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REGISTER INFORMATION PAGE 

THE VIRGINIA REGISTER OF REGULATIONS is an official state 

publication issued every other week throughout the year. Indexes are published 

quarterly, and are cumulative for the year. The Virginia Register has several 
functions. The new and amended sections of regulations, both as proposed and 

as finally adopted, are required by law to be published in the Virginia Register. 

In addition, the Virginia Register is a source of other information about state 
government, including petitions for rulemaking, emergency regulations, 

executive orders issued by the Governor, and notices of public hearings on 

regulations. 

ADOPTION, AMENDMENT, AND REPEAL OF REGULATIONS 

Unless exempted by law, an agency wishing to adopt, amend, or repeal 

regulations must follow the procedures in the Administrative Process Act 
(§ 2.2-4000 et seq. of the Code of Virginia). Typically, this includes first 

publishing in the Virginia Register a notice of intended regulatory action; a 

basis, purpose, substance and issues statement; an economic impact analysis 
prepared by the Department of Planning and Budget; the agency’s response to 

the economic impact analysis; a summary; a notice giving the public an 

opportunity to comment on the proposal; and the text of the proposed 
regulation. 

Following publication of the proposed regulation in the Virginia Register, the 

promulgating agency receives public comments for a minimum of 60 days. 
The Governor reviews the proposed regulation to determine if it is necessary 

to protect the public health, safety, and welfare, and if it is clearly written and 

easily understandable. If the Governor chooses to comment on the proposed 
regulation, his comments must be transmitted to the agency and the Registrar 

of Regulations no later than 15 days following the completion of the 60-day 
public comment period. The Governor’s comments, if any, will be published 

in the Virginia Register. Not less than 15 days following the completion of the 

60-day public comment period, the agency may adopt the proposed regulation. 

The Joint Commission on Administrative Rules or the appropriate standing 

committee of each house of the General Assembly may meet during the 

promulgation or final adoption process and file an objection with the Registrar 
and the promulgating agency. The objection will be published in the Virginia 

Register. Within 21 days after receipt by the agency of a legislative objection, 

the agency shall file a response with the Registrar, the objecting legislative 
body, and the Governor. 

When final action is taken, the agency again publishes the text of the 

regulation as adopted, highlighting all changes made to the proposed 
regulation and explaining any substantial changes made since publication of 

the proposal. A 30-day final adoption period begins upon final publication in 

the Virginia Register. 

The Governor may review the final regulation during this time and, if he 

objects, forward his objection to the Registrar and the agency. In addition to 

or in lieu of filing a formal objection, the Governor may suspend the effective 
date of a portion or all of a regulation until the end of the next regular General 

Assembly session by issuing a directive signed by a majority of the members 

of the appropriate legislative body and the Governor. The Governor’s 
objection or suspension of the regulation, or both, will be published in the 

Virginia Register. 

If the Governor finds that the final regulation contains changes made after 
publication of the proposed regulation that have substantial impact, he may 

require the agency to provide an additional 30-day public comment period on 

the changes. Notice of the additional public comment period required by the 

Governor will be published in the Virginia Register. Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.06 

of the Code of Virginia, any person may request that the agency solicit 

additional public comment on certain changes made after publication of the 
proposed regulation. The agency shall suspend the regulatory process for 30 

days upon such request from 25 or more individuals, unless the agency 

determines that the changes have minor or inconsequential impact. 

A regulation becomes effective at the conclusion of the 30-day final adoption 

period, or at any other later date specified by the promulgating agency, unless 

(i) a legislative objection has been filed, in which event the regulation, unless 
withdrawn, becomes effective on the date specified, which shall be after the 

expiration of the 21-day objection period; (ii) the Governor exercises his 

authority to require the agency to provide for additional public comment, in 

which event the regulation, unless withdrawn, becomes effective on the date 

specified, which shall be after the expiration of the period for which the 

Governor has provided for additional public comment; (iii) the Governor and 

the General Assembly exercise their authority to suspend the effective date of 
a regulation until the end of the next regular legislative session; or (iv) the 

agency suspends the regulatory process, in which event the regulation, unless 

withdrawn, becomes effective on the date specified, which shall be after the 
expiration of the 30-day public comment period and no earlier than 15 days 

from publication of the readopted action. 

A regulatory action may be withdrawn by the promulgating agency at any 
time before the regulation becomes final. 

FAST-TRACK RULEMAKING PROCESS 

Section 2.2-4012.1 of the Code of Virginia provides an alternative to the 
standard process set forth in the Administrative Process Act for regulations 

deemed by the Governor to be noncontroversial. To use this process, the 

Governor's concurrence is required and advance notice must be provided to 
certain legislative committees. Fast-track regulations become effective on the 

date noted in the regulatory action if fewer than 10 persons object to using the 

process in accordance with § 2.2-4012.1. 

EMERGENCY REGULATIONS 

Pursuant to § 2.2-4011 of the Code of Virginia, an agency may adopt 

emergency regulations if necessitated by an emergency situation or when 
Virginia statutory law or the appropriation act or federal law or federal 

regulation requires that a regulation be effective in 280 days or fewer from its 

enactment. In either situation, approval of the Governor is required. The 
emergency regulation is effective upon its filing with the Registrar of 

Regulations, unless a later date is specified per § 2.2-4012 of the Code of 
Virginia. Emergency regulations are limited to no more than 18 months in 

duration; however, may be extended for six months under the circumstances 

noted in § 2.2-4011 D. Emergency regulations are published as soon as 
possible in the Virginia Register and are on the Register of Regulations website 

at register.dls.virgina.gov. 

During the time the emergency regulation is in effect, the agency may 
proceed with the adoption of permanent regulations in accordance with the 

Administrative Process Act. If the agency chooses not to adopt the regulations, 

the emergency status ends when the prescribed time limit expires. 

STATEMENT 

The foregoing constitutes a generalized statement of the procedures to be 

followed. For specific statutory language, it is suggested that Article 2 (§ 2.2-
4006 et seq.) of Chapter 40 of Title 2.2 of the Code of Virginia be examined 

carefully. 

CITATION TO THE VIRGINIA REGISTER 

The Virginia Register is cited by volume, issue, page number, and date. 34:8 

VA.R. 763-832 December 11, 2017, refers to Volume 34, Issue 8, pages 763 

through 832 of the Virginia Register issued on  
December 11, 2017. 

The Virginia Register of Regulations is published pursuant to Article 6 (§ 2.2-

4031 et seq.) of Chapter 40 of Title 2.2 of the Code of Virginia. 

Members of the Virginia Code Commission: John S. Edwards, Chair; 

Marcus B. Simon, Vice Chair; Ward L. Armstrong; Nicole Cheuk; Rita 

Davis; Leslie L. Lilley; Jennifer L. McClellan; Christopher R. Nolen; Don 

L. Scott, Jr.; Charles S. Sharp; Samuel T. Towell; Malfourd W. Trumbo. 

Staff of the Virginia Register: Karen Perrine, Registrar of Regulations; 

Anne Bloomsburg, Assistant Registrar; Nikki Clemons, Regulations 
Analyst; Rhonda Dyer, Publications Assistant; Terri Edwards, Senior 

Operations Staff Assistant. 

https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/2.2-4011/
https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/2.2-4011/
http://register.dls.virgina.gov/


PUBLICATION SCHEDULE AND DEADLINES 

This schedule is available on the Virginia Register of Regulations website (http://register.dls.virginia.gov). 

Volume 37, Issue 23  Virginia Register of Regulations  July 5, 2021  

3452 

PUBLICATION SCHEDULE AND DEADLINES 

July 2021 through August 2022 

Volume: Issue Material Submitted By Noon* Will Be Published On 

37:24 June 30, 2021 July 19, 2021 

37:25 July 14, 2021 August 2, 2021 

37:26 July 28, 2021 August 16, 2021 

38:1 August 11, 2021 August 30, 2021 

38:2 August 25, 2021 September 13, 2021 

38:3 September 8, 2021 September 27, 2021 

38:4 September 22, 2021 October 11, 2021 

38:5 October 6, 2021 October 25, 2021 

38:6 October 20, 2021 November 8, 2021 

38:7 November 3, 2021 November 22, 2021 

38:8 November 15, 2021 (Monday) December 6, 2021 

38:9 December 1, 2021 December 20, 2021 

38:10 December 15, 2021 January 3, 2022 

38:11 December 29, 2021 January 17, 2022 

38:12 January 12, 2022 January 31, 2022 

38:13 January 26, 2022 February 14, 2022 

38:14 February 9, 2022 February 28, 2022 

38:15 February 23, 2022 March 14, 2022 

38:16 March 9, 2022 March 28, 2022 

38:17 March 23, 2022 April 11, 2022 

38:18 April 6, 2022 April 25, 2022 

38:19 April 20, 2022 May 9, 2022 

38:20 May 4, 2022 May 23, 2022 

38:21 May 18, 2022 June 6, 2022 

38:22 June 1, 2022 June 20, 2022 

38:23 June 15, 2022 July 4, 2022 

38:24 June 29, 2022 July 18, 2022 

38:25 July 13, 2022 August 1, 2022 

*Filing deadlines are Wednesdays unless otherwise specified. 
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PETITIONS FOR RULEMAKING 

TITLE 18. PROFESSIONAL AND 
OCCUPATIONAL LICENSING 

BOARD OF PHARMACY 

Agency Decision 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC110-20. Regulations Governing 

the Practice of Pharmacy. 

Statutory Authority: §§ 54.1-2400 and 54.1-3307 of the Code 

of Virginia. 

Name of Petitioner: Leslie DuVal. 

Nature of Petitioner's Request: To require prescriptions for 

opioids to be valid for a shorter period of time than the current 

six-month expiration standard for all controlled substances. 

Agency Decision: Request denied. 

Statement of Reason for Decision: The Board of Pharmacy has 

voted to take no action at this time but has included the issue 

of a six-month allowance on dispensing of Schedule II drugs 

in the periodic review of 18VAC60-20, Regulations Governing 

the Practice of Pharmacy. The board will gather information 

and any available outcome data from other states. 

Agency Contact: Caroline Juran, RPh, Executive Director, 

Board of Pharmacy, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, 

Richmond, VA, 23233, telephone (804) 367-4456, or email 

caroline.juran@dhp.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. PFR21-20; Filed June 4, 2021, 12:13 p.m. 

BOARD OF COUNSELING 

Initial Agency Notice 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC115-60. Regulations Governing 

the Practice of Licensed Substance Abuse Treatment 

Practitioners. 

Statutory Authority: § 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia. 

Name of Petitioner: Jennifer Stolpe. 

Nature of Petitioner's Request: To amend the education 

requirement for licensure by endorsement to require only 36 

class hours if all class hours were focused on addiction 

counseling. 

Agency Plan for Disposition of Request: The petition will be 

posted on the Virginia Regulatory Town Hall and published in 

the Register of Regulations on July 5, 2021, with comment 

requested until August 4, 2021. The petition and all comments 

received will be considered at the first meeting of the 

regulatory committee scheduled on August 6, 2021. The board 

will receive a recommendation from the committee and decide 

whether to initiate rulemaking at its meeting on August 20, 

2021. 

Public Comment Deadline: August 4, 2021. 

Agency Contact: Jaime Hoyle, Executive Director, Board of 

Counseling, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, Richmond, VA 

23233, telephone (804) 367-4406, or email 

jaime.hoyle@dhp.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. PFR21-35; Filed June 4, 2021, 12:13 p.m. 

BOARD OF SOCIAL WORK 

Initial Agency Notice 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC140-20. Regulations Governing 

the Practice of Social Work. 

Statutory Authority: § 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia. 

Name of Petitioner: Adrian Rodriguez. 

Nature of Petitioner's Request: To amend 18VAC140-20-45 to 

allow long years of experience to count as supervised 

experience for licensure. 

Agency Plan for Disposition of Request: In accordance with 

Virginia law, the petition was filed with the Virginia Registrar 

of Regulations and will be published on July 5, 2021, with 

comment accepted through August 4, 2021. The petition is also 

posted on the Virginia Regulatory Town Hall at 

http://www.townhall.viginia.gov. The petition and any 

comment will be considered by the Board of Social Work at its 

next meeting following the close of comment, which is 

scheduled for September 10, 2021. The petitioner will be 

informed of its decision following that meeting. 

Public Comment Deadline: August 4, 2021. 

Agency Contact: Jaime Hoyle, Executive Director, Board of 

Social Work, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, Richmond, VA 

23233, telephone (804) 367-4406, or email 

jaime.hoyle@dhp.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. PFR21-38; Filed June 9, 2021, 9:37 a.m. 

mailto:caroline.juran@dhp.virginia.gov
mailto:jaime.hoyle@dhp.virginia.gov
http://www.townhall.viginia.gov/
mailto:jaime.hoyle@dhp.virginia.gov
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PERIODIC REVIEWS AND SMALL BUSINESS IMPACT REVIEWS 

TITLE 4. CONSERVATION AND NATURAL 
RESOURCES 

VIRGINIA SOIL AND WATER CONSERVATION 
BOARD 

Report of Findings 

Pursuant to §§ 2.2-4007.1 and 2.2-4017 of the Code of 

Virginia, the Virginia Soil and Water Conservation Board 

conducted a periodic review and a small business impact 

review of 4VAC50-11, Public Participation Guidelines, and 

determined that this regulation should be retained in its current 

form. The department is publishing its report of findings dated 

May 3, 2021, to support this decision. 

The regulation meets the criteria set out in Executive Order 14 

(2018) as it is necessary for the protection of public health, 

safety, and welfare of the citizens and visitors to the 

Commonwealth. The board conducted a period review of the 

regulation and will retain the regulation in its current form. 

The regulation does not have an adverse impact on small 

businesses and do not overlap, duplicate, or conflict with any 

known federal or state law or regulation. 

Contact Information: Lisa McGee, Policy and Planning 

Director, Department of Conservation and Recreation, 600 

East Main Street, 24th Floor, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone 

(804) 786-4378, FAX (804) 786-6141, or email 

lisa.mcgee@dcr.virginia.gov. 

TITLE 9. ENVIRONMENT 

STATE WATER CONTROL BOARD 

Agency Notice 

Pursuant to Executive Order 14 (as amended July 16, 2018) 

and §§ 2.2-4007.1 and 2.2-4017 of the Code of Virginia, the 

following regulations are undergoing a periodic review and a 

small business impact review: 9VAC25-370, Policy for the 

Protection of Water Quality in Virginia's Shellfish 

Growing Waters, and 9VAC25-770, Virginia Financial 

Responsibility Requirements for Mitigation Associated 

with Tidal Dredging Projects. The review of these 

regulations will be guided by the principles in Executive Order 

14 (as amended July 16, 2018). The purpose of this review is 

to determine whether each regulation should be repealed, 

amended, or retained in its current form. Public comment is 

sought on the review of any issue relating to these regulations, 

including whether each regulation (i) is necessary for the 

protection of public health, safety, and welfare or for the 

economical performance of important governmental functions; 

(ii) minimizes the economic impact on small businesses in a 

manner consistent with the stated objectives of applicable law; 

and (iii) is clearly written and easily understandable. 

Public comment period begins July 5, 2021, and ends July 26, 

2021. 

Comments must include the commenter's name and address 

(physical or email) information in order to receive a response 

to the comment from the agency. Following the close of the 

public comment period, a report of both reviews will be posted 

on the Virginia Regulatory Town Hall and published in the 

Virginia Register of Regulations. 

Contact Information: Melissa Porterfield, Department of 

Environmental Quality, 1111 East Main Street, Suite 1400, 

P.O. Box 1105, Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 698-

4238, FAX (804) 698-4178, or email 

melissa.porterfield@deq.virginia.gov. 

mailto:lisa.mcgee@dcr.virginia.gov
mailto:melissa.porterfield@deq.virginia.gov
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REGULATIONS 

TITLE 4. CONSERVATION AND NATURAL 
RESOURCES 

BOARD OF WILDLIFE RESOURCES 

Proposed Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Board of Wildlife Resources is 

claiming an exemption from the Administrative Process Act 

pursuant to § 2.2-4002 A 3 of the Code of Virginia when 

promulgating regulations regarding the management of 

wildlife. 

Titles of Regulations: 4VAC15-20. Definitions and 

Miscellaneous: In General (adding 4VAC15-20-260). 

4VAC15-90. Game: Deer (amending 4VAC15-90-10; 

repealing 4VAC15-90-290). 

Statutory Authority: §§ 29.1-103, 29.1-501, and 29.1-502 of 

the Code of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: 

August 19, 2021 - noon - Department of Wildlife 

Resources, 7870 Villa Park Drive, Suite 400, Henrico, VA 

23228. 

Public Comment Deadline: July 30, 2021. 

Agency Contact: Aaron Proctor, Regulations Coordinator, 

Department of Wildlife Resources, 7870 Villa Park Drive, 

Suite 400, Henrico, VA 23228, telephone (804) 367-8341, or 

email aaron.proctor@dwr.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The proposed amendments (i) prohibit hunting contests 

for coyotes and furbearer species in which participants 

are offered cash, prizes, or other inducements of monetary 

value; (ii) address the recent detection of Chronic Wasting 

Disease (CWD) in Montgomery County, create a new 

disease management zone in counties around that area, 

and adjust seasons accordingly; and (iii) repeal the 

Fairystone Quality Deer Management Area now that 

CWD has been detected within 25 miles of this area 

because disease management actions necessitate more 

aggressive deer harvest strategies. 

4VAC15-20-260. Coyote and furbearer hunting contests.  

It shall be unlawful to organize, sponsor, promote, conduct, 

participate, or solicit participation in a contest or organized 

competition in which participants are offered cash, prizes, or 

other inducements of monetary value for capturing or killing 

coyotes or fur-bearing animals defined in § 29.1-100 of the 

Code of Virginia. No part of this regulation shall be construed 

to restrict coyote bounties authorized in § 15.2-926.1 of the 

Code of Virginia. 

4VAC15-90-10. Open season; generally. 

A. It shall be lawful to hunt deer in the following localities, 

including the cities and towns therein, during the following 

seasons, all dates inclusive. 

Locality Season 

Accomack County 

Saturday prior to the 

third Monday in 

November through the 

first Saturday in January 

Albemarle County 

Saturday prior to the 

third Monday in 

November through the 

first Saturday in January 

Alleghany County 

Saturday prior to the 

third Monday in 

November and for 14 

consecutive days 

following 

Amelia County 

Saturday prior to the 

third Monday in 

November through the 

first Saturday in January 

Amherst County (west of 

Business U.S. 29 from the 

James River to its intersection 

with U.S. 29 just south of the 

Town of Amherst continuing 

north on U.S. 29 to the Tye 

River, except on national forest 

lands) 

Saturday prior to the 

third Monday in 

November and for 28 

consecutive days 

following 

Amherst County (national forest 

lands) 

Saturday prior to the 

third Monday in 

November and for 14 

consecutive days 

following 

Amherst County (east of 

Business U.S. 29, as defined 

above) 

Saturday prior to the 

third Monday in 

November through the 

first Saturday in January 

mailto:aaron.proctor@dwr.virginia.gov
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Appomattox County 

Saturday prior to the 

third Monday in 

November through the 

first Saturday in January 

Arlington County 

Saturday prior to the 

third Monday in 

November through the 

first Saturday in January 

Arlington County (antlerless 

deer only) 

First Saturday in 

September through the 

Friday prior to the first 

Saturday in October and 

the Sunday following the 

first Saturday in January 

through the last Sunday 

in March 

Augusta County 

Saturday prior to the 

third Monday in 

November and for 14 

consecutive days 

following 

Bath County 

Saturday prior to the 

third Monday in 

November and for 14 

consecutive days 

following 

Bedford County (except on 

national forest lands) 

Saturday prior to the 

third Monday in 

November and for 28 

consecutive days 

following 

Bedford County (national forest 

lands) 

Saturday prior to the third 

Monday in November and 

for 14 consecutive days 

following 

Bland County 

Saturday prior to the 

third Monday in 

November and for 14 

consecutive days 

following 

Botetourt County 

Saturday prior to the 

third Monday in 

November and for 14 

consecutive days 

following 

Brunswick County 

Saturday prior to the 

third Monday in 

November through the 

first Saturday in January 

Buchanan County 

Saturday prior to the 

third Monday in 

November and for 14 

consecutive days 

following 

Buckingham County 

Saturday prior to the 

third Monday in 

November through the 

first Saturday in January 

Campbell County 

Saturday prior to the 

third Monday in 

November through the 

first Saturday in January 

Caroline County 

Saturday prior to the 

third Monday in 

November through the 

first Saturday in January 

Carroll County 

Saturday prior to the 

third Monday in 

November and for 14 

consecutive days 

following 

Charles City County 

Saturday prior to the 

third Monday in 

November through the 

first Saturday in January 

Charlotte County 

Saturday prior to the 

third Monday in 

November through the 

first Saturday in January 

Chesapeake (City of) 
October 1 through 

November 30 

Chesterfield County 

Saturday prior to the 

third Monday in 

November through the 

first Saturday in January 

Clarke County 

Saturday prior to the 

third Monday in 

November through the 

first Saturday in January 

Clarke County (antlerless deer 

only) 

First Saturday in 

September through the 

Friday prior to the first 

Saturday in October and 

the Sunday following the 

first Saturday in January 

through the last Sunday 

in March 
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Craig County 

Saturday prior to the 

third Monday in 

November and for 14 

consecutive days 

following 

Culpeper County (except 

Chester F. Phelps Wildlife 

Management Area) 

Saturday prior to the 

third Monday in 

November through the 

first Saturday in January 

Culpeper County (Chester F. 

Phelps Wildlife Management 

Area) 

Saturday prior to the 

third Monday in 

November and for 14 

consecutive days 

following 

Culpeper County (private lands 

and antlerless deer only) 

First Saturday in 

September through the 

Friday prior to the first 

Saturday in October 

Culpeper County (disease focus 

zones defined by the 

Department, antlerless deer 

only) 

First Saturday in 

September through the 

Friday prior to the first 

Saturday in October and 

the Sunday following the 

first Saturday in January 

through the last Sunday 

in March 

Cumberland County 

Saturday prior to the 

third Monday in 

November through the 

first Saturday in January 

Dickenson County 

Saturday prior to the 

third Monday in 

November and for 14 

consecutive days 

following 

Dinwiddie County 

Saturday prior to the 

third Monday in 

November through the 

first Saturday in January 

Essex County 

Saturday prior to the 

third Monday in 

November through the 

first Saturday in January 

Fairfax County 

Saturday prior to the 

third Monday in 

November through the 

first Saturday in January 

Fairfax County (antlerless deer 

only) 

First Saturday in 

September through the 

Friday prior to the first 

Saturday in October and 

the Sunday following the 

first Saturday in January 

through the last Sunday 

in March 

Fauquier County (except 

Chester F. Phelps Wildlife 

Management Area) 

Saturday prior to the 

third Monday in 

November through the 

first Saturday in January 

Fauquier County (Chester F. 

Phelps Wildlife Management 

Area) 

Saturday prior to the 

third Monday in 

November and for 14 

consecutive days 

following 

Fauquier County (private lands 

and antlerless deer only) 

First Saturday in 

September through the 

Friday prior to the first 

Saturday in October 

Fauquier County (disease focus 

zones defined by the 

Department, antlerless deer 

only) 

First Saturday in 

September through the 

Friday prior to the first 

Saturday in October and 

the Sunday following the 

first Saturday in January 

through the last Sunday 

in March 

Floyd County 

Saturday prior to the 

third Monday in 

November and for 28 

consecutive days 

following 

Floyd County (disease focus 

zones defined by the 

Department, antlerless deer 

only) 

First Saturday in 

September through the 

Friday prior to the first 

Saturday in October and 

the Sunday following the 

first Saturday in January 

through the last Sunday 

in March 

Fluvanna County 

Saturday prior to the 

third Monday in 

November through the 

first Saturday in January 



Regulations 

Volume 37, Issue 23  Virginia Register of Regulations  July 5, 2021  

3458 

Franklin County 

Saturday prior to the 

third Monday in 

November and for 28 

consecutive days 

following 

Frederick County (non-national 

forest lands) 

Saturday prior to the 

third Monday in 

November through the 

first Saturday in January 

Frederick County (national 

forest lands) 

Saturday prior to the 

third Monday in 

November and for 14 

consecutive days 

following 

Frederick County (non-national-

forest lands antlerless deer only)  

First Saturday in 

September through the 

Friday prior to the first 

Saturday in October and 

the Sunday following the 

first Saturday in January 

through the last Sunday 

in March 

Giles County 

Saturday prior to the 

third Monday in 

November and for 14 

consecutive days 

following 

Gloucester County 

Saturday prior to the 

third Monday in 

November through the 

first Saturday in January 

Goochland County 

Saturday prior to the 

third Monday in 

November through the 

first Saturday in January 

Grayson County 

Saturday prior to the 

third Monday in 

November and for 14 

consecutive days 

following 

Greene County 

Saturday prior to the 

third Monday in 

November through the 

first Saturday in January 

Greensville County 

Saturday prior to the 

third Monday in 

November through the 

first Saturday in January 

Halifax County 

Saturday prior to the 

third Monday in 

November through the 

first Saturday in January 

Hanover County 

Saturday prior to the 

third Monday in 

November through the 

first Saturday in January 

Henrico County 

Saturday prior to the 

third Monday in 

November through the 

first Saturday in January 

Henry County 

Saturday prior to the 

third Monday in 

November and for 28 

consecutive days 

following 

Highland County 

Saturday prior to the 

third Monday in 

November and for 14 

consecutive days 

following 

Isle of Wight County 

Saturday prior to the 

third Monday in 

November through the 

first Saturday in January 

James City County 

Saturday prior to the 

third Monday in 

November through the 

first Saturday in January 

King and Queen County 

Saturday prior to the 

third Monday in 

November through the 

first Saturday in January 

King George County 

Saturday prior to the 

third Monday in 

November through the 

first Saturday in January 

King William County 

Saturday prior to the 

third Monday in 

November through the 

first Saturday in January 

Lancaster County 

Saturday prior to the 

third Monday in 

November through the 

first Saturday in January 
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Lee County 

Saturday prior to the 

third Monday in 

November and for 14 

consecutive days 

following 

Loudoun County 

Saturday prior to the 

third Monday in 

November through the 

first Saturday in January 

Loudoun County (antlerless deer 

only) 

First Saturday in 

September through the 

Friday prior to the first 

Saturday in October and 

the Sunday following the 

first Saturday in January 

through the last Sunday 

in March 

Louisa County 

Saturday prior to the 

third Monday in 

November through the 

first Saturday in January 

Lunenburg County 

Saturday prior to the 

third Monday in 

November through the 

first Saturday in January 

Madison County 

Saturday prior to the 

third Monday in 

November through the 

first Saturday in January 

Madison County (private lands 

and antlerless deer only) 

First Saturday in 

September through the 

Friday prior to the first 

Saturday in October 

Madison County (disease focus 

zones defined by the 

Department, antlerless deer 

only) 

First Saturday in 

September through the 

Friday prior to the first 

Saturday in October and 

the Sunday following the 

first Saturday in January 

through the last Sunday 

in March 

Mathews County 

Saturday prior to the 

third Monday in 

November through the 

first Saturday in January 

Mecklenburg County 

Saturday prior to the 

third Monday in 

November through the 

first Saturday in January 

Middlesex County 

Saturday prior to the 

third Monday in 

November through the 

first Saturday in January 

Montgomery County 

(non-national forest lands) 

Saturday prior to the 

third Monday in 

November and for 14 28 

consecutive days 

following 

Montgomery County (national 

forest lands) 

Saturday prior to the 

third Monday in 

November and for 14 

consecutive days 

following 

Montgomery County (disease 

focus zones defined by the 

Department, antlerless deer 

only) 

First Saturday in 

September through the 

Friday prior to the first 

Saturday in October and 

the Sunday following the 

first Saturday in January 

through the last Sunday 

in March 

Nelson County  

(west of Route 151, except on 

national forest lands) 

Saturday prior to the 

third Monday in 

November and for 28 

consecutive days 

following 

Nelson County (national forest 

lands) 

Saturday prior to the 

third Monday in 

November and for 14 

consecutive days 

following 

Nelson County  

(east of Route 151) 

Saturday prior to the 

third Monday in 

November through the 

first Saturday in January 

New Kent County 

Saturday prior to the 

third Monday in 

November through the 

first Saturday in January 

Northampton County 

Saturday prior to the 

third Monday in 

November through the 

first Saturday in January 

Northumberland County 

Saturday prior to the 

third Monday in 

November through the 

first Saturday in January 
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Nottoway County 

Saturday prior to the 

third Monday in 

November through the 

first Saturday in January 

Orange County 

Saturday prior to the 

third Monday in 

November through the 

first Saturday in January 

Orange County (private lands 

and antlerless deer only) 

First Saturday in 

September through the 

Friday prior to the first 

Saturday in October 

Orange County (disease focus 

zones defined by the 

Department, antlerless deer 

only) 

First Saturday in 

September through the 

Friday prior to the first 

Saturday in October and 

the Sunday following the 

first Saturday in January 

through the last Sunday 

in March 

Page County 

Saturday prior to the 

third Monday in 

November and for 14 

consecutive days 

following 

Page County (disease focus 

zones defined by the 

Department, antlerless deer 

only) 

First Saturday in 

September through the 

Friday prior to the first 

Saturday in October and 

the Sunday following the 

first Saturday in January 

through the last Sunday 

in March 

Patrick County 

Saturday prior to the 

third Monday in 

November and for 28 

consecutive days 

following 

Pittsylvania County 

Saturday prior to the 

third Monday in 

November through the 

first Saturday in January 

Powhatan County 

Saturday prior to the 

third Monday in 

November through the 

first Saturday in January 

Prince Edward County 

Saturday prior to the 

third Monday in 

November through the 

first Saturday in January 

Prince George County 

Saturday prior to the 

third Monday in 

November through the 

first Saturday in January 

Prince William County 

Saturday prior to the 

third Monday in 

November through the 

first Saturday in January 

Prince William County 

(antlerless deer only) 

First Saturday in 

September through the 

Friday prior to the first 

Saturday in October and 

the Sunday following the 

first Saturday in January 

through the last Sunday 

in March 

Pulaski County (except on New 

River Unit of the Radford Army 

Ammunition Plant adjacent to 

the Town of Dublin and national 

forest lands) 

Saturday prior to the 

third Monday in 

November and for 14 28 

consecutive days 

following 

Pulaski County (New River Unit 

of the Radford Army 

Ammunition Plant adjacent to 

the Town of Dublin) 

Saturday prior to the 

second Monday in 

November through the 

first Saturday in January 

Pulaski County (national forest 

lands) 

Saturday prior to the 

third Monday in 

November and for 14 

consecutive days 

following 

Pulaski County (disease focus 

zones defined by the 

Department, antlerless deer 

only) 

First Saturday in 

September through the 

Friday prior to the first 

Saturday in October and 

the Sunday following the 

first Saturday in January 

through the last Sunday 

in March 

Rappahannock County 

Saturday prior to the 

third Monday in 

November through the 

first Saturday in January 
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Rappahannock County (private 

lands and antlerless deer only) 

First Saturday in 

September through the 

Friday prior to the first 

Saturday in October 

Rappahannock County (disease 

focus zones defined by the 

Department, antlerless deer 

only) 

First Saturday in 

September through the 

Friday prior to the first 

Saturday in October and 

the Sunday following the 

first Saturday in January 

through the last Sunday 

in March 

Richmond County 

Saturday prior to the 

third Monday in 

November through the 

first Saturday in January 

Roanoke County 

Saturday prior to the 

third Monday in 

November and for 14 

consecutive days 

following 

Rockbridge County 

Saturday prior to the 

third Monday in 

November and for 14 

consecutive days 

following 

Rockingham County 

Saturday prior to the third 

Monday in November and 

for 14 consecutive days 

following 

Russell County 

Saturday prior to the third 

Monday in November and 

for 14 consecutive days 

following 

Scott County 

Saturday prior to the third 

Monday in November and 

for 14 consecutive days 

following 

Shenandoah County 

Saturday prior to the third 

Monday in November and 

for 14 consecutive days 

following 

Shenandoah County (non-

national forest lands antlerless 

deer only) 

First Saturday in 

September through the 

Friday prior to the first 

Saturday in October and 

the Sunday following the 

first Saturday in January 

through the last Sunday 

in March 

Smyth County 

Saturday prior to the 

third Monday in 

November and for 14 

consecutive days 

following 

Southampton County 

Saturday prior to the 

third Monday in 

November through the 

first Saturday in January 

Spotsylvania County 

Saturday prior to the 

third Monday in 

November through the 

first Saturday in January 

Stafford County 

Saturday prior to the 

third Monday in 

November through the 

first Saturday in January 

Suffolk (City of)  

(east of Dismal Swamp Line) 

October 1 through 

November 30 

Suffolk (City of)  

(west of Dismal Swamp Line) 

Saturday prior to the 

third Monday in 

November through the 

first Saturday in January 

Surry County 

Saturday prior to the 

third Monday in 

November through the 

first Saturday in January 

Sussex County 

Saturday prior to the 

third Monday in 

November through the 

first Saturday in January 

Tazewell County 

Saturday prior to the 

third Monday in 

November and for 14 

consecutive days 

following 

Virginia Beach (City of) 
October 1 through 

November 30 

Warren County 

Saturday prior to the 

third Monday in 

November and for 14 

consecutive days 

following 
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Warren (non-national forest 

lands antlerless deer only) 

First Saturday in 

September through the 

Friday prior to the first 

Saturday in October and 

the Sunday following the 

first Saturday in January 

through the last Sunday 

in March 

Washington County 

Saturday prior to the 

third Monday in 

November and for 14 

consecutive days 

following 

Westmoreland County 

Saturday prior to the 

third Monday in 

November through the 

first Saturday in January 

Wise County 

Saturday prior to the 

third Monday in 

November and for 14 

consecutive days 

following 

Wythe County 

Saturday prior to the 

third Monday in 

November and for 14 

consecutive days 

following 

York County 

Saturday prior to the 

third Monday in 

November through the 

first Saturday in January 

B. Except as provided in subsection A of this section, east of 

the Blue Ridge Mountains deer may be hunted from the 

Saturday prior to the third Monday in November through the 

first Saturday in January, both dates inclusive, within the 

incorporated limits of any city or town that allows deer 

hunting. 

C. Except as provided in subsection A of this section, west of 

the Blue Ridge Mountains deer may be hunted from the 

Saturday prior to the third Monday in November and for 14 

consecutive days following within the incorporated limits of 

any city or town that allows deer hunting. 

4VAC15-90-290. Special quality deer management areas. 

(Repealed.) 

A. The board hereby designates the following areas posted by 

the Department of Wildlife Resources as special quality deer 

management areas with special antlered buck harvest.  

B. Special Fairystone quality deer management area. It shall 

be unlawful to kill an antlered deer on the special Fairystone 

quality deer management area unless the deer has at least four 

antler points, each greater than one inch in length, on either the 

right or left antler.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R21-6836; Filed June 15, 2021, 3:17 p.m. 

  ––––––––––––––––––  

TITLE 12. HEALTH 

STATE BOARD OF HEALTH 

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: Pursuant to 1VAC7-10-60, the 

Registrar of Regulations is updating certain regulations of the 

Virginia Department of Health to correct an invalid website 

link in the Virginia Administrative Code. 

Title of Regulation: 12VAC5-110. Regulations for the 

Immunization of School Children (amending 12VAC5-110-

80). 

Effective Date: July 5, 2021. 

Agency Contact: Kristin Collins, Policy Analyst, Virginia 

Department of Health, 109 Governor Street, 6th Floor, 

Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 864-7298, or email 

kristin.collins@vdh.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

Pursuant to 1VAC7-10-60, the link to the school 

immunization requirements on the website of the Division 

of Immunization of the Virginia Department of Health is 

updated to http://www.vdh.virginia.gov/immunization/ 

requirements.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R21-6824; Filed June 15, 2021, 3:44 p.m. 

DEPARTMENT OF MEDICAL ASSISTANCE 
SERVICES 

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Department of Medical 

Assistance Services is claiming an exemption from Article 2 of 

the Administrative Process Act in accordance with (i) § 2.2-

4006 A 4 a of the Code of Virginia, which excludes regulations 

that are necessary to conform to changes in Virginia statutory 

law where no agency discretion is involved and (ii) § 2.2-4006 

A 3 of the Code of Virginia, which excludes regulations that 

consist only of changes in style or form or corrections of 

technical errors. The department will receive, consider, and 

respond to petitions by any interested person at any time with 

respect to reconsideration or revision. 

Title of Regulation: 12VAC30-50. Amount, Duration, and 

Scope of Medical and Remedial Care Services (amending 

12VAC30-50-330, 12VAC30-50-335, 12VAC30-50-340). 

mailto:kristin.collins@vdh.virginia.gov
http://www.vdh.virginia.gov/immunization/requirements
http://www.vdh.virginia.gov/immunization/requirements
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Statutory Authority: § 32.1-325 of the Code of Virginia; 

42 USC § 1396. 

Effective Date: August 4, 2021. 

Agency Contact: Emily McClellan, Regulatory Supervisor, 

Policy Division, Department of Medical Assistance Services, 

600 East Broad Street, Suite 1300, Richmond, VA 23219, 

telephone (804) 371-4300, FAX (804) 786-1680, or email 

emily.mcclellan@dmas.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

Pursuant to Chapters 304 and 356 of the 2020 Acts of 

Assembly, the amendments update (i) the definition of 

Uniform Assessment Instrument (UAI) and other term 

definitions to accommodate a change from the term 

"preadmission screening" to "long-term services and 

supports screening" and (ii) documentation requirements 

regarding the filing of the UIA to align regulation with 

statute. 

12VAC30-50-330. PACE definitions. 

For purposes of this part and all contracts establishing the 

Program of All-Inclusive Care for the Elderly (PACE) 

programs as defined in 42 CFR Part 460, the following 

definitions shall apply: 

"Adult day health care center" or "ADHC" means a DMAS-

enrolled provider that offers a community-based day program 

providing a variety of health, therapeutic, and social services 

designed to meet the specialized needs of those elderly and 

disabled individuals at risk of placement in a nursing facility. 

The ADHC must be licensed by the Virginia Department of 

Social Services as an adult day care center (ADC) as defined 

in 22VAC40-60-10. 

"Applicant" means an individual seeking enrollment in a 

PACE plan. 

"Capitation rate" means the negotiated Medicaid monthly per 

capita amount paid to a PACE provider for all services 

provided to enrollees. 

"Catchment area" means the designated service area for a 

PACE plan. 

"Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services" or "CMS" 

means the unit of the U.S. Department of Health and Human 

Services that administers the Medicare and Medicaid 

programs. 

"CFR" means the Code of Federal Regulations. 

"Direct marketing" means either (i) conducting directly or 

indirectly door-to-door, telephonic or other "cold call" 

marketing of services at residences and provider sites; (ii) 

mailing directly; (iii) paying "finders' fees;" (iv) offering 

financial incentives, rewards, gifts or special opportunities to 

eligible individuals or family/caregivers as inducements to use 

the providers' services; (v) continuous, periodic marketing 

activities to the same prospective individual or 

family/caregiver for example, monthly, quarterly, or annual 

giveaways as inducements to use the providers' services; or (vi) 

engaging in marketing activities that offer potential customers 

rebates or discounts in conjunction with the use of the 

providers' services or other benefits as a means of influencing 

the individual's or family/caregiver's use of the providers' 

services. 

"DMAS" means the Department of Medical Assistance 

Services. 

"DSS" means the Department of Social Services. 

"Enrollee" means a Medicaid-eligible individual meeting 

PACE enrollment criteria and receiving services from a PACE 

plan. 

"Full disclosure" means fully informing all PACE enrollees 

at the time of enrollment that, pursuant to § 32.1-330.3 of the 

Code of Virginia, PACE plan enrollment can only be 

guaranteed for a 30-day period. 

"Imminent risk of nursing facility placement" means that an 

individual will require nursing facility care within 30 days if a 

community-based alternative care program, such as a PACE 

plan, is not available. 

"Long-term services and supports (LTSS) screening" or 

"screening" means the face to face process to (i) evaluate the 

functional, medical or nursing, and social support needs and at-

risk status of individuals referred for certain long-term services 

requiring nursing facility level of care eligibility; (ii) assist 

individuals in determining what specific services the 

individual needs; (iii) evaluate whether a service or a 

combination of existing community services are available to 

meet the individual's needs; and (iv) provide a list to 

individuals of appropriate providers for Medicaid-funded 

nursing facility, PACE plan services, or the Commonwealth 

Coordinated Care Plus waiver for those individuals who meet 

nursing facility level of care.  

"Long-term services and supports (LTSS) screening team" 

means the hospital screening team, community-based team 

(CBT), nursing facility team, or DMAS designee contracted to 

perform screenings pursuant to § 32.1-330 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

"PACE" means a Program of All-Inclusive Care for the 

Elderly. PACE services are designed to enhance the quality of 

life and autonomy for frail, older adults; maximize dignity of, 

and respect for, older adults; enable frail, older adults to live in 

the community as long as medically and socially feasible; and 

preserve and support the older adult's family unit. 

"PACE plan" means a comprehensive acute and long-term 

care prepaid health plan, pursuant to § 32.1-330.3 of the Code 

of Virginia and as defined in 42 CFR 460.6, operating on a 

capitated payment basis through which the PACE provider 

assumes full financial risk. PACE plans operate under both 

Medicare and Medicaid capitation. 

mailto:emily.mcclellan@dmas.virginia.gov
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"PACE plan contract" means a contract, pursuant to § 32.1-

330.3 of the Code of Virginia, under which an entity assumes 

full financial risk for operation of a comprehensive acute and 

long-term care prepaid health plan with capitated payments for 

services provided to Medicaid enrollees being made by 

DMAS. The parties to a PACE plan contract are the entities 

operating the PACE plan, DMAS and CMS. 

"PACE plan feasibility study" means a study performed by a 

research entity approved by DMAS to determine a potential 

PACE plan provider's ability and resources, or lack thereof, to 

effectively operate a PACE plan. All study costs are the 

responsibility of the potential PACE provider. 

"PACE protocol" means the protocol for the Program of All-

Inclusive Care for the Elderly, as published by On Lok, Inc., 

as of April 14, 1995, or any successor protocol that may be 

agreed upon by the federal Secretary of Health and Human 

Services and On Lok, Inc. 

"PACE provider" means the entity contracting with the 

Department of Medical Assistance Services to operate a PACE 

plan. 

"PACE site" means the location, which includes a primary 

care center, where the PACE provider both operates the PACE 

plan's adult day health care center and coordinates the 

provision of core PACE services, including the provision of 

primary care. 

"Plan of care" means the written plan developed by the 

provider related solely to the specific services required by the 

individual to ensure optimal health and safety while receiving 

services from the provider. 

"Preadmission screening" means the process to: (i) evaluate 

the functional, nursing, and social supports of individuals 

referred for preadmission screenings; (ii) assist individuals in 

determining what specific services individuals need; (iii) 

evaluate whether a service or a combination of existing 

community-based services are available to meet the 

individual's needs; (iv) refer individuals to the appropriate 

provider for Medicaid-funded nursing facility or home and 

community-based care for those individuals who meet nursing 

facility level of care. 

"Preadmission screening team" means the entity contracted 

with DMAS that is responsible for performing preadmission 

screening pursuant to § 32.1-330 of the Code of Virginia. 

"Primary care provider" or "PCP" means the individual 

responsible for the coordination of medical care provided to an 

enrollee under a PACE plan. 

"Provider" means the individual or other entity registered, 

licensed, or certified, as appropriate, and enrolled by DMAS to 

render services to Medicaid recipients eligible for services. 

"State Plan for Medical Assistance" or "the Plan" means the 

Commonwealth's legal document approved by CMS 

identifying the covered groups, covered services and their 

limitations, and provider reimbursement methodologies as 

provided for under Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

"Virginia Uniform Assessment Instrument" or "UAI" means 

the standardized, multidimensional questionnaire that assesses 

an individual's social, physical and mental health, and 

functional abilities assessment instrument that is completed by 

the LTSS screening team that assesses an individual's physical 

health, mental health, and psycho/social and functional 

abilities to determine if the individual meets the nursing facility 

level of care. 

12VAC30-50-335. General PACE plan requirements. 

A. DMAS, the state agency responsible for administering 

Virginia's Medicaid program, shall only enter into PACE plan 

contracts with approved PACE plan providers. The PACE 

provider must have an agreement with CMS and DMAS for 

the operation of a PACE program. The agreement must 

include: 

1. Designation of the program's service area; 

2. The program's commitment to meet all applicable federal, 

state, and local requirements; 

3. The effective date and term of the agreement; 

4. The description of the organizational structure; 

5. Participant bill of rights; 

6. Description of grievance and appeals processes; 

7. Policies on eligibility, enrollment, and disenrollment; 

8. Description of services available; 

9. Description of the organization's quality improvement 

program; 

10. A statement of levels of performance required on 

standard quality measures; 

11. CMS and DMAS data requirements; 

12. The Medicaid capitation rate or Medicaid payment rate 

methodology and the methodology used to calculate the 

Medicare capitation rate; 

13. Procedures for program termination; and 

14. A statement to hold harmless CMS, the state, and PACE 

participants if the PACE organization does not pay for 

services performed by the provider in accordance with the 

contract. 

B. A PACE plan feasibility study shall be performed before 

DMAS enters into any PACE plan contract. DMAS shall 

contract only with those entities it determines to have the 

ability and resources to effectively operate a PACE plan. A 

feasibility plan shall only be submitted in response to a Request 

for Applications published by DMAS. 
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C. PACE plans shall offer a voluntary comprehensive 

alternative to enrollees who would otherwise be placed in a 

nursing facility. PACE plan services shall be comprehensive 

and offered as an alternative to nursing facility admission. 

D. All Medicaid-enrolled PACE participants shall continue to 

meet the nonfinancial and financial Medicaid eligibility 

criteria established by federal law and this chapter. This 

requirement shall not apply to Medicare only or private pay 

PACE participants. 

E. Each PACE provider shall operate a PACE site that is in 

continuous compliance with all state licensure requirements 

for that site. 

F. Each PACE provider shall ensure that services are 

provided by health care providers and institutions that are in 

continuous compliance with state licensure and certification 

requirements. 

G. Each PACE plan shall meet the requirements of §§ 32.1-

330.2 and 32.1-330.3 of the Code of Virginia and 42 CFR Part 

460. 

H. All PACE providers must meet the general requirements 

and conditions for participation pursuant to the required 

contracts by DMAS and CMS. All providers must sign the 

appropriate participation agreement. All providers must adhere 

to the conditions of participation outlined in the participation 

agreement and application to provide PACE services, DMAS 

regulations, policies and procedures, and CMS requirements 

pursuant to 42 CFR Part 460. 

I. Requests for participation as a PACE provider will be 

screened by DMAS to determine whether the provider 

applicant meets these basic requirements for participation and 

demonstrates the abilities to perform, at a minimum, the 

following activities: 

1. Immediately notify DMAS, in writing, of any change in 

the information that the provider previously submitted to 

DMAS. 

2. Assure freedom of choice to individuals in seeking 

services from any institution, pharmacy, practitioner, or 

other provider qualified to perform the services required and 

participating in the Medicaid Program at the time the 

services are performed. 

3. Assure the individual's freedom to refuse medical care, 

treatment, and services. 

4. Accept referrals for services only when qualified staff is 

available to initiate and perform such services on an ongoing 

basis. 

5. Provide services and supplies to individuals in full 

compliance with Title VI of the Civil Rights Act of 1964, as 

amended (42 USC § 2000 et seq.), which prohibits 

discrimination on the grounds of race, color, religion, sexual 

orientation, or national origin; the Virginians with 

Disabilities Act (§ 51.5-1 et seq. of the Code of Virginia); 

§ 504 of the Rehabilitation Act of 1973, as amended (29 

USC § 794), which prohibits discrimination on the basis of 

a disability; and the Americans with Disabilities Act of 

1990, as amended (42 USC § 12101 et seq.), which provides 

comprehensive civil rights protections to individuals with 

disabilities in the areas of employment, public 

accommodations, state and local government services, and 

telecommunications. 

6. Provide services and supplies to individuals of the same 

quality and in the same mode of delivery as is provided to 

the general public. 

7. Use only DMAS-designated forms for service 

documentation. The provider must not alter the DMAS 

forms in any manner unless approval from DMAS is 

obtained prior to using the altered forms. 

8. Not perform any type of direct marketing activities to 

Medicaid individuals. 

9. Maintain and retain business and professional records 

sufficient to document fully and accurately the nature, scope, 

and details of the services provided. 

a. In general, such records shall be retained for at least 10 

years from the last date of services or as provided by 

applicable federal and state laws, whichever period is 

longer. However, if an audit is initiated within the required 

retention period, the records shall be retained until the 

audit is completed and every exception resolved. Records 

of minors shall be kept for at least six years after such 

minor has reached the age of 18 years. However, records 

for Medicare Part D shall be maintained for 10 years in 

accordance with 42 CFR 423.505(d). 

b. Policies regarding retention of records shall apply even 

if the provider discontinues operation. DMAS shall be 

notified in writing of the storage location and procedures 

for obtaining records for review. The location, agent, or 

trustee shall be within the Commonwealth. 

10. Furnish information on request and in the form requested 

to DMAS, the Attorney General of Virginia or his authorized 

representatives, federal personnel, and the state Medicaid 

Fraud Control Unit. The Commonwealth's right of access to 

provider agencies and records shall survive any termination 

of the provider agreement. 

11. Disclose, as requested by DMAS, all financial, 

beneficial, ownership, equity, surety, or other interests in 

any and all firms, corporations, partnerships, associations, 

business enterprises, joint ventures, agencies, institutions, or 

other legal entities providing any form of health care 

services to individuals of Medicaid. 

12. Pursuant to 42 CFR 431.300 et seq., 12VAC30-20-90, 

and any other applicable federal or state law, all providers 

shall hold confidential and use for authorized DMAS 
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purposes only all medical assistance information regarding 

individuals served. A provider shall disclose information in 

the provider's possession only when the information is used 

in conjunction with a claim for health benefits, or the data 

are necessary for the functioning of DMAS in conjunction 

with the cited laws. 

13. CMS and DMAS shall be notified in writing of any 

change in the organizational structure of a PACE provider 

organization at least 14 calendar days before the change 

takes effect. When planning a change of ownership, CMS 

and DMAS shall be notified in writing at least 60 calendar 

days before the anticipated effective date of the change. 

14. In addition to compliance with the general conditions 

and requirements, all providers enrolled by DMAS shall 

adhere to the conditions of participation outlined in their 

individual provider participation agreements and in the 

applicable DMAS provider manual. DMAS shall conduct 

ongoing monitoring of compliance with provider 

participation standards and DMAS policies. A provider's 

noncompliance with DMAS policies and procedures may 

result in a retraction of Medicaid payment or termination of 

the provider agreement, or both. 

15. Minimum qualifications of staff. 

a. All employees must have a satisfactory work record as 

evidenced by references from prior job experience, 

including no evidence of abuse, neglect, or exploitation of 

vulnerable adults and children. Prior to the beginning of 

employment, a criminal record check shall be conducted 

for the provider and each employee and made available for 

review by DMAS staff. Providers are responsible for 

complying with the Code of Virginia and state regulations 

regarding criminal record checks and barrier crimes as 

they pertain to the licensure and program requirements of 

their employees' particular practice areas. 

b. Staff must meet any certifications, licensure, 

registration, etc., as required by applicable federal and 

state law. Staff qualifications must be documented and 

maintained for review by DMAS or its authorized 

contractors. 

16. At the time of their admission to services, all providers 

participating in the Medicare and Medicaid programs must 

provide adult individuals with written information regarding 

each individual's right to make medical care decisions, 

including the right to accept or refuse medical treatment and 

the right to formulate advance directives. 

J. Provider's conviction of a felony. The Medicaid provider 

agreement shall terminate upon conviction of the provider of a 

felony pursuant to § 32.1-325 of the Code of Virginia. A 

provider convicted of a felony in Virginia or in any other of the 

50 states, the District of Columbia, or the U.S. territories must, 

within 30 days, notify the Virginia Medicaid Program of this 

conviction and relinquish the provider agreement. In addition, 

termination of a provider participation agreement will occur as 

may be required for federal financial participation. 

K. Ongoing quality management review. DMAS shall be 

responsible for assuring continued adherence to provider 

participation standards. DMAS shall conduct ongoing 

monitoring of compliance with provider participation 

standards and DMAS policies and periodically recertify each 

provider for participation agreement renewal with DMAS to 

provide PACE services. 

L. Reporting suspected abuse or neglect. Pursuant to §§ 63.2-

1508 through 63.2-1513 and 63.2-1606 of the Code of 

Virginia, if a participating provider entity suspects that a child 

or vulnerable adult is being abused, neglected, or exploited, the 

party having knowledge or suspicion of the abuse, neglect, or 

exploitation shall report this immediately to DSS and to 

DMAS. In addition, as mandated reporters for vulnerable 

adults, participating providers must inform their staff that they 

are mandated reporters and provide education regarding how 

to report suspected adult abuse, neglect, or exploitation 

pursuant to § 63.2-1606 F of the Code of Virginia. 

M. Documentation requirements. The provider must maintain 

all records of each individual receiving services. All 

documentation in the individual's record must be completely 

signed and dated with name of the person providing the 

service, title, and complete date with month, day, and year. 

This documentation shall contain, up to and including the last 

date of service, all of the following: 

1. The most recently updated Virginia Uniform Assessment 

Instrument (UAI) and all required forms in the LTSS 

screening packet pursuant to 12VAC30-60-306, all other 

assessments and reassessments, plans of care, supporting 

documentation, and documentation of any inpatient hospital 

admissions; 

2. All correspondence and related communication with the 

individual and, as appropriate, consultants, providers, 

DMAS, DSS, or other related parties; and 

3. Documentation of the date services were rendered and the 

amount and type of services rendered. 

12VAC30-50-340. Criteria for PACE enrollment. 

A. Eligibility shall be determined in the manner provided for 

in the State Plan and these regulations. To the extent these 

regulations differ from other provisions of the State Plan for 

purposes of PACE eligibility and enrollment, these regulations 

shall control. 

B. Individuals meeting the following nonfinancial criteria 

shall be eligible to enroll in PACE plans approved by DMAS: 

1. Individuals who are age 55 or older; 

2. Individuals who require nursing facility level of care and 

are at imminent risk of nursing facility placement as 

determined by a nursing home preadmission LTSS screening 
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team through a nursing home preadmission long-term 

services and supports screening performed using the UAI 

and all required forms in the LTSS screening packet 

pursuant to 12VAC30-60-306; 

3. Individuals for whom PACE plan services are medically 

appropriate and necessary because without the services the 

individual is at imminent risk of nursing facility placement; 

4. Individuals who reside in a PACE plan catchment area; 

5. Individuals who meet other criteria specified in a PACE 

plan contract; 

6. Individuals who participate in the Medicaid or Medicare 

programs as specified in § 32.1-330.3 E of the Code of 

Virginia; and 

7. Individuals who voluntarily enroll in a PACE plan and 

agree to the terms and conditions of enrollment. 

C. To the extent permitted by federal law and regulation, 

individuals meeting the following financial criteria shall be 

eligible to enroll in PACE plans approved by DMAS: 

1. Individuals whose income is determined by DMAS under 

the provision of the State Plan to be equal to or less than 

300% of the current Supplemental Security Income payment 

standard for one person; and 

2. Individuals whose resources are determined by DMAS 

under the provisions of the State Plan to be equal to or less 

than the current resource allowance established in the State 

Plan. 

D. For purposes of a financial eligibility determination, 

applicants shall be considered as if they are institutionalized 

for the purpose of applying institutional deeming rules. 

E. DMAS shall not pay for services provided to an applicant 

by a PACE contractor if such services are provided prior to the 

PACE plan authorization date set by the nursing home 

preadmission LTSS screening team. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R21-6560; Filed June 2, 2021, 2:50 p.m. 

  ––––––––––––––––––  

TITLE 14. INSURANCE 

STATE CORPORATION COMMISSION 

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The State Corporation Commission 

is claiming an exemption from the Administrative Process Act 

in accordance with § 2.2-4002 A 2 of the Code of Virginia, 

which exempts courts, any agency of the Supreme Court, and 

any agency that by the Constitution is expressly granted any of 

the powers of a court of record. 

Title of Regulation: 14VAC5-45. Rules Governing 

Suitability in Annuity Transactions (amending 14VAC5-

45-10 through 14VAC5-45-47). 

Statutory Authority: §§ 12.1-13 and 38.2-223 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

Effective Date: September 1, 2021. 

Agency Contact: Raquel C. Pino, Insurance Policy Advisor, 

Bureau of Insurance, State Corporation Commission, Tyler 

Building, 1300 East Main Street, P.O. Box 1157, Richmond, 

VA 23218, telephone (804) 371-9499, FAX (804) 371-9873, 

or email raquel.pino@scc.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendments incorporate provisions contained in the 

Suitability in Annuity Transactions Model Regulation of the 

National Association of Insurance Commissioners and 

include several new definitions, require insurers and agents 

to follow specified best interest obligations when 

recommending an annuity, require agents to use consumer 

disclosure forms, and require agents to complete a one-time 

four-credit annuity suitability training course that includes 

the best interest standard. Changes to the proposed 

regulation extend the deadline for compliance with 

continuing education requirements.  

COMMONWEALTH OF VIRGINIA 

STATE CORPORATION COMMISSION 

AT RICHMOND, JUNE 11, 2021 

COMMONWEALTH OF VIRGINIA, ex rel. 

STATE CORPORATION COMMISSION 

CASE NO. INS-2021-00001 

Ex Parte: In the matter of 

Adopting Revisions to the Rules 

Governing Suitability in Annuity Transactions 

ORDER ADOPTING AMENDMENTS TO RULES 

By Order to Take Notice ("Order") entered January 19, 2021, 

insurers and interested persons were ordered to take notice that 

subsequent to March 19, 2021, the State Corporation 

Commission ("Commission") would consider the entry of an 

order adopting amendments to rules set forth in Chapter 45 of 

Title 14 of the Virginia Administrative Code, entitled "Rules 

Governing Suitability in Annuity Transactions" ("Rules"), 

which amends the Rules at 14 VAC 5-45-10 through 14 VAC 

5-45-47 and adds new forms, unless on or before March 19, 

2021, any person objecting to the adoption of the amendments 

to the Rules filed a request for a hearing with the Clerk of the 

Commission ("Clerk"). 

The Order also required insurers and interested persons to file 

their comments in support of or in opposition to the proposed 

amendments to the Rules with the Clerk on or before March 

19, 2021. 

mailto:raquel.pino@scc.virginia.gov
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No request for a hearing was filed with the Clerk. Comments 

were timely filed with the Clerk from the following: Pamela 

Heinrich with the National Association for Fixed Annuities, 

Michelle Carroll Foster with the American Council of Life 

Insurers, Robert Bradshaw with the Independent Insurance 

Agents of Virginia, Jason Berkowitz with the Insured 

Retirement Institute, Robert Stafford, Julie Harrison with the 

National Association of Insurance & Financial Advisors, 

Daniel Barnard, Karl Klingmann II, Timothy Roscher, William 

Frazer, Eric Coon, Racent Dowdie, Michael Williams, John 

Doyle with the Doyle Insurance Agency LLC, Gwendolyn 

Apperton with the World Financial Group, Kristen Rodriguez 

with the World Financial Group, Bonita Haubert with Haubert 

and Associates, and Shaheena Kabir. 

The amendments to the Rules are necessary to incorporate 

provisions contained in the revised National Association of 

Insurance Commissioners' Suitability in Annuity Transactions 

Model Regulation. These revisions add several new 

definitions, require insurers to follow specified best interest 

obligations when recommending an annuity, require agents to 

use consumer disclosure forms, and require agents to complete 

a one-time four-credit annuity suitability training course that 

includes the best interest standard. 

Following review of the submitted comments, the Bureau 

filed a Response to Comments ("Response"). The Response 

recommends to the Commission a minor amendment to 14 

VAC 5-45-45 to adjust the effective date to accommodate 

agent training. Regarding the remaining comments, the 

Response does not recommend any further revisions to the 

proposed amendments. 

NOW THE COMMISSION, having considered the proposed 

amendments, the comments filed and the Bureau's Response, 

is of the opinion that the attached amendments to the Rules 

should be adopted as amended, effective September 1, 2021. 

Accordingly, IT IS ORDERED THAT: 

(1) The amendments to the Rules Governing Suitability in 

Annuity Transactions at Chapter 45 of Title 14 of the Virginia 

Administrative Code that amend the Rules at 14 VAC 5-45-10 

through 14 VAC 5-45-47 and add new forms, which are 

attached hereto and made a part hereof, are hereby ADOPTED 

effective September 1, 2021. 

(2) The Bureau shall provide notice of the adoption of the 

amendments to the Rules to all insurers licensed to sell 

annuities or variable annuities in Virginia and to all interested 

persons. 

(3) The Commission's Division of Information Resources 

shall cause a copy of this Order, together with the amended 

Rules, to be forwarded to the Virginia Registrar of Regulations 

for appropriate publication in the Virginia Register of 

Regulations. 

(4) The Commission's Division of Information Resources 

shall make available this Order and the attached amendments 

to the Rules on the Commission's website: 

scc.virginia.gov/pages/Case-Information. 

(5) The Bureau shall file with the Clerk of the Commission 

an affidavit of compliance with the notice requirements of 

Ordering Paragraph (2) above. 

(6) This case is dismissed, and the papers herein shall be 

placed in the file for ended causes. 

A COPY hereof shall be sent electronically by the Clerk of 

the Commission to: C. Meade Browder, Jr., Senior Assistant 

Attorney General, Office of the Attorney General, Division of 

Consumer Counsel, 202 North 9th Street, 8th Floor, 

Richmond, Virginia 23219, MBrowder@oag.state.va.us; and a 

copy hereof shall be delivered to the Commission's Office of 

General Counsel and the Bureau of Insurance in care of Deputy 

Commissioner Julie S. Blauvelt. 

14VAC5-45-10. Purpose and scope. 

The purpose of this chapter is to set forth rules and procedures 

for recommendations to consumers that result in a transaction 

involving annuity products require agents, as defined in this 

chapter, to act in the best interest of the consumer when making 

a recommendation of an annuity and to require insurers to 

establish and maintain a system to supervise recommendations 

so that the insurance needs and financial objectives of 

consumers at the time of the transaction are appropriately 

effectively addressed. This chapter shall apply to any sale or 

recommendation to purchase, exchange, or replace of an 

annuity made to a consumer by an agent, or insurer where no 

agent is involved, that results in the purchase, exchange, or 

replacement recommended. 

14VAC5-45-20. Definitions. 

The following words and terms when used in this chapter 

shall have the following meaning meanings, unless the context 

clearly indicates otherwise: 

"Agent" or "insurance agent" "Agent," "insurance agent," 

"producer," or "insurance producer," when used without 

qualification, means an individual or business entity that sells, 

solicits, or negotiates contracts of insurance or annuity in this 

Commonwealth. 

"Annuity" means a fixed, variable, or modified guaranteed 

annuity that is individually solicited, whether the product is 

classified as an individual annuity or group annuity. 

"Board" means the Virginia Insurance Continuing Education 

Board established pursuant to § 38.2-1867 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

"Cash compensation" means any discount, concession, fee, 

service fee, commission, sales charge, loan, override, or cash 

benefit received by an agent in connection with the 
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recommendation or sale of an annuity from an insurer, 

intermediary, or directly from the consumer. 

"Commission" means the State Corporation Commission. 

"Consumer profile information" means information that is 

reasonably appropriate to determine whether a 

recommendation addresses the consumer's financial situation, 

insurance needs, and financial objectives, including, at a 

minimum, the following: 

1. Age; 

2. Annual income; 

3. Financial situation and needs, including debts and other 

obligations; 

4. Financial experience; 

5. Insurance needs; 

6. Financial objectives; 

7. Intended use of the annuity; 

8. Financial time horizon; 

9. Existing assets or financial products, including 

investment, annuity, and insurance holdings; 

10. Liquidity needs; 

11. Liquid net worth; 

12. Risk tolerance, including willingness to accept non-

guaranteed elements in the annuity; 

13. Financial resources used to fund the annuity; and 

14. Tax status. 

"Continuing education credit" or "CE credit" means one 

continuing education credit as defined in § 38.2-1867 of the 

Code of Virginia. 

"Continuing education provider" or "CE provider" means an 

individual or entity that is approved to offer continuing 

education courses pursuant to § 38.2-1867 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

"FINRA" means the Financial Industry Regulatory Authority 

or a succeeding agency. 

"Insurer" means an insurance company required to be 

licensed under the laws of this Commonwealth to provide 

insurance products, including annuities. 

"Intermediary" means an entity contracted directly with an 

insurer or with another entity contracted with an insurer to 

facilitate the sale of the insurer's annuities by agents. 

"Material conflict of interest" means a financial interest of the 

agent in the sale of an annuity that a reasonable person would 

expect to influence the impartiality of a recommendation. 

"Material conflict of interest" does not include cash 

compensation or non-cash compensation. 

"Non-cash compensation" means any form of compensation 

that is not cash compensation, including health insurance, 

office rent, office support, and retirement benefits. 

"Nonguaranteed elements" means the premiums, credited 

interest rates (including any bonus), benefits, values, 

dividends, non-interest based credits, charges, or elements of 

formulas used to determine any of these that are subject to 

company discretion and are not guaranteed at issue. An 

element is considered nonguaranteed if any of the underlying 

nonguaranteed elements are used in its calculation. 

"Recommendation" means advice provided by an agent, or an 

insurer where no agent is involved, to an individual consumer 

that results was intended to result or does result in a purchase, 

exchange, or replacement, or surrender of an annuity in 

accordance with that advice. Recommendation does not 

include general communication to the public, generalized 

customer services assistance or administrative support, general 

educational information and tools, prospectuses, or other 

product and sales material. 

"Replacement" means a transaction in which a new policy or 

contract annuity is to be purchased, and it is known or should 

be known to the proposing agent, or to the proposing insurer if 

there is no whether or not an agent is involved, that by reason 

of the transaction, an existing annuity or other insurance policy 

or contract, has been or is to be any of the following: 

1. Lapsed, forfeited, surrendered or partially surrendered, 

assigned to the replacing insurer, or otherwise terminated; 

2. Converted to reduced paid-up insurance, continued as 

extended term insurance, or otherwise reduced in value by 

the use of nonforfeiture benefits or other policy values; 

3. Amended so as to effect either a reduction in benefits or 

in the term for which coverage would otherwise remain in 

force or for which benefits would be paid; 

4. Reissued with any reduction in cash value; or 

5. Used in a financed purchase. 

"Suitability information" means information that is 

reasonably appropriate to determine the suitability of a 

recommendation, including the following: 

1. Age; 

2. Annual income; 

3. Financial situation and needs, including the financial 

resources used for the funding of the annuity; 

4. Financial experience; 

5. Financial objectives; 

6. Intended use of the annuity; 
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7. Financial time horizon; 

8. Existing assets, including investment and life insurance 

holdings; 

9. Liquidity needs; 

10. Liquid net worth; 

11. Risk tolerance; and 

12. Tax status. 

"SEC" means the U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission. 

"Virginia Securities Act" means § 13.1-501 et seq. of the 

Code of Virginia. 

14VAC5-45-30. Exemptions. 

Unless otherwise specifically included, this chapter shall not 

apply to transactions involving: 

1. Direct response solicitations where there is no 

recommendation based on information collected from the 

consumer pursuant to this chapter. 

2. Contracts used to fund: 

a. An employee pension or welfare benefit plan that is 

covered by the Employee Retirement Income Security Act 

of 1974 (29 USC § 1001 et seq.); 

b. A plan described by 26 USC § 401(a), 401(k), 403(b), 

408(k), or 408(p) of the Internal Revenue Code, if 

established or maintained by an employer; 

c. A government or church plan defined in 26 USC § 414 

of the Internal Revenue Code, a government or church 

welfare benefit plan, or a deferred compensation plan of a 

state or local government or tax exempt organization 

under 26 USC § 457 of the Internal Revenue Code; or 

d. A nonqualified deferred compensation arrangement 

established or maintained by an employer or plan sponsor; 

e. 3. Settlements of or assumptions of liabilities associated 

with personal injury litigation or any dispute or claim 

resolution process; or 

f. 4. Preneed funeral contracts as defined in § 54.1-2800 of 

the Code of Virginia. 

14VAC5-45-40. Duties of insurers and agents. 

A. In recommending to a consumer the purchase of an annuity 

or the exchange of an annuity that results in another insurance 

transaction or series of insurance transactions, the agent, or the 

insurer where no agent is involved, shall have reasonable 

grounds for believing that the recommendation is suitable for 

the consumer on the basis of the facts disclosed by the 

consumer as to his investments and other insurance products 

and as to his financial situation and needs, including the 

consumer's suitability information, and that there is a 

reasonable basis to believe all of the following: Best interest 

obligations. An agent, when making a recommendation of an 

annuity, shall act in the best interest of the consumer under the 

circumstances known at the time the recommendation is made, 

without placing the agent's or the insurer's financial interest 

ahead of the consumer's interest. An agent has acted in the best 

interest of the consumer if the agent has satisfied the following 

obligations regarding care, disclosure, conflict of interest, and 

documentation: 

1. Care obligation.  

a. The agent, in making a recommendation shall exercise 

reasonable diligence, care, and skill to: 

(1) Know the consumer's financial situation, insurance 

needs, and financial objectives; 

(2) Understand the available recommendation options 

after making a reasonable inquiry into options available to 

the agent; 

(3) Have a reasonable basis to believe the recommended 

option effectively addresses the consumer's financial 

situation, insurance needs, and financial objectives over 

the life of the product, as evaluated in light of the 

consumer profile information; and 

(4) Communicate the basis of the recommendation. 

b. The requirements under subdivision 1 a of this 

subsection include making reasonable efforts to obtain 

consumer profile information from the consumer prior to 

the recommendation of an annuity. 

c. The requirements under subdivision 1 a of this 

subsection require an agent to consider the types of 

products the agent is authorized and licensed to 

recommend or sell that address the consumer's financial 

situation, insurance needs, and financial objectives. This 

does not require analysis or consideration of any products 

outside the authority and license of the agent or other 

possible alternative products or strategies available in the 

market at the time of the recommendation. Agents shall be 

held to standards applicable to agents with similar 

authority and licensure. 

d. The requirements under this subdivision 1 of this 

subsection do not create a fiduciary obligation or 

relationship. 

e. The consumer profile information, characteristics of the 

insurer, and product costs, rates, benefits, and features are 

those factors generally relevant in making a determination 

whether an annuity effectively addresses the consumer's 

financial situation, insurance needs, and financial 

objectives, but the level of importance of each factor under 

the care obligation of this subdivision 1 may vary 

depending on the facts and circumstances of a particular 

case. However, each factor may not be considered in 

isolation. 

f. The requirements under subdivision 1 a of this 

subsection include having a reasonable basis to believe the 

consumer would benefit from certain features of the 
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annuity, such as annuitization, death or living benefit, or 

other insurance-related features. 

g. The requirements under subdivision 1 a of this 

subsection apply to the particular annuity as a whole and 

the underlying subaccounts to which funds are allocated at 

the time of purchase or exchange of an annuity, and riders 

and similar agent enhancements, if any. 

h. The requirements under subdivision 1 a of this 

subsection do not mean the annuity with the lowest one-

time or multiple occurrence compensation structure shall 

necessarily be recommended. 

i. The requirements under subdivision 1 a of this 

subsection do not mean the agent has ongoing monitoring 

obligations under the care obligation under subdivision 1 

a of this subsection, although such an obligation may be 

separately owed under the terms of a fiduciary, consulting, 

investment advising, or financial planning agreement 

between the consumer and the agent. 

j. In the case of an exchange or replacement of an annuity, 

the agent shall consider the whole transaction, which 

includes taking into consideration whether: 

(1) The consumer will incur a surrender charge, be subject 

to the commencement of a new surrender period, lose 

existing benefits, such as death, living, or other contractual 

benefits, or be subject to increased fees, investment 

advisory fees, or charges for riders and similar product 

enhancements; 

(2) The replacing product would substantially benefit the 

consumer in comparison to the replaced product over the 

life of the product; and 

(3) The consumer has had another annuity exchange or 

replacement and, in particular, an exchange or 

replacement within the preceding 60 months. 

k. Nothing in this chapter should be construed to require 

an agent to obtain any license other than an agent license 

with the appropriate line of authority to sell, solicit, or 

negotiate insurance in this Commonwealth, including any 

securities license, in order to fulfill the duties and 

obligations contained in this chapter; provided the agent 

does not give advice or provide services that are otherwise 

subject to securities laws or engage in any other activity 

requiring other professional licenses. 

2. Disclosure obligation. 

a. Prior to the recommendation or sale of an annuity, the 

agent shall prominently disclose to the consumer on the 

commission's Insurance Agent (Producer) Disclosure for 

Annuities form: 

(1) A description of the scope and terms of the relationship 

with the consumer and the role of the agent in the 

transaction; 

(2) An affirmative statement on whether the agent is 

licensed and authorized to sell the following products: 

(a) Fixed annuities; 

(b) Fixed indexed annuities; 

(c) Variable annuities; 

(d) Life insurance; 

(e) Mutual funds; 

(f) Any securities as defined in the Virginia Securities Act; 

and 

(g) Certificates of deposit; 

(3) An affirmative statement describing the insurers the 

agent is authorized, contracted (or appointed), or 

otherwise able to sell insurance products for, using the 

following descriptions: 

(a) From one insurer; 

(b) From two or more insurers; or 

(c) From two or more insurers although primarily 

contracted with one insurer; 

(4) A description of the sources and types of cash 

compensation and non-cash compensation to be received 

by the agent, including whether the agent is to be 

compensated for the sale of a recommended annuity by 

commission as part of premium or other remuneration 

received from the insurer, intermediary, or other agent or 

by fee as a result of a contract for advice or consulting 

services; and 

(5) A notice of the consumer's right to request additional 

information regarding cash compensation described in 

subdivision 2 b of this subsection; 

b. Upon request of the consumer or the consumer's 

designated representative, the agent shall disclose: 

(1) A reasonable estimate of the amount of cash 

compensation to be received by the agent, which may be 

stated as a range of amounts or percentages; and 

(2) Whether the cash compensation is a one-time or 

multiple occurrence amount, and if a multiple occurrence 

amount, the frequency and amount of the occurrence, 

which may be stated as a range of amounts or percentages; 

and 

1. The c. Prior to or at the time of the recommendation or 

sale of an annuity, the agent shall have a reasonable basis 

to believe the consumer has been reasonably informed of 

various features of the annuity, such as the potential 

surrender period and surrender charge; potential tax 

penalty if the consumer sells, exchanges, surrenders, or 

annuitizes the annuity; mortality and expense fees; 

investment advisory fees; any annual fees; potential 

charges for and features of riders of other options of the 

annuity; limitations on interest returns; potential changes 

in nonguaranteed elements of the annuity; insurance and 

investment components; and market risk;. 
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2. The consumer would benefit from certain features of the 

annuity, such as tax deferred growth, annuitization, or death 

or living benefit; 

3. The particular annuity as a whole, the underlying 

subaccounts to which funds are allocated at the time of 

purchase or exchange of the annuity, and riders and similar 

product enhancements, if any, are suitable (and in the case 

of an exchange or replacement, the transaction as a whole is 

suitable) for the particular consumer based on the 

consumer's suitability information; and 

4. In the case of an exchange or replacement of an annuity, 

the exchange or replacement is suitable, including taking 

into consideration whether: 

a. The consumer will incur a surrender charge, be subject 

to the commencement of a new surrender period, lose 

existing benefits (such as death, living, or other 

contractual benefits), or be subject to increased fees, 

investment advisory fees, or charges for riders and similar 

product enhancements; 

b. The consumer would benefit from product 

enhancements and improvements; and 

c. The consumer has had another annuity exchange or 

replacement, and, in particular, an exchange or 

replacement within the preceding 36 months. 

3. Conflict of interest obligation. An agent shall identify and 

avoid or reasonably manage and disclose material conflicts 

of interest, including material conflicts of interest related to 

an ownership interest. 

4. Documentation obligation. An agent shall at the time of 

recommendation or sale: 

a. Make a written record of any recommendation and the 

basis for the recommendation subject to this chapter; 

b. Obtain a consumer signed statement on the 

commission's Consumer Refusal to Provide Information 

form documenting: 

(1) A customer's refusal to provide the consumer profile 

information, if any; and 

(2) A customer's understanding of the ramifications of not 

providing their consumer profile information or providing 

insufficient consumer profile information; and 

c. Obtain a consumer signed statement on the 

commission's Consumer Decision to Purchase an Annuity 

Not Based on a Recommendation form acknowledging the 

annuity transaction is not recommended if a customer 

decides to enter into an annuity transaction that is not 

based on the agent's recommendation. 

5. Application of the best interest obligation. Any 

requirement applicable to an agent under this subsection 

shall apply to every agent who has exercised material control 

or influence in the making of a recommendation and has 

received direct compensation as a result of the 

recommendation or sale, regardless of whether the agent has 

had any direct contact with the consumer. Activities such as 

providing or delivering marketing or educational materials, 

product wholesaling or other back office product support, 

and general supervision of an agent do not, in and of 

themselves, constitute material control or influence. 

B. Prior to the execution of a purchase, exchange, or 

replacement of an annuity resulting from a recommendation, 

an agent, or insurer where no agent is involved, shall make 

reasonable efforts to obtain the consumer's suitability 

information. C. Except as permitted under subsection D of this 

section, an insurer shall not issue an annuity recommended to 

a consumer unless there is a reasonable basis to believe the 

annuity is suitable based on the consumer's suitability 

information. D. Transactions not based on a recommendation. 

1. Except as provided in subdivision 2 of this subsection, 

neither an agent, nor an insurer where no agent is involved, 

an agent shall have any no obligation to a consumer under 

subsection subdivision A or C 1 of this section related to any 

annuity transaction if any of the following occurs: 

a. No recommendation is made; 

b. A recommendation was made and was later found to 

have been prepared based on materially inaccurate 

information provided by the consumer; 

c. A consumer refuses to provide relevant suitability 

consumer profile information requested by the insurer or 

agent and the annuity transaction is not recommended; 

d. A consumer decides to enter into an annuity transaction 

that is not based on a recommendation of the insurer or 

agent; or 

e. A consumer fails to provide complete or accurate 

information. 

2. An insurer or agent's recommendation subject to 

subdivision 1 of this subsection shall be reasonable under all 

the circumstances actually known to the insurer or agent at 

the time of the recommendation. 

E. An agent, or where no agent is involved the responsible 

insurer representative, shall at the time of sale: 

1. Make a record of any recommendation subject to 

subsection A of this section; 

2. Obtain a customer signed statement, documenting a 

customer's refusal to provide suitability information, if any; 

and 

3. Obtain a customer signed statement acknowledging that 

an annuity transaction is not recommended if a customer 

decides to enter into an annuity transaction that is not based 

on the agent's or insurer's recommendation. 

F. 1. C. Supervision system. 

1. Except as permitted under subsection B of this section, an 

insurer may not issue an annuity recommended to a 
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consumer unless there is a reasonable basis to believe the 

annuity would effectively address the particular consumer's 

financial situation, insurance needs, and financial objectives 

based on the consumer's consumer profile information. 

2. An insurer either shall assure that a system to supervise 

recommendations that is reasonably designed to achieve 

compliance with this chapter is established and maintained 

by complying with subdivisions 3 4 and 4 5 of this 

subsection or shall establish and maintain such a system, 

including the following: 

a. The insurer shall establish and maintain reasonable 

procedures to inform its agents of the requirements of this 

chapter and shall incorporate the requirements of this 

chapter into relevant agent training manuals; 

b. The insurer shall establish and maintain standards for 

agent product training and shall establish and maintain 

reasonable procedures to require its agents to comply with 

the requirements of 14VAC5-45-45; 

c. The insurer shall provide product-specific training and 

training materials that explain all material features of its 

annuity products to its agents; 

d. The insurer shall establish and maintain procedures for 

the review of each recommendation prior to issuance of an 

annuity that are designed to ensure that there is a 

reasonable basis to determine that a recommendation is 

suitable the recommended annuity would effectively 

address the particular consumer's financial situation, 

insurance needs, and financial objectives. Such review 

procedures may apply a screening system for the purpose 

of identifying selected transactions for additional review 

and may be accomplished electronically or through other 

means including physical review. Such an electronic or 

other system may be designed to require additional review 

only of those transactions identified for additional review 

by the selection criteria; 

e. The insurer shall establish and maintain reasonable 

procedures to detect recommendations that are not suitable 

in compliance with subsections A, B, D, and E of this 

section. This may include confirmation of consumer 

suitability the consumer's consumer profile information, 

systematic customer surveys, agent and consumer 

interviews, confirmation letters, agent statements or 

attestations, and programs of internal monitoring. Nothing 

in this subdivision prevents an insurer from complying 

with this subdivision by applying sampling procedures, or 

by confirming suitability the consumer profile information 

or other required information under this section after 

issuance or delivery of the annuity; and 

f. The insurer shall establish and maintain reasonable 

procedures to assess, prior to or upon issuance or delivery 

of an annuity, whether an agent has provided to the 

consumer the information required to be provided under 

this section; 

g. The insurer shall establish and maintain reasonable 

procedures to identify and address suspicious consumer 

refusals to provide consumer profile information; 

h. The insurer shall establish and maintain reasonable 

procedures to identify and eliminate any sales contests, 

sales quotas, bonuses, and non-cash compensation that are 

based on the sales of specific annuities within a limited 

period of time. The requirements of this subdivision are 

not intended to prohibit the receipt of health insurance, 

office rent, office support, retirement benefits, or other 

employee benefits by employees as long as those benefits 

are not based upon the volume of sales of a specific 

annuity within a limited period of time; and 

i. The insurer shall annually provide a written report to 

senior management, including to the senior manager 

responsible for audit functions, which details a review, 

with appropriate testing, reasonably designed to determine 

the effectiveness of the supervision system, the exceptions 

found, and corrective action taken or recommended, if 

any. 

2. 3. An agent and independent agency either shall adopt a 

system established by an insurer to supervise 

recommendations of its agents that is reasonably designed to 

achieve compliance with this chapter or shall establish and 

maintain such a system, including, but not limited to: 

a. Maintaining written procedures; and 

b. Conducting periodic reviews of records that are 

reasonably designed to assist in detecting and preventing 

violations of this chapter. 

3. 4. An insurer may contract with a third party, including an 

agent or independent agency, to establish and maintain a 

system of supervision as required by subdivision 1 2 of this 

subsection with respect to agents under contract with or 

employed by the third party. 

4. 5. An insurer shall make reasonable inquiry to assure that 

the third party contracting under subdivision 3 4 of this 

subsection is performing the functions required under 

subdivision 1 2 of this subsection and shall take action that 

is reasonable under the circumstances to enforce the 

contractual obligation to perform the functions. An insurer 

may comply with its obligation to make reasonable inquiry 

by doing all of the following: 

a. The insurer annually obtains a certification from a third 

party senior manager who has responsibility for the 

delegated functions that the manager has a reasonable 

basis to represent, and does represent, that the third party 

is performing the required functions; and 

b. The insurer, based on reasonable selection criteria, 

periodically selects third parties contracting under 

subdivision 3 4 of this subsection for a review to determine 

whether the third parties are performing the required 

functions. The insurer shall perform those procedures to 
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conduct the review that are reasonable under the 

circumstances. 

5. 6. An insurer that contracts with a third party pursuant to 

subdivision 3 4 of this subsection and that complies with the 

requirements to supervise in subdivision 4 5 of this 

subsection shall have fulfilled its responsibilities under 

subdivision 1 2 of this subsection. 

6. 7. An insurer, or agent, or independent agency is not 

required by subdivision 1 2 or 2 3 of this subsection to: 

a. Review, or provide for review of, all agent-solicited 

transactions; or 

b. Include in its system of supervision an agent's 

recommendations to consumers of products other than the 

annuities offered by the insurer, or agent, or independent 

agency; or 

c. Consider or compare options available to the agent or 

compensation relating to those options other than 

annuities or other products offered by the insurer. 

7. 8. An agent or independent agency contracting with an 

insurer pursuant to subdivision 3 4 of this subsection, when 

requested by the insurer pursuant to subdivision 4 5 of this 

subsection, shall promptly give a certification as described 

in subdivision 4 5 or give a clear statement that it is unable 

to meet the certification criteria. 

8. 9. No person may provide a certification under 

subdivision 4 5 a of this subsection unless: 

a. The person is a senior manager with responsibility for 

the delegated functions; and 

b. The person has a reasonable basis for making the 

certification. 

G. D. An agent or insurer shall not dissuade or attempt to 

dissuade a consumer from: 

1. Truthfully responding to an insurer's request for 

confirmation of suitability the consumer profile information; 

2. Filing a complaint; or 

3. Cooperating with the investigation of a complaint. 

H. Sales E. Safe harbor. Recommendations and sales of 

annuities made in compliance with FINRA requirements 

pertaining to suitability and supervision of annuity transactions 

comparable standards shall satisfy the requirements under this 

chapter: 

1. This subsection applies to FINRA broker-dealer all 

recommendations and sales of annuities if the suitability and 

supervision is similar to those applied to variable annuity 

sales made by financial professionals in compliance with 

business rules, controls, and procedures that satisfy a 

comparable standard even if such standard would not 

otherwise apply to the product or recommendation at issue. 

However, nothing in this subsection shall limit the 

commission's ability to investigate and enforce (including 

investigate) the provisions of this chapter. 

2. Nothing in subdivision 1 of this subsection shall limit the 

insurer's obligation to comply with subdivision C 1 of this 

section, although the insurer may base its analysis on 

information received from either the financial professional 

or the entity supervising the financial professional. 

3. For subdivision 1 of this subsection to apply, an insurer 

shall: 

a. Monitor the FINRA member broker-dealer relevant 

conduct of the financial professional seeking to rely on 

subdivision 1 of this subsection or the entity responsible 

for supervising the financial professional, such as the 

financial professional's broker-dealer or an investment 

adviser registered under federal securities laws or the 

Virginia Securities Act using information collected in the 

normal course of an insurer's business; and 

b. Provide to the FINRA member broker-dealer entity 

responsible for supervising the financial professional 

seeking to rely on subdivision 1 of this subsection, such as 

the financial professional's broker-dealer or investment 

adviser registered under federal securities laws or the 

Virginia Securities Act, information and reports that are 

reasonably appropriate to assist the FINRA member 

broker-dealer such entity to maintain its supervision 

system. 

4. For purposes of this subsection, "financial professional" 

means an agent that is regulated and acting as: 

a. A broker-dealer registered under federal securities laws 

or the Virginia Securities Act or a registered representative 

of a broker-dealer; 

b. An investment adviser registered under federal 

securities laws or the Virginia Securities Act or an 

investment adviser representative associated with the 

federal or Virginia registered investment adviser; or 

c. A plan fiduciary under § 3(21) of the Employee 

Retirement Income Security Act of 1974 (ERISA) or 

fiduciary under § 4975(e)(3) of the Internal Revenue Code 

(IRC) or any amendments or successor statutes thereto. 

5. For purposes of this subsection, "comparable standards" 

means: 

a. With respect to broker-dealers and registered 

representatives of broker-dealers, applicable SEC and 

FINRA rules pertaining to best interest obligations and 

supervision of annuity recommendations and sales, 

including Regulation Best Interest (17 CFR Part 240.15l1) 

and any amendments or successor regulations thereto; 

b. With respect to investment advisers registered under 

federal securities laws or the Virginia Securities Act or 

investment adviser representatives, the fiduciary duties 

and all other requirements imposed on such investment 

advisers or investment adviser representatives by contract 



Regulations 

Volume 37, Issue 23  Virginia Register of Regulations  July 5, 2021  

3475 

or under the Investment Advisers Act of 1940 (15 USC 

§ 80a-1 et seq.) or the Virginia Securities Act, including 

the Form ADV (https://www.sec.gov/divisions/ 

investment/iard/ia-forms.shtml) and interpretations; and 

c. With respect to plan fiduciaries or fiduciaries, means the 

duties, obligations, prohibitions and all other requirements 

attendant to such status under ERISA or the IRC and any 

amendments or successor statutes thereto. 

I. F. Compliance with FINRA Rule 2111 

(https://www.finra.org/rules-guidance/rulebooks/finra-

rules/2111) pertaining to suitability shall satisfy the 

requirements under this section for the recommendation of 

variable annuities. However, nothing in this subsection shall 

limit the commission's ability to enforce the provisions of this 

chapter. 

14VAC5-45-45. Agent training. 

A. An agent shall not solicit the sale of an annuity product 

unless the agent has adequate knowledge of the product to 

recommend the annuity and the agent is in compliance with the 

insurer's standards for product training. An agent may rely on 

insurer-provided product specific training standards and 

materials to comply with this subsection. 

B. Training requirements are as follows: 

1. An agent Agents who engages hold a life insurance [ and 

annuities ] line of authority and engage in the sale of annuity 

products shall complete a one-time four-credit annuity 

suitability training course that includes the best interest 

standard approved as continuing education by the Insurance 

Continuing Education Board board in accordance with 

§ 38.2-1867 of the Code of Virginia and provided by the 

Insurance Continuing Education Board board approved 

education provider. 

2. Agents who hold a life insurance [ and annuities ] line of 

authority prior to [ May 1, 2021 September 1, 2021 ], and 

who desire to sell annuities engage in the sale of annuity 

products shall complete the requirements of this subsection 

by January 1, 2018 [ within six months after May 1, 2021 by 

March 1, 2022 ]. Individuals who obtain a life insurance 

[ and annuities ] line of authority on or after January 1, 2018, 

[ May 1, 2021 September 1, 2021 ], may not engage in the 

sale of [ annuities annuity products ] until the one-time four-

credit annuity suitability training course that includes the 

best interest standard required under this subsection has been 

completed. 

3. The minimum length of the training required under this 

subsection shall be sufficient to qualify for at least four CE 

credits, but may be longer. 

4. The training required under this subsection shall include 

information on the following topics: 

a. The types of annuities and various classifications of 

annuities; 

b. Identification of the parties to an annuity; 

c. How product specific annuity contract features affect 

consumers; 

d. The application of income taxation of qualified and 

nonqualified annuities; 

e. The primary uses of annuities; and 

f. Appropriate standard of conduct, sales practices and, 

replacement, and disclosure requirements. 

5. Providers of courses intended to comply with this 

subsection shall cover all topics listed in subdivision 4 of this 

subsection and shall not present any marketing information 

or provide training on sales techniques or provide specific 

information about a particular insurer's products. Additional 

topics may be offered in conjunction with and in addition to 

those in subdivision 4 of this subsection. 

6. A provider of an annuity training course intended to 

comply with this subsection shall register as a CE provider 

in this Commonwealth and comply with the rules and 

guidelines applicable to agent continuing education courses 

as set forth in § 38.2-1867 of the Code of Virginia. 

7. An agent who has completed the one-time four-credit 

annuity suitability training course approved by the board 

prior to [ May 1, 2021 September 1, 2021 ], shall, [ within 

six months after May 1, 2021 by March 1, 2022 ], complete 

either: 

a. A new [ one-time ] four-credit training course that 

includes the best interest standard approved by the board; 

or 

b. An additional one-time one-credit best interest standard 

training course approved by the board and provided by the 

board-approved education provider on appropriate sales 

practices, replacement, and disclosure requirements under 

this chapter. 

8. Annuity training courses may be conducted and 

completed by classroom or self-study methods in accordance 

with the rules and guidelines set forth in § 38.2-1867 of the 

Code of Virginia. 

8. 9. Providers of annuity training shall comply with the 

reporting requirements in § 38.2-1867 of the Code of 

Virginia and shall issue certificates of completion in 

accordance with § 38.2-1867 of the Code of Virginia. 

9. 10. The satisfaction of the training requirements of 

another state that are substantially similar to the provisions 

of this subsection shall be deemed to satisfy the training 

requirements of this subsection in this Commonwealth. 

10. 11. An insurer shall verify that an agent has completed 

the annuity training course required under this subsection 

before allowing the agent to sell an annuity product for that 

insurer. An insurer may satisfy its responsibility under this 

subsection by obtaining certificates of completion of the 

https://www.sec.gov/divisions/investment/iard/ia-forms.shtml
https://www.sec.gov/divisions/investment/iard/ia-forms.shtml
https://www.sec.gov/divisions/investment/iard/ia-forms.shtml
https://www.sec.gov/divisions/investment/iard/ia-forms.shtml
https://www.sec.gov/divisions/investment/iard/ia-forms.shtml
https://www.finra.org/rules-guidance/rulebooks/finra-rules/2111
https://www.finra.org/rules-guidance/rulebooks/finra-rules/2111
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training course or obtaining reports provided by 

commission-sponsored database systems or vendors or from 

a reasonably reliable commercial database vendor that has a 

reporting arrangement with approved insurance education 

providers. 

14VAC5-45-47. Recordkeeping. 

A. Insurers, agencies, and agents shall maintain or be able to 

make available to the commission records of the information 

collected from the consumer; disclosures made to the 

consumer, including summaries of oral disclosures; and other 

information used in making the recommendations that were the 

basis for insurance transactions for five years after the 

insurance transaction is completed by the insurer. An insurer is 

permitted, but shall not be required, to maintain documentation 

on behalf of an agent. 

B. Records required to be maintained by this chapter may be 

maintained in paper, photographic, micro-process, magnetic, 

mechanical, or electronic media or by any process that 

accurately reproduces the actual document. 

NOTICE: The following forms used in administering the 

regulation have been filed by the agency. Amended or added 

forms are reflected in the listing and are published following 

the listing. Online users of this issue of the Virginia Register 

of Regulations may also click on the name to access a form. 

The forms are also available from the agency contact or may 

be viewed at the Office of Registrar of Regulations, 900 East 

Main Street, 11th Floor, Richmond, Virginia 23219. 

FORMS (14VAC5-45) 

Insurance Agent (Producer) Disclosure for Annuities, CN01 

(eff. 9/2021) 

Consumer Refusal to Provide Information, CN02 (eff. 

9/2021) 

Consumer Decision to Purchase an Annuity Not Based on a 

Recommendation, CN03 (eff. 9/1/2021) 

VA.R. Doc. No. R21-6588; Filed June 11, 2021, 3:39 p.m. 

  ––––––––––––––––––  

TITLE 18. PROFESSIONAL AND 
OCCUPATIONAL LICENSING 

BOARD OF PHARMACY 

Notice of Extension of Emergency Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC110-60. Regulations Governing 

Pharmaceutical Processors (amending 18VAC110-60-10, 

18VAC110-60-20, 18VAC110-60-40 through 18VAC110-

60-90, 18VAC110-60-130, 18VAC110-60-160, 18VAC110-

60-170, 18VAC110-60-190 through 18VAC110-60-230, 

18VAC110-60-300, 18VAC110-60-310, 18VAC110-60-320; 

adding 18VAC110-60-251). 

Statutory Authority: §§ 54.1-2400, 54.1-3442.6, and 54.1-3447 

of the Code of Virginia. 

The Governor has approved the request of the Board of 

Pharmacy to extend the expiration date of the emergency 

regulation for 18VAC110-60 for six months as provided for in 

§ 2.2-4011 D of the Code of Virginia. Therefore, the 

emergency regulation is continued in effect through December 

28, 2021. This extension is required because the emergency 

regulation authorizes patients to use a registered agent to obtain 

doses of medical cannabis. Chapter 690 of the 2019 Acts of 

Assembly requires the board to promulgate this regulation. The 

proposed regulation was published in 37:14 VA.R. 2087-2100 

March 1, 2021.  

Effective Date Extended Through: December 28, 2021.  

Agency Contact: Caroline Juran, RPh, Executive Director, 

Board of Pharmacy, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, 

Richmond, VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-4456, FAX (804) 

527-4472, or email caroline.juran@dhp.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R20-6129; Filed June 17, 2021, 5:05 p.m. 

  ––––––––––––––––––  

TITLE 20. PUBLIC UTILITIES AND 
TELECOMMUNICATIONS 

STATE CORPORATION COMMISSION 

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The State Corporation Commission 

is claiming an exemption from the Administrative Process Act 

in accordance with § 2.2-4002 A 2 of the Code of Virginia, 

which exempts courts, any agency of the Supreme Court, and 

any agency that by the Constitution is expressly granted any of 

the powers of a court of record. 

Title of Regulation: 20VAC5-355. Rules Governing 

Operator's Responsibilities to Redistribute Topsoil (adding 

20VAC5-355-10, 20VAC5-355-20, 20VAC5-355-30). 

Statutory Authority: §§ 12.1-13 and 56-257.5 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

Effective Date: July 1, 2021. 

Agency Contact: Lauren Govoni, Deputy Director, Division of 

Utility and Railroad Safety, State Corporation Commission, 

Tyler Building, 1300 East Main Street, P.O. Box 1197, 

Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 371-9590, FAX (804) 

371-9734, or email lauren.govoni@scc.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

Pursuant to Chapter 666 of the 2020 Acts of Assembly, the 

new regulation requires a utility company installing an 

underground pipeline or conduit with an inside diameter 

greater than 12 inches or an underground electric 

transmission or distribution line of greater than 115 

https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/14VAC5/forms/14VAC5-45%202021%20Revisions%20-%20Form%20CN01-20210513143855.docx
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/14VAC5/forms/14VAC5-45%202021%20Revisions%20-%20Form%20CN01-20210513143855.docx
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/14VAC5/forms/14VAC5-45%202021%20Revisions%20-%20Form%20CN02-20210513144022.docx
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/14VAC5/forms/14VAC5-45%202021%20Revisions%20-%20Form%20CN02-20210513144022.docx
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/14VAC5/forms/14VAC5-45%202021%20Revisions%20-%20Form%20CN03-20210513144212.docx
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/14VAC5/forms/14VAC5-45%202021%20Revisions%20-%20Form%20CN03-20210513144212.docx
http://register.dls.virginia.gov/details.aspx?id=9470
http://register.dls.virginia.gov/details.aspx?id=9470
mailto:caroline.juran@dhp.virginia.gov
mailto:lauren.govoni@scc.virginia.gov
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kilovolts in capacity to mitigate the effects of the project if 

the project disturbs 10,000 square feet or more of 

agricultural land by removing topsoil from the planned 

construction site and either redistributing it to graded 

areas elsewhere on the land of the affected property owner 

or storing it nearby protected from erosion and 

compaction for later redistribution on the disturbed area. 

Changes from the proposed regulation include (i) 

addressing areas outside of an operator’s easement, 

landowner and land management agency rights, and the 

location of stockpiled topsoil in provisions; (ii) 

clarification of operator duties relative to stockpiled 

topsoil; (iii) a public interest standard; and (iv) a 

requirement that operators take reasonable steps to 

protect stockpiled topsoil. 

COMMONWEALTH OF VIRGINIA 

STATE CORPORATION COMMISSION 

AT RICHMOND, JUNE 11, 2021 

COMMONWEALTH OF VIRGINIA, ex rel. 

STATE CORPORATION COMMISSION  

CASE NO. URS-2020-00378 

Ex Parte: In the matter of adopting new 

rules of the State Corporation Commission  

governing operator's responsibilities to 

redistribute topsoil under § 56-257.5 

of the Code of Virginia 

ORDER ADOPTING REGULATIONS 

During its 2020 Session, the Virginia General Assembly 

enacted Chapter 666 (HB 723) of the 2020 Virginia Acts of 

Assembly ("Act"), which became effective on July 1, 2020. 

The Act, inter alia, amended the Code of Virginia by adding a 

section, § 56-257.5 to require the State Corporation 

Commission ("Commission") to establish rules by which 

operators are required to remove topsoil from certain planned 

construction sites and either redistribute it or store it for later 

redistribution on the disturbed area ("Proposed Rules"). 

On November 17, 2020, the Commission entered an Order for 

Notice and Comment in this proceeding, which among other 

things, permitted the filing of comments by interested persons 

and the Commission Staff ("Staff"). The Proposed Rules were 

attached to the Commission's Order for Notice and Comment. 

Washington Gas Light Company, Virginia-American Water 

Company, Virginia Natural Gas ("VNG"), and Virginia 

Electric and Power Company filed comments on the Proposed 

Rules. 

Staff filed comments in the case on January 19, 2021 and filed 

Supplemental Comments on February 25, 2021. 

NOW THE COMMISSION, upon consideration of the 

foregoing, finds that we should adopt the Rules appended 

hereto as Attachment A effective July 1, 2021. As an initial 

matter, the Commission expresses appreciation to those who 

have submitted written comments for our consideration. We 

have carefully reviewed and considered all comments filed in 

this matter. 

The Rules we adopt herein contain a number of modifications 

to those that were first proposed by Staff and published in the 

Virginia Register of Regulations on December 7, 2020, as well 

as those proposed in Comments and Supplemental Comments. 

These modifications follow our consideration of the entire 

record in this proceeding. Although we will not comment on 

each Rule in detail here, all modifications are made for clarity 

and to further implement and support the statute. 

Accordingly, IT IS ORDERED THAT: 

(1) The rules governing operator's responsibilities to 

redistribute topsoil under § 56-257.5 of the Code of Virginia, 

as shown in Attachment A to this Order, are hereby adopted 

and are effective as of July 1, 2021. 

(2) The Commission's Division of Information Resources 

shall forward a copy of this Order, with Attachment A, to the 

Registrar of Regulations for appropriate publication in the 

Virginia Register of Regulations. 

(3) An electronic copy of this Order with Attachment A shall 

be made available on the Division of Utility and Railroad 

Safety's section of the Commission's website: 

scc.virginia.gov/pages/Rulemaking.  

(4) This docket is dismissed. 

A COPY hereof shall be sent electronically by the Clerk of 

the Commission to all persons on the official Service List in 

this matter. The Service List is available from the Clerk of the 

Commission. 

Chapter 355 

Rules Governing Operator's Responsibility to Redistribute 

Topsoil 

20VAC5-355-10. Applicability.  

This chapter sets forth requirements for operators installing 

underground pipeline or conduit, with an inside diameter 

greater than 12 inches or an underground electric transmission 

or distribution line of greater than 115 kilovolts in capacity, to 

mitigate the effects of the project if the project disturbs 10,000 

square feet or more of agricultural land. [ Such operators shall 

remove topsoil from the planned construction site and either 

redistribute the topsoil to graded areas elsewhere on the land 

of the affected property owner or store it nearby protected from 

erosion and compaction for later redistribution on the disturbed 

area. ] 

20VAC5-355-20. Definitions.  

The following terms shall have the following meanings, 

unless the context clearly indicates otherwise:  

https://scc.virginia.gov/pages/Rulemaking.%203


Regulations 

Volume 37, Issue 23  Virginia Register of Regulations  July 5, 2021  

3478 

"Operator" means any person who owns, furnishes, or 

transports materials or services by means of a utility line. 

"Topsoil" means at least 12 inches of the surface soil layer or 

a six-inch layer of soil that includes the surface soil and the 

unconsolidated subsoil immediately below it. 

"Underground utility line" means an underground pipeline or 

conduit of an inside diameter greater than 12 inches or an 

underground electrical transmission or distribution line of a 

capacity greater than 115 kilovolts. 

20VAC5-355-30. Operator's responsibilities to redistribute 

topsoil; waiver.  

A. If any operator, in the course of installing an underground 

utility line, disturbs an area of land that measures 10,000 

square feet or more and constitutes one or more agricultural 

operations, as defined in § 3.2-300 of the Code of Virginia, the 

operator shall [ , if desired provide written notice to the 

landowner or land management agency of their respective 

rights under § 56-257.5 of the Code of Virginia and this 

chapter, document any responses received, and if requested ] 

by the landowner or land management agency, take the 

following actions: 

1. Redistribute the topsoil removed from the disturbed area 

to graded areas elsewhere on the land of the affected 

property [ owner inside or outside of the operator's easement, 

however the operator shall not also then be required to 

replace or replenish topsoil on the disturbed area ]; or  

2. If insufficient graded areas are available as sites for such 

redistribution [ inside or outside of the operator's easement ], 

stockpile the [ removed ] topsoil [ removed from the 

disturbed area within or outside of the operator's easement ] 

until it can be redistributed on the area initially disturbed. 

B. Operators redistributing topsoil pursuant to this section 

shall place the topsoil on scarified land [ and shall protect the 

topsoil from erosion and compaction ]. [ Operators also shall 

protect stockpiled topsoil from erosion and compaction by 

taking reasonable steps such as strategic placement, sediment 

management, temporary seeding, constructing silt fencing and 

other barriers, or employing other measures not inconsistent 

with Virginia State Water Control Board Erosion and Sediment 

Control Regulations (9VAC25-840) and Virginia Stormwater 

Management Program (VSMP) Regulation (9VAC25-870). ]  

C. If the property owner does not agree to the redistribution 

of topsoil pursuant to this section, the topsoil shall be disposed 

of in accordance with other applicable law. 

D. A request [ or for ] waiver of any of the provisions in this 

chapter shall be considered by the State Corporation 

Commission on a case-by-case basis and may be granted upon 

[ a finding that such waiver is in the public interest and on ] 

such terms and conditions as the State Corporation 

Commission may impose. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R21-6548; Filed June 11, 2021, 2:22 p.m. 
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PUBLIC COMMENT OPPORTUNITY 

Pursuant to § 2.2-4002.1 of the Code of Virginia, a certified guidance document is subject to a 30-day public comment period 

after publication in the Virginia Register of Regulations and prior to the guidance document's effective date. During the public 

comment period, comments may be made through the Virginia Regulatory Town Hall website (http://www.townhall.virginia.gov) 

or sent to the agency contact. Under subsection C of § 2.2-4002.1, the effective date of the guidance document may be delayed 

for an additional period. The guidance document may also be withdrawn. 

The following guidance documents have been submitted for publication by the listed agencies for a public comment period. 

Online users of this issue of the Virginia Register of Regulations may click on the name of a guidance document to access it. 

Guidance documents are also available on the Virginia Regulatory Town Hall (http://www.townhall.virginia.gov) or from the 

agency contact or may be viewed at the Office of the Registrar of Regulations, 900 East Main Street, Richmond, Virginia 23219. 

DEPARTMENT FOR AGING AND REHABILITATIVE 
SERVICES 

Title of Document: Adult Protective Services Division 

Manual, Chapters 1-4, 8.  

Public Comment Deadline: August 4, 2021. 

Effective Date: August 5, 2021. 

Agency Contact: Elizabeth Patacca, Administrative Staff 

Assistant, Department for Aging and Rehabilitative Services, 

8004 Franklin Farms Drive, Henrico, VA 23229, telephone 

(804) 726-6625, or email elizabeth.patacca@dars.virginia.gov. 

STATE BOARD OF BEHAVIORAL HEALTH AND 
DEVELOPMENTAL SERVICES 

Title of Document: 2021 Person-Centered Individual Support 

Plan Guidance. 

Public Comment Deadline: August 4, 2021. 

Effective Date: August 6, 2021. 

Agency Contact: Eric Williams, Director, Provider 

Development, DD Services Division, Department of 

Behavioral Health and Developmental Services, P.O. Box 

1797, Richmond, VA 23218-1797, telephone (804) 371-7428, 

or email eric.williams@dbhds.virginia.gov. 

BOARD OF DENTISTRY 

Titles of Documents: Policy on Auditing Continuing 

Education and Sanctioning for Failure to Meet the 

Requirements. 

Dental Clinical Competency Examination Requirements for 

Licensure. 

Dental Hygiene Clinical Competency Examination 

Requirements for Licensure. 

Dental Appliance Subcontractor Disclosure and Subwork 

Order Form. 

Dental Appliance Work Order Forms. 

Policy on Sanctioning for Failure to Comply with Advertising 

Guidelines. 

Policy on Sanctioning for Failure to Comply with Insurance 

and Billing Practices. 

Public Comment Deadline: August 4, 2021. 

Effective Date: August 5, 2021. 

Agency Contact: Elaine J. Yeatts, Agency Regulatory 

Coordinator, Department of Health Professions, Perimeter 

Center, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, Richmond, VA 

23233, telephone (804) 367-4688, or email 

elaine.yeatts@dhp.virginia.gov. 

DEPARTMENT OF HOUSING AND COMMUNITY 
DEVELOPMENT 

Title of Document: Virginia Telecommunications Initiative 

(VATI) Program Guidelines and Criteria. 

Public Comment Deadline: August 4, 2021. 

Effective Date: August 5, 2021. 

Agency Contact: Kyle Flanders, Senior Policy Analyst, 

Department of Housing and Community Development, Main 

Street Centre, 600 East Main Street, Suite 300, Richmond, VA 

23219, telephone (804) 786-6761, or email 

kyle.flanders@dhcd.virginia.gov. 

DEPARTMENT OF MOTOR VEHICLES 

Title of Document: Personalized License Plate Guidelines and 

Restrictions. 

Public Comment Deadline: August 4, 2021. 

Effective Date: August 5, 2021. 

Agency Contact: Melissa K. Velazquez, Legislative Manager, 

Department of Motor Vehicles, 2300 West Broad Street, 

Richmond, VA 23220, telephone (804)367-1844, or email 

melissa.velazquez@dmv.virginia.gov. 

https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title2.2/chapter40/section2.2-4002.1/
http://www.townhall.virginia.gov/
https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title2.2/chapter40/section2.2-4002.1/
http://www.townhall.virginia.gov/
https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/GetFile.cfm?File=C:/TownHall/docroot/GuidanceDocs_Proposed/262/GDoc_DARS_4877_20210615.pdf
https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/GetFile.cfm?File=C:/TownHall/docroot/GuidanceDocs_Proposed/262/GDoc_DARS_4877_20210615.pdf
mailto:elizabeth.patacca@dars.virginia.gov
https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/GetFile.cfm?File=C:/TownHall/docroot/GuidanceDocs_Proposed/720/GDoc_DBHDS_4862_20210610.pdf
https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/GetFile.cfm?File=C:/TownHall/docroot/GuidanceDocs_Proposed/720/GDoc_DBHDS_4862_20210610.pdf
mailto:eric.williams@dbhds.virginia.gov
https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/GetFile.cfm?File=C:/TownHall/docroot/GuidanceDocs_Proposed/223/GDoc_DHP_4864_20210611.pdf
https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/GetFile.cfm?File=C:/TownHall/docroot/GuidanceDocs_Proposed/223/GDoc_DHP_4864_20210611.pdf
https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/GetFile.cfm?File=C:/TownHall/docroot/GuidanceDocs_Proposed/223/GDoc_DHP_4864_20210611.pdf
https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/GetFile.cfm?File=C:/TownHall/docroot/GuidanceDocs_Proposed/223/GDoc_DHP_4866_20210611.pdf
https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/GetFile.cfm?File=C:/TownHall/docroot/GuidanceDocs_Proposed/223/GDoc_DHP_4866_20210611.pdf
https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/GetFile.cfm?File=C:/TownHall/docroot/GuidanceDocs_Proposed/223/GDoc_DHP_4867_20210611.pdf
https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/GetFile.cfm?File=C:/TownHall/docroot/GuidanceDocs_Proposed/223/GDoc_DHP_4867_20210611.pdf
https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/GetFile.cfm?File=C:/TownHall/docroot/GuidanceDocs_Proposed/223/GDoc_DHP_4871_20210614.pdf
https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/GetFile.cfm?File=C:/TownHall/docroot/GuidanceDocs_Proposed/223/GDoc_DHP_4871_20210614.pdf
https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/GetFile.cfm?File=C:/TownHall/docroot/GuidanceDocs_Proposed/223/GDoc_DHP_4870_20210614.pdf
https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/GetFile.cfm?File=C:/TownHall/docroot/GuidanceDocs_Proposed/223/GDoc_DHP_4865_20210611.pdf
https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/GetFile.cfm?File=C:/TownHall/docroot/GuidanceDocs_Proposed/223/GDoc_DHP_4865_20210611.pdf
https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/GetFile.cfm?File=C:/TownHall/docroot/GuidanceDocs_Proposed/223/GDoc_DHP_4868_20210611.pdf
https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/GetFile.cfm?File=C:/TownHall/docroot/GuidanceDocs_Proposed/223/GDoc_DHP_4868_20210611.pdf
mailto:elaine.yeatts@dhp.virginia.gov
https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/GetFile.cfm?File=C:/TownHall/docroot/GuidanceDocs_Proposed/165/GDoc_DHCD_4863_20210610.pdf
https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/GetFile.cfm?File=C:/TownHall/docroot/GuidanceDocs_Proposed/165/GDoc_DHCD_4863_20210610.pdf
mailto:kyle.flanders@dhcd.virginia.gov
https://www.dmv.virginia.gov/#/documents/guidance/Guidelines_for_Issuing_Personalized_License_Plate.pdf
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mailto:melissa.velazquez@dmv.virginia.gov
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BOARD OF PHARMACY 

Titles of Documents: Information for Applicants for a License 

as a Pharmacist. 

Instructions for Graduates of Foreign Schools of Pharmacy. 

Public Comment Deadline: August 4, 2021. 

Effective Date: August 5, 2021. 

Agency Contact: Elaine J. Yeatts, Agency Regulatory 

Coordinator, Department of Health Professions, Perimeter 

Center, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, Richmond, VA 

23233, telephone (804) 367-4688, or email 

elaine.yeatts@dhp.virginia.gov. 

STATE WATER CONTROL BOARD 

Title of Document: Implementation Guidance for Reissuance 

of the VPDES General Permit for Domestic Sewage 

Discharges of Less Than or Equal to 1,000 Gallons Per Day. 

Public Comment Deadline: August 4, 2021. 

Effective Date: August 5, 2021. 

Agency Contact: Peter Sherman, Department of 

Environmental Quality, 1111 East Main Street, Suite 1400, 

P.O. Box 1105, Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 698-

4044, or email peter.sherman@deq.virginia.gov. 

* * * 

Title of Document: Review Procedures for Water Quality 

Improvement Fund Grant Applications and Agreement 

Negotiations for Wastewater Conveyance Infrastructure 

Projects. 

Public Comment Deadline: August 4, 2021. 

Effective Date: August 15, 2021. 

Agency Contact: Karen Doran, Clean Water Financing and 

Assistance Program Manager, Department of Environmental 

Quality, 1111 East Main Street, Suite 1400, P.O. Box 1105, 

Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 698-4133, or email 

karen.doran@deq.virginia.gov. 

https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/GetFile.cfm?File=C:/TownHall/docroot/GuidanceDocs_Proposed/223/GDoc_DHP_4857_20210604.pdf
https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/GetFile.cfm?File=C:/TownHall/docroot/GuidanceDocs_Proposed/223/GDoc_DHP_4857_20210604.pdf
https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/GetFile.cfm?File=C:/TownHall/docroot/GuidanceDocs_Proposed/223/GDoc_DHP_4858_20210604.pdf
file://///LEGMAIN/sysdata/DLSDATA/CODEREGS/regispub/CreateRegister/elaine.yeatts@dhp.virginia.gov
https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/GetFile.cfm?File=C:/TownHall/docroot/GuidanceDocs_Proposed/440/GDoc_DEQ_4856_20210603.pdf
https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/GetFile.cfm?File=C:/TownHall/docroot/GuidanceDocs_Proposed/440/GDoc_DEQ_4856_20210603.pdf
https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/GetFile.cfm?File=C:/TownHall/docroot/GuidanceDocs_Proposed/440/GDoc_DEQ_4856_20210603.pdf
mailto:peter.sherman@deq.virginia.gov
https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/GetFile.cfm?File=C:/TownHall/docroot/GuidanceDocs_Proposed/440/GDoc_DEQ_4859_20210604.pdf
https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/GetFile.cfm?File=C:/TownHall/docroot/GuidanceDocs_Proposed/440/GDoc_DEQ_4859_20210604.pdf
https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/GetFile.cfm?File=C:/TownHall/docroot/GuidanceDocs_Proposed/440/GDoc_DEQ_4859_20210604.pdf
https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/GetFile.cfm?File=C:/TownHall/docroot/GuidanceDocs_Proposed/440/GDoc_DEQ_4859_20210604.pdf
mailto:karen.doran@deq.virginia.gov
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General Notices 

DEPARTMENT OF MINES, MINERALS AND ENERGY 

Residential Property Assessed Clean Energy Work 
Group 

Pursuant to Item 125 E of Chapter 552 of the 2021 Acts of the 

Assembly, Special Session I, the Department of Mines, 

Minerals and Energy (DMME) is seeking public comment for 

a feasibility study on a Residential Property Assessed Clean 

Energy (R-PACE) program in Virginia. R-PACE provides a 

mechanism for homeowners to implement clean energy 

improvements to their home while financing the cost through 

their property tax bill. The first workgroup meeting is being 

held virtually on June 9, 2021, at 2 p.m. The meeting 

information has been posted to the Virginia Regulatory Town 

Hall, and all future meetings will be posted as well. DMME 

welcomes public comment at the meetings and/or through this 

public comment forum. 

Contact Information: Michael Skiffington, Regulatory 

Coordinator, Department of Mines, Minerals and Energy, 1100 

Bank Street, 8th Floor, Richmond, VA 23219-3402, telephone 

(804) 692-3212, FAX (804) 692-3237, or email 

mike.skiffington@dmme.virginia.gov. 

STATE WATER CONTROL BOARD 

Proposed Enforcement Action for Northern Virginia 
Auto Recycling LLC 

An enforcement action has been proposed for Northern 

Virginia Auto Recycling LLC for violations of the State Water 

Control Law and regulations at the Northern Virginia Auto 

Recycling LLC facility located in Lorton, Virginia. The State 

Water Control Board proposes to issue a consent order to 

resolve violations associated with the Northern Virginia Auto 

Recycling LLC facility. A description of the proposed action 

is available at the Department of Environmental Quality office 

listed or online at www.deq.virginia.gov/permits-

regulations/public-notices. The staff contact person listed will 

accept comments by email or by postal mail from July 6, 2021, 

through August 5, 2021. 

Contact Information: Benjamin Holland, Department of 

Environmental Quality, Northern Regional Office, 13901 

Crown Court, Woodbridge, 22193, or email 

benjamin.holland@deq.virginia.gov. 

Proposed Enforcement Action for Windswept 
Development LLC 

The State Water Control Board has proposed an enforcement 

action for Windswept Development LLC for the Aston 

Subdivision, located off Aston Trail, north of Virginia State 

Route 711 in Powhatan County, Virginia, to address 

noncompliance with State Water Control Law and regulations. 

A description of the proposed action is available at the 

Department of Environmental Quality office listed or online at 

www.deq.virginia.gov/permits-regulations/public-notices. 

The staff contact person listed will accept comments by email 

or postal mail from July 5, 2021, to August 5, 2021. 

Contact Information: Frank Lupini, Department of 

Environmental Quality, Piedmont Regional Office, 4949A 

Cox Road, Glen Allen, VA 23060, or email 

frank.lupini@deq.virginia.gov. 

VIRGINIA CODE COMMISSION 

Notice to State Agencies 

Contact Information: Mailing Address: Virginia Code 

Commission, Pocahontas Building, 900 East Main Street, 8th 

Floor, Richmond, VA 23219; Telephone: (804) 698-1810; 

Email: varegs@dls.virginia.gov. 

Meeting Notices: Section 2.2-3707 C of the Code of Virginia 

requires state agencies to post meeting notices on their 

websites and on the Commonwealth Calendar at 

https://commonwealthcalendar.virginia.gov. 

Cumulative Table of Virginia Administrative Code 

Sections Adopted, Amended, or Repealed: A table listing 

regulation sections that have been amended, added, or repealed 

in the Virginia Register of Regulations since the regulations 

were originally published or last supplemented in the print 

version of the Virginia Administrative Code is available at 

http://register.dls.virginia.gov/documents/cumultab.pdf. 

Filing Material for Publication in the Virginia Register of 

Regulations: Agencies use the Regulation Information System 

(RIS) to file regulations and related items for publication in the 

Virginia Register of Regulations. The Registrar's office works 

closely with the Department of Planning and Budget (DPB) to 

coordinate the system with the Virginia Regulatory Town Hall. 

RIS and Town Hall complement and enhance one another by 

sharing pertinent regulatory information. 

mailto:mike.skiffington@dmme.virginia.gov
http://www.deq.virginia.gov/permits-regulations/public-notices
http://www.deq.virginia.gov/permits-regulations/public-notices
mailto:benjamin.holland@deq.virginia.gov
http://www.deq.virginia.gov/permits-regulations/public-notices
mailto:frank.lupini@deq.virginia.gov
file://///legmain/sysdata/dlsdata/CODEREGS/regispub/Vol33/Iss04/varegs@dls.virginia.gov
https://commonwealthcalendar.virginia.gov/
http://register.dls.virginia.gov/documents/cumultab.pdf
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Errata 

BOARD OF AGRICULTURE AND CONSUMER 
SERVICES 

Title of Regulation: 2VAC5-585. Retail Food Establishment 

Regulations.  

Publication: 37:19 VA.R. 2797-2831 May 10, 2021. 

Correction to Fast-track Regulation: 

Page 2821, 2VAC5-585-1190 A, line 3, after "Celsius and" 

unstrike "shall be" 

VA.R. Doc. No. R21-5895; Filed June 15, 2021, 9:43 a.m. 

STATE BOARD OF HEALTH 

Title of Regulation: 12VAC5-421. Food Regulations.  

Publication: 37:18 VA.R. 2687-2738 April 26, 2021. 

Correction to Fast-Track Regulation: 

Page 2703, 12VAC5-421-55 A, 

line 1, after "A." unstrike "At least one employee with 

supervisory and management responsibility and the authority 

to direct and control food preparation and service" 

line 3, remove "The person in charge" 

line 4, after "manager" unstrike ", demonstrating" and remove 

"who has shown" 

line 5, after "required" unstrike "knowledge and" 

Page 2703, 12VAC5-421-55 C, 

line 1, after "C." insert "The person in charge shall be a 

certified food protection manager who has shown proficiency 

of required information through passing a test that is part of an 

accredited program. 

after "purposes of" strike "enforcement, this section will" and 

insert "enforcing this subsection, this requirement" 

line 2, after "2018" remove "June 10, 2023" and insert "June 

24, 2023" 

VA.R. Doc. No. R21-5671; Filed June 14, 2021, 3:43 p.m. 

* * *  

Title of Regulation: 12VAC5-590. Waterworks Regulations.  

Publication: 37:22 VA.R. 3448 June 21, 2021. 

Correction to Errata: 

Page 3448, column 1, Table 570.13, row 4, in each of the three 

instances of "[ mJ/cm2 mJ/cm2 ]" replace "[ mJ/cm2 mJ/cm2 ]" 

with "[ mJ/cm2 mJ/cm2 ]" 

VA.R. Doc. No. R18-5204; Filed June 21, 2021, 9:33 a.m. 

STATE CORPORATION COMMISSION 

Title of Regulation: 14VAC5-430. Insurance Data Security 

Risk Assessment and Reporting.  

Publication: 37:21 VA.R. 3358-3363 June 7, 2021. 

Correction to Final Regulation: 

Page 3360, 14VAC5-430-30, line 1, after "following" replace 

"word" with "words" 

VA.R. Doc. No. R21-6459; Filed June 8, 2021, 2:55 p.m. 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 




