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REGISTER INFORMATION PAGE 

THE VIRGINIA REGISTER OF REGULATIONS is an official state 

publication issued every other week throughout the year. Indexes are published 

quarterly, and are cumulative for the year. The Virginia Register has several 

functions. The new and amended sections of regulations, both as proposed and 

as finally adopted, are required by law to be published in the Virginia Register. 

In addition, the Virginia Register is a source of other information about state 

government, including petitions for rulemaking, emergency regulations, 

executive orders issued by the Governor, and notices of public hearings on 

regulations. 

ADOPTION, AMENDMENT, AND REPEAL OF REGULATIONS 

Unless exempted by law, an agency wishing to adopt, amend, or repeal 

regulations must follow the procedures in the Administrative Process Act (§ 

2.2-4000 et seq. of the Code of Virginia). Typically, this includes first 

publishing in the Virginia Register a notice of intended regulatory action; a 

basis, purpose, substance and issues statement; an economic impact analysis 

prepared by the Department of Planning and Budget; the agency’s response to 

the economic impact analysis; a summary; a notice giving the public an 

opportunity to comment on the proposal; and the text of the proposed 

regulation. 

Following publication of the proposed regulation in the Virginia Register, the 

promulgating agency receives public comments for a minimum of 60 days. 

The Governor reviews the proposed regulation to determine if it is necessary 

to protect the public health, safety, and welfare, and if it is clearly written and 

easily understandable. If the Governor chooses to comment on the proposed 

regulation, his comments must be transmitted to the agency and the Registrar 

of Regulations no later than 15 days following the completion of the 60-day 

public comment period. The Governor’s comments, if any, will be published 

in the Virginia Register. Not less than 15 days following the completion of the 

60-day public comment period, the agency may adopt the proposed regulation. 

The Joint Commission on Administrative Rules or the appropriate standing 

committee of each house of the General Assembly may meet during the 

promulgation or final adoption process and file an objection with the Registrar 

and the promulgating agency. The objection will be published in the Virginia 

Register. Within 21 days after receipt by the agency of a legislative objection, 

the agency shall file a response with the Registrar, the objecting legislative 

body, and the Governor. 

When final action is taken, the agency again publishes the text of the 

regulation as adopted, highlighting all changes made to the proposed 

regulation and explaining any substantial changes made since publication of 

the proposal. A 30-day final adoption period begins upon final publication in 

the Virginia Register. 

The Governor may review the final regulation during this time and, if he 

objects, forward his objection to the Registrar and the agency. In addition to 

or in lieu of filing a formal objection, the Governor may suspend the effective 

date of a portion or all of a regulation until the end of the next regular General 

Assembly session by issuing a directive signed by a majority of the members 

of the appropriate legislative body and the Governor. The Governor’s 

objection or suspension of the regulation, or both, will be published in the 

Virginia Register. 

If the Governor finds that the final regulation contains changes made after 

publication of the proposed regulation that have substantial impact, he may 

require the agency to provide an additional 30-day public comment period on 

the changes. Notice of the additional public comment period required by the 

Governor will be published in the Virginia Register. Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.06 

of the Code of Virginia, any person may request that the agency solicit 

additional public comment on certain changes made after publication of the 

proposed regulation. The agency shall suspend the regulatory process for 30 

days upon such request from 25 or more individuals, unless the agency 

determines that the changes have minor or inconsequential impact. 

A regulation becomes effective at the conclusion of the 30-day final adoption 

period, or at any other later date specified by the promulgating agency, unless 

(i) a legislative objection has been filed, in which event the regulation, unless 

withdrawn, becomes effective on the date specified, which shall be after the 

expiration of the 21-day objection period; (ii) the Governor exercises his 

authority to require the agency to provide for additional public comment, in 

which event the regulation, unless withdrawn, becomes effective on the date 

specified, which shall be after the expiration of the period for which the 

Governor has provided for additional public comment; (iii) the Governor and 

the General Assembly exercise their authority to suspend the effective date of 

a regulation until the end of the next regular legislative session; or (iv) the 

agency suspends the regulatory process, in which event the regulation, unless 

withdrawn, becomes effective on the date specified, which shall be after the 

expiration of the 30-day public comment period and no earlier than 15 days 

from publication of the readopted action. 

A regulatory action may be withdrawn by the promulgating agency at any 

time before the regulation becomes final. 

FAST-TRACK RULEMAKING PROCESS 

Section 2.2-4012.1 of the Code of Virginia provides an alternative to the 

standard process set forth in the Administrative Process Act for regulations 

deemed by the Governor to be noncontroversial. To use this process, the 

Governor's concurrence is required and advance notice must be provided to 

certain legislative committees. Fast-track regulations become effective on the 

date noted in the regulatory action if fewer than 10 persons object to using the 

process in accordance with § 2.2-4012.1. 

EMERGENCY REGULATIONS 

Pursuant to § 2.2-4011 of the Code of Virginia, an agency may adopt 

emergency regulations if necessitated by an emergency situation or when 

Virginia statutory law or the appropriation act or federal law or federal 

regulation requires that a regulation be effective in 280 days or fewer from its 

enactment. In either situation, approval of the Governor is required. The 

emergency regulation is effective upon its filing with the Registrar of 

Regulations, unless a later date is specified per § 2.2-4012 of the Code of 

Virginia. Emergency regulations are limited to no more than 18 months in 

duration; however, may be extended for six months under the circumstances 

noted in § 2.2-4011 D. Emergency regulations are published as soon as 

possible in the Virginia Register and are on the Register of Regulations website 

at register.dls.virgina.gov. 

During the time the emergency regulation is in effect, the agency may 

proceed with the adoption of permanent regulations in accordance with the 

Administrative Process Act. If the agency chooses not to adopt the regulations, 

the emergency status ends when the prescribed time limit expires. 

STATEMENT 

The foregoing constitutes a generalized statement of the procedures to be 

followed. For specific statutory language, it is suggested that Article 2 (§ 2.2-

4006 et seq.) of Chapter 40 of Title 2.2 of the Code of Virginia be examined 

carefully. 

CITATION TO THE VIRGINIA REGISTER 

The Virginia Register is cited by volume, issue, page number, and date. 34:8 

VA.R. 763-832 December 11, 2017, refers to Volume 34, Issue 8, pages 763 

through 832 of the Virginia Register issued on  

December 11, 2017. 

The Virginia Register of Regulations is published pursuant to Article 6 (§ 2.2-

4031 et seq.) of Chapter 40 of Title 2.2 of the Code of Virginia. 

Members of the Virginia Code Commission: John S. Edwards, Chair; 

Marcus B. Simon, Vice Chair; Ward L. Armstrong; Nicole Cheuk; Rita 

Davis; Leslie L. Lilley; Jennifer L. McClellan; Christopher R. Nolen; Don 

L. Scott, Jr.; Charles S. Sharp; Samuel T. Towell; Malfourd W. Trumbo. 

Staff of the Virginia Register: Karen Perrine, Registrar of Regulations; 

Anne Bloomsburg, Assistant Registrar; Nikki Clemons, Regulations 

Analyst; Rhonda Dyer, Publications Assistant; Terri Edwards, Senior 

Operations Staff Assistant. 

https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/2.2-4011/
https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/2.2-4011/
http://register.dls.virgina.gov/
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PUBLICATION SCHEDULE AND DEADLINES 

June 2021 through July 2022 

Volume: Issue Material Submitted By Noon* Will Be Published On 

37:22 June 2, 2021 June 21, 2021 

37:23 June 16, 2021 July 5, 2021 

37:24 June 30, 2021 July 19, 2021 

37:25 July 14, 2021 August 2, 2021 

37:26 July 28, 2021 August 16, 2021 

38:1 August 11, 2021 August 30, 2021 

38:2 August 25, 2021 September 13, 2021 

38:3 September 8, 2021 September 27, 2021 

38:4 September 22, 2021 October 11, 2021 

38:5 October 6, 2021 October 25, 2021 

38:6 October 20, 2021 November 8, 2021 

38:7 November 3, 2021 November 22, 2021 

38:8 November 15, 2021 (Monday) December 6, 2021 

38:9 December 1, 2021 December 20, 2021 

38:10 December 17, 2021 January 3, 2022 

38:11 December 31, 2021 January 17, 2022 

38:12 January 14, 2022 January 31, 2022 

38:13 January 26, 2022 February 14, 2022 

38:14 February 9, 2022 February 28, 2022 

38:15 February 23, 2022 March 14, 2022 

38:16 March 9, 2022 March 28, 2022 

38:17 March 23, 2022 April 11, 2022 

38:18 April 6, 2022 April 25, 2022 

38:19 April 20, 2022 May 9, 2022 

38:20 May 4, 2022 May 23, 2022 

38:21 May 18, 2022 June 6, 2022 

38:22 June 1, 2022 June 20, 2022 

38:23 June 15, 2022 July 4, 2022 

*Filing deadlines are Wednesdays unless otherwise specified. 
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PETITIONS FOR RULEMAKING 

TITLE 18. PROFESSIONAL AND 
OCCUPATIONAL LICENSING 

BOARD OF OPTOMETRY 

Initial Agency Notice 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC105-20. Regulations Governing 

the Practice of Optometry. 

Statutory Authority: §§ 54.1-2400 and 54.1-3223 of the Code 

of Virginia. 

Name of Petitioner: Weston Pack. 

Nature of Petitioner's Request: To add an investigative 

ophthalmic drop to the approved formulary of drugs that may 

be prescribed by an optometrist. 

Agency Plan for Disposition of Request: In accordance with 

Virginia law, the petition has been filed with the Registrar of 

Regulations and will be published on June 7, 2021. Comment 

on the petition may be sent by email or postal mail or posted 

on the Virginia Regulatory Town Hall at 

www.townhall.virginia.gov. Public comment will be requested 

until July 7, 2021. Following receipt of all comments on the 

petition to amend regulations, the board will decide whether to 

make any changes to the regulatory language. This matter will 

be on the board's agenda for its next meeting scheduled for July 

16, 2021, and the petitioner will be informed of the board's 

decision after that meeting. 

Public Comment Deadline: July 7, 2021. 

Agency Contact: Leslie L. Knachel, Executive Director, Board 

of Optometry, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, Richmond, VA 

23233, telephone (804) 597-4130, or email 

leslie.knachel@dhp.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. PFR21-34; Filed May 6, 2021, 12:15 p.m. 

BOARD OF PHARMACY 

Initial Agency Notice 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC110-20. Regulations Governing 

the Practice of Pharmacy. 

Statutory Authority: §§ 54.1-2400 and 54.1-3307 of the Code 

of Virginia. 

Name of Petitioner: Courtney Fuller. 

Nature of Petitioner's Request: To amend 18VAC110-20-460 

and 18VAC110-20-490 to allow (i) a pharmacist at a central 

distribution company to verify Schedule VI drugs to be placed 

in an automated dispensing device (ADD) prior to delivery to 

the receiving hospital and (ii) pharmacy technicians at the 

hospital to load the drugs directly into the ADD without further 

verification by a pharmacist at the hospital. 

Agency Plan for Disposition of Request: In accordance with 

Virginia law, the petition has been filed with the Registrar of 

Regulations and will be published on June 7, 2021. Comment 

on the petition may be sent by email or postal mail or posted 

on the Virginia Regulatory Town Hall at 

www.townhall.virginia.gov. Public comment will be requested 

until July 7, 2021. Following receipt of all comments on the 

petition to amend regulations, the board will decide whether to 

make any changes to the regulatory language in Regulations 

Governing the Practice of Pharmacy. This matter will be on the 

board's agenda for its next meeting following the close of 

comment. 

Public Comment Deadline: July 7, 2021. 

Agency Contact: Caroline Juran, RPh, Executive Director, 

Board of Pharmacy, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, 

Richmond, VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-4456, or email 

caroline.juran@dhp.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. PFR21-33; Filed May 6, 2021, 9:56 a.m. 

http://www.townhall.virginia.gov/
mailto:leslie.knachel@dhp.virginia.gov
http://www.townhall.virginia.gov/
mailto:caroline.juran@dhp.virginia.gov
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PERIODIC REVIEWS AND SMALL BUSINESS IMPACT REVIEWS 

TITLE 1. ADMINISTRATION 

STATE BOARD OF ELECTIONS 

Agency Notice 

Pursuant to Executive Order 14 (as amended July 16, 2018) 

and §§ 2.2-4007.1 and 2.2-4017 of the Code of Virginia, the 

following regulations are undergoing a periodic review and a 

small business impact review: 1VAC20-10, Public 

Participation Guidelines; 1VAC20-20, General 

Administration; 1VAC20-40, Voter Registration; 

1VAC20-45, Absent Military and Overseas Voters; 

1VAC20-50, Candidate Qualification; 1VAC20-60, 

Election Administration; 1VAC20-70, Absentee Voting; 

1VAC20-80, Recounts and Contested Elections; and 

1VAC20-90, Campaign Finance and Political 

Advertisements. The review of these regulations will be 

guided by the principles in Executive Order 14 (as amended 

July 16, 2018). The purpose of this review is to determine 

whether each regulation should be repealed, amended, or 

retained in its current form. Public comment is sought on the 

review of any issue relating to these regulations, including 

whether each regulation (i) is necessary for the protection of 

public health, safety, and welfare or for the economical 

performance of important governmental functions; (ii) 

minimizes the economic impact on small businesses in a 

manner consistent with the stated objectives of applicable law; 

and (iii) is clearly written and easily understandable. 

Public comment period begins June 7, 2021, and ends June 28, 

2021. 

Comments must include the commenter's name and address 

(physical or email) information in order to receive a response 

to the comment from the agency. Following the close of the 

public comment period, a report of both reviews will be posted 

on the Virginia Regulatory Town Hall and published in the 

Virginia Register of Regulations. 

Contact Information: Ashley Coles, Agency Regulatory 

Coordinator, Department of Elections, Washington Building, 

1100 Bank Street, First Floor, Richmond, VA 23219. 

TITLE 12. HEALTH 

STATE BOARD OF HEALTH 

Report of Findings 

Pursuant to §§ 2.2-4007.1 and 2.2-4017 of the Code of 

Virginia, the State Board of Health conducted a periodic 

review and a small business impact review of 12VAC5-600, 

Waterworks Operation Fee, and determined that this 

regulation should be amended. 

The Waterworks Operation Fee regulation meets the criteria 

set out in Executive Order 14. The regulation is necessary for 

the protection of public health. The waterworks operation fees 

help provide funding to implement Virginia's drinking water 

program (Public Water Supplies, Article 2 (§ 32.1-167 et seq.) 

of Chapter 6 of Title 32.1 of the Code of Virginia), which 

provides oversight and technical and financial assistance to 

more than 2,800 waterworks in the Commonwealth serving 

more than two-thirds of Virginia's population. The Virginia 

Department of Health (VDH) ensures waterworks have the 

technical, managerial, and financial capacity to consistently 

and reliably provide water that meets drinking water quality 

standards, as those standards are established in the National 

Primary Drinking Water Regulations, 40 CFR Part 141, and 

the Waterworks Regulations, 12VAC5-590. The regulation is 

clearly written and easily understandable. The Waterworks 

Operation Fee regulation uses common, everyday language 

that is readily understandable to the regulated entities. No 

public comments were received concerning the ability to 

understand the regulation. 

The Waterworks Operation Fee regulation is an important 

component to the operation of the drinking water program and 

allows VDH to provide technical and regulatory assistance to 

all waterworks, that is, community, nontransient 

noncommunity, and transient noncommunity, large and small, 

across the Commonwealth. As such, VDH believes that the 

financial burden should be shared by waterworks in a more 

equitable manner. VDH intends to submit a Notice of Intended 

Regulatory Action and engage stakeholders to amend the 

Waterworks Operation Fee regulation. 

Continuing need. Some small business owners also operate 

waterworks and provide drinking water to customers. A well-

regulated drinking water oversight program helps protect 

public health of customers to these businesses by providing 

technical assistance to small business owners who operate 

waterworks and helping them prevent waterborne disease 

outbreaks within their waterworks. 

Public complaints and comments. VDH received three 

comments. All comments raised issues of equity to support the 

drinking water program. The law and regulations place the 

greatest financial burden on waterworks that serve the largest 

number of consumers. 

Complexity of the regulation. This regulation has been in effect 

with no complaints about complexities. 

Federal laws. The regulation complements the federal Safe 

Drinking Water Act by helping provide for necessary funding 

to maintain the drinking water program in Virginia. 

Evaluation of regulation. The regulation is evaluated on an 

ongoing basis to ensure that its effect on small businesses is 

fair and properly administered. However, as noted in the public 

comments, the regulated community does not uniformly feel 

the fee is equitably applied among all waterworks that are 

subject to and benefit from the technical services VDH 

provides through the drinking water program. VDH will 

engage stakeholders and the regulated community to review 
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and propose amendments to the Waterworks Operation Fee 

regulation. 

Contact Information: Nelson Daniel, Policy and Program 

Director, Office of Drinking Water, Virginia Department of 

Health, 109 Governor Street, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone 

(804) 864-7210. 

TITLE 18. PROFESSIONAL AND 
OCCUPATIONAL LICENSING 

BOARD OF PSYCHOLOGY 

Report of Findings 

Pursuant to §§ 2.2-4007.1 and 2.2-4017 of the Code of 

Virginia, the Board of Psychology conducted a periodic review 

and a small business impact review of 18VAC125-30, 

Regulations Governing the Certification of Sex Offender 

Treatment Providers, and determined that this regulation 

should be amended. Upon recommendation from the 

Regulatory Advisory Panel, the Board of Psychology decided 

to amend the regulation using a fast-track rulemaking action. 

The fast-track regulatory action to amend 18VAC125-30, 

which is published in this issue of the Virginia Register, serves 

as the report of findings. 

Contact Information: Jaime Hoyle, Executive Director, Board 

of Psychology, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, Richmond, 

VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-4406, FAX (804) 327-4435, 

or email jaime.hoyle@dhp.virginia.gov. 
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NOTICES OF INTENDED REGULATORY ACTION 

TITLE 6. CRIMINAL JUSTICE AND 
CORRECTIONS 

CRIMINAL JUSTICE SERVICES BOARD 

Notice of Intended Regulatory Action 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 2.2-4007.01 of the 

Code of Virginia that the Criminal Justice Services Board 

intends to consider amending 6VAC20-172, Regulations 

Relating to Private Security Services Businesses; 6VAC20-

173, Regulations Relating to Private Security Services 

Training Schools; 6VAC20-174, Regulations Relating to 

Private Security Services Registered Personnel; 6VAC20-

230, Regulations Relating to Special Conservator of the 

Peace; 6VAC20-250, Regulations Relating to Property and 

Surety Bail Bondsmen; and 6VAC20-260, Regulations 

Relating to Bail Enforcement Agents. The purpose of the 

proposed action is to amend and revise the fee schedules 

associated with these regulations. The fee schedules have not 

been amended since 2003, 2004, 2008, and 2009, respectively. 

The proposed fee amendments are primarily based upon 

inflation since this time, as many have not been revised in well 

over 10 years. The Department of Criminal Justice Services 

(DCJS) manages seven programs within the Division of 

Licensure and Regulatory Services (DLRS), therefore the fee 

schedule does not accurately reflect the costs that would be 

required if DCJS had established an operation that was solely 

for each program. Each program enjoys an economy of scale 

by the DLRS managing all seven programs under its umbrella. 

Instead of each program operation having its own management 

team, call center, application processors, investigators, 

adjudication unit, and other necessary program support 

aspects. DLRS provides all of these services for all seven 

programs, thus reducing the costs for all seven programs. The 

current issue is that the seven programs are not generating 

sufficient feeds for DLRS to operate at the desired level. DCJS 

has to augment DLRS by providing services and support that 

DLRS cannot fund. Neither DCJS nor DLRS can continue to 

operate in this manner, as DLRS is required by the Code of 

Virginia to generate the fees necessary to run the programs. In 

addition, DLRS is operating without an inadequate amount of 

investigators, adjudication personnel, customer service 

personnel, application processors, and other necessary 

personnel for the DLRS to operate at the desired level of 

service. DLRS is also in the process of updating its databases 

and online systems to meet constituent demand and needs 

additional funding for this process in order to maintain 

adequate and efficient IT support for the systems and databases 

going forward. 

The agency does not intend to hold a public hearing on the 

proposed action after publication in the Virginia Register. 

Statutory Authority: §§ 9.1-102 and 9.1-141 of the Code of 

Virginia (6VAC20-172, 6VAC20-173, 6VAC20-174) 

§§ 9.1-102 and 9.1-150.2 of the Code of Virginia (6VAC20-230) 

§§ 9.1-102 and 9.1-185.2 of the Code of Virginia (6VAC20-250) 

§§ 9.1-102 and 9.1-186.2 of the Code of Virginia (6VAC20-260) 

Public Comment Deadline: July 7, 2021. 

Agency Contact: Kristi Shalton, Law Enforcement Program 

Coordinator, Department of Criminal Justice Services, 1100 

Bank Street, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 786-7801, 

FAX (804) 786-0410, or email 

kristi.shalton@dcjs.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R21-6570; Filed May 6, 2021, 3:29 p.m. 

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 8. EDUCATION 

STATE COUNCIL OF HIGHER EDUCATION FOR 
VIRGINIA 

Notice of Intended Regulatory Action 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 2.2-4007.01 of the 

Code of Virginia that the State Council of Higher Education 

for Virginia intends to consider amending 8VAC40-31, 

Regulations Governing Certification of Certain 

Institutions to Confer Degrees, Diplomas and Certificates. 

The purpose of the proposed action is to conform to a 2020 

legislative mandate requiring out-of-state postsecondary 

schools offering distance education to Virginia citizens to be 

certified by the State Council of Higher Education for Virginia 

or be participants in the National State Authorization 

Reciprocity Agreement (NC-SARA). This action establishes 

certification requirements for schools that do not participate in 

a reciprocity agreement, including (i) criteria that must be 

fulfilled by schools that are not members of NC-SARA in order 

to be certified to operate; (ii) aspects of the school's current 

status, such as accreditation, being in good standing in its home 

state, and providing certain disclosures to the public; and (iii) 

the school's obligations regarding maintenance of student 

records and payment of fees. The regulation will not have any 

effect on institutions that are members in good standing of NC-

SARA. 

The agency does not intend to hold a public hearing on the 

proposed action after publication in the Virginia Register. 

Statutory Authority: § 23.1-215 of the Code of Virginia. 

Public Comment Deadline: July 7, 2021. 

Agency Contact: Beverly Rebar, Senior Associate for 

Academic and Legislative Affairs, State Council of Higher 

Education for Virginia, Monroe Building, 101 North 14th 

Street, 9th Floor, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 371-

0571, or email beverlyrebar@schev.edu. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R21-5770; Filed May 6, 2021, 2:07 p.m. 

  ––––––––––––––––––   
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TITLE 9. ENVIRONMENT 

STATE WATER CONTROL BOARD 

Notice of Intended Regulatory Action 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 2.2-4007.01 of the 

Code of Virginia that the State Water Control Board intends to 

consider amending 9VAC25-780, Local and Regional Water 

Supply Planning. The purpose of the proposed action is to 

optimize the use of the state's water resources to achieve 

sufficient water supply to meet the needs of all beneficial uses 

of water through cost-effective regional approaches to meet 

future water supply needs. The regulatory action will 

implement the requirements of Chapter 1105 of the 2020 Acts 

of Assembly and establish regional planning areas based 

primarily on river basins and develop a set of regulatory 

requirements that result in improved cross-jurisdictional 

regional water supply planning. Amendments will (i) establish 

regional planning areas, identify the particular regional 

planning area in which each locality shall participate, and state 

which stakeholder groups shall or may participate in 

coordinated resource planning; (ii) establish frameworks for 

the Department of Environmental Quality to facilitate regional 

water planning efforts, ensure localities coordinate in the 

development of water supply plans, prioritize allocation of 

funding to localities that participate in regional planning, and 

provide estimates of water supply shortfalls for each locality 

and region; and (iii) require each regional water supply plan to 

clearly identify the region's water supply risks and propose 

cost-effective regional strategies to address those risks. 

The agency does not intend to hold a public hearing on the 

proposed action after publication in the Virginia Register. 

Statutory Authority: §§ 62.1-44.15 and 62.1-44.38:1 of the 

Code of Virginia. 

Public Comment Deadline: July 22, 2021. 

Agency Contact: Ryan Green, Department of Environmental 

Quality, 1111 East Main Street, Suite 1400, P.O. Box 1105, 

Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 698-4248, or email 

ryan.green@deq.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R21-6543; Filed May 19, 2021, 8:19 a.m. 

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 18. PROFESSIONAL AND 
OCCUPATIONAL LICENSING 

BOARD OF SOCIAL WORK 

Notice of Intended Regulatory Action 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 2.2-4007.01 of the 

Code of Virginia that the Board of Social Work intends to 

consider amending 18VAC140-20, Regulations Governing 

the Practice of Social Work. The purpose of the proposed 

action is to reduce the number of continuing education (CE) 

hours necessary to continue being approved as a supervisor. 

The regulation will retain the requirement for 14 hours of CE 

for the initial registration of supervision, and thereafter a 

supervisor will only have to obtain seven hours of CE relating 

to provision of supervision every five years. The current 

requirement is 14 hours of CE every five years to continue as 

an approved supervisor. 

The agency intends to hold a public hearing on the proposed 

action after publication in the Virginia Register. 

Statutory Authority: § 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia.  

Public Comment Deadline: July 7, 2021. 

Agency Contact: Jaime Hoyle, Executive Director, Board of 

Social Work, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, Richmond, VA 

23233-1463, telephone (804) 367-4406, FAX (804) 527-4435, 

or email jaime.hoyle@dhp.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R21-6721; Filed May 9, 2021, 8:54 a.m. 
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REGULATIONS 

TITLE 1. ADMINISTRATION 

STATE BOARD OF ELECTIONS 

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The State Board of Elections is 

claiming an exemption from the Administrative Process Act 

pursuant to § 2.2-4002 B 8 of the Code of Virginia, which 

exempts agency action relating to the conduct of elections or 

eligibility to vote. 

Title of Regulation: 1VAC20-70. Absentee Voting 

(amending 1VAC20-70-20). 

Statutory Authority: § 24.2-103 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: June 4, 2021. 

Agency Contact: Ashley Coles, Agency Regulatory 

Coordinator, Department of Elections, Washington Building, 

1100 Bank Street, First Floor, Richmond, VA 23219, 

telephone (804) 864-8901, FAX (804) 371-0194, or email 

ashley.coles@elections.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendments apply to mail absentee ballots with 

missing or illegible postmarks received by the General 

Registrar's office by noon on the third day after Election 

Day and include (i) allowing that the General Registrar 

may use data from a ballot's Intelligent Mail barcode 

(IMb) to count the ballot if the IMb data shows the ballot 

was mailed on or before the date of the relevant election; 

(ii) providing that if the data does not meet the 

requirement of clause (i) or shows the ballot was mailed 

after the election, the General Registrar will refer to the 

date on which the Envelope B oath was signed to 

determine whether the ballot was cast on or before the 

date of the relevant election; (iii) allowing that a ballot 

with no IMb data and a missing postmark will not be 

counted; and (iv) providing that any ballot with a missing 

or illegible postmark with IMb data showing it was mailed 

after Election Day will not be counted. 

1VAC20-70-20. Material omissions from absentee ballots. 

A. Pursuant to the requirements of § 24.2-706 of the Code of 

Virginia, a timely received absentee ballot contained in an 

Envelope B shall not be rendered invalid if it contains an error 

or omission not material to its proper processing. 

B. The following omissions are always material and any 

Envelope B containing such omissions shall be rendered 

invalid if any of the following exists: 

1. Except as provided in subdivisions C 2 and 3 of this 

section, the voter did not include his full first name; 

2. The voter did not provide his last name; 

3. The voter omitted his generational suffix when one or 

more individuals with the same name are registered at the 

same address, and it is impossible to determine the identity 

of the voter; 

4. The voter did not provide his house number and street 

name or his rural route address; 

5. The voter did not provide either his city or zip code; 

6. The voter did not sign Envelope B; or 

7. The voter's witness did not sign Envelope B. 

C. The ballot shall not be rendered invalid if on the Envelope B: 

1. The voter included his full name in an order other than 

"last, first, middle"; 

2. The voter used his first initial instead of his first full name, 

so long as the voter provided his full middle name; 

3. The voter provided a derivative of his legal name as his 

first or middle name (e.g., "Bob" instead of "Robert"); 

4. If the voter provided his first name and last name, the voter 

did not provide a middle name or a middle initial; 

5. The voter did not provide his residential street identifier 

(Street, Drive, etc.); 

6. The voter did not provide a zip code, so long as the voter 

provided his city; 

7. The voter did not provide his city, so long as the voter 

provided his zip code; 

8. The voter omitted the date, or provided an incorrect or 

incomplete date on which he signed Envelope B; or 

9. The ballot is imperfectly sealed within Envelope B, 

provided that the outer envelope with Envelope B and the 

ballot arrived sealed. 

10. The illegibility of a voter's or witness' signature on an 

Envelope B shall not be considered an omission or error. 

D. For the purposes of this regulation, "city" may include the 

voter's locality, town, or any acceptable mailing name for the 

five-digit zip code of the voter's residence. 

E. Whether an error or omission on an Envelope B not 

specifically addressed by this regulation is material and shall 
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render the absentee ballot invalid shall be determined by a 

majority of the officers of the election present. 

F. If a ballot is received by the general registrar's office by 

noon on the third day after the election pursuant to § 24.2-709 

of the Code of Virginia but the return envelope has a missing 

or illegible postmark, the General Registrar shall refer to the 

Intelligent Mail barcode on the return envelope to determine 

whether the ballot was mailed on or before the date of the 

relevant election. 

1. If there is evidence from the Intelligent Mail barcode that 

the ballot was mailed after the close of polls for the relevant 

election, the ballot shall be rendered invalid. 

2. If there is no evidence from the Intelligent Mail barcode 

that the ballot was mailed after the close of polls for the 

relevant election, including if the Intelligent Mail barcode 

was not scanned but the return envelope has an illegible 

postmark, the General Registrar shall refer to the date on 

which the oath on Envelope B was signed to determine 

whether the ballot was cast on or before the date of the 

relevant election. 

a. 3. If the oath on Envelope B was signed on or before the 

date of the relevant election, there is no evidence from the 

Intelligent Mail barcode that the ballot shall not be rendered 

invalid due to receipt was mailed after the close of polls by 

the General Registrar. b. If the oath on Envelope B was 

signed after the date of for the relevant election and if the 

return envelope has a missing postmark, the ballot shall be 

rendered invalid. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R21-6706; Filed May 25, 2021, 9:24 a.m. 

  ––––––––––––––––––  

TITLE 4. CONSERVATION AND NATURAL 
RESOURCES 

MARINE RESOURCES COMMISSION 

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Marine Resources Commission 

is claiming an exemption from the Administrative Process Act 

in accordance with § 2.2-4006 A 11 of the Code of Virginia; 

however, the commission is required to publish the full text of 

final regulations. 

Title of Regulation: 4VAC20-620. Pertaining to Summer 

Flounder (amending 4VAC20-620-40). 

Statutory Authority: § 28.2-201 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: June 1, 2021. 

Agency Contact: Jennifer Farmer, Marine Resources 

Commission, 380 Fenwick Road, Fort Monroe, VA 23551, 

telephone (757) 247-2248, or email 

jennifer.farmer@mrc.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendments change the landing dates, possession 

limits, and landing limits for summer flounder 

commercially harvested offshore in federal waters and 

landed in Virginia. 

4VAC20-620-40. Commercial vessel possession and 

landing limitations. 

A. It shall be unlawful for any person harvesting summer 

flounder outside of Virginia's waters to do any of the 

following, except as described in subsections B, C, D, E, F, and 

F G of this section: 

1. Possess aboard any vessel in Virginia waters any amount 

of summer flounder in excess of 10% by weight of Atlantic 

croaker or the combined landings, on board a vessel, of black 

sea bass, scup, squid, scallops, and Atlantic mackerel. 

2. Possess aboard any vessel in Virginia waters any amount 

of summer flounder in excess of 1,500 pounds landed in 

combination with Atlantic croaker. 

3. Fail to sell the vessel's entire harvest of all species at the 

point of landing. 

B. Nothing in this chapter shall preclude a vessel from 

possessing any North Carolina or New Jersey vessel 

possession limit of summer flounder in Virginia; however, no 

vessel that possesses the North Carolina or New Jersey vessel 

possession limit of summer flounder shall offload any amount 

of that possession limit, except as described in subsection K L 

of this section. 

C. From February 25 through April 7, it shall be unlawful for 

any person harvesting summer flounder outside of Virginia 

waters to do any of the following: 

1. Possess aboard any vessel in Virginia waters any amount 

of summer flounder in excess of the combined total of the 

Virginia landing limit described in subdivision 2 of this 

subsection and the amount of the legal North Carolina or 

New Jersey landing limit or trip limit. 

2. Land in Virginia more than a total of 15,000 pounds of 

summer flounder. 

3. Land in Virginia any amount of summer flounder more 

than once in any consecutive five-day period. 

D. From June 15 through August 15, it shall be unlawful for 

any person harvesting summer flounder outside of Virginia 

waters to do any of the following: 

1. Possess aboard any vessel in Virginia waters any amount 

of summer flounder in excess of the combined total of the 

Virginia landing limit described in subdivision 2 of this 

subsection and the amount of the legal North Carolina or 

New Jersey landing limit or trip limit. 
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2. Land in Virginia more than a total of 12,500 pounds of 

summer flounder. 

3. Land in Virginia any amount of summer flounder more 

than once in any consecutive five-day period.  

D. E. From September 8 through October 31, it shall be 

unlawful for any person harvesting summer flounder outside 

of Virginia waters to do any of the following: 

1. Possess aboard any vessel in Virginia waters any amount 

of summer flounder in excess of the combined total of the 

Virginia landing limit described in subdivision 2 of this 

subsection and the amount of the legal North Carolina or 

New Jersey landing limit or trip limit. 

2. Land in Virginia more than a total of 12,000 pounds of 

summer flounder. 

3. Land in Virginia any amount of summer flounder more 

than once in any consecutive five-day period. 

E. F. From November 1 through December 31, it shall be 

unlawful for any person harvesting summer flounder outside 

of Virginia waters to do any of the following: 

1. Possess aboard any vessel in Virginia waters any amount 

of summer flounder in excess of the total of the Virginia 

landing limit described in subdivision 2 of this subsection 

and the amount of the legal North Carolina or New Jersey 

landing limit or trip limit. 

2. Land in Virginia more than a total of 12,000 pounds of 

summer flounder. 

3. Land in Virginia any amount of summer flounder more 

than once in any consecutive five-day period. 

F. G. From January 1 through December 31, any boat or 

vessel issued a valid federal summer flounder moratorium 

permit and owned and operated by a legal Virginia 

Commercial Hook-and-Line Licensee that possesses a 

Restricted Summer Flounder Endorsement shall be restricted 

to a possession and landing limit of 200 pounds of summer 

flounder, except as described in 4VAC20-620-30 F. 

G. H. Upon request by a marine police officer, the seafood 

buyer or processor shall offload and accurately determine the 

total weight of all summer flounder aboard any vessel landing 

summer flounder in Virginia. 

H. I. Any possession limit described in this section shall be 

determined by the weight in pounds of summer flounder as 

customarily packed, boxed, and weighed by the seafood buyer 

or processor. The weight of any summer flounder in pounds 

found in excess of any possession limit described in this 

section shall be prima facie evidence of violation of this 

chapter. Persons in possession of summer flounder aboard any 

vessel in excess of the possession limit shall be in violation of 

this chapter unless that vessel has requested and been granted 

safe harbor. Any buyer or processor offloading or accepting 

any quantity of summer flounder from any vessel in excess of 

the possession limit shall be in violation of this chapter, except 

as described by subsection K of this section. A buyer or 

processor may accept or buy summer flounder from a vessel 

that has secured safe harbor, provided that vessel has satisfied 

the requirements described in subsection K of this section. 

I. J. If a person violates the possession limits described in this 

section, the entire amount of summer flounder in that person's 

possession shall be confiscated. Any confiscated summer flounder 

shall be considered as a removal from the appropriate commercial 

harvest or landings quota. Upon confiscation, the marine police 

officer shall inventory the confiscated summer flounder and, at a 

minimum, secure two bids for purchase of the confiscated summer 

flounder from approved and licensed seafood buyers. The 

confiscated fish will be sold to the highest bidder, and all funds 

derived from such sale shall be deposited for the Commonwealth 

pending court resolution of the charge of violating the possession 

limits established by this chapter. All of the collected funds will 

be returned to the accused upon a finding of innocence or forfeited 

to the Commonwealth upon a finding of guilty. 

J. K. It shall be unlawful for a licensed seafood buyer or federally 

permitted seafood buyer to fail to contact the Marine Resources 

Commission Operation Station prior to a vessel offloading 

summer flounder harvested outside of Virginia. The buyer shall 

provide to the Marine Resources Commission the name of the 

vessel, its captain, an estimate of the amount in pounds of summer 

flounder on board that vessel, and the anticipated or approximate 

offloading time. Once offloading of any vessel is complete and the 

weight of the landed summer flounder has been determined, the 

buyer shall contact the Marine Resources Commission Operations 

Station and report the vessel name and corresponding weight of 

summer flounder landed. It shall be unlawful for any person to 

offload from a boat or vessel for commercial purposes any 

summer flounder during the period of 9 p.m. to 7 a.m. 

K. L. Any boat or vessel that has entered Virginia waters for 

safe harbor shall only offload summer flounder when the state 

that licenses that vessel requests to transfer quota to Virginia, 

in the amount that corresponds to that vessel's possession limit, 

and the commissioner agrees to accept that transfer of quota. 

L. M. After any commercial harvest or landing quota as 

described in 4VAC20-620-30 has been attained and announced 

as such, any boat or vessel possessing summer flounder on 

board may enter Virginia waters for safe harbor but shall 

contact the Marine Resources Commission Operation Center 

in advance of such entry into Virginia waters. 

M. N. It shall be unlawful for any person harvesting summer 

flounder outside of Virginia waters to possess aboard any 

vessel, in Virginia, any amount of summer flounder, once it has 

been projected and announced that 100% of the quota 

described in 4VAC20-620-30 A has been taken. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R21-6810; Filed May 25, 2021, 2:19 p.m. 

  ––––––––––––––––––  
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TITLE 9. ENVIRONMENT 

STATE WATER CONTROL BOARD 

Fast-Track Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 9VAC25-260. Water Quality Standards 

(amending 9VAC25-260-400, 9VAC25-260-420, 9VAC25-

260-440, 9VAC25-260-510). 

Statutory Authority: § 62.1-44.15 of the Code of Virginia; 

Clean Water Act (33 USC § 1251 et seq.); 40 CFR Part 131. 

Public Hearing Information: No public hearing is currently 

scheduled. 

Public Comment Deadline: July 7, 2021. 

Effective Date: Effective upon filing notice of U.S. EPA 

approval with the Registrar of Regulations.  

Agency Contact: David Whitehurst, Department of 

Environmental Quality, 1111 East Main Street, Suite 1400, 

P.O. Box 1105, Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 698-

4121, or email david.whitehurst@deq.virginia.gov. 

Basis: The corresponding federal water quality standards 

regulation at 40 CFR 131.6 describes the minimum 

requirements for water quality standards. The minimum 

requirements are use designations, water quality criteria to 

protect the designated uses, and an antidegradation policy. All 

of the citations mentioned describe mandates for water quality 

standards. The Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) Water 

Quality Standards regulation (40 CFR 131.11) is the regulatory 

basis for EPA requiring the states to establish water quality 

criteria to protect designated uses and the criteria are used to 

assess whether or not a waterbody is meeting those uses. 

The State Water Control Law authorizes protection and 

restoration of the quality of state waters, safeguarding the clean 

waters from pollution, prevention and reduction of pollution, 

and promotion of water conservation. The State Water Control 

Law at § 62.1-44.15 of the Code of Virginia requires the State 

Water Control Board to establish standards of quality and to 

modify, amend, or cancel any such standards or policies. It also 

requires the board to hold public hearings from time to time for 

the purpose of reviewing the water quality standards, and 

adopting, modifying, or canceling such standards as 

appropriate. 

The correlation between the proposed regulatory action and the 

identified legal authority is that the amendments being 

considered are modifications of criteria that will protect 

designated uses, which are requirements of the Water Quality 

Standards. The authority to adopt standards as provided by the 

cited provisions is mandated, although the specific standards 

to be adopted or modified are discretionary to EPA and the 

state. 

Purpose: The department has concluded that the proposed 

amendments to the regulation are essential to protecting the 

health, safety, and welfare of the citizens of the 

Commonwealth by protecting the water quality of source water 

for public water supplies. 

Rationale for Using Fast-Track Rulemaking Process: Section 

62.1-44.15 of the Code of Virginia mandates and authorizes 

the State Water Control Board to establish water quality 

standards and policies for any state waters consistent with the 

purpose and general policy of the State Water Control Law and 

to modify, amend, or cancel any such standards or policies 

established. Section 303(c) of the federal Clean Water Act 

mandates the State Water Control Board to review and modify 

and adopt water quality standards as appropriate. 

A public water supply (PWS) designation may require more 

stringent effluent limits for discharges from permitted facilities 

within a five-mile distance beyond the locality that controls the 

PWS intake. However, department staff have determined there 

are no permitted facilities within that vie-mile distance for any 

of the four facility intakes for which a PWS designation is 

proposed. Also, a PWS designation protects source water that 

is used for human consumption. Given these factors, the 

rulemaking is assumed to be noncontroversial. 

Substance: The proposed substantive amendments to 

9VAC25-260-400, 9VAC25-260-420, 9VAC25-260-440, and 

9VAC25-260-510 of the state water quality standards create a 

new subdivision in the respective river basins and place a PWS 

notation in the Special Standards column next to that 

subdivision of the river basin where the water supply intake is 

located. A PWS notation indicates that criteria under the 

column heading Public Water Supply in the table located at 

9VAC25-260-140 apply in waters designated as such. 

Issues: There are no primary advantages or disadvantages to 

the public. The primary advantage to the agency and the 

Commonwealth is having improved protection for waters used 

as source water for public water supply. There is no 

disadvantage to the agency or the Commonwealth that will 

result from the adoption of this amendment. 

Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 

Analysis:  

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. The 

State Water Control Board (Board) proposes to designate four 

additional bodies of water as public water supply (PWS) 

sources. 

Background. A PWS is a water source whereby a city, town, 

or other community draws source water into their drinking 

water intake facilities, which in turn is eventually piped to area 

businesses, schools, and homes. According to the Board, more 

stringent criteria are typically applied to numerous pollutant 

parameters in order to protect the designated use of a PWS for 

human consumption. The Commonwealth's surface waters are 

currently divided into 10 river basins; in addition, 220 bodies 

of water are designated as a PWS. 

The Board evaluates water bodies for the PWS designation on 

an ongoing basis. This action would grant PWS designation to 

four additional water sources. These water sources are located 
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within the Counties of Cumberland, Greene, Rockingham, and 

Washington; they are also located within four basins: James, 

Potomac, Rappahannock, and the Tennessee and Big Sandy.1 

Three of the four water intake facilities are under development, 

and withdrawal structures are either currently under 

construction or are planned to be in the immediate future. One 

intake facility located in Potomac River Basin is active, and all 

withdrawal structures and appurtenances have been 

constructed and are currently in use. 

Estimated Benefits and Costs. The most immediate implication 

for designating a body of water as a PWS is that it may require 

more stringent effluent limits for discharges from permitted 

facilities within a five-mile distance from the intake. However, 

according to DEQ, no permitted facilities are currently 

operating within five miles upstream from any of the proposed 

PWS, and DEQ is not aware of any future planned facilities 

that may require a permit. In addition, more stringent effluent 

limits do not apply to non-point pollution sources such as 

farms. Since no permitted facilities are within the five-mile 

distance for any of the four facility intakes for which a PWS 

designation is proposed, no significant economic impact is 

expected upon promulgation of the proposed changes. 

Although the proposed PWS designations may theoretically 

make some potential industrial uses more expensive (such as 

for businesses that may consider locating within the segments 

in question) because of the more stringent PWS discharge 

standards, it would be highly speculative to project any such 

economic impact at this time. Should an effluent discharging 

firm consider locating within the segments in question, 

however, the proposed changes would ensure that the water 

quality is maintained at a level appropriate for human 

consumption. 

Businesses and Other Entities Affected. There is no known 

existing or planned facilities that may be subject to more 

stringent water quality criteria due to the proposed four PWS 

designations. Thus, no adverse economic impact2 or 

disproportional impact is expected on businesses or other 

entities. 

Small Businesses3 Affected. The proposed amendments do not 

appear to adversely affect small businesses. 

Localities4 Affected.5 The four additional water sources being 

proposed to be designated as PWS are located in Counties of 

Cumberland, Greene, Rockingham, and Washington. 

However, these PWS designations are not expected to impose 

costs on the localities. Consequently, no adverse economic 

impact on these counties is indicated. 

Projected Impact on Employment. The proposed amendments 

do not appear to affect employment. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. A PWS 

designation could potentially affect the value of properties 

within the designated segments, but given that there are no 

current or planned permitted discharges into the affected water 

bodies, projection of any such impact would be highly 

speculative at this time. Thus, the proposed amendments are 

unlikely to significantly affect the current use and value of 

private property upon promulgation of the proposed changes. 

___________________________________________ 
1Potomac River Basin: South Fork Shenandoah River and its tributaries from 

the City of Harrisonburg water supply intake near the confluence of Big Run 

to points five miles upstream;  

James River Basin: Cobbs Creek (Cumberland County) and its tributaries from 

the public water supply intake on Cobbs Creek Reservoir to their headwaters; 

Rappahannock River Basin: from the dam of Whit Run pumped storage 

reservoir on an unnamed tributary to White Run upstream to its tributaries; 

Tennessee and Big Sandy Basins: South Fork Holston River and its tributaries 

from Washington County Service authority intake near the confluence of the 

Middle and South Fork Holston River to points five miles upstream. 

2Adverse impact is indicated if there is any increase in net cost or reduction in 

net revenue for any entity, even if the benefits exceed the costs for all entities 

combined. 

3Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.04 of the Code of Virginia, small business is defined 

as "a business entity, including its affiliates, that (i) is independently owned 

and operated and (ii) employs fewer than 500 full-time employees or has gross 

annual sales of less than $6 million." 

4"Locality" can refer to either local governments or the locations in the 

Commonwealth where the activities relevant to the regulatory change are most 

likely to occur. 

5§ 2.2-4007.04 defines "particularly affected" as bearing disproportionate 

material impact. 

Agency's Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The 

Department of Environmental Quality has reviewed the 

economic impact analysis prepared by the Department of 

Planning and Budget and has no comment. 

Summary: 

The amendments designate as a public water supply one 

river basin section where a water supply intake is located 

in each of four Virginia water basins. The designation is 

shown with the notation "PWS" in the Special Standards 

column. Typically, more stringent criteria apply to 

numerous pollutant parameters to protect the designated 

use of public water supply for human consumption. Three 

of the four water supplies are proposed and withdrawal 

structures are either currently in construction or are 

planned to be in the immediate future. One of the water 

supplies is active with all withdrawal structures and 

appurtenances having been constructed and currently in 

use. 

9VAC25-260-400. Potomac River Basin (Shenandoah 

River Subbasin). 

Shenandoah River Subbasin 

SEC. CLASS SP. 

STDS. 

SECTION 

DESCRIPTION 

Editor's Note: Sections 1 and 2 are not amended, therefore 

those sections of the table are not published. 

3 IV pH-6.5-

9.5, ESW-

16 

South Fork Shenandoah 

River from 5 miles above 

the Town of Shenandoah's 

raw water intake to its 



Regulations 

Volume 37, Issue 21  Virginia Register of Regulations  June 7, 2021  

3347 

confluence with the North 

and South Rivers and its 

tributaries to their 

headwaters in this section, 

and the South River and 

its tributaries from its 

confluence with the South 

Fork Shenandoah River to 

their headwaters, unless 

otherwise designated in 

this chapter. 
 

V 

 

Stockable Trout Waters in 

Section 3 
 

vi pH-6.5-

9.5 

Hawksbill Creek 

(Rockingham County) 

from 0.8 mile above its 

confluence with the South 

Fork Shenandoah River 

6.6 miles upstream. 
 

vi pH-6.5-

9.5 

Mills Creek (Augusta 

County) from 1.8 miles 

above its confluence with 

Back Creek 2 miles 

upstream. 
 

vi pH-6.5-

9.5 

North Fork Back Creek 

(Augusta County) from its 

confluence with Back 

Creek 2.6 miles upstream, 

unless otherwise 

designated in this chapter. 
 

VI 

 

Natural Trout Waters in 

Section 3 
 

i pH-6.5-

9.5 

Bearwallow Run from its 

confluence with Onemile 

Run upstream including 

all named and unnamed 

tributaries. 
 

ii pH-6.5-

9.5 

Big Run (Rockingham 

County) from 3.3 miles 

above its confluence with 

the South Fork 

Shenandoah River 

upstream including all 

named and unnamed 

tributaries. 
 

iii pH-6.5-

9.5 

Cold Spring Branch 

(Augusta County) from 

Sengers Mountain Lake 

(Rhema Lake) upstream 

including all named and 

unnamed tributaries. 
 

iv pH-6.5-

9.5 

Cool Springs Hollow 

(Augusta County) from 

Route 612 upstream 

including all named and 

unnamed tributaries. 
 

ii pH-6.5-

9.5 

Deep Run (Rockingham 

County) from 1.8 miles 

above its confluence with 

the South Fork 

Shenandoah River 

upstream including all 

named and unnamed 

tributaries. 
 

ii pH-6.5-

9.5 

East Fork Back Creek 

from its confluence with 

the South Fork Back 

Creek upstream including 

all named and unnamed 

tributaries. 
 

ii pH-6.5-9.5 Gap Run from 1.7 miles 

above its confluence with 

the South Fork Shenandoah 

River upstream including 

all named and unnamed 

tributaries. 
 

iii 

 

Inch Branch (Augusta 

County) from the dam 

upstream including all 

named and unnamed 

tributaries. 
 

ii 

 

Johns Run (Augusta 

County) from its 

confluence with the South 

River upstream including 

all named and unnamed 

tributaries. 
 

iv 

 

Jones Hollow (Augusta 

County) from 1.1 miles 

above its confluence with 

the South River upstream 

including all named and 

unnamed tributaries. 
 

ii 

 

Kennedy Creek from its 

confluence with the South 

River upstream including 

all named and unnamed 

tributaries. 



Regulations 

Volume 37, Issue 21  Virginia Register of Regulations  June 7, 2021  

3348 

 

iv pH-6.5-

9.5 

Lee Run from 0.6 mile 

above its confluence with 

Elk Run 3.3 miles 

upstream. 
 

iii pH-6.5-

9.5 

Loves Run (Augusta 

County) from 2.7 miles 

above its confluence with 

the South River upstream 

including all named and 

unnamed tributaries. 
 

ii pH-6.5-

9.5 

Lower Lewis Run 

(Rockingham County) 

from 1.7 miles above its 

confluence with the South 

Fork Shenandoah River 

upstream including all 

named and unnamed 

tributaries. 
 

ii pH-6.5-

9.5 

Madison Run 

(Rockingham County) 

from 2.9 miles above its 

confluence with the South 

Fork Shenandoah River 

upstream including all 

named and unnamed 

tributaries. 
 

ii pH-6.5-

9.5 

Meadow Run (Augusta 

County) from its 

confluence with the South 

River upstream including 

all named and unnamed 

tributaries. 
 

ii pH-6.5-9.5 North Fork Back Creek 

(Augusta County) from 

river mile 2.6 (in the 

vicinity of its confluence 

with Williams Creek) 

upstream including all 

named and unnamed 

tributaries. 
 

i pH-6.5-

9.5 

Onemile Run 

(Rockingham County) 

from 1.5 miles above its 

confluence with the South 

Fork Shenandoah River 

upstream including all 

named and unnamed 

tributaries. 
 

iv 

 

Orebank Creek from its 

confluence with Back 

Creek upstream including 

all named and unnamed 

tributaries. 
 

ii pH-6.5-

9.5 

Paine Run (Augusta 

County) from 1.7 miles 

above its confluence with 

the South River upstream 

including all named and 

unnamed tributaries. 
 

ii 

 

Robinson Hollow 

(Augusta County) from 

the dam upstream 

including all named and 

unnamed tributaries. 
 

ii pH-6.5-

9.5 

Rocky Mountain Run 

from its confluence with 

Big Run upstream 

including all named and 

unnamed tributaries. 
 

iv pH-6.5-

9.5 

Sawmill Run from 2.5 

miles above its confluence 

with the South River 

upstream including all 

named and unnamed 

tributaries. 
 

ii pH-6.5-

9.5 

South Fork Back Creek 

from its confluence with 

Back Creek at Route 814 

(river mile 2.1) upstream 

including all named and 

unnamed tributaries. 
 

ii pH-6.5-

9.5 

Stony Run (Augusta 

County) from 3.5 miles 

above its confluence with 

the South River upstream 

including all named and 

unnamed tributaries. 
 

iii pH-6.5-

9.5 

Stony Run (Rockingham 

County) from 4.1 miles 

above its confluence with 

the South Fork 

Shenandoah River 

upstream including all 

named and unnamed 

tributaries. 
 

iii 

 

Toms Branch (Augusta 

County) from 1.1 miles 

above its confluence with 

Back Creek upstream 

including all named and 

unnamed tributaries. 
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i pH-6.5-

9.5 

Twomile Run from 1.4 

miles above its confluence 

with the South Fork 

Shenandoah River 

upstream including all 

named and unnamed 

tributaries. 
 

iv pH-6.5-

9.5 

Upper Lewis Run from 

0.5 mile above its 

confluence with Lower 

Lewis Run upstream 

including all named and 

unnamed tributaries. 
 

iv pH-6.5-

9.5 

West Swift Run 

(Rockingham County) 

from the Route 33 

crossing upstream 

including all named and 

unnamed tributaries. 
 

ii pH-6.5-

9.5 

Whiteoak Run from its 

confluence with Madison 

Run upstream including 

all named and unnamed 

tributaries. 

3a IV pH-6.5-

9.5 

South River from the dam 

above Waynesboro (all 

waters of the 

impoundment). 

3b IV PWS Coles Run and Mills 

Creek from South River 

Sanitary District's raw 

water intake to their 

headwaters. 
 

VI PWS Natural Trout Waters in 

Section 3b 
 

ii 

 

Coles Run (Augusta 

County) from 3.9 miles 

above its confluence with 

the South River Sanitary 

District's raw water intake 

(Coles Run Dam) 

upstream including all 

named and unnamed 

tributaries. 
 

ii 

 

Mills Creek (Augusta 

County) from the South 

River Sanitary District's 

raw water intake (river 

mile 3.8) upstream 

including all named and 

unnamed tributaries. 

3c IV PWS pH-

6.5-9.5 

A tributary to Coles Run 

from Stuarts Draft raw 

water intake 

approximately 0.5 mile 

south of Stuarts Draft and 

just off Route 610, to its 

headwaters. 

3d IV PWS South Fork Shenandoah 

River and its tributaries 

from the City of 

Harrisonburg water 

supply intake near the 

confluence of Big Run to 

points 5 miles upstream. 

Editor's Note: Sections 4, 5, and 6 are not amended, 

therefore those sections of the table are not published. 

9VAC25-260-420. James River Basin (Middle). 

SEC. CLASS SP. 

STDS. 

SECTION DESCRIPTION 

Editor's Note: Sections 6, 7, 8, and 9 are not amended, 

therefore those sections of the table are not published. 

10 III 

 

James River and its 

tributaries from a point at 

latitude 37°40'32"; longitude 

77°54'08" to, and including 

the Rockfish River, unless 

otherwise designated in this 

chapter. 
 

V 

 

Stockable Trout Waters in 

Section 10 
 

vii 

 

Lynch River from the upper 

Route 810 crossing near the 

intersection of Route 628 2.9 

miles upstream (to Ivy 

Creek). 
 

*** 

 

Rockfish Creek from its 

confluence with the South 

Fork Rockfish River to its 

headwaters. 
 

VI 

 

Natural Trout Waters in 

Section 10 
 

ii 

 

Doyles River from 6.4 miles 

above its confluence with 

Moormans River above 

Browns Cove at Route 629 
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including all named and 

unnamed tributaries. 
 

iii 

 

Fork Hollow from its 

confluence with Ivy Creek 

upstream including all 

named and unnamed 

tributaries. 
 

iii 

 

Ivy Creek (Greene County) 

from its confluence with the 

Lynch River upstream 

including all named and 

unnamed tributaries. 
 

ii 

 

Jones Falls Run from its 

confluence with Doyles 

River upstream including all 

named and unnamed 

tributaries. 
 

ii 

 

Little Stony Creek (Nelson 

County) from its confluence 

with Stony Creek upstream 

including all named and 

unnamed tributaries. 
 

iv 

 

Mill Creek (Nelson County) 

from its confluence with 

Goodwin Creek upstream 

including all named and 

unnamed tributaries. 
 

ii 

 

Mutton Hollow from its 

confluence with Swift Run 

upstream including all 

named and unnamed 

tributaries. 
 

iv 

 

Pauls Creek (Nelson County) 

from 1.3 miles above its 

confluence with the North 

Fork Rockfish River 

upstream including all 

named and unnamed 

tributaries. 
 

iv 

 

Rodes Creek from its 

confluence with Goodwin 

Creek upstream including all 

named and unnamed 

tributaries. 
 

ii 

 

South Fork Rockfish River 

from 8 miles above its 

confluence with the Rockfish 

River upstream including all 

named and unnamed 

tributaries. 
 

ii 

 

Spruce Creek (Nelson 

County) from 1.5 miles 

above its confluence with the 

South Fork Rockfish River 

upstream including all 

named and unnamed 

tributaries. 
 

ii 

 

Stony Creek (Nelson 

County) from 1 mile above 

its confluence with the South 

Fork Rockfish River 

upstream including all 

named and unnamed 

tributaries. 
 

ii 

 

Swift Run from 14.5 miles 

above its confluence with the 

North Fork Rivanna River 

upstream including all 

named and unnamed 

tributaries. 

10a III PWS James River at river mile 

127.26 near the public 

landing site and its 

tributaries from, and 

including, Little River to 5 

miles above State Farm's raw 

water intake, including 

Beaverdam and Courthouse 

Creeks, to their headwaters. 

10b 

  

(Deleted.) 

10c III 

 

Willis River and its 

tributaries within 

Cumberland State Forest. 

10d III PWS Johnson Creek above the 

Schuyler (Nelson County 

Service Authority) raw water 

intake to its headwaters. 

10e III PWS Totier Creek and its 

tributaries from the 

Scottsville (Rivanna Water 

and Sewer Authority) raw 

water intake to their 

headwaters (including the 

Reservoir). 

10f III 

 

Powell Creek and its 

tributaries from its 

confluence with the Rivanna 
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River upstream to their 

headwaters. 

10g III PWS Beaver Creek and its 

tributaries from the Crozet 

(Rivanna Water and Sewer 

Authority) raw water intake 

upstream to their headwaters 

(including the reservoir). 

10h III PWS Mechums River and its 

tributaries from the Rivanna 

Water and Sewer Authority's 

raw water intake to points 5 

miles upstream. 

10i III PWS Moormans River and its 

tributaries from the Rivanna 

Water and Sewer Authority's 

raw water intake to points 5 

miles upstream (including 

Sugar Hollow Reservoir). 
 

VI 

 

Natural Trout Waters in 

Section 10i 
 

ii 

 

North Fork Moormans River 

from its confluence with 

Moormans River upstream 

including all named and 

unnamed tributaries. 
 

ii 

 

Pond Ridge Branch from its 

confluence with the North 

Fork Moormans River 

upstream including all 

named and unnamed 

tributaries. 
 

iii 

 

South Fork Moormans River 

from its confluence with 

Moormans River upstream 

including all named and 

unnamed tributaries. 

10j III PWS South Fork Rivanna River 

and its tributaries to their 

headwaters; except Ivy 

Creek, from the Rivanna 

Water and Sewer Authority's 

South Fork Rivanna River 

Dam to its confluence with 

the Moormans River, and 

Ivy Creek to a point 5 miles 

above the dam. 

10k III PWS James River and its 

tributaries from Fork Union 

Sanitary District's raw water 

intake (just below the Route 

15 bridge) to points 5 miles 

upstream, including the Slate 

River to a point 5 miles 

above the intake. 

10l III 

 

Lake Monticello in Fluvanna 

County. 

10m III PWS Rivanna River and its 

tributaries from the raw 

water intake for Lake 

Monticello (about 2.76 miles 

above the Route 600 bridge 

in Fluvanna County) to 

points 5 miles upstream. 

10n III PWS Ragged Mountain Reservoir 

(intake for the Rivanna 

Water and Sewer Authority) 

including its tributaries to 

their headwaters. 

10o III PWS The North Fork Rivanna 

River and its tributaries from 

the Rivanna Water and 

Sewer Authority's raw water 

intake (approximately 1/4 

mile upstream of the U. S. 

Route 29 bridge north of 

Charlottesville) to points 5 

miles upstream. 

10p III PWS Troublesome Creek in 

Buckingham County from 

Buckingham County's raw 

water intake point at a flood 

control dam south of the 

Route 631 bridge to a point 5 

miles upstream. 

10q III PWS Allen Creek and its tributaries 

from the Wintergreen 

Mountain Village's primary 

raw water intake at Lake 

Monocan to a point upstream 

at latitude 37°53'59"; 

longitude 78°53'14". 

10r III PWS Stony Creek from the 

diversion structure at latitude 

37°54'00"; longitude 

78°53'47" to its headwaters 

inclusive of the Stony Creek 

raw water intake just 
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upstream of the Peggy's 

Pinch booster pump station. 

10s III PWS Mechunk Creek and its 

tributaries from the 

Department of Corrections 

raw water intake (at the US 

Route 250 bridge ) to points 

5 miles upstream. 

10t III PWS Cobbs Creek (Cumberland 

County) and its tributaries 

from the public water supply 

intake on Cobbs Creek 

Reservoir upstream to their 

headwaters. 

Editor's Note: Section 11 is not amended, therefore that 

section of the table is not published. 

9VAC25-260-440. Rappahannock River Basin. 

SEC. CLASS SP. 

STDS. 

SECTION DESCRIPTION 

1 II a Rappahannock River and the 

tidal portions of its tributaries 

from Stingray and Windmill 

Points to Route 1 Alternate 

Bridge at Fredericksburg. 

1a II 

 

Hoskins Creek from the 

confluence with the 

Rappahannock River to its tidal 

headwaters. 

2 III 

 

Free flowing tributaries of the 

Rappahannock from Stingray 

and Windmill Points upstream 

to Blandfield Point, unless 

otherwise designated in this 

chapter. 
 

VII 

 

Swamp waters in Section 2 
   

Cat Point Creek and its 

tributaries, from their 

headwaters to the head of tide 

at river mile 10.54. 
   

Hoskins Creek and its 

nontidal tributaries from the 

head of tidal waters to their 

headwaters. 

Mount Landing Creek and its 

tributaries from the end of 

tidal waters at river mile 4.4 

to their headwaters. 

   

Piscataway Creek and its 

tributaries from the 

confluence of Sturgeon 

Swamp to their headwaters. 

3 III 

 

The Rappahannock River 

from the Route 1 Alternate 

Bridge at Fredericksburg 

upstream to the low dam 

water intake at Waterloo 

(Fauquier County). 

3a III PWS The Rappahannock River and 

its tributaries from 

Spotsylvania County's raw 

water intake near Golin Run 

to points 5 miles upstream 

(excluding Motts Run and 

tributaries, which is in Section 

4c). 

3b III PWS The Rappahannock River and 

its tributaries from the low 

dam water intake at Waterloo 

(Fauquier County) to points 5 

miles upstream. 

4 III ESW 

17,18 

Free flowing tributaries of the 

Rappahannock from 

Blandfield Point to its 

headwaters, unless otherwise 

designated in this chapter. 
 

VII 

 

Swamp waters in Section 4 

Goldenvale Creek from the 

head of tidal waters near the 

confluence with the 

Rappahannock River to its 

headwaters. 
   

Occupacia Creek and its 

tributaries from the end of 

tidal waters at river mile 8.89 

on Occupacia Creek to their 

headwaters. 
 

V 

 

Stockable Trout Waters in 

Section 4 
 

*** 

 

Hughes River (Madison 

County) from Route 231 

upstream to the upper 

crossing of Route 707 near the 

confluence of Rocky Run. 
 

*** 

 

Robinson River from Route 

231 to river mile 26.7. 
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*** 

 

Rose River from its 

confluence with the Robinson 

River 2.6 miles upstream. 
 

*** 

 

South River from 5 miles 

above its confluence with the 

Rapidan River 3.9 miles 

upstream. 
 

VI 

 

Natural Trout Waters in 

Section 4 
 

ii 

 

Berry Hollow from its 

confluence with the Robinson 

River upstream including all 

named and unnamed 

tributaries. 
 

ii 

 

Bolton Branch from 1.7 miles 

above its confluence with 

Hittles Mill Stream upstream 

including all named and 

unnamed tributaries. 
 

ii 

 

Broad Hollow Run from its 

confluence with Hazel River 

upstream including all named 

and unnamed tributaries. 
 

i 

 

Brokenback Run from its 

confluence with the Hughes 

River upstream including all 

named and unnamed 

tributaries. 
 

i 

 

Bush Mountain Stream from 

its confluence with the 

Conway River upstream 

including all named and 

unnamed tributaries. 
 

i 

 

Cedar Run (Madison County) 

from 0.8 mile above its 

confluence with the Robinson 

River upstream including all 

named and unnamed 

tributaries. 
 

i 

 

Conway River (Greene 

County) from the Town of 

Fletcher upstream including 

all named and unnamed 

tributaries. 
 

ii 

 

Dark Hollow from its 

confluence with the Rose 

River upstream including all 

named and unnamed 

tributaries. 
 

i 

 

Devils Ditch from its 

confluence with the Conway 

River upstream including all 

named and unnamed 

tributaries. 
 

iii 

 

Entry Run from its confluence 

with the South River upstream 

including all named and 

unnamed tributaries. 
 

iii 

 

Garth Run from 1.9 miles 

above its confluence with the 

Rapidan River at the Route 

665 crossing upstream 

including all named and 

unnamed tributaries. 
 

ii 

 

Hannah Run from its 

confluence with the Hughes 

River upstream including all 

named and unnamed 

tributaries. 
 

ii 

 

Hazel River (Rappahannock 

County) from the Route 707 

bridge upstream including all 

named and unnamed 

tributaries. 
 

ii 

 

Hogcamp Branch from its 

confluence with the Rose 

River upstream including all 

named and unnamed 

tributaries. 
 

i 

 

Hughes River (Madison 

County) from the upper 

crossing of Route 707 near the 

confluence of Rocky Run 

upstream including all named 

and unnamed tributaries. 
 

iii 

 

Indian Run (Rappahannock 

County) from 3.4 miles above 

its confluence with the Hittles 

Mill Stream upstream 

including all named and 

unnamed tributaries. 
 

ii 

 

Jordan River (Rappahannock 

County) from 10.9 miles 

above its confluence with the 

Rappahannock River 
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upstream including all named 

and unnamed tributaries. 
 

iii 

 

Kinsey Run from its 

confluence with the Rapidan 

River upstream including all 

named and unnamed 

tributaries. 
 

ii 

 

Laurel Prong from its 

confluence with the Rapidan 

River upstream including all 

named and unnamed 

tributaries. 
 

ii 

 

Mill Prong from its 

confluence with the Rapidan 

River upstream including all 

named and unnamed 

tributaries. 
 

ii 

 

Negro Run (Madison County) 

from its confluence with the 

Robinson River upstream 

including all named and 

unnamed tributaries. 
 

ii 

 

North Fork Thornton River 

from 3.2 miles above its 

confluence with the Thornton 

River upstream including all 

named and unnamed 

tributaries. 
 

ii 

 

Piney River (Rappahannock 

County) from 0.8 mile above 

its confluence with the North 

Fork Thornton River upstream 

including all named and 

unnamed tributaries. 
 

ii 

 

Pocosin Hollow from its 

confluence with the Conway 

River upstream including all 

named and unnamed 

tributaries. 
 

ii 

 

Ragged Run from 0.6 mile 

above its confluence with 

Popham Run upstream 

including all named and 

unnamed tributaries. 
 

i 

 

Rapidan River from Graves 

Mill (Route 615) upstream 

including all named and 

unnamed tributaries. 

 

ii 

 

Robinson River (Madison 

County) from river mile 26.7 

to river mile 29.7. 
 

i 

 

Robinson River (Madison 

County) from river mile 29.7 

upstream including all named 

and unnamed tributaries. 
 

i 

 

Rose River from river mile 

2.6 upstream including all 

named and unnamed 

tributaries. 
 

iv 

 

Rush River (Rappahannock 

County) from the confluence 

of Big Devil Stairs 

(approximate river mile 10.2) 

upstream including all named 

and unnamed tributaries. 
 

ii 

 

Sams Run from its confluence 

with the Hazel River upstream 

including all named and 

unnamed tributaries. 
 

ii 

 

South River from 8.9 miles 

above its confluence with the 

Rapidan River upstream 

including all named and 

unnamed tributaries. 
 

ii 

 

Sprucepine Branch from its 

confluence with Bearwallow 

Creek upstream including all 

named and unnamed 

tributaries. 
 

i 

 

Staunton River (Madison 

County) from its confluence 

with the Rapidan River 

upstream including all named 

and unnamed tributaries. 
 

ii 

 

Strother Run from its 

confluence with the Rose 

River upstream including all 

named and unnamed 

tributaries. 
 

iii 

 

Thornton River 

(Rappahannock County) from 

25.7 miles above its 

confluence with the Hazel 

River upstream including all 

named and unnamed 

tributaries. 
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ii 

 

Wilson Run from its 

confluence with the Staunton 

River upstream including all 

named and unnamed 

tributaries. 

4a 

  

(Deleted) 

4b III PWS The Rappahannock River and 

its tributaries, to include the 

VEPCO Canal, from 

Fredericksburg's (inactive 

May 2000) raw water intake 

to points 5 miles upstream. 

4c III PWS Motts Run and its tributaries. 

4d III 

 

Horsepen Run and its 

tributaries. 

4e III PWS Hunting Run and its 

tributaries. 

4f III 

 

Wilderness Run and its 

tributaries. 

4g III 

 

Deep Run and its tributaries. 

4h 

  

(Deleted) 

4i III PWS Mountain Run and its 

tributaries from Culpeper's 

raw water intake to points 5 

miles upstream. 

4j III PWS White Oak Run and its 

tributaries from the Town of 

Madison's raw water intake to 

points 5 miles upstream. 

4k III PWS Rapidan River and its 

tributaries from Orange's raw 

water intake near Poplar Run 

to points 5 miles upstream. 

4l III PWS Rapidan River and its 

tributaries from the Rapidan 

Service Authority's raw water 

intake (just upstream of the 

Route 29 bridge) upstream to 

points 5 miles above the 

intake. 

4m III PWS Rapidan River and its 

tributaries from the 

Wilderness Shores raw water 

intake (Orange County - 

Rapidan Service Authority) to 

points 5 miles upstream. 

4n III PWS From the dam of the White 

Run pumped storage reservoir 

on an unnamed tributary to 

White Run upstream to its 

headwaters. 

9VAC25-260-510. Tennessee and Big Sandy River Basins 

(Holston River Subbasin). 

SEC. CLASS SP. 

STDS. 

SECTION DESCRIPTION 

Editor's Note: Sections 1 through 5 are not amended, 

therefore those sections of the table are not published. 

6 IV ESW-

10 

South Fork Holston River and 

its tributaries in Virginia, 

unless otherwise designated in 

this chapter. 
 

V 

 

Stockable Trout Waters in 

Section 6 
 

vi 

 

Grosses Creek from its 

confluence with the South Fork 

Holston River 3.4 miles 

upstream. 
 

vi 

 

Rush Creek (Washington 

County) from its confluence 

with the South Fork Holston 

River 2.2 miles upstream. 
 

vi 

 

Straight Branch from its 

confluence with Whitetop 

Laurel Creek 2.5 miles 

upstream. 
 

VI 

 

Natural Trout Waters in 

Section 6 
 

iii 

 

Barkcamp Branch from its 

confluence with Rowland 

Creek upstream including all 

named and unnamed 

tributaries. 
 

iii 

 

Beaverdam Creek (Washington 

County) from its confluence 

with Laurel Creek to the 

Virginia-Tennessee state line 2 

miles upstream. 
 

iii 

 

Bell Hollow from its 

confluence with Dickey Creek 

upstream including all named 

and unnamed tributaries. 
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iii 

 

Big Branch from its confluence 

with Big Laurel Creek 

upstream including all named 

and unnamed tributaries. 
   

Big Laurel Creek (Smyth 

County) from its confluence 

with Whitetop Laurel Creek 

upstream including all named 

and unnamed tributaries. 
 

iii 

 

Big Laurel Creek (Smyth 

County) from its confluence 

with Whitetop Laurel Creek 2.6 

miles upstream. 
 

ii 

 

Big Laurel Creek (Smyth 

County) from 2.6 miles above 

its confluence with Whitetop 

Laurel Creek (at Laurel Valley 

Church) upstream including all 

named and unnamed 

tributaries. 
 

iii 

 

Brush Creek from its 

confluence with Rush Creek 

upstream including all named 

and unnamed tributaries. 
 

iii 

 

Buckeye Branch from its 

confluence with Green Cove 

Creek upstream including all 

named and unnamed 

tributaries. 
 

ii 

 

Charlies Branch from its 

confluence with Big Laurel 

Creek upstream including all 

named and unnamed 

tributaries. 
 

iii 

 

Cold Branch from its 

confluence with Jerrys Creek 

upstream including all named 

and unnamed tributaries. 
 

iv 

 

Comers Creek from its 

confluence with the South Fork 

Holston River upstream 

including all named and 

unnamed tributaries. 
 

ii 

 

Cressy Creek from 1.7 miles 

above its confluence with the 

South Fork Holston River at 

Route 16 upstream including 

all named and unnamed 

tributaries. 

 

ii 

 

Daves Branch from its 

confluence with Big Laurel 

Creek upstream including all 

named and unnamed 

tributaries. 
 

iii 

 

Dickey Creek from 0.6 mile 

above its confluence with the 

South Fork Holston River 

upstream including all named 

and unnamed tributaries. 
 

ii 

 

Dry Fork from 1.2 miles above 

its confluence with St. Clair 

Creek upstream including all 

named and unnamed 

tributaries. 
 

ii 

 

Feathercamp Branch from its 

confluence with Straight 

Branch upstream including all 

named and unnamed 

tributaries. 
 

ii 

 

Grassy Branch from its 

confluence with Big Laurel 

Creek upstream including all 

named and unnamed 

tributaries. 
 

ii 

 

Green Cove Creek from its 

confluence with Whitetop 

Laurel Creek upstream 

including all named and 

unnamed tributaries. 
 

ii 

 

Grindstone Branch from its 

confluence with Big Laurel 

Creek upstream including all 

named and unnamed 

tributaries. 
 

iii 

 

High Trestle Branch from its 

confluence with Buckeye 

Branch upstream including all 

named and unnamed 

tributaries. 
 

iii 

 

Hopkins Branch from its 

confluence with the South Fork 

Holston River upstream 

including all named and 

unnamed tributaries. 
 

iii 

 

Houndshell Branch from its 

confluence with Cressy Creek 

upstream including all named 

and unnamed tributaries. 



Regulations 

Volume 37, Issue 21  Virginia Register of Regulations  June 7, 2021  

3357 

 

ii 

 

Hurricane Creek (Smyth 

County) from its confluence 

with Comers Creek upstream 

including all named and 

unnamed tributaries. 
 

iii 

 

Hutton Branch from its 

confluence with Dickey Creek 

upstream including all named 

and unnamed tributaries. 
 

iii 

 

Jerrys Creek (Smyth County) 

from 1.5 miles above its 

confluence with Rowland 

Creek upstream including all 

named and unnamed 

tributaries. 
 

ii 

 

Little Laurel Creek (Smyth 

County) from its confluence 

with Whitetop Laurel Creek 

upstream including all named 

and unnamed tributaries. 
 

*** 

 

Laurel Creek from its 

confluence with Beaverdam 

Creek (Washington County) to 

the Virginia-North Carolina 

state line. 
 

ii 

 

London Bridge Branch from its 

confluence with Beaverdam 

Creek (Washington County) 

0.6 mile upstream. 
 

iii 

 

Long Branch from its 

confluence with Jerrys Creek 

upstream including all named 

and unnamed tributaries. 
 

ii 

 

Mill Creek (Washington 

County) from its confluence 

with the South Fork Holston 

River upstream including all 

named and unnamed 

tributaries. 
 

iii 

 

Parks Creek from its 

confluence with Cressy Creek 

upstream including all named 

and unnamed tributaries. 
 

ii 

 

Pennington Branch from its 

confluence with Whitetop 

Laurel Creek upstream 

including all named and 

unnamed tributaries. 

 

iii 

 

Quarter Branch from 1.1 miles 

above its confluence with 

Cressy Creek upstream 

including all named and 

unnamed tributaries. 
 

iii 

 

Raccoon Branch from its 

confluence with Dickey Creek 

upstream including all named 

and unnamed tributaries. 
 

ii 

 

Rowland Creek from 2.5 miles 

above its confluence with the 

South Fork Holston River 

upstream including all named 

and unnamed tributaries. 
 

ii 

 

Rush Creek (Washington 

County) from 2.2 miles above 

its confluence with the South 

Fork Holston River upstream 

including all named and 

unnamed tributaries. 
 

iii 

 

Scott Branch from its 

confluence with Dickey Creek 

upstream including all named 

and unnamed tributaries. 
 

iii 

 

Slemp Creek from 2 miles 

above its confluence with 

Cressy Creek upstream 

including all named and 

unnamed tributaries. 
 

ii 

 

South Fork Holston River from 

101.8 miles above its 

confluence with the Holston 

River to the Thomas Bridge 

Water Corporation's raw water 

intake (see Section 6a). 
 

ii 

 

South Fork Holston River from 

5 miles above the Thomas 

Bridge Water Corporation's 

raw water intake to a point 12.9 

miles upstream (see Section 

6a). 
 

ii 

 

Star Hill Branch from its 

confluence with Green Cove 

Creek upstream including all 

named and unnamed 

tributaries. 
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ii 

 

St. Clair Creek from 3.3 miles 

above its confluence with the 

South Fork Holston River (at 

Route 600) above Horseshoe 

Bend upstream including all 

named and unnamed 

tributaries. 
 

ii 

 

Sturgill Branch from its 

confluence with Whitetop 

Laurel Creek upstream 

including all named and 

unnamed tributaries. 
 

iii 

 

Valley Creek (Washington 

County) from its confluence 

with Whitetop Laurel Creek 

upstream including all named 

and unnamed tributaries. 
   

Whitetop Laurel Creek from its 

confluence with Laurel Creek 

upstream including all named 

and unnamed tributaries. 
 

ii 

 

Whitetop Laurel Creek from its 

confluence with Laurel Creek 

8.1 miles upstream. 
 

i 

 

Whitetop Laurel Creek from 

8.1 miles above its confluence 

with Laurel Creek 4.4 miles 

upstream. 
 

iii 

 

Whitetop Laurel Creek from 

12.5 miles above its confluence 

with Laurel Creek 3.8 miles 

upstream. 

6a IV PWS South Fork Holston River and 

its tributaries from Thomas 

Bridge Water Corporation's 

raw water intake between 

Route 658 and Route 656 to 

points 5 miles upstream. 
 

VI 

 

Natural Trout Waters in 

Section 6a 
 

ii 

 

South Fork Holston River from 

Thomas Bridge Water 

Corporation's raw water intake 

to a point 5 miles upstream. 

6b IV PWS South Fork Holston River and 

its tributaries from Washington 

County Service Authority 

intake near the confluence of 

the Middle Fork and South 

Fork Holston Rivers to points 5 

miles upstream. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R21-6535; Filed May 19, 2021, 8:56 a.m. 

  ––––––––––––––––––  

TITLE 14. INSURANCE 

STATE CORPORATION COMMISSION 

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The State Corporation Commission 

is claiming an exemption from the Administrative Process Act 

in accordance with § 2.2-4002 A 2 of the Code of Virginia, 

which exempts courts, any agency of the Supreme Court, and 

any agency that by the Constitution is expressly granted any of 

the powers of a court of record. 

Title of Regulation: 14VAC5-430. Insurance Data Security 

Risk Assessment and Reporting (adding 14VAC5-430-10 

through 14VAC5-430-70). 

Statutory Authority: §§ 12.1-13 and 38.2-223 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

Effective Date: June 1, 2021. 

Agency Contact: Katie Johnson, Insurance Policy Advisor, 

Bureau of Insurance, State Corporation Commission, P.O. Box 

1157, Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 371-9688, FAX 

(804) 371-9873, or email katie.johnson@scc.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The regulatory action implements the provisions of the 

Insurance Data Security Act (§ 38.2-621 et seq. of the 

Code of Virginia), Chapter 264 of the 2020 Acts of 

Assembly, and establishes cybersecurity initiatives and 

notification procedures for insurers, insurance agencies, 

and licensees or third-party providers. Changes to the 

proposed regulation include (i) removing the distinction 

between Level One and Level Two licensees in favor of a 

standard of measures appropriate to the size and 

complexity of the licensee; (ii) permitting licensees to use 

National Institute of Standards and Technology or any 

other substantially similar standard as a safe harbor for 

compliance with the chapter; (iii) removing the 

requirement that licensees that do not plan to notify 

consumers of a cybersecurity event must provide a 

detailed explanation of this decision to the Commissioner 

and that the Commissioner has the ability to review that 

explanation and override it; (iv) adding a provision that a 

decision not to notify consumers of a cybersecurity event 

requires an explanation to the Commissioner supporting 

the licensee's decision without unreasonable delay; and 

(v) making all compliance dates in the chapter July 1, 

2022, for consistency.  

mailto:katie.johnson@scc.virginia.gov
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AT RICHMOND, MAY 24, 2021 

COMMONWEALTH OF VIRGINIA, ex rel. 

STATE CORPORATION COMMISSION 

CASE NO. INS-2020-00168 

Ex Parte In the matter of Adopting 

Rules to Implement the Requirements 

of the Insurance Data Security Act 

ORDER ADOPTING REGULATIONS 

On August 13, 2020, the State Corporation Commission 

("Commission") entered an Order to Take Notice of a proposal 

by the Bureau of Insurance ("Bureau") to adopt new rules at 

Title 14, Chapter 430 of the Virginia Administrative Code 

(14VAC5-430-10 et seq.), entitled Insurance Data Security 

Risk Assessment and Reporting ("Rules"). 

The Bureau's proposed Rules were drafted to comply with the 

requirements of the Insurance Data Security Act, §§ 38.2-621 et 

seq. of the Code of Virginia ("IDSA"). The IDSA was enacted by 

the 2020 Virginia General Assembly and establishes standards 

that Bureau licensees must meet regarding data security, 

cybersecurity investigations, and notification to the Commissioner 

of Insurance and consumers of cybersecurity events. The IDSA 

also directed the Commission to adopt regulations to implement 

the requirements of the IDSA.1 A detailed summary of these 

proposed amendments was set forth in the Order to Take Notice. 

The Order to Take Notice and proposed regulations were 

published in the Virginia Register of Regulations on 

September 14, 2020, posted on the Commission's website, and 

sent to all to all insurers, burial societies, fraternal benefit 

societies, health services plans, risk retention groups, joint 

underwriting associations, group self-insurance pools, and 

group self-insurance associations licensed by the Commission, 

qualified reinsurers in Virginia (collectively, potential 

"Licensees"), the Virginia Attorney General's Division of 

Consumer Counsel ("Consumer Counsel") and to all interested 

persons. Licensees, Consumer Counsel and other interested 

parties were afforded the opportunity to file written comments 

or request a hearing on or before October 26, 2020. 

Comments to the Rules were filed by Wesley Bissett, 

Independent Agents and Brokers of America ("IIABA"); 

Robert Bradshaw, on behalf of Independent Insurance Agents 

of Virginia, as well as on behalf of Christine E. Miller,, Kevin 

Kowar, Professional Insurance Agents of Virginia/DC, Kathie 

Naylor, Virginia Association of Health Underwriters; Nancy 

Egan, American Property Casualty Insurance Association; 

Marc Follmer, Virginia Farm Bureau Mutual Insurance 

Company ("VFB"); Michelle Caroll Foster, American Council 

of Life Insurers; Leigh Hubbard, Virginia Land Title 

Association; Andrew Kirkner, National Association of Mutual 

Insurance Companies; and John Morris, UnitedHealthcare 

("UHC").2  

The Bureau considered the comments filed and responded to 

them in its Response to Comments ("Response"),3 which the 

Bureau filed with the Clerk of the Commission on April 5, 

2021. In its Response, the Bureau addressed the comments and 

either recommended that various sections of the proposed 

Rules be amended or indicated why it did not believe other 

suggested revisions were authorized or warranted. 

NOW THE COMMISSION, having considered the proposed 

regulations, the comments filed, the Bureau's Statement of 

Position, the record herein, and applicable law, concludes that 

the proposed regulations should be adopted by the 

Commission, as recommended and modified and attached 

hereto. The Commission further concludes that the proposed 

regulations, as modified, should be adopted with an effective 

date of June 1, 2021. 

Accordingly, IT IS ORDERED THAT: 

(1) The proposed regulations, as modified herein and attached 

hereto, are adopted effective June 1, 2021. 

(2) This Order and the attached regulations shall be made 

available on the Commission's website: 

scc.virginia.gov/pages/Case-Information. 

(3) The Commission's Division of Information Resources 

shall provide a copy of this Order and the regulations to the 

Virginia Registrar of Regulations for publication in the 

Virginia Register of Regulations. 

(4) This case is dismissed, and the papers filed herein shall be 

placed in the Commission's file for ended causes. 

A COPY of this Order and the attached regulations shall be 

sent by the Clerk of the Commission to the Commission's 

Office of General Counsel, to the Attorney General's Division 

of Consumer Counsel and to the Commissioner of the Bureau 

of Insurance, who shall email an electronic link to this Order 

and attached regulations to all insurers, burial societies, 

fraternal benefit societies, health services plans, risk retention 

groups, joint underwriting associations, group self-insurance 

pools, and group self-insurance associations licensed by the 

Commission, qualified reinsurers in Virginia and such other 

interested persons as he may designate. 

_____________________________ 

1See § 38.2-627 D of the IDSA. 

2Comments submitted by NAIMIC, IIABA and UHC were filed on October 

27, 2020, after the deadline imposed by the Order to Take Notice. However, 

as the Bureau indicated it considered and responded to all comments received, 

the Commission has considered all comments filed as well. 

3The only commenter requesting a hearing, withdrew the request based upon 

the Bureau’s proposed modifications to the Rules as outlined in the Response. 

https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/Register/SectionDetails/SectionEdit/6459/22/14VAC5/REGISTRAR'S%20NOTICE:%20The%20State%20Corporation%20Commission%20is%20claiming%20an%20exemption%20from%20the%20Administrative%20Process%20Act%20in%20accordance%20with%20§%202.2-4002%20A%202%20of%20the%20Code%20of%20Virginia,%20which%20exempts%20courts,%20any%20agency%20of%20the%20Supreme%20Court,%20and%20any%20agency%20that%20by%20the%20Constitution%20is%20expressly%20granted%20any%20of%20the%20powers%20of%20a%20court%20of%20record.
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Chapter 430 

Insurance Data Security Risk Assessment and Reporting 

14VAC5-430-10. Applicability and scope.  

This chapter sets forth rules to carry out the provisions of the 

Insurance Data Security Act, Article 2 (§ 38.2-621, et seq.) of 

Chapter 6 of Title 38.2 of the Code of Virginia, and sets 

minimum standards for risk assessment and security standards 

required of all licensees. However, as outlined, the specific 

requirements for licensees may differ in certain circumstances, 

depending on the size and complexity of the licensee. This 

chapter applies to and protects physical and electronic data, 

including nonpublic information, stored, transmitted, and 

processed across various information systems or any other 

media used by licensees. 

14VAC5-430-20. Severability.  

If any provision of this chapter or its application to any person 

or circumstance is for any reason held to be invalid by a court 

or the commission, the remainder of this chapter and the 

application of the provisions to other persons or circumstances 

shall not be affected. 

14VAC5-430-30. Definitions.  

The following word and terms when used in this chapter shall 

have the following meanings, unless context clearly indicates 

otherwise:  

"Authorized person" means a person known to and authorized 

by the licensee and determined to be necessary and appropriate 

to have access to the nonpublic information held by the 

licensee and its information systems. 

"Bureau" means the Bureau of Insurance. 

"Commissioner" means the Commissioner of Insurance. 

"Consumer" means an individual, including any applicant, 

policyholder, former policyholder, insured, beneficiary, 

claimant, and certificate holder, who is a resident of Virginia 

and whose nonpublic information is in the possession, custody, 

or control of a licensee or an authorized person.  

"Cybersecurity event" means an event resulting in 

unauthorized access to, disruption of, or misuse of an 

information system or nonpublic information in the possession, 

custody, or control of a licensee or an authorized person. 

"Cybersecurity event" does not include (i) the unauthorized 

acquisition of encrypted nonpublic information if the 

encryption, process, or key is not also acquired, released, or 

used without authorization or (ii) an event in which the licensee 

has determined that the nonpublic information accessed by an 

unauthorized person has not been used or released and has been 

returned or destroyed. 

"Encrypted" or "encryption" means the transformation of data 

into a form that results in a low probability of assigning 

meaning without the use of a protective process or key. 

"Home state" means the jurisdiction in which the producer 

maintains its principal place of residence or principal place of 

business and is licensed by that jurisdiction to act as a resident 

insurance producer. 

"Information security program" means the administrative, 

technical, and physical safeguards that a licensee uses to 

access, collect, distribute, process, protect, store, use, transmit, 

dispose of, or otherwise handle nonpublic information. 

"Information system" means a discrete set of electronic 

information resources organized for the collection, processing, 

maintenance, use, sharing, dissemination, or disposition of 

electronic information, as well as any specialized system, such 

as industrial or process control systems, telephone switching 

and private branch exchange systems, and environmental 

control systems. 

[ "Level one licensee" means any licensee with more than 10 

employees and authorized persons. 

"Level two licensee" means any licensee with 10 or fewer 

employees and authorized persons. A level two licensee may 

choose to comply with the requirements for a level one 

licensee. If a licensee ceases to qualify as a level two licensee, 

the licensee shall have 180 days from the date it ceases to 

qualify to comply with the requirements of a level one 

licensee. ] 

"Licensee" means any person licensed, authorized to operate, 

or registered, or required to be licensed, authorized, or 

registered pursuant to the insurance laws of Virginia. 

"Licensee" does not include a purchasing group or a risk 

retention group chartered and licensed in a state other than 

Virginia or a person that is acting as an assuming insurer that 

is domiciled in another state or jurisdiction. 

"Multi-factor authentication" means authentication through 

verification of at least two of the following types of 

authentication factors:  

1. Knowledge factors, such as a password; 

2. Possession factors, such as a token or text message on a 

mobile device; or 

3. Inherence factors, such as a biometric characteristic. 

"Nonpublic information" means information that is not 

publicly available information and is:  

1. Business-related information of a licensee the tampering 

with which, or the unauthorized disclosure, access, or use of 

which, would cause a material adverse impact to the 

business, operations, or security of the licensee;  

2. Any information concerning a consumer that because of 

name, number, personal mark, or other identifier can be used 

to identify such consumer, in any combination with a 

consumer's (i) social security number; (ii) driver's license 

number or nondriver identification card number; (iii) 
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financial account, credit card, or debit card number; (iv) 

security code, access code, or password that would permit 

access to a consumer's financial account; (v) passport 

number; (vi) military identification number; or (vii) 

biometric records; or  

3. Any information or data, except age or gender, in any form 

or medium created by or derived from a health care provider 

or a consumer that can be used to identify a particular 

consumer, and that relates to (i) the past, present, or future 

physical, mental, or behavioral health or condition of any 

consumer or a member of the consumer's family; (ii) the 

provision of health care to any consumer; or (iii) payment 

for the provision of health care to any consumer. 

[ "Nonpublic information" does not include a consumer's 

personally identifiable information that has been anonymized 

using a method no less secure than the safe harbor method 

under HIPAA. 

"Publicly available information" means any information that 

a licensee has a reasonable basis to believe is lawfully made 

available to the general public from federal, state, or local 

government records; widely distributed media; or disclosures 

to the general public that are required to be made by federal, 

state, or local law. A licensee has a reasonable basis to believe 

that information is lawfully made available to the general 

public if the licensee has taken steps to determine (i) that the 

information is of the type that is available to the general public 

and (ii) whether a consumer can direct that the information not 

be made available to the general public and, if so, that such 

consumer has not done so. ] 

"Third-party service provider" means a person, not otherwise 

defined as a licensee, that contracts with a licensee to maintain, 

process, or store nonpublic information or otherwise is 

permitted access to nonpublic information through its 

provision of services to the licensee, or an insurance-support 

organization. 

14VAC5-430-40. Information security program risk 

assessment.  

A. [ In addition to the information security program 

requirements of § 38.2-623 of the Code of Virginia, each level 

one licensee shall conduct periodic risk assessments consistent 

with the objectives of the most current revision of NIST SP 

800-30, NIST SP 800-39, or other substantially similar 

standard, taking into consideration the level one licensee's size 

and complexity.  

1. Each level one licensee shall consider cybersecurity risks 

in its enterprise risk management process. 

2. Compliance with the provisions of this subsection is 

required for all level one licensees on or before (insert date 

one year from the effective date of this chapter). 

B. ] In addition to the information security program 

requirements of § 38.2-623 of the Code of Virginia, taking into 

consideration the [ level two ] licensee's size and complexity, 

each [ level two ] licensee shall conduct a periodic risk 

assessment consistent with the following [ elements 

processes ]: 

1. Identify reasonably foreseeable internal or external threats 

that could result in unauthorized access, transmission, 

disclosure, misuse, alteration, or destruction of nonpublic 

information held by a [ level two ] licensee [ , including the 

security of information systems and nonpublic information 

that are accessible to or held by third-party service 

providers ];  

2. Assess the likelihood and potential damage of these 

threats taking into consideration the sensitivity of nonpublic 

information in the possession, custody, or control of the 

licensee [ and its authorized persons ]; 

3. Assess the sufficiency of policies, procedures, 

information systems, and other safeguards in place to 

manage these threats, including consideration of threats in 

each relevant area of the licensee's operations, such as 

employee training [ and management ]; information 

classification that includes the processing, storage, 

transmission, and disposal of information; and the detection, 

prevention, and response to attacks and intrusions; and  

4. Implement information safeguards to manage the threats 

identified in the licensee's ongoing assessment and, no less 

than annually, assess the effectiveness of the key controls, 

systems, and procedures. 

[ B. An assessment conducted in accordance with the 

objectives of the most current revision of NIST SP 800-30, 

NIST SP 800-39, or other substantially similar standard shall 

meet the requirements for a periodic assessment in subsection 

A of this section. 

C. ] Compliance with the provisions of this subsection is 

required of all [ level two ] licensees on or before July 1, 2022. 

14VAC5-430-50. Information security program security 

measures.  

A. [ As part of its information security program and based on 

its risk assessments, each level one licensee shall implement 

the appropriate measures consistent with NIST SP 800-53, 

NIST SP 800-171, or any substantially similar framework 

based on these standards, taking into consideration its size and 

complexity. Compliance with the provisions of this subsection 

is required for all level one licensees on or before (insert date 

one year from the effective date of this chapter). 

B. ] As part of its information security program and based on 

its risk assessments, each [ level two ] licensee shall implement 

appropriate security measures as follows: 

1. Manage the data, personnel, devices, systems, and 

facilities of the licensee in accordance with its identified 

risk; 
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2. Protect, by encryption or other appropriate means, all 

nonpublic information while being transmitted over an 

external network; 

3. Protect, by encryption or other appropriate means, all 

nonpublic information stored on portable computing, 

storage devices, or media; 

4. Adopt secure development practices for applications 

developed in-house and used by the licensee; 

5. Adopt procedures for evaluating and assessing the 

security of externally developed applications utilized by the 

licensee;  

6. Implement effective controls, [ including which may 

include ] multi-factor authentication, for authorized 

[ individuals persons ] to access nonpublic information; and 

7. Use audit trails or audit logs designed to detect and 

respond to cybersecurity events and to reconstruct material 

financial transactions. 

[ B. ] Compliance with the provisions of this [ subsection 

section ] is required of all [ level two ] licensees on or before 

July 1, 2022. 

C. [ Security measures implemented in accordance with the 

objectives of the most current revision of NIST SP 800-30, 

NIST SP 800-39, or other substantially similar standard shall 

meet the requirements for security measures in subsection A of 

this section. 

D. ] Effective July 1, 2022, each licensee that utilizes a third-

party service provider shall: 

1. Exercise due diligence in selecting a third-party service 

provider; and 

2. Require the third-party service provider to implement 

appropriate administrative, technical, and physical measures 

to protect and secure the information systems and nonpublic 

information that are accessible to, or held by, the third-party 

service provider. 

14VAC5-430-60. Reporting cybersecurity events to the 

commissioner.  

A. Reporting cybersecurity events to the commissioner. 

1. Once a licensee has determined [ both ] that a 

cybersecurity event has occurred and [ that ] the licensee has 

a duty to report it to the commissioner pursuant to § 38.2-

625 of the Code of Virginia, the licensee shall notify the 

commissioner within three business days that it has 

information to report, using the email address designated by 

the bureau. This notification should include the name, 

telephone number, and email address of the individual who 

is the licensee's designated contact for the cybersecurity 

event. 

2. Instructions for communicating the information required 

by § 38.2-625 of the Code of Virginia to the commissioner 

through a secure portal will be provided by the bureau in 

response to the email. 

3. The licensee shall update the commissioner on the 

progress of its investigation as information becomes known 

to the licensee until the licensee has provided [ all as much 

of ] the information set forth in § 38.2-625 of the Code of 

Virginia [ as possible ]. 

4. If also required to notify consumers [ under § 38.2-626 of 

the Code of Virginia and 14VAC5-430-70 ], licensees shall 

(i) provide the commissioner with a copy of the notice 

template and any documentation provided to consumers and 

(ii) maintain a list of consumers notified and retain the list 

for [ the longer of five years or ] the timeframe established 

by § 38.2-624 D of the Code of Virginia. 

B. Except where nonpublic information has been accessed, once 

a domestic insurance company has notified the commissioner of 

the date, nature, and scope of the cybersecurity event, the 

[ insurance ] company may report [ all any ] remaining 

information required by § 38.2-625 of the Code of Virginia 

[ discovered by the licensee pursuant to its investigation ] (i) 

annually in a separate report, (ii) in the certification described in 

§ 38.2-623 H of the Code of Virginia, or (iii) on a continuing basis 

through the portal established for [ the company by reporting 

cybersecurity events to ] the bureau [ for this purpose ].  

C. Unless exempted by § 38.2-629 A 2 of the Code of 

Virginia, producers whose home state is Virginia shall report 

cybersecurity events to the commissioner in accordance with 

subsection A of this section.  

D. If required to report to the commissioner, nondomestic 

insurance companies, and, unless exempted under § 38.2-629 

A 2 of the Code of Virginia, producers whose home state is not 

Virginia shall notify the commissioner of the cybersecurity 

event pursuant to § 38.2-625 A 2 of the Code of Virginia as set 

forth in subsection A of this section. 

14VAC5-430-70. Consumer notification provisions.  

A. Licensees, except those exempted under [ subsection A 1 

or A 2 of ] § 38.2-629 [ A 2 ] of the Code of Virginia, that 

determine a cybersecurity event has occurred and has caused 

or has a reasonable likelihood of causing identity theft or other 

fraud to consumers whose information was accessed or 

acquired shall notify those consumers in accordance with 

§ 38.2-626 of the Code of Virginia, subject to any applicable 

numerical threshold. 

B. Each licensee required to notify consumers of a 

cybersecurity event that does not intend to notify consumers 

based on a belief that the cybersecurity event does not have a 

reasonable likelihood of causing identity theft or other fraud to 

the consumers shall notify the commissioner [ , without 

unreasonable delay, ] of its position and provide [ a detailed 

an ] explanation supporting the licensee's position. 
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[ C. If, upon review of the report, the cybersecurity event does 

have a reasonable likelihood of causing identity theft or other 

fraud to the consumer, the commissioner may require the 

licensee to notify the affected consumers in accordance with 

§ 38.2-626 of the Code of Virginia. ] 

DOCUMENTS INCORPORATED BY REFERENCE 

(14VAC5-430) 

National Institute of Standards and Technology, Computer 

Security Division, Information Technology Laboratory, 100 

Bureau Drive (Mail Stop 8930), Gaithersburg, MD 20899-

8930, sec-cert@nist.gov 

NIST, Special Publication, Guide for Conducting Risk 

Assessments, 800-30 (rev. 1, 9/2012) 

NIST, Special Publication, Managing Information 

Security Risk Organization, Mission, and Information 

System View, 800-39 (eff. 3/2011) 

[ NIST, Special Publication, Security and Privacy 

Controls for Federal Information Systems and 

Organizations, 800-53 (rev. 4, 4/2013) 

NIST, Special Publication, Protecting Controlled 

Unclassified Information, 800-171 (rev. 2, 2/2020) ] 

VA.R. Doc. No. R21-6459; Filed May 26, 2021, 1:21 p.m. 

  ––––––––––––––––––  

TITLE 18. PROFESSIONAL AND 
OCCUPATIONAL LICENSING 

BOARD OF PSYCHOLOGY 

Fast-Track Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC125-30. Regulations Governing 

the Certification of Sex Offender Treatment Providers 

(amending 18VAC125-30-10, 18VAC125-30-30, 

18VAC125-30-40, 18VAC125-30-50, 18VAC125-30-70, 

18VAC125-30-80, 18VAC125-30-90, 18VAC125-30-110; 

adding 18VAC125-30-25, 18VAC125-30-81, 18VAC125-

30-91, 18VAC125-30-101; repealing 18VAC125-30-100, 

18VAC125-30-120). 

Statutory Authority: §§ 54.1-2400 and 54.1-3605 of the Code 

of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: No public hearing is currently 

scheduled. 

Public Comment Deadline: July 7, 2021. 

Effective Date: July 22, 2021. 

Agency Contact: Jaime Hoyle, Executive Director, Board of 

Psychology, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, Richmond, VA 

23233, telephone (804) 367-4406, FAX (804) 327-4435, or 

email jaime.hoyle@dhp.virginia.gov. 

Basis: Regulations of the Board of Psychology are 

promulgated under the general authority of § 54.1-2400 of the 

Code of Virginia, which establishes the general powers and 

duties of health regulatory boards including the responsibility 

to promulgate regulations that are reasonable and necessary. 

Specific authority to regulate sex offender treatment provider 

certification is found in § 54.1-3611 of the Code of Virginia. 

Purpose: Treatment of sex offenders requires special training 

and expertise. The goal is to treat the offender to avoid 

recidivism and to also protect the public. The board determined 

that additional standards of practice were necessary to ensure 

a certified provider could be held accountable for 

unprofessional conduct similar to any other mental health 

provider. Therefore, the regulation is absolutely necessary for 

public health, safety, and welfare. 

Rationale for Using Fast-Track Rulemaking Process: This 

action is the result of a comprehensive periodic review of 

18VAC125-30. No public comment was received. The 

amended regulation was developed by persons with expertise 

as sex offender treatment providers; the amendments are not 

expected to be controversial. 

Substance: The amendments (i) clarify and update 

requirements and language consistent with current practice; (ii) 

eliminate the need for reference letters with an application and 

substituting a report from the National Practitioner Data Bank 

and verification of a license from another board; (iii) provide 

for acceptance of supervised experience obtained in another 

state; (iv) add an allowance for exceptions or exemptions for 

continuing education requirement; and (v) expand the 

standards of practice and grounds for disciplinary action for 

consistency with other boards and professions. 

Issues: The primary advantage of the amendments is greater 

protection for the public and for the clients who receive 

treatment with thorough enhanced and clarified standards of 

practice and grounds for disciplinary action. There are no 

disadvantages to the public. There are no advantages or 

disadvantages to the Commonwealth. 

Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 

Analysis: 

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. The 

Board of Psychology (Board) proposes to amend 18VAC125-

30 Regulations Governing the Certification of Sex Offender 

Treatment Providers (regulation) in order to implement a 

number of changes following a periodic review.1 The proposed 

amendments would (i) clarify and update requirements to be 

consistent with current practice, (ii) remove the requirement 

for three reference letters and instead require a report from the 

National Practitioner Data Bank (NPDB) and a verification of 

any other license held as a health professional, (iii) allow 

supervised experience obtained in another state to count 

towards certification requirements, (iv) add allowable 

exceptions or exemptions to the continued education 

requirements, and (v) expand the standards of practice and 

grounds for disciplinary action to be consistent with those 

found in the regulations for other health professions.  

http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=03968006459~50.pdf&typ=40&actno=006459&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=03968006459~50.pdf&typ=40&actno=006459&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=0146f006459~69.pdf&typ=40&actno=006459&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=0146f006459~69.pdf&typ=40&actno=006459&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=0146f006459~69.pdf&typ=40&actno=006459&mime=application/pdf
mailto:jaime.hoyle@dhp.virginia.gov
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Background. Pursuant to a periodic review, the Board proposes 

to make a number of changes. The most significant changes are 

summarized as follows: 

1. Clarify and update requirements and language consistent 

with current practice: For example, the definition of 

"ancillary services" is updated by replacing "substance abuse 

avoidance" with "substance misuse," and replacing "sex 

education" with "human sexuality." Also, the definition of 

"face-to-face" contact is amended to include interaction 

between therapy trainees and supervisors via technology. In 

addition, while the total hours for face-to face supervision 

would not change (a minimum of 100 hours of face-to-face 

supervision out of 2,000 hours of experience), the 

requirement for six hours per month of face-to-face 

supervision is repealed and replaced with "one hour of face-

to-face supervision for every 20 hours of experience." The 

Department of Health Professions (DHP) reports that this 

change would allow greater flexibility for the supervisor and 

supervisee. 

2. Remove the requirement for three reference letters to 

accompany a certification application: Instead, applicants 

would submit a report from the NPDB and verification of 

any licenses from another board.2 According to DHP, the 

applicant would request a report from the NPDB which, in 

turn, would be submitted to DHP along with other required 

documentation. The NPDB charges healthcare professionals 

$4 for each "self-query" of their own report, of which they 

may choose to receive hard copies by mail.3 DHP reports 

that most sex offender treatment providers are also licensed 

as social workers, counselors, or other mental health 

professionals. Thus, verification of that license also serves 

as an effective method to ensure the applicant's professional 

standing. 

3. Acceptance of supervised experience obtained in another 

state: Section 50 would permit the board to accept 

supervised experience hours completed in another 

jurisdiction for individuals with less than five years of 

documented work experience. New language would prohibit 

candidates from beginning their supervised experience until 

after completing the required degree as set forth in 

18VAC125-30-40. This follows the direction taken by the 

Board of Social Work in 2020.4 

4. Add an allowance for exceptions or exemptions for the 

continuing education (CE) requirement: A new section (81) 

would set out requirements for CE. While there is no change 

to the hourly requirements, the Virginia Sex Offender 

Treatment Association would be added as an approved CE 

provider. Other proposed amendments would: (i) exempt 

providers from CE for their first renewal after initial 

certification; (ii) grant the Board authority to grant 

extensions or exemptions at their discretion;5(iii) require 

maintenance of documentation for three years to allow for 

possible audits, eliminating the need to keep records 

indefinitely; and(iv) clarify that CE required by a 

disciplinary order may not be used to satisfy the renewal 

requirement for CE. 

5. Expand the standards of practice and grounds for 

disciplinary action to be consistent with other boards and 

professions: Additional grounds would be added in Section 

110 for consistency with the regulations of related boards 

such as counseling, social work, and psychology.6 These 

expanded grounds for action include engaging in intentional 

or negligent conduct that causes or is likely to cause harm to 

a client, performing functions outside the areas of 

competency, performing acts of fraud or deceiving the 

public, and failing to cooperate with DHP staff in the 

conduct of an investigation. 

Lastly, one of the proposed amendments would prohibit 

treatment providers from entering into an intimate or romantic 

relationship with a current or former sex offender client until 

five years after the cessation of treatment. In contrast, 

18VAC125-30-100 of the regulation currently prohibits 

treatment providers from entering into such relationships 

altogether, regardless of how much time has passed since 

cessation of treatment. Although the proposed language is 

intended to align the standards of practice with those adopted 

by the Board of Social Work and Board of Counseling, which 

extended the prohibition on entering such relationships from 

three years to five years, sex offender treatment providers had 

previously not been allowed to enter such relationships at all. 

In response to questions from the Department of Planning and 

Budget as to whether the Board intended for its requirements 

to be more permissive than before, DHP reported, "We do not 

believe the standard should be different for this type of 

practitioner than for other behavioral health professions; most 

who hold this certification are also licensees as counselors, 

social workers, etc. There is mitigating language in that 

subdivision in which the practitioner bears the burden of 

assuring that there has been no exploitation of the client both 

during and following treatment."7 

Estimated Benefits and Costs. By clarifying the requirements 

to obtain and maintain certification, the proposed amendments 

would benefit current and prospective sex offender treatment 

providers as well as the organizations that employ them. Some 

providers may incur lower costs to maintain their certification 

due to the new exemptions and exceptions for CE 

requirements. Applicants who have completed a portion of 

their training in another state would benefit by being able to 

use supervised experience hours acquired elsewhere to meet 

the certification requirements.  

Although applicants would have to pay a $4 fee to obtain a 

report from the NPDB, they would benefit from not having to 

expend the time and effort to obtain three letters of reference 

from currently licensed professionals. Utilizing a national 

database promotes greater transparency since applicants 

cannot select their letter writers and previous disciplinary 

actions in other states are less likely to be accidentally 
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overlooked. Thus, prospective employers of certified sex 

offender treatment providers and the public at large would 

benefit from using the NPDB. 

In addition, aligning the grounds for disciplinary action with 

the regulations that govern other mental health treatment 

providers would benefit the public by ensuring that a provider 

facing disciplinary charges under one board is not permitted to 

continue providing sex offender treatment simply due to 

discrepancies in the standards of practice. 

Businesses and Other Entities Affected. DHP reports that there 

are currently 437 certified sex offender treatment providers. It 

is unknown how many of these providers are also licensed 

social workers, counselors, or other mental health providers. 

DHP reports that most sex offender treatment providers are 

employed by government agencies or are contracted by court 

systems, but some may be in private practice, especially if they 

are also licensed as other mental health providers. 

Small Businesses8 Affected. Private practices that are either (i) 

owned and operated by or (ii) employ certified sex offender 

treatment providers would be affected by the proposed 

amendments. Although the number of such businesses is 

unknown, the proposed amendments do not appear to create 

any new costs for them. 

Localities9 Affected.10 The proposed amendments do not 

introduce new costs for local governments and are unlikely to 

affect any locality in particular. 

Projected Impact on Employment. The proposed amendments 

are unlikely to affect the employment of certified sex offender 

treatment providers. The number of certified providers may 

increase since some of the proposed amendments would make 

it easier for providers from other states to obtain certification 

in Virginia and provide greater flexibility for supervisors and 

supervisees to meet the "face to face" supervised experience 

requirements. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. The proposed 

amendments are unlikely to affect the use and value of private 

property. Real estate development costs are not affected. 

______________________________________ 
1See https://townhall.virginia.gov/l/ViewPReview.cfm?PRid=1900.  

2The National Practitioner Data Bank is a web-based repository of reports 

containing information on medical malpractice payments and certain adverse 

actions related to health care practitioners, providers, and suppliers. See 

https://www.npdb.hrsa.gov/topNavigation/aboutUs.jsp. In Virginia, the Board 

of Physical Therapy, Board of Dentistry, Board of Medicine, and Board of 

Social Work also currently use the NPDB. 

3See https://www.npdb.hrsa.gov/pract/selfQueryBasics.jsp for detailed 

instructions on how individual professionals should use the service to obtain 

reports. 

4See https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/ViewStage.cfm?stageid=9103.  

5According to DHP, "Such provisions are allowed for all other professions for 

this and other boards but were missing in the current regulations." 

6As per pages 11-12 of the Agency Background Document: "Without 

consistency in the grounds, it is possible for a licensee to have disciplinary 

action taken against his license but avoid discipline for this certification as a 

sex offender treatment provider." See 

https://townhall.virginia.gov/l/GetFile.cfm?File=31\5660\9149\AgencyState

ment_DHP_9149_v1.pdf  

7While this protects individuals seeking treatment, it does not address the 

possibility that sex offenders who have received treatment may wrongfully 

manipulate their providers into signing off on parole applications or similar 

actions that would reduce legal penalties and/or enable recidivist behavior.  

8Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.04 of the Code of Virginia, small business is defined 

as "a business entity, including its affiliates, that (i) is independently owned 

and operated and (ii) employs fewer than 500 full-time employees or has gross 

annual sales of less than $6 million." 

9"Locality" can refer to either local governments or the locations in the 

Commonwealth where the activities relevant to the regulatory change are most 

likely to occur. 

10§ 2.2-4007.04 defines "particularly affected" as bearing disproportionate 

material impact. 

Agency's Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The Board 

of Psychology concurs with the economic impact analysis of 

the Department of Planning and Budget.  

Summary: 

As a result of a periodic review, the amendments (i) clarify 

and update requirements and language consistent with 

current practice, (ii) eliminate the need for reference 

letters with an application and substitute a report from the 

National Practitioner Data Bank and verification of a 

license from another board, (iii) provide for acceptance of 

supervised experience obtained in another state, (iv) add 

an allowance for exceptions or exemptions for continuing 

education requirement, and (v) expand the standards of 

practice and grounds for disciplinary action for 

consistency with other boards and professions. 

18VAC125-30-10. Definitions. 

The following words and terms when used in this chapter 

shall have the following meanings, unless the context clearly 

indicates otherwise: 

"Ancillary services" means training in that includes anger 

management, stress management, assertiveness, social skills, 

substance abuse avoidance misuse, victim empathy, and sex 

education human sexuality as part of an identified sex offender 

treatment provider program. 

"Applicant" means an individual who has submitted a 

completed application with documentation and the appropriate 

fees to be examined for certification as a sex offender treatment 

provider. 

"Assessment" means using specific techniques of evaluation 

and measurement to collect facts related to sexually abusive 

thoughts and behaviors contributing to sexual offense. 

"Board" means the Virginia Board of Psychology. 

"Certified sex offender treatment provider" means a person 

who is certified to provide treatment to sex offenders and who 

provides such services in accordance with the provisions of 

§§ 54.1-2924.1, 54.1-3005, 54.1-3505, 54.1-3609, 54.1-3610, 

54.1-3611, and 54.1-3705 of the Code of Virginia and the 

regulations promulgated pursuant to these provisions. 

https://townhall.virginia.gov/l/ViewPReview.cfm?PRid=1900
https://www.npdb.hrsa.gov/topNavigation/aboutUs.jsp
https://www.npdb.hrsa.gov/pract/selfQueryBasics.jsp
https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/ViewStage.cfm?stageid=9103
https://townhall.virginia.gov/l/GetFile.cfm?File=31/5660/9149/AgencyStatement_DHP_9149_v1.pdf
https://townhall.virginia.gov/l/GetFile.cfm?File=31/5660/9149/AgencyStatement_DHP_9149_v1.pdf
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"Competency area" means an area in which a person 

possesses knowledge and skills and the ability to apply them in 

the clinical setting. 

"Face-to-face" means in-person or real-time interactive in 

which there is visual and audio contact and an opportunity for 

interaction. 

"Sex offender" means (i) any person who has been 

adjudicated or convicted of a sex offense or has a founded child 

sexual abuse status by the Department of Social Services; (ii) 

any person for whom any court has found sufficient evidence 

without specific finding of guilt of committing a felony or 

misdemeanor which may be reasonably inferred to be sexually 

motivated; or (iii) any person who admits to or acknowledges 

behavior which would result in adjudication, conviction, or a 

founded child sexual abuse status. 

"Sex offense" means behavior in violation of any of the 

following statutes in the Code of Virginia: § 18.2-48 in part 

(abduction of any person with intent to defile such person), 

§ 18.2-60.3 in part (includes only those instances in which 

sexual motivation can be reasonably inferred), § 18.2-61, 

§ 18.2-63, § 18.2-64.1, § 18.2-67.1, § 18.2-67.2, § 18.2-67.2:1, 

§ 18.2-67.3, § 18.2-67.4, § 18.2-67.5, § 18.2-130 in part 

(includes only those instances in which sexual motivation can 

be reasonable inferred), subsection A of § 18.2-361 in part "If 

any person carnally knows in any manner any brute animal" 

and subsection B § 18.2-361 in its entirety, § 18.2-366, § 18.2-

370, § 18.2-370.1, § 18.2-374.1 (not to include 

plethysmographic testing materials in the possession of 

qualified mental health professionals or technicians), § 18.2-

387. 

"Supervision" means the ongoing process performed by a 

supervisor who monitors the performance of the person 

supervised and provides regular documented individual 

consultation, guidance, and instruction with respect to the 

skills and competencies of the person providing sex offender 

treatment services. 

"Supervisor" means an individual who assumes full 

responsibility for the education and training activities of a 

person as it relates to sex offender treatment and provides the 

supervision required by such a person. The supervisor shall be 

a certified sex offender treatment provider and licensed by the 

Board of Medicine, Nursing, Counseling, Psychology or Social 

Work. 

"Supervisory contract" means an agreement that outlines the 

expectations and responsibilities of the supervisor and the 

trainee in accordance with this chapter. 

"Treatment" means therapeutic intervention to promote 

change in sexually abusive thoughts and behaviors which 

specifically addresses the occurrence and dynamics of sexual 

behavior and utilizes specific strategies to promote change and 

to reduce the risk of recidivism. 

18VAC125-30-25. Current name and address.  

Certificate holders shall notify the board in writing within 60 

days of a change in name or a change of the address of record 

or of the public address if different from the address of record. 

18VAC125-30-30. Prerequisites to certification. 

A. Every applicant for certification by the board shall: 

1. Meet the educational requirements prescribed in 

18VAC125-30-40; 

2. Meet the experience requirements prescribed in 

18VAC125-30-50; 

3. Submit to the board: 

a. A completed application form; 

b. Documented evidence of having fulfilled the education, 

experience, and supervision set forth in 18VAC125-30-40 

and 18VAC125-30-50; and 

c. Reference letters from three licensed health care 

professionals familiar with and attesting to the applicant's 

skills and experience A current report from the National 

Practitioner Data Bank; and 

d. Verification of any other health or mental health license, 

certificate, or registration ever held in Virginia or in 

another jurisdiction. In order to qualify for certification, 

the applicant shall have no unresolved action against a 

license, certificate, or registration. The board will consider 

history of disciplinary action on a case-by-case basis.  

B. The board may certify by endorsement an individual who 

can document current certification as a sex offender treatment 

provider in good standing obtained by standards substantially 

equivalent to those outlined in this chapter as verified by an 

out-of-state certifying agency on a board-approved form. 

18VAC125-30-40. Educational requirements. 

An applicant for certification as a sex offender treatment 

provider shall: 

1. Document completion of one of the following degrees: 

a. A master's or doctoral degree in social work, 

psychology, counseling, or nursing from a regionally 

accredited university; or 

b. The degree of Doctor of Medicine or Doctor of 

Osteopathic Medicine from an institution that is approved 

by an accrediting agency recognized by the Virginia Board 

of Medicine 

Graduates of institutions that are not accredited by an 

acceptable accrediting agency shall establish the 

equivalency of their education to the educational 

requirements of the Virginia Board of Social Work, 

Psychology, Counseling, Nursing or Medicine. 

2. Provide documentation of certificates of completion 

documenting 50 clock hours of training education acceptable 
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to the board in the following areas, with 15 clock hours in 

each area identified in subdivisions 2 a and 2 b of this 

section, 10 clock hours in each the area identified in 

subdivision 2 c of this section, and five clock hours in each 

area identified in subdivisions 2 d and 2 e of this section: 

a. Sex offender assessment; 

b. Sex offender treatment interventions; 

c. Etiology/developmental issues of sex offense behavior; 

d. Criminal justice and legal issues related to sexual 

offending; and 

e. Program evaluation, treatment efficacy, Treatment 

effectiveness and issues related to relapse prevention or 

recidivism of sex offenders. 

18VAC125-30-50. Experience requirements; supervision. 

A. Registration of supervision. Supervised experience 

obtained in Virginia without prior written board approval shall 

not be accepted toward certification. Candidates shall not begin 

the experience until after completion of the required degree as 

set forth in 18VAC125-30-40. 

1. In order to register supervision with the board, individuals 

shall submit Prior to beginning supervised postdegree 

experience in Virginia, an individual shall submit: 

a. A completed supervisory contract; 

b. The application and the registration fee prescribed in 

18VAC125-30-20; and 

c. Official graduate transcript documenting the degree 

requirement of 18VAC125-30-40. 

2. The board may waive the registration requirement for 

individuals who have obtained at least five years of 

documented work experience in sex offender treatment in 

another jurisdiction. For individuals with less than five years 

of documented work experience, the board may accept 

supervised experience hours completed in another 

jurisdiction, provided the experience meets the requirements 

of this section, except it is not required that a supervisor in 

the other jurisdiction hold certification as a sex offender 

treatment provider or a license issued by a health regulatory 

board in Virginia. 

B. An applicant for certification as a sex offender treatment 

provider shall provide documentation of having 2,000 hours of 

postdegree clinical experience in the delivery of clinical 

assessment/treatment services. At least 200 hours of this 

experience must be face-to-face treatment and assessment with 

sex offender clients. 

1. The experience shall include a minimum of 100 hours of 

face-to-face supervision within the 2,000 hours experience 

with a minimum of six hours per month one hour of face-to-

face supervision for every 20 hours of experience. A 

minimum of 50 hours shall be in individual face-to-face 

supervision. Face-to-face supervision obtained in a group 

setting shall include no more than six trainees in a group. 

2. If the applicant has obtained the required postdegree 

clinical experience for a mental health license within the past 

10 years, he the applicant can receive credit for those hours 

that were in the delivery of clinical assessment/treatment 

services with sex offender clients provided: 

a. The applicant can document that the hours were in the 

treatment and assessment with sex offender clients; and 

b. The supervisor for those hours can attest that he was 

licensed and qualified to render services to sex offender 

clients at the time of the supervision. 

C. Supervised experience obtained in Virginia without prior 

written board approval shall not be accepted toward 

certification. Candidates shall not begin the experience until 

after completion of the required degree as set forth in 

18VAC125-30-40. An individual who proposes to obtain 

supervised postdegree experience in Virginia shall, prior to the 

onset of such supervision, submit a supervisory contract along 

with the application package and pay the registration of 

supervision fee set forth in 18VAC125-30-20. 

D. The supervisor. 

1. The supervisor shall assume responsibility for the 

professional activities of the applicant. 

2. The supervisor shall not provide supervision for activities 

for which the prospective applicant has not had appropriate 

education. 

3. The supervisor shall be a certified sex offender treatment 

provider and hold a current and unrestricted Virginia license 

as a clinical nurse specialist, doctor of medicine or 

osteopathic medicine, professional counselor, marriage and 

family therapist, clinical social worker, or clinical 

psychologist and. 

4. The supervisor shall provide supervision only for those 

sex offender treatment services which he is qualified to 

render. 

4. 5. At the time of formal application for certification, the 

board approved supervisor shall document for the board the 

applicant's total hours of supervision, length of work 

experience, competence in sex offender treatment, and needs 

for additional supervision or training. 

18VAC125-30-70. Supervision of unlicensed persons. 

Those A certified sex offender treatment provider shall 

provide supervision for unlicensed persons providing ancillary 

services as part of an identified sex offender treatment program 

in an exempt practice situation and not meeting the educational 

and experience requirements to become an applicant shall 

provide such services under the supervision of a certified sex 

offender treatment provider. 
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18VAC125-30-80. Annual renewal of certificate. 

A. Every certificate issued by the board shall expire on June 

30 of each year. 

B. Along with the renewal application, the certified sex 

offender treatment provider shall: 

1. Submit the renewal fee prescribed in 18VAC125-30-20; 

and 

2. Attest to having obtained six hours of continuing 

education in topics related to the provision of sex offender 

treatment within the renewal period. Continuing education 

shall be offered by a sponsor or provider approved by the 

Virginia Board of Social Work, Psychology, Counseling, 

Nursing, or Medicine or by the Association for the 

Treatment of Sexual Abusers or one of its state chapters. 

Hours of continuing education used to satisfy the renewal 

requirements for another license may be used to satisfy the 

six-hour requirement for sex offender treatment provider 

certification, provided it was related to the provision of sex 

offender treatment as specified in 18VAC125-30-81. 

C. Certificate holders shall notify the board in writing of a 

change of address of record or of the public address, if different 

from the address of record, within 60 days. Failure to receive a 

renewal notice and application form or forms shall not excuse 

the certified sex offender treatment provider from the renewal 

requirement. 

18VAC125-30-81. Continuing education requirements.  

A. Certified sex offender treatment providers shall complete 

a minimum of six contact hours of continuing education in 

topics related to the provision of sex offender treatment for 

each annual renewal period. 

B. Continuing education shall be offered by a sponsor or 

provider approved by the Virginia Board of Social Work, 

Psychology, Counseling, Nursing, or Medicine or by the 

Association for the Treatment of Sexual Abusers or one of its 

state chapters, or the Virginia Sex Offender Treatment 

Association. Hours of continuing education used to satisfy the 

renewal requirements for another license may be used to satisfy 

the six-hour requirement for sex offender treatment provider 

certification, provided it was related to the provision of sex 

offender treatment. 

C. Attestation of completion of continuing education is not 

required for the first renewal following initial certification in 

Virginia.  

D. The board may grant an extension for good cause of up to 

one year for the completion of continuing education 

requirements upon written request from a certificate holder 

prior to the renewal date. Such extension shall not relieve the 

certificate holder of the continuing education requirement. 

E. The board may grant an exemption for all or part of the 

continuing education requirements due to circumstances 

beyond the control of a certificate holder, such as temporary 

disability, mandatory military service, or officially declared 

disasters, upon written request from the certificate holder prior 

to the renewal date. 

F. All certificate holders shall maintain original 

documentation of official transcripts showing credit hours 

earned or certificates of participation for a period of three years 

following renewal. 

G. Continuing education hours required by a disciplinary 

order may not be used to satisfy the requirement for renewal.  

18VAC125-30-90. Reinstatement. 

A. A person whose certificate has expired may renew it within 

one year after its expiration date by paying the renewal fee and 

the late renewal fee prescribed in 18VAC125-30-20. 

B. A person whose certificate has expired beyond one year 

and who wishes to resume practice shall: 

1. Submit a reinstatement application along with the 

reinstatement fee. 

2. Provide evidence satisfactory to the board of current 

ability to practice of completion of six hours of continuing 

education for each year in which the certification has been 

expired, with a maximum of 24 hours. 

3. Submit verification of any professional health or mental 

health registration, certification or licensure obtained ever 

held in Virginia or in any other jurisdiction subsequent to the 

initial application for certification. 

18VAC125-30-91. Reinstatement following disciplinary 

action.  

A. Any person whose certificate has been revoked or 

suspended by the board under the provisions of 18VAC125-

30-110 shall, in order to be eligible for reinstatement, (i) 

submit an application to the board for a license, (ii) pay the 

appropriate reinstatement fee, and (iii) submit any other 

evidence of competency as prescribed by the board. After a 

hearing, the board may at its discretion grant the reinstatement. 

B. Any person whose certificate has been revoked shall not 

apply for reinstatement until three years after such board 

action. 

18VAC125-30-100. Standards of practice. (Repealed.). 

A. The protection of the public health, safety, and welfare and 

the best interest of the public shall be the primary guide in 

determining the appropriate professional conduct of all 

certified practitioners who provide services to sex offenders.  

B. Persons certified by the board and applicants under 

supervision shall:  

1. Practice in a manner that ensures community protection 

and safety.  
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2. Treat all sex offender clients with dignity and respect, 

regardless of the nature of their crimes or offenses.  

3. Provide only services and use only techniques for which 

they are qualified by training and experience.  

4. Inform sex offender clients of (i) the purposes of an 

interview, testing, or evaluation session; (ii) the ways in 

which information obtained in such sessions will be used 

before asking the sex offender client to reveal personal 

information or allowing such information to be divulged; 

(iii) the methods of interventions, including any 

experimental methods of treatment; and (iv) the risks and 

benefits of any treatment.  

5. Inform sex offender clients of the limits of confidentiality 

and any circumstances which may allow an exception to the 

agreed upon confidentiality, including (i) as obligated under 

dual-client situations, especially in criminal justice or related 

settings; (ii) when the client is a danger to self or others; (iii) 

when under court order to disclose information; (iv) in cases 

of suspected child abuse; and (v) as otherwise required by 

law.  

6. Not require or seek waivers of privacy or confidentiality 

beyond the requirements of treatment, training, or 

community safety.  

7. Explain to juvenile sex offender clients the rights of their 

parents or legal guardians, or both, to obtain information 

relating to the sex offender client.  

8. Maintain sex offender client records securely, inform all 

employees of the rules applicable to the appropriate level of 

confidentiality, and provide for the destruction of records 

which are no longer useful.  

9. Retain sex offender client records for a minimum of five 

years from the date of termination of services.  

10. Stay abreast of new developments, concepts, and 

practices which are important to providing appropriate 

professional services.  

11. Never engage in dual relationships with sex offender 

clients or former clients, or current trainees that could impair 

professional judgment or compromise the sex offender 

client's or trainee's well-being, impair the trainee's judgment, 

or increase the risk of sex offender client or trainee 

exploitation. Engaging in sexual intimacies or romantic 

relationships with sex offender clients or former clients, or 

with current trainees is strictly prohibited.  

12. Report to the board known or suspected violations of the 

laws and regulations governing the practice of sex offender 

treatment providers, as well as any information that a sex 

offender treatment provider is unable to practice with 

reasonable skill and safety because of illness or substance 

abuse or otherwise poses a danger to himself, the public, or 

clients.  

13. Provide clients with accurate information concerning 

tests, reports, billing, payment responsibilities, therapeutic 

regime, and schedules before rendering services.  

14. Maintain cooperative and collaborative relationships 

with corrections/probation/parole officers or any responsible 

agency for purposes of the effective supervision and 

monitoring of a sex offender client's behavior in order to 

assure public safety.  

15. Consider the validity, reliability, and appropriateness of 

assessments selected for use with sex offender clients. 

Where questions exist about the appropriateness of utilizing 

a particular assessment with a sex offender client, expert 

guidance from a knowledgeable, certified sex offender 

treatment provider shall be sought.  

16. Recognize the sensitivity of sexual arousal assessment 

testing and treatment materials, safeguard the use of such 

materials in compliance with § 18.2-374.1:1 of the Code of 

Virginia, and use them only for the purpose for which they 

are intended in a controlled penile plethysmographic 

laboratory assessment.  

17. Be aware of the limitations of plethysmograph and that 

plethysmographic data is only meaningful within the context 

of a comprehensive evaluation or treatment process or both.  

18. Be knowledgeable of the limitations of the polygraph 

and take into account its appropriateness with each 

individual client and special client population.  

19. Comply with all laws of the Code of Virginia applicable 

to the practice of sex offender treatment providers.  

18VAC125-30-101. Standards of practice.  

A. The protection of the public health, safety, and welfare and 

the best interest of the public shall be the primary guide in 

determining the appropriate professional conduct of all 

certified practitioners who provide services to sex offenders. 

Sex offender treatment providers respect the rights, dignity, 

and worth of all people, regardless of the nature of one's crimes 

or offenses, and are mindful of individual differences. 

Regardless of the delivery method, whether in-person or by use 

of technology, these standards shall apply to the practice of sex 

offender treatment. 

B. Persons certified by the board and applicants under 

supervision shall:  

1. Practice in a manner that ensures community protection 

and safety;  

2. Provide or supervise only services and use only 

techniques for which they are qualified by education, 

training, and experience; 

3. Accurately represent their areas of competence, 

education, training, experience, professional affiliations, 
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credentials, and published findings to ensure that such 

statements are neither fraudulent nor misleading;  

4. Accurately inform sex offender clients of (i) the purposes 

of an interview, testing, or evaluation session; (ii) the ways 

in which information obtained in such sessions will be used 

before asking the sex offender client to reveal personal 

information or allowing such information to be divulged; 

(iii) the methods of interventions, including any 

experimental methods of treatment; and (iv) the risks and 

benefits of any treatment;  

5. Clearly document at the outset of service delivery what 

party the sex offender treatment provider considers to be the 

client and what, if any, responsibilities the provider has to 

all related parties. Explain to juvenile sex offender clients 

the rights of their parents, legal guardians, or both to obtain 

information relating to the sex offender client; 

6. Maintain current competency in the areas of practice 

through continuing education, consultation, or other 

procedures consistent with current standards of scientific 

and professional knowledge;  

7. Be able to justify all services rendered to clients as 

necessary for diagnostic or therapeutic purposes;  

8. Avoid harming, exploiting, misusing influence, or 

misleading patients or clients, research participants, 

students, and others for whom they provide professional 

services and minimize harm when it is foreseeable and 

unavoidable;  

9. Maintain cooperative and collaborative relationships with 

corrections, probation, or parole officers or any responsible 

agency for purposes of the effective supervision and 

monitoring of a sex offender client's behavior in order to 

assure public safety;  

10. Construct, maintain, administer, interpret, and report 

testing and diagnostic services in a manner and for purposes 

that are current and appropriate. Sex offender treatment 

providers shall consider the validity, reliability, 

appropriateness, and limitations of assessments and data 

selected for use with sex offender clients, including to the 

plethysmograph and polygraph. Where questions exist about 

the appropriateness of utilizing a particular assessment with 

a sex offender client, expert guidance from a knowledgeable, 

certified sex offender treatment provider shall be sought;  

11. Safeguard the use of sexual arousal assessment testing 

and treatment materials, due to the sensitivity of such 

materials in compliance with § 18.2-374.1:1 of the Code of 

Virginia and use them only for the purpose for which they 

are intended in a controlled penile plethysmographic 

laboratory assessment;  

12. Not engage in conversion therapy with any person 

younger than 18 years of age; 

13. Withdraw from, avoid, adjust, or clarify conflicting roles 

with due regard for the best interest of the affected party and 

maximal compliance with these standards;  

14. Neither accept nor give commissions, rebates, or other 

forms of remuneration for referral of clients for professional 

services. Make appropriate consultations and referrals 

consistent with the law based on the interest of the patients 

or clients; 

15. Make arrangements for another professional to deal with 

emergency needs of clients during periods of foreseeable 

absences from professional availability and provide for 

continuity of care when services must be terminated; 

16. Conduct financial responsibilities to clients in an ethical 

and honest manner by: 

a. Informing clients of fees for professional services and 

billing arrangements as soon as is feasible; 

b. Informing clients prior to the use of collection agencies 

or legal measures to collect fees and provide opportunity 

for prompt payment; 

c. Obtaining written consent for fees that deviate from the 

practitioner's usual and customary fees for services; and 

d. Not obtaining, attempting to obtain, or cooperating with 

others in obtaining payment for services by 

misrepresenting services provided, dates of services, or 

status of treatment; 

17. Design, conduct, and report research in accordance with 

recognized standards of scientific competence and research 

ethics. Practitioners shall adhere to requirements of § 32.1-

162.18 of the Code of Virginia for obtaining informed 

consent from patients prior to involving them as participants 

in human research, with the exception of retrospective chart 

reviews; 

18. Report to the board known or suspected violations of the 

laws and regulations governing the practice of sex offender 

treatment providers, as well as any information that a sex 

offender treatment provider is unable to practice with 

reasonable skill and safety because of physical or mental 

impairment or substance misuse or otherwise poses a danger 

to the provider, the public, or clients; 

19. Document the reasons for and steps taken if it becomes 

necessary to terminate a therapeutic relationship (e.g., when 

it becomes clear that the client is not benefiting from the 

relationship or when the sex offender treatment provider 

feels endangered). Document assistance provided in making 

arrangements for the continuation of treatment for clients, if 

necessary, following termination of a therapeutic 

relationship; and  

20. Comply with laws of the Code of Virginia and 

regulations of the board applicable to the practice of sex 

offender treatment providers.  



Regulations 

Volume 37, Issue 21  Virginia Register of Regulations  June 7, 2021  

3371 

C. In regard to confidentiality, persons regulated by the board 

shall: 

1. Inform sex offender clients of the limits of confidentiality 

and any circumstances which may allow an exception to the 

agreed upon confidentiality, including (i) as obligated under 

dual-client situations, especially in criminal justice or related 

settings; (ii) when the client is a danger to self or others; (iii) 

when under court order to disclose information; (iv) in cases 

of suspected child or elder abuse; and (v) as otherwise 

required by law or regulation;  

2. Not require or seek waivers of privacy or confidentiality 

beyond the requirements of treatment, training, or 

community safety;  

3. Keep confidential their professional relationships with 

patients or clients and disclose client information to others 

only with written consent except as required or permitted by 

law; 

4. Protect the confidentiality in the usage of client 

information and clinical materials by obtaining informed 

consent from the client or the client's legally authorized 

representative before (i) videotaping, (ii) audio recording, 

(iii) permitting third party observation, or (iv) using 

identifiable client information in teaching, writing, or public 

presentations; and 

5. Not willfully or negligently breach the confidentiality 

between a practitioner and a client. A disclosure that is 

required or permitted by applicable law or beyond the 

control of the practitioner shall not be considered negligent 

or willful. 

D. In regard to client records, persons regulated by the board 

shall: 

1. Maintain timely, accurate, legible, and complete written 

or electronic records for each client. For a sex offender 

treatment provider practicing in an institutional setting, the 

recordkeeping shall follow the policies of the institution or 

public facility. For a sex offender treatment provider 

practicing in a noninstitutional setting, the record shall 

include: 

a. The name of the client and other identifying 

information; 

b. The presenting problem, purpose, or diagnosis; 

c. Documentation of the fee arrangement; 

d. The date and clinical summary of each service provided; 

e. Any test results, including raw data, or other evaluative 

results obtained; 

f. Notation and results of formal consults with other 

providers; and 

g. Any releases by the client; 

2. Maintain client records securely, inform all employees of 

the requirements of confidentiality, and dispose of written, 

electronic, and other records in such a manner as to ensure 

their confidentiality; and 

3. Maintain client records for a minimum of five years or as 

otherwise required by law from the last date of service, with 

the following exceptions: 

a. At minimum, records of a minor child shall be 

maintained for five years after attaining 18 years of age; 

b. Records that are required by contractual obligation or 

federal law to be maintained for a longer period of time; 

or 

c. Records that have been transferred pursuant to § 54.1-

2405 of the Code of Virginia pertaining to closure, sale, or 

change of location of one's practice. 

E. In regard to dual relationships, persons regulated by the 

board shall: 

1. Not engage in a dual relationship with a person under 

supervision that could impair professional judgment or 

increase the risk of exploitation or harm. Sex offender 

treatment providers shall take appropriate professional 

precautions when a dual relationship cannot be avoided, 

such as informed consent, consultation, supervision, and 

documentation to ensure that judgment is not impaired and 

no exploitation occurs; 

2. Not engage in sexual intimacies or a romantic relationship 

with a student, supervisee, resident, intern, therapy patient, 

client, or those included in collateral therapeutic services, 

such as a parent, spouse, or significant other of the client, 

while providing professional services. For at least five years 

after cessation or termination of professional services, not 

engage in sexual intimacies or a romantic relationship with 

a therapy patient, client, or those included in collateral 

therapeutic services. Consent to, initiation of, or 

participation in sexual behavior or romantic involvement 

with a sex offender treatment provider does not change the 

exploitative nature of the conduct nor lift the prohibition. 

Because sexual or romantic relationships are potentially 

exploitative, sex offender treatment providers shall bear the 

burden of demonstrating that there has been no exploitation, 

based on factors such as duration of therapy, amount of time 

since therapy, termination circumstances, client's personal 

history and mental status, and adverse impact on the client; 

3. Not engage in a personal relationship with a former client 

in which there is a risk of exploitation or potential harm or if 

the former client continues to relate to the sex offender 

treatment provider in the provider's professional capacity; 

and 

4. Recognize conflicts of interest and inform all parties of 

the nature and directions of loyalties and responsibilities 

involved. 

F. Upon learning of evidence that indicates a reasonable 

probability that another mental health provider is or may be 
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guilty of a violation of standards of conduct as defined in 

statute or regulation, persons licensed by the board shall advise 

their clients of their right to report such misconduct to the 

Department of Health Professions in accordance with § 54.1-

2400.4 of the Code of Virginia. 

18VAC125-30-110. Grounds for disciplinary action. 

The board may revoke, suspend, restrict or refuse to issue a 

certificate, or reprimand or fine a practitioner in accord with 

the following: 

1. Violation of provisions of this chapter, including the 

standards of practice set forth in 18VAC125-30-101. 

2. Conviction of a felony or a misdemeanor involving moral 

turpitude (i.e., relating to lying, stealing, or cheating). 

3. Misuse of drugs or alcohol which interferes with 

professional functioning Demonstrating an inability to 

practice as a sex offender treatment provider with reasonable 

skill and safety as a result of any mental, emotional, or 

physical condition or substance misuse. 

4. Mental or physical illness which interferes with 

professional functioning Conducting one's practice in such a 

manner so as to make it a danger to the health and welfare of 

a client or to the public. 

5. The denial, revocation, suspension, or restriction of a 

health or mental health registration, license, or certificate to 

practice in Virginia or in another state, or a United States 

possession, or territory of the United States or the surrender 

of any such registration, license, or certificate while an 

active investigation is pending or in lieu of disciplinary 

action. 

6. Engaging in intentional or negligent conduct that causes 

or is likely to cause injury to a client. 

7. Knowingly allowing persons under supervision to 

jeopardize client safety or provide care to clients outside of 

such person's scope of practice or area of responsibility. 

8. Performing functions outside areas of competency. 

9. Failing to comply with the continuing education 

requirements set forth in this chapter.  

10. Performing an act or making statements that are likely to 

deceive, defraud, or harm the public. 

11. Failing to cooperate with an employee of the Department 

of Health Professions in the conduct of an investigation. 

12. Procuring, attempting to procure, or maintaining a 

certificate or registration by fraud or misrepresentation.  

13. Violating or aiding and abetting another to violate any 

statute applicable to the practice of the profession, including 

§ 32.1-127.1:03 of the Code of Virginia relating to health 

records. 

14. Failing to report evidence of child abuse or neglect as 

required in § 63.2-1509 of the Code of Virginia or abuse of 

aged and incapacitated adults as required in § 63.2-1606 of 

the Code of Virginia. 

18VAC125-30-120. Reinstatement following disciplinary 

action. (Repealed.). 

A. Any person whose certificate has been revoked by the 

board under the provisions of 18VAC125-30-110 may, three 

years subsequent to such board action, submit a new 

application to the board for certification to the board. Any 

person whose certificate has been denied renewal by the board 

under the provisions of 18VAC125-30-110 may, two years 

subsequent to such board action, submit a new application to 

the board for certification to the board.  

B. The board in its discretion may, after a hearing, grant 

reinstatement.  

C. The applicant for reinstatement, if approved, shall be 

certified upon payment of the appropriate fees applicable at the 

time of reinstatement. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R21-6431; Filed May 6, 2021, 2:58 p.m. 



GOVERNOR 

Volume 37, Issue 21  Virginia Register of Regulations  June 7, 2021  

3373 

Governor 

EXECUTIVE ORDER NUMBER SEVENTY-EIGHT (2021) 

Declaration of a State of Emergency Due to the 
Shutdown of the Colonial Pipeline 

Importance of the Issue 

On this date, May 11, 2021, I declare that a state of emergency 

exists in the Commonwealth of Virginia to prepare and 

coordinate our response to the voluntary shutdown of the 

Colonial Pipeline due to a cyber-attack on its business systems' 

informational technology infrastructure on May 7, 2021. If 

prolonged, the pipeline closure will result in gasoline supply 

disruptions to various retailers throughout the Commonwealth, 

since the pipeline is the primary source of gasoline to many 

Virginia retailers. While current gasoline reserves in the 

Commonwealth are sufficient to address immediate supply 

concerns, a long-term disruption in the pipelines will require 

transportation of fuel and other oil-derivatives via interstate 

and state roadways. The anticipated effects of this situation 

constitute a disaster as described in § 44-146.16 of the Code of 

Virginia (Code). Therefore, by virtue of the authority vested in 

me by Article V, Section 7 of the Constitution of Virginia, by 

§§ 44-146.17 and 44-75.1 of the Code, as Governor and 

Director of Emergency Management, I proclaim a state of 

emergency. Accordingly, I direct state and local governments 

to render appropriate assistance to alleviate any conditions 

resulting from the situation and to implement recovery and 

mitigation operations and activities so as to return impacted 

areas to pre-event conditions as much as possible. Emergency 

services shall be conducted in accordance with § 44-146.13 et 

seq. of the Code. 

In order to marshal all public resources and appropriate 

preparedness, response, and recovery measures, I order the 

following actions: 

A. Implementation by state agencies of the Commonwealth 

of Virginia Emergency Operations Plan, as amended, along 

with other appropriate state plans. 

B. Activation of the Virginia Emergency Operations Center 

and the Virginia Emergency Support Team, as directed by the 

State Coordinator of Emergency Management, to coordinate 

the provision of assistance to state, local, and tribal 

governments and to facilitate emergency services assignments 

to other agencies. 

C. Authorization for the heads of executive branch agencies, 

on behalf of their regulatory boards as appropriate, and with 

the concurrence of their Cabinet Secretary, to waive any state 

requirement or regulation, and enter into contracts without 

regard to normal procedures or formalities, and without regard 

to application or permit fees or royalties. All waivers issued by 

agencies shall be posted on their websites. 

D. Activation of § 59.1-525 et seq. of the Code related to price 

gouging. 

Effective Date of this Executive Order  

This Executive Order shall be effective May 11, 2021, and 

shall remain in full force and in effect until June 10, 2021, 

unless sooner amended, terminated, or rescinded by further 

executive order. Termination of this Executive Order is not 

intended to terminate any federal type benefits granted or to be 

granted due to injury or death as a result of service under this 

Executive Order. 

Given under my hand and under the Seal of the 

Commonwealth of Virginia, this 11th day of May, 2021. 

/s/ Ralph S. Northam, Governor 

EXECUTIVE ORDER NUMBER SEVENTY-NINE (2021) 

and Order of Public Health Emergency Ten 

Ending of Commonsense Public Health Restrictions 
Due to Novel Coronavirus (COVID-19) 

Importance of the Issue 

Since March 2020, Virginians have fought against the spread 

of COVID-19. We have witnessed service and sacrifice across 

the Commonwealth from our frontline workers, our students 

and teachers, our business owners, essential employees, and 

our families and neighbors. We have lost an astounding 

number of Virginians to this pandemic, and everyone has lost 

something. Commonsense public health restrictions have kept 

many Virginians safe during the last year, and with vaccines 

now widely available – over three million Virginians are fully 

vaccinated and safe from serious illness or death caused by 

COVID-19 – it is time to begin our new normal. COVID-19 

remains a serious risk to unvaccinated people, and I encourage 

all Virginians to get their shot as soon as possible. Masks are a 

critical tool in protecting yourself and others until you are fully 

vaccinated. 

Directive 

Therefore, by virtue of the authority vested in me by Article V 

of the Constitution of Virginia, by § 44-146.17 of the Code of 

Virginia, by any other applicable law, and in furtherance of 

Amended Executive Order 51 (2020), and by virtue of the 

authority vested in the State Health Commissioner pursuant to 

§§ 32.1-13, 32.1-20, and 35.1-10 of the Code of Virginia, the 

following is ordered: 

CONTINUED GUIDANCE ON MASK WEARING 

A. Masks – Indoors and Outdoors 

All individuals in the Commonwealth aged five and older 

should cover their mouth and nose with a mask in accordance 

with the Center for Disease Control and Protection guidance 

linked here. If there is a conflict between the sector-specific 

guidelines and this section, the sector-specific guidelines 

governs. 
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B. Masks – Enforcement 

1. The Virginia Department of Health shall have authority 

to enforce this Order. The State Health Commissioner may 

also seek injunctive relief in circuit court for violation of this 

Order, pursuant to § 32.1-27 of the Code of Virginia. 

2. The Virginia Department of Labor and Industry, pursuant 

to § 40.1-51.1 of the Code of Virginia, the Department of 

Professional and Occupational Regulation, pursuant to 18 

Va. Admin. Code § 41-20-280, the Virginia Department of 

Agriculture and Consumer Services, pursuant to § 3.2-5106 

of the Code of Virginia or any other law applicable to these 

agencies, shall have authority to enforce section I of this 

Order. 

3. Medical-grade masks and personal protective equipment 

should be reserved for medical personnel. The use of cloth 

masks does not replace the need to maintain the appropriate 

physical distancing, clean and disinfect frequently touched 

surfaces routinely in all public settings, stay home when 

sick, and practice frequent handwashing. 

C. Masks – Exceptions 

1. Where required to wear a mask, the requirement does not 

apply to the following: 

a. While eating or drinking; 

b. Individuals exercising or using exercise equipment; 

c. Any person who is playing a musical instrument when 

wearing a mask would inhibit the playing of the instrument 

(e.g. wind or brass instrument) so long as at least ten feet of 

physical distance can be maintained from other persons, 

whether the rehearsal or performance is indoors or outdoors; 

d. Any person who has trouble breathing, or is unconscious, 

incapacitated, or otherwise unable to remove the mask 

without assistance; 

e. Any person seeking to communicate with people who are 

deaf or hard of hearing and for which the mouth needs to be 

visible; 

f. When temporary removal of the mask is necessary to 

secure government or medical services; 

g. When necessary to participate in a religious ritual; and 

h. Persons with health conditions or disabilities that prohibit 

wearing a mask. Nothing in this Order shall require the use 

of a mask by any person for whom doing so would be 

contrary to his or her health or safety because of a medical 

condition. Adaptations and alternatives for individuals with 

health conditions or disabilities should be considered 

whenever possible to increase the feasibility of wearing a 

mask to reduce the risk of COVID-19 spreading if it is not 

possible to wear one. 

2. Any person who declines to wear a mask because of a 

medical condition shall not be required to produce or carry 

medical documentation verifying the stated condition nor 

shall the person be required to identify the precise 

underlying medical condition. 

D. Masks – Public and Private K-12 Schools 

All students, teachers, staff, and visitors must wear a mask 

over their nose and mouth while on school property subject to 

section C. 

E. Masks – Waiver 

The waiver of § 18.2-422 of the Code of Virginia is 

continued, so as to allow the wearing of a medical mask, 

respirator, or any other protective face covering for the purpose 

of facilitating the protection of one’s personal health in 

response to the COVID-19 public health emergency declared 

by the State Health Commissioner on February 7, 2020, and 

reflected in Amended Executive Order 51 (2020) declaring a 

state of emergency in the Commonwealth. Amended Executive 

Order 51 (2020) remains so amended. This waiver is effective 

as of March 12, 2020 and will remain in effect until 11:59 p.m. 

on June 30, 2021, unless amended or rescinded by further 

executive order. 

Effective Date of this Executive Order 

This Order is in furtherance of Amended Executive Order 51 

(2020). Further, this Order terminates Seventh Amended 

Number Seventy-Two (2021) and Order of Public Health 

Emergency Nine, shall be effective midnight on May 28, 2021, 

and shall remain in full force and effect until amended or 

rescinded by further executive order. 

Given under my hand and under the Seal of the 

Commonwealth of Virginia and the Seal of the Office of the 

State Health Commissioner of the Commonwealth of Virginia, 

this 14th day of May, 2021. 

/s/ Ralph S. Northam, Governor 
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Guidance Documents 

PUBLIC COMMENT OPPORTUNITY 

Pursuant to § 2.2-4002.1 of the Code of Virginia, a certified guidance document is subject to a 30-day public comment period 

after publication in the Virginia Register of Regulations and prior to the guidance document's effective date. During the public 

comment period, comments may be made through the Virginia Regulatory Town Hall website (http://www.townhall.virginia.gov) 

or sent to the agency contact. Under subsection C of § 2.2-4002.1, the effective date of the guidance document may be delayed 

for an additional period. The guidance document may also be withdrawn. 

The following guidance documents have been submitted for publication by the listed agencies for a public comment period. 

Online users of this issue of the Virginia Register of Regulations may click on the name of a guidance document to access it. 

Guidance documents are also available on the Virginia Regulatory Town Hall (http://www.townhall.virginia.gov) or from the 

agency contact or may be viewed at the Office of the Registrar of Regulations, 900 East Main Street, Richmond, Virginia 23219. 

STATE BOARD OF BEHAVIORAL HEALTH AND 
DEVELOPMENTAL SERVICES 

Title of Document: Early Intervention Practice Manual, 

chapters 7, 11, and 12. 

Public Comment Deadline: July 7, 2021. 

Effective Date: July 9, 2021. 

Agency Contact: Catherine Hancock, Early Intervention 

Administrator, Department of Behavioral Health and 

Developmental Services, 1220 Bank Street, 9th Floor, P.O. 

Box 1797, Richmond, VA 23218-1797, telephone (804) 371-

6592, or email catherine.hancock@dbhds.virginia.gov. 

STATE BOARD OF EDUCATION 

Title of Document: Guidance for the Provision of Specialized 

Student Support Positions in Virginia Public Schools. 

Public Comment Deadline: July 7, 2021. 

Effective Date: July 8, 2021. 

Agency Contact: Maribel Saimre, Director, Office of Student 

Services, Department of Education, 101 North 14th Street, 

Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 225-2818, or email 

maribel.saimre@doe.virginia.gov. 

DEPARTMENT OF MEDICAL ASSISTANCE 
SERVICES 

Titles of Documents: Children's Services Act Referral for 

Residential Treatment Services (DMAS-600 Form). 

Funding for Psychiatric Residential Treatment Facilities 

Placements. 

Transfer of Children's Services Act Jurisdiction for Medicaid 

Funded Residential Placement. 

Public Comment Deadline: July 7, 2021. 

Effective Date: July 8, 2021. 

 

Agency Contact: Emily McClellan, Policy and Research 

Division, Department of Medical Assistance Services, 600 

East Broad Street, Suite 1300, Richmond, VA 23219, 

telephone (804) 371-6043, or email 

emily.mcclellan@dmas.virginia.gov. 

BOARD OF NURSING 

Titles of Documents: Registered Nurses and Procedural 

Sedation. 

Service on a Volunteer Rescue Squad. 

Public Comment Deadline: July 7, 2021. 

Effective Date: July 8, 2021. 

Agency Contact: Elaine J. Yeatts, Agency Regulatory 

Coordinator, Department of Health Professions, Perimeter 

Center, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, Richmond, VA 

23233, telephone (804) 367-4688, or email 

elaine.yeatts@dhp.virginia.gov. 

DEPARTMENT OF RAIL AND PUBLIC 
TRANSPORTATION 

Title of Document: Transit Ridership Incentive Program 

Application Guidelines. 

Public Comment Deadline: July 7, 2021. 

Effective Date: July 8, 2021. 

Agency Contact: Andrew Wright, Senior Legislative and 

Policy Specialist, Department of Rail and Public 

Transportation, 600 East Main Street, Suite 2102, Richmond, 

VA 23219, telephone (804) 241-0301, or email 

andrew.wright@drpt.virginia.gov. 

STATE BOARD OF SOCIAL SERVICES 

Title of Document: Child Care Subsidy Program Guidance 

Manual. 

Public Comment Deadline: July 7, 2021. 

Effective Date: July 8, 2021. 

https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title2.2/chapter40/section2.2-4002.1/
http://www.townhall.virginia.gov/
https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title2.2/chapter40/section2.2-4002.1/
http://www.townhall.virginia.gov/
https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/GetFile.cfm?File=C:/TownHall/docroot/GuidanceDocs_Proposed/720/GDoc_DBHDS_4819_20210514.pdf
https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/GetFile.cfm?File=C:/TownHall/docroot/GuidanceDocs_Proposed/720/GDoc_DBHDS_4819_20210514.pdf
mailto:catherine.hancock@dbhds.virginia.gov
https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/GetFile.cfm?File=C:/TownHall/docroot/GuidanceDocs_Proposed/201/GDoc_DOE_4823_20210518.pdf
https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/GetFile.cfm?File=C:/TownHall/docroot/GuidanceDocs_Proposed/201/GDoc_DOE_4823_20210518.pdf
mailto:maribel.saimre@doe.virginia.gov
https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/GetFile.cfm?File=C:/TownHall/docroot/GuidanceDocs_Proposed/602/GDoc_DMAS_4817_20210514.pdf
https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/GetFile.cfm?File=C:/TownHall/docroot/GuidanceDocs_Proposed/602/GDoc_DMAS_4817_20210514.pdf
https://townhall.virginia.gov/l/GetFile.cfm?File=C:/TownHall/docroot/GuidanceDocs_Proposed/602/GDoc_DMAS_4816_20210514.pdf
https://townhall.virginia.gov/l/GetFile.cfm?File=C:/TownHall/docroot/GuidanceDocs_Proposed/602/GDoc_DMAS_4816_20210514.pdf
https://townhall.virginia.gov/l/GetFile.cfm?File=C:/TownHall/docroot/GuidanceDocs_Proposed/602/GDoc_DMAS_4818_20210514.pdf
https://townhall.virginia.gov/l/GetFile.cfm?File=C:/TownHall/docroot/GuidanceDocs_Proposed/602/GDoc_DMAS_4818_20210514.pdf
mailto:Emily.McClellan@dmas.virginia.gov
https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/GetFile.cfm?File=C:/TownHall/docroot/GuidanceDocs_Proposed/223/GDoc_DHP_4822_20210518.pdf
https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/GetFile.cfm?File=C:/TownHall/docroot/GuidanceDocs_Proposed/223/GDoc_DHP_4822_20210518.pdf
https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/GetFile.cfm?File=C:/TownHall/docroot/GuidanceDocs_Proposed/223/GDoc_DHP_4821_20210518.pdf
mailto:elaine.yeatts@dhp.virginia.gov
https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/GetFile.cfm?File=C:/TownHall/docroot/GuidanceDocs_Proposed/505/GDoc_DRPT_4820_20210514.pdf
https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/GetFile.cfm?File=C:/TownHall/docroot/GuidanceDocs_Proposed/505/GDoc_DRPT_4820_20210514.pdf
mailto:andrew.wright@drpt.virginia.gov
https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/GetFile.cfm?File=C:/TownHall/docroot/GuidanceDocs_Proposed/765/GDoc_DSS_4824_20210519.pdf
https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/GetFile.cfm?File=C:/TownHall/docroot/GuidanceDocs_Proposed/765/GDoc_DSS_4824_20210519.pdf
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Agency Contact: Nikki Clarke Callaghan, Legislation, 

Regulations, and Guidance Manager, Department of Social 

Services, 801 East Main Street, Richmond, VA 23219, 

telephone (804) 726-7943, or email 

nikki.clark@dss.virginia.gov. 

mailto:nikki.clark@dss.virginia.gov
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General Notices 

STATE BOARD OF BEHAVIORAL HEALTH AND 
DEVELOPMENTAL SERVICES 

Revised Draft: New General Chapter (12VAC35-106), 
Rules and Regulations for Licensing Providers by 

the Department of Behavioral Health and 
Developmental Services 

To: Providers Licensed by the Department of Behavioral 

Health and Developmental Services 

From: Jae Benz, Director, Office of Licensing 

Subject: Response to Periodic Review: "Overhaul" of 

Licensing Regulations to Service Specific Chapters - Draft 

Revisions to "General Chapter"; Initial Drafts of "Residential 

Chapter" and Home/Noncenter Based Chapter" 

Date: May 19, 2021 

Cc: Emily Bowles, Assistant Director, Office of Licensing 

Veronica Davis, Assistant Director, Office of Licensing 

Dev Nair, Assistant Commissioner, QAGR Division 

Susan Puglisi, Regulatory Research Specialist, Office of 

Regulatory Affairs 

Ruth Anne Walker, Director, Office of Regulatory Affairs 

Background: In late 2017, the Department of Behavioral 

Health and Developmental Services (DBHDS) conducted a 

periodic review of the Rules and Regulations for Licensing 

Providers by the Department of Behavioral Health and 

Developmental Services (12VAC35-105, Licensing 

Regulations). At the completion of that review, the department 

decided amendments to the regulations were needed. After 

researching other states and other agencies within Virginia, the 

Office of Licensing determined to split the regulations into 

several separate regulatory chapters, revising both the structure 

and the content. 

In response to significant public comment, the structure will 

include one overarching "General Chapter" that will apply to 

all providers and five "service specific" chapters: Residential, 

Crisis, Center-Based, Home/Non-Center Based, and Case 

Management. The attached listing of the chapters provides 

more information. This methodology allows DBHDS to write 

more detailed service specific regulations that will assist 

providers in understanding exactly which regulatory 

provisions apply to their services. 

In late 2019, the Office of Licensing published an initial draft 

of the General Chapter for public comment and also held two 

regulatory advisory panel (RAP) meetings to receive technical 

assistance on the content of that initial draft. Since reviewing 

the public comments received and the feedback provided by 

the RAP, DBHDS edited the General Chapter and also 

developed initial drafts of a Residential Chapter and a 

Home/Non-Center Based Chapter. 

Drafts for Comment: DBHDS is releasing an extensively 

revised draft General Chapter, and initial drafts of the 

Residential and the Home/Non-Center Based chapters for 

public comment. 

There is a public comment forum for each of the three draft 

chapters open from June 7 to July 22, 2021. All are accessible 

at https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/generalnotice.cfm. The link 

to the Residential Chapter is provided at the end of this notice. 

Provide feedback via the public comment forums for any of the 

draft chapters on Virginia Regulatory Town Hall or by 

emailing Susan Puglisi, Regulatory Research Specialist, 

DBHDS Office of Regulatory Affairs at 

susan.puglisi@dbdhs.virginia.gov. Public comments may also 

be submitted by fax (804) 371-4609 or by postal mail to: Attn: 

Susan Puglisi, DBHDS, Jefferson Building, 1220 Bank Street, 

4th Floor, Richmond, VA 23219. Direct questions to Susan 

Puglisi or Ruth Anne Walker, Director of the Office of 

Regulatory Affairs at ruthanne.walker@dbhds.virginia.gov. 

Future Drafts: Work continues on the Crisis, Center-Based, 

and Case Management chapters; initial drafts of those chapters 

will be released at a later time. 

Response to Periodic Review versus Behavioral Health 

Redesign: It is important to distinguish this drafting effort of 

the response to periodic review of the Licensing Regulations 

from other current discussions and regulatory actions 

regarding only behavioral health redesign (Project BRAVO). 

• Response to Periodic Review: Draft changes for the 

response to periodic review will be in a separate action and 

are not expected to take effect until 2023 following the 

standard process (http://townhall.virginia.gov/um/ 

chartstandardbasic.pdf), which takes an average of 18 

months to two years to complete. These are only drafts at 

this time; no formal regulatory action has been filed. 

• Behavioral Health Redesign (Project BRAVO): The 

current effective Licensing Regulations (12VAC35-105) 

will be the vehicle for any required department regulatory 

changes that come from the behavioral health redesign, in 

effect through emergency regulations 

(https://www.townhall.virginia.gov/L/ViewChapter.cfm?ch

apterid=2074) authorized by the General Assembly. 

List of Drafts in Progress: 

Revised Draft - General Chapter 

Article 1. Scope of the Chapter 

Article 2. Licensing Requirements 

Article 3. Administration. 

Article 4. Personnel. 

Article 5. Operational Practices. 

Article 6. Risk Management and Quality Improvement. 

https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/ViewNotice.cfm?gnid=1027
https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/ViewNotice.cfm?gnid=1027
https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/generalnotice.cfm
mailto:ruthanne.walker@dbhds.virginia.gov
http://townhall.virginia.gov/um/chartstandardbasic.pdf
http://townhall.virginia.gov/um/chartstandardbasic.pdf
http://townhall.virginia.gov/um/chartstandardbasic.pdf
https://www.townhall.virginia.gov/L/ViewChapter.cfm?chapterid=2074
https://www.townhall.virginia.gov/L/ViewChapter.cfm?chapterid=2074
https://www.townhall.virginia.gov/L/ViewChapter.cfm?chapterid=2074
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Article 7. Responsibilities to Individuals. 

Article 8. Physical Environment Standards. 

Article 9. Emergency Preparedness. 

Initial Draft – Services by Chapter 

Residential Chapter: 

Clinically managed high-intensity residential services; 

Clinically managed low-intensity residential services; 

Clinically managed population-specific high-intensity 

residential services; 

Community gero-psychiatric residential services; 

Group home; 

ICF/IDD; 

Inpatient; 

Medically managed intensive inpatient service; 

Medically monitored intensive inpatient service; 

Respite residential; 

Substance abuse residential treatment for women with 

children service 

Sponsored residential home; and 

Supervised living. 

Home/Non-Center Based Chapter: 

Assertive community treatment service (ACT) 

Non-center based day support service; 

Intensive community treatment service (ICT) 

Functional Family Therapy 

Intensive in-home service; 

Mental health skill building; 

Multi-Systemic Therapy 

Home/Non Center Based Respite care service; 

Supportive in-home service; 

School based therapeutic day treatment for children and 

adolescents. 

Under Development 

Crisis Chapter: 

23- Hour Crisis stabilization; 

Crisis Intervention; 

Emergency services; 

Community based crisis stabilization; 

Crisis stabilization unit; 

Residential crisis stabilization; 

Non-residential crisis stabilization; 

REACH 

Center Based: 

Day support services; 

Mental health intensive outpatient service: 

Mental health outpatient service; 

Medication assisted treatment; 

Partial hospitalization; 

Psychosocial rehabilitation service; 

Substance abuse intensive outpatient; 

Substance abuse outpatient; 

Therapeutic day treatment for children and adolescents. 

Case Management 

-------------------------------------- 

Link to Draft New General Chapter (12VAC35-106): 

https://dbhds.virginia.gov/assets/doc/QMD/OL/dbhds.12vac3

5-106.draft.new.generalchapter2021.05.11.pdf 

All three drafts and this memo are posted at 

https://dbhds.virginia.gov/quality-management/Office-of-

Licensing 

Contact Information: Ruth Anne Walker, Director of 

Regulatory Affairs, Department of Behavioral Health and 

Developmental Services, Jefferson Building, 1220 Bank 

Street, 4th Floor, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 225-

2252, FAX (804) 371-4609. 

* * * 

Initial Draft: New Residential Chapter (12VAC35-
107), Rules and Regulations for Licensing Providers 

by the Department of Behavioral Health and 
Developmental Services 

To: Providers Licensed by the Department of Behavioral 

Health and Developmental Services 

From: Jae Benz, Director, Office of Licensing 

Subject: Response to Periodic Review: "Overhaul" of 

Licensing Regulations to Service Specific Chapters - Draft 

Revisions to "General Chapter;" Initial Drafts of "Residential 

Chapter" and "Home/Noncenter Based Chapter" 

Date: May 19, 2021 

Cc: Emily Bowles, Assistant Director, Office of Licensing 

https://dbhds.virginia.gov/assets/doc/QMD/OL/dbhds.12vac35-106.draft.new.generalchapter2021.05.11.pdf
https://dbhds.virginia.gov/assets/doc/QMD/OL/dbhds.12vac35-106.draft.new.generalchapter2021.05.11.pdf
https://dbhds.virginia.gov/quality-management/Office-of-Licensing
https://dbhds.virginia.gov/quality-management/Office-of-Licensing
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Veronica Davis, Assistant Director, Office of Licensing 

Dev Nair, Assistant Commissioner, QAGR Division 

Susan Puglisi, Regulatory Research Specialist, Office of 

Regulatory Affairs 

Ruth Anne Walker, Director, Office of Regulatory Affairs 

Background: In late 2017, the Department of Behavioral 

Health and Developmental Services (DBHDS) conducted a 

periodic review of the Rules and Regulations for Licensing 

Providers by the Department of Behavioral Health and 

Developmental Services (12VAC35-105) (Licensing 

Regulations). At the completion of that review, the department 

decided amendments to the regulations were needed. After 

researching other states and other agencies within Virginia, the 

Office of Licensing determined to split the regulations into 

several separate regulatory chapters, revising both the structure 

and the content. 

In response to significant public comment, the structure will 

include one overarching "General Chapter" that will apply to 

all providers and five "service specific" chapters: Residential, 

Crisis, Center-Based, Home/Non-Center Based, and Case 

Management. The attached listing of the chapters provides 

more information. This methodology allows DBHDS to write 

more detailed service specific regulations that will assist 

providers in understanding exactly which regulatory 

provisions apply to their services. 

In late 2019, the Office of Licensing published an initial draft 

of the General Chapter for public comment and also held two 

regulatory advisory panel (RAP) meetings to receive technical 

assistance on the content of that initial draft. Since reviewing 

the public comments received and the feedback provided by 

the RAP, DBHDS edited the General Chapter and also 

developed initial drafts of a Residential Chapter and a 

Home/Non-Center Based Chapter. 

Drafts for Comment: DBHDS is releasing an extensively 

revised draft General Chapter, and initial drafts of the 

Residential and the Home/Non-Center Based chapters for 

public comment.  

There is a public comment forum for each of the three draft 

chapters. All will be accessible on the Virginia Regulatory 

Town Hall at https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/Forums.cfm.  

Provide feedback via the public comment forums for any of the 

draft chapters on Town Hall or by emailing Susan Puglisi, 

Regulatory Research Specialist, DBHDS Office of Regulatory 

Affairs at susan.puglisi@dbdhs.virginia.gov. Public comments 

may also be submitted by FAX (804) 371-4609 or by postal 

mail to Attn: Susan Puglisi, DBHDS, Jefferson Building, 1220 

Bank Street, 4th Floor, Richmond, VA 23219. Direct questions 

to Susan Puglisi or Ruth Anne Walker, Director of the Office 

of Regulatory Affairs at email 

ruthanne.walker@dbhds.virginia.gov. 

Future Drafts: Work continues on the Crisis, Center-Based, 

and Case Management chapters; initial drafts of those chapters 

will be released at a later time. 

Response to Periodic Review versus Behavioral Health 

Redesign: It is important to distinguish this drafting effort of 

the response to periodic review of the Licensing Regulations 

from other current discussions and regulatory actions 

regarding only behavioral health redesign (Project BRAVO). 

• Response to Periodic Review: Draft changes for the 

response to periodic review will be in a separate action and 

are not expected to take effect until 2023 following the 

standard process (http://townhall.virginia.gov/um/ 

chartstandardbasic.pdf), which takes an average of 18 

months to two years to complete. These are only drafts at 

this time; no formal regulatory action has been filed. 

• Behavioral Health Redesign (Project BRAVO): The 

current effective Licensing Regulations (12VAC35-105) 

will be the vehicle for any required department regulatory 

changes that come from the behavioral health redesign, in 

effect through emergency regulations 

(https://www.townhall.virginia.gov/L/ViewChapter.cfm?ch

apterid=2074) authorized by the General Assembly. 

List of Drafts in Progress 

Revised Draft - General Chapter 

Article 1. Scope of the Chapter 

Article 2. Licensing Requirements 

Article 3. Administration. 

Article 4. Personnel. 

Article 5. Operational Practices. 

Article 6. Risk Management and Quality Improvement. 

Article 7. Responsibilities to Individuals. 

Article 8. Physical Environment Standards. 

Article 9. Emergency Preparedness. 

Initial Draft – Services by Chapter 

Residential Chapter: 

Clinically managed high-intensity residential services; 

Clinically managed low-intensity residential services; 

Clinically managed population-specific high-intensity 

residential services; 

Community gero-psychiatric residential services; 

Group home; 

ICF/IDD; 

Inpatient; 

https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/ViewNotice.cfm?gnid=1027
https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/ViewNotice.cfm?gnid=1027
https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/Forums.cfm
https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/Forums.cfm
https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/Forums.cfm
https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/Forums.cfm
mailto:ruthanne.walker@dbhds.virginia.gov
http://townhall.virginia.gov/um/chartstandardbasic.pdf
http://townhall.virginia.gov/um/chartstandardbasic.pdf
http://townhall.virginia.gov/um/chartstandardbasic.pdf
https://www.townhall.virginia.gov/L/ViewChapter.cfm?chapterid=2074
https://www.townhall.virginia.gov/L/ViewChapter.cfm?chapterid=2074
https://www.townhall.virginia.gov/L/ViewChapter.cfm?chapterid=2074
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Medically managed intensive inpatient service; 

Medically monitored intensive inpatient service; 

Respite residential; 

Substance abuse residential treatment for women with 

children service 

Sponsored residential home; and 

Supervised living. 

Home/Non-Center Based Chapter: 

Assertive community treatment service (ACT) 

Non-center based day support service; 

Intensive community treatment service (ICT) 

Functional Family Therapy 

Intensive in-home service; 

Mental health skill building; 

Multi-Systemic Therapy 

Home/Non Center Based Respite care service; 

Supportive in-home service; 

School based therapeutic day treatment for children and 

adolescents. 

Under Development 

Crisis Chapter: 

23- Hour Crisis stabilization; 

Crisis Intervention; 

Emergency services; 

Community based crisis stabilization; 

Crisis stabilization unit; 

Residential crisis stabilization; 

Non-residential crisis stabilization; 

REACH 

Center Based: 

Day support services; 

Mental health intensive outpatient service: 

Mental health outpatient service; 

Medication assisted treatment; 

Partial hospitalization; 

Psychosocial rehabilitation service; 

Substance abuse intensive outpatient; 

Substance abuse outpatient; 

Therapeutic day treatment for children and adolescents. 

Case Management 

-------------------------------------- 

Link to Draft new Residential Chapter (12VAC35-107): 

https://dbhds.virginia.gov/assets/doc/QMD/OL/dbhds.12vac3

5107.draft.new.residentialchapter2021.05.11.pdf 

All three drafts and this memo are posted at 

https://dbhds.virginia.gov/quality-management/Office-of-

Licensing 

Contact Information: Ruth Anne Walker, Director of 

Regulatory Affairs, Department of Behavioral Health and 

Developmental Services, Jefferson Building, 1220 Bank 

Street, 4th Floor, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 225-

2252, FAX (804) 371-4609. 

* * * 

Initial Draft: New Home/Non-center Based Chapter 
(12VAC35-108), Rules and Regulations for Licensing 

Providers by the Department of Behavioral Health 
and Developmental Services 

To: Providers Licensed by the Department of Behavioral 

Health and Developmental Services 

From: Jae Benz, Director, Office of Licensing 

Subject: Response to Periodic Review: "Overhaul" of 

Licensing Regulations to Service Specific Chapters - Draft 

Revisions to "General Chapter;" Initial Drafts of "Residential 

Chapter" and "Home/Noncenter Based Chapter" 

Date: May 19, 2021 

Cc: Emily Bowles, Assistant Director, Office of Licensing 

Veronica Davis, Assistant Director, Office of Licensing 

Dev Nair, Assistant Commissioner, QAGR Division 

Susan Puglisi, Regulatory Research Specialist, Office of 

Regulatory Affairs 

Ruth Anne Walker, Director, Office of Regulatory Affairs 

Background: In late 2017, the Department of Behavioral 

Health and Developmental Services (DBHDS) conducted a 

periodic review of the Rules and Regulations for Licensing 

Providers by the Department of Behavioral Health and 

Developmental Services(12VAC35-105) (Licensing 

Regulations). At the completion of that review, the department 

decided amendments to the regulations were needed. After 

researching other states and other agencies within Virginia, the 

Office of Licensing determined to split the regulations into 

several separate regulatory chapters, revising both the structure 

and the content. 

In response to significant public comment, the structure will 

include one overarching "General Chapter" that will apply to 

https://dbhds.virginia.gov/assets/doc/QMD/OL/dbhds.12vac35107.draft.new.residentialchapter2021.05.11.pdf
https://dbhds.virginia.gov/assets/doc/QMD/OL/dbhds.12vac35107.draft.new.residentialchapter2021.05.11.pdf
https://dbhds.virginia.gov/quality-management/Office-of-Licensing
https://dbhds.virginia.gov/quality-management/Office-of-Licensing
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all providers and five "service specific" chapters: Residential, 

Crisis, Center-Based, Home/Non-Center Based, and Case 

Management. The attached listing of the chapters provides 

more information. This methodology allows DBHDS to write 

more detailed service specific regulations that will assist 

providers in understanding exactly which regulatory 

provisions apply to their services. 

In late 2019, the Office of Licensing published an initial draft 

of the General Chapter for public comment and also held two 

regulatory advisory panel (RAP) meetings to receive technical 

assistance on the content of that initial draft. Since reviewing 

the public comments received and the feedback provided by 

the RAP, DBHDS edited the General Chapter and also 

developed initial drafts of a Residential Chapter and a 

Home/Non-Center Based Chapter. 

Drafts for Comment: DBHDS is releasing an extensively 

revised draft General Chapter, and initial drafts of the 

Residential and the Home/Non-Center Based chapters for 

public comment.  

There is a public comment forum for each of the three draft 

chapters. All will be accessible on the Virginia Regulatory 

Town Hall at https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/Forums.cfm.  

Provide feedback via the public comment forums for any of the 

draft chapters on Town Hall or by emailing Susan Puglisi, 

Regulatory Research Specialist, DBHDS Office of Regulatory 

Affairs at susan.puglisi@dbdhs.virginia.gov. Public comments 

may also be submitted by fax (804) 371-4609 or by postal mail 

to: Attn: Susan Puglisi, DBHDS, Jefferson Building, 1220 

Bank Street, 4th Floor, Richmond, VA 23219. Direct questions 

to Susan Puglisi, or Ruth Anne Walker, Director of the Office 

of Regulatory Affairs at ruthanne.walker@dbhds.virginia.gov. 

Future Drafts: Work continues on the Crisis, Center-Based, 

and Case Management chapters; initial drafts of those chapters 

will be released at a later time. 

Response to Periodic Review versus Behavioral Health 

Redesign: It is important to distinguish this drafting effort of 

the response to periodic review of the Licensing Regulations 

from other current discussions and regulatory actions 

regarding only behavioral health redesign (Project BRAVO). 

• Response to Periodic Review: Draft changes for the 

response to periodic review will be in a separate action and 

are not expected to take effect until 2023 following the 

standard process (http://townhall.virginia.gov/um/ 

chartstandardbasic.pdf), which takes an average of 18 

months to two years to complete. These are only drafts at 

this time; no formal regulatory action has been filed. 

• Behavioral Health Redesign (Project BRAVO): The 

current effective Licensing Regulations (12VAC35-105) 

will be the vehicle for any required department regulatory 

changes that come from the behavioral health redesign, in 

effect through emergency regulations 

(https://www.townhall.virginia.gov/L/ViewChapter.cfm?ch

apterid=2074) authorized by the General Assembly. 

List of Drafts in Progress 

Revised Draft - General Chapter 

Article 1. Scope of the Chapter 

Article 2. Licensing Requirements 

Article 3. Administration. 

Article 4. Personnel. 

Article 5. Operational Practices. 

Article 6. Risk Management and Quality Improvement. 

Article 7. Responsibilities to Individuals. 

Article 8. Physical Environment Standards. 

Article 9. Emergency Preparedness. 

Initial Draft – Services by Chapter 

Residential Chapter: 

Clinically managed high-intensity residential services; 

Clinically managed low-intensity residential services; 

Clinically managed population-specific high-intensity 

residential services; 

Community gero-psychiatric residential services; 

Group home; 

ICF/IDD; 

Inpatient; 

Medically managed intensive inpatient service; 

Medically monitored intensive inpatient service; 

Respite residential; 

Substance abuse residential treatment for women with 

children service 

Sponsored residential home; and 

Supervised living. 

Home/Non-Center Based Chapter: 

Assertive community treatment service (ACT) 

Non-center based day support service; 

Intensive community treatment service (ICT) 

Functional Family Therapy 

Intensive in-home service; 

Mental health skill building; 

Multi-Systemic Therapy 

https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/ViewNotice.cfm?gnid=1027
https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/ViewNotice.cfm?gnid=1027
https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/Forums.cfm
https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/Forums.cfm
https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/Forums.cfm
https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/Forums.cfm
https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/Forums.cfm
mailto:ruthanne.walker@dbhds.virginia.gov
http://townhall.virginia.gov/um/chartstandardbasic.pdf
http://townhall.virginia.gov/um/chartstandardbasic.pdf
http://townhall.virginia.gov/um/chartstandardbasic.pdf
https://www.townhall.virginia.gov/L/ViewChapter.cfm?chapterid=2074
https://www.townhall.virginia.gov/L/ViewChapter.cfm?chapterid=2074
https://www.townhall.virginia.gov/L/ViewChapter.cfm?chapterid=2074
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Home/Non Center Based Respite care service; 

Supportive in-home service; 

School based therapeutic day treatment for children and 

adolescents. 

Under Development 

Crisis Chapter: 

23- Hour Crisis stabilization; 

Crisis Intervention; 

Emergency services; 

Community based crisis stabilization; 

Crisis stabilization unit; 

Residential crisis stabilization; 

Non-residential crisis stabilization; 

REACH 

Center Based: 

Day support services; 

Mental health intensive outpatient service: 

Mental health outpatient service; 

Medication assisted treatment; 

Partial hospitalization; 

Psychosocial rehabilitation service; 

Substance abuse intensive outpatient; 

Substance abuse outpatient; 

Therapeutic day treatment for children and adolescents. 

Case Management 

-------------------------------------- 

Link to Draft new Home/Non-center Based Chapter 

(12VAC35-108): 

https://dbhds.virginia.gov/assets/doc/QMD/OL/dbhds.12vac3

5-108.draft.new.homenoncenterbasedchapter.2021.05.11.pdf 

All three drafts and this memo are posted at 

https://dbhds.virginia.gov/quality-management/Office-of-

Licensing 

Contact Information: Ruth Anne Walker, Director of 

Regulatory Affairs, Department of Behavioral Health and 

Developmental Services, Jefferson Building, 1220 Bank 

Street, 4th Floor, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 225-

2252, FAX (804) 371-4609. 

BOARD OF PHARMACY 

Public Comment Period on Pharmaceutical 
Processor Regulations 

In accordance with Chapters 205, 227, and 228 of the 2021 

Acts of the Assembly, the Board of Pharmacy is providing an 

opportunity to comment on a draft of proposed regulations for 

pharmaceutical processors that will be considered for adoption 

as an exempt action. 

The proposed regulations as drafted: 

Amend regulations as required by the 2021 legislation (those 

are highlighted in the link provided);  

Replace the references to "cannabis oil" with "cannabis 

products"; and  

Incorporate other amendments that are currently in effect as 

emergency regulations (those changes are shown with 

underlining or overstriking in link provided). 

https://www.dhp.virginia.gov/Pharmacy/pharmacy_laws_regs.htm 

The 2021 legislation requires posting of a notice 60 days in 

advance of submittals for public comment and also requires 

amended regulations to be effective by September 1, 2021. 

Therefore, the Board of Pharmacy is scheduled to meet on July 

6, 2021, with the intent of submitting regulations to the 

Registrar of Regulations by July 14, 2021, for publication on 

August 2, 2021, with an effective date of September 1, 2021. 

Although the board will receive public comment from May 6, 

2021, to July 5, 2021, commenters are strongly encouraged to 

submit comments by June 18, 2021, in order to have them 

included in the board's agenda package and adequately 

considered for the July 6 meeting. 

Comments may be sent to: Elaine J. Yeatts, Agency Regulatory 

Coordinator, Department of Health Professions, 9960 Mayland 

Drive, Henrico, VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-4688, or email 

elaine.yeatts@dhp.virginia.gov. 

Contact Information: Caroline Juran, RPh, Executive Director, 

Board of Pharmacy, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, 

Richmond, VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-4456, FAX (804) 

527-4472. 

STATE WATER CONTROL BOARD 

Proposed Enforcement Action for Adams 
Construction Company 

The State Water Control Board has proposed an enforcement 

action for Adams Construction Company for the Edgarton 

Asphalt Plant, located at 604 Middle Road, Freeman, Virginia, 

to address noncompliance with State Water Control Law and 

regulations. A description of the proposed action is available 

at the Department of Environmental Quality office listed or 

online at www.deq.virginia.gov. The staff contact will accept 

https://dbhds.virginia.gov/assets/doc/QMD/OL/dbhds.12vac35-108.draft.new.homenoncenterbasedchapter.2021.05.11.pdf
https://dbhds.virginia.gov/assets/doc/QMD/OL/dbhds.12vac35-108.draft.new.homenoncenterbasedchapter.2021.05.11.pdf
https://dbhds.virginia.gov/quality-management/Office-of-Licensing
https://dbhds.virginia.gov/quality-management/Office-of-Licensing
https://www.dhp.virginia.gov/Pharmacy/pharmacy_laws_regs.htm
mailto:elaine.yeatts@dhp.virginia.gov
http://www.deq.virginia.gov/
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comments by email or postal mail from June 7, 2021, to July 

8, 2021. 

Contact Information: Frank Lupini, Department of 

Environmental Quality, Piedmont Regional Office, 4949A 

Cox Road, Glen Allen, VA 23060, or email 

frank.lupini@deq.virginia.gov. 

Proposed Enforcement Action for  
Beachfront Group LLC 

The State Water Control Board proposes to issue a consent 

special order to Beachfront Group LLC for alleged violation of 

the State Water Control Law at 216 South Broad Street, 

Lunenburg, Virginia; 200 County Drive, Sussex, Virginia; and 

13300 Warwick Boulevard, Newport News, Virginia. A 

description of the proposed action is available at the 

Department of Environmental Quality office listed or online at 

www.deq.virginia.gov. The staff contact person will accept 

comments by email or postal mail from June 7, 2021, to July 

8, 2021. 

Contact Information: Aree Reinhardt, Department of 

Environmental Quality, Piedmont Regional Office 

(Enforcement), 4949-A Cox Road, Glen Allen, VA 23060, or 

email aree.reinhardt@deq.virginia.gov. 

Proposed Enforcement Action for Paul S. Fields 

An enforcement action has been proposed for Paul S. Fields for 

violations of the State Water Control Law at a site located 

southeast of the intersection of Yuma Road and Warm Springs 

Road in Scott County, Virginia. A description of the proposed 

action is available at the DEQ office listed or online at 

www.deq.virginia.gov. The staff contact will accept comments 

by email or postal mail from June 8, 2021, through July 8, 

2021. 

Contact Information: Jonathan Chapman, Department of 

Environmental Quality, Southwest Regional Office, 355-A 

Deadmore Street, Abingdon, VA 24210, or email 

jonathan.chapman@deq.virginia.gov. 

Enforcement Action Proposed for  
Optimus Enterprises LLC 

An enforcement action has been proposed for Optimus 

Enterprises LLC for violations of the State Water Control Law 

and regulations at the Ravensworth Collision Center located in 

Springfield, Virginia. The State Water Control Board proposes 

to issue a consent order to resolve violations associated with 

the Ravensworth Collision Center. A description of the 

proposed action is available at the Department of 

Environmental Quality office listed or online at 

www.deq.virginia.gov. The staff contact person will accept 

comments by email or by postal mail from June 8, 2021, 

through July 9, 2021. 

Contact Information: Benjamin Holland, Department of 

Environmental Quality, Northern Regional Office, 13901 

Crown Court, Woodbridge, VA 22193, or email 

benjamin.holland@deq.virginia.gov. 

Proposed Enforcement Action for Raina Inc. 

The State Water Control Board proposes to issue a consent 

special order to Raina Inc. for alleged violation of the State 

Water Control Law at 329 and 331 East Second Street, Chase 

City, Virginia 23924. A description of the proposed action is 

available at the Department of Environmental Quality office 

listed or online at www.deq.virginia.gov. The staff contact 

person will accept comments by email or postal mail from June 

7, 2021, to July 8, 2021. 

Contact Information: Aree Reinhardt, Department of 

Environmental Quality, Piedmont Regional Office 

(Enforcement), 4949-A Cox Road, Glen Allen, VA 23060, or 

email aree.reinhardt@deq.virginia.gov. 

Proposed Enforcement Action for  
Reliable Tank Line LLC 

An enforcement action has been proposed for Reliable Tank 

Line LLC for violations at the incident site located on Route 

220, approximately 0.2 miles north of the intersection of Route 

220 and Route 605 (Vinegar Run Road) in Highland County. 

The State Water Control Board proposes to issue a consent 

order with penalty to Reliable Tank Line LLC to address 

noncompliance with State Water Control Law. A description 

of the proposed action is available at the Department of 

Environmental Quality office listed or online at 

www.deq.virginia.gov. The staff contact person will accept 

comments by email, fax, or postal mail from June 7, 2021, to 

July 12, 2021. 

Contact Information: Eric Millard, Department of 

Environmental Quality, Valley Regional Office, 4411 Early 

Road, P.O. Box 3000, Harrisonburg, VA 22801, FAX (804) 

698-4178, or email eric.millard@deq.virginia.gov. 

Proposed Enforcement Action for  
Stephenson Associates LC 

An enforcement action has been proposed for Stephenson 

Associates LC for violations at Stephenson Village in 

Frederick County. The State Water Control Board proposes to 

issue a consent order with penalty and injunctive relief to 

Stephenson Associates LC to address noncompliance with 

State Water Control Law. A description of the proposed action 

is available at the Department of Environmental Quality office 

listed or online at www.deq.virginia.gov. The staff contact 

person will accept comments by email, fax, or postal mail from 

June 7, 2021, to July 7, 2021. 

Contact Information: Eric Millard, Department of 

Environmental Quality, Valley Regional Office, 4411 Early 

mailto:frank.lupini@deq.virginia.gov
http://www.deq.virginia.gov/
mailto:aree.reinhardt@deq.virginia.gov
http://www.deq.virginia.gov/
mailto:jonathan.chapman@deq.virginia.go
http://www.deq.virginia.gov/
mailto:benjamin.holland@deq.virginia.gov
http://www.deq.virginia.gov/
mailto:aree.reinhardt@deq.virginia.gov
http://www.deq.virginia.gov/
mailto:eric.millard@deq.virginia.gov
http://www.deq.virginia.gov/
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Road, P.O. Box 3000, Harrisonburg, VA 22801, FAX (804) 

698-4178 (please include recipient's name), or email 

eric.millard@deq.virginia.gov. 

VIRGINIA CODE COMMISSION 

Notice to State Agencies 

Contact Information: Mailing Address: Virginia Code 

Commission, Pocahontas Building, 900 East Main Street, 8th 

Floor, Richmond, VA 23219; Telephone: (804) 698-1810; 

Email: varegs@dls.virginia.gov. 

Meeting Notices: Section 2.2-3707 C of the Code of Virginia 

requires state agencies to post meeting notices on their 

websites and on the Commonwealth Calendar at 

https://commonwealthcalendar.virginia.gov. 

Cumulative Table of Virginia Administrative Code 

Sections Adopted, Amended, or Repealed: A table listing 

regulation sections that have been amended, added, or repealed 

in the Virginia Register of Regulations since the regulations 

were originally published or last supplemented in the print 

version of the Virginia Administrative Code is available at 

http://register.dls.virginia.gov/documents/cumultab.pdf. 

Filing Material for Publication in the Virginia Register of 

Regulations: Agencies use the Regulation Information System 

(RIS) to file regulations and related items for publication in the 

Virginia Register of Regulations. The Registrar's office works 

closely with the Department of Planning and Budget (DPB) to 

coordinate the system with the Virginia Regulatory Town Hall. 

RIS and Town Hall complement and enhance one another by 

sharing pertinent regulatory information. 
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