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REGISTER INFORMATION PAGE 

THE VIRGINIA REGISTER OF REGULATIONS is an official state 

publication issued every other week throughout the year. Indexes are published 

quarterly, and are cumulative for the year. The Virginia Register has several 
functions. The new and amended sections of regulations, both as proposed and 

as finally adopted, are required by law to be published in the Virginia Register. 

In addition, the Virginia Register is a source of other information about state 
government, including petitions for rulemaking, emergency regulations, 

executive orders issued by the Governor, and notices of public hearings on 

regulations. 

ADOPTION, AMENDMENT, AND REPEAL OF REGULATIONS 

Unless exempted by law, an agency wishing to adopt, amend, or repeal 

regulations must follow the procedures in the Administrative Process Act 
(§ 2.2-4000 et seq. of the Code of Virginia). Typically, this includes first 

publishing in the Virginia Register a notice of intended regulatory action; a 

basis, purpose, substance and issues statement; an economic impact analysis 
prepared by the Department of Planning and Budget; the agency’s response to 

the economic impact analysis; a summary; a notice giving the public an 

opportunity to comment on the proposal; and the text of the proposed 

regulation. 

Following publication of the proposed regulation in the Virginia Register, the 

promulgating agency receives public comments for a minimum of 60 days. 
The Governor reviews the proposed regulation to determine if it is necessary 

to protect the public health, safety, and welfare, and if it is clearly written and 

easily understandable. If the Governor chooses to comment on the proposed 
regulation, his comments must be transmitted to the agency and the Registrar 

of Regulations no later than 15 days following the completion of the 60-day 
public comment period. The Governor’s comments, if any, will be published 

in the Virginia Register. Not less than 15 days following the completion of the 

60-day public comment period, the agency may adopt the proposed regulation. 

The Joint Commission on Administrative Rules or the appropriate standing 

committee of each house of the General Assembly may meet during the 

promulgation or final adoption process and file an objection with the Registrar 
and the promulgating agency. The objection will be published in the Virginia 

Register. Within 21 days after receipt by the agency of a legislative objection, 

the agency shall file a response with the Registrar, the objecting legislative 

body, and the Governor. 

When final action is taken, the agency again publishes the text of the 

regulation as adopted, highlighting all changes made to the proposed 
regulation and explaining any substantial changes made since publication of 

the proposal. A 30-day final adoption period begins upon final publication in 

the Virginia Register. 

The Governor may review the final regulation during this time and, if he 

objects, forward his objection to the Registrar and the agency. In addition to 

or in lieu of filing a formal objection, the Governor may suspend the effective 
date of a portion or all of a regulation until the end of the next regular General 

Assembly session by issuing a directive signed by a majority of the members 

of the appropriate legislative body and the Governor. The Governor’s 
objection or suspension of the regulation, or both, will be published in the 

Virginia Register. 

If the Governor finds that the final regulation contains changes made after 
publication of the proposed regulation that have substantial impact, he may 

require the agency to provide an additional 30-day public comment period on 

the changes. Notice of the additional public comment period required by the 
Governor will be published in the Virginia Register. Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.06 

of the Code of Virginia, any person may request that the agency solicit 

additional public comment on certain changes made after publication of the 
proposed regulation. The agency shall suspend the regulatory process for 30 

days upon such request from 25 or more individuals, unless the agency 

determines that the changes have minor or inconsequential impact. 

A regulation becomes effective at the conclusion of the 30-day final adoption 

period, or at any other later date specified by the promulgating agency, unless 

(i) a legislative objection has been filed, in which event the regulation, unless 
withdrawn, becomes effective on the date specified, which shall be after the 

expiration of the 21-day objection period; (ii) the Governor exercises his 

authority to require the agency to provide for additional public comment, in 

which event the regulation, unless withdrawn, becomes effective on the date 

specified, which shall be after the expiration of the period for which the 

Governor has provided for additional public comment; (iii) the Governor and 
the General Assembly exercise their authority to suspend the effective date of 

a regulation until the end of the next regular legislative session; or (iv) the 

agency suspends the regulatory process, in which event the regulation, unless 
withdrawn, becomes effective on the date specified, which shall be after the 

expiration of the 30-day public comment period and no earlier than 15 days 

from publication of the readopted action. 

A regulatory action may be withdrawn by the promulgating agency at any 

time before the regulation becomes final. 

FAST-TRACK RULEMAKING PROCESS 

Section 2.2-4012.1 of the Code of Virginia provides an alternative to the 

standard process set forth in the Administrative Process Act for regulations 

deemed by the Governor to be noncontroversial. To use this process, the 
Governor's concurrence is required and advance notice must be provided to 

certain legislative committees. Fast-track regulations become effective on the 

date noted in the regulatory action if fewer than 10 persons object to using the 
process in accordance with § 2.2-4012.1. 

EMERGENCY REGULATIONS 

Pursuant to § 2.2-4011 of the Code of Virginia, an agency may adopt 
emergency regulations if necessitated by an emergency situation or when 

Virginia statutory law or the appropriation act or federal law or federal 

regulation requires that a regulation be effective in 280 days or fewer from its 
enactment. In either situation, approval of the Governor is required. The 

emergency regulation is effective upon its filing with the Registrar of 
Regulations, unless a later date is specified per § 2.2-4012 of the Code of 

Virginia. Emergency regulations are limited to no more than 18 months in 

duration; however, may be extended for six months under the circumstances 
noted in § 2.2-4011 D. Emergency regulations are published as soon as 

possible in the Virginia Register and are on the Register of Regulations website 

at register.dls.virgina.gov. 

During the time the emergency regulation is in effect, the agency may 

proceed with the adoption of permanent regulations in accordance with the 

Administrative Process Act. If the agency chooses not to adopt the regulations, 
the emergency status ends when the prescribed time limit expires. 

STATEMENT 

The foregoing constitutes a generalized statement of the procedures to be 
followed. For specific statutory language, it is suggested that Article 2 (§ 2.2-

4006 et seq.) of Chapter 40 of Title 2.2 of the Code of Virginia be examined 

carefully. 

CITATION TO THE VIRGINIA REGISTER 

The Virginia Register is cited by volume, issue, page number, and date. 34:8 

VA.R. 763-832 December 11, 2017, refers to Volume 34, Issue 8, pages 763 
through 832 of the Virginia Register issued on  

December 11, 2017. 

The Virginia Register of Regulations is published pursuant to Article 6 (§ 2.2-
4031 et seq.) of Chapter 40 of Title 2.2 of the Code of Virginia. 

Members of the Virginia Code Commission: John S. Edwards, Chair; 

Marcus B. Simon, Vice Chair; Ward L. Armstrong; Nicole Cheuk; Rita 

Davis; Leslie L. Lilley; Jennifer L. McClellan; Christopher R. Nolen; Don 

L. Scott, Jr.; Charles S. Sharp; Samuel T. Towell; Malfourd W. Trumbo. 

Staff of the Virginia Register: Karen Perrine, Registrar of Regulations; 
Anne Bloomsburg, Assistant Registrar; Nikki Clemons, Regulations 

Analyst; Rhonda Dyer, Publications Assistant; Terri Edwards, Senior 

Operations Staff Assistant. 

https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/2.2-4011/
https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/2.2-4011/
http://register.dls.virgina.gov/
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PUBLICATION SCHEDULE AND DEADLINES 

August 2021 through August 2022 

Volume: Issue Material Submitted By Noon* Will Be Published On 

37:25 July 14, 2021 August 2, 2021 

37:26 July 28, 2021 August 16, 2021 

38:1 August 11, 2021 August 30, 2021 

38:2 August 25, 2021 September 13, 2021 

38:3 September 8, 2021 September 27, 2021 

38:4 September 22, 2021 October 11, 2021 

38:5 October 6, 2021 October 25, 2021 

38:6 October 20, 2021 November 8, 2021 

38:7 November 3, 2021 November 22, 2021 

38:8 November 15, 2021 (Monday) December 6, 2021 

38:9 December 1, 2021 December 20, 2021 

38:10 December 15, 2021 January 3, 2022 

38:11 December 29, 2021 January 17, 2022 

38:12 January 12, 2022 January 31, 2022 

38:13 January 26, 2022 February 14, 2022 

38:14 February 9, 2022 February 28, 2022 

38:15 February 23, 2022 March 14, 2022 

38:16 March 9, 2022 March 28, 2022 

38:17 March 23, 2022 April 11, 2022 

38:18 April 6, 2022 April 25, 2022 

38:19 April 20, 2022 May 9, 2022 

38:20 May 4, 2022 May 23, 2022 

38:21 May 18, 2022 June 6, 2022 

38:22 June 1, 2022 June 20, 2022 

38:23 June 15, 2022 July 4, 2022 

38:24 June 29, 2022 July 18, 2022 

38:25 July 13, 2022 August 1, 2022 

38:26 July 27, 2022 August 15, 2022 

*Filing deadlines are Wednesdays unless otherwise specified. 
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PETITIONS FOR RULEMAKING 

TITLE 18. PROFESSIONAL AND 
OCCUPATIONAL LICENSING 

BOARD FOR ARCHITECTS, PROFESSIONAL 
ENGINEERS, LAND SURVEYORS, CERTIFIED 

INTERIOR DESIGNERS AND LANDSCAPE 
ARCHITECTS 

Agency Decision 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC10-20. Board for Architects, 

Professional Engineers, Land Surveyors, Certified Interior 

Designers and Landscape Architects Regulations. 

Statutory Authority: §§ 54.1-201 and 54.1-404 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

Name of Petitioner: Atticus Sawatzki. 

Nature of Petitioner's Request: To amend 18VAC10-20-260 A 

2 to allow applications for original professional engineer 

licensure or engineer-in-training designation to be received in 

the board's office no later than 75 days prior to the scheduled 

examination date rather than 130 days. 

Agency Decision: Request denied. 

Statement of Reason for Decision: At its meeting on June 22, 

2021, the board considered the petitioner's request and voted 

to take no action. The board noted that its current application 

review process and timeframes provide applicants the 

opportunity to submit supplemental documentation after the 

130-day deadline, up until National Council of Examiners for 

Engineering and Surveying exam registration closes. An 

applicant in the situation described by the petitioner, for 

instance, would be allowed to register and sit for the Principles 

and Practice of Engineering exam contingent upon receipt of 

degree verification; the unavailability of official transcripts 

before the application deadline is not an issue. 

Agency Contact: Kathleen R. Nosbisch, Executive Director, 

Board for Architects, Professional Engineers, Land Surveyors, 

Certified Interior Designers, and Landscape Architects, 9960 

Mayland Drive, Suite 400, Richmond, VA, 23233, telephone 

(804) 367-8514, or email apelscidla@dpor.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. PFR21-340; Filed June 23, 2021, 6:30 p.m. 

BOARD OF SOCIAL WORK 

Initial Agency Notice 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC140-20. Regulations Governing 

the Practice of Social Work. 

Statutory Authority: § 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia. 

Name of Petitioner: Adeyola Hendrickson. 

Nature of Petitioner's Request: To delete the requirement of 

passage of a board-approved national exam for applicants with 

a licensed clinical social worker license in another state 

applying for licensure by endorsement. 

Agency Plan for Disposition of Request: In accordance with 

Virginia law, the petition was filed with the Registrar of 

Regulations and will be published on July 19, 2021, with 

comment accepted through August 29, 2021. The petition is 

also posted on the Virginia Regulatory Town Hall at 

www.townhall.virginia.gov. 

The petition and any comment will be considered by the board 

at its next meeting following the close of comment, which is 

scheduled for September 10, 2021. The petitioner will be 

informed of its decision following that meeting. 

Public Comment Deadline: August 29, 2021. 

Agency Contact: Jaime Hoyle, Executive Director, Board of 

Social Work, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, Richmond, VA, 

23233, telephone (804) 367-4406, or email 

jaime.hoyle@dhp.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. PFR21-40; Filed June 24, 2021, 3:07 p.m. 

mailto:APELSCIDLA@dpor.virginia.gov
http://www.townhall.virginia.gov/
mailto:jaime.hoyle@dhp.virginia.gov
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PERIODIC REVIEWS AND SMALL BUSINESS IMPACT REVIEWS 

TITLE 9. ENVIRONMENT 

STATE WATER CONTROL BOARD 

Agency Notice 

Pursuant to Executive Order 14 (as amended July 16, 2018) 

and §§ 2.2-4007.1 and 2.2-4017 of the Code of Virginia, the 

following regulations are undergoing a periodic review and a 

small business impact review: 9VAC25-151, Virginia 

Pollutant Discharge Elimination System (VPDES) General 

Permit Regulation for Discharges of Stormwater 

Associated with Industrial Activity, and 9VAC25-190, 

Virginia Pollutant Discharge Elimination System (VPDES) 

General Permit Regulation for Nonmetallic Mineral 

Mining. The review of these regulations will be guided by the 

principles in Executive Order 14 (as amended July 16, 2018). 

The purpose of this review is to determine whether each 

regulation should be repealed, amended, or retained in its 

current form. Public comment is sought on the review of any 

issue relating to these regulations, including whether each 

regulation (i) is necessary for the protection of public health, 

safety, and welfare or for the economical performance of 

important governmental functions; (ii) minimizes the 

economic impact on small businesses in a manner consistent 

with the stated objectives of applicable law; and (iii) is clearly 

written and easily understandable. 

Public comment period begins July 19, 2021, and ends August 

9, 2021. 

Comments must include the commenter's name and address 

(physical or email) information in order to receive a response 

to the comment from the agency. Following the close of the 

public comment period, a report of both reviews will be posted 

on the Virginia Regulatory Town Hall and published in the 

Virginia Register of Regulations. 

Contact Information: Melissa Porterfield, Department of 

Environmental Quality, 1111 East Main Street, Suite 1400, 

P.O. Box 1105, Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (803) 698-

4238. 
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NOTICES OF INTENDED REGULATORY ACTION 

TITLE 18. PROFESSIONAL AND 
OCCUPATIONAL LICENSING 

VIRGINIA BOARD FOR ASBESTOS, LEAD, AND 
HOME INSPECTORS 

Notice of Intended Regulatory Action 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 2.2-4007.01 of the 

Code of Virginia that the Virginia Board for Asbestos, Lead, 

and Home Inspectors intends to consider amending 18VAC15-

40, Home Inspector Licensing Regulations. The purpose of 

the proposed action is to undertake a general regulatory review 

of the Home Inspector Licensing Regulations. The goals of the 

planned regulatory action are to review the existing regulation 

and propose any amendments the board determines to be 

necessary and appropriate. The board will likely need to 

address issues surrounding (i) possible barriers to licensure 

encountered by individuals who are properly licensed as home 

inspectors in other states, (ii) how applicants can adequately 

demonstrate requisite knowledge and experience in order to 

qualify for licensure, and (iii) what should be the minimum 

standards for the practice of home inspections. These issues are 

not inclusive of all potential issues that may be addressed 

during development of the regulation. A thorough review of 

the regulation is necessary to address these areas and ensure 

the regulation complements current Virginia law, provides 

minimal burdens on regulants while still protecting the public, 

is clearly written and understandable, and reflects current 

procedures and policies of the Department of Professional and 

Occupational Regulation. 

The agency intends to hold a public hearing on the proposed 

action after publication in the Virginia Register. 

Statutory Authority: §§ 54.1-201 and 54.1-501 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

Public Comment Deadline: August 18, 2021. 

Agency Contact: Trisha L. Henshaw, Executive Director, 

Virginia Board for Asbestos, Lead, and Home Inspectors, 9960 

Mayland Drive, Suite 400, Richmond, VA 23233, telephone 

(804) 367-8595, FAX (866) 350-5354, or email 

alhi@dpor.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R21-6496; Filed June 22, 2021, 5:44 p.m. 

BOARD FOR BARBERS AND COSMETOLOGY 

Notice of Intended Regulatory Action 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 2.2-4007.01 of the 

Code of Virginia that the Board for Barbers and Cosmetology 

intends to consider amending 18VAC41-20, Barbering and 

Cosmetology Regulations, and 18VAC41-70, Esthetics 

Regulations. The purpose of the proposed action is to establish 

a uniform instructor program among licensed cosmetology, 

barber, nail, and wax schools. The Board for Barbers and 

Cosmetology proposes a standard instructor curriculum that 

unifies the barber, cosmetologist, nail technician, wax 

technician, and esthetics instructor programs. Establishing a 

standard instructor program for all license types will eliminate 

additional costs for instructors and schools. The board seeks to 

create a 400-hour instructor curriculum that is not profession-

specific. The proposed amendment aligns the criteria for 

barber, cosmetology, nail, and wax instructor curricula with the 

esthetic instructor requirements. The board indicated that the 

esthetic instructor program's curriculum and hour requirements 

are sufficient for all professions and creates educational 

consistency between the programs. 

The agency intends to hold a public hearing on the proposed 

action after publication in the Virginia Register. 

Statutory Authority: § 54.1-201 of the Code of Virginia. 

Public Comment Deadline: August 18, 2021. 

Agency Contact: Stephen Kirschner, Executive Director, 

Board for Barbers and Cosmetology, 9960 Mayland Drive, 

Suite 400, Richmond, VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-8590, 

FAX (866) 245-9693, or email 

barbercosmo@dpor.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R21-6774; Filed June 22, 2021, 5:47 p.m.  
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REGULATIONS 

TITLE 1. ADMINISTRATION 

STATE BOARD OF ELECTIONS 

Proposed Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The State Board of Elections is 

claiming an exemption from the Administrative Process Act 

pursuant to § 2.2-4002 B 8 of the Code of Virginia, which 

exempts agency action relating to the conduct of elections or 

eligibility to vote. 

Title of Regulation: 1VAC20-100. Ranked Choice Voting 

(adding 1VAC20-100-10 through 1VAC20-100-80). 

Statutory Authority: § 24.2-673.1 of the Code of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: No public hearing is currently 

scheduled. 

Public Comment Deadline: August 9, 2021. 

Agency Contact: Ashley Coles, Agency Regulatory 

Coordinator, Department of Elections, Washington Building, 

1100 Bank Street, First Floor, Richmond, VA 23219, 

telephone (804) 864-8933, or email 

ashley.coles@elections.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The proposed regulatory action establishes standards for 

the administration of ranked choice voting for certain 

local seats elections, including ballot standards for 

localities that adopt ranked choice voting or instant runoff 

voting for a specified election. Ranked choice voting is a 

method of voting that permits voters to rank their 

preference of candidates. 

Chapter 100 

Ranked Choice Voting 

1VAC20-100-10. Definitions.  

The following words and terms when used in this chapter 

shall have the following meanings unless the context clearly 

indicates otherwise: 

"Active ballot" means a ballot that counts toward an active 

candidate in the current round of counting. 

"Continuing candidate" means a candidate who has not been 

eliminated during a round-by-round vote count. In a count that 

lasts multiple rounds, the number of active candidates will 

decrease with each round. 

"Defective ranking" means a voter assigned more than one 

candidate the same ranking. 

"Duplicate ranking" means a voter has assigned one candidate 

multiple rankings. 

"Election threshold" means the percentage of votes a 

candidate must receive to guarantee to win a seat or remain 

within the election. 

"Eliminated candidate" means a candidate who has been 

eliminated during the round-by-round vote count. 

"Exhausted ballot" means a ballot that can no longer be 

counted due to the ballot having no continuing candidates in 

the round. 

"Instant runoff voting" means no more than one seat in the 

office must be filled by the election. 

"Ranked choice voting" means method of voting that permits 

voters to rank their preference for candidates. Ranked choice 

voting is also known as instant runoff voting. 

"Ranking" means the number preference a voter determines 

for a candidate. 

"Round" means a stage of the vote tabulation in which a 

candidate may be elected or eliminated. 

"Single transferable vote" means more than one seat in the 

office must be filled by the election. 

"Skipped ranking" means a voter has left at least one ranking 

order unassigned but ranks a candidate at a subsequent ranking 

order. 

"Surplus vote" means the number of votes a candidate 

receives beyond the minimum needed in order to receive a seat 

in a single transferable vote race. 

"Inclusive Gregory Method of Reallocation" means vote 

counts are transferred fractionally. When a candidate wins a 

seat, votes for that candidate are reweighted, multiplying their 

current weight by the quotient of their surplus vote divided by 

their total vote. 

1VAC20-100-20. Administration.  

The Department of Elections shall publish on the department 

website, https://www.elections.virginia.gov, instructions on 

the administration of ranked choice voting elections. 

1VAC20-100-30. Ranked choice voting.  

As prescribed by § 24.2-673.1 of the Code of Virginia, a 

county board of supervisors or city council may elect by 

majority to conduct an election for its members by ranked 

choice voting. The adoption for ranked choice voting shall only 

https://www.elections.virginia.gov/
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be valid for the election specified in the ordinance signed by 

the governing body. 

1. Adoption to conduct an election by ranked choice voting 

must be enacted no later than 90 days prior to the date of the 

specified election. 

2. Any locality that adopts to conduct an election by ranked 

choice voting must electronically transfer the signed 

ordinance to the Department of Elections promptly. 

3. No ranked choice voting may be conducted for a primary 

with fewer than three candidates. 

4. Notwithstanding § 24.2-613 E of the Code of Virginia, all 

ballot forms for an election conducted by ranked choice 

voting shall comply with the standards prescribed by the 

State Board of Elections. 

1VAC20-100-40. Ballot treatment.  

As prescribed by § 24.2-673.1 of the Code of Virginia, ballots 

shall be tabulated in the following manner: 

1. Defective rankings. 

a. A ballot with a defective ranking shall be counted in the 

initial round if voter intent can be determined. The ballot 

shall not be counted in any round in which the ballot has a 

defective ranking. 

b. A ballot with a duplicate ranking shall be counted unless 

the voter's choice was eliminated. 

c. In the event of a ballot with a skipped ranking, the next 

valid ranking shall be counted. 

2. Tie breaking. All candidates with the fewest number of 

votes at the end of a round shall be eliminated from the 

election. 

1VAC20-100-50. Reallocation of votes.  

Vote reallocation will be conducted with the Inclusive 

Gregory Method of Reallocation. 

1VAC20-100-60. Paper ballots.  

For the purposes of this section, "paper ballot" means a 

tangible ballot that is marked by a voter and must be manually 

counted. 

In the event the general registrar receives a ballot that cannot 

be read by the ballot scanner machine, the general registrar or 

election official shall transpose the voter's intent to a machine 

readable ballot. 

1VAC20-100-70. Election results.  

Results for all rounds must be publicly posted on the 

Department of Elections website at 

https://www.elections.virginia.gov. 

1VAC20-100-80. Outreach.  

A. For the purposes of this section, "educational information" 

means nonpartisan information that in plain language informs 

the public on the adoption of ranked choice voting for an 

election, a description of ranked choice voting, an unmarked 

official sample ranked choice voting ballot, and instructions on 

how to read and mark the ballot. 

B. The Department of Elections shall be required to post 

educational information about ranked choice voting on its 

website at https://www.elections.virginia.gov for the public. 

C. Any county board of supervisors or city council that adopts 

to conduct an election by ranked choice voting shall develop 

and distribute educational information about ranked choice 

voting no later than 60 days before the specified election. 

1. Educational information must be disseminated to the 

public through circulation in the local newspaper, posted on 

the locality's website, or mailed to active and inactive voters 

eligible to vote in the specified election. 

2. Educational information must be posted in the office of 

the general registrar and made available for distribution if 

requested by the public. 

3. Educational information about ranked choice voting shall 

be posted in each satellite office and polling place operating 

for the election. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R21-6851; Filed June 29, 2021, 11:50 a.m. 

  ––––––––––––––––––  

TITLE 2. AGRICULTURE 

BOARD OF AGRICULTURE AND CONSUMER 
SERVICES 

Fast-Track Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 2VAC5-325. Regulations Governing 

Pine Shoot Beetle (repealing 2VAC5-325-10 through 

2VAC5-325-120). 

Statutory Authority: § 3.2-703 of the Code of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: No public hearing is currently 

scheduled. 

Public Comment Deadline: August 18, 2021. 

Effective Date: September 2, 2021. 

Agency Contact: David Gianino, Program Manager, Office of 

Plant Industry Services, Department of Agriculture and 

Consumer Services, P.O. Box 1163, Richmond, VA 23218, 

telephone (800) 786-3515, FAX (804) 371-7793, TDD (800) 

828-1120, or email david.gianino@vdacs.virginia.gov. 

Basis: Section 3.2-109 of the Code of Virginia establishes the 

Board of Agriculture and Consumer Services as a policy board 

https://www.elections.virginia.gov/
https://www.elections.virginia.gov/
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with the authority to adopt regulations in accordance with the 

provisions of Title 3.2 of the Code of Virginia. Section 3.2-703 

of the Code of Virginia provides the legal basis for the 

promulgation and repeal of the regulation. 

Purpose: In 1992, the U.S. Department of Agriculture (USDA) 

established federal regulations for the pine shoot beetle 

(Tomicus piniperda), following the initial detection of the 

beetle in Ohio. The initiation of this regulation at the federal 

level was in response to the potential for high economic losses 

caused by the pine shoot beetle in various species of pine trees. 

In 2003, under authority granted by § 3.2-703 of the Tree and 

Crop Pests Law (§ 3.2-700 et seq. of the Code of Virginia), the 

Board of Agriculture and Consumer Services established 

Regulations Governing Pine Shoot Beetle (2VAC5-325) after 

the pine shoot beetle was found in a Christmas tree planting in 

Clarke County. The regulation established a quarantine, which 

was subsequently expanded to Loudoun County in 2010 after 

the pine shoot beetle was detected in that county. USDA also 

expanded the federal pine shoot beetle regulation to include 

Loudoun County at the same time, thereby ensuring that the 

federal and state pine shoot beetle regulations were aligned. To 

reduce the spread of pine shoot beetle, the regulation restricts 

the movement from regulated localities of those articles that 

are at risk for moving the pine shoot beetle. 

In 2015, the USDA met with state departments of agriculture 

to reassess damages caused by the pine shoot beetle, the rate of 

spread of this insect, and the impact that the pine shoot beetle 

had on timber and Christmas tree production. An analysis was 

conducted, and it was determined that the pine shoot beetle had 

not spread throughout the country and the damages from this 

insect pest did not significantly impact the pine, timber, or 

Christmas tree industries. In 2019, USDA proposed to 

deregulate the pine shoot beetle, and the federal regulation was 

repealed effective November 2, 2020. The repeal of the 

regulations will align Virginia's response to the pine shoot 

beetle with the federal response to this pest and will support 

the economic welfare of Christmas tree and pine tree growers 

operating in the currently regulated localities. 

Rationale for Using Fast-Track Rulemaking Process: The 

repeal of this regulation is anticipated to be noncontroversial 

because the pine shoot beetle has not caused significant 

damage to pine trees in Virginia, surveys indicate that the pine 

shoot beetle is no longer present in Virginia, and, as a result, 

there is no risk of spread to uninfested areas. In addition, there 

will be no restrictions on the movement of pine trees, pine logs, 

and other regulated articles, thereby benefiting the pine tree 

growers in regulated localities, which must currently comply 

with requirements of the regulation. 

Substance: This regulatory action will repeal the Regulations 

Governing the Pine Shoot Beetle. Repealing the regulation will 

remove the restrictions on Christmas tree and pine tree 

growers, thereby allowing the unrestricted movement of pine 

logs, Christmas trees, and other regulated articles out of those 

counties currently under quarantine. 

Issues: The primary advantage of this regulatory change is 

elimination of regulatory requirements placed on those 

businesses that must currently comply with the regulation, 

including those that move pine trees and logs and other 

regulated articles out of the quarantined areas. The primary 

advantage to the Commonwealth is removal of administrative 

processes related to ensuring compliance with the regulation. 

There are no known disadvantages to this regulatory change 

for businesses, citizens, or the Commonwealth. 

Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 

Analysis: 

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. The 

Board of Agriculture and Consumer Services (Board) proposes 

to repeal regulations that restrict the movement of materials 

that host the pine shoot beetle. 

Background. This action follows the repeal of similar federal 

regulations pertaining to the pine shoot beetle,1 and the Board's 

findings that the pine shoot beetle has not caused significant 

economic impact to affected industries, that the pest has not 

spread throughout the Commonwealth, and that it can be 

successfully managed through the implementation of best 

management practices. 

The pine shoot beetle (Tomicus piniperda) is a pest that affects 

pines in Africa, Asia, and Europe by colonizing fresh timber 

and dying pine trees in early spring. Larvae feed within the 

galleries under the bark and emerge as adults from the shoots. 

They then move to the base of the tree to reproduce. This 

species of bark beetle is not considered fatal for the tree, but it 

damages the growth form, reducing the economic value of the 

timber by reducing growth rates and stem straightness. 

The first known occurrence of the pine shoot beetle in North 

America was in 1992 at a Christmas tree farm in Ohio, from 

where it has spread to 11 states in the United States and to 

Ontario and Quebec in Canada. Based on an initial finding of 

potentially high economic losses, the United States 

Department of Agriculture (USDA) implemented in 1992 a 

program regulating the movement of pine logs and bark, 

nursery stock, and Christmas trees from infested to uninfested 

areas. 

In 2003, the Board promulgated Regulations Governing Pine 

Shoot Beetle after the pine shoot beetle was found in a 

Christmas tree planting in Clarke County. The regulation 

established a quarantine, which was subsequently expanded to 

Loudoun County in 2010 after the pine shoot beetle was 

detected in that county as well. USDA also expanded the 

federal pine shoot beetle regulation to include Loudoun County 

at the same time, thereby ensuring that the federal and state 

pine shoot beetle regulations were aligned. 

Consistent with the federal regulation's focus on prevention of 

spread, containment of infestation, treatment, and eradication, 

Virginia's regulation primarily restricts the movement of 

articles that are at risk for transporting the pine shoot beetle out 

of regulated localities. The federal regulations have been 

repealed effective November 2, 2020, primarily due to the 
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finding that the beetle has not caused significant economic 

damage as originally anticipated.  

Similarly, the Board has determined that pine shoot beetle has 

not caused significant economic impact to affected industries, 

that the pest has not spread throughout the Commonwealth, 

and that the pine shoot beetle can be successfully managed 

without limiting the movement of goods. As a result, the Board 

proposes to repeal this regulation. 

Estimated Benefits and Costs. Currently, two Christmas tree 

growers (one in Loudoun County and one in Clarke County) 

are subject to this regulation, although as many as six 

businesses have been regulated at one time since 2003. The 

regulation is enforced by requiring the businesses that are at 

risk of pine shoot beetle presence and spread to enter into a 

compliance agreement with the Virginia Department of 

Agriculture and Consumer Services (VDACS). Through the 

compliance agreement, the regulants are required to limit 

shipment of regulated articles out of the regulated area unless 

all applicable components of the compliance management 

program are met. 

Those requirements include 1) sanitation (removal and 

destruction of brood material such as dead and dying pine trees, 

recently cut or killed trees, tree tops, branches and other pine 

slash, and stump), 2) visual monitoring (random scouting of 

infested shoots and tips), 3) deployment of trap and sentinel 

logs by January and then destruction of logs in April (to trap 

and eradicate adult beetles searching for suitable brood 

material), 4) chemical control (application of pesticides), 5) 

record keeping (pertinent records include the number of trees 

scouted, scouting dates, sanitation treatments conducted, trap 

log activities and insecticide usage). 

According to VDACS, the requirements in the compliance 

agreements are no more than best management practices (to 

control the movement of the beetle, to detect and eradicate the 

beetle from their stocks) and do not impose significant costs on 

regulants. There are no regulatory fees for compliance 

agreements, permits or certificates, or surveys that VDACS 

conducts. 

In summary, the compliance costs implicated by the regulation 

include travel or postage costs, time, and effort to sign a 

compliance agreement with VDACS, inspection of shipments 

bound for transport out of the locality, visual inspection of 

fields where the trees are grown, application of pesticides to 

treat infestations when discovered, and recordkeeping 

expenses. Similarly, the agency costs are comprised of staff 

time to draft and enter into compliance agreements and a small 

fraction of two pest inspectors' time and travel devoted to 

survey the beetle presence under this regulation. 

According to VDACS, the regulants would likely continue 

their best management practices for the beetle even if they may 

no longer be required to do so under this regulation. Such 

behavior would be rational if regulants are interested in 

minimizing the risk of economic losses that may stem from the 

pine shoot beetle. Thus, while the repeal of this regulation is 

expected to eliminate administrative costs associated with 

signing the agreement with VDACS and the record keeping 

expenses, it is not expected to create any other significant 

economic impact on entities that are regulated. 

Although without the regulation there would be no barrier to 

prevent the exportation of infested host materials out of the 

locality, VDACS reports that last time the beetle was found in 

Virginia was in 2010; according to the agency, this indicates 

that the beetle is no longer present in the Commonwealth. 

Businesses and Other Entities Affected. The repeal of this 

regulation would primarily affect businesses that move pine 

trees, pine logs, and other regulated articles out of the 

quarantined area. Currently, two Christmas tree growers (one 

each, in Loudoun and Clarke Counties) would be affected. The 

repeal of this regulation is not anticipated to have an adverse 

impact2 on affected entities. 

Small Businesses3 Affected. The two entities regulated under 

this regulation are believed to be small businesses, but the 

proposed repeal of this regulation is not expected to adversely 

or significantly affect them. 

Localities4 Affected.5 This regulation specifically applies to 

Loudoun and Clarke Counties, the localities where the pine 

shoot beetle is present. However, the proposed action does not 

introduce costs for the two localities. 

Projected Impact on Employment. The proposed action does 

not appear to affect total employment. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. The proposed 

action would remove restrictions on the movement of materials 

that host the pine shoot beetle. However, the repeal of such 

restrictions is not anticipated to have a significant impact on 

the use and value of private property or on real estate 

development costs. 

____________________________________ 
1https://www.federalregister.gov/documents/2020/10/01/2020-21800/ 

deregulation-of-pine-shoot-beetle 

2Adverse impact is indicated if there is any increase in net cost or reduction in 
net revenue for any entity, even if the benefits exceed the costs for all entities 

combined. 

3Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.04 of the Code of Virginia, small business is defined 
as "a business entity, including its affiliates, that (i) is independently owned 

and operated and (ii) employs fewer than 500 full-time employees or has gross 

annual sales of less than $6 million." 
4"Locality" can refer to either local governments or the locations in the 

Commonwealth where the activities relevant to the regulatory change are most 

likely to occur. 

5§ 2.2-4007.04 defines "particularly affected" as bearing disproportionate 

material impact. 

Agency's Response to the Economic Impact Analysis: The 

agency concurs with the analysis of the Department of 

Planning and Budget. 

Summary: 

The action repeals Virginia's Regulations Governing Pine 

Shoot Beetle (2VAC5-325) as the regulation is no longer 

https://www.federalregister.gov/documents/2020/10/01/2020-21800/deregulation-of-pine-shoot-beetle
https://www.federalregister.gov/documents/2020/10/01/2020-21800/deregulation-of-pine-shoot-beetle
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needed because the pine shoot beetle is not a threat in 

Virginia. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R21-6592; Filed June 23, 2021, 12:48 p.m. 

  ––––––––––––––––––  

TITLE 4. CONSERVATION AND NATURAL 
RESOURCES 

BOARD OF WILDLIFE RESOURCES 

Proposed Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Board of Wildlife Resources is 

claiming an exemption from the Administrative Process Act 

pursuant to § 2.2-4002 A 3 of the Code of Virginia when 

promulgating regulations regarding the management of 

wildlife. 

Title of Regulation: 4VAC15-35. Bird: Incidental Take of 

Bird Species (adding 4VAC15-35-10 through 4VAC15-35-

100). 

Statutory Authority: §§ 29.1-103, 29.1-501, and 29.1-502 of 

the Code of Virginia. 

Public Comment Deadline: July 27, 2021. 

Agency Contact: Aaron Proctor, Regulations Coordinator, 

Department of Wildlife Resources, 7870 Villa Park Drive, 

Suite 400, Henrico, VA 23228, telephone (804) 367-8341, or 

email aaron.proctor@dwr.virginia.gov. 

Summary:  

The proposed new regulation addresses the incidental 

take of migratory birds and includes (i) setting types of, 

requirements for, and procedure for acquiring, including 

for denial and appeal of denial, a permit to take migratory 

birds; (ii) exempting certain activities, including 

silvicultural and agricultural activities, residential 

construction, and certain emergency actions from 

requiring a permit; and (iii) setting standards of permits 

and enforcement of this chapter. 

Chapter 35 

Bird: Incidental Take of Bird Species 

4VAC15-35-10. Purpose.  

The purpose of this chapter is to: 

1. Regulate the incidental take of regulated bird species and 

habitats in the context of the board's oversight authorities 

described in § 29.1-501 A of the Code of Virginia and the 

department's conservation and management authorities 

described in § 29.1-521 A 2 and A 10 of the Code of Virginia 

by establishing a regulatory framework for the 

administration, implementation, and enforcement of an 

incidental take permitting program; 

2. Provide ample protections to regulated bird species and 

habitats while authorizing take that may occur incidental to 

regulated activities through the issuance of a general permit 

or an individual incidental take permit that stipulates best 

management practices with the intended purpose of 

avoiding, minimizing, or compensating incidental take; and 

3. Delineate the procedures and requirements to be followed 

in connection with permits issued by the department, while 

providing flexibility for innovative solutions that avoid, 

minimize, or compensate incidental take of regulated bird 

species and habitats when such authorization meets the 

criteria of this chapter. 

4VAC15-35-20. Definitions.  

The following words and terms when used in this chapter 

shall have the following meanings unless the context clearly 

indicates otherwise: 

"Active nest" means any nest structure of a regulated bird 

species that contains one or more viable eggs incubated by 

attendant adults or live dependent young. 

"Applicant" means a person who is seeking or has obtained 

an individual incidental take permit or general permit through 

the department in accordance with procedures established in 

this chapter. 

"Best management practice" refers to structural or 

nonstructural measures designed to avoid or minimize the 

incidental take of regulated bird species or habitats that may 

result from regulated activities during the construction and 

operational phases of the project. 

"Biologically significant avian habitat" means an area within 

public or private conservation lands and waters, including 

national wildlife refuges; national parks or seashores; national 

forests; national recreation areas; state wildlife management 

areas; state parks; state natural areas and preserves; state 

recreation areas; lands owned or under easement by 

conservation organizations; lands and waters that have been 

designated as biologically important, such as Coastal Avian 

Protection Zones, Important Bird Areas, and Marine 

Sanctuaries; and other lands and waters that encompass unique 

features deemed biologically important to regulated bird 

species by the department. 

"Board" means the Board of Wildlife Resources. 

"Compensation" means achieving no net loss of regulated 

habitats through restoration, creation, enhancement, or, in 

certain circumstances, out-of-kind measures for the purposes 

of offsetting incidental take of regulated bird species or 

habitats that remain after all appropriate and practicable 

avoidance and minimization has been considered or achieved. 

Where permissible, appropriate compensation will be set forth 

in individual take permits or other board regulation or 

guidance. There will be no compensation required under 

general permits. 
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"Department" means the Department of Wildlife Resources. 

"General avian habitat" means lands and waters that are not 

classified as "biologically significant avian habitat" but 

nonetheless require evaluation using methods developed by the 

department to determine their biological value to regulated bird 

species. 

"Incidental take" means any take of a regulated bird species 

that is incidental to, but not the purpose of, a regulated activity. 

"Person" means any individual, non-federal government 

entity, firm, corporation, association, partnership, club, or 

private body. 

"Regulated activity" or "activity" means a new construction 

or development activity or the expansion of an activity beyond 

the original or existing footprint of the activity for which the 

board has adopted a sector-specific plan. 

"Regulated bird species" means any migratory bird species, 

or any active nest, or egg thereof, regulated by the federal 

Migratory Bird Treaty Act (16 USC § 703 et seq.) or its 

attendant regulations, excluding any bird species listed as 

endangered or threatened pursuant to 4VAC15-20-130. 

"Regulated habitat" means biologically significant avian 

habitat or general avian habitat that is in an area subject to a 

sector-specific plan, an avian conservation and mitigation plan, 

or an individual incidental take permit. 

"Sector-specific plan" means a framework adopted by 

regulation of the board that defines what activities will require 

a permit from the department for incidental take of regulated 

bird species and outlines the criteria for obtaining such a 

permit, such as specific best management practices, schedules, 

or criteria for avoiding or minimizing incidental take and 

circumstances in which project bundling may be applicable. 

"Take" means to harass, harm, pursue, hunt, shoot, wound, 

kill, capture, trap, collect, possess, destroy, disturb, or to 

attempt to engage in any such conduct or any activity that 

significantly or permanently impedes breeding, foraging, 

resting, or other normal avian behaviors conducted during the 

annual life cycle, obstructs the use of or destroys or degrades 

regulated habitats, or reduces reproductive success or survival 

rates of regulated bird species. 

4VAC15-35-30. Requirement for a permit.  

Except as provided in this chapter, it shall be unlawful for any 

person to conduct a regulated activity that results or will result 

in incidental take of a regulated bird species or regulated 

habitat without obtaining and complying with a permit from 

the department. However, no permit shall be necessary for 

incidental take of regulated bird species or habitats unless the 

board has adopted a sector-specific plan requiring such permit. 

The board may adopt sector-specific plans for any of the 

following categories: 

1. Commercial projects, including new construction or 

expansion: 

a. Retail stores or malls; 

b. Restaurants; 

c. Lodging facilities; 

d. Office buildings outside of an existing commercial 

park; 

e. Commercial parks; 

f. Medical facilities, including nursing homes, 

rehabilitation and convalescence centers; 

g. Sports facilities; or 

h. Other large-scale nonindustrial structures and facilities 

planned for commerce, health care, hospitality services, 

government use, or other business use. 

2. Industrial projects, including new construction or 

expansion: 

a. Industrial manufacturing buildings outside of an 

existing industrial park; 

b. Industrial parks; 

c. Sewage treatment plants; 

d. Government facilities, such as warehouses and 

laboratories; 

e. Power generation plants; or 

f. Other large-scale noncommercial public, private, or 

governmental structures or facilities that directly engage 

in or are connected to the handling, storage, 

manufacturing, maintenance, treatment, or disposal of 

materials, products, goods, commodities, or hazardous 

waste. 

3. Oil, gas, and wastewater disposal pits. 

4. Methane or other gas burner pipes. 

5. Communications towers. 

6. Electric transmission and distribution lines. 

7. Wind and solar energy projects. 

8. Transportation projects. 

4VAC15-35-40. Activities occurring before adoption of 

sector-specific plan.  

No permit shall be necessary for any regulated activity that is 

actively under construction, has received all necessary permits 

and approvals but construction has not commenced or that has 

provided evidence of other contractual obligations that may be 

described in the appropriate sector-specific plan on or before 

the effective date of a sector-specific plan that would otherwise 

apply to that regulated activity. Upon request, the department 

may review the circumstances of a project and provide a letter 

stating that no permit is necessary to any person conducting 

such an activity. 
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4VAC15-35-50. Applicability of other laws or regulations.  

Nothing in this section shall be interpreted to excuse 

compliance with the prohibitions, provisions or requirements 

of any other federal, state, or local laws, regulations, or 

ordinances, including the Virginia Endangered Species Act 

(§ 29.1-563 et seq. of the Code of Virginia); the federal 

Migratory Bird Treaty Act (16 USC § 703 et seq.), the federal 

Bald and Golden Eagle Protection Act (16 USC § 668 et seq.), 

and the federal Endangered Species Act (16 USC § 1531 et 

seq.). 

4VAC15-35-60. Exemptions.  

The following activities are exempt from the permitting 

requirements of this chapter. Any incidental take associated 

with these activities will not be considered a violation of this 

section: 

1. Activities that are not defined as "regulated activities"; 

2. Agricultural and silvicultural activities; 

3. Residential construction activities; and 

4. Regulated activities performed under emergency 

situations, including activities necessary to restore essential 

services, protect human health, address a public safety issue, 

or prevent imminent damage to property. 

4VAC15-35-70. Permits.  

The following permits authorize incidental take resulting 

from regulated activities: 

1. General permit. 

a. The board may, by regulation, adopt a sector-specific 

plan that provides the framework for general permits 

issued for a particular category of regulated activities. 

b. An applicant whose activities qualifies for a general 

permit must submit an application to the department and 

comply with all requirements stated in the sector-specific 

plan. 

c. The general permit authorizes a regulated activity only 

if the activity and applicant satisfy all of the terms and 

conditions of the general permit and associated sector-

specific plan 

d. An applicant for general permit coverage must adhere 

to the conditions set forth in this chapter pertaining to 

permit renewal, amendment, transfer, suspension, 

revocation, and other procedures for permit issuance. If a 

sector-specific plan expressly requires department review 

and authorization of general permit coverage, the 

applicant shall submit a permit application and any 

required documents, together with the applicable fee, to 

the department prior to commencing the proposed activity, 

and adhere to the following procedures unless the sector-

specific plan otherwise specifies: 

(1) The department will review the permit application and 

required documents to ensure that the activity complies 

with the terms and conditions of the general permit. 

(2) If the department determines that the proposed activity 

is not covered by the general permit, the department will 

notify and instruct the applicant on necessary procedures 

for obtaining an individual incidental take permit or 

provide the applicant with the opportunity to revise the 

proposed activity to ensure its compatibility with the 

general permit. 

e. Incidental take by a regulated activity of regulated bird 

species or habitats shall be first avoided and then 

minimized through the use of best management practices 

described in the appropriate sector-specific plan or 

otherwise authorized by the department. 

f. Persons authorized by the general permit may be 

required to monitor and report impacts to and the 

incidental take of regulated bird species that result from 

the regulated activity as set forth in the sector-specific 

plan. 

g. No general permit coverage issued under this chapter 

shall be valid for a period of more than eight years after 

the date of its issuance, or such shorter term otherwise 

specified in the applicable sector-specific plan or 

requested by the applicant. An applicant may terminate a 

permit prior to the expiration of the defined term upon 

providing written evidence to the department of the 

conclusion of construction and fulfillment of any 

applicable monitoring or site closure requirements defined 

in the appropriate general permit. 

h. If the department, upon receiving an application for a 

general permit, determines that the activity does not 

qualify for a general permit, but still requires a permit 

from the department, the department will notify the 

applicant in writing of the reasons that the activity does 

not qualify for a general permit. The applicant may revise 

the activity and resubmit the application for a general 

permit or submit an application for an individual 

incidental take permit. 

2. Individual incidental take permit. 

a. Applicants shall obtain individual incidental take 

permits under such terms and conditions necessary to 

avoid, minimize, or compensate for the incidental take of 

regulated bird species or habitats when: 

(1) Regulated activities will occur within or adjacent to 

biologically significant avian habitat, or 

(2) Required by the terms of the applicable sector-specific 

plan. 

b. In addition to the conditions set forth in this section 

governing permit renewal, amendment, transfer, 

suspension, revocation, and other procedures for permit 

issuance, an applicant for an individual incidental take 

permit must adhere to the following procedures: 
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(1) The applicant shall prepare and submit an avian 

conservation and mitigation plan in accordance with the 

provisions in this section for department approval and 

must submit the applicable fee and any additional 

information and documents that the department 

determines are necessary for permit issuance. The 

applicant must receive final permit approval prior to 

commencing the proposed activity. 

(2) The department shall review the applicant's permit 

application and included avian conservation and 

mitigation plan and shall notify the person applying for the 

permit in writing of any necessary amendments or 

additions. 

(3) Impacts of a regulated activity on regulated bird 

species or habitats shall be first avoided and then 

minimized through the use of best management practices 

or other measures as described in the appropriate sector-

specific plan and the avian conservation and mitigation 

plan. Persons authorized by the individual incidental take 

permit will be required to compensate for unavoidable 

incidental take of regulated bird species or habitats. 

(4) Persons authorized by the individual take permit may 

be required to monitor and report impacts to and the 

incidental take of regulated bird species that result from 

the regulated activity as set forth in the sector-specific 

plan, individual incidental take permit, or avian 

conservation and mitigation plan. 

(5) No individual incidental take permit issued under this 

subsection shall be for a period of more than 10 years after 

the date of its issuance or such shorter time period 

determined appropriate by the department or requested by 

the applicant. An applicant may terminate a permit prior 

to the expiration of the defined term upon providing 

written evidence to the department of the conclusion of 

construction and fulfillment of any applicable monitoring 

requirements defined in the individual incidental take 

permit. 

c. An avian conservation and mitigation plan must provide 

sufficient information to demonstrate that the 

conservation criteria established in the individual 

incidental take permit will be fulfilled. The plan must 

clearly define the project's scope of work and the project's 

possible impacts on regulated bird species or habitats. In 

addition, the plan must include: 

(1) A site plan drawn to scale showing the location of the 

proposed activity; 

(2) A detailed description and schedule of the work to be 

performed; 

(3) A quantitative or narrative description of the likely 

incidental take of regulated bird species or habitats; 

(4) The steps the applicant will take to avoid, minimize, 

and compensate for such impacts, including: 

(a) Avoidance, minimization, and compensation measures 

the applicant shall employ using reliable department-

approved methods that are be based upon the best 

available science and utilizing the best practicable and 

necessary technology to meet the requirements of the 

applicable sector-specific plan. These measures shall be 

evaluated for effectiveness in a consistent and rigorous 

manner by the applicant throughout their implementation. 

(b) Compensation measures that shall ensure that a 

naturally-sustaining ecosystem or quality of habitat 

comparable to the pre-activity conditions at the location of 

the regulated activity or within a reasonable proximity is 

established upon the activity's completion and achieves no 

net loss of regulated birds or habitats. 

(c) Any actions included in the applicable sector-specific 

plan considered by the applicant and the reasons why such 

actions are not being utilized; 

(d) A contingency plan to rectify any failures of 

implemented measures or actions necessary to provide 

additional protection to regulated bird species, including 

hazing programs or other temporary or emergency 

measures that would be instituted; 

(e) A timeline of when each element of the plan will be 

completed; and 

(f) Such other measures that the department or applicable 

sector-specific plan may require as being necessary or 

appropriate for purposes of the plan; and 

(5) The avian conservation and mitigation plan may avoid 

duplication by incorporating information included in any 

permit application required by any other permitting 

agency. The plan shall identify by source, section, and 

page number when referencing such information. 

d. While most general and individual incidental take 

permits will apply only to the construction phase of a 

regulated activity, nothing in this chapter shall prevent the 

board from including requirements for the operational 

phase of a particular regulated activity in a sector-specific 

plan if the board determines that operations are likely to 

incidentally take regulated bird species or habitats. If 

operational requirements are included in a sector-specific 

plan, permits may be renewed throughout the life of the 

regulated activity. 

4VAC15-35-80. Permit procedures.  

A. Required general information. A permit application must 

contain the following information: 

1. Applicant's full name and address, telephone number, and, 

if available, fax number and email address; 

a. If the applicant resides or is located outside of the 

Commonwealth of Virginia, the name and address of an 

agent located in the Commonwealth of Virginia; and 
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b. If the applicant is an entity, a description of the type of 

entity and the name and title of an individual who will be 

responsible for the permit; 

2. Location of the regulated activity; 

3. Certification in the following language: "I hereby certify 

that the information submitted in this application is complete 

and accurate to the best of my knowledge and belief"; 

4. Desired effective date of the permit except where issuance 

date is fixed by the sector-specific plan under which the 

permit is issued; 

5. Desired duration of the permit, if less than the default term 

for the sector-specific plan under which the general or 

individual incidental take permit is requested; 

6. Date of application; 

7. Signature or electronic signature of the applicant; and 

8. Such other information or documentation as may be 

required by the applicable sector-specific plan. 

B. Administrative procedures. 

1. The department shall determine the completeness of an 

application and shall notify the applicant of any 

determination within 45 calendar days of receipt. Where 

available to the applicant, electronic communication may be 

considered communication in writing. 

a. If, within those 45 calendar days, the application is 

deemed to be incomplete, the applicant shall be notified in 

writing of the reasons the application is deemed 

incomplete. If the application is resubmitted, all deadlines 

in this section shall apply from the date of receipt of the 

resubmitted application. 

b. If a determination of completeness is made and the 

associated sector-specific plan does not require additional 

department review, the application is deemed approved 

and the applicant will be notified in writing. 

c. If a determination of completeness is not made and 

communicated to the applicant within 45 calendar days of 

receipt, the application shall be deemed complete on the 

46th day after receipt. 

d. If the application is complete and the associated sector-

specific plan requires additional department review, the 

department will take no more than 120 days to review. 

Bundled projects subject to prior approval of biennial 

standards and specifications as described in 4VAC15-35-

90 may take up to 180 days. If, at the end of the designated 

review period, the department has not taken final action on 

the application or notified the applicant in writing of the 

need for an additional 60 days for review, the application 

shall be deemed approved. 

2. During the review period, the application shall be 

approved or disapproved, and the decision communicated in 

writing to the applicant. If the application is not approved, 

the reasons for not approving the application shall be 

provided in writing. Approval or denial shall be based on the 

application's compliance with the requirements of this 

chapter and the applicable sector-specific plan. 

a. If the application is not approved, the applicant shall 

have 45 calendar days to revise the permit application to 

bring it into compliance with the appropriate sector-

specific plan or to appeal the decision to the director of the 

department under the department's dispute resolution and 

administrative appeals procedure. The applicant may 

request, in writing, an extension of the timeframe in which 

to submit a revised application, not to exceed an additional 

60 calendar days. If the revised application is not 

submitted within the defined timeframe, the department 

will administratively close the application. 

b. Upon submission of a revised application after denial, 

the department shall have 120 days to review and make a 

determination. If the application is denied again, the 

applicant will have 45 days after denial to appeal the 

decision to the director of the department under the 

department's dispute resolution and administrative appeal 

procedure. Any new revisions to the permit must be 

submitted as a new application. 

3. Upon approval of an application for an individual 

incidental take permit, the department will provide the 

applicant with a permit, including terms and conditions. The 

applicant shall have 30 calendar days to appeal terms and 

conditions to the department director under the department's 

dispute resolution and administrative appeals procedures. 

C. Permit issuance. 

1. Denial. The department shall not issue a permit if: 

a. The applicant has one or more of the disqualifying 

factors included in subdivision 2 of this subsection; 

b. The applicant has failed to disclose material information 

or has made false statements as to any material fact in 

connection with the application; or 

c. The department determines that the application fails to 

comply with the applicable sector-specific plan or any 

other applicable wildlife law, regulation, or ordinance. 

2. Disqualifying factors. The department will provide 

written notice of any known disqualifying factors to the 

applicant. Any one of the following will disqualify an 

applicant from receiving or exercising a permit: 

a. A conviction of, or entry of a plea of guilty or nolo 

contendere by, the applicant or a representative of the 

applicant for a violation of the Lacey Act (16 USC § 3371 

et seq.); the federal Migratory Bird Treaty Act (16 USC 

§ 668 et seq.); the federal Bald and Golden Eagle 

Protection Act (16 USC § 668 et seq.); the federal 

Endangered Species Act (16 USC § 1531 et seq.); the 

Virginia Endangered Species Act (§ 29.1-563 et seq. of the 
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Code of Virginia); or this chapter within the five-year 

period preceding the application, unless such 

disqualification has been expressly waived by the 

department in response to a request by the applicant. 

b. The failure to pay any required fees. 

c. The suspension of any other incidental take permit. The 

applicant is disqualified from receiving any additional 

incidental take permits as long as the suspension exists. 

3. Fees. An application fee of $50 and a permit fee of $50 

per year shall be due for each permit. The application fee 

shall be due at the time of application submittal, and no 

application shall be processed until the fee is received. The 

full amount of the permit fee shall be based on the default 

duration of the permit and is due at the time of certification 

if no approval is required. If the department's approval is 

required, the full amount of the permit fee is due upon 

approval or issuance of a permit. The fees will be deposited 

into the Nongame Cash Fund and used for the conservation 

and management of regulated bird species consistent with § 

58.1-344.3 of the Code of Virginia. No refund of any fees 

paid shall be made if a permit application is denied or if a 

permit is terminated prior to the expiration date. 

4. Permit renewal. Applications for renewal shall meet and 

comply with all requirements for permit application and be 

submitted at least 90 calendar days prior to the expiration of 

an existing permit. 

5. Modifications to permits. Permits may be modified with 

the department's approval in accordance with the following: 

a. Applicant's request. Where circumstances have changed 

so that an applicant desires to have any condition of the 

permit modified, the applicant must submit a full written 

justification and supporting information to the department 

in conformity with the terms and conditions under which 

the permit was issued. 

b. Department determination. The department may amend 

any permit during its term where circumstances have 

changed such that amendments to the permit are deemed 

necessary by the department. In such instances, the 

department will notify the applicant in writing 60 calendar 

days in advance of the effective date of any amendment. 

The applicant shall have 30 calendar days to appeal the 

decision to the department director under the department's 

dispute resolution and administrative appeals procedures. 

6. Transfer of permits and scope of permit authorization. 

a. Except as otherwise provided for in this subsection, 

permits issued under this part are not transferable or 

assignable. 

b. Permits may be transferred in whole or in part through 

a joint submission by the applicant and the proposed 

transferee, or, in the case of a deceased applicant, the 

deceased applicant's legal representative and the proposed 

transferee. The department will review the submission and 

approve the transfer provided that: 

(1) The proposed transferee meets all of the qualifications 

under this part for holding a permit; 

(2) The proposed transferee has provided adequate written 

assurances that it will implement the relevant terms and 

conditions of the permit; and 

(3) The proposed transferee has provided other 

information that the department determines is relevant to 

the processing of the submission. 

c. Except as otherwise stated on the face of the permit, any 

person who is under the direct control of the applicant or 

who is employed by or under contract to the applicant for 

purposes authorized by the permit may carry out the 

activity authorized by the permit. However, the applicant 

will remain responsible for ensuring compliance with all 

aspects of the permit. 

7. Discontinuance of permit activity. When an applicant 

discontinues activities authorized by a permit, the applicant 

shall within 30 calendar days of the discontinuance notify 

the department of permit termination. 

8. Permit inspections. The department shall have the right to 

perform inspections of a permitted activity to ensure 

compliance with permit conditions. Written, including 

electronic, or verbal notice of such inspection shall be given 

on a business day, and the inspection shall not occur no less 

than one and no more than five business days from the date 

of the notice, except when the department determines that an 

emergency inspection is necessary. 

9. Permit suspension and revocation. 

a. Criteria for suspension. The privileges of exercising 

some or all of the permit authority may be suspended at 

any time if the applicant is not in compliance with the 

conditions of the permit, the sector-specific plan, or any 

applicable laws or regulations governing the conduct of 

the regulated activity. Such suspension shall remain in 

effect until the department determines that the applicant 

has corrected the deficiencies. 

b. Criteria for revocation. A permit may be revoked for 

any of the following reasons: 

(1) The applicant willfully violates any provision of the 

Virginia Endangered Species Act (§ 29.1-563 et seq. of the 

Code of Virginia); the federal Migratory Bird Treaty Act 

(16 USC § 703 et seq.); the federal Bald and Golden Eagle 

Protection Act (16 USC § 668 et seq.); the federal 

Endangered Species Act (16 USC § 1531 et seq.); or the 

conditions or a permit issued under those acts or this 

chapter; or 

(2) The applicant fails within 60 calendar days to correct 

deficiencies that were the cause of a permit suspension. 

c. Procedure for suspension and revocation. 
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(1) The applicant shall be notified in writing of the 

suspension or revocation by certified or registered mail. 

This notice shall identify the permit to be suspended, the 

reasons for such suspension, and the actions necessary to 

correct the deficiencies and inform the applicant of the 

right to appeal the suspension. The department may amend 

any notice of suspension or revocation at any time. 

(2) The applicant shall be provided with an opportunity to 

appeal the suspension or revocation within 30 calendar 

days of mailing the suspension or revocation notice. 

Appeal may be requested by filing a written objection 

specifying the reasons the applicant objects to the 

suspension or revocation and may include supporting 

documentation. Amendment of a notice of suspension or 

revocation will allow the applicant another 30 calendar 

days to appeal the decision from the date of mailing notice 

of the amendment if they have not already initiated an 

appeal. 

(3) If at the end of 30 calendar days no appeal has been 

received by the department, a final order shall be issued 

suspending or revoking the permit.  

(4) If the applicant timely submits an appeal, an informal 

fact-finding proceeding will be held within 30 calendar 

days, or at the option of the department or the applicant, a 

formal hearing may be scheduled as soon as may be 

practicable. 

(5) Following an informal fact-finding proceeding or 

formal hearing, a final decision shall be made by the 

director within 30 calendar days of the informal fact-

finding proceeding or receipt of a recommendation by any 

hearing officer. 

4VAC15-35-90. Biennial standards and specifications.  

Any person who will undertake multiple regulated activities 

requiring a permit may biennially submit a single set of 

standards and specifications for department approval that 

describes how covered regulated activities shall be conducted. 

1. Such standards and specifications shall be consistent with 

the requirements of this chapter and the applicable sector-

specific plans. Each project constructed for which a permit 

is required shall obtain such permit by filing a permit 

application referencing the approved standards and 

specifications and paying the fee applicable under 4VAC15-

35-80 C 3 prior to the commencement of the regulated 

activity. The standards and specifications shall include: 

a. A reference to which sector-specific plans are addressed 

by the standards and specifications; 

b. A description of the regulated activities that the 

applicant intends to be addressed by the standards and 

specifications, and, if applicable, any other regulated 

activities that the applicant intends to conduct that will not 

utilize the standards and specifications; 

c. Information satisfactory to the department 

demonstrating how regulated activities conducted under 

the standards and specifications will meet the 

requirements of the applicable sector-specific plans, 

together with a copy of any reference materials cited by 

the standards and specifications; and 

d. Implementation by the applicant of a regulated activity 

tracking system of all regulated activities conducted under 

the standards and specification, together with a permittee 

self-monitoring program that will ensure compliance with 

the standards and specifications. 

2. Such standards and specification may be utilized 

following department approval. Utilization of approved 

standards and specification shall not affect the department's 

authority to perform inspections of regulated activities 

addressed by the standards and specifications. 

Noncompliance with the approved standards and 

specifications shall have the same effect as noncompliance 

with the requirements of the applicable sector-specific plan 

for purposes of permit modification, suspension, or 

revocation under this section. 

4VAC15-35-100. Enforcement; unpermitted regulated 

activities.  

Administrative permit actions, including modification, 

suspension, and revocation, shall be addressed according to the 

department's dispute resolution and administrative appeals 

procedures. Any person conducting a regulated activity for 

which a permit is required by this chapter without such permit, 

including where a regulated activity has commenced without a 

permit or continued after permit suspension or revocation, shall 

be guilty of a Class 3 misdemeanor as specified by § 29.1-505 

of the Code of Virginia. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R21-6852; Filed June 30, 2021, 9:54 a.m. 

MARINE RESOURCES COMMISSION 

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Marine Resources Commission 

is claiming an exemption from the Administrative Process Act 

in accordance with § 2.2-4006 A 11 of the Code of Virginia; 

however, the commission is required to publish the full text of 

final regulations. 

Title of Regulation: 4VAC20-270. Pertaining to Blue Crab 

Fishery (amending 4VAC20-270-30 through 4VAC20-270-

55). 

Statutory Authority: § 28.2-201 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: July 5, 2021. 

Agency Contact: Jennifer Farmer, Marine Resources 

Commission, 380 Fenwick Road, Fort Monroe, VA 23551, 

telephone (757) 247-2248, or email 

jennifer.farmer@mrc.virginia.gov. 
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Summary: 

The amendments establish management provisions for the 

blue crab fisheries by updating the date of the season and 

clarifying provisions pertaining to hard crab pots. 

4VAC20-270-30. Daily time limits for commercial harvest. 

A. It shall be unlawful for any person licensed to catch and 

sell crabs taken by hard crab pot or peeler pot to take and 

harvest crabs from any hard crab pot or peeler pot, or to 

retrieve, bait, or set any hard crab pot or peeler pot, except 

during the lawful daily time periods described in subsections 

A, B, C, and D of this section. The lawful daily time periods 

for the commercial harvesting of crabs by hard crab pot or 

peeler pot shall be from 6 a.m. to 2 p.m. during the lawful 

seasons, as described in 4VAC20-270-40 A, except as 

described in subsections B, C, and D of this section. The lawful 

daily time periods for the commercial harvesting of crabs by 

hard crab pot or peeler pot shall be from 5 a.m. to 1 p.m. during 

the months of May, June, July, and August, as described in 

4VAC20-270-40 A, except as specified in subsections B, C, 

and D of this section. Crab Hard crab pots or peeler pots 

already on board a boat at the end of the lawful daily time 

period, as defined in subsections A, B, and C of this section, 

may be set immediately following the end of lawful daily time 

period to one hour after the lawful daily time period ends. 

B. Any licensed hard crab pot or peeler pot fisherman who 

provides an opinion and supporting documentation from an 

attending physician to the commissioner of an existing medical 

condition that prevents him from adhering to the daily time 

limit established in subsection A of this section may be 

permitted by the commissioner or his designee to take and 

harvest crabs from his hard crab pot or peeler pot, or to retrieve, 

bait, or set his hard crab pot or peeler pot during an alternate 

eight-hour daily time limit. That alternative eight-hour daily 

time limit will be prescribed by the commissioner or his 

designee in accordance with the medical condition that forms 

a basis for the exception to the daily time limit as described in 

subsection A of this section. 

Nothing in this regulation shall prohibit any licensed hard 

crab pot or peeler pot fisherman, who has been granted an 

exception to the eight-hour work schedule, on a medical basis, 

from using another licensed hard crab pot or peeler pot 

fisherman as a mate; provided, however, during the designated 

alternate work hours, only the hard crab pots or peeler pots of 

the fisherman receiving the exception shall be fished. Further, 

it shall be unlawful for the licensed crab fisherman, who has 

been granted an exception, or his mate, who is a licensed hard 

crab pot or peeler pot fisherman, to fish, set, retrieve, or bait, 

during the alternate work hours, any hard crab pot or peeler pot 

that is not owned and licensed by the fisherman granted the 

exception. 

C. Any licensed hard crab pot or peeler pot fisherman who 

requests and obtains an alternate eight-hour daily time limit 

permit shall be authorized to take and harvest crabs from his 

hard crab pot or peeler pot or to retrieve, bait, or set his hard 

crab pot or peeler pot one hour earlier than described in 

subsection A of this section, only for the months of June, July, 

August, and September. During the months of March, April, 

May, October, and November, and December, the lawful daily 

time period described in subsection A of this section applies to 

any hard crab pot or peeler pot licensee. The alternate lawful 

daily time periods for the commercial harvesting of crabs by 

hard crab pot or peeler pot shall be from 4 a.m. to 12 noon from 

June 1 through August 31 and from 5 a.m. to 1 p.m. from 

September 1 through September 30. Licensed hard crab pot or 

peeler pot fishermen must apply for this permit on an annual 

basis and shall adhere to the alternate daily time limit from the 

day the permit is issued through September 30, as well as 

subdivisions 1, 2, and 3 of this subsection. 

1. It shall be unlawful for two or more licensed hard crab pot 

or peeler pot fishermen, or their agents, to crab aboard the 

same vessel if their authorized eight-hour daily time limits 

are not identical. 

2. Requests for an alternate eight-hour time limit permit shall 

be submitted to the Marine Resources Commission annually 

and prior to May 15. Requests submitted on or after May 15 

will not be considered. 

3. Once any legal hard crab pot or peeler pot licensee obtains 

an alternate eight-hour daily time limit permit, that permittee 

shall be legally bound by the alternate eight-hour daily time 

limit as described in this subsection. 

D. The lawful daily time periods for the commercial harvest 

of crabs by hard crab pot or peeler pot may be rescinded by the 

Commissioner of Marine Resources when the commissioner 

determines that a pending weather event is sufficient cause for 

the removal of hard crab pots from the tidal waters of the 

Commonwealth. 

4VAC20-270-40. Season limits. 

A. In 2020 2021, the lawful season for the commercial harvest 

of crabs by hard crab pot shall be March 17 through December 

19 November 30. In 2021 2022, the lawful season for the 

commercial harvest of crabs by hard crab pot shall be March 

17 through November 30. For all other lawful commercial gear 

used to harvest crabs, as described in 4VAC20-1040, the 

lawful seasons for the harvest of crabs shall be April 1 through 

October 31. 

B. It shall be unlawful for any person to harvest crabs or to 

possess crabs on board a vessel, except during the lawful 

season as described in subsection A of this section. 

C. It shall be unlawful for any person knowingly to place, set, 

fish, or leave any hard crab pot in any tidal waters of Virginia 

from December 20, 2020 1, 2021, through March 16, 2021 

2022. It shall be unlawful for any person to knowingly place, 

set, fish, or leave any lawful commercial gear used to harvest 

crabs, except any hard crab pot or any gear as described in 
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4VAC20-460-25, in any tidal waters of Virginia from 

November 1, 2020 2021, through March 31, 2021 2022. 

D. It shall be unlawful for any person knowingly to place, set, 

fish, or leave any fish pot in any tidal waters from March 12 

through March 16, except as provided in subdivisions 1 and 2 

of this subsection. 

1. It shall be lawful for any person to place, set, or fish any 

fish pot in those Virginia waters located upriver of the 

following boundary lines: 

a. In the James River the boundary shall be a line 

connecting Hog Point and the downstream point at the 

mouth of College Creek. 

b. In the York River the boundary lines shall be the Route 

33 bridges at West Point. 

c. In the Rappahannock River the boundary line shall be 

the Route 360 bridge at Tappahannock. 

d. In the Potomac River the boundary line shall be the 

Route 301 bridge that extends from Newberg, Maryland 

to Dahlgren, Virginia. 

2. This subsection shall not apply to legally licensed eel pots 

as described in 4VAC20-500-50. 

E. It shall be unlawful for any person to place, set, or fish any 

number of fish pots in excess of 10% of the amount allowed by 

the gear license limit, up to a maximum of 30 fish pots per 

vessel, when any person on that vessel has set any crab pots. 

1. This subsection shall not apply to fish pots set in the areas 

described in subdivision D 1 of this section. 

2. This subsection shall not apply to legally licensed eel pots 

as described in 4VAC20-500. 

3. This subsection shall not apply to fish pots constructed of 

a mesh less than one-inch square or hexagonal mesh. 

4VAC20-270-50. Peeler crab pot and hard crab pot limits. 

A. It shall be unlawful for any person to place, set or fish or 

attempt to place, set or fish more than 210 peeler crab pots in 

Virginia tidal waters. 

B. The lawful hard crab pot license categories and hard crab 

pot limits are as follows: 

1. Up to 85 crab pots. 

2. Up to 127 crab pots. 

3. Up to 170 crab pots. 

4. Up to 255 crab pots. 

5. Up to 425 crab pots. 

C. It shall be unlawful for any person to knowingly place, set 

or fish any amount of crab pots that exceeds that person's crab 

pot limit, as described in subsection B of this section. 

4VAC20-270-51. Daily commercial harvester, vessel, and 

harvest and possession limits. 

A. Any barrel used by a harvester to contain or possess any 

amount of crabs will be equivalent in volume to no more than 

three bushels of crabs. 

B. From July 5, 2020 2021, through December 19, 2020 

November 30, 2021, and April 1, 2021 2022, through July 4, 

2021 2022, any commercial fisherman registration licensee 

legally licensed for any hard crab pot license, as described in 

4VAC20-270-50 B, shall be limited to the following maximum 

daily harvest and possession limits for any of the following 

hard crab pot license categories: 

1. 10 bushels, or three barrels and one bushel, of crabs if 

licensed for up to 85 crab pots. 

2. 14 bushels, or four barrels and two bushels, of crabs if 

licensed for up to 127 crab pots. 

3. 18 bushels, or six barrels, of crabs if licensed for up to 170 

crab pots. 

4. 29 bushels, or nine barrels and two bushels, of crabs if 

licensed for up to 255 crab pots. 

5. 47 bushels, or 15 barrels and two bushels, of crabs if 

licensed for up to 425 crab pots. 

C. From March 17, 2021 2022, through March 31, 2021 2022, 

any commercial fisherman registration licensee legally 

licensed for any hard crab pot license, as described in 

4VAC20-270-50 B, shall be limited to the following maximum 

daily harvest and possession limits for any of the following 

crab pot license categories: 

1. Eight bushels, or two barrels and two bushels, of crabs if 

licensed for up to 85 crab pots. 

2. 10 bushels, or three barrels and one bushel, of crabs if 

licensed for up to 127 crab pots. 

3. 13 bushels, or four barrels and one bushel, of crabs if 

licensed for up to 170 crab pots. 

4. 21 bushels, or seven barrels, of crabs if licensed for up to 

255 crab pots. 

5. 27 bushels, or nine barrels, of crabs if licensed for up to 

425 crab pots. 

D. When a single harvester or multiple harvesters are on 

board any vessel, that vessel's daily harvest and possession 

limit shall be equal to only one daily harvest and possession 

limit, as described in subsections B and C of this section, and 

that daily limit shall correspond to the highest harvest and 

possession limit of only one licensee on board that vessel. 

E. When transporting or selling one or more legal crab pot 

licensee's crab harvest in bushels or barrels, any agent shall 

possess either the crab pot license of that one or more crab pot 

licensees or a bill of lading indicating each crab pot licensee's 
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name, address, commercial fisherman registration license 

number, date, and amount of bushels or barrels of crabs to be 

sold. 

F. If any police officer finds crabs in excess of any lawful 

daily bushel, barrel, or vessel limit, as described in this section, 

that excess quantity of crabs shall be returned immediately to 

the water by the licensee or licensees who possess that excess 

over lawful daily harvest or possession limit. The refusal to 

return crabs, in excess of any lawful daily harvest or possession 

limit, to the water shall constitute a separate violation of this 

chapter. 

G. When any person on board any boat or vessel possesses a 

crab pot license, it shall be unlawful for that person or any other 

person aboard that boat or vessel to possess a seafood buyers 

boat license and buy any crabs on any day. 

4VAC20-270-52. Area restriction. 

A. It shall be unlawful for any person to use any gear, except 

hard crab pots or peeler pots, to harvest crabs from the waters 

of Back Bay and North Landing River or within the jurisdiction 

of the Albemarle and Currituck watersheds as described in 

§ 28.2-101 of the Code of Virginia. 

B. It shall be unlawful to possess, sell, or offer for sale crabs 

taken by any means other than hard crab pot or peeler pot from 

the waters described in this section. 

4VAC20-270-55. Minimum size limits. 

A. From March 17 through July 15, it shall be unlawful for 

any person to harvest, possess, sell, or offer for sale more than 

10 peeler crabs, per United States standard bushel, or 5.0% of 

peeler crabs in any other container, that measure less than 3-

1/4 inches across the shell from tip to tip of the longest spikes. 

From July 16 through December 19 November 30, it shall be 

unlawful for any person to harvest, possess, sell, or offer for 

sale more than 10 peeler crabs, per United States standard 

bushel, or 5.0% of peeler crabs in any other container, that 

measure less than 3-1/2 inches across the shell from tip to tip 

of the longest spikes, except as described in subsections B and 

C of this section. 

B. From July 16 through December 19 November 30, it shall 

be unlawful for any person to harvest, possess, sell, or offer for 

sale more than 10 peeler crabs, per United States standard 

bushel, or 5.0% of peeler crabs in any other container, that are 

harvested from waters on the ocean side of Accomack and 

Northampton Counties and measure less than 3-1/4 inches 

across the shell from tip to tip of the longest spikes, except as 

described in subsection C of this section. 

C. In the enforcement of these peeler crab minimum size 

limits aboard a vessel, the marine police officer shall select a 

single container of peeler crabs of his choosing to determine if 

the contents of that container violate the minimum size and 

tolerance described in this section. If the officer determines the 

contents of the container are in violation, then the officer shall 

return all peeler crabs on board the vessel to the water alive. 

D. It shall be unlawful for any person to take, catch, harvest, 

possess, sell or offer for sale, or to destroy in any manner, any 

soft crab that measures less than 3-1/2 inches across the shell 

from tip to tip of the longest spikes. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R21-6843; Filed June 24, 2021, 2:28 p.m. 

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Marine Resources Commission 

is claiming an exemption from the Administrative Process Act 

in accordance with § 2.2-4006 A 11 of the Code of Virginia; 

however, the commission is required to publish the full text of 

final regulations. 

Title of Regulation: 4VAC20-610. Pertaining to Commercial 

Fishing and Mandatory Harvest Reporting (amending 

4VAC20-610-20, 4VAC20-610-60). 

Statutory Authority: § 28.2-201 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: January 1, 2022. 

Agency Contact: Jennifer Farmer, Regulatory Coordinator, 

Marine Resources Commission, 380 Fenwick Road, Fort 

Monroe, VA 23551, telephone (757) 247-2248, or email 

jennifer.farmer@mrc.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendments establish mandatory commercial online 

harvest reporting for blue crabs. 

4VAC20-610-20. Definitions. 

The following words and terms when used in this chapter 

shall have the following meanings unless the context clearly 

indicates otherwise: 

"Agent" means any person who possesses the Commercial 

Fisherman Registration License, fishing gear license, or 

fishing permit of a registered commercial fisherman in order to 

fish that commercial fisherman's gear or sell that commercial 

fisherman's harvest. 

"Blue crab" means any crustacean of the species Callinectes 

sapidus. 

"Clam aquaculture harvester" means any person who harvests 

clams from leased, subleased, or fee simple ground or any 

aquaculture growing area, within or adjacent to Virginia tidal 

waters. 

"Clam aquaculture product owner" means any person or firm 

that owns clams on leased, subleased, or fee simple ground, or 

any aquaculture growing area within or adjacent to Virginia 

tidal waters that are raised by any form of aquaculture. This 

does not include any riparian shellfish gardeners whose 

activities are authorized by 4VAC20-336, General Permit No. 

3 Pertaining to Noncommercial Riparian Shellfish Growing 

Activities. 
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"Clam aquaculture product owner vessel" means any vessel, 

legally permitted through a no-cost permit, by a clam 

aquaculture product owner, used to transport clam aquaculture 

harvesters who do not possess an individual Clam Aquaculture 

Harvester Permit. 

"Cobia" means any fish of the species Rachycentron 

canadum. 

"Commercial fisherman" means any person who has obtained 

a Commercial Fisherman Registration License from the 

commission. 

"Commission" means the Marine Resources Commission. 

"Continuing business enterprise" means any business that is 

required to have a Virginia Seafood Buyer's License or is 

required to have a business license by county, city, or local 

ordinance. 

"Mandatory Harvest Reporting Program Web Application" 

means the online web-based resource provided by the 

commission to report commercial harvest of seafood at 

https://webapps.mrc.virginia.gov/harvest/. 

"Oyster" means any shellfish of the species Crassostrea 

virginica. 

"Oyster aquaculture harvester" means any person who 

harvests oysters from leased, subleased, or fee simple ground 

or any aquaculture growing area, within or adjacent to Virginia 

tidal waters. 

"Oyster aquaculture product owner" means any person or 

firm that owns oysters on leased, subleased, or fee simple 

ground or any aquaculture growing area within or adjacent to 

Virginia tidal waters that are raised by any form of aquaculture. 

This does not include any riparian shellfish gardeners whose 

activities are authorized by 4VAC20-336, General Permit No. 

3 Pertaining to Noncommercial Riparian Shellfish Growing 

Activities. 

"Oyster aquaculture product owner vessel" means any vessel, 

legally permitted through a no-cost permit, by an oyster 

aquaculture product owner, used to transport oyster 

aquaculture harvesters who do not possess an individual oyster 

aquaculture harvester permit. 

"Seafood landing licensee" means any individual who has 

obtained a Seafood Landing License from the commission. 

4VAC20-610-60. Mandatory harvest reporting. 

A. It shall be unlawful for any valid commercial fisherman 

registration licensee, seafood landing licensee, oyster 

aquaculture product owner permittee, or clam aquaculture 

product owner permittee to fail to fully report harvests and 

related information as set forth in this chapter. 

B. It shall be unlawful for any recreational fisherman, charter 

boat captain, head boat captain, commercial fishing pier 

operator, or owner of a private boat licensed pursuant to 

§§ 28.2-302.7 through 28.2-302.9 of the Code of Virginia, to 

fail to report recreational harvests, upon request, to those 

authorized by the commission. 

C. All registered commercial fishermen and any valid seafood 

landing licensee shall complete a daily form accurately 

quantifying and legibly describing that day's harvest from 

Virginia tidal waters and federal waters. The forms used to 

record daily harvest shall be those provided by the commission 

or another form or method approved by the commission. 

Registered commercial fishermen and seafood landing 

licensees may use more than one form when selling to more 

than one buyer. 

D. Any oyster aquaculture product owner permittee or clam 

aquaculture product owner permittee shall provide monthly 

harvest records accurately quantifying and legibly describing 

that month's harvest from Virginia tidal waters as described in 

subsection H of this section. All records shall only be 

submitted through the Online Mandatory Harvest Reporting 

Program Web Application. 

E. Registered commercial fishermen, seafood landing 

licensees, valid oyster aquaculture product owner permittees, 

and valid clam aquaculture product owner permittees shall 

submit a monthly harvest report to the commission no later 

than the fifth day of the following month, except as described 

in subsection F of this section. This report shall be 

accompanied by the daily harvest records described in 

subsection H of this section. Completed forms shall be mailed 

or delivered to the Virginia Marine Resources Commission, 

380 Fenwick Road, Building 96, Fort Monroe, VA 23651, or 

be submitted through the Online Mandatory Harvest Reporting 

Program Web Application. 

F. All reports of the commercial harvest of cobia shall only 

be submitted through the Mandatory Harvest Reporting 

Program Web Application. This report shall provide daily 

harvest records from Sunday through Saturday as described in 

subsection H of this section and be submitted on a weekly basis 

no later than Wednesday of the following week. 

G. All reports of the commercial harvest of oysters or blue 

crabs shall only be submitted through the Online Mandatory 

Harvest Reporting Program Web Application. This report shall 

provide daily harvest records of oysters or blue crabs as 

described in subsection H of this section and be submitted no 

later than the fifth day of the following month. 

H. The harvest report requirements shall be as follows: 

1. Registered commercial fishermen shall be responsible for 

providing a harvest report and daily harvest records that include 

the name and signature of the registered commercial fisherman 

and the commercial fisherman's registration license number; the 

name and license registration number of any agent, if used; the 

license registration number of no more than five additional 

harvesters who were not serving as agents; any buyer or private 

sale information; the date of any harvest; the city or county of 

https://webapps.mrc.virginia.gov/harvest/
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landing that harvest; the water body fished, gear type, and 

amount of gear used for that harvest; the number of hours any 

gear was fished and the number of hours the registered 

commercial fisherman fished; the number of crew on board, 

including captain; species harvested; market category; live 

weight or processed weight of species harvested; and vessel 

identification (Coast Guard documentation number, Virginia 

license number, or hull/VIN number). Any information on the 

price paid for the harvest may be provided voluntarily. 

2. The harvest report from oyster aquaculture product owner 

permittees and clam aquaculture product owner permittees shall 

include the name, signature, permit number, lease number, date 

of the last day of the reporting month, city or county of landing, 

gear (growing technique) used, weight or amount of species 

harvested by market category, total number of individual crew 

members for the month, and buyer or private sale information. 

3. The harvest report and daily harvest records from seafood 

landing licensees shall include the name and signature of the 

seafood landing licensee and the licensee's seafood landing 

license number; buyer or private sale information; date of 

harvest; city or county of landing; water body fished; gear type 

and amount used; number of hours gear fished; number of hours 

the seafood landing licensee fished; number of crew on board, 

including captain; non-federally permitted species harvested; 

market category; live weight or processed weight of species 

harvested; and vessel identification (Coast Guard 

documentation number, Virginia license number, or hull/VIN 

number). 

I. Registered commercial fishermen, oyster aquaculture product 

owner permittees and clam aquaculture product owner permittees 

not fishing during a month, or seafood landing licensees not 

landing in Virginia during a month shall so notify the commission 

no later than the fifth of the following month by postage paid 

postal card provided by the commission or by calling the 

commission's toll free telephone line or through the Online 

Mandatory Harvest Reporting Program Web Application. 

J. Any person licensed as a commercial seafood buyer pursuant 

to § 28.2-228 of the Code of Virginia shall maintain for a period 

of one year a copy of each fisherman's daily harvest record form 

for each purchase made. Such records shall be made available 

upon request to those authorized by the commission. 

K. The reporting of the harvest of federally permitted species 

from beyond Virginia's tidal waters that are sold to a federally 

permitted dealer shall be exempt from the procedures described in 

this section. 

L. The owner of any purse seine vessel or bait seine vessel 

(snapper rig) licensed under the provisions of § 28.2-402 of the 

Code of Virginia shall submit the Captain's Daily Fishing Reports 

to the National Marine Fisheries Service, in accordance with 

provisions of Amendment 1 to the Interstate Fishery Management 

Plan of the Atlantic States Marine Fisheries Commission for 

Atlantic Menhaden, which became effective July 2001. 

M. Registered commercial fishermen, seafood landing licensees, 

and licensed seafood buyers shall allow those authorized by the 

commission to sample harvest and seafood products to obtain 

biological information for scientific and management purposes 

only. Such sampling shall be conducted in a manner that does not 

hinder normal business operations. 

N. Registered commercial fishermen, seafood landing licensees, 

oyster aquaculture product owner permittees, and clam 

aquaculture product owner permittees shall maintain their harvest 

records for one year and shall make them available upon request 

to those authorized by the commission. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R21-6844; Filed June 23, 2021, 10:20 a.m. 

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Marine Resources Commission 

is claiming an exemption from the Administrative Process Act 

in accordance with § 2.2-4006 A 11 of the Code of Virginia; 

however, the commission is required to publish the full text of 

final regulations. 

Title of Regulation: 4VAC20-1140. Prohibition of Crab 

Dredging in Virginia Waters (amending 4VAC20-1140-20). 

Statutory Authority: § 28.2-201 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: July 5, 2021. 

Agency Contact: Jennifer Farmer, Marine Resources 

Commission, 380 Fenwick Road, Fort Monroe, VA 23551, 

telephone (757) 247-2248, or email 

jennifer.farmer@mrc.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendment closes the 2021-2022 blue crab dredge 

fishery. 

4VAC20-1140-20. Crab dredging prohibited. 

In accordance with the provisions of § 28.2-707 of the Code of 

Virginia, the crab dredging season of December 1, 2020 2021, 

through March 31, 2021 2022, is closed, and it shall be unlawful 

to use a dredge for catching crabs from the waters of the 

Commonwealth during that season. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R21-6845; Filed June 23, 2021, 10:18 a.m. 

  ––––––––––––––––––  

TITLE 8. EDUCATION 

STATE BOARD OF EDUCATION 

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: Chapters 860 and 861 of the 2020 Acts 

of Assembly transfer the authority to license and regulate child 

day programs and other early child care agencies from the State 

Board of Social Services to the State Board of Education effective 

July 1, 2021. This regulatory action to transfer and establish the 

necessary regulations is excluded from the Administrative Process 

Act in accordance with enactment clause 9 of Chapters 860 and 

861. 
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Titles of Regulations: 8VAC20-770. Background Checks for 

Child Day Programs and Family Day Systems (adding 

8VAC20-770-10 through 8VAC20-770-150). 

8VAC20-780. Standards for Licensed Child Day Centers 

(adding 8VAC20-780-10 through 8VAC20-780-610). 

8VAC20-790. Child Care Program (adding 8VAC20-790-

10 through 8VAC20-790-850). 

8VAC20-800. Standards for Licensed Family Day Homes 

(adding 8VAC20-800-10 through 8VAC20-800-1020). 

8VAC20-810. Minimum Standards for Licensed Family 

Day Systems (adding 8VAC20-810-10 through 8VAC20-

810-60). 

8VAC20-820. General Procedures and Information for 

Licensure (adding 8VAC20-820-10 through 8VAC20-820-

500). 

8VAC20-830. Fee Requirements for Processing Applications 

(adding 8VAC20-830-10). 

8VAC20-840. Virginia Child Care Provider Scholarship 

Program (adding 8VAC20-840-10 through 8VAC20-840-90). 

8VAC20-850. Voluntary Registration of Family Day 

Homes - Requirements for Providers (adding 8VAC20-

850-10 through 8VAC20-850-110). 

Statutory Authority: §§ 22.1-16 and 22.1-289.046 of the Code 

of Virginia. 

Effective Date: July 1, 2021. 

Agency Contact: Rebecca Ullrich, Early Childhood Planning 

and Policy Coordinator, Department of Education, 101 North 

14th Street, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 371-7578, 

or email rebecca.ullrich@doe.virginia.gov. 

Background: 

Chapters 860 and 861 of the 2020 Acts of the General 

Assembly establish § 22.1-289.03 of the Code of Virginia, 

which requires the State Board of Education to establish a 

statewide unified public-private system for early childhood 

care and education in the Commonwealth. The system is to be 

administered by the board, the Superintendent of Public 

Instruction, and the Department of Education (VDOE) 

effective July 1, 2021. The acts transfer the authority to license 

and regulate child day programs and other early child care 

agencies from the State Board of Social Services and 

Department of Social Services (VDSS) to the board and 

VDOE. Funding and oversight of early childhood care and 

education (ECCE) programs and policies, including the Child 

Care Subsidy Program and child care licensing and 

monitoring, transition from VDSS to VDOE. The acts provide 

that the regulations governing the implementation and 

oversight of ECCE programs be transferred from the State 

Board of Social Services to the State Board of Education and 

maintain current licensure, background check, and other 

requirements of such programs. 

Summary: 

This action transfers or replicates the regulations of the 

State Board of Social Services for early childhood care 

and education to or under the State Board of Education. 

Amendments include (i) renumbering or replicating the 

regulations to place them under the State Board of 

Education in the Virginia Administrative Code (VAC); (ii) 

changing references from the State Board of Social 

Services to the State Board of Education; (iii) changing 

Code of Virginia and VAC references and descriptions. 

Chapter 770 

Background Checks for Child Day Programs and Family Day 

Systems 

8VAC20-770-10. Defining words and phrases.  

The following words and terms when used in this chapter 

shall have the following meanings unless the context clearly 

indicates otherwise: 

"Agent" means a person who is empowered to act on behalf 

of the applicant that is an association, partnership, limited 

liability company, business trust, public agency, or corporation 

in matters relating to a child day program or family day system. 

"Applicant" means the person or persons applying for 

approval as a (i) licensed family day home; (ii) licensed family 

day system; (iii) voluntarily registered family day home; (iv) 

family day home approved by a licensed family day system; 

(v) religious exempt child day center or (vi) licensed child day 

center. In the case of a sole proprietorship, the applicant is the 

individual owner. In the case of a partnership, the applicants 

are all the partners. If the applicant is a corporation, 

association, or business trust, the applicants are officers. If the 

applicant is a limited liability company, the applicants are the 

members or managers. If the applicant is a public agency, the 

applicant is the person responsible for the overall operation of 

the public agency. 

"Approved" means having obtained the status of approval 

through the process required in Minimum Standards for Licensed 

Family Day Systems (8VAC20-810). Approved facilities are 

family day homes approved by licensed family day systems. 

"Background checks" means a sworn statement or 

affirmation, a criminal history record report, and a child 

protective services central registry check. 

"Barrier crime" means a conviction identified at § 22.1-

289.034 in the Code of Virginia. The convictions, and Code of 

Virginia references, are: a felony violation of a protective order 

as set out in § 16.1-253.2, murder or manslaughter as set out in 

Article 1 (§ 18.2-30 et seq.), malicious wounding by mob as 

set out in § 18.2-41, abduction as set out in subsection A or B 

of § 18.2-47, abduction for immoral purposes as set out in 

§ 18.2-48, assault and bodily woundings as set out in Article 4 

(§ 18.2-51 et seq.), robbery as set out in § 18.2-58, carjacking 

as set out in § 18.2-58.1, extortion by threat as set out in § 18.2-

59, felony stalking as set out in § 18.2-60.3, a felony violation 



Regulations 

Volume 37, Issue 24  Virginia Register of Regulations  July 19, 2021  

3505 

of a protective order as set out in § 18.2-60.4, sexual assault as 

set out in Article 7 (§ 18.2-61 et seq.) of Chapter 4 of Title 

18.2, arson as set out in Article 1 (§ 18.2-77 et seq.) of Chapter 

5 of Title 18.2, burglary as set out in Article 2 (§ 18.2-89 et 

seq.) of Chapter 5 of Title 18.2, any felony violation relating to 

possession or distribution of drugs as set out in Article 1 

(§ 18.2-247 et seq.) of Chapter 7 of Title 18.2, drive-by 

shooting as set out in § 18.2-286.1, use of a machine gun in a 

crime of violence as set out in § 18.2-289, aggressive use of a 

machine gun as set out in § 18.2-290, use of a sawed-off 

shotgun in a crime of violence as set out in subsection A of 

§ 18.2-300, failure to secure medical attention for an injured 

child as set out in § 18.2-314, pandering as set out in § 18.2-

355, crimes against nature involving children as set out in 

§ 18.2-361, incest as set out in § 18.2-366, taking indecent 

liberties with children as set out in § 18.2-370 or § 18.2-370.1, 

abuse and neglect of children as set out in § 18.2-371.1, 

obscenity offenses as set out in § 18.2-374.1, possession of 

child pornography as set out in § 18.2-374.1:1, electronic 

facilitation of pornography as set out in § 18.2-374.3, abuse 

and neglect of incapacitated adults as set out in § 18.2-369, 

employing or permitting a minor to assist in an act constituting 

an offense under Article 5 (§ 18.2-372 et seq.) of Chapter 8 of 

Title 18.2 as set out in § 18.2-379, delivery of drugs to 

prisoners as set out in § 18.2-474.1, escape from jail as set out 

in § 18.2-477, felonies by prisoners as set out in § 53.1-203; or 

an equivalent offense in another state. 

"Board" means State Board of Education. 

"Central registry" means the record of founded complaints of 

child abuse and neglect maintained by the Department of 

Social Services. 

"Central registry finding" means the record of founded 

complaints of child abuse and neglect for an individual. 

"Central Criminal Records Exchange" or "CCRE" means the 

information system containing conviction data of crimes 

committed in Virginia. The system is maintained by the 

Department of State Police. 

"Child day program" means a regularly operating service 

arrangement for children where, during the absence of a parent 

or guardian, a person or organization has agreed to assume 

responsibility for the supervision, protection, and well-being of 

a child under the age of 13 for less than a 24-hour period. 

"Contract agency" means an entity with which the facility or 

a parent has an agreement to provide services to a child or 

children while attending the facility. 

"Contract employee" means a person with whom the facility 

or a parent has an agreement to provide services to a child or 

children while attending the facility. 

"Contracting organization" means an agency that has been 

designated by the Department of Education to administer the 

voluntary registration program for family day homes. 

"Criminal history record check" means the process the 

Department of State Police uses to generate a criminal record 

report on a person. The check may be a state check generated 

solely through the Central Criminal Records Exchange or a 

check forwarded through the Central Criminal Records 

Exchange to the Federal Bureau of Investigation for the 

purpose of obtaining national criminal history record 

information. 

"Criminal history record report" means either the criminal 

record clearance or the criminal history record issued by the 

Central Criminal Records Exchange, Department of State 

Police. The report identifies convictions within the 

Commonwealth. 

"Department" means the Department of Education. 

"Department representative" means an employee of the 

department who carries out regulatory duties or an agency 

acting as an authorized agent of the department carrying out 

approval functions. Licensed family day systems have 

authority to approve family day homes.  

"Disqualifying background" means having an offense, as 

defined in § 22.1-289.032 of the Code of Virginia. For the 

purpose of this chapter, having been the subject of a founded 

abuse or neglect complaint as described in "offense" includes 

records that have been purged from the child abuse and neglect 

central registry. However, no person is considered to be the 

subject of a founded complaint of child abuse or neglect until 

a decision upholding the finding has been rendered by the 

hearing officer after the administrative hearing, provided the 

person complies with the requirements for requesting an 

administrative hearing. No person is considered to be the 

subject of a founded complaint of child abuse or neglect if the 

child abuse or neglect finding is overturned by an 

administrative hearing or a subsequent court decision. 

"Employee" means a person hired by a facility or with whom 

the facility has an employment agreement. A provider assistant 

in a family day home is considered an employee in this chapter. 

"Facility" means (i) a licensed family day home; (ii) a 

licensed family day system; (iii) a voluntarily registered family 

day home; (iv) a family day home approved by a licensed 

family day system; (v) a licensed child day center; (vi) a 

religious exempt child day center; and (vii) an applicant 

seeking a waiver in order to establish one of the above listed 

entities. 

"Family day home" means a child day program offered in the 

residence of the provider or the home of any of the children in 

care for one through 12 children under the age of 13 years, 

exclusive of the provider's own children and any children who 

reside in the home, when at least one child receives care for 

compensation. The provider of a licensed or registered family 

day home must disclose to the parents or guardians of children 

in his care the percentage of time per week that persons other 

than the provider will care for the children. Family day homes 
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serving five through 12 children, exclusive of the provider's 

own children and any children who reside in the home, must 

be licensed. No family day home shall care for more than four 

children under the age of two years, including the provider's 

own children and any children who reside in the home, unless 

the family day home is licensed or voluntarily registered. 

However, a family day home where the children in care are all 

related to the provider by blood or marriage is not required to 

be licensed. 

"Family day system" means any person that approves family 

day homes as members of its system; that refers children to 

available family day homes in that system; and that, through 

contractual arrangement, may provide central administrative 

functions including, but not limited to, training of operators of 

member homes; technical assistance and consultation to 

operators of member homes; inspection, supervision, 

monitoring, and evaluation of member homes; and referral of 

children to available health and social services. 

"Good character and reputation" means that the person (i) 

maintains business, professional, family, and community 

relationships that are characterized by honesty, fairness, 

truthfulness and dependability and (ii) has a history or pattern 

of behavior that demonstrates that the person is suitable and 

able to care for, guide, supervise, and protect children. 

"Involved in the day-to-day operations" means: 

1. In a supervisory or management position, making daily 

decisions regarding the operation of the facility; 

2. Counted by the facility for purposes of staff-to-children 

ratios; 

3. Employed by a licensed family day system as a home 

visitor; or 

4. Having access to child-related and client-related records 

or to facility personnel records. 

"Licensed" means having met the requirements of and 

obtained licensure as a licensed family day system, licensed 

child day program, or licensed family day home. 

"Living in" means to reside in a place for an extended or 

permanent period of time. 

"Local agency" means local department of social services. 

"May" means has permission. 

"Must" means the action is a requirement. 

"Must not" means the action is prohibited. 

"National criminal background check" means criminal 

history record information from the Federal Bureau of 

Investigation. 

"Offense" means a (i) conviction of a barrier crime, (ii) 

conviction of any other felony not included in the definition of 

barrier crime unless five years have elapsed since conviction, 

(iii) founded complaint of child abuse or neglect within or 

outside the Commonwealth, or (iv) a conviction of an offense 

set forth in § 9.1-902 of the Code of Virginia or a finding that 

a person is not guilty by reason of insanity in accordance with 

Chapter 11.1 (§ 19.2-182.2 et seq.) of Title 19.2 of the Code of 

Virginia of an offense set forth in § 9.1-902 that results in the 

person's requirement to register with the Sex Offender and 

Crimes Against Minors Registry pursuant to § 9.1-901 of the 

Code of Virginia, or any similar registry in any other state. 

Convictions include prior adult convictions and juvenile 

convictions or adjudications of delinquency based on a crime 

that would be a felony if committed by an adult within or 

outside the Commonwealth. 

"Other felony" means conviction for any felony in the last 

five years that is not a barrier crime felony. 

"Parent-volunteer" means someone supervising, without pay, 

a group of children that includes the parent-volunteer's own 

child in a program that operates no more than four hours per 

day, provided that the parent-volunteer works under the direct 

supervision of a person who has received a clearance pursuant 

to § 22.1-289.035 or 22.1-289.039 of the Code of Virginia. 

"Registered" means having obtained the status of registration 

through the process required in Voluntary Registration of 

Family Day Homes - Requirements for Providers (8VAC20-

850). 

"Registered family day home" means any family day home 

that has met the standards for voluntary registration for such 

homes and obtained a certificate of registration from the 

Superintendent. 

"Religious exempt center" means an unlicensed child day 

center operated or conducted under the auspices of a religious 

institution that has filed with the Superintendent a satisfactory 

annual statement of intent to operate a child day center and 

other information as specified in § 22.1-289.031 of the Code 

of Virginia and has a letter of exemption from the 

Superintendent. 

"Search of central registry" means the process the Virginia 

Department of Social Services' Child Protective Services Unit 

uses to generate a central registry report on a person. 

"Superintendent" means Superintendent of Public Instruction 

or his designee. 

"Sworn statement or affirmation" means a statement 

completed by a person attesting to whether he has ever been (i) 

convicted of or the subject of pending charges of any crime 

within or outside the Commonwealth or an equivalent offense 

outside the Commonwealth or (ii) the subject of a founded 

complaint of child abuse or neglect within or outside the 

Commonwealth. Additionally for family day homes, the 

provider affirms if he, or any person known to the provider 

who resides in the home, has a sex offense conviction or is the 

subject of a founded complaint of child abuse or neglect within 
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or outside the Commonwealth. Any person making a false 

statement regarding any such offense shall be guilty of a Class 

1 misdemeanor pursuant to § 22.1-289.035 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

"8VAC" means Title 8 of the Virginia Administrative Code. 

This is the education title. 

"Visit" means a stay or sojourn as a quest for no longer than 

30 calendar days. 

"Volunteer" means a person who provides services without 

pay and who is alone with a child or children in performance 

of his duties. 

8VAC20-770-20. Describing background checks. 

A. The background checks covered by this chapter are: 

1. Sworn statement or affirmation; 

2. Criminal history record check; 

3. National criminal background check; and 

4. Central registry search. 

B. The provisions for background checks are in §§ 22.1-

289.015 and 22.1-289.034 through 22.1-289.041 of the Code 

of Virginia. 

C. Provisions for enforcement of background check 

regulations and other licensing, registration, and approval 

standards are in Chapter 14.1 (§ 22.1-289.010 et seq.) of Title 

22.1 of the Code of Virginia. 

D. The sworn statement or affirmation is a written document 

in which a person must disclose any criminal conviction and 

any pending criminal charges within or outside Virginia. 

1. For the purposes of this chapter, conviction includes any 

juvenile conviction or determination of delinquency if the 

offense involved would be a felony if committed by an adult 

within or outside Virginia. 

2. The person must also disclose any instance of being the 

subject of a founded complaint of child abuse or neglect 

within or outside Virginia. 

3. The person must use either the model form prepared by 

the department or use a self-created form that includes all of 

the information that appears on the model form. 

The department provides the model sworn statement or 

affirmation form on its website. Requesters are permitted to 

submit copies of the form. The person who signs the sworn 

statement or affirmation affirms the truth of the statement. 

E. The criminal history record check is the process of the 

Department of State Police to generate a criminal record report 

on a person. The report must be either the criminal record 

clearance or the criminal history record. The criminal record 

clearance shows whether the person is guilty of: 

1. A barrier crime, as defined in § 22.1-289.034 of the Code 

of Virginia; and/or 

2. Any other felony not included in the definition of barrier 

crime unless five years have elapsed since the conviction. 

The criminal history record report shows all convictions. 

F. The person must use the form and process of the Central 

Criminal Records Exchange (CCRE) of the Department of 

State Police for this check. The Department of State Police 

provides original criminal history record check forms to 

facilities upon receipt of request. The Department of State 

Police also provides website access to this form for facilities 

that are noncriminal justice inquiry interface users. The CCRE 

verifies criminal history record reports. 

G. The national criminal background check is the process of 

obtaining criminal history record information from the Federal 

Bureau of Investigation through the Central Criminal Records 

Exchange. 

1. The person must submit to fingerprinting and provide 

personal descriptive information. 

2. The person must use the process of the Central Criminal 

Records Exchange to request and receive a national criminal 

background check. 

H. The search of the central registry is a check to determine 

if the person has ever been the subject of a founded complaint 

of child abuse or neglect in Virginia. 

I. The person must use the form and process of the 

Department of Social Services' Office of Background 

Investigations (OBI). The Department of Social Services 

provides the central registry request form on its website. 

Requesters are permitted to submit copies of this form. OBI 

verifies child protective services central registry check 

findings. 

The department and registering and approval agencies 

provide copies of all forms in application packets. 

8VAC20-770-30. Identifying the facilities that are not 

covered by this chapter.  

A. Certified preschools or nursery schools operated by 

accredited private schools that are accredited in accordance 

with § 22.1-289.032 of the Code of Virginia; and family day 

homes that are not required to be licensed, registered, or 

approved are not covered by this chapter. 

B. Background check requirements for certified preschool or 

nursery school programs operated by accredited private 

schools are at § 22.1-289.032 of the Code of Virginia. 

C. Background check requirements for child day centers or 

family day homes that are not licensed, registered, approved, 

or exempt from licensure and receive federal, state or local 

child care funds are at § 22.1-289.040 of the Code of Virginia. 
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8VAC20-770-40. Identifying who is covered by this 

chapter.  

A. This chapter applies to: 

1. Licensed family day homes; 

2. Licensed family day systems; 

3. Family day homes approved by family day systems; 

4. Voluntarily registered family day homes; 

5. Religious exempt child day centers; and 

6. Licensed child day centers. 

B. Except as provided in 8VAC20-770-50 A, no person with 

a disqualifying background who has not been granted a waiver 

according to 8VAC20-770-90 may operate or volunteer or 

work at a facility governed by this chapter. 

C. Background checks are required at the time of initial 

application. 

1. These background checks are required at the time of initial 

application for licensure, registration, or approval: 

Who What When 

a. Any applicant Sworn statement or 

affirmation, search 

of central registry, 

and criminal history 

record check 

Upon application 

for licensure or 

registration as a 

child day program 

or family day 

system 

b. Any agent at 

the time of 

application who 

is or will be 

involved in the 

day-to-day 

operations of the 

child day 

program or who 

is or will be alone 

with, in control 

of, or supervising 

one or more of 

the children 

Same Same 

c. Any other adult 

living in the 

home of an 

applicant for 

licensure or 

registration as a 

family day home, 

or any existing 

employee or 

volunteer 

Same Upon application 

for licensure or 

registration as a 

family day home 

d. Operator of 

family day home 

requesting 

approval by 

family day 

system 

Sworn statement or 

affirmation, search 

of central registry, 

and criminal history 

record check 

Upon request for 

approval by family 

day system 

e. Any other adult 

residing in the 

family day home 

requesting 

approval and any 

employee or 

volunteer of a 

family day home 

Same Upon request by 

operator for 

approval by family 

day system 

2. These background checks are required at the time of initial 

application for religious exemption status: 

Who What When 

Any person who 

will be expected 

to be alone with 

one or more 

children enrolled 

in a religious 

exempt child day 

center except a 

parent-volunteer, 

as defined in this 

chapter, or a 

parent or 

guardian who 

may be left alone 

with his or her 

own child 

Documentary 

evidence of sworn 

statement or 

affirmation, search 

of the central 

registry, and criminal 

history record check 

With the written 

request for 

religious 

exemption status 

D. Background checks are required after the initial licensure, 

registration, approval, or receipt of religious exemption status. 

1. These background checks are required after initial 

licensure, registration, or approval: 

Who What When 

a. New person 

designated as 

applicant, 

licensee, 

registrant, family 

day home 

operator approved 

by a family day 

system, or agent 

who is or will be 

involved in the 

day-to-day 

operations of the 

facility or who is 

or will be alone 

Sworn statement or 

affirmation 

Whenever an 

applicant, licensee, 

approved family 

day home operator, 

or registrant 

changes 

Search of central 

registry and 

criminal history 

record check 

Before the end of 

30 days after the 

change 
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with, in control 

of, or supervising 

one or more of 

the children 

b. Any employee 

of a licensed, 

registered, and 

approved facility 

who is involved 

in the day-to-day 

operations or who 

is alone with, in 

control of, or 

supervising one 

or more children 

Sworn statement or 

affirmation 

Prior to first day of 

employment at the 

facility 

Search of central 

registry and 

criminal history 

record check 

Before 30 days of 

employment at the 

facility ends 

c. Any applicant, 

licensee, family 

day home 

operator approved 

by a family day 

system, agent, 

employee, 

volunteer, and 

person living in 

the family day 

home who is 

required to have 

background 

checks 

Sworn statement or 

affirmation, search 

of central registry 

and criminal history 

record check 

Before three years 

since the dates of 

the last sworn 

statement or 

affirmation, most 

recent central 

registry finding and 

most recent 

criminal history 

record check report 

d. Voluntary 

registration 

provider, provider 

assistant, 

substitute 

provider, if any, 

and any adult 

residing in the 

home 

Sworn statement or 

affirmation, search 

of central registry 

and criminal history 

record check 

90 days before the 

date of application 

for renewal of the 

current certificate 

of registration (The 

application for 

renewal must be 

received by the 

contracting 

organization no 

later than 45 days 

before the 

expiration of the 

current certificate 

of registration.) 

e. Volunteer at 

licensed, 

registered, or 

approved facility 

who will be alone 

with any child in 

the performance 

of duties, 

excluding a 

parent-volunteer 

for children 

attending a 

Sworn statement or 

affirmation 

Prior to first day of 

service at the 

facility 

Search of central 

registry and 

criminal history 

record check 

Before 30 days of 

service at the 

facility elapses 

licensed, 

registered, or 

approved 

program 

2. These background checks are required after receipt of the 

initial religious exemption status letter. 

Annually, prior to the expiration date in the current 

exemption letter, the religious exempt child day center must 

file with the department documentary evidence that the 

center is in compliance with the following: 

Who What When 

Prospective 

employee, 

volunteer, or any 

other person who 

is expected to be 

alone with one or 

more children 

enrolled in the 

religious exempt 

child day center 

except a parent-

volunteer, or a 

parent or 

guardian who 

may be left alone 

with his or her 

own child 

Sworn statement or 

affirmation 

Before employment 

or commencement 

of service at the 

facility 

Search of central 

registry and 

criminal history 

record check, as 

requested by the 

individual 

Within 30 days of 

employment or 

commencement of 

service 

3. Background checks are required for independent contract 

employees and employees hired by a contract agency. 

If a licensed, registered, or approved facility uses 

independent contract employees or contract employees hired 

by a contract agency who will be involved in the day-to-day 

operations of the facility or who will be alone with, in control 

of, or supervising one or more children, the facility must: 

a. Obtain background checks according to the above 

requirements for employees, or view the original required 

background checks maintained by the contract employee 

or contract agency; 

b. Accept all satisfactory background checks dated less 

than six months before independent contract employees or 

contract employees hired by contract agencies begin 

providing services at facilities; 

c. Make copies, and keep them at the licensed, registered, 

or approved facilities. Staff must write on the copies of the 

criminal record reports that they are photocopies of 

originals that facility staff verified; and 

d. Provide a sworn statement or affirmation, search of 

central registry and criminal history record check before 

three years since the dates of the last sworn statement or 

affirmation, most recent central registry finding and most 

recent criminal history record check report. 
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4. A person 18 years of age and older must have background 

checks: 

Who What When 

A Person living 

in: 

The home of an 

applicant* or 

The home of a 

licensed or 

registered family 

day home 

provider 

Sworn statement or 

affirmation 

When person age 

18 years or older 

begins residing in 

the home or when a 

person in the home 

becomes 18 years 

old 

Search of central 

registry and criminal 

history record check, 

as requested by the 

individual 

Within 30 days of a 

person 18 years of 

age or older 

beginning to reside 

in the home or a 

person in the home 

becoming 18 years 

old 

*Note: This does not apply to applicants for family day 

systems, child day centers, or to religious exempt child day 

centers. 

5. A person 14 years of age and older must have a search of 

the central registry and make the information available for 

regulatory purposes: 

Who What When 

Person living in: 

An applicant's 

home, 

Home of a 

licensed or 

registered family 

day home 

provider, 

Child protective 

services central 

registry check 

Within 30 days of a 

14-year-old 

beginning to reside 

in the home or a 

person in the home 

becoming 14 years 

old 

6. A facility must not accept a required criminal history 

record report or a central registry finding from an applicant, 

licensee, registrant, or other person required to obtain 

background checks that is dated more than 90 days prior to 

the date of employment, volunteering, residing in the home. 

7. Exception: See provisions for contracting agencies in 

subdivision 3 of this subsection. 

8. The department must not accept a required criminal 

history record report or a central registry finding from an 

applicant, licensee, registrant, or person who signs the 

statement of intent to operate a religious exempt center that 

is dated more than 90 days prior to date of licensure, 

registration, approval or exemption, or from the date when 

the person designated as the applicant or licensee changes. 

9. The background checks remain valid at the facility if no 

more than 12 consecutive months have passed from when a 

person (i) began a leave of absence from that facility; (ii) 

was terminated from employment at that facility; or (iii) was 

transferred to a facility owned and operated by the same 

employer or entity, unless there is a criminal conviction or a 

founded complaint of child abuse and neglect during that 

period. 

8VAC20-770-50. Explaining requirements for satisfactory 

background checks.  

A. The department and registering and approving authorities 

must require documentation of satisfactory background checks 

for applicants, agents, employees, volunteers, and others living 

in family day homes as specified in 8VAC20-770-40. 

1. A satisfactory sworn statement or affirmation is: 

a. A fully completed original that states that the person 

does not have an offense; and 

b. There is no other knowledge that the individual has an 

unsatisfactory background. 

Criminal convictions include prior adult convictions and 

juvenile convictions or adjudications of delinquency based 

on a crime that would be a felony if committed by an adult 

within or outside the Commonwealth. Convictions also 

include convictions in other states that are equivalent to 

those specified in this section. 

2. A satisfactory central registry finding is one in which: 

a. A copy of the Department of Social Services child 

protective services check form is returned to the 

requesting agency, the Department, or local department of 

social services indicating that, as of the date on the reply, 

the individual whose name was searched is not identified 

in the central registry as an involved caregiver with a 

founded disposition of child abuse/neglect; and 

b. There is no other knowledge that the individual has a 

founded disposition in Virginia or elsewhere. 

3. A satisfactory criminal history record check report is one 

in which: 

a. An original hard copy or Internet inquiry reply from the 

Department of State Police is returned to the agency, 

individual or authorized agent making the request with: 

(1) No convictions indicated; or 

(2) Convictions indicated, but no barrier crimes, offenses, 

or other felony convictions in the last five years; 

b. A letter is received from the Office of Background 

Investigations with a finding of "eligible"; and 

c. There is no other knowledge that the individual has an 

offense in Virginia or elsewhere. 

The facility must have viewed an original criminal history 

record report maintained by a contract employee or contract 

agency that is dated less than six months before the 

independent contract employee or contract employee is hired 

by a contract agency begins providing services at the facility. 

(See also 8VAC20-770-90.) 
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4. A licensed child day center may hire for compensated 

employment persons who have been convicted of not more 

than one misdemeanor offense as defined in § 18.2-57 of the 

Code of Virginia if 10 years have elapsed following the 

conviction, unless the person committed such offense while 

employed in a child day center or the object of the offense 

was a minor. 

B. Background checks results are not open ended. 

1. When a minor living in a family day home turns 18 years 

of age, the operator is responsible for making sure that the 

18-year-old complies with all background check 

requirements for adults pursuant to 8VAC20-770-40 D. 

2. Operators must submit new background checks as part of 

the renewal application packages of registered family day 

homes. With the exception of those facilities that are exempt 

per § 22.1-289.031 of the Code of Virginia, background 

checks are required every three years for all other persons 

required to have background checks pursuant to 8VAC20-

770-40 D. 

3. If a person leaves a facility and the criminal history record 

report or central registry check finding is less than 91 days 

old, the person must be permitted to take the report or reports 

with him. The facility must keep a copy of any report a 

person takes and write on it that it is a copy, and that the 

original of any criminal history record report was verified. 

4. Unless there is a criminal conviction or a founded 

complaint of child abuse and neglect during that period, a 

background check remains valid at a facility if no more than 

12 consecutive months have passed from when a person: 

a. Began a leave of absence from that facility; 

b. Was terminated from employment at that facility; or 

c. Was transferred to a center owned and operated by the 

same employer or entity. 

5. The facility, department, or registering or approving 

authority may require a new background check relevant to 

this suspicion if there is reason to suspect that a person who 

has submitted acceptable background checks, as required by 

this chapter, has an offense in Virginia or elsewhere. 

6. When the facility, department, or registering or approving 

authority chooses to require a new background check: 

a. The facility, department, or registering or approving 

authority may allow the person to continue the same 

relationship with the child day program until the child care 

provider or licensing, registering, or approval authority 

receives the new Virginia background check information 

or equivalent documentation from another state; or 

b. If there is reason to suspect that a person has an offense, 

the facility, department, or registering or approving 

authority may require that the person not be alone with 

children, even if the documentation is not Virginia 

background check information or equivalent information 

from another state. 

C. Waivers of some criminal convictions are possible. Refer 

to 8VAC20-770-90 through 8VAC20-770-130 for an 

explanation of the waiver. 

8VAC20-770-60. Explaining consequences of 

unsatisfactory background checks results.  

A. Applicants are denied licensure, registration or approval 

when there are unsatisfactory background checks results for: 

1. Applicants as a child day program or family day system; 

2. Agents at the time of application who are or will be 

involved in the day-to-day operations of the child day 

program or who are or will be alone with, in control of, or 

supervising one or more of the children; 

3. Any other adult, or any child aged 14 or older, living in 

the home of an applicant for licensure or registration as a 

family day home with an unsatisfactory central registry 

finding; 

4. Prospective family day home operators and family 

members seeking approval by family day systems. 

B. An employee or volunteer of a licensed or registered child 

day program or of a family day home approved by a family day 

system must not be employed or provide volunteer service until 

the agency or home has the person's completed sworn 

statement or affirmation. 

C. An employee or volunteer of a licensed or registered child 

day program, or of a family day home approved by a family 

day system, must be denied continued employment or 

volunteer service if: 

1. The licensed or registered child day program or family day 

system does not have an original criminal history record 

report within 30 days of employment or volunteer service; 

or 

2. The licensed or registered child day program or family day 

system does not have a central registry finding within 30 

days of employment or volunteer service. 

D. No violation will occur and an employee may continue to 

work, provide service, or live in a licensed, registered, or 

approved family day home if the facility has documentation 

that the criminal history record request, or the request for 

search of the central registry, was submitted within seven 

calendar days of the person being employed or volunteering, 

but the report is not returned within 30 calendar days. 

1. If a requested report was sent within seven calendar days 

but was not returned within 30 calendar days, the requester 

must contact within four working days: 

a. The Central Criminal Records Exchange of the 

Department of State Police; or 



Regulations 

Volume 37, Issue 24  Virginia Register of Regulations  July 19, 2021  

3512 

b. The Office of Background Investigations of the 

Department of Social Services. 

2. If the request was not received, the requestor must submit 

another request within five working days after the contact. 

3. This provision also applies to someone beginning to live 

in a family day home after licensure, registration or approval 

is given or a child who becomes 18 years of age. It also 

applies to a child protective services central registry check 

for a person who becomes 14 years of age. 

E. If the department or a local department of social services 

becomes aware that a person covered by this chapter has a 

disqualifying background, the department or local department 

of social services may release this information to facilities that 

are covered by this chapter. Those facilities must not further 

disseminate this information. 

This provision also applies to a new adult beginning to live in 

a family day home or a child living in a family day home who 

becomes 18 years of age after licensure, registration or 

approval is given. It also applies to a child protective services 

central registry clearance for a person who becomes 14 years 

of age. 

F. Licensed, registered, or approved facilities must inform 

compensated employees and volunteers that the facilities are 

requesting child protective services registry checks and 

criminal history record reports for them. 

G. A facility may choose to request a national criminal 

background check, instead of the criminal history record 

check, for employees and volunteers. 

1. The facility must adhere to Department of State Police 

requirements for obtaining fingerprints, in accordance with 

§ 19.2-392.02 of the Code of Virginia. 

2. The department, and family day system will accept a 

national criminal background check result of "qualified" 

from the Department of State Police. 

3. If the screening result is "disqualified," the facility must 

obtain a satisfactory criminal history record check from the 

Central Criminal Record Exchange for the person if: 

a. The facility wishes to employ the person or approve the 

person as a volunteer; 

b. The entity wishes the department to issue a license or 

registration; or 

c. The facility wishes a family day system or child-placing 

agency to issue an approval. 

H. The facility may also require a background check from 

another state per the provisions in subdivision B 5 of 8VAC20-

770-50. 

I. A facility that does not comply with this chapter may have 

its licensure, registration, approval, or religious exempt status 

revoked or denied. 

J. If a facility has knowledge that a person required to have a 

background check has an offense, and this person has neither a 

waiver nor an exception per 8VAC20-770-50, and the facility 

refuses to separate the person from employment, service, or 

residence in a family day home, then licensure, registration, or 

approval must be revoked or denied. 

8VAC20-770-70. Keeping background check records.  

A. A facility must keep background check records at the 

location where the person is an applicant, agent, employee, 

contract employee, volunteer, other adult in the home, or is any 

other adult who is involved in the day-to-day operations of the 

facility or who is alone with, in control of, or supervising one 

or more children. 

1. If a facility is among two or more owned by the same 

entity, the background check reports and findings may be 

kept at corporate headquarters or at the facility and must be 

made available to the department representative upon 

request. 

2. If a facility is not the primary work place for a person, the 

facility may keep copies on site, if there is: 

a. Documentation of the place where original background 

check records are kept; and 

b. Copies of the sworn disclosure statement or affirmation, 

criminal history record report with a statement that the 

facility designee has viewed and verified the original, and 

the child protective services central registry check form 

must be kept on site. 

B. Contracting organizations and voluntarily registered 

family day homes certified eligible for registration by 

contracting organizations must keep background check 

records. 

1. The contracting organization must keep: 

a. The original criminal history record report and sworn 

statement or affirmation for the voluntarily registered 

provider; 

b. The original or a copy of the central registry findings; 

and 

c. A copy of the criminal history record report and central 

registry findings for all provider assistants, substitute 

providers, and central registry findings for persons aged 

14 and older residing in the home. 

2. The voluntarily registered family day home provider must 

keep: 

a. The original criminal history record report and sworn 

statement of affirmation for any provider assistant, 

substitute provider, and any adult residing in the home; 

and 

b. The original or a copy of the central registry finding for 

any provider assistant, substitute provider or any person 

aged 14 and older residing in the home; and 
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c. Copies of the provider's own background check records. 

C. Family day systems and family day homes approved by 

family day systems must keep background check records. The 

requestor identified on the form must keep the original criminal 

history record check result and the original or copy of the child 

protective services central registry finding, and the other party 

keeps copies. The family day system must keep the original 

sworn disclosure statement or affirmation. 

D. A voluntarily registered family day home must keep all 

background check information for two years after a person 

required to provide background check terminates his duties 

with a facility or no longer resides in the home. All other 

facilities must keep all background check information for one 

year after a person required to provide background checks 

terminates his duties with a facility or no longer resides in the 

home. 

E. The sworn statement or affirmation, criminal history 

record report, and central registry finding must be kept in 

locked files. 

F. Applicants and agents, and their designees, are the only 

facility staff who may have access to these documents. The 

board president must have access to these documents. 

G. If a person is denied licensure, registration, or approval, or 

is denied employment or volunteer service because of 

information on a sworn statement or affirmation, a central 

registry finding, or criminal history record report, the facility 

must provide a copy of the information obtained from the 

central registry or the Central Criminal Records Exchange or 

both to the person. 

H. A facility must also release a copy of the information 

obtained from the central registry or the Central Criminal 

Records Exchange or both when the subject of the information 

requests it. 

I. Further dissemination of the background check information 

is prohibited other than to the Superintendent's representative 

or a federal or state authority or court in order to comply with 

an express requirement in the law for that dissemination. (See 

the provisions at 8VAC20-770-60 E8.) 

8VAC20-770-80. Describing the waiver of criminal 

conviction.  

The waiver of criminal conviction is the department's 

canceling the consequences of an unsatisfactory criminal 

history record check only for specific convictions. 

8VAC20-770-90. Identifying who may apply for a waiver.  

A. Any person who wants to operate or to volunteer or work 

at a facility covered by this chapter, but who is disqualified 

because of a criminal conviction, or a criminal conviction in 

the background check of any other adult living in a family day 

home governed by this chapter, may apply in writing to the 

Superintendent of the department for a waiver. 

B. The superintendent may grant a waiver if: 

1. A nonbarrier crime felony conviction occurred less than 

five years previously and the superintendent determines that 

the person is of good moral character and reputation and the 

waiver would not adversely affect the safety and well-being 

of the children in the person's care; or 

2. Any other adult living in the home of a family day home 

applicant or provider has been convicted of not more than 

one misdemeanor offense of assault and battery or assault 

and battery against a family or household member as set out 

in §§ 18.2-57 and 18.2-57.2 of the Code of Virginia, 

provided five years have elapsed following the conviction 

and the department has conducted a home study that 

includes, but is not limited to: 

a. An assessment of the safety of the children placed in the 

home and 

b. A determination that the offender is now a person of 

good moral character and reputation. 

The other adult must not be an assistant or substitute 

provider. 

8VAC20-770-100. Explaining waiver application 

requirements. 

A. The person requests a waiver application package from the 

Office of Child Care Licensing. The person sends the 

completed application and a waiver application fee made out 

to "Treasurer of Virginia" to the Office of Child Care 

Licensing. The Superintendent establishes the fee. It is 

identified in the application package. 

B. Exception: A person wishing to operate a voluntarily 

registered family day home requests a waiver application from 

either the contracting organization or the voluntary registration 

consultant in the Office of Child Care Licensing. The person 

sends the completed application and application fee to the 

voluntary registration consultant in the Office of Child Care 

Licensing. 

C. The superintendent acknowledges, in writing, receipt of 

the application and notifies the requester and the sponsor 

whether the request appears to be complete. 

8VAC20-770-110. Describing the contents of a waiver 

application.  

A. The waiver application is a personally prepared 

application. 

B. The waiver application must be submitted in typewritten 

form or neatly printed and must include: 

1. A statement that the request was solely and personally 

prepared by the requester, or other adult living in a family 

day home, as applicable, and has not been edited or changed 

by anyone else. Exception: the document may be typed by 

another person; 
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2. A statement that the requester understands that the waiver 

will be available for inspection by the public and that the 

facility will provide a copy of the waiver to every parent and 

guardian if the waiver is granted; 

3. A statement that the requester understands that 

information in the waiver application package will be made 

available by the Superintendent to any person upon request 

if the waiver is granted; 

4. Personal and employment information; 

5. If the request is for a family day home, all members of the 

household and their relationship to the requester; 

6. A factual account of the crime of the person with the 

disqualifying conviction; 

7. The current status and history with justice systems of the 

person with the disqualifying conviction; 

8. Other information the person with the disqualifying 

background wants the superintendent to consider in 

evaluating the waiver request; 

9. An explanation of why the waiver should be granted; and 

10. Seven attachments: 

a. A nonrefundable check, made payable to the "Treasurer 

of Virginia," for waiver application processing; 

b. For the person with the disqualifying conviction: 

(1) A "Current Employment and Employment History 

Form"; 

(2) A copy of the current sworn statement or affirmation; 

(3) A copy of the current criminal history record report; 

(4) A copy of all necessary documents verifying the 

person's statements regarding past and current 

involvement with adult or juvenile justice systems within 

or outside the Commonwealth; 

(5) At least four references by disinterested individuals 

who will vouch for the "good moral character and 

reputation" of the person with the disqualifying 

conviction; 

(6) The Sponsoring Agency Statement; and 

(7) A notarized signature page. 

C. If the waiver application is for another adult living in a 

family day home, the department conducts a home study to: 

1. Assess the safety of children placed in the home; and 

2. Determine that the offender is now a person of good moral 

character and reputation. 

8VAC20-770-120. Describing the waiver evaluation 

criteria.  

A. The superintendent may delegate all aspects of processing 

and evaluating waiver requests, provided that responsibility for 

making the final decision may not be delegated below the level 

of a division director. 

B. The final decision is based on the following: 

1. The content of the waiver application package; 

2. The nature of the conviction or convictions and relevance 

to decision criteria; and 

3. The extent and pattern of criminal history or child abuse 

and neglect, including the person's age when the act occurred 

and how long ago the act occurred. 

C. The applicant may be required to provide additional 

information that is reasonable and necessary to evaluate the 

application. 

D. The superintendent may interview the applicant or other 

persons sufficient to verify and evaluate the information in the 

application package. 

E. The superintendent may grant a waiver if the 

superintendent determines that: 

1. The person is now of good moral character and reputation; 

and 

2. The waiver would not adversely affect the safety and well-

being of children in the person's care. 

F. The superintendent will consider a waiver application 

abandoned, and close the file, when: 

1. More than 60 days have passed since the superintendent 

advised the requester and the sponsoring agency that the 

waiver application was incomplete, or since the 

superintendent requested additional information that was 

reasonably necessary to evaluate the application; and 

2. The superintendent informs the requester by certified mail 

that the waiver application would be considered abandoned 

unless the requester provides the requested information 

within 15 days. 

G. Waiver decisions are not appealable. 

8VAC20-770-130. Describing the waiver decision 

notification process.  

A. The superintendent notifies the requester, or other adult if 

applicable, and the sponsor of his approval or denial in writing 

by certified mail. 

B. Any approved waiver is for a specific person and a specific 

facility and must include: 

1. Name of individual; 

2. Name of facility; 

3. Effective dates; 

4. Terms, conditions, and stipulations, if any; 

5. Criminal conviction for which the waiver was granted; 
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6. Date of criminal conviction; 

7. Relevant court and location; 

8. Sentence served; and 

9. Signature of superintendent, or designee, and date. 

8VAC20-770-140. Modifying, revoking, and terminating 

waivers.  

A. The person and the sponsoring agency may request a 

modification of any of the terms, conditions, or stipulations of 

a waiver. 

B. The superintendent may revoke a waiver if, after 

investigation, he determines that: 

1. The waiver application contained false, deceptive, or 

misleading information; 

2. The terms, conditions, or stipulations of a waiver have 

been violated; or 

3. New or expanded information becomes known about the 

person that would change the previous determination made 

about the person's character, reputation, or suitability to 

work with or be in proximity to children. 

C. If a waiver is revoked, the superintendent informs the 

person and the sponsoring agency, in writing by certified mail, 

of the reasons for the revocation. 

D. A waiver automatically expires when: 

1. The person terminates the approved arrangement with the 

sponsoring facility; 

2. Five years have passed from the last date of a conviction 

for the felony or felonies for which the waiver was granted; 

or 

3. The other adult living in a family day home was the reason 

for the waiver and the other adult no longer lives in the 

home. 

8VAC20-770-150. Explaining the waiver public 

notification requirements.  

A. Notification about waivers is conducted in accordance 

with agency policy. 

B. The facility must post in a conspicuous place on the 

premises any waiver granted by the department. 

C. The facility must notify in writing every parent and 

guardian of the children in its care of any waiver granted for its 

operators, employees, volunteers, or adult family members 

living in the home. This notification includes parents and 

guardians who, in the future, enroll children. 

NOTICE: The following forms used in administering the 

regulation have been filed by the agency. Amended or added 

forms are reflected in the listing and are published following 

the listing. Online users of this issue of the Virginia Register 

of Regulations may also click on the name to access a form. 

The forms are also available from the agency contact or may 

be viewed at the Office of Registrar of Regulations, 900 East 

Main Street, 11th Floor, Richmond, Virginia 23219. 

FORMS (8VAC20-770) 

Central Registry Release of Information Form (eff. 7/1/21) 

Sworn Statement or Affirmation for Child Day Programs (eff. 

7/1/21) 

Chapter 780 

Standards for Licensed Child Day Centers 

Part I 

Introduction 

22VAC40-185-10 8VAC20-780-10. Definitions. 

The following words and terms when used in this chapter 

shall have the following meanings unless the context clearly 

indicates otherwise: 

"Adult" means any individual 18 years of age or older. 

"Age and stage appropriate" means the curriculum, 

environment, equipment, and adult-child interactions are 

suitable for the ages of the children within a group and the 

individual needs of any child. 

"Age groups": 

1. "Infant" means children from birth to 16 months. 

2. "Toddler" means children from 16 months up to two years. 

3. "Preschool" means children from two years up to the age 

of eligibility to attend public school, five years by September 

30. 

4. "School age" means children eligible to attend public 

school, age five or older by September 30 of that same year. 

Four-year-old or five-year-old children included in a group 

of school age children may be considered school age during 

the summer months if the children will be entering 

kindergarten that year. 

"Attendance" means the actual presence of an enrolled child. 

"Balanced mixed-age grouping" means a program using a 

curriculum designed to meet the needs and interests of children 

in the group and is planned for children who enter the program 

at three through five years of age. The enrollment in the 

balance mixed-age grouping comprises a relatively even 

allocation of children in each of three ages (three to six years) 

and is designed for children and staff to remain together with 

turnover planned only for the replacement of exiting students 

with children of ages that maintain the class balance. 

"Body fluids" means urine, feces, saliva, blood, nasal 

discharge, eye discharge, and injury or tissue discharge. 

"Camp" means a child day camp that is a child day center for 

school age children that operates during the summer vacation 

http://www.doe.virginia.gov/cc/files/division/licensing/background_index_childrens_facilities/founded_cps_complaints/032-02-0151-12-eng.pdf
http://www.doe.virginia.gov/cc/files/bkg-check-sworn-disclosure.pdf


Regulations 

Volume 37, Issue 24  Virginia Register of Regulations  July 19, 2021  

3516 

months only. Four-year-old children who will be five by 

September 30 of the same year may be included in a camp for 

school age children. 

"Center" means a child day center. 

"Child" means any individual under 18 years of age. 

"Child day center" means a child day program offered to (i) 

two or more children younger than 13 years of age in a facility 

that is not the residence of the provider or of any of the children 

in care or (ii) 13 or more children at any location. 

"Child day program" means a regularly operating service 

arrangement for children where, during the absence of a parent 

or guardian, a person or organization has agreed to assume 

responsibility for the supervision, protection, and well-being of 

a child younger than 13 years of age for less than a 24-hour 

period. 

Note: This does not include programs such as drop-in 

playgrounds or clubs for children when there is no service 

arrangement with the child's parent. 

"Children with special needs" means children with 

developmental disabilities, mental retardation, emotional 

disturbance, sensory or motor impairment, or significant 

chronic illness who require special health surveillance or 

specialized programs, interventions, technologies, or facilities. 

"Cleaned" means treated in such a way to reduce the amount 

of filth through the use of water with soap or detergent or the 

use of an abrasive cleaner on inanimate surfaces. 

"Commissioner" means the Commissioner of the Virginia 

Department of Social Services. 

"Communicable disease" means a disease caused by a 

microorganism (bacterium, virus, fungus, or parasite) that can 

be transmitted from person to person via an infected body fluid 

or respiratory spray, with or without an intermediary agent 

(such as a louse or mosquito) or environmental object (such as 

a table surface). Some communicable diseases are reportable 

to the local health authority. 

"Department" means the Virginia Department of Social 

Services Education. 

"Department's representative" means an employee or 

designee of the Virginia Department of Social Services 

Education, acting as the authorized agent of the commissioner 

superintendent. 

"Evening care" means care provided after 7 p.m. but not 

through the night. 

"Good character and reputation" means knowledgeable and 

objective people agree that the individual (i) maintains 

business, professional, family, and community relationships 

which are characterized by honesty, fairness, and truthfulness 

and (ii) demonstrates a concern for the well-being of others to 

the extent that the individual is considered suitable to be 

entrusted with the care, guidance, and protection of children. 

Relatives by blood or marriage and people who are not 

knowledgeable of the individual, such as recent acquaintances, 

shall not be considered objective references. 

"Group of children" means the children assigned to a staff 

member or team of staff members. 

"High school program completion or the equivalent" means 

an individual has earned a high school diploma or General 

Education Development (G.E.D.) certificate, or has completed 

a program of home instruction equivalent to high school 

completion. 

"Independent contractor" means an entity that enters into an 

agreement to provide specialized services or staff for a 

specified period of time. 

"Individual service, education or treatment plan" means a 

plan identifying the child's strengths, needs, general 

functioning and plan for providing services to the child. The 

service plan includes specific goals and objectives for services, 

accommodations, and intervention strategies. The service, 

education or treatment plan clearly shows documentation and 

reassessment or evaluation strategies. 

"Intervention strategies" means a plan for staff action that 

outlines methods, techniques, cues, programs, or tasks that 

enable the child to successfully complete a specific goal. 

"Licensee" means any individual, partnership, association, 

public agency, or corporation to whom the license is issued. 

"Minor injury" means a wound or other specific damage to 

the body such as, but not limited to, abrasions, splinters, bites 

that do not break the skin, and bruises. 

"Overnight care" means care provided after 7 p.m. and 

through the night. 

"Parent" means the biological or adoptive parent or legal 

guardian of a child enrolled in or in the process of being 

admitted to a center. 

"Physician" means an individual licensed to practice 

medicine in any of the 50 states or the District of Columbia. 

"Physician's designee" means a physician, licensed nurse 

practitioner, licensed physician assistant, licensed nurse (R.N. 

or L.P.N.), or health assistant acting under the supervision of a 

physician. 

"Primitive camp" means a camp where places of abode, water 

supply system, or permanent toilet and cooking facilities are 

not usually provided. 

"Programmatic experience" means time spent working 

directly with children in a group that is located away from the 

child's home. Work time shall be computed on the basis of full-

time work experience during the period prescribed or 

equivalent work time over a longer period. Experience settings 

may include a child day program, family day home, child day 
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center, boys and girls club, field placement, elementary school, 

or a faith-based organization. 

"Resilient surfacing" means: 

1. For indoor and outdoor use underneath and surrounding 

equipment, impact absorbing surfacing materials that 

comply with minimum safety standards when tested in 

accordance with the procedures described in the American 

Society for Testing and Materials' standard F1292-99 as 

shown in Figures 2 (Compressed Loose Fill Synthetic 

Materials Depth Chart) and 3 (Use Zones for Equipment) on 

pages 6-7 of the National Program for Playground Safety's 

"Selecting Playground Surface Materials: Selecting the Best 

Surface Material for Your Playground," February 2004. 

2. Hard surfaces such as asphalt, concrete, dirt, grass or 

flooring covered by carpet or gym mats do not qualify as 

resilient surfacing. 

"Sanitized" means treated in such a way to remove bacteria 

and viruses from inanimate surfaces through using a 

disinfectant solution (i.e., bleach solution or commercial 

chemical disinfectant) or physical agent (e.g., heat). The 

surface of the item is sprayed or dipped into the disinfectant 

solution and allowed to air dry after use of the disinfectant 

solution. 

"Serious injury" means a wound or other specific damage to 

the body such as, but not limited to, unconsciousness; broken 

bones; dislocation; deep cut requiring stitches; concussion; or 

foreign object lodged in eye, nose, ear, or other body orifice. 

"Shelter-in-place" means the facility or building in which a 

child day center is located. 

"Short-term program" means a child day center that operates 

less than 12 weeks a year. 

"Special needs child day program" means a program 

exclusively serving children with special needs. 

"Specialty camps" means those centers that have an 

educational or recreational focus on one subject such as dance, 

drama, music, or sports. 

"Sponsor" means an individual, partnership, association, 

public agency, corporation, or other legal entity in whom the 

ultimate authority and legal responsibility is vested for the 

administration and operation of a center subject to licensure. 

"Staff" means administrative, activity, and service personnel 

including the licensee when the licensee is an individual who 

works in the center, and any persons counted in the staff-to-

children ratios or any persons working with a child without 

sight and sound supervision of a staff member. 

"Staff positions" are defined as follows: 

1. "Aide" means the individual designated to be responsible 

for helping the program leader in supervising children and 

in implementing the activities and services for children. 

Aides may also be referred to as assistant teachers or child 

care assistants. 

2. "Program leader" means the individual designated to be 

responsible for the direct supervision of children and for 

implementation of the activities and services for a group of 

children. Program leaders may also be referred to as child 

care supervisors or teachers. 

3. "Program director" means the primary, onsite director or 

coordinator designated to be responsible for developing and 

implementing the activities and services offered to children, 

including the supervision, orientation, training, and 

scheduling of staff who work directly with children, whether 

or not personally performing these functions. 

4. "Administrator" means a manager or coordinator 

designated to be in charge of the total operation and 

management of one or more centers. The administrator may 

be responsible for supervising the program director or, if 

appropriately qualified, may concurrently serve as the 

program director. The administrator may perform staff 

orientation or training or program development functions if 

the administrator meets the qualifications of 22VAC40-185-

190 8VAC20-780-190 and a written delegation of 

responsibility specifies the duties of the program director. 

"Superintendent" means Superintendent of Public Instruction. 

"Therapeutic child day program" means a specialized 

program, including therapeutic recreation programs, 

exclusively serving children with special needs when an 

individual service, education or treatment plan is developed 

and implemented with the goal of improving the functional 

abilities of the children in care. 

"Universal precautions" means an approach to infection 

control. According to the concept of universal precautions, all 

human blood and certain human body fluids are treated as if 

known to be infectious for human immunodeficiency virus 

(HIV), hepatitis B virus (HBV), and other bloodborne 

pathogens. 

"Volunteer" means a person who works at the center and: 

1. Is not paid; 

2. Is not counted in the staff-to-children ratios; and 

3. Is in sight and sound supervision of a staff member when 

working with a child. 

Any unpaid person not meeting this definition shall be 

considered "staff" and shall meet staff requirements. 

22VAC40-185-20 8VAC20-780-20. Legal base. 

A. Chapters 17 (§ 63.2-1700 et seq.) and 18 (§ 63.2-1800 et 

seq.) of Title 63.2 Chapter 14.1, Article 3 (§ 22.1-289.010 et 

seq.) and Article 4 (§ 22.1-289.030 et seq.) of Title 22 of the 

Code of Virginia describes the responsibility of the 

Department of Social Services Education for the regulation of 
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residential and day programs for children, including child day 

centers programs. 

B. Section 63.2-1734 22.1-16 of the Code of Virginia requires 

authorizes the State Board of Social Services Education to 

prescribe standards for certain activities, services, and facilities 

for child day centers promulgate regulations to carry out its 

powers and duties. 

C. Nothing in this chapter shall be construed to contradict or 

to negate any provisions of the Code of Virginia which may 

apply to child day centers. 

22VAC40-185-30 8VAC20-780-30. Purpose and 

applicability. 

A. The purpose of these standards is to protect children under 

the age of 13 who are separated from their parents during a part 

of the day by: 

1. Ensuring that the activities, services, and facilities of 

centers are conducive to the well-being of children; and 

2. Reducing risks in the environment. 

B. The standards in this chapter apply to child day centers as 

defined in 22VAC40-185-10 8VAC20-780-10 serving 

children under the age of 13. 

Part II 

Administration 

22VAC40-185-40 8VAC20-780-40. Operational 

responsibilities. 

A. Applications for licensure shall conform with Chapters 17 

(§ 63.2-1700 et seq.) and 18 (§ 63.2-1800 et seq.) Article 3 

(§ 22.1-289.010 et seq.) and Article 4 (§ 22.1-289.030 et seq.) 

of Chapter 14.1, of Title 63.2 22.1 of the Code of Virginia and 

the regulation entitled General Procedures and Information for 

Licensure, 22VAC40-80 8VAC20-820. 

B. Pursuant to §§ 63.2-1719 and 63.2-1721.1 § 22.1-289.034 

of the Code of Virginia and the regulation entitled Background 

Checks for Child Welfare Agencies, 22VAC40-191, Child 

Day Programs and Family Day Systems, 8VAC20-770, the 

applicant and any agent at the time of application who is or will 

be involved in the day-to-day operations of the center or who 

is or will be alone with, in control of, or supervising one or 

more of the children, shall be of good character and reputation 

and shall not be guilty of an offense as defined in § 63.2-1719 

22.1-289.034 of the Code of Virginia. 

C. The sponsor shall afford the commissioner superintendent 

or his agents the right at all reasonable times to inspect 

facilities and to interview his agents, employees, and any child 

or other person within his custody or control, provided that no 

private interviews may be conducted with any child without 

prior notice to the parent of such child. 

D. The license shall be posted in a place conspicuous to the 

public (§ 63.2-1701 22.1-289.011 of the Code of Virginia). 

E. The operational responsibilities of the licensee shall 

include, but not be limited to, ensuring that the center's 

activities, services, and facilities are maintained in compliance 

with these standards, the center's own policies and procedures 

that are required by these standards, and the terms of the 

current license issued by the department. 

F. Every center shall ensure that any advertising is not 

misleading or deceptive as required by § 63.2-1713 22.1-

289.027 of the Code of Virginia. 

G. The center shall meet the proof of child identity and age 

requirements as stated in § 63.2-1809 22.1-289.049 of the 

Code of Virginia. 

H. The sponsor shall maintain public liability insurance for 

bodily injury for each center site with a minimum limit of at 

least $500,000 each occurrence and with a minimum limit of 

$500,000 aggregate. 

1. A public sponsor may have equivalent self-insurance that 

is in compliance with the Code of Virginia. 

2. Evidence of insurance coverage shall be made available 

to the department's representative upon request. 

I. The center shall develop written procedures for injury 

prevention. 

J. Injury prevention procedures shall be updated at least 

annually based on documentation of injuries and a review of 

the activities and services. 

K. The center shall develop written playground safety 

procedures which shall include: 

1. Provision for active supervision by staff to include 

positioning of staff in strategic locations, scanning play 

activities, and circulating among children; and 

2. Method of maintaining resilient surface. 

L. Hospital-operated centers may temporarily exceed their 

licensed capacity during a natural disaster or other catastrophe 

or emergency situation and shall develop a written plan for 

emergency operations, for submission to and approval by the 

Department of Social Services Education. 

M. When children 13 years or older are enrolled in the 

program and receive supervision in the licensed program, they 

shall be counted in the number of children receiving care and 

the center shall comply with the standards for these children. 

22VAC40-185-50 8VAC20-780-50. General 

recordkeeping; reports. 

A. Staff and children's records shall be treated confidentially. 

Exception: Children's records shall be made available to 

parents on request, unless otherwise ordered by the court. 

B. Records and reports on children and staff required by this 

chapter shall be maintained and made accessible for two years 
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after termination of services or separation from employment 

unless specified otherwise. 

C. Records may be kept at a central location except as stated 

otherwise in these standards. 

22VAC40-185-60 8VAC20-780-60. Children's records. 

A. Each center shall maintain and keep at the center a separate 

record for each child enrolled which shall contain the following 

information: 

1. Name, nickname (if any), sex, and birth date of the child; 

2. Name, home address, and home phone number of each 

parent who has custody; 

3. When applicable, work phone number and place of 

employment of each parent who has custody; 

4. Name and phone number of child's physician; 

5. Name, address, and phone number of two designated 

people to call in an emergency if a parent cannot be reached; 

6. Names of persons authorized to pick up the child. 

Appropriate legal paperwork shall be on file when the 

custodial parent requests the center not to release the child 

to the other parent; 

7. Allergies and intolerance to food, medication, or any other 

substances, and actions to take in an emergency situation; 

8. Chronic physical problems and pertinent developmental 

information and any special accommodations needed; 

9. Health information as required by 22VAC40-185-130 

8VAC20-780-130 through 22VAC40-185-150 8VAC20-

780-150; 

Exception: When a center is located on the same premises 

where a child attends school and the child's record has a 

statement verifying the school's possession of the health 

record, the center is not required to maintain duplicates of 

the school's health record for that child provided the school's 

records are accessible during the center's hours of operation. 

10. Written agreements between the parent and the center as 

required by 22VAC40-185-90 8VAC20-780-90; 

11. Documentation of child updates and confirmation of up-

to-date information in the child's record as required by 

22VAC40-185-420 E 3 8VAC20-780-420 E 3; 

12. Any blanket permission slips and opt out requests; 

13. Previous child day care and schools attended by the 

child; 

14. Name of any additional programs or schools that the 

child is concurrently attending and the grade or class level; 

15. Documentation of viewing proof of the child's identity 

and age; and 

16. First and last dates of attendance. 

B. The proof of identity, if reproduced or retained by the child 

day program or both, shall be destroyed upon the conclusion 

of the requisite period of retention. The procedures for the 

disposal, physical destruction or other disposition of the proof 

of identity containing social security numbers shall include all 

reasonable steps to destroy such documents by (i) shredding, 

(ii) erasing, or (iii) otherwise modifying the social security 

numbers in those records to make them unreadable or 

indecipherable by any means. 

22VAC40-185-70 8VAC20-780-70. Staff records. 

A. The following staff records shall be kept for each staff 

person: 

1. Name, address, verification of age requirement, job title, 

and date of employment or volunteering; and name, address 

and telephone number of a person to be notified in an 

emergency which shall be kept at the center. 

2. For staff hired after March 1, 1996, documentation that 

two or more references as to character and reputation as well 

as competency were checked before employment or 

volunteering. If a reference check is taken over the phone, 

documentation shall include: 

a. Dates of contact; 

b. Names of persons contacted; 

c. The firms contacted; 

d. Results; and 

e. Signature of person making call. 

3. Background checks as required by the regulation entitled 

Background Checks for Licensed Child Day Centers 

(22VAC15-51) Programs and Family Day Systems 

(8VAC20-770). 

4. Written information to demonstrate that the individual 

possesses the education, orientation training, staff 

development, certification, and experience required by the 

job position. 

5. First aid, cardiopulmonary resuscitation and other 

certifications as required by the responsibilities held by the 

staff member. 

6. Health information as required by 22VAC40-185-160 

8VAC20-780-160 and 22VAC40-185-170 8VAC20-780-

170. 

7. Information, to be kept at the center, about any health 

problems which may interfere with fulfilling the job 

responsibilities. 

8. Date of separation from employment. 

B. Exception: Background check records for independent 

contractors must be kept in accordance with 22VAC15-51-70 

8VAC20-770-40 of the background check regulation. 



Regulations 

Volume 37, Issue 24  Virginia Register of Regulations  July 19, 2021  

3520 

22VAC40-185-80 8VAC20-780-80. Attendance records; 

reports. 

A. The center shall keep a written record of children in 

attendance each day. 

B. Reports shall be filed and maintained as follows: 

1. The center shall inform the commissioner's 

superintendent's representative as soon as practicable but not 

to exceed one working day of the circumstances surrounding 

the following incidents: 

a. Death of a child while under the center's supervision; 

and 

b. Missing child when local authorities have been 

contacted for help. 

2. Any suspected incident of child abuse shall be reported in 

accordance with § 63.2-1509 of the Code of Virginia. 

22VAC40-185-90 8VAC20-780-90. Parental agreements. 

A written agreement between the parent and the center shall 

be in each child's record by the first day of the child's 

attendance. The agreement shall be signed by the parent and 

include: 

1. An authorization for emergency medical care should an 

emergency occur when the parent cannot be located 

immediately unless the parent states in writing an objection 

to the provision of such care on religious or other grounds; 

2. A statement that the center will notify the parent when the 

child becomes ill and that the parent will arrange to have the 

child picked up as soon as possible if so requested by the 

center; and 

3. A statement that the parent will inform the center within 

24 hours or the next business day after his child or any 

member of the immediate household has developed any 

reportable communicable disease, as defined by the State 

Board of Health, except for life threatening diseases which 

must be reported immediately. 

22VAC40-185-100 8VAC20-780-100. Enrollment 

procedures of therapeutic child day programs and special 

needs child day programs. 

Before the child's first day of attendance, there shall be 

personal communication between the director, or his designee, 

and the parent to determine: 

1. The child's level of general functioning as related to 

physical, affective/emotional, cognitive and social skills 

required for participation; and 

2. Any special medical procedures needed. 

22VAC40-185-110 8VAC20-780-110. Individual 

assessment for therapeutic child day programs. 

A. An individual assessment completed within six months 

before the child's attendance or 30 days after the first day of 

attendance shall be maintained for each child. 

B. An individual assessment shall be reviewed and updated 

for each child no less than once every 12 months. 

22VAC40-185-120 8VAC20-780-120. Individual service, 

education or treatment plan for therapeutic child day 

programs. 

A. An individual service, education or treatment plan: 

1. Shall be developed for each child by the director or his 

designee and primary staff responsible for plan 

implementation; 

2. Shall be implemented within 60 days after the first day of 

the child's attendance. 

B. The child's individual service, education or treatment plan 

shall be developed, reviewed, and revised every three months 

and rewritten annually by the director or his designee and 

primary staff responsible for plan implementation. This shall 

be done in partnership with the parent, residential care provider 

or advocate. 

C. A copy of the initial plan and subsequent or amended 

service, education or treatment plans shall be maintained in the 

child's record and a copy given to the child's parent. 

22VAC40-185-130 8VAC20-780-130. Immunizations for 

children. 

A. The center shall obtain documentation that each child has 

received the immunizations required by the State Board of 

Health before the child can attend the center. 

Exemptions (subsection C of § 22.1-271.2 of the Code of 

Virginia and 12VAC5-110-110 of the Regulations for the 

Immunizations of School Children): Documentation of 

immunizations is not required for any child whose (i) parent 

submits an affidavit to the center, on the form entitled 

"Certification of Religious Exemption," stating that the 

administration of immunizing agents conflicts with the parent's 

or child's religious tenets or practices, or (ii) physician or a 

local health department states on a MCH 213B or MCH 213C, 

or other Department of Health-approved form that one or more 

of the required immunizations may be detrimental to the child's 

health. 

B. The center shall obtain documentation of additional 

immunizations once every six months for children under the 

age of two years. 

C. The center shall obtain documentation of additional 

immunizations once between each child's fourth and sixth 

birthdays. 
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22VAC40-185-140 8VAC20-780-140. Physical 

examinations for children. 

A. Each child shall have a physical examination by or under 

the direction of a physician: 

1. Before the child's attendance; or 

2. Within one month after attendance. 

B. If the child has had a physical examination prior to 

attendance, it shall be within the time period prescribed below: 

1. Within two months prior to attendance for children six 

months of age and younger; 

2. Within three months prior to attendance for children aged 

seven months through 18 months; 

3. Within six months prior to attendance for children aged 

19 months through 24 months; and 

4. Within 12 months prior to attendance for children two 

years of age through five years of age. 

C. Exceptions: 

1. Children transferring from a facility licensed by the 

Virginia Department of Social Services Education, certified 

by a local department of public welfare or social services, 

registered as a small family day home by the Virginia 

Department of Social Services Education or by a contract 

agency of the Virginia Department of Social Services 

Education, or approved by a licensed family day system: 

a. If the initial report or a copy of the initial report of 

immunizations is available to the admitting facility, no 

additional examination is required. 

b. If the initial report or a copy of the initial report is not 

available, a report of physical examination and 

immunization is required in accordance with 22VAC40-

185-130 8VAC20-780-130 and this section. 

2. Pursuant to subsection D of § 22.1-270 of the Code of 

Virginia, physical examinations are not required for any 

child whose parent objects on religious grounds. The parent 

must submit a signed statement noting that the parent objects 

on religious grounds and certifying that to the best of the 

parent's knowledge the child is in good health and free from 

communicable or contagious disease. 

22VAC40-185-150 8VAC20-780-150. Form and content of 

immunizations and physical examination reports for 

children. 

A. The current form required by the Virginia Department of 

Health or a physician's form shall be used to report 

immunizations received and the results of the required physical 

examination. 

B. Each report shall include the date of the physical 

examination and dates immunizations were received and shall 

be signed by a physician, his designee, or an official of a local 

health department. 

22VAC40-185-160 8VAC20-780-160. Tuberculosis 

screening for staff and independent contractors. 

A. Each staff member and individual from an independent 

contractor shall submit documentation of a negative 

tuberculosis screening. 

Documentation of the screening shall be submitted no later 

than 21 days after employment or volunteering and shall have 

been completed within 12 months prior to or 21 days after 

employment or volunteering. 

B. Acceptable forms of documentation of tuberculosis 

screening are: 

1. A clearance statement signed by a physician, the 

physician's designee or an official of the local health 

department. This statement shall include language that the 

individual does not have any current symptoms of active 

tuberculosis, does not have either a risk factor for acquiring 

tuberculosis infection or a risk factor for progression to 

active tuberculosis disease as defined by the local health 

department, or has been treated for these conditions in the 

past, and is currently free of tuberculosis in a communicable 

form. Individuals who have a risk factor for progression to 

active tuberculosis disease as defined by the Virginia 

Department of Health shall submit documentation as stated 

in subdivision 2 or 3 of this subsection; 

2. The results of a negative tuberculin skin test (TST). The 

documentation shall include the date the test was given and 

results of the test and be signed by a physician, physician's 

designee or an official of the local health department. 

3. The results of a chest x-ray negative for active 

tuberculosis disease. The documentation shall include the 

date of the test and location where the examination was 

performed. 

C. At least every two years from the date of the initial 

screening or testing, or more frequently if recommended by a 

licensed physician or the local health department, staff 

members and individuals from independent contractors shall 

obtain and submit the results of a follow-up tuberculosis 

screening as stated in subsection B of this section. 

D. Any staff member or individual from an independent 

contractor who develops symptoms compatible with active 

tuberculosis disease, regardless of the date of the last 

tuberculosis screening or assessment, shall obtain and submit 

within 14 days a determination of noncontagiousness by a 

physician or local health department. 

1. Until such determination is made, that staff member may 

not be permitted to work at the center. 

2. Any staff member or individual from an independent 

contractor who comes in contact with a known active case 
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of tuberculosis or who tests positive on a tuberculin skin test, 

regardless of the date of the last tuberculosis screening or 

assessment, shall submit within 30 days a statement 

indicating that all needed follow-up for the incident has been 

completed and that the individual is free of tuberculosis in a 

communicable form. This statement shall be signed by a 

physician, physician's designee or an official of the local 

health department. 

22VAC40-185-170 8VAC20-780-170. Physical and mental 

health of staff and volunteers. 

A. When there is evidence that the safety of children may be 

jeopardized by contact with a staff member or volunteer 

because of the physical health or mental health of such staff 

member or volunteer, the licensee shall, at a minimum, prohibit 

the employee or volunteer from engaging in contact with the 

children or participation in the food service program until a 

physician or a clinical psychologist skilled in the diagnosis and 

treatment of mental illness confirms that any risk has been 

eliminated or can be reduced to an acceptable level by 

reasonable accommodations. 

B. The requirement of subsection A of this section should not 

be construed as a mandatory precondition to any other 

employment action that an employer may otherwise take. 

Part III 

Staff Qualifications and Training 

22VAC40-185-180 8VAC20-780-180. General 

qualifications. 

A. No staff shall be guilty of an offense, as defined in § 63.2-

1719 22.1-289.034 of the Code of Virginia. 

B. Staff shall be: 

1. Of good character and reputation; 

2. Capable of carrying out assigned responsibilities; 

3. Capable of accepting training and supervision; and 

4. Capable of communicating effectively both orally and in 

writing as applicable to the job responsibility. 

C. Staff who work directly with children shall be capable of 

communicating with emergency personnel. 

D. Staff who drive a vehicle transporting children shall 

disclose any moving traffic violation that occurred five years 

prior to or during employment or assignment as a driver. 

E. For therapeutic child day programs and special needs child 

day programs, staff who work with children shall have 

knowledge of the groups being served and skills specific to the 

special needs of the children in care including, but not limited 

to, functional abilities, accommodations, assessment 

techniques, behavior management, and medical and health 

concerns. 

22VAC40-185-190 8VAC20-780-190. Program director 

qualifications. 

A. Program directors shall be at least 21 years of age and shall 

meet one of the following: 

1. A graduate degree in a child-related field such as, but not 

limited to, elementary education, nursing, or recreation from 

a college or university and six months of programmatic 

experience; 

2. An endorsement or bachelor's degree in a child-related 

field such as, but not limited to, elementary education, 

nursing, or recreation from a college or university and one 

year of programmatic experience; 

3. Forty-eight semester hours or 72 quarter hours of college 

credit from a college or university of which 12 semester 

hours or 18 quarter hours are in child-related subjects and 

one year of programmatic experience; 

4. Two years of programmatic experience with one year in a 

staff supervisory capacity and at least one of the following 

education backgrounds: 

a. A one-year early childhood certificate from a college or 

university that consists of at least 30 semester hours; 

b. A child development credential that requires: 

(1) High school program completion or the equivalent; 

(2) 480 hours working with children in a group which 

could include a supervised practicum; and 

(3) Determination of competency in promoting children's 

development, providing a safe and healthy environment, 

managing the classroom environment and/or childhood 

program, and promoting positive and productive 

relationships with parents/guardians; and 

(4) At least 120 clock hours of child-related training taught 

by an individual or by an organization with expertise in 

early childhood teacher preparation provided that the 

training facilitator: 

(a) Documents the student's mastery and competence; 

(b) Observes the student's application of competence in a 

classroom setting; 

(c) Has a combination of at least six years of education 

(leading to a degree or credential in a child-related field) 

or programmatic experience; and 

(d) Has at least 12 semester hours or 180 clock hours in a 

child-related field, a child development credential or 

equivalent, and two years of programmatic experience 

with one year in a staff supervisory capacity; or 

c. A certification of qualification from an internationally 

or nationally recognized Montessori organization; or 

5. Three years of programmatic experience including one 

year in a staff supervisory capacity and fulfilled a high 

school program completion or the equivalent. 
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a. Such programmatic experience shall be obtained in a 

child day center that offers a staff training program that 

includes: written goals and objectives; assessment of the 

employee's participation in the training; and the subject 

areas of first aid, human growth and development, health 

and safety issues and behavioral management of children. 

b. Such employees shall complete 120 hours of training 

during this three-year period and provide documentation 

of completing the training. 

c. Effective June 1, 2008, program directors shall meet a 

qualification as stated in subdivisions 1 through 4 of this 

subsection. 

6. Exception (a): Program directors hired before June 1, 

2005, who do not meet the qualifications may continue to be 

program directors as long as the program director: (i) obtains 

each year three semester hours or six quarter hours of college 

credit related to children until meeting a qualification option 

or (ii) is enrolled in and regularly works toward a child 

development credential as specified in subdivision 4 b of this 

subsection, which credential must be awarded by June 1, 

2009. 

Exception (b): Program directors hired or promoted on or 

after June 1, 2005, until June 1, 2006, who do not meet the 

qualifications may continue to be program directors as long 

as the program director: (i) obtains each year six semester 

hours or nine quarter hours of college credit related to 

children until meeting a qualification option or (ii) is 

enrolled in and regularly works toward a child development 

credential as specified in subdivision 4 b of this subsection, 

which credential must be awarded no later than June 1, 2007. 

B. Program directors without management experience shall 

have one college course in a business-related field, 10 clock 

hours of management training, or one child care management 

course that satisfactorily covers the management functions of: 

1. Planning; 

2. Budgeting; 

3. Staffing; and 

4. Monitoring. 

*Note: Management experience is defined as at least six 

months of on-the-job training in an administrative position that 

requires supervising, orienting, training, and scheduling staff. 

C. For program directors of therapeutic child day programs 

and special needs child day programs, education and 

programmatic experience shall be in the group care of children 

with special needs. 

D. Notwithstanding subsection A of this section, a person 

between 19 and 21 years of age may serve as a program 

director at a short-term program serving only school age 

children if the program director has daily supervisory contact 

by a person at least 21 years of age who meets one of the 

program director qualification options. 

22VAC40-185-200 8VAC20-780-200. Program directors 

and back-up for program directors. 

A. The center shall have a qualified program director or a 

qualified back-up program director who meets one of the 

director qualifications who shall regularly be on site at least 

50% of the center's hours of operation. 

B. For centers offering multiple shifts, a qualified program 

director or qualified back-up director shall regularly be on site 

at least 50% of the day shift and at least two hours during the 

evening shift and two hours during the night shift. 

C. For centers employing one or more program leaders who 

are qualified under subsection C of 22VAC40-185-210 

8VAC20-780-210 but not under subsection A of that section, 

the qualified program director or qualified back-up program 

director shall be on site at least 75% of the center's hours of 

operation. 

22VAC40-185-210 8VAC20-780-210. Program leader 

qualifications. 

A. Program leaders shall be at least 18 years of age, have 

fulfilled a high school program completion or the equivalent, 

and meet one of the following: 

1. Have one of the program director qualifications in 

22VAC40-185-190 8VAC20-780-190; 

2. Have an endorsement or bachelor's degree in a child-

related field such as, but not limited to, elementary 

education, nursing, or recreation, from a college or 

university; 

3. Have three months of programmatic experience and at 

least one of the following education backgrounds: 

a. A one year early childhood certificate from a college or 

university that consists of at least 30 semester hours; 

b. A child development credential by an organization 

listed in § 63.2-1738 22.1-289.048 of the Code of 

Virginia; 

c. A teaching diploma from an internationally or 

nationally recognized Montessori organization; or 

4. Have six months of supervised programmatic experience. 

a. Within six months before being promoted or beginning 

work or one month after being promoted or beginning 

work, a minimum of 12 hours of training shall be received 

related to the care of children, including but not limited to: 

(1) Child development; 

(2) Playground safety; 

(3) Health and safety issues; and 

(4) Preventing and reporting child abuse and neglect. 
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b. Such training may take place on site while not 

supervising children. Such training hours shall increase 

according to the following: 

(1) Program leaders hired or promoted 

after June 1, 2006 16 hours 

(2) Program leaders hired or promoted 

after June 1, 2007 20 hours 

(3) Program leaders hired or promoted 

after June 1, 2008 24 hours 

B. For program leaders of therapeutic child day programs and 

special needs child day programs, at least three months of 

programmatic experience shall be in the group care of children 

with special needs. 

C. Notwithstanding the experience requirements in 

subsection A of this section, program leaders at short-term 

programs may have only one season of programmatic 

experience, provided that this experience shall include at least 

200 hours, of which up to 24 hours can be formal training, 

working directly with children in a group. 

22VAC40-185-220 8VAC20-780-220. Aides. 

Aides shall be at least 16 years of age. 

22VAC40-185-230 8VAC20-780-230. Independent 

contractors; volunteers. 

A. Individuals from independent contractors shall not be 

counted in the staff-to-children ratios unless they meet the 

qualifications for the applicable position. 

B. Individuals from independent contractors who do not meet 

staff qualifications shall, when in the presence of children, be 

within sight and sound supervision of a staff member. 

C. Volunteers who work with children shall be at least 13 

years of age. 

22VAC40-185-240 8VAC20-780-240. Staff training and 

development. 

A. Staff shall receive the following training by the end of their 

first day of assuming job responsibilities: 

1. Job responsibilities and to whom they report; 

2. The policies and procedures listed in subsection B of this 

section and 22VAC40-185-420 A 8VAC20-780-420 A that 

relate to the staff member's responsibilities; 

3. The center's playground safety procedures unless the staff 

member will have no responsibility for playground activities 

or equipment; 

4. Recognizing child abuse and neglect and the legal 

requirements for reporting suspected child abuse as required 

by § 63.2-1509 of the Code of Virginia; 

5. Confidential treatment of personal information about 

children in care and their families; and 

6. The standards in this chapter that relate to the staff 

member's responsibilities. 

B. By the end of the first day of supervising children, staff 

shall be provided in writing with the information listed in 

22VAC40-185-420 A 8VAC20-780-420 A and the following: 

1. Procedures for supervising a child who may arrive after 

scheduled classes or activities including field trips have 

begun; 

2. Procedures to confirm absence of a child when the child 

is scheduled to arrive from another program or from an 

agency responsible for transporting the child to the center; 

3. Procedures for identifying where attending children are at 

all times, including procedures to ensure that all children are 

accounted for before leaving a field trip site and upon return 

to the center; 

4. Procedures for action in case of lost or missing children, 

ill or injured children, medical emergencies and general 

emergencies; 

5. Policy for any administration of medication; and 

6. Procedures for response to natural and man-made 

disasters. 

C. Program directors and staff who work directly with 

children shall annually attend 10 16 hours of staff development 

activities that shall be related to child safety and development 

and the function of the center. Such training hours shall 

increase according to the following: 

1. June 1, 2006 - 12 hours 

2. June 1, 2007 - 14 hours 

3. June 1, 2008 - 16 hours 

4. Staff development activities to meet this subsection may 

include up to two hours of training in first aid or 

cardiopulmonary resuscitation. Staff development activities 

to meet this subsection may not include rescue breathing and 

first responder as required by 22VAC40-185-530 8VAC20-

780-530 and training in medication administration and daily 

health observation of children as required by subsection D 

of this section. 

5. Exceptions to training requirements are as follows: 

a. Staff who drive a vehicle transporting children and do 

not work with a group of children at the center do not need 

to meet the annual training requirement. 

b. In a cooperative preschool center that is organized, 

administered, and maintained by parents of children in 

care, parent volunteers, or other persons who participate 

and volunteer in a cooperative preschool center on behalf 

of a child attending such cooperative preschool center, 
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including such volunteers who are counted in the staff-to 

child ratios required in 22VAC40-185-340 8VAC20-780-

340, shall complete four hours of training per year and 

shall be exempt from orientation and training 

requirements applicable to staff of child day programs. 

This orientation and training exemption shall not apply to 

any parent volunteer or other person as referred to in this 

subdivision if the cooperative preschool center has entered 

into a contract with the department, the Department of 

Social Services, or a local department of Social Services 

to provide child care services funded by the Child Care 

and Development Block Grant. 

c. Staff who are employed at a short-term program shall 

obtain 10 hours of staff training per year. 

D. 1. To safely perform medication administration practices 

listed in 22VAC40-185-510 8VAC20-780-510, whenever the 

center has agreed to administer prescribed medications, the 

administration shall be performed by a staff member or 

independent contractor who has satisfactorily completed a 

training program for this purpose approved by the Board of 

Nursing and taught by a registered nurse, licensed practical 

nurse, doctor of medicine or osteopathic medicine, or 

pharmacist; or administration shall be performed by a staff 

member or independent contractor who is licensed by the 

Commonwealth of Virginia to administer medications. 

a. The approved training curriculum and materials shall be 

reviewed by the department at least every three years and 

revised as necessary. 

b. Staff required to have the training shall be retrained at 

three-year intervals. 

2. The decision to administer medicines at a facility may be 

limited by center policy to: 

a. Prescribed medications; 

b. Over-the-counter or nonprescription medications; or 

c. No medications except those required for emergencies 

or by law. 

3. To safely perform medication administration practices 

listed in 22VAC40-185-510 8VAC20-780-510, whenever 

the center has agreed to administer over-the-counter 

medications other than topical skin gel, cream, or ointment, 

the administration must be performed by a staff member or 

independent contractor who has satisfactorily completed a 

training course developed or approved by the Department of 

Social Services Education in consultation with the 

Department of Health and the Board of Nursing and taught 

by an R.N., L.P.N., physician, or pharmacist; or performed 

by a staff member or independent contractor who is licensed 

by the Commonwealth of Virginia to administer 

medications. 

a. The course, which shall include competency guidelines, 

shall reflect currently accepted safe medication 

administration practices, including instruction and 

practice in topics such as, but not limited to, reading and 

following manufacturer's instructions; observing relevant 

laws, policies and regulations; and demonstrating 

knowledge of safe practices for medication storage and 

disposal, recording and reporting responsibilities, and side 

effects and emergency recognition and response. 

b. The approved training curriculum and materials shall be 

reviewed by the department at least every three years and 

revised as necessary. 

c. Staff required to have the training shall be retrained at 

three-year intervals. 

4. Any child for whom emergency medications (such as but 

not limited to albuterol, glucagon, and epipen) have been 

prescribed shall always be in the care of a staff member or 

independent contractor who meets the requirements in 

subdivision 1 of this subsection. 

5. There shall always be at least one staff member on duty 

who has obtained within the last three years instruction in 

performing the daily health observation of children. 

6. Daily health observation training shall include: 

a. Components of daily health check for children; 

b. Inclusion and exclusion of the child from the class when 

the child is exhibiting physical symptoms that indicate 

possible illness; 

c. Descriptions of how diseases are spread and the 

procedures or methods for reducing the spread of disease; 

d. Information concerning the Virginia Department of 

Health Notification of Reportable Diseases pursuant to 

12VAC5-90-80 and 12VAC5-90-90, also available from 

the local health department and the website of the Virginia 

Department of Health; and 

e. Staff occupational health and safety practices in 

accordance with Occupational Safety and Health 

Administration's (OSHA) Bloodborne Pathogens 

regulation. 

E. Before assuming job responsibilities, staff who work with 

children in therapeutic child day programs and special needs 

child day programs shall receive training in: 

1. Universal precautions procedures; 

2. Activity adaptations; 

3. Medication administration; 

4. Disabilities precautions and health issues; and 

5. Appropriate intervention strategies. 

F. For therapeutic child day programs and special needs child 

day programs, staff who work directly with children shall 

annually attend 24 hours of staff development activities. At 

least eight hours of this training shall be on topics related to the 

care of children with special needs. 
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Part IV 

Physical Plant 

22VAC40-185-250 8VAC20-780-250. Approval from other 

agencies; requirements prior to initial licensure. 

A. Before issuance of the first license and before use of newly 

constructed, renovated, remodeled, or altered buildings or 

sections of buildings, written documentation of the following 

shall be provided by the center to the licensing representative: 

1. Approval by the authority having jurisdiction that each 

building meets building and fire codes or that a plan of 

correction has been approved; and 

Exception: Any building which is currently approved for 

school occupancy and which houses a public or private 

school during the school year shall be considered to have 

met the requirements of subdivision 1 of this subsection 

when housing a center only serving children two and a half 

years of age or older. 

2. Approval from the local health department, or approval of 

a plan of correction, for meeting requirements for: 

a. Water supply; 

b. Sewage disposal system; and 

c. Food service, if applicable. 

B. For buildings built before 1978, the following shall be 

submitted before the initial license is issued: 

1. A written statement from a person licensed in Virginia as 

an asbestos inspector and management planner as required 

by § 63.2-1811 22.1-289.052 of the Code of Virginia and the 

requirements of the Asbestos Hazard Emergency Response 

Act (15 USC § 2641 et seq.); and 

2. A written statement that the response actions to abate any 

risk to human health have been or will be initiated in 

accordance with a specific schedule and plan as 

recommended by the asbestos management planner in 

accordance with § 63.2-1811 22.1-289.052 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

C. A notice regarding the presence and location of asbestos 

containing materials and advising that the asbestos inspection 

report and management plan are available for review shall be 

posted. 

Exception: The provisions of subsections B and C of this 

section do not apply to centers located in buildings required to 

be inspected according to Article 5 (§ 2.2-1162 et seq.) of 

Chapter 11 of Title 2.2 of the Code of Virginia. 

D. Before the first license is issued, camps shall notify the 

responsible fire department and the responsible emergency 

medical service of the camp location and hours of operation. 

22VAC40-185-260 8VAC20-780-260. Approval from other 

agencies; requirements subsequent to initial licensure. 

A. The center shall provide to the licensing representative an 

annual fire inspection report from the appropriate fire official 

having jurisdiction. 

Exception: If a center is located in a building currently 

housing a public or private school, the school's annual fire 

inspection report shall be accepted. 

B. After the first license, annual approval from the health 

department shall be provided, or approvals of a plan of 

correction, for meeting requirements for: 

1. Water supply; 

2. Sewage disposal system; and 

3. Food service, if applicable. 

C. For those buildings where asbestos containing materials 

are detected and not removed: 

1. A signed, written statement that the center is following the 

recommendations of the management plan shall be 

submitted to the department before subsequent licenses are 

issued; and 

2. The notice regarding the presence and location of asbestos 

containing materials and advising that the asbestos 

inspection report and management plan are available for 

review shall continue to be posted. 

3. Exception: The provisions of this subsection do not apply 

to child day centers located in buildings required to be 

inspected according to Article 5 (§ 2.2-1162 et seq.) of 

Chapter 11 of Title 2.2 of the Code of Virginia. 

22VAC40-185-270 8VAC20-780-270. Building 

maintenance. 

A. Areas and equipment of the center, inside and outside, 

shall be maintained in a clean, safe and operable condition. 

Unsafe conditions shall include, but not be limited to, 

splintered, cracked or otherwise deteriorating wood; chipped 

or peeling paint; visible cracks, bending or warping, rusting or 

breakage of any equipment; head entrapment hazards; and 

protruding nails, bolts or other components that could entangle 

clothing or snag skin. 

B. Heat shall be supplied from a heating system approved in 

accordance with the Uniform Statewide Building Code 

(USBC, 13VAC5-62) except for camps. The heating system 

shall: 

1. Be installed to prevent accessibility of children to the 

system; and 

2. Have appropriate barriers to prevent children from being 

burned, shocked, or injured from heating equipment. In 

addition, proper supervision shall be available to prevent 

injury. 
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3. Exception: In case of emergency, portable heaters may be 

used in accordance with the manufacturer's instructions. 

C. In inside areas occupied by children, the temperature shall 

be maintained no lower than 68°F. 

D. Fans or other cooling systems shall be used when the 

temperature of inside areas occupied by children exceeds 80°F. 

E. Drinking fountains or individual disposable cups with safe 

drinking water shall be accessible at all times. 

F. Equipment shall include, but not be limited to, the 

following: 

1. Outside lighting provided at entrances and exits used by 

children before sunrise or after sundown; and 

2. An in-service, nonpay telephone. 

22VAC40-185-280 8VAC20-780-280. Hazardous 

substances and other harmful agents. 

A. No center shall be located where conditions exist that 

would be hazardous to the health and safety of children. 

B. Hazardous substances such as cleaning materials, 

insecticides, and pesticides shall be kept in a locked place using 

a safe locking method that prevents access by children. 

1. If a key is used, the key shall not be accessible to the 

children. 

2. Exception: Cleaning supplies to clean and sanitize the 

diapering area or toilet chairs do not need to be kept locked 

during diapering or toilet training time as long as they are 

inaccessible to children. 

C. Pesticides or insecticides shall not be stored in areas used 

by children or in areas used for food preparation or storage. 

D. Cleaning and sanitizing materials shall not be located 

above food, food equipment, utensils or single-service articles 

and shall be stored in areas physically separate from food. 

E. Cleaning materials (e.g., detergents, sanitizers and 

polishes) and insecticides/pesticides shall be stored in areas 

physically separate from each other. 

F. Hazardous substances shall be stored in the original 

container unless this container is of such a large size that its 

use would be impractical. 

G. If hazardous substances are not kept in original containers, 

the substitute containers shall clearly indicate their contents 

and shall not resemble food or beverage containers. 

H. Cosmetics, medications, or other harmful agents shall not 

be stored in areas, purses or pockets that are accessible to 

children. 

I. Hazardous art and craft materials shall not be used with 

children. 

J. Smoking shall be prohibited in the interior of a center that 

is not used for residential purposes. 

K. In residential areas of the center and outside the center, 

smoking shall be prohibited in the presence of children. 

22VAC40-185-290 8VAC20-780-290. General physical 

plant requirements for centers serving children of 

preschool age or younger. 

In areas used by children of preschool age or younger, the 

following shall apply: 

1. Guardrails and handrails shall be provided in accordance 

with the USBC (13VAC5-62) in effect at time of first 

occupancy or construction. 

2. Fans, when used, shall be out of reach of children and 

cords shall be secured so as not to create a tripping hazard. 

3. Electrical outlets shall have protective covers that are of a 

size that cannot be swallowed by children. 

22VAC40-185-300 8VAC20-780-300. General physical 

plant requirements for centers serving school age children. 

A. Any building which is currently approved for school 

occupancy and which houses a school during the school year 

shall be considered to have met the building requirements in 

this regulation chapter when housing a center only serving 

school age children. 

B. Portable camping equipment for heating or cooking that is 

not required to be approved by the building official shall bear 

the label of a nationally recognized inspection agency and be 

used in accordance with the manufacturer's specifications, 

except for charcoal and wood burning cooking equipment. 

C. No cooking or heating shall occur in tents except as 

provided by the USBC (13VAC5-62). 

22VAC40-185-310 8VAC20-780-310. Areas. 

A. Indoor space shall be measured inside wall-to-wall 

excluding spaces not routinely used by children as referenced 

in subdivisions 1 and 2 of this subsection: 

1. Areas not routinely used for children's activities shall not 

be calculated as available space. 

2. Space not calculated shall include, but not be limited to, 

offices, hallways, restrooms, kitchens, storage rooms or 

closets. 

B. There shall be 25 square feet of indoor space available per 

child until subdivisions 1 and 2 of this subsection take effect. 

1. Effective June 1, 2008, applicants must have 35 square 

feet of indoor wall-to-wall space per child. 

2. Current licensees and subsequent licensees at currently 

licensed facilities may continue to provide 25 square feet per 

child. 
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3. New additions shall have 35 square feet of indoor wall-to-

wall space per child effective June 1, 2008. 

C. Space in areas used by infants shall be calculated 

separately from space for older children. There shall be a 

minimum of 25 square feet of space per infant excluding space 

occupied by cribs and changing tables or a minimum of 35 

square feet of available space per infant including space 

occupied by cribs and changing tables. 

D. Camps for school age children are not required to meet this 

space requirement. However, when weather prevents outdoor 

activities, the required indoor space per child shall be provided 

either at the program site or at a predesignated, approved 

location off site. 

E. When children are on the outdoor play area, at least 75 

square feet of space per child shall be provided at any one time. 

F. Centers licensed for the care of infants and toddlers shall 

provide a separate playground area for these children that has 

at least 25 square feet of unpaved surface per infant/toddler on 

the outdoor area at any one time. This space may be counted 

as part of the 75 square feet required in subsection B of this 

section. 

G. A separate space shall be designated for children who are 

ill or injured. 

22VAC40-185-320 8VAC20-780-320. Restroom areas and 

furnishings.  

A. Centers shall be provided with at least two toilets and two 

sinks. 

B. Each restroom area provided for children shall: 

1. Be within a contained area, readily available and within 

the building used by the children (Exception: Restrooms 

used by school age children at camps are not required to be 

located within the building); 

2. Have toilets that are flushable; 

3. Have sinks located near the toilets and that are supplied 

with running warm water that does not exceed 120°F 

(Exception: Camps are exempt from the requirement that 

running water be warm); and 

4. Be equipped with soap, toilet paper, and disposable towels 

or an air dryer within reach of children. 

C. For restrooms available to males, urinals shall not be 

substituted for more than one-half the required number of 

toilets. 

D. An adult size toilet with privacy shall be provided for staff 

use. Staff toilets may be counted in the number of required 

toilets for children only if children are allowed unrestricted 

access to them. 

Exception: Primitive camps are not required to have a toilet 

with privacy for staff. 

E. Centers shall be provided with at least one toilet and one 

sink per 20 preschool children and at least one standard size 

toilet and one sink per 30 school age children. When sharing 

restroom areas with other programs, the children in those 

programs shall be included in the toilet and sink ratio 

calculations. The toilet and sink ratio appropriate to the 

younger age group shall apply. 

F. When child size toilets, urinals, and low sinks are not 

available in restrooms used by children of preschool age and 

younger, one or more platforms or sets of steps shall be 

provided. 

G. School age children of the opposite sex shall not use the 

same restroom at the same time. 

H. A restroom used for school age children that contains more 

than one toilet shall have at least one toilet enclosed. 

I. Restrooms used by school age children at primitive camps 

are not required to have: 

1. Sinks, if adequate water, supplies, and equipment for hand 

washing are available; and 

2. Flushable toilets, if the number of sanitary privies or 

portable toilets constructed and operated in accordance with 

the applicable law and regulations of the Virginia 

Department of Health meets the toilet ratio stated in 

subsection E of this section. No privy or outdoor toilet shall 

be located within 75 feet of other buildings or camp 

activities. 

22VAV40-185-330 8VAC20-780-330. Play areas. 

A. Playgrounds shall be located and designed to protect 

children from hazards. 

B. Where playground equipment is provided, resilient 

surfacing shall comply with minimum safety standards when 

tested in accordance with the procedures described in the 

American Society for Testing and Materials standard F1292-

99 as shown in Figures 2 (Compressed Loose Fill Synthetic 

Materials Depth Chart) and 3 (Use Zones for Equipment) on 

pages 6-7 of the National Program for Playground Safety's 

"Selecting Playground Surface Materials: Selecting the Best 

Surface Material for Your Playground," February 2004, and 

shall be under equipment with moving parts or climbing 

apparatus to create a fall zone free of hazardous obstacles. Fall 

zones are defined as the area underneath and surrounding 

equipment that requires a resilient surface. A fall zone shall 

encompass sufficient area to include the child's trajectory in the 

event of a fall while the equipment is in use. Falls zones shall 

not include barriers for resilient surfacing. Where steps are 

used for accessibility, resilient surfacing is not required. 

C. Ground supports shall be covered with materials that 

protect children from injury. 

D. Swing seats shall be constructed with flexible material. 
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1. Exceptions: Nonflexible molded swing seats may be used 

only in a separate infant or toddler play area. 

2. Swings made specifically for a child with a special need 

shall be permitted in any area as long as a staff member is 

positioned to see and protect other children who might walk 

into the path of the swing. 

E. Sandboxes with bottoms which prevent drainage shall be 

covered when not in use. 

F. A shady area shall be provided on playgrounds during the 

months of June, July, and August. 

EXCEPTION: The requirements of this section shall not 

prohibit child day programs providing care for school-age 

children at a location that is currently approved by the 

Department of Education or recognized as a private school by 

the State Board of Education for school occupancy and that 

houses a public or private school during the school year from 

permitting school-age children to use outdoor play equipment 

and areas approved for use by students of the school during 

school hours. 

Part V 

Staffing and Supervision 

22VAC40-185-340 8VAC20-780-340. Supervision of 

children.  

A. When staff are supervising children, they shall always 

ensure their care, protection, and guidance. 

B. During the center's hours of operation, one adult on the 

premises shall be in charge of the administration of the center. 

This person shall be either the administrator or an adult 

appointed by the licensee or designated by the administrator. 

C. During the stated hours of operation, there always shall be 

on the premises and on field trips when one or more children 

are present one staff member who meets the qualifications of a 

program leader or program director and an immediately 

available staff member, volunteer or other employee who is at 

least 16 years of age, with direct means for communication 

between the two of them. The volunteer or other employee 

shall have received instruction in how to contact appropriate 

authorities if there is an emergency. 

D. In each grouping of children at least one staff member who 

meets the qualifications of a program leader or program 

director shall be regularly present. Such a program leader shall 

supervise no more than two aides. 

E. Exception: A program leader is not required in each 

grouping of children during the first and last hour of operation 

when a center operates more than six hours per day and during 

the designated rest period if the following are met: (i) there is 

a staff member in the group who is over 18 years of age and 

has at least three months of programmatic experience at the 

center; (ii) there is an additional staff person on site who meets 

program leader qualifications, is not counted in the staff-to-

children ratios and is immediately available to help if needed; 

and (iii) there is a direct means for communicating between 

these two staff members. 

F. Children under 10 years of age always shall be within 

actual sight and sound supervision of staff, except that staff 

need only be able to hear a child who is using the restroom 

provided that: 

1. There is a system to assure that individuals who are not 

staff members or persons allowed to pick up a child in care 

do not enter the restroom area while in use by children; and 

2. Staff check on a child who has not returned from the 

restroom after five minutes. Depending on the location and 

layout of the restroom, staff may need to provide intermittent 

sight supervision of the children in the restroom area during 

this five-minute period to assure the safety of children and 

to provide assistance to children as needed. 

G. Children 10 years of age and older shall be within actual 

sight and sound supervision of staff except when the following 

requirements are met: 

1. Staff can hear or see the children (video equipment, 

intercom systems, or other technological devices shall not 

substitute for staff being able to directly see or hear 

children); 

2. Staff are nearby so they can provide immediate 

intervention if needed; 

3. There is a system to ensure that staff know where the 

children are and what they are doing; 

4. There is a system to ensure that individuals who are not 

staff members or persons allowed to pick up children in care 

do not enter the areas where children are not under sight 

supervision; and 

5. Staff provide sight and sound supervision of the children 

at variable and unpredictable intervals not to exceed 15 

minutes. 

H. When the outdoor activity area is not adjacent to the center, 

there shall be at least two staff members on the outdoor activity 

area whenever one or more children are present. 

I. Staff shall greet each child upon arrival at the center and 

oversee each child's departure from the center. 

J. Staff shall not allow a child to leave the center 

unsupervised. 

22VAC40-185-350 8VAC20-780-350. Staff-to-children 

ratio requirements.  

A. Staff shall be counted in the required staff-to-children 

ratios only when they are directly supervising children. 

B. A child volunteer 13 years of age or older not enrolled in 

the program shall not be counted as a child in the staff-to-

children ratio requirements. 
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C. When children are regularly in ongoing mixed age groups, 

the staff-to-children ratio applicable to the youngest child in 

the group shall apply to the entire group. 

D. During the designated rest period and the designated sleep 

period of evening and overnight care programs, the ratio of 

staff to children may be double the number of children to each 

staff required by subdivisions E 2 through 4 and 7 of this 

section if: 

1. A staff person is within sight and sound of the 

resting/sleeping children; 

2. Staff counted in the overall rest period ratio are within the 

building and available to ensure safe evacuation in an 

emergency; and 

3. An additional person is present at the center to help, if 

necessary. 

E. The following ratios of staff to children are required 

wherever children are in care: 

1. For children from birth to the age of 16 months: one staff 

member for every four children; 

2. For children 16 months old to two years: one staff member 

for every five children; 

3. For two-year-old children: one staff member for every 

eight children effective June 1, 2006; 

4. For children from three years to the age of eligibility to 

attend public school, five years by September 30: one staff 

member for every 10 children effective June 1, 2006; 

5. For children from age of eligibility to attend public school 

through eight years, one staff member for every 18 children; 

and 

6. For children from nine years through 12 years, one staff 

member for every 20 children effective June 1, 2006. 

7. Notwithstanding subdivisions 4 and 5 of this subsection 

and subsection C of this section, the ratio for balanced 

mixed-age groupings of children shall be one staff member 

for every 14 children, provided: 

a. If the program leader has an extended absence, there 

shall be sufficient substitute staff to meet a ratio of one 

staff member for every 12 children. 

b. The center shall have readily accessible and in close 

classroom proximity auxiliary persons sufficient to 

maintain a 1:10 adult-to-child ratio for all three-year-olds 

who are included in balanced mixed-age groups to be 

available in the event of emergencies. 

c. The program leader has received training in classroom 

management of balanced mixed-age groupings of at least 

eight hours. 

F. With a parent's written permission and a written assessment 

by the program director and program leader, a center may 

choose to assign a child to a different age group if such age 

group is more appropriate for the child's developmental level 

and the staff-to-children ratio shall be for the established age 

group. 

1. If such developmental placement is made for a child with 

a special need, a written assessment by a recognized agency 

or professional shall be required at least annually. These 

assignments are intended to be a permanent new group and 

staff members for the child. 

2. A center may temporarily reassign a child from his regular 

group and staff members for reasons of administrative 

necessity but not casually or repeatedly disrupt a child's 

schedule and attachment to his staff members and group. 

G. For therapeutic child day programs, in each grouping of 

children of preschool age or younger, the following ratios of 

staff to children are required according to the special needs of 

the children in care: 

1. For children with severe and profound disabilities, 

multiple special needs, serious medical need, or serious 

emotional disturbance: one staff member to three children. 

2. For children diagnosed as trainable mentally retarded 

(TMR), or with physical and sensory disabilities, or with 

autism: one staff member to four children. 

3. For children diagnosed as educable mentally retarded 

(EMR) or developmentally delayed or diagnosed with 

attention deficit/hyperactivity disorder (AD/HD): one staff 

member to five children. 

4. For children diagnosed with specific learning disabilities: 

one staff member to six children. 

5. When children with varied special needs are regularly in 

ongoing groups, the staff-to-children ratio applicable to the 

child with the most significant special need in the group shall 

apply to the entire group. 

6. Note: Whenever 22VAC40-185-350 E 8VAC20-780-350 

E requires more staff than 22VAC40-185-350 G 8VAC20-

780-350 G because of the children's ages, 22VAC40-185-

350 E 8VAC20-780-350 E shall take precedence over 

22VAC40-185-350 G 8VAC20-780-350 G. 

H. For therapeutic child day programs, in each grouping of 

school age children, the following ratios of staff to children are 

required according to the special needs of the children in care: 

1. For children with severe and profound disabilities, autism, 

multiple special needs, serious medical need, or serious 

emotional disturbance: one staff member to four children. 

2. For children diagnosed as trainable mentally retarded 

(TMR), or with physical and sensory disabilities; attention 

deficit/hyperactivity disorder (AD/HD), or other health 

impairments: one staff member to five children. 
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3. For children diagnosed as educable mentally retarded 

(EMR), or developmentally delayed: one staff member to six 

children. 

4. For children diagnosed with specific learning disabilities, 

or speech or language impairments: one staff member to 

eight children. 

5. When children with varied special needs are regularly in 

ongoing groups, the staff-to-children ratio applicable to the 

child with the most significant special need in the group shall 

apply to the entire group. 

Part VI 

Programs 

22VAC40-185-360 8VAC20-780-360. Daily Activities.  

A. The variety of daily activities for all age groups shall be 

age and stage appropriate and provide opportunities for 

teacher-directed, self-directed, and self-chosen tasks and 

activities; a balance of active and quiet activities; individual 

and group activities; and curiosity and exploration. 

Exception: Specialty camps do not need to provide 

opportunities for self-chosen tasks and curiosity and 

exploration. 

B. For a child who cannot move without help, staff shall offer 

to change the places and position of the child at least every 30 

minutes or more frequently depending on the child's individual 

needs. 

C. Children shall be allowed to sleep or rest as individually 

needed. 

D. For a child in a therapeutic child day program, daily 

activities shall be in accordance with the program's individual 

plan for such child. 

22VAC40-185-370 8VAC20-780-370. Daily activities for 

infants. 

There shall be a flexible daily schedule for infants based on 

their individual needs. During the day, infants shall be 

provided with: 

1. Sleep as needed. 

a. When an infant is placed in his crib, he shall be placed 

on his back (supine). 

b. When an infant is able to easily turn over from the back 

(supine) to the belly (prone) position and he is placed in 

his crib, he shall still be put on his back (supine) but 

allowed to adopt whatever position he prefers. This 

applies unless otherwise directed by the infant's physician 

in writing. 

c. If the side position is used, caregivers shall bring the 

dependent arm forward to lessen the likelihood of the 

infant rolling into a belly (prone) position. 

d. Resting or sleeping infants shall be individually 

checked every 15-20 minutes. 

e. An infant who falls asleep in a play space specified in 

subdivision 5 a of this section may remain in that space if 

comfortable and safe. 

2. Food as specified in 22VAC40-185-560 8VAC20-780-

560 and 22VAC40-185-570 8VAC20-780-570. 

3. Outdoor time if weather and air quality allow based upon 

the Air Quality Color Code Chart as provided by the 

Department of Environmental Quality. 

4. Comfort as needed. 

5. Play spaces. 

a. Play spaces may include, but are not limited to, cribs, 

infant seats, play yards, exercise chairs or saucers (but not 

walkers), infant swings, high chairs, and floor space. 

b. The variety of play spaces shall cumulatively offer: 

(1) Room for extensive movement (rolling, crawling, or 

walking) and exploration; 

(2) A diversity of sensory and perceptual experiences; and 

(3) Equipment and toys that support large and small motor 

development. 

c. Staff shall provide frequent opportunities for infants to 

creep, crawl, toddle and walk. 

d. Infants shall be protected from older children. 

e. Staff shall provide awake infants not playing on the 

floor or ground a change in play space at least every 30 

minutes or more often as determined by the individual 

infant's needs. 

f. Staff shall change the position of an awake infant 

playing on the floor or ground and the selection of toys 

available to the infant every 30 minutes or more often as 

determined by the individual infant's needs. 

g. Infants, who cannot turn themselves over and are 

awake, shall be placed on their stomachs a total of 30 

minutes each day to facilitate upper body strength and to 

address misshapen head concerns. 

6. Stimulation and language development activities, 

including but not limited to staff reading, talking to, showing 

pictures to, naming objects for, playing with and engaging 

in positive interactions (such as smiling, cuddling, and 

making eye contact) with infants. 

22VAC40-185-380 8VAC20-780-380. Daily activities for 

toddlers and preschoolers.  

A. There shall be a posted daily schedule that allows for 

flexibility as children's needs require. The daily schedule need 

not apply on days occupied a majority of the time by a field 

trip or other special event. The daily schedule shall include 

opportunities for: 
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1. Outdoor activity, weather and air quality allowing, for at 

least: 

a. Fifteen minutes per day or session if the center operates 

up to three hours per day or session; 

b. Thirty minutes per day or session if the center operates 

between three and five hours per day or session; or 

c. One hour per day or session if the center operates more 

than five hours per day or session. 

2. Sleep or rest. 

a. Centers operating five or more hours per day shall have 

a designated rest period for at least one hour but no more 

than two hours. 

(1) Cribs, cots, beds, or mats shall be used. 

(2) After the first 30 minutes, children not sleeping may 

engage in quiet activities. 

b. A child who falls asleep in a place other than his 

designated sleeping location may remain in that space if 

comfortable and safe. 

c. Sleeping toddlers shall be individually checked every 

30 minutes. 

3. Meals and snacks as specified in 22VAC40-185-560 

8VAC20-780-560 and 22VAC40-185-570 8VAC20-780-

570. 

4. Small and large motor activities, language and 

communication experiences, sensory experiences, art or 

music activities, and play acting or social living. 

B. Staff shall encourage language development by having 

conversations with children that give them time to initiate and 

respond, by labeling and describing objects and events, having 

storytelling time and by expanding the children's vocabulary. 

22VAC40-185-390 8VAC20-780-390. Daily activities for 

school age children.  

A. Before or after school, the center shall provide an 

opportunity for children to do homework or projects or hobbies 

in a suitable area. In the afternoon, there shall be an opportunity 

for large motor activities at least 25% of the time. 

B. On nonschool days, the daily activity shall include 

opportunities for large motor activities at least 25% of the time; 

small motor activities; projects, hobbies, or homework in a 

suitable place; art or music activities; outdoor activity in 

accordance with 22VAC40-185-380 A 1 8VAC20-780-380 A 

1 and food as specified in 22VAC40-185-560 8VAC20-780-

560 and 22VAC40-185-570 8VAC20-780-570. 

Exception: Specialty camps are not required to meet the 

requirements of this subsection. 

22VAC40-185-400 8VAC20-780-400. Behavioral guidance.  

A. In order to promote the child's physical, intellectual, 

emotional, and social well-being and growth, staff shall 

interact with the child and one another to provide needed help, 

comfort, support and: 

1. Respect personal privacy; 

2. Respect differences in cultural, ethnic, and family 

backgrounds; 

3. Encourage decision-making abilities; 

4. Promote ways of getting along; 

5. Encourage independence and self-direction; and 

6. Use consistency in applying expectations. 

B. Behavioral guidance shall be constructive in nature, age 

and stage appropriate, and shall be intended to redirect children 

to appropriate behavior and resolve conflicts. 

22VAC40-185-410 8VAC20-780-410. Forbidden actions. 

The following actions or threats thereof are forbidden: 

1. Physical punishment, striking a child, roughly handling or 

shaking a child, restricting movement through binding or 

tying, forcing a child to assume an uncomfortable position, 

or exercise as punishment; 

2. Enclosure in a small confined space or any space that the 

child cannot freely exit himself; however, this does not apply 

to the use of equipment such as cribs, play yards, high chairs, 

and safety gates when used with children preschool age or 

younger for their intended purpose; 

3. Punishment by another child; 

4. Separation from the group so that the child is away from 

the hearing and vision of a staff member; 

5. Withholding or forcing of food or rest; 

6. Verbal remarks which are demeaning to the child; 

7. Punishment for toileting accidents; and 

8. Punishment by applying unpleasant or harmful 

substances. 

22VAC40-185-420 8VAC20-780-420. Parental 

involvement.  

A. Before the child's first day of attending, parents shall be 

provided in writing the following: 

1. The center's philosophy and any religious affiliation; 

2. Operating information, including the hours and days of 

operation and holidays or other times closed, and the phone 

number where a message can be given to staff; 

3. The center's transportation policy; 

4. The center's policies for the arrival and departure of 

children, including procedures for verifying that only 

persons authorized by the parent are allowed to pick up the 

child, picking up children after closing, when a child is not 
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picked up for emergency situations including but not limited 

to inclement weather or natural disasters; 

5. The center's policy regarding any medication or medical 

procedures that will be given; 

6. The center's policy regarding application of: 

a. Sunscreen; 

b. Diaper ointment or cream; and 

c. Insect repellent. 

7. Description of established lines of authority for staff; 

8. Policy for reporting suspected child abuse as required by 

§ 63.2-1509 of the Code of Virginia; 

9. The custodial parent's right to be admitted to the center as 

required by § 63.2-1813 22.1-289.054 of the Code of 

Virginia; 

10. Policy for communicating an emergency situation with 

parents; 

11. The appropriate general daily schedule for the age of the 

enrolling child; 

12. Food policies; 

13. Discipline policies including acceptable and 

unacceptable discipline measures; and 

14. Termination policies. 

B. Staff shall promptly inform parents when persistent 

behavioral problems are identified; such notification shall 

include any disciplinary steps taken in response. 

C. A custodial parent shall be admitted to any child day 

program. Such right of admission shall apply only while the 

child is in the child day program (§ 63.2-1813 22.1-289.054 of 

the Code of Virginia). 

D. The center shall provide opportunities for parental 

involvement in center activities. 

E. Communication. 

1. For each infant, the center shall post a daily record which 

can be easily accessed by both the parent and the staff 

working with the child. The record shall contain the 

following information: 

a. The amount of time the infant slept; 

b. The amount of food consumed and the time; 

c. A description and time of bowel movements; 

d. Developmental milestones; and 

e. For infants, who are awake and cannot turn over by 

themselves, the amount of time spent on their stomachs. 

2. If asked by parents, staff shall provide feedback about 

daily activities, physical well-being, and developmental 

milestones. 

3. Parents shall be provided at least semiannually in writing 

information on their child's development, behavior, 

adjustment, and needs. 

a. Staff shall provide at least semiannual scheduled 

opportunities for parents to provide feedback on their 

children and the center's program. 

b. Staff shall request at least annually parent confirmation 

that the required information in the child's record is up to 

date. 

c. Such sharing of information shall be documented. 

d. Short-term programs (as defined in 22VAC40-185-10 

8VAC20-780-10) are exempt from this requirement. 

4. Parents shall be informed of reasons for termination of 

services. 

22VAC40-185-430 8VAC20-780-430. Equipment and 

materials.  

A. Furnishings, equipment, and materials shall be of an 

appropriate size for the child using it. 

B. Materials and equipment available shall be age and stage 

appropriate for the children and shall include an adequate 

supply as appropriate for each age group of arts and crafts 

materials, texture materials, construction materials, music and 

sound materials, books, social living equipment, and 

manipulative equipment. 

C. Play equipment used by children shall meet the following 

requirements: 

1. Openings above the ground or floor which allow a 3-1/2 

inch by 6-1/4 inch rectangle to fit through shall also allow a 

nine-inch circle to fit through; 

2. S-hooks where provided may not be open more than the 

thickness of a penny; and 

3. Have no protrusions, sharp points, shearing points, or 

pinch points. 

D. The unenclosed climbing portion of slides and climbing 

equipment used by toddlers and preschool children shall not be 

more than seven feet high and must be located over resilient 

surfacing where outdoors, and shall not be more than five feet 

high where indoors. 

E. Centers may not install after June 1, 2005, any slide or 

climbing equipment to be used by preschoolers or toddlers 

when the climbing portion of the equipment is more than six 

feet in height. 

F. The climbing portions of indoor slides and climbing 

equipment over 18 inches shall not be over bare flooring. 

G. The climbing portions of indoor slides and climbing 

equipment 36 inches or more shall be located over a resilient 

surface. 

H. Trampolines may not be used. 
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EXCEPTION: The requirements of subsections A through H 

of this section shall not prohibit child day programs providing 

care for school-age children at a location that is currently 

approved by the Department of Education or recognized as a 

private school by the State Board of Education for school 

occupancy and that houses a public or private school during 

the school year from permitting school-age children to use 

outdoor play equipment and areas approved for use by students 

of the school during school hours. 

I. If combs, toothbrushes, or other personal articles are used, 

they shall be individually assigned. 

J. Disposable products shall be used once and discarded. 

K. Provision shall be made for an individual place for each 

child's personal belongings. 

L. Infant walkers shall not be used. 

M. Play yards where used shall: 

1. Meet the Juvenile Products Manufacturers Association 

(JPMA) and the American Society for Testing and Materials 

(ASTM) requirements and shall retain the manufacturer's 

label documenting product compliance with current safety 

standards at the time they were manufactured; 

2. Not be used after recalled; 

3. Not use any pillows or filled comforters; 

4. Not be used for the designated sleeping areas; 

5. Not be occupied by more than one child; and 

6. Be sanitized each day of use or more often as needed. 

N. Upon being informed that a product has been recalled, 

center staff shall remove the item from the center. 

O. Where portable water coolers are used, they shall be of 

cleanable construction, maintained in a cleaned condition, kept 

securely closed and so designed that water may be withdrawn 

from the container only by water tap or faucet. 

P. Drinking water which is transported to camp sites shall be 

in closed containers. 

Q. Therapeutic child day programs and special needs child 

day programs serving children who use wheelchairs shall 

provide cushioned vinyl-covered floormats for use when 

activities require children to be out of their wheelchairs. 

22VAC40-185-440 8VAC20-780-440. Cribs, cots, rest mats 

and beds.  

A. Cribs, cots, rest mats or beds shall be provided for children 

during the designated rest period and not be occupied by more 

than one child at a time. 

B. Cribs, cots, rest mats, and beds shall be identified for use 

by a specific child. 

C. Double decker cribs, cots, or beds, or other sleeping 

equipment when stacked shall not be permitted. 

D. Occupied cribs, cots, rest mats, and beds shall be at least 

2-1/2 feet from any heat producing appliance. 

E. There shall be at least 12 inches of space between occupied 

cots, beds, and rest mats. 

Exception: Twelve inches of space are not required where 

cots, beds, or rest mats are located adjacent to a wall or a 

divider as long as one side is open at all times to allow for 

passage. 

F. If rest mats are used, they shall have cushioning and be 

sanitized on all sides weekly or before use by another child. 

G. Cribs shall be used for children under 12 months of age 

and for children over 12 months of age who are not 

developmentally ready to sleep on a cot or mat. 

H. Cribs shall meet the following requirements: 

1. They shall meet the Consumer Product Safety 

Commission Standards at the time they were manufactured; 

2. They shall not have been recalled; 

3. There shall be no more than six centimeters or 2-3/8 

inches of space between slats; 

4. There shall be no more than one inch between the mattress 

and the crib; and 

5. End panel cut-outs in cribs shall be of a size not to cause 

head entrapment. 

I. Cribs shall be placed where objects outside the crib such as 

cords from blinds or curtains are not within reach of infants or 

toddlers. 

J. There shall be at least: 

1. Twelve inches of space between the sides and ends of 

occupied cribs except where they touch the wall; and 

2. Thirty inches of space between service sides of occupied 

cribs and other furniture where that space is the walkway for 

staff to gain access to any occupied crib. 

K. Crib sides shall be up and the fastenings secured when a 

child is in the crib, except when a staff member is giving the 

child immediate attention. 

L. Pillows and filled comforters shall not be used by children 

under two years of age. 

M. Use of crib bumper pads shall be prohibited. 

N. Toys or objects hung over an infant in a crib and crib gyms 

that are strung across the crib may not be used for infants over 

five months of age or infants who are able to push up on their 

hands and knees. 
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22VAC40-185-450 8VAC20-780-450. Linens.  

A. Cribs, cots, mats and beds used by children other than 

infants during the designated rest period or during evening and 

overnight care shall have linens consisting of a top cover and a 

bottom cover or a one-piece covering which is open on three 

edges. Cribs when being used by infants shall have a bottom 

cover. 

B. Linens shall be assigned for individual use. 

C. Linens shall be clean and washed at least weekly. 

1. Crib sheets shall be clean and washed daily. 

2. When centers wash the linens, the water shall be above 

140°F or the dryer shall heat the linens above 140°F as 

verified by the manufacturer or a sanitizer shall be used 

according to the manufacturer's instructions. 

D. Pillows when used shall be assigned for individual use and 

covered with pillow cases. 

E. Mattresses when used shall be covered with a waterproof 

material which can be cleaned and sanitized. 

22VAC40-185-460 8VAC20-780-460. Swimming and 

wading activities; staff and supervision.  

A. The staff-to-children ratios required by 22VAC40-185-

350 E 8VAC20-780-350 E, G, and H shall be maintained while 

children are participating in swimming or wading activities. 

1. Notwithstanding the staff-to-children ratios already 

indicated, at no time shall there be fewer than two staff 

members supervising the activity. 

2. The designated certified lifeguard shall not be counted in 

the staff-to-children ratios. 

B. If a pool, lake, or other swimming area has a water depth 

of more than two feet, a certified lifeguard holding a current 

certificate shall be on duty supervising the children 

participating in swimming or wading activities at all times 

when one or more children are in the water. 

C. The lifeguard certification shall be obtained from an 

organization such as, but not limited to, the American Red 

Cross, the YMCA, or the Boy Scouts. 

22VAC40-185-470 8VAC20-780-470. Pools and equipment.  

A. When permanent swimming or wading pools are located 

on the premises of the center, the following shall apply: 

1. The manufacturer's specifications for operating the pool 

shall be followed as well as any local ordinances and any 

Department of Health requirements for swimming pools; 

2. Pools constructed, renovated, or remodeled after April 1, 

1986, shall have a statement in writing of their inspection 

and approval from the local building official when such 

approval is required; 

3. Outdoor swimming pools shall be enclosed by safety 

fences and gates which are in compliance with the applicable 

edition of the Virginia USBC (13VAC5-62) and shall be 

kept locked when the pool is not in use; 

4. Entrances to indoor swimming pools shall be locked when 

the pool is not in use; and 

5. A whistle or other audible signaling device, a buoy or a 

lemon line, a reach pole, and a backboard shall be available 

at the swimming or wading site. 

B. If children are allowed to swim in a lake or other place 

other than a pool, safe swimming areas shall be clearly marked 

and there shall be appropriate water safety equipment. 

C. Piers, floats, and platforms shall be in good repair and 

where used for diving, the minimum water depth shall be stated 

on the deck or planking. 

D. If portable wading pools without integral filter systems are 

used, they shall be emptied after the use of each group of 

children, rinsed, and filled with clean water, or more frequently 

as necessary. 

E. Children who are not toilet trained may not use portable 

wading pools. 

F. After each day's use, portable wading pools shall be 

emptied, sanitized, and stored in a position to keep them clean 

and dry. 

22VAC40-185-480 8VAC20-780-480. Swimming and 

wading; general.  

A. The center shall have emergency procedures and written 

safety rules for swimming or wading or follow the posted rules 

of public pools that are: 

1. Posted in the swimming area when the pool is located on 

the premises of the center; and 

2. Explained to children participating in swimming or 

wading activities. 

B. The center shall maintain (i) written permission from the 

parent of each child who participates in swimming or wading 

and (ii) a statement from the parent advising of a child's 

swimming skills before the child is allowed in water above the 

child's shoulder height. 

C. Staff shall have a system for accounting for all children in 

the water. 

D. Outdoor swimming activities shall occur only during 

daylight hours unless underwater and deck lighting is 

provided. 



Regulations 

Volume 37, Issue 24  Virginia Register of Regulations  July 19, 2021  

3536 

Part VII 

Special Care Provisions and Emergencies 

22VAC40-185-490 8VAC20-780-490. Preventing the 

spread of disease.  

A. A child shall not be allowed to attend the center for the day 

if he has: 

1. A temperature over 101°F; 

2. Recurrent vomiting or diarrhea; or 

3. A communicable disease. 

B. If a child needs to be excluded according to subsection A 

of this section, the following shall apply: 

1. Arrangements shall be made for the child to leave the 

center as soon as possible after the signs or symptoms are 

noticed; and 

2. The child shall remain in the designated quiet area until 

leaving the center. 

C. When children at the center have been exposed to a 

communicable disease listed in the Department of Health's 

current communicable disease chart, the parents shall be 

notified within 24 hours or the next business day of the center's 

having been informed unless forbidden by law, except for life 

threatening diseases, which must be reported to parents 

immediately. 

D. The center shall consult the local department of health if 

there is a question about the communicability of a disease. 

E. When any surface has been contaminated with body fluids, 

it shall be cleaned and sanitized. 

22VAC40-185-500 8VAC20-780-500. Hand washing and 

toileting procedures.  

A. Hand washing. 

1. Children's hands shall be washed with soap and running 

water or disposable wipes before and after eating meals or 

snacks. 

2. Children's hands shall be washed with soap and running 

water after toileting and any contact with blood, feces or 

urine. 

3. Staff shall wash their hands with soap and running water 

before and after helping a child use the toilet or a diaper 

change, after the staff member uses the toilet, after any 

contact with body fluids, and before feeding or helping 

children with feeding. 

4. Exception: If running water is not available, a germicidal 

cleansing agent administered per manufacturer's instruction 

may be used. 

B. Diapering; soiled clothing. 

1. The diapering area shall be accessible and within the 

building used by children. 

2. There shall be sight and sound supervision for all children 

when a child is being diapered. 

3. The diapering area shall be provided with the following: 

a. A sink with running warm water not to exceed 120°F; 

b. Soap, disposable towels and single use gloves such as 

surgical or examination gloves; 

c. A nonabsorbent surface for diapering or changing shall 

be used. For children younger than three years, this surface 

shall be a changing table or countertop designated for 

changing; 

d. The appropriate disposal container as required by 

subdivision 5 of this subsection; and 

e. A leakproof covered receptacle for soiled linens. 

4. When a child's clothing or diaper becomes wet or soiled, 

the child shall be cleaned and changed immediately. 

5. Disposable diapers shall be used unless the child's skin 

reacts adversely to disposable diapers. 

6. Disposable diapers shall be disposed in a leakproof or 

plastic-lined storage system that is either foot-operated or 

used in such a way that neither the staff member's hand nor 

the soiled diaper touches an exterior surface of the storage 

system during disposal. 

7. When cloth diapers are used, a separate leakproof storage 

system as specified in this subdivision shall be used. 

8. The diapering surface shall be used only for diapering or 

cleaning children, and it shall be cleaned with soap and at 

least room temperature water and sanitized after each use. 

Tables used for children's activities or meals shall not be 

used for changing diapers. 

Exception: Individual disposable barriers may be used 

between each diaper change. If the changing surface 

becomes soiled, the surface shall be cleaned and sanitized 

before another child is diapered. 

9. Staff shall ensure the immediate safety of a child during 

diapering. 

C. Toilet training. For every 10 children in the process of 

being toilet trained, there shall be at least one toilet chair or one 

child-sized toilet, or at least one adult sized toilet with a 

platform or steps and adapter seat. 

1. The location of these items shall allow for sight and sound 

supervision of children in the classroom if necessary for the 

required staff-to-children ratios to be maintained. 

2. Toilet chairs shall be emptied promptly and cleaned and 

sanitized after each use. 
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22VAC40-185-510 8VAC20-780-510. Medication. 

A. Prescription and nonprescription medication shall be given 

to a child: 

1. According to the center's written medication policies; and 

2. Only with written authorization from the parent. 

B. Nonprescription medication shall be administered by a 

staff member or independent contractor who meets the 

requirements in 22VAC40-185-240 D 1 8VAC20-780-240 D 

1 or D 3. 

C. The center's procedures for administering medication 

shall: 

1. Include any general restrictions of the center. 

2. For nonprescription medication, be consistent with the 

manufacturer's instructions for age, duration and dosage. 

3. Include duration of the parent's authorization for 

medication, provided that it shall expire or be renewed after 

10 work days. Long-term prescription drug use and over-the-

counter medication may be allowed with written 

authorization from the child's physician and parent. 

4. Include methods to prevent use of outdated medication. 

D. The medication authorization shall be available to staff 

during the entire time it is effective. 

E. Medication shall be labeled with the child's name, the name 

of the medication, the dosage amount, and the time or times to 

be given. 

F. Nonprescription medication shall be in the original 

container with the direction label attached. 

G. The center may administer prescription medication that 

would normally be administered by a parent or guardian to a 

child provided: 

1. The medication is administered by a staff member or an 

independent contractor who meets the requirements in 

22VAC40-185-240 D 1 8VAC20-780-240 D 1; 

2. The center has obtained written authorization from a 

parent or guardian; 

3. The center administers only those drugs that were 

dispensed from a pharmacy and maintained in the original, 

labeled container; and 

4. The center administers drugs only to the child identified 

on the prescription label in accordance with the prescriber's 

instructions pertaining to dosage, frequency, and manner of 

administration. 

H. When needed, medication shall be refrigerated. 

I. When medication is stored in a refrigerator used for food, 

the medications shall be stored together in a container or in a 

clearly defined area away from food. 

J. Medication, except for those prescriptions designated 

otherwise by written physician's order, including refrigerated 

medication and staff's personal medication, shall be kept in a 

locked place using a safe locking method that prevents access 

by children. 

K. If a key is used, the key shall not be accessible to the 

children. 

L. Centers shall keep a record of medication given children, 

which shall include the following: 

1. Child to whom medication was administered; 

2. Amount and type of medication administered to the child; 

3. The day and time the medication was administered to the 

child; 

4. Staff member administering the medication; 

5. Any adverse reactions; and 

6. Any medication error. 

M. Staff shall inform parents immediately of any adverse 

reactions to medication administered and any medication error. 

N. When an authorization for medication expires, the parent 

shall be notified that the medication needs to be picked up 

within 14 days or the parent must renew the authorization. 

Medications that are not picked up by the parent within 14 days 

will be disposed of by the center by either dissolving the 

medication down the sink or flushing it down the toilet. 

22VAC40-185-520 8VAC20-780-520. Over-the-counter 

skin products. 

A. All nonprescription drugs and over-the-counter skin 

products shall be used in accordance with the manufacturer's 

recommendations. Nonprescription drugs and over-the-

counter skin products shall not be kept or used beyond the 

expiration date of the product. 

B. If sunscreen is used, the following requirements shall be 

met: 

1. Written parent authorization noting any known adverse 

reactions shall be obtained; 

2. Sunscreen shall be in the original container and labeled 

with the child's name; 

3. Sunscreen does not need to be kept locked but shall be 

inaccessible to children under five years of age or those 

children in a therapeutic child day program or special needs 

child day program; 

4. Any center-kept sunscreen shall be hypo-allergenic and 

have a minimum SPF of 15; 

5. Staff members without medication administration training 

may apply sunscreen, unless it is prescription sunscreen, in 
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which case the storing and application of sunscreen must 

meet medication-related requirements; and 

6. Children nine years of age and older may administer their 

own sunscreen if supervised. 

C. If diaper ointment or cream is used, the following 

requirements shall be met: 

1. Written parent authorization noting any known adverse 

reactions shall be obtained; 

2. These products shall be in the original container and 

labeled with the child's name; 

3. These products do not need to be kept locked but shall be 

inaccessible to children; 

4. A record shall be kept that includes the child's name, date 

of use, frequency of application and any adverse reactions; 

and 

5. Staff members without medication administration training 

may apply diaper ointment, unless it is prescription diaper 

ointment, in which case the storing and application of diaper 

ointment must meet medication-related requirements. 

D. If insect repellent is used, the following requirements shall 

be met: 

1. Written parent authorization noting any known adverse 

reactions shall be obtained; 

2. Insect repellent shall be in the original container and 

labeled with the child's name; 

3. Insect repellent does not need to be kept locked but shall 

be inaccessible to children; 

4. A record shall be kept that includes the child's name, date 

of use, frequency of application and any adverse reactions; 

5. Manufacturer's instructions for age, duration and dosage 

shall be followed; and 

6. Staff members without medication administration training 

may apply insect repellent, unless it is prescription insect 

repellent, in which case the storing and application of insect 

repellent must meet medication-related requirements. 

22VAC40-185-530 8VAC20-780-530. First aid training, 

cardiopulmonary resuscitation (CPR) and rescue 

breathing. 

A. There shall be at least one staff member trained in first aid, 

cardiopulmonary resuscitation, and rescue breathing as 

appropriate to the age of the children in care who is on the 

premises during the center's hours of operation and also one 

person on field trips and wherever children are in care. 

1. This person shall be available to children; and 

2. This person shall have current certification by the 

American Red Cross, American Heart Association, National 

Safety Council, or other designated program approved by the 

Department of Social Services Education. 

B. Primitive camps shall have a staff member on the premises 

during the hours of operation who has at least current 

certification in first responder training. 

22VAC40-185-780 8VAC20-780-540. First aid and 

emergency supplies.  

A. A first aid kit shall be: 

1. On each floor of each building used by children; 

2. Accessible to outdoor play areas; 

3. On field trips; and 

4. Wherever children are in care. 

B. Each first aid kit shall be easily accessible to staff but not 

to children. 

C. The required first aid kits shall include at a minimum: 

1. Scissors; 

2. Tweezers; 

3. Gauze pads; 

4. Adhesive tape; 

5. Band-aids, assorted types; 

6. An antiseptic cleansing solution /pads; 

7. Thermometer; 

8. Triangular bandages; 

9. Single use gloves such as surgical or examination gloves; 

and 

10. The first aid instructional manual. 

D. The following emergency supplies shall be required at the 

center and be available on field trips: 

1. Activated charcoal preparation (to be used only on the 

direction of a physician or the center's local poison control 

center); and 

2. An ice pack or cooling agent. 

E. The following nonmedical emergency supplies shall be 

required: 

1. One working, battery-operated flashlight on each floor of 

each building that is used by children; and 

2. One working, battery-operated radio in each building used 

by children and any camp location without a building. 
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22VAC40-185-550 8VAC20-780-550. Procedures for 

emergencies.  

A. The center shall have an emergency preparedness plan that 

addresses staff responsibility and facility readiness with 

respect to emergency evacuation and shelter-in-place. The 

plan, which shall be developed in consultation with local or 

state authorities, addresses the most likely to occur emergency 

scenario or scenarios, including but not limited to natural 

disaster, chemical spills, intruder, and terrorism specific to the 

locality. 

B. The emergency preparedness plan shall contain procedural 

components for: 

1. Sounding of alarms (intruder, shelter-in-place such as for 

tornado, or chemical hazard); 

2. Emergency communication to include: 

a. Establishment of center emergency officer and back-up 

officer to include 24-hour contact telephone number for 

each; 

b. Notification of local authorities (fire and rescue, law 

enforcement, emergency medical services, poison control, 

health department, etc.), parents, and local media; and 

c. Availability and primary use of communication tools; 

3. Evacuation to include: 

a. Assembly points, head counts, primary and secondary 

means of egress, and complete evacuation of the 

buildings; 

b. Securing of essential documents (sign-in record, parent 

contact information, etc.) and special health care supplies 

to be carried off-site on immediate notice; and 

c. Method of communication after the evacuation; 

4. Shelter-in-place to include: 

a. Scenario applicability, inside assembly points, head 

counts, primary and secondary means of access and 

egress; 

b. Securing essential documents (sign-in records, parent 

contact information, etc.) and special health supplies to be 

carried into the designated assembly points; and 

c. Method of communication after the shelter-in-place; 

5. Facility containment procedures, (e.g., closing of fire 

doors or other barriers) and shelter-in-place scenario (e.g., 

intruders, tornado, or chemical spills); 

6. Staff training requirement, drill frequency, and plan 

review and update; and 

7. Other special procedures developed with local authorities. 

C. Emergency evacuation and shelter-in-place 

procedures/maps shall be posted in a location conspicuous to 

staff and children on each floor of each building. 

D. The center shall implement a monthly practice evacuation 

drill and a minimum of two shelter-in-place practice drills per 

year for the most likely to occur scenarios. 

E. The center shall maintain a record of the dates of the 

practice drills for one year. For centers offering multiple shifts, 

the simulated drills shall be divided evenly among the various 

shifts. 

F. A 911 or local dial number for police, fire and emergency 

medical services and the number of the regional poison control 

center shall be posted in a visible place at each telephone. 

G. Each camp location shall have an emergency preparedness 

plan and warning system. 

H. The center shall prepare a document containing local 

emergency contact information, potential shelters, hospitals, 

evacuation routes, etc., that pertain to each site frequently 

visited or of routes frequently driven by center staff for center 

business (such as field trips, pick-up/drop off of children to or 

from schools, etc.). This document must be kept in vehicles 

that centers use to transport children to and from the center. 

I. Parents shall be informed of the center's emergency 

preparedness plan. 

J. Based on local authorities and documented normal 

ambulance operation, if an ambulance service is not readily 

accessible within 10 to 15 minutes, other transportation shall 

be available for use in case of emergency. 

K. The center or other appropriate official shall notify the 

parent immediately if a child is lost, requires emergency 

medical treatment or sustains a serious injury. 

L. The center shall notify the parent by the end of the day of 

any known minor injuries. 

M. The center shall maintain a written record of children's 

serious and minor injuries in which entries are made the day of 

occurrence. The record shall include the following: 

1. Date and time of injury; 

2. Name of injured child; 

3. Type and circumstance of the injury; 

4. Staff present and treatment; 

5. Date and time when parents were notified; 

6. Any future action to prevent recurrence of the injury; 

7. Staff and parent signatures or two staff signatures; and 

8. Documentation on how parent was notified. 
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Part VIII 

Special Services 

22VAC40-185-560 8VAC20-780-560. Nutrition and food 

services.  

A. Centers shall schedule appropriate times for snacks or 

meals, or both, based on the hours of operation and time of the 

day (e.g., a center open only for after school care shall schedule 

an afternoon snack; a center open from 7 a.m. to 1 p.m. shall 

schedule a morning snack and midday meal). 

B. The center shall ensure that children arriving from a half-

day, morning program who have not yet eaten lunch receive a 

lunch. 

C. The center shall schedule snacks or meals so there is a 

period of at least 1-1/2 hours but no more than three hours 

between each meal or snack unless there is a scheduled rest or 

sleep period for children between the meals and snacks. 

D. Drinking water or other beverage not containing caffeine 

shall be offered at regular intervals to nonverbal children. 

E. In environments of 80°F or above, attention shall be given 

to the fluid needs of children at regular intervals. Children in 

such environments shall be encouraged to drink fluids as 

outlined in subsection D of this section. 

F. When centers choose to provide meals or snacks, the 

following shall apply: 

1. Centers shall follow the most recent, age-appropriate 

nutritional requirements of a recognized authority such as 

the Child and Adult Care Food Program of the United States 

Department of Agriculture (USDA). 

2. Children shall be allowed second helpings of food listed 

in the USDA's child and adult care meal patterns. 

3. Centers offering both meals and snacks shall serve a 

variety of nutritious foods and shall serve at least three 

sources of vitamin A and at least three sources of vitamin C 

on various days each week. 

4. Children three years of age or younger may not be offered 

foods that are considered to be potential choking hazards. 

5. A menu listing foods to be served for meals and snacks 

during the current one-week period shall: 

a. Be dated; 

b. Be posted in a location conspicuous to parents or given 

to parents; 

c. List any substituted food; and 

d. Be kept on file for one week at the center. 

6. Powdered milk shall not be used except for cooking. 

G. When food is brought from home, the following shall 

apply: 

1. The food container shall be sealed and clearly dated and 

labeled in a way that identifies the owner; 

2. The center shall have extra food or shall have provisions 

to obtain food to serve to children so they can have an 

appropriate snack or meal if they forget to bring food from 

home, bring an inadequate meal or snack, or bring perishable 

food; and 

3. Unused portions of opened food shall be discarded by the 

end of the day or returned to the parent. 

H. If a catering service is used, it shall be approved by the 

local health department. 

I. Food shall be prepared, stored, and transported in a clean 

and sanitary manner. 

J. Contaminated or spoiled food shall not be served to 

children. 

K. Tables and high chair trays shall be: 

1. Sanitized before and after each use for feeding; and 

2. Cleaned at least daily. 

L. Children shall be encouraged to feed themselves. 

M. Staff shall sit with children during meal times. 

N. No child shall be allowed to drink or eat while walking 

around. 

22VAC40-185-570 8VAC20-780-570. Special feeding 

needs. 

A. High chairs, infant carrier seats, or feeding tables shall be 

used for children under 12 months who are not held while 

being fed. 

1. Children using infant seats or high chairs shall be 

supervised during snacks and meals. 

2. When a child is placed in an infant seat or high chair, the 

protective belt shall be fastened securely. 

B. Bottle fed infants who cannot hold their own bottles shall 

be held when fed. Bottles shall not be propped or used while 

the child is in his designated sleeping location. 

C. The record of each child on formula shall contain: 

1. The brand of formula; and 

2. The child's feeding schedule. 

D. Infants shall be fed on demand or in accordance with 

parental instructions. 

E. Prepared infant formula shall be refrigerated, dated and 

labeled with the child's name. 

F. Heated formula and baby food shall be stirred or shaken 

and tested for temperature before serving to children. 
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G. Milk, formula or breast milk shall not be heated or warmed 

directly in a microwave. Note: Water for warming milk, 

formula, or breast milk may be heated in a microwave. 

H. Prepared baby food not consumed during that feeding by 

an infant may be used by that same infant later in the same day, 

provided that the food is not served out of the baby jar and is 

dated and stored in the refrigerator; otherwise, it shall be 

discarded or returned to the parent at the end of the day. 

Formula or breast milk shall not remain unrefrigerated for 

more than two hours and may not be reheated. 

I. A one-day's emergency supply of disposable bottles, 

nipples, and commercial formulas appropriate for the children 

in care shall be maintained at the center. 

J. Breastfeeding shall be permitted. 

K. Staff shall feed semisolid food with a spoon unless written 

instructions from a physician or physician's designee state 

differently. 

L. For therapeutic child day programs and special needs child 

day programs, the consistency of food shall be appropriate to a 

child's special feeding needs. Necessary and adaptive feeding 

equipment and feeding techniques shall be used for children 

with special feeding needs. 

22VAC40-185-580 8VAC20-780-580. Transportation and 

field trips. 

A. If the center provides transportation, the center shall be 

responsible from the time the child boards the vehicle until 

returned to the parents or person designated by the parent. 

B. Any vehicle used by the center for the transportation of 

children shall meet the following requirements: 

1. The vehicle shall be manufactured for the purpose of 

transporting people seated in an enclosed area; 

2. The vehicle's seats shall be attached to the floor; 

3. The vehicle shall be insured with at least the minimum 

limits established by Virginia state statutes; 

4. The vehicle shall meet the safety standards set by the 

Department of Motor Vehicles and shall be kept in 

satisfactory condition to assure the safety of children; and 

5. If volunteers supply personal vehicles, the center is 

responsible for ensuring that the requirements of this 

subsection are met. 

C. The center shall ensure that during transportation of 

children: 

1. Virginia state statutes about safety belts and child 

restraints are followed and stated maximum number of 

passengers in a given vehicle shall not be exceeded; 

2. The children remain seated and each child's arms, legs, 

and head remain inside the vehicle; 

3. Doors are closed properly and locked unless locks were 

not installed by the manufacturer of the vehicle; 

4. At least one staff member or the driver always remains in 

the vehicle when children are present; 

5. The following information is in transportation vehicles: 

a. Emergency numbers as specified in 22VAC40-185-550 

F 8VAC20-780-550 F and H; 

b. The center's name, address, and phone number; and 

c. A list of the names of the children being transported. 

D. When entering and leaving vehicles, children shall enter 

and leave the vehicle from the curb side of the vehicle or in a 

protected parking area or driveway. 

E. Children shall cross streets at corners or crosswalks or 

other designated safe crossing point if no corner or crosswalk 

is available. 

F. The staff-to-children ratios of 22VAC40-185-350 E 

8VAC20-780-350 E, G, and H shall be followed on all field 

trips. The staff-to-children ratios need not be followed during 

transportation of school age children to and from the center. 

One staff member or adult is necessary in addition to the driver 

when 16 or more preschool or younger children are being 

transported in the vehicle. 

G. The center shall make provisions for providing children on 

field trips with adequate food and water. 

H. If perishable food is taken on field trips, the food shall be 

stored in insulated containers with ice packs to keep the food 

cold. 

I. Before leaving on a field trip, a schedule of the trip's events 

and locations shall be posted and visible at the center site. 

J. There shall be a communication plan between center staff 

and staff who are transporting children or on a field trip. 

K. Staff shall verify that all children have been removed from 

the vehicle at the conclusion of any trip. 

L. Parental permission for transportation and field trips shall 

be secured before the scheduled activity. 

M. If a blanket permission is used instead of a separate written 

permission, the following shall apply: 

1. Parents shall be notified of the field trip; and 

2. Parents shall be given the opportunity to withdraw their 

children from the field trip. 

22VAC40-185-590 8VAC20-780-590. Transportation for 

nonambulatory children.  

A. For therapeutic child day programs and special needs child 

day programs providing transportation, nonambulatory 

children shall be transported in a vehicle which is equipped 

with a ramp or hydraulic lift to allow entry and exit. 
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B. Wheelchairs shall be equipped with restraining devices 

and shall be securely fastened to the floor when used to seat 

children in a vehicle. 

C. Arrangements of wheelchairs in a vehicle shall not impede 

access to exits. 

D. For therapeutic child day programs and special needs child 

day programs, when the center is responsible for providing 

transportation, the center shall develop a plan based on the 

needs of the children in care to assure their safe supervision 

during on-loading, off-loading and transporting. 

E. When 16 or more children are being transported, there shall 

be at least one center aide or adult besides the driver, for each 

group of 16. 

F. For therapeutic child day programs and special needs child 

day programs, if a child has a known seizure disorder or 

neurological, genetic or physiological disability causing 

increased medical risk and that child is being transported, one 

center aide or adult who is not the driver and who is trained in 

CPR shall be present in the vehicle. 

22VAC40-185-600 8VAC20-780-600. Animals and pets. 

A. Animals that are kept on the premises of the center shall 

be vaccinated, if applicable, against diseases which present a 

hazard to the health or safety of children. 

B. Animals which are, or are suspected of being, ill or infested 

with external lice, fleas and ticks or internal worms shall be 

removed from contact with children. 

C. If a child is bitten by an animal, an attempt shall be made 

to confine the animal for observation or laboratory analysis for 

evidence of rabies. 

D. The site of the bite shall be washed with soap and water 

immediately, and the child's physician or local health 

department shall be contacted as soon as possible for medical 

advice. 

E. The center shall report the animal bite incident to the local 

health department. 

F. Manure shall be removed from barns, stables and corrals at 

least once a day and stored and disposed of in a manner to 

prevent the breeding of flies. 

22VAC40-185-610 8VAC20-780-610. Evening and 

overnight care. 

A. For evening care, beds with mattresses or cots with at least 

one inch of dense padding shall be used by children who sleep 

longer than two hours and are not required to sleep in cribs. 

Exception: Camps providing evening care on an occasional 

basis are not required to meet the requirements of this 

subsection if sleeping bags or cots are used. 

B. For overnight care, beds with mattresses or cots with at 

least two inches of dense padding shall be used by children 

who are not required to sleep in cribs. 

Exception: Camps providing overnight care on an occasional 

basis are not required to meet the requirements of this 

subsection if sleeping bags or cots are used. 

C. For overnight care which occurs for a child on a weekly or 

more frequent basis, beds with mattresses shall be used. 

D. In addition to 22VAC40-185-450 8VAC20-780-450 about 

linens, bedding appropriate to the temperature and other 

conditions of the rest area shall be provided. 

E. For evening and overnight care, separate sleeping areas 

shall be provided for children of the opposite sex eight years 

of age or older. 

F. If sleeping bags are used, 22VAC40-185-440 A 8VAC20-

780-440 A through E about rest furnishings shall also apply to 

the use of sleeping bags. 

G. Camps may use bunk beds if children are at least eight 

years of age. 

H. In centers providing overnight care, an operational tub or 

shower with heated and cold water shall be provided. 

Exception: Primitive camps are not required to have a tub or 

shower. 

I. When bath towels are used, they shall be assigned for 

individual use. 

J. Activities for children in evening or overnight care shall 

include, as time allows, age-appropriate activities as described 

in 22VAC40-185-360 8VAC20-780-360 through 22VAC40-

185-390 8VAC20-780-390. 

K. Quiet activities shall be available immediately before 

bedtime. 

L. For children receiving evening or overnight care, the 

provider shall offer an evening snack. 

NOTICE: The following forms used in administering the 

regulation have been filed by the agency. Amended or added 

forms are reflected in the listing and are published following 

the listing. Online users of this issue of the Virginia Register 

of Regulations may also click on the name to access a form. 

The forms are also available from the agency contact or may 

be viewed at the Office of Registrar of Regulations, 900 East 

Main Street, 11th Floor, Richmond, Virginia 23219. 

FORMS (8VAC20-780) 

Initial Application for a License to Operate a Child Day 

Center (eff. 7/1/21) 

Renewal Application for a License to Operate a Child Day 

Center (eff. 7/1/21) 

http://www.doe.virginia.gov/cc/files/cdc-initial-app.pdf
http://www.doe.virginia.gov/cc/files/cdc-initial-app.pdf
http://www.doe.virginia.gov/cc/files/cdc-renewal-app.pdf
http://www.doe.virginia.gov/cc/files/cdc-renewal-app.pdf
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DOCUMENTS INCORPORATED BY REFERENCE 

(8VAC20-780) 

F406-02 ASTM Standard Consumer Safety Specification for 

Non-Full-Size Baby Cribs/Play Yards, October 2003. 

F1292-99 ASTM Standard Specification for Impact 

Attenuation of Surface Systems Under and Around Playground 

Equipment, August 10, 1999. 

"Selecting Playground Surface Materials: Guidelines for 

Selecting the Best Surface Material for Your Playground," 

National Program for Playground Safety, University of 

Northern Iowa, February 2004. 

Air Quality Color Code Chart, Virginia Department of 

Environmental Quality, April 2004. 

Chapter 790 

Child Care Program 

Part I 

General Provisions 

22VAC40-665 8VAC20-790-10. Definitions.  

The following words and terms when used in this part shall 

have the following meanings unless the context indicates 

otherwise: 

"Administrative disqualification hearing" or "ADH" means 

an impartial review by a state hearing officer of a recipient's 

actions involving an alleged intentional program violation for 

the purpose of determining if the individual did or did not 

commit an intentional program violation. 

"Applicant" means a person who has applied for child care 

services and the disposition of the application has not yet been 

determined. 

"Assets" means resources owned by a person or company 

regarded as having value and available to meet debts and 

commitments. 

"Background checks" means the checks for barrier crimes and 

offenses required under Article 3 5 (§ 63.2-1719 22.1-289.034 

et seq.) of Chapter 17 14.1 of Title 63.2 22.1 of the Code of 

Virginia, including the sworn statement or affirmation as is 

required by Article 3 5; the criminal history record check; and 

the Child Protective Services Central Registry check. 

"Child care subsidy and services" or "Child Care Subsidy 

Program" means the department program that assists eligible low-

income families with the cost of child care and those activities that 

assist eligible families in the arrangement for or purchase of child 

care for children for care that is less than a 24-hour day. It also 

includes activities that promote parental choice, consumer 

education to help parents make informed choices about child care, 

activities to enhance health and safety standards established by the 

state, and activities that increase and enhance child care and early 

childhood development resources in the community. 

"Child experiencing homelessness" means a child who lacks 

a fixed, regular, and adequate nighttime residence and 

includes: 

1. A child who is living in a car, park, public space, 

abandoned building, substandard housing, bus or train 

station, or similar settings; 

2. A child who is sharing the housing of other persons due 

to loss of housing, economic hardship, or a similar reason 

(sometimes referred to as "doubled-up"); 

3. A child who is living in a motel, hotel, trailer park, or 

camping grounds due to lack of alternative adequate 

accommodations; 

4. A child who is living in congregate, temporary, 

emergency, or transitional shelters; 

5. A child who is abandoned in a hospital; 

6. A child who is living in a primary nighttime residence that 

is a public or private place not designed for, or ordinarily 

used as, a regular sleeping accommodation for human 

beings; and 

7. A child who is a migratory child as defined in § 1309 of 

the Elementary and Secondary Education Act of 1965, P.L. 

No. 89-10 (20 USC § 6399) who qualifies as homeless 

because he is living in circumstances described in 

subdivisions 1 through 6 of this definition in clauses (i) 

through (iii) of 42 USC § 11432a(2)(8). 

"Child protective services" means the identification, receipt, 

and immediate response to complaints and reports of alleged 

child abuse or neglect for children under 18 years of age. It also 

includes assessment and arranging for and providing necessary 

protective and rehabilitative services for a child and his family 

when the child has been found to have been abused or 

neglected or is at risk of being abused or neglected. 

"Child with special needs or disability" means (i) a child with 

a disability as defined in § 602 of the Individuals with 

Disabilities Education Act (20 USC § 1401); (ii) a child who 

is eligible for early intervention services under Part C of the 

Individuals with Disabilities Education Act (20 USC § 1431 et 

seq.); (iii) a child who is younger than 13 years of age and who 

is eligible for services under § 504 of the Rehabilitation Act of 

1973 (29 USC § 794); and (iv) a child with a documented 

developmental disability, intellectual disability, emotional 

disturbance, sensory or motor impairment, or significant 

chronic illness who requires special health surveillance or 

specialized programs, interventions, technologies, or facilities. 

"Conditional eligibility" means that eligibility has been 

approved for a period not to exceed 90 days to allow families 

with a child experiencing homelessness additional time to 

obtain required documentation needed to complete a final 

eligibility determination. 

"Copayment" means the amount paid to the provider by the 

parent to contribute toward the cost of child care. Such amount 

shall be established by the department in accordance with the 

current Child Care and Development Fund Plan for Virginia, 
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approved by the U.S. Department of Health and Human 

Services. Copayments do not include charges above the 

maximum reimbursable rate, or charges for registration, 

activities, or transportation. 

"DCSE" means the Division of Child Support Enforcement, 

the division of the Department of Social Services responsible 

for locating absent parents; establishing paternity; and 

establishing, modifying, enforcing, collecting, and disbursing 

child support or child and spousal support. 

"Department" means the Virginia Department of Social 

Services Education. 

"Exit eligibility limit" means the maximum gross countable 

income amount that a family can receive to be considered 

income eligible at redetermination. Such amount shall be 

established by the department in the current Child Care and 

Development Plan for Virginia approved by the U.S. 

Department of Health and Human Services. 

"Family" means any adult or emancipated minor and children 

related by blood, marriage, adoption, or an expression of 

kinship who function as a family unit. 

"Federal poverty guidelines" means the income levels by 

family size, determined by the U.S. Department of Health and 

Human Services, used as guidelines in determining at what 

level families in the country are living in poverty. 

"Fee" means a charge for a service and may include 

copayments, charges above the maximum reimbursable rate, or 

charges for registration, activities, or transportation. 

"Fee Program" means a category in the child care subsidy 

program that assists low income, non-TANF families with 

child care services. 

"Fiscal year" means the local department financial calendar 

that begins in June of each calendar year and runs through May 

of the following calendar year. 

"Graduated phase out" means the period of time for child care 

subsidy and services to continue as determined by the local 

department at redetermination for recipients whose income 

exceeds the initial eligibility limit but is below the exit 

eligibility limit. 

"Head Start" means the comprehensive federal child 

development programs that serve children from birth through 

age five years, pregnant women, and their families (as 

established by the Head Start Act (42 USC § 9801)). 

"Income eligible" means that eligibility for assistance under 

the Child Care Subsidy Program is based on income and family 

size. 

"In-home" means child care provided in the home in which 

all of the children in care reside and in which the provider does 

not reside. 

"Initial eligibility limit" means the maximum gross countable 

income amount that a family can receive to be considered 

income eligible. Such amount shall be established by the 

department in the current Child Care and Development Plan 

for Virginia approved by the U.S. Department of Health and 

Human Services. 

"Intentional program violation" or "IPV" means any action by 

an individual for the purpose of establishing or maintaining the 

family's eligibility for assistance under the Child Care Subsidy 

Program or for increasing or preventing a reduction in the 

amount of the assistance by (i) intentionally giving a false or 

misleading statement or misrepresenting, concealing, or 

withholding facts or (ii) any act intended to mislead, to 

misrepresent, conceal, or withhold facts, or to propound a 

falsity. 

"Level one provider" means a child care provider that is not 

licensed by the department or is not approved (i) by a licensed 

family day system, (ii) under a local ordinance in accordance 

with §§ 15.2-741 and 15.2-914 of the Code of Virginia, or (iii) 

by the federal government. 

"Level two provider" means a child care provider that is 

licensed by the department or is approved (i) by a licensed 

family day system, (ii) under local ordinance in accordance 

with §§ 15.2-741 and 15.2-914 of the Code of Virginia, or (iii) 

by the federal government. 

"Local department" means the local department of social 

services of any county or city in this Commonwealth. 

"Maximum reimbursable rate" means the maximum rate paid 

for child care services through the subsidy program that is 

established by the department and set out in the current Child 

Care and Development Fund Plan for Virginia filed with the 

U.S. Department of Health and Human Services. 

"Need for child care" means the parents meet the income 

eligibility and employment or education requirements set forth 

in this chapter and require child care services for part of the 

day. 

"Nonfraud overpayment" means an overpayment that is the 

result of a local department error or an inadvertent household 

or provider error. 

"Parent" means the adult or emancipated minor, as defined in 

§ 16.1-334 of the Code of Virginia, who acts as the primary 

caretaker or guardian of a child, including an individual acting 

in loco parentis. A parent may be by blood, marriage, or 

adoption and also means a legal guardian, person cohabiting 

with the natural or adoptive parent of a minor child, or other 

person standing in loco parentis. 

"Provider" or "child care provider" means a person, entity, or 

organization providing child care services. 

"Resource and referral" means services that provide 

information to parents to assist them in choosing a child care 



Regulations 

Volume 37, Issue 24  Virginia Register of Regulations  July 19, 2021  

3545 

provider and may include assessment of the family's child care 

needs, collection and maintenance of information about child 

care needs in the community, and efforts to improve the quality 

and increase the supply of child care. 

"Service plan" means the written, mutually agreed upon 

activities and responsibilities between the local department and 

the parent in the provision of assistance for child care services 

under the Child Care Subsidy Program. 

"Superintendent" means Superintendent of Public Instruction 

or his designee. 

"Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program" or "SNAP" 

means the program administered by the U.S. Department of 

Agriculture to reduce hunger and increase food security. 

"Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program Employment 

and Training" or "SNAPET" means the program that provides 

job search, job search training, education, training, and work 

experience to nonpublic assistance SNAP recipients. 

"TANF assistance unit" means a household composed of an 

individual or individuals who meet all categorical 

requirements and conditions of eligibility for TANF. 

"TANF capped child" means a child who the TANF worker 

has determined ineligible for inclusion in the TANF assistance 

unit because the child was born more than 10 full months after 

the mother's initial TANF payment was issued. 

"Temporary Assistance for Needy Families" or "TANF" 

means the program authorized in § 406 of the Social Security 

Act (42 USC § 606) and administered by the department 

through which a relative can receive monthly cash assistance 

for the support of his eligible children. 

"Transitional child care" means the program that provides 

child care subsidy assistance to eligible former TANF 

recipients after the TANF case closes. 

"Vendor" means a legally operating child care provider who 

is approved by the department to participate in the Child Care 

Subsidy Program. Multiple facilities or sites operated by the 

same person, entity, or organization are considered separate 

vendors. 

"Vendor agreement" means the agreement between the 

department and a child care vendor that must be entered into 

and signed before child care payments under the Child Care 

Subsidy Program can be authorized. 

"Virginia Initiative for Education and Work" or "VIEW" 

means the program of employment opportunities to assist 

individuals receiving Temporary Assistance for Needy 

Families in attaining the goal of self-sufficiency as 

implemented in the Commonwealth of Virginia. 

22VAC40-665-20 8VAC20-790-20. Families and children 

to be served.  

A. For an applicant to be eligible for child care subsidy and 

services, the applicant must have a child who, at the time of 

eligibility determination or redetermination: 

1. Is younger than 13 years of age or is younger than the age 

of 18 years and physically or mentally unable to care for 

himself, or under court supervision; 

2. Is a citizen or legal resident of the United States; 

3. Is immunized according to requirements of the State 

Board of Health; however, families of a child experiencing 

homelessness that cannot provide documentation of their 

child's immunizations may be conditionally approved for 

services for a period not to exceed 90 days; 

4. Is not eligible to attend public school during the part of 

the day when public education is available unless there is a 

documented reason for the child to be out of school; 

5. Resides with the applicant or recipient for services; 

6. Resides in the locality where application or 

redetermination for services is made; 

7. Resides with a family whose income does not exceed the 

income limits established by the department in the current 

Child Care and Development Fund Plan for Virginia 

approved by the U.S. Department of Health and Human 

Services; 

8. Resides with a family whose family assets do not exceed 

$1 million in value, as certified by the applicant; and 

9. Resides with a family in which there is a need for child 

care services, arising from one of the following situations: 

a. In a two-parent household, there must be a documented 

reason why one of the parents cannot provide the needed 

child care. 

b. Parents who need child care to support the following 

approved activities: 

(1) Employment; 

(2) Education or training leading to employment; 

(3) Child protective services; or 

(4) Assigned VIEW or SNAPET activity. 

B. At the option of the local department, a child born to a 

family 10 months or more after the initial date of approval for 

the Fee Program may receive child care services or be placed 

on the local department waiting list. 

C. A child of an owner or operator of a family day home shall 

not be eligible to receive a child care subsidy if that child will 

be cared for in the home of the owner or operator. 
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22VAC40-665-30 8VAC20-790-30. Child care subsidy 

program categories.  

Assistance under the Child Care Subsidy Program is provided 

through the following program categories, to the extent that 

funding is available: 

1. TANF. Child care subsidy and services are made available 

to recipients of TANF. TANF child care includes needed 

child care for: 

a. A TANF-capped child; 

b. A child who receives Supplemental Security Income 

(SSI) if the parent is on the TANF grant and if the child 

would have been in the public assistance unit were it not 

for the receipt of SSI; and 

c. Children who are not in the TANF assistance unit but 

who are financially dependent upon the parent who is in 

the TANF assistance unit. 

2. Income eligible programs. 

a. Transitional child care. Child care subsidy and services 

are made available to eligible children of: 

(1) Former TANF recipients for up to the 12 months 

following TANF case closure to support parental 

employment and 

(2) Former VIEW participants when the individual is 

enrolled in an accredited public institution of higher 

learning or other postsecondary school licensed or 

certified by the State Board of Education or the State 

Council of Higher Education for Virginia and is taking 

courses as part of a curriculum that leads to a 

postsecondary credential, such as a degree or an industry-

recognized certification, or license, and 

If the family is found income eligible, and there is a need 

for child care. 

b. Head Start wrap-around child care. Head Start wrap-

around child care subsidy and services are made available 

to eligible Head Start enrolled children. The program is for 

extended day and extended year child care beyond times 

covered by federally funded Head Start programs. 

c. SNAP child care. Child care subsidy and services are 

made available to children of parents in Virginia's SNAP 

Education and Training (SNAPET) program to allow 

participation in an approved activity. 

d. Fee Program child care. Fee child care subsidy and 

services are made available to children in eligible low-

income families who are not receiving TANF or SNAPET 

and who meet the eligibility criteria for child care. 

22VAC40-665-40 8VAC20-790-40. Case management.  

A. Applicants for child care subsidy and services must be at 

least 18 years of age unless they are an emancipated minor or 

a minor who was receiving services as head of household prior 

to April 2016. 

B. Applicants are required to sign an application, to provide 

verification of identity, and to cooperate with an assessment by 

the local department of social services. 

C. In cases where the local department has approved the 

application of an applicant for the Child Care Subsidy Program 

and determines that (i) the child has been abandoned by a 

noncustodial parent, or (ii) a person who has a responsibility 

for the care, support, or maintenance of the child has failed or 

neglected to give proper care or support to the child, the local 

department shall refer the matter to DCSE for the application 

for child support services. Failure by the applicant or recipient 

to cooperate with DCSE shall result in denial of the application 

or case closure at redetermination. "Cooperate with DCSE" 

means that an applicant or recipient must apply for child 

support services and participate and provide information, as 

requested by DCSE, to locate a noncustodial parent, establish 

paternity, establish or modify a child support order, or enforce 

a child support order. 

D. At initial eligibility determination, a family with a child 

experiencing homelessness that cannot provide the required 

documentation may be conditionally approved for services for 

a period not to exceed 90 days. The final eligibility 

determination shall be completed once the 90 days has expired 

or full documentation is provided. Any payments made prior 

to the final eligibility determination shall not be considered an 

error or improper payment. Families with a child experiencing 

homelessness shall receive priority placement on the waiting 

list, if applicable. 

E. D. Consumer education, including education on the 

selection and monitoring of quality child care and how to 

access information regarding their selected vendor as to the (i) 

health and safety requirements met by the vendor; (ii) licensing 

or regulatory requirements met by the vendor; (iii) date the 

vendor was last inspected and any history of violations; and 

(iv) any voluntary quality standards met by the vendor, must 

be provided to parents to assist them in gaining needed 

information about the availability of child care services and 

providers. Parents must also be provided information on how 

to obtain a developmental screening for their child. 

F. E. The department shall establish scales for determining 

financial eligibility for the income eligible child care subsidy 

program categories in subdivision 2 of 22VAC40-665-30 

8VAC20-790-30. 

1. Recipients in the TANF child care program category shall 

be considered income eligible based on their receipt of 

TANF; the local department shall not be required to verify 

their income. 

2. At initial eligibility determination, income eligibility shall 

be determined by measuring the family's countable income 

and size against the percentage of the federal poverty 

guidelines for their locality. The family's income cannot 

exceed 85% of the state median income. 
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3. At redetermination, if a recipient family's countable 

income exceeds the initial eligibility limit, they shall be 

considered income eligible until their countable income 

meets or exceeds the exit eligibility limit established by the 

department. The family's income cannot exceed 85% of the 

state median income. 

G. F. Families receiving child care subsidy and services shall 

be required to pay a copayment unless their gross monthly 

income is at or below the federal poverty guidelines and they 

are recipients of TANF, participants in the SNAPET program, 

or families where all children participate in the Head Start 

program. The copayment amount will be based on a scale set 

out in the current Child Care and Development Fund Plan for 

Virginia. Copayments may be increased at redetermination and 

during graduated phase out if the family's countable income 

exceeds the initial eligibility limit but is below the exit 

eligibility limit. Local departments shall be required to act on 

changes reported by the family that would reduce the family's 

copayment during the 12-month eligibility period. 

H. G. Income to be counted in determining income eligibility 

includes all earned and unearned income received by the 

family except the following: 

1. Supplemental Security Income; 

2. TANF benefits; 

3. Transitional payments of $50 per month to former VIEW 

participants; 

4. Diversionary assistance payments; 

5. General relief; 

6. SNAP benefits; 

7. Value of U.S. Department of Agriculture donated food; 

8. Benefits received under Title VII, Nutrition Program for 

the Elderly of the Older Americans Act of 1965; 

9. Value of supplemental food assistance under the Child 

Nutrition Act of 1996 and lunches provided under National 

School Lunch Act; 

10. Earnings of a child younger than the age of 18 years; 

11. Earned income tax credit; 

12. Lump sum child support arrears payments; 

13. Scholarships, loans, or grants for education except any 

portion specified for child care; 

14. Basic allowance for housing for military personnel living 

on base; 

15. Clothing maintenance allowance for military personnel; 

16. Payments received by AmeriCorps volunteers; 

17. Tax refunds; 

18. Lump sum insurance payments; 

19. Monetary gifts for one-time occasions or normal annual 

occasions; 

20. Payments made by non-financially responsible third 

parties for household obligations, unless payment is made in 

lieu of wages; 

21. Loans or money borrowed; 

22. Money received from sale of property; 

23. Earnings less than $25 a month; 

24. Capital gains; 

25. Withdrawals of bank deposits; 

26. GI Bill benefits; 

27. Reimbursements, such as for mileage; 

28. Foreign government restitution payments to Holocaust 

survivors; 

29. Payments from the Agent Orange Settlement Fund or 

any other fund established for settlement of Agent Orange 

product liability litigation; and 

30. Monetary benefits provided to the children of Vietnam 

Veterans as described in 38 USC § 1823(c). 

The amount of wages subject to garnishment and the amount 

of child support paid to another household shall be deducted 

from the family's income. 

I. H. The eligibility period for TANF (nonVIEW), transitional 

child care, Fee Program, and Head Start begins with the 

effective date of the approval of the child care subsidy and 

services application. The eligibility period for VIEW and 

SNAPET participants begins with the date of referral from the 

VIEW or SNAPET program. 

J. I. Recipients will be eligible for child care subsidy and 

services for a minimum of 12-months before eligibility is 

redetermined unless: 

1. Their countable income exceeds 85% of state median 

income. Temporary increases in income will not affect 

eligibility or family copayments, including monthly income 

fluctuations, which when taken in isolation, may incorrectly 

indicate that a recipient's income exceeds 85% of state 

median income. 

2. There is a finding that the recipient committed an 

intentional program violation. 

3. The recipient is no longer a resident of Virginia. 

4. The recipient requests that their child care subsidy and 

services case be closed. 

5. The recipient is a family of a child experiencing 

homelessness that was approved as conditionally eligible 
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and failed to provide necessary documentation to the local 

department within 90 days, or the recipient is determined 

ineligible after full documentation is provided. 

K. J. Recipients will retain eligibility despite any change in 

residency within the state. 

L. K. Recipients will retain eligibility despite any eligible 

child turning 13 years of age during the 12-month eligibility 

period. 

M. L. The beginning date of service payment for TANF 

(nonVIEW), transitional child care, Fee Program, and Head 

Start participants may begin with the date the applicant is 

determined eligible and a vendor approved by the department 

is selected. The beginning date of service payment for VIEW 

or SNAPET participants may begin with the date of referral 

from the VIEW or SNAPET program if the applicant is 

determined eligible and a vendor approved by the department 

is selected. 

1. Eligibility must be determined within 30 days of receipt 

of a signed application or referral from VIEW or SNAPET 

by the local department. 

2. Payment cannot be made to any provider prior to the 

effective date of their approval by the department as a 

vendor. 

N. M. Eligibility will be redetermined in the final month of 

the 12-month eligibility period described in subsection I of this 

section, at which time the recipient will be contacted in order 

to have all eligibility criteria be reevaluated. The local 

department's contact with the recipient should not unduly 

disrupt a parent's work schedule. Recipients shall not be 

required to appear in person for eligibility redetermination. 

O. N. Child care case managers shall prepare a written service 

plan for each child care case with the applicant or recipient. 

The service plan shall state the activities and responsibilities of 

the local department and the parent in the provision of child 

care services. The VIEW Activity and Service Plan will serve 

as the service plan for parents active in VIEW. If the parents 

are SNAPET participants, the SNAPET Plan of Participation 

will serve as the service plan. 

P. O. Recipients shall be required to: 

1. Report to the local department the following changes 

within 10 calendar days of the change: 

a. Countable income that exceeds 85% of the state median 

income. 

b. Recipient is no longer a resident of Virginia or the 

county in which they are receiving services. 

2. Pay all fees owed to the vendor not paid for under the 

Child Care Subsidy Program or reimbursements owed to the 

local department; failure to do so may result in case closure 

at redetermination. 

3. Reimburse the local department for any overpayment 

made as a result of fraud, intentional program violation, or 

an inadvertent household error. 

The local department shall inform recipients of child care 

subsidy and services of these responsibilities. 

Q. P. Adequate documentation supporting the reasons for 

termination must be filed in the case record. Eligibility in the 

Fee Program is limited to a total of 72 months per family. 

Receipt of assistance in any other program category does not 

count toward the 72-month limitation. 

R. Q. When sufficient funds are not available, local 

departments of social services must screen applicants for 

potential eligibility and place them on the department's waiting 

list unless the family declines placement. 

S. R. Applicants and recipients will be afforded due process 

through timely written notices of any action determining or 

affecting their eligibility for services or copayment amount. 

Such written notice shall include the reason for the action and 

the notice of appeal rights and procedures, including the right 

to a fair hearing if the applicant or recipient is aggrieved by the 

local department's action or failure to act on an application. If 

a recipient requests an appeal prior to the effective date of any 

proposed action and if the continuation of services is requested 

by the parent, child care services will continue until a decision 

is rendered by a hearing officer. If the decision of the local 

department is upheld by the hearing officer, the recipient must 

repay the amount of services paid during the appeal process. 

22VAC40-665-60 8VAC20-790-50. Parental choice.  

Families who receive child care subsidy and services shall 

have the right to choose a provider from among child care 

providers operating legally and that are approved by the 

department to participate in the Child Care Subsidy Program 

as a vendor. Local departments shall not establish any policies 

that limit parental choice of providers. 

22VAC40-665-60 8VAC20-790-60. Access to children.  

A. Vendors shall allow parents unlimited access to their 

children when they are in care. 

B. Vendors shall allow state and local department staff 

unlimited access to children in care. 

22VAC40-665-70 8VAC20-790-70. Vendor requirements.  

A. Vendors who participate in the subsidy program must be 

at least 18 years of age. 

B. Vendors shall permit and cooperate with inspections by 

staff from the department and local departments of social 

services. 

C. Vendors shall comply with the regulations applicable to 

the vendor's type of child care, including all requirements to 

conduct background checks. 
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D. Vendors shall comply with the subsidy program vendor 

requirements as outlined in Parts II (22VAC40-665-120 

8VAC20-790-140 et seq.) and III (22VAC40-665-470 

8VAC20-790-490 et seq.) of this chapter applicable to the 

vendor's type of care. 

E. All vendors who participate in the Child Care Subsidy 

Program shall enter into a vendor agreement with the 

department. The vendor's signature or electronic submission 

confirms its agreement to comply with the applicable sections 

of this chapter and the terms of the agreement, including 

payment processes, electronic submission and tracking of 

attendance, absences, and vendor requirements. Vendors shall 

be subject to monitoring inspections to ensure compliance with 

this chapter and with the vendor agreement. 

F. Employees of any division within the department or a local 

department of social services cannot participate in the subsidy 

program as a vendor. 

G. Vendors shall provide notice to individuals required under 

this chapter to undergo background checks of the opportunity 

to challenge the results of the background checks in accordance 

with the procedures described in this subsection in the case of 

criminal checks, or by contacting the local department of social 

services that reported such individual to be named on the Child 

Protective Services Central Registry. 

1. Federal Bureau of Investigation (FBI): If an individual is 

denied employment or the opportunity to provide volunteer 

or contractual services because of information appearing on 

the individual's FBI record and it comes to the individual's 

attention that he is not the person of the record, the individual 

may initiate a challenge of the information contained in the 

record. The facility is required by state and federal laws to 

provide the individual with a copy of the challenge 

procedures. The challenge procedures can be found at 

https://www.fbi.gov/services/cjis/identity-history-

summary-checks. 

2. Virginia State Police: In instances where it comes to an 

individual's attention that his name or other descriptive 

information is a matter of record in the Central Criminal 

Records Exchange, and he is not the person of the record, 

then the individual may initiate a challenge of the 

information contained in the record as provided at 

http://www.vsp.state.va.us/CJIS_CCRE.shtm. The 

individual must report this information to a local sheriff, 

police, or State Police Headquarters and request to be 

fingerprinted for the purpose of challenging a criminal 

record. The individual to be fingerprinted must show 

personal identification. The official taking the fingerprints 

must document on letterhead paper that he has reviewed the 

individual's personal identification and obtained the 

fingerprints. This letter and the fingerprints are to be mailed 

to the following address: Manager Central Criminal Records 

Exchange Virginia Department of State Police, P.O. Box 

27472, Richmond, VA 23261-7472. Within five workdays, 

the individual who initiated the challenge will receive 

written confirmation of the fingerprint search results, 

whether he is or is not the person of the record, and record 

modifications taken, if applicable. 

3. If an individual successfully challenges information on a 

background check in accordance with these procedures, the 

vendor may submit a request for a new background 

investigation in order to obtain an accurate record. 

H. Disputes between the vendor and the department regarding 

the payment for services rendered, enforcement or termination 

of the vendor agreement, or disqualification from participating 

in the Child Care Subsidy Program may be appealed by the 

vendor pursuant to the Virginia Administrative Process Act 

(§ 2.2-4000 et seq. of the Code of Virginia), as provided in this 

subsection. This shall be the sole remedy for such disputes. 

1. Within 30 days of the date of a written notice of 

department action against a vendor, the vendor may request 

an appeal in writing with the department. 

2. Upon receiving the vendor's notice of appeal, the 

department shall schedule an informal conference at which 

the vendor may provide such further information or present 

any additional facts for the department to reconsider its 

action. The department shall issue a written decision within 

15 business days from the conclusion of the informal 

conference. The vendor may waive the holding of the 

informal conference and request the formal hearing 

described in subdivision 3 of this subsection in its initial 

request for an appeal to the department. 

3. The vendor may appeal the decision from the informal 

conference by requesting an administrative hearing within 

30 days of the date of the decision from the informal 

conference. The administrative hearing shall be held in 

accordance with § 2.2-4020 of the Code of Virginia and shall 

be presided over by a hearing officer designated by the 

Supreme Court of Virginia pursuant to subsection A of 

§ 2.2-4024 of the Code of Virginia. Within 30 days of the 

administrative hearing, the hearing officer shall recommend 

a decision to the Commissioner of the Virginia Department 

of Social Services Superintendent of Public Instruction of 

the Virginia Department of Education. The commissioner 

superintendent shall issue a final decision within 30 days of 

receipt of the hearing officer's recommended decision in 

accordance with subsection C of § 2.2-4021 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

4. The vendor may seek court review of the commissioner's 

superintendent's decision in accordance with Article 3 

(§ 2.2-4018 et. seq.) of the Virginia Administrative Process 

Act. 

22VAC40-665-80 8VAC20-790-80. Determining payment 

amount. 

A. Maximum reimbursable rates. 

https://www.fbi.gov/services/cjis/identity-history-summary-checks
https://www.fbi.gov/services/cjis/identity-history-summary-checks
http://www.vsp.state.va.us/CJIS_CCRE.shtm
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1. The department will establish maximum reimbursable 

rates for child care subsidies for all localities in the state by 

type of care, level of regulatory oversight, age of child, and 

unit of service. Such rates shall be available in Appendices 

F and G of the Child Care Subsidy Program Guidance 

Manual on the department's website at 

http://www.dss.virginia.gov/files/division/cc/assistance/par

ents_guardians/guidance_procedures/Child_Care_Subsidy_

Guidance_Manual.pdf. 

2. For children with special needs or disability, payment over 

the maximum reimbursable rate is allowed when this is 

appropriate as determined and documented by the local 

department. The maximum reimbursable rate for children 

with special needs may not exceed twice the rate for care of 

children who do not have special needs. 

3. Vendors will be paid for the amount of care approved up 

to the maximum reimbursable rate of the locality in which 

the vendor is located. The department will pay the rates 

providers charge the general public, up to the maximum 

reimbursable rate. Level two vendors will be paid a higher 

maximum reimbursable rate established by the department. 

4. Parents who choose a vendor that charges a rate higher 

than the maximum reimbursable rate set by the department 

shall be responsible for payment of the additional amount, if 

charged by the vendor, unless the local department elects to 

pay the additional amount out of local funds. 

B. For in-home child care, the payment rate must be at least 

minimum wage, but not more than the maximum reimbursable 

rate for the number of children in care. 

C. A single annual registration fee, if charged, will be paid to 

level two vendors only. The registration fee must not exceed 

$100 nor be higher than the fee the vendor charges the general 

public. If the requirement for payment of another registration 

fee is beyond the control of the recipient or due to extenuating 

circumstances, an additional registration fee may be paid. The 

cost of transportation services provided by the vendor, if any, 

shall be included in the total cost of care. The total cost of care, 

excluding the single annual registration fee but including other 

fees and transportation, must not exceed the maximum 

reimbursable rate. 

D. Level two providers may be paid up to 10 holidays on 

which no child care services are provided as identified in the 

vendor agreement. Certified preschools, religious exempt 

centers, and voluntary registered family day homes that are 

classified as level one providers may be paid for holidays on 

which no child care services are provided in accordance with 

the provisions of the vendor agreement. All other level one 

providers will not receive payment for any holiday unless 

services are provided on such day. 

E. Level two providers may be paid for up to 36 days the child 

is absent per fiscal year. 

22VAC40-665-90 8VAC20-790-90. Complaints in the child 

care setting.  

All complaints regarding possible child abuse or neglect 

occurring in a child care setting must be referred to the child 

protective services unit at the local department serving the area 

where the vendor is located. All other complaints must be 

referred to the department's hotline, which will be provided to 

parents during intake at initial eligibility determination and 

will be available on the department's website 

(www.dss.virginia.gov). 

22VAC40-665-100 8VAC20-790-100. Recipient intentional 

program violation and disqualification.  

A. When it is suspected that there has been a deliberate 

misrepresentation of facts by a recipient in order to receive 

benefits, services, or payments, the local department shall 

investigate whether or not an intentional program violation was 

committed. If the local department finds clear and convincing 

evidence that an intentional program violation has occurred, 

the case will be referred for an administrative disqualification 

hearing. The local department may also refer the case to the 

attorney for the Commonwealth for criminal prosecution. 

B. Recipients found to have committed an intentional 

program violation either through an administrative 

disqualification hearing or by a court of competent jurisdiction 

shall be ineligible to participate in the Child Care Subsidy 

Program for a period of three months upon the first finding, 12 

months upon the second finding, and permanently upon the 

third finding. 

C. In cases where a nonfraud overpayment occurred due to an 

inadvertent household error, the parent will not be disqualified 

from participating in the subsidy program as long as a 

repayment schedule is entered into with the local department 

and payments are made according to that schedule. 

D. Administrative disqualification hearings shall be held in 

accordance with the following: 

1. Prior to submitting the request for an ADH to the state 

hearing authority, the local department shall provide written 

notification to the individual suspected of an intentional 

program violation that the individual can waive his right to 

an ADH by signing a waiver request and returning it to the 

local department within 10 days from the date notification is 

sent to the individual in order to avoid submission of the 

request for an ADH. 

2. If a signed waiver is received, no ADH is conducted and 

the disqualification period is imposed. 

3. The local department shall request an ADH be scheduled 

by submitting a written request to the state hearing authority. 

The form must include the following information: 

a. Identifying information; 

b. Summary of the allegations; 
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c. Summary of the evidence; and 

d. Copies of documents supporting the allegations. 

The referral is to be signed and dated by the supervisor or 

local department director. 

4. The hearing officer will schedule a date for the ADH and 

provide written notice to the individual suspected of 

committing an IPV at least 30 days in advance of the date 

the ADH has been scheduled. The notice shall contain at a 

minimum: 

a. The date, time, and place of the hearing; 

b. The charges against the individual; 

c. A summary of the evidence, and how and where the 

evidence can be examined; 

d. A statement that the decision will be based solely on 

information provided by the local department of social 

services if the individual fails to appear at the hearing; 

e. A statement that the individual or representative will, 

upon receipt of the notice, have 10 days from the date of 

the scheduled hearing to present good cause for failure to 

appear in order to receive a new hearing; 

f. A statement that a determination of intentional program 

violation will result in a disqualification period, and a 

statement of which penalty is applicable to the case 

scheduled for a hearing; 

g. A listing of the individual's rights, including the right 

to: 

(1) Examine the contents of his case file and all documents 

and records to be used by the agency at the hearing at a 

reasonable time before the date of the hearing as well as 

during the hearing; 

(2) At his option, present his case himself or with the aid 

of an authorized representative; 

(3) Bring witnesses; 

(4) Establish all pertinent facts and circumstances; 

(5) Advance any arguments without undue interference; 

and 

(6) Question or refute any testimony or evidence, 

including opportunity to confront and cross-examine 

adverse witnesses; and 

h. If there is an individual or organization available that 

provides free legal representation, the notice shall advise 

the affected individual of the availability of the service. 

5. The time and place of the ADH shall be arranged so that 

the hearing is accessible to the individual suspected of 

committing an IPV. The individual may request a 

postponement of the ADH if the request for postponement is 

made at least 10 days in advance of the date of the scheduled 

hearing. The ADH shall not be postponed for more than a 

total of 30 days and the state hearing authority may limit the 

number of postponements. 

6. The ADH can be held even if the individual fails to appear. 

The individual has 10 days after the date of the scheduled 

ADH to present reasons indicating a good cause failure to 

appear. 

7. Even though the individual is not present, the hearing 

officer shall carefully consider the evidence and determine 

if an IPV was committed, based on clear and convincing 

evidence. 

8. If the recipient is found to have committed an IPV, but a 

hearing officer later determines there was good cause for not 

appearing, the previous decision will no longer be valid and 

a new ADH shall be conducted. The hearing officer who 

conducted the original hearing may conduct the new hearing. 

The good cause decision shall be entered into the hearing 

record by the hearing officer. 

9. The hearing officer shall: 

a. Identify those present for the record; 

b. Advise the individual that he may refuse to answer 

questions during the hearing and that anything said or 

signed by the individual concerning the charges may be 

used against him in a court of law; 

c. Explain the purpose of the ADH, the procedure, and 

how and by whom a decision will be reached and 

communicated; 

d. Consider all relevant issues and determine if an IPV was 

committed, based on clear and convincing evidence; 

e. Request, receive, and make part of the record all 

evidence determined necessary to render a decision; 

f. Regulate the conduct and course of the hearing 

consistent with due process to ensure an orderly hearing; 

and 

g. Advise the local department to obtain a medical 

assessment at the local department's expense if the hearing 

officer considers it necessary. 

10. The individual alleged to have committed an IPV shall 

be given adequate opportunity to: 

a. Examine all documents and records to be used at the 

ADH at a reasonable time prior to the ADH as well as 

during the ADH. The contents of the case file, including 

the application form and documents of verification used 

by the local department to establish the alleged IPV, shall 

be made available; 

b. Present his case himself or with the aid of an authorized 

representative; 

c. Bring witnesses; 

d. Establish all pertinent facts and circumstances; 

e. Question or refute any testimony or evidence, including 

the opportunity to confront and cross-examine witnesses; 

and 

f. Advance arguments without any undue influence. 
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11. The hearing officer shall prepare a written report of the 

hearing, which shall include findings, conclusions, 

decisions, and appropriate recommendations. The decision 

shall specify the reasons for the decision, identify the 

supporting evidence, identify pertinent regulations, and 

respond to reasoned arguments made by the individual or 

representative. 

12. If the individual is found to have committed an IPV, the 

written decision shall advise the individual that 

disqualification shall occur. 

Upon receipt of the notice of a decision from the hearing 

officer finding that the individual committed an IPV, the local 

department shall inform the individual of the reason for the 

disqualification and the date the disqualification will take 

effect. 

22VAC40-665-105 8VAC20-790-110. Vendor agreement 

termination and vendor disqualification. 

A. A vendor agreement may be terminated for the following: 

1. The vendor's license to operate a child care facility is 

revoked, suspended, or denied. 

2. The vendor's business location changes; ownership of the 

vendor's business is assigned, sold, or otherwise transferred; 

the vendor's business structure changes; the vendor's 

employer identification number changes; or the vendor's 

legal operating status becomes invalid for any reason. 

3. A deliberate misrepresentation of facts to the department 

or a local department of social services by a vendor in order 

to receive payments it was not entitled to receive or 

acceptance by the vendor of payments that the vendor 

knows, or should reasonably have known, the vendor was 

not entitled to receive. 

4. The vendor fails to notify the department of a change in 

circumstances that affects payments received by the vendor. 

5. The vendor's violation of any term of the vendor 

agreement, of any requirement under this chapter, or of any 

state laws and regulations related to the vendor's license or 

its exemption from licensure, including the requirements for 

background checks of the vendor's employees, volunteers, 

and other individuals who come into contact with children. 

B. When it is suspected that there has been a deliberate 

misrepresentation of facts by a vendor in order to receive 

payments it was not entitled to receive, the local department 

shall investigate. If there is clear and convincing evidence that 

such an act has occurred, the case will be referred to the 

Division of Child Care and Early Childhood Development for 

termination of the vendor agreement and possible 

disqualification from participation in the Child Care Subsidy 

Program. The local department may also refer the case to the 

attorney for the Commonwealth for criminal prosecution. 

C. Vendors will be permanently disqualified from 

participating in the Child Care Subsidy Program upon the first 

criminal conviction of fraud or upon a finding by the 

department or local department that the vendor deliberately 

misrepresented facts in order to receive payments it was not 

entitled to receive. 

D. Vendors found to be repeatedly in violation of their vendor 

agreement or of the requirements of this chapter for reasons 

other than acts by the vendor described in subsection B of this 

section may be disqualified to participate in the Child Care 

Subsidy Program for a minimum period of one year. 

E. Individuals affiliated with vendors as owners, partners, 

directors, officers, shareholders, limited liability company 

members, and managers shall be subject to disqualification 

under this section. 

22VAC40-665-110 8VAC20-790-120. Repayment.  

A. In addition to any criminal punishment, anyone who 

causes the local department to make an overpayment to a 

vendor shall be required to repay the amount of the 

overpayment. 

B. Any overpayment must be refunded to the department by 

the locality. If an overpayment was made as a result of an error 

by the local department, the local department will not seek to 

recoup those funds from the parent or the vendor. 

22VAC40-665-115 8VAC20-790-130. Required training for 

local department staff.  

Local department staff with responsibilities for implementing 

the Child Care Subsidy Program shall complete guidance 

training and other training as required by the department. 

Part II 

Subsidy Program Vendor Requirements for Family Day 

Homes 

22VAC40-665-120 8VAC20-790-140. Definitions; subsidy 

program requirements for family day home vendors.  

The following words and terms when used in this part shall 

have the following meanings unless the context clearly 

indicates otherwise: 

"Accessible" means capable of being entered, reached, or 

used. 

"Adult" means any individual 18 years of age or older. 

"Age and stage appropriate" means the curriculum, 

environment, equipment, and adult-child interactions are 

suitable for the ages of the children within a group and the 

individual needs of any child. 

"Assistant" means an individual who helps the provider in the 

care, protection, supervision, and guidance to children in the 

home. 

"Attendance" means the actual presence of an enrolled child. 



Regulations 

Volume 37, Issue 24  Virginia Register of Regulations  July 19, 2021  

3553 

"Body fluids" means urine, feces, vomit, saliva, blood, nasal 

discharge, eye discharge, and injury or tissue discharge. 

"Caregiver" means an individual who provides care, 

protection, supervision, and guidance to children in the home 

and includes the provider and assistant. 

"Child" means any individual less than 18 years of age. 

"Child experiencing homelessness" means a child who lacks 

a fixed, regular, and adequate nighttime residence and 

includes: 

1. A child who is living in a car, park, public space, 

abandoned building, substandard housing, bus or train 

station, or similar settings; 

2. A child who is sharing the housing of other persons due 

to loss of housing, economic hardship, or a similar reason 

(sometimes referred to as "doubled-up"); 

3. A child who is living in a motel, hotel, trailer park, or 

camping grounds due to lack of alternative adequate 

accommodations; 

4. A child who is living in congregate, temporary, 

emergency, or transitional shelters; 

5. A child who is abandoned in a hospital; 

6. A child who is living in a primary nighttime residence that 

is a public or private place not designed for, or ordinarily 

used as, a regular sleeping accommodation for human 

beings; and 

7. A child who is a migratory child as defined in § 1309 of 

the Elementary and Secondary Education Act of 1965, P.L. 

No. 89-10 (20 USC § 6399) who qualifies as homeless 

because he is living in circumstances described in 

subdivisions 1 through 6 of this definition clauses (i) through 

(iii) of 42 USC § 11434a(2)(B). 

"Child with special needs or disability" means (i) a child with 

a disability as defined in § 602 of the Individuals with 

Disabilities Education Act (20 USC § 1401); (ii) a child who 

is eligible for early intervention services under Part C of the 

Individuals with Disabilities Education Act (20 USC § 1431 et 

seq.); (iii) a child who is less than 13 years of age and who is 

eligible for services under § 504 of the Rehabilitation Act of 

1973 (29 USC § 794); and (iv) a child with a documented 

developmental disability, intellectual disability, emotional 

disturbance, sensory or motor impairment, or significant 

chronic illness who requires special health surveillance or 

specialized programs, interventions, technologies, or facilities. 

"Cleaned" means treated in such a way as to remove dirt and 

debris by scrubbing and washing with soap and water or 

detergent solution and rinsing with water or the use of an 

abrasive cleaner on inanimate surfaces. 

"Communicable disease" means a disease caused by a 

microorganism (bacterium, virus, fungus, or parasite) that can 

be transmitted from person to person via an infected body fluid 

or respiratory spray, with or without an intermediary agent 

(such as a louse or mosquito) or environmental object (such as 

a table surface). Some communicable diseases are reportable 

to the local health authority. 

"Department" means the Virginia Department of Social 

Services Education. 

"Department representative" means an employee or designee 

of the Virginia Department of Social Services Education, 

acting as the authorized agent of the Commissioner of the 

Virginia Department of Social Services Superintendent of 

Public Instruction. 

"Evacuation" means movement of occupants out of the 

building to a safe area near the building. 

"Evening care" means care provided after 7 p.m. but not 

through the night. 

"Family day home" means a child day program offered in the 

residence of the provider or the home of any of the children in 

care for one through 12 children less than 13 years of age, 

exclusive of the provider's own children and any children who 

reside in the home, when at least one child receives care for 

compensation. 

"Inaccessible" means not capable of being entered, reached, 

or used. 

"Infant" means a child from birth to 16 months of age. 

"Lockdown" means a situation where children are isolated 

from a security threat, and access within and to the home is 

restricted. 

"Overnight care" means care provided after 7 p.m. and 

through the night. 

"Over-the-counter or nonprescription medication" means 

medication that can be purchased without a written 

prescription. This includes herbal remedies and vitamin and 

mineral supplements. 

"Parent" means a parent by blood, marriage, or adoption and 

also means a legal guardian or other person standing in loco 

parentis. 

"Preschool" means a child from two years up to the age of 

eligibility to attend public school, age five years by September 

30 of that same year. 

"Provider" means a person, entity, or organization providing 

child care services. 

"Residence" means the principal legal dwelling that is 

occupied for living purposes by the provider or a child in care 

and contains the facilities necessary for sleeping, eating, 

cooking, and family living. 

"Sanitized" means treated in such a way as to remove bacteria 

and viruses from inanimate surfaces through first cleaning and 
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secondly using a solution of one tablespoon of bleach mixed 

with one gallon of water and prepared fresh daily or using a 

sanitizing solution approved by the U.S. Environmental 

Protection Agency. The surface of the item is sprayed or 

dipped into the sanitizing solution and then allowed to air dry 

for a minimum of two minutes or according to the sanitizing 

solution instructions. 

"School age" means eligible to attend public school, age five 

years or older by September 30 of that same year. 

"Serious injury" means a wound or other specific damage to 

the body, such as unconsciousness; broken bones; dislocation; 

a deep cut requiring stitches; poisoning; concussion; or a 

foreign object lodged in eye, nose, ear, or other body orifice. 

"Shaken baby syndrome" or "abusive head trauma" means a 

traumatic injury that has been inflicted upon the brain of an 

infant or young child. The injury can occur during violent 

shaking causing the child's head to whip back and forth, the 

brain to move about, and blood vessels in the skull to stretch 

and tear. 

"Shelter-in-place" means movement of occupants of the 

building to designated protected spaces within the building. 

"Toddler" means a child from 16 months of age up to 24 

months of age. 

"Vendor" means a legally operating child care provider who 

is approved by the department to participate in the Child Care 

Subsidy Program. Multiple facilities or sites operated by the 

same person, entity, or organization are considered separate 

vendors. 

"Vendor agreement" means the agreement between the 

department and a vendor that must be entered into and signed 

before child care payments paid to the vendor under the Child 

Care Subsidy Program can be authorized. 

"Volunteer" means a person who works at the family day 

home and: 

1. Is not paid for services provided in the family day home; 

2. Is not counted in the caregiver-to-children ratios; and 

3. Is in sight and sound supervision of a caregiver when 

working with a child. 

Any unpaid person not meeting this definition shall be 

considered a "caregiver" and shall meet caregiver 

requirements. 

22VAC40-665-130 8VAC20-790-150. (Reserved).  

22VAC40-665-140 8VAC20-790-160. Purpose and 

applicability.  

The standards in this part apply to family day homes that 

participate in the Child Care Subsidy Program as a vendor. The 

purpose of these standards is to protect children who are less 

than the age of 13 years, less than the age of 18 years and 

physically or mentally unable to care for themselves, or under 

court supervision, and who are separated from their parents 

during part of the day by: 

1. Ensuring that the activities, services, and facilities of 

family day homes participating in the Child Care Subsidy 

Program are conducive to the well-being of children; and 

2. Reducing risks to the health and safety of such children in 

the child care environment. 

22VAC40-665-150 8VAC20-790-170. Operational 

responsibilities.  

A. The vendor shall ensure compliance with the standards in 

this part, the terms of the vendor agreement, and all relevant 

federal, state, or local laws and regulations. 

B. The vendor shall ensure compliance with any of its own 

policies that have been disclosed to the parents of an enrolled 

child. 

C. The vendor shall ensure that the applicant, household 

member, and any caregiver who is or will be involved in the 

day-to-day operations of the family day home or is or will be 

alone with, in control of, or supervising one or more of the 

children shall (i) undergo a background check in accordance 

with § 63.2-1725 22.1-289.040 of the Code of Virginia ; (ii) 

shall not have been convicted of a barrier crime as defined in 

§ 19.2-392.02 of the Code of Virginia; and (iii) is not the 

subject of a founded complaint of child abuse or neglect within 

or outside the Commonwealth. 

D. The vendor shall ensure that the family day home does not 

exceed the capacity of children cared for as allowed by law or 

regulation. 

E. When at least one child receives care for compensation, all 

children who are in care and supervision count in the capacity 

of children being cared for. When children 13 years or older 

are enrolled in the program and receive supervision in the 

program, they shall be counted in the number of children 

receiving care and the vendor shall comply with the standards 

in this part for these children. 

F. The vendor shall inform all caregivers of children's 

allergies, sensitivities, and dietary restrictions. 

G. The vendor shall maintain, in a way that is accessible to all 

caregivers, a current written list of all children's allergies, 

sensitivities, and dietary restrictions. This list shall be dated 

and kept confidential. 

22VAC40-665-160 8VAC20-790-180. General 

recordkeeping; reports.  

A. Caregiver records and children's information shall be kept 

confidential. 

B. The vendor shall maintain a written hard copy record of 

daily attendance that documents the arrival and departure of 

each child in care as it occurs. 
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C. Children's records shall be made available to a child's 

parent upon request, unless otherwise ordered by the court. 

D. Records, reports, and information required by this part 

may be kept as hard copy or electronically, except attendance 

records must be maintained pursuant to subsection B of this 

section, and shall be maintained in the home and made 

accessible to department's representative for five years after 

termination of services or separation from employment unless 

specified otherwise. 

22VAC40-665-170 8VAC20-790-190. Children's 

information. 

A. Vendors shall maintain, and keep at the family day home, 

written or electronic information for each enrolled child, which 

shall be made available to the department's representative upon 

request. 

B. The child's information shall include the following: 

1. Child's full name, nickname (if any), sex, address, and 

birthdate; 

2. Proof of the child's identity; 

3. Name, home address, and telephone number for each 

parent who has custody; 

4. Name, address, and telephone number for each custodial 

parent's place of employment or school attendance, if 

applicable; 

5. Name, address, and telephone number of at least one 

person designated by the parent to contact in case of an 

emergency if the parent cannot be reached; 

6. If applicable, information on allergies, including food 

allergies, intolerances to food, medication, or other 

substances, and actions to be taken in an emergency 

situation; information on other physical problems; pertinent 

developmental information; and any special 

accommodations needed; 

7. Names of persons other than the custodial parent who are 

authorized to pick up the child; 

8. Immunization records for the child received on or before 

the child's first day of attendance, except that children 

experiencing homelessness may provide such records within 

90 days of enrollment; 

9. Written authorization for emergency medical care should 

an emergency occur and the parent cannot be located 

immediately unless the parent presents a written objection 

for the provision of medical treatment on religious or other 

grounds; 

10. Written authorization to administer prescription or 

nonprescription medications if the vendor agrees to 

administer medication; 

11. Special care instructions, including recommendations for 

the care and activities of a child with special needs, 

exception to infant being fed on demand, etc.; 

12. A written care plan for each child with a diagnosed food 

allergy, to include instructions from a physician regarding 

the food to which the child is allergic and the steps to be 

taken in the event of a suspected or confirmed allergic 

reaction; 

13. Record of any accidents or injuries sustained by the child 

while in care; 

14. Permission to transport child if the vendor provides 

transportation; 

15. Permission for field trips; 

16. Permission for swimming or wading activities to include 

a parent's statement of the child's swimming ability, if 

applicable; 

17. A written statement that the vendor will notify the parent 

when the child becomes ill and that the parent will arrange 

to have the child picked up as soon as possible if so requested 

by the vendor; 

18. Any written agreements between the parent and the 

vendor; and 

19. Documentation of the enrollment of a child experiencing 

homelessness enrolled under provisions of 22VAC40-665-

210 A 2 8VAC20-790-230 A 2. 

22VAC40-665-180 8VAC20-790-200. Caregiver records.  

The following records shall be kept for each caregiver: 

1. Name, address, verification of age, and date of 

employment or volunteering. 

2. Documentation that background checks were completed, 

including: 

a. The department's letter indicating eligibility to be hired 

provided by the department or the department's contractor 

indicating: 

(1) Satisfactory results of the fingerprint-based national 

criminal background check; and 

(2) Satisfactory results of the Virginia Child Protective 

Services Central Registry check. 

b. Satisfactory results of the child abuse and neglect 

registry from any other state in which the individual has 

resided in the preceding five years. 

c. Results of a criminal history record information check 

and sex offender registry check from any state in which 

the person has resided in the preceding five years. 

d. The individual's sworn statement or affirmation as to 

whether the individual has ever been: 
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(1) The subject of a founded complaint of child abuse or 

neglect within or outside the Commonwealth; or 

(2) Convicted of a crime or is the subject of any pending 

criminal charges with the Commonwealth or any 

equivalent offense outside the Commonwealth. 

e. The vendor shall have such documentation for any 

individual who begins employment or service after the 

vendor agreement has been signed in the file within 30 

days of the individual's beginning date of employment or 

service. 

f. Documentation of subsequent background checks 

conducted every five years. 

3. Tuberculosis screening results. 

4. Certifications for first aid, cardiopulmonary resuscitation, 

and other certifications as required by the responsibilities 

held by the caregiver. 

5. Documentation that training required by 22VAC40-665-

230 8VAC20-790-250 has been completed that includes the 

name and topic of the training, the date completed, the total 

hours of the session, and the names of the organization that 

sponsored the training and of the trainer. 

6. Date of separation from employment where applicable. 

7. Documentation of the health requirements under 

22VAC40-665-190 8VAC20-790-210. 

22VAC40-665-190 8VAC20-790-210. Health requirements 

for caregivers.  

A. Each caregiver must be evaluated by a health professional 

and be issued a statement that the individual is determined to 

be free of communicable tuberculosis (TB). Documentation of 

the screening shall be submitted at the time of employment and 

prior to coming into contact with children. The documentation 

shall have been completed within the last 30 calendar days of 

the date of employment and be signed by a physician, 

physician's designee, or an official of the local health 

department. 

B. Caregivers shall undergo TB screenings at least every two 

years from the date of the initial screening, or more frequently 

if recommended by a physician. 

C. The vendor or the department's representative may require 

a report of examination by a licensed physician or mental 

health professional when there are indications that a caregiver's 

physical or mental health may endanger the health, safety, or 

well-being of children in care. 

D. A caregiver who is determined by a licensed physician or 

mental health professional to show an indication of a physical 

or mental condition that may endanger the health, safety, or 

well-being of children in care or that would prevent the 

performance of duties shall be removed immediately from 

contact with children and food served to children until the 

condition is cleared as evidenced by a signed statement from 

the physician or mental health professional. 

22VAC40-665-200 8VAC20-790-220. Reports.  

A. The vendor shall inform the department's inspector as soon 

as practicable, but not to exceed one business day, of the 

following: 

1. The death of a child while under the vendor's supervision; 

2. A missing child when local authorities have been 

contacted for help; and 

3. The suspension or termination of all child care services 

for more than 24 hours as a result of an emergency situation 

and any plans to resume child care. 

B. The vendor shall inform the department's representative as 

soon as practicable, but no more than two business days, of any 

injury to a child while under the vendor's supervision when a 

referral is made for treatment from a medical professional. 

C. Any suspected incident of child abuse or neglect shall be 

reported in accordance with § 63.2-1509 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

22VAC40-665-210 8VAC20-790-230. Immunizations for 

children.  

A. Before a child may attend the family day home, the vendor 

shall obtain documentation that the child has been immunized 

according to the requirements of subsection A of § 32.1-46 of 

the Code of Virginia and applicable State Board of Health 

regulations. 

1. The vendor may allow a child to attend contingent upon a 

conditional enrollment. Documentation related to the child's 

conditional enrollment shall be maintained in the child's 

record. A conditional enrollment means the enrollment of a 

child for a period of 90 days contingent upon the child 

having received at least one dose of each of the required 

vaccines and the child possessing a plan from a physician or 

local health department for completing his immunization 

requirements within the ensuing 90 calendar days. If the 

child requires more than two doses of the hepatitis B 

vaccine, the conditional enrollment period, for hepatitis B 

vaccine only, shall be 180 calendar days. 

2. If a child is experiencing homelessness and does not have 

documentation of the required immunizations, the vendor 

may allow the child to attend during a grace period of no 

more than 90 days to allow the parent or guardian time to 

obtain documentation of required immunizations. 

B. The vendor shall obtain documentation of additional 

immunizations once every six months for children less than the 

age of two years. 

C. Pursuant to subsection C of § 22.1-271.2 of the Code of 

Virginia and 12VAC5-110-110, documentation of 

immunizations is not required for any child whose: 
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1. Parent submits an affidavit to the vendor on the current 

form approved by the Virginia Department of Health stating 

that the administration of immunizing agents conflicts with 

the parent's or child's religious tenets or practices; or 

2. Physician or a local health department states on a 

Department of Health-approved form that one or more of the 

required immunizations may be detrimental to the child's 

health, indicating the specific nature and probable duration 

of the medical condition or circumstance that contraindicates 

immunization. 

22VAC40-665-220 8VAC20-790-240. General 

qualifications. 

A. The vendor and any caregivers who are left alone with 

children shall be capable of communicating effectively both 

orally and in writing as applicable to the job responsibility and 

be capable of communicating with emergency personnel. 

B. Caregivers must be at least 16 years of age; however no 

caregiver less than the age of 18 years may administer 

medication. Caregivers less than the age of 18 years shall be 

under supervision of an adult caregiver who is present in the 

home. 

22VAC40-665-230 8VAC20-790-250. Caregiver training 

and development. 

A. Prior to approval as a subsidy vendor, the perspective 

vendor shall complete Virginia Preservice Training for Child 

Care Staff sponsored by the Department of Social Services 

Education, which shall include the following topics and 

training modules: 

1. Building and physical premises safety; 

2. Emergency preparedness and response planning; 

3. Prevention of sudden infant death syndrome (SIDS) and 

safe sleep practices; 

4. Administration of medication, consistent with standards 

of parental consent; 

5. Prevention of shaken baby syndrome and abusive head 

trauma (AHT); 

6. Prevention of and response to emergencies due to food 

and allergic reactions; 

7. Recognizing child abuse and neglect and reporting 

responsibilities; 

8. Preventing the spread of disease, including immunization 

requirements; 

9. Handling and storage of hazardous materials and 

appropriate disposal of diapers and other items contaminated 

by body fluids; 

10. Transportation; 

11. Foundations of child development; 

12. Inclusion: Exploring the meaning and the mindset; 

13. Oral health; and 

14. Introduction to the Child Care Subsidy Program. 

B. Within the first 90 days of employment or service all 

caregivers shall complete Virginia Preservice Training for 

Child Care Staff sponsored by the Department of Social 

Services Education, which shall include training on the 

following topics and training modules: 

1. Building and physical premises safety; 

2. Emergency preparedness and response planning; 

3. Prevention of sudden infant death syndrome (SIDS) and 

safe sleep practices; 

4. Administration of medication, consistent with standards 

of parental consent; 

5. Prevention of shaken baby syndrome and abusive head 

trauma (AHT); 

6. Prevention of and response to emergencies due to food 

and allergic reactions; 

7. Recognizing child abuse and neglect and reporting 

responsibilities; 

8. Preventing the spread of disease, including immunization 

requirements; 

9. Handling and storage of hazardous materials and 

appropriate disposal of diapers and other items contaminated 

by body fluids; 

10. Transportation; 

11. Foundations of child development; 

12. Inclusion: Exploring the meaning and the mindset; 

13. Oral health; and 

14. Introduction to the Child Care Subsidy Program. 

C. All caregivers hired prior to October 17, 2018, shall 

complete Virginia Preservice Training for Child Care Staff 

sponsored by the Department of Social Services, to include all 

of the topics described in subsection B of this section, within 

January 16, 2019. This training may count for staff annual 

training requirements in subsection H of this section. 

D. Orientation training for caregivers shall be completed on 

the following specific topics prior to the caregiver working 

alone with children and within seven days of the date of 

employment or the date of subsidy vendor approval: 

1. Playground safety procedures; 

2. Responsibilities for reporting suspected child abuse or 

neglect; 

3. Confidentiality; 
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4. Supervision of children, including arrival and dismissal 

procedures; 

5. Procedures for action in the case of lost or missing 

children, ill or injured children, medical and general 

emergencies; 

6. Medication administration procedures, if applicable; 

7. Emergency preparedness plan as required in 22VAC40-

665-400 B 8VAC20-790-420 B; 

8. Procedures for response to natural and man-made 

disasters; 

9. Prevention of shaken baby syndrome or abusive head 

trauma including coping with crying babies and fussy or 

distraught children; 

10. Prevention of sudden infant death syndrome and use of 

safe sleeping practices; 

11. Caregivers who work with children who have food 

allergies shall receive training in preventing exposure to 

foods to which the child is allergic, preventing cross 

contamination and recognizing and responding to any 

allergic reactions; and 

12. Transportation. 

E. D. All caregivers shall have within 90 days of employment 

or 90 days from subsidy vendor approval: 

1. Current certification in cardiopulmonary resuscitation 

(CPR) appropriate to the ages of children in care. The 

training shall include an in-person competency 

demonstration; and 

2. Current certification in first aid appropriate to the ages of 

children in care. However, a caregiver who is a registered 

nurse or licensed practical nurse with a current license from 

the Board of Nursing shall not be required to obtain first aid 

certification. 

During the 90-day period, there must always be at least one 

caregiver with current cardiopulmonary and first aid training 

present during operating hours of the family day home. 

F. Caregivers employed prior to October 17, 2018, must 

complete CPR and first aid training as required by this section 

within January 16, 2019. During this 90-day period, there must 

always be at least one caregiver with current cardiopulmonary 

and first aid training present during operating hours of the 

family day home. 

G. E. CPR and first aid training may count toward the annual 

training hours required in subsection H of this section if 

documentation for training as required in subdivision 5 of 

22VAC40-665-180 8VAC20-790-200 is maintained. 

H. F. Caregivers who work directly with children shall, in 

addition to preservice and orientation training required in 

subsections A through D of this section, annually attend at least 

16 hours of training, to include the department's health and 

safety update course. This training shall be related to child 

safety, child development, health and safety in the family day 

home environment, and any required department sponsored 

training. 

I. G. To safely perform medication administration practices, 

whenever a vendor agrees to administer prescribed 

medications, the (i) administration shall be performed by a 

caregiver who has satisfactorily completed a training program 

for this purpose developed by the Board of Nursing and taught 

by a registered nurse, licensed practical nurse, nurse 

practitioner, physician assistant, doctor of medicine or 

osteopathic medicine, or pharmacist or (ii) administration shall 

be performed by a caregiver who is licensed by the 

Commonwealth of Virginia to administer medications. 

The vendor may determine by policy what medications, if 

any, will be administered at its family day home, including 

prescription medications or over-the-counter or 

nonprescription medications. 

J. H. Caregivers required to have the training required in 

subsection I of this section shall be retrained at three-year 

intervals. 

22VAC40-665-240 8VAC20-790-260. Building or home 

maintenance.  

A. Areas and equipment of the family day home, inside and 

outside, shall be maintained in a clean, safe, and operable 

condition. Unsafe conditions shall include splintered, cracked, 

or otherwise deteriorating wood; chipped or peeling paint; 

visible cracks, bending or warping, rusting, or breakage of any 

equipment; head entrapment hazards; protruding nails, bolts, 

or other components that entangle clothing or skin; the 

presence of poisonous plants; tripping hazards; and unstable 

heavy equipment, furniture, or other items that a child could 

pull down on himself. 

B. Inside areas occupied by children shall be maintained no 

lower than 65°F and shall not exceed 80°F unless fans or other 

cooling systems are in use. 

C. In areas used by children of preschool age or younger, the 

following shall apply: 

1. Fans, when used shall be out of reach of children, and 

cords shall be secured so as not to create a hazard. 

2. Electrical outlets shall have protective covers that are of a 

size that cannot be swallowed by children. 

D. Sharp kitchen utensils and other sharp objects shall be 

inaccessible to children unless being used by the caregiver or 

with children under close supervision. 

E. The home shall have an in-service, nonpay telephone. 
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F. No equipment, materials, or furnishings shall be used if 

recalled or identified by the U.S. Consumer Product Safety 

Commission as being hazardous. 

G. Radiators, oil and wood burning stoves, floor furnaces, 

fireplaces, portable electric heaters, and similar heating 

devices located in areas accessible to children shall have 

barriers or screens and be located at least three feet from 

combustible materials. 

H. Unvented fuel burning heaters, such as portable oil-

burning (kerosene) heaters; portable, unvented liquid or gas 

fueled heaters; and unvented fireplaces, shall not be used when 

children are in care. 

I. Wood burning stoves and fireplaces and associated 

chimneys, if used, shall be inspected annually by a 

knowledgeable inspector to verify that the devices are properly 

installed, maintained, and cleaned as needed. Documentation 

of the inspection and cleaning shall be maintained by the 

vendor. 

J. All flammable and combustible materials, including 

matches, lighters, lighter fluid, kerosene, turpentine, oil and 

grease products, aerosol cans, and alcohol, shall be stored in an 

area inaccessible to children. 

K. Stairs shall not be accessible to children less than two years 

of age and children older than two years of age who are not 

developmentally ready to climb or descend stairs without 

supervision. 

L. Stairs with three or more risers that do not have protective 

barriers or guardrails on each side shall not be accessible to 

children over the age of two years. 

M. Decks, porches, lofts, or balconies that do not have 

protective barriers or guardrails shall not be accessible to 

children. 

N. Windows and doors used for ventilation shall be securely 

screened. 

O. Machinery in operation, such as lawnmowers and power 

tools shall be inaccessible to the children in care. 

22VAC40-665-250 8VAC20-790-270. Hazardous 

substances and other harmful agents.  

A. Potentially poisonous substances, materials, and supplies 

such as, but not limited to, cleaning agents, disinfectants, 

deodorizers, plant care chemicals, pesticides, and petroleum 

distillates shall be stored away from food in areas inaccessible 

to children. 

B. Cleaning and sanitizing materials shall not be located 

above food, food equipment, utensils or single-service articles 

and stored separately from food. 

C. If hazardous substances are not kept in original containers, 

the substitute container shall clearly indicate their contents. 

D. The vendor shall ensure that: 

1. No person smokes or uses an electronic smoking device: 

a. Indoors while children are in care, 

b. In a vehicle when children are transported, or 

c. Outdoors in an area occupied by children. 

2. No caregiver is under the effects of medication that 

impairs functioning, alcohol, or illegal drugs. 

22VAC40-665-260 8VAC20-790-280. Bathroom area and 

furnishings.  

A. Each bathroom area provided for children shall: 

1. Be within a contained area, readily available, and within 

the home used by the children; 

2. Have toilets that are flushable; 

3. Have sinks located near the toilets and that are supplied 

with running warm water that does not exceed 120°F; and 

4. Be equipped with soap, toilet paper, and disposable towels 

or an air dryer within reach of the children. 

B. There shall be a toilet chair or an adult-sized toilet with a 

platform or steps and adapter seat available to a child being 

toilet trained. 

22VAC40-665-270 8VAC20-790-290. Play areas.  

A. The vendor shall ensure that all areas of the premises 

accessible to children are free of obvious injury hazards. 

B. A nonclimbable barrier at least four feet high, such as a 

fence or impenetrable hedge, shall surround outdoor play areas 

located within 30 feet of hazards including lakes, ponds, 

railroad tracks, and streets with speed limits in excess of 25 

miles per hour or with heavy traffic. 

C. Stationary outdoor playground equipment shall not be 

installed over concrete, asphalt, or any other hard surface. 

D. Trampolines shall not be used during the hours children 

are in care. 

22VAC40-665-280 8VAC20-790-300. Supervision and ratio 

requirements. 

A. A caregiver shall be physically present on site and provide 

direct care and supervision of each child at all times. Direct 

care and supervision of each child includes: 

1. Awareness of and responsibility for each child in care, 

including being near enough to intervene if needed; and 

2. Monitoring of each sleeping infant in one of the following 

ways: 

a. By placing each infant for sleep in a location where the 

infant is within sight and hearing of a caregiver; 

b. By in-person observation of each sleeping infant at least 

once every 15 minutes; or 
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c. By using a baby monitor. 

B. Caregivers shall actively supervise each child during 

outdoor play to minimize the risk of injury to a child. 

C. A caregiver may allow only school age children to play 

outdoors while the caregiver is indoors if the caregiver can hear 

the children playing outdoors. 

D. No child less than five years of age or a child older than 

five years who lacks the motor skills and strength to avoid 

accidental drowning, scalding, or falling while bathing shall be 

left unattended while in the bathtub. 

E. An additional caregiver will be needed to supervise the 

number of children at a given time when, using the following 

point system, 16 points is exceeded: 

1. Children from birth through 15 months of age count as 

four points each; 

2. Children from 16 months through 23 months of age count 

as three points each; 

3. Children from two years through four years of age count 

as two points each; 

4. Children from five years through nine years of age count 

as one point each; and 

5. Children who are 10 years of age and older count as zero 

points. 

F. A vendor's own children and resident children under eight 

years of age shall count in point calculations. 

G. In accordance with § 63.2-100 22.1-289.02 of the Code of 

Virginia, no family day home shall care for more than four 

children less than the age of two years, including the provider's 

own children and any children who reside in the home, unless 

the family day home is licensed or voluntarily registered. 

22VAC40-665-290 8VAC20-790-310. Supervision near 

water.  

A. Access to the water in aboveground swimming pools shall 

be prevented by locking and securing the ladder in place or 

storing the ladder in a place inaccessible to children. 

B. A nonclimbable barrier at least four feet high such as, but 

not limited to, a fence or impenetrable hedge shall surround 

outdoor play areas located within 30 feet of drowning hazards 

such as, but not limited to, inground swimming or wading 

pools, ponds, or fountains not enclosed by safety fences. 

C. Portable wading pools without integral filter systems shall: 

1. Be emptied after use by each group of children, rinsed, 

and filled with clean water, or more frequently as necessary; 

and 

2. When not in use during the vendor's hours of operation, 

be emptied, sanitized, and stored in a position to keep them 

clean and dry. 

D. Portable wading pools shall not be used by children who 

are not toilet trained. 

E. Hot tubs, spas, and whirlpools shall: 

1. Not be used by children in care, and 

2. Covered with safety covers while children are in care. 

F. The level of supervision by caregivers required and the 

point system as outlined in 22VAC40-665-280 8VAC20-790-

300 shall be maintained while the children are participating in 

swimming or wading activities. 

G. Caregivers shall have a system for accounting for all 

children in the water. 

H. Outdoor swimming activities shall occur only during 

daylight hours. 

I. When one or more children are in water that is more than 

two feet deep in a pool, lake, or other swimming area on or off 

the premises of the family day home: 

1. A minimum of least two caregivers shall be present and 

able to supervise the children; and 

2. An individual currently certified in basic water rescue, 

community water safety, water safety instruction, or 

lifeguarding shall be on duty supervising the children 

participating in swimming or wading activities at all times. 

22VAC40-665-300 8VAC-790-320. Daily activities.  

A. Infants and toddlers shall be provided with opportunities 

to: 

1. Interact with caregivers and other children in the home in 

order to stimulate language development; 

2. Play with a wide variety of safe, age-appropriate toys; 

3. Receive individual attention from caregivers including 

holding, cuddling, talking, and reading; and 

4. Reach, grasp, pull up, creep, crawl, and walk to develop 

motor skills. 

B. Infants and toddlers shall spend no more than 30 

continuous minutes during waking hours, with the exception of 

mealtimes, confined in a crib, play pen, high chair, or other 

confining piece of equipment. The intervening time period 

between such confinements shall be at least one hour. 

C. Infants shall be placed on their backs when sleeping or 

napping unless otherwise ordered by a written statement signed 

by the child's physician. 

D. An infant, toddler, or preschool child who falls asleep in a 

play space other than his own crib, cot, mat, or bed shall be 

moved promptly to his designated sleeping space if the safety 

or comfort of the infant, toddler, or preschool child is in 

question. 
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E. School age children shall be allowed to nap if needed, but 

not forced to do so. 

F. Infants shall be protected from older children. 

22VAC40-665-310 8VAC20-790-330. Behavioral guidance.  

A. Behavioral guidance shall be constructive in nature, age 

and stage appropriate, and intended to redirect children to 

appropriate behavior and resolve conflicts. 

B. In order to promote the child's physical, intellectual, 

emotional, and social well-being and growth, caregivers shall 

model desired, appropriate behavior and interact with the child 

and one another to provide needed help, comfort, and support 

and: 

1. Respect personal privacy; 

2. Respect differences in cultural, ethnic, and family 

background; 

3. Encourage decision-making abilities; 

4. Promote ways of getting along; 

5. Encourage independence and self-direction; and 

6. Use consistency in applying expectations. 

C. If time-out is used as a discipline technique: 

1. It shall be used sparingly and shall not exceed one minute 

for each year of the child's age; 

2. It shall not be used with infants or toddlers; 

3. The child shall be in a safe, lighted, well-ventilated place 

and within sight and sound of a caregiver; and 

4. The child shall not be left alone inside or outside the home 

while separated from the group. 

22VAC40-665-320 8VAC20-790-340. Forbidden actions.  

The following actions or threats thereof are forbidden: 

1. Physical punishment, including striking a child, roughly 

handling or shaking a child, restricting movement through 

binding or tying, forcing a child to assume an uncomfortable 

position, or using exercise as a punishment; 

2. Enclosure in a small, confined space or any space that the 

child cannot freely exit himself; however this does not apply 

to the use of equipment such as cribs, play yards, high chairs, 

and safety gates when used for their intended purpose with 

children preschool age or younger; 

3. Punishment by another child; 

4. Withholding or forcing of food, water, or rest; 

5. Verbal remarks that are demeaning to the child; 

6. Punishment for toileting accidents; and 

7. Punishment by applying unpleasant or harmful 

substances. 

22VAC40-665-330 8VAC20-790-350. Parental involvement 

and notifications.  

A. The caregiver shall notify the parent immediately if a child 

is lost, requires emergency medical treatment, sustains a 

serious injury, or dies. 

B. The caregiver shall notify the parent by the end of the day 

of any known minor injuries. 

C. The caregiver shall maintain a written record of children's 

serious and minor injuries in which entries are made the day of 

occurrence. The record shall include the following: 

1. Date and time of injury; 

2. Name of injured child; 

3. Type and circumstance of the injury; 

4. Caregiver present and treatment; 

5. Date and time when parents were notified; and 

6. Caregiver and parent signatures. 

D. Parents shall be notified immediately of any confirmed or 

suspected allergic reactions and the ingestion of any food 

identified in the written care plan required in 22VAC40-665-

170 B 12 8VAC20-790-190 B 12 even if a reaction did not 

occur. 

E. Parents shall be informed of the vendor's emergency 

preparedness plan. 

F. Caregivers shall promptly inform parents when persistent 

behavioral problems are observed and identified. 

G. Caregivers shall provide information weekly to parents 

about the child's health, development, behavior, adjustment, or 

needs. 

H. Parents shall be informed of the reason for a child's 

termination from care. 

I. A custodial parent shall be admitted to any child day 

program. Such right of admission shall apply only while the 

child is in the care of the vendor, pursuant to § 63.2-1813 22.1-

289.054 of the Code of Virginia. 

J. When children at the family day home have been exposed 

to a communicable disease listed in the Department of Health's 

current communicable disease chart, the parents shall be 

notified within 24 hours or the next business day of the 

vendor's having been informed unless forbidden by law. 

Children's exposure to life threatening diseases shall be 

reported to parents immediately. 
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22VAC40-665-340 8VAC20-790-360. Furnishings, 

equipment, and materials.  

A. Furnishings, materials, and equipment used for child care 

shall be age and stage appropriate for the children. 

B. Children shall be protected from materials that could be 

swallowed or present a choking hazard. Toys or objects less 

than 1-1/4 inches in diameter and less than two inches in length 

shall be kept out of reach of children less than three years of 

age. 

C. If combs, toothbrushes, or other personal articles are used, 

they shall be individually assigned. 

D. Disposable products shall be used once and discarded. 

E. If play yards, portable cribs, or mesh-sided cribs are used 

for sleeping or napping, they shall meet the requirements of 

subsections H through L of this section. 

F. Cribs shall be provided for children from birth through 12 

months of age and for children 12 months of age or older who 

are not developmentally ready to sleep on a cot, rest mat, or 

bed during the designated rest periods and shall not be 

occupied by more than one child at a time. 

G. Cots, rest mats, or beds shall be provided for children 12 

months of age or older and shall not be occupied by more than 

one child at a time. 

H. Full-size cribs shall: 

1. Meet the current Consumer Product Safety Commission 

Standards (16 CFR Part 1219). 

2. Have mattresses that fit snugly next to the crib so that no 

more than two fingers can be inserted between the mattress 

and the crib. 

I. Pillows and filled comforters shall not be used by children 

less than two years of age while sleeping or resting, including 

quilts, sheepskins, or stuffed toys. 

J. Cribs shall be placed where objects outside the crib such as 

electrical cords or cords from blinds, curtains, etc. are not 

within reach of infants or toddlers. 

K. Use of bumper pads shall be prohibited. 

L. There shall be at least 12 inches of space between occupied 

cribs, cots, beds, and rest mats. 

M. Toys or objects hung over an infant in a crib and crib gyms 

that are strung across the crib may not be used for infants older 

than five months of age or infants who are able to push up on 

their hands and knees. 

N. Crib sides shall always be up and the fastenings secured 

when a child is in the crib. 

O. Use of double-deck cribs is prohibited. 

22VAC40-665-350 8VAC20-790-370. Bedding and linens 

for use while sleeping or resting.  

A. Linens shall be assigned for individual use. 

B. Pillows when used shall be assigned for individual use and 

covered with pillow cases. 

C. Mattresses when used shall be covered with a waterproof 

material that can be cleaned and sanitized. 

22VAC40-665-360 8VAC20-790-380. Preventing the 

spread of disease.  

A. A child shall not be allowed to attend the family day home 

for the day if he has: 

1. A temperature over 101°F; 

2. Recurrent vomiting or diarrhea; or 

3. Symptoms of a communicable disease. 

B. If all children in care are from a single family unit, the 

caregiver may choose not to exclude a child who is ill. 

C. If a child needs to be excluded according to subsection A 

of this section, the following shall apply: 

1. Arrangements shall be made for the child to leave the 

family day home as soon as possible after the signs or 

symptoms are observed; and 

2. The child shall remain in a designated quiet area until 

leaving the family day home. 

D. When any surface has been contaminated with body fluids, 

it shall be cleaned and sanitized. 

22VAC40-665-370 8VAC20-790-390. Hand washing and 

toileting procedures.  

A. When hand washing, the following shall apply: 

1. Children's hands shall be washed with soap and running 

water or disposable wipes before and after eating meals or 

snacks. 

2. Children's hands shall be washed with soap and running 

water after toileting and any contact with blood, feces, or 

urine. 

3. Caregivers shall wash their hands with soap and running 

water before and after helping a child use the toilet or 

changing a diaper, after the caregiver uses the toilet, after 

any contact with body fluids, before feeding or helping 

children with feeding, and before preparing or serving food 

or beverages. 

4. If running water is not available, a germicidal cleansing 

agent administered per manufacturer's instruction may be 

used. 

B. A child shall not be left unattended on a changing table 

during diapering. 
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C. When a child's clothing or diaper becomes wet or soiled, 

the child shall be cleaned and changed immediately upon 

discovery. 

D. During each diaper change or after toileting accidents, the 

child's genital area shall be thoroughly cleaned with a moist 

disposable wipe or a moist, clean individually assigned cloth if 

the child is allergic to disposable wipes. 

E. The diapering surface shall be: 

1. Separate from the kitchen, food preparation areas, or 

surfaces used for children's activities; 

2. Nonabsorbent and washable; and 

3. Cleaned and sanitized after each use. 

F. Soiled disposable diapers and wipes shall be disposed of in 

a leak-proof or plastic-lined storage system that is either foot 

operated or used in such a way that neither the caregiver's hand 

nor the soiled diaper or wipe touches the exterior surface of the 

storage system during disposal. 

G. When cloth diapers are used, a separate leak-proof storage 

system as specified in subsection F of this section shall be used. 

H. Children five years of age and older shall be permitted 

privacy when toileting. 

I. Caregivers shall respond promptly to a child's request for 

toileting assistance. 

J. Toilet chairs, when used, shall be emptied promptly, 

cleaned, and sanitized after each use. 

22VAC40-665-380 8VAC20-790-400. General 

requirements for medication administration.  

A. Prescription and nonprescription medications shall be 

given to a child: 

1. According to the home's written medication policies, and 

2. Only with written authorization from the parent. 

B. The vendor may administer prescription medication that 

would normally be administered by a parent or guardian to a 

child provided: 

1. The medication is administered by a caregiver who meets 

the requirements of 22VAC40-665-230 I 8VAC20-790-250 

I and J; 

2. The caregiver administers only those drugs that were 

dispensed from a pharmacy and maintained in the original, 

labeled container; and 

3. The caregiver administers drugs only to the child 

identified on the prescription label in accordance with the 

prescriber's instructions pertaining to dosage, frequency, and 

manner of administration. 

C. The vendor may administer nonprescription medication 

provided the medication is: 

1. Administered by a caregiver 18 years of age or older; 

2. Labeled with the child's name; 

3. In the original container with the manufacturer's direction 

label attached; and 

4. Given only at the dose, duration, and method of 

administration specified on the manufacturer's label for the 

age or weight of the child needing the medication. 

D. Nonprescription medication shall not be used beyond the 

expiration date of the product. 

E. Medications for children in care shall be stored separately 

from medications for household members and caregivers. 

F. When needed, medication shall be refrigerated. 

G. When medication is stored in a refrigerator used for food, 

the medications shall be stored together in a container or in a 

clearly defined area away from food. 

H. Medication, except for those prescriptions designated 

otherwise by written physician's order, including refrigerated 

medication and medications for caregivers and household 

members, shall be kept in a locked place using a safe locking 

method that prevents access by children. If a key is used, the 

key shall be inaccessible to the children. 

I. The vendor shall keep a record of prescription and 

nonprescription medication given children, which shall include 

the following: 

1. Name of the child to whom medication was administered; 

2. Amount and type of medication administered to the child; 

3. The day and time the medication was administered to the 

child; 

4. Name of the caregiver administering the medication; 

5. Any adverse reactions; and 

6. Any medication error. 

22VAC40-665-390 8VAC20-790-410. First aid and 

emergency supplies.  

A. The following emergency supplies shall be in the family 

day home, accessible to outdoor play areas, on field trips, in 

vehicles used for transportation, and wherever children are in 

care: 

1. A first aid kit that contains at a minimum: 

a. Scissors; 

b. Tweezers; 

c. Gauze pads; 

d. Adhesive tape; 

e. Bandages, assorted types and sizes; 

f. An antiseptic cleansing solution and pads; 
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g. Digital thermometer; and 

h. Single-use gloves such as surgical or examination 

gloves. 

2. An ice pack or cooling agent. 

B. The following nonmedical emergency supplies shall be 

required: 

1. One working, battery-operated flashlight; and 

2. One working, battery-operated radio. 

22VAC40-665-400 8VAC20-790-420. Procedures for 

emergencies. 

A. The vendor shall have a written emergency preparedness 

plan that addresses caregiver responsibility and home 

readiness with respect to emergency evacuation, relocation, 

lockdown, and shelter-in-place procedures. The plan shall 

address the most likely to occur emergency scenarios, 

including fire, severe storms, flooding, tornadoes, loss of 

utilities, earthquakes, intruders, violence on or near the 

premises, chemical spills, and facility damage or other 

situations that may require evacuation, lockdown, or shelter-

in-place. 

B. The emergency preparedness plan shall contain procedural 

components for: 

1. Sounding of alarms (evacuation, intruder, shelter-in-place 

such as for tornado or chemical hazard); 

2. Emergency communication to include: 

a. Notification of local authorities (fire and rescue, law 

enforcement, emergency medical services, poison control, 

health department, etc.), parents, and local media; and 

b. Availability and primary use of communication 

equipment; 

3. Evacuation and relocation procedures, including: 

a. Assembly points, designated relocation site, head 

counts, primary and secondary means of egress, and 

complete evacuation of the buildings; 

b. Accommodations or special requirements for infants, 

toddlers, and children with special needs to ensure their 

safety during evacuation or relocation; 

c. Securing of essential documents (attendance record, 

parent contact information, etc.) and special health care 

supplies to be carried off site on immediate notice; 

d. Method of communication after the evacuation; and 

e. Procedure to reunite children with a parent or authorized 

person designated by the parent to pick up the child; 

4. Shelter-in-place, including: 

a. Scenario applicability, inside assembly points, head 

counts, and primary and secondary means of access and 

egress; 

b. Accommodations or special requirements for infants, 

toddlers, and children with special needs to ensure their 

safety during evacuation or relocation; 

c. Securing essential documents (attendance record, parent 

contact information, etc.) and special health supplies to be 

carried into the designated assembly points; 

d. Method of communication after the shelter-in-place; 

and 

e. Procedure to reunite children with a parent or authorized 

person designated by the parent to pick up the child; 

5. Lockdown procedures, including: 

a. Methods to alert caregivers and emergency responders; 

b. Methods to secure the family day home and designated 

lockdown locations; 

c. Methods to account for all children in the lockdown 

locations; 

d. Methods of communication with parents and 

emergency responders; 

e. Accommodations or special requirements for infants, 

toddlers, and children with special needs to ensure their 

safety during lockdown; and 

f. Procedure to reunite children with a parent or authorized 

person designated by the parent to pick up the child; 

6. Caregiver training requirements, drill frequency, and plan 

review and update; and 

7. Continuity of operations procedures to ensure that 

essential functions are maintained during an emergency. 

C. A 911 or local dial number for police, fire, and emergency 

medical services and the number of the regional poison control 

center shall be posted in a visible and conspicuous place. 

22VAC40-665-410 8VAC20-790-430. Emergency response 

drills.  

A. The emergency response drills shall be practiced as 

follows: 

1. Evacuation procedures shall be practiced at least monthly; 

2. Shelter-in-place procedures shall be practiced twice a 

year; and 

3. Lockdown procedures shall be practiced at least annually. 

B. The vendor shall maintain a record of the dates of the 

practice drills for one year. For vendors offering multiple 

shifts, the simulated drills shall be divided evenly among the 

various shifts. 

22VAC40-665-420 8VAC20-790-440. Nutrition and food 

services.  

A. Vendors shall schedule appropriate times for snacks or 

meals, or both, depending on the hours of operation and time 

of the day. 
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B. Drinking water shall be accessible to all children. 

C. When meals or snacks are provided by the vendor, the 

following shall apply: 

1. Vendors offering both meals and snacks shall serve a 

variety of nutritious foods and in sufficient portions. 

2. Children three years of age or younger shall not be offered 

foods that are considered to be potential choking hazards. 

D. When food is brought from home, the following shall 

apply: 

1. The food container shall be clearly labeled in a way that 

identifies the owner; 

2. The vendor shall have extra food or provisions to obtain 

food to serve to children so they can have an appropriate 

snack or meal if they forget to bring food from home, bring 

an inadequate meal or snack, or bring perishable food; and 

3. Unused portions of opened food shall be discarded by the 

end of the day or returned to the parent. 

E. Tables and high chair trays shall be cleaned and sanitized 

daily and before and after each use for feeding. 

F. Food shall be prepared, stored, served, and transported in 

a clean and sanitary manner. 

G. When food is prepared to which a child is allergic, the 

caregiver shall take steps to avoid cross contamination in order 

to prevent an allergic reaction. 

H. A child with a diagnosed food allergy shall not be served 

any food identified in the written care plan required in 

22VAC40-665-170 B 12 8VAC20-790-190 B 12. 

22VAC40-665-430 8VAC20-790-450. Special feeding 

needs.  

A. High chairs, infant carrier seats, or feeding tables shall be 

used for children less than 12 months who are not held while 

being fed. 

B. When a child is placed in an infant seat, high chair, or 

feeding table, the protective belt shall be fastened securely. 

C. Bottle fed infants who cannot hold their own bottles shall 

be held when fed. Bottles shall not be propped or used while 

the child is in his designated sleeping location. 

D. Infants shall be fed on demand or in accordance with 

parental instructions. 

E. Prepared infant formula shall be refrigerated, dated, and 

labeled with the child's name if more than one infant is in care. 

F. Heated formula and baby food shall be stirred or shaken 

and tested for temperature before serving to children. 

G. Milk, formula, or breast milk shall not be heated or 

warmed directly in a microwave. Water for warming milk, 

formula, or breast milk may be heated in a microwave. 

H. Prepared baby food not consumed during that feeding by 

an infant may be used by that same infant later in the same day, 

provided that the food is not served out of the baby food jar 

and is labeled with the child's name, dated, and stored in the 

refrigerator; otherwise, it shall be discarded or returned to the 

parent at the end of the day. Formula or breast milk shall not 

remain unrefrigerated for more than two hours and may not be 

reheated. 

I. Caregivers shall feed semisolid food with a spoon unless 

written instructions from a physician or physician's designee 

state differently. 

22VAC40-665-440 8VAC20-790-460. Transportation and 

field trips. 

A. If the vendor provides transportation, the vendor shall be 

responsible for the care of the child from the time the child 

boards the vehicle until returned to the parent or person 

designated by the parent. 

B. Drivers must be 18 years of age or older and possess a valid 

driver's license to operate the vehicle being driven. 

C. Any vehicle used by the vendor for the transportation of 

children shall meet the following requirements: 

1. The vehicle shall be manufactured for the purpose of 

transporting people seated in an enclosed area; 

2. The vehicle's seats shall be attached to the floor; 

3. The vehicle shall be insured with at least the minimum 

limits established by Virginia state statutes as required by § 

46.2-472 of the Code of Virginia; 

4. The vehicle shall meet the safety standards set by the 

Department of Motor Vehicles and shall be kept in 

satisfactory condition to assure the safety of children; and 

5. If volunteers supply personal vehicles, the vendor is 

responsible for ensuring that the requirements of this 

subsection are met. 

D. The vendor shall ensure that during transportation of 

children: 

1. Virginia state statutes about safety belts and child 

restraints are followed as required by §§ 46.2-1095 through 

46.2-1100 of the Code of Virginia, and the stated maximum 

number of passengers in a given vehicle is not exceeded; 

2. The children remain seated and each child's arms, legs, 

and head remain inside the vehicle; 

3. Doors are closed properly and locked unless locks were 

not installed by the manufacturer of the vehicle; 

4. At least one caregiver or the driver always remains in the 

vehicle when children are present; 

5. The caregiver has a list of the names of the children being 

transported; 
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6. The caregiver has a copy of each child's emergency 

contact information; and 

7. An allergy care plan and information as specified in 

22VAC40-665-170 B 12 8VAC20-790-190 B 12 shall be 

carried. 

E. When entering and leaving vehicles, children shall enter 

and leave the vehicle from the curb side of the vehicle or in a 

protected parking area or driveway. 

F. Caregivers shall verify that all children have been removed 

from the vehicle at the conclusion of any trip. 

22VAC40-665-450 8VAC20-790-470. Animals and pets.  

A. Animals shall not be allowed on any surfaces where food 

is prepared or served. 

B. A pet or animal present at the home, indoors or outdoors, 

shall be in good health and show no evidence of carrying any 

disease. 

C. Dogs or cats, where allowed, shall be vaccinated for rabies 

and shall be treated for fleas, ticks, or worms as needed. 

D. The vendor shall maintain documentation of the current 

rabies vaccination for dogs and cats. 

E. Caregiver shall closely supervise children when children 

are exposed to animals. 

F. Children shall be instructed on safe procedures to follow 

when in close proximity to animals, for example, not to 

provoke or startle them or remove their food. 

G. Monkeys, ferrets, reptiles, psittacine birds (birds of the 

parrot family), or wild or dangerous animals shall not be in 

areas accessible to children during the hours children are in 

care. 

H. Animal litter boxes, toys, food dishes, and water dishes 

shall be inaccessible to children. 

22VAC40-665-460 8VAC20-790-480. Evening and 

overnight care. 

A. Caregivers shall remain awake until all children are asleep 

and shall sleep on the same floor level as the children in care. 

B. For evening care, beds with mattresses or cots with at least 

one inch of dense padding shall be used by children who sleep 

longer than two hours and are not required to sleep in cribs. 

C. For overnight, beds with mattresses or cots with at least 

two inches of dense padding shall be used by children who are 

not required to sleep in cribs. 

D. In addition to requirements in 22VAC40-665-350 

8VAC20-790-370 about linens, bedding appropriate to the 

temperature and other conditions of the rest area shall be 

provided. 

E. When children are six years of age or older, boys and girls 

shall have separate sleeping areas. 

F. For vendors providing overnight care, an operational tub 

or shower with heated and cold water shall be provided. 

G. When bath towels are used, they shall be assigned for 

individual use. 

H. Quiet activities shall be available immediately before 

bedtime. 

Part III 

Subsidy Program Vendor Requirements for Child Day 

Centers 

22VAC40-665-470 8VAC20-790-490. Definitions; subsidy 

program requirements for child day center vendors.  

The following words and terms when used in this part shall 

have the following meanings unless the context clearly 

indicates otherwise: 

"Accessible" means capable of being entered, reached, or 

used. 

"Adult" means any individual 18 years of age or older. 

"Age and stage appropriate" means the curriculum, 

environment, equipment, and adult-child interactions are 

suitable for the ages of the children within a group and the 

individual needs of any child. 

"Age groups": 

1. "Infant" means a child from birth to 16 months. 

2. "Toddler" means a child from 16 months up to two years. 

3. "Preschool" means a child from two years up to the age of 

eligibility to attend public school, five years by September 

30. 

4. "School age" means a child eligible to attend public 

school, age five or older by September 30 of that same year. 

Four-year-old or five-year-old children included in a group 

of school children may be considered school age during the 

summer months if the children will be entering kindergarten 

that year. 

"Attendance" means the actual presence of an enrolled child. 

"Body fluids" means urine, feces, vomit, saliva, blood, nasal 

discharge, eye discharge, and injury or tissue discharge. 

"Center" means a child day center. 

"Child" means any individual less than 18 years of age. 

"Child day center" means a child day program offered to (i) 

two or more children less than 13 years of age in a facility that 

is not the residence of the provider or of any of the children in 

care or (ii) 13 or more children at any location. 
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"Child experiencing homelessness" means a child who lacks 

a fixed, regular, and adequate nighttime residence and 

includes: 

1. A child who is living in a car, park, public space, 

abandoned building, substandard housing, bus or train 

station, or similar settings; 

2. A child who is sharing the housing of other persons due 

to loss of housing, economic hardship, or a similar reason 

(sometimes referred to as "doubled-up"); 

3. A child who is living in a motel, hotel, trailer park, or 

camping grounds due to lack of alternative adequate 

accommodations; 

4. A child who is living in congregate, temporary, 

emergency, or transitional shelters; 

5. A child who is abandoned in a hospital; 

6. A child who is living in a primary nighttime residence that 

is a public or private place not designed for, or ordinarily 

used as, a regular sleeping accommodation for human 

beings; and 

7. A child who is a migratory child as defined in § 1309 of 

the Elementary and Secondary Education Act of 1965, P.L. 

No. 89-10 (20 USC § 6399) who qualifies as homeless 

because he is living in circumstances described in 

subdivisions 1 through 6 of this definition clauses (i) through 

(iii) of 42 U.S.C. § 11434a(2)(B). 

"Child with special needs or disability" means (i) a child with 

a disability as defined in § 602 of the Individuals with 

Disabilities Education Act (20 USC § 1401); (ii) a child who 

is eligible for early intervention services under Part C of the 

Individuals with Disabilities Education Act (20 USC § 1431 et 

seq.); (iii) a child who is less than 13 years of age and who is 

eligible for services under § 504 of the Rehabilitation Act of 

1973 (29 USC § 794); and (iv) a child with a documented 

developmental disability, intellectual disability, emotional 

disturbance, sensory or motor impairment, or significant 

chronic illness who requires special health surveillance or 

specialized programs, interventions, technologies, or facilities. 

"Cleaned" means treated in such a way as to remove dirt and 

debris by scrubbing and washing with soap and water or 

detergent solution and rinsing with water or the use of an 

abrasive cleaner on inanimate surfaces. 

"Communicable disease" means a disease caused by a 

microorganism (bacterium, virus, fungus, or parasite) that can 

be transmitted from person to person via an infected body fluid 

or respiratory spray, with or without an intermediary agent 

(such as a louse or mosquito) or environmental object (such as 

a table surface). Some communicable diseases are reportable 

to the local health authority. 

"Department" means the Virginia Department of Social 

Services Education. 

"Department representative" means an employee or designee 

of the Virginia Department of Social Services Education, 

acting as the authorized agent of the Commissioner of the 

Virginia Department of Social Services Superintendent of 

Public Instruction. 

"Evacuation" means movement of occupants out of the 

building to a safe area near the building. 

"Evening care" means care provided after 7 p.m. but not 

through the night. 

"Group size" means the number of children assigned to a staff 

member or team of staff members occupying an individual 

room or area. 

"Inaccessible" means not capable of being entered, reached, 

or used. 

"Lockdown" means a situation where children are isolated 

from a security threat and access within and to the center is 

restricted. 

"Overnight care" means care provided after 7 p.m. and 

through the night. 

"Over-the-counter or nonprescription medication" means 

medication that can be purchased without a written 

prescription. This includes herbal remedies and vitamins and 

mineral supplements. 

"Parent" means a parent by blood, marriage, or adoption and 

also means a legal guardian or other person standing in loco 

parentis. 

"Sanitized" means treated in such a way as to remove bacteria 

and viruses from inanimate surfaces through first cleaning and 

secondly using a solution of one tablespoon of bleach mixed 

with one gallon of water and prepared fresh daily or using a 

sanitizing solution approved by the U.S. Environmental 

Protection Agency. The surface of the item is sprayed or 

dipped into the sanitizing solution and then allowed to air dry 

for a minimum of two minutes or according to the sanitizing 

solution instructions. 

"Serious injury" means a wound or other specific damage to 

the body, such as unconsciousness; broken bones; dislocation; 

a deep cut requiring stitches; poisoning; concussion; or a 

foreign object lodged in eye, nose, ear, or other body orifice. 

"Shaken baby syndrome" or "abusive head trauma" means a 

traumatic injury that has been inflicted upon the brain of an 

infant or young child. The injury can occur during violent 

shaking causing the child's head to whip back and forth, the 

brain to move about, and blood vessels in the skull to stretch 

and tear. 

"Shelter-in-place" means movement of occupants of the 

building to designated protected spaces within the building. 

"Staff" means administrative, activity, and service personnel, 

including the vendor when the vendor is an individual who 
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works in the center, any persons counted in the staff-to-

children ratios, or any persons working with a child without 

sight and sound supervision of a staff member. 

"Vendor" means a legally operating child care provider who 

is approved by the department to participate in the Child Care 

Subsidy Program. Multiple facilities or sites operated by the 

same person, entity, or organization are considered separate 

vendors. 

"Vendor agreement" means the agreement between the 

department and a vendor that must be entered into and signed 

by all vendors before child care payments paid to the vendor 

under the Child Care Subsidy Program can be authorized. 

"Volunteer" means a person who works at the center and: 

1. Is not paid for services provided to the center; 

2. Is not counted in the staff-to-children ratios; and 

3. Is in sight and sound supervision of a staff member when 

working with a child. 

Any unpaid person not meeting this definition shall be 

considered "staff" and shall meet staff requirements. 

22VAC40-665-480 8VAC20-790-500. (Reserved).  

22VAC40-665-490 8VAC20-790-510. Purpose and 

applicability. 

The standards in this part apply to child day centers that are 

applying to participate in the Child Care Subsidy Program. The 

purpose of these standards is to protect children who are less 

than the age of 13 years, less than the age of 18 years and 

physically or mentally unable to care for themselves, or are 

under court supervision and who are separated from their 

parents during part of the day by: 

1. Ensuring that the activities, services, and facilities of 

centers participating in the Child Care Subsidy Program are 

conducive to the well-being of children; and 

2. Reducing risks to the health and safety of such children in 

the child care environment. 

22VAC40-665-500 8VAC20-790-520. Operational 

responsibilities.  

A. The vendor shall ensure compliance with the standards in 

this part, the terms of the vendor agreement, and all relevant 

federal, state, or local laws and regulations. 

B. Pursuant to § 63.2-1725 22.1-289.040 of the Code of 

Virginia, the vendor shall ensure that the applicant and any 

staff who is or will be involved in the day-to-day operations of 

the center or is or will be alone with, in control of, or 

supervising one or more of the children (i) has not been 

convicted of any barrier crime as defined in § 19.2-392.02 of 

the Code of Virginia and (ii) is not the subject of a founded 

complaint of child abuse or neglect within or outside the 

Commonwealth. 

C. The vendor shall ensure that the center does not exceed the 

capacity of children cared for as allowed by law or regulation. 

D. When at least one child receives care for compensation, all 

children who are in care and supervision count in the capacity 

of children being cared for. When children 13 years or older 

are enrolled in the program and receive supervision in the 

program, they shall be counted in the number of children 

receiving care, and the vendor shall comply with the standards 

in this part for these children. 

E. The vendor shall inform all staff who work with children 

of children's allergies, sensitivities, and dietary restrictions. 

F. The vendor shall maintain, in a way that is accessible to all 

staff who work with children, a current written list of all 

children's allergies, sensitivities, and dietary restrictions. This 

list shall be dated and kept confidential in each room or area 

where children are present. 

G. Religious exempt child day centers that are exempt from 

licensure in accordance with § 63.2-1716 22.1-289.031 of the 

Code of Virginia shall be in compliance with all requirements 

of § 63.2-1716 22.1-289.031. 

22VAC40-665-510 8VAC20-790-530. General 

recordkeeping; reports.  

A. Staff records and children's information shall be treated 

confidentially. 

B. For each group of children, the vendor shall maintain a 

written hard copy record of daily attendance that documents 

the arrival and departure of each child in care as it occurs. 

C. Records, reports, and information required by this part may 

be kept as hard copy or electronically, except attendance 

records must be maintained pursuant to subsection B of this 

section, and shall be maintained and made accessible to 

department representatives for five years after termination of 

services or separation from employment unless specified 

otherwise. 

22VAC40-665-520 8VAC20-790-540. Children's records. 

A. The vendor shall maintain and keep at the center a record 

for each enrolled child, which shall be made accessible to the 

department's representative upon request. 

B. The child's record shall include the following: 

1. Child's full name, nickname (if any), sex, address, and 

birthdate; 

2. Name, home address, and telephone number for each 

parent who has custody; 

3. Name, address, and telephone number for each custodial 

parent's place of employment or school attendance, if 

applicable; 
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4. Name, address, and telephone number of at least one 

person designated by the parent to contact in case of an 

emergency and the parent cannot be reached; 

5. Information on allergies, including food allergies, 

intolerances to food, medication, or other substances, and 

actions to be taken in an emergency situation; information 

on other physical problems; pertinent developmental 

information; and any special accommodations needed, if 

applicable; 

6. Names of persons other than the custodial parent who are 

authorized to pick up the child; 

7. Immunization records for the child received on or before 

the child's first day of attendance, except that children 

experiencing homelessness may provide such records within 

90 days of enrollment; 

8. Written authorization for emergency medical care should 

an emergency occur and the parent cannot be located 

immediately unless the parent presents a written objection 

for the provision of medical treatment on religious or other 

grounds; 

9. Written authorization to administer prescription or 

nonprescription medications if the vendor administers 

medication; 

10. Special care instructions, including recommendations for 

the care and activities of a child with special needs, 

exception to infant being fed on demand, etc.; 

11. A written allergy care plan for each child with a 

diagnosed food allergy, to include instructions from a 

physician regarding the food to which the child is allergic 

and steps to be taken in the event of a suspected or confirmed 

allergic reaction; 

12. Proof of a child's identity and age as stated in § 63.2-

1809 22.1-289.049 of the Code of Virginia; 

13. Permission to transport child if the vendor provides 

transportation; 

14. Permission for field trips; 

15. Permission for swimming or wading activities to include 

a parent's statement of the child's swimming ability, if 

applicable; 

16. A written statement that the vendor will notify the parent 

when the child becomes ill and that the parent will arrange 

to have the child picked up as soon as possible if so requested 

by the vendor; 

17. Any written agreements between the parent and the 

vendor; and 

18. Documentation of the enrollment of a child experiencing 

homelessness enrolled under provisions of 22VAC40-665-

560 A 2 8VAC20-790-580 A 2. 

22VAC40-665-530 8VAC20-790-550. Staff records. 

The following records shall be kept for each staff person: 

1. Name, address, verification of age, and date of 

employment or volunteering. 

2. Documentation that background checks were completed, 

including: 

a. The department's letter indicating eligibility to be hired 

provided by the department or the department's contractor 

indicating: 

(1) Satisfactory results of the fingerprint-based national 

criminal background check; and 

(2) Satisfactory results of the Virginia Child Protective 

Services Central Registry check. 

b. Satisfactory results of the child abuse and neglect 

registry from any other state in which the individual has 

resided in the preceding five years. 

c. Results of a criminal history record information check 

and sex offender registry check from any state in which 

the person has resided in the preceding five years. 

d. The individual's sworn statement or affirmation as to 

whether the individual has ever been: 

(1) The subject of a founded complaint of child abuse or 

neglect within or outside the Commonwealth; or 

(2) Convicted of a crime or is the subject of any pending 

criminal charges within the Commonwealth or any 

equivalent offense outside the Commonwealth. 

e. The vendor shall have documentation for any individual 

who begins employment or service after the vendor 

agreement has been signed in the file within 30 days of the 

individual's beginning date of employment or service. 

f. Documentation of subsequent background checks 

conducted every five years. 

3. Tuberculosis screening results. 

4. Certifications of first aid and cardiopulmonary 

resuscitation and other certifications as required by the 

responsibilities held by the staff member. 

5. Documentation that training required in 22VAC40-665-

580 8VAC20-790-600 has been completed, including the 

date completed, the total hours of the session, and the names 

of the trainer and of any sponsoring organization. 

6. Date of separation from employment where applicable. 

7. Documentation of the health requirements under 

22VAC40-665-540 8VAC20-790-560. 

22VAC40-665-540 8VAC20-790-560. Health requirements 

for staff.  

A. Staff shall be evaluated by a health professional and be 

issued a statement that the individual is determined to be free 

of communicable tuberculosis (TB). Documentation of the 
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screening shall be submitted at the time of employment and 

prior to coming into contact with children. The documentation 

shall have been completed within the last 30 calendar days of 

the date of employment and be signed by a physician, 

physician's designee, or an official of the local health 

department. 

B. Subsequent TB screenings are required at least every two 

years from the date of the initial screening, or more frequently 

if recommended by a physician. 

C. The vendor or the department's representative may require 

a report of examination by a licensed physician or mental 

health professional if there are indications that a staff member's 

physical or mental health may endanger the health, safety, or 

well-being of children in care. 

D. A staff who is determined by a licensed physician or 

mental health professional to show an indication of a physical 

or mental condition that may endanger the health, safety, or 

well-being of children in care or that would prevent the 

performance of duties shall be removed immediately from 

contact with children and food served to children until the 

condition is cleared as evidenced by a signed statement from 

the physician or mental health professional. 

22VAC40-665-550 8VAC20-790-570. Reports.  

Reports shall be filed and maintained as follows: 

1. The vendor shall inform the department's inspector as 

soon as practicable, but not more than one business day, of 

the following: 

a. The death of a child while under the vendor's 

supervision; 

b. A missing child when local authorities have been 

contacted for help; and 

c. The suspension or termination of all child care services 

for more than 24 hours as a result of an emergency 

situation and any plans to resume child care. 

2. The vendor shall inform the department's representative 

as soon as practicable, but not more than two business days, 

of any injury to a child while under the vendor's supervision 

when a referral is made for treatment from a medical 

professional. 

3. Any suspected incident of child abuse or neglect shall be 

reported in accordance with § 63.2-1509 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

22VAC40-665-560 8VAC20-790-580. Immunizations for 

children. 

A. The vendor shall obtain documentation that each child has 

received the immunizations required by the State Board of 

Health before the child can attend the center. 

1. The vendor may allow a child to attend contingent upon a 

conditional enrollment. Documentation related to the child's 

conditional enrollment shall be maintained in the child's 

record. 

"Conditional enrollment" means the enrollment of a child for 

a period of 90 days contingent upon the child having 

received at least one dose of each of the required vaccines 

and the child possessing a plan from a physician or local 

health department for completing his immunization 

requirements within the ensuing 90 calendar days. If the 

child requires more than two doses of the hepatitis B 

vaccine, the conditional enrollment period, for hepatitis B 

vaccine only, shall be 180 calendar days. 

2. If a child is experiencing homelessness and does not have 

documentation of the required immunizations, the vendor 

may allow the child to attend during a grace period of no 

more than 90 days to allow the parent or guardian time to 

obtain documentation of the required immunizations. 

B. The vendor shall obtain documentation of additional 

immunizations once every six months for children less than 

two years of age. 

C. Pursuant to subsection C of § 22.1-271.2 of the Code of 

Virginia and 12VAC5-110-110, documentation of 

immunizations is not required for any child whose: 

1. Parent submits an affidavit to the vendor, on the form 

entitled "Certification of Religious Exemption," stating that 

the administration of immunizing agents conflicts with the 

parent's or child's religious tenets or practices, or 

2. A physician or a local health department states on a 

Department of Health-approved form that one or more of the 

required immunizations may be detrimental to the child's 

health, indicating the specific nature and probable duration 

of the medical condition or circumstance that contraindicates 

immunization. 

22VAC40-665-570 8VAC20-790-590. General 

qualifications.  

A. The vendor must be at least 18 years of age. 

B. The vendor, and any staff who are left alone with children, 

shall be capable of communicating effectively both orally and 

in writing as applicable to the job responsibility and be capable 

of communicating with emergency personnel. 

C. Staff must be at least 16 years of age; however no staff 

person less than 18 years of age may administer medication. 

1. Staff members less than 18 years of age shall be under 

supervision of an adult staff member who is present in the 

facility. 

2. Adult staff members shall supervise no more than two 

volunteers or staff members less than 18 years of age at any 

given time. 
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22VAC40-665-580 8VAC20-790-600. Staff training and 

development.  

A. Prior to approval as a subsidy vendor, the vendor or 

designee shall complete the Virginia Preservice Training for 

Child Care Staff, which shall include training on the following 

topics and training modules: 

1. Building and physical premises safety; 

2. Emergency preparedness and response planning; 

3. Prevention of sudden infant death syndrome (SIDS) and 

safe sleep practices; 

4. Administration of medication, consistent with standards 

of parental consent; 

5. Prevention of shaken baby syndrome and abusive head 

trauma (AHT); 

6. Prevention of and response to emergencies due to food 

and allergic reactions; 

7. Recognizing child abuse and neglect and reporting 

responsibilities; 

8. Preventing the spread of disease, including immunization 

requirements; 

9. Handling and storage of hazardous materials and 

appropriate disposal of diapers and other items contaminated 

by body fluids; 

10. Transportation; 

11. Foundations of child development; 

12. Inclusion: Exploring the meaning and the mindset; 

13. Oral health; and 

14. Introduction to the Child Care Subsidy Program. 

B. Within the first 90 days of employment or subsidy vendor 

approval all staff who work directly with children shall 

complete Virginia Preservice Training for Child Care Staff, 

which shall include training on the following topics and 

training modules: 

1. Building and physical premises safety; 

2. Emergency preparedness and response planning; 

3. Prevention of sudden infant death syndrome (SIDS) and 

safe sleep practices; 

4. Administration of medication, consistent with standards 

of parental consent; 

5. Prevention of shaken baby syndrome and abusive head 

trauma (AHT); 

6. Prevention of and response to emergencies due to food 

and allergic reactions; 

7. Recognizing child abuse and neglect and reporting 

responsibilities; 

8. Preventing the spread of disease, including immunization 

requirements; 

9. Handling and storage of hazardous materials and 

appropriate disposal of diapers and other items contaminated 

by body fluids; 

10. Transportation; 

11. Foundations of child development; 

12. Inclusion: Exploring the meaning and mindset; 

13. Oral health; and 

14. Introduction to the Child Care Subsidy Program. 

C. All staff who work directly with children and who are 

employed prior to October 17, 2018, shall complete Virginia 

Preservice Training for Child Care Staff sponsored by the 

Department of Social Services, to include all of the topics 

applicable to new staff, within January 16, 2019. This training 

may count for staff annual training requirements in subsection 

H of this section. 

D. Orientation training for staff shall be completed on the 

following facility specific topics prior to the staff member 

working alone with children and within seven days of the date 

of employment or the date of subsidy vendor approval: 

1. Playground safety procedures; 

2. Responsibilities for reporting suspected child abuse or 

neglect; 

3. Confidentiality; 

4. Supervision of children, including arrival and dismissal 

procedures; 

5. Procedures for action in the case of lost or missing 

children, ill or injured children, and medical and general 

emergencies; 

6. Medication administration procedures, if applicable; 

7. Emergency preparedness plan as required in 22VAC40-

665-770 8VAC20-790-790 B; 

8. Prevention of shaken baby syndrome and abusive head 

trauma including coping with crying babies and fussy or 

distraught children; 

9. Prevention of sudden infant death syndrome and use of 

safe sleeping practices; 

10. Staff who work with children that have food allergies 

shall receive training in preventing exposure to foods to 

which the child is allergic, preventing cross contamination, 

and recognizing and responding to any allergic reactions; 

and 
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11. Transportation. 

E. D. All staff who work directly with children shall have 

within 90 days of the date of employment or 90 days from 

subsidy vendor approval: 

1. Current certification in cardiopulmonary resuscitation 

(CPR) appropriate to the ages of children in care. The 

training shall include an in-person competency 

demonstration; and 

2. Current certification in first aid appropriate to the ages of 

children in care. However, staff who is a registered nurse or 

licensed practical nurse with a current license from the 

Board of Nursing shall not be required to obtain first aid 

certification. 

During the 90-day period, there must always be at least one 

staff with current CPR and first aid training present during 

operating hours of the center. 

F. All staff who work directly with children and who are 

employed by an approved vendor prior to October 17, 2018, 

must complete CPR and first aid training as required by this 

section within January 16, 2019. During this 90 days, there 

must always be at least one staff with current CPR and first aid 

training present during operating hours of the center. 

G. E. CPR and First Aid training may count toward the annual 

training hours required in subsection H of this section if 

documentation for training as required in subdivision 5 of 

22VAC40-665-530 8VAC20-790-550 is maintained. 

H. F. Staff who work directly with children shall, in addition 

to preservice and orientation training required in subsections A 

through D of this section, annually attend at least 16 hours of 

training and staff development activities, to include the 

department's health and safety update course. Training shall be 

related to child safety, child development, the function of the 

center, and any required department sponsored training. 

I. G. To safely perform medication administration practices, 

whenever a vendor agrees to administer prescribed 

medications, the (i) administration shall be performed by a 

staff member who has satisfactorily completed a training 

program for this purpose developed by the Board of Nursing 

and taught by a registered nurse, licensed practical nurse, nurse 

practitioner, physician assistant, doctor of medicine or 

osteopathic medicine, or pharmacist; or (ii) administration 

shall be performed by a staff member who is licensed by the 

Commonwealth of Virginia to administer medications. 

The administration of medicines by a vendor may be limited 

by policy to: 

1. Prescription medications; 

2. Over-the-counter or nonprescription medications; or 

3. No medications. 

J. H. Staff required to have the training specified in subsection 

I of this section shall be retrained at three-year intervals. 

K. I. There shall be at least one staff on duty who has obtained 

within the last three years instruction in performing a daily 

health observation of children. Daily health observation 

training shall include: 

1. Components of daily health check for children; 

2. Inclusion and exclusion of a child when the child is 

exhibiting symptoms that indicate possible illness; 

3. Description of how diseases are spread and procedures 

and methods for reducing the spread of disease; 

4. Information concerning the Virginia Department of 

Health Notification of Reportable Diseases pursuant to 

12VAC5-90-80 and 12VAC5-90-90, also available from the 

local health department and the website of the Virginia 

Department of Health; and 

5. Staff occupational health and safety practices in 

accordance with Occupational Safety and Health 

Administration's bloodborne pathogens regulation (29 CFR 

1910.1030). 

22VAC40-665-590 8VAC20-790-610. Certifications by 

other agencies; requirements prior to initial approval.  

Before approval of a vendor agreement and before use of 

newly constructed, renovated, remodeled, or altered buildings 

or sections or buildings, written documentation of the 

following shall be provided by the vendor to the department 

representative: 

1. Certification by the authority having jurisdiction that each 

building meets building and fire codes or that a plan of 

correction has been approved; and 

2. Certification from the local health department, or approval 

of a plan of correction, for meeting requirements for: 

a. Water supply; 

b. Sewage disposal system; and 

c. Food service, if applicable. 

3. Any building that is currently zoned or certified for school 

occupancy and houses a public or private school during the 

school year shall be considered to have met the requirements 

of subdivision 1 of this section when housing a center 

serving only children two and a half years of age or older. 

22VAC40-665-600 8VAC20-790-620. Certifications by 

other agencies; requirements subsequent to initial 

approval.  

A. The vendor shall provide the department representative an 

annual fire inspection report from the appropriate fire official 

having jurisdiction. If a center is located in a building currently 

housing a public or private school, the school's annual fire 

inspection report shall be accepted. 
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B. The vendor shall provide the department representative an 

annual certification from the Health Department, or approvals 

of a plan of correction, for meeting requirements for: 

1. Water supply; 

2. Sewage disposal system; and 

3. Food service, if applicable. 

22VAC40-665-610 8VAC20-790-630. Building or facility 

maintenance.  

A. Areas and equipment of the center, inside and outside, 

shall be maintained in a clean, safe, and operable condition. 

Unsafe conditions shall include splintered, cracked or 

otherwise deteriorating wood; chipped or peeling paint; visible 

cracks, bending or warping, rusting, or breakage of any 

equipment; head entrapment hazards; protruding nails, bolts, 

or other components that entangle clothing or skin; and 

unstable heavy equipment, furniture, or other items that a child 

could pull down on himself. 

B. Inside areas occupied by children shall be maintained no 

lower than 68°F and shall not exceed 80°F unless fans or other 

cooling systems are in use. 

C. In areas used by children of preschool age or younger, the 

following shall apply: 

1. Fans, when used shall be out of reach of children and cords 

shall be secured so as not to create a hazard. 

2. Electrical outlets shall have protective covers that are of a 

size that cannot be swallowed by children. 

D. Building equipment shall include an in-service, nonpay 

telephone. 

22VAC40-665-620 8VAC20-790-640. Hazardous 

substances and other harmful agents.  

A. Hazardous substances such as cleaning materials, 

insecticides, and pesticides shall be kept in a locked place using 

a safe locking method that prevents access by children. If a key 

is used, the key shall not be accessible to children. Cleaning 

supplies to clean and sanitize the diapering area or toilet chairs 

do not need to be kept locked during diapering or toilet training 

time as long as they are inaccessible to children. 

B. Pesticides or insecticides shall not be stored in areas used 

by children or in areas used for food preparation or storage. 

C. Cleaning and sanitizing materials shall not be located 

above food, food equipment, utensils, or single-use articles and 

shall be stored separate from food. 

D. If hazardous substances are not kept in original containers, 

the substitute container shall clearly indicate its contents. 

E. Smoking and the use of electronic smoking devices shall 

be prohibited in the interior of a center, in vehicles when 

children are being transported, and if permitted outside, shall 

be prohibited in the presence of children. 

22VAC40-665-630 8VAC20-790-650. Restroom area and 

furnishings. 

A. The facility shall have at least two toilets and two sinks. 

B. The facility shall have at least one toilet and one sink for 

every 30 children. 

C. Each restroom area provided for children shall: 

1. Be within a contained area, readily available, and within 

the building used by the children; 

2. Have toilets that are flushable; 

3. Have sinks located near the toilets and that are supplied 

with running warm water that does not exceed 120°F; 

4. Be equipped with soap, toilet paper, and disposable towels 

or an air dryer within reach of the children; and 

5. A restroom for school age children that contains more than 

one toilet shall have at least one toilet enclosed. 

22VAC40-665-640 8VAC20-790-660. Play areas. 

The vendor shall ensure that all areas of the premises 

accessible to children are free of obvious injury hazards, 

including providing and maintaining sand or other cushioning 

material under playground equipment. The requirements of 

this section shall not prohibit child day center programs 

providing care to school age children at a location that is 

currently approved by the Department of Education or 

recognized as a private school by the State Board of Education 

for school occupancy and that houses a public or private school 

during the school years from permitting school age children to 

use outdoor play equipment and areas approved for use by 

students of the school during school hours. 

22VAC40-665-650 8VAC20-790-670. Supervision, ratio, 

and group size requirements.  

A. The vendor, except those exempt from licensure operated 

by or under the auspices of a religious institution, shall ensure 

that the following ratio requirements are maintained: 

1. For children from birth to the age of 16 months: one staff 

member for every four children; 

2. For children 16 months to two years: one staff member for 

every five children; 

3. For two-year-old children: one staff member for every 

eight children; 

4. For children from three years to the age of eligibility to 

attend public school, five years by September 30: one staff 

member for every 10 children; 



Regulations 

Volume 37, Issue 24  Virginia Register of Regulations  July 19, 2021  

3574 

5. For children from age of eligibility to attend public school 

through eight years: one staff member for every 18 children; 

and 

6. For children from nine years through 12 years of age: one 

staff member for every 20 children. 

B. Except during meals or snacks, the designated rest period, 

evening and overnight sleep time, outdoor play, field trips, 

special group activities, or during the first and last hour of 

operation when the vendor operates more than six hours per 

day, the vendor, except those exempt from licensure operated 

by or under the auspices of a religious institution, shall ensure 

that the following group size requirements are maintained at all 

times: 

1. For children from birth to the age of 16 months: the 

maximum group size is 12 children; 

2. For children 16 months to two years: the maximum group 

size is 15 children; 

3. For two-year-old children: the maximum group size is 24 

children; and 

4. For children from three years to the age of eligibility to 

attend public school, five years by September 30: the 

maximum group size is 30 children. 

Group size requirements in this section do not apply to 

children school age eligible through 12 years of age or when a 

variance has been granted by the Division of Licensing 

Programs. 

C. Facilities operated by, or under the auspices of, a religious 

institution and exempt from licensure shall employ supervisory 

personnel as set forth in § 63.2-1716 22.1-289.031 of the Code 

of Virginia and shall ensure the following ratio requirements 

are maintained: 

1. One staff member to four children from ages zero to 16 

months; 

2. One staff member to five children from ages 16 months to 

24 months; 

3. One staff member to eight children from ages 24 months 

to 36 months; 

4. One staff member to 10 children from ages 36 months to 

five years; 

5. One staff member to 20 children from ages five years to 

nine years; and 

6. One staff member to 25 children from ages nine years to 

12 years. 

When a group of children receiving care includes children 

from different age brackets, the age of the youngest child in the 

group shall be used to determine the staff-to-children ratio that 

applies to that group. 

D. With the exception of when meals or snacks are served, 

the designated rest period, evening and overnight sleep time, 

outdoor play, and field trips, special group activities, or during 

the first and last hour of operation when the vendor operates 

more than six hours per day, facilities operated by, or under the 

auspices, of a religious institution and are exempt from 

licensure shall ensure the following group size requirements 

are maintained at all times: 

1. For children from birth to two years of age: the maximum 

group size is 12 children; 

2. For children from two years to six years of age: the 

maximum group size is 30 children; and 

3. For children who are six years up to 12 years of age: group 

size requirements in this section do not apply. 

E. The vendor shall develop and implement a written policy 

and procedure that describes how the vendor will ensure that 

each group of children receives care by consistent staff or team 

of staff members. 

F. Staff shall be counted in the required staff-to-children 

ratios only when they are directly supervising children. 

G. When children are in ongoing mixed age groups, the staff-

to-children ratio and group size applicable to the youngest 

child in the group shall apply to the entire group. 

H. Children less than 10 years of age shall always be within 

actual sight and sound supervision of staff, except that staff 

need only be able to hear a child who is using the restroom 

provided that: 

1. There is a system to ensure that individuals who are not 

staff members or persons allowed to pick up a child in care 

do not enter the restroom area while in use by children; and 

2. Staff checks on a child who has not returned from the 

restroom after five minutes. Depending on the location and 

layout of the restroom, staff may need to provide intermittent 

sight supervision of the children in the restroom area during 

this five-minute period to assure the safety of children and 

to provide assistance to children as needed. 

I. Children 10 years of age and older shall be within actual 

sight and sound supervision of staff except when the following 

requirements are met: 

1. Staff can hear or see the children (video equipment, 

intercom systems, or other technological devices shall not 

substitute for staff being able to directly see or hear 

children); 

2. Staff are nearby so that they can provide immediate 

intervention if needed; 

3. There is a system to ensure that staff know where the 

children are and what they are doing; 
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4. There is a system to ensure that individuals who are not 

staff members or persons allowed to pick up children in care 

do not enter the areas where children are not under sight 

supervision; and 

5. Staff provides sight and sound supervision of the children 

at variable and unpredictable intervals not to exceed 15 

minutes. 

J. When the outdoor activity area is not adjacent to the center, 

there shall be at least two staff members in the outdoor activity 

area whenever one or more children are present. 

K. Staff shall not allow a child to leave the center 

unsupervised. 

L. For vendors operated by, or under the auspices of, a 

religious institution and exempt from licensure, during 

designated rest periods and the designated sleep period of 

evening and overnight care programs, the ratio of staff to 

children over 16 months of age may be double the number of 

children to each staff required by subsection C of this section 

if: 

1. The staff person shall be present in the same space as 

sleeping children; 

2. Staff counted in the overall rest period ratio are on the 

same floor as the sleeping or resting children and available 

in case of emergency; and 

3. An additional person is present to help. 

Once at least half of the children in the resting room or area 

are awake and off their mats or cots, the staff-to-child ratio 

shall meet the ratios as required in subsection C of this section. 

M. For vendors not operated by, or under the auspices of, a 

religious institution, during designated rest periods and the 

designated sleep period of evening and overnight care 

programs, the ratio of staff to children over 16 months of age 

may be double the number of children to each staff required by 

subsection A of this section if: 

1. The staff person shall be present in the same space as 

sleeping children; 

2. Staff counted in the overall rest period ratio are on the 

same floor as the sleeping or resting children and available 

in case of emergency; and 

3. An additional person is present to help. 

Once at least half of the children in the resting room or area 

are awake and off their mats or cots, the staff-to-child ratio 

shall meet the ratios as required in subsection A of this section. 

22VAC40-665-660 8VAC20-790-680. Supervision near 

water. 

A. Indoor swimming pools on the center premises shall be 

kept locked when the pool is not in use. Outdoor swimming 

pools located on the center premises shall be enclosed by safety 

fences and gates that are in compliance with the applicable 

edition of the Virginia Uniform Statewide Building Code 

(13VAC5-63) and shall be kept locked when the pool is not in 

use. 

B. The staff-to-children ratios required by 22VAC40-665-

650 8VAC20-790-670 shall be maintained while children are 

participating in swimming or wading activities. 

1. Notwithstanding the staff-to-children ratios already 

indicated, at no time shall there be fewer than two staff 

members supervising the activity. 

2. The designated certified lifeguard shall not be counted in 

the staff-to-children ratios. 

C. If a pool, lake, or other swimming area has a water depth 

of more than two feet, a certified lifeguard holding a current 

certificate shall be on duty supervising the children 

participating in swimming or wading activities at all times 

when one or more children are in the water. 

D. The vendor shall have emergency procedures and written 

safety rules for swimming or wading or follow the posted rules 

of public pools that are: 

1. Posted in the swimming area when the pool is located on 

the premises of the center; and 

2. Explained to children participating in swimming or 

wading activities. 

E. Staff shall have a system for accounting for all children in 

the water. 

22VAC40-665-670 8VAC20-790-690. Daily activities.  

A. The variety of daily activities for all age groups shall be 

age and stage appropriate and provide opportunities for 

teacher-directed, self-directed, and self-chosen tasks and 

activities, a balance of active and quiet activities, indoor and 

outdoor activities, individual and group activities, and 

curiosity and exploration. 

B. For a child who cannot move without help, staff shall offer 

to change the place and position of the child at least every 30 

minutes or more frequently depending on the child's individual 

needs. For an awake infant not playing on the floor or ground 

a change in play space shall be provided by staff at least every 

30 minutes or more often as determined by the individual 

infant's needs. 

C. There shall be a flexible daily schedule for infants based 

on their individual needs. 

D. Infants shall be allowed to sleep when needed. 

1. When an infant is placed in his crib, he shall be placed on 

his back (supine). 

2. When an infant is able to easily turn over from the back 

(supine) to the belly (prone) position and is placed in his crib, 

he shall still be put on his back but allowed to adopt whatever 



Regulations 

Volume 37, Issue 24  Virginia Register of Regulations  July 19, 2021  

3576 

position he prefers. This applies unless otherwise directed by 

the infant's physician or health care provider in writing. 

3. Resting or sleeping infants shall be individually checked 

every 15 to 20 minutes. 

E. Infants shall be provided comfort when needed. 

F. Staff shall provide frequent opportunities for infants to 

creep, crawl, toddle, and walk. 

G. Infants who cannot turn themselves over and are awake 

shall be placed on their stomachs for at least 30 minutes each 

day to facilitate upper body strength and to address misshapen 

head concerns. 

H. Infants shall be protected from older children. 

22VAC40-665-680 8VAC20-790-700. Behavioral guidance.  

A. Behavioral guidance shall be constructive in nature and 

age and stage appropriate and shall be intended to redirect 

children to appropriate behavior and resolve conflicts. 

B. In order to promote the child's physical, intellectual, 

emotional, and social well-being and growth, staff shall model 

desired, appropriate behavior and interact with the child and 

one another to provide needed help, comfort, support and: 

1. Respect personal privacy; 

2. Respect differences in cultural, ethnic, and family 

background; 

3. Encourage decision-making abilities; 

4. Promote ways of getting along; 

5. Encourage independence and self-direction; and 

6. Use consistency in applying expectations. 

C. If time-out is used as a discipline technique: 

1. It shall be used sparingly and shall not exceed one minute 

for each year of the child's age; 

2. It shall not be used with infants or toddlers; 

3. The child shall be in a safe, lighted, well-ventilated place 

and within sight and sound of staff; and 

4. The child shall not be left alone inside or outside the center 

while separated from the group. 

22VAC40-665-690 8VAC20-790-710. Forbidden actions. 

The following actions or threats thereof are forbidden: 

1. Physical punishment, including striking a child, roughly 

handling or shaking a child, restricting movement through 

binding or tying, forcing a child to assume an uncomfortable 

position, or using exercise as a punishment; 

2. Enclosure in a small, confined space or any space that the 

child cannot freely exit himself; however this does not apply 

to the use of equipment such as cribs, play yards, high chairs, 

and safety gates when used for their intended purpose with 

children preschool age or younger; 

3. Punishment by another child; 

4. Withholding or forcing of food, water, or rest; 

5. Verbal remarks that are demeaning to the child; 

6. Punishment for toileting accidents; and 

7. Punishment by applying unpleasant or harmful 

substances. 

22VAC40-665-700 8VAC20-790-720. Parental involvement 

and notifications. 

A. The vendor shall notify the parent immediately if a child 

is lost, requires emergency medical treatment or sustains a 

serious injury, or dies. 

B. The vendor shall notify the parent by the end of the day of 

any known minor injuries. 

C. The vendor shall maintain a written record of children's 

serious and minor injuries in which entries are made the day of 

occurrence. The record shall include the following: 

1. Date and time of injury; 

2. Name of injured child; 

3. Type and circumstance of the injury; 

4. Staff present and treatment; 

5. Date and time when parents were notified; and 

6. Staff and parent signatures or two staff signatures. 

D. Parents shall be notified immediately of any confirmed or 

suspected allergic reactions and the ingestion of or contact with 

any food identified in the written care plan required in 

22VAC40-665-520 B 11 8VAC20-790-540 B 11 even if a 

reaction did not occur. 

E. Staff shall promptly inform parents when persistent 

behavioral problems are observed and identified. 

F. Parents shall be provided at least semiannually in writing 

information on their child's behavior, development, 

adjustment, and needs. This requirement does not apply to 

programs that operate 12 weeks or less a year. 

G. Parents shall be informed of the reason for a child's 

termination from care. 

H. A custodial parent shall be admitted to any child day 

program. Such right of admission shall apply only while the 

child is in the child day program, in accordance with § 63.2-

1813 22.1-289.054 of the Code of Virginia. 

I. When children at the center have been exposed to a 

communicable disease listed in the Department of Health's 

current communicable disease chart, the parents shall be 

notified within 24 hours or the next business day of the vendor 
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having been informed unless forbidden by law. Children's 

exposure to life threatening diseases shall be reported to 

parents immediately. 

J. Parents shall be informed of the vendor's emergency 

preparedness plan. 

22VAC40-665-710 8VAC20-790-730. Furnishings, 

equipment, and materials. 

A. Furnishings, materials, and equipment shall be age and 

stage appropriate for the children. 

B. Children shall be protected from materials that could be 

swallowed or present a choking hazard. Toys or objects less 

than 1-1/4 inches in diameter and less than two inches in length 

shall be kept out of reach of children less than three years of 

age. 

C. If combs, toothbrushes, or other personal articles are used, 

they shall be individually assigned. 

D. Disposable products shall be used once and discarded. 

E. Play yards and portable cribs where used shall meet the 

Juvenile Products Manufacturers Association (JPMA) and the 

American Society for Testing and Materials (ASTM) 

requirements and shall not be used after recalled. 

F. Cribs, cots, rest mats, or beds shall be provided for children 

during the designated rest periods and shall not be occupied by 

more than one child at a time. 

1. Cribs shall be provided for children from birth through 12 

months of age and for children older than 12 months of age 

who are not developmentally ready to sleep on a cot, rest 

mat, or bed during the designated rest periods. 

2. Cots, rest mats, or beds shall be provided for children 

older than 12 months of age. 

G. There shall be at least 12 inches of space between occupied 

cribs, cots, beds, and rest mats. 

H. Full-size cribs shall: 

1. Meet the current Consumer Product Safety Commission 

Standards (16 CFR Part 1219). 

2. Have mattresses that fit snugly next to the crib so that no 

more than two fingers can be inserted between the mattress 

and the crib. 

I. Pillows and filled comforters shall not be used by children 

less than 12 months of age while sleeping or resting including 

quilts, sheepskins, or stuffed toys. 

J. Cribs shall be placed where objects outside the crib such as 

electrical cords or cords from blinds, curtains, etc. are not 

within reach of infants or toddlers. 

K. Use of bumper pads shall be prohibited. 

L. Toys or objects hung over an infant in a crib and crib gyms 

that are strung across the crib may not be used for infants older 

than five months of age or infants who are able to push up on 

their hands and knees. 

M. Crib sides shall always be up, and the fastenings secured 

when a child is in the crib. 

N. Double decker cribs shall not be used. 

22VAC40-665-720 8VAC20-790-740. Bedding and linens 

for use while sleeping or resting.  

A. Linens shall be assigned for individual use. 

B. Pillows when used shall be assigned for individual use and 

covered with pillow cases. 

C. Mattresses when used shall be covered with a waterproof 

material which can be cleaned and sanitized. 

22VAC40-665-730 8VAC20-790-750. Preventing the 

spread of disease.  

A. A child shall not be allowed to attend the center for the day 

if he has: 

1. A temperature over 101°F; 

2. Recurrent vomiting or diarrhea; or 

3. Symptoms of a communicable disease. 

B. If a child needs to be excluded according to subsection A 

of this section, the following shall apply: 

1. Arrangements shall be made for the child to leave the 

center as soon as possible after the signs or symptoms are 

observed; and 

2. The child shall remain in a designated quiet area until 

leaving the center. 

C. When any surface has been contaminated with body fluids, 

it shall be cleaned and sanitized. 

22VAC40-665-740 8VAC20-790-760. Hand washing and 

toileting procedures.  

A. When hand washing, the following shall apply. 

1. Children's hands shall be washed with soap and running 

water or disposable wipes before and after eating meals or 

snacks. 

2. Children's hands shall be washed with soap and running 

water after toileting and any contact with blood, feces, or 

urine. 

3. Staff shall wash their hands with soap and running water 

before and after helping a child use the toilet or changing a 

diaper, after the staff member uses the toilet, after any 

contact with body fluids, and before feeding or helping 

children with feeding, and before preparing or serving food 

or beverages. 
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4. If running water is not available, a germicidal cleansing 

agent administered per manufacturer's instruction may be 

used. 

B. Diapering requirements are as follows: 

1. The diapering area shall be accessible and within the 

building used by children. 

2. There shall be sight and sound supervision for all children 

when a child is being diapered. 

3. The diapering area shall have: 

a. Access to a sink with running warm water not to exceed 

120°F; 

b. Soap, disposable towels, and single-use gloves such as 

surgical or examination gloves; 

c. A nonabsorbent surface for diapering or changing shall 

be used. For children younger than three years, this surface 

shall be a changing table or countertop designated for 

changing; 

d. The appropriate disposal container as required by 

subdivision 6 of this subsection; and 

e. A leak-proof covered receptacle for soiled linens. 

4. When a child's clothing or diaper becomes wet or soiled, 

the child shall be cleaned and changed immediately upon 

discovery. 

5. Disposable diapers shall be used unless the child's skin 

reacts adversely to disposable diapers. 

6. Disposable diapers shall be disposed in a leak-proof or 

plastic-lined storage system that is either foot-operated or 

used in such a way that neither the staff member's hand nor 

the soiled diaper touches an exterior surface of the storage 

system during disposal. 

7. When cloth diapers are used, a separate leak-proof storage 

system as specified in subdivision 6 of this subsection shall 

be used. 

8. The diapering surface shall be used only for diapering or 

cleaning children, and it shall be cleaned with soap and at 

least room temperature water and sanitized after each use. 

Tables used for children's activities or meals shall not be 

used for changing diapers. Individual disposable barriers 

may be used between each diaper change. If the changing 

surface becomes soiled, the surface shall be cleaned and 

sanitized before another child is diapered. 

9. Staff shall ensure the immediate safety of a child during 

diapering. 

C. For every 10 children in the process of being toilet trained, 

there shall be at least one toilet chair or one child-sized toilet, 

or at least one adult sized toilet with a platform or steps and 

adapter seat. 

1. The location of these items shall allow for sight and sound 

supervision of children in the classroom if necessary for the 

required staff-to-children ratios to be maintained. 

2. Toilet chairs shall be emptied promptly and cleaned and 

sanitized after each use. 

22VAC40-665-750 8VAC20-790-770. Medication. 

A. The vendor may administer prescription medication to a 

child with written permission of the parent, provided: 

1. The medication is administered by a staff who meets the 

requirements of 22VAC40-665-580 8VAC20-790-600 I and 

J; 

2. The staff administers only those drugs that were dispensed 

from a pharmacy and maintained in the original, labeled 

container; and 

3. The staff administers drugs only to the child identified on 

the prescription label in accordance with the prescriber's 

instructions pertaining to dosage, frequency, and manner of 

administration. 

B. The vendor may administer over-the-counter or 

nonprescription medication to a child with written permission 

from the parent, provided the medication is: 

1. Administered by a staff 18 years of age or older; 

2. Labeled with the child's name; 

3. In the original container with the manufacturer's direction 

label attached; and 

4. Given only at the dose, duration, and method of 

administration specified on the manufacturer's label for the 

age or weight of the child needing the medication. 

C. When needed, medication shall be refrigerated. 

D. Medication, except for those prescriptions designated 

otherwise by written physician's order, including refrigerated 

medication and staff's personal medication, shall be kept in a 

locked place using a safe locking method that prevents access 

by children. 

E. The vendor shall keep a record of prescription and 

nonprescription medication given to children, which shall 

include the following: 

1. Name of the child to whom medication was administered; 

2. Amount and name of medication administered to the 

child; 

3. The day and time the medication was administered to the 

child; 

4. Name of staff administering the medication; 

5. Any adverse reaction; and 

6. Any medication error. 
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22VAC40-665-760 8VAC20-790-780. First aid and 

emergency supplies.  

A. The following emergency supplies shall be on each floor 

of each building used by children, accessible to outdoor play 

areas, on field trips, in vehicles used for transportation, and 

wherever children are in care: 

1. A first aid kit that contains at a minimum: 

a. Scissors; 

b. Tweezers; 

c. Gauze pads; 

d. Adhesive tape; 

e. Bandages, assorted types and sizes; 

f. An antiseptic cleansing solution and pads; 

g. Digital thermometer; and 

h. Single-use gloves such as surgical or examination 

gloves. 

2. An ice pack or cooling agent. 

B. Each first aid kit shall be easily accessible to staff but not 

to children. 

C. The following nonmedical emergency supplies shall be 

required: 

1. One working, battery-operated flashlight; and 

2. One working, battery-operated radio. 

22VAC40-665-770 8VAC20-790-790. Procedures for 

emergencies.  

A. The vendor shall have a written emergency preparedness 

plan that addresses staff responsibility and facility readiness 

with respect to emergency evacuation, relocation, lockdown 

and shelter-in-place procedures. The plan shall address the 

most likely to occur emergency scenarios, including severe 

storms, loss of utilities, natural disaster, chemical spills, 

intruder, and violence on or near the facility, and facility 

damage or other situations that may require evacuation, 

lockdown, or shelter-in-place. 

B. The emergency preparedness plan shall contain procedural 

components for: 

1. Evacuation procedures, including: 

a. Scenario applicability; 

b. Methods to alert staff and emergency responders; 

c. Designated primary and secondary routes out of the 

building; 

d. Designated assembly points away from the building; 

e. Designated relocation site; 

f. Methods to ensure all children are evacuated from the 

building, and if necessary, moved to a relocation site; 

g. Methods to account for all children at the assembly 

point and relocation site; 

h. Method of communication with parents after the 

evacuation or relocation; 

i. Accommodations or special requirements for infants, 

toddlers, and children with special needs to ensure their 

safety during evacuation or relocation; 

j. Method to ensure essential documents, including 

emergency contact information, attendance records, 

medications, and supplies are taken to the assembly point 

and relocation site; and 

k. Procedures to address reuniting children with a parent 

or an authorized person designated by the parent to pick 

up the child. 

2. Shelter-in-place procedures, including: 

a. Scenario applicability, inside assembly points, primary 

and secondary means of access and egress; 

b. Method to account for all children at the safe locations; 

c. Method to ensure essential documents (attendance 

records, emergency contact information, etc.) and special 

health supplies are carried into the designated assembly 

points; 

d. Method of communication after the shelter-in-place; 

e. Accommodations or special requirements for infants, 

toddlers, and children with special needs to ensure their 

safety during shelter-in-place; and 

f. Procedures to address reuniting children with a parent or 

an authorized person designated by the parent to pick up 

the child. 

3. Lockdown procedures, to include facility containment, 

including: 

a. Methods to alert staff and emergency responders; 

b. Methods to secure the facility and designated lockdown 

locations; 

c. Methods to account for all children in the lockdown 

locations; 

d. Methods of communication with parents and 

emergency responders; 

e. Accommodations or special requirements for infants, 

toddlers, and children with special needs to ensure their 

safety during lockdown; and 

f. Procedures to address reuniting children with a parent or 

an authorized person designated by the parent to pick up 

the child. 

4. Staff training requirements, drill frequency, and plan 

review and update. 

5. Continuity of operations procedures to ensure that 

essential functions are maintained during an emergency. 

6. Other special procedures developed with local authorities. 
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C. Emergency evacuation and shelter-in-place procedures or 

maps shall be posted in a location conspicuous to staff and 

children on each floor of each building. 

D. A 911 or local dial number for police, fire, and emergency 

medical services and the number of the regional poison control 

center shall be posted in a visible and conspicuous place. 

E. The vendor shall ensure that all staff receives training 

regarding emergency evacuation, relocation, shelter-in-place, 

and lockdown procedures on an annual basis and at the end of 

each plan update. 

F. The vendor shall ensure that the emergency plans are 

reviewed with any volunteers who work more than six hours 

per week prior to volunteering and on an annual basis. 

22VAC40-665-780 8VAC20-790-800. Emergency response 

drills.  

A. The emergency response drills shall be practiced, at a 

minimum: 

1. Evacuation procedures shall be practiced at least monthly; 

2. Shelter-in-place procedures shall be practiced twice a 

year; and 

3. Lockdown procedures shall be practiced at least annually. 

B. The vendor shall maintain a record of the dates of the 

practice drills for one year. For vendors offering multiple 

shifts, the simulated drills shall be divided evenly among the 

various shifts. 

22VAC40-665-790 8VAC20-790-810. Nutrition and food 

services. 

A. Drinking water shall be accessible to all children. 

B. When vendors provide meals or snacks, the following shall 

apply: 

1. Vendors offering both meals and snacks shall serve a 

variety of nutritious foods and sufficient portions. 

2. Children three years of age or younger shall not be offered 

foods that are considered to be potential choking hazards. 

C. When food is brought from home, the following shall 

apply: 

1. The food container shall be clearly labeled in a way that 

identifies the owner; 

2. The vendor shall have extra food or shall have provisions 

to obtain food to serve to children so that they can have an 

appropriate snack or meal if they forget to bring food from 

home, bring an inadequate meal or snack, or bring perishable 

food; and 

3. Unused portions of opened food shall be discarded by the 

end of the day or returned to the parent. 

D. Food shall be prepared, stored, transported, and served in 

a clean and sanitary manner. 

E. When food is prepared to which a child in care is allergic, 

staff shall take steps to avoid cross contamination in order to 

prevent an allergic reaction. 

F. A child with a diagnosed food allergy shall not be served 

any food identified in the written care plan required in 

22VAC40-665-520 B 11 8VAC20-790-540 B 11. 

G. Tables and high chair trays shall be sanitized before and 

after each use for feeding and cleaned at least daily. 

22VAC40-665-800 8VAC20-790-820. Special feeding 

needs.  

A. High chairs, infant carrier seats, or feeding tables shall be 

used for children less than 12 months who are not held while 

being fed. 

B. When a child is placed in an infant seat, high chair, or 

feeding table, the protective belt shall be fastened securely. 

C. Bottle fed infants who cannot hold their own bottles shall 

be held when fed. Bottles shall not be propped or used while 

the child is in his designated sleeping location. 

D. Infants shall be fed on demand or in accordance with 

parental instructions. 

E. Prepared infant formula shall be refrigerated, dated, and 

labeled with the child's name if more than one infant is in care. 

F. Heated formula and baby food shall be stirred or shaken 

and tested for temperature before serving to children. 

G. Milk, formula, or breast milk shall not be heated or 

warmed directly in a microwave. Water for warming milk, 

formula, or breast milk may be heated in a microwave. 

H. Formula or breast milk shall not remain unrefrigerated for 

more than two hours and may not be reheated. 

I. Prepared baby food not consumed during that feeding by an 

infant may be used by that same infant later in the same day, 

provided that the food is not served out of the baby jar and is 

labeled with the child's name, dated, and stored in the 

refrigerator; otherwise, it shall be discarded or returned to the 

parent at the end of the day. 

22VAC40-665-810 8VAC20-790-830. Transportation and 

field trips. 

A. If the vendor provides transportation, the vendor shall be 

responsible for care of the child from the time the child boards 

the vehicle until returned to the parent or person designated by 

the parent. 

B. Drivers must be 18 years of age or older and possess a valid 

driver's license to operate the vehicle being driven. 

C. Any vehicle used by the vendor for the transportation of 

children shall meet the following requirements: 
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1. The vehicle shall be manufactured for the purpose of 

transporting people seated in an enclosed area; 

2. The vehicle's seats shall be attached to the floor; 

3. The vehicle shall be insured with at least the minimum 

limits established by Virginia state statutes as required by 

§ 46.2-472 of the Code of Virginia; 

4. The vehicle shall meet the safety standards set by the 

Department of Motor Vehicles and shall be kept in 

satisfactory condition to assure the safety of children; and 

5. If volunteers supply personal vehicles, the vendor is 

responsible for ensuring that the requirements of this 

subsection are met. 

D. The vendor shall ensure that during transportation of 

children: 

1. Virginia state statutes about safety belts and child 

restraints are followed as required by §§ 46.2-1095 through 

46.2-1100 of the Code of Virginia, and the stated maximum 

number of passengers in a given vehicle is not exceeded; 

2. The children remain seated and each child's arms, legs, 

and head remain inside the vehicle; 

3. Doors are closed properly and locked unless locks were 

not installed by the manufacturer of the vehicle; 

4. At least one staff member or the driver always remains in 

the vehicle when children are present; and 

5. Staff has a list of the names of the children being 

transported and allergy care plans, if necessary. 

E. When entering and leaving vehicles, children shall enter 

and leave the vehicle from the curb side of the vehicle or in a 

protected parking area or driveway. 

F. Children shall cross streets at corners or crosswalks or 

other designated safe crossing points if no corner or crosswalk 

is available. 

G. Staff shall verify that all children have been removed from 

the vehicle at the conclusion of any trip. 

22VAC40-665-820 8VAC20-790-840. Animals and pets. 

Animals that are kept on the premises of the center shall be 

vaccinated, if applicable, against diseases that present a hazard 

to the health or safety of children. 

22VAC40-665-830 8VAC20-790-850. Evening and 

overnight care. 

A. All supervision requirements apply during evening and 

overnight care. 

B. For evening care, beds with mattresses or cots with at least 

one inch of dense padding shall be used by children who sleep 

longer than two hours and are not required to sleep in cribs. 

C. For overnight care, beds with mattresses or cots with at 

least two inches of dense padding shall be used by children 

who are not required to sleep in cribs. 

D. In addition to 22VAC40-665-720 8VAC20-790-740 about 

linens, bedding appropriate to the temperature and other 

conditions of the rest area shall be provided. 

E. When children are eight years of age or older, boys and 

girls shall have separate sleeping areas. 

F. For vendors providing overnight care, an operational tub 

or shower with heated and cold water shall be provided. 

G. When bath towels are used, they shall be assigned for 

individual use. 

H. For children in evening and overnight care, quiet activities 

and experiences shall be available immediately before 

bedtime. 

NOTICE: The following forms used in administering the 

regulation have been filed by the agency. Amended or added 

forms are reflected in the listing and are published following 

the listing. Online users of this issue of the Virginia Register 

of Regulations may also click on the name to access a form. 

The forms are also available from the agency contact or may 

be viewed at the Office of Registrar of Regulations, 900 East 

Main Street, 11th Floor, Richmond, Virginia 23219. 

FORMS (8VAC20-790) 

Commonwealth of Virginia Certificate of Religious 

Exemption, Form CRE1 (rev. 1992) 

Commonwealth of Virginia School Entrance Health Form, 

MCH 213G (rev. 10/2020)  

DOCUMENTS INCORPORATED BY REFERENCE 

(8VAC20-790) 

Child Care and Development Fund (CCDF) Plan for Virginia 

FFY 20162018, effective October 1, 2015 

Chapter 800 

Standards for Licensed Family Day Homes 

Part I 

General Provisions 

22VAC40-111-10 8VAC20-800-10. Definitions. 

The following words and terms when used in this chapter 

shall have the following meanings unless the context clearly 

indicates otherwise: 

"Accessible" means capable of being entered, reached, or 

used. 

"Adult" means any individual 18 years of age or older. 

"Age-appropriate" means suitable to the chronological age 

and individual needs of a child. 

"Assistant" means an individual who helps the provider or 

substitute provider in the care, protection, supervision, and 

guidance to children in the home. 

https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/22VAC40/forms/6def2004602~52.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/22VAC40/forms/6def2004602~52.pdf
https://www.vdh.virginia.gov/content/uploads/sites/58/2021/03/MCH-213G-032014.pdf
https://www.vdh.virginia.gov/content/uploads/sites/58/2021/03/MCH-213G-032014.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/22VAC40/DIBR/f581e004602~1.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/22VAC40/DIBR/f581e004602~1.pdf
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"Body fluids" means urine, feces, vomit, blood, saliva, nasal 

discharge, and tissue discharge. 

"Caregiver" means an individual who provides care, 

protection, supervision, and guidance to children in the home 

and includes the provider, substitute provider, and assistant. 

"Child" means an individual under 18 years of age. 

"Child day program" means a regularly operating service 

arrangement for children where, during the absence of a parent 

or guardian, a person or organization has agreed to assume 

responsibility for the supervision, protection, and well-being of 

a child under the age of 13 for less than a 24-hour period. 

"Child with special needs" means a child with developmental 

disabilities, intellectual disabilities, emotional disturbance, 

sensory or motor impairment, or significant chronic illness 

who requires special health surveillance or specialized 

programs, interventions, technologies, or facilities. 

"Cleaned" means treated in such a way as to remove dirt and 

debris by scrubbing and washing with soap and water or 

detergent solution and rinsing with water. 

"Commissioner" means the Commissioner of the Virginia 

Department of Social Services. 

"Department" means the Virginia Department of Social 

Services Education. 

"Department's representative" means an employee or 

designee of the Virginia Department of Social Services 

Education, acting as the authorized agent of the commissioner 

superintendent. 

"Evacuation" means movement of occupants out of the 

building to a safe area near the building. 

"Family day home" means a child day program offered in the 

residence of the provider or the home of any of the children in 

care for one through 12 children under the age of 13, exclusive 

of the provider's own children and any children who reside in 

the home, when at least one child receives care for 

compensation. A family day home serving five through 12 

children, exclusive of the provider's own children and any 

children who reside in the home, shall be licensed. A family 

day home caring for more than four children under the age of 

two years, including the provider's own children and any 

children who reside in the home, shall be licensed or 

voluntarily registered. A family day home where the children 

in care are all related to the provider by blood or marriage shall 

not be required to be licensed. 

"Good character and reputation" means knowledgeable and 

objective people agree that the individual (i) maintains 

business, professional, family, and community relationships 

that are characterized by honesty, fairness, and truthfulness; 

and (ii) demonstrates a concern for the well-being of others to 

the extent that the individual is considered suitable to be 

entrusted with the care, guidance, and protection of children. 

Relatives by blood or marriage, and people who are not 

knowledgeable of the individual, such as recent acquaintances, 

shall not be considered objective references. 

"High school program completion or the equivalent" means 

an individual has earned a high school diploma or General 

Education Development (G.E.D.) certificate, or has completed 

a program of home instruction equivalent to high school 

completion. 

"Inaccessible" means not capable of being entered, reached, 

or used. 

"Infant" means a child from birth up to 16 months of age. 

"Nighttime care" means care provided between 7 p.m. and 6 

a.m. 

"Parent" means the biological, foster or adoptive parent, legal 

guardian, or any individual with responsibility for or custody 

of a child enrolled in or in the process of being enrolled in a 

family day home. 

"Physician" means an individual licensed to practice 

medicine in any of the 50 states or the District of Columbia. 

"Preschool" means children from two years up to the age of 

eligibility to attend public school, age five by September 30 of 

that same year. 

"Programmatic experience" means time spent working 

directly with children in a group that is located away from the 

child's home. Work time shall be computed on the basis of full-

time work experience during the period prescribed or 

equivalent work time over a longer period. Experience settings 

may include, but not be limited to, a child day program, family 

day home, child day center, boys and girls club, field 

placement, elementary school, or a faith-based organization. 

"Provider" means an individual who is issued the family day 

home license by the Department of Social Services Education 

and who has primary responsibility in providing care, 

protection, supervision, and guidance of children in the family 

home. 

"Relocation" means movement of occupants of the building 

to a safe location away from the vicinity of the building. 

"Residence" means principal legal dwelling or abode that is 

occupied for living purposes by the provider and contains the 

facilities necessary for sleeping, eating, cooking, and family 

living. 

"Sanitized" means treated in such a way as to remove bacteria 

and viruses from inanimate surfaces through first cleaning and 

secondly using a solution of one tablespoon of bleach mixed 

with one gallon of water and prepared fresh daily or using a 

sanitizing solution approved by the U.S. Environmental 

Protection Agency. The surface of the item is sprayed or 

dipped into the sanitizing solution and then allowed to air dry. 
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"School age" means eligible to attend public school, age five 

or older by September 30 of that same year. 

"Serious injury" means a wound or other specific damage to 

the body such as, but not limited to, unconsciousness; broken 

bones; dislocation; deep cut requiring stitches; poisoning; 

concussion; and a foreign object lodged in eye, nose, ear, or 

other body orifice. 

"Shelter-in-place" means movement of occupants of the 

building to designated protected spaces within the building. 

"Substitute provider" means an individual who meets the 

qualifications of a provider; is designated by the provider; and 

who provides care, protection, supervision, and guidance for 

children in the family day home when the provider is absent 

from the home for more than two hours. 

"Superintendent" means Superintendent of Public Instruction 

or the superintendent's designee. 

"Time out" means a discipline technique in which a child is 

moved for a brief time away from the stimulation and 

reinforcement of ongoing activities and other children in the 

group to allow the child who is losing self-control to regain 

composure. 

"Toddler" means a child from 16 months of age up to 24 

months of age. 

22VAC40-111-20 8VAC20-800-20. (Reserved). 

Part II 

Administration 

22VAC40-111-30 8VAC20-800-30. Operational 

responsibilities. 

A. The provider shall ensure compliance with these standards 

and the terms of the current license issued by the department 

and with relevant federal, state or local laws, and other relevant 

regulations. 

B. The provider will ensure compliance with the home's 

policies that have been disclosed to the parents as required by 

22VAC-40-111-70 8VAC20-800-70. 

C. The provider shall be of good character and reputation. 

Character and reputation investigation includes, but is not 

limited to, background checks as required by §§ 63.2-1702 and 

63.2-1721 22.1-289.034 et seq. of the Code of Virginia. 

D. The provider shall meet the requirements specified in 

22VAC40-191 8VAC20-770, Background Checks for Child 

Welfare Agencies Child Day Programs and Family Day 

Systems. 

E. The provider shall ensure that the home's activities, 

services, and facilities are conducive to the welfare of children 

in care. 

F. The provider shall be responsible for the home's day-to-

day operation. 

G. The provider shall ensure that any advertising is not 

misleading or deceptive as required by § 63.2-1713 22.1-

289.027 of the Code of Virginia. 

H. The provider shall meet the requirements specified in 

22VAC40-80 8VAC20-820, General Procedures and 

Information for Licensure. 

22VAC40-111-40 8VAC20-800-40. Capacity. 

A. The provider shall ensure that the total number of children 

receiving care at any one time does not exceed the maximum 

licensed capacity of the home. 

B. When at least one child receives care for compensation, all 

children, exclusive of the provider's own children and children 

who reside in the home, who are in the care and supervision of 

a provider, count in the licensed capacity. 

C. The department will establish the home's maximum 

capacity based on the following factors: 

1. The availability of adequate space to allow each child free 

movement and active play indoors and outdoors as required 

by 22VAC40-111-380 8VAC20-800-380; 

2. The provider's responsibility to care for another individual 

who may require special attention or care, including but not 

limited to an elderly resident or a child with a serious 

physical, emotional, or behavioral condition; or 

3. The issuance of a special order to limit capacity pursuant 

to § 63.2-1709.2 22.1-289.023 of the Code of Virginia. 

22VAC40-111-50 8VAC20-800-50. General recordkeeping. 

A. The family day home shall keep a written record of 

children in attendance each day. 

B. The provider's records shall be maintained in the home and 

made accessible to the department's representative. 

C. Information contained in a child's record shall be 

privileged and confidential. The provider shall not distribute or 

release information in a child's record to any unauthorized 

person without the written consent of the child's parent. 

D. Children's records shall be made available to a child's 

parent upon request, unless otherwise ordered by the court. 

E. Records and reports on children, caregivers, and household 

members required by this chapter shall be maintained and 

made accessible to the department's representative for two 

years from the date of termination of services for a child, date 

of separation from employment for caregivers, or date of 

termination of residence for a household member, or unless 

specified otherwise. 

22VAC40-111-60 8VAC20-800-60. Children's records. 

A. The provider shall maintain an up-to-date record at the 

family day home for each enrolled child. 

B. A child's record shall contain the following information: 
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1. Child's full name, nickname (if any), sex, address, and 

birth date; 

2. Emergency contact information including: 

a. Name, home address, and telephone number of each 

parent who has custody; 

b. Name, address and telephone number of each custodial 

parent's place of employment; 

c. Name, office address and telephone number of the 

child's physician; 

d. Name, address and telephone number of two designated 

persons to contact in case of an emergency if the parent 

cannot be reached; 

e. Information on allergies and intolerance to food, 

medication, or any other substances, and actions to take in 

an emergency situation; 

f. Name and policy number of the child's medical 

insurance, if applicable; 

g. Names of persons other than the custodial parents who 

are authorized to pick up the child; 

h. Appropriate legal paperwork when a custodial parent 

does not authorize the provider to release the child to the 

other parent; and 

i. Chronic physical problems, pertinent developmental 

information, and any special accommodations needed; 

3. First and last dates of attendance; 

4. Parent's signed acknowledgement of the receipt of the 

information required by 22VAC40-111-70 8VAC20-800-

70; 

5. Proof of the child's age and identity and the names and 

addresses of previously attended child day care and schools 

as required by 22VAC40-111-80 8VAC20-800-80; 

6. Immunization records for the child as required by 

22VAC40-111-90 8VAC20-800-90; 

7. Results of the health examination for the child as required 

by 22VAC40-111-100 8VAC20-800-100; 

8. Written authorization for emergency medical care should 

an emergency occur and the parent cannot be located 

immediately unless the parent presents a written objection to 

provision of medical treatment on religious or other grounds; 

9. Written authorization if a caregiver is to administer 

prescription or nonprescription medication to the child as 

required by 22VAC40-111-700 8VAC20-800-700 A 2; 

10. Written authorization if the child is to participate in 

swimming or wading activities as required by 22VAC40-

111-660 8VAC20-800-660 B; 

11. Written authorization if the child is taken off the 

premises of the family day home as required by 22VAC40-

111-980 8VAC20-800-980; 

12. Special instructions to the provider including, but not 

limited to, exception to an infant's sleeping position as 

required in 22VAC40-111-590 8VAC20-800-590 A, 

recommendations for the care and activities of a child with 

special needs as required in 22VAC40-111-620 8VAC20-

800-620 A, and exception to an infant's being fed on demand 

as required in 22VAC40-111-960 8VAC20-800-960 A; 

13. Record of any accidents or injuries sustained by the child 

while at the family day home as required by 22VAC40-111-

840 8VAC20-800-840; and 

14. Documentation of the review of the child's emergency 

contact information as required by 22VAC40-111-780 

8VAC20-800-780 B. 

22VAC40-111-70 8VAC20-800-70. Written information 

for parents. 

A. Before the child's first day of attendance, parents shall be 

provided in writing the following information: 

1. Operating information including the hours and days of 

operation, holidays or other times closed, and the telephone 

number where a message can be left for a caregiver; 

2. Schedule of fees and payment plans; 

3. Check in and check out procedures; 

4. Policies for the administration of medications; 

5. Whether or not there is liability insurance of at least 

$100,000 per occurrence and $300,000 aggregate in force on 

the family day home operation as required by § 63.2-1809.1 

22.1-289.050 of the Code of Virginia; 

6. Requirement for the family day home to notify the parent 

when the child becomes ill and for the parent to arrange to 

have the child picked up as soon as possible if so requested 

by the home; 

7. Requirement for the parent to inform the family day home 

within 24 hours or the next business day after his child or 

any member of the immediate household has developed any 

reportable communicable disease, as defined by the State 

Board of Health, except for life-threatening diseases, which 

must be reported immediately; 

8. Requirement for the child to be adequately immunized as 

required by 22VAC-40-111-90 8VAC20-800-90; 

9. Requirement for paid caregivers to report suspected child 

abuse or neglect according to § 63.2-1509 of the Code of 

Virginia; 

10. Custodial parent's right to be admitted to the family day 

home any time the child is in care as required by § 63.2-1813 

22.1-289.054 of the Code of Virginia; 

11. General daily schedule that is appropriate for the age of 

the enrolling child; 
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12. Policies for the provision of food; 

13. Presence of a pet or animal in the home; 

14. Discipline policies including acceptable and 

unacceptable discipline measures; 

15. Amount of time per week that an adult assistant or 

substitute provider instead of the provider is scheduled to 

care for the child and the name of the adult assistant or 

substitute provider; 

16. Provisions of the family day home's emergency 

preparedness and response plan; 

17. Parental notifications required in 22VAC40-111-650 

8VAC20-800-650; 

18. Policies for termination of care; and 

19. Address of the website of the department, with a note 

that a copy of this regulation chapter and additional 

information about the family day home may be obtained 

from the website, including compliance history that includes 

information after July 1, 2003. 

B. The provider shall obtain the parent's written 

acknowledgement of the receipt of the information in this 

section. 

22VAC40-111-80 8VAC20-800-80. Proof of age and 

identity; record of child care and schools. 

A. Within seven business days of the child's first day of 

attendance at the family day home, the provider shall obtain 

from the parent: 

1. Verification of the identity and age of the child; and 

2. Name and location of previous day care programs and 

schools the child has attended. 

B. The provider shall verify the identity and age of a child by 

viewing one of the following: 

1. Certified birth certificate; 

2. Birth registration card; 

3. Notification of birth, i.e., hospital, physician, or midwife 

record; 

4. Passport; 

5. Copy of the placement agreement or other proof of the 

child's identity from a child placing agency; 

6. Original or copy of a record or report card from a public 

school in Virginia; 

7. Signed statement on letterhead stationery from a public 

school principal or other designated official that assures the 

child is or was enrolled in the school; or 

8. Child identification card issued by the Virginia 

Department of Motor Vehicles. 

C. The provider shall document in the child's record: 

1. The method of verification of the child's age and identity; 

and 

2. The names and locations of the previous child care 

programs and schools the child has attended. 

D. The provider shall notify the local law-enforcement 

agency if the parent does not provide the information required 

in 22VAC40-111-80 8VAC20-800-80 A within seven business 

days of the child's first day of attendance at the family day 

home. 

E. The proof of identity, if reproduced or retained by the 

family day home, shall be destroyed two years after 

termination of services to the child. The procedures for the 

disposal, physical destruction, or other disposition of the proof 

of identity containing social security numbers shall include all 

reasonable steps to destroy such documents by: 

1. Shredding; 

2. Erasing; or 

3. Otherwise modifying the social security numbers in those 

records to make them unreadable or indecipherable by any 

means. 

22VAC40-111-90 8VAC20-800-90. Immunizations for 

children. 

A. Before a child may attend the family day home, the 

provider shall obtain documentation that the child has been 

adequately immunized according to the requirements of § 32.1-

46 A of the Code of Virginia and applicable State Board of 

Health regulations. 

B. Pursuant to subsection C of § 22.1-271.2 of the Code of 

Virginia, documentation of immunizations is not required for 

any child whose: 

1. Parent submits an affidavit to the family day home on the 

current form approved by the Virginia Department of Health 

stating that the administration of immunizing agents 

conflicts with the parent's or child's religious tenets or 

practices; or 

2. Physician or a local health department states on a 

Department of Health-approved form that one or more of the 

required immunizations may be detrimental to the child's 

health, indicating the specific nature and probable duration 

of the medical condition or circumstance that contraindicates 

immunization. 

C. The family day home shall obtain documentation of 

additional immunizations for a child who is not exempt from 

the immunization requirements according to subsection B of 

this section: 

1. Once every six months for children under the age of two 

years; and 
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2. Once between each child's fourth and sixth birthdays. 

22VAC40-111-100 8VAC20-800-100. Physical 

examinations for children. 

A. The provider shall obtain documentation of a physical 

examination by or under the direction of a physician prior to a 

child's attendance or within 30 days after the first day of 

attendance. 

B. The physical examination prior to attendance shall have 

been conducted within: 

1. Two months prior to attendance for children six months 

of age or younger; 

2. Three months prior to attendance for children age seven 

months through 18 months; 

3. Six months prior to attendance for children age 19 months 

through 24 months; 

4. Twelve months prior to attendance for children two years 

of age through five years of age; or 

5. Twenty-four months prior to attendance for children six 

years of age and above. 

EXCEPTIONS: 

1. A new physical examination is not required if a copy of 

the physical examination is available to the admitting family 

day home for a child transferring from a facility licensed by 

the Virginia Department of Social Services Education, 

approved by a licensed family day system, voluntarily 

registered by the Virginia Department of Social Services 

Education or by a contract agency of the Virginia 

Department of Social Services Education, or transferring 

from a Virginia Department of Education-approved child 

care program . 

2. Pursuant to subsection D of § 22.1-270 of the Code of 

Virginia, physical examinations are not required for any 

child whose parent objects on religious grounds. The parent 

must submit a signed statement noting that the parent objects 

on religious grounds and certifying that to the best of the 

parent's knowledge the child is in good health and free from 

communicable or contagious disease. 

3. For a school age child, a copy of the physical examination 

required for his entry into a Virginia public kindergarten or 

elementary school is acceptable documentation. 

22VAC40-111-110 8VAC20-800-110. Form and content of 

immunization and physical examination reports for 

children. 

A. The current form approved by the Virginia Department of 

Health or a physician's form shall be used to record 

immunizations received and the results of the required physical 

examination. 

B. Each report shall include the date of the physical 

examination and dates immunizations were received and shall 

be signed by a licensed physician, the physician's designee, or 

an official of a local health department. 

22VAC40-111-120 8VAC20-800-120. Caregiver records. 

A. The provider shall maintain a record for each caregiver. 

B. Assistants' and substitute providers' records shall contain 

the following: 

1. Name; 

2. Address; 

3. Verification of age; 

4. Job title; 

5. Date of employment or volunteering; 

6. Name address and telephone number of a person to be 

notified in an emergency; 

7. For assistants and substitute providers who are not the 

spouse, parent, sibling, or child of the provider and are hired 

after June 30, 2010, documentation that two or more 

references as to character and reputation as well as 

competency were checked before employment. If a 

reference check is taken over the telephone, documentation 

shall include: 

a. Dates of contact, 

b. Names of persons contacted, 

c. Firms contacted, 

d. Results, and 

e. Signature of person making call; 

8. Background checks as required by 22VAC40-111-130 

8VAC20-770; 

9. Documentation of tuberculosis screening as required by 

22VAC40-111-170 8VAC20-800-170 and 22VAC40-111-

180 8VAC20-800-180 A; and 

10. Documentation of the education and training as required 

by 22VAC40-111-230 8VAC20-800-230. 

C. Substitute providers' records shall also contain 

documentation of the time of arrivals and departures as 

required by 22VAC40-111-140 8VAC20-800-140 D. 

D. Providers' records shall contain the following: 

1. Background checks as required by 22VAC40-111-130 

8VAC20-770; 

2. Documentation of tuberculosis screening as required by 

22VAC40-111-170 8VAC20-800-170 and 22VAC40-111-

180 8VAC20-800-180 A; and 

3. Documentation of the education and training as required 

by 22VAC40-111-230 8VAC20-800-230. 
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Part III 

Personnel 

22VAC40-111-130 8VAC20-800-130. General 

qualifications for caregivers. 

Caregivers shall: 

1. Be of good character and reputation; 

2. Be physically and mentally capable of carrying out 

assigned responsibilities; 

3. Be courteous, respectful, patient, and affectionate toward 

the children in care; 

4. Be able to speak, read, and write in English as necessary 

to: 

a. Carry out assigned job responsibilities, and 

b. Communicate effectively with emergency responders; 

and 

5. Meet the requirements specified in 22VAC40-191 

8VAC20-770, Background Checks for Child Welfare 

Agencies Day Programs and Family Day Systems. 

22VAC40-111-140 8VAC20-800-140. Qualifications and 

requirements for providers and substitute providers. 

A. Providers and substitute providers shall be 18 years of age 

or older. 

B. Providers licensed after and substitute providers employed 

after June 30, 2010, shall have: 

1. (i) A high school program completion or the equivalent or 

(ii) evidence of having met the requirements for admission 

to an accredited college or university; 

2. Three months of programmatic experience; 

3. Current certification in cardiopulmonary resuscitation 

(CPR), as appropriate to the age of the children in care, from 

the American Red Cross, American Heart Association, 

American Safety and Health Institute, or the National Safety 

Council, or current CPR certification issued within the past 

two years by a community college, a hospital, a rescue 

squad, or a fire department; and 

4. Current certification in first aid from the American Red 

Cross, American Heart Association, American Safety and 

Health Institute, or the National Safety Council, or current 

first aid certification issued within the past three years by a 

community college, a hospital, a rescue squad, or a fire 

department. 

EXCEPTION: A provider or substitute provider who is a 

registered nurse or licensed practical nurse with a current 

license from the Board of Nursing shall not be required to 

obtain first aid certification. 

C. Use of a substitute provider shall be limited to no more 

than a total of 240 hours per calendar year. 

D. A substitute provider shall record and sign the time of 

arrivals and departures on each day that the substitute provider 

works. 

22VAC40-111-150 8VAC20-800-150. Qualifications and 

requirements for assistants. 

A. Assistants shall be 16 years of age or older. 

B. An assistant under the age of 18 years of age shall always 

work under the direct supervision of the provider or substitute 

provider. Direct supervision means being able to hear or see 

the assistant and children at all times. 

C. An assistant 18 years of age or older shall not be left alone 

with children in care for more than two hours per day. 

D. An assistant 18 years of age or older who is left alone with 

children in care shall have: 

1. Current certification in cardiopulmonary resuscitation 

(CPR), as appropriate to the age of the children in care, 

from the American Red Cross, American Heart 

Association, American Safety and Health Institute, or 

National Safety Council, or current CPR certification 

issued within the past two years by a community college, 

a hospital, a rescue squad, or a fire department; and 

2. Current certification in first aid from the American Red 

Cross, American Heart Association, American Safety and 

Health Institute, or National Safety Council, or current 

first aid certification issued within the past three years by 

a community college, a hospital, a rescue squad, or a fire 

department. 

EXCEPTION: An assistant who is a registered nurse or 

licensed practical nurse with a current license from the Board 

of Nursing shall not be required to obtain first aid certification. 

E. An assistant 18 years of age or older who meets the 

requirements for a substitute provider may act as the substitute 

provider when the provider is absent from the home for more 

than two hours. 

Part IV 

Household Members 

22VAC40-111-160 8VAC20-800-160. Attributes for 

household members. 

Individuals 14 years of age and older who reside in the family 

day home shall: 

1. Display behavior that demonstrates emotional stability; 

2. Be of good character and reputation; and 

3. Meet the requirements specified in 22VAC40-191 

8VAC20-770, Background Checks for Child Welfare 

Agencies Day Programs and Family Day Systems. 
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Part V 

Physical Health of Caregivers and Household Members 

22VAC40-111-170 8VAC20-800-170. Initial tuberculosis 

screening for caregivers and household members. 

A. The provider shall obtain from each caregiver at the time 

of hire and each adult household member prior to coming into 

contact with children a current Report of Tuberculosis 

Screening form published by the Virginia Department of 

Health or a form consistent with it documenting the absence of 

tuberculosis in a communicable form. 

B. The form shall have been completed within the last 30 days 

and be signed by a physician, physicians' designee, or an 

official of the local health department. 

22VAC40-111-180 8VAC20-800-180. Subsequent 

tuberculosis screening for caregivers and household 

members. 

A. The provider shall obtain for each caregiver and adult 

household member a current Report of Tuberculosis Screening 

form, in accordance with the requirements in 22VAC40-111-

170 8VAC20-800-170, every two years from the date of the 

first screening or more frequently as recommended by a 

physician or the local health department. 

B. Within 30 days of a caregiver's or adult household 

member's coming into contact with a known case of infectious 

tuberculosis, the provider shall obtain for the individual a new 

Report of Tuberculosis Screening form in accordance with the 

requirements in 22VAC40-111-170 8VAC20-800-170. Until a 

new screening form is issued that documents the absence of 

tuberculosis in a communicable form, the caregiver or adult 

household member shall not have contact with children. 

C. The provider shall immediately obtain a new Report of 

Tuberculosis Screening form in accordance with the 

requirements in 22VAC40-111-170 8VAC20-800-170 for any 

caregiver or adult household member who develops chronic 

respiratory symptoms of three weeks duration. Until a new 

screening form is issued that documents the absence of 

tuberculosis in a communicable form, the caregiver or adult 

household member shall not have contact with children. 

22VAC40-111-190 8VAC20-800-190. Physical and mental 

health examinations for caregivers and household 

members. 

A. The provider or the department's representative may 

require a report of examination by a licensed physician or 

mental health professional when there are indications that a 

caregiver's or household member's physical or mental health 

may endanger the health, safety, or well-being of children in 

care. 

B. A caregiver or household member who is determined by a 

licensed physician or mental health professional to show an 

indication of a physical or mental condition that may endanger 

the health, safety, or well-being of children in care or that 

would prevent the performance of duties shall be removed 

immediately from contact with children and food served to 

children until the condition is cleared as evidenced by a signed 

statement from the physician or mental health professional. 

Part VI 

Caregiver Training 

22VAC40-111-200 8VAC20-800-200. Orientation. 

A. The provider shall orient the substitute provider and 

assistant by the end of their first week of assuming job 

responsibilities. 

B. The orientation shall cover the following topics: 

1. Job responsibilities; 

2. Requirements for parental notifications listed in 

22VAC40-111-650 8VAC20-800-650; 

3. Standards in this chapter that relate to the substitute 

provider's or assistant's responsibilities; 

4. Emergency evacuation, relocation, and shelter-in-place 

procedures; 

5. Location of emergency numbers, first aid kit, and 

emergency supplies; 

6. Confidential treatment of information about children in 

care and their families; and 

7. Requirement for reporting suspected child abuse and 

neglect. 

C. Documentation of the orientation shall be signed and dated 

by the provider and substitute provider or by the provider and 

assistant. 

22VAC40-111-210 8VAC20-800-210. Annual training. 

A. In addition to satisfactory completion of first aid training 

and CPR training, caregivers shall obtain a minimum of eight 

sixteen clock hours of training annually in areas relevant to 

their job responsibilities. 

1. Effective July 1, 2011, caregivers shall obtain 12 clock 

hours of training annually. 

2. Effective July 1, 2012, caregivers shall obtain 14 clock 

hours of training annually. 

3. Effective July 1, 2013, caregivers shall obtain 16 clock 

hours of training annually. 

B. The annual training shall cover areas such as, but not 

limited to: 

1. Physical, intellectual, social, and emotional child 

development; 

2. Behavior management and discipline techniques; 

3. Health and safety in the family day home environment; 
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4. Art and music activities for children; 

5. Child nutrition; 

6. Recognition and prevention of child abuse and neglect; 

7. Emergency preparedness as required by 22 VAC 40-111-

800 8VAC20-800-800 C; or 

8. Recognition and prevention of the spread of 

communicable diseases. 

22VAC40-111-220 8VAC20-800-220. Medication 

administration training. 

A. To safely perform medication administration practices 

listed in 22VAC40-111-710 8VAC20-800-710 whenever the 

family day home has agreed to administer prescription 

medications or nonprescription medications, the 

administration shall be performed by a caregiver who: 

1. Has satisfactorily completed a training program for this 

purpose developed or approved by the Board of Nursing and 

taught by a registered nurse, licensed practical nurse, doctor 

of medicine or osteopathic medicine, or pharmacist; or 

2. Is licensed by the Commonwealth of Virginia to 

administer medications. 

B. Caregivers required to have the training in subdivision A 

1 of this section shall be retrained at three-year intervals. 

22VAC40-111-230 8VAC20-800-230. Documentation of 

education and training. 

A. The provider shall maintain written documentation of each 

caregiver's applicable education and programmatic experience, 

applicable first aid and CPR certification, orientation, annual 

training, and applicable medication administration training. 

B. Written documentation of annual training shall include: 

1. Name of the caregiver; 

2. Name of the training session; 

3. Date and total hours of the session; and 

4. Name of the organization that sponsored the training and 

the trainer. 

Part VII 

Physical Equipment and Environment 

22VAC40-111-240 8VAC20-800-240. Home maintenance. 

A. Areas and furnishings of the family day home, inside and 

outside, shall be maintained in a clean, safe, and operable 

condition. Unsafe conditions shall include, but not be limited 

to, the presence of poisonous plants; tripping hazards; unstable 

heavy equipment, furniture, or other items that a child could 

pull down on himself; splintered, cracked, or otherwise 

deteriorating wood; chipped or peeling paint; visible cracks, 

bending or warping, rusting, or breakage of any equipment; 

head entrapment hazards; and protruding nails, bolts, or other 

components that could entangle or could snag skin. 

B. No equipment, materials, or furnishings shall be used if 

recalled or identified by the U.S. Consumer Product Safety 

Commission as being hazardous. 

22VAC40-111-250 8VAC20-800-250. Hanging, suffocation, 

and strangulation hazards. 

A. Hanging items including, but not limited to, window blind 

or curtain cords, appliance cords, and ropes shall be out of 

reach of children under five years of age. 

B. Children shall be protected from materials that could be 

swallowed or present a choking hazard. Toys or objects less 

than 1-1/4 inches in diameter and less than two inches in length 

shall be kept out of reach of children under the age of three 

years. 

C. Items tied across the top or corner of a crib or playpen or 

toys hung from the sides with strings or cords shall be removed 

when the child begins to push up on hands and knees or is five 

months of age, whichever occurs first. 

D. Hood or neck drawstrings shall be removed from a child's 

clothing prior to a child's using climbing play equipment. 

E. Latex gloves, balloons, and empty plastic bags large 

enough for a child's head to fit inside shall be inaccessible to 

children under five years of age. 

22VAC40-111-260 8VAC20-800-260. Drowning hazards. 

A. Access to the water in aboveground swimming pools shall 

be prevented by locking and securing the ladder in place or 

storing the ladder in a place inaccessible to children. 

B. A nonclimbable barrier at least four feet high such as, but 

not limited to, a fence or impenetrable hedge shall surround 

outdoor play areas located within 30 feet of drowning hazards 

such as, but not limited to, inground swimming or wading 

pools, ponds, or fountains not enclosed by safety fences. 

Facilities licensed prior to July 1, 2010, must comply fully with 

the requirement of this subsection by July 1, 2011. 

C. Portable wading pools without integral filter systems shall: 

1. Be emptied after use by each group of children, rinsed, 

and filled with clean water, or more frequently as necessary; 

and 

2. When not in use during the family day home's hours of 

operation, be emptied, sanitized, and stored in a position to 

keep them clean and dry. 

D. Portable wading pools shall not be used by children who 

are not potty trained. 

E. Bathtubs, buckets, and other containers of liquid accessible 

to children shall be emptied immediately after use. 

F. Hot tubs, spas, and whirlpools shall: 
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1. Not be used by children in care, and 

2. Covered with safety covers while children are in care. 

22VAC40-111-270 8VAC20-800-270. Firearms and 

ammunition. 

A. Firearms of every type and purpose shall be stored 

unloaded in a locked container, compartment, or cabinet, and 

apart from ammunition. 

B. Ammunition shall be stored in a locked container, 

compartment, or cabinet during the family day home's hours of 

operation. 

C. If a key is used to lock the container, compartment, or 

cabinet, the key shall be inaccessible to children. 

22VAC40-111-280 8VAC20-800-280. Poisonous materials. 

Potentially poisonous substances, materials and supplies such 

as, but not limited to, cleaning agents, disinfectants, 

deodorizers, plant care chemicals, pesticides, and petroleum 

distillates shall be stored away from food in areas inaccessible 

to children. 

22VAC40-111-290 8VAC20-800-290. Sharp objects. 

Sharp kitchen utensils and other sharp objects shall be 

inaccessible to children unless being used by the caregiver or 

with children under close supervision. 

22VAC40-111-300 8VAC20-800-300. Body fluids 

contamination. 

When any surface has been contaminated with body fluids, it 

shall be cleaned and sanitized. 

22VAC40-111-310 8VAC20-800-310. Machinery. 

Machinery in operation such as lawnmowers and power tools 

shall be inaccessible to the children in care. 

22VAC40-111-320 8VAC20-800-320. Fire safety and shock 

prevention. 

A. Small electrical appliances such as, but not limited to, 

curling irons, toasters, blenders, can openers, and irons shall be 

unplugged unless being used by the caregiver or with children 

under close supervision. 

B. Child-resistant protective covers larger than 1-1/4 inches 

in diameter shall be installed on all unused electrical outlets 

and surge protectors accessible to children under five years of 

age. 

C. No electrical device accessible to children shall be placed 

so that it could be plugged into an electrical outlet while in 

contact with a water source, such as a sink, tub, shower area, 

toilet, or swimming or wading pool. 

D. Electrical cords and electrical appliances and equipment 

with cords that are frayed and have exposed wires shall not be 

used. 

E. Radiators, oil and wood burning stoves, floor furnaces, 

fireplaces, portable electric heaters, and similar heating 

devices located in areas accessible to children shall have 

barriers or screens and be located at least three feet from 

combustible materials. 

F. Unvented fuel burning heaters shall not be used when 

children are in care. Unvented fuel burning heaters include, but 

are not limited to, portable oil-burning (kerosene) heaters; 

portable, unvented liquid or gas fueled heaters; and unvented 

fireplaces. 

G. Wood burning stoves and fireplaces and associated 

chimneys shall be inspected annually by a knowledgeable 

inspector to verify that the devices are properly installed, 

maintained, and cleaned as needed. Documentation of the 

inspection and cleaning shall be maintained by the provider. 

H. All flammable and combustible materials such as, but not 

limited to, matches, lighters, lighter fluid, kerosene, turpentine, 

oil and grease products, aerosol cans, and alcohol shall be 

stored in an area inaccessible to children. 

I. If there are open and obvious fire hazards, including the 

absence of fire extinguishers or smoke detectors as required by 

the Uniform Statewide Building Code and the Statewide Fire 

Prevention Code, the local fire prevention or building officials, 

or the State Fire Marshal's office shall be contacted by the 

department's representative. The provider shall comply with 

the requirements or recommendations made by the fire 

prevention or building officials to eliminate fire hazards. 

22VAC40-111-330 8VAC20-800-330. Telephones. 

A. A landline telephone, excluding a cordless or cell phone, 

shall be available, operable, and accessible during the family 

day home's hours of operation. An operable landline telephone 

is one that does not require electricity to operate. Cordless or 

cell phones may be used in addition to the landline telephone. 

B. If the telephone number is unlisted, the provider shall 

ensure that parents and the department have been given the 

unlisted number in writing. 

C. The provider shall inform the department within 48 hours 

and parents within 24 hours of a change of the telephone 

number. 

22VAC40-111-340 8VAC20-800-340. Bathrooms. 

A. The home shall have an indoor bathroom. 

B. The bathroom shall be easily accessible to children two 

years of age and older. 

C. The bathroom shall be kept clean and contain a working 

toilet and sink, toilet tissue, liquid soap, and paper towels. 

22VAC40-111-350 8VAC20-800-350. Water supply. 

A. The home shall have indoor running water. 



Regulations 

Volume 37, Issue 24  Virginia Register of Regulations  July 19, 2021  

3591 

B. When water is not obtained from a municipal supply, and 

the house is not connected to a municipal sewer line, the water 

supply and septic system of the family day home shall be 

inspected and approved by the local health official or a private 

laboratory if there are open and obvious symptoms of water or 

sewage system problems, such as evidence of cloudy, murky, 

or muddy water, or sewage back up. 

C. Family day homes connected to a municipal water supply 

and sewer line that have open and obvious symptoms of water 

or sewage system problems shall have the problems corrected 

within a time frame established by the local public utility 

department. 

D. There shall be an ample supply of hot and cold water 

available to children and caregivers for hand washing. 

E. Hot water at taps available to children shall be maintained 

within a range of 105°F to 120°F. 

22VAC40-111-360 8VAC20-800-360. Garbage. 

A. Garbage shall be removed on a daily basis from rooms 

occupied by children and removed from the premises at least 

once weekly or more often as needed. 

B. There shall be a sufficient number of garbage and diaper 

containers. 

C. Children shall not be allowed access to garbage storage 

areas. 

D. Garbage storage areas shall be free of litter, odor, and 

uncontained trash. 

22VAC40-111-370 8VAC20-800-370. Rodents and insects. 

A. The home shall be kept free from rodents and insect 

infestation. 

B. No home shall maintain any receptacle or pool, whether 

natural or artificial, containing water in such condition that 

insects breeding therein may become a menace to public 

health. 

22VAC40-111-380 8VAC20-800-380. Space. 

The home shall provide each child with adequate space to 

allow free movement and active play indoors and out. 

22VAC40-111-390 8VAC20-800-390. Individual location. 

A. Each child who is two years of age and older shall have 

access to an individual location in which to keep clothing, toys, 

and belongings. 

B. Each child who is under the age of two shall have an 

individual location in which to keep clothing, toys, and 

belongings that is accessible to the caregiver and parent. 

22VAC40-111-400 8VAC20-800-400. Heating and cooling. 

A. The temperature in all inside areas occupied by children 

shall be maintained no lower than 65°F. 

B. Fans or other cooling systems shall be used when the 

temperature of inside areas occupied by children exceeds 80°F. 

22VAC40-111-410 8VAC20-800-410. Electric fans. 

Portable electric fans shall be securely mounted out of the 

reach of children and shall be equipped with a mesh guard. 

22VAC40-111-420 8VAC20-800-420. Lighting. 

A. Rooms, halls, and stairways used by children in care shall 

be lighted with natural or electric lighting for the children's 

safety and comfort. 

B. Entrance and exit ways shall be unobstructed and be 

lighted with natural or electric lighting. 

22VAC40-111-430 8VAC20-800-430. Stairs. 

A. Children under two years of age and children over two 

years of age who are not developmentally ready to climb or 

descend stairs without supervision shall not have access to 

stairs. 

B. Accordion expansion gates and pressure mounted gates 

shall not be used as protective barriers at stair openings. 

C. Children over the age of two shall not have access to stairs 

with three or more risers that do not have protective barriers or 

guardrails on each side. 

D. Protective barriers or guardrails on sides of stairs shall be 

constructed to prevent a child from climbing over, crawling or 

falling through, or becoming entrapped. 

22VAC40-111-440 8VAC20-800-440. Decks and porches. 

A. Children shall not have access to decks, porches, lofts, or 

balconies that do not have protective barriers or guardrails. 

B. Protective barriers or guardrails shall be constructed to 

prevent a child from climbing over, crawling or falling 

through, or becoming entrapped. 

22VAC40-111-450 8VAC20-800-450. Doors and windows. 

A. Doors with clear glass panels that reach within 18 inches 

of the floor shall be clearly marked with decorative objects 

such as pictures, art work, or decals at the eye level of children 

in care. 

B. Closet doors with latches shall be such that children can 

open the door from inside the closet. 

C. Bathroom doors with locks shall be designed to permit 

opening of the locked door from the outside with a readily 

accessible opening device. 

D. Windows and doors used for ventilation shall be securely 

screened. 

22VAC40-111-460 8VAC20-800-460. Animals. 

A. Family pets shall not be allowed on any surfaces where 

food is prepared or served. 
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B. A pet or animal present at the home, indoors or outdoors, 

shall be in good health and show no evidence of carrying any 

disease. 

C. Dogs or cats, where allowed, shall be vaccinated for rabies 

and shall be treated for fleas, ticks, or worms as needed. 

D. The provider shall maintain documentation of the current 

rabies vaccination. 

E. Caregivers shall closely supervise children when children 

are exposed to animals. 

F. Children shall be instructed on safe procedures to follow 

when in close proximity to animals, e.g., not to provoke or 

startle them or remove their food. 

G. Animals that have shown aggressive behavior shall not be 

kept in the home or on the grounds. 

H. Monkeys, ferrets, reptiles, psittacine birds (birds of the 

parrot family), or wild or dangerous animals shall not be in 

areas accessible to children during the hours children are in 

care. 

I. Animal litter boxes, toys, food dishes, and water dishes 

shall be inaccessible to children. 

J. All animal excrement shall be removed promptly, disposed 

of properly, and, if indoors, the soiled area cleaned. 

22VAC40-111-470 8VAC20-800-470. Smoking and 

prohibited substances. 

The provider shall ensure that: 

1. No person smokes: 

a. Indoors while children are in care; 

b. In a vehicle when children are transported; or 

c. Outdoors in an area occupied by children. 

2. No caregiver is under the effects of medication that 

impairs functioning, alcohol, or illegal drugs. 

22VAC40-111-480 8VAC20-800-480. Play equipment and 

materials. 

A. The family day home shall provide a sufficient quantity 

and variety of play materials and equipment that shall be 

readily accessible to children. 

B. Equipment and materials used by a child shall be 

appropriate to the age, size, ability, and interest of the child. 

C. Materials and equipment available shall include, but not be 

limited to, arts and crafts materials, texture materials, 

construction materials, music and sound materials, books, 

social living equipment, and manipulative equipment. 

D. Equipment used by children shall be assembled, 

maintained, and used in accordance with the manufacturer's 

instructions. 

E. Equipment and materials used by children shall be clean, 

nontoxic, and free from hazards such as lead paint, sharp edges 

or points, loose parts, and rust. 

F. Toys mouthed by children shall be cleaned and sanitized 

daily. 

22VAC40-111-490 8VAC20-800-490. Indoor slides and 

play equipment. 

The climbing portions of indoor slides and climbing 

equipment over 18 inches high shall not be over bare floor. 

22VAC40-111-500 8VAC20-800-500. Outdoor play area 

and equipment. 

A. A nonclimbable barrier at least four feet high such as, but 

not limited to, a fence or impenetrable hedge shall surround 

outdoor play areas located within 30 feet of hazards such as, 

but not limited to, streets with speed limits in excess of 25 

miles per hour or with heavy traffic, or railroad tracks. 

Facilities licensed prior to July 1, 2010, must comply fully with 

the requirement of this subsection by July 1, 2011. 

B. The highest climbing rung or platform on outdoor climbing 

equipment or top of a slide shall not exceed six feet for school 

age children and four feet for preschool children. 

C. Stationary outdoor playground equipment shall: 

1. Not be installed over concrete, asphalt, or any other hard 

surface; 

2. Be placed at least six feet from the perimeter of other play 

structures or obstacles; and 

3. Be firmly anchored with ground supports that are covered 

with materials to protect children from injury. 

D. Outdoor play equipment shall meet the following 

requirements: 

1. "S" hooks shall be tightly closed; 

2. Swings shall have flexible seats of rubber, canvas, or 

nylon; 

3. Nonflexible-molded seats shall be used only when a 

caregiver stays within arm's length of any hard-molded 

swing in use and is positioned to see and protect other 

children who might walk into the path of the swing; 

4. Openings above the ground that are closed on all sides 

shall be smaller than 3-1/2 inches or larger than nine inches 

to prevent head entrapment hazards; 

5. Ropes, loops, or any hanging apparatus that might entrap, 

close, or tighten upon a child shall not be used; 

6. Equipment with moving parts that might pinch or crush 

children's hands or fingers shall not be used unless they have 

guards or covers; and 
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7. Equipment with platforms and ramps over 30 inches high 

shall have been designed with guardrails or barriers to 

prevent falls. 

E. Sandboxes shall be covered when not in use. 

F. Trampolines shall not be used during the hours children are 

in care. 

22VAC40-111-510 8VAC20-800-510. Rest areas. 

A. A child shall be provided with an individual crib, cot, rest 

mat, or bed for resting or napping. 

B. Upper levels of double-deck beds shall not be used. 

C. Occupied cribs, cots, rest mats, and beds shall be: 

1. At least three feet from any heat-producing appliance; and 

2. At least 12 inches from each other. 

D. Rest mats that are used must have at least an inch of 

cushioning. 

E. Rest mats shall be cleaned and sanitized on all sides at least 

weekly and as needed. 

22VAC40-111-520 8VAC20-800-520. Cribs. 

A. Cribs shall be provided for children from birth through 12 

months of age and for children over 12 months of age who are 

not developmentally ready to sleep on a cot, rest mat, or bed. 

B. Cribs shall not be used as a play space for infants. 

C. Cribs shall: 

1. Meet the U.S. Consumer Product Safety Commission 

standards at the time they were manufactured; 

2. Not have been recalled; 

3. Have no more than six centimeters or 2-3/8 inches of 

space between slats; 

4. Have mattresses that fit snugly next to the crib so that no 

more than two fingers can be inserted between the mattress 

and the crib; 

5. Not have end panel cutouts of a size to cause head 

entrapment; and 

6. Not have mesh sides. 

D. Double-deck cribs shall not be used. 

E. Crib bumper pads shall not be used. 

F. Crib sides shall always be up and the fastenings secured 

when a child is in the crib, except when the caregiver is giving 

the child immediate attention. 

22VAC40-111-530 8VAC20-800-530. Linens. 

A. Cribs, cots, rest mats, and beds when being used for 

sleeping or napping by children other than infants shall have 

linens consisting of a top cover and a bottom cover or a one-

piece covering that is open on three edges. 

B. Cribs when being used by infants shall have a tight-fitting 

bottom cover. 

C. Linens shall be assigned for individual use. 

D. Linens shall be clean and washed at least weekly or when 

soiled. 

E. Clean linens shall be used each time a child rests on the 

bed of a family member. 

F. No soft bedding of any kind shall be used under or around 

infants including, but not limited to, pillows, quilts, 

comforters, sheepskins, or stuffed toys. 

G. Children under two years of age shall not use pillows or 

filled comforters. 

H. Pillows, when used for children over two years of age, 

shall be assigned for individual use and covered with 

pillowcases. 

I. Mattresses, when used, shall be covered with a waterproof 

material that can be cleaned and sanitized. 

22VAC40-111-540 8VAC20-800-540. Infant and toddler 

equipment. 

A. Infant carrier seats, swings, strollers, feeding or activity 

tables, and high chairs shall be used according to the 

manufacturer's instructions and when occupied by a child, a 

safety strap shall be used and securely fastened. 

B. Infant walkers shall not be used. 

22VAC40-111-550 8VAC20-800-550. Play pens. 

A play pen where used shall: 

1. Have either mesh netting with mesh holes smaller than 1/4 

inch or slats no more than 2-3/8 inches apart; 

2. Have a firm floor with a secured, waterproof pad that is 

not more than one-inch thick; 

3. Have the sides up and the fastenings secured when a child 

is in the play pen, except when the caregiver is giving the 

child immediate attention; 

4. Be cleaned and sanitized each day of use or more often as 

needed; 

5. Not be occupied by more than one child; 

6. Not be used for the designated sleeping area; 

7. Not have torn mesh sides or vinyl-covered or fabric-

covered rails, protruding rivets on the rails, or broken hinges; 

8. Not contain any pillows or filled comforters; 
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9. Not contain large toys and other objects that can serve as 

a stepping stool for climbing out when a child can pull to a 

standing position; 

10. Not be used by children who weigh 30 pounds or more; 

and 

11. Not be used by children who are 35 inches tall or taller. 

Part VIII 

Care of Children 

22VAC40-111-560 8VAC20-800-560. Supervision. 

A. A caregiver shall be physically present on site and provide 

direct care and supervision of each child at all times. Direct 

care and supervision of each child includes: 

1. Awareness of and responsibility for each child in care, 

including being near enough to intervene if needed; and 

2. Monitoring of each sleeping infant in one of the following 

ways: 

a. By placing each infant for sleep in a location where the 

infant is within sight and hearing of a caregiver; 

b. By in-person observation of each sleeping infant at least 

once every 15 minutes; or 

c. By using a baby monitor. 

B. Caregivers shall actively supervise each child during 

outdoor play to minimize the risk of injury to a child. 

C. A caregiver may allow only school age children to play 

outdoors while the caregiver is indoors if the caregiver can hear 

the children playing outdoors. 

D. Infants shall be protected from older children. 

E. No child under five years of age or a child older than five 

who lacks the motor skills and strength to avoid accidental 

drowning, scalding, or falling while bathing shall be left 

unattended while in the bathtub. 

22VAC40-111-570 8VAC20-800-570. Determining need for 

additional caregiver. 

A. The provider shall ensure that a caregiver does not exceed 

16 points by using the following point system to determine if 

an additional caregiver is needed: 

1. Children from birth through 15 months of age count as 

four points each; 

2. Children from 16 months through 23 months of age count 

as three points each; 

3. Children from two through four years of age count as two 

points each; 

4. Children from five years through nine years of age count 

as one point each; and 

5. Children who are 10 years of age and older count as zero 

points. 

B. A caregiver's own children and resident children under 

eight years of age count in point maximums. 

22VAC40-111-580 8VAC20-800-580. General 

requirements for programs. 

A. In order to promote the child's physical, intellectual, 

emotional, and social well-being and growth, caregivers shall: 

1. Talk to the child; 

2. Provide needed help, comfort, and support; 

3. Respect personal privacy; 

4. Respect differences in cultural, ethnic, and family 

backgrounds; 

5. Encourage decision-making abilities; 

6. Promote ways of getting along; 

7. Encourage independence and self-direction; and 

8. Use consistency in applying expectations. 

B. Caregivers shall provide age-appropriate activities for 

children in care throughout the day that: 

1. Are based on the physical, social, emotional, and 

intellectual needs of the children; 

2. Reflect the diversity of enrolled children's families, 

culture, and ethnic backgrounds; and 

3. Enhance the total development of children. 

C. Daily age-appropriate activities shall include: 

1. Opportunities for alternating periods of indoor active and 

quiet play depending on the ages of the children; 

2. Opportunities for vigorous outdoor play daily, depending 

upon the weather, the ages, and the health of the children; 

3. Opportunities for one or more regularly scheduled rest or 

nap periods. Children unable to sleep shall be provided time 

and space for quiet play; 

4. Opportunities for children to learn about themselves, 

others, and the world around them; 

5. Opportunities for children to exercise initiative and 

develop independence in accordance with their ages; and 

6. Opportunities for structured and unstructured play time 

and provider-directed and child-initiated learning activities. 

22VAC40-111-590 8VAC20-800-590. Requirements for 

sleeping and resting. 

A. Infants shall be placed on their backs when sleeping or 

napping unless otherwise ordered by a written statement signed 

by the child's physician. 

B. An infant, toddler, or preschool child who falls asleep in a 

play space other than his own crib, cot, mat, or bed shall be 
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moved promptly to his designated sleeping space if the safety 

or comfort of the infant, toddler, or preschool child is in 

question. 

C. School age children shall be allowed to nap if needed, but 

not forced to do so. 

22VAC40-111-600 8VAC20-800-600. Daily activities for 

infants and toddlers. 

A. Infants and toddlers shall be provided with opportunities 

to: 

1. Interact with caregivers and other children in the home in 

order to stimulate language development; 

2. Play with a wide variety of safe, age-appropriate toys; 

3. Receive individual attention from caregivers including, 

but not limited to, holding, cuddling, talking, and reading; 

and 

4. Reach, grasp, pull up, creep, crawl, and walk to develop 

motor skills. 

B. Infants and toddlers shall spend no more than 30 minutes 

of consecutive time during waking hours, with the exception 

of mealtimes, confined in a crib, play pen, high chair or other 

confining piece of equipment. The intervening time period 

between confinements shall be at least one hour. 

22VAC40-111-610 8VAC20-800-610. Television, 

computers, videos, and video games. 

A. Use of media such as, but not limited to, television, videos, 

video games, and computers shall be: 

1. Limited to not more than a total of two hours per day; and 

2. Limited to programs, tapes, websites, and software that 

are produced for children or are suitable for children. 

B. Other activities shall be available to children during 

television or video viewing. 

22VAC40-111-620 8VAC20-800-620. Care of a child with 

special needs. 

A. Caregivers shall provide a child with special needs with 

the care and activities recommended in writing by a physician, 

psychologist, or other professional who has evaluated or 

treated the child. 

B. The written recommendation shall: 

1. Include instructions for any special treatment, diet, or 

restrictions in activities that are necessary for the health of 

the child; and 

2. Be maintained in the child's record. 

C. The provider shall ensure the environment is appropriate 

for the child based on the plan of care and shall instruct other 

caregivers in the proper techniques of care. 

D. A caregiver shall perform only those procedures and 

treatments for which he has the necessary training, experience, 

credentials, or license to perform. 

E. Staffing shall be appropriate and adequate to meet the 

specific physical and developmental needs of a child with 

special needs in care. 

F. The provider and the parent of the child with special needs 

shall mutually determine a recommendation for the level of 

staffing necessary to care for and supervise the child based on 

the child's chronological and functional age and degree of 

disability. 

G. Within 30 days of the child's enrollment, the provider shall 

provide the department's representative a written 

recommendation for the level of staffing necessary to care for 

and supervise the child. 

H. The department shall make the final decision regarding 

level of staffing or any capacity limitations necessary to care 

for, supervise, and protect all children in care when a child with 

special needs is receiving care. 

I. The parent, provider, and department's representative shall 

review the staffing requirements annually. 

J. A separate area shall be provided for the purpose of privacy 

for diapering, dressing, and other personal care procedures for 

a child above age three with special needs who requires 

assistance in these activities. 

22VAC40-111-630 8VAC20-800-630. Behavioral guidance. 

A. Caregivers shall use positive methods of discipline. 

Discipline shall be constructive in nature and include 

techniques such as: 

1. Using limits that are fair, consistently applied, 

appropriate, and understandable for the child's level of 

development; 

2. Providing children with reasons for limits; 

3. Giving positively worded direction; 

4. Modeling and redirecting children to acceptable behavior; 

5. Helping children to constructively express their feelings 

and frustration to resolve conflict; and 

6. Arranging equipment, materials, activities, and schedules 

in a way that promotes desirable behavior. 

B. When time out is used as a discipline technique: 

1. It shall be used sparingly and shall not exceed one minute 

for each year of the child's age; 

2. It shall be appropriate to the child's developmental level 

and circumstances; 

3. It shall not be used with infants or toddlers; 
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4. The child shall be in a safe, lighted, well-ventilated place, 

and within sight and sound of a caregiver; and 

5. The child shall not be left alone inside or outside the home 

while separated from the group. 

22VAC40-111-640 8VAC20-800-640. Forbidden actions. 

The following acts or threats thereof are forbidden: 

1. Physical punishment including, but not limited to, striking 

a child, roughly handling or shaking a child, biting, pinching, 

restricting movement through binding or tying, forcing a 

child to assume an uncomfortable position, or exercise as 

punishment; 

2. Enclosure in a small, confined space or any space that the 

child cannot freely exit himself; however, this does not apply 

to the use of equipment such as cribs, play pens, high chairs, 

and safety gates when used for their intended purpose with 

children preschool age or younger; 

3. Punishment by another child; 

4. Withholding or forcing of food, water, or rest; 

5. Verbal remarks that are demeaning to the child; 

6. Punishment for toileting accidents; and 

7. Punishment by applying unpleasant or harmful 

substances. 

22VAC40-111-650 8VAC20-800-650. Parent notifications. 

A. The provider shall provide written notification to the 

parent within 10 business days after the effective date of the 

change when there is no longer liability insurance in force on 

the family day home operation. 

1. The provider shall obtain the parent's written 

acknowledgement of the receipt of this notification, and 

2. A copy of the parent's written acknowledgement of the 

receipt of this notification shall be maintained in the child's 

record. 

B. Caregivers shall provide information daily to parents about 

the child's health, development, behavior, adjustment, or 

needs. 

C. The provider shall give parents prior notice when a 

substitute provider will be caring for the children. 

D. Caregivers shall notify parents when persistent behavioral 

problems are identified and such notification shall include any 

disciplinary steps taken in response. 

E. The provider shall notify the parent immediately when the 

child: 

1. Has a head injury or any serious injury that requires 

emergency medical or dental treatment; 

2. Has an adverse reaction to medication administered; 

3. Has been administered medication incorrectly; 

4. Is lost or missing; or 

5. Has died. 

F. The provider shall notify a parent the same day whenever 

first aid is administered to the child. 

G. When a child has been exposed to a communicable disease 

listed in the Department of Health's current communicable 

disease chart, the provider shall notify the parent within 24 

hours or the next business day of the home's having been 

informed, unless forbidden by law, except for life-threatening 

diseases, which must be reported to parents immediately. The 

provider shall consult the local health department if there is a 

question about the communicability of a disease. 

H. Parents shall be informed of any changes in the home's 

emergency preparedness and response plan. 

I. Except in emergency evacuation or relocation situations, 

the provider shall inform the parent and have written 

permission as required by 22VAC40-111-980 8VAC20-800-

980 whenever the child will be taken off the premises of the 

family day home, before such occasion. 

J. If an emergency evacuation or relocation is necessary, the 

parent shall be informed of the child's whereabouts as soon as 

possible. 

22VAC40-111-660 8VAC20-800-660. Swimming and 

wading activities. 

A. The level of supervision by caregivers required in 

22VAC40-111-560 8VAC20-800-560 and the point system as 

outlined in 22VAC40-111-570 8VAC20-800-570 shall be 

maintained while the children are participating in swimming or 

wading activities. 

B. The family day home shall annually obtain: 

1. Written permission from the parent of each child who 

participates in swimming or wading activities, and 

2. A written statement from the parent advising of a child's 

swimming skills before the child is allowed in water above 

the child's shoulder height. 

C. Caregivers shall have a system for accounting for all 

children in the water. 

D. Outdoor swimming activities shall occur only during 

daylight hours. 

E. When one or more children are in water that is more than 

two feet deep in a pool, lake, or other swimming area on or off 

the premises of the family day home: 

1. A minimum of least two caregivers shall be present and 

able to supervise the children; and 

2. An individual currently certified in basic water rescue, 

community water safety, water safety instruction, or 
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lifeguarding shall be on duty supervising the children 

participating in swimming or wading activities at all times. 

The certification shall be obtained from an organization such 

as, but not limited to, the American Red Cross, the YMCA, 

or the Boy Scouts. 

Part IX 

Preventing the Spread of Disease 

22VAC40-111-670 8VAC20-800-670. Exclusion of sick 

children. 

A. Unless otherwise approved by a child's health care 

professional, a child shall be excluded from the family day 

home if he has: 

1. Both fever and behavior change. A fever means oral 

temperature over 101°F or armpit temperature over 100°F; 

2. Diarrhea (more watery, less formed, more frequent stools 

not associated with a diet change or medication). Children in 

diapers who develop diarrhea shall be excluded, and children 

who have learned to use the toilet, but cannot make it to the 

toilet in time, shall also be excluded; 

3. Recurrent vomiting (vomiting two or more times in 24 

hours); or 

4. Symptoms of a communicable disease listed in the 

Virginia Department of Health's current communicable 

disease chart. 

B. If a child needs to be excluded according to subsection A 

of this section, the following shall apply: 

1. The parents or designated emergency contact shall be 

contacted immediately so that arrangements can be made to 

remove the child from the home as soon as possible; and 

2. The child shall remain in a quiet, designated area and the 

caregiver shall respond immediately to the child until the 

child leaves the home. 

22VAC40-111-680 8VAC20-800-680. Hand washing 

A. Caregivers shall wash their hands with liquid soap and 

warm running water: 

1. When their hands are dirty; 

2. After toileting; 

3. Before preparing and serving food; 

4. Before feeding or helping children with feeding; 

5. After contact with any body fluids; 

6. After handling or caring for animals; 

7. After handling raw eggs or meat; and 

8. After diapering a child or assisting a child with toileting. 

B. Caregivers shall ensure that children's hands are washed 

with liquid soap and warm running water: 

1. When their hands are dirty; 

2. Before eating; 

3. After toileting or diapering; 

4. After handling or caring for animals; and 

5. After contact with any body fluids. 

22VAC40-111-690 8VAC20-800-690. Diapering and 

toileting. 

A. A child shall not be left unattended on a changing table 

during diapering. 

B. When a child's clothing or diaper becomes wet or soiled, 

the child shall be cleaned and changed immediately. 

C. During each diaper change or after toileting accidents, the 

child's genital area shall be thoroughly cleaned with a moist 

disposable wipe or a moist, clean individually assigned cloth, 

if the child is allergic to disposable wipes. 

D. The diapering surface shall be: 

1. Separate from the kitchen, food preparation areas, or 

surfaces used for children's activities; 

2. Nonabsorbent and washable; and 

3. Cleaned and sanitized after each use. 

E. Soiled disposable diapers and wipes shall be disposed of in 

a leak-proof or plastic-lined storage system that is either foot 

operated or used in such a way that neither the caregiver's hand 

nor the soiled diaper or wipe touches the exterior surface of the 

storage system during disposal. 

F. When cloth diapers are used, a separate leak-proof storage 

system as specified in subsection E of this section shall be 

used. 

G. Children five years of age and older shall be permitted 

privacy when toileting. 

H. Caregivers shall respond promptly to a child's request for 

toileting assistance. 

I. The provider shall consult with the parent before toilet 

training is initiated. 

J. Toilet training shall be relaxed and pressure free. 

K. There shall be a toilet chair or an adult-sized toilet with a 

platform or steps and adapter seat available to a child being 

toilet trained. 

L. Toilet chairs, when used, shall be emptied promptly, 

cleaned and sanitized after each use. 
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Part X 

Medication Administration 

22VAC40-111-700 8VAC20-800-700. General 

requirements for medication administration. 

A. Prescription and nonprescription medications shall be 

given to a child: 

1. According to the home's written medication policies; and 

2. Only with written authorization from the parent. 

B. The parent's written authorization for medication shall 

expire or be renewed after 10 working days. 

EXCEPTION: Long-term prescription and nonprescription 

drug use may be allowed with written authorization from the 

child's physician and parent. 

C. When an authorization for medication expires, the parent 

shall be notified that the medication needs to be picked up 

within 14 days or the parent must renew the authorization. 

Medications that are not picked up by the parent within 14 days 

shall be taken to a pharmacy for proper disposal. 

22VAC40-111-710 8VAC20-800-710. Prescription 

medication. 

The family day home may administer prescription medication 

that would normally be administered by a parent or guardian to 

a child provided: 

1. The medication is administered by a caregiver who meets 

the requirements in 22VAC40-111-220 8VAC20-800-220 

A; 

2. The caregiver administers only those drugs that were 

dispensed from a pharmacy and maintained in the original, 

labeled container; and 

3. The caregiver administers drugs only to the child 

identified on the prescription label in accordance with the 

prescriber's instructions pertaining to dosage, frequency, and 

manner of administration. 

22VAC40-111-720 8VAC20-800-720. Nonprescription 

medication. 

A. The family day home may administer nonprescription 

medication provided the medication is: 

1. Administered by a caregiver 18 years of age or older who 

meets the requirements in 22VAC40-111-220 8VAC20-

800-220 A; 

2. Labeled with the child's name; 

3. In the original container with the manufacturer's direction 

label attached; and 

4. Given only at the dose, duration, and method of 

administration specified on the manufacturer's label for the 

age or weight of the child needing the medication. 

B. Nonprescription medication shall not be used beyond the 

expiration date of the product. 

22VAC40-111-730 8VAC20-800-730. Storage of 

medication. 

A. Medications for children in care shall be stored separately 

from medications for household members and caregivers. 

B. When needed, medication shall be refrigerated. 

C. When medication is stored in a refrigerator used for food, 

the medications shall be stored together in a container or in a 

clearly defined area away from food. 

D. Medication, except for those prescriptions designated 

otherwise by a written physician's order, including refrigerated 

medication and medications for caregivers and household 

members, shall be kept in a locked place using a safe locking 

method that prevents access by children. 

E. If a key is used, the key shall be inaccessible to the 

children. 

22VAC40-111-740 8VAC20-800-740. Medication records. 

The provider shall keep a record of prescription and 

nonprescription medication given children, which shall include 

the following: 

1. Name of the child to whom medication was administered; 

2. Amount and type of medication administered to the child; 

3. The day and time the medication was administered to the 

child; 

4. Name of the caregiver administering the medication; 

5. Any adverse reactions; and 

6. Any medication administration error. 

22VAC40-111-750 8VAC20-800-750. Topical skin 

products. 

A. When topical skin products such as sunscreen, diaper 

ointment and lotion, oral teething medicine, and insect 

repellent are used, the following requirements shall be met: 

1. Written parent authorization noting any known adverse 

reactions shall be obtained at least annually; 

2. The product shall be in the original container and, if 

provided by the parent, labeled with the child's name; 

3. Manufacturer's instructions for application shall be 

followed; and 

4. Parents shall be informed immediately of any adverse 

reaction. 

B. The product does not need to be kept locked, but shall be 

inaccessible to children. 
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C. Caregivers without medication administration training 

may apply the product unless it is a prescription medication, in 

which case the storing and administration must meet 

prescription medication requirements of this chapter. 

D. The product shall not be used beyond the expiration date 

of the product. 

E. Sunscreen shall have a minimum sunburn protection factor 

(SPF) of 15. 

Part XI 

Emergencies 

22VAC40-111-760 8VAC20-800-760. First aid and 

emergency medical supplies. 

A. The following emergency supplies shall be in the family 

day home, accessible to outdoor play areas, on field trips, in 

vehicles used for transportation and wherever children are in 

care: 

1. A first aid kit that contains at a minimum: 

a. Scissors; 

b. Tweezers; 

c. Gauze pads; 

d. Adhesive tape; 

e. Adhesive bandages, assorted sizes; 

f. Antiseptic cleaning solution or pads; 

g. Digital thermometer; 

h. Triangular bandages; 

i. Single use gloves such as surgical or examination 

gloves; 

j. In homes located more than one hour's travel time from 

a health care facility, activated charcoal preparation (to be 

used only on the direction of a physician or the home's 

local poison control center); and 

k. First aid instructional manual. 

2. An ice pack or cooling agent. 

B. The first aid kit shall be readily accessible to caregivers 

and inaccessible to children. 

22VAC40-111-770 8VAC20-800-770. Emergency 

flashlights and radios. 

A working battery-operated flashlight, a working portable 

battery-operated weather band radio, and extra batteries shall 

be kept in a designated area and be available to caregivers at 

all times. 

22VAC40-111-780 8VAC20-800-780. Emergency 

information. 

A. The emergency contact information listed in 22VAC40-

111-60 8VAC20-800-60 B 2 and the parent's written 

authorization for emergency medical care as required by 

22VAC40-111-60 8VAC20-800-60 B 8 shall be made 

available to a physician, hospital, or emergency responders in 

the event of a child's illness or injury. 

B. Annually, the provider shall: 

1. Review with the parent the emergency contact 

information required in 22VAC40-111-60 8VAC20-800-60 

B 2 to ensure the information is correct, and 

2. Obtain the parent's signed acknowledgment of the review. 

22VAC40-111-790 8VAC20-800-790. Posted telephone 

numbers. 

The following telephone numbers shall be posted in a visible 

area close to the telephone: 

1. A 911 or local dial number for police, fire, and emergency 

medical responders; 

2. The responsible person for emergency backup care as 

required in 22VAC40-111-800 8VAC20-800-800 A 3; and 

3. The regional poison control center. 

22VAC40-111-800 8VAC20-800-800. Emergency 

preparedness and response plan. 

A. The family day home shall have a written emergency 

preparedness and response plan that: 

1. Includes emergency evacuation, emergency relocation, 

and shelter-in-place procedures; 

2. Addresses the most likely to occur scenarios, including 

but not limited to fire, severe storms, flooding, tornadoes, 

and loss of utilities; and 

3. Includes provisions for a responsible person who is 18 

years of age or older and is able to arrive at the family day 

home within 10 minutes for emergency backup care until the 

children can be picked up by their parents. 

B. The provider shall review the emergency plan at least 

annually and update the plan as needed. The provider shall 

document in writing each review and update to the emergency 

plan. 

C. The provider shall ensure that each caregiver receives 

training regarding the emergency evacuation, emergency 

relocation, and shelter-in-place procedures by the end of his 

first week of assuming job responsibilities, on an annual basis, 

and at the time of each plan update. 

22VAC40-111-810 8VAC20-800-810. Emergency 

preparedness and response plan. 

Evacuation procedures shall include: 

1. Methods to alert caregivers and emergency responders; 

2. Designated primary and secondary routes out of the 

building; 

3. Designated assembly point away from the building; 
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4. Designated relocation site; 

5. Methods to ensure all children are evacuated from the 

building and, if necessary, moved to a relocation site; 

6. Methods to account for all children at the assembly point 

and relocation site; 

7. Methods to ensure essential documents, including 

emergency contact information, medications, and supplies 

are taken to the assembly point and relocation site; 

8. Method of communication with parents and emergency 

responders after the evacuation; and 

9. Method of communication with parents after the 

relocation. 

22VAC40-111-820 8VAC20-800-820. Shelter-in-place 

procedures. 

Shelter-in-place procedures shall include: 

1. Methods to alert caregivers and emergency responders; 

2. Designated safe location within the home; 

3. Designated primary and secondary routes to the safe 

location; 

4. Methods to ensure all children are moved to the safe 

location; 

5. Methods to account for all children at the safe location; 

6. Methods to ensure essential documents, including 

emergency contact information, and supplies are taken to the 

safe location; and 

7. Method of communication with parents and emergency 

responders. 

22VAC40-111-830 8VAC20-800-830. Emergency response 

drills. 

A. The emergency evacuation procedures shall be practiced 

monthly with all caregivers and children in care during all 

shifts that children are in care. 

B. Shelter-in-place procedures shall be practiced a minimum 

of twice per year. 

C. Documentation shall be maintained of emergency 

evacuation and shelter-in-place drills that includes: 

1. Identity of the person conducting the drill; 

2. The date and time of the drill; 

3. The method used for notification of the drill; 

4. The number of caregivers participating; 

5. The number of children participating; 

6. Any special conditions simulated; 

7. The time it took to complete the drill; 

8. Problems encountered, if any; and 

9. For emergency evacuation drills only, weather conditions. 

D. Records of emergency evacuation and shelter-in-place 

drills shall be maintained for one year. 

22VAC40-111-840 8VAC20-800-840. Injury records. 

A. The provider shall record in the child's record an injury or 

accident sustained by a child while at the family day home that 

requires first aid or emergency medical or dental treatment. 

B. The information recorded shall include the following: 

1. Date and time of injury; 

2. Name of injured child; 

3. Type and circumstance of the injury; 

4. Caregiver present and action taken; 

5. Date and time when parents were notified; 

6. Any future action to prevent recurrence of the injury; 

7. Caregiver and parent signatures or two caregiver 

signatures; and 

8. Documentation on how the parent was notified. 

22VAC40-111-850 8VAC20-800-850. Reports to 

department. 

A. The provider shall report to the department within 24 hours 

of the circumstances surrounding the following incidents: 

1. Lost or missing child when local authorities have been 

contacted for help; 

2. Serious injury to a child while under the family day 

home's supervision; and 

3. Death of a child while under the family day home's 

supervision. 

B. A written report shall be completed and submitted to the 

department within five working days of the date the incident 

occurred. 

22VAC40-111-860 8VAC20-800-860. Reports of suspected 

child abuse or neglect and disease outbreaks. 

A. A caregiver shall immediately call the local department of 

social services or call the toll free number of the Child Abuse 

and Neglect Hotline (1-800-552-7096/TDD) whenever there is 

reason to suspect that a child has been or is being subjected to 

any kind of child abuse or neglect by any person. 

B. The provider shall immediately make or cause to be made 

a report of an outbreak of disease as defined by the Virginia 

Board of Health. Such report shall be made by rapid means to 

the local health department or to the Commissioner of the 

Virginia Department of Health. 
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Part XII 

Nutrition 

22VAC40-111-870 8VAC20-800-870. General 

requirements for meals and snacks. 

A. Meals and snacks shall be served in accordance with the 

times children are in care, which include: 

1. For family day homes operating less than four consecutive 

hours at least one snack shall be served. 

2. For family day homes operating four to seven consecutive 

hours at least one meal and one snack shall be served. 

3. For family day homes operating seven to 12 consecutive 

hours at least one meal and two snacks or two meals and one 

snack shall be served. 

4. For family day homes operating 12 to 16 consecutive 

hours at least two meals and two snacks or three meals and 

one snack shall be served. 

B. A family day home shall ensure that children arriving from 

a half-day, morning program who have not yet eaten lunch 

receive a lunch. 

C. The family day home shall schedule snacks or meals so 

there is a period of at least 1-1/2 hours, but no more than three 

hours, between each meal or snack unless there is a scheduled 

rest or sleep period for children between the meals and snacks. 

D. Children shall be served small-sized portions. 

E. Food shall be prepared, stored, served, and transported in 

a clean and sanitary manner. 

F. Leftover food shall be discarded from individual plates 

following a meal or snack. 

G. Tables and high chair trays shall be cleaned after each use, 

but at least daily. 

22VAC40-111-880 8VAC20-800-880. Meals and snacks 

provided by family day home. 

When family day homes provide meals or snacks, the 

following shall apply: 

1. Family day homes shall follow the most recent, age-

appropriate nutritional requirements of a recognized 

authority such as the Child and Adult Care Food Program of 

the United States Department of Agriculture (USDA). 

2. Children shall be allowed second helpings of food listed 

in the child care food program meal patterns. 

22VAC40-111-890 8VAC20-800-890. Meals and snacks 

brought from child's home. 

When food is brought from home, the following shall apply: 

1. The food container shall be clearly labeled in a way that 

identifies the owner; 

2. The family day home shall have extra food or shall have 

provisions to obtain food to serve to a child so the child can 

have an appropriate snack or meal as required in 22VAC40-

111-880 8VAC20-800-880 if the child forgets to bring food 

from home or brings an inadequate meal or snack; and 

3. Unused portions of food shall be discarded by the end of 

the day or returned to the parent. 

22VAC40-111-900 8VAC20-800-900. Preventing choking. 

A. To assist in preventing choking, food that is hard, round, 

small, thick and sticky, or smooth and slippery such as whole 

hot dogs sliced into rounds, nuts, seeds, raisins, uncut grapes, 

uncut raw carrots, peanuts, chunks of peanut butter, hard 

candy, and popcorn shall not be served to children under four 

years of age, unless the food is prepared before being served in 

a manner that will reduce the risk of choking, i.e., hot dogs cut 

lengthwise, grapes cut in small pieces, and carrots cooked or 

cut lengthwise. 

B. Children shall not be allowed to eat or drink while walking, 

running, playing, lying down, or riding in vehicles. 

22VAC40-111-910 8VAC20-800-910. Drinking water and 

fluids. 

A. Water shall be available for drinking and shall be offered 

on a regular basis to all children in care. 

B. In environments of 80ºF or above, attention shall be given 

to the fluid needs of children at regular intervals. Children in 

such environments shall be encouraged to drink fluids. 

C. Clean individual drinking cups shall be provided daily. 

Children shall not be allowed to share common drinking cups. 

22VAC40-111-920 8VAC20-800-920. Menus. 

When meals or snacks are provided by the family day home, 

the menu for the current one-week period shall: 

1. Be dated; 

2. Be given to parents or posted or placed in an area 

accessible to parents; 

3. List any substituted food; and 

4. Be kept on file one week at the family day home. 

22VAC40-111-930 8VAC20-800-930. Eating utensils and 

dishes. 

A. Eating utensils shall be appropriate in size for children to 

handle. 

B. Chipped or cracked dishes shall not be used. 

C. Eating utensils and dishes shall be properly cleaned by 

prerinsing, washing, and air drying, or using a dishwasher. 

D. Eating utensils and dishes shall be stored in a clean dry 

place, and protected from contamination. 
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E. If disposable eating utensils and dishes are used, they shall 

be sturdy enough to prevent spillage or other health and safety 

hazards. 

F. Disposable utensils and dishes shall be used once and 

discarded. 

22VAC40-111-940 8VAC20-800-940. Food storage. 

A. Temperatures shall be maintained at or below 40°F in 

refrigerator compartments and at or below 0°F in the freezer 

compartments. 

B. The provider shall have an operable thermometer available 

to monitor refrigerator and freezer compartment temperatures. 

C. All perishable foods and drinks used for children in care, 

except when being prepared and served, shall be kept in the 

refrigerator. 

22VAC40-111-950 8VAC20-800-950. Milk. 

A. All milk and milk products shall be pasteurized. 

B. Powdered milk shall be used only for cooking. 

22VAC40-111-960 8VAC20-800-960. Feeding infants. 

A. Infants shall be fed on demand unless the parent provides 

other written instructions. 

B. Infants who cannot hold their own bottles shall be picked 

up and held for bottle feeding. Bottles shall not be propped. 

C. High chairs, infant carrier seats, or feeding tables with 

safety waist and crotch straps fastened according to the 

manufacturer's instructions shall be used for children under 12 

months of age who are not held while being fed. 

D. Infant formula shall be prepared according to the 

manufacturer's or physician's instructions. 

E. Bottles shall be refrigerated and labeled with the child's full 

name and the date, if more than one infant is in care. 

F. Refrigerated bottles of prepared formula and breast milk 

shall be discarded after 48 hours if not used. 

G. Bottles shall not be heated in a microwave oven. 

H. To avoid burns, heated formula and baby food shall be 

stirred or shaken and tested for temperature before being 

served to children. 

I. A child's mother shall be granted access to a private area of 

the family day home to facilitate breast feeding. 

J. Solid foods shall: 

1. Not be fed to infants less than four months of age without 

parental consent; and 

2. Be fed with a spoon, with the exception of finger foods. 

K. Baby food shall be served from a dish and not from the 

container. 

L. Baby food remaining in: 

1. A serving dish shall be discarded; 

2. Opened containers, from which a portion has been 

removed, shall be refrigerated and labeled with the child's 

full name and the date, if more than one infant is in care; and 

3. Opened containers stored in the refrigerator shall be 

discarded if not consumed within 24 hours of storage. 

22VAC40-111-970 8VAC20-800-970. Special feeding 

infants. 

A. The consistency of food provided for a child with special 

needs shall be appropriate to any special feeding needs of the 

child. 

B. Necessary and adaptive feeding equipment and feeding 

techniques shall be used for a child with special feeding needs. 

Part XIII 

Transportation 

22VAC40-111-980 8VAC20-800-980. Written permission 

for transportation and field trips. 

A. General written permission shall be obtained from the 

parent of each child for the provider to take the child off the 

premises of the family day home. The general written 

permission shall be on a form that lists regularly scheduled 

trips (e.g., library, store, playground) and the driver, if the child 

is to be transported. 

B. Special written permission shall be obtained from the 

parent of each child for the provider to take the child on special 

field trips (those not regularly scheduled). The written special 

permission shall specify destination, duration of trip, and 

driver, if the child is to be transported. 

22VAC40-111-990 8VAC20-800-990. Requirements for 

drivers. 

A. Drivers must be 18 years of age or older. 

B. The provider shall ensure that during transportation of 

children the driver has: 

1. A valid driver's license; 

2. The name, address, and telephone number of the family 

day home; 

3. A copy of the parent's written permission to transport the 

child; 

4. A copy of each child's emergency contact information as 

required in 22VAC40-111-60 8VAC20-800-60 B 2; 

5. Emergency supplies as required in 22VAC40-111-760 

8VAC20-800-760; and 

6. A mechanism for making telephone calls to emergency 

responders and parents (e.g., change, calling card, cellular 

phone). 
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22VAC40-111-1000 8VAC20-800-1000. Requirements for 

vehicles. 

The provider shall ensure that the vehicle used for 

transportation: 

1. Meets the safety standards set by the Virginia Department 

of Motor Vehicles; 

2. Is kept in satisfactory condition to assure the safety of 

children; 

3. Is licensed and insured according to state law; 

4. Was manufactured for the purpose of transporting people 

seated in an enclosed area; and 

5. Has seats that are attached to the floor. 

22VAC40-111-1010 8VAC20-800-1010. Requirements for 

transportation. 

The provider shall ensure that during transportation of 

children: 

1. Each child is in an individual car seat or individual and 

appropriate restraint in accordance with Virginia law; 

2. Each child's arms, legs, and head remain inside the 

vehicle; 

3. Doors are closed properly and locked unless locks were 

not installed by the manufacturer of the vehicle; 

4. No child is left unattended inside or outside a vehicle; and 

5. Each child boards and leaves the vehicle from the curb 

side of the street. 

Part XIV 

Nighttime Care 

22VAC40-111-1020 8VAC20-800-1020. Nighttime care. 

A. For nighttime care during which a child sleeps more than 

two hours, the following is required: 

1. A child shall have a rest area that meets the requirements 

of 22VAC40-111-510 8VAC20-800-510; 

2. An infant shall have an individual crib that meets the 

requirements of 22VAC40-111-520 8VAC20-800-520; and 

3. Linens shall be provided that meet the requirements in 

22VAC40-111-530 8VAC20-800-530. 

B. For children in nighttime care, quiet activities and 

experiences shall be available immediately before bedtime. 

C. Providers shall establish a bedtime schedule for a child in 

consultation with the child's parent. 

D. Separate sleeping and dressing areas shall be provided for 

children of the opposite sex over six years of age. 

E. Each child shall have a toothbrush, and a comb or hair 

brush assigned for individual use. 

F. Each child nine months of age or older shall have flame-

resistant or snug-fitting sleepwear. 

G. Bath towels and washcloths, when used, shall be assigned 

for individual use and laundered as needed, but at least weekly. 

H. A child shall have a routine that encourages good personal 

hygiene practices including bathing (if needed) and teeth 

brushing. 

I. Caregivers shall remain awake until all children are asleep 

and shall sleep on the same floor level as the children in care. 

J. A baby monitor shall be used if the caregiver is not sleeping 

in the room with the child or in a room adjacent to the room 

where the child is sleeping. 

Chapter 810 

Minimum Standards for Licensed Family Day Systems 

22VAC40-120-10 8VAC20-810-10. Definitions; license 

provisions. 

A. Chapter 17 14.1, Article 3 (§ 63.2-1700 22.1-289.010 et 

seq.) of Title 63.2 22.1 of the Code of Virginia sets forth the 

responsibility of the Department of Social Services Education 

for licensure of family day-care day systems, including the 

authority and responsibility of the State Board of Social 

Services Education for the development of regulations 

containing minimum standards and requirements. 

It is a misdemeanor to operate a family day-care day system 

without a license. (§ 63.2-1712 22.1-289.022 of the Code of 

Virginia) 

B. Definitions. The following words and terms, when used in 

this chapter, shall have the following meanings unless the 

context clearly indicates otherwise: 

"Abused or neglected child" (see § 63.2-100 of the Code of 

Virginia) means any child younger than 18 years of age whose 

parents or other persons responsible for his care: 

a. Create or inflict, threaten to create or inflict, or allow to 

be created or inflicted a physical or mental injury by other 

than accidental means, or create a substantial risk of death, 

disfigurement, or impairment of bodily or mental functions; 

b. Neglect or refuse to provide care necessary for the child's 

health, unless the child is, in good faith, under treatment 

solely by spiritual means through prayer, according to the 

practice of a recognized church or denomination; 

c. Abandon the child; 

d. Commit or allow to be committed any sexual act upon a 

child in violation of the law. 

"Child" means any person younger than 18 years of age. 

"Commissioner" means the Commissioner of Social Services 

also known as the Director of the Virginia Department of 

Social Services. (§ 63.2-100 of the Code of Virginia) 
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"Complaint" means an accusation received either orally or in 

writing that: 

a. A licensed family day-care day system is not in 

compliance with one or more of these standards or one or 

more statutory requirements; 

b. A family day-care system home is not in compliance with 

one or more applicable requirements of these standards or 

one or more requirements as established by the family day-

care day system; or 

c. A child or children in the care of a family day-care home, 

which is a member of a licensed family day-care day system, 

is or are being abused or neglected. 

"Day-care Day care" means care, protection, and guidance 

provided to a child or group of children separated from their 

parents or guardian for less than 24 hours per day at a location 

other than the home of the parents or guardian. 

"Day-care provider" means an individual who, by contract 

with a family day-care day system, provides day-care day care 

in his home. 

"Department" means the Virginia Department of Social 

Services Education. 

"Department representative" means an employee of the 

department, acting as the authorized agent of the commissioner 

superintendent in carrying out the responsibilities and duties 

specified in Chapter 17 14.1, Article 3 (§ 63.2-1700 22.1-

289.010 et seq.) of Title 63.2 22.1 of the Code of Virginia. 

"Director" means the licensee or a person designated by the 

licensee who oversees the day-to-day operation of the system, 

including compliance with all minimum standards for licensed 

family day-care systems. 

"Family day-care day system" means any person who 

approves family day-care homes as members of its system; 

who refers children to available family day-care homes in that 

system; and who through contractual arrangement may provide 

central administrative functions, including training of 

operators of family day-care homes; technical assistance and 

consultation to operators of family day-care homes; inspection, 

supervision, monitoring, and evaluation of family day-care 

homes; and referral of children to available health and social 

services. (§ 63.2-100 22.1-289.02 of the Code of Virginia) 

"Family day-care system home" means any private family 

home, which is an approved member of a family day-care day 

system and receives nine or fewer children for care, protection, 

and guidance during any part of the 24-hour day except 

children who are related by blood or marriage to the person 

who maintains the home. Family day-care homes that are 

members of a licensed day-care system and are approved by 

that system to care for five or more children are not subject to 

direct licensure by the department. (§ 63.2-100 of the Code of 

Virginia) 

"Licensee" means any person, association, partnership, or 

corporation to whom the license is issued. 

"Person" means any individual; corporation; partnership; 

association; limited liability company; local government; state 

agency, including any department, institution, authority, 

instrumentality, board, or other administrative agency of the 

Commonwealth; or other legal or commercial entity that 

operates or maintains a child welfare agency child day program 

or family day system. 

"Referral" means any activity by the family day-care day 

system that provides assistance in locating or arranging day-

care day care for children in homes that have been accepted or 

approved as members of the system, or in locating or arranging 

for health or social services from other sources based upon 

identified needs. 

"Sponsor" means an individual, association, partnership, or 

corporation having the responsibility for planning and 

operating a family day-care day system subject to licensure. 

The licensee is the sponsor of a family day-care day system. 

(The sponsor may not, in all cases, be the owner of the physical 

plant including buildings or real estate, or both, in or on which 

the family day-care day system office is located. In these 

instances the term "sponsor" as defined here and used in this 

chapter is considered to be the person, partnership, association, 

or corporation that owns the enterprise rather than the physical 

plant or real estate, or both.) 

"Superintendent" means the Superintendent of Public 

Instruction or the superintendent's designee. 

C. The license. 

1. A license to operate a family day-care day system is issued 

to a specific person, partnership, association, or corporation 

for an exact location, which will be indicated on the license. 

2. The family day-care day system shall be operated and 

conducted in the name of the sponsor or in such name as 

shall be designated on the application and as indicated on the 

license. 

3. The license expires automatically and is not transferable 

when there is a change of sponsorship. 

4. The current license shall be posted at all times at a place 

that is conspicuous to the public in the building housing the 

system office. If the system has more than one office, copies 

of the current license shall be posted in a place that is 

conspicuous to the public in each office. 

5. An annual license is one issued to a family day-care day 

system when the activities, services, and facilities meet 

substantially the minimum standards and requirements for a 

license that are set forth in this chapter and any additional 

requirements that may be specified in Chapter 17 14.1, 

Article 3 (§ 63.2-1700 22.1-289.010 et seq.) of Title 63.2 

22.1 of the Code of Virginia. The annual license is effective 

for 12 months unless it is sooner revoked or surrendered. 
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6. When an annual license expires, a provisional license may 

be issued for any period not to exceed six months if the 

applicant is temporarily unable to comply with all of the 

requirements; however, no facility may operate under any 

such provisional license and renewals of that license for a 

longer period than six successive months. 

7. At the discretion of the commissioner superintendent, a 

conditional license may be issued to operate a new facility 

in order to permit the applicant to demonstrate compliance 

with all requirements. A conditional license and any renewal 

of that shall be for no longer a period than six successive 

months. 

8. Terms of the license. 

a. The terms of any license issued include: 

(1) The operating name of the family day-care day system; 

(2) The name of the individual, the partnership, the 

association, or the corporation to whom the license is 

issued; 

(3) The physical location; 

(4) The number of homes that may be under contract to the 

system; 

(5) The period of time for which the license is effective; 

and 

(6) The total number of children who may be referred by 

the system and be receiving care at any given time in all 

homes that are members of the system. 

b. The terms of the license may include other limitations 

that the commissioner Superintendent may prescribe 

within the context of this chapter. 

c. The provisional license cites the standards with which 

the licensee is not in compliance. 

D. The licensing process. 

1. Preapplication consultation. Upon request, the 

department's representative will provide consultation to any 

person seeking information about obtaining a license for a 

family day-care day system. The purpose of such 

consultation is: 

a. To explain standards; 

b. To help the potential applicant to explore the 

operational demands of a licensed family day-care day 

system; 

c. To provide assistance in locating sources of information 

and technical assistance; 

d. To alert the potential applicant of the need to determine 

whether local ordinances will affect the proposed 

operation (e.g., zoning, business license, etc.); and 

e. To provide an onsite visit to a proposed family day-care 

day system office, upon request. 

2. The application. 

a. The application for a license to operate a family day-

care day system shall be obtained from the department. 

b. The application, together with all required information, 

shall be submitted to the department at least two months 

in advance of the planned opening date. 

This is required in order that a determination of 

compliance with the provisions of Chapter 17 14.1, Article 

3 (§ 63.2-1700 22.1-289.010 et seq.) of Title 63.2 22.1 of 

the Code of Virginia and with the Standards for Licensed 

Family Day-Care Day Systems as set forth in this chapter 

may be made. 

Among other things, the information submitted shall be 

sufficient to enable the department's representative to 

determine, during the subsequent investigation, the 

specific services to be offered, the adequacy of staff to 

provide these services, the financial capability of the 

applicant, the character and reputation of the applicant, 

including the officers and agents of any association, 

partnership, or corporation as mandated by § 63.2-1702 

22.1-289.013 of the Code of Virginia. 

c. The application shall be signed by the individual 

responsible for the operation of the family day-care day 

system. The application for a family day-care day system 

to be operated by a board shall be signed by an officer of 

the board, preferably the chairman. 

3. The investigation. 

a. Following receipt of the application, the department's 

representative will make an on-site inspection of the 

proposed office and an investigation of the proposed 

services, as well as an investigation of the character and 

reputation of the applicant, and, upon receipt of the initial 

application, an investigation of the applicant's financial 

responsibility. 

b. Applicants for licensure and licensees shall at all times 

afford the commissioner superintendent reasonable 

opportunity to inspect all of their facilities, books, and 

records, and to interview their agents and employees and 

any person living or participating in such facilities, or 

under their custody, control, direction, or supervision. 

(§ 63.2-1706 22.1-289.018 of the Code of Virginia) The 

financial records of an initial applicant shall not be subject 

to inspection if the applicant submits an operating budget 

and at least one credit reference. 

4. Notice to the applicant of commissioner's superintendent's 

action. Upon completion of the investigation of the 

application for a license, the applicant will be notified in 

writing of the commissioner's superintendent's decision. 

If the license is issued, an accompanying letter will cite any 

areas of noncompliance with standards. This letter will also 

include any limitations on the license and may contain 

recommendations. 
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If a license is to be denied, the letter will state the reasons 

for the intent to deny and will set forth the applicant's right 

to an administrative hearing. 

5. Procedures for renewal of annual, provisional, or 

conditional license. In order to renew an annual, provisional, 

or conditional license, the licensee must complete the 

renewal application and return it, together with any required 

attachments, to the department. In order to assure timely 

processing, the renewal application should be completed and 

returned within 10 days after it is received from the 

department. 

The procedure for investigation and issuance or denial of the 

license as set forth in subdivisions 3 and 4 of this subsection 

will be followed. 

6. Early compliance (replacement of a provisional or 

conditional license with an annual license). 

a. A provisional or conditional license may be voided and 

an annual license issued when all of the following 

conditions exist: 

(1) The facility complies with all standards listed on the 

face of the provisional or conditional license well in 

advance of the expiration date of the provisional or 

conditional license, and no additional areas of 

noncompliance exist; 

(2) Compliance has been verified by an on-site 

observation by the department representative or by written 

evidence provided by the licensee; and 

(3) All other terms of the license remain the same. 

b. A request to void a provisional or conditional license 

and to issue an annual license must be made in writing by 

the licensee to the regional office of the department from 

which the family day-care system's license to operate was 

issued Office of Child Care Licensing. 

c. If the request is approved by the department, the 

effective date of the new annual license will be the same 

as the beginning date of the provisional or conditional 

license. 

7. Situation requiring a new application. A new application 

must be filed when sponsorship of the family day-care day 

system changes. 

8. Modification. 

a. The conditions of the license may be modified during 

the effective dates of the license with respect to increasing 

or decreasing the number of homes that may be placed 

under contract, the number of children who may be 

referred by the system and be receiving care at a given 

time, changing the name of the system when there is no 

change in sponsorship, changing location of the system 

office, or other conditions caused by changes in staff, 

program, or facilities. 

b. The licensee shall report to the department any 

contemplated changes in operation that would affect either 

the terms of the license or the continuing eligibility for a 

license. (This does not mean the department has to 

approve changes in staff or program unless they affect the 

terms of the license or continuing eligibility.) 

c. This information shall be submitted in writing by the 

licensee to the regional office of the department from 

which the family day-care system's license to operate was 

issued Office of Child Care Licensing. 

d. The department will then determine whether such 

changes may be approved and the license modified 

accordingly or whether a new application must be filed. 

9. Determination of continued compliance. In order to 

determine continued compliance with standards during the 

effective dates of the license, the department's representative 

will make announced and unannounced visits to the office or 

offices of the system and may make such visits to homes that 

are members of the system. 

10. Complaint investigation. 

a. The department has the responsibility to investigate any 

complaints regarding alleged violations of minimum 

standards for licensed family day-care day systems and 

provisions of Chapter 17 14.1, Article 3 (§ 63.2-1700 

22.1-289.010 et seq.) of Title 63.2 22.1 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

b. The licensee has the responsibility to investigate any 

complaints regarding any family day-care home that is 

approved as a member of its system. (See 22VAC40-120-

50 8VAC20-810-50 C.) At its discretion the department 

may also investigate complaints against individual homes. 

11. Revocation. Any license may be revoked for failure to 

maintain these standards or for violation of the provisions of 

Chapter 17 14.1, Article 3 (§ 63.2-1700 22.1-289.010 et 

seq.) of Title 63.2 22.1 of the Code of Virginia. 

12. Appeals. The applicant or licensee has the right to 

request an administrative hearing regarding any denial or 

revocation of a license, in accordance with the provisions of 

the Administrative Process Act (§ 2.2-4000 et seq. of the 

Code of Virginia). 

Following the receipt of the final order that transmits the 

department's decision after the administrative hearing, the 

applicant or licensee has the right to appeal to a court of 

record in accordance with § 63.2-1710 22.1-289.024 of the 

Code of Virginia. 

22VAC40-120-20 8VAC20-810-20. Organization and 

administration. 

A. Sponsorship. 
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1. A family day-care day system may be sponsored by a 

single individual, a partnership, an association, or a 

corporation. 

2. A corporation sponsoring a family day-care day system 

shall maintain its corporate status in accordance with 

Virginia law. 

3. Such corporation shall be organized and empowered for 

the purpose of operating and maintaining a family day-care 

day system. Corporations not organized and empowered 

solely to operate a family day-care day system shall provide 

for such operations in their charters. 

4. A family day-care day system sponsored by an association 

or corporation shall be controlled by a governing board that 

shall fulfill the duties of the licensee. 

5. If a family day-care day system is sponsored by an 

individual or a partnership, the individual or partnership 

shall be the licensee and shall comply with the 

responsibilities specified for the governing board. (See 

subdivision B 3 of this section.) 

B. Governing board. 

1. Composition of the governing board. 

a. The membership of the governing board shall be based 

on the size and purpose of the family day-care day system 

as well as the services to be offered by the system. 

b. It shall be large enough and of a composition to: 

(1) Be representative of the variety of interests served by 

the system; 

(2) Contain experience appropriate to the services offered 

by the system; and 

(3) Be representative of the geographical area served by 

the system. 

c. At minimum, the governing board shall be composed of 

three members, unless there are fewer than three 

shareholders at which time the number of members can 

equal the number of shareholders. This membership shall 

include a president, secretary-treasurer, and member-at-

large. When there are fewer than three members, this 

membership shall consist of a president and secretary-

treasurer. 

d. The method of selecting board members shall be made 

known to the department's representative and shall be 

consistent with the bylaws. 

2. Meetings of the governing board. 

a. The governing board shall meet not less often than 

quarterly. 

b. Minutes of all meetings shall be recorded and retained 

in a permanent file at the office of the family day-care day 

system. 

c. Copies of minutes shall be made available to the 

department's representative upon request. 

3. The responsibilities of the governing board shall include, 

but shall not be limited to: 

a. Establishing written bylaws for the association or 

corporation (not applicable to an individual or 

partnership). 

b. Establishing written goals and policies under which the 

family day-care day system is to operate (see subsection C 

of this section). 

c. Ensuring the family day-care day system functions 

according to its defined purpose and within the scope of 

services to be offered. 

d. Ensuring compliance with minimum standards for 

licensed family day-care day systems. 

e. Maintaining a budgetary and financial system that 

assures a sound financial structure is maintained. 

f. Appointing a qualified director to whom it delegates, in 

writing, the authority and responsibility for administrative 

direction and management of the family day-care day 

system in accordance with established policies (optional 

for an individual or partnership). 

g. Establishing written policies that govern the board's or 

licensee's relationship to the director to include, at 

minimum: 

(1) Evaluation of the performance of the director not less 

often than annually; 

(2) Provision for the director to meet with the board 

periodically to review the services being provided and the 

personnel needs and the fiscal management of the family 

day-care day system. 

h. Providing a written organizational chart that indicates 

the organizational elements of the system, the personnel 

positions within each organizational element, and the lines 

of authority and communication within the family day-

care day system. This chart shall be kept current. 

i. Reviewing, at least annually, the program of the family 

day-care day system. This review shall include an 

examination of: 

(1) The number, size, and capabilities of homes, and 

quality of service offered by homes that are members of 

the system; 

(2) The needs of homes that are members of the system 

and the services offered to these homes by the system; 

(3) The needs of children and families served by the 

system and the services offered to them; 

(4) Problems encountered in the operation of the system; 

(5) Consistency of services provided within the 

framework of the stated purpose and objectives of the 

system; 

(6) Changes required in the focus of the system's program; 
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(7) The adequacy of the recordkeeping system. 

j. Determining, based on the annual review required by 

subdivision 3 i of this subsection, the following: 

(1) Requirements for additional staff training; 

(2) Requirements for changes in staffing; 

(3) Requirements for changes in the focus of the program 

and services offered by the system. 

k. Developing and implementing plans to respond to the 

needs identified in subdivision 3 j of this subsection. 

l. Maintaining accurate and appropriate inventories 

regarding all real property and equipment belonging to the 

system. 

m. Ensuring that member homes comply with local child 

care ordinances where such ordinances exist. (NOTE: A 

note of approval from the administrator of the local 

ordinances will constitute evidence of compliance.) 

C. Goals, policies, and procedures. 

1. Goals. 

a. Written goals shall be developed for the family day-care 

day system. 

b. These goals shall clearly describe the philosophy and 

objectives of the system. 

c. At minimum, they shall address: 

(1) The purpose of the family day-care day system; 

(2) The population to be served; 

(3) The recruitment of homes; 

(4) The program to be offered by the system in terms of: 

(a) Services to be provided to the homes that are members 

of the system; 

(b) Services to be provided to families and children who 

use the system. 

2. Policies and procedures. Written policies and procedures 

shall be prepared for the operation of the family day-care 

system. These policies and procedures shall relate to: 

a. Personnel policies. (See 22VAC40-120-30 8VAC20-

810-30 B.) 

b. Services to member homes including: 

(1) Criteria for approving family day-care homes as 

members of system; 

(2) Training of home operators; 

(3) Technical assistance and consultation to home 

operators; and 

(4) Inspection, supervision, monitoring and evaluation of 

system homes. 

c. Services to children and their families including: 

(1) Referral of children to homes that are members of the 

system; and 

(2) Referral of children to available health and social 

services. 

3. A copy of the goals and all policies and procedures shall 

be made available to the department representative upon 

request. 

D. Finances. 

1. Fiscal accountability. The family day-care day system 

shall have a plan of financing that assures sufficient funds to 

operate in accordance with its stated purpose, objectives, and 

the services to be provided. 

2. Internal financial procedures. 

a. There shall be a system of financial recordkeeping that 

is consistent with generally accepted accounting 

principles, showing separation of the system's accounts 

from all other records. 

b. There shall be a written policy for the collection and 

disbursement of funds. 

c. Those members of the governing board or body and 

staff who have been granted authorized responsibility for 

funds of the system shall be bonded. 

3. Fee and payment schedules. 

a. The family day-care day system shall maintain a current 

written schedule of fees charged for the services provided. 

The applicable schedule or schedules shall be made 

available to families who seek or use the services of the 

system, to homes that apply for membership in the system, 

and to the department as part of the application for 

licensure. 

b. The family day-care day system shall establish and 

maintain a current written schedule of payments to be 

made to homes that are members of the system. This 

schedule shall specify the amount of payment, conditions 

of payment, and frequency of payment. It shall be 

provided to all homes that are members of the system and 

also to the department as part of the application for 

licensure. When applicable, this schedule shall also be 

made available to families who seek or use the services of 

the system. 

E. Relationship to the licensing authority. 

1. The family day-care day system shall submit to the 

department such reasonable reports and information as it 

may require. (See § 63.2-1708 22.1-289.021 of the Code of 

Virginia.) 

2. The system's books and records shall be made available 

for inspection by the department's representative, upon 

request. (See § 63.2-1706 22.1-289.018 of the Code of 

Virginia.) 

3. The licensee, governing board, or its official 

representative shall notify the department when any major 

change is anticipated in the program, services provided, or 
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administrative structure. When such a change occurs, which 

was not anticipated, this notification shall be provided no 

later than 10 days following the change. The department 

shall also be notified within five working days whenever a 

new director is employed by the family day-care day system. 

F. Family day-care day system setting. 

1. The family day-care day system shall have an office that 

shall serve as the headquarters of the system. 

2. This office shall have: 

a. Sufficient space for administration of the system, 

including all clerical functions; 

b. Sufficient space to maintain privacy and confidentiality 

for conferences with parents who seek or use the services 

of the system and family day-care home operators who are 

members of the system; and 

c. At least one working telephone, other than a pay phone, 

with a listed number that is available for system business. 

An emergency phone number shall be provided for the use 

of the homes in the system during any hours that children 

are in care if the system's telephone is not manned during 

those hours. 

G. Determination of the number of homes that may be under 

contract to the system. In order to ensure timely and adequate 

service delivery, the maximum number of homes that may be 

under contract of the system shall be based on the following 

factors: 

1. The number of system's office staff (NOTE: Persons who 

are approved as day-care providers and their assistants are 

not considered to be system's office staff.); 

2. The geographical dispersion of homes with relation to the 

system office; 

3. The type or types and needs of children served by the 

system; 

4. The financial capabilities of the system; and 

5. The types of program or programs and services offered by 

the system. 

22VAC40-120-30 8VAC20-810-30. Personnel. 

A. General Requirements. 

1. No person convicted of a crime involving child abuse, 

child neglect or moral turpitude shall be a family day-care 

day system owner, operator or employee. 

2. The family day-care day system owner, director, and all 

system employees shall be: 

a. At least 18 years of age (EXCEPTION: Secretarial and 

custodial help may be younger than 18 years of age.); 

b. Of good moral character and reputation; 

c. Physically and mentally capable of carrying out 

assigned duties and responsibilities; 

d. Emotionally stable with an understanding of problems 

and needs of children and their families; and 

e. Qualified in accordance with the applicable educational 

training and experience requirements contained in these 

standards. 

B. Personnel policies. 

1. There shall be a written description for each staff position. 

This job description shall include: 

a. The job title; 

b. The functions assigned to the position, including 

authority and responsibility; and 

c. Educational or experience, or both, requirements for the 

position. 

2. A copy of the job description shall be made available to 

each person assigned to the position at the time of 

employment. 

3. When a system has more than three employees, within the 

system's office, the system shall have written personnel 

policies outlining personnel practices as they affect both the 

employer and employee. A copy of these policies shall be 

readily accessible to each staff member and shall include at 

minimum: 

a. Conditions of employment; 

b. Conditions under which employment may be suspended 

or terminated; 

c. Procedures for resignation; 

d. Salary scales; 

e. Provisions for paid vacation, sick leave, compensatory 

leave, and holidays, if any; 

f. Provisions for recurring evaluation of work performance 

of each employee at least annually; 

g. A description of employee benefits; 

h. Provisions for staff development and training through 

in-service training, attendance at conferences and 

workshops and educational leave; and 

i. Grievance procedures. 

C. The system staff. 

1. Composition and size. 

a. Composition and number of staff employed by the 

system shall be sufficient to assure: 

(1) Compliance with these standards; 

(2) The uninterrupted and timely provision of all services 

included in the system program to children, parents, and 

homes that are members of the system. 
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b. In order to ensure timely and adequate service delivery, 

the number and composition of staff shall be determined 

by: 

(1) The scope of the program and services offered by the 

system; 

(2) The number of homes that are members of the system 

and their geographical location in relation to the system 

office; 

(3) The number of children in care in homes that are 

members of the system; 

(4) The capabilities and experience of the staff; and 

(5) The total responsibilities assigned to each staff 

member and the time required to effectively carry out 

these responsibilities. Total responsibilities are those 

relating to inspection, supervision, monitoring, evaluation 

of member homes; providing training and technical 

assistance to operators and staff of member homes; 

providing referral services to parents and children; as well 

as administrative tasks and supervisory responsibilities. 

c. Qualified staff members, who meet the applicable 

qualifications established by subdivision C 2 of this 

section shall be designated to perform each of the 

following functions: 

(1) Day-to-day management, administration and 

supervision of system operations; 

(2) Referral services to parents and children; 

(3) Training, technical assistance, and consultation to the 

staff of homes that are members of the system; 

(4) Home visitation and approval which includes at 

minimum those functions and services relating to 

inspection, supervision, monitoring, and evaluation of 

homes that are members of the system; and 

(5) Clerical functions. 

d. Multiple functions may be assigned to an individual 

staff member provided: 

(1) The staff member meets the qualifications for each 

function as established by subdivision C 2 of this section; 

and 

(2) The multiple assignment is consistent with the 

requirements of subdivision C 1 a of this section regarding 

the timely and uninterrupted delivery of services, and 

subdivision C 1 b of this section which provides for a 

determination of the required number and composition of 

staff. 

2. Staff qualifications. 

a. The director. 

(1) There shall be one full-time staff member designated 

as the director of the system who shall be responsible for 

the overall day-to-day management, administration and 

supervision of system operations. In the case of an 

individual proprietorship or partnership the director may 

be the licensee. 

(2) An individual assuming the duties of a director on or 

after the effective date of these standards shall have: 

(a) A master's degree in early childhood education, child 

development, social work, education or psychology from 

an accredited college or university, or the equivalent as 

determined and approved by the department, plus three 

years of experience in any one or more of these fields, 

including two years of experience in a supervisory, 

administrative, or management capacity; or 

(b) A bachelor's degree in early childhood education, child 

development, social work psychology or education from 

an accredited four-year college or university, or the 

equivalent as determined and approved by the department, 

plus four years of experience in any of these fields, 

including two years of experience in a supervisory, 

administrative or management capacity. 

b. Referral, training and home visitation services. 

(1) Responsibilities for referral, training and home 

visitation services shall be assigned to a permanent staff 

member or members. These services and responsibilities 

shall consist of: 

(a) Referral services—Interviewing of parents and 

children and the referral of children to family day-care 

homes that are members of the system or to available 

health or social services as special needs are identified. 

(b) Training services—Developing and providing 

training, technical assistance and consultation to the 

operators and staff of family day-care homes that are 

members of the system. 

(c) Home visitation services—Visiting family day-care 

homes, for the purpose of approving homes in accordance 

with requirements established in 22VAC40-120-40 

8VAC20-810-40 and any additional requirements 

established by the system and assuring continued 

compliance with these requirements. A full-time home 

visitation staff member shall be responsible for no more 

than 25 family day-care homes. 

(2) Staff members designated to perform referral, training 

or home visitation services on or after the effective date of 

these standards shall have: 

(a) A bachelor's degree in early childhood education, child 

development, social work, psychology or education from 

an accredited four-year college or university or the 

equivalent as determined and approved by the department, 

or 

(b) An associate degree, or equivalent, in human services, 

community and social service, or educational services or 

their equivalent as determined and approved by the 

department, from an accredited community college or 

four-year college or university and two years of supervised 

experience working in a child care center, residential 
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children's facility, nursery school, family day-care home, 

or similar program providing care to children. 

c. Clerical staff. 

(1) The system shall employ sufficient clerical staff to 

keep correspondence, required records, accounts and files 

current and in good order. 

(2) Clerical staff shall be qualified by both education and 

experience to perform assigned tasks. 

d. Documentation of qualifications. 

(1) The professional qualifications of staff members, 

established by subdivision C 2 of this section, shall be 

individually documented. 

(2) The personal qualifications including those established 

by subdivision A 1 of this section shall be verified through 

character references. 

(a) At least three references shall be obtained for each 

applicant. 

(b) These references shall not be obtained from relatives 

of applicants. 

(c) These references shall be in writing or there shall be a 

written notation of verbal references. 

3. Staff development. 

a. Provision shall be made for orientation for all staff. This 

shall be documented and recorded in the employee's 

record. 

b. Prior to assuming their duties, new employees shall be 

given orientation and training in at least the following 

areas: 

(1) The objectives and philosophy of the system; 

(2) The services offered by the system; 

(3) Confidential treatment of personal information; 

(4) The policies and procedures that are applicable to their 

specific position and assigned duties and responsibilities; 

and 

(5) The standards as they apply to the individual position. 

c. A written plan of in-service training with specific well-

defined objectives shall be prepared and implemented 

annually for each employee. A copy of this plan shall be 

filed in the employee's record and shall be made available 

to the department's representative upon request. 

(EXCEPTION: Clerical and custodial employees are 

exempt from this requirement.) 

d. Attendance at conferences, seminars, workshops, 

institutes and academic courses related to the employee's 

assigned duties and responsibilities shall be encouraged. 

D. Volunteers. 

1. Any volunteers used shall: 

a. Have qualifications appropriate to the services they 

render; 

b. Be subject to laws and regulations governing the 

confidential treatment of personal information; and 

c. Be selected on the basis of their ability to make a 

positive contribution to the program. 

2. The system shall establish written requirements for the 

screening and selection of volunteers. 

3. Duties and responsibilities of all volunteers shall be 

clearly defined in writing and differentiated from those 

persons regularly filling staff positions. 

4. At least one staff member shall be assigned the 

responsibility for selection, orientation, training, scheduling, 

supervision and evaluation of volunteers. 

5. The system shall not be dependent on the use of volunteers 

to ensure the basic provision of services on a continuous 

basis. 

*The minimum personnel requirements and qualifications for 

family day-care providers and their staff are addressed in 

22VAC40-120-40 8VAC20-810-40 B 1. 

22VAC40-120-40 8VAC20-810-40. Services to system 

homes. 

A. Policies and agreements. 

1. Policies. The system shall establish and maintain written 

policies regarding: 

a. The roles, rights and responsibilities of the system in the 

supervision and approval of member homes and referral of 

children to those homes; 

b. The roles, rights and responsibilities of homes that are 

members of the system; 

c. The roles, rights and responsibilities of parents of 

children who are cared for in homes that are members of 

the system; 

d. Procedures for consultation to prospective providers to 

include alerting them to zoning and other local ordinances; 

e. Procedures for evaluation, selection and initial approval 

of homes as members of the system; 

f. Orientation and training of operators and staff of homes 

that are members of the system; 

g. The annual renewal of approval of homes as members 

of the system; and 

h. Procedures to be followed to assure that all areas of non-

compliance with approval requirements have been 

corrected. 

2. Agreements. 

a. The system shall have a written agreement with each 

member home which specifies at least the following: 

(1) The home's agreement with the system's policies in the 

areas identified in subdivision A 1 of this section; 
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(2) The financial agreement between the system and the 

member home; 

(3) The system's role in assisting the home in developing 

a plan to meet the needs of each child accepted for care; 

(4) They system's role in planning for regular conferences 

between the home and parents of children in care; 

(5) The system's responsibility for supervision of 

children's care and adjustment; 

(6) The rights and responsibilities of the system to 

monitor, inspect, evaluate and approve member homes; 

(7) The system's right to remove a child from the home 

and the conditions under which a child may be removed; 

(8) That the home shall not accept a child from any source 

other than the system responsible for the home without the 

prior approval of the system; 

(9) Conditions under which the provider may take children 

away from the member home on a routine basis (In an 

unusual situation, the provider shall notify the system by 

telephone and secure system approval before taking a 

child out of the home.); and 

(10) That the home shall release a child only to the persons 

specified in the child care agreement required by 

22VAC40-120-50 8VAC20-810-50 A 5. 

b. This agreement shall be signed prior to referral of 

children to the home. 

B. Approval, monitoring and termination. 

1. Approval, criteria and requirements. The system shall 

develop criteria and requirements that family day-care 

homes must meet to be approved as members of the system. 

At minimum these criteria and requirements shall address 

the following areas: 

a. Qualifications of day-care providers and their staff that 

include establishing specific educational or experience 

requirements, or both, to assure that both providers and 

their staff are capable of providing acceptable care to 

children placed in the member home. At minimum the 

following basic qualifications must be met: 

(1) A family day-care provider must be at least 18 years of 

age; 

(2) A family day-care must be able to read and write; 

(3) A family day-care assistant must be at least 14 years of 

age; 

(4) Family day-care providers and any assistant or 

assistants must have the following personal attributes: 

(a) An understanding of children and their problems 

together with an ability to relate to children with courtesy, 

respect, patience and affection, and understanding and 

respect for the child's family; 

(b) An ability to handle emergencies with dependability 

and good judgment; and 

(c) A motivation to contribute to children's wholesome 

development; 

(5) Family day-care providers and any assistant or 

assistants shall be responsible, wholesome, emotionally 

stable people of good character and reputation; 

(6) No person convicted of a crime involving child abuse, 

child neglect or moral turpitude shall be a family day-care 

provider or assistant. 

b. Ratio of adults to children in care. Ratios shall be based 

at minimum on the number, ages and needs of children in 

care. The system shall require at least one adult for every 

eight children in care, and infants below the age of two 

years shall be counted as two children in determining staff 

requirements. 

c. The physical environment which includes: 

(1) Physical plant requirements (building and grounds) 

and requirements for maintenance and cleanliness; 

(2) Furnishing and equipment appropriate to the ages of 

children in care; 

(3) Toileting and bathing facilities; 

(4) Lighting requirements; 

(5) Absence of safety hazard; and 

(6) Adequate space requirements for play activities and 

napping. 

d. The water supply and sanitary disposal system shall be 

approved by the health officer, unless water is obtained 

from a municipal supply and the member home is 

connected to a municipal sewer line. 

e. Care of children including at minimum supervision of 

children in care and the planning and providing of varied 

daily activities which are appropriate to the ages, needs, 

and capabilities of children in care. Children must be 

supervised at all times by an adult and shall not be left 

alone in the care of an assistant under the age of 18 years. 

f. Methods of dealing with unacceptable behavior which 

prohibit harsh and unreasonable punishment. 

g. Nutrition to assure that nutritious and adequate meals 

and snacks, in terms of quality and quantity, are provided 

each child. 

h. Health information shall be maintained for the family 

day-care provider, assistant and assistants and for those 

household members who come in contact with children or 

handle food served to children, as described below: 

(1) Initial tuberculosis examination and report. 

(a) Prior to approval or contact with children, each 

individual shall obtain an evaluation indicating the 

absence of tuberculosis in a communicable form. 

(b) Each individual shall submit a statement that he or she 

is free of tuberculosis in a communicable form, including 

the type or types of test or tests used and the result or 

results. 
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(c) The statement shall be signed by a licensed physician, 

the physician's designee, or an official of a local health 

department. 

(d) The statement shall be filed in the individual's record. 

(2) Subsequent evaluations. 

(a) An individual who had a significant (positive) reaction 

to a tuberculin skin test and whose physician certifies the 

absence of communicable tuberculosis must obtain chest 

x-rays on an annual basis for the following two years. 

(i) The individual shall submit statements documenting 

the chest x-rays and certifying freedom from tuberculosis 

in a communicable form. 

(ii) The statements shall be signed by a licensed physician, 

the physician's designee, or an official of a local health 

department. 

(iii) The statement shall be filed in the individual's record. 

(iv) Screening beyond two years is not required unless 

there is known contact with a case of tuberculosis or 

development of chronic respiratory symptoms. 

(b) Additional screening is not required for an individual 

who had a non-significant (negative) reaction to an initial 

tuberculin skin test. 

(c) Any individual who comes in contact with a known 

case of tuberculosis or who develops chronic respiratory 

symptoms shall, within 30 days or exposure or 

development, receive an evaluation in accordance with 

subdivision B 1 h (1) of this section. 

(3) At the request of the licensed system or the Department 

of Social Services Education, a report of examination by a 

licensed physician shall be obtained when there are 

indications that the safety of children in care my may be 

jeopardized by the physical or mental health of a specific 

individual. 

(4) Any individual who, upon examination or as a result 

of tests, shows indication of a physical or mental condition 

which may jeopardize the safety of children in care: 

(a) Shall immediately be removed from contact with 

children; 

(b) Shall immediately be removed from contact with food 

served to children; and 

(c) Shall not be allowed contact with children or food 

served to children until the conditions cleared to the 

satisfaction of the examining physician as evidenced by a 

signed statement from the physician. 

i. Fire safety to include appropriate emergency plans for 

evacuation of the home. The member home shall comply 

with any limitations which may be placed by the Virginia 

Fire Safety Regulations on the maximum number of 

children who may be in care. 

j. Record keeping to include the records to be maintained 

in the home on each child and the content and format of 

each record. 

k. Each member home shall have a working telephone on 

the premises with a listed number. The phone number for 

a doctor who may be called in an emergency, an 

ambulance service or rescue squad, the fire department 

and the police shall be posted near the phone. 

2. Approval determination. 

a. Prior to approval of any home, as a member of the 

system, the system shall determine that the home complies 

with the written criteria and requirements established by 

the system in accordance with subdivision B 1 of this 

section. 

b. This determination of compliance shall be documented 

by a compliance investigation addressing, at minimum, 

the areas identified under subdivision B 1 of this section 

and an evaluation of all information provided as part of the 

application process. 

c. The study shall also contain the following 

documentation: 

(1) Health reports required by subdivision B 1 h of this 

section; 

(2) Reports of at least three character references for the 

day-care provider and each member of the staff (These 

references shall be in writing or there shall be a written 

notation of verbal references.); 

(3) A written record of previous training and experience 

of the day-care provider, if any; and 

(4) Information to show how capacity was determined, 

including evaluation of any unusual conditions. 

d. This study shall include interviews with all adult 

members of the household and at least two interviews with 

the day-care applicant or provider, one of which shall take 

place in the home where care will be provided to children. 

3. Approval notification. 

a. Within 30 days following the completion of the 

interviews required by subdivision B 2 d of this section, 

the system shall provide written notification to the 

applicant home of the results of the study, to include 

corrective action required. 

b. If the home is approved, the notification to the provider 

shall include the capacity of the home. In no case shall the 

capacity exceed nine children, including children under 

six who are related by blood or marriage to the day-care 

provider. 

c. If the day-care provider has responsibility for a 

handicapped person who requires special attention or 

services, this factor shall be considered in determining the 

approved capacity of the member home and the record of 

the home shall contain documentation of this evaluation. 
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d. If the home is approved, this notification shall be 

accompanied by an approval certificate which shall be 

posted in a place that is conspicuous to the public in each 

approved home. 

4. Termination. 

a. The system shall have written policies for suspension or 

termination of a member home. 

b. The system shall notify the provider in writing of the 

reasons for suspension or termination within two weeks of 

such suspension or termination. 

5. Annual approval. Each member home shall be approved 

annually. The same approval process shall be used as 

described in subdivisions B 1 through 3. 

6. Monitoring. 

a. Each member home shall be visited at least quarterly in 

order to assure that the home continues to comply with the 

system's standards. 

(1) At least two of these visits shall be unannounced; 

(2) The results of these visits shall be documented in the 

home's record. 

b. The department, at any time, may make an announced 

or unannounced visit to a home that is a member of the 

system in order to assure continued compliance with the 

applicable provisions of this chapter. The results of such 

visits shall be provided to the system. 

7. Annually the system shall provide the regional office of 

the Virginia Department of Social Services, from which the 

system's license to operate is issued, Office of Child Care 

Licensing a current directory of approved homes that are 

members of the system. 

a. The initial directory shall be provided 30 days after the 

system's initial license to operate is issued. 

b. An updated directory shall be provided with the 

system's application for license renewal. 

c. The directory shall contain at minimum the following 

information: 

(1) The name of the day-care provider; 

(2) The address of the member home; 

(3) The telephone number of the member home; and 

(4) The approved capacity of the member home. 

8. Copies of the notification of member home approval and 

termination, required by subdivisions B 3 a and B 4 b of this 

section, shall also be provided by the system to the regional 

office of the Virginia Department of Social Services from 

which the system's license to operate was issued Office of 

Child Care Licensing. 

C. Training. 

1. The licensee shall have on file at the system office 

separate written plans describing initial and on-going 

training of each provider. Each plan shall describe such 

training in detail and shall include a description of training 

topic covered, training materials used, frequency and 

duration of training sessions, persons and resources utilized 

within the system and from the community to implement 

training, names of trainers, training methodology, and the 

process used to evaluate the training program by both staff 

and providers. 

2. Initial training. 

a. Prior to acceptance or within the first six months after 

acceptance as a member home, the system shall provide 

initial training for each day-care provider. 

b. Such training shall include at minimum a two-hour 

training session on each of the following areas, unless the 

system develops a method to certify equivalent 

competency in these subject areas. Such methods shall be 

subject to review and approval by the department. 

(1) An orientation to the system; 

(2) Organizing for family day-care day care; 

(3) Child growth and development; 

(4) Health care; 

(5) First aid, home safety and fire safety; 

(6) Nutrition; 

(7) Child abuse and protection; 

(8) Appropriate activities and toys for mixed age groups 

of children; 

(9) Dealing with unacceptable behavior; 

(10) Community resources; 

(11) Parent and day-care provider relationships. 

c. The licensee shall describe and document the content 

and hours of training received by each provider or the 

equivalent competency, or both. This documentation shall 

be kept on file at the system office as part of the day-care 

provider required by 22VAC40-120-60 8VAC20-810-60 

C 2. 

3. On-going training. 

a. Within each succeeding year, following the completion 

of initial training, the licensee shall provide at least two 

hours of on-going, in-service training to providers each 

quarter. 

b. The content of this training shall be determined by the 

system and shall be based on the needs of approved day-

care providers. At minimum, it shall reinforce or expand 

on the areas identified in subdivision C 2 b of this section. 

c. The licensee shall describe and document the content 

and hours of training received by each provider and shall 

keep this documentation on file at the system office as part 
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of the day-care provider record required by 22VAC40-

120-60 8VAC20-810-60 C 2. 

4. A provider who refuses to participate in training shall be 

terminated as a member home. 

D. Technical assistance and consultation. 

1. The system has the responsibility to provide technical 

assistance and consultation to member homes. 

2. Technical assistance and consultation include, but shall 

not be limited to, the following areas: 

a. Provision of information and advice on child 

development, methods of dealing with unacceptable 

behavior, fire safety, working with exceptional children, 

dealing with stress or crisis, etc.; 

b. Loans of toys and equipment, if available; 

c. Provision of information on training resources available 

in the community on an on-going basis and as appropriate; 

and 

d. Nutrition and menu planning on an on-going basis. 

3. Technical assistance and consultation provided to member 

homes shall be recorded in the day-care provider record 

required by 22VAC40-120-60 8VAC20-810-60 C 2 e (5). 

22VAC40-120-50 8VAC20-810-50. Services to children and 

families. 

A. Referral to system homes. 

1. Children shall be referred only to homes which have been 

approved as required in subsection B of this section. 

2. No child shall be referred to a home which has reached its 

approved capacity. 

3. Referrals shall be made only after a personal interview 

between a representative of the system and the parent or 

parents and child. Prior to acceptance of a child for care, the 

parent and child or children shall visit the home where care 

will be provided. 

4. When a child is accepted for care and payment will be 

made by a local department of public welfare or social 

services, the system shall seek approval from that 

department prior to referral of the child for care. 

5. When a child is accepted for care and a referral is made to 

a home that is a member of the system, there shall be a 

written agreement between the system and parent or parents 

or guardian or guardians of the child. A copy of the signed 

agreement shall be given to the parent or parents or guardian 

or guardians and a copy shall also be retained and filed by 

the system at the system office. Additionally, the 

requirements of subdivisions A 6 and A 7 also apply. 

6. The child care agreement shall address the following 

items: 

a. Child's name, birth date, home address, and home 

telephone number; 

b. Names and addresses of parent or parents or guardian 

or guardians and telephone number at which they can be 

reached during hours the child is in care; 

c. A statement that a child brought to the home shall be 

left with a staff member and released only to the parent or 

parents or other specified person or persons; 

d. The hours the child will be in care; 

e. The name, address, and telephone number of the child's 

physician; 

f. Emergency medical authorization; 

g. Transportation arrangements; 

h. Notes of any special problems or needs of a child; 

i. Granting or denying permission for field trips; 

j. Granting or denying permission for participation in 

water activities, such as swimming and wading; 

k. Any other referral information; 

l. Agreement regarding the home in which the child will 

be placed; 

m. Financial arrangements for care; 

n. A statement that staff members of both the system and 

member home in which the child receives care shall be 

available for parent conferences; 

o. Information regarding the means by which care will be 

provided in the event the primary day-care provider is ill, 

on vacation or otherwise unavailable due to an emergency; 

and 

p. Information regarding the role of the system in referral 

of children in care in a home that is terminated as a 

member of the system. 

7. The child care agreement may be a one or two part 

agreement at the option of the system. 

a. When a one part agreement is used it shall: 

(1) Be signed by the parent or parents of the child, a 

representative of the system and the day-care provider in 

whose home the child will receive care. 

(2) A copy of this agreement shall be provided by the 

system to the member home in which the child will receive 

care. 

b. When the system elects to use to two part agreement the 

following standards apply: 

(1) Part one: 

(a) Shall contain all items specified in subdivision A 6 

except financial arrangements for care (See subdivision A 

6 m); 

(b) Be signed by the parent or parents of the child, a 

representative of the system and the day-care provider in 

whose home the child will receive care; and 
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(c) A copy shall be provided by the system to the member 

home in which the child will receive care. 

(2) Part two: 

(a) Shall contain the financial information required by 

subdivision A 6 m and any other information that the 

system deems appropriate; 

(b) Shall be signed by the parent or parents of the child 

and a representative of the system. 

8. Health requirements for children. 

a. Timing and frequency of medical reports: 

(1) Each child accepted for care shall obtain a physical 

examination by or under the direction of a licensed 

physician prior to admission (as outlined below) or within 

30 days after admission: 

(a) Within 60 days prior to admission for children six 

months of age and younger; 

(b) Within 90 days prior to admission for children seven 

months through 18 months of age; 

(c) Within six months prior to admission for children 19 

months through 24 months of age; 

(d) Within 12 months prior to admission for children two 

years of age through five years of age; 

(e) Within 24 months prior to admission for children six 

years of age and above. 

EXCEPTIONS: 

(i) Children transferring from one facility licensed by the 

Virginia Department of Social Services Education, 

certified by a local department of public welfare or social 

services, or approved by a licensed family day care 

system: 

If the initial report of physical examination and 

immunizations is submitted to the new home, no 

additional examination is require required. If the initial 

report is not available, a report of physical examination 

and immunizations is required. 

(ii) Physical examinations are not required for any child 

whose parent or guardian objects on religious ground. The 

parent or guardian must submit a statement noting that the 

parents or guardian objects on religious grounds and 

certifying that, to the best of the parent's or guardian's 

knowledge, the child is in good health and free from 

communicable and contagious disease. 

(2) Medical reports after admission: 

(a) Updated information on immunizations received shall 

be obtained once every six months for children under the 

age of two years. 

(b) Updated information on immunizations received shall 

be obtained once between each child's fourth and fifth 

birthdays. 

b. Form and content of medical reports: 

(1) The current form approved by the Virginia Department 

of Health, or any other form which provides all of the same 

information shall be used to record immunizations 

received and the results of the required physical 

examination. 

(2) Each report shall include the date of the physical 

examination or the dates immunizations were received, or 

both. 

(3) Each report shall be signed by a licensed physician, the 

physician's designee, or an official of a local department 

of health. 

EXCEPTION: Documentation of immunizations received 

is not required for any child whose parent or guardian 

submits an affidavit to the center stating that the 

administration of immunizing agents conflicts with the 

parent's or child's religious tenets or practices. 

9. An emergency medical authorization form shall be 

provided the home at the time the child enters care. (NOTE: 

At the discretion of the system this form may be part of the 

child care agreement required by subdivision A 6.) 

a. The emergency medical authorization form shall be 

signed by the parent or parents, the provider, and a 

representative of the system. 

b. A copy of the signed emergency medical authorization 

form shall also be filed in the child's record that is 

maintained in the system's office. 

10. The system shall make arrangements for substitute or 

back-up care when a day-care provider in a member home 

needs assistance in any emergency or during illness or 

vacation. Such care may be provided by a staff person 

approved as a system assistant or another member provider 

with available enrollment capacity. 

11. They system shall confer with the parent of each child at 

least twice a year concerning the child's progress and the 

parents' view of the adequacy of care being provided. This 

contact may be by telephone or in person at the discretion of 

the parent or parents involved. 

B. Referral to health and social services. 

1. The licensee shall have on file a written plan describing 

how the need for medical and social services is determined 

and how social services are made available, either within the 

system or by arrangement with specific public or private 

community agencies, or both. This written plan shall include 

the system's policy and procedures for referral of children 

and their parents to appropriate social, mental health, 

welfare and medical services. 

2. The licensee shall maintain a written record of all referrals 

of children and their families to social, mental health, 

welfare, and medical services which shall include the results 

of such referrals, when reports of such results are provided 

to the system. 
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C. Complaint investigation. The family day-care day system 

shall be responsible for investigation of any complaint received 

on any home that is a member of its system. When a system 

receives such a complaint, the following Standards apply: 

1. The complaint shall be recorded on a complaint record 

which shall include at minimum the information required by 

22VAC40-120-60 8VAC20-810-60 C 5 b. 

2. A copy of this completed record shall be placed in the file 

of the home against which the complaint was made and a 

copy shall be provided the regional office of the Virginia 

Department of Social Services from which the family day-

care system's license to operate is issued to the Office of 

Child Care Licensing. This copy shall be provided within 10 

days of the date the complaint investigation is completed. 

3. When the complaint concerns a specific child, a copy of 

the completed record shall be placed in the file of the child. 

4. A complete investigation shall be made, by the licensee, 

of each complaint received. This investigation shall: 

a. Be initiated within five working days following the 

receipt of the complaint: 

b. Completed within 14 days following receipt of the 

complaint; and 

c. Include at least one visit to the family day-care home on 

which the complaint was received. 

5. If the complaint is found to be valid, corrective action 

shall be initiated immediately. 

6. When the complaint includes an accusation of child abuse 

or neglect, the following Standards also apply: 

a. The complainant shall be referred to the protective 

services unit of the local department of public welfare or 

social services in the locality where the home is located. 

b. The family day-care day system shall notify the local 

department of public welfare or social services child 

protective services' staff member immediately and provide 

all information regarding the complaint. The oral 

notification shall be confirmed in writing within 72 hours 

and a copy placed in the file of the home against which the 

complaint was made. Simultaneously, a copy of this 

written notification shall also be provided the regional 

office of the Virginia Department of Social Services from 

which the family day-care system's license to operate is 

issued to the Office of Child Care Licensing. 

c. The system shall make its own investigation within 24 

hours. A joint investigation by the protective services 

worker of the local department of public welfare or social 

services and a representative of the system is encouraged 

to the maximum extent possible. 

22VAC40-120-60 8VAC20-810-60. Records. 

A. General requirements. 

1. Any forms used for record keeping shall contain at 

minimum the information specified in these Standards. 

Model forms, which may be copied, will be supplied by the 

department upon request. 

2. If any model form developed by the department is not 

used, the substitute form shall be approved by the 

department. 

3. All records shall be kept in a locked area. 

4. The licensee shall have the responsibility for assuring that 

all records are treated confidentially and that information 

shall be made available only when needed for proper care of 

the children referred to homes who are members of the 

system. (EXCEPTION: All records shall be made available 

for inspection by the department's representative. See 

22VAC40-120-10 8VAC20-810-10 D 3 b.) 

B. Written policies and procedures. The following written 

policies and procedures shall be developed by the system. 

Copies shall be maintained in a permanent file within the 

system office. Those so identified shall also be permanently 

filed in homes that are members of the system. 

1. Policies and procedures pertaining to operation and 

management of the system: 

a. Written goals which clearly describe the philosophy and 

objectives of the family day-care day system and address 

those areas specified in 22VAC40-120-20 8VAC20-810-

20 C 1. A copy of these written goals shall be provided to 

each home that is a member of the system. 

b. Written policies and procedures which address system 

services to be provided to member homes and services to 

be provided to children and their families. (See 22VAC40-

120-20 8VAC20-810-20 C 2.) Copies of these policies and 

procedures which relate to services to be provided to 

member homes and to children and their families shall be 

provided to each home that is a member of the system. 

c. Written by-laws, when the family day-care day system 

is sponsored by an association or corporation. 

2. Policies and procedures pertaining to staff employed in 

the system office. 

a. A written job description for each staff position which 

exists in the system office. Each job description shall 

address the areas identified in 22VAC40-120-30 

8VAC20-810-30 B 1. 

b. Written policies which outline personnel practices as 

they affect both the employer and employee. These 

policies shall include the areas identified in 22VAC40-

120-30 8VAC20-810-30 B 3. 

c. Written requirements for the screening and selection of 

volunteers, if volunteers are used. (See 22VAC40-120-30 

8VAC20-810-30 D 2.) 

d. Written definition of the duties and responsibilities of 

volunteers. (See 22VAC40-120-30 8VAC20-810-30 D 3.) 
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3. Policies and procedures pertaining to member homes. 

a. Policies and procedures which describe the selection, 

evaluation, approval and general management of homes 

which are members of the system and cover at minimum 

those areas specified in 22VAC40-120-40 8VAC20-810-

40 A 1. 

b. Specific criteria and requirements which family day-

care day homes must meet to be approved as members of 

the system. At minimum these criteria and requirements 

shall address the areas specified in 22VAC40-120-40 

8VAC20-810-40 B 1. 

c. Policies for suspension or termination of a home that is 

a member of the system. (See 22VAC40-120-40 

8VAC20-810-40 B 1.) 

d. Copies of the policies and procedures, required by 

subdivisions B 3 a, b, and c shall be provided to each home 

that is a member of the system. 

C. System records. The following records shall be maintained 

by the system in a permanent file within the system office. 

Those so identified shall also be provided to each home that is 

a member of the system. 

1. Records on the system. 

a. An organization chart (See 22VAC40-120-20 8VAC20-

810-20 B 3 h.) 

b. Financial records which are consistent with generally 

accepted accounting principles and reflect a separation of 

system accounts form all other records. (See 22VAC40-

120-20 8VAC20-810-20 D 2.) 

c. An inventory of all real property and equipment 

belonging to the system. (See 22VAC40-120-20 

8VAC20-810-20 B 3 1.) 

d. A schedule of fees charged for services provided. (See 

22VAC40-120-20 8VAC20-810-20 D 3 a.) 

e. A schedule of payments to be made to homes that are 

members of the system which contains the items required 

by 22VAC40-120-20 8VAC20-810-20 D 3 b. A copy of 

this schedule shall be provided to each home who is a 

member of the system. 

f. Minutes of all meetings of the corporate or association 

governing board. (See 22VAC40-120-20 8VAC20-810-

20 B 2 b.) 

2. Records on homes who are members of the system. 

a. An individual record shall be maintained on each home 

that is approved as a member of the system. 

b. This record shall be established when the home applies 

for membership in the system and shall be maintained in 

the system office. 

c. The record shall be kept current. 

d. The complete record shall be retained until two years 

after the home withdraws or is terminated as a member of 

the system. 

e. It shall contain at minimum the following information 

and documentation: 

(1) A copy of the agreement with the member home as 

required by 22VAC40-120-40 8VAC20-810-40 A 2 a. A 

copy of this agreement shall be on file in the member 

home. 

(2) A copy of each compliance study completed on the 

home and required by 22VAC40-120-40 8VAC20-810-40 

B 2 b. 

(3) The report of each quarterly visit to the home as 

required by 22VAC40-120-40 8VAC20-810-40 B 6 a (2). 

(4) A record containing the name of each child who has 

been referred to the home for care, the date of referral and 

in those cases where care has been terminated, the date and 

reason for termination. 

(5) A notation of all technical assistance and consultation 

provided to the home as required by 22VAC40-120-40 

8VAC20-810-40 D 3. 

(6) The following personal and social data on each day-

care provider. 

(a) Name; 

(b) Birthdate; 

(c) Current address and telephone number; 

(d) Last previous employment; 

(e) For providers who are accepted as members of the 

system after the effective date of these Standards this 

regulation, copies of at least three references or notations 

of verbal references reflecting the date of the reference, 

the source and the content; 

(f) A statement signed by the day-care provider reporting 

any convictions of law violations excluding traffic 

violations and offenses committed before his or her 

eighteenth birthday which were finally adjudicated in a 

juvenile court or under a youth offender law; 

(g) Previous experience or training, or both; 

(h) Social Security number; 

(i) Name and telephone number of person to contact in an 

emergency; and 

(j) Date and reason for termination as a member of the 

system. 

(7) The following personal and social data for each person 

employed by the provider as a staff member in the home: 

(a) Name; 

(b) Birthdate; 

(c) Current address and telephone number; 

(d) Position and date employed; 

(e) Last previous employment; 
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(f) For persons who are employed after the effective date 

of this chapter, copies of at least two character references 

or notations of verbal references reflecting the date of the 

reference, the source and the content; 

(g) A statement signed by the staff member reporting any 

convictions of law violations excluding traffic violations 

and offenses committed before his or her the staff 

member's eighteenth birthday which were finally 

adjudicated in a juvenile court or under a youth offender 

law; 

(h) Previous experience or training, or both; 

(i) Social Security number; 

(j) Name and telephone number of person to contact in an 

emergency; 

(k) Notations of formal training received following 

employment; and 

(l) Date and reason for termination of employment. 

(8) The health related statements required by 22VAC40-

120-40 8VAC20-810-40 B 1 h. 

(9) The provider training plan, the record of initial 

provider training and the record of on-going provider 

training required by 22VAC40-120-40 8VAC20-810-40 C 

1, 2, c, and 3 c. 

(10) A copy of the record of each complaint received on 

the home as required by 22VAC40-120-50 8VAC20-810-

50 C 2. (See subdivision C 5 for content of this record.) 

3. Records of persons employed in the system office. 

a. An individual record shall be maintained on each staff 

member employed in the system office. 

b. This record shall be established when the individual is 

employed and shall not be destroyed until two years after 

employment is terminated. 

c. The record shall be kept current. 

d. It shall contain at minimum the following: 

(1) Personal and social data: 

(a) Name; 

(b) Birthdate; 

(c) Current address and telephone number; 

(d) Position and date employed; 

(e) Last previous employment; 

(f) For persons employed after the effective date of this 

chapter, copies of at least three references or notations of 

verbal references reflecting the date of the reference, the 

source and the content; 

(g) A statement signed by the employee reporting any 

convictions of law violations excluding traffic violations 

and offenses committed before his or her the employee's 

eighteenth birthday which were finally adjudicated in a 

juvenile court or under a youth offender law; 

(h) Previous experience or training, or both; 

(i) Social Security number; 

(j) Name and telephone number of person to contact in an 

emergency; 

(k) Notations of formal training received following 

employment; and 

(l) Date and reason for termination of employment. 

(2) The record of staff orientation required by 22VAC40-

120-30 8VAC20-810-30 C 3 a. 

(3) The annual plan for in-service training required by 

22VAC40-120-30 8VAC20-810-30 C 3 c. 

4. Records on children referred for care. 

a. An individual record shall be maintained on each child 

accepted by the system and referred to a member home for 

care. 

b. This record shall be established when the child is 

accepted for care. 

c. The record shall be kept current. 

d. It shall contain at a minimum the following: 

(1) A copy of the child care agreement required by 

22VAC40-120-50 8VAC20-810-50 A 5, A 6, and A 7; 

(2) A record of placement which contains the name of each 

home in which the child has received care, the date 

referred for care and the date and reason care was 

terminated; 

(3) A copy of the medical information required by 

22VAC40-120-50 8VAC20-810-50 A 8; 

(4) A copy of the emergency medical authorization form 

required by 22VAC40-120-50 8VAC20-810-50 A 9; 

(5) A record or each referral of the child and/or the family 

to social, mental health, welfare and medical services as 

required by 22VAC40-120-50 8VAC20-810-50 B 2. 

e. A copy of the records required by subdivisions C 4 d (3) 

and C 4 d (4), shall be on file in the member home in which 

the child is provided care. 

5. Complaint records. 

a. Each complaint shall be recorded on a complaint record. 

(See 22VAC40-120-50 8VAC20-810-50 C 1.) 

b. The complaint record shall include at minimum the 

following information: 

(1) Name and address of the family day-care home; 

(2) Name, address and telephone number of the 

complainant; 

(3) Method by which the complaint was made, including 

the date and time received; 

(4) Person receiving the complaint; 

(5) A description of the complaint, including dates and 

times, where applicable; 
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(6) Findings and action taken to include whether the 

complaint was found to be valid, invalid or validity not 

clearly determined; 

(7) The name of the person or persons who investigated 

the complaint and the date the investigation was 

completed; and 

(8) The date the complainant was notified of the results of 

the investigation. 

c. When the complaint includes an accusation of child 

abuse or neglect, a copy of the written notification 

required by 22VAC40-120-50 8VAC20-810-50 C 6 shall 

be attached to the complaint record and filed as a 

permanent part of that record. 

d. Release of information regarding the identity of the 

complainant shall be governed by the provisions of the 

Privacy Protection Act, Chapter 26 (§ 2.1-377 et seq.) of 

Title 2.1 of the Code of Virginia. 

Chapter 820 

General Procedures and Information for Licensure 

Part I 

Introduction 

8VAC20-820-10. Definitions.  

The following words and terms when used in this chapter 

shall have the following meanings unless the context clearly 

indicates otherwise: 

"Administrative hearing" means a hearing that is conducted 

pursuant to § 2.2-4020 of the Administrative Process Act. 

"Adverse action" means any case where the department either 

gives notice of revocation or refuses to issue a license for a 

child day program or family day system or imposes another 

administrative sanction pursuant to § 22.1-289.023 of the Code 

of Virginia. 

"Aggrieved party" means an applicant or licensee who has 

requested an appeal in accordance with instructions provided 

after the department has given written notice of the imposition 

of an administrative sanction or adverse action for a child day 

program or family day system. 

"Allowable variance" means permission is granted by the 

department to a licensee or applicant for licensure to meet the 

intent of a standard by some means other than as specified by 

the standard when the applicant or licensee has demonstrated 

that (i) the implementation of a standard would impose a 

substantial financial or programmatic hardship and (ii) the 

variance would not adversely affect the safety and well-being 

of persons in care. 

"Applicant" means any individual; corporation; partnership; 

association; limited liability company; local government; state 

agency, including any department, institution, authority, 

instrumentality, board, or other administrative agency of the 

Commonwealth; or other legal or commercial entity that has 

applied for a license to operate or maintain a child day program 

or family day system. 

"Board" means the State Board of Education. 

"Child day program" means a child day center or family day 

system. 

"Complaint" means an accusation that a facility that is subject 

to licensure is operating without a license or that a licensed 

facility is not in compliance with licensing standards or law. 

"Conditional license" means a license that may be issued to a 

new facility to operate in order to permit the applicant to 

demonstrate compliance with specified standards. 

"Consent agreement" means an agreement between the 

licensee and the department that the licensee will perform 

specific actions for the purpose of correcting violations to 

come into compliance with standards or statutes. 

"Day" means a calendar day unless otherwise specified. 

"Denial" means the act of refusing to grant a license after 

receipt of an initial or renewal application. 

"Department" means the Department of Education. 

"Early compliance" means that the licensee has demonstrated 

full compliance with requirements, allowing the department to 

replace a provisional or conditional license with a regular 

license. 

"Family day system" means any person who approves family 

day homes as members of its system; who refers children to 

available family day homes in that system; and who, through 

contractual arrangements, may provide central administrative 

functions including training of operators of family day homes; 

technical assistance and consultation to operators of member 

homes; inspection, supervision, monitoring, and evaluation of 

member homes; and referral of children to available health and 

social services.  

"Functional design" means the design features of building and 

grounds not regulated by the Virginia Uniform Statewide 

Building Code (13VAC5-63), necessary for particular 

activities and operations of a facility subject to licensure by the 

Department of Education. 

"Good character and reputation" means findings have been 

established and knowledgeable, reasonable, and objective 

people agree that the individual (i) maintains business or 

professional, family, and community relationships that are 

characterized by honesty, fairness, truthfulness, and 

dependability; and (ii) has a history or pattern of behavior that 

demonstrates the individual is suitable and able to administer a 

program for the care, supervision, and protection of children. 

Relatives by blood or marriage and persons who are not 

knowledgeable of the individual, such as recent acquaintances, 

may not be considered objective references. 
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"Hearing" means agency processes other than those 

informational or factual inquiries of an informal nature 

provided in §§ 2.2-4007 and 2.2-4019 of the Code of Virginia 

and includes only (i) opportunity for private parties to submit 

factual proofs in formal proceedings as provided in § 2.2-4009 

of the Code of Virginia in connection with the making of 

regulations or (ii) a similar right of private parties of public 

agencies as provided in § 2.2-4020 of the Code of Virginia in 

connection with case decisions. 

"Hearing coordinator" means the person designated by the 

Department of Education to perform certain administrative 

functions involved in setting up and carrying out the hearings 

concerning adverse action on a license for a child day program 

or family day system, as set out herein. 

"Hearing officer" means an attorney selected from a list 

maintained by the Executive Secretary of the Supreme Court 

in accordance with § 2.2-4024 of the Code of Virginia to 

preside at hearings concerning adverse action on a license for 

a child day program or family day system. 

"Informal conference" means the informal fact-finding 

procedures available pursuant to §§ 2.2-4019 and 2.2-3021 of 

the Code of Virginia. 

"Licensee" means any individual; corporation; partnership; 

association; limited liability company; local government; state 

agency, including any department, institution, authority, 

instrumentality, board, or other administrative agency of the 

Commonwealth; or other legal or commercial entity to whom 

a license is issued and who is legally responsible for 

compliance with the regulations and statutory requirements 

related to the operation or maintenance of the child day 

program or family day system. 

"Probationary status" means placing a licensee on notice that 

the facility or agency is substantially out of compliance with 

the terms of its license and the health, safety, and well-being 

of persons in care are at risk. Probationary status is a precursor 

to more serious action such as revocation, denial, or injunctive 

action unless immediate corrective action occurs. 

"Provisional license" means a license that may be issued upon 

expiration of a regular license when the licensee is temporarily 

unable to substantially comply with the requirements of the law 

and regulations. 

"Recommended findings of fact and recommended decision" 

means the report prepared by the hearing officer upon evidence 

presented in the administrative hearing based on the applicable 

laws and regulations under which the department operates. 

"Regular license" means a license that is issued for 12 months 

or more as provided in Article 3, Chapter 14.1 (§ 22.1-289.010 

et seq.) of Title 22.1 of the Code of Virginia to a facility 

determined to be in substantial compliance with applicable 

standards and regulations. The actual duration of the licensure 

period is stated on the license. 

"Revocation" means the act of terminating a license during its 

effective dates because of findings of serious noncompliance. 

"Special order" means an order imposing an administrative 

sanction issued to any party licensed pursuant to Title 22.1 of 

the Code of Virginia by the superintendent that has a stated 

duration of not more than 12 months. A special order shall be 

considered a case decision as defined in § 2.2-4001 of the Code 

of Virginia. The 12-month period begins 30 days after 

notification of the issuance of a special order or at the 

conclusion of all appeal steps. 

"Substantial compliance" means that while there may be 

noncompliance with one or more standards that represents 

minimal risk, compliance clearly and obviously exists with 

most of the standards as a whole. 

"Superintendent" means the Superintendent of Public 

Instruction at the Department of Education. 

8VAC20-820-20. Preplanning.  

A. Licensing staff are available throughout the application or 

licensing process to answer questions and provide consultation 

and technical assistance (see 8VAC20-820-130). 

B. In order to avoid costly errors, applicants and prospective 

applicants are urged to present their building plans to the 

department as early as possible and before entering into 

contracts in order to assure that the building can be 

preapproved as meeting the department's regulations (see 

8VAC20-820-150). 

C. The department will make an on-site inspection of the 

proposed facility and services; investigate the character and 

reputation of the licensee and, if required, staff and household 

members; and upon receipt of the initial application will 

investigate the financial responsibility of the applicant (see 

8VAC20-820-160). 

Part II 

Licensing Regulations 

8VAC20-820-30. Responsibility of the department.  

Through the administration of the licensing program, the 

Department of Education assumes responsibility to ensure that 

licensed facilities and agencies provide children with at least a 

minimum level of care in accordance with regulations 

prescribed by the State Board of Education. The department 

also has the responsibility to investigate allegations of illegal 

operations and to initiate action to suppress illegal operations. 

The Code of Virginia requires the State Board of Education to 

adopt regulations for the licensure of the following categories 

of facilities and agencies: 

1. Child day centers; 

2. Family day homes; and 

3. Family day systems. 
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8VAC20-820-40. Adoption of regulations.  

The State Board of Education has adopted regulations for 

each category listed above. The definition of each category and 

requirements for licensure are contained in each regulation. 

8VAC20-820-50. Regulation development/revision process.  

A. In developing or revising regulations for licensed facilities 

or agencies, the Department of Education, acting as agent for 

the State Board of Education, adheres to the requirements of 

the Administrative Process Act (§ 2.2-4000 et seq. of the Code 

of Virginia) and the public participation process. 

B. Input from licensees, associations of licensees, experts in 

related fields, advocacy organizations, consumers, and the 

general public is solicited in the development or revision of 

licensing regulations through informal and formal comment 

periods and public hearings. 

C. Periodic reviews are conducted and, when necessary, 

comprehensive revisions of each regulation to assure that its 

standards continue to protect children in out-of-home care 

while considering the interests of both providers and 

consumers of care. 

Part III 

Licenses 

8VAC20-820-60. General.  

A. A license to operate a facility or agency is issued to a 

specific person or organization to provide out-of-home care to 

children. An organization may be a partnership, association, 

corporation, limited liability company, or public entity. 

B. Pursuant to § 22.1-289.026 of the Code of Virginia, any 

person, officer, or member of a governing board of any 

association or corporation that operates a child day program or 

family day system shall be guilty of a Class 1 misdemeanor if 

he: 

1. Interferes with any representative of the superintendent in 

the discharge of the superintendent's licensing duties; 

2. Makes to the superintendent or any representative of the 

superintendent any report or statement with respect to the 

operation of any child day program or family day system that 

is known by such person to be false or untrue; 

3. Operates or engages in the conduct of these facilities 

without first obtaining a license as required or after such 

license has been revoked, suspended, or has expired and not 

been renewed; or 

4. Operates or engages in the conduct of one of these 

facilities serving more persons than the maximum stipulated 

in the license. 

C. When a licensee plans to close or sell a facility, the licensee 

shall notify the appropriate licensing office at least 60 days 

prior to the anticipated closure or sale date. When the facility 

closes or the sale is finalized, the license shall be returned to 

the appropriate licensing office. 

8VAC20-820-70. Nontransferability of license.  

A license is not transferable when there is a change in the 

ownership or location of the facility or agency to which the 

license has been issued. 

EXCEPTION: Licenses issued for family day systems are 

transferable when agencies change location. 

8VAC20-820-80. Conditional license.  

The department may issue a conditional license to a new 

facility or agency in order to permit the applicant to 

demonstrate compliance with specified standards. A 

conditional license may be renewed, but the issuance of a 

conditional license and any renewals thereof shall be for no 

longer a period than six successive months. When the 

conditional period is over, the facility or agency must 

substantially meet the standards or be denied a license. 

Conditional licenses may be used only for new facilities or 

agencies. 

8VAC20-820-90. Regular license.  

A regular license is issued when the activities, services, 

facilities, and applicant's financial responsibility substantially 

meet the requirements for a license that are set forth by 

regulations adopted by the State Board of Education and any 

additional requirements that may be specified by the Code of 

Virginia. 

8VAC20-820-100. Duration of licensure.  

Each license and renewal thereof may be issued for a period 

of up to three successive years. The criteria for determining the 

periods of licensure are based on the activities, services, 

management, and compliance history of the facility. 

A three-year license may be issued when a facility's activities, 

services, and management routinely substantially exceed the 

minimum standards. 

A two-year license may be issued when a facility's services 

and management routinely meet and maintain compliance with 

minimum standards and may exceed on a sustained basis in 

some areas. 

An annual license may be issued when a facility's activities, 

services, and management indicate an inconsistent level of 

compliance but substantial compliance is reached. Some 

reinforcement and guidance are needed in order for the facility 

to meet or maintain minimum requirements. 

EXCEPTION: A license, other than a conditional or 

provisional license, issued to a child day center shall have a 

duration of two years from the date of issuance. 
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8VAC20-820-110. Provisional license.  

When a regular license expires and the applicant is 

temporarily unable to comply with the requirements of the 

regulations, the department may issue a provisional license for 

any period not to exceed six months. A provisional license 

shall not be issued to a facility or agency immediately 

following a conditional license. At the conclusion of the 

provisional licensure period, the facility or agency must be in 

substantial compliance with licensing standards or be denied a 

license to continue operation. 

8VAC20-820-120. Terms of the license.  

A. A facility or an agency shall operate within the terms of its 

license, which are: 

1. The operating name of the facility or agency; 

2. The name of the individual, partnership, association, 

corporation, limited liability company, or public entity 

sponsoring the facility or agency; 

3. The physical location of the facility or agency; 

4. The maximum number of children who may be in care at 

any time; 

5. The period of time for which the license is effective; 

6. For child care facilities or agencies, the age range of 

children for whom care may be provided; and 

7. Any other limitations that the department may prescribe 

within the context of the regulations for any facility or 

agency. 

B. The provisional license cites the standards with which the 

licensee is not in compliance. 

C. The conditional license cites the standards with which the 

licensee must demonstrate compliance when operation begins, 

and also any standards with which the licensee is not in 

compliance. 

D. Prior to changes in operation that would affect the terms 

of the license, the licensee shall secure a modification to the 

terms of the license from the department. (See 8VAC20-820-

190.) 

E. Certain documents related to the terms of the license are 

required to be posted on the premises of each facility. These 

are: 

1. The most recently issued license. Any provisional license 

shall be posted at each public entrance of the facility and a 

notice shall be prominently displayed next to the license that 

states that a description of specific violations of licensing 

standards to be corrected and the deadline for completion of 

such corrections is available for inspection at the facility or 

on the facility's website, if applicable; 

2. The findings of the most recent inspection of the facility; 

3. Notice of the superintendent's intent to revoke or deny 

renewal of the license of a child day program or family day 

system. Such notice will be provided by the department and 

shall be posted in a prominent place at each public entrance 

of the facility to advise consumers of serious or persistent 

violations. 

4. A copy of any final order of summary suspension of all or 

part of a license for a child day program or family day system 

operated by an agency of the Commonwealth shall be 

prominently displayed by the provider at each public 

entrance of the facility, or the provider may display a written 

statement summarizing the terms of the order, printed in 

clear and legible size and typeface, in a prominent location 

and identifying the location within the facility where the 

final order of summary suspension may be reviewed. 

5. Notice of the Superintendent's intent to take any of the 

actions enumerated in subdivisions B 1 through B 6 of 

§ 22.1-289.023 of the Code of Virginia. Such notice will be 

provided by the department, and a copy of the notice shall 

be posted in a prominent place at each public entrance of the 

facility to advise consumers of serious or persistent 

violations. 

6. A copy of any special order issued by the department shall 

be posted in a prominent place at each public entrance of the 

licensed premises to advise consumers of serious or 

persistent violations. 

7. Any other documents required by the superintendent. 

Part IV 

Licensing Process 

8VAC20-820-130. Provider support services.  

A. The programmatic regulations require both general and 

specific training in various subject areas. The department 

provides preapplication consultation, ongoing technical 

assistance and consultation, and formal training sessions. The 

department's licensing representatives will provide assistance 

to any person seeking information about obtaining a license 

and information about initial and ongoing training 

requirements. 

B. Applicants for licensure shall complete a prelicensure 

orientation program that focuses on health and safety standards 

offered through or approved by the department. The 

superintendent may, at the superintendent's discretion, waive 

the orientation requirement or issue a license conditioned upon 

the owner's or administrator's completion of the required 

training. 

EXCEPTIONS: Applicants who have previously owned or 

managed a facility in satisfactory compliance with regulations 

are exempt from the requirements of prelicensure training. 
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8VAC20-820-140. Initial application.  

A. Upon request, the department will provide an application 

form for a license to operate a facility or agency. There are a 

number of licensing offices located throughout the state. 

B. The department will consider an application complete 

when the application fee and all the required information is 

submitted in the form required by the department. The 

schedule of fees for licenses is provided in 8VAC20-830. If the 

department finds the application incomplete, the applicant will 

be notified in writing within 15 days of receipt of the 

incomplete application. If the applicant does not resubmit a 

complete application within 30 days from the notification, all 

materials except the nonrefundable fee will be returned to the 

applicant. 

C. The applicant shall complete and submit the application to 

the department at least 60 days prior to a planned opening date 

to allow the department time to act on the application. 

D. The applicant may withdraw a request for a license. 

8VAC20-820-150. Approval of buildings and functional 

design features.  

A valid certificate of occupancy is one prerequisite for 

licensure. When an application is for licensure of a building 

that has not previously been used for the type of license or use 

group being sought, or when renovations are made in the 

building, the department must approve functional design 

features of the building in accordance with applicable 

department regulations. The procedures are as follows: 

1. Prior to beginning construction or renovation, the 

applicant or prospective applicant shall submit to the 

department floor plans that clearly indicate the use of space 

and other plans for compliance with all requirements for the 

building and physical environment contained in the 

applicable regulations. 

(NOTE: Applicants and prospective applicants are urged to 

present their plans for compliance with departmental 

regulations to the department as early as possible and before 

entering into contracts in order to assure that the building can 

be preapproved as meeting the department's regulations. 

Architects, contractors, or building officials may not be 

thoroughly familiar with these functional design 

requirements, and costly errors can be avoided through early 

review by the department.) 

2. The department will notify the applicant or prospective 

applicant within 10 working days of receipt if the plans to 

comply are incomplete, identifying the information still 

needed before the request can be considered complete. 

3. When a complete plan is received, the department will 

issue within 20 days a preliminary approval statement or a 

letter indicating disapproval of the plan and the reasons for 

disapproval. 

(NOTE: A preliminary approval statement does not imply 

that the department will approve the application for licensure 

since other factors will affect issuance decisions.) 

4. All preliminary approval statements are conditional upon 

there being no change in the proposal or the circumstances 

affecting them and upon approval of all required fire, health, 

or building officials. 

5. The department will forward a copy of the preliminary 

approval statement to the appropriate building official. 

6. After construction or renovation, department staff will 

make an on-site inspection to evaluate compliance with the 

functional design requirements of the applicable regulations. 

Findings of this on-site inspection will be forwarded to the 

applicant and the local building official. 

8VAC20-820-160. Investigation.  

A. Upon receipt of the application the superintendent shall: 

1. Cause an investigation to be made of the activities, 

services, and facilities of the applicant, and of his character 

and reputation; 

2. If the applicant is an association, partnership, limited 

liability company, or corporation, cause an investigation of 

the character and reputation of its officers and agents; and 

3. Upon receipt of the initial application, cause an 

investigation of the applicant's financial responsibility. 

B. At the time of the initial application and annually 

thereafter, the applicant or licensee shall be responsible for 

obtaining inspection reports from appropriate fire and health 

agencies to determine compliance with applicable regulations. 

EXCEPTION: This subsection does not apply to family day 

systems. 

1. All buildings shall be inspected and approved by the local 

building official when required. This approval shall be 

documented by a Certificate of Use and Occupancy 

indicating that the building is classified for its proposed 

licensed purpose. 

2. At the time of the initial application and at least annually 

thereafter, the applicant or licensee shall obtain an inspection 

report from state or local fire authorities, as applicable, to 

determine compliance of the building or buildings with the 

Virginia Statewide Fire Prevention Code (13VAC5-51). 

3. At the time of the initial application and at least annually 

thereafter, the applicant or licensee shall obtain an inspection 

report from state or local health authorities that shall include 

approval of general sanitation and, if applicable, water 

supply, sewage disposal systems, and food service 

operations for the building or buildings in which the facility 

is operated. 
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C. The department's representative will make an on-site 

inspection of the proposed facility or agency and an 

investigation of the proposed services, as well as an 

investigation of the character, reputation, and financial 

responsibility of the applicant. Compliance with all standards 

will be determined by the Department of Education. The 

licensee is responsible for correcting any areas of 

noncompliance found during any on-site inspection. 

D. The applicant or licensee shall at all times afford the 

department's representative reasonable opportunity to inspect 

all of the facility's or agency's buildings, books, and records. 

Records that contain confidential proprietary information 

furnished to the department pursuant to this section shall be 

exempt from disclosure pursuant to subdivision 4 of § 2.2-

3705.5 of the Code of Virginia. 

At the time of the initial application, the financial records of 

an applicant shall not be subject to inspection if the applicant 

submits an operating budget and at least one credit reference. 

E. The applicant or licensee shall also allow the department's 

representative to interview the facility's or agency's agents, 

employees, participants, and any person under its custody, 

control, direction, or supervision. Interviews with participants 

and any person under the facility's or agency's custody, control, 

direction, or supervision shall be: 

1. Authorized by the person to be interviewed or the person's 

legally authorized representative; and 

2. Limited to discussion of issues related to the applicant's 

or licensee's compliance with applicable laws and 

regulations for licensure of the facility or agency. 

F. After the on-site inspection the licensing representative 

will discuss the findings of the investigation with the 

administrator, licensee, or designee. As applicable, the 

applicant shall submit an acceptable plan for correcting any 

areas of noncompliance following these discussions. 

G. At any time during the investigation, an applicant or 

licensee may request an allowable variance to any standard that 

creates a special hardship. (See Part V (8VAC20-820-220 et 

seq.) of this chapter.) 

8VAC20-820-170. Notice to the applicant of issuance or 

denial of a license.  

A. When the investigation is completed, the department will 

notify the applicant of its decision regarding the issuance of a 

license. 

B. When the department intends to deny the license, the 

department will send a letter stating the reasons for this action 

and the applicant's right to appeal the decision. (See Part VIII 

(8VAC20-820-320 et seq.) of this chapter.) 

8VAC20-820-180. Determination of continued compliance 

(renewal and monitoring inspections).  

A. In order to determine continued compliance with standards 

during the effective dates of the license, the department's 

licensing representative will make announced and 

unannounced inspections of the facility or agency during the 

hours of its operation. The licensee is responsible for 

correcting any areas of noncompliance found during renewal 

or monitoring inspections. 

B. All licensed child day programs and family day systems 

shall be inspected at least twice a year. At least one 

unannounced inspection of each licensed facility shall be made 

each year. 

C. The department's representative may also make such 

inspections of any homes or facilities that are approved by the 

licensee for the care of children as one of the licensed services 

of the agency. 

D. For any licensed child day center or family day system, the 

department may conduct such other announced or 

unannounced inspections as are considered appropriate. 

NOTE: When necessary to respond to excessive workloads or 

to give priority to higher risk situations, the department may 

use its discretion to increase or decrease the frequency of 

announced and unannounced inspections made to licensed 

facilities during the year. 

8VAC20-820-190. Modification.  

A. The licensee may request a modification of the terms of a 

license at any time during the period of the license. The request 

must be submitted in writing to the department's 

representative. 

The department will evaluate written information about any 

planned changes in operation that would affect either the terms 

of the license or the continuing eligibility for a license. A 

licensing representative may inspect the facility during the 

process of evaluating a proposed modification. 

Examples of such changes are: changes in the number of 

children to be served, staff responsibilities, availability and use 

of the physical plant, and changes in program focus or needs 

of the population to be served. 

B. If a modification can be granted under the standards, the 

department will issue a modified license reflecting the changes. 

In the event that a new application is needed or the 

modification cannot be granted, the licensee will be advised by 

letter. 

8VAC20-820-200. Early compliance.  

A. A provisional or conditional license may be voided and a 

regular license issued when all of the following conditions 

exist: 
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1. The facility or agency complies with all standards listed 

on the face of the provisional or conditional license prior to 

the mid-point of the licensure period or within 90 days of the 

expiration date of the provisional or conditional license, 

whichever comes first, and the facility or agency is in 

substantial compliance with all other standards. 

2. Compliance has been verified by an on-site observation 

by the department's licensing representative or, when 

applicable, by written evidence provided by the licensee. 

3. All other terms of the license remain the same. 

B. The licensee shall make a written request to the licensing 

representative for replacement of a provisional or conditional 

license with a regular license. 

C. When the request is approved by the department, the 

effective date of the new regular license will be the same as the 

beginning date of the voided license. When the request is not 

approved, the reasons for this action will be confirmed to the 

licensee in writing. 

D. Early compliance shall not be considered once the facility 

or agency has filed a renewal application. 

8VAC20-820-210. Renewal process.  

A. The department will send an application for renewal of the 

license to the licensee prior to the expiration date of the current 

license. The licensee shall submit the completed application 

form, including all attachments and the licensing application 

fee, in a timely manner to assure adequate time for processing 

by the department. In order for the application to be considered 

complete, the licensee must have paid any outstanding civil 

penalty assessed in a case decision. 

B. The department will not process a renewal application that 

is not complete or when the current license is being denied or 

revoked in accordance with the provisions of the 

Administrative Process Act. 

C. Should a current license expire before a new license is 

issued, the current license shall remain in effect provided that 

a complete application was filed prior to expiration of the 

current license and a decision for licensure is pending. 

D. The department will follow the procedure for investigation 

and notice to the applicant previously outlined in 8VAC20-

820-160, 8VAC20-820-170, and 8VAC20-820-180. 

Part V 

Allowable Variances 

8VAC20-820-220. Conditions for initiating a request.  

A licensee or applicant may request an allowable variance 

when he believes that the existing standard or requirement 

poses a substantial financial or programmatic hardship and 

when he believes that either an alternative method of 

compliance with the intent of the standard that is causing the 

hardship, or the actual suspension of all or part of that standard, 

would neither endanger the safety or well-being of persons in 

care nor create a violation of statutes or of the requirements of 

another regulatory agency. 

8VAC20-820-230. Process.  

A. The licensee or applicant shall make a written request for 

consideration of an allowable variance. The department's 

licensing representative may provide consultation to the 

applicant or licensee in the development of the written request 

and throughout the allowable variance process. 

1. The licensee or applicant shall describe the special 

hardship or hardships to the existing program or to a planned 

innovative or pilot program that will be caused by the 

enforcement of the requirement or requirements. 

2. The licensee or applicant shall propose alternatives to 

meet the purpose of the requirement that will ensure the 

protection and well-being of persons in care. 

3. The licensee or applicant shall obtain, when requested by 

the department, the opinions of professionals in the field or 

documented research, or both, that the proposed activities, 

facilities, or equipment are not injurious to persons in care. 

4. The department can authorize allowable variances only to 

its own licensing standards, not to regulations of another 

agency or to any requirement in federal, state, or local laws. 

B. The department's licensing representative will notify the 

petitioning applicant or licensee of the department's decision. 

C. Approval. 

1. The department may attach conditions to the granting of 

the allowable variance in order to protect persons in care. 

2. Allowable variances are conditional upon there being no 

change in the circumstances that were the basis for the 

approval. Any allowable variance may be rescinded or 

modified if needs or conditions change; additional 

information becomes known that alters the basis for the 

original decision; the applicant or licensee fails to meet any 

conditions attached to the allowable variance; or results of 

the allowable variance jeopardize the safety, comfort, or 

well-being of persons in care. 

3. Allowable variances expire automatically when there is a 

change in the facility's location or a change in the 

sponsorship of the facility or agency. 

EXCEPTION: Allowable variances issued to family day 

systems are transferable when agencies change location. 

4. The department's licensing representative will review 

each allowable variance at least annually. At minimum, this 

review shall address the impact of the allowable variance on 

persons in care, adherence to any conditions attached, and 

the continuing need for the allowable variance. 
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D. Denial. 

1. When the decision is to deny a request for an allowable 

variance, the reason will be provided in writing to the 

applicant or licensee. 

2. When a request for an allowable variance is denied, it may 

be reconsidered if the applicant or licensee submits another 

written request and provides new or additional supporting 

information within 30 days of denial. 

NOTE: After the 30-day period, the applicant or licensee 

may submit a new allowable variance request describing 

changed conditions. 

3. The department will reconsider the new request and the 

additional information and will notify the applicant or 

licensee of the decision within 30 days of receipt of the 

second request. This decision will be considered final and is 

not appealable. 

E. When an allowable variance is denied, expires, or is 

rescinded, routine enforcement of the standard or portion of the 

standard shall be resumed. 

F. The applicant or licensee may at any time withdraw a 

request for an allowable variance. 

Part VI 

Problem Solving Conferences 

8VAC20-820-240. Initiating a request for a problem 

solving conference.  

When an applicant or licensee has concerns about licensing 

procedures, interpretation of standards, or the actions of 

licensing personnel that cannot be resolved satisfactorily in 

discussion with the assigned licensing representative, the 

problem solving steps outlined below are available. 

Licensing staff may also initiate a request for problem solving 

conferences with applicants or licensees when the need arises. 

8VAC20-820-250. First step review.  

A. The applicant or licensee may request either a desk review 

by, or a meeting with, the assigned licensing representative's 

immediate supervisor. 

B. If the request stems from a desire to contest the findings or 

conclusions of an inspection, the following procedures shall 

apply: 

1. The applicant or licensee shall make the request within 15 

days of receiving the compliance plan. 

2. The request shall specify the contested finding or 

conclusion and shall specify whether a desk review or 

conference is being requested. 

3. The request shall include the applicant's or licensee's 

reasons or other evidence supporting the request for a review 

or a conference. 

C. The first step informal desk review or conference will be 

held at the supervisor's office unless the supervisor designates 

a different location. The following procedures shall apply: 

1. The supervisor will report the findings of a desk review in 

writing within 10 days of receiving the request and 

supporting materials or will hold the requested conference 

within 30 days of receipt of such request and materials. 

2. When the request is for a conference, the supervisor will, 

within 10 days following the conference, confirm to the 

applicant or licensee in writing the results of the conference 

and any subsequent decisions made by the supervisor. 

8VAC20-820-260. Second step review.  

A. If after the first step review, the applicant or licensee 

believes that the laws, regulations, or departmental policies 

have been applied or interpreted in a manner that was 

unreasonable, arbitrary or capricious, he may request a second 

step review by program supervisory personnel as assigned by 

the Director of Child Care Licensing Programs according to 

the provisions of this section. 

B. A second step review shall not be requested to challenge 

the content of an established law, regulation, or policy. 

However, the application of a law, regulation, or policy may 

be challenged. 

C. When a second step review is requested, the request must 

be in writing. 

D. The second step review request shall: 

1. Be made within 15 days of the date of the first step 

response; 

2. Specify the reason for requesting the second step informal 

review and include such information, explanation, or 

additional materials as necessary to support the applicant's 

or licensee's belief that the decision reached at the first step 

was unreasonable, arbitrary, or capricious; and 

3. Include a copy of relevant materials and correspondence 

developed at the first step of the informal appeal process. 

E. Within 30 days of receipt of this request, the director's 

office will respond in writing with the results of the desk 

review or schedule a conference. 

8VAC20-820-270. Enforcement of disputed regulation.  

Nothing in this part shall prohibit the department from 

exercising its responsibility and authority to enforce the 

disputed regulation during the problem solving process, 

including proceeding directly to imposition of administrative 

sanctions, or recommending petitions for injunction when, in 

the judgment of the Director, Office of Child Care Licensing, 

there is sufficient risk to persons in care to do so whether or 

not the steps available in the problem solving process have 

been exhausted. 
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Part VII 

Complaint Investigation 

8VAC20-820-280. Receipt of complaints.  

Complaints may be received in written or oral form and may 

be anonymous. The department maintains a toll-free telephone 

line to receive complaints on all licensed facilities. 

8VAC20-820-290. Investigation of complaints.  

The department has the responsibility to investigate any 

complaints regarding alleged violations of the standards or 

statutes and complaints of the abuse and neglect of persons in 

care. 

NOTE: In an investigation involving suspected child abuse, 

neglect, or exploitation in a licensed facility, the investigation 

will be conducted jointly with the local department of social 

services whenever possible in accordance with departmental 

policy. 

8VAC20-820-300. Notification of findings.  

When the investigation is completed, the licensee will be 

notified of the findings of the investigation. Any necessary 

corrective action will be identified. 

8VAC20-820-310. Licensee's responsibility.  

The licensee is responsible for correcting any areas of 

noncompliance found during a complaint investigation. 

Part VIII 

Sanctions 

8VAC20-820-320. Violation of standards or statutes.  

A. The Superintendent of the Department of Education may 

impose such sanctions or take such actions as are appropriate 

for violation of any of the standards or statutes or for abuse or 

neglect of persons in care. 

B. The following reasons may be considered by the 

department for the imposition of administrative sanctions: 

1. Failure to demonstrate or maintain compliance with 

applicable standards or for violations of the provisions of the 

Code of Virginia; 

2. Permitting, aiding, or abetting the commission of any 

illegal act in the licensed facility or agency; 

3. Engaging in conduct or practices that are in violation of 

statutes and standards relating to abuse, neglect, or 

exploitation of children; or 

4. Deviating significantly from the program or services for 

which a license was issued without obtaining prior written 

approval from the department, or failure to correct such 

deviations within a specified time. 

8VAC20-820-330. Administrative sanctions.  

The superintendent may impose administrative sanctions or 

initiate court proceedings, severally or jointly, when 

appropriate in order to ensure prompt correction of violations 

involving noncompliance with state law or regulation child day 

programs and family day systems as discovered through any 

inspection or investigation conducted by the Department of 

Education, the Virginia Department of Health, the Virginia 

Department of Behavioral Health and Developmental 

Services, or by state and local building or fire prevention 

officials. These administrative sanctions include: 

1. Revoking or denying renewal of a license for any child 

day program or family day system that fails to comply with 

the limitations and standards set forth in its license; 

2. Issuing a notice of summary suspension of the license to 

operate a child day program or family day system pursuant 

to proceedings set forth in § 22.1-289.022 C of the Code of 

Virginia or pursuant to proceedings set forth in § 22.1-

289.024 of the Code of Virginia for child day programs or 

family day systems operated by an agency of the 

Commonwealth in conjunction with any proceedings for 

revocation, denial, or other action, when conditions or 

practices exist in the child day program or family day system 

that pose an immediate and substantial threat to the health, 

safety, and welfare of children receiving care; and 

3. Imposing administrative sanctions through the issuance of 

a special order as provided in § 22.1-289.023 of the Code of 

Virginia. These include: 

a. Placing a licensee on probation upon finding that the 

licensee is substantially out of compliance with the terms 

of the license and that the health and safety of children is 

at risk; 

b. Reducing the licensed capacity or prohibiting new 

admissions when the superintendent has determined that 

the licensee cannot make necessary corrections to achieve 

compliance with the regulations except by a temporary 

restriction of its scope of service; 

c. Mandating training for the licensee or licensee's 

employees, with any costs to be borne by the licensee, 

when the superintendent has determined that the lack of 

such training has led directly to violations of regulations; 

d. Assessing civil penalties of not more than $500 per 

inspection upon finding that the licensee of a child day 

program or family day system is substantially out of 

compliance with the terms of its license and the health and 

safety of children is at risk; 

e. Requiring licensees to contact parents, guardians, or 

other responsible persons in writing regarding health and 

safety violations; and 

f. Preventing licensees who are substantially out of 

compliance with the licensure terms or in violation of the 

regulations from receiving public funds. 
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8VAC20-820-340. Summary suspension procedures.  

A. In conjunction with any proceeding for revocation, denial, 

or other action when conditions or practices exist that pose an 

immediate and substantial threat to the health, safety, and 

welfare of children, the Superintendent may issue a notice of 

summary suspension of the license to operate a child day 

program or family day system or of certain authority of the 

licensee to provide certain services or perform certain 

functions. 

B. The hearing coordinator will select a hearing officer from 

a list prepared by the Executive Secretary of the Supreme 

Court of Virginia and will schedule the time, date, and location 

of the hearing to determine whether the suspension is 

appropriate as required by § 22.1-289.022 C or 22.1-289.024 

C of the Code of Virginia. 

C. Simultaneously with the issuance of a notice of revocation, 

denial, or other action, the superintendent will issue to the 

licensee a notice of summary suspension setting forth the 

following: 

1. The procedures for the summary suspension; 

2. The hearing and appeal rights as set forth in this 

subsection; 

3. Facts and evidence that formed the basis for which the 

summary order of suspension is sought; and 

4. The time, date, and location of the hearing. 

D. Notice of the summary suspension shall be served on the 

licensee or the licensee's designee by personal service or by 

certified mail, return receipt requested, to the address of record 

of the licensee as soon as practicable after issuance thereof. 

E. The hearing shall take place in the locality where the child 

day program or family day system operates unless the licensee 

or the licensee's designee expressly waives this venue 

provision. 

1. The hearing shall be held no later than 15 business days 

after service of notice on the licensee. The hearing officer 

may grant a continuance upon written request and for good 

cause shown. In no event shall any continuance exceed 10 

business days after the initial hearing date. 

2. The hearing coordinator will forward a copy of the 

relevant licensing standards to the hearing officer. 

3. The hearing will be conducted in accordance with the 

procedures set forth in 8VAC20-820-460, 8VAC20-820-

470, and 8VAC20-820-480. 

4. The department may be represented either by counsel or 

by agency staff authorized by § 2.2-509 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

F. Within 10 days of the conclusion of the hearing, the hearing 

officer shall provide to the superintendent written findings and 

conclusions, together with a recommendation as to whether the 

license should be summarily suspended. The department shall 

have the burden of proof in any summary suspension hearing. 

The decision of the hearing officer shall be based on the 

preponderance of the evidence presented by the record and 

relevant to the basic law under which the agency is operating. 

G. Within 10 business days of receipt of the hearing officer's 

findings, conclusions, and recommendation, the 

superintendent may issue a final order of summary suspension 

or an order that such summary suspension is not warranted by 

the facts and circumstances presented. 

H. In issuing a final order of summary suspension, the 

superintendent may: 

1. Suspend the license of the child day program or family 

day system; or 

2. Suspend only certain authority of the child day program 

or family day system to provide certain services or perform 

certain functions that the Superintendent determines should 

be restricted or modified in order to protect the health, 

safety, and welfare of the children receiving care. 

I. The superintendent shall adopt the hearing officer's 

recommended decision unless to do so would be an error of 

law or department policy. 

J. In the event the superintendent rejects a hearing officer's 

findings, conclusions, or recommended decision, the 

superintendent shall state with particularity the basis for 

rejection. 

K. A copy of any final order of summary suspension shall be 

prominently displayed at each public entrance of the facility as 

required in 8VAC20-820-120. 

L. The signed, original case decision shall remain in the 

custody of the agency as a public record, subject to the agency's 

records retention policy. 

8VAC20-820-350. Appeal process.  

A. The applicant or licensee will receive a notice of the 

department's intent to impose an administrative sanction. This 

notice will describe the sanctions and the reasons for the 

imposition. Service of the notice of adverse action is achieved 

by certified mailing of the notice to the applicant or licensee, 

unless service is made by other means and acknowledged by 

the applicant or licensee. If the applicant or licensee wishes to 

appeal the notice of adverse action, he shall have 15 days after 

receipt of the notice to note his appeal. 

B. Upon receipt of the notice to impose an administrative 

sanction, the applicant or licensee has the right to appeal the 

decision in accordance with the Administrative Process Act (§ 

2.2-4000 et seq. of the Code of Virginia). The procedures for 

filing an appeal will be outlined in the notice. The applicant or 

licensee shall submit any appeal of imposition of an 
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administrative sanction in writing within 15 days of receipt of 

the notice. 

C. If the applicant or licensee fails to appeal the notice of 

adverse action within 15 days of receipt of the notice, the final 

order will be entered. The decision will take effect 30 days 

after receipt of the notice. 

D. The appeal process available is governed by law. Where 

the sanction is imposed by means of a special order as provided 

in § 22.1-289.023 of the Code of Virginia, the case decision is 

issued by the superintendent following findings and 

conclusions resulting from the informal conference. Other 

sanctions include a provision for an administrative hearing, 

which is described in § 2.2-4020 of the Code of Virginia, prior 

to the issuance of the case decision. For ease of reference, the 

process steps are displayed in the following chart: 

List of Sanctions with Appeal Provisions 

Administrative 

Sanction 
Informal 

Conference 

Administrative 

Hearing 

Circuit 

Court 

Review 

of Case 

Decision 

Place licensee on 

probation 
X  X 

Reduce licensed 

capacity 
X  X 

Restrict admissions X  X 

Mandate training for 

licensee or staff 
X  X 

Assess civil penalty X  X 

Require written 

contact with 

responsible persons 

X  X 

Prevent receipt of 

public funds 
X  X 

Deny application for 

new or renewal 

license 

X X X 

Revoke license X X X 

E. A final order of summary suspension for a child day 

program or family day system not operated by an agency of the 

Commonwealth shall include notice that the licensee may 

appeal the superintendent's decision to the appropriate circuit 

court no later than 10 days following service of the order. 

1. The sole issue before the court shall be whether the 

superintendent had reasonable grounds to require the 

licensee to cease operations during the pendency of the 

concurrent revocation, denial, or other proceedings. 

2. The concurrent revocation, denial, or other proceedings 

shall not be affected by the outcome of any hearing on the 

appropriateness of the summary suspension. 

8VAC20-820-360. Failure to pay civil penalty.  

A. If an outstanding civil penalty assessed after a case 

decision is not paid as required, the superintendent shall have 

the authority to: 

1. Assess a late fee if the civil penalty payment is 60 days 

overdue, provided the total of the civil penalty and late fee 

do not exceed the penalty set forth in § 22.1-289.023 of the 

Code of Virginia; 

2. Reduce the duration of the licensure period if the civil 

penalty payment is 60 days overdue; and 

3. Deny renewal or revoke the license if the civil penalty 

payment is 90 days overdue. 

B. The department will also institute legal collection 

procedures to collect unpaid penalties. 

C. If a licensee appeals the imposition of a civil penalty, the 

provisions of this section shall not apply until the appeal is 

complete. 

Part IX 

Hearings Procedures 

8VAC20-820-370. Scope.  

The appeal process as set forth in this part shall apply 

whenever the Department of Education takes adverse action on 

a license for a child day program or family day system. 

Therefore, whenever the department either revokes or refuses 

to issue or renew a license or imposes any other sanction for a 

child day program or family day system, the procedures 

specified in this part to produce a case decision shall be 

initiated. 

8VAC20-820-380. Statutory basis for appeal process.  

The Department of Education is mandated by statute to 

enforce the standards adopted by the State Board of Education 

pursuant to § 22.1-289.046 of the Code of Virginia, regarding 

facilities required to be licensed under Chapter 14.1 (§ 22.1-

289.010 et seq.) of Title 22.1 of the Code of Virginia. As part 

of this enforcement duty, § 22.1-289.024 of the Code of 

Virginia requires that the procedures under the Administrative 

Process Act (§ 2.2-4000 et seq., of the Code of Virginia) shall 

apply whenever the department takes adverse action. 

8VAC20-820-390. Duties of the hearing coordinator.  

The hearing coordinator is the person designated by the 

Department of Education to perform certain administrative 

functions involved in setting up and carrying out the appeal 

process. The hearing coordinator's duties include the 

following: 
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1. Making a request to the Supreme Court for a hearing 

officer upon timely request for a formal administrative 

hearing. 

2. Scheduling the date, time and location for the hearing. 

3. Ensuring that a court reporter has been hired to record the 

hearing. 

4. Preparing appropriate material for distribution to all 

participants. This includes the appointment of the hearing 

officer, preparing the notice of the hearing, and preparing the 

forms for the hearing officer to subpoena witnesses. It also 

includes submission of documents in the record, appropriate 

standards and any other pertinent information to all 

participants. 

5. Monitoring the status of proceedings and the observance 

of timeframes throughout the appeal process. 

8VAC20-820-400. Informal conference.  

A. Section 2.2-4019 of the Code of Virginia provides the 

aggrieved party the right to request an informal conference. In 

the case of administrative sanctions that include a provision for 

an administrative hearing, the named party and the agency may 

consent to waive such a conference to go directly to the 

hearing. 

B. The informal conference is a fact-finding process. The 

purpose of an informal conference is to give the aggrieved 

party an opportunity to present information or evidence he 

believes indicates that the intended sanction was based on 

factual error or on misinterpretation of facts, or to determine if 

the dispute may be resolved by consent. The department will 

decide if the conference will be open to the public. 

C. If the aggrieved party presents exhibits or other documents 

that contain facts previously unknown to the conference chair, 

the conference chair may determine that the new information 

requires verification. Upon making such a determination, the 

conference chair shall notify the aggrieved party that the 

information needs to be verified. The report on the informal 

conference shall be held open for 14 days to allow for the 

verification of the exhibits or other documents. The conference 

chair has the option to require the aggrieved party to provide 

such verification. 

D. If the aggrieved party believes the matter can be resolved 

by consent, a written proposal must be submitted to the 

department-appointed chair of the conference no later than five 

work days prior to the conference unless different 

arrangements are agreed upon with the chair. In no case may a 

proposed consent agreement be submitted later than the day of 

the conference. 

E. Following the informal conference, the chair will prepare 

a written report and recommended decision to the department 

that will include statutory authority or legal basis for the 

remaining steps in the administrative appeals process; a 

summary of the conference; the previous disposition as set out 

in the notice of adverse action, i.e., those issues on appeal; the 

findings of fact; the description of evidence; and the 

recommended decision or options. Within 90 days from the 

date of the informal conference, or from a later date agreed to 

by the aggrieved party and the agency, the department will 

issue its official decision in writing to the aggrieved party, 

including information concerning the named party's right to 

continue his appeal. The written report prepared by the chair 

will be attached to the letter and will be incorporated by 

reference. 

F. When an informal conference is conducted following 

notification of an intent to issue a special order, the issuance of 

the special order shall be considered a case decision as defined 

in § 2.2-4001 of the Code of Virginia. Service of the decision 

following the informal conference shall be achieved by mailing 

the decision to the licensee, unless service is made by other 

means and acknowledged in writing by the licensee. If the 

licensee wishes to appeal the decision, he shall have 30 days 

after service of the notice to make such a request. If service is 

accomplished by mail, three days shall be added to the 30-day 

period. Any appeal following an informal conference related 

to special orders shall be made to the circuit court. All other 

appeals shall follow procedures set forth in the Administrative 

Process Act. 

8VAC20-820-410. Consent agreements.  

A. A consent agreement may be proposed by a licensee in lieu 

of adverse action. The proposed consent agreement shall be 

submitted no later than five work days prior to the conference 

unless different arrangements are agreed upon with the chair. 

In no case may a proposed consent agreement be submitted 

later than the day of the informal conference. 

B. An acceptable consent agreement shall contain the 

following specific elements: 

1. Dates of key actions, such as letter of sanction, timely 

appeal, the informal conference (if already held), and the 

names of the parties; 

2. The assertion that all violations detailed in the letter of 

denial or revocation have been corrected or will be corrected 

by a time specified in the proposed agreement; 

3. A description in detail of the case-specific systemic 

solution proposed that addresses the causes of the past 

history of violations, including the methods the licensee has 

in place to prevent violations and to monitor results; 

4. A stipulation by the licensee to the validity of the 

violations enumerated in the specified correspondence and 

waiver of right to hearing under the Administrative Process 

Act (§ 2.2-4000 et seq. of the Code of Virginia) solely with 

respect to those violations; 
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5. The duration of the consent agreement, including the 

information that the period begins when the division director 

signs; 

6. A statement that when the division director signs the 

agreement, signifying final acceptance, the division director 

is also agreeing to rescind the outstanding adverse action and 

that the licensee is agreeing to withdraw all appeals to that 

action; and 

7. A statement outlining conditions for termination of the 

final agreement for cause and the nature of the licensee's 

appeal rights in that event. 

C. Throughout the duration of the consent agreement, 

licensing staff will make frequent inspections to determine 

whether the terms of the consent agreement are being 

implemented and whether its intended results are being 

achieved. 

8VAC20-820-420. Acknowledgment of request for an 

administrative hearing.  

Upon receipt of the written request from the aggrieved party 

for an administrative hearing pursuant to §§ 2.2-4020 and 2.2-

4021 of the Code of Virginia, a hearing will be scheduled in 

the locality where the aggrieved party operates unless he 

expressly waives this venue provision (§ 8.01-261 of the Code 

of Virginia). The hearing coordinator will request appointment 

of a hearing officer from the list of qualified attorneys kept by 

the Supreme Court of Virginia. After a hearing officer is 

appointed and duly designated by the superintendent, a notice 

of hearing will be sent to the aggrieved party with a copy to the 

agency representative for the case. The department may be 

represented either by counsel or by agency staff authorized by 

§ 2.2-509 of the Code of Virginia. After the hearing officer is 

appointed, the hearing coordinator will forward a copy of the 

relevant licensing standards and appeal procedures to the 

hearing officer. The hearing coordinator will not be directly 

involved in any investigation or litigation function in 

connection with the case. 

8VAC20-820-430. Continuances.  

A request for continuance shall be made to the hearing officer 

at least five days prior to the time designated for the hearing, 

except in cases of emergency. No continuance of an 

administrative hearing shall be granted except at the discretion 

of the hearing officer, for good cause shown and with due 

consideration of the potential risks to children in the facility 

from extended exposure to conditions detailed in the agency's 

revocation or denial letter. All parties involved in a hearing 

shall avoid delay caused by unnecessary postponements or 

continuances so that a decision can be made expeditiously. 

8VAC20-820-440. Recesses and postponements.  

The hearing officer has authority to grant recesses and 

postponements where necessary for the convenience and 

comfort of the parties, witnesses, and the court reporter. 

8VAC20-820-450. Prehearing conferences.  

The hearing officer has the statutory power to hold 

conferences for the settlement or simplification of issues by the 

parties. The hearing officer may hold a prehearing conference 

for the stipulation of certain facts or for any other purposes that 

might be accomplished by such a preliminary process. It may 

be useful for the hearing officer to direct the parties to submit 

to him and exchange in advance of the conference: proposed 

statements of issues, proposed stipulations, requests for 

information, statements of position, proposed procedural data, 

and the exchange of exhibits. The notice for such a prehearing 

conference must be established by the hearing officer as to the 

date, time and place for such conference. It will not be 

necessary to provide a verbatim reporting of the prehearing 

conference. A report summarizing the results of this 

conference must be prepared, consisting of a list of 

appearances, agreements reached, the hearing officer's rulings, 

and other matters decided. A copy of this report shall be 

provided to all persons who entered appearances, which shall 

become part of the agency record. 

8VAC20-820-460. Conduct of hearing.  

A. To initiate the proceedings, the hearing officer will call the 

hearing to order and make a brief statement giving the name of 

the proceeding, its case number, the names of all persons 

present and involved in the proceeding, and other appropriate 

introductory remarks such as the general rules of decorum and 

conduct. The parties shall be entitled to be accompanied by and 

represented by counsel. Before the formal presentation of 

evidence begins, the parties should be given an opportunity to 

bring up any preliminary matters or motions. If a hearing 

officer has questions or issues regarding the procedures in the 

hearing or his role in conducting the hearing, these questions 

shall be directed to the hearing coordinator. The parties at 

administrative hearings have the right to conduct cross-

examination to obtain full and fair disclosure of the facts. The 

hearing officer will decide if the hearing will be open to the 

public. 

B. The following shall be the order of proceedings at all 

hearings, subject to modification by the hearing officer before 

such hearing is commenced, for good cause: 

1. Presentation, argument, and disposition of all preliminary 

matters and motions. 

2. Presentation of opening statements. Such statements are 

not subject to cross-examination or an opportunity to present 

argumentative testimony. 

3. Agency representative presents the case, calling witnesses 

in such order as is seen fit. Each witness should be subject 

to direct, cross, and redirect examination. Both the counsel 

for the adverse party and the hearing officer may direct 

questions to the witness. 
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4. The aggrieved party should present its case, using the 

same guidelines as established in subdivision 3 of this 

subsection. 

5. Rebuttal evidence by the agency representative should be 

permitted. 

6. At the close of the presentation of evidence, the parties 

may exercise their rights pursuant to §§ 2.2-4020 and 2.2-

4021 of the Code of Virginia. The parties, on request, shall 

be given the opportunity for closing argument and may 

submit for the record, in writing, proposed findings and 

conclusions. 

8VAC20-820-470. Rules of evidence.  

A. The burden of proof shall be upon the proponent. 

Therefore, if this is a situation where the department has 

revoked a license or imposed another administrative sanction 

subject to appeal by administrative hearing, the department is 

the proponent and has the burden of proof. However, in cases 

where the department has refused to grant an initial or renewal 

license, the proponent is the applicant and has the burden of 

proving that it should be granted a license. 

B. The formal rules of evidence shall not apply. The hearing 

officer shall receive any probative evidence, and should strike, 

on objection or own motion, evidence that is irrelevant, 

immaterial, insubstantial, privileged, or repetitive, as required 

by §§ 2.2-4020 and 2.2-4021 of the Code of Virginia. If a 

question or answer at hearing is irrelevant, improper, or 

excludable, the hearing officer may strike it without waiting 

for an objection. 

C. A party to the hearing may conduct examinations or cross 

examinations without rigid adherence to formal rules of 

evidence, provided the examination or cross examination does 

not become abusive or constitute harassment of the witness, 

and the examination can be shown to be necessary to result in 

full and fair disclosure of the facts bearing upon matters in 

issue. The hearing officer may examine all or any of the 

witnesses at the hearing. 

8VAC20-820-480. Record at hearing.  

All testimony in the administrative hearing must be recorded 

either stenographically or by mechanical means. All 

documents or other evidence received are also part of the 

record and must be maintained. In addition, a record must be 

maintained of all evidence offered but excluded. See Rule 2A: 

3 (c) of the Rules of the Supreme Court of Virginia. As a matter 

of practice, it would be appropriate for the hearing officer to 

conditionally receive evidence and thereafter, if it is 

excludable, to avoid considering it in making the decision. In 

this way, if it is determined on judicial review that the hearing 

officer erroneously decided that the evidence was excludable, 

the case can be remanded for reconsideration of the evidence 

submitted but rejected as exhibits. 

8VAC20-820-490. Recommendations of the hearing officer.  

A. By statute, the hearing officer shall recommend findings 

of fact and a decision upon the preponderance of the evidence 

presented by the record and relevant to the basic law under 

which the agency is operating (§§ 2.2-4020 and 2.2-4021 of 

the Code of Virginia.). The recommended decision of the 

hearing officer shall be made upon consideration and review of 

the record as a whole or such portions of the record as may be 

cited by any party to the proceedings. The findings of fact shall 

be based exclusively on admissible evidence or matters that are 

officially noticed. The recommendation shall be in writing and 

shall include specific findings on all the major facts in issue. 

B. The hearing officer shall provide a recommendation within 

90 days from the date the agency record is closed (that is, the 

date of the final hearing or the date by which the hearing officer 

prescribes that all evidence shall be submitted) or from a later 

date if agreed to by the aggrieved party and the agency (§ 2.2-

4024 of the Code of Virginia). If the hearing officer does not 

render a recommended decision within 90 days, the named 

party to the case decision may provide written notice to the 

hearing officer and the Executive Secretary of the Supreme 

Court that a decision is due. If no recommended decision is 

made by the hearing officer within 30 days from receipt of the 

notice, then the Executive Secretary of the Supreme Court, 

pursuant to § 2.2-4024 of the Code of Virginia, shall remove 

the hearing officer from the hearing officer list and report the 

hearing officer to the Virginia State Bar for possible 

disciplinary action, unless good cause can be shown for the 

delay. 

C. The available remedies offered by the hearing officer shall 

be to (i) uphold the decision of the department; (ii) recommend 

reversing the decision; or (iii) recommend issuance of a 

different sanction as provided in § 22.1-289.023 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

D. The findings, conclusions and recommended decision 

shall be provided to the parties and thereafter either party has 

10 days to submit any exceptions in writing to the hearing 

coordinator for review by the Superintendent regarding the 

recommended decision of the hearing officer. The hearing 

officer may incorporate the procedure for making exceptions 

to his recommended decision within the text of his report and 

recommendation. 

E. The hearing officer shall forward the agency record, 

including the recommendation; all documents submitted by the 

parties; a listing of all exhibits presented, received and 

rejected; and the transcript of the hearing to the hearing 

coordinator. 

8VAC20-820-500. Case decision.  

A. The superintendent, after review of the findings of fact and 

recommended decision of the hearing officer, shall make a case 

decision and issue an order in the case within 30 days from the 

date that the superintendent receives the hearing officer's 



Regulations 

Volume 37, Issue 24  Virginia Register of Regulations  July 19, 2021  

3634 

recommendation (§§ 2.2-4020 and 2.2-4021 of the Code of 

Virginia). The superintendent shall provide notification to the 

aggrieved party of the decision within 30 days of receipt of the 

hearing officer's recommendation. If the superintendent does 

not render a decision within 30 days, the aggrieved party to the 

case decision may provide a written notice to the 

superintendent that a decision is due. If no decision is made 

within 30 days from the superintendent's receipt of the notice, 

the decision is deemed to be in favor of the aggrieved party. 

Service of the notice of the superintendent's decision is 

achieved by mailing the notice of the case decision to the 

licensee, unless service is made by other means and 

acknowledged in writing by the licensee. If service is 

accomplished by mail, three days shall be added to the 30-day 

period. If the licensee wishes to appeal the decision, the 

licensee shall have 30 days after service of the notice of case 

decision to make such request. 

B. The signed original case decision shall remain in the 

custody of the agency as a public record, subject to the agency's 

records retention policy. The signed originals or facsimiles 

thereof, together with the full record or file of the case, shall be 

made available for public inspection or copying except as the 

agency may, in its discretion under § 2.2-4023 of the Code of 

Virginia, decide to withhold part or all of the records. 

C. The provisions for appealing the Superintendent's order in 

accordance with the Administrative Process Act are found at 

§§ 2.2-4025 through 2.2-4030 of the Code of Virginia. 

D. When issuance or renewal of a license for a child day 

program or family day system has been refused by the 

superintendent, the applicant shall not thereafter for a period of 

six months apply again for such license. 

EXCEPTION: A child day program or family day system 

may apply again for such license before the end of the 

applicable specified period if the superintendent in his sole 

discretion believes that there has been such a change in the 

conditions on account of which he refused the prior application 

as to justify considering the new application. 

Chapter 830 

Fee Requirements for Processing Applications 

8VAC20-830-10. Fees.  

By act of the General Assembly and effective July 1, 2021, 

the Department of Education is authorized to charge fees for 

processing applications for licenses (§ 22.1-289.010 of the 

Code of Virginia). 

Such fees are to be used for the development and delivery of 

training for operators and staff of facilities or agencies for 

children subject to licensure solely by the Department of 

Education. 

Each license and renewal of it may be issued for a period of 

up to three successive years. The required fee for each licensed 

facility or agency will be based upon its licensed capacity and 

the length of the total licensure period. However, the fee will 

be collected annually and licensees will be billed each year by 

the Department of Education for the appropriate portion of the 

fee. (Example: A facility with a capacity of 55 participants is 

issued a license for a period of 24 months. The fee for that 

facility for the two-year period would be $210. The facility will 

be charged $105 at the beginning of the licensure period and 

billed again for $105 at the beginning of the second year of 

licensure.) No fee will be charged directly following the 

issuance of a conditional license. 

Some programs such as, but not limited to, parks and 

recreation programs and summer camps, which operate for less 

than four months in a 12-month period, will pay a reduced fee 

as indicated in the fee schedule below (short-term programs). 

Applicants shall use the following schedule of fees to 

determine the correct fee to pay for processing all applications. 

Schedule of Fees 

Capacity 1 year 2 years 3 years 

1–12 $14 $28 $42 

13–25 $35 $70 $105 

26–50 $70 $140 $210 

51–75 $105 $210 $315 

76–200 $140 $280 $420 

201 & up $200 $400 $600 

Short-term Programs 

1–50 $25 $50 $75 

51 & up $50 $110 $150 

Flat Fees 

Family Day Care 

Systems 

$70 $140 $210 

The fee shall be paid by personal check, money order, or 

certified check, made payable to "Treasurer of Virginia." 

A fee that is incorrect in amount or is made payable other than 

to the Treasurer of Virginia will be returned to the applicant. 

Otherwise, no fee will be returned or refunded for any reason. 

Failure to submit the appropriate fee within the time frame 

specified by the Department of Education may result in 

negative action against a facility's or agency's license. 

A fee will be charged for checks that must be returned to the 

applicant because of insufficient funds. 
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Chapter 840 

Virginia Child Care Provider Scholarship Program 

Part I 

General Provisions 

22VAC40-690-10 8VAC20-840-10. Definitions. 

The following words and terms when used in this chapter 

shall have the following meanings, unless the context clearly 

indicates otherwise. 

"Applicant" means any individual who is applying for a 

scholarship for college tuition. 

"Child care program" means a regularly operating service 

arrangement for children where, during the absence of a parent 

or guardian, a person or organization has agreed to assume 

responsibility for the supervision, protection, and well-being of 

a child under the age of 13 for less than a 24-hour period. Child 

care includes care provided in the child's own home as well as 

care provided outside of the child's home in settings such as a 

private home, child care center, school, camp, recreational 

facility, or religious organization. 

"Child care provider" means a person who is currently 

employed or plans to work in a child care program. 

"Colleges and universities" means those Virginia based 

public and private accredited institutions of higher learning 

approved by the State Council of Higher Education for 

Virginia. This includes all in-state accredited Virginia public 

colleges, universities, two-year colleges, and community 

colleges; and all accredited Virginia private not-for-profit and 

private for-profit colleges and universities. 

"Course" means any undergraduate class that focuses on 

preparing students to be child care providers. The courses shall 

focus on children between birth and 12 years of age and be in 

the subject areas of care or development of children, the 

administration of child care programs, or basic language, math, 

and sciences skills needed to promote growth and development 

in children. The courses shall be approved by the department 

and taught by Virginia's public or private colleges and 

universities. 

"Department" means the Virginia Department of Social 

Services Education. 

22VAC40-690-15 8VAC20-840-20. Purpose and intent. 

The purpose of the Virginia Child Care Provider Scholarship 

Program is to provide tuition assistance to child care providers. 

The intent of the program is to provide child care providers 

with a foundation in child care and child development. The 

anticipated benefit of an increased knowledge and skills base 

for child care providers will be an improved level of care 

provided to Virginia's children. This program is subject to the 

availability of funds. 

22VAC40-690-20 8VAC20-840-30. Application process. 

A. All persons interested in obtaining a scholarship must 

submit a scholarship application form to the Virginia 

Department of Social Services Education or its designee as 

indicated on the application. 

Note: Applications are available through the Virginia 

Department of Social Services Education or the designated 

third-party administrator. 

B. A separate application must be submitted for each 

semester. 

C. Only complete applications, both initial and resubmitted, 

received by the deadline indicated on the application shall be 

considered. 

D. Applicants shall verify that the selected courses are being 

offered by the selected college or university for the applicable 

semester prior to applying for scholarships. 

E. The selection of courses or colleges and universities may 

not be changed once the scholarship has been awarded unless 

the selected class is full or has been cancelled. 

22VAC40-690-30 8VAC20-840-40. Selection and eligibility. 

A. Priority will be given to applicants currently employed in 

the field of child care. If funds remain available, the 

applications will be processed and scholarships awarded in 

order of date received. 

B. In order for an applicant to be eligible for a scholarship, he 

must meet all of the following criteria. The applicant must: 

1. Be one of the following: 

a. An employee of a child care program located in 

Virginia; or 

b. Domiciled in Virginia as defined in § 23-7.4 of the Code 

of Virginia and (i) employed in a child care program 

outside of Virginia or (ii) have declared an intent to 

become employed in child care. 

2. Select a department-approved course for which he has not 

previously received scholarship funds; and 

3. Have no more than one occurrence of the following for 

courses for which the applicant received a Virginia Child 

Care Provider Scholarship: 

a. Did not register for the course after receiving an award; 

b. Did not complete the course and received a grade of 

"W" for withdrawal; or 

c. Did not receive a passing grade. 

In the event of such an occurrence, the department will not 

award future scholarships to an individual until the applicant 

reimburses the state for the course(s) tuition and fees that 

were paid to the college or university on behalf of the 

applicant. 
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C. An applicant does not have to be enrolled in or have 

already taken a course in early childhood education or a related 

major to be eligible for a scholarship. 

D. Scholarships will only be awarded if the department has 

adequate information to process scholarship requests. The 

department must have received final course grades and 

payment information on courses that have been previously 

approved for scholarships. In addition, scholarships will be 

awarded on a conditional basis for those persons who are in 

jeopardy of becoming ineligible to receive a scholarship as 

specified in subdivision B 3 of this section. In these instances, 

the department will review enrollment and grade information 

when provided by the institution for the current enrollment 

period and if the applicant is in compliance with subdivision B 

3 of this section, the scholarship will be fully awarded. 

E. The scholarship will only pay tuition and the technology 

fee for each course. 

F. Applicants shall not receive scholarships for more than two 

courses per semester. 

G. Scholarships shall not be transferred between semesters or 

individuals. 

H. Scholarships are awarded only for courses approved by the 

department. The department will determine whether a course 

meets the definition of a "course" as defined in 22VAC40-690-

10 8VAC20-840-10. 

I. Recipients may receive a total lifetime award of no more 

than the average tuition for eight community college courses 

or their monetary equivalent. 

J. A recipient may use scholarship funds to attend any 

combination of Virginia public or private accredited two-year 

or four-year institutions over a period of time. 

K. All applicants will be notified in writing regarding the 

acceptance or denial of their application. 

22VAC40-690-35 8VAC20-840-50. Appeal process. 

A. Any person denied a scholarship who believes the denial 

was contrary to law or regulations may appeal the denial 

pursuant to the Administrative Process Act (§ 2.2-4000 et seq. 

of the Code of Virginia). Section 2.2-4019 of the Code of 

Virginia provides the aggrieved party the right to request an 

informal conference. This request shall be made within 15 days 

of the date of denial. The informal conference is a fact-finding 

process and gives the aggrieved party an opportunity to present 

information that the denial decision was based on factual error 

or misinterpretation of facts. The aggrieved party may be 

required to provide verification of facts. The department then 

has 90 days from the date of the informal conference to issue 

its official decision in writing, including information 

concerning the aggrieved party's right to continue the appeal 

process pursuant to the Administrative Process Act. The 

informal conference may be conducted by telephone if both 

parties consent. 

B. No person shall have a right to appeal any denial due to 

lack of scholarship funds, untimely application, or incomplete 

application. 

22VAC40-690-40 8VAC20-840-60. College and university 

agreements. 

A. Colleges and universities will be notified in writing when 

scholarships are awarded to applicants planning to attend their 

institutions. 

B. The department shall provide written procedures to all 

colleges and universities that have any student using 

scholarship funds regarding the operation of the scholarship 

program. The procedures shall address the areas of, but not be 

limited to, verification of Virginia residency, billing 

procedures, and provision of final course grades. Specifically, 

these institutions shall: 

1. Determine whether applicants that are not employed in 

child care programs located in Virginia are domiciled in 

Virginia as defined in § 23-7.4 of the Code of Virginia and 

provide the department with verification of such; 

2. Provide the department each semester, but no later than at 

the time of billing, with the tuition rate category of each 

person for which the institution plans to bill or is billing the 

scholarship program. 

3. Submit one bill to the department per institution per 

semester after the college's or university's published 

add/drop period has occurred. Colleges and universities shall 

submit a request for payment prior to the end of the semester 

for which the scholarship was awarded. Such request must 

be in a department-approved format; and 

4. Provide the department with final course grades for 

classes paid for by the scholarship program within one 

month following the end of each semester. 

C. All other eligible Virginia public and private colleges and 

universities may follow the procedures as outlined in 

subsection B of this section or place the responsibility on the 

student to seek reimbursement from the department. 

22VAC40-690-55 8VAC20-840-70. Disbursement of funds. 

For those institutions participating in the tuition 

reimbursement process, funds will be disbursed to the colleges 

and universities upon receipt of an invoice in accordance with 

the Commonwealth Accounting Policies and Procedures. In 

the event that a college or university does not choose to 

participate in the tuition reimbursement process, the funds will 

be disbursed to the recipient upon proof of tuition payment and 

course enrollment through the end of the college's or 

university's published add/drop period. 
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22VAC40-690-60 8VAC20-840-80. Gathering and 

maintaining information. 

A. The department will maintain identifying, employment, 

and educational information on all applicants for a minimum 

of five years. This information will be obtained from the 

applications and subsequent information submitted by the 

colleges or universities or recipients as requested. 

B. Additional information may be requested of any applicant 

receiving a scholarship as the department deems necessary to 

carry out its accountability functions. 

22VAC40-690-65 8VAC20-840-90. Recipient 

responsibilities. 

A. A recipient must submit final course grades for classes 

paid by the Virginia Child Care Provider Scholarship Program 

to the department within one month of completion of the 

course unless the college or university does so. 

Note: All colleges and universities are requested to provide 

final course grades to the department for the classes paid by the 

scholarship program as outlined in 22VAC40-690-40 B 4 

8VAC20-840-60 B 4. Grades will be used to determine 

eligibility as outlined in 22VAC40-690-30 B 3 8VAC20-840-

40 B 3. 

B. By accepting the award, the recipient agrees to participate 

in any surveys conducted by the department regarding the 

scholarship program and comply with any requests for 

additional information as stated in 22VAC40-690-60 

8VAC20-840-80. 

C. The recipient is responsible for all expenses related to 

taking the courses with the exception of the amount of the 

award, which only pays for tuition and the technology fee. The 

total lifetime award will pay the tuition and technology fee for 

a maximum of eight courses at the community colleges at the 

in-state tuition rate or the dollar equivalent of the total lifetime 

award, whichever comes first. Recipients shall be required to 

pay any additional tuition and technology fees that exceed the 

total lifetime award. Additional expenses for all recipients 

include, but are not limited to, other college or university fees, 

books, transportation, and child care. 

NOTICE: The following forms used in administering the 

regulation have been filed by the agency. Amended or added 

forms are reflected in the listing and are published following 

the listing. Online users of this issue of the Virginia Register 

of Regulations may also click on the name to access a form. 

The forms are also available from the agency contact or may 

be viewed at the Office of Registrar of Regulations, 900 East 

Main Street, 11th Floor, Richmond, Virginia 23219. 

FORMS (8VAC20-840) 

Virginia Child Care Provider Scholarship Program 

Application, Form #032-05-0032-06-eng (eff. 9/2020) 

Chapter 850 

Voluntary Registration of Family Day Homes - Requirements 

for Providers 

Part I 

Introduction 

22VAC40-180-10 8VAC20-850-10. Definitions. 

The following words and terms, when used in this chapter, 

shall have the following meanings, unless the context clearly 

indicates otherwise: 

"Adult" means any individual 18 years of age or older. 

"Age appropriate" means suitable to the chronological age 

range and developmental characteristics of a specific group of 

children. 

"Age groups" means the following: 

"Infant" means children from birth to 16 months. 

"Toddler" means children from 16 months to 31 months. 

"Preschooler" means children from 31 months up to the age 

of eligibility to be enrolled in kindergarten or an equivalent 

program. 

"School age" means children who are eligible to be enrolled 

in kindergarten or attend public school. 

"Age of eligibility to attend public school" means five years 

of age or older by September 30. 

"Care, protection and guidance" means responsibility 

assumed by a family day home provider for children receiving 

care in the home, whether they are related or unrelated to the 

provider. 

"Certificate of registration" means a document issued by the 

commissioner Superintendent to a family day provider, 

acknowledging that the provider has been certified by the 

contracting organization or the department and has met the 

Requirements for Voluntary Registration of Family Day 

Homes - Requirements for Providers. (22VAC40-180 

8VAC20-850-10). 

"Child" means any individual under 18 years of age. 

"Commissioner" means the Commissioner of Social Services. 

"Commissioner's designee" means a designated individual 

who or a division within the Department of Social Services that 

is delegated to act on the commissioner's behalf in one or more 

specific responsibilities. 

"Contracting organization" means the agency which has 

contracted with the Department of Social Services Education 

to administer the voluntary registration program for family day 

homes. 

https://www.vaccscholarship.com/Referenced/VCCSPPaperApplicationSept2020.pdf
https://www.vaccscholarship.com/Referenced/VCCSPPaperApplicationSept2020.pdf
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"Denial of a certificate of registration" means a refusal by the 

commissioner Superintendent to issue an initial certificate of 

registration. 

"Department" means the Virginia Department of Social 

Services Education. 

"Department's representative" means an employee or 

designee of the Virginia Department of Social Services 

Education acting as the authorized agent of the commissioner 

superintendent. 

"Evaluate" or "evaluation" means the review of a family day 

provider by a contracting organization upon receipt of an 

application for a certificate of registration to verify that the 

applicant meets the Requirements for Providers. 

"Family day home" means a child day program offered in the 

residence of the provider or the home of any of the children in 

care for one through 12 children under the age of 13, exclusive 

of the provider's own children and any children who reside in 

the home, when at least one child receives care for 

compensation. A family day home serving five through 12 

children, exclusive of the provider's own children and any 

children who reside in the home, shall be licensed. A family 

day home caring for more than four children under the age of 

two, including the provider's own children and any children 

who reside in the home, shall be licensed or voluntarily 

registered. A family day home where the children in care are 

all related to the provider by blood or marriage shall not be 

required to be licensed. 

"Family day provider applicant" or "provider applicant" 

means a person 18 years of age or older who has applied for a 

certificate of registration. 

"Monitor" or "monitoring visit" means to visit a registered 

family day provider and to review the provider's compliance 

with the applicable requirements described in the 

Requirements for Providers. 

"Parent" means a biological, foster or adoptive parent, legal 

guardian, or any person with responsibility for, or custody of, 

a child enrolled or in the process of being enrolled in a family 

day home. 

"Physician" means a person licensed to practice medicine. 

"Provider" or "registered family day provider" means a 

person who has received an initial or renewed certificate of 

registration issued by the commissioner superintendent. This 

provider has primary responsibility for providing care, 

protection, supervision, and guidance to the children in the 

registered home. 

"Provider assistant" means a person 14 years of age or older 

who has been designated by the family day provider and 

approved by the contracting organization to assist the provider 

in the care, protection, supervision, and guidance of children in 

the home. 

"Refusal to renew a certificate of registration" means the 

nonissuance of a certificate of registration by the commissioner 

superintendent after the expiration of the existing certificate of 

registration. 

"Registration fee" means the payment to a contracting 

organization by a provider or applicant upon filing an 

application for a certificate of registration. 

"Registered family day home" means any family day home 

which has met the standards for voluntary registration for such 

homes pursuant to regulations promulgated by the State Board 

of Social Services Education and which has obtained a 

certificate of registration from the commissioner 

superintendent. 

"Renewal of a certificate of registration" means the issuance 

of a certificate of registration by the commissioner 

superintendent after the expiration of the existing certificate of 

registration. 

"Requirements for Providers" means the procedures and 

general information set forth for providers operating family 

day homes who voluntarily register. This includes staffing 

requirements and a self-administered health and safety 

checklist. 

"Revocation of a certificate of registration" means the 

removal of a provider's current certificate of registration by the 

commissioner superintendent for failure to comply with the 

applicable Requirements for Providers. 

"Substitute provider" means a provider who meets the 

Requirements for Providers and who is readily available to 

provide substitute child care in a registered provider's home or 

in the substitute provider's home. 

"Superintendent" means the Superintendent of Public 

Instruction. 

"Superintendent's designee" means a designated individual 

who or a division within the Department of Education that is 

designated to act on the superintendent's behalf in one or more 

specific responsibilities. 

"USDA" means U.S. Department of Agriculture. 

Part II 

Provider Registration and General Procedures 

22VAC40-180-30 8VAC20-850-20. Provider eligibility. 

A. A family day provider and substitute provider shall be 18 

years of age or older. 

B. A family day assistant shall be 14 years of age or older. 

C. A family day provider, assistant or assistants and substitute 

provider shall be able to read, write, understand and carry out 

the responsibilities in the Requirements for Providers. 
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D. A family day provider and substitute provider shall live in 

a county, city, or town that does not have a local ordinance for 

the regulation or licensure of family day homes. 

E. A family day provider that is voluntarily registered 

pursuant to § 63.2-1704 22.1-289.015 of the Code of Virginia 

shall not be required by law to be licensed. Family day homes 

serving five through 12 children younger than the age of 13 

years, exclusive of the provider's own children and any 

children who reside in the home, shall be licensed. 

22VAC40-180-40 8VAC20-850-30. Application for 

registration. 

A. A family day provider applicant for a certificate of 

registration shall submit to the contracting organization a 

completed application form, which shall include, but not be 

limited to: 

1. The health and safety checklist and statements of 

assurance as noted in Part III (22VAC40-180-120 8VAC20-

850-110 et seq.); 

2. A tuberculosis test report as noted in subsection C of this 

section; 

3. A criminal records check and Child Protective Services 

Central Registry Clearance as indicated in subsection D of 

this section; 

4. A sworn disclosure statement as noted in subsection D of 

this section; and 

5. General information as noted in subsection B of this 

section. 

B. The provider shall also indicate a preference as to whether: 

1. The provider applicant is interested in participating in the 

USDA food program (if the registrant is not currently 

participating); 

2. The provider applicant is willing and able to serve as a 

substitute provider (after the primary provider obtains 

consent from parents of enrolled children) and is interested 

in being included on the substitute provider list maintained 

by the contracting organization. 

C. Health information shall be submitted on the family day 

provider applicant, assistant or assistants and substitute 

providers, if any, and any other adult household member who 

comes in contact with children or handles food served to 

children. The applicant shall return the completed application 

form along with a tuberculosis (TB) form which provides 

written proof of the results of a tuberculosis examination for 

the applicant, the provider assistant, if any, and all other 

persons who care for children in the family day home as 

follows: 

1. Initial tuberculosis examination and report. 

a. Within 90 days before the date of initial application for 

registration or within 30 days before employment or 

having contact with children in a registered home, each 

individual shall obtain a tuberculin skin test indicating the 

absence of tuberculosis in a communicable form; 

b. Each individual shall submit a statement that he is free 

of tuberculosis in a communicable form, including the 

results of the test; 

c. The statement shall be signed by a physician, the 

physician's designee, or an official of a local health 

department; and 

d. The statement shall be filed in the individual's record 

maintained at the family day home. 

EXCEPTION: An individual may delay obtaining the 

tuberculosis test if a statement from a physician is 

provided that indicates the test is not advisable for specific 

health reasons. This statement shall include an estimated 

date for when the test can be safely administered. The 

individual shall obtain the test no later than 30 days after 

this date. 

2. Subsequent evaluations. 

a. An individual who had a significant (positive) reaction 

to a tuberculin skin test and whose physician certifies the 

absence of communicable tuberculosis shall obtain chest 

x-rays on an annual basis for the following two years. 

(1) The individual shall submit statements documenting 

the chest x-rays and certifying freedom from tuberculosis 

in a communicable form; 

(2) The statements shall be signed by a licensed physician, 

the physician's designee, or an official of a local health 

department; 

(3) The statements shall be filed in the individual's record 

maintained at the family day home; and 

(4) Following the two-year period during which chest x-

rays are required annually, additional screening shall be 

obtained every two years. 

b. An individual who had a nonsignificant (negative) 

reaction to an initial tuberculin skin test shall obtain 

additional screening every two years thereafter. 

c. Any individual who comes in contact with a known case 

of tuberculosis or who develops chronic respiratory 

symptoms shall, within 30 days of exposure or 

development, receive an evaluation in accordance with 

subdivision C 1 of this section. 

3. At the request of the contracting organization or the 

Department of Social Services Education, a report of 

examination by a physician shall be obtained when there is 

an indication that the safety of children in care may be 

jeopardized by the physical or mental health of a specific 

individual. 
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D. Information certifying that those in contact with children 

do not have a criminal background shall be submitted. 

Attachments will include: 

1. A criminal records check, as specified in §§ 63.2-1720 and 

63.2-1721 22.1-289.036 of the Code of Virginia, conducted 

no more than 90 days before the date of initial application 

and no more than 90 days before the date of application for 

renewal, for the provider applicant, the provider assistant, 

and the substitute provider, if any, and any adults residing in 

the home; 

2. A Child Protective Services (CPS) Central Registry 

Clearance conducted no more than 90 days before the date 

of initial application and no more than 90 days before the 

date of application for renewal, for the provider applicant, 

the provider assistant, and the substitute provider, if any, and 

any adults residing in the home; and 

3. A sworn disclosure statement for the provider applicant, 

the provider assistant, and the substitute provider, if any, and 

any adults residing in the home. 

22VAC40-180-50 8VAC20-850-40. Registration fees. 

A. At the time an application for a certificate of registration 

is submitted to the contracting organization, the provider 

applicant shall pay a nonrefundable registration fee not to 

exceed $50 for a two-year period. The fee shall be paid in the 

form of a check or money order made payable to the 

contracting organization. (This does not include the fee for the 

criminal records check, CPS Central Registry Clearance or the 

tuberculosis test.) 

B. An additional fee shall not be required if a minor change 

in the information collected, e.g., change in name, occurs 

before the expiration date of the current certificate of 

registration or if the provider requires a duplicate copy of the 

certificate of registration due to loss or destruction of the 

original. 

C. An additional fee shall only be charged if a second home 

visit is required because: 

1. The provider changes location (not to exceed $50); 

2. The original certificate of registration was revoked (not to 

exceed $50); or 

3. The provider's completion of a corrective action plan 

needs to be verified (not to exceed $10). 

22VAC40-180-60 8VAC20-850-50. Issuance of a certificate 

of registration. 

A. After the provider applicant has satisfactorily met the 

requirements for voluntary registration, the contracting 

organization shall certify the provider applicant as eligible for 

registration to the commissioner superintendent and 

recommend the issuance of a certificate of registration. 

B. The commissioner superintendent shall issue the certificate 

of registration, which shall not be transferable, to a specific 

provider at a specific location. 

C. If it is necessary to change any identifying information 

(name and phone) noted on the certificate of registration prior 

to the end of the two-year registration period, the provider shall 

advise the contracting organization no later than 14 calendar 

days after the change. 

D. If the provider changes location prior to the end of the two-

year registration period, the provider shall permit and 

participate in a second home visit and an evaluation of the new 

residence within 30 days of occupying the residence. 

E. The provider shall not claim in advertising or in any written 

or verbal announcement to be registered with the 

Commonwealth of Virginia unless a certificate of registration 

is currently in effect. 

F. A provider who has been denied a certificate of registration 

or who has had a certificate of registration revoked or refused 

renewal by the commissioner superintendent shall not be 

eligible for issuance of a certificate of registration until six 

months after the date of such action, unless the waiting period 

is waived by the commissioner superintendent. 

22VAC40-180-70 8VAC20-850-60. Renewal of a certificate 

of registration. 

A. The certificate of registration shall be subject to renewal 

upon expiration. 

B. No later than 45 days before the expiration of the current 

certificate of registration, the provider shall submit to the 

contracting organization a completed renewal application form 

which shall include, but not limited to, the required information 

specified in 22VAC40-180-40 8VAC20-850-30. 

22VAC40-180-80 8VAC20-850-70. Denials, revocations, 

refusals to renew and provider appeals procedures. 

A. A provider's certificate of registration may be denied, 

revoked, or refused renewal by the commissioner 

superintendent for cause including, but not limited to: 

1. Failure to comply with adult-child ratios, staffing 

requirements, or other standards set forth in the 

Requirements for Providers; 

2. Use of fraud in obtaining a certificate of registration or in 

the subsequent operations of the family day home; 

3. Any conduct or activity which adversely affects or 

presents a serious hazard to the health, safety, and general 

well-being of an enrolled child, or which otherwise 

demonstrates unfitness by a provider to operate a family day 

care home; 

4. Refusal to furnish the contracting organization or the 

department with records; 
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5. Refusal to permit immediate admission to the family day 

home to the parent of an enrolled child who is present in the 

home or to an authorized representative of the contracting 

organization or department when any enrolled child is 

present; or 

6. Documentation maintained by a contracting organization 

or the department that a certificate of registration has been 

denied, revoked, or refused renewal by the commissioner 

superintendent to the provider during the six months prior to 

the date an application is resubmitted for a certificate of 

registration. 

B. When a provider is found to be in violation of any of the 

provisions of subsection A of this section, the contracting 

organization shall notify the provider of the violation or 

violations first orally and then in writing, and, when 

appropriate, shall afford the provider an opportunity to abate 

the violation or violations within a timeframe agreed upon by 

the contracting organization and the provider. The provider 

shall immediately abate the violation or violations in situations 

where children are at risk of abuse or neglect or serious harm 

or injury. 

C. If the provider fails to abate the violation or violations 

within the agreed upon timeframe or commits a subsequent 

violation, the contracting organization may recommend to the 

commissioner superintendent that the certificate of registration 

be denied, revoked, or refused renewal. A statement 

referencing the standard or standards violated shall be included 

with the recommendation. 

D. Upon notification of the contracting organization's intent 

to recommend that a certificate of registration be denied, 

revoked, or refused renewal, a provider may request a review 

in writing by the contracting organization's review committee 

within 15 calendar days after receipt of notification. 

E. The contracting organization shall submit its 

recommendation of the provider's eligibility for issuance of a 

certificate of registration to the commissioner's 

superintendent's designee. If a certificate of registration is 

denied, revoked or refused renewal by the commissioner's 

superintendent's designee, the provider may appeal the 

decision in accordance with the Administrative Process Act 

(§ 2.2-4000 et seq. of the Code of Virginia) and may request a 

hearing in writing within 15 calendar days after receipt of 

notification of the decision. 

F. After the hearing, the commissioner superintendent shall 

issue the final order, which may be appealed in accordance 

with the Administrative Process Act. 

G. A provider whose certificate of registration is revoked or 

refused renewal shall notify the parent or parents of each child 

enrolled within 10 calendar days after receipt of notification of 

such action. 

22VAC40-180-90 8VAC20-850-80. Provider reporting 

requirements. 

A. The provider shall verbally notify the local department of 

social services or call the toll free number for the Child 

Protective Services Unit (1-800-552-7096) immediately 

whenever there is reason to suspect that a child has been or is 

being subjected to any kind of child abuse or neglect by any 

person. 

B. The provider shall report the following incidents to the 

contracting organization as soon as possible but no later than 

the beginning of the contracting organization's next working 

day: 

1. A lost or missing child when it was necessary to seek 

assistance from local emergency or police personnel; 

2. Any injury that occurs while in the provider's care that 

results in the admission of a child to a hospital; 

3. The death of a child while in the provider's care; 

4. Any damage to the provider's home that affects the 

provider's compliance with the Requirements for Providers; 

5. Any occurrence of a reportable disease, as specified in the 

list of reportable diseases provided by the contracting 

organization; 

6. The termination of all family day care services by the 

provider; or 

7. The provider's decision to surrender the certificate of 

registration in accordance with the Requirements of the 

Voluntary Registration Program. 

22VAC40-180-100 8VAC20-850-90. Provider record 

requirements. 

A. The provider's records shall be open for inspection by 

authorized representatives of the contracting organizations and 

the department. 

B. The provider shall maintain on file a signed statement from 

each parent, affirming receipt of the information to parents 

statement. 

C. The provider shall maintain an individual record for each 

child enrolled in care. This record shall include: 

1. The child's full name (including nicknames, if any), 

address and birth date; 

2. Name, address and telephone number of each parent or 

other responsible person or persons; 

3. Name, address and telephone number of each parent's 

place of employment and his or her work hours; 

4. Name, address and telephone number of one or more 

persons designated by the parent or parents to be called in 

case of emergency when a parent cannot be reached during 

the hours the child is in care; 
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5. Name, address and telephone number of the child's 

physician; 

6. Any known or suspected allergies and any chronic or 

recurrent diseases or disabilities; 

7. The child's allergies to medication or drugs, if applicable, 

and directions for providing medicines to the child; 

8. The name of the parent's hospitalization plan and number 

or medical assistance plan, if applicable; 

9. The parent's signed authorization for the child's 

emergency medical treatment and written consent for giving 

of medications to the child; 

10. The child's date of enrollment in and date of withdrawal 

from the family day home, when applicable; 

11. Results of the health examination and up-to-date 

immunization records of each child unless there is record of 

a medical or religious exemption; 

12. Names of persons authorized to visit or call for the child, 

as well as those who are not to visit or call for the child; 

13. A record of any accidents and injuries sustained by a 

child; 

14. The parent's signed authorization to use a substitute 

provider and his or her name, address, and phone number; 

15. The parent's signed authorization to transport children 

and to take trips out of the immediate community; 

16. Any written agreement made between the family day 

provider and the natural parent, guardian, or other 

responsible person for each child in care. The agreement 

may cover hours of care per day, week, or month; cost of 

care per day, week, or month; frequency and amount of 

payment per day, week, or month; and any special services 

to be provided by either party to the agreement. 

D. The emergency contact information listed in subdivisions 

C 2 through C 5 of this section shall be made available to a 

physician, hospital or emergency care unit in the event of a 

child's illness or injury. 

E. Whenever the provider leaves the home with the child or 

children, the provider shall have the emergency contact 

information and medical information required by subdivisions 

C 1 through C 9 of this section in the caregiver's possession. 

F. The family day provider shall not disclose or permit the use 

of information pertaining to an individual child or family 

unless the parent or parents or guardian or guardians of the 

child has granted written permission to do so, except in the 

course of performance of official duties and to employees or 

representatives of the contracting organization or the 

department. 

8VAC40-180-110 8VAC20-850-100. Staffing requirements. 

A. The provider shall ensure that the total number of children 

receiving care at any one time does not exceed four, which is 

the maximum capacity allowed by law (§ 63.2-1704 22.1-

289.015 of the Code of Virginia) for family day homes that 

may apply for voluntary registration. 

B. The following adult-to-child ratios shall be maintained for 

children receiving care until October 31, 1993. (NOTE: The 

adult-to-child ratios for voluntary registration shall be same as 

those for licensed day homes effective November 1, 1993.) 

1. One adult may care for nine children at any one time, 

within the limitations that follow. This includes provider by 

blood or marriage the provider's own children and any 

children who reside in the home. 

a. Of the nine children, no more than six shall be under 

school age without an assistant; 

b. Of the children under school age, no more than five 

shall be under 31 months (2 ½ years of age or younger) 

even when an assistant is present; 

c. Of the children under 31 months, no more than three 

shall be under 16 months without an assistant. 

2. School age children who are 10 years of age and older 

shall not count in determining the ratio of adults to children 

for staffing purposes. 

Part III 

Health and Safety Checklist 

22VAC40-180-120 8VAC20-850-110. Health and safety 

checklist criteria. 

A. A health and safety checklist shall be completed by 

providers who apply for voluntary registration. The checklist 

serves as both a self-review tool for providers and an initial and 

renewal evaluation method for the contracting organization. 

Items included on the checklist are those which address the 

basic health and safety needs of children in care in family day 

homes. 

B. The provider shall review and complete the checklist 

before being certified as eligible for issuance of a certificate of 

registration. 

C. If the provider does not meet the criteria on the health and 

safety checklist at the time of the initial evaluation or 

monitoring visit, a corrective action plan shall be completed. 

This will briefly describe the standard not met, the action to be 

taken to meet it, the date by which it shall be completed and 

the signature of the provider. 

D. The home shall have indoor running water and an indoor 

bathroom equipped with a flush toilet and a sink with running 

water. 
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E. If the provider does not have a working telephone, the 

caregiver shall demonstrate that one is quickly and easily 

accessible in case of an emergency. 

NOTICE: The following forms used in administering the 

regulation have been filed by the agency. Amended or added 

forms are reflected in the listing and are published following 

the listing. Online users of this issue of the Virginia Register 

of Regulations may also click on the name to access a form. 

The forms are also available from the agency contact or may 

be viewed at the Office of Registrar of Regulations, 900 East 

Main Street, 11th Floor, Richmond, Virginia 23219. 

FORMS (8VAC20-850) 

Voluntary Registration Health and Safety Checklist (eff. 

7/2021)  

Voluntary Registration Provider Application Form (eff. 

7/2021)  

VA.R. Doc. No. R21-6777; Filed June 25, 2021, 5:24 p.m. 

  ––––––––––––––––––  

TITLE 11. GAMING 

VIRGINIA RACING COMMISSION 

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Virginia Racing Commission is 

exempt from the Administrative Process Act pursuant to § 2.2-

4002 A 17 of the Code of Virginia when promulgating 

regulations regulating actual live horse racing at race meetings 

licensed by the commission. 

Title of Regulation: 11VAC10-100. Horses (amending 

11VAC10-100-30). 

Effective Date: July 19, 2021. 

Agency Contact: Kimberly Mackey, Regulatory Coordinator, 

Virginia Racing Commission, 5707 Huntsman, Road Suite 

201-B, Richmond, VA 23250, telephone (804) 966-7406, or 

email kimberly.mackey@vrc.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendment allows a readable microchip as an 

acceptable form of identification in determining a horse’s 

eligibility to start in a race when the horse does not 

possess a lip tattoo. 

11VAC10-100-30. Lip tattoo requirements. 

No horse may start in a race without a legible lip tattoo 

number being or readable microchip applied by the designated 

personnel appropriate to the breed of horse. The stewards, in 

their discretion, may approve a readable microchip approved 

by The Jockey Club for identification purposes if appropriate. 

In harness racing, no Standardbred may start in a race without 

either a legible lip tattoo, or a freeze brand number being, or 

readable microchip applied by the designated personnel 

appropriate to the breed of horse. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R21-6797; Filed June 22, 2021, 1:55 p.m. 

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Virginia Racing Commission is 

exempt from the Administrative Process Act pursuant to § 2.2-

4002 A 17 of the Code of Virginia when promulgating 

regulations regulating actual live horse racing at race meetings 

licensed by the commission. 

Title of Regulation: 11VAC10-110. Entries (amending 

11VAC10-110-30). 

Statutory Authority: § 59.1-369 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: July 19, 2021. 

Agency Contact: Kimberly Mackey, Regulatory Coordinator, 

Virginia Racing Commission, 5707 Huntsman Road, Suite 

201-B, Richmond, VA 23250, telephone (804) 966-7406, or 

email kimberly.mackey@vrc.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendments allow for the use of a microchip in 

determining a horse's eligibility to start in a race when 

that horse does not possess a lip tattoo. 

11VAC10-110-30. Horses ineligible to start. 

A horse is ineligible to start in a race when: 

1. The owner does not possess the required permit issued by 

the commission or has not applied for the appropriate permit; 

2. The trainer, authorized agent, or the person having care 

and supervision of the horse does not possess the appropriate 

permit issued by the commission or has not applied for the 

required permit; 

3. The horse's certificate of foal registration, eligibility 

certificate, or other registration document issued by the 

appropriate breed registry is not on file with the racing 

secretary or permission to start the horse without these 

documents has not been obtained from the stewards; 

4. The horse A Thoroughbred has not been lip-tattooed or 

does not possess a readable microchip approved applied by 

The Jockey Club for the purposes of identification the 

designated personnel appropriate to the breed of horse, or is 

a Standardbred that has does not had possess a lip tattoo, 

freeze-brand number, or readable microchip applied by the 

designated personnel appropriate to the breed of horse; 

5. The ownership of the horse has been transferred without 

notifying the racing secretary and the appropriate breed 

registry; 

6. The horse is subject to a lien or lease that has not been 

approved by the stewards and filed with the racing secretary 

and horsemen's bookkeeper; or 

http://www.doe.virginia.gov/cc/files/vrfdh-health-safety-checklist.docx
http://www.doe.virginia.gov/cc/files/vrfdh-health-safety-checklist.docx
http://www.doe.virginia.gov/cc/files/vrfdh-app.pdf
http://www.doe.virginia.gov/cc/files/vrfdh-app.pdf
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7. Nominating, sustaining, entry, starting or any other 

required fees have not been paid for the horse by the time 

specified in the published conditions of the race. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R21-6798; Filed June 22, 2021, 2:09 p.m. 

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Virginia Racing Commission is 

claiming an exemption from the Administrative Process Act 

pursuant to § 2.2-4002 B 23 of the Code of Virginia when 

promulgating regulations pertaining to the administration of 

medication or other substances foreign to the natural horse. 

Title of Regulation: 11VAC10-180. Medication (adding 

11VAC10-180-73). 

Statutory Authority: § 59.1-369 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: July 19, 2021. 

Agency Contact: Kimberly Mackey, Regulatory Coordinator, 

Virginia Racing Commission, 5707 Huntsman Road, Suite 

201-B, Richmond, VA 23250, telephone (804) 966-7406, or 

email kimberly.mackey@vrc.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendments establish rules for the administration of 

clenbuterol to a horse. 

11VAC10-180-73. Clenbuterol.  

A. Clenbuterol use is prohibited in racing and training unless 

the following conditions are met: 

1. The prescription for clenbuterol is made for a specific 

horse based upon a specific diagnosis. The prescription and 

volume dispensed cannot exceed a treatment period of 30 

days. 

2. The veterinarian must provide a copy of the prescription 

and diagnosis to the Equine Medical Director for review and 

approval. The horse may not receive clenbuterol before this 

approval is issued. 

3. Trainers must make daily notification to the Equine 

Medical Director of horses in their custody having been 

administered clenbuterol. Notification shall be in writing as 

specified by the Equine Medical Director. 

4. A horse administered clenbuterol shall be placed on the 

Veterinarian's List. The horse must meet all conditions for 

removal from the Veterinarian's List including a timed 

workout and blood and urine sampling. Both samples must 

have no detectable clenbuterol. 

5. A horse may not enter to race until it has completed all the 

requirements in subdivision 4 of this subsection. 

B. If clenbuterol is detected in a horse's post-race or out-of-

competition sample and appropriate notification, as outlined in 

subdivision A 1 or A 2 of this section, was not completed, the 

horse shall immediately be placed on the Veterinarian's List 

pending the outcome of an investigation. The horse shall be 

required to meet all conditions for removal from the 

Veterinarian's List outlined in subdivision A 4 of this section. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R21-6799; Filed June 22, 2021, 2:19 p.m. 

  ––––––––––––––––––  

TITLE 12. HEALTH 

Fast-Track Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 12VAC30-10. State Plan under Title 

XIX of the Social Security Act Medical Assistance 

Program; General Provisions (amending 12VAC30-10-60). 

Statutory Authority: § 32.1-325 of the Code of Virginia; 

42 USC § 1396 et seq. 

Public Hearing Information: No public hearings are currently 

scheduled. 

Public Comment Deadline: August 18, 2021. 

Effective Date: September 2, 2021. 

Agency Contact: Emily McClellan, Regulatory Supervisor, 

Policy Division, Department of Medical Assistance Services, 

600 East Broad Street, Suite 1300, Richmond, VA 23219, 

telephone (804) 371-4300, FAX (804) 786-1680, or email 

emily.mcclellan@dmas.virginia.gov. 

Basis: Section 32.1 325 of the Code of Virginia grants to the 

Board of Medical Assistance Services the authority to 

administer and amend the Plan for Medical Assistance and to 

promulgate regulations. Section 32.1-324 of the Code of 

Virginia authorizes the Director of the Department of Medical 

Assistance Services (DMAS) to administer and amend the Plan 

for Medical Assistance and to promulgate regulations 

according to the board's requirements. 

Purpose: The regulation is essential to protect the health, 

safety, and welfare of citizens as it ensures continuity in 

Medicaid benefits for members using Supplemental 

Nutritional Assistance Program (SNAP) and streamlines 

services by significantly reducing duplication of effort for state 

agencies. Research has shown that SNAP households have at 

least one member that receives coverage under Medicaid, and 

there may be additional eligible members. Due to similar 

eligibility requirements in the programs, using SNAP income 

to determine Medicaid eligibility will reduce the need for 

Medicaid participants to frequently reapply for benefits. 

Rationale for Using Fast-Track Rulemaking Process: This 

rulemaking is expected to be noncontroversial because it does 

not have any negative effect on Medicaid providers or 

Medicaid members. The changes will streamline the eligibility 

process to make eligibility determinations both easier and 

faster. This will benefit DMAS, the Department of Social 

Services, and Medicaid members. There are no changes in the 

number or outcome of eligibility determinations made as a 

result of these changes, and there are no costs associated with 

these changes. 
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Substance: The amendments conform the State Plan for 

Medical Assistance to Centers for Medicare and Medicaid 

Services requirement changes. 

Issues: The primary advantage of this regulatory action is 

DMAS will be allowed to coordinate policies and processes 

with other state agencies to improve administration, customer 

service, and program participation. This change will also 

reduce the need for DMAS to request additional paperwork 

from members. There are no disadvantages to the public, the 

agency, or the Commonwealth as a result of this regulatory 

action. 

Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 

Analysis: 

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. On 

behalf of the Board of Medical Assistance Services, the 

Department of Medical Assistance Services (DMAS) proposes 

to use verified income information provided by applicants for 

the Supplemental Nutritional Assistance Program (SNAP) as 

part of the Medicaid application process.1 Since SNAP income 

thresholds are lower than Medicaid income thresholds, the 

proposed amendment would not change the income thresholds 

or other eligibility criteria for Medicaid. Rather, the proposed 

amendment would use verified income data already present in 

the Virginia Case Management System (VaCMS), an 

enterprise eligibility determination system used by the 

Department of Social Services (DSS), thereby reducing the 

paperwork burden for Medicaid-eligible SNAP enrollees.  

Background. Applications for SNAP and Medicaid are 

processed by DSS staff, who use VaCMS for case 

management. Functionality in VaCMS supports the use of 

SNAP income in making Medicaid eligibility decisions by 

showing local DSS eligibility staff whether the applicant's case 

file has current, verified SNAP income information that can 

thus be used to make a Medicaid eligibility determination. 

Currently, ex parte eligibility renewals for Medicaid are 

completed using information that is already available in an 

applicant's case file. The proposed amendment would allow the 

same process to also be implemented for initial Medicaid 

applications. Without the proposed change, local DSS staff 

would have to request additional income verification from 

individuals applying for Medicaid. This additional step could 

result in a denial or loss of coverage if the individual does not 

provide the information in time, even if income information for 

that individual already exists in VaCMS.  

In particular, DMAS proposes to add the following language 

into 12VAC30-10-60 Application; determination of eligibility 

and furnishing Medicaid: Supplemental Nutrition Assistance 

Program (SNAP) income will be used to support Medicaid 

eligibility determinations for individuals currently enrolled in 

SNAP. The Medicaid agency will not alter SNAP procedures 

while using the reported income to determine Medicaid 

eligibility using Medicaid rules. The Medicaid agency will 

obtain all information necessary for a Medicaid eligibility 

determination that is not in the case record for SNAP from the 

Medicaid eligibility application. This language has already 

been approved by the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid 

Services as part of a State Plan Amendment, with an effective 

date of October 1, 2019. Therefore, in practice, SNAP income 

is already in use for Medicaid eligibility determinations, and 

the proposed amendment would conform the regulation to 

current practice.  

Estimated Benefits and Costs. The proposed amendment 

would directly benefit individuals applying for SNAP and 

Medicaid at the same time, or those applying for Medicaid who 

had previously been enrolled in SNAP, by reducing the number 

of times they have to provide the same income verification 

information. According to DMAS, DSS local eligibility 

workers would also benefit by the removal of unnecessary 

steps in the benefits determination process. Lastly, since the 

proposed amendment would not change the income thresholds 

or other eligibility criteria for either SNAP or Medicaid, it 

would not significantly affect enrollment rates for either 

program or have budget implications for the state's general 

fund allocations. While it is possible that some individuals who 

might have failed to provide income verification in a timely 

manner and thus be denied Medicaid would instead become 

enrolled, that marginal cost is likely negligible relative to 

overall Medicaid enrollment rates, and the benefit to those 

individuals from having health insurance likely outweighs the 

costs. 

Businesses and Other Entities Affected. As mentioned 

previously, local DSS employees who conduct eligibility 

verifications would benefit from having a more streamlined 

process, and applicants for Medicaid who have also applied for 

SNAP would benefit from lower paperwork requirements. An 

estimate of the number of applicants for Medicaid who also 

apply for SNAP is not available.  

Small Businesses2 Affected. The proposed amendment would 

not affect any small businesses.  

Localities3 Affected.4 The proposed amendment does not 

introduce new costs for local governments and is unlikely to 

affect any locality in particular, although some marginal 

savings in local DSS staff time may result. 

Projected Impact on Employment. The proposed amendment 

is unlikely to affect employment.  

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. The proposed 

regulation is unlikely to affect the use and value of private 

property. Real estate development costs are not affected. 

_________________________ 
1"Medicaid" as used throughout the document includes other public health 

insurance programs that specifically cover pregnant women, mothers and 

children.  
2Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.04 of the Code of Virginia, small business is defined 

as "a business entity, including its affiliates, that (i) is independently owned 

and operated and (ii) employs fewer than 500 full-time employees or has gross 

annual sales of less than $6 million." 
3"Locality" can refer to either local governments or the locations in the 

Commonwealth where the activities relevant to the regulatory change are most 

likely to occur. 
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4§ 2.2-4007.04 defines "particularly affected" as bearing disproportionate 

material impact. 

Agency's Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The agency 

has reviewed the economic impact analysis prepared by the 

Department of Planning and Budget. The agency raises no 

issues with this analysis.  

Summary: 

The amendments allow the Department of Medical 

Assistance Services (DMAS) to use Supplemental 

Nutritional Assistance Program income information to 

support Medicaid eligibility determinations at the time of 

Medicaid application.  

12VAC30-10-60. Application; determination of eligibility 

and furnishing Medicaid. 

A. The Medicaid agency meets all requirements of 42 CFR 

Part 435, Subpart J for processing applications, determining 

eligibility and furnishing Medicaid. 

B. 1. Except as provided in subdivisions 2 and 3 of this 

subsection, individuals are entitled to Medicaid services under 

the plan during the three months preceding the month of 

application, if they were, or on application would have been, 

eligible. The effective date of prospective and retroactive 

eligibility is specified in 12VAC30-40-10. 

2. For individuals who are eligible for Medicaid cost sharing 

expenses as qualified Medicare beneficiaries under 

§ 1902(a)(10)(E)(i) of the Act, coverage is available for 

services furnished after the end of the month in which the 

individual is first determined to be a qualified Medicare 

beneficiary. 12VAC30-40-10 specifies the requirements for 

determination of eligibility for this group. 

3. Pregnant women are not entitled to ambulatory prenatal 

care under the plan during a presumptive eligibility in 

accordance with § 1920 of the Act. 12VAC30-40-10 

specifies the requirements for determination of eligibility of 

this group. 

C. The Medicaid agency elects to enter into a risk contract 

with an HMO that is qualified under Title XIII of the Public 

Health Service Act or is provisionally qualified as an HMO 

pursuant to § 1903(m)(3) of the Social Security Act (42 USC 

§ 1396(m)). 

The Medicaid agency elects to enter into a risk contract with 

an HMO that is not federally qualified, but meets the 

requirements of 42 CFR 434.20(c) and is defined in 12VAC30-

20-60. 

D. The Medicaid agency has procedures to take applications, 

assist applicants, and perform initial processing of applications 

from those low income pregnant women, infants, and children 

under age 19, described in § 1902(a)(10)(A)(i)(IV), 

(a)(10)(A)(i)(VI), (a)(10)(A)(i)(VII), and (a)(10)(A)(ii)(IX) at 

locations other than those used by the Title IV-A program 

including FQHCs and disproportionate share hospitals. Such 

application forms do not include the ADFC form except as 

permitted by HCFA instructions. 

E. Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program (SNAP) 

income will be used to support Medicaid eligibility 

determinations for individuals currently enrolled in SNAP. The 

Medicaid agency will not alter SNAP procedures while using 

the reported income to determine Medicaid eligibility using 

Medicaid rules. The Medicaid agency will obtain all 

information necessary for a Medicaid eligibility determination 

that is not in the case record for SNAP from the Medicaid 

eligibility application. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R21-6558; Filed June 22, 2021, 3:24 p.m. 

Fast-Track Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 12VAC30-10. State Plan under Title 

XIX of the Social Security Act Medical Assistance 

Program; General Provisions (amending 12VAC30-10-

650). 

Statutory Authority: § 32.1-325 of the Code of Virginia; 

42 USC § 1396 et seq. 

Public Hearing Information: No public hearing is currently 

scheduled. 

Public Comment Deadline: August 18, 2021. 

Effective Date: September 2, 2021. 

Agency Contact: Emily McClellan, Regulatory Supervisor, 

Policy Division, Department of Medical Assistance Services, 

600 East Broad Street, Suite 1300, Richmond, VA 23219, 

telephone (804) 371-4300, FAX (804) 786-1680, or email 

emily.mcclellan@dmas.virginia.gov. 

Basis: Section 32.1 325 of the Code of Virginia grants to the 

Board of Medical Assistance Services the authority to 

administer and amend the Plan for Medical Assistance and to 

promulgate regulations. Section 32.1-324 of the Code of 

Virginia authorizes the Director of the Department of Medical 

Assistance Services (DMAS) to administer and amend the Plan 

for Medical Assistance and to promulgate regulations 

according to the board's requirements. 

Purpose: DMAS is incorporating changes to the state plan text 

related to the Drug Utilization Review Program in accordance 

with the requirements of the Support Act (Public Law No. 115-

271). The changes include Support Act provisions related to (i) 

claims review limitations; (ii) a program to monitor 

antipsychotic medications by children; (iii) fraud and abuse 

identification; and (iv) Medicaid managed care organizations 

requirements. This action is essential to protect the health, 

safety, and welfare of the public in that it ensures that DMAS 

and Medicaid Managed Care Organizations are in compliance 

with the Support Act with regard to opioid and antipsychotic 

medications, as well as federal rules related to prescription 

fraud and abuse. 

Rational for Using Fast-Track Rulemaking Process: These 

changes ensure that DMAS will remain in compliance with 
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federal regulation to ensure continued federal financial 

participation. In addition, as a result of the Support Act, DMAS 

updated its state plan through State Plan Amendment 19-017 

with an effective date of December 31, 2019. This regulatory 

action is eligible for the fast-track process because none of the 

changes are expected to be controversial. 

Substance: The Support Act requires DMAS and Medicaid 

Managed Care Organizations to comply with federal rules 

relating to opioid and antipsychotic medications, as well as 

federal rules related to prescription fraud and abuse. Those 

federal requirements are being incorporated into regulation to 

ensure compliance on these items. The section of the State Plan 

for Medical Assistance that is affected by this amendment is 

12VAC30-10-650. 

Issues: The changes ensure that DMAS remains in compliance 

with federal regulations to continue to obtain federal financial 

participation; there are no disadvantages in this regulatory 

change. 

Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 

Analysis: 

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. As the 

result of a federal mandate, the Board of Medical Assistance 

Services (Board) proposes to amend the Drug Utilization 

Review (DUR) Program provisions in the State Plan Under 

Title XIX of the Social Security Act Medical Assistance 

Program; General Provisions regulation (regulation) to align 

with the Medicaid State Plan for Medical Assistance Services 

(state plan). 

Background: Federal background. Section 1902 (a) of the 

Social Security Act (42 USC 1396a) establishes the federal 

requirements for administering State Plans for Medical 

Assistance including specific administration, eligibility, 

payment, and reporting requirements. Section 1004 of the 

federal Substance Use-Disorder Prevention that Promotes 

Opioid Recovery and Treatment for Patients and Communities 

(SUPPORT) Act (Public Law No. 115-271) amended 

§ 1902(a) effective October 1, 2019, requiring compliance 

with the drug review and utilization requirements under 

subsection (oo)(1) in an effort "to reduce opioid related fraud, 

misuse and abuse."1 

State background. To comply with the SUPPORT Act, DMAS 

has already updated its state plan through Virginia State Plan 

Amendment (SPA) #: 19-017 effective December 31, 2019.2 

According to DMAS, the proposed amendments to the 

regulation are identical to the SPA. Thus, the requirements are 

already in effect. 

Part of the current regulation is as follows: 

B. The DUR program is designed to educate physicians 

and pharmacists to identify and to reduce the frequency of 

patterns of fraud, abuse, gross overuse, or inappropriate or 

medically unnecessary care among physicians, 

pharmacists, and patients or associated with specific drugs 

as well as: 

1. Potential and actual adverse drug reactions 

2. Therapeutic appropriateness 

3. Overutilization and underutilization 

4. Appropriate use of generic products 

5. Therapeutic duplication 

6. Drug disease contraindications 

7. Drug-drug interactions 

8. Incorrect drug dosage or duration of drug treatment 

9. Drug allergy interactions 

10. Clinical abuse/misuse 

The Board proposes to add the following: 

11. Provisions of Section 1004 of the SUPPORT ACT 

(below) 

C. SUPPORT ACT Provisions 

1. Claim Review Limitations 

a. Prospective safety edits including early, duplicate fill, 

and quantity limits for clinical appropriateness for opioids. 

b. Maximum daily Morphine Milligram Equivalents 

(MME) safety edits: A maximum dosing limit on opioids 

limits the daily morphine milliequivalents (as 

recommended by clinical guidelines) 

c. Concurrent Utilization Alerts: Prospective drug to-drug 

interaction alerts will require a response from the 

pharmacy if an opioid and benzodiazepine or opioid and 

antipsychotics are being dispensed within an overlapping 

period with retrospective reviews performed on an 

ongoing periodic basis. 

d. Comprehensive Retrospective DUR is performed on 

opioid prescriptions on an ongoing periodic basis. 

2. Programs to Monitor Antipsychotic Medications to 

Children. Antipsychotic agents are reviewed for age 

appropriateness, duplicate therapy, and adverse effects in 

children based on the FDA product approval and clinical 

guidelines. 

3. Fraud and Abuse Identification. The Client Medical 

Management (CMM) program for fee-for-service (FFS) 

beneficiaries that may require restriction to physician, 

pharmacy or both limiting the beneficiary's access to 

services identified as not medically necessary, excessive 

or both. The beneficiary's designated physician is 

responsible for supervising, coordinating, and providing 

initial and primary medical care; initiating written 

referrals for specialist care and for maintaining the 

continuity of patient care. 

Estimated Benefits and Costs. There are six managed care 

organizations (MCOs) that have contracted with DMAS to 

provide managed care services to Medicaid recipients. DMAS 

and each of the MCOs have their own DUR programs. The 

DMAS program is for fee-for-service Medicaid recipients. A 

large part of the DUR programs involve pharmacists receiving 
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immediate alerts when the items listed in 12VAC30-10-650 B 

are detected, as well as retrospective reviews.  

All of the new requirements that were added to the state plan 

through SPA were also added to MCO contracts. Thus, these 

requirements are already in effect. With the exception of 

Concurrent Utilization Alerts (see 12VAC30-10-650 C 1 c), 

DMAS does not believe any of the new requirements caused 

the MCOs to substantively alter their practices or affected cost. 

DMAS does not know if the MCOs were producing Concurrent 

Utilization Alerts for opioid and benzodiazepine or opioid and 

antipsychotics being dispensed within an overlapping period. 

If any of the MCOs were not producing these alerts, they would 

have needed to reprogram their computer system to start 

producing such alerts to pharmacists. In addition to the time 

cost of reprogramming,3 there is potential benefit in producing 

these alerts in that the likelihood of some adverse drug 

interactions may be reduced. 

According to DMAS, the agency was already doing everything 

in the new language prior to it being added to the state plan. 

Thus, DMAS and fee-for-service Medicaid recipients were not 

directly affected. 

Businesses and Other Entities Affected. The proposed 

amendments concern the approximate 1,500 pharmacies that 

are enrolled with Virginia Medicaid, the six MCOs that have 

contracted with DMAS, and Medicaid recipients. Adding the 

proposed language to the regulation would not increase costs 

for any entity. 

Small Businesses4 Affected. The proposed amendments do not 

appear to adversely affect small businesses.  

Localities5 Affected.6 The proposed amendments do not 

disproportionally affect any particular locality. The proposal 

does not introduce costs for local governments.  

Projected Impact on Employment. The proposal does not affect 

employment. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. The proposal 

does not affect the use and value of private property. The 

proposal does not affect real estate development costs. 

______________________ 
1See https://www.medicaid.gov/federal-policy-guidance/downloads/cib080 

519-1004.pdf 
2See https://www.medicaid.gov/State-resource-center /Medicaid-State-Plan-

Amendments/Downloads/VA/VA-19-0017.pdf  
3If the MCO used an outside firm for programming, it would be a fee cost 

instead of the time of an MCO employee. 

4Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.04 of the Code of Virginia, small business is defined 

as "a business entity, including its affiliates, that (i) is independently owned 

and operated and (ii) employs fewer than 500 full-time employees or has gross 

annual sales of less than $6 million." 
5"Locality" can refer to either local governments or the locations in the 

Commonwealth where the activities relevant to the regulatory change are most 

likely to occur. 
6§ 2.2-4007.04 defines "particularly affected" as bearing disproportionate 

material impact. 

Agency's Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The agency 

has reviewed the economic impact analysis prepared by the 

Department of Planning and Budget. The agency raises no 

issues with this analysis.  

Summary: 

The amendments incorporate changes to the State Plan for 

Medical Assistance related to the Drug Utilization Review 

Program in accordance with the requirements of the 

SUPPORT Act (P.L. 115-271) and include (i) provisions 

related to claims review limitations, (ii) adding a program 

to monitor antipsychotic medications by children, (iii) fraud 

and abuse identification, and (iv) new Medicaid managed 

care organizations requirements. 

12VAC30-10-650. Drug Utilization Review Program. 

A. 1. The Medicaid agency meets the requirements of § 

1927(g) of the Social Security Act for a drug use review (DUR) 

program for outpatient drug claims. 

2. The DUR program assures that prescriptions for 

outpatient drugs are: 

a. Appropriate. 

b. Medically necessary. 

c. Are not likely to result in adverse medical results. 

B. The DUR program is designed to educate physicians and 

pharmacists to identify and to reduce the frequency of patterns 

of fraud, abuse, gross overuse, or inappropriate or medically 

unnecessary care among physicians, pharmacists, and patients 

or associated with specific drugs as well as: 

1. Potential and actual adverse drug reactions; 

2. Therapeutic appropriateness; 

3. Overutilization and underutilization; 

4. Appropriate use of generic products; 

5. Therapeutic duplication; 

6. Drug disease contraindications; 

7. Drug-drug interactions; 

8. Incorrect drug dosage or duration of drug treatment; 

9. Drug allergy interactions; 

10. Clinical abuse/misuse abuse or misuse; and 

11. Provisions of § 1004 of the SUPPORT Act. 

C. SUPPORT Act provisions. 

1. Claim review limitations: 

a. Prospective safety edits, including early, duplicate fill, 

and quantity limits for clinical appropriateness for opioids. 

b. Maximum daily morphine milligram equivalents safety 

edits. A maximum dosing limit on opioids limits the daily 

morphine milliequivalents as recommended by clinical 

guidelines. 

https://www.medicaid.gov/federal-policy-guidance/downloads/cib080519-1004.pdf
https://www.medicaid.gov/federal-policy-guidance/downloads/cib080519-1004.pdf
https://www.medicaid.gov/State-resource-center/Medicaid-State-Plan-Amendments/Downloads/VA/VA-19-0017.pdf
https://www.medicaid.gov/State-resource-center/Medicaid-State-Plan-Amendments/Downloads/VA/VA-19-0017.pdf
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c. Concurrent utilization alerts. Prospective drug-to-drug 

interaction alerts will require a response from the 

pharmacy if an opioid and benzodiazepine or opioid and 

antipsychotics are being dispensed within an overlapping 

period with retrospective reviews performed on an 

ongoing periodic basis. 

d. Comprehensive retrospective DUR is performed on 

opioid prescriptions on an ongoing periodic basis. 

2. Programs to monitor antipsychotic medications to 

children. Antipsychotic agents are reviewed for age 

appropriateness, duplicate therapy, and adverse effects in 

children based on the U.S. Food and Drug Administration 

product approval and clinical guidelines. 

3. Fraud and abuse identification. The Client Medical 

Management (CMM) program for fee-for-service (FFS) 

beneficiaries that may require restriction to physician, 

pharmacy, or both limiting the beneficiary's access to 

services identified as not medically necessary, excessive, or 

both. The beneficiary's designated physician is responsible 

for supervising, coordinating, and providing initial and 

primary medical care; initiating written referrals for 

specialist care; and maintaining the continuity of patient 

care.  

C. D. The DUR program shall assess data use against 

predetermined standards whose source materials for their 

development are consistent with peer-reviewed medical 

literature which that has been critically reviewed by unbiased 

independent experts and the following compendia: 

1. American Hospital Formulary Service Drug Information 

(2003, as amended); 

2. United States Pharmacopeia-Drug Information (2003, as 

amended); 

3. MICROMEDEX (as updated monthly); 

4. Drug Facts and Comparisons (as updated monthly); and 

5. Drug Information Handbook (2003, as amended in 2004). 

D. E. DUR is not required for drugs dispensed to residents of 

nursing facilities that are in compliance with drug regimen 

review procedures set forth in 42 CFR 483.60. The state has 

nevertheless chosen to include nursing home drugs in 

retrospective DUR. 

E. F. 1. The DUR program includes prospective review of 

drug therapy at the point of sale or point of distribution before 

each prescription is filled or delivered to the Medicaid 

recipient. 

2. Prospective DUR includes screening each prescription 

filled or delivered to an individual receiving benefits for 

potential drug therapy problems due to: 

a. Therapeutic duplication; 

b. Drug disease contraindications; 

c. Drug-drug interactions; 

d. Drug-interactions with nonprescription or over-the-

counter drugs; 

e. Incorrect dosage or duration of drug treatment; 

f. Drug allergy interactions; and 

g. Clinical abuse/misuse abuse or misuse. 

3. Prospective DUR includes counseling for Medicaid 

recipients based on standards established by State law and 

maintenance of patient profiles. 

4. Prospective DUR may also include electronic messages as 

well as rejection of claims at point-of-sale pending 

appropriate designated interventions by the dispensing 

pharmacist or prescribing physician. 

5. Designated interventions may include provider override, 

obtaining prior authorization via communication to a call 

center staffed with appropriate clinicians, or written 

communication to prescribers. 

F. G. 1. The DUR program includes retrospective DUR 

through its mechanized drug claims processing and 

information retrieval system or otherwise which that 

undertakes ongoing periodic examination of claims data and 

other records to identify: 

a. Patterns of fraud and abuse; 

b. Gross overuse; and 

c. Inappropriate or medically unnecessary care among 

physicians, pharmacists, Medicaid recipients, or 

associated with specific drugs or groups of drugs. 

2. The DUR program assesses data on drug use against 

explicit predetermined standards, including but not limited 

to monitoring for: 

a. Therapeutic appropriateness; 

b. Overutilization and underutilization; 

c. Appropriate use of generic products; 

d. Therapeutic duplication; 

e. Drug disease contraindications; 

Drug-drug f. Drug-to-drug interactions; 

g. Incorrect dosage/duration dosage or duration of drug 

treatment; and 

h. Clinical abuse/misuse abuse or misuse. 

3. The DUR program through its state DUR Board, using 

data provided by the board, provides for active and ongoing 

educational outreach programs to educate practitioners and 

pharmacists on common drug therapy problems to improve 

prescribing and dispensing practices. 

4. In situations of conflict with these criteria, DMAS, 

pursuant to the DUR Board's criteria and requirements, shall 

reject or deny presented claims and require the dispensing 

pharmacist to intervene as specified through electronic 
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messages in the point-of-sale system before the claim will 

be approved for payment. 

5. Designated interventions may include provider override, 

obtaining prior authorization via communication to a call 

center staffed with appropriate clinicians, or written 

communication to prescribers. 

G. H. 1. The DUR program has established a state DUR 

Board directly. 

2. The DUR Board membership includes health 

professionals (one-third licensed actively practicing 

pharmacists and one-third but no more than 51% percent 

licensed and actively practicing physicians) with knowledge 

and experience in one or more of the following: 

a. Clinically appropriate prescribing of covered outpatient 

drugs. 

b. Clinically appropriate dispensing and monitoring of 

covered outpatient drugs. 

c. Drug use review, evaluation, and intervention. 

d. Medical quality assurance. 

3. The activities of the DUR Board include: 

a. Prospective DUR; 

b. Retrospective DUR; 

c. Application of Standards as defined in § 1927(g)(2)(C),; 

and 

d. Ongoing interventions for physicians and pharmacists 

targeted toward therapy problems or individuals identified 

in the course of retrospective DUR. 

4. The interventions include in appropriate instances: 

a. Information dissemination. 

b. Written, oral, and electronic reminders. 

c. Face-to-Face and telephonic discussions. 

d. Intensified monitoring/review monitoring or review of 

prescribers/ prescribers or dispensers. 

e. Rejected or denied claims, as appropriate, to prevent the 

violation of the DUR Board's predetermined criteria. 

f. Provider override, obtaining prior authorization via 

communication to a call center staffed with appropriate 

clinicians, or written communication to prescribers. 

H. I. The state assures that it will prepare and submit an 

annual report to the secretary, which incorporates a report from 

the state DUR Board, and that the state will adhere to the plans, 

steps, procedures as described in the report. 

The Medicaid agency ensures that predetermined criteria and 

standards have been recommended by the DUR Board and 

approved by either BMAS Board of Medical Assistance 

Services (BMAS) or the director, acting on behalf of the 

BMAS, pursuant to § 32.1-324 of the Code of Virginia and that 

they are based upon documentary evidence of the DUR Board. 

The activities of the DUR Board and the Medicaid fraud 

control programs are and shall be maintained as separate. The 

DUR Board shall refer suspected cases of fraud or abuse to the 

appropriate fraud and abuse control unit with the Medicaid 

agency. 

I. J. 1. The state establishes, as its principal means of 

processing claims for covered outpatient drugs under this title, 

a point-of-sale electronic claims management system to 

perform on-line: 

a. Real time eligibility verification. 

b. Claims data capture. 

c. Adjudication of claims. Such adjudication may include 

the rejection or denial of claims found to be in conflict 

with DUR criteria. Should such rejection or denial occur 

during the adjudication process, the dispensing pharmacist 

shall have the opportunity to resolve the conflict and 

resubmit the claim for readjudication. 

d. Assistance to pharmacists, etc., applying for and 

receiving payment. 

2. Prospective DUR is performed using an electronic point 

of sale drug claims processing system. 

J. K. Hospitals which dispense covered outpatient drugs are 

exempted pursuant to federal law from the drug utilization 

review requirements of this section when facilities use drug 

formulary systems and bill the Medicaid program no more than 

the hospital's purchasing cost for such covered outpatient 

drugs. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R21-6136; Filed June 22, 2021, 11:41 a.m. 

Fast-Track Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 12VAC30-20. Administration of 

Medical Assistance Services (amending 12VAC30-20-540, 

12VAC30-20-550, 12VAC30-20-560). 

Statutory Authority: § 32.1-325 of the Code of Virginia; 

42 USC § 1396 et seq. 

Public Hearing Information: No public hearing is currently 

scheduled. 

Public Comment Deadline: August 18, 2021. 

Effective Date: September 2, 2021. 

Agency Contact: Emily McClellan, Regulatory Supervisor, 

Policy Division, Department of Medical Assistance Services, 

600 East Broad Street, Suite 1300, Richmond, VA 23219, 

telephone (804) 371-4300, FAX (804) 786-1680, or email 

emily.mcclellan@dmas.virginia.gov. 

Basis: Section 32.1 325 of the Code of Virginia grants to the 

Board of Medical Assistance Services the authority to 

administer and amend the Plan for Medical Assistance and to 

promulgate regulations. Section 32.1-324 of the Code of 

Virginia authorizes the Director of the Department of Medical 

Assistance Services (DMAS) to administer and amend the 
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State Plan for Medical Assistance and to promulgate 

regulations according to the board's requirements. 

Items 303 V 2 and 303 JJ 1(vii) of Chapter 2 of the 2018 Acts 

of Assembly, Chapter 854 of the 2019 Acts of Assembly, and 

Chapter 1289 of the 2020 Acts of Assembly direct DMAS to 

provide for a settlement agreement process for informal and 

formal administrative proceedings. 

Purpose: The amendments are needed to meet this outcome of 

the workgroup and budget items. 

Rationale for Using Fast-Track Rulemaking Process: This 

regulatory action is expected to be noncontroversial because 

the changes arose out of a workgroup consisting of 

representatives of the provider community, legal community, 

and Office of the Attorney General. DMAS held three open 

public meetings to explore and discuss the DMAS audit 

methodology and findings, as well as the appeals process. The 

workgroup agreed to adopt a plan of action, and these changes 

are part of that plan. 

Substance: No policy currently exists permitting settlement 

discussions at the informal appeal level. No current written 

policy exists informing providers that they can discuss 

settlement, therefore most providers wanting to enter into 

settlement discussions with DMAS have resorted to filing a 

request for a formal administrative hearing. Doing so costs the 

Medicaid service providers and the Commonwealth time, 

money, and other resources that could be better used to serve 

and provide medical assistance to needy Virginians. Because 

no statutory or regulatory authority currently exists permitting 

settlement discussions at the informal appeal level, these 

amendments are the only means of meeting the need identified 

by the mandated workgroup and the General Assembly. 

Issues: The primary advantages of these amendments are that 

they ensure that DMAS regulations and DMAS practices are 

aligned. This ensures transparency for Medicaid providers, 

Medicaid members, other agencies, and members of the public. 

There are no disadvantages to the public, the agency, or the 

Commonwealth. 

Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 

Analysis: 

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. 

Pursuant to the 2018 Acts of Assembly, Chapter 2, Item 303, 

V.2 and JJ.1.vii1 and the 2019 Acts of Assembly, Chapter 854, 

Item 303, V.2 and JJ.1,2 the Director of the Department of 

Medical Assistance Services acting on behalf of the Board 

proposes to permanently replace an emergency regulation, 

which established a process for settlement agreements during 

the informal and formal provider appeals processes. The 

proposed process for settlement agreements has been 

implemented since January 2018 under a Medicaid Memo. 

Background. Under the Department of Medical Assistance 

Services (DMAS) provider appeal regulations and the Virginia 

Administrative Process Act, Virginia Medicaid providers are 

afforded two levels of appeal: an informal appeal and a formal 

appeal. Informal appeals must be filed within 30 days of when 

the adverse action was issued. The informal appeals are 

decided by an informal appeals agent, who is a DMAS 

employee who has not been involved in any prior level of the 

decision-making on the appealed action. DMAS has 180 days 

to process informal appeals. If the appeal is not decided in that 

timeframe, the provider prevails, regardless of the amount at 

stake. 

DMAS is represented in the formal appeal by a staff attorney. 

Providers are not required to obtain legal counsel, but if the 

provider is a corporation and does not have legal counsel, it 

cannot make legal arguments. A hearing officer assigned by 

the Executive Secretary of the Virginia Supreme Court 

presides over the appeal and issues a recommended decision to 

the DMAS director. The recommended decision must be 

received within 120 days of when the formal appeal request 

was filed. The DMAS director then has 60 days from receipt 

of the recommended decision to issue the final agency 

decision. 

The 2017 Acts of Assembly, Chapter 1, Item 306, WW.33 

directed DMAS to convene a workgroup consisting of 

representatives from the provider community, legal 

community, and the Office of Attorney General (OAG) to 

study issues relating to contractual compliance. This 

workgroup studied, in part, the need for a process that would 

allow cases to be settled during the informal appeals process in 

situations that did not merit the time and cost of a formal 

administrative hearing. 

The workgroup discovered that the primary reason providers 

did not reach a settlement with DMAS during an informal 

appeal was the fact that there was no process or point of contact 

to submit a request for a settlement. In contrast, the formal 

appeals process allowed providers to tender settlement 

proposals to the attorney representing DMAS. Following up 

the workgroup's findings,4 DMAS determined that there was 

no legal barrier to start a process for settlement requests during 

an informal appeal. As a result, DMAS issued a Medicaid 

memo in January 2018 advising providers of the ability to 

propose a settlement during an informal appeal.  

The workgroup also recommended that DMAS seek 

emergency regulatory authority to amend 12VAC30-20-540 of 

the Virginia Administrative Code to allow additional time for 

issuance of the informal appeal decision to allow sufficient 

time for settlement if the provider waives the deadline. In 

response, during the 2018 General Assembly Session budget 

language was added that provided the requested authority. 

Specifically, Item 303 JJ.1.vii in Chapter 2, 2018 Acts of 

Assembly (2018 Appropriation Act) directed DMAS to 

promulgate amendments that clarify that settlement proposals 

may be tendered during the appeal process and that approval is 

subject to the requirements of § 2.2-514 of the Code of 

Virginia. The amended regulations shall develop a framework 

for the submission of the settlement proposal and state that 

DMAS and the provider may jointly agree to stay the deadline 
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for the informal appeal decision or for the formal appeal 

recommended decision of the Hearing Officer for a period of 

up to sixty (60) days to facilitate settlement discussions. If the 

parties reach a resolution as reflected by a written settlement 

agreement within the sixty-day period, then the stay shall be 

extended for such additional time as may be necessary for 

review and approval of the settlement agreement in accordance 

with law.  

Item 303 V.2 provides additional details about the settlement 

agreement process, noting that  

An appeal of the director's informal fact-finding conference 

decision concerning provider reimbursement shall be heard in 

accordance with § 2.2-4020 of the Administrative Process Act 

(§ 2.2-4020 et seq.) and the State Plan provided for in § 32.1-

325, Code of Virginia. [DMAS] and the provider may jointly 

agree to stay the deadline for the informal appeal decision or 

for the formal appeal recommended decision of the Hearing 

Officer for a period of up to sixty (60) days to facilitate 

settlement discussions. If the parties reach a resolution as 

reflected by a written settlement agreement within the sixty-

day period, then the stay shall be extended for such additional 

time as may be necessary for review and approval of the 

settlement agreement in accordance § 2.2-514 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

Emergency regulations5 became effective on November 14, 

2019, and specified the process for settlement requests, 

including staying the informal appeal deadline for a period of 

up to 60 days to facilitate settlement discussions, so long as the 

DMAS appeal representative and the provider jointly agree in 

writing. Since the Medicaid memo, settlement proposals are 

first reviewed by the DMAS staff attorney, who submits the 

recommendation to the DMAS director. If the DMAS director 

approves the settlement, it is sent to the OAG, who is required 

by Virginia Code Section 2.2-514 to review any proposed 

compromise. If the settlement amount exceeds $250,000, it 

must also be approved by the Governor. 

Estimated Benefits and Costs. The proposed action would 

permanently adopt the emergency regulations which have 

formalized the settlement agreement option that has been 

allowed under a Medicaid memo since January 2018. Since 

this option had already been made available under DMAS's 

then existing authority as a DMAS policy, the economic 

impact of this policy change cannot be directly attributed to 

this regulatory action. However, since DMAS already have 

data about pre and post policy change, the following discussion 

is provided for informational purposes only. 

The settlement option requires agreement of both parties to stay the 

appeal for up to 60 days to reach a settlement. The purpose of the 

settlement option is to resolve disputes that does not merit the time 

and expense of a formal appeal. Because requesting a settlement 

would be less costly, a provider would have incentives to make such 

requests so long as it believes DMAS would agree to it and to the 

extent that the cost of making such a request is below the expected 

amount the provider hopes to recover. Thus, we can reliably infer that 

the settlement option is unlikely to make providers worse off, or have 

any adverse impact on them. However, the settlement agreement 

option would likely lead to an increase or shift in administrative costs 

from other areas for DMAS to evaluate settlement requests and an 

increase in additional funds to be expended as a result of settled cases. 

The following table provides statistics regarding provider appeals 

over the years 2017-2020. 

  

Pre-Medicaid 
Memo 

Post-Medicaid Memo 

  

2017 2018 2019 2020 

Informal 
Appeals 

Cases Filed 3,700 3,500 4,800 6,200 

Settlement 

Requested 

NA 5 1 4 

Settlement 
Approved 

NA 1 1 1* 

Formal 
Appeals 

Cases Filed 151 106 134 170 

Final Agency 

Decisions 
Issued** 

29 16 21 12 

Settlement 
Requested 

7 6 3 4 

Settlement 

Approved 

5 4 2 4 

* Currently under review at OAG. 

** Excludes withdrawn and settled cases. 

It appears that the number of informal cases filed has 

noticeably increased in 2019 and 2020 compared to 2017 (i.e., 

3,700 vs. 4,800 and 6,200, respectively). It also appears the 

number of settlement agreements requested during an informal 

appeal ranges from one to five, usually only one of them being 

approved. The impact on the number of formal appeals filed 

appears mixed, but the number of final agency decisions 

issued, settlements requested and approved seems to have 

decreased. The trend over time appears to be that the majority 

of provider appeals end at the informal level, without filing a 

formal appeal. Whether this trend is directly related to the 

settlement option made available in the informal appeals since 

January 2018 is difficult to assess as there could be many other 

confounding factors. 

According to DMAS, the average settlement is around a 

$30,000 reduction in the initial overpayment amount. Non-

monetary settlements sometimes occur to allow an informal 

appeal on the merits even when the initial informal appeal was 

dismissed as a result of untimely filing. (In those instances, the 

provider usually submits evidence during the formal appeal of 

issues receiving mail). 

As far as the administrative costs for DMAS to handle these 

appeals, DMAS reports that it has two staff attorneys who 

review the settlement requests for appeals (informal or formal, 
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and their average salary is $96,000/year), the average hearing 

officer payment for a case is $3,000, and the average cost for 

transcripts per case is $650. Whether DMAS has experienced 

an increase in its administrative costs is difficult to assess 

similarly due to possibility of many other confounding events 

occurring over the same time period. According to DMAS, 

there has not been an increase in administrative costs with the 

settlement process since the 2018 Medicaid memo. The 

reduction over the past years of formal appeals proceeding to a 

final agency decision has allowed DMAS to utilize the two 

current formal appeal staff attorneys to perform the informal 

appeal settlement reviews. If the volume of settlement requests 

at the informal appeal level significantly increased or formal 

appeals spiked, that may cause an increase, but the data does 

not indicate that is likely. There is the possibility that published 

final regulation may cause an increase in settlement requests as 

it may inform some providers about the settlement option who 

may be currently unaware of it. 

Businesses and Other Entities Affected. DMAS currently has 

67,000 unique providers enrolled as participating in the fee-

for-service program. All providers can appeal adverse actions. 

The most recent data from 2020 indicate there were 6,200 

informal and 170 formal appeals filed. 

Since the settlement option is implemented under a DMAS 

policy at the beginning of 2018, any economic impact 

associated with the policy change cannot be directly attributed 

to this regulation. Thus, this action does not appear to indicate 

any adverse6 or disproportionate impact on any entity. 

Small Businesses7 Affected. As already mentioned, the 

analysis of the proposed changes does not indicate any adverse 

impact on any entity including the small businesses. Providers 

enrolled with DMAS who operate as small businesses could 

benefit from the option to reach a settlement through the 

informal appeals process; however, the number of such 

providers is unknown. 

Localities8 Affected.9 The proposed amendments do not 

particularly affect any locality or introduce costs for local 

governments. 

Projected Impact on Employment. The proposed amendments 

do not appear to affect total employment. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. No impact 

on the use and value of private property or real estate 

development costs are anticipated. 

________________________ 
1See https://budget.lis.virginia.gov/item/2018/2/HB5002/ Chapter/1/303 
2https://budget.lis.virginia.gov/item/2019/1/HB1700/Chapter/ 1/303/ 

3See https://budget.lis.virginia.gov/item/2018/2/HB5002/ Chapter/1/303 
4The link to the Appeals Workgroup report is: 

https://rga.lis.virginia.gov/Published/2017/RD604/PDF. 

5https://townhall.virginia.gov/l/ViewStage.cfm?stageid=8435 
6Adverse impact is indicated if there is any increase in net cost or reduction in 

net revenue for any entity, even if the benefits exceed the costs for all entities 

combined. 

7Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.04 of the Code of Virginia, small business is defined 

as "a business entity, including its affiliates, that (i) is independently owned 
and operated and (ii) employs fewer than 500 full-time employees or has gross 

annual sales of less than $6 million." 

8"Locality" can refer to either local governments or the locations in the 
Commonwealth where the activities relevant to the regulatory change are most 

likely to occur. 

9§ 2.2-4007.04 defines "particularly affected" as bearing disproportionate 

material impact. 

Agency's Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The agency 

has reviewed the economic impact analysis prepared by the 

Department of Planning and Budget. The agency raises no 

issues with this analysis.  

Summary: 

Item 303 V 2 and clause (vii) of Item 303 JJ 1 of Chapter 2 

of the 2018 Acts of Assembly, Special Session I; Chapter 854 

of the 2019 Acts of Assembly; and Chapter 1289 of the 2020 

Acts of Assembly direct the Department of Medical 

Assistance Services (DMAS) to amend the State Plan for 

Medical Assistance to implement amendments related to 

appeals administered by and for DMAS in order to establish 

a more formalized process by which to address 

administrative settlement agreements in a timely fashion.  

The amendments (i) establish the process for a settlement 

agreement resolution between a Medicaid provider and 

DMAS and (ii) adjust the time periods set forth in the 

existing informal and formal appeal provisions for 

consistency with the procedures. The amendments affect the 

timelines for issuing the informal decision in an informal 

administrative appeal or a recommended decision of the 

hearing officer in a formal administrative appeal.  

12VAC30-20-540. Informal appeals. 

A. Notice of informal appeal. 

1. Providers appealing the termination or denial of their 

Medicaid agreement pursuant to § 32.1-325 E of the Code of 

Virginia shall file a written notice of informal appeal with 

the DMAS Appeals Division within 15 days of the provider's 

receipt of the notice of termination or denial. 

2. Providers appealing adjustments to a cost report shall file 

a written notice of informal appeal with the DMAS Appeals 

Division within 90 days of the provider's receipt of the notice 

of program reimbursement. The written notice of informal 

appeal shall identify the issues, adjustments, or items that the 

provider is appealing. 

3. Providers appealing all other DMAS decisions shall file a 

written notice of informal appeal with the DMAS Appeals 

Division within 30 days of the provider's receipt of the 

decision. The written notice of informal appeal shall identify 

each adjustment, patient, service date, or other disputed 

matter that the provider is appealing. 

B. Administrative dismissals. 

https://budget.lis.virginia.gov/item/2018/2/HB5002/Chapter/1/303
https://budget.lis.virginia.gov/item/2019/1/HB1700/Chapter/1/303/
https://budget.lis.virginia.gov/item/2018/2/HB5002/Chapter/1/303
https://rga.lis.virginia.gov/Published/2017/RD604/PDF
https://townhall.virginia.gov/l/ViewStage.cfm?stageid=8435
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1. Failure to timely file a written notice of informal appeal 

with the information required by subdivision A 2 or A 3 of 

this section shall result in an administrative dismissal. 

2. A representative, billing company, or other third-party 

entity filing a written notice of appeal on behalf of a provider 

shall submit to DMAS, at the time of filing or upon request, 

a written authorization to act on the provider's behalf, signed 

by the provider. The authorization shall reference the 

specific adverse action or actions being appealed including, 

if applicable, each patient's name and date of service. Failure 

to submit a written authorization as specified in this 

subdivision shall result in an administrative dismissal. This 

requirement shall not apply to an appeal filed by a Virginia 

licensed attorney. 

3. If a provider has not exhausted any applicable DMAS or 

contractor reconsideration or review process or contractor's 

internal appeals process that the provider is required to 

exhaust before filing a DMAS informal appeal, the 

provider's written notice of informal appeal shall be 

administratively dismissed. 

4. If DMAS has not issued a decision with appeal rights, the 

provider's attempt to file a written notice of informal appeal, 

prior to the issuance of a decision by DMAS that has appeal 

rights, shall be administratively dismissed. 

C. Written case summary. 

1. DMAS shall file a written case summary with the DMAS 

Appeals Division within 30 days of the filing of the 

provider's notice of informal appeal and shall transmit a 

complete copy of the case summary to the provider on the 

same day. 

2. For each adjustment, patient, and service date or other 

disputed matter identified by the provider in its notice of 

informal appeal, the case summary shall explain the factual 

basis upon which DMAS relied in taking its action or 

making its decision and identify any authority or 

documentation upon which DMAS relied in taking its action 

or making its decision. 

3. Failure to file a written case summary with the DMAS 

Appeals Division within 30 days of the filing of the written 

notice of informal appeal shall result in dismissal in favor of 

the provider. 

4. The provider shall have 12 days following the due date of 

the case summary to file with the DMAS Appeals Division 

and transmit to the author of the case summary a written 

notice of all alleged deficiencies in the case summary that 

the provider knows, or reasonably should know, exist. 

Failure of the provider to timely file a written notice of 

deficiency with the DMAS Appeals Division shall be 

deemed a waiver of all deficiencies, alleged or otherwise, 

with the case summary. 

5. Upon timely receipt of the provider's notice of deficiency, 

DMAS shall have 12 days to address the alleged deficiency 

or deficiencies. If DMAS does not address the alleged 

deficiency or does not address the alleged deficiency to the 

provider's satisfaction, the alleged deficiency or deficiencies 

shall become an issue to be addressed by the informal 

appeals agent as part of the informal appeal decision. 

6. The informal appeals agent shall make a determination as 

to each deficiency that is alleged by the provider as set forth 

in this subsection. In making that determination, the 

informal appeals agent shall determine whether the alleged 

deficiency is such that it could not reasonably be determined 

from the case summary the factual basis and authority for the 

DMAS action, relating to the alleged deficiency, so as to 

require a dismissal in favor of the provider on the issue or 

issues to which the alleged deficiency pertains. 

D. Conference. 

1. The informal appeals agent shall conduct the conference 

within 90 days from the filing of the notice of informal 

appeal. If DMAS, the provider, and the informal appeals 

agent agree, the conference may be conducted by way of 

written submissions. If the conference is conducted by way 

of written submissions, the informal appeals agent shall 

specify the time within which the provider may file written 

submissions, not to exceed 90 days from the filing of the 

notice of informal appeal. Only written submissions filed 

within the time specified by the informal appeals agent shall 

be considered. 

2. The conference may be recorded at the discretion of the 

informal appeals agent and solely for the convenience of the 

informal appeals agent. Because the conference is not an 

adversarial or evidentiary proceeding, no other recordings or 

transcriptions shall be permitted. Any recordings made for 

the convenience of the informal appeals agent shall not be 

released to DMAS or to the provider. 

3. Upon completion of the conference, the informal appeals 

agent shall specify the time within which the provider may 

file additional documentation or information, if any, not to 

exceed 30 days. Only documentation or information filed 

within the time specified by the informal appeals agent shall 

be considered. 

E. Informal appeals decision. The informal appeal decision 

shall be issued within 180 days of receipt of the notice of 

informal appeal unless the provider and DMAS have mutually 

agreed in writing to stay the timeframe for issuing the informal 

decision pursuant to 12VAC30-20-550. 

F. Remand. Whenever an informal appeal is required 

pursuant to a remand by court order, final agency decision, 

agreement of the parties, or otherwise, all time periods set forth 

in this section shall begin to run effective with the date that the 

document containing the remand is date-stamped by the 

DMAS Appeals Division in Richmond, Virginia. 
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12VAC30-20-550. (Reserved.) Settlement agreements. 

A. Providers who have filed an administrative appeal under 

12VAC30-20-540 or 12VAC30-20-560 may submit a proposal 

to DMAS to settle the appeal. 

B. A proposal for a settlement shall be submitted in writing 

by the provider or the provider's counsel to the DMAS Appeals 

Division Director. The proposal shall include the justification 

for the settlement and the terms proposed to settle the case. The 

Appeals Division Director shall refer the proposal to a DMAS 

appeal representative authorized by the Office of the Attorney 

General under § 2.2-509 of the Code of Virginia to represent 

DMAS in administrative proceedings. 

C. Stay of decision deadlines. 

1. Receipt of a settlement proposal from a provider in 

accordance with subsection B of this section shall not require 

the DMAS appeal representative to engage in settlement 

negotiations or agree to stay the deadline for the informal 

appeal decision or for the formal appeal recommended 

decision of the hearing officer (collectively, the decision 

deadline). The DMAS appeal representative and the 

provider may jointly agree in writing to stay the decision 

deadline for a period of up to 60 days to facilitate settlement 

discussions. The date of the written agreement of the parties 

to stay the decision deadline shall be the start date for 

calculating the length of the stay. Written notice of the 

agreement to stay the decision deadline and the length of 

stay shall be provided to the Appeals Division Director on 

the start date. During the stay, the time period to issue the 

informal appeal decision or the formal appeal recommended 

decision shall not run; however, all other interim deadlines 

remain applicable.  

2. If the parties mutually agree in writing to a proposed 

resolution within the agreed upon stay period described in 

subdivision C 1 of this section, then the stay shall be 

extended for such additional time as may be necessary for 

review and approval of the settlement in accordance with 

§ 2.2-514 of the Code of Virginia. 

3. A stay may be removed by a party to the appeal for any 

reason, including the following:  

a. The parties do not agree to a full settlement within the 

agreed upon stay period described in subdivision C 1 of 

this section;  

b. One party advises the other and the Appeals Division 

Director in writing that it no longer agrees for the stay to 

continue; or  

c. The parties reach a proposed settlement, but the 

proposed settlement is not approved in accordance with 

§ 2.2-514 of the Code of Virginia.  

If the stay is removed, the stay shall be communicated in 

writing between the parties and written notice provided to 

the Appeals Division Director. The time period to issue the 

informal appeal decision or the formal appeal recommended 

decision shall resume on the day the notice is provided to the 

Appeals Division Director.  

12VAC30-20-560. Formal appeals. 

A. A provider appealing a DMAS informal appeal decision 

shall file a written notice of formal appeal with the DMAS 

Appeals Division within 30 days of the provider's receipt of the 

informal appeal decision. The notice of formal appeal shall 

identify each adjustment, patient, service date, or other 

disputed matter that the provider is appealing. Failure to file a 

written notice of formal appeal in the detail specified within 30 

days of receipt of the informal appeal decision shall result in 

dismissal of the appeal. Pursuant to § 2.2-4019 A of the Code 

of Virginia, DMAS shall ascertain the fact basis for decisions 

through informal proceedings unless the parties consent in 

writing to waive such a conference or proceeding to go directly 

to a formal hearing, and therefore only issues that were 

addressed pursuant to § 2.2-4019 of the Code of Virginia shall 

be addressed in the formal appeal, unless DMAS and the 

provider consent to waive the informal fact-finding process 

under § 2.2-4019 A of the Code of Virginia. 

B. Documentary evidence, objections to documentary 

evidence, opening briefs, and reply briefs. 

1. Documentary evidence, objections to documentary 

evidence, opening briefs, and reply briefs shall be filed with 

the DMAS Appeals Division on the date specified in this 

subsection. The hearing officer shall only consider those 

documents or pleadings that are filed within the required 

timeline. Simultaneous with filing, the filing party shall 

transmit a copy to the other party and to the hearing officer. 

a. All documentary evidence upon which DMAS or the 

provider relies shall be filed within 21 days of the filing of 

the notice of formal appeal. 

b. Any objections to the admissibility of documentary 

evidence shall be filed within seven days of the filing of 

the documentary evidence. The hearing officer shall rule 

on any such objections within seven days of the filing of 

the objections. 

c. The opening brief shall be filed by DMAS and the 

provider within 30 days of the completion of the hearing. 

d. Any reply brief from DMAS or the provider shall be 

filed within 10 days of the filing of the opening brief to 

which the reply brief responds. 

2. If there has been an extension to the time for conducting 

the hearing pursuant to subsection C of this section, the 

hearing officer is authorized to alter the due dates for filing 

opening and reply briefs to permit the hearing officer to be 

in compliance with the due date for the submission of the 

recommended decision as required by § 32.1-325.1 B of the 

Code of Virginia and subsection E of this section. 
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C. The hearing officer shall conduct the hearing within 45 

days from the filing of the notice of formal appeal, unless the 

hearing officer, DMAS, and the provider all mutually agree to 

extend the time for conducting the hearing. Notwithstanding 

the foregoing, the due date for the hearing officer to submit the 

recommended decision to the DMAS director, as required by 

§ 32.1-325.1 B of the Code of Virginia and subsection E of this 

section, shall not be extended or otherwise changed. 

D. Hearings shall be transcribed by a court reporter retained 

by DMAS. 

E. The hearing officer shall submit a recommended decision 

to the DMAS director with a copy to the provider within 120 

days of the filing of the formal appeal notice, unless the 

provider and DMAS have mutually agreed in writing to stay 

the timeframe for issuing the recommended decision pursuant 

to 12VAC30-20-550. If the hearing officer does not submit a 

recommended decision within 120 days of the filing of the 

notice of formal appeal or the period specified under 

12VAC30-20-550, then DMAS shall give written notice to the 

hearing officer and the Executive Secretary of the Supreme 

Court that a recommended decision is due. 

F. Upon receipt of the hearing officer's recommended 

decision, the DMAS director shall notify DMAS and the 

provider in writing that any written exceptions to the hearing 

officer's recommended decision shall be filed with the DMAS 

Appeals Division within 14 days of receipt of the DMAS 

director's letter. Only exceptions filed within 14 days of receipt 

of the DMAS director's letter shall be considered. 

G. The DMAS director shall issue the final agency decision 

within 60 days of receipt of the hearing officer's recommended 

decision in accordance with § 32.1-325.1 B of the Code of 

Virginia. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R20-5615; Filed June 22, 2021, 10:22 a.m. 

Fast-Track Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 12VAC30-30. Groups Covered and 

Agencies Responsible for Eligibility Determination 

(amending 12VAC30-30-70). 

Statutory Authority: § 32.1-325 of the Code of Virginia; 

42 USC § 1396 et seq. 

Public Hearing Information: No public hearing is currently 

scheduled. 

Public Comment Deadline: August 18, 2021. 

Effective Date: September 2, 2021. 

Agency Contact: Emily McClellan, Regulatory Supervisor, 

Policy Division, Department of Medical Assistance Services, 

600 East Broad Street, Suite 1300, Richmond, VA 23219, 

telephone (804) 371-4300, FAX (804) 786-1680, or email 

emily.mcclellan@dmas.virginia.gov. 

Basis: Section 32.1 325 of the Code of Virginia grants to the 

Board of Medical Assistance Services the authority to 

administer and amend the Plan for Medical Assistance and to 

promulgate regulations. Section 32.1-324 of the Code of 

Virginia authorizes the Director of the Department of Medical 

Assistance Services (DMAS) to administer and amend the Plan 

for Medical Assistance and to promulgate regulations 

according to the board's requirements. 

Item 303 SS 4a of Chapter 2 of the 2018 Acts of Assembly and 

Chapter 854 of the 2019 Acts of Assembly and Item 313 QQ 

3a(1) of Chapter 1289 of the 2020 Acts of Assembly direct 

DMAS to amend the State Plan for Medical Assistance to 

implement coverage for newly eligible individuals. 

Purpose: This regulation is essential to protect the health, 

safety, and welfare of citizens in that it implements the General 

Assembly mandate to expand Medicaid coverage to new 

populations. 

Rationale for Using Fast-Track Rulemaking Process: This 

regulatory package is expected to be noncontroversial because 

it describes changes that were approved by the Centers for 

Medicare and Medicaid Services and that went into effect on 

January 1, 2019. As of October 18, 2019, over 331,000 

individuals had enrolled in Medicaid expansion, and no formal 

or informal complaints or comments had been received about 

these changes from any Medicaid member, Medicaid provider, 

or member of the public. 

Substance: Medicaid expansion amended mandatory eligibility 

categories to include adults aged 19 years or older and younger 

than 65 years of age, with household incomes below 138% of 

the federal poverty level. In accordance with federal 

requirements, individuals in this covered group must be 

considered for possible hospital presumptive eligibility. This 

action accomplishes that objective. 

Issues: The primary advantage of this regulatory action is that 

additional individuals will have access to comprehensive 

health insurance, which should help improve health measures 

and outcomes across the Commonwealth. There are no 

disadvantages to the agency or the public. 

Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 

Analysis:  

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. The 

Director of the Department of Medical Assistance Services 

(DMAS) proposes to clarify that existing Medicaid hospital 

presumptive eligibility rules also apply to adults 19 years of 

age or older, but younger than 65 years of age, who became 

eligible for coverage under the eligibility expansion that was 

authorized by the 2018 General Assembly. 

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. The 

Director of the Department of Medical Assistance Services 

(DMAS) proposes to clarify that existing Medicaid hospital 

presumptive eligibility rules also apply to adults 19 years of 

age or older, but younger than 65 years of age, who became 

eligible for coverage under the eligibility expansion that was 

authorized by the 2018 General Assembly. 
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Background. Starting on January 1, 2019, Virginia expanded 

Medicaid eligibility to adults 19 years of age or older, but 

younger than 65 years of age, with household incomes below 

138 percent of the federal poverty level. Both the 2018 and 

2019 Appropriation Acts (Item 303.SS 4a) authorized DMAS 

to effectuate changes needed to implement the expansion. 

Likewise, both Appropriation Acts (Item 303.SS 4f) allowed 

DMAS to promulgate emergency regulations to implement the 

expansion related changes which became effective on October 

15, 2019.1 As of October 18, 2019, over 331,000 individuals 

had enrolled in the expanded category. 

Federal regulations in 42 CFR 435.1101 and 1102 outline the 

details regarding the implementation of hospital presumptive 

eligibility rules by the states, and note that Medicaid recipients 

are presumed eligible for hospital services subject to certain 

conditions. However, this regulation which was adopted to 

comply with the federal hospital presumptive eligibility rules 

currently do not include the expanded eligibility category as 

one of the groups that are subject to hospital presumptive 

eligibility. The changes proposed by DMAS would 

permanently add the eligibility category of adults 19 years of 

age or older, but younger than 65 years of age, with household 

incomes below 138% of the federal poverty level to the groups 

that are subject to hospital presumptive eligibility rules. 

Under the presumptive eligibility rules previously adopted by 

Virginia Medicaid, eligibility determinations are made by 

trained hospital staff based on an assessment of the individual's 

status as a member of a group (i.e. pregnant women, infants 

and children under age 19, parents and other caretaker 

relatives, individuals eligible for family planning services, 

former foster care children, individuals needing treatment for 

breast and cervical cancer), their income, state residency, and 

citizenship status. 

The hospital then assists the individual in completing and 

submitting a full Medicaid application for future Medicaid 

coverage. If the individual is found presumptively eligible, he 

or she is temporarily enrolled in Medicaid and health care 

providers receive payment for services provided during this 

interim period. A full application for Medicaid coverage may 

follow, with the determination of eligibility completed by a 

local department of social services, or DMAS. The 

presumptive eligibility begins on the date the determination is 

made and ends on the earlier of the day on which a decision is 

made on a full Medicaid application, or the last day of the 

month following the month that the hospital's presumptive 

eligibility determination was made and no full Medicaid 

application was filed. Payment for services covered is 

guaranteed during the presumptive eligibility period. There is 

no recoupment for Medicaid services provided during that 

period resulting from erroneous determinations made by 

qualified entities. 

Estimated Benefits and Costs. The primary advantages that 

would result from this regulatory action are that it would: 

enable DMAS to comply with federal requirements; assure 

individuals in the expanded category timely access to care; 

promote Medicaid enrollment among individuals who are 

eligible for Medicaid but not enrolled; and permit hospitals to 

receive Medicaid reimbursement for covered services 

rendered. However, it should be noted that these effects are the 

result of the enabling legislation and cannot be directly 

attributed to the proposed regulatory language by themselves. 

Also, the proposed changes have already been implemented 

effective October 15, 2019 under emergency regulations 

pursuant to 2018 and 2019 General Assembly mandates. Thus, 

the proposed changes are not expected to create any new 

economic impact following promulgation of these permanent 

rules, other than clarifying the regulatory text regarding the 

applicability of existing hospital presumptive eligibility rules 

to the expansion population. 

Businesses and Other Entities Affected. There are 169 

hospitals in Virginia enrolled in Medicaid and 63 of them are 

conducting presumptive eligibility determinations. In 2020, 

there were 2,338 individuals who enrolled through hospital 

presumptive eligibility rules in the expanded category. As 

noted above, the proposed amendments mandated by the 

legislation are beneficial for both hospitals and recipients as 

they allow recipients to receive Medicaid services and 

providers to receive reimbursement for covered services 

rendered, but these amendments are not directly responsible for 

such impacts. Also, the proposed changes are not expected to 

create any economic effect upon promulgation of these 

permanent rules other than providing clarification for the 

regulatory text. Thus, no adverse economic impact2 on any 

entity is indicated. 

Small Businesses3 Affected. According to DMAS, none of the 

169 hospitals that are subject to the hospital presumptive 

eligibility rules are small businesses. Thus, the proposed 

amendments do not affect small businesses. 

Localities4 Affected.5 The proposed amendments do not 

introduce costs for local governments. 

Projected Impact on Employment. The proposed amendments 

do not directly affect total employment. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. The proposed 

amendments do not directly affect the use and value of private 

property nor real estate development costs. 

__________________ 
1https://townhall.virginia.gov/l/ViewStage.cfm?stageid=8501 
2Adverse impact is indicated if there is any increase in net cost or reduction in 

net revenue for any entity, even if the benefits exceed the costs for all entities 

combined. 
3Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.04 of the Code of Virginia, small business is defined 

as "a business entity, including its affiliates, that (i) is independently owned 

and operated and (ii) employs fewer than 500 full-time employees or has gross 

annual sales of less than $6 million." 
4"Locality" can refer to either local governments or the locations in the 

Commonwealth where the activities relevant to the regulatory change are most 

likely to occur. 
5§ 2.2-4007.04 defines "particularly affected" as bearing disproportionate 

material impact. 

https://townhall.virginia.gov/l/ViewStage.cfm?stageid=8501
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Agency's Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The agency 

has reviewed the economic impact analysis prepared by the 

Department of Planning and Budget. The agency raises no 

issues with this analysis.  

Summary: 

The amendments add a new adult coverage group to 

hospital presumptive eligibility, incorporating changes 

made to the State Plan for Medical Assistance in order to 

implement Medicaid Expansion. 

12VAC30-30-70. Hospital presumptive eligibility. 

A. Qualified hospitals shall administer presumptive eligibility 

in accordance with the provisions of this section. A qualified 

hospital is a hospital that meets the requirements of 42 CFR 

435.1110(b) and that: 

1. Has entered into a valid provider agreement with DMAS 

the Department of Medical Assistance Services (DMAS), 

participates as a Virginia Medicaid provider, notifies DMAS 

of its election to make presumptive eligibility 

determinations, and agrees to make presumptive eligibility 

determinations consistent with DMAS policies and 

procedures; and 

2. Has not been disqualified by DMAS for failure to make 

presumptive eligibility determinations in accordance with 

applicable state policies and procedures as defined in 

subsections C, D, and E of this section or for failure to meet 

any standards established by the Medicaid agency. 

B. The eligibility groups or populations for which hospitals 

determine eligibility presumptively are: (i) pregnant women; 

(ii) infants and children younger than age 19 years; (iii) parents 

and other caretaker relatives; (iv) individuals eligible for 

family planning services; (v) former foster care children; and 

(vi) individuals needing treatment for breast and cervical 

cancer; and (vii) adults 19 years of age or older but younger 

than 65 years of age. 

C. The presumptive eligibility determination shall be based 

on: 

1. The individual's categorical or nonfinancial eligibility for 

the group, as listed in subsection B of this section, for which 

the individual's presumptive eligibility is being determined; 

2. Household income shall not exceed the applicable income 

standard for the group, as the groups are listed in subsection 

B of this section, for which the individual's presumptive 

eligibility is being determined if an income standard is 

applicable for this group; 

3. Virginia residency; and 

4. Satisfactory immigration status in accordance with 

42 CFR 435.1102(d)(1) and as required in subdivision 3 of 

12VAC30-40-10 and 42 CFR 435.406. 

D. Qualified hospitals shall ensure that at least 85% of 

individuals deemed by the hospital to be presumptively eligible 

will file a full Medicaid application before the end of the 

presumptive eligibility period. 

E. Qualified hospitals shall ensure that at least 70% of 

individuals deemed by the hospital to be presumptively eligible 

are determined eligible for Medicaid based on the full 

application that is submitted before the end of the presumptive 

eligibility period. 

F. The presumptive eligibility period is determined in 

accordance with 42 CFR 435.1101 and shall begin on the date 

the presumptive eligibility determination is made. The 

presumptive eligibility period shall end on the earlier of: 

1. The date the eligibility determination for regular Medicaid 

is made if an application for Medicaid is filed by the last day 

of the month following the month in which the determination 

of presumptive eligibility is made; or 

2. The last day of the month following the month in which 

the determination of presumptive eligibility is made if no 

application for Medicaid is filed by last day of the month 

following the month in which the determination of 

presumptive eligibility is made. 

G. Periods of presumptive eligibility are limited to one 

presumptive eligibility period per pregnancy and one per 

calendar year for all other covered groups. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R20-5789; Filed June 22, 2021, 3:27 p.m. 

Fast-Track Regulation 

Titles of Regulations: 12VAC30-50. Amount, Duration, and 

Scope of Medical and Remedial Care Services (repealing 

12VAC30-50-600). 

12VAC30-121. Commonwealth Coordinated Care 

Program (repealing 12VAC30-121-10 through 12VAC30-

121-250). 

Statutory Authority: § 32.1-325 of the Code of Virginia; 

42 USC § 1396 et seq. 

Public Hearing Information: No public hearing is currently 

scheduled. 

Public Comment Deadline: August 18, 2021. 

Effective Date: September 2, 2021. 

Agency Contact: Emily McClellan, Regulatory Supervisor, 

Policy Division, Department of Medical Assistance Services, 

600 East Broad Street, Suite 1300, Richmond, VA 23219, 

telephone (804) 371-4300, FAX (804) 786-1680, or email 

emily.mcclellan@dmas.virginia.gov. 

Basis: Section 32.1 325 of the Code of Virginia grants to the 

Board of Medical Assistance Services the authority to 

administer and amend the Plan for Medical Assistance and to 

promulgate regulations. Section 32.1-324 of the Code of 

Virginia authorizes the Director of the Department of Medical 

Assistance Services (DMAS) to administer and amend the Plan 
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for Medical Assistance and to promulgate regulations 

according to the board's requirements. 

Purpose: The amendments repeal the regulation as it is no 

longer needed due to the August 2017 implementation of the 

mandated CCC Plus Program. The CCC program terminated 

effective December 31, 2017. This regulatory change protects 

the health, safety, and welfare of Medicaid recipients by 

ensuring that DMAS regulations and current DMAS practices 

are aligned. 

Rationale for Using Fast-Track Rulemaking Process: The 

repeal of these regulations will be noncontroversial because the 

CCC program ended on December 31, 2017, and the 

regulations have had no effect since then. 

Substance: The amendments repeal the now defunct CCC 

Program. 

Issues: The primary advantage of this action to both the public 

and the agency is the removal of outdated, unnecessary 

regulations. These changes create no disadvantages to the 

public, the agency, the Commonwealth, or the regulated 

community. 

Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 

Analysis: 

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. The 

Director of the Department of Medical Assistance Services 

(DMAS) proposes to repeal the regulations associated with the 

Commonwealth Coordinated Care Program (CCC), which 

consist of all of 12VAC30-121, Medicare-Medicaid 

Demonstration Waivers, and 12VAC30-50-600 of 12VAC30-

50, Amount, Duration, and Scope of Medical and Remedial 

Care Services. 

Background. CCC was a managed-care program launched in 

2014 to improve quality, access, and health care experiences 

for dual-eligible recipients of Medicare and Medicaid. The 

program reduced Medicare and Medicaid costs by streamlining 

benefits into one plan and provided individuals with services 

that were more coordinated and person-centered. 

DMAS then implemented a new managed care program for 

long-term services and supports, known as CCC Plus, in 2017. 

CCC Plus operates statewide across six regions as a mandatory 

Medicaid managed care program, and serves individuals 

(adults and children) with disabilities and complex care needs. 

Nearly half of the CCC Plus participants are dually eligible for 

Medicare and Medicaid, and many individuals (dual and 

nondual) receive care through nursing facilities or through one 

of the DMAS home and community based services.  

Once CCC Plus was implemented, all members who had been 

served by the old CCC program were transitioned into the new 

program. CCC ended on December 31, 2017. According to 

DMAS, the regulations associated with CCC were not repealed 

when the CCC Plus regulations1 were promulgated in order to 

allow Medicaid providers the opportunity to file an appeal. 

DMAS believes sufficient time has now passed to allow for 

appeals, and thus now proposes to repeal the regulations 

associated with CCC. 

Estimated Benefits and Costs. Since the text proposed for 

repeal is on a program that no longer exists, the proposal would 

have no impact beyond eliminating potential confusion among 

readers of the Virginia Administrative Code. 

Businesses and Other Entities Affected. The proposal 

potentially affects readers of the Virginia Administrative Code. 

The proposal does not produce any cost. 

Small Businesses2 Affected. The proposal does not adversely 

affect small businesses. . 

Localities3 Affected.4 The proposal does not disproportionally 

affect any particular locality. The proposal does not introduce 

costs for local governments.  

Projected Impact on Employment. The proposal does not affect 

employment.  

_________________________ 
1See https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/ViewStage.cfm?stageid =8620 
2Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.04 of the Code of Virginia, small business is defined 
as "a business entity, including its affiliates, that (i) is independently owned 

and operated and (ii) employs fewer than 500 full-time employees or has gross 

annual sales of less than $6 million." 
3"Locality" can refer to either local governments or the locations in the 

Commonwealth where the activities relevant to the regulatory change are most 

likely to occur. 
4§ 2.2-4007.04 defines "particularly affected" as bearing disproportionate 

material impact. 

Agency's Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The agency 

has reviewed the economic impact analysis prepared by the 

Department of Planning and Budget. The agency raises no 

issues with this analysis.  

Summary: 

The amendments repeal the regulations associated with 

the Commonwealth Coordinated Care (CCC) Program, 

which comprised all sections of 12VAC30-121 and the one 

section in 12VAC30-50 (12VAC30-50-600). The program, 

a managed-care program launched in 2014 to improve 

quality, access, and health care experiences for dual-

eligible recipients of Medicare and Medicaid (i) reduced 

Medicare and Medicaid costs by streamlining benefits into 

one plan and (ii) provided individuals with services that 

are more coordinated and person-centered. 

The Department of Medical Assistance Services (DMAS), 

with support from the Governor and the General 

Assembly, implemented a new managed long-term 

services and supports (LTSS) initiative, known as CCC 

Plus in 2017. CCC Plus operates statewide across six 

regions as a mandatory Medicaid managed care program, 

and serves individuals (adults and children) with 

disabilities and complex care needs. Nearly half of the 

CCC Plus participants are dually eligible for Medicare 

and Medicaid and many individuals (dual and nondual) 

receive care through nursing facilities or through one of 

the DMAS home and community based services. 

https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/ViewStage.cfm?stageid=8620
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Once the CCC Plus program was implemented, all 

members who had been served by the old CCC program 

were transitioned into the new program, and the CCC 

program ended on December 31, 2017. As a result, the 

CCC regulations are no longer in effect, and are being 

repealed. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R21-6694; Filed June 22, 2021, 11:17 a.m. 

Final Regulation 

Titles of Regulations: 12VAC30-50. Amount, Duration, and 

Scope of Medical and Remedial Care Services (amending 

12VAC30-50-130). 

12VAC30-60. Standards Established and Methods Used to 

Assure High Quality Care (adding 12VAC30-60-65). 

12VAC30-120. Waivered Services (amending 12VAC30-

120-924, 12VAC30-120-930). 

12VAC30-122. Community Waiver Services for 

Individuals with Developmental Disabilities (adding 

12VAC30-122-125). 

Statutory Authority: § 32.1-325 of the Code of Virginia; 

42 USC § 1396 et seq. 

Effective Date: August 18, 2021. 

Agency Contact: Emily McClellan, Regulatory Supervisor, 

Policy Division, Department of Medical Assistance Services, 

600 East Broad Street, Suite 1300, Richmond, VA 23219, 

telephone (804) 371-4300, FAX (804) 786-1680, or email 

emily.mcclellan@dmas.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

For personal care, companion care, and respite care 

services, the amendments establish the requirements for 

electronic visit verification (EVV), which is a telephone and 

computer-based system by which providers of services to 

qualifying Medicaid individuals create an electronic record 

of their arrival and departure times, locations, and services 

provided at each visit. Additional amendments require the 

implementation of EVV for specific categories of service 

providers, including those providing (i) personal care 

services for children receiving early preventative screening, 

diagnosis, and treatment; (ii) consumer-directed or agency-

directed personal care or respite care services specifically 

for activities of daily living; (iii) personal care or respite 

care services for individuals under the Elderly or Disabled 

with Consumer-Direction Waiver, agency-directed or 

consumer-directed companion services in the workplace or 

postsecondary school, and agency-directed or consumer-

directed respite care services; and (iv) services for 

individuals with developmental disabilities receiving 

community waiver services. The amendments are in 

conformance with the 21st Century Cures Act (P.L. 114-

255), Public Law 115-222, and Item 303 LLL of Chapter 2 

of the 2018 Acts of Assembly, Special Session I. 

Changes to the proposed regulation include giving 

providers additional billing claim directives and clarifying 

exemptions to applicable services. 12VAC30-120-766, a 

section pertaining to personal care and respite care 

services, was repealed effective March 31, 2021, and 

therefore is no longer included as part of the final 

regulation. The proposed amendments to that section were 

provisionally redundant with the amendments becoming 

final in 12VAC30-122-20. 

12VAC30-50-130. Nursing facility services, EPSDT, 

including school health services and family planning. 

A. Nursing facility services (other than services in an 

institution for mental diseases) for individuals 21 years of age 

or older. Service must be ordered or prescribed and directed or 

performed within the scope of a license of the practitioner of 

the healing arts. 

B. General provisions for early and periodic screening, 

diagnosis, and treatment (EPSDT) of individuals younger than 

21 years of age, and treatment of conditions found. 

1. Payment of medical assistance services shall be made on 

behalf of individuals younger than 21 years of age who are 

Medicaid eligible for medically necessary stays in acute care 

facilities and the accompanying attendant physician care in 

excess of 21 days per admission when such services are 

rendered for the purpose of diagnosis and treatment of health 

conditions identified through a physical examination. 

2. Routine physicals and immunizations (except as provided 

through EPSDT) are not covered except that well-child 

examinations in a private physician's office are covered for 

foster children of the local departments of social services on 

specific referral from those departments. 

3. Orthoptics services shall only be reimbursed if medically 

necessary to correct a visual defect identified by an EPSDT 

examination or evaluation. DMAS shall place appropriate 

utilization controls upon this service. 

4. Consistent with § 6403 of the Omnibus Budget 

Reconciliation Act of 1989, early and periodic screening, 

diagnostic, and treatment services means the following 

services: screening services, vision services, dental services, 

hearing services, and such other necessary health care, 

diagnostic services, treatment, and other measures described 

in Social Security Act § 1905(a) to correct or ameliorate 

defects and physical and mental illnesses and conditions 

discovered by the screening services and that are medically 

necessary, whether or not such services are covered under 

the State Plan and notwithstanding the limitations, 

applicable to recipients 21 years of age and older, provided 

for by § 1905(a) of the Social Security Act. 

C. Community mental health services. These services in order 

to be covered (i) shall meet medical necessity criteria based 

upon diagnoses made by LMHPs who are practicing within the 
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scope of their licenses and (ii) are reflected in provider records 

and on providers' claims for services by recognized diagnosis 

codes that support and are consistent with the requested 

professional services. 

1. Definitions. The following words and terms when used in 

this section shall have the following meanings unless the 

context clearly indicates otherwise: 

"Activities of daily living" means personal care activities 

and includes bathing, dressing, transferring, toileting, 

feeding, and eating. 

"Adolescent" or "child" means the individual receiving the 

services described in this section. For the purpose of the use 

of these terms, adolescent means an individual 12 through 

20 years of age; child means an individual from birth up to 

12 years of age. 

"Behavioral health service" means the same as defined in 

12VAC30-130-5160. 

"Care coordination" means collaboration and sharing of 

information among health care providers who are involved 

with an individual's health care to improve the care. 

"Caregiver" means the same as defined in 12VAC30-130-

5160. 

"Certified prescreener" means an employee of the local 

community services board or behavioral health authority, or 

its designee, who is skilled in the assessment and treatment 

of mental illness and has completed a certification program 

approved by the Department of Behavioral Health and 

Developmental Services. 

"Clinical experience" means providing direct behavioral 

health services on a full-time basis or equivalent hours of 

part-time work to children and adolescents who have 

diagnoses of mental illness and includes supervised 

internships, supervised practicums, and supervised field 

experience for the purpose of Medicaid reimbursement of (i) 

intensive in-home services, (ii) day treatment for children 

and adolescents, (iii) community-based residential services 

for children and adolescents who are younger than 21 years 

of age (Level A), or (iv) therapeutic behavioral services 

(Level B). Experience shall not include unsupervised 

internships, unsupervised practicums, and unsupervised 

field experience. The equivalency of part-time hours to full-

time hours for the purpose of this requirement shall be as 

established by DBHDS in the document entitled Human 

Services and Related Fields Approved Degrees/Experience, 

issued March 12, 2013, revised May 3, 2013. 

"DBHDS" means the Department of Behavioral Health and 

Developmental Services. 

"Direct supervisor" means the person who provides direct 

supervision to the peer recovery specialist. The direct 

supervisor (i) shall have two consecutive years of 

documented practical experience rendering peer support 

services or family support services, have certification as a 

PRS under a certifying body approved by DBHDS, and have 

documented completion of the DBHDS PRS supervisor 

training; (ii) shall be a qualified mental health professional 

(QMHP-A, QMHP-C, or QMHP-E) as defined in 

12VAC35-105-20 with at least two consecutive years of 

documented experience as a QMHP, and who has 

documented completion of the DBHDS PRS supervisor 

training; or (iii) shall be an LMHP who has documented 

completion of the DBHDS PRS supervisor training who is 

acting within his scope of practice under state law. An 

LMHP providing services before April 1, 2018, shall have 

until April 1, 2018, to complete the DBHDS PRS supervisor 

training. 

"DMAS" means the Department of Medical Assistance 

Services and its contractors. 

"EPSDT" means early and periodic screening, diagnosis, 

and treatment. 

"Family support partners" means the same as defined in 

12VAC30-130-5170. 

"Human services field" means the same as the term is 

defined by DBHDS in the document entitled Human 

Services and Related Fields Approved Degrees/Experience, 

issued March 12, 2013, revised May 3, 2013. 

"Individual service plan" or "ISP" means the same as the 

term is defined in 12VAC30-50-226. 

"Licensed mental health professional" or "LMHP" means 

the same as defined in 12VAC35-105-20. 

"LMHP-resident" or "LMHP-R" means the same as 

"resident" as defined in (i) 18VAC115-20-10 for licensed 

professional counselors; (ii) 18VAC115-50-10 for licensed 

marriage and family therapists; or (iii) 18VAC115-60-10 for 

licensed substance abuse treatment practitioners. An LMHP-

resident shall be in continuous compliance with the 

regulatory requirements of the applicable counseling 

profession for supervised practice and shall not perform the 

functions of the LMHP-R or be considered a "resident" until 

the supervision for specific clinical duties at a specific site 

has been preapproved in writing by the Virginia Board of 

Counseling. For purposes of Medicaid reimbursement to 

their supervisors for services provided by such residents, 

they shall use the title "Resident" in connection with the 

applicable profession after their signatures to indicate such 

status. 

"LMHP-resident in psychology" or "LMHP-RP" means the 

same as an individual in a residency, as that term is defined 

in 18VAC125-20-10, program for clinical psychologists. An 

LMHP-resident in psychology shall be in continuous 

compliance with the regulatory requirements for supervised 

experience as found in 18VAC125-20-65 and shall not 
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perform the functions of the LMHP-RP or be considered a 

"resident" until the supervision for specific clinical duties at 

a specific site has been preapproved in writing by the 

Virginia Board of Psychology. For purposes of Medicaid 

reimbursement by supervisors for services provided by such 

residents, they shall use the title "Resident in Psychology" 

after their signatures to indicate such status. 

"LMHP-supervisee in social work," "LMHP-supervisee," or 

"LMHP-S" means the same as "supervisee" as defined in 

18VAC140-20-10 for licensed clinical social workers. An 

LMHP-supervisee in social work shall be in continuous 

compliance with the regulatory requirements for supervised 

practice as found in 18VAC140-20-50 and shall not perform 

the functions of the LMHP-S or be considered a "supervisee" 

until the supervision for specific clinical duties at a specific 

site is preapproved in writing by the Virginia Board of Social 

Work. For purposes of Medicaid reimbursement to their 

supervisors for services provided by supervisees, these 

persons shall use the title "Supervisee in Social Work" after 

their signatures to indicate such status. 

"Peer recovery specialist" or "PRS" means the same as 

defined in 12VAC35-250-10. 

"Peer recovery support services" means the same as defined 

in 12VAC35-250-10. 

"Person centered" means the same as defined in 12VAC30-

130-5160. 

"Progress notes" means individual-specific documentation 

that contains the unique differences particular to the 

individual's circumstances, treatment, and progress that is 

also signed and contemporaneously dated by the provider's 

professional staff who have prepared the notes. 

Individualized and member-specific progress notes are part 

of the minimum documentation requirements and shall 

convey the individual's status, staff interventions, and, as 

appropriate, the individual's progress, or lack of progress, 

toward goals and objectives in the ISP. The progress notes 

shall also include, at a minimum, the name of the service 

rendered, the date of the service rendered, the signature and 

credentials of the person who rendered the service, the 

setting in which the service was rendered, and the amount of 

time or units or hours required to deliver the service. The 

content of each progress note shall corroborate the units or 

hours billed. Progress notes shall be documented for each 

service that is billed. 

"Psychoeducation" means (i) a specific form of education 

aimed at helping individuals who have mental illness and 

their family members or caregivers to access clear and 

concise information about mental illness and (ii) a way of 

accessing and learning strategies to deal with mental illness 

and its effects in order to design effective treatment plans 

and strategies. 

"Psychoeducational activities" means systematic 

interventions based on supportive and cognitive behavior 

therapy that emphasizes an individual's and his family's 

needs and focuses on increasing the individual's and family's 

knowledge about mental disorders, adjusting to mental 

illness, communicating and facilitating problem solving, and 

increasing coping skills. 

"Qualified mental health professional-child" or "QMHP-C" 

means the same as the term is defined in 12VAC35-105-20. 

"Qualified mental health professional-eligible" or "QMHP-

E" means the same as the term is defined in 12VAC35-105-

20 and consistent with the requirements of 12VAC35-105-

590. 

"Qualified paraprofessional in mental health" or "QPPMH" 

means the same as the term is defined in 12VAC35-105-20 

and consistent with the requirements of 12VAC35-105-

1370. 

"Recovery-oriented services" means the same as defined in 

12VAC30-130-5160. 

"Recovery, resiliency, and wellness plan" means the same as 

defined in 12VAC30-130-5160. 

"Resiliency" means the same as defined in 12VAC30-130-

5160. 

"Self-advocacy" means the same as defined in 12VAC30-

130-5160. 

"Service-specific provider intake" means the face-to-face 

interaction in which the provider obtains information from 

the child or adolescent, and parent or other family member, 

as appropriate, about the child's or adolescent's mental health 

status. It includes documented history of the severity, 

intensity, and duration of mental health care problems and 

issues and shall contain all of the following elements: (i) the 

presenting issue or reason for referral, (ii) mental health 

history/hospitalizations, (iii) previous interventions by 

providers and timeframes and response to treatment, (iv) 

medical profile, (v) developmental history including history 

of abuse, if appropriate, (vi) educational or vocational status, 

(vii) current living situation and family history and 

relationships, (viii) legal status, (ix) drug and alcohol profile, 

(x) resources and strengths, (xi) mental status exam and 

profile, (xii) diagnosis, (xiii) professional summary and 

clinical formulation, (xiv) recommended care and treatment 

goals, and (xv) the dated signature of the LMHP, LMHP-

supervisee, LMHP-resident, or LMHP-RP. 

"Services provided under arrangement" means the same as 

defined in 12VAC30-130-850. 

"Strength-based" means the same as defined in 12VAC30-

130-5160. 

"Supervision" means the same as defined in 12VAC30-130-

5160. 
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2. Intensive in-home services (IIH) to children and 

adolescents younger than 21 years of age shall be time-

limited interventions provided in the individual's residence 

and when clinically necessary in community settings. All 

interventions and the settings of the intervention shall be 

defined in the Individual Service Plan. All IIH services shall 

be designed to specifically improve family dynamics, 

provide modeling, and the clinically necessary interventions 

that increase functional and therapeutic interpersonal 

relations between family members in the home. IIH services 

are designed to promote psychoeducational benefits in the 

home setting of an individual who is at risk of being moved 

into an out-of-home placement or who is being transitioned 

to home from an out-of-home placement due to a 

documented medical need of the individual. These services 

provide crisis treatment; individual and family counseling; 

communication skills (e.g., counseling to assist the 

individual and the individual's parents or guardians, as 

appropriate, to understand and practice appropriate problem 

solving, anger management, and interpersonal interaction, 

etc.); care coordination with other required services; and 24-

hour emergency response. 

a. Service authorization shall be required for Medicaid 

reimbursement prior to the onset of services. Services 

rendered before the date of authorization shall not be 

reimbursed. 

b. Service-specific provider intakes shall be required at the 

onset of services and ISPs shall be required during the 

entire duration of services. Services based upon 

incomplete, missing, or outdated service-specific provider 

intakes or ISPs shall be denied reimbursement. 

Requirements for service-specific provider intakes and 

ISPs are set out in this section. 

c. These services shall only be rendered by an LMHP, 

LMHP-supervisee, LMHP-resident, LMHP-RP, a QMHP-

C, or a QMHP-E. 

3. Therapeutic day treatment (TDT) shall be provided two or 

more hours per day in order to provide therapeutic 

interventions. Day treatment programs provide evaluation; 

medication education and management; opportunities to 

learn and use daily living skills and to enhance social and 

interpersonal skills (e.g., problem solving, anger 

management, community responsibility, increased impulse 

control, and appropriate peer relations, etc.); and individual, 

group, and family counseling. 

a. Service authorization shall be required for Medicaid 

reimbursement. 

b. Service-specific provider intakes shall be required at the 

onset of services, and ISPs shall be required during the 

entire duration of services. Services based upon 

incomplete, missing, or outdated service-specific provider 

intakes or ISPs shall be denied reimbursement. 

Requirements for service-specific provider intakes and 

ISPs are set out in this section. 

c. These services shall be rendered only by an LMHP, 

LMHP-supervisee, LMHP-resident, LMHP-RP, a QMHP-

C, or a QMHP-E. 

D. Therapeutic group home services and psychiatric 

residential treatment facility (PRTF) services for early and 

periodic screening diagnosis and treatment (EPSDT) of 

individuals younger than 21 years of age. 

1. Definitions. The following words and terms when used in 

this subsection shall have the following meanings: 

"Active treatment" means implementation of an initial plan 

of care (IPOC) and comprehensive individual plan of care 

(CIPOC). 

"Assessment" means the face-to-face interaction by an 

LMHP, LMHP-R, LMHP-RP, or LMHP-S to obtain 

information from the child or adolescent and parent, 

guardian, or other family member, as appropriate, utilizing a 

tool or series of tools to provide a comprehensive evaluation 

and review of the child's or adolescent's mental health status. 

The assessment shall include a documented history of the 

severity, intensity, and duration of mental health problems 

and behavioral and emotional issues. 

"Certificate of need" or "CON" means a written statement 

by an independent certification team that services in a 

therapeutic group home or PRTF are or were needed. 

"Combined treatment services" means a structured, 

therapeutic milieu and planned interventions that promote (i) 

the development or restoration of adaptive functioning, self-

care, and social skills; (ii) community integrated activities 

and community living skills that each individual requires to 

live in less restrictive environments; (iii) behavioral 

consultation; (iv) individual and group therapy; (v) skills 

restoration, the restoration of coping skills, family living and 

health awareness, interpersonal skills, communication skills, 

and stress management skills; (vi) family education and 

family therapy; and (vii) individualized treatment planning. 

"Comprehensive individual plan of care" or "CIPOC" means 

a person centered plan of care that meets all of the 

requirements of this subsection and is specific to the 

individual's unique treatment needs and acuity levels as 

identified in the clinical assessment and information 

gathered during the referral process. 

"Crisis" means a deteriorating or unstable situation that 

produces an acute, heightened emotional, mental, physical, 

medical, or behavioral event. 

"Crisis management" means immediately provided activities 

and interventions designed to rapidly manage a crisis. The 

activities and interventions include behavioral health care to 

provide immediate assistance to individuals experiencing 

acute behavioral health problems that require immediate 

intervention to stabilize and prevent harm and higher level 

of acuity. Activities shall include assessment and short-term 
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counseling designed to stabilize the individual. Individuals 

are referred to long-term services once the crisis has been 

stabilized. 

"Daily supervision" means the supervision provided in a 

PRTF through a resident-to-staff ratio approved by the 

Office of Licensure at the Department of Behavioral Health 

and Developmental Services with documented supervision 

checks every 15 minutes throughout a 24-hour period. 

"Discharge planning" means family and locality-based care 

coordination that begins upon admission to a PRTF or 

therapeutic group home with the goal of transitioning the 

individual out of the PRTF or therapeutic group home to a 

less restrictive care setting with continued, clinically-

appropriate, and possibly intensive, services as soon as 

possible upon discharge. Discharge plans shall be 

recommended by the treating physician, psychiatrist, or 

treating LMHP responsible for the overall supervision of the 

plan of care and shall be approved by the DMAS contractor. 

"DSM-5" means the Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of 

Mental Disorders, Fifth Edition, copyright 2013, American 

Psychiatric Association. 

"Emergency admissions" means those admissions that are 

made when, pending a review for the certificate of need, it 

appears that the individual is in need of an immediate 

admission to a therapeutic group home or PRTF and likely 

does not meet the medical necessity criteria to receive crisis 

intervention, crisis stabilization, or acute psychiatric 

inpatient services. 

"Emergency services" means unscheduled and sometimes 

scheduled crisis intervention, stabilization, acute psychiatric 

inpatient services, and referral assistance provided over the 

telephone or face-to-face if indicated, and available 24 hours 

a day, seven days per week. 

"Family engagement" means a family-centered and 

strengths-based approach to partnering with families in 

making decisions, setting goals, achieving desired 

outcomes, and promoting safety, permanency, and well-

being for children, adolescents, and families. Family 

engagement requires ongoing opportunities for an individual 

to build and maintain meaningful relationships with family 

members, for example, frequent, unscheduled, and 

noncontingent telephone calls and visits between an 

individual and family members. Family engagement may 

also include enhancing or facilitating the development of the 

individual's relationship with other family members and 

supportive adults responsible for the individual's care and 

well-being upon discharge. 

"Family engagement activity" means an intervention 

consisting of family psychoeducational training or coaching, 

transition planning with the family, family and independent 

living skills, and training on accessing community supports 

as identified in the plan of care. Family engagement activity 

does not include and is not the same as family therapy. 

"Family therapy" means counseling services involving the 

individual's family and significant others to advance the 

treatment goals when (i) the counseling with the family 

member and significant others is for the direct benefit of the 

individual, (ii) the counseling is not aimed at addressing 

treatment needs of the individual's family or significant 

others, and (iii) the individual is present except when it is 

clinically appropriate for the individual to be absent in order 

to advance the individual's treatment goals. Family therapy 

shall be aligned with the goals of the individual's plan of 

care. All family therapy services furnished are for the direct 

benefit of the individual, in accordance with the individual's 

needs and treatment goals identified in the individual's plan 

of care, and for the purpose of assisting in the individual's 

recovery. 

"FAPT" means the family assessment and planning team. 

"ICD-10" means International Statistical Classification of 

Diseases and Related Health Problems, 10th Revision, 

published by the World Health Organization. 

"Independent certification team" means a team that has 

competence in diagnosis and treatment of mental illness, 

preferably in child psychiatry; has knowledge of the 

individual's situation; and is composed of at least one 

physician and one LMHP. The independent certification 

team shall be a DMAS-authorized contractor with 

contractual or employment relationships with the required 

team members. 

"Individual" means the child or adolescent younger than 21 

years of age who is receiving therapeutic group home or 

PRTF services. 

"Individual and group therapy" means the application of 

principles, standards, and methods of the counseling 

profession in (i) conducting assessments and diagnosis for 

the purpose of establishing treatment goals and objectives 

and (ii) planning, implementing, and evaluating plans of care 

using treatment interventions to facilitate human 

development and to identify and remediate mental, 

emotional, or behavioral disorders and associated distresses 

that interfere with mental health. 

"Initial plan of care" or "IPOC" means a person centered 

plan of care established at admission that meets all of the 

requirements of this subsection and is specific to the 

individual's unique treatment needs and acuity levels as 

identified in the clinical assessment and information 

gathered during the referral process. 

"Intervention" means scheduled therapeutic treatment such 

as individual or group psychoeducation; skills restoration; 

structured behavior support and training activities; 

recreation, art, and music therapies; community integration 
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activities that promote or assist in the child's or adolescent's 

ability to acquire coping and functional or self-regulating 

behavior skills; day and overnight passes; and family 

engagement activities. Interventions shall not include 

individual, group, and family therapy; medical or dental 

appointments; or physician services, medication evaluation, 

or management provided by a licensed clinician or physician 

and shall not include school attendance. Interventions shall 

be provided in the therapeutic group home or PRTF and, 

when clinically necessary, in a community setting or as part 

of a therapeutic pass. All interventions and settings of the 

intervention shall be established in the plan of care. 

"Plan of care" means the initial plan of care (IPOC) and the 

comprehensive individual plan of care (CIPOC). 

"Physician" means an individual licensed to practice 

medicine or osteopathic medicine in Virginia, as defined in 

§ 54.1-2900 of the Code of Virginia. 

"Psychiatric residential treatment facility" or "PRTF" means 

the same as defined in 42 CFR 483.352 and is a 24-hour, 

supervised, clinically and medically necessary, out-of-home 

active treatment program designed to provide necessary 

support and address mental health, behavioral, substance 

abuse, cognitive, and training needs of an individual younger 

than 21 years of age in order to prevent or minimize the need 

for more intensive treatment. 

"Recertification" means a certification for each applicant or 

recipient for whom therapeutic group home or PRTF 

services are needed. 

"Room and board" means a component of the total daily cost 

for placement in a licensed PRTF. Residential room and 

board costs are maintenance costs associated with placement 

in a licensed PRTF and include a semi-private room, three 

meals and two snacks per day, and personal care items. 

Room and board costs are reimbursed only for PRTF 

settings. 

"Services provided under arrangement" means services 

including physician and other health care services that are 

furnished to children while they are in a freestanding 

psychiatric hospital or PRTF that are billed by the arranged 

practitioners separately from the freestanding psychiatric 

hospital's or PRTF's per diem. 

"Skills restoration" means a face-to-face service to assist 

individuals in the restoration of lost skills that are necessary 

to achieve the goals established in the beneficiary's plan of 

care. Services include assisting the individual in restoring 

self-management, interpersonal, communication, and 

problem solving skills through modeling, coaching, and 

cueing. 

"Therapeutic group home" means a congregate residential 

service providing 24-hour supervision in a community-

based home having eight or fewer residents. 

"Therapeutic pass" means time at home or time with family 

consisting of partial or entire days of time away from the 

therapeutic group home or psychiatric residential treatment 

facility as clinically indicated in the plan of care and as 

paired with facility-based and community-based 

interventions to promote discharge planning, community 

integration, and family engagement activities. Therapeutic 

passes are not recreational but are a therapeutic component 

of the plan of care and are designed for the direct benefit of 

the individual. 

"Treatment planning" means development of a person 

centered plan of care that is specific to the individual's 

unique treatment needs and acuity levels. 

2. Therapeutic group home services pursuant to 42 CFR 

440.130(d). 

a. Therapeutic group home services for children and 

adolescents younger than 21 years of age shall provide 

therapeutic services to restore or maintain appropriate 

skills necessary to promote prosocial behavior and healthy 

living, including skills restoration, family living and 

health awareness, interpersonal skills, communication 

skills, and stress management skills. Therapeutic services 

shall also engage families and reflect family-driven 

practices that correlate to sustained positive outcomes 

post-discharge for youth and their family members. Each 

component of therapeutic group home services is provided 

for the direct benefit of the individual, in accordance with 

the individual's needs and treatment goals identified in the 

individual's plan of care, and for the purpose of assisting 

in the individual's recovery. These services are provided 

under 42 CFR 440.130(d) in accordance with the 

rehabilitative services benefit. 

b. The plan of care shall include individualized activities, 

including a minimum of one intervention per 24-hour 

period in addition to individual, group, and family 

therapies. Daily interventions are not required when there 

is documentation to justify clinical or medical reasons for 

the individual's deviations from the plan of care. 

Interventions shall be documented on a progress note and 

shall be outlined in and aligned with the treatment goals 

and objectives in the IPOC and CIPOC. Any deviation 

from the plan of care shall be documented along with a 

clinical or medical justification for the deviation.  

c. Medical necessity criteria for admission to a therapeutic 

group home. The following requirements for severity of 

need and intensity and quality of service shall be met to 

satisfy the medical necessity criteria for admission. 

(1) Severity of need required for admission. All of the 

following criteria shall be met to satisfy the criteria for 

severity of need: 

(a) The individual's behavioral health condition can only 

be safely and effectively treated in a 24-hour therapeutic 

milieu with onsite behavioral health therapy due to 
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significant impairments in home, school, and community 

functioning caused by current mental health symptoms 

consistent with a DSM-5 diagnosis. 

(b) The certificate of need must demonstrate all of the 

following: (i) ambulatory care resources (all available 

modalities of treatment less restrictive than inpatient 

treatment) available in the community do not meet the 

treatment needs of the individual; (ii) proper treatment of 

the individual's psychiatric condition requires services on 

an inpatient basis under the direction of a physician; and 

(iii) the services can reasonably be expected to improve 

the individual's condition or prevent further regression so 

that the services will no longer be needed. 

(c) The state uniform assessment tool shall be completed. 

The assessment shall demonstrate at least two areas of 

moderate impairment in major life activities. A moderate 

impairment is defined as a major or persistent disruption 

in major life activities. A moderate impairment is 

evidenced by, but not limited to (i) frequent conflict in the 

family setting such as credible threats of physical harm, 

where "frequent" means more than expected for the 

individual's age and developmental level; (ii) frequent 

inability to accept age-appropriate direction and 

supervision from caretakers, from family members, at 

school, or in the home or community; (iii) severely limited 

involvement in social support, which means significant 

avoidance of appropriate social interaction, deterioration 

of existing relationships, or refusal to participate in 

therapeutic interventions; (iv) impaired ability to form a 

trusting relationship with at least one caretaker in the 

home, school, or community; (v) limited ability to 

consider the effect of one's inappropriate conduct on 

others; and (vi) interactions consistently involving 

conflict, which may include impulsive or abusive 

behaviors. 

(d) Less restrictive community-based services have been 

given a fully adequate trial and were unsuccessful or, if 

not attempted, have been considered, but in either situation 

were determined to be unable to meet the individual's 

treatment needs and the reasons for that are discussed in 

the certificate of need. 

(e) The individual's symptoms, or the need for treatment 

in a 24 hours a day, seven days a week level of care (LOC), 

are not primarily due to any of the following: (i) 

intellectual disability, developmental disability, or autistic 

spectrum disorder; (ii) organic mental disorders, traumatic 

brain injury, or other medical condition; or (iii) the 

individual does not require a more intensive level of care. 

(f) The individual does not require primary medical or 

surgical treatment. 

(2) Intensity and quality of service necessary for 

admission. All of the following criteria shall be met to 

satisfy the criteria for intensity and quality of service: 

(a) The therapeutic group home service has been 

prescribed by a psychiatrist, psychologist, or other LMHP 

who has documented that a residential setting is the least 

restrictive clinically appropriate service that can meet the 

specifically identified treatment needs of the individual. 

(b) The therapeutic group home is not being used for 

clinically inappropriate reasons, including (i) an 

alternative to incarceration or preventative detention; (ii) 

an alternative to a parent's, guardian's, or agency's capacity 

to provide a place of residence for the individual; or (iii) a 

treatment intervention when other less restrictive 

alternatives are available. 

(c) The individual's treatment goals are included in the 

service specific provider intake and include behaviorally 

defined objectives that require and can reasonably be 

achieved within a therapeutic group home setting. 

(d) The therapeutic group home is required to coordinate 

with the individual's community resources, including 

schools and FAPT as appropriate, with the goal of 

transitioning the individual out of the program to a less 

restrictive care setting for continued, sometimes intensive, 

services as soon as possible and appropriate. 

(e) The therapeutic group home program must incorporate 

nationally established, evidence-based, trauma-informed 

services and supports that promote recovery and 

resiliency. 

(f) Discharge planning begins upon admission, with 

concrete plans for the individual to transition back into the 

community beginning within the first week of admission, 

with clear action steps and target dates outlined in the plan 

of care. 

(3) Continued stay criteria. The following criteria shall be 

met in order to satisfy the criteria for continued stay: 

(a) All of the admission guidelines continue to be met and 

continue to be supported by the written clinical 

documentation. 

(b) The individual shall meet one of the following criteria: 

(i) the desired outcome or level of functioning has not been 

restored or improved in the timeframe outlined in the 

individual's plan of care or the individual continues to be 

at risk for relapse based on history or (ii) the nature of the 

functional gains is tenuous and use of less intensive 

services will not achieve stabilization. 

(c) The individual shall meet one of the following criteria: 

(i) the individual has achieved initial CIPOC goals, but 

additional goals are indicated that cannot be met at a lower 

level of care; (ii) the individual is making satisfactory 

progress toward meeting goals but has not attained plan of 

care goals, and the goals cannot be addressed at a lower 

level of care; (iii) the individual is not making progress, 

and the plan of care has been modified to identify more 

effective interventions; or (iv) there are current indications 

that the individual requires this level of treatment to 
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maintain level of functioning as evidenced by failure to 

achieve goals identified for therapeutic visits or stays in a 

nontreatment residential setting or in a lower level of 

residential treatment. 

(d) There is a written, up-to-date discharge plan that (i) 

identifies the custodial parent or custodial caregiver at 

discharge; (ii) identifies the school the individual will 

attend at discharge, if applicable; (iii) includes 

individualized education program (IEP) and FAPT 

recommendations, if necessary; (iv) outlines the aftercare 

treatment plan (discharge to another residential level of 

care is not an acceptable discharge goal); and (v) lists 

barriers to community reintegration and progress made on 

resolving these barriers since last review. 

(e) The active plan of care includes structure for combined 

treatment services and activities to ensure the attainment 

of therapeutic mental health goals as identified in the plan 

of care. Combined treatment services reinforce and 

practice skills learned in individual, group, and family 

therapy such as community integration skills, coping 

skills, family living and health awareness skills, 

interpersonal skills, and stress management skills. 

Combined treatment services may occur in group settings, 

in one-on-one interactions, or in the home setting during a 

therapeutic pass. In addition to the combined treatment 

services, the child or adolescent must also receive 

psychotherapy services, care coordination, family-based 

discharge planning, and locality-based transition 

activities. The child or adolescent shall receive intensive 

family interventions at least twice per month, although it 

is recommended that the intensive family interventions be 

provided at a frequency of one family therapy session per 

week. Family involvement begins immediately upon 

admission to therapeutic group home. If the minimum 

requirement cannot be met, the reasons must be reported, 

and continued efforts to involve family members must also 

be documented. Other family members or supportive 

adults may be included as indicated in the plan of care. 

(f) Less restrictive treatment options have been considered 

but cannot yet meet the individual's treatment needs. There 

is sufficient current clinical documentation or evidence to 

show that therapeutic group home level of care continues 

to be the least restrictive level of care that can meet the 

individual's mental health treatment needs. 

(4) Discharge shall occur if any of the following applies: 

(i) the level of functioning has improved with respect to 

the goals outlined in the plan of care, and the individual 

can reasonably be expected to maintain these gains at a 

lower level of treatment; (ii) the individual no longer 

benefits from service as evidenced by absence of progress 

toward plan of care goals for a period of 60 days; or (iii) 

other less intensive services may achieve stabilization. 

d. The following clinical activities shall be required for 

each therapeutic group home resident: 

(1) An assessment be performed by an LMHP, LMHP-R, 

LMHP-RP, or LMHP-S. 

(2) A face-to-face evaluation shall be performed by an 

LMHP, LMHP-R, LMHP-RP, or LMHP-S within 30 

calendar days prior to admission with a documented DSM-

5 or ICD-10 diagnosis. 

(3) A certificate of need shall be completed by an 

independent certification team according to the 

requirements of subdivision D 4 of this section. 

Recertification shall occur at least every 60 calendar days 

by an LMHP, LMHP-R, LMHP-RP, or LMHP-S acting 

within his scope of practice. 

(4) An IPOC that is specific to the individual's unique 

treatment needs and acuity levels. The IPOC shall be 

completed on the day of admission by an LMHP, LMHP-

R, LMHP-RP, or LMHP-S and shall be signed by the 

LMHP, LMHP-R, LMHP-RP, or LMHP-S and the 

individual and a family member or legally authorized 

representative. The IPOC shall include all of the 

following: 

(a) Individual and family strengths and personal traits that 

would facilitate recovery and opportunities to develop 

motivational strategies and treatment alliance; 

(b) Diagnoses, symptoms, complaints, and complications 

indicating the need for admission; 

(c) A description of the functional level of the individual; 

(d) Treatment objectives with short-term and long-term 

goals; 

(e) Orders for medications, psychiatric, medical, dental, 

and any special health care needs whether or not provided 

in the facilities, treatments, restorative and rehabilitative 

services, activities, therapies, therapeutic passes, social 

services, community integration, diet, and special 

procedures recommended for the health and safety of the 

individual; 

(f) Plans for continuing care, including review and 

modification to the plan of care; and 

(g) Plans for discharge. 

(5) A CIPOC shall be completed no later than 14 calendar 

days after admission. The CIPOC shall meet all of the 

following criteria: 

(a) Be based on a diagnostic evaluation that includes 

examination of the medical, psychological, social, 

behavioral, and developmental aspects of the individual's 

situation and shall reflect the need for therapeutic group 

home care; 

(b) Be based on input from school, home, other health care 

providers, FAPT if necessary, the individual, and the 

family or legal guardian; 

(c) Shall state treatment objectives that include 

measurable short-term and long-term goals and objectives, 

with target dates for achievement; 
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(d) Prescribe an integrated program of therapies, activities, 

and experiences designed to meet the treatment objectives 

related to the diagnosis; and 

(e) Include a comprehensive discharge plan with 

necessary, clinically appropriate community services to 

ensure continuity of care upon discharge with the 

individual's family, school, and community. 

(6) The CIPOC shall be reviewed, signed, and dated every 

30 calendar days by the LMHP, LMHP-R, LMHP-RP, or 

LMHP-S and the individual or a family member or 

primary caregiver. Updates shall be signed and dated by 

the LMHP, LMHP-R, LMHP-RP, or LMHP-S and the 

individual or a family member or legally authorized 

representative. The review shall include all of the 

following: 

(a) The individual's response to the services provided; 

(b) Recommended changes in the plan as indicated by the 

individual's overall response to the CIPOC interventions; 

and 

(c) Determinations regarding whether the services being 

provided continue to be required. 

(7) Crisis management, clinical assessment, and 

individualized therapy shall be provided to address both 

behavioral health and substance use disorder needs as 

indicated in the plan of care to address intermittent crises 

and challenges within the therapeutic group home setting 

or community settings as defined in the plan of care and to 

avoid a higher level of care. 

(8) Care coordination shall be provided with medical, 

educational, and other behavioral health providers and 

other entities involved in the care and discharge planning 

for the individual as included in the plan of care. 

(9) Weekly individual therapy shall be provided in the 

therapeutic group home, or other settings as appropriate 

for the individual's needs, by an LMHP, LMHP-R, 

LMHP-RP, or LMHP-S, which shall be documented in 

progress notes in accordance with the requirements in 

12VAC30-60-61. 

(10) Weekly (or more frequently if clinically indicated) 

group therapy shall be provided by an LMHP, LMHP-R, 

LMHP-RP, or LMHP-S, which shall be documented in 

progress notes in accordance with the requirements in 

12VAC30-60-61 and as planned and documented in the 

plan of care. 

(11) Family treatment shall be provided as clinically 

indicated, provided by an LMHP, LMHP-R, LMHP-RP, 

or LMHP-S, and documented in progress notes in 

accordance with the requirements in 12VAC30-60-61 and 

as planned and documented in the plan of care. 

(12) Family engagement activities shall be provided in 

addition to family therapy or counseling. Family 

engagement activities shall be provided at least weekly as 

outlined in the plan of care, and daily communication with 

the family or legally authorized representative shall be part 

of the family engagement strategies in the plan of care. For 

each service authorization period when family 

engagement is not possible, the therapeutic group home 

shall identify and document the specific barriers to the 

individual's engagement with the individual's family or 

legally authorized representatives. The therapeutic group 

home shall document on a weekly basis the reasons why 

family engagement is not occurring as required. The 

therapeutic group home shall document alternative family 

engagement strategies to be used as part of the 

interventions in the plan of care and request approval of 

the revised plan of care by DMAS. When family 

engagement is not possible, the therapeutic group home 

shall collaborate with DMAS on a weekly basis to develop 

individualized family engagement strategies and 

document the revised strategies in the plan of care. 

(13) Therapeutic passes shall be provided as clinically 

indicated in the plan of care and as paired with facility-

based and community-based interventions to promote 

discharge planning, community integration, and family 

engagement activities. 

(a) The provider shall document how the family was 

prepared for the therapeutic pass to include a review of the 

plan of care goals and objectives being addressed by the 

planned interventions and the safety and crisis plan in 

effect during the therapeutic pass. 

(b) If a facility staff member does not accompany the 

individual on the therapeutic pass and the therapeutic pass 

exceeds 24 hours, the provider shall make daily contacts 

with the family and be available 24 hours per day to 

address concerns, incidents, or crises that may arise during 

the pass. 

(c) Contact with the family shall occur within seven 

calendar days of the therapeutic pass to discuss the 

accomplishments and challenges of the therapeutic pass 

along with an update on progress toward plan of care goals 

and any necessary changes to the plan of care. 

(d) Twenty-four therapeutic passes shall be permitted per 

individual, per admission, without authorization as 

approved by the treating LMHP and documented in the 

plan of care. Additional therapeutic passes shall require 

service authorization. Any unauthorized therapeutic 

passes shall result in retraction for those days of service. 

(14) Discharge planning shall begin at admission and 

continue throughout the individual's stay at the therapeutic 

group home. The family or guardian, the community 

services board (CSB), the family assessment and planning 

team (FAPT) case manager, and the DMAS contracted 

care manager shall be involved in treatment planning and 

shall identify the anticipated needs of the individual and 

family upon discharge and available services in the 

community. Prior to discharge, the therapeutic group 

home shall submit an active and viable discharge plan to 
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the DMAS contractor for review. Once the DMAS 

contractor approves the discharge plan, the provider shall 

begin actively collaborating with the family or legally 

authorized representative and the treatment team to 

identify behavioral health and medical providers and 

schedule appointments for service-specific provider 

intakes as needed. The therapeutic group home shall 

request permission from the parent or legally authorized 

representative to share treatment information with these 

providers and shall share information pursuant to a valid 

release. The therapeutic group home shall request 

information from post-discharge providers to establish 

that the planning of pending services and transition 

planning activities has begun, shall establish that the 

individual has been enrolled in school, and shall provide 

individualized education program recommendations to the 

school if necessary. The therapeutic group home shall 

inform the DMAS contractor of all scheduled 

appointments within 30 calendar days of discharge and 

shall notify the DMAS contractor within one business day 

of the individual's discharge date from the therapeutic 

group home. 

(15) Room and board costs shall not be reimbursed. 

Facilities that only provide independent living services or 

nonclinical services that do not meet the requirements of 

this subsection are not eligible for reimbursement. 

(16) Therapeutic group home services providers shall be 

licensed by the Department of Behavioral Health and 

Developmental Services (DBHDS) under the Regulations 

for Children's Residential Facilities (12VAC35-46). 

(17) Individuals shall be discharged from this service 

when treatment goals are met or other less intensive 

services may achieve stabilization. 

(18) Services that are based upon incomplete, missing, or 

outdated service-specific provider intakes or plans of care 

shall be denied reimbursement. 

(19) Therapeutic group home services may only be 

rendered by and within the scope of practice of an LMHP, 

LMHP-supervisee, LMHP-resident, LMHP-RP, a QMHP-

C, a QMHP-E, or a QPPMH as defined in 12VAC35-105-

20. 

(20) The psychiatric residential treatment facility or 

therapeutic group home shall coordinate necessary 

services and discharge planning with other providers as 

medically and clinically necessary. Documentation of this 

care coordination shall be maintained by the facility or 

group home in the individual's record. The documentation 

shall include who was contacted, when the contact 

occurred, what information was transmitted, and 

recommended next steps. 

(21) Failure to perform any of the items described in this 

subsection shall result in a retraction of the per diem for 

each day of noncompliance. 

3. PRTF services are a 24-hour, supervised, clinically and 

medically necessary out-of-home program designed to 

provide necessary support and address mental health, 

behavioral, substance use, cognitive, or other treatment 

needs of an individual younger than 21 years of age in order 

to prevent or minimize the need for more inpatient treatment. 

Active treatment and comprehensive discharge planning 

shall begin prior to admission. In order to be covered for 

individuals younger than 21 years of age, these services shall 

(i) meet DMAS-approved psychiatric medical necessity 

criteria or be approved as an EPSDT service based upon a 

diagnosis made by an LMHP, LMHP-R, LMHP-RP, or 

LMHP-S who is practicing within the scope of his license 

and (ii) be reflected in provider records and on the provider's 

claims for services by recognized diagnosis codes that 

support and are consistent with the requested professional 

services. 

a. PRTF services shall be covered for the purpose of 

diagnosis and treatment of mental health and behavioral 

disorders when such services are rendered by a psychiatric 

facility that is not a hospital and is accredited by the Joint 

Commission on Accreditation of Healthcare 

Organizations, the Commission on Accreditation of 

Rehabilitation Facilities, the Council on Accreditation of 

Services for Families and Children, or by any other 

accrediting organization with comparable standards that is 

recognized by the state. 

b. Providers of PRTF services shall be licensed by 

DBHDS. 

c. PRTF services are reimbursable only when the 

treatment program is fully in compliance with (i) 42 CFR 

Part 441 Subpart D, specifically 42 CFR 441.151 (a) and 

(b) and 42 CFR 441.152 through 42 CFR 441.156 and (ii) 

the Conditions of Participation in 42 CFR Part 483 

Subpart G. Each admission must be service authorized, 

and the treatment must meet DMAS requirements for 

clinical necessity. 

d. The PRTF benefit for individuals younger than 21 years 

of age shall include services defined at 42 CFR 440.160 

that are provided under the direction of a physician 

pursuant to a certification of medical necessity and plan of 

care developed by an interdisciplinary team of 

professionals and shall involve active treatment designed 

to achieve the child's discharge from PRTF services at the 

earliest possible time. The PRTF services benefit shall 

include services provided under arrangement furnished by 

Medicaid enrolled providers other than the PRTF, as long 

as the PRTF (i) arranges for and oversees the provision of 

all services, (ii) maintains all medical records of care 

furnished to the individual, and (iii) ensures that the 

services are furnished under the direction of a physician. 

Services provided under arrangement shall be documented 

by a written referral from the PRTF. For purposes of 

pharmacy services, a prescription ordered by an employee 
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or contractor of the facility who is licensed to prescribe 

drugs shall be considered the referral. 

e. PRTFs, as defined at 42 CFR 483.352, shall arrange for, 

maintain records of, and ensure that physicians order these 

services: (i) medical and psychological services, including 

those furnished by physicians, licensed mental health 

professionals, and other licensed or certified health 

professionals (i.e., nutritionists, podiatrists, respiratory 

therapists, and substance abuse treatment practitioners); 

(ii) pharmacy services; (iii) outpatient hospital services; 

(iv) physical therapy, occupational therapy, and therapy 

for individuals with speech, hearing, or language 

disorders; (v) laboratory and radiology services; (vi) 

durable medical equipment; (vii) vision services; (viii) 

dental, oral surgery, and orthodontic services; (ix) 

nonemergency transportation services; and (x) emergency 

services. 

f. PRTF services shall include assessment and 

reassessment; room and board; daily supervision; 

combined treatment services; individual, family, and 

group therapy; care coordination; interventions; general or 

special education; medical treatment (including 

medication, coordination of necessary medical services, 

and 24-hour onsite nursing); specialty services; and 

discharge planning that meets the medical and clinical 

needs of the individual. 

g. Medical necessity criteria for admission to a PRTF. The 

following requirements for severity of need and intensity 

and quality of service shall be met to satisfy the medical 

necessity criteria for admission: 

(1) Severity of need required for admission. The following 

criteria shall be met to satisfy the criteria for severity of 

need: 

(a) There is clinical evidence that the individual has a 

DSM-5 disorder that is amenable to active psychiatric 

treatment. 

(b) There is a high degree of potential of the condition 

leading to acute psychiatric hospitalization in the absence 

of residential treatment. 

(c) Either (i) there is clinical evidence that the individual 

would be a risk to self or others if the individual were not 

in a PRTF or (ii) as a result of the individual's mental 

disorder, there is an inability for the individual to 

adequately care for his own physical needs, and 

caretakers, guardians, or family members are unable to 

safely fulfill these needs, representing potential serious 

harm to self. 

(d) The individual requires supervision seven days per 

week, 24 hours per day to develop skills necessary for 

daily living; to assist with planning and arranging access 

to a range of educational, therapeutic, and aftercare 

services; and to develop the adaptive and functional 

behavior that will allow the individual to live outside of a 

PRTF setting. 

(e) The individual's current living environment does not 

provide the support and access to therapeutic services 

needed. 

(f) The individual is medically stable and does not require 

the 24-hour medical or nursing monitoring or procedures 

provided in a hospital level of care. 

(2) Intensity and quality of service necessary for 

admission. The following criteria shall be met to satisfy 

the criteria for intensity and quality of service: 

(a) The evaluation and assignment of a DSM-5 diagnosis 

must result from a face-to-face psychiatric evaluation. 

(b) The program provides supervision seven days per 

week, 24 hours per day to assist with the development of 

skills necessary for daily living; to assist with planning 

and arranging access to a range of educational, 

therapeutic, and aftercare services; and to assist with the 

development of the adaptive and functional behavior that 

will allow the individual to live outside of a PRTF setting. 

(c) An individualized plan of active psychiatric treatment 

and residential living support is provided in a timely 

manner. This treatment must be medically monitored, with 

24-hour medical availability and 24-hour nursing services 

availability. This plan includes (i) at least once-a-week 

psychiatric reassessments; (ii) intensive family or support 

system involvement occurring at least once per week or 

valid reasons identified as to why such a plan is not 

clinically appropriate or feasible; (iii) psychotropic 

medications, when used, are to be used with specific target 

symptoms identified; (iv) evaluation for current medical 

problems; (v) evaluation for concomitant substance use 

issues; and (vi) linkage or coordination with the 

individual's community resources, including the local 

school division and FAPT case manager, as appropriate, 

with the goal of returning the individual to his regular 

social environment as soon as possible, unless 

contraindicated. School contact should address an 

individualized educational plan as appropriate. 

(d) A urine drug screen is considered at the time of 

admission, when progress is not occurring, when 

substance misuse is suspected, or when substance use and 

medications may have a potential adverse interaction. 

After a positive screen, additional random screens are 

considered and referral to a substance use disorder 

provider is considered. 

(3) Criteria for continued stay. The following criteria shall 

be met to satisfy the criteria for continued stay: 

(a) Despite reasonable therapeutic efforts, clinical 

evidence indicates at least one of the following: (i) the 

persistence of problems that caused the admission to a 

degree that continues to meet the admission criteria (both 

severity of need and intensity of service needs); (ii) the 
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emergence of additional problems that meet the admission 

criteria (both severity of need and intensity of service 

needs); or (iii) that disposition planning or attempts at 

therapeutic reentry into the community have resulted in or 

would result in exacerbation of the psychiatric illness to 

the degree that would necessitate continued PRTF 

treatment. Subjective opinions without objective clinical 

information or evidence are not sufficient to meet severity 

of need based on justifying the expectation that there 

would be a decompensation. 

(b) There is evidence of objective, measurable, and time-

limited therapeutic clinical goals that must be met before 

the individual can return to a new or previous living 

situation. There is evidence that attempts are being made 

to secure timely access to treatment resources and housing 

in anticipation of discharge, with alternative housing 

contingency plans also being addressed. 

(c) There is evidence that the plan of care is focused on the 

alleviation of psychiatric symptoms and precipitating 

psychosocial stressors that are interfering with the 

individual's ability to return to a less-intensive level of 

care. 

(d) The current or revised plan of care can be reasonably 

expected to bring about significant improvement in the 

problems meeting the criteria in subdivision 3 c (3) (a) of 

this subsection, and this is documented in weekly progress 

notes written and signed by the provider. 

(e) There is evidence of intensive family or support system 

involvement occurring at least once per week, unless there 

is an identified valid reason why it is not clinically 

appropriate or feasible. 

(f) A discharge plan is formulated that is directly linked to 

the behaviors or symptoms that resulted in admission and 

begins to identify appropriate post-PRTF resources 

including the local school division and FAPT case 

manager as appropriate. 

(g) All applicable elements in admission-intensity and 

quality of service criteria are applied as related to 

assessment and treatment if clinically relevant and 

appropriate. 

(4) Discharge criteria. Discharge shall occur if any of the 

following applies: (i) the level of functioning has 

improved with respect to the goals outlined in the plan of 

care, and the individual can reasonably be expected to 

maintain these gains at a lower level of treatment; (ii) the 

individual no longer benefits from service as evidenced by 

absence of progress toward plan of care goals for a period 

of 30 days; or (iii) other less intensive services may 

achieve stabilization. 

h. The following clinical activities shall be required for 

each PRTF resident: 

(1) A face-to-face assessment shall be performed by an 

LMHP, LMHP-R, LMHP-RS, or LMHP-S within 30 

calendar days prior to admission and weekly thereafter and 

shall document a DSM-5 or ICD-10 diagnosis. 

(2) A certificate of need shall be completed by an 

independent certification team according to the 

requirements of 12VAC30-50-130 D 4. Recertification 

shall occur at least every 30 calendar days by a physician 

acting within his scope of practice. 

(3) The initial plan of care (IPOC) shall be completed 

within 24 hours of admission by the treatment team. The 

IPOC shall include: 

(a) Individual and family strengths and personal traits that 

would facilitate recovery and opportunities to develop 

motivational strategies and treatment alliance; 

(b) Diagnoses, symptoms, complaints, and complications 

indicating the need for admission; 

(c) A description of the functional level of the individual; 

(d) Treatment objectives with short-term and long-term 

goals; 

(e) Any orders for medications, psychiatric, medical, 

dental, and any special health care needs, whether or not 

provided in the facility; education or special education; 

treatments; interventions; and restorative and 

rehabilitative services, activities, therapies, social 

services, diet, and special procedures recommended for 

the health and safety of the individual; 

(f) Plans for continuing care, including review and 

modification to the plan of care; 

(g) Plans for discharge; and 

(h) Signature and date by the individual, parent, or legally 

authorized representative, a physician, and treatment team 

members. 

(4) The CIPOC shall be completed and signed no later than 

14 calendar days after admission by the treatment team. 

The PRTF shall request authorizations from families to 

release confidential information to collect information 

from medical and behavioral health treatment providers, 

schools, FAPT, social services, court services, and other 

relevant parties. This information shall be used when 

considering changes and updating the CIPOC. The CIPOC 

shall meet all of the following criteria: 

(a) Be based on a diagnostic evaluation that includes 

examination of the medical, psychological, social, 

behavioral, and developmental aspects of the individual's 

situation and must reflect the need for PRTF care; 

(b) Be developed by an interdisciplinary team of 

physicians and other personnel specified in subdivision 3 

d 4 of this subsection who are employed by or provide 

services to the individual in the facility in consultation 

with the individual, family member, or legally authorized 

representative, or appropriate others into whose care the 

individual will be released after discharge; 
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(c) Shall state treatment objectives that shall include 

measurable, evidence-based, and short-term and long-

term goals and objectives; family engagement activities; 

and the design of community-based aftercare with target 

dates for achievement; 

(d) Prescribe an integrated program of therapies, 

interventions, activities, and experiences designed to meet 

the treatment objectives related to the individual and 

family treatment needs; and 

(e) Describe comprehensive transition plans and 

coordination of current care and post-discharge plans with 

related community services to ensure continuity of care 

upon discharge with the recipient's family, school, and 

community. 

(5) The CIPOC shall be reviewed every 30 calendar days 

by the team specified in subdivision 3 d 4 of this 

subsection to determine that services being provided are 

or were required from a PRTF and to recommend changes 

in the plan as indicated by the individual's overall 

adjustment during the time away from home. The CIPOC 

shall include the signature and date from the individual, 

parent, or legally authorized representative, a physician, 

and treatment team members. 

(6) Individual therapy shall be provided three times per 

week (or more frequently based upon the individual's 

needs) provided by an LMHP, LMHP-R, LMHP-RP, or 

LMHP-S and shall be documented in the plan of care and 

progress notes in accordance with the requirements in this 

subsection and 12VAC30-60-61. 

(7) Group therapy shall be provided as clinically indicated 

by an LMHP, LMHP-R, LMHP-RP, or LMHP-S and shall 

be documented in the plan of care and progress notes in 

accordance with the requirements in this subsection. 

(8) Family therapy shall be provided as clinically indicated 

by an LMHP, LMHP-R, LMHP-RP, or LMHP-S and shall 

be documented in the plan of care and progress notes in 

accordance with the individual and family or legally 

authorized representative's goals and the requirements in 

this subsection. 

(9) Family engagement shall be provided in addition to 

family therapy or counseling. Family engagement shall be 

provided at least weekly as outlined in the plan of care and 

daily communication with the treatment team 

representative and the treatment team representative and 

the family or legally authorized representative shall be part 

of the family engagement strategies in the plan of care. For 

each service authorization period when family 

engagement is not possible, the PRTF shall identify and 

document the specific barriers to the individual's 

engagement with his family or legally authorized 

representatives. The PRTF shall document on a weekly 

basis the reasons that family engagement is not occurring 

as required. The PRTF shall document alternate family 

engagement strategies to be used as part of the 

interventions in the plan of care and request approval of 

the revised plan of care by DMAS. When family 

engagement is not possible, the PRTF shall collaborate 

with DMAS on a weekly basis to develop individualized 

family engagement strategies and document the revised 

strategies in the plan of care. 

(10) Three interventions shall be provided per 24-hour 

period including nights and weekends. Family 

engagement activities are considered to be an intervention 

and shall occur based on the treatment and visitation goals 

and scheduling needs of the family or legally authorized 

representative. Interventions shall be documented on a 

progress note and shall be outlined in and aligned with the 

treatment goals and objectives in the plan of care. Any 

deviation from the plan of care shall be documented along 

with a clinical or medical justification for the deviation 

based on the needs of the individual. 

(11) Therapeutic passes shall be provided as clinically 

indicated in the plan of care and as paired with 

community-based and facility-based interventions to 

promote discharge planning, community integration, and 

family engagement. Therapeutic passes include activities 

as listed in subdivision 2 d (13) of this section. Twenty-

four therapeutic passes shall be permitted per individual, 

per admission, without authorization as approved by the 

treating physician and documented in the plan of care. 

Additional therapeutic passes shall require service 

authorization from DMAS. Any unauthorized therapeutic 

passes not approved by the provider or DMAS shall result 

in retraction for those days of service. 

(12) Discharge planning shall begin at admission and 

continue throughout the individual's placement at the 

PRTF. The parent or legally authorized representative, the 

community services board (CSB), the family assessment 

planning team (FAPT) case manager, if appropriate, and 

the DMAS contracted care manager shall be involved in 

treatment planning and shall identify the anticipated needs 

of the individual and family upon discharge and identify 

the available services in the community. Prior to 

discharge, the PRTF shall submit an active discharge plan 

to the DMAS contractor for review. Once the DMAS 

contractor approves the discharge plan, the provider shall 

begin collaborating with the parent or legally authorized 

representative and the treatment team to identify 

behavioral health and medical providers and schedule 

appointments for service-specific provider intakes as 

needed. The PRTF shall request written permission from 

the parent or legally authorized representative to share 

treatment information with these providers and shall share 

information pursuant to a valid release. The PRTF shall 

request information from post-discharge providers to 

establish that the planning of services and activities has 

begun, shall establish that the individual has been enrolled 

in school, and shall provide individualized education 

program recommendations to the school if necessary. The 
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PRTF shall inform the DMAS contractor of all scheduled 

appointments within 30 calendar days of discharge and 

shall notify the DMAS contractor within one business day 

of the individual's discharge date from the PRTF. 

(13) Failure to perform any of the items as described in 

subdivisions 3 h (1) through 3 h (12) of this subsection up 

until the discharge of the individual shall result in a 

retraction of the per diem and all other contracted and 

coordinated service payments for each day of 

noncompliance. 

i. The team developing the CIPOC shall meet the 

following requirements: 

(1) At least one member of the team must have expertise 

in pediatric behavioral health. Based on education and 

experience, preferably including competence in child or 

adolescent psychiatry, the team must be capable of all of 

the following: assessing the individual's immediate and 

long-range therapeutic needs, developmental priorities, 

and personal strengths and liabilities; assessing the 

potential resources of the individual's family or legally 

authorized representative; setting treatment objectives; 

and prescribing therapeutic modalities to achieve the 

CIPOC's objectives. 

(2) The team shall include one of the following: 

(a) A board-eligible or board-certified psychiatrist; 

(b) A licensed clinical psychologist and a physician 

licensed to practice medicine or osteopathy; or 

(c) A physician licensed to practice medicine or 

osteopathy with specialized training and experience in the 

diagnosis and treatment of mental diseases and a licensed 

clinical psychologist. 

(3) The team shall also include one of the following: an 

LMHP, LMHP-supervisee, LMHP-resident, or LMHP-

RP. 

4. Requirements for independent certification teams 

applicable to both therapeutic group homes and PRTFs: 

a. The independent certification team shall certify the need 

for PRTF or therapeutic group home services and issue a 

certificate of need document within the process and 

timeliness standards as approved by DMAS under 

contractual agreement with the DMAS contractor. 

b. The independent certification team shall be approved by 

DMAS through a memorandum of understanding with a 

locality or be approved under contractual agreement with 

the DMAS contractor. The team shall initiate and 

coordinate referral to the family assessment and planning 

team (FAPT) as defined in §§ 2.2-5207 and 2.2-5208 of 

the Code of Virginia to facilitate care coordination and for 

consideration of educational coverage and other supports 

not covered by DMAS. 

c. The independent certification team shall assess the 

individual's and family's strengths and needs in addition to 

diagnoses, behaviors, and symptoms that indicate the need 

for behavioral health treatment and also consider whether 

local resources and community-based care are sufficient 

to meet the individual's treatment needs, as presented 

within the previous 30 calendar days, within the least 

restrictive environment. 

d. The LMHP, LMHP-supervisee, LMHP-resident, or 

LMHP-RP, as part of the independent certification team, 

shall meet with an individual and the individual's parent or 

legally authorized representative within two business days 

from a request to assess the individual's needs and begin 

the process to certify the need for an out-of-home 

placement. 

e. The independent certification team shall meet with an 

individual and the individual's parent or legally authorized 

representative within 10 business days from a request to 

certify the need for an out-of-home placement. 

f. The independent certification team shall assess the 

treatment needs of the individual to issue a certificate of 

need (CON) for the most appropriate medically necessary 

services. The certification shall include the dated signature 

and credentials for each of the team members who 

rendered the certification. Referring or treatment 

providers shall not actively participate during the 

certification process but may provide supporting clinical 

documentation to the certification team. 

g. The CON shall be effective for 30 calendar days prior 

to admission. 

h. The independent certification team shall provide the 

completed CON to the facility within one calendar day of 

completing the CON. 

i. The individual and the individual's parent or legally 

authorized representative shall have the right to freedom 

of choice of service providers. 

j. If the individual or the individual's parent or legally 

authorized representative disagrees with the independent 

certification team's recommendation, the parent or legally 

authorized representative may appeal the recommendation 

in accordance with 12VAC30-110. 

k. If the LMHP, as part of the independent certification 

team, determines that the individual is in immediate need 

of treatment, the LMHP shall refer the individual to an 

appropriate Medicaid-enrolled crisis intervention 

provider, crisis stabilization provider, or inpatient 

psychiatric provider in accordance with 12VAC30-50-226 

or shall refer the individual for emergency admission to a 

PRTF or therapeutic group home under subdivision 4 m of 

this subsection and shall also alert the individual's 

managed care organization. 

l. For individuals who are already eligible for Medicaid at 

the time of admission, the independent certification team 

shall be a DMAS-authorized contractor with competence 

in the diagnosis and treatment of mental illness, preferably 
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in child psychiatry, and have knowledge of the individual's 

situation and service availability in the individual's local 

service area. The team shall be composed of at least one 

physician and one LMHP, including LMHP-S, LMHP-R, 

and LMHP-RP. An individual's parent or legally 

authorized representative shall be included in the 

certification process. 

m. For emergency admissions, an assessment must be 

made by the team responsible for the comprehensive 

individual plan of care (CIPOC). Reimbursement shall 

only occur when a certificate of need is issued by the team 

responsible for the CIPOC within 14 calendar days after 

admission. The certification shall cover any period of time 

after admission and before claims are made for 

reimbursement by Medicaid. After processing an 

emergency admission, the therapeutic group home, PRTF, 

or institution for mental diseases (IMD) shall notify the 

DMAS contractor within five calendar days of the 

individual's status as being under the care of the facility. 

n. For all individuals who apply and become eligible for 

Medicaid while an inpatient in a facility or program, the 

certification team shall refer the case to the DMAS 

contractor for referral to the local FAPT to facilitate care 

coordination and consideration of educational coverage 

and other supports not covered by DMAS. 

o. For individuals who apply and become eligible for 

Medicaid while an inpatient in the facility or program, the 

certification shall be made by the team responsible for the 

CIPOC and shall cover any period of time before the 

application for Medicaid eligibility for which claims are 

made for reimbursement by Medicaid. Upon the 

individual's enrollment into the Medicaid program, the 

therapeutic group home, PRTF, or IMD shall notify the 

DMAS contractor of the individual's status as being under 

the care of the facility within five calendar days of the 

individual becoming eligible for Medicaid benefits. 

5. Service authorization requirements applicable to both 

therapeutic group homes and PRTFs: 

a. Authorization shall be required and shall be conducted 

by DMAS using medical necessity criteria specified in this 

subsection. 

b. An individual shall have a valid psychiatric diagnosis 

and meet the medical necessity criteria as defined in this 

subsection to satisfy the criteria for admission. The 

diagnosis shall be current, as documented within the past 

12 months. If a current diagnosis is not available, the 

individual will require a mental health evaluation prior to 

admission by an LMHP affiliated with the independent 

certification team to establish a diagnosis and recommend 

and coordinate referral to the available treatment options. 

c. At authorization, an initial length of stay shall be agreed 

upon by the individual and parent or legally authorized 

representative with the treating provider, and the treating 

provider shall be responsible for evaluating and 

documenting evidence of treatment progress, assessing the 

need for ongoing out-of-home placement, and obtaining 

authorization for continued stay. 

d. Information that is required to obtain authorization for 

these services shall include: 

(1) A completed state-designated uniform assessment 

instrument approved by DMAS; 

(2) A certificate of need completed by an independent 

certification team specifying all of the following: 

(a) The ambulatory care and Medicaid or FAPT-funded 

services available in the community do not meet the 

specific treatment needs of the individual; 

(b) Alternative community-based care was not successful; 

(c) Proper treatment of the individual's psychiatric 

condition requires services in a 24-hour supervised setting 

under the direction of a physician; and 

(d) The services can reasonably be expected to improve 

the individual's condition or prevent further regression so 

that a more intensive level of care will not be needed; 

(3) Diagnosis as defined in the DSM-5 and based on (i) an 

evaluation by a psychiatrist or LMHP that has been 

completed within 30 calendar days of admission or (ii) a 

diagnosis confirmed in writing by an LMHP after review 

of a previous evaluation completed within one year of 

admission; 

(4) A description of the individual's behavior during the 

seven calendar days immediately prior to admission; 

(5) A description of alternate placements and community 

mental health and rehabilitation services and traditional 

behavioral health services pursued and attempted and the 

outcomes of each service; 

(6) The individual's level of functioning and clinical 

stability; 

(7) The level of family involvement and supports 

available; and 

(8) The initial plan of care (IPOC). 

6. Continued stay criteria requirements applicable to both 

therapeutic group homes and PRTFs. For a continued stay 

authorization or a reauthorization to occur, the individual 

shall meet the medical necessity criteria as defined in this 

subsection to satisfy the criteria for continuing care. The 

length of the authorized stay shall be determined by DMAS. 

A current plan of care and a current (within 30 calendar 

days) summary of progress related to the goals and 

objectives of the plan of care shall be submitted to DMAS 

for continuation of the service. The service provider shall 

also submit: 

a. A state uniform assessment instrument, completed no 

more than 30 business days prior to the date of submission; 
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b. Documentation that the required services have been 

provided as defined in the plan of care; 

c. Current (within the last 14 calendar days) information 

on progress related to the achievement of all treatment and 

discharge-related goals; and 

d. A description of the individual's continued impairment 

and treatment needs, problem behaviors, family 

engagement activities, community-based discharge 

planning and care coordination, and need for a residential 

level of care. 

7. EPSDT services requirements applicable to therapeutic 

group homes and PRTFs. Service limits may be exceeded 

based on medical necessity for individuals eligible for 

EPSDT. EPSDT services may involve service modalities not 

available to other individuals, such as applied behavioral 

analysis and neuro-rehabilitative services. Individualized 

services to address specific clinical needs identified in an 

EPSDT screening shall require authorization by a DMAS 

contractor. In unique EPSDT cases, DMAS may authorize 

specialized services beyond the standard therapeutic group 

home or PRTF medical necessity criteria and program 

requirements, as medically and clinically indicated to ensure 

the most appropriate treatment is available to each 

individual. Treating service providers authorized to deliver 

medically necessary EPSDT services in therapeutic group 

homes and PRTFs on behalf of a Medicaid-enrolled 

individual shall adhere to the individualized interventions 

and evidence-based progress measurement criteria described 

in the plan of care and approved for reimbursement by 

DMAS. All documentation, independent certification team, 

family engagement activity, therapeutic pass, and discharge 

planning requirements shall apply to cases approved as 

EPSDT PRTF or therapeutic group home service. 

8. Inpatient psychiatric services shall be covered for 

individuals younger than 21 years of age for medically 

necessary stays in inpatient psychiatric facilities described in 

42 CFR 440.160(b)(1) and (b)(2) for the purpose of 

diagnosis and treatment of mental health and behavioral 

disorders identified under EPSDT when such services meet 

the requirements set forth in subdivision 7 of this subsection. 

a. Inpatient psychiatric services shall be provided under 

the direction of a physician. 

b. Inpatient psychiatric services shall be provided by (i) a 

psychiatric hospital that undergoes a state survey to 

determine whether the hospital meets the requirements for 

participation in Medicare as a psychiatric hospital as 

specified in 42 CFR 482.60 or is accredited by a national 

organization whose psychiatric hospital accrediting 

program has been approved by the Centers for Medicare 

and Medicaid Services (CMS); or (ii) a hospital with an 

inpatient psychiatric program that undergoes a state 

survey to determine whether the hospital meets the 

requirements for participation in Medicare as a hospital, 

as specified in 42 CFR part 482 or is accredited by a 

national accrediting organization whose hospital 

accrediting program has been approved by CMS. 

c. Inpatient psychiatric admissions at general acute care 

hospitals and freestanding psychiatric hospitals shall also 

be subject to the requirements of 12VAC30-50-100, 

12VAC30-50-105, and 12VAC30-60-25. 

d. PRTF services are reimbursable only when the 

treatment program is fully in compliance with (i) 42 CFR 

Part 441 Subpart D, specifically 42 CFR 441.151(a) and 

42 CFR 441.151 (b) and 42 CFR 441.152 through 42 CFR 

441.156 and (ii) the Conditions of Participation in 42 CFR 

Part 483 Subpart G. Each admission must be service 

authorized and the treatment must meet DMAS 

requirements for clinical necessity. 

e. The inpatient psychiatric benefit for individuals 

younger than 21 years of age shall include services that are 

provided pursuant to a certification of medical necessity 

and plan of care developed by an interdisciplinary team of 

professionals and shall involve active treatment designed 

to achieve the individual's discharge from inpatient status 

at the earliest possible time. The inpatient psychiatric 

benefit shall include services provided under arrangement 

furnished by Medicaid enrolled providers other than the 

inpatient psychiatric facility, as long as the inpatient 

psychiatric facility (i) arranges for and oversees the 

provision of all services, (ii) maintains all medical records 

of care furnished to the individual, and (iii) ensures that 

the services are furnished under the direction of a 

physician. Services provided under arrangement shall be 

documented by a written referral from the inpatient 

psychiatric facility. For purposes of pharmacy services, a 

prescription ordered by an employee or contractor of the 

inpatient psychiatric facility who is licensed to prescribe 

drugs shall be considered the referral. 

f. State freestanding psychiatric hospitals shall arrange for, 

maintain records of, and ensure that physicians order 

pharmacy services and emergency services. Private 

freestanding psychiatric hospitals shall arrange for, 

maintain records of, and ensure that physicians order the 

following services: (i) medical and psychological services 

including those furnished by physicians, licensed mental 

health professionals, and other licensed or certified health 

professionals (i.e., nutritionists, podiatrists, respiratory 

therapists, and substance abuse treatment practitioners); 

(ii) outpatient hospital services; (iii) physical therapy, 

occupational therapy, and therapy for individuals with 

speech, hearing, or language disorders; (iv) laboratory and 

radiology services; (v) vision services; (vi) dental, oral 

surgery, and orthodontic services; (vii) nonemergency 

transportation services; and (viii) emergency services. 

(Emergency services means the same as is set forth in 

12VAC30-50-310 B.) 

E. Mental health family support partners. 



Regulations 

Volume 37, Issue 24  Virginia Register of Regulations  July 19, 2021  

3676 

1. Mental health family support partners are peer recovery 

support services and are nonclinical, peer-to-peer activities 

that engage, educate, and support the caregiver and an 

individual's self-help efforts to improve health recovery 

resiliency and wellness. Mental health family support 

partners is a strength-based, individualized service provided 

to the caregiver of a Medicaid-eligible individual younger 

than 21 years of age with a mental health disorder that is the 

focus of support. The services provided to the caregiver and 

individual must be directed exclusively toward the benefit of 

the Medicaid-eligible individual. Services are expected to 

improve outcomes for individuals younger than 21 years of 

age with complex needs who are involved with multiple 

systems and increase the individual's and family's 

confidence and capacity to manage their own services and 

supports while promoting recovery and healthy 

relationships. These services are rendered by a PRS who is 

(i) a parent of a minor or adult child with a similar mental 

health disorder or (ii) an adult with personal experience with 

a family member with a similar mental health disorder with 

experience navigating behavioral health care services. The 

PRS shall perform the service within the scope of his 

knowledge, lived experience, and education. 

2. Under the clinical oversight of the LMHP , LMHP-R, 

LMHP-RP, or LMHP-S completing the assessment 

recommending mental health family support partners, the 

peer recovery specialist in consultation with his direct 

supervisor shall develop a recovery, resiliency, and wellness 

plan based on the assessment of the LMHP, LMHP-R, 

LMHP-RP, or LMHP-S for service, the individual's and the 

caregiver's perceived recovery needs, and any clinical 

assessments or service specific provider intakes as defined 

in this section within 30 calendar days of the initiation of 

service. Development of the recovery, resiliency, and 

wellness plan shall include collaboration with the individual 

and the individual's caregiver. Individualized goals and 

strategies shall be focused on the individual's identified 

needs for self-advocacy and recovery. The recovery, 

resiliency, and wellness plan shall also include 

documentation of how many days per week and how many 

hours per week are required to carry out the services in order 

to meet the goals of the plan. The recovery, resiliency, and 

wellness plan shall be completed, signed, and dated by (i) 

the LMHP, LMHP-R, LMHP-RP, or LMHP-S; (ii) the PRS; 

(iii) the direct supervisor; (iv) the individual; and (v) the 

individual's caregiver within 30 calendar days of the 

initiation of service. The PRS shall act as an advocate for the 

individual, encouraging the individual and the caregiver to 

take a proactive role in developing and updating goals and 

objectives in the individualized recovery planning. 

3. Documentation of required activities shall be required as 

set forth in 12VAC30-130-5200 C and E through J. 

4. Limitations and exclusions to service delivery shall be the 

same as set forth in 12VAC30-130-5210. 

5. Caregivers of individuals younger than 21 years of age 

who qualify to receive mental health family support partners 

(i) care for an individual with a mental health disorder who 

requires recovery assistance and (ii) meet two or more of the 

following: 

a. Individual and his caregiver need peer-based recovery-

oriented services for the maintenance of wellness and the 

acquisition of skills needed to support the individual. 

b. Individual and his caregiver need assistance to develop 

self-advocacy skills to assist the individual in achieving 

self-management of the individual's health status. 

c. Individual and his caregiver need assistance and support 

to prepare the individual for a successful work or school 

experience. 

d. Individual and his caregiver need assistance to help the 

individual and caregiver assume responsibility for 

recovery. 

6. Individuals 18, 19, and 20 years of age who meet the 

medical necessity criteria in 12VAC30-50-226 B 7 e, who 

would benefit from receiving peer supports directly and who 

choose to receive mental health peer support services 

directly instead of through their caregiver, shall be permitted 

to receive mental health peer support services by an 

appropriate PRS. 

7. To qualify for continued mental health family support 

partners, medical necessity criteria shall continue to be met, 

and progress notes shall document the status of progress 

relative to the goals identified in the recovery, resiliency, and 

wellness plan. 

8. Discharge criteria from mental health family support 

partners shall be the same as set forth in 12VAC30-130-5180 

E. 

9. Mental health family support partners services shall be 

rendered on an individual basis or in a group. 

10. Prior to service initiation, an assessment shall be 

conducted and documented by an LMHP, LMHP-R, LMHP-

RP, or LMHP-S who is acting within his scope of practice 

under state law. The assessment shall verify that the 

individual meets the medical necessity criteria set forth in 

subdivision 5 of this subsection. The assessment shall be 

included as part of the recovery, resiliency, and wellness 

plan and medical record. Services shall be initiated within 

30 calendar days from when the assessment was complete. 

11. Effective July 1, 2017, a peer recovery specialist shall 

have the qualifications, education, experience, and 

certification required by DBHDS in accordance with 

12VAC35-250. Peer recovery specialists shall be registered 

by the Board of Counseling registration of peer recovery 

specialists by the Board of Counseling shall be required. The 

PRS shall perform mental health family support partners 

services under the oversight of the LMHP, LMHP-R, 
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LMHP-RP, or LMHP-S who assessed the individual and 

made the recommendation for services and providing the 

clinical oversight of the recovery, resiliency, and wellness 

plan. 

12. The PRS shall be employed by or have a contractual 

relationship with the enrolled provider licensed for one of 

the following: 

a. Acute care general and emergency department hospital 

services licensed by the Department of Health. 

b. Freestanding psychiatric hospital and inpatient 

psychiatric unit licensed by the Department of Behavioral 

Health and Developmental Services. 

c. Psychiatric residential treatment facility licensed by the 

Department of Behavioral Health and Developmental 

Services. 

d. Therapeutic group home licensed by the Department of 

Behavioral Health and Developmental Services. 

e. Outpatient mental health clinic services licensed by the 

Department of Behavioral Health and Developmental 

Services. 

f. Outpatient psychiatric services provider. 

g. A community mental health and rehabilitative services 

provider licensed by the Department of Behavioral Health 

and Developmental Services as a provider of one of the 

following community mental health and rehabilitative 

services as defined in this section, 12VAC30-50-226, 

12VAC30-50-420, or 12VAC30-50-430 for which the 

individual younger than 21 years meets medical necessity 

criteria: (i) intensive in home; (ii) therapeutic day 

treatment; (iii) day treatment or partial hospitalization; (iv) 

crisis intervention; (v) crisis stabilization; (vi) mental 

health skill building; or (vii) mental health case 

management. 

13. Only the licensed and enrolled provider as referenced in 

subdivision (12) of this subsection shall be eligible to bill 

and receive reimbursement from DMAS or its contractor for 

mental health family support partner services. Payments 

shall not be permitted to providers that fail to enter into an 

enrollment agreement with DMAS or its contractor. 

Reimbursement shall be subject to retraction for any billed 

service that is determined not to be in compliance with 

DMAS requirements. 

14. Supervision of the PRS shall meet the requirements set 

forth in 12VAC30-50-226 B 7 l and m. 

F. Hearing aids shall be reimbursed for individuals younger 

than 21 years of age according to medical necessity when 

provided by practitioners licensed to engage in the practice of 

fitting or dealing in hearing aids under the Code of Virginia. 

G. Addiction and recovery treatment services shall be 

covered under EPSDT consistent with 12VAC30-130-5000 et 

seq. 

H. Services facilitators shall be required for all consumer-

directed personal care services consistent with the 

requirements set out in 12VAC30-120-935. 

I. Behavioral therapy services shall be covered for individuals 

younger than 21 years of age. 

1. Definitions. The following words and terms when used in 

this subsection shall have the following meanings unless the 

context clearly indicates otherwise: 

"Behavioral therapy" means systematic interventions 

provided by licensed practitioners acting within the scope of 

practice defined under a Virginia Department of Health 

Professions regulatory board and covered as remedial care 

under 42 CFR 440.130(d) to individuals younger than 21 

years of age. Behavioral therapy includes applied behavioral 

analysis. Family training related to the implementation of the 

behavioral therapy shall be included as part of the behavioral 

therapy service. Behavioral therapy services shall be subject 

to clinical reviews and determined as medically necessary. 

Behavioral therapy may be provided in the individual's home 

and community settings as deemed by DMAS or its 

contractor as medically necessary treatment. 

"Counseling" means a professional mental health service 

that can only be provided by a person holding a license 

issued by a health regulatory board at the Department of 

Health Professions, which includes conducting assessments, 

making diagnoses of mental disorders and conditions, 

establishing treatment plans, and determining treatment 

interventions. 

"Individual" means the child or adolescent younger than 21 

years of age who is receiving behavioral therapy services. 

"Primary care provider" means a licensed medical 

practitioner who provides preventive and primary health 

care and is responsible for providing routine EPSDT 

screening and referral and coordination of other medical 

services needed by the individual. 

2. Behavioral therapy services shall be designed to enhance 

communication skills and decrease maladaptive patterns of 

behavior, which if left untreated, could lead to more complex 

problems and the need for a greater or a more intensive level 

of care. The service goal shall be to ensure the individual's 

family or caregiver is trained to effectively manage the 

individual's behavior in the home using modification 

strategies. All services shall be provided in accordance with 

the ISP and clinical assessment summary. 

3. Behavioral therapy services shall be covered when 

recommended by the individual's primary care provider or 

other licensed physician, licensed physician assistant, or 

licensed nurse practitioner and determined by DMAS or its 

contractor to be medically necessary to correct or ameliorate 

significant impairments in major life activities that have 

resulted from either developmental, behavioral, or mental 
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disabilities. Criteria for medical necessity are set out in 

12VAC30-60-61 F. Service-specific provider intakes shall 

be required at the onset of these services in order to receive 

authorization for reimbursement. Individual service plans 

(ISPs) shall be required throughout the entire duration of 

services. The services shall be provided in accordance with 

the individual service plan and clinical assessment summary. 

These services shall be provided in settings that are natural 

or normal for a child or adolescent without a disability, such 

as the individual's home, unless there is justification in the 

ISP, which has been authorized for reimbursement, to 

include service settings that promote a generalization of 

behaviors across different settings to maintain the targeted 

functioning outside of the treatment setting in the 

individual's home and the larger community within which 

the individual resides. Covered behavioral therapy services 

shall include: 

a. Initial and periodic service-specific provider intake as 

defined in 12VAC30-60-61 F; 

b. Development of initial and updated ISPs as established 

in 12VAC30-60-61 F; 

c. Clinical supervision activities. Requirements for 

clinical supervision are set out in 12VAC30-60-61 F; 

d. Behavioral training to increase the individual's adaptive 

functioning and communication skills; 

e. Training a family member in behavioral modification 

methods as established in 12VAC30-60-61 F; 

f. Documentation and analysis of quantifiable behavioral 

data related to the treatment objectives; and 

g. Care coordination. 

4. All personal care services rendered to children under the 

authority of 42 CFR 440.40(b) shall comply with the 

requirements of 12VAC30-60-65 with regard to electronic 

visit verification. 

J. School health services. 

1. School health assistant services are repealed effective July 

1, 2006. 

2. School divisions may provide routine well-child screening 

services under the State Plan. Diagnostic and treatment 

services that are otherwise covered under early and periodic 

screening, diagnosis and treatment services, shall not be 

covered for school divisions. School divisions to receive 

reimbursement for the screenings shall be enrolled with 

DMAS as clinic providers. 

a. Children enrolled in managed care organizations shall 

receive screenings from those organizations. School 

divisions shall not receive reimbursement for screenings 

from DMAS for these children. 

b. School-based services are listed in a recipient's 

individualized education program (IEP) and covered 

under one or more of the service categories described in § 

1905(a) of the Social Security Act. These services are 

necessary to correct or ameliorate defects of physical or 

mental illnesses or conditions. 

3. Providers shall be licensed under the applicable state 

practice act or comparable licensing criteria by the Virginia 

Department of Education, and shall meet applicable 

qualifications under 42 CFR Part 440. Identification of 

defects, illnesses or conditions and services necessary to 

correct or ameliorate them shall be performed by 

practitioners qualified to make those determinations within 

their licensed scope of practice, either as a member of the 

IEP team or by a qualified practitioner outside the IEP team. 

a. Providers shall be employed by the school division or 

under contract to the school division. 

b. Supervision of services by providers recognized in 

subdivision 4 of this subsection shall occur as allowed 

under federal regulations and consistent with Virginia law, 

regulations, and DMAS provider manuals. 

c. The services described in subdivision 4 of this 

subsection shall be delivered by school providers, but may 

also be available in the community from other providers. 

d. Services in this subsection are subject to utilization 

control as provided under 42 CFR Parts 455 and 456. 

e. The IEP shall determine whether or not the services 

described in subdivision 4 of this subsection are medically 

necessary and that the treatment prescribed is in 

accordance with standards of medical practice. Medical 

necessity is defined as services ordered by IEP providers. 

The IEP providers are qualified Medicaid providers to 

make the medical necessity determination in accordance 

with their scope of practice. The services must be 

described as to the amount, duration and scope. 

4. Covered services include: 

a. Physical therapy and occupational therapy and services 

for individuals with speech, hearing, and language 

disorders, performed by, or under the direction of, 

providers who meet the qualifications set forth at 42 CFR 

440.110. This coverage includes audiology services. 

b. Skilled nursing services are covered under 42 CFR 

440.60. These services are to be rendered in accordance to 

the licensing standards and criteria of the Virginia Board 

of Nursing. Nursing services are to be provided by 

licensed registered nurses or licensed practical nurses but 

may be delegated by licensed registered nurses in 

accordance with the regulations of the Virginia Board of 

Nursing, especially the section on delegation of nursing 

tasks and procedures. The licensed practical nurse is under 

the supervision of a registered nurse. 

(1) The coverage of skilled nursing services shall be of a 

level of complexity and sophistication (based on 

assessment, planning, implementation, and evaluation) 

that is consistent with skilled nursing services when 
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performed by a licensed registered nurse or a licensed 

practical nurse. These skilled nursing services shall 

include dressing changes, maintaining patent airways, 

medication administration or monitoring, and urinary 

catheterizations. 

(2) Skilled nursing services shall be directly and 

specifically related to an active, written plan of care 

developed by a registered nurse that is based on a written 

order from a physician, physician assistant, or nurse 

practitioner for skilled nursing services. This order shall 

be recertified on an annual basis. 

c. Psychiatric and psychological services performed by 

licensed practitioners within the scope of practice are 

defined under state law or regulations and covered as 

physicians' services under 42 CFR 440.50 or medical or 

other remedial care under 42 CFR 440.60. These 

outpatient services include individual medical 

psychotherapy, group medical psychotherapy coverage, 

and family medical psychotherapy. Psychological and 

neuropsychological testing are allowed when done for 

purposes other than educational diagnosis, school 

admission, evaluation of an individual with intellectual or 

developmental disability prior to admission to a nursing 

facility, or any placement issue. These services are 

covered in the nonschool settings also. School providers 

who may render these services when licensed by the state 

include psychiatrists, licensed clinical psychologists, 

school psychologists, licensed clinical social workers, 

professional counselors, psychiatric clinical nurse 

specialists, marriage and family therapists, and school 

social workers. 

d. Personal care services are covered under 42 CFR 

440.167 and performed by persons qualified under this 

subsection. The personal care assistant is supervised by a 

DMAS recognized school-based health professional who 

is acting within the scope of licensure. This professional 

develops a written plan for meeting the needs of the 

individual, which is implemented by the assistant. The 

assistant must have qualifications comparable to those for 

other personal care aides recognized by the Virginia 

Department of Medical Assistance Services. The assistant 

performs services such as assisting with toileting, 

ambulation, and eating. The assistant may serve as an aide 

on a specially adapted school vehicle that enables 

transportation to or from the school or school contracted 

provider on days when the student is receiving a 

Medicaid-covered service under the IEP. Individuals 

requiring an aide during transportation on a specially 

adapted vehicle shall have this stated in the IEP. 

e. Medical evaluation services are covered as physicians' 

services under 42 CFR 440.50 or as medical or other 

remedial care under 42 CFR 440.60. Persons performing 

these services shall be licensed physicians, physician 

assistants, or nurse practitioners. These practitioners shall 

identify the nature or extent of an individual's medical or 

other health related condition. 

f. Transportation is covered as allowed under 42 CFR 

431.53 and described at State Plan Attachment 3.1-D 

(12VAC30-50-530). Transportation shall be rendered 

only by school division personnel or contractors. 

Transportation is covered for a child who requires 

transportation on a specially adapted school vehicle that 

enables transportation to or from the school or school 

contracted provider on days when the individual is 

receiving a Medicaid-covered service under the IEP. 

Transportation shall be listed in the individual's IEP. 

Individuals requiring an aide during transportation on a 

specially adapted vehicle shall have this stated in the IEP. 

g. Assessments are covered as necessary to assess or 

reassess the need for medical services in an individual's 

IEP and shall be performed by any of the above licensed 

practitioners within the scope of practice. Assessments 

and reassessments not tied to medical needs of the 

individual shall not be covered. 

5. DMAS will ensure through quality management review 

that duplication of services will be monitored. School 

divisions have a responsibility to ensure that if an individual 

is receiving additional therapy outside of the school, that 

there will be coordination of services to avoid duplication of 

service. 

K. Family planning services and supplies for individuals of 

child-bearing age. 

1. Service must be ordered or prescribed and directed or 

performed within the scope of the license of a practitioner of 

the healing arts. 

2. Family planning services shall be defined as those 

services that delay or prevent pregnancy. Coverage of such 

services shall not include services to treat infertility or 

services to promote fertility. Family planning services shall 

not cover payment for abortion services and no funds shall 

be used to perform, assist, encourage, or make direct 

referrals for abortions. 

3. Family planning services as established by 

§ 1905(a)(4)(C) of the Social Security Act include annual 

family planning exams; cervical cancer screening for 

women; sexually transmitted infection (STI) testing; lab 

services for family planning and STI testing; family 

planning education, counseling, and preconception health; 

sterilization procedures; nonemergency transportation to a 

family planning service; and U.S. Food and Drug 

Administration approved prescription and over-the-counter 

contraceptives, subject to limits in 12VAC30-50-210. 
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12VAC30-60-65. Electronic visit verification.  

A. Definitions. The following words and terms when used in 

this section shall have the following meanings unless the 

context clearly indicates otherwise:  

"Aide" means the person who is employed by an agency to 

provide hands-on care. 

"Agency-directed services" means a model of service 

delivery where an agency is responsible for providing direct 

support staff, for maintaining an individual's records, and for 

scheduling the dates and times of the direct support staff's 

presence in the individual's home for personal care services, 

respite care services, and companion services.  

"Attendant" means the person who is hired by the individual 

consumer to provide hands-on care. 

"Companion services" means nonmedical care, supervision, 

and socialization provided to an adult individual (ages 18 years 

and older). The provision of companion services shall not 

entail hands-on care but shall be provided in accordance with 

a therapeutic goal in the individual support plan and is not 

purely diversional in nature. 

"Consumer-directed attendant" means a person who provides 

consumer-directed personal care services, respite care services, 

companion services, or any combination of these three 

services, who is also exempt from workers' compensation. 

"Consumer-directed services" or "CD services" means the 

model of service delivery for which the individual enrolled in 

the waiver or the individual's employer of record, as 

appropriate, is responsible for hiring, training, supervising, and 

firing of an attendant who renders the services that are 

reimbursed by DMAS. 

"DMAS" means the Department of Medical Assistance 

Services.  

"Electronic visit verification" or "EVV" means a system by 

which personal care services, companion services, or respite 

care services home visits are electronically verified with 

respect to (i) the type of service performed, (ii) the individual 

receiving the service, (iii) the date of the service, (iv) the 

location of service delivery, (v) the individual providing the 

service, and (vi) the time the service begins and ends. 

"Individual" means the person who has applied for and been 

approved to receive services for which EVV is required. 

"Personal care services" means a range of support services 

that includes assistance with activities of daily living and 

instrumental activities of daily living, access to the community, 

and self-administration of medication or other medical needs 

and the monitoring of health status and physical condition 

provided through the agency-directed or consumer-directed 

model of service. Personal care services shall be provided by a 

personal care attendant or aide within the scope of the 

attendant's or aide's license or certification, as appropriate. 

"Respite care services" means services provided to waiver 

individuals who are unable to care for themselves that are 

furnished on a short-term basis because of the absence of or 

need for the relief of the unpaid primary caregiver who 

normally provides the care. 

B. Applicable services. All of the requirements for an 

electronic visit verification system shall apply to all providers, 

both agency-directed and consumer-directed, of personal care 

services, respite care services, and companion services [ unless 

exempt under subsection C of this section ]. 

1. Agency providers shall choose the EVV system that best 

suits the provider business model, meets regulatory 

requirements established in this section, and provides 

reliable functionality for the geographic area in which it is to 

be used. 

2. For consumer-directed services, the DMAS designee (the 

fiscal employer agent) shall select and operate an EVV 

system to support an individual, or the employer of record, 

in managing the individual's care, meeting regulatory 

requirements established in this section, and providing 

reliable functionality for the geographic area in which it is to 

be used.  

3. Providers of consumer-directed personal care services, 

respite care services, and companion services shall comply 

with all EVV requirements.  

4. Providers of agency-directed personal care services, 

respite care services, and companion services shall comply 

with all EVV requirements. 

5. Individuals shall not be restricted from receiving a 

combination of agency-directed and consumer-directed 

services. Nothing in this section shall be construed to limit 

personal care, respite care, or companion services; an 

individual's selection of a provider attendant or aide; or 

impede the manner or location in which services are 

delivered subject to subsection C of this section. 

C. The following entities [ and individuals ] shall be exempt 

from EVV requirements: 

1. A DBHDS-licensed provider in a DBHDS-licensed 

program site, such as a group home or sponsored residential 

home or a supervised living, supported living, or similar 

facility or location licensed to provide respite care services; 

2. The Regional Educational Assessment Crisis Response 

and Habilitation (REACH) Program; [ and ]  

3. Schools where personal care services are rendered under 

the authority of an individual education program [ ; and 

4. Live-in caregivers ]. 

D. System requirements. 

1. The EVV system shall be capable of capturing required 

data in real time and producing such data as requested by 
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DMAS in electronic format. The following information shall 

be retained: 

a. The type of the service being performed; 

b. The individual who receives the service; 

c. The date of the service, including month, day, and year; 

d. The time the service begins and ends; 

e. The location of the service delivery at the beginning and 

the end of the service. EVV systems shall not restrict 

locations where individuals may receive services; and 

f. The attendant or aide who provides the service. 

2. In the event the time of service delivery needs to be 

adjusted, the start or end time may be modified by someone 

who has the provider's authority to adjust the aide's or 

attendant's hours. 

a. For agency-directed providers, this may be a supervisor 

or the agency owner or a designee who has authority to 

make independent verifications. In no case shall workers 

be allowed to adjust a peer worker's reported time. 

b. For consumer-directed attendants, the fiscal employer 

agent shall have this authority. 

3. All EVV systems shall be compliant with the 

requirements of the American with Disabilities Act (42 USC 

§ 12101 et seq.) and Health Insurance Portability and 

Accountability Act of 1996 (P.L. 104-191).  

4. All EVV systems shall employ electronic devices that are 

capable of recording the required data described in 

subdivision D 1 of this section, producing it upon demand, 

and safeguarding the data both physically and electronically.  

5. All EVV systems shall be accessible for input or service 

delivery 24 hours per day, seven days per week.  

6. All EVV systems shall provide for data backups in the 

event of emergencies; disasters, natural or otherwise; and 

system malfunctions, both in the location services are being 

delivered and the backup server location. 

7. All EVV systems shall be capable of handling: 

a. Multiple work shifts per day per individual or aide or 

attendant combination; 

b. Aides or attendants who work for multiple individuals;  

c. Individuals who use multiple aides or attendants; 

d. Multiple individuals and multiple aides or attendants or 

both in the same location at the same time and date. In 

such situations, the EVV shall be capable of separately 

documenting the services, as well as the other elements set 

out in subdivision D 1 of this section, that are provided to 

each individual; and  

e. At minimum, daily backups of the most recent data that 

has been entered. 

8. All EVV systems shall be capable of electronically 

transmitting information to DMAS in the required format or 

electronically transferring it to the provider's billing system.  

E. EVV data shall be submitted to DMAS with the provider's 

billing claim [ in a manner that conforms with agency 

specifications ]. 

F. Agency-directed provider records, audits, and reports. 

1. Providers shall select and obtain an EVV system that 

meets the functional requirements of DMAS or its designee. 

2. All providers shall retain EVV data for at least six years 

from the last date of service or as provided by applicable 

federal and state laws, whichever period is longer. However, 

if an audit is initiated within the required retention period, 

the records shall be retained until the audit is completed and 

every exception is resolved. Policies regarding retention of 

records shall apply even if the provider discontinues 

operation. 

a. In the event a provider discontinues services, DMAS 

shall be notified in writing of the storage location and 

procedures for obtaining records for review should the 

need arise.  

b. The location, agent, or trustee shall be within the 

Commonwealth.  

3. All providers shall retain records of minor individuals for 

at least six years after such minor individual has reached 18 

years of age. 

4. All providers shall produce their archived EVV data in a 

timely manner and in an electronic format when requested 

by DMAS or its designee. 

5. In the event that a telephone or other verification option 

that the provider uses is not available or accessible in the 

individual's home or location, and delayed data input is 

utilized, the provider shall have information on file 

documenting the reason that the aide or attendant did not use 

EVV for the service delivered. 

12VAC30-120-924. Covered services; limits on covered 

services. 

A. Covered services in the EDCD Waiver shall include: adult 

day health care, personal care (both consumer-directed and 

agency-directed), respite services (both consumer-directed and 

agency-directed), PERS, PERS medication monitoring, limited 

assistive technology, limited environmental modifications, 

transition coordination, and transition services. 

1. The services covered in this waiver shall be appropriate 

and medically necessary to maintain the individual in the 

community in order to prevent institutionalization and shall 

be cost effective in the aggregate as compared to the 

alternative NF placement. 
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2. EDCD services shall not be authorized if another entity is 

required to provide the services (e.g., schools, insurance). 

Waiver services shall not duplicate services available 

through other programs or funding streams. 

3. Assistive technology and environmental modification 

services shall be available only to those EDCD Waiver 

individuals who are also participants in the Money Follows 

the Person (MFP) demonstration program pursuant to Part 

XX (12VAC30-120-2000 et seq.). 

4. An individual receiving EDCD Waiver services who is 

also getting hospice care may receive Medicaid-covered 

personal care (agency-directed and consumer-directed), 

respite care (agency-directed and consumer-directed), adult 

day health care, transition services, transition coordination, 

and PERS services, regardless of whether the hospice 

provider receives reimbursement from Medicare or 

Medicaid for the services covered under the hospice benefit. 

Such dual waiver/hospice individuals shall only be able to 

receive assistive technology and environmental 

modifications if they are also participants in the MFP 

demonstration program. 

5. Agency-directed and consumer-directed personal care 

services and respite care services shall be subject to the 

electronic visit verification requirements set out in 

12VAC30-60-65. 

B. Voluntary/involuntary Voluntary or involuntary 

disenrollment from consumer-directed services. In either 

voluntary or involuntary disenrollment situations, the waiver 

individual shall be permitted to select an agency from which to 

receive his agency-directed personal care and respite services. 

1. A waiver individual may be found to be ineligible for CD 

services by either the Preadmission Screening Team, 

DMAS-enrolled hospital provider, DMAS, its designated 

agent, or the CD services facilitator. An individual may not 

begin or continue to receive CD services if there are 

circumstances where the waiver individual's health, safety, 

or welfare cannot be assured, including but not limited to: 

a. It is determined that the waiver individual cannot be the 

EOR and no one else is able to assume this role; 

b. The waiver individual cannot ensure his own health, 

safety, or welfare or develop an emergency backup plan 

that will ensure his health, safety, or welfare; or 

c. The waiver individual has medication or skilled nursing 

needs or medical or behavioral conditions that cannot be 

met through CD services or other services. 

2. The waiver individual may be involuntarily disenrolled 

from consumer direction if he or the EOR, as appropriate, is 

consistently unable to retain or manage the attendant as may 

be demonstrated by, but not necessarily limited to, a pattern 

of serious discrepancies with the attendant's timesheets. 

3. In situations where either (i) the waiver individual's 

health, safety, or welfare cannot be assured or (ii) attendant 

timesheet discrepancies are known, the services facilitator 

shall assist as requested with the waiver individual's transfer 

to agency-directed services as follows: 

a. Verify that essential training has been provided to the 

waiver individual or EOR; 

b. Document, in the waiver individual's case record, the 

conditions creating the necessity for the involuntary 

disenrollment and actions taken by the services facilitator; 

c. Discuss with the waiver individual or the EOR, as 

appropriate, the agency-directed option that is available 

and the actions needed to arrange for such services and 

offer choice of potential providers, and 

d. Provide written notice to the waiver individual of the 

right to appeal such involuntary termination of consumer 

direction. Such notice shall be given at least 10 calendar 

days prior to the effective date of this change. In cases 

when the individual's or the provider personnel's safety 

may be jeopardy, the 10 calendar days notice shall not 

apply. 

C. Adult day health care (ADHC) services. ADHC services 

shall only be offered to waiver individuals who meet 

preadmission screening criteria as established in 12VAC30-

60-303 and 12VAC30-60-307 and for whom ADHC services 

shall be an appropriate and medically necessary alternative to 

institutional care. ADHC services may be offered to 

individuals in a VDSS-licensed adult day care center (ADCC) 

congregate setting. ADHC may be offered either as the sole 

home and community-based care service or in conjunction 

with personal care (either agency-directed or consumer-

directed), respite care (either agency-directed or consumer-

directed), or PERS. A multi-disciplinary approach to 

developing, implementing, and evaluating each waiver 

individual's POC shall be essential to quality ADHC services. 

1. ADHC services shall be designed to prevent 

institutionalization by providing waiver individuals with 

health care services, maintenance of their physical and 

mental conditions, and coordination of rehabilitation 

services in a congregate daytime setting and shall be tailored 

to their unique needs. The minimum range of services that 

shall be made available to every waiver individual shall be: 

assistance with ADLs, nursing services, coordination of 

rehabilitation services, nutrition, social services, recreation, 

and socialization services. 

a. Assistance with ADLs shall include supervision of the 

waiver individual and assistance with management of the 

individual's POC. 

b. Nursing services shall include the periodic evaluation, 

at least every 90 days, of the waiver individual's nursing 

needs; provision of indicated nursing care and treatment; 

responsibility for monitoring, recording, and 

administering prescribed medications; supervision of the 
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waiver individual in self-administered medication; 

support of families in their home care efforts for the 

waiver individuals through education and counseling; and 

helping families identify and appropriately utilize health 

care resources. Periodic evaluations may occur more 

frequently than every 90 days if indicated by the 

individual's changing condition. Nursing services shall 

also include the general supervision of provider staff, who 

are certified through the Board of Nursing, in medication 

management and administering medications. 

c. Coordination and implementation of rehabilitation 

services to ensure the waiver individual receives all 

rehabilitative services deemed necessary to improve or 

maintain independent functioning, to include physical 

therapy, occupational therapy, and speech therapy. 

d. Nutrition services shall be provided to include, but not 

necessarily be limited to, one meal per day that meets the 

daily nutritional requirements pursuant to 22VAC40-60-

800. Special diets and nutrition counseling shall be 

provided as required by the waiver individuals. 

e. Recreation and social activities shall be provided that 

are suited to the needs of the waiver individuals and shall 

be designed to encourage physical exercise, prevent 

physical and mental deterioration, and stimulate social 

interaction. 

f. ADHC coordination shall involve implementing the 

waiver individuals' POCs, updating such plans, recording 

30-day progress notes, and reviewing the waiver 

individuals' daily logs each week. 

2. Limits on covered ADHC services. 

a. A day of ADHC services shall be defined as a minimum 

of six hours. 

b. ADCCs that do not employ professional nursing staff 

on site shall not be permitted to admit waiver individuals 

who require skilled nursing care to their centers. Examples 

of skilled nursing care may include: (i) tube feedings; (ii) 

Foley catheter irrigations; (iii) sterile dressing changing; 

or (iv) any other procedures that require sterile technique. 

The ADCC shall not permit its aide employees to perform 

skilled nursing procedures. 

c. At any time that the center is no longer able to provide 

reliable, continuous care to any of the center's waiver 

individuals for the number of hours per day or days per 

week as contained in the individuals' POCs, then the 

center shall contact the waiver individuals or 

family/caregivers their family or caregivers, as 

appropriate, to initiate other care arrangements for these 

individuals. The center may either subcontract with 

another ADCC or may transfer the waiver individual to 

another ADCC. The center may discharge waiver 

individuals from the center's services but not from the 

waiver. Written notice of discharge shall be provided, with 

the specific reason or reasons for discharge, at least 10 

calendar days prior to the effective date of the discharge. 

In cases when the individual's or the center personnel's 

safety may be jeopardy, the 10 calendar days notice shall 

not apply. 

d. ADHC services shall not be provided, for the purpose 

of Medicaid reimbursement, to individuals who reside in 

NFs, ICFs/IID, hospitals, assisted living facilities that are 

licensed by VDSS, or group homes that are licensed by 

DBHDS. 

D. Agency-directed personal care services. Agency-directed 

personal care services shall only be offered to persons who 

meet the preadmission screening criteria at 12VAC30-60-303 

and 12VAC30-60-307 and for whom it shall be an appropriate 

alternative to institutional care. Agency-directed personal care 

services shall be comprised of hands-on care of either a 

supportive or health-related nature and shall include, but shall 

not necessarily be limited to, assistance with ADLs, access to 

the community, assistance with medications in accordance 

with VDH licensing requirements or other medical needs, 

supervision, and the monitoring of health status and physical 

condition. Where the individual requires assistance with 

ADLs, and when specified in the POC, such supportive 

services may include assistance with IADLs. This service shall 

not include skilled nursing services with the exception of 

skilled nursing tasks (e.g., catheterization) that may be 

delegated pursuant to Part VIII (18VAC90-20-420 through 

18VAC90-20-460) of 18VAC90-20. Agency-directed 

personal care services may be provided in a home or 

community setting to enable an individual to maintain the 

health status and functional skills necessary to live in the 

community or participate in community activities. Personal 

care may be offered either as the sole home and community-

based care service or in conjunction with adult day health care, 

respite care (agency-directed or consumer-directed), or PERS. 

The provider shall document, in the individual's medical 

record, the waiver individual's choice of the agency-directed 

model. 

1. Criteria. In order to qualify for this service, the waiver 

individual shall have met the NF LOC criteria as set out in 

12VAC30-60-303 and 12VAC30-60-307 as documented on 

the UAI assessment form, and for whom it shall be an 

appropriate alternative to institutional care. 

a. A waiver individual may receive both CD and agency-

directed personal care services if the individual meets the 

criteria. Hours received by the individual who is receiving 

both CD and agency-directed services shall not exceed the 

total number of hours that would be needed if the waiver 

individual were receiving personal care services through a 

single delivery model. 

b. CD and agency-directed services shall not be 

simultaneously provided but may be provided sequentially 

or alternately from each other. 
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c. The individual or family/caregiver family or caregiver 

shall have a backup plan for the provision of services in 

the event the agency is unable to provide an aide. 

2. Limits on covered agency-directed personal care services. 

a. DMAS shall not duplicate services that are required as 

a reasonable accommodation as a part of the Americans 

with Disabilities Act (42 USC §§ 12131 through 12165) 

or the Rehabilitation Act of 1973 (29 USC § 794). 

b. DMAS shall reimburse for services delivered, 

consistent with the approved POC, for personal care that 

the personal care aide provides to the waiver individual to 

assist him while he is at work or postsecondary school. 

(1) DMAS or the designated Srv Auth contractor shall 

review the waiver individual's needs and the complexity 

of the disability, as applicable, when determining the 

services that are provided to him in the workplace or 

postsecondary school or both. 

(2) DMAS shall not pay for the personal care aide to assist 

the enrolled waiver individual with any functions or tasks 

related to the individual completing his job or 

postsecondary school functions or for supervision time 

during either work or postsecondary school or both. 

c. Supervision services shall only be authorized to ensure 

the health, safety, or welfare of the waiver individual who 

cannot be left alone at any time or is unable to call for help 

in case of an emergency, and when there is no one else in 

the home competent and able to call for help in case of an 

emergency. 

d. There shall be a maximum limit of eight hours per 24-

hour day for supervision services. Supervision services 

shall be documented in the POC as needed by the 

individual. 

e. Agency-directed personal care services shall be limited 

to 56 hours of services per week for 52 weeks per year. 

Individual exceptions may be granted based on criteria 

established by DMAS. 

f. Electronic visit verification requirements set out in 

12VAC30-60-65 shall apply to these agency-directed 

respite care services. 

E. Agency-directed respite care services. Agency-directed 

respite care services shall only be offered to waiver individuals 

who meet the preadmission screening criteria at 12VAC30-60-

303 and 12VAC30-60-307 and for whom it shall be an 

appropriate alternative to institutional care. Agency-directed 

respite care services may be either skilled nursing or unskilled 

care and shall be comprised of hands-on care of either a 

supportive or health-related nature and may include, but shall 

not be limited to, assistance with ADLs, access to the 

community, assistance with medications in accordance with 

VDH licensing requirements or other medical needs, 

supervision, and monitoring health status and physical 

condition. 

1. Respite care shall only be offered to individuals who have 

an unpaid primary caregiver who requires temporary relief 

to avoid institutionalization of the waiver individual. Respite 

care services may be provided in the individual's home or 

other community settings. 

2. When the individual requires assistance with ADLs, and 

where such assistance is specified in the waiver individual's 

POC, such supportive services may also include assistance 

with IADLs. 

3. The unskilled care portion of this service shall not include 

skilled nursing services with the exception of skilled nursing 

tasks (e.g., catheterization) that may be delegated pursuant 

to Part VIII (18VAC90-20-420 through 18VAC90-20-460) 

of 18VAC90-20. 

4. Limits on service. 

a. The unit of service shall be one hour. Respite care 

services shall be limited to 480 hours per individual per 

state fiscal year, to be service authorized. If an individual 

changes waiver programs, this same maximum number of 

respite hours shall apply. No additional respite hours 

beyond the 480 maximum limit shall be approved for 

payment for individuals who change waiver programs. 

Additionally, individuals who are receiving respite 

services in this waiver through both the agency-directed 

and CD models shall not exceed 480 hours per state fiscal 

year combined. 

b. If agency-directed respite care service is the only 

service received by the waiver individual, it must be 

received at least as often as every 30 days. If this service 

is not required at this minimal level of frequency, then the 

provider agency shall notify the local department of social 

services for its redetermination of eligibility for the waiver 

individual. 

c. The individual or family/caregiver family or caregiver 

shall have a backup plan for the provision of services in 

the event the agency is unable to provide an aide. 

d. Electronic visit verification requirements set out in 

12VAC30-60-65 shall apply to these agency-directed 

respite care services. 

F. Services facilitation for consumer-directed services. 

Consumer-directed personal care and respite care services 

shall only be offered to persons who meet the preadmission 

screening criteria at 12VAC30-60-303 and 12VAC30-60-307 

and for whom there shall be appropriate alternatives to 

institutional care. 

1. Individuals who choose CD services shall receive support 

from a DMAS-enrolled CD services facilitator as required in 

conjunction with CD services. The services facilitator shall 

document the waiver individual's choice of the CD model 

and whether there is a need for another person to serve as the 

EOR on behalf of the individual. The CD services facilitator 

shall be responsible for assessing the waiver individual's 



Regulations 

Volume 37, Issue 24  Virginia Register of Regulations  July 19, 2021  

3685 

particular needs for a requested CD service, assisting in the 

development of the POC, providing training to the EOR on 

his responsibilities as an employer, and for providing 

ongoing support of the CD services. 

2. Individuals who are eligible for CD services shall have, or 

have an EOR who has, the capability to hire and train the 

personal care attendant or attendants and supervise the 

attendant's performance, including approving the attendant's 

timesheets. 

a. If a waiver individual is unwilling or unable to direct his 

own care or is younger than 18 years of age, a 

family/caregiver/designated family, a caregiver, or a 

designated person shall serve as the EOR on behalf of the 

waiver individual in order to perform these supervisory 

and approval functions. 

b. Specific employer duties shall include checking 

references of personal care attendants and determining 

that personal care attendants meet qualifications. 

3. The individual or family/caregiver family or caregiver 

shall have a backup plan for the provision of services in case 

the attendant does not show up for work as scheduled or 

terminates employment without prior notice. 

4. The CD services facilitator shall not be the waiver 

individual, a CD attendant, a provider of other Medicaid-

covered services, spouse of the individual, parent of the 

individual who is a minor child, or the EOR who is 

employing the CD attendant. 

5. DMAS shall either provide for fiscal employer/agent 

services or contract for the services of a fiscal 

employer/agent for CD services. The fiscal employer/agent 

shall be reimbursed by DMAS or DMAS contractor (if the 

fiscal/employer agent service is contracted) to perform 

certain tasks as an agent for the EOR. The fiscal 

employer/agent shall handle responsibilities for the waiver 

individual including, but not limited to, employment taxes 

and background checks for attendants. The fiscal 

employer/agent shall seek and obtain all necessary 

authorizations and approvals of the Internal Revenue Service 

in order to fulfill all of these duties. 

G. Consumer-directed personal care services. CD personal 

care services shall be comprised of hands-on care of either a 

supportive or health-related nature and shall include assistance 

with ADLs and may include, but shall not be limited to, access 

to the community, monitoring of self-administered 

medications or other medical needs, supervision, and 

monitoring health status and physical condition. Where the 

waiver individual requires assistance with ADLs and when 

specified in the POC, such supportive services may include 

assistance with IADLs. This service shall not include skilled 

nursing services with the exception of skilled nursing tasks 

(e.g. catheterization) that may be delegated pursuant to Part 

VIII (18VAC90-20-420 through 18VAC90-20-460) of 

18VAC 90-20 and as permitted by Chapter 30 (§ 54.1-3000 et 

seq.) of Title 54.1 of the Code of Virginia. CD personal care 

services may be provided in a home or community setting to 

enable an individual to maintain the health status and 

functional skills necessary to live in the community or 

participate in community activities. Personal care may be 

offered either as the sole home and community-based service 

or in conjunction with adult day health care, respite care 

(agency-directed or consumer-directed), or PERS. 

1. In order to qualify for this service, the waiver individual 

shall have met the NF LOC criteria as set out in 12VAC30-

60-303 and 12VAC30-60-307 as documented on the UAI 

assessment instrument, and for whom it shall be an 

appropriate alternative to institutional care. 

a. A waiver individual may receive both CD and agency-

directed personal care services if the individual meets the 

criteria. Hours received by the waiver individual who is 

receiving both CD and agency-directed services shall not 

exceed the total number of hours that would be otherwise 

authorized had the individual chosen to receive personal 

care services through a single delivery model. 

b. CD and agency-directed services shall not be 

simultaneously provided but may be provided sequentially 

or alternately from each other. 

2. Limits on covered CD personal care services. 

a. DMAS shall not duplicate services that are required as 

a reasonable accommodation as a part of the Americans 

with Disabilities Act (42 USC §§ 12131 through 12165) 

or the Rehabilitation Act of 1973 (29 USC § 794). 

b. There shall be a limit of eight hours per 24-hour day for 

supervision services included in the POC. Supervision 

services shall be authorized to ensure the health, safety, or 

welfare of the waiver individual who cannot be left alone 

at any time or is unable to call for help in case of an 

emergency, and when there is no one else in the home who 

is competent and able to call for help in case of an 

emergency. 

c. Consumer-directed personal care services shall be 

limited to 56 hours of services per week for 52 weeks per 

year. Individual exceptions may be granted based on 

criteria established by DMAS. 

d. Electronic visit verification requirements as set out in 

12VAC30-60-65 shall apply to these CD personal care 

services. 

3. CD personal care services at work or school shall be 

limited as follows: 

a. DMAS shall reimburse for services delivered, 

consistent with the approved POC, for CD personal care 

that the attendant provides to the waiver individual to 

assist him while he is at work or postsecondary school or 

both. 
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b. DMAS or the designated Srv Auth contractor shall 

review the waiver individual's needs and the complexity 

of the disability, as applicable, when determining the 

services that will be provided to him in the workplace or 

postsecondary school or both. 

c. DMAS shall not pay for the personal care attendant to 

assist the waiver individual with any functions or tasks 

related to the individual completing his job or 

postsecondary school functions or for supervision time 

during work or postsecondary school or both. 

H. Consumer-directed respite care services. CD respite care 

services are unskilled care and shall be comprised of hands-on 

care of either a supportive or health-related nature and may 

include, but shall not be limited to, assistance with ADLs, 

access to the community, monitoring of self-administration of 

medications or other medical needs, supervision, monitoring 

health status and physical condition, and personal care services 

in a work environment. 

1. In order to qualify for this service, the waiver individual 

shall have met the NF LOC criteria as set out in 12VAC30-

60-303 and 12VAC30-60-307 as documented on the UAI 

assessment instrument, and for whom it shall be an 

appropriate alternative to institutional care. 

2. CD respite care services shall only be offered to 

individuals who have an unpaid primary caregiver who 

requires temporary relief to avoid institutionalization of the 

waiver individual. This service shall be provided in the 

waiver individual's home or other community settings. 

3. When the waiver individual requires assistance with 

ADLs, and where such assistance is specified in the 

individual's POC, such supportive services may also include 

assistance with IADLs. 

4. Electronic visit verification requirements as set out in 

12VAC30-60-65 shall apply to these CD respite care 

services. 

5. Limits on covered CD respite care services. 

a. The unit of service shall be one hour. Respite care 

services shall be limited to 480 hours per waiver 

individual per state fiscal year. If a waiver individual 

changes waiver programs, this same maximum number of 

respite hours shall apply. No additional respite hours 

beyond the 480 maximum limit shall be approved for 

payment. Individuals who are receiving respite [ care ] 

services in this waiver through both the agency-directed 

and CD models shall not exceed 480 hours per state fiscal 

year combined. 

b. CD respite care services shall not include skilled 

nursing services with the exception of skilled nursing tasks 

(e.g., catheterization) that may be delegated pursuant to 

Part VIII (18VAC90-20-420 through 18VAC90-20-460) 

of 18VAC90-20 and as permitted by Chapter 30 (§ 54.1-

3000 et seq.) of Title 54.1 of the Code of Virginia). 

c. If consumer-directed respite care service is the only 

service received by the waiver individual, it shall be 

received at least as often as every 30 days. If this service 

is not required at this minimal level of frequency, then the 

services facilitator shall refer the waiver individual to the 

local department of social services for its redetermination 

of eligibility for the waiver individual. 

I. Personal emergency response system (PERS). 

1. Service description. PERS is a service that monitors 

waiver individual safety in the home and provides access to 

emergency assistance for medical or environmental 

emergencies through the provision of a two-way voice 

communication system that dials a 24-hour response or 

monitoring center upon activation and via the individual's 

home telephone line or system. PERS may also include 

medication monitoring devices. 

a. PERS may be authorized only when there is no one else 

in the home with the waiver individual who is competent 

or continuously available to call for help in an emergency 

or when the individual is in imminent danger. 

b. The use of PERS equipment shall not relieve the backup 

caregiver of his responsibilities. 

c. Service units and service limitations. 

(1) PERS shall be limited to waiver individuals who are 

ages 14 years and older who also either live alone or are 

alone for significant parts of the day and who have no 

regular caregiver for extended periods of time. PERS shall 

only be provided in conjunction with receipt of personal 

care services (either agency-directed or consumer-

directed), respite services (either agency-directed or 

consumer-directed), or adult day health care. A waiver 

individual shall not receive PERS if he has a cognitive 

impairment as defined in 12VAC30-120-900. 

(2) A unit of service shall include administrative costs, 

time, labor, and supplies associated with the installation, 

maintenance, monitoring, and adjustments of the PERS. A 

unit of service shall be the one-month rental price set by 

DMAS in its fee schedule. The one-time installation of the 

unit shall include installation, account activation, 

individual and family/caregiver family or caregiver 

instruction, and subsequent removal of PERS equipment 

when it is no longer needed. 

(3) PERS services shall be capable of being activated by a 

remote wireless device and shall be connected to the 

waiver individual's telephone line or system. The PERS 

console unit must provide hands-free voice-to-voice 

communication with the response center. The activating 

device must be (i) waterproof, (ii) able to automatically 

transmit to the response center an activator low battery 

alert signal prior to the battery losing power, (iii) able to 

be worn by the waiver individual, and (iv) automatically 

reset by the response center after each activation, thereby 

ensuring that subsequent signals can be transmitted 
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without requiring manual resetting by the waiver 

individual. 

(4) All PERS equipment shall be approved by the Federal 

Communications Commission and meet the Underwriters' 

Laboratories, Inc. (UL) safety standard. 

(5) Medication monitoring units shall be physician 

ordered. In order to be approved to receive the medication 

monitoring service, a waiver individual shall also receive 

PERS services. Physician orders shall be maintained in the 

waiver individual's record. In cases where the medical 

monitoring unit must be filled by the provider, the person 

who is filling the unit shall be either an RN or an LPN. 

The units may be filled as frequently as a minimum of 

every 14 days. There must be documentation of this action 

in the waiver individual's record. 

J. Transition coordination and transition services. Transition 

coordination and transition services, as defined at 12VAC30-

120-2000 and 12VAC30-120-2010, provide for applicants to 

move from institutional placements or licensed or certified 

provider-operated living arrangements to private homes or 

other qualified settings. The applicant's transition from an 

institution to the community shall be coordinated by the 

facility's discharge planning team. The discharge planner shall 

coordinate with the transition coordinator to ensure that EDCD 

Waiver eligibility criteria shall be met. 

1. Transition coordination and transition services shall be 

authorized by DMAS or its designated agent in order for 

reimbursement to occur. 

2. For the purposes of transition services, an institution must 

meet the requirements as specified by CMS in the Money 

Follows the Person demonstration program at 

http://www.ssa.gov/OP_Home/comp2/F109-171.html#ft262. 

3. Transition coordination shall be authorized for a maximum 

of 12 consecutive months upon discharge from an institutional 

placement and shall be initiated within 30 days of discharge 

from the institution. 

4. Transition coordination and transition services shall be 

provided in conjunction with personal care (agency-directed or 

consumer-directed), respite care (agency-directed or consumer-

directed), or adult day health care services. 

K. Assistive technology (AT). 

1. Service description. Assistive technology (AT), as defined 

in 12VAC30-120-900, shall only be available to waiver 

individuals who are participating in the MFP program 

pursuant to Part XX (12VAC30-120-2000 et seq.). 

2. In order to qualify for these services, the individual shall 

have a demonstrated need for equipment for remedial or 

direct medical benefit primarily in an individual's primary 

home, primary vehicle used by the individual, community 

activity setting, or day program to specifically serve to 

improve the individual's personal functioning. This shall 

encompass those items not otherwise covered under the 

State Plan for Medical Assistance. AT shall be covered in 

the least expensive, most cost-effective manner. 

3. Service units and service limitations. 

a. All requests for AT shall be made by the transition 

coordinator to DMAS or the Srv Auth contractor. 

b. The maximum funded expenditure per individual for all 

AT covered procedure codes (combined total of AT items 

and labor related to these items) shall be $5,000 per year 

for individuals regardless of waiver, or regardless of 

whether the individual changes waiver programs, for 

which AT is approved. The service unit shall always be 

one, for the total cost of all AT being requested for a 

specific timeframe. 

c. AT may be provided in the individual's home or 

community setting. 

d. AT shall not be approved for purposes of convenience 

of the caregiver/provider caregiver or provider or restraint 

of the individual. 

e. An independent, professional consultation shall be 

obtained from a qualified professional who is 

knowledgeable of that item for each AT request prior to 

approval by the Srv Auth contractor and may include 

training on such AT by the qualified professional. The 

consultation shall not be performed by the provider of AT 

to the individual. 

f. All AT shall be prior authorized by the Srv Auth 

contractor prior to billing. 

g. Excluded shall be items that are reasonable 

accommodation requirements, for example, of the 

Americans with Disabilities Act, the Virginians with 

Disabilities Act (§ 51.5-1 et seq. of the Code of Virginia), 

or the Rehabilitation Act (20 USC § 794) or that are 

required to be provided through other funding sources. 

h. AT services or equipment shall not be rented but shall 

be purchased. 

L. Environmental modifications (EM). 

1. Service description. Environmental modifications (EM), 

as defined herein, shall only be available to waiver 

individuals who are participating in the MFP program 

pursuant to Part XX (12VAC30-120-2000 et seq.). 

Adaptations shall be documented in the waiver individual's 

POC and may include, but shall not necessarily be limited 

to, the installation of ramps and grab-bars, widening of 

doorways, modification of bathroom facilities, or 

installation of specialized electrical and plumbing systems 

that are necessary to accommodate the medical equipment 

and supplies that are necessary for the welfare of the waiver 

individual. Excluded are those adaptations or improvements 

to the home that are of general utility and are not of direct 

medical or remedial benefit to the individual, such as 

carpeting, flooring, roof repairs, central air conditioning, or 

decks. Adaptations that add to the total square footage of the 

http://www.ssa.gov/OP_Home/comp2/F109-171.html#ft262
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home shall be excluded from this benefit, except when 

necessary to complete an authorized adaptation, as 

determined by DMAS or its designated agent. All services 

shall be provided in the individual's primary home in 

accordance with applicable state or local building codes. All 

modifications must be prior authorized by the Srv Auth 

contractor. Modifications may only be made to a vehicle if 

it is the primary vehicle being used by the waiver individual. 

This service does not include the purchase or lease of 

vehicles. 

2. In order to qualify for these services, the waiver individual 

shall have a demonstrated need for modifications of a 

remedial or medical benefit offered in his primary home or 

primary vehicle used by the waiver individual to ensure his 

health, welfare, or safety or specifically to improve the 

individual's personal functioning. This service shall 

encompass those items not otherwise covered in the State 

Plan for Medical Assistance or through another program. 

EM shall be covered in the least expensive, most cost-

effective manner. 

3. Service units and service limitations. 

a. All requests for EM shall be made by the MFP transition 

coordinator to DMAS or the Srv Auth contractor. 

b. The maximum funded expenditure per individual for all 

EM covered procedure codes (combined total of EM items 

and labor related to these items) shall be $5,000 per year 

for individuals regardless of waiver, or regardless of 

whether the individual changes waiver programs, for 

which EM is approved. The service unit shall always be 

one, for the total cost of all EM being requested for a 

specific timeframe. 

c. All EM shall be authorized by the Srv Auth contractor 

prior to billing. 

d. Modifications shall not be used to bring a substandard 

dwelling up to minimum habitation standards. Also 

excluded shall be modifications that are reasonable 

accommodation requirements of the Americans with 

Disabilities Act, the Virginians with Disabilities Act 

(§ 51.5-1 et seq. of the Code of Virginia), and the 

Rehabilitation Act (20 USC§ § 794). 

e. Transition coordinators shall, upon completion of each 

modification, meet face-to-face with the waiver individual 

and his family/caregiver family or caregiver, as 

appropriate, to ensure that the modification is completed 

satisfactorily and is able to be used by the individual. 

f. EM shall not be approved for purposes of convenience 

of the caregiver/provider caregiver or provider or restraint 

of the waiver individual. 

12VAC30-120-930. General requirements for home and 

community-based participating providers. 

A. Requests for participation shall be screened by DMAS or 

the designated DMAS contractor to determine whether the 

provider applicant meets the requirements for participation, as 

set out in the provider agreement, and demonstrates the 

abilities to perform, at a minimum, the following activities: 

1. Screen all new and existing employees and contractors to 

determine whether any are excluded from eligibility for 

payment from federal health care programs, including 

Medicaid (i.e., via the United States Department of Health 

and Human Services Office of Inspector General List of 

Excluded Individuals or Entities (LEIE) website). 

Immediately report in writing to DMAS any exclusion 

information discovered to: DMAS, ATTN: Program 

Integrity/Exclusions, 600 East Broad Street, Suite 1300, 

Richmond, VA 23219, or email to 

providerexclusions@dmas.virginia.gov; 

2. Immediately notify DMAS in writing of any change in the 

information that the provider previously submitted to 

DMAS; 

3. Except for waiver individuals who are subject to the 

DMAS Client Medical Management program Part VIII 

(12VAC30-130-800 et seq.) of 12VAC30-130 or are 

enrolled in a Medicaid managed care program, ensure 

freedom of choice to individuals in seeking services from 

any institution, pharmacy, practitioner, or other provider 

qualified to perform the service or services required and 

participating in the Medicaid Program at the time the service 

or services are performed; 

4. Ensure the individual's freedom to refuse medical care, 

treatment, and services; 

5. Accept referrals for services only when staff is available 

to initiate and perform such services on an ongoing basis; 

6. Provide services and supplies to individuals in full 

compliance with Title VI (42 USC § 2000d et seq.) of the 

Civil Rights Act of 1964 which prohibits discrimination on 

the grounds of race, color, religion, or national origin; the 

Virginians with Disabilities Act (§ 51.5-1 et seq. of the Code 

of Virginia); § 504 of the Rehabilitation Act of 1973 

(29 USC § 794), which prohibits discrimination on the basis 

of a disability; and the Americans with Disabilities Act of 

1990 (42 USC § 12101 et seq.), which provides 

comprehensive civil rights protections to individuals with 

disabilities in the areas of employment, public 

accommodations, state and local government services, and 

telecommunications; 

7. Provide services and supplies to individuals of the same 

quality and in the same mode of delivery as are provided to 

the general public; 

8. Submit charges to DMAS for the provision of services and 

supplies to individuals in amounts not to exceed the 

provider's usual and customary charges to the general public 

and accept as payment in full the amount established by 
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DMAS payment methodology beginning with the 

individual's authorization date for the waiver services; 

9. Use only DMAS-designated forms for service 

documentation. The provider shall not alter the DMAS 

forms in any manner without prior written approval from 

DMAS; 

10. Use DMAS-designated billing forms for submission of 

charges; 

11. Perform no type of direct marketing activities to 

Medicaid individuals; 

12. Maintain and retain business and professional records 

sufficient to document fully and accurately the nature, scope, 

and details of the services provided. 

a. In general, such records shall be retained for a period of 

at least six years from the last date of service or as 

provided by applicable federal and state laws, whichever 

period is longer. However, if an audit is initiated within 

the required retention period, the records shall be retained 

until the audit is completed and every exception resolved. 

Records of minors shall be kept for a period of at least six 

years after such minor has reached 18 years of age. 

b. Policies regarding retention of records shall apply even 

if the provider discontinues operation. DMAS shall be 

notified in writing of the storage location and procedures 

for obtaining records for review should the need arise. The 

location, agent, or trustee shall be within the 

Commonwealth; 

13. Furnish information on the request of and in the form 

requested to DMAS, the Attorney General of Virginia or 

their authorized representatives, federal personnel, and the 

state Medicaid Fraud Control Unit. The Commonwealth's 

right of access to provider agencies and records shall survive 

any termination of the provider agreement; 

14. Disclose, as requested by DMAS, all financial, 

beneficial, ownership, equity, surety, or other interests in 

any and all firms, corporations, partnerships, associations, 

business enterprises, joint ventures, agencies, institutions, or 

other legal entities providing any form of health care 

services to recipients of Medicaid; 

15. Pursuant to 42 CFR 431.300 et seq., § 32.1-325.3 of the 

Code of Virginia, and the Health Insurance Portability and 

Accountability Act (HIPAA), safeguard and hold 

confidential all information associated with an applicant or 

enrollee or individual that could disclose the 

applicant's/enrollee's/individual's applicant's, enrollee's, or 

[ individiual's individual's ] identity. Access to information 

concerning the applicant/enrollee/individual applicant, 

enrollee, or individual shall be restricted to persons or 

agency representatives who are subject to the standards of 

confidentiality that are consistent with that of the agency and 

any such access must be in accordance with the provisions 

found in 12VAC30-20-90; 

16. When ownership of the provider changes, notify DMAS 

in writing at least 15 calendar days before the date of change; 

17. Pursuant to §§ 63.2-100, 63.2-1509, and 63.2-1606 of 

the Code of Virginia, if a participating provider or the 

provider's staff knows or suspects that a home and 

community-based waiver services individual is being 

abused, neglected, or exploited, the party having knowledge 

or suspicion of the abuse, neglect, or exploitation shall report 

this immediately from first knowledge or suspicion of such 

knowledge to the local department of social services adult or 

child protective services worker as applicable or to the toll-

free, 24-hour hotline as described on the local department of 

social services' website. Employers shall ensure and 

document that their staff is aware of this requirement; 

18. In addition to compliance with the general conditions 

and requirements, adhere to the conditions of participation 

outlined in the individual provider's participation 

agreements, in the applicable DMAS provider manual, and 

in other DMAS laws, regulations, and policies. DMAS shall 

conduct ongoing monitoring of compliance with provider 

participation standards and DMAS policies. A provider's 

noncompliance with DMAS policies and procedures may 

result in a retraction of Medicaid payment or termination of 

the provider agreement, or both; 

19. Meet minimum qualifications of staff. 

a. For reasons of Medicaid individuals' safety and welfare, 

all employees shall have a satisfactory work record, as 

evidenced by at least two references from prior job 

experience, including no evidence of abuse, neglect, or 

exploitation of incapacitated or older adults or children. In 

instances of employees who have worked for only one 

employer, such employees shall be permitted to provide 

one appropriate employment reference and one 

appropriate personal reference including no evidence of 

abuse, neglect, or exploitation of incapacitated or older 

adults or children. 

b. Criminal record checks for both employees and 

volunteers conducted by the Virginia State Police. Proof 

that these checks were performed with satisfactory results 

shall be available for review by DMAS staff or its 

designated agent who are authorized by the agency to 

review these files. DMAS shall not reimburse the provider 

for any services provided by an employee or volunteer 

who has been convicted of committing a barrier crime as 

defined in § 32.1-162.9:1 of the Code of Virginia. 

Providers shall be responsible for complying with § 32.1-

162.9:1 of the Code of Virginia regarding criminal record 

checks. Provider staff shall not be reimbursed for services 

provided to the waiver individual effective on the date and 

thereafter that the criminal record check confirms the 
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provider's staff person or volunteer was convicted of a 

barrier crime. 

c. Provider staff and volunteers who serve waiver 

individuals who are minor children shall also be screened 

through the VDSS Child Protective Services (CPS) 

Central Registry. Provider staff and volunteers shall not be 

reimbursed for services provided to the waiver individual 

effective on the date and thereafter that the VDSS CPS 

Central Registry check confirms the provider's staff 

person or volunteer has a finding. 

20. Comply with the electronic visit verification 

requirements set out in 12VAC30-60-65. 

B. DMAS shall terminate the provider's Medicaid provider 

agreement pursuant to § 32.1-325 of the Code of Virginia and 

as may be required for federal financial participation. A 

provider who has been convicted of a felony, or who has 

otherwise pled guilty to a felony, in Virginia or in any other of 

the 50 states, the District of Columbia, or the U.S. territories 

shall within 30 days of such conviction notify DMAS of this 

conviction and relinquish its provider agreement. Such 

provider agreement terminations, subject to applicable appeal 

rights, shall conform to § 32.1-325 D and E of the Code of 

Virginia and Part XII (12VAC30-20-500 et seq.) of 12VAC30-

20. 

C. For DMAS to approve provider agreements with home and 

community-based waiver providers, the following standards 

shall be met: 

1. Staffing, financial solvency, disclosure of ownership, and 

ensuring comparability of services requirements as specified 

in the applicable provider manual; 

2. The ability to document and maintain waiver individuals' 

case records in accordance with state and federal 

requirements; 

3. Compliance with all applicable laws, regulations, and 

policies pertaining to EDCD Waiver services. 

D. The waiver individual shall have the option of selecting 

the provider of his choice from among those providers who are 

approved and who can appropriately meet his needs. 

E. A participating provider may voluntarily terminate his 

participation in Medicaid by providing 30 days' written 

notification to DMAS. 

F. DMAS may terminate at will a provider's participation 

agreement on 30 days' written notice as specified in the DMAS 

participation agreement. DMAS may immediately terminate a 

provider's participation agreement if the provider is no longer 

eligible to participate in the Medicaid program. Such action 

precludes further payment by DMAS for services provided to 

individuals on or after the date specified in the termination 

notice. 

G. The provider shall be responsible for completing the 

DMAS-225 form. The provider shall notify the designated Srv 

Auth contractor, as appropriate, and the local department of 

social services, in writing, when any of the following events 

occur. Furthermore, it shall be the responsibility of the 

designated Srv Auth contractor to also update DMAS, as 

requested, when any of the following events occur: 

1. Home and community-based waiver services are 

implemented; 

2. A waiver individual dies; 

3. A waiver individual is discharged from the provider's 

EDCD Waiver services; 

4. Any other events (including hospitalization) that cause 

home and community-based waiver services to cease or be 

interrupted for more than 30 consecutive calendar days; or 

5. The initial selection by the waiver individual or 

family/caregiver family or caregiver of a provider to provide 

services, or a change by the waiver individual or 

family/caregiver family or caregiver of a provider, if it 

affects the individual's patient pay amount. 

H. Changes or termination of services. 

1. The provider may decrease the amount of authorized care 

if the revised POC is appropriate and based on the medical 

needs of the waiver individual. The participating provider 

shall collaborate with the waiver individual or the 

family/caregiver/EOR family, caregiver, or EOR, or both as 

appropriate, to develop the new POC and calculate the new 

hours of service delivery. The provider shall discuss the 

decrease in care with the waiver individual or 

family/caregiver/EOR family, caregiver, or EOR, document 

the conversation in the waiver individual's record, and notify 

the designated Srv Auth contractor. The Srv Auth contractor 

shall process the decrease request and the waiver individual 

shall be notified of the change by letter. This letter shall 

clearly state the waiver individual's right to appeal this 

change. 

2. If a change in the waiver individual's condition 

necessitates an increase in care, the participating provider 

shall assess the need for the increase and, collaborate with 

the waiver individual and family/caregiver/EOR family, 

caregiver, or EOR, as appropriate, to develop a POC for 

services to meet the changed needs. The provider may 

implement the increase in personal/respite personal care or 

respite care hours without approval from DMAS, or the 

designated Srv Auth contractor, if the amount of services 

does not exceed the total amount established by DMAS as 

the maximum for the level of care designated for that 

individual on the plan of care. 

3. Any increase to a waiver individual's POC that exceeds 

the number of hours allowed for that individual's level of 

care or any change in the waiver individual's level of care 
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shall be authorized by DMAS or the designated Srv Auth 

contractor prior to the increase and be accompanied by 

adequate documentation justifying the increase. 

4. In an emergency situation when either the health, safety, 

or welfare of the waiver individual or provider personnel is 

endangered, or both, DMAS, or the designated Srv Auth 

contractor, shall be notified prior to discontinuing services. 

The written notification period set out below shall not be 

required. If appropriate, local department of social services 

adult or child protective services, as may be appropriate, 

shall be notified immediately. Appeal rights shall be 

afforded to the waiver individual. 

5. In a nonemergency situation, when neither the health, 

safety, nor welfare of the waiver individual or provider 

personnel is endangered, the participating provider shall 

give the waiver individual at least 10 calendar days' written 

notification (plus three days for mail transit for a total of 13 

calendar days from the letter's date) of the intent to 

discontinue services. The notification letter shall provide the 

reasons for and the effective date the provider will be 

discontinuing services. Appeal rights shall be afforded to the 

waiver individual. 

I. Staff education and training requirements. 

1. RNs shall (i) be currently licensed to practice in the 

Commonwealth as an RN, or shall hold multi-state licensure 

privilege pursuant to Chapter 30 (§ 54.1-3000 et seq.) of 

Title 54.1 of the Code of Virginia; (ii) have at least one year 

of related clinical nursing experience, which may include 

work in an acute care hospital, public health clinic, home 

health agency, rehabilitation hospital, or NF, or as an LPN 

who worked for at least one year in one of these settings; and 

(iii) submit to a criminal records check and consent to a 

search of the VDSS Child Protective Services Central 

Registry if the waiver individual is a minor child. The RN 

shall not be compensated for services provided to the waiver 

individual if this record check verifies that the RN has been 

convicted of a barrier crime described in § 32.1-162.9:1 of 

the Code of Virginia or if the RN has a founded complaint 

confirmed by the VDSS Child Protective Services Central 

Registry. 

2. LPNs shall work under supervision as set out in 

18VAC90-20-37. LPNs shall (i) be currently licensed to 

practice in the Commonwealth as an LPN, or shall hold 

multi-state licensure privilege pursuant to Chapter 30 

(§ 54.1-3000 et seq.) of Title 54.1 of the Code of Virginia; 

(ii) shall have at least one year of related clinical nursing 

experience, which may include work in an acute care 

hospital, public health clinic, home health agency, 

rehabilitation hospital, or NF. The LPN shall meet the 

qualifications and skills, prior to being assigned to care for 

the waiver individual, that are required by the individual's 

POC; and (iii) submit to a criminal records check and 

consent to a search of the VDSS Child Protective Services 

Central Registry if the waiver individual is a minor child. 

The LPN shall not be compensated for services provided to 

the waiver individual if this record check verifies that the 

LPN has been convicted of a barrier crime described in § 

32.1-162.9:1 of the Code of Virginia or if the LPN has a 

founded complaint confirmed by the VDSS Child Protective 

Services Central Registry. 

3. Personal care aides who are employed by personal care 

agencies that are licensed by VDH shall meet the 

requirements of 12VAC5-381. In addition, personal care 

aides shall also receive annually a minimum of 12 

documented hours of agency-provided training in the 

performance of these services. 

4. Personal care aides who are employed by personal care 

agencies that are not licensed by the VDH shall have 

completed an educational curriculum of at least 40 hours of 

study related to the needs of individuals who are either 

elderly or who have disabilities, as ensured by the provider 

prior to being assigned to the care of an individual, and shall 

have the required skills and training to perform the services 

as specified in the waiver individual's POC and related 

supporting documentation. 

a. Personal care aides' required initial (that is, at the onset 

of employment) training, as further detailed in the 

applicable provider manual, shall be met in one of the 

following ways: (i) registration with the Board of Nursing 

as a certified nurse aide; (ii) graduation from an approved 

educational curriculum as listed by the Board of Nursing; 

or (iii) completion of the provider's educational 

curriculum, which must be a minimum of 40 hours in 

duration, as taught by an RN who meets the same 

requirements as the RN listed in subdivision 1 of this 

subsection. 

b. In addition, personal care aides shall also be required to 

receive annually a minimum of 12 documented hours of 

agency-provided training in the performance of these 

services. 

5. Personal care aides shall: 

a. Be at least 18 years of age or older; 

b. Be able to read and write English to the degree 

necessary to perform the expected tasks and create and 

maintain the required documentation; 

c. Be physically able to perform the required tasks and 

have the required skills to perform services as specified in 

the waiver individual's supporting documentation; 

d. Have a valid social security number that has been issued 

to the personal care aide by the Social Security 

Administration; 

e. Submit to a criminal records check and, if the waiver 

individual is a minor, consent to a search of the VDSS 

Child Protective Services Central Registry. The aide shall 

not be compensated for services provided to the waiver 
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individual effective the date in which the record check 

verifies that the aide has been convicted of barrier crimes 

described in § 32.1-162.9:1 of the Code of Virginia or if 

the aide has a founded complaint confirmed by the VDSS 

Child Protective Services Central Registry; 

f. Understand and agree to comply with the DMAS EDCD 

Waiver requirements; and 

g. Receive tuberculosis (TB) screening as specified in the 

criteria used by the VDH. 

6. Consumer-directed personal care attendants shall: 

a. Be 18 years of age or older; 

b. Be able to read and write in English to the degree 

necessary to perform the tasks expected and create and 

maintain the required documentation; 

c. Be physically able to perform the required tasks and 

have the required skills to perform consumer-directed 

services as specified in the waiver individual's supporting 

documentation; 

d. Have a valid social security number that has been issued 

to the personal care attendant by the Social Security 

Administration; 

e. Submit to a criminal records check and, if the waiver 

individual is a minor, consent to a search of the VDSS 

Child Protective Services Central Registry. The attendant 

shall not be compensated for services provided to the 

waiver individual effective the date in which the record 

check verifies that the attendant has been convicted of 

barrier crimes described in § 32.1-162.9:1 of the Code of 

Virginia or if the attendant has a founded complaint 

confirmed by the VDSS Child Protective Services Central 

Registry; 

f. Understand and agree to comply with the DMAS EDCD 

Waiver requirements; 

g. Receive tuberculosis (TB) screening as specified in the 

criteria used by the VDH; and 

h. Be willing to attend training at the individual's or 

family/caregiver's family or caregiver's request. 

12VAC30-122-125. Electronic visit verification.  

A. Except as specified in subsection B of this section, the 

requirements of 12VAC30-60-65 shall apply for personal care 

services, respite care services, and companion services. 

B. EVV requirements shall not apply to respite care services 

provided by a DBHDS-licensed provider in a DBHDS-

licensed program site, such as a group home or sponsored 

residential home or a supervised living, supported living, or 

similar facility or location licensed to provide respite care 

services as permitted by the Centers for Medicare and 

Medicaid Services.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R19-5467; Filed June 22, 2021, 3:13 p.m. 

Fast-Track Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 12VAC30-135. Demonstration Waiver 

Services (repealing 12VAC30-135-400 through 12VAC30-

135-498). 

Statutory Authority: § 32.1-325 of the Code of Virginia; 

42 USC § 1396 et seq. 

Public Hearing Information: No public hearing is currently 

scheduled. 

Public Comment Deadline: August 18, 2021. 

Effective Date: September 2, 2021. 

Agency Contact: Emily McClellan, Regulatory Supervisor, 

Policy Division, Department of Medical Assistance Services, 

600 East Broad Street, Suite 1300, Richmond, VA 23219, 

telephone (804) 371-4300, FAX (804) 786-1680, or email 

emily.mcclellan@dmas.virginia.gov. 

Basis: Section 32.1 325 of the Code of Virginia grants to the 

Board of Medical Assistance Services the authority to 

administer and amend the Plan for Medical Assistance and to 

promulgate regulations. Section 32.1-324 of the Code of 

Virginia authorizes the Director of the Department of Medical 

Assistance Services (DMAS) to administer and amend the Plan 

for Medical Assistance and to promulgate regulations 

according to the board's requirements. 

Purpose: The Governor's Access Plan (GAP) was a Medicaid 

program implemented in 2015 to provide low-income 

individuals with a serious mental illness access to medical and 

behavioral health care. On June 7, 2018, Governor Northam 

signed the 2018 Virginia Appropriations Act authorizing 

DMAS to amend Virginia's Medicaid State Plan to expand 

coverage to newly eligible adults ages 19 to 64 with income up 

to 138% of the federal poverty level who were not eligible for 

Medicare. This expansion was effective on January 1, 2019. 

The majority of individuals enrolled in the GAP program were 

eligible under the Medicaid Expansion benefit, thus the 

Commonwealth no longer requires GAP and has transitioned 

GAP members to full Medicaid coverage effective March 31, 

2019. The few individuals who did not meet Medicaid 

Expansion eligibility due to immigration or citizenship status 

and federal requirements were transitioned to the community 

services boards for continuing care. This regulatory change 

protects the health, safety, and welfare of Medicaid recipients 

by ensuring that DMAS regulations and DMAS practices are 

aligned. 

Rationale for Using Fast-Track Rulemaking Process: This 

action is expected to be noncontroversial because the 

Commonwealth no longer requires GAP for members and has 

transitioned former GAP members to full Medicaid coverage 

effective March 31, 2019. 

Substance: This action repeals the GAP program. 

Issue: The changes ensure that DMAS remains in compliance 

with federal regulations to continue to obtain federal financial 

participation; there are no disadvantages in this regulatory 

change. 
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Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 

Analysis: 

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. The 

Director of the Department of Medical Assistance Services 

(DMAS) proposes to repeal this regulation.  

Background. The Governor's Access Plan (GAP) was a 

Medicaid program implemented in 2015 to provide low-

income individuals with a serious mental illness access to 

medical and behavioral health care. On June 7, 2018, Governor 

Northam signed the 2018 Appropriation Act authorizing 

DMAS to amend Virginia's Medicaid State Plan to expand 

coverage to newly eligible adults ages 19 to 64 with income up 

to 138 percent of the Federal Poverty Level1 who were not 

eligible for Medicare. This expansion was effective on January 

1, 2019. The majority of individuals enrolled in the GAP 

program were eligible under the Medicaid Expansion benefit; 

thus the Commonwealth no longer requires GAP and has 

transitioned GAP members to full Medicaid coverage effective 

March 31, 2019. The few individuals who did not meet 

Medicaid Expansion eligibility due to immigration/citizenship 

status and federal requirements were transitioned to the 

community services boards for continuing care.  

The 12VAC30-135 Demonstration Waiver Services regulation 

formerly consisted of three parts. The first two parts have 

already been repealed. DMAS proposes to repeal the remainder 

of the regulation, which addresses the third part on GAP. 

Estimated Benefits and Costs. Since the text proposed for 

repeal is on a program that no longer exists, the proposal would 

have no impact beyond eliminating potential confusion among 

readers of the Virginia Administrative Code. 

Businesses and Other Entities Affected. The proposal 

potentially readers of the Virginia Administrative Code. The 

proposal does not produce any cost. 

Small Businesses2 Affected:  

The proposal does not adversely affect small businesses. . 

Localities3 Affected.4 The proposal does not disproportionally 

affect any particular locality. The proposal does not introduce 

costs for local governments.  

Projected Impact on Employment. The proposal does not affect 

employment.  

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. The proposal 

does not substantively affect the use and value of private 

property. The proposal does not affect real estate development 

costs.  

______________________ 
1See the following for specifics on the Federal Poverty Level: 

https://www.healthcare.gov/glossary/federal-poverty-level-fpl/ 

2Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.04 of the Code of Virginia, small business is defined 
as "a business entity, including its affiliates, that (i) is independently owned 

and operated and (ii) employs fewer than 500 full-time employees or has gross 

annual sales of less than $6 million." 
3 "Locality" can refer to either local governments or the locations in the 

Commonwealth where the activities relevant to the regulatory change are most 

likely to occur. 

4§ 2.2-4007.04 defines "particularly affected" as bearing disproportionate 

material impact. 

Agency's Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The agency 

has reviewed the economic impact analysis prepared by the 

Department of Planning and Budget. The agency raises no 

issues with this analysis.  

Summary: 

The amendments repeal the Governor's Access Plan as the 

program is no longer necessary.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R21-6582; Filed June 22, 2021, 9:13 a.m. 

  ––––––––––––––––––  

TITLE 18. PROFESSIONAL AND 
OCCUPATIONAL LICENSING 

BOARD FOR ARCHITECTS, PROFESSIONAL 
ENGINEERS, LAND SURVEYORS, CERTIFIED 

INTERIOR DESIGNERS AND LANDSCAPE 
ARCHITECTS 

Final Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC10-20. Board for Architects, 

Professional Engineers, Land Surveyors, Certified Interior 

Designers and Landscape Architects Regulations 

(amending 18VAC10-20-10, 18VAC10-20-20, 18VAC10-

20-25, 18VAC10-20-35, 18VAC10-20-50 through 

18VAC10-20-75, 18VAC10-20-110 through 18VAC10-20-

160, 18VAC10-20-200 through 18VAC10-20-270, 

18VAC10-20-295 through 18VAC10-20-382, 18VAC10-20-

392, 18VAC10-20-420 through 18VAC10-20-460, 

18VAC10-20-490, 18VAC10-20-495, 18VAC10-20-505, 

18VAC10-20-627 through 18VAC10-20-683, 18VAC10-20-

740, 18VAC10-20-760, 18VAC10-20-790, 18VAC10-20-

795, adding 18VAC10-20-345; repealing 18VAC10-20-190, 

18VAC10-20-215, 18VAC10-20-510 through 18VAC10-20-

620, 18VAC10-20-750). 

Statutory Authority: §§ 54.1-201 and 54.1-404 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

Effective Date: September 2, 2021. 

Agency Contact: Kathleen R. Nosbisch, Executive Director, 

Board for Architects, Professional Engineers, Land Surveyors, 

Certified Interior Designers, and Landscape Architects, 9960 

Mayland Drive, Suite 400, Richmond, VA 23233, telephone 

(804) 367-8514, FAX (866) 465-6206, or email 

apelscidla@dpor.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendments include (i) adding a reference component 

to align landscape architects and land surveyor application 

requirements with other board regulants, (ii) allowing 

engineers-in-training and surveyors-in-training to take the 

fundamentals exam prior to submitting an application, (iii) 

https://www.healthcare.gov/glossary/federal-poverty-level-fpl/
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considering 30 hours per week full-time employment for 

determining length of experience, (iv) providing additional 

options to applicants who have been living and practicing in 

the United States to demonstrate their competency in 

English, and (v) streamlining the registration process by 

having one category for all types of business entities with a 

single fee schedule. The amendments also simplify 

explanations of requirements, streamline processes, and 

clarify the regulation.  

18VAC10-20-10. Definitions. 

Section 54.1-400 of the Code of Virginia provides definitions 

of the following terms and phrases as used in this chapter: 

Architect 

Board 

Certified interior designer 

Interior design. When used in this chapter, interior design 

shall only be applicable to interior design performed by a 

certified interior designer. 

Land surveyor. When used in this chapter, land surveyor 

shall include surveyor photogrammetrist unless stated 

otherwise or the context requires a different meaning. 

Landscape architect 

Practice of architecture 

Practice of engineering 

Practice of land surveying 

Practice of landscape architecture 

Professional engineer 

The following words, terms, and phrases when used in this 

chapter shall have the meanings ascribed to them except where 

the context clearly indicates or requires different meanings: 

"Application" means a completed application with the 

appropriate fee and any other required documentation 

including, but not limited to, references, experience 

verification, degree verification, and verification of 

examination and licensure or certification. 

"Certified" means an individual holding a valid certification 

issued by the board and in good standing.  

"Comity" means the recognition of licenses or certificates 

issued by other states or other jurisdictions of the United States 

as permitted by § 54.1-103 C of the Code of Virginia. 

"Department" means the Department of Professional and 

Occupational Regulation. 

"Direct control and personal supervision" means supervision 

by a professional who oversees and is responsible for the work 

of another individual. 

"Good moral character" may be established if the applicant or 

regulant: 

1. Has not been convicted of a felony or misdemeanor in the 

last 10 years or has ever been convicted of a felony that 

would render the applicant unfit or unsuited to engage in the 

occupation or profession applied for in accordance with § 

54.1-204 of the Code of Virginia; 

2. Has not committed any act involving dishonesty, fraud, 

misrepresentation, breach of fiduciary duty, negligence, or 

incompetence reasonably related to: 

a. The proposed area of practice within 10 years prior to 

application for licensure, certification, or registration; or 

b. The area of practice related to licensure, certification, or 

registration by the board while under the authority of the 

board.; 

3. Has not engaged in fraud or misrepresentation in 

connection with the application for licensure, certification, 

or registration, or related examination exam; 

4. Has not had a license, certification, or registration revoked 

or suspended for cause or been disciplined by this the 

Commonwealth or by any other jurisdiction, or surrendered 

or has surrendered a license, certificate, or registration in lieu 

of disciplinary action; or 

5. Has not practiced without the required license, 

registration, or certification in this the Commonwealth or in 

another jurisdiction within the five years immediately 

preceding the filing of the application for licensure, 

certification, or registration by this the Commonwealth. 

"Good standing" means that the regulant holds a current or 

active license, certificate, or registration issued by a any 

regulatory body that is not revoked, suspended, or surrendered 

subject to a current sanction. The regulant shall be in good 

standing in every jurisdiction where licensed, certified, or 

registered. 

"Licensed" means an individual who holds a valid license 

issued by the board. 

"Place of business" means any location that, through 

professionals, offers or provides the services of architecture, 

engineering, land surveying, landscape architecture, certified 

interior design, or any combination thereof. A temporary field 

office established and utilized for the duration of a specific 

project shall not qualify as a place of business under this 

chapter. 

"Profession" means the practice of architecture, engineering, 

land surveying, landscape architecture, or certified interior 

design. 

"Professional" means an architect, professional engineer, land 

surveyor, landscape architect, or certified interior designer 

who holds a valid license or certificate issued by the board 

pursuant to the provisions of this chapter and is in good 
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standing with the board to practice his profession in this the 

Commonwealth. 

"Registrant" means a business holding a valid registration 

issued by the board, and in good standing, to offer or provide 

one or more of the professions regulated by the board. 

"Regulant" means an architect, professional engineer, land 

surveyor, or landscape architect holding a valid license issued 

by the board an and is in good standing; a certified interior 

designer holding a valid certification issued by the board and 

is in good standing; or a registrant. 

"Resident" means physically present at the place of business 

a majority of its operating hours. 

"Responsible person" means the professional named by the 

registrant to be responsible and have control of the registrant's 

regulated services offered, rendered, or both. A professional 

can only be the responsible person for the professions 

profession indicated on his license licenses or certification 

certifications. 

"Surveyor photogrammetrist" means a person who by reason 

of specialized knowledge in the area of photogrammetry has 

been granted a license by the board to survey land in 

accordance with Chapter 4 (§ 54.1-400 et seq.) of Title 54.1 of 

the Code of Virginia for the determination of topography, 

contours, or location of planimetric features using 

photogrammetric methods or similar remote sensing 

technology. 

18VAC10-20-20. General application requirements. 

A. Applicants must be of good moral character. 

B. Applications shall be completed in accordance with 

instructions contained in this section chapter and on the 

application. 

C. Applications for licensure requiring an exam shall be 

received in the board's office by the application deadline 

established in Part III (18VAC10-20-90 et seq.) of this chapter 

for each profession's exam. The date the fully documented 

application is received in the board's office shall determine if 

the application has been received on time. Applications, 

accompanying materials, and references become the property 

of the board upon receipt by the board. 

D. Applicants shall meet all entry requirements at the time 

application is made. 

E. Applicants shall provide the board with all required 

documentation and fees to complete the application for 

licensure or certification no later than three years from the date 

of the board's receipt of the initial application fee. Applications 

that remain incomplete after that time will no longer be 

processed by the board and the applicant shall submit a new 

application. 

F. The board may make further inquiries and investigations 

with respect to an applicant's qualifications and documentation 

to confirm or amplify information supplied. 

G. Failure of an applicant to comply with a written request 

from the board for additional evidence or information within 

60 days of receiving such notice, except in such instances 

where the board has determined ineligibility for a clearly 

specified period of time, may be sufficient and just cause for 

disapproving the application. 

H. Applicants who do not meet the requirements of 

18VAC10-20-20 or 18VAC10-20-40 may be approved 

following consideration by the board in accordance with the 

provisions of the Virginia Administrative Process Act (§ 2.2-

4000 et seq. of the Code of Virginia) 

18VAC10-20-25. References. 

In addition to the requirements found in 18VAC10-20-130, 

18VAC10-20-220, 18VAC10-20-345, and 18VAC10-20-425, 

as applicable, references that are submitted as part of an 

application must comply with the following: 

1. Written references shall be on the board-approved form 

and shall be no more than one year old at the time the 

application is received in the board's office; and 

2. The individual providing the this reference must have 

known the applicant within the last five years from the date 

of this application and for at least one year;. 

3. The individual providing the reference must have known 

the applicant within the last five years from the date of 

application to the board; and 

4. Individuals who provide references shall not also verify 

experience. 

18VAC10-20-35. Experience. 

All experience or training requirements contained in this 

chapter shall be on the board-approved form and will be 

evaluated based on the rate of an applicant working a minimum 

of 35 hours per week applicant working a minimum of 30 hours 

per week. Any experience gained at a rate of less than 35 less 

than 30 hours per week may be prorated at the sole discretion 

of the board. 

18VAC10-20-50. Transfer of scores to other boards. 

The board, at its discretion and upon proper application, may 

forward the grades scores achieved by an applicant in the 

various exams given under the board's jurisdiction to any other 

duly constituted registration board for use in evaluating the 

applicant's eligibility for registration within another board's 

jurisdiction or evaluation of the applicant's national 

certification. An applicant requesting that his score be 

transferred to another registration board shall state his reason 

for the request in writing. 
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18VAC10-20-55. Language and comprehension. 

Applicants for licensure or certification shall be able to speak 

and write English to the satisfaction of the board. Applicants 

whose primary language has not always been English, or who 

have not graduated from a college or university in which 

English is the language of instruction, shall submit to the board 

a Test of English as a Foreign Language Internet-based Test 

(TOEFL iBT) score report. Score reports shall not be over two 

years old at the time of application and must reflect a score 

acceptable to the board. In lieu of the TOEFL, other evidence 

such as significant academic or work experience in English 

may be acceptable as determined by the board. 

18VAC10-20-70. Modifications to examination 

administration. 

The board and the department support and comply with the 

provisions of the Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA), 

42 USC § 12101 et seq. Contracts between the board, 

department, and vendors for examinations exams contain 

provisions for compliance with the ADA. Requests for 

accommodations must be in writing and received in the board's 

office within a reasonable time before the examination exam. 

The board may require a report from a medical professional 

along with supporting data confirming the nature and extent of 

the disability. The applicant is responsible for providing the 

required information in a timely manner including the costs for 

providing the information. The board or its agents designee 

will determine, consistent with applicable law, any 

accommodations to be made. 

18VAC10-20-75. Conduct at examination. 

Applicants approved for an exam will be given specific 

instructions as to the conduct of each division of the exam at 

the exam site. Applicants are required to follow these 

instructions to assure ensure fair and equal treatment to all 

applicants during the course of the exam. Evidence of 

misconduct Misconduct may result in removal from the exam 

site, voided exam scores, or both and restriction from future 

exam access. 

18VAC10-20-110. Education. 

A. Applicants for original licensure shall hold a professional 

degree in architecture from a program accredited by the 

National Architectural Accrediting Board (NAAB) [ or be 

actively participating in an integrated path accepted by the 

National Council of Architectural Registration Boards 

(NCARB) to architectural licensure option within a NAAB 

accredited professional degree program in architecture ]. The 

degree program must have been accredited by NAAB no later 

than two years after the date of the applicant's graduation from 

the program. 

B. Applicants seeking credit for a degree or coursework that 

is not NAAB-accredited, whether foreign or domestic, shall 

establish an [ NCARB National Council of Architectural 

Registration Boards ] record and have that degree or 

coursework evaluated for equivalency to a NAAB-accredited 

professional degree in architecture through NAAB's evaluation 

service. The board reserves the right to reject, for good cause, 

any evaluation submitted. Any cost of translation and any 

evaluation submitted. Any costs attributable to evaluation shall 

be borne by the applicant. 

18VAC10-20-120. Experience. 

A. Applicants for original licensure shall successfully 

complete the National Council of Architectural Registration 

Boards (NCARB) Intern Development Program (IDP) IDP 

training requirements shall be in accordance with NCARB's 

Intern Development Program Guidelines, December 2013 

Edition. administered architectural experience program [ , 

which satisfies the experience requirement outlined in 

18VAC10-20-35 ]. 

B. Applicants must have a minimum of 36 months 

experience/training in architecture. Any experience/training of 

less than eight consecutive weeks will not be considered in 

satisfying this requirement. 

C. Of the 36 months of required experience/training in 

architecture, at least 12 months shall have been obtained as an 

employee in the office of a licensed architect. An organization 

will be considered to be an office of a licensed architect if: 

1. The architectural practice of the organization in which the 

applicant works is under the charge of a person practicing as 

a principal, where a principal is a licensed architect in charge 

of an organization's architectural practice either alone or 

with other licensed architects, and the applicant works under 

the direct supervision of a licensed architect; and 

2. The practice of the organization encompasses the 

comprehensive practice of architecture including the 

categories set forth in the NCARB IDP requirements. 

D. C. Applicants with a [ NAAB-accredited National 

Architectural Accrediting Board-accredited ] degree or who 

are actively participating in or who have completed the 

NCARB-accepted integrated path to architectural licensure 

option are required to document their experience or training in 

architecture before licensure. 

18VAC10-20-130. References. 

Applicants shall submit three references with the application, 

all of which shall be from currently licensed architects in a state 

or other jurisdiction of the United States or a province of 

Canada, country in which a mutual recognition agreement has 

been executed between itself and [ NCARB National Council 

of Architectural Registration Boards ] and accepted by the 

board. In addition to the requirements found in 18VAC10-20-

25, the applicant shall only submit references from licensed 

architects who have personal knowledge of the applicant's 

architectural experience that demonstrates the applicant's 

competence and integrity. 
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18VAC10-20-140. Examination. 

A. The board is a member board of [ NCARB National 

Council of Architectural Registration Boards (NCARB) ] and 

is authorized to make available the NCARB-prepared exam. 

Applicants for original licensure are required to pass this exam. 

B. Applications for original licensure shall be approved by 

the board before applicants will be allowed to sit for the exam. 

Applicants who have satisfied the requirements of 18VAC10-

20-110 and 18VAC10-20-130 and who are currently enrolled 

in the NCARB IDP or have completed the NCARB-

administered architectural experience program [ or are actively 

participating in an integrated path accepted by NCARB to 

architectural licensure option with a National Architectural 

Accrediting Board-accredited professional degree program in 

architecture option ] shall be admitted to the exam. 

C. Applicants approved by the board to sit for the exam shall 

register and submit the required exam fee and follow NCARB 

procedures when taking the exam. Applicants not properly 

registered will not be allowed to sit for the exam. 

D. Applicants approved to sit for the exam shall be eligible 

for a period of three years from the date of their initial 

approval. Applicants who do not pass all sections of the exam 

during their eligibility period are no longer eligible to sit for 

the exam. To become exam-eligible again, applicants shall 

reapply to the board as follows: 

1. Applicants who have taken at least one section of the exam 

and who reapply to the board no later than six months after 

the end of their eligibility may be approved to sit for the 

exam for an additional three years. The original application 

requirements shall apply. 

2. Applicants who do not meet the criteria of subdivision 1 

of this subsection shall reapply to the board and meet all 

entry requirements current at the time of reapplication. 

E. Applicants will be notified by the board of whether they 

passed or failed the exam. The exam may shall not be reviewed 

by applicants. Unless authorized by NCARB rules and 

procedures, exam Exam scores are final and not subject to 

change. 

F. Grading Scoring of the exam shall be in accordance with 

the national grading procedure administered by NCARB. The 

board shall utilize the scoring procedures recommended by 

NCARB. Grades for each division of the exam passed on or 

after January 1, 2006, shall be valid in accordance with the 

procedure established by NCARB. 

G. The board may approve transfer credits for parts of the 

exam taken and passed in accordance with national standards. 

H. Applicants who have been approved for and subsequently 

pass the exam and who have satisfied 18VAC10-20-110, 

18VAC10-20-120, and 18VAC10-20-130 shall be issued an 

architect license. 

18VAC10-20-150. Licensure by comity. 

A. Applicants who hold a valid active license in another state 

or other jurisdiction of the United States, a province of Canada, 

or another foreign country or a country in which a mutual 

recognition agreement has been executed between itself and 

[ NCARB National Council of Architectural Registration 

Boards (NCARB) ] and accepted by the board may be granted 

a license provided that they meet the requirements of 

18VAC10-20-25 and: 

1. They possess an NCARB certificate; or 

2. They met the requirements for licensure that were 

substantially equivalent to those in effect in Virginia that 

were in effect at the time they were originally licensed. 

B. Applicants who do not satisfy the requirements of 

subsection A of this section shall meet the entry requirements 

for initial licensure pursuant to this chapter. 

18VAC10-20-160. Definitions. 

The following words, terms, and phrases when used in this 

part shall have the meanings ascribed to them except where the 

context clearly indicates or requires different meanings: 

"ABET" means the Accreditation Board for Engineering and 

Technology. 

"Approved engineering curriculum" program" means an 

undergraduate engineering curriculum program of four years 

or more, or a graduate engineering curriculum, program 

approved by the board. ABET-approved engineering EAC 

curricula EAC programs are approved by the board. Curricula 

Programs that are accredited by ABET not later than two years 

after an applicant's graduation shall be deemed as ABET-

approved. 

"Approved engineering technology curriculum" program" 

means an undergraduate engineering technology curriculum 

program of four years or more approved by the board. ABET-

approved engineering technology TAC curricula ETAC 

programs of four years or more are approved by the board. 

Curricula Programs that are accredited by ABET not later than 

two years after an applicant's graduation shall be deemed as 

ABET-approved. 

"EAC" means Engineering Accreditation Commission. 

"Engineer-in-training" or "EIT" means an applicant who has 

completed any one of several combinations of education, or 

education and experience, and has passed the Fundamentals of 

Engineering exam. 

"ETAC" means Engineering Technology Accreditation 

Commission. 

"Related science curriculum" includes, but is not limited to, 

program" means a four-year curriculum program in biology, 

chemistry, geology, geophysics, mathematics, physics, or 

other curriculum approved by the board. Curriculums 



Regulations 

Volume 37, Issue 24  Virginia Register of Regulations  July 19, 2021  

3698 

programs approved by the board. Programs must have a 

minimum of six semester hours of mathematics courses 

beyond algebra and trigonometry and a minimum of six 

semester hours of science courses in calculus-based physics in 

order to be considered a related science curriculum program. 

"Qualifying engineering experience" means a record of 

progressive experience on engineering work during which the 

applicant has made a practical utilization of acquired 

knowledge and has demonstrated progressive improvement, 

growth, and development through the utilization of that 

knowledge as revealed in the complexity and technical detail 

of the applicant's work product or work record. The applicant 

must show progressive assumption of greater individual 

responsibility for the work product over the relevant period. 

The progressive experience on engineering work shall be of a 

grade and character type and quality that indicates to the board 

that the applicant is minimally competent to practice 

engineering. Qualifying engineering experience shall be 

progressive in complexity and based on a knowledge of 

engineering mathematics, physical and applied sciences, 

properties of materials, and fundamental principles of 

engineering design. 

"TAC"means" Technology Accreditation Commission. 

18VAC10-20-190. Requirements for the Fundamentals of 

Engineering (FE) exam. (Repealed.) 

In order to be approved to sit for the Fundamentals of 

Engineering (FE) exam, applicants must satisfy one of the 

subsections (A through E) of this section. Applicants shall: 

EDUCATIONAL 

REQUIREMENTS 

NUMBER OF 

REQUIRED 

YEARS OF 

QUALIFYING 

ENGINEERING 

EXPERIENCE 

A. Student applicants. 0 

1. Be enrolled in an ABET-

accredited undergraduate 

EAC or TAC curriculum, 

have 12 months or less 

remaining before completion 

of the degree, and provide a 

certificate of good standing 

from the dean of the 

engineering school or his 

designee; 

2. Be enrolled in an ABET-

accredited graduate or 

doctorate EAC or TAC 

curriculum, have six months 

or less remaining before 

completion of the degree, and 

provide a certificate of good 

0 

standing from the dean of the 

engineering school or his 

designee; or 

3. Be enrolled in a graduate 

curriculum that is ABET-

accredited TAC or EAC at the 

undergraduate level at the 

institution at which the 

graduate degree is being 

sought, have six months or 

less remaining before 

completion of the degree, and 

provide a certificate of good 

standing from the dean of the 

engineering school or his 

designee. 

B. Have graduated from an 

approved engineering or an 

approved engineering technology 

curriculum. 

0 

C. Dual degree holders. 0 

1. Have graduated from a non-

ABET-accredited 

undergraduate engineering 

curriculum of four years or 

more; and 

2. Have graduated from a 

graduate or doctorate 

engineering curriculum that is 

ABET accredited at the 

undergraduate level. 

 

0 

D. Have graduated from a 

nonapproved engineering 

curriculum or from a related 

science curriculum of four years 

or more. 

2 

E. Have obtained, by documented 

academic coursework, the 

equivalent of education that meets 

the requirements of ABET 

accreditation for the baccalaureate 

engineering technology curricula. 

Whether an education is 

considered to be equivalent shall 

be determined by the judgment of 

the board. 

6 
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18VAC10-20-200. Requirements for engineer-in-training 

(EIT) designation. 

Upon passing the FE exam, an applicant who qualified for the 

exam under 18VAC10-20-190 A will receive the EIT 

designation only after he provides verification of his degree to 

the board. All other applicants will receive the EIT designation 

upon passing the FE exam. The EIT designation will remain 

valid indefinitely.  

In order to receive the EIT designation, applicants shall: 

1. Graduate from an engineering program of four years or 

more accredited by the Engineering Accreditation 

Commission of ABET (EAC/ABET), graduate from an 

engineering master's program accredited by EAC/ABET, or 

meet the requirements of the NCEES Engineering Education 

Standard; 

2. Pass the NCEES Fundamentals of Engineering (FE) 

exam; and 

3. Apply to the board. 

18VAC10-20-210. Requirements for the Principles and 

Practice of Engineering (PE) exam licensure as a 

professional engineer. 

A. In order to be approved to sit for the Principles and Practice 

of Engineering (PE) exam, applicants shall satisfy one of the 

subsections (A through F) within this section. Applicants shall 

licensed as a professional engineer, applicants shall: 

1. Satisfy one requirement of subdivisions B 1 through B 4 

of this section;  

2. Pass the Principles and Practice of Engineering (PE) 

exam; 

3. Meet all the requirements of this chapter; and 

4. Apply to and be approved by the board. 

B. In general, the required education shall be applied as 

follows: 

EDUCATIONAL 

REQUIREMENTS 

Educational 

Requirements 

EIT 

REQUIRED? 

EIT Required? 

NUMBER OF 

REQUIRED 

YEARS OF 

QUALIFYING 

ENGINEERING 

EXPERIENCE 

Number of 

Required Years 

of Qualifying 

Engineering 

Experience 

A. 1. Have graduated 

from an approved 

engineering curriculum 

program. 

YES 4 

B. 2. Dual degree 

holders. 

1. a. Have graduated 

from an ABET-

accredited 

undergraduate 

engineering curriculum 

program; and 

2. b. Have graduated 

from a doctorate 

engineering curriculum 

program that is ABET 

accredited at the 

undergraduate level. 

NO 4 

C. 3. Have graduated 

from a nonapproved 

engineering curriculum 

program of four years or 

more, a related science 

curriculum program, or 

an approved engineering 

technology curriculum 

program. 

YES 6 

D. 4. Have graduated 

from a nonapproved 

engineering technology 

curriculum program of 

four years or more. 

YES 10 

E. Have obtained, by 

documented academic 

coursework, the 

equivalent of education 

that meets that 

requirements of ABET 

accreditation for the 

baccalaureate 

engineering technology 

curricula. Whether an 

education is considered 

to be equivalent shall be 

determined by the 

judgment of the board. 

YES 10 

F. Have graduated from 

an engineering, 

engineering technology, 

or related science 

curriculum of four years 

or more. 

NO 20 

18VAC10-20-215. Requirements for the PE license. 

(Repealed.) 

An applicant who has satisfied the requirements of this 

chapter will receive the professional engineer license upon 

successful completion of the PE exam. 
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18VAC10-20-220. References. 

In addition to the requirements found in 18VAC10-20-25, 

applicants shall satisfy one of the following: 

1. An applicant for the Fundamentals of Engineering exam 

engineer-in-training designation shall provide one reference 

that indicates his the applicant's personal integrity from one 

of the following: 

a. A professional engineer; 

b. The dean, or his the dean's designee, of the engineering 

school attended by the applicant; or 

c. An immediate work supervisor. 

2. An applicant for the Principles and Practice of 

Engineering exam licensure as a professional engineer shall 

submit three references from professional engineers 

currently licensed in a state or other jurisdiction of the 

United States. The applicant shall only submit references 

given by professional engineers who have personal 

knowledge of the applicant's competence and integrity 

relative to his engineering experience. 

3. An applicant for licensure by comity shall submit three 

references from professional engineers currently licensed in 

a state or other jurisdiction of the United States. The 

applicant shall only submit references given by professional 

engineers who have personal knowledge of the applicant's 

competence and integrity relative to his engineering 

experience. 

18VAC10-20-230. Education. 

A. An applicant who is seeking credit for a degree that is not 

ABET accredited TAC as ETAC or EAC and was earned from 

an institution outside the United States, shall have the degree 

authenticated and evaluated by an educational credential 

evaluation service. If the evaluation is rigorous and meets 

appropriate ABET accreditation standards, the The board may 

consider the degree as an approved engineering curriculum or 

approved engineering technology curriculum program or 

approved engineering technology program. The board reserves 

the right to reject, for good cause, any evaluation submitted by 

the applicant. 

B. Degrees earned within the United States for any 

nonapproved engineering curriculum, related science 

curriculum, or nonapproved engineering technology 

curriculum program, related science program, or nonapproved 

engineering technology program of four years or more shall be 

from an accredited college or university that is approved or 

accredited by the Commission on Colleges, a regional or 

national accreditation association, or by an accrediting agency 

that is recognized by the U.S. Secretary of Education. 

18VAC10-20-240. Experience. 

A. Each applicant shall complete the board's Professional 

Engineer and Engineer-in-Training Experience Verification 

Form, documenting all of his engineering experience. The 

information provided on the form shall clearly describe the 

engineering work or research that he the applicant personally 

performed; delineate his role in any group engineering activity; 

provide an overall description of the nature and scope of his 

work; and include a detailed description of the engineering 

work personally performed by him. The experience must be 

obtained in an organization with an engineering practice and 

must be verified on the board's experience verification form by 

a licensed professional engineer in the organization's 

engineering practice. 

B. In general, the required experience shall be applied as 

follows: 

Type of 

Experience 
Qualifying Nonqualifying 

1. Design 

experience. 

A demonstrated 

use of engineering 

computation and 

problem-solving 

skills. 

Drafting of design 

by others. 

1. 2. 

Construction 

experience. 

A demonstrated 

use of engineering 

computation and 

problem-solving 

skills. 

The mere execution 

as a contractor of 

work designed by 

others, the 

supervision of 

construction, and 

similar 

nonengineering 

tasks. 

2. 3. Military 

experience. 

Engineering of a 

character 

substantially 

equivalent to that 

required in the 

civilian sector for 

similar work. 

Nonengineering 

military training 

and supervision. 

3. 4. Sales 

experience. 

A demonstrated 

use of engineering 

computational and 

problem-solving 

skills. 

The mere selection 

of data or 

equipment from a 

company 

catalogue, similar 

publication, or 

database. 

4. 5. Industrial 

experience. 

Work directed 

toward the 

identification and 

solution of 

practice problems 

in the applicant's 

area of 

engineering 

specialization 

The mere 

performance of 

maintenance of 

existing systems, 

replacement of 

parts or 

components, and 

other 
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including 

engineering 

analysis of 

existing systems or 

the design of new 

ones. 

nonengineering 

tasks. 

5. 6. Graduate or 

doctorate's 

doctoral degree. 

The successful 

completion of a 

graduate or 

doctorate degree in 

an engineering 

curriculum may be 

accepted as one 

year of equivalent 

engineering 

experience credit. 

Only one year of 

qualifying 

experience will be 

given for any 

combination of 

advanced degrees 

in an engineering 

program. In 

addition, if a 

degree is used to 

satisfy the 

education 

requirement, it 

cannot also be 

used toward 

satisfying the 

experience 

requirement. 

Research 

conducted as part 

of a graduate or 

doctorate doctoral 

degree shall not 

count as additional 

experience if credit 

for the degree is 

granted pursuant to 

18VAC10-20-190 

or 18VAC10-20-

210. 

6. 7. Teaching. 

For teaching 

experience to be 

considered 

qualifying by the 

board, the 

applicant shall 

have taught in an 

engineering 

curriculum 

program approved 

by the board and 

shall have been 

employed in the 

grade level of 

instructor or 

higher. 

 

7. Co-op 

program 8. Co-

op or internship. 

Engineering 

experience gained 

during a board-

approved co-op 

program co-op or 

internship may be 

deemed qualifying 

engineering 

experience to a 

maximum of one 

year of credit. 

 

8. 9. General.  

Experience in 

claims consulting, 

drafting, 

estimating, and 

field surveying. 

C. The board, in its sole discretion, may permit partial credit 

for approved qualifying engineering experience obtained prior 

to graduation from an engineering curriculum program. Partial 

credit shall not exceed one-half of that required for any method 

of initial licensure. 

18VAC10-20-260. Examinations. 

A. Applications for original licensure or EIT designation shall 

be received by the board in accordance with the following 

deadlines Applicants who do not complete their application 

and receive their designation within the three years from the 

date that they apply must reapply to the board as follows: 

1. Students applying pursuant to 18VAC10-20-190 A shall 

submit their applications to be received in the board's office 

no later than 60 days prior to the scheduled exam Applicants 

who reapply to the board no later than six months after the 

end of their eligibility may be approved to sit for the exam 

for an additional three years. The original application 

requirements shall apply. 

2. All other applications shall be received in the board's 

office no later than 130 days prior to the scheduled exam 

Applicants who do not meet the criteria of subdivision 1 of 

this subsection shall reapply to the board and meet all entry 

requirements current at the time of reapplication. 

3. All professional engineer applications shall be received in 

the board's office no later than 130 days prior to the 

scheduled exam. 

B. The board is a member board of the National Council of 

Examiners for Engineering and Surveying (NCEES) and is 

authorized to administer the NCEES exams including the 

Fundamentals of Engineering exam and the Principles and 

Practice of Engineering exam. 

C. Applicants approved by the board to sit for an exam shall 

register and submit the required exam fee to be received by the 

board's designee and shall follow NCEES procedures. 
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Applicants not properly registered will not be allowed to sit for 

the exam.  

D. Applicants eligible for admission to both exams must first 

successfully complete the Fundamentals of Engineering exam 

before being admitted to the Principles and Practice of 

Engineering exam. 

E. C. The exam may not be reviewed by applicants. Unless 

authorized by NCEES rules and procedures, exam scores are 

final and are not subject to change. 

F. Applicants approved to sit for the exam shall be eligible for 

a period of three years from the date of their initial approval. 

Applicants who do not pass the exam during their eligibility 

period are no longer eligible to sit for the exam. To become 

exam-eligible again, applicants shall reapply to the board and 

meet all current entry requirements at the time of reapplication. 

In addition to meeting current entry requirements upon 

reapplication, applicants shall demonstrate successful 

completion of 16 hours of educational activities that meet the 

requirements of 18VAC10-20-683 E and F. 

18VAC10-20-270. Licensure by comity. 

A. Applicants holding a valid license to practice engineering 

in other states or jurisdictions of the United States may be 

licensed provided they satisfy the provisions of this subsection. 

Applicants shall: 

1. Submit to the board verifiable documentation that the 

education, experience, and exam requirements by which 

they were first licensed in the original jurisdiction were 

substantially equivalent to the requirements in Virginia at 

the same time; 

2. Have passed an exam in another jurisdiction that was 

substantially equivalent to that approved by the board at the 

time of their original licensure; 

3. Be in good standing in all jurisdictions where they are 

currently licensed; and 

4. Submit three references from professional engineers 

currently licensed in a state or other jurisdiction of the 

United States. The applicant shall only submit references 

given by professional engineers who have personal 

knowledge of the applicant's competence and integrity 

relative to his engineering experience; and 

5. Satisfy all other applicable requirements of this chapter. 

B. Applicants who do not meet the requirements for licensure 

in Virginia that were in effect at the time of their original 

licensure shall be required to meet the entry requirements 

current at the time the completed application for comity is 

received in the board's office.  

18VAC10-20-295. Definitions. 

"Absolute horizontal positional accuracy" means the value 

expressed in feet or meters that represents the uncertainty due 

to systematic and random errors in measurements in the 

location of any point on a survey relative to the defined datum 

at the 95% confidence level. 

"Approved land surveying experience" means progressive 

and diversified office and field training and experience under 

the direct control and personal supervision of a licensed land 

surveyor. This experience shall have been acquired in positions 

requiring the exercise of independent judgment, initiative, and 

professional skill in the office and field and written. Written 

verification of such work experience shall be on forms 

provided by the board. Experience may be gained either prior 

to or after education is obtained. Notwithstanding the 

definition of "approved land surveying experience," the 

requirements set forth in 18VAC10-20-310 shall not be 

waived. 

"Approved photogrammetric surveying or similar remote 

sensing technology experience" means progressive and 

diversified office and field training and experience in 

photogrammetric surveying or similar remote sensing 

technology under the direct control and personal supervision 

of a licensed land surveyor or licensed surveyor 

photogrammetrist. This experience shall have been acquired in 

positions requiring the exercise of independent judgment, 

initiative, and professional skill in the office and field and 

written. Written verification of such work experience shall be 

on forms provided by the board. Experience may be gained 

either prior to or after education is obtained. Notwithstanding 

the definition of "approved photogrammetric surveying or 

similar remote sensing technology experience," the 

requirements set forth in 18VAC10-20-310 shall not be 

waived. 

"Relative horizontal positional accuracy" means the value 

expressed in feet or meters that represents the uncertainty due 

to random errors in measurements in the location of any point 

on a survey relative to any other point on the same survey at 

the 95% confidence level. 

18VAC10-20-300. Requirements for surveyor-in-training 

(SIT) designation. 

A. In order to be approved to sit for the Fundamentals of Land 

Surveying (FLS) exam, applicants must Applicants who do not 

complete their applications and receive their designations 

within the three years from the date that they apply must 

reapply and satisfy one of the following: 

1. Be enrolled in a board-approved or ABET-accredited an 

EAC/ABET-accredited surveying or surveying technology 

curriculum program acceptable to the board, have 12 months 

or less remaining before completion of degree requirements, 

and provide a certificate of good standing from the dean of 

the school or his the dean's designee; 

2. Have earned an undergraduate degree from a board-

approved or ABET-accredited an EAC/ABET-accredited 
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surveying or surveying technology curriculum program 

acceptable to the board; 

3. Have earned a board-approved an undergraduate degree 

related to surveying acceptable to the board and possess a 

minimum of one year of approved land surveying 

experience; 

4. Have earned an undergraduate degree in a field unrelated 

to surveying in conjunction with an additional 30 credit 

hours in an approved surveying program acceptable to the 

board and possess a minimum of two years of approved land 

surveying experience; 

5. Have earned a board-approved undergraduate degree in a 

field unrelated to surveying and possess a minimum of two 

years of approved land surveying experience; 

5. 6. Have earned a board-approved associate's degree 

related to surveying and possess a minimum of four years of 

approved land surveying experience; 

6. 7. Have successfully completed a board-approved survey 

apprenticeship program. The apprenticeship program shall 

include a minimum of 480 hours of surveying-related 

classroom instruction with a minimum of six years of 

approved land surveying experience; or 

7. 8. Have graduated from high school with evidence of 

successful completion of courses in algebra, geometry, and 

trigonometry, and possess a minimum of eight years of 

approved land surveying experience. 

B. Applicants seeking approval to sit for the FLS 

Fundamentals of Surveying (FS) exam pursuant to 

subdivisions A 3 through 7 A 8 of this section may apply 

board-approved college credits to help meet the experience 

requirement. The maximum rate of college credit substitution 

for experience shall be one year of experience credit for each 

40 credit hours of board-approved college credits completed. 

College credits applicable toward the completion of any degree 

used to satisfy a requirement of subsection A of this section 

shall not be eligible for experience substitution. 

C. An applicant who qualified for the FLS exam under 

subdivision A 1 of this section will be issued the SIT 

designation upon the board's receipt of the applicant's degree 

verification. All other applicants shall receive the SIT 

designation upon passing the FLS FS exam, receiving approval 

from a board reviewed application, and meeting all other board 

requirements. 

18VAC10-20-310. Requirements for the land surveyor and 

surveyor photogrammetrist licenses. 

A. Land surveyor license. 

1. An SIT A surveyor-in-training (SIT) who has met the 

requirements of 18VAC10-20-300 and has a minimum of 

four years of approved land surveying experience shall be 

approved to sit for an exam in the Principles and Practice of 

Land Surveying and the Virginia-specific land surveying 

exam: 

a. The Principles and Practice of Land Surveying exam; 

b. The Virginia-specific land surveying exam; and  

c. The board supplied exam on regulations. 

2. A qualified applicant shall be granted a license to practice 

land surveying upon passing both exams all three exams and 

meeting all other board requirements. 

B. Surveyor photogrammetrist license. 

1. An SIT who has met the requirements of 18VAC10-20-

300 and has a minimum of four years of approved 

photogrammetric surveying or similar remote sensing 

technology experience shall be approved to sit for the board-

approved surveyor photogrammetrist exam and the Virginia-

specific photogrammetrist exam. the following board-

approved exams: 

a. The Principles and Practice of Land Surveying; 

b. The Virginia-specific land surveying exam; and 

c. The board supplied exam on regulations. 

2. A qualified applicant shall be granted a license to practice 

photogrammetric surveying upon passing both exams all 

three exams and meeting all other board requirements. 

18VAC10-20-320. Requirements for the land surveyor B 

license. 

A. An applicant shall: 

1. Hold a valid Virginia license as a land surveyor for two 

years; 

2. Present satisfactory evidence of a minimum of two years 

of land surveying experience that is progressive in 

complexity in land surveyor B land surveying, as provided 

in § 54.1-408 of the Code of Virginia, under the direct 

control and personal supervision of a licensed land surveyor 

B or professional engineer; 

3. Present satisfactory evidence of having passed college-

level courses in hydrology and hydraulics that are acceptable 

to the board; and 

4. Pass an exam developed by the board. 

B. A qualified applicant shall be issued a land surveyor B 

license upon passing the board-developed exam. 

18VAC10-20-330. Education. 

An applicant who is seeking credit for a degree earned from 

an institution outside of the United States shall have his degree 

authenticated and evaluated by an education evaluation service 

approved by the board. The board reserves the right to reject, 

for good cause, any evaluation submitted by the applicant. Any 

cost of evaluation shall be borne by the applicant. 
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18VAC10-20-340. Experience standards. 

In order to demonstrate meeting the experience requirements 

of 18VAC10-20-300, 18VAC-10-20-310, and 18VAC10-20-

320, applicants shall document experience that has been gained 

under the direct control and personal supervision of a licensed 

land surveyor or licensed surveyor photogrammetrist on the 

appropriate board-provided forms. Experience shall be verified 

by a licensed land surveyor or licensed surveyor 

photogrammetrist in an organization with a surveying practice 

and will be evaluated by the board in accordance with 

18VAC10-20-35. 

18VAC10-20-345. References.  

Applicants shall submit three references on a board-approved 

form with the application, all of which shall be from currently 

licensed land surveyors in a state or other jurisdiction of the 

United States. In addition to the requirements found in 

18VAC10-20-25, the applicant shall only submit references 

from licensed land surveyors who have personal knowledge of 

the applicant's surveying experience that demonstrates the 

applicant's competence and integrity. 

18VAC10-20-350. Examinations. 

A. Applications for original initial licensure shall be received 

by the board in accordance with the following deadlines: 

1. Applications Applicants for the SIT surveyor-in-training 

designation submitted pursuant to 18VAC10-20-300 A shall 

be received in the board's office no later than 60 days prior 

to the scheduled exam are eligible to sit for the 

Fundamentals of Surveying (FS) exam. 

2. Upon successful completion of the FS exam, applicants 

who qualify may apply to sit for the other surveying exams. 

3. All other applications for the Virginia-specific exam shall 

be received in the board's office no later than 130 days prior 

to the scheduled exam. 

B. The board is a member board of the National Council of 

Examiners for Engineering and Surveying (NCEES) and is 

authorized to administer the NCEES exams including the 

Fundamentals of Land Surveying exam and the Principles and 

Practice of Land Surveying exam Applicants approved to sit 

authorizes NCEES to administer the national surveying related 

exam. Applicants sitting for the exam shall follow NCEES 

procedures. 

C. The exam exams for Virginia board regulations, the 

Virginia-specific, the surveyor photogrammetrist, and the land 

surveyor B shall be given at times designated by the board. 

D. Unless otherwise stated, applicants approved to sit for an 

exam must register and submit the required exam fee to be 

received by the board or the board's designee at a time 

designated by the board. Applicants not properly registered 

will not be allowed to sit for the exam. 

E. The exam shall not be reviewed by applicants. Unless 

authorized by NCEES rules and procedures, exam scores are 

final and are not subject to change. 

F. Applicants approved to sit for the exam shall be eligible for 

a period of three years from the date of their initial approval. 

Applicants who do not pass the exam during their eligibility 

period are no longer eligible to sit for the exam. To become 

exam-eligible again, applicants shall reapply to the board and 

meet all current entry requirements at the time of reapplication. 

In addition to meeting the current entry requirements upon 

reapplication, applicants shall, meet all current entry 

requirements, and demonstrate successful completion of 16 

hours of educational activities that meet the requirements of 

18VAC10-20-683 E and F. 

18VAC10-20-360. Licensure by comity. 

A. Applicants holding a valid license to practice land 

surveying in another state or other jurisdiction of the United 

States may be licensed as a land surveyor in Virginia. To 

become licensed, applicants shall: 

1. Submit to the board verifiable documentation that the 

education, experience, and exam requirements by which 

they were first licensed in the original jurisdiction were 

substantially equivalent to the requirements in Virginia at 

the same time; 

2. Have passed an exam in another jurisdiction that was 

substantially equivalent to that approved by the board at the 

time of the original licensure; 

3. Be in good standing in all jurisdictions where licensed; 

4. Pass a the Virginia-specific exam; and 

5. Satisfy all other applicable requirements of this chapter. 

B. Applicants who do not meet the requirements for licensure 

in Virginia that were in effect at the time of their original 

licensure shall be required to meet the entry requirements 

current at the time the completed application for comity is 

received in the board's office; 

C. Applicants holding a current license to practice land 

surveying or photogrammetric surveying issued by another 

state or other jurisdiction of the United States may be licensed 

in Virginia as a surveyor photogrammetrist provided they meet 

one of the following criteria: 

1. Applicants who were originally licensed prior to 

December 1, 2009, shall meet the requirements of the board's 

regulations effective December 1, 2008, and pass the 

Virginia-specific exam; or 

2. Applicants who were originally licensed on or after 

December 1, 2009, shall meet the requirements of the board's 

regulations effective at the time of original licensure and 

pass the Virginia-specific exam. 
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18VAC10-20-370. Minimum standards and procedures for 

land boundary surveying practice. 

A. The minimum standards and procedures set forth in this 

section are to be used for land boundary surveys performed in 

the Commonwealth of Virginia. The application of the 

professional's seal, signature, and date as required by these 

regulations shall be evidence that the land boundary survey is 

correct to the best of the professional's knowledge, 

information, and belief, and complies with the minimum 

standards and procedures set forth in this chapter. 

B. Research procedure. The professional shall search the land 

records for the proper description of the land to be surveyed 

and obtain the description of adjoining land(s) land as it 

pertains to the common boundaries. The professional shall 

have the additional responsibility to utilize such other available 

data pertinent to the survey being performed from any other 

known sources. Evidence found, from all known sources, 

including evidence found in the field, shall be carefully 

compared in order to aid in the establishment of the correct 

boundaries of the land being surveyed. The professional shall 

clearly identify on the plats, maps, and reports inconsistencies 

found in the research of common boundaries between the land 

being surveyed and the adjoining land(s) land. It is not the 

intent of this regulation to require the professional to research 

the question of title or encumbrances on the land involved. 

C. Minimum field procedures. 

1. Angular measurement. Angle measurements made for 

traverse or land boundary survey lines will be made by using 

a properly adjusted transit-type instrument which that allows 

a direct reading to a minimum accuracy of 30 20 seconds of 

arc or metric equivalent. The number of angles turned at a 

given station or corner will be the number which that, in the 

judgment of the professional, can be used to substantiate the 

average true angle considering the condition of the 

instrument being used and the existing field conditions. 

2. Linear measurement. Distance measurement for the lines 

of traverse or lines of the land boundary survey shall be 

made (i) with metal tapes which that have been checked and 

are properly calibrated as to incremental distances, or (ii) 

with properly calibrated electronic distance measuring 

equipment following instructions and procedures 

established by the manufacturer of such equipment. All 

linear measurements shall be reduced to the horizontal plane, 

and other necessary corrections shall be performed before 

using such linear measurements for computing purposes. 

3. Field traverse and land boundary closure and accuracy 

standards. For a land boundary survey located in a rural area, 

the maximum permissible error of closure for a field traverse 

shall be one part in 10,000 (1/10,000). The attendant angular 

closure shall be that which will sustain the one part in 10,000 

(1/10,000) maximum error of closure. For a land boundary 

survey located in an urban area, the maximum permissible 

error of closure for a traverse shall be one part in 20,000 

(1/20,000). The attendant angular closure shall be that which 

will sustain the one part in 20,000 (1/20,000) maximum error 

of closure. 

The maximum permissible positional uncertainty based on 

the 95% confidence level of any independent boundary 

corner or independent point located on a boundary that has 

been established by utilizing global positioning systems 

shall not exceed the positional tolerance of 0.07 feet (or 20 

mm + 50 ppm). 

4. Monumentation. As a requisite for completion of the work 

product, each land boundary survey of a tract or parcel of 

land shall be monumented with objects made of permanent 

material at all corners and changes of direction on the land 

boundary with the exceptions of meanders, such as meanders 

of streams, tidelands, lakes, swamps and prescriptive rights-

of-way, and each such monument, other than a natural 

monument, shall, when physically feasible, be identified by 

a temporary witness marker. Where it is not physically 

feasible to set actual corners, appropriate reference 

monuments shall be set, preferably on line, and the location 

of each shall be shown on the plat or map of the land 

boundary. 

All boundaries, both exterior and interior, of the original 

survey for any division or partition of land shall be 

monumented in accordance with the provisions of this 

subdivision, when such monumentation is not otherwise 

regulated by the provisions of a local subdivision ordinance. 

5. For land boundary surveys providing for a division when 

only the division, in lieu of the entire parcel, is being 

surveyed, any new corners established along existing 

property lines shall require that those existing property lines 

be established through their entire length. This shall include 

the recovery or reestablishment of the existing corners for 

each end of the existing property lines. 

D. Office procedures. 

1. Computations. The computation of field work data shall 

be accomplished by using the mathematical routines that 

produce closures and mathematical results that can be 

compared with descriptions and data of record. Such 

computations shall be used to determine the final land 

boundary of the land involved. 

2. Plats and maps. The following information shall be shown 

on all plats and maps used to depict the results of the land 

boundary survey: 

a. The title of the land boundary plat identifying the land 

surveyed and showing the district, town, and county or 

city in which the land is located and scale of drawing. 

b. The name of the owner of record and recording 

references. 
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c. Names of all adjoining owners of record with recording 

references, or with subdivision name and lot designations 

and recording references. 

d. Inconsistencies found in the research of common 

boundaries between the land being surveyed and the 

adjoining land(s) land. The inconsistencies shall be clearly 

noted by the professional. 

e. Names of highways and roads with route number, and 

widths of right-of-way, or distance to the center of the 

physical pavement and pavement width, name of 

railroads, streams adjoining, crossing, or in close 

proximity to the boundary and other prominent or well-

known objects that are informative as to the location of the 

land boundary. 

f. A distance to the nearest road intersection, or prominent 

or well-known object. In cases of remote areas, a scaled 

position with the latitude and longitude must be provided. 

g. Items crossing any property lines such as, but not 

limited to, physical encroachments, and evidence of 

easements such as utilities and other physical features 

pertinent to the boundary of the property. 

h. Bearings of all property lines and meanders to nearest 

10 seconds one second of arc or metric equivalent. 

i. Adequate curve data to accomplish mathematical 

closures. 

j. Distances of all property lines and meanders to the 

nearest one hundredth (.01) of a foot or metric equivalent. 

k. Pursuant to subdivision C 5 of this section, the bearing 

and distances from the new corners to the existing corners 

on each end of the existing property lines. 

l. For property located in rural areas, area to the nearest 

hundredth (.01) of an acre or metric equivalent. 

m. For property located in urban areas, area to the nearest 

square foot or thousandth (0.001) of an acre or metric 

equivalent. 

n. North arrow and source of meridian used for the survey. 

o. For interior surveys, a reference bearing and distance to 

a property corner of an adjoining owner or other 

prominent object, including, but not limited to, 

intersecting streets or roads. 

p. Tax map designation or geographic parcel identification 

number if available, for surveyed parcel and adjoining 

parcels. 

q. Description of each monument found and each 

monument set by the professional. 

r. A statement that the land boundary survey shown is 

based on a current field survey or a compilation from 

deeds, plats, surveys by others, or combination thereof. If 

the land boundary shown is a compilation from deeds or 

plats, or a survey by others, the title of the plat shall clearly 

depict that the plat does not represent a current land 

boundary survey. 

s. A statement as to whether a current title report has been 

furnished to the professional. 

t. A statement as to whether any or all easements, 

encroachments, and improvements are shown on the plat. 

u. Name and, address of, and contact information for the 

land surveyor or the registered business. 

v. The professional's seal, signature and date. 

3. Metes and bounds description. The professional shall 

prepare a metes and bounds description in narrative form, if 

requested by the client or his the client's agent, for 

completion of any newly performed land boundary survey. 

The description shall reflect all metes and bounds, the area 

of the property described, all pertinent monumentation, 

names of record owners or other appropriate identification 

of all adjoiners, and any other data or information deemed as 

warranted to properly describe the property. Customarily, 

the metes and bounds shall be recited in a clockwise 

direction around the property. The professional shall clearly 

identify in the metes and bounds description any 

inconsistencies found in the research of common boundaries 

between land being surveyed and the adjoining land or lands. 

For subdivisions, the professional shall prepare a metes and 

bounds description in narrative form for only the exterior 

boundaries of the property. 

No metes and bounds description shall be required for the 

verification or resetting of the corners of a lot or other parcel 

of land in accordance with a previously performed land 

boundary survey, such as a lot in a subdivision where it is 

unnecessary to revise the record boundaries of the lot. 

18VAC10-20-380. Minimum standards and procedures for 

surveys determining the location of physical 

improvements; field procedures; office procedures. 

A. The following minimum standards and procedures are to 

be used for surveys determining the location of physical 

improvements on any parcel of land or lot containing less than 

two acres or metric equivalent (sometimes also known as 

"building location survey," "house location surveys," "physical 

surveys," and the like) etc.) in the Commonwealth of Virginia. 

The application of the professional's seal, signature, and date 

as required by these regulations this chapter shall be evidence 

that the survey determining the location of physical 

improvements is correct to the best of the professional's 

knowledge, information, and belief, and complies with the 

minimum standards and procedures set forth in this chapter. 

B. The professional shall determine the position of the lot or 

parcel of land in accordance with the intent of the original 

survey and shall set or verify permanent monumentation at 

each corner of the property, consistent with the monumentation 

provisions of subdivision C 4 of 18VAC10-20-370. All such 

monumentation, other than natural monumentation shall, when 

physically feasible, be identified by temporary witness 

markers. 
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When the professional finds discrepancies of sufficient 

magnitude to warrant, in his opinion, the performance of a land 

boundary survey (pursuant to the provisions of 18VAC10-20-

370), he shall so inform the client or the client's agent that such 

land boundary survey is deemed warranted as a requisite to 

completion of the physical improvements survey. 

The location of the following shall be determined in the field: 

1. Fences in near proximity to the land boundary lines and 

other fences which that may reflect lines of occupancy or 

possession. 

2. Other physical improvements on the property and all man-

made or installed structures, including buildings, stoops, 

porches, chimneys, visible evidence of underground features 

(such as manholes, catch basins, telephone pedestals, power 

transformers, etc.), utility lines, and poles. 

3. Cemeteries, if known or disclosed in the process of 

performing the survey; roads or travelways traveled ways 

crossing the property which that serve other properties; and 

streams, creeks, and other defined drainage ways. 

4. Other visible evidence of physical encroachment on the 

property. 

C. The plat reflecting the work product shall be drawn to scale 

and shall show the following, unless requested otherwise by 

the client and so noted on the plat: 

1. The bearings and distances for the boundaries and the area 

of the lot or parcel of land shall be shown in accordance with 

record data, unless a current, new land boundary survey has 

been performed in conjunction with the physical 

improvements survey. If needed to produce a closed 

polygon, the meander lines necessary to verify locations of 

streams, tidelands, lakes, and swamps shall be shown. All 

bearings shall be shown in a clockwise direction, unless 

otherwise indicated. 

2. North arrow, in accordance with record data. 

3. Fences in the near proximity to the land boundary lines 

and other fences which that may reflect lines of occupancy 

or possession. 

4. Improvements and other pertinent features on the property 

as located in the field pursuant to subsection B of this 

section. 

5. Physical encroachment, including fences, across a 

property line shall be identified and dimensioned with 

respect to the property line. 

6. The closest dimension (to the nearest 0.1 foot or metric 

equivalent) from the front property line, side property line, 

and if pertinent, rear property line to the principal walls of 

each building. Also, all principal building dimensions (to the 

nearest 0.1 foot or metric equivalent). 

7. Building street address numbers, as displayed on the 

premises, or so noted if no numbers are displayed. 

8. Stoops, decks, porches, chimneys, balconies, floor 

projections, and other similar type features. 

9. Street name(s) names, as posted or currently identified, 

and as per record data, if different from posted name. 

10. Distance to nearest intersection from a property corner, 

based upon record data. If not available from record data, 

distance to nearest intersection may be determined from best 

available data, and so qualified. 

11. Building restriction or setback line(s) lines per restrictive 

covenants, if shown or noted on the record subdivision plat. 

12. The caption or title of the plat shall include the type of 

survey performed; lot number, block number, section 

number, and name of subdivision, as appropriate, or if not in 

a subdivision, the name(s) names of the record owner; town 

or, county, or city; date of survey; and scale of drawing. 

13. Adjoining property identification. 

14. Easements and other encumbrances set forth on the 

record subdivision plat, and those otherwise known to the 

professional. 

15. A statement as to whether or not a current title report has 

been furnished to the professional. 

16. Inconsistencies found in the research or field work of 

common boundaries between the land being surveyed and 

the adjoining land or lands shall be clearly noted. 

17. Name, address, and contact information for the 

individual or entity for whom the survey is being performed. 

18. Professional's seal, signature, and date. 

18. 19. Name and, address of, and contact information for 

the land surveyor or registered business. 

D. In performing a physical improvements survey, a 

professional shall not be required to set corner monumentation 

on any property when: 

1. It is otherwise required to be set pursuant to the provisions 

of a local subdivision ordinance as mandated by § 15.2-2240 

of the Code of Virginia or by subdivision A 7 of § 15.2-2241 

of the Code of Virginia; 

2. Its Eventual placement is covered by a surety bond, cash 

escrow, set-aside letter, letter of credit, or other performance 

guaranty; or 

3. Exempt by § 54.1-407 of the Code of Virginia. 

E. A professional performing a physical improvements 

survey when monumentation is not required as stated in 

subsection D of this section shall clearly note on the plat "no 

corner markers set," the reason why it is not required, and the 

name of guarantors. 
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18VAC10-20-382. Minimum standards and procedures for 

surveys determining topography; field procedures; office 

procedures. 

A. The minimum standards and procedures set forth in this 

section are to be used for topographic surveys performed in the 

Commonwealth of Virginia pursuant to Chapter 4 (§ 54.1-400 

et seq.) of Title 54.1 of the Code of Virginia. The application 

of the professional's seal, signature, and date as required by 

these regulations this chapter shall be evidence that the 

topographic survey is correct to the best of the professional's 

knowledge and belief and complies with the minimum 

standards and procedures. 

B. Minimum field and office procedures. The following 

information shall be shown on, or contained in, all plats, maps, 

or digital geospatial data including metadata used to depict the 

results of the topographic survey: 

1. Physical improvements on the property, all man-made or 

installed structures, as well as visible evidence of 

underground features (such as manholes, catch basins, 

telephone pedestals, power transformers, etc.), and utility 

lines and poles shall be shown or depicted when they are 

visible based on the methodology and scale. If the 

methodology or scale prevents depiction of the above 

improvements as described in this subdivision, then notice 

shall be clearly stated on or contained in the map, plat, or 

digital geospatial data including metadata indicating the 

improvements that are not depicted. 

2. Elevations shall be provided as spot elevations, contours, 

or digital terrain models. 

3. Onsite, or in close proximity, bench mark(s) benchmarks 

shall be established with reference to vertical datum, 

preferably North American Vertical Datum (NAVD), and 

shown in the correct location. 

4. The title of the topographic survey identifying the land 

surveyed and showing the state, county, or city in which 

property is located. 

5. Name, address, and contact information of the individual 

or entity for whom the survey is being performed. 

6. Name, address, and contact information for the land 

surveyor or registered business. 

7. Date, graphic scale, numerical scale, and contour interval 

of plat, map, or digital geospatial data including metadata. 

7. 8. North arrow and source of meridian used for the survey. 

8. 9. Names or route numbers of highways, streets and 

named waterways shall be shown. 

9. 10. The horizontal and vertical unit of measurement, 

coordinate system, and data, including adjustments if 

applicable. 

10. 11. A statement, in the following form, shall be shown 

on or contained in plats, maps, or digital geospatial data 

including metadata: 

This ________________ (provide description of the 

project) was completed under the direct and responsible 

charge of _______________________________ (Name 

of Professional) from an actual • Ground or • Airborne 

Remote Sensing (check the one that is applicable) survey 

made under my supervision; that the imagery and/or 

original data was obtained on ______________ (Date); 

and that this plat, map, or digital geospatial data including 

metadata meets minimum accuracy standards unless 

otherwise noted. 

C. Minimum positional accuracies shall be met in accordance 

with the tables in subdivisions 1, 2, and 3 of this subsection. 

These tables are not intended to be acceptable in all situations, 

and the professional shall be responsible to perform the work 

to the appropriate quality and extent that is prudent or 

warranted under the existing field conditions and 

circumstances. Metric or other unit of measurements shall meet 

an equivalent positional accuracy. Map or plat scales, or 

contour intervals, other than those defined in these tables shall 

meet an equivalent positional accuracy. The minimum 

positional accuracy tables are as follows: 

1. Scale and contour interval combinations. 

Map or Plat Scale Contour Interval 

1" = 20' 1 or 2 feet 

1" = 30' 1 or 2 feet 

1" = 40' 1 or 2 feet 

1" = 50' 1 or 2 feet 

1" = 100' 1 or 2 feet 

1" = 200' 2, 4, or 5 feet 

1" = 400' 4, 5, or 10 feet 

2. Vertical accuracy standards. 

 

Contours - 

Vertical 

Positional 

Accuracy 

Spot Elevations - 

Vertical Positional 

Accuracy 

Contour line 1' 

interval 

± 0.60 feet ± 0.30 feet 

Contour line 2' 

interval 

± 1.19 feet ± 0.60 feet 

Contour line 4' 

interval 

± 2.38 feet ± 1.19 feet 

Contour line 5' 

interval 

± 2.98 feet ± 1.49 feet 
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Contour line 10' 

interval 

± 5.96 feet ± 2.98 feet 

Positional Accuracy is given at the 95% confidence level. 

3. Horizontal accuracy standards. 

Well defined ground points - Horizontal (Radial) Positional 

Accuracy 

Map or Plat 

Scale 

Absolute 

Horizontal 

Positional 

Accuracy 

Relative Horizontal 

Positional 

Accuracy 

1" = 20' ± 0.8 feet ± 0.20 feet 

1" = 30' ± 1.1 feet ± 0.30 feet 

1" = 40' ± 1.5 feet ± 0.40 feet 

1" = 50' ± 1.9 feet ± 0.50 feet 

1" = 100' ± 3.8 feet ± 1.00 feet 

1" = 200' ± 7.6 feet ± 2.00 feet 

1" = 400' ± 15.2 feet ± 4.00 feet 

Positional Accuracy is given at the 95% confidence level. 

18VAC10-20-392. Photogrammetric surveys or similar 

remote sensing technology. 

The use of photogrammetric methods or similar remote 

sensing technology to perform any part of the practice of land 

surveying as defined in Chapter 4 (§ 54.1-400 et seq.) of Title 

54.1 of the Code of Virginia, shall be performed under the 

direct control and supervision of a licensed land surveyor or a 

licensed surveyor photogrammetrist. 

18VAC10-20-420. Requirements for licensure. 

A. Applicants for licensure as a landscape architect shall 

satisfy the requirements of subsection B or C subdivision 1 or 

2 of this section. 

B. 1. An applicant who has graduated from a landscape 

architecture curriculum program accredited by the 

Landscape Architectural Accreditation Board (LAAB) shall 

have: 

1. a. Obtained a minimum of 36 months of experience as 

follows: 

a. (1) A minimum of 12 months of experience under the 

direct control and personal supervision of a licensed or 

certified landscape architect; and 

b. (2) The remaining 24 months of experience under the 

direct control and personal supervision of a licensed or 

certified landscape architect or a licensed architect, 

professional engineer, or land surveyor, in accordance 

with the Landscape Architects Experience Credit Table; 

and or 

(3) In lieu of the provision in subdivisions 1 a (1) and 1 a 

(2) of this section, a minimum of 48 months of experience 

under the direct control and personal supervision of a 

licensed architect, professional engineer, or land surveyor; 

and 

2. b. Passed all sections of the Council of Landscape 

Architectural Registration Board (CLARB)-prepared 

exam. 

C. 2. Applicants who have not graduated from a LAAB-

accredited landscape architecture curriculum program shall 

have obtained a minimum of eight years of combined 

education and work experience in accordance with this 

subsection. 

1. a. Only semester and quarter hours with passing grades 

scores shall be accepted. Credit shall be calculated as 

follows: 

a. (1) 32 semester credit hours or 48 quarter credit hours 

shall be worth one year. 

b. (2) Fractions greater than or equal to one half-year, but 

less than one year, will be counted as one-half year. 

c. (3) Fractions smaller than one half-year will not be 

counted. 

2. b. The maximum years indicated in subdivisions a 

through d of the LANDSCAPE ARCHITECTS 

EDUCATION CREDIT TABLE Landscape Architects 

Education Credit Table shall apply regardless of the length 

of the degree program. 

3. c. All applicants shall have a minimum of two years of 

experience under the direct control and personal 

supervision of a licensed or certified landscape architect. 

4. d. Education and experience shall be evaluated against 

the LANDSCAPE ARCHITECTS EDUCATION 

CREDIT TABLE Landscape Architects Education Credit 

Table and the LANDSCAPE ARCHITECTS 

EXPERIENCE CREDIT TABLE Landscape Architects 

Experience Credit Table to determine if an applicant has 

met the minimum eight years required in this subsection. 

LANDSCAPE ARCHITECTS EDUCATION CREDIT 

TABLE Landscape Architects Education Credit Table 

Categories Values Examples 

a. (1) Credits 

completed 

applicable toward a 

LAAB-accredited 

degree. 

Credit shall be 

given at the 

rate of 100% 

with a 

maximum of 

four years 

allowable. 

An applicant has 86 

semester hours of 

credit. 

Calculation: 

♦ 86/32 = 2.6875 

years 

♦ 100% credit for a 

maximum of four 

years (2.6875 x 

b. (2) A degree in 

landscape 

architecture, or 

credits completed 

applicable toward a 

degree in landscape 
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architecture, from a 

non-LAAB-

accredited 

curriculum program. 

100% = 2.6875 

years). 

♦ 0.6875 is ≥ 0.5 

years, which is 

worth 0.5 years. 

Final result: 86 

semester hours 

equals 2.5 years. 

c. (3) A degree, or 

credits completed 

applicable toward a 

degree, in an allied 

professional 

discipline approved 

by the board (i.e., 

architecture, civil 

engineering, 

environmental 

science). 

Credit shall be 

given at the 

rate of 75% 

for the first 

two years and 

100% for 

succeeding 

years with a 

maximum of 

three years 

allowable. 

An applicant has 

101 semester hours 

of credit. 

Calculation: 

♦ 101/32 = 3.15625 

years 

♦ 75% credit for the 

first two years (2 x 

75% = 1.5 years). 

♦ 100% credit for 

succeeding years 

(1.15625 x 100% = 

1.15625 years). 

♦ 1.5 + 1.15625 = 

2.65625 years. 

♦ 0.65625 is ≥ 0.5 

years, which is 

worth 0.5 years. 

Final result: 101 

semester hours 

equals 2.5 years. 

d. (4) Any other 

undergraduate 

degree or credits 

completed 

applicable toward 

that degree. 

Credit shall be 

given at the 

rate of 50% 

for the first 

two years and 

75% for 

succeeding 

years with a 

maximum of 

two years 

allowable. 

An applicant has 95 

semester hours of 

credit. 

Calculation: 

♦ 95/32 = 2.96875 

years 

♦ 50% credit for the 

first two years (2 x 

50%= 1 year). 

♦ 75% credit for 

succeeding years 

(.96875 x 75%= 

.72656 years). 

♦ 1 +.72656 = 

1.72656 years. 

♦ 0.72656 is ≥ 0.5 

years, which is 

worth 0.5 years. 

Final result: 95 

semester hours 

equals 1.5 years. 

LANDSCAPE ARCHITECTS EXPERIENCE CREDIT 

TABLE Landscape Architects Experience Credit Table 

Categories Values Examples 

e. (5) Experience 

gained under the 

direct control and 

personal supervision 

of a licensed or 

certified landscape 

architect. 

Credit shall be 

given at the 

rate of 100% 

of work 

experience 

gained with no 

maximum. 

An applicant 

worked under a 

landscape architect 

for 3.7 years. 

Calculation: 

3.7 years x 100% = 

3.7 years (no 

maximum). 

Final result: An 

applicant with 3.7 

years of work 

experience will be 

credited for the 

entire 3.7 years. 

f. (6) Experience 

gained under the 

direct control and 

personal supervision 

of a licensed 

architect, 

professional 

engineer, or land 

surveyor. 

Credit shall be 

given at the 

rate of 50% of 

work 

experience 

gained with a 

maximum of 

four years 

allowable. 

An applicant has 

worked under a 

land surveyor for 

eight years or more. 

Calculation: 

8 years x 50% = 4 

years. 

Final result: eight 

years or more of 

experience is worth 

only four years 

based on the 

maximum 

allowable. 

18VAC10-20-425. References. 

In addition to the requirements found in 18VAC10-20-25, 

applicants shall submit three references with the application, 

each from a currently licensed one of which shall be from a 

currently licensed, certified, or registered landscape architect 

in another a state or other jurisdiction of the United States. An 

applicant shall only submit references from landscape 

architects who have a licensed professional engineer, architect, 

land surveyor, or a landscape architect who has personal 

knowledge of his the applicant's competence and integrity 

relative to his landscape architectural experience. 

18VAC10-20-430. Experience standard. 

Qualifying landscape architectural training and experience 

shall be progressive in complexity and based on knowledge of 

natural, physical and mathematical sciences, and the principles 

and methodology of landscape architecture. 

The experience must be obtained in an organization with a 

landscape architecture practice and must be verified on the 
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board experience verification form by a licensed landscape 

architect, professional engineer, architect, or land surveyor in 

the organization's practice. 

18VAC10-20-440. Examination. 

A. Applicants with a LAAB-accredited degree may be 

approved to sit for the exam prior to completing the 36-month 

experience requirement contained in subdivision 1 a of 

18VAC10-20-420 B 1. 

B. The Virginia board is a member of the Council of 

Landscape Architectural Registration Boards (CLARB) and is 

authorized to administer the CLARB make available the 

CLARB prepared exams. All applicants for original licensure 

in Virginia are required to pass the CLARB-prepared exam. 

C. Applicants approved to sit for the exam shall register and 

submit the required exam fee to be received in the board office, 

or by the board's designee. Applicants not properly registered 

will not be allowed to sit for the exam. 

D. Grading of the exam shall be in accordance with the 

national grading procedures established administered by 

CLARB. The board shall adopt utilize the scoring procedures 

recommended by CLARB. 

E. Applicants shall be advised only of their passing or failing 

score and the CLARB minimum passing score. 

F. Upon written request to the board within 30 days of 

receiving exam results, applicants will be permitted to view the 

performance problems contained within the section that they 

failed. Exam appeals are permitted in accordance with the 

CLARB score verification process. The board may approve 

transfer credits for parts of the exam taken and passed in 

accordance with national standards. 

G. Applicants approved to sit for the exam shall be eligible 

for a period of three years from the date of their initial 

approval. Applicants who do not pass all sections of the exam 

during their eligibility period are no longer eligible to sit for 

the exam. To become exam-eligible again, applicants shall 

reapply to the board as follows: 

1. Applicants who have taken at least one section of the exam 

and who reapply to the board no later than six months after 

the end of their eligibility may be approved to sit for the 

exam for an additional three years. The original application 

requirements shall apply. 

2. Applicants who do not meet the criteria of subdivision 1 

of this subsection shall reapply to the board and meet all 

entry requirements current at the time of reapplication. 

18VAC10-20-450. Licensure by comity. 

A. Applicants with a valid license in good standing to practice 

landscape architecture issued by another state or other 

jurisdiction of the United States may be licensed by the board 

without further examination provided they: 

1. Were issued the original license based on requirements 

that do not conflict with and that are substantially equivalent 

to the board's regulations that were in effect at the time of 

original licensure; and 

2. Passed an exam in another jurisdiction that was 

substantially equivalent to that approved by the board at that 

time; or met the regulations in effect at that time; and 

3. Possess a CLARB certificate. 

B. Applicants who do not qualify under subsection A of this 

section shall be required to meet current entry requirements at 

the time the application for comity is received in the board's 

office. 

18VAC10-20-460. Definitions. 

The following words, terms, and phrases when used in this 

part shall have the meanings ascribed to them except where the 

context clearly indicates or requires different meanings. 

"CIDA" means the Council for Interior Design Accreditation 

(CIDA), formerly known as the Foundation of Interior Design 

Education Research (FIDER). 

"Diversified experience" includes the identification, research, 

and creative solution of problems pertaining to the function and 

quality of the interior environment including, but not limited 

to, code analysis, fire safety consideration, and barrier free 

evaluations that relate to the health, safety, and welfare of the 

public. 

"Monitored experience" means diversified experience in 

interior design under the direct control and personal 

supervision of a certified or licensed interior designer, an 

architect, or a professional engineer. 

"Professional program approved by the board" means an 

evaluated degree or combination of evaluated degrees as 

follows: 

1. A minimum of an undergraduate degree in an interior 

design program that is deemed by the board to be 

substantially equivalent to an undergraduate degree in 

interior design from a CIDA-accredited institution at the 

time of the applicant's graduation program; or 

2. A graduate degree from a CIDA-accredited program; or 

3. A graduate degree in interior design plus an undergraduate 

degree that is a in combination are deemed by the board to 

be substantially equivalent to an undergraduate degree 

program from a CIDA-accredited institution program at the 

time of the applicant's graduation. 

For the purposes of this definition, a degree program that met 

CIDA accreditation requirements not later than two years after 

the date of the applicant's graduation shall be determined to be 

CIDA accredited. 
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18VAC10-20-490. Requirements for certification. 

A. Applicants shall meet one of the following education 

requirements: A degree from a professional program approved 

by the board. 

1. Have graduated from a program accredited by CIDA; 

2. Have graduated from a program accredited by an 

organization equivalent to CIDA; or 

3. Have graduated from a professional degree program 

approved by the board. 

B. The board reserves the right to reject any evaluation 

submitted. Any costs attributable to evaluation shall be borne 

by the applicant. 

C. Applicants shall possess a minimum of two years of 

monitored experience. Any monitored experience gained 

under the direct control and personal supervision of a 

professional engineer shall be reduced by 50% and shall not 

account for more than six months of the two years required by 

this subsection. 

C. D. Applicants shall have passed the board-approved exam 

and provide documentation acceptable to the board verifying 

that the exam has been passed. 

D. Any cost of evaluation of degrees shall be borne by the 

applicant. The board reserves the right to reject, for good cause, 

any evaluation submitted. 

18VAC10-20-495. Examination. 

A. The National Council of Interior Design Qualification 

(NCIDQ) exam is approved by the board. 

B. Applicants shall apply directly to NCIDQ the Council for 

Interior Design Qualifications for the exam. 

18VAC10-20-505. Certification by comity. 

An applicant with a valid license or certificate in another state 

or country or the District of Columbia may be issued a 

certificate if he provides satisfactory evidence to the board that: 

1. The Applicants who hold a license or certificate in good 

standing in another jurisdiction of the United States or province 

of Canada may be issued a certificate if the board is provided 

with satisfactory evidence that the license or certificate was 

issued based on qualifications equal to those required by this 

chapter as of the date the application is received by the board; 

and 2. The license or certificate is in good standing. 

Part VIII 

Qualifications for Registration as a Professional Corporation 

18VAC10-20-510. Definitions. (Repealed.) 

Section 13.1-543 of the Code of Virginia provides the 

definition of the following term:  

Professional Corporation ("P.C.")  

The following words, terms, and phrases when used in this 

part shall have the meanings ascribed to them except where the 

context clearly indicates or requires different meanings:  

"Employee" of a corporation, for purposes of stock 

ownership, is a person regularly employed by the corporation 

who devotes 60% or more of his gainfully employed time to 

that of the corporation.  

"Registration" means a certificate of authority issued by the 

board to transact business in Virginia pursuant to § 13.1-549 

of the Code of Virginia. 

[ 18VAC10-20-515. Registration required . (Repealed.) 

Any professional corporation offering or rendering 

professional services in the Commonwealth of Virginia shall 

register with the board. Professional services shall include 

architecture, engineering, land surveying, landscape 

architecture, or interior design. ] 

18VAC10-20-520. Fee schedule. (Repealed.) 

All fees are nonrefundable and shall not be prorated.  

Application for professional corporation 

registration 

$30 

Application for professional corporation branch 

office registration 

$30 

Renewal of professional corporation registration $25 

Renewal of professional corporation branch office 

registration 

$25 

18VAC10-20-530. Application requirements. (Repealed.) 

A. All applicants shall be incorporated in the Commonwealth 

of Virginia or, if a foreign professional corporation, shall have 

a certificate of authority to conduct business in Virginia from 

the State Corporation Commission in accordance with § 13.1-

544.2 of the Code of Virginia. The corporation shall be in good 

standing with the State Corporation Commission at the time of 

application to the board office and at all times when the board 

registration is in effect. 

B. Each application shall include: 

1. For applicants incorporated in Virginia, the applicant shall 

provide a copy of its articles of incorporation, bylaws, or 

charter, and the certificate of incorporation issued by the 

Virginia State Corporation Commission. 

2. For applicants incorporated in a state other than Virginia, 

the applicant shall provide a copy of its articles of 

incorporation, bylaws, or charter, the certificate of 

incorporation issued by the foreign state of incorporation, 

and the certificate of authority issued by the Virginia State 

Corporation Commission. 
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C. Articles of incorporation or bylaws.  

1. The articles of incorporation or bylaws shall specifically 

state that cumulative voting is prohibited.  

2. The bylaws shall affirmatively state that the professional 

corporation meets the requirements of § 13.1-549 of the 

Code of Virginia. 

3. The bylaws shall state that nonlicensed or noncertified 

individuals will not have a voice or standing in any matter 

affecting the practice of the corporation requiring 

professional expertise, in any matter constituting 

professional practice, or both.  

D. The board of directors shall meet the following 

requirements: 

1. A corporation may not elect to its board of directors more 

than one-third of its members who are employees of the 

corporation and are not authorized to render professional 

services; 

2. At least two-thirds of the board of directors shall be 

licensed to render the services of an architect, professional 

engineer, land surveyor, or landscape architect or be duly 

certified to use the title of certified interior designer, or any 

combination thereof; and 

3. At least one director, currently licensed or certified in each 

profession offered or practiced, shall be resident at the 

business to provide effective supervision and control of the 

final professional product. 

E. Joint ownership of stock. Any type of joint ownership of 

the stock of the corporation is prohibited. Ownership of stock 

by nonlicensed or noncertified employees shall not entitle 

those employees to vote in any matter affecting the practice of 

the professions herein regulated.  

F. The name of the business and any assumed, fictitious, 

trading as, or doing business as names of the firm shall be 

disclosed on the application.  

G. Any branch office offering or rendering professional 

services shall complete a branch office registration application 

from the board. Each branch office shall have a responsible 

person resident at the branch office for each profession offered 

or rendered.  

18VAC10-20-550. Foreign corporations. (Repealed.) 

A. The bylaws shall state that the foreign corporation's 

activities in Virginia shall be limited to rendering the services 

of architects, professional engineers, land surveyors, landscape 

architects, certified interior designers, or any combination 

thereof.  

B. Foreign corporations shall not be required to have two-

thirds of its stockholders be licensed or certified to perform 

professional services in Virginia but must meet all other 

requirements of this chapter. 

C. Foreign corporations shall provide the name, address, and 

Virginia license or certificate number of each stockholder or 

employee of the corporation who will be offering or providing 

the professional services in Virginia. 

18VAC10-20-560. Amendments and changes. (Repealed.) 

A. Amendments to charter, articles of incorporation or 

bylaws. A corporation holding a registration to practice in one 

or in any combination of the professions covered in these 

regulations shall file with the board, within 30 days of its 

adoption, a copy of any amendment to the articles of 

incorporation, bylaws or charter.  

B. Change in directors or shareholders. The following shall 

apply to the board-issued registration upon the event of any 

change in directors or shareholders whether the change is 

temporary or permanent, caused by death, resignation, or 

otherwise: 

1. The professional corporation shall notify the board within 

30 days of any change in its directors or shareholders; 

2. In the event of a change in the corporate directors or 

shareholders, the board-issued registration shall be limited 

to the professional practices permitted by those pertinent 

licenses or certificates held by the remaining directors and 

shareholders of the corporation unless an employee of the 

firm holds the appropriate license or certificate and is 

competent to render such professional services; and 

3. In the event that a change results in the professional 

corporation's noncompliance with the requirements of this 

chapter and applicable statutes relating to ownership of 

capital stock or composition of the board of directors, the 

board-issued registration shall be automatically suspended 

until such time as the corporation comes into compliance 

with this chapter. 

C. Change of name, address and place of business. The 

professional corporation shall notify the board, in writing, 

within 30 days of any of the following changes at each place 

of business: 

1. Any change of name (including assumed names), address, 

place of business in Virginia, or responsible person of the 

profession offered or practiced; and 

2. Any change in the employment status of a licensed or 

certified employee responsible for professional practice. 

Part IX 

Qualifications for Registration as a Professional Limited 

Liability Company 

18VAC10-20-570. Definitions. (Repealed.) 

A. Section 13.1-1102 of the Code of Virginia provides the 

definition of the following term:  

Professional Limited Liability Company ("P.L.C.," "PLC," 

"P.L.L.C.," or "PLLC")  
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B. The following words, terms, and phrases when used in this 

part shall have the meanings ascribed to them except where the 

context clearly indicates or requires different meanings:  

"Manager" is a person or persons designated by the members 

of a limited liability company to manage the professional 

limited liability company as provided in the articles of 

organization or an operating agreement, and who is duly 

licensed or otherwise legally authorized to render one or more 

of the professional services of architects, professional 

engineers, land surveyors, landscape architects, or certified 

interior designers in the Commonwealth of Virginia.  

"Member" means an individual or professional business 

entity that owns an interest in a professional limited liability 

company.  

"Registration" means a certificate of authority issued by the 

board to transact business in Virginia pursuant to § 13.1-1111 

of the Code of Virginia. 

18VAC10-20-575. Registration required. (Repealed.) 

Any professional limited liability company offering or 

rendering professional services in the Commonwealth of 

Virginia shall register with the board. Professional services 

shall include architecture, engineering, land surveying, 

landscape architecture, and interior design.  

18VAC10-20-580. Fee schedule. (Repealed.) 

All fees are nonrefundable and shall not be prorated.  

Application for professional limited liability 

company registration 

$100 

Application for professional limited liability 

company branch office registration 

$50 

Renewal of professional limited liability 

company registration 

$50 

Renewal of professional limited liability 

company branch office registration 

$50 

18VAC10-20-590. Application requirements. (Repealed.) 

A. All applicants shall have a certificate of organization in the 

Commonwealth of Virginia or, if a foreign professional limited 

liability company, shall have a certificate of authority to 

conduct business in Virginia from the State Corporation 

Commission, in accordance with § 13.1-1105 of the Code of 

Virginia. The company shall be in good standing with the State 

Corporation Commission at the time of application to the board 

and at all times when the board registration is in effect.  

B. Each application shall include a copy of the articles of 

organization or operating agreement. Applications shall also 

include additional information as follows: 

1. Applicants organized as a professional limited liability 

company in Virginia shall provide a copy of the certificate 

of organization. 

2. Applicants organized as a professional limited liability 

company in a state other than Virginia shall provide a copy 

of the certificate of authority issued by the Virginia State 

Corporation Commission. 

C. Articles of organization or operating agreement.  

1. The articles of organization or operating agreement shall 

state the specific purpose of the professional limited liability 

company.  

2. The articles of organization or operating agreement shall 

affirmatively state that the professional limited liability 

company meets the requirements of § 13.1-1111 of the Code 

of Virginia. 

3. The articles of organization or operating agreement shall 

attest that all members, managers, employees and agents 

who render professional services of architects, professional 

engineers, land surveyors, or landscape architects, or use the 

title of certified interior designers, are duly licensed or 

certified to provide those services.  

4. The person executing the affidavit shall sign it and state 

beneath his signature his name and the capacity in which he 

signs. If the person signing the affidavit is not a manager of 

the PLLC, the affidavit shall also state that the individual has 

been authorized by the members of the PLLC to execute the 

affidavit for the benefit of the company.  

D. Management of the PLLC. 

1. Pursuant to § 13.1-1118 of the Code of Virginia, unless 

the articles of organization or operating agreement provides 

for management of the PLLC by a manager or managers, 

management shall be vested in its members.  

2. Any manager or member must be licensed to render the 

same professional services within the Commonwealth for 

which the company was formed. These members or 

managers shall be the only members or managers authorized 

to supervise and direct the provision of professional services 

within the Commonwealth.  

3. At least one member or manager currently licensed or 

certified in each profession offered or practiced shall be 

resident at the business to provide effective supervision and 

control of the final professional product. 

E. The name of the business and any assumed, fictitious, 

trading as, or doing business as names of the firm shall be 

disclosed on the application.  

F. Any branch office offering or rendering professional 

services shall complete a branch office registration application 

from the board. Each branch office shall have a resident 

responsible person at the branch office for each profession 

offered or rendered. 
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18VAC10-20-610. Foreign professional limited liability 

companies. (Repealed.) 

A. The articles of organization or operating agreement shall 

state that the PLLC's activities in Virginia shall be limited to 

rendering the professional services of architects, professional 

engineers, land surveyors, landscape architects, certified 

interior designers, or any combination thereof. 

B. The foreign PLLC shall meet every requirement of § 13.1-

1111 of the Code of Virginia except for the requirement that 

two-thirds of its members and managers be licensed or certified 

to perform the professional service in this Commonwealth.  

C. The PLLC shall provide the name, address, and Virginia 

license or certificate number of each manager or member who 

will be providing the professional service(s) in Virginia.  

18VAC10-20-620. Amendments and changes. (Repealed.) 

A. A PLLC holding a registration to practice in any 

combination of the professions covered in these regulations 

shall file with the board a copy of any amendment to the 

articles of organization, operating agreement, or certificate of 

organization within 30 days of its adoption.  

B. Change of managers or members of the PLLC. The 

following shall apply to the board-issued registration upon the 

event of any change in members or managers whether the 

change is temporary or permanent, caused by death, 

resignation, or otherwise: 

1. The PLLC shall notify the board within 30 days of any 

change in its members or managers; 

2. In the event of a change in the members or managers, the 

board-issued registration shall be limited to the professional 

practices consistent with the licenses or certificates held by 

the remaining members or managers of the PLLC unless an 

employee of the firm holds the appropriate license or 

certificate and is competent to render such professional 

services; and 

3. In the event that a change results in the PLLC's 

noncompliance with the requirements of this chapter and 

applicable statutes relating to ownership of the membership 

interests, the board-issued registration shall be automatically 

suspended until such time as the PLLC comes into 

compliance with this chapter. 

C. Change of name, address, or place of business. The PLLC 

shall notify the board, in writing, within 30 days of any of the 

following changes at each place of business: 

1. Any change of name (including assumed names), address, 

place of business in Virginia, or responsible person of the 

profession offered or practiced; and 

2. Any change in the employment status of a licensed or 

certified employee responsible for professional practice. 

Part X Part VIII 

Qualifications for Registration as a Business Entity Other 

Than a Professional Corporation and Professional Limited 

Liability Company 

18VAC10-20-627. Registration required. 

Any business entity, which is not a professional corporation 

or professional limited liability company but is offering or 

practicing architectural, engineering, surveying, landscape 

architectural, or interior design offering or rendering 

professional services in the Commonwealth of Virginia, shall 

register with the board. Professional services shall include 

architecture, engineering, land surveying, landscape 

architecture, or interior design. 

18VAC10-20-630. Fee schedule. 

All fees are nonrefundable and shall not be prorated. 

Application for business entity registration $100 $90 

Application for business entity branch office 

registration 

$50 $45 

Renewal of business entity registration $50 $45 

Renewal of business entity branch office 

registration 

$50 $35 

18VAC10-20-640. Application requirements. 

A. In accordance with § 54.1-411 of the Code of Virginia, any 

entity that is not a PC, PLLC, or sole proprietorship that does 

not employ other individuals for which licensing is required 

shall register with the board. This includes, but is not limited 

to, any corporation, partnership, limited liability company, 

joint ventures, or nonprofit.  

B. Partnerships. Applications for registration as a partnership 

shall include a copy of the partnership agreement, which shall 

state that all professional services of the partnership shall be 

under the direct control and personal supervision of a licensed 

or certified professional. 

C. Limited partnerships. Applications for registration as a 

limited partnership shall include: 

1. A copy of the partnership agreement that shall state that 

all professional services of the limited partnership shall be 

under the direct control and personal supervision of duly 

licensed or certified professionals; and 

2. A copy of the certificate of limited partnership issued by 

the Virginia State Corporation Commission for applicants 

organized in Virginia or, if organized as a foreign limited 

partnership, a certification of registration issued by the 

Virginia State Corporation Commission.  

D. Corporations. Applications for registration as a 

corporation shall include: 
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1. A copy of the articles of incorporation, bylaws, or charter; 

and 

2. A copy of the certificate of incorporation issued by the 

Virginia State Corporation Commission if organized in 

Virginia or, if organized as a foreign corporation, a copy of 

the certificate of authority issued by the Virginia State 

Corporation Commission.  

E. Limited liability companies. Applications for registration 

as a limited liability company shall include a copy of the 

certificate of organization issued by the State Corporation 

Commission if organized in Virginia or, if organized as a 

foreign limited liability company, a copy of the certificate of 

authority issued by the Virginia State Corporation 

Commission.  

F. If architectural, engineering, surveying, landscape 

architectural, or interior design services are offered or rendered 

in a branch office, a separate branch office designation form 

shall be completed for each branch office. Resident responsible 

persons shall be designated for each branch office in 

accordance with this chapter. 

G. The name of the business and any assumed, fictitious, 

trading as, or doing business as names of the firm shall be 

disclosed on the application. 

A. All applicants shall be appropriately credentialed to do 

business in the Commonwealth of Virginia by the State 

Corporation Commission in accordance with the Code of 

Virginia. The business entity shall be in good standing with the 

State Corporation Commission at the time of application to the 

board office, at the time of board approval, and at all times 

when the board registration is in effect. 

B. The name of the business and any assumed, fictitious, 

trading as, or doing business as names of the firm shall be 

disclosed on the application. 

C. Any branch office offering or rendering professional 

services shall complete a branch office registration application 

from the board. Each branch office shall have a responsible 

person resident at the branch office for each professional 

offered or rendered. 

18VAC10-20-650. Registration certification. 

The application shall contain an affidavit by an authorized 

official in the corporation, partnership, sole proprietorship, 

limited liability company, or other business entity unit that the 

practice of architecture, engineering, land surveying, 

landscape architecture, or certified interior design to be done 

by that entity shall be under the direct control and personal 

supervision of the licensed or certified full-time employees or 

licensed or certified resident principals identified in the 

application as responsible persons for the practice. In addition, 

the licensed or certified employees or principals responsible 

for the practice shall sign their names indicating that they are 

responsible persons who are resident, and that they understand 

and shall comply with all statutes and regulations of the board. 

Part XI Part IX 

Renewal and Reinstatement 

18VAC10-20-670. Renewal. 

A. Individuals and organizations Regulants shall not practice 

with an expired license, certificate, or registration. The 

following timeframes shall determine the required fees for 

renewal based on the date the fee is received in the board's 

office: 

1. If the renewal fee is received by the board by the 

expiration date of the license, certificate, or registration, no 

additional fee shall be required to renew. 

2. If the renewal fee is not received by the board within 30 

days following the expiration date of the branch office 

registration, the registration shall be subject to the 

requirements of 18VAC10-20-680. 

3. If the renewal fee is not received by the board within 30 

days following the expiration date of the license, certificate, 

or nonbranch office registration, a $25 late fee shall be 

required in addition to the renewal fee. 

4. If the renewal fee and applicable late fee are not received 

by the board within six months following the expiration date 

of the license, certificate, or nonbranch office registration, 

the reinstatement fee shall be required pursuant to 

18VAC10-20-680. 

B. Upon receipt of the required fee, licenses, certificates, and 

registrations not currently sanctioned by the board shall be 

renewed for a two-year period from their previous expiration 

date. 

C. Branch offices shall not renew or reinstate until the main 

office registration is properly renewed or reinstated. 

D. The board may deny renewal of a license, certificate, or 

registration for the same reasons as it may refuse initial 

licensure, certification, or registration or for the same reasons 

that it may discipline a regulant for noncompliance with the 

standards of practice and conduct as well as the continuing 

education requirements contained in this chapter. The regulant 

has the right to request further review of any such action by the 

board under the Administrative Process Act (§ 2.2-4000 et seq. 

of the Code of Virginia). 

E. By submitting the renewal fee, the regulant is certifying 

continued compliance with the standards of practice and 

conduct as established by the board. In addition, by submitting 

the renewal fee, licensees are certifying their compliance with 

the continuing education requirements as contained in this 

chapter. 

F. Failure to receive a renewal notice shall not relieve the 

regulant of the responsibility to renew. In the absence of a 
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renewal notice, the regulant may submit a copy of the license, 

certificate, or registration with the required fee for renewal. 

G. A license, certificate, or registration that is renewed shall 

be regarded as having been current without interruption and 

under the authority of the board. 

H. Failure to pay any monetary penalty, reimbursement of 

cost, or other fee assessed by consent order or final order shall 

result in a delay or withholding of services provided by the 

department such as, but not limited to, renewal, reinstatement, 

processing a new application, or exam administration. 

18VAC10-20-680. Reinstatement. 

A. Applicants whose license, certificate, or nonbranch main 

office registration has expired for more than six months, and 

applicants whose branch office registration has expired for 

more than 30 days, shall be required to submit a reinstatement 

application, which shall be evaluated by the board to determine 

if the applicant remains qualified to be a regulant of the board. 

B. Applicants whose license or certificate has expired for 

more than five years shall be required to reapply for licensure 

or certification on the initial application and document 

experience from the date of expiration of the license or 

certificate to the present. 

C. The board may require an exam, additional continuing 

education, or experience for architects, professional engineers, 

land surveyors, landscape architects, and interior designers 

whose license or certificate has expired for more than five 

years. 

D. The board may deny reinstatement of a license, certificate, 

or registration for the same reasons as it may refuse initial 

licensure, certification, or registration or for the same reasons 

that it may discipline a regulant for noncompliance with the 

standards of practice and conduct, as well as the continuing 

education requirements, contained in this chapter. The 

applicant has the right to request further review of any such 

action by the board under the Administrative Process Act 

(§ 2.2-4000 et seq. of the Code of Virginia). 

C. E. The date the reinstatement fee is received in the board's 

office shall determine the amount to be paid pursuant to the 

following requirements: 

1. Branch office registrations that have expired for more than 

30 days shall require a reinstatement fee that shall equal the 

renewal fee plus $30. 

2. Licenses, certificates, and nonbranch main office 

registrations that have expired for more than six months, but 

less than five years, shall require a reinstatement fee that 

shall equal the renewal fee plus $100. 

3. Licenses, certificates, and nonbranch main office 

registrations that have expired for more than five years shall 

require a reinstatement fee that shall equal the renewal fee 

plus $250. 

D. Architects, professional engineers, land surveyors, 

surveyor photogrammetrists, and landscape architects applying 

for reinstatement shall provide evidence of compliance with 

the continuing education requirements of this chapter. 

E. The board may require an exam for architects, professional 

engineers, land surveyors, surveyor photogrammetrists, 

landscape architects, and interior designers whose license or 

certificate has expired for more than five years. 

F. Licensees shall remain under the disciplinary authority of 

the board at all times, regardless of whether the license is 

reinstated, pursuant to § 54.1-405 of the Code of Virginia. 

G. A certificate or registration holder who reinstates shall be 

regarded as having been current and without interruption and 

under the authority of the board. 

H. Failure to pay any monetary penalty, reimbursement of 

cost, or other fee assessed by consent order or final order shall 

result in a delay or withholding of services provided by the 

department such as, but not limited to, renewal, reinstatement, 

processing a new application, or exam administration. 

18VAC10-20-683. Continuing education requirements for 

renewal or reinstatement. 

A. Licensees are required to complete 16 hours of continuing 

education (CE) pursuant to the provisions of this section 

§ 54.1-404.2 of the Code of Virginia for any renewal or 

reinstatement. 

B. CE for renewal shall be completed during the two-year 

license period immediately prior to the expiration date of the 

license and shall be valid for that renewal only; additional 

hours over 16 hours shall not be valid for subsequent renewal. 

C. CE for reinstatement shall be completed during the two 

years immediately prior to the date of the board's receipt of a 

reinstatement application and shall be valid for that 

reinstatement only; additional hours over 16 hours shall not be 

valid for subsequent reinstatement renewal. 

D. Licensees shall maintain records of completion of CE used 

to renew a license for three years from the date of expiration of 

the license. Licensees shall provide those records to the board 

or its authorized agents upon request. 

E. CE activities completed by licensees may be accepted by 

the board provided the activity: 

1. Consists of content and subject matter related to the 

practice of the profession; 

2. Has a clear purpose and objective that will maintain, 

improve, or expand the skills and knowledge relevant to the 

licensee's area of practice and may be in areas related to 

business practices, including project management, risk 

management, and ethics, and public health, safety, and 

welfare that have demonstrated relevance to the licensee's 
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area of practice as defined in § 54.1-400 of the Code of 

Virginia; 

3. Is taught by instructors who are competent in the subject 

matter, either by education or experience, for those activities 

involving an interaction with an instructor; 

4. If self-directed, contains an assessment by the sponsor at 

the conclusion of the activity that verifies that the licensee 

has successfully achieved the purpose and objective of the 

activity; and 

5. Results in documentation that verifies the licensee's 

successful completion of the activity. 

F. Computation of credit. 

1. Fifty contact minutes shall equal one hour of CE. For 

activities that consist of segments that are less than 50 

minutes, those segments shall be totaled for computation of 

CE for that activity. 

2. One semester hour of college credit shall equal 15 hours 

of CE and one-quarter hour of college credit shall equal 10 

hours of CE. 

3. The number of hours required to successfully complete 

any CE activity must have been predetermined determined 

by the sponsor. A licensee shall not claim more credit for 

any CE activity than the number of hours that was 

predetermined by the sponsor at the time the activity was 

completed. 

4. CE may be granted for the initial development, substantial 

updating, or the initial teaching of a CE activity that meets 

the requirements of this chapter at twice the amount of credit 

that participants receive. CE claimed pursuant to this 

subdivision shall not be claimed for subsequent offerings of 

the same activity. 

5. A licensee applying for renewal shall not receive credit 

for completing a CE activity with the same content more 

than once during the two years prior to license expiration. 

6. A licensee applying for reinstatement shall not receive 

credit more than once for completing a CE activity with the 

same content during the two years immediately prior to the 

date of the board's receipt of his reinstatement application. 

G. The board may periodically conduct a random audit of its 

licensees who have applied for renewal to determine 

compliance. Licensees who are selected for audit shall provide 

all documentation of all CE activities utilized to renew their 

license within 21 calendar days of the date of the board's 

notification of audit. 

H. If the board determines that CE was not obtained properly 

to renew or reinstate a license, the licensee shall be required to 

make up the deficiency to satisfy the 16-hour CE requirement 

for that license renewal or reinstatement. Any CE activity used 

to satisfy the deficiency shall not be applied to his current 

license CE requirement or any subsequent renewal or 

reinstatement. 

Part XII Part X 

Standards of Practice and Conduct 

18VAC10-20-740. Professional responsibility. 

A. Unless exempt by statute, all architectural, engineering, 

land surveying, landscape architectural, and interior design 

work must be completed by a professional or a person 

performing the work who is under the direct control and 

personal supervision of a professional. 

B. A professional shall be able to clearly define his scope and 

degree of direct control and personal supervision, clearly 

define how it was exercised, and demonstrate that he was 

responsible within that capacity for the work that he has sealed, 

signed, and dated. For the work prepared under his supervision, 

a professional shall: 

1. Have detailed professional knowledge of the work; 

2. Exercise the degree of direct control over work that 

includes: 

a. Having control over decisions on technical matters of 

policy and design; 

b. Personally making professional decisions or the review 

and approval of proposed decisions prior to 

implementation, including the consideration of 

alternatives to be investigated and compared for designed 

work, whenever professional decisions are made that 

could affect the health, safety, and welfare of the public 

involving permanent or temporary work; 

c. The selection or development of design standards and 

materials to be used; and 

d. Determining the validity and applicability of 

recommendations prior to incorporation into the work, 

including the qualifications of those making the 

recommendations; 

3. Have exercised his professional judgment in all 

professional matters that are embodied in the work and the 

drawings, specifications, or other documents involved in the 

work; and 

4. Have exercised critical examination and evaluation of an 

employee's, consultant's, subcontractor's, or project team 

member's work product, during and after preparation, for 

purposes of compliance with applicable laws, codes, 

ordinances, regulations, and usual and customary standards 

of care pertaining to professional practice. 

C. The regulant shall not knowingly associate in a business 

venture with, or permit the use of his name, by any person or 

firm when there is reason to believe that person or firm is 

engaging in activity of a fraudulent or dishonest nature or is 

violating statutes or any of these regulations. 



Regulations 

Volume 37, Issue 24  Virginia Register of Regulations  July 19, 2021  

3719 

D. A regulant who has direct knowledge or reason to believe 

that any individual or firm person may have violated or may 

currently be violating any of these provisions, or the provisions 

of Chapters 7 (§ 13.1-542.1 et seq.) and 13 (§ 13.1-1100 et 

seq.) of Title 13.1 or Chapters 1 (§ 54.1-100 et seq.) through 4 

(§ 54.1-400 et seq.) of Title 54.1 of the Code of Virginia, shall 

immediately inform the board in writing and shall cooperate in 

furnishing any further information or assistance that may be 

required by the board or any of its agents. 

E. Upon request by the board or any of its agents, the regulant 

shall produce any plan, plat, document, sketch, book, record, 

or copy thereof concerning a transaction covered by this 

chapter and shall cooperate in the investigation of a complaint 

filed with the board against a regulant. 

F. Except as authorized by 18VAC10-20-760 A 2, a regulant 

shall not utilize the design, drawings, specifications, or work 

of another regulant to complete or to replicate any work 

without the written consent of the person or organization that 

owns the design, drawings, specifications, or work. 

G. Utilization and modification of work. 

1. A regulant who utilizes the designs, drawings, 

specifications, or work of another regulant pursuant to 

subsection F of this section or 18VAC10-20-760 A 2, or who 

modifies any plats or surveys, shall conduct a thorough 

review of the work to verify that it has been accomplished to 

the same extent that would have been done under the direct 

control and personal supervision of the regulant affixing the 

professional seal, signature, and date. The regulant shall 

assume full responsibility for the utilization of any unsealed 

work or any changes or modifications to previously sealed 

work. 

2. The information contained in recorded plats or surveys 

may be utilized by another regulant without permission. 

Information from recorded plats or surveys may be utilized 

without permission. However, the modification of the actual 

recorded plat or survey is prohibited without written 

permission of the regulant. 

18VAC10-20-750. Good standing. (Repealed.) 

A. A regulant licensed, certified, or registered to practice 

architecture, engineering, land surveying, landscape 

architecture, or interior design in any jurisdiction shall be in 

good standing in every jurisdiction where licensed, certified, 

or registered.  

B. A regulant who has received a reprimand, civil penalty, or 

monetary penalty, or whose license, certificate or registration 

is revoked, suspended, denied, or surrendered as a result of a 

disciplinary action by any jurisdiction, shall notify the board of 

such action within 30 days. 

18VAC10-20-760. Use of seal. 

A. Affixing of a professional seal, signature, and date shall 

indicate that the professional has exercised direct control and 

personal supervision over the work to which it is affixed. 

Affixing of the seal, signature, and date also indicates the 

professional's acceptance of responsibility for the work shown 

thereon. 

1. No professional shall affix a seal, signature, and date or 

certification to a plan, plat, document, sketch, or other work 

plans, plats, documents, drawings, or other works 

constituting the practice of the professions regulated that has 

been prepared by an unlicensed or uncertified person unless 

such work was works were performed under the direct 

control and personal supervision of the professional while 

the unlicensed or uncertified person was an employee of the 

same firm as the professional or was under written contract 

to the same firm that employs the professional. 

2. If the original professional of record is no longer able to 

seal, sign, and date completed professional work, such work 

may be sealed, signed, and dated by another qualified 

professional pursuant to the standards established in 

18VAC10-20-740 G 1. 

B. Documents to be sealed. 

1. All final documents, including original cover sheet of 

plans, plats, documents, sketches, technical reports, and 

specifications, and each original sheet of plans, cover sheet 

of plans, plats, documents, drawings, technical reports, and 

specifications, and each sheet of plans or plats, or drawings 

prepared by the professional, or someone under his direct 

control and personal supervision, shall be sealed, signed, and 

dated by the professional. All final documents shall also bear 

the professional's name or firm name, address, and project 

name. Final documents are completed documents or copies 

submitted on a client's behalf for approval by authorities, for 

construction, or for recordation. 

2. For projects involving multiple sets of plans from multiple 

professionals professional services involved in the same 

project, each professional shall seal, sign, and date the final 

documents for the work component that he completed or that 

was completed under his direct control and personal 

supervision. The professional responsible for the 

compilation of the project shall seal, sign, and date the cover 

sheet of the aggregate collection of final documents for the 

project. 

C. An electronic seal, signature, and date are permitted to be 

used in lieu of an original seal, signature, and date when the 

following criteria, and all other requirements of this section, 

are met: 

1. It is a unique identification of the professional; 

2. It is verifiable; and 
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3. It is under the professional's direct control. 

D. Incomplete plans, plats, documents, and sketches 

drawings, whether advance or preliminary copies, shall be so 

identified on the plan, plat, document, or sketch plans, plats, 

documents, or drawings and need not be sealed, signed, or 

dated. Advance or preliminary copies of incomplete plans, 

plats, documents, and sketches drawings, must be clearly 

identified as not complete but need not be sealed, signed, or 

dated. 

E. All work performed by a professional who is licensed or 

certified by this board, including work that is exempt from 

licensure pursuant to § 54.1-402 of the Code of Virginia, shall 

be sealed, signed, and dated pursuant to subsection B of this 

section. 

F. The original seal shall conform in detail and size to the 

design illustrated below in this subsection and shall be two 

inches in diameter. The designs below illustrated may not be 

shown to scale: 

  
 

   

 

  

*The number referred to is the last six-digit number as shown on 

the license or certificate. The number is permanent. Leading zeros 

contained in the six-digit number may be omitted from the seal. 

18VAC10-20-790. Sanctions. 

A license, certificate, or registration shall not be sanctioned 

unless a majority of the eligible voting members of the entire 

board vote for the action. The board may discipline or sanction 

any regulant if the board finds that: 

1. The regulant failed to maintain good moral character 

pursuant to the definition in 18VAC10-20-10; 

2. The license, certification, or registration was obtained or 

renewed through fraud or misrepresentation; 

3. The regulant has been found guilty by the board, or by a 

court of competent jurisdiction, of any material 

misrepresentation in the course of professional practice, or 

has been convicted, pleaded guilty, or has been found guilty, 

regardless of adjudication or deferred adjudication, of any 

felony or misdemeanor that, in the judgment of the board, 

adversely affects the regulant's ability to perform 

satisfactorily within the regulated discipline. Any plea of 

nolo contendere shall be considered a conviction for the 

purposes of this chapter. The board shall review the 

conviction pursuant to the provisions of § 54.1-204 of the 

Code of Virginia; 

4. The regulant is guilty of has committed acts constituting 

professional incompetence, negligence, or gross negligence; 

5. The regulant has abused drugs or alcohol to the extent that 

professional competence is adversely affected; 

6. The regulant fails to comply, or misrepresents any 

information pertaining to their compliance, with any of the 

continuing education requirements as contained in this 

chapter; 

7. The regulant violates any standard of practice and conduct 

as defined in this chapter; or 

8. The regulant violates or induces others to violate any 

provision of Chapters 7 (§ 13.1-542.1 et seq.) and 13 (§ 13.1-

1100 et seq.) of Title 13.1 or Chapters 1 (§ 54.1-100 et seq.) 

through 4 (§ 54.1-400 et seq.) of Title 54.1 of the Code of 

Virginia, or any other statute applicable to the practice of the 

professions regulated by this chapter.; 

9. The regulant has been disciplined by any county, city, 

town, state, or federal governing body. For purposes of this 

section "discipline" means reprimand; civil or monetary 

penalty; probation, suspension, or revocation of a license; or 

cease and desist order. The board will review such discipline 

before taking any disciplinary action of its own; or 

10. The regulant fails to notify the board within 30 days of 

having been disciplined by any county, city, town, state, or 

federal governing body as stipulated in subdivision 9 of this 

section. 

18VAC10-20-795. Change of address. 

All regulants shall notify the board in writing of any change 

of address of a change of mailing address on the designated 

address change form within 30 days of making the change. 

When submitting a change of address, regulants holding more 

than one license, certificate, or registration shall inform the 

board of each affected by the change. A post office box will 

not be accepted in lieu of a physical address. 
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NOTICE: The following forms used in administering the 

regulation have been filed by the agency. Amended or added 

forms are reflected in the listing and are published following 

the listing. Online users of this issue of the Virginia Register 

of Regulations may also click on the name to access a form. 

The forms are also available from the agency contact or may 

be viewed at the Office of Registrar of Regulations, 900 East 

Main Street, 11th Floor, Richmond, Virginia 23219. 

FORMS 

License/Certificate Renewal Form (Architect, Professional 

Engineer, Land Surveyor, Surveyor Photogrammetrist, 

Landscape Architect, Interior Designer), A415-04REN-v1 

(eff. 10/2011) 

Architect License Application (Architect Information Sheet), 

0401LIC (rev. 4/2012) 

Architect License Application, 0401LIC_2018, (rev. 7/2018) 

Verification of Architect Examination & Licensure Form, 

0401ELV (rev. 4/2012) 

Architect Experience Verification Form, 0401EXP (rev. 

4/2012) 

Architect Experience Verification Form, 0401LIC_2018, 

(rev. 7/2018) 

Architect Client Experience Verification Form, 0401CEXP 

(rev. 4/2012) 

Architect Degree Verification Form, 0401DEG (rev. 4/2012) 

Architect Reference Form, A416-0401REF-v1 (eff. 1/2016) 

Architect License Reinstatement Application, 0401REI (rev. 

4/2012) 

Professional Engineer License Application (Professional 

Engineer Information Sheet), 0402LIC (rev. 4/2012) 

Professional Engineer Reference Form, A416-0402REF-v1 

(eff. 1/2016) 

Professional Engineer License Reinstatement Application, 

0402REI (rev. 4/2012) 

Architect Reference Form, 0401REF_2018, (rev. 7/2018) 

Architect License Reinstatement Application, 

0401REI_2018, (rev. 7/2018) 

Professional Engineer License Application, 0402LIC_2018, 

(rev. 7/2018) 

Professional Engineer Reference Form, 0402REF_2018, (rev. 

7/2018) 

Professional Engineer License Reinstatement Application, 

0402REI_2018, (rev. 7/2018) 

Professional Engineer & Engineer-in-Training Degree 

Verification Form, 0402_20DEG (rev. 4/2012) 

Professional Engineer & Engineer-in-Training Experience 

Verification Form, A416-0402_20EXP-v1 (eff. 11/2013) 

Professional Engineer & Engineer-in-Training Experience 

Verification Form, 0402_20EXP_2018, (rev. 7/2018) 

Engineer Verification of Examination and Licensure Form, 

0402_20ELV (rev. 4/2012) 

Engineer-in-Training Designation Application, (Engineer-in-

Training Information Sheet) A416-0420DES-v2 (rev. 

12/2013) 

Engineer-In-Training Reference Form, A416-0420REF-v1 

(eff. 1/2016) 

Engineer-in-Training Designation Application, 

0420DES_2018, (rev. 7/2018) 

Engineer-in-Training Reference Form, 0420REF_2018, (rev. 

7/2018) 

Course Requirements for Engineering Technology Program, 

0402CREQ (rev. 4/2012) 

Land Surveyor License Application (Land Surveyor 

Information Sheet), 0403LIC (rev. 4/2012) 

Land Surveyor License Reinstatement Application, 0403REI 

(rev. 4/2012) 

Land Surveyor B License Reinstatement Application, 

0404REI (rev. 4/2012) 

Land Surveyor B License Application (Land Surveyor B 

Information Sheet), 0404LIC (rev. 4/2012) 

Land Surveyor License Application, 0403LIC_2018, (rev. 

7/2018) 

Land Surveyor License Reinstatement Application, 

0403REI_2018, (rev. 7/2018)  

Land Surveyor B License Application, 0404LIC_2018, (rev. 

7/2018) 

Land Surveyor B License Reinstatement Application, 

0404REI_2018, (rev. 7/2018) 

Land Surveyor & Surveyor-in-Training Degree Verification 

Form, 0403_30DEG (rev. 4/2012) 

Land Surveyor Verification of Examination and Licensure 

Form, 0403_30ELV (rev. 4/2012) 

Land Surveyor & Surveyor-in-Training Experience 

Verification Form, 0403_30EXP (rev. 4/2012) 

Surveyor Photogrammetrist License Application (Surveyor 

Photogrammetrist Information Sheet), 0408LIC (rev. 4/2012) 

Surveyor Photogrammetrist Reference Form, 0408REF (rev. 

9/2014) 

Surveyor Photogrammetrist Experience Verification Form, 

0408EXP (rev. 4/2012) 

http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=bf9d5002357~10&typ=40&actno=002357&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=bf9d5002357~10&typ=40&actno=002357&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=bf9d5002357~10&typ=40&actno=002357&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=bf9d5002357~10&typ=40&actno=002357&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=b9bf5005025~3f.pdf&typ=40&actno=005025&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=075a5002357~4&typ=40&actno=002357&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=075a5002357~4&typ=40&actno=002357&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=8ed36005025~4f.pdf&typ=40&actno=005025&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=8ed36005025~4f.pdf&typ=40&actno=005025&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=dfc4f002357~6&typ=40&actno=002357&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=dfc4f002357~6&typ=40&actno=002357&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=31171002357~7&typ=40&actno=002357&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=f5f3f005025~5f.pdf&typ=40&actno=005025&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=bdf00005025~6f.pdf&typ=40&actno=005025&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=bdf00005025~6f.pdf&typ=40&actno=005025&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=00313005025~7f.pdf&typ=40&actno=005025&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=00313005025~7f.pdf&typ=40&actno=005025&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=707b4005025~9f.pdf&typ=40&actno=005025&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=707b4005025~9f.pdf&typ=40&actno=005025&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=ff1fd005025~12f.pdf&typ=40&actno=005025&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=ff1fd005025~12f.pdf&typ=40&actno=005025&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=42f39002357~15&typ=40&actno=002357&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=42f39002357~15&typ=40&actno=002357&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=8bd9b005025~11f.pdf&typ=40&actno=005025&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=8bd9b005025~11f.pdf&typ=40&actno=005025&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=e5425002357~17&typ=40&actno=002357&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=e5425002357~17&typ=40&actno=002357&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=ea28b005025~8f.pdf&typ=40&actno=005025&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=ea28b005025~8f.pdf&typ=40&actno=005025&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=71f7a005025~10f.pdf&typ=40&actno=005025&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=71f7a005025~10f.pdf&typ=40&actno=005025&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=71e85002357~20&typ=40&actno=002357&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=71e85002357~20&typ=40&actno=002357&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=2d709005025~13f.pdf&typ=40&actno=005025&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=2d709005025~13f.pdf&typ=40&actno=005025&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=28d73005025~16f.pdf&typ=40&actno=005025&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=28d73005025~16f.pdf&typ=40&actno=005025&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=d07c3005025~28f.pdf&typ=40&actno=005025&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=d07c3005025~28f.pdf&typ=40&actno=005025&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=b8cf4005025~17f.pdf&typ=40&actno=005025&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=b8cf4005025~17f.pdf&typ=40&actno=005025&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=a1192002357~27&typ=40&actno=002357&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=a1192002357~27&typ=40&actno=002357&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=c5f23002357~28&typ=40&actno=002357&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=c5f23002357~28&typ=40&actno=002357&mime=application/pdf
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Surveyor Photogrammetrist License Reinstatement 

Application, 0408REI (rev. 4/2012) 

Land Surveyor & Surveyor-in-Training Experience 

Verification Form, 0403_30EXP_2018, (rev. 7/2018) 

Surveyor Photogrammetrist License Application, 

0408LIC_2018, (rev. 7/2018) 

Surveyor Photogrammetrist Reference Form, 

0408REF_2018, (rev. 7/2018) 

Surveyor Photogrammetrist Experience Verification Form, 

0408EXP_2018, (rev. 7/2018) 

Surveyor Photogrammetrist License Reinstatement 

Application, 0408REI_2018, (rev. 7/2018) 

Surveyor Photogrammetrist Degree Verification Form, 

0408DEG (rev. 4/2012) 

Surveyor Photogrammetrist Verification of Examination and 

Licensure Form, 0408elvf (eff. 4/2012) 

Surveyor-In-Training Designation Application (Surveyor-in-

Training Information Sheet), A416-0430DES-v3 (rev. 

12/2013)  

Landscape Architect License Application (Landscape 

Architect Information Sheet), 0406LIC (rev. 9/2014)  

Landscape Architect Reference Form, A416-0406REF-v1 

(eff. 1/2016) 

Surveyor-in-Training Designation Application, 

0430DES_2018, (rev. 7/2018) 

Landscape Architect License Application, 0406LIC_2018, 

(rev. 7/2018) 

Landscape Architects Reference Form, 0406REF_2018, (rev. 

7/2018) 

Verification of Landscape Architect Examination and 

Licensure Form, 0406ELV (rev. 4/2012) 

Landscape Architect Experience Verification Form for 

Examination and Comity Applicants, 0406EXP (rev. 4/2012) 

Landscape Architect Degree Verification Form, 0406DEG 

(rev. 4/2012) 

Landscape Architect License Reinstatement Application, 

0406REI (rev. 4/2012) 

Interior Designer Certificate Application, (Interior Designer 

Information Sheet) 0412CERT (rev. 4/2012) 

Landscape Architect License Reinstatement Application, 

0406REI_2018, (rev. 7/2018) 

Interior Designer Certificate Application, 0412CERT_2018, 

(rev. 7/2018) 

Verification of Interior Designer Examination and 

Certification Form, 0412ELV (rev. 4/2012) 

Interior Designer Degree Verification Form, 0412DEG (rev. 

4/2012) 

Interior Designer Experience Verification Form, 0412EXP 

(rev. 4/2012) 

Interior Designer Certificate Reinstatement Application, 

0412REI (rev. 4/2012)  

Interior Designer Experience Verification Form, 

0412EXP_2018, (rev. 7/2018) 

Interior Designer Certificate Reinstatement Application, 

0412REI_2018, (rev. 7/2018) 

Professional Corporation Registration Application 

(Professional Corporation Information Sheet), 04PCREG (rev. 

4/2012) 

Professional Corporation Branch Office Registration 

Application, 04BRPCREG (rev. 4/2012) 

Business Entity Registration Application (Business Entity 

Information Sheet) 04BUSREG, (rev. 4/2012)  

Business Entity Branch Office Registration Application, 

04BRBUSREG (rev. 4/2012) 

Business Entity Registration Application (Business Entity 

Information Sheet) 04BUSREG_2018, (rev. 7/2018) 

Business Entity Branch Office Registration Application, 

04BRBUSREG_2018, (rev. 7/2018) 

Professional Limited Liability Company Registration 

Application (Professional Limited Liability Company 

Information Sheet) 04PLCREG (rev. 4/2012) 

Professional Limited Liability Company Branch Office 

Registration Application, 04BRPLCREG (rev. 4/2012) 

Criminal Conviction Reporting Form, A406-01CCR-v1 (eff. 

5/2015) 

Disciplinary Action Reporting Form, A406-01DAR-v1 (eff. 

5/2015) 

Criminal Conviction - Supplemental Form, Requesting an 

Informal Fact Finding (IFF) Conference, A713-01IFF-v1 (eff. 

1/2016) 

VA.R. Doc. No. R17-5025; Filed June 22, 2021, 5:50 p.m. 

COMMON INTEREST COMMUNITY BOARD 

Final Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC48-60. Common Interest 

Community Board Management Information Fund 

Regulations (amending 18VAC48-60-13, 18VAC48-60-17, 

18VAC48-60-60; adding 18VAC48-60-14, 18VAC48-60-15, 

18VAC48-60-25, 18VAC48-60-55; repealing 18VAC48-60-

20, 18VAC48-60-30, 18VAC48-60-40, 18VAC48-60-50). 

Statutory Authority: § 54.1-2349 of the Code of Virginia. 

http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=96b98005025~15f.pdf&typ=40&actno=005025&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=96b98005025~15f.pdf&typ=40&actno=005025&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=fa367005025~21f.pdf&typ=40&actno=005025&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=fa367005025~21f.pdf&typ=40&actno=005025&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=4654a005025~23f.pdf&typ=40&actno=005025&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=4654a005025~23f.pdf&typ=40&actno=005025&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=b1d7a005025~22f.pdf&typ=40&actno=005025&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=b1d7a005025~22f.pdf&typ=40&actno=005025&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=2de0b005025~24f.pdf&typ=40&actno=005025&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=2de0b005025~24f.pdf&typ=40&actno=005025&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=b3c87002357~36&typ=40&actno=002357&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=b3c87002357~36&typ=40&actno=002357&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=f57bf002357~37&typ=40&actno=002357&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=f57bf002357~37&typ=40&actno=002357&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=538f2005025~14f.pdf&typ=40&actno=005025&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=538f2005025~14f.pdf&typ=40&actno=005025&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=e7597005025~18f.pdf&typ=40&actno=005025&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=e7597005025~18f.pdf&typ=40&actno=005025&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=535ec005025~19f.pdf&typ=40&actno=005025&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=535ec005025~19f.pdf&typ=40&actno=005025&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=ada08002357~40&typ=40&actno=002357&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=ada08002357~40&typ=40&actno=002357&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=eaf95002357~41&typ=40&actno=002357&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=eaf95002357~41&typ=40&actno=002357&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=bb81d002357~42&typ=40&actno=002357&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=bb81d002357~42&typ=40&actno=002357&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=e049b005025~20f.pdf&typ=40&actno=005025&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=e049b005025~20f.pdf&typ=40&actno=005025&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=15af8005025~25f.pdf&typ=40&actno=005025&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=15af8005025~25f.pdf&typ=40&actno=005025&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=a21da002357~46&typ=40&actno=002357&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=a21da002357~46&typ=40&actno=002357&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=8c142002357~47&typ=40&actno=002357&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=8c142002357~47&typ=40&actno=002357&mime=application/pdf
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Effective Date: September 1, 2021. 

Agency Contact: Trisha L. Lindsey, Executive Director, 

Common Interest Community Board, 9960 Mayland Drive, 

Suite 400, Richmond, VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-8510, 

FAX (866) 490-2723, or email cic@dpor.virginia.gov. 

Summary:  

The amendments (i) add several definitions; (ii) add a new 

section that comprehensively outlines association 

registration requirements, including penalties for failing to 

comply; (iii) consolidate the provisions of several existing 

sections regarding registration timeframes into a single 

section; (iv) remove language indicating that associations 

may submit the State Corporation Commission annual 

report in lieu of an annual report form to the board; and (v) 

establish procedures for renewal of a registration, including 

a one-year timeframe.  

Chapter 60 

Common Interest Community Board Management 

Information Fund Association Registration Regulations 

18VAC48-60-13. Definitions. 

[ The following words and terms when used in this chapter 

shall have the following meanings unless the context clearly 

indicates otherwise: ]  

"Annual report" means the proper filing with the board of a 

completed, board-prescribed form submitted with the 

appropriate fee, and other required documentation for 

registration or renewal of an association. 

"Association" means the same as the term is defined in § 54.1-

2345 of the Code of Virginia. 

"Board" [ shall have the meaning means the same as the term 

is ] defined in § 54.1-2345 of the Code of Virginia. 

"Common interest community" [ shall have the meaning 

means the same as the term is ] defined in § 54.1-2345 of the 

Code of Virginia. 

"Contact person" means the individual designated by an 

association to receive communications and notices from the 

board on behalf of the association. 

"Governing board" means the same as the term is defined in 

§ 54.1-2345 of the Code of Virginia. 

"Property owners' association" [ shall have the meaning 

means the same as the term is ] defined in § 55.1-1800 of the 

Code of Virginia. 

[ "Proprietary lessees' association" means the same as the 

term is defined in § 55.1-2100 of the Code of Virginia. ]  

"Registration" means the proper filing of an annual report 

with the board by an association and issuance of a certificate 

of filing by the board to an association in accordance with 

§ 54.1-2349 A 8 of the Code of Virginia. 

"Renew" means the process of filing an annual report with the 

board for continuance of a registration.  

18VAC48-60-14. Association registration, generally.  

A. Within the meaning and intent of § 54.1-2349 A 8 of the 

Code of Virginia, an association is registered upon acceptance 

by the board of an annual report and issuance of a certificate of 

filing by the board in accordance with 18VAC48-60-15 and 

18VAC48-60-17. 

B. In accordance with §§ 55.1-1808 and 55.1-1990 of the 

Code of Virginia, for [ any condominium unit owners' an ] 

association [ governing a condominium ] or [ for any ] property 

owners' association that does not have a current registration 

with the board in accordance with §§ 55.1-1835 and 55.1-1980 

of the Code of Virginia, the disclosure packet or resale 

certificate, as applicable, is deemed not available. 

C. A property owners' association that is not (i) registered 

with the board, (ii) current in filing the most recent annual 

report with the board, and (iii) current in paying any 

assessment made by the board pursuant to § 54.1-2354.5 of the 

Code of Virginia is prohibited from collecting fees for 

disclosure packets authorized by §§ 55.1-1810 and 55.1-1811 

of the Code of Virginia. 

D. In accordance with §§ 54.1-2351 and 54.1-2352 of the 

Code of Virginia, the board may take action against the 

governing board of an association that fails to register in 

accordance with this chapter, which action may include 

issuance of a cease and desist order and an affirmative order to 

file an annual report or assessment of a monetary penalty of 

not more than $1,000. 

18VAC48-60-15. Timeframe for association registration 

and annual report.  

A. Within 30 days after the date of termination of the 

declarant control period, [ a condominium unit owners' an ] 

association [ governing a condominium ] shall register with the 

board by filing the annual report required by § 55.1-1980 of 

the Code of Virginia and shall file an annual report every year 

thereafter. 

B. Within 30 days after the date of termination of the 

declarant control period, a proprietary lessees' association shall 

register with the board by filing the annual report required by 

§ 55.1-2182 of the Code of Virginia and shall file an annual 

report every year thereafter. 

C. Within the meaning and intent of § 55.1-1835 of the Code 

of Virginia, a property owners' association shall register with 

the board by filing an annual report within 30 days of 

recordation of the declaration and shall file an annual report 

every year thereafter. 



Regulations 

Volume 37, Issue 24  Virginia Register of Regulations  July 19, 2021  

3724 

18VAC48-60-17. Association registration expiration and 

renewal. 

A. An association registration shall expire one year from the 

last day of the month in which it was issued or renewed. 

B. Prior to the expiration date on the registration, the board 

shall mail a renewal notice to the registered association's 

contact person named in the board's records. Failure to receive 

a renewal notice from the board does not relieve the association 

of the obligation to renew by filing the annual report with the 

applicable fee. 

C. Each association shall renew its registration by filing an 

annual report with the board. A registration shall be renewed 

and considered current upon submittal to receipt and 

processing by the board office of the completed annual report 

and applicable fees along with the renewal fee pursuant to 

18VAC48-60-60. An association shall notify the board office, 

in writing, within 30 days of any of the following: 

1. Change of address; 

2. Change of members of the governing board; and 

3. Any other changes in information that was reported on the 

association's previous annual report filing. 

D. An association that does not renew registration within 12 

months after expiration of the registration may not renew and 

must submit a new common interest community association 

registration application by filing the annual report and 

applicable registration fee. 

E. The governing board of an association that fails to comply 

with registration requirements in this chapter may be subject to 

action by the board in accordance with 18VAC48-60-14 D. 

18VAC48-60-20. Annual report by association. (Repealed.) 

Each association annual report shall be on the form 

designated by the board or shall be a copy of the annual report 

filed with the State Corporation Commission. Such report shall 

be accompanied by the fee established by this chapter. 

18VAC48-60-25. Maintenance of registration.  

An association shall notify the board office, in writing, within 

30 days of any of the following: 

1. Change of address of contact person; 

2. Change of members of the governing board; and 

3. Any other changes in information reported on the 

association's annual report. 

18VAC48-60-30. Annual report by condominium 

association. (Repealed.) 

Within 30 days after the date of termination of the declarant 

control period, and every year thereafter, an association shall 

file an annual report with the board. 

18VAC48-60-40. Annual report by cooperative association. 

(Repealed.) 

Within 30 days after the date of termination of the declarant 

control period, and every year thereafter, an association shall 

file an annual report with the board. 

18VAC48-60-50. Annual report by property owners' 

association. (Repealed.) 

Within the meaning and intent of § 55.1-1835 of the Code of 

Virginia, within 30 days of the creation of the association, and 

every year thereafter, the association shall file an annual report 

with the board. 

18VAC48-60-55. Fees, generally.  

All fees are nonrefundable and shall not be prorated. The date 

on which the fee is received by the board or its agent will 

determine whether the fee is on time. Checks or money orders 

shall be made payable to the Treasurer of Virginia.  

18VAC48-60-60. Registration fee and renewal fees. 

[ A. ] The following fee schedule is based upon the size of 

number of lots or units subject to the declaration for each 

residential common interest community association. The 

application fee is different than the annual renewal fee. All fees 

are nonrefundable. [ Each association filing its first annual 

report shall also pay the assessment required by § 54.1-2354.5 

B of the Code of Virginia. ]  

Number of 

Lots/Units Lots or 

Units 

Application 

Registration Fee 
Renewal Fee 

1 - 50 $45 $30 

51 - 100 $65 $50 

101 - 200 $100 $80 

201 - 500 $135 $115 

501 - 1000 $145 $130 

1001 - 5000 $165 $150 

5001%2B $180 $170 

The application fee for registration [ B. Notwithstanding 

subsection A of this section, the registration and renewal fee 

of ] a residential common interest community [ an association 

received on or before June 30, 2020, shall be $10 regardless of 

size the number of lots or units subject to the declaration. ] For 

annual renewal of a residential common interest community 

registration received on or before June 30, 2020, the fee shall 

be $10 regardless of size. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R19-5532; Filed June 23, 2021, 4:55 p.m. 
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BOARD FOR CONTRACTORS 

Proposed Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC50-22. Board for Contractors 

Regulations (amending 18VAC50-22-30 through 

18VAC50-22-60). 

Statutory Authority: § 54.1-201 of the Code of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: 

July 28, 2021 - noon - Department of Professional and 

Occupational Regulation, Perimeter Center, 9960 

Mayland Drive, Suite 200, Board Room 3, Richmond, 

Virginia 23233 

Public Comment Deadline: September 17, 2021. 

Agency Contact: Eric L. Olson, Executive Director, Board for 

Contractors, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 400, Richmond, VA 

23233, telephone (804) 367-2785, FAX (866) 430-1033, or 

email contractors@dpor.virginia.gov. 

Basis: Section 54.1-1102 A of the Code of Virginia provides 

the Board for Contractors with the authority to promulgate 

regulations not inconsistent with the statute necessary for the 

licensure of contractors. 

Purpose: The Board for Waterworks and Wastewater Works 

Operators and Onsite Sewage System Professionals 

(WWWOOSSP) currently issues journeyman and master level 

licenses to individuals that install conventional and alternative 

onsite sewage systems, which are defined in the regulations. 

The two types of systems are inherently different and require a 

different skill level to install. The Board for Contractors 

currently issues licenses to contractor businesses that includes 

the sewage disposal system contracting specialty (SDS). This 

specialty does not identify whether the contractor is licensed to 

install conventional or alternative systems, which can be 

confusing to consumers. Additionally, in order to obtain the 

SDS specialty on its license a contractor business must have a 

qualified individual who holds either a conventional or 

alternative installer license from WWWOOSSP with both 

being acceptable. Since the Board for Contractors does not 

differentiate between the two types of systems with the current 

licensing scheme, a contractor that is not properly licensed 

with WWWOOSSP to install an alternative system would not 

be in violation of this regulation for working outside the scope 

of that contractor's license. This is not only confusing to 

consumers but could lead to harm from both a health 

standpoint and an economic standpoint. The proposed 

amendments to this regulation would split the current specialty 

into two categories that match the current licensing 

requirements of WWWOOSSP. This would eliminate 

confusion regarding the type of system installation the license 

allowed and could eliminate harm done by improperly licensed 

contractors. 

Substance: The amendments eliminate the definition of 

"sewage disposal system contracting" and create two new 

specialties: Alternative Sewage Disposal System Contracting 

and Conventional Sewage Disposal System Contracting. The 

requirements sections for the license classes are also amended 

to further clarify the requirements for the qualified individual. 

Issues: The primary advantage for the public is that contractors 

who are not properly licensed with WWWOOSSP would not 

hold a specialty they are not licensed to perform. Individuals 

and companies that do not meet the qualifications would be 

required to obtain the appropriate license from WWWOOSP, 

master conventional or alternative installer license, and then 

add the corresponding specialty to the contractor license. The 

only disadvantage to the public, private citizens, or businesses 

is the fact that individuals or businesses may be required to 

meet additional eligibility criteria with WWWOOSSP if both 

specialties are required. 

Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 

Analysis: 

The Board for Contractors proposes to replace the existing 

Sewage Disposal Systems Contracting specialty in the 

18VAC50-22, Board for Contractors Regulations, with two 

new specialties: Alternative Sewage Disposal System 

Contracting and Conventional Sewage Disposal System 

Contracting. 

Background: 

Current: The Department of Professional and Occupational 

Regulation (DPOR) notes that conventional and alternative 

onsite sewage systems are inherently different and require a 

different skill level to install.1 Simply put, a conventional 

system uses one or more septic tanks and results in a point 

source discharge via a drainfield.2 An alternative system uses 

a different approach and does not result in a point source 

discharge. 

The current 18VAC50-22, Board for Contractors Regulations, 

do not distinguish between conventional and alternative 

sewage disposal systems. This regulation currently defines 

"Sewage disposal systems contracting" (SDS) as "the service 

that provides for the installation, repair, improvement, or 

removal of septic tanks, septic systems, and other onsite 

sewage disposal systems annexed to real property." The 

qualified individual of a licensed contractor holding the SDS 

specialty must hold a master onsite sewage system installer 

license, issued by the Board for Waterworks and Wastewater 

Works Operators and Onsite Sewage System Professionals 

(WWWOOSSP), in order for the company to qualify for the 

specialty on its license, and to legally perform SDS contracting 

work. 

In contrast, WWWOOSSP does distinguish between 

conventional and alternative sewage disposal systems. The 

18VAC160-40, Onsite Sewage System Professionals 

Licensing Regulations, have separate journeyman and master 

licenses for both conventional and alternative sewage disposal 

systems. However, since the Board for Contractors current 

licensing approach does not differentiate between the two 

types of systems, a contractor whose qualified individual only 

had a master conventional onsite sewage system installer 
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license but performed alternative sewage disposal system work 

would not violate the Board for Contractors Regulations. 

Proposed: The Board for Contractors proposes to align the 

Board for Contractors Regulations with the Onsite Sewage 

System Professionals Licensing Regulations by replacing the 

existing SDS contracting specialty with separate conventional 

and alternative specialties. Accordingly, the Board for 

Contractors proposes to eliminate SDS from 18VAC50-22-30, 

Definitions of specialty services, and add definitions for 

"Conventional sewage disposal system contracting" (CDS) and 

"Alternative sewage disposal system contracting" (ADS). CDS 

would be defined as: "The service that provides for the 

installation, repair, improvement, or removal of a treatment 

works consisting of one or more septic tanks with gravity, 

pumped, or siphoned conveyance to a gravity distributed 

subsurface drainfield. The ADS specialty may also perform 

this work." 

ADS would be defined as: "The service that provides for the 

installation, repair, improvement, or removal of a treatment 

works that is not a conventional onsite sewage system and does 

not result in a point source discharge. No other classification 

or specialty service provides this function." 

Also, in 18VAC50-22-40, Requirements for a Class C license; 

18VAC50-22-50, Requirements for a Class B license; and 

18VAC50-22-60 Requirements for a Class A license, the 

Board for Contractors proposes to specify that the firm's 

qualified individual: "Has obtained, pursuant to the Onsite 

Sewage System Professionals Licensing Regulations, a master 

conventional onsite sewage system installer license for 

Conventional Sewage Disposal System Contracting and a 

master alternative onsite sewage system installer license for 

Alternative Sewage Disposal System Contracting." 

Thus, under the proposed Board for Contractors Regulations, 

the qualified individual must have a master alternative onsite 

sewage system installer license in order for a contractor to 

perform alternative sewage disposal system work. 

Estimated Benefits and Costs. An improperly installed or 

maintained sewage disposal system can potentially harm 

public health and the environment. The most serious 

documented problems involve contamination of surface waters 

and ground water with disease-causing pathogens and nitrates. 

Other problems include excessive nitrogen discharges to 

sensitive coastal waters and phosphorus pollution of inland 

surface waters, which increases algal growth and lowers 

dissolved oxygen levels. Contamination of important shellfish 

beds and swimming beaches by pathogens is a concern in some 

coastal regions.3 

According to DPOR, the examination required for the master 

conventional onsite sewage system installer license does not 

cover the more complex attributes of alternative onsite sewage 

systems. As indicated, under the current regulation a contractor 

whose qualified individual only has a master conventional 

onsite sewage system installer license would not violate the 

Board for Contractors Regulations for performing alternative 

sewage disposal system work. 

The proposal to only permit contractors with a qualified 

individual who has obtained a master alternative onsite sewage 

system installer license to conduct alternative sewage disposal 

system contracting would likely reduce the frequency that 

alternative sewage disposal systems are improperly installed or 

serviced. In order to obtain a master alternative onsite sewage 

system installer license, the applicant must demonstrate 

extensive subject-specific knowledge of alternative systems 

through passing the master alternative onsite sewage system 

installer examination. Thus, by limiting alternative onsite 

sewage system work to those firms with a qualified individual 

who has demonstrated sufficient knowledge through exam, the 

proposal would likely be beneficial for public health and the 

environment. 

Contractors that already have a qualified individual with a 

master alternative onsite sewage system installer license 

would, initially at least, benefit through reduced competition 

for alternative sewage disposal system work from firms whose 

qualified individual only has a master conventional onsite 

sewage system installer license. The latter firms would be 

worse off in that they would no longer be permitted to offer 

alternative sewage disposal system services, at least until their 

qualified individual has earned the master alternative onsite 

sewage system installer license or they hire someone who 

already possesses the license. 

In order to obtain the master alternative onsite sewage system 

installer license, the applicant must: pay the exam fee 

(currently $80), pass the examination, have sufficient 

experience,4 potentially receive 20 hours of training,5 and fill 

out the application and pay the $100 application fee. Under the 

proposed Board for Contractors Regulations, the contractor 

would pay a $110 application fee for ADS specialty 

designation. 

Businesses and Other Entities Affected. The proposed 

amendments affect the 494 licensed contractors with the SDS 

specialty, people who hire sewage disposal systems 

contractors, and the general public in that public health and the 

environment may be affected. It is not known how many of the 

494 licensed contractors with the SDS specialty do not have a 

qualified individual with a master alternative onsite sewage 

system installer license, but since there are only 279 master 

alternative installers licensed by WWWOOSSP, at least 215 of 

these firms would no longer be able to do alternative sewage 

disposal system work without violating the Board for 

Contractors Regulations; that is until their qualified individual 

has earned the master alternative onsite sewage system 

installer license or they hire someone who already possesses 

the license.6 

Adverse impact is indicated if there is any increase in net cost 

or reduction in net revenue for any entity, even if the benefits 

exceed the costs for all entities combined. Since there would 
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likely be, initially at least, net reduced revenue for some 

contractors, an adverse impact is indicated. 

Small Businesses7 Affected: Types and Estimated Number of 

Small Businesses Affected 

The proposed amendments potentially affect the 494 licensed 

contractors with the SDS specialty. DPOR believes most of the 

494 licensed contractors with the SDS specialty would qualify 

as small businesses. 

Costs and Other Effects. As described, the proposal would 

likely result in increased business for small contractors whose 

qualified individual has a master alternative onsite sewage 

system installer license, and reduced business for small 

contractors whose qualified individual does not. 

Alternative Method that Minimizes Adverse Impact. There are 

no clear alternative methods that both reduce adverse impact 

and meet the intended policy goals. 

Localities8 Affected.9 The proposed amendments apply 

statewide. No localities are known to be disproportionately 

affected. The proposal does not substantively introduce costs 

for local governments. 

Projected Impact on Employment. The proposed amendment 

is unlikely to substantively affect total employment. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. As a 

consequence of the proposal, the value of contractors whose 

qualified individual has a master alternative onsite sewage 

system installer license may increase due to likely increased 

demand for their services; and the value of contractors whose 

qualified individual does not have a master alternative onsite 

sewage system installer license may decrease due to likely 

decreased demand for their services. The proposal would not 

likely substantively affect real estate development costs. 

__________________________ 
1See https://townhall.virginia.gov/l/GetFile.cfm?File= 10\5550\9204\Agency 

Statement_DPOR_9204_v1.pdf, page 2 
2See https://www.epa.gov/septic/types-septic-systems 

3Source: United States Environmental Protection Agency: 

https://www.epa.gov/septic/septic-systems-overview 
4The amount of required experience depends on the individual's circumstance. 

See https://law.lis.virginia.gov/admincode/title18/agency160/chapter40/ 

section220/ 
5Whether or not the 20 hours of training is required, depends on the individual's 
circumstance. See https://law.lis.virginia.gov/admincode/title18/agency160/ 

chapter40/section220/. Free training is available through a joint Virginia Tech-

Virginia Department of Health program. See https://www.cpe.vt.edu/waww/ 

6Data source: DPOR 

7Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.04 of the Code of Virginia, small business is defined 

as "a business entity, including its affiliates, that (i) is independently owned 
and operated and (ii) employs fewer than 500 full-time employees or has gross 

annual sales of less than $6 million." 

8"Locality" can refer to either local governments or the locations in the 
Commonwealth where the activities relevant to the regulatory change are most 

likely to occur. 

9§ 2.2-4007.04 defines "particularly affected" as bearing disproportionate 

material impact. 

Agency's Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The agency 

concurs with the economic impact analysis performed by the 

Department of Planning and Budget. 

Summary: 

The proposed amendments divide the existing sewage 

disposal system contracting specialty into two new 

specialties - alternative sewage disposal system 

contracting and conventional sewage disposal system 

contracting - to align the licensing of the contractor 

licenses for these specialties issued by the Board for 

Contractors with the individual licenses of the specialties 

issued by the Board for Waterworks and Wastewater 

Works Operators and Onsite Sewage System 

Professionals. 

18VAC50-22-30. Definitions of specialty services. 

The following words and terms when used in this chapter 

unless a different meaning is provided or is plainly required by 

the context shall have the following meanings: 

"Accessibility services contracting" (Abbr: ASC) means the 

service that provides for all work in connection with the 

constructing, installing, altering, servicing, repairing, testing, 

or maintenance of wheelchair lifts, incline chairlifts, 

dumbwaiters with a capacity limit of 300 pounds, and private 

residence elevators in accordance with the Virginia Uniform 

Statewide Building Code (13VAC5-63). The EEC specialty 

may also perform this work. This specialty does not include 

work on limited use-limited application (LULA) elevators. 

"Accessibility services contracting - LULA" (Abbr: ASL) 

means the service that provides for all work in connection with 

the constructing, installing, altering, servicing, repairing, 

testing, or maintenance of wheelchair lifts, incline chairlifts, 

dumbwaiters with a capacity limit of 300 pounds, private 

residence elevators, and limited use-limited application 

(LULA) elevators in accordance with the Virginia Uniform 

Statewide Building Code (13VAC5-63). The EEC specialty 

may also perform this work. 

"Alternative energy system contracting" (Abbr: AES) means 

the service that provides for the installation, repair or 

improvement, from the customer's meter, of alternative energy 

generation systems, supplemental energy systems and 

associated equipment annexed to real property. This service 

does not include the installation of emergency generators 

powered by fossil fuels. No other classification or specialty 

service provides this function. This specialty does not provide 

for electrical, plumbing, gas fitting, or HVAC functions. 

"Alternative sewage disposal system contracting" (Abbr: 

ADS) means the service that provides for the installation, 

repair, improvement, or removal of a treatment works that is 

not a conventional onsite sewage system and does not result in 

a point source discharge. No other classification or specialty 

service provides this function. 

https://townhall.virginia.gov/l/GetFile.cfm?File=10/5550/9204/AgencyStatement_DPOR_9204_v1.pdf
https://townhall.virginia.gov/l/GetFile.cfm?File=10/5550/9204/AgencyStatement_DPOR_9204_v1.pdf
https://www.epa.gov/septic/types-septic-systems
https://www.epa.gov/septic/septic-systems-overview
https://law.lis.virginia.gov/admincode/title18/agency160/chapter40/section220/
https://law.lis.virginia.gov/admincode/title18/agency160/chapter40/section220/
https://law.lis.virginia.gov/admincode/title18/agency160/chapter40/section220/
https://law.lis.virginia.gov/admincode/title18/agency160/chapter40/section220/
https://www.cpe.vt.edu/waww/
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"Asbestos contracting" (Abbr: ASB) means the service that 

provides for the installation, removal, or encapsulation of 

asbestos containing materials annexed to real property. No 

other classification or specialty service provides for this 

function. 

"Asphalt paving and sealcoating contracting" (Abbr: PAV) 

means the service that provides for the installation of asphalt 

paving or sealcoating, or both, on subdivision streets and 

adjacent intersections, driveways, parking lots, tennis courts, 

running tracks, and play areas, using materials and accessories 

common to the industry. This includes height adjustment of 

existing sewer manholes, storm drains, water valves, sewer 

cleanouts and drain grates, and all necessary excavation and 

grading. The H/H classification also provides for this function. 

"Billboard/sign contracting" (Abbr: BSC) means the service 

that provides for the installation, repair, improvement, or 

dismantling of any billboard or structural sign permanently 

annexed to real property. H/H and CBC are the classifications 

that can perform this work except that a contractor in this 

specialty may connect or disconnect signs to existing electrical 

circuits. No trade related plumbing, electrical, or HVAC work 

is included in this function. 

"Blast/explosive contracting" (Abbr: BEC) means the service 

that provides for the use of explosive charges for the repair, 

improvement, alteration, or demolition of any real property or 

any structure annexed to real property. 

"Commercial improvement contracting" (Abbr: CIC) means 

the service that provides for repair or improvement to 

structures not defined as dwellings and townhouses in the 

USBC. The CBC classification also provides for this function. 

The CIC specialty does not provide for the construction of new 

buildings, accessory buildings, electrical, plumbing, HVAC, or 

gas work. 

"Concrete contracting" (Abbr: CEM) means the service that 

provides for all work in connection with the processing, 

proportioning, batching, mixing, conveying, and placing of 

concrete composed of materials common to the concrete 

industry. This includes finishing, coloring, curing, repairing, 

testing, sawing, grinding, grouting, placing of film barriers, 

sealing, and waterproofing. Construction and assembling of 

forms, molds, slipforms, and pans, centering, and the use of 

rebar are also included. The CBC, RBC, and H/H 

classifications also provide for this function. 

"Conventional sewage disposal system contracting" (Abbr: 

CDS) means the service that provides for the installation, 

repair, improvement, or removal of a treatment works 

consisting of one or more septic tanks with gravity, pumped, 

or siphoned conveyance to a gravity distributed subsurface 

drainfield. The ADS specialty may also perform this work. 

"Drug lab remediation contracting" (Abbr: DLR) means the 

service that provides for the cleanup, treatment, containment, 

or removal of hazardous substances at or in a property formerly 

used to manufacture methamphetamine or other drugs and may 

include demolition or disposal of structures or other property. 

No other classification or specialty provides for this function. 

"Drywall contracting" (Abbr: DRY) means the service that 

provides for the installation, taping, and finishing of drywall, 

panels and assemblies of gypsum wallboard, sheathing, and 

cementitious board, and the installation of studs made of sheet 

metal for the framing of ceilings and nonstructural partitioning. 

The CBC and RBC classifications and HIC and CIC specialties 

also provide for this function. 

"Electronic/communication service contracting" (Abbr: ESC) 

means the service that provides for the installation, repair, 

improvement, or removal of electronic or communications 

systems annexed to real property including telephone wiring, 

computer cabling, sound systems, data links, data and network 

installation, television and cable TV wiring, antenna wiring, 

and fiber optics installation, all of which operate at 50 volts or 

less. A firm holding an ESC license is responsible for meeting 

all applicable tradesman licensure standards. The ELE 

classification also provides for this function. 

"Elevator/escalator contracting" (Abbr: EEC) means the 

service that provides for the installation, repair, improvement, 

or removal of elevators or escalators permanently annexed to 

real property. A firm holding an EEC license is responsible for 

meeting all applicable individual license and certification 

regulations. No other classification or specialty service 

provides for this function. 

"Environmental monitoring well contracting" (Abbr: EMW) 

means the service that provides for the construction of a well 

to monitor hazardous substances in the ground. 

"Environmental specialties contracting" (Abbr: ENV) means 

the service that provides for installation, repair, removal, or 

improvement of pollution control and remediation devices. No 

other specialty provides for this function. This specialty does 

not provide for electrical, plumbing, gas fitting, or HVAC 

functions. 

"Equipment/machinery contracting" (Abbr: EMC) means the 

service that provides for the installation or removal of 

equipment or machinery including conveyors or heavy 

machinery. Boilers exempted by the Virginia Uniform 

Statewide Building Code (13VAC5-63) but regulated by the 

Department of Labor and Industry are also included in this 

specialty. This specialty does not provide for any electrical, 

plumbing, process piping, or HVAC functions. 

"Farm improvement contracting" (Abbr: FIC) means the 

service that provides for the installation, repair, or 

improvement of a nonresidential farm building or structure, or 

nonresidential farm accessory-use structure, or additions 

thereto. The CBC classification also provides for this function. 

The FIC specialty does not provide for any electrical, 

plumbing, HVAC, or gas fitting functions. 
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"Finish carpentry contracting" (Abbr: FIN) means the service 

that provides for the installation, repair, and finishing of 

cabinets, sash casing, door casing, wooden flooring, 

baseboards, countertops, and other millwork. Finish carpentry 

does not include the installation of ceramic tile, marble, and 

artificial or cultured stone. The CBC and RBC classifications 

and HIC and CIC specialties also provide for this function. 

"Fire alarm systems contracting" (Abbr: FAS) means the 

service that provides for the installation, repair, or 

improvement of fire alarm systems that operate at 50 volts or 

less. The ELE classification also provides for this function. A 

firm with an FAS license is responsible for meeting all 

applicable tradesman licensure standards. 

"Fire sprinkler contracting" (Abbr: SPR) means the service 

that provides for the installation, repair, alteration, addition, 

testing, maintenance, inspection, improvement, or removal of 

sprinkler systems using water as a means of fire suppression 

when annexed to real property. This specialty does not provide 

for the installation, repair, or maintenance of other types of fire 

suppression systems. The PLB classification allows for the 

installation of systems permitted to be designed in accordance 

with the plumbing provisions of the USBC. This specialty may 

engage in the installation of backflow prevention devices in the 

fire sprinkler supply main and incidental to the sprinkler 

system installation when the installer has received formal 

vocational training approved by the board that included 

instruction in the installation of backflow prevention devices. 

"Fire suppression contracting" (Abbr: FSP) means the service 

that provides for the installation, repair, improvement, or 

removal of fire suppression systems including halon and other 

gas systems, dry chemical systems, and carbon dioxide 

systems annexed to real property. No other classification 

provides for this function. The FSP specialty does not provide 

for the installation, repair, or maintenance of water sprinkler 

systems. 

"Flooring and floor covering contracting" (Abbr: FLR) means 

the service that provides for the installation, repair, 

improvement, or removal of materials that are common in the 

flooring industry. This includes wood and wood composite 

flooring, tack strips or other products used to secure carpet, 

vinyl and linoleum, ceramic, marble, stone, and all other types 

of tile, and includes the installation or replacement of 

subflooring, leveling products, or other materials necessary to 

facilitate the installation of the flooring or floor covering. This 

does not include the installation, repair, or removal of floor 

joists or other structural components of the flooring system. 

The CBC and RBC classifications and HIC and CIC specialties 

also provide for this function. 

"Framing subcontractor" (Abbr: FRM) means the service 

which, while serving in the role of a subcontractor to a licensed 

prime contractor, provides for the construction, removal, 

repair, or improvement to any framing or rough carpentry 

necessary for the construction of framed structures, including 

the installation and repair of individual components of framing 

systems. The CBC and RBC classifications and HIC and CIC 

specialties also provide for this function. 

"Gas fitting contracting" (Abbr: GFC) means the service that 

provides for the installation, repair, improvement, or removal 

of gas piping and appliances annexed to real property. A firm 

holding a GFC license is responsible for meeting all applicable 

individual (tradesman) licensure regulations. 

"Glass and glazing contracting" (Abbr: GLZ) means the 

service that provides for the installation, assembly, repair, 

improvement, or removal of all makes and kinds of glass, glass 

work, mirrored glass, and glass substitute for glazing; executes 

the fabrication and glazing of frames, panels, sashes and doors; 

or installs these items in any structure. This specialty includes 

the installation of standard methods of weatherproofing, 

caulking, glazing, sealants, and adhesives. The CBC and RBC 

classifications and HIC and CIC specialties also provide for 

this function. 

"Home improvement contracting" (Abbr: HIC) means the 

service that provides for repairs or improvements to dwellings 

and townhouses as defined in the USBC or structures annexed 

to those dwellings or townhouses as defined in the USBC. The 

RBC classification also provides for this function. The HIC 

specialty does not provide for electrical, plumbing, HVAC, or 

gas fitting functions. It does not include new construction 

functions beyond the existing building structure other than 

decks, patios, driveways, and utility out buildings that do not 

require a permit per the USBC. 

"Industrialized building contracting" (Abbr: IBC) means the 

service that provides for the installation or removal of an 

industrialized building as defined in the Virginia Industrialized 

Building Safety Regulations (13VAC5-91). This classification 

covers foundation work in accordance with the provisions of 

the Virginia Uniform Statewide Building Code (13VAC5-63) 

and allows the licensee to complete internal tie-ins of 

plumbing, gas, electrical, and HVAC systems. It does not allow 

for installing additional plumbing, gas, electrical, or HVAC 

work such as installing the service meter, or installing the 

outside compressor for the HVAC system. The CBC and RBC 

classifications also provide for this function. 

"Insulation and weather stripping contracting" (Abbr: INS) 

means the service that provides for the installation, repair, 

improvement, or removal of materials classified as insulating 

media used for the sole purpose of temperature control or 

sound control of residential and commercial buildings. It does 

not include the insulation of mechanical equipment and 

ancillary lines and piping. The CBC and RBC classifications 

and HIC and CIC specialties also provide for this function. 

"Landscape irrigation contracting" (Abbr: ISC) means the 

service that provides for the installation, repair, improvement, 

or removal of irrigation sprinkler systems or outdoor sprinkler 

systems. The PLB and H/H classifications also provide for this 
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function. This specialty may install backflow prevention 

devices incidental to work in this specialty when the installer 

has received formal vocational training approved by the board 

that included instruction in the installation of backflow 

prevention devices. 

"Landscape service contracting" (Abbr: LSC) means the 

service that provides for the alteration or improvement of a 

land area not related to any other classification or service 

activity by means of excavation, clearing, grading, 

construction of retaining walls for landscaping purposes, or 

placement of landscaping timbers. This specialty may remove 

stumps and roots below grade. The CBC, RBC, and H/H 

classifications also provide for this function. 

"Lead abatement contracting" (Abbr: LAC) means the service 

that provides for the removal or encapsulation of lead-

containing materials annexed to real property. No other 

classification or specialty service provides for this function, 

except that the PLB and HVA classifications may provide this 

service incidental to work in those classifications. 

"Liquefied petroleum gas contracting" (Abbr: LPG) means 

the service that includes the installation, maintenance, 

extension, alteration, or removal of all piping, fixtures, 

appliances, and appurtenances used in transporting, storing, or 

utilizing liquefied petroleum gas. This excludes hot water 

heaters, boilers, and central heating systems that require an 

HVA or PLB license. The GFC specialty also provides for this 

function. A firm holding an LPG license is responsible for 

meeting all applicable individual license and certification 

regulations. 

"Manufactured home contracting" (Abbr: MHC) means the 

service that provides for the installation or removal of a 

manufactured home as defined in the Virginia Manufactured 

Home Safety Regulations (13VAC5-95). This classification 

does not cover foundation work; however, it does allow 

installation of piers covered under HUD regulations. It does 

allow a licensee to do internal tie-ins of plumbing, gas, 

electrical, or HVAC equipment. It does not allow for installing 

additional plumbing, gas, electrical, or HVAC work such as 

installing the service meter or installing the outside compressor 

for the HVAC system. No other specialty provides for this 

function. 

"Marine facility contracting" (Abbr: MCC) means the service 

that provides for the construction, repair, improvement, or 

removal of any structure the purpose of which is to provide 

access to, impede, or alter a body of surface water. The CBC 

and H/H classifications also provide for this function. The 

MCC specialty does not provide for the construction of 

accessory structures or electrical, HVAC, or plumbing 

functions. 

"Masonry contracting" (Abbr: BRK) means the service that 

includes the installation of brick, concrete block, stone, marble, 

slate, or other units and products common to the masonry 

industry, including mortarless type masonry products. This 

includes installation of grout, caulking, tuck pointing, sand 

blasting, mortar washing, parging, and cleaning and welding of 

reinforcement steel related to masonry construction. The CBC 

and RBC classifications and the HIC and CIC specialties also 

provide for this function. 

"Miscellaneous contracting" (Abbr: MSC) means the service 

that may fall under another classification or specialty service 

but is more limited than the functions provided by the other 

classification or specialty. This specialty is limited to a single 

activity and will be restricted to that specialty only. This 

specialty may not be used for work that would fall under the 

ELE, HVA, PLB, GFC, LPG, NGF, EEC, WWP, ASC, LAC, 

or ASB classification or specialty. Contractors applying for the 

MSC specialty will have their applications reviewed by the 

Board for Contractors. 

"Natural gas fitting provider contracting" (Abbr: NGF) means 

the service that provides for the incidental repair, testing, or 

removal of natural gas piping or fitting annexed to real 

property. This does not include new installation of gas piping 

for hot water heaters, boilers, central heating systems, or other 

natural gas equipment that requires an HVA or PLB license. 

The GFC specialty also provides for this function. A firm 

holding an NGF license is responsible for meeting all 

applicable individual license and certification regulations. 

"Painting and wallcovering contracting" (Abbr: PTC) means 

the service that provides for the application of materials 

common to the painting and decorating industry for protective 

or decorative purposes, the installation of surface coverings 

such as vinyls, wall papers, and cloth fabrics. This includes 

surface preparation, caulking, sanding, and cleaning 

preparatory to painting or coverings and includes both interior 

and exterior surfaces. The CBC and RBC classifications and 

the HIC and CIC specialties also provide for this function. 

"Radon mitigation contracting" (Abbr: RMC) means the 

service that provides for additions, repairs, or improvements to 

buildings or structures, for the purpose of mitigating or 

preventing the effects of radon gas. No electrical, plumbing, 

gas fitting, or HVAC functions are provided by this specialty. 

"Recreational facility contracting" (Abbr: RFC) means the 

service that provides for the construction, repair, or 

improvement of any recreational facility, excluding paving and 

the construction of buildings, plumbing, electrical, and HVAC 

functions. The CBC classification also provides for this 

function. 

"Refrigeration contracting" (Abbr: REF) means the service 

that provides for installation, repair, or removal of any 

refrigeration equipment (excluding HVAC equipment). No 

electrical, plumbing, gas fitting, or HVAC functions are 

provided by this specialty. This specialty is intended for those 

contractors who repair or install coolers, refrigerated 

casework, ice-making machines, drinking fountains, cold room 
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equipment, and similar hermetic refrigeration equipment. The 

HVA classification also provides for this function. 

"Roofing contracting" (Abbr: ROC) means the service that 

provides for the installation, repair, removal, or improvement 

of materials common to the industry that form a watertight, 

weather resistant surface for roofs and decks. This includes 

roofing system components when installed in conjunction with 

a roofing project, application of dampproofing or 

waterproofing, and installation of roof insulation panels and 

other roof insulation systems above roof deck. The CBC and 

RBC classifications and the HIC and CIC specialties also 

provide for this function. 

"Sewage disposal systems contracting" (Abbr: SDS) means 

the service that provides for the installation, repair, 

improvement, or removal of septic tanks, septic systems, and 

other onsite sewage disposal systems annexed to real property. 

"Steel erection contracting" (Abbr: STL) means the service 

that provides for the fabrication and erection of structural steel 

shapes and plates, regardless of shape or size, to be used as 

structural members, or tanks, including any related riveting, 

welding, and rigging. This specialty includes the fabrication, 

placement and tying of steel reinforcing bars (rods), and post-

tensioning to reinforce concrete buildings and structures. The 

CBC and RBC classifications and HIC and CIC specialties also 

provide for this function. 

"Swimming pool construction contracting" (Abbr: POL) 

means the service that provides for the construction, repair, 

improvement, or removal of in-ground swimming pools. The 

CBC and RBC classifications and the RFC specialty also 

provide for this function. No trade related plumbing, electrical, 

backflow, or HVAC work is included in this specialty. 

"Tile, marble, ceramic, and terrazzo contracting" (Abbr: 

TMC) means the service that provides for the preparation, 

fabrication, construction, and installation of artificial marble, 

burned clay tile, ceramic, terrazzo, encaustic, faience, quarry, 

semi-vitreous, cementitious board, and other tile, excluding 

hollow or structural partition tile. The CBC and RBC 

classifications and HIC and CIC specialties also provide for 

this function. 

"Underground utility and excavating contracting" (Abbr: 

UUC) means the service that provides for the construction, 

repair, improvement, or removal of main sanitary sewer 

collection systems, main water distribution systems, storm 

sewer collection systems, and the continuation of utility lines 

from the main systems to a point of termination up to and 

including the meter location for the individual occupancy, 

sewer collection systems at property line, or residential or 

single-occupancy commercial properties, or on multi-

occupancy properties at manhole or wye lateral extend to an 

invert elevation as engineered to accommodate future building 

sewers, water distribution systems, or storm sewer collection 

systems at storm sewer structures. This specialty may install 

empty underground conduits in rights-of way, easements, 

platted rights-of-way in new site development, and sleeves for 

parking lot crossings if each conduit system does not include 

installation of any conductor wiring or connection to an 

energized electrical system. The H/H classification also 

provides for this function. 

"Vessel construction contracting" (Abbr: VCC) means the 

service that provides for the construction, repair, improvement, 

or removal of nonresidential vessels, tanks, or piping that hold 

or convey fluids other than sanitary, storm, waste, or potable 

water supplies. The H/H classification also provides for this 

function. 

"Water well/pump contracting" (Abbr: WWP) means the 

service that provides for the installation of a water well system, 

including geothermal wells, which includes construction of a 

water well to reach groundwater, as defined in § 62.1-255 of 

the Code of Virginia, and the installation of the well pump and 

tank, including pipe and wire, up to and including the point of 

connection to the plumbing and electrical systems. No other 

classification or specialty service provides for construction of 

water wells. This regulation shall not exclude the PLB, ELE, 

or HVA classification from installation of pumps and tanks. 

Note: Specialty contractors engaging in construction that 

involves the following activities or items or similar activities 

or items may fall under the CIC, HIC, and FIC specialty 

services, or they may fall under the CBC or RBC classification. 

Appliances Fences Railings 

Awnings Fiberglass Rigging 

Blinds Fireplaces Rubber linings 

Bulkheads Fireproofing Sandblasting 

Carpeting Fixtures Scaffolding 

Ceilings Grouting Screens 

Chimneys Guttering Shutters 

Chutes Interior decorating Siding 

Curtains Lubrication Skylights 

Curtain 

walls 

Metal work Storage bins and 

lockers 

Decks Millwrighting Stucco 

Doors Mirrors Vaults 

Drapes Miscellaneous 

iron 

Wall panels 

Epoxy Ornamental iron Waterproofing 

Exterior 

decoration 

Partitions Windows 

Facings Protective 

coatings 
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18VAC50-22-40. Requirements for a Class C license. 

A. A firm applying for a Class C license must meet the 

requirements of this section. 

B. For every classification or specialty in which the firm seeks 

to be licensed, the firm shall name a qualified individual who 

meets the following requirements: 

1. Is at least 18 years old; 

2. Has a minimum of two years of experience in the 

classification or specialty for which he is the qualifier; 

3. Is a full-time employee of the firm as defined in this 

chapter or is a member of the responsible management of the 

firm; and 

4. a. Has obtained the appropriate certification for the 

following specialties: 

(1) Blast/explosive contracting (Department of Fire 

Programs explosive use certification); 

(2) Fire sprinkler (NICET Sprinkler III certification); and 

(3) Radon mitigation (EPA or DEQ accepted radon 

certification). 

b. Has obtained, pursuant to the Individual Licensing and 

Certification Regulations, a master license for Plumbing, 

HVAC, Electrical, Gas Fitting, Natural Gas Fitting 

Provider, and Liquefied Petroleum Gas Contracting. 

c. Has completed, for the drug lab remediation specialty, 

a remediation course approved by the board and a board-

approved examination. 

d. Has obtained, pursuant to the Individual Licensing and 

Certification Regulations, certification as an Elevator 

Mechanic for Elevator Escalator Contracting and 

certification as a Water Well Systems Provider for Water 

Well/Pump Contracting. 

e. Has obtained, pursuant to the Onsite Sewage System 

Professionals Licensing Regulations (18VAC160-40), a 

master conventional onsite sewage system installer license 

for Conventional Sewage Disposal System Contracting 

and a master alternative onsite sewage system installer 

license for Alternative Sewage Disposal System 

Contracting. 

f. Has been approved by the Board for Contractors for the 

miscellaneous specialty (MSC). 

f. g. Has completed a board-approved examination for all 

other classifications and specialties that do not require 

other certification or licensure. 

C. The firm shall provide information for the past five years 

prior to application on any outstanding, past-due debts and 

judgments; outstanding tax obligations; defaults on bonds; or 

pending or past bankruptcies. The firm and all members of the 

responsible management of the firm shall submit information 

on any past-due debts and judgments or defaults on bonds 

directly related to the practice of contracting as defined in 

Chapter 11 (§ 54.1-1100 et seq.) of Title 54.1 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

D. The firm and all members of the responsible management 

of the firm shall disclose at the time of application any current 

or previous contractor licenses held in Virginia or in other 

jurisdictions and any disciplinary actions taken on these 

licenses. This includes any monetary penalties, fines, 

suspensions, revocations, surrender of a license in connection 

with a disciplinary action, or voluntary termination of a license 

in Virginia or in any other jurisdiction. 

E. In accordance with § 54.1-204 of the Code of Virginia, all 

applicants shall disclose the following information about the 

firm, all members of the responsible management, and the 

qualified individual or individuals for the firm: 

1. All misdemeanor convictions within three years of the 

date of application; and 

2. All felony convictions during their lifetimes. 

Any plea of nolo contendere shall be considered a conviction 

for purposes of this subsection. The record of a conviction 

received from a court shall be accepted as prima facie evidence 

of a conviction or finding of guilt. The board, in its discretion, 

may deny licensure to any applicant in accordance with § 54.1-

204 of the Code of Virginia. 

F. A member of responsible management shall have 

successfully completed a board-approved basic business 

course. 

18VAC50-22-50. Requirements for a Class B license. 

A. A firm applying for a Class B license must meet the 

requirements of this section. 

B. A firm shall name a designated employee who meets the 

following requirements: 

1. Is at least 18 years old; 

2. Is a full-time employee of the firm as defined in this 

chapter, or is a member of responsible management as 

defined in this chapter; 

3. Has passed a board-approved examination as required by 

§ 54.1-1108 of the Code of Virginia or has been exempted 

from the exam requirement in accordance with § 54.1-

1108.1 of the Code of Virginia; and 

4. Has followed all rules established by the board or by the 

testing service acting on behalf of the board with regard to 

conduct at the examination. Such rules shall include any 

written instructions communicated prior to the examination 

date and any oral or written instructions given at the site on 

the date of the exam. 

C. For every classification or specialty in which the firm seeks 

to be licensed, the firm shall name a qualified individual who 

meets the following requirements: 
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1. Is at least 18 years old; 

2. Has a minimum of three years of experience in the 

classification or specialty for which he is the qualifier; 

3. Is a full-time employee of the firm as defined in this 

chapter or is a member of the responsible management of the 

firm; 

4. a. Has obtained the appropriate certification for the 

following specialties: 

(1) Blast/explosive contracting (Department of Fire 

Programs explosive use certification); 

(2) Fire sprinkler (NICET Sprinkler III certification); and 

(3) Radon mitigation (EPA or DEQ accepted radon 

certification). 

b. Has obtained, pursuant to the Individual Licensing and 

Certification Regulations, a master license for Plumbing, 

HVAC, Electrical, Gas Fitting, Natural Gas Fitting 

Provider, and Liquefied Petroleum Gas Contracting. 

c. Has completed, for the drug lab remediation specialty, 

a remediation course approved by the board and a board-

approved examination. 

d. Has obtained, pursuant to the Individual Licensing and 

Certification Regulations, certification as an Elevator 

Mechanic for Elevator Escalator Contracting and 

certification as a Water Well Systems Provider for Water 

Well/Pump Contracting. 

e. Has obtained, pursuant to the Onsite Sewage System 

Professionals Licensing Regulations (18VAC160-40), a 

master conventional onsite sewage system installer license 

for Conventional Sewage Disposal System Contracting 

and a master alternative onsite sewage system installer 

license for Alternative Sewage Disposal System 

Contracting. 

f. Has been approved by the Board for Contractors for the 

miscellaneous specialty (MSC). 

f. g. Has completed a board-approved examination for all 

other classifications and specialties that do not require 

other certification or licensure. 

D. Each firm shall submit information on its financial 

position. Excluding any property owned as tenants by the 

entirety, the firm shall state a net worth or equity of $15,000 or 

more. 

E. Each firm shall provide information for the five years prior 

to application on any outstanding, past-due debts and 

judgments; outstanding tax obligations; defaults on bonds; or 

pending or past bankruptcies. The firm, its designated 

employee, and all members of the responsible management of 

the firm shall submit information on any past-due debts and 

judgments or defaults on bonds directly related to the practice 

of contracting as defined in Chapter 11 (§ 54.1-1100 et seq.) of 

Title 54.1 of the Code of Virginia. 

F. The firm, the designated employee, and all members of the 

responsible management of the firm shall disclose at the time 

of application any current or previous substantial identities of 

interest with any contractor licenses issued in Virginia or in 

other jurisdictions and any disciplinary actions taken on these 

licenses. This includes any monetary penalties, fines, 

suspension, revocation, or surrender of a license in connection 

with a disciplinary action. The board, in its discretion, may 

deny licensure to any applicant when any of the parties listed 

in this subsection have had a substantial identity of interest (as 

deemed in § 54.1-1110 of the Code of Virginia) with any firm 

that has had a license suspended, revoked, voluntarily 

terminated or surrendered in connection with a disciplinary 

action in Virginia or any other jurisdiction. 

G. In accordance with § 54.1-204 of the Code of Virginia, all 

applicants shall disclose the following information about the 

firm, designated employee, all members of the responsible 

management, and the qualified individual or individuals for the 

firm: 

1. All misdemeanor convictions within three years of the 

date of application; and 

2. All felony convictions during their lifetimes. 

Any plea of nolo contendere shall be considered a conviction 

for purposes of this subsection. The record of a conviction 

received from a court shall be accepted as prima facie evidence 

of a conviction or finding of guilt. The board, in its discretion, 

may deny licensure to any applicant in accordance with § 54.1-

204 of the Code of Virginia. 

H. The designated employee or a member of responsible 

management shall have successfully completed a board-

approved basic business course. 

18VAC50-22-60. Requirements for a Class A license. 

A. A firm applying for a Class A license shall meet all of the 

requirements of this section. 

B. A firm shall name a designated employee who meets the 

following requirements: 

1. Is at least 18 years old; 

2. Is a full-time employee of the firm as defined in this 

chapter or is a member of the responsible management of the 

firm as defined in this chapter; 

3. Has passed a board-approved examination as required by 

§ 54.1-1106 of the Code of Virginia or has been exempted 

from the exam requirement in accordance with § 54.1-

1108.1 of the Code of Virginia; and 

4. Has followed all rules established by the board or by the 

testing service acting on behalf of the board with regard to 

conduct at the examination. Such rules shall include any 

written instructions communicated prior to the examination 
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date and any oral or written instructions given at the site on 

the day of the exam. 

C. For every classification or specialty in which the firm seeks 

to be licensed, the firm shall name a qualified individual who 

meets the following requirements: 

1. Is at least 18 years old; 

2. Has a minimum of five years of experience in the 

classification or specialty for which he is the qualifier; 

3. Is a full-time employee of the firm as defined in this 

chapter or is a member of the firm as defined in this chapter 

or is a member of the responsible management of the firm; 

4. a. Has obtained the appropriate certification for the 

following specialties: 

(1) Blast/explosive contracting (DHCD explosive use 

certification); 

(2) Fire sprinkler (NICET Sprinkler III certification); and 

(3) Radon mitigation (EPA or DEQ accepted radon 

certification). 

b. Has obtained, pursuant to the Individual Licensing and 

Certification Regulations, a master license for Plumbing, 

HVAC, Electrical, Gas Fitting, Natural Gas Fitting 

Provider, and Liquefied Petroleum Gas Contracting. 

c. Has completed, for the drug lab remediation specialty, 

a remediation course approved by the board and a board-

approved examination. 

d. Has obtained, pursuant to the Individual Licensing and 

Certification Regulations, certification as an Elevator 

Mechanic for Elevator Escalator Contracting and 

certification as a Water Well Systems Provider for Water 

Well/Pump Contracting. 

e. Has obtained, pursuant to the Onsite Sewage System 

Professionals Licensing Regulations (18VAC160-40), a 

master conventional onsite sewage system installer license 

for Conventional Sewage Disposal System Contracting 

and a master alternative onsite sewage system installer 

license for Alternative Sewage Disposal System 

Contracting. 

f. Has been approved by the Board for Contractors for the 

miscellaneous specialty (MSC). 

f. g. Has completed a board-approved examination for all 

other classifications and specialties that do not require 

other certification or licensure. 

D. Each firm shall submit information on its financial 

position. Excluding any property owned as tenants by the 

entirety, the firm shall state a net worth or equity of $45,000. 

E. The firm shall provide information for the five years prior 

to application on any outstanding, past-due debts and 

judgments; outstanding tax obligations; defaults on bonds; or 

pending or past bankruptcies. The firm, its designated 

employee, and all members of the responsible management of 

the firm shall submit information on any past-due debts and 

judgments or defaults on bonds directly related to the practice 

of contracting as defined in Chapter 11 (§ 54.1-1100 et seq.) of 

Title 54.1 of the Code of Virginia. 

F. The firm, the designated employee, and all members of the 

responsible management of the firm shall disclose at the time 

of application any current or previous substantial identities of 

interest with any contractor licenses issued in Virginia or in 

other jurisdictions and any disciplinary actions taken on these 

licenses. This includes any monetary penalties, fines, 

suspensions, revocations, or surrender of a license in 

connection with a disciplinary action. The board, in its 

discretion, may deny licensure to any applicant when any of 

the parties listed in this subsection have had a substantial 

identity of interest (as deemed in § 54.1-1110 of the Code of 

Virginia) with any firm that has had a license suspended, 

revoked, voluntarily terminated, or surrendered in connection 

with a disciplinary action in Virginia or in any other 

jurisdiction. 

G. In accordance with § 54.1-204 of the Code of Virginia, all 

applicants shall disclose the following information about the 

firm, all members of the responsible management, the 

designated employee, and the qualified individual or 

individuals for the firm: 

1. All misdemeanor convictions within three years of the 

date of application; and 

2. All felony convictions during their lifetimes. 

Any plea of nolo contendere shall be considered a conviction 

for purposes of this subsection. The record of a conviction 

received from a court shall be accepted as prima facie evidence 

of a conviction or finding of guilt. The board, in its discretion, 

may deny licensure to any applicant in accordance with § 54.1-

204 of the Code of Virginia. 

H. The designated employee or a member of responsible 

management shall have successfully completed a board-

approved basic business course. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R21-6438; Filed June 24, 2021, 10:57 a.m. 

Proposed Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC50-30. Individual License and 

Certification Regulations (amending 18VAC50-30-40). 

Statutory Authority: § 54.1-201 of the Code of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: 

July 28, 2021 - noon - Department of Professional and 

Occupational Regulation, Perimeter Center, 9960 

Mayland Drive, Suite 200, Board Room 3, Richmond, 

Virginia 23233 

Public Comment Deadline: September 17, 2021. 

Agency Contact: Eric L. Olson, Executive Director, Board for 

Contractors, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 400, Richmond, VA 



Regulations 

Volume 37, Issue 24  Virginia Register of Regulations  July 19, 2021  

3735 

23233, telephone (804) 367-2785, FAX (866) 430-1033, or 

email contractors@dpor.virginia.gov. 

Basis: Section 54.1-1102 A of the Code of Virginia provides 

the Board for Contractors with the authority to promulgate 

regulations not inconsistent with the statute necessary for the 

certification of backflow prevention device workers. 

Purpose: The Board for Contractors is responsible for 

regulating businesses and individuals engaging in work within 

the construction and trade industry. Part of that responsibility 

is to develop entry level eligibility criteria that afford 

protection to the public that, at the same time, are not overly 

burdensome to those seeking licenses or certifications. Since 

1999, the board has certified individuals as backflow 

prevention device workers and set entry standards that were, at 

the time, reasonable and not overly burdensome. When 

developing these initial entry criteria, the board reviewed the 

requirements of those other states that regulated the backflow 

industry. Additionally, the board reviewed the certifying 

criteria set forth by national certifying agencies active in the 

industry. Since that time several states and organizations have 

changed their initial entry criteria, reducing the number of 

vocational training hours. In response, several of the approved 

vocational training providers, who are generally approved in 

other states as well as Virginia, have stopped offering some of 

the longer certification courses. This has directly resulted in 

applicants for a backflow certification in Virginia experiencing 

difficulty in finding vocational training courses that meet the 

requirements set forth by the Board for Contractors. 

In response to comments that have been received over the past 

several months, the board researched the vocational training 

criteria in several states and found that four of six neighboring 

states that regulate backflow testers have vocational training 

requirements that are less than those of Virginia. Additionally, 

while there is no training requirement that is prevalent 

throughout the United States, of the dozen programs reviewed 

only three required the same amount of vocational training as 

Virginia; the others were lower. The Board for Contractors 

determined that an amendment to the current requirements was 

appropriate. 

Substance: The proposed amendments lower the formal 

vocational training requirement of individuals with a minimum 

of four years but less than seven years of experience from 40 

hours to 32 hours. 

Issues: The primary advantage for individual private citizens is 

the fact that applicants for the backflow certification will no 

longer experience difficulty in finding vocational training 

courses, potentially allowing for more businesses to employ 

certified individuals. There are no disadvantages to the public, 

private citizens, businesses, or the Commonwealth. 

Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 

Analysis: 

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. The 

Board for Contractors proposes to lower the vocational training 

requirement for certification as a backflow prevention device 

worker from 40 hours to 32 hours; this would apply to those 

who have less than seven years of experience in water 

distribution systems. A backflow prevention device is used to 

protect potable water supplies from contamination or pollution 

due to backflow of water from a non-potable system into a 

potable system. 

Background. Under the current Individual License and 

Certification Regulations, applicants for examination to be 

certified as a backflow prevention device worker must furnish 

evidence that one of the following experience and education 

standards has been attained: 

1. Four years of practical experience in water distribution 

systems and 40 hours of formal vocational training in a school 

approved by the board; or 

2. Applicants with seven or more years of experience may 

qualify with 16 hours of formal vocational training in a school 

approved by the board.  

The Board proposes to reduce the required number of hours of 

formal vocational training in the first option from 40 to a 

minimum of 32. 

According to the Department of Professional and Occupational 

Regulation (DPOR), the Board has been contacted by 

individuals interested in becoming certified in Virginia, but 

who have experienced difficulty finding a 40-hour vocational 

training class on backflow prevention devices. While a few 

providers still offer 40-hour classes, most have apparently 

shifted to 32-hour classes. DPOR has indicated that this has 

occurred in large part because many regulatory agencies and 

national certifying organizations have changed their education 

requirements from 40 hours to 32 hours. 

Estimated Benefits and Costs. The proposed amendment 

would benefit individuals seeking backflow prevention device 

worker certification in Virginia by both making it easier to find 

available vocational training needed for the certification, and 

reducing the amount of time spent in training. The Board 

believes that 32 hours of vocational training is sufficient for 

public safety.1 

The proposed amendment would likely increase demand for 

32-hour backflow prevention training classes and reduce 

demand for 40-hour classes. The few vocational training 

schools that still offer 40-hour classes could adapt and switch 

to 32-hour classes. Depending on the extent of potential 

changes in demand, and how the charges for classes are 

structured, these schools that would likely need to adapt might 

not be able to charge as much for the classes compared to the 

current situation. Conversely, these schools may experience a 

reduction in non-fixed costs. 

Businesses and Other Entities Affected. The proposed 

amendment potentially affects the 34 vocational training 

schools that provide backflow prevention training and are 

currently approved by the Board. Eight of the providers are at 

public schools or community colleges. The other 26 are private 

entities.  
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The proposal also potentially affects individuals interested in 

obtaining certification as a backflow prevention device worker. 

As of January 1, 2021, there were 1,477 certified backflow 

prevention device workers in the Commonwealth. During 

Fiscal Year 2020,2 there were approximately 160 new 

applicants for certification.3 

According to DPOR, a substantial number of applicants are 

plumbers who want to be able to expand their business to 

include the testing of backflow prevention devices. 

Additionally, backflow prevention device workers are 

employed by public utilities and private providers of drinking 

water. 

The proposed amendment may reduce net revenue for 

vocational training schools that currently offer 40-hour classes. 

Adverse impact is indicated if there is any increase in net cost 

or reduction in net revenue for any entity, even if the benefits 

exceed the costs for all entities combined. Thus, the proposal 

may produce an adverse impact. 

Small Businesses4Affected. Types and Estimated Number of 

Small Businesses Affected: The proposed amendment 

potentially affects the 26 small private vocational training 

schools5 that provide backflow prevention training, as well as 

small plumbing firms that want to expand their business to 

include the testing of backflow prevention devices. 

Costs and Other Effects. As described, the proposal might 

result in reduced net revenue for some of the small private 

vocational training schools.  

Alternative Method that Minimizes Adverse Impact. There are 

no clear alternative methods that both reduce adverse impact 

and meet the intended policy goals. 

Localities6 Affected.7 The proposed amendment applies 

statewide. No locality is expected to be disproportionately 

affected. The proposed amendment does not introduce costs for 

local governments. 

Projected Impact on Employment. The proposed amendment 

is unlikely to substantively affect total employment. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. The proposed 

amendment would likely increase demand for 32-hour 

backflow prevention training classes and reduce demand for 

40-hour classes. This may moderately increase the value of the 

private vocational training schools that offer 32-hour classes, 

and moderately reduce the value of private vocational training 

schools that offer 40-hour classes. Consequently, the private 

vocational training schools that offer 40-hour classes may 

adapt, and switch to offering 32-hour classes. The proposed 

amendment does not affect real estate development costs. 

___________________ 
1Source: DPOR 

2Fiscal Year 2020 was July 1, 2019, through June 30, 2020. 

3Data sources: DPOR 
4Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.04 of the Code of Virginia, small business is defined 

as "a business entity, including its affiliates, that (i) is independently owned 
and operated and (ii) employs fewer than 500 full-time employees or has gross 

annual sales of less than $6 million." 

5DPOR believes that all 26 private vocational training schools that provide 

backflow prevention training would qualify as small businesses. 
6"Locality" can refer to either local governments or the locations in the 

Commonwealth where the activities relevant to the regulatory change are most 

likely to occur. 
7§ 2.2-4007.04 defines "particularly affected" as bearing disproportionate 

material impact. 

Agency's Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The agency 

concurs with the economic impact analysis performed by the 

Department of Planning and Budget. 

Summary: 

The proposed amendments lower the current vocational 

training requirement for certified backflow prevention 

device workers who have fewer than seven years of 

experience in water distribution systems from 40 hours to 

32 hours. 

18VAC50-30-40. Evidence of ability and proficiency. 

A. Applicants for examination to be licensed as a journeyman 

shall furnish evidence that one of the following experience and 

education standards has been attained: 

1. Four years of practical experience in the trade and 240 

hours of formal vocational training in the trade. Experience 

in excess of four years may be substituted for formal 

vocational training at a ratio of one year of experience for 80 

hours of formal training, but not to exceed 200 hours; 

2. Four years of practical experience and 80 hours of 

vocational training for liquefied petroleum gas fitters and 

natural gas fitter providers except that no substitute 

experience will be allowed for liquefied petroleum gas and 

natural gas workers; 

3. An associate degree or a certificate of completion from at 

least a two-year program in a tradesman-related field from 

an accredited community college or technical school as 

evidenced by a transcript from the educational institution 

and two years of practical experience in the trade for which 

licensure is desired; 

4. A bachelor's degree received from an accredited college 

or university in an engineering curriculum related to the 

trade and one year of practical experience in the trade for 

which licensure is desired; or 

5. An applicant with 10 years of practical experience in the 

trade as verified by reference letters of experience from any 

of the following: building officials, building inspectors, 

current or former employers, contractors, engineers, 

architects, or current or past clients attesting to the 

applicant's work in the trade, may be granted permission to 

sit for the journeyman's level examination without having to 

meet the educational requirements. 

B. Applicants for examination to be licensed as a master shall 

furnish evidence that one of the following experience standards 

has been attained: 
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1. Evidence that they have one year of experience as a 

licensed journeyman; or 

2. An applicant with 10 years of practical experience in the 

trade, as verified by reference letters of experience from any 

of the following: building officials, building inspectors, 

current or former employers, contractors, engineers, 

architects, or current or past clients, attesting to the 

applicant's work in the trade, may be granted permission to 

sit for the master's level examination without having to meet 

the educational requirements. 

C. Individuals who have successfully passed the Class A 

contractors trade examination prior to January 1, 1991, 

administered by the Virginia Board for Contractors in a 

certified trade shall be deemed qualified as a master in that 

trade in accordance with this chapter. 

D. Applicants for examination to be certified as a backflow 

prevention device worker shall furnish evidence that one of the 

following experience and education standards has been 

attained: 

1. Four years of practical experience in water distribution 

systems and 40 a minimum of 32 hours of formal vocational 

training in a school approved by the board; or 

2. Applicants with seven or more years of experience may 

qualify with 16 hours of formal vocational training in a 

school approved by the board. 

The board accepts the American Society of Sanitary 

Engineers' (ASSE) standards for testing procedures. Other 

programs could be approved after board review. The board 

requires all backflow training to include instruction in a wet 

lab. 

E. An applicant for certification as an elevator mechanic 

shall: 

1. Have three years of practical experience in the 

construction, maintenance, and service/repair of elevators, 

escalators, or related conveyances; 144 hours of formal 

vocational training; and satisfactorily complete a written 

examination administered by the board. Experience in 

excess of four years may be substituted for formal vocational 

training at a ratio of one year of experience for 40 hours of 

formal training, but not to exceed 120 hours; 

2. Have three years of practical experience in the 

construction, maintenance, and service/repair of elevators, 

escalators, or related conveyances and a certificate of 

completion of the elevator mechanic examination of a 

training program determined to be equivalent to the 

requirements established by the board; or 

3. Successfully complete an elevator mechanic 

apprenticeship program that is approved by the Virginia 

Apprenticeship Council or registered with the Bureau of 

Apprenticeship and Training, U.S. Department of Labor, as 

evidenced by providing a certificate of completion or other 

official document, and satisfactorily complete a written 

examination administered by the board. 

F. Pursuant to § 54.1-1129.1 A of the Code of Virginia, an 

applicant for examination as a certified water well systems 

provider shall provide satisfactory proof to the board of at 

least: 

1. One year of full-time practical experience in the drilling, 

installation, maintenance, or repair of water wells or water 

well systems under the supervision of a certified master 

water well systems provider or other equivalent experience 

as approved by the board to qualify for examination as a 

trainee water well systems provider; 

2. Three years of practical experience in the drilling, 

installation, maintenance, or repair of water wells or water 

well systems under the supervision of a certified master 

water well systems provider or other equivalent experience 

as approved by the board and 24 hours of formal vocational 

training in the trade to qualify for examination as a 

journeyman water well systems provider; or 

3. Six years of practical experience in the drilling, 

installation, maintenance, or repair of water wells or water 

well systems under the supervision of a certified master 

water well systems provider or other equivalent experience 

as approved by the board and 48 hours of formal vocational 

training in the trade to qualify for examination as a master 

water well systems provider. 

G. An applicant for certification as an accessibility mechanic 

shall: 

1. Have three years of practical experience in the 

construction, installation, maintenance, service, repair, and 

testing of wheelchair lifts, incline chairlifts, dumbwaiters, 

residential elevators, or related conveyances; 80 hours of 

formal vocational training; and satisfactorily complete a 

written examination administered by the board. Experience 

in excess of four years may be substituted for formal 

vocational training at a ratio of one year of experience for 20 

hours of formal training, but not to exceed 60 hours; 

2. Have three years of practical experience in the 

construction, installation, maintenance, service, repair, and 

testing of wheelchair lifts, incline chairlifts, dumbwaiters, 

residential elevators, or related conveyances and a certificate 

of completion of an accessibility mechanic examination of a 

training program determined to be equivalent to the 

requirements established by the board; or 

3. Successfully complete an accessibility mechanic 

apprenticeship program that is approved by the Virginia 

Apprenticeship Council or registered with the Bureau of 

Apprenticeship and Training, U.S. Department of Labor, as 

evidenced by providing a certificate of completion or other 
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official document, and satisfactorily complete a written 

examination administered by the board. 

H. An applicant for a limited use/limited application (LULA) 

endorsement shall: 

1. Hold a current certification as an accessibility mechanic 

issued by the board. 

2. Have one year of practical experience in the construction, 

installation, maintenance, service, repair, and testing of 

limited use/limited application elevators and complete a 

vocational education program approved by the board; and 

satisfactorily complete a written examination administered 

by the board; or complete a limited use/limited application 

elevator training program determined to be equivalent to the 

requirements established by the board. 

I. Pursuant to § 54.1-1145 B of the Code of Virginia, an 

applicant for licensure as a residential building energy analyst 

shall provide satisfactory proof to the board of: 

1. The completion of a residential building energy analyst 

training program approved by the board; 

2. The completion of a minimum of five residential building 

energy analyses under the supervision of a licensed 

residential building energy analyst; 

3. Current membership in good standing with a certifying 

organization approved by the board; and 

4. Maintaining a minimum of $100,000 of general liability 

insurance from a company authorized to provide such 

insurance in the Commonwealth of Virginia unless the 

individual is employed by a company that holds a valid 

residential building energy analyst firm license issued by the 

board. 

The applicant shall provide information for the past five years 

prior to application on any outstanding past-due debts, 

outstanding judgments, outstanding tax obligations, defaults 

on bonds, or pending or past bankruptcies. 

J. Individuals applying for initial licensure as residential 

building energy analysts who meet the criteria of § 54.1-1145 

C of the Code of Virginia are not required to meet the eligibility 

standards for licensure found in subsection I of this section. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R21-6447; Filed June 24, 2021, 10:57 a.m. 

BOARD OF PHARMACY 

Forms 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: Forms used in administering the regulation 

have been filed by the agency. The forms are not being published; 

however, online users of this issue of the Virginia Register of 

Regulations may click on the name of a form with a hyperlink to 

access it. The forms are also available from the agency contact or may 

be viewed at the Office of the Registrar of Regulations, 900 East Main 

Street, 11th Floor, Richmond, Virginia 23219. 

Titles of Regulations: 18VAC110-21. Regulations 

Governing the Licensure of Pharmacists and Registration 

of Pharmacy Technicians. 

18VAC110-30. Regulations for Practitioners of the Healing 

Arts to Sell Controlled Substances. 

Agency Contact: Elaine Yeatts, Agency Regulatory 

Coordinator, Board of Pharmacy, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 

300, Henrico, VA 23230, telephone (804) 367-4688, FAX 

(804) 527-4434, or email elaine.yeatts@dhp.virginia.gov. 

FORMS (18VAC110-21) 

Application for a Pharmacist license by endorsement or 

examination, online form available at 

https://www.dhp.virginia.gov/Pharmacy/pharmacy_forms 

Instructions for Reinstating or Reactivating a Pharmacist 

License (rev. 10/2020) 

Application for registration as a Pharmacy Technician, online 

form available at 

https://www.dhp.virginia.gov/Pharmacy/pharmacy_forms 

Instructions for Reinstating a Pharmacy Technician 

Registration (rev. 10/2020) 

Application for Registration as a Limited-use Pharmacy 

Technician (rev. 7/2020) 

Application for Licensure as a Pharmacist by Examination 

(rev. 6/2021) 

Application for Licensure as a Pharmacist by Endorsement 

(rev. 6/2021) 

Instructions for Reinstating or Reactivating a Pharmacist 

License (rev. 6/2021) 

Instructions for Reinstating a Pharmacy Technician 

Registration (rev. 6/2021) 

Application for Registration as a Pharmacy Technician (eff. 

6/2021) 

Application for Registration as a Limited-Use Pharmacy 

Technician (for use exclusively in a free clinic) (rev. 6/2021) 

Affidavit for Limited-use Pharmacy Technician (rev. 5/2018) 

Application for Approval of Pharmacy Technician Training 

Program (rev. 10/2020) 

Application for registration as a Pharmacy Intern, online form 

available at 

https://www.dhp.virginia.gov/Pharmacy/pharmacy_forms 

Application for Registration as a Pharmacy Intern (eff. 

6/2021) 

Application for Registration as a Pharmacy Intern for 

Graduates of a Foreign College of Pharmacy (rev. 6/2021) 

Affidavit of Practical Experience as a Pharmacy Intern (rev. 

3/2019) 

https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC110/forms/PharmacistApp_Exam_2021-20210624154341.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC110/forms/PharmacistApp_Exam_2021-20210624154341.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC110/forms/PharmacistApp_Endorse_2021-20210624154411.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC110/forms/PharmacistApp_Endorse_2021-20210624154411.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC110/forms/Reinstate-Reactivate_Pharm_2021-20210624154245.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC110/forms/Reinstate-Reactivate_Pharm_2021-20210624154245.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC110/forms/Reinstate_PharTech_2021-20210624154027.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC110/forms/Reinstate_PharTech_2021-20210624154027.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC110/forms/Phar_Technician_2021-20210624154142.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC110/forms/Phar_Technician_2021-20210624154142.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC110/forms/Limited-Use_PharTech_2021-20210624153917.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC110/forms/Limited-Use_PharTech_2021-20210624153917.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC110/forms/Aff_FreeClinicDir-20210113204932.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC110/forms/PT_TrainingApp-20210113205044.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC110/forms/PT_TrainingApp-20210113205044.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC110/forms/Intern_2021-20210624154624.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC110/forms/Intern_2021-20210624154624.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC110/forms/Foreign_Intern_2021-20210625112857.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC110/forms/Foreign_Intern_2021-20210625112857.pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=8fb24004673~309.pdf&typ=40&actno=004673&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=8fb24004673~309.pdf&typ=40&actno=004673&mime=application/pdf
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Name Change Form for Individuals (rev. 3/2018) 

Application for Approval of a Continuing Education Program 

(rev. 5/2018) 

Application for Approval of an Innovative (PILOT) Program 

(rev. 10/2020) 

Application for Approval of a Repackaging Training Program 

(rev. 10/2020) 

Continuing Education (CE) Credit Form for Preceptors (rev. 

7/2020) 

Application for Approval of ACPE Accredited Pharmacy 

School Course(s) for Continuing Education Credit (rev. 

6/2020) 

Sponsor Certification for Volunteer Registration (rev. 

4/2018) 

Application for Volunteer Practice By a Pharmacist (rev. 

4/2018) 

Continuing Education (CE) Credit Form for Volunteer 

Practice (rev. 4/2018) 

FORMS (18VAC110-30) 

Application for a Controlled Substances Registration 

Certificate (rev. 10/2020) 

Controlled Substances Registration Inspection Report (rev. 

1/2020) 

Application for a License to Sell Controlled Substances by a 

Practitioner of the Healing Arts (eff. 6/2021) 

VA.R. Doc. No. R21-6848; Filed June 25, 2021, 11:37 a.m. 

BOARD OF COUNSELING 

Final Regulation 

Titles of Regulations: 18VAC115-20. Regulations 

Governing the Practice of Professional Counseling 

(amending 18VAC115-20-10, 18VAC115-20-130). 

18VAC115-30. Regulations Governing the Certification of 

Substance Abuse Counselors and Substance Abuse 

Counseling Assistants (amending 18VAC115-30-10, 

18VAC115-30-140). 

18VAC115-50. Regulations Governing the Practice of 

Marriage and Family Therapy (amending 18VAC115-50-

10, 18VAC115-50-110). 

18VAC115-60. Regulations Governing the Practice of 

Licensed Substance Abuse Treatment Practitioners 

(amending 18VAC115-60-10, 18VAC115-60-130). 

Statutory Authority: § 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: August 18, 2021. 

Agency Contact: Jaime Hoyle, Executive Director, Board of 

Counseling, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, Richmond, VA 

23233, telephone (804) 367-4406, FAX (804) 527-4435, or 

email jaime.hoyle@dhp.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendments define conversion therapy and establish 

that the standard of practice for persons licensed, certified, 

or registered by the board preclude the provision of 

conversion therapy to persons younger than 18 years of age. 

Changes to the proposed regulation adjust the definition of 

"conversion therapy" to reference the definition of that term 

in § 54.1-2409.5 of the Code of Virginia.  

18VAC115-20-10. Definitions. 

A. The following words and terms when used in this chapter 

shall have the meaning ascribed to them in § 54.1-3500 of the 

Code of Virginia: 

"Board" 

"Counseling" 

"Professional counselor" 

B. The following words and terms when used in this chapter 

shall have the following meanings, unless the context clearly 

indicates otherwise: 

"Ancillary counseling services" means activities such as case 

management, recordkeeping, referral, and coordination of 

services. 

"Applicant" means any individual who has submitted an 

official application and paid the application fee for licensure as 

a professional counselor. 

"CACREP" means the Council for Accreditation of 

Counseling and Related Educational Programs. 

"Candidate for licensure" means a person who has 

satisfactorily completed all educational and experience 

requirements for licensure and has been deemed eligible by the 

board to sit for its examinations. 

"Clinical counseling services" means activities such as 

assessment, diagnosis, treatment planning, and treatment 

implementation. 

"Competency area" means an area in which a person 

possesses knowledge and skill and the ability to apply them in 

the clinical setting. 

"Conversion therapy" means any practice or treatment [ that 

seeks to change an individual's sexual orientation or gender 

identity, including efforts to change behaviors or gender 

expressions or to eliminate or reduce sexual or romantic 

attractions or feelings toward individuals of the same gender. 

Conversion therapy does not include: 1. Counseling that 

provides assistance to a person undergoing gender transition; 

or 2. Counseling that provides acceptance, support, and 

understanding of a person or facilitates a person's coping, 

social support, and identity exploration and development, 

http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=5946f004673~318.pdf&typ=40&actno=004673&mime=application/pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC110/forms/CE_Programs-20210113205215.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC110/forms/CE_Programs-20210113205215.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC110/forms/PilotProgram-20210113205342.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC110/forms/PilotProgram-20210113205342.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC110/forms/RepackagingTraining-20210113205357.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC110/forms/RepackagingTraining-20210113205357.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC110/forms/CECredit-20210113205411.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC110/forms/CECredit-20210113205411.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC110/forms/ACPE_SchoolCourse-20210113205525.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC110/forms/ACPE_SchoolCourse-20210113205525.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC110/forms/ACPE_SchoolCourse-20210113205525.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC110/forms/Vol_Prac_Sponsor-20210113205611.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC110/forms/Vol_Prac_Sponsor-20210113205611.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC110/forms/Volunt_App_Pharm-20210113205627.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC110/forms/Volunt_App_Pharm-20210113205627.pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=114d3004673~368.pdf&typ=40&actno=004673&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=114d3004673~368.pdf&typ=40&actno=004673&mime=application/pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC110/forms/Contr_Subst_Reg-20210116202337.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC110/forms/Contr_Subst_Reg-20210116202337.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC110/forms/InspectionReport-20210116202357.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC110/forms/InspectionReport-20210116202357.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC110/forms/Sell_Contr_Subst_2021-20210625112300.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC110/forms/Sell_Contr_Subst_2021-20210625112300.pdf
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including sexual-orientation-neutral interventions to prevent or 

address unlawful conduct or unsafe sexual practices, as long as 

such counseling does not seek to change an individual's sexual 

orientation or gender identity in any direction as defined in 

§ 54.1-2409.5 A of the Code of Virginia ]. 

"CORE" means Council on Rehabilitation Education. 

"Exempt setting" means an agency or institution in which 

licensure is not required to engage in the practice of counseling 

according to the conditions set forth in § 54.1-3501 of the Code 

of Virginia. 

"Face-to-face" means the in-person delivery of clinical 

counseling services for a client. 

"Group supervision" means the process of clinical 

supervision of no more than six persons in a group setting 

provided by a qualified supervisor. 

"Internship" means a formal academic course from a 

regionally accredited college or university in which 

supervised, practical experience is obtained in a clinical setting 

in the application of counseling principles, methods, and 

techniques. 

"Jurisdiction" means a state, territory, district, province, or 

country that has granted a professional certificate or license to 

practice a profession, use a professional title, or hold oneself 

out as a practitioner of that profession. 

"Nonexempt setting" means a setting that does not meet the 

conditions of exemption from the requirements of licensure to 

engage in the practice of counseling as set forth in § 54.1-3501 

of the Code of Virginia. 

"Regional accrediting agency" means one of the regional 

accreditation agencies recognized by the U.S. Secretary of 

Education responsible for accrediting senior postsecondary 

institutions. 

"Residency" means a postgraduate, supervised, clinical 

experience. 

"Resident" means an individual who has a supervisory 

contract and has been issued a temporary license by the board 

to provide clinical services in professional counseling under 

supervision. 

"Supervision" means the ongoing process performed by a 

supervisor who monitors the performance of the person 

supervised and provides regular, documented individual or 

group consultation, guidance, and instruction that is specific to 

the clinical counseling services being performed with respect 

to the clinical skills and competencies of the person supervised. 

"Supervisory contract" means an agreement that outlines the 

expectations and responsibilities of the supervisor and resident 

in accordance with regulations of the board. 

18VAC115-20-130. Standards of practice. 

A. The protection of the public health, safety, and welfare and 

the best interest of the public shall be the primary guide in 

determining the appropriate professional conduct of all persons 

whose activities are regulated by the board. Regardless of the 

delivery method, whether in person, by phone, or 

electronically, these standards shall apply to the practice of 

counseling. 

B. Persons licensed or registered by the board shall: 

1. Practice in a manner that is in the best interest of the public 

and does not endanger the public health, safety, or welfare; 

2. Practice only within the boundaries of their competence, 

based on their education, training, supervised experience, 

and appropriate professional experience and represent their 

education, training, and experience accurately to clients; 

3. Stay abreast of new counseling information, concepts, 

applications, and practices that are necessary to providing 

appropriate, effective professional services; 

4. Be able to justify all services rendered to clients as 

necessary and appropriate for diagnostic or therapeutic 

purposes; 

5. Document the need for and steps taken to terminate a 

counseling relationship when it becomes clear that the client 

is not benefiting from the relationship. Document the 

assistance provided in making appropriate arrangements for 

the continuation of treatment for clients, when necessary, 

following termination of a counseling relationship; 

6. Make appropriate arrangements for continuation of 

services, when necessary, during interruptions such as 

vacations, unavailability, relocation, illness, and disability; 

7. Disclose to clients all experimental methods of treatment 

and inform clients of the risks and benefits of any such 

treatment. Ensure that the welfare of the clients is in no way 

compromised in any experimentation or research involving 

those clients; 

8. Neither accept nor give commissions, rebates, or other 

forms of remuneration for referral of clients for professional 

services; 

9. Inform clients of the purposes, goals, techniques, 

procedures, limitations, potential risks, and benefits of 

services to be performed; the limitations of confidentiality; 

and other pertinent information when counseling is initiated 

and throughout the counseling process as necessary. Provide 

clients with accurate information regarding the implications 

of diagnosis, the intended use of tests and reports, fees, and 

billing arrangements; 

10. Select tests for use with clients that are valid, reliable, 

and appropriate and carefully interpret the performance of 

individuals not represented in standardized norms; 
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11. Determine whether a client is receiving services from 

another mental health service provider, and if so, refrain 

from providing services to the client without having an 

informed consent discussion with the client and having been 

granted communication privileges with the other 

professional; 

12. Use only in connection with one's practice as a mental 

health professional those educational and professional 

degrees or titles that have been earned at a college or 

university accredited by an accrediting agency recognized 

by the U.S. Department of Education, or credentials granted 

by a national certifying agency, and that are counseling in 

nature; and 

13. Advertise professional services fairly and accurately in a 

manner that is not false, misleading, or deceptive; and 

14. Not engage in conversion therapy with any person 

younger than 18 years of age. 

C. In regard to patient records, persons licensed by the board 

shall: 

1. Maintain written or electronic clinical records for each 

client to include treatment dates and identifying information 

to substantiate diagnosis and treatment plan, client progress, 

and termination; 

2. Maintain client records securely, inform all employees of 

the requirements of confidentiality, and provide for the 

destruction of records that are no longer useful in a manner 

that ensures client confidentiality; 

3. Disclose or release records to others only with the client's 

expressed written consent or that of the client's legally 

authorized representative in accordance with § 32.1-

127.1:03 of the Code of Virginia; 

4. Ensure confidentiality in the usage of client records and 

clinical materials by obtaining informed consent from the 

client or the client's legally authorized representative before 

(i) videotaping, (ii) audio recording, (iii) permitting third 

party observation, or (iv) using identifiable client records 

and clinical materials in teaching, writing, or public 

presentations; and 

5. Maintain client records for a minimum of five years or as 

otherwise required by law from the date of termination of the 

counseling relationship with the following exceptions: 

a. At minimum, records of a minor child shall be 

maintained for five years after attaining the age of 

majority (18 years) or 10 years following termination, 

whichever comes later; 

b. Records that are required by contractual obligation or 

federal law to be maintained for a longer period of time; 

or 

c. Records that have been transferred to another mental 

health service provider or given to the client or his legally 

authorized representative. 

D. In regard to dual relationships, persons licensed by the 

board shall: 

1. Avoid dual relationships with clients that could impair 

professional judgment or increase the risk of harm to clients. 

Examples of such relationships include, but are not limited 

to, familial, social, financial, business, bartering, or close 

personal relationships with clients. Counselors shall take 

appropriate professional precautions when a dual 

relationship cannot be avoided, such as informed consent, 

consultation, supervision, and documentation to ensure that 

judgment is not impaired and no exploitation occurs; 

2. Not engage in any type of romantic relationships or sexual 

intimacies with clients or those included in a collateral 

relationship with the client and not counsel persons with 

whom they have had a romantic relationship or sexual 

intimacy. Counselors shall not engage in romantic 

relationships or sexual intimacies with former clients within 

a minimum of five years after terminating the counseling 

relationship. Counselors who engage in such relationship or 

intimacy after five years following termination shall have 

the responsibility to examine and document thoroughly that 

such relations do not have an exploitive nature, based on 

factors such as duration of counseling, amount of time since 

counseling, termination circumstances, client's personal 

history and mental status, or adverse impact on the client. A 

client's consent to, initiation of, or participation in sexual 

behavior or involvement with a counselor does not change 

the nature of the conduct nor lift the regulatory prohibition; 

3. Not engage in any romantic relationship or sexual 

intimacy or establish a counseling or psychotherapeutic 

relationship with a supervisee or student. Counselors shall 

avoid any nonsexual dual relationship with a supervisee or 

student in which there is a risk of exploitation or potential 

harm to the supervisee or student or the potential for 

interference with the supervisor's professional judgment; 

and 

4. Recognize conflicts of interest and inform all parties of 

the nature and directions of loyalties and responsibilities 

involved. 

E. Persons licensed by this board shall report to the board 

known or suspected violations of the laws and regulations 

governing the practice of professional counseling. 

F. Persons licensed by the board shall advise their clients of 

their right to report to the Department of Health Professions 

any information of which the licensee may become aware in 

his professional capacity indicating that there is a reasonable 

probability that a person licensed or certified as a mental health 

service provider, as defined in § 54.1-2400.1 of the Code of 

Virginia, may have engaged in unethical, fraudulent, or 
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unprofessional conduct as defined by the pertinent licensing 

statutes and regulations. 

18VAC115-30-10. Definitions. 

A. The following words and terms when used in this chapter 

shall have the meaning ascribed to them in § 54.1-3500 of the 

Code of Virginia: 

"Board" 

"Certified substance abuse counselor" 

"Certified substance abuse counseling assistant" 

"Licensed substance abuse treatment practitioner" 

"Practice of substance abuse treatment" 

"Substance abuse" and "substance dependence" 

"Substance abuse treatment" 

B. The following words and terms when used in this chapter 

shall have the following meanings unless the context clearly 

indicates otherwise: 

"Applicant" means an individual who has submitted a 

completed application with documentation and the appropriate 

fees to be examined for certification as a substance abuse 

counselor or substance abuse counseling assistant. 

"Candidate" means a person who has been approved to take 

the examinations for certification as a substance abuse 

counselor or substance abuse counseling assistant. 

"Clinical supervision" means the ongoing process performed 

by a clinical supervisor who monitors the performance of the 

person supervised and provides regular, documented face-to-

face consultation, guidance and education with respect to the 

clinical skills and competencies of the person supervised. 

"Clinical supervisor" means one who provides case-related 

supervision, consultation, education and guidance for the 

applicant. The supervisor must be credentialed as defined in 

18VAC115-30-60 C. 

"Competency area" means an area in which a person 

possesses knowledge and skill and the ability to apply them in 

the clinical setting. 

"Contact hour" means the amount of credit awarded for 60 

minutes of participation in and successful completion of a 

continuing education program. 

"Conversion therapy" means any practice or treatment [ that 

seeks to change an individual's sexual orientation or gender 

identity, including efforts to change behaviors or gender 

expressions or to eliminate or reduce sexual or romantic 

attractions or feelings toward individuals of the same gender. 

Conversion therapy does not include: 1. Counseling that 

provides assistance to a person undergoing gender transition; 

or 2. Counseling that provides acceptance, support, and 

understanding of a person or facilitates a person's coping, 

social support, and identity exploration and development, 

including sexual-orientation-neutral interventions to prevent or 

address unlawful conduct or unsafe sexual practices, as long as 

such counseling does not seek to change an individual's sexual 

orientation or gender identity in any direction as defined in 

§ 54.1-2409.5 A of the Code of Virginia ]. 

"Didactic" means teaching-learning methods that impart facts 

and information, usually in the form of one-way 

communication (includes directed readings and lectures). 

"Group supervision" means the process of clinical 

supervision of no less than two nor more than six persons in a 

group setting provided by a clinical supervisor. 

"NAADAC" means the Association of Addiction 

Professionals. 

"NCC AP" means the National Certification Commission for 

Addiction Professionals, an affiliate of NAADAC. 

"Regionally accredited" means accredited by one of the 

regional accreditation agencies recognized by the U.S. 

Department of Education as responsible for accrediting senior 

postsecondary institutions. 

"Substance abuse counseling" means applying a counseling 

process, treatment strategies and rehabilitative services to help 

an individual to: 

1. Understand his substance use, abuse, or dependency; and 

2. Change his drug-taking behavior so that it does not 

interfere with effective physical, psychological, social, or 

vocational functioning. 

18VAC115-30-140. Standards of practice. 

A. The protection of the public health, safety, and welfare and 

the best interest of the public shall be the primary guide in 

determining the appropriate professional conduct of all persons 

whose activities are regulated by the board. 

B. Persons certified by the board shall: 

1. Practice in a manner that is in the best interest of the public 

and does not endanger the public health, safety, or welfare. 

2. Be able to justify all services rendered to clients as 

necessary for diagnostic or therapeutic purposes. 

3. Practice only within the competency area for which they 

are qualified by training or experience. 

4. Report to the board known or suspected violations of the 

laws and regulations governing the practice of certified 

substance abuse counselors or certified substance abuse 

counseling assistants. 

5. Neither accept nor give commissions, rebates, or other 

forms of remuneration for referral of clients for professional 

services. Make appropriate consultations and referrals based 

on the best interest of clients. 
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6. Stay abreast of new developments, concepts, and practices 

that are necessary to providing appropriate services. 

7. Document the need for and steps taken to terminate a 

counseling relationship when it becomes clear that the client 

is not benefiting from the relationship. Document the 

assistance provided in making arrangements for the 

continuation of treatment for clients when necessary, 

following termination of a counseling relationship. 

8. Not willfully or negligently breach the confidentiality 

between a practitioner and a client. A breach of 

confidentiality that is required or permitted by applicable 

law or beyond the control of the practitioner shall not be 

considered negligent or willful. 

9. Not engage in conversion therapy with any person 

younger than 18 years of age. 

C. In regard to client records, persons certified by the board 

shall: 

1. Disclose counseling records to others only in accordance 

with applicable law. 

2. Maintain client records securely, inform all employees of 

the requirements of confidentiality, and provide for the 

destruction of records that are no longer useful in a manner 

that ensures client confidentiality. 

3. Ensure confidentiality in the usage of client records and 

clinical materials by obtaining informed consent from the 

client or the client's legally authorized representative before 

(i) videotaping, (ii) audio recording, (iii) permitting third-

party observation, or (iv) using identifiable client records 

and clinical materials in teaching, writing, or public 

presentations. 

4. Maintain timely, accurate, legible, and complete written 

or electronic records for each client, to include counseling 

dates and identifying information to substantiate the 

substance abuse counseling plan, client progress, and 

termination. 

5. Maintain client records for a minimum of five years or as 

otherwise required by law from the date of termination of the 

counseling relationship with the following exceptions: 

a. At minimum, records of a minor child shall be 

maintained for five years after attaining the age of 

majority (18 years); 

b. Records that are required by contractual obligation or 

federal law to be maintained for a longer period of time; 

or 

c. Records that have been transferred to another mental 

health service provider or given to the client or the client's 

legally authorized representative. 

D. In regard to dual relationships, persons certified by the 

board shall: 

1. Not engage in dual relationships with clients, former 

clients, supervisees, and supervisors that are harmful to the 

client's or supervisee's well-being or that would impair the 

substance abuse counselor's, substance abuse counseling 

assistant's, or supervisor's objectivity and professional 

judgment or increase the risk of client or supervisee 

exploitation. This prohibition includes such activities as 

counseling close friends, former sexual partners, employees, 

or relatives or engaging in business relationships with 

clients. 

2. Not engage in sexual intimacies or romantic relationships 

with current clients or supervisees. For at least five years 

after cessation or termination of professional services, 

certified substance abuse counselors and certified substance 

abuse counseling assistants shall not engage in sexual 

intimacies or romantic relationships with a client or those 

included in collateral therapeutic services. Because sexual or 

romantic relationships are potentially exploitative, certified 

substance abuse counselors and certified substance abuse 

counseling assistants shall bear the burden of demonstrating 

that there has been no exploitation. A client's consent to, 

initiation of, or participation in sexual behavior or 

involvement with a certified substance abuse counselor or 

certified substance abuse counseling assistants does not 

change the nature of the conduct nor lift the regulatory 

prohibition. 

3. Recognize conflicts of interest and inform all parties of 

obligations, responsibilities, and loyalties to third parties. 

E. Upon learning of evidence that indicates a reasonable 

probability that another mental health provider is or may be 

guilty of a violation of standards of conduct as defined in 

statute or regulation, persons certified by the board shall advise 

their clients of their right to report such misconduct to the 

Department of Health Professions in accordance with § 54.1-

2400.4 of the Code of Virginia. 

18VAC115-50-10. Definitions. 

A. The following words and terms when used in this chapter 

shall have the meaning ascribed to them in § 54.1-3500 of the 

Code of Virginia: (i) "board," (ii) "marriage and family 

therapy," (iii) "marriage and family therapist," and (iv) 

"practice of marriage and family therapy." 

B. The following words and terms when used in this chapter 

shall have the following meanings, unless the context clearly 

indicates otherwise: 

"Ancillary counseling services" means activities such as case 

management, recordkeeping, referral, and coordination of 

services. 

"CACREP" means the Council for Accreditation of 

Counseling and Related Educational Programs. 
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"COAMFTE" means the Commission on Accreditation for 

Marriage and Family Therapy Education. 

"Clinical marriage and family services" means activities such 

as assessment, diagnosis, and treatment planning and treatment 

implementation for couples and families. 

"Conversion therapy" means any practice or treatment [ that 

seeks to change an individual's sexual orientation or gender 

identity, including efforts to change behaviors or gender 

expressions or to eliminate or reduce sexual or romantic 

attractions or feelings toward individuals of the same gender. 

Conversion therapy does not include: 1. Counseling that 

provides assistance to a person undergoing gender transition; 

or 2. Counseling that provides acceptance, support, and 

understanding of a person or facilitates a person's coping, 

social support, and identity exploration and development, 

including sexual-orientation-neutral interventions to prevent or 

address unlawful conduct or unsafe sexual practices, as long as 

such counseling does not seek to change an individual's sexual 

orientation or gender identity in any direction as defined in 

§ 54.1-2409.5 A of the Code of Virginia ]. 

"Face-to-face" means the in-person delivery of clinical 

marriage and family services for a client. 

"Internship" means a formal academic course from a 

regionally accredited university in which supervised practical 

experience is obtained in a clinical setting in the application of 

counseling principles, methods, and techniques. 

"Regional accrediting agency" means one of the regional 

accreditation agencies recognized by the U.S. Secretary of 

Education as responsible for accrediting senior post-secondary 

institutions and training programs. 

"Residency" means a postgraduate, supervised clinical 

experience. 

"Resident" means an individual who has a supervisory 

contract and has been issued a temporary license by the board 

approval to provide clinical services in marriage and family 

therapy under supervision. 

"Supervision" means an ongoing process performed by a 

supervisor who monitors the performance of the person 

supervised and provides regular, documented, individual or 

group consultation, guidance, and instruction with respect to 

the clinical skills and competencies of the person or persons 

being supervised. 

"Supervisory contract" means an agreement that outlines the 

expectations and responsibilities of the supervisor and resident 

in accordance with regulations of the board. 

18VAC115-50-110. Standards of practice. 

A. The protection of the public's health, safety, and welfare 

and the best interest of the public shall be the primary guide in 

determining the appropriate professional conduct of all persons 

whose activities are regulated by the board. Regardless of the 

delivery method, whether in person, by phone or electronically, 

these standards shall apply to the practice of marriage and 

family therapy. 

B. Persons licensed or registered by the board shall: 

1. Practice in a manner that is in the best interest of the public 

and does not endanger the public health, safety, or welfare; 

2. Practice only within the boundaries of their competence, 

based on their education, training, supervised experience, 

and appropriate professional experience and represent their 

education, training, and experience accurately to clients; 

3. Stay abreast of new marriage and family therapy 

information, concepts, applications, and practices that are 

necessary to providing appropriate, effective professional 

services; 

4. Be able to justify all services rendered to clients as 

necessary and appropriate for diagnostic or therapeutic 

purposes; 

5. Document the need for and steps taken to terminate a 

counseling relationship when it becomes clear that the client 

is not benefiting from the relationship. Document the 

assistance provided in making appropriate arrangements for 

the continuation of treatment for clients, when necessary, 

following termination of a counseling relationship; 

6. Make appropriate arrangements for continuation of 

services, when necessary, during interruptions such as 

vacations, unavailability, relocation, illness, and disability; 

7. Disclose to clients all experimental methods of treatment 

and inform client of the risks and benefits of any such 

treatment. Ensure that the welfare of the client is not 

compromised in any experimentation or research involving 

those clients; 

8. Neither accept nor give commissions, rebates or other 

forms of remuneration for referral of clients for professional 

services; 

9. Inform clients of the purposes, goals, techniques, 

procedures, limitations, potential risks, and benefits of 

services to be performed; the limitations of confidentiality; 

and other pertinent information when counseling is initiated 

and throughout the counseling process as necessary. Provide 

clients with accurate information regarding the implications 

of diagnosis, the intended use of tests and reports, fees, and 

billing arrangements; 

10. Select tests for use with clients that are valid, reliable, 

and appropriate and carefully interpret the performance of 

individuals not represented in standardized norms; 

11. Determine whether a client is receiving services from 

another mental health service provider, and if so, refrain 

from providing services to the client without having an 

informed consent discussion with the client and having been 
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granted communication privileges with the other 

professional; 

12. Use only in connection with one's practice as a mental 

health professional those educational and professional 

degrees or titles that have been earned at a college or 

university accredited by an accrediting agency recognized 

by the U.S. Department of Education, or credentials granted 

by a national certifying agency, and that are counseling in 

nature; and 

13. Advertise professional services fairly and accurately in a 

manner that is not false, misleading or deceptive; and 

14. Not engage in conversion therapy with any person 

younger than 18 years of age. 

C. In regard to patient records, persons licensed by the board 

shall: 

1. Maintain written or electronic clinical records for each 

client to include treatment dates and identifying information 

to substantiate diagnosis and treatment plan, client progress, 

and termination; 

2. Maintain client records securely, inform all employees of 

the requirements of confidentiality and provide for the 

destruction of records that are no longer useful in a manner 

that ensures client confidentiality; 

3. Disclose or release client records to others only with 

clients' expressed written consent or that of their legally 

authorized representative in accordance with § 32.1-

127.1:03 of the Code of Virginia; 

4. Ensure confidentiality in the usage of client records and 

clinical materials by obtaining informed consent from clients 

or their legally authorized representative before (i) 

videotaping, (ii) audio recording, (iii) permitting third party 

observation, or (iv) using identifiable client records and 

clinical materials in teaching, writing, or public 

presentations; and 

5. Maintain client records for a minimum of five years or as 

otherwise required by law from the date of termination of the 

counseling relationship with the following exceptions: 

a. At minimum, records of a minor child shall be 

maintained for five years after attaining the age of 

majority (18 years) or 10 years following termination, 

whichever comes later; 

b. Records that are required by contractual obligation or 

federal law to be maintained for a longer period of time; 

or 

c. Records that have transferred to another mental health 

service provider or given to the client or his legally 

authorized representative. 

D. In regard to dual relationships, persons licensed by the 

board shall: 

1. Avoid dual relationships with clients that could impair 

professional judgment or increase the risk of harm to clients. 

Examples of such relationships include, but are not limited 

to, familial, social, financial, business, bartering, or close 

personal relationships with clients. Marriage and family 

therapists shall take appropriate professional precautions 

when a dual relationship cannot be avoided, such as 

informed consent, consultation, supervision, and 

documentation to ensure that judgment is not impaired and 

no exploitation occurs; 

2. Not engage in any type of romantic relationships or sexual 

intimacies with clients or those included in a collateral 

relationship with the client and also not counsel persons with 

whom they have had a sexual intimacy or romantic 

relationship. Marriage and family therapists shall not engage 

in romantic relationships or sexual intimacies with former 

clients within a minimum of five years after terminating the 

counseling relationship. Marriage and family therapists who 

engage in such relationship or intimacy after five years 

following termination shall have the responsibility to 

examine and document thoroughly that such relations do not 

have an exploitive nature, based on factors such as duration 

of counseling, amount of time since counseling, termination 

circumstances, client's personal history and mental status, or 

adverse impact on the client. A client's consent to, initiation 

of or participation in sexual behavior or involvement with a 

marriage and family therapist does not change the nature of 

the conduct nor lift the regulatory prohibition; 

3. Not engage in any romantic relationships or sexual 

relationship or establish a counseling or psychotherapeutic 

relationship with a supervisee or student. Marriage and 

family therapists shall avoid any nonsexual dual relationship 

with a supervisee or student in which there is a risk of 

exploitation or potential harm to the supervisee or student or 

the potential for interference with the supervisor's 

professional judgment; and 

4. Recognize conflicts of interest and inform all parties of 

the nature and directions of loyalties and responsibilities 

involved. 

E. Persons licensed by this board shall report to the board 

known or suspected violations of the laws and regulations 

governing the practice of marriage and family therapy. 

F. Persons licensed by the board shall advise their clients of 

their right to report to the Department of Health Professions 

any information of which the licensee may become aware in 

his professional capacity indicating that there is a reasonable 

probability that a person licensed or certified as a mental health 

service provider, as defined in § 54.1-2400.1 of the Code of 

Virginia, may have engaged in unethical, fraudulent or 
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unprofessional conduct as defined by the pertinent licensing 

statutes and regulations. 

18VAC115-60-10. Definitions. 

A. The following words and terms when used in this chapter 

shall have the meaning ascribed to them in § 54.1-3500 of the 

Code of Virginia: 

"Board" 

"Licensed substance abuse treatment practitioner" 

"Substance abuse" 

"Substance abuse treatment" 

B. The following words and terms when used in this chapter 

shall have the following meanings, unless the context clearly 

indicates otherwise: 

"Ancillary services" means activities such as case 

management, recordkeeping, referral, and coordination of 

services. 

"Applicant" means any individual who has submitted an 

official application and paid the application fee for licensure as 

a substance abuse treatment practitioner. 

"CACREP" means the Council for Accreditation of 

Counseling and Related Educational Programs. 

"Candidate for licensure" means a person who has 

satisfactorily completed all educational and experience 

requirements for licensure and has been deemed eligible by the 

board to sit for its examinations. 

"Clinical substance abuse treatment services" means 

activities such as assessment, diagnosis, treatment planning, 

and treatment implementation. 

"COAMFTE" means the Commission on Accreditation for 

Marriage and Family Therapy Education. 

"Competency area" means an area in which a person 

possesses knowledge and skill and the ability to apply them in 

the clinical setting. 

"Conversion therapy" means any practice or treatment [ that 

seeks to change an individual's sexual orientation or gender 

identity, including efforts to change behaviors or gender 

expressions or to eliminate or reduce sexual or romantic 

attractions or feelings toward individuals of the same gender. 

Conversion therapy does not include: 1. Counseling that 

provides assistance to a person undergoing gender transition; 

or 2. Counseling that provides acceptance, support, and 

understanding of a person or facilitates a person's coping, 

social support, and identity exploration and development, 

including sexual-orientation-neutral interventions to prevent or 

address unlawful conduct or unsafe sexual practices, as long as 

such counseling does not seek to change an individual's sexual 

orientation or gender identity in any direction as defined in 

§ 54.1-2409.5 A of the Code of Virginia ]. 

"Exempt setting" means an agency or institution in which 

licensure is not required to engage in the practice of substance 

abuse treatment according to the conditions set forth in § 54.1-

3501 of the Code of Virginia. 

"Face-to-face" means the in-person delivery of clinical 

substance abuse treatment services for a client. 

"Group supervision" means the process of clinical 

supervision of no more than six persons in a group setting 

provided by a qualified supervisor. 

"Internship" means a formal academic course from a 

regionally accredited university in which supervised, practical 

experience is obtained in a clinical setting in the application of 

counseling principles, methods and techniques. 

"Jurisdiction" means a state, territory, district, province, or 

country which that has granted a professional certificate or 

license to practice a profession, use a professional title, or hold 

oneself out as a practitioner of that profession. 

"Nonexempt setting" means a setting which that does not 

meet the conditions of exemption from the requirements of 

licensure to engage in the practice of substance abuse treatment 

as set forth in § 54.1-3501 of the Code of Virginia. 

"Regional accrediting agency" means one of the regional 

accreditation agencies recognized by the U.S. Secretary of 

Education responsible for accrediting senior postsecondary 

institutions. 

"Residency" means a postgraduate, supervised, clinical 

experience. 

"Resident" means an individual who has a supervisory 

contract and has been issued a temporary license by the board 

to provide clinical services in substance abuse treatment under 

supervision. 

"Supervision" means the ongoing process performed by a 

supervisor who monitors the performance of the person 

supervised and provides regular, documented individual or 

group consultation, guidance, and instruction with respect to 

the clinical skills and competencies of the person supervised. 

"Supervisory contract" means an agreement that outlines the 

expectations and responsibilities of the supervisor and resident 

in accordance with regulations of the board. 

18VAC115-60-130. Standards of practice. 

A. The protection of the public health, safety, and welfare and 

the best interest of the public shall be the primary guide in 

determining the appropriate professional conduct of all persons 

whose activities are regulated by the board. Regardless of the 

delivery method, whether in person, by phone or electronically, 

these standards shall apply to the practice of substance abuse 

treatment. 
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B. Persons licensed or registered by the board shall: 

1. Practice in a manner that is in the best interest of the public 

and does not endanger the public health, safety, or welfare; 

2. Practice only within the boundaries of their competence, 

based on their education, training, supervised experience and 

appropriate professional experience and represent their 

education, training and experience accurately to clients; 

3. Stay abreast of new substance abuse treatment 

information, concepts, application, and practices that are 

necessary to providing appropriate, effective professional 

services; 

4. Be able to justify all services rendered to clients as 

necessary and appropriate for diagnostic or therapeutic 

purposes; 

5. Document the need for and steps taken to terminate a 

counseling relationship when it becomes clear that the client 

is not benefiting from the relationship. Document the 

assistance provided in making appropriate arrangements for 

the continuation of treatment for clients, when necessary, 

following termination of a counseling relationship; 

6. Make appropriate arrangements for continuation of 

services, when necessary, during interruptions such as 

vacations, unavailability, relocation, illness, and disability; 

7. Disclose to clients all experimental methods of treatment 

and inform clients of the risks and benefits of any such 

treatment. Ensure that the welfare of the clients is in no way 

compromised in any experimentation or research involving 

those clients; 

8. Neither accept nor give commissions, rebates, or other 

forms of remuneration for referral of clients for professional 

services; 

9. Inform clients of the purposes, goals, techniques, 

procedures, limitations, potential risks, and benefits of 

services to be performed; the limitations of confidentiality; 

and other pertinent information when counseling is initiated 

and throughout the counseling process as necessary. Provide 

clients with accurate information regarding the implications 

of diagnosis, the intended use of tests and reports, fees, and 

billing arrangements; 

10. Select tests for use with clients that are valid, reliable, 

and appropriate and carefully interpret the performance of 

individuals not represented in standardized norms; 

11. Determine whether a client is receiving services from 

another mental health service provider, and if so, refrain 

from providing services to the client without having an 

informed consent discussion with the client and having been 

granted communication privileges with the other 

professional; 

12. Use only in connection with one's practice as a mental 

health professional those educational and professional 

degrees or titles that have been earned at a college or 

university accredited by an accrediting agency recognized 

by the U.S. Department of Education, or credentials granted 

by a national certifying agency, and that are counseling in 

nature; and 

13. Advertise professional services fairly and accurately in a 

manner that is not false, misleading or deceptive; and 

14. Not engage in conversion therapy with any person 

younger than 18 years of age. 

C. In regard to patient records, persons licensed by the board 

shall: 

1. Maintain written or electronic clinical records for each 

client to include treatment dates and identifying information 

to substantiate diagnosis and treatment plan, client progress, 

and termination; 

2. Maintain client records securely, inform all employees of 

the requirements of confidentiality and provide for the 

destruction of records that are no longer useful in a manner 

that ensures client confidentiality; 

3. Disclose or release records to others only with clients' 

expressed written consent or that of their legally authorized 

representative in accordance with § 32.1-127.1:03 of the 

Code of Virginia; 

4. Maintain client records for a minimum of five years or as 

otherwise required by law from the date of termination of the 

substance abuse treatment relationship with the following 

exceptions: 

a. At minimum, records of a minor child shall be 

maintained for five years after attaining the age of 

majority (18 years) or 10 years following termination, 

whichever comes later; 

b. Records that are required by contractual obligation or 

federal law to be maintained for a longer period of time; 

or 

c. Records that have been transferred to another mental 

health service provider or given to the client; and 

5. Ensure confidentiality in the usage of client records and 

clinical materials by obtaining informed consent from clients 

or their legally authorized representative before (i) 

videotaping, (ii) audio recording, (iii) permitting third party 

observation, or (iv) using identifiable client records and 

clinical materials in teaching, writing or public 

presentations. 

D. In regard to dual relationships, persons licensed by the 

board shall: 

1. Avoid dual relationships with clients that could impair 

professional judgment or increase the risk of harm to clients. 

Examples of such relationships include, but are not limited 
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to, familial, social, financial, business, bartering, or close 

personal relationships with clients. Counselors shall take 

appropriate professional precautions when a dual 

relationship cannot be avoided, such as informed consent, 

consultation, supervision, and documentation to ensure that 

judgment is not impaired and no exploitation occurs; 

2. Not engage in any type of romantic relationships or sexual 

intimacies with clients or those included in a collateral 

relationship with the client and not counsel persons with 

whom they have had a romantic relationship or sexual 

intimacy. Licensed substance abuse treatment practitioners 

shall not engage in romantic relationships or sexual 

intimacies with former clients within a minimum of five 

years after terminating the counseling relationship. Licensed 

substance abuse treatment practitioners who engage in such 

relationship or intimacy after five years following 

termination shall have the responsibility to examine and 

document thoroughly that such relations do not have an 

exploitive nature, based on factors such as duration of 

counseling, amount of time since counseling, termination 

circumstances, client's personal history and mental status, or 

adverse impact on the client. A client's consent to, initiation 

of or participation in sexual behavior or involvement with a 

licensed substance abuse treatment practitioner does not 

change the nature of the conduct nor lift the regulatory 

prohibition; 

3. Not engage in any sexual intimacy or romantic 

relationship or establish a counseling or psychotherapeutic 

relationship with a supervisee or student. Licensed substance 

abuse treatment practitioners shall avoid any nonsexual dual 

relationship with a supervisee or student in which there is a 

risk of exploitation or potential harm to the supervisee or the 

potential for interference with the supervisor's professional 

judgment; and 

4. Recognize conflicts of interest and inform all parties of 

the nature and directions of loyalties and responsibilities 

involved. 

E. Persons licensed by this board shall report to the board 

known or suspected violations of the laws and regulations 

governing the practice of substance abuse treatment. 

F. Persons licensed by the board shall advise their clients of 

their right to report to the Department of Health Professions 

any information of which the licensee may become aware in 

his professional capacity indicating that there is a reasonable 

probability that a person licensed or certified as a mental health 

service provider, as defined in § 54.1-2400.1 of the Code of 

Virginia, may have engaged in unethical, fraudulent or 

unprofessional conduct as defined by the pertinent licensing 

statutes and regulations. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R19-5842; Filed June 22, 2021, 2:45 p.m. 

DEPARTMENT OF PROFESSIONAL AND 
OCCUPATIONAL REGULATION 

Proposed Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC120-30. Regulations Governing 

Polygraph Examiners (amending 18VAC120-30-100, 

18VAC120-30-120, 18VAC120-30-130, 18VAC120-30-160, 

18VAC120-30-170, 18VAC120-30-180, 18VAC120-30-190; 

repealing 18VAC120-30-140, 18VAC120-30-150). 

Statutory Authority: §§ 54.1-113 and 54.1-1802.1 of the Code 

of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: 

July 28, 2021 - noon - Department of Professional and 

Occupational Regulation, Perimeter Center, 9960 

Mayland Drive, Suite 200, Board Room 3, Richmond, 

Virginia 23233 

Public Comment Deadline: September 17, 2021. 

Agency Contact: Eric L. Olson, Board Executive Director, 

Department of Professional and Occupational Regulation, 

9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 400, Richmond, VA 23233, 

telephone (804) 367-7226, FAX (866) 430-1033, or email 

polygraph@dpor.virginia.gov. 

Basis: Section 54.1-1802.1 of the Code of Virginia grants the 

Director of the Department of Professional and Occupational 

Regulation (DPOR) the powers and duties of a regulatory 

board and directs the director to promulgate regulations 

necessary for the reasonable administration of Chapter 18 

(§ 54.1-1800 et seq.) of Title 54.1 of the Code of Virginia in 

accordance with the Administrative Process Act (§ 2.2-4000 et 

seq.). 

Purpose: A two-year license term is aligned with the 

Commonwealth's biennial budget cycle for purposes of fee-

setting; it provides a reasonable, less restrictive timeframe for 

an individual to be licensed to work without requalifying with 

the credentialing source, and it brings renewal requirements in 

line with other regulatory programs in Virginia. Currently, the 

majority of regulatory boards at DPOR and its companion 

agency, the Department of Health Professions, issue licenses 

on a two-year cycle. Polygraph examiner licenses are one of 

the few exceptions that must renew on an annual basis, which 

can prove burdensome to some licensees. 

The public's health, safety, and welfare remains protected with 

this proposed regulatory change to the reinstatement 

regulations. In reviewing the instances where an individual lost 

a license simply for being late with a payment, staff conducted 

a review of other regulatory board reinstatement regulations. 

This review found that most regulatory boards have a 

minimum of a one-year reinstatement period, double that 

currently in place for polygraph examiners. 

Substance: DPOR will review current renewal and 

reinstatement fees to ensure compliance with § 54.1-113 of the 

Code of Virginia and adjust as necessary. 18VAC120-30-120 

is amended to increase the license period to two years from the 
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last day of the month in which the license was issued. DPOR 

is repealing 18VAC120-30-140 and 18VAC120-30-150. 

Qualifications for renewal is amended to incorporate 

provisions of 18VAC120-30-150. DPOR will amend 

reinstatement requirements to increase the reinstatement 

period to 24 calendar months. 18VAC120-30-180 is amended 

to clarify language to include the same provisions as those in 

18VAC120-30-160. 18VAC120-30-190 is amended to 

increase the reinstatement period to two years. 

Issues: The primary advantage to the public is increased clarity 

and ability to comply with regulatory requirements by 

implementing the proposed changes, which are the direct result 

of feedback received from licensees. Polygraph examiners will 

benefit from a less burdensome path to reinstate an expired 

license without needing to meet a reexamination requirement. 

There are no identified disadvantages to the public. The 

primary advantage to the agency and the Commonwealth is 

increased understanding and compliance by licensees with 

regulatory requirements, since the proposed changes resulted 

directly form input from the licensing staff because of 

interaction with licensees. There are no identified 

disadvantages to the agency or the Commonwealth. 

Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 

Analysis: 

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. The 

Department of Professional and Occupational Regulation 

(DPOR) proposes to: 1) change the length of polygraph 

examiner licensure from 12 months to 24 months, 2) change 

the license renewal fee from $55 for 12 months to $110 for 24 

months, 3) change the Application for Examiner's License by 

Reciprocity fee from $95 (covers the first year of licensure) to 

$190 (covers the first two years of licensure), 4) change the 

Application for Examiner's License fee from $45 (covers the 

first year of licensure) to $90 (covers the first two years of 

licensure), 5) increase the period of time after license 

expiration that the license can be reinstated from six months to 

24 months, and 6) eliminate the one month grace period to pay 

the renewal fee. 

Background. The regulation lists three license application fees: 

Application for Examiner's License by Reciprocity fee, 

Application for Examiner's License fee, and Application for 

Examiner's License by Examination fee.  

License by Reciprocity is for polygraph examiners who are 

licensed in states with whom Virginia has reciprocal agreements 

(Alabama, Kentucky, Mississippi, North Carolina, South 

Carolina, Texas, Vermont and West Virginia). These applicants 

for Virginia licensure would not have to take the Virginia 

examination and would instead pay the Application for 

Examiner's License by Reciprocity fee.  

An Application for Examiner's License is used when an individual 

is licensed in a state without a reciprocity agreement, and who 

requests to have DPOR review their application to determine if the 

examination completed in that state is equivalent; if DPOR 

determines that it is equivalent, that applicant is not required to 

complete the examination. These applicants would pay the 

Application for Examiner's License fee. 

All other applicants must pass Virginia's exam and pay the 

Application for Examiner's License by Examination fee. 

Estimated Benefits and Costs. 

Changes in License Length and Fees 

The table below shows how application fees would change for the 

types of licensure application. Under the current regulation, where 

the license lasts for one year, a renewal fee must be paid for the 

second year. The renewal fee in the current regulation is $55. 

Under the proposed regulation, where the license lasts for two 

years, no renewal fee is required for the second year. 

Application Fees 

Application Type Current One-Year 

License 

Proposed Two-

Year License 

Examiner's License by 

Reciprocity 

$95 $190 

Examiner's License $45 $90 

Examiner's License by 

Examination 

$200 $200 

Taking this information into account, the tables below 

demonstrate that under the proposed regulation total fees for the 

first two years would increase by $40 for License by Reciprocity. 

In addition, total fees would decrease for the other two types of 

application: by $10 for an Examiner's License, and $55 for 

License by Examination. 

Cost for First Two Years: License by Reciprocity 

 

First Year Second 

Year 

Total First Two 

Years 

Current Regulation $95 $55 $150 

Proposed Regulation $190 $0 $190 

Cost for First Two Years: Examiner's License 
 

First Year Second 

Year 

Total First Two 

Years 

Current Regulation $45 $55 $100 

Proposed Regulation $90 $0 $90 

Cost for First Two Years: License by Examination 
 

First Year Second 

Year 

Total First Two 

Years 

Current Regulation $200 $55 $255 

Proposed Regulation $200 $0 $200 
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After the first two years, the cost per year would be $55 

regardless of the path to licensure as the renewal fee would be 

$110 every other year under the proposed regulation. This is 

the same per year cost as under the current regulation where 

the renewal fee is $55 every year. By switching from one-year 

licenses to two-year licenses, polygraph examiners would have 

to pay more upfront, but would save the small amount of time 

involved in sending payment in the second year of each license 

term. 

Late Payments. The current regulation allows what is 

essentially a one-month grace period in paying for license 

renewal. If the payment is paid up until one month after the 

expiration date of the license, reinstatement is not required and 

there is no late fee. DPOR proposes to eliminate the one-month 

grace period. Under the proposed regulation, the licensee 

would have to pay the reinstatement fee instead of the renewal 

fee. Practically speaking, this would essentially work out to be 

a $40 late fee, since the reinstatement fee is $150 compared to 

the $110 renewal fee. This change may encourage some 

licensees to be more diligent about sending their renewal 

payment in on time. 

As shown in the table below, an individual who is more than 

one month, but less than six months late in re-applying for 

licensure must pay a $75 reinstatement fee under the current 

regulation. However, if the individual is more than six months 

late they must apply as a new applicant for licensure. 

According to DPOR, since 2014 there have been multiple 

instances in which a licensed polygraph examiner has had their 

license expire past the current six-month reinstatement period, 

which requires that they apply as a new examiner and complete 

all entry criteria again (including the examination) in order to 

become relicensed. In one instance, the individual had been 

licensed for nearly 20 years without incident. In many of the 

examples there were mitigating circumstances, outside the 

control of the individual that resulted in the license not being 

reinstated during the six-month window.  

Current Regulation: Missing Payment Due Date for License 

Renewal 

Lateness Requirement to Retain or Regain 

Licensure 

Zero Days < = One 

Month 

$55 renewal fee 

One Month < Six 

Months 

$75 reinstatement fee 

<= Six Months Must apply as a new applicant, meeting all 

then current entry requirements, including 

retaking an examination 

DPOR proposes to allow licensees to reinstate their license up 

until 24 months after the expiration of their license versus the 

current limit of six months. This would substantially benefit 

licensees who are six months to 24 months late in paying for 

license renewal and wish to continue practicing as a polygraph 

examiner. These licensees would not have to apply as a new 

examiner and complete all entry criteria again (including the 

examination) in order to regain licensure. DPOR believes these 

licensees would not be a risk to the public's health, safety, and 

welfare. 

Proposed Regulation: Missing Payment Due Date for License 

Renewal 

Lateness Requirement to Retain or Regain Licensure 

Zero Days < 24 

Months 

$150 reinstatement fee instead of $110 

renewal fee if earlier payment 

<= 24 Months Must apply as a new applicant, meeting all 

then current entry requirements, including 

retaking an examination 

Businesses and Other Entities Affected. DPOR directly 

regulates polygraph examiners, but not the businesses or other 

entities where they work. The proposed amendments affect the 

296 licensed polygraph examiners in the Commonwealth, as 

well as future applicants.  

Small Businesses1 Affected: As stated above, DPOR directly 

regulates polygraph examiners, but not the businesses or other 

entities where they work. According to DPOR, some 

examiners operate privately, and may perform polygraphs for 

other individuals to comply with parole or probation. They are 

often contracted with government entities to perform pre-

employment screenings. It is not known how many work for 

small businesses. 

Localities2 Affected.3 Some localities may employ polygraph 

examiners. The proposal to allow reinstatement up until 24 

months past the license expiration date may reduce the 

likelihood that their employed polygraph examiners who are 

late in paying for renewal have a time gap where they cannot 

legally work as they reapply for licensure. It is not known how 

many localities employ polygraph examiners. 

Projected Impact on Employment. The proposed amendments 

do not appear to substantially affect total employment. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. The proposed 

amendments do not appear to substantively affect the use and 

value of private property. The proposed amendments do not 

appear to affect real estate development costs.  

______________________ 
1Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.04 of the Code of Virginia, small business is defined 

as "a business entity, including its affiliates, that (i) is independently owned 
and operated and (ii) employs fewer than 500 full-time employees or has gross 

annual sales of less than $6 million." 

2"Locality" can refer to either local governments or the locations in the 
Commonwealth where the activities relevant to the regulatory change are most 

likely to occur. 

3§ 2.2-4007.04 defines "particularly affected" as bearing disproportionate 

material impact. 
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Agency's Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The agency 

concurs with the approval of the economic impact analysis 

performed by the Department of Planning and Budget. 

Summary: 

The proposed amendments extend the license term and 

reinstatement periods currently in place for polygraph 

examiners, eliminating the requirement that licenses be 

renewed annually and extending the reinstatement period 

to provide a longer amount of time a licensee may be late 

with a renewal payment and not have the license 

terminated. 

18VAC120-30-100. Fees. 

A. All application fees for licenses and registrations are 

nonrefundable and shall not be prorated. The date of receipt by 

the department is the date that will be used to determine 

whether or not the fee is on time. 

B. Application and examination fees must be submitted with 

the application for licensure. All other fees are discussed in 

greater detail in later sections of this chapter. 

C. In the event that a check, money draft, or similar 

instrument for payment of a fee required by statute or 

regulation is not honored by the bank or financial institution 

named, the applicant or regulant shall be required to remit fees 

sufficient to cover the original fee, plus an additional 

processing charge set by the department. 

D. 1. The following fees listed in the table apply: 

FEE TYPE AMOUNT 

DUE 

WHEN DUE 

Application for 

Examiner's License 

$45 $90 With application 

Application for 

Examiner's License by 

Reciprocity 

$95 $190 With application 

Application for Intern 

Registration 

$75 With application 

Application for 

Examiner's License by 

Examination 

$200 With application 

Reexamination $200 With approval letter 

Renewal $55 $110 Up to one calendar 

month after the 

expiration date on 

the license 

Reinstatement $75 $150 One to six From the 

expiration date to 24 

calendar months 

after the expiration 

date on license 

2. For renewal fees received on or before June 30, 2020, the 

fee shall be $20 $40. 

18VAC120-30-120. Renewal required. 

Licenses issued under this chapter shall expire 12 months 24 

months from the last day of the month in which the license was 

issued, as indicated on the license. 

18VAC120-30-130. Procedures for renewal. 

The department will mail a renewal application form to the 

licensee at the last known address of department record. 

Failure to receive this notice shall not relieve the licensee of 

the obligation to renew. Prior to the expiration date shown on 

the license, each licensee desiring to renew his license must 

return to the department all required forms and the appropriate 

fee as referenced in 18VAC120-30-100. Any licensee who 

fails to submit the renewal payment on or prior to the 

expiration date shall be required to apply for reinstatement.  

18VAC120-30-140. Fees for renewal. (Repealed.). 

Licensees shall be required to renew their license by 

submitting the proper fee made payable to the Treasurer of 

Virginia. Any licensee who fails to renew within one calendar 

month after the license expires, shall be required to apply for 

reinstatement.  

18VAC120-30-150. Department discretion to deny 

renewal. (Repealed.). 

The department may deny renewal of a license for the same 

reasons as it may refuse initial licensure or discipline a 

licensee. The licensee is entitled to a review of such action. 

Appeals from such actions shall be in accordance with the 

provisions of the Administrative Process Act (§ 2.2-4000 et 

seq. of the Code of Virginia). 

Failure to timely pay a monetary penalty, reimbursement of 

cost, or other fee assessed by consent order or final order shall 

result in delaying or withholding services provided by the 

department, such as, but not limited to, renewal, reinstatement, 

processing of a new application, or examination 

administration. 

18VAC120-30-160. Qualifications for renewal. 

A. Applicants for renewal of a license shall continue to meet 

the standards for entry as set forth in subdivisions A 2 through 

A 5 of 18VAC120-30-40. The board may deny renewal of a 

license for the same reasons as it may refuse initial issuance or 

discipline a regulant. The regulant has a right to appeal any 

such action by the board under the Virginia Administrative 

Process Act (§ 2.2-4000 et seq. of the Code of Virginia). 

B. The department may deny renewal of a license for the same 

reasons as it may refuse initial licensure or discipline a 

licensee. The licensee has a right to appeal any such action by 

the department under the Virginia Administrative Process Act 

(§ 2.2-4000 et seq. of the Code of Virginia). 
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C. Failure to timely pay any monetary penalty, 

reimbursement of cost, or other fee assessed by consent order 

or final order shall result in delaying or withholding services 

provided by the department, such as, but not limited to, 

renewal, reinstatement, or processing of a new application; or 

exam administration. 

18VAC120-30-170. Reinstatement required. 

A. Any licensee who fails to renew his license within one 

calendar month after on or prior to the expiration date on the 

license shall be required to apply for reinstatement and submit 

the proper fee referenced in 18VAC120-30-100. 

B. Six Twenty-four calendar months after the expiration date 

on the license, reinstatement is no longer possible. To resume 

practice as a polygraph examiner, the former licensee must 

apply as a new applicant for licensure, meeting all then current 

entry requirements at the time of reapplication, including 

retaking an examination. 

C. Any examiner activity conducted subsequent to the 

expiration of the license may constitute unlicensed activity and 

may be subject to prosecution under § 54.1-111 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

18VAC120-30-180. Department discretion to deny 

Qualifications for reinstatement. 

The department may deny reinstatement of a license for the 

same reasons as it may refuse initial licensure or discipline a 

licensee. 

A. Applicants for reinstatement of a license shall continue to 

meet the standards for entry as set forth in subdivisions A 2 

through A 5 of 18VAC120-30-40. 

B. The department may deny reinstatement of a license for 

the same reasons as it may refuse initial licensure or discipline 

a licensee. The licensee has a right to appeal any such action 

by the department under the Virginia Administrative Process 

Act (§ 2.2-4000 et seq. of the Code of Virginia). 

C. Failure to timely pay any monetary penalty, 

reimbursement of cost, or other fee assessed by consent order 

or final order shall result in delaying or withholding the 

services provided by the department, such as, but not limited 

to, renewal, reinstatement, processing of a new application, or 

examination administration. The regulant has a right to appeal 

any such action by the board under the Virginia Administrative 

Process Act (§ 2.2-4000 et seq. of the Code of Virginia). 

18VAC120-30-190. Status of a license during the period 

before reinstatement. 

A. When a license is reinstated, the licensee shall continue to 

have the same license number and shall be assigned an 

expiration date one year two years from the previous expiration 

date of the license. 

B. A licensee who reinstates his license shall be regarded as 

having been continually licensed without interruption. 

Therefore, the licensee shall remain under the disciplinary 

authority of the department during this entire period. Nothing 

in this chapter shall divest the department of its authority to 

discipline a licensee for a violation of the law or regulations 

during the period of licensure. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R19-5965; Filed June 24, 2021, 10:55 a.m. 

BOARD OF PSYCHOLOGY 

Final Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC125-20. Regulations Governing 

the Practice of Psychology (amending 18VAC125-20-10, 

18VAC125-20-150). 

Statutory Authority: § 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: August 18, 2021. 

Agency Contact: Jaime Hoyle, Executive Director, Board of 

Psychology, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, Richmond, VA 

23233, telephone (804) 367-4406, FAX (804) 327-4435, or 

email jaime.hoyle@dhp.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendments define conversion therapy and establish 

that the standard of practice for persons licensed or 

registered by the board preclude the provision of conversion 

therapy to persons younger than 18 years of age. Changes 

to the proposed regulation adjust the definition of 

"conversion therapy" to reference the definition of that term 

in § 54.1-2409.5 of the Code of Virginia. 

18VAC125-20-10. Definitions. 

The following words and terms, in addition to the words and 

terms defined in § 54.1-3600 of the Code of Virginia, when 

used in this chapter shall have the following meanings, unless 

the context clearly indicates otherwise: 

"APA" means the American Psychological Association. 

"APPIC" means the Association of Psychology Postdoctoral 

and Internship Centers. 

"Board" means the Virginia Board of Psychology. 

"CAEP" means Council for the Accreditation of Educator 

Preparation. 

"Conversion therapy" means any practice or treatment [ that 

seeks to change an individual's sexual orientation or gender 

identity, including efforts to change behaviors or gender 

expressions or to eliminate or reduce sexual or romantic 

attractions or feelings toward individuals of any gender. 

Conversion therapy does not include: 1. Psychological services 

that provide assistance to a person undergoing gender 

transition; or 2. Psychological services that provide 

acceptance, support, and understanding of a person or 

facilitates a person's coping, social support, and identity 
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exploration and development, including sexual-orientation-

neutral interventions to prevent or address unlawful conduct or 

unsafe sexual practices, as long as such services do not seek to 

change an individual's sexual orientation or gender identity in 

any direction as defined in § 54.1-2409.5 A of the Code of 

Virginia ]. 

"CPA" means Canadian Psychological Association. 

"Demonstrable areas of competence" means those therapeutic 

and assessment methods and techniques for the populations 

served and for which one can document adequate graduate 

training, workshops, or appropriate supervised experience. 

"Face-to-face" means in person. 

"Intern" means an individual who is enrolled in a professional 

psychology program internship. 

"Internship" means an ongoing, supervised, and organized 

practical experience obtained in an integrated training program 

identified as a psychology internship. Other supervised 

experience or on-the-job training does not constitute an 

internship. 

"NASP" means the National Association of School 

Psychologists. 

"Practicum" means the pre-internship clinical experience that 

is part of a graduate educational program. 

"Practicum student" means an individual who is enrolled in a 

professional psychology program and is receiving pre-

internship training and seeing clients. 

"Professional psychology program" means an integrated 

program of doctoral study in clinical or counseling psychology 

or a master's degree or higher program in school psychology 

designed to train professional psychologists to deliver services 

in psychology. 

"Regional accrediting agency" means one of the six regional 

accrediting agencies recognized by the U.S. Secretary of 

Education established to accredit senior institutions of higher 

education. 

"Residency" means a post-internship, post-terminal degree, 

supervised experience approved by the board. 

"Resident" means an individual who has received a doctoral 

degree in a clinical or counseling psychology program or a 

master's degree or higher in school psychology and is 

completing a board-approved residency. 

"School psychologist-limited" means a person licensed 

pursuant to § 54.1-3606 of the Code of Virginia to provide 

school psychology services solely in public school divisions. 

"Supervision" means the ongoing process performed by a 

supervisor who monitors the performance of the person 

supervised and provides regular, documented individual 

consultation, guidance, and instruction with respect to the 

skills and competencies of the person supervised. 

"Supervisor" means an individual who assumes responsibility 

for the education and training activities of a person under 

supervision and for the care of such person's clients and who 

provides supervision consistent with the training and 

experience of both the supervisor and the person under 

supervision and with the type of services being provided. 

18VAC125-20-150. Standards of practice. 

A. The protection of the public health, safety, and welfare and 

the best interest of the public shall be the primary guide in 

determining the appropriate professional conduct of all persons 

whose activities are regulated by the board. Psychologists 

respect the rights, dignity, and worth of all people and are 

mindful of individual differences. Regardless of the delivery 

method, whether face-to-face or by use of technology, these 

standards shall apply to the practice of psychology. 

B. Persons regulated by the board shall: 

1. Provide and supervise only those services and use only 

those techniques for which they are qualified by education, 

training, and appropriate experience; 

2. Delegate to persons under their supervision only those 

responsibilities such persons can be expected to perform 

competently by education, training, and experience; 

3. Maintain current competency in the areas of practices 

through continuing education, consultation, or other 

procedures consistent with current standards of scientific 

and professional knowledge; 

4. Accurately represent their areas of competence, 

education, training, experience, professional affiliations, 

credentials, and published findings to ensure that such 

statements are neither fraudulent nor misleading; 

5. Neither accept nor give commissions, rebates, or other 

forms of remuneration for referral of clients for professional 

services. Make appropriate consultations and referrals 

consistent with the law and based on the interest of patients 

or clients; 

6. Refrain from undertaking any activity in which their 

personal problems are likely to lead to inadequate or harmful 

services; 

7. Avoid harming, exploiting, misusing influence, or 

misleading patients or clients, research participants, 

students, and others for whom they provide professional 

services and minimize harm when it is foreseeable and 

unavoidable; 

8. Not engage in, direct, or facilitate torture, which is defined 

as any act by which severe pain or suffering, whether 

physical or mental, is intentionally inflicted on a person, or 
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in any other cruel, inhuman, or degrading behavior that 

causes harm; 

9. Withdraw from, avoid, adjust, or clarify conflicting roles 

with due regard for the best interest of the affected party and 

maximal compliance with these standards; 

10. Make arrangements for another professional to deal with 

emergency needs of clients during periods of foreseeable 

absences from professional availability and provide for 

continuity of care when services must be terminated; 

11. Conduct financial responsibilities to clients in an ethical 

and honest manner by: 

a. Informing clients of fees for professional services and 

billing arrangements as soon as is feasible; 

b. Informing clients prior to the use of collection agencies 

or legal measures to collect fees and provide opportunity 

for prompt payment; 

c. Obtaining written consent for fees that deviate from the 

practitioner's usual and customary fees for services; 

d. Participating in bartering only if it is not clinically 

contraindicated and is not exploitative; and 

e. Not obtaining, attempting to obtain, or cooperating with 

others in obtaining payment for services by 

misrepresenting services provided, dates of service, or 

status of treatment. 

12. Be able to justify all services rendered to clients as 

necessary for diagnostic or therapeutic purposes; 

13. Construct, maintain, administer, interpret, and report 

testing and diagnostic services in a manner and for purposes 

that are current and appropriate; 

14. Design, conduct, and report research in accordance with 

recognized standards of scientific competence and research 

ethics. Practitioners shall adhere to requirements of § 32.1-

162.18 of the Code of Virginia for obtaining informed 

consent from patients prior to involving them as participants 

in human research, with the exception of retrospective chart 

reviews; 

15. Report to the board known or suspected violations of the 

laws and regulations governing the practice of psychology; 

16. Accurately inform a client or a client's legally authorized 

representative of the client's diagnoses, prognosis, and 

intended treatment or plan of care. A psychologist shall 

present information about the risks and benefits of the 

recommended treatments in understandable terms and 

encourage participation in the decisions regarding the 

patient's care. When obtaining informed consent treatment 

for which generally recognized techniques and procedures 

have not been established, a psychologist shall inform clients 

of the developing nature of the treatment, the potential risks 

involved, alternative treatments that may be available, and 

the voluntary nature of their participation; 

17. Clearly document at the outset of service delivery what 

party the psychologist considers to be the client and what, if 

any, responsibilities the psychologist has to all related 

parties; 

18. Determine whether a client is receiving services from 

another mental health service provider, and if so, document 

efforts to coordinate care; and 

19. Document the reasons for and steps taken if it becomes 

necessary to terminate a therapeutic relationship (e.g., when 

it becomes clear that the client is not benefiting from the 

relationship or when the psychologist feels endangered). 

Document assistance provided in making arrangements for 

the continuation of treatment for clients, if necessary, 

following termination of a therapeutic relationship; and 

20. Not engage in conversion therapy with any person 

younger than 18 years of age. 

C. In regard to confidentiality, persons regulated by the board 

shall: 

1. Keep confidential their professional relationships with 

patients or clients and disclose client information to others 

only with written consent except as required or permitted by 

law. Psychologists shall inform clients of legal limits to 

confidentiality; 

2. Protect the confidentiality in the usage of client 

information and clinical materials by obtaining informed 

consent from the client or the client's legally authorized 

representative before (i) videotaping, (ii) audio recording, 

(iii) permitting third party observation, or (iv) using clinical 

information in teaching, writing, or public presentations; and 

3. Not willfully or negligently breach the confidentiality 

between a practitioner and a client. A disclosure that is 

required or permitted by applicable law or beyond the 

control of the practitioner shall not be considered negligent 

or willful. 

D. In regard to client records, persons regulated by the board 

shall: 

1. Maintain timely, accurate, legible, and complete written 

or electronic records for each client. For a psychologist 

practicing in an institutional setting, the recordkeeping shall 

follow the policies of the institution or public facility. For a 

psychologist practicing in a noninstitutional setting, the 

record shall include: 

a. The name of the client and other identifying 

information; 

b. The presenting problem, purpose, or diagnosis; 

c. Documentation of the fee arrangement; 

d. The date and clinical summary of each service provided; 

e. Any test results, including raw data, or other evaluative 

results obtained; 
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f. Notation and results of formal consults with other 

providers; and 

g. Any releases by the client; 

2. Maintain client records securely, inform all employees of 

the requirements of confidentiality and dispose of written, 

electronic, and other records in such a manner as to ensure 

their confidentiality; and 

3. Maintain client records for a minimum of five years or as 

otherwise required by law from the last date of service, with 

the following exceptions: 

a. At minimum, records of a minor child shall be 

maintained for five years after attaining 18 years of age; 

b. Records that are required by contractual obligation or 

federal law to be maintained for a longer period of time; 

or 

c. Records that have been transferred pursuant to § 54.1-

2405 of the Code of Virginia pertaining to closure, sale, or 

change of location of one's practice. 

E. In regard to dual relationships, persons regulated by the 

board shall: 

1. Not engage in a dual relationship with a person under 

supervision that could impair professional judgment or 

increase the risk of exploitation or harm. Psychologists shall 

take appropriate professional precautions when a dual 

relationship cannot be avoided, such as informed consent, 

consultation, supervision, and documentation to ensure that 

judgment is not impaired and no exploitation occurs; 

2. Not engage in sexual intimacies or a romantic relationship 

with a student, supervisee, resident, intern, therapy patient, 

client, or those included in collateral therapeutic services 

(such as a parent, spouse, or significant other of the client) 

while providing professional services. For at least five years 

after cessation or termination of professional services, not 

engage in sexual intimacies or a romantic relationship with 

a therapy patient, client, or those included in collateral 

therapeutic services. Consent to, initiation of, or 

participation in sexual behavior or romantic involvement 

with a psychologist does not change the exploitative nature 

of the conduct nor lift the prohibition. Because sexual or 

romantic relationships are potentially exploitative, 

psychologists shall bear the burden of demonstrating that 

there has been no exploitation, based on factors such as 

duration of therapy, amount of time since therapy, 

termination circumstances, client's personal history and 

mental status, and adverse impact on the client; 

3. Not engage in a personal relationship with a former client 

in which there is a risk of exploitation or potential harm or if 

the former client continues to relate to the psychologist in 

his professional capacity; and 

4. Recognize conflicts of interest and inform all parties of 

the nature and directions of loyalties and responsibilities 

involved. 

F. Upon learning of evidence that indicates a reasonable 

probability that another mental health provider is or may be 

guilty of a violation of standards of conduct as defined in 

statute or regulation, persons licensed by the board shall advise 

their clients of their right to report such misconduct to the 

Department of Health Professions in accordance with § 54.1-

2400.4 of the Code of Virginia. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R19-5824; Filed June 22, 2021, 2:45 p.m. 

  ––––––––––––––––––  

TITLE 20. PUBLIC UTILITIES AND 
TELECOMMUNICATIONS 

STATE CORPORATION COMMISSION 

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The State Corporation Commission 

is claiming an exemption from the Administrative Process Act 

in accordance with § 2.2-4002 A 2 of the Code of Virginia, 

which exempts courts, any agency of the Supreme Court, and 

any agency that by the Constitution is expressly granted any of 

the powers of a court of record. 

Title of Regulation: 20VAC5-360. Licensed Professional 

Engineer to Exercise Responsible Charge over Certain 

Natural Gas Engineering Projects (adding 20VAC5-360-10 

through 20VAC5-360-50). 

Statutory Authority: §§ 12.1-13 and 56-257.2:1 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

Effective Date: January 1, 2022. 

Agency Contact: Lauren Govoni, Director, Utility and 

Railroad Safety Division, State Corporation Commission, 

Tyler Building, 1300 East Main Street, P.O. Box 1197, 

Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 371-9590, FAX (804) 

371-9734, or email lauren.govoni@scc.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The regulatory action establishes a new chapter, 20VAC5-

360, Licensed Professional Engineer to Exercise 

Responsible Charge over Certain Natural Gas Engineering 

Projects. The new regulation requires that licensed 

professional engineers exercise responsible charge over 

certain pipeline projects undertaken by natural gas 

companies jurisdictional to the State Corporation 

Commission where such projects, among other things, 

present a material risk to public safety and includes a 

mechanism by which operators may request a temporary 

waiver of such regulations. Changes to the proposed 

regulation specify gas engineering projects and activities 
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over which professional engineers are required to exercise 

responsible charge.  

AT RICHMOND, MAY 13, 2021 

COMMONWEALTH OF VIRGINIA, ex rel. 

STATE CORPORATION COMMISSION 

CASE NO. URS-2020-00052 

Ex Parte: In the matter of adopting new 

rules of the State Corporation Commission 

requiring licensed professional engineers to  

exercise responsible charge over certain 

pipeline projects under § 56-257.2:1 

of the Code of Virginia 

ORDER ADOPTING REGULATIONS 

During its 2020 Session, the Virginia General Assembly 

enacted Chapter 822 (SB 385) of the 2020 Virginia Acts of 

Assembly ("Act"), which became effective on July 1, 2020. 

The Act, inter alia, amended the Code of Virginia ("Va. Code") 

by adding a section, § 56-257.2:1, to require the State 

Corporation Commission ("Commission") to promulgate 

regulations requiring that a licensed professional engineer 

exercise responsible charge over engineering projects that (i) 

involve gas pipeline facilities, as defined in the federal 

regulations promulgated under 49 U.S.C. § 60101 et seq., as 

amended and adopted by the Commission, and the federal 

pipeline safety laws, and (ii) may present a material risk to 

public safety. These regulations are in furtherance of the Act's 

related amendment to a provision of the Va. Code that, inter 

alia, had generally exempted employees of Commission-

regulated public service corporations from professional 

engineer licensing, when those employees provided 

engineering services in connection with public service 

corporations' facilities regulated by the Commission. The Act 

further required the Commission to convene a stakeholder 

group ("Stakeholder Group"), including representatives of 

natural gas utilities in the Commonwealth, and to direct such 

stakeholder group to develop and propose to the Commission 

recommendations concerning such regulations no later than 

December 1, 2020. Pursuant to the Commission's May 29, 

2020, Order in Case No. URS-2020-00052, the Staff of the 

Commission ("Staff') filed the Staff Report which included 

recommendations and proposed regulations compiled as a 

result of the greater Stakeholder Group. 

On December 9, 2020, the Commission entered an Order for 

Notice and Comment in this proceeding which, among other 

things, permitted the filing of comments on the proposed 

regulations ("Proposed Rules") by interested persons and the 

Staff. The Proposed Rules were attached to the Commission's 

Order for Notice and Comment. Rebecca Golden, representing 

the Virginia Society of Professional Engineers, Joseph Hines, 

and the American Gas Association filed separate comments on 

January 26, 2021, February 2, 2021, and February 3, 2021, 

respectively. Washington Gas Light Company, Appalachian 

Natural Gas Distribution Company, Atmos Energy 

Corporation, Columbia Gas of Virginia, Inc., Roanoke Gas 

Company, Southwestern Virginia Gas Company, and Virginia 

Natural Gas (collectively the "LDCs" or "Joint Commenters"), 

filed joint comments on the Proposed Rules on February 2, 

2021. 

On February 25, 2021, Staff filed its comments, ("Staff 

Comments") including certain revisions to the Proposed Rules, 

offered by Staff in response to the comments provided by 

interested persons and the LDCs. 

On April 6, 2021, the Joint Commenters filed their Motion for 

Leave to File Supplemental Comments and Withdraw the 

Request for a Hearing ("Motion for Leave and to Withdraw 

Request for Hearing").1 

NOW THE COMMISSION, upon consideration of the 

foregoing, finds that we should adopt the Proposed Rules 

appended hereto as Attachment A effective July 1, 2021 

("Rules") and also grant the Motion for Leave and to Withdraw 

Request for Hearing. As an initial matter, the Commission 

expresses appreciation to the Stakeholder Group and to those 

who have submitted written comments for our consideration. 

We have carefully reviewed and considered all comments filed 

in this matter. The Rules adopted today are intended to enhance 

pipeline safety in the Commonwealth. As experience is gained 

and lessons are learned in the regulation of pipeline safety, the 

Commission may update and revise these Rules as needed. In 

this regard, we further note that the Rules permit requests for 

waiver.2 

The Rules we adopt herein contain modifications to the 

regulations that were first proposed by Staff and published in 

the Virginia Register of Regulations on January 4, 2021. 

Consideration of all comments filed in this proceeding 

informed our modification of those regulations as emphasized 

below. Although we will not comment on each Rule in detail, 

there are several provisions that we will address further herein. 

20 VAC 5-360-30 C 2 

As proposed by the Joint Commenters, we find that 

exempting from professional engineer review certain routine 

operating adjustments and like-kind component replacements, 

performed at district regulator stations, compressor stations, or 

gate stations that alter or modify the configuration or 

overpressure of equipment is reasonable where the operator 

specifies in detail the meaning of "like-kind" components 

within their respective Operations and Maintenance manuals 

required by the Commission's Pipeline Safety Standards. 

20 VAC 5-360-30 C 5 

We accept as reasonable the alternative language as proposed 

by the Joint Commenters, and the LCDs commitment to define 

in detail "minor adjustments" and "routine maintenance" 
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within their respective Operations and Maintenance manuals 

required by the Commission's Pipeline Safety Standards. 

20 VAC 5-360-30 C 7 

We support the amended definition of "Public Right-of-

Way", finding reasonable the amended language proposed by 

the Staff and endorsed subsequently by Joint Commenters. 

20 VAC 5-360-30 C 8 

We agree with the Staffs clarification to Rule C8 which is also 

supported by the Joint Commenters. We therefore endorse the 

following language: 

Installation or abandonment of service lines connecting to 

transmission lines or installation or abandonment of service 

lines connecting to high-pressure distribution mains with a 

MAOP that exceeds 100 p.s.i.g. 

20 VAC 5-360-30 C 10 

We reject amendments to this section as proposed by Joint 

Commenters, finding persuasive and reasonable Staffs 

Comments relative to existing standards in the Code of Federal 

Regulations. 

Accordingly, IT IS ORDERED THAT: 

(1) The Rules requiring that a licensed professional engineer 

exercise responsible charge over certain pipeline projects under 

Va. Code § 56-257.2:1, 20 VAC 5-360-10 et seq., as shown in 

Attachment A to this Order Adopting Regulations ("Order"), are 

hereby adopted and are effective as of July 1, 2021. 

(2) The Commission's Division of Information Resources shall 

forward a copy of this Order, with Attachment A, to the Registrar 

of Regulations for appropriate publication in the Virginia Register 

of Regulations. 

(3) The Joint Commenters' Motion for Leave to File 

Supplemental Comments and Withdraw the Request for a Hearing 

is granted. 

(4) An electronic copy of this Order with Attachment A shall be 

made available on the Division of Utility and Railroad Safety's 

section of the Commission's website: 

scc.virginia.gov/pages/Rulemaking 

(5) This docket is dismissed. 

A COPY hereof shall be sent electronically by the Clerk of 

the Commission to all persons on the official Service List in 

this matter. The Service List is available from the Clerk of the 

Commission. 

____________________________________ 

1The Joint Commenters attached their supplemental comments to the Motion 

for Leave and to Withdraw Request for Hearing. 

220 VAC 5-360-50. 

 

AT RICHMOND, JUNE 24, 2021 

COMMONWEALTH OF VIRGINIA, ex rel.  

CASE NO. URS-2020-00052 

Ex Parte: In the matter 

concerning regulations required by Chapter 822 

of the 2020 Acts of Assembly 

ORDER ON RECONSIDERATION 

On May 13, 2021, the State Corporation Commission 

("Commission") issued an Order Adopting Regulations in this 

docket, promulgating new regulations requiring that licensed 

professional engineers exercise responsible charge over certain 

engineering projects involving gas pipeline facilities in 

Virginia ("Rules").  

On June 1, 2021, Virginia Natural Gas, Inc., Washington Gas 

Light Company, Appalachian Natural Gas Distribution 

Company, Atmos Energy Corporation, Columbia Gas of 

Virginia, Inc., Roanoke Gas Company, and Southwestern 

Virginia Gas Company (collectively, the "Joint Commenters") 

filed a Limited Petition for Reconsideration ("Petition"). 

Specifically, the Joint Commenters sought to continue the 

effective date of the Rules from July 1, 2021, to January 1, 

2022.  

On June 3, 2021, the Commission issued an Order Granting 

Reconsideration for purposes of continuing Commission 

jurisdiction over the matter while considering the Petition, and 

on June 10, 2021, issued an Order scheduling additional 

pleadings attendant to the Petition.1 

On June 14, 2021, Commission Staff filed a letter in response 

to the Petition stating that Staff did not object to the request for 

relief in the Petition. 

On June 17, 2021, the Joint Commenters filed a reply to Staff 

letter, noting Staff's lack of objection. 

NOW THE COMMISSION, upon consideration of the 

matter, is of the opinion and finds that the Limited Petition for 

Reconsideration should be granted. 

Accordingly, IT IS ORDERED THAT: 

(1) The Limited Petition for Reconsideration is granted. 

(2) Ordering Paragraph (1) of the Order Adopting 

Regulations is amended to reflect the implementation date of 

the Rules as January 1, 2022. The remainder of the May 13, 

2021 Order Adopting Regulations remains in full force and 

effect. 

(3) The Order Adopting Regulations is no longer suspended. 

(4) This case is dismissed. 

A COPY hereof shall be sent electronically by the Clerk of 

the Commission to all persons on the official Service List in 
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this matter. The Service List is available from the Clerk of the 

Commission. 

____________________________________ 

1On June 16, 2021, the American Gas Association filed comments supporting 
the request for relief in the Petition. 

Chapter 360 

Licensed Professional Engineer to Exercise Responsible 

Charge over Certain Natural Gas Engineering Projects 

20VAC5-360-10. Purpose and scope.  

This chapter delineates standards used by the commission to 

enforce the provisions of § 56-257.2:1 of the Code of Virginia. 

This chapter further details certain standards and requirements 

for professional engineering oversight of projects that (i) 

involve gas pipeline facilities, as defined in the federal 

regulations promulgated under 49 USC § 60101 et seq., as 

amended and adopted by the commission pursuant to § 56-

257.2 of the Code of Virginia, and the federal pipeline safety 

laws and (ii) may present a material risk to public safety. 

20VAC5-360-20. Definitions.  

Terms used in this chapter shall have the same meaning and 

effect as in the federal pipeline safety laws under 49 USC 

§ 60101 et seq. and 49 CFR Parts 191, 192, 193, 195, and 199. 

In addition, the following words and terms when used in this 

chapter shall have the following meanings unless the context 

clearly indicates otherwise: 

"Act" means Chapter 822 of the 2020 Acts of Assembly. 

"Bypass" means a pipeline connection or control mechanism 

installed in order to allow construction, maintenance, or repair 

work, thus altering the flow of gas or hazardous liquid to 

different facilities other than those transporting the gas prior to 

installation of the pipeline connection or control mechanism. 

"Commission" means the Virginia State Corporation 

Commission. 

"Commission's pipeline safety standards" means standards 

for gas and hazardous liquid pipeline facilities adopted, 

prescribed, or enforced by the commission pursuant to §§ 56-

257.2 and 56-555 of the Code of Virginia; 49 USC § 60101 et 

seq.; and 20VAC5-300-70, 20VAC5-307-10, and 20VAC5-

308-10. 

"Compressor stations" means pipeline facilities that compress 

natural gas, increasing the pressure and providing the energy 

needed to move the gas through the pipeline. 

"District regulator stations" means a pressure regulating 

station that controls pressure to a high-pressure or low-pressure 

distribution main. 

"Emergency work" means nonroutine maintenance or repair 

work, such as repairs to hazardous leaks, that should be 

performed immediately. Examples include third party 

damages, repairs, work to maintain priority service, reduce 

customer outages as a matter of safety, and compromises to 

system integrity as a cause of overpressurization. 

"Engineered structures" means distribution mains vertically 

attached to buildings, overpasses, or water crossings. 

"Gate station" means pressure regulating stations where 

custody of natural gas or hazardous liquid is transferred from 

an interstate supplier to a Virginia public service company. 

"Maintenance" means any repair or rehabilitation activity 

performed on a pipeline facility or prescribed by 49 CFR 192, 

Subpart M. 

"MAOP" means maximum allowable operating pressure. 

"O&M Procedures" means any operations or maintenance 

procedures or processes prepared by the operator for 

conducting operations and maintenance activities or 

emergency response, as prescribed by 49 CFR 192, Subpart L. 

"Peak shaving facilities" means pipeline storage facilities 

designed to house natural gas or propane gas for reintroduction 

into an operator's system at times of peak demand. These 

facilities may store liquefied natural gas or liquefied petroleum 

gas. 

"P.E. stamp" means a professional seal as prescribed by 

18VAC10-20-760, pertaining to use of seal. 

"Public right-of-way" means any portion of a designated 

interstate, [ freeway highway ], or [ limited access ] 

expressway [ , as well as any other principal arterial roadway 

with four or more lanes, or freeway ] as defined in the Federal 

Highway Administration's Highway Functional Classification 

Concepts, Criteria and Procedures. Section 3.1 (see: 

https://www.fhwa.dot.gov/planning/processes/statewide/relat

ed/highway_functional_classifications/fcauab.pdf). 

"Professional engineer" or "P.E." means a person who is 

qualified to practice engineering by reason of special 

knowledge and use of mathematical, physical, and engineering 

sciences and the principles and methods of engineering 

analysis and design acquired by engineering education and 

experience, and whose competence has been attested by the 

Board for Architects. Professional Engineers, Land Surveyors, 

Certified Interior Designers and Landscape Architects through 

licensure as a professional engineer. 

"PSIG" means pounds per square inch, gauge. 

"Repair" means any activity on a distribution main or 

transmission line that calls for removing the leak by cutting out 

and replacing a cylindrical piece of pipe, installing a pressure-

carrying full encirclement welded split sleeve of appropriate 

design, or any other permanent repair that is consistent with 

49 CFR § 192.717. 

"Tie-in" means any process of connecting a newly installed 

pipeline to either an existing pipeline or another newly 

installed pipeline by means of joining. 

mailto:Agency%20Contact:%20Lauren%20Govoni,%20Director,%20Utility%20and%20Railroad%20Safety%20Division,%20State%20Corporation%20Commission,%20Tyler%20Building,%201300%20East%20Main%20Street,%20P.O.%20Box%201197,%20Richmond,%20VA%2023218,%20telephone%20(804)%20371-9590,%20FAX%20(804)%20371-9734,%20or%20email%20lauren.govoni@scc.virginia.gov.
mailto:Agency%20Contact:%20Lauren%20Govoni,%20Director,%20Utility%20and%20Railroad%20Safety%20Division,%20State%20Corporation%20Commission,%20Tyler%20Building,%201300%20East%20Main%20Street,%20P.O.%20Box%201197,%20Richmond,%20VA%2023218,%20telephone%20(804)%20371-9590,%20FAX%20(804)%20371-9734,%20or%20email%20lauren.govoni@scc.virginia.gov.
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"Uprating" means the act of increasing maximum allowable 

operating pressures for pipelines. 

20VAC5-360-30. Use of professional engineers.  

A. Any gas pipeline engineering plans or specifications for 

engineering work or services that (i) involve gas pipeline 

facilities, as defined in the federal regulations promulgated 

under 49 USC § 60101 et seq., as amended and adopted by the 

commission in the commission's pipeline safety standards 

pursuant to § 56-257.2 of the Code of Virginia, and the federal 

pipeline safety laws and (ii) may present a material risk to 

public safety must be produced by or under the direct charge 

and supervision of a professional engineer with sufficient 

knowledge of a gas company's natural gas distribution system, 

and such plans or specifications must bear the professional 

engineer's stamp, in accordance with § 54.1-406 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

B. A professional engineer must ensure that the plan or 

specification conforms to the applicable pipeline safety laws, 

regulations, and standards, and the review and use of a 

professional engineer's stamp must comply with the 

professional and ethical obligations set forth in Virginia. 

C. Engineering services involving gas pipeline facilities and 

that present a material risk to public safety shall include: 

1. New installation of district pressure regulator stations, 

compressor stations, or gate stations. 

2. Reconfiguration or physical facility changes, [ other than 

routine operating adjustments and like-kind replacements, ] 

performed at district pressure regulator stations, compressor 

stations, or gate stations that alter or modify the 

configuration or overpressure protection of equipment. 

3. Installation, uprating, repair, or abandonment of intrastate 

transmission pipelines. 

4. Any distribution main piping modifications or 

replacement work falling within established district 

regulator awareness zones as established by each operator. 

5. [ Any construction Construction ] or maintenance work 

on distribution mains [ , other than routine maintenance, 

inspections, and minor adjustments, ] that changes the 

system operating pressure and requires a bypass or a change 

in the system operating pressure that involves more than two 

tie-ins. 

6. Installation of distribution mains where such mains attach 

to bridges or other engineered structures. 

7. Installation of distribution mains, including replacements 

and extension projects, that are within or cross any public 

right-of-way. 

8. Installation or abandonment of service lines connecting to 

transmission lines or [ a installation or abandonment of 

service lines connecting to ] high-pressure distribution 

[ main mains ] with a MAOP that exceeds [ 90 PSIG 100 

psig ]. 

9. Installation of peak shaving facilities, to include any 

modifications or reconfigurations that would alter such a 

facility's pressure delivery characteristics. 

10. Any other project in the judgment of the operator that 

poses a material risk to public safety. 

D. A professional engineer's stamp is not required for 

emergency work, but a professional engineer's stamp is 

required after the emergency has been resolved if the 

remaining work or services are on a project that presents a 

material risk to public safety. 

E. Incorporation of Guidelines into Operations and 

Maintenance Procedures: Each public service company shall 

incorporate the provisions of this chapter into its written 

procedures as required under 49 CFR Part 192 and the 

commission's pipeline safety standards. 

20VAC5-360-40. Documentation.  

Each public service company subject to this chapter shall 

maintain the plans and specifications that must bear a 

professional engineer's stamp pursuant to this chapter at its 

office. These plans and specifications shall be readily 

accessible upon request of the commission, and they shall be 

maintained in accordance with the document retention 

timelines set forth in 49 CFR Part 192 and the commission's 

pipeline safety standards. 

20VAC5-360-50. Commission authority.  

A request for a waiver of any of the provisions in this chapter 

shall be considered by the State Corporation Commission on a 

case-by-case basis and may be granted upon such terms and 

conditions as the State Corporation Commission may impose. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R21-6603; Filed May 24, 2021, 12:34 p.m. 
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Guidance Documents 

PUBLIC COMMENT OPPORTUNITY 

Pursuant to § 2.2-4002.1 of the Code of Virginia, a certified guidance document is subject to a 30-day public comment period 

after publication in the Virginia Register of Regulations and prior to the guidance document's effective date. During the public 

comment period, comments may be made through the Virginia Regulatory Town Hall website (http://www.townhall.virginia.gov) 

or sent to the agency contact. Under subsection C of § 2.2-4002.1, the effective date of the guidance document may be delayed 

for an additional period. The guidance document may also be withdrawn. 

The following guidance documents have been submitted for publication by the listed agencies for a public comment period. 

Online users of this issue of the Virginia Register of Regulations may click on the name of a guidance document to access it. 

Guidance documents are also available on the Virginia Regulatory Town Hall (http://www.townhall.virginia.gov) or from the 

agency contact or may be viewed at the Office of the Registrar of Regulations, 900 East Main Street, Richmond, Virginia 23219. 

DEPARTMENT FOR AGING AND REHABILITATIVE 
SERVICES 

Title of Document: Public Pay Assisted Living Facility 

Assessment Manual. 

Public Comment Deadline: August 18, 2021. 

Effective Date: August 19, 2021. 

Agency Contact: Elizabeth Patacca, Administrative Staff 

Assistant, Department for Aging and Rehabilitative Services, 

8004 Franklin Farms Drive, Henrico, VA 23229, telephone 

(804) 726-6625, or email elizabeth.patacca@dars.virginia.gov. 

STATE BOARD OF EDUCATION 

Title of Document: Curriculum Guidelines for Instruction on 

the Safe Use of and Risks of Abuse of Prescription Drugs. 

Public Comment Deadline: August 18, 2021. 

Effective Date: August 19, 2021. 

Agency Contact: Vanessa Wigand, Coordinator of Health, 

Driver, Physical and Family Life Education, Department of 

Education, 101 North 14th Street, Richmond, VA 23219, 

telephone (804) 225-3300, or email 

vanessa.wigand@doe.virginia.gov. 

* * * 

Title of Document: Guidelines for Practice Year 1 of the Early 

Childhood Unified Measurement and Improvement System. 

Public Comment Deadline: August 18, 2021. 

Effective Date: August 19, 2021. 

Agency Contact: Kris Meyers, Associate Director of Quality 

Measurement and Improvement, Department of Education, 

101 North 14th Street, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 

225-3394, or email kris.meyers@doe.virginia.gov. 

* * * 

Title of Document: Virginia Teacher Performance Evaluation 

System Handbook. 

Public Comment Deadline: August 18, 2021. 

Effective Date: August 19, 2021. 

Agency Contact: Emily V. Webb, Director of Board Relations, 

Department of Education, James Monroe Building, 101 North 

14th Street, 25th Floor, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 

225-2924, or email emily.webb@doe.virginia.gov. 

DEPARTMENT OF ENVIRONMENTAL QUALITY 

Title of Document: Procedure Manual - Environmental Impact 

Review of Major State Facilities. 

Public Comment Deadline: August 18, 2021. 

Effective Date: August 19, 2021. 

Agency Contact: Bettina Sullivan, Department of 

Environmental Quality, P.O. Box 1105, Richmond, VA 23218, 

telephone (804) 698-4204, or email 

bettina.sullivan@deq.virginia.gov. 

DEPARTMENT OF MEDICAL ASSISTANCE 
SERVICES 

Title of Document: Allowance of Licensed School Psychologists 

as Outpatient Psychiatric Services Providers. 

Public Comment Deadline: August 18, 2021. 

Effective Date: August 19, 2021. 

Agency Contact: Emily McClellan, Policy and Research Division, 

Department of Medical Assistance Services, 600 East Broad 

Street, Suite 1300, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 371-

6043, or email emily.mcclellan@dmas.virginia.gov. 

BOARD OF MEDICINE 

Titles of Documents: Disclosures by Licensed Midwives for 

High-Risk Pregnancy Conditions. 

Telemedicine. 

Public Comment Deadline: August 18, 2021. 

Effective Date: August 19, 2021. 

Agency Contact: Elaine J. Yeatts, Agency Regulatory 

Coordinator, Department of Health Professions, Perimeter Center, 

9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, Richmond, VA 23233, telephone 

(804) 367-4688, or email elaine.yeatts@dhp.virginia.gov. 

https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title2.2/chapter40/section2.2-4002.1/
http://www.townhall.virginia.gov/
https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title2.2/chapter40/section2.2-4002.1/
http://www.townhall.virginia.gov/
https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/GetFile.cfm?File=C:/TownHall/docroot/GuidanceDocs_Proposed/262/GDoc_DARS_4882_20210624.pdf
https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/GetFile.cfm?File=C:/TownHall/docroot/GuidanceDocs_Proposed/262/GDoc_DARS_4882_20210624.pdf
mailto:elizabeth.patacca@dars.virginia.gov
https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/GetFile.cfm?File=C:/TownHall/docroot/GuidanceDocs_Proposed/201/GDoc_DOE_4879_20210622.pdf
https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/GetFile.cfm?File=C:/TownHall/docroot/GuidanceDocs_Proposed/201/GDoc_DOE_4879_20210622.pdf
mailto:vanessa.wigand@doe.virginia.gov
https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/GetFile.cfm?File=C:/TownHall/docroot/GuidanceDocs_Proposed/201/GDoc_DOE_4878_20210622.pdf
https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/GetFile.cfm?File=C:/TownHall/docroot/GuidanceDocs_Proposed/201/GDoc_DOE_4878_20210622.pdf
mailto:kris.meyers@doe.virginia.gov
https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/GetFile.cfm?File=C:/TownHall/docroot/GuidanceDocs_Proposed/201/GDoc_DOE_4886_20210629.pdf
https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/GetFile.cfm?File=C:/TownHall/docroot/GuidanceDocs_Proposed/201/GDoc_DOE_4886_20210629.pdf
mailto:emily.webb@doe.virginia.gov
https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/GetFile.cfm?File=C:/TownHall/docroot/GuidanceDocs_Proposed/440/GDoc_DEQ_4881_20210625.pdf
https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/GetFile.cfm?File=C:/TownHall/docroot/GuidanceDocs_Proposed/440/GDoc_DEQ_4881_20210625.pdf
mailto:bettina.sullivan@deq.virginia.gov
https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/GetFile.cfm?File=C:/TownHall/docroot/GuidanceDocs_Proposed/602/GDoc_DMAS_4885_20210628.pdf
https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/GetFile.cfm?File=C:/TownHall/docroot/GuidanceDocs_Proposed/602/GDoc_DMAS_4885_20210628.pdf
mailto:Emily.McClellan@dmas.virginia.gov
https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/GetFile.cfm?File=C:/TownHall/docroot/GuidanceDocs_Proposed/223/GDoc_DHP_4883_20210624.pdf
https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/GetFile.cfm?File=C:/TownHall/docroot/GuidanceDocs_Proposed/223/GDoc_DHP_4883_20210624.pdf
https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/GetFile.cfm?File=C:/TownHall/docroot/GuidanceDocs_Proposed/223/GDoc_DHP_4884_20210624.pdf
mailto:elaine.yeatts@dhp.virginia.gov
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General Notices 

STATE AIR POLLUTION CONTROL BOARD 

State Implementation Plan - Proposed Revision - 
Reasonably Available Control Technology - 2015 

Ozone National Ambient Air Quality Standard 

Notice of action: The Department of Environmental Quality 

(DEQ) is seeking comment on a proposed plan to implement 

reasonably available control technology (RACT) in support of 

the 2015 ozone national ambient air quality standard (NAAQS) 

in the Northern Virginia Emissions Control Area. The 

Commonwealth intends to submit the plan as a revision to the 

Commonwealth of Virginia State Implementation Plan (SIP) 

in accordance with the requirements of § 110(a) of the federal 

Clean Air Act. The SIP is the plan developed by the 

Commonwealth in order to fulfill its responsibilities under the 

Clean Air Act to attain and maintain the ambient air quality 

standards promulgated by the U.S. Environmental Protection 

Agency (EPA) under the Clean Air Act. 

Purpose of notice: DEQ is seeking comment on the issue of 

whether the plan correctly certifies that there are no sources 

subject to the Control Techniques Guidelines (CTG) for the 

2016 Oil and Natural Gas Industry in the Northern Virginia 

Emissions Control Area (Counties of Arlington, Fairfax, 

Loudoun, and Prince William, and Cities of Alexandria, 

Fairfax, Falls Church, Manassas, and Manassas Park). 

Public comment period: July 5, 2021, to August 5, 2021. 

Public hearing: A public hearing will be conducted if a request 

is made in writing to the contact listed at the end of this notice. 

In order to be considered, the request must include the full 

name, address, and telephone number of the person requesting 

the hearing and be received by DEQ by the last day of the 

comment period. Notice of the date, time, and location of any 

requested public hearing will be announced in a separate 

notice, and another 30-day comment period will be conducted. 

Description of proposal: The proposal consists of a declaration 

that there are no sources subject to the 2016 CTG for the Oil 

and Natural Gas Industry in the Northern Virginia Emissions 

Control Area in support of the 2015 ozone NAAQS. A similar 

declaration for the 2008 ozone NAAQS was previously 

approved by EPA on February 10, 2021 (86 FR 8868). Section 

10(a) of the Clean Air Act requires that following adoption of 

the revised 2015 ozone NAAQS, affected states reevaluate 

whether any of the CTGs apply to sources within ozone 

nonattainment areas or sources within the ozone transport 

region (OTR). The Northern Virginia Emissions Control Area 

is the only portion of Virginia with a 2015 marginal ozone 

nonattainment area and within the OTR. DEQ has reviewed all 

readily available data and determined that there are still no 

sources within the Northern Virginia Emissions Control Area 

that are subject to the 2016 Oil and Natural Gas CTG. 

Federal information: This notice is being given to satisfy the 

public participation requirements of federal regulations 

(40 CFR 51.102). The proposed document will be submitted as 

a revision to the Commonwealth of Virginia SIP under 

§ 110(a) of the federal Clean Air Act in accordance with 

40 CFR 51.104. 

How to comment: DEQ accepts written comments by email, 

fax, and postal mail. In order to be considered, comments must 

include the full name, address, and telephone number of the 

person commenting and be received by DEQ on the last day of 

the comment period. All faxes must have a cover page that lists 

the intended recipient. All materials received are part of the 

public record. 

To review the proposal: The proposal is available on the DEQ 

Air Public Notices website at 

https://www.deq.virginia.gov/permits-regulations/public-

notices/air. The proposal may also be obtained by contacting 

the DEQ representative listed at the end of this notice. The 

public may make an appointment to review the proposal 

between 8:30 a.m. and 4:30 p.m. of each business day until the 

close of the comment period at Department of Environmental 

Quality - Main Street Office, Suite 1400, 1111 East Main 

Street, Richmond, VA, telephone (804) 698-4070 or 

Department of Environmental Quality - Northern Regional 

Office, 13901 Crown Court, Woodbridge, VA, telephone (703) 

583-3800. 

Contact Information: Cindy Berndt, Regulatory Coordinator, 

Department of Environmental Quality, 1111 East Main Street, 

Suite 1400, P.O. Box 1105, Richmond, VA 23218, telephone 

(804) 698-4378, FAX (804) 698-4178. 

STATE CORPORATION COMMISSION 

Bureau of Insurance 

May 5, 2021 

Administrative Letter 2021-03 

To: All Insurers and Rate Service Organizations Licensed to 

Write Motor Vehicle Insurance in Virginia 

RE: SB 1182 and Filings for Revised Minimum Financial 

Responsibility Limits 

Effective January 1, 2022, the minimum financial 

responsibility (FR) limits for all motor vehicle policies will 

increase to $30,000 for bodily injury to or death of one person 

in any one accident and $60,000 for bodily injury to or death 

of two or more persons. The limit for injury to or destruction 

of property of others in any one accident will remain at 

$20,000. See Senate Bill 1182 (2021 Special Session 1). 

The new FR minimum limits will apply to new and renewal 

motor vehicle policies effective on or after January 1, 2022. 

Prior to that date, Insurers must have rates or rating factors 

filed for the new minimum bodily injury liability limits. 

https://www.deq.virginia.gov/permits-regulations/public-notices/air.
https://www.deq.virginia.gov/permits-regulations/public-notices/air.
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Insurers should remove any references to the prior minimum 

FR limits of $25,000/$50,000 from their rating manuals. 

Rates or rating factors for the corresponding minimum limits 

for uninsured motorist coverage must be filed as well. 

In addition, pursuant to § 46.2-316 of the Code of Virginia, 

insurers must provide double the minimum FR limits when an 

insured has been convicted of certain alcohol-related offenses. 

Thus, insurers must file rates or rating factors to accommodate 

limits of $60,000/$120,000/$40,000 for bodily injury and 

property damage liability and uninsured motorist coverages 

when providing FR-44 certificates. 

Effective January 1, 2025, the minimum FR limits will increase 

to $50,000/$100,000/$25,000. Insurers must have rates or 

rating factors filed for those limits prior to the effective date of 

the increase. 

Each insurer may decide whether to require new uninsured 

motorist selection/rejection forms for existing policies based 

on the new minimum limits. 

Please contact the Property and Casualty Division of the 

Bureau of Insurance at (804) 371-9965 with your questions 

about Administrative Letter 2021-03 

/s/ Scott A. White, Commissioner of Insurance 

Contact Information: Katie Johnson, Policy Advisor, Bureau 

of Insurance, State Corporation Commission, P.O. Box 1157, 

Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 371-9688, or email 

katie.johnson@scc.virginia.gov. 

DEPARTMENT OF ENVIRONMENTAL QUALITY 

Draft Virginia State Water Resources Plan - Notice 
of Availability and Opportunity for Public Comment 

The Virginia Department of Environmental Quality (DEQ) 

will release the draft 2020 Virginia State Water Resources Plan 

(State Plan) on June 28, 2021, for public comment. The 45-day 

public comment period will end August 13, 2021. 

The State Plan, as required by § 62.1-44.38 of the Code of 

Virginia, is published at five-year intervals and compiles 

information provided to DEQ by localities on water sources, 

demand projections, water use data, and information collected 

through annual withdrawal reporting and withdrawal permit 

reporting into a central document. DEQ analyzes this 

information by completing cumulative impact analysis (CIA) 

modeling of surface water and groundwater resources. The first 

State Plan was published in 2015. The draft 2020 State Plan 

includes advances in CIA modeling, updated current and future 

water use and discharge data, and the addition of several new 

modeling scenarios that evaluate the impacts of climate 

change. The draft 2020 State Plan also includes 20 distinct 

regional analyses conducted at river basin scale which will 

allow evaluation of results beyond the statewide trends. The 

draft 2020 State Plan will be available beginning June 28, 

2021, through August 13, 2021, on the DEQ website at 

https://www.deq.virginia.gov/water/water-quantity/water-

supply-planning/virginia-water-resources-plan.  

A free public informational webinar summarizing the draft 

2020 State Plan is scheduled for July 8, 2021, at 2 p.m. During 

the webinar, DEQ will provide an overview of the draft 2020 

State Plan's purpose and key results. Questions submitted 

during the webinar will be answered via a FAQ document to 

be posted subsequently on the DEQ website. Register for the 

webinar at https://attendee.gotowebinar.com/register/ 

1705437508121133328. 

Note that questions asked during the webinar will not be 

considered public comment. Written comments on the draft 

2020 State Plan can be sent to the contact person listed at the 

end of this notice. Commenters must include name, (US mail) 

address, telephone number, and email address. Responses to 

public comment received will be included as an appendix to 

the final draft of the 2020 State Plan. 

Contact Information: Cindy Berndt, Regulatory Coordinator, 

Department of Environmental Quality, 1111 East Main Street, 

Suite 1400, P.O. Box 1105, Richmond, VA 23218, telephone 

(804) 698-4378, FAX (804) 698-4178. 

BOARD OF MEDICAL ASSISTANCE SERVICES 

Notice of Intent to Amend the Virginia State Plan for 
Medical Assistance Pursuant to § 1902(a)(13) of the 
Social Security Act (42 USC § 1396a(a)(13)) - Office-
Based Opioid Treatment Changed to Office-Based 

Addiction Treatment 

The Virginia Department of Medical Assistance Services 

(DMAS) hereby affords the public notice of its intention to 

amend the Virginia State Plan for Medical Assistance to 

provide for changes to the Methods and Standards for 

Establishing Payment Rates; Other Types of Care (12VAC30-

80). 

This notice is intended to satisfy the requirements of 42 CFR 

447.205 and of § 1902(a)(13) of the Social Security Act, 

42 USC § 1396a(a)(13). A copy of this notice is available for 

public review using the contact information at the end of this 

notice. 

DMAS is specifically soliciting input from stakeholders, 

providers, and beneficiaries on the potential impact of the 

proposed changes discussed in this notice. Comments or 

inquiries may be submitted in writing within 30 days of this 

notice publication to Emily McClellan, and such comments are 

available for review at the same address. Comments may also 

be submitted in writing on the Virginia Regulatory Town Hall 

at https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/generalnotice.cfm. 

In accordance with Item 313.PPPPP of the 2021 

Appropriations Act, DMAS will be making the following 

changes: 

mailto:Katie.Johnson@scc.virginia.gov
https://www.deq.virginia.gov/water/water-quantity/water-supply-planning/virginia-water-resources-plan
https://www.deq.virginia.gov/water/water-quantity/water-supply-planning/virginia-water-resources-plan
https://attendee.gotowebinar.com/register/1705437508121133328
https://attendee.gotowebinar.com/register/1705437508121133328
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/Register/RegisterPublication/SectionEdit/3724/GeneralNotices/generalnotice.cfm
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Methods & Standards for Establishing Payment Rates-Other 

Types of Care (12VAC30-80) 

The state plan is being revised to expand the substance use 

disorder service called "Preferred Office-Based Opioid 

Treatment," which has been available only to individuals with 

a primary diagnosis of opioid use disorder, to individuals with 

a substance-related or addictive disorder. 

The expected increase in annual aggregate expenditures is 

$881,307 in state general funds, $1,255,580 in federal funds, 

and $40,675 in special funds in federal fiscal year 2022. 

Contact Information: Emily McClellan, Regulatory Manager, 

Division of Policy and Research, Department of Medical 

Assistance Services, 600 East Broad Street, Suite 1300, 

Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 371-4300, FAX (804) 

786-1680. 

Draft Plan First Provider Manual 

The draft Plan First Provider Manual Chapter IV is now 

available on the Department of Medical Assistance Services 

website at https://www.dmas.virginia.gov/for-

providers/general-information/medicaid-provider-manual-

drafts/ for public comment until July 25, 2021. 

Contact Information: Emily McClellan, Regulatory Manager, 

Division of Policy and Research, Department of Medical 

Assistance Services, 600 East Broad Street, Suite 1300, 

Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 371-4300, FAX (804) 

786-1680. 

STATE WATER CONTROL BOARD 

Proposed Enforcement Action for  
Abbott Truck Sales Inc. 

An enforcement action has been proposed for Abbott Truck 

Sales Inc. for violations in King William County. The State 

Water Control Board proposes to issue a consent order to 

resolve violations associated with the Abbott Truck Sales site. 

A description of the proposed action is available at the 

Department of Environmental Quality office listed or online at 

www.deq.virginia.gov/permits-regulations/public-notices. 

The staff contact will accept comments by hand-delivery, 

email, fax, or postal mail from July 19, 2021, to August 19, 

2021. 

Contact Information: Matt Richardson, Department of 

Environmental Quality, Piedmont Regional Office, 4949-A 

Cox Road, Glen Allen, VA 23060, FAX (804) 698-4178, or 

email matthew.richardson@deq.virginia.gov. 

Proposed Enforcement Action for  
Bluestone Farm Solar LLC 

An enforcement action has been proposed for Bluestone Farm 

Solar LLC for violations in Mecklenburg County. The State 

Water Control Board proposes to issue a consent order to 

resolve violations associated with the Bluestone Farm Solar 

site. A description of the proposed action is available at the 

Department of Environmental Quality office listed or online at 

www.deq.virginia.gov/permits-regulations/public-notices. 

The staff contact will accept comments by hand-delivery, 

email, fax, or postal mail from July 19, 2021, to August 19, 

2021. 

Contact Information: Matt Richardson, Department of 

Environmental Quality, Piedmont Regional Office, 4949-A 

Cox Road, Glen Allen, VA 23060, FAX (804) 698-4178 , or 

email matthew.richardson@deq.virginia.gov. 

Proposed Enforcement Action for the Carroll 
County Public Service Authority 

An enforcement action has been proposed for the Carroll 

County Public Service Authority for violations of the State 

Water Control Law at the I-77 Exit 1 wastewater treatment 

plant in Carroll County. A description of the proposed action 

is available at the Department of Environmental Quality office 

listed or online at www.deq.virginia.gov. The staff contact 

person will accept comments by email or postal mail from July 

20, 2021, through August 19, 2021. 

Contact Information: Jonathan Chapman, Enforcement 

Specialist, Department of Environmental Quality, Southwest 

Regional Office, 355-A Deadmore Street, Abingdon, VA 

24210, or email jonathan.chapman@deq.virginia.gov. 

Proposed Enforcement Action for Fiberlight LLC 

An enforcement action has been proposed for Fiberlight LLC 

for violations of the State Water Control Law along the 

Atlantic Coast Long Haul Fiber Optic Cable Installation 

Project route in Albemarle County and Nelson County. A 

description of the proposed action is available at the office 

listed or online at www.deq.virginia.gov/permits-

regulations/public-notices. Comments will be accepted by the 

contact person from July 19, 2021, through August 18, 2021. 

Contact Information: Kristen Sadtler, Department of 

Environmental Quality, 1111 East Main Street, Suite 1400, 

P.O. Box 1105, Richmond, VA 23218, or email 

kristen.sadtler@deq.virginia.gov. 

Proposed Enforcement Action for Harbour East 
Sewage Disposal Corporation 

An enforcement action has been proposed for Harbour East 

Sewage Disposal Corporation for violations in Chesterfield 

County, Virginia. The State Water Control Board proposes to 

issue a consent order to resolve violations associated with the 

Harbour East Village waste water treatment plant. A 

description of the proposed action is available at the 

Department of Environmental Quality office listed or online at 

www.deq.virginia.gov/permits-regulations/public-notices. 
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The staff contact will accept comments by hand-delivery, 

email, fax at (804) 698-4178, or postal mail at Piedmont 

Regional Office, 4949-A Cox Road, Glen Allen, VA 23060, 

from July 19, 2021, to August 19, 2021. 

Contact Information: Matthew Richardson, Department of 

Environmental Quality, Piedmont Regional Office, 4949-A 

Cox Road, Glen Allen, VA 23060, FAX (804) 698-4178, or 

email matthew.richardson@deq.virginia.gov. 

Proposed Enforcement Action for the Middle 
Peninsula Regional Airport Authority 

An enforcement action has been proposed for the Middle 

Peninsula Regional Airport Authority for violations in King 

and Queen County. The State Water Control Board proposes 

to issue a consent order to resolve violations associated with 

the Middle Peninsula Regional Airport - Transient Apron 

Expansion site. A description of the proposed action is 

available at the Department of Environmental Quality office 

listed or online at www.deq.virginia.gov/permits-

regulations/public-notices. The staff contact will accept 

comments by hand-delivery, email, fax, or postal mail from 

July 19, 2021, to August 19, 2021. 

Contact Information: Matthew Richardson, Department of 

Environmental Quality, Piedmont Regional Office, 4949-A 

Cox Road, Glen Allen, VA 23060, FAX (804) 698-4178, or 

email matthew.richardson@deq.virginia.gov. 

Proposed Enforcement Action for Mizpah 
Healthcare Group LLC 

An enforcement action has been proposed for Mizpah 

Healthcare Group LLC for violations in Middlesex County. 

The State Water Control Board proposes to issue a consent 

order to resolve violations associated with the Dockside Health 

and Rehab Center waste water treatment plant. A description 

of the proposed action is available at the Department of 

Environmental Quality office listed or online at 

www.deq.virginia.gov/permits-regulations/public-notices. 

The staff contact will accept comments by hand-delivery, 

email, fax, or postal mail from July 19, 2021, to August 19, 

2021. 

Contact Information: Matt Richardson, Department of 

Environmental Quality, Piedmont Regional Office, 4949-A 

Cox Road, Glen Allen, VA 23060, FAX (804) 698-4178, or 

email matthew.richardson@deq.virginia.gov. 

Proposed Enforcement Action for the  
Town of Rural Retreat 

An enforcement action has been proposed for the Town of 

Rural Retreat for violations of the State Water Control Law at 

the Rural Retreat wastewater treatment plant in Wythe County. 

A description of the proposed action is available at the 

Department of Environmental Quality office listed or online at 

www.deq.virginia.gov. The staff contact will accept comments 

by email or postal mail from June 22, 2021, until August 19, 

2021. 

Contact Information: Jonathan Chapman, Department of 

Environmental Quality, Southwest Regional Office, 355-A 

Deadmore Street, Abingdon, VA 24210, or email 

jonathan.chapman@deq.virginia.gov. 

Proposed Enforcement Action for  
VIR Associates LLC 

An enforcement action has been proposed for VIR Associates 

LLC for violations in Sussex County. The State Water Control 

Board proposes to issue a consent order to resolve violations 

associated with the Fairfield Inn at Stony Creek site. A 

description of the proposed action is available at the 

Department of Environmental Quality office listed or online at 

www.deq.virginia.gov. The staff contact will accept comments 

by hand-delivery, email, fax, or postal mail from July 19, 2021, 

to August 19, 2021. 

Contact Information: Matthew Richardson, Department of 

Environmental Quality, Piedmont Regional Office, 4949-A 

Cox Road, Glen Allen, VA 23060, FAX (804) 698-4178, or 

email matthew.richardson@deq.virginia.gov. 

Proposed Enforcement Action for Virginia Electric 
and Power Company 

The State Water Control Board proposes to issue a consent 

special order to Virginia Electric and Power Company for 

alleged violation of the State Water Control Law at the 

Hollyfield Solar Project located in King William County. A 

description of the proposed action is available at the 

Department of Environmental Quality office listed or online at 

www.deq.virginia.gov/permits-regulations/public-notices. 

The staff contact will accept comments by email or postal mail. 

Contact Information: Jeff Reynolds, Department of 

Environmental Quality, Piedmont Regional Office, 4949-A 

Cox Road, Glen Allen, VA 23060, or email 

jefferson.reynolds@deq.virginia.gov. 

Notice of Intent to Approve Revised Advance Credit 
Fee Schedules in Several River Basins for Use by 

the Virginia Aquatic Resources Trust Fund 

Pursuant to 9VAC25-210-116, the State Water Control Board 

is giving notice of its intent to approve revised advance credit 

fee schedules in several river basins for use by the Virginia 

Aquatic Resources Trust Fund (VARTF). VARTF is an 

approved in-lieu fee mitigation program (ILF Program), 

sponsored and operated by The Nature Conservancy 

(Sponsor). This public notice is specific to the Sponsor's 2021 

request to increase their fee schedule in several basins, based 

on rising costs of existing VARTF projects and recent bids on 

mitigation related activities and credit purchases. 
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The board intends to approve the 2021 revised fee schedules. 

State regulation specifies that an ILF Program must have "A 

mechanism to establish fee amounts that will ensure each 

contribution will be adequate to compensate for the wetland 

acreage and functions or stream functions and water quality 

benefits lost in the impacted watershed." In the provided 

"VARTF 2021 Revised Fee Schedules" document, VARTF 

describes the circumstances leading to the requested 2021 

revised fee schedules in each river basin. 

A copy of this public notice and the VARTF 2021 revised fee 

schedules will be available on July 19, 2021, on the 

Department of Environmental Quality website Wetlands and 

Streams Public Notice page, under the Program and 

Regulatory section, at https://www.deq.virginia.gov/permits-

regulations/public-notices/water/wetlands-streams. 

Statutory Authority: §§ 62.1-44.15:20 through 62.1-44.15:23 

of the Code of Virginia; 9VAC25-210-116 D. 

Public Comment Deadline: 11:59 p.m. on August 19, 2021. 

Contact Information: Cindy Berndt, Regulatory Coordinator, 

Department of Environmental Quality, 1111 East Main Street, 

Suite 1400, P.O. Box 1105, Richmond, VA 23218, telephone 

(804) 698-4378, FAX (804) 698-4178. 

VIRGINIA CODE COMMISSION 

Notice to State Agencies 

Contact Information: Mailing Address: Virginia Code 

Commission, Pocahontas Building, 900 East Main Street, 8th 

Floor, Richmond, VA 23219; Telephone: (804) 698-1810; 

Email: varegs@dls.virginia.gov. 

Meeting Notices: Section 2.2-3707 C of the Code of Virginia 

requires state agencies to post meeting notices on their 

websites and on the Commonwealth Calendar at 

https://commonwealthcalendar.virginia.gov. 

Cumulative Table of Virginia Administrative Code 

Sections Adopted, Amended, or Repealed: A table listing 

regulation sections that have been amended, added, or repealed 

in the Virginia Register of Regulations since the regulations 

were originally published or last supplemented in the print 

version of the Virginia Administrative Code is available at 

http://register.dls.virginia.gov/documents/cumultab.pdf. 

Filing Material for Publication in the Virginia Register of 

Regulations: Agencies use the Regulation Information System 

(RIS) to file regulations and related items for publication in the 

Virginia Register of Regulations. The Registrar's office works 

closely with the Department of Planning and Budget (DPB) to 

coordinate the system with the Virginia Regulatory Town Hall. 

RIS and Town Hall complement and enhance one another by 

sharing pertinent regulatory information. 
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