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REGISTER INFORMATION PAGE 

THE VIRGINIA REGISTER OF REGULATIONS is an official state 

publication issued every other week throughout the year. Indexes are published 

quarterly, and are cumulative for the year. The Virginia Register has several 
functions. The new and amended sections of regulations, both as proposed and 

as finally adopted, are required by law to be published in the Virginia Register. 

In addition, the Virginia Register is a source of other information about state 
government, including petitions for rulemaking, emergency regulations, 

executive orders issued by the Governor, and notices of public hearings on 

regulations. 

ADOPTION, AMENDMENT, AND REPEAL OF REGULATIONS 

Unless exempted by law, an agency wishing to adopt, amend, or repeal 

regulations must follow the procedures in the Administrative Process Act 
(§ 2.2-4000 et seq. of the Code of Virginia). Typically, this includes first 

publishing in the Virginia Register a notice of intended regulatory action; a 

basis, purpose, substance and issues statement; an economic impact analysis 
prepared by the Department of Planning and Budget; the agency’s response to 

the economic impact analysis; a summary; a notice giving the public an 

opportunity to comment on the proposal; and the text of the proposed 
regulation. 

Following publication of the proposed regulation in the Virginia Register, the 

promulgating agency receives public comments for a minimum of 60 days. 
The Governor reviews the proposed regulation to determine if it is necessary 

to protect the public health, safety, and welfare, and if it is clearly written and 

easily understandable. If the Governor chooses to comment on the proposed 
regulation, his comments must be transmitted to the agency and the Registrar 

of Regulations no later than 15 days following the completion of the 60-day 
public comment period. The Governor’s comments, if any, will be published 

in the Virginia Register. Not less than 15 days following the completion of the 

60-day public comment period, the agency may adopt the proposed regulation. 

The Joint Commission on Administrative Rules or the appropriate standing 

committee of each house of the General Assembly may meet during the 

promulgation or final adoption process and file an objection with the Registrar 
and the promulgating agency. The objection will be published in the Virginia 

Register. Within 21 days after receipt by the agency of a legislative objection, 

the agency shall file a response with the Registrar, the objecting legislative 
body, and the Governor. 

When final action is taken, the agency again publishes the text of the 

regulation as adopted, highlighting all changes made to the proposed 
regulation and explaining any substantial changes made since publication of 

the proposal. A 30-day final adoption period begins upon final publication in 

the Virginia Register. 

The Governor may review the final regulation during this time and, if he 

objects, forward his objection to the Registrar and the agency. In addition to 

or in lieu of filing a formal objection, the Governor may suspend the effective 
date of a portion or all of a regulation until the end of the next regular General 

Assembly session by issuing a directive signed by a majority of the members 

of the appropriate legislative body and the Governor. The Governor’s 
objection or suspension of the regulation, or both, will be published in the 

Virginia Register. 

If the Governor finds that the final regulation contains changes made after 
publication of the proposed regulation that have substantial impact, he may 

require the agency to provide an additional 30-day public comment period on 

the changes. Notice of the additional public comment period required by the 

Governor will be published in the Virginia Register. Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.06 

of the Code of Virginia, any person may request that the agency solicit 

additional public comment on certain changes made after publication of the 
proposed regulation. The agency shall suspend the regulatory process for 30 

days upon such request from 25 or more individuals, unless the agency 

determines that the changes have minor or inconsequential impact. 

A regulation becomes effective at the conclusion of the 30-day final adoption 

period, or at any other later date specified by the promulgating agency, unless 

(i) a legislative objection has been filed, in which event the regulation, unless 
withdrawn, becomes effective on the date specified, which shall be after the 

expiration of the 21-day objection period; (ii) the Governor exercises his 

authority to require the agency to provide for additional public comment, in 

which event the regulation, unless withdrawn, becomes effective on the date 

specified, which shall be after the expiration of the period for which the 

Governor has provided for additional public comment; (iii) the Governor and 

the General Assembly exercise their authority to suspend the effective date of 
a regulation until the end of the next regular legislative session; or (iv) the 

agency suspends the regulatory process, in which event the regulation, unless 

withdrawn, becomes effective on the date specified, which shall be after the 
expiration of the 30-day public comment period and no earlier than 15 days 

from publication of the readopted action. 

A regulatory action may be withdrawn by the promulgating agency at any 
time before the regulation becomes final. 

FAST-TRACK RULEMAKING PROCESS 

Section 2.2-4012.1 of the Code of Virginia provides an alternative to the 
standard process set forth in the Administrative Process Act for regulations 

deemed by the Governor to be noncontroversial. To use this process, the 

Governor's concurrence is required and advance notice must be provided to 
certain legislative committees. Fast-track regulations become effective on the 

date noted in the regulatory action if fewer than 10 persons object to using the 

process in accordance with § 2.2-4012.1. 

EMERGENCY REGULATIONS 

Pursuant to § 2.2-4011 of the Code of Virginia, an agency may adopt 

emergency regulations if necessitated by an emergency situation or when 
Virginia statutory law or the appropriation act or federal law or federal 

regulation requires that a regulation be effective in 280 days or fewer from its 

enactment. In either situation, approval of the Governor is required. The 
emergency regulation is effective upon its filing with the Registrar of 

Regulations, unless a later date is specified per § 2.2-4012 of the Code of 
Virginia. Emergency regulations are limited to no more than 18 months in 

duration; however, may be extended for six months under the circumstances 

noted in § 2.2-4011 D. Emergency regulations are published as soon as 
possible in the Virginia Register and are on the Register of Regulations website 

at register.dls.virgina.gov. 

During the time the emergency regulation is in effect, the agency may 
proceed with the adoption of permanent regulations in accordance with the 

Administrative Process Act. If the agency chooses not to adopt the regulations, 

the emergency status ends when the prescribed time limit expires. 

STATEMENT 

The foregoing constitutes a generalized statement of the procedures to be 

followed. For specific statutory language, it is suggested that Article 2 (§ 2.2-
4006 et seq.) of Chapter 40 of Title 2.2 of the Code of Virginia be examined 

carefully. 

CITATION TO THE VIRGINIA REGISTER 

The Virginia Register is cited by volume, issue, page number, and date. 34:8 

VA.R. 763-832 December 11, 2017, refers to Volume 34, Issue 8, pages 763 

through 832 of the Virginia Register issued on  
December 11, 2017. 

The Virginia Register of Regulations is published pursuant to Article 6 (§ 2.2-

4031 et seq.) of Chapter 40 of Title 2.2 of the Code of Virginia. 

Members of the Virginia Code Commission: John S. Edwards, Chair; 

Marcus B. Simon, Vice Chair; Ward L. Armstrong; Nicole Cheuk; Rita 

Davis; Leslie L. Lilley; Jennifer L. McClellan; Christopher R. Nolen; Don 

L. Scott, Jr.; Charles S. Sharp; Samuel T. Towell; Malfourd W. Trumbo. 

Staff of the Virginia Register: Karen Perrine, Registrar of Regulations; 

Anne Bloomsburg, Assistant Registrar; Nikki Clemons, Regulations 
Analyst; Rhonda Dyer, Publications Assistant; Terri Edwards, Senior 

Operations Staff Assistant. 

https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/2.2-4011/
https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/2.2-4011/
http://register.dls.virgina.gov/
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PUBLICATION SCHEDULE AND DEADLINES 

August 2021 through September 2022 

Volume: Issue Material Submitted By Noon* Will Be Published On 

38:1 August 11, 2021 August 30, 2021 

38:2 August 25, 2021 September 13, 2021 

38:3 September 8, 2021 September 27, 2021 

38:4 September 22, 2021 October 11, 2021 

38:5 October 6, 2021 October 25, 2021 

38:6 October 20, 2021 November 8, 2021 

38:7 November 3, 2021 November 22, 2021 

38:8 November 15, 2021 (Monday) December 6, 2021 

38:9 December 1, 2021 December 20, 2021 

38:10 December 15, 2021 January 3, 2022 

38:11 December 29, 2021 January 17, 2022 

38:12 January 12, 2022 January 31, 2022 

38:13 January 26, 2022 February 14, 2022 

38:14 February 9, 2022 February 28, 2022 

38:15 February 23, 2022 March 14, 2022 

38:16 March 9, 2022 March 28, 2022 

38:17 March 23, 2022 April 11, 2022 

38:18 April 6, 2022 April 25, 2022 

38:19 April 20, 2022 May 9, 2022 

38:20 May 4, 2022 May 23, 2022 

38:21 May 18, 2022 June 6, 2022 

38:22 June 1, 2022 June 20, 2022 

38:23 June 15, 2022 July 4, 2022 

38:24 June 29, 2022 July 18, 2022 

38:25 July 13, 2022 August 1, 2022 

38:26 July 27, 2022 August 15, 2022 

39:1 August 10, 2022 August 29, 2022 

39:2 August 24, 2022 September 12, 2022 

*Filing deadlines are Wednesdays unless otherwise specified. 
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PETITIONS FOR RULEMAKING 

TITLE 18. PROFESSIONAL AND 
OCCUPATIONAL LICENSING 

BOARD OF OPTOMETRY 

Agency Decision 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC105-20. Regulations Governing 

the Practice of Optometry. 

Statutory Authority: §§ 54.1-2400 and 54.1-3223 of the Code 

of Virginia. 

Name of Petitioner: Weston Pack. 

Nature of Petitioner's Request: To add an investigative 

ophthalmic drop to the approved formulary of drugs that may 

be prescribed by an optometrist. 

Agency Decision: Request denied. 

Statement of Reason for Decision: At its meeting on July 16, 

2021, the board voted to deny the petition based on information 

that the drug requested is not yet approved by the Food and 

Drug Administration (FDA) for the particular use in 

optometric practice. The board will continue to monitor the 

process and will consider the initiation of a regulatory process 

when FDA approval is given. 

Agency Contact: Leslie L. Knachel, Executive Director, Board 

of Optometry, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, Richmond, VA 

23233, telephone (804) 597-4130, or email 

leslie.knachel@dhp.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. PFR21-34; Filed July26, 2021, 9:55 a.m. 

mailto:leslie.knachel@dhp.virginia.gov
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PERIODIC REVIEWS AND SMALL BUSINESS IMPACT REVIEWS 

TITLE 1. ADMINISTRATION 

COMMISSION ON LOCAL GOVERNMENT 

Agency Notice 

Pursuant to Executive Order 14 (as amended July 16, 2018) 

and §§ 2.2-4007.1 and 2.2-4017 of the Code of Virginia, the 

following regulations are undergoing a periodic review and a 

small business impact review: 1VAC50-11, Public 

Participation Guidelines; and 1VAC50-20, Organization 

and Regulations of Procedure. The review of these 

regulations will be guided by the principles in Executive Order 

14 (as amended July 16, 2018). The purpose of this review is 

to determine whether each regulation should be repealed, 

amended, or retained in its current form. Public comment is 

sought on the review of any issue relating to these regulations, 

including whether each regulation (i) is necessary for the 

protection of public health, safety, and welfare or for the 

economical performance of important governmental functions; 

(ii) minimizes the economic impact on small businesses in a 

manner consistent with the stated objectives of applicable law; 

and (iii) is clearly written and easily understandable. 

Public comment period begins August 16, 2021, and ends 

September 6, 2021. 

Comments must include the commenter's name and address 

(physical or email) information in order to receive a response 

to the comment from the agency. Following the close of the 

public comment period, a report of both reviews will be posted 

on the Virginia Regulatory Town Hall and published in the 

Virginia Register of Regulations. 

Contact Information: Cody Anderson, Policy Analyst, 

Department of Housing and Community Development, Main 

Street Center, 600 East Main Street, Richmond, VA 23219, 

telephone (804) 371-7054. 

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 9. ENVIRONMENT 

STATE WATER CONTROL BOARD 

Agency Notice 

Pursuant to Executive Order 14 (as amended July 16, 2018) 

and §§ 2.2-4007.1 and 2.2-4017 of the Code of Virginia, the 

following regulations are undergoing a periodic review and a 

small business impact review: 9VAC25-640, Aboveground 

Storage Tank and Pipeline Facility Financial 

Responsibility Requirements; and 9VAC25-890, General 

VPDES Permit for Discharges of Stormwater from Small 

Municipal Separate Storm Sewer Systems. The review of 

these regulations will be guided by the principles in Executive 

Order 14 (as amended July 16, 2018). The purpose of this 

review is to determine whether each regulation should be 

repealed, amended, or retained in its current form. Public 

comment is sought on the review of any issue relating to these 

regulations, including whether each regulation (i) is necessary 

for the protection of public health, safety, and welfare or for 

the economical performance of important governmental 

functions; (ii) minimizes the economic impact on small 

businesses in a manner consistent with the stated objectives of 

applicable law; and (iii) is clearly written and easily 

understandable. 

Public comment period begins August 16, 2021, and ends 

September 6, 2021. 

Comments must include the commenter's name and address 

(physical or email) information in order to receive a response 

to the comment from the agency. Following the close of the 

public comment period, a report of both reviews will be posted 

on the Virginia Regulatory Town Hall and published in the 

Virginia Register of Regulations. 

Contact Information: Melissa Porterfield, Department of 

Environmental Quality, 1111 East Main Street, Suite 1400, 

P.O. Box 1105, Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 698-

4238. 

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 18. PROFESSIONAL AND 
OCCUPATIONAL LICENSING 

BOARD OF SOCIAL WORK 

Agency Notice 

Pursuant to Executive Order 14 (as amended July 16, 2018) 

and §§ 2.2-4007.1 and 2.2-4017 of the Code of Virginia, the 

following regulation is undergoing a periodic review and a 

small business impact review: 18VAC140-20, Regulations 

Governing the Practice of Social Work. The review will be 

guided by the principles in Executive Order 14 (as amended 

July 16, 2018). The purpose of this review is to determine 

whether this regulation should be repealed, amended, or 

retained in its current form. Public comment is sought on the 

review of any issue relating to this regulation, including 

whether the regulation (i) is necessary for the protection of 

public health, safety, and welfare or for the economical 

performance of important governmental functions; (ii) 

minimizes the economic impact on small businesses in a 

manner consistent with the stated objectives of applicable law; 

and (iii) is clearly written and easily understandable. 

Public comment period begins August 16, 2021, and ends 

September 6, 2021. 

Comments must include the commenter's name and address 

(physical or email) information in order to receive a response 

to the comment from the agency. Following the close of the 
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public comment period, a report of both reviews will be posted 

on the Virginia Regulatory Town Hall and published in the 

Virginia Register of Regulations. 

Contact Information: Jaime Hoyle, Executive Director, Board 

of Social Work, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, Richmond, 

VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-4406. 

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 24. TRANSPORTATION AND MOTOR 

VEHICLES 

COMMONWEALTH TRANSPORTATION BOARD 

Report of Findings 

Pursuant to §§ 2.2-4007.1 and 2.2-4017 of the Code of 

Virginia, the Commonwealth Transportation Board conducted 

a periodic review and small business impact review of 

24VAC30-21, General Rules and Regulations of the 

Commonwealth Transportation Board, and determined that 

this regulation should be retained in its current form. The board 

is publishing its report of findings dated March 16, 2021, to 

support this decision. 

Pursuant to its authority granted by § 33.2-210 of the Code of 

Virginia, it is reasonable and appropriate for the 

Commonwealth Transportation Board to regulate the activities 

that occur on highway rights-of-way under its jurisdiction 

through the land use permit framework. It is also reasonable 

and appropriate for the board to establish rules concerning the 

use of highway rights-of-way. Both of these situations involve 

the safety of the traveling public, cargo carriers, and anyone 

performing work on the highways or adjacent areas, as well as 

the integrity and soundness of the highway network itself. This 

regulation works in complement to the detailed regulations 

concerning land use, access management, and administration 

of facilities such as parking lots, waysides, and rest areas that 

the board has also established. The regulation is therefore 

necessary for the protection of public health, safety, and 

welfare. Additionally, the regulation is clearly written and 

easily understandable. 

The existing regulation serves a necessary purpose and is not 

overly burdensome on the public. The board recommends 

retaining the regulation as is. 

The regulation continues to be necessary for the safety and 

protection of the traveling public and workers performing tasks 

on or near the highways. The board has received no complaints 

concerning this regulation. The regulation is not complex and 

does not duplicate or conflict with other state or federal laws. 

The regulation was last amended in 2009. 

Contact Information: JoAnne P. Maxwell, Agency Regulatory 

Coordinator, Governance and Legislative Affairs Division, 

Department of Transportation, 1401 East Broad Street, 

Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 786-1830. 

Report of Findings 

Pursuant to §§ 2.2-4007.1 and 2.2-4017 of the Code of 

Virginia, the Commonwealth Transportation Board conducted 

a periodic review and a small business impact review of 

24VAC30-50, Rules and Regulations for the 

Administration of Waysides and Rest Areas, and 

determined that this regulation should be retained in its current 

form. The board is publishing its report of findings dated 

March 18, 2021, to support this decision. 

The board believes that this regulation is necessary for the 

protection of public health, safety, and welfare, and is clearly 

written and easily understandable. Safety of the users is 

preserved by prohibiting potentially dangerous conduct at 

waysides and rest areas, such as using threatening language or 

littering. The integrity of the facilities is protected by 

prohibiting conduct, such as disturbing animals and birds or 

posting signs and other advertisements, so that all users may 

have the benefits of the facilities. 

The regulation clearly states prohibited conduct, as well as 

activities that may be performed with permission of the 

Commissioner of the Virginia Department of Transportation. 

The board recommends that the regulation should be retained 

without change. 

This regulation is necessary because state law has specifically 

authorized the board to make regulations at waysides and 

describe topics that may be addressed. Furthermore, without 

written directives concerning their operation, users of these 

facilities would not be aware of prohibited and permitted 

activities. This regulation is not complex and does not overlap, 

duplicate, or conflict with federal or state law or regulation. 

The last time this regulation was subjected to periodic 

regulatory review was in 2013, at which time the board decided 

to retain the regulation without amendment. The board's 

decision regarding this regulation will minimize the economic 

impact on small businesses because this regulation has been in 

existence for decades without change. As a result of the board's 

recommendation to retain this regulation without change, there 

will be no new burdens placed on any small businesses. 

Contact Information: JoAnne P. Maxwell, Agency Regulatory 

Coordinator, Governance and Legislative Affairs Division, 

Department of Transportation, 1401 East Broad Street, 

Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 786-1830. 

Report of Findings 

Pursuant to §§ 2.2-4007.1 and 2.2-4017 of the Code of 

Virginia, the Commonwealth Transportation Board conducted 

a periodic review and a small business impact review of 

24VAC30-100, Rules and Regulations for the 

Administration of Parking Lots and Environs, and 
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determined that this regulation should be retained in its current 

form. The board is publishing its report of findings dated 

March 18, 2021, to support this decision. 

This regulation meets the criteria set out in Executive Order 14 

(as amended, July 16, 2018). The board believes that this 

regulation is necessary for the protection of public health, 

safety, and welfare, and is clearly written and easily 

understandable. Safety of the users is preserved by prohibiting 

potentially dangerous conduct, such as setting fires. The 

integrity of the facilities is protected by prohibiting conduct, 

such as disturbing animals and birds or posting signs and other 

advertisements, so that all users may have the benefits of the 

facilities. The regulation clearly states prohibited conduct, as 

well as activities that may be performed with permission of the 

Commissioner of the Virginia Department of Transportation 

(VDOT). 

The board recommends the regulation be retained without 

making changes. 

There is a continued need for this regulation. Without some 

written directives concerning their operation, users would not 

be aware of prohibited and permitted activities in VDOT 

parking lots. This regulation is not complex and does not 

overlap, duplicate, or conflict with federal or state law or 

regulation. The last time this regulation was subjected to 

periodic regulatory review was in 2013, and the regulation was 

last amended in 2018 when the regulation was amended in 

response to legislation passed by the General Assembly to 

allow mobile food vending in certain areas of the parking lots. 

VDOT's decision to retain this regulation will minimize the 

economic impact on small businesses because the regulation 

will remain in place without change as a result of this periodic 

regulatory review. 

Contact Information: JoAnne P. Maxwell, Agency Regulatory 

Coordinator, Governance and Legislative Affairs Division, 

Department of Transportation, 1401 East Broad Street, 

Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 786-1830. 

Report of Findings 

Pursuant to §§ 2.2-4007.1 and 2.2-4017 of the Code of 

Virginia, the Commonwealth Transportation Board conducted 

a periodic review and a small business impact review of 

24VAC30-130, Rules Governing Prequalification and 

Classification, and determined that this regulation is repealed. 

The board is publishing its report of findings dated March 18, 

2021, to support this decision. 

Although the regulation is clearly written and easily 

understandable, its purpose can be accomplished through other 

means, so it is therefore not necessary for the protection of 

public health, safety, and welfare. 

The board recommends repealing the regulation and 

maintaining the underlying policy as a board policy or 

guidance document. 

Although the regulation is not complex and does not overlap 

or conflict with other law; it is not necessary to be maintained 

as a regulation. The regulation was last reviewed in 2010. 

Contact Information: JoAnne P. Maxwell, Agency Regulatory 

Coordinator, Governance and Legislative Affairs Division, 

Department of Transportation, 1401 East Broad Street, 

Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 786-1830. 

Report of Findings 

Pursuant to §§ 2.2-4007.1 and 2.2-4017 of the Code of 

Virginia, the Commonwealth Transportation Board conducted 

a periodic review and a small business impact review of 

24VAC30-210, Policy on Placing Utilities Underground, 

and determined that this regulation should be repealed. The 

board is publishing its report of findings dated March 11, 2021, 

to support this decision. 

Although the regulation was clearly written and easily 

understandable, it is no longer necessary for the protection of 

public health, safety, and welfare. Future decisions on 

relocation of aerial utility facilities underground in connection 

with highway construction or maintenance projects should be 

made in accordance with the Virginia Department of 

Transportation Utility Manual. 

The Commonwealth Transportation Board recommends repeal 

of the regulation because the statute that set forth the program 

that the regulation governed has been repealed. 

There is no continued need for the regulation. 

Contact Information: JoAnne P. Maxwell, Agency Regulatory 

Coordinator, Governance and Legislative Affairs Division, 

Department of Transportation, 1401 East Broad Street, 

Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 786-1830. 

Report of Findings 

Pursuant to §§ 2.2-4007.1 and 2.2-4017 of the Code of 

Virginia, the Commonwealth Transportation Board conducted 

a periodic review and a small business impact review of 

24VAC30-271, Economic Development Access Fund 

Policy, and determined that this regulation should be repealed. 

The board is publishing its report of findings dated September 

20, 2020, to support this decision. 

Although the regulation is clearly written and easily 

understandable, it is not necessary for the protection of public 

health, safety, and welfare, as it serves the same purpose as a 

guidance document that the board has adopted and that 

provides guidance for any locality that wishes to request 

economic development access funds for a particular project. 

Chapter 378 of the 2021 Acts of Assembly amended § 33.2-

1509 of the Code of Virginia to require the board to establish 

guidelines for the Economic Development Access Fund and 

requires that the guidelines consider the number of jobs that 

will be created by the economic development project, the 
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proposed capital investment by the private sector at the 

economic development site, and any other relevant criteria 

related to the economic development project. 

The functions performed by the regulation are those that are 

adequately performed by the existing Economic Development 

Access Fund guidelines that have been adopted by the 

Commonwealth Transportation Board as a guidance 

document. Therefore, the board is recommending that the 

regulation be repealed but that the guidance document be 

retained and reviewed for modifications necessary to comply 

with the requirements of Chapter 378. 

Although the regulation is not complex and the board has 

received no complaints concerning the regulation, there is no 

continued need for the regulation because the board has 

adopted a guidance document to serve the same purpose in 

providing assistance to localities in requesting funding 

pursuant to § 33.2-1509 of the Code of Virginia. The most 

recent substantive amendment of the regulation was in 2012. 

Contact Information: JoAnne P. Maxwell, Agency Regulatory 

Coordinator, Governance and Legislative Affairs Division, 

Department of Transportation, 1401 East Broad Street, 

Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 786-1830. 

Report of Findings 

Pursuant to §§ 2.2-4007.1 and 2.2-4017 of the Code of 

Virginia, the Commonwealth Transportation Board conducted 

a periodic review and a small business impact review of 

24VAC30-420, Operation and Maintenance of Roads in 

Incorporated Towns Less Than 3,500, and determined that 

this regulation should be repealed. The board is publishing its 

report of findings dated March 25, 2021, to support this 

decision. 

Although the regulation is clearly written and easily 

understandable, its purpose can be accomplished through other 

means, so it is therefore not necessary for the protection of 

public health, safety, and welfare. 

The board recommends repealing the regulation and 

maintaining the underlying policy as a board policy or 

guidance document. 

Although the regulation is not complex and does not overlap 

or conflict with other law, it is not necessary to be maintained 

as a regulation. The regulation was last reviewed in 2010. 

Contact Information: JoAnne P. Maxwell, Agency Regulatory 

Coordinator, Governance and Legislative Affairs Division, 

Department of Transportation, 1401 East Broad Street, 

Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 786-1830. 

Report of Findings 

Pursuant to §§ 2.2-4007.1 and 2.2-4017 of the Code of 

Virginia, the Commonwealth Transportation Board conducted 

a periodic review and a small business impact review of 

24VAC30-430, Maintenance of Roads Crossing the 

Interstate System, and determined that this regulation should 

be repealed. The board is publishing its report of findings dated 

March 31, 2021, to support this decision. 

Although the regulation is clearly written and easily 

understandable, its purpose can be accomplished through other 

means, so it is therefore not necessary for the protection of 

public health, safety, and welfare. 

The board recommends repealing the regulation and 

maintaining the underlying policy as a board policy or 

guidance document. 

Although the regulation is not complex and does not overlap 

or conflict with other law, it is not necessary to be maintained 

as a regulation. The regulation was last reviewed in 2010. 

Contact Information: JoAnne P. Maxwell, Agency Regulatory 

Coordinator, Governance and Legislative Affairs Division, 

Department of Transportation, 1401 East Broad Street, 

Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 786-1830. 
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NOTICES OF INTENDED REGULATORY ACTION 

TITLE 1. ADMINISTRATION 

STATE BOARD OF ELECTIONS 

Notice of Intended Regulatory Action 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 2.2-4007.01 of the 

Code of Virginia that the State Board of Elections intends to 

consider promulgating 1VAC20-90, Campaign Finance and 

Political Advertisements. The purpose of the proposed action 

is to guarantee that disclosure statements on certain political 

print media advertisements are displayed in a conspicuous 

manner and are proportionate to the size of the advertisement. 

The requirements in this proposed amendment are similar to 

federal print media advertisement requirements established by 

the Federal Election Commission under 11 CFR 110.11. 

The agency intends to hold a public hearing on the proposed 

action after publication in the Virginia Register. 

Statutory Authority: § 24.2-103 of the Code of Virginia. 

Public Comment Deadline: September 15, 2021. 

Agency Contact: Ashley Coles, Agency Regulatory 

Coordinator, Department of Elections, Washington Building, 

1100 Bank Street, First Floor, Richmond, VA 23219, 

telephone (804) 864-8933, or email 

ashley.coles@elections.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R21-6850; Filed July 23, 2021, 8:27 a.m. 

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 2. AGRICULTURE 

BOARD OF AGRICULTURE AND CONSUMER 
SERVICES 

Notice of Intended Regulatory Action 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 2.2-4007.01 of the 

Code of Virginia that the Board of Agriculture and Consumer 

Services intends to consider amending 2VAC5-317, 

Regulations for Enforcement of the Noxious Weeds Law. 

The purpose of the proposed action is to add certain weeds to 

the noxious weeds list. The Noxious Weed Advisory 

Committee, which assists in the evaluation and risk-assessment 

of plant species that may be declared noxious weeds and makes 

recommendations to the commissioner regarding plant species 

that should be listed or delisted as noxious weeds, 

recommended that certain weed species be added to the 

noxious weeds list; therefore, the board has determined it is 

now appropriate to consider amending the current list of 

noxious weeds. 

The agency intends to hold a public hearing on the proposed 

action after publication in the Virginia Register. 

Statutory Authority: § 3.2-802 of the Code of Virginia. 

Public Comment Deadline: September 15, 2021. 

Agency Contact: David Gianino, Program Manager, Office of 

Plant Industry Services, Department of Agriculture and 

Consumer Services, P.O. Box 1163, Richmond, VA 23218, 

telephone (804) 786-3515, FAX (804) 371-7793, TDD (800) 

828-1120, or email david.gianino@vdacs.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R21-6889; Filed July 23, 2021, 8:35 a.m. 

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 18. PROFESSIONAL AND 
OCCUPATIONAL LICENSING 

COMMON INTEREST COMMUNITY BOARD 

Notice of Intended Regulatory Action 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 2.2-4007.01 of the 

Code of Virginia that the Common Interest Community Board 

intends to consider amending 18VAC48-50, Common 

Interest Community Manager Regulations. The purpose of 

the proposed action is to review the existing regulation and 

propose any amendments the board determines to be necessary 

and appropriate. The board last undertook a significant review 

and revision of the regulation in 2012, when the regulation was 

amended to establish certification requirements for principal or 

supervisory employees of common interest community 

managers. Since 2012, members of the public, individuals in 

the community management industry, and agency staff have 

identified several areas where the regulation would benefit 

from revision or clarification. A thorough review of the 

regulation is necessary to address these areas, ensure the 

regulation complements current Virginia law, provides 

minimal burdens on regulants while still protecting the public, 

are clearly written and understandable, and reflect current 

procedures and policies of the Department of Professional and 

Occupational Regulation. In addition, the review will be 

conducted in an effort to identify areas for regulatory reduction 

in accordance with Chapters 444 and 445 of the 2018 Acts of 

Assembly. 

The agency intends to hold a public hearing on the proposed 

action after publication in the Virginia Register. 

Statutory Authority: § 54.1-2349 of the Code of Virginia. 

Public Comment Deadline: September 15, 2021. 

Agency Contact: Joseph C. Haughwout, Jr., Board 

Administrator, Common Interest Community Board, 9960 

Mayland Drive, Suite 400, Richmond, VA 23233, telephone 

(804) 367-8510, FAX (866) 490-2723, or email 

cic@dpor.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R21-6830; Filed July 22, 2021, 4:09 p.m. 
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BOARD OF SOCIAL WORK 

Notice of Intended Regulatory Action 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 2.2-4007.01 of the 

Code of Virginia that the Board of Social Work intends to 

consider promulgating 18VAC140-30, Regulations 

Governing the Practice of Music Therapy. The purpose of 

the proposed action is to establish regulations governing the 

practice of music therapy. The requirements for board 

certification offered by the Certification Board for Music 

Therapists will be considered as qualification for licensure as 

a licensed music therapist. The regulation shall (i) set forth the 

educational, clinical training, and examination requirements 

for licensure to practice music therapy; (ii) provide for 

appropriate application and renewal fees; and (iii) include 

requirements for licensure renewal and continuing education. 

The agency intends to hold a public hearing on the proposed 

action after publication in the Virginia Register. 

Statutory Authority: §§ 54.1-3709.1, 54.1-3709.2, and 54.1-

3709.3 of the Code of Virginia. 

Public Comment Deadline: September 15, 2021. 

Agency Contact: Jaime Hoyle, Executive Director, Board of 

Social Work, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, Richmond, VA 

23233, telephone (804) 367-4406, FAX (804) 527-4435, or 

email jaime.hoyle@dhp.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R21-6888; Filed July 22, 2021, 4:10 p.m. 
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REGULATIONS 

TITLE 1. ADMINISTRATION 

DEPARTMENT OF GENERAL SERVICES 

Proposed Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 1VAC30-100. Regulations for Capitol 

Square (adding 1VAC30-100-15 through 1VAC30-100-90; 

repealing 1VAC30-100-10). 

Statutory Authority: § 2.2-1144 of the Code of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: No public hearing is currently 

scheduled. 

Public Comment Deadline: October 15, 2021. 

Agency Contact: Rhonda Bishton, Director's Executive 

Administrative Assistant, Department of General Services, 

1100 Bank Street, Suite 420, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone 

(804) 786-3311, FAX (804) 371-8305, or email 

rhonda.bishton@dgs.virginia.gov. 

Basis: Section 2.2-1144 of the Code of Virginia puts the 

control of Capitol Square public grounds under the direction 

and control of the Governor with the Department of General 

Services, except areas under the control of the legislature. 

Sections 2.2-1102, 2.2-1129, and 2.2-1144 of the Code of 

Virginia are the state legal authorities for the Department of 

General Service to promulgate this regulation. 

Purpose: Virginia's Capitol Square is the Commonwealth's 

executive and legislative center and an architecturally and 

historically significant area located in downtown Richmond. 

The Department of General Services is charged with 

maintaining and operating the historic Capitol Square. Under 

this authority, the department establishes this regulation for use 

of Capitol Square. The Department of General Services 

permits persons, organizations, or groups to use Capitol Square 

grounds for various purposes and events when the use will not 

interfere with or disrupt governmental functions. The purpose 

of this regulation is to establish standards for the use of Capitol 

Square as well as the acceptance, processing, review, and 

disposition of permit applications for events on Capitol Square 

to ensure the health, safety, and welfare of the public; 

coordinate multiple uses of public grounds; preserve public 

spaces; preserve the aesthetic appearance of historic buildings 

and grounds; preserve the rights of individuals to free 

expression; and to protect the Commonwealth from financial 

losses. 

The current regulation for use of Capitol Square was 

promulgated in 1970. The existing regulation contains 

outdated or irrelevant references and does not adequately equip 

the department or law enforcement to ensure the safety of 

participants at events that continue to increase in size and 

frequency. This regulation is being proposed with emphasis on 

ensuring the right to free speech, the safety of participants and 

visitors to Capitol Square, and protecting the buildings and 

grounds at historic Capitol Square. 

Substance: The proposed amendments: 

1. Require a permit for 10 or more people to hold an event on 

Capitol Square or for a government entity to hold a government 

function. 

2. Establish new hours for the operation of Capitol Square, 

from 6 a.m. until 9 p.m. daily. 

3. Outline requirements for an individual or organization to 

obtain a permit for an event on Capitol Square. 

4. Limit permitted events to one at a time. 

5. Outline what information must be included on a permit 

application. 

6. Establish a 45-day application deadline for events that are 

expected to attract over 1,000 people to allow the department 

and law enforcement to coordinate resources. 

7. Establish an exception to permit application deadline for 

spontaneous events. 

8. Require the speaker or programmed activities to be held in 

the Bell Tower event area. 

9. Establish a timeline for the department to act on permit 

requests. 

10. Allow permit applications to be submitted up to 180 days 

in advance. 

11. Establish rules for permitted events. 

12. Outline when the department may deny applications or 

revoke permits. 

13. Establish an appeals process for denied applications. 

Issues: The primary advantage for the public, the agency, and 

other constituents that use or wish to use Capitol Square is the 

adoption of this regulation will set out clear guidelines for all 

and provide additional detail that currently is lacking. 

Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 

Analysis: 

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. The 

Department of General Services (DGS) proposes to update 

regulations governing the events planned at Capitol Square. 

Background. Virginia's Capitol Square is the Commonwealth's 

executive and legislative center and an architecturally and 

historically significant area located in downtown Richmond. 
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DGS, pursuant to § 2.2-1100 et seq., Code of Virginia, is 

charged with maintaining and operating the historic Capitol 

Square. DGS permits persons, organizations, or groups to use 

Capitol Square grounds for various purposes and events when 

the use will not interfere with or disrupt governmental 

functions. 

DGS relates that the purpose of the regulation is to: establish 

standards for the use of Capitol Square, as well as the 

acceptance, processing, review, and disposition of permit 

applications for events on Capitol Square to ensure the health, 

safety, and welfare of the public; coordinate multiple uses of 

public grounds; preserve public spaces; preserve and protect 

the aesthetic appearance of historic buildings and grounds; 

preserve the rights of individuals to free expression; and to 

protect the Commonwealth from financial losses. 

According to DGS the current regulation has not been updated 

since 1970. As a result, the language is outdated and not 

inclusive of all present-day situations and circumstances, 

contains outdated or irrelevant references, and does not 

adequately equip DGS or law enforcement to ensure the safety 

of participants at events that continue to increase in size and 

frequency. 

Estimated Benefits and Costs. The proposed amendments mainly 

clarify language and update references. However, there are a few 

proposed changes that would depart from current practices. One 

of those changes would add an exemption to the requirement to 

obtain a permit when a gathering has fewer than 10 persons. 

Currently, there is no such exemption. Under the proposed 

amendments, an event requiring a permit "means the assemblage 

on Capitol Square of ten (10) or more persons for any 

demonstration, rally, march, performance, picketing, 

speechmaking, holding of vigils, sit-ins, or other activities that 

involve the communication or expression of views or ideas having 

the effect, intent, or propensity to draw a crowd or onlookers." 

Another proposed change would extend the permit approval 

review time to 45 days for events involving more than 1,000 

people. Currently, all events regardless of size are required to 

submit an application six days prior to the event. However, 

DGS notes that all large event applications so far have been 

received well in advance of the six days stated in the 

regulation. DGS states that six days to arrange a large event is 

"extremely difficult" as they require better preparation and 

coordination among different entities. For example, law 

enforcement must be notified and be allowed enough time to 

staff the event, Richmond ambulance authority needs time to 

arrange for medics at the event, the City of Richmond must be 

allowed enough time to accommodate road closures, arrange 

for parking, sidewalks, and pedestrian crossings, contractors 

must be allowed enough time to set up portable toilets, stages, 

water stations etc. DGS expects that the proposed submittal of 

an application prior to 45 days in advance of a large event 

would allow sufficient time for proper preparation. 

The amendments would also allow a process for obtaining a 

permit where the six-day or 45-day submission timeframe 

requirements may be waived if applicant shows, in clear and 

descriptive writing, why the circumstances giving rise to the 

proposed event did not reasonably allow the applicant to apply 

for a permit under the usual application deadlines. 

DGS also proposes to require applicants for small events to use 

DGS provided sound equipment. The purpose of this change is 

to better control the volume and operation of the equipment 

during the hours permitted. 

This action also contains express language that marches are 

allowed and the Capitol Square is available for permitted 

events from 6 a.m. to 9 p.m. in addition to the current language 

stating "sunrise to sunset daily." 

The review for the economic impact did not reveal any 

significant monetary costs or benefits implied by the proposed 

amendments. The main impact appears to be improved clarity 

and preparation for and coordination of the planned events as 

intended. 

Businesses and Other Entities Affected. This regulation applies 

to events at the Capitol Square involving more than 10 persons. 

There were 66 permits issued in 2019 and 71 in 2020. Five of 

these events in 2019 and two in 2020 involved fewer than 10 

persons (primarily weddings and other ceremonial events), 

which would be exempt under the proposed changes. Two 

events in 2019 and six in 2020 involved more than 1,000 

persons and would require submittal of an application 45 days 

prior to the event under the proposed changes. Although 

applications for large events would be submitted earlier under 

the proposal, this is expected to benefit also the event itself in 

terms of better preparation and coordination. In cases where 45 

days would be too onerous such as protest soon after an 

occurrence, there is an allowance for an exception. Thus, an 

adverse economic impact1 on event applicants is not indicated. 

Small Businesses2 Affected. The proposed amendments do not 

appear to adversely affect small businesses. 

Localities3 Affected.4 The proposed amendments could help 

the City of Richmond better prepare for events in terms of road 

closures and arrangements for sidewalks, crosswalks, parking 

etc. The proposed amendments do not introduce costs for 

localities including the City of Richmond. 

Projected Impact on Employment. The proposed amendments 

do not appear to affect total employment. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. The proposed 

changes may have a positive impact on the use of private 

property around the Capital Square due to the likelihood of 

improved preparation and coordination of large events. No 

significant impact on the value of private property or real estate 

development costs is expected. 

________________________________________ 
1Adverse impact is indicated if there is any increase in net cost or reduction in 

net revenue for any entity, even if the benefits exceed the costs for all entities 

combined. 
2Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.04 of the Code of Virginia, small business is defined 

as "a business entity, including its affiliates, that (i) is independently owned 
and operated and (ii) employs fewer than 500 full-time employees or has gross 

annual sales of less than $6 million." 
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3"Locality" can refer to either local governments or the locations in the 

Commonwealth where the activities relevant to the regulatory change are most 

likely to occur. 
4§ 2.2-4007.04 defines "particularly affected" as bearing disproportionate 

material impact. 

Agency's Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The 

Department of General Services (DGS) concurs with the 

economic impact analysis, however wishes to express the 

following exceptions: (i) on page 3, first paragraph the 

statement Capitol Square is available for permitted events from 

6 a.m. to 9 p.m. in addition to the current language stating 

"sunrise to sunset daily." and (ii) DGS only addresses the 

public hours of Capitol Square in 1VAC30-100-30 C. DGS 

does not address permitted events hours in the regulation. 

Summary: 

The proposed amendments establish standards for the use 

of Capitol Square, including (i) acceptance, processing, 

review, and disposition of permit applications for events on 

Capitol Square; (ii) requirements for when a permit is 

necessary for use of Capitol Square, how to obtain a permit, 

deadlines for submitting permit applications, and permittee 

responsibilities; (iii) a department website address where 

rules for permitted events are available; and (iv) timelines 

for the department to act on permit applications, conditions 

upon which the department can deny an application or 

revoke a permit, and an appeals process for denied 

applications. 

1VAC30-100-10. Regulations for Capitol Square. 

(Repealed.) 

A. The Capitol Square shall be closed to the public from 11 

p.m. each night until 6 a.m. the following morning, except for 

persons attending sessions of the General Assembly, public 

hearings which have not been concluded by 11 p.m. or an 

official function or program which has not adjourned by 11 

p.m., and persons referred to in subsection B.  

B. There shall be no parking of motor vehicles in the Capitol 

Square after 6 p.m. each evening until 6 a.m. the following 

morning, except for official motor vehicles, motor vehicles 

operated by a guest of the Governor, motor vehicles of 

members of the General Assembly, motor vehicles of 

employees of the Commonwealth on official business or motor 

vehicles bearing the official permit of the Division of 

Engineering and Buildings. During the months when daylight 

saving time is in effect, the Capitol Police may permit daylight 

parking after 6 p.m. for short periods of time to accommodate 

visitors and tourists. Parking in Capitol Square between the 

hours of 6 a.m. and 6 p.m. shall be limited to those employees 

of the Commonwealth who are assigned spaces, members of 

the General Assembly, those on official business, and visitors 

to the Capitol Building insofar as available parking will allow 

at the time in the judgment of the Capitol Police.  

C. No parades, processions, assemblages or the displaying of 

flags, banners, or devices designed or adapted to bring into 

public notice any party, organization, or movement shall be 

permitted within Capitol Square except as provided herein.  

D. With the approval of the Governor, the prohibitions set 

forth in subsection C may be suspended by the Director of the 

Division of Engineering and Buildings to permit meetings, 

gatherings, or assemblages if, in his discretion, the general 

enjoyment and use of the Capitol Square is not impaired, if 

freedom of movement of the public is not disrupted, and if the 

welfare, health, and safety of tourists, visitors, and persons 

performing various duties on the premises or traveling thereon 

are not endangered.  

E. Requests for permits for assemblages, meetings, or 

functions by historical, partiotic, or other private groups must 

be in writing, must be submitted to the Director of the Division 

of Engineering and Buildings at least six days prior to the 

requested date, and must contain the following information:  

1. Name of organization, date of origin, status (corporation, 

unincorporated association, partnership, nonprofit 

corporation, etc.) and name and address of registered agent, 

if a corporation.  

2. Name, title within the organization, permanent address, 

occupation, and telephone number of the individual member 

who shall be responsible for the conduct of the meeting or 

function.  

3. Statement as to the approximate number of members and 

other persons who will attend.  

4. Date and specific period of time requested (from.....to.....).  

5. Purpose of meeting or function, to include names and 

titles of speakers, if any.  

F. Except for official functions of the Commonwealth of 

Virginia, the vehicular drives within Capitol Square must 

remain open at all times and the pedestrian walk-ways must 

afford reasonable movement of pedestrians at all times.  

G. All nonstate sponsored events, without exception, will be 

conducted at the Bell Tower.  

H. All authorized functions are expected to be concluded 

within approximately one hour and during a time of day that 

will not interfere with major pedestrian and vehicular traffic 

within Capitol Square, with periods such as the beginning of 

the workday, the noon hour, and the close of the workday being 

avoided.  

I. Requests for meetings or functions of organizations may be 

denied if, after proper inquiry, the Director of the Division of 

Engineering and Buildings shall determine that the proposed 

speech (or speeches) or demonstrations will constitute a clear 

and present danger to the orderly processes of state government 

and use of the Capitol grounds by the public as set forth 

because of the advocacy of: (i) the violent overthrow of the 

government of the United States, the Commonwealth of 

Virginia, or any political subdivision thereof; or (ii) the willful 

damage or destruction, or seizure and subversion, of state 

buildings or other property; or (iii) the forcible disruption or 

impairment of or interference with the regularly scheduled 
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functions of the Commonwealth; or (iv) the physical harm, 

coercion, intimidation or other invasion of lawful rights of 

officials of the Commonwealth or members of the public; or 

(v) other disorders of a violent nature.  

J. The Director of the Division of Engineering and Buildings 

may refuse authorization for the use of Capitol Square, if he 

has reason to believe that the organization requesting a permit 

is organized, functioning, or conducting business in violation 

of Virginia law.  

K. Authorization for the use of Capitol Square will be set 

forth in a letter addressed to the individual named in subsection 

E 2. Such authorization will automatically include all sections 

set forth above, together with any other specific stipulations or 

procedures that may be necessary at that time.  

L. Violations of this chapter may result in immediate 

revocation of the permit by the Director of the Division of 

Engineering and Buildings or his duly appointed 

representative, and in the event such revocation occurs, all 

participants shall be required by the Capitol Police to leave the 

Capitol Square area forthwith.  

1VAC30-100-15. Purpose.  

A. Virginia's Capitol Square is the Commonwealth's 

executive and legislative center and an architecturally and 

historically significant area located in downtown Richmond. 

The Department of General Services, pursuant to Chapter 11 

(§ 2.2-1100 et seq.) of Title 2.2 of the Code of Virginia, is 

charged with maintaining and operating the historic Capitol 

Square. Under this authority, the department establishes this 

regulation for use of Capitol Square. 

B. The Department of General Services permits persons, 

organizations, or groups to use Capitol Square grounds for 

various purposes and events when the use will not interfere 

with or disrupt governmental functions. The purpose of this 

regulation is to establish standards for the use of Capitol 

Square as well as the acceptance, processing, review, and 

disposition of permit applications for events on Capitol Square 

to ensure the health, safety, and welfare of the public; 

coordinate multiple uses of public grounds; preserve public 

spaces; preserve the aesthetic appearance of historic buildings 

and grounds; preserve the rights of individuals to free 

expression; and protect the Commonwealth from financial 

losses.  

1VAC30-100-20. Definitions.  

The following words and terms when used in this chapter, 

shall have the following meanings unless the context clearly 

indicates otherwise: 

"Capitol Police" means the Division of Capitol Police. 

"Capitol Square" means the historic grounds and structures 

surrounding the Virginia Capitol that are bound by a decorative 

iron fence designed by Sabbaton in 1818. 

"Commercial activity" means any activity or action 

undertaken by one or more business entities or individuals, 

whose purpose in whole or in part, directly or indirectly, is to 

derive or realize a present or future financial gain for the 

individuals or business entities. 

"Department" means the Department of General Services.  

"Director" means the Director of the Department of General 

Services. 

"Event" means the assemblage on Capitol Square of 10 or 

more persons for any demonstration, rally, march, 

performance, picketing, speechmaking, holding of vigils, sit-

ins, or other activities that involve the communication or 

expression of views or ideas having the effect, intent, or 

propensity to draw a crowd or onlookers. "Event" does not 

include casual use of Capitol Square by visitors or tourists.  

"Government function" means a function sponsored by a 

Commonwealth of Virginia government entity in support of 

the agency's mission.  

"Permit" means a written authorization from the department 

allowing use of Capitol Square as set forth in the permit. A 

permit serves as a reservation to use a portion of Capitol Square 

with the priority for use set forth in this chapter.  

"Permit area" means the area adjacent to the Bell Tower 

where an event speaker or an event programmed activities must 

be located.  

"Permittee" means the individual, group, or entity identified 

in the permit as the holder of the permit. 

1VAC30-100-30. General regulation requirements.  

A. All events scheduled on Capitol Square must be permitted 

through the department. An Application for Use of Capitol 

Square form must be completed and the application and the 

Rules of Capitol Square must be signed by the individual who 

will be the permittee. For government functions on Capitol 

Square, the government entity must complete and submit an 

Agency Application for Use of Capitol Square to the 

department for approval. The application for each type of event 

can be found at https://dgs.virginia.gov. 

B. Rules for the use of Capitol Square can be found on the 

department's website at https://dgs.virginia.gov.  

C. Capitol Square shall be closed to the public from 9 p.m. 

until 6 a.m. daily, except for the conduct of official 

Commonwealth business. Capitol Square may be closed at any 

time for inclement weather or other necessity, or to protect the 

public from health or safety hazards, in the determination of 

the Governor or department. The Division of Capitol Police 

may close Capitol Square temporarily for law-enforcement 

purposes. The Chief of Police shall immediately notify the 

director or the director's designee if the Capitol Police close 

Capitol Square.  

D. Capitol Square is primarily for the operation and function 

of government and nothing will be permitted that would 

interfere with those functions.  

E. No activities will be permitted that will harm or destroy the 

natural, horticultural, or architectural beauty of or that will 

harm the physical condition or safety of Capitol Square or 

https://dgs.virginia.gov/
https://dgs.virginia.gov/
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structures on Capitol Square, including the surrounding 

historic fence. 

F. No activities will be permitted that violate Virginia or 

federal law or threaten the health, safety, or welfare of persons 

on Capitol Square.  

G. Commercial activities are not permitted on Capitol Square. 

H. An event is not considered approved until the department 

has issued a permit. 

1VAC30-100-40. Permittee responsibilities.  

A. The permittee and alternate contact for the permit shall be 

at least 18 years of age. 

B. The permittee shall indemnify the Commonwealth of 

Virginia against any loss or damage that may occur in 

connection with the permittee's use of and presence at the 

property. 

C. A permittee shall be required to notify the department of 

any changes to the information contained in the permit 

application as soon as practicable. 

D. A permittee should identify an alternate contact in the 

Application for Use of Capitol Square, and either the permittee 

or alternate contact person must be present during the entire 

activity, including setup and takedown of the event. The permit 

and any authorizations will be suspended if these requirements 

are not met. 

E. A permittee must work directly with the designated 

department coordinator and the Capitol Police regarding setup, 

access, security, logistics, and all other aspects of the planned 

event. An in-person pre-meeting may be required by the 

department to discuss the details of the requested event. 

F. A permittee is responsible for returning the areas used in 

conducting its event to their original condition, including 

removal of any materials and debris connected to the event. 

Any costs incurred by the department to restore the area to its 

original condition will be charged to the permittee. 

G. A permittee shall comply with all federal and Virginia 

laws, and this chapter. 

H. The permittee agrees to notify law enforcement if any 

unlawful activities occur during the permitted event. For 

emergencies, the permittee shall call 911 and the Capitol Police 

emergency number at (804) 786-4357. For nonemergencies, 

the permittee shall call (804) 786-2568. 

1VAC30-100-50. Permit process.  

A. The Governor will have priority over use of Capitol 

Square. 

B. The department may not issue permits for any event in 

Capitol Square coinciding or conflicting with inaugural events, 

including activities associated with inauguration. 

C. Requests for permits generally will be considered on a 

first-come, first-served basis.  

D. Capitol Square is available for permitted events from 

sunrise to sunset daily, subject to the restrictions of 1VAC30-

100-30 C.  

E. Permitted events may last a maximum of one hour, with an 

additional 30 minutes to set up the event and 30 minutes to take 

it down. 

F. No more than one event will be scheduled for the same 

time on the same day. This includes permitted setup and 

takedown time.  

G. Application for a permit shall be made in writing on an 

Application for Use of Capitol Square and submitted to the 

department at least six days prior to the planned event when 

the expected attendance is less than 1,000 individuals. 

Application for events when expected attendance is more than 

1,000 individuals shall be submitted 45 days in advance, except 

as specified in subsection I of this section. 

H. An application for an event must contain, at a minimum, 

the following information:  

1. Type and purpose of event, meeting, or function. 

2. Name, address, telephone number, and email address of 

permittee.  

3. Name, address, telephone number, and email address of 

alternate contact.  

4. Name of organization, date of origin, status (e.g., 

corporation, unincorporated association, partnership, or 

nonprofit corporation) and name, address, and telephone 

number, and email address of registered agent if the 

permittee is a corporation or other business entity.  

5. Approximate number of people who will attend the event.  

6. Requested date and time of the event.  

7. Whether the event is being advertised or promoted to the 

general public.  

8. Transportation plan for attendees.  

9. Waste management plan.  

10. Whether the department's sound equipment will be 

needed.  

I. An applicant may request as part of the application an 

exception to the six-day or 45-day requirements by providing 

written explanation of the reason such exception should be 

granted by the department, provided:  

1. The applicant submits a completed permit application in 

accordance with this chapter;  

2. The applicant shows in clear and descriptive writing, why 

the circumstances giving rise to the proposed event did not 

reasonably allow the applicant to apply for a permit in 

compliance with the time requirements; and  

3. The event has not been planned for more than six days in 

advance of the proposed date of the event for those with 

fewer than 1,000 attendees or more than 45 days for events 

with more than 1,000 attendees. 
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J. The speaker and programmed activities for any permitted 

event must be located within the permit area. 

K. Applications for permits may be submitted up to 180 days 

in advance of the date of the proposed event. The department 

will deny permit applications submitted more than 180 days in 

advance of the date of the proposed event.  

L. Generally, permit requests will be granted or denied within 

five business days. Permit requests for events that are likely to 

require additional department or law enforcement resources 

may take longer to review.  

M. The permit and the rights thereunder are nontransferable 

and may not be assigned to a third party. 

N. Events should not be announced, promoted, or advertised 

until the applicant receives a permit.  

O. Permit applications, issued permits, and supporting 

documentation are subject to release under Virginia's Freedom 

of Information Act (§ 2.2-3700 et seq. of the Code of Virginia). 

P. All permitted activities on Capitol Square must strictly 

adhere to the times as scheduled to ensure that the activities 

will not conflict with other scheduled and permitted activities.  

Q. The department reserves the right to limit the use of 

Capitol Square at any time due to unforeseen operational 

circumstances, including to emergency maintenance or urgent 

public health or security concerns. Every reasonable effort will 

be made to alleviate the effects of any such limitation.  

R. The department may cancel a scheduled event if the 

location is required for an official government function. In 

such cases, the department will notify the contact person as 

soon as possible, and every reasonable effort will be made to 

allow for rescheduling the event.  

1VAC30-100-60. Permitted events.  

A. All activities shall be performed in compliance with this 

chapter, as well as any federal or Virginia laws. Unlawful 

activity is prohibited.  

B. At no time shall any entrance or exit of any building be 

obstructed in such a way as to impede free access to or from 

the building by its occupants or the public.  

C. No banners, flags, posters, or other objects shall be placed 

on or affixed to Capitol Square grounds or structures.  

D. All event items and materials are to be removed upon 

conclusion of the event. All areas must be returned to their pre-

event condition.  

E. Props, equipment, and other moveable materials that do not 

require power to be used in connection with the event are 

allowed provided that prior notice is given on the application 

and the size, location, and structure of the items conforms to 

the reasonable conditions, limitations, and restrictions 

provided for by the department. The permittee shall bear all 

risk related to the use of any such props, equipment, and other 

moveable materials.  

F. The department reserves the right at all times to 

immediately remove or cause to be removed any and all items 

of display it determines would damage government property, 

inhibit movement, or raise safety issues of the government 

property, attendees, or the public.  

G. Items or props used for the event may not impede normal 

business operations or create safety concerns.  

H. Due to the presence of underground utilities, irrigation, 

and other lines, nothing shall be driven into the ground or 

placed on the grounds anywhere without the location and 

method of placement approved in advance and in writing by 

the department.  

I. Temporary structures of any kind may not be erected on 

Capitol Square. This includes tents, cabanas, canopies, stages, 

and all other types of covered or enclosed structures, as well as 

tables, stages, projectors, screens, or other structures. 

J. The director reserves the right to require that special 

facilities, such as portable toilet facilities, be provided at the 

permittee's expense.  

K. Sound amplification is permitted; however, the sound must 

not disrupt the orderly business of government bodies and 

agencies located on Capitol Square or unreasonably disturb 

other persons who are visiting Capitol Square. For events with 

fewer than 1,000 attendees, the department, at permittee's 

request, will provide a microphone, podium, and speaker for 

use during the event. All other electric sound amplification 

equipment is prohibited for events with fewer than 1,000 

attendees. For events with more than 1,000 attendees, the 

department will consider the use of amplification equipment 

provided by the permittee. If the department approves use of 

amplification equipment provided by the permittee, the 

department will supply power.  

The permittee shall bear all risk related to the use of any such 

amplification equipment provided by the permittee. 

L. Use of sound systems will be discontinued after the 

permitted event time limit expires.  

M. If the permittee desires to use available department-

provided sound amplification equipment, the equipment will 

be set up by department staff and this setup will not be moved 

or altered by the permittee or other event attendees without the 

express permission of the department.  

N. Activities that create loud or unusual noise or are 

disruptive to the performance of official duties or delivery of 

services may be denied, ceased, or interrupted by the 

department or Capitol Police. 

O. Permittees shall not offer any item for sale, solicit money 

or items of value, or display any form of advertising on Capitol 

Square.  

P. Marches may be permitted into and out of Capitol Square 

provided the march does not disrupt the orderly business of 

government or impede the access by others visiting the grounds 

or buildings of Capitol Square.  
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1VAC30-100-70. Denials and revocations.  

A. The department may deny a request for a permit or revoke a 

permit before or during an event upon determination of the 

director or the director's designee that any of the following 

conditions has occurred:  

1. A completed application for an event at the same time 

already has been received from another applicant, and a permit 

has been or will be granted for the event. In such a case, an 

alternate date or time, if available, will be proposed.  

2. Incomplete information, false statements, or 

misrepresentation have been made on the permit application.  

3. Fraud was committed or misrepresentation made in obtaining 

the permit.  

4. The permittee or the alternate contact persons are not present 

for the duration of the event, including during setup and 

takedown times.  

5. The conduct of either the permittee or persons attending the 

event involves a violation of the permit, this chapter, or 

Virginia or federal law. 

6. The number of persons engaged in the event exceeds the 

number of permitted attendees or cannot be safely 

accommodated.  

7. The permittee twice (i) violated the terms of prior permits 

issued to the permittee or (ii) violated applicable law while 

applying for or using a prior permit. In such instances, the 

permittee is banned from obtaining a permit for 18 months from 

the date of the most recent violation.  

8. The Governor's Office will be using all or part of the permit 

area during all or part of the requested time.  

9.The Senate of Virginia or the Virginia House of Delegates 

will be using all or part of the permit area during all or part of 

the requested time for a government function.  

10. The permit applicant has not certified that the applicant will 

comply with this chapter or applicable law.  

11. The permit application is not submitted within the required 

timeframes of six or 45 days, depending on the number of 

planned attendees, or the application submitted does not justify 

an exception to the time requirements. 

12. The permit application was submitted more than 180 days 

in advance of the proposed event.  

13. The requested use would cause a clear and present danger 

to the orderly functions of Commonwealth of Virginia 

government or to the use of Capitol Square due to:  

a. Advocacy of the imminent violent overthrow of 

government of the United States or the government of the 

Commonwealth of Virginia or any political subdivision 

thereof; 

b. The willful damage or destruction or seizure and 

subversion of public property;  

c. The forcible disruption or impairment of or interference 

with the regularly scheduled functions of the Commonwealth 

of Virginia; 

d. Causing harm to or violating the lawful rights of any 

person; or  

e. Other disorders of a violent nature.  

B. Prior to commencement of the permitted event, the 

department finds it necessary to revoke the permit due to 

previously unknown circumstances.  

C. During an event, the Capitol Police may require 

discontinuation of the event if activity presents a clear and present 

danger to public safety, good order, or health or for any violation 

of applicable statutes, regulations, rules, or policies.  

1VAC30-100-80. Appeals.  

A. This section and the appeal procedures set forth herein shall 

apply only in cases when a timely and complete permit application 

was filed in accordance with this chapter, and the permit was 

denied. No appeal shall be available if a timely and complete 

permit application was not filed. 

B. If an application is denied, the applicant will be informed in 

writing of any reason for the denial and will be advised that the 

denial may be appealed by written request to the director 

submitted within five business days of receipt of notice of such 

denial. The director may reverse, affirm, or modify the original 

determination. The director's written determination on the appeal 

shall be provided no later than 24 hours prior to the requested 

event time, provided it is received by the department at least 48 

hours prior to the requested time. 

C. The appeal shall include the name, address, and contact 

information of the applicant; a concise statement of the reason the 

appeal should be granted; and a description of the event for which 

the permit is sought. 

1VAC30-100-90. Violations.  

Violations of this chapter or of any other provision of Virginia 

or federal law shall result in the immediate revocation of the 

permit by the department or discontinuation of the event by the 

department or Capitol Police. In the event such revocation or 

discontinuation occurs, all participants shall immediately leave 

Capitol Square. Remaining in Capitol Square after proper notice 

that the permit has been revoked or the event discontinued shall 

be considered trespass in violation of § 18.2-119 of the Code of 

Virginia.  

NOTICE: The following forms used in administering the regulation 

have been filed by the agency. Amended or added forms are reflected 

in the listing and are published following the listing. Online users of 

this issue of the Virginia Register of Regulations may also click on 

the name to access a form. The forms are also available from the 

agency contact or may be viewed at the Office of Registrar of 

Regulations, 900 East Main Street, 11th Floor, Richmond, Virginia 

23219. 

FORMS (1VAC30-100) 

Official Application for Use of Capitol Square Grounds. 

Request to Hold an Event at the Bell Tower (submitted 8/2021) 

Agency Application for Use of Capitol Square (submitted 8/2021) 

VA.R. Doc. No. R21-6493; Filed July 22, 2021, 4:07 p.m. 

  ––––––––––––––––––  

https://dgs.virginia.gov/division-of-real-estate-and-facilities-management/deb-notices/special-event-permitting2/bell-tower2/
https://dgs.virginia.gov/division-of-real-estate-and-facilities-management/deb-notices/special-event-permitting2/bell-tower2/
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TITLE 4. CONSERVATION AND NATURAL 
RESOURCES 

BOARD OF WILDLIFE RESOURCES 

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Board of Wildlife Resources is 

claiming an exemption from the Administrative Process Act 

pursuant to § 2.2-4002 A 3 of the Code of Virginia when 

promulgating regulations regarding the management of 

wildlife. 

Title of Regulation: 4VAC15-35. Bird: Incidental Take of 

Bird Species (adding 4VAC15-35-10 through 4VAC15-35-

100). 

Statutory Authority: §§ 29.1-103, 29.1-501, and 29.1-502 of 

the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: August 1, 2021. 

Agency Contact: Aaron Proctor, Regulations Coordinator, 

Department of Wildlife Resources, 7870 Villa Park Drive, 

Suite 400, Henrico, VA 23228, telephone (804) 367-8341, or 

email aaron.proctor@dwr.virginia.gov. 

Summary:  

The new regulation addresses the incidental take of 

migratory birds and includes (i) setting types of, 

requirements for, and procedure for acquiring, including 

for denial and appeal of denial, a permit to take migratory 

birds; (ii) exempting certain activities, including 

silvicultural and agricultural activities, residential 

construction, and certain emergency actions from 

requiring a permit; and (iii) setting standards of permits 

and enforcement of this chapter. 

Chapter 35 

[ Bird Birds ]: Incidental Take of Bird Species 

4VAC15-35-10. Purpose.  

The purpose of this chapter is to: 

1. Regulate the incidental take of regulated bird species and 

habitats in the context of the board's oversight authorities 

described in § 29.1-501 A of the Code of Virginia and the 

department's conservation and management authorities 

described in § 29.1-521 A 2 and A 10 of the Code of Virginia 

by establishing a regulatory framework for the 

administration, implementation, and enforcement of an 

incidental take permitting program; 

2. Provide ample protections to regulated bird species and 

habitats while authorizing take that may occur incidental to 

regulated activities through the issuance of a general permit 

or an individual incidental take permit that stipulates best 

management practices with the intended purpose of 

avoiding, minimizing, or compensating incidental take; and 

3. Delineate the procedures and requirements to be followed 

in connection with permits issued by the department, while 

providing flexibility for innovative solutions that avoid, 

minimize, or compensate incidental take of regulated bird 

species and habitats when such authorization meets the 

criteria of this chapter. 

4VAC15-35-20. Definitions.  

The following words and terms when used in this chapter 

shall have the following meanings unless the context clearly 

indicates otherwise: 

"Active nest" means any nest structure of a regulated bird 

species that contains one or more viable eggs incubated by 

attendant adults or live dependent young. 

"Applicant" means a person who is seeking or has obtained 

an individual incidental take permit or general permit through 

the department in accordance with procedures established in 

this chapter. 

"Best management practice" refers to structural or 

nonstructural measures designed to avoid or minimize the 

incidental take of regulated bird species or habitats that may 

result from regulated activities during the construction and 

operational phases of the project. 

"Biologically significant avian habitat" means an area within 

public or private conservation lands and waters, including 

national wildlife refuges; national parks or seashores; national 

forests; national recreation areas; state wildlife management 

areas; state parks; state natural areas and preserves; state 

recreation areas; lands owned or under easement by 

conservation organizations; lands and waters that have been 

designated as biologically important, such as Coastal Avian 

Protection Zones, Important Bird Areas, and Marine 

Sanctuaries; and other lands and waters that encompass unique 

features deemed biologically important to regulated bird 

species by the department. 

"Board" means the Board of Wildlife Resources. 

"Compensation" means achieving no net loss of regulated 

habitats through restoration, creation, enhancement, or, in 

certain circumstances, out-of-kind measures for the purposes 

of offsetting incidental take of regulated bird species or 

habitats that remain after all appropriate and practicable 

avoidance and minimization has been considered or achieved. 

Where permissible, appropriate compensation will be set forth 

in individual take permits or other board regulation or 

guidance. There will be no compensation required under 

general permits. 

"Department" means the Department of Wildlife Resources. 

"General avian habitat" means lands and waters that are not 

classified as "biologically significant avian habitat" but 

nonetheless require evaluation using methods developed by the 
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department to determine their biological value to regulated bird 

species. 

"Incidental take" means any take of a regulated bird species 

that is incidental to, but not the purpose of, a regulated activity. 

"Person" means any individual, non-federal government 

entity, firm, corporation, association, partnership, club, or 

private body. 

"Regulated activity" or "activity" means a new construction 

or development activity or the expansion of an activity beyond 

the original or existing footprint of the activity for which the 

board has adopted a sector-specific plan. 

"Regulated bird species" means any migratory bird species, 

or any active nest, or egg thereof, regulated by the federal 

Migratory Bird Treaty Act (16 USC §703 et seq.) or its 

attendant regulations, excluding any bird species listed as 

endangered or threatened pursuant to 4VAC15-20-130. 

"Regulated habitat" means biologically significant avian 

habitat or general avian habitat that is in an area subject to a 

sector-specific plan, an avian conservation and mitigation plan, 

or an individual incidental take permit. 

"Sector-specific plan" means a framework adopted by 

regulation of the board that defines what activities will require 

a permit from the department for incidental take of regulated 

bird species and outlines the criteria for obtaining such a 

permit, such as specific best management practices, schedules, 

or criteria for avoiding or minimizing incidental take and 

circumstances in which project bundling may be applicable. 

"Take" means to harass, harm, pursue, hunt, shoot, wound, 

kill, capture, trap, collect, possess, destroy, disturb, or to 

attempt to engage in any such conduct or any activity that 

significantly or permanently impedes breeding, foraging, 

resting, or other normal avian behaviors conducted during the 

annual life cycle, obstructs the use of or destroys or degrades 

regulated habitats, or reduces reproductive success or survival 

rates of regulated bird species. 

4VAC15-35-30. Requirement for a permit.  

Except as provided in this chapter, it shall be unlawful for any 

person to conduct a regulated activity that results or will result 

in incidental take of a regulated bird species or regulated 

habitat without obtaining and complying with a permit from 

the department. However, no permit shall be necessary for 

incidental take of regulated bird species or habitats unless the 

board has adopted a sector-specific plan requiring such permit. 

The board may adopt sector-specific plans for any of the 

following categories: 

1. Commercial projects, including new construction or 

expansion: 

a. Retail stores or malls; 

b. Restaurants; 

c. Lodging facilities; 

d. Office buildings outside of an existing commercial 

park; 

e. Commercial parks; 

f. Medical facilities, including nursing homes, 

rehabilitation and convalescence centers; 

g. Sports facilities; or 

h. Other large-scale nonindustrial structures and facilities 

planned for commerce, health care, hospitality services, 

government use, or other business use. 

2. Industrial projects, including new construction or 

expansion: 

a. Industrial manufacturing buildings outside of an 

existing industrial park; 

b. Industrial parks; 

c. Sewage treatment plants; 

d. Government facilities, such as warehouses and 

laboratories; 

e. Power generation plants; or 

f. Other large-scale noncommercial public, private, or 

governmental structures or facilities that directly engage 

in or are connected to the handling, storage, 

manufacturing, maintenance, treatment, or disposal of 

materials, products, goods, commodities, or hazardous 

waste. 

3. Oil, gas, and wastewater disposal pits. 

4. Methane or other gas burner pipes. 

5. Communications towers. 

6. Electric transmission and distribution lines. 

7. Wind and solar energy projects. 

8. Transportation projects. 

4VAC15-35-40. Activities occurring before adoption of 

sector-specific plan.  

No permit shall be necessary for any regulated activity that is 

actively under construction, has received all necessary permits 

and approvals but construction has not commenced or that has 

provided evidence of other contractual obligations that may be 

described in the appropriate sector-specific plan on or before 

the effective date of a sector-specific plan that would otherwise 

apply to that regulated activity. Upon request, the department 

may review the circumstances of a project and provide a letter 

stating that no permit is necessary to any person conducting 

such an activity. 

4VAC15-35-50. Applicability of other laws or regulations.  

Nothing in this section shall be interpreted to excuse 

compliance with the prohibitions, provisions or requirements 

of any other federal, state, or local laws, regulations, or 

ordinances, including the Virginia Endangered Species Act 
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(§ 29.1-563 et seq. of the Code of Virginia); the federal 

Migratory Bird Treaty Act (16 USC § 703 et seq.), the federal 

Bald and Golden Eagle Protection Act (16 USC § 668 et seq.), 

and the federal Endangered Species Act (16 USC § 1531 et 

seq.). 

4VAC15-35-60. Exemptions.  

The following activities are exempt from the permitting 

requirements of this chapter. Any incidental take associated 

with these activities will not be considered a violation of this 

section: 

1. Activities that are not defined as "regulated activities"; 

2. Agricultural and silvicultural activities; 

3. Residential construction activities; and 

4. Regulated activities performed under emergency 

situations, including activities necessary to restore essential 

services, protect human health, address a public safety issue, 

or prevent imminent damage to property. 

4VAC15-35-70. Permits.  

The following permits authorize incidental take resulting 

from regulated activities: 

1. General permit. 

a. The board may, by regulation, adopt a sector-specific 

plan that provides the framework for general permits 

issued for a particular category of regulated activities. 

b. An applicant whose activities qualifies for a general 

permit must submit an application to the department and 

comply with all requirements stated in the sector-specific 

plan. 

c. The general permit authorizes a regulated activity only 

if the activity and applicant satisfy all of the terms and 

conditions of the general permit and associated sector-

specific plan. 

d. An applicant for general permit coverage must adhere 

to the conditions set forth in this chapter pertaining to 

permit renewal, amendment, transfer, suspension, 

revocation, and other procedures for permit issuance. If a 

sector-specific plan expressly requires department review 

and authorization of general permit coverage, the 

applicant shall submit a permit application and any 

required documents, together with the applicable fee, to 

the department prior to commencing the proposed activity, 

and adhere to the [ following identified ] procedures unless 

the sector-specific plan otherwise specifies [ :. The 

department will review the permit application and 

required documents to ensure that the activity complies 

with the terms and conditions of the general permit. ]  

[ (1) The department will review the permit application 

and required documents to ensure that the activity 

complies with the terms and conditions of the general 

permit. 

(2) If the department determines that the proposed activity 

is not covered by the general permit, the department will 

notify and instruct the applicant on necessary procedures 

for obtaining an individual incidental take permit or 

provide the applicant with the opportunity to revise the 

proposed activity to ensure its compatibility with the 

general permit. ] 

e. Incidental take by a regulated activity of regulated bird 

species or habitats shall be first avoided and then 

minimized through the use of best management practices 

described in the appropriate sector-specific plan or 

otherwise authorized by the department. 

f. Persons authorized by the general permit may be 

required to monitor and report impacts to and the 

incidental take of regulated bird species that result from 

the regulated activity as set forth in the sector-specific 

plan. 

g. No general permit coverage issued under this chapter 

shall be valid for a period of more than eight years after 

the date of its issuance, or such shorter term otherwise 

specified in the applicable sector-specific plan or 

requested by the applicant. An applicant may terminate a 

permit prior to the expiration of the defined term upon 

providing written evidence to the department of the 

conclusion of construction and fulfillment of any 

applicable monitoring or site closure requirements defined 

in the appropriate general permit. 

h. If the department, upon receiving an application for a 

general permit, determines that the activity does not 

qualify for a general permit, but still requires a permit 

from the department, the department will notify the 

applicant in writing of the reasons that the activity does 

not qualify for a general permit. The applicant may revise 

the activity and resubmit the application for a general 

permit or submit an application for an individual 

incidental take permit. 

2. Individual incidental take permit. 

a. Applicants shall obtain individual incidental take 

permits under such terms and conditions necessary to 

avoid, minimize, or compensate for the incidental take of 

regulated bird species or habitats when: 

(1) Regulated activities will occur within or adjacent to 

biologically significant avian habitat, or 

(2) Required by the terms of the applicable sector-specific 

plan. 

b. In addition to the conditions set forth in this section 

governing permit renewal, amendment, transfer, 

suspension, revocation, and other procedures for permit 

issuance, an applicant for an individual incidental take 

permit must adhere to the following procedures: 

(1) The applicant shall prepare and submit an avian 

conservation and mitigation plan in accordance with the 

provisions in this section for department approval and 
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must submit the applicable fee and any additional 

information and documents that the department 

determines are necessary for permit issuance. The 

applicant must receive final permit approval prior to 

commencing the proposed activity. 

(2) The department shall review the applicant's permit 

application and included avian conservation and 

mitigation plan and shall notify the person applying for the 

permit in writing of any necessary amendments or 

additions. 

(3) Impacts of a regulated activity on regulated bird 

species or habitats shall be first avoided and then 

minimized through the use of best management practices 

or other measures as described in the appropriate sector-

specific plan and the avian conservation and mitigation 

plan. Persons authorized by the individual incidental take 

permit will be required to compensate for unavoidable 

incidental take of regulated bird species or habitats. 

(4) Persons authorized by the individual take permit may 

be required to monitor and report impacts to and the 

incidental take of regulated bird species that result from 

the regulated activity as set forth in the sector-specific 

plan, individual incidental take permit, or avian 

conservation and mitigation plan. 

(5) No individual incidental take permit issued under this 

subsection shall be for a period of more than 10 years after 

the date of its issuance or such shorter time period 

determined appropriate by the department or requested by 

the applicant. An applicant may terminate a permit prior 

to the expiration of the defined term upon providing 

written evidence to the department of the conclusion of 

construction and fulfillment of any applicable monitoring 

requirements defined in the individual incidental take 

permit. 

c. An avian conservation and mitigation plan must provide 

sufficient information to demonstrate that the 

conservation criteria established in the individual 

incidental take permit will be fulfilled. The plan must 

clearly define the project's scope of work and the project's 

possible impacts on regulated bird species or habitats. In 

addition, the plan must include: 

(1) A site plan drawn to scale showing the location of the 

proposed activity; 

(2) A detailed description and schedule of the work to be 

performed; 

(3) A quantitative or narrative description of the likely 

incidental take of regulated bird species or habitats; 

(4) The steps the applicant will take to avoid, minimize, 

and compensate for such impacts, including: 

(a) Avoidance, minimization, and compensation measures 

the applicant shall employ using reliable department-

approved methods that are be based upon the best 

available science and utilizing the best practicable and 

necessary technology to meet the requirements of the 

applicable sector-specific plan. These measures shall be 

evaluated for effectiveness in a consistent and rigorous 

manner by the applicant throughout their implementation. 

(b) Compensation measures that shall ensure that a 

naturally-sustaining ecosystem or quality of habitat 

comparable to the pre-activity conditions at the location of 

the regulated activity or within a reasonable proximity is 

established upon the activity's completion and achieves no 

net loss of regulated birds or habitats. 

(c) Any actions included in the applicable sector-specific 

plan considered by the applicant and the reasons why such 

actions are not being utilized; 

(d) A contingency plan to rectify any failures of 

implemented measures or actions necessary to provide 

additional protection to regulated bird species, including 

hazing programs or other temporary or emergency 

measures that would be instituted; 

(e) A timeline of when each element of the plan will be 

completed; and 

(f) Such other measures that the department or applicable 

sector-specific plan may require as being necessary or 

appropriate for purposes of the plan; and 

(5) The avian conservation and mitigation plan may avoid 

duplication by incorporating information included in any 

permit application required by any other permitting 

agency. The plan shall identify by source, section, and 

page number when referencing such information. 

d. While most general and individual incidental take 

permits will apply only to the construction phase of a 

regulated activity, nothing in this chapter shall prevent the 

board from including requirements for the operational 

phase of a particular regulated activity in a sector-specific 

plan if the board determines that operations are likely to 

incidentally take regulated bird species or habitats. If 

operational requirements are included in a sector-specific 

plan, permits may be renewed throughout the life of the 

regulated activity. 

4VAC15-35-80. Permit procedures.  

A. Required general information. A permit application must 

contain the following information: 

1. Applicant's full name and address, telephone number, and, 

if available, fax number and email address; 

a. If the applicant resides or is located outside of the 

Commonwealth of Virginia, the name and address of an 

agent located in the Commonwealth of Virginia; and 

b. If the applicant is an entity, a description of the type of 

entity and the name and title of an individual who will be 

responsible for the permit; 

2. Location of the regulated activity; 
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3. Certification in the following language: "I hereby certify 

that the information submitted in this application is complete 

and accurate to the best of my knowledge and belief"; 

4. Desired effective date of the permit except where issuance 

date is fixed by the sector-specific plan under which the 

permit is issued; 

5. Desired duration of the permit, if less than the default term 

for the sector-specific plan under which the general or 

individual incidental take permit is requested; 

6. Date of application; 

7. Signature or electronic signature of the applicant; and 

8. Such other information or documentation as may be 

required by the applicable sector-specific plan. 

B. Administrative procedures. 

1. The department shall determine the completeness of an 

application and shall notify the applicant of any 

determination within 45 calendar days of receipt. Where 

available to the applicant, electronic communication may be 

considered communication in writing. 

a. If, within those 45 calendar days, the application is 

deemed to be incomplete, the applicant shall be notified in 

writing of the reasons the application is deemed 

incomplete. If the application is resubmitted, all deadlines 

in this section shall apply from the date of receipt of the 

resubmitted application. 

b. If a determination of completeness is made and the 

associated sector-specific plan does not require additional 

department review, the application is deemed approved 

and the applicant will be notified in writing. 

c. If a determination of completeness is not made and 

communicated to the applicant within 45 calendar days of 

receipt, the application shall be deemed complete on the 

46th day after receipt. 

d. If the application is complete and the associated sector-

specific plan requires additional department review, the 

department will take no more than 120 days to review. 

Bundled projects subject to prior approval of biennial 

standards and specifications as described in 4VAC15-35-

90 may take up to 180 days. If, at the end of the designated 

review period, the department has not taken final action on 

the application or notified the applicant in writing of the 

need for an additional 60 days for review, the application 

shall be deemed approved. 

2. During the review period, the application shall be 

approved or disapproved, and the decision communicated in 

writing to the applicant. If the application is not approved, 

the reasons for not approving the application shall be 

provided in writing. Approval or denial shall be based on the 

application's compliance with the requirements of this 

chapter and the applicable sector-specific plan. 

a. If the application is not approved, the applicant shall 

have 45 calendar days to revise the permit application to 

bring it into compliance with the appropriate sector-

specific plan or to appeal the decision to the director of the 

department under the department's dispute resolution and 

administrative appeals procedure. The applicant may 

request, in writing, an extension of the timeframe in which 

to submit a revised application, not to exceed an additional 

60 calendar days. If the revised application is not 

submitted within the defined timeframe, the department 

will administratively close the application. 

b. Upon submission of a revised application after denial, 

the department shall have 120 days to review and make a 

determination. If the application is denied again, the 

applicant will have 45 days after denial to appeal the 

decision to the director of the department under the 

department's dispute resolution and administrative appeal 

procedure. Any new revisions to the permit must be 

submitted as a new application. 

3. Upon approval of an application for an individual 

incidental take permit, the department will provide the 

applicant with a permit, including terms and conditions. The 

applicant shall have 30 calendar days to appeal terms and 

conditions to the department director under the department's 

dispute resolution and administrative appeals procedures. 

C. Permit issuance. 

1. Denial. The department shall not issue a permit if: 

a. The applicant has one or more of the disqualifying 

factors included in subdivision 2 of this subsection; 

b. The applicant has failed to disclose material information 

or has made false statements as to any material fact in 

connection with the application; or 

c. The department determines that the application fails to 

comply with the applicable sector-specific plan or any 

other applicable wildlife law, regulation, or ordinance. 

2. Disqualifying factors. The department will provide 

written notice of any known disqualifying factors to the 

applicant. Any one of the following will disqualify an 

applicant from receiving or exercising a permit: 

a. A conviction of, or entry of a plea of guilty or nolo 

contendere by, the applicant or a representative of the 

applicant for a violation of the Lacey Act (16 USC § 3371 

et seq.); the federal Migratory Bird Treaty Act (16 USC 

§ 668 et seq.); the federal Bald and Golden Eagle 

Protection Act (16 USC § 668 et seq.); the federal 

Endangered Species Act (16 USC § 1531 et seq.); the 

Virginia Endangered Species Act (§ 29.1-563 et seq. of the 

Code of Virginia); or this chapter within the five-year 

period preceding the application, unless such 

disqualification has been expressly waived by the 

department in response to a request by the applicant. 

b. The failure to pay any required fees. 
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c. The suspension of any other incidental take permit. The 

applicant is disqualified from receiving any additional 

incidental take permits as long as the suspension exists. 

3. Fees. An application fee of $50 and a permit fee of $50 per 

year shall be due for each permit. The application fee shall be 

due at the time of application submittal, and no application shall 

be processed until the fee is received. The full amount of the 

permit fee shall be based on the default duration of the permit 

and is due at the time of certification if no approval is required. 

If the department's approval is required, the full amount of the 

permit fee is due upon approval or issuance of a permit. The 

fees will be deposited into the Nongame Cash Fund and used 

for the conservation and management of regulated bird species 

consistent with § 58.1-344.3 of the Code of Virginia. No refund 

of any fees paid shall be made if a permit application is denied 

or if a permit is terminated prior to the expiration date. 

4. Permit renewal. Applications for renewal shall meet and 

comply with all requirements for permit application and be 

submitted at least 90 calendar days prior to the expiration of an 

existing permit. 

5. Modifications to permits. Permits may be modified with the 

department's approval in accordance with the following: 

a. Applicant's request. Where circumstances have changed 

so that an applicant desires to have any condition of the 

permit modified, the applicant must submit a full written 

justification and supporting information to the department 

in conformity with the terms and conditions under which 

the permit was issued. 

b. Department determination. The department may amend 

any permit during its term where circumstances have 

changed such that amendments to the permit are deemed 

necessary by the department. In such instances, the 

department will notify the applicant in writing 60 calendar 

days in advance of the effective date of any amendment. 

The applicant shall have 30 calendar days to appeal the 

decision to the department director under the department's 

dispute resolution and administrative appeals procedures. 

6. Transfer of permits and scope of permit authorization. 

a. Except as otherwise provided for in this subsection, 

permits issued under this part are not transferable or 

assignable. 

b. Permits may be transferred in whole or in part through 

a joint submission by the applicant and the proposed 

transferee, or, in the case of a deceased applicant, the 

deceased applicant's legal representative and the proposed 

transferee. The department will review the submission and 

approve the transfer provided that: 

(1) The proposed transferee meets all of the qualifications 

under this part for holding a permit; 

(2) The proposed transferee has provided adequate written 

assurances that it will implement the relevant terms and 

conditions of the permit; and 

(3) The proposed transferee has provided other 

information that the department determines is relevant to 

the processing of the submission. 

c. Except as otherwise stated on the face of the permit, any 

person who is under the direct control of the applicant or 

who is employed by or under contract to the applicant for 

purposes authorized by the permit may carry out the 

activity authorized by the permit. However, the applicant 

will remain responsible for ensuring compliance with all 

aspects of the permit. 

7. Discontinuance of permit activity. When an applicant 

discontinues activities authorized by a permit, the applicant 

shall within 30 calendar days of the discontinuance notify 

the department of permit termination. 

8. Permit inspections. The department shall have the right to 

perform inspections of a permitted activity to ensure 

compliance with permit conditions. Written, including 

electronic, or verbal notice of such inspection shall be given 

on a business day, and the inspection shall not occur no less 

than one and no more than five business days from the date 

of the notice, except when the department determines that an 

emergency inspection is necessary. 

9. Permit suspension and revocation. 

a. Criteria for suspension. The privileges of exercising 

some or all of the permit authority may be suspended at 

any time if the applicant is not in compliance with the 

conditions of the permit, the sector-specific plan, or any 

applicable laws or regulations governing the conduct of 

the regulated activity. Such suspension shall remain in 

effect until the department determines that the applicant 

has corrected the deficiencies. 

b. Criteria for revocation. A permit may be revoked for 

any of the following reasons: 

(1) The applicant willfully violates any provision of the 

Virginia Endangered Species Act (§ 29.1-563 et seq. of the 

Code of Virginia); the federal Migratory Bird Treaty Act 

(16 USC § 703 et seq.); the federal Bald and Golden Eagle 

Protection Act (16 USC § 668 et seq.); the federal 

Endangered Species Act (16 USC § 1531 et seq.); or the 

conditions or a permit issued under those acts or this 

chapter; or 

(2) The applicant fails within 60 calendar days to correct 

deficiencies that were the cause of a permit suspension. 

c. Procedure for suspension and revocation. 

(1) The applicant shall be notified in writing of the 

suspension or revocation by certified or registered mail. 

This notice shall identify the permit to be suspended, the 

reasons for such suspension, and the actions necessary to 

correct the deficiencies and inform the applicant of the 

right to appeal the suspension. The department may amend 

any notice of suspension or revocation at any time. 



Regulations 

Volume 37, Issue 26  Virginia Register of Regulations  August 16, 2021  

3941 

(2) The applicant shall be provided with an opportunity to 

appeal the suspension or revocation within 30 calendar days 

of mailing the suspension or revocation notice. Appeal may 

be requested by filing a written objection specifying the 

reasons the applicant objects to the suspension or revocation 

and may include supporting documentation. Amendment of a 

notice of suspension or revocation will allow the applicant 

another 30 calendar days to appeal the decision from the date 

of mailing notice of the amendment if they have not already 

initiated an appeal. 

(3) If at the end of 30 calendar days no appeal has been 

received by the department, a final order shall be issued 

suspending or revoking the permit.  

(4) If the applicant timely submits an appeal, an informal fact-

finding proceeding will be held within 30 calendar days, or at 

the option of the department or the applicant, a formal hearing 

may be scheduled as soon as may be practicable. 

(5) Following an informal fact-finding proceeding or 

formal hearing, a final decision shall be made by the 

director within 30 calendar days of the informal fact-

finding proceeding or receipt of a recommendation by any 

hearing officer. 

4VAC15-35-90. Biennial standards and specifications.  

Any person who will undertake multiple regulated activities 

requiring a permit may biennially submit a single set of standards 

and specifications for department approval that describes how 

covered regulated activities shall be conducted. 

1. Such standards and specifications shall be consistent with the 

requirements of this chapter and the applicable sector-specific 

plans. Each project constructed for which a permit is required 

shall obtain such permit by filing a permit application 

referencing the approved standards and specifications and 

paying the fee applicable under 4VAC15-35-80 C 3 prior to the 

commencement of the regulated activity. The standards and 

specifications shall include: 

a. A reference to which sector-specific plans are addressed by 

the standards and specifications; 

b. A description of the regulated activities that the applicant 

intends to be addressed by the standards and specifications, 

and, if applicable, any other regulated activities that the 

applicant intends to conduct that will not utilize the standards 

and specifications; 

c. Information satisfactory to the department 

demonstrating how regulated activities conducted under 

the standards and specifications will meet the 

requirements of the applicable sector-specific plans, 

together with a copy of any reference materials cited by 

the standards and specifications; and 

d. Implementation by the applicant of a regulated activity 

tracking system of all regulated activities conducted under 

the standards and specification, together with a permittee 

self-monitoring program that will ensure compliance with 

the standards and specifications. 

2. Such standards and specification may be utilized 

following department approval. Utilization of approved 

standards and specification shall not affect the department's 

authority to perform inspections of regulated activities 

addressed by the standards and specifications. 

Noncompliance with the approved standards and 

specifications shall have the same effect as noncompliance 

with the requirements of the applicable sector-specific plan 

for purposes of permit modification, suspension, or 

revocation under this section. 

4VAC15-35-100. Enforcement; unpermitted regulated 

activities.  

Administrative permit actions, including modification, 

suspension, and revocation, shall be addressed according to the 

department's dispute resolution and administrative appeals 

procedures. Any person conducting a regulated activity for 

which a permit is required by this chapter without such permit, 

including where a regulated activity has commenced without a 

permit or continued after permit suspension or revocation, shall 

be guilty of a Class 3 misdemeanor as specified by § 29.1-505 

of the Code of Virginia. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R21-6852; Filed July 22, 2021, 9:07 a.m. 

MARINE RESOURCES COMMISSION 

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Marine Resources Commission 

is claiming an exemption from the Administrative Process Act 

in accordance with § 2.2-4006 A 11 of the Code of Virginia; 

however, the commission is required to publish the full text of 

final regulations. 

Title of Regulation: 4VAC20-420. Pertaining to the Use of 

Trawls in the Territorial Sea (repealing 4VAC20-420-10, 

4VAC20-420-20, 4VAC20-420-30). 

Statutory Authority: § 28.2-201 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: August 1, 2021. 

Agency Contact: Jennifer Farmer, Marine Resources 

Commission, 380 Fenwick Road, Fort Monroe, VA 23551, 

telephone (757) 247-2248, or email 

jennifer.farmer@mrc.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendments repeal 4VAC20-420, Pertaining to the Use 

of Trawls in the Territorial Sea, which allowed for a shrimp 

trawl fishery in parts of Virginia's coastal waters. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R22-6900; Filed July 28, 2021, 12:07 p.m. 
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Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Marine Resources Commission 

is claiming an exemption from the Administrative Process Act 

in accordance with § 2.2-4006 A 11 of the Code of Virginia; 

however, the commission is required to publish the full text of 

final regulations. 

Title of Regulation: 4VAC20-1090. Pertaining to Licensing 

Requirements and License Fees (amending 4VAC20-1090-

30). 

Statutory Authority: § 28.2-201 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: August 1, 2021. 

Agency Contact: Jennifer Farmer, Marine Resources 

Commission, 380 Fenwick Road, Fort Monroe, VA 23551, 

telephone (757) 247-2248, or email 

jennifer.farmer@mrc.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendment adds a shrimp trawl license fee.

4VAC20-1090-30. License fees. 

The following listing of license fees applies to any person who purchases a license for the purpose of harvesting for commercial 

purposes or fishing for recreational purposes during any calendar year. The fees listed below include a $1.00 agent fee. 

1. COMMERCIAL LICENSES 

Commercial Fisherman Registration License $190.00 

Commercial Fisherman Registration License for a person 70 years or older $90.00 

Delayed Entry Registration $190.00 

Delayed Entry Registration License for a person 70 years or older $90.00 

Seafood Landing License for each boat or vessel $175.00 

For each Commercial Fishing Pier over or upon subaqueous beds (mandatory) $83.00 

Seafood Buyer's License -- For each boat or motor vehicle $63.00 

Seafood Buyer's License -- For each place of business $126.00 

Clam Aquaculture Product Owner's Permit $10.00 

Oyster Aquaculture Product Owner's Permit $10.00 

Clam Aquaculture Harvester's Permit $5.00 

Oyster Aquaculture Harvester's Permit $5.00 

Nonresident Harvester's License $444.00 

2. OYSTER RESOURCE USER FEES 

Any licensed commercial fisherman harvesting oysters by hand $50.00 

For any harvester using one or more gear types to harvest oysters or for any registered commercial fisherman 

who solely harvests or possesses any bushel limit described in 4VAC20-720-80, only one oyster resource user 

fee, per year, shall be paid $300.00 

On any business shucking or packing no more than 1,000 gallons of oysters $500.00 

On any business shucking or packing more than 1,000 but no more than 10,000 gallons of oysters $1,000.00 

On any business shucking or packing more than 10,000 but no more than 25,000 gallons of oysters $2,000.00 

On any business shucking or packing more than 25,000 gallons of oysters $4,000.00 

On any oyster buyer using a single truck or location $100.00 

On any oyster buyer using multiple trucks or locations $300.00 

Commercial aquaculture operation, on riparian assignment or general oyster planting grounds $50.00 
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3. OYSTER HARVESTING, SHUCKING, RELAY, AND BUYERS LICENSES 

Any person purchasing oysters caught from the public grounds of the Commonwealth or the Potomac River,  

for a single place of business with one boat or motor vehicle used for buying oysters $50.00 

Any person purchasing oysters caught from the public grounds of the Commonwealth or the Potomac River,  

for a single place of business with multiple boats or motor vehicles used for buying oysters $100.00 

For each person taking oysters by hand, or with ordinary tongs $10.00 

For each single-rigged patent tong boat taking oysters $35.00 

For each double-rigged patent tong boat taking oysters $70.00 

Oyster Dredge Public Ground $50.00 

Oyster Hand Scrape $50.00 

To shuck and pack oysters, for any number of gallons under 1,000 $12.00 

To shuck and pack oysters, for 1,000 gallons, up to 10,000 $33.00 

To shuck and pack oysters, for 10,000 gallons, up to 25,000 $74.00 

To shuck and pack oysters, for 25,000 gallons, up to 50,000 $124.00 

To shuck and pack oysters, for 50,000 gallons, up to 100,000 $207.00 

To shuck and pack oysters, for 100,000 gallons, up to 200,000 $290.00 

To shuck and pack oysters, for 200,000 gallons or over $456.00 

One-day permit to relay condemned shellfish from a general oyster planting ground $150.00 

4. BLUE CRAB HARVESTING AND SHEDDING LICENSES, EXCLUSIVE OF CRAB POT LICENSES 

For each person taking or catching crabs by dip nets $13.00 

For ordinary trotlines $13.00 

For patent trotlines $51.00 

For each single-rigged crab-scrape boat $26.00 

For each double-rigged crab-scrape boat $53.00 

For up to 210 peeler pots $36.00 

For up to 20 tanks and floats for shedding crabs $9.00 

For more than 20 tanks or floats for shedding crabs $19.00 

For each crab trap or crab pound $8.00 

5. CRAB POT LICENSES 

For up to 85 crab pots $48.00 

For over 85 but not more than 127 crab pots $79.00 

For over 127 but not more than 170 crab pots $79.00 

For over 170 but not more than 255 crab pots $79.00 

For over 255 but not more than 425 crab pots $127.00 
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6. HORSESHOE CRAB AND, LOBSTER, AND SHRIMP LICENSES 

For each person harvesting horseshoe crabs by hand $16.00 

For each boat engaged in fishing for or landing of lobster using less than 200 pots $41.00 

For each boat engaged in fishing for or landing of lobster using 200 pots or more $166.00 

For each person commercial shrimp trawling $100.00 

7. CLAM HARVESTING LICENSES 

For each person taking or harvesting clams by hand, rake, or with ordinary tongs $24.00 

For each single-rigged patent tong boat taking clams $58.00 

For each double-rigged patent tong boat taking clams $84.00 

For each boat using clam dredge (hand) $19.00 

For each boat using clam dredge (power) $44.00 

For each boat using hydraulic dredge to catch soft shell clams $83.00 

For each person taking surf clams $124.00 

Water Rake Permit $24.00 

8. CONCH (WHELK) HARVESTING LICENSES 

For each boat using a conch dredge $58.00 

For each person taking channeled whelk by conch pot $51.00 

9. FINFISH HARVESTING LICENSES 

Each pound net $41.00 

Each stake gill net of 1,200 feet in length or under, with a fixed location $24.00 

All other gill nets up to 600 feet $16.00 

All other gill nets over 600 feet and up to 1,200 feet $24.00 

Each person using a cast net or throw net or similar device $13.00 

Each fyke net head, weir, or similar device $13.00 

For fish trotlines $19.00 

Each person using or operating a fish dip net $9.00 

On each haul seine used for catching fish, under 500 yards in length $48.00 

On each haul seine used for catching fish, from 500 yards in length to 1,000 yards in length $146.00 

For each person using commercial hook and line $31.00 

For each person using commercial hook and line for catching striped bass only $31.00 

For up to 100 fish pots $19.00 

For over 100 but not more than 300 fish pots $24.00 

For over 300 fish pots $62.00 

For up to 100 eel pots $19.00 
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For over 100 but not more than 300 eel pots $24.00 

For over 300 eel pots $62.00 

For each person electrofishing catfish $100.00 

10. MENHADEN HARVESTING LICENSES 

Any person purchasing more than one of the following licenses, as described in this subsection, for the same  

vessel, shall pay a fee equal to that for a single license for the same vessel. 

On each boat or vessel under 70 gross tons fishing for the purse seine menhaden reduction sector $249.00 

On each vessel 70 gross tons or over fishing for the purse seine menhaden reduction sector $996.00 

On each boat or vessel under 70 gross tons fishing for the purse seine menhaden bait sector $249.00 

On each vessel 70 gross tons or over fishing for the purse seine menhaden bait sector $996.00 

11. COMMERCIAL GEAR FOR RECREATIONAL USE 

Up to five crab pots with a terrapin excluder device $36.00 

Up to five crab pots without a terrapin excluder device $46.00 

Crab trotline (300 feet maximum) $10.00 

One crab trap or crab pound $6.00 

One gill net up to 300 feet in length $9.00 

Fish dip net $7.00 

Fish cast net $10.00 

Up to two eel pots $10.00 

12. SALTWATER RECREATIONAL FISHING LICENSE 

Individual, resident $17.50 

Individual, nonresident $25.00 

Temporary 10-Day, resident $10.00 

Temporary 10-Day, nonresident $10.00 

Recreational boat, resident $48.00 

Recreational boat, nonresident, provided a nonresident may not purchase a recreational boat license  

unless his boat is registered in Virginia $76.00 

Head Boat/Charter Boat, resident, six or less passengers $190.00 

Head Boat/Charter Boat, nonresident, six or less passengers $380.00 

Head Boat/Charter Boat, resident, more than six passengers, plus $5.00 per person, over six persons $190.00 

Head Boat/Charter Boat, nonresident, more than six passengers, plus $5.00 per person, over six persons $380.00 

Rental Boat, resident, per boat, with maximum fee of $703 $14.00 

Rental Boat, nonresident, per boat, with maximum fee of $1270 $18.00 

Commercial Fishing Pier (Optional) $632.00 

Disabled Resident Lifetime Saltwater License $10.00 
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Disabled Nonresident Lifetime Saltwater License $10.00 

Reissuance of Saltwater Recreational Boat License $5.00 

13. COMBINED SPORTFISHING LICENSE 

This license is to fish in all inland waters and tidal waters of the Commonwealth during open season. 

Residents $39.50 

Nonresidents $71.00 

14. COMBINED SPORTFISHING TRIP LICENSE 

This license is to fish in all inland waters and tidal waters of the Commonwealth during open season for five  

consecutive days. 

Residents $24.00 

Nonresidents $31.00 

15. TIDAL BOAT SPORTFISHING LICENSE 

Residents $126.00 

Nonresidents $201.00 

16. LIFETIME SALTWATER RECREATIONAL FISHING LICENSES 

Individual Resident Lifetime License $276.00 

Individual Nonresident Lifetime License $500.00 

Individual Resident Lifetime License age 45 - 50 $132.00 

Individual Nonresident Lifetime License age 45 - 50 $240.00 

Individual Resident Lifetime License age 51 - 55 $99.00 

Individual Nonresident Lifetime License 51 - 55 $180.00 

Individual Resident Lifetime License age 56 - 60 $66.00 

Individual Nonresident Lifetime License age 56 - 60 $120.00 

Individual Resident Lifetime License age 61 - 64 $35.00 

Individual Nonresident Lifetime License age 61 - 64 $60.00 

Individual Resident Lifetime License age 65 and older $5.00 

VA.R. Doc. No. R21-6898; Filed July 28, 2021, 11:50 a.m. 

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Marine Resources Commission 

is claiming an exemption from the Administrative Process Act 

in accordance with § 2.2-4006 A 11 of the Code of Virginia; 

however, the commission is required to publish the full text of 

final regulations. 

Title of Regulation: 4VAC20-1390. Pertaining to Shrimp 

(adding 4VAC20-1390-10 through 4VAC20-1390-90). 

Statutory Authority: § 28.2-201 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: August 1, 2021. 

Agency Contact: Jennifer Farmer, Marine Resources 

Commission, 380 Fenwick Road, Fort Monroe, VA 23551, 

telephone (757) 247-2248, or email 

jennifer.farmer@mrc.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The action adds a new regulation, Pertaining to Shrimp 

(4VAC20-1390), to establish a commercial shrimp fishery, 

including trawl license and lottery; gear, season, and area 

restrictions; and commercial and recreational shrimp 

possession limits. 
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Chapter 1390 

Pertaining to Shrimp 

4VAC20-1390-10. Purpose.  

The purpose of this regulation is to sustainably develop and 

manage shrimp fisheries in an ecologically conservative 

manner in the waters of Virginia. 

4VAC20-1390-20. Definitions.  

The following words and terms when used in this chapter 

shall have the following meaning unless the context clearly 

indicates otherwise: 

"Agent" means an individual who possesses the Commercial 

Fisherman Registration License, fishing gear license, or 

fishing permit of any registered commercial fisherman in order 

to fish that commercial fisherman's gear or sell that 

commercial fisherman's harvest. 

"Commission" means the Virginia Marine Resources 

Commission.  

"Fishing year" means the time period from October 1 of the 

current calendar year through January 31 of the following 

calendar year. 

"Heads-on" means any shrimp possessed, landed, or sold with 

the head (carapace) intact. 

"Shrimp" means any native penaeid shrimp species, including 

white shrimp (Penaeus setiferus), brown shrimp (Penaeus 

aztecus), pink shrimp (Penaeus duorarum), or the nonnative 

tiger shrimp (Penaeus monodon). 

"Tails" means any shrimp possessed, landed, or sold with the 

head (carapace) removed. 

"Virginia Beach Shrimp Trawl Harvest Area" means all tidal 

waters of the Atlantic Ocean that are bounded by a line 

beginning at a point on the Three Nautical Mile Limit, Latitude 

36° 55.5436667' N, Longitude 75° 55.9015000' W; thence 

southerly following the Three Nautical Mile Limit to an 

intersection point on the Virginia-North Carolina state line, 

Latitude 36° 33.0224955' N, Longitude 75° 48.2662043' W; 

thence westerly to a point along the Virginia-North Carolina 

state line at its intersection with the mean low water line, 

Latitude 36° 33.0224003' N, Longitude 75° 52.0510498' W; 

thence northerly, following the mean low water line to the 

Rudee Inlet weir; thence easterly along the weir to the stone 

breakwater; thence following the stone breakwater to its 

northernmost point; thence northerly to the mean low water 

line at the most northeastern point of the northern stone jetty; 

thence westerly along the mean low water line of said stone 

jetty to the mean low water line along the shore; thence 

northerly following the mean low water line to a point, Latitude 

36° 55.5781102' N, Longitude 76° 00.1530758' W, said point 

being the intersection of the mean low water line with the line 

from Cape Henry Lighthouse easterly to a point on the Three 

Nautical Mile Limit, Latitude 36° 55.5436667' N, Longitude 

75° 55.9015000' W, said point being the point of beginning. 

4VAC20-1390-30. Recreational fishing: general.  

A. It shall be unlawful for any person fishing recreationally 

to take, attempt to take, catch, harvest, land, or possess shrimp 

by any gear or method not authorized for recreational use or 

without a recreational fishing license as described in §§ 28.2-

302.1 and 28.2-226.1 of the Code of Virginia. 

B. The daily recreational possession limit for shrimp shall be 

20 quarts of shrimp with heads-on or 15 quarts of tails of 

shrimp per person or vessel whichever is more restrictive. 

4VAC20-1390-40. Commercial fishing: general.  

A. It shall be unlawful for any person to harvest or possess 

shrimp for commercial purposes without possessing a valid 

Commercial Fisherman Registration License and any 

necessary gear licenses or permits as required by Title 28.2 of 

the Code of Virginia. 

B. It shall be unlawful for any commercial fisherman 

registration licensee to take, catch, harvest, land, or possess 

greater than 20 quarts of shrimp with heads-on or 15 quarts of 

tails of shrimp per person or vessel per day by any gear other 

than trawl or cast net. 

C. Registered commercial fishermen, seafood landing 

licensees, and licensed seafood buyers shall allow those 

authorized by the commission to observe shrimp fishing or to 

sample harvest and seafood products associated with shrimp 

fishing aboard a vessel or at the place of landing to obtain 

biological information for scientific and management 

purposes.  

4VAC20-1390-50. Shrimp trawl licensing and entry 

requirements.  

A. The maximum number of Commercial Shrimp Trawl 

Licenses issued in any fishing year shall be 12. 

B. Any individual who meets all of the following criteria shall 

be eligible for a Commercial Shrimp Trawl License: 

1. The individual shall possess a valid Commercial 

Fisherman Registration License. 

2. The individual shall complete and submit a Commercial 

Shrimp Trawl License Application annually that must be 

received by the Marine Resources Commission by August 

31 of the current calendar year. 

3. The individual shall meet one of the following criteria: 

a. The individual shall have been a permit holder of a 

Virginia-issued Special Experimental Permit for shrimp 

trawl gear and reported a minimum shrimp harvest of 500 

pounds to the Marine Resource Commission's Mandatory 

Harvest Reporting Program in any given year from 2017 

through 2020.  
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b. The individual shall have possessed a Commercial Shrimp 

Trawl License and reported harvest of at least 500 pounds by 

shrimp trawl gear to the Marine Resource Commission's 

Mandatory Harvest Reporting Program in at least one of the 

previous two fishing years. 

C. If the number of individuals eligible for a Commercial Shrimp 

Trawl License pursuant to subsection B of this section is fewer 

than 12 by September 1 in the current calendar year, a lottery will 

be conducted, including any individual who meets all of the 

following criteria: 

1. The individual shall possess a valid Commercial Fisherman 

Registration License. 

2. The individual shall complete and submit a Commercial 

Shrimp Trawl Application that must be received by the Marine 

Resources Commission by the advertised deadline of the 

current calendar year. 

3. The individual shall have reported harvest to the Marine 

Resource Commission's Mandatory Harvest Reporting Program 

of at least 1,000 pounds of harvest per year in at least three of 

the previous five calendar years. 

D. Any individual selected under subsection B or C of this 

section who fails to return a completed Commercial Shrimp Trawl 

License Acceptance Form provided by the commission indicating 

their acceptance within 14 days of selection shall forfeit their 

eligibility for the current fishing year and another individual shall 

be selected from the list of eligible individuals pursuant to 

subsection C of this section. 

E. The commission shall approve all shrimp trawl gear, as 

referenced in 4VAC20-1390-60 prior to the issuance of a 

Commercial Shrimp Trawl License. 

F. It shall be prohibited to transfer any Commercial Shrimp 

Trawl License. 

G. The use of agents shall be prohibited for any Commercial 

Shrimp Trawl Licensee without written request to the Marine 

Resources Commission and approval by the commissioner or the 

commissioner's designee. Exceptions shall only be granted due to 

death, medical hardships, or military service. 

H. Each Commercial Shrimp Trawl Licensee shall report to the 

Marine Resources Commission Fisheries Management Staff the 

harvest of shrimp in pounds, an estimate of total bycatch in 

pounds, and interactions with any protected or endangered species 

within 24 hours of landing of each trip. 

4VAC20-1390-60. Shrimp trawl gear restrictions.  

A. Any shrimp trawl placed, set, or used for fishing in Virginia 

shall be constructed as follows: 

1. With a beam or fixed frame opening no larger than 4.0 feet 

in height and 16 feet in width. 

2. With a minimum net mesh of 1.5 inches and maximum net 

mesh of 2.0 inches stretched mesh.  

3. With a properly installed National Marine Fisheries Service 

or North Carolina Division of Marine Fisheries approved 

bycatch reduction device. 

B. It shall be unlawful for any shrimp trawl tow to exceed 30 

minutes in duration. 

4VAC20-1390-70. Commercial shrimp trawl harvest limits, 

seasons, and areas.  

A. It shall be unlawful for any Commercial Shrimp Trawl 

Licensee to harvest or land any Virginia quota managed species 

(Black Drum, Black Sea Bass, Bluefish, Atlantic Horseshoe Crab, 

Atlantic Menhaden, Scup, Speckled Sea Trout, Spiny and Smooth 

Dogfishes, Striped Bass, and Summer Flounder) caught by shrimp 

trawl. 

B. It shall be unlawful to trawl for shrimp outside of the Virginia 

Beach Shrimp Trawl Harvest Area. 

C. It shall be unlawful for any Commercial Shrimp Trawl 

Licensee to harvest shrimp caught by shrimp trawl from February 

1 through September 30 of each calendar year. 

D. It shall be unlawful to trawl for shrimp more than 30 minutes 

before sunrise or 30 minutes after sunset. 

E. It shall be unlawful to trawl for shrimp within 100 yards of 

any marked commercial fishing gear. 

F. It shall be unlawful to trawl for shrimp within 300 yards of 

any navigable inlet, public boat ramp, fishing pier, or beach. 

4VAC20-1390-80. Penalty.  

As set forth in § 28.2-903 of the Code of Virginia, any individual 

violating any provision of this chapter shall be guilty of a Class 3 

misdemeanor, and a second or subsequent violation of any 

provision of this chapter committed by the same individual within 

12 months of a prior violation is a Class 1 misdemeanor. 

4VAC20-1390-90. Sanctions.  

Any individual found guilty of violating any provision of this 

chapter may have his Commercial Shrimp Trawl License revoked 

at any time upon review by the commission as provided for in 

§ 28.2-232 of the Code of Virginia. 

NOTICE: The following forms used in administering the 

regulation have been filed by the agency. Amended or added 

forms are reflected in the listing and are published following the 

listing. Online users of this issue of the Virginia Register of 

Regulations may also click on the name to access a form. The 

forms are also available from the agency contact or may be viewed 

at the Office of Registrar of Regulations, 900 East Main Street, 

11th Floor, Richmond, Virginia 23219. 

FORMS (4VAC20-1390) 

Shrimp Trawl License Acceptance Form (eff. 8/2021) 

Shrimp Trawl Application Form (eff. 8/2021) 

VA.R. Doc. No. R22-6897; Filed July 28, 2021, 2:45 p.m. 

  ––––––––––––––––––  

https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/4VAC20/forms/ShrimpTrawl_license%20acceptance%20form-20210728131527.docx
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/4VAC20/forms/VBShrimpTrawl_Application2021Final-20210728144344.pdf
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TITLE 6. CRIMINAL JUSTICE AND 
CORRECTIONS 

BOARD OF JUVENILE JUSTICE 

Fast-Track Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 6VAC35-150. Regulation for 

Nonresidential Services (amending 6VAC35-150-335). 

Statutory Authority: §§ 16.1-233, 16.1-309.2, and 66-10 of the 

Code of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: No public hearing is currently 

scheduled. 

Public Comment Deadline: September 15, 2021. 

Effective Date: October 1, 2021. 

Agency Contact: Kenneth Davis, Assistant Regulatory 

Coordinator, Department of Juvenile Justice, P.O. Box 1110, 

Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 807-0486, FAX (804) 

371-6497, or email kenneth.davis@djj.virginia.gov. 

Basis: Section 16.1-233 of the Code of Virginia directs the 

board to promulgate regulations pertaining to the appointment 

and function of court service staffs and related supportive 

personnel to the end that uniform services, insofar as is 

practical, will be available to juvenile and domestic relations 

district courts throughout the Commonwealth. Additionally, 

the board is entrusted with general, discretionary authority to 

adopt regulations by § 66-10 of the Code of Virginia, which 

authorizes the board to promulgate such regulations as may be 

necessary to carry out the provisions of this title and other laws 

of the Commonwealth. 

Purpose: Section 16.1-260 of the Code of Virginia sets out the 

statutory rules intake officers must follow when diverting 

eligible juvenile offenses. Currently, the statute allows an 

intake officer to delay the filing of a petition for a complaint 

alleging a child is in need of services, supervision, or 

delinquent, provided (i) the alleged offense is not a violent 

juvenile felony; and (ii) the juvenile has not had a previous 

felony offense diverted or has not been adjudicated delinquent 

for a previous felony offense. An intake officer who exercises 

the option to divert an eligible juvenile offense must develop a 

plan for the juvenile, which may include restitution, 

community service, treatment, and other alternatives that the 

juvenile must accomplish. Prior to July 1, 2020, § 16.1-260 

established a 90-day deadline for completing the diversion 

plans for eligible truancy offenses, but did not impose any 

deadlines for other eligible diversions. Based on the statutory 

language, the department's regulatory provision addressing 

diversions, set out in 6VAC35-101-335, sets a 90-day cap on 

truancy diversion plans and a 120-day cap for all other offenses 

eligible for diversion. 

During the 2020 legislative session, the department lobbied for 

legislation that would remove the 90-day statutory cap for 

completing the truancy diversion plan to enable the department 

to align its truancy diversion cap with the 120-day regulatory 

cap already in place for other diversions. The General 

Assembly voted unanimously in support of striking the 

statutory 90-day limitation, effective July 1, 2020. 

Because the statute is now silent regarding the time limit for 

completing any eligible diversion, truancy or otherwise, and 

because 6VAC35-150-335, consistent with the stricken 

legislative language, sets the maximum time limit for truancy 

diversion plans at 90 days, the court service units remain 

subject to the 90-day cap on truancy diversion plans until the 

regulation is amended. 

The department considers a regulatory change to remove the 

90-day cap on truancy diversion plans necessary to assist youth 

eligible for diversions in successfully completing their plans. 

According to data maintained by the department, of the 2,872 

truancy complaints that were assigned a diversion plan 

between Fiscal Year 2017 and Fiscal Year 2019, only 66.7% 

were completed successfully, compared to the 84.7% success 

rate for all other diverted complaints. The department believes 

the lower success rate for truancy diversions might be 

attributable to the shorter diversion period. Extending the time 

period for truancy diversions will give court service unit staff 

additional time to monitor the child and family's progress 

toward completing the plan and the youth additional time to 

meet the plan's requirements. 

The General Assembly has demonstrated the Commonwealth's 

commitment to using diversion in appropriate circumstances in 

§ 16.1-227 of the Code. That provision explains one of the 

purposes of the statutes governing juvenile and domestic 

relations district courts: that is to divert from the juvenile 

justice system (to the extent possible, consistent with the 

protection of public safety), those youth who can be cared for 

or treated through alternative programs. Having these 

diversion opportunities in place reduces the number of 

petitions that must be filed, and therefore, reduces the 

likelihood of a youth getting further and unnecessarily 

entrenched in the juvenile justice system. These diversion 

opportunities are futile if the Court Service Units staff 

responsible for administering and monitoring the resident's 

progress toward completing the plan and the youth responsible 

for carrying out its directives do not have sufficient time to 

meet these obligations. Amending the regulation to remove 

this 90-day cap will address this issue. 

Rationale for Using Fast-Track Rulemaking Process: The 

department does not expect this rulemaking to be controversial. 

Section 16.1-260 of the Code of Virginia formed the basis for 

the 90-day cap, and the proposal to amend this statute met with 

unanimous support in both the House and Senate. Furthermore, 

allowing a 120-day period for truancy diversions is consistent 

with the maximum period permitted for diversions for more 

serious misdemeanor offenses. 

Substance: The proposal amends 6VAC35-150-335 by striking 

the regulatory language that imposes a 90-day cap on 

diversions for truancy offenses. In so doing, the proposed 
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amendment extends the maximum diversion period for truancy 

offenses to 120 days. 

Issues: The department expects this regulatory proposal to 

benefit the public by increasing the number of successful 

truancy diversions. Extending the timeframe for truancy 

diversions an additional 30 days makes it more likely that the 

youth subject to this diversion plan will successfully complete 

the diversion program, thereby reducing truancy in the 

Commonwealth. Successful completion of a truancy diversion 

plan also eliminates the need for the intake officer to file a 

petition. By reducing the number of petitions filed, the 

proposal supports the department's continued transformation 

efforts to reduce deeper system involvement for low-risk 

youth. Decreasing the number of petitions filed with the court 

also will benefit the juvenile courts by decreasing their 

workload and dockets. The department also hopes that an 

increase in successful truancy diversions will generate a 

decrease in crimes that may result indirectly from truancy. 

The proposed action is not expected to disadvantage the public 

or the Commonwealth. 

Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 

Analysis: 

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. The 

Board of Juvenile Justice (Board) proposes to remove the 90-

day deadline currently imposed on truancy diversion plans. 

Background. Code of Virginia § 16.1-2601 states that if a 

juvenile is alleged to be a truant pursuant to a complaint filed 

in accordance with § 22.1-2582 and the school division's 

attendance officer has provided documentation to the intake 

officer, i.e. juvenile probation officer, that the relevant school 

division has complied with specified provisions, then the 

intake officer shall file a petition with the court. 

The intake officer may defer filing the petition and proceed 

informally by developing a truancy diversion plan, provided 

that (i) the juvenile has not previously been proceeded against 

informally or adjudicated in need of supervision on more than 

two occasions for failure to comply with compulsory school 

attendance as provided in § 22.1-2543 and (ii) the immediately 

previous informal action or adjudication occurred at least three 

calendar years prior to the current complaint. 

The truancy diversion plan may include requirements that the 

juvenile and the juvenile's parent or guardian participate in 

programs, cooperate in treatment, or be subject to such 

conditions and limitations as necessary to ensure the juvenile's 

compliance with compulsory school attendance. In practice, 

the intake officer may ensure that the youth has an alarm clock 

or a phone with an alarm, make sure that a school bus is 

stopping where the juvenile is currently residing, or arrange for 

virtual instruction when appropriate, etc.4 If at the end of the 

deferral period the juvenile has not successfully completed the 

truancy plan or the truancy program by regularly attending 

school, then the intake officer shall file the petition with the 

court, and the juvenile goes before a judge. 

Prior to July 1, 2020, § 16.1-260 established a 90-day deadline 

for completing the diversion plans for eligible truancy 

offenses, but did not impose any deadlines for other eligible 

offense diversions. Based on the statutory language, 6VAC35-

150 Regulation for Nonresidential Services (regulation) sets a 

90-day cap on truancy diversion plans and a 120-day cap for 

all other offenses eligible for diversion. 

During the 2020 legislative session, the Department of 

Juvenile Justice (DJJ) lobbied for legislation that would 

remove the 90-day statutory cap for completing the truancy 

diversion plan to enable the Board to align its truancy diversion 

cap with the 120-day regulatory cap already in place for other 

diversions. The General Assembly voted unanimously in 

support of striking the statutory 90-day limitation, effective 

July 1, 2020.5 

The current regulation states that when an intake officer diverts 

an eligible juvenile offense, the maximum diversion period 

shall not exceed 120 days, with the exception that for juveniles 

alleged to be truant the maximum diversion period is 90 days. 

Now that the statutory cap of 90 days has been removed, the 

Board proposes to repeal the 90-day diversion maximum for 

truancy. Consequently, truancy would have a 120-day 

diversion maximum along with the other juvenile offenses. 

Estimated Benefits and Costs. According to data maintained by 

DJJ, of the 2,872 truancy complaints that were assigned a 

diversion plan between Fiscal Year 2017 and Fiscal Year 2019, 

only 66.7% were completed successfully, compared to the 

84.7% success rate for all other diverted complaints. DJJ 

believes the shorter diversion period contributes to the lower 

success rate for truancy diversions compared to other 

diversions. Extending the time period for truancy diversions 

would give intake officers additional time to monitor the child 

and family's progress toward completing the plan and the youth 

additional time to meet the plan's requirements. 

Successful completion of diversion programs reduces the 

number of petitions that must be filed, and therefore, reduces 

the likelihood of a youth getting further entrenched in the 

juvenile justice system. This can be beneficial for the child and 

reduce court costs and other costs associated with the juvenile 

justice system. Successful completion of truancy diversion also 

means the youth is regularly attending school, which is also 

beneficial. 

Businesses and Other Entities Affected. The proposal 

potentially affects intake officers, who work for court service 

units in the 32 judicial districts in the Commonwealth. The 

intake officers are DJJ employees in all judicial districts, 

except for Fairfax and Arlington where they are local 

employees. The proposal may also affect juvenile and domestic 

relations district courts by moderately reducing their receipt of 

petitions. To the extent that the proposal may moderately 

reduce truancy, it may also affect the 132 public school 

divisions in the Commonwealth. The proposal does not appear 

to have an adverse economic impact.6  
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Small Businesses7 Affected. The proposal does not appear to 

adversely affect small businesses.  

Localities8 Affected.9 The proposal applies statewide and may 

particularly affect those localities with relatively high rates of 

truancy. The proposal does not require additional expenditures 

for localities. 

Projected Impact on Employment. The proposal does not 

appear to affect total employment. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. The proposal 

does not appear to affect the use and value of private property 

or real estate development costs. 

___________________________________ 
1See https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title16.1/chapter11/section16.1-260/ 

2See https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/22.1-258/ 

3See https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/22.1-254/ 
4Source: Department of Juvenile Justice 

5See https://lis.virginia.gov/cgi-bin/legp604.exe?201+sum+HB1324 
6Adverse impact is indicated if there is any increase in net cost or reduction in 

net revenue for any entity, even if the benefits exceed the costs for all entities 

combined. 
7Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.04 of the Code of Virginia, small business is defined 

as "a business entity, including its affiliates, that (i) is independently owned 

and operated and (ii) employs fewer than 500 full-time employees or has gross 

annual sales of less than $6 million." 
8"Locality" can refer to either local governments or the locations in the 

Commonwealth where the activities relevant to the regulatory change are most 

likely to occur. 
9§ 2.2-4007.04 defines "particularly affected" as bearing disproportionate 

material impact. 

Agency's Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The agency 

has reviewed the Department of Planning and Budget (DPB) 

economic impact analysis. The agency is in agreement with the 

DPB analysis. 

Summary: 

Pursuant to Chapter 753 of the 2020 Acts of Assembly, the 

amendment removes the 90-day deadline currently imposed 

on youth alleged to be truant pursuant to a complaint filed 

in accordance with § 22.1-258 of the Code of Virginia and 

subject to a truancy diversion plan. 

6VAC35-150-335. Diversion. 

A. When an intake officer proceeds with diversion in 

accordance with subsection B of § 16.1-260 of the Code of 

Virginia, such supervision shall not exceed 120 days. For a 

juvenile alleged to be a truant pursuant to a complaint filed in 

accordance with § 22.1-258 of the Code of Virginia, such 

supervision shall be limited to 90 days.  

B. When a new complaint is filed against a juvenile who is 

currently under supervision in accordance with subsection A 

of this section, and the juvenile qualifies for diversion in 

accordance with subsection B of § 16.1-260 of the Code of 

Virginia, then the intake officer may proceed with diversion 

for an additional 120 days from the date of the subsequent 

complaint. 

C. In no case shall a petition be filed by the CSU based on 

acts or offenses in the original complaint after 120 days from 

the date of the initial referral on the original complaint. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R21-6522; Filed July 28, 2021, 9:57 a.m. 

  ––––––––––––––––––  

TITLE 9. ENVIRONMENT 

STATE WATER CONTROL BOARD 

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The State Water Control Board is 

claiming an exemption from the Administrative Process Act in 

accordance with § 2.2-4006 A 8 of the Code of Virginia, which 

exempts general permits issued by the State Water Control 

Board pursuant to the State Water Control Law (§ 62.1-44.2 et 

seq.) and Chapters 24 (§ 62.1-242 et seq.) and 25 (§ 62.1-254 

et seq.) of Title 62.1 of the Code of Virginia if the board (i) 

provides a Notice of Intended Regulatory Action in 

conformance with the provisions of § 2.2-4007.01 of the Code 

of Virginia; (ii) following the passage of 30 days from the 

publication of the Notice of Intended Regulatory Action, forms 

a technical advisory committee composed of relevant 

stakeholders, including potentially affected citizens groups, to 

assist in the development of the general permit; (iii) provides 

notice and receives oral and written comment as provided in 

§ 2.2-4007.03 of the Code of Virginia; and (iv) conducts at 

least one public hearing on the proposed general permit. The 

State Water Control Board will receive, consider, and respond 

to petitions by any interested person at any time with respect 

to reconsideration or revision. 

Title of Regulation: 9VAC25-820. General Virginia 

Pollutant Discharge Elimination System (VPDES) 

Watershed Permit Regulation for Total Nitrogen and Total 

Phosphorus Discharges and Nutrient Trading in the 

Chesapeake Bay Watershed in Virginia (amending 

9VAC25-820-40, 9VAC25-820-70). 

Statutory Authority: § 62.1-44.15 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: January 1, 2022. 

Agency Contact: Curtis Linderman, Department of 

Environmental Quality, 1111 East Main Street, Suite 1400, 

P.O. Box 1105, Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 698-

4468, FAX (804) 698-4178, or email 

curtis.linderman@deq.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

This action amends and reissues the existing general permit 

for total nitrogen and total phosphorus discharges and 

nutrient trading in the Chesapeake Bay watershed in 

Virginia that expires on December 31, 2021. The regulation 

provides for the permitting of total nitrogen and total 

phosphorus discharges in the Chesapeake Bay watershed 

https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title16.1/chapter11/section16.1-260/
https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/22.1-258/
https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/22.1-254/
https://lis.virginia.gov/cgi-bin/legp604.exe?201%20sum%20HB1324
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and allows for trading of nutrient credits to minimize costs 

to the regulated facilities and allow for future growth. 

The amendments update and clarify compliance plan 

requirements, effective dates, consolidation of facilities, 

schedules of compliance, monitoring frequencies and 

sample types, registration statement requirements for 

certain facilities treating domestic sewage, and unit costs of 

credit acquisitions to the Nutrient Offset Fund. 

9VAC25-820-40. Compliance plans. 

A. By July 1, 2017, every owner of a facility identified in 

9VAC25-820-80 and subject to a limit effective date after 

January 1, 2017, as defined in Part I C 1 of 9VAC25-820-70 

shall either individually or through the Virginia Nutrient Credit 

Exchange Association submit compliance plans to the 

department for approval. 

1. The compliance plans shall contain any capital projects 

and implementation schedules needed to achieve total 

nitrogen and phosphorus reductions sufficient to comply 

with the individual and combined wasteload allocations of 

all the permittees in the tributary as soon as possible. 

Permittees submitting individual plans are not required to 

account for other facilities' activities. 

2. As part of the compliance plan development, permittees 

shall either: 

a. Demonstrate that the additional capital projects 

anticipated by subdivision 1 of this subsection are 

necessary to ensure continued compliance with these 

allocations by the applicable deadline for the tributary to 

which the facility discharges (Part I C of the permit), or 

b. Request that their individual wasteload allocations 

become effective on January 1, 2017. 

3. The compliance plans may rely on the exchange of point 

source credits in accordance with this general permit, but not 

the acquisition of credits through payments into the Nutrient 

Offset Fund (§ 10.1-2128.2 of the Code of Virginia), to 

achieve compliance with the individual and combined 

wasteload allocations in each tributary. 

B. Every owner of a facility required to submit a registration 

statement shall either individually or through the Virginia 

Nutrient Credit Exchange Association submit annual 

compliance plan updates to the department for approval as 

required by Part I D of the general permit. 

9VAC25-820-70. General permit. 

Any owner whose registration statement is accepted by the 

board will receive the following general permit and shall 

comply with the requirements of the general permit. 

General Permit No.: VAN000000  

Effective Date: January 1, 2017 2022 

Expiration Date: December 31, 2021 2026 

GENERAL PERMIT FOR TOTAL NITROGEN AND 

TOTAL PHOSPHORUS DISCHARGES AND NUTRIENT 

TRADING IN THE CHESAPEAKE WATERSHED IN 

VIRGINIA  

AUTHORIZATION TO DISCHARGE UNDER THE 

VIRGINIA POLLUTANT DISCHARGE ELIMINATION 

SYSTEM AND THE VIRGINIA STATE WATER 

CONTROL LAW 

In compliance with the provisions of the Clean Water Act, as 

amended, and pursuant to the State Water Control Law and 

regulations adopted pursuant to it, owners of facilities holding 

a VPDES individual permit or owners of facilities that 

otherwise meet the definition of an existing facility, with total 

nitrogen or total phosphorus discharges, or both to the 

Chesapeake Bay or its tributaries, are authorized to discharge 

to surface waters and exchange credits for total nitrogen or 

total phosphorus, or both. 

The authorized discharge shall be in accordance with the 

registration statement filed with DEQ, this cover page, Part I-

Special Conditions Applicable to All Facilities, Part II-Special 

Conditions Applicable to New and Expanded Facilities, and 

Part III-Conditions Applicable to All VPDES Permits, as set 

forth herein. 

PART I 

SPECIAL CONDITIONS APPLICABLE TO ALL 

FACILITIES 

A. Authorized activities. 

1. Authorization to discharge for owners of facilities 

required to register. 

a. Every owner of a facility required to submit a 

registration statement to the department by November 1, 

2016 2021, and thereafter upon the reissuance of this 

general permit, shall be authorized to discharge total 

nitrogen and total phosphorus subject to the requirements 

of this general permit upon the department's approval of 

the registration statement. 

b. Any owner of a facility required to submit a registration 

statement with the department at the time he makes 

application with the department for a new discharge or 

expansion that is subject to an offset or technology-based 

requirement in Part II of this general permit, shall be 

authorized to discharge total nitrogen and total phosphorus 

subject to the requirements of this general permit upon the 

department's approval of the registration statement. 

c. Upon the department's approval of the registration 

statement, a facility will be included in the registration list 

maintained by the department. 

2. Authorization to discharge for owners of facilities not 

required to register. Any owner of a facility authorized by a 
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VPDES permit and not required by this general permit to 

submit a registration statement shall be deemed to be 

authorized to discharge total nitrogen and total phosphorus 

under this general permit at the time it is issued. Owners of 

facilities that are deemed to be permitted under this 

subsection shall have no obligation under this general permit 

prior to submitting a registration statement and securing 

coverage under this general permit based upon such 

registration statement. 

3. Continuation of permit coverage. 

a. Any owner authorized to discharge under this general 

permit and who submits a complete registration statement 

for the reissued general permit by November 1, 2021 

2026, in accordance with Part III M or who is not required 

to register in accordance with Part I A 2 is authorized to 

continue to discharge under the terms of this general 

permit until such time as the board either: 

(1) Issues coverage to the owner under the reissued 

general permit, or 

(2) Notifies the owner that the discharge is not eligible for 

coverage under this general permit. 

b. When the owner that was covered under the expiring or 

expired general permit has violated or is violating the 

conditions of that permit, the board may choose to do any 

or all of the following: 

(1) Initiate enforcement action based upon the 2012 2017 

general permit, 

(2) Issue a notice of intent to deny coverage under the 

reissued general permit. If the general permit coverage is 

denied, the owner would then be required to cease the 

discharges authorized by the administratively continued 

coverage under the terms of the 2012 2017 general permit 

or be subject to enforcement action for operating without 

a permit, or 

(3) Take other actions authorized by the State Water 

Control Law. 

B. Wasteload allocations. 

1. Wasteload allocations allocated to permitted facilities 

pursuant to 9VAC25-720-50 C, 9VAC25-720-60 C, 

9VAC25-720-70 C, 9VAC25-720-110 C, and 9VAC25-

720-120 C of the Water Quality Management Planning 

Regulation, or applicable TMDLs, or wasteload allocations 

acquired by owners of new and expanding facilities to offset 

new or increased delivered total nitrogen and delivered total 

phosphorus loads from a new discharge or expansion under 

Part II B of this general permit, and existing loads calculated 

from the permitted design capacity of expanding facilities 

not previously covered by this general permit, shall be 

incorporated into the registration list maintained by the 

department. The wasteload allocations contained in this list 

shall be enforceable as annual mass load limits in this 

general permit. Credits shall not be generated by facilities 

whose operations were previously authorized by a Virginia 

Pollution Abatement (VPA) permit that was issued before 

July 1, 2005. 

2. Except as described in subdivisions 2 c and 2 d of this 

subsection, an owner of two or more facilities covered by 

this general permit and discharging to the same tributary 

may apply for and receive an aggregated mass load limit for 

delivered total nitrogen and an aggregated mass load limit 

for delivered total phosphorus reflecting the total of the 

water quality-based total nitrogen and total phosphorus 

wasteload allocations or permitted design capacities 

established for such facilities individually. 

a. The permittee (and all of the individual facilities 

covered under a single registration) shall be deemed to be 

in compliance when the aggregate mass load discharged 

by the facilities is less than the aggregate load limit. 

b. The permittee will be eligible to generate credits only if 

the aggregate mass load discharged by the facilities is less 

than the total of the wasteload allocations assigned to any 

of the affected facilities. 

c. The aggregation of mass load limits shall not affect any 

requirement to comply with local water quality-based 

limitations. 

d. Facilities whose operations were previously authorized 

by a Virginia Pollution Abatement (VPA) permit that was 

issued before July 1, 2005, cannot be aggregated with 

other facilities under common ownership or operation. 

e. Operation under an aggregated mass load limit in 

accordance with this section shall not be deemed credit 

acquisition as described in Part I J 2 of this general permit. 

3. An owner that consolidates two or more facilities 

discharging to the same tributary into a single regional 

facility may apply for and receive an aggregated mass load 

limit for delivered total nitrogen and an aggregated mass 

load limit for delivered total phosphorus, subject to the 

following conditions: 

a. Aggregate mass limits will be calculated accounting for 

delivery factors in effect at the time of the consolidation. 

b. If all of the affected facilities have wasteload allocations 

in 9VAC25-720-50 C, 9VAC25-720-60 C, 9VAC25-720-

70 C, 9VAC25-720-110 C, and 9VAC25-720-120 C of the 

Water Quality Management Planning Regulation, the 

aggregate mass load limit shall be calculated by adding the 

wasteload allocations of the affected facilities. The 

regional facility shall be eligible to generate credits. 

b. c. If any, but not all, of the affected facilities has a 

wasteload allocation in 9VAC25-720-50 C, 9VAC25-

720-60 C, 9VAC25-720-70 C, 9VAC25-720-110 C, and 

9VAC25-720-120 C of the Water Quality Management 

Planning Regulation, the aggregate mass load limit shall 

be calculated by adding: 
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(1) Wasteload allocations of those facilities that have 

wasteload allocations in 9VAC25-720-50 C, 9VAC25-

720-60 C, 9VAC25-720-70 C, 9VAC25-720-110 C, and 

9VAC25-720-120 C of the Water Quality Management 

Planning Regulation; 

(2) Permitted design capacities assigned to affected 

industrial facilities; and 

(3) Loads from affected sewage treatment works that do 

not have a wasteload allocation in 9VAC25-720-50 C, 

9VAC25-720-60 C, 9VAC25-720-70 C, 9VAC25-720-

110 C, and 9VAC25-720-120 C of the Water Quality 

Management Planning Regulation, defined as the lesser of 

a previously calculated permitted design capacity, or the 

values calculated by the following formulae: 

Nitrogen Load (lbs/day year) = flow (MGD) x 8.0 mg/l x 

8.345 x 365 days/year 

Phosphorus Load (lbs/day year) = flow (MGD) x 1.0 mg/l 

x 8.345 x 365 days/year 

Flows used in the preceding formulae shall be the design 

flow of the treatment works from which the affected 

facility currently discharges. 

The regional facility shall be eligible to generate credits. 

c. d. If none of the affected facilities have a wasteload 

allocation in 9VAC25-720-50 C, 9VAC25-720-60 C, 

9VAC25-720-70 C, 9VAC25-720-110 C, and 9VAC25-

720-120 C of the Water Quality Management Planning 

Regulation, the aggregate mass load limit shall be 

calculated by adding the respective permitted design 

capacities for the affected facilities. 

d. e. Facilities whose operations were previously 

authorized by a Virginia Pollution Abatement (VPA) 

permit that was issued before July 1, 2005, may be 

consolidated with other facilities under common 

ownership or operation, but their allocations cannot be 

transferred to the regional facility. 

e. f. Facilities whose operations were previously 

authorized by a VPA permit that was issued before July 1, 

2005, can become regional facilities, but they cannot 

receive additional allocations beyond those permitted in 

Part II B 1 d of this general permit. 

4. Unless otherwise noted, the nitrogen and phosphorus 

wasteload allocations assigned to permitted facilities are 

considered total loads, including nutrients present in the 

intake water from the river, as applicable. On a case-by-case 

basis, an industrial discharger may demonstrate to the 

satisfaction of the board that a portion of the nutrient load 

originates in its intake water. This demonstration shall be 

consistent with the assumptions and methods used to derive 

the allocations through the Chesapeake Bay models. In these 

cases, the board may limit the permitted discharge to the net 

nutrient load portion of the assigned wasteload allocation. 

5. Bioavailability. Unless otherwise noted, the entire 

nitrogen and phosphorus wasteload allocations assigned to 

permitted facilities are considered to be bioavailable to 

organisms in the receiving stream. On a case-by-case basis, 

a discharger may demonstrate to the satisfaction of the board 

that a portion of the nutrient load is not bioavailable; this 

demonstration shall not be based on the ability of the nutrient 

to resist degradation at the wastewater treatment plant, but 

instead, on the ability of the nutrient to resist degradation 

within a natural environment for the amount of time that it is 

expected to remain in the Chesapeake Bay watershed. This 

demonstration shall also be consistent with the assumptions 

and methods used to derive the allocations through the 

Chesapeake Bay models. In these cases, the board may limit 

the permitted discharge to the bioavailable portion of the 

assigned wasteload allocation. 

C. Schedule of compliance. 

1. The following schedule of compliance pertaining to the 

load allocations for total nitrogen and total phosphorus 

applies to the facilities listed in 9VAC25-820-80. 

a. Compliance shall be achieved as soon as possible, but 

no later than the following dates, subject to any 

compliance plan-based adjustment by the board pursuant 

to subdivision 1 b of this subsection, for each upgrade 

phase: 

Upgrade Phase Limit Effective Date 

Phase I Total Nitrogen January 1, 2017 

Phase 2 Total Nitrogen January 1, 2022 

Phase 2 Total Phosphorus January 1, 2017 

b. Following submission of compliance plans and 

compliance plan updates required by 9VAC25-820-40, the 

board shall reevaluate the schedule of compliance in 

subdivision 1 a of this subsection, taking into account the 

information in the compliance plans and the factors in 

§ 62.1-44.19:14 C 2 of the Code of Virginia. When 

warranted based on such information and factors, the 

board shall adjust the schedule in subdivision 1 a of this 

subsection as appropriate by modification or reissuance of 

this general permit. 

2. The registration list shall contain individual dates for 

compliance with wasteload allocations for dischargers, as 

follows: 

a. Owners of facilities listed in 9VAC25-820-80 will have 

individual dates for compliance based on their respective 

compliance plans that may be earlier than the upgrade 

phase schedule listed in subdivision 1 of this subsection. 

b. Owners of facilities listed in 9VAC25-820-80 that 

waive their compliance schedules in accordance with 

9VAC25-820-40 A 2 b shall have an individual 

compliance date of January 1, 2017. 
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c. Upon completion of the projects contained in their 

compliance plans, owners of facilities listed in 9VAC25-

820-80 may receive a revised individual compliance date 

of January 1 for the calendar year immediately following 

the year in which a Certificate to Operate was issued for 

the capital projects, but not later than the upgrade phase 

schedule listed in subdivision 1 of this subsection. 

d. Owners of new and expanded facilities will have 

individual dates for compliance corresponding to the date 

that coverage under this general permit was extended to 

discharges from the facility. 

3. The significant dischargers in the James River Basin shall 

meet aggregate discharged wasteload allocations of 

8,968,864 lbs/yr TN and 545,558 lbs/yr TP by January 1, 

2023. 

D. Annual update of compliance plan. Every owner of a 

facility required to submit a registration statement shall either 

individually or through the Virginia Nutrient Credit Exchange 

Association submit updated compliance plans to the 

department no later than February 1 of each year. The 

compliance plans shall contain sufficient information to 

document a plan to achieve and maintain compliance with 

applicable total nitrogen and total phosphorus individual 

wasteload allocations on the registration list and aggregate 

wasteload allocations in Part I C 3. Compliance plans for 

owners of facilities that were required to submit a registration 

statement with the department under Part I G 1 a may rely on 

the acquisition of point source credits in accordance with Part 

I J of this general permit, but not the acquisition of credits 

through payments into the Nutrient Offset Fund, to achieve 

compliance with the individual and combined wasteload 

allocations in each tributary. Compliance plans for expansions 

or new discharges for owners of facilities that are required to 

submit a registration statement with the department under Part 

I G 1 b and c may rely on the acquisition of allocation in 

accordance with Part II B of this general permit to achieve 

compliance with the individual and combined wasteload 

allocations in each tributary. 

E. Monitoring requirements. 

1. Discharges shall be monitored by the permittee during 

weekdays as specified in the table below unless the 

department determines that weekday only sampling results 

in a non-representative load. Weekend monitoring or 

alternative monthly load calculations to address production 

schedules or seasonal flows shall be submitted to the 

department for review and approval on a case-by-case basis. 

Facilities that exhibit instantaneous discharge flows that 

vary from the daily average discharge flow by less than 10% 

may submit a proposal to the department to use an 

alternative sample type; such proposals shall be reviewed 

and approved by the department on a case-by-case basis. 

Parameter Sample Type and Collection Frequency 

STP design flow ≥20.0 MGD 
1.0 - 19.999 

MGD 

0.5 - 0.999 MGD 0.040 - 0.499 

MGD 
< 0.040 MGD 

Effluent TN load 

limit for 

industrial 

facilities 

 
≥100,000 - > 

350,000 lb/yr 

50,000 - 99,999 

lb/yr 
487 - 49,999 lb/yr < 487 lb/yr 

Effluent TP load 

limit for 

industrial 

facilities 

 
≥10,000 - > 

35,000 lb/yr 

5,000 - 9,999 

lb/yr 
37 - 4,999 lb/yr < 37 lb/yr 

Flow Totalizing, Indicating, and Recording 

1/Day, see 

individual 

VPDES permit 

for sample type 

Nitrogen 

Compounds 

(Total Nitrogen = 

TKN + NO2- (as 

N) + NO3- (as N)) 

24 HC  

3 Days/Week 

24 HC 

2 Days/Week* 

8 HC 

2 Days/Week* 

8 HC  

2/Month, > 7 

days apart 

1/Month 

Grab 

Total Phosphorus 
24 HC  

3 Days/Week 

24 HC 

2 Days/Week* 

8 HC 

2 Days/Week* 

8 HC  

2/Month, > 7 

days apart 

1/Month 

Grab 

*Two flow composited samples taken in the same calendar week that are then composited by flow into a single weekly composite sample 

for analysis shall be considered to be in compliance with this requirement. 
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2. Monitoring for compliance with effluent limitations shall 

be performed in a manner identical to that used to determine 

compliance with effluent limitations established in the 

individual VPDES permit unless specified otherwise in 

subdivisions 3, 4, and 5 of Part I E. Monitoring or sampling 

shall be conducted according to analytical laboratory 

methods approved under 40 CFR Part 136, unless other test 

or sample collection procedures have been requested by the 

permittee and approved by the department in writing. All 

analysis for compliance with effluent limitations shall be 

conducted in accordance with 1VAC30-45, Certification for 

Noncommercial Environmental Laboratories, or 1VAC30-

46, Accreditation for Commercial Environmental 

Laboratories. Monitoring may be performed by the 

permittee at frequencies more stringent than listed in 

subdivision 1 of Part I E; however, the permittee shall report 

all results of such monitoring. 

3. Loading values greater than or equal to 10 pounds 

reported in accordance with Part I E and F of this general 

permit shall be calculated and reported to the nearest pound 

without regard to mathematical rules of precision. Loading 

values of less than 10 pounds reported in accordance with 

Part I E and F of this general permit shall be calculated and 

reported to at least two significant digits with the exception 

that all complete calendar year annual loads shall be reported 

to the nearest pound. 

4. Data shall be reported on a form provided by the 

department, by the same date each month as is required by 

the owner's individual VPDES permit. The total monthly 

load shall be calculated in accordance with the following 

formula: 

 

where: 

ML = total monthly load (lb/mo) = average daily load for 

the calendar month multiplied by the number of days of 

the calendar month on which a discharge occurred 

DL = daily load = daily concentration (expressed as mg/l 

to the nearest 0.01 mg/l) multiplied by the flow volume of 

effluent discharged during the 24-hour period (expressed 

as MGD to at least the nearest 0.01 MGD and in no case 

less than two significant digits), multiplied by 8.345. Daily 

loads greater than or equal to 10 pounds may be rounded 

to the nearest whole number to convert to pounds per day 

(lbs/day). Daily loads less than or equal to 10 pounds may 

be rounded to no fewer than two significant figures. 

s = number of days in the calendar month in which a 

sample was collected and analyzed 

d = number of discharge days in the calendar month 

For total phosphorus, all daily concentration data below the 

quantification level (QL) for the analytical method used 

shall be treated as half the QL. All daily concentration data 

equal to or above the QL for the analytical method used shall 

be treated as it is reported. If all data are below the QL, then 

the average shall be reported as half the QL. 

For total nitrogen (TN), if none of the daily concentration 

data for the respective species (i.e., TKN, nitrates/nitrites) 

are equal to or above the QL for the respective analytical 

methods used, the daily TN concentration value reported 

shall equal one half of the largest QL used for the respective 

species. If one of the data is equal to or above the QL, the 

daily TN concentration value shall be treated as that data 

point as reported. If more than one of the data is above the 

QL, the daily TN concentration value shall equal the sum of 

the data points as reported. 

The quantification levels shall be less than or equal to the 

following concentrations: 

Parameter Quantification Level 

TKN 0.50 mg/l 

Nitrite 0.10 mg/l 

Nitrate 0.20 mg/l 

Nitrite + Nitrate 0.20 mg/l 

Higher QLs may be approved on a case-by-case basis where 

a higher QL routinely results in reportable results of the 

species in question or is otherwise technically appropriate 

based on standard lab practices. 

The total year-to-date mass load shall be calculated in 

accordance with the following formula: 

 

where: 

AL-YTD = calendar year-to-date annual load (lb/yr) 

ML = total monthly load (lb/mo) 

The total annual mass load shall be calculated in accordance 

with the following formula: 

 

where: 

AL = calendar year annual load (lb/yr) 

ML = total monthly load (lb/mo) 

5. The department may authorize a chemical usage 

evaluation as an alternative means of determining nutrient 

loading for outfalls where the only source of nutrients is that 

found in the surface water intake and chemical additives 

used by the facility. Such an evaluation shall be submitted to 

the department for review and approval on a case-by-case 

basis. Implementation of approved chemical usage 



Regulations 

Volume 37, Issue 26  Virginia Register of Regulations  August 16, 2021  

3957 

evaluations shall satisfy the requirements specified under 

Part I E 1 and 2. 

F. Annual reporting. On or before February 1, annually, each 

permittee shall file a discharge monitoring report with the 

department identifying the annual mass load of total nitrogen 

and the annual mass load of total phosphorus discharged by the 

permitted facility during the previous calendar year. 

G. Requirement to register; exclusions. 

1. The following owners are required to register for coverage 

under this general permit: 

a. Every owner of an existing facility authorized by a 

VPDES permit to discharge 100,000 gallons or more per 

day from a sewage treatment work, or an equivalent load 

from an industrial facility, directly into tidal waters, or 

500,000 gallons or more per day from a sewage treatment 

works, or an equivalent load from an industrial facility, 

directly into nontidal waters shall submit a registration 

statement to the department by November 1, 2016, and 

thereafter upon the reissuance of this general permit in 

accordance with Part III M. The conditions of this general 

permit will apply to such owner upon approval of a 

registration statement. 

b. Any owner of a facility authorized by a Virginia 

Pollutant Discharge Elimination System permit to 

discharge 40,000 gallons or more per day from a sewage 

treatment works, or an equivalent load from an industrial 

facility, directly into tidal or nontidal waters shall submit 

a registration statement with the department at the time he 

makes application for an individual permit with the 

department for a new discharge or expansion that is 

subject to an offset requirement in Part II of this general 

permit or to a technology-based requirement in 9VAC25-

40-70, and thereafter upon the reissuance of this general 

permit in accordance with Part III M. The conditions of 

this general permit will apply to such owner beginning 

January 1 of the calendar year immediately following 

approval of a registration statement and issuance or 

modification of the individual permit. 

c. Any owner of a facility treating domestic sewage 

authorized by a VPDES permit with a discharge greater 

than 1,000 gallons per day up to and including 39,999 

gallons per day that did not commence the discharge of 

pollutants prior to January 1, 2011, and is subject to offset 

requirements in accordance with Part II A 1 c of this 

general permit shall submit a registration statement with 

the department at the time he the owner makes application 

for an individual permit with the department or prior to 

commencing a discharge, whichever occurs first, and 

thereafter upon the reissuance of this general permit in 

accordance with Part III M. 

2. All other categories of discharges are excluded from 

registration under this general permit. 

H. Registration statement. 

1. The registration statement shall contain the following 

information: 

a. Name, mailing address and telephone number, email 

address, and fax number of the owner (and facility 

operator, if different from the owner) applying for permit 

coverage; 

b. Name (or other identifier), address, city or county, 

contact name, phone number, email address, and fax 

number for the facility for which the registration statement 

is submitted; 

c. VPDES permit numbers for all permits assigned to the 

facility, or pursuant to which the discharge is authorized; 

d. If applying for an aggregated wasteload allocation in 

accordance with Part I B 2 of this permit, a list of all 

affected facilities and the VPDES permit numbers 

assigned to these facilities; 

e. For new and expanded facilities, a plan to offset new or 

increased delivered total nitrogen and delivered total 

phosphorus loads, including the amount of wasteload 

allocation acquired. Wasteload allocations or credits 

sufficient to offset projected nutrient loads must be 

provided for period of at least five years; and 

f. For existing facilities, the amount of a facility's 

wasteload allocation transferred to or from another facility 

to offset new or increased delivered total nitrogen and 

delivered total phosphorus loads from a new discharge or 

expansion. 

2. The registration statement shall be submitted to the DEQ 

Central Office, Office of VPDES Permits. Following 

notification from the department of the start date for the 

required electronic submission of Notices of Intent to 

Discharge forms (i.e., registration statements), as provided 

for in 9VAC25-31-1020, such form submitted after that date 

shall be electronically submitted to the department in 

compliance with this section and 9VAC25-31-1020. At least 

three months' notice shall be provided between the 

notification from the department and the date after which 

such forms must be submitted electronically. 

3. An amended registration statement shall be submitted to 

DEQ immediately upon the acquisition or transfer of a 

facility's wasteload allocation to offset new or increased 

delivered total nitrogen and delivered total phosphorus loads 

from a new discharge or expansion. 

I. Public notice for registration statements proposing 

modifications or incorporations of new wasteload allocations 

or delivery factors. 

1. All public notices issued pursuant to a proposed 

modification or incorporation of a (i) new wasteload 

allocation to offset new or increased delivered total nitrogen 

and delivered total phosphorus loads from a new discharge 



Regulations 

Volume 37, Issue 26  Virginia Register of Regulations  August 16, 2021  

3958 

or expansion or (ii) delivery factor shall be published once a 

week for two consecutive weeks in a local newspaper of 

general circulation serving the locality where the facility is 

located informing the public that the owner of the facility 

intends to apply for coverage under this general permit. At a 

minimum, the notice shall include: 

a. A statement of the owner's intent to register for coverage 

under this general permit; 

b. A brief description of the facility and its location; 

c. The amount of wasteload allocation that will be 

acquired or transferred if applicable; 

d. The delivery factor for a new discharge or expansion; 

e. If applicable, any proposed nonpoint source to point 

source trading ratio less than 2:1 proposed under Part II B 

1 b (1); 

f. A statement that the purpose of the public participation 

is to acquaint the public with the technical aspects of the 

facility and how the standards and the requirements of this 

chapter will be met, to identify issues of concern, to 

facilitate communication, and to establish a dialogue 

between the owner and persons who may be affected by 

the discharge from the facility; 

g. An announcement of a 30-day comment period and the 

name, telephone number, and address of the owner's 

representative who can be contacted by the interested 

persons to answer questions; 

h. The name, telephone number, and address of the DEQ 

representative who can be contacted by the interested 

persons to answer questions, or where comments shall be 

sent; and 

i. The location where copies of the documentation to be 

submitted to the department in support of this general 

permit notification and any supporting documents can be 

viewed and copied. 

2. The owner shall place a copy of the documentation and 

support documents in a location accessible to the public in 

the vicinity of the proposed facility. 

3. The public shall be provided 30 days to comment on the 

technical and the regulatory aspects of the proposal. The 

comment period will begin on the date the notice is 

published in the local newspaper. 

J. Compliance with wasteload allocations. 

1. Methods of compliance. The owner of the permitted 

facility shall comply with its wasteload allocation contained 

in the registration list maintained by the department. The 

owner of the permitted facility shall be in compliance with 

its wasteload allocation if: 

a. The annual mass load is less than or equal to the 

applicable wasteload allocation assigned to the facility in 

this general permit (or permitted design capacity for 

expanded facilities without allocations); 

b. The owner of the permitted facility acquires sufficient 

point source nitrogen or phosphorus credits in accordance 

with subdivision 2 of this subsection; provided, however, 

that the acquisition of nitrogen or phosphorus credits 

pursuant to this section shall not alter or otherwise affect 

the individual wasteload allocations for each permitted 

facility; or 

c. In the event he is unable to meet the individual 

wasteload allocation pursuant to subdivision 1 a or 1 b of 

this subsection, the owner of the permitted facility 

acquires sufficient nitrogen or phosphorus credits through 

payments made into the Nutrient Offset Fund pursuant to 

subdivision 3 of this subsection; provided, however, that 

the acquisition of nitrogen or phosphorus credits pursuant 

to this section shall not alter or otherwise affect the 

individual wasteload allocations for each permitted 

facility. 

2. Credit acquisition from owners of permitted facilities. A 

permittee may acquire point source nitrogen credits or point 

source phosphorus credits from one or more owners of 

permitted facilities only if: 

a. The credits are generated and applied to a compliance 

obligation in the same calendar year; 

b. The credits are generated by one or more permitted 

facilities in the same tributary, except that owners of 

permitted facilities in the Eastern Shore Basin may also 

acquire credits from owners of permitted facilities in the 

Potomac and Rappahannock tributaries. Owners of 

Eastern Shore Basin facilities may acquire credits from the 

owners of Potomac tributary facilities at a trading ratio of 

1:1. A trading ratio of 1.3:1 shall apply to the acquisition 

of credits from the owners of a Rappahannock tributary 

facility by the owner of an Eastern Shore Basin facility; 

c. The exchange or acquisition of credits does not affect 

any requirement to comply with local water quality-based 

limitations as determined by the board; 

d. The credits are acquired no later than June 1 

immediately following the calendar year in which the 

credits are applied; 

e. The credits are generated by a facility that has been 

constructed, and has discharged from treatment works 

whose design flow or equivalent industrial activity is the 

basis for the facility's wasteload allocations (until a facility 

is constructed and has commenced operation, such credits 

are held, and may be sold, by the Nutrient Offset Fund; 

and 

f. No later than June 1 immediately following the calendar 

year in which the credits are applied, the permittee 

certifies on a credit exchange notification form supplied 

by the department that he has acquired sufficient credits to 

satisfy his compliance obligations. The permittee shall 

comply with the terms and conditions contained in the 
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credit exchange notification form submitted to the 

department. 

3. Credit acquisitions from the Nutrient Offset Fund. Until 

such time as the board finds that no allocations are 

reasonably available in an individual tributary, permittees 

that cannot meet their total nitrogen or total phosphorus 

effluent limit may acquire nitrogen or phosphorus credits 

through payments made into the Nutrient Offset Fund 

established in § 10.1-2128.2 of the Code of Virginia only if, 

no later than June 1 immediately following the calendar year 

in which the credits are to be applied, the permittee certifies 

on a form supplied by the department that he has diligently 

sought, but has been unable to acquire, sufficient credits to 

satisfy his compliance obligations through the acquisition of 

point source nitrogen or phosphorus credits with other 

permitted facilities, and that he has acquired sufficient 

credits to satisfy his compliance obligations through one or 

more payments made in accordance with the terms of this 

general permit. Such certification may include, but not be 

limited to, providing a record of solicitation or 

demonstration that point source allocations are not available 

for sale in the tributary in which the permittee's facility is 

located. Payments to the Nutrient Offset Fund shall be in the 

amount of $4.60 $5.08 for each pound of nitrogen and 

$10.10 $11.15 for each pound of phosphorus and shall be 

subject to the following requirements: 

a. The credits are generated and applied to a compliance 

obligation in the same calendar year. 

b. The credits are generated in the same tributary, except 

that owners of permitted facilities in the Eastern Shore 

Basin may also acquire credits from the owners of 

facilities that discharge to the Potomac and Rappahannock 

tributaries. Owners of Eastern Shore Basin facilities may 

acquire credits from the owners of facilities that discharge 

to a Potomac tributary at a trading ratio of 1:1. A trading 

ratio of 1.3:1 shall apply to the acquisition of credits from 

owners of facilities that discharge to a Rappahannock 

tributary by the owners of an Eastern Shore Basin facility. 

c. The acquisition of credits does not affect any 

requirement to comply with local water quality-based 

limitations, as determined by the board. 

4. This general permit neither requires nor prohibits a 

municipality or regional sewerage authority's development 

and implementation of trading programs among industrial 

users, which are consistent with the pretreatment regulatory 

requirements at 40 CFR Part 403 and the municipality's or 

authority's individual VPDES permit. 

Part II 

SPECIAL CONDITIONS APPLICABLE TO NEW AND 

EXPANDED FACILITIES 

A. Offsetting mass loads discharged by new and expanded 

facilities. 

1. An owner of a new or expanded facility shall comply with 

the applicable requirements of this section as a condition of 

the facility's coverage under this general permit. 

a. An owner of a facility authorized by a VPDES permit 

first issued before July 1, 2005, that expands the facility to 

discharge 40,000 gallons or more per day, or an equivalent 

load, shall demonstrate to the department that he has 

acquired wasteload allocations sufficient to offset any 

increase in his delivered total nitrogen and delivered total 

phosphorus loads resulting from any expansion beyond his 

permitted capacity as of July 1, 2005. 

b. An owner of a facility authorized by a VPDES permit 

first issued on or after July 1, 2005, to discharge 40,000 

gallons or more per day, or an equivalent load, shall 

demonstrate to the department that he has acquired 

wasteload allocations sufficient to offset his delivered 

total nitrogen and delivered total phosphorus loads. 

c. An owner of a facility treating domestic sewage 

authorized by a VPDES permit with a discharge greater 

than 1,000 gallons per day up to and including 39,999 

gallons per day that did not commence the discharge of 

pollutants prior to January 1, 2011, shall demonstrate to 

the department that he has acquired wasteload allocations 

sufficient to offset his delivered total nitrogen and 

delivered phosphorus loads prior to commencing the 

discharge, except when the facility is for short-term 

temporary use only as determined by the department or 

when treatment of domestic sewage is not the primary 

purpose of the facility. 

2. Offset calculations shall address the proposed discharge 

that exceeds: 

a. The applicable wasteload allocation assigned to 

discharges from the facility in this general permit, for 

expanding significant dischargers with a wasteload 

allocation listed in 9VAC25-720-50 C, 9VAC25-720-60 

C, 9VAC25-720-70 C, 9VAC25-720-110 C, and 

9VAC25-720-120 C of the Water Quality Management 

Planning Regulation; 

b. The permitted design capacity, for all other expanding 

dischargers; and 

c. Zero, for facilities with a new discharge. 

3. An owner of multiple facilities that discharge into the 

same tributary, and assigned an aggregate mass load limit in 

accordance with Part I B 2 of this general permit, that 

undertakes construction of new or expanded facilities shall 

be required to acquire wasteload allocations sufficient to 

offset any increase in delivered total nitrogen and delivered 

total phosphorus loads resulting from any expansion beyond 

the aggregate mass load limit assigned these facilities. 

B. Acquisition of wasteload allocations. wasteload Wasteload 

allocations required by this section to offset new or increased 
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delivered total nitrogen and delivered total phosphorus loads 

shall be acquired in accordance with this section. 

1. Such allocations may be acquired from one or a 

combination of the following: 

a. Acquisition of all or a portion of the wasteload 

allocations or point source nitrogen or point source 

phosphorus credits from the owners of one or more 

permitted facilities, based on delivered pounds by the 

respective trading parties as listed by the department; 

b. Acquisition of credits certified by the board pursuant to 

§ 62.1-44.19:20 of the Code of Virginia. Credits used to 

offset new or increased nutrient loads under this 

subdivision shall be: 

(1) Subject to a trading ratio of two pounds reduced for 

every pound to be discharged if certified as a nonpoint 

source credit by the board pursuant to § 62.1-44.19:20 of 

the Code of Virginia. On a case-by-case basis the board 

may approve nonpoint source to source trading ratios of 

less than 2:1 (but not less than 1:1) when the applicant 

demonstrates factors that ameliorate the presumed 2:1 

uncertainty ratio for credits generation by nonpoint 

sources such as: 

(a) When direct and representative monitoring of the 

pollutant loadings from a nonpoint source is performed in 

a manner and at a frequency similar to that performed at 

VPDES point sources and there is consistency in the 

effectiveness of the operation of the nonpoint source best 

management practice (BMP) approaching that of a 

conventional point source. 

(b) When nonpoint source credits are generated from land 

conservation that ensures permanent protection through a 

conservation easement or other instrument attached to the 

deed and when load reductions can be reliably determined; 

(2) Calculated using best management practices efficiency 

rates and attenuation rates, as established by the latest 

science and relevant technical information, and approved 

by the board; 

(3) Based on appropriate delivery factors, as established 

by the latest science and relevant technical information, 

and approved by the board; 

(4) Demonstrated to have achieved reductions beyond 

those already required by or funded under federal or state 

law, or by Virginia's Chesapeake Bay TMDL Watershed 

Implementation Plan; 

(5) Generated in accordance with conditions of the 

facility's individual VPDES permit; and 

(6) In the case of credits generated by land use conversions 

and urban source reduction controls (BMPs), the credits 

shall represent nutrient reductions beyond those in place 

as of July 1, 2005; 

c. Until such time as the board finds that no allocations are 

reasonably available in an individual tributary, acquisition 

of allocations through payments made into the Nutrient 

Offset Fund established in § 10.1-2128.2 of the Code of 

Virginia; or 

d. Acquisition of allocations through such other means as 

may be approved by the department on a case-by-case 

basis. This includes allocations granted by the board to an 

owner of a facility that is authorized by a VPA permit to 

land apply domestic sewage if: 

(1) The VPA permit was issued before July 1, 2005; 

(2) The allocation does not exceed the facility's permitted 

design capacity as of July 1, 2005; 

(3) The waste treated by the facility that is covered under 

the VPA permit will be treated and discharged pursuant to 

a VPDES permit for a new discharge; and 

(4) The owner installs state-of-the-art nutrient removal 

technology at such a facility. 

2. Acquisition of allocations or point source nitrogen or 

point source phosphorus credits is subject to the following 

conditions: 

a. The allocations or credits shall be generated and applied 

to an offset obligation in the same calendar year in which 

the credit is generated; 

b. The allocations or credits shall be generated in the same 

tributary; 

c. Such acquisition does not affect any requirement to 

comply with local water quality-based limitations, as 

determined by the board; 

d. The allocations are authenticated (i.e., verified to have 

been generated) by the permittee as required by the 

facility's individual VPDES permit, utilizing procedures 

approved by the board, no later than February 1 

immediately following the calendar year in which the 

allocations are applied; and 

e. If obtained from the owner of a permitted point source, 

the allocations shall be generated by a facility that has 

been constructed, and has discharged from treatment 

works whose design flow or equivalent industrial activity 

is the basis for the facility's wasteload allocations. 

f. Such allocations or credits shall be secured for a period 

of five years with each registration under the general 

permit. 

3. Priority of options. The board shall give priority to 

allocations or credits acquired in accordance with 

subdivisions 1 a, b, and d of this subsection. The board shall 

approve allocations acquired in accordance with subdivision 

1 c of this subsection only after the owner has demonstrated 

that he has made a good faith effort to acquire sufficient 

allocations in accordance with subdivisions 1 a and 1 b of 

this subsection, and that such allocations are not reasonably 

available taking into account timing, cost and other relevant 

factors. Such demonstration may include, but not be limited 

to, providing a record of solicitation, or other demonstration 
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that point source allocations or nonpoint source allocations 

are not available for sale in the tributary in which the 

permittee's facility discharge is located. 

4. Annual allocation acquisitions from the Nutrient Offset 

Fund. The cost for each pound of nitrogen and each pound 

of phosphorus shall be determined at the time payment is 

made to the Nutrient Offset Fund, based on the higher of (i) 

the estimated cost of achieving a reduction of one pound of 

nitrogen or phosphorus at the facility that is securing the 

allocation, or comparable facility, for each pound of 

allocation acquired; or (ii) the average cost, as determined 

by the department on an annual basis, of reducing two 

pounds of nitrogen or phosphorus from nonpoint sources in 

the same tributary for each pound of allocation acquired. 

Part III 

CONDITIONS APPLICABLE TO ALL VPDES PERMITS 

A. Monitoring. 

1. Samples and measurements taken as required by this 

permit shall be representative of the monitored activity. 

2. Monitoring shall be conducted according to procedures 

approved under 40 CFR Part 136 or alternative methods 

approved by the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency, 

unless other procedures have been specified in this permit. 

3. The permittee shall periodically calibrate and perform 

maintenance procedures on all monitoring and analytical 

instrumentation at intervals that will ensure accuracy of 

measurements. 

4. Samples taken as required by this permit shall be analyzed 

in accordance with 1VAC30-45 (Certification for 

Noncommercial Environmental Laboratories) or 1VAC30-

46 (Accreditation for Commercial Environmental 

Laboratories). 

B. Records. 

1. Records of monitoring information shall include: 

a. The date, exact place, and time of sampling or 

measurements; 

b. The individuals who performed the sampling or 

measurements; 

c. The dates and times analyses were performed; 

d. The individuals who performed the analyses; 

e. The analytical techniques or methods used; and 

f. The results of such analyses. 

2. Except for records of monitoring information required by 

this permit related to the permittee's sewage sludge use and 

disposal activities, which shall be retained for a period of at 

least five years, the permittee shall retain records of all 

monitoring information, including all calibration and 

maintenance records and all original strip chart recordings 

for continuous monitoring instrumentation, copies of all 

reports required by this permit, and records of all data used 

to complete the registration statement for this permit, for a 

period of at least three years from the date of the sample, 

measurement, report, or request for coverage. This period of 

retention shall be extended automatically during the course 

of any unresolved litigation regarding the regulated activity 

or regarding control standards applicable to the permittee or 

as requested by the board. 

C. Reporting monitoring results. 

1. The permittee shall submit the results of the monitoring 

required by this permit not later than the 10th day of the 

month after monitoring takes place, unless another reporting 

schedule is specified elsewhere in this permit. Monitoring 

results shall be submitted to the department's regional office. 

2. Monitoring results shall be reported on a Discharge 

Monitoring Report (DMR) or on forms provided, approved, 

or specified by the department. 

3. If the permittee monitors any pollutant specifically 

addressed by this permit more frequently than required by 

this permit using test procedures approved under 40 CFR 

Part 136 or using other test procedures approved by the U.S. 

Environmental Protection Agency or using procedures 

specified in this permit, the results of this monitoring shall 

be included in the calculation and reporting of the data 

submitted on the DMR or reporting form specified by the 

department. 

4. Calculations for all limitations that require averaging of 

measurements shall utilize an arithmetic mean unless 

otherwise specified in this permit. 

D. Duty to provide information. The permittee shall furnish 

to the department, within a reasonable time, any information 

that the board may request to determine whether cause exists 

for modifying, revoking and reissuing, or terminating coverage 

under this permit or to determine compliance with this permit. 

The board may require the permittee to furnish, upon request, 

such plans, specifications, and other pertinent information as 

may be necessary to determine the effect of the wastes from 

the discharge on the quality of state waters or such other 

information as may be necessary to accomplish the purposes of 

the State Water Control Law. The permittee shall also furnish 

to the department, upon request, copies of records required to 

be kept by this permit. 

E. Compliance schedule reports. Reports of compliance or 

noncompliance with, or any progress reports on, interim and 

final requirements contained in any compliance schedule of 

this permit shall be submitted no later than 14 days following 

each schedule date. 

F. Unauthorized discharges. Except in compliance with this 

permit or another permit issued by the board, it shall be 

unlawful for any person to: 
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1. Discharge into state waters sewage, industrial wastes, 

other wastes, or any noxious or deleterious substances; or 

2. Otherwise alter the physical, chemical, or biological 

properties of such state waters and make them detrimental to 

the public health, to animal or aquatic life, or to the use of 

such waters for domestic or industrial consumption, for 

recreation, or for other uses. 

G. Reports of unauthorized discharges. Any permittee that 

discharges or causes or allows a discharge of sewage, industrial 

waste, other wastes, or any noxious or deleterious substance 

into or upon state waters in violation of Part III F, or that 

discharges or causes or allows a discharge that may reasonably 

be expected to enter state waters in violation of Part III F, shall 

notify the department of the discharge immediately upon 

discovery of the discharge, but in no case later than 24 hours 

after said discovery. A written report of the unauthorized 

discharge shall be submitted to the department within five days 

of discovery of the discharge. The written report shall contain: 

1. A description of the nature and location of the discharge; 

2. The cause of the discharge; 

3. The date on which the discharge occurred; 

4. The length of time that the discharge continued; 

5. The volume of the discharge; 

6. If the discharge is continuing, how long it is expected to 

continue; 

7. If the discharge is continuing, what the expected total 

volume of the discharge will be; and 

8. Any steps planned or taken to reduce, eliminate, and 

prevent a recurrence of the present discharge or any future 

discharge not authorized by this permit. 

Discharges reportable to the department under the immediate 

reporting requirements of other regulations are exempted from 

this requirement. 

H. Reports of unusual or extraordinary discharges. If any 

unusual or extraordinary discharge including a bypass or upset 

should occur from a treatment works and the discharge enters 

or could be expected to enter state waters, the permittee shall 

promptly notify, in no case later than 24 hours, the department 

by telephone after the discovery of the discharge. This 

notification shall provide all available details of the incident, 

including any adverse effects on aquatic life and the known 

number of fish killed. The permittee shall reduce the report to 

writing and shall submit it to the department within five days 

of discovery of the discharge in accordance with Part III I 2. 

Unusual and extraordinary discharges include, but are not 

limited to, any discharge resulting from: 

1. Unusual spillage of materials resulting directly or 

indirectly from processing operations; 

2. Breakdown of processing or accessory equipment; 

3. Failure or taking out of service some or all of the treatment 

works; and 

4. Flooding or other acts of nature. 

I. Reports of noncompliance. The permittee shall report any 

noncompliance that may adversely affect state waters or may 

endanger public health. 

1. An oral report shall be provided within 24 hours from the 

time the permittee becomes aware of the circumstances. The 

following shall be included as information that shall be 

reported within 24 hours under this paragraph: 

a. Any unanticipated bypass; and 

b. Any upset that causes a discharge to surface waters. 

2. A written report shall be submitted within five days and 

shall contain: 

a. A description of the noncompliance and its cause; 

b. The period of noncompliance, including exact dates and 

times, and if the noncompliance has not been corrected, 

the anticipated time it is expected to continue; and 

c. Steps taken or planned to reduce, eliminate, and prevent 

reoccurrence of the noncompliance. 

The board may waive the written report on a case-by-case 

basis for reports of noncompliance under Part III I if the oral 

report has been received within 24 hours and no adverse 

impact on state waters has been reported. 

3. The permittee shall report all instances of noncompliance 

not reported under Part III I 1 or 2, in writing, at the time the 

next monitoring reports are submitted. The reports shall 

contain the information listed in Part III I 2. 

NOTE: The immediate (within 24 hours) reports required in 

Part III G, H, and I may be made to the department's regional 

office. Reports may be made by telephone, FAX, or online 

at http://www.deq.virginia.gov/Programs/Pollution 

ResponsePreparedness/MakingaReport.aspx 

https://portal.deq.virginia.gov/prep/Report/Create. For 

reports outside normal working hours, a message may be left 

and this shall fulfill the immediate reporting requirement. 

For emergencies, the Virginia Department of Emergency 

Management maintains a 24-hour telephone service at 1-

800-468-8892. 

4. Where the permittee becomes aware that it failed to 

submit any relevant facts in a permit registration statement 

or submitted incorrect information in a permit registration 

statement or in any report to the department, the permittee 

shall promptly submit such facts or information. 

https://portal.deq.virginia.gov/prep/Report/Create
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J. Notice of planned changes. 

1. The permittee shall give notice to the department as soon 

as possible of any planned physical alterations or additions 

to the permitted facility. Notice is required only when: 

a. The permittee plans alteration or addition to any 

building, structure, facility, or installation from which 

there is or may be a discharge of pollutants, the 

construction of which commenced: 

(1) After promulgation of standards of performance under 

§ 306 of the Clean Water Act (33 USC § 1251 et seq.) that 

are applicable to such source; or 

(2) After proposal of standards of performance in 

accordance with § 306 of the Clean Water Act that are 

applicable to such source, but only if the standards are 

promulgated in accordance with § 306 of the Clean Water 

Act within 120 days of their proposal; 

b. The alteration or addition could significantly change the 

nature or increase the quantity of pollutants discharged. 

This notification applies to pollutants that are subject 

neither to effluent limitations nor to notification 

requirements specified elsewhere in this permit; or 

c. The alteration or addition results in a significant change 

in the permittee's sludge use or of disposal practices, and 

such alteration, addition, or change may justify the 

application of permit conditions that are different from or 

absent in the existing permit, including notification of 

additional use or of disposal sites not reported during the 

permit application process or not reported pursuant to an 

approved land application plan. 

2. The permittee shall give advance notice to the department 

of any planned changes in the permitted facility or activity 

that may result in noncompliance with permit requirements. 

K. Signatory requirements. 

1. Registration statement. All registration statements shall be 

signed as follows: 

a. For a corporation: by a responsible corporate officer. 

For the purpose of this section, a responsible corporate 

officer means (i) a president, secretary, treasurer, or vice-

president of the corporation in charge of a principal 

business function, or any other person who performs 

similar policy-making or decision-making functions for 

the corporation or (ii) the manager of one or more 

manufacturing, production, or operating facilities, 

provided the manager is authorized to make management 

decisions that govern the operation of the regulated facility 

including having the explicit or implicit duty of making 

major capital investment recommendations and initiating 

and directing other comprehensive measures to assure 

long-term environmental compliance with environmental 

laws and regulations; the manager can ensure that the 

necessary systems are established or other actions taken to 

gather complete and accurate information for permit 

registration requirements; and where authority to sign 

documents has been assigned or delegated to the manager 

in accordance with corporate procedures; 

b. For a partnership or sole proprietorship: by a general 

partner or the proprietor, respectively; or 

c. For a municipality, state, federal, or other public 

agency: by either a principal executive officer or ranking 

elected official. For purposes of this section, a principal 

executive officer of a public agency includes (i) the chief 

executive officer of the agency or (ii) a senior executive 

officer having responsibility for the overall operations of 

a principal geographic unit of the agency. 

2. Reports, etc. All reports required by permits and other 

information requested by the board shall be signed by a 

person described in Part III K 1 or by a duly authorized 

representative of that person. A person is a duly authorized 

representative only if: 

a. The authorization is made in writing by a person 

described in Part III K 1; 

b. The authorization specifies either an individual or a 

position having responsibility for the overall operation of 

the regulated facility or activity such as the position of 

plant manager, operator of a well or a well field, 

superintendent, position of equivalent responsibility, or an 

individual or position having overall responsibility for 

environmental matters for the company. A duly authorized 

representative may thus be either a named individual or 

any individual occupying a named position; and 

c. The written authorization is submitted to the 

department. 

3. Changes to authorization. If an authorization under Part 

III K 2 is no longer accurate because a different individual 

or position has responsibility for the overall operation of the 

facility, a new authorization satisfying the requirements of 

Part III K 2 shall be submitted to the department prior to or 

together with any reports, or information to be signed by an 

authorized representative. 

4. Certification. Any person signing a document under Part 

III K 1 or 2 shall make the following certification: 

"I certify under penalty of law that this document and all 

attachments were prepared under my direction or 

supervision in accordance with a system designed to 

assure that qualified personnel properly gather and 

evaluate the information submitted. Based on my inquiry 

of the person or persons who manage the system, or those 

persons directly responsible for gathering the information, 

the information submitted is, to the best of my knowledge 

and belief, true, accurate, and complete. I am aware that 

there are significant penalties for submitting false 

information, including the possibility of fine and 

imprisonment for knowing violations." 
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L. Duty to comply. The permittee shall comply with all 

conditions of this permit. Any permit noncompliance 

constitutes a violation of the State Water Control Law and the 

Clean Water Act, except that noncompliance with certain 

provisions of this permit may constitute a violation of the State 

Water Control Law but not the Clean Water Act. Permit 

noncompliance is grounds for enforcement action; for, permit 

coverage termination, revocation and reissuance, or 

modification; or denial of a permit coverage renewal 

application. 

The permittee shall comply with effluent standards or 

prohibitions established under § 307(a) of the Clean Water Act 

for toxic pollutants and with standards for sewage sludge use 

or disposal established under § 405(d) of the Clean Water Act 

within the time provided in the regulations that establish these 

standards or prohibitions or standards for sewage sludge use or 

disposal, even if this permit has not yet been modified to 

incorporate the requirement. 

M. Duty to reapply. If the permittee wishes to continue an 

activity regulated by this permit after the expiration date of this 

permit, the permittee shall submit a new registration statement 

at least 60 days before the expiration date of the existing 

permit, unless permission for a later date has been granted by 

the board. The board shall not grant permission for registration 

statements to be submitted later than the expiration date of the 

existing permit. 

N. Effect of a permit. This permit does not convey any 

property rights in either real or personal property or any 

exclusive privileges, nor does it authorize any injury to private 

property or invasion of personal rights or any infringement of 

federal, state, or local law or regulations. 

O. State law. Nothing in this permit shall be construed to 

preclude the institution of any legal action under, or relieve the 

permittee from any responsibilities, liabilities, or penalties 

established pursuant to, any other state law or regulation or 

under authority preserved by § 510 of the Clean Water Act. 

Except as provided in permit conditions on "bypassing" (Part 

III U) and "upset" (Part III V), nothing in this permit shall be 

construed to relieve the permittee from civil and criminal 

penalties for noncompliance. 

P. Oil and hazardous substance liability. Nothing in this 

permit shall be construed to preclude the institution of any 

legal action or relieve the permittee from responsibilities, 

liabilities, or penalties to which the permittee is or may be 

subject under §§ 62.1-44.34:14 through 62.1-44.34:23 of the 

State Water Control Law. 

Q. Proper operation and maintenance. The permittee shall at 

all times properly operate and maintain all facilities and 

systems of treatment and control (and related appurtenances) 

that are installed or used by the permittee to achieve 

compliance with the conditions of this permit. Proper operation 

and maintenance also include effective plant performance, 

adequate funding, adequate staffing, and adequate laboratory 

and process controls, including appropriate quality assurance 

procedures. This provision requires the operation of back-up or 

auxiliary facilities or similar systems that are installed by the 

permittee only when the operation is necessary to achieve 

compliance with the conditions of this permit. 

R. Disposal of solids or sludges. Solids, sludges, or other 

pollutants removed in the course of treatment or management 

of pollutants shall be disposed of in a manner so as to prevent 

any pollutant from such materials from entering state waters. 

S. Duty to mitigate. The permittee shall take all reasonable 

steps to minimize or prevent any discharge or sludge use or 

disposal in violation of this permit that has a reasonable 

likelihood of adversely affecting human health or the 

environment. 

T. Need to halt or reduce activity not a defense. It shall not be 

a defense for a permittee in an enforcement action that it would 

have been necessary to halt or reduce the permitted activity in 

order to maintain compliance with the conditions of this 

permit. 

U. Bypass. 

1. "Bypass" means the intentional diversion of waste streams 

from any portion of a treatment facility. The permittee may 

allow any bypass to occur that does not cause effluent 

limitations to be exceeded, but only if it also is for essential 

maintenance to ensure efficient operation. These bypasses 

are not subject to the provisions of Part III U 2 and 3. 

2. Notice. 

a. Anticipated bypass. If the permittee knows in advance 

of the need for a bypass, prior notice shall be submitted, if 

possible, at least 10 days before the date of the bypass. 

b. Unanticipated bypass. The permittee shall submit notice 

of an unanticipated bypass as required in Part III I. 

3. Prohibition of bypass. 

a. Bypass is prohibited, and the board may take 

enforcement action against a permittee for bypass, unless: 

(1) Bypass was unavoidable to prevent loss of life, 

personal injury, or severe property damage; 

(2) There were no feasible alternatives to the bypass, such 

as the use of auxiliary treatment facilities, retention of 

untreated wastes, or maintenance during normal periods of 

equipment downtime. This condition is not satisfied if 

adequate back-up equipment should have been installed in 

the exercise of reasonable engineering judgment to 

prevent a bypass that occurred during normal periods of 

equipment downtime or preventive maintenance; and 

(3) The permittee submitted notices as required under Part 

III U 2. 
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b. The board may approve an anticipated bypass after 

considering its adverse effects if the board determines that 

it will meet the three conditions listed in Part III U 3 a. 

V. Upset. 

1. An upset, defined in 9VAC25-31-10, constitutes an 

affirmative defense to an action brought for noncompliance 

with technology-based permit effluent limitations if the 

requirements of Part III V 2 are met. A determination made 

during administrative review of claims that noncompliance 

was caused by upset, and before an action for 

noncompliance, is not a final administrative action subject 

to judicial review. 

2. A permittee who wishes to establish the affirmative 

defense of upset shall demonstrate through properly signed, 

contemporaneous operating logs, or other relevant evidence 

that: 

a. An upset occurred and that the permittee can identify 

the cause or causes of the upset; 

b. The permitted facility was at the time being properly 

operated; 

c. The permittee submitted notice of the upset as required 

in Part III I; and 

d. The permittee complied with remedial measures 

required under Part III S. 

3. In any enforcement proceeding the permittee seeking to 

establish the occurrence of an upset has the burden of proof. 

W. Inspection and entry. The permittee shall allow the 

director, or an authorized representative, including an 

authorized contractor acting as a representative of the 

administrator, upon presentation of credentials and other 

documents as may be required by law, to: 

1. Enter upon the permittee's premises where a regulated 

facility or activity is located or conducted, or where records 

must be kept under the conditions of this permit; 

2. Have access to and copy, at reasonable times, any records 

that must be kept under the conditions of this permit; 

3. Inspect at reasonable times facilities, equipment 

(including monitoring and control equipment), practices, or 

operations regulated or required under this permit; and 

4. Sample or monitor at reasonable times, for the purposes 

of assuring permit compliance or as otherwise authorized by 

the Clean Water Act and the State Water Control Law, 

substances or parameters at any location. 

For purposes of this section, the time for inspection shall be 

deemed reasonable during regular business hours and or 

whenever the facility is discharging. Nothing contained herein 

shall make an inspection unreasonable during an emergency. 

X. Permit actions. Permits may be modified, revoked and 

reissued, or terminated for cause. The filing of a request by the 

permittee for a permit modification, revocation and reissuance, 

termination, or notification of planned changes or anticipated 

noncompliance does not stay any permit condition. 

Y. Transfer of permits permit coverage. Permits are Permit 

coverage is not transferable to any person except after notice 

to the department. Coverage under this permit may be 

automatically transferred to a new permittee if: 

1. The current permittee notifies the department within 30 

days of the transfer of the title to the facility or property, 

unless permission for a later date has been granted by the 

board; 

2. The notice includes a written agreement between the 

existing and new permittees containing a specific date for 

transfer of permit responsibility, coverage, and liability 

between them; and 

3. The board does not notify the existing permittee and the 

proposed new permittee of its intent to deny the new 

permittee coverage under the permit. If this notice is not 

received, the transfer is effective on the date specified in the 

agreement described in Part III Y 2. 

Z. Severability. The provisions of this permit are severable, 

and if any provision of this permit or the application of any 

provision of this permit to any circumstance is held invalid, the 

application of such provision to other circumstances, and the 

remainder of this permit, shall not be affected thereby. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R20-6288; Filed July 26, 2021, 9:21 a.m. 

  ––––––––––––––––––  

TITLE 10. FINANCE AND FINANCIAL 
INSTITUTIONS 

STATE CORPORATION COMMISSION 

Proposed Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 10VAC5-230. Debt Settlement Services 

Providers (adding 10VAC5-230-10 through 10VAC5-230-

80). 

Statutory Authority: §§ 6.2-2039 and 12.1-13 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: A public hearing will be held 

upon request. 

Public Comment Deadline: September 3, 2021. 

Agency Contact: Susan Hancock, Deputy Commissioner, 

Bureau of Financial Institutions, State Corporation 

Commission, P.O. Box 640, Richmond, VA 23218, telephone 

(804) 371-9703, FAX (804) 371-9416, or email 

susan.hancock@scc.virginia.gov. 
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Summary: 

Pursuant to Chapter 20.1 (§ 6.2-2026 et seq.) of Title 6.2 of 

the Code of Virginia, the proposed new regulation 

establishes a licensing and regulatory framework for debt 

settlement services providers, including providing 

definitions for terms used in the regulation, specifying the 

required surety bond amount and minimum fidelity bond 

coverage, setting annual and other reporting requirements, 

setting the annual fee schedule, prescribing additional 

business requirements and restrictions, and establishing 

advertising rules.  

AT RICHMOND, JULY 26, 2021 

COMMONWEALTH OF VIRGINIA, ex rel. 

STATE CORPORATION COMMISSION 

CASE NO. BFI-2021-00010 

Ex Parte: In the matter of Adopting 

Regulations Governing Debt Settlement 

Services Providers under Chapter 20.1 

of Title 6.2 of the Code of Virginia 

ORDER TO TAKE NOTICE 

Chapter 785 of the 2020 Virginia Acts of Assembly amended 

the Code of Virginia ("Code") by adding Chapter 20.1 of Title 

6.2 (§ 6.2-2026 et seq.) of the Code ("Chapter 20.1"). Chapter 

20.1 establishes a licensing and regulatory framework for debt 

settlement services providers, and it became effective on July 

1, 2021. Section 6.2-2039 of the Code authorizes the State 

Corporation Commission ("Commission") to adopt such 

regulations as it deems appropriate to effect the purposes of 

Chapter 20.1. 

The Bureau of Financial Institutions ("Bureau") has 

submitted to the Commission proposed regulations that, among 

other things, define certain terms, specify the required surety 

bond amount and minimum fidelity bond coverage, establish 

annual and other reporting requirements, set forth the annual 

fee schedule, and prescribe additional business requirements 

and restrictions as well as various advertising rules. 

NOW THE COMMISSION, having considered the Bureau's 

proposal, is of the opinion and finds that the proposed 

regulations should be considered for adoption. 

Accordingly, IT IS ORDERED THAT: 

(1) The proposed regulations are attached hereto and made a 

part hereof. 

(2) Comments or requests for a hearing on the proposed 

regulations must be submitted in writing to the Clerk of the 

Commission, State Corporation Commission, c/o Document 

Control Center, P.O. Box 2118, Richmond, Virginia 23218 on 

or before September 3, 2021. Requests for a hearing shall state 

why a hearing is necessary and why the issues cannot be 

adequately addressed in written comments. All 

correspondence shall contain a reference to Case No. BFI-

2021-00010. Interested persons desiring to submit comments 

or request a hearing electronically may do so by following the 

instructions available at the Commission's website: 

scc.virginia.gov/casecomments/Submit-Public-Comments. 

(3) The Bureau shall file its response to any comments filed 

pursuant to Ordering Paragraph 2 on or before October 1, 2021. 

(4) This Order and the attached proposed regulations shall be 

made available on the Commission's website: 

scc.virginia.gov/pages/Case-Information. 

(5) The Commission's Division of Information Resources 

shall provide a copy of this Order and the proposed regulations 

to the Virginia Registrar of Regulations for publication in the 

Virginia Register of Regulations. 

A COPY of this Order and the attached proposed regulations 

shall be sent by the Clerk of the Commission to the 

Commission's Office of General Counsel and to the 

Commissioner of Financial Institutions, who shall send by e-

mail or U.S. mail a copy of this Order and the attached 

proposed regulations to every debt settlement services provider 

licensed under Chapter 20.1 and such other interested persons 

as he may designate. 

Chapter 230 

Debt Settlement Services Providers 

10VAC5-230-10. Definitions.  

A. The following words and terms when used in this chapter 

shall have the following meanings unless the context clearly 

indicates otherwise: 

"Advertisement" for purposes of Chapter 20.1 and this 

chapter means a commercial message in any medium that 

promotes, directly or indirectly, the offering of debt settlement 

services to any consumer. The term includes a communication 

sent to a consumer as part of a solicitation of business but 

excludes messages on promotional items, such as pens, 

pencils, notepads, hats, and calendars, as well as other 

information distributed or made available solely to other 

businesses. 

"Affiliate" means an entity of which any of the voting shares 

or ownership interest is held, directly or indirectly, by a person 

that also owns, directly or indirectly, any of the voting shares 

or ownership interest of a licensee. 

"Chapter 20.1" means Chapter 20.1 (§ 6.2-2026 et seq.) of 

Title 6.2 of the Code of Virginia. 

"Owner" means a person who holds, directly or indirectly, 

any of the voting shares or ownership interest of a licensee. 

"Subsidiary" means an entity of which any of the voting 

shares or ownership interest is held, directly or indirectly, by a 

licensee. 
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B. Other terms used in this chapter shall have the meanings 

set forth in § 6.2-100 or 6.2-2026 of the Code of Virginia. 

10VAC5-230-20. Bond coverage.  

A. Pursuant to § 6.2-2029 of the Code of Virginia, a surety 

bond shall be filed with the commissioner and continuously 

maintained thereafter in full force by each licensee. The form 

of the bond shall be prescribed and provided by the 

commissioner. The bond amount required for initial licensure 

shall be at least $25,000. After initial licensure, the bond 

amount required may be adjusted annually based on the 

volume of debt settlement services agreements maintained by 

a licensee during the preceding calendar year and any other 

factors deemed pertinent by the commissioner. 

B. If a person has filed a surety bond with the commissioner, 

the bond shall be retained by the commissioner 

notwithstanding the occurrence of any of the following events: 

1. The person's application for a license is withdrawn or 

denied; 

2. The person's license is surrendered, suspended, or 

revoked; or 

3. The person ceases engaging in the business of providing 

or offering to provide debt settlement services. 

C. A licensee shall continuously maintain at least $250,000 in 

fidelity bond coverage. 

10VAC5-230-30. Reporting requirements.  

A. Within 15 days following the occurrence of any of the 

following events, a licensee shall file a written report with the 

commissioner describing the event and its expected impact 

upon the business of the licensee: 

1. Bankruptcy, reorganization, or receivership proceedings 

are filed by or against the licensee. 

2. Any local, state, or federal governmental authority 

institutes revocation, suspension, or other formal 

administrative, regulatory, or enforcement proceedings 

against the licensee. 

3. Any local, state, or federal governmental authority (i) 

revokes or suspends the licensee's debt settlement services 

license or other license for a similar business; (ii) takes 

formal administrative, regulatory, or enforcement action 

against the licensee relating to its debt settlement services 

business or similar business; or (iii) takes any other action 

against the licensee relating to its debt settlement services 

business or similar business where the total amount of 

restitution or other payment from the licensee exceeds 

$5,000. A licensee shall not be required to provide the 

commissioner with information about such event to the 

extent that such disclosure is prohibited by the laws of 

another state. 

4. Based on allegations by any local, state, or federal 

governmental authority that the licensee violated any law or 

regulation applicable to the conduct of its licensed debt 

settlement services business or similar business, the licensee 

enters into, or otherwise agrees to the entry of, a settlement 

or consent order, decree, or agreement with or by such 

governmental authority. 

5. In lieu of threatened or pending license revocation, license 

suspension, or other administrative, regulatory, or 

enforcement action, the licensee surrenders its license to 

engage in (i) the business of providing or offering to provide 

debt settlement services in another state or (ii) any similar 

business in another state. 

6. The licensee is denied a license to engage in (i) the 

business of providing or offering to provide debt settlement 

services in another state or (ii) any similar business in 

another state. 

7. The licensee or any of its members, partners, directors, 

officers, principals, or employees is indicted for or convicted 

of a felony. 

8. The Attorney General or any other Virginia governmental 

authority institutes an action against the licensee under the 

Virginia Consumer Protection Act (§ 59.1-196 et seq. of the 

Code of Virginia). 

9. Such other events as may be prescribed by the 

commissioner. 

B. Pursuant to § 6.2-2035 of the Code of Virginia, each 

licensee shall file an annual report with the commissioner on 

or before March 25. The annual report shall contain the 

following data regarding a licensee's business under Chapter 

20.1 during the preceding calendar year: 

1. The total number of agreements to provide debt settlement 

services maintained; 

2. The total number of agreements to provide debt settlement 

services entered into; 

3. The total principal amount of debt enrolled by consumers 

into the licensee's debt settlement services; 

4. The total number of settled debts; 

5. The total principal amount to be paid by consumers to 

satisfy settled debts; 

6. The total amount of fees charged pursuant to § 6.2-2041 

of the Code of Virginia; 

7. The total amount of fees received pursuant to § 6.2-2041 

of the Code of Virginia; 

8. The total number of debt settlement services agreements 

terminated by consumers; and 

9. Any additional information required by the commissioner. 
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10VAC5-230-40. Schedule of annual fees for the 

examination, supervision, and regulation of debt settlement 

services providers.  

Pursuant to § 6.2-2038 of the Code of Virginia, the 

commission sets the following schedule of annual fees to be 

paid by persons licensed under Chapter 20.1. The fees are to 

defray the costs of examination, supervision, and regulation of 

licensees by the bureau. 

The annual fee shall be $1,000 per licensee plus $3.44 per 

debt settlement services agreement maintained by the licensee 

during the calendar year preceding the year of assessment. In 

cases where a licensee was not licensed under Chapter 20.1 as 

of December 31 of the calendar year preceding the year of the 

assessment, the annual fee shall be $0. 

The fee assessed using the schedule set forth in this section 

shall be rounded down to the nearest whole dollar. 

Fees shall be assessed on or before June 1 for the current 

calendar year. The fee shall be paid on or before July 1. 

The information supplied in the annual report due March 25 

each year of each licensee provides the basis for its assessment. 

Fees prescribed and assessed by this schedule are apart from 

and do not include the reimbursement for expenses permitted 

by subsection B of § 6.2-2038 of the Code of Virginia. 

10VAC5-230-50. Additional business requirements and 

restrictions; acquisitions.  

A. A licensee shall continuously maintain the requirements 

and standards for licensure prescribed in § 6.2-2031 of the 

Code of Virginia. 

B. A licensee shall not provide or offer to provide debt 

settlement services in connection with a debt settlement 

services agreement that has been set up or established by any 

other person except for a credit counselor of the licensee. 

C. A licensee shall not sell or otherwise assign a debt 

settlement services agreement to another person unless the 

purchaser or assignee is licensed or exempt from licensure 

under Chapter 20.1. 

D. A licensee shall not refer or direct a consumer for whom 

the licensee is providing debt settlement services to any 

creditor that is an affiliate, owner, or subsidiary of the licensee. 

E. A licensee shall comply with all state and federal laws and 

regulations applicable to the conduct of its business, including 

the Standards for Safeguarding Customer Information (16 CFR 

Part 314). 

F. A licensee or person required to be licensed under Chapter 

20.1 shall not provide any information to the bureau that is 

false, misleading, or deceptive. 

G. A licensee or person required to be licensed under Chapter 

20.1 shall not provide any information to a consumer that is 

false, misleading, or deceptive. 

H. A licensee or person required to be licensed under Chapter 

20.1 shall not engage in any activity that directly or indirectly 

results in an evasion of the provisions of Chapter 20.1 or this 

chapter. 

I. A person shall remain subject to the provisions of Chapter 

20.1 and this chapter applicable to licensees in connection with 

all debt settlement services provided or offered to be provided 

while licensed under Chapter 20.1 notwithstanding the 

occurrence of any of the following events: 

1. The person's license is surrendered, suspended, or 

revoked; or 

2. The person ceases providing debt settlement services. 

J. Any person submitting an application to acquire, directly 

or indirectly, 25% or more of the voting shares of a corporation 

or 25% or more of the ownership of any other person licensed 

to conduct business under Chapter 20.1 shall pay a 

nonrefundable application fee of $500. 

10VAC5-230-60. Advertising.  

A. A licensee shall disclose the following information in its 

advertisements: 

1. The name of the licensee as set forth in the license issued 

by the commission. 

2. A statement that the licensee is "licensed by the Virginia 

State Corporation Commission." 

3. The license number assigned by the commission to the 

licensee (i.e., DSP-XXX). 

B. A licensee shall not deliver or cause to be delivered to a 

consumer any envelope or other written material that gives the 

false impression that the mailing or written material is an 

official communication from a governmental entity. 

C. Every licensee shall retain for at least three years after it is 

last published, delivered, transmitted, or made available, a 

copy of every advertisement used, including solicitation 

letters, print media proofs, commercial scripts, recordings of 

all radio and television broadcasts, and Internet web pages. A 

licensee may retain copies of its advertisements in electronic 

form. 

10VAC5-230-70. Enforcement; civil penalties.  

A. Failure to comply with any provision of Chapter 20.1 or 

this chapter may result in civil penalties, license suspension, 

license revocation, the entry of a cease and desist order, or 

other appropriate enforcement action. 

B. Pursuant to § 6.2-2046 of the Code of Virginia, a person 

shall be subject to a civil penalty of up to $1,000 for every 

violation of Chapter 20.1 or this chapter. Furthermore, if a 
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person violates any provision of Chapter 20.1 or this chapter in 

connection with multiple debt settlement services agreements, 

the person shall be subject to a separate civil penalty for each 

debt settlement services agreement. For example, if a licensee 

enters into five debt settlement services agreements and the 

licensee violates two provisions of this chapter in connection 

with each of the five debt settlement services agreements, there 

would be a total of 10 violations and the licensee would be 

subject to a maximum civil penalty of $10,000. 

10VAC5-230-80. Commission authority.  

The commission may at its discretion waive or grant 

exceptions to any provision of this chapter for good cause 

shown. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R21-6865; Filed July 26, 2021, 12:43 p.m. 

  ––––––––––––––––––  

TITLE 12. HEALTH 

DEPARTMENT OF MEDICAL ASSISTANCE 
SERVICES 

Forms 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: Forms used in administering the 

regulation have been filed by the agency. The forms are not 

being published; however, online users of this issue of the 

Virginia Register of Regulations may click on the name of a 

form with a hyperlink to access it. The forms are also available 

from the agency contact or may be viewed at the Office of the 

Registrar of Regulations, 900 East Main Street, 11th Floor, 

Richmond, Virginia 23219. 

Title of Regulation: 12VAC30-122. Community Waiver 

Services for Individuals with Developmental Disabilities. 

Agency Contact: Emily McClellan, Director, Policy Division, 

Department of Medical Assistance Services, 600 East Broad 

Street, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 371-4300, or 

email emily.mcclellan@dmas.virginia.gov. 

FORMS (12VAC30-122) 

Supports Intensity Scale - Adult VersionTM (ages 16 and up), 

SIS-A, copyright 2015, American Association on Intellectual 

and Developmental Disabilities 

Supports Intensity Scale - Children's VersionTM (ages 5-16), 

SIS-C, copyright 2016, American Association on Intellectual 

and Developmental Disabilities 

Virginia Supplemental Questions (eff. 10/2014) 

Skill Competencies for Professionals and Direct Support 

Staff in Virginia Supporting Adolescents and Adults with 

Autism, developed by Virginia Autism Council, June 1, 2014, 

DMAS-P201 (filed 1/2019) 

Medicaid Long-Term Care Communication Form, DMAS-

225 (rev. 12/2015) 

Virginia Individual Developmental Disabilities Eligibility 

Survey - Infants' Version, DMAS-P235 (eff. 3/2016) 

Virginia Individual Developmental Disabilities Eligibility 

Survey - Children's Version, DMAS-P236 (eff. 4/2016) 

Virginia Individual Developmental Disabilities Eligibility 

Survey - Adult Version, DMAS-P237 (eff. 3/2016) 

Behavioral Support Competencies for Direct Support 

Providers and Professionals in Virginia Supporting Individuals 

with Developmental Disabilities, developed by the Virginia 

Department of Behavioral Health and Developmental 

Services, August 2015, DMAS-P240a (filed 1/2019) 

Virginia's Competencies for Direct Professionals and 

Supervisors Who Support Individuals with Developmental 

Disabilities - DSP and Supervisor's Competencies Checklist, 

DMAS-P241a (eff. 6/2016) 

Direct Support Professional Assurance for Non-DBHDS-

Licensed Providers to Confirm Successful Completion of Testing 

and Competency Requirements for the DD Waivers, DMAS-

P243a (eff. 6/2016) 

Developmental Disabilities DSP and Supervisor Competencies 

Checklist, DMAS 241a (eff. 5/2021) 

Direct Support Professional Assurance to Confirm Successful 

Completion of Training and Testing Requirements for the DD 

Waivers, DMAS P242a (eff. 5/2021) 

Virginia's Health Competencies for Direct Support Professionals 

and Supervisors Who Support Individuals with Developmental 

Disabilities - Health Competencies Checklist, DMAS-P244a (eff. 

6/2016) 

Supervisor Assurance for DBHDS-licensed Providers to 

Confirm Successful Completion of Training, Testing, and 

Competency Requirements for the DD Waivers, DMAS-P245a 

(eff. 7/2016) 

Supervisor Assurance for Non-DBHDS-Licensed Services to 

Confirm Successful Completion of Training and Testing 

Requirements for the DD Waivers, DMAS-P245a (eff. 7/2016) 

Supervisor Assurance to Confirm Successful Completion of 

Training and Testing Requirements for the DD Waivers, DMAS 

P245a (eff. 5/2021) 

Community Housing Guide: Housing Road Map (form date 

10/2019) 

Community Housing Guide: Tenant Screening (form date 

10/2019) 

FIS Request for Supervision Hours in Personal Assistance, 

DMAS-P257 (05/28) 

CL Request for Supervision Hours in Personal Assistance, 

DMAS-P257 (05/28) 

VA.R. Doc. No. R21-6890; Filed July 23, 2021, 1:30 p.m. 

http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=c2b90004614~314.pdf&typ=40&actno=004614&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=33883004614~211.pdf&typ=40&actno=004614&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=33883004614~211.pdf&typ=40&actno=004614&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=33883004614~211.pdf&typ=40&actno=004614&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=33883004614~211.pdf&typ=40&actno=004614&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=ad385004614~315.pdf&typ=40&actno=004614&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=ad385004614~315.pdf&typ=40&actno=004614&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=3597e004614~225.pdf&typ=40&actno=004614&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=3597e004614~225.pdf&typ=40&actno=004614&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=de3de004614~236.pdf&typ=40&actno=004614&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=de3de004614~236.pdf&typ=40&actno=004614&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=01f96004614~247.pdf&typ=40&actno=004614&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=01f96004614~247.pdf&typ=40&actno=004614&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=b78da004614~25a.pdf&typ=40&actno=004614&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=b78da004614~25a.pdf&typ=40&actno=004614&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=b78da004614~25a.pdf&typ=40&actno=004614&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=b78da004614~25a.pdf&typ=40&actno=004614&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=b78da004614~25a.pdf&typ=40&actno=004614&mime=application/pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/12VAC30/forms/DD2%20DSP%20and%20Supervisors%20Competencies%20Checklist%20P241a%207.12.21.final%20(2)-20210723132141-20210726130918.docx
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/12VAC30/forms/DD2%20DSP%20and%20Supervisors%20Competencies%20Checklist%20P241a%207.12.21.final%20(2)-20210723132141-20210726130918.docx
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/12VAC30/forms/DSP%20Assurance%20(DMAS%20P242a)%207.1.21-20210723132210-20210726131039.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/12VAC30/forms/DSP%20Assurance%20(DMAS%20P242a)%207.1.21-20210723132210-20210726131039.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/12VAC30/forms/DSP%20Assurance%20(DMAS%20P242a)%207.1.21-20210723132210-20210726131039.pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=96e30004614~28a.pdf&typ=40&actno=004614&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=96e30004614~28a.pdf&typ=40&actno=004614&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=96e30004614~28a.pdf&typ=40&actno=004614&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=96e30004614~28a.pdf&typ=40&actno=004614&mime=application/pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/12VAC30/forms/Supervisor%20Assurance%20(DMAS%20P245a)%207.1.21-20210723132237-20210726131146.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/12VAC30/forms/Supervisor%20Assurance%20(DMAS%20P245a)%207.1.21-20210723132237-20210726131146.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/12VAC30/forms/Supervisor%20Assurance%20(DMAS%20P245a)%207.1.21-20210723132237-20210726131146.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/12VAC30/forms/Community%20Housing%20Guide%20-%20Housing%20Road%20Map-20210217202933.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/12VAC30/forms/Community%20Housing%20Guide%20-%20Housing%20Road%20Map-20210217202933.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/12VAC30/forms/Community%20Housing%20-%20Tenant%20Screening%20Form-20210217203052.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/12VAC30/forms/Community%20Housing%20-%20Tenant%20Screening%20Form-20210217203052.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/12VAC30/forms/FIS%20Request%20for%20Supervision%20Hours%20in%20Personal%20Assistance-20210216152659.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/12VAC30/forms/FIS%20Request%20for%20Supervision%20Hours%20in%20Personal%20Assistance-20210216152659.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/12VAC30/forms/CL%20Reqeust%20for%20Supervision%20Hours%20in%20Personal%20Assistance-20210217202751.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/12VAC30/forms/CL%20Reqeust%20for%20Supervision%20Hours%20in%20Personal%20Assistance-20210217202751.pdf
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Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Department of Medical 

Assistant Services is claiming an exemption from Article 2 of 

the Administrative Process Act in accordance with § 2.2-4006 

A 3, which excludes regulations that consist only of changes in 

style or form or corrections of technical errors. The department 

will receive, consider, and respond to petitions by any 

interested person at any time with respect to reconsideration or 

revision. 

Title of Regulation: 12VAC30-130. Amount, Duration and 

Scope of Selected Services (amending 12VAC30-130-600, 

12VAC30-130-620). 

Statutory Authority: § 32.1-325 of the Code of Virginia; 42 

USC § 1396 et seq. 

Effective Date: September 17, 2021. 

Agency Contact: Emily McClellan, Regulatory Supervisor, 

Policy Division, Department of Medical Assistance Services, 

600 East Broad Street, Suite 1300, Richmond, VA 23219, 

telephone (804) 371-4300, FAX (804) 786-1680, or email 

emily.mcclellan@dmas.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendments update the name of the DMAS-122 Form 

(Adjustment Process) to DMAS-225 Form (Long-Term Care 

Communication). 

Part IX 

DMAS-122 DMAS-225 Adjustment Process 

12VAC30-130-600. Definitions. 

The following words and terms, when used in this part, shall 

have the following meanings, unless the context indicates 

otherwise: 

"DMAS" or "the department" means the Virginia Department 

of Medical Assistance Services. 

"DMAS-122 DMAS-225" means the Medicaid 

Communication form used to determine patient pay amounts 

and to request for the provider and the DSS eligibility worker 

to report changes including requests for adjustments to the 

patient pay. 

"DSS" means the Virginia local Department of Social 

Services. 

"Facility" means a nursing facility, intermediate care facility 

for the mentally retarded, or a long-stay acute care hospital 

enrolled in the Medicaid program. 

"Medical necessity" means an item or service provided for the 

diagnosis or treatment of a patient's condition consistent with 

community standards of medical practice and in accordance 

with Medicaid policy. 

"Preauthorization" means obtaining the approval necessary 

for receipt of a specified service from a specified provider for 

a specified recipient before the requested service is performed. 

12VAC30-130-620. Limitations. 

A. A DMAS-122 DMAS-225 adjustment request shall always 

be used as the last source of payment. If a recipient has other 

sources of possible payment (i.e., Medicare, major medical 

insurance, prescription insurance, dental insurance, etc.), 

payment must be sought first from those other sources. 

B. The maximum amount for noncovered medically 

necessary items or services that can be allowed as adjustments 

to the patient pay amount for nursing facility residents shall be 

the amount specified in 12VAC30-40-235. 

C. Only the cost of medically necessary, resident-specific, 

customized, noncovered items or services may be deducted 

from patient pay. This shall include, but not necessarily be 

limited to, electric, motorized, or customized wheelchairs and 

other equipment not regularly supplied to residents by the 

facility as part of the cost of care. Supplies, equipment, or 

services used in the direct care and treatment of residents are 

covered services and must be provided by the facility. Covered 

items and services include, but are not necessarily limited to, 

standard wheelchairs, recliners, geriatric chairs, special 

mattresses, humidifiers, cots, and routine podiatry care (e.g., 

trimming nails for onychauxis, cleaning and soaking the feet, 

and other services performed in the absence of localized 

illness, injury, or symptoms involving the foot). Expenses 

incurred by the facility for covered items and services are 

considered "allowable expenses" and are covered by Medicaid 

as part of reimbursement to the facility for the resident's care; 

these costs cannot be deducted from patient pay. 

D. Extenuating circumstances shall be considered for the 

provision of podiatry care when corrective trimming is 

performed to prevent further complications in a patient who 

has a systemic condition that has resulted in severe circulation 

deficits or areas of desensitization in the legs or feet. Trimming 

of nails for a systemic condition is limited to once every 60 

days and must be medically necessary. In such cases, the 

facility is not responsible for routine podiatry care. 

E. DMAS-122 DMAS-225 adjustments shall be allowed for 

the cost of medically or remedially necessary services provided 

prior to Medicaid eligibility or prior to admission. Any 

decision made by DMAS or DSS to deny a service may be 

appealed to DMAS. Appeals must be made in writing by the 

resident or his legally appointed representative, as provided for 

in DMAS Client Appeals Regulations (12VAC30-110). 

F. The facility shall monitor the proper care of the resident's 

medical supplies and equipment. Requests for adjustment 

made because an item is lost or broken by facility staff must 

include documentation on the resident's interdisciplinary plan 

of care regarding proper care and treatment of the item. When 

loss or breakage is incurred as a result of facility staff following 

improper practices, the facility must replace the item. 

G. All requests for DMAS-122 DMAS-225 adjustments 

submitted by providers to either DMAS or DSS shall include: 
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1. The recipient's correct Medicaid identification number; 

2. The current physician's orders for the noncovered service 

(not required for replacement of hearing aid batteries or 

eyeglass frames or for repair to hearing aids or eyeglasses); 

3. Medical justification for the service being requested (see 

subsection H of this section); 

4. The service description; 

5. Actual cost information; 

6. Documentation that the recipient continues to need the 

equipment for which a repair, replacement, or battery is 

requested; 

7. A statement of proof of denial or noncoverage by other 

insurance; and 

8. A copy of the most current, fully completed Minimum 

Data Set (MDS) and quarterly review. 

H. Medical justification documentation as specified in 

subdivision G 3 of this section shall include the following: 

1. Physician prescription; 

2. Identification of the diagnosis related to the reason for the 

request; 

3. Identification of the resident's functional limitation; 

4. Identification of the quantity needed, frequency of use, 

estimated length of use; and 

5. Identification of how the item or service will be used in 

the resident's environment. 

I. Adjustments of a recipient's patient pay amount may only 

be authorized by DMAS or DSS. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R21-6292; Filed July 16, 2021, 9:49 a.m. 

  ––––––––––––––––––  

TITLE 13. HOUSING 

BOARD OF HOUSING AND COMMUNITY 
DEVELOPMENT 

Final Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 13VAC5-21. Virginia Certification 

Standards (amending 13VAC5-21-10, 13VAC5-21-31 

through 13VAC5-21-61). 

Statutory Authority: § 36-137 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: September 16, 2021. 

Agency Contact: Kyle Flanders, Senior Policy Analyst, 

Department of Housing and Community Development, Main 

Street Centre, 600 East Main Street, Suite 300, Richmond, VA 

23219, telephone (804) 786-6761, FAX (804) 371-7090, TDD 

(804) 371-7089, or email kyle.flanders@dhcd.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendments in the proposed regulation were technical 

and included updating a list and correcting a typo. Changes 

since proposed include (i) updating the list of defined terms; 

(ii) removing the requirements for certificate applicants to 

receive endorsements from supervisors, code officials, or the 

code official's supervisor; (iii) updating department contact 

information; (iv) reducing to four years the amount of 

training that must have been completed prior to submitting 

an application; (v) clarifying the statuses of certificates as 

either active or inactive and clarifying when a certificate 

holder will be considered out of compliance with the 

requirements for maintaining active certificate status; and 

(vi) clarifying that the issuance of noncompliance notices is 

not a function of the board. 

Summary of Public Comments and Agency's Response: No 

public comments were received by the promulgating agency. 

[ 13VAC5-21-10. Definitions. 

A. The following words and terms when used in this chapter 

shall have the following meanings unless the context clearly 

indicates otherwise: 

"Active certificate" means a certificate that is not revoked, 

suspended, or inactive. 

"Applicant" means a person seeking a certificate. 

"BCAAC" means the Building Code Academy Advisory 

Committee appointed pursuant to subdivision 7 of § 36-137 of 

the Code of Virginia. 

"BHCD" means the Virginia Board of Housing and 

Community Development. 

"Certificate" means a certificate of competence issued 

pursuant to subdivision 6 of § 36-137 of the Code of Virginia 

concerning the content, application, and intent of specified 

subject areas of the building and fire prevention regulations 

promulgated by the BHCD and issued to present or prospective 

personnel of local governments and to any other persons 

seeking to become qualified to perform inspections pursuant to 

Chapter 6 (§ 36-97 et seq.) of Title 36 of the Code of Virginia, 

Chapter 9 (§ 27-94 et seq.) of Title 27 of the Code of Virginia, 

and any regulations adopted thereunder, who have completed 

training programs or in other ways demonstrated adequate 

knowledge. 

"Certificate holder" means a person to whom a certificate has 

been issued. 

"Code academy" means the Virginia Building Code Academy 

established under subdivision 14 of § 36-139 of the Code of 

Virginia or individual or regional training academies 

accredited by the department pursuant to subdivision 7 of § 36-

137 of the Code of Virginia. 
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"Department" means the Virginia Department of Housing and 

Community Development. 

"Nongovernmental employee" means any person not 

employed by a locality collecting and transmitting the fee levy 

to the department in accordance with subdivision 7 of § 36-137 

of the Code of Virginia. 

"Inactive certificate" means a certificate where the certificate 

holder has not attended the periodic training courses 

designated by the department or has not met the continuing 

education requirements. 

"Provisional certificate" means a temporary certificate issued 

in accordance with 13VAC5-21-51 C. 

"SFPC" means the Virginia Statewide Fire Prevention Code 

(13VAC5-51). 

"State Review Board" means the Virginia State Building 

Code Technical Review Board established under § 36-108 of 

the Code of Virginia. 

"USBC" means the Virginia Uniform Statewide Building 

Code (13VAC5-63). 

"VADR" means the Virginia Amusement Device Regulations 

(13VAC5-31). 

B. Words and terms used in this chapter that are defined in 

the USBC, VADR, or SFPC and that are not defined in this 

chapter shall have the meaning ascribed to them in those 

regulations unless the context clearly indicates otherwise. 

13VAC5-21-31. Qualification and examination 

requirements. 

A. An applicant for a certificate in categories associated with 

the USBC or the SFPC shall provide a written or electronic 

endorsement from the code official or the code official's 

supervisor in the locality in which they are employed certifying 

that the applicant complies with the qualification section in the 

USBC or the SFPC for each type of certificate sought. When 

the applicant for a certificate in categories associated with the 

USBC or the SFPC is a nongovernmental employee, the 

applicant shall provide written or electronic documentation 

that the applicant complies with the qualification section in the 

USBC or the SFPC as it would relate to the applicant's job 

responsibilities for each type of certificate sought.  

B. An applicant for a certificate in categories associated with 

the VADR shall provide a written endorsement from the 

applicant's supervisor or a person having a similar relationship 

to the applicant certifying that the applicant is generally 

qualified to conduct activities related to the VADR.  

C. Applicants for all certificates shall provide proof of 

successful completion of approved examinations for each 

certificate sought based on current certification examination 

requirements. Applications submitted with passing grades on 

approved examinations older than six years from the date of 

passing will be denied except where the applicant can 

demonstrate the maintenance of a current certification issued 

by the approved testing agency. The department may consider 

related certifications maintained by the certifying entity. The 

department shall maintain a list of approved testing agencies 

and examinations that meet nationally accepted standards for 

each certificate offered. For information on approved testing 

agencies and examinations contact the department's Training 

and Certification Office Virginia Building Code Academy 

Office, 600 East Main Street, Suite 300, Richmond, VA 23219, 

telephone (804) 371-7180. ] 

13VAC5-21-41. Certification categories and training 

requirements. 

A. The department maintains a list of all certificates offered 

and the list sets out the required training necessary to attend 

and complete required to be completed to obtain a each 

certificate. Alternatives to the training requirements set out in 

13VAC5-21-45 shall be considered for all certificates offered 

except that no alternative shall be accepted for the code 

academy core module. 

B. Applicants for certificates shall attend and complete the 

code academy core module. After the completion of the core 

module, applicants are required to attend and complete the 

code academy training as set out in a list maintained by the 

department, except as provided for in 13VAC5-21-45. All 

required training must [ be have been ] completed within no 

more than [ six four ] years prior to the date the application is 

submitted [ and the. The ] requirements for training are based 

on those in effect at the time of application. 

13VAC5-21-45. Alternatives to training requirements. 

Upon written request, alternative training or a combination of 

training, education or experience to satisfy the training 

requirements of 13VAC5-21-41 may be approved, provided 

that such alternatives or combinations are determined to be 

equivalent to that required. However, as provided in 13VAC5-

21-41, no substitutions shall be approved for the code academy 

core module. The types of combinations of education and 

experience may include military training, college classes, 

technical schools or long-term work experiences, except that 

long-term work experiences shall not be approved as the sole 

substitute to satisfy the training requirements. BCAAC may be 

consulted with in any such consideration. 

[ 13VAC5-21-51. Issuance and maintenance of certificates. 

A. Certificates will be issued when an applicant has complied 

with the current applicable requirements of this chapter. 

Certificate holders Certificates will be classified as active, or 

inactive, or lapsed. An active certificate holder is a person who 

is certified and who has attended all periodic training courses 

designated by the department and complied with all continuing 

education requirements subsequent to becoming certified. An 

inactive certificate holder is a person who is certified and has 

either attended the periodic training courses designated by the 



Regulations 

Volume 37, Issue 26  Virginia Register of Regulations  August 16, 2021  

3973 

department or met the continuing education requirements, but 

not both An inactive certificate will be considered out of 

compliance and a noncompliance notice will be issued to the 

certificate holder. In such cases, notification shall also be 

provided to the locality or company employing the certificate 

holder. Exceptions to the issuance of a noncompliance notice 

may be considered where there is a separation from 

employment by medical or military leave for 12 consecutive 

months or more during the continuing education period. An 

inactive certificate holder may request reinstatement be 

reinstated as an active certificate holder after completing 

makeup training courses authorized designed by the 

department. A lapsed certificate holder is a person who is 

certified but has not attended all periodic training courses 

designated by the department and who has not complied with 

all continuing education requirements. A lapsed certificate 

holder may request reinstatement as an active certificate holder 

after completing makeup training courses or examinations, or 

both, as authorized by the department. Provisional certificates 

may also be issued in accordance with subsection C of this 

section. Requirements for periodic training courses and 

continuing education requirements are set out in subsection D 

of this section. 

B. All certificates issued since June 1978 are considered to be 

valid unless revoked or suspended, except that provisional 

certificates shall remain valid as set out under subsection C of 

this section. 

C. A provisional certificate may be issued to (i) a person who 

has been directed by the department to obtain a certificate; (ii) 

an applicant requesting a certificate under the alternative 

training provisions of 13VAC5-21-45; (iii) an applicant when 

the required training has not been provided or offered; (iv) an 

inactive or lapsed certificate holder when the issuance of a 

provisional certificate is determined to be warranted by the 

department; or (v) a person who, due to extenuating and 

warranting circumstances either on behalf of the code academy 

or beyond the person's control, has not fully complied with the 

eligibility requirements of training and competency established 

herein. 

Such a provisional certificate may be issued when the 

applicant or person has (i) provided the written endorsement or 

documentation required by 13VAC5-21-31, (ii) satisfactorily 

completed the code academy core module, and (iii) completed 

any training through the code academy or through other 

providers determined to warrant the issuance of the provisional 

certificate. 

The provisional certificate is valid for a period of one year 

after the date of issuance and shall only be issued once to any 

individual, except that a provisional certificate shall remain 

valid when the required training has not been provided or 

offered. 

D. All certificate holders shall attend periodic maintenance 

training as designated by the department and shall attend 16 

hours of continuing education every two years as approved by 

the department. If a certificate holder possesses more than one 

certificate, the 16 hours shall satisfy the continuing education 

requirement for all certificates. 

13VAC5-21-61. Sanctions Board sanctions. 

When the BHCD determines a certificate holder has failed to 

(i) comply with an order issued by the State Review Board, (ii) 

meet the required training or testing requirements, or (iii) 

attend periodic maintenance training or continuing education, 

or both, a warning letter may be issued to the certificate holder 

or a certificate may be revoked or suspended by the BHCD. In 

such cases, a noncompliance notice shall be issued to the 

certificate holder and notification shall be provided to the 

locality or company employing the certificate holder. 

Exceptions to the issuance of a noncompliance notice for 

failing to comply with the continuing education requirements 

may be considered where there is a separation from 

employment by medical or military leave for 12 consecutive 

months or more during the continuing education period. A 

record of any action taken pursuant to this section shall be 

permanently retained in the training record of the certificate 

holder. ] 

VA.R. Doc. No. R19-5980; Filed July 23, 2021, 11:26 a.m. 

Final Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 13VAC5-95. Virginia Manufactured 

Home Safety Regulations (amending 13VAC5-95-10, 

13VAC5-95-20, 13VAC5-95-60). 

Statutory Authority: § 36-85.7 of the Code of Virginia 

Effective Date: September 16, 2021. 

Agency Contact: Kyle Flanders, Senior Policy Analyst, 

Department of Housing and Community Development, Main 

Street Centre, 600 East Main Street, Suite 300, Richmond, VA 

23219, telephone (804) 786-6761, FAX (804) 371-7090, TDD 

(804) 371-7089, or email kyle.flanders@dhcd.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendments are for consistency with federal Housing 

and Urban Development Manufactured Home Installation 

Standards. The amendments (i) add a definition for 

"certificate of installation"; (ii) update the definition of 

"installer"; (iii) require installers to provide a copy of the 

certificate of installation to homeowners or local building 

officials; and (iv) as a change to the proposed regulation, 

include provisions for inspections of manufactured home 

sales lots by the administrator, consumer complaint 

handling by the administrator, and details the 

responsibilities of local building officials in approving 

manufactured home installations. 

Summary of Public Comments and Agency's Response: No 

public comments were received by the promulgating agency. 
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13VAC5-95-10. Definitions. 

A. The following words and terms when used in this chapter 

shall have the following meanings unless the context clearly 

indicates otherwise: 

"Administrator" means the Director of DHCD or his 

designee. 

"Certificate of installation" means the certificate provided by 

the Virginia Department of Professional and Occupational 

Regulation licensed installer, under the Virginia Manufactured 

Home Safety Regulations, indicating that a manufactured 

home has been installed in compliance with the federal 

installation standards. 

"DHCD" means the Virginia Department of Housing and 

Community Development. 

"Dealer" means any person engaged in the sale, lease, or 

distribution of manufactured homes primarily to persons who 

in good faith purchase or lease a manufactured home for 

purposes other than resale. 

"Defect" means a failure to comply with an applicable federal 

manufactured home construction and safety standard that 

renders the manufactured home or any part of the home unfit 

for the ordinary use of which it was intended, but does not 

result in an imminent risk of death or severe personal injury to 

occupants of the affected home. 

"Distributor" means any person engaged in the sale and 

distribution of manufactured homes for resale. 

"Federal Act" means the National Manufactured Housing 

Construction and Safety Standards Act of 1974, as amended 

(42 USC § 5401 et seq.). 

"Federal installation standards" means the federal Model 

Manufactured Home Installation Standards (24 CFR Part 

3285). 

"Federal regulations" means the federal Manufactured Home 

Procedural and Enforcement Regulations (24 CFR Part 3282). 

"HUD" means the United States Department of Housing and 

Urban Development. 

"Imminent safety hazard" means a hazard that presents an 

imminent and unreasonable risk of death or severe personal 

injury that may or may not be related to failure to comply with 

an applicable federal manufactured home construction or 

safety standard. 

"Installation" means completion of work to include, but not 

be limited to, stabilizing, supporting, anchoring, and closing up 

a manufactured home and joining sections of a multi-section 

manufactured home, when any such work is governed by the 

federal installation standards. 

"Installer" means the person or entity, licensed through the 

Virginia Department of Professional and Occupational 

Regulation, with the Manufactured Home Contractor (MHC) 

license designation, who is retained to engage in or who 

engages in the business of directing, supervising, controlling, 

or correcting the initial installation of a manufactured home. 

"Label," "certification label," or "HUD label" means the 

certification label prescribed by the federal standards. 

"Local building official" means the officer or other 

designated authority charged with the administration and 

enforcement of USBC, or duly authorized representative. 

"Manufactured home" means a structure subject to federal 

regulation, which is transportable in one or more sections; is 

eight body feet or more in width and 40 body feet or more in 

length in the traveling mode, or is 320 or more square feet 

when erected on site; is built on a permanent chassis; is 

designed to be used as a single-family dwelling, with or 

without a permanent foundation, when connected to the 

required utilities; and includes the plumbing, heating, air 

conditioning, and electrical systems contained in the structure. 

"Manufacturer" means any person engaged in manufacturing 

or assembling manufactured homes, including any person 

engaged in importing manufactured homes. 

"Noncompliance" means a failure of a manufactured home to 

comply with a federal manufactured home construction or 

safety standard that does not constitute a defect, serious defect, 

or imminent safety hazard. 

"Purchaser" means the first person purchasing a 

manufactured home in good faith for purposes other than 

resale. 

"Secretary" means the Secretary of HUD. 

"Serious defect" means any failure to comply with an 

applicable federal manufactured home construction and safety 

standard that renders the manufactured home or any part 

thereof not fit for the ordinary use for which it was intended 

and which results in an unreasonable risk of injury or death to 

occupants of the affected manufactured home. 

"Standards" or "federal standards" means the federal 

Manufactured Home Construction and Safety Standards 

(24 CFR Part 3280) adopted by HUD, in accordance with 

authority in the Federal Act. The standards were enacted 

December 18, 1975, and amended May 11, 1976, to become 

effective June 15, 1976. 

"State administrative agency" or "SAA" means DHCD, 

which is responsible for the administration and enforcement of 

Chapter 4.1 (§ 36-85.2 et seq.) of Title 36 of the Code of 

Virginia throughout Virginia and of the plan authorized by § 

36-85.5 of the Code of Virginia. 

"USBC" means the Virginia Uniform Statewide Building 

Code (13VAC5-63). 
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B. Terms defined within the federal regulations and federal 

standards shall have the same meanings in this chapter. 

[ 13VAC5-95-20. Application and enforcement. 

A. This chapter shall apply to manufactured homes as defined 

in 13VAC5-95-10 and as set out in this section. 

B. Enforcement of this chapter shall be in accordance with the 

federal regulations 24 CFR 3285, 24 CFR 3286, and 24 CFR 

3288. 

C. Manufactured homes produced on or after June 15, 1976, 

shall conform to all the requirements of the federal standards, 

as amended. 

D. DHCD is delegated all lawful authority for the 

enforcement of the federal standards pertaining to 

manufactured homes by the administrator according to § 36-

85.5 of the Code of Virginia. The Division of Building and Fire 

Regulation of DHCD is designated as a state administrative 

agency in the HUD enforcement program, and shall act as an 

agent of HUD. The administrator is authorized to perform the 

activities required of an SAA by the HUD enforcement plan 

including, but not limited to, investigation, citation of 

violations, handling of complaints, conducting hearings, 

supervising remedial actions, monitoring, making such reports 

as may be required, and seeking enforcement of the civil and 

criminal penalties established by § 36-85.12 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

E. In accordance with § 36-85.11 of the Code of Virginia, all 

local building officials are authorized to and shall enforce the 

provisions of this chapter within the limits of their jurisdiction 

and shall be responsible for the following: 

1. Verify through inspection that a manufactured home 

displays the required HUD label and data plate; 

2. Determine whether the manufactured home has been 

damaged during transit. If the manufactured home has been 

damaged, then the local building official is authorized to 

require tests, in accordance with the federal standards, for 

tightness of plumbing systems and gas piping and an 

operational test to ensure that all luminaries and receptacles 

are operable. If a manufactured home has sustained damage 

to the structural components, the local building official shall 

require the appropriate design approval primary inspection 

agency approval on any repairs or designs; 

3. Prevent the use of a manufactured home that in the opinion 

of the local building official contains a serious defect or 

imminent safety hazard, and notify the administrator 

immediately; 

4. Notify the administrator of any apparent violations of this 

chapter, to include defects and noncompliance that occurred 

during the manufacturing process and any alterations that 

occurred during installation; and 

5. Verify through inspection that the installation is in 

accordance with the federal installation standards. Where the 

local building official finds that the installation of the 

manufactured home is not in accordance with the federal 

installation standards, the local building official shall order 

the home to be brought into compliance within a reasonable 

time. If the order is not complied with, then the local 

building official shall notify the administrator. 

F. In accordance with § 36-85.11 of the Code of Virginia, site 

preparation, utility connection, and skirting installation for 

manufactured homes shall meet the requirements of the USBC. 

In addition, as a requirement of this chapter and the USBC, 

administrative provisions of the USBC, such as requirements 

for permits, inspections, and certificates of occupancy, and the 

specific requirements of § 425 429 of Part I of the USBC 

(13VAC5-63-220 L through 13VAC5-63-220 Q), shall also be 

applicable. ] 

13VAC5-95-60. Installations. 

Distributors, installers, or dealers Installers setting up a 

manufactured home shall perform such installation in 

accordance with the manufacturer's installation instructions 

and shall provide a copy of the certificate of installation to the 

homeowner and when requested, to the local building official 

prior to issuance of the certificate of occupancy. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R19-5981; Filed July 23, 2021, 11:28 a.m. 

  ––––––––––––––––––  

TITLE 18. PROFESSIONAL AND 
OCCUPATIONAL LICENSING 

BOARD FOR BARBERS AND COSMETOLOGY 

Fast-Track Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC41-20. Barbering and 

Cosmetology Regulations (amending 18VAC41-20-10, 

18VAC41-20-20, 18VAC41-20-30). 

Statutory Authority: § 54.1-201 of the Code of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: No public hearing is currently 

scheduled. 

Public Comment Deadline: September 15, 2021. 

Effective Date: October 1, 2021. 

Agency Contact: Stephen Kirschner, Executive Director, 

Board for Barbers and Cosmetology, 9960 Mayland Drive, 

Suite 400, Richmond, VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-8590, 

FAX (866) 245-9693, or email 

barbercosmo@dpor.virginia.gov. 

Basis: Section 54.1-201.5 of the Code of Virginia gives 

authority to the board to promulgate regulations. It states, in 

part, that the board has the power and duty to promulgate 

regulations in accordance with the Administrative Process Act 
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(§ 2.2-4000 et seq.) as necessary to assure continued 

competency, to prevent deceptive or misleading practices by 

practitioners, and to effectively administer the regulatory 

system administered by the regulatory board. 

Purpose: The purpose of this action is to provide an alternative 

method of qualifying for the cosmetology, barber, nail, and 

waxing licenses when applicants with out-of-state training are 

unable to demonstrate their training is substantially equivalent 

to Virginia's training requirements. Currently, these applicants 

are required to repeat a portion of the Virginia training, even 

when they have been successfully practicing in that field for, 

in some cases, decades. 

The board's Standing Committee on Training reviewed this 

area in response to requests from the public, failed 2019 

legislation covering the same issue, and as part of its general 

goal of reviewing its training requirements to ensure best 

practices and minimally burdensome regulations. The 

committee reviewed best practices among the 50 states 

regarding training requirements for out-of-state trained 

applicants. About 40 states allow experience to substitute for 

equivalent training in some form or another. To conform 

Virginia's requirements to national best practices, as well as 

ensure that individuals who have demonstrated professional 

competence in other states are not overly burdened, the board 

desires to allow five years of licensed experience to substitute 

for substantially equivalent training. 

This change is essential to protect the health, safety, and 

welfare of citizens in the least burdensome way possible. The 

board also proposes to eliminate several subsections of its entry 

requirements, using simplified language and clear 

requirements in lieu of the current highly specific requirements 

using undefined terms. This change is also in line with the 2018 

Regulatory Reduction Pilot Program requested by the General 

Assembly to streamline regulations and reduce regulatory 

burdens on entry into the profession. 

Rationale for Using Fast-Track Rulemaking Process: The 

board initiated this change based on a recommendation from 

its Standing Committee on Training. The committee received 

comments regarding the difficulty for individuals with out-of-

state training in obtaining a Virginia cosmetology license. 

Often, individuals practicing cosmetology in other states for 

decades are unable to qualify for the Virginia license because 

their training is not substantially equivalent to Virginia's. The 

committee, recognizing the statutory requirement that any 

abridgement to the right to engage in cosmetology must be no 

greater than necessary, determined that five years of licensed 

experience in another state was a sufficient substitute for 

Virginia's training requirements. 

This rulemaking is expected to be noncontroversial because it 

is reducing a regulatory burden for applicants without 

disrupting the protection of the health, safety, and welfare. 

Substance: Proposed amendments are as follows: 

18VAC41-20-10. Definitions. Definitions of substantially 

equivalent training and substantially equivalent examinations 

are added. 

18VAC41-20-20. General requirement for license. The 

language is simplified and repetitive language is eliminated. 

Requirement of six months of work experience for those with 

substantially equivalent training, but less than the required 

hours is removed. A provision to allow those who completed a 

training program that was not substantially equivalent, whether 

conducted in the United States or outside the country, to obtain 

a license based on five years of licensed experienced in that 

profession in the United States is added. 

18VAC41-20-30. Endorsement. The language is clarified. A 

provision allowing endorsement for those who completed a 

training program that was not substantially equivalent, whether 

conducted in the United States or outside the country, to 

substitute five years of licensed experienced in that profession 

in the United States for substantially equivalent training is 

added. 

Issues: The primary advantage to the public is the economic 

opportunity it provides by allowing otherwise qualified 

individuals to be able to move to and work in Virginia without 

having to complete additional training. It allows individuals 

moving to Virginia, particularly military spouses, to begin 

working quickly, without incurring time or expenses for 

additional training. This also allows employers to more easily 

transfer employees into Virginia. There are no disadvantages 

to the public. 

The Commonwealth will benefit by becoming a more 

welcoming environment for out-of-state practitioners and 

increase its competitiveness among employers. The agency 

will benefit with a reduction in staff time in handling these 

applications, as applicants in this situation are usually unhappy 

with the current board requirements and frequently involve 

multiple staff and supervisors in trying to argue that their 

experience should qualify them for the license. There are no 

disadvantages to the agency. 

Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 

Analysis:  

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. The 

Board for Barbers and Cosmetology (Board) is proposing 

amendments to improve licensure reciprocity by allowing 

individuals who have five years of licensed experience in 

another state to substitute their experience for the current 

requirement of "substantially equivalent training." The board 

would also define this term as well as "substantially equivalent 

exam." 

Background. The board's Standing Committee on Training 

received several comments regarding the difficulty faced by 

individuals with out-of-state training who seek to obtain a 

Virginia cosmetology license. Individuals who have practiced 

cosmetology in other states for an extended period of time have 

been unable to qualify for the Virginia license because their 

training has not been considered "substantially equivalent," 
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even though this term has not been defined in the regulation. 

Thus, the board seeks to make a number of changes that largely 

serve to clarify the requirements out-of-state licensees must 

meet in order to obtain licenses in Virginia. As per the current 

regulation, there are two main pathways by which an applicant 

with an out-of-state license may obtain a Virginia license as a 

barber, master barber, cosmetologist, nail technician, or wax 

technician: either by endorsement or by exam. To qualify by 

endorsement, an applicant must have a current license to 

practice (from another state), complete a "substantially 

equivalent training" program, and complete a "substantially 

equivalent exam." To obtain licensure by exam, applicants 

must first qualify to sit for a Board-approved exam and then 

complete the exam. In order to qualify to sit for the exam, the 

applicant has to either complete an approved training program 

or else demonstrate they have previously obtained 

"substantially equivalent training" that provided a certain 

number of required training hours based on their profession.1 

If an applicant's prior training provided fewer training hours 

than the regulation required, they can instead submit 

documentation of six months of work experience.2 Although 

the term "substantially equivalent" is used in multiple 

instances, it is not currently defined in the regulation. To 

clarify the board's interpretation of "substantially equivalent," 

the board established a policy on May 13, 2013, to define 

"substantially equivalent training" as it applies to licensure by 

endorsement as follows: (i) a substantially equivalent training 

program, (ii) a substantially equivalent exam, (iii) 80% of 

required training hours, and (iv) six months experience in the 

past three years.3 The board then issued a guidance document 

on August 11, 2014, that defines "substantial equivalence in 

relation to licensure endorsement" as "80% of the required 

hours in Virginia; this definition applies to all four 

professions."4 The guidance document provides further 

clarifications on the requirements, including more detail for 

barber and cosmetologist licenses in particular. Finally, 

effective April 1, 2019, the minimum number of hours required 

for a barber to qualify for the exam was reduced from 1500 to 

1100.5 The board's proposed changes would supersede any 

requirements contained in the guidance document and are 

intended to simplify the process for applicants with out-of-state 

licenses (for all four professions). Specifically, the board 

proposes to: 

1. Define "substantially equivalent training" to mean at least 

80% of the required hours in Virginia, and also curriculum 

content that covers Virginia's scope of practice for that 

profession; 

2. Define "substantially equivalent exam" to mean an 

examination administered by the licensing entity which 

covers Virginia's scope of practice for that profession; Allow 

out-of-state applicants for endorsement and for exam to meet 

the training hour requirement if they have five years" work 

experience in the U.S.; 

3. Reduce the minimum training hours for an out-of-state 

applicant to qualify for the exam with no work experience 

from 1500 to 1200 for a master barber and cosmetologist, 

1100 to 880 for a barber, 150 to 120 for a nail technician, 

and, 115 to 92 for a wax technician; and  

4. Eliminate the option for an out-of-state barber, 

cosmetologist, and master barber to qualify for the exam 

with a minimum of 1200 hours and six months of experience 

OR with a minimum of 1000 hours and six months of 

experience if they have completed the "general" or "intro" 

portions of the curriculum of an approved Virginia program. 

Estimated Benefits and Costs. The proposed amendments 

would primarily benefit barbers, cosmetologists, and nail and 

wax technicians from other states who seek to obtain licensure 

and practice in Virginia by reducing the minimum training 

hours for an out-of-state applicant to qualify for the exam with 

no work experience and making the requirements easier to 

understand and follow. Although it may appear that the number 

of options for demonstrating training equivalency have been 

reduced, any individuals who qualified under any of the 

options previously listed in guidance documents would also 

qualify under the current requirements. 

The proposed amendments do not appear to impose any new 

costs on applicants for licensure, either within the state or from 

outside the state. The board expects roughly 20 such applicants 

each year initially, potentially increasing to 50 applicants per 

year in the future across all four types of licensees. The board 

reports that 324 barbers, 2,509 master barbers, 41,762 

cosmetologists, 8,803 nail technicians, and 1,575 wax 

technicians are currently licensed in Virginia, for a total of 

54,973.6 The number of out-of-state applicants each year is 

thus likely to be a small fraction (0.04% to 0.09%) of the total 

number of current licensees, and thus would not significantly 

increase competition, and is unlikely to impose any indirect 

costs to other applicants or current licensees.  

Businesses and Other Entities Affected. The proposed 

amendments primarily benefit the individual barber, 

cosmetologist, nail technician, and wax technician applicants 

who have been licensed by other states, or hold licenses in 

other countries and are seeking licensure in Virginia. The 

board reports that approximately 20 applicants per year would 

be affected by the regulatory change. The number of potential 

applicants who are affected by these proposed changes may 

increase in the future; the board expects the number out-of-

state applicants to increase to roughly 50 per year. The 

proposed amendments could also benefit businesses that 

employ barbers, master barbers, cosmetologists, nail 

technicians, and wax technicians by increasing the supply of 

qualified individuals from which these firms may hire. 

Small Businesses7 Affected. Small businesses that employ 

barbers, cosmetologists, or nail technicians, or wax technicians 

may be positively affected by the proposal in that there may be 

a moderate increase in the supply of qualified individuals from 

which to hire.  
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Localities8 Affected.9 The proposed amendments would not 

likely disproportionately affect any particular localities, nor 

introduce costs for local governments.  

Projected Impact on Employment. The proposed amendments 

would directly contribute to the employment of those who have 

a license from another state or country and seek to become 

licensed in Virginia. The Board expects roughly 20 such 

applicants each year initially, potentially increasing to 50 

applicants per year in the future. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. The proposed 

amendments may moderately increase the supply of barbers, 

master barbers, cosmetologists, nail technicians, and wax 

technicians, making it perhaps moderately easier for firms that 

offer these services to find qualified staff. Consequently, the 

proposal may moderately increase the value of such firms. Real 

estate development costs would not be affected. 

_________________________________________ 
1The regulation requires a minimum of 1100 training hours for a barber, 1500 

for a master barber and cosmetologist, 150 for a nail technician, and 115 for a 

wax technician. 
2Although the regulation establishes the minimum number of required hours, 

it does not clarify how many hours would be acceptable to qualify if the 
applicant is under the required hours. It states that if under the required hours, 

the applicant would need six months of work experience and would need to 

have completed a "substantially equivalent training program." 
3See 

https://www.townhall.virginia.gov/L/GetFile.cfm?File=Meeting\134\18569\

Minutes_DPOR_18569_v2.pdf, pages 15 and 16. 
4For the guidance document, see 

https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/ViewGDoc.cfm?gdid=5503. 

5These reductions were only made for barbers as part of the introduction of 
two-tier licensing for the profession. See 

https://townhall.virginia.gov/l/ViewStage.cfm?stageid=8318 and 

https://townhall.virginia.gov/l/viewmandate.cfm?mandateid=898. 
6As of October 1, 2020. See 

http://www.dpor.virginia.gov/uploadedFiles/MainSite/Content/Records_and_

Documents/REG_POP(1).pdf. 
7Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.04 of the Code of Virginia, small business is defined 

as "a business entity, including its affiliates, that (i) is independently owned 

and operated and (ii) employs fewer than 500 full-time employees or has gross 

annual sales of less than $6 million." 
8"Locality" can refer to either local governments or the locations in the 

Commonwealth where the activities relevant to the regulatory change are most 

likely to occur. 
9§ 2.2-4007.04 defines "particularly affected" as bearing disproportionate 

material impact. 

Agency's Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The Board 

for Barbers and Cosmetology concurs with the economic 

impact analysis performed by the Department of Planning and 

Budget.  

Summary: 

The amendments provide a definition of "substantially 

equivalence" for training and examinations and allow 

individuals who have five years of licensed experience in 

another state to substitute their experience for substantially 

equivalent training. 

18VAC41-20-10. Definitions. 

The following words and terms when used in this chapter 

shall have the following meanings, unless the context clearly 

indicates otherwise. All terms defined in Chapter 7 (§ 54.1-700 

et seq.) of Title 54.1 of the Code of Virginia are incorporated 

in this chapter. 

"Barber school" means a place or establishment licensed by 

the board to accept and train students and that offers a barber, 

master barber, or dual barber/master barber curriculum 

approved by the board. 

"Business entity" means a sole proprietorship, partnership, 

corporation, limited liability company, limited liability 

partnership, or any other form of organization permitted by 

law. 

"Direct supervision" means that a Virginia licensed barber, 

cosmetologist, nail technician, or wax technician shall be 

present in the barbershop, cosmetology salon, nail salon, or 

waxing salon at all times when services are being performed 

by a temporary permit holder or registered apprentice. 

"Endorsement" means a method of obtaining a license by a 

person who is currently licensed in another state. 

"Firm" means any business entity recognized under the laws 

of the Commonwealth of Virginia. 

"Licensee" means any person, sole proprietorship, 

partnership, corporation, limited liability company, limited 

liability partnership, or any other form of organization 

permitted by law holding a license issued by the Board for 

Barbers and Cosmetology, as defined in § 54.1-700 of the Code 

of Virginia. 

"Post-secondary educational level" means an accredited 

college or university that is approved or accredited by the 

Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on 

Colleges or by an accrediting agency that is recognized by the 

U.S. Secretary of Education. 

"Reciprocity" means a conditional agreement between two or 

more states that will recognize one another's regulations and 

laws for equal privileges for mutual benefit. 

"Reinstatement" means having a license or certificate restored 

to effectiveness after the expiration date has passed. 

"Renewal" means continuing the effectiveness of a license or 

certificate for another period of time. 

"Responsible management" means the following individuals: 

1. The sole proprietor of a sole proprietorship; 

2. The partners of a general partnership; 

3. The managing partners of a limited partnership; 

4. The officers of a corporation; 

5. The managers of a limited liability company; 

https://www.townhall.virginia.gov/L/GetFile.cfm?File=Meeting/134/18569/Minutes_DPOR_18569_v2.pdf
https://www.townhall.virginia.gov/L/GetFile.cfm?File=Meeting/134/18569/Minutes_DPOR_18569_v2.pdf
https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/ViewGDoc.cfm?gdid=5503
https://townhall.virginia.gov/l/ViewStage.cfm?stageid=8318
https://townhall.virginia.gov/l/viewmandate.cfm?mandateid=898
http://www.dpor.virginia.gov/uploadedFiles/MainSite/Content/Records_and_Documents/REG_POP(1).pdf
http://www.dpor.virginia.gov/uploadedFiles/MainSite/Content/Records_and_Documents/REG_POP(1).pdf


Regulations 

Volume 37, Issue 26  Virginia Register of Regulations  August 16, 2021  

3979 

6. The officers or directors of an association or both; and 

7. Individuals in other business entities recognized under the 

laws of the Commonwealth as having a fiduciary 

responsibility to the firm. 

"Sole proprietor" means any individual, not a corporation, 

who is trading under his own name, or under an assumed or 

fictitious name pursuant to the provisions of §§ 59.1-69 

through 59.1-76 of the Code of Virginia. 

"Substantially equivalent exam" means an examination 

administered by the licensing entity which covers Virginia's 

scope of practice for that profession. 

"Substantially equivalent training" means at least 80% of the 

required hours in Virginia and curriculum content covering 

Virginia's scope of practice for that profession. 

"Virginia state institution" for the purposes of this chapter 

means any institution approved by the Virginia Department of 

Education or the Virginia Department of Corrections. 

18VAC41-20-20. General requirements for a barber, 

master barber, cosmetologist, nail technician, or wax 

technician license. 

A. Any individual wishing to engage in barbering, 

cosmetology, nail care, or waxing shall obtain a license in 

compliance with § 54.1-703 of the Code of Virginia and shall 

meet the following qualifications: 

1. The applicant shall be in good standing as a licensed 

barber, master barber, cosmetologist, nail technician, or wax 

technician in Virginia and all other jurisdictions where 

licensed. The applicant shall disclose to the board at the time 

of application for licensure, any disciplinary action taken in 

Virginia and all other jurisdictions in connection with the 

applicant's practice as a barber, master barber, 

cosmetologist, nail technician, or wax technician. This 

includes monetary penalties, fines, suspensions, revocations, 

surrender of a license in connection with a disciplinary 

action, or voluntary termination of a license. The applicant 

shall disclose to the board at the time of application for 

licensure if he has been previously licensed in Virginia as a 

barber, master barber, cosmetologist, nail technician, or wax 

technician. 

Upon review of the applicant's prior disciplinary action, the 

board, in its discretion, may deny licensure to any applicant 

wherein the board deems the applicant is unfit or unsuited to 

engage in barbering, cosmetology, nail care, or waxing. The 

board will decide each case by taking into account the totality 

of the circumstances. Any plea of nolo contendere or 

comparable plea shall be considered a disciplinary action for the 

purposes of this section. The applicant shall provide a certified 

copy of a final order, decree, or case decision by a court, 

regulatory agency, or board with the lawful authority to issue 

such order, decree, or case decision, and such copy shall be 

admissible as prima facie evidence of such disciplinary action. 

2. The applicant shall disclose his physical address. A post 

office box is not acceptable. 

3. The applicant shall sign, as part of the application, a 

statement certifying that the applicant has read and understands 

the Virginia barber and cosmetology license laws and this 

chapter. 

4. In accordance with § 54.1-204 of the Code of Virginia, each 

applicant shall disclose the following information regarding 

criminal convictions in Virginia and all other jurisdictions: 

a. All misdemeanor convictions involving moral 

turpitude, sexual offense, drug distribution, or physical 

injury within two years of the date of the application; and 

b. All felony convictions within 20 years of the date of 

application. 

Any plea of nolo contendere shall be considered a conviction 

for purposes of this subsection. The record of a conviction 

received from a court shall be accepted as prima facie 

evidence of a conviction or finding of guilt. The board, in its 

discretion, may deny licensure to any applicant in 

accordance with § 54.1-204 of the Code of Virginia. 

5. The applicant shall provide evidence satisfactory to the 

board that the applicant has passed the board-approved 

examination, administered either by the board or by 

independent examiners. 

B. Eligibility to sit for board-approved examination. 

1. Training in the Commonwealth of Virginia. Any person 

completing an approved barber, master barber, cosmetology, 

nail technician, or wax technician training program in a 

Virginia licensed barber, cosmetology, nail technician, or 

wax technician school, respectively, or a Virginia public 

school's barber, master barber, cosmetology, nail technician, 

or wax technician program approved by the Virginia 

Department of Education shall be eligible for examination. 

2. Training outside of the Commonwealth of Virginia, but 

within the United States and its territories. 

a. Any person completing a barber, master barber, 

cosmetology, nail care, or waxing training program that is 

substantially equivalent to the Virginia program but is 

outside of the Commonwealth of Virginia must submit to 

the board documentation of the successful completion of 

1,100 hours of substantially equivalent training to be 

eligible for examination. If less than 1,100 hours of barber 

training was completed, an applicant must submit a 

certificate, diploma, or other documentation acceptable to 

the board verifying the completion of a substantially 

equivalent barber course and documentation of six months 

of barber work experience in order to be eligible for 

examination Applicants who completed a training 

program that is not substantially equivalent to Virginia's 

training, including out of country training, may substitute 

five years of work experience for training. Applicants 

should provide their work history demonstrating five years 
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of experience as a licensed barber, master barber, 

cosmetologist, nail technician, or wax technician in any 

other state or jurisdiction of the United States on a form 

provided by the board. 

b. Any person completing a master barber or cosmetology 

training program that is substantially equivalent to the 

Virginia program but is outside of the Commonwealth of 

Virginia must submit to the board documentation of the 

successful completion of 1,500 hours of training to be 

eligible for examination. If less than 1,500 hours of master 

barber or cosmetology training was completed, an 

applicant must submit a certificate, diploma, or other 

documentation acceptable to the board verifying the 

completion of a substantially equivalent master barber or 

cosmetology course and documentation of six months of 

master barber or cosmetology work experience in order to 

be eligible for examination.  

c. Any person completing a nail technician training 

program that is substantially equivalent to the Virginia 

program but is outside of the Commonwealth of Virginia 

must submit to the board documentation of the successful 

completion of 150 hours of training to be eligible for 

examination. If less than 150 hours of nail technician 

training was completed, an applicant must submit a 

certificate, diploma, or other documentation acceptable to 

the board verifying the completion of a substantially 

equivalent nail technician course and documentation of six 

months of nail technician work experience in order to be 

eligible for the nail technician examination.  

d. Any person completing a wax technician training 

program that is substantially equivalent to the Virginia 

program but is outside of the Commonwealth of Virginia 

must submit to the board documentation of the successful 

completion of 115 hours of training to be eligible for 

examination. If less than 115 hours of wax technician 

training was completed, an applicant must submit a 

certificate, diploma, or other documentation acceptable to 

the board verifying the completion of a substantially 

equivalent wax technician course and documentation of 

six months of wax technician work experience in order to 

be eligible for the wax technician examination.  

18VAC41-20-30. License by endorsement. 

A. Upon proper application to the board, any person currently 

licensed to practice as a barber, master barber, cosmetologist, 

nail technician, or wax technician who is a barber, master 

barber, cosmetologist, nail technician, or wax technician 

instructor, or who is a licensed instructor in the respective 

profession in any other state or jurisdiction of the United States 

and who has completed both a training program and a written 

and practical examination that is substantially equivalent to 

that required by this chapter, may be issued a barber, master 

barber, cosmetologist, nail technician, or wax technician 

license or a barber, master barber, cosmetology, nail 

technician, or wax technician the respective instructor 

certificate, respectively, without an examination. The applicant 

must also meet the requirements set forth in 18VAC41-20-20 

A and 18VAC41-20-100. 

B. Applicants for licensure by endorsement who completed a 

training program that is not substantially equivalent to 

Virginia's training but otherwise meet all the requirements 

listed in subsection A of this section, may substitute five years 

of work experience for training. Applicants should provide 

their work history demonstrating five years of licensed 

experience in any other state or jurisdiction of the United States 

on a form provided by the board. 

NOTICE: The following forms used in administering the 

regulation have been filed by the agency. Amended or added 

forms are reflected in the listing and are published following the 

listing. Online users of this issue of the Virginia Register of 

Regulations may also click on the name to access a form. The 

forms are also available from the agency contact or may be viewed 

at the Office of Registrar of Regulations, 900 East Main Street, 

11th Floor, Richmond, Virginia 23219. 

FORMS (18VAC41-20) 

Barber – Barber Instructor Examination & License 

Application, A450-1301_02EXLIC-v14 (rev. 4/2019) 

Master Barber Examination & License Application, A450-

1301EXLIC-v1 (eff. 4/2019) 

Cosmetology – Cosmetology Instructor Examination & 

License Application, A450-1201_04EXLIC-v16 (rev. 2/2017) 

Nail Technician – Nail Technician Instructor Examination & 

License Application, A450-1206_07EXLIC-v14 (rev. 2/2017) 

Wax Technician – Wax Technician Instructor Examination & 

License Application, A450-1214_15EXLIC-v13 (rev. 2/2017) 

Master Barber Examination & License Application, A450-

1301EXLIC-v16 (eff. 1/2021) 

Nail Technician – Nail Technician Instructor Examination & 

License Application, A450-1206_07EXLIC-v17 (rev. 1/2021) 

Wax Technician – Wax Technician Instructor Examination & 

License Application, A450-1214_15EXLIC-v16 (rev. 1/2021) 

Cosmetology – Cosmetology Instructor Examination & 

License Application, A450-1201_04EXLIC-v19 (rev.1/2021) 

Temporary Permit Application, A450-1213TEMP-v2 (rev. 

2/2017) 

License by Endorsement Application, A450-1213END-v11 

(rev. 4/2019) 

License by Endorsement Application, A450-1213END-v16 

(rev. 1/2021) 

Training & Experience Verification Form, A450-

1213TREXP-v6 (eff. 2/2017) 

https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC41/forms/3274b005428~3f.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC41/forms/3274b005428~3f.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC41/forms/A450-1301EXLIC%20-%20BARBER,%20MASTER%20BARBER%20&%20INSTRUCTOR%20EXAM%20&%20LICENSE%20APPLICATION%20-%20Final-20210727161717-20210728093726.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC41/forms/A450-1301EXLIC%20-%20BARBER,%20MASTER%20BARBER%20&%20INSTRUCTOR%20EXAM%20&%20LICENSE%20APPLICATION%20-%20Final-20210727161717-20210728093726.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC41/forms/A450-1206-07XLIC%20-%20NAIL%20TECHNICIAN%20AND%20INSTRUCTOR%20EXAM%20AND%20LICENSE%20APPLICATION%20-%20Final-20210727161902-20210728094215.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC41/forms/A450-1206-07XLIC%20-%20NAIL%20TECHNICIAN%20AND%20INSTRUCTOR%20EXAM%20AND%20LICENSE%20APPLICATION%20-%20Final-20210727161902-20210728094215.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC41/forms/A450-1214-15XLIC%20-%20WAX%20TECHNICIAN%20AND%20INSTRUCTOR%20EXAM%20AND%20LICENSE%20APPLICATION%20-%20Final-20210727161927-20210728094419.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC41/forms/A450-1214-15XLIC%20-%20WAX%20TECHNICIAN%20AND%20INSTRUCTOR%20EXAM%20AND%20LICENSE%20APPLICATION%20-%20Final-20210727161927-20210728094419.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC41/forms/A450-1201-04EXLIC%20-%20COSMETOLOGY%20EXAM%20AND%20LICENSE%20APPLICATION-20210727163641-20210728095411.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC41/forms/A450-1201-04EXLIC%20-%20COSMETOLOGY%20EXAM%20AND%20LICENSE%20APPLICATION-20210727163641-20210728095411.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC41/forms/9a80c003107~17.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC41/forms/9a80c003107~17.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC41/forms/A450-1213END%20-%20LICENSE%20BY%20ENDORSEMENT%20APPLICATION%20-%20Final-20210727161954-20210728095225.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC41/forms/A450-1213END%20-%20LICENSE%20BY%20ENDORSEMENT%20APPLICATION%20-%20Final-20210727161954-20210728095225.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC41/forms/88c0e003107~17.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC41/forms/88c0e003107~17.pdf
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Individuals – Reinstatement Application, A450-1213REI-v9 

(rev. 2/2017) 

Salon, Shop, Spa & Parlor License/Reinstatement Application 

A450-1213BUS-v9 (rev. 2/2017) 

Salon, Shop & Spa Self Inspection Form, A450-

1213_SSS_INSP-v2 (eff. 5/2016) 

Instructor Certification Application, A450-1213INST-v9 (rev. 

1/2018) 

Student Instructor – Temporary Permit Application A450-

1213ST_TEMP-v2 (rev. 2/2017) 

School License Application, A450-1213SCHL-v10 (rev. 

2/2017) 

School Reinstatement Application A450-1213SCHL-REIN-v3 

(eff. 2/2017) 

School Self-Inspection Form, A450-1213_SCH_INSP-v4 (eff. 

5/2016) 

Licensure Fee Notice, A450-1213FEE-v7 (rev. 1/2017) 

Change of Responsible Management Application, A450-

1213CRM-v1 (rev. 2/2017) 

Training Substitution Form, A450-1213TR_SUB-v1 (rev. 

1/2021) 

VA.R. Doc. No. R21-6508; Filed July 23, 2021, 1:25 p.m. 

BOARD OF MEDICINE 

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Board of Medicine is claiming an 

exemption from Article 2 of the Administrative Process Act in 

accordance with § 2.2-4006 A 4 a of the Code of Virginia, which 

excludes regulations that are necessary to conform to changes in 

Virginia statutory law or the appropriation act where no agency 

discretion is involved. The board will receive, consider, and 

respond to petitions by any interested person at any time with 

respect to reconsideration or revision. 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC85-50. Regulations Governing 

the Practice of Physician Assistants (amending 18VAC85-

50-10, 18VAC85-50-40, 18VAC85-50-101, 18VAC85-50-

110, 18VAC85-50-115). 

Statutory Authority: § 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: September 15, 2021. 

Agency Contact: William L. Harp, M.D., Executive Director, 

Board of Medicine, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, 

Richmond, VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-4558, FAX (804) 

527-4429, or email william.harp@dhp.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

Pursuant to Chapter 210 of the 2021 Acts of Assembly, 

Special Session I, the amendments clarify that a physician 

assistant can have a practice agreement with one or more 

patient care team physicians and that the physician is not 

ultimately responsible for the acts of the assistant. 

18VAC85-50-10. Definitions. 

A. The following words and terms shall have the meanings 

ascribed to them in § 54.1-2900 of the Code of Virginia: 

"Board." 

"Collaboration." 

"Consultation." 

"Patient care team physician." 

"Patient care team podiatrist." 

"Physician assistant." 

B. The following words and terms when used in this chapter 

shall have the following meanings unless the context clearly 

indicates otherwise: 

"Group practice" means the practice of a group of two or more 

doctors of medicine, osteopathy, or podiatry licensed by the 

board who practice as a partnership or professional 

corporation. 

"Institution" means a hospital, nursing home or other health 

care facility, community health center, public health center, 

industrial medicine or corporation clinic, a medical service 

facility, student health center, or other setting approved by the 

board. 

"NCCPA" means the National Commission on Certification 

of Physician Assistants. 

"Practice agreement" means a written or electronic agreement 

developed by the one or more patient care team physician 

physicians or podiatrist podiatrists and the physician assistant 

that defines the relationship between the physician assistant 

and the physician physicians or podiatrist podiatrists, the 

prescriptive authority of the physician assistant, and the 

circumstances under which the a physician or podiatrist will 

see and evaluate the patient. 

18VAC85-50-40. General requirements. 

A. No person shall practice as a physician assistant in the 

Commonwealth of Virginia except as provided in this chapter. 

B. All services rendered by a physician assistant shall be 

performed only in accordance with a practice agreement with 

a doctor one or more doctors of medicine, osteopathy, or 

podiatry licensed by this board to practice in the 

Commonwealth. 

18VAC85-50-101. Requirements for a practice agreement. 

A. Prior to initiation of practice, a physician assistant and his 

one or more patient care team physician physicians or 

podiatrist podiatrists shall enter into a written or electronic 

practice agreement that spells out the roles and functions of the 

https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC41/forms/8444d003107~16.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC41/forms/8444d003107~16.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC41/forms/d02cf003107~16.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC41/forms/d02cf003107~16.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC41/forms/ab3e4003107~14.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC41/forms/ab3e4003107~14.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC41/forms/86b3f004988~1f.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC41/forms/86b3f004988~1f.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC41/forms/bfd57003107~17.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC41/forms/bfd57003107~17.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC41/forms/b39d4003107~17.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC41/forms/b39d4003107~17.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC41/forms/a2fb0003107~16.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC41/forms/a2fb0003107~16.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC41/forms/c3d1f003107~15.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC41/forms/c3d1f003107~15.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC41/forms/bbe6c003107~17.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC41/forms/53a19003107~16.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC41/forms/53a19003107~16.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC41/forms/A450-1213TR-SUB%20-%20B&C%20Training%20Substitution%20Form-20210727163709-20210728095617.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC41/forms/A450-1213TR-SUB%20-%20B&C%20Training%20Substitution%20Form-20210727163709-20210728095617.pdf
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assistant and is consistent with provisions of § 54.1-2952 of the 

Code of Virginia. 

1. The patient care team physician or podiatrist shall be a 

doctor of medicine, osteopathy, or podiatry licensed in the 

Commonwealth who has accepted responsibility for the 

service that a physician assistant renders. 

2. Any such practice agreement shall take into account such 

factors as the physician assistant's level of competence, the 

number of patients, the types of illness treated by the 

physician physicians or podiatrist podiatrists, the nature of 

the treatment, special procedures, and the nature of the 

physician physicians' or podiatrist podiatrists' availability in 

ensuring direct physician or podiatrist involvement at an 

early stage and regularly thereafter. 

3. 2. The practice agreement shall also provide an evaluation 

process for the physician assistant's performance, including 

a requirement specifying the time period, proportionate to 

the acuity of care and practice setting, within which the 

physician physicians or podiatrist podiatrists shall review the 

record of services rendered by the physician assistant. 

4. 3. The practice agreement may include requirements for 

periodic site visits by licensees who supervise and direct the 

patient care team physician physicians or podiatrist 

podiatrists to collaborate and consult with physician 

assistants who provide services at a location other than 

where the physician physicians or podiatrist podiatrists 

regularly practices practice. 

B. The board may require information regarding the degree 

of collaboration and consultation by the patient care team 

physician physicians or podiatrist podiatrists. The board may 

also require the a patient care team physician or podiatrist to 

document the physician assistant's competence in performing 

such tasks. 

C. If the role of the physician assistant includes prescribing 

drugs and devices, the written practice agreement shall include 

those schedules and categories of drugs and devices that are 

within the scope of practice and proficiency of the patient care 

team physician physicians or podiatrist podiatrists. 

D. If the initial practice agreement did not include 

prescriptive authority, there shall be an addendum to the 

practice agreement for prescriptive authority. 

E. If there are any changes in consultation and collaboration, 

authorization, or scope of practice, a revised practice 

agreement shall be entered into at the time of the change. 

18VAC85-50-110. Responsibilities of the patient care team 

physician or podiatrist. 

The A patient care team physician or podiatrist shall: 

1. Review the clinical course and treatment plan for any 

patient who presents for the same acute complaint twice in a 

single episode of care and has failed to improve as expected. 

The A physician or podiatrist shall be involved with any 

patient with a continuing illness as noted in the written or 

electronic practice agreement for the evaluation process. 

2. Be responsible for all invasive procedures. 

a. Under supervision, a physician assistant may insert a 

nasogastric tube, bladder catheter, needle, or peripheral 

intravenous catheter, but not a flow-directed catheter, and 

may perform minor suturing, venipuncture, and 

subcutaneous intramuscular or intravenous injection. 

b. All other invasive procedures not listed in subdivision 

2 a of this section must be performed under supervision 

with the physician in the room unless, after directly 

observing the performance of a specific invasive 

procedure three times or more, the patient care team 

physician or podiatrist attests on the practice agreement to 

the competence of the physician assistant to perform the 

specific procedure without direct observation and 

supervision. 

3. Be responsible for all prescriptions issued by the 

physician assistant and attest to the competence of the 

assistant to prescribe drugs and devices. 

4. Be available at all times to collaborate and consult with 

the physician assistant. 

18VAC85-50-115. Responsibilities of the physician 

assistant. 

A. The physician assistant shall not render independent health 

care and shall: 

1. Perform only those medical care services that are within 

the scope of the practice and proficiency of the patient care 

team physician physicians or podiatrist podiatrists as 

prescribed in the physician assistant's practice agreement. 

When a physician assistant is working outside the scope of 

specialty of the patient care team physician physicians or 

podiatrist podiatrists, then the physician assistant's functions 

shall be limited to those areas not requiring specialized 

clinical judgment, unless a separate practice agreement has 

been executed for that an alternate patient care team 

physician or podiatrist. 

2. Prescribe only those drugs and devices as allowed in Part 

V (18VAC85-50-130 et seq.) of this chapter. 

3. Wear during the course of performing his duties 

identification showing clearly that he is a physician assistant. 

B. An alternate patient care team physician or podiatrist shall 

be a member of the same group, professional corporation, or 

partnership of any licensee who is the patient care team 

physician or podiatrist for a physician assistant or shall be a 

member of the same hospital or commercial enterprise with the 

patient care team physician or podiatrist. Such alternating 

physician or podiatrist shall be a physician or podiatrist 
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licensed in the Commonwealth who has accepted 

responsibility for the service that a physician assistant renders. 

C. If, due to illness, vacation, or unexpected absence, the a 

patient care team physician or podiatrist or alternate physician 

or podiatrist is unable to supervise the activities of his 

physician assistant, such patient care team physician or 

podiatrist may temporarily delegate the responsibility to 

another doctor of medicine, osteopathic medicine, or podiatry. 

Temporary coverage may not exceed four weeks unless 

special permission is granted by the board. 

D. C. With respect to physician assistants employed by 

institutions, the following additional regulations shall apply: 

1. No physician assistant may render care to a patient unless 

the physician or podiatrist responsible for that patient has 

signed the practice agreement to act as patient care team 

physician or podiatrist for is available for collaboration and 

consultation with that physician assistant. 

2. Any such practice agreement as described in subdivision 

1 of this subsection shall delineate the duties which said 

patient care team physician or podiatrist authorizes the 

physician assistant to perform. 

E. D. Practice by a physician assistant in a hospital, including 

an emergency department, shall be in accordance with § 54.1-

2952 of the Code of Virginia. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R21-6847; Filed July 27, 2021, 10:06 a.m. 

BOARD OF PHARMACY 

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Board of Pharmacy is claiming 

an exemption from Article 2 of the Administrative Process Act 

in accordance with § 2.2-4006 A 13 of the Code of Virginia, 

which exempts amendments to regulations of the board to 

schedule a substance in Schedule I or II pursuant to subsection 

D of § 54.1-3443 of the Code of Virginia. The board will 

receive, consider, and respond to petitions by any interested 

person at any time with respect to reconsideration or revision. 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC110-20. Regulations Governing 

the Practice of Pharmacy (amending 18VAC110-20-322). 

Statutory Authority: §§ 54.1-2400 and 54.1-3443 of the Code 

of Virginia. 

Effective Date: September 15, 2021. 

Agency Contact: Caroline Juran, RPh, Executive Director, 

Board of Pharmacy, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, 

Richmond, VA 23233-1463, telephone (804) 367-4456, FAX 

(804) 527-4472, or email caroline.juran@dhp.virginia.gov. 

Summary:  

The amendments add three compounds into Schedule I of the 

Drug Control Act as recommended by the Department of 

Forensic Science pursuant to § 54.1-3443 of the Code of 

Virginia. These compounds added by regulatory action will 

remain in effect for 18 months or until the compounds are 

placed in Schedule I by legislative action of the General 

Assembly.  

18VAC110-20-322. Placement of chemicals in Schedule I. 

A. Pursuant to subsection D of § 54.1-3443 of the Code of 

Virginia, the Board of Pharmacy places the following in 

Schedule I of the Drug Control Act: 

1. Synthetic opioids. 

a. N-[2-(dimethylamino)cyclohexyl]-N-phenylfuran-2-

carboxamide (other name: Furanyl UF-17), its isomers, 

esters, ethers, salts, and salts of isomers, esters, and ethers, 

unless specifically excepted, whenever the existence of 

these isomers, esters, ethers, and salts is possible within 

the specific chemical designation. 

b. N-[2-(dimethylamino)cyclohexyl]-N-

phenylpropionamide (other name: UF-17), its isomers, 

esters, ethers, salts, and salts of isomers, esters, and ethers, 

unless specifically excepted, whenever the existence of 

these isomers, esters, ethers, and salts is possible within 

the specific chemical designation. 

2. Research chemicals. 

a. 5-methoxy-N,N-dibutyltryptamine (other name: 5-

methoxy-DBT), its optical, position, and geometric 

isomers, salts, and salts of isomers whenever the existence 

of such salts, isomers, and salts of isomers is possible 

within the specific chemical designation. 

b. 1-(1,3-benzodioxol-5-yl)-2-(ethylamino)-1-butanone 

(other name: Eutylone, bk-EBDB), its optical, position, 

and geometric isomers, salts, and salts of isomers 

whenever the existence of such salts, isomers, and salts of 

isomers is possible within the specific chemical 

designation. 

c. 1-(1,3-benzodioxol-5-yl)-2-(butylamino)-1-pentanone 

(other name: N-butylpentylone), its optical, position, and 

geometric isomers, salts, and salts of isomers whenever 

the existence of such salts, isomers, and salts of isomers is 

possible within the specific chemical designation. 

d. N-benzyl-3,4-dimethoxyamphetamine (other name: N-

benzyl-3,4-DMA), its optical, position, and geometric 

isomers, salts, and salts of isomers whenever the existence 

of such salts, isomers, and salts of isomers is possible 

within the specific chemical designation. 

e. 3,4-methylenedioxy-N-benzylcathinone (other name: 

BMDP), its optical, position, and geometric isomers, salts, 

and salts of isomers whenever the existence of such salts, 

isomers, and salts of isomers is possible within the specific 

chemical designation. 

3. Cannabimimetic agents. 

a. Ethyl 2-({1-[(4-fluorophenyl)methyl]-1H-indazole-3-

carbonyl}amino)-3-methylbutanoate (other name: EMB-

FUBINACA), its salts, isomers, and salts of isomers 
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whenever the existence of such salts, isomers, and salts of 

isomers is possible within the specific chemical 

designation. 

b. Methyl 2-[1-4-fluorobutyl)-1H-indazole-3-

carboxamido]-3,3-dimethylbutanoate (other name: 4-

fluoro-MDMB-BUTINACA), its salts, isomers, and salts 

of isomers whenever the existence of such salts, isomers, 

and salts of isomers is possible within the specific 

chemical designation. 

The placement of drugs listed in this subsection shall remain 

in effect until June 10, 2021, unless enacted into law in the 

Drug Control Act. 

B. Pursuant to subsection D of § 54.1-3443 of the Code of 

Virginia, the Board of Pharmacy places the following in 

Schedule I of the Drug Control Act: 

1. Synthetic opioids. 

a. N-phenyl-N-[1-(2-phenylmethyl)-4-piperidinyl]-2-

furancarboxamide (other name: N-benzyl Furanyl 

norfentanyl), its isomers, esters, ethers, salts, and salts of 

isomers, esters, and ethers, unless specifically excepted, 

whenever the existence of these isomers, esters, ethers, 

and salts is possible within the specific chemical 

designation. 

b. 1-[2-methyl-4-(3-phenyl-2-propen-1-yl)-1-

piperazinyl]-1-butanone (other name: 2-methyl AP-237), 

its isomers, esters, ethers, salts, and salts of isomers, 

esters, and ethers, unless specifically excepted, whenever 

the existence of these isomers, esters, ethers, and salts is 

possible within the specific chemical designation. 

2. Research chemicals. 

a. N-hexyl-3,4-dimethoxyamphetamine (other names: N-

hexyl-3.4-DMA), its optical, position, and geometric 

isomers, salts, and salts of isomers whenever the existence 

of such salts, isomers, and salts of isomers is possible 

within the specific chemical designation. 

b. N-heptyl-3,4-dimethoxyamphetamine (other names: N-

heptyl-3.4-DMA), its optical, position, and geometric 

isomers, salts, and salts of isomers whenever the existence 

of such salts, isomers, and salts of isomers is possible 

within the specific chemical designation. 

c. 2-(isobutylamino)-1-phenylhexan-1-one (other names: 

N-Isobutyl Hexedrone, α-isobutylaminohexanphenone), 

its optical, position, and geometric isomers, salts, and salts 

of isomers whenever the existence of such salts, isomers, 

and salts of isomers is possible within the specific 

chemical designation. 

d. 1-(benzo[d][1,3]dioxol-5-yl)-2-(sec-

butylamino)pentan-1-one (other name: N-sec-butyl 

Pentylone), its optical, position, and geometric isomers, 

salts, and salts of isomers whenever the existence of such 

salts, isomers, and salts of isomers is possible within the 

specific chemical designation. 

e. 2-fluoro-Deschloroketamine (other name: 2-(2-

fluorophenyl)-2-(methylamino)-cyclohexanone), its 

optical, position, and geometric isomers, salts, and salts of 

isomers whenever the existence of such salts, isomers, and 

salts of isomers is possible within the specific chemical 

designation. 

3. Cannabimimetic agents. 

a. Methyl 2-[1-(5-fluoropentyl)-1H-indole-3-

carboxamido]-3-methylbutanoate (other name: MMB 

2201), its salts, isomers, and salts of isomers whenever the 

existence of such salts, isomers, and salts of isomers is 

possible within the specific chemical designation. 

b. Methyl 2-[1-(4-penten-1-yl)-1H-indole-3-

carboxamido]-3-methylbutanoate (other names: 

MMB022, MMB-4en-PICA), its salts, isomers, and salts 

of isomers whenever the existence of such salts, isomers, 

and salts of isomers is possible within the specific 

chemical designation. 

c. Methyl 2-[1-(5-fluoropentyl)-1H-indole-3-

carboxamido]-3-phenylpropanoate (other name: 5-fluoro-

MPP-PICA), its salts, isomers, and salts of isomers 

whenever the existence of such salts, isomers, and salts of 

isomers is possible within the specific chemical 

designation. 

d. 1-(5-fluoropentyl)-N-(1-methyl-1-phenylethyl)-1H-

indole-3-carboxamide (other name: 5-fluoro CUMYL-

PICA), its salts, isomers, and salts of isomers whenever 

the existence of such salts, isomers, and salts of isomers is 

possible within the specific chemical designation. 

The placement of drugs listed in this subsection shall remain 

in effect until February 4, 2022, unless enacted into law in the 

Drug Control Act. 

C. Pursuant to subsection D of § 54.1-3443 of the Code of 

Virginia, the Board of Pharmacy places the following in 

Schedule I of the Drug Control Act: 

1. Synthetic opioids. 

a. N-phenyl-N-(4-piperidinyl)-propanamide (other name: 

Norfentanyl), its isomers, esters, ethers, salts, and salts of 

isomers, esters, and ethers, unless specifically excepted, 

whenever the existence of these isomers, esters, ethers, 

and salts is possible within the specific chemical 

designation. 

b. N,N-diethyl-2-(2-(4-isopropoxybenzyl)-5-nitro-1H-

benzimidazol-1-yl)ethan-1-amine (other name: 

Isotonitazene), its isomers, esters, ethers, salts, and salts of 

isomers, esters, and ethers, unless specifically excepted, 

whenever the existence of these isomers, esters, ethers, 

and salts is possible within the specific chemical 

designation. 

2. Research chemicals. 
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a. (2-ethylaminopropyl)benzofuran (other name: EAPB), 

its optical, position, and geometric isomers, salts, and salts 

of isomers whenever the existence of such salts, isomers, 

and salts of isomers is possible within the specific 

chemical designation. 

b. 2-(ethylamino)-1-phenylheptan-1-one (other name: N-

ethylheptedrone), its optical, position, and geometric 

isomers, salts, and salts of isomers whenever the existence 

of such salts, isomers, and salts of isomers is possible 

within the specific chemical designation. 

c. 4-ethyl-2,5-dimethoxy-N-[(2-hydroxyphenyl)methyl]-

benzeneethanamine (other name: 25E-NBOH), its optical, 

position, and geometric isomers, salts, and salts of isomers 

whenever the existence of such salts, isomers, and salts of 

isomers is possible within the specific chemical 

designation. 

d. 4-hydroxy-N-ethyl-N-propyltryptamine (other name: 4-

hydroxy-EPT), its optical, position, and geometric 

isomers, salts, and salts of isomers whenever the existence 

of such salts, isomers, and salts of isomers is possible 

within the specific chemical designation. 

e. N-ethyl-1-(3-hydroxyphenyl)cyclohexylamine (other 

name: 3-hydroxy-PCE), its optical, position, and 

geometric isomers, salts, and salts of isomers whenever 

the existence of such salts, isomers, and salts of isomers is 

possible within the specific chemical designation. 

f. 1-cyclopropionyl lysergic acid diethylamide (other 

name: 1cP-LSD), its optical, position, and geometric 

isomers, salts, and salts of isomers whenever the existence 

of such salts, isomers, and salts of isomers is possible 

within the specific chemical designation. 

g. 1-(4-methoxyphenyl)-N-methylpropan-2-amine (other 

names: para-Methoxymethamphetamine, PMMA), its 

optical, position, and geometric isomers, salts, and salts of 

isomers whenever the existence of such salts, isomers, and 

salts of isomers is possible within the specific chemical 

designation. 

3. Cannabimimetic agents. 

a. Methyl 2-[1-(pent-4-enyl)-1H-indazole-3-

carboxamindo]-3,3-dimethylbutanoate (other name: 

MDMB-4en-PINACA), its salts, isomers, and salts of 

isomers whenever the existence of such salts, isomers, and 

salts of isomers is possible within the specific chemical 

designation. 

b. N-(1-amino-3,3-dimethyl-1-oxobutan-2-yl)-1-

butylindazole-3-carboxamide (other name: ADB-

BUTINACA), its salts, isomers, and salts of isomers 

whenever the existence of such salts, isomers, and salts of 

isomers is possible within the specific chemical 

designation. 

c. N-(1-amino-3-methyl-1-oxobutan-2-yl)-1-(5-

chloropentyl)indazole-3-carboxamide (other name: 5-

chloro-AB-PINACA), its salts, isomers, and salts of 

isomers whenever the existence of such salts, isomers, and 

salts of isomers is possible within the specific chemical 

designation. 

d. Methyl 2-({1-[(4-fluorophenyl)methyl]-1H-indole-3-

carbonyl}amino)-3-methylbutanoate (other names: 

MMB-FUBICA, AMB-FUBICA), its salts, isomers, and 

salts of isomers whenever the existence of such salts, 

isomers, and salts of isomers is possible within the specific 

chemical designation. 

The placement of drugs listed in this subsection shall remain 

in effect until May 24, 2022, unless enacted into law in the 

Drug Control Act. 

D. Pursuant to subsection D of § 54.1-3443 of the Code of 

Virginia, the Board of Pharmacy places the following in 

Schedule I of the Drug Control Act: 

1. Synthetic opioid. N,N-diethyl-2-[(4-

methoxyphenyl)methyl]-1H-benzimidazole-1-ethanamine 

(other name: Metodesnitazene), its isomers, esters, ethers, 

salts, and salts of isomers, esters, and ethers, unless 

specifically excepted, whenever the existence of these 

isomers, esters, ethers, and salts is possible within the 

specific chemical designation. 

2. Compounds expected to have hallucinogenic properties. 

a. 4-fluoro-3-methyl-alpha-pyrrolidinovalerophenone 

(other name: 4-fluoro-3-methyl-alpha-PVP), its salts, 

isomers (optical, position, and geometric), and salts of 

isomers whenever the existence of such salts, isomers, and 

salts of isomers is possible within the specific chemical 

designation. 

b. 4-fluoro-alpha-methylamino-valerophenone (other 

name: 4-fluoropentedrone), its salts, isomers, and salts of 

isomers whenever the existence of such salts, isomers 

(optical, position, and geometric), and salts of isomers is 

possible within the specific chemical designation. 

c. N-(1,4-dimethylpentyl)-3,4-dimethoxyamphetamine 

(other name: N-(1,4-dimethylpentyl)-3,4-DMA), its salts, 

isomers, and salts of isomers whenever the existence of 

such salts, isomers (optical, position, and geometric), and 

salts of isomers is possible within the specific chemical 

designation. 

d. 4,5-methylenedioxy-N,N-diisopropyltryptamine (other 

name: 4,5-MDO-DiPT), its salts, isomers, and salts of 

isomers whenever the existence of such salts, isomers 

(optical, position, and geometric), and salts of isomers is 

possible within the specific chemical designation. 

e. Alpha-pyrrolidinocyclohexanophenone (other name: 

alpha-PCYP), its salts, isomers, and salts of isomers 

whenever the existence of such salts, isomers (optical, 

position, and geometric), and salts of isomers is possible 

within the specific chemical designation. 

f. 3,4-methylenedioxy-alpha-pyrrolidinoheptiophenone 

(other name: MDPV8), its salts, isomers, and salts of 
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isomers whenever the existence of such salts, isomers 

(optical, position, and geometric), and salts of isomers is 

possible within the specific chemical designation. 

3. Compounds expected to have depressant properties. 

a. Bromazolam, its salts, isomers, and salts of isomers 

whenever the existence of such salts, isomers, and salts of 

isomers is possible within the specific chemical 

designation. 

b. Deschloroetizolam, its salts, isomers, and salts of 

isomers whenever the existence of such salts, isomers, and 

salts of isomers is possible within the specific chemical 

designation. 

c. 7-chloro-5-(2-fluorophenyl)-1,3-dihydro-1,4-

benzodiazepin-2-one (other name: Norfludiazepam), its 

salts, isomers, and salts of isomers whenever the existence 

of such salts, isomers, and salts of isomers is possible 

within the specific chemical designation. 

4. Cannabimimetic agents. 

a. Methyl 2-[1-(4-fluorobutyl)-1H-indole-3-carboxamido]-

3,3-dimethylbutanoate (other name: 4-fluoro-MDMB-

BUTICA), its salts, isomers, and salts of isomers whenever 

the existence of such salts, isomers, and salts of isomers is 

possible within the specific chemical designation. 

b. Ethyl 2-[1-(5-fluoropentyl)-1H-indole-3-carboxamido]-3-

methylbutanoate (other name: 5-fluoro-EMB-PICA), its 

salts, isomers, and salts of isomers whenever the existence of 

such salts, isomers, and salts of isomers is possible within the 

specific chemical designation. 

The placement of drugs listed in this subsection shall remain 

in effect until October 27, 2022, unless enacted into law in the 

Drug Control Act. 

E. Pursuant to subsection D of § 54.1-3443 of the Code of 

Virginia, the Board of Pharmacy places the following in 

Schedule I of the Drug Control Act: 

1. Synthetic opioids. 

a. 1-{1-[1-(4-bromophenyl)ethyl]-4-piperidinyl}-1,3-

dihydro-2H-benzimidazol-2-one (other name: Brorphine), 

its isomers, esters, ethers, salts, and salts of isomers, 

esters, and ethers, unless specifically excepted, whenever 

the existence of these isomers, esters, ethers, and salts is 

possible within the specific chemical designation. 

b. N-(4-chlorophenyl)-N-[1-(2-phenylethyl)-4-

piperidinyl]-propanamide (other names: para-

chlorofentanyl, 4-chlorofentanyl), its isomers, esters, 

ethers, salts, and salts of isomers, esters, and ethers, unless 

specifically excepted, whenever the existence of these 

isomers, esters, ethers, and salts is possible within the 

specific chemical designation. 

c. 2-[(4-methoxyphenyl)methyl]-N,N-diethyl-5-nitro-1H-

benzimidazole-1-ethanamine (other name: Metonitazene), 

its isomers, esters, ethers, salts, and salts of isomers, 

esters, and ethers, unless specifically excepted, whenever 

the existence of these isomers, esters, ethers, and salts is 

possible within the specific chemical designation. 

d. N,N-diethyl-2-{[(4-ethoxyphenyl) methyl]-1H-

benzimidazol-1-yl}-ethan-1-amine (other name: Etazene, 

Desnitroetonitazene), its isomers, esters, ethers, salts, and 

salts of isomers, esters, and ethers, unless specifically 

excepted, whenever the existence of these isomers, esters, 

ethers, and salts is possible within the specific chemical 

designation. 

2. Depressant. 

5-(2-chlorophenyl)-1,3-dihydro-3-methyl-7-nitro-2H-1,4-

benzodiazepin-2-one (other name: Meclonazepam), its 

salts, isomers, and salts of isomers whenever the existence 

of such salts, isomers, and salts of isomers is possible 

within the specific chemical designation. 

3. Cannabimimetic agent. 

Ethyl-2-[1-(5-fluoropentyl)-1H-indole-3-carboxamido]-

3,3-dimethylbutanoate (other name: 5-fluoro EDMB-

PICA), its salts, isomers, and salts of isomers whenever 

the existence of such salts, isomers, and salts of isomers is 

possible within the specific chemical designation. 

The placement of drugs listed in this subsection shall remain 

in effect until December 23, 2022, unless enacted into law in 

the Drug Control Act. 

F. Pursuant to subsection D of § 54.1-3443 of the Code of 

Virginia, the Board of Pharmacy places the following in Schedule 

I of the Drug Control Act: 

1. Compound expected to have hallucinogenic properties.  

4-chloro-alpha-methylaminobutiophenone (other name: 4-

chloro Buphedrone), its salts, isomers (optical, position, and 

geometric), and salts of isomers whenever the existence of 

such salts, isomers, and salts of isomers is possible within the 

specific chemical designation. 

2. Cannabimimetic agents. 

a. Ethyl-2-[1-(5-fluoropentyl)-1H-indazole-3-carboxamido]-

3-methylbutanoate (other names: 5-fluoro-EMB-PINACA, 

5F-AEB), its salts, isomers, and salts of isomers whenever the 

existence of such salts, isomers, and salts of isomers is 

possible within the specific chemical designation. 

b. N-(1-amino-3,3-dimethyl-1-oxobutan-2-yl)-1-(pent-4-

enyl)indazole-3-carboxamide (other name: ADB-4en-

PINACA), its salts, isomers, and salts of isomers whenever 

the existence of such salts, isomers, and salts of isomers is 

possible within the specific chemical designation. 

The placement of drugs listed in this subsection shall remain in 

effect until March 14, 2023, unless enacted into law in the Drug 

Control Act. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R21-6713; Filed July 27, 2021, 11:12 a.m. 
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Proposed Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC110-20. Regulations Governing 

the Practice of Pharmacy (amending 18VAC110-20-425, 

18VAC110-20-500; adding 18VAC110-20-505). 

Statutory Authority: §§ 54.1-2400 and 54.1-3307 of the Code 

of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: 

September 24, 2021 - noon - Department of Health 

Professions, Conference Center, 2nd Floor, 9960 Mayland 

Drive, Henrico, VA 23233 

Public Comment Deadline: October 15, 2021. 

Agency Contact: Caroline Juran, RPh, Executive Director, 

Board of Pharmacy, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, 

Richmond, VA 23233-1463, telephone (804) 367-4456, FAX 

(804) 527-4472, or email caroline.juran@dhp.virginia.gov. 

Basis: Regulations are promulgated under the general authority 

of § 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia, which provides the 

Board of Pharmacy the authority to promulgate regulations to 

administer the regulatory system. The specific authority for the 

board to regulate the dispensing of prescription drugs is found 

in § 54.1-3307 of the Code of Virginia. 

Purpose: The regulation will allow an interested hospital to 

utilize these newer and proven technologies that facilitate 

efficiencies in the management and dispensing of drugs 

without the cost and burden of applying for an innovative pilot 

program; allow these proven technologies to be used to verify 

drug accuracy, which decreases risk of human error associated 

with manual pharmacist verifications; and allow pharmacists 

more time to focus on patient-centered clinical activities. 

The purpose of this regulatory action is to update regulations 

for utilization of newer technologies in the practice of 

pharmacy in a hospital system and for facilitating time for 

pharmacists to be more involved in direct patient care. 

Technologies such as medication carousels and radio-

frequency identification (RFID) components of a robotic 

pharmacy system have already been approved for use as 

innovative pilot programs and have been shown to protect the 

health and safety of the drug supply and patients in hospitals. 

Substance: Amendments are proposed for 18VAC110-20-425 

on robotic pharmacy systems to allow for medication carousels 

used in a hospital to store and guide the selection of drugs to 

be dispensed or removed from the pharmacy. A pharmacist 

will not be required to manually check the accuracy of a drug 

removed from the carousel by a pharmacy technician when the 

technology is used, in compliance with the regulation, to verify 

accuracy. Because medication carousels rely on the use of 

barcode scanning to verify drug accuracy, certain safeguards 

are adopted to include a verification check by a pharmacist for 

the accuracy of the barcode assignment to an individual drug. 

A new section, 18VAC110-20-505, is added to incorporate 

another technology already approved for innovative pilot 

programs the use of RFID to verify the accuracy of drugs 

placed into a kit for licensed emergency medical services 

personnel or other kits used as floor stock throughout a 

hospital. The regulation specifies the responsibilities of a 

pharmacist and the duties of a pharmacy technician in the use 

of RFID technology. 

Issues: The advantage to the public and the hospital systems is 

the use of new technology that accurately and efficiently 

prepares medications for dispensing from a pharmacy to 

patients on the floor or to persons receiving emergency 

services by emergency management services agencies. There 

are no disadvantages. There are ample safeguards to ensure the 

accuracy and integrity of the drugs dispensed through use of 

medication carousels or RFID technology. There are no 

advantages or disadvantages to this agency or the 

Commonwealth. 

Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 

Analysis: 

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. The 

Board of Pharmacy (Board) proposes to amend 18VAC110-20 

Regulations Governing the Practice of Pharmacy (regulation) 

in order to incorporate certain practices that are currently only 

authorized as part of pilot programs in select hospitals. 

Specifically, the board seeks to (i) amend section 425 Robotic 

Pharmacy Systems to add the conditions under which 

medication carousels may be utilized and (ii) create a new 

section regarding the use of Radio Frequency Identification 

(RFID). 

Background. In order to facilitate the adoption of new 

technologies in the practice of pharmacy, the board can 

authorize select hospital systems to implement new 

technologies under pilot programs. The Department of Health 

Professions (DHP) reports that 26 approved pilot programs are 

currently active, of which nine use medication carousels, three 

use RFID technology, and the rest address other issues 

unrelated to this action. DHP also reports that the earliest 

medication carousel pilot was authorized in 2012, and the 

earliest RFID pilot was authorized in 2014. Since then, no 

incidents of error or harm have been reported to the board, as 

is required of pilot programs. Thus, the board proposes to 

amend the regulation so that these technologies can be adopted 

by hospital systems without having to first secure authorization 

for a pilot program.  

Medication carousels. Medication carousels are containers 

consisting of several long horizontal shelves secured behind 

glass. Several bins of medication sit on each shelf, and an 

operator can rotate the shelves until the desired bin and 

medication are presented. The carousel could be operated by a 

pharmacist or pharmacy technician, and access to the 

medications in a carousel can be restricted to the specific 

authorized staff. In a hospital setting, medications may be 

removed from the pharmacy carousel on a physician's order for 

a specific patient, or they may be placed in an automatic drug 

dispensing system, which is essentially a smaller medication 

carousel located in an emergency room or an in-patient floor.  
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Medication carousels are often used in conjunction with a 

robotic pharmacy system, which automatically dispenses 

barcoded unit-doses based on information entered into the 

dispensing software. According to DHP, along with barcode 

labeling and scanning, the use of medication carousels has 

reduced medication errors and made inventory management 

more accurate and efficient. Thus, the board seeks to add 

language regarding medication carousels to section 425 

Robotic Pharmacy Systems rather than create a new section.  

The proposed amendments, which largely specify the oversight 

responsibilities of the pharmacist, are conditioned on the extent 

to which automation software is already in use. For example, a 

pharmacist would not be required to verify the accuracy of a 

patient-specific drug removed from a medication carousel (i) if 

the order was entered into the dispensing software by a 

pharmacist and transmitted electronically to the medication 

carousel and (ii) if the dispensed medication is scanned by both 

the pharmacy technician retrieving the medication and the 

nurse or other staff who is authorized to administer the 

medication. The requirements for medications to be retrieved 

from the carousel and placed in an automatic drug dispenser 

are analogous; a pharmacist would not need to check every 

dose of every medication transferred from the carousel to the 

dispenser by the pharmacy tech (i) if the pharmacist entered the 

order in the dispensing system and (ii) if the barcode on the 

medication was scanned by the pharmacy tech and again by the 

person administering the drug.  

Finally, a pharmacist would be required to verify the accuracy 

of all drugs that are manually removed by a pharmacy 

technician without the use of barcode scanning technology. A 

pharmacist would also be required to perform a daily random 

check of five percent of drugs that were prepared that day 

utilizing the medication carousel technology and maintain a 

record with the date, a description of any discrepancies, and 

their initials. Such records would need to be maintained for a 

minimum of two years and be available for inspection or audit 

within 48 hours of a request by the board.  

RFID technology. RFID technology has been used in inventory 

management for crash carts and kits used by emergency 

services since about 2011.1 RFID tags (which are similar to 

barcodes but can be encoded with much more information) are 

affixed to every medication placed in an emergency kit or on a 

crash cart tray. Entire kits or trays are placed in a scanner that 

"reads" all the RFID tags and can indicate which medications 

need replacement. Prior to the adoption of this technology, 

pharmacy technicians would have to check each item in each 

kit or tray, which took much longer and resulted in higher error 

rates.  

The board proposes to create a new section 505, Use of radio-

frequency identification, containing the responsibilities of 

pharmacists and pharmacy technicians using RFID 

technology. Specifically, a pharmacist would be required to 

update, develop and maintain the RFID database, issue tags to 

specific drugs, and develop lists for each kit. Pharmacy 

technicians would be allowed to place RFID tags on drugs, 

retrieve tagged drugs from the hospital's inventory to place 

onto kits, and utilize the scanning device that verifies that the 

kit contains the drugs it is supposed to as per the list 

programmed by the pharmacist. A pharmacist would be 

required to verify that all drugs have been accurately tagged 

prior to storage in the hospital's inventory and perform a daily 

random check of five percent of all kits that were prepared that 

day using the RFID technology. The pharmacist would need to 

maintain a record of the daily checks, including the date of 

verification, a description of any discrepancies and their initials 

and maintain these records for one year. Pharmacies using 

RFID technology would also be exempt from certain 

verification requirements contained in other sections of the 

regulation, since they would now be redundant.2 

Estimated Benefits and Costs. Adding language regarding the 

use of these new technologies to the regulation would directly 

benefit the hospital systems currently engaged in the pilot 

programs since they would no longer have to pay the renewal 

fee of $260 per renewal period (generally two years) or pay for 

any unannounced inspections. Hospitals wanting to implement 

these technologies would also benefit by not having to apply 

for a pilot program or pay the initial application fee of $325. In 

general, having the requirements in the regulation would also 

benefit hospitals weighing whether to adopt these new 

technologies by making the cost of future regulatory 

compliance more transparent. In addition, hospitals that have 

implemented the pilot programs as well as those choosing to 

adopt these technologies in the future would benefit from the 

cost-savings offered by the technologies directly: more 

efficient inventory control, less staff time spent verifying 

medications being dispensed or re-stocking kits. Staff and 

patients would similarly benefit from lower error rates in 

medication dispensing or the re-stocking of emergency 

medical kits. The cost of technology adoption largely falls on 

the hospitals choosing to do so, although some portion of such 

costs would likely be passed on to payers. Developers and 

providers of the technology would also benefit to the extent 

that the proposed amendments encourage more hospitals to 

adopt these technologies. 

Businesses and Other Entities Affected. The proposed 

amendments primarily affect hospitals and hospital systems, 

which are generally not-for-profit. DHP reports that these 

technologies are more likely to be adopted by large hospital 

systems as compared to smaller independent hospitals, since 

they are more easily able to absorb the fixed costs of adopting 

a new technology and more likely to find it cost-effective. 

Smaller hospitals will likely adopt the use of the technology as 

technology-related costs decrease; clear regulation from the 

board regarding how the technology may be used may also 

encourage adoption. As mentioned previously, businesses 

providing these new technologies would also be affected to the 

extent that the proposed amendments lead to a greater demand 

for their products and services. Consumers or payers would be 
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affected to the extent that costs of adopting the new 

technologies are passed on to them. 

Small Businesses3 Affected. The proposed amendments are 

unlikely to adversely affect any small businesses. Any small 

businesses in Virginia that provide these technologies to 

hospitals would benefit from the proposed amendments if it 

increases the demand for their services; the number of such 

firms is unknown. 

Localities4 Affected.5 The proposed amendments do not 

introduce new costs for local governments and are unlikely to 

affect any locality in particular. 

Projected Impact on Employment. The proposed amendments 

are unlikely to affect the employment of pharmacists or 

pharmacy technicians in hospitals. DHP reports that the use of 

this technology was purported to free time for pharmacists to 

perform more clinical-related functions. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. To the extent 

that the proposed amendments increase demand for the new 

technologies, the value of the providers of the technology may 

increase. Real estate development costs are not affected. 

__________________________________ 
1The University of Maryland Medical Center, one of the first to implement the 

use of RFID technology in emergency kits, reported lower re-stocking times 

and reduced error rates. See https://www.baltimoresun.com/health/bs-hs-rfid-
for-crash-carts-20120727-story.html and https://kitcheck.com/blog/ 

university-maryland-presentation-ashp-fewer-errors-efficiency-kit-check/.  

2Specifically, the proposed language indicates that, "Pharmacies engaged in 
RFID tagging of drugs shall be exempt from the requirements in subsection C 

of 18VAC110-20-490, subsection A of 18VAC110-20-460, and subsection A 

of 18VAC110-20-355." 
3Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.04 of the Code of Virginia, small business is defined 

as "a business entity, including its affiliates, that (i) is independently owned 

and operated and (ii) employs fewer than 500 full-time employees or has gross 

annual sales of less than $6 million." 
4"Locality" can refer to either local governments or the locations in the 

Commonwealth where the activities relevant to the regulatory change are most 

likely to occur. 
5§ 2.2-4007.04 defines "particularly affected" as bearing disproportionate 

material impact. 

Agency's Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The Board 

of Pharmacy concurs with the economic impact analysis of the 

Department of Planning and Budget. 

Summary: 

The proposed amendments for 18VAC110-20-425 allow any 

interested hospital to use technology commonly referred to 

as medication carousels to store and guide the selection of 

drugs to be dispensed or removed from the pharmacy. A 

pharmacist will not be required to manually check the 

accuracy of a drug removed from the carousel by a 

pharmacy technician when the technology is used in 

compliance with the regulation to verify accuracy. Because 

medication carousels rely on the use of barcode scanning to 

verify drug accuracy, certain safeguards are included in the 

proposed amendments regarding a verification check by a 

pharmacist for the accuracy of the barcode assignment to 

an individual drug.  

The proposed amendments also add a new section, 

18VAC110-20-505, to incorporate another technology 

already approved for innovative pilot programs: the use of 

radio-frequency identification (RFID) to verify the accuracy 

of drugs placed into a kit for licensed emergency medical 

services personnel or other kits used as floor stock 

throughout a hospital. The responsibilities of a pharmacist 

and the duties of a pharmacy technician in the use of RFID 

technology are included in the proposed amendments. 

18VAC110-20-425. Robotic pharmacy systems. 

A. Consistent with 18VAC110-20-420, a pharmacy providing 

services to a hospital or a long-term care facility and operating 

a robotic pharmacy system that dispenses drugs in barcoded 

unit dose or compliance packaging is exempted from 

18VAC110-20-270 C, provided the accuracy of the final 

dispensed prescription product complies with a written quality 

assurance plan and requirements of this chapter. The following 

requirements for operation of a robotic pharmacy system shall 

apply: 

1. Pharmacists shall review for accuracy and appropriateness 

of therapy all data entry of prescription orders into the 

computer operating the system. 

2. The packaging, repackaging, stocking, and restocking of 

the robotic pharmacy system shall be performed by 

pharmacy technicians or pharmacists. 

3. Pharmacists shall verify and check for the accuracy of all 

drugs packaged or repackaged for use by the robot by a 

visual check of both labeling and contents prior to stocking 

the drugs in the robotic pharmacy system. A repackaging 

record shall be maintained in accordance with 18VAC110-

20-355 A, and the verifying pharmacist shall initial the 

record. Packaging and labeling, including the appropriate 

beyond-use date, shall conform to requirements of this 

chapter and current USP-NF standards. 

4. A written policy and procedure must be maintained and 

complied with and shall include at a minimum procedures 

for ensuring: 

a. Accurate packaging and repackaging of all drugs for use 

in the robotic pharmacy system, to include properly 

labeled barcodes, and method for ensuring pharmacist 

verification of all packaged and repacked drugs compliant 

with this chapter and assigned barcodes; 

b. Accurate stocking and restocking of the robotic 

pharmacy system; 

c. Removing expired drugs; 

d. Proper handling of drugs that may be dropped by the 

robotic pharmacy system; 

e. Performing routine maintenance of robotic pharmacy 

system as indicated by manufacturer's schedules and 

recommendations; 

https://www.baltimoresun.com/health/bs-hs-rfid-for-crash-carts-20120727-story.html
https://www.baltimoresun.com/health/bs-hs-rfid-for-crash-carts-20120727-story.html
https://kitcheck.com/blog/university-maryland-presentation-ashp-fewer-errors-efficiency-kit-check/
https://kitcheck.com/blog/university-maryland-presentation-ashp-fewer-errors-efficiency-kit-check/
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f. Accurate dispensing of drugs via robotic pharmacy 

system for cart fills, first doses, and cart fill updates during 

normal operation and during any scheduled or 

unscheduled downtime; 

g. Accurate recording of any scheduled or unanticipated 

downtime with an explanation of the problem to include 

the time span of the downtime and the resolution; 

h. Appropriately performing an analysis to investigate, 

identify, and correct sources of discrepancies or errors 

associated with the robotic pharmacy system; and 

i. Maintaining quality assurance reports. 

5. All manual picks shall be checked by pharmacists. 

6. If it is identified that the robot selected an incorrect 

medication, the pharmacy shall identify and correct the 

source of discrepancy or error in compliance with the 

pharmacy's policies and procedures prior to resuming full 

operations of the robot. An investigation of the cause of the 

event shall be completed, and the outcome of the corrective 

action plan shall be summarized and documented in a readily 

retrievable format. 

7. Quarterly quality assurance reports demonstrating the 

accuracy of the robot shall be maintained. At a minimum, 

these reports shall include a summary indicating the date and 

description of all discrepancies that include discrepancies 

involving the packaging, repackaging, and dispensing of 

drugs via the robotic pharmacy system found during that 

quarter plus a cumulative summary since initiation of the 

robotic pharmacy system. 

8. All records required by this section shall be maintained at 

the address of the pharmacy for a minimum of two years. 

Records may be maintained in offsite storage or as an 

electronic image that provides an exact image of the 

document that is clearly legible provided such offsite or 

electronic storage is retrievable and made available for 

inspection or audit within 48 hours of a request by the board 

or an authorized agent. 

B. Intravenous admixture robotics may be utilized to 

compound drugs in compliance with § 54.1-3410.2 of the Code 

of Virginia and 18VAC110-20-321; however, a pharmacist 

shall verify the accuracy of all compounded drugs pursuant to 

18VAVC110-20-270 18VAC110-20-270 B. 

C. Medication carousels functioning with or without a robotic 

pharmacy system in a hospital may be utilized to store and 

guide the selection of drugs to be dispensed or removed from 

the pharmacy under the following conditions:  

1. The entry of drug information into the barcode database 

for assignment of a barcode to an individual drug shall be 

performed by a pharmacist who shall verify the accuracy of 

the barcode assignment. 

2. A pharmacist is not required to verify the accuracy of a 

patient-specific drug removed from a medication carousel if:  

a. The entry of the order for a patient-specific drug into the 

pharmacy's dispensing software is verified by a 

pharmacist for accuracy and is electronically transmitted 

to the medication carousel; and 

b. The patient-specific drug removed from the medication 

carousel by a pharmacy technician is verified for accuracy 

by the pharmacy technician who shall scan each drug unit 

removed from the medication carousel prior to dispensing, 

and a nurse or other person authorized to administer the 

drug scans each drug unit using barcode technology to 

verify the accuracy of the drug prior to administration of 

the drug to the patient. 

3. A pharmacist is not required to verify the accuracy of the 

drug removed from the medication carousel by a pharmacy 

technician if that drug is intended to be placed into an 

automated drug dispensing system as defined in § 54.1-3401 

of the Code of Virginia or distributed to another entity 

legally authorized to possess the drug if:  

a. The list of drugs to be removed from the medication 

carousel for loading or replenishing an individual 

automated dispensing system is electronically transmitted 

to the medication carousel; and 

b. The drug removed from the medication carousel is 

verified for accuracy by the pharmacy technician by 

scanning each drug unit removed from the medication 

carousel prior to leaving the pharmacy and delivering the 

drug to the automated drug dispensing system or 

distributed to another entity, and a nurse or other person 

authorized to administer the drug scans each drug unit 

using barcode technology to verify the accuracy of the 

drug prior to administration of the drug to the patient. If 

the drug is placed into an automated drug dispensing 

system located within a hospital, or the entity receiving the 

distributed drug, wherein a nurse or other person 

authorized to administer the drug will not be able to scan 

each drug unit using barcode technology to verify the 

accuracy of the drug prior to patient administration, then a 

second verification for accuracy shall be performed by a 

pharmacy technician by scanning each drug unit at the 

time of placing the drugs into the automated dispensing 

system. 

4. A pharmacist shall verify the accuracy of all drugs that are 

manually removed from the medication carousel by a 

pharmacy technician without the use of barcode scanning 

technology to verify the accuracy of the selection of the drug 

product prior to dispensing those drugs or those drugs 

leaving the pharmacy. 

5. A pharmacist shall perform a daily random check for 

verification of the accuracy of 5.0% of drugs prepared that 

day utilizing the medication carousel technology. A manual 

or electronic record, from which information can be readily 

retrieved, shall be maintained and shall include: 

a. The date of verification; 
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b. A description of all discrepancies identified, if any; and 

c. The initials of the pharmacist verifying the accuracy of 

the process. 

D. All records required by this section shall be maintained at 

the address of the pharmacy for a minimum of two years. 

Records may be maintained in offsite storage or as an 

electronic image that provides an exact image of the document 

that is clearly legible, provided such offsite or electronic 

storage is retrievable and made available for inspection or audit 

within 48 hours of a request by the board or an authorized agent 

of the board. 

18VAC110-20-500. Licensed emergency medical services 

(EMS) agencies program. 

A. The pharmacy may prepare a kit for a licensed EMS 

agency provided: 

1. The PIC of the hospital pharmacy shall be responsible for 

all prescription drugs and Schedule VI controlled devices 

contained in this kit. A Except as authorized in 18VAC110-

20-505, a pharmacist shall check each kit after filling and 

initial the filling record certifying the accuracy and integrity 

of the contents of the kit. 

2. The kit is sealed, secured, and stored in such a manner that 

it will deter theft or loss of drugs and devices and aid in 

detection of theft or loss. 

a. The hospital pharmacy shall have a method of sealing 

the kits such that once the seal is broken, it cannot be 

reasonably resealed without the breach being detected. 

b. If a seal is used, it shall have a unique numeric or 

alphanumeric identifier to preclude replication or 

resealing. The pharmacy shall maintain a record of the seal 

identifiers when placed on a kit and maintain the record 

for a period of one year. 

c. In lieu of a seal, a kit with a built-in mechanism 

preventing resealing or relocking once opened except by 

the provider pharmacy may be used. 

3. Drugs and devices may be administered by an EMS 

provider upon an oral or written order or standing protocol 

of an authorized medical practitioner in accordance with § 

54.1-3408 of the Code of Virginia. Oral orders shall be 

reduced to writing by the EMS provider and shall be signed 

by a medical practitioner. Written standing protocols shall 

be signed by the operational medical director for the EMS 

agency. A current copy of the signed standing protocol shall 

be maintained by the pharmacy participating in the kit 

exchange. The EMS provider shall make a record of all 

drugs and devices administered to a patient. 

4. When the drug kit has been opened, the kit shall be 

returned to the pharmacy and exchanged for an unopened 

kit. The record of the drugs administered shall accompany 

the opened kit when exchanged. An accurate record shall be 

maintained by the pharmacy on the exchange of the drug kit 

for a period of one year. A pharmacist, pharmacy technician, 

or nurse shall reconcile the Schedule II, III, IV, or V drugs 

in the kit at the time the opened kit is returned. A record of 

the reconciliation, to include any noted discrepancies, shall 

be maintained by the pharmacy for a period of two years 

from the time of exchange. The theft or any other unusual 

loss of any Schedule II, III, IV, or V controlled substance 

shall be reported in accordance with § 54.1-3404 of the Code 

of Virginia. 

5. Accurate records of the following shall be maintained by 

the pharmacy on the exchange of the drug kit for a period of 

one year: 

a. The record of filling and verifying the kit to include the 

drug contents of the kit, the initials of the pharmacist 

verifying the contents, the date of verification, a record of 

an identifier if a seal is used, and the assigned expiration 

date for the kit, which shall be no later than the expiration 

date associated with the first drug or device scheduled to 

expire. 

b. The record of the exchange of the kit to include the date 

of exchange and the name of EMS agency and EMS 

provider receiving the kit. 

6. Destruction of partially used Schedules II, III, IV, and V 

drugs shall be accomplished by two persons, one of whom 

shall be the EMS provider and the other shall be a 

pharmacist, nurse, prescriber, pharmacy technician, or a 

second EMS provider. Documentation shall be maintained 

in the pharmacy for a period of two years from the date of 

destruction. 

7. The record of the drugs and devices administered shall be 

maintained as a part of the pharmacy records pursuant to 

state and federal regulations for a period of not less than two 

years. 

8. Intravenous and irrigation solutions provided by a hospital 

pharmacy to an emergency medical services agency may be 

stored separately outside the kit. 

9. Any drug or device showing evidence of damage or 

tampering shall be immediately removed from the kit and 

replaced. 

10. In lieu of exchange by the hospital pharmacy, the PIC of 

the hospital pharmacy may authorize the exchange of the kit 

by the emergency department. Exchange of the kit in the 

emergency department shall only be performed by a 

pharmacist, nurse, or prescriber if the kit contents include 

Schedule II, III, IV, or V drugs. 

B. A licensed EMS agency may obtain a controlled 

substances registration pursuant to § 54.1-3423 D of the Code 

of Virginia for the purpose of performing a one-to-one 

exchange of Schedule VI drugs or devices. 
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1. The controlled substances registration may be issued to a 

single agency or to multiple agencies within a single 

jurisdiction. 

2. The controlled substances registration issued solely for 

this intended purpose does not authorize the storage of drugs 

within the agency facility. 

3. Pursuant to § 54.1-3434.02 of the Code of Virginia, the 

EMS provider may directly obtain Schedule VI drugs and 

devices from an automated drug dispensing device. 

4. If such drugs or devices are obtained from a nurse, 

pharmacist, or prescriber, it shall be in accordance with the 

procedures established by the pharmacist-in-charge, which 

shall include a requirement to record the date of exchange, 

name of licensed person providing drug or device, name of 

the EMS agency and provider receiving the drug or device, 

and assigned expiration date. Such record shall be 

maintained by the pharmacy for one year from the date of 

exchange. 

5. If an EMS agency is performing a one-to-one exchange of 

Schedule VI drugs or devices, Schedule II, III, IV, or V 

drugs shall remain in a separate, sealed container and shall 

only be exchanged in accordance with provisions of 

subsection A of this section. 

18VAC110-20-505. Use of radio-frequency identification.  

A hospital pharmacy may use radio-frequency identification 

(RFID) to verify the accuracy of drugs placed into a kit for 

licensed emergency medical services pursuant to 18VAC110-

20-500 or other kits used as floor stock throughout the hospital 

under the following conditions: 

1. A pharmacist shall be responsible for performing and 

verifying the accuracy of the following tasks: 

a. The addition, modification, or deletion of drug 

information into the RFID database for assignment of a 

RFID tag to an individual drug; and 

b. The development of the contents of the kit in the RFID 

database and the associated drug-specific RFID tags. 

2. A pharmacy technician may place the RFID tag on the 

drugs, and a pharmacist shall verify that all drugs have been 

accurately tagged prior to storing the drugs in the pharmacy's 

inventory. 

3. A pharmacy technician may remove RFID-tagged drugs 

from the pharmacy's inventory whose RFID tags have been 

previously verified for accuracy by a pharmacist and place 

the drugs into the kit's container. A pharmacy technician 

may then place the container into the pharmacy's device that 

reads the RFID tags to verify if the correct drugs have been 

placed into the container as compared to the list of the kit's 

contents in the RFID database.  

4. A pharmacist shall perform a daily random check for 

verification of the accuracy of 5.0% of all kits prepared that 

day utilizing the RFID technology. A manual or electronic 

record from which information can be readily retrieved, shall 

be maintained that includes: 

a. The date of verification;  

b. A description of all discrepancies identified, if any; and 

c. The initials of pharmacist verifying the accuracy of the 

process. 

5. Pharmacies engaged in RFID tagging of drugs shall be 

exempt from the requirements in subsection C of 

18VAC110-20-490, subsection A of 18VAC110-20-460, 

and subsection A of 18VAC110-20-355. 

6. All records required by this subsection shall be maintained 

for a period of one year from the date of verification by the 

pharmacist. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R21-6271; Filed July 22, 2021, 4:19 p.m. 

Proposed Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC110-30. Regulations for 

Practitioners of the Healing Arts to Sell Controlled 

Substances (amending 18VAC110-30-10, 18VAC110-30-

20, 18VAC110-30-21, 18VAC110-30-40, 18VAC110-30-

270). 

Statutory Authority: §§ 54.1-2400 and 54.1-3304.1 of the Code 

of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: 

September 24, 2021 - noon - Department of Health 

Professions, Conference Center, 2nd Floor, 9960 Mayland 

Drive, Henrico, VA 23233 

Public Comment Deadline: October 15, 2021. 

Agency Contact: Caroline Juran, RPh, Executive Director, 

Board of Pharmacy, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, 

Richmond, VA 23233-1463, telephone (804) 527-4456, FAX 

(804) 527-4472, or email caroline.juran@dhp.virginia.gov. 

Basis: Regulations are promulgated under the general authority 

of § 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia, which provides the 

Board of Pharmacy the authority to promulgate regulations to 

administer the regulatory system. The specific statutory 

provisions for regulations governing issuance of a limited-use 

license for a practitioner at a nonprofit facility are found in 

§§ 54.1-3304.1 and 54.1-3467 of the Code of Virginia. 

Purpose: The purpose of the regulation is to expand access to 

certain Schedule VI drugs and hypodermic needles and 

syringes for the administration of these drugs to underserved 

persons who seek services from nonprofit clinics. Limited 

licenses will only be issued for dispensing of Schedule VI 

drugs, so no drugs scheduled by the Drug Enforcement 

Administration can be dispensed. There is accountability to the 

Board of Pharmacy for the facility permit and to the Boards of 

Medicine and Nursing for the limited license issued to the 

practitioner. Therefore, there are sufficient protections for the 
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health and safety of the drugs and the citizens of the 

Commonwealth. 

Substance: Amendments to 18VAC110-30 will (i) amend the 

term practitioner to include nurse practitioners or physician 

assistants for the purpose of issuance of a limited-use license; 

and (ii) include the allowance for issuance of a limited-use 

permit for nonprofit facilities for the sale of Schedule VI drugs, 

excluding the combination of misoprostol and methotrexate, 

and hypodermic needles and syringes used in administration of 

such drugs. The allowance set out in § 54.1-3304.1 excludes 

the sale of a combination of misoprostol and methotrexate, so 

that is also excluded in regulation. 

Issues: The advantage to the public will be the expansion of 

access to and availability of certain prescription drugs and 

hypodermic needles and syringes for administration of these 

drugs at nonprofit clinics. Some of those clinics are run by 

nurse practitioners or physician assistants who are otherwise 

not eligible for a practitioner of the healing arts to sell 

controlled substances license. There are no disadvantages to 

the public. There are no advantages or disadvantages to this 

agency or the Commonwealth. 

Department of Planning and Budget Economic Impact 

Analysis:  

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. 

Pursuant to Chapters 609 and 610 of the 2020 Acts of 

Assembly (legislation), an emergency regulation became 

effective on January 4, 2021, that: 1) amended the term 

"practitioner" to include nurse practitioners or physician 

assistants for the purpose of issuing a limited-use license, and 

2) added a limited-use license for practitioners to sell Schedule 

VI controlled substances (excluding the combination of 

misoprostol and methotrexate), and hypodermic syringes and 

needles for the administration of prescribed controlled 

substances from a nonprofit facility, and 3) specify that a 

limited-use facility permit may be issued to a nonprofit facility 

for the purpose of dispensing the same. 

The emergency regulation will expire on July 3, 2022. Also 

pursuant to the legislation, the Board proposes to replace the 

emergency regulation with an identical permanent regulation. 

Background. Practitioner of the Healing Arts: "Practitioner" or 

"practitioner of the healing arts" is currently defined as "a 

doctor of medicine, osteopathic medicine or podiatry who 

possesses a current active license issued by the Board of 

Medicine." The Board proposes to add the following sentence 

to the definition: "For the purpose of a limited-use permit for a 

nonprofit facility, a "practitioner" or "practitioner of the 

healing arts" may also mean a physician assistant with a current 

active license issued by the Board of Medicine or a nurse 

practitioner with a current active license issued by the Joint 

Boards of Nursing and Medicine." 

Licenses: Both the current (pre-emergency) regulation and the 

proposed regulation require that prior to engaging in the sale 

of controlled substances, practitioners must be issued a license 

for this purpose by the board. The board proposes to add the 

following statement:  

Prior to engaging in the sale of Schedule VI controlled 

substances, excluding the combination of misoprostol and 

methotrexate, and hypodermic syringes and needles for the 

administration of prescribed controlled substances from a 

nonprofit facility, a doctor of medicine, osteopathic medicine 

or podiatry, a nurse practitioner, or a physician assistant shall 

make application on a form provided by the board and be 

issued a limited-use license. 

The statement is essentially straight from the legislation. 

Permits: The current (pre-emergency) regulation and the 

proposed regulation both require that any location at which 

practitioners of the healing arts are to sell controlled substances 

must first obtain a permit issued by the Board. Both the current 

and proposed regulations also state the following concerning 

limited-use permits: 

B. For good cause shown, the board may issue a limited-use 

facility permit when the scope, degree, or type of services 

provided to the patient is of a limited nature. The permit to 

be issued shall be based on conditions of use requested by 

the applicant or imposed by the board in cases where certain 

requirements of this chapter may be waived. 

1. The limited-use facility permit application shall list the 

regulatory requirements for which a waiver is requested, if 

any, and a brief explanation as to why each requirement 

should not apply to that practice. 

2. A policy and procedure manual detailing the type and 

volume of controlled substances to be sold and safeguards 

against diversion shall accompany the application. 

3. The issuance and continuation of a limited-use facility 

permit shall be subject to continuing compliance with the 

conditions set forth by the board. 

The Board proposes to add: 

4. A limited-use facility permit may be issued to a nonprofit 

facility for the purpose of dispensing Schedule VI controlled 

substances, excluding the combination of misoprostol and 

methotrexate, and hypodermic syringes and needles for the 

administration of prescribed controlled substances. 

Thus, under the current (pre-emergency) regulation, facilities 

may already obtain a limited-use permit when the practitioner 

is a doctor of medicine, osteopathic medicine or podiatry. 

Combining the proposed new sentence for the definition of 

"practitioner" or "practitioner of the healing arts" with the 

proposed added text on permits, subdivision B 4, limited-use 

permits could also be issued for the specific purpose described 

in subdivision B 4 when the practitioner is a physician assistant 

or a nurse practitioner. 

Schedule VI Controlled Substances: The U.S. Drug 

Enforcement Administration (DEA) classifies drugs, 

substances, and certain chemicals used to make drugs into five 
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categories based on their abuse potential.1 States generally 

follow the DEA classifications with some exceptions.2 

Virginia adds a sixth category known as "Schedule VI" for 

controlled substances with the lowest abuse potential. 

Schedule VI includes:3 

Any compound, mixture, or preparation containing any 

stimulant or depressant drug that is exempt from the first five 

categories.  

Any potentially toxic drug not included in the first five 

categories that has not yet been determined safe except under 

supervision of a licensed practitioner. 

Any drug not included in the first five categories that is 

otherwise restricted by federal law. 

Examples of Schedule VI controlled substances include blood 

pressure and cholesterol lowering agents, antibiotics, birth 

control, diabetes medications, etc.4 

Estimated Benefits and Costs. The primary impacts of the 

legislation and the proposal are that: 1) physician assistants and 

nurse practitioners may be issued a limited-use license to sell 

Schedule VI controlled substances, excluding the combination 

of misoprostol and methotrexate, and hypodermic syringes and 

needles for the administration of prescribed controlled 

substances from a nonprofit facility, and 2) nonprofit facilities 

may be issued a limited-use facility permit where physician 

assistants and nurse practitioners may make such sales. Under 

the current (pre-emergency) regulation, physician assistants 

and nurse practitioners cannot sell controlled substances. 

Some nonprofit clinics are run by nurse practitioners or 

physician assistants. The proposal would newly allow 

Schedule VI controlled substances, excluding the combination 

of misoprostol and methotrexate, and hypodermic syringes and 

needles for the administration of prescribed controlled 

substances to be sold at such clinics. Free clinics are among 

nonprofit clinics that could be affected; thus the proposal could 

potentially increase access to needed medication for their 

clients.  

Through the first five months of the emergency regulation 

being in effect, the Department of Health Professions has not 

received any applications for either the limited-use license 

from nurse practitioners or physician assistants or the limited-

use facility permit issued to a nonprofit facility for the purpose 

of dispensing Schedule VI controlled substances. Based on this 

evidence, it does not appear that the legislation and the 

proposal will have a large impact. 

Businesses and Other Entities Affected. The proposal would 

potentially affect nurse practitioners and physician assistants 

who provide care in nonprofit health clinics who wish to 

dispense Schedule VI controlled substances and hypodermic 

syringes and needles for the administration of prescribed 

controlled substances. The proposal would also potentially 

affect such nonprofit clinics. To the extent that nurse 

practitioners and physician assistants obtain the limited-use 

license and do dispense in nonprofit health clinics, some poor 

citizens of the Commonwealth may get increased access to 

needed medications. Since through the first five months of the 

emergency regulation being in effect no nurse practitioners or 

physician assistants have applied for the limited-use license, 

and no nonprofit facilities have applied for the associated 

limited-use permit, it does not appear that many entities will be 

affected in practice. 

The proposal does not produce any costs. 

Small Businesses5 Affected. The proposed amendments do not 

appear to adversely affect small businesses. 

Localities6 Affected.7 The proposed amendments apply 

throughout the Commonwealth, but may particularly affect 

poorer localities since free clinics are expected to be among the 

entities most affected. The proposed amendments do not 

introduce costs for local governments. 

Projected Impact on Employment. The proposed amendments 

do not appear to affect total employment. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. The proposal 

is unlikely to substantively affect the use and value of private 

property. The proposed amendments do not affect real estate 

development costs. 

____________________________________ 
1See https://www.dea.gov/drug-information/drug-scheduling 
2For example, Gabapentin was classified as Schedule VI in Virginia until July 

1, 2019, when the Virginia General Assembly reassigned it to Schedule V 
although it is not currently on the DEA Schedule. See 

https://www.deadiversion.usdoj.gov/drug_chem_info/gabapentin.pdf 

https://www.dhp.virginia.gov/pharmacy/docs/Gabapentin06172019.pdf 

https://www.carlislemedical.com/2019/06/gabapentin-to-become-a-

controlled-substance-in-virginia/ 

https://lis.virginia.gov/cgi-bin/legp604.exe?191%2Bful%2BCHAP0214% 

2Bhil 
3See https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title54.1/chapter34/section54.1-3455/ 

4Source: Department of Health Professions 
5Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.04 of the Code of Virginia, small business is defined 

as "a business entity, including its affiliates, that (i) is independently owned 

and operated and (ii) employs fewer than 500 full-time employees or has gross 

annual sales of less than $6 million." 
6"Locality" can refer to either local governments or the locations in the 

Commonwealth where the activities relevant to the regulatory change are most 

likely to occur. 
7§ 2.2-4007.04 defines "particularly affected" as bearing disproportionate 

material impact. 

Agency's Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The Board 

of Pharmacy concurs with the economic impact analysis of the 

Department of Planning and Budget. 

Summary: 

Pursuant to Chapters 609 and 610 of the 2020 Acts of 

Assembly, the proposed amendments (i) define the term 

"practitioner" to include nurse practitioners or physician 

assistants for the purpose of issuance of a limited-use license 

and (ii) include the allowance for issuance of a limited-use 

permit for nonprofit facilities for the sale of Schedule VI 

drugs and devices used in administration of such drugs. 

https://www.dea.gov/drug-information/drug-scheduling
https://www.deadiversion.usdoj.gov/drug_chem_info/gabapentin.pdf
https://www.dhp.virginia.gov/pharmacy/docs/Gabapentin06172019.pdf
https://www.carlislemedical.com/2019/06/gabapentin-to-become-a-controlled-substance-in-virginia/
https://www.carlislemedical.com/2019/06/gabapentin-to-become-a-controlled-substance-in-virginia/
https://lis.virginia.gov/cgi-bin/legp604.exe?191%20ful%20CHAP0214%20hil
https://lis.virginia.gov/cgi-bin/legp604.exe?191%20ful%20CHAP0214%20hil
https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title54.1/chapter34/section54.1-3455/
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18VAC110-30-10. Definitions. 

The following words and terms when used in this chapter 

shall have the following meanings unless the context clearly 

indicates otherwise. 

"Board" means the Virginia Board of Pharmacy. 

"Controlled substance" means a drug, substance or immediate 

precursor in Schedules I through VI of the Drug Control Act. 

"Licensee" means a practitioner who is licensed by the Board 

of Pharmacy to sell controlled substances. 

"Personal supervision" means the licensee must be physically 

present and render direct, personal control over the entire 

service being rendered or acts being performed. Neither prior 

nor future instructions shall be sufficient nor shall supervision 

be rendered by telephone, written instructions, or by any 

mechanical or electronic methods. 

"Practitioner" or "practitioner of the healing arts" means a 

doctor of medicine, osteopathic medicine or podiatry who 

possesses a current active license issued by the Board of 

Medicine. For the purpose of a limited-use permit for a 

nonprofit facility, a "practitioner" or "practitioner of the 

healing arts" may also mean a physician assistant with a current 

active license issued by the Board of Medicine or a nurse 

practitioner with a current active license issued by the Joint 

Boards of Nursing and Medicine. 

"Sale" means barter, exchange, or gift, or offer thereof, and 

each such transaction made by any person, whether as an 

individual, proprietor, agent, servant or employee. It does not 

include the gift of manufacturer's samples to a patient. 

"Special packaging" means packaging that is designed or 

constructed to be significantly difficult for children under five 

years of age to open or obtain a toxic or harmful amount of the 

controlled substance contained therein within a reasonable 

time and not difficult for normal adults to use properly, but 

does not mean packaging which all such children cannot open 

or obtain a toxic or harmful amount within a reasonable time. 

"U.S.P.-N.F." means the United States Pharmacopeia-

National Formulary. 

18VAC110-30-20. Application for licensure. 

A. Prior to engaging in the sale of controlled substances, a 

practitioner shall make application on a form provided by the 

board and be issued a license. After June 7, 2016, the 

practitioner shall engage in such sale from a location that has 

been issued a facility permit. 

B. In order to be eligible for a license to sell controlled 

substances, a practitioner shall possess a current, active license 

to practice medicine, osteopathic medicine, or podiatry issued 

by the Virginia Board of Medicine. Prior to engaging in the 

sale of Schedule VI controlled substances, excluding the 

combination of misoprostol and methotrexate, and hypodermic 

syringes and needles for the administration of prescribed 

controlled substances from a nonprofit facility, a doctor of 

medicine, osteopathic medicine, or podiatry, a nurse 

practitioner, or a physician assistant shall make application on 

a form provided by the board and be issued a limited-use 

license. 

C. Any disciplinary action taken by the Board of Medicine, 

or in the case of a nurse practitioner, by the Joint Boards of 

Nursing and Medicine, against the practitioner's license to 

practice shall constitute grounds for the board to deny, restrict, 

or place terms on the license to sell. 

18VAC110-30-21. Application for facility permit. 

A. After June 7, 2016, any location at which practitioners of 

the healing arts sell controlled substances shall have a permit 

issued by the board in accordance with § 54.1-3304.1 of the 

Code of Virginia. A licensed practitioner of the healing arts 

shall apply for the facility permit on a form provided by the 

board.  

B. For good cause shown, the board may issue a limited-use 

facility permit when the scope, degree, or type of services 

provided to the patient is of a limited nature. The permit to be 

issued shall be based on conditions of use requested by the 

applicant or imposed by the board in cases where certain 

requirements of this chapter may be waived.  

1. The limited-use facility permit application shall list the 

regulatory requirements for which a waiver is requested, if 

any, and a brief explanation as to why each requirement 

should not apply to that practice. 

2. A policy and procedure manual detailing the type and 

volume of controlled substances to be sold and safeguards 

against diversion shall accompany the application.  

3. The issuance and continuation of a limited-use facility 

permit shall be subject to continuing compliance with the 

conditions set forth by the board. 

4. A limited-use facility permit may be issued to a nonprofit 

facility for the purpose of dispensing Schedule VI controlled 

substances, excluding the combination of misoprostol and 

methotrexate, and hypodermic syringes and needles for the 

administration of prescribed controlled substances. 

C. The executive director may grant a waiver of the security 

system when storing and selling multiple strengths and 

formulations of no more than five different topical Schedule 

VI drugs intended for cosmetic use. 

18VAC110-30-40. Acts to be performed by the licensee. 

A. The selection of the controlled substance from the stock, 

any preparation or packaging of a controlled substance or the 

preparation of a label for a controlled substance to be 

transferred to a patient shall be the personal responsibility of 

the licensee. 
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1. Any compounding of a controlled substance shall be 

personally performed by the licensee or a registered 

pharmacy technician under the supervision of the licensee. 

2. A licensee may supervise one person who may be present 

in the storage and selling area to assist in performance of 

pharmacy technician tasks, as set forth in § 54.1-3321 of the 

Code of Virginia, provided such person is not licensed to sell 

controlled substances and is either: 

a. A pharmacy technician registered with the board; or 

b. A licensed nurse or physician assistant who has received 

training in technician tasks consistent with training 

required for pharmacy technicians. 

3. Unless using one of the board-approved training courses 

for pharmacy technicians, a licensee who uses a nurse or 

physician assistant to perform pharmacy technician tasks 

shall develop and maintain a training manual and shall 

document that such licensee has successfully completed 

general training in the following areas: 

a. The entry of prescription information and drug history 

into a data system or other recordkeeping system; 

b. The preparation of prescription labels or patient 

information; 

c. The removal of the drug to be dispensed from inventory; 

d. The counting or measuring of the drug to be dispensed 

to include pharmacy calculations; 

e. The packaging and labeling of the drug to be dispensed 

and the repackaging thereof; 

f. The stocking or loading of automated dispensing 

devices or other devices used in the dispensing process, if 

applicable; and 

g. Applicable laws and regulations related to dispensing. 

4. A licensee who employs or uses pharmacy technicians, 

licensed nurses or physician assistants to assist in the storage 

and selling area shall develop and maintain a site-specific 

training program and manual for training to work in that 

practice. The program shall include training consistent with 

that specific practice to include, but not be limited to, 

training in proper use of site-specific computer programs 

and equipment, proper use of other equipment used in the 

practice in performing technician duties, and pharmacy 

calculations consistent with the duties in that practice. 

5. A licensee shall maintain documentation of successful 

completion of the site-specific training program for each 

pharmacy technician, nurse or physician assistant for the 

duration of the employment and for a period of two years 

from date of termination of employment. Documentation for 

currently employed persons shall be maintained on site or at 

another location where the records are readily retrievable 

upon request for inspection. After employment is 

terminated, such documentation may be maintained at an 

off-site location where it is retrievable upon request. 

B. Prior to the dispensing, the licensee shall: 

1. Conduct a prospective drug review and offer to counsel a 

patient in accordance with provisions of § 54.1-3319 of the 

Code of Virginia; and 

2. Inspect the prescription product to verify its accuracy in 

all respects, and place his initials on the record of sale as 

certification of the accuracy of, and the responsibility for, 

the entire transaction. 

C. If the record of sale is maintained in an automated data 

processing system as provided in 18VAC110-30-200, the 

licensee shall personally place his initials with each entry of a 

sale as a certification of the accuracy of, and the responsibility 

for, the entire transaction. 

18VAC110-30-270. Grounds for disciplinary action. 

In addition to those grounds listed in § 54.1-3316 of the Code 

of Virginia, the board may revoke, suspend, refuse to issue or 

renew a license to sell controlled substances or may deny any 

application if it finds that the licensee or applicant has had his 

license to practice medicine, osteopathic medicine, or podiatry 

or license as a physician assistant or nurse practitioner 

suspended or revoked in Virginia or in any other state or no 

longer holds a current active license to practice in the 

Commonwealth of Virginia. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R21-6380; Filed July 22, 2021, 4:09 p.m. 

BOARD OF VETERINARY MEDICINE 

Fast-Track Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC150-20. Regulations Governing 

the Practice of Veterinary Medicine (amending 

18VAC150-20-115, 18VAC150-20-121). 

Statutory Authority: § 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: No public hearing is currently 

scheduled. 

Public Comment Deadline: September 15, 2021. 

Effective Date: October 1, 2021. 

Agency Contact: Leslie L. Knachel, Executive Director, Board 

of Veterinary Medicine, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, 

Richmond, VA 23233, telephone (804) 597-4130, FAX (804) 

527-4471, or email leslie.knachel@dhp.virginia.gov. 

Basis: Regulations are promulgated under the general authority 

of § 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia, which provides the 

Board of Veterinary Medicine the authority to promulgate 

regulations to administer the regulatory system. Specific 

authority to regulate veterinary technicians is found in §§ 54.1-

3805 and 54.1-3806 of the Code of Virginia. 

Purpose: The purpose of this regulatory action is to ensure that 

veterinary nurse degree holders are not excluded from 

licensure as veterinary technicians due solely to their program's 

terminology. The educational program in veterinary 

technology and the examination taken by graduates is the same 
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for veterinary technicians or veterinary nurses, so there is no 

difference in their preparation for practice or their 

demonstration of competency. Therefore, the health and safety 

of animals in Virginia would be equally protected in the care 

of persons with either degree or title. 

Rationale for Using Fast-Track Rulemaking Process: The 

rulemaking is concurring with the American Veterinary 

Medical Association in accepting veterinary nurse 

designations as the same as veterinary technician designations. 

The action does not change the term veterinary technician nor 

does it affect veterinary technology programs in the 

Commonwealth. Since the intent is to expand access and 

availability to the profession and since the scope of practice is 

not affected, it is not expected to be controversial. 

Substance: The substantive provisions of this regulatory action 

allow applicants to apply for registration as a veterinary 

technician with the board with a college or school transcript 

designating the words veterinary nurse or nursing and to allow 

applicants to apply for licensure by endorsement with the board 

if they have veterinary nurse credentials, licensing, or 

registration from another jurisdiction. 

Issues: The primary advantage is the removal of any barriers to 

qualified applicants for licensure as veterinary technicians. 

Virginia has a shortage of technicians, who are vital to 

veterinary practices, so amendments that remove potential 

barriers are advantageous to persons who utilize veterinary 

services. There are no disadvantages to the public. The primary 

advantage to the department is continued recognition of 

qualified persons applying for licensure. The board approved 

the position statement on Veterinary Technician Terminology 

of the American Veterinary Medical Association, recognizing 

the use of the term veterinary nurse as a veterinary technician. 

Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 

Analysis:  

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. The 

Board of Veterinary Medicine (Board) proposes to amend the 

Regulations Governing the Practice of Veterinary Medicine to 

specify that a degree in "veterinary nursing" from an accredited 

program in veterinary technology may be accepted in 

satisfaction of the education required to gain licensure by either 

examination or endorsement as a veterinary technician. Also, 

for veterinary technician licensure by endorsement, the Board 

proposes to amend the regulation to specify that it would 

accept the experience of a person who has been practicing in 

another jurisdiction as a veterinary nurse. 

Background. According to the Department of Health Professions 

(DHP), several accredited veterinary technology programs have 

changed the name of the degree awarded from "veterinary 

technology" to "veterinary nurse."1 It has merely been a change in 

nomenclature, without changing the contents of the educational 

programs or the examination taken by graduates.2 

Estimated Benefits and Costs. DHP has already implemented 

these clarifications in practice and accepts a veterinary nursing 

degree for veterinary technician licensure, and the experience 

of a person who has been practicing in another jurisdiction as 

a veterinary nurse for veterinary technician licensure by 

endorsement.3 Thus, beyond preventing potential confusion 

among readers of the regulation, the proposal would not have 

substantial impact. 

Businesses and Other Entities Affected. The proposed 

amendments potentially affect readers of the regulation. Also, 

the proposal particularly pertains to people who are interested 

in becoming licensed as a veterinary technician in the 

Commonwealth who have or are considering obtaining a 

degree in veterinary nursing, and people who have experience 

practicing as a veterinary nurse in another jurisdiction. 

According to DHP, thus far it has received fewer than five 

applications from persons with a "veterinary nurse" 

designation. However, as more programs adopt that title, this 

number is likely to increase. 

The proposal does not produce any costs. 

Small Businesses4 Affected. The proposed amendments do not 

appear adversely affect small businesses. 

Localities5 Affected.6 The proposed amendments do not 

disproportionately affect any particular localities. The proposed 

amendments do not introduce costs for local governments.  

Projected Impact on Employment. The proposed amendments 

do not affect total employment. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. The proposal 

does not substantively affect the use and value of private 

property. The proposal does not affect costs related to the 

development of real estate. 

________________________________ 
1See 

https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/GetFile.cfm?File=Meeting\33\31189\Minutes

_DHP_ 31189_v1.pdf 
2See the Purpose section the Agency Background Document: 

https://townhall.virginia.gov/l/GetFile.cfm?File=33\5703\9231\AgencyState

ment_DHP_9231_v1.pdf 

3Source: DHP 
4Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.04 of the Code of Virginia, small business is defined 

as "a business entity, including its affiliates, that (i) is independently owned 
and operated and (ii) employs fewer than 500 full-time employees or has gross 

annual sales of less than $6 million." 

5"Locality" can refer to either local governments or the locations in the 
Commonwealth where the activities relevant to the regulatory change are most 

likely to occur. 

6§ 2.2-4007.04 defines "particularly affected" as bearing disproportionate 

material impact. 

Agency's Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The Board 

of Veterinary Medicine concurs with the result of the analysis 

of the Department of Planning and Budget.  

Summary: 

The amendments (i) allow the licensure requirements for 

veterinary technicians to accept a degree from an 

accredited program in veterinary technology that results in 

a degree in veterinary nursing and (ii) allow licensure by 

endorsement requirements to accept the credential of a 

person who has been practicing in another jurisdiction as a 

https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/GetFile.cfm?File=Meeting/33/31189/Minutes_DHP_31189_v1.pdf
https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/GetFile.cfm?File=Meeting/33/31189/Minutes_DHP_31189_v1.pdf
https://townhall.virginia.gov/l/GetFile.cfm?File=33/5703/9231/AgencyStatement_DHP_9231_v1.pdf
https://townhall.virginia.gov/l/GetFile.cfm?File=33/5703/9231/AgencyStatement_DHP_9231_v1.pdf
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veterinary nurse. These changes reflect the board's 

approval of the position statement of the American 

Veterinary Medical Association on terminology to use 

"veterinary nurse" as the same value as "veterinary 

technician." 

18VAC150-20-115. Requirements for licensure by 

examination as a veterinary technician. 

A. The applicant, in order to be licensed by the board as a 

veterinary technician, shall: 

1. Have received a degree in veterinary technology or veterinary 

nursing from a college or school accredited by the AVMA or 

the CVMA. 

2. Have filed with the board the following documents: 

a. A complete application on a form obtained from the board; 

b. An official copy, indicating a veterinary technology or 

veterinary nursing degree, of the applicant's college or school 

transcript; and 

c. Verification that the applicant is in good standing by each 

board in another state or United States jurisdiction from 

which the applicant holds a license, certification, or 

registration to practice veterinary technology or veterinary 

nursing. 

3. Have passed the Veterinary Technician National 

Examination approved by the AAVSB or any other board-

approved, national board examination for veterinary technology 

with a score acceptable to the board. 

4. Sign a statement attesting that the applicant has read, 

understands, and will abide by the statutes and regulations 

governing the practice of veterinary medicine in Virginia. 

5. Have submitted the application fee specified in 18VAC150-

20-100. 

6. Have committed no acts that would constitute a violation of 

§ 54.1-3807 of the Code of Virginia. 

B. The application for licensure shall be valid for a period of one 

year after the date of initial submission, after which time a new 

application and fee shall be required. 

18VAC150-20-121. Requirements for licensure by 

endorsement for veterinary technicians. 

In its discretion, the board may grant a license by endorsement 

to an applicant who is licensed, certified, or registered to practice 

as a veterinary technician or a veterinary nurse in another 

jurisdiction of the United States, provided that the applicant: 

1. Holds at least one current and unrestricted license, 

certification, or registration issued by the regulatory entity in 

another jurisdiction of the United States and that he is not a 

respondent in any pending or unresolved board action in any 

jurisdiction; 

2. Provides documentation of having been regularly engaged in 

clinical practice as a licensed, certified, or registered veterinary 

technician or veterinary nurse for at least two of the past four 

years immediately preceding application; 

3. Has received a degree in veterinary technology or veterinary 

nursing from a college or school accredited by the AVMA or 

the CVMA or has passed the Veterinary Technician National 

Examination approved by the AAVSB or any other board-

approved national board examination for veterinary technology 

with a score acceptable to the board; 

4. Provides documentation of completion of at least 16 hours of 

continuing education requirements during the preceding four 

years; 

5. Submits the application fee specified in 18VAC150-20-100 

and a complete application on a form obtained from the board; 

6. Signs a statement attesting that the applicant has read, 

understands, and will abide by the statutes and regulations 

governing the practice of veterinary medicine in Virginia; and 

7. Has committed no acts that would constitute a violation of § 

54.1-3807 of the Code of Virginia. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R21-6717; Filed July 22, 2021, 4:14 p.m. 

  ––––––––––––––––––  

TITLE 20. PUBLIC UTILITIES AND 
TELECOMMUNICATIONS 

STATE CORPORATION COMMISSION 

Forms 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: Forms used in administering the 

regulation have been filed by the agency. The forms are not being 

published; however, online users of this issue of the Virginia 

Register of Regulations may click on the name of a form with a 

hyperlink to access it. The forms are also available from the 

agency contact or may be viewed at the Office of the Registrar of 

Regulations, 900 East Main Street, 11th Floor, Richmond, 

Virginia 23219. 

Title of Regulation: 20VAC5-340. Rules Governing Shared 

Solar Program. 

Agency Contact: Austin Skeens, Attorney, Public Utility 

Regulation, State Corporation Commission, Tyler Building, 

1300 East Main Street, P.O. Box 1197, Richmond, VA 23218, 

telephone (804) 371-9140, or email 

austin.skeens@scc.virginia.gov. 

FORMS (20VAC5-340) 

Low-Income Subscription Plan Form (eff. 7/2021) 

Standard Consumer Disclosure Form (eff. 7/2021) 

VA.R. Doc. No. R21-6892; Filed July 28, 2021, 9:59 a.m. 

  ––––––––––––––––––  

https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/20VAC5/forms/Low-Income%20Subscription%20Plan%20-%20eff%207-2021-20210729134124.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/20VAC5/forms/Standard%20Consumer%20Disclosure%20Form-7-2021-20210729134207.pdf
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TITLE 22. SOCIAL SERVICES 

DEPARTMENT FOR THE BLIND AND VISION 
IMPAIRED 

Proposed Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 22VAC45-30. Regulations Governing 

the Sale and Distribution of Goods and Articles Made by 

Blind Persons (amending 22VAC45-30-10 through 

22VAC45-30-110). 

Statutory Authority: § 51.5-65 of the Code of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: No public hearing is currently 

scheduled. 

Public Comment Deadline: October 15, 2021. 

Agency Contact: Susan K. Davis, MS, CRC, Regulatory 

Coordinator, Department for the Blind and Vision Impaired, 

397 Azalea Avenue, Henrico, VA 23227, telephone (804) 371-

3140, FAX (804) 371-3157, or email 

susan.davis@dbvi.virginia.gov. 

Basis: Statutory authority comes from § 51.5-65 of the Code 

of Virginia, which identifies the functions, duties, and powers 

of the Commissioner of the Department for the Blind and 

Vision Impaired to adopt regulations to carry out the applicable 

provisions of the chapter. 

Purpose: This regulation facilitates identification of goods and 

articles made by persons who are blind and organizations 

established to assist persons who are blind in the sale of goods 

or articles by providing a means of authenticating the source of 

such goods and articles. The regulation prevents 

misrepresentation of these same persons thereby protecting 

such persons' safety and welfare. 

Substance: This regulatory action updates the agency name, 

deletes references to repealed sections of the Code of Virginia, 

and aligns language in 22VAC45-30 with §§ 51.5-101 through 

51.5-105 of the Code of Virginia. 

Issues: The department recognizes the advantage to the agency 

and public of amending 22VAC45-30 to reflect the relevant 

sections. This regulatory action clarifies the agency name and 

aligns the regulation with the Code of Virginia, which assures 

that citizens of the Commonwealth, government officials, and 

other members of the public do not experience confusion when 

seeking to understand the relevant Virginia Administrative 

Code and Code of Virginia sections requirements. This 

regulatory action poses no disadvantages to the public or to the 

Commonwealth. 

Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 

Analysis:  

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. The 

Department for the Blind and Vision Impaired (DBVI) 

proposes to correct the agency name, replace the incorrectly 

used word "permit" with the word "registration," update 

references to the Code of Virginia, and clarify the language in 

general. 

Background. This regulation requires any person or business 

engaged in the manufacture, sale, or distribution of any goods 

purporting to have been made by a person who is blind to 

register with DBVI in order to use a label or symbol designed 

or approved by DBVI to identify such goods and articles as 

made by blind persons. Registration must be renewed annually. 

No fees are required to register. The regulation does not apply 

to blind persons selling their own produced goods. 

In essence, this regulation facilitates identification of goods 

and articles made by persons who are blind and organizations 

established to assist persons who are blind in the sale of goods 

or articles by providing a means of authenticating the source of 

such goods and articles; the regulation prevents 

misrepresentation of these same persons. 

Product labeling is a tool to inform the consumers about the 

maker of the product so that if they have a preference to 

purchase goods made by blind or vision impaired individuals 

or their willingness to pay is higher for such goods they are 

able to do so with the information provided by the labeling 

allowed under this regulation. 

Estimated Benefits and Costs. The proposed changes include: 

updating references to the Code of Virginia, replacing the 

incorrectly used word "permit" with the correct word 

"registration," correcting the agency name, and clarifying the 

language in general. 

None of the proposed changes appear to have any impact on how 

this regulation would be implemented. Thus, no economic effect 

is expected from the proposed changes other than improving the 

accuracy and the clarity of the regulatory text. 

Businesses and Other Entities Affected. Using the American 

Community Survey 2018 five-year estimates and the Weldon 

Cooper Center July 2019 population estimates, DBVI estimates 

there are 95,684 individuals between the ages 18 to 64, and 80,176 

individuals 65 and older with blindness or vision loss in Virginia. 

However, DBVI have received no applications for registration in 

at least 20 years.1 Thus, the proposed changes are not expected to 

affect any entities at this time. In addition, the proposed changes 

do not introduce any costs or other effects. So, no adverse impact2 

is indicated and no entity appears to be disproportionally affected. 

Small Businesses3 Affected. The proposed amendments do not 

adversely affect small businesses. 

Localities4 Affected.5 The proposed amendments do not affect 

localities. 

Projected Impact on Employment. The proposed amendments do 

not affect total employment. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. The proposed 

amendments do not affect the use and value of private property. 

_________________________________ 
1DBVI reports that it considered repealing this regulation. However, § 51.5-

101 of the Code of Virginia specifically requires that agency adopt a regulation 

for administration of the statute. 
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2Adverse impact is indicated if there is any increase in net cost or reduction in 

net revenue for any entity, even if the benefits exceed the costs for all entities 

combined. 
3Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.04 of the Code of Virginia, small business is defined 

as "a business entity, including its affiliates, that (i) is independently owned 
and operated and (ii) employs fewer than 500 full-time employees or has gross 

annual sales of less than $6 million." 

4"Locality" can refer to either local governments or the locations in the 
Commonwealth where the activities relevant to the regulatory change are most 

likely to occur. 

5§ 2.2-4007.04 defines "particularly affected" as bearing disproportionate 

material impact. 

Agency's Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The 

Department for the Blind and Vision Impaired concurs with the 

economic impact analysis performed by the Department of 

Planning and Budget.  

Summary: 

The proposed amendments (i) update references to the Code 

of Virginia, (ii) replace the incorrectly used word "permit" 

with the correct word "registration,"(iii) correct the agency 

name, and (iv) clarify language in general. 

22VAC45-30-10. General. 

It is the policy of the Commonwealth of Virginia through the 

Department for the Visually Handicapped Blind and Vision 

Impaired to assist blind persons who are blind and 

organizations established to aid blind persons who are blind in 

the sale of goods and articles which that are the product of a 

blind craftsman's the labor of a person who is blind by 

providing a means of authenticating the source of such goods 

and articles and by preventing misrepresentation. 

In implementing this policy, this chapter shall govern and 

form the basis for enforcing the policy under § 63.1-167 

§§ 51.5-101 through 51.5-105 of the Code of Virginia. 

22VAC45-30-20. Application for registration and permit. 

Every A person, firm, or organization engaged in the 

manufacture, sale, or distribution in the Commonwealth of 

Virginia of any goods or and articles purporting or in any 

manner represented to have been made by a person who is 

blind persons shall apply to the Department for the Visually 

Handicapped Blind and Vision Impaired (department) for 

registration and permit to use a label or symbol designed or 

approved by the department to identify such goods and articles 

as made by blind persons. 

22VAC45-30-30. Application requirements. 

Every such The application shall be made on forms prescribed 

by the department and shall disclose fully the identity and 

address of the applicant; and include a descriptive list of all 

goods and articles proposed to be manufactured, sold, or 

distributed by the applicant as "blind-made" products; and the 

proposed sale price of each such item. Each made by a person 

who is blind and that may be labeled as "Made by a person who 

is blind." The applicant shall furnish any additional 

information requested by the department Department for the 

Blind and Vision Impaired (department) relevant to 

compliance by the applicant with the provisions of said statute 

§ 51.5-60 of the Code of Virginia, including a medical eye 

report documenting that the person making the goods is a blind 

person as described in § 51.5-60. This documentation shall be 

retained by the applicant for the duration the applicant wishes 

to sell the goods and shall be updated the earlier of every two 

years or when a significant change in the person's vision 

occurs. Persons who are blind shall perform at least 75% of the 

labor to produce the product. 

The department shall verify, or require verification of, all 

information submitted by the application; and to this end, may 

require the applicant to submit samples for examination and 

may cause its authorized representatives to visit the site of 

manufacture for inspection. 

22VAC45-30-40. Product requirements. 

No organization representing itself as established for the 

purpose of selling "blind-made" products made by persons 

who are blind exclusively shall carry in stock or sell any 

merchandise which is not made by blind persons where less 

than 75% of the direct labor to produce the product was 

performed by persons who are blind and so identified. Any An 

organization violating this section shall be ineligible for 

registration and permit under § 63.1-167 §§ 51.5-101 through 

51.105 of the Code of Virginia. The registration and permit of 

any an organization which has been registered and issued a 

permit under said statute shall be suspended upon a violation 

of this section, and it may not be revalidated reregistered as 

long as such violation continues. 

22VAC45-30-50. Labeling. 

No goods or articles made in this Commonwealth or 

elsewhere may be displayed, advertised, offered for sale, or 

sold in this Commonwealth upon the representation that the 

same they are made by blind persons who are blind unless such 

goods or articles are identified as such by a label or symbol 

prescribed or approved by the department Department for the 

Blind and Vision Impaired (department). The "Skilcraft" 

trademark registered by National Industries for the Blind is 

acceptable by the department as an approved identification. 

All such goods shall be so labeled as to disclose the name of 

the manufacturer and the place of manufacture. Agencies 

manufacturing "Skilcraft" products approved by National 

Industries for the Blind may use the "shop identification code 

number" assigned by National Industries for the Blind in lieu 

of the name and address of the manufacturer. 

22VAC45-30-60. Duration of registrations and permits 

registration. 

All registrations and permits A registration issued under 

§ 63.1-167 §§ 51.5-101 through 51.5-105 of the Code of 

Virginia and regulations this chapter shall be valid for one year 

only, but they it may be renewed upon application in writing 
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made submitted to the department not less than 60 days prior 

to the its expiration of such year. If an application for 

registration renewal is not made submitted at least 60 days 

prior to such expiration, the renewal may be withheld for 60 

days following such submission of the application. 

22VAC45-30-70. Suspension of registration or permit. 

Upon receipt of information indicating violation of any of the 

provisions of § 63.1-167 §§ 51.5-101 through 51.5-105 of the 

Code of Virginia or of this chapter by any a person, firm, or 

organization registered and issued a permit, the department 

Department for the Blind and Vision Impaired may suspend 

such registration and permit after giving such person, firm, or 

organization an opportunity, upon not less than 10 days' written 

notice in writing, to show cause why such registration and 

permit should not be suspended. 

Unless and until such suspension is rescinded, the holder of 

the permit suspended person, firm, or organization shall desist 

from the sale or distribution of any goods or and articles made 

or represented to be made by blind persons who are blind. 

22VAC45-30-80. Soliciting prohibited. 

The use of a permit Using the registration issued pursuant to 

§ 63.1-167 §§ 51.5-101 through 51.5-105 of the Code of 

Virginia and this chapter as a means of soliciting contribution 

of money is expressly forbidden. The registration and permit 

of any person, firm, or organization found to be so soliciting 

contributions may be suspended by the department Department 

for the Blind and Vision Impaired for not more than 90 days 

for an initial offense and indefinitely for a repeated subsequent 

offense. 

22VAC45-30-90. Grounds for denying registration or 

permit. 

Exploitation of the public by excessive prices, or by 

indicating or implying that any goods a good or articles are 

article is being sold on behalf of the department Department 

for the Blind and Vision Impaired, or that the proceeds will 

shall accrue to blind people persons who are blind, when such 

it is not the case true, shall be grounds for denying registration 

and permit. 

22VAC45-30-100. Profit-making statement. 

There shall be written The following statement shall appear 

on the face of every permit a registration issued by the 

Department for the Blind and Vision Impaired (department) to 

a business or organization that is essentially engaged in profit 

making the following statement: "This is a profit making 

enterprise." 

22VAC45-30-110. Applicability of chapter. 

This chapter shall not apply to a blind person who is blind 

who manufactures and sells products of his own labor only, nor 

to workshops production facilities operated by the department, 

nor to the manufacturer of products for the Military Resale 

Program or other U.S. government sales made in accordance 

with the "Schedule of Blind-made Products" prepared by the 

General Services Administration, nor to any Lion's Club or 

other civic organization under a sales contract negotiated with 

the department for the sale of products manufactured by the 

workshops operated by the department Department for the 

Blind and Vision Impaired. 

Lions Clubs and other civic organizations engaging in the sale 

of "blind-made" products not produced by the workshops 

operated by the department shall comply with § 63.1-167 of 

the Code of Virginia and this chapter.  

No distributor of goods at retail shall be required to register 

and obtain a permit for the sale of "blind-made" products if the 

manufacturer or wholesale distributor of such products has 

registered and obtained a permit pursuant to § 63.1-167 of the 

Code of Virginia and this chapter, and if such products are 

labeled and identified as required by § 63.1-167 of the Code of 

Virginia and this chapter.  

VA.R. Doc. No. R21-6345; Filed July 22, 2021, 4:07 p.m. 

Proposed Regulation 

Titles of Regulations: 22VAC45-70. Provision of Services in 

Rehabilitation Teaching (amending 22VAC45-70-10 

through 22VAC45-70-80). 

22VAC45-80. Provision of Independent Living 

Rehabilitation Services (repealing 22VAC45-80-10 

through 22VAC45-80-140). 

Statutory Authority: § 51.5-60 of the Code of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: No public hearing is currently 

scheduled. 

Public Comment Deadline: October 15, 2021. 

Agency Contact: Susan K. Davis, MS, CRC, Regulatory 

Coordinator, Department for the Blind and Vision Impaired, 

397 Azalea Avenue, Richmond, VA 23227, telephone (804) 

371-3184, or email susan.davis@dbvi.virginia.gov. 

Basis: Statutory authority comes from § 51.5-65 of the Code 

of Virginia, which identifies the functions, duties, and powers 

of the Commissioner of the Department for the Blind and 

Vision Impaired (DBVI) to adopt regulations to carry out the 

applicable provisions of the chapter. 

Purpose: The purpose of this regulatory action is to amend 

22VAC45-70 to accurately reflect DBVI's Rehabilitation 

Teaching/Independent Living (RT/IL) Program under which 

rehabilitation teaching and independent living services to 

eligible individuals who are blind, vision impaired, or 

deafblind are provided. 

Additionally, this regulatory action will repeal 22VAC45-80. 

Among other services described in 22VAC45-80 is the 

operation of independent living centers for people who are 

blind and have secondary disabilities. DBVI does not operate 

independent living centers. DBVI provides independent living 

services through its RT/IL Program in each of six regional 
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offices and the Virginia Rehabilitation Center for the Blind and 

Vision Impaired. 

The action protects and improves the public safety, health, and 

welfare of individuals applying for or receiving rehabilitation 

teaching and independent living services through the DBVI by 

ensuring services are provided in a consistent and timely 

manner. 

Substance: Amendments include (i) changing the title of the 

regulation from "Provision of Services in Rehabilitation 

Teaching" to "Regulations Governing the Provision of 

Rehabilitation Teaching and Independent Living Services"; (ii) 

updating the agency name; (iii) removing outdated definitions 

and adding new definitions that more fully describe certain 

terms or that reflect rehabilitation teaching and independent 

living services provided under DBVI's RT/IL Program; (iv) 

adding the words "independent living" throughout the 

regulation to clarify that those services are included along with 

rehabilitation teaching; (v) clarifying referral and application 

procedures, eligibility criteria, and determination 

requirements; and (vi) updating the name of the plan that 

specifies the services an individual will receive, the scope of 

services available to eligible individuals, and financial 

participation an individual may have in costs of services. 

Issues: DBVI is the agency in the Commonwealth charged with 

updating and maintaining relevant regulations that accurately 

identify and describe services for eligible individuals who are 

blind, vision impaired, or deafblind. 22VAC45-70 and 

22VAC45-80 contain redundant information and no longer 

accurately reflect the way DBVI provides rehabilitation 

teaching and independent living services. For example, federal 

funding for the provision of independent living services as 

described in 22VAC45-80 ceased to be available in 2000 and 

these services are now provided through the RT/IL Program, 

which is funded primarily through state funds. The primary 

advantage of this action is that it streamlines and updates 

22VAC45-70 to include relevant portions of 22VAC45-80 to 

reflect current practice and repeals 22VAC45-80, which no 

longer will be necessary. There are no disadvantages to the 

public, agency, or Commonwealth. 

Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 

Analysis: 

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. 

Pursuant to findings from a periodic review of both chapters, 

the Department for the Blind and Vision Impaired (DBVI) 

seeks to revise 22VAC45-70 (chapter 70) and repeal 

22VAC45-80 (chapter 80) in its entirety.1 The independent 

living services that are addressed in chapter 80 are no longer 

being provided in the same way that they were when the 

regulation was first promulgated, and have instead been folded 

into the provision of rehabilitation training covered by chapter 

70. Thus, DBVI seeks to amend chapter 70 to update the 

department name, certain definitions, and the title and content 

of the chapter to align with current DBVI practices. The agency 

would also repeal chapter 80 since its provisions would be 

redundant. Background. Pursuant to the periodic review, DBVI 

proposes to make a number of changes to chapter 70. The most 

significant changes are summarized as follows: 

1. Changing the title of the regulation from "Provision of 

Services in Rehabilitation Teaching" to "Regulations 

Governing the Provision of Rehabilitation Teaching and 

Independent Living Services." 

2. Updating the agency name from "Department for the 

Visually Impaired" to the current name, "Department for the 

Blind and Vision Impaired." 

3. Updating the definition of blindness and adding a definition 

of deafblind to reflect current practice. 

4. Adding the words, "and independent living" throughout the 

regulation to clarify that those services are included along with 

rehabilitation teaching. 

5. Renaming "Individualized Written Rehabilitation Program" 

to "Rehabilitation Teaching/Independent Living Program 

Plan" (RT/IL plan) to reflect that individualized plans would 

include both types of services. 

6. Sections 20, 30, 40, 60 and 70 would be amended to update 

the referral process, eligibility criteria, eligibility 

determination process, development of the RT/IL plan, and 

scope of services, respectively. The proposed amendments to 

these sections would largely update the language to match 

current practice.  

7. In section 30, optometrists would be added as a category of 

professionals who would be authorized to determine blindness 

for the purpose of eligibility for services. Currently, the 

regulation only authorizes ophthalmologists to make such 

determinations. However, DBVI reports that optometrists are 

included in eligibility determinations for their other programs 

and that this was merely an oversight.  

8. Finally, eligibility for financial participation in cost of 

services (22VAC45-70-80) would be revised to include 

individuals with a household income that exceeds 80 percent 

of the federally estimated median income for Virginia. The 

threshold for financial participation in 22VAC45-70-80 is 

currently 100% of the median income, whereas the 

corresponding threshold in 22VAC45-80-80 (which would be 

repealed) has always been 80%.  

Although item 7 suggests that the eligibility threshold for 

financial participation would be lowered for some individuals 

receiving rehabilitation training, DBVI reports that the 

proposed amendment would only reflect its current practice, 

which has been in place since 2012. Specifically, DBVI reports 

that the federal funds that once supported the Independent 

Living services identified in chapter 80 were no longer 

available after about 2000. Since then, DBVI has coordinated 

and provided independent living services as part of its 

Rehabilitation Teaching/Independent Living (RT/IL) Program 

and as ancillary services through its Vocational Rehabilitation 

Services Program.2 Currently, the RT/IL program is fully state 

funded and serves individuals up to age 55.3 
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Estimated Benefits and Costs. The proposed amendments to 

chapter 70 as well as the repeal of chapter 80 would clarify 

various aspects of DBVI's RT/IL program as it currently 

stands, which would benefit readers of the regulation. The 

proposed changes would not create any new costs, either for 

individuals participating or seeking to participate in the RT/IL 

program or for the licensed professionals who provide such 

training and services. Lastly, by repealing chapter 80, this 

regulatory action would also contribute to Virginia's regulatory 

reform efforts by eliminating a redundant and unnecessary 

regulation.  

Businesses and Other Entities Affected. DBVI reports that 

roughly 1,400 individuals were served under the RT/IL 

program in 2020, with roughly 800-900 individuals in the 

program on any given date. In general, services are provided 

internally by DBVI employees, including certified 

Rehabilitation Teachers, Orientation and Mobility Instructors, 

Vocational Rehabilitation Counselors, and Technology 

Technicians who have Master's degrees and are either licensed 

or certified by various organizations that have oversight over 

those particular professions. DBVI employees operate out of 

six field offices (Bristol, Roanoke, Stanton, Fairfax, Norfolk, 

and Richmond) and often work with individuals in their homes 

to develop and implement their individualized RT/IL plans. As 

mentioned, both individuals receiving or seeking to receive 

RT/IL program services, as well as providers of these services 

would benefit from clear and accurate information in the 

regulation. Individuals with a household income between 80%-

100% of the federal median income would now be required to 

financially participate in their rehabilitation training. However, 

as mentioned previously this requirement has been in effect 

since 2012. 

Small Businesses4 Affected. Since most services are provided 

directly by DBVI employees, the proposed amendments are 

unlikely to impact businesses, including small businesses. 

Localities5 Affected.6 The proposed amendments do not 

introduce new costs for local governments and are unlikely to 

affect any locality in particular. 

Projected Impact on Employment. The proposed amendments 

are unlikely to affect the employment by DBVI or by vendors 

of low vision aids and rehabilitation technology. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. The proposed 

amendments are unlikely to affect the use and value of private 

property. Real estate development costs are not affected. 

______________________________________ 
1More information about the periodic reviews can be found on the Virginia 

Regulatory Town Hall (Town Hall) at 

https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/ViewAction.cfm?actionid=5476. 
2See the Agency Background Document at 

https://townhall.virginia.gov/l/GetFile.cfm?File= 

47\5476\9153\AgencyStatement_DBVI_9153_v2.pdf. DBVI further clarified 
that, "there is no prohibition on how an agency determines to use or not use 

means testing to purchase goods and services to individuals receiving RT/IL 

services. However, because funds are quite limited in the RT/IL program, the 
agency elected to change the family income eligibility percentage for 

participation in cost of services from 100% to 80% of the federally estimated 

median income agency sometime around 2011/2012." 
3Individuals over the age of 55 are covered by the Older Bling Grant, which is 

covered by limited federal funds and the required state match. 

4Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.04 of the Code of Virginia, small business is defined 
as "a business entity, including its affiliates, that (i) is independently owned 

and operated and (ii) employs fewer than 500 full-time employees or has gross 

annual sales of less than $6 million." 
5"Locality" can refer to either local governments or the locations in the 

Commonwealth where the activities relevant to the regulatory change are most 

likely to occur. 
6§ 2.2-4007.04 defines "particularly affected" as bearing disproportionate 

material impact. 

Agency's Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The 

Department for the Blind and Vision Impaired concurs with the 

economic impact analysis performed by the Department of 

Planning and Budget.  

Summary: 

The proposed amendments (i) change the title of the 

regulation from "Provision of Services in Rehabilitation 

Teaching" to "Regulations Governing the Provision of 

Rehabilitation Teaching and Independent Living Services"; 

(ii) update the agency name throughout the regulation; (iii) 

remove outdated definitions and add new definitions that 

more fully describe certain terms or that reflect 

rehabilitation teaching and independent living services 

provided under the department's Rehabilitation 

Teaching/Independent Living Program; (iv) add the words 

"independent living" throughout the regulation to clarify 

that those services are included along with rehabilitation 

teaching; (v) clarify referral and application procedures, 

eligibility criteria, and determination requirements; and (vi) 

update the name of the plan that specifies the services an 

individual will receive, the scope of services available to 

eligible individuals, and financial participation an 

individual may have in costs of service. 

Chapter 70 

Regulations Governing the Provision of Services in 

Rehabilitation Teaching and Independent Living Services 

Part I 

Introduction 

22VAC45-70-10. Definitions. 

The following words and terms when used in this chapter 

shall have the following meanings unless the context clearly 

indicates otherwise: 

"Assessment" means the systematic evaluation or 

identification of the consumers' need for and ability to benefit 

from services. 

"Blindness, legal blindness" means the condition as defined 

in §§ 63.1-142 and 63.1-166 of the Code of Virginia.  

"Consumer" means any person undergoing an assessment or 

receiving a service provided by the Rehabilitation Teaching 

Program of the Department for the Blind and Vision Impaired.  

https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/ViewAction.cfm?actionid=5476
https://townhall.virginia.gov/l/GetFile.cfm?File=47/5476/9153/AgencyStatement_DBVI_9153_v2.pdf
https://townhall.virginia.gov/l/GetFile.cfm?File=47/5476/9153/AgencyStatement_DBVI_9153_v2.pdf
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"Blind person" means an individual who has central visual 

acuity of 20/200 or less in the better eye, as measured with best 

correction, or a limitation in the field of vision in the better eye, 

such that the widest diameter of the visual field subtends an 

angle of 20 degrees or less, as defined in § 51.5-60 of the Code 

of Virginia. 

"DBVI" means the Department for the Blind and Vision 

Impaired. 

"Deafblind person" means an individual:  

1. a. Who has central visual acuity of 20/200 or less in the 

better eye with corrective lenses, or a field defect such that 

the peripheral diameter of visual fields subtends an angular 

distance no greater than 20 degrees, or a progressive visual 

loss having a prognosis leading to one or both of the 

conditions; 

b. Who has a chronic hearing impairment so severe that most 

speech cannot be understood with optimum amplification, or 

a progressive hearing loss having a prognosis leading to this 

condition; and 

c. For whom the combination of impairments described in 

subdivisions 1 a and 1 b of this definition cause extreme 

difficulty in attaining independence in daily life activities, 

achieving psychological adjustment, or obtaining a 

vocation; and 

2. Who, despite the inability to be measured accurately for 

hearing and vision loss due to cognitive or behavioral 

constraints or both, can be determined through functional 

and performance assessments to have severe hearing and 

visual disabilities that cause extreme difficulty in attaining 

independence in daily life activities, achieving 

psychological adjustment, or obtaining vocational 

objectives. 

"Department" means the Department for the Blind and Vision 

Impaired. 

"Financial needs assessment' means an assessment to 

consider the financial need of an individual who is applying for 

or receiving rehabilitation teaching and independent living 

services to determine the extent of the individual's participation 

in the costs of services. 

"Independent living" means control over one's life based on 

the choice of acceptable options that minimize reliance on 

others in making decisions and performing everyday activities. 

This includes managing one's affairs, participating in day-to-

day life in the community, fulfilling a range of social roles, 

making decisions that lead to self-determination, and the 

minimization of physical and psychological dependence on 

others. 

"Individualized Written Rehabilitation 

Teaching/Independent Living Program (IWRP) Plan" or 

("Plan") means a written program of rehabilitation teaching 

services identified during the assessment for each consumer 

individual determined eligible for services by this program the 

Rehabilitation Teaching/Independent Living Program. 

"Reasonable expectation" means that rehabilitation teaching 

and independent living services are anticipated to significantly 

assist a consumer to improve an individual to improve his 

ability to cope with blindness and function more 

independently. 

"Rehabilitation teaching" means the process of guiding and 

instructing a blind, visually impaired consumer, or deafblind 

person through an individualized plan of instruction designed 

to develop and raise the level of adaptive coping skills and 

functional independence. 

"Severely visually impaired" means vision less than 20/70 in 

the better eye with correction or a field restricted to 70 degrees 

or less in the better eye. 

Part II 

Referral 

22VAC45-70-20. Referral and application. 

A. To be considered for rehabilitation teaching and 

independent living services, DBVI must obtain the following 

information must be obtained from the individual seeking 

services: 

1. Name and address; 

2. Date of birth and sex gender; 

3. Disability; and 

4. Date of referral. 

The department DBVI shall expeditiously process persons the 

application of an individual who is referred for rehabilitation 

teaching and independent living services. 

B. An DBVI shall conduct an assessment by the Department 

for the Blind and Vision Impaired is required of each person of 

the rehabilitation teaching and independent living needs of an 

individual who applies for rehabilitation teaching services. The 

assessment is limited to that information that is necessary to 

determine eligibility for rehabilitation teaching and 

independent living services consistent with 22VAC45-70-30 

and to determine which rehabilitation teaching services are 

needed. 

Part III 

Eligibility 

22VAC45-70-30. Eligibility for rehabilitation teaching and 

independent living services. 

A. Eligibility shall be determined without regard to sex, 

sexual orientation, gender identity, race, creed, color, or 

national origin. No individual shall be excluded or found 

ineligible solely on the basis of the type of disability or on the 

basis of age. No residence requirement shall be imposed that 
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excludes from services any individual who is presently in the 

Commonwealth. 

B. To be eligible for rehabilitation teaching and independent 

living services, a consumer an individual must have a visual 

limitation that constitutes or results in a substantial impediment 

to personal independent functioning. A consumer, and there 

must be a reasonable expectation that rehabilitation teaching 

and independent living services will significantly assist the 

individual to improve his ability to cope with blindness and to 

function more independently. An individual has a visual 

limitation if one or more of the following criteria are met the 

individual: 

1. Legal blindness Is a "blind person" as defined in 

22VAC45-70-10; 

2. 20/100 Has distance vision of 20/70 to 20/200 distance 

vision in the better eye with correcting glasses or a field 

limitation to 30 degrees or less in the better eye, and if the 

person has been unable to adjust to the loss of vision, and if 

it is has been determined by the rehabilitation teacher that 

the person is to be in need of the specialized services 

available through the Department for the Blind and Vision 

Impaired's DBVI rehabilitation teaching and independent 

living program; or 

3. Night Has night blindness or a rapidly progressive eye 

condition which, in the opinion of a qualified 

ophthalmologist or optometrist, will reduce the distance 

vision to 20/200 or less. 

B. A reasonable expectation that rehabilitation teaching 

services will significantly assist the consumer to improve his 

ability to cope with blindness and to function more 

independently. 

22VAC45-70-40. Eligibility determination. 

Prior to or simultaneously with acceptance of a consumer an 

individual for rehabilitation teaching and independent living 

services, there shall be a determination of eligibility; a case 

narrative shall state the basis for the visual eligibility 

determination and a reasonable expectation that rehabilitation 

teaching will significantly and independent living services 

shall assist the consumer in achieving or maintaining 

functional independence individual to improve his ability to 

cope with blindness and to function more independently. When 

a consumer an individual is determined ineligible for 

rehabilitation teaching services and independent living 

services, the rehabilitation teacher shall inform the consumer 

individual of the ineligibility determination, stating the reason 

or reasons. This may be done during a personal contact or by a 

letter. 

22VAC45-70-60. The Individualized Written 

Rehabilitation Teaching and Independent Living Program 

(IWRP) (Plan). 

Initial plan development. 

1. The IWRP Plan shall specify the rehabilitation teaching 

and independent living services that the consumer individual 

and DBVI instructor rehabilitation teacher jointly determine 

are necessary to raise increase the individual's level of 

adaptive coping skills and functional independence. 

2. The IWRP Plan shall be initiated after determination of 

eligibility and periodically updated to include additional 

rehabilitation teaching and independent living services that 

are needed by the consumer individual. 

3. Rehabilitation teaching and independent living services 

shall be provided in accordance with IWRP the Plan. 

22VAC45-70-70. Scope of rehabilitation teaching and 

independent living services. 

Services provided through the rehabilitation teaching services 

and independent living program may include: 

1. Counseling to determine the consumer's individual's need 

for specific rehabilitation teaching and independent living 

services. 

2. Referral to and information regarding resources and 

programs that, internal and external to DBVI, which might 

benefit the consumer individual. 

3. Counseling to assist the consumer individual to cope with 

visual vision loss. 

4. Provision of low vision services in accordance with the 

Regulations Governing Low Vision, 22VAC45-110. 

5. Instruction in the following areas: 

a. Personal management skills or activities of daily living; 

b. Home management skills; 

c. Communication skills, including reading and writing 

braille, typing, script writing, and use of electronic 

equipment and technology; 

d. Other appropriate adaptive coping skills, i.e., to 

facilitate leisure and recreational activities; and 

e. Information and instruction in the acquisition of and use 

of adaptive equipment. 

Part V 

Financial Participation 

22VAC45-70-80. Financial participation in cost of services. 

A. The Department for the Blind and Vision Impaired DBVI 

has elected to uniformly apply a financial needs assessment for 

persons receiving purchased rehabilitation teaching and 

independent living services and goods in the Commonwealth. 

Purchased services and goods may be provided at no cost to 

the recipient who is legally a blind person if the family's 

income is less than 100% 80% of the federally estimated 

median income for Virginia, and if the family's assets are less 

than 50% of the federally estimated median income as 

determined by the United States Department of Health and 
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Human Services, Family Support Administration. The 

Department for the Blind and Vision Impaired will DBVI shall 

review and change its financial participation levels to match 

the above-referenced estimated median income level every 

third year annually. 

B. There is shall be no financial participation in cost of 

services required for the assessment, counseling, low vision 

exams, information and referral, and instructional services 

provided through the rehabilitation teaching services and 

independent living program. 

C. Consumers must be both legally blind and demonstrate 

financial need as determined by the financial needs assessment 

in order to receive any purchased services or goods other than 

a low vision exam.  

D. Allowable deductions from income. 

1. Expenses that may be deducted from family income on 

the financial needs assessment are unusual medical expenses 

and the education of a consumer the individual or family 

member to attend a private or public educational facility. 

Medical expenses such as, including routine doctors' visits 

and hospital insurance premiums, may not be deducted. 

2. When the consumer's individual's gross family income, 

liquid assets, or both, exceed the financial eligibility need 

requirement after allowable deductions have been 

considered, the consumer individual and his family are 

required to apply the excess toward the cost of those services 

provided by rehabilitation teaching and independent living 

services for which financial need is considered. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R21-6293; Filed July 22, 2021, 4:09 p.m. 
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PUBLIC COMMENT OPPORTUNITY 

Pursuant to § 2.2-4002.1 of the Code of Virginia, a certified guidance document is subject to a 30-day public comment period 

after publication in the Virginia Register of Regulations and prior to the guidance document's effective date. During the public 

comment period, comments may be made through the Virginia Regulatory Town Hall website (http://www.townhall.virginia.gov) 

or sent to the agency contact. Under subsection C of § 2.2-4002.1, the effective date of the guidance document may be delayed 

for an additional period. The guidance document may also be withdrawn. 

The following guidance documents have been submitted for publication by the listed agencies for a public comment period. 

Online users of this issue of the Virginia Register of Regulations may click on the name of a guidance document to access it. 

Guidance documents are also available on the Virginia Regulatory Town Hall (http://www.townhall.virginia.gov) or from the 

agency contact or may be viewed at the Office of the Registrar of Regulations, 900 East Main Street, Richmond, Virginia 23219. 

DEPARTMENT FOR AGING AND REHABILITATIVE 
SERVICES 

Title of Document: DRS Policy and Procedure Manual Select 

Policies 2021. 

Public Comment Deadline: September 15, 2021. 

Effective Date: September 16, 2021. 

Agency Contact: Leah Mills, Policy Analyst, Department for 

Aging and Rehabilitative Services, 8004 Franklin Farms 

Drive, Richmond, VA 23229, telephone (804) 662-7610, or 

email leah.mills@dars.virginia.gov. 

* * *  

Title of Document: Nutrition Education Service Standard. 

Public Comment Deadline: September 15, 2021. 

Effective Date: October 1, 2021. 

Agency Contact: Elizabeth Patacca, Administrative Staff 

Assistant, Department for Aging and Rehabilitative Services, 

8004 Franklin Farms Drive, Richmond, VA 23229, telephone 

(804) 726-6625, or email elizabeth.patacca@dars.virginia.gov. 

BOARD OF AUDIOLOGY AND SPEECH-LANGUAGE 
PATHOLOGY 

BOARD OF COUNSELING 

BOARD OF DENTISTRY 

BOARD OF FUNERAL DIRECTORS AND 
EMBALMERS 

BOARD OF HEALTH PROFESSIONS 

DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH PROFESSIONS 

BOARD OF MEDICINE 

BOARD OF NURSING 

BOARD OF LONG-TERM CARE ADMINISTRATORS 

BOARD OF OPTOMETRY 

BOARD OF PHARMACY 

BOARD OF PHYSICAL THERAPY 

BOARD OF PSYCHOLOGY 

BOARD OF SOCIAL WORK 

BOARD OF VETERINARY MEDICINE 

Title of Document: Requirements imposed on Hospitals, Other 

Health Care Institutions and Organizations, and Assisted 

Living Facilities to Report Disciplinary Actions Against, 

Allegations of Misconduct by, and Impairment of Certain 

Health Care Practitioners to the Virginia Department of Health 

Professions or the Office of Licensure and Certification of the 

Virginia Department of Health. 

Public Comment Deadline: September 15, 2021. 

Effective Date: September 16, 2021. 

Agency Contact: Elaine J. Yeatts, Agency Regulatory 

Coordinator, Department of Health Professions, Perimeter 

Center, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, Richmond, VA 

23233, telephone (804) 367-4688, or email 

elaine.yeatts@dhp.virginia.gov. 

 

https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title2.2/chapter40/section2.2-4002.1/
http://www.townhall.virginia.gov/
https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title2.2/chapter40/section2.2-4002.1/
http://www.townhall.virginia.gov/
https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/GetFile.cfm?File=C:/TownHall/docroot/GuidanceDocs_Proposed/262/GDoc_DARS_4906_20210728.pdf
https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/GetFile.cfm?File=C:/TownHall/docroot/GuidanceDocs_Proposed/262/GDoc_DARS_4906_20210728.pdf
mailto:Leah.Mills@dars.virginia.gov
https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/GetFile.cfm?File=C:/TownHall/docroot/GuidanceDocs_Proposed/262/GDoc_DARS_4894_20210716.pdf
mailto:elizabeth.patacca@dars.virginia.gov
https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/GetFile.cfm?File=C:/TownHall/docroot/GuidanceDocs_Proposed/223/GDoc_DHP_4895_20210722.pdf
https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/GetFile.cfm?File=C:/TownHall/docroot/GuidanceDocs_Proposed/223/GDoc_DHP_4895_20210722.pdf
mailto:elaine.yeatts@dhp.virginia.gov
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STATE BOARD OF EDUCATION 

Title of Document: Recertification Guidance Document for 

Virginia Career Switcher Programs. 

Public Comment Deadline: September 15, 2021. 

Effective Date: September 16, 2021. 

Agency Contact: Maggie Clemmons, Director of Licensure 

and School Leadership, Department of Education, 101 North 

14th Street, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 371-2471, 

or email maggie.clemmons@doe.virginia.gov. 

* * * 

Titles of Documents: Model Guidance for Positive and 

Preventive Code of Student Conduct Policy and Alternatives 

to Suspension. 

Supplemental Guidance for Evaluation and Eligibility in 

Special Education. 

Public Comment Deadline: September 15, 2021. 

Effective Date: September 16, 2021. 

Agency Contact: Samantha Hollins, Assistant Superintendent 

for Special Education and Student Services, Department of 

Education, 101 North 14th Street Richmond, VA 23219, 

telephone (804) 786-8079, or email 

samantha.hollins@doe.virginia.gov. 

BOARD OF FUNERAL DIRECTORS AND 
EMBALMERS 

Title of Document: Virginia Board of Funeral Directors and 

Embalmers Bylaws. 

Public Comment Deadline: September 15, 2021. 

Effective Date: September 16, 2021. 

Agency Contact: Elaine J. Yeatts, Agency Regulatory 

Coordinator, Department of Health Professions, Perimeter 

Center, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, Richmond, VA 

23233, telephone (804) 367-4688, or email 

elaine.yeatts@dhp.virginia.gov. 

DEPARTMENT OF MEDICAL ASSISTANCE 
SERVICES 

Title of Document: Draft-Addition of 

Buprenorphine_Naloxone Sublingual Tablet to the Virginia 

Common Core Formulary/Preferred Drug List. 

Public Comment Deadline: September 15, 2021. 

Effective Date: September 16, 2021. 

Agency Contact: Emily McClellan, Policy and Research, 

Department of Medical Assistance Services, 600 East Broad 

Street, Suite 1300, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 371-

6043, or email emily.mcclellan@dmas.virginia.gov. 

BOARD OF OPTOMETRY 

Title of Document: Guidelines for Processing Applications for 

Licensure. 

Public Comment Deadline: September 15, 2021. 

Effective Date: September 16, 2021. 

Agency Contact: Elaine J. Yeatts, Agency Regulatory 

Coordinator, Department of Health Professions, Perimeter 

Center, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, Richmond, VA 

23233, telephone (804) 367-4688, or email 

elaine.yeatts@dhp.virginia.gov. 

BOARD OF PHARMACY 

Title of Document: Alternate Delivery of Prescriptions in 

Virginia. 

Public Comment Deadline: September 15, 2021. 

Effective Date: September 16, 2021. 

Agency Contact: Elaine J. Yeatts, Agency Regulatory 

Coordinator, Department of Health Professions, Perimeter 

Center, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, Richmond, VA 

23233, telephone (804) 367-4688, or email 

elaine.yeatts@dhp.virginia.gov. 

SAFETY AND HEALTH CODES BOARD 

Titles of Documents: Inspection Procedures for the COVID-19 

Emergency Temporary Standard. 

Virginia Occupational Safety and Health Field Operations 

Manual. 

Public Comment Deadline: September 15, 2021. 

Effective Date: September 16, 2021. 

Agency Contact: Holly Trice, Attorney, Department of Labor 

and Industry, Main Street Centre, 600 East Main Street, 

Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 786-2641, or email 

holly.trice@doli.virginia.gov. 

BOARD OF SOCIAL WORK 

Title of Document: Guidance on Emotional Support Animals. 

Public Comment Deadline: September 15, 2021. 

Effective Date: September 16, 2021. 

Agency Contact: Elaine J. Yeatts, Agency Regulatory 

Coordinator, Department of Health Professions, Perimeter 

Center, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, Richmond, VA 

23233, telephone (804) 367-4688, or email 

elaine.yeatts@dhp.virginia.gov. 

https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/GetFile.cfm?File=C:/TownHall/docroot/GuidanceDocs_Proposed/201/GDoc_DOE_4902_20210726.pdf
https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/GetFile.cfm?File=C:/TownHall/docroot/GuidanceDocs_Proposed/201/GDoc_DOE_4902_20210726.pdf
mailto:maggie.clemmons@doe.virginia.gov
https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/GetFile.cfm?File=C:/TownHall/docroot/GuidanceDocs_Proposed/201/GDoc_DOE_4903_20210726.pdf
https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/GetFile.cfm?File=C:/TownHall/docroot/GuidanceDocs_Proposed/201/GDoc_DOE_4903_20210726.pdf
https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/GetFile.cfm?File=C:/TownHall/docroot/GuidanceDocs_Proposed/201/GDoc_DOE_4903_20210726.pdf
https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/GetFile.cfm?File=C:/TownHall/docroot/GuidanceDocs_Proposed/201/GDoc_DOE_4900_20210726.pdf.
https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/GetFile.cfm?File=C:/TownHall/docroot/GuidanceDocs_Proposed/201/GDoc_DOE_4900_20210726.pdf.
mailto:samantha.hollins@doe.virginia.gov
https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/GetFile.cfm?File=C:/TownHall/docroot/GuidanceDocs_Proposed/223/GDoc_DHP_4890_20210713.pdf
https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/GetFile.cfm?File=C:/TownHall/docroot/GuidanceDocs_Proposed/223/GDoc_DHP_4890_20210713.pdf
mailto:elaine.yeatts@dhp.virginia.gov
https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/GetFile.cfm?File=C:/TownHall/docroot/GuidanceDocs_Proposed/602/GDoc_DMAS_4907_20210728.pdf
https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/GetFile.cfm?File=C:/TownHall/docroot/GuidanceDocs_Proposed/602/GDoc_DMAS_4907_20210728.pdf
https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/GetFile.cfm?File=C:/TownHall/docroot/GuidanceDocs_Proposed/602/GDoc_DMAS_4907_20210728.pdf
mailto:Emily.McClellan@dmas.virginia.gov
https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/GetFile.cfm?File=C:/TownHall/docroot/GuidanceDocs_Proposed/223/GDoc_DHP_4893_20210716.pdf
https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/GetFile.cfm?File=C:/TownHall/docroot/GuidanceDocs_Proposed/223/GDoc_DHP_4893_20210716.pdf
mailto:elaine.yeatts@dhp.virginia.gov
https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/GetFile.cfm?File=C:/TownHall/docroot/GuidanceDocs_Proposed/223/GDoc_DHP_4901_20210726.pdf
https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/GetFile.cfm?File=C:/TownHall/docroot/GuidanceDocs_Proposed/223/GDoc_DHP_4901_20210726.pdf
mailto:elaine.yeatts@dhp.virginia.gov
https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/GetFile.cfm?File=C:/TownHall/docroot/GuidanceDocs_Proposed/181/GDoc_DOLI_4898_20210726.pdf
https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/GetFile.cfm?File=C:/TownHall/docroot/GuidanceDocs_Proposed/181/GDoc_DOLI_4898_20210726.pdf
https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/GetFile.cfm?File=C:/TownHall/docroot/GuidanceDocs_Proposed/181/GDoc_DOLI_4905_20210727.pdf
https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/GetFile.cfm?File=C:/TownHall/docroot/GuidanceDocs_Proposed/181/GDoc_DOLI_4905_20210727.pdf
mailto:holly.trice@doli.virginia.gov
https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/GetFile.cfm?File=C:/TownHall/docroot/GuidanceDocs_Proposed/223/GDoc_DHP_4899_20210726.pdf
mailto:elaine.yeatts@dhp.virginia.gov
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General Notices 

STATE CORPORATION COMMISSION 

AT RICHMOND, JULY 23, 2021 

COMMONWEALTH OF VIRGINIA, ex rel. 

STATE CORPORATION COMMISSION 

CASE NO. PUR-2020-00125 

Ex Parte: In the matter of establishing regulations 

for a shared solar program pursuant to 

§ 56-594.3 of the Code of Virginia 

ORDER FOR NOTICE AND HEARING 

During its 2020 Session, the Virginia General Assembly 

enacted Chapters 1238 (HB 1634) and 1264 (SB 629) of the 

2020 Virginia Acts of Assembly. These Acts of Assembly 

amend the Code of Virginia ("Code") by adding a section 

numbered 56-594.3, effective July 1, 2020. Code § 56-594.3 

requires that by January 1, 2021, the State Corporation 

Commission ("Commission") establish by regulation a 

program affording customers of Virginia Electric and Power 

Company d/b/a Dominion Energy Virginia ("Dominion") the 

opportunity to participate in a shared solar program ("Shared 

Solar Program" or "Program").1 Pursuant to Code § 56-594.3 

E, the Commission must approve a Shared Solar Program of 

150 megawatts with a minimum requirement of 30 percent 

low-income customers as defined in Code § 56%u2011594.3 

A. Also under the Program, each subscriber will pay a 

minimum bill to Dominion and receive a bill credit based on 

the subscriber's customer class.2 The Commission must 

establish the minimum bill, which may be modified over time, 

and must set the bill credit rate annually.3 Dominion must file 

any tariffs, agreements, or forms necessary to implement the 

Program within 60 days of its full implementation of a new 

customer information platform or by July 1, 2023, whichever 

occurs first.4 

On December 23, 2020, the Commission issued its Order 

Adopting Rules in this docket, in which the Commission 

adopted the Rules Governing Shared Solar Program, 20 VAC 

5-340-10 et seq. ("Rules").5 Among other things, the Order 

Adopting Rules also established a stakeholder working group 

("Working Group") to develop methods for low-income 

verification, methods for measuring low-income participation, 

and the standardized disclosure forms to be adopted by the 

Commission pursuant to Code § 56-594.3 F 8 for the Shared 

Solar Program.6 The Order Adopting Rules also required 

Dominion to file a minimum bill proposal ("Proposal") in this 

docket.7 Further, the Order Adopting Rules noted that, 

pursuant to 20 VAC 5-340-80, the Commission would convene 

a proceeding to consider any monthly administrative charge 

and the components of the minimum bill to be applied by 

Dominion pursuant to the Rules.8 

Working Group  

The Working Group, including multiple interested persons, 

the Virginia Department of Mines, Minerals, and Energy 

("DMME"), and Commission Staff ("Staff") met multiple 

times as a whole and in focus groups to carry out the tasks 

directed by the Order Adopting Rules. On April 22, 2021, the 

Staff filed its Staff Update in this docket, which contained the 

Low Income Stakeholder Working Group Report on the 

Virginia Shared Solar and Multi-Family Shared Solar 

Programs9 (2020-2021) ("Working Group Report"). Among 

other things, the Working Group Report included standardized 

consumer disclosure forms and an update on discussions 

regarding methods for low-income verification and methods to 

measure low-income participation, as directed by the Order 

Adopting Rules. 

Minimum Bill Proposal 

Dominion filed its Proposal on March 1, 2021, as directed.10 

Comments on the Proposal were filed by the Coalition for 

Community Solar Access ("CCSA") together with the 

Chesapeake Solar & Storage Association ("CHESSA"); 

DMME; Senator Scott A. Surovell and Delegate Jay Jones 

("Legislator Commenters"); and Mr. Jay Epstein. In addition 

to their comments, CCSA and CHESSA together with other 

entities,11 DMME, and the Legislator Commenters requested 

an evidentiary hearing. The Staff filed a reply to the Proposal 

on May 14, 2021, and on May 21, 2021, Dominion filed a reply 

in which it supported the requests for an evidentiary hearing on 

the Proposal. 

Motion on Bill Credit Rate 

On April 20, 2021, CCSA, together with CHESSA, moved 

the Commission to enter an order clarifying the bill credit rate 

for both the multi-family shared solar program and the Shared 

Solar Program ("CCSA-CHESSA Motion"). CCSA and 

CHESSA requested that the Commission enter an order: (1) 

adopting 2021 applicable bill credit rates for each customer 

class (residential, commercial, and industrial) for the multi-

family shared solar program based on the most recent posted 

U.S. Energy Information Administration ("EIA") data; and (2) 

confirming that the same EIA data and calculation 

methodology will be used to determine the applicable bill 

credit rates for both the multi-family shared solar program and 

the Shared Solar Program.12 

On May 10, 2021, Dominion filed its response to the CCSA-

CHESSA Motion. Dominion stated that it did not disagree with 

using EIA data to calculate the Shared Solar Program bill credit 

rate but argued that "before the statutory formula can be 

applied, taxes must be removed from the revenue totals, 

because these tax payments are passed through to the 

respective governmental entities to whom they belong, and are 

not Company revenue."13 On May 24, 2021, CCSA and 

CHESSA filed a reply in which they continued to advocate for 
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the use of EIA data without Dominion's proposed removal of 

taxes from the revenue totals. 

Motion for Extension of Time 

On June 7, 2021, Dominion filed a motion seeking an 

extension of time, until August 1, 2021, to file with the 

Commission and post to its website materials for project 

registration, as required by the Order Adopting Rules 

("Dominion Motion"). The Commission provided an 

opportunity for responses and replies to the Dominion Motion; 

none were received. 

NOW THE COMMISSION, having considered this matter, is 

of the opinion and finds as follows. 

Minimum Bill and Bill Credit Rate 

Code § 56-594.3 A defines "Bill credit" as "the monetary 

value of the electricity, in kilowatt-hours, generated by the 

shared solar facility allocated to a subscriber to offset that 

subscriber's electricity bill." Code § 56-594.3 B provides that: 

[A] utility shall provide a bill credit for the proportional 

output of a shared solar facility attributable to that 

subscriber. . . . 

1. The value of the bill credit for the subscriber shall be 

calculated by multiplying the subscriber's portion of the 

kilowatt-hour electricity production from the shared solar 

facility by the applicable bill credit rate for the subscriber. 

Code § 56-594.3 D provides that: 

The Commission shall establish a minimum bill, which 

shall include the costs of all utility infrastructure and 

services used to provide electric service and 

administrative costs of the shared solar program. The 

Commission may modify the minimum bill over time. In 

establishing the minimum bill, the Commission shall (i) 

consider further costs the Commission deems relevant to 

ensure subscribing customers pay a fair share of the costs 

of providing electric services and (ii) minimize the costs 

shifted to customers not in a shared solar program. Low-

income customers shall be exempt from the minimum bill. 

We agree with the commenters in this proceeding who have 

requested that we schedule a public hearing in this docket to 

establish the minimum bill for Dominion. Further, since the 

Order Adopting Rules provided that the Commission shall 

establish the annual bill credit rate for the subscriber's rate class 

but did not specify the methodology for establishing the bill 

credit rate, we find that the hearing we set herein should also 

consider the methodology to be used to establish the bill credit 

rate, and the resulting bill credit for each customer class 

produced by this methodology, for the Shared Solar Program.14 

Working Group Issues 

Code § 56-594.3 F 8 requires that the Commission "[a]dopt 

standardized consumer disclosure forms." The Working Group 

Report included proposed disclosure forms for the multi-

family shared solar program and the Shared Solar Program. 

Pursuant to Code § 56-594.3 F 8, we will adopt the consumer 

disclosure form provided in the Working Group Report, which 

is attached to this order. 

The Order Adopting Rules also directed the Working Group 

to "address the components of low-income subscription 

plans."15 The Rules define "Low-income subscription plan" as 

"a plan submitted to the [C]ommission by an applicant 

providing a commitment for low-income subscription and 

demonstrating the ability to subscribe low-income 

customers."16 Additionally, the Rules define a "Low-income 

customer" as "any person or household whose income is no 

more than 80% of the median income of the locality in which 

the customer resides. The median income of the locality is 

determined by the U.S. Department of Housing and Urban 

Development."17 

The Working Group Report included a proposed low-income 

subscription plan form to be submitted by applicants seeking 

to offer low-income subscriptions. We will adopt the low-

income subscription plan form provided in the Working Group 

Report, which is attached to this order. 

Code § 56-594.3 E provides that: 

The Commission shall approve a shared solar facility 

program of 150 megawatts with a minimum requirement 

of 30 percent low-income customers. The Commission 

shall approve an additional 50 megawatts of capacity upon 

determining that at least 45 megawatts of the aggregated 

shared solar capacity in the Commonwealth have been 

subscribed to by low-income customers. Subscriber 

organizations shall be allowed to demonstrate compliance 

with the low income requirement using either project 

capacity or project savings methodology. The 

Commission, in collaboration with [DMME], may adopt 

mechanisms to ensure low-income customer participation. 

The Order Adopting Rules directed the Working Group to 

meet and address low-income eligibility and verification 

methods for the Shared Solar Program.18 The Working Group 

Report proposed a menu of options for subscriber 

organizations to verify low-income eligibility and requested 

the opportunity to continue to meet and provide 

recommendations on the following topics: (1) use of low-

income census tracts to verify eligibility; (2) interplay between 

the Shared Solar and the Percentage of Income Payment 

Program ("PIPP");19 (3) guidance regarding participation in 

other income-based programs to verify eligibility; and (4) 

development and use of a self-attestation form for verifying 

eligibility.20 

We agree that additional meetings of the Working Group 

would be useful to further develop guidance and provide 

information on the topics listed above. We direct the Staff to 

convene additional meetings of the Working Group and to 

provide a Staff Update on these meetings, including any 



General Notices 

Volume 37, Issue 26  Virginia Register of Regulations  August 16, 2021  

4011 

proposals for Commission action, no later than September 30, 

2021. 

In setting the hearing and ordering the additional procedures 

discussed herein, the Commission takes judicial notice of the 

ongoing public health concern related to the spread of the 

coronavirus, or COVID-19. The Commission has taken certain 

actions, and may take additional actions going forward, that 

could impact the procedures in this proceeding.21 Consistent 

with these actions, in regard to the terms of the procedural 

framework established below, the Commission will, among 

other things, direct the electronic filing of testimony and 

pleadings, unless they contain confidential information, and 

require electronic service on parties to this proceeding. 

Accordingly, IT IS ORDERED THAT: 

(1) As provided by § 12.1-31 of the Code and Rule 5 VAC 5-

20-120, Procedure before hearing examiners, of the 

Commission's Rules of Practice, a Hearing Examiner is 

appointed to conduct all further proceedings in this matter on 

behalf of the Commission. 

(2) All pleadings in this matter should be submitted 

electronically to the extent authorized by Rule 5 VAC 5-20-

150, Copies and format, of the Commission's Rules of Practice 

and Procedure ("Rules of Practice").22 Confidential and 

Extraordinarily Sensitive information shall not be submitted 

electronically and should comply with 5 VAC 5-20-170, 

Confidential information, of the Rules of Practice. At this time, 

any person seeking to hand deliver and physically file or 

submit any pleading or other document shall contact the 

Clerk's Office Document Control Center at (804) 371-9838 to 

arrange the delivery.23 

(3) Pursuant to 5 VAC 5-20-140, Filing and service, of the 

Commission's Rules of Practice, the Commission directs that 

service on parties and the Staff in this matter shall be 

accomplished by electronic means. Concerning Confidential or 

Extraordinarily Sensitive Information, parties and the Staff are 

instructed to work together to agree upon the manner in which 

documents containing such information shall be served upon 

one another, to the extent practicable, in an electronically 

protected manner, even if such information is unable to be filed 

in the Office of the Clerk, so that no party or the Staff is 

impeded from preparing its case. 

(4) A public hearing shall be convened at 10 a.m. on 

November 3, 2021, to receive the testimony of public witnesses 

and the evidence of the Company, any respondents, and the 

Staff on Dominion's Proposal and the bill credit rate to be 

adopted in this proceeding. This hearing will be held either in 

the Commission's second floor courtroom located in the Tyler 

Building, 1300 East Main Street, Richmond, Virginia 23219, 

or by electronic means. Further details on this hearing will be 

provided by subsequent Commission Order or Hearing 

Examiner's Ruling that, upon issuance, will be available on the 

Commission's website at scc.virginia.gov/pages/Case-

Information by searching for Case No. PUR-2020-00125. 

(5) An electronic copy of the Company's Proposal may be 

obtained by submitting a written request to counsel for the 

Company, Timothy D. Patterson, Esquire, McGuireWoods 

LLP, Gateway Plaza, 800 East Canal Street, Richmond, 

Virginia 23219, or tpatterson@mcguirewoods.com. Interested 

persons also may download unofficial copies of all documents 

filed in this docket, including the Proposal, the CCSA-

CHESSA Motion, Dominion's May 10, 2021 response to the 

CCSA-CHESSA Motion, and CCSA-CHESSA's May 24, 

2021 reply, from the Commission's website: 

scc.virginia.gov/pages/Case-Information. 

(6) The Clerk of the Commission is directed to provide a copy 

of this Order for Notice and Hearing to all persons who have 

submitted comments in this docket. 

(7) Within five (5) business days of issuance of this Order for 

Notice and Hearing, the Staff shall transmit electronically a 

copy of this Order for Notice and Hearing to any persons or 

entities identified by the Staff as potentially having an interest 

in this matter. The Staff shall promptly file with the Clerk of 

the Commission a certificate of transmission and include a list 

of names of the persons and entities to whom the Order for 

Notice and Hearing was transmitted. 

(8) On or before August 18, 2020, Dominion shall cause the 

following notice to be published as display advertising (not 

classified) on one (1) occasion in newspapers of general 

circulation throughout the Company's service territory within 

Virginia: 

NOTICE TO THE PUBLIC OF A HEARING ON 

VIRGINIA ELECTRIC AND POWER COMPANY'S 

SHARED SOLAR PROGRAM MINIMUM BILL 

PROPOSAL 

AND ON THE PROGRAM'S BILL CREDIT RATE 

CASE NO. PUR-2020-00125 

Section 56-594.3 of the Code of Virginia requires the State 

Corporation Commission ("Commission") to establish a 

program that affords customers of Virginia Electric and 

Power Company ("Dominion") the opportunity to 

participate in shared solar projects ("Shared Solar 

Program" or "Program"). Under the Program, each 

Dominion customer that is a subscriber to a shared solar 

facility will pay a minimum bill to Dominion and receive 

a bill credit, based on the subscriber's customer class 

(residential, commercial, or industrial), for the 

proportional output of the facility attributable to that 

customer. 

The Commission issued an Order for Notice and Hearing 

in this case. Among other things, the Order for Notice and 

Hearing scheduled a hearing to consider Dominion's 

minimum bill proposal ("Minimum Bill Proposal"), filed 
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in this docket on March 1 and April 1, 2021, and to 

establish the bill credit rate. 

Interested persons are encouraged to review the 

documents in this case for details on Dominion's 

Minimum Bill Proposal and on the bill credit rate, in 

particular Dominion's March 1 and April 1 filings in this 

docket on the Minimum Bill Proposal; the April 20, 2021 

Motion for Clarification of the Bill Credit Rates for the 

Multi-Family Shared Solar Program and the Shared Solar 

Program filed by the Coalition for Community Solar 

Access together with the Chesapeake Solar and Storage 

Association ("CCSA-CHESSA")("Motion"); Dominion's 

May 10, 2021 response to the Motion; and CCSA-

CHESSA's May 24, 2021 reply. (The Motion, Dominion's 

May 10, 2021 response to the Motion; and CCSA-

CHESSA's May 24, 2021 reply collectively are referred to 

as the "Bill Credit Pleadings.") 

Interested persons may download unofficial copies of all 

documents filed in this docket, including the Minimum 

Bill Proposal and the Bill Credit Pleadings, from the 

Commission's website: scc.virginia.gov/pages/Case-

Information. An electronic copy of the Company's 

Minimum Bill Proposal also may be obtained by 

submitting a written request to counsel for Dominion, 

Timothy D. Patterson, Esquire, McGuireWoods LLP, 

Gateway Plaza, 800 East Canal Street, Richmond, 

Virginia 23219, or tpatterson@mcguirewoods.com. 

TAKE NOTICE that the Commission may set the bill 

credit rate and the minimum bill in a manner differing 

from that proposed in the Bill Credit Pleadings and the 

Minimum Bill Proposal. 

A public hearing shall be convened on November 3, 2021, 

at 10 a.m., to receive the testimony of public witnesses and 

the evidence of the Company, any respondents, and the 

Commission's Staff on the Minimum Bill Proposal and the 

bill credit rate. Further details on the hearing will be 

provided by subsequent Commission Order or Hearing 

Examiner's Ruling that, upon issuance, will be available 

on the Commission's website at 

scc.virginia.gov/pages/Case-Information by searching for 

Case No. PUR-2020-00125. 

The Commission further takes judicial notice of the 

ongoing public health concern related to the spread of the 

coronavirus, or COVID-19. In accordance therewith, all 

pleadings, briefs, or other documents required to be served 

in this matter should be submitted electronically to the 

extent authorized by 5 VAC 5-20-150, Copies and format, 

of the Commission's Rules of Practice and Procedure 

("Rules of Practice"). Confidential and Extraordinarily 

Sensitive information shall not be submitted electronically 

and should comply with 5 VAC 5-20-170, Confidential 

information, of the Rules of Practice. At this time, any 

person seeking to hand deliver and physically file or 

submit any pleading or other document shall contact the 

Clerk's Office Document Control Center at (804) 371-

9838 to arrange the delivery. 

Pursuant to 5 VAC 5-20-140, Filing and service, of the 

Rules of Practice, the Commission has directed that 

service on parties and the Commission's Staff in this 

matter shall be accomplished by electronic means. Refer 

to the Commission's Order for Notice and Hearing for 

further instructions concerning Confidential or 

Extraordinarily Sensitive Information. 

On or before October 27, 2021, any interested person may 

file comments on the Minimum Bill Proposal and the bill 

credit rate by following the instructions found on the 

Commission's website: 

scc.virginia.gov/casecomments/Submit-Public-

Comments. Those unable to submit comments 

electronically may file such comments by U.S. mail to the 

Clerk of the State Corporation Commission, c/o 

Document Control Center, P.O. Box 2118, Richmond, 

Virginia 23218-2118. All comments shall refer to Case 

No. PUR-2020-00125. 

On or before September 15, 2021, any person or entity 

wishing to participate as a respondent in this proceeding 

may do so by filing a notice of participation with the Clerk 

of the Commission at scc.virginia.gov/clk/efiling. Those 

unable to submit a notice of participation electronically 

may submit such notice by U.S. mail to the Clerk of the 

Commission at the address listed above. Such notice of 

participation shall include the email addresses of such 

parties or their counsel, if available. The respondent 

simultaneously shall serve a copy of the notice of 

participation on counsel to Dominion. Pursuant to Rule 5 

VAC 5-20-80 B, Participation as a respondent, of the 

Rules of Practice, any notice of participation shall set 

forth: (i) a precise statement of the interest of the 

respondent; (ii) a statement of the specific action sought to 

the extent then known; and (iii) the factual and legal basis 

for the action. Any organization, corporation, or 

government body participating as a respondent must be 

represented by counsel as required by Rule 5 VAC 5-20-

30, Counsel, of the Rules of Practice. All filings shall refer 

to Case No. PUR-2020-00125. 

On or before October 5, 2021, each respondent may file 

with the Clerk of the Commission, at 

scc.virginia.gov/clk/efiling, any testimony and exhibits by 

which the respondent expects to establish its case. Any 

respondent unable to submit testimony and exhibits 

electronically may submit such by U.S. mail to the Clerk 

of the Commission at the address listed above. Each 

witness's testimony shall include a summary not to exceed 

one page. All testimony and exhibits shall be served on the 

Commission's Staff, the Company, and all other 

respondents simultaneous with its filing. In all filings, 

respondents shall comply with the Rules of Practice, 

including 5 VAC 5-20-140, Filing and service; and 5 VAC 
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5-20-240, Prepared testimony and exhibits. All filings 

shall refer to Case No. PUR-2020-00125. 

Any documents filed in paper form with the Office of the 

Clerk of the Commission in this docket may use both sides 

of the paper. In all other respects, except as modified by 

the Commission's Order for Notice and Hearing, all filings 

shall comply fully with the requirements of 5 VAC 5-20-

150, Copies and format, of the Commission's Rules of 

Practice. 

All documents filed in this case, including the Minimum 

Bill Proposal and the Bill Credit Pleadings, the 

Commission's Rules of Practice, and the Commission's 

Order for Notice and Hearing may be viewed at: 

scc.virginia.gov/pages/Case-Information. 

VIRGINIA ELECTRIC AND POWER COMPANY 

(9) On or before August 18, 2021, Dominion shall serve a 

copy of this Order for Notice and Hearing on the following 

local officials, to the extent the position exists, in each county, 

city, and town in which Dominion provides service in the 

Commonwealth of Virginia: the chairman of the board of 

supervisors of each county; the mayor or manager (or 

equivalent official) of every city and town; and the county, 

city, or town attorney. Service shall be made electronically 

where possible; if electronic service is not possible, service 

shall be made by either personal delivery or first class mail to 

the customary place of business or residence of the person 

served. 24 

(10) On or before September 15, 2021, Dominion shall file 

proof of the notice and service required by Ordering 

Paragraphs (8) and (9), including the name, title, address, and 

electronic mail address (if applicable) of each official served, 

with the Clerk of the State Corporation Commission, c/o 

Document Control Center, P.O. Box 2118, Richmond, Virginia 

23218-2118, or by filing electronically at 

scc.virginia.gov/clk/efiling/. 

(11) On or before October 27, 2021, any interested person 

may file comments on the Proposal and the bill credit rate by 

following the instructions found on the Commission's website: 

scc.virginia.gov/casecomments/Submit-Public-Comments. 

Those unable to submit comments electronically may file such 

comments by U.S. mail to the Clerk of the State Corporation 

Commission, c/o Document Control Center, P.O. Box 2118, 

Richmond, Virginia 23218-2118. All comments shall refer to 

Case No. PUR-2020-00125. 

(12) On or before September 15, 2021, any person or entity 

wishing to participate as a respondent in this proceeding may 

do so by filing a notice of participation with the Clerk of the 

Commission at scc.virginia.gov/clk/efiling. Those unable to 

submit a notice of participation electronically may submit such 

notice by U.S. mail to the Clerk of the Commission at the 

address listed above. Such notice of participation shall include 

the email addresses of such parties or their counsel, if 

available. The respondent simultaneously shall serve a copy of 

the notice of participation on counsel to Dominion. Pursuant to 

Rule 5 VAC 5-20-80 B, Participation as a respondent, of the 

Rules of Practice, any notice of participation shall set forth: (i) 

a precise statement of the interest of the respondent; (ii) a 

statement of the specific action sought to the extent then 

known; and (iii) the factual and legal basis for the action. Any 

organization, corporation, or government body participating as 

a respondent must be represented by counsel as required by 

Rule 5 VAC 5-20-30, Counsel, of the Rules of Practice. All 

filings shall refer to Case No. PUR-2020-00125. 

(13) On or before September 21, 2021, Dominion may file 

with the Clerk of the Commission and serve on the Staff and 

all respondents, any testimony and exhibits by which it expects 

to establish its case regarding the Proposal and bill credit rate, 

and each witness's testimony shall include a summary not to 

exceed one page. 

(14) On or before October 5, 2021, each respondent may file 

with the Clerk of the Commission, at 

scc.virginia.gov/clk/efiling, any testimony and exhibits by 

which the respondent expects to establish its case. Any 

respondent unable to submit testimony and exhibits 

electronically may submit such by U.S. mail to the Clerk of the 

Commission at the address listed above. Each witness's 

testimony shall include a summary not to exceed one page. All 

testimony and exhibits shall be served on the Commission's 

Staff, the Company, and all other respondents simultaneous 

with its filing. In all filings, respondents shall comply with the 

Rules of Practice, including 5 VAC 5-20-140, Filing and 

service; and 5 VAC 5-20-240, Prepared testimony and 

exhibits. All filings shall refer to Case No. PUR-2020-00125. 

(15) On or before October 12, 2021, Staff may file with the 

Clerk of the Commission its testimony and exhibits, and each 

Staff witness's testimony shall include a summary not to 

exceed one page. A copy thereof shall be served on counsel to 

Dominion and all respondents. 

(16) On or before October 19, 2021, Dominion may file with 

the Clerk of the Commission any rebuttal testimony and 

exhibits that it expects to offer, and each rebuttal witness's 

testimony shall include a summary not to exceed one page. 

Dominion shall serve a copy of any rebuttal testimony and 

exhibits on the Staff and all respondents. 

(17) Any documents filed in paper form with the Office of the 

Clerk of the Commission in this docket may use both sides of 

the paper. In all other respects, except as modified herein, all 

filings shall comply fully with the requirements of 5 VAC 5-

20-150, Copies and format, of the Commission's Rules of 

Practice. 

(18) The Commission's Rule of Practice 5 VAC 5-20-260, 

Interrogatories to parties or requests for production of 

documents and things, shall be modified for this proceeding as 

follows: responses and objections to written interrogatories 

and requests for production of documents shall be served 
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within five (5) business days after receipt of the same. In 

addition to the service requirements of 5 VAC 5-20-260 of the 

Rules of Practice, on the day that copies are filed with the Clerk 

of the Commission, a copy of the interrogatory or request for 

production shall be served electronically on the party to whom 

the interrogatory or request for production is directed or the 

assigned Staff attorney, if the interrogatory or request for 

production is directed to the Staff.25 Except as modified herein, 

discovery shall be in accordance with Part IV of the 

Commission's Rules of Practice, 5 VAC 5-20-240 et seq. 

(19) The Standard Consumer Disclosure Form attached 

hereto as Attachment A is adopted for use in the Shared Solar 

Program. 

(20) The Low-Income Subscription Plan form attached hereto 

as Attachment B is adopted for use in the Shared Solar 

Program. 

(21) Staff shall convene additional meetings of the Low-

Income Stakeholder Working Group as discussed herein and 

file a Staff Update no later than September 30, 2021. 

(22) Dominion's Motion for an extension of time to file 

project registration materials is granted. 

(23) This matter is continued. 

A COPY hereof shall be sent electronically by the Clerk of 

the Commission to all persons on the official Service List in 

this matter. The Service List is available from the Clerk of the 

Commission. 

____________________________________ 

1Under this Program, Dominion will provide a bill credit for the proportional 

output of a shared solar facility attributable to a utility customer that is a 

subscriber to a shared solar facility. See Code § 56-594.3 B. 

2Code § 56-594.3 C. 

3Code § 56-594.3 C and D. 

4Code § 56-594.3 F. 

5On December 30, 2020, the Commission issued a Correcting Order to correct 

a scribal error on page 13 of Attachment A to the Order Adopting Rules. 

6See, e.g., Order Adopting Rules at 6-7, 9. 

7Id. at 12, Ordering Paragraph (7). 

8See id. at 3, n.2. 

9The multi-family shared solar program is offered pursuant to Code § 56-
585.1:12 in the service territories of Dominion and Kentucky Utilities 

Company d/b/a Old Dominion Power Company. The Commission established 

the bill credit rate and adopted a consumer disclosure form for this program in 
a separate docket. See Commonwealth of Virginia, ex rel. State Corporation 

Commission, Ex Parte: In the matter of establishing regulations for a 

multi%u2011family shared solar program pursuant to § 56-585.1:12 of the 
Code of Virginia, Case No. PUR-2020-00124, Doc. Con. Cen. No. 210650050, 

Order (June 29, 2021). 

10On April 1, 2021, Dominion filed supplemental information related to its 
Proposal, as required by a Commission Order in this docket dated March 18, 

2021. 

11This Joint Hearing Request was filed by CCSA, CHESSA, Vote Solar, GRID 

Alternatives Mid-Atlantic, Local Energy Alliance Program, Virginia Poverty 
Law Center, Solar United Neighbors, Southern Environmental Law Center, 

Appalachian Voices, Sierra Club, and Virginia Advanced Energy Economy. 

12CCSA-CHESSA Motion at 1. 

13Dominion Response at 3. 

14We note that in Case No. PUR-2021-00124, we determined that the bill credit 

rate for the multi-family shared solar program should be determined using 
Virginia-specific FERC Form 1 information. The Hearing Examiner in this 

proceeding may recommend a different methodology for the Shared Solar 

Program, but we direct that any difference in methodology, and the reasons 
therefor, be explained in detail. 

15Order Adopting Rules at 9. See also 20 VAC 5-340-100. 

1620 VAC 5-340-20. 

17Id. 

18See Order Adopting Rules at 7, 9. 

19Through the PIPP, eligible participants' electric bill payments are limited to 
a specific percentage of their annual household income. Details on the PIPP 

may be found at Code § 56-585.6. 

20Working Group Report at 20. 

21See, e.g., Commonwealth of Virginia, ex rel. State Corporation Commission, 

Ex Parte: Electronic Service of Commission Orders, Case No. CLK-2020-

00004, Doc. Con. Cen. No. 200330035, Order Concerning Electronic Service 
of Commission Orders (Mar. 19, 2020); Commonwealth of Virginia, ex rel., 

State Corporation Commission, Ex Parte: Revised Operating Procedures 

During COVID-19 Emergency, Case No. CLK-2020-00005, Doc. Con. Cen. 
No. 200330042, Order Regarding the State Corporation Commission's Revised 

Operating Procedures During COVID-19 Emergency (Mar. 19, 2020); 

Commonwealth of Virginia, ex rel. State Corporation Commission, Ex Parte: 
Electronic service among parties during COVID-19 emergency, Case No. 

CLK-2020-00007, Doc. Con. Cen. No. 200410009, Order Requiring 

Electronic Service (Apr. 1, 2020); Commonwealth of Virginia, ex rel., State 

Corporation Commission, Ex Parte: Revised Operating Procedures During 

COVID-19 Emergency Extension of Prior Orders, Case Nos. CLK-2020-

00004 and CLK-2020-00005, Doc. Con. Cen. No. 200520101, Order 
Regarding the State Corporation Commission's Revised Operating Procedures 

During COVID-19 Emergency (May 11, 2020). 

225 VAC 5-20-10 et seq. 

23As noted in the Commission's March 19, 2020 Order Regarding the State 

Corporation Commission's Revised Operating Procedures During COVID-19 

Emergency in Case No. CLK-2020-00005, submissions to the Commission's 
Clerk's Office via U.S. mail or commercial mail equivalents may not be 

processed for an indefinite period of time due to the ongoing COVID-19 public 

health concern. See n.21, supra. 

24See the Commission's April 1, 2020 Order in Case No. CLK-2020-00007, 

n.21, supra. See also Petition of Virginia Electric and Power Company, For a 

continuing waiver of 20 VAC 5-201-10 J of the Rules Governing Utility Rate 
Applications and Annual Informational Filings to permit electronic service to 

local officials upon request, Case No. PUE-2016-00039, Doc. Con. Cen. No. 

160420194, Order (Apr. 19, 2016). 

25The assigned Staff attorney is identified on the Commission's website, 

scc.virginia.gov/pages/Case-Information, by clicking "Docket Search," then 
clicking "Search by Case Information," and entering the case number, PUR-

2020-00125 in the appropriate box. 
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DEPARTMENT OF MEDICAL ASSISTANCE 
SERVICES 

Draft Local Education Agency Manual 

The draft Local Education Agency Provider Manual Chapters 

IV, V, and VI are now available on the Department of Medical 

Assistance Services website at 

https://www.dmas.virginia.gov/for-providers/general-

information/medicaid-provider-manual-drafts/ for public 

comment until August 19, 2021. 

Contact Information: Emily McClellan, Regulatory Manager, 

Division of Policy and Research, Department of Medical 

Assistance Services, 600 East Broad Street, Suite 1300, 

Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 371-4300, FAX (804) 

786-1680. 

* * *  

Intent to Amend the Virginia State Plan for Medical 
Assistance Pursuant to § 1902(a)(13) of the Social 
Security Act (USC § 1396a(a)(13)) - Doula Services 

The Virginia Department of Medical Assistance Services 

(DMAS) hereby affords the public notice of its intention to 

amend the Virginia State Plan for Medical Assistance to 

provide for changes to Methods and Standards for Establishing 

Payment Rates; Other Types of Care(12VAC30-80). 

This notice is intended to satisfy the requirements of 42 CFR 

447.205 and of § 1902(a)(13) of the Social Security Act, 

42 USC § 1396a(a)(13). A copy of this notice is available for 

public review the contact listed at the end of this notice. 

DMAS is specifically soliciting input from stakeholders, 

providers, and beneficiaries on the potential impact of the 

proposed changes discussed in this notice. Comments or 

inquiries may be submitted in writing within 30 days of this 

notice publication to Emily McClellan, and such comments are 

available for review at the same address. Comments may also 

be submitted in writing on the Virginia Regulatory Town Hall 

public comment forum at 

https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/generalnotice.cfm. 

In accordance with Item 313 WWWWW of the 2021 Acts of 

Assembly, Special Session I, DMAS will be making the 

following changes: 

Methods and Standards for Establishing Payment Rates; Other 

Types of Care (12VAC30-80)  

The state plan is being revised to include coverage for doula 

services for Medicaid-enrolled pregnant women. Services shall 

include up to eight prenatal or postpartum visits and support 

during labor and delivery. The department shall also 

implement up to two linkage-to-care incentive payments for 

postpartum and newborn care. A copy of the Report of the 

Virginia Medicaid Benefit for Community Doula Services 

Work Group, dated December 1, 2020, is available at 

https://rga.lis.virginia.gov/Published/2020/RD669. 

The expected increase in annual aggregate expenditures is 

$584,186 in state general funds and $ 621,516 in federal funds 

in federal Fiscal Year 2022. 

Contact Information: Emily McClellan, Regulatory Manager, 

Division of Policy and Research, Department of Medical 

Assistance Services, 600 East Broad Street, Suite 1300, 

Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 371-4300, FAX (804) 

786-1680. 

STATE WATER CONTROL BOARD 

Proposed Enforcement Action for City of 
Fredericksburg 

An enforcement action has been proposed for the City of 

Fredericksburg for violations of the State Water Control Law 

and regulations at the Fredericksburg wastewater treatment 

facility located in Fredericksburg, Virginia. The State Water 

Control Board proposes to issue a consent order to resolve 

violations associated with the Fredericksburg wastewater 

treatment facility. A description of the proposed action is 

available at the Department of Environmental Quality office 

listed or online at www.deq.virginia.gov. The staff contact 

person listed will accept comments by email or by postal mail 

from August 17, 2021, through September 16, 2021. 

Contact Information: Benjamin Holland, Department of 

Environmental Quality, Northern Regional Office, 13901 

Crown Court, Woodbridge, VA 22193, or email 

benjamin.holland@deq.virginia.gov. 

Proposed Enforcement Action for Magnolia Green 

An enforcement action has been proposed for 6801 Woolridge 

Road-Moseley LP for the Magnolia Green Subdivision located 

north of US Route 360 (Hull Street Road) and west of State 

Route 667 (Otterdale Road) in Chesterfield County, Virginia. 

The State Water Control Board proposes to issue a consent 

order to address noncompliance with State Water Control Law 

and regulations. A description of the proposed action is 

available at the Department of Environmental Quality office 

listed or online at www.deq.virginia.gov. Frank Lupini will 

accept comments by email at frank.lupini@deq.virginia.gov, 

FAX at (804) 698-4277, or postal mail at Department of 

Environmental Quality, P.O. Box 1105, Richmond, VA 23218, 

from August 16, 2021, to September 16, 2021. 

 

https://www.dmas.virginia.gov/for-providers/general-information/medicaid-provider-manual-drafts/
https://www.dmas.virginia.gov/for-providers/general-information/medicaid-provider-manual-drafts/
https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/generalnotice.cfm
https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/generalnotice.cfm
https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/generalnotice.cfm
https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/generalnotice.cfm
https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/generalnotice.cfm
https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/generalnotice.cfm
https://rga.lis.virginia.gov/Published/2020/RD669
https://www.deq.virginia.gov/permits-regulations/public-notices/enforcement-orders
mailto:benjamin.holland@deq.virginia.gov
https://www.deq.virginia.gov/permits-regulations/public-notices/enforcement-orders
mailto:frank.lupini@deq.virginia.gov
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VIRGINIA CODE COMMISSION 

Notice to State Agencies 

Contact Information: Mailing Address: Virginia Code 

Commission, Pocahontas Building, 900 East Main Street, 8th 

Floor, Richmond, VA 23219; Telephone: (804) 698-1810; 

Email: varegs@dls.virginia.gov. 

Meeting Notices: Section 2.2-3707 C of the Code of Virginia 

requires state agencies to post meeting notices on their 

websites and on the Commonwealth Calendar at 

https://commonwealthcalendar.virginia.gov. 

Cumulative Table of Virginia Administrative Code 

Sections Adopted, Amended, or Repealed: A table listing 

regulation sections that have been amended, added, or repealed 

in the Virginia Register of Regulations since the regulations 

were originally published or last supplemented in the print 

version of the Virginia Administrative Code is available at 

http://register.dls.virginia.gov/documents/cumultab.pdf. 

Filing Material for Publication in the Virginia Register of 

Regulations: Agencies use the Regulation Information System 

(RIS) to file regulations and related items for publication in the 

Virginia Register of Regulations. The Registrar's office works 

closely with the Department of Planning and Budget (DPB) to 

coordinate the system with the Virginia Regulatory Town Hall. 

RIS and Town Hall complement and enhance one another by 

sharing pertinent regulatory information. 

file://///legmain/sysdata/dlsdata/CODEREGS/regispub/Vol33/Iss04/varegs@dls.virginia.gov
https://commonwealthcalendar.virginia.gov/
http://register.dls.virginia.gov/documents/cumultab.pdf
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Errata 

STATE BOARD OF HEALTH 

Title of Regulation: 12VAC5-371. Regulations for the 

Licensure of Nursing Facilities. 

Publication: 37:17 VA.R. 2413-2430 April 12, 2021. 

Correction to Fast-Track Regulation: 

Page 2430, DOCUMENTS INCORPORATED BY 

REFERENCE, replace "Guidelines for Design and 

Construction of Health Care Facilities, Facilities Guideline 

Institute (formerly of the American Institute of Architects 

Academy of Architecture), 2010 Edition." with "Guidelines for 

Design and Construction of Residential Health, Care, and 

Support Facilities, 2018 Edition, Facility Guidelines Institute 

http://www.fgiguidelines.org" 

VA.R. Doc. No. R21-3404; Filed July 29, 2021, 4:23 p.m. 

BOARD FOR ARCHITECTS, PROFESSIONAL 
ENGINEERS, LAND SURVEYORS, CERTIFIED 

INTERIOR DESIGNERS AND LANDSCAPE 
ARCHITECTS 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC10-20. Board for Architects, 

Professional Engineers, Land Surveyors, Certified Interior 

Designers and Landscape Architects Regulations. 

Publication: 37:24 VA.R. 3693-3722 July 19, 2021. 

Correction to Final Regulation: 

Page 3696,18VAC10-20-120, after stricken text, replace "D. 

C." with "D. [ C. B. ]" 

VA.R. Doc. No. R17-5025; Filed August 4, 2021, 3:30 p.m. 

http://www.fgiguidelines.org/
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