 

behavioral health authority when UAIs indicate observed 

behaviors or patterns of behavior indicative of mental 

illness, intellectual disability, substance abuse, or behavioral 

disorders, pursuant to § 63.2-1805 B of the Code of Virginia. 

B. For Actions to be taken upon completion of the uniform 

assessment instrument for private pay individuals, the ALF 

shall ensure that assessments for all individuals at admission 

and at subsequent intervals are completed as required in this 

chapter. The ALF shall maintain the individual's UAI and other 

relevant data in the individual's ALF record. 

22VAC30-110-100. Targeted case management for 

individuals receiving an auxiliary grant. 

A. Targeted case management shall be limited to those 

individuals who have multiple needs across multiple providers 

and this coordination is beyond the scope of the ALF. It shall 

be the responsibility of the qualified assessor or case manager 

who identifies the individual's need for residential care or 

assisted living care in an ALF to assess the need for targeted 

case management as defined in 12VAC30-50-470. 

B. A case management agency shall have signed an a provider 

agreement with DMAS to be reimbursed for the provision of 

targeted case management for individuals receiving an 

auxiliary grant. 

C. The local department of social services where the 

individual resides, following admission to an ALF, shall be the 

case management agency when there is no other qualified case 

management provider willing or able to provide case 

management. 

D. A qualified case manager shall possess a combination of 

relevant work experience in human services or health care and 

relevant education which indicates that the individual 

possesses the knowledge, skills, and abilities at entry level as 

defined in 12VAC30-50-470. This must be documented on the 

case manager's job application form or supporting 

documentation. When the provider agency is a local 

department of social services, case managers shall meet the 

qualifications for family services occupational group as 

specified in 22VAC40-670-20. 

22VAC30-110-110. Notifications. 

Assessors Qualified assessors and case managers shall advise 

orally and in writing provide to all public pay individuals 

written notice of the outcome of the assessment or the annual 

reassessment, including a statement indicating that the local 

department of social services will notify the individual whether 

he is eligible to receive the auxiliary grant. An individual who 

is denied an auxiliary grant because the assessor determines 

that the individual does not meet the care needs for residential 

level of care has the right to file an appeal with the Virginia 

Department of Social Services under § 63.2-517 of the Code 

of Virginia. Notification of the right to appeal will be included 
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in the notice of action provided by the local department of 

social services. A determination that the individual does not 

meet the criteria to receive targeted case management is an 

action that is appealable to DMAS in accordance with the 

provisions of 12VAC30-110. 

DOCUMENTS INCORPORATED BY REFERENCE 

(22VAC30-110)  

User's Manual: Virginia Uniform Assessment Instrument 

(UAI), Commonwealth of Virginia (rev. 7/05) 

VA.R. Doc. No. R18-5335; Filed April 12, 2021, 2:44 p.m. 

Final Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 22VAC30-130. Adult Services 

Standards (adding 22VAC30-130-10 through 22VAC30-

130-60). 

Statutory Authority: §§ 51.5-131 and 51.5-145 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

Effective Date: June 9, 2021. 

Agency Contact: Paige McCleary, Adult Protective Services 

Division Director, Department for Aging and Rehabilitative 

Services, 8004 Franklin Farms Drive, Henrico, VA 23229, 

telephone (804) 662-7605, FAX (804) 662-9531, TDD (800) 

464-9950, or email paige.mccleary@dars.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

This regulatory action establishes a new regulation, Adult 

Services Standards (22VAC30-130). Provisions include 

definitions, principles inherent in the provision of adult 

services, the process for client intake and service delivery, 

descriptions of the types of services that may be provided, 

eligibility for services, and local department of social 

services responsibilities. 

Summary of Public Comments and Agency's Response: No 

public comments were received by the promulgating agency. 

Chapter 130 

Adult Services Standards 

22VAC30-130-10. Definitions.  

The following words and terms, when used in this chapter, 

shall have the following meanings, unless the context clearly 

indicates otherwise: 

"Activities of daily living" or "ADLs" means bathing, 

dressing, toileting, transferring, eating/feeding, and bowel and 

bladder continence.  

"Adult" means any individual 18 years of age or older, or 

younger than 18 years of age if legally emancipated. 

"Adult services" means services that are provided by local 

departments of social services to adults with an impairment. 

"Adult with an impairment" means an adult whose physical 

or mental capacity is diminished to the extent that the adult 

needs counseling or supervisory assistance with ADLs or 

instrumental activities of daily living. 

"Auxiliary Grants" or "AG" means cash payments made to 

certain aged, blind, or disabled individuals who receive 

benefits under Title XVI of the Social Security Act, as 

amended, or would be eligible to receive these benefits except 

for excess income. 

"Chore services" means nonroutine, heavy home 

maintenance services provided to adults, including minor 

repair work on furniture and appliances in the adult's home; 

carrying coal, wood, or water; chopping wood; removing 

snow; yard maintenance; and painting. 

"Companion services" means services to an adult, including 

light housekeeping, companionship, shopping, meal 

preparation, transportation, laundry, money management, and 

assistance with ADLs.  

"Department" means the Department for Aging and 

Rehabilitative Services.  

"Department-designated case management system" means 

the official state automated computer system for adult services 

that collects and maintains information on adult services 

provided by the local department.  

"Eligibility based on income" means an eligibility category 

under which the adult's eligibility for services is based upon an 

income scale issued annually by the department. 

"Home-based services" means companion, chore, and 

homemaker services that allow adults to attain or maintain self-

care and are likely to prevent or reduce dependency.  

"Homemaker services" means services that provide the adult 

instruction in or the performance of activities to maintain a 

household. Homemaker services may include personal care, 

home management, household maintenance, nutrition, and 

consumer or hygiene education. 

"Income maintenance" means an eligibility category under 

which the adult is eligible for a service because the adult 

receives Temporary Assistance for Needy Families (TANF), 

Supplemental Security Income (SSI), or AG. 

"Instrumental activities of daily living" or "IADLs" means 

tasks such as meal preparation, shopping, housekeeping, 

money management, transportation, using the telephone, home 

maintenance, and laundry.  

"Local board" means the local board of social services 

representing one or more counties or cities. 

"Local department" means the local department of social 

services of any county or city in the Commonwealth. 

"Public assistance" means TANF, AG, medical assistance, 

energy assistance, supplemental nutritional assistance 

program, employment services, child care, and general relief. 
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"Responsible person" means an individual who is authorized 

under state or federal law to make decisions concerning the 

adult and to receive information about the adult. 

"Service plan" means a written plan to address the needs of 

the adult. 

"Social supports" means individuals or organizations who 

routinely provide assistance or support to the adult. 

"Uniform Assessment Instrument" or "UAI" means the 

department-designated assessment form. It is used to record 

information about the adult's level of service needs. 

"Universal access" means an eligibility category under which 

the adult is eligible for services without consideration of the 

adult's income. 

22VAC30-130-20. Intake process.  

A. Intake is designed to provide a timely, coordinated method 

for the adult to request services or assistance or to obtain 

sufficient information about other resources. 

B. The local department shall be responsible for performing 

intake activities. These activities may include information and 

referral or initial assessment for assistance as indicated by the 

adult's situation. 

22VAC30-130-30. Services and activities.  

Local departments shall provide the following adult services: 

1. Services provided under universal access. 

a. Screening for long-term care services and supports 

pursuant to § 32.1-330 of the Code of Virginia. 

b. Public pay assisted living facility assessment pursuant 

to § 63.2-1804 of the Code of Virginia.  

c. Review of annual reports submitted by guardians 

pursuant to § 64.2-2020 of the Code of Virginia. 

2. Home-based services provided under universal access, 

income maintenance, or eligibility based on income. 

a. Home-based services shall be provided, to the extent 

that federal or state funding is available, as requested by 

an adult with an impairment who meets financial and 

functional eligibility criteria.  

b. Local boards shall establish a local home-based services 

policy that includes the types of home-based services that 

are offered in the locality, the functional eligibility criteria, 

and the financial eligibility criteria as decided by the local 

board.  

c. The local department, upon the decision of the local 

board, may choose to offer home-based services under 

universal access. If the local department does not offer 

home-based services under universal access, the adult 

shall be evaluated by the local department under the 

eligibility categories of income maintenance or eligibility 

based on income. Adults who are not eligible under 

universal access or income maintenance shall be evaluated 

by the local department under the eligibility based on 

income category. 

22VAC30-130-40. Eligibility determination.  

A. To request home-based services, the adult or the adult's 

responsible person shall submit a service application 

(Application for Adult Services Form) to the local department. 

The service application shall be on a form provided by the 

department. The local department shall document receipt of the 

application in the department-designated case management 

system. A service application shall not be required to request a 

screening for long-term care services and supports, for an 

assisted living facility assessment, or for review of an annual 

guardian report. 

B. Determinations for functional eligibility and financial 

eligibility are separate processes but shall be pursued 

simultaneously. Functional and financial eligibility shall be 

determined as promptly as possible. The local department shall 

notify the adult of its eligibility determination decision no later 

than 45 days from the date the application is received by the 

local department.  

C. The local department shall determine the adult's functional 

eligibility for home-based services. Home-based services shall 

not be available to adults who reside in an institutional setting 

including a nursing facility, assisted living facility, or hospital. 

The local department shall assess the adult using the UAI, the 

department-designated form, including evaluating the adult's 

degree of independence or need for assistance with performing 

ADLs and IADLs.  

D. The local department shall determine the adult's financial 

eligibility for home-based services.  

1. If the local department chooses to offer home-based 

services under universal access, the adult is financially 

eligible for home-based services without consideration of 

the adult's income. 

2. If the local department chooses to offer home-based 

services under income maintenance, the local department 

shall verify and document the adult's source of income in the 

department-designated case management system, and 

document whether the adult is eligible for an Auxiliary 

Grant, Temporary Assistance for Needy Families, or 

Supplemental Security Income. Adults who receive an 

Auxiliary Grant, Temporary Assistance for Needy Families, 

or Supplemental Security Income meet the financial 

eligibility requirement for home-based services offered 

under the income maintenance category. 

3. If the local department chooses to offer home-based 

services under eligibility based on income, each local board 

shall select a threshold percentage of the median income to 

evaluate financial eligibility for adults. The department shall 

provide a scale of the median income for a family of four in 
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Virginia as updated periodically in the Federal Register by 

the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services annually 

to local departments to use to determine financial eligibility. 

The adult's income, not resources, shall be counted when 

determining the adult's financial eligibility. The local 

department shall verify and document the adult's income in 

the department-designated case management system. 

Income from the following resources shall be disregarded 

when determining financial eligibility for home-based 

services in eligibility based on income category: 

a. Home produce utilized by the adult for his own 

consumption; 

b. The value of food benefits under the Supplemental 

Nutrition Assistance Program; 

c. The value of supplemental food assistance received 

under the Child Nutrition Act of 1966 (42 USC §§ 1771 

through 1789). This includes all school meals programs; 

the Women, Infants and Children program; and the Child 

Care Food program; 

d. The value of foods donated under the U.S. Department 

of Agriculture Commodity Distribution Program, 

including those foods furnished through the school meal 

programs; 

e. Benefits received under Nutrition Program for the 

Elderly, Title VII of the Older Americans Act of 1965, as 

amended (42 USC §§ 3001 et seq.); 

f. Grants or loans to any undergraduate students for 

educational purposes made or insured under any program 

administered by the U.S. Secretary of Education; 

g. A scholarship or grant obtained and used under 

conditions that preclude its use for current living costs; 

h. Training allowance provided by the department for 

persons participating in rehabilitative services programs; 

i. Payments to VISTA volunteers; 

j. The Veterans Administration educational amount for the 

caretaker 18 years of age or older when used specifically 

for educational purposes. Any additional money included 

in the benefit amount for dependents is to be counted as 

income;  

k. Income tax refunds including earned income tax credit 

advance payments and refunds; 

l. Payments made under the Energy Assistance Program; 

m. All federal, state, and local government rent and 

housing subsidies and utility payments; 

n. Funds distributed to or held in trust for members of any 

Indian tribe under Public Laws 92-254, 93-134, 94-540, 

97-458, 98-64, 98-123, or 98-124. Additionally, interest 

and investment income accrued on such funds while held 

in trust, and purchases made with such interest and 

investment income; 

o. All bona fide loans. The loan may be for any purpose 

and may be from a private individual as well as from a 

commercial institution. The amount disregarded is limited 

to the principal of the loan;  

p. Monetary gifts for special occasions such as the adult's 

birthday, holidays, or graduations; 

q. Withdrawals of bank deposits; 

r. Payments to vendors for services provided to the adult; 

and 

s. Lump sum insurance payments. 

22VAC30-130-50. Service planning.  

A. A variety of interventions including referral to public 

assistance and other resources, case management, and other 

programs may be provided depending on the adult's needs. 

B. The services or activities may be provided directly by local 

department staff or volunteers, purchased from local 

department approved providers or contracted vendors, or 

provided through referral to other community resources. 

C. If an adult is determined eligible for home-based services, 

the local department shall develop a service plan, enter the plan 

into the department-designated case management system, and 

review the plan at least annually. A service plan shall not be 

required when the only intervention or activity provided by the 

local department is screening for long-term services and 

supports, public pay assisted living facility annual assessment, 

or review of an annual guardian report. The local department, 

the adult and the adult's family, the responsible person, or other 

social supports, if applicable, shall collaborate to evaluate 

progress toward meeting the goals and objectives of the service 

plan. The local department shall document progress toward 

meeting service plan goals and objectives at least quarterly in 

the department-designated case management system. 

D. For any services for which a payment is made on behalf of 

an adult, the service, service provider, and payment 

authorization shall be documented in the service plan. Any 

local department hard copy records documenting the provision 

of adult services shall be made available to the department 

upon request.  

22VAC30-130-60. Responsibilities of local department.  

A. The local department shall comply with all laws, 

regulations, and department guidance regarding the provision 

of adult services. 

B. The local department shall notify the adult on a form 

approved by the department when the local department takes 

an action regarding home-based services pursuant to § 51.5-

147 of the Code of Virginia. 

C. The local department shall close the adult's case in the 

department-designated case management system in the 

following circumstances, including: 

1. When the adult dies; 
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2. When the adult with capacity or the adult's responsible 

person requests closure; 

3. When the local department is unable to locate the adult 

and attempts to contact the adult are unsuccessful; 

4. When the adult is no longer functionally or financially 

eligible for the service; 

5. When the local department has no funding to provide 

home-based services; 

6. When the service or activity identified on the service plan 

is complete; or 

7. With exception of annual guardian report reviews, when 

the adult relocates to another state. 

NOTICE: Forms used in administering the regulation have 

been filed by the agency. The forms are not being published; 

however, online users of this issue of the Virginia Register of 

Regulations may click on the name of a form with a hyperlink 

to access it. The forms are also available from the agency 

contact or may be viewed at the Office of the Registrar of 

Regulations, 900 East Main Street, 11th Floor, Richmond, 

Virginia 23219. 

FORMS (22VAC30-130) 

Application for Adult Services Form, 032-26-0001-01-eng, 

(rev. 5/2017) 

Virginia Uniform Assessment Instrument, UAI, (eff. 1994) 

VA.R. Doc. No. R18-5230; Filed April 12, 2021, 2:44 p.m. 

STATE BOARD OF SOCIAL SERVICES 

Final Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 22VAC40-201. Permanency Services - 

Prevention, Foster Care, Adoption and Independent Living 

(amending 22VAC40-201-10, 22VAC40-201-100, 

22VAC40-201-190). 

Statutory Authority: §§ 63.2-217 and 63.2-319 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

Effective Date: June 10, 2021. 

Agency Contact: Em Parente, Department of Social Services, 

801 East Main Street, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 

726-7895, FAX (804) 726-7538, or email 

em.parente@dss.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendments conform the permanency regulation to 

three acts of the 2017 Session of the General Assembly by (i) 

changing the name of the Putative Father Registry to the 

Virginia Birth Father Registry (Chapter 200 of the 2017 Acts 

of Assembly); (ii) requiring that youth turning 18 years old 

in foster care be enrolled in Medicaid, provided they are 

eligible and do not object (Chapter 203 of the 2017 Acts of 

Assembly); and (iii) requiring that youth turning 18 years 

old in foster care be given the opportunity to participate in 

a survey to provide feedback on their experience in foster 

care (Chapter 187 of the 2017 Acts of Assembly). 

Summary of Public Comments and Agency's Response: No 

public comments were received by the promulgating agency.  

22VAC40-201-10. Definitions. 

The following words and terms when used in this chapter 

shall have the following meanings unless the context clearly 

indicates otherwise: 

"Administrative panel review" means a review of a child in 

foster care that the local board conducts on a planned basis 

pursuant to § 63.2-907 of the Code of Virginia to evaluate the 

current status and effectiveness of the objectives in the service 

plan and the services being provided for the immediate care of 

the child and the plan to achieve a permanent home for the 

child. The administrative review may be attended by the birth 

parents or prior custodians and other interested individuals 

significant to the child and family as appropriate. 

"Adoption" means a legal process that entitles the person 

being adopted to all of the rights and privileges, and subjects 

the person to all of the obligations of a birth child. 

"Adoption assistance" means a money payment provided to 

adoptive parents or other persons on behalf of a child with 

special needs who meets federal or state requirements to 

receive such payments. 

"Adoption assistance agreement" means a written agreement 

between the local board and the adoptive parents of a child with 

special needs or in cases in which the child is in the custody of 

a licensed child-placing agency, an agreement between the 

local board, the licensed child-placing agency, and the 

adoptive parents that sets out the payment and services that will 

be provided to benefit the child in accordance with Chapter 13 

(§ 63.2-1300 et seq.) of Title 63.2 of the Code of Virginia. 

"Adoption Progress Report" means a report filed with the 

juvenile court on the progress being made to place the child in 

an adoptive home. Section 16.1-283 of the Code of Virginia 

requires that an Adoption Progress Report be submitted to the 

juvenile court every six months following termination of 

parental rights until the adoption is final. 

"Adoptive home" means any family home selected and 

approved by a parent, local board, or a licensed child-placing 

agency for the placement of a child with the intent of adoption. 

"Adoptive home study" means an assessment of a family 

completed by a child-placing agency to determine the family's 

suitability for adoption. 

"Adoptive parent" means any provider selected and approved 

by a parent or a child-placing agency for the placement of a 

child with the intent of adoption. 

http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=34b40005230~27.pdf&typ=40&actno=005230&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=34b40005230~27.pdf&typ=40&actno=005230&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=b8ba7005230~1m.pdf&typ=40&actno=005230&mime=application/pdf
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"Adoptive placement" means arranging for the care of a child 

who is in the custody of a child-placing agency in an approved 

home for the purpose of adoption. 

"Adult adoption" means the adoption of any person 18 years 

of age or older, carried out in accordance with § 63.2-1243 of 

the Code of Virginia. 

"Agency placement adoption" means an adoption in which a 

child is placed in an adoptive home by a child-placing agency 

that has custody of the child. 

"AREVA" means the Adoption Resource Exchange of 

Virginia that maintains a registry and photo-listing of children 

waiting for adoption and families seeking to adopt. 

"Assessment" means an evaluation of the situation of the 

child and family to identify strengths and services needed. 

"Birth family" means the child's biological family. 

"Birth parent" means the child's biological parent and for 

purposes of adoptive placement means a parent by previous 

adoption. 

"Birth sibling" means the child's biological sibling. 

"Board" means the State Board of Social Services. 

"Child" means any natural person under 18 years of age or, 

for the purposes of the Fostering Futures program set forth in 

Article 2 (§ 63.2-917 et seq.) of Chapter 9 of the Code of 

Virginia, under 21 years of age and meeting the eligibility 

criteria set forth in § 63.2-919 of the Code of Virginia. 

"Child-placing agency" means any person who places 

children in foster homes, adoptive homes, or independent 

living arrangements pursuant to § 63.2-1819 of the Code of 

Virginia or a local board that places children in foster homes 

or adoptive homes pursuant to §§ 63.2-900, 63.2-903, and 

63.2-1221 of the Code of Virginia. Officers, employees, or 

agents of the Commonwealth, or any locality acting within the 

scope of their authority as such, who serve as or maintain a 

child-placing agency, shall not be required to be licensed. 

"Child with special needs" as it relates to adoption assistance 

means a child who meets the definition of a child with special 

needs set forth in §§ § 63.2-1300 or 63.2-1301 B of the Code 

of Virginia. 

"Children's Services Act" or "CSA" means a collaborative 

system of services and funding that is child centered, family 

focused, and community based when addressing the strengths 

and needs of troubled and at-risk youth and their families in the 

Commonwealth. 

"Claim for benefits," as used in § 63.2-915 of the Code of 

Virginia and 22VAC40-201-115, means (i) foster care 

maintenance, including enhanced maintenance; (ii) the 

services set forth in a court approved foster care service plan, 

the foster care services identified in an individual family 

service plan developed by a family assessment and planning 

team or other multi-disciplinary team pursuant to the 

Children's Services Act (§ 2.2-5200 et seq. of the Code of 

Virginia), or a transitional living plan for independent living 

services; (iii) the placement of a child through an agreement 

with the child's parents or guardians, where legal custody 

remains with the parents or guardians; (iv) foster care 

prevention services as set out in a prevention service plan; or 

(v) placement of a child for adoption when an approved family 

is outside the locality with the legal custody of the child, in 

accordance with 42 USC § 671(a)(23). 

"Close relative" means a grandparent, great-grandparent, 

adult nephew or niece, adult brother or sister, adult uncle or 

aunt, or adult great uncle or great aunt. 

"Commissioner" means the commissioner of the department, 

his designee, or his authorized representative. 

"Community Policy and Management Team" or "CPMT" 

means a team appointed by the local governing body pursuant 

to Chapter 52 (§ 2.2-5200 et seq.) of Title 2.2 of the Code of 

Virginia. The powers and duties of the CPMT are set out in 

§ 2.2-5206 of the Code of Virginia. 

"Concurrent permanency planning" means utilizing a 

structured case management approach in which reasonable 

efforts are made to achieve a permanency goal, usually a 

reunification with the family, simultaneously with an 

established alternative permanent plan for the child. 

"Department" means the state Department of Social Services. 

"Denied," as used in § 63.2-915 of the Code of Virginia and 

22VAC40-201-115, means the refusal to provide a claim for 

benefits. 

"Dually approved" means applicants have met the required 

standards to be approved as a foster and adoptive family home 

provider. 

"Entrustment agreement" means an agreement that the local 

board enters into with the parent, parents, or guardian to place 

the child in foster care either to terminate parental rights or for 

the temporary care and placement of the child. The agreement 

specifies the conditions for the care of the child. 

"Family assessment and planning team" or "FAPT" means the 

local team created by the CPMT (i) to assess the strengths and 

needs of troubled youths and families who are approved for 

referral to the team and (ii) to identify and determine the 

complement of services required to meet their unique needs. 

The powers and duties of the FAPT are set out in § 2.2-5208 

of the Code of Virginia. 

"Foster care" means 24-hour substitute care for children in the 

custody of the local board or who remain in the custody of their 

parents, but are placed away from their parents or guardians 

and for whom the local board has placement and care 

responsibility through a noncustodial agreement. 
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"Foster care maintenance payments" means payments to 

cover those expenses made on behalf of a child in foster care 

including the cost of, and the cost of providing, food, clothing, 

shelter, daily supervision, school supplies, a child's incidentals, 

reasonable travel to the child's home for visitation, and 

reasonable travel to remain in the school in which the child is 

enrolled at the time of the placement. The term also includes 

costs for children in institutional care and costs related to the 

child of a child in foster care as set out in 42 USC § 675. 

"Foster care plan" means a written document filed with the 

court in accordance with § 16.1-281 of the Code of Virginia 

that describes the programs, care, services, and other support 

that will be offered to the child and his parents and other prior 

custodians. The foster care plan defined in this definition is the 

case plan referenced in 42 USC § 675. 

"Foster care prevention" means the provision of services to a 

child and family to prevent the need for foster care placement. 

"Foster care services" means the provision of a full range of 

casework, treatment, and community services, including 

independent living services, for a planned period of time to a 

child meeting the requirements as set forth in § 63.2-905 of the 

Code of Virginia. 

"Foster child" means a child for whom the local board has 

assumed placement and care responsibilities through a 

noncustodial foster care agreement, entrustment, or court 

commitment before 18 years of age. 

"Foster home" means the place of residence of any natural 

person in which any child, other than a child by birth or 

adoption of such person, resides as a member of the household. 

"Foster parent" means an approved provider who gives 24-

hour substitute family care, room and board, and services for 

children or youth committed or entrusted to a child-placing 

agency. 

"Independent living arrangement" means placement of a child 

at least 16 years of age who is in the custody of a local board 

or licensed child-placing agency and has been placed by the 

local board or licensed child-placing agency in a living 

arrangement in which he the child does not have daily 

substitute parental supervision. 

"Independent living services" means services and activities 

provided to a child in foster care 14 years of age or older who 

was committed or entrusted to a local board of social services, 

child welfare agency, or private child-placing agency. 

Independent living services may also mean services and 

activities provided to a person who (i) was in foster care on his 

18th birthday and has not yet reached the age of 21 years or (ii) 

is at least 18 years of age and who, immediately prior to his 

commitment to the Department of Juvenile Justice, was in the 

custody of a local department of social services. Such services 

shall include counseling, education, housing, employment, and 

money management skills development, access to essential 

documents, and other appropriate services to help children or 

persons prepare for self-sufficiency. 

"Individual family service plan" or "IFSP" means the plan for 

services developed by the FAPT in accordance with § 2.2-5208 

of the Code of Virginia. 

"Intercountry placement" means the arrangement for the care 

of a child in an adoptive home or foster care placement into or 

out of the Commonwealth by a licensed child-placing agency, 

court, or other entity authorized to make such placements in 

accordance with the laws of the foreign country under which it 

operates. 

"Interstate Compact on the Placement of Children" or "ICPC" 

means a uniform law that has been enacted by all 50 states, the 

District of Columbia, Puerto Rico, and the U.S. Virgin Islands, 

which that establishes orderly procedures for the interstate 

placement of children and sets responsibility for those involved 

in placing those children. 

"Interstate placement" means the arrangement for the care of 

a child in an adoptive home, foster care placement, or in the 

home of the child's parent or with a relative or nonagency 

guardian, into or out of the Commonwealth, by a child-placing 

agency or court when the full legal right of the child's parent or 

nonagency guardian to plan for the child has been voluntarily 

terminated or limited or severed by the action of any court. 

"Investigation" means the process by which the child-placing 

agency obtains information required by § 63.2-1208 of the 

Code of Virginia about the placement and the suitability of the 

adoption. The findings of the investigation are compiled into a 

written report for the circuit court containing a 

recommendation on the action to be taken by the court. 

"Kinship foster parent" means a relative or fictive kin who 

gives 24-hour substitute family care, room and board, and 

services for children or youth committed or entrusted to a 

child-placing agency. 

"Local board" means the local board of social services in each 

county and city in the Commonwealth required by § 63.2-300 

of the Code of Virginia. 

"Local department" means the local department of social 

services of any county or city in the Commonwealth. 

"Nonagency placement adoption" means an adoption in 

which the child is not in the custody of a child-placing agency 

and is placed in the adoptive home directly by the birth parent 

or legal guardian. 

"Noncustodial foster care agreement" means an agreement 

that the local department enters into with the parent or guardian 

of a child to place the child in foster care when the parent or 

guardian retains custody of the child. The agreement specifies 

the conditions for placement and care of the child. 
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"Nonrecurring expenses" means expenses of adoptive parents 

directly related to the adoption of a child with special needs as 

set out in § 63.2-1301 D of the Code of Virginia. 

"Normalcy" means allowing children and youth in foster care 

to experience childhood and adolescence in ways similar to 

their peers who are not in foster care by empowering foster 

parents and congregate care staff to use the reasonable and 

prudent parent standard as referenced in Public Law 113-183 

(42 USC §§ 671 and 675) when making decisions regarding 

extracurricular, enrichment, and social activities. 

"Parental placement" means locating or effecting the 

placement of a child or the placing of a child in a family home 

by the child's parent or legal guardian for the purpose of foster 

care or adoption. 

"Permanency" means establishing family connections and 

placement options for a child to provide a lifetime of 

commitment, continuity of care, a sense of belonging, and a 

legal and social status that go beyond a child's temporary foster 

care placements. 

"Permanency planning" means a social work practice 

philosophy that promotes establishing a permanent living 

situation for every child with an adult with whom the child has 

a continuous, reciprocal relationship within a minimum 

amount of time after the child enters the foster care system. 

"Prior custodian" means the person who had custody of the 

child and with whom the child resided, other than the birth 

parent, before custody was transferred to or placement made 

with the child-placing agency when that person had custody of 

the child. 

"Prior family" means the family with whom the child resided, 

including birth parents, relatives, or prior custodians, before 

custody was transferred to or placement made with the child-

placing agency. 

"Putative Father Registry" means a confidential database 

designed to protect the rights of a putative father who wants to 

be notified in the event of a proceeding related to termination 

of parental rights or adoption for a child he may have fathered.  

"Reasonable and prudent parent standard," in accordance 

with 42 USC § 675(10), means the standard characterized by 

careful and sensible parental decisions that maintain the health, 

safety, and best interests of a child while at the same time 

encouraging the emotional and developmental growth of the 

child that foster parents and congregate care staff shall use 

when determining whether to allow a child in foster care to 

participate in extracurricular, enrichment, cultural, and social 

activities. 

"Residential placement" means a placement in a licensed 

publicly or privately owned facility, other than a private family 

home, where 24-hour care is provided to children separated 

from their families. A residential placement includes 

placements in children's residential facilities as defined in 

§ 63.2-100 of the Code of Virginia. 

"Reunification" means the return of the child to his home after 

removal for reasons of child abuse and neglect, abandonment, 

child in need of services, parental request for relief of custody, 

noncustodial agreement, entrustment, or any other court-

ordered removal. 

"Service worker" means a worker responsible for case 

management or service coordination for prevention, foster 

care, or adoption cases. 

"Sibling" means each of two or more children having one or 

more parents in common. 

"SSI" means Supplemental Security Income. 

"State pool funds" means the pooled state and local funds 

administered by CSA and used to pay for services authorized 

by the CPMT. 

"Step-parent adoption" means the adoption of a child by a 

spouse or the adoption of a child by a former spouse of the birth 

or adoptive parent in accordance with § 63.2-1201.1 of the 

Code of Virginia. 

"Supervised independent living setting" means the residence 

of a person 18 years of age or older who is participating in the 

Fostering Futures program set forth in Article 2 (§ 63.2-917 et 

seq.) of Chapter 9 of the Code of Virginia where supervision 

includes a monthly visit with a service worker or, when 

appropriate, contracted supervision. "Supervised independent 

living setting" does not include residential facilities or group 

homes. 

"Title IV-E" means the title of the Social Security Act that 

authorizes federal funds for foster care and adoption assistance. 

"Virginia Birth Father Registry” means the established 

confidential database designed to protect the rights of a 

putative father who wants to be notified in the event of a 

proceeding related to termination of parental rights or adoption 

for a child he may have fathered. 

"Visitation and report" means the visits conducted pursuant 

to § 63.2-1212 of the Code of Virginia and the written report 

of the findings made in the course of the visitation. The report 

is filed in the circuit court in accordance with § 63.2-1212 of 

the Code of Virginia. 

"Wrap around services" means an individually designed set 

of services and supports provided to a child and his family that 

includes treatment services, personal support services or any 

other supports necessary to achieve the desired outcome. Wrap 

around services are developed through a team approach. 

"Youth" means any child in foster care between 14 and 18 

years of age or any person 18 to 21 years of age transitioning 

out of foster care and receiving independent living services 

pursuant to § 63.2-905.1 of the Code of Virginia. "Youth" may 
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also mean an individual older than the age of 16 years who is 

the subject of an adoption assistance agreement. 

22VAC40-201-100. Providing independent living services: 

service for youth 14 years of age and older. 

A. Independent living services shall be identified by the 

youth, foster or adoptive family, local department, service 

providers, legal community, and other interested individuals 

and shall be included in the service plan. Input from the youth 

in assembling these individuals and developing the services is 

required. 

B. Independent living services shall be provided to all youth 

ages 14 to 18 years and shall be offered to any person between 

18 and 21 years of age who is in the process of transitioning 

from foster care to self-sufficiency. 

C. Independent living services include education, vocational 

training, employment, mental and physical health services, 

transportation, housing, financial support, daily living skills, 

counseling, and development of permanent connections with 

adults. 

D. Local departments shall assess the youth's independent 

living skills and needs and incorporate the assessment results 

into the youth's service plan. 

E. A youth placed in foster care before the age of 18 years 

who turns age 18 years prior to July 1, 2016, may continue to 

receive independent living services from the local department 

between the ages of 18 and 21 years if: 

1. The youth is making progress in an educational or 

vocational program, has employment, or is in a treatment or 

training program; and 

2. The youth agrees to participate with the local department 

in (i) in developing a service agreement and (ii) signing the 

service agreement. The service agreement shall require that 

the youth shall cooperate with all services; or 

3. The youth is in permanent foster care and is making 

progress in an educational or vocational program, has 

employment, or is in a treatment or training program. 

F. A youth age 16 years and older is eligible to live in an 

independent living arrangement provided the local department 

utilizes the independent living arrangement placement criteria 

developed by the department to determine that such an 

arrangement is in the youth's best interest. An eligible youth 

may receive an independent living stipend to assist him with 

the costs of maintenance. The eligibility criteria for receiving 

an independent living stipend will be developed by the 

department. 

G. Any person who was committed or entrusted to a local 

department, turned 18 years of age prior to July 1, 2016, and 

chooses to discontinue receiving independent living services 

after age 18 years may request a resumption of independent 

living services provided that (i) the person has not yet reached 

21 years of age and (ii) the person has entered into a written 

agreement, less than 60 days after independent living services 

have been discontinued, with the local board regarding the 

terms and conditions of his receipt of independent living 

services. Local departments shall provide any person who 

chooses to leave foster care or terminate independent living 

services before his 21st birthday written notice of his right to 

request restoration of independent living services in 

accordance with § 63.2-905.1 of the Code of Virginia by 

including such written notice in the person's transition plan. 

H. Local departments shall assist eligible youth in applying 

for educational and vocational financial assistance. 

Educational and vocational specific funding sources shall be 

used prior to using other sources. 

I. Local departments shall provide independent living 

services to any person between 18 and 21 years of age who: 

1. Turned 18 years of age prior to July 1, 2016; 

2. Was in the custody of the local board immediately prior 

to his commitment to the Department of Juvenile Justice; 

3. Is in the process of transitioning from a commitment to 

the Department of Juvenile Justice to self-sufficiency; and 

4. Provides written notice of his intent to receive 

independent living services and enters into a written 

agreement which that sets forth the terms and conditions for 

the provision of independent living services with the local 

board within 60 days of his release from commitment. 

J. Every six months a supervisory review of service plans for 

youth receiving independent living services after age 18 years 

shall be conducted to assure the effectiveness of service 

provision. 

K. A youth who has been in care six months or more and turns 

18 years of age while in foster care shall receive a certified 

copy of his birth certificate, social security card, health 

insurance information, medical records, and state-issued 

identification or driver's license. 

L. The local department shall run annual credit checks on all 

youth in foster care who are 14 years of age and older. The 

local department shall assist a youth in resolving any 

discrepancies in the youth's credit report. The local department 

shall assist a youth in foster care over 18 years of age in 

obtaining the youth's annual credit report. 

M. The local department shall ensure that any youth in foster 

care on the youth's 18th birthday is enrolled in Medicaid, 

unless the youth objects or is otherwise ineligible. 

N. The local department shall ensure that any youth who turns 

18 years of age while in foster care is given the opportunity to 

complete a survey to provide feedback regarding the youth's 

experience in foster care. 
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22VAC40-201-190. Virginia Putative Birth Father 

Registry. 

A. The department shall establish and maintain a putative 

father registry which that is a confidential database. 

B. A search of the Virginia Putative Birth Father Registry 

shall be conducted for all adoptions except when the child has 

been adopted according to the laws of a foreign country or 

when the child was placed in Virginia from a foreign country 

for the purpose of adoption in accordance with § 63.2-1104 of 

the Code of Virginia. 

C. Any petitioner who files a petition for termination of 

parental rights or for an adoption proceeding shall request a 

search of the Virginia Putative Birth Father Registry. The 

certificate of search and finding must be filed with the court 

before an adoption or termination of parental rights proceeding 

can be concluded. 

D. Any man who desires to be notified of an adoption 

proceeding or termination of parental rights regarding a child 

that he may have fathered shall register with the Virginia Birth 

Father Registry. 

E. A registration is timely when it is received by the 

department within: 

1. 10 days of the child's birth; 

2. 10 days of the date of personal service of the written notice 

required under subsection F of § 63.2-1250 or within 13 days 

of the certified mailing date of such written notice; or 

3. 10 days upon the registrant's discovery of 

misrepresentation by the birth mother that led him to believe 

that (i) the pregnancy was terminated or the mother 

miscarried when in fact the baby was born or (ii) the child 

died when in fact the child is alive. 

D. F. The department may require additional information to 

determine that the individual requesting information from the 

Putative Virginia Birth Father Registry is eligible to receive 

information in accordance with § 63.2-1251 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R18-5305; Filed April 13, 2021, 12:50 p.m. 

Proposed Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 22VAC40-201. Permanency Services - 

Prevention, Foster Care, Adoption and Independent Living 

(amending 22VAC40-201-10, 22VAC40-201-110; adding 

22VAC40-201-165). 

Statutory Authority: §§ 63.2-217 and 63.2-319 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: No public hearing is currently 

scheduled. 

Public Comment Deadline: July 9, 2021. 

Agency Contact: Em Parente, Department of Social Services, 

801 East Main Street, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 

726-7895, FAX (804) 726-7538, or email 

em.parente@dss.virginia.gov. 

Basis: Section 63.2-217 of the Code of Virginia requires the 

State Board of Social Services to adopt such regulations as may 

be necessary to carry out the purpose of Title 63.2 of the Code 

of Virginia. This regulatory action complies with Chapters 769 

and 770 of the 2018 Acts of Assembly, which establish the 

Kinship Guardianship Assistance Program in the Code of 

Virginia, and Chapter 704 of the 2016 Acts of Assembly, 

which outlines the petitions local departments of social 

services (LDSS) employees are authorized to file. 

Purpose: The proposed action is to update this regulation, 

which provides for the safety of children who come into the 

child welfare system and for children in the Commonwealth 

who are adopted, to incorporate the Kinship Guardianship 

Assistance Program that went into effect July 1, 2018. The 

Kinship Guardianship Assistance Program provides an 

additional permanency option for youth in foster care. In order 

for the youth and relative to be eligible for the program, the 

youth must (i) be in foster care and have been placed in the 

relative foster home for six consecutive months, (ii) the goals 

of return home and adoption must have been ruled out, (iii) the 

relative must be willing to accept custody of the youth, and (iv) 

the relative must commit to providing a permanent and self-

sustaining relationship with the child. The program allows the 

relative custodians to continue to receive financial support in 

the form of maintenance payments after custody is transferred 

and the youth is discharged from foster care. This allows the 

youth to achieve permanency while providing the necessary 

support and services to the youth and relative to ensure that the 

youth does not return to foster care. 

Substance: This regulatory action will incorporate technical 

information, language, and processes necessary to ensure 

consistency with the Code of Virginia, federal legislation, and 

requirements that have been passed into law since the 

introduction of the current Permanency Services regulation. 

This regulatory action includes adding a new section that will 

outline the Kinship Guardianship Assistance Program. The 

section will include eligibility criteria, the process by which the 

maintenance payments will be negotiated, and the annual 

review process. Additionally, information will be incorporated 

regarding the types of petitions that may be completed by the 

designated nonattorney employee of the LDSS. 

Issues: The advantages of this regulatory action are that it 

addresses recent statutory changes to incorporate the Kinship 

Guardianship Assistance Program that went into effect July 1, 

2018. This program must comply with Title IV-E requirements 

as set forth in 42 USC § 673. Compliance with federal 

mandates are a requirement for continuing to receive federal 

funding for the operation of child welfare service programs in 

Virginia. Additionally, this regulatory action clarifies 

procedure for the filing of petitions related to foster care court 
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proceedings to ensure that LDSS employees are not engaging 

in the unauthorized practice of law. This regulatory action 

poses no disadvantages to the public or the Commonwealth. 

Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 

Analysis: 

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. The 

State Board of Social Services (Board) seeks to amend 

regulations pertaining to permanency for children in foster care 

(22VAC40-201) in order to implement the Kinship 

Guardianship Assistance Program (KinGAP). This program 

creates a channel for children in foster care, for whom neither 

reunification with parents nor adoption is deemed possible, to 

attain permanency with a relative by the time they turn 18. The 

proposed amendments define and detail the actions required of 

local departments of social services (LDSS) in order to comply 

with the Code of Virginia (§ 63.2-1305) and 42 USC § 673, 

which establish the Kinship Guardianship Assistance Program 

at the state and federal levels, respectively. 

Background. The 2018 Acts of Assembly (Chapters 769 and 

770) established KinGAP and the proposed regulation 

provides comprehensive technical direction for the program to 

be implemented in a consistent manner across the state by the 

LDSS. The Board proposes to add a section to the regulation 

that specifies the eligibility criteria for children and the actions 

required of LDSS and the child's relatives under KinGAP. The 

Board also proposes to amend definitions to add terms specific 

to KinGAP. The language used is nearly identical to the 

language in the Code, which went into effect July 1, 2018, and 

complies with title IV-E requirements as set forth in 42 USC 

§ 673. The proposed language also clarifies the procedures 

followed by LDSS for filing petitions related to foster care 

court proceedings. In summary, the proposed new KinGAP 

section makes the following stipulations, as in the Code: 

1. Only children for whom reunification and adoption 

have been ruled out are eligible 

2. LDSS caseworkers are to find a relative who can 

provide permanency.1 

3. The relatives must first foster the child for a minimum 

of six consecutive months. During this period, the state 

retains legal custody, LDSS continues to provide 

caseworker support and oversight, and the relatives are 

entitled to foster care monthly maintenance payments. 

4. After the six months, LDSS is to enter into a Kinship 

Guardianship Assistance Agreement with the relative 

(henceforth the kinship guardian) wherein both parties 

agree to a monthly assistance payment that will replace the 

foster care maintenance payment once the kinship 

guardian obtains legal custody and the child obtains 

permanency. 

5. The kinship guardian is required to file for custody of 

the child. They are entitled to a reimbursement of non-

recurring costs up to $2000. 

6. The Agreement could also allow the child and/or 

guardian to continue to access services that may be 

necessary for the childs mental health or developmental 

needs. 

The proposed regulations exceed the prescriptions of the Code 

in adding an annual review requirement, intended to reassess 

the kinship guardians financial situation and amend the 

payment amount and agreement. Although the Code indicates 

that the Kinship Guardianship Assistance Payment and 

Agreement are to be reviewed and amended with the 

agreement of both parties, it does not specify a timeline or 

require this. By adding an annual review requirement, the 

Board specifies a point of ongoing contact for the kinship 

guardian, while adding a nominal administrative burden on the 

LDSS caseworker. 

Estimated Benefits and Costs. For the discussion of costs and 

benefits that follows, it is important to note that both federal 

and state laws explicitly state that the kinship guardianship 

assistance payments shall not exceed the foster care 

maintenance payment, either IV-E or state funded, that would 

have been paid if the child were to remain in foster care. 

Therefore, any costs or benefits that can be reasonably 

attributed to KinGAP directly are nominal in comparison to the 

overall costs and benefits of the foster care system. 

The proposed amendments appear to directly benefit relatives 

who may not have been able to afford to take custody of the 

foster child and can now take custody and receive assistance 

payments. It benefits older children in foster care by 

marginally increasing the likelihood that they will attain 

permanency with a relative before their 18th birthday. 

Ordinarily, taking legal custody would preclude relatives from 

receiving any further foster care maintenance payments or 

other services that the child may need. To the extent that losing 

these payments may have actually prevented relatives from 

taking custody of the child, KinGAP is beneficial in that it 

realigns incentives such that children are able to find 

permanency within their own extended families and 

communities. 

The proposed amendments create direct program costs, which 

have been estimated (as part of the fiscal analysis for SB 636 

and HB 1333 in the 2018 GA session) at roughly $83,475 for 

the first year, $139,125 in the second year and $166,950 per 

year thereafter. The total expenditure for KinGAP in SFY 2019 

has been reported to be $29,535, which is significantly lower 

than the estimated cost for the first year of the programs 

implementation. However, implementation of the program 

may have been uneven across the state in the absence of the 

regulations currently under consideration. 

The costs reported represent those foster children whose 

relatives may have taken custody even if it meant losing the 

foster care maintenance payments, but now continue to receive 

KinGAP payments. The fiscal analysis makes a key 

assumption that only about six children a year will be on this 

margin, thereby imposing additional ongoing costs. The Board 
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estimates that about 50 children a year will be KinGAP 

participants, but the vast majority of them do not create 

additional ongoing costs since the assistance payments are 

simply diverted from existing allocations of foster care 

maintenance payments. 

Future participation in KinGAP and resulting expenditures are 

unlikely to exceed these estimates because the program is fairly 

narrow in its scope: the children who would be eligible for 

KinGAP would have been eligible for foster care maintenance 

anyway, and most potential relatives who meet all the 

requirements to be a foster parent were likely already fulfilling 

that role. The six-month fostering requirement places an 

important limit on the size of the KinGAP program, since 

relatives in low-income households may not have the resources 

or meet the criteria to be a foster parent. 

In 2015, the Department of Social Services reported on the 

outcomes for children who age out of foster care, finding that 

they were significantly less likely to graduate high school, 

more likely to participate in SNAP, TANF, and Medicaid, and 

more likely to find themselves unstably housed, potentially 

homeless, parenting children they cannot adequately support, 

and involved with the criminal justice system.2 Foster children 

most at risk of these adverse outcomes may not have family 

members that would qualify for being foster parents. The same 

report also indicated that foster placement of children with 

relatives is limited by Virginia's extensive list of barrier crimes. 

Future regulatory actions that either amend the list of barrier 

crimes or otherwise explicitly ease the requirements for family 

members to be foster parents could increase the size of the 

KinGAP program. 

Finally, KinGAP could potentially create higher costs in the 

future if, for example, attaining permanency by age 18 

increased participation in other public programs such as 

Fostering Futures, which extends foster care benefits up to age 

21 for children engaged in education, training, or employment. 

Relieving older foster children of the anxiety of having to 

survive independently once they turn 18 could plausibly enable 

them to pursue education, training, or employment thereby 

increasing the overall costs of that program. This would also, 

of course, be beneficial for the older children. 

Businesses and Other Entities Affected. No businesses are 

directly affected by this program. The proposed regulation 

would affect the 120 LDSS and the children in their custody. 

Localities3 Affected.4 Based on preliminary fiscal analysis, 

local governments as a whole are estimated to face aggregate 

costs of $13,937 in FY 2019, $25,775 in FY 2020 and $27,874 

in FY 2021 and thereafter. Because KinGAP is likely to remain 

a relatively small program, some localities may not be affected 

at all. Conversely, the localities where kinship guardians 

happen to reside would be disproportionately affected. The 

identity of these localities is not known. 

Projected Impact on Employment. The proposed amendments 

do not appear to affect total employment. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. The proposed 

amendments have no effect on the value of private property. 

Some homeowners may add a new member or two to their 

household. There would be no impact on real estate 

development costs. 

Adverse Effect on Small Businesses.5 The proposed 

amendments do not appear to adversely affect small 

businesses. 

____________________________________________ 
1Permanency is defined as establishing family connections and placement 
options for a child to provide a lifetime of commitment, continuity of care, a 

sense of belonging, and a legal and social status that go beyond a child's 

temporary foster care placements. This definition in 22VAC40-201-10 

predates the introduction of KinGAP. 
2RD365 Improving Outcomes for Older Youth In Foster Care: An Analysis of 

the Impact of Adoption and Independent Living Services on the Transition to 

Adulthood (2015) 
3 "Locality" can refer to either local governments or the locations in the 

Commonwealth where the activities relevant to the regulatory change are most 

likely to occur. 
4§ 2.2-4007.04 defines "particularly affected" as bearing disproportionate 

material impact. 
5Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.04 of the Code of Virginia, small business is defined 

as "a business entity, including its affiliates, that (i) is independently owned 
and operated and (ii) employs fewer than 500 full-time employees or has gross 

annual sales of less than $6 million." 

Agency's Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The 

Department of Social Services concurs with the economic 

impact analysis prepared by the Department of Planning and 

Budget. 

Summary: 

The proposed amendments update technical information, 

language, and processes necessary for consistency with the 

Code of Virginia and federal legislation and requirements 

and add (i) a new section outlining the Kinship 

Guardianship Assistance Program to include eligibility 

criteria, the process by which the maintenance payments 

will be negotiated, and the annual review process and (ii) 

types of petitions that may be completed by the designated 

nonattorney employee of a local department of social 

services. 

22VAC40-201-10. Definitions. 

The following words and terms when used in this chapter 

shall have the following meanings unless the context clearly 

indicates otherwise: 

"Administrative panel review" means a review of a child in 

foster care that the local board conducts on a planned basis 

pursuant to § 63.2-907 of the Code of Virginia to evaluate the 

current status and effectiveness of the objectives in the service 

plan and the services being provided for the immediate care of 

the child and the plan to achieve a permanent home for the 

child. The administrative review may be attended by the birth 

parents or prior custodians and other interested individuals 

significant to the child and family as appropriate. 

https://rga.lis.virginia.gov/Published/2015/RD365
https://rga.lis.virginia.gov/Published/2015/RD365
https://rga.lis.virginia.gov/Published/2015/RD365
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"Adoption" means a legal process that entitles the person 

being adopted to all of the rights and privileges, and subjects 

the person to all of the obligations of a birth child. 

"Adoption assistance" means a money payment provided to 

adoptive parents or other persons on behalf of a child with 

special needs who meets federal or state requirements to 

receive such payments. 

"Adoption assistance agreement" means a written agreement 

between the local board and the adoptive parents of a child with 

special needs or in cases in which the child is in the custody of 

a licensed child-placing agency, an agreement between the 

local board, the licensed child-placing agency, and the 

adoptive parents that sets out the payment and services that will 

be provided to benefit the child in accordance with Chapter 13 

(§ 63.2-1300 et seq.) of Title 63.2 of the Code of Virginia. 

"Adoption Progress Report" means a report filed with the 

juvenile court on the progress being made to place the child in 

an adoptive home. Section 16.1-283 of the Code of Virginia 

requires that an Adoption Progress Report be submitted to the 

juvenile court every six months following termination of 

parental rights until the adoption is final. 

"Adoptive home" means any family home selected and 

approved by a parent, local board, or a licensed child-placing 

agency for the placement of a child with the intent of adoption. 

"Adoptive home study" means an assessment of a family 

completed by a child-placing agency to determine the family's 

suitability for adoption. 

"Adoptive parent" means any provider selected and approved 

by a parent or a child-placing agency for the placement of a 

child with the intent of adoption. 

"Adoptive placement" means arranging for the care of a child 

who is in the custody of a child-placing agency in an approved 

home for the purpose of adoption. 

"Adult adoption" means the adoption of any person 18 years 

of age or older, carried out in accordance with § 63.2-1243 of 

the Code of Virginia. 

"Agency placement adoption" means an adoption in which a 

child is placed in an adoptive home by a child-placing agency 

that has custody of the child. 

"AREVA" means the Adoption Resource Exchange of 

Virginia that maintains a registry and photo-listing of children 

waiting for adoption and families seeking to adopt. 

"Assessment" means an evaluation of the situation of the 

child and family to identify strengths and services needed. 

"Birth family" means the child's biological family. 

"Birth parent" means the child's biological parent and for 

purposes of adoptive placement means a parent by previous 

adoption. 

"Birth sibling" means the child's biological sibling. 

"Board" means the State Board of Social Services. 

"Child" means any natural person under 18 years of age or, 

for the purposes of the Fostering Futures program set forth in 

Article 2 (§ 63.2-917 et seq.) of Chapter 9 of the Code of 

Virginia, under 21 years of age and meeting the eligibility 

criteria set forth in § 63.2-919 of the Code of Virginia. 

"Child-placing agency" means any person who places 

children in foster homes, adoptive homes, or independent 

living arrangements pursuant to § 63.2-1819 of the Code of 

Virginia or a local board that places children in foster homes 

or adoptive homes pursuant to §§ 63.2-900, 63.2-903, and 

63.2-1221 of the Code of Virginia. Officers, employees, or 

agents of the Commonwealth, or any locality acting within the 

scope of their authority as such, who serve as or maintain a 

child-placing agency, shall not be required to be licensed. 

"Child with special needs" as it relates to adoption assistance 

means a child who meets the definition of a child with special 

needs set forth in §§ § 63.2-1300 or 63.2-1301 B of the Code 

of Virginia. 

"Children's Services Act" or "CSA" means a collaborative 

system of services and funding that is child centered, family 

focused, and community based when addressing the strengths 

and needs of troubled and at-risk youth and their families in the 

Commonwealth. 

"Claim for benefits," as used in § 63.2-915 of the Code of 

Virginia and 22VAC40-201-115, means (i) foster care 

maintenance, including enhanced maintenance; (ii) the 

services set forth in a court approved foster care service plan, 

the foster care services identified in an individual family 

service plan developed by a family assessment and planning 

team or other multi-disciplinary team pursuant to the 

Children's Services Act (§ 2.2-5200 et seq. of the Code of 

Virginia), or a transitional living plan for independent living 

services; (iii) the placement of a child through an agreement 

with the child's parents or guardians, where legal custody 

remains with the parents or guardians; (iv) foster care 

prevention services as set out in a prevention service plan; or 

(v) placement of a child for adoption when an approved family 

is outside the locality with the legal custody of the child, in 

accordance with 42 USC § 671(a)(23). 

"Close relative" means a grandparent, great-grandparent, 

adult nephew or niece, adult brother or sister, adult uncle or 

aunt, or adult great uncle or great aunt. 

"Commissioner" means the commissioner of the department, 

his designee, or his authorized representative. 

"Community Policy and Management Team" or "CPMT" 

means a team appointed by the local governing body pursuant 

to Chapter 52 (§ 2.2-5200 et seq.) of Title 2.2 of the Code of 

Virginia. The powers and duties of the CPMT are set out in 

§ 2.2-5206 of the Code of Virginia. 
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"Concurrent permanency planning" means utilizing a 

structured case management approach in which reasonable 

efforts are made to achieve a permanency goal, usually a 

reunification with the family, simultaneously with an 

established alternative permanent plan for the child. 

"Department" means the state Department of Social Services. 

"Denied," as used in § 63.2-915 of the Code of Virginia and 

22VAC40-201-115, means the refusal to provide a claim for 

benefits. 

"Dually approved" means applicants have met the required 

standards to be approved as a foster and adoptive family home 

provider. 

"Entrustment agreement" means an agreement that the local 

board enters into with the parent, parents, or guardian to place 

the child in foster care either to terminate parental rights or for 

the temporary care and placement of the child. The agreement 

specifies the conditions for the care of the child. 

"Family assessment and planning team" or "FAPT" means the 

local team created by the CPMT (i) to assess the strengths and 

needs of troubled youths and families who are approved for 

referral to the team and (ii) to identify and determine the 

complement of services required to meet their unique needs. 

The powers and duties of the FAPT are set out in § 2.2-5208 

of the Code of Virginia. 

"Foster care" means 24-hour substitute care for children in the 

custody of the local board or who remain in the custody of their 

parents, but are placed away from their parents or guardians 

and for whom the local board has placement and care 

responsibility through a noncustodial agreement. 

"Foster care maintenance payments" means payments to 

cover those expenses made on behalf of a child in foster care 

including the cost of, and the cost of providing, food, clothing, 

shelter, daily supervision, school supplies, a child's incidentals, 

reasonable travel to the child's home for visitation, and 

reasonable travel to remain in the school in which the child is 

enrolled at the time of the placement. The term also includes 

costs for children in institutional care and costs related to the 

child of a child in foster care as set out in 42 USC § 675. 

"Foster care plan" means a written document filed with the 

court in accordance with § 16.1-281 of the Code of Virginia 

that describes the programs, care, services, and other support 

that will be offered to the child and his parents and other prior 

custodians. The foster care plan defined in this definition is the 

case plan referenced in 42 USC § 675. 

"Foster care prevention" means the provision of services to a 

child and family to prevent the need for foster care placement. 

"Foster care services" means the provision of a full range of 

casework, treatment, and community services, including 

independent living services, for a planned period of time to a 

child meeting the requirements as set forth in § 63.2-905 of the 

Code of Virginia. 

"Foster child" means a child person younger than 21 years of 

age for whom the local board has assumed placement and care 

responsibilities through a noncustodial foster care agreement, 

entrustment, or court commitment before 18 years of age prior 

to such person's 18th birthday. 

"Foster home" means the place of residence of any natural 

person in which any child, other than a child by birth or 

adoption of such person, resides as a member of the household. 

"Foster parent" means an approved provider who gives 24-

hour substitute family care, room and board, and services for 

children or youth committed or entrusted to a child-placing 

agency. 

"Independent living arrangement" means placement of a child 

at least 16 years of age who is in the custody of a local board 

or licensed child-placing agency and has been placed by the 

local board or licensed child-placing agency in a living 

arrangement in which he does not have daily substitute parental 

supervision. 

"Independent living services" means services and activities 

provided to a child in foster care 14 years of age or older who 

was committed or entrusted to a local board of social services, 

child welfare agency, or private child-placing agency. 

Independent living services may also mean services and 

activities provided to a person who (i) was in foster care on his 

18th birthday and has not yet reached the age of 21 years or (ii) 

is at least 18 years of age and who, immediately prior to his 

commitment to the Department of Juvenile Justice, was in the 

custody of a local department of social services. Such services 

shall include counseling, education, housing, employment, and 

money management skills development, access to essential 

documents, and other appropriate services to help children or 

persons prepare for self-sufficiency. 

"Individual family service plan" or "IFSP" means the plan for 

services developed by the FAPT in accordance with § 2.2-5208 

of the Code of Virginia. 

"Intercountry placement" means the arrangement for the care 

of a child in an adoptive home or foster care placement into or 

out of the Commonwealth by a licensed child-placing agency, 

court, or other entity authorized to make such placements in 

accordance with the laws of the foreign country under which it 

operates. 

"Interstate Compact on the Placement of Children" or "ICPC" 

means a uniform law that has been enacted by all 50 states, the 

District of Columbia, Puerto Rico, and the U.S. Virgin Islands, 

which establishes orderly procedures for the interstate 

placement of children and sets responsibility for those involved 

in placing those children. 

"Interstate placement" means the arrangement for the care of 

a child in an adoptive home, foster care placement, or in the 
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home of the child's parent or with a relative or nonagency 

guardian, into or out of the Commonwealth, by a child-placing 

agency or court when the full legal right of the child's parent or 

nonagency guardian to plan for the child has been voluntarily 

terminated or limited or severed by the action of any court. 

"Investigation" means the process by which the child-placing 

agency obtains information required by § 63.2-1208 of the 

Code of Virginia about the placement and the suitability of the 

adoption. The findings of the investigation are compiled into a 

written report for the circuit court containing a 

recommendation on the action to be taken by the court. 

"Kinship foster parent" means a relative or fictive kin who 

gives 24-hour substitute family care, room and board, and 

services for children or youth committed or entrusted to a 

child-placing agency. 

"Kinship guardian" means the adult relative of a child in a 

kinship guardianship established in accordance with § 63.2-

1305 who has been awarded custody of the child by the court 

after acting as the child's foster parent. 

"Kinship guardianship" means a relationship established in 

accordance with § 63.2-1305 between a child and an adult 

relative of the child who has formerly acted as the child's foster 

parent that is intended to be permanent and self-sustaining as 

evidenced by the transfer by the court to the adult relative of 

the child of the authority necessary to ensure the protection, 

education, care and control, and custody of the child and the 

authority for decision making for the child. 

"Kinship Guardianship Assistance Agreement" means a 

written agreement, binding on the parties to the agreement, 

between the agency and the kinship guardian of the minor child 

that specifies the nature and the amount of any payments and 

assistance to be provided under such agreement and stipulates 

that the agreement shall remain in effect regardless of the state 

in which the kinship guardian resides. 

"Kinship Guardianship Assistance payment" means a money 

payment provided to a kinship guardian on behalf of a child 

that was discharged from foster care to the kinship guardian's 

custody in accordance with the requirements of § 63.2-1305 of 

the Code of Virginia. 

"Kinship Guardianship Assistance Program" means a 

program consistent with 42 USC § 673 that provides, subject 

to a kinship guardianship assistance agreement developed in 

accordance with § 63.2-1305 of the Code of Virginia, 

payments to eligible individuals who have received custody of 

a relative child of whom they had been the foster parents. 

"Local board" means the local board of social services in each 

county and city in the Commonwealth required by § 63.2-300 

of the Code of Virginia. 

"Local department" means the local department of social 

services of any county or city in the Commonwealth. 

"Nonagency placement adoption" means an adoption in 

which the child is not in the custody of a child-placing agency 

and is placed in the adoptive home directly by the birth parent 

or legal guardian. 

"Noncustodial foster care agreement" means an agreement 

that the local department enters into with the parent or guardian 

of a child to place the child in foster care when the parent or 

guardian retains custody of the child. The agreement specifies 

the conditions for placement and care of the child. 

"Nonrecurring expenses" means expenses of adoptive parents 

directly related to the adoption of a child with special needs as 

set out in § 63.2-1301 D of the Code of Virginia or the expenses 

of a kinship guardian directly related to obtaining legal custody 

of the child subject to 42 USC § 673(d)(1)(D). 

"Normalcy" means allowing children and youth in foster care 

to experience childhood and adolescence in ways similar to 

their peers who are not in foster care by empowering foster 

parents and congregate care staff to use the reasonable and 

prudent parent standard as referenced in Public Law 113-183 

(42 USC §§ 671 and 675) when making decisions regarding 

extracurricular, enrichment, and social activities. 

"Parental placement" means locating or effecting the 

placement of a child or the placing of a child in a family home 

by the child's parent or legal guardian for the purpose of foster 

care or adoption. 

"Permanency" means establishing family connections and 

placement options for a child to provide a lifetime of 

commitment, continuity of care, a sense of belonging, and a 

legal and social status that go beyond a child's temporary foster 

care placements. 

"Permanency planning" means a social work practice 

philosophy that promotes establishing a permanent living 

situation for every child with an adult with whom the child has 

a continuous, reciprocal relationship within a minimum 

amount of time after the child enters the foster care system. 

"Prior custodian" means the person who had custody of the 

child and with whom the child resided, other than the birth 

parent, before custody was transferred to or placement made 

with the child-placing agency when that person had custody of 

the child. 

"Prior family" means the family with whom the child resided, 

including birth parents, relatives, or prior custodians, before 

custody was transferred to or placement made with the child-

placing agency. 

"Putative Father Registry" means a confidential database 

designed to protect the rights of a putative father who wants to 

be notified in the event of a proceeding related to termination 

of parental rights or adoption for a child he may have fathered. 

"Reasonable and prudent parent standard," in accordance 

with 42 USC § 675(10), means the standard characterized by 
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careful and sensible parental decisions that maintain the health, 

safety, and best interests of a child while at the same time 

encouraging the emotional and developmental growth of the 

child that foster parents and congregate care staff shall use 

when determining whether to allow a child in foster care to 

participate in extracurricular, enrichment, cultural, and social 

activities. 

"Residential placement" means a placement in a licensed 

publicly or privately owned facility, other than a private family 

home, where 24-hour care is provided to children separated 

from their families. A residential placement includes 

placements in children's residential facilities as defined in 

§ 63.2-100 of the Code of Virginia. 

"Reunification" means the return of the child to his home after 

removal for reasons of child abuse and neglect, abandonment, 

child in need of services, parental request for relief of custody, 

noncustodial agreement, entrustment, or any other court-

ordered removal. 

"Service worker" means a worker responsible for case 

management or service coordination for prevention, foster 

care, or adoption cases. 

"Sibling" means each of two or more children having one or 

more parents in common. 

"SSI" means Supplemental Security Income. 

"State pool funds" means the pooled state and local funds 

administered by CSA and used to pay for services authorized 

by the CPMT. 

"Step-parent adoption" means the adoption of a child by a 

spouse or the adoption of a child by a former spouse of the birth 

or adoptive parent in accordance with § 63.2-1201.1 of the 

Code of Virginia. 

"Supervised independent living setting" means the residence 

of a person 18 years of age or older who is participating in the 

Fostering Futures program set forth in Article 2 (§ 63.2-917 et 

seq.) of Chapter 9 of the Code of Virginia where supervision 

includes a monthly visit with a service worker or, when 

appropriate, contracted supervision. "Supervised independent 

living setting" does not include residential facilities or group 

homes. 

"Title IV-E" means the title of the Social Security Act that 

authorizes federal funds for foster care and adoption assistance. 

"Visitation and report" means the visits conducted pursuant 

to § 63.2-1212 of the Code of Virginia and the written report 

of the findings made in the course of the visitation. The report 

is filed in the circuit court in accordance with § 63.2-1212 of 

the Code of Virginia. 

"Voluntary placement" means the placement of a child in 

foster care with the agreement of the child's parent through a 

noncustodial foster care or entrustment agreement. 

"Wrap around services" means an individually designed set 

of services and supports provided to a child and his family that 

includes treatment services, personal support services or any 

other supports necessary to achieve the desired outcome. Wrap 

around services are developed through a team approach. 

"Youth" means any child in foster care between 14 and 18 

years of age or any person 18 to 21 years of age transitioning 

out of foster care and receiving independent living services 

pursuant to § 63.2-905.1 of the Code of Virginia. "Youth" may 

also mean an individual older than the age of 16 years who is 

the subject of an adoption assistance agreement or kinship 

guardianship assistance agreement. 

22VAC40-201-110. Court hearings and case reviews. 

A. For all court hearings, local departments shall: 

1. Facilitate a meeting prior to the development of the foster 

care service plan and foster care service plan review to 

ensure participation and consider input from the child, the 

birth parents or prior custodians, the foster or adoptive 

parents, and any other interested individuals, who may 

include service providers, in the development of the service 

plan and service plan review. All youth 14 years of age and 

older shall be given the opportunity to choose up to two 

people to attend the meeting who are not the foster parent or 

caseworker. All of these persons shall be involved in sharing 

information for the purposes of well-informed decisions and 

planning for the child with a focus on safety and 

permanence. 

2. File petitions in accordance with subsection L of this 

section and the requirements for the type of hearing. 

3. Obtain and consider the child's input as to who should be 

included in the court hearing. If persons identified by the 

child will not be included in the court hearing, the service 

worker shall explain the reasons to the child for such a 

decision consistent with the child's developmental and 

psychological status. 

4. Inform the court of reasonable efforts made to achieve 

concurrent permanency goals. 

5. Document the appropriateness of the placement, including 

the continued appropriateness of an out-of-state placement 

if applicable. 

6. Ensure the child or youth is present for the permanency 

planning hearing unless the court determines this not to be 

in the child's best interest. 

B. The child or youth shall be consulted in an age-appropriate 

manner about his permanency plan at the permanency planning 

hearing and subsequent administrative panel reviews. 

C. An administrative panel review shall be held six months 

after a permanency planning hearing when the goal of 

permanent foster care has been approved by the court. A foster 

care review hearing will be held annually. The child will 
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continue to have administrative panel reviews or review 

hearings every six months until the child reaches age 18 years. 

D. The local department shall invite the child; the child's birth 

parents or prior custodians when appropriate; and the child's 

foster or adoptive parents, placement providers, guardian ad 

litem, court appointed special advocate, relatives, and service 

providers to participate in the administrative panel reviews. 

E. The local department shall consider all recommendations 

made during the administrative panel review in planning 

services for the child and birth parents or prior custodians and 

document the recommendations on the department approved 

form. Individuals who were invited, including those not in 

attendance, shall be given a copy of the results of the 

administrative panel review as documented on the department 

approved form. 

F. A supervisory review is required every six months for 

youth ages 18 to 21 years who are receiving independent living 

services only. 

G. An administrative panel review is required every six 

months for Fostering Futures program participants unless a 

court review is held. 

H. In accordance with § 16.1-242.1 of the Code of Virginia, 

when a case is on appeal for termination of parental rights, the 

juvenile and domestic relations district court retains 

jurisdiction on all matters not on appeal. The circuit court 

appeal hearing may substitute for a review hearing if the circuit 

court addresses the future status of the child. 

I. An adoption progress report shall be prepared every six 

months after a permanency planning hearing when the goal of 

adoption has been approved by the court. The adoption 

progress report shall be entered into the automated child 

welfare data system. The child will continue to have annual 

review hearings in addition to adoption progress reports until a 

final order of adoption is issued or the child reaches age 18 

years. 

J. If a child is in the custody of the local department and a 

preadoptive family has not been identified and approved for 

the child, the child's guardian ad litem or the local board of 

social services may file a petition to restore the previously 

terminated parental rights of the child's parent in accordance 

with § 16.1-283.2 of the Code of Virginia. 

K. If a child has been in foster care 15 out of the last 22 

months or if the parent of a child in foster care has been 

convicted of an offense as outlined in § 63.2-910.2 of the Code 

of Virginia, the local department shall file a petition to 

terminate the parental rights and concurrently identify, recruit, 

process, and approve a qualified family for adoption of the 

child unless certain exceptions as outlined in § 63.2-910.2 are 

met. 

L. Designated nonattorney employees of a local department 

may only file petitions that are outlined in this subsection. All 

other petitions must be filed by an attorney, including petitions 

for the termination of parental rights. In accordance with §§ 

16.1-260, 54.1-3900, and 63.2-332 of the Code of Virginia, 

nonattorney employees of a local department may only do the 

following: 

1. Initiate a case on behalf of the local department by 

appearing before an intake officer; and 

2. Complete, sign, and file with the clerk, on forms approved 

by the Supreme Court of Virginia, petitions for foster care 

review hearings, petitions for permanency planning 

hearings, petitions to establish paternity, motions to 

establish or modify support, motions to amend or review an 

order, and motions for a rule to show cause.  

22VAC40-201-165. Kinship Guardianship Assistance 

Program.  

A. The purpose of the Kinship Guardianship Assistance 

Program is to facilitate placements with relatives and ensure 

permanency for children for whom adoption or reunification 

are not appropriate permanency options. 

B. A child is eligible for the Kinship Guardianship Assistance 

Program if: 

1. The child has been removed from the child's home 

pursuant to a voluntary placement agreement or as a result 

of a judicial determination that continuation in the home 

would be contrary to the welfare of the child; 

2. The child was eligible for foster care maintenance 

payments under 42 USC § 672 or under state law while 

residing for at least six consecutive months in the home of 

the prospective kinship guardian; 

3. Reunification or adoption are not appropriate permanency 

options for the child; 

4. The child demonstrates a strong attachment to the 

prospective kinship guardian, and the prospective kinship 

guardian has a strong commitment to caring permanently for 

the child; and 

5. The child has been consulted regarding the kinship 

guardianship if the child is 14 years of age or older. 

C. If a child does not meet the eligibility criteria set forth in 

subsection B of this section but has a sibling who meets such 

criteria, the child may be placed in the same kinship 

guardianship with the child's eligible sibling in accordance 

with 42 USC § 671(a)(31) if the local department and kinship 

guardian agree that such placement is appropriate. In such 

cases, kinship guardianship may be paid on behalf of each 

sibling so placed. 

D. Kinship Guardianship Assistance payments may not 

exceed the foster care maintenance payment, either IV-E or 

state funded, which would have been paid on behalf of the 

child if the child had remained in a foster home. Once the 
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Kinship Guardianship Assistance Agreement becomes 

effective in accordance with subsection H of this section, foster 

care payments will cease and kinship guardianship assistance 

payments will begin. Kinship Guardianship Assistance 

payments include the following, where appropriate: 

1. Title IV-E maintenance payments if the child meets 

federal eligibility requirements. 

2. State-funded maintenance payments when the local 

department determines that the child does not meet the 

requirements in § 473 of Title IV-E of the Social Security 

Act (42 USC § 673). 

3. Nonrecurring expense payments associated with the costs 

of obtaining legal custody of the child when a Kinship 

Guardianship Assistance Agreement is completed prior to 

legal custody transfer to the kinship guardian. Claims for 

nonrecurring expense payments must be filed within two 

years of the date that legal custody transferred to the kinship 

guardian. 

E. The local department shall inform the prospective kinship 

guardian whether the child is eligible for Medicaid in relation 

to the Kinship Guardianship Assistance Agreement. For the 

child who meets the requirements in § 473 of Title IV-E of the 

Social Security Act (42 USC § 673), Medicaid shall be 

included in the Kinship Guardianship Assistance Agreement. 

F. Additional criteria for the payments and services specified 

in subsection D of this section are as follows: 

1. A maintenance payment, whether under Title IV-E or state 

funded, shall be approved for a child who is eligible for 

Kinship Guardianship Assistance payment unless the 

kinship guardian indicates, or it is determined through 

negotiation, that the payment is not needed. 

a. The amount of all payments shall be negotiated by a 

representative of the department with the kinship 

guardian, taking into consideration the needs of the child 

and circumstances of the kinship guardian. 

b. The amount of maintenance payments made shall not 

exceed the foster care maintenance payment that would 

have been paid during the period if the child had remained 

in a foster family home. 

c. The maintenance payments shall not be reduced below 

the amount specified in the Kinship Guardianship 

Assistance Agreement without the concurrence of the 

kinship guardian or a statewide reduction in maintenance 

rates. 

d. The maintenance payment specified in the Kinship 

Guardianship Assistance Agreement may only be 

increased if the child is already receiving the maximum 

amount allowed and (i) the child reaches an age at which 

the foster care maintenance rate would increase or (ii) 

statewide increases are approved for foster care 

maintenance rates. 

e. The kinship guardian shall be required under the 

Kinship Guardianship Assistance Agreement to keep the 

local department informed of the circumstances that 

would make them ineligible for a maintenance payment or 

eligible for a different amount of maintenance payment 

than that specified in the Kinship Guardianship Assistance 

Agreement. 

2. Children who are living with a kinship guardian 

participating in the Kinship Guardianship Assistance 

Program are eligible for foster care services under § 63.2-

905 of the Code of Virginia, including a full range of 

casework, treatment, and community services. The kinship 

guardian may request services through the family 

assessment and planning team (FAPT) in accordance with 

state and local policies and procedures. 

3. The kinship guardian shall be reimbursed, upon request, 

for the nonrecurring expenses of obtaining legal custody of 

the child. The total amount of reimbursement shall be based 

on actual costs and shall not exceed the amount established 

by federal law. Claims for nonrecurring expense payments 

must be filed within two years of the date that legal custody 

transferred to the kinship guardian. 

4. When the kinship guardian declines a specific payment or 

agrees to a reduced payment amount and the kinship 

guardian's family circumstances or the child's needs change, 

the kinship guardian may request a change to the agreement, 

and an addendum to the Kinship Guardianship Assistance 

Agreement may be negotiated. The requirements for 

addendums to an existing Kinship Guardianship Assistance 

Agreement are in subsection K of this section. 

G. All Kinship Guardianship Assistance payments and 

agreements shall be negotiated with the kinship guardian by a 

representative of the department, taking into consideration the 

needs of the child, the circumstances of the family, and the 

limitations specified in subsections B, C, D, and E of this 

section. Documentation supporting the requests for payments 

shall be provided by the kinship guardian and shall be 

considered in the negotiation of the Kinship Guardianship 

Assistance Agreement. Income shall not be the sole factor in 

considering the family's circumstances during the negotiations. 

Available family and community resources shall be explored 

as an alternative or supplement to the Kinship Guardianship 

Assistance payment. 

H. A Kinship Guardianship Assistance Agreement shall be 

entered into by the local board and the kinship guardian for a 

child who has been determined eligible for Kinship 

Guardianship Assistance payments. Local departments shall 

use the Kinship Guardianship Assistance Agreement form 

provided by the department. 

I. The Kinship Guardianship Assistance Agreement shall: 

1. Be signed prior to legal custody transfer of the child to the 

kinship guardian; 



Regulations 

Volume 37, Issue 19 Virginia Register of Regulations  May 10, 2021  

2931 

2. Specify the payment types and monthly amounts to be 

provided; 

3. Become effective on the date that the judge signs the court 

order transferring legal custody of the child to the kinship 

guardian; and 

4. Absent modification or revocation of the kinship 

guardianship, remain in effect and governed by the laws of 

the Commonwealth of Virginia regardless of the state to 

which the kinship guardian may relocate. 

J. The kinship guardian shall: 

1. Annually submit a signed kinship guardianship assistance 

affidavit to the local department by the date the Kinship 

Guardianship Assistance Agreement was effective; and 

2. Report changes in circumstances to the local department 

as outlined in the Kinship Guardianship Assistance 

Agreement. 

K. Kinship Guardianship Assistance Agreements may be 

modified beyond the original provisions of the agreement to 

the extent provided by law when the local department and the 

kinship guardian agree in writing to new or renewed provisions 

in an addendum signed and dated by the local department and 

the kinship guardian. The local departments shall use the 

addendum form provided by the department and the changes 

to the agreement shall be negotiated by a representative of the 

department. 

L. The Kinship Guardianship Assistance Agreement and any 

amendments may name an appropriate person to act as a 

successor legal guardian to provide care and guardianship in 

the event of death or incapacitation of the relative guardian. 

The successor guardian must be named in the agreement or 

addendum prior to the kinship guardian's death or 

incapacitation. The successor guardian does not need to be a 

relative or licensed as a foster parent to receive the Kinship 

Guardianship Assistance payment. Before the successor 

guardian may receive the Kinship Guardianship Assistance 

payments, the following requirements shall be met: 

1. A new amendment to the Kinship Guardianship 

Assistance Agreement will need to be completed, outlining 

the terms of the kinship guardianship assistance and 

responsibilities of the successor guardian. The amendment 

to the Kinship Guardianship Assistance Agreement must 

specify that the agency will pay the total cost of nonrecurring 

expenses associated with obtaining legal guardianship of the 

child to the extent that the total cost does not exceed the 

amount authorized by federal law; 

2. The successor guardian must complete a fingerprint based 

criminal background check and a central registry check of 

the successor guardian and all other adults living in the 

successor guardian's home; and 

3. The successor guardian must obtain legal custody of the 

child. 

M. The local department is responsible for the following: 

1. Maintaining payments identified in the Kinship 

Guardianship Assistance Agreement and any addendum in 

effect, regardless of where the family resides; 

2. Notifying kinship guardians who are receiving Kinship 

Guardianship Assistance payments that the annual affidavit 

is due; 

3. Assisting the kinship guardian in coordinating services to 

meet the child's needs upon request; 

4. Managing requests for changes in Kinship Guardianship 

Assistance payments and foster care services from the 

kinship guardian; and 

5. Notifying the kinship guardians of a suspension or 

termination in payments or foster care services. 

N. The Kinship Guardianship Assistance Agreement shall be 

terminated when the child reaches the age of 18 years, unless: 

1. The child has a physical or mental disability that was 

present at the time of the custody transfer or a physical or 

mental disability that is related to a hereditary tendency, 

congenital problem, or birth injury and the local department 

determines the child requires ongoing treatment and 

intervention. The Kinship Guardianship Assistance payment 

may be continued by amending the original Kinship 

Guardianship Assistance Agreement or completing an 

addendum. The terms of the agreement or addendum may be 

for any period after the child's 18th birthday up to the child's 

21st birthday; or 

2. The child was subject to a Kinship Guardianship 

Assistance Agreement that became effective after the child 

reached the age of 16 years. In addition, the child shall meet 

at least one of the following participation criteria: 

a. Completing secondary education or an equivalent 

credential; 

b. Enrolled in an institution that provides post-secondary 

or vocational education; 

c. Participating in a program or activity designed to 

promote employment or remove barriers to employment; 

d. Employed at least 80 hours per month; or 

e. Is incapable of doing any of the activities described in 

subdivisions a through d of this subsection due to a 

medical condition, which incapability is supported by 

regularly updated information in the program participant's 

case record. 

O. The Kinship Guardianship Assistance Agreement shall not 

be terminated before the child's 18th birthday without the 

consent of the kinship guardian unless: 
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1. The kinship guardian adopts the child subsequent to the 

Kinship Guardianship Assistance Agreement and transfer of 

legal custody. The kinship guardian and a representative of 

the department shall negotiate adoption assistance payments 

independently from any negotiated terms of the Kinship 

Guardianship Assistance Agreement. 

2. The kinship guardian requests in writing that the 

agreement ends. 

3. The kinship guardian fails to comply with the annual 

review process. 

4. The kinship guardian is no longer legally responsible for 

the care of the child. 

5. The kinship guardian is not providing any financial 

support for the child. 

6. The kinship guardian dies or becomes incapacitated. If a 

successor legal guardian is named in the Kinship 

Guardianship Assistance Agreement or amendments prior to 

the kinship guardian's death or incapacitation, then Kinship 

Guardianship Assistance payments may continue to the 

successor legal guardian under the requirements outlined in 

subsection L of this section. 

7. The kinship guardian and the local department agree in 

writing to terminate the agreement. 

P. Local boards of social services are responsible for 

informing kinship guardians in writing of their right to appeal 

decisions relating to the child's eligibility for the Kinship 

Guardianship Assistance Program and decisions relating to 

payments within 30 days of receiving written notice of such 

decisions. In accordance with § 63.2-915 of the Code of 

Virginia, applicants for and recipients of the Kinship 

Guardianship Assistance Program shall have the right to appeal 

these decisions by a local board or licensed child-placing 

agency in granting, denying, changing, or discontinuing 

Kinship Guardianship Assistance payments. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R19-5722; Filed April 13, 2021, 12:40 p.m. 

Proposed Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 22VAC40-201. Permanency Services - 

Prevention, Foster Care, Adoption and Independent Living 

(amending 22VAC40-201-40, 22VAC40-201-70, 22VAC40-

201-100, 22VAC40-201-110, 22VAC40-201-140; adding 

22VAC40-201-145). 

Statutory Authority: § 63.2-217 of the Code of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: No public hearing is currently 

scheduled. 

Public Comment Deadline: July 9, 2021. 

Agency Contact: Em Parente, Department of Social Services, 

801 East Main Street, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 

726-7895, FAX (804) 726-7538, or email 

em.parente@dss.virginia.gov. 

Basis: Section 63.2-217 of the Code of Virginia requires the 

State Board of Social Services to adopt such regulations as may 

be necessary to carry out the purpose of Title 63.2 of the Code 

of Virginia. This regulatory action is necessary to comply with 

Chapter 446 of the 2019 Acts of Assembly that makes 

numerous changes to the laws governing the provisions of 

foster care services, Chapters 677 and 676 of the 2019 Acts of 

Assembly that amend the age range for credit checks on 

children in foster care, and Chapter 934 of the 2020 Acts of 

Assembly that requires case consultation when reunification 

remains the goal after 12 months and reporting requirements 

when termination of parental rights do not occur in a timely 

manner. 

Purpose: This regulatory action is necessary to amend the 

existing regulation so for consistency with the Code of 

Virginia. This regulation is essential to support the health, 

safety, and permanency of children in foster care and facilitate 

the provision of foster care services to children and families. 

Substance: This regulatory action will incorporate technical 

corrections, language, and processes necessary to ensure 

consistency with the Code of Virginia. This regulatory action 

includes changes to the regulation on credit checks and 

independent living services, relative search and notification, a 

foster care complaint system, case consultation when 

reunification remains the goal after 12 months, acceptable 

reasons for not filing for termination of parental rights and 

reporting requirements for those cases, and caseload standards. 

Issues: This regulatory action proposes amendments to the 

Permanency Services regulation, which provides for the safety 

of children who come into the child welfare system and for 

children in the Commonwealth who are adopted. In particular, 

this action makes changes to help improve the safety, 

permanency, and well-being of children and youth in foster 

care. This regulatory action poses no disadvantages to the 

public or the Commonwealth. 

Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 

Analysis: 

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. The 

Board of Social Services (Board) proposes to make a number 

of changes to the regulation in response to 2019 and 2020 

legislation. The proposed amendments would conform the 

regulation to the Code of Virginia as well as federal 

regulations. The Board proposes to establish caseload limits, 

add requirements regarding the termination of parental rights, 

and require case consultation when reunification remains the 

goal after 12 months. The proposed amendments would also 

add specific requirements for reporting by local boards and the 

identification and notification of relatives. The Board also 

seeks to update certain provisions of independent living 

services, and establish a protocol for the Department of Social 

Services (DSS) to respond to complaints regarding foster care. 

Background. The Board seeks to make a number of 

amendments that would conform the regulation to new 

legislation pertaining to foster care and permanency that were 
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passed in 2019 and 2020. The legislation and subsequent 

changes to the regulation, including those proposed here, were 

at least in part prompted by a 2018 study of Virginia's foster 

care system undertaken by the Joint Legislative Audit and 

Review Commission (JLARC report).1 The proposed changes 

are summarized below: 

1. Local departments of social services are currently required 

to identify and notify all adult relatives within 30 days of a 

child entering foster care. Pursuant to Chapter 446 of the 2019 

Acts of Assembly (2019 foster care omnibus), the Board seeks 

to require the local departments to search for relatives at the 

time the child enters foster care, annually, and prior to any 

subsequent placement changes for the child.2 The Board also 

seeks to remove the requirement that a home or licensed 

facility be approved so that children may be placed in homes 

or licensed facilities that meet federal and state requirements 

even if full foster home approval has not yet been granted.  

2. Pursuant to Chapter 934 of the 2020 Acts of Assembly, the 

Board seeks to modify the requirements and exceptions 

regarding the termination of parental rights for children who 

enter foster care.3 22 VAC 40-201-110 Court hearings and 

reviews currently requires local departments to file a petition 

to terminate parental rights if a child has been in foster care 15 

out of the last 22 months. The Board seeks to amend this 

section so that local departments would also be required to file 

a petition to terminate parental rights if the parent has been 

convicted of the offenses listed in Virginia Code § 63.2-910.2.4 

The Board also seeks to add the following exceptions, which 

would need to be documented in the child's case plan and 

submitted to court:  

a. A relative who is caring for the child is also pursuing 

custody but does not want to adopt. 

b. The local department has not provided services to the 

parents deemed necessary for the safe return of the child. 

c. The local department has documented a compelling reason 

why termination of parental rights is not in the best interest 

of the child.5 

Local departments that do not file petitions to terminate 

parental rights in accordance with regulation would be required 

to report to the commissioner or designee a clear description of 

the reason why the petition has not been filed and the 

reasonable efforts made toward reunification or placement 

with a relative. The Board also seeks to require the 

commissioner or designee to compile this information (without 

any identifying details) into an annual report to be shared with 

all local departments, and to use this information to establish a 

training program that educates local departments regarding 

common errors made by local departments when declining to 

file a petition for termination of parental rights. In keeping with 

this change, the Board also seeks to amend 22VAC40-201-70 

to add that when a child has been in care for 12 months and 

reunification continues to be the goal, the local department 

shall consult with the commissioner or designee regarding case 

planning. 

3. The Board seeks to make a number of changes to 22VAC40-

201-100 Providing independent living services: service for 

youth 14 years of age and older: 

a. Add parent or custodian to the list of individuals who are 

involved in identifying necessary independent living 

services.  

b. Specify that the independent living services provisions 

apply to youth in foster care at ages 14-21 and youth aged 

14-23 who were in foster care at any point between ages 14-

21.6  

c. Mandate that local departments conduct life skills 

assessments and develop transition plans within 30 days of 

the foster care child reaching 14 years of age or within 30 

days of a child who is 14 years or older when entering foster 

care. 

d. Insert a requirement that life skills assessments and 

transition plans must be updated annually. 

e. Repeal the language relating to the independent living 

program for youth aged 18-21, as it has been made obsolete 

by the Fostering Futures program.7 

f. Revise the annual credit check requirement to only apply 

to youth in foster care who are 14-18 years old.8 

4. Pursuant to the 2019 foster care omnibus, the Board seeks to 

establish a maximum caseload of 15 cases per foster care 

worker and state that each child in foster care is considered to 

be an individual foster care case. While the omnibus bill only 

required that the Board establish a maximum caseload, the 

specific choice of the limit was made by the Board using the 

range recommended in the JLARC report based on caseload 

standards in other states. 

5. The Board seeks to add a new section 22VAC40-201-145 

Foster Care Complaint System, which was also mandated by 

the 2019 foster care omnibus, delineating the steps to be taken 

by DSS in response to a complaint. The new section would 

require that DSS (i) investigate such complaint by conducting 

a review of case documentation, foster care policy, and state 

and federal code, and gather information from the constituent, 

local department, and other collaterals as needed, and (ii) 

provide the constituent a resolution to their concern that 

includes the methods used to assess the concern and a response 

to the concern, via the communication method of the 

constituent. 

The new section would also state that all information received 

or maintained by the Department in connection with such 

reports, complaints, or investigations shall be confidential and 

not subject to the Virginia Freedom of Information Act (§ 2.2-

3700 et seq.), except that such information may be relayed and 

used on a confidential basis for the purposes of investigation 
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and to protect the health, safety, and well-being of children in 

foster care.9 

Estimated Benefits and Costs. The proposed amendments 

would primarily benefit the children and families that the foster 

care system aims to serve. Specifying that local departments 

search for relatives at multiple points during the foster care 

placement process and removing the requirement that relative's 

homes be approved prior to placement would benefit children 

who would otherwise be separated from their extended family. 

While the move to enforce the termination of parental rights 

more swiftly may seem concerning, doing so would allow the 

child to become eligible for adoption and attain permanency. 

The exceptions provided by the Board include placements with 

relatives, where children would attain permanency with 

kinship guardians, and a range of situations where reunification 

remains a viable goal. The requirement that such exceptions be 

documented might pose an additional administrative burden 

but ultimately provides greater transparency and accountability 

regarding the status of each child in the system. The expansion 

of independent living services would benefit those who were 

in foster care at any time between ages 14 to 21 until they turn 

23. Moreover, these amendments would maintain compliance 

with the federal Chafee program, thereby allowing DSS to 

obtain federal funding for the same. 

Implementing a maximum limit of 15 cases per caseworker not 

only benefits the children in foster care and their families, but 

also the caseworkers, some of whom previously had up to 30 

cases. The caseload limit would also ensure that any additional 

administrative burden created by the other requirements 

described can be reasonably met. Further adding a complaint 

system allows the Board to have greater oversight of 

complaints regarding foster care that may previously have been 

addressed without their knowledge or left unaddressed, even if 

such information is protected from broader access under FOIA. 

The proposed amendments would also impose costs on the 

state as well as local governments. However, these costs result 

from the legislation that prompted them. The Fiscal Impact 

Statement (FIS) for the 2019 foster care omnibus (which 

included changes beyond those being implemented in this 

action) estimated the total cost to be roughly $3.5 million in 

the first year and $4.5 million in the second year.10 Although 

the FIS associated with Chapter 934 of the 2020 Acts does not 

indicate any direct costs, the increased case reviews and 

documentation requirements would impose additional time 

costs for caseworkers and other staff at local departments of 

social services. 

Businesses and Other Entities Affected. The proposed 

amendments primarily affect all 120 local departments of 

social services as well as the local governments that are partly 

responsible for funding them. 

Small Businesses11 Affected. The proposed amendments 

would have no effect on small businesses. 

Localities12 Affected.13 The proposed amendments broadly 

increase the responsibilities to be undertaken by case workers 

and local departments of social services. To the extent that this 

leads to new hiring or overtime by the staff, the proposed 

amendments would introduce new costs for local governments. 

Some of these costs would be absorbed by DSS using federal 

funding earmarked for such use; for example, increased 

eligibility for independent living services arising from the 

increased age limit would create costs that would be covered 

in part through the funding provided by the federal Chafee 

program. 

The proposed caseload limit would increase the costs for local 

governments where caseworkers previously had more than 15 

cases each on average, since these local departments would 

need to hire additional caseworkers. According to the FIS 

accompanying the 2019 foster care omnibus, As of the January 

2, 2019, Active Foster Care Children Report, 25 localities have 

between one and eight family services specialists, each of 

whom carries a foster care caseload of between 16 to 30 foster 

care children. These specific 25 localities would need funding 

for the equivalent of an additional 25.5 positions, in order for 

each of their specialists to have no more than 15 assigned foster 

care cases. The estimated annual cost for one family services 

specialist is $84,180, therefore 25.5 new local specialists will 

cost $1,609,952 the first year and $2,146,602 each year 

thereafter.14 Note the costs listed here refer to the total costs 

and localities would only be responsible for roughly 15.5% of 

the overall costs, with state general and nongeneral fund 

allocations covering the bulk of the costs. 

Since the caseload limit has already been implemented, DSS 

reports that for fiscal year 2020, 29 localities and combined 

localities received a total of $1,862,486 representing funding 

for the first nine months. The local departments receiving these 

funds, some of which serve multiple localities, are as follows: 

Alleghany/Covington, Amherst, Appomattox, 

Augusta/Staunton/Waynesboro, Bedford, Carroll, Franklin 

County, Henrico, Loudoun, Louisa, Madison, Nelson, 

Rappahannock, Rockbridge/Buena Vista/Lexington, 

Rockingham/Harrisonburg, Scott, Spotsylvania, Tazewell, 

Washington, Wise, Bristol, Galax, Hampton, Norfolk, 

Portsmouth, Richmond City, Roanoke City, Virginia Beach, 

and Winchester.15 

Projected Impact on Employment. The proposed amendments 

would directly contribute to the employment of at least 25 

caseworkers by local departments. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. The proposed 

amendments would not affect the use and value of private 

property. Real estate development costs would not be affected. 

________________________________________ 
1See http://jlarc.virginia.gov/2018-foster-care.asp  

2See https://lis.virginia.gov/cgi-bin/legp604.exe?ses=191&typ=bil&val=ch446. 
The 2019 foster care omnibus also included other requirements pertaining to 

the staffing and operations of regional offices, the creation of a dashboard, and 

DSS takeover of local departments. Not all requirements are being 
implemented through this action: some of these requirements have been 

implemented through other regulatory change actions, while other 

http://jlarc.virginia.gov/2018-foster-care.asp
https://lis.virginia.gov/cgi-bin/legp604.exe?ses=191&typ=bil&val=ch446
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requirements have been implemented directly, without any changes to the 

regulation. 

3See https://lis.virginia.gov/cgi-bin/legp604.exe?ses=201&typ=bil&val=ch934.  

4See https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title63.2/chapter9/section63.2-910.2/. 
5The regulation lists the following as examples of compelling reasons: the 

parent has made substantial progress towards eliminating the conditions that 
caused the foster care placement, the child can safely return home within six 

months, and the return home would be in the childs best interest; or another 

permanency plan is better suited to meet the child's needs. 
6As per DSS, the provision of independent living services follows the 

requirements of the John H. Chafee Foster Care Program for Successful 

Transition to Adulthood authorized in 42 USC 677 (4). The program expanded 

to age 23 to those states that have implemented extended foster care.  
7The Fostering Futures program has been implemented through budget 

language since 2016, but was added to the Code of Virginia by Chapter 732 of 
the 2020 Acts of Assembly. See https://lis.virginia.gov/cgi-

bin/legp604.exe?201 ful CHAP0732. 

8The current requirement imposes the annual credit check on all youth in foster 

care who are 14 years of age and older. The upper limit of 18 years is derived 

from Chapters 676 and 677 of the 2019 Acts of Assembly. See 

https://lis.virginia.gov/cgi-bin/legp604.exe?ses=191&typ=bil&val=ch676.  
9DSS cites § 2.2-3705.5 of the Code of Virginia as the basis for its FOIA 

exemption. See https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title2.2/chapter37/ 

section2.2-3705.5/.  
10See https://lis.virginia.gov/cgi-bin/legp604.exe?191 oth SB1339FER122 

PDF for a breakdown of expenditures allocated to the general fund, nongeneral 

fund, and local match.  
11Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.04 of the Code of Virginia, small business is defined 

as "a business entity, including its affiliates, that (i) is independently owned 

and operated and (ii) employs fewer than 500 full-time employees or has gross 

annual sales of less than $6 million." 
12"Locality" can refer to either local governments or the locations in the 
Commonwealth where the activities relevant to the regulatory change are most 

likely to occur. 

13§ 2.2-4007.04 defines particularly affected" as bearing disproportionate 

material impact. 
14See https://lis.virginia.gov/cgi-bin/legp604.exe?191 oth SB1339FER122 

PDF.  
15A list of all local departments can be found at 

https://www.dss.virginia.gov/localagency/index.cgi.  

Agency's Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The 

Department of Social Services concurs with the economic 

impact analysis prepared by the Department of Planning and 

Budget. 

Summary: 

The proposed amendments make changes in response to 

Chapters 446, 676, and 677 of the 2019 Acts of Assembly 

and Chapter 934 of the 2020 Acts of Assembly, including (i) 

requiring the local departments to search for relatives at the 

time the child enters foster care, annually, and prior to any 

subsequent placement changes for the child; (ii) removing 

the requirement that a home or licensed facility be approved 

so that children may be placed in homes or licensed 

facilities that meet federal and state requirements even if full 

foster home approval has not yet been granted; (iii) 

modifying the requirements and exceptions regarding the 

termination of parental rights for children who enter foster 

care; (iv) requiring local departments to file a petition to 

terminate parental rights if the parent has been convicted of 

the offenses listed in § 63.2-910.2 of the Code of Virginia; 

(v) requiring that the department investigate a complaint by 

conducting a review of case documentation, foster care 

policy, and state and federal code, and gather information 

from the constituent, local department, and other collaterals 

as needed and provide the constituent a resolution to their 

concern that includes the methods used to assess the 

concern and a response to the concern via the 

communication method of the constituent; and (vi) 

establishing a maximum caseload per foster care worker 

and stating that each child in foster care is considered to be 

an individual foster care case. 

22VAC40-201-40. Foster care placements. 

A. Within 30 days of the child being placed in the custody of 

the local board, the local department shall exercise due 

diligence to identify and notify in writing all adult relatives, 

including the parents of siblings who have legal custody of 

such siblings, that the child has been removed and explain the 

options to relatives to participate in the care and placement of 

the child including eligibility as a kinship foster parent and the 

services and supports that may be available for children placed 

in such a home. The local department may determine it is not 

in the child's best interest to notify relatives who have a history 

of domestic violence; have been convicted of barrier crimes as 

defined in § 63.2-1719 of the Code of Virginia other than those 

described in subsections E, F, G, and H of § 63.2-1721 of the 

Code of Virginia; or are listed on the Virginia State Police Sex 

Offender Registry. Additionally, if the birth father is unknown, 

the local department shall search the Virginia Birth Father 

Registry within 30 days of the child entering foster care. At a 

minimum, the local department shall search for relatives at the 

time the child enters foster care, annually, and prior to any 

subsequent placement changes for the child. 

B. The local department shall ensure a child in foster care is 

placed in an approved a home or licensed facility that complies 

with all applicable federal and state requirements for safety and 

child well-being. Placements shall be made subject to the 

requirements of § 63.2-901.1 of the Code of Virginia. The 

following requirements shall be met when placing a child in an 

approved home or licensed facility: 

1. The local department shall exercise due diligence to locate 

and assess relatives as a foster home placement for the child, 

including in emergency situations. 

2. The local department shall place the child in the least 

restrictive, most family like setting consistent with the best 

interests and needs of the child. 

3. The local department shall attempt to place the child in as 

close proximity as possible to the birth parent's or prior 

custodian's home to facilitate visitation, provide continuity 

of connections, and provide educational stability for the 

child. 

https://lis.virginia.gov/cgi-bin/legp604.exe?ses=201&typ=bil&val=ch934
https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title63.2/chapter9/section63.2-910.2/
https://lis.virginia.gov/cgi-bin/legp604.exe?201%20ful%20CHAP0732
https://lis.virginia.gov/cgi-bin/legp604.exe?201%20ful%20CHAP0732
https://lis.virginia.gov/cgi-bin/legp604.exe?ses=191&typ=bil&val=ch676
https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title2.2/chapter37/section2.2-3705.5/
https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title2.2/chapter37/section2.2-3705.5/
https://lis.virginia.gov/cgi-bin/legp604.exe?191%20oth%20SB1339FER122%20PDF
https://lis.virginia.gov/cgi-bin/legp604.exe?191%20oth%20SB1339FER122%20PDF
https://lis.virginia.gov/cgi-bin/legp604.exe?191%20oth%20SB1339FER122%20PDF
https://lis.virginia.gov/cgi-bin/legp604.exe?191%20oth%20SB1339FER122%20PDF
https://www.dss.virginia.gov/localagency/index.cgi
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4. The local department shall take reasonable steps to place 

the child with siblings unless such a joint placement would 

be contrary to the safety or well-being of the child or 

siblings. 

5. The local department shall, when appropriate, consider 

placement in a dually approved home so that if reunification 

fails, the placement is the best available placement to 

provide permanency through adoption for the child. 

6. The local department shall not delay or deny placement of 

a child into a foster or adoptive family placement on the 

basis of race, color, or national origin of the foster or 

adoptive parent or child. 

7. When a child being placed in foster care is of Native 

American, Alaskan Eskimo, or Aleut heritage and is a 

member of a nationally recognized tribe, the local 

department shall follow all federal laws, regulations, and 

policies regarding the referral of the child. The local 

department may contact the Department of Historic 

Resources for information on contacting Virginia tribes and 

shall consider tribal culture and connections in the 

placement and care of a child of Virginia Indian heritage. 

8. If a child is placed in a kinship foster placement pursuant 

to § 63.2-900.1 of the Code of Virginia, the child shall not 

be removed from the physical custody of the kinship foster 

parent, provided the child has been living with the kinship 

foster parent for six consecutive months and the placement 

continues to meet approval standards for foster care, unless 

(i) the kinship foster parent consents to the removal; (ii) 

removal is agreed upon at a family partnership meeting; (iii) 

removal is ordered by a court of competent jurisdiction; or 

(iv) removal is warranted pursuant to § 63.2-1517 of the 

Code of Virginia. 

C. A service worker shall make a preplacement visit to any 

out-of-home placement to observe the environment where the 

child will be living and ensure that the placement is safe and 

capable of meeting the needs of the child. The preplacement 

visit shall precede the placement date except in cases of 

emergency. In cases of emergency, the visit shall occur on the 

same day as the placement. 

D. Foster or adoptive homes shall meet standards established 

by the board and shall be approved by child-placing agencies. 

Prior to the placement of a child in a licensed child-placing 

agency (LCPA) foster home, the local department shall verify 

that the LCPA approved the foster home. Prior to the 

placement of a child in a children's residential facility, the local 

department shall verify that the facility is licensed to operate 

by the appropriate state regulatory authority. 

E. Local departments shall receive notice of the approval 

from the department's office of the ICPC prior to placing a 

child out of state. 

F. When the local department is considering placement of a 

child in a foster or adoptive home approved by another local 

department within Virginia, the local department intending to 

place the child shall consult with the approving local 

department about the placement of the child and shall also 

verify that the home is still approved. 

G. When a child is moving with a foster or adoptive family 

from one jurisdiction to another, the local department holding 

custody shall notify the local department in the jurisdiction to 

which the foster or adoptive family is moving. 

H. When a child moves with a foster or adoptive family from 

one jurisdiction to another in Virginia, the local department 

holding custody shall continue supervision of the child unless 

supervision is transferred to the other local department. 

I. A local department may petition the court to transfer 

custody of a child to another local department when the birth 

parent or prior custodian has moved to that locality. 

J. In planned placement changes or relocation of foster 

parents, birth parents with residual parental rights or prior 

custodians and all other relevant parties shall be notified that a 

placement change or move is being considered if such 

notification is in the best interest of the child. The service 

worker shall consider the child's best interest and safety needs 

when involving the birth parent or prior custodian and all other 

relevant parties in the decision-making process regarding 

placement change or notification of the new placement. 

K. In the case where an emergency situation requires an 

immediate placement change, the birth parent with residual 

parental rights or prior custodian and all other relevant parties 

shall be notified immediately of the placement change. The 

local department shall inform the birth parent or prior 

custodian why the placement change occurred and why the 

birth parent or prior custodian and all other relevant parties 

could not be involved in the decision-making process. 

22VAC40-201-70. Foster care goals. 

A. Foster care goals are established to assure permanency is 

achieved for the child. Permissible foster care goals are: 

1. Transfer custody of the child to his prior family; 

2. Transfer custody of the child to a relative other than his 

prior family; 

3. Finalize adoption of the child; 

4. Place the child in permanent foster care; 

5. Transition to independent living if the child is admitted to 

the United States as a refugee or asylee or is 18 years of age 

or older; or 

6. Place the child in another planned permanent living 

arrangement in accordance with § 16.1-282.1 A2 of the Code 

of Virginia. 
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B. When the permanency goal is changed to adoption, the 

local department shall file petitions with the court 30 days prior 

to the hearing to: 

1. Approve the foster care service plan seeking to change the 

permanency goal to adoption; and 

2. Terminate parental rights. 

Upon termination of parental rights, the local department 

shall provide an array of adoption services to support obtaining 

a finalized adoption. 

C. The local department shall engage in concurrent 

permanency planning in order to achieve timely permanency 

for the child. Permanency goals shall be considered and 

addressed from the beginning of placement and continuously 

evaluated. 

D. The goal of another planned permanent living arrangement 

may be chosen when the court has found that: 

1. The child has a severe and chronic emotional, physical, or 

neurological disabling condition; 

2. The child requires long-term residential care for the 

condition; 

3. None of the alternatives listed in clauses (i) through (v) of 

§ 16.1-282.1 A of the Code of Virginia is achievable for the 

child at the time placement in another planned permanent 

living arrangement is approved as the permanent goal for the 

child; and 

4. The youth is 16 years of age or older. 

E. The goal of permanent foster care may be chosen when the 

court has found that: 

1. The child is placed in a foster home; 

2. The child has developed a clearly established and 

documented significant relationship with a foster parent; 

3. None of the alternatives listed in clauses (i) through (v) of 

§ 16.1-282.1 A of the Code of Virginia is achievable for the 

child at the time placement in permanent foster care is 

approved as the permanent goal for the child; and 

4. The youth is 16 years of age and older. 

F. If either the goal of permanent foster care or another 

planned permanent living arrangement is selected, the local 

department shall continue to search for relatives and significant 

individuals as permanent families throughout the child's 

involvement with the child welfare system. The local 

department shall continuously evaluate the best interests of the 

child in light of the changing circumstances of the child and 

extended family to determine whether a change in goal to 

return home, placement with relatives, or adoption can achieve 

permanency. 

G. The goal of independent living services shall only be 

selected for those children admitted to the United States as a 

refugee or asylee, those youth age 18 years leaving foster care 

and meeting the requirements to receive independent living 

services, or youth participating in the Fostering Futures 

program, as described in 22VAC40-201-105. For those youth 

with this goal, the service worker shall continue diligent efforts 

to search for a relative or other interested adult who will 

provide a permanent long-term family relationship for the 

youth. 

H. When a child has been in care for 12 months and 

reunification remains the goal, the local department shall 

consult with the commissioner or designee regarding case 

planning. 

22VAC40-201-100. Providing independent living services: 

service for youth 14 years of age and older. 

A. Independent living services shall be identified by the 

youth, parent or prior custodian, foster or adoptive family, 

local department, service providers, legal community, and 

other interested individuals and shall be included in the service 

plan. Input from the youth in assembling these individuals and 

developing the services is required. 

B. Independent living services shall be provided to all youth 

in foster care ages 14 to 18 21 years and shall be offered to any 

person between 18 and 21 from the age of 14 until they reach 

23 years of age and who is in the process of transitioning from 

foster care to self-sufficiency was in foster care at any point 

between 14 and 21 years of age. 

C. Independent living services include education, vocational 

training, employment, mental and physical health services, 

transportation, housing, financial support, daily living skills, 

counseling, and development of permanent connections with 

adults. 

D. Local departments shall assess the youth's independent 

living skills and needs and incorporate the assessment results 

into the youth's service plan conduct life skills assessments and 

develop transition plans, which include independent living 

services to be offered, within 30 days of a child in foster care 

reaching 14 years of age or within 30 days of a child who is 14 

years of age or older entering foster care and update such 

assessments and plans annually. 

E. A youth placed in foster care before the age of 18 years 

who turns age 18 years prior to July 1, 2016, may continue to 

receive independent living services from the local department 

between the ages of 18 and 21 years if: 

1. The youth is making progress in an educational or 

vocational program, has employment, or is in a treatment or 

training program; and 

2. The youth agrees to participate with the local department 

in (i) developing a service agreement and (ii) signing the 
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service agreement. The service agreement shall require that 

the youth shall cooperate with all services; or 

3. The youth is in permanent foster care and is making 

progress in an educational or vocational program, has 

employment, or is in a treatment or training program.  

F. A youth age 16 years and older is eligible to live in an 

independent living arrangement provided the local department 

utilizes the independent living arrangement placement criteria 

developed by the department to determine that such an 

arrangement is in the youth's best interest. An eligible youth 

may receive an independent living stipend to assist him with 

the costs of maintenance. The eligibility criteria for receiving 

an independent living stipend will be developed by the 

department. 

G. Any person who was committed or entrusted to a local 

department, turned 18 years of age prior to July 1, 2016, and 

chooses to discontinue receiving independent living services 

after age 18 years may request a resumption of independent 

living services provided that (i) the person has not yet reached 

21 years of age and (ii) the person has entered into a written 

agreement, less than 60 days after independent living services 

have been discontinued, with the local board regarding the 

terms and conditions of his receipt of independent living 

services. Local departments shall provide any person who 

chooses to leave foster care or terminate independent living 

services before his 21st birthday written notice of his right to 

request restoration of independent living services in 

accordance with § 63.2-905.1 of the Code of Virginia by 

including such written notice in the person's transition plan. 

H. F. Local departments shall assist eligible youth in applying 

for educational and vocational financial assistance. 

Educational and vocational specific funding sources shall be 

used prior to using other sources. 

I. Local departments shall provide independent living 

services to any person between 18 and 21 years of age who: 

1. Turned 18 years of age prior to July 1, 2016; 

2. Was in the custody of the local board immediately prior 

to his commitment to the Department of Juvenile Justice; 

3. Is in the process of transitioning from a commitment to 

the Department of Juvenile Justice to self-sufficiency; and 

4. Provides written notice of his intent to receive 

independent living services and enters into a written 

agreement which sets forth the terms and conditions for the 

provision of independent living services with the local board 

within 60 days of his release from commitment. 

J. Every six months a supervisory review of service plans for 

youth receiving independent living services after age 18 years 

shall be conducted to assure the effectiveness of service 

provision.  

K. G. A youth who has been in care six months or more and 

turns 18 years of age while in foster care shall receive a 

certified copy of his birth certificate, social security card, 

health insurance information, medical records, and state-issued 

identification or driver's license. 

L. H. The local department shall run annual credit checks on 

all youth in foster care who are 14 years of age and older but 

younger than 18 years of age. The local department shall assist 

a youth in resolving any discrepancies in the youth's credit 

report. The local department shall assist a youth in foster care 

over 18 years of age in obtaining the youth's annual credit 

report. 

22VAC40-201-110. Court hearings and case reviews. 

A. For all court hearings, local departments shall: 

1. Facilitate a meeting prior to the development of the foster 

care service plan and foster care service plan review to 

ensure participation and consider input from the child, the 

birth parents or prior custodians, the foster or adoptive 

parents, and any other interested individuals, who may 

include service providers, in the development of the service 

plan and service plan review. All youth 14 years of age and 

older shall be given the opportunity to choose up to two 

people to attend the meeting who are not the foster parent or 

caseworker. All of these persons shall be involved in sharing 

information for the purposes of well-informed decisions and 

planning for the child with a focus on safety and 

permanence. 

2. File petitions in accordance with the requirements for the 

type of hearing. 

3. Obtain and consider the child's input as to who should be 

included in the court hearing. If persons identified by the 

child will not be included in the court hearing, the service 

worker shall explain the reasons to the child for such a 

decision consistent with the child's developmental and 

psychological status. 

4. Inform the court of reasonable efforts made to achieve 

concurrent permanency goals. 

5. Document the appropriateness of the placement, including 

the continued appropriateness of an out-of-state placement 

if applicable. 

6. Ensure the child or youth is present for the permanency 

planning hearing unless the court determines this not to be 

in the child's best interest. 

B. The child or youth shall be consulted in an age-appropriate 

manner about his permanency plan at the permanency planning 

hearing and subsequent administrative panel reviews. 

C. An administrative panel review shall be held six months 

after a permanency planning hearing when the goal of 

permanent foster care has been approved by the court. A foster 

care review hearing will be held annually. The child will 
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continue to have administrative panel reviews or review 

hearings every six months until the child reaches age 18 years. 

D. The local department shall invite the child; the child's birth 

parents or prior custodians when appropriate; and the child's 

foster or adoptive parents, placement providers, guardian ad 

litem, court appointed special advocate, relatives, and service 

providers to participate in the administrative panel reviews. 

E. The local department shall consider all recommendations 

made during the administrative panel review in planning 

services for the child and birth parents or prior custodians and 

document the recommendations on the department approved 

form. Individuals who were invited, including those not in 

attendance, shall be given a copy of the results of the 

administrative panel review as documented on the department 

approved form. 

F. A supervisory review is required every six months for 

youth ages 18 to 21 years who are receiving independent living 

services only. 

G. An administrative panel review is required every six 

months for Fostering Futures program participants unless a 

court review is held. 

H. In accordance with § 16.1-242.1 of the Code of Virginia, 

when a case is on appeal for termination of parental rights, the 

juvenile and domestic relations district court retains 

jurisdiction on all matters not on appeal. The circuit court 

appeal hearing may substitute for a review hearing if the circuit 

court addresses the future status of the child. 

I. An adoption progress report shall be prepared every six 

months after a permanency planning hearing when the goal of 

adoption has been approved by the court. The adoption 

progress report shall be entered into the automated child 

welfare data system. The child will continue to have annual 

review hearings in addition to adoption progress reports until a 

final order of adoption is issued or the child reaches age 18 

years. 

J. If a child is in the custody of the local department and a 

preadoptive family has not been identified and approved for 

the child, the child's guardian ad litem or the local board of 

social services may file a petition to restore the previously 

terminated parental rights of the child's parent in accordance 

with § 16.1-283.2 of the Code of Virginia. 

K. If a child has been in foster care 15 out of the last 22 

months or if the parent of the child in foster care has been 

convicted of an offense as outlined in § 63.2-910.2 of the Code 

of Virginia, the local department shall file a petition to 

terminate the parental rights and concurrently identify, recruit, 

process, and approve a qualified family for adoption of the 

child, unless certain exceptions as outlined in § 63.2-910.2, are 

met. These exceptions, which shall be documented in the 

child's case plan submitted to court, include: 

1. The child is being cared for by a relative, and the relative 

is pursuing custody of the child and does not want to adopt. 

2. The local department has not provided services to the 

parents deemed necessary for the safe return of the child. 

3. Termination of parental rights is not in the best interests 

of the child and the local department has documented a 

compelling reason explaining why termination is not in the 

best interests of the child. Determinations regarding 

compelling reasons not to terminate parental rights shall be 

made based on the unique circumstances of the case. 

Compelling reasons may include: 

a. A parent has made substantial progress toward 

eliminating the conditions that caused the child's 

placement in foster care; it is possible for the child to 

safely return home within six months; and the child's 

return home will be in the child's best interest. 

b. Another permanency plan is better suited to meet the 

health and safety needs of the child.  

L. If a local department does not file a petition to terminate 

parental rights when a child has been in care for 15 of the 

most recent 22 months, the local department shall report to 

the commissioner or designee a clear description of the 

reason why such petition has not been filed and the 

reasonable efforts made regarding reunification or 

placement of the child with a relative.  

1. The commissioner or designee shall compile the 

information reported into a de-identified annual report and 

provide such report to all local departments.  

2. The commissioner or designee shall use the information 

contained in the report to establish a training program that 

educates local departments regarding common errors 

made by local departments when declining to file a 

petition for termination of parental rights.  

22VAC40-201-140. Other foster care requirements. 

A. Pursuant to § 63.2-908 of the Code of Virginia, a foster 

parent may consent to a marriage or entry into the military if 

the child has been placed with him through a permanent foster 

care agreement that has been approved by the court. 

B. An employee of a local department, including a relative, 

cannot serve as a foster, adoptive, or licensed child-placing 

agency parent for a child in the custody of that local 

department. In the event it is in the child's best interest that a 

local employee be the foster parent, the child's custody may be 

transferred to another local department. 

C. The child of a foster child remains the responsibility of his 

parent, unless custody has been removed by the court. 

1. The child is not subject to requirements for foster care 

plans, reviews, or hearings. However, the needs and safety 

of the child shall be considered and documented in the foster 

care plan for the foster child (parent). 
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2. The child is eligible for maintenance payments in 

accordance with 42 USC § 675(4)(B) and Medicaid in 

accordance with 42 USC § 672(h). 

D. When a child in foster care is committed to the Department 

of Juvenile Justice, the local department no longer has custody 

or placement and care responsibility for the child. As long as 

the discharge or release plan for the child is to return to the 

local department prior to reaching age 18 years, the local 

department shall maintain a connection with the child. 

E. At least 90 days prior to a child's release from commitment 

to the Department of Juvenile Justice, the local department 

shall: 

1. Consult with the court services unit concerning the child's 

return to the locality; and 

2. Work collaboratively with the court services unit to 

develop a plan for the child's successful transition back to 

the community, which will identify the services necessary to 

facilitate the transition and will describe how the services 

will be provided. 

F. The caseload standard for foster care workers is 15 cases 

maximum per foster care worker. Each child in foster care is 

considered an individual foster care case. 

22VAC40-201-145. Foster care complaint system.  

A. Upon receipt of a complaint from a constituent regarding 

a foster care case, the department will investigate such 

complaint by conducting a review of case documentation, 

foster care policy, and state and federal code, and gather 

information from the constituent, local department, and other 

collaterals as needed. 

B. The department shall provide the constituent a resolution 

to the constituent's concern that includes the methods used to 

assess the concern and a response to the concern. This 

resolution will be provided via the communication method of 

the constituent.  

C. All information received or maintained by the department 

in connection with such reports, complaints, or investigations 

shall be confidential and not subject to the Virginia Freedom 

of Information Act (§ 2.2-3700 et seq. of the Code of Virginia), 

except that such information may be relayed and used on a 

confidential basis for the purposes of investigation and to 

protect the health, safety, and well-being of children in foster 

care.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R20-6266; Filed April 13, 2021, 12:48 p.m. 

Proposed Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 22VAC40-221. Additional Daily 

Supervision Rate Structure (amending 22VAC40-221-10, 

22VAC40-221-20, 22VAC40-221-30, 22VAC40-221-50, 

22VAC40-221-70; adding 22VAC40-221-80; repealing 

22VAC40-221-25). 

Statutory Authority: § 63.2-217 of the Code of Virginia; 

42 USC § 673. 

Public Hearing Information: No public hearing is currently 

scheduled. 

Public Comment Deadline: July 9, 2021. 

Agency Contact: Traci B. Jones, Program Manager, 

Department of Social Services, 801 East Main Street, 

Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 726-7499, or email 

traci.jones@dss.virginia.gov. 

Basis: Section 63.2-217 of the Code of Virginia requires the 

State Board of Social Services to adopt such regulations as may 

be necessary to carry out the purpose of Title 63.2 of the Code 

of Virginia. 

Purpose: The proposed regulatory action makes additional 

daily supervision (ADS) payments a requirement to be offered 

to all foster parents based on the needs of the child, regardless 

of whether the foster family is approved through a therapeutic 

foster care (TFC) agency or a local department of social 

services (LDSS). The uniform assessment tool is used to 

determine payments that are available for a child who has a 

clearly-defined need that requires a parent to provide increased 

support and supervision based on the child's needs. This 

proposed regulatory action is necessary to protect the welfare 

of citizens serving as foster and adoptive placements and those 

children being placed in foster and adoptive homes by ensuring 

that they receive any ADS payments that are due under the 

uniform rate assessment tool. Requiring the LDSS to offer 

ADS to all families will ensure fair and consistent treatment of 

foster families and provide the necessary support to ensure the 

health and well-being of children placed in their homes. The 

proposed regulatory action will also incorporate language 

specific to the administration of the uniform assessment tool 

for the purpose of adoption assistance by extending the 

timeframe for the readministration of the uniform rate 

assessment tool. The proposed regulatory change will increase 

the timeliness of adoptions because it will allow the LDSS and 

the adoptive parents to use an existing uniform assessment tool 

that was administered within the last six months instead of the 

previous requirement that the uniform assessment tool be 

readministered after three months. Finally, the proposed 

regulatory action will incorporate language specific to the 

kinship guardianship assistance program and the 

administration of the uniform assessment tool for the purpose 

of determining additional daily supervision payments for 

children who exit foster care to the custody of a relative 

through this recently enacted program. 

Substance: The agency conducted a periodic review of the 

regulation. The greatest substantive changes are (i) the 

proposal that ADS be offered to all foster, adoptive, and 

kinship families regardless of their status of therapeutic or 

nontherapeutic and (ii) the amendment of the timeframe for the 

readministration of the uniform rate assessment tool from three 

to six months for the purpose of determining ADS payments 

for adoption assistance. Language has also been added to 



Regulations 

Volume 37, Issue 19 Virginia Register of Regulations  May 10, 2021  

2941 

incorporate Virginia's kinship guardianship assistance 

program. Additionally, it was determined that all references to 

the Child and Family Services Manual must be removed to 

make this chapter consistent with other chapters of regulation. 

Issues: This regulatory action poses both advantages and 

disadvantages to the public and the Commonwealth. The 

requirement to offer ADS to all foster families who have 

children placed in their home will have a financial impact on 

the LDSS that do not currently offer this to their non-

therapeutic foster care families. However, the proposed change 

to regulation will ensure that all foster families are treated 

equally and are properly supported to ensure the safety and 

well-being of every child placed in a foster home in Virginia. 

This will likely lead to an increase in the number of foster 

families across the Commonwealth. The amendments to the 

Additional Daily Supervision Rate Structure regulation will 

extend the amount of time that the uniform rate assessment tool 

is readministered from three months to six months prior to 

establishing adoption assistance. The primary advantage to the 

Commonwealth and LDSS is that this c will decrease the 

timeframe of finalizing adoption assistance for eligible foster 

care children because the uniform assessment tool will not 

have to be readministered until six months instead of the 

previous timeframe of three months. 

Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 

Analysis: 

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. The 

State Board of Social Services (Board) proposes to 1) require 

all local departments of social services (LDSS) to offer 

additional daily supervision (ADS) payments, 2) extend the 

amount of time that the uniform rate assessment tool is re-

administered from three months to six months prior to 

establishing adoption assistance, 3) add language to 

incorporate Virginia's kinship guardianship assistance 

program, and 4) to make numerous other changes to simplify, 

clarify, and update regulatory language. 

Result of Analysis. The benefits likely exceed the costs for all 

proposed changes. 

Estimated Economic Impact. 

Changes in Standards for Additional Daily Supervision 

Payments. This regulation establishes standards for LDSS to 

use when determining the amounts of ADS payments for foster 

and adoptive parents as well as prospective relative custodians 

who meet the criteria for kinship guardianship assistance. The 

purpose of the ADS payments is to cover higher than normal 

supervision and support needs of children who have special 

needs. Currently, ADS payments are offered in certain 

localities, but 29 localities do not offer this financial assistance 

to their non-therapeutic-foster-care families. 

The Board proposes to require that ADS payments be offered 

to all foster parents based on the needs of the child across all 

localities regardless of the status of being therapeutic or non-

therapeutic. The Board estimates that there are approximately 

123 additional children who would be eligible for additional 

daily supervision in the 29 localities that do not offer this 

payment currently. Based on the average ages of children in 

the LDSS homes that do not currently provide an ADS 

payment and the average payments across the state, it is 

estimated that the localities affected would be responsible for 

an additional combined $130,129 a month ($74,824 from state 

funds/$32,532 from federal funds/$22,773 from local funds). 

This amount is the total amount that would be distributed 

among the 29 localities affected depending on the number of 

children they have in foster care. It is estimated that half of the 

children in foster care are eligible for federal funding through 

title IV-E and the other half will be reimbursed with 

Comprehensive Services Act general funds and local funds. 

The main benefits of this change include ensuring that all foster 

families are treated equally across all localities and are 

properly supported to maintain the safety and well-being of 

every child placed in a foster home in Virginia. With this 

change, ADS payments would be established based on the 

needs of the child throughout the state. This change should also 

incentivize families to foster children with special needs across 

the Commonwealth. 

Extension of Time for Administering Uniform Rate 

Assessment Tool. The Board also proposes to extend the 

amount of time that the uniform rate assessment tool is re-

administered from three months to six months prior to 

establishing adoption assistance. The uniform assessment tool 

is used to determine payments that are available for a child that 

has a clearly-defined need that requires a parent to provide 

increased support and supervision based on the child's needs. 

Currently, some of the adoptions may be delayed if the uniform 

rate assessment has not been re-administered in the last three 

months. 

The main benefits of this change include extending the 

timeframe that the assessment should be re-administered, 

which would allow LDSS to use an existing assessment from 

the last six months and expedite the adoption process as well 

as establishment of the payments for adoption assistance. As a 

result, timeliness of adoptions is expected to improve. The 

Board staff estimates that approximately 12 adoptions have 

been delayed in the past six months due to needing a new 

assessment completed under the current rules. Additionally, 

the use of an existing assessment does not result in any increase 

in adoption payments whereas a new assessment may result in 

higher payments. Under federal rules, an adoption assistance 

may be increased based on a new assessment, but may not be 

reduced even if the new assessment indicates a lower amount. 

Thus, there would also be some fiscal savings from the use of 

an existing assessment. Those savings would likely be limited 

to some extent because an adoptive parent may request a new 

assessment done anytime and would likely do so if he or she 

thinks it would increase the assistance amount. Finally, this 

change would reduce the number of times the uniform rate 

assessment tool needs to be re-administered and provide some 

staff-time savings to the LDSS. 
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Additional Changes that Are Not Expected to Have Significant 

Impacts. The proposed changes also add language to 

incorporate Virginia's kinship guardianship assistance 

program. This is a program that facilitates child placements 

with relatives and ensures permanency for children for whom 

adoption or being returned home are not appropriate 

permanency options. The program has been enacted by the 

2018 General Assembly and payments have been made under 

that statutory authority.1 This regulation will incorporate 

language to reflect the operations of the program as currently 

followed in practice. 

Since the proposed changes will not affect the current 

operations of the program, no significant economic effect is 

expected upon promulgation of the proposed amendments 

beyond providing the details of the rules and procedures that 

must be followed by LDSS as they apply to the kinship 

guardianship assistance program. 

The Board also proposes to revise the stated ADS payment 

amount for emergency placements in the regulation from 

$1,600 to $1,120 monthly as that is the current payment made 

for emergency placements by LDSS. According to the Board 

staff, this amount was reduced by the Commissioner in 2012, 

but the regulatory language has not been updated until now to 

reflect that change. This change too is not expected to have a 

significant impact other than improving the accuracy of the 

language to reflect the correct amount that is paid. 

Other nonsubstantive changes include removing all references 

to the Child and Family Services Manual to make this chapter 

consistent with other chapters of regulation and numerous 

changes to simplify, clarify, and update language to ensure the 

standards provide appropriate direction to the LDSS. 

Businesses and Entities Affected. This regulation applies to 

120 LDSS, prospective foster parents, prospective adoptive 

parents, prospective kinship guardianship assistance parents, 

children that are being adopted, and children who are 

discharged from foster care to the custody of a relative. The 

Board staff estimates that ADS payments would be provided 

to additional 123 children. The Board staff also estimates that 

the use of existing assessments would expedite approximately 

12 adoptions per six-month period. 

Localities Particularly Affected. This regulation would 

particularly affect the following LDSS that do not currently 

offer ADS to their nontherapeutic foster care homes: Fluvanna, 

Goochland, Lunenburg, Middlesex, Richmond County, 

Cumberland, Powhatan, King and Queen, Alleghany, Craig, 

Halifax, Mecklenburg, Nelson, Pittsylvania, Rockbridge, 

Shenandoah Valley, Bland, Floyd, Grayson, Giles, Radford, 

Washington, Gloucester, Clarke, Frederick, Rappahannock, 

Spotsylvania, Warren, and Winchester. 

Projected Impact on Employment. The proposed extension of 

the time to re-administer the uniform assessment tool would 

provide some staff-time savings to the LDSS. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. The proposed 

amendments would not affect the use and value of private 

property. 

Real Estate Development Costs. The proposed amendments 

would not affect real estate development costs. 

Small Businesses: 

Definition. Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.04 of the Code of Virginia, 

small business is defined as "a business entity, including its 

affiliates, that (i) is independently owned and operated and (ii) 

employs fewer than 500 full-time employees or has gross 

annual sales of less than $6 million." 

Costs and Other Effects. The proposed amendments would not 

have costs or other effects on small businesses. 

Alternative Method that Minimizes Adverse Impact. The 

proposed amendments would not have adverse impacts on 

small businesses. 

Adverse Impacts: 

Businesses. The proposed amendments would not have 

adverse impacts on businesses. 

Localities. The proposed amendments would adversely affect 

following localities by increasing their share of costs to provide 

ADS payments to additional 123 cases across the 

Commonwealth: Fluvanna, Goochland, Lunenburg, 

Middlesex, Richmond County, Cumberland, Powhatan, King 

and Queen, Alleghany, Craig, Halifax, Mecklenburg, Nelson, 

Pittsylvania, Rockbridge, Shenandoah Valley, Bland, Floyd, 

Grayson, Giles, Radford, Washington, Gloucester, Clarke, 

Frederick, Rappahannock, Spotsylvania, Warren, and 

Winchester. 

Other Entities. The proposed amendments would increase the 

share of state funds to cover ADS payments to additional 123 

children. 

_________________________________________ 

1http://lis.virginia.gov/cgi-bin/legp604.exe?181+ful+CHAP0769 

Agency's Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The 

Department of Social Services concurs with the economic 

impact analysis prepared by the Department of Planning and 

Budget. 

Summary: 

The proposed amendments (i) require that additional daily 

supervision (ADS) payments be offered to all foster parents 

based on the needs of the child, regardless of whether the foster 

family is approved through a therapeutic foster care agency or 

local department of social services (LDSS); (ii) extend the 

amount of time permitted for the uniform rate assessment tool 

to be readministrated to six months prior to the establishment 

of adoption assistance; (iii) change the ADS payment amount 

for emergency placements to $1,120 monthly; (iv) incorporate 

the kinship guardianship assistance program; and (v) simplify, 

clarify, and update language to ensure the standards provide 

appropriate direction to the LDSS. 

http://lis.virginia.gov/cgi-bin/legp604.exe?181%20ful%20CHAP0769
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22VAC40-221-10. Definitions. 

The following words and terms when used in this chapter 

shall have the following meanings unless the context clearly 

indicates otherwise: 

"Additional daily supervision" or "ADS" means a child's need 

for increased supervision and support based on the identified 

needs of the child. ADS is the basis for determining if an 

enhanced maintenance payment to a foster parent or an 

adoptive parent entering into an adoption assistance agreement 

is needed. The need for ADS is also the basis for increased 

expectations for the child-placing agency and the foster parent 

or the adoptive parent prior to the finalization of the adoption 

in meeting the needs of the child. 

"Adoption assistance" means a money payment or services 

provided to adoptive parents on behalf of a child with special 

needs. 

"Additional daily supervision payment" or "ADS payment" 

means a money payment included as part of a foster care 

maintenance payment, adoption assistance payment, or kinship 

guardianship assistance payment for the child's need for 

increased supervision and support. 

"Adoption assistance agreement" means a written agreement, 

binding on the parties to the agreement, the department, and 

other relative agencies, between the local department of social 

services (LDSS) and the adoptive parent that is binding on both 

parties and includes maintenance and, when applicable, 

additional daily supervision, Medicaid, services and 

nonrecurring fees of a minor child that specifies the nature and 

the amount of any payments, services, and assistance to be 

provided under such agreement and stipulates that the 

agreement shall remain in effect regardless of the state in 

which the adoptive parents reside.  

"Adoptive placement" means the placement of a child for the 

purposes of adoption in a home with a signed adoptive 

placement agreement. 

"ADS emergency placement" means the sudden, unplanned, 

or unexpected placement of a child who needs immediate care 

in a foster home and the placement occurs prior to the agency 

obtaining adequate information regarding the child's needs. 

ADS emergency placements require the foster parent to 

provide increased supervision and support to ensure the child's 

safety. 

"Child-placing agency" means any person who places 

children in foster homes, adoptive homes, or independent 

living arrangements pursuant to § 63.2-1819 of the Code of 

Virginia or a local board that places children in foster homes 

or adoptive homes pursuant to § 63.2-900, 63.2-903, or 63.2-

1221 of the Code of Virginia. Officers, employees, or agents 

of the Commonwealth, or any locality, acting within the scope 

of their authority as such, who serve as or maintain a child-

placing agency, shall not be required to be licensed. 

"CRAFFT" means Community Resource, Adoptive, and 

Foster Family Training. CRAFFT specialists are available to 

local departments of social services to provide assistance 

regarding training for foster families. 

"Department" means the Virginia Department of Social 

Services. 

"Enhanced maintenance payment" means the payment made 

to a foster parent over and above the basic foster care 

maintenance payment or to an adoptive parent when the 

adoption assistance agreement is negotiated. It is based on the 

needs of the child for additional daily supervision as identified 

by the uniform rate assessment tool. 

"Foster care maintenance payment" means payments to cover 

the cost of food, clothing, shelter, daily supervision, school 

supplies, a child's personal incidentals, liability insurance with 

respect to a child, reasonable travel to the child's home for 

visitation, and reasonable travel for the child to remain in the 

school in which the child was enrolled at the time of placement. 

Additional daily supervision is included when supported by the 

identified and documented needs of the child. 

"Kinship guardianship assistance agreement" means a written 

agreement, binding on the parties to the agreement, between 

the agency and the prospective relative custodian of the minor 

child that specifies the nature and the amount of any payments 

and assistance to be provided under such agreement and 

stipulates that the agreement shall remain in effect regardless 

of the state in which the relative custodian resides. 

"Kinship guardianship assistance payment" means a money 

payment provided to a relative custodian on behalf of a child 

that was discharged from foster care to the relative's custody in 

accordance with the requirements of § 63.2-1305 of the Code 

of Virginia.  

"LDSS" means the local department of social services. 

"Licensed" means licensed child-placing agencies; entities 

licensed by the Department of Behavioral Health and 

Developmental Services; licensed behavioral health 

professionals, or behavioral health professionals working 

under the direct supervision of a licensed behavioral health 

professional. 

"Treatment foster care" or "TFC" means a community-based 

program where services are designed to address the special 

needs of children and families. Services to children and youth 

are delivered primarily by treatment foster parents who are 

trained, supervised, and supported by agency staff. Treatment 

is primarily foster family based. 

"Uniform rate assessment tool" means a department-

approved web-based tool to assess the child's behavioral, 

emotional, physical, and personal care needs to determine if an 

additional daily supervision payment is necessary to ensure the 

safety and well-being of the child.  
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22VAC40-221-20. Administration Utilization of the 

uniform rate assessment tool. 

A. A department approved uniform rate assessment tool shall 

be used to determine the additional daily supervision 

component, if any, of the foster care maintenance payment or, 

the adoption assistance payment, or the kinship guardianship 

assistance payment. Use of the rate assessment tool to assess 

the documented needs of the child shall be applied consistently 

consistent regardless of the child's maintenance funding 

source. 

1. The LDSS having care and responsibility for the child is 

responsible to ensure the assessment is completed for every 

child placed in a foster home, including both TFC homes and 

non-TFC homes. 

2. The LDSS having care and responsibility for the child is 

responsible to ensure the tool assessment is completed with 

input from a child-specific team of individuals who are 

knowledgeable about the child's characteristics. 

2. 3. The child-specific team shall include (i) the caseworker, 

(ii) foster or parent, adoptive parents parent, or relative 

custodian, and (iii) an individual trained to administer use 

the uniform rate assessment tool. Other individuals with 

knowledge of the child shall be invited to participate in the 

meeting or provide input about the child's needs. This shall 

may include family members and, the child as, if 

appropriate, other significant individuals in the child's social 

support network, the private child-placing agency staff 

involved in the care of the child, and other providers 

individuals providing care to the child. 

3. 4. LDSS staff or other public child-serving agency 

individuals may shall be trained in accordance with the 

department's Child and Family Services Manual, Chapter E 

Foster Care, Section 14, July 2011 to administer use the 

uniform rate assessment tool in assessing the child's 

documented needs. 

4. The child's assigned caseworker, foster or adoptive 

parents, or private agency staff shall not administer the tool 

5. Only trained LDSS staff who are not associated with the 

case shall use the uniform rate assessment tool to assess the 

child's documented needs. 

5. The rate assessment tool shall be administered according 

to the following criteria and in accordance with the 

department's Child and Family Services Manual, Chapter E 

Foster Care, Section 14, July 2011: 

a. If the child is to be placed in a TFC home; 

b. If the LDSS chooses to make enhanced maintenance 

payments for children in non-TFC homes;  

c. At the time an adoption assistance agreement is 

negotiated when the child's needs prior to negotiating and 

signing the agreement indicate a need for ADS. A re-

administration of the tool is not required if the adoption 

assistance agreement is signed within three months of a 

prior ADS assessment. 

6. The rate assessment tool shall be re-administered: 

a. When requested and there is evidence of significant 

behavioral, emotional, or medical changes and four or 

more weeks of additional support have become necessary 

to maintain the child in the home. 

(1) Once requested, the rate assessment tool must be 

administered within 14 calendar days. 

(2) If the rate assessment tool indicates a need for an 

increase or decrease in ADS, the increase or decrease takes 

effect on the first day of the subsequent month.  

b. No more often than quarterly for any child unless the 

previously stated criteria apply. 

c. A minimum of once per year. 

B. The child's need for additional daily supervision shall be 

assessed when: 

1. The child is placed in a TFC home; 

2. The child is placed in a non-TFC home; or 

3. An adoption assistance agreement or kinship guardianship 

assistance agreement is negotiated and the child's needs 

indicate a need for ADS prior to the negotiating and signing 

of the agreement. An assessment of the child's needs, 

through the use of the uniform rate assessment tool, is not 

required if the adoption assistance agreement or kinship 

guardianship assistance agreement is signed within the six 

months after the child's last assessment. 

C. A child's needs shall be re-assessed through the use of the 

uniform rate assessment tool for additional daily supervision 

payments for children in foster care, as follows: 

1. When requested by the foster parent and there is evidence 

of significant behavioral, emotional, or medical changes and 

four or more weeks of additional support have become 

necessary to maintain the child in the home. 

a. Once requested, the child's needs must be assessed 

through the use of the uniform rate assessment tool within 

14 calendar days. 

b. If the uniform rate assessment tool indicates a need for 

an increase or decrease in ADS, the increase or decrease 

takes effect on the first day of the subsequent month. 

2. At least annually, but no more often than once per quarter 

for any child unless the provisions of subdivision 1 of this 

subsection apply. 

D. The individual administering using the rate assessment 

tool shall: 

1. Consider all input from all sources regarding the 

emotional, behavioral, and medical characteristics of the 

child and will rate each item on the tool; 
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2. Make the final decision as to how to rate a child's 

characteristics based on the evidence as presented; 

3. Issue a final score on the tool within five business days of 

the meeting; and 

4. Share a copy of the scored tool with the foster or parent, 

adoptive parents parent, or relative custodian, and, if 

requested, review the tool assessment with them; and 

5. Inform the foster parent, adoptive parent, or relative 

custodian in writing of the right to appeal decisions relating 

to the ADS payments and the applicable appeal process. 

22VAC40-221-25. Determining the enhanced maintenance 

rate. (Repealed.) 

The child-specific team shall consider the services provided 

to the child that reduce or eliminate any direct additional 

supervision or support provided to the child by the foster parent 

and reduce the enhanced maintenance payment based on these 

services.  

22VAC40-221-30. Child-placing agency requirements for 

children in foster care. 

A. The child-placing agency that approved the foster care 

home shall have face-to-face contacts with the foster parents at 

least monthly. Child-placing agencies may contract with 

licensed providers to conduct the in-home contacts with the 

foster parent. 

B. Child-placing agencies shall have an appointed case 

worker on call and available to make face-to-face contact if 

necessary to provide services to the child and the foster family 

24 hours per day, seven days per week. 

1. Child-placing agencies may contract with licensed 

providers to perform this service. 

2. Supervisory consultation to the on-call worker shall be 

available 24 hours per day, seven days per week and may be 

a service obtained through a contract with a licensed 

provider. 

C. The child-placing agency shall monitor and document the 

contractor's performance if they choose it chooses to contract 

out the activities in subsections A and B of this section in 

accordance with the department's Child and Family Services 

Manual, Chapter E Foster Care, Section 14, July 2011. 

D. Additional training shall be provided to the foster parents 

receiving an enhanced maintenance additional daily 

supervision payment based on the needs of the foster parent 

and the children in care. Foster parents and, adoptive parents 

prior to finalization of the adoption, and prospective relative 

custodians receiving enhanced maintenance payments that 

include additional daily supervision shall be consulted on their 

training needs. Adoptive parents and prospective relative 

custodians shall be consulted on their training needs prior to 

finalization of the adoption or kinship guardianship. 

E. Foster parents receiving ADS payments shall be required 

to: 

1. Participate in and cooperate with the LDSS in developing 

the foster care plan; 

2. Participate in family partnership meetings and child and 

family team meetings; 

3. Participate in meetings as requested by the school or other 

service providers; 

4. Discuss with the agency and follow through on all services 

provided or expected of them to ensure the child's well-being 

and progress; 

5. Assume responsibility for managing the daily supervision 

and supportive tasks a child may need, including 

transportation to the child's appointments, visitation, school, 

and extra-curricular activities; 

6. Attend and participate in court hearings, therapy, or other 

appointments; and 

7. Accurately and consistently monitor and document the 

child's behaviors in the manner in which the LDSS has 

requested. 

F. Failure of the foster parent receiving ADS payments to 

comply with the requirements of this section may result in 

termination of the ADS payments, removal of the child from 

the foster care placement, or other action by the LDSS pursuant 

to federal and state law unless the foster parent is able to 

provide good cause as to why the foster parent is unable to 

perform any of these duties. 

E. G. The foster care service plans developed for a child for 

whom enhanced maintenance is additional daily supervision 

payments are paid shall include but not be limited to: 

1. Measurable goals, objectives, and strategies for the foster 

or parent, adoptive parent, or prospective relative custodian, 

and the child-placing agency in addressing the identified 

needs of the child; 

2. Provisions for providing training for the foster or parent, 

adoptive parents parent, or prospective relative custodian 

consistent with the identified needs of the child; 

3. Provisions for services to prevent placement disruption 

and maintain a stable placement; and 

4. The method developed jointly by the child-placing agency 

and the foster or parent, adoptive parent, or prospective 

relative custodian to document the child's progress. 

F. H. This section is does not applicable in cases where a 

apply after entry of the final order of adoption has been issued 

or final order from the court awarding custody to the relative 

custodian for kinship guardianship. 
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22VAC40-221-50. ADS payments for emergency placement 

foster care placements. 

Enhanced maintenance payments A. The additional daily 

supervision portion of the foster care maintenance payment for 

the initial emergency foster care placement of a child shall be 

based on a per diem not to exceed $1,600 $1,120 per month. 

1. B. The department may change the maximum per diem for 

initial emergency foster care placements upon approval from 

the State Board of Social Services. 

2. The enhanced maintenance payment per diem for the 

initial emergency placement includes the day the uniform 

rate assessment tool is administered to determine the on-

going enhanced maintenance rate. 

3. C. The uniform rate assessment tool shall be administered 

utilized to assess the child's needs within 60 calendar days of 

the initial emergency foster care placement of a child. 

22VAC40-221-70. Post-finalized adoptions. 

Enhanced maintenance Adoption assistance payments based 

in whole or in part on a child's need for additional daily 

supervision shall be made available to adoptive parents after 

the adoption has been finalized pursuant to the department's 

Child and Family Services Manual, Chapter E Foster Care, 

Section 17, April 2013. entry of the final order of adoption if 

the following criteria are met: 

1. The adoptive parent shall be required to either submit an 

application for renegotiation of their adoption assistance 

agreement. adoption assistance if there is not an adoption 

assistance agreement or submit a request to amend the 

existing adoption assistance agreement; 

2. The documented needs of the child shall be the basis for a 

decision to provide an enhanced maintenance payment or a 

services payment. All requests for adoption assistance shall 

be supported with documentation from a licensed 

professional. Failure to provide written supporting 

documentation from a licensed professional will result in 

denial of a request for adoption assistance or an amendment 

to an adoption assistance agreement; 

3. The uniform rate assessment tool shall be administered 

pursuant to 22VAC40-221-20; and 

3. Enhanced maintenance payments shall be documented in 

an 4. The adoption assistance payment is documented in an 

adoption assistance agreement or an adoption assistance 

agreement addendum if an adoption assistance agreement 

existed at the time of the request for an assessment of the 

child's need for additional daily supervision. 

22VAC40-221-80. Post-finalized kinship guardianship.  

Kinship guardianship assistance payments that are based in 

whole or in part on a child's need for additional daily 

supervision shall be made available to a relative custodian after 

custody is awarded by the court to the relative custodian if all 

of the following criteria are met: 

1. A valid kinship guardianship agreement that complies 

with the requirements of § 63.2-1305 of the Code of Virginia 

exists;  

2. The relative custodian has submitted a written request to 

amend the kinship guardianship assistance agreement; 

3. The documented needs of the child have been assessed 

using the uniform rate assessment tool, and based on that 

assessment, it is necessary to amend the kinship 

guardianship assistance agreement concerning additional 

daily supervision; and 

4. Any change to the kinship guardianship assistance 

agreement has been documented in a kinship guardianship 

assistance agreement addendum.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R18-5241; Filed April 13, 2021, 12:52 p.m. 
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Guidance Documents 

PUBLIC COMMENT OPPORTUNITY 

Pursuant to § 2.2-4002.1 of the Code of Virginia, a certified guidance document is subject to a 30-day public comment period 

after publication in the Virginia Register of Regulations and prior to the guidance document's effective date. During the public 

comment period, comments may be made through the Virginia Regulatory Town Hall website (http://www.townhall.virginia.gov) 

or sent to the agency contact. Under subsection C of § 2.2-4002.1, the effective date of the guidance document may be delayed 

for an additional period. The guidance document may also be withdrawn. 

The following guidance documents have been submitted for publication by the listed agencies for a public comment period. 

Online users of this issue of the Virginia Register of Regulations may click on the name of a guidance document to access it. 

Guidance documents are also available on the Virginia Regulatory Town Hall (http://www.townhall.virginia.gov) or from the 

agency contact or may be viewed at the Office of the Registrar of Regulations, 900 East Main Street, Richmond, Virginia 23219. 

STATE AIR POLLUTION CONTROL BOARD 

Title of Document: Air Permit Guidance for Air Curtain 

Incinerators. 

Public Comment Deadline: June 9, 2021. 

Effective Date: June 10, 2021. 

Agency Contact: Patrick Corbett, Department of 

Environmental Quality, 1111 East Main Street, Suite 1400, 

Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 698-4016, or email 

patrick.corbett@deq.virginia.gov. 

STATE BOARD OF EDUCATION 

Title of Document: Guidelines for the Neighborhood 

Assistance Act Tax Credit Program for Education. 

Public Comment Deadline: June 9, 2021. 

Effective Date: June 10, 2021. 

Agency Contact: Alex Mattera, Tax Credit Programs 

Coordinator, Department of Education, 101 North 14th Street, 

Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 225-3375, or email 

alex.mattera@doe.virginia.gov. 

DEPARTMENT OF ENVIRONMENTAL QUALITY 

Title of Document: Guidelines for the Virginia Litter 

Prevention and Recycling Grants. 

Public Comment Deadline: June 9, 2021. 

Effective Date: June 10, 2021. 

Agency Contact: Sanjay Thirunagari, Program Manager, 

Department of Environmental Quality, P.O. Box 1105, 

Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 698-4193, or email 

sanjay.thirunagari@deq.virginia.gov. 

STATE BOARD OF HEALTH 

Title of Document: Triennial Audit Requirement for Hospices 

and Home Care Organizations. 

Public Comment Deadline: June 9, 2021. 

Effective Date: June 10, 2021. 

Agency Contact: Rebekah E. Allen, Senior Policy Analyst, 

Virginia Department of Health, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 

401, Richmond, VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-2102, or 

email regulatorycomment@vdh.virginia.gov. 

DEPARTMENT OF MEDICAL ASSISTANCE 
SERVICES 

Title of Document: Dental Coverage for Medicaid Enrolled 

Adults (21 years of age and older). 

Public Comment Deadline: June 9, 2021. 

Effective Date: June 10, 2021. 

Agency Contact: Emily McClellan, Policy and Research, 

Department of Medical Assistance Services, 600 East Broad 

Street, Suite 1300, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 371-

6043, or email emily.mcclellan@dmas.virginia.gov. 

DEPARTMENT OF MOTOR VEHICLES 

Title of Document: Home-Schooled In-Car Driver Education 

Information Sheet. 

Public Comment Deadline: June 9, 2021. 

Effective Date: June 10, 2021. 

Agency Contact: Melissa K. Velazquez, Legislative Manager, 

Department of Motor Vehicles, 2300 West Broad Street, 

Richmond, VA 23220, telephone (804) 367-1844, or email 

melissa.velazquez@dmv.virginia.gov. 

SAFETY AND HEALTH CODES BOARD 

Title of Document: Consultation Policies and Procedures Manual. 

Public Comment Deadline: June 9, 2021. 

Effective Date: June 10, 2021. 

Agency Contact: Holly Trice, Attorney, Department of Labor 

and Industry, Main Street Centre, 600 East Main Street, 

Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 786-2641, or email 

holly.trice@doli.virginia.gov. 

https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title2.2/chapter40/section2.2-4002.1/
http://www.townhall.virginia.gov/
https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title2.2/chapter40/section2.2-4002.1/
http://www.townhall.virginia.gov/
https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/GetFile.cfm?File=C:/TownHall/docroot/GuidanceDocs_Proposed/440/GDoc_DEQ_4794_20210408.pdf
https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/GetFile.cfm?File=C:/TownHall/docroot/GuidanceDocs_Proposed/440/GDoc_DEQ_4794_20210408.pdf
mailto:patrick.corbett@deq.virginia.gov
https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/GetFile.cfm?File=C:/TownHall/docroot/GuidanceDocs_Proposed/201/GDoc_DOE_4799_20210420.pdf
https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/GetFile.cfm?File=C:/TownHall/docroot/GuidanceDocs_Proposed/201/GDoc_DOE_4799_20210420.pdf
mailto:alex.mattera@doe.virginia.gov
https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/GetFile.cfm?File=C:/TownHall/docroot/GuidanceDocs_Proposed/440/GDoc_DEQ_4795_20210409.pdf
https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/GetFile.cfm?File=C:/TownHall/docroot/GuidanceDocs_Proposed/440/GDoc_DEQ_4795_20210409.pdf
mailto:sanjay.thirunagari@deq.virginia.gov
https://www.vdh.virginia.gov/content/uploads/sites/96/2021/04/OLC-3003-G-Triennial-Audit-Requirement-for-Hospices-and-Home-Care-Organizations.pdf
https://www.vdh.virginia.gov/content/uploads/sites/96/2021/04/OLC-3003-G-Triennial-Audit-Requirement-for-Hospices-and-Home-Care-Organizations.pdf
mailto:regulatorycomment@vdh.virginia.gov
https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/GetFile.cfm?File=C:/TownHall/docroot/GuidanceDocs_Proposed/602/GDoc_DMAS_4800_20210420.pdf
https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/GetFile.cfm?File=C:/TownHall/docroot/GuidanceDocs_Proposed/602/GDoc_DMAS_4800_20210420.pdf
mailto:Emily.McClellan@dmas.virginia.gov
https://www.dmv.virginia.gov/documents/guidance/hs_3_revisions.pdf
https://www.dmv.virginia.gov/documents/guidance/hs_3_revisions.pdf
mailto:melissa.velazquez@dmv.virginia.gov
https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/GetFile.cfm?File=C:/TownHall/docroot/GuidanceDocs_Proposed/181/GDoc_DOLI_4798_20210415.pdf
mailto:holly.trice@doli.virginia.gov
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General Notices 

COMMISSION ON LOCAL GOVERNMENT 

Schedule for the Assessment of State and Federal 
Mandates on Local Governments 

Pursuant to the provisions of §§ 2.2-613 and 15.2-2903 of the 

Code of Virginia, the following schedule, established by the 

Commission on Local Government and approved by Secretary 

of Commerce and Trade R. Brian Ball and Governor Ralph S. 

Northam, represents the timetable that the listed executive 

agencies will follow in conducting assessments of certain state 

and federal mandates that they administer that are imposed on 

local governments. Such mandates are new (in effect for at 

least 24 months), newly identified, or have been significantly 

altered as to warrant a reassessment of the mandate (and have 

been in effect for 24 months). In conducting these assessments, 

agencies will follow the process established by Executive 

Order 58, which became effective October 11, 2007. These 

mandates are abstracted in the Catalog of State and Federal 

Mandates on Local Governments published by the 

Commission on Local Government. 

For further information contact Cody Anderson, Legislative 

Affairs and Boards Coordinator, Commission on Local 

Government, email cody.anderson@dhcd.virginia.gov, or 

telephone (804) 371-7054 or visit the commission's website at 

www.dhcd.virginia.gov. 

Approved by the Commission on March 25, 2021 

STATE AND FEDERAL MANDATES ON LOCAL GOVERNMENTS 

Approved Schedule of Assessment Periods – July 2021 through June 2022 

For Executive Agency Assessment of Cataloged Mandates 

AGENCY 

Mandate Short Title 

CATALOG NUMBER ASSESSMENT PERIOD 

AUDITOR OF PUBLIC ACCOUNTS 

  

Annual Audit LEG.APA002 03/01/22 to 05/31/22 

TAXATION, DEPARTMENT OF 

  

Real Property Tax Exemption or Deferrals for the Elderly and 

Disabled 

SFIN.TAX020 08/01/21 to 10/31/21 

Mobile Food Unit License Tax Exemption SFIN.TAX022 08/01/21 to 10/31/21 

BEHAVIORAL HEALTH AND DEVELOPMENTAL 

SERVICES, DEPARTMENT OF 

  

Data Collection on Children and Adolescents SHHR.DBHDS016 07/01/21 to 08/31/21 

SOCIAL SERVICES, DEPARTMENT OF 

  

Annual Credit Checks and Security Freeze for Children in Foster 

Care 

SHHR.DSS075 09/01/21 to 11/30/21 

EDUCATION, DEPARTMENT OF 

  

Minimum Standards for New Construction and Renovation of 

School Facilities 

SOE.DOE032 03/01/22 to 05/31/22 

School Crisis, Emergency Management, and Medical Emergency 

Response Plan 

SOE.DOE090 03/01/22 to 05/31/22 

Parents' Right to Review Anti-Bullying or Suicide Prevention AV 

Materials 

SOE.DOE161 03/01/22 to 05/31/22 

Electronic Room Partitions SOE.DOE162 03/01/22 to 05/31/22 

Modernization of Public School Buildings SOE.DOE163 03/01/22 to 05/31/22 

Safety Training for School Administrator SOE.DOE164 03/01/22 to 05/31/22 

mailto:cody.anderson@dhcd.virginia.gov
http://www.dhcd.virginia.gov/
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JUVENILE JUSTICE, DEPARTMENT OF 

  

Intake Officer Information Actions on Complaints SPSHS.DJJ011 07/01/21 to 09/30/21 

Intake Officer Action on Complaint Alleging Child in Need of 

Supervision 

SPSHS.DJJ012 09/01/21 to 11/30/21 

Intake Officer Notification to Commonwealth's Attorney SPSHS.DJJ013 11/01/21 to 12/31/21 

Intake Officer Report to School Superintendents SPSHS.DJJ014 01/01/22 to 03/31/22 

Intake Officer Response Regarding Detention Orders SPSHS.DJJ016 03/01/22 to 05/31/22 

DEPARTMENT OF MEDICAL ASSISTANCE 
SERVICES 

Intent to Amend the Virginia State Plan for Medical 
Assistance Pursuant to § 1902(a)(13) of the Social 

Security Act (USC § 1396a(a)(13)) - Create 
Additional Hospital Supplemental Payments 

The Virginia Department of Medical Assistance Services 

(DMAS) hereby affords the public notice of its intention to 

amend the Virginia State Plan for Medical Assistance to 

provide for changes to the Methods and Standards for 

Establishing Payment Rates — Inpatient Hospital, 12VAC30-

70. 

This notice is intended to satisfy the requirements of 42 CFR 

447.205 and of § 1902(a)(13) of the Social Security Act, 

42 USC § 1396a(a)(13). A copy of this notice is available for 

public review from Emily McClellan at the contact information 

provided at the end of this notice. 

DMAS is specifically soliciting input from stakeholders, 

providers, and beneficiaries on the potential impact of the 

proposed changes discussed in this notice. Comments or 

inquiries may be submitted, in writing, within 30 days of this 

notice publication to Emily McClellan and such comments are 

available for review at the same address. Comments may also 

be submitted, in writing, on the Virginia Regulatory Town Hall 

public comment forum at 

https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/generalnotice.cfm. 

In accordance with the 2021 Appropriations Act, Item 313 ZZ, 

DMAS will be making the following changes: 

Methods and Standards for Establishing Payment Rates-

Inpatient Hospital (12VAC30-70) 

The state plan is being revised to create additional hospital 

supplemental payments for freestanding children's hospitals 

with greater than 50% Medicaid utilization in 2009 to replace 

payments that have been reduced due to the federal regulation 

on the definition of uncompensated care costs effective June 2, 

2017. These new payments shall equal what would have been 

paid to the freestanding children's hospitals under the current 

disproportionate share hospital (DSH) formula without regard 

to the uncompensated care cost limit. These additional hospital 

supplemental payments shall take precedence over 

supplemental payments for private acute care hospitals. If the 

federal regulation is voided, DMAS shall continue DSH 

payments to the impacted hospitals and adjust the additional 

hospital supplemental payments authorized in this paragraph 

accordingly. 

There is no expected increase or decrease in annual aggregate 

expenditures related to this change. 

Contact Information: Emily McClellan, Regulatory Manager, 

Division of Policy and Research, Department of Medical 

Assistance Services, 600 East Broad Street, Suite 1300, 

Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 371-4300, FAX (804) 

786-1680. 

* * * 

Intent to Amend the Virginia State Plan for Medical 
Assistance Pursuant to § 1902(a)(13) of the Social 

Security Act (USC §1396a(a)(13)) - Remove 
Prohibition on Consumer-Directed Overtime 

The Virginia Department of Medical Assistance Services 

(DMAS) hereby affords the public notice of its intention to 

amend the Virginia State Plan for Medical Assistance to 

provide for changes to the Methods and Standards for 

Establishing Payment Rates — Other Types of Care 

(12VAC30-80). 

This notice is intended to satisfy the requirements of 42 CFR 

447.205 and of § 1902(a)(13) of the Social Security Act, 

42 USC § 1396a(a)(13). A copy of this notice is available for 

public review from Emily McClellan at the contact information 

provided at the end of this notice. 

This notice is available for public review on the Virginia 

Regulatory Town Hall public comment forum at 

https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/generalnotice.cfm. 

In accordance with the 2020 Special Session, Item 313 ZZZZ, 

DMAS will be removing the prohibition on overtime in 

consumer-directed services provided under the Early and 

Periodic Diagnostic and Treatment (EPSDT) Program. 

https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/Register/RegisterPublication/SectionEdit/3719/GeneralNotices/generalnotice.cfm
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/Register/RegisterPublication/SectionEdit/3719/GeneralNotices/generalnotice.cfm
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The total cost to remove the prohibition on overtime in the 

Commonwealth Coordinated Care Plus (CCC+) Waiver, the 

home and community based waivers, and EPSDT is 

$5,213,801 in state general funds and $6,009,750 in federal 

funds in federal fiscal year 2021. 

Contact Information: Emily McClellan, Regulatory Manager, 

Division of Policy and Research, Department of Medical 

Assistance Services, 600 East Broad Street, Suite 1300, 

Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 371-4300, FAX (804) 

786-1680. 

* * * 

Draft Community Mental Health Services Provider 
Manual Available for Review 

The draft Community Mental Health Services Manual 

Chapters II, IV, V, and VI and Appendices C, D, and E are now 

available on the Magellan website at 

https://www.magellanofvirginia.com/for-providers/provider-

tools/dmas-manuals-posted-for-public-comment/ for public 

comment until May 16, 2021. 

Contact Information: Emily McClellan, Regulatory Manager, 

Division of Policy and Research, Department of Medical 

Assistance Services, 600 East Broad Street, Suite 1300, 

Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 371-4300, FAX (804) 

786-1680. 

BOARD OF PHARMACY 

Notice on Scheduling Chemicals in Schedule I 

Pursuant to § 54.1-3443 D of the Code of Virginia, the Board 

of Pharmacy is giving notice of a public hearing to consider 

placement of chemical substances in Schedule I of the Drug 

Control Act. The virtual public hearing will be conducted at 

9:05 a.m. on June 4, 2021. Instructions will be included in the 

agenda for the board meeting, also on June 4. Public comment 

may also be submitted electronically or in writing prior to June 

4 to Caroline Juran, Executive Director, Board of Pharmacy 

via email at caroline.juran@dhp.virginia.gov. 

Pursuant to article § 54.1-3443 D of the Code of Virginia, The 

Department of Forensic Science (DFS) has identified three 

compounds for recommended inclusion into Schedule I of the 

Drug Control Act. 

Based on its chemical structure, the following compound is 

expected to have hallucinogenic properties. Compounds of this 

type have been placed in Schedule I (subdivision 3 of § 54.1-

3446 of the Code of Virginia) in previous legislative sessions. 

1. 4-chloro-alpha-methylaminobutiophenone (other name: 4-

chloro Buphedrone), its salts, isomers (optical, position, and 

geometric), and salts of isomers, whenever the existence of 

such salts, isomers, and salts of isomers is possible within the 

specific chemical designation. 

The following compounds are classified as cannabimimetic 

agents. Compounds of this type have been placed in Schedule 

I (subdivision 6 of § 54.1-3446 of the Code of Virginia) in 

previous legislative sessions. 

1. ethyl-2-[1-(5-fluoropentyl)-1H-indazole-3-carboxamido]-3-

methylbutanoate (other names: 5-fluoro-EMB-PINACA, 5F-

AEB), its salts, isomers, and salts of isomers whenever the 

existence of such salts, isomers, and salts of isomers is possible 

within the specific chemical designation.  

2. N-(1-amino-3,3-dimethyl-1-oxobutan-2-yl)-1-(pent-4-

enyl)indazole-3-carboxamide (other name: ADB-4en-

PINACA), its salts, isomers, and salts of isomers whenever the 

existence of such salts, isomers, and salts of isomers is possible 

within the specific chemical designation.  

Contact Information: Caroline Juran, RPh, Executive Director, 

Board of Pharmacy, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, 

Richmond, VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-4456, FAX (804) 

527-4472. 

STATE WATER CONTROL BOARD 

Proposed Enforcement Action for  
Empire Services Inc. 

An enforcement action has been proposed for Empire Services 

Inc. locations in Chesapeake, James City County (Toano), Isle 

of Wight County (Carrollton), Norfolk, Portsmouth, and 

Suffolk for violations of State Water Control Law. A 

description of the proposed action is available at the 

Department of Environmental Quality office listed or online at 

www.deq.virginia.gov. The staff contact person will accept 

comments by email, fax, or postal mail from May 10, 2021, to 

June 9, 2021. 

Contact Information: John Brandt, Department of 

Environmental Quality, Tidewater Regional Office, 5636 

Southern Boulevard, Virginia Beach, VA 23462, FAX (804) 

698-4178, or email john.brandt@deq.virginia.gov. 

Proposed Enforcement Action for  
MetroDuct Systems VA LLC 

An enforcement action has been proposed for MetroDuct 

Systems VA LLC for violations of the State Water Control 

Law and regulations at various linear construction project 

locations along University Boulevard, Hornbaker Road, and 

Nokesville Road, near the intersection of Prince William 

County Parkway (Route 234), in Manassas and Prince William 

County, Virginia. A description of the proposed action is 

available at the Department of Environmental Quality office 

listed or at https://www.deq.virginia.gov/permits-

regulations/public-notices/enforcement-orders. The staff 

contact person will accept comments by email or postal mail 

from May 11, 2021, through June 10, 2021. 

https://www.magellanofvirginia.com/for-providers/provider-tools/dmas-manuals-posted-for-public-comment/
https://www.magellanofvirginia.com/for-providers/provider-tools/dmas-manuals-posted-for-public-comment/
mailto:caroline.juran@dhp.virginia.gov
https://www.deq.virginia.gov/permits-regulations/public-notices/enforcement-orders
mailto:john.brandt@deq.virginia.gov
https://www.deq.virginia.gov/permits-regulations/public-notices/enforcement-orders
https://www.deq.virginia.gov/permits-regulations/public-notices/enforcement-orders
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Contact Information: Jim Datko, Regional Enforcement 

Specialist Senior, Department of Environmental Quality, 

Northern Regional Office, 13901 Crown Court, Woodbridge, 

VA 22193, or email james.datko@deq.virginia.gov. 

Public Comment Opportunity and Public Meeting for 
a TMDL Implementation Plan for Peak Creek 

watersheds in Pulaski County 

The Department of Environmental Quality (DEQ) seeks oral 

and written comments from interested persons on the 

development of a total maximum daily load (TMDL) 

implementation plan (IP) for bacteria TMDLs for the Peak 

Creek watersheds in Pulaski County. Peak Creek flows into 

Claytor Lake, a reservoir on the New River. These streams 

were listed as impaired on the Virginia's § 303(d) TMDL 

Priority List and Report due to violations of the state's water 

quality standard for bacteria. The following are the names of 

the bacteria "impaired" streams, the length of the impaired 

segment, and the reason for the impairment: Peak Creek, 1.83 

miles, bacteria; Peak Creek, 1.66 miles, bacteria; Peak Creek, 

0.51 miles, bacteria; Peak Creek, 0.39 miles, bacteria; Peak 

Creek, 2.10 miles, bacteria; Peak Creek, 2.10 miles, bacteria; 

Tract Fork, 1.24 miles, bacteria. The TMDL study for these 

stream impairments was completed in April 2004 and revised 

in August 2004 and can be found in the Fecal Bacteria and 

General Standard Total Maximum Daily Load Development 

for Peak Creek report. The report is available on request by 

contacting James Moneymaker at 

james.moneymaker@deq.virginia.gov. 

Section 62.1-44.19:7 C of the Code of Virginia requires the 

development of an IP for approved TMDLs. The IP should 

provide measurable goals and the date of expected 

achievement of water quality objectives. The IP should also 

include the corrective actions needed and their associated 

costs, benefits, and environmental impacts. 

Given the existing State of Emergency related to the COVID-

19 pandemic, this meeting will be held entirely virtually. The 

URL to register for the virtual meeting is provided at the end 

of this notice. At this meeting, development of the IP to restore 

water quality in the Peak Creek watershed will be discussed, 

and citizens will learn how they can be part of the water quality 

improvement process. 

Peak Creek TMDL Implementation Plan First Public Meeting: 

Tuesday, May 11, 2021, from 6 p.m. to 8 p.m. 

This meeting will be held virtually. Please register in advance 

using the link: 

Registration URL: https://attendee.gotowebinar.com/register/ 

3935635215561379343 

Webinar ID: 860-228-419 

For technical assistance during the meeting call or email Lucy 

Smith, telephone (540) 562-6718, or email 

lucy.smith@deq.virginia.gov. 

Written comments are accepted by email, fax, or postal mail. 

The 30-day public comment period on the information 

presented at the meeting will begin on May 11, 2021, and end 

June 11, 2021. Questions or information requests should be 

addressed to Karen Kline with Virginia Tech Biological 

Systems Engineering. Written comments and inquiries should 

include the name, address, and telephone number of the person 

submitting the comments and should be sent to Karen Kline, 

Virginia Tech Biological Systems Engineering, 400 Seitz Hall, 

Virginia Tech 155 Ag Quad Lane, Blacksburg, VA 24061, 

telephone (540) 231-0094, or email klinek@vt.edu. 

In the event that the Governor's State of Emergency is lifted, 

the meeting will be held on the same date and time at Pulaski 

Municipal Building, 42 1st Street, NW, Second Floor, Pulaski, 

VA. 

Contact Information: Karen Kline, Virginia Tech Biological 

Systems Engineering, 400 Seitz Hall, Virginia Tech 155 Ag 

Quad Lane, Blacksburg, Virginia 24061, telephone (540) 231-

0094, or email klinek@vt.edu. 

Public Comment Opportunity and Public Meeting for 
Sand Branch TMDL Development in Loudoun and 

Fairfax Counties 

The Department of Environmental Quality (DEQ) seeks 

written and oral comments from interested persons on the 

benthic stressor analysis report and the pollutants for which 

total maximum daily loads (TMDLs) will be developed to 

address an aquatic life use impairment for Sand Branch in 

Loudoun and Fairfax Counties. Biological monitoring data 

collected by the Virginia Department of Environmental 

Quality (DEQ) have shown that Sand Branch does not meet 

Virginia's water quality standard for aquatic life use due to 

poor health in the benthic biological communities. The report 

identifies the most probable stressor contributing to the poor 

health of the benthic community and which of those pollutants 

are considered for TMDL development. 

Section 303(d) of the Clean Water Act and § 62.1-44.19:7 C of 

the State Water Control Law require DEQ to develop TMDLs 

for pollutants responsible for each impaired water contained in 

Virginia's § 303(d) TMDL Priority List and Report. A 

component of a TMDL is the wasteload allocation (WLA); 

therefore, this notice is provided pursuant to § 2.2-4006 A 14 

of the Administrative Process Act for any future adoption of 

the TMDL WLAs. 

Given the existing State of Emergency related to the COVID-

19 pandemic, this meeting will be held entirely virtually. A 

computer or a telephone are necessary to participate virtually. 

All meeting attendees are encouraged to access the meeting 

using a computer to view the meeting visuals. Attendees may 

mailto:james.datko@deq.virginia.gov
mailto:james.moneymaker@deq.virginia.gov
https://attendee.gotowebinar.com/register/3935635215561379343
https://attendee.gotowebinar.com/register/3935635215561379343
mailto:lucy.smith@deq.virginia.gov
file://///deqfile1/brro/common/WATER%20MONITORING,%20ASSESSMENT,%20PLANNING%20&%20TMDLS/TMDL/TMDL%20IP/IP_in%20progress/Peak%20Creek/Public%20Notice/klinek@vt.edu
mailto:klinek@vt.edu
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also use a telephone for audio and a computer for visual to 

avoid possible interruptions in computer audio. Although the 

use of a telephone for audio only participation is possible, since 

the meeting will rely on visuals, audio only participation is 

discouraged. The webinar link to register for the virtual 

meeting is provided at the end of this notice. Once registered 

for the meeting, registrants will receive an email with the URL 

and telephone information to participate in the meeting. If 

meeting attendees experience any interruption in the meeting 

broadcast, they should call the technical support line that is also 

provided at the end of this notice. 

The second public meeting on the development of the TMDL 

to address the General Standard (Benthics) for this segment 

will be held on Wednesday, May 26, 2021, from 4:30 p.m. to 

6 p.m. To register for this virtual meeting and to receive access 

information, use this link: 

https://attendee.gotowebinar.com/register/1950914473035055

886 

For technical assistance during the meeting call (703) 583-

3906 

In the event that the Governor's State of Emergency is lifted, 

the meeting will be held on the same date and time at DEQ 

Northern Regional Office, 13901 Crown Court, Woodbridge, 

VA 22193. 

The public comment period will begin May 27, 2021, and end 

June 28, 2021. 

Information on the development of the TMDLs for the 

impairments is available upon request. Questions or 

information requests should be addressed to the DEQ contact 

person listed. Please note, all written comments should include 

the name, address, and telephone number of the person 

submitting the comments and should be sent to the DEQ 

contact person listed. 

Contact Information: Sarah Sivers, Department of 

Environmental Quality, Northern Regional Office, 13901 

Crown Court, Woodbridge, VA 22193, telephone (703) 583-

3898, FAX (804) 698-4178, or email 

sarah.sivers@deq.virginia.gov. 

VIRGINIA CODE COMMISSION 

Notice to State Agencies 

Contact Information: Mailing Address: Virginia Code 

Commission, Pocahontas Building, 900 East Main Street, 8th 

Floor, Richmond, VA 23219; Telephone: (804) 698-1810; 

Email: varegs@dls.virginia.gov. 

Meeting Notices: Section 2.2-3707 C of the Code of Virginia 

requires state agencies to post meeting notices on their 

websites and on the Commonwealth Calendar at 

https://commonwealthcalendar.virginia.gov. 

Cumulative Table of Virginia Administrative Code 

Sections Adopted, Amended, or Repealed: A table listing 

regulation sections that have been amended, added, or repealed 

in the Virginia Register of Regulations since the regulations 

were originally published or last supplemented in the print 

version of the Virginia Administrative Code is available at 

http://register.dls.virginia.gov/documents/cumultab.pdf. 

Filing Material for Publication in the Virginia Register of 

Regulations: Agencies use the Regulation Information System 

(RIS) to file regulations and related items for publication in the 

Virginia Register of Regulations. The Registrar's office works 

closely with the Department of Planning and Budget (DPB) to 

coordinate the system with the Virginia Regulatory Town Hall. 

RIS and Town Hall complement and enhance one another by 

sharing pertinent regulatory information. 

https://attendee.gotowebinar.com/register/1950914473035055886
https://attendee.gotowebinar.com/register/1950914473035055886
mailto:Sarah.Sivers@deq.virginia.gov
file://///legmain/sysdata/dlsdata/CODEREGS/regispub/Vol33/Iss04/varegs@dls.virginia.gov
https://commonwealthcalendar.virginia.gov/
http://register.dls.virginia.gov/documents/cumultab.pdf
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Errata 

BOARD OF HOUSING AND COMMUNITY 
DEVELOPMENT 

Title of Regulation: 13VAC5-51. Virginia Statewide Fire 

Prevention Code. 

Publication: 37:14 VA.R. 1718-1880 March 1, 2021. 

Correction to Final Regulation: 

Page 1853, 13VAC5-51-150 P, 5605.5,  

line 5, after "section" insert " [ ."  

line 6, beginning of line, before "Exception:"  delete " [ "  

Page 1876, 13VAC5-51-154.8, catchline, after 13VAC5-51-

154.8. delete "8." 

Page 1877, 13VAC5-51-154.9, catchline, after 13VAC5-51-

154.9. delete "9." 

VA.R. Doc. No. R19-5886; Filed April 27, 2021, 3:05 p.m. 

STATE BOARD OF SOCIAL SERVICES 

Title of Regulation: 22VAC40-185. Standards for Licensed 

Child Day Centers. 

Publication: 37:17 VA.R. 2457-2480 April 12, 2021. 

Correction to Final Regulation: 

Page 2471, 22VAC40-185-320 A, line 1, after "shall" strike 

"be" 

VA.R. Doc. No. R16-4596; Filed April 21, 2021, 9:07 a.m. 
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