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THE VIRGINIA REGISTER INFORMATION PAGE

THE VIRGINIA REGISTER OF REGULATIONS is an official state
publication issued every other week throughout the year. Indexes are published
quarterly, and are cumulative for the year. The Virginia Register has several
functions. The new and amended sections of regulations, both as proposed and
as finally adopted, are required by law to be published in the Virginia Register.
In addition, the Virginia Register is a source of other information about state
government, including petitions for rulemaking, emergency regulations,
executive orders issued by the Governor, and notices of public hearings on
regulations.

ADOPTION, AMENDMENT, AND REPEAL OF REGULATIONS

Unless exempted by law, an agency wishing to adopt, amend, or repeal
regulations must follow the procedures in the Administrative Process Act
(8 2.2-4000 et seq. of the Code of Virginia). Typically, this includes first
publishing in the Virginia Register a notice of intended regulatory action; a
basis, purpose, substance and issues statement; an economic impact analysis
prepared by the Department of Planning and Budget; the agency’s response to
the economic impact analysis; a summary; a notice giving the public an
opportunity to comment on the proposal; and the text of the proposed
regulation.

Following publication of the proposed regulation in the Virginia Register, the
promulgating agency receives public comments for a minimum of 60 days.
The Governor reviews the proposed regulation to determine if it is necessary
to protect the public health, safety, and welfare, and if it is clearly written and
easily understandable. If the Governor chooses to comment on the proposed
regulation, his comments must be transmitted to the agency and the Registrar
of Regulations no later than 15 days following the completion of the 60-day
public comment period. The Governor’s comments, if any, will be published
in the Virginia Register. Not less than 15 days following the completion of the
60-day public comment period, the agency may adopt the proposed regulation.

The Joint Commission on Administrative Rules or the appropriate standing
committee of each house of the General Assembly may meet during the
promulgation or final adoption process and file an objection with the Registrar
and the promulgating agency. The objection will be published in the Virginia
Register. Within 21 days after receipt by the agency of a legislative objection,
the agency shall file a response with the Registrar, the objecting legislative
body, and the Governor.

When final action is taken, the agency again publishes the text of the
regulation as adopted, highlighting all changes made to the proposed
regulation and explaining any substantial changes made since publication of
the proposal. A 30-day final adoption period begins upon final publication in
the Virginia Register.

The Governor may review the final regulation during this time and, if he
objects, forward his objection to the Registrar and the agency. In addition to
or in lieu of filing a formal objection, the Governor may suspend the effective
date of a portion or all of a regulation until the end of the next regular General
Assembly session by issuing a directive signed by a majority of the members
of the appropriate legislative body and the Governor. The Governor's objection
or suspension of the regulation, or both, will be published in the Virginia
Register.

If the Governor finds that the final regulation contains changes made after
publication of the proposed regulation that have substantial impact, he may
require the agency to provide an additional 30-day public comment period on
the changes. Notice of the additional public comment period required by the
Governor will be published in the Virginia Register. Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.06
of the Code of Virginia, any person may request that the agency solicit
additional public comment on certain changes made after publication of the
proposed regulation. The agency shall suspend the regulatory process for 30
days upon such request from 25 or more individuals, unless the agency
determines that the changes have minor or inconsequential impact.

A regulation becomes effective at the conclusion of the 30-day final adoption
period, or at any other later date specified by the promulgating agency, unless
(i) a legislative objection has been filed, in which event the regulation, unless
withdrawn, becomes effective on the date specified, which shall be after the
expiration of the 21-day objection period; (ii) the Governor exercises his

authority to require the agency to provide for additional public comment, in
which event the regulation, unless withdrawn, becomes effective on the date
specified, which shall be after the expiration of the period for which the
Governor has provided for additional public comment; (iii) the Governor and
the General Assembly exercise their authority to suspend the effective date of
a regulation until the end of the next regular legislative session; or (iv) the
agency suspends the regulatory process, in which event the regulation, unless
withdrawn, becomes effective on the date specified, which shall be after the
expiration of the 30-day public comment period and no earlier than 15 days
from publication of the readopted action.

A regulatory action may be withdrawn by the promulgating agency at any
time before the regulation becomes final.

FAST-TRACK RULEMAKING PROCESS

Section 2.2-4012.1 of the Code of Virginia provides an alternative to the
standard process set forth in the Administrative Process Act for regulations
deemed by the Governor to be noncontroversial. To use this process, the
Governor's concurrence is required and advance notice must be provided to
certain legislative committees. Fast-track regulations become effective on the
date noted in the regulatory action if fewer than 10 persons object to using the
process in accordance with § 2.2-4012.1.

EMERGENCY REGULATIONS

Pursuant to § 2.2-4011 of the Code of Virginia, an agency may adopt
emergency regulations if necessitated by an emergency situation or when
Virginia statutory law or the appropriation act or federal law or federal
regulation requires that a regulation be effective in 280 days or fewer from its
enactment. In either situation, approval of the Governor is required. The
emergency regulation is effective upon its filing with the Registrar of
Regulations, unless a later date is specified per § 2.2-4012 of the Code of
Virginia. Emergency regulations are limited to no more than 18 months in
duration; however, may be extended for six months under the circumstances
noted in § 2.2-4011 D. Emergency regulations are published as soon as
possible in the Virginia Register and are on the Register of Regulations website
at register.dls.virgina.gov.

During the time the emergency regulation is in effect, the agency may
proceed with the adoption of permanent regulations in accordance with the
Administrative Process Act. If the agency chooses not to adopt the regulations,
the emergency status ends when the prescribed time limit expires.

STATEMENT

The foregoing constitutes a generalized statement of the procedures to be
followed. For specific statutory language, it is suggested that Article 2 (§ 2.2-
4006 et seq.) of Chapter 40 of Title 2.2 of the Code of Virginia be examined
carefully.

CITATION TO THE VIRGINIA REGISTER

The Virginia Register is cited by volume, issue, page number, and date. 34:8
VA R. 763-832 December 11, 2017, refers to Volume 34, Issue 8, pages 763
through 832 of the Virginia Register issued on
December 11, 2017.

The Virginia Register of Regulations is published pursuant to Article 6 (§ 2.2-
4031 et seq.) of Chapter 40 of Title 2.2 of the Code of Virginia.

Members of the Virginia Code Commission: John S. Edwards, Chair;
Marcus B. Simon, Vice Chair; Ward L. Armstrong; Nicole Cheuk; Leslie
L. Lilley; Jennifer L. McClellan; Christopher R. Nolen; Don L. Scott, Jr.;
Charles S. Sharp; Samuel T. Towell; Malfourd W. Trumbo.

Staff of the Virginia Register: Karen Perrine, Registrar of Regulations;
Anne Bloomsburg, Assistant Registrar; Nikki Clemons, Regulations
Analyst; Rhonda Dyer, Publications Assistant; Terri Edwards, Senior
Operations Staff Assistant.
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PUBLICATION SCHEDULE AND DEADLINES

This schedule is available on the Virginia Register of Regulations website (http://register.dls.virginia.gov).

September 2021 through October 2022

Volume: Issue Material Submitted By Noon*  Will Be Published On
38:3 September 8, 2021 September 27, 2021
38:4 September 22, 2021 October 11, 2021
38:5 October 6, 2021 October 25, 2021
38:6 October 20, 2021 November 8, 2021
387 November 3, 2021 November 22, 2021
38:8 November 15, 2021 (Monday)  December 6, 2021
38:9 December 1, 2021 December 20, 2021
38:10 December 15, 2021 January 3, 2022
38:11 December 29, 2021 January 17, 2022
38:12 January 12, 2022 January 31, 2022
38:13 January 26, 2022 February 14, 2022
38:14 February 9, 2022 February 28, 2022
38:15 February 23, 2022 March 14, 2022
38:16 March 9, 2022 March 28, 2022
38:17 March 23, 2022 April 11, 2022
38:18 April 6, 2022 April 25, 2022
38:19 April 20, 2022 May 9, 2022

38:20 May 4, 2022 May 23, 2022
38:21 May 18, 2022 June 6, 2022

38:22 June 1, 2022 June 20, 2022
38:23 June 15, 2022 July 4, 2022

38:24 June 29, 2022 July 18, 2022

38:25 July 13, 2022 August 1, 2022
38:26 July 27, 2022 August 15, 2022
39:1 August 10, 2022 August 29, 2022
39:2 August 24, 2022 September 12, 2022
39:3 September 7, 2022 September 26, 2022
39:4 September 21, 2022 October 10, 2022

*Filing deadlines are Wednesdays unless otherwise specified.
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PETITIONS FOR RULEMAKING

TITLE 18. PROFESSIONAL AND
OCCUPATIONAL LICENSING

BOARD OF COUNSELING

Agency Decision

Title of Requlation: 18VAC115-20. Regulations Governing
the Practice of Professional Counseling.

Statutory Authority: 8 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia.

Name of Petitioner: Dawne Sherman.

Nature of Petitioner's Request: To allow all face-to-face client
contact hours accrued during the supervised graduate
internship in excess of the minimum required 240 direct client
hours to be counted toward the 2,000 total required direct client
contact hours required for residency.

Agency Decision: Request denied.

Statement of Reason for Decision: The Board of Counseling
considered the petition at its meeting on August 20, 2021, and
decided it would include amendments to the internship and
residency requirements in the adoption of final regulations
relating to its periodic review. The amendments will specify
the proportional hours that could be counted as face-to-face.
However, in practice, those hours are already being applied to
a residency.

For example, a person who completed 659 hours in an
internship with 296 face-to-face hours was credited with 59
hours (the number in excess of required 600 hours) toward the
residency and 56 hours (the number in excess of required 240
hours) was credited toward the 2,000 hours of face-to-face
client contact. While the regulation does not currently specify
how those excess hours are applied, an applicant is currently
receiving the credit.

Agency Contact: Jaime Hoyle, Executive Director, Board of
Counseling, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, Richmond, VA,
23233, telephone (804) 367-4406, or email
jaime.hoyle@dhp.virginia.gov.

VAR. Doc. No. PFR21-341; Filed August 23, 2021, 1:55 p.m.

Agency Decision

Title of Requlation: 18VAC115-60. Regulations Governing
the Practice of Licensed Substance Abuse Treatment
Practitioners.

Statutory Authority: § 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia.

Name of Petitioner: Jennifer Stolpe.

Nature of Petitioner's Request: To amend the education
requirement for licensure by endorsement to require only 36
class hours if all class hours were focused on addiction
counseling.

Agency Decision: Request denied.

Statement of Reason for Decision: At its meeting on August
20, 2021, the Board of Counseling discussed the petitioner's
request and decided not to initiate rulemaking. Since the
standard for all licensed professions regulated by the board is
60 graduate hours in counseling, a reduction to 36 hours would
be problematic for this license. The petitioner was advised that
the described educational background would likely qualify for
certification as a Certified Substance Abuse Counselor in
Virginia and to consider pursuing that option.

Agency Contact: Jaime Hoyle, Executive Director, Board of
Counseling, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, Richmond, VA
23233, telephone (804) 367-4406, or  email
jaime.hoyle@dhp.virginia.gov.

VA.R. Doc. No. PFR21-35; Filed August 23, 2021, 11:18 a.m.
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PERIODIC REVIEWS AND SMALL BUSINESS IMPACT REVIEWS

TITLE 1. ADMINISTRATION
TREASURY BOARD

Report of Findings

Pursuant to 88§ 2.2-4007.1 and 2.2-4017 of the Code of
Virginia, the Treasury Board conducted a periodic review and
a small business impact review of 1VAC75-30, Regulations
Governing Escheats, and determined that this regulation
should be amended. The department is publishing its report of
findings dated September 16, 2021, to support this decision.

The regulation meets the criteria set out in Executive Order 14
(as amended, July 16, 2018).

The board seeks to amend 1VAC75-30 to update Code of
Virginia citations that are no longer valid due to the
recodification of the Escheat Generally Statute in 2019.
Chapter 712 of the 2019 Acts of Assembly recodified Title 55
of the Code of Virginia as Title 55.1. The legislation
renumbered the title and renamed many of the chapters within
the title. In addition, there were semantic changes within the
recodification that will now be reflected in the regulation. Two
sections, Authority and Effective date, will be repealed as they
are now otherwise reported.

Contact Information: Vernita Boone, Treasury Board
Secretary, Department of the Treasury, James Monroe
Building, 101 North 14th Street, 3rd Floor, Richmond, VA
23219, telephone (804) 371-6011.

Report of Findings

Pursuant to 88 2.2-4007.1 and 2.2-4017 of the Code of
Virginia, the Treasury Board conducted a periodic review and
a small business impact review of 1VAC75-40, Unclaimed
Property Administrative Review Process, and determined
that this regulation should be amended. The board is publishing
its report of findings dated February 11, 2021, to support this
decision.

The regulation meets the criteria set out in Executive Order 14
(as amended, July 16, 2018).

The board will amend 1VAC75-40 to update Code of Virginia
citations that are no longer valid due to the recodification of
the Uniform Disposition of Unclaimed Property Act in 2019.
Chapter 712 of the 2019 Acts of Assembly recodified Title 55
of the Code of Virginia as Title 55.1. The legislation
renumbered the title and renamed many of the chapters within
the title. In addition, there were semantic changes within the
recodification that will now be reflected in the regulations. In
addition, the Application for Administrative Review form will
be simplified to a request for administrative review in writing.

Contact Information: Vernita Boone, Treasury Board
Secretary, Department of the Treasury, James Monroe

Building, 101 North 14th Street, 3rd Floor, Richmond, VA
23219, telephone (804) 371-6011.

* *

TITLE 8. EDUCATION
STATE BOARD OF EDUCATION

Report of Findings

Pursuant to 8§88 2.2-4007.1 and 2.2-4017 of the Code of
Virginia, the State Board of Education conducted a periodic
review and a small business impact review of 8VAC20-160,
Regulations Governing the Secondary School Transcript,
and determined that this regulation should be amended.

The proposed regulatory action to amend 8VAC20-160, which
is published in this issue of the Virginia Register, serves as the
report of findings.

Contact Information: Joseph Wharff, Associate Director,
Office of Student Services, Department of Education, 101
North 14th Street, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 225-
3370, or email joseph.wharff@doe.virginia.gov.

* *

TITLE 9. ENVIRONMENT
DEPARTMENT OF ENVIRONMENTAL QUALITY

Agency Notice

Pursuant to Executive Order 14 (as amended July 16, 2018)
and 88 2.2-4007.1 and 2.2-4017 of the Code of Virginia, the
following regulation is undergoing a periodic review and a
small business impact review: 9VAC15-30, Regulations for
the Certification of Recycling Machinery and Equipment
for Local Tax Exemption Purposes. The review will be
guided by the principles in Executive Order 14 (as amended
July 16, 2018). The purpose of this review is to determine
whether this regulation should be repealed, amended, or
retained in its current form. Public comment is sought on the
review of any issue relating to this regulation, including
whether the regulation (i) is necessary for the protection of
public health, safety, and welfare or for the economical
performance of important governmental functions; (ii)
minimizes the economic impact on small businesses in a
manner consistent with the stated objectives of applicable law;
and (iii) is clearly written and easily understandable.

Public comment period begins September 13, 2021, and ends
October 4, 2021.

Comments must include the commenter's name and address
(physical or email) information in order to receive a response
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Periodic Reviews and Small Business Impact Reviews

to the comment from the agency. Following the close of the
public comment period, a report of both reviews will be posted
on the Virginia Regulatory Town Hall and published in the
Virginia Register of Regulations.

Contact Information: Melissa Porterfield, Department of
Environmental Quality, 1111 East Main Street, Suite 1400,
P.O. Box 1105, Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 698-
4238.

STATE WATER CONTROL BOARD

Report of Findings

Pursuant to 8§ 2.2-4007.1 and 2.2-4017 of the Code of
Virginia, the State Water Control Board conducted a periodic
review and a small business impact review of 9VAC25-800,
Virginia Pollutant Discharge Elimination System (VPDES)
General Permit Regulation for Discharges Resulting from
the Application of Pesticides to Surface Waters, and
determined that this regulation should be amended. The
department is publishing its report of findings dated June 1,
2021, to support this decision.

This regulation is necessary for the protection of public health,
safety, and welfare. The regulation is clearly written and easily
understandable.

The regulation is effective and continues to be needed,;
however, this general permit is scheduled to expire on
February 29, 2024. The Environmental Protection Agency has
issued a draft 2021 Pesticide General Permit (PGP) to update
the 2016 PGP that this regulation is based on. This regulation
will be amended to reissue the general permit, and the agency
will consider revisions to the permit to include changes made
to the federal 2021 PGP.

The general permit covers point source discharges of
wastewater from chemical pesticides that leave a residue in
water and all biological pesticide applications that are made in
or over surface waters. These discharges are considered to be
point sources of pollutants and thus are subject to regulation
under the VPDES permit program. The permit regulation
specifies requirements that protect water quality downstream
from the discharge and that is essential to protect the health,
safety, or welfare of citizens. If this regulation were repealed,
individual permits would be required to conduct these
activities.

No public comments were received during the periodic review.

This regulation establishes procedures for obtaining coverage
under this general permit, and portions of the regulation may
be viewed as complex due to the technical requirements
included in the regulation. This regulation is clearly written
and easily understandable. The regulation does not overlap,
duplicate, or conflict with federal or state law or regulation as
the State Water Control Board is the delegated authority to
regulate point source discharges to surface water. The State

Water Control Board last reissued this regulation in 2019. This
regulation is evaluated and necessary changes are made to the
regulation when the permit is reissued. The reissuance of the
general VPDES permit accomplishes the objectives of
applicable law, minimizes the costs to a small business owner,
and simplifies the application process. Without the general
permit, a small business owner would be required to obtain an
individual permit, which would increase the complexity of a
permit application and the costs to obtain permit coverage.

Contact Information: Melissa Porterfield, Department of
Environmental Quality, 1111 East Main Street, Suite 1400,
P.O. Box 1105, Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (803) 698-
4238.

* *

TITLE 22. SOCIAL SERVICES
STATE BOARD OF SOCIAL SERVICES

Report of Findings

Pursuant to 8§ 2.2-4007.1 and 2.2-4017 of the Code of
Virginia, the State Board of Social Services conducted a
periodic review and a small business impact review of
22VAC40-12, Public Participation Guidelines, and
determined that this regulation should be retained without
changes. The department is publishing its report of findings
dated August 18, 2021, to support this decision.

The regulation meets the criteria set out in Executive Order 14
(2018 as amended). It provides the State Board of Social
Services with an effective means of including public
participation as part of developing regulations that are
necessary to the health, safety, and welfare of citizens.

The agency recommends that the regulation be retained with
no changes. It is up-to-date and remains an effective tool for
the agency to make regulatory actions known to the public.

The agency determined this regulation continues to be
necessary as it is required by § 2.2-4007.02 of the Code of
Virginia and establishes the mechanisms by which the agency
will advise the public of the agency's regulatory actions. No
complaints or comments were received. The regulation is not
complex and does not overlap or duplicate federal and state
laws and regulations. It was last reviewed and amended in
2017. No factors have changed that would impact the
regulation, and it has no economic impact on small businesses.

Contact Information: Karin Clark, Regulatory Coordinator,
Department of Social Services, 801 East Main Street,
Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 726-7017.

* *
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Periodic Reviews and Small Business Impact Reviews

TITLE 24. TRANSPORTATION AND MOTOR
VEHICLES

COMMONWEALTH TRANSPORTATION BOARD

Agency Notice

Pursuant to Executive Order 14 (as amended July 16, 2018)
and 88 2.2-4007.1 and 2.2-4017 of the Code of Virginia, the
following regulations are undergoing a periodic review and a
small business impact review: 24VAC30-120, Rules and
Regulations Controlling Outdoor Advertising and
Directional and Other Signs and Notices; 24VAC30-451,
Airport Access Fund Policy; 24VAC30-551, Integrated
Directional Signing Program (IDSP) Participation
Criteria; and 24VAC30-630, Rules Governing Person with
Disability Traffic Signs. The review of these regulations will
be guided by the principles in Executive Order 14 (as amended
July 16, 2018). The purpose of this review is to determine
whether each regulation should be repealed, amended, or
retained in its current form. Public comment is sought on the
review of any issue relating to these regulations, including
whether each regulation (i) is necessary for the protection of
public health, safety, and welfare or for the economical
performance of important governmental functions; (ii)
minimizes the economic impact on small businesses in a
manner consistent with the stated objectives of applicable law;
and (iii) is clearly written and easily understandable.

Public comment period begins September 13, 2021, and ends
October 4, 2021.

Comments must include the commenter's name and address
(physical or email) information in order to receive a response
to the comment from the agency. Following the close of the
public comment period, a report of both reviews will be posted
on the Virginia Regulatory Town Hall and published in the
Virginia Register of Regulations.

Contact Information: JoAnne P. Maxwell, Agency Regulatory
Coordinator, Governance and Legislative Affairs Division,
Department of Transportation, 1401 East Broad Street,
Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 786-1830.
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NOTICES OF INTENDED REGULATORY ACTION

TITLE 9. ENVIRONMENT
STATE WATER CONTROL BOARD

Notice of Intended Regulatory Action

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 2.2-4007.01 of the
Code of Virginia that the State Water Control Board intends to
consider amending 9VAC25-840, Erosion and Sediment
Control Regulations. The purpose of the proposed action is to
establish a fee schedule for conducting Erosion and Sediment
Control Plan reviews for solar projects. Chapter 497 of the
2021 Acts of Assembly, Special Session |, requires the
Department of Environmental Quality (DEQ) to review the
Erosion and Sediment Control (ESC) Plans for certain solar
projects and their associated infrastructure with a rated
electrical generation capacity exceeding five megawatts. Item
377 N of Chapter 552 of the 2021 Acts of Assembly, Special
Session |, requires DEQ to convene a working group for the
purpose of developing the fee schedule for conducting the ESC
Plan reviews for solar projects.

The agency intends to hold a public hearing on the proposed
action after publication in the Virginia Register.

Statutory Authority: § 62.1-44.15:52 of the Code of Virginia.
Public Comment Deadline: October 13, 2021.

Agency Contact: Andrew Hammond, Department of
Environmental Quality, 1111 East Main Street, Suite 1400
P.O. Box 1105, Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 698-
4101, FAX (804) 698-4178, or email
andrew.hammond@deq.virginia.gov.

VAR. Doc. No. R22-6841; Filed August 16, 2021, 3:50 p.m.

Notice of Intended Regulatory Action

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 2.2-4007.01 of the
Code of Virginia that the State Water Control Board intends to
consider amending 9VAC25-870, Virginia Stormwater
Management Program (VSMP) Regulation. The purpose of
the proposed action is to amend the regulation to allow for
changes in the statewide permit fee schedule supporting the
Virginia Stormwater Management Program in accordance with
Item 337 L 2 of Chapter 552 of the 2021 Acts of Assembly,
Special Session I, which directs the board to amend or modify
the existing statewide permit fee schedule so that the fees for
the Virginia Pollutant Discharge Elimination System Permit
for Discharges of Stormwater from Construction Activities and
municipal separate storm sewer system (MS4) permits are set
atan amount representing no less than 60%, not to exceed 62%,
of the direct costs for the administration, compliance, and
enforcement of those permits.

The agency intends to hold a public hearing on the proposed
action after publication in the Virginia Register.

Statutory Authority: 88 62.1-44.15:24 and 62.1-44.15:28 of the
Code of Virginia.

Public Comment Deadline: October 13, 2021.

Agency Contact: Andrew Hammond, Department of
Environmental Quality, 1111 East Main Street, Suite 1400
P.O. Box 1105, Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 698-
4101, FAX (804) 698-4178, or email
andrew.hammond@deq.virginia.gov.

VA.R. Doc. No. R22-6840; Filed August 16, 2021, 3:49 p.m.

Notice of Intended Regulatory Action

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 2.2-4007.01 of the
Code of Virginia that the State Water Control Board intends to
consider amending 9VAC25-900, Certification of Nonpoint
Source Nutrient Credits. The purpose of the proposed action
is to amend the regulation to allow for changes in the
application fee schedule supporting the Nutrient Credit
Certification Program in accordance with Item 377 L 3 of
Chapter 552 of the 2021 Acts of Assembly, Special Session I,
which directs the board to amend or modify the existing
application fee schedule so that the fees are set at an amount
representing no less than 60% but not more than 62% of the
direct costs for the administration, compliance, and
enforcement of the Nutrient Credit Certification Program.

The agency intends to hold a public hearing on the proposed
action after publication in the Virginia Register.

Statutory Authority: § 62.1-44.19:20 of the Code of Virginia.
Public Comment Deadline: October 13, 2021.

Agency Contact: Andrew Hammond, Department of
Environmental Quality, 1111 East Main Street, Suite 1400,
P.O. Box 1105, Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 698-
4101, FAX (804) 698-4178, or email
andrew.hammond@deq.virginia.gov.

VA.R. Doc. No. R22-6839; Filed August 16, 2021, 3:48 p.m.

Volume 38, Issue 2

Virginia Register of Regulations

September 13, 2021

179


mailto:andrew.hammond@deq.virginia.gov
mailto:andrew.hammond@deq.virginia.gov
mailto:andrew.hammond@deq.virginia.gov

REGULATIONS

For information concerning the different types of regulations, see the Information Page.

Symbol Key
Roman type indicates existing text of regulations. Underscored language indicates proposed new text.
Language that has been stricken indicates proposed text for deletion. Brackets are used in final regulations to indicate changes from the
proposed regulation.

TITLE 4. CONSERVATION AND NATURAL
RESOURCES

BOARD OF WILDLIFE RESOURCES

Final Regulation

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Board of Wildlife Resources is
claiming an exemption from the Administrative Process Act
pursuant to § 2.2-4002 A 3 of the Code of Virginia when
promulgating regulations regarding the management of
wildlife.

Titles of Regulations: 4VAC15-20. Definitions
Miscellaneous: In General (adding 4VAC15-20-260).
4VAC15-90. Game: Deer (amending 4VAC15-90-10;
repealing 4VAC15-90-290).

Statutory Authority: 8§ 29.1-103, 29.1-501, and 29.1-502 of
the Code of Virginia.

Effective Date: September 1, 2021.

Agency Contact: Aaron Proctor, Regulations Coordinator,
Department of Wildlife Resources, 7870 Villa Park Drive,

Suite 400, Henrico, VA 23228, telephone (804) 367-8341, or
email aaron.proctor@dwr.virginia.gov.

and

4VAC15-90-10. Open season; generally.

Summary:

The amendments (i) address the recent detection of
Chronic Wasting Disease (CWD) in Montgomery County,
create a new disease management zone in counties around
that area, and adjust seasons accordingly and (ii) repeal
the Fairystone Quality Deer Management Area now that
CWD has been detected within 25 miles of this area
because disease management actions necessitate more
aggressive deer harvest strategies. The proposed
regulation included a prohibition on hunting contests for
coyotes and furbearer species in which participants are
offered cash, prizes, or other inducements of monetary
value; this proposed amendment was removed from the
final regulation.

[ 4AVAC15-20-260. Coyete-and-furbearerhunting contests.

29 rest 'EGE .Gg.’g.te_ ]bgl’" ies-authorized ih-5-16.2-026:1of he

A. It shall be lawful to hunt deer in the following localities, including the cities and towns therein, during the following seasons,

all dates inclusive.

Locality

Season

Accomack County

Saturday prior to the third Monday in November through
the first Saturday in January

Albemarle County

Saturday prior to the third Monday in November through
the first Saturday in January

Alleghany County

Saturday prior to the third Monday in November and for
14 consecutive days following

Amelia County

Saturday prior to the third Monday in November through
the first Saturday in January

Amherst County (west of Business U.S. 29 from the James
River to its intersection with U.S. 29 just south of the
Town of Amherst continuing north on U.S. 29 to the Tye
River, except on national forest lands)

Saturday prior to the third Monday in November and for
28 consecutive days following

Amherst County (national forest lands)

Saturday prior to the third Monday in November and for
14 consecutive days following
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Amherst County (east of Business U.S. 29, as defined
above)

Saturday prior to the third Monday in November through
the first Saturday in January

Appomattox County

Saturday prior to the third Monday in November through
the first Saturday in January

Arlington County

Saturday prior to the third Monday in November through
the first Saturday in January

Arlington County (antlerless deer only)

First Saturday in September through the Friday prior to the
first Saturday in October and the Sunday following the first
Saturday in January through the last Sunday in March

Augusta County

Saturday prior to the third Monday in November and for
14 consecutive days following

Bath County

Saturday prior to the third Monday in November and for
14 consecutive days following

Bedford County (except on national forest lands)

Saturday prior to the third Monday in November and for
28 consecutive days following

Bedford County (national forest lands)

Saturday prior to the third Monday in November and for
14 consecutive days following

Bland County

Saturday prior to the third Monday in November and for
14 consecutive days following

Botetourt County

Saturday prior to the third Monday in November and for
14 consecutive days following

Brunswick County

Saturday prior to the third Monday in November through
the first Saturday in January

Buchanan County

Saturday prior to the third Monday in November and for
14 consecutive days following

Buckingham County

Saturday prior to the third Monday in November through
the first Saturday in January

Campbell County

Saturday prior to the third Monday in November through
the first Saturday in January

Caroline County

Saturday prior to the third Monday in November through
the first Saturday in January

Carroll County

Saturday prior to the third Monday in November and for
14 consecutive days following

Charles City County

Saturday prior to the third Monday in November through
the first Saturday in January

Charlotte County

Saturday prior to the third Monday in November through
the first Saturday in January

Chesapeake (City of)

October 1 through November 30

Chesterfield County

Saturday prior to the third Monday in November through
the first Saturday in January

Clarke County

Saturday prior to the third Monday in November through
the first Saturday in January
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Clarke County (antlerless deer only)

First Saturday in September through the Friday prior to the
first Saturday in October and the Sunday following the first
Saturday in January through the last Sunday in March

Craig County

Saturday prior to the third Monday in November and for
14 consecutive days following

Culpeper County (except Chester F. Phelps Wildlife
Management Area)

Saturday prior to the third Monday in November through
the first Saturday in January

Culpeper County (Chester F. Phelps Wildlife Management
Area)

Saturday prior to the third Monday in November and for
14 consecutive days following

Culpeper County (private lands and antlerless deer only)

First Saturday in September through the Friday prior to the
first Saturday in October

Culpeper County (disease focus zones defined by the
department, antlerless deer only)

First Saturday in September through the Friday prior to the
first Saturday in October and the Sunday following the first
Saturday in January through the last Sunday in March

Cumberland County

Saturday prior to the third Monday in November through
the first Saturday in January

Dickenson County

Saturday prior to the third Monday in November and for
14 consecutive days following

Dinwiddie County

Saturday prior to the third Monday in November through
the first Saturday in January

Essex County

Saturday prior to the third Monday in November through
the first Saturday in January

Fairfax County

Saturday prior to the third Monday in November through
the first Saturday in January

Fairfax County (antlerless deer only)

First Saturday in September through the Friday prior to the
first Saturday in October and the Sunday following the first
Saturday in January through the last Sunday in March

Fauquier County (except Chester F. Phelps Wildlife
Management Area)

Saturday prior to the third Monday in November through
the first Saturday in January

Fauquier County (Chester F. Phelps Wildlife Management
Area)

Saturday prior to the third Monday in November and for
14 consecutive days following

Fauquier County (private lands and antlerless deer only)

First Saturday in September through the Friday prior to the
first Saturday in October

Fauquier County (disease focus zones defined by the
department, antlerless deer only)

First Saturday in September through the Friday prior to the
first Saturday in October and the Sunday following the first
Saturday in January through the last Sunday in March

Floyd County

Saturday prior to the third Monday in November and for
28 consecutive days following

Floyd County (disease focus zones defined by the
department, antlerless deer only)

First Saturday in September through the Friday prior to the
first Saturday in October and the Sunday following the first
Saturday in January through the last Sunday in March

Fluvanna County

Saturday prior to the third Monday in November through
the first Saturday in January
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Franklin County

Saturday prior to the third Monday in November and for
28 consecutive days following

Frederick County (non-national forest lands)

Saturday prior to the third Monday in November through
the first Saturday in January

Frederick County (national forest lands)

Saturday prior to the third Monday in November and for
14 consecutive days following

Frederick County (non-national-forest lands antlerless deer
only)

First Saturday in September through the Friday prior to the
first Saturday in October and the Sunday following the first
Saturday in January through the last Sunday in March

Giles County

Saturday prior to the third Monday in November and for
14 consecutive days following

Gloucester County

Saturday prior to the third Monday in November through
the first Saturday in January

Goochland County

Saturday prior to the third Monday in November through
the first Saturday in January

Grayson County

Saturday prior to the third Monday in November and for
14 consecutive days following

Greene County

Saturday prior to the third Monday in November through
the first Saturday in January

Greensville County

Saturday prior to the third Monday in November through
the first Saturday in January

Halifax County

Saturday prior to the third Monday in November through
the first Saturday in January

Hanover County

Saturday prior to the third Monday in November through
the first Saturday in January

Henrico County

Saturday prior to the third Monday in November through
the first Saturday in January

Henry County

Saturday prior to the third Monday in November and for
28 consecutive days following

Highland County

Saturday prior to the third Monday in November and for
14 consecutive days following

Isle of Wight County

Saturday prior to the third Monday in November through
the first Saturday in January

James City County

Saturday prior to the third Monday in November through
the first Saturday in January

King and Queen County

Saturday prior to the third Monday in November through
the first Saturday in January

King George County

Saturday prior to the third Monday in November through
the first Saturday in January

King William County

Saturday prior to the third Monday in November through
the first Saturday in January

Lancaster County

Saturday prior to the third Monday in November through
the first Saturday in January
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Lee County

Saturday prior to the third Monday in November and for
14 consecutive days following

Loudoun County

Saturday prior to the third Monday in November through
the first Saturday in January

Loudoun County (antlerless deer only)

First Saturday in September through the Friday prior to the
first Saturday in October and the Sunday following the first
Saturday in January through the last Sunday in March

Louisa County

Saturday prior to the third Monday in November through
the first Saturday in January

Lunenburg County

Saturday prior to the third Monday in November through
the first Saturday in January

Madison County

Saturday prior to the third Monday in November through
the first Saturday in January

Madison County (private lands and antlerless deer only)

First Saturday in September through the Friday prior to the
first Saturday in October

Madison County (disease focus zones defined by the
department, antlerless deer only)

First Saturday in September through the Friday prior to the
first Saturday in October and the Sunday following the first
Saturday in January through the last Sunday in March

Mathews County

Saturday prior to the third Monday in November through
the first Saturday in January

Mecklenburg County

Saturday prior to the third Monday in November through
the first Saturday in January

Middlesex County

Saturday prior to the third Monday in November through
the first Saturday in January

Montgomery County (non-national forest lands)

Saturday prior to the third Monday in November and for
14 28 consecutive days following

Montgomery County (national forest lands)

Saturday prior to the third Monday in November and for
14 consecutive days following

Montgomery County (disease focus zones defined by the

department, antlerless deer only)

First Saturday in September through the Friday prior to the
first Saturday in October and the Sunday following the first
Saturday in January through the last Sunday in March

Nelson County
(west of Route 151, except on national forest lands)

Saturday prior to the third Monday in November and for
28 consecutive days following

Nelson County (national forest lands)

Saturday prior to the third Monday in November and for
14 consecutive days following

Nelson County
(east of Route 151)

Saturday prior to the third Monday in November through
the first Saturday in January

New Kent County

Saturday prior to the third Monday in November through
the first Saturday in January

Northampton County

Saturday prior to the third Monday in November through
the first Saturday in January

Northumberland County

Saturday prior to the third Monday in November through
the first Saturday in January
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Nottoway County

Saturday prior to the third Monday in November through
the first Saturday in January

Orange County

Saturday prior to the third Monday in November through
the first Saturday in January

Orange County (private lands and antlerless deer only)

First Saturday in September through the Friday prior to the
first Saturday in October

Orange County (disease focus zones defined by the
department, antlerless deer only)

First Saturday in September through the Friday prior to the
first Saturday in October and the Sunday following the first
Saturday in January through the last Sunday in March

Page County

Saturday prior to the third Monday in November and for
14 consecutive days following

Page County (disease focus zones defined by the
department, antlerless deer only)

First Saturday in September through the Friday prior to the
first Saturday in October and the Sunday following the first
Saturday in January through the last Sunday in March

Patrick County

Saturday prior to the third Monday in November and for
28 consecutive days following

Pittsylvania County

Saturday prior to the third Monday in November through
the first Saturday in January

Powhatan County

Saturday prior to the third Monday in November through
the first Saturday in January

Prince Edward County

Saturday prior to the third Monday in November through
the first Saturday in January

Prince George County

Saturday prior to the third Monday in November through
the first Saturday in January

Prince William County

Saturday prior to the third Monday in November through
the first Saturday in January

Prince William County (antlerless deer only)

First Saturday in September through the Friday prior to the
first Saturday in October and the Sunday following the first
Saturday in January through the last Sunday in March

Pulaski County (except on New River Unit of the Radford
Army Ammunition Plant adjacent to the Town of Dublin
and national forest lands)

Saturday prior to the third Monday in November and for
14 28 consecutive days following

Pulaski County (New River Unit of the Radford Army
Ammunition Plant adjacent to the Town of Dublin)

Saturday prior to the second Monday in November through
the first Saturday in January

Pulaski County (national forest lands)

Saturday prior to the third Monday in November and for
14 consecutive days following

Pulaski County (disease focus zones defined by the
department, antlerless deer only)

First Saturday in September through the Friday prior to the
first Saturday in October and the Sunday following the first
Saturday in January through the last Sunday in March

Rappahannock County

Saturday prior to the third Monday in November through
the first Saturday in January

Rappahannock County (private lands and antlerless deer
only)

First Saturday in September through the Friday prior to the
first Saturday in October
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Rappahannock County (disease focus zones defined by the
department, antlerless deer only)

First Saturday in September through the Friday prior to the
first Saturday in October and the Sunday following the first
Saturday in January through the last Sunday in March

Richmond County

Saturday prior to the third Monday in November through
the first Saturday in January

Roanoke County

Saturday prior to the third Monday in November and for
14 consecutive days following

Rockbridge County

Saturday prior to the third Monday in November and for
14 consecutive days following

Rockingham County

Saturday prior to the third Monday in November and for
14 consecutive days following

Russell County

Saturday prior to the third Monday in November and for
14 consecutive days following

Scott County

Saturday prior to the third Monday in November and for
14 consecutive days following

Shenandoah County

Saturday prior to the third Monday in November and for
14 consecutive days following

Shenandoah County (non-national forest lands antlerless
deer only)

First Saturday in September through the Friday prior to the
first Saturday in October and the Sunday following the first
Saturday in January through the last Sunday in March

Smyth County

Saturday prior to the third Monday in November and for
14 consecutive days following

Southampton County

Saturday prior to the third Monday in November through
the first Saturday in January

Spotsylvania County

Saturday prior to the third Monday in November through
the first Saturday in January

Stafford County

Saturday prior to the third Monday in November through
the first Saturday in January

Suffolk (City of)
(east of Dismal Swamp Line)

October 1 through November 30

Suffolk (City of)
(west of Dismal Swamp Line)

Saturday prior to the third Monday in November through
the first Saturday in January

Surry County

Saturday prior to the third Monday in November through
the first Saturday in January

Sussex County

Saturday prior to the third Monday in November through
the first Saturday in January

Tazewell County

Saturday prior to the third Monday in November and for
14 consecutive days following

Virginia Beach (City of)

October 1 through November 30

Warren County

Saturday prior to the third Monday in November and for
14 consecutive days following

Warren (non-national forest lands antlerless deer only)

First Saturday in September through the Friday prior to the
first Saturday in October and the Sunday following the first
Saturday in January through the last Sunday in March
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Washington County

Saturday prior to the third Monday in November and for
14 consecutive days following

Westmoreland County

Saturday prior to the third Monday in November through
the first Saturday in January

Saturday prior to the third Monday in November and for

Wise County 14 consecutive days following

Wythe Count Saturday prior to the third Monday in November and for
y 14 consecutive days following

York County Saturday prior to the third Monday in November through

the first Saturday in January

B. Except as provided in subsection A of this section, east of
the Blue Ridge Mountains deer may be hunted from the
Saturday prior to the third Monday in November through the
first Saturday in January, both dates inclusive, within the
incorporated limits of any city or town that allows deer
hunting.

C. Except as provided in subsection A of this section, west of
the Blue Ridge Mountains deer may be hunted from the
Saturday prior to the third Monday in November and for 14
consecutive days following within the incorporated limits of
any city or town that allows deer hunting.

4VAC15-90-290. Special-guality-deer-managementareas:
(Repealed.)

VAR. Doc. No. R21-6836; Filed August 23, 2021, 10:37 a.m.
MARINE RESOURCES COMMISSION

Final Regulation

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Marine Resources Commission
is claiming an exemption from the Administrative Process Act
in accordance with § 2.2-4006 A 11 of the Code of Virginia;
however, the commission is required to publish the full text of
final regulations.

Title of Regulation: 4VAC20-620. Pertaining to Summer
Flounder (amending 4VAC20-620-40).

Statutory Authority: § 28.2-201 of the Code of Virginia.
Effective Date: September 1, 2021.

Agency Contact: Jennifer Farmer, Regulatory Coordinator,
Marine Resources Commission, 380 Fenwick Road, Fort

Monroe, VA 23551, telephone (757) 247-2248, or email
jennifer.farmer@mrc.virginia.gov.

Summary:
The amendments prohibit transfer of summer flounder

between vessels at sea in accordance with interstate and
federal regulations.

4VAC20-620-40. Commercial
landing limitations.

vessel possession and

A. It shall be unlawful for any person harvesting summer
flounder outside of Virginia's waters to do any of the
following, except as described in subsections B, C, D, E, F, and
G of this section:

1. Possess aboard any vessel in Virginia waters any amount
of summer flounder in excess of 10% by weight of Atlantic
croaker or the combined landings, on board a vessel, of black
sea bass, scup, squid, scallops, and Atlantic mackerel.

2. Possess aboard any vessel in Virginia waters any amount
of summer flounder in excess of 1,500 pounds landed in
combination with Atlantic croaker.

3. Fail to sell the vessel's entire harvest of all species at the
point of landing.

B. Nothing in this chapter shall preclude a vessel from
possessing any North Carolina or New Jersey vessel
possession limit of summer flounder in Virginia; however, no
vessel that possesses the North Carolina or New Jersey vessel
possession limit of summer flounder shall offload any amount
of that possession limit, except as described in subsection L of
this section.

C. From February 25 through April 7, it shall be unlawful for
any person harvesting summer flounder outside of Virginia
waters to do any of the following:

1. Possess aboard any vessel in Virginia waters any amount
of summer flounder in excess of the combined total of the
Virginia landing limit described in subdivision 2 of this
subsection and the amount of the legal North Carolina or
New Jersey landing limit or trip limit.
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2. Land in Virginia more than a total of 15,000 pounds of
summer flounder.

3. Land in Virginia any amount of summer flounder more
than once in any consecutive five-day period.

D. From June 15 through August 15, it shall be unlawful for
any person harvesting summer flounder outside of Virginia
waters to do any of the following:

1. Possess aboard any vessel in Virginia waters any amount
of summer flounder in excess of the combined total of the
Virginia landing limit described in subdivision 2 of this
subsection and the amount of the legal North Carolina or
New Jersey landing limit or trip limit.

2. Land in Virginia more than a total of 12,500 pounds of
summer flounder.

3. Land in Virginia any amount of summer flounder more
than once in any consecutive five-day period.

E. From September 8 through October 31, it shall be unlawful
for any person harvesting summer flounder outside of Virginia
waters to do any of the following:

1. Possess aboard any vessel in Virginia waters any amount
of summer flounder in excess of the combined total of the
Virginia landing limit described in subdivision 2 of this
subsection and the amount of the legal North Carolina or
New Jersey landing limit or trip limit.

2. Land in Virginia more than a total of 12,0006 15,000
pounds of summer flounder.

3. Land in Virginia any amount of summer flounder more
than once in any consecutive five-day period.

F. From November 1 through December 31, it shall be
unlawful for any person harvesting summer flounder outside
of Virginia waters to do any of the following:

1. Possess aboard any vessel in Virginia waters any amount
of summer flounder in excess of the total of the Virginia
landing limit described in subdivision 2 of this subsection
and the amount of the legal North Carolina or New Jersey
landing limit or trip limit.

2. Land in Virginia more than a total of 12,000 pounds of
summer flounder.

3. Land in Virginia any amount of summer flounder more
than once in any consecutive five-day period.

G. From January 1 through December 31, any boat or vessel
issued a valid federal summer flounder moratorium permit and
owned and operated by a legal Virginia Commercial Hook-
and-Line Licensee that possesses a Restricted Summer
Flounder Endorsement shall be restricted to a possession and
landing limit of 200 pounds of summer flounder, except as
described in 4VAC20-620-30 F.

H. Upon request by a marine police officer, the seafood buyer
or processor shall offload and accurately determine the total
weight of all summer flounder aboard any vessel landing
summer flounder in Virginia.

I. Any possession limit described in this section shall be
determined by the weight in pounds of summer flounder as
customarily packed, boxed, and weighed by the seafood buyer
or processor. The weight of any summer flounder in pounds
found in excess of any possession limit described in this
section shall be prima facie evidence of violation of this
chapter. Persons in possession of summer flounder aboard any
vessel in excess of the possession limit shall be in violation of
this chapter unless that vessel has requested and been granted
safe harbor. Any buyer or processor offloading or accepting
any quantity of summer flounder from any vessel in excess of
the possession limit shall be in violation of this chapter, except
as described by subsection K of this section. A buyer or
processor may accept or buy summer flounder from a vessel
that has secured safe harbor, provided that vessel has satisfied
the requirements described in subsection K of this section.

J. If a person violates the possession limits described in this
section, the entire amount of summer flounder in that person's
possession shall be confiscated. Any confiscated summer
flounder shall be considered as a removal from the appropriate
commercial harvest or landings quota. Upon confiscation, the
marine police officer shall inventory the confiscated summer
flounder and, at a minimum, secure two bids for purchase of
the confiscated summer flounder from approved and licensed
seafood buyers. The confiscated fish will be sold to the highest
bidder, and all funds derived from such sale shall be deposited
for the Commonwealth pending court resolution of the charge
of violating the possession limits established by this chapter.
All of the collected funds will be returned to the accused upon
a finding of innocence or forfeited to the Commonwealth upon
a finding of guilty.

K. It shall be unlawful for a licensed seafood buyer or
federally permitted seafood buyer to fail to contact the Marine
Resources Commission Operation Station prior to a vessel
offloading summer flounder harvested outside of Virginia. The
buyer shall provide to the Marine Resources Commission the
name of the vessel, its captain, an estimate of the amount in
pounds of summer flounder on board that vessel, and the
anticipated or approximate offloading time. Once offloading of
any vessel is complete and the weight of the landed summer
flounder has been determined, the buyer shall contact the
Marine Resources Commission Operations Station and report
the vessel name and corresponding weight of summer flounder
landed. It shall be unlawful for any person to offload from a
boat or vessel for commercial purposes any summer flounder
during the period of 9 p.m. to 7 a.m.

L. Any boat or vessel that has entered Virginia waters for safe
harbor shall only offload summer flounder when the state that
licenses that vessel requests to transfer quota to Virginia, in the
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amount that corresponds to that vessel's possession limit, and
the commissioner agrees to accept that transfer of quota.

M. After any commercial harvest or landing quota as
described in 4VAC20-620-30 has been attained and announced
as such, any boat or vessel possessing summer flounder on
board may enter Virginia waters for safe harbor but shall
contact the Marine Resources Commission Operation Center
in advance of such entry into Virginia waters.

N. It shall be unlawful for any person harvesting summer
flounder outside of Virginia waters to possess aboard any
vessel, in Virginia, any amount of summer flounder, once it has
been projected and announced that 100% of the quota
described in 4VAC20-620-30 A has been taken.

O. It shall be unlawful to transfer or offload summer flounder
from one vessel to another vessel at sea.

VAR. Doc. No. R22-6934; Filed August 25, 2021, 10:11 a.m.

Final Regulation

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Marine Resources Commission
is claiming an exemption from the Administrative Process Act
in accordance with § 2.2-4006 A 11 of the Code of Virginia;
however, the commission is required to publish the full text of
final regulations.

Title of Regulation: 4VAC20-720. Pertaining to Restrictions
on Oyster Harvest (amending 4VAC20-720-20, 4VAC20-
720-40 through 4VAC20-720-85).

Statutory Authority: § 28.2-201 of the Code of Virginia.
Effective Date: October 1, 2021.

Agency Contact: Jennifer Farmer, Regulatory Coordinator,
Marine Resources Commission, 380 Fenwick Road, Fort
Monroe, VA 23551, telephone (757) 247-2248, or email
jennifer.farmer@mrc.virginia.gov.

Summary:
The amendments establish the 2021-2022 areas of public

oyster harvest, public oyster harvest seasons, and oyster
resource conservation measures.

4VAC20-720-20. Definitions.

The following words and terms when used in this chapter
shall have the following meanings unless the context clearly
indicates otherwise:

"Aid to navigation" means any public or private day beacon,
lighted channel marker, channel buoy, lighted channel buoy, or
lighthouse that may be at, or adjacent to, any latitude and
longitude used in area descriptions.

"Clean culled oyster" means any oyster taken from natural
public beds, rocks, or shoals that is three inches or greater in
shell length.

"Coan River Area" means the Public Grounds within the
Coan River consisting of Public Grounds 77 and 78 of
Northumberland County described as:

Public Ground 77 of Northumberland County is located near
the mouth of the Coan River, beginning at a point
approximately 2,300 feet northeast of Honest Point and
1,300 feet southwest of Travis Point, said point being Corner
1, located at Latitude 37° 59.5257207' N., Longitude 76°
27.8810639' W.; thence southwesterly to Corner 2, Latitude
37°59.3710259' N., Longitude 76° 27.9962148' W.; thence
southwesterly to Corner 3, Latitude 37° 59.2953830' N.,
Longitude 76° 28.0468953" W.; thence northwesterly to
Corner 4, Latitude 37° 59.3350863' N., Longitude 76°
28.0968837' W.; thence northeasterly to Corner 5, Latitude
37° 59.3965161' N., Longitude 76° 28.0287342"' W.; thence
northwesterly to Corner 6, Latitude 37° 59.4758507' N.,
Longitude 76° 28.1112280" W.; thence north-northwesterly
to Corner 7, Latitude 37° 59.5079401' N., Longitude 76°
28.1230058" W.; thence northeasterly to Corner 8, Latitude
37°59.5579153" N., Longitude 76° 27.9889429' W.; thence
southeasterly to Corner 1, said corner being the point of
beginning.

Public Ground 78 of Northumberland County is located near
the mouth of the Coan River, beginning at a point
approximately 3,420 feet southeast of Travis Point and 3,260
feet northwest of Great Point, said point being Corner 1,
located at Latitude 37° 59.4822275' N., Longitude 76°
27.1878637' W.; thence southeasterly to Corner 2, Latitude
37°59.3824046' N., Longitude 76° 27.1088650' W.; thence
southwesterly to Corner 3, Latitude 37° 59.2283287' N.,
Longitude 76° 27.8632901"' W.; thence northeasterly to
Corner 4, Latitude 37° 59.4368502' N., Longitude 76°
27.6868001" W.; thence continuing northeasterly to Corner
5, Latitude 37° 59.5949216' N., Longitude 76° 27.5399436'
W.; thence southeasterly to Corner 1, said corner being the
point of beginning.

"Corrotoman Hand Tong Area" means all public grounds, in
that area of the Corrotoman River between a line beginning at
Ball Point, Latitude 37° 40.65133000' N., Longitude 76°
28.4440000' W.; thence easterly to a point at the western side
of the mouth of Taylor Creek, at Latitude 37° 40.97331000' N.,
Longitude 76° 27.59471000' W.; upstream to a line from Bar
Point, Latitude 37° 41.65256000' N., Longitude 76°
28.66195000" W.; thence easterly to Black Stump Point,
Latitude 37° 41.7360900" N., Longitude 76° 28.1212200" W.

"Deep Rock Area" means all public grounds and unassigned
grounds, in that area of the Chesapeake Bay near Gwynn
Island, beginning at Cherry Point at the western-most point of
the eastern headland of Kibble Pond located at Latitude 37°
30.9802148"' N., Longitude 76° 17.6764393" W.; thence
northeasterly to the Piankatank River, Flashing Green Channel
Light "3", Latitude 37° 32.3671325' N., Longitude 76°
16.7038334' W.; thence east-southeasterly to the
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Rappahannock River Entrance Lighted Buoy G"1R", Latitude
37° 32.2712833' N., Longitude 76° 11.4813666' W.; thence
southwesterly to the southern-most point of Sandy Point, the
northern headland of "The Hole in the Wall", Latitude 37°
28.1475258' N., Longitude 76° 15.8185670' W.; thence
northwesterly along the Chesapeake Bay mean low water line
of the barrier islands of Milford Haven, connecting headland
to headland at their eastern-most points, and of Gwynn Island
to the western-most point of the eastern headland of Kibble
Pond on Cherry Point, said point being the point of beginning.

"Deep Water Shoal State Replenishment Seed Area" or
"DWS" means that area in the James River near Mulberry
Island, beginning at a point approximately 530 feet west of
Deep Water Shoal Light, said point being Corner 1, located at
Latitude 37° 08.9433287' N., Longitude 76° 38.3213007' W.;
thence southeasterly to Corner 2, Latitude 37° 09.5734380' N.,
Longitude 76° 37.8300582' W.; thence southwesterly to
Corner 3, Latitude 37° 08.9265524' N., Longitude 76°
37.0574269" W.; thence westerly to Corner 4, Latitude 37°
08.4466039 N., Longitude 76° 37.4523346' W.; thence
northwesterly to Corner 5, Latitude 37° 08.4491489' N.,
Longitude 76° 38.0215553"' W.; thence northeasterly to Corner
1, said corner being the point of beginning.

"Great Wicomico River Rotation Area 1" means all public
grounds and unassigned grounds, in that area of the Great
Wicomico River, Ingram Bay, and the Chesapeake Bay,
beginning at a point on Sandy Point, Latitude 37° 49.3269652'
N., Longitude 76° 18.3821766" W.; thence easterly to the
southern-most point of Cockrell Point, Latitude 37°
49.2664838' N., Longitude 76° 17.3454434' W.; thence
easterly following the mean low water line of Cockrell Point to
a point on the boundary of Public Ground 115 at Cash Point,
Latitude 37° 49.2695619' N., Longitude 76° 17.2804046' W.;
thence southeasterly to the gazebo on the pier head at Fleeton
Point, Latitude 37° 48.7855824' N., Longitude 76°
16.9609311' W.; thence southeasterly to the Great Wicomico
River Light; Latitude 37° 48.2078167' N., Longitude 76°
15.9799333' W.; thence westerly to a point on the offshore end
of the southern jetty at the entrance to Towles Creek, Latitude
37° 48.3743771' N., Longitude 76° 17.9600320" W.; thence
northerly crossing the entrance to Towles Creek at the offshore
ends of the jetties and continuing along the mean low water
line to Bussel Point, Latitude 37° 48.6879208' N., Longitude
76° 18.4670860" W.; thence northwesterly to the northern
headland of Cranes Creek, Latitude 37° 48.8329168' N.,
Longitude 76° 18.7308073' W.; thence following the mean low
water line northerly to a point on Sandy Point, Latitude 37°
49.3269652' N., Longitude 76° 18.3821766' W., said point
being the point of beginning.

"Great Wicomico River Rotation Area 2" means all public
grounds and unassigned grounds, in that area of the Great
Wicomico River, Ingram Bay, and the Chesapeake Bay,
beginning at a point on Great Wicomico River Light, Latitude
37° 48.2078167' N., Longitude 76° 15.9799333' W.; thence

due south to a point due east of the southern-most point of
Dameron Marsh, Latitude 37° 46.6610003' N., Longitude 76°
16.0570007" W.; thence due west to the southern-most point of
Dameron Marsh, Latitude 37° 46.6609070' N., Longitude 76°
17.2670707" W.; thence along the mean low water line of
Dameron Marsh, north and west to Garden Point, Latitude 37°
47.2519872' N., Longitude 76° 18.4028142" W.; thence
northwesterly to Windmill Point, Latitude 37° 47.5194547' N.,
Longitude 76° 18.7132194"' W.; thence northerly along the
mean low water line to the western headland of Harveys Creek,
Latitude 37° 47.7923573' N., Longitude 76° 18.6881450' W.;
thence east-southeasterly to the eastern headland of Harveys
Creek, Latitude 37° 47.7826936' N., Longitude 76°
18.5469879" W.; thence northerly along the mean low water
line to a point on the offshore end of the southern jetty at the
entrance to Towles Creek, Latitude 37° 48.3743771' N.,
Longitude 76° 17.9600320' W.; thence easterly to Great
Wicomico River Light, Latitude 37° 48.2078167" N.,
Longitude 76° 15.9799333' W., said point being the point of
beginning.

"Hand scrape” means any device or instrument with a
catching bar having an inside measurement of no more than 22
inches, which is used or usable for the purpose of extracting or
removing shellfish from a water bottom or the bed of a body of
water.

"Hand tong" or "ordinary tong" means any pincers, nippers,
tongs, or similar device used in catching oysters, which
consists of two shafts or handles attached to opposable and
complementary pincers, baskets, or containers operated
entirely by hand, from the surface of the water and has no
external or internal power source.

"James River Area 1" means all public grounds and
unassigned grounds, in that area of the James River, beginning
at the Flashing Green Channel Light #5, located at Latitude 37°
02.3528833"' N., Longitude 76° 32.7785333' W.; thence
southeasterly to the Flashing Green Channel Light #3, located
at Latitude 37° 01.7124500' N., Longitude 76° 31.8210667'
W.; thence southeasterly to the Flashing Green Channel Light
#1, located at Latitude 37° 00.7666667' N., Longitude 76°
29.9083333" W.; thence southeasterly to the northeast corner
of the western draw span pier of the James River Bridge (U.S.
Route 17), Latitude 37° 00.1524824' N., Longitude 76°
28.1581984" W.; thence southwesterly along the upstream side
of the James River Bridge to the mean low water line; thence
northwesterly along the mean low water line, crossing Kings
Creek at the headlands and continuing along the mean low
water line to a point on the shore at Rainbow Farm Point in line
with VMRC Markers "STH" and "SMT," located at Latitude
37° 00.1965862' N., Longitude 76° 34.0712010" W.; thence
north-northeasterly to a VMRC Marker "STH," Latitude 37°
00.9815328' N., Longitude 76° 33.5955842' W.; thence to a
VMRC Marker "SMT," at Latitude 37° 01.3228160' N.,
Longitude 76° 33.3887351" W.; thence to the Flashing Green
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Channel Light #5, at Latitude 37° 02.3528833' N., Longitude
76° 32.7785333' W., said point being the point of beginning.

"James River Area 2" means all public grounds and
unassigned grounds, in that area of the James River, beginning
at the Flashing Green Channel Light #5, located at Latitude 37°
02.3528833' N., Longitude 76° 32.7785333" W.; thence
northeasterly to a VMRC Marker "NMT," Latitude 37°
02.7740540' N., Longitude 76° 32.0960864' W.; thence to a
VMRC Marker "NTH" located at Latitude 37° 03.2030055' N.,
Longitude 76° 31.4231211' W.; thence to a point on the north
shore of the river at Blunt (Blount) Point, said point being in
line with VMRC Markers "NMT" and "NTH" and located at
Latitude 37° 03.3805862' N., Longitude 76° 31.1444562' W ;
thence southeasterly along the mean low water line to the
upstream side of the James River Bridge (U.S. Route 17);
thence westerly along the James River Bridge to the northeast
corner of the western draw span pier, Latitude 37° 00.1524824'
N., Longitude 76° 28.1581984' W.; thence northwesterly to the
Flashing Green Channel Light #1, located at Latitude 37°
00.7666667' N., Longitude 76° 29.9083333" W.; thence
northwesterly to the Flashing Green Channel Light #3, located
at Latitude 37° 01.7124500' N., Longitude 76° 31.8210667'
W.; thence northwesterly to the Flashing Green Channel Light
#5, located at Latitude 37° 02.3528833' N., Longitude 76°
32.7785333' W., said point being the point of beginning.

"James River Area 3" means those public grounds of Isle of
Wight County and Nansemond County (City of Suffolk)
located in the James River and Nansemond River west of the
Monitor Merrimac Memorial Bridge Tunnel (Route 1-664),
northeast of the Mills E. Godwin, Jr. Bridge (U.S. Route 17)
on the Nansemond River, and south of the James River Bridge
(U.S. Route 17).

"James River Seed Area" means all public grounds and
unassigned grounds in that area of the James River and its
tributaries with a southeastern boundary beginning at a point
on the shore on the south side of the river at Rainbow Farm
Point in Isle of Wight County located at Latitude 37°
00.1965862' N., Longitude 76° 34.0712010" W.; thence north-
northeasterly to a VMRC Marker "STH," Latitude 37°
00.9815328 N., Longitude 76° 33.5955842' W.; thence to a
VMRC Marker "SMT," at Latitude 37° 01.3228160' N.,
Longitude 76° 33.3887351"' W.; thence to the Flashing Green
Channel Light #5, at Latitude 37° 02.3528833' N., Longitude
76° 32.7785333' W.; thence northeasterly to a VMRC Marker
"NMT," Latitude 37° 02.7740540' N., Longitude 76°
32.0960864' W.; thence to a VMRC Marker "NTH" located at
Latitude 37° 03.2030055' N., Longitude 76° 31.4231211' W.;
thence to a point on the north shore of the river at Blunt
(Blount) Point, in the City of Newport News, located at
Latitude 37° 03.3805862' N., Longitude 76° 31.1444562' W.;
the northern boundary, being a straight line, beginning at a
point on the shore on the east side of the river in the City of
Newport News, at Latitude 37° 08.4458787' N., Longitude 76°
37.2855533' W.; thence westerly to the southeast corner of the

Deep Water Shoal State Replenishment Seed Area, Latitude
37° 08.4466039' N., Longitude 76° 37.4523346' W.; thence
westerly to the southwest corner of the Deep Water Shoal State
Replenishment Seed Area, Latitude 37° 08.4490472' N.,
Longitude 76° 38.0215554" W.; thence westerly to a point on
the shore on the west side of the river at the mouth of Lawnes
Creek in Isle of Wight County, Latitude 37° 08.4582990"' N.,
Longitude 76° 40.2816023' W.

"Latitude and longitude™ means values that are based upon a
geodetic reference system of the North American Datum of
1983 (NADB83). When latitude and longitude are used in any
area description, in conjunction with any physical landmark, to
include aids to navigation, the latitude and longitude value is
the legal point defining the boundary.

"Little Wicomico River" means that area of the Little
Wicomico River inside of Public Ground 43 of
Northumberland County, located in the Little Wicomico River
near Bridge Creek, beginning at a point approximately 150 feet
north of Peachtree Point, said point being Corner 1, located at
Latitude 37° 53.2910650' N., Longitude 76° 16.7312926' W.;
thence southwesterly to Corner 2, Latitude 37° 53.2601877' N.,
Longitude 76° 16.8662408' W.; thence northwesterly to Corner
3, Latitude 37° 53.2678470' N., Longitude 76° 16.8902408'
W.; thence northeasterly to Corner 4, Latitude 37° 53.3113148'
N., Longitude 76° 16.8211543" W.; thence southeasterly to
Corner 1, said corner being the point of beginning.

"Milford Haven" means that area of Milford Haven inside of
Public Ground 7 of Mathews County, beginning at a point
approximately 1,380 feet east of Point Breeze, said point being
Corner 1, located at Latitude 37° 28.3500000' N., Longitude
76° 16.5000000' W.; thence northeasterly to Corner 2, Latitude
37° 28.3700000" N., Longitude 76° 16.4700000"' W.; thence
southeasterly to Corner 3, Latitude 37° 28.3500000" N.,
Longitude 76° 16.4200000" W.; thence southwesterly to
Corner 4, Latitude 37° 28.3200000' N., Longitude 76°
16.4500000' W.; thence northwesterly to Corner 1, said corner
being the point of beginning.

"Mobjack Bay Area" means that area of Mobjack Bay
consisting of Public Ground 2 of Mathews County (Pultz Bar)
and Public Ground 25 of Gloucester County (Tow Stake)
described as:

Public Ground 2 of Mathews County, known as Pultz Bar, is
located in Mobjack Bay, beginning at a point approximately
5,420 feet south of Minter Point, said point being Corner 1,
located at Latitude 37° 21.2500000' N., Longitude 76°
21.3700000" W.; thence easterly to Corner 2, Latitude 37°
21.2700000" N., Longitude 76° 20.9600000" W.; thence
southerly to Corner 3, Latitude 37° 21.0200000" N.,
Longitude 76° 20.9400000' W.; thence westerly to Corner 4,
Latitude 37° 21.0500000' N., Longitude 76° 21.3300000'
W.; thence northerly to Corner 1, said corner being the point
of beginning.
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Public Ground 25 of Gloucester County, known as Tow
Stake, is located in Mobjack Bay, near the mouth of the
Severn River, beginning at a point approximately 2,880 feet
east-northeast of Tow Stake Point, said point being Corner
1, located at Latitude 37° 20.3883888' N., Longitude 76°
23.5883836' W.; thence northeasterly to Corner 2, Latitude
37° 30.5910482' N., Longitude 76° 23.2372184" W.; thence
southeasterly to Corner 3, Latitude 37° 20.3786971' N.,
Longitude 76° 22.7241180' W.; thence southwesterly to
Corner 4, Latitude 37° 19.8616759' N., Longitude 76°
23.5914937' W.; thence northwesterly to Corner 5, Latitude
37°20.0284019' N., Longitude 76° 23.7717423' W.; thence
northeasterly to Corner 1, said corner being the point of
beginning.

"Nomini Creek Area" means that area of Nomini Creek inside
of Public Grounds 26 and 28 of Westmoreland County.

Public Ground 26 of Westmoreland County is located in
Nomini Creek, north of Beales Wharf and east of Barnes
Point, beginning at a point approximately 1,400 feet north of
Barnes Point, said point being Corner 1, located at Latitude
38° 07.2690219' N., Longitude 76° 42.6784210" W.; thence
southeasterly to Corner 2, Latitude 38° 07.0924060" N.,
Longitude 76° 42.4745767' W.; thence southwesterly to
Corner 3, Latitude 38° 06.8394053' N., Longitude 76°
42.6704025"' W.; thence northwesterly to Corner 4, Latitude
38° 06.8743004' N., Longitude 76° 42.7552151' W.; thence
northeasterly to Corner 5, Latitude 38° 07.0569717' N.,
Longitude 76° 42.5603535' W.; thence northwesterly to
Corner 1, said corner being the point of beginning.

Public Ground 28 of Westmoreland County is located at the
mouth of Nomini Creek, beginning at a point approximately
50 feet west of White Oak Point, said point being Corner 1,
located at Latitude 38° 07.6429987' N., Longitude 76°
43.0337082" W.; thence south-southeasterly to Corner 2,
Latitude 38° 07.2987193' N., Longitude 76° 43.1101420'
W.; thence northwesterly to Corner 3, Latitude 38°
07.7029267' N., Longitude 76° 43.3337762' W.; thence west
to the mean low water line, Latitude 38° 07.7031535' N.,
Longitude 76° 43.3378345' W.; thence northerly and
westerly along the mean low water line of Nomini Creek to
a point southwest of Cedar Island, Latitude 38° 07.8986449'
N., Longitude 76° 43.6329097' W.; thence northeasterly to a
point on the mean low water line at the southern-most point
of Cedar Island, Latitude 38° 07.8986449' N., Longitude 76°
43.6329097' W.; thence following the mean low water line
of the southern and eastern sides of Cedar Island to a point,
Latitude 38° 08.0164430"' N., Longitude 76° 43.4773169'
W.; thence northeasterly to Corner 4, Latitude 38°
08.0712849"' N., Longitude 76° 43.4416606' W.; thence
northeasterly to a point on the northern headland of Nomini
Creek at the mean low water line, said point being Corner 5,
Latitude 38° 08.2729626' N., Longitude 76° 43.3105315'
W.; thence following the mean low water line of White Point
to a point northwest of Snake Island, Corner 6, Latitude 38°

08.4066960" N., Longitude 76° 42.9105565' W.; thence
southeast, crossing the mouth of Buckner Creek, to a point
on the mean low water line of Snake Island, Corner 7,
Latitude 38° 08.3698254' N., Longitude 76° 42.8939656'
W.; thence southeasterly following the mean low water line
of Snake Island to Corner 8, Latitude 38° 08.2333798' N.,
Longitude 76° 42.7778877' W.; thence south-southwesterly,
crossing the mouth of Buckner Creek, to Corner 9, Latitude
38°08.2134371' N., Longitude 76° 42.7886409' W.; thence
southeasterly to a point on the mean low water line of the
southern headland of Buckner Creek, Corner 10, Latitude
38°08.1956281' N., Longitude 76° 42.7679625' W.; thence
southwesterly following the mean low water line of Nomini
Creek, crossing the mouth of an unnamed cove at the
narrowest point between the headlands and continuing to
follow the mean low water line to a point on White Oak
Point, Latitude 38° 07.6428228' N., Longitude 76°
43.0233530' W.; thence west to Corner 1, said point being
the point of beginning.

"Oyster" means any shellfish of the species Crassostrea
virginica.
"Qyster dredge™ means any device having a maximum weight

of 150 pounds with attachments, maximum width of 50 inches,
and maximum tooth length of four inches.

"Qyster patent tong" means any patent tong not exceeding
100 pounds in gross weight, including any attachment other
than rope and with the teeth not to exceed four inches in length.

"Qyster resource user fee" means a fee that must be paid each
calendar year by anyone who grows, harvests, shucks, packs,
or ships oysters for commercial purposes.

"Pocomoke Sound Area" means that area of Pocomoke Sound
inside of Public Ground 9 and Public Ground 10 of Accomack
County.

Public Ground 9 of Accomack County is located in the
Pocomoke Sound, beginning at a corner on the Maryland-
Virginia state line, located in the Pocomoke Sound
approximately 1.06 nautical miles north-northeast of the
northern-most point of North End Point, said point being
Corner 1, located at Latitude 37° 57.2711566' N., Longitude
75° 42.2870790" W. (NADB83); thence east-northeasterly
along the Maryland-Virginia state line to Corner 2, Latitude
37° 57.2896577' N., Longitude 75° 41.9790727' W.; thence
southerly to Corner 3, Latitude 37° 57.2574850" N.,
Longitude 75° 41.9790730" W.; thence southwesterly to
Corner 4, Latitude 37° 57.2288700' N., Longitude 75°
42.0077287' W.; thence west-southwesterly to Corner 5,
Latitude 37° 57.2034533' N., Longitude 75° 42.1511250'
W.; thence south-southwesterly to Corner 6, Latitude 37°
57.0940590" N., Longitude 75° 42.1935214' W.; thence
south-southeasterly to Corner 7, Latitude 37° 57.0551726'
N., Longitude 75° 42.1814457' W.; thence southwesterly to
Corner 8, Latitude 37° 56.9408327' N., Longitude 75°
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42.2957912" W.; thence south-southwesterly to Corner 9,
Latitude 37° 56.6574947' N., Longitude 75° 42.3790819'
W.; thence southwesterly to Corner 10, Latitude 37°
56.5790952' N., Longitude 75° 42.5228752' W.; thence
west-southwesterly to Corner 11, Latitude 37° 56.5712564"'
N., Longitude 75° 425915437 W.; thence south-
southeasterly to Corner 12, Latitude 37° 56.5441067' N.,
Longitude 75° 42.5869894' W.; thence southwesterly to
Corner 13, Latitude 37° 56.4575045' N., Longitude 75°
42.7458050' W.; thence west-southwesterly to Corner 14,
Latitude 37° 56.2575123' N., Longitude 75° 43.3791097'
W.; thence southwesterly to Corner 15, Latitude 37°
55.7408688' N., Longitude 75° 43.7957804' W.; thence
westerly to Corner 16, Latitude 37° 55.7575327' N.,
Longitude 75° 43.9458298' W.; thence northwesterly to
Corner 17, Latitude 37° 55.8908661' N., Longitude 75°
44.1291309" W.; thence north-northeasterly to Corner 18,
Latitude 37° 55.9908639' N., Longitude 75° 44.0791266'
W.; thence northeasterly to Corner 19, Latitude 37°
56.1241858' N., Longitude 75° 43.8791328' W.; thence
north-northeasterly to Corner 20, Latitude 37° 56.4075136'
N., Longitude 75° 43.7291361" W.; thence northeasterly to
Corner 21, Latitude 37° 56.8241664' N., Longitude 75°
43.2624601" W.; thence north-northeasterly to Corner 22,
Latitude 37° 57.0706006' N., Longitude 75° 43.1480402'
W.; thence east-northeasterly along the Maryland-Virginia
state line to Corner 1, said corner being the point of
beginning.

Public Ground 10 of Accomack County is located in the
Pocomoke Sound, beginning at a corner on the Maryland-
Virginia state line, located in the Pocomoke Sound
approximately 2.3 nautical miles westerly of the northern-
most point of North End Point, said point being Corner 1,
located at Latitude 37° 56.4741881' N., Longitude 75°
45.7051676' W. (NAD83); thence east-northeasterly along
the Maryland-Virginia state line to Corner 2, Latitude 37°
56.9261140"' N., Longitude 75° 43.7679786' W.; thence
south-southwesterly to Corner 3, Latitude 37° 56.1241948'
N., Longitude 75° 44.3624962' W.; thence west-
southwesterly to Corner 4, Latitude 37° 56.0820561' N.,
Longitude 75° 44.5826292"' W.; thence northerly to Corner
5, Latitude 37° 56.1377309' N., Longitude 75° 44.5817745'
W.; thence west-southwesterly to Corner 6, Latitude 37°
56.1259751' N., Longitude 75° 44.6226859' W.; thence
southwesterly to Corner 7, Latitude 37° 56.1039335' N.,
Longitude 75° 44.6692334" W.; thence southerly to Corner
8, Latitude 37° 56.0643616"' N., Longitude 75° 44.6750106'
W.; thence west-southwesterly to Corner 9, Latitude 37°
55.9742005' N., Longitude 75° 45.1458109" W.; thence
west-northwesterly to Corner 10, Latitude 37° 56.0741973'
N., Longitude 75° 45.8958329' W.; thence north-
northwesterly to Corner 11, Latitude 37° 56.2565760" N.,
Longitude 75° 46.0000557' W.; thence northeasterly along
the Maryland-Virginia state line to Corner 1, said corner
being the point of beginning.

"Pocomoke and Tangier Sounds Management Area" or
"PTSMA" means the area as defined in § 28.2-524 of the Code
of Virginia.

"Pocomoke and Tangier Sounds Rotation Area 1" means all
public grounds and unassigned grounds, within an area of the
PTSMA, in Pocomoke and Tangier Sounds, bounded by a line
beginning at a point on the Maryland-Virginia state line,
located at Latitude 37° 54.6136000' N., Longitude 75°
53.9739600" W.; thence south to the house on Great Fox Island,
Latitude 37° 53.6946500' N., Longitude 75° 53.8898800" W.;
thence westerly to a point, Latitude 37° 53.3633500' N.,
Longitude 75° 56.5589600" W.; thence south to a point,
Latitude 37° 48.4429100' N., Longitude 75° 56.4883600' W.;
thence easterly to the north end of Watts Island, Latitude 37°
48.7757800" N., Longitude 75° 53.5994100" W.; thence
northerly to the house on Great Fox Island, Latitude 37°
53.6946500' N., Longitude 75° 53.8898800" W.; thence
southeasterly to Pocomoke Sound Shoal Flashing Light Red
"8", Latitude 37° 52.4583300' N., Longitude 75° 49.4000000'
W.; thence southeasterly to Messongo Creek Entrance Buoy
Green Can "1", Latitude 37° 52.1000000' N., Longitude 75°
47.8083300" W.; thence southeast to Guilford Flats Junction
Light Flashing 2+1 Red "GF", Latitude 37° 50.9533300" N.,
Longitude 75° 46.6416700" W.; thence southerly to a point on
a line from Guilford Flats Junction Light to the northern-most
point of Russell Island, where said line intersects the PTSMA
boundary, Latitude 37° 48.4715943' N., Longitude 75°
46.9955932" W.; thence clockwise following the PTSMA
boundary to a point on the Maryland-Virginia state line, said
point being the point of beginning.

"Pocomoke and Tangier Sounds Rotation Area 2" means all
public grounds and unassigned grounds, within an area of the
PTSMA, in Pocomoke and Tangier Sounds, bounded by a line
beginning at the house on Great Fox Island, located at Latitude
37° 53.6946500' N., Longitude 75° 53.8898800' W.; thence
southerly to the north end of Watts Island, Latitude 37°
48.7757800" N., Longitude 75° 53.5994100" W.; thence
westerly to a point, Latitude 37° 48.4429100' N., Longitude
75° 56.4883600" W.; thence northerly to a point, Latitude 37°
53.3633500" N., Longitude 75° 56.5589600" W.; thence
easterly to the house on Great Fox Island, said house being the
point of beginning. Also, Pocomoke and Tangier Sounds
Rotation Area 2 shall include all public grounds and
unassigned grounds in the PTSMA in Pocomoke Sound
bounded by a line beginning at a point on the Maryland-
Virginia state line, Latitude 37° 54.6136000' N., Longitude 75°
53.9739600" W.; thence following the PTSMA boundary
clockwise to a point on the line from the northern-most point
of Russell Island to Guilford Flats Junction Light Flashing 2+1
Red "GF", where said line intersects the PTSMA boundary,
Latitude 37° 48.4715943' N., Longitude 75° 46.9955932' W.;
thence northerly to Guilford Flats Junction Light Flashing 2+1
Red "GF", Latitude 37° 50.9533300' N., Longitude 75°
46.6416700" W.; thence northwesterly to Messongo Creek
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Entrance Buoy Green Can "1", Latitude 37° 52.1000000' N.,
Longitude 75° 47.8083300" W.; thence northwesterly to
Pocomoke Sound Shoal Flashing Light Red "8", Latitude 37°
52.4583300" N., Longitude 75° 49.4000000' W.; thence
northwesterly to the house on Great Fox Island, Latitude 37°
53.6946500" N., Longitude 75° 53.8898800" W.; thence
northerly to a point on the Maryland-Virginia state line, said
point being the point of beginning.

"Public oyster ground” means all those grounds defined in
§ 28.2-551 of the Code of Virginia or by any other acts of the
General Assembly pertaining to those grounds, all those
grounds set aside by court order, and all those grounds set aside
by order of the Marine Resources Commission, and may be
redefined by any of these legal authorities.

"Rappahannock River Area 7" means all public grounds, in
that area of the Rappahannock River, bounded downstream by
a line from Rogue Point, located at Latitude 37° 40.0400000'
N., Longitude 76° 32.2530000" W.; thence west-northwesterly
to Flashing Red Buoy "8", Latitude 37° 40.1580000' N.,
Longitude 76° 32.9390000" W.; thence southwesterly to Balls
Point, Latitude 37° 39.3550000' N., Longitude 76°
34.4440000" W.; and bounded upstream by a line from
Punchbowl Point, Latitude 37° 44.6750000' N., Longitude 76°
37.3250000" W.; thence southeasterly to Monaskon Point,
Latitude 37° 44.0630000' N., Longitude 76° 34.1080000' W.

"Rappahannock River Area 8" means all public grounds, in
that area of the Rappahannock River, bounded downstream by
a line from Monaskon Point, located at Latitude 37°
44.0630000" N., Longitude 76° 34.1080000" W.; thence
northwesterly to Punchbowl Point, Latitude 37° 44.6750000'
N., Longitude 76° 37.3250000" W.; and bounded upstream by
a line from Jones Point, Latitude 37° 46.7860000" N.,
Longitude 76° 40.8350000' W.; thence north-northwesterly to
Sharps Point, Latitude 37° 49.3640000" N., Longitude 76°
42.0870000' W.

"Rappahannock River Area 9" means all public grounds, in
that area of the Rappahannock River, bounded downstream by
a line from Sharps Point, located at Latitude 37° 49.3640000'
N., Longitude 76° 42.0870000' W.; thence south-southeasterly
to Jones Point, Latitude 37° 46.7860000' N., Longitude 76°
40.8350000" W.; and bounded upstream by the Thomas J.
Downing Bridge (U.S. Route 360).

"Rappahannock River Rotation Area 1" means all public
grounds, in that area of the Rappahannock River and
Chesapeake Bay, bounded by a line offshore and across the
mouth of the Rappahannock River from a point on the mean
low water line of Windmill Point, located at Latitude 37°
36.8200000" N., Longitude 76° 16.9460000° W.; thence
southeast to Windmill Point Light, Latitude 37° 35.7930000'
N., Longitude 76° 14.1800000' W.; thence southwesterly to
Stingray Point Light, Latitude 37° 33.6730000' N., Longitude
76° 16.3620000" W.; thence westerly to a point on the mean
low water line of Stingray Point, Latitude 37° 33.6920000' N.,

Longitude 76° 17.9860000" W.; and bounded upstream by a
line from the mean low water line west of Broad Creek,
Latitude 37° 33.9520000' N., Longitude 76° 19.3090000' W.;
thence northeasterly to a VMRC Buoy on the Baylor line,
Latitude 37° 34.5310000' N., Longitude 76° 19.1430000' W.;
thence northeasterly to a VMRC Buoy, Latitude 37°
34.6830000" N., Longitude 76° 19.1000000" W.; thence
northwesterly to a VMRC Buoy, Latitude 37° 35.0170000' N.,
Longitude 76° 19.4500000' W.; thence northwesterly to
Sturgeon Bar Light "7R", Latitude 37° 35.1500000" N.,
Longitude 76° 19.7330000" W.; thence continuing
northwesterly to Mosquito Point Light "8R", Latitude 37°
36.1000000" N., Longitude 76° 21.3000000° W.; thence
northwesterly to the southern-most corner of the house on
Mosquito Point, Latitude 37° 36.5230000' N., Longitude 76°
21.5950000" W.

"Rappahannock River Rotation Area 2" means all public
grounds, in that area of the Rappahannock River, bounded
downstream by a line from the southern-most corner of the
house on Mosquito Point, located at Latitude 37° 36.5230000'
N., Longitude 76° 21.5950000" W.; thence southeast to
Mosquito Point Light "8R", Latitude 37° 36.1000000' N.,
Longitude 76° 21.3000000" W.; thence continuing
southeasterly to Sturgeon Bar Beacon "7R", Latitude 37°
35.1500000" N., Longitude 76° 19.7330000' W.; thence west-
southwesterly to a VMRC Buoy, Latitude 37° 34.9330000' N.,
Longitude 76° 21.0500000' W.; thence southwesterly to a
VMRC Buoy, Latitude 37° 34.8830000' N., Longitude 76°
21.1000000" W.; thence southwesterly to a pier west of
Hunting Creek at Grinels, Latitude 37° 34.4360000" N.,
Longitude 76° 26.2880000' W.; and bounded on the upstream
by a line from Mill Creek Channel Marker "4", Latitude 37°
35.0830000" N., Longitude 76° 26.9500000" W.; thence
northeasterly to Mill Creek Channel Marker "2", Latitude 37°
35.4830000" N., Longitude 76° 24.5670000" W.; thence
northeasterly to the southern-most corner of the house on
Mosquito Point, Latitude 37° 36.5230000' N., Longitude 76°
21.5950000'0 W.

"Rappahannock River Rotation Area 3" means all public
grounds, in that area of the Rappahannock River, beginning
from the north channel fender at the Robert O. Norris, Jr.
Bridge, located at Latitude 37° 37.4830000' N., Longitude 76°
25.3450000" W.; thence southeast to the southern-most corner
of the house on Mosquito Point, Latitude 37° 36.5230000' N.,
Longitude 76° 21.5950000' W.; thence southwest to Mill Creek
Channel Marker "2", Latitude 37° 35.4830000' N., Longitude
76° 24.5670000' W.; thence southwesterly to Mill Creek
Channel Marker "4", Latitude 37° 35.0830000' N., Longitude
76° 24.9500000' W.; thence northeasterly to Parrotts Creek
Channel Marker "1", Latitude 37° 36.0330000' N., Longitude
76° 25.4170000" W.; thence northerly to VMRC Buoy,
Latitude 37° 36.3330000' N., Longitude 76° 25.2000000" W.;
thence northerly to the north channel fender of the Robert O.
Norris, Jr. Bridge, said point being the point of beginning.
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"Rappahannock River Rotation Area 4" means all public
grounds, in that area of the Rappahannock River, Corrotoman
River and Carter Creek, beginning at the White Stone end of
the Robert O. Norris, Jr. Bridge (State Route 3), located at
Latitude 37° 38.1290000' N., Longitude 76° 24.7220000' W.;
thence along said bridge to the north channel fender, Latitude
37° 37.4830000' N., Longitude 76° 25.3450000"' W.; thence
westerly to the VMRC Buoy "5-4", Latitude 37° 38.0050000'
N., Longitude 76° 30.0280000" W.; thence northerly to Old
House Point, Latitude 37° 39.1390000' N., Longitude 76°
29.6850000" W.; thence northeasterly to Ball Point, Latitude
37° 41.6600000' N., Longitude 76° 28.6320000" W.; thence
southeasterly to VMRC reef marker "Ferry Bar — North",
Latitude 37° 40.3000000' N., Longitude 76° 28.5000000' W.;
thence southwesterly to VMRC reef marker "Ferry Bar —
South”, Latitude 37° 40.1670000" N., Longitude 76°
28.5830000" W.; thence southeasterly to a duck blind west of
Corrotoman Point, Latitude 37° 39.8760000' N., Longitude 76°
28.4200000" W.; thence southerly to VMRC Buoy "543",
Latitude 37° 39.2670000' N., Longitude 76° 27.8500000' W.;
thence southerly to VMRC Buoy "Drumming-West", Latitude
37° 38.8830000' N., Longitude 76° 27.6830000" W.; thence
southerly to VMRC Buoy "Drumming-East", Latitude 37°
38.8330000" N., Longitude 76° 27.5670000" W.; thence
northeasterly to Orchard Point, Latitude 37° 38.9240000' N.,
Longitude 76° 27.1260000" W.

"Rappahannock River Rotation Area 5" means all public
grounds, in that area of the Rappahannock River, beginning at
the Greys Point end of the Robert O. Norris, Jr. Bridge (State
Route 3), located at Latitude 37° 36.8330000" N., Longitude
76° 25.9990000" W.; thence northeasterly along the bridge to
the north channel fender, Latitude 37° 37.4830000' N.,
Longitude 76° 25.3450000' W.; thence west-northwesterly to
VMRC Buoy "5-4", Latitude 37° 38.0050000' N., Longitude
76° 30.0280000' W.; thence westerly to Buoy "R6", Latitude
37° 38.0330000"' N., Longitude 76° 30.2830000" W.; thence
south to the eastern headland of Whiting Creek, Latitude 37°
36.6580000' N., Longitude 76° 30.3120000' W.

"Rappahannock River Rotation Area 6" means all public
grounds, in that area of the Rappahannock River, beginning on
the eastern headland of Whiting Creek, located at Latitude 37°
36.6580000" N., Longitude 76° 30.3120000" W.; thence north
to Buoy "R6", Latitude 37° 38.0330000' N., Longitude 76°
30.2830000" W.; thence northwesterly to VMRC White House
Sanctuary Buoy, Latitude 37° 38.1500000' N., Longitude 76°
30.5330000' W.; thence northwesterly to VMRC Towles Point
Area Buoy, Latitude 37° 38.8330000' N., Longitude 76°
31.5360000" W.; thence northwesterly to Flashing Red Buoy
"8" off Rogue Point, Latitude 37° 40.1580000' N., Longitude
76° 32.9390000" W.; thence southwesterly to Balls Point,
Latitude 37° 39.3550000" N., Longitude 76° 34.4440000' W.

"Seed oyster" means any oyster taken by any person from
natural beds, rocks, or shoals that is more than 30 days from
harvest for human consumption.

"Unassigned ground” means all grounds not assigned
pursuant to 8§ 28.2-600 through 28.2-633 of the Code of
Virginia, established pursuant to § 28.2-551 of the Code of
Virginia, or set aside by court order, or those grounds set aside
by declarations or regulation by the Marine Resources
Commission, and may be redefined by any of these legal
authorities.

"Upper Chesapeake Bay - Blackberry Hangs Area" means all
public grounds and unassigned grounds, in that area of the
Chesapeake Bay, bounded by a line, beginning at a point
approximately 300 feet east of the mean low water line of the
Chesapeake Bay and approximately 1,230 feet southwest of the
end of the southern-most stone jetty at the mouth of the Little
Wicomico River, said point being Corner 1, Latitude 37°
53.1811193' N., Longitude 76° 14.1740146' W.; thence east-
southeasterly to Corner 2, Latitude 37° 52.9050025' N.,
Longitude 76° 11.9357257' W.; thence easterly to Corner 3,
Latitude 37° 52.9076552' N., Longitude 76° 11.6098145' W.;
thence southwesterly to Corner 4, Latitude 37° 52.8684955' N.,
Longitude 76° 11.6402444" W.; thence east-southeasterly to
Corner 5, Latitude 37° 52.7924853'" N., Longitude 76°
11.0253352" W.; thence southwesterly to Corner 6, Latitude
37° 49.4327736' N., Longitude 76° 13.2409959' W.; thence
northwesterly to Corner 7, Latitude 37° 50.0560555' N.,
Longitude 76° 15.0023234' W.; thence north-northeasterly to
Corner 8, Latitude 37° 50.5581183' N., Longitude 76°
14.8772805' W.; thence north-northeasterly to Corner 9,
Latitude 37° 52.0260950' N., Longitude 76° 14.5768550" W.;
thence northeasterly to Corner 1, said corner being the point of
beginning.

"Yeocomico River Area" means that area of the North West
Yeocomico River, inside Public Ground 8 of Westmoreland
County and those areas of the South Yeocomico River inside
Public Grounds 100, 102, 104, 107, and 112 of
Northumberland County described as:

Public Ground 8 of Westmoreland County is located in the
North West Yeocomico River, beginning at a point
approximately 1,455 feet northeast of Crow Bar and 1,850
feet northwest of White Point, said point being Corner 1,
located at Latitude 38° 02.7468214' N., Longitude 76°
33.0775726" W.; thence southeasterly to Corner 2, Latitude
38° 02.7397202' N., Longitude 76° 33.0186286' W.; thence
southerly to Corner 3, Latitude 38° 02.6021644' N.,
Longitude 76° 33.0234175' W.; thence westerly to Corner 4,
Latitude 38° 02.6006669' N., Longitude 76° 33.0824799'
W.; thence northerly to Corner 1, said corner being the point
of beginning.

Public Ground 100 of Northumberland County is located in
the South Yeocomico River, beginning at said point being
Corner 1, located at Latitude 38° 00.2292779' N., Longitude
76° 32.2244222' W.; thence southwesterly to Corner 2,
Latitude 38° 00.2183904' N., Longitude 76° 32.2488009'
W.; thence westerly to Corner 3, Latitude 38° 00.2156893'
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N., Longitude 76° 32.3156220" W.; thence northwesterly to
Corner 4, Latitude 38° 00.4024997' N., Longitude 76°
32.3338888" W.; thence continuing northeasterly to Corner
5, Latitude 38° 00.5806170" N., Longitude 76° 32.1957546'
W.; thence continuing easterly to Corner 6, Latitude 38°
00.5798424' N., Longitude 76° 31.9506788' W., thence
continuing southeasterly to Corner 7, Latitude 38°
00.5076459" N., Longitude 76° 31.9387425' W.; thence
heading along the mean low water southwesterly to Corner
1, said corner being the point of beginning.

Public Ground 102 of Northumberland County is located in
the South Yeocomico River, beginning at a point
approximately 630 feet south of Mundy Point and 1,745 feet
southwest of Tom Jones Point, said point being Corner 1,
located at Latitude 38° 01.2138059' N., Longitude 76°
32.5577201"' W.; thence east-northeasterly to Corner 2,
Latitude 38° 01.2268644' N., Longitude 76° 32.4497849'
W.; thence southwesterly to Corner 3, Latitude 38°
01.1091209" N., Longitude 76° 32.5591101" W.; thence
northerly to Corner 1, said corner being the point of
beginning.

Public Ground 104 of Northumberland County is located in
the South Yeocomico River, beginning at a point
approximately 670 feet north of Walker Point and 1,900 feet
northwest of Palmer Point, said point being Corner 1, located
at Latitude 38° 00.8841841' N., Longitude 76° 32.6106215'
W.; thence southeasterly to Corner 2, Latitude 38°
00.8609163"' N., Longitude 76° 32.5296302' W.; thence
southeasterly to Corner 3, Latitude 38° 00.6693092' N.,
Longitude 76° 32.4161866" W.; thence southwesterly to
Corner 4, Latitude 38° 00.6418466" N., Longitude 76°
32.5394849" W.; thence northwesterly to Corner 1, said
corner being the point of beginning.

Public Ground 107 of Northumberland County is located in
the South Yeocomico River, beginning at a point
approximately 1,000 feet southwest of Barn Point and 1,300
feet northwest of Tom Jones Point, said point being Corner
1, located at Longitude 38° 01.1389367' N., Latitude 76°
32.3425617" W.; thence east-southeasterly to Corner 2,
Latitude 38° 01.4106421' N., Longitude 76° 32.1077962'
W.; thence southwesterly to Corner 3, Latitude 38°
01.2717197' N., Longitude 76° 32.2917989" W.; thence
north-northwesterly to Corner 1, said corner being the point
of beginning.

Public Ground 112 of Northumberland County is located in
the Yeocomico River, beginning at said point being Corner
1, located at Latitude 38° 01.8449428' N., Longitude 76°
32.2191877' W.; thence northeasterly to Corner 2, Latitude
38°01.8783929' N., Longitude 76° 31.9970988' W.; thence
southeasterly to Corner 3, Latitude 38° 01.7997003' N., 76°
31.9569302" W.; thence continuing southeasterly to Corner
4, Latitude 38° 01.6848729' N., Longitude 76° 31.5931801'
W.; thence southerly to Corner 5, Latitude 38° 01.5760153'

N., 76° 31.5931801" W.; thence westerly to Corner 6,
Latitude 38° 01.6860521' N., Longitude 76° 32.2820100'
W.; thence northerly to Corner 1, said corner being the point
of beginning.

"York River Hand Tong Area" means that area of the York
River consisting of a portion of Public Ground 31 of
Gloucester County (Aberdeen Rock), Public Ground 901 of
Gloucester and King and Queen Counties and that portion of
Public Ground 4 of King and Queen County that is in waters
approved by the Virginia Department of Health for the harvest
of Shellfish (Bell Rock) described as:

Public Ground 31 of Gloucester County, known as Aberdeen
Rock, is that portion of Public Ground between a line from
Upper York River Green Channel Marker 9, Latitude 37°
19.35986' N., Longitude 76° 35.99789" W.; thence
northeasterly to Gum Point, Latitude 37° 19.74276' N.,
Longitude 76° 35.49063' W.; upstream to a line from the
Flashing Yellow VIMS Data Buoy "CB," Latitude 37°
20.4670000" N., Longitude 76° 37.4830000" W.; thence
northeasterly to the inshore end of the wharf at Clay Bank.

Public Ground 901 of Gloucester and King and Queen
Counties is located in the York River at the mouth of the
Propotank River, beginning at said point being Corner 1,
located at Latitude 37° 26.0291178' N., Longitude 76°
42.4769473"' W.; thence northwesterly to Corner 2, Latitude
37° 26.1502199' N., Longitude 76° 42.5504403" W.; thence
continuing northwesterly to Corner 3, Latitude 37°
26.2593188' N., Longitude 76° 42.5639668' W.; thence
southeasterly to Corner 4, Latitude 37° 26.0537949' N.,
Longitude 76° 42.3217587" W.; thence southwesterly to
Corner 5, Latitude 37° 26.0023548' N., Longitude 76°
42.4076221"' W.; thence northwesterly to Corner 1, said
corner being the point of beginning.

Public Ground 4 of King and Queen County, known as Bell
Rock, is located in the York River, beginning at said point
being Corner 1, located at Latitude 37° 29.1377467' N.,
Longitude 76° 45.0390139"' W.; thence southerly to Corner
2, Latitude 37° 29.0456979' N., Longitude 76° 45.0642131"
W.; thence northwesterly to Corner 3, Latitude 37°
29.5582048' N., Longitude 76° 45.8484481" W.; thence
continuing northwesterly to Corner 4, Latitude 37°
29.8480848' N., Longitude 76° 46.5362330" W.; thence
northeasterly to Corner 5, Latitude 37° 30.0087805' N.,
Longitude 76° 46.3513889' W.; thence continue
southeasterly to Corner 6, Latitude 37° 29.6554103' N.,
Longitude 76° 45.5620462' W., thence continuing
southeasterly to Corner 7, Latitude 37° 29.1838193' N.,
Longitude 76° 44.8908342' W., thence continue
southeasterly to Corner 8, Latitude 37° 29.1094227' N.,
Longitude 76° 44.7985114' W., thence continue
southeasterly to Corner 9, Latitude 37° 28.9796379' N.,
Longitude 76° 44.6726329° W., thence continue
southeasterly to Corner 10, Latitude 37° 28.7771294' N.,
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Longitude 76° 44.5058580° W., thence continue
southeasterly to Corner 11, Latitude 37° 28.6286905' N

Longitude 76° 44.4140389' W., thence continue
southeasterly to Corner 12, Latitude 37° 28.4745509' N

Longitude 76° 44.3267558' W., thence continue
southeasterly to Corner 13, Latitude 37° 28.4379124' N.,
Longitude 76° 44.2964890' W., thence continue
southeasterly to Corner 14, Latitude 37° 28.3255929' N.,
Longitude 76° 44.2037875' W., thence continue
southeasterly to Corner 15, Latitude 37° 28.2389865' N.,
Longitude 76° 44.1706101' W., thence continue
southeasterly to Corner 16, Latitude 37° 28.2157560" N

Longitude 76° 44.1552324" W., thence westerly to Corner
17, Latitude 37° 28.1396622' N., Longitude 76° 44.3698473'
W., thence northerly to Corner 18, Latitude 37° 28.7398061'
N., Longitude 76° 44.7807027' W., thence continue
northerly to Corner 19, Latitude 37° 28.8838652' N.,
Longitude 76° 44.8818391' W., thence easterly to Corner 20,
Latitude 37° 28.9140411"' N., Longitude 76° 44.8163514' W.
thence northwesterly to Corner 1, said corner being the point
of beginning.

"York River Rotation Area 1" means all public grounds in the
York River, within Gloucester County, between a line from
Upper York River Flashing Red Channel Marker "8", Latitude
37° 17.8863666' N., Longitude 76° 34.6534166" W.; thence
northeasterly to Red Day Marker "2" at the mouth of Cedar
Bush Creek, Latitude 37° 18.6422166' N., Longitude 76°
33.8216000' W.; upstream to a line from the Upper York River
Green Channel Marker 9, Latitude 37° 19.35986"' N.,
Longitude 76° 35.99789" W.; thence northeasterly to Gum
Point, Latitude 37° 19.7427600" N., Longitude 76°
35.4906300' W.

"York River Rotation Area 2" means all public grounds in the
York River, within Gloucester County, from the George P.
Coleman Memorial Bridge (U.S. Route 17), upstream to a line
from Upper York River Flashing Red Channel Marker "8",
Latitude 37° 17.8863666' N., Longitude 76° 34.6534166' W.;
thence northeasterly to Red Day Marker "2" at the mouth of
Cedar Bush Creek, Latitude 37° 18.6422166' N., Longitude
76° 33.8216000' W.

4VAC20-720-40. Open oyster harvest season and areas.

A. It shall be unlawful for any person to harvest oysters from
public and unassigned grounds outside of the seasons and areas
set forth in this section.

B. It shall be unlawful to harvest clean cull oysters from the
public oyster grounds and unassigned grounds except during
the lawful seasons and from the lawful areas as described in
this subsection.

1. James River Seed Area, including the Deep Water Shoal
State Replenishment Seed Area: October 1, 2020 2021,
through April 30, 2021 2022 (hand tong only).

2. Milford Haven: December 1, 2020 2021, through
February 28, 2621 2022 (hand tong only).

3. Rappahannock River Area 9: October 1, 2020 2021,
through December 31, 2620 2021 (hand tong only).

4. Corrotoman Hand Tong Area: October 1, 2020 2021,
through December 31, 2020 2021.

5. Little Wicomico River: October 1, 2020 2021, through
December 31, 2020 2021 (hand tong only).

6. Goan-River Nomini Creek Area: October 1, 2020 2021,
through December-31,-2020 January 31, 2022 (hand tong

only).

7. Yeocomico River Area: October 1, 2020 2021, through
December 31, 2020 2021 (hand tong only).

8. York River Hand Tong Area: Becember1,-2020 October
1, 2021, through February 28, 2021 2022 (hand tong only).

9. York River Rotation Area Areas 1 and 2: October 1, 2020
2021, through November 30, 2020 2021 (hand tong only).

10. James River Areas Area 1—2—and-3: October 1, 2020
2021, through Oectober-31,-2020 November 30, 2021, and
February 1, 202% 2022, through February 28, 202% 2022
(hand tong only).

11. James River Areas 2 and 3: October 1, 2021, through
October 15, 2021, and February 1, 2022, through February
28, 2022 (hand tong only).

11 12. Pocomoke Sound Area: December 1, 2020 2021,
through January—314—2021 February 28, 2022 (hand tong
only).

13. Mobjack Bay Area: October 1, 2021, through January
31, 2022 (hand tong only).

February-28-2021-(hand-serape-onhy-

13- 14. Rappahannock River Rotation Area & 3: November
1, 2020 2021, through November 30, 2020 2021, and
January 1, 2021 2022, through January 31, 2021 2022 (hand
scrape only).

14. 15. Rappahannock River Area 7 5: December 1, 2020
2021, through December 31, 2020 2021, and February 1,
2021 2022, through February 28, 2021 2022 (hand scrape

only).
15: 16. Great Wicomico River Rotation Area 2 1. December
1, 2020 2021, through January 31, 2021 2022 (hand scrape
only).

17. James River Area 1: December 1, 2021, through January
31, 2022 (hand scrape only).

16- 18. James River Areas 4; 2; and 3: Nevember1-2020
October 18, 2021, through January 31, 2021 2022 (hand
scrape only).
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18: 19. Upper Chesapeake Bay - Blackberry Hangs Area:

February 1, 2021 2022, through February 28, 2021 2022
(hand scrape only).

19. 20. Pocomoke Sound Rotation Area 2 1: December 1,
2020 2021, through February 28, 2021 2022 (dredge only).

20- 21. Tangier Sound Rotation Area 2 1: December 1, 2020
2021, through February 28, 2021 2022 (dredge only).

2% 22. Deep Rock Area: December 1, 2020 2021, through
February 28, 2021 2022 (patent tong only).

22. 23. Upper Chesapeake Bay - Blackberry Hangs Area:
October 42020 18, 2021, through October 31, 2020 2021
(patent tong only).

23- 24. Rappahannock River Rotation Area 1: Nevember1;

through-Mareh-12,2021 October 18, 2021, through February
14, 2022 (patent tong only).

24 25. Seaside of the Eastern Shore (for clean cull oysters
only): November 1, 2020 2021, through March 31, 2021
2022 (by hand and hand tong only).

C. It shall be unlawful to harvest seed oysters from the public
oyster grounds or unassigned grounds, except during the
lawful seasons. The harvest of seed oysters from the lawful
areas is described in this subsection.

1. James River Seed Area: October 1, 2620 2021, through
May 31, 2621 2022 (hand tong only).

2. Deep Water Shoal State Replenishment Seed Area:
October 1, 2020 2021, through May 31, 2062% 2022 (hand
tong only).

4VAC20-720-60. Day and time limit.

A. It shall be unlawful to take, catch, or possess oysters on
Saturday and Sunday from the public oyster grounds or
unassigned grounds in the waters of the Commonwealth of
Virginia for commercial purposes, except that this provision
shall not apply to any person harvesting no more than one
bushel per day by hand or ordinary tong for household use only
during the season when the public oyster grounds or
unassigned grounds are legally open for harvest.

B. It shall be unlawful for any person to harvest or attempt to
harvest oysters prior to sunrise or after 2 p.m. from the areas
described in 4VAC20-720-40 B 1 through B 1% 13, B 2% 20
through B 23 24, and C. It shall be unlawful for any person to
harvest or attempt to harvest oysters prior to sunrise or after 2
12 p.m. from the areas described in 4VAC20-720-40 B 12 14
through B 20-from-December1,-2020-through-January-3%;
2021 19. # In addition, it shall be unlawful for any persen-te

harvest-orattempt-to-harvest-oysterspriorto-sunrise-orafter12
, I toseri ; : :

adelmen—n—shau—beenlawful-feeany boat with an oyster dredge

or hand scrape aboard to leave the dock until one hour before
sunrise or return to the dock after sunset.

C. On the seaside of the Eastern Shore, it shall be unlawful
for any person to harvest by hand or attempt to harvest oysters
by hand prior to sunrise or after sunset. It shall be unlawful for
any person to harvest oysters by hand tong or attempt to harvest
oysters by hand tong prior to sunrise or after 2 p.m.

4VAC20-720-70. Gear restrictions.

A. It shall be unlawful for any person to harvest oysters in the
James River Seed Area, including the Deep Water Shoal State
Replenishment Seed Area and the areas described in 4VAC20-
720-40 B 1 through B 4% 13 except by hand tong. It shall be
unlawful for any person to have a hand scrape or oyster dredge
on board a boat that is harvesting or attempting to harvest
oysters from public grounds by hand tong.

B. It shall be unlawful to harvest oysters by any gear from the
seaside of the Eastern Shore except by hand or hand tong. It
shall be unlawful to harvest oysters that are not submerged at
mean low water by any gear other than by hand.

C. It shall be unlawful to harvest oysters from the areas
described in 4VAC20-720-40 B 12 14 through B 18 19 by any
gear except hand scrape.

D. It shall be unlawful for any person to have more than one
hand scrape on board his vessel while he is harvesting oysters
or attempting to harvest oysters from public grounds. It shall
be unlawful for any person to have a hand tong on board his
vessel while he is harvesting or attempting to harvest oysters
from public grounds by hand scrape.

E. It shall be unlawful to harvest oysters from the Pocomoke
and Tangier Sounds Rotation Area 2 1, except by an oyster
dredge.

F. It shall be unlawful to harvest oysters from the areas
described in 4VAC20-720-40 B 21 22 through B 23 24 except
by patent tong.

4VVAC20-720-75. Gear license.

A. It shall be unlawful for any person to harvest shellfish with
a hand scrape from the public oyster grounds as described in
4VAC20-720-70 C unless that person has first obtained a valid
hand scrape license.

B. It shall be unlawful for any person to harvest shellfish with

an oyster dredge from the public oyster grounds #r—the

as described

in 4VAC20-720-70 E, unless that person has first obtained a
valid oyster dredge license.

C. It shall be unlawful for any person to harvest shellfish with
a patent tong from the public oyster grounds, as described in
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4VAC20-720-70 F, unless that person has first obtained a valid
oyster patent tong license.

D. It shall be unlawful for any person to harvest shellfish with
a hand tong from the public oyster grounds, as described in
4VAC20-720-70 A, unless that person has first obtained a
valid hand tong license.

E. It shall be unlawful for any person to harvest shellfish by
hand from the public oyster grounds on the seaside of the
Eastern Shore as described in 4VAC20-720-70 B, unless that
person has first obtained a valid oyster by hand license. It shall
be unlawful for any person to harvest shellfish from the public
oyster grounds on the seaside of the Eastern Shore by hand
tong, as described in 4VAC20-720-70 B, unless that person has
first obtained a valid oyster hand tong license.

4VAC?20-720-80. Quotas and harvest limits.

A. It shall be unlawful for any person who does not possess a
valid commercial fisherman's registration license and a valid
gear license required for any harvest area, as described in
4VAC20-720-75 A and B, and has not paid the current year's
oyster resource user fee to harvest or possess any oysters for
commercial purposes. Any individual who possesses a valid
hand scrape or dredge license and has paid the oyster resource
user fee as described in this subsection shall be limited to a
maximum harvest of eight bushels per day. It shall be unlawful
for any vessel to exceed a daily vessel limit of 16 bushels clean
cull oysters when the vessel is using the hand scrape or oyster
dredge.

B. It shall be unlawful for any person who does not possess a
valid commercial fisherman's registration license and a valid
gear license required for any harvest area, as described in
4VAC20-720-75, and has not paid the current year's oyster
resource user fee to harvest or possess any oysters for
commercial purposes. Any individual who possesses a valid
hand or hand tong license and has paid the oyster resource user
fee as described in this subsection shall be limited to a
maximum harvest of 14 bushels per day. It shall be unlawful
for any vessel to exceed a daily vessel limit of 28 bushels clean
cull oysters when the vessel is using hand tongs or harvesting
by hand.

C. It shall be unlawful for any person who does not possess a
valid commercial fisherman's registration license and a valid
gear license required for any harvest area as described in
4VAC20-720-75 and has not paid the current year's oyster
resource user fee to harvest or possess any oysters for
commercial purposes. Any individual who possesses a valid
patent tong license and has paid the oyster resource user fee as
described in this subsection shall be limited to a maximum
harvest of eight bushels per day. It shall be unlawful for any
vessel to exceed a daily vessel limit of 16 bushels of clean cull
oysters harvested from the areas described in 4VAC20-720-40
B when the vessel is using patent tongs.

D. In the Pocomoke and Tangier Sounds Rotation Area 2 1,

no—blue—erab-byeateh—is—alewed—It it shall be unlawful to

possess on board any vessel more than 250 hard clams.

E. It shall be unlawful to possess any blue crabs on board any
vessel with an oyster scrape or oyster dredge.

4VAC20-720-85. James River seed quota and monitoring.

A. An oyster seed harvest quota of £26;000 90,000 bushels of
seed is established for the James River Seed Area, including
the Deep Water Shoal State Replenishment Seed Area. Once it
has been projected and announced that the quota of seed has
been attained, it shall be unlawful for any person to harvest
seed oysters from these areas.

B. Of the 120,000-bushel 90,000-bushel seed quota described
in subsection A of this section no more than 30,000 bushels of
this quota may be harvested from October 1 through December
31. However, if it is projected and announced that 30,000
bushels of seed have been harvested before December 31, it
shall be unlawful for any person to harvest seed oysters from
that date forward until January 1.

C. Of the 90,000-bushel seed quota described in subsection A
of this section, no more than 60,000 bushels of this guota may
be harvested from January 1 through May 31.

D. Any person harvesting or landing oyster seed from the
James River Seed Area, including the Deep Water Shoal State
Replenishment Seed Area, shall report monthly on forms
provided by the Virginia Marine Resources Commission all
harvest of seed oysters. Reporting requirements shall consist of
that person's Commercial Fisherman Registration License
number, daily number of bushels of seed oysters harvested,
harvest rock location, planting location (any lease numbers),
and buyer name.

B- E. It shall be unlawful for any person harvesting seed
oysters from the James River Seed Area, including the Deep
Water Shoal State Replenishment Seed Area, to fail to contact
the Virginia Marine Resources Commission Interactive-Voice-
Response (IVR) System within 24 hours of harvest or landing
and provide that person's name, Commercial Fisherman
Registration License number, time, date, daily number of
bushels of seed oysters harvested, harvest rock location,
planting location (any lease numbers), and buyer name.

VAR. Doc. No. R22-6936; Filed August 25, 2021, 11:21 a.m.

Final Regulation

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Marine Resources Commission
is claiming an exemption from the Administrative Process Act
in accordance with § 2.2-4006 A 11 of the Code of Virginia;
however, the commission is required to publish the full text of
final regulations.

Title of Regulation: 4VAC20-1250. Pertaining to the
Tagging of Shellfish (amending 4VAC20-1250-20,
4V AC20-1250-30).
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Statutory Authority: § 28.2-201 of the Code of Virginia.
Effective Date: October 1, 2021.

Agency Contact: Jennifer Farmer, Regulatory Coordinator,
Marine Resources Commission, 380 Fenwick Road, Fort
Monroe, VA 23551, telephone (757) 247-2248, or email
jennifer.farmer@mrc.virginia.gov.

Summary:

The amendments clarify that shellfish must be tagged by a
certified dealer before transporting for replanting.

4\ AC20-1250-20. Definitions.

The following words and terms when used in this chapter
shall have the following meanings unless the context clearly
indicates otherwise:

"Bulk shellfish tag" means a shellfish tag that shall only be
used for shellfish harvested from a single harvest area in any
one day and accompanies a conveyance containing multiple
containers of shellfish.

"Certified dealer" means a person to whom certification is
issued by the Virginia Department of Health for the purposes
of introducing shellfish into commerce.

"Certified dealer tag” means a shellfish tag, which is
approved by the Virginia Department of Health, Division of
Shellfish Sanitation, that shall only be used for shellfish
harvested from a single harvest area, in any one day, and those
shellfish are either loose in a conveyance or in a single
container.

"Container" means any bag, box, sack, tote, or other
receptacle that contains shellfish to be held, in any type of
conveyance, for transport from the harvest area to the landing
site and from the landing site to the point of sale or other use.

"Conveyance" means any form of transport, either
mechanical, such as a boat or truck, or nonmechanical that is
used to transport shellfish from the harvest area to the landing
site or from the landing site to a certified dealer or other use.

"Direct marketing" means any shellfish or shellstock that is
landed and sold without any post-harvest processing.

"Harvest” means the act of removing any shellfish or
shellstock from a designated harvest area and placing that
shellfish or shellstock in a container or on or in a conveyance.

"Land" or "landing” means to (i) enter port with finfish,
shellfish, crustaceans, or other marine seafood on board any
boat or wvessel; (ii) begin offloading finfish, shellfish,
crustaceans, or other marine seafood; or (iii) offload finfish,
shellfish, crustaceans, or other marine seafood.

length.

"Replant" or "replanting” means to place after harvest
shellfish into waters as allowable by applicable law or permit.

"Restricted-use shellstock™ means shellstock or shellfish
harvested from approved shellfish growing areas that shall not
be sold for direct marketing or raw consumption.

"Restricted-use shellstock tag" means a Virginia Marine
Resources Commission-issued green tag that shall only be used
by a certified dealer who has a current certificate of inspection
as a shucker packer for shellstock or shellfish harvested from a
single harvest area in any one day. Use of any such tag
indicates that shellstock is intended for further processing prior
to distribution to retail or food service.

"Shellfish" or "shellstock” means all species of bivalve
molluscan shellfish.

"Single harvest area" means one of the water areas established
by the Virginia Marine Resources Commission for reporting
fisheries statistics.

"Shellfish harvester tag" means a shellfish tag that shall only
be used for shellfish harvested from a single harvest area, in
any one day, and those shellfish are either loose in a
conveyance or in a single container.

"Shucker packer" means a person who shucks and packs
shellfish under a certificate of inspection issued by the Virginia
Department of Health, Division of Shellfish Sanitation.

"Temperature control" means the use of ice or mechanical
refrigeration, which is capable of lowering the temperature of
the shellstock and maintaining it at 50°F (10°C) or less, as
approved by the Virginia Department of Health, Division of
Shellfish Sanitation.

4\VVAC20-1250-30. Shellfish identification.

A. Any person harvesting shellfish for commercial purposes
shall affix a shellfish harvester tag to each container of
shellfish, except as provided in subsection E of this section,
before leaving any single harvest area. The shellfish harvester
tag shall remain in place while the shellfish are transported
from the harvest area to the landing site and from the landing
site to a certified dealer or for any other use. Any transport of
shellfish to a certified dealer requires that the shellfish
harvester tag remain affixed to each container of shellfish until
the container is emptied or shipped and re-tagged by a certified
dealer.

B. The shellfish harvester tag, the bulk shellfish tag, and the
green restricted-use shellstock tag shall be durable, waterproof,
approved by the Virginia Marine Resources Commission or the
Virginia Department of Health prior to use, and at least 13.8
square inches in size.

C. The shellfish harvester tag shall contain all of the following
indelible and legible information, in the following order:

1. The harvester's Virginia Marine Resources Commission
identification number or Virginia Marine Resources
Commission oyster aquaculture harvester permit number or
clam aquaculture harvester permit number;
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2. The date of harvest, time that any shellfish harvest began,
and time that harvested shellfish were offloaded and placed
under temperature control;

3. An acknowledgement of whether or not those shellfish,
described in subdivision 2 of this subsection, were placed in
a Virginia Department of Health, Division of Shellfish
Sanitation-approved storage container with a layer of ice that
continuously and completely covered the oysters;

4. The most accurate identification of the harvest location or
aquaculture site, including the abbreviated name of the state
of harvest and the Virginia Marine Resources Commission's
designation of the growing area by indexing, administrative,
or geographic designation, and the minimum identification
requirement shall be to specify a single harvest area from the
listing, as described in 4VAC20-1250-50;

5. The type and quantity of harvested shellfish; and

6. The following statement, in bold capitalized letters:
"THIS TAG IS REQUIRED TO BE ATTACHED, UNTIL
THE CONTAINER IS EMPTY OR IS RE-TAGGED, AND
THEREAFTER KEPT ON FILE FOR 90 DAYS."

D. For any quantities of shellfish commercially harvested
from a single harvest area, in any one day, that are loose and
not containerized aboard any conveyance, the harvester shall
prepare a shellfish harvester tag for that quantity of shellfish,
which shall accompany that quantity of shellfish during
transport from the single harvest area to the landing site and
from the landing site to a certified dealer; or for any-ether-use
transport to any area for replanting.

E. When multiple containers of shellfish are harvested from a
single harvest area, in any one day, and placed in any
conveyance, the lot may be tagged with a bulk shellfish tag, for
that quantity of shellfish, which shall accompany that quantity
of shellfish during transport from the harvest area to the
landing site and from the landing site to a certified dealer; or
for any—other—use transport to any area for replanting. In
addition to the information required in subsection C of this
section, any bulk shellfish tag shall also include:

1. The following statement in bold capitalized letters: "ALL
SHELLFISH CONTAINERS IN THIS LOT HAVE THE
SAME HARVEST DATE AND ARE FROM A SINGLE
AREA OF HARVEST"; and

2. The number of individual containers in the lot.

F. Certified shucker packers shall use a green restricted-use
shellstock tag for the harvest of restricted-use shellstock from
a single harvest area in any one day. The restricted-use
shellstock tag shall accompany that quantity of shellfish during
transport from the harvest area to the landing site and from the
landing site to the certified shucker packer. In addition to the
information required in subsection C of this section, any
restricted-use shellstock tag shall also include:

1. The certified shucker packer name and address; the
Virginia Department of Health, Division of Shellfish and
Sanitation certification number; and the following statement
in bold capitalized letters: "FOR SHUCKING BY A
CERTIFIED DEALER OR POST HARVEST
PROCESSING ONLY"; and

2. The quantity of restricted-use shellstock in the lot.

G. Certified dealers may use their certified dealer tag in place
of a shellfish harvester tag as provided in subsection A of this
section, except as provided in subsection F of this section.

H. All commercially harvested shellfish shall be tagged by a
certified dealer prior to being sold, marketed, consumed, or
transported to any location other than to a certified dealer or
for replanting.

VAR. Doc. No. R22-6935; Filed August 25, 2021, 10:14 a.m.

* *

TITLE 8. EDUCATION
STATE BOARD OF EDUCATION

Proposed Regulation

Title of Requlation: 8VAC20-160. Regulations Governing
Secondary School Transcripts (amending 8VAC20-160-10
through 8VAC20-160-50).

Statutory Authority: 8§ 22.1-16 and 22.1-253.13:3 of the Code
of Virginia.

Public Hearing Information: No public hearing is currently
scheduled.

Public Comment Deadline: November 12, 2021.

Agency Contact: Joseph Wharff, Associate Director, Office of
Student Services, Department of Education, 101 North 14th
Street, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 225-3370, or
email joseph.wharff@doe.virginia.gov.

Basis: The State Board of Education's overall regulatory
authority may be found in § 22.1-16 of the Code of Virginia.
Authority for promulgating regulations governing standards
for accrediting public schools may be found in § 22.1-253.13:3
of the Code of Virginia.

Purpose: Secondary school transcripts are a complete record of
a student's coursework, grades, and credits and provide
concrete evidence to postsecondary institutions and the
workforce of a student's preparation in matriculating, joining
the military, or entering the workforce. It is imperative that the
Regulations Governing Secondary School Transcripts be
updated periodically to align with the needs of postsecondary
education and the workforce.

Substance: The proposed action includes the following
amendments:
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In 8VAC20-160-10. Definitions, words and terms that are
outdated are revised or deleted, and new words or terms are
added that align with secondary and postsecondary
expectations. One revision was made to this section and is
included as a result of feedback from the January 23, 2020,
State Board of Education meeting. The definition of "verified
unit of credit" or "verified credit" was changed to accurately
reflect the definition provided in the Regulations Establishing
Standards for Accrediting Public Schools in Virginia
(8VAC20-131).

In 8VAC20-160-20. Effective date, the date that the Secondary
School Transcript Regulations become effective for students
who take secondary courses for credit is changed to 2020-
2021.

In 8VAC20-160-30. Format options, certain required elements
for secondary school transcripts are revised or deleted and new
elements added to align with secondary and postsecondary
expectations.

Generally, information is added to meet postsecondary
demands, and obsolete or no longer needed information is
deleted.

Issues: The advantage to public and the Commonwealth of the
revisions to the Regulations Governing Secondary School
Transcripts is that updated information and language will align
with the needs of postsecondary institutions and business and
industry to better position students in the Commonwealth to
successfully transition to life after high school.

There are no disadvantages to this regulatory action.
Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact
Analysis:

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. In
addition to clarifications and elimination of obsolete language,
the Board of Education (Board) proposes to: 1) no longer
require that secondary school transcripts include gender, 2) add
completion of training in first aid, cardiopulmonary
resuscitation (CPR), and automated external defibrillator
(AED) to the list of required elements in the transcript, 3) no
longer require that the transcript by default include SAT and
ACT scores, 4) allow electronic signatures and dating of
signatures on the transcript, 5) no longer require that the school
profile data sheet contain the grade distribution for the school,
and 6) no longer require that Advanced-level Placement (AP)
and International Baccalaureate (IB) courses be weighted in
determining grade point averages (GPAS).

Background. According to the Department of Education
(DOE), the last full revision to the Regulations Governing the
Secondary School Transcripts was conducted in 2007. DOE
formed a stakeholder group to help update the regulation. The
stakeholder group was comprised of professionals from large
school divisions and in-state colleges and universities that
respectively regularly transmit and review high school
transcripts.

The regulation includes lists of items required to be on the
secondary school transcript and school profile data® sheet.
School divisions may include other items, but all required
items must be on the transcript and school profile data sheet.

All school divisions have free use of transcript processing
software through a state contract.

Estimated Benefits and Costs.

Gender: The current regulation requires that the gender of the
student be indicated on each transcript. Under the proposal,
gender would be removed from the list of required items. Thus,
whether or not to include gender on the transcript would be up
to the individual school divisions to decide. According to DOE,
the stakeholders stated that information on gender is gathered
in other ways and is not needed on the official transcript.

Training in first aid, CPR, and AED: Effective with the
students who entered the ninth grade in the 2018-2019 school
year, completion of training in first aid, CPR, and AED is
required for graduation with either a Standard Diploma or an
Advanced Studies Diploma.? The Board proposes to add
completion of training in these areas to be on the transcript.
This could be beneficial for graduates in that some potential
employers may find the completion of such training to be
valuable in job candidates.

SAT and ACT: Under the current regulation, SAT and ACT
scores are included on the transcript by default, but can be
removed by written request of parents, guardians, or others
having legal control. The proposal would change the default to
not including SAT and ACT scores on the transcript. Local
school divisions could optionally have a policy that would
allow the scores to be added by written request. The proposal
could be beneficial for students whose SAT or ACT scores are
less impressive than their grades and other college application
materials. A significant percentage of colleges now do not
require SATs or ACTs. Though the current regulation specifies
that the scores can be removed by written request, in practice
students and parents or guardians may not be aware of the
option or do not have time to make the written request and have
it processed due to impending application deadlines.

Electronic Signature: The current regulation states that the
transcript must include the signature, date of the signature, and
title of the school official signing. The Board proposes to add
language to allow for the signature, date, and title of school
official to be transmitted through a secure and verified
electronic method. This proposal could save the staff time
associated with physically signing and dating every transcript.

Grade Distribution: The regulation requires that a secondary
school profile data sheet, for each school reflected on the
transcript, be attached to each student transcript sent to
colleges, universities, and  prospective  employers.
Additionally, the regulation specifies the items required to be
on the school profile data sheet. The Board proposes to remove
grade distribution from the items required to be on the school
profile data sheet. Whether or not to include grade distribution
on the school profile data sheet would be up to the individual
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school divisions to decide. A school's grade distribution can be
useful information for postsecondary institutions looking at
transcripts, particularly if the school does not include class
rank (class ranking is optional). If the transcript does not have
grade distribution or class rank, it may be difficult for
postsecondary institutions to know how well the student did
compared to that student's schoolmates based only on the GPA.
Four of the nine colleges and universities in the stakeholder
group indicated a preference that grade distribution not be
removed from the items required to be on the school profile
data sheet.®

Moreover, by it being more difficult for postsecondary
institutions to know how well the student performed in high
school compared to his or her schoolmates based only on the
GPA, students at schools with relatively strict grading may not
be viewed as positively as they would if the admissions office
had grade distribution information available. Conversely,
students at schools with relatively lenient grading may be
viewed more positively than deserved compared to students at
other high schools.* It seems likely that school divisions that
grade relatively strictly would be less likely to not include the
grade distribution since it could be disadvantageous for their
students.

Weighting AP and IB courses for GPA: The current regulation
requires that AP and IB courses be weighted in determining
GPAs, but does not specify how much extra weight is to be
given to these courses. The Board proposes to no longer
require, but still allow, weighting of AP and IB courses. This
proposed amendment allows additional flexibility to school
divisions and should not diminish college and university
understanding of student performance as long as how GPA is
calculated remains explicit and which courses on the transcript
are AP or IB remains clear. However, the potential elimination
of giving extra weight to AP and IB courses at some school
divisions would likely affect class rank and may affect which
student is valedictorian at high schools in such school
divisions.

Businesses and Other Entities Affected. The proposed
amendments affect the 132 local school divisions in the
Commonwealth, and the high schools within those school
divisions. No school divisions appear to be disproportionately
affected. Postsecondary institutions and employers that review
high school transcripts would also be affected.

According to DOE, it would take school staff half a day or less
to make the changes to the transcript processing files required
by the proposal. On the other hand, the proposal to allow
electronic signatures and dating would save school staff time.

Small Businesses® Affected. The proposed amendments do not
appear to adversely affect small businesses.

Localities® Affected.” The proposed amendments affect all
Virginia localities in that all localities have students and staff
associated with public high schools. No localities appear to be
disproportionately affected. The proposal would require school
staff time half a day or less to make the changes required by

the proposal. This would likely be considered part of existing
staff's regular work responsibility and would not require
additional funds. Additionally, school staff time would be
saved by allowing electronic signatures and dating.

Projected Impact on Employment. The proposed amendments
do not appear to substantively affect total employment.

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. The proposed
amendments do not appear to substantively affect the use and
value of private property nor real estate development costs.

The proposed regulation defines “secondary school profile data" as
"information given in a summary format of a particular secondary school."

2See https://law.lis.virginia.gov/admincode/title8/agency20/chapter131/
section51/. Students with an individualized education plan or 504 Plan that
documents that they cannot successfully complete this training are granted a
waiver from this graduation requirement

3Data source: DOE

“Experienced admissions staff at in-state post-secondary schools would likely
gain a rough approximation of this information over time. Out-of-state post-
secondary schools would likely be less well informed.

SPursuant to § 2.2-4007.04 of the Code of Virginia, small business is defined
as "a business entity, including its affiliates, that (i) is independently owned
and operated and (ii) employs fewer than 500 full-time employees or has gross
annual sales of less than $6 million."

&L ocality" can refer to either local governments or the locations in the
Commonwealth where the activities relevant to the regulatory change are most
likely to occur.

8§ 2.2-4007.04 defines "particularly affected" as bearing disproportionate
material impact.

Agency's Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The agency
would like to provide clarification to the Estimated Costs and
Benefits related to item 6 (Grade Distribution) of the Economic
Impact Analysis. Clarification and additional context on the
stakeholder group's decision for removal of grade distribution
to the secondary school transcript is provided here.

Justification of removal of grade distribution from secondary
school transcript: Many on the stakeholder group, particularly
those at the secondary level felt that the grade distribution is a
potentially misleading data point. Concern was expressed
about how broadly a grade distribution might be interpreted,
meaning a lot of students on the higher end could be interpreted
as grade inflation, but it could diminish the efforts of a school
where there were a significant number of high achieving
students. The group agreed that the grade distribution could
certainly provide some context as to where a specific student
fell within a class but questioned whether those are really the
predictors of success in college. In addition, it is not evident
whether the grades in the distribution actually reflect students
in college prep coursework. Some institutes of higher
education did express that the grade distribution is helpful,
especially as it relates to understanding the context of the
senior class. Keeping the grade distribution was also supported
for schools who don't add class rank to transcripts.

It is important to note that with removal of the grade
distribution from the transcript regulations, school divisions
can still choose to add grade distribution to the secondary
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school transcript. School divisions will be advised to make
decisions that are in the best interests of their students and the
postsecondary institutions they serve.

Summary:

The proposed amendments (i) eliminate the requirement
that secondary school transcripts include gender; (ii) add
completion of training in first aid, cardiopulmonary
resuscitation, and automated external defibrillator to the
list of required elements in the transcript; (iii) eliminate
the requirement that the transcript by default include SAT
and ACT scores; (iv) allow electronic signatures and
dating of signatures on the transcript; (v) eliminate the
requirement that the school profile data sheet contain the
grade distribution for the school; and (vi) eliminate the
requirement that Advanced-level Placement and
International Baccalaureate courses be weighted in
determining grade point averages.

8VAC20-160-10. Definitions.

The following words and terms when used in this chapter
shall have the following meanings unless the context clearly
indicates otherwise:

"Advanced-level ecourses/programs courses or programs"

means those academic, career/technical, fine and performing
arts, or interdisciplinary high school courses/programs that
enable students to acquire and master advanced knowledge.

itable f ol L

encourage-students—to-take-these-courses-and-to-be-rewarded
for—the—exira—endeavor—and—academic—performance—these
courses/programsreguire:

"Advanced Placement (AP) course" means an advanced-level
course with a syllabus equivalent to-the—relevant-Advanced

Placement—sylabus—disseminated approved by the College
Board.

"Assessment component™ means any of the means by which
one obtains information on the progress of the learner and the
effectiveness of instruction; quantitative data, objective
measures, subjective impressions, tests, and observations may
all serve as instruments for deciding whether instructional
objectives have been attained.

"Certificate of Program Completion award date" means the
date when a Certificate of Program Completion is awarded. A
Certificate of Program Completion is not to-be-included-as a
diploma eptien, as provided in 8VAC20-131-50 and 8VAC20-
131-51.

"Credit summary" means the number of courses successfully
completed in each discipline as-reguired-for-graduation.

"Curricular program" means the overarching academic or
special programs available at an individual school or within a
school division. Examples include Advanced Placement,
International Baccalaureate, Dual Enrollment, Career and
Technical Education (CTE) academy or magnet programs, or

early college.
"Dual enrollment course” means a course, which may be

advanced-level, that carries both high school and college
credit.

"Early College Scholar" means a student who signs the Early
College Scholars agreement and completes the requirements of
the program, which includes a prescribed number of potentially
transferable college credits, maintaining a "B" average or
better, and earning an Advanced Studies diploma.

"Grade point average" means a measure of average scholastic
success in all high school credit-bearing courses taken by a
student during a certain term or semester, or accumulated for
several terms or semesters; obtained by dividing grade points
by number of courses taken.

"Graduation date" means the date when diploma requirements
have been met and a diploma is awarded.

"Honors course" means a an advanced-level course effered-to

opportunity to deepen their knowledge and understanding in a
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specific_content area through additional rigor and course

on_an_authentic performance assessment, as provided in

extensions beyond minimum state standards.

"Industry certification credential’” means a career and
technical education credential that is earned by successfully
completing a Board of Education-approved industry
certification examination, a state-issued professional license,
or an occupational competency examination.

"International Baccalaureate (IB) course” means an
advanced-level course with a syllabus approved by the
International Baccalaureate Organization (IBO) and meeting
the criteria offered through the IBO program.

"Secondary course” means a high school Ievel course of
study that awards hlgh school credlts

"Secondary school profile data” means information given in
a summary format of a particular secondary school—such-as

means an official list of

"Secondary school transcript"”
secondary courses taken by a student, except those purged
from a middle school record in accordance with 8VAC20-131,
Regulations Establishing Standards for Accrediting Public
Schools in Virginia, showing the final grade received for each
course, with definitions of the various grades given.

"Standard unit of credit" or "standard credit" means credit
awarded for a course in which the student successful completes
(i) 140 clock hours of instruction and the requirements of the
course or (ii) alternative requirements to the 140-clock hours
of instruction as developed by a local school division as
provided for in 8VAC20-131-110.

"Verified unit of credit" or "verified credit" means credit
awarded for a course in which a student earns a standard unit
of credit and (i) achieves a passing score on a corresponding
end-of-course SOL test; (ii) achieves a passing score on an
additional test as defined in 8VAC20-131-5 as part of the
Virginia Assessment Program; (iii) meets the criteria for the
receipt of a locally awarded verified credit conferred in
accordance with board criteria and guidelines as provided in
8VAC20-131-110 B 3 when the student has not passed a
corresponding SOL test in English, mathematics, laboratory
science, or history and social science; or (iv) meets the criteria
for the receipt of a verified credit for English (writing) by
demonstrating mastery of the content of the associated course

8VAC20-131-110 B 4.

"Weighted course" means an advanced-level course in which
credit is increased as determined by local school board policies
and defined on the school profile.

8VAC20-160-20. Effective date.

The secondary school transcript regulations shall become
effective for students who take secondary courses for credit
beginning in 2008-2009 2020-2021.

8VAC20-160-30. Format options.

Localities have options for the secondary school transcript
format. They may use the Department of Education model or
develop their own following board regulations. Localities may
alse are encouraged to use a digital data exchange format
(XML is preferred) for electronic transcript transmission
whenever possible. The accreditation status of a high school
shall not be included on the student transcript provided to
colleges, universities, or employers.

The required information is as follows:
1. Name of school division;
2. Student legal name;
3. State Testing Identifier (STI);
4. Birthdate;
6-—Home 5. Primary address;
+-Home-telephone 6. Primary phone number;
8. 7. Graduation date;

9. 8. Type of diploma—te—include from the following:
"Advanced Studies,” "Standard,” or "Other Diplomas
Authorized by the Board of Education™;

10. 9. Type of industry certification credential and date of
completion, if applicable;

11, 10. Certificate awarded, either a High School
Equivalency test (eg., GED, HiSet, TASC) or Certificate of
Program Completion and award date, if apphicable no
diploma has been awarded;

11. Completion of training in First Aid, Cardiopulmonary
Resuscitation (CPR), and Automated External Defibrillator

(AED);
12. Notation of Early College Scholar Designation;

13- Netation-of Commonwealth-Schelar Designation;

14. 13. Name;address-ematl-addressand-telephone-number
of scheolsstudent-attended-each-year each school at the time

at_which high school credits were awarded, address of
school, and telephone number;
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15: 14. Number of days absent within any given school year
in which the student is taking courses for high school credit;

16—Course 15. All high school credit bearing course work
listed by year with grades to include all repeated courses
except those purged from a middle school record in
accordance with, Requlations Establishing Standards for
Accrediting Public Schools in Virginia (8VAC20-131);

17. 16. Total credits earned by year;

18:17. A list of verified credits earned, including any credits
earned by substitution;

19 Credits 18. Standard and verified credits to date;
20- 19. Grade point average;

21-Credit 20. Overall standard credit summary for entire
school experience;

22. 21. Key to symbols and abbreviations used to denote
accelerated——courses; advanced-level courses,
Commonwealth—College—Course—Colaborative—courses;
honors—courses—and summer school courses, or credits
earned by substitution;

23 22. Notification of whether school/program ranks
students; if so, the rank in class with given number of
semesters used for computation;

24- 23. Final driver education grade;

£ anplicable. " : | i
tests—such—as—SAT—and—ACT —excluding—Standards—of

Learning{SOL)testscores,—execept-thateach 24. A local
school board shal may adopt a policy setting forth the a

procedure by which parents, guardians, or others having
legal control or charge can elect in writing to have their
child's standardized test record-excluded-from scores, such
as SAT and ACT, included in the student transcript (opt eut
in);

26- 25. Signature and title of school official or transmission
through a secure and verified electronic method;

27 26. Date of school official signature or transmission
through a secure and verified electronic method;

28- 27. School name;

29. 28. School address;

30- 29. Telephone number of school;
34 30. Fax number of school;

32. 31. The school's Department of Education College
Entrance Examination Board (CEEB) 7-digit code humber.

8VAC?20-160-40. Profile data sheet.

A secondary school profile data sheet, for each school
reflected on the transcript, if applicable, shall be attached to

each student transcript sent to colleges, universities, and
prospective employers. Schools may furnish additional
information. The accreditation status of a high school shall not
be included on the school profile data sheet. No standard
format is required. The profile data sheet must contain the
following information:

1. Name of school counseling director or school counselor;
2. Name, address, and telephone number of school;
3. Description - school/community;

4, Achievement data to include SAT andfer or ACT scores
using the most recent data available in comparison with
Virginia and the nation;

5. Description of eurrieutum curricular progress;

6. Grading scale;

_Grade distribution:
8. 7. Explanation of advanced-level-aceeleratedand-honers
courses;

9. 8. Weighted grades, explanation of weighting courses and
the computation, if applicable;

10. 9. Explanation of rank in class, if applicable:
a. List courses excluded from computation;
b. Explanation of computation of pass/fail courses;
c. Student groups included/excluded from ranking in
class;
11 10. Graduation requirements.

8VAC20-160-50. Weight of advanced-level courses.

{B) Advanced-level courses shalt may be weighted. Local
school boards shall determine which other courses/programs
are to receive weighted credits, the amount of weight such
courses shall receive, and how those weighted credits will be
used in the determination of grade point averages in the school
or school division. Local school boards shall consider
equitable access to advanced-level courses when determining
weighting.
VAR. Doc. No. R20-6103; Filed August 16, 2021, 5:16 p.m.

Final Regulation

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The State Board of Education is
claiming an exemption from Article 2 of the Administrative
Process Act in accordance with § 2.2-4006 A 4 a of the Code
of Virginia, which excludes regulations that are necessary to
conform to changes in Virginia statutory law or the
appropriation act where no agency discretion is involved. The
board will receive, consider, and respond to petitions by any
interested person at any time with respect to reconsideration or
revision.
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Title of Requlation: 8VAC20-780. Standards for Licensed
Child Day Centers (amending 8VAC20-780-10, 8VAC20-
780-20, 8VAC20-780-30, 8VAC20-780-40, 8VAC20-780-60,
8VAC20-780-70, 8VAC20-780-80, 8VAC20-780-130,
8VAC20-780-140, 8VAC20-780-160, 8VAC?20-780-180,
8VAC20-780-190, 8VAC20-780-240, 8VAC?20-780-320,
8VAC20-780-350, 8VAC20-780-400, 8VAC?20-780-420,
8VAC20-780-460, 8VAC20-780-500, 8VAC?20-780-510,
8VAC20-780-530, 8VAC20-780-550, 8VAC?20-780-560,
8VAC20-780-580; adding 8VAC20-780-245, 8VAC20-780-
355).

Statutory Authority: 88 22.1-16 and 22.1-289.046 of the Code
of Virginia.
Effective Date: October 13, 2021.

Agency Contact: Rebecca Ullrich, Director, Early Childhood
Access and Enrollment, Department of Education, 101 North
14th Street, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 371-7578,
or email rebecca.ullrich@doe.virginia.gov.

Background: Chapters 860 and 861 of the 2020 Acts of
Assembly transferred regulatory authority for licensure of
child day centers from the State Board of Social Services to the
State Board of Education as of July 1, 2021. Amendments to
the Standards for Licensed Child Day Centers previously were
part of an action by the State Board of Social Services and are
now being promulgated under the State Board of Education
given the transfer of regulatory authority.

Summary:

The amendments align requirements of licensed programs
with requirements for providers receiving federal Child
Care and Development Funds. In addition to making many
clarifying changes, the amendments (i) remove the list of
exemptions to licensure requirements from the regulation,
(if) require licensees to have written procedures for
prevention of shaken baby syndrome and for safe sleeping
practices, (iii) require licensees to document all know food
allergies and sensitivities and dietary restrictions of
children in their care and require that parents provide
instructions from a physician regarding their child's food
allergies, (iv) allow children defined by the regulation as
homeless who do not have documentation of immunization
or physical examination to attend licensed facilities for 90
days before such documentation must be produced, (v) allow
any unimmunized child to attend a licensed child day center
for 90 days (180 days in some cases) while immunizations
are brought up to date so long as the child has had one dose
of each required immunization before attendance, (vi)
require annual training, (vii) require all direct care staff to
complete first aid and cardiopulmonary resuscitation (CPR)
training and allow all hours of first aid and CPR training to
count toward annual training requirements, (viii) institute
new group size restrictions, (ix) require licensees to
formulate and implement a plan to ensure that children
receive care by consistent staff, and (x) revise emergency
preparedness plan requirements.

Additional amendments include (i) procedural
components for the continuity of operations in the
emergency preparedness plan; (ii) notifying parents if
their child comes into contact with any food to which the
child is allergic as identified in the written care plan; (iii)
reporting of attendance records for each group of children
and all injuries that result in the referral for treatment
from a medical professional; (iv)  submitting
documentation of tuberculosis screening at the time of
employment and prior to coming into contact with
children and requiring that documentation of tuberculosis
screening is completed within 30 calendar days of
employment; (v) considering certain requirements for
program directors employed prior to October 13, 2021,
who meet the current education and experience
qualifications to be met; (vi) requiring only new staff,
hired after October 13, 2021, to complete orientation; (vii)
exempting cooperative preschool parent volunteers who
count in child to staff ratios from orientation requirements
and training requirements, except for four hours of
training annually; (viii) requiring staff must complete,
within 30 days of the first day of employment, first aid and
cardiopulmonary resuscitation (CPR) orientation training
appropriate to the age of children in care; (ix) removing
the requirement for school age children of the opposite sex
to use the restroom separately; (x) requirements for
timeout; (xi) allowing the use of cloth diapers, even if
there has not been an adverse reaction to disposable
diapers, when disposal requirements are met; (xii)
requiring at least one staff in each classroom or area
where children are present to be certified in first aid and
CPR within 90 days of October 13, 2021; (xiii) requiring
at least two staff certified in first aid and CPR must always
be present at the center wherever children are in care; and
(xiv) exempting staff who is a registered nurse or licensed
practical nurse with a current license from the Board of
Nursing from the first aid certification requirement.

8VAC20-780-10. Definitions.

The following words and terms when used in this chapter
shall have the following meanings unless the context clearly
indicates otherwise:

"Adult" means any individual 18 years of age or older.

"Age and stage appropriate” means the curriculum,
environment, equipment, and adult-child interactions are
suitable for the ages of the children within a group and the
individual needs of any child.

"Age groups":
1. "Infant" means children from birth to 16 months.

2."Toddler" means children from 16 months up to two years.
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3. "Preschool™ means children from two years up to the age
of eligibility to attend public school, five years by September
30.

4. "School age" means children eligible to attend public
school, age five or older by September 30 of that same year.
Four-year-old or five-year-old children included in a group
of school age children may be considered school age during
the summer months if the children will be entering
kindergarten that year.

"Attendance"” means the actual presence of an enrolled child.

"Balanced mixed-age grouping" means a program using a
curriculum designed to meet the needs and interests of children
in the group and is planned for children who enter the program
at three through five years of age. The enrollment in the
balance mixed-age grouping comprises a relatively even
allocation of children in each of three ages (three to six years)
and is designed for children and staff to remain together with
turnover planned only for the replacement of exiting students
with children of ages that maintain the class balance.

"Body fluids" means urine, feces, saliva, blood, nasal
discharge, eye discharge, and injury or tissue discharge.

"Camp" means a child day camp that is a child day center for
school age children that operates during the summer vacation
months only. Four-year-old children who will be five by
September 30 of the same year may be included in a camp for
school age children.

"Center" means a child day center.
"Child" means any individual under 18 years of age.

"Child day center" means a child day program offered to (i)
two or more children younger than 13 years of age in a facility
that is not the residence of the provider or of any of the children
in care or (ii) 13 or more children at any location.

"Child day program™ means a regularly operating service
arrangement for children where, during the absence of a parent
or guardian, a person or organization has agreed to assume
responsibility for the supervision, protection, and well-being of
a child younger than 13 years of age for less than a 24-hour
period. Nete—This "Child day program" does not include
programs such as drop-in playgrounds or clubs for children
when there is no service arrangement with the child's parent.

"Children with special needs" means children with
developmental disabilities, mental—retardation intellectual

"Communicable disease” means a disease caused by a
microorganism (bacterium, virus, fungus, or parasite) that can
be transmitted from person to person via an infected body fluid
or respiratory spray, with or without an intermediary agent
(such as a louse or mosquito) or environmental object (such as
a table surface). Some communicable diseases are reportable
to the local health authority.

"Department™" means the Virginia Department of Education.

"Department's representative” means an employee or
designee of the Virginia Department of Education, acting as
the authorized agent of the superintendent.

"Evening care" means care provided after 7 p.m. but not
through the night.

"Good character and reputation” means knowledgeable and
objective people agree that the individual (i) maintains
business, professional, family, and community relationships
which are characterized by honesty, fairness, and truthfulness
and (ii) demonstrates a concern for the well-being of others to
the extent that the individual is considered suitable to be
entrusted with the care, guidance, and protection of children.
Relatives by blood or marriage and people who are not
knowledgeable of the individual, such as recent acquaintances,
shall not be considered objective references.

"Group of children" means the children assigned to a staff
member or team of staff members.

"Group size" means the number of children assigned to a staff
member or team of staff members occupying an individual
room or area.

"High school program completion or the equivalent™ means
an individual has earned a high school diploma erGeneral
Education—Development{(G-E-D-)—certificate, passed a high
school equivalency examination approved by the Board of
Education, or has completed a program of home instruction in
accordance with § 22.1-254.1 of the Code of Virginia
equivalent to high school completion.

"Homeless child" means a child who lacks a fixed, reqular,
and adequate nighttime residence and includes a child who is:

1. Living in a car, park, public space, abandoned building,
substandard housing, bus or train station, or similar settings;

2. Sharing the housing of other persons due to loss of
housing, economic hardship, or a similar reason; sometimes
referred to as doubled-up;

disabilities, emotional disturbance, sensory or motor
impairment, or significant chronic illness who require special
health surveillance or specialized programs, interventions,
technologies, or facilities.

"Cleaned" means treated in such a way to reduce the amount
of filth through the use of water with soap or detergent or the
use of an abrasive cleaner on inanimate surfaces.

3. Living in a motel, hotel, trailer park, or camping ground
due to lack of alternative adequate accommodations;

4. Living in_a congregate,
transitional shelter;

temporary, emergency, or

5. Awaiting or in foster care placement;

6. Abandoned in a hospital;
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7. Living in a primary nighttime residence that is a public or
private place not designed for, or ordinarily used as, a
reqular sleeping accommodation for human beings; or

8. A migratory child as defined in 20 USC § 6399 who
gualifies _as homeless because the child is living in
circumstances described in subdivisions 1 through 6 of this
definition.

"Independent contractor" means an entity that enters into an
agreement to provide specialized services or staff for a
specified period of time.

"Individual service, education or treatment plan” means a
plan identifying the child's strengths, needs, general
functioning and plan for providing services to the child. The
service plan includes specific goals and objectives for services,
accommodations, and intervention strategies. The service,
education or treatment plan clearly shows documentation and
reassessment or evaluation strategies.

"Intervention strategies” means a plan for staff action that
outlines methods, techniques, cues, programs, or tasks that
enable the child to successfully complete a specific goal.

"Licensee" means any individual, corporation, partnership,

association, public limited liability company, local
government, state agency, including any department
institution,  authority, instrumentality, board,  other

administrative agency of the Commonwealth, or eorperation
other legal or commercial entity that operates or maintains a
child day center to whom the license is issued.

"Lockdown" means a situation where children are isolated
from a security threat and access within and to the facility is
restricted.

"Minor injury" means a wound or other specific damage to
the body such asr-but-ret-tmited-to; abrasions, splinters, bites
that do not break the skin, and bruises.

"Overnight care” means care provided after 7 p.m. and
through the night.

"Parent" means the biological or adoptive parent or legal
guardian of a child enrolled in or in the process of being
admitted to a center.

"Physician” means an individual licensed to practice
medicine in any of the 50 states or the District of Columbia.

"Physician's designee" means a physician, licensed nurse
practitioner, licensed physician assistant, licensed nurse (R.N.
or L.P.N.), or health assistant acting under the supervision of a
physician.

"Primitive camp" means a camp where places of abode, water
supply system, or permanent toilet and cooking facilities are
not usually provided.

"Programmatic experience” means time spent working
directly with children in a group that is located away from the

child's home. Work time shall be computed on the basis of full-
time work experience during the period prescribed or
equivalent work time over a longer period. Experience settings
may include a child day program, family day home, child day
center, boys and girls club, field placement, elementary school,
or a faith-based organization.

"Resilient surfacing" means:

1. For indoor and outdoor use underneath and surrounding
equipment, impact absorbing surfacing materials that
comply with minimum safety standards when tested in
accordance with the procedures described in the American
Society for Testing and Materials' standard F1292-99 as
shown in Figures 2 (Compressed Loose Fill Synthetic
Materials Depth Chart) and 3 (Use Zones for Equipment) on
pages 6-7 of the National Program for Playground Safety's
"Selecting Playground Surface Materials: Selecting the Best
Surface Material for Your Playground," February 2004.

2. Hard surfaces such as asphalt, concrete, dirt, grass, or
flooring covered by carpet or gym mats do not qualify as
resilient surfacing.

"Sanitized" means treated in such a way to remove bacteria
and viruses from inanimate surfaces through using a
disinfectant solution (i.e., bleach solution or commercial
chemical disinfectant) or physical agent (e.g., heat). The
surface of the item is sprayed or dipped into the disinfectant
solution and allowed to air dry afteruse—of-the-disinfectant
solution on the surface for a minimum of two minutes or
according to the disinfectant solution instructions.

"Serious injury” means a wound or other /specific damage to
the body such as—but-net-timited-to; unconsciousness; broken
bones; dislocation; deep cut requiring stitches; poisoning;
concussion; or a foreign object lodged in eye, nose, ear, or
other body orifice.

"Shaken baby syndrome" or "abusive head trauma" means a
traumatic injury that is inflicted upon the brain of an infant or
young child. The injury can occur during violent shaking,
causing the child's head to whip back and forth, the brain to
move about, and blood vessels in the skull to stretch and tear.

"Shelter-in-place" means the facility-orbuilding-in-which-a
child—day—center—is—tocated movement of occupants of the

building to designated protected spaces within the building.

"Short-term program™ means a child day center that operates
less than 12 weeks a year.

"Special needs child day program” means a program
exclusively serving children with special needs.

"Specialty camps" means those centers that have an
educational or recreational focus on one subject such as dance,
drama, music, or sports.

"Sponsor" means an individual, partnership, association,
public agency, corporation, or other legal entity in whom the
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ultimate authority and legal responsibility is vested for the
administration and operation of a center subject to licensure.

"Staff" means administrative, activity, and service personnel
including the licensee when the licensee is an individual who
works in the center, and any persons counted in the staff-to-
children ratios or any persons working with a child without
sight and sound supervision of a staff member.

""Staff positions" are defined as follows:

1. "Aide" means the individual designated to be responsible
for helping the program leader in supervising children and
in implementing the activities and services for children.
Aides may also be referred to as assistant teachers or child
care assistants.

2. "Program leader" means the individual designated to be
responsible for the direct supervision of children and for
implementation of the activities and services for a group of
children. Program leaders may also be referred to as child
care supervisors or teachers.

3. "Program director" means the primary, onsite director or
coordinator designated to be responsible for developing and
implementing the activities and services offered to children,
including the supervision, orientation, training, and
scheduling of staff who work directly with children, whether
or not personally performing these functions.

4. "Administrator" means a manager or coordinator
designated to be in charge of the total operation and
management of one or more centers. The administrator may
be responsible for supervising the program director or, if
appropriately qualified, may concurrently serve as the
program director. The administrator may perform staff
orientation or training or program development functions if
the administrator meets the qualifications of 8VAC20-780-
190 and a written delegation of responsibility specifies the
duties of the program director.

"Standard precautions” means an approach to infection
control. According to the concept of standard precautions, all
human blood and certain human body fluids are treated as if
known to be infectious for human immunodeficiency virus
(HIV), hepatitis B virus (HBV), and other bloodborne

pathogens.
"Superintendent” means Superintendent of Public Instruction.

"Therapeutic child day program” means a specialized
program, including therapeutic recreation programs,
exclusively serving children with special needs when an
individual service, education, or treatment plan is developed
and implemented with the goal of improving the functional
abilities of the children in care.
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"Volunteer" means a person who works at the center and:
1. Is not paid;
2. Is not counted in the staff-to-children ratios; and

3. Is in sight and sound supervision of a staff member when
working with a child.

Any unpaid person not meeting this definition shall be
considered "staff" and shall meet staff requirements.

8VAC20-780-20. Legal base authority.

A. Chapter 14.1, Article 3 (§ 22.1-289.010 et seq.) and Article
4 (8§ 22.1-289.030 et seq.) of Title 22 of the Code of Virginia
describes the responsibility of the Department of Education for
the regulation of child day programs.

B. Section 22.1-16 of the Code of Virginia authorizes the
State Board of Education to promulgate regulations to carry
out its powers and duties. Pursuant to § 22.1-289.046 of the
Code of Virginia, for child day programs that operate at a
location that is currently approved by the Department of
Education for school occupancy and that houses a public
school during the school year, the public school building;
vehicles that are owned by the public school and used to
transport children attending the child day program; and meals
served to children that are prepared by the public school are
not subject to inspection or approval.

C. Nothing in this chapter shall be construed to contradict or
to negate any provisions of the Code of Virginia which may
apply to child day centers.

8VAC20-780-30. Purpose and applicability.

A. The purpose of these standards is to protect children under
the age of 13 years who are separated from their parents during
a part of the day by:

1. Ensuring that the activities, services, and facilities of
centers are conducive to the well-being of children; and

2. Reducing risks in the environment.

B. The standards in this chapter apply to child day centers as
defined in 8VAC20-780-10 serving-children-under-the-age-of

13 that are required to be licensed by the department.
8VAC20-780-40. Operational responsibilities.

A. Applications for licensure shall conform with Article 3
(8 22.1-289.010 et seq.) and Article 4 (8 22.1-289.030 et seq.)
of Chapter 14.1, of Title 22.1 of the Code of Virginia and the
regulation entitled General Procedures and Information for
Licensure, 8VAC20-820.

B. Pursuant to § 22.1-289.034 of the Code of Virginia and the
regulation entitled Background Checks for Child Day
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Programs and Family Day Systems, 8VAC20-770, the
applicant and any agent at the time of application who is or will
be involved in the day-to-day operations of the center or who
is or will be alone with, in control of, or supervising one or
more of the children, shall be of good character and reputation

and-shall-not-beguilty of anoffense—asdefinedin-8§22.1-
289.034-of the Code-of \irginia; shall not have been convicted
of a barrier crime as defined in § 19.2-392.02 of the Code of

Virginia; and is not the subject of a founded complaint of child
neglect or abuse within or outside the Commonwealth.

C. The sponsor shall afford the superintendent or his agents
the right at all reasonable times to inspect facilities and to
interview his agents, employees, and any child or other person
within his custody or control, provided that no private
interviews may be conducted with any child without prior
notice to the parent of such child.

D. The license shall be posted in a place conspicuous to the
public (8 22.1-289.011 of the Code of Virginia).

E. The operational responsibilities of the licensee shall
include—but—net—betimited—to; ensuring that the center's
activities, services, and facilities are maintained in compliance
with these standards, the center's own policies and procedures
that are required by these standards, and the terms of the
current license issued by the department.

F. Every center shall ensure that—any advertising is not
misleading or deceptive as required by 8§ 22.1-289.027 of the
Code of Virginia.

G. The center shall meet the proof of child identity and age
requirements as stated in § 22.1-289.049 of the Code of
Virginia.

H. The sponsor shall maintain public liability insurance for
bodily injury for each center site with a minimum limit of at
least $500,000 each occurrence and with a minimum limit of
$500,000 aggregate.

1. A public sponsor may have equivalent self-insurance that
is in compliance with the Code of Virginia.

2. Evidence of insurance coverage shall be made available
to the department's representative upon request.

I. The center shall develop written procedures for injury
prevention.

J. Injury prevention procedures shall be updated at least
annually based on documentation of injuries and a review of
the activities and services.

K. The center shall develop written procedures for prevention
of shaken baby syndrome or abusive head trauma, including
coping with crying babies, safe sleeping practices, and sudden
infant death syndrome awareness.

L. The center shall inform all staff who work with children of
children’s allergies, sensitivities, and dietary restrictions.

M. The center shall maintain, in a way that is accessible to all
staff who work with children, a current written list of all
children's allergies, sensitivities, and dietary restrictions
documented in the allergy plan required in 8VAC20-780-60 A
8. This list shall be dated and kept confidential in each room or
area where children are present.

N. The center shall develop written playground safety
procedures which that shall include:

1. Provision for active supervision by staff to include
positioning of staff in strategic locations, scanning play
activities, and circulating among children; and

2. Method of maintaining resilient surface.

L= O. Hospital-operated centers may temporarily exceed their
licensed capacity during a natural disaster or other catastrophe
or emergency situation and shall develop a written plan for
emergency operations, for submission to and approval by the
Department of Education.

M: P. When children 13 years or older are enrolled in the
program and receive supervision in the licensed program, they
shall be counted in the number of children receiving care and
the center shall comply with the standards for these children.

8VAC20-780-60. Children's records.

A. Each center shall maintain and keep at the center a separate
record for each child enrolled which shall contain the following
information:

1. Name, nickname (if any), sex, and birth date of the child;

2. Name, home address, and home phone number of each
parent who has custody;

3. When applicable, work phone number and place of
employment of each parent who has custody;

4. Name and phone number of child's physician;

5. Name, address, and phone number of two designated
people to call in an emergency if a parent cannot be reached;

6. Names of persons authorized to pick up the child.
Appropriate legal paperwork shall be on file when the
custodial parent requests the center not to release the child
to the other parent;

7. Allergies and intolerance to feed; medication; or any other
substances, and actions to take in an emergency situation;

8. A written care plan for each child with a diagnosed food
allergy, to include instructions from a physician regarding
the food to which the child is allergic and the steps to be
taken in the event of a suspected or confirmed allergic
reaction;

8 9. Chronic physical problems and pertinent developmental
information and any special accommodations needed:;
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10. Written agreements between the parent and the center as
required by 8VAC20-780-90;

11. Documentation of child updates and confirmation of up-
to-date information in the child's record as required by
8VAC20-780-420 E 3;

12. Any blanket permission slips and opt out requests;

13. Previous child day care and schools attended by the
child;

14. Name of any additional programs or schools that the
child is concurrently attending and the grade or class level,

15. Documentation of viewing proof of the child's identity
and age; and

16. First and last dates of attendance:;

17. Documentation of health information as required by
8VAC20-780-130, 8VAC20-780-140, and 8VAC20-780-
150; and

18. Documentation of the enrollment of a homeless child
enrolled under provision of 8VAC20-780-130 C or
8VAC20-780-140 A.

B. The requirements in subdivision A 17 of this section does
not apply, and the center is not required to maintain duplicates
of the school's health record if:

1. The center is located on the same premises where a child
attends school;

2. The child's record has a statement verifying the school's
possession of the health record; and

3. The school's records are accessible during the center's
hours of operation.

B- C. The proof of identity, if reproduced or retained by the
child day program or both, shall be destroyed upon the
conclusion of the requisite period of retention. The procedures
for the disposal, physical destruction or other disposition of the
proof of identity containing social security numbers shall
include all reasonable steps to destroy such documents by (i)
shredding, (ii) erasing, or (iii) otherwise modifying the social
security numbers in those records to make them unreadable or
indecipherable by any means.

8VAC20-780-70. Staff records.

A: The following staff records shall be kept for each staff
person:

1. Name, address, verification of age requirement, job title,
and date of employment or volunteering; and name, address,
and telephone number of a person to be notified in an
emergency which shall be kept at the center.

2. For staff hired after March 1, 1996, documentation that
two or more references as to character and reputation as well
as competency were checked before employment or
volunteering. If a reference check is taken over the phone,
documentation shall include:

a. Dates of contact;

b. Names of persons contacted,;

c. The firms contacted,;

d. Results; and

e. Signature of person making call.
3. Background checks as required by the regulation entitled
Background Checks for Licensed Child Day Programs and
Family Day Systems (8VAC20-770).
4. Written-information Documentation to demonstrate that

the individual possesses the education, erientation-training;
staff-development; certification, and experience required by
the job position, and orientation and training as required in
8VAC20-780-240 and 8VAC20-780-245.

5. First aid, cardiopulmonary resuscitation, and other
certifications as required by the responsibilities held by the
staff member.

6. Health information as required by 8VAC20-780-160 and
8VAC20-780-170.

7. Information, to be kept at the center, about any health
problems which that may interfere with fulfilling the job
responsibilities.

8. Date of separation from employment.
he | X | .
ofthe background-checkregulation:
8VAC20-780-80. Attendance records; reports.

A. Fhe—center—shall—kesp—a—written—record—of—chidren—in
attendance-each-day- For each group of children, the center

shall maintain a written record of daily attendance that
documents the arrival and departure of each child in care as it
occurs.

B. Reports shall be filed and maintained as follows:

1. The center shall inform the superintendent's representative
as soon as practicable but not to exceed one werking
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business day of the circumstances surrounding the following
incidents:

a. Death of a child while under the center's supervision;
and

b. Missing child when local authorities have been
contacted for help; or

c. The suspension or termination of all child care services
for_more than 24 hours as a result of an emergency
situation and any plans to resume child care.

2. The center shall inform the department's representative as
soon as practicable, but not to exceed two business days, of
any injury to a child that occurs while the child is under the
supervision of the center and requires outside medical
attention.

3. Any suspected incident of child abuse shall be reported in
accordance with § 63.2-1509 of the Code of Virginia.

8VAC20-780-130. Immunizations for children.

A. The center shall obtain documentation that each child has
received the immunizations required by the State Board of
Health before the child can attend the center.

B. The center may allow a child to attend contingent upon a

conditional enrollment for a period of 90 days if the child
received at least one dose of each of the required vaccines and
the child possesses a plan from a physician or local health
department for completing his immunization requirements
within the ensuing 90 calendar days. If the child requires more
than two doses of hepatitis B vaccine, the conditional
enrollment period, for hepatitis B vaccine only, shall be 180

calendar days.

C. If a child is homeless and does not have documentation of
the required immunizations, the center may allow the child to
attend during a grace period of no more than 90 days to allow
the parent or guardian time to obtain documentation of required
immunizations.

D. Documentation related to the child's conditional
enrollment shall be maintained in the child's record.

E. The center shall obtain documentation of additional
immunizations once every six months for children under the
age of two years.

G- F. The center shall obtain documentation of additional
immunizations once between each child's fourth and sixth
birthdays.

G. Pursuant to subsection C of § 22.1-271.2 of the Code of
Virginia, documentation of immunizations is not required for

any child whose:

1. Parent submits an affidavit to the center on the current
form approved by the Virginia Department of Health stating
that the administration of immunizing agents conflicts with
the parent's or child's religious tenets or practices; or

2. Physician or a local health department states on a
Department of Health-approved form that one or more of the
required immunizations may be detrimental to the child's
health, indicating the specific nature and probable duration
of the medical condition or circumstance that contraindicates
immunization.

8VAC20-780-140. Physical examinations for children.

A. Each child shall have a physical examination by or under
the direction of a physician:

1. Before the child's attendance; or
2. Within ene-menth 30 days after the first day of attendance.

If a child is homeless and does not have documentation of a
physical examination, the center may allow the child to attend
during a grace period of no more than 90 days to allow the
parent or guardian time to obtain documentation of the required
physical examination.

B. If the child has had a physical examination prior to
attendance, it shall be within the time period prescribed below
in this subsection:

1. Within two months prior to attendance for children six
months of age and younger;

2. Within three months prior to attendance for children aged
seven months through 18 months;

3. Within six months prior to attendance for children aged
19 months through 24 months; and

4. Within 12 months prior to attendance for children two
years of age through five years of age.
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C. When a child transfers from a facility licensed by the
Virginia Department of Education, approved by a licensed
family day system, or voluntarily registered by the Virginia
Department of Education, a new physical examination is not
required if a copy of the physical examination from the
originating program is maintained in the child's record.

2- D. Pursuant to subsection D of § 22.1-270 of the Code of
Virginia, physical examinations are not required for any child
whose parent objects on religious grounds. The parent must
submit a signed statement noting that the parent objects on
religious grounds and certifying that to the best of the parent's
knowledge the child is in good health and free from
communicable or contagious disease.

E. A new physical examination is not required for a school
age child if a copy of the physical examination required for his
entry into a Virginia public kindergarten or elementary school
is kept in the child's record.

8VAC20-780-160. Tuberculosis screening for staff and
independent contractors.

A. Each staff member and individual from an independent
contractor shall submit documentation of a negative
tuberculosis screening.

Documentation-of-the-screening-shall-be S.Hb Htted-no-latel
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1. Documentation of the screening shall be submitted at the
time of employment and prior to coming into contact with
children.

2. The documentation shall have been completed within the
last 30 calendar days of the date of employment and be
signed by a physician, physician's designee, or an official of
the local health department.

B. Acceptable forms of documentation of tuberculosis
screening are:

1. A clearance statement signed by a physician, the
physician's designee or an official of the local health
department. This statement shall include language that the
individual does not have any current symptoms of active
tuberculosis, does not have either a risk factor for acquiring
tuberculosis infection or a risk factor for progression to

active tuberculosis disease as defined by the local health
department, or has been treated for these conditions in the
past, and is currently free of tuberculosis in a communicable
form. Individuals who have a risk factor for progression to
active tuberculosis disease as defined by the Virginia
Department of Health shall submit documentation as stated
in subdivision 2 or 3 of this subsection;

2. The results of a negative tuberculin skin test (TST). The
documentation shall include the date the test was given and
results of the test and be signed by a physician, physician's
designee or an official of the local health department.

3. The results of a chest x-ray negative for active
tuberculosis disease. The documentation shall include the
date of the test and location where the examination was
performed.

C. At least every two years from the date of the initial
screening or testing, or more frequently if recommended by a
licensed physician or the local health department, staff
members and individuals from independent contractors shall
obtain and submit the results of a follow-up tuberculosis
screening as stated in subsection B of this section.

D. Any staff member or individual from an independent
contractor who develops symptoms compatible with active
tuberculosis disease, regardless of the date of the last
tuberculosis screening or assessment, shall obtain and submit
within 14 days a determination of noncontagiousness by a
physician or local health department.

1. Until such determination is made, that staff member may
not be permitted to work at the center.

2. Any staff member or individual from an independent
contractor who comes in contact with a known active case
of tuberculosis or who tests positive on a tuberculin skin test,
regardless of the date of the last tuberculosis screening or
assessment, shall submit within 30 days a statement
indicating that all needed follow-up for the incident has been
completed and that the individual is free of tuberculosis in a
communicable form. This statement shall be signed by a
physician, physician's designee or an official of the local
health department.

8VAC20-780-180. General qualifications.
A. No-staff shall- be-guilty of an-offense-as-defined-in 8-22.1-
B- Staff shall be:
1. Of good character and reputation;
2. Capable of carrying out assigned responsibilities;
3. Capable of accepting training and supervision; and

4. Capable of communicating effectively both orally and in
writing as applicable to the job responsibility.
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C. B. Staff who work directly with children shall be capable
of communicating with emergency personnel.

B- C. Staff who drive a vehicle transporting children shall
disclose any moving traffic violation that occurred five years
prior to or during employment or assignment as a driver.

E- D. For therapeutic child day programs and special needs
child day programs, staff who work with children shall have
knowledge of the groups being served and skills specific to the
special needs of the children in care including,-but-notlimited
te; functional abilities, accommodations, assessment
techniques, behavior management, and medical and health
concerns.

8VAC20-780-190. Program director qualifications.

A. Program directors shall be at least 21 years of age and shall
meet one of the following:

1. A graduate degree in a child-related field such as—but-net
limited-to; elementary education, nursing, or recreation from
a college or university and six months of programmatic
experience;

2. An endorsement or bachelor's degree in a child-related
field such as—but—nettimited—to; elementary education,
nursing, or recreation from a college or university and one
year of programmatic experience;

3. Forty-eight semester hours or 72 quarter hours of college
credit from a college or university of which 12 semester
hours or 18 quarter hours are in child-related subjects and
one year of programmatic experience;

4. Two years of programmatic experience with one year in a
staff supervisory capacity and at least one of the following
education backgrounds:

a. A one-year early childhood certificate from a college or
university that consists of at least 30 semester hours;

b. A child development credential that requires:

(1) High school program completion or the equivalent;
(2) 480 hours working with children in a group which
could include a supervised practicum; ang

(3) Determination of competency in promoting children's
development, providing a safe and healthy environment,
managing the classroom environment ardfer or childhood
program, and promoting positive and productive
relationships with parents/guardians parents or guardians;
and

(4) At least 120 eleek hours of child-related training taught
by an individual or by an organization with expertise in
early childhood teacher preparation provided that the
training facilitator:

(a) Documents the student's mastery and competence;

(b) Observes the student's application of competence in a
classroom setting;

(c) Has a combination of at least six years of education
(leading to a degree or credential in a child-related field)
or programmatic experience; and

(d) Has at least 12 semester hours or 180 eleck hours in a
child-related field, a child development credential or
equivalent, and two years of programmatic experience
with one year in a staff supervisory capacity; or

c. A certification of qualification from an internationally
or nationally recognized Montessori organization;-er.

B. Program directors without management experience shall
have one college course in a business-related field, 10 eloek
hours of management training, or one child care management
course that satisfactorily covers the management functions of:

1. Planning;

2. Budgeting;
3. Staffing; and
4. Monitoring.
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*Nete: Management experience is defined as at least six
months of on-the-job training in an administrative position that
requires supervising, orienting, training, and scheduling staff.

C. For program directors of therapeutic child day programs
and special needs child day programs, education and
programmatic experience shall be in the group care of children
with special needs.

D. Notwithstanding subsection A of this section, a person
between 19 and 21 years of age may serve as a program
director at a short-term program serving only school age
children if the program director has daily supervisory contact
by a person at least 21 years of age who meets one of the
program director qualification options.

E. A program director employed prior to October 13, 2021,
who met the education and experience gualifications in effect
immediately prior to October 13, 2021, and who has been
continuously employed as a child day center director, is
considered to have met the requirements of this section.

8VAC20-780-240. Staff training and—development

orientation.

A. Staftshallreceive-thefolowing-training-by-the-end-of-their
first—day—of —assuming—job—responsibitities: The Virginia
Department of Education-sponsored orientation course shall be
completed within 90 calendar days of employment.

B. Staff shall complete orientation training in subsection C of
this section prior to the staff member working alone with
children and no later than seven days of the date of assuming
job responsibilities.

C. Orientation training shall be appropriate to the age of the
children in care and include all of the following facility specific

topics:
1. Job responsibilities and to whom they report;

2. The policies and procedures listed in subsection B D of
this section, 8VAC20-780-420 A, and the standards in this
chapter that relate to the staff member's responsibilities;

3. The center's playground safety procedures unless the staff
member will have no responsibility for playground activities
or equipment;

4. Recognizing child abuse and neglect and the legal
requirements for reporting suspected child abuse as required
by § 63.2-1509 of the Code of Virginia;

5. Confidential treatment of personal information about
children in care and their families; and

6.
members—responsibilities The center's policies and

procedures on the administration of medication;

7. Emergency preparedness and response planning for
emergencies resulting from a natural disaster or a human-

caused event such as violence at a child care facility and the
emergency preparedness plan as required by 8VAC20-780-

550 A through K;

8. Prevention of sudden infant death syndrome and use of
safe sleep practices;

9. Prevention of shaken baby syndrome and abusive head
trauma, including procedures to cope with crying babies or
distraught children;

10.Prevention of and response to emergencies due to food
and other allergic reactions including:

a. Recognizing the symptoms of an allergic reaction;
b. Responding to allergic reactions;

c. Preventing exposure to the specific food and other
substances to which the child is allergic; and

d. Preventing cross contamination; and

11. Prevention and control of disease.

BBy the-end-of the-first day-of supervising-children D. Prior

to working alone with children and within seven days of the
first day of employment, staff shall be provided in writing with
the center's information listed in 8VAC20-780-420 A and the
following:

1. Procedures for supervising a child who may arrive after
scheduled classes or activities including field trips have
begun;

2. Procedures to confirm absence of a child when the child
is scheduled to arrive from another program or from an
agency responsible for transporting the child to the center;

3. Procedures for identifying where attending children are at
all times, including procedures to ensure that all children are
accounted for before leaving a field trip site and upon return
to the center;

4. Procedures for action in case of lost or missing children,
ill or injured children, medical emergencies, and general
emergencies;

5. Policy for any administration of medication; and

6. Procedures—for—response—to—natural—and—man-made
disasters Emergency evacuation, relocation, shelter-in-
place, and lockdown procedures; and

7. Precautions in transporting children, if applicable.
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Adrministration: (OSHA)— Blood Patt
regulation:
E. Within 30 days of the first day of employment, staff must

8VAC?20-780-245. Ongoing training.

A. Staff shall complete annually a minimum of 16 hours of
training appropriate to the age of children in care.

complete orientation training in first aid and cardiopulmonary
resuscitation (CPR), as appropriate to the age of the children in
care.

F. Before assuming job responsibilities, staff who work with
children in therapeutic child day programs and special needs
child day programs shall receive training in:

1. Universal Standard precautions procedures;
2. Activity adaptations;

3. Medication administration;

4. Disabilities precautions and health issues; and

5. Appropriate intervention strategies.

day—programs,staff-who-workdirectly-wit G"Id.'e.'. S_I all
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G. Volunteers who work more than six hours per week shall

receive training on the center's emergency procedures within
the first week of volunteering.

H. In a cooperative preschool center that is organized,
administered, and maintained by parents of children in care,
parent volunteers, or other persons who participate and
volunteer in a cooperative preschool center on behalf of a child
attending such cooperative preschool center, including such
volunteers who are counted in the staff-to-child ratios required
in 8VAC20-780-340, shall complete four hours of training per
year, and shall be exempt from orientation requirements
applicable to staff of child day programs. This orientation
exemption shall not apply to any parent volunteer or other
person as referred to in this subsection if the cooperative
preschool center has entered into a contract with the
department or a local department to provide child care services

B. Training completed to meet the requirements of this
section shall be in addition to completing orientation
requirements in 8VAC20-780-240.

C. Staff who do not work with a group of children at the center

shall _only be required to complete annual training on
emergency preparedness and response, child abuse and
neglect, and mandated reporter requirements.

D. Staff who work with a group of children at the center and
are employed at a short-term program shall only be required to
obtain a minimum of 10 hours of staff training per year.

E. In a cooperative preschool center that is organized,
administered, and maintained by parents of children in care,
parent volunteers, or other persons who participate and
volunteer in a cooperative preschool center on behalf of a child
attending such cooperative preschool center, including such
volunteers who are counted in the staff-to-child ratios required
in 8VAC20-780-340, shall complete four hours of training per
year and shall be exempt from training requirements applicable
to staff of child day programs. This training exemption shall
not apply to any parent volunteer or other person as referred to
in this subsection if the cooperative preschool center has
entered into a contract with the department or a local
department to provide child care services funded by the Child
Care and Development Block Grant.

F. Volunteers who work more than six hours per week shall
be required to complete annual training on the center's
emergency procedures.

G. For therapeutic child day programs and special needs child
day programs, staff who work directly with children shall
annually complete four additional hours of training. At least
eight hours of annual training shall be on topics related to the
care of children with special needs.

H. Annual training shall be relevant to staff's job

funded by the Child Care and Development Block Grant.

I. Documentation of orientation training shall be kept by the
center in a manner that allows for identification by individual

responsibilities and the care of children, and include topics
such as:

1. Child development including physical, cognitive, social,

staff member, is considered part of the staff member's record,

and emotional development;

and shall include:
1. Name of staff;

2. Training topics;

3. Training delivery method;

4. The entity or individual providing training; and

5. The date of training.

2. Behavior management and positive guidance technigues;

3. Prevention and control of infectious diseases;

4. Prevention of sudden infant death syndrome and use of
safe sleep practices;

5. Prevention of and response to emergencies due to food
and other allergic reactions including:

a. Recognizing the symptoms of an allergic reaction;
b. Responding to allergic reactions;
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c. Preventing exposure to the specific food and other

2. To safely perform medication administration practices

substances to which the child is allergic; and
d. Preventing cross contamination;

6. The center's policies and procedures on the administration

of medication;

7. Building _and physical premises safety, including
identification of and protection from hazards that can cause
bodily injury such as electrical hazards, bodies of water, and
vehicular traffic;

8. Prevention of shaken baby syndrome and abusive head
trauma including procedures to cope with crying babies or
distraught children;

9. Signs and symptoms of child abuse and neglect and
requirements for mandated reporters;

10. Emergency preparedness and response planning for
emergencies resulting from a natural disaster or a human-
caused event such as violence at a child care facility and the
center's specific emergency preparedness plan as required
8VAC20-780-550 A through K;

11. Handling and storage of hazardous materials and the
appropriate disposal of diapers and other items contaminated

by body fluids;
12. CPR and first aid;

13. Precautions in transporting children if applicable; and

14. If applicable, the recommended care requirements
related to the care and development of children with special
needs.

I. Training on the center's emergency preparedness plan shall
be completed annually and each time the plan is updated.

J. Medication administration:

1. To safely perform medication administration practices
listed in 8VAC20-780-510, whenever the center has agreed
to_administer prescribed medications, the administration
shall be performed by a staff member or independent
contractor who has satisfactorily completed a training
program for this purpose approved by the Board of Nursing
and taught by a reqgistered nurse, licensed practical nurse,
nurse practitioner, physician assistant, doctor of medicine or
osteopathic medicine, or pharmacist pursuant to § 54.1-3408
of the Code of Virginia; or administration shall be performed
by a staff member or independent contractor who is licensed
by the Commonwealth of Virginia to administer
medications.

a. The approved training curriculum and materials shall be
reviewed by the department at least every three years and
revised as necessary.

b. Staff required to have the training shall be retrained at
three-year intervals.

listed in 8VAC20-780-510, whenever the center has agreed
to _administer over-the-counter medications other than
topical skin gel, cream, or ointment, the administration must
be performed by a staff member or independent contractor
who has satisfactorily completed a training course developed
or approved by the Department of Education in consultation
with the Department of Health and the Board of Nursing and
taught by a registered nurse, licensed practical nurse, nurse
practitioner, physician assistant, doctor of medicine or
osteopathic medicine, or pharmacist; or administration shall
be performed by a staff member or independent contractor
who is licensed by the Commonwealth of Virginia to
administer medications.

a. The course, which shall include competency guidelines,
shall reflect currently accepted safe medication
administration practices, including instruction and
practice in topics such as reading and following
manufacturer's _instructions; observing relevant laws,
policies, and regulations; and demonstrating knowledge of
safe practices for medication storage and disposal,
recording and reporting responsibilities, and side effects
and emergency recognition and response.

b. The approved training curriculum and materials shall be

reviewed by the department at least every three years and
revised as necessary.

c. Staff required to have the training shall be retrained at
three-year intervals.

3. Any child for whom emergency medications (such as
albuterol, glucagon, and epinephrine auto injector) have
been prescribed shall always be in the care of a staff member
or_independent contractor who meets the requirements in
subdivision 1 of this subsection.

K. Daily health observation training shall include the

following:

1. Components of daily health check for children;

2. Inclusion and exclusion of the child from the class when
the child is exhibiting physical symptoms that indicate

possible illness;

3. Descriptions of how diseases are spread and the
procedures or methods for reducing the spread of disease;

4. Information concerning the Virginia Department of
Health Notification of Reportable Diseases pursuant to
12VAC5-90-80 and 12VAC5-90-90, also available from the
local health department and the website of the Virginia
Department of Health; and

5. Staff occupational health and safety practices in
accordance with Occupational Safety and Health
Administration's bloodborne pathogens regulation (29 CFR

1910.1030).
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L. There shall always be at least one staff member on duty
who has obtained within the last three years instruction in
performing the daily health observation of children.

M. Documentation of training shall be kept by the center in a
manner_that allows for identification by individual staff
member, is considered part of the staff member's record, and
shall include:

1. Name of staff;

2. Training topic;

3. Evidence that training on each topic required in this
section has been completed;

4. Training delivery method;

5. The entity or individual providing training;

6. The number of training hours or credit hours received; and

7. The date of training.

N. Medication administration training required in subsection
J of this section and daily health observation training required
in subsection K of this section may count toward the annual
training hours required in this section.

8VAC20-780-320. Restroom areas and furnishings.

A. Centers shall beprovided-with have at least two toilets and
two sinks.

B. Each restroom area provided for children shall:

1. Be within a contained area, readily available and within
the building used by the children (Exeeption: Restrooms
used by school age children at camps are not required to be
located within the building);

2. Have toilets that are flushable;

3. Have sinks located near the toilets and that are supplied
with running warm water that does not exceed 120°F
(Exeeption: Camps are exempt from the requirement that
running water be warm); and

4. Be equipped with soap, toilet paper, and disposable towels
or an air dryer within reach of children.

C. For restrooms available to males, urinals shall not be
substituted for more than one-half the required number of
toilets.

D. An adult size toilet with privacy shall be provided for staff
use. Staff toilets may be counted in the number of required
toilets for children only if children are allowed unrestricted
access to them. Primitive camps are not required to have a
toilet with privacy for staff.

ion:_Primiti . i

E. Centers shall be-provided-with have at least one toilet and
one sink per 20 preschool children and at least one standard
size toilet and one sink per 30 school age children. When
sharing restroom areas with other programs, the children in
those programs shall be included in the toilet and sink ratio
calculations. The toilet and sink ratio appropriate to the
younger age group shall apply.

F. When child size toilets, urinals, and low sinks are not
available in restrooms used by children of preschool age and
younger, one or more platforms or sets of steps shall be
provided.

G.-School-age-children-of the-oppesite-sex-shal-not-use-the
sametestroom-at-the same-time-

H-: A restroom used for school age children that contains more
than one toilet shall have at least one toilet enclosed.

k£ H. Restrooms used by school age children at primitive
camps are not required to have:

1. Sinks, if adequate water, supplies, and equipment for hand
washing are available; and

2. Flushable toilets, if the number of sanitary privies or
portable toilets constructed and operated in accordance with
the applicable law and regulations of the Virginia
Department of Health meets the toilet ratio stated in
subsection E of this section. No privy or outdoor toilet shall
be located within 75 feet of other buildings or camp
activities.

8VAC20-780-350. Staff-to-children ratio and group size
requirements.

mﬂes—e#ly—when—they—am—&;eeﬂy—s&pemsmg—ehﬂdmn The

maximum group size limitations specified in Table 1 shall be
followed whenever children are in care.

TABLE 1. Maximum Group Size Requirements
Age Maximum Group Size
1. Birth up to 16 12
months
2. 16 months up to 24 15
months
3. 2 year olds 24
4. 3 year olds up to 30
school age eligible

B. A-child-voluntesr13-years-of-age-or-older-not-enrolled-in
I I | | el i "
children—ratio—requirements The staff-to-children ratios

specified in Table 2 are required whenever children are in care.
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TABLE 2. Ratio Requirements
Age Ratio (staff:
children)
1. Birth up to 16 months 14
2. 16 months up to 24 15
months
3. 2 year olds 1:8
4, 3 year olds up to 1:10
school age eligible
5. School age eligible up 1:18
to 9 years
6. 9 vears through 12 1:20
years

C. When children are regularhy in ongoing mixed age groups,
the staff-to-children ratio and group size applicable to the
youngest child in the group shall apply to the entire group.

D. During-the-designated-re

Group size limitations shall not apply during:

1. Designated rest periods as described in this section;

2. Outdoor activity as described in 8VAC20-780-370,
8VAC20-780-380, and 8VAC20-780-390;

3. Transportation and field trips as described in 8VAC20-
780-580;

4. Meals and snacks served as described in 8VAC20-780-
560; or

5. Special group activities, or during the first and last hour
of operation when the center operates more than six hours

per day.

E. Group size requirements in subsection A of this section do
not apply to children school age eligible through 12 years of

age.

F. The center shall develop and implement a written policy
and procedure that describes how the center will ensure that
each group of children receives care by consistent staff or team
of staff members.

G. Staff shall be counted in the required staff-to-children
ratios only when they are directly supervising children.

H. A child volunteer 13 years of age or older not enrolled in
the program shall not be counted as a child in the staff-to-
children ratio requirements.

I. For children ages 16 months through preschool age, during
the designated rest period, when children are resting or in an
inactive state, the following rest period ratios are permitted if
the requirements of subsections J through N of this section are
met:

1. Children 16 through 24 months of age: one staff per 10
children.

2. Children two years of age: one staff per 16 children.

3. Children of preschool age: one staff per 20 children.
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J. Staff required by rest period ratios shall be within sight and
sound at all times in the same space as the resting or sleeping
children.

K. In addition to the staff required by rest period ratios, an
additional staff member shall always be available on-site to
offer immediate assistance. The staff required by rest period
ratios shall be able to summon the additional staff member
without leaving the room or area of the sleeping or resting
children.

L. Once at least half of the children in the resting room or area
are awake and off their mats or cots, the staff-to-children ratio
shall meet the ratios as required in subsection B of this section.

M. One staff member shall not supervise more than one room
or area during rest time.

N. Centers providing evening and overnight care shall meet
the requirements of subsections | through this subsection N of
this section during sleep periods.

0. The ratio for balanced-mixed-age groupings of children
shall be one staff member for every 14 children provided:

1. The center has additional staff who are readily accessible
in the event of an emergency to maintain a ratio of one staff
member for every 10 children when three-year-olds are
included in the balanced-mixed-age group; and

2. The lead teacher has received at least eight hours of
training in classroom management of balanced-mixed-age

groupings.

P. A maximum group size of 28 shall be followed whenever
children in care are in balanced-mixed-age groupings.

E Q. With a parent's written permission and a written
assessment by the program director and program leader, a
center may choose to assign a child to a different age group if
such age group is more appropriate for the child's
developmental level and the staff-to-children ratio and group
size shall be for the established age group.

1. If such developmental placement is made for a child with
a special need, a written assessment by a recognized agency
or professional shall be required at least annually. These
assignments are intended to be a permanent new group and
staff members for the child.

2. A center may temporarily reassign a child from his regular
group and staff members for reasons of administrative
necessity but not casually or repeatedly disrupt a child's
schedule and attachment to his staff members and group.

8VAC?20-780-355. Staff-to-children ratio requirements for
therapeutic and special needs program staff.

A. For therapeutic child day programs, in each grouping of
children of preschool age or younger, the following ratios of
staff to children are required according to the special needs of
the children in care:
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1. For children with severe and profound disabilities,
multiple special needs, serious medical need, or serious
emotional disturbance: one staff member to three children.

2. For children diagnosed as having an intellectual disability
with significant sub-average intellectual functioning and
deficits in adaptive behavior, or with physical and sensory
disabilities, or with autism: one staff member to four
children.

3. For children diagnosed as having an intellectual disability
in _the mild range of development, children with a
developmental delay, or children diagnosed with attention
deficit/hyperactivity disorder (ADHD): one staff member to
five children.

4. For children diagnosed with specific learning disabilities:
one staff member to six children.

5. When children with varied special needs are included in a
group, the staff-to-children ratio applicable to the child with
the most significant special need in the group shall apply to

the entire group.

6. Whenever 8VAC20-780-350 B requires more staff than
8VAC20-780-355 A because of the children's ages,
8VAC20-780-350 B shall take precedence over 8VAC20-
780-355 A.

B. For therapeutic child day programs, in each grouping of
school age children, the following ratios of staff to children are

required according to the special needs of the children in care:

1. For children with severe and profound disabilities, autism,
multiple special needs, serious medical need, or serious
emotional disturbance: one staff member to four children.

2. For children diagnosed as having an intellectual disability
with significant sub-average intellectual functioning and
deficits in adaptive behavior, or with physical and sensory
disabilities, ADHD, or other health impairments: one staff
member to five children.

3. For children diagnosed as having an intellectual disability
in_the mild range of development, or developmentally
delayed: one staff member to six children.

4. For children diagnosed with specific learning disabilities
or speech or language impairments: one staff member to

eight children.
5. When children with varied special needs are included in a

group, the staff-to-children ratio applicable to the child with
the most significant special need in the group shall apply to

the entire group.

C. Group size requirements in 8VAC20-780-350 A do not
apply to therapeutic child day programs.

8VAC20-780-400. Behavioral guidance.

A. In order to promote the child's physical, intellectual,
emotional, and social well-being and growth, staff shall
interact with the child and one another to provide needed help,
comfort, support and:

1. Respect personal privacy;

2. Respect differences in cultural, ethnic, and family
backgrounds;

3. Encourage decision-making abilities;

4. Promote ways of getting along;

5. Encourage independence and self-direction; and
6. Use consistency in applying expectations.

B. Behavioral guidance shall be constructive in nature, age
and stage appropriate, and shall be intended to redirect children
to appropriate behavior and resolve conflicts.

C. When time out is used as a behavior guidance technique:

1. It shall be used sparingly and shall not exceed one minute
for each year of the child's age;

2. It shall be appropriate to the child's developmental level
and individual needs;

3. It shall not be used with infants or toddlers;

4. The child shall be in a safe, lighted, well-ventilated place,
and within actual sight and sound of a staff member; and

5. The child shall not be left alone inside or outside the
center.

8VAC20-780-420. Parental involvement.

A. Before the child's first day of attending, parents shall be
provided in writing the following:

1. The center's philosophy and any religious affiliation;

2. Operating information, including the hours and days of
operation and holidays or other times closed, and the phone
number where a message can be given to staff;

3. The center's transportation policy;

4. The center's policies for the arrival and departure of
children, including procedures for verifying that only
persons authorized by the parent are allowed to pick up the
child, picking up children after closing, and when a child is
not picked up for emergency situations including but-net
fimited—to inclement weather or natural or man-made
disasters;

5. The center's policy regarding any medication or medical
procedures that will be given;

6. The center's policy regarding application of:
a. Sunscreen;
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b. Diaper ointment or cream; and
c. Insect repellent.

7. Description of established lines of authority for staff;

8. Policy for reporting suspected child abuse as required by
§ 63.2-1509 of the Code of Virginia;

9. The custodial parent's right to be admitted to the center as
required by § 22.1-289.054 of the Code of Virginia;

10. Policy for communicating an emergency situation with
parents;

11. The appropriate general daily schedule for the age of the
enrolling child;

12. Food policies;

13. Discipline policies including acceptable and
unacceptable discipline measures; and

14. Termination policies.

B. Staff shall promptly inform parents when persistent
behavioral problems are identified; such notification shall
include any disciplinary steps taken in response.

C. A custodial parent shall be admitted to any child day
program. Such right of admission shall apply only while the
child is in the child day program (§ 22.1-289.054 of the Code
of Virginia).

D. The center shall provide opportunities for parental
involvement in center activities.
E. Communication.

1. For each infant, the center shall post a daily record which
can be easily accessed by both the parent and the staff
working with the child. The record shall contain the
following information:

a. The amount of time the infant slept;

b. The amount of food consumed and the time;

c. A description and time of bowel movements;

d. Developmental milestones; and

e. For infants, who are awake and cannot turn over by
themselves, the amount of time spent on their stomachs.

2. If asked by parents, staff shall provide feedback about
daily activities, physical well-being, and developmental
milestones.

3. Parents shall be provided at least semiannually in writing
information on their child's development, behavior,
adjustment, and needs.
a. Staff shall provide at least semiannual scheduled
opportunities for parents to provide feedback on their
children and the center's program.

b. Staff shall request at least annually parent confirmation
that the required information in the child's record is up to
date.

c. Such sharing of information shall be documented.

d. Short-term programs (as defined in 8VAC20-780-10)
are exempt from this requirement.

4, Parents shall be informed of reasons for termination of
services.

8VAC20-780-460. Swimming and wading activities; staff
and supervision.

A. The staff-to-children ratios required by 8VAC20-780-350
E—GandH B and 8VAC20-780-355 A and B shall be
maintained while children are participating in swimming or
wading activities.

1. Notwithstanding the staff-to-children ratios already
indicated, at no time shall there be fewer than two staff
members supervising the activity.

2. The designated certified lifeguard shall not be counted in
the staff-to-children ratios.

B. If a pool, lake, or other swimming area has a water depth
of more than two feet, a certified lifeguard holding a current
certificate shall be on duty supervising the children
participating in swimming or wading activities at all times
when one or more children are in the water.

C. The lifeguard certification shall be obtained from an
organization such as—but-not-timited-to; the American Red
Cross, the YMCA, or the Boy Scouts.

8VAC20-780-500. Hand washing and toileting procedures.
A. Hand washing.

1. Children's hands shall be washed with soap and running
water or disposable wipes before and after eating meals or
snacks.

2. Children's hands shall be washed with soap and running
water after toileting and any contact with blood, feces, or
urine.

3. Staff shall wash their hands with soap and running water

before-and-after-helping-a-child-use-the-tolet-or-a-diaper

a. Before and after helping a child use the toilet;

b. Before and after a diaper change;

c. After the staff member uses the toilet;

d. After any contact with body fluids;

e. Before feeding or helping children with feeding; and
f. Before preparing or serving food or beverages.
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4. Exeeption: If running water is not available, a germicidal
cleansing agent administered per manufacturer's instruction
may be used.

B. Diapering; soiled clothing.

1. The diapering area shall be accessible and within the
building used by children.

2. There shall be sight and sound supervision for all children
when a child is being diapered.

3. The diapering area shall be—provided—with have the

following:
a. A sink with running warm water not to exceed 120°F;

b. Soap, disposable towels, and single use gloves such as
surgical or examination gloves;

c. A nonabsorbent surface for diapering or changing shall
be used. For children younger than three years, this surface
shall be a changing table or countertop designated for
changing;

d. The appropriate disposal container as required by
subdivision 5 6 of this subsection; and

e. A leakproof covered receptacle for soiled linens.

4. When a child's clothing or diaper becomes wet or soiled,
the child shall be cleaned and changed immediately.

5. Disposable-diapers-shall-be used-unlessthe_child's skin

6- Disposable diapers shall be disposed in a leakproof or
plastic-lined storage system that is either foot-operated or
used in such a way that neither the staff member's hand nor
the soiled diaper touches an exterior surface of the storage
system during disposal.

+ 6. When cloth diapers are used, a separate leakproof
storage system as specified in this subdivision 5 of this
subsection shall be used for each individual child.

8. 7. The diapering surface shall be used only for diapering
or cleaning children, and it shall be cleaned with soap and at
least room temperature water and sanitized after each use.
Tables used for children's activities or meals shall not be
used for changing diapers.

Exception: 8. Individual disposable barriers may be used
between each diaper change. If the changing surface
becomes soiled, the surface shall be cleaned and sanitized
before another child is diapered.

9. Staff shall ensure the immediate safety of a child during
diapering.

C. Toilet training. For every 10 children in the process of
being toilet trained, there shall be at least one toilet chair or one
child-sized toilet, or at least one adult sized toilet with a
platform or steps and adapter seat.

1. The location of these items shall allow for sight and sound
supervision of children in the classroom if necessary for the
required staff-to-children ratios to be maintained.

2. Toilet chairs shall be emptied promptly and cleaned and
sanitized after each use.

8VAC20-780-510. Medication.

A. The decision to administer medicines at a facility may be
limited by center policy to administer:

1. Prescribed medications;

2. Over-the-counter or nonprescription medications; or

3. No medications except those required for emergencies or
by law.

B. Prescription and nonprescription medication shall be given
to a child:

1. According to the center's written medication policies; and
2. Only with written authorization from the parent.

C. Medication shall be administered by a staff member who
is 18 years of age or older.

B- D. Nonprescription medication shall be administered by a
staff member or independent contractor who meets the
requirements in 8\VAC20-780-240-D1 or 3 F 1 or F3
8VAC20-780-245J 1 orJ 2.

C: E. The center's procedures for administering medication
shall:

1. Include any general restrictions of the center.

2. For nonprescription medication, be consistent with the
manufacturer's instructions for age, duration, and dosage.

3. Include duration of the parent's authorization for
medication, provided that it shall expire or be renewed after
10 work days. Long-term prescription drug use and over-the-
counter medication may be allowed with written
authorization from the child's physician and parent.

4. Include methods to prevent use of outdated medication.

DB- F. The medication authorization shall be available to staff
during the entire time it is effective.

E: G. Medication shall be labeled with the child's name, the
name of the medication, the dosage amount, and the time or
times to be given.

E- H. Nonprescription medication shall be in the original
container with the direction label attached.

G- . The center may administer prescription medication that
would normally be administered by a parent or guardian to a
child provided:
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1. The medication is administered by a staff member or an
independent contractor who meets the requirements in
8VAC20-780-240-B-1 8VAC20-780-245 J;

2. The center has obtained written authorization from a
parent or guardian;

3. The center administers only those drugs that were
dispensed from a pharmacy and maintained in the original,
labeled container; and

4. The center administers drugs only to the child identified
on the prescription label in accordance with the prescriber's
instructions pertaining to dosage, frequency, and manner of
administration.

H- J. When needed, medication shall be refrigerated.

£ K. When medication is stored in a refrigerator used for
food, the medications shall be stored together in a container or
in a clearly defined area away from food.

J L. Medication, except for those prescriptions designated
otherwise by written physician's order, including refrigerated
medication and staff's personal medication, shall be kept in a
locked place using a safe locking method that prevents access
by children.

K= M. If a key is used, the key shall not be accessible to the
children.

£ N. Centers shall keep a record of medication given
children, which shall include the following:

1. Child to whom medication was administered;
2. Amount and type of medication administered to the child;

3. The day and time the medication was administered to the
child;

4. Staff member administering the medication;
5. Any adverse reactions; and
6. Any medication error.

M- O. Staff shall inform parents immediately of any adverse
reactions to medication administered and any medication error.

N: P. When an authorization for medication expires, the
parent shall be notified that the medication needs to be picked
up within 14 days or the parent must renew the authorization.
Medications that are not picked up by the parent within 14 days
will be disposed of by the center by either dissolving the
medication down the sink or flushing it down the toilet.

8VAC20-780-530. First aid training and cardiopulmonary
resuscitation (CPR) and-rescue-breathing.

. i i i i 1

= .” ere-shatl be atleast_e e stlall mbmber trained- I|_|sta|d

ealdlepu_lme "”"? 'ESHSE;E&E'G' I 'Ial d Feseue bleat_ Hg—as

A. At least one staff in each classroom or area where children
are present shall have, within 90 days of October 13, 2021:

1. Current certification in cardiopulmonary resuscitation
(CPR) as appropriate to the age of the children in care from
an organization such as the American Red Cross, American
Heart Association, American Safety and Health Institute, or
National Safety Council. The training shall include an in-
person competency demonstration; and

2. Current certification in first aid from an organization such
as the American Red Cross, American Heart Association,
American Safety and Health Institute, or National Safety
Council.

B. CPR and first aid certification training may count toward
the annual training hours required in 8VAC20-780-245.

C. There shall be at least two staff members who meet the
requirements of subsection A of this section present on the
premises during the center's hours of operation, on fieldtrips,
and wherever children are in care.

B- D. Primitive camps shall have a staff member on the
premises during the hours of operation who has at least current
certification in first responder training.

E. Staff who is a registered nurse or licensed practical nurse
with a current license from the Board of Nursing shall not be
required to obtain first aid certification.

8VAC20-780-550. Procedures for emergencies.

A. The center shall have an a written emergency preparedness
plan that addresses staff responsibility and facility readiness
with respect to emergency evacuation and relocation, shelter-
in-place, and lockdown. The plan, which shall be developed in
consultation with local or state authorities, addresses shall
include the most likely to occur emergency scenario or
scenarios, including but-nettimited-to fire, severe storms, loss
of utilities, natural disaster, chemical spills, intruder, and
violence at or near the center, terrorism specific to the locality,
and other situations, including facility damage that requires
evacuation, lockdown, or shelter-in-place.

B. The emergency preparedness plan shall contain procedural
components for:

1. Sounding of alarms {intruder-shelter-in-place-such-as-for
tornado;—or-chemical-hazard), such as intruder, evacuation,

lockdown, and shelter-in-place for tornado or chemical
hazards;
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2. Emergency communication to include:

a. Establishment of center emergency officer and back-up
officer to include 24-hour contact telephone number for
each;

b. Notification of local authorities {fire—and-rescue—taw
enforcementemergeney-medicalservices, peisen-contrel
health—department—ete), such as fire and rescue, law

enforcement, emergency medical services, poison control,
health department, and parents; and local media; and

c. Availability and primary use of communication tools;

3. Evacuation to include:

a. Assembly points, head-ceunts methods to account for
all children at the assembly point and relocation site,
primary and secondary means of egress, and complete
evacuation of the buildings;

b. Securing of essential documents {sign-in-record—parent

contactinformation—ete)-and-special-healthcare-supplies
to-be-carried-off-site-on-immediate-notice;-and, including

attendance  records, parent contact information,
emergency contact information, and information on
allergies or food intolerances;

c. Methods to ensure any health care needs to include
medications and care plans; emergency contact
information for staff; and supplies are taken to the
assembly point or relocation site;

d. Method of communication afterthe—evacuation with
parents and emergency responders;

e. Accommodations or special requirements for infants,
toddlers, and children with special needs to ensure their
safety during evacuation or relocation; and

f. Procedures to reunite children with a parent or
authorized person designated by the parent to pick up the
child;

4. Shelter-in-place to include:

a. Scenario applicability, such as tornado or chemical spill,
inside assembly points, head-counts methods to account
for all children at the safe locations, and primary and
secondary means of access and egress;

b. Securing of essential documents {sigr-inrecords;-parent
contactinformation;-ete-)}-and-special-health-supplies-to-be
carried-into-the-designated-assembly-peints;-and, including

attendance  records, parent contact information,
emergency contact information, and information on
allergies;

c. Methods to ensure any health care needs to include
medications and care plans; emergency contact
information for staff; and supplies are taken to the
assembly point or relocation site;

d. Method of communication after—the—shelter-in-place

with parents and emergency responders;

C.

e. Accommodations or special requirements for infants,
toddlers, and children with special needs to ensure their
safety during shelter-in-place; and

f. Procedures to reunite children with a parent or
authorized person designated by the parent to pick up the
child;

5. Facility—containment—procedures—(e-g-—closing—offire
deepsrepether—baﬁwps)—and—sheke#-m-plaee—semane—{eg—
intruders,—tornado,—or—chemical—spills); Lockdown

include:

a. Facility containment procedures, such as closing of fire
doors or other barriers, scenario_applicability, assembly
points, and methods to account for all children at the safe
locations;

b. Method of communication with parents and emergency
responders;

c. Accommodations or special requirements for infants,

toddlers, and children with special needs to ensure their
safety during lockdown; and

d. Procedures to reunite children with a parent or
authorized person designated by the parent to pick up the
child;

6. Continuity of operations to ensure that essential functions
are maintained during an emergency;

6. 7. Staff training requirement, drill frequency, and plan
review and update; and

+ 8. Other special procedures developed with local
authorities.

Emergency  evacuation and  shelter-in-place

proceduresimaps procedures or maps shall be posted in a
location conspicuous to staff and children on each floor of each

building.

D. The center shall implement a monthly practice evacuation

dr

ill and-a-minimum-oftwo-shelter-in-place-practice-drills-per

year-for-the-mosthkely-to-accurscenarios.

E. Shelter in place procedures shall be practiced a minimum

of twice per year.
F. Lockdown procedures shall be practiced at least annually.

G. Documentation shall

be maintained of emergency

evacuation, shelter-in-place, and lockdown drills that includes:

1. Identity of the person conducting the drill;
2. The date and time of the drill;

3. The method used for notification of the drill;

4. The number of staff participating;

5. The number of children participating;

6. Any special conditions simulated;
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7. The time it took to complete the drill;

8. Problems encountered, if any; and

9. For emergency evacuation drills only, weather conditions.

E: H. The center shall maintain a record of the dates of the
practice drills for one year. For centers offering multiple shifts,
the simulated drills shall be divided evenly among the various
shifts.

F- 1. A 911 or local dial number for police, fire and emergency
medical services and the number of the regional poison control
center shall be posted in a visible place at each telephone.

G. J. Each camp location shall have an emergency
preparedness plan and warning system.

H- K. The center shall prepare a document containing local
emergency contact information, potential shelters, hospitals,
evacuation routes, etc., that pertain to each site frequently
visited or of routes frequently driven by center staff for center
business {such-as-field-trips-pick-up/drop-off-of childrento-or
from-schoels;ete) such as field trips or pick up or drop off of
children to or from schools etc. This document must be kept in
vehicles that centers use to transport children to and from the
center.

+ L. Parents shall be informed of the center's emergency
preparedness plan.

& M. Based on local authorities and documented normal
ambulance operation, if an ambulance service is not readily
accessible within 10 to 15 minutes, other transportation shall
be available for use in case of emergency.

K= N. The center or other appropriate official shall notify the
parent immediately if a child is lost, requires emergency
medical treatment, or sustains a serious injury.

L= O. The center shall notify the parent by the end of the day
of any known minor injuries.

M- P. The center shall maintain a written record of children's
serious and minor injuries in which entries are made the day of
occurrence. The record shall include the following:

1. Date and time of injury;

. Name of injured child;

. Type and circumstance of the injury;

. Staff present and treatment;

. Date and time when parents were notified;

. Any future action to prevent recurrence of the injury;

. Staff and parent signatures or two staff signatures; and

0 N oo o A WD

. Documentation on how parent was notified.

Q. A parent shall be notified immediately of any confirmed
or suspected allergic reaction and the ingestion of or contact

with any food in the written care plan required in 8\VVAC20-
780-60 A 8 even if a reaction did not occur.

8VAC20-780-560. Nutrition and food services.

A. Centers shall schedule appropriate times for snacks or
meals, or both, based on the hours of operation and time of the
day (e.g., a center open only for after school care shall schedule
an afternoon snack; a center open from 7 a.m. to 1 p.m. shall
schedule a morning snack and midday meal).

B. The center shall ensure that children arriving from a half-
day, morning program who have not yet eaten lunch receive a
lunch.

C. The center shall schedule snacks or meals so that there is a
period of at least 1-1/2 hours but no more than three hours
between each meal or snack unless there is a scheduled rest or
sleep period for children between the meals and snacks.

D. Drinking water or other beverage not containing caffeine
shall be offered at regular intervals to nonverbal children.

E. In environments of 80°F or above, attention shall be given
to the fluid needs of children at regular intervals. Children in
such environments shall be encouraged to drink fluids as
outlined in subsection D of this section.

F. When centers choose to provide meals or shacks, the
following shall apply:

1. Centers shall follow the most recent, age-appropriate

nutritional requirements of a—recegnized—autherity-such-as
the Child and Adult Care Food Program of the United States

Department of Agriculture (USDA).

2. Children shall be allowed second helpings of food listed
in the USDA's child and adult care meal patterns.

3. Centers offering both meals and snacks shall serve a
variety of nutritious foods and shall serve at least three
sources of vitamin A and at least three sources of vitamin C
on various days each week.

4. Children three years of age or younger may not be offered
foods that are considered to be potential choking hazards.

5. A menu listing foods to be served for meals and snacks
during the current one-week period shall:
a. Be dated;

b. Be posted in a location conspicuous to parents or given
to parents;

c. List any substituted food; and
d. Be kept on file for one week at the center.

6. Powdered milk shall not be used except for cooking.

G. When food is brought from home, the following shall
apply:
1. The food container shall be sealed and clearly dated and
labeled in a way that identifies the owner;

Volume 38, Issue 2

Virginia Register of Regulations

September 13, 2021

228



Regulations

2. The center shall have extra food or shall have provisions
to obtain food to serve to children so they can have an
appropriate snack or meal if they forget to bring food from
home, bring an inadequate meal or snack, or bring perishable
food; and

3. Unused portions of opened food shall be discarded by the
end of the day or returned to the parent.

H. If a catering service is used, it shall be approved by the
local health department.

I. Food shall be prepared. stored, and transported in a clean
and-sanrttary-manner

J Contaminated or spoiled food shall not be served to
children.

K= J. Tables and high chair trays shall be:
1. Sanitized before and after each use for feeding; and
2. Cleaned at least daily.
L K. Children shall be encouraged to feed themselves.
M- L. Staff shall sit with children during meal times.

N M. No child shall be allowed to drink or eat while walking
around.

N. Food shall be prepared, stored, and transported in a clean
and sanitary manner.

0. When food is prepared to which a child in care is allergic,
staff shall take steps to avoid cross contamination to prevent an

allergic reaction.
P. A child with a diagnosed food allergy shall not be served

any food identified in the written care plan required in
8VAC20-780-60 A 8.

8VAC20-780-580. Transportation and field trips.

A. If the center provides transportation, the center shall be
responsible from the time the child boards the vehicle until
returned to the parents or person designated by the parent.

B. Any vehicle used by the center for the transportation of
children shall meet the following requirements:

1. The vehicle shall be manufactured for the purpose of
transporting people seated in an enclosed area;

2. The vehicle's seats shall be attached to the floor;

3. The vehicle shall be insured with at least the minimum
limits established by Virginia state statutes;

4. The vehicle shall meet the safety standards set by the
Department of Motor Vehicles and shall be kept in
satisfactory condition to assure the safety of children; and

5. If volunteers supply personal vehicles, the center is
responsible for ensuring that the requirements of this
subsection are met.

C. The center shall ensure that during transportation of
children:

1. Virginia state statutes about safety belts and child
restraints are followed as required by 88 46.2-1095 through
46.2-1100 of the Code of Virginia, and stated maximum
number of passengers in a given vehicle shall-net-be is not
exceeded;

2. The children remain seated and each child's arms, legs,
and head remain inside the vehicle;

3. Doors are closed properly and locked unless locks were
not installed by the manufacturer of the vehicle;

4. At least one staff member or the driver always remains in
the vehicle when children are present;
5. The following information is in transportation vehicles:

a. Emergency numbers as specified in 8VAC20-780-550
Eland HK;

b. The center's name, address, and phone number; and

c. A list of the names of the children being transported-;
and

d. Allergy care plan and information as specified in
8VAC20-780-60 A 7 and A 8; and

6. Staff who transport children shall be 18 years of age or
older.

D. When entering and leaving vehicles, children shall enter
and leave the vehicle from the curb side of the vehicle or in a
protected parking area or driveway.

E. Children shall cross streets at corners or crosswalks or
other designated safe crossing point if no corner or crosswalk
is available.

F. The staff-to-children ratios of 8VAC20-780-350 E;-G-and
H B and 8VAC20-780-355 shall be followed on all field trips.
The staff-to-children ratios need not be followed during
transportation of school age children to and from the center.
One staff member or adult is necessary in addition to the driver
when 16 or more preschool or younger children are being
transported in the vehicle.

G. The center shall make provisions for providing children on
field trips with adequate food and water.

H. If perishable food is taken on field trips, the food shall be
stored in insulated containers with ice packs to keep the food
cold.

I. Before leaving on a field trip, a schedule of the trip's events
and locations shall be posted and visible at the center site.

J. There shall be a communication plan between center staff
and staff who are transporting children or on a field trip.

K. Staff shall verify that all children have been removed from
the vehicle at the conclusion of any trip.
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L. Parental permission for transportation and field trips shall
be secured before the scheduled activity.

M. If a blanket permission is used instead of a separate written
permission, the following shall apply:

1. Parents shall be notified of the field trip; and

2. Parents shall be given the opportunity to withdraw their
children from the field trip.

VA.R. Doc. No. R22-6894; Filed August 25, 2021, 9:07 a.m.

VIRGINIA POLYTECHNIC INSTITUTE AND STATE
UNIVERSITY

Final Regulation

Parking and Traffic Operational Manual, 2021-22 Academic
Year, Volume 29, Transportation Services, Virginia Tech (rev.

7/2021)

VA.R. Doc. No. R22-6932; Filed August 23, 2021, 12:46 p.m.

* *

TITLE 10. FINANCE AND FINANCIAL
INSTITUTIONS

STATE CORPORATION COMMISSION

Final Regulation

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: Virginia Polytechnic Institute and
State University is claiming an exemption from the
Administrative Process Act in accordance with § 2.2-4002 A 6
of the Code of Virginia, which exempts educational
institutions operated by the Commonwealth.

Title of Regulation: 8VAC105-11. Parking and Traffic
(amending 8VAC105-11-10).

Statutory Authority: § 23.1 -1301 of the Code of Virginia.
Effective Date: August 30, 2021.

Agency Contact: Lori Buchanan, Business Services Specialist,
Office of the Vice President for Policy and Governance,
Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University, 319
Burruss Hall, Blacksburg, VA 24061, telephone (540) 231-
9512, or email lorib90@vt.edu.

Summary:

The amendment updates the university's parking regulations
to reflect revised parking and traffic procedures.

8VAC105-11-10. Definitions.

The following words and terms when used in this chapter
shall have the following meanings unless the context clearly
indicates otherwise:

"Parking and Traffic Procedures” means the Parking and
Traffic Operational Manual, 2020-2% 2021-22 Academic Year,
Volume 28 29, Virginia Tech Transportation Services, revised
July 2020 2021.

"Virginia Tech” means Virginia Polytechnic Institute and
State University.

"University owned or leased property” means any property
owned, leased, or controlled by Virginia Tech.
DOCUMENTS INCORPORATED BY REFERENCE
(8VAC105-11)

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The State Corporation Commission
is claiming an exemption from the Administrative Process Act
in accordance with § 2.2-4002 A 2 of the Code of Virginia,
which exempts courts, any agency of the Supreme Court, and
any agency that by the Constitution is expressly granted any of
the powers of a court of record.

Title of Regulation: 10VAC5-210. Motor Vehicle Title
Lending (amending 10VAC5-210-10 through 10VACS5-
210-95).

Statutory Authority: 8§88 6.2-2214 and 12.1-13 of the Code of
Virginia.

Effective Date: September 15, 2021.

Agency Contact: Dustin Physioc, Deputy Commissioner,
Bureau of Financial Institutions, State Corporation
Commission, P.O. Box 640, Richmond, VA 23218-0640,
telephone (804) 786-0831, FAX (804) 371-9416, or email
dustin.physioc@scc.virginia.gov.

Summary:

The amendments conform the regulation to Chapters 1215
and 1258 of the 2020 Acts of Assembly and make technical
changes to the regulation. Specifically, amendments (i)
modify the definitions; (ii) reorganize and update the motor
vehicle title lending pamphlet; (iii) require an applicant's
surety bond be retained in the event that a person's
application for a license is withdrawn or denied; (iv) clarify
that licensees need to continuously maintain the
requirements and standards for licensure prescribed in
§6.2-2206 of the Code of Virginia; (v) remove the
requirement that a licensee provide each prospective
borrower with a separate printed notice before the licensee
furnishes the borrower with a loan application or receives
information relating to loan qualification; (vi) require a
licensee to post the schedule of finance charges and notice
prescribed by subdivision 15 of § 6.2-2215 of the Code of
Virginia on its website as well as in each licensed location;
(vii) update the required contents of the annual report that
licensees are required to furnish to the Commissioner of
Financial Institutions; (viii) establish that if a licensee
performs certain loan functions on or through its website or
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mobile application and any other products or services are
offered or sold to Virginia residents using such website or
mobile application, then the offer or sale of such other
products or services constitutes other business; (ix) impose
specific conditions on the conduct of a check cashing
business from a licensee's motor vehicle title lending offices;
(x) revise the condition that specifically pertains to the
operation of an automated teller machine from a licensee's
motor vehicle title lending offices; (xi) prohibit a licensee
from providing a consumer with an envelope or other written
material that gives the false impression that the mailing or
written material is an official communication from a
governmental entity; (xii) establish that a licensee's
advertisements need to comply with the disclosure
requirements for advertisements that are contained in
Regulation Z (12 CFR Part 1026); (xiii) require a licensee
to maintain copies of any notices or disclosures that the
licensee furnishes to a borrower; and (xiv) eliminate the
annual fee that is currently imposed on companies that are
granted a license between January 1 and September 15 of
the year of the assessment.

Changes to the proposed regulation include the following:
(i) adding a definition for the terms "open-end credit" and
"open-end credit plan;" (ii) amending the posting
requirement to also be applicable to licensees that operate
over the Internet; (iii) prohibiting licensee from making a
motor vehicle title loan to a person who has an outstanding
motor vehicle title loan from another licensee; (iv) requiring
a licensee to include a question in its loan application about
whether an applicant currently has a motor vehicle title loan
from any other motor vehicle title lender; and (v) requiring
a licensee to include in its annual report the average number
of days that a motor vehicle title loan was outstanding.

AT RICHMOND, AUGUST 24, 2021

COMMONWEALTH OF VIRGINIA, ex rel.
STATE CORPORATION COMMISSION

CASE NO. BFI-2021-00001

Ex Parte: In the matter of Adopting
Revisions to the Regulations Governing
Motor Vehicle Title Lending

ORDER ADOPTING REGULATIONS

On January 11, 2021, the State Corporation Commission
("Commission™) entered an Order to Take Notice of a proposal
by the Bureau of Financial Institutions ("Bureau™) to amend
the Commission's regulations governing motor vehicle title
lending under Chapter 22 (8§ 6.2-2200 et seq.) of Title 6.2 of
the Code of Virginia ("Chapter 22"), which are set forth in
Chapter 210 of Title 10 of the Virginia Administrative Code
("Chapter 210"). The Bureau submitted the proposed
amendments to the Commission because Chapters 1215 and
1258 of the 2020 Virginia Acts of Assembly (“Chapters 1215

and 1258") made extensive revisions to Chapter 22 that
became effective on January 1, 2021. The proposed regulations
sought to align Chapter 210 with the revisions effected by
Chapters 1215 and 1258, as well as clarify certain aspects of
the legislation. The Bureau also proposed other technical
changes and revisions, which are summarized in the
Commission's Order to Take Notice.

The Order to Take Notice and the proposed regulations were
published in the Virginia Register of Regulations on February
1, 2021, posted on the Commission's website, and sent to all
Chapter 22 licensees and other interested persons. The Order
to Take Notice invited all interested persons to participate and
required that any comments or requests for a hearing on the
proposed regulations be submitted in writing on or before
February 12, 2021.

Comments on the proposed regulations were timely filed by
the Office of the Attorney General, The Pew Charitable Trusts,
and the Virginia Poverty Law Center. The Commission did not
receive any requests for a hearing.

The Bureau considered the comments filed and responded to
them in its Response to Comments ("Response”), which the
Bureau filed with the Clerk of the Commission on May 11,
2021. In its Response, the Bureau recommended that the
Commission further amend various sections of the proposed
regulations.

NOW THE COMMISSION, having considered this matter,
finds that the proposed regulations should be modified to
incorporate the specific changes the Bureau recommended in
its Response, and that the modified proposed regulations
should be adopted effective September 15, 2021. The
Commission expresses appreciation to those who submitted
written comments.

Accordingly, IT IS ORDERED THAT:

(1) The proposed regulations, as modified herein and attached
hereto, are adopted effective September 15, 2021.

(2) This Order and the attached regulations shall be made
available on the Commission's website:
scc.virginia.gov/pages/Case-Information.

(3) The Commission's Division of Information Resources
shall provide a copy of this Order and the regulations to the
Virginia Registrar of Regulations for appropriate publication
in the Virginia Register of Regulations.

(4) This case is dismissed, and the papers filed herein shall be
placed in the Commission's file for ended causes.

A COPY of this Order and the attached regulations shall be
sent by the Clerk of the Commission to the Commission's
Office of General Counsel and to the Commissioner of
Financial Institutions, who shall send by e-mail or U.S. mail a
copy of this Order and the attached regulations to all Chapter
22 licensees, those persons who submitted comments in this
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proceeding, and such other interested persons as he may
designate.

10VAC5-210-10. Definitions.

A. The following words and terms when used in this chapter
shall have the following meanings unless the context clearly
indicates otherwise:

"Act" means Chapter 22 (§ 6.2-2200 et seq.) of Title 6.2 of
the Code of Virginia.

"Advertisement" for purposes of the Act and this chapter
means a commercial message in any medium that promotes,
directly or indirectly, a motor vehicle title loan. The term
includes a communication sent to a consumer as part of a
solicitation of business, but excludes messages on promotional
items such as pens, pencils, notepads, hats, and calendars;-ete.

"Business day" for purposes of the Act and this chapter means
a day on which the licensee's—office licensee is open—for
busi irod | | . :

210-50 able to make loans pursuant to the Act.

Heans-an exact-copy-of-a-sigt _eel OHgH ah-an e;sae.t G.gp% wit
SigRattiFes-6 eate_el By tle_sa_ el H plessm. as-the-original-oran

"Good funds instrument" for purposes of the Act and this
chapter means a certified check, cashier's check, money order
or, if the licensee is equipped to handle and willing to accept
such payments, payment effected by use of a credit card,
prepaid card, o debit card, or the Automated Clearing House

system.

"Liquid assets" for purposes of the Act and this chapter means
eash funds held in a checking account or savings account at a
depository institutions institution, money market funds,
commercial paper, and treasury bills.

[ "Open-end credit" or "open-end credit plan" shall have the
meaning set forth in § 6.2-300 of the Code of Virginia. ]

"Prepaid card" means a card with a network logo (e.g., Visa,
MasterCard, American Express, or Discover) that is used by a
cardholder to access money that has been loaded onto the card
in advance.

B. Other terms used in this chapter shall have the meanings
set forth in § 6.2-100 or 6.2-2200 of the Aet Code of Virginia.

10VAC5-210-20. Requirements for licensees; reporting
requirements; acquisitions.

A. A licensee shall maintain in its own name unencumbered

liquid assets per approved place of business in-\Mirginia of at
least $75,000 at all times.

1. The minimum liquid assets required to be maintained
pursuant to this subsection shall be separate and apart from,
and in addition to, any minimum liquid assets that the
licensee is required to maintain in connection with any other
business conducted in the same office.

2. A licensee shall upon request by the bureau submit proof
that it is complying with the provisions of this subsection.

B. After receiving its license from the commission, a licensee
shall give written notice to the bureau [ ef-its-commencement
of-business ] within 10 days [ thereafter after it commences
business ].

C. Within 15 days following the occurrence of any of the
following events, a licensee shall file a written report with the
commissioner describing the event and its expected impact, if
any, on the activities of the licensee in-\irginia:

1. Bankruptcy, reorganization, or receivership proceedings
are filed by or against the licensee.

2. The Attorney General or any other Virginia governmental
authority institutes an action against the licensee under the
Virginia Consumer Protection Act (8§ 59.1-196 et seq. of the
Code of Virginia).

3. Any local, state, or federal governmental authority
institutes  revocation, suspension, or other formal
administrative, regulatory, or enforcement proceedings
against the licensee.

4. Any local, state, or federal governmental authority (i)
revokes or suspends the licensee's motor vehicle title lender
license, title pawn license, or similar license; (ii) takes
formal administrative, regulatory, or enforcement action
against the licensee relating to its motor vehicle title lending,
title pawn, or similar business; or (iii) takes any other action
against the licensee relating to its motor vehicle title lending,
title pawn, or similar business where the total amount of
restitution or other payment from the licensee exceeds
$20,000. A licensee shall not be required to provide the
commissioner with information about such event to the
extent that such disclosure is prohibited by the laws of
another state.

5. Based on allegations by any local, state, or federal
governmental authority that the licensee violated any law or
regulation applicable to the conduct of its licensed motor
vehicle title lending, title pawn, or similar business, the
licensee enters into, or otherwise agrees to the entry of, a
settlement or consent order, decree, or agreement with or by
such governmental authority.
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6. The licensee surrenders its license to engage in motor
vehicle title lending, title pawn, or similar business in
another state in lieu of threatened or pending license
revocation, license suspension, or other administrative,
regulatory, or enforcement action.

7. The licensee is denied a license to engage in motor vehicle
title lending, title pawn, or similar business in another state.

8. The licensee or any of its members, partners, directors,
officers, principals, or employees is indicted or convicted of
a felony.

D. Any person submitting an application to acquire, directly
or indirectly, 25% or more of the voting shares of a corporation
or 25% or more of the ownership of any other person licensed
to conduct business under the Act shall pay a nonrefundable
application fee of $500.

E. If a person has filed a bond with the bureau, as required by
8§ 6.2-2204 of the Code of Virginia, such bond shall be retained
by the bureau notwithstanding the occurrence of any of the
following events:

1. The person's license is surrendered, suspended, or
revoked; of

2. The person ceases making motor vehicle title loans; or

3. The person's application for a license is withdrawn or
denied.

F. Within-30 A licensee or former licensee shall provide the
following information to the bureau within 10 days after a such
person's license is surrendered or revoked;-the-formerlicensee
shallprovide—thebureau—with or the licensed business is
otherwise closed: (i) the rame names, address addresses, email
addresses, and telephone number numbers of a designated
contact person and the person who consumers may contact to
make payment arrangements for outstanding motor vehicle
title loans; (ii) the location of the licensee's or former licensee's
motor vehicle title loan records; and (iii) any additional
information that the bureau may reasonably require. A licensee
or former licensee shall maintain current information with the
bureau until the licensee or former licensee has no outstanding
motor vehicle title loans.

G. A person shall remain subject to the provisions of the Act
and this chapter applicable to licensees in connection with all
motor vehicle title loans that the person made while licensed
as a motor vehicle title lender notwithstanding the occurrence
of any of the following events:

1. The person's license is surrendered, suspended, or
revoked; or

2. The person ceases making motor vehicle title loans.

H. Loans made pursuant to the Act prior to January 1, 2021,
that remain outstanding on or after January 1, 2021, may be
collected in accordance with the preexisting terms of the loan

contracts provided that such terms were permitted by law when
the loans were made.

I. A licensee shall continuously maintain the requirements
and standards for licensure prescribed in § 6.2-2206 of the

Code of Virginia.

10VAC5-210-30. Netice—and Motor vehicle title lending
pamphlet.

A. Prior—to-furnishing—a—prospective-borrower—with-a—lea

application—or—receiving—any—formation—relating—to—loan
guakification—a A licensee shall provide the—prespective
borrower each applicant for a motor vehicle title loan with ()}

; - lies wi 1o B of thi ioh:
and{i) a borrower—rights—and-respensibilities pamphlet that

complies with subsections C and D of this section.

dated—by—eaeh—ppespeewe—bermwer— The end of each

application form shall contain a separate acknowledgment

shal-state stating the following: "I acknowledge that | have
received a-copy-ofthisnetice-and the pamphlet entitled "Motor

Vehicle Title Lending in the Commonwealth of Virginia -
Borrower Rights and Responsibilities." 3—A-duplicate-original
of the-acknowledged-notice-shall-be-kept-by-a-Hicensee-in-the
sepal_a_te I|I_e aintained-with-respect to-the-loan Ie.' E.I € pe'_r'ehde
acknowledgment shall be initialed and dated by each applicant
for a motor vehicle title loan.

C. The berrewerrights-and-responsibilities pamphlet shall be

printed in at least 12-point type and be separate from all other
papers, documents, or notices obtained or furnished by the
licensee. The pamphlet shall contain the exact language
prescribed in subsection D of this section. A licensee shall not
modify or supplement the required text of the pamphlet. The
title of the pamphlet ("Motor Vehicle Title Lending in the
Commonwealth of Virginia - Borrower Rights and
Responsibilities™) and the headings for the individual sections
of the pamphlet (e.g., "In General," "Netice Information from
Lender," etc.) shall be printed in bold type.
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D. The required text of the borrower—rights—and
responsibilities pamphlet shall be as follows:
MOTOR VEHICLE TITLE LENDING IN THE
COMMONWEALTH OF VIRGINIA

BORROWER RIGHTS AND RESPONSIBILITIES

Please take the time to carefully review the information
contained in this pamphlet. It is designed to advise you of your
rights and responsibilities in connection with obtaining a motor
vehicle title loan in-Mirginia under Chapter 22 (8 6.2-2200 et
seq.) of Title 6.2 of the Code of Virginia.

If you have any questions about motor vehicle title lending or
want additional information, you may contact the Virginia
State Corporation Commission's Bureau of Financial
Institutions toll-free at (800) 552-7945 or en-thetnternet at
http-Hanarnssee-virginia-gev/bfi scc.virginia.gov.

In General: You are responsible for evaluating whether a
motor vehicle title loan is right for you. Alternatives may
include among other things less expensive short-term
financing from another financial institution, family, [ ef ]
friends, [ or ] a cash advance on a credit card [ -oran-account

vmheveﬁdmﬁ—meteenen]

Information from Lender: Virginia law prohibits a motor
vehicle title lender from providing you with any false,
misleading, or deceptive information.

Prohibition on Obtaining Loan if Motor Vehicle has
Existing Lien / One Loan at a Time: Virginia law prohibits a
motor vehicle title lender from making a motor vehicle title
loan to you if (i) your certificate of title indicates that your
motor vehicle is security for another loan or has an existing
lien; eF (ii) you currently have another motor vehicle title loan
from either-the-same-moter—vehicle-title-lender-or any other
motor vehicle title lender conducting a motor vehicle title
lending business #n-\irginia; or (iii) you currently have a short-
term loan from any lender that is licensed to make this type of
loan under Chapter 18 (§ 6.2-1800 et seq.) of Title 6.2 of the

Code of Virginia.

Verification of Income: Before making a motor vehicle title
loan to you, a lender must make a reasonable attempt to verify
and document your income.

Prohibition on Loans to Covered Members of the Armed
Forces and their Dependents: Virginia law prohibits a motor
vehicle title lender from making motor vehicle title loans to
covered members of the armed forces and their dependents. If
you are (i) on active duty under a call or order that does not
specify a period of 30 days or less; or (ii) on active guard and
reserve duty, then you are a covered member of the armed
forces and a motor vehicle title lender is prohibited from
making a motor vehicle title loan to you. A motor vehicle title
lender is also prohibited from making a motor vehicle title loan
to you if (i) you are married to a covered member of the armed
forces; (ii) you are the child, as defined in 38 USC § 101(4), of
a covered member of the armed forces; or (iii) more than one-
half of your support during the past 180 days was provided by
a covered member of the armed forces.

Certificate of Title / Other Security Interests: Prior to
obtaining a motor vehicle title loan, you will be required to
give a motor vehicle title lender the certificate of title for your
motor vehicle. The motor vehicle title lender is required to
record its lien with the motor vehicle department in the state
where your motor vehicle is registered and hold the certificate
of title until your loan is repaid or satisfied in full. The motor
vehicle title lender cannot take an interest in more than one
motor vehicle as security for a motor vehicle title loan. Apart
from your motor vehicle and any accessories that are attached
to it, the motor vehicle title lender cannot take an interest in
any other property you own as security for a motor vehicle title
loan.

Maximum Loan Amount: A motor vehicle title lender cannot
loan you more than 50%-of the fairmarketvalue-ofyyourmeotor
vehicle—Thefai—marketvalue-is-generaly-based-on-the-loan
o f el ; ed prici

guide $2,500.

Minimum and Maximum Loan Term / Monthly Payments:
Under Virginia law, your loan term cannot be eitherless-than
120-days—or more than 42 24 months. Your loan term also
cannot be less than six months unless your total monthly
payment will not exceed the greater of (i) 5.0% of your verified
gross monthly income or (ii) 6.0% of your verified net monthly
income. Your motor vehicle title loan will be repayable in
substantially equal monthly installments of principal, fees, and
interest combined. Hewever-ifyou-havealongerfirstpayment
period—yourfirst-monthlhypayment-may-be-larger-than-your
remaining-monthhy payments:

Interest, Fees, and Other—toean—Ceosts Charges: Fhe

folowing—are—the—maximum—interestrates—that-a A motor
vehicle title lender is permitted to charge you PER—MQN—'FH

te—and—mel%ng%l@@ mterest at a snmple annual rate not to
exceed 36%; and (ii) %%—p%men%h—en—the—peﬁ&en—ef—the
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e iclo_title_| is_allowed

interest—using—a—single—blended—interest—rate—H—the—initial
principal-s-higherthan-$700 a monthly maintenance fee that

does not exceed the lesser of $15 or 8.0% of your originally
contracted loan amount, provided that the maintenance fee is
not added to your loan balance on which interest is charged. In
addition to interest and the monthly maintenance fee, a motor
vehicle title lender may charge you for-the—actual-cost—of
e ite . hicl )
where-your-motorvehicle-isregistered a deposit item return fee

for the actual amount incurred by the motor vehicle title lender,
not to exceed $25, if your check or electronic payment is
returned unpaid because the account on which it was drawn
was closed by you or contained insufficient funds, or you
stopped payment on the check or electronic payment.

If you make a payment more than seven calendar days after its
due date, a motor vehicle title lender may impose a late charge
of up to five-percent 5.0% of the amount of the payment, but
not to exceed $20.

Note that if your originally contracted loan amount is $1,500
or less, a motor vehicle title lender cannot charge or receive
from you a total amount of fees and charges greater than 50%
of your loan amount. If your loan amount is more than $1,500,
the total amount of fees and charges cannot exceed 60% of
your loan amount.

A motor vehicle title lender is prohibited from accruing or
charging you interest on or after (i) the date the motor vehicle
title lender or a person acting on behalf of the lender
repossesses your motor vehicle; or (ii) 60 days after you fail to
make a monthly payment on your loan, unless you are hiding
your motor vehicle.

Other than interest and the costs specifically mentioned in this
section and the section below ("Costs of Repossession and
Sale™), no additional amounts may be directly—orindirectly
charged, eentracted-for; collected, or received;-errecovered by
a motor vehicle title lender.

The interest, fees, and charges mentioned in this section may
not be charged, collected, or received unless they are included
in your written loan agreement.

Costs of Repossession and Sale: A motor vehicle title lender
may charge you for any reasonable costs that it incurs in
repossessing—preparing-forsale; and selling your motor vehicle
if (i) you default on your motor vehicle title loan; (ii) the motor
vehicle title lender sends you a written notice at least 10 days
prior to repossession advising you that your motor vehicle title
loan is in default and that your motor vehicle may be
repossessed unless you pay the outstanding principal and
interest; and (iii) you fail to pay the amount owed prior to the
date of repossession. However, the total amount charged to you
for the repossession and sale of your motor vehicle cannot
exceed 5.0% of your originally contracted loan amount. A
motor vehicle title lender is prohibited from charging you for
any storage costs if the motor vehicle title lender takes
possession of your motor vehicle.

Written Loan Agreement: A motor vehicle title lender must
provide you with a written loan agreement, which must be
signed by both you and an authorized representative of the
motor vehicle title lender. Your motor vehicle title loan
agreement is a binding, legal document that requires you to
repay your loan. Make sure you read the entire loan agreement
carefully before signing and dating it. A motor vehicle title
lender must provide you with a duplicate-eriginal copy of your

signed loan agreement at-the-time-you-sign-t. If any provision
of your loan agreement violates Chapter 22 (§ 6.2-2200 et seq.)

of Title 6.2 of the Code of Virginia, the provision will not be
enforceable against you.

Property Insurance: A motor vehicle title lender may require
you to purchase or maintain property insurance for your motor
vehicle. However, a motor vehicle title lender cannot require
you to purchase or maintain property insurance from or
through a partlcular prowder or list of prowders

Authority
to Prepare Checks / Electronic Payments / Obtaining PINSs:
A motor vehlcle tltle Iender is prohlblted from eleetre«meemy

by—e#eetrem&means—'llHendeste%annet—eb@n btalnlng

any agreement from you that gives the lender or a third party
the authority to prepare a check that is drawn upon your deposit
account. If the motor vehicle title lender is equipped to handle
and willing to accept such payments, you may make a payment
on your loan by using a credit card, prepaid card, ef debit card,
or the Automated Clearing House system. However, the lender

is prohibited from obtaining or receiving a personal
identification number (PIN) for a credit card, prepaid card,
debit card, or any other type of card in connection with your
loan. If you have authorized electronic payments for your loan,
you have the right to remove your authorization at any time.

Loan Proceeds: You will receive your loan proceeds in the
form of (i) cash; (ii) a check from the motor vehicle title lender;
or (iii) a debit card. If you receive a check, the motor vehicle
title lender or an affiliate of the lender is prohibited from
charging you a fee for cashing the check. Similarly, a check
casher located in the same office as the motor vehicle title
lender is prohibited from charging you a fee for cashing the
motor vehicle title lender's check. If you receive a debit card,
the motor vehicle title lender is prohibited from charging you
an additional fee when you withdraw or use the loan proceeds.

From e gaging h-any otne BiisiResses s motor vehicle E.'“e
toan sl_lle_es H.' tess per e d by_ orderof tl_e State se|_pe.|a|;|e '
co IFSSIGI ’I(I'“ otor vehicle tltleﬁle_ der-is-also pro |b.|teel by
Using Motor Vehicle Title Loan to Purchase Products or
Services [ erRepay-OtherLoans |. A-moter—vehicletitle

lender-is You are prohibited from making-yeu-a using any of
the money from your motor vehicle title loan se-that-yeu-can

to purchase another product or service sold (i) at the motor
vehicle title lender's business location, or (ii) on or through the
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motor vehicle title lender's website or mobile application. A

loan is made by the same motor vehicle title lender (i.e., the

Rotorvehicle-title lender is-also prohibited from making-you &
Rotor vehicle title oan-so-that you-can repay another loan you
Iﬁlaf'yl' 'a"EF from-oither U el _|g|te|| "el u.ele title—ender—or—a

Right to Cancel or Rescind: You have the right to cancel or
rescind your motor vehicle title loan at any time prior to the
clese 5 p.m. of the third business en-the-next day the-metor
vehicle title-lender-is-open immediately following the date-yeur
day you entered into the loan is—made agreement by either
returning the eriginal loan proceeds check or paying the motor
vehicle title lender the amount advanced to you in cash or by
certified check, cashier's check, money order or, if the motor
vehicle title lender is equipped to handle and willing to accept
such payments, by using a credit card, prepaid card, er debit
card, or the Automated Clearing House system. If you timely
cancel or rescind your motor vehicle title loan, the motor
vehicle title lender must mark your original loan agreement
with the word "canceled" and return it to you along with your
certificate of title.

Cash—Payments / Partial Payments / Prepayments /
Refinancing: You are permitted to make payments on your
motor vehicle title loan by cash, certified check, cashier's
check, money order, or if the motor vehicle title lender is
equipped to handle and willing to accept such payments, by
using a credit card, prepaid card, debit card, or the Automated
Clearing House system. You have the right to receive a sigred;
dated receipt for each eash payment made inpersenwhich-will
shew-the along with a statement of the balance remaining on
your motor vehicle title loan.

Additionally, you have the right to make a partial payment on
your motor vehicle title loan at any time prior to is-specified
due the maturity date of the loan without penalty. However, a
motor vehicle title lender may apply a partial payment first to
any amounts that are due and unpaid at the time of such
payment. If your motor vehicle title loan is current, a partial
payment will reduce your outstanding balance as-wel-as-the
tetal—&m@&ﬂt—@f—mst—th&t—y@H—\Aﬁ%@—F@q&Hﬁd—t@—pﬁy- i i .

You also have the right to prepay your motor vehicle title loan
in full before its specified maturity date without penalty by
paying the motor vehicle title lender the total outstanding
balance on your loan, including any acerued—and—unpaid
interest and ethercharges fees that you may owe on your motor
vehicle title loan. If you prepay your loan in full or your loan
is refinanced with another motor vehicle title loan, the motor
vehicle title lender must refund to you a prorated portion of
loan charges, except for any deposit item return fees and late
charges, based on a ratio of the number of days the loan was
outstanding and the number of days for which the loan was
originally contracted. The lender must provide you with the
refund in the form of cash or a check [ as soon as reasonably
possible and ] no later than two business days after you prepay
your loan in full or your loan is refinanced. Your loan may be
refinanced with another motor vehicle title loan only if the new

lender who made the loan that you are currently obligated to
repay).

Lender to Return Original Loan Agreement and
Certificate of Title: Within 10 days after the date that you
repay your motor vehicle title loan in full, the motor vehicle
title lender must (i) mark your original loan agreement with the
word "paid" or "canceled" and return it to you; (ii) take any
action necessary to reflectthe-termination-of terminate its lien
on your motor vehicle's certificate of title; and (iii) return the
certificate of title to you. If you have any questions or concerns
regarding your certificate of title, you should contact the motor
vehicle department in the state where your motor vehicle is
registered.

Failure to Repay: Pay back your motor vehicle title loan!
Know when your payments are due and be sure to repay your
motor vehicle title loan on time and in full. IF YOU DO NOT
REPAY YOUR MOTOR VEHICLE TITLE LOAN IN
ACCORDANCE WITH YOUR LOAN AGREEMENT, THE
MOTOR VEHICLE TITLE LENDER MAY REPOSSESS
AND SELL YOUR MOTOR VEHICLE (see section below on
"Repossession and Sale of your Motor Vehicle™).

In general, a motor vehicle title lender cannot seek a personal
money judgment against you if you fail to pay any amount
owed in accordance with your loan agreement. However, a
motor vehicle title lender may seek a personal money judgment
against you if you impair the motor vehicle title lender's
security interest by (i) intentionally damaging or destroying
your motor vehicle; (ii) intentionally hiding your motor
vehicle; (iii) giving the motor vehicle title lender a lien on a
motor vehicle that has an undisclosed prior lien; (iv) selling
your motor vehicle without the motor vehicle title lender's
written consent; or (v) securing another loan or obligation with
a security interest in your motor vehicle without the motor
vehicle title lender's written consent.

In collecting or attempting to collect a motor vehicle title loan,
a motor vehicle title lender is required to comply with the
restrictions and prohibitions applicable to debt collectors
contained in the Fair Debt Collection Practices Act, 15 USC
81692 et seq., regarding harassment or abuse; false,
misleading or deceptive statements or representations; and
unfair practices in collections. A motor vehicle title lender is
also prohibited from threatening or beginning criminal
proceedings against you if you fail to pay any amount owed in
accordance with your loan agreement.

Repossession and Sale of your Motor Vehicle: If you do not
repay your motor vehicle title loan in accordance with your
loan agreement, the motor vehicle title lender may repossess
and sell your motor vehicle in order to recover any outstanding
amounts that you owe.
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If a motor vehicle title lender repossesses your motor vehicle,
the motor vehicle title lender must (i) allow you to recover any
personal items from your motor vehicle promptly and at no
cost, and (ii) send you a written notice at least 15 days prior to
the sale of your motor vehicle. The notice will contain (i) the
date and time after which your motor vehicle may be sold; and
(ii) a written accounting of the redemption amount, which is
the sum of the outstanding balance on your motor vehicle title
loan, the amount of interest accrued through the date the motor
vehicle title lender took possession of your motor vehicle, and
any reasonable costs incurred to date by the motor vehicle title
lender in connection with repossessing;preparing-forsale; and
selling your motor vehicle. At any time prior to the sale of your
motor vehicle, you may obtain your motor vehicle by paying
the motor vehicle title lender the total amount specified in the
notice. Payment must be made in cash or by certified check,
cashier's check, money order or, if the motor vehicle title
lender is equipped to handle and willing to accept such
payments, by using a credit card, prepaid card, e+ debit card,
or the Automated Clearing House system.

Within 30 10 days of a motor vehicle title lender receiving
funds from the sale of your motor vehicle, you are entitled to

receive any-surplus all proceeds from the sale in excess of the
sumeﬁheie”ewmg—@%heeeﬁst&r%@balane&enye%meter

redemption amount specified in the notice that the motor
vehicle title lender sent you prior to selling your motor vehicle
title-loan-through-the-date. However, the motor vehicle title
lender repossessed-your-metorvehicler-and-{(i) may reduce the

amount that you receive by any additional reasonable costs
incurred by the motor vehicle title lender in repossessing;

preparingforsale; and selling your motor vehicle that were not
included in the redemption amount.

See section above on "Costs of Repossession and Sale" for
additional information regarding the conditions that must be
met in—erder for a motor vehicle title lender to collect the

reasonable costs of repossessing-preparing-forsale; and selling
your motor vehicle.

Vielation-of-the\irginia-Consumer—Protection-Act Legal

Action Against Lender: You have the right to bring a civil
action against a motor vehicle lender if you suffer a loss as a
result of the motor vehicle title lender violating any provision
of Chapter 22 (8 6.2-2200 et seq.) of Title 6.2 of the Code of
Virginia. If you are successful in your civil action, you have
the right to be reimbursed for reasonable attorney fees, expert
witness fees, and court costs you have incurred in connection
with your civil action. Losses suffered as the result of a motor
vehicle title lender's violation of Chapter 22 {§-6-2-2200-et
seg-) of Title 6.2 of the Code of Virginia may also be pursued
under the Virginia Consumer Protection Act (8§ 59.1-196 et seq.
of the Code of Virginia), which in some cases permits
consumers to recover actual and punitive damages.

Complaints and Contacting the Bureau of Financial
Institutions: For assistance with any complaints you may have

against a motor vehicle title lender, please contact the Bureau
of Financial Institutions toll-free at (800) 552-7945 or en-the

Internet at hitpHwwanssee-virginia-gov/bfi scc.virginia.gov.

Complaints must be filed in writing with the Bureau of

Financial Instltutlons—Gemplalms—shebud—be—Fnalerd—te—the

and include copies of supporting documentation.

10VAC5-210-40. Posting of and contact

information for complaints.

charges

Licensees shall conspicuously post in each licensed location
and on their websites the schedule of finance charges and
notice required by subdivision 34 15 of § 6.2-2215 of the Code
of Virginia in accordance with the provisions of this section.

A. The minimum size for the poster in licensed locations shall
be 24 inches by 18 inches.

B. The title for the schedule of finance charges, which shall
be printed or displayed in at-least-48-point bold type, shall be
"SCHEDULE OF FINANCE CHARGES FOR MOTOR
VEHICLE TITLE LOANS." The title for the notice, which

shall also be printed or displayed in atleast48-peint bold type,
shall be "HOW TO FILE A COMPLAINT AGAINST US."

C. The schedule of finance charges and notice shall be printed
or displayed in at-least24-peint bold type.

D. The notice shall contain the following statement: "Should
you wish to file a complaint against us, you may contact the
Virginia Bureau of Financial Institutions at (800) 552-7945 or

enJehe—m{emetathttp#wmw—sewrgmwrge\#bﬁ—Gemplam%s

scc.virginia.gov."

10VAC5-210-50. Additional business requirements and
restrictions.

A icinal li Iy inentl .
B- A licensee shall post [ on its website, and ] in or on its

licensed locations [ so that the posting is legible from the
outside, ] the days and hours during which it is open for

business [ so-that-the-posting-is-legible-from-outside .

C. B. A licensee shall endeavor to provide the loan
documents;-printed-netice; and pamphlet required by 10VAC5-
210-30; in a language other than English when a prospective
borrower is unable to read the materials printed in English.

B- C. Alicensee shall not [ (i) make a motor vehicle title loan
to a person who has an outstanding motor vehicle title loan
from another licensee or (ii) ] knowingly make a motor vehicle
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title loan to {H-a-person-who-has-an-outstanding-metor-vehicle

covered member of the armed forces;, or £} a dependent of a
covered member of the armed forces. To enable a licensee to
make [ these determinations | and-the [ this-determination | in
subsection——of-this—section, a licensee shall clearly and
conspicuously include the following questions in its written
loan application, which the licensee shall require each
applicant to answer before obtaining a motor vehicle title loan.
A licensee shall not make a motor vehicle title loan to an
applicant unless the applicant answers "no" to all of these
questions:

1. [ Do you currently have a motor vehicle title loan from
any other motor vehicle title lender? ]

2 I’ N Ial ¥ EI"'I'E tgdﬁ dich-you-Fepay gl i slatls_ I? Ill full a; Fotol
3- [ 2.] Are you (i) on active duty in the armed forces under
a call or order that does not specify a period of 30 days or
less, or (ii) on active guard and reserve duty?

4. [ 2 3.] Are you married to an individual who is either (i)
on active duty in the armed forces under a call or order that
does not specify a period of 30 days or less, or (ii) on active
guard and reserve duty?

5.[3:4.] Are you the child, as defined in 38 USC § 101(4),
of an individual who is either (i) on active duty in the armed
forces under a call or order that does not specify a period of
30 days or less, or (ii) on active guard and reserve duty?

6- [ 4 5. ] Was more than one-half of your support during
the past 180 days provided by an individual who is either (i)
on active duty in the armed forces under a call or order that
does not specify a period of 30 days or less, or (ii) on active
guard and reserve duty?

E: D. A licensee shall not require a borrower to purchase or
maintain property insurance for a motor vehicle from or
through a particular provider or list of providers.

bfl e'.ee“g HE—MEaRS I"’EIIHd" g+ |eF usle of tIFe ’, .ulte ate'd
check-conversions;-orre-presented-check-entries;-er(i) obtain
any agreement from a borrower that gives the licensee or a
third party the authority to create or otherwise prepare a check
that is drawn upon the borrower's account at a depository
institution. This-subsection-shal-not-be-construed-to-prohibita
Heensee—from—accepting—a—payment—rade—by—good—funds
instrtment:

L F. Ifalicensee disburses loan proceeds by means of a check,
the licensee shall not (i) charge the borrower a fee for cashing
the check or (ii) permit either a check casher located in the
same office as the licensee or any affiliated check casher to
charge the borrower a fee for cashing the check.

& G. A borrower shall have the right to cancel or rescind a
motor vehicle title loan agreement at any time on or before 5
p.m. of the elese—of third business en-the-next-business day
immediately following the date that the loan agreement is
executed by the borrower by returning the original loan
proceeds check or paying to the licensee, in the form of cash
or good funds instrument, the principal amount advanced to the
borrower. If a borrower cancels or rescinds a loan agreement
in accordance with this subsection, the licensee shall upon
receipt of the loan proceeds check, cash, or good funds
instrument (i) mark the original loan agreement with the word
"canceled," return it to the borrower, and retain a copy in its
records; and (ii) return the certificate of title to the borrower.
Furthermore, the licensee shall not be entitled to charge,
contractfor; collect, receive, recover, or require a borrower to
pay any interest, fees, or other amounts otherwise permitted by
§ 6.2-2216 of the Code of Virginia.

K= H. A licensee shall give a borrower a sigred; dated receipt
for each eash payment made in-persen, which shall state the
updated balance due on the loan.

M- 1. A licensee shall release its security interest and perform
the following acts within 10 days after the date that a
borrower's obligations under a motor vehicle title loan
agreement are satisfied in full: (i) mark the original loan

agreement with the word "paid" or "canceled," return it to the
borrower, and retain a copy in its records; (ii) take any action
necessary to reflect the termination of its lien on the motor
vehicle's certificate of title; and (iii) return the certificate of
title to the borrower.

N: J. When sending the written notices and accounting
specified by subsection 19 of § 6.2-2215 and § 6.2-2217 of the
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Code of Virginia, a licensee shall obtain proof of mailing from
the United States Postal Service or other common carrier.

O- K. A licensee may impose a late charge for failure to make
timely payment of any amount due under a motor vehicle title
loan agreement provided that (i) the late charge is specified in
the loan agreement and (ii) the amount of the late charge does
not exceed the lesser of $20 or 5.0% of the amount of the
payment. A payment shall be considered to-be timely if it is
made no later than seven calendar days after the due date
specified in the loan agreement.

P L. Nothing in the Act or this chapter shall be construed to
prohibit a licensee from (i) voluntarily accepting a payment on
an outstanding motor vehicle title loan from a borrower after
the date that such payment was due to the licensee or (ii)
considering a payment to be timely if it is made more than
seven calendar days after its due date. However, except as
otherwise permitted by the Act and this chapter, the licensee
shall not charge, contract—for; collect, receive, recover, or
require a borrower to pay any additional interest, fees, or other
amounts.

Q- M. Pursuant to subdivision-2-of § 6.2-2201 of the Code of
Virginia and—subdivision—17—of8§-6:2-2215-of-the-Code—of
Mirginia, a licensee shall not make a motor vehicle title loan
that has been arranged or brokered by another person. This
provision shall not be construed to prohibit a licensee from
originating motor vehicle title loans through its own
employees.

R- N. A licensee shall not obtain or receive a personal
identification number (PIN) for a credit card, prepaid card,
debit card, or any other type of card in connection with a motor
vehicle title loan transaction.

S O. A licensee shall comply with all federal laws and
regulations applicable to the conduct of its business, including
the Truth in Lending Act (15 USC § 1601 et seq.), Regulation
Z (12 CFR Part 1026), the Equal Credit Opportunity Act (15
USC § 1691 et seq.), Regulation B (12 CFR Part 1002), and
the Standards for Safeguarding Customer Information (16 CFR
Part 314).

F P. A licensee shall not provide any information to a
borrower or prospective borrower that is false, misleading, or
deceptive.

Y- Q. A licensee shall not engage in any business or activity
that directly or indirectly results in an evasion of the provisions
of this chapter.

10VAC5-210-60. Annual reporting requirements.

When making the annual report required by § 6.2-2210 of the
Code of Virginia, in addition to other information required by
the commissioner, a licensee shall provide the following data
regarding motor vehicle title loans made under the Act:

1. The total number and dollar amount of metervehicle-title
loans made by-the-licensee.

2. The total number of individual borrowers to whom meter
vehicle title loans were made by-the licensee.

3. The minimum; and maximumyand-average loan ameunt
of motor-vehicle title-loans-made by the icensee amounts.

4. The minimum, maximum, and average contracted Annual

Percentage Rate-of-motor-vehicle-titleloans-made-by-the
icensee Rates.

5. The minimum, maximum, and average term loan terms (in

days) of -motor-vehicle-title loans-made-by-the licensee [ ,

and the average number of days that a loan was
outstanding ].

6. The total contracted loan charges.

7. The total loan charges paid by borrowers.

8. The total number and dollar amount of deposit item return
fees paid by borrowers.

9. The total number of loans that went into default.

10. The total number of individual borrowers that failed to
make a monthly payment on a metervehicle-title loan for at
least 60 days.

Z 11. The total number of motor vehicles that were
repossessed by or on behalf of the licensee.

12. The total number of motor vehicles that were
surrendered to the licensee.

13. The total number of motor vehicles that were redeemed
by borrowers after being repossessed or surrendered.

8. 14. The total number of repossessed or surrendered motor
vehicles that were sold by or on behalf of the licensee.

15. The total fair market value, as stated in the loan
agreements, of repossessed or surrendered motor vehicles
that were sold by or on behalf of the licensee.

16. The total amount of proceeds the licensee received from
the sale of repossessed or surrendered motor vehicles.

17. The total amount of sale proceeds paid to borrowers
pursuant to subsection C of § 6.2-2217 of the Code of
Virginia.

18. The total amount of charges paid by borrowers for the
repossession and sale of motor vehicles, including charges
the licensee collected or recovered through the proceeds it
received from the sale of repossessed or surrendered motor
vehicles.

19. The total number of charged-off loans and the total dollar
amount charged off.

9. 20. The total number and dollar amount of personal
money judgments against borrowers that were obtained by
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or on behalf of the licensee along with a breakdown of this
tetal these totals that identifies the number and dollar amount

4. Notwithstanding any provision of this section or order
entered by the commission prior to January 1, 2021, the

of judgments the licensee pursued based on each of the
following borrower actions: (i) intentionally damaging or
destroying a motor vehicle that secures a title loan; (ii)
intentionally concealing a motor vehicle that secures a title
loan; (iii) giving the licensee a lien on a motor vehicle that
is already encumbered by an undisclosed prior lien; and (iv)
subsequently giving a security interest in, or selling, a motor
vehicle that secures a title loan to a third party, without the
licensee's written consent.

10VAC5-210-70. Other Conducting other business i
hicle title londi fFices.

A. This section governs the conduct of any business other
than motor vehicle title lending where a licensed motor vehicle
title lending business is conducted. As used in this section, the
term "other business operator" refers to a licensed—moter
vehicle-title-lender licensee or third party, including an affiliate
or subsidiary of the Heensed-metorvehicle title-lender licensee,
who conducts or wants to conduct other business from one or
more motor vehicle title lending offices.

1. Pursuant to subdivision18-of § 6:2-2215 6.2-2218.1 of the
Code of Virginia, a licensee shall not conduct the business
of making motor vehicle title loans at any office, suite, room,
or place of business where any other business is solicited or
conducted, except a registered check cashing business
registered under Chapter 21 (8 6.2-2100 et seq.) of Title 6.2

business of making loans under an open-end credit plan as
described in § 6.2-312 of the Code of Virginia shall not be
conducted from any office, suite, room, or place of business
where a licensed motor vehicle title lending business is
conducted. However, if prior to January 1, 2021, a licensee
received commission authority for an other business
operator to conduct open-end credit business from the
licensee's motor vehicle title lending offices, the other
business operator may continue collecting payments on any
outstanding open-end loans (i) in accordance with the
preexisting terms of the open-end credit agreements
provided that such terms were permitted by law when the
agreements were made, and (ii) subject to the conditions that
were imposed by the commission in its approval order.

5. Notwithstanding any provision of this section or order
entered by the commission prior to January 1, 2021, a
licensee shall not make motor vehicle title loans at the same
location at which the licensee, or any affiliate or owner of
the licensee, conducts business under Chapter 15 (8§ 6.2-
1500 et seq.) of Title 6.2 of the Code of Virginia. However,
if prior to January 1, 2021, a licensee received commission
authority for the licensee or its affiliate or owner to make
consumer finance loans from the licensee's motor vehicle
title lending offices, then the licensee or its affiliate or owner
may continue collecting payments on any outstanding
consumer _finance loans (i) in accordance with the

of the Code of Virginia, a short-term lending business

preexisting terms of the loan contracts provided that such

licensed under Chapter 18 (8§ 6.2-1800 et seq.) of Title 6.2 of

terms were permitted by law when the loans were made, and

the Code of Virginia, or such other business as the
commission determines should be permitted, and subject to
such conditions as the commission deems necessary and in
the public interest.

2. No person shall engage in the business of selling insurance
or enrolling borrowers under group insurance policies from
any office, suite, room, or place of business where a licensed
motor vehicle title lending business is conducted.

3. Pursuant-to-8-6:2-2107-of the Code-of \irginiaho-person
. . | . I hecl I

titleloans- This section shall not apply to any other business
that is transacted solely with persons residing outside of

Virginia.

(ii) subject to the general conditions set forth in subsection
D of this section.

6. If a licensee accepts loan applications, sends or receives
loan-related information or documents, disburses loan funds,
or_accepts loan payments on or through the licensee's
website or mobile application, and any other products or
services are or will be offered or sold to Virginia residents
on or through such website or mobile application, then the
offer or sale of such other products or services shall
constitute the conduct of other business and shall be subject
to all of the provisions of this section to the same extent as
if such other business was conducted by an other business
operator from the licensee's motor vehicle title lending
offices.

B. No other business shall be conducted in a location where a
licensee conducts a motor vehicle title lending business unless
the proposed other business is financial in nature and the
licensee obtains prior approval from the commission.
Applications for approval shall be made in writing on a form
provided by the commissioner, and shall be accompanied by
payment of the a $300 fee required-by-law and any information
relating to the application that the commissioner may require.
In acting upon an application, the commission shall consider
(i) whether the other business operator has the general fitness
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to warrant belief that the business will be operated in
accordance with law; (ii) whether the applicant has been
operating its motor vehicle title lending business in accordance
with the Act and this chapter; and (iii) any other factors that
the commission deems relevant.

1. The commission shall in its discretion determine whether
a proposed other business is "financial in nature," and shall
not be obliged to consider the meaning of this term under
federal law. A business is financial in nature if it primarily
deals with the offering of debt, money or credit, or services
directly related thereto.

2. Prior approval from the commission shall not be required
for a licensee to conduct a motor vehicle title lending
business from one or more locations where an other business
operator will conduct (i) a registered check cashing business
under Chapter 21 (8 6.2-2100 et seq.) of Title 6.2 of the Code
of Virginia, or (ii) a licensed short-term lending business
under Chapter 18 (§ 6.2-1800 et seq.) of Title 6.2 of the Code
of Virginia. However, the conduct of these other businesses
from a licensee's motor vehicle title lending offices shall
otherwise be governed by this section, including the
conditions prescribed in subsections D, E, and K of this
section.

C. Written Except as provided in subdivision B 2 of this
section, written evidence of commission approval of each other
business conducted by an other business operator should be
maintained at each approved location where—such—other

D. All approved other businesses in motor vehicle title
lending offices shall be conducted in accordance with the
following conditions:

1. The licensee shall not make a motor vehicle title loan to a
borrower to enable the borrower to purchase or pay any
amount owed in connection with the (i) goods or services
sold, or (ii) loans offered, facilitated, or made, by the other
business operator at the licensee's motor vehicle title lending
offices.

2. The other business operator shall comply with all federal
and state laws and regulations applicable to its other
business, including any applicable licensing or registration
requirements.

3. The other business operator shall not use or cause to be
published any advertisement or other information that
contains any false, misleading, or deceptive statement or
representation concerning its other business, including the
rates, terms, or conditions of the products, services, or loans
that it offers. The other business operator shall not make or
cause to be made any misrepresentation as to (i) its being
licensed to conduct the other business or (ii) the extent to
which it is subject to supervision or regulation.

4. The licensee shall not make a motor vehicle title loan or
vary the terms of a motor vehicle title loan on the condition
or requirement that a person also (i) purchase a good or
service from, or (ii) obtain a loan from or through, the other
business operator. The other business operator shall not (a)
sell its goods or services, (b) offer, facilitate, or make loans,
or (c) vary the terms of its goods, services, or loans, on the
condition or requirement that a person also obtain a motor
vehicle title loan from the licensee.

5. The other business operator shall maintain books and
records for its other business separate and apart from the
licensee's motor vehicle title lending business and in a
different location within the licensee's motor vehicle title
lending offices. The bureau shall be given access to all such
books and records and be furnished with any information
and records that it may require in order to determine
compliance with all applicable conditions, laws, and
regulations.

E. If alicensee—receives-commission—autheritytor an other
business operator te—cenduct conducts a payday short-term

lending business from the licensee's motor vehicle title lending
offices, the following additional conditions shall be applicable:

1. The licensee shall not make a motor vehicle title loan to a
person if (i) the person has an outstanding payday short-term
loan from the other business operator or (ii) on the same day
the person repaid or satisfied in full a payday short-term loan
from the other business operator.

2. The other business operator shall not make a payday short-
term loan to a person if (i) the person has an outstanding
motor vehicle title loan from the licensee or (ii) on the same
day the person repaid or satisfied in full a motor vehicle title
loan from the licensee.

3. The other business operator and the licensee shall not
make a payday short-term loan and a motor vehicle title loan
contemporaneously or in response to a single request for a
loan or credit.

4. The licensee and other business operator shall provide
each applicant for a motor vehicle title loan or payday short-
term loan with a separate disclosure, signed by the applicant,
that clearly identifies all of the loan products available in the
licensee's motor vehicle title lending offices along with the
corresponding Annual Percentage Rate, interest rate, and
other costs associated with each loan product. The disclosure
shall also identify the collateral, if any, that will be used to
secure repayment of each loan product.

5. The other business operator shall be licensed or exempt
from licensing under Chapter 18 (§ 6.2-1800 et seq.) of Title
6.2 of the Code of Virginia.

F. If a licensee received or receives commission authority for
an other business operator to conduct business as an authorized
delegate or agent of a money order seller or money transmitter
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from the licensee's motor vehicle title lending offices, the other
business operator shall be and remain a party to a written
agreement to act as an authorized delegate or agent of a person
licensed or exempt from licensing as a money order seller or
money transmitter under Chapter 19 (8 6.2-1900 et seq.) of
Title 6.2 of the Code of Virginia. The other business operator
shall not engage in money order sales or money transmission
services on its own behalf or on behalf of any person other than
a licensed or exempt money order seller or money transmitter
with whom it has a written agreement.

G. If a licensee received or receives commission authority for
an other business operator to conduct the business of (i) tax
preparation and or electronic tax filing services, or (ii)
facilitating third party tax preparation ard or electronic tax
filing services, from the licensee's motor vehicle title lending
offices, the following additional conditions shall be applicable:

1. The licensee shall not make;—arrange,—or-broker a motor
vehicle title loan that is secured by ) an interest in a
borrower's tax refund—(i)-an-assighment-ofincome-payable

2. The other business operator shall not engage in the
business of (i) accepting funds for transmission to the
Internal Revenue Service or other government
instrumentalities, or (ii) receiving tax refunds for delivery to
individuals, unless licensed or exempt from licensing under
Chapter 19 (8§ 6.2-1900 et seq.) of Title 6.2 of the Code of
Virginia.

H. If a licensee received or receives commission authority for
an other business operator to conduct the business of
facilitating or arranging tax refund anticipation loans or tax
refund payments from the licensee's motor vehicle title lending
offices, the following additional conditions shall be applicable:

1. The other business operator shall not facilitate or arrange
a tax refund anticipation loan or tax refund payment to
enable a person to pay any amount owed to the licensee as a
result of a motor vehicle title loan transaction.

2. The other business operator and the licensee shall not
facilitate or arrange a tax refund anticipation loan or tax
refund payment and make a motor vehicle title loan
contemporaneously or in response to a single request for a
loan or credit.

3. The licensee shall not makearrange—orbroker a motor
vehicle title loan that is secured by {§ an interest in a
borrower's tax refund—{i-an-assighment-ef-income-payable
Ite 2 bGII'GquI oF (i) sln assigament eI_ a. Hierestn-a

4. The other business operator shall not engage in the
business of receiving tax refunds or tax refund payments for
delivery to individuals unless licensed or exempt from

licensing under Chapter 19 (§ 6.2-1900 et seq.) of Title 6.2
of the Code of Virginia.

5. The licensee and other business operator shall provide
each applicant for a motor vehicle title loan or tax refund
anticipation loan with a separate disclosure, signed by the
applicant, that clearly identifies all of the loan products
available in the licensee's motor vehicle title lending offices
along with the corresponding Annual Percentage Rate,
interest rate, and other costs associated with each loan
product. The disclosure shall also identify the collateral, if
any, that will be used to secure repayment of each loan
product.

I. If a licensee received or receives commission authority for
an other business operator to conduct a consumer finance
business from the licensee's motor vehicle title lending offices,
the following additional conditions shall be applicable:

1. The other business operator shall be licensed or exempt
from licensing under Chapter 15 (8 6.2-1500 et seq.) of Title
6.2 of the Code of Virginia.

2. Pursuant to subdivision A 5 of this section, the other
business shall be conducted by a person other than the
licensee or an affiliate or owner of the licensee.

3. The licensee shall not make a motor vehicle title loan to a
person if (i) the person has an outstanding consumer finance
loan from the other business operator, or (ii) on the same day
the person repaid or satisfied in full a consumer finance loan
from the other business operator.

2 4. The other business operator shall not make a consumer
finance loan to a person if (i) the person has an outstanding
motor vehicle title loan from the licensee, or (ii) on the same
day the person repaid or satisfied in full a motor vehicle title
loan from the licensee.

3-5. The licensee and other business operator shall not make
a motor vehicle title loan and a consumer finance loan
contemporaneously or in response to a single request for a
loan or credit.

4. 6. The licensee and other business operator shall provide
each applicant for a motor vehicle title loan or consumer
finance loan with a separate disclosure, signed by the
applicant, that clearly identifies all of the loan products
available in the licensee's motor vehicle title lending offices
along with the corresponding Annual Percentage Rate,
interest rate, and other costs associated with each loan
product. The disclosure shall also identify the collateral, if
any, that will be used to secure repayment of each loan
product.

J. If a licensee received or receives commission authority for
an other business operator to conduct the business of operating
an automated teller machine from the licensee's motor vehicle
title lending offices, the other business operator shall not
charge a fee or receive other compensation in connection with
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the use of its automated teller machine by a person when the
person is withdrawing funds in order to make a payment on a
motor-vehicle title loan from that was made by the licensee or
any other lender conducting business from the licensee's motor

C. A licensee shall not deliver or cause to be delivered to a
consumer any envelope or other written material that gives the
false impression that the mailing or written material is an
official communication from a governmental entity, unless

vehicle title lending offices.

K. If an other business operator conducts a check cashing

required by the United States Postal Service.

D. Every advertisement used by, or published on behalf of, a

business from the licensee's motor vehicle title lending offices,

licensee shall comply with the disclosure requirements for

the following additional conditions shall be applicable:

1. The other business operator shall be reqgistered or exempt
from registration under Chapter 21 (8§ 6.2-2100 et seq.) of
Title 6.2 of the Code of Virginia.

2. If the other business operator is registered under Chapter
21 (8 6.2-2100 et seq.) of Title 6.2 of the Code of Virginia,
then the other business operator shall not make any loans
unless the other business operator is licensed under, and the
loans are made in accordance with, Chapter 18 (§ 6.2-1800
et seq.) of Title 6.2 of the Code of Virginia.

3. The other business operator shall not charge a fee to cash
a check issued by the licensee or any other person operating
in the licensee's motor vehicle title lending offices.

L. The commission may impose any additional conditions

upon the conduct of other business in motor vehicle title
lending offices that it deems necessary and in the public
interest.

M. Except as otherwise provided in subdivision A 4 of this
section, the conditions set forth or referred to in subsections D
through L of this section shall supersede the conditions set
forth in the commission's approval orders entered prior to

January 1, 2021.

£ N. Failure by a licensee or other business operator to
comply with any provision of this section or any condition
imposed by the commission, or failure by a licensee to comply
with the Act, this chapter, or any other law or regulation
applicable to the conduct of the licensee's business, may result
in revocation of the authority to conduct other business or any
form of enforcement action specified in 10VAC5-210-100.

10VAC5-210-80. Advertising.

A. A licensee shall disclose the following information in its
advertisements:

1. The name of the motor vehicle title lender as set forth in
the license issued by the commission.

2. A statement that the motor vehicle title lender is "licensed
by the Virginia State Corporation Commission."

3. The license number assigned by the commission to the
motor vehicle title lender (i.e., VTL-XXX).

B. The information required by subsection A of this section
shall be disclosed in accordance with the disclosure standards
prescribed in § 6.2-2218 B of the Code of Virginia.

advertisements contained in Regulation Z (12 CFR Part 1026).

10VAC5-210-90. Books, accounts, and records; responding
to requests from the bureau.

A. Alicensee shall maintain in its licensed offices such books,
accounts, and records as the bureau may reasonably require in
order to determine whether the licensee is complying with the
Act and this chapter. Such books, accounts, and records shall
be maintained apart and separate from those relating to any
other business in which the licensee is involved.

B. In addition to any other books, accounts, and records as the
bureau may reasonably require, a licensee shall maintain
copies of the following records for at least three years after
final payment is made on any motor vehicle title loan:

1. The signed and dated loan application.

2. The motor vehicle title loan agreement. If a loan has been
repaid or satisfied in full, a licensee shall maintain a copy of
the motor vehicle title loan agreement with the word "paid"
or "canceled" along with documentation showing that the
licensee released its security interest in the borrower's motor
vehicle.

3. A record of the fair market value of the motor vehicle
securing the loan along with supporting documentation from
a recognized pricing guide. Supporting documentation shall
include any factors used to determine the value of the motor
vehicle, including the motor vehicle's condition, features,
mileage, as well as the name of the pricing guide that the
licensee relied upon in making the loan.

4. Any disclosures that were given to a borrower pursuant to
the Truth in Lending Act (15 USC § 1601 et seq.) or any
other federal or state laws.

5. The certificate of title for the motor vehicle, which shall
reflect the licensee's security interest unless the borrower
canceled, rescinded, or fully satisfied the motor vehicle title
loan prior to the licensee recording its security interest with
the motor vehicle department in the state where the motor
vehicle is registered.

6. Any notices or disclosures that a licensee is required to
furnish to a borrower pursuant to the Act or this chapter.

C. A licensee shall maintain a repossession log or similar
record of all motor vehicles that have been repossessed by or
on behalf of the licensee, including motor vehicles that are
voluntarily surrendered by borrowers. The log or record shall
include the following information: (i) the borrower's first and
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last name; (ii) the make, model, year, and vehicle identification
number of the motor vehicle; (iii) the date the motor vehicle
was repossessed; (iv) the date the motor vehicle was sold; (v)
the name of the purchaser; and (vi) the sale price of the motor
vehicle. Furthermore, in addition to any other books, accounts,
and records as the bureau may reasonably require, a licensee
shall maintain copies of the following records for at least three
years after a motor vehicle used to secure a loan is repossessed
and sold by or on behalf of the licensee:

1. The written notices and accounting sent by the licensee to
a borrower pursuant to § 6.2-2217 of the Code of Virginia
along with the proof of mailing from the United States Postal
Service or other common carrier.

2. Supporting documentation of the sale of the motor vehicle
and the proceeds derived from the sale.

3. The check or other method of payment used to deliver any
excess proceeds from the sale of the motor vehicle to a
borrower.

D. A motor vehicle title lender shall retain for at least three
years after it is last published, delivered, transmitted, or made
available, an example of every advertisement used, including
but-net-timited-te solicitation letters, commercial scripts, and
recordings of all radio and television broadcasts, but excluding
copies of Internet web pages.

E. When the bureau requests a written response, books,
records, documentation, or other information from a licensee
in connection with the bureau's investigation, enforcement, or
examination of compliance with applicable laws, the licensee
shall deliver a written response as well as any requested books,
records, documentation, or information within the time period
specified in the bureau's request. If no time period is specified,
a written response as well as any requested books, records,
documentation, or information shall be delivered by the
licensee to the bureau not later than 30 days from the date of
such request. In determining the specified time period for
responding to the bureau and when considering a request for
an extension of time to respond, the bureau shall take into
consideration the volume and complexity of the requested
written  response, books, records, documentation, or
information, and such other factors as the bureau determines to
be relevant under the circumstances. Requests made by the
bureau pursuant to this subsection are deemed to be in
furtherance of the investigation and examination authority
provided for in § 6.2-2212 of the Code of Virginia.

F. If a licensee or former licensee disposes of records
containing a consumer's personal financial information
following the expiration of any applicable record retention
periods, such records shall be shredded, incinerated, or
otherwise disposed of in a secure manner. Licensees A licensee
or former licensee may arrange for service from a business
record destruction vendor.

10VAC5-210-95. Schedule of annual fees for the
examination, supervision, and regulation of motor vehicle
title lenders.

Pursuant to 8§ 6.2-2213 of the Code of Virginia, the
commission sets the following schedule of annual fees to be
paid by persons—Heensed licensees under the Act. The
assessment defrays the costs of the examination, supervision,
and regulation of licensees by the bureau.

The annual fee shall be $500 per office plus $2.85 per motor
vehicle title loan made by each licensee. The annual fee shall
be computed on the basis of (i) the number of offices,
authorized and opened, as of December 31 of the year
preceding the year of the assessment, and (ii) the number of
motor vehicle title loans made under the Act during the
calendar year preceding the year of the assessment.

The amount calculated using the above schedule shall be
rounded down to the nearest whole dollar.

Fees shall be assessed on or before September 15 for the
current calendar year. The assessment shall be paid by
licensees on or before October 15.

The annual report, due March 25 each year, of each licensee
provides the basis for its assessment {i-e-the-rumberofoffices
and-motor-vehicle-title-loans-made). In-cases-where-a-license
has-been-granted-between-January-1-and-September-15-6f-the

Fees prescribed and assessed pursuant to this schedule are
apart from, and do not include, the reimbursement for expenses
authorized by subsection B of § 6.2-2213 of the Code of
Virginia.

VAR. Doc. No. R21-6616; Filed August 25, 2021, 11:47 a.m.

L 4 *

TITLE 13. HOUSING
VIRGINIA HOUSING DEVELOPMENT AUTHORITY

Proposed Regulation

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Virginia Housing Development
Authority is claiming an exemption from the Administrative
Process Act pursuant to § 2.2-4002 A 4 of the Code of Virginia.

Titles of Requlations: 13VAC10-180. Rules and Regulations
for Allocation of Low-Income Housing Tax Credits
(amending 13VAC10-180-50, 13VAC10-180-60, 13VAC10-
180-90).

13VAC10-200. Rules and Regulations for the Allocation of
Virginia Housing Opportunity Tax Credits (adding
13VAC10-200-10 through 13VAC10-200-70).

Statutory Authority: § 36-55.30:3 of the Code of Virginia.
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Public Hearing Information:

October 7, 2021 - 10am. - Virginia Housing
Development Authority, 601 South Belvidere Street,
Richmond VA 23220

Public Comment Deadline: October 7, 2021.

Agency Contact: Loréyna Adkins, Paralegal, Virginia Housing
Development Authority, 601 South Belvidere Street,
Richmond, VA 23220, telephone (804) 343-5603, or email
loreyna.adkins@vhda.com.

Summary:
The proposed amendments to the Rules and Regulations

for Allocation of Low-Income Housing Tax Credits
(13VAC10-180):

(i) add point categories for geothermal heating and
cooling, solar thermal water heating, and solar electric
and add point categories for resident services, telehealth
services, and onsite child care and provide points for
applicants having a principal with a required ownership
interest that is a socially disadvantaged individual as
defined by federal law;

(if) provide for both a per unit and per square foot total
development cost limit and provide discretion to remove
cost for certain incentivized amenities from total
development cost before applying cost limits;

(iif) add points for exterior walls that are constructed
using fiber cement board; for flexible unit design allowing
for isolation space; and for applicants that enter into at
least one contract for services provided by certain Small,
Women-owned, and Minority-owned (SWaM) and Service
Disabled Veteran-owned businesses; and add future
points for experienced developers working with a local
housing authority and increase points for individual unit
Wi-Fi;

(iv) add provisions designed to protect the long-term
affordability of developments, full compliance by
applicants and principals with the Internal Revenue Code
and the Plan, and preserve the right of first refusal by a
qualified nonprofit organization at the close of the
compliance period;

(v) make having an entry shelf or ledge a points item only
in developments for the elderly and make free Wi-Fi in the
community room mandatory;

(vi) replace the existing requirements for experienced
developer points with new requirements;

(vii) remove the penalty for new construction in rural
areas;

(viii) reduce points for exterior walls constructed using
brick or other similar low-maintenance material and
reduce points for the 9/4 hybrid program; revise, and in
one instance remove, the accessibility point categories;
and remove points for Internet infrastructure;

(ix) increase penalties for deals not meeting minimum
design and construction requirements and add penalty
points for seeking a credit refresh after January 1, 2022;

(x) allow the plan of development to be a standalone point
item; allow staff to move deals between the nonprofit or
the new construction pool, or both, to the appropriate
geographic pool to best or fully allocate credits; and allow
local housing authority pool deals to roll to and compete
in their geographic pools;

(xi) increase the cap on the total amount of credits that
may be awarded in any credit year to any applicant;
increase the percentage of future year's allocation that
can be forward allocated; increase the accessible
supportive housing pool percentage of available credits;
and increase the nonprofit pool credit request cap;

(xii) clarify requirements to compete in the local housing
authority pool;

(xiii) implement a curing period for minor and immaterial
defects in an application;

(xiv) require disclosure of availability of Virginia Housing
Development Authority (VHDA) renter education and
incentivize electronic payments of fees to VHDA;

(xv) incorporate federal compliance updates; and

(xvi) make other miscellaneous administrative
clarification changes.

The proposed amendments also implement §§ 58.1-439.29
and 58.1-439.30 of the Code of Virginia, which establish
the Virginia housing opportunity tax credit (HOTC),
including (i) providing a program of $15 million per year,
a one-year credit period, and a five-year program
duration, all resulting in an aggregate $75 million
program; (ii) allowing the HOTC to be stand-alone or
awarded in connection with federal low-income housing
tax credits (LIHTC); (iii) addressing how successful
HOTC projects will be selected, options to award per
LIHTC rankings or to prioritize other significant state
housing needs, and the amount of HOTC to be awarded
successful applicants; and (iv) defining terms for the
HOTC program, the process for issuance by Virginia
Housing Development Authority of an eligibility
certificate for HOTC, recapture provisions, and
applicable administrative fees.

13VAC10-180-50. Application.

A. Prior to submitting an application for reservation,
applicants shall submit on such form as required by the
executive director, the letter for authority signature by which
the authority shall notify the chief executive officers (or the
equivalent) of the local jurisdictions in which the
developments are to be located to provide such officers a
reasonable opportunity to comment on the developments.

B. Application for a reservation of credits shaH:
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1. Shall be commenced by filing with the authority an
application, on such forms as the executive director may
from time to time prescribe or approve, together with such
documents and additional information (including, without
limitation, a market study that is prepared by a housing
market analyst that who meets the authority's requirements
for an approved analyst, as set forth on the application form,
instructions, or other communication available to the public,
that shows adequate demand for the housing units to be
produced by the applicant's proposed development) as may
be requested by the authority in order to comply with the
IRC and this chapter and to make the reservation and
allocation of the credits in accordance with this chapter. The
executive director may reject any application from
consideration for a reservation or allocation of credits if in
such application the applicant does not provide the proper
documentation or information on the forms prescribed by the
executive director. In addition to the market study contained
in the application, the authority may conduct its own
analysis of the demand for the housing units to be produced
by each applicant's proposed development.

All sites in an application for a scattered site development
may only serve one primary market area. If the executive
director determines that the sites subject to a scattered site
development are served by different primary market areas,
separate applications for credits must be filed for each
primary market area in which scattered sites are located
within the deadlines established by the executive director.

Fhe-apphication-should 2. Should include a breakdown of

sources and uses of funds sufficiently detailed to enable the
authority to ascertain what costs will be incurred and what
will comprise the total financing package, including the
various subsidies and the anticipated syndication or
placement proceeds that will be raised.

Fhe 3. Shall include the following cost information, if

applicable, needs—to—be—included—in—the—application to

determine the feasible credit amount: site
a. Site acquisition costs, sie
b. Site preparation costs, eonstruction
c. Construction costs, eenstruction
d. Construction contingency, generat
e. General contractor's overhead and profit, architect
f. Architect and engineer's fees, permit
g. Permit and survey fees, insurance
h. Insurance premiums, real
i. Real estate taxes during construction, title
J- Title and recording fees, construction
k. Construction period interest, financing

I. Financing fees, organizational
m. Organizational costs, rept-up

n. Rent-up and marketing costs, accounting

0. Accounting and auditing costs, werking

p. Working capital and operating deficit reserves,
-

d. Syndication and legal fees, development

r. Development fees, and ether

s. Other costs and fees.

4. All applications seeking credits for rehabilitation of
existing units must provide for contractor construction costs
of at least $10,000 per unit for developments financed with
tax-exempt bonds and $15,000 per unit for all other
developments.

C. Any application that exceeds the cost limits described
below in this subsection shall be rejected from further
consideration hereunder and shall not be eligible for any
reservation or allocation of credits. Fer—an—apphication
submitted-in-calendaryear 2019-only—the The higher of the

following two cost limit calculations: per-unit cost or per-
square-foot cost may be used utilized by an applicant. Effective
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2—Per-square—foot-cost-timits: The authority will at least
annually establish per-unit and per-square-foot cost limits

based upon historical cost data of tax credit developments in
the Commonwealth. Such limits will be indicated on the
application form, instructions, or other communication
available to the public. The cost limits will be established for
new construction, rehabilitation, and adaptive reuse
development types. The authority will establish geographic
limits wtihizing-Marshal-&-Swift-cost-factors. For the purpose
of determining compliance with the cost limits, the value of a
development's land and acquisition costs and such other
expenses as the executive director determines are appropriate

for the good of the plan will not be included in total

development cost. Compliance with persquare-foot applicable
cost limits will be determined both at the time of application

and also at the time the authority issues the IRS Form 8609,
with the higher of the two limits being applicable at the time of
IRS Form 8609 issuance.

D. Each application shall include plans:

1. Plans and specifications in such form and from such
person satisfactory to the executive director as to the
completion of such plans or specifications.

2. In the case of rehabilitation, the-application-mustinclude

a physical needs assessment in such form and substance and
prepared by such person satisfactory to the executive
director pursuant to the authority's requirements as set forth
on the application form, instructions, or other
communication available to the public.

Each-application-must-include-an 3. An environmental site

assessment (Phase 1) in such form and substance and
prepared by such person satisfactory to the executive
director pursuant to the authority's requirements as set forth
on the application form, instructions, or other
communication available to the public.

Each-application-shall-include-evidence 4. Evidence of (i)}
sele

a. Sole fee simple ownership of the site of the proposed

development by the applicant, {i)-lease

b. Lease of such site by the applicant for a term exceeding
the compliance period (as defined in the IRC) or for such
longer period as the applicant represents in the application

that the development will be held for occupancy by low-
income persons or families, or {H)-right

c. Right to acquire or lease such site pursuant to a valid
and binding written option or contract between the
applicant and the fee simple owner of such site for a period
extending at least four months beyond any application
deadline established by the executive director, provided
that such option or contract shall have no conditions
within the discretion or control of such owner of such site.

Any contract for the acquisition of a site with existing
residential property may not require an empty building as a
condition of such contract, unless relocation assistance is
provided to displaced households, if any, at such level
required by the authority. A contract that permits the owner
to continue to market the property, even if the applicant has
a right of first refusal, does not constitute the requisite site

control required in elause-(ii)}-above subdivision 4 c of this
subsection.

No application shall be considered for a reservation or
allocation of credits unless such evidence is submitted with
the application and the authority determines that the
applicant owns, leases, or has the right to acquire or lease the
site of the proposed development as described in the

preceding-sentence this subsection.

In the case of acquisition and rehabilitation of developments
funded by Rural Development of the U.S. Department of
Agriculture (Rural Development), any site control document
subject to approval of the partners of the seller does not need
to be approved by all partners of the seller if the general
partner of the seller executing the site control document
provides (i) an attorney's opinion that such general partner
has the authority to enter into the site control document and
such document is binding on the seller or (ii) a letter from
the existing syndicator indicating a willingness to secure the
necessary partner approvals upon the reservation of credits.

Each-apphication-shal-include-written 5. Written evidence

satisfactory to the authority (i) of proper zoning or special
use permit for such site or (ii) that no zoning requirements
or special use permits are applicable.

| licati Winclude i ‘ . |
executive director—a 6. A certification, in a form required by
the executive director, of previous participation listing all
developments receiving an allocation of tax credits under
8§ 42 of the IRC in which the:

a. The principals have or had an ownership or participation
interest, the

b. The location of such developments, the

c. The number of residential units and low-income
housing units in such developments, and such

d. Such other information as more fully specified by the
executive director.
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7. Furthermore, for any such development, the applicant
must indicate whether the appropriate state housing credit
agency has ever filed a Form 8823 with the IRS reporting
noncompliance with the requirements of the IRC and that
such noncompliance had not been corrected at the time of
the filing of such Form 8823. The executive director may
reject any application from consideration for a reservation or
allocation of credits unless the above information is
submitted with the application. If, after reviewing the abeve
information provided in this subdivision or any other
information available to the authority, the executive director
determines that the principals do not have the experience,
financial capacity and predisposition to regulatory
compliance necessary to carry out the responsibilities for the
acquisition, construction, ownership, operation, marketing,
maintenance and management of the proposed development
or the ability to fully perform all the duties and obligations
relating to the proposed development under law, regulation
and the reservation and allocation documents of the
authority or if an applicant is in substantial noncompliance
with the requirements of the IRC, the executive director may
reject applications by the applicant.

8. No application will be accepted from any applicant with a
principal that has or had an ownership or participation
interest in a development at the time the authority reported
such development to the IRS as no longer in compliance and
is no longer participating in the federal low-income housing
tax credit program.

licati hall_includei : .
executive directora 9. A certification, in a form required by

the executive director, that the design of the proposed
development meets all applicable amenity and design
requirements required by the executive director for the type
of housing to be provided by the proposed development.

E. The application should:

1. Should include pro forma financial statements setting
forth the anticipated cash flows during the credit period as

defined in the IRC. The-application-shalt

2. Shall include a certification by the applicant as to the full
extent of all federal, state and local subsidies that apply (or
that the applicant expects to apply) with respect to each
building or development. Fhe

3. May be required by the executive director may—alse
require to include the submission of a legal opinion or other
assurances satisfactory to the executive director as to, among
other things, compliance of the proposed development with
the IRC and a certification, together with an opinion of an
independent certified public accountant or other assurances
satisfactory to the executive director, setting forth the
calculation of the amount of credits requested by the
application and certifying, among other things, that under

the existing facts and circumstances the applicant will be
eligible for the amount of credits requested.

E. Each applicant shall commit in the application to provide
relocation:
1. Relocation assistance to displaced households, if any, at
such level required by the executive director. Each applicant
shall commit in the application to use a property
management company certified by the executive director to
manage the proposed development.

2. Unless prohibited by an applicable federal subsidy
program, each-applicant-shall-commit-in-the-apphcation-to
provide a leasing preference to individuals {)-n:
a. In a target population identified in a memorandum of
understanding between the authority and one or more
participating agencies of the Commonwealth, {H)-having

b. Having a voucher or other binding commitment for
rental assistance from the Commonwealth, and (i)
referred

c. Referred to the development by a referring agent
approved by the authority. The leasing preference shall not
be applied to more than 10% of the units in the
development at any given time. The applicant may not
impose tenant selection criteria or leasing terms with
respect to individuals receiving this preference that are
more restrictive than the applicant’s tenant selection
criteria or leasing terms applicable to prospective tenants
in the development that do not receive this preference, the
eligibility criteria for the rental assistance from the
Commonwealth, or any eligibility criteria contained in a
memorandum of understanding between the authority and
one or more participating agencies of the Commonwealth.

3. Free Wi-Fi _access in the community room of the
development and such access shall be restricted to resident
only usage.

4. A disclosure, to be acknowledged by tenant, of the
availability of renter education from the authority.

G. Each applicant shall commit in the application ret:

1. Not to require an annual minimum income requirement
that exceeds the greater of $3,600 or 2.5 times the portion of
rent to be paid by tenants receiving rental assistance.

Each-applicantshallcommitintheapplicationto 2. To waive

its right to request to terminate the extended low-income
housing commitment through the qualified contract process,
as described in the IRC.

Further, any application submitted by an applicant containing
a principal that was a principal in an owner that has previously
requested, on or after January 1, 2019, a qualified contract in
the Commonwealth (regardless of whether the extended low-
income housing commitment was terminated through such
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process) shall be rejected from further consideration and shall
not be eligible for any reservation or allocation of credits.

H. The authority is committed to the long-term affordability
of developments for the benefit of tenants and full compliance
by applicants and principals with the provisions of the IRC, the
extended use agreement and other program requirements. The
authority similarly has an interest in preserving the right of first
refusal by a qualified nonprofit organization at the close of the
compliance period, as authorized in § 42(i)(7) of the IRC.

The executive director is hereby authorized to require any or
all of the following with respect to applications:

1. Provisions to be included in the applicant's organizational
documents limiting transfers of partnership or member
interests or other actions detrimental to the continued
provision of affordable housing;

2. A designated form of right of first refusal document;

3. Terms in the extended use agreement requiring notice and
approval by the executive director of transfers of partnership
or member interests;

4. Debarment from the program of principals having
demonstrated a history of conduct detrimental to long-term
compliance with extended use agreements, whether in
Virginia or another state, and the provision of affordable tax
credit units; and

5. Provisions to implement any amendment to the IRC or
implementation of any future federal or state leqgislation,
requlations, or administrative guidance.

The decision whether to institute, and the terms of, any such
requirements shall be made by the executive director as
reasonably determined to be necessary or appropriate to
achieve the goals stated in this subsection and in the best
interest of the plan. Any such requirements will be indicated
on the application form, instructions, or other communication
available to the public.

1. Any application submitted by an applicant containing a
principal that was a principal in an owner that has, in the
authority's determination, previously participated, on or after
January 1, 2019, in a foreclosure in Virginia (or instrument in
lieu of foreclosure) that was part of an arrangement a purpose
of which was to terminate an extended low-income housing
commitment (regardless whether the extended low-income
housing commitment was terminated through such foreclosure
or instrument) shall be rejected from further consideration for
low-income housing tax credits and shall not be eligible for any
reservation or allocation of credits.

J. If an applicant submits an application for reservation or
allocation of credits that contains a material misrepresentation
or fails to include information regarding developments
involving the applicant that have been determined to be out of
compliance with the requirements of the IRC, the executive

director may reject the application or stop processing such
application upon discovery of such misrepresentation or
noncompliance and may prohibit such applicant from
submitting applications for credits to the authority in the future.

K. In any situation in which the executive director deems it
appropriate, he the executive director may treat:

1. Treat two or more applications as a single application.
Only one application may be submitted for each location.

The-executive-director-may-establish 2. Establish criteria and

assumptions to be used by the applicant in the calculation of
amounts in the application, and any such criteria and
assumptions may be indicated on the application form,
instructions or other communication available to the public.

Fhe—executive—director—may—preseribe 3. Prescribe such

deadlines for submission of applications for reservation and
allocation of credits for any calendar year as he shall deem
necessary or desirable to allow sufficient processing time for
the authority to make such reservations and allocations. If
the executive director determines that an applicant for a
reservation of credits has failed to submit one or more
mandatory attachments to the application by the reservation
application deadline, he may allow such applicant an
opportunity to submit such attachments within a certain time
established by the executive director with a 10-point scoring
penalty per item.

L. After receipt of the applications local notification
information data, if necessary, the authority shall notify the
chief executive officers (or the equivalent) of the local
jurisdictions in which the developments are to be located and
shall provide such officers a reasonable opportunity to
comment on the developments.

M. The development for which an application is submitted
may be, but shall not be required to be, financed by the
authority. If any such development is to be financed by the
authority, the application for such financing shall be submitted
to and received by the authority in accordance with its
applicable rules and regulations.

N. The authority may consider and approve, in accordance
herewith, both the reservation and the allocation of credits to
buildings or developments that the authority may own or may
intend to acquire, construct, or rehabilitate.

O. Any application seeking an additional reservation of
credits for a development in excess of 10% of an existing
reservation of credits for such development shall be rejected
from further consideration hereunder and shall not be eligible
for any reservation or allocation of credits pursuant to such
application. However, such applicant may execute a consent to
cancellation for such existing reservation and submit a new
application for the aggregate amount of the existing reservation
and any desired increase.
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13VAC10-180-60. Review and selection of applications;
reservation of credits.

A. The executive director may divide the amount of credits
into separate pools and each separate pool may be further
divided into separate tiers. The division of such pools and tiers
may be based upon one or more of the following factors:
geographical areas of the state; types or characteristics of
housing, construction, financing, owners, occupants, or source
of credits; or any other factors deemed appropriate by him to
best meet the housing needs of the Commonwealth.

B. An amount, as determined by the executive director, not
less than 10% of the Commonwealth's annual state housing
credit ceiling for credits, shall be available for reservation and
allocation to buildings or developments with respect to which
the following requirements are met:

1. A "qualified nonprofit organization" (as described in
8§ 42(h)(5)(C) of the IRC) that is authorized to do business in
Virginia and is determined by the executive director, on the
basis of such relevant factors as he shall consider
appropriate, to be substantially based or active in the
community of the development and is to materially
participate (regular, continuous and substantial involvement
as determined by the executive director) in the development
and operation of the development throughout the
"compliance period" (as defined in § 42(i)(1) of the IRC);
and

2. {§ a. The "qualified nonprofit organization™ described in
the preceding subdivision 1 of this subsection is to own
(directly or through a partnership), prior to the reservation of
credits to the buildings or development, all of the general
partnership interests of the ownership entity thereof; {H)-the

b. The executive director of the authority shall have
determined that such qualified nonprofit organization is
not affiliated with or controlled by a for-profit
organization; {Hi)-the

c. The executive director of the authority shall have
determined that the qualified nonprofit organization was
not formed by one or more individuals or for-profit entities
for the principal purpose of being included in any
nonprofit pools (as defined below) established by the
executive director, and {h-the

d. The executive director of the authority shall have
determined that no staff member, officer or member of the
board of directors of such qualified nonprofit organization
will materially participate, directly or indirectly, in the
proposed development as a for-profit entity.

3. In making the determinations required by the—preeeding
subdivision subdivisions 1 and elauses-(i);(i)} 2 b, 2 ¢, and
{iv)-of this-subdivisien 2 d of this subsection, the executive
director may apply such factors as he the executive director
deems relevant, including the:

a. The past experience and anticipated future activities of
the qualified nonprofit organization, the

b. The sources and manner of funding of the qualified
nonprofit organization, the

c. The date of formation and expected life of the qualified
nonprofit organization, the

d. The number of paid staff members and volunteers of the
qualified nonprofit organization, the

e. The nature and extent of the qualified nonprofit
organization's proposed involvement in the construction
or rehabilitation and the operation of the proposed
development, the

f. The relationship of the staff, directors or other principals
involved in the formation or operation of the qualified
nonprofit organization with any persons or entities to be
involved in the proposed development on a for-profit
basis, and the

g. The proposed involvement in the construction or
rehabilitation and operation of the proposed development
by any persons or entities involved in the proposed
development on a for-profit basis.

The executive director may include in the application of the
foregeing factors described in this subdivision any other
nonprofit organizations that, in his determination, are related
(by shared directors, staff or otherwise) to the qualified
nonprofit organization for which such determination is to be
made.

For purposes of the feregoing requirements of this subsection,
a qualified nonprofit organization shall be treated as satisfying
such requirements if any qualified corporation (as defined in
8§ 42(h)(5)(D)(ii) of the IRC) in which such organization (by
itself or in combination with one or more qualified nonprofit
organizations) holds 100% of the stock satisfies such
requirements.

C. The applications shall include such representations and
warranties and such information as the executive director may
require in order to determine that the foregoing requirements
of this section have been satisfied. In no event shall more than
90% of the Commonwealth's annual state housing credit
ceiling for credits be available for developments other than
those satisfying the preceding requirements of subsection B of
this section.

D. The executive director may establish such pools (nonprofit
pools) of credits as he the executive director may deem
appropriate to satisfy the foregoing-regquirement requirements
of this subsection. If any such nonprofit pools are so
established, the executive director may rank the applications
therein in each pool and reserve credits to such applications
before ranking applications and reserving credits in other
pools, and any such applications in such nonprofit pools not
receiving any reservations of credits or receiving such
reservations in amounts less than the full amount permissible
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hereunder in each pool described in this subsection (because
there are not enough credits then available in such nonprofit
pools to make such reservations) shall be assigned to such
other pool as shall be appropriate hereunder; provided,
however, that if credits are later made available (pursuant to
the IRC or as a result of either a termination or reduction of a
reservation of credits made from any nonprofit pools or a
rescission in whole or in part of an allocation of credits made
from such nonprofit pools or otherwise) for reservation and
allocation by the authority during the same calendar year as
that in which applications in the nonprofit pools have been so
assigned to other pools as—deseribed—above, the executive
director may, in such situations, designate all or any portion of
such additional credits for the nonprofit pools (or for any other
pools as he shall determine) and may, if additional credits have
been so designated for the nonprofit pools, reassign such
applications to such nonprofit pools, rank the applications
therein for those nonprofit pools and reserve credits to such
applications in accordance with the IRC and this chapter. In the
event that during any round {as—autherized-hereinbelow) of
application review and ranking the amount of credits reserved
within such nonprofit pools is less than the total amount of
credits made available therein in each nonprofit pool, the

executive director may either-{i)-leave:

1. Leave such unreserved credits in such nonprofit pools for
reservation and allocation in any subsequent reund-or{(i)
redistribute rounds;

2. Redistribute, to the extent permissible under the IRC, such
unreserved credits to such other pools as for which the
executive director shall designate reservations therefore in
the full amount permissible hereunder{which-apphications
under this section. Applications redistributed to other pools
under this subdivision shall hereinafter be referred to as
"excess qualified applications™); or {H)-carry

3. Carry over such unreserved credits to the next succeeding

calendar year for the inclusion in the state housing credit

ceiling (as defined in § 42(h)(3)(C) of the IRC) for such year.
; . hi .

No reservation of credits shall be made from any nonprofit
pools to any application with respect to which the qualified
nonprofit organization has not yet been legally formed in
accordance with the requirements of the IRC. In addition, no
application for credits from any nonprofit pools or any
combination of pools may receive a reservation or allocation
of annual credits in an amount greater than $9506,000
$1,200,000 unless credits remain available in such nonprofit
pools after all eligible applications for credits from such
nonprofit pools receive a reservation of credits.

Applicants relying on the experience of a local housing
authority for developer experience points described
hereinbelow in this subsection or using Hope VI funds from
HUD in connection with the proposed development shall not

be eligible to receive a reservation of credits from any
nonprofit pools.

E. The authority shall review each application, and, based on
the application and other information available to the authority,
shall assign points to each application as follows:

1. Readiness. Written evidence satisfactory to the authority
of unconditional approval by local authorities of the plan of
development or site plan for the proposed development or
that such approval is not required. (40 points;—apphcants
S ; lor this subdivisi liiblo §

. low)

2. Housing needs characteristics.

a. Submission of the form prescribed by the authority with
any required attachments, providing such information
necessary for the authority to send a letter addressed to the
current chief executive officer (or the equivalent) of the
locality in which the proposed development is located,
soliciting input on the proposed development from the
locality within the deadlines established by the executive
director. (minus 50 points for failure to make timely
submission)

b. A letter in response to its notification to the chief
executive officer of the locality in which the proposed
development is to be located opposing the allocation of
credits to the applicant for the development. In any such
letter, the chief executive officer must certify that the
proposed development is not consistent with current
zoning or other applicable land use regulations. Any such
letter must also be accompanied by a legal opinion of the
locality's attorney opining that the locality's opposition to
the proposed development does not have a discriminatory
intent or a discriminatory effect (as defined in 24 CFR
100.500(a)) that is not supported by a legally sufficient
justification (as defined in 24 CFR 100.500(b)) in
violation of the Fair Housing Act (Title VIII of the Civil
Rights Act of 1968, as amended) and the HUD
implementing regulations. (minus 25 points)

c. Any proposed development that is to be located in a
revitalization area meeting the requirements of § 36-
55.30:2 A of the Code of Virginia or within an opportunity
zone designated by the Commonwealth pursuant to the
Federal Tax Cuts and Jobs Act of 2017, as follows: {§-n

(1) In a qualified census tract or federal targeted area, both
as defined in the IRC, deemed under § 36-55.30:2 of the
Code of Virginia to be designated as a revitalization area
without adoption of a resolution (10 points); {i)-in

(2) In any redevelopment area, conservation area, or
rehabilitation area created or designated by the city or
county pursuant to Chapter 1 (8§ 36-1 et seq.) of Title 36 of
the Code of Virginia and deemed under § 36-55.30:2 to be
designated as a revitalization area without adoption of a
further resolution (10 points); {Hi)-in
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(3) In a revitalization area designated by resolution
adopted pursuant to the terms of § 36-55.30:2 (15 points);

vyin

(4) In a local housing rehabilitation zone created by an
ordinance passed by the city, county, or town and deemed
to meet the requirements of § 36-55.30:2 pursuant to § 36-
55.64 G of the Code of Virginia (15 points); and {a-in

(5) In an opportunity zone and having a binding
commitment of funding acceptable to the executive
director pursuant to requirements as set forth on the
application form, instructions, or other communication
available to the public. (15 points).

If the development is located in more than one such area,
only the highest applicable points will be awarded, that is,
points in this subdivision E 2 ¢ are not cumulative.

d. Commitment by the applicant for any development
without section 8 project-based assistance to give leasing
preference to individuals and families (i) on public
housing waiting lists maintained by the local housing
authority operating in the locality in which the proposed
development is to be located and notification of the
availability of such units to the local housing authority by
the applicant or (ii) on section 8 (as defined in 13VAC10-
180-90) waiting lists maintained by the local or nearest
section 8 administrator for the locality in which the
proposed development is to be located and notification of
the availability of such units to the local section 8
administrator by the applicant. (5 points)

e. Any (i) funding source, as evidenced by a binding
commitment or letter of intent, that is used to reduce the
credit request; (ii) commitment to donate land or buildings
or tap fee waivers from the local government; or (iii)
commitment to donate land (including a below market-
rate land lease) from an entity that is not a principal in the
applicant (the donor being the grantee of a right of first
refusal or purchase option with no ownership interest in
the applicant shall not make the donor a principal in the
applicant). Loans must be below market-rate (the one-year
London Interbank Offered Rate (LIBOR) rate at the time
of commitment) or cash-flow only to be eligible for points.
Financing from the authority and market rate permanent
financing sources are not eligible. (The amount of such
funding, dollar value of local support, or value of donated
land (including a below market rate land lease) will be
determined by the executive director and divided by the
total development cost. The applicant receives two points
for each percentage point up to a maximum of 40 points.)
The authority will confirm receipt of such subsidized
funding prior to the issuance of IRS Form 8609.

f. Any development subject to (i) HUD's Section 8 or
Section 236 program or (ii) Rural Development's 515
program, at the time of application. (20 points, unless the
applicant is or has any common interests with the current
owner, directly or indirectly, the application will only

qualify for these points if the applicant waives all rights to
developer's fee on acquisition and any other fees
associated with the acquisition of the development unless
permitted by the executive director for good cause.)

g. Any development receiving a real estate tax abatement
on the increase in the value of the development. (5 points)

h. Any development receiving new project-based subsidy
from HUD or Rural Development for the greater of five
units or 10% of the units of the proposed development. (10
points)

i. Any proposed elderly or family development located in
a census tract that has less than a 3.0% poverty rate based
upon Census Bureau data (30 points); less than a 10%
poverty rate based upon Census Bureau data (25 points);
or less than a 12% poverty rate based upon Census Bureau
data. (20 points)

j. Any proposed development listed in the top 25
developments identified by Rural Development as high
priority for rehabilitation at the time the application is
submitted to the authority. (15 points)

k. Any proposed new construction development
(including adaptive reuse and rehabilitation that creates
additional rental space) that is located in a pool identified
by the authority as a pool Httle-er-ne-irerease-n with an
increasing rent-burdened population. (Up to minus 20
points, depending upon the portion of the development
that is additional rental space, in all pools except the at-
large pool, 0 points in the at-large pool;—the-executive

I. Any proposed development for which the applicant has

entered into a memorandum of understanding approved by
the Virginia Department of Behavioral Health and
Developmental Services (DBHDS) with a resident service
provider for the provision of resident services. Such
resident services provider must have experience
delivering _ direct, community-based  services to
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individuals, as evidenced by a triennial license, in good
standing, with no outstanding corrective action plans from
DBHDS, or an agency or program accreditation or
certification such as Commission on Accreditation of
Rehabilitation Facilities, Council on Accreditation, or
Certified Organization for Resident Engagement &
Services, Council on Quality and Leadership, or CSH
Quality Supportive Housing accreditation or certification.
Such resident service provider may, but is not required to,
be the qualified nonprofit organization qualifying
applicant to compete in the nonprofit pool or having the
required ownership interest and holding an option or first
right of refusal that qualified applicant for points under
subsection 7 d of this subsection. Experience may also be
evidenced by receipt of a grant or grants by the service
provider for provision of direct services to the
development's residents. (15 points)

. Development characteristics.

a. Evidence satisfactory to the authority documenting the
quality of the proposed development's amenities as
determined by the following:

(1) The following points are available for any application:

() If a community or meeting room with a minimum of
749 square feet is provided. (5 points) Community rooms
receiving points under this subdivision 3 a (1) (a) may not
be used for commercial purposes. Provided that the cost of
the community room is not included in eligible basis, the
owner may conduct, or contract with a nonprofit provider
to conduct, programs or classes for tenants and members
of the community in the community room, so long as (i)
tenants compose at least one-third of participants, with
first preference given to tenants above the one-third
minimum; (ii) no program or class may be offered more
than five days per week; (iii) no individual program or
class may last more than eight hours per day, and all
programs and class sessions may not last more than 10
hours per day in the aggregate; (iv) cost of attendance of
the program or class must be below market rate with no
profit from the operation of the class or program being
generated for the owner (owner may also collect an
amount for reimbursement of supplies and clean-up costs);
(v) the community room must be available for use by
tenants when programs and classes are not offered, subject
to reasonable "quiet hours" established by owner; and (vi)
any owner offering programs or classes must provide an
annual certification to the authority that it is in compliance
with such requirements, with failure to comply with these
requirements resulting in a 10-point penalty for three years
from the date of such noncompliance for principals in the
owner.

(b) If the exterior walls are constructed using brick or other
similar low-maintenance material approved by the
authority (as indicated on the application form,
instructions, or other communication available to the

public) covering 25%-orgreater; up to and-including-85%;
50% of the exterior walls of the development. (20 points

times the percentage of exterior walls covered by brick)

If the exterior walls are constructed using fiber cement
board covering up to 50% of the exterior walls. (20 points
times the percentage of exterior walls covered by fiber

cement board)

Points for brick and fiber cement board are independent
and can both be awarded.

For purposes of making such coverage calculation, the
triangular gable end area, doors, windows, knee walls,
columns, retaining walls, and any features that are not a
part of the facade are excluded from the denominator.
Community buildings are included in the foregoing

coverage calculatlons (—Zemamnt&#eeverag&%s&th&n

(c) If the water expense is submetered (the tenant will pay
monthly or bimonthly bill). (5 points)

(d) If points are not awarded pursuant to subdivision 3 f of
this section for optional certification, if each bathroom
contains only WaterSense labeled toilets, faucets and
showerheads. (3 points)

(e) If each wunit is provided with the—necessary

free individual high-speed Internet access. (ot 10
points, 12 points if such access is Wi-Fi)

spe_ed_;h ternet-aecess—(S-polnts-3-polnisii-such-ascessis
(f) If each full bathroom's bath fans are wired to the
primary bathroom light with a delayed timer, or
continuous exhaust by ERV/DOAS. (3 points) If each full
bathroom's bath fans are equipped with a humidistat. (3
points)

(g) If all cooking surfaces are equipped with fire
prevention features that meet the authority's requirements
as indicated on the application form, instructions, or other
communication available to the public. (4 points)

If all cooking surfaces are equipped with fire suppression
features that meet the authority's requirements (as
indicated on the application form, instructions, or other
communication available to the public). (2 points)

(h) For rehabilitations, equipping all units with dedicated
space, drain, and electrical hook-ups for permanently
installed dehumidification systems (2 points). For
rehabilitations and new construction, providing
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permanently installed dehumidification systems in each
unit. (5 points)

(i) If each interior door is solid core. (3 points)

(i) If each unit has at least one USB charging port in the
kitchen, living room, and all bedrooms. (1 point)

(k) If each kitchen has LED lighting in all fixtures that
meets the authority's minimum design and construction
standards (2 points)

th-H elae URitRas-a sllle” gl' Eledge_ eu;tsmle the-primary
) (I) For new construction only, if each unit has a
balcony or patio with a minimum depth of five feet clear
from face of building and a size of at least 30 square feet.
(4 points)

(m) If every unit in the development is heated and cooled
with a geothermal heat pump that meets the EPA's Energy
Star qualified program requirements. (5 points)

(n) If all the water heaters meet the EPA's Energy Star
gualified program requirements; or any centralized
commercial system that has a 95% or greater efficiency
performance rating, or any solar thermal system that meets
at least 60% of the development’s domestic hot water load.

(5 points)

(0) If the development has a solar electric system that will
remain _unshaded vyear round, be oriented to within 15
degrees of true south, and be angled horizontally within 15
degrees of latitude. (1 point for each 2% of the
development’s electrical load that can be met by the solar
electric system, up to 10 points)

(p) If the development has flexible unit design allowing
for isolation space. (8 points)

(q)If the development provides tenants with free on-call,
telephonic, or virtual health care services with a licensed
provider. (15 points)

(r) If the development provides licensed childcare on-site
with a preference and discount for residents or an
equivalent subsidy for tenants, determined based on
household income and household size, to utilize a licensed
childcare facility of tenant's choice. (15 points)

(2) The following points are available to applications
electing to serve elderly tenants:

(a) If all cooking ranges have front controls. (1 point)

(b) If all bathrooms have an independent or supplemental
heat source. (1 point)

(c) Ifall entrance doors to each unit have two eye viewers,
one at 42 inches and the other at standard height. (1 point)

(d) If each unit has a shelf or ledge outside the primary
entry door in interior hallway. (2 points)

(3) If the structure is historic, by virtue of being listed
individually in the National Register of Historic Places, or
due to its location in a registered historic district and

certified by the Secretary of the Interior as being of
historical significance to the district, and the rehabilitation
will be completed in such a manner as to be eligible for
historic rehabilitation tax credits. (5 points)

b. Any development in which (i) the greater of five units
or 10% of the units will be assisted by HUB-preject-based
vouehers—(as—evidenced—bythe—submission—ofaletter
sansl'aetely © .tl eEFautlz 9} Fity I'Ig' Ial Iaut orized prIIIGI
prereguisites—for-such-assistance)—or—other any form of
documented and binding federal or state project-based rent
subsidies in order to ensure occupancy by extremely low-
income persons; and (ii) the greater of five units or 10%
of the units will conform to HUD regulations interpreting
the accessibility requirements of § 504 of the
Rehabilitation Act and be actively marketed to persons
with disabilities as defined in the Fair Housing Act in
accordance with a plan submitted as part of the application
for credits (all common space must also conform to HUD
regulations interpreting the accessibility requirements of
§ 504 of the Rehabilitation Act, and all the units described
in clause (ii) above must include roll-in showers and roll-
under sinks and front control ranges, unless agreed to by
the authority prior to the applicant's submission of its
application). (60 50 points)

d—AHy—develepmem—m—theh—SQ% ¢. Any development

in which 10% of the units (i) conform to HUD regulations
interpreting the accessibility requirements of § 504 of the
Rehabilitation Act and (ii) are actively marketed to
persons with disabilities as defined in the Fair Housing
Act in accordance with a plan submitted as part of the
application for credits. (25 20 points)

e- d. Any development located within one-half mile of an
existing commuter rail, light rail or subway station or one-
quarter mile of one or more existing public bus stops. (10
points, unless the development is located within the
geographical area established by the executive director for
a pool of credits for Northern Virginia or Tidewater
Metropolitan Statistical Area (MSA), in which case, the
development will receive 20 points if the development is
ranked against other developments in such Northern
Virginia or Tidewater MSA pool, 10 points if the
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development is ranked against other developments in any
other pool of credits established by the executive director)

£ e. Each development must meet the following baseline
energy performance standard applicable to the
development's  construction category. For new
construction, the development must meet all requirements
for EPA Energy Star certification. For rehabilitation, the
proposed renovation of the development must result in at
least a 30% post-rehabilitation decrease on the Home
Energy Rating System Index (HERS Index) or score an 80
or lower on the HERS Index. For adaptive reuse, the
proposed development must score a 95 or lower on the
HERS Index. For mixed construction types, the applicable
standard will apply to the development's various
construction categories. The development's score on the
HERS Index must be verified by a third-party,
independent, nonaffiliated, certified Residential Energy
Services Network (RESNET) home energy rater.

Any development for which the applicant agrees to obtain
(i) EarthCraft Gold or higher certification; (ii) U.S. Green
Building Council LEED green-building certification; (iii)
National Green Building Standard Certification of Silver
or higher; or (iv) meet Enterprise Green Communities
Criteria prior to the issuance of an IRS Form 8609 with
the proposed development's architect certifying in the
application that the development's design will meet the
criteria for such certification, provided that the proposed
development's RESNET rater is registered with a provider
on the authority's approved RESNET provider list. (10
points, points in this paragraph are not cumulative)

Additionally, points on future applications will be
awarded to an applicant having a principal that is also a
principal in a tax credit development in the
Commonwealth meeting (i) the Zero Energy Ready Home
Requirements as promulgated by the U.S. Department of
Energy (DOE) and as evidenced by a DOE certificate; or
(ii) the Passive House Institute's Passive House standards
as evidenced by a certificate from an accredited Passive
House certifier. (10 points, points in this paragraph are
cumulative)

The executive director may, if needed, designate a
proposed development as requiring an increase in credit in
order to be financially feasible and such development shall
be treated as if in a difficult development area as provided
in the IRC for any applicant receiving an additional 10
points under this subdivision, provided however, any
resulting increase in such development's eligible basis
shall be limited to 10% of the development's eligible basis.
Provided, however, the authority may remove such
increase in the development's eligible basis if the authority
determines that the development is financially feasible
without such increase in basis.

g f. If units are constructed to include the authority's
universal design features, provided that the proposed

development's architect is on the authority's list of
universal design certified architects. (15 points, if all the
units in an elderly development meet this requirement; 15
points multiplied by the percentage of units meeting this
requirement for nonelderly developments)

k- g. Any development in which the applicant proposes to
produce less than 100 low-income housing units. (20
points for producing 50 low-income housing units or less,
minus 0.4 points for each additional low-income housing
unit produced down to O points for any development that
produces 100 or more low-income housing units.)

+ h. Any applicant for a development that, pursuant to a
common plan of development, is part of a larger
development located on the same or contiguous sites,
financed in part by tax-exempt bonds. Combination
developments seeking both 9.0% and 4.0% credits must
clearly be presented as two separately financed deals
including separate equity pricing that would support each
respective deal in the event the other were no longer
present. While deals are required to be on the same or a
contiguous site they must be clearly identifiable as
separate. The units financed by tax exempt bonds may not
be interspersed throughout the development. Additionally,
if co-located within the same building footprint, the
property must identify separate entrances. All applicants
seeking points in this category must arrange a meeting
with authority staff at the authority's offices prior to the
deadline for submission of the application in order to
review both the 9.0% and the tax-exempt bond financed
portion of the project. Any applicant failing to meet with
authority staff in advance of applying will not be allowed
to compete in the current competitive round as a
combination development. (25 10 points for tax-exempt
bond financing of at least 30% of aggregate units, 35 20
points for tax-exempt bond financing of at least 40% of
aggregate units, and 45 30 points for tax-exempt bond
financing of at least 50% of aggregate units; such points
being noncumulative; such points will be awarded in both
the application and any application submitted for credits
associated with the tax-exempt bonds)

4. Tenant population characteristics. Commitment by the
applicant to give a leasing preference to individuals and
families with children in developments that will have no
more than 20% of its units with one bedroom or less. (15
points; plus 0.75 points for each percent of the low-income
units in the development with three or more bedrooms up to
an additional 15 points for a total of no more than 30 points)

5. Sponsor characteristics.
a.

Evidence—that—the—contreling—general—partner—or
managing-memberof A maximum of 25 cumulative points
in subdivision 5 b of this subsection will be awarded to
applicants with an experienced sponsor (experienced
sponsor). Experienced sponsors are those principals who
meet the requirements of subdivision 5 b of this subsection

Volume 38, Issue 2

Virginia Register of Regulations

September 13, 2021




Regulations

and who have an ownership interest of at least 25% in the
controlling general partner or managing member for the

proposed development have—developed, subject to the
following conditions:

b- (1) Experienced sponsors may be (i) individuals; (ii)
duly formed limited liability companies, limited
partnerships, and corporations, whether for-profit or
nonprofit, and which are in good standing in their
respective state of formation and registered to do business
in Virginia; (iii) local housing authorities; (iv) business
trusts; and (v) trusts;

(2) Individual persons seeking points as an experienced
sponsor _shall not receive credit for prior participation in
developments where such participation was in their
capacity as either trustee or beneficiary of a trust or
business trust; and

(3) Individuals and entities seeking points as an
experienced sponsor may not combine ownership or prior
experience with any other individual or entity to meet the
requirements of this subdivision 5.

b. Points for experienced sponsor _involvement shall be
awarded as follows:

(1) Tier 1: Five points shall be awarded to those
experienced sponsors that have placed at least one federal
low-income _housing tax credit (LIHTC) development in
service in Virginia within the past five years, as evidenced
by an IRS Form 8609 having been issued for such
development. The LIHTC development must be active
with no reported compliance issues remaining uncured, as
determined by the executive director.

(2) Tier 2: 15 points shall be awarded to those experienced
sponsors that have placed at least three LIHTC
developments in service (in addition to any deal for which
points are awarded in Tier 1) in any state within the past
six years, as evidenced by corresponding IRS Form 8609s.
Experienced sponsors must certify with the application
that each of said three developments is active with no
reported compliance issues remaining uncured. The
executive director may confirm the applicant's
certification with each state in which the three
developments are located.

(3) Tier 3: Any applicant competing in the local housing
authority pool may receive an additional five points for
partnering with an experienced sponsor, other than a local
housing authority. Applicants seeking said points must
provide in their application evidence that the experienced
sponsor is a principal in the Applicant (while ownership is
required, no _minimum _ownership percentage of the
experience sponsor partner is specified for points in Tier
3) and must provide a description of the assistance
rendered and to be rendered by the experienced sponsor
partner. Developments that move from the local housing
authority pool to their geographic pool will not be eligible
for said five points in the geographic pool.

c. Applicants may receive negative points toward their
application as follows:
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(1) Any applicant that includes a principal that was a
principal in a development that was awarded a credit
refresh after January 1, 2022. (minus 2 points for three
years after the year in which the credit refresh was

awarded)

(2) Any applicant that includes a principal that was a
principal in a development at the time the authority
inspected such development and discovered a life-
threatening hazard under HUD's Uniform Physical
Condition Standards and such hazard was not corrected in
the timeframe established by the authority. (minus 50
points for a period of three years after the violation has
been corrected)

€ (3) Any applicant that includes a principal that was a
principal in a development that either (i) at the time the
authority reported such development to the IRS for
noncompliance had not corrected such noncompliance by
the time a Form 8823 was filed by the authority or (ii)
remained out-of-compliance with the terms of its extended
use commitment after notice and expiration of any cure
period set by the authority. (minus 15 points for a period
of three calendar years after the year the authority filed
Form 8823 or expiration of such cure period, unless the
executive director determines that such principal's
attempts to correct such noncompliance was prohibited by
a court, local government or governmental agency, in
which case, no negative points will be assessed to the
applicant, or O points, if the appropriate individuals
individual connected to the principal attend compliance
training as recommended by the authority)

& (4) Any applicant that includes a principal that is or was
a principal in a development that (i) did not build a
development as represented in the application for credit
(minus two times the number of points assigned to the
items not built or minus 28 50 points per requirement for
failing to provide a minimum building requirement, for a
period of three years after the last Form 8609 is issued for
the development, in addition to any other penalties the
authority may elect to seek under its agreements with the
applicant), or (ii) has a reservation of credits terminated by
the authority. (minus 10 points a period of three years after
the credits are returned to the authority)

&- (5) Any applicant that includes a management company
in its application that is rated unsatisfactory by the
executive director or if the ownership of any applicant
includes a principal that is or was a principal in a
development that hired a management company to
manage a tax credit development after such management
company received a rating of unsatisfactory from the
executive director during the compliance period and
extended use period of such development. (minus 25
points)

£ (6.) Any applicant that includes a principal that was a
principal in a development for which the actual cost of

construction (as certified in the Independent Auditor's
Report with attached Certification of Sources and Uses
that is submitted in connection with the Owner's
Application for IRS Form 8609) exceeded the applicable
cost limit by 5.0% or more (minus 50 points for a period
of three calendar years after December 31 of the year the
cost certification is complete; provided, however, if the
Board of Commissioners determines that such overage
was outside of the applicant's control based upon
documented extenuating circumstances, no negative
points will be assessed.)

d. In addition to the points for experienced sponsor
involvement available in subdivision 5 b of this
subsection, points shall be awarded to applicants for
contracting for services as follows:

(1) Five points shall be awarded to applicants that enter
into at least one contract for services provided by a
business certified as Women-Owned, Minority-Owned or
Service  Disabled  Veteran-owned  through  the
Commonwealth of Virginia's Small, Women-owned, and
Minority-owned Business (SWaM) certification program.
The following services and roles qualify for points under
this subdivision 5 d (1): (i) consulting services to complete
the LIHTC application; (ii) ongoing development services
through the placed in service date; (iii) general contractor;
(iv) architect; (v) property manager; (vi) accounting
services; or (vii) legal services. An applicant seeking
points in this subdivision 5 d (1) must provide in its
application a certification, in a form to be developed by
the executive director, certifying that a contract for
services has been executed between the applicant and the
service provider and describing the scope of the services
provided or to be provided. The application must also
include a copy of the service provider's certification from
the Commonwealth of Virginia’s Small, Women-owned,
and Minority-owned Business certification program.

(2) Future points shall be awarded to an experienced
sponsor that serves as a consultant or service provider to a
local housing authority to receive an award of credits or
place a LIHTC development in service in Virginia, as
evidenced by the issuance of an IRS Form 8609 (up to a
cumulative maximum of six points). Two points shall be
awarded on one future application for assisting a local
housing authority with its successful application for
credits, as evidenced by a reservation agreement of IRC
8§ 42(m) letter. Four points shall be awarded on one future
application for providing ongoing assistance to the local
housing authority through the placed in service date and
receipt of IRS Form 8609. To qualify for future points
under this subdivision 5 d (2), an experienced sponsor
must provide in its application a certification, in a form to
be developed by the executive director, from the local
housing authority describing the assistance rendered by
the experienced sponsor and verifying that said assistance
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was a material component to the development receiving a
reservation of credits or placing in service or both.

e. Applicants with at least one principal having an
ownership interest of at least 25% in the controlling
general partner or managing member for the proposed
development that is a socially disadvantaged individual (5
points). Socially disadvantaged individuals are those who
have been subjected to racial or ethnic prejudice or
cultural bias because of their identity as a member of a
group without regard to their individual gqualities. The
social disadvantage must stem from circumstances beyond
their control. There is a rebuttable presumption that the
following individuals are socially disadvantaged: Black
Americans, Hispanic Americans, Native Americans, and
Asian Americans and Pacific Islanders. This provision
shall be interpreted in accordance with 13 CFR 124.103.

6. Efficient use of resources.

a. The percentage by which the total of the amount of
credits per low-income housing unit (the "per unit credit
amount™) of the proposed development is less than the
standard per unit credit amounts established by the
executive director for a given unit type, based upon the
number of such unit types in the proposed development.
(200 points multiplied by the percentage by which the total
amount of the per unit credit amount of the proposed
development is less than the applicable standard per unit
credit amount established by the executive director,
negative points will be assessed using the percentage by
which the total amount of the per unit credit amount of the
proposed development exceeds the applicable standard
per unit credit amount established by the executive
director.)

b. The percentage by which the cost per low-income
housing unit (per unit cost), adjusted by the authority for
location, of the proposed development is less than the
standard per unit cost amounts established by the
executive director for a given unit type, based upon the
number of such unit types in the proposed development.
(100 points multiplied by the percentage by which the total
amount of the per unit cost of the proposed development
is less than the applicable standard per unit cost amount
established by the executive director; negative points will
be assessed using the percentage by which the total
amount of the per unit cost amount of the proposed
development exceeds the applicable standard per unit cost
amount established by the executive director.)

The executive director may use a standard per square foot
credit amount and a standard per square foot cost amount in
establishing the per unit credit amount and the per unit cost
amount in this subdivision 6 abewe. For the purpose of
calculating the points to be assigned pursuant to such this
subdivision 6 abeve, all credit amounts shall include any
credits previously allocated to the development.

7. Bonus points.

a. Commitment by the applicant to impose income limits
on the low-income housing units throughout the extended
use period (as defined in the IRC) below those required by
the IRC in order for the development to be a qualified low-
income development. Applicants receiving points under
this subdivision 7 a may not receive points under
subdivision 7 b belew of this subsection. (Up to 50 points,
the product of (i) 100 multiplied by (ii) the percentage of
housing units in the proposed development both rent
restricted to and occupied by households at or below 50%
of the area median gross income; plus one point for each
percentage point of such housing units in the proposed
development that are further restricted to rents at or below
30% of 40% of the area median gross income up to an
additional 10 points.) If the applicant commits to
providing housing units in the proposed development both
rent-restricted to and occupied by households at or below
30% of the area median gross income and that are not
subsidized by project-based rental assistance. (plus 1 point
for each percentage point of such housing units in the
proposed development, up to an additional 10 points)

b. Commitment by the applicant to impose rent limits on
the low-income housing units throughout the extended use
period (as defined in the IRC) below those required by the
IRC in order for the development to be a qualified low-
income development. Applicants receiving points under
this subdivision 7 b may not receive points under
subdivision 7 a of this subsection. (Up to 25 points, the
product of (i) 50 multiplied by (ii) the percentage of
housing units in the proposed development rent restricted
to households at or below 50% of the area median gross
income; plus one point for each percentage point of such
housing units in the proposed development that are further
restricted to rents at or below 30% of 40% of the area
median gross income up to an additional 10 points. Points
for proposed developments in low-income jurisdictions
shall be two times the points calculated in the preceding
sentence, up to 50 points.)

c. Commitment by the applicant to maintain the low-
income housing units in the development as a qualified
low-income housing development beyond the 30-year
extended use period (as defined in the IRC). Applicants
receiving points under this subdivision 7 ¢ may not receive
bonus points under subdivision 7 d of this subsection. (40
points for a 10-year commitment beyond the 30-year
extended use period or 50 points for a 20-year
commitment beyond the 30-year extended use period.)

d. Participation by a local housing authority or qualified
nonprofit organization (substantially based or active in the
community with at least a 10% ownership interest in the
general partnership interest of the partnership) and a
commitment by the applicant to sell the proposed
development pursuant to an executed, recordable option or
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right of first refusal to such local housing authority or
qualified nonprofit organization or to a wholly owned
subsidiary of such organization or authority, at the end of
the 15-year compliance period, as defined by IRC, for a
price not to exceed the outstanding debt and exit taxes of
the for-profit entity. The applicant must record such option
or right of first refusal immediately after the low-income
housing commitment described in 13VAC10-180-70.
Applicants receiving points under this subdivision 7 d may
not receive bonus points under subdivision 7 ¢ of this
subsection. (60 points; plus five points if the local housing
authority or qualified nonprofit organization submits a
homeownership plan satisfactory to the authority in which
the local housing authority or qualified nonprofit
organization commits to sell the units in the development
to tenants.)

e. Any development participating in the Rental Assistance
Demonstration (RAD) program, or other conversion to
project-based vouchers or project-based rental assistance
approved by the authority, competing in the local housing
authority pool will receive an additional 10 points.
Applicants must show proof of a commitment to enter into
housing assistance payment (CHAP) or a RAD conversion
commitment (RCC).

f. Any applicant that commits in the application to submit
any payments due the authority, including reservation fees
and monitoring fees, by electronic payment. (5 points)

In calculating the points for subdivisions 7 a and 7 b abeve of
this subsection, any units in the proposed development
required by the locality to exceed 60% of the area median gross
income will not be considered when calculating the percentage
of low-income units of the proposed development with
incomes below those required by the IRC in order for the
development to be a qualified low-income development,
provided that the locality submits evidence satisfactory to the
authority of such requirement.

After points have been assigned to each application in the
manner described abewe in this subsection, the executive
director shall compute the total number of points assigned to
each such application. Any application that is assigned a total
number of points less than a threshold amount of 425 points
(325 points for developments financed with tax-exempt bonds
in such amount so as not to require under the IRC an allocation
of credits hereunder) shall be rejected from further
consideration hereunder and shall not be eligible for any
reservation or allocation of credits.

F. During its review of the submitted applications in all pools,
the authority may conduct is:

1. Its own analysis of the demand for the housing units to be
produced by each applicant's proposed development.
Notwithstanding any conclusion in the market study
submitted with an application, if the authority determines
that, based upon information from its own loan portfolio or

its own market study, inadequate demand exists for the
housing units to be produced by an applicant's proposed
development, the authority may exclude and disregard the
application for such proposed development.

Durinc | . ¢ . lications.inall s
the-authority-may-conducta 2. A site visit to the applicant's
proposed development. Notwithstanding any conclusion in
any environmental site assessment submitted with an
application, if the authority determines that the applicant's
proposed development presents health or safety concerns for
potential tenants of the development, the authority may
exclude and disregard the application for such proposed
development.

G. The executive director may:

1. May exclude and disregard any application that he the
executive director determines is not submitted in good faith
or that he determines would not be financially feasible.

2. May determine that an application is substantially
incomplete and ineligible for further review.

3. May also choose to allow for the immediate correction of
minor and immaterial defects in an application. Should the
executive director choose to allow correction, applicants will
be given 48 hours from the time of notification to cure
defects with their application. If the executive director
allows an applicant to cure minor defects, that does not
constitute approval or acceptance of the application and is
not an assurance that the application, upon further review,
will be deemed acceptable.

Examples of items that may be considered as "curable"
include:

a. If the applicant has failed to include a required
document, the applicant may supply the document,
provided, however, that the document existed on the
application deadline date and, if the document is a legal
agreement _or_instrument, the document was legally
effective on the application deadline date;

b. If statements or items in the application are
contradictory or mutually inconsistent, the applicant may
present _information resolving the contradiction or
inconsistency, provided, however, that the information
accurately reflects the state of affairs on the application
deadline date;

c. The applicant may provide any required signature that
has been omitted, except for applications that the
executive director deems to be substantially incomplete;
and

d. The applicant may cure any scrivener's error (provided,
that an alleged failure to select or an alleged erroneous
selection of a points item shall not be considered a
scrivener's error), missing or defective notarization,
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defective signature block, or defective legal name of an  within the Commonwealth, select one or more of the
individual or entity. applications with the highest combination of points from
subdivision E 7 of this section, and-each. Each application so
selected shall receive (in order based upon the number of such
points, beginning with the application with the highest number
of such points) a reservation of credits. If two or more of the
tied applications receive the same number of points from
subdivision E 7 of this section and if the amount of credits
available for reservation to such tied applications is determined
by the executive director to be insufficient for the financial
feasibility of all the developments described therein in the tied
for points applications, the executive director shall select one
or more of such applications by lot, and each application so
selected by lot shall receive (in order of such selection by lot)
a reservation of credits.

4. Shall notify the applicant of any curable defects it
discovers by telephone, and, simultaneously, in writing
electronically (email). The applicant's corrective submission
shall not be considered unless it is received by the executive
director no later than 48 hours (excluding weekends and
legal holidays) from the notification. If an applicant fails to
respond to the notification of curable defects within the 48-
hour cure period, or if an applicant's response is
nonresponsive to the guestion asked, a negative conclusion
shall be drawn. Failure to respond to an item in a cure
notification will result in the denial of points in that category
or_the application may be deemed to not meet threshold.
After the application deadline, telephone calls or other oral
or written communications on behalf of a tax credit applicant I. The executive director:
(for example, from a project's development team, elected
representatives, etc.) other than information submitted
pursuant to this subdivision shall not be accepted or
considered before preliminary reservation awards have been
announced.

1. For each application which that may receive a reservation
of credits, the-exeecutive-director shall determine the amount,
as of the date of the deadline for submission of applications
for reservation of credits, to be necessary for the financial
feasibility of the development and its viability as a qualified
5. Upon assignment of points to all of the applications, the low-income development throughout the credit period under
executive-director shall rank the applications based on the the IRC.

number of points so assigned. If any pools shall have been
established, each application shall be assigned to a pool and,
if any, to the appropriate tier within such pool and shall be

In making this determination, the executive director shall
consider the:

ranked within such pool or tier, if any. The amount of credits
made available to each pool will be determined by the
executive director. Available credits will include unreserved
per capita dollar amount credits from the current calendar
year under § 42(h)(3)(C)(i) of the IRC, any unreserved per
capita credits from previous calendar years, and credits
returned to the authority prior to the final ranking of the
applications and may include up to 40 50% of the next
calendar year's per capita credits as shall be determined by
the executive director. Those applications assigned more
points shall be ranked higher than those applications
assigned fewer points. However, if any set-asides
established by the executive director cannot be satisfied after
ranking the applications based on the number of points, the
executive director may rank as many applications as
necessary to meet the requirements of such set-aside
(selecting the highest ranked application, or applications,
meeting the requirements of the set-aside) over applications
with more points.

11 H. The authority shall in the event of a tie in the number of
points assigned to two or more applications within the same
pool, or, if none, within the Commonwealth, and in the event
that the amount of credits available for reservation to such
applications is determined by the executive director to be
insufficient for the financial feasibility of all of the
developments described therein in that pool, the—autherity
shall; to the extent necessary to fully utilize the amount of
credits available for reservation within such pool or, if none,

a. The sources and uses of the funds, the

b. The available federal, state, and local subsidies
committed to the development, the

c. The total financing planned for the development as well
as the investment proceeds or receipts expected by the
authority to be generated with respect to the development,
and the

d. The percentage of the credit dollar amount used for
development costs other than the costs of intermediaries.

He-shallalse 2. Shall examine the development's costs,
including developer's fees and other amounts in the
application, for reasonableness, and if he determines that
such costs or other amounts are unreasonably high, he shall
reduce them to amounts that he determines to be reasonable.

Fhe-executive-directorshall 3. Shall review the applicant's
projected rental income, operating expenses and debt service
for the credit period.

Fhe-executive-director-may 4. May establish such criteria

and assumptions as he shall deem reasonable for the purpose
of making such determination, including eriteria:

a. Criteria as to the reasonableness of fees and profits and
assumptions as to the amount of net syndication proceeds
to be received (based upon such percentage of the credit
dollar amount used for development costs, other than the
costs of intermediaries, as the executive director shall
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determine to be reasonable for the proposed development);
increases;

b. Increases in the market value of the development, and
increases in operating expenses, rental income; and—n

c. In the case of applications without firm financing

commitments {as-defined-hereinabeve) at fixed interest

rates, debt service on the proposed mortgage loan.

The—executive—director—may 5. May, if he deems it

appropriate, consider the development to be a part of a larger
development. In such a case, the executive director may
consider, examine, review and establish any or all of the
foregeing items described in this subsection as to the larger
development in making such determination for the
development.

J. Maximum developer's fee calculations will be indicated on
the application form, instructions, or other communication
available to the public. Notwithstanding such calculations of
developer's fee, (i) no more than $3 million developer's fee
may be included in the development's eligible basis, (ii) no
developer's fee may exceed $5 million, and (iii) no developer's
fee may exceed 15% of the development's total development
cost, as determined by the authority.

Ab-such f.' & It'“'es s 97939' calendar yearas “”e

K. The executive director:

1. Shall reserve credits to applications in descending order
of ranking within each pool and tier, if applicable, until
either substantially all credits therein are reserved or all
qualified applications therein have received reservations at
such time during each calendar year as the executive director
shall designate. {Ferthe-purpose-ofthe-preceding-sentence;
i If there is not more than a de minimis amount, as
determined by the executive director, of credits remaining in
a pool after reservations have been made, "substantially all"
of the credits in such pool shall be deemed to have been

reserved.}-Fhe-executive-directormay

2. May rank the applications within pools at different times
for different pools and may reserve credits, based on such
rankings, one or more times with respect to each pool.

Fhe-executive-director-may-also 3. May establish more than

one round of review and ranking of applications and
reservation of credits based on such rankings;and-he-shall.

4. Shall designate the amount of credits to be made available
for reservation within each pool during each such round. The
amount reserved to each such application shall be equal to
the lesser of (i) the amount requested in the application or
(if) an amount determined by the executive director, as of the
date of application, to be necessary for the financial
feasibility of the development and its viability as a qualified
low-income development throughout the credit period under
the IRC; provided, however, that in no event shall the

amount of credits so reserved exceed the maximum amount
permissible under the IRC.

H 5. May move the proposed development and the credits
available to another pool if the amount of credits available
in any pool is determined by the executive director to be
insufficient for the financial feasibility of the proposed
development to which such available credits are to be

reserved,—the—executive—director-may—move-theproposed
development-and-the credits-available to-another pool.

6. If any credits remain in any pool after moving proposed
developments and credits to another pool, the—executive
director may for developments that meet the requirements of
8 42(h)(1)(E) of the IRC only, reserve the remaining credits
to any proposed developments development scoring at or
above the minimum point threshold established by this
chapter without regard to the ranking of such application
with additional credits from the Commonwealth's annual
state housing credit ceiling for the following year in such an
amount necessary for the financial feasibility of the
proposed developments development. However, the
reservation of credits from the Commonwealth's annual state
housing credit ceiling for the following year shall be in the
reasonable discretion of the executive director if he
determines it to be in the best interest of the plan. In the event
a reservation or an allocation of credits from the current year
or a prior year is reduced, terminated, or canceled, the
executive director may substitute such credits for any credits
reserved from the following year's annual state housing
credit ceiling.

7. In the event that during any round of application review
and ranking the amount of credits reserved within any pools
is less than the total amount of credits made available therein
during such round, the-executive-director may {H-leave:

a. Leave such unreserved credits in such pools for

reservation and allocation in any subsequent rounds, ()
o

b. Redistribute such unreserved credits to such other pools

as the executive director may designate, {{b-supplement

c. Supplement such unreserved credits in such pools with
additional credits from the Commonwealth's annual state
housing credit ceiling for the following year for
reservation and allocation if in the reasonable discretion of
the executive director, it serves the best interest of the
plan, er{iv)-carry

d. Carry over such unreserved credits to the next
succeeding calendar year for inclusion in the state housing
credit ceiling (as defined in § 42(h)(3)(C) of the IRC) for
such year, or

e. Move a development from the nonprofit or new
construction pool to its or their appropriate geographic
pool to more fully or fully utilize the total amount of
credits made available therein during such round.
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Netwithstanding-anything-contained-herein,—the L. 1. The

total amount of credits that may be awarded in any credit year
after credit year 2001 to any applicant or to any related
applicants for one or more developments shall not exceed 15%
20% of Virginia's per capita dollar amount of credits for such
credit year (credit cap).

2. However, if the amount of credits to be reserved in any
such credit year to all applications assigned a total number
of points at or above the threshold amount set forth abeve in
this section shall be less than Virginia's dollar amount of
credits available for such credit year, then the authority's
board of commissioners may waive the credit cap to the
extent it deems necessary to reserve credits in an amount at
least equal to such dollar amount of credits.

3. Applicants shall be deemed to be related if any principal
in a proposed development or any person or entity related to
the applicant or principal will be a principal in any other
proposed development or developments. For purposes of
this paragraph subsection, a principal shall also include any
person or entity who, in the determination of the executive
director, has exercised or will exercise, directly or indirectly,
substantial control over the applicant or has performed or
will perform (or has assisted or will assist the applicant in
the performance of), directly or indirectly, substantial
responsibilities or functions customarily performed by
applicants with respect to applications or developments.

4. For the purpose of determining whether any person or
entity is related to the applicant or principal, persons or
entities shall be deemed to be related if the executive director
determines that any substantial relationship existed, either
directly between them or indirectly through a series of one
or more substantial relationships (e.g., if party A has a
substantial relationship with party B and if party B has a
substantial relationship with party C, then A has a substantial
relationship with both party B and party C), at any time
within three years of the filing of the application for the
credits.

5. In determining in any credit year whether an applicant has
a substantial relationship with another applicant with respect
to any application for which credits were awarded in any
prior credit year, the executive director shall determine
whether the applicants were related as of the date of the
filing of such prior credit year's application or within three
years prior thereto and shall not consider any relationships
or any changes in relationships subsequent to such date.

6. Substantial relationships shall include, the following
relationships (in each of the following relationships, the
persons or entities involved in the relationship are deemed
to be related to each other): {)-the

a. The persons are in the same immediate family
(including a spouse, children, parents, grandparents,
grandchildren, brothers, sisters, uncles, aunts, nieces, and
nephews) and are living in the same household; {i)-the

b. The entities have one or more common general partners
or members (including related persons and entities), or the
entities have one or more common owners that (by
themselves or together with any other related persons and
entities) have, in the aggregate, 5.0% or more ownership
interest in each entity; ¢ii)-the

Cc. The entities are under the common control (e.g., the
same persens person and any related persons serve as a
majority of the voting members of the boards of such
entities or as chief executive officers of such entities) of
one or more persons or entities (including related persons
and entities); {iv)-the

d. The person is a general partner, member or employee in
the entity or is an owner (by himself or together with any
other related persons and entities) of 5.0% or more
ownership interest in the entity; {4-the

e. The entity is a general partner or member in the other
entity or is an owner (by itself or together with any other
related persons and entities) of 5.0% or more ownership
interest in the other entity; or {vi)-the

f. The person or entity is otherwise controlled, in whole or
in part, by the other person or entity.

7. In determining compliance with the credit cap with
respect to any application, the executive director may
exclude any person or entity related to the applicant or to any
principal in such applicant if the executive director

determines that {i-sueh:

a. Such person or entity will not participate, directly or
indirectly, in matters relating to the applicant or the
ownership of the development to be assisted by the credits
for which the application is submitted, {{)-such

b. Such person or entity has no agreement or
understanding relating to such application or the tax
credits requested therein, and {H)-such

c. Such person or entity will not receive a financial benefit
from the tax credits requested in the application.

8. A limited partner or other similar investor shall not be
determined to be a principal and shall be excluded from the
determination of related persons or entities unless the
executive director shall determine that such limited partner
or investor will, directly or indirectly, exercise control over
the applicant or participate in matters relating to the
ownership of the development substantially beyond the
degree of control or participation that is usual and customary
for limited partners or other similar investors with respect to
developments assisted by the credits.

9. If the award of multiple applications of any applicant or
related applicants in any credit year shall cause the credit cap
to be exceeded, such applicant shall, upon notice from the
authority, jointly designate those applications for which
credits are not to be reserved so that such limitation shall not
be exceeded. Such notice shall specify the date by which
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such designation shall be made. In the absence of any such
designation by the date specified in such notice, the
executive director shall make such designation as he shall
determine to best serve the interests of the program.

10. Each applicant and each principal therein shall make
such certifications, shall disclose such facts and shall submit
such documents to the authority as the executive director
may require to determine compliance with the credit cap. If
an applicant or any principal therein makes any
misrepresentation to the authority concerning such
applicant's or principal's relationship with any other person
or entity, the executive director may reject any or all of such
applicant's pending applications for reservation or allocation
of credits, may terminate any or all reservations of credits to
the applicant, and may prohibit such applicant, the principals
therein and any persons and entities then or thereafter having
a substantial relationship (in the determination of the
executive director as described above) with the applicant or
any principal therein from submitting applications for credits
for such period of time as the executive director shall
determine.

“'It." ¢ easle.n ale t,' e-aftercredits-are |e|se|“uee| to-any

M. The executive director:

1. Shall notify each applicant for such reservations of credits
within a reasonable time after credits are reserved to any
applicants' applications either of:

a. Of the amount of credits reserved to such applicant’s
application {by issuing to such applicant a written binding
commitment to allocate such reserved credits subject to
such terms and conditions as may be imposed by the
executive director therein, by the IRC and by this chapter);
or-as-apphicablethat

b. That the applicant's application has been rejected or
excluded or has otherwise not been reserved credits in
accordance herewith.

The written binding commitment shall prohibit any

also received an allocation of credits from prior years,
provided such previously allocated credits are returned to the
authority. Any previously allocated credits returned to the
authority under such circumstances shall be placed into the
credit pools from which the current year's credits are
reserved to such applicants.

Fhe—executive—director—shall 3. Shall make a written
explanation available to the general public for any allocation
of housing credit dollar amount that is not made in
accordance with established priorities and selection criteria
of the authority.

a. The authority's board shall review and consider the
analysis and recommendation of the executive director for
the reservation of credits to an applicant, and, if it concurs
with such recommendation, it shall by resolution ratify the
reservation by the executive director of the credits to the
applicant, subject to such terms and conditions as it shall
deem necessary or appropriate to assure compliance with
the aforementioned binding commitment issued or to be
issued to the applicant, the IRC and this chapter.

b. If the board determines not to ratify a reservation of
credits or to establish any such terms and conditions, the
executive director shall so notify the applicant.

Fhe-executive-director-may 4. May require the applicant to

make a good faith deposit or to execute such contractual
agreements providing for monetary or other remedies as it
may require, or both, to assure that the applicant will comply
with all requirements under the IRC, this chapter and the
binding commitment (including any requirement to conform
to all of the representations, commitments and information
contained in the application for which points were assigned
pursuant to this section).

Upon satisfaction of all such aferementioned requirements
(including any post-allocation requirements), such deposit
shall be refunded to the applicant or such contractual
agreements shall terminate, or both, as applicable.

N. If, as of the date the application is approved by the

executive director, the applicant is entitled to an allocation of
the credits under the IRC, this chapter and the terms of any
binding commitment that the authority would have otherwise
issued to such applicant, the executive director may at that time
allocate the credits to such qualified low-income buildings or
development without first providing a reservation of such
credits. This provision in no way limits the authority of the
executive director to require a good faith deposit or contractual
agreement, or both, as described in the preceding paragraph,
nor to relieve the applicant from any other requirements
hereunder for eligibility for an allocation of credits. Any such
allocation shall be subject to ratification by the board in the
same manner as provided above with respect to reservations.

transfer, direct or indirect, of partnership interests (except
those involving the admission of limited partners) prior to
the placed-in-service date of the proposed development
unless the transfer is consented to by the executive
director. The written binding commitment shall further
limit the developers' fees to the amounts established
during the review of the applications for reservation of
credits and such amounts shall not be increased unless
consented to by the executive director.

. .
III Sredits ale reser ".ed to-a 5" app_llea 'ESF o -dEu?le ents
years;-the-executive-director-may 2. May reserve additional

credits from the current year equal to the amount of credits
allocated to such developments from prior years if credits
are reserved to any applicants for developments that have

0. The executive director may reguire;
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1. Require that applicants to whom credits have been
reserved shall submit from time to time or at such specified
times as he shall require, written confirmation and
documentation as to the status of the proposed development
and its compliance with the application, the binding
commitment and any contractual agreements between the
applicant and the authority.

2. If on the basis of such written confirmation and
documentation as the executive director shall have received
in response to such a request, or on the basis of such other
available information, or both, the executive director
determines any or all of the buildings in the development
that were to become qualified low-income buildings will not
do so within the time period required by the IRC or will not
otherwise qualify for such credits under the IRC, this chapter
or the binding commitment;-then-the-executive-director-may
{-terminate:

a. Terminate the reservation of such credits and draw on

any good faith deposit, or {H)-substitute

b. Substitute the reservation of credits from the current
credit year with a reservation of credits from a future credit
year if the delay is caused by a lawsuit beyond the
applicant's control that prevents the applicant from
proceeding with the development.

If, in lieu of or in addition to the foregoing determination,
the executive director determines that any contractual
agreements between the applicant and the authority have
been breached by the applicant, whether before or after
allocation of the credits, he may seek to enforce any and all
remedies to which the authority may then be entitled under
such contractual agreements.

Fhe—executive—director—may—establish 3. Establish such

deadlines for determining the ability of the applicant to
qualify for an allocation of credits as he shall deem
necessary or desirable to allow the authority sufficient time,
in the event of a reduction or termination of the applicant's
reservation, to reserve such credits to other eligible
applications and to allocate such credits pursuant thereto.

P. Any material changes to the development, as proposed in
the application, occurring subsequent to the submission of the
application for the credits therefor shall be subject to the prior
written approval of the executive director. As a condition to
any such approval, the executive director may, as necessary to
comply with this chapter, the IRC, the binding commitment
and any other contractual agreement between the authority and
the applicant, reduce the amount of credits applied for or
reserved or impose additional terms and conditions with
respect thereto. If such changes are made without the prior
written approval of the executive director, he may terminate or
reduce the reservation of such credits, impose additional terms
and conditions with respect thereto, seek to enforce any
contractual remedies to which the authority may then be

entitled, draw on any good faith deposit, or any combination of
the foregoing.

In the event that any reservation of credits is terminated or
reduced by the executive director under this section, he may
reserve, allocate or carry over, as applicable, such credits in
such manner as he shall determine consistent with the
requirements of the IRC and this chapter.

" inet . ‘ thi ion_the O. The

executive director may make a reservation of credits in:

1. In an accessible supportive housing pool (ASH pool) to
any applicant that proposes a nonelderly development that
(i) will be assisted by a documented and binding form of
rental assistance in order to ensure occupancy by extremely
low-income persons; (ii) conforms to HUD regulations
interpreting the accessibility requirements of § 504 of the
Rehabilitation Act; (iii) will be actively marketed to people
with disabilities in accordance with a plan submitted as part
of the application for credits and approved by the executive
director for at least 15% of the units in the development; (iv)
has a principal with a demonstrated capacity for supportive
housing evidenced by a certification from a certifying body
acceptable to the executive director or other preapproved
source; and (v) for which the applicant has completed the
authority's supportive housing certification form. Any such
reservations made in any calendar year may be up to 6:0%
10% of the Commonwealth's annual state housing credit
ceiling for the applicable credit year. However, such
reservation will be for credits from the Commonwealth's
annual state housing credit ceiling from the following
calendar year. If the ASH pool application deadline is
simultaneous with the deadline for the other pools, the
unsuccessful applicants in the ASH pool will also compete
in the applicable geographic pool.

J_etmtl standing the provisior S.GI this section, the e;eeze.uuTqu
developments having unique and innovative development
concepts, such as innovative construction methods or
materials; unique or innovative tenant services, tenant
selection criteria, or eviction policies; or otherwise
innovatively contributing to the authority's identified
mission and goals. The applications for such credits must
meet all the requirements of the IRC and threshold score.
The authority shall also establish a review committee
comprised of external real estate professionals, academic
leaders, and other individuals knowledgeable of real estate
development, design, construction, accessibility, energy
efficiency, or management to assist the authority in
determining and ranking the innovative nature of the
development. Such reservations will be for credits from the
next year's per capita credits and may not exceed 12.5% of
the credits expected to be available for that following
calendar year. Such reservations shall not be considered in
the executive director's determination that no more than 46%
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50% of the next calendar year's per capita credits have been
pre-reserved.

13VAC10-180-90. Monitoring for IRS compliance.

A. Federal law requires the authority to monitor
developments receiving credits for compliance with the
requirements of § 42 of the IRC and notify the IRS of any
noncompliance of which it becomes aware. Compliance with
the requirements of § 42 of the IRC is the responsibility of the
owner of the building for which the credit is allowable. The
monitoring requirements set forth hereinbelow in this section
are to qualify the authority's allocation plan of credits. The
authority's obligation to monitor for compliance with the
requirements of § 42 of the IRC does not make the authority
liable for an owner's noncompliance, nor does the authority's
failure to discover any noncompliance by an owner excuse
such noncompliance.

B. The owner of a low-income housing development must
keep records for each qualified low-income building in the
development that show for each year in the compliance period:

1. The total number of residential rental units in the building
(including the number of bedrooms and the size in square
feet of each residential rental unit).

2. The percentage of residential rental units in the building
that are low-income units.

3. The rent charged on each residential rental unit in the
building (including any utility allowances).

4. The number of occupants in each low-income unit, but
only if rent is determined by the number of occupants in each
unit under 8§ 42(g)(2) of the IRC (as in effect before the
amendments made by the federal Revenue Reconciliation
Act of 1989).

5. The low-income unit vacancies in the building and
information that shows when, and to whom, the next
available units were rented.

6. The annual income certification of each low-income
tenant per unit.

7. Documentation to support each low-income tenant's
income certification (for example, a copy of the tenant's
federal income tax return, Forms W-2, or verifications of
income from third parties such as employers or state
agencies paying unemployment compensation). Tenant
income is calculated in a manner consistent with the
determination of annual income under section 8 of the
United States Housing Act of 1937, 42 USC § 1401 et seq.
(section 8), not in accordance with the determination of
gross income for federal income tax liability. In the case of
a tenant receiving housing assistance payments under
section 8, the documentation requirement of this subdivision
7 is satisfied if the public housing authority provides a
statement to the building owner declaring that the tenant's

income does not exceed the applicable income limit under
8§ 42(g) of the IRC.

8. The eligible basis and qualified basis of the building at the
end of the first year of the credit period.

9. The character and use of the nonresidential portion of the
building included in the building's eligible basis under
§ 42(d) of the IRC (e.g., tenant facilities that are available on
a comparable basis to all tenants and for which no separate
fee is charged for use of the facilities, or facilities reasonably
required by the development).

The owner of a low-income housing development must retain
the records described in this subsection B for at least six years
after the due date (with extensions) for filing the federal
income tax return for that year. The records for the first year of
the credit period, however, must be retained for at least six
years beyond the due date (with extensions) for filing the
federal income tax return for the last year of the compliance
period of the building.

In addition, the owner of a low-income housing development
must retain any original local health, safety, or building code
violation reports or notices issued by the Commonwealth or
local government (as described in subdivision C 6 of this
section) for the authority's inspection. Retention of the original
violation reports or notices is not required once the authority
reviews the violation reports or notices and completes its
inspection, unless the violation remains uncorrected.

C. The owner of a low-income housing development must
certify annually to the authority, on the form prescribed by the
authority, that, for the preceding 12-month period:

1. The development met the requirements of the 20-50 test
under § 42(g)(1)(A) of the IRC, the 40-60 test under
8 42(9)(2)(B) of the IRC, or the income averaging test of the
federal Consolidated Appropriations Act of 2018 (as limited
by the executive director), whichever minimum set-aside
test was applicable to the development.

2. There was no change in the applicable fraction (as defined
in § 42(c)(1)(B) of the IRC) of any building in the
development, or that there was a change, and a description
of the change.

3. The owner has received an annual income certification
from each low-income tenant, and documentation to support
that certification; or, in the case of a tenant receiving section
8 housing assistance payments, the statement from a public
housing authority described in subdivision 7 of subsection B
of this section (unless the owner has obtained a waiver from
the IRS pursuant to § 42(g)(8)(B) of the IRC).

4. Each low-income unit in the development was rent-
restricted under § 42(g)(2) of the IRC.

5. All units in the development were for use by the general
public (as defined in IRS Regulation § 1.42-9) and that no
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finding of discrimination under the Fair Housing Act has
occurred for the development. (A finding of discrimination
includes an adverse final decision by the Secretary of HUD,
24 CFR 180.680, an adverse final decision by a substantially
equivalent state or local fair housing agency, 42 USC
8§ 3616(a)(1), or adverse judgment from federal court.)

6. Each building in the development was suitable for
occupancy, taking into account local health, safety, and
building codes (or other habitability standards), and that the
Commonwealth or local government unit responsible for
making local health, safety, and building code inspections
did not issue a violation report for any building or low-
income unit in the development. (If a violation report or
notice was issued by the governmental unit, the owner must
attach a statement summarizing the violation report or notice
or a copy of the violation report or notice to the annual
certification. In addition the owner must state whether the
violation has been corrected.)

7. There was no change in the eligible basis (as defined in
8 42(d) of the IRC) of any building in the development, or if
there was a change, the nature of the change (e.g., acommon
area has become commercial space or a fee is now charged
for a tenant facility formerly provided without charge).

8. All tenant facilities included in the eligible basis under
8 42(d) of the IRC of any building in the development, such
as swimming pools, other recreational facilities, and parking
areas, were provided on a comparable basis without charge
to all tenants in the building.

9. If a low-income unit in the development became vacant
during the year, that reasonable attempts were or are being
made to rent that unit or the next available unit of
comparable or smaller size to tenants having a qualifying
income before any units in the development were or will be
rented to tenants not having a qualifying income.

10. If the income of tenants of a low-income unit in the
development increased above the Ilimit allowed in
8 42(9)(2)(D)(ii) of the IRC, the next available unit of
comparable or smaller size in the development was or will
be rented to tenants having a qualifying income.

11. An extended low income housing commitment as
described in § 42(h)(6) of the IRC was in effect (for
buildings subject to § 7108(c)(1) of the federal Omnibus
Budget Reconciliation Act of 1989).

12. All units in the development were used on a nontransient
basis (except for transitional housing for the homeless
provided under § 42(i)(3)(B)(iii) of the IRC or single-room-
occupancy units rented on a month-by-month basis under
8 42(i)(3)(B)(iv) of the IRC).

Such certifications shall be made annually covering each
year of the compliance period and must be made under the
penalty of perjury.

In addition, each owner of a low-income housing
development must provide to the authority, on a form
prescribed by the authority, a certification containing such
information necessary for the Commonwealth to determine
the eligibility of tax credits for the first year of the
development's compliance period.

D. The authority will review each certification set forth in
subsection C of this section for compliance with the
requirements of § 42 of the IRC. Also, the authority will
conduct on-site inspections of all the buildings in the
development by the end of the second calendar year following
the year the last building in the development is placed in
service and, for at least the lesser of the applicable minimum
sample size required by HUD's Real Estate Assessment Center
(REAC) for inspections under HUD programs or 20% of the
development's low-income housing units in the project
rounded up to the next whole number, inspect the low-income
certification, the documentation the owner has received to
support that certification, and the rent record for the tenants in
those units. In addition, at least once every three years, the
authority will conduct on-site inspections of all the buildings
in each low-income housing development and, for at least the
lesser of the applicable minimum sample size required by
REAC for inspections under HUD programs or 20% of the
development's low-income units in the project rounded up to
the next whole number, inspect the units, the low-income
certifications, the documentation the owner has received to
support the certifications, and the rent record for the tenants in
those units. The authority will determine which low-income
housing developments will be reviewed in a particular year and
which tenant's records are to be inspected.

In addition, the authority, at its option, may request an owner
of a low-income housing development not selected for the
review procedure set forth above in a particular year to submit
to the authority for compliance review copies of the annual
income certifications, the documentation such owner has
received to support those certifications and the rent record for
each low-income tenant of the low-income units in their
development.

All low-income housing developments may be subject to
review at any time during the compliance period.

E. The authority has the right to perform, and each owner of
a development receiving credits shall permit the performance
of, an on-site inspection of any low-income housing
development through the end of the compliance period of the
building. The inspection provision of this subsection E is
separate from the review of low-income certifications,
supporting documents and rent records under subsection D of
this section.

The owner of a low-income housing development should
notify the authority when the development is placed in service.
The authority reserves the right to inspect the property prior to
issuing IRS Form 8609 to verify that the development

Volume 38, Issue 2

Virginia Register of Regulations

September 13, 2021

266



Regulations

conforms to the representations made in the Application for
Reservation and Application for Allocation.

F. The authority will provide written notice to the owner of a
low-income housing development if the authority does not
receive the certification described in subsection C of this
section, or does not receive or is not permitted to inspect the
tenant income certifications, supporting documentation, and
rent records described in subsection D of this section or
discovers by inspection, review, or in some other manner, that
the development is not in compliance with the provisions of
§ 42 of the IRC.

Such written notice will set forth a correction period which
shall be that period specified by the authority during which an
owner must supply any missing certifications and bring the
development into compliance with the provisions of § 42 of the
IRC. The authority will set the correction period for a time not
to exceed 90 days from the date of such notice to the owner.
The authority may extend the correction period for up to six
months, but only if the authority determines there is good cause
for granting the extension.

The authority will file Form 8823, "Low-Income Housing
Credit Agencies Report of Noncompliance,” with the IRS no
later than 45 days after the end of the correction period (as
described above, including any permitted extensions) and no
earlier than the end of the correction period, whether or not the
noncompliance or failure to certify is corrected. The authority
must explain on Form 8823 the nature of the noncompliance or
failure to certify and indicate whether the owner has corrected
the noncompliance or failure to certify. Any change in either
the applicable fraction or eligible basis under subdivisions 2
and 7 of subsection C of this section, respectively, that results
in a decrease in the qualified basis of the development under
8 42(c)(1)(A) of the IRC is noncompliance that must be
reported to the IRS under this subsection F. If the authority
reports on Form 8823 that a building is entirely out of
compliance and will not be in compliance at any time in the
future, the authority need not file Form 8823 in subsequent
years to report that building's noncompliance.

The authority will retain records of noncompliance or failure
to certify for six years beyond the authority's filing of the
respective Form 8823. In all other cases, the authority must
retain the certifications and records described in subsection C
of this section for three years from the end of the calendar year
the authority receives the certifications and records.

G. If the authority decides to enter into the agreements
described below, the review requirements under subsection D
of this section will not require owners to submit, and the
authority is not required to review, the tenant income
certifications, supporting documentation and rent records for
buildings financed by Rural Development under the § 515
program, or buildings of which 50% or more of the aggregate
basis (taking into account the building and the land) is financed
with the proceeds of obligations the interest on which is

exempt from tax under § 103 (tax-exempt bonds). In order for
a monitoring procedure to except these buildings, the authority
must enter into an agreement with Rural Development or tax-
exempt bond issuer. Under the agreement, Rural Development
or tax-exempt bond issuer must agree to provide information
concerning the income and rent of the tenants in the building
to the authority. The authority may assume the accuracy of the
information provided by Rural Development or the tax-exempt
bond issuer without verification. The authority will review the
information and determine that the income limitation and rent
restriction of § 42(g)(1) and (2) of the IRC are met. However,
if the information provided by Rural Development or tax-
exempt bond issuer is not sufficient for the authority to make
this determination, the authority will request the necessary
additional income or rent information from the owner of the
buildings. For example, because Rural Development
determines tenant eligibility based on its definition of "adjusted
annual income,” rather than "annual income™ as defined under
section 8, the authority may have to calculate the tenant's
income for purposes of 8 42 of the IRC and may need to request
additional income information from the owner.

H. The owners of low-income housing developments must
pay to the authority such fees in such amounts and at such
times as the authority shall reasonably require the owners to
pay in order to reimburse the authority for the costs of
monitoring compliance with § 42 of the IRC.

I. The owners of low-income housing developments that have
submitted IRS Forms 8821, Tax Information Authorization,
naming the authority as the appointee to receive tax
information on such owners shall submit from time to time
renewals of such Forms 8821 as required by the authority
throughout the extended use period.

J. The requirements of this section shall continue throughout
the extended use period, notwithstanding the use of the term
compliance period, except to the extent modified or waived by
the executive director.

Chapter 200
Rules and Regulations for the Allocation of Virginia Housing

Opportunity Tax Credits
13VAC10-200-10. Definitions.

The following words and terms when used in this chapter
shall have the following meanings, unless the context clearly
indicates otherwise:

"Applicant" means an applicant for HOTC under this chapter
and also means the owner of the development to whom the
HOTC are allocated.

"Authority"
Authority.
"Eligibility certificate” means a certificate issued by the

Authority to the owner of a qualified project certifying that
such project qualifies for the HOTC, has been awarded HOTC

means the Virginia Housing Development
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pursuant to the provisions of this chapter, and specifying the

calendar year 2025. The credit period shall be one year. The

amount of HOTC that the owner of such gualified project may

aggregate HOTC program shall equal up to $75 million. Any

claim.

"Enabling legislation" means §8§ 58.1-439.29 and 58.1-439.30
of the Code of Virginia, and any amendments or supplements

HOTC not used by taxpayer in a taxable year may be carried
forward for the succeeding five years.

B. To qualify for the HOTC, the applicant must have applied

thereto.

"HOTC" or "credits" means the Virginia housing opportunity
tax credits as created in the enabling legislation, as
implemented in this chapter.

"IRC" means the Internal Revenue Code of 1986, as

for federal 9% LIHTC, and have been (i) allocated LIHTC or
(ii) allowed LIHTC (i.e., determined by the authority to be
eligible for LIHTC but not allocated LIHTC). In the event of
alternative clause (ii) of this subsection, the HOTC may be
stand-alone (i.e., not allocated to the applicant in addition to
LIHTC).

amended, and the rules, requlations, notices, and other official
pronouncements promulgated under the IRC.

"|RS" means the Internal Revenue Service.

"LIHTC" means the federal low-income housing tax credits
as provided in § 42 of the IRC, as amended.

"Qualified application" means a written request for HOTC
which is submitted by an applicant on a form or forms
prescribed or approved by the executive director together with
all documents required by the authority for submission and
meets all mandatory items and any minimum scoring
requirements as set forth on the application form, instructions,
or other communication available to the public.

"Qualified low-income buildings" or "qualified low-income
development” means the buildings or development, which
meets the applicable requirements in § 42 of the IRC to qualify
for an allocation of credits under § 42.

"Qualified project" means a qualified low-income building or
gualified low-income development that is located in Virginia,
is placed in service on or after January 1, 2021, has received an
allocation of HOTC under this chapter, and is issued an
eligibility certificate.

13VAC10-200-20. General.

A. The authority is designated in the enabling legislation to
administer the HOTC and is authorized to promulgate these
regulations, quidelines, instructions, and documents necessary
to implement and administer the HOTC and approve, allocate,
and certify the use of the HOTC, including the issuance of
eligibility certificates.

B. The executive director is authorized to waive or modify
any provision in this chapter where the executive director
deems it appropriate for good cause to promote the goals and
interests of the Commonwealth in the HOTC program, to the
extent not inconsistent with the IRC or the enabling legislation.

13VAC10-200-30. Availability and amount of HOTC.

A. Based upon the legislative intent of § 58.1-439.30 G of the
Code of Virginia, notwithstanding any provisions of the
enabling legislation inconsistent with § 58.1-439.30 G, the
authority will award up to $15 million of HOTC each of the
five calendar years beginning in calendar 2021 through

C. While only LIHTC projects placed in service on or after
January 1, 2021, may be eligible for HOTC, not every
development receiving LIHTC and placing in service on or
after January 1, 2021, will receive HOTC. Rankings and
awards of HOTC to qualified projects shall be in accordance
with 13VAC10-200-40.

D. The HOTC for each qualified project may be (i) up to the
amount of the federal LIHTC allocated or allowed for the
gualified project or (ii) a percentage of the federal LIHTC
allocated or allowed for the qualified project as determined by
the authority, based upon the availability of HOTC as
compared to the federal LIHTC allocated or allowed for the
qualified projects or such other factors the executive director
deems appropriate for good cause to promote the goals and
interests of the Commonwealth in the HOTC program.

E. The authority may pre-allocate future years' HOTC, but
such credits cannot be claimed until the calendar year
designated by the authority. Subject to the requirement that the
total amount of tax credits authorized under this chapter shall
not exceed $15 million per calendar year, the authority may re-
allocate any HOTC that are terminated or canceled and
returned to the authority.

13VAC10-200-40. Applications, ranking of applications
and award of HOTC.

A. Application for a reservation of credits shall be
commenced by filing with the authority an application, on such
forms as the executive director may from time to time prescribe
or_approve, together with such documents and additional
information as may be requested by the authority in order to
comply with this chapter and to make the reservation and
allocation of the credits in accordance with this chapter.

B. For purposes of subsection A of this section, the authority
may utilize the application submitted for LIHTC, alone or with
an HOTC addendum, or may require an entirely new HOTC
application be submitted.

C. The executive director may:

1. Reject any application from consideration for a
reservation or allocation of credits if in such application the
applicant does not provide the proper documentation or
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information _on the forms prescribed by the executive
director.

2. Prescribe such deadlines for submission of applications
for reservation and allocation of credits for any calendar year
as deemed necessary or desirable to allow sufficient
processing time for the Authority to make such reservations
and allocations.

3. Divide the amount of credits into separate pools and each
separate pool may be further divided into separate tiers. The
division of such pools and tiers may be based upon one or
more of the following factors:

a. Geographical areas of the state;
b. Types or characteristics of housing;
c. Construction;

d. Financing;
e. Owners;

f. Occupants;
g. Source of credits; or

h. Any other factors deemed appropriate by the executive
director to best meet the housing needs of the
Commonwealth.

D. The development for which an application is submitted
may be, but shall not be required to be, financed by the
authority. If any such development is to be financed by the
authority, the application for such financing shall be submitted
to and received by the authority in accordance with Rules and
Regulations  for Multi-Family Housing Developments

(13VAC10-20).

E. The authority shall review each application, and, based on
the application and other information available to the authority,
shall assign points to each application as follows:

1. According to points assigned pursuant to 13VAC10-180,
Rules and Regulations for Allocation of Low-Income
Housing Tax Credits; or

2. Such other methodology for assigning points as
determined by the executive director to promote the goals
and interests of the Commonwealth in the HOTC program.
Such methodology may include prioritizing one or more of
the following:

a. Unfunded developments in the At-Large pools of the

d. Developments that preserve existing affordable
housing;

e. Developments with rents and income limits that are
more deeply targeted than required by the LIHTC
program;

f. Developments in high-opportunity areas; or

g. Developments providing enhanced tenant services, as
defined by the Authority.

The executive director may exclude and disregard any
application that the executive director determines is not
submitted in good faith or would not be financially feasible.

F. Upon assignment of points to all of the applications, the
executive director shall rank the applications based on the
number of points so assigned. If any pools shall have been
established, each application shall be assigned to a pool and, if
any, to the appropriate tier within such pool and shall be ranked
within such pool or tier, if any. The amount of credits made
available to each pool will be determined by the executive
director. Those applications assigned more points shall be
ranked higher than those applications assigned fewer points.
Applications with the highest rankings shall receive allocations
up to the allowable amount, determined by the executive
director pursuant to 13VAC10-200-30, prior to any allocations
to lower ranking applicants.

In the event of a tie in the number of points assigned to two
or more projects, the executive director shall select one or more
of such applications by lot for an award of credits.

G. Within a reasonable time after credits are reserved to any
applicant applications, the executive director shall notify each
applicant for such reservations of credits either:

1. Of the amount of credits reserved to such applicant’s
application by issuing to such applicant a written binding
commitment to allocate such reserved credits subject to such
terms and conditions as may be imposed by the executive
director therein and by this chapter, or

2. That the applicant's application has been rejected or
excluded or has otherwise not been reserved credits in
accordance with this chapter.

H. The authority's board shall review and consider the
analysis and recommendation of the executive director for the
reservation of credits to an applicant, and, if it concurs with

9% LIHTC competition, in order to produce more LIHTC

such recommendation, it shall by resolution ratify the

units in Virginia;

b. Unfunded developments in the Local Housing
Authority pool of the 9% LIHTC competition or other
developments that are a part of a local housing authority’s
public housing revitalization efforts;

c. 9% LIHTC developments that have not yet placed in
service having equity funding gaps, in order to make such
developments feasible;

reservation by the executive director of the credits to the
applicant, subject to such terms and conditions as it shall deem
necessary or appropriate to assure compliance with the binding
commitment issued or to be issued to the applicant and this
chapter. If the board determines not to ratify a reservation of
credits or to establish any such terms and conditions, the
executive director shall notify the applicant of the board's
determination.
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I. The authority shall provide the Department of Taxation
with copies of HOTC award letters and eligibility certificates,
or summary reports of the HOTC award letters and eligibility
certificates no less than annually.

J. In the event the Authority terminates an applicant's award
of LIHTC pursuant to 13VVAC10-180-60 or the applicant enters
into a cancellation agreement with the Authority for such
award, the award of HOTC shall also immediately terminate or
be canceled, as applicable, and the Authority will notify the
Department of Taxation accordingly.

13VAC10-200-50. Eligibility certificate.

Upon the authority's approval of a final cost certification that
complies with the authority's requirements and the satisfaction
of all requirements set forth in the HOTC award letter issued
by the authority, the executive director shall issue an eligibility
certificate to a qualified project.

13VAC10-200-60. Recapture of HOTC.

A. The authority will monitor the developments receiving
HOTC in the same manner it monitors LIHTC properties
pursuant to the IRC and in accordance with 13VAC10-180,
Rules and Regulations for Allocation of Low-Income Housing
Tax Credits.

B. If under § 42 of the IRC, a portion of any federal LIHTC
taken on a qualified project is required to be recaptured or is
otherwise disallowed during the credit period, the taxpayer
claiming HOTC with respect to such project shall also be
required to recapture a portion of any HOTC. The percentage
of HOTC subiject to recapture shall be equal to the percentage
of LIHTC subject to recapture or otherwise disallowed during
such period. Any tax credits recaptured or disallowed shall
increase the income tax liability of the qualified taxpayer who
claimed the tax credits in a like amount and shall be included
on the tax return of the qualified taxpayer submitted for the
taxable year in which the recapture or disallowance event is
identified.

C. In the event the HOTC is awarded as a stand-alone credit,
the percentage of HOTC subject to recapture shall be equal to
the percentage of LIHTC that would have been subject to
recapture or otherwise disallowed, as determined by the
executive director, during such period.

13VAC10-200-70. Fees.

The executive director may impose application, allocation,
certification, and monitoring fees designed to recoup the costs
of the authority in administering the HOTC. Such fees shall be
payable at such time as the executive director shall require.

VA.R. Doc. No. R22-6902; Filed August 23, 2021, 2:37 p.m.

* *

TITLE 16. LABOR AND EMPLOYMENT

VIRGINIA WORKERS' COMPENSATION
COMMISSION

Final Regulation

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Virginia  Workers'
Compensation Commission is claiming an exemption from
Article 2 of the Administrative Process Act in accordance with
§2.2-4006 A 15 of the Code of Virginia, which exempts
regulations adopted pursuant to § 65.2-605 of the Code of
Virginia, including regulations that adopt, amend, adjust, or
repeal Virginia fee schedules for medical services, provided
the Workers' Compensation Commission (i) utilizes a
regulatory advisory panel constituted as provided in
subdivision F 2 of § 65.2-605 to assist in the development of
such regulations and (ii) provides an opportunity for public
comment on the regulations prior to adoption. The commission
will receive, consider, and respond to petitions by any
interested person at any time with respect to reconsideration or
revision.

Title of Regulation: 16VAC30-110. Medical Fee Schedules
Regulations (amending 16VAC30-110-10).

Statutory Authority: 8 65.2-605 of the Code of Virginia.
Effective Date: October 15, 2021.

Agency Contact: James J. Szablewicz, Chief Deputy
Commissioner, Virginia Workers' Compensation Commission,
333 East Franklin Street, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone

(804) 205-3097, FAX (804) 823-6936, or email
james.szablewicz@workcomp.virginia.gov.
Summary:

The amendments update the medical fee schedule
regulations to include the 2022 Medical Fee Schedules
that will be applicable to medical services rendered in
workers' compensation cases during the period from
January 1, 2022, through December 31, 2023.

16VAC30-110-10. Definitions.

The following words and terms when used in this chapter
shall have the following meanings unless the context clearly
indicates otherwise:

"Commission" means the Virginia Workers' Compensation
Commission.

"Community" means one of the six medical communities as
defined in § 65.2-605 A of the Code of Virginia.

"Ground rules" means:

1. For medical services rendered during the period from
January 1, 2018, through December 31, 2019, the 2018
Medical Fee Schedule Ground Rules adopted by the
commission on June 13, 2017, and revised on November 14,
2017, incorporated by reference and available on the
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commission's website at
http://www.workcomp.virginia.gov/content/virginia-
medical-fee-schedules-ground-rules.

2. For medical services rendered during the period from
January 1, 2020, through December 31, 2021, the 2020
Medical Fee Schedule Ground Rules adopted by the
commission on July 18, 2019, and revised on October 17,
2019, incorporated by reference and available on the
commission's website at
http://www.workcomp.virginia.gov/content/virginia-
medical-fee-schedules-ground-rules.

3. For medical services rendered during the period from
January 1, 2022, through December 31, 2023, the 2022
Medical Fee Schedule Ground Rules adopted by the
commission on June 29, 2021, incorporated by reference and
available on the commission's website at
http://websitega/documents/2022-medical-fee-schedules-

ground-rules.

"Medical services" means any medical, surgical, or hospital
service required to be provided to an injured person pursuant
to Title 65.2 of the Code of Virginia, exclusive of a medical
service provided in the treatment of a traumatic injury or
serious burn as those terms are defined in § 65.2-605 A of the
Code of Virginia.

"Virginia fee schedules™ means:

1. For medical services rendered during the period from
January 1, 2018, through December 31, 2019, the 2018
Medical Fee Schedules adopted by the commission on June
13, 2017, and revised on November 14, 2017, incorporated
by reference and available on the commission's website at
http://www.workcomp.virginia.gov/content/virginia-
medical-fee-schedules.

2. For medical services rendered during the period from
January 1, 2020, through December 31, 2021, the 2020
Medical Fee Schedules adopted by the commission on July
18, 2019, and revised on October 17, 2019, incorporated by
reference and available on the commission's website at
http://www.workcomp.virginia.gov/content/virginia-
medical-fee-schedules.

3. For medical services rendered during the period from
January 1, 2021, through December 31, 2022, the 2022
Medical Fee Schedules adopted by the commission on June
29, 2021, incorporated by reference and available on the
commission's website at http://websiteqa/content/2022-
virginia-medical-fee-schedules.

DOCUMENTS INCORPORATED BY REFERENCE
(16VAC30-110)

Virginia Workers' Compensation Medical Fee Schedules
Ground Rules, adopted June 13, 2017, revised November 14,
2017, Virginia Workers' Compensation Commission

Virginia Workers' Compensation Medical Fee Schedules
Ground Rules, adopted July 18, 2019, revised on October 17,
2019, Virginia Workers' Compensation Commission

Virginia Workers' Compensation Medical Fee Schedules
Ground Rules, adopted June 29, 2021, Virginia Workers'
Compensation Commission

Virginia Workers' Compensation Medical Fee Schedules,
adopted June 13, 2017, revised November 14, 2017, Virginia
Workers' Compensation Commission,
http://www.workcomp.virginia.gov/content/virginia-medical-
fee-schedules

2020 Virginia Workers' Compensation Medical Fee
Schedules adopted July 18, 2019, and revised on October 17,
2019, Virginia Workers' Compensation Commission,
http://www.workcomp.virginia.gov/content/virginia-medical-
fee-schedules

2022 Medical Fee Schedules adopted June 29, 2021, Virginia
Workers' Compensation Commission,
http://websiteqa/content/2022-virginia-medical-fee-schedules

VA.R. Doc. No. R22-6933; Filed August 25, 2021, 9:45 a.m.

* L 4

TITLE 18. PROFESSIONAL AND
OCCUPATIONAL LICENSING

REAL ESTATE BOARD

Final Regulation

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Real Estate Board is claiming
an exemption from Acrticle 2 of the Administrative Process Act
in accordance with § 2.2-4006 A 4 a of the Code of Virginia,
which excludes regulations that are necessary to conform to
changes in Virginia statutory law or the appropriation act
where no agency discretion is involved. The board will receive,
consider, and respond to petitions by any interested person at
any time with respect to reconsideration or revision.

Title of Requlation: 18VAC135-20. Virginia Real Estate
Board Licensing Regulations (amending 18VAC135-20-30,
18VAC135-20-60, 18VAC135-20-260).

Statutory Authority: 88 54.1-201 and 54.1-2105 of the Code of
Virginia.

Effective Date: November 1, 2021.

Agency Contact: Christine Martine, Executive Director, Real
Estate Board, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 400, Richmond, VA
23233, telephone (804) 367-8552, FAX (804) 527-4299, or
email reboard@dpor.virginia.gov.

Summary:
Pursuant to Chapters 550 and 551 of the 2021 Acts of
Assembly, Special Session I, which limits dissemination of
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https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/16VAC30/DIBR/cbc85005348~1s.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/16VAC30/dibr/2020%20MFS%20RR11Form-20210827102141-20210827161436.pdf
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criminal history record information and clarifies that
convictions for certain misdemeanor marijuana offenses
are not to be disclosed to the agency, the amendments
update provisions concerning qualifications for licensure
and standards of conduct to conform the regulation to
statute.

18VAC135-20-30. Qualifications for licensure.

Every applicant to the Real Estate Board for an individual
salesperson's or broker's license shall have the following
qualifications:

1. The applicant shall have a good reputation for honesty,
truthfulness, and fair dealing, and be competent to transact
the business of a real estate broker or a real estate
salesperson in such a manner as to safeguard the interests of
the public.

2. The applicant shall meet the current educational
requirements by achieving a passing grade in all required
courses of 8 54.1-2105 of the Code of Virginia prior to the
time the applicant sits for the licensing examination and
applies for licensure.

3. The applicant shall be in good standing as a licensed real
estate broker or salesperson in every jurisdiction where
licensed and the applicant shall not have had a license as a
real estate broker or real estate salesperson which was
suspended, revoked or surrendered in connection with a
disciplinary action or which has been the subject of
discipline in any jurisdiction prior to applying for licensure
in Virginia. The applicant shall be in compliance with all the
terms of all board orders, including but not limited to paying
imposed monetary penalties and costs, plus any accrued
interest and other fees, and completing imposed education.

4. In accordance with § 54.1-204 of the Code of Virginia,
each applicant shall submit to fingerprinting and shall
disclose the following information:

a. All misdemeanor convictions involving moral
turpitude, sexual offense, non-marijuana drug distribution,
or physical injury within five years of the date of the
application; and

b. All felony convictions during his lifetime.

Any plea of nolo contendere shall be considered a conviction
for purposes of this subsection. The record of a conviction
received from a court shall be accepted as prima facie
evidence of a conviction or finding of guilt. The board, in its
discretion, may deny licensure to any applicant in accordance
with 8 54.1-204 of the Code of Virginia.

5. The applicant shall be at least 18 years old.

6. The applicant shall have a high school diploma or its
equivalent.

7. The applicant, within 12 months prior to submitting a
complete application for a license, shall have passed a

written examination provided by the board or by a testing
service acting on behalf of the board.

8. The applicant shall follow all procedures established with
regard to conduct at the examination. Failure to comply with
all procedures established with regard to conduct at the
examination may be grounds for denial of application.

9. Applicants for licensure who do not meet the requirements
set forth in subdivisions 3 and 4 of this section may be
approved for licensure following consideration by the board.

18VAC135-20-60.
reciprocity.

Qualifications for licensure by

An individual who is currently licensed as a real estate
salesperson or broker in another jurisdiction may obtain a
Virginia real estate license by meeting the following
requirements:

1. The applicant shall be at least 18 years of age.

2. The applicant shall have a high school diploma or its
equivalent.

3. The applicant shall have received the salesperson's or
broker's license by virtue of having passed in the jurisdiction
of licensure a written examination deemed to be
substantially equivalent to the Virginia examination.

4. The applicant shall sign a statement verifying that he has read
and understands the provisions of this chapter and Chapter 21
(8 54.1-2100 et seq.) of Title 54.1 of the Code of Virginia.

5. The applicant, within 12 months prior to submitting a
complete application for a license, shall have passed a
written examination provided by the board or by a testing
service acting on behalf of the board covering Virginia real
estate license law and regulations of the Real Estate Board.

6. The applicant shall follow all procedures established with
regard to conduct at the examination. Failure to comply with all
procedures established by the board with regard to conduct at
the examination may be grounds for denial of application.

7. The applicant shall be in good standing as a licensed real
estate broker or salesperson in every jurisdiction where
licensed and the applicant shall not have had a license as a
real estate broker or real estate salesperson which was
suspended, revoked, or surrendered in connection with a
disciplinary action or which has been the subject of
discipline in any jurisdiction prior to applying for licensure
in Virginia. The applicant shall be in compliance with all the
terms of all board orders, including but not limited to paying
imposed monetary penalties and costs, plus any accrued
interest and other fees, and completing imposed education.

8. At the time of application for a salesperson’s license, the
applicant must have met educational requirements that are
substantially equivalent to those required in Virginia. At the
time of application for a broker's license, the applicant must
have met educational requirements that are substantially
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equivalent to those required in Virginia, and the applicant
must have been actively engaged as defined by 18VAC135-
20-10 for 36 of the preceding 48 months. The broker
applicant's experience must be verified by an individual who
has direct knowledge of the applicant's activities as defined
in 8§ 54.1-2100 and 54.1-2101 of the Code of Virginia.
These requirements may be waived at the discretion of the
board in accordance with § 54.1-2105 of the Code of
Virginia.

9. The applicant shall have a good reputation for honesty,
truthfulness, and fair dealing, and be competent to transact
the business of a real estate salesperson or broker in such a
manner as to safeguard the interests of the public.

10. In accordance with § 54.1-204 of the Code of Virginia,
each applicant shall submit to fingerprinting and shall
disclose the following information:

a. All misdemeanor convictions involving moral
turpitude, sexual offense, non-marijuana drug distribution,
or physical injury within five years of the date of the
application; and

b. All felony convictions during his lifetime.

Any plea of nolo contendere shall be considered a conviction
for purposes of this subsection. The record of a conviction
received from a court shall be accepted as prima facie
evidence of a conviction or finding of guilt. The board, in its
discretion, may deny licensure to any applicant in
accordance with § 54.1-204 of the Code of Virginia.

11. Applicants for licensure who do not meet the
requirements set forth in subdivisions 7 and 10 of this
section may be approved for licensure following
consideration by the board.

18VAC135-20-260. Prohibited acts.
The following are prohibited acts:

1. Furnishing substantially inaccurate or incomplete
information to the board in obtaining, renewing, reinstating,
or maintaining a license;

2. Holding more than one license as a real estate broker or
salesperson in Virginia except as provided in this chapter;

3. As a currently licensed real estate salesperson, sitting for
the licensing examination for a salesperson's license;

4. As a currently licensed real estate broker, sitting for a real
estate licensing examination;

5. Signing an experience verification form without direct
supervision or actual knowledge of the applicant's activities
as defined in 88 54.1-2100 and 54.1-2101 of the Code of
Virginia or unreasonably refusing to sign an experience
verification form;

6. Having been convicted or found guilty regardless of the
manner of adjudication in any jurisdiction of the United

States of a misdemeanor involving moral turpitude, sexual
offense, non-marijuana drug distribution, or physical injury,
or any felony, there being no appeal pending therefrom or
the time for appeal having elapsed. Review of convictions
shall be subject to the requirements of § 54.1-204 of the
Code of Virginia. Any plea of nolo contendere shall be
considered a conviction for the purposes of this subdivision;

7. Failing to inform the board in writing within 30 days of
pleading guilty or nolo contendere or being convicted or
found guilty regardless of adjudication of any convictions as
stated in subdivision 6 of this section;

8. Having had a license as a real estate broker or real estate
salesperson that was suspended, revoked, or surrendered in
connection with a disciplinary action or that has been the
subject of discipline in any jurisdiction;

9. Failing to inform the board in writing within 30 days of a
disciplinary action as stated in subdivision 8 of this section;

10. Having been found in a court or an administrative body
of competent jurisdiction to have violated the Virginia Fair
Housing Act, the Fair Housing Laws of any jurisdiction of
the United States, including without limitation Title VIII of
the Civil Rights Act of 1968 (82 Stat. 73), or the Civil Rights
Act of 1866 (14 Stat. 27), there being no appeal therefrom or
the time for appeal having elapsed;

11. Actions constituting failing to act as a real estate broker
or salesperson in such a manner as to safeguard the interests
of the public, including but not limited to the following:

a. A principal broker or supervising broker failing to
ensure proper supervision and accountability over the
firm's day-to-day financial dealings, escrow account or
accounts, and daily operations;

b. A broker failing to disburse funds from an escrow
account according to the regulations or failing to properly
retain documents relating to the basis for disbursal;

c. A broker failing to ensure the licensees for whom the
broker has oversight responsibility hold active licenses
while practicing real estate;

d. A broker failing to provide accurate and timely reports
to the board about a licensee's compliance with the board's
laws and regulations;

e. A broker failing to have signatory authority on all
accounts;

f. A broker failing to account for or remit any moneys
coming into a licensee's possession that belong to another;

g. A licensee failing to submit to the broker in a timely
manner, all earnest money deposits, contracts, listing
agreements, deeds of lease, or any other documents for
which the broker has oversight responsibility;

h. A licensee negotiating leases for a third party through
an unlicensed firm or without a principal broker;
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i. A licensee operating an unlicensed firm or acting as a
principal broker;

j.- A licensee practicing real estate with an inactive or
expired license;

k. A licensee knowingly providing the broker with an
earnest money deposit check from an account with
insufficient funds;

I. A licensee allowing unsupervised access to a home
without the owner's authorization;

m. A licensee failing to inform the broker of a transaction;
and

n. A licensee submitting unauthorized altered copies of a
contract or contracts to the broker; and

12. Actions constituting engaging in improper, fraudulent, or
dishonest conduct, including but not limited to the following:

a. A licensee attempting to divert commission from the
firm or sole proprietorship and direct payment to a
licensee or an unlicensed individual who is not a party to
the transaction;

b. A licensee fabricating or altering any document with the
intent to mislead;

c. A licensee signing any documents on a client's behalf
without first obtaining a client's proper written permission
or authorization to sign said documents on his behalf;

d. A licensee making an earnest money deposit payable to
himself or negotiating the check without written authority;
e. A licensee misrepresenting ownership of a property;

f. A licensee submitting copies of the same earnest money
deposit check for inclusion with multiple offers;

g. A licensee entering into agreements to be compensated
for real estate services while his license is inactive;

h. A licensee representing in offers he received the earnest
money deposit when he has not or he knows the check is
worthless; and

i. A licensee misrepresenting who is holding the earnest
money deposit.

VA.R. Doc. No. R22-6921; Filed August 16, 2021, 3:55 p.m.

Final Regulation

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Real Estate Board is claiming
an exemption from Article 2 of the Administrative Process Act
in accordance with § 2.2-4006 A 4 a of the Code of Virginia,
which excludes regulations that are necessary to conform to
changes in Virginia statutory law or the appropriation act
where no agency discretion is involved. The board will receive,
consider, and respond to petitions by any interested person at
any time with respect to reconsideration or revision.

Title of Regulation: 18VAC135-20. Virginia Real Estate
Board Licensing Regulations (amending 18VAC135-20-
180).

Statutory Authority: 8§ 54.1-201 and 54.1-2105 of the Code of
Virginia.

Effective Date: November 1, 2021.

Agency Contact: Christine Martine, Executive Director, Real
Estate Board, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 400, Richmond, VA
23233, telephone (804) 367-8552, FAX (804) 527-4299, or
email reboard@dpor.virginia.gov.

Summary:
Pursuant to Chapter 426 of the 2021 Acts of Assembly
Special Session I, which enumerates conditions for real
estate licensees handling rental agreements in the event
that a dwelling unit used as a single-family residence is
foreclosed upon and there is a tenant in such dwelling unit
on the date of the foreclosure sale, the amendments
conform provisions concerning the maintenance and
management of escrow accounts in the regulation to
statute.

18VAC135-20-180. Maintenance and management of
escrow accounts.

A. Maintenance of escrow accounts.

1. If money is to be held in escrow, each firm or sole
proprietorship shall maintain in the name by which it is
licensed one or more federally insured separate escrow
accounts in a federally insured depository into which all
down payments, earnest money deposits, money received
upon final settlement, application deposits as defined by
§ 55.1-1200 of the Code of Virginia, rental payments, rental
security deposits, money advanced by a buyer or seller for
the payment of expenses in connection with the closing of
real estate transactions, money advanced by the broker's
client or expended on behalf of the client, or other escrow
funds received by the broker or his associates on behalf of
his client or any other person shall be deposited unless all
principals to the transaction have agreed otherwise in
writing. The balance in the escrow accounts shall be
sufficient at all times to account for all funds that are
designated to be held by the firm or sole proprietorship. The
principal broker shall be held responsible for these accounts,
including having signatory authority on these accounts. The
supervising broker and any other licensee with escrow
account authority may be held responsible for these
accounts. All such accounts, checks, and bank statements
shall be labeled "escrow" and the accounts shall be
designated as "escrow" accounts with the financial
institution where such accounts are established.

2. Funds to be deposited in the escrow account may include
moneys that shall ultimately belong to the licensee, but such
moneys shall be separately identified in the escrow account
records and shall be paid to the firm by a check drawn on the
escrow account when the funds become due to the licensee.
Funds in an escrow account shall not be paid directly to the
licensees of the firm. The fact that an escrow account
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contains money that may ultimately belong to the licensee
does not constitute “commingling of funds" as set forth by
subdivision C 2 of this section, provided that there are
periodic withdrawals of said funds at intervals of not more
than six months and that the licensee can at all times
accurately identify the total funds in that account that belong
to the licensee and the firm.

3. If escrow funds are used to purchase a certificate of
deposit, the pledging or hypothecation of such certificate, or
the absence of the original certificate from the direct control
of the principal or supervising broker, shall constitute
commingling as prohibited by subdivision C 2 of this
section.

4. Lease transactions: application deposits. Any application
deposit as defined by § 55.1-1200 of the Code of Virginia
paid by a prospective tenant for the purpose of being
considered as a tenant for a dwelling unit to a licensee acting
on behalf of a landlord client shall be placed in escrow by
the end of the fifth business banking day following approval
of the rental application by the landlord unless all principals
to the lease transaction have agreed otherwise in writing.

B. Disbursement of funds from escrow accounts.

1. a. Purchase transactions. Upon the ratification of a
contract, an earnest money deposit received by the principal
broker or supervising broker or his associates shall be placed
in an escrow account by the end of the fifth business banking
day following ratification, unless otherwise agreed to in
writing by the principals to the transaction, and shall remain
in that account until the transaction has been consummated
or terminated. In the event that the transaction is not
consummated, the principal broker or supervising broker
shall hold such funds in escrow until (i) all principals to the
transaction have agreed in a written agreement as to their
disposition, upon which the funds shall be returned to the
agreed upon principal as provided in such written
agreement; (ii) a court of competent jurisdiction orders such
disbursement of the funds; (iii) the funds are successfully
interpleaded into a court of competent jurisdiction pursuant
to this section; or (iv) the broker releases the funds to the
principal to the transaction who is entitled to receive them in
accordance with the clear and explicit terms of the contract
that established the earnest money deposit. At the option of
a broker, written notice may be sent by the broker that
release of such funds shall be made unless a written protest
is received from the principal who is not receiving the funds
by such broker within 15 calendar days of the date of such
notice. Notice of a disbursement shall be given to the parties
to the transaction in accordance with the contract, but if the
contract does not specify a method of delivery, one of the
following methods complies with this section: (i) hand
delivery; (ii) United States mail, postage prepaid, provided
that the sender retains sufficient proof of mailing, which may
be either a United States postal certificate of mailing or a

certificate of service prepared by the sender confirming such
mailing; (iii) electronic means, provided that the sender
retains sufficient proof of the electronic delivery, which may
be an electronic receipt of delivery, a confirmation that the
notice was sent by facsimile, or a certificate of service
prepared by the sender confirming the electronic delivery; or
(iv) overnight delivery using a commercial service or the
United States Postal Service. Except as provided in the clear
and explicit terms of the contract, no broker shall be required
to make a determination as to the party entitled to receive the
earnest money deposit. A broker who complies with this
section shall be immune from liability to any of the parties
to the contract.

A principal broker or supervising broker holding escrow
funds for a principal to the transaction may seek to have a
court of competent jurisdiction take custody of disputed or
unclaimed escrow funds via an interpleader action pursuant
to 8 16.1-77 of the Code of Virginia.

If a principal broker, e+ supervising broker, or an agent of
such licensee is holding escrow funds for the owner of real
property and such property is foreclosed upon by a lender,
the principal broker ef, supervising broker, or agent shall
have the right to file an interpleader action pursuant to
§ 16.1-77 of the Code of Virginia and otherwise comply with
the provisions of § 54.1-2108.1 of the Code of Virginia.

If there-is-in-effectatthe date-of the foreclosure-sale a single
family residential dwelling unit is foreclosed upon, and at
the date of the foreclosure sale there is a real estate purchase
contract to buy the-property-foreclosed-upen such property
and the-real-estatepurehase such contract provides that the

earnest money deposit held in escrow by a firm or sole
proprietorship shall be paid to a principal to the contract in
the event of a termination of the real estate purchase
contract, the foreclosure shall be deemed a termination of the
real estate purchase contract, and the principal broker, of
supervising broker, or agent of the licensee may, absent any
default on the part of the purchaser, disburse the earnest
money deposit to the purchaser pursuant to such provisions
of the real estate purchase contract without further consent
from or notice to the principals.

b. Lease transactions: security deposits. Any security
deposit held by a firm or sole proprietorship shall be
placed in an escrow account by the end of the fifth
business banking day following receipt, unless otherwise
agreed to in writing by the principals to the transaction.
Each such security deposit shall be treated in accordance
with the security deposit provisions of the Virginia
Residential Landlord and Tenant Act, Chapter 12 (8§ 55.1-
1200 et seq.) of Title 55.1 of the Code of Virginia, unless
exempted therefrom, in which case the terms of the lease
or other applicable law shall control. Notwithstanding
anything in this section to the contrary, unless the landlord
has otherwise become entitled to receive the security
deposit or a portion thereof, the security deposit shall not
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be removed from an escrow account required by the lease
without the written consent of the tenant. If there-is—in
effectatthe date-of the-foreclosure sale-a-tenantin a single-
family residential dwelling unit is foreclosed upon and
there is a tenant in the dwelling unit on the date of the
foreclosure sale and the landlord is holding a security
deposit of the tenant, the landlord shall handle the security
deposit in accordance with applicable law, which requires
the holder of the landlord's interest in the dwelling unit at
the time of termination of tenancy to return any security
deposit and any accrued interest that is duly owed to the
tenant, whether or not such security deposit is transferred
with the landlord's interest by law or equity, and regardless
of any contractual agreements between the original
landlord and his successors in interest. Nothing in this
section shall be construed to prevent the landlord from
making lawful deductions from the security deposit in
accordance with applicable law.

c. Lease transactions: rent or escrow fund advances.
Unless otherwise agreed in writing by all principals to the
transaction, all rent and other money paid to the licensee
in connection with the lease shall be placed in an escrow
account by the end of the fifth business banking day
following receipt, regardless of when received, and remain
in that account until paid in accordance with the terms of
the lease and the property management agreement, as
applicable, except prepaid rent, which shall be treated in
accordance with the prepaid rent provision of the Virginia
Residential Landlord and Tenant Act, Chapter 12 (8§ 55.1-
1200 et seq.) of Title 55.1 of the Code of Virginia.

d. Lease transactions: rent payments. If there is in effect at
the date of the foreclosure sale a tenant in a residential
dwelling unit foreclosed upon and the rent is paid to a
licensee acting on behalf of the landlord pursuant to a
properly executed property management agreement, the
licensee may collect the rent in accordance with § 54.1-
2108.1 A 4 of the Code of Virginia.

2. a. Purchase transactions. Unless otherwise agreed in
writing by all principals to the transaction, a licensee shall
not be entitled to any part of the earnest money deposit or to
any other money paid to the licensee in connection with any
real estate transaction as part of the licensee's commission
until the transaction has been consummated.

b. Lease transactions. Unless otherwise agreed in writing
by the principals to the lease or property management
agreement, as applicable, a licensee shall not be entitled to
any part of the security deposit or to any other money paid
to the licensee in connection with any real estate lease as
part of the licensee's commission except in accordance
with the terms of the lease or the property management
agreement, as applicable. Notwithstanding anything in
this section to the contrary, unless the landlord has
otherwise become entitled to receive the security deposit
or a portion thereof, the security deposit shall not be

removed from an escrow account required by the lease
without the written consent of the tenant. Except in the
event of a foreclosure, if a licensee elects to terminate the
property management agreement with the landlord, the
licensee may transfer any funds held in escrow on behalf
of the landlord in accordance with § 54.1-2108.1 B 5 of
the Code of Virginia. If there-is-in-effect-at the-date-of the
foreclosure-sale a single-family residential dwelling unit
is foreclosed upon, and at the date of the foreclosure sale
there is a written property management agreement
between the a licensee and the a landlord, the property
management agreement shall continue in accordance with
§54.1-2108.1 A 5 of the Code of Virginia.

3. On funds placed in an account bearing interest, written
disclosure in the contract of sale or lease at the time of
contract or lease writing shall be made to the principals to
the transaction regarding the disbursement of interest.

4. A licensee shall not disburse or cause to be disbursed
moneys from an escrow or property management escrow
account unless sufficient money is on deposit in that account
to the credit of the individual client or property involved.

5. Unless otherwise agreed in writing by all principals to the
transaction, expenses incidental to closing a transaction
(e.g., fees for appraisal, insurance, credit report) shall not be
deducted from a deposit or down payment.

C. Actions including improper maintenance of escrow funds
include:

1. Accepting any note, nonnegotiable instrument, or
anything of value not readily negotiable, as a deposit on a
contract, offer to purchase, or lease without acknowledging
its acceptance in the agreement;

2. Commingling the funds of any person by a principal or
supervising broker or his employees or associates or any
licensee with his own funds, or those of his corporation,
firm, or association;

3. Failure to deposit escrow funds in an account designated
to receive only such funds as required by subdivision A 1 of
this section;

4. Failure to have sufficient balances in an escrow account
at all times for all funds that are designated to be held by the
firm or sole proprietorship as required by this chapter; and

5. Failing as principal broker to report to the board within
three business days instances where the principal broker
reasonably believes the improper conduct of a licensee,

independent  contractor, or employee has caused
noncompliance with this section.
VAR. Doc. No. R22-6903; Filed August 16, 2021, 3:55 p.m.
* *
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TITLE 22. SOCIAL SERVICES
STATE BOARD OF SOCIAL SERVICES

Final Regulation

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The State Board of Social Services
is claiming an exemption from Article 2 of the Administrative
Process Act in accordance with § 2.2-4006 A 4 a of the Code
of Virginia, which excludes regulations that are necessary to
conform to changes in Virginia statutory law or the
appropriation act where no agency discretion is involved. The
board will receive, consider, and respond to petitions by any
interested person at any time with respect to reconsideration or
revision.

Title of Regulation: 22VAC40-73. Standards for Licensed
Assisted Living Facilities (amending 22VAC40-73-540).

Statutory Authority: 88 63.2-217, 63.2-1732, 63.2-1802, 63.2-
1805, and 63.2-1808 of the Code of Virginia.

Effective Date: October 13, 2021.

Agency Contact: Sharon Lindsay, Department of Social
Services, 801 East Main Street, Richmond, VA 23219,
telephone (804) 726-7167, FAX (804) 726-7132, or email
sharon.lindsay@dss.virginia.gov.

Summary:

Pursuant to Chapter 525 of the 2021 Acts of Assembly,
Special Session I, the amendments add that, during a
declared public health emergency related to a
communicable disease of public health threat, assisted
living facilities establish a protocol to receive visits from
a rabbi, priest, minister, or clergyman of any religious
denomination or sect consistent with guidance from state
and federal health agencies and to protect the health and
safety of the person, residents, and staff of the assisted
living facility.

22VAC40-73-540. Visiting in the facility.

A. Daily visits to residents in the facility shall be permitted.

B. Visiting hours shall not be restricted, except by a resident
when it is the resident's choice.

C. The facility may establish a policy or guidelines so that
visiting is not disruptive to other residents and facility security
is not compromised. However, daily visits and visiting hours
shall not be restricted as provided in subsections A and B of
this section.

D. The facility shall encourage regular family involvement
with the resident and shall provide ample opportunities for
family participation in activities at the facility.

E. During a declared public health emergency related to a
communicable disease of public health threat, each assisted
living facility shall establish a protocol to allow residents to
receive visits from a rabbi, priest, minister, or clergy of any

religious denomination or sect consistent with guidance from
the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, the Centers for
Medicare and Medicaid Services, and subject to compliance
with any executive order, order of public health, department
guidance, or any other applicable federal or state guidance
having the effect of limiting visitation. The protocol may
restrict the frequency and duration of visits, may require visits
to be conducted virtually using interactive audio or video
technology, and any such protocol may require the person
visiting a resident to comply with all reasonable requirements
of the assisted living facility adopted to protect the health and
safety of the person, residents, and staff of the assisted living

VAR. Doc. No. R22-6802; Filed August 20, 2021, 10:43 a.m.

Action Withdrawn

Title of Requlation: 22VAC40-111. Standards for Licensed
Family Day Homes (amending 22VAC40-111-10,
22VAC40-111-30, 22VACA40-111-50, 22VAC40-111-60,
22VAC40-111-90, 22VAC40-111-100, 22VAC40-111-130,
22VAC40-111-140, 22VAC40-111-150, 22VAC40-111-200,
22VAC40-111-210, 22VAC40-111-230, 22VAC40-111-650,
22VAC40-111-760, 22VAC40-111-780, 22VAC40-111-800,
22VAC40-111-810, 22VAC40-111-820, 22VAC40-111-830,
22VAC40-111-850, 22VAC40-111-870, 22VAC40-111-
990).

Statutory Authority: 88 63.2-217 and 63.2-1734 of the Code of
Virginia

The State Board of Social Services has WITHDRAWN the
regulatory action for 22VAC40-111, Standards for Licensed
Family Day Homes, which was published as a proposed
regulation in 33:9 VA.R. 960-972 December 26, 2016. This
action is being withdrawn because the State Board of Social
Services no longer has authority to promulgate this regulation
due to transfer of the regulations to the State Board of
Education pursuant to Chapters 860 and 861 of the 2020 Acts
of Assembly.

Agency Contact: Sharon Stroble, Program Consultant,
Department of Social Services, 801 East Main Street,
Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 726-7037, FAX (804)
726-7132, or email sharon.stroble@dss.virginia.gov.

VAR. Doc. No. R16-4604; Filed August 20, 2021, 10:47 a.m.

Action Withdrawn
Titles of  Regulations: 22VAC40-180.  Voluntary
Registration of Family Day Homes - Requirements for
Providers.
22VVAC40-181. Voluntary Registration of Family Day
Homes - Requirements for Providers.
Statutory Authority: 88§ 63.2-217 and 63.2-1704 of the Code of
Virginia.
The State Board of Social Services has WITHDRAWN the
regulatory action for 22VAC40-180, Voluntary Registration
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of Family Day Homes - Requirements for Providers, and
22VAC40-181, Voluntary Registration of Family Day
Homes - Requirements for Providers, which was published
as a Notice of Intended Regulatory Action in 37:14 VA.R.
1466 March 1, 2021. This action is being withdrawn because
the State Board of Social Services no longer has authority to
promulgate this regulation due to transfer of the regulations to
the State Board of Education pursuant to Chapters 860 and 861
of the 2020 Acts of Assembly.

Agency Contact: Cynthia Carneal Heflin, Program Consultant,
Department of Social Services, 801 East Main Street,
Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 726-7140, or email
cynthia.carneal@dss.virginia.gov.

VA.R. Doc. No. R21-6698; Filed August 20, 2021, 10:48 a.m.

Action Withdrawn

Titles of Regulations: 22VAC40-185. Standards for
Licensed Child Day Centers.

22VVAC40-186. Standards for Licensed Child Day Centers.
Statutory Authority: § 63.2-1733 of the Code of Virginia.

The State Board of Social Services has WITHDRAWN the
regulatory action for 22VVAC40-185, Standards for Licensed
Child Day Centers, and 22VACA40-186, Standards for
Licensed Child Day Centers, which was published as a
Notice of Intended Regulatory Action in 32:9 VA.R. 1338
December 14, 2015. This action is being withdrawn because
the State Board of Social Services no longer has authority to
promulgate this regulation due to transfer of the regulations to
the State Board of Education pursuant to Chapters 860 and 861
of the 2020 Acts of Assembly.

Agency Contact: Tatanishia Armstrong, Licensing Consultant,
Department of Social Services, 801 East Main Street,
Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 726-7152, FAX (804)
726-7132, or email tatanishia.armstrng@dss.virginia.gov.

VAR. Doc. No. R16-3376; Filed August 20, 2021, 10:49 a.m.

Final Regulation

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The State Board of Social Services
is claiming an exemption from Article 2 of the Administrative
Process Act in accordance with § 2.2-4006 A 4 a of the Code
of Virginia, which excludes regulations that are necessary to
conform to changes in Virginia statutory law or the
appropriation act where no agency discretion is involved. The
board will receive, consider, and respond to petitions by any
interested person at any time with respect to reconsideration or
revision.

Titles of Regulations: 22VAC40-80. General Procedures
and Information for Licensure (amending 22VVAC40-80-10,
22VVAC40-80-30, 22VVAC40-80-40, 22VVAC40-80-50,
22VAC40-80-70, 22VAC40-80-90, 22VAC40-80-100,
22VAC40-80-120, 22VAC40-80-160, 22VAC40-80-240,
22VVAC40-80-400, 22VVAC40-80-430).

22VAC40-160. Fee Requirements for
Applications (amending 22VAC40-160-10).

22VAC40-191. Background Checks for Child Welfare
Agencies (amending 22VAC40-191-10 through 22VAC40-
191-120, 22VAC40-191-140, 22VAC40-191-150).

Statutory Authority: 8§ 63.2-217, 63.2-1732, 63.2-1733, and
63.2-1734 of the Code of Virginia.

Effective Date: October 13, 2021.

Agency Contact: Sharon Lindsay, Department of Social
Services, 801 East Main Street, Richmond, VA 23219,
telephone (804) 726-7167, FAX (804) 726-7132, or email
sharon.lindsay@dss.virginia.gov.

Summary:

Chapters 860 and 861 of the 2020 Acts of Assembly
transfer the authority to license and regulate child day
programs from the State Board of Social Services to the
State Board of Education effective July 1, 2021. Therefore,
the amendments remove child day programs requirements
from Department of Social Services regulations and make
other technical amendments required to clarify existing
requirements after removing provisions specific to child
day programs.

22V AC40-80-10. Definitions.

The following words and terms when used in this chapter
shall have the following meanings unless the context clearly
indicates otherwise:

Processing

"Administrative hearing" means a hearing that is conducted
pursuant to § 2.2-4020 of the Administrative Process Act.

"Adult care facility" means a licensed assisted living facility
or adult day care center.

"Adverse action" means any case where the department either
gives notice of revocation or refuses to issue a license for an
assisted living facility, adult day care center or child welfare
agency or imposes another administrative sanction pursuant to
§ 63.2-1709 of the Code of Virginia.

"Aggrieved party" means an applicant or licensee who has
requested an appeal in accordance with instructions provided
after the department has given written notice of the imposition
of an administrative sanction or adverse action for an assisted
living facility, adult day care center, or child welfare agency.

"Allowable variance” means permission is granted by the
department to a licensee or applicant for licensure to meet the
intent of a standard by some means other than as specified by
the standard when the applicant or licensee has demonstrated
that (i) the implementation of a standard would impose a
substantial financial or programmatic hardship and (ii) the
variance would not adversely affect the safety and well-being
of persons in care.

"Applicant" means the person, corporation, partnership,
association, limited liability company, or public agency that
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has applied for a license to operate or maintain an assisted
living facility, adult day care center, or child welfare agency.
For a child welfare agency, the "person who operates or
maintains a child welfare agency" means any individual;
corporation;  partnership; association; limited liability
company; local government; state agency, including any
department, institution, authority, instrumentality, board, or
other administrative agency of the Commonwealth; or other
legal or commercial entity that operates or maintains a child
welfare agency.

"Board" means the State Board of Social Services.

"Child welfare agency" means a ehild—day—center; child-

placing agency, children's residential facility, child-caring

institution, family—day—home—family —day—system, or

independent foster home.

"Commissioner" means the Commissioner of the Department
of Social Services.

"Complaint™ means an accusation that a facility that is subject
to licensure is operating without a license or that a licensed
facility is not in compliance with licensing standards or law.

"Conditional license™ means a license that may be issued to a
new facility to operate in order to permit the applicant to
demonstrate compliance with specified standards.

"Consent agreement" means an agreement between the
licensee and the department that the licensee will perform
specific actions for the purpose of correcting violations to
come into compliance with standards or statutes.

"Day" means a calendar day unless otherwise specified.

"Denial” means the act of refusing to grant a license after
receipt of an initial or renewal application.

"Department” means the Department of Social Services.

"Early compliance™ means that the licensee has demonstrated
full compliance with requirements, allowing the department to
replace a provisional or conditional license with a regular
license.

"Functional design" means the design features of building and
grounds not regulated by the Building Code, necessary for
particular activities and operations of a facility subject to
licensure by the Department of Social Services.

"Good character and reputation” means findings have been
established and knowledgeable, reasonable, and objective
people agree that the individual (i) maintains business or
professional, family, and community relationships that are
characterized by honesty, fairness, truthfulness, and
dependability; and (ii) has a history or pattern of behavior that
demonstrates the individual is suitable and able to administer a
program for the care, supervision, and protection of children or
adults. Relatives by blood or marriage and persons who are not

knowledgeable of the individual, such as recent acquaintances,
may not be considered objective references.

"Hearing"” means agency processes other than those
informational or factual inquiries of an informal nature
provided in §§ 2.2-4007 and 2.2-4019 of the Code of Virginia
and includes only (i) opportunity for private parties to submit
factual proofs in formal proceedings as provided in § 2.2-4009
of the Code of Virginia in connection with the making of
regulations or (ii) a similar right of private parties of public
agencies as provided in § 2.2-4020 of the Code of Virginia in
connection with case decisions.

"Hearing coordinator”" means the person designated by the
Department of Social Services to perform certain
administrative functions involved in setting up and carrying
out the hearings concerning adverse action on a license for an
assisted living facility, adult day care center or child welfare
agency, as set out herein.

"Hearing officer" means an attorney selected from a list
maintained by the Executive Secretary of the Supreme Court
in accordance with § 2.2-4024 of the Code of Virginia to
preside at hearings concerning adverse action on a license for
an assisted living facility, adult day care center or child welfare
agency.

"Informal conference” means the informal fact-finding
procedures available pursuant to §§ 2.2-4019 and 2:2-302%
2.2-4021 of the Code of Virginia.

"Licensee" means the person, corporation, partnership,
association, limited liability company, or public agency to
whom a license is issued and who is legally responsible for
compliance with the regulations and statutory requirements
related to the operation or maintenance of the assisted living
facility, adult day care center, or child welfare agency. For a
child welfare agency, the "person who operates or maintains a
child welfare agency” means any individual; corporation;
partnership; association; limited liability company; local
government; state agency, including any department,
institution, authority, instrumentality, board, or other
administrative agency of the Commonwealth; or other legal or
commercial entity that operates or maintains a child welfare
agency.

"Probationary status™ means placing a licensee on notice that
the facility or agency is substantially out of compliance with
the terms of its license and the health, safety, and well-being
of persons in care are at risk. Probationary status is a precursor
to more serious action such as revocation, denial, or injunctive
action unless immediate corrective action occurs.

"Provisional license" means a license that may be issued upon
expiration of a regular license when the licensee is temporarily
unable to substantially comply with the requirements of the law
and regulations.
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"Recommended findings of fact and recommended decision"
means the report prepared by the hearing officer upon evidence
presented in the administrative hearing based on the applicable
laws and regulations under which the department operates.

"Regular license™ means a license that is issued for 12 months
or more as provided in Chapter 17 (§ 63.2-1700 et seq.) of Title
63.2 of the Code of Virginia to a facility determined to be in
substantial compliance with applicable standards and
regulations. The actual duration of the licensure period is stated
on the license.

"Revocation" means the act of terminating a license during its
effective dates because of findings of serious noncompliance.

"Special order" means an order imposing an administrative
sanction issued to any party licensed pursuant to Title 63.2 of
the Code of Virginia by the commissioner that has a stated
duration of not more than 12 months. A special order shall be
considered a case decision as defined in § 2.2-4001 of the Code
of Virginia. The 12-month period begins 30 days after
notification of the issuance of a special order or at the
conclusion of all appeal steps.

"Substantial compliance™ means that while there may be
noncompliance with one or more standards that represents
minimal risk, compliance clearly and obviously exists with
most of the standards as a whole.

22VVAC40-80-30. Responsibility of the department.

Through the administration of the licensing program, the
Department of Social Services assumes responsibility to
ensure that licensed facilities and agencies provide children
and adults with at least a minimum level of care in accordance
with regulations prescribed by the State Board of Social

Services and-Child-Day-Care-Couneil. The department also has

the responsibility to investigate allegations of illegal
operations and to initiate action to suppress illegal operations.
The Virginia Code requires the State Board of Social Services
to adopt regulations for the licensure of the following
categories of facilities and agencies:

1. Adult day-care centers;
2. Assisted living facilities;
3. Private child placing agencies;
4. Child caring institutions; and
5. Independent foster homes;
\Jirgini iro i i |

22VVAC40-80-40. Adoption of regulations.

The State Board of Social Services or-the-Chid-Day-Care
CouncH has adopted regulations for each category listed above.

The definition of each category and requirements for licensure
are contained in each regulation.

22VVAC40-80-50. Regulation
development or revision process.

-

A. In developing or revising regulations for licensed facilities
or agencies, the Department of Social Services, acting as agent
for the State Board of Social Services and-Child-Day-Care
CounciHl, adheres to the requirements of the Administrative
Process Act (8 2.2-4000 et seq. of the Code of Virginia) and
the public participation process.

B. Input from licensees, associations of licensees, experts in
related fields, advocacy organizations, consumers, and the
general public is solicited in the development or revision of
licensing regulations through informal and formal comment
periods and public hearings.

C. Periodic reviews are conducted and, when necessary,
comprehensive revisions of each regulation to assure that its
standards continue to protect children and adults in out-of-
home care while considering the interests of both providers and
consumers of care.

22VVAC40-80-70. Nontransferability of license.

A license is not transferable when there is a change in the
ownership or location of the facility or agency to which the
license has been issued.

EXCEPHON: Licenses issued for private child placing
agencies and—family—day—systems are transferable when

agencies change location.
22VVAC40-80-90. Regular license.

A regular license is issued when the activities, services,
facilities, and applicant's financial responsibility substantially
meet the requirements for a license that are set forth by
regulations adopted by the State Board of Social Services or

the-Child-Day-Care-Couneil and any additional requirements
that may be specified by the Code of Virginia.

22VAC40-80-100. Duration of licensure.

Each license and renewal thereof may be issued for a period
of up to three successive years. The criteria for determining the
periods of licensure are based on the activities, services,
management, and compliance history of the facility.

A three-year license may be issued when a facility's activities,
services, and management routinely substantially exceed the
minimum standards.

A two-year license may be issued when a facility's services
and management routinely meet and maintain compliance with
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minimum standards and may exceed on a sustained basis in
some areas.

An annual license may be issued when a facility's activities,
services, and management indicate an inconsistent level of
compliance but substantial compliance is reached. Some
reinforcement and guidance are needed in order for the facility
to meet or maintain minimum requirements.

: i o I litional
icional I I hild d "
22VVAC40-80-120. Terms of the license.

A. A facility or agency shall operate within the terms of its
license, which are:

1. The operating name of the facility or agency;

2. The name of the individual, partnership, association,
corporation, limited liability company, or public entity
sponsoring the facility or agency;

3. The physical location of the facility or agency;

4. The maximum number of children or adults who may be
in care at any time;

5. The period of time for which the license is effective;

6. For child earefacilities-or welfare agencies, the age range
of children for whom care may be provided; and

7. Any other limitations that the department may prescribe
within the context of the regulations for any facility or
agency.

B. The provisional license cites the standards with which the
licensee is not in compliance.

C. The conditional license cites the standards with which the
licensee must demonstrate compliance when operation begins,
and also any standards with which the licensee is not in
compliance.

D. Prior to changes in operation that would affect the terms
of the license, the licensee shall secure a modification to the
terms of the license from the department. (See 22VVAC40-80-
190.)

E. Certain documents related to the terms of the license are
required to be posted on the premises of each facility. These
are:

1. The most recently issued license. Any provisional license
shall be posted at each public entrance of the facility and a
notice shall be prominently displayed next to the license that
states that a description of specific violations of licensing
standards to be corrected and the deadline for completion of
such corrections is available for inspection at the facility or
on the facility's website, if applicable;

2. The findings of the most recent inspection of the facility;

3. Notice of the commissioner's intent to revoke or deny
renewal of the license of an assisted living facility. Such
notice will be provided by the department and shall be
posted in a prominent place at each public entrance of the
facility to advise consumers of serious or persistent
violations.

4. A copy of any final order of summary suspension of all or
part of a license for an assisted living facility, a child welfare
agency, and an assisted living facility operated by an agency
of the Commonwealth, or child welfare agency operated by
an agency of the Commonwealth shall be prominently
displayed by the provider at each public entrance of the
facility, or the provider may display a written statement
summarizing the terms of the order, printed in clear and
legible size and typeface, in a prominent location and
identifying the location within the facility where the final
order of summary suspension may be reviewed.

5. Notice of the commissioner's intent to take any of the
actions enumerated in subdivisions B 1 through B 7 of
8 63.2-1709.2 of the Code of Virginia. Such notice will be
provided by the department, and a copy of the notice shall
be posted in a prominent place at each public entrance of the
facility to advise consumers of serious or persistent
violations.

6. A copy of any special order issued by the department shall
be posted in a prominent place at each public entrance of the
licensed premises to advise consumers of serious or
persistent violations.

7. Any other documents required by the commissioner.
22VVAC40-80-160. Investigation.
A. Upon receipt of the application the commissioner shall:

1. Cause an investigation to be made of the activities,
services, and facilities of the applicant, and of his character
and reputation;

2. If the applicant is an association, partnership, limited
liability company, or corporation, cause an investigation of
the character and reputation of its officers and agents; and

3. Upon receipt of the initial application, cause an
investigation of the applicant's financial responsibility.

B. At the time of the initial application and annually
thereafter, the applicant or licensee shall be responsible for
obtaining inspection reports from appropriate fire and health
agencies to determine compliance with applicable regulations.

EXCERPTON: This subsection does not apply to child placing
agencies er-family-day systems.
1. All buildings shall be inspected and approved by the local

building official when required. This approval shall be
documented by a Certificate of Use and Occupancy
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indicating that the building is classified for its proposed
licensed purpose.

2. At the time of the initial application and at least annually
thereafter, the applicant or licensee shall obtain an inspection
report from state or local fire authorities, as applicable, to
determine compliance of the building or buildings with the
Virginia Statewide Fire Prevention Code.

3. At the time of the initial application and at least annually
thereafter, the applicant or licensee shall obtain an inspection
report from state or local health authorities that shall include
approval of general sanitation and, if applicable, water
supply, sewage disposal systems, and food service
operations for the building or buildings in which the facility
is operated.

C. The department's representative will make an on-site
inspection of the proposed facility or agency and an
investigation of the proposed services, as well as an
investigation of the character, reputation, and financial
responsibility of the applicant. Compliance with all standards
will be determined by the Department of Social Services. The
licensee is responsible for correcting any areas of
noncompliance found during any on-site inspection.

NOTE: See 22VAC40-90—22,AC40-190,-0r 22\/AC15-50;
or 22VAC40-191, as applicable.

D. The applicant or licensee shall at all times afford the
department's representative reasonable opportunity to inspect
all of the facility's or agency's buildings, books, and records.
Records that contain confidential proprietary information
furnished to the department pursuant to this section shall be
exempt from disclosure pursuant to subdivision 4 of § 2.2-
3705.5 of the Code of Virginia.

At the time of the initial application, the financial records of
an applicant shall not be subject to inspection if the applicant
submits an operating budget and at least one credit reference.

E. The applicant or licensee shall also allow the department's
representative to interview the facility's or agency's agents,
employees, residents, participants, and any person under its
custody, control, direction, or supervision. Interviews with
residents, participants, and any person under the facility's or
agency's custody, control, direction, or supervision shall be:

1. Authorized by the person to be interviewed or his legally
authorized representative; and

2. Limited to discussion of issues related to the applicant's
or licensee's compliance with applicable laws and
regulations, including ascertaining if assessments and
reassessments of residents' cognitive and physical needs are
performed as required under regulations for licensure of the
facility or agency.

F. After the on-site inspection the licensing representative
will discuss the findings of the investigation with the

administrator, licensee or designee. As applicable, the
applicant shall submit an acceptable plan for correcting any
areas of noncompliance following these discussions.

G. At any time during the investigation, an applicant or
licensee may request an allowable variance to any standard that
creates a special hardship. (See Part V (22VAC40-80-230 et
seq.) of this chapter Allowable Variances.)

22VVAC40-80-240. Process.

A. The licensee or applicant shall make a written request for
consideration of an allowable variance. The department's
licensing representative may provide consultation to the
applicant or licensee in the development of the written request
and throughout the allowable variance process.

1. The licensee or applicant shall describe the special
hardship erhardships to the existing program or to a planned
innovative or pilot program that will be caused by the
enforcement of the requirement or requirements.

2. The licensee or applicant shall propose alternatives to
meet the purpose of the requirement that will ensure the
protection and well-being of persons in care.

3. The licensee or applicant shall obtain, when requested by
the department, the opinions of professionals in the field or
documented research, or both, that the proposed activities,
facilities, or equipment are not injurious to persons in care.

4. The department can authorize allowable variances only to
its own licensing standards, not to regulations of another
agency or to any requirement in federal, state, or local laws.

B. The department's licensing representative will notify the
petitioning applicant or licensee of the department's decision.

C. Approval.

1. The department may attach conditions to the granting of
the allowable variance in order to protect persons in care.

2. Allowable variances are conditional upon there being no
change in the circumstances that were the basis for the
approval. Any allowable variance may be rescinded or
modified if needs or conditions change; additional
information becomes known that alters the basis for the
original decision; the applicant or licensee fails to meet any
conditions attached to the allowable variance; or results of
the allowable variance jeopardize the safety, comfort, or
well-being of persons in care.

3. Allowable variances expire automatically when there is a
change in the facility's location or a change in the
sponsorship of the facility or agency.

EXCERPTON: Allowable variances issued to private child
placing agencies and—familyday-systems are transferable

when agencies change location.

Volume 38, Issue 2

Virginia Register of Regulations

September 13, 2021

282



Regulations

4. The department's licensing representative will review
each allowable variance at least annually. At minimum, this
review shall address the impact of the allowable variance on
persons in care, adherence to any conditions attached, and
the continuing need for the allowable variance.

D. Denial.

1. When the decision is to deny a request for an allowable
variance, the reason erreasens will be provided in writing to
the applicant or licensee.

2. When a request for an allowable variance is denied, it may
be reconsidered if the applicant or licensee submits another
written request and provides new or additional supporting
information within 30 days of denial.

NOTE: After the 30-day period, the applicant or licensee
may submit a new allowable variance request describing
changed conditions.

3. The department will reconsider the new request and the
additional information and will notify the applicant or
licensee of the decision within 30 days of receipt of the
second request. This decision will be considered final and is
not appealable.

E. When an allowable variance is denied, expires, or is
rescinded, routine enforcement of the standard or portion of the
standard shall be resumed.

F. The applicant or licensee may at any time withdraw a
request for an allowable variance.

22VVAC40-80-400. Statutory basis for appeal process.

The Department of Social Services is mandated by statute to
enforce the standards adopted by the State Board of Social
Services orthe-Child-Day-Care-CeuncH pursuant to §-63.2-
1734 88 63.2-1732, 63.2-1733, and 63.2-1734 of the Code of
Virginia, regarding facilities required to be licensed under
Chapter 17 (8 63.2-1700 et seq.) of Title 63.2 of the Code of
Virginia. As part of this enforcement duty, §§ 63.2-1709 D and
63.2-1710 of the Code of Virginia require that the procedures
under the Administrative Process Act (§ 2.2-4000 et seq., of
the Code of Virginia) shall apply whenever the department
takes adverse action.

22VVAC40-80-430. Consent agreements.

A. A consent agreement may be proposed by a licensee in lieu
of adverse action. The proposed consent agreement shall be
submitted no later than five work days prior to the conference
unless different arrangements are agreed upon with the chair.
In no case may a proposed consent agreement be submitted
later than the day of the informal conference.

B. An acceptable consent agreement shall contain the
following specific elements:

1. Dates of key actions, such as letter of sanction, timely
appeal, the informal conference (if already held), and the
names of the parties;

2. The assertion that all violations detailed in the letter of
denial or revocation have been corrected or will be corrected
by a time specified in the proposed agreement;

3. A description in detail of the case-specific systemic
solution proposed that addresses the causes of the past
history of violations, ineludng including the methods the
licensee has in place to prevent violations and to monitor
results;

4. A stipulation by the licensee to the validity of the
violations enumerated in the specified correspondence and
waiver of right to hearing under the Administrative Process
Act (§ 2.2-4000 et seq. of the Code of Virginia) solely with
respect to those violations.

5. The duration of the consent agreement, including the
information that the period begins when the division director
signs;

6. A statement that when the division director signs the
agreement, signifying final acceptance, the division director
is also agreeing to rescind the outstanding adverse action and
that the licensee is agreeing to withdraw all appeals to that
action; and

7. A statement outlining conditions for termination of the
final agreement for cause and the nature of the licensee's
appeal rights in that event.

C. Throughout the duration of the consent agreement,
licensing staff will make frequent inspections to determine
whether the terms of the consent agreement are being
implemented and whether its intended results are being
achieved.

22VAC40-160-10. Fees.

By act of the General Assembly and effective February 1,
1984, the Department of Social Services is authorized to
charge fees for processing applications for licenses (§ 63.2-
1700 of the Code of Virginia).

Such fees are to be used for the development and delivery of
training for operators and staff of facilities or agencies for
adults or children subject to licensure solely by the Department
of Social Services.

Each license and renewal of it may be issued for a period of
up to three successive years. The required fee for each licensed
facility or agency will be based upon its licensed capacity and
the length of the total licensure period. However, the fee will
be collected annually and licensees will be billed each year by
the Department of Social Services for the appropriate portion
of the fee. (Example: A facility with a capacity of 55
participants is issued a license for a period of 24 months. The
fee for that facility for the two-year period would be $210. The
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facility will be charged $105 at the beginning of the licensure
period and billed again for $105 at the beginning of the second
year of licensure.) No fee will be charged directly following
the issuance of a conditional license.

Applicants shall use the following schedule of fees to
determine the correct fee to pay for processing all applications.

Schedule of Fees

Capacity 1 year 2 years 3 years
1-12 $14 $28 $42
13-25 $35 $70 $105
26-50 $70 $140 $210
51-75 $105 $210 $315
76-200 $140 $280 $420
201 & up $200 $400 $600
Short-term-Programs

1-50 $25 $50 $75
51 &up $50 $110 $150
Flat Fees

Family-Day Care $70 $140 $210
Systems

Child Placing $70 $140 $210
Agencies

The fee shall be paid by personal check, money order, or
certified check, made payable to "Treasurer of Virginia."

A fee that is incorrect in amount or is made payable other than
to the Treasurer of Virginia will be returned to the applicant.
Otherwise, no fee will be returned or refunded for any reason.

Failure to submit the appropriate fee within the timeframe
specified by the Department of Social Services may result in
negative action against a facility's or agency's license.

A fee will be charged for checks that must be returned to the
applicant because of insufficient funds.

22VAC40-191-10. Defining words and phrases.

The following words and terms when used in this regulation
shall have the following meanings unless the context clearly
indicates otherwise:

"Agent" means a person who is empowered to act on behalf
of the applicant that is an association, partnership, limited
liability company, business trust, public agency, or corporation
in matters relating to a child welfare agency.

"Applicant” means the person er—persens applying for
approval or licensure as a (i) Heensedfamily-day-home (i}
licensed-family-day-system:-(iH) licensed child-placing agency;
(w~) (ii) Ilcensed mdependent foster home; év)—velun&amy

a—Heensed—fancm%day—system—évH} r(u )foster and adoptlve
home approved by a licensed child-placing agency;—{viib)

center. In the case of a sole proprietorship, the applicant is the
individual owner. In the case of a partnership, the applicants
are all the partners. If the applicant is a corporation,
association, or business trust, the applicants are officers. If the
applicant is a limited liability company, the applicants are the
members or managers. If the applicant is a public agency, the
applicant is the person responsible for the overall operation of
the public agency.

"Approved" means having obtained the status of approval
through the process required in Minimum—Standards—for

. | : ;
Standards for Licensed Child-Placing Agencies (22VAC40-
131). Approved-facilities—aretamily-day-homes-approved-by
licensed—family—day-systems. Approved foster and adoptive

parents include resource, foster, adoptive, treatment foster, and
short-term foster parents and families approved by child-
placing agencies.

"Background checks" means a sworn statement or
affirmation, a criminal history record report, and a child
protective services central registry check.

"Barrier crime™ means a conviction identified at §63-2-1719
§19.2-392. 02 |n the Code of Vlrglnla Ihe—eeﬂweuens—and
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"Central registry" means the record of founded complaints of
child abuse and neglect maintained by the Department of
Social Services.

"Central registry finding" means the record of founded
complaints of child abuse and neglect for an individual.

"Central Criminal Records Exchange” or "CCRE" means the

information system containing conviction data of crimes
committed in Virginia. The system is maintained by the
Department of State Police.

"Child-placing agency" means (i) any person er—agency
licensed-to-place that places children in foster homes, adoptive
homes, or independent living arrangements pursuant to § 63.2-

1819 of the Code of Virginia;_(ii) or a local board that places
children in foster homes or adoptive homes pursuant to
88 63.2-900, 63.2-903, and 63.2-1221 of the Code of Virginia;
or (iii) an entity that assists parents with the process of
delegating parental and legal custodial powers of their children
pursuant to Chapter 10 (§ 20-166 et seq.) of Title 20 of the
Code of Virginia. Officers, employees, or agents of the
Commonwealth, or any locality acting within the scope of its
authority as such, who serve as or maintain a child-placing
agency, are shall not be required to be licensed.

"Child welfare agency" means a chid—day—eenter; child-
placing agency, children's residential facility, famiby—day

home,—family-day-system; or independent foster home. For
purposes of this chapter, the requirements for child welfare
agencies also apply to foster or adoptive homes requesting
approval or with approval by Chl|d placmg agenmes andiamly

"Commissioner" means the Commissioner of the Department
of Social Services or his designee.

"Contract agency" means an entity with which the facility or
a parent has an agreement to provide services to a child or
children while attending the facility.

"Contract employee™ means a person with whom the facility
or a parent has an agreement to provide services to a child or
children while attending the facility.

designated by ¢ &-Department of SGFGIGE Se_nlulees to-ads |.||ste|

"Criminal history record check" means the process the
Department of State Police uses to generate a criminal record
report on a person. The check may be a state check generated
solely through the Central Criminal Records Exchange or a
check forwarded through the Central Criminal Records
Exchange to the Federal Bureau of Investigation for the
purpose of obtaining national criminal history record
information.

"Criminal history record report” means either the criminal
record clearance or the criminal history record issued by the
Central Criminal Records Exchange, Department of State
Police. The report identifies convictions within the
Commonwealth.

"Department™ means the State Department of Social Services.

"Department representative” means an employee of the
department who carries out regulatory duties or an agency
acting as an authorized agent of the department carrying out
approval functions. Licensed—family—day—systems—have
autherity-to-approve-family-day-hemes: Licensed child-placing

agencies have authority to approve foster and adoptive parents.

"Disqualifying background" means having an offense, as
defined in § 63.2-1719 of the Code of Virginia. For the purpose
of this chapter, having been the subject of a founded abuse or
neglect complaint as described in "offense” includes records
that have been purged from the child abuse and neglect central
registry. However, no person is considered to be the subject of
a founded complaint of child abuse or neglect until a decision
upholding the finding has been rendered by the hearing officer
after the administrative hearing, provided the person complies
with the requirements for requesting an administrative hearing.
No person is considered to be the subject of a founded
complaint of child abuse or neglect if the child abuse or neglect
finding is overturned by an administrative hearing or a
subsequent court decision.

"Employee™ means a person hired by a facility or with whom

the facility has an employment agreement. A-provider-assistant
ina-family- day-hemeis-considered-anemployeeinthis-chapter:

"Facility" means (i) a—licensed—family—day heme{i}=a
licensed—family—day—system:—(H) a licensed child-placing
agency; (i) (ii) a licensed independent foster home; {o—a
volunta 'P |eg||_ste|ed Ilaﬁ '"I?I ela? 1orme (";'? a__zla I'.'|5 day |g| l'Ie
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day-center—{viiareligious-exempt-child-day-center; and {ix)
(iii) an applicant seeking a waiver in order to establish one of
the above listed entities.

"Good character and reputation” means that the person (i)
maintains business, professional, family, and community
relationships that are characterized by honesty, fairness,
truthfulness and dependability and (ii) has a history or pattern
of behavior that demonstrates that the person is suitable and
able to care for, guide, supervise, and protect children.

"Independent foster home" means a private family home in
which any child, other than a child by birth or adoption of such
person, resides as a member of the household and has been
placed there in that home independently of a child-placing
agency except (i) a home thatreceives in which are received
only children related by birth or adoption of the person who
maintains such home and children of personal friends of such
person and; (ii) a home that-receives in which is received a
child or children committed under the provisions of
subdivision A 4 of § 16.1-278.2, subdivision 6 of § 16.1-278.4,
or subdivision A 13 of § 16.1-278.8 of the Code of Virginias;
and (iii) a home in which are received only children who are
the subject of a properly executed power of attorney pursuant
to Chapter 10 (§ 20-166 et. seq.) of Title 20 of the Code of
Virginia.

"Involved in the day-to-day operations™ means:

1. In a supervisory or management position, making daily
decisions regarding the operation of the facility;

2. Counted by the facility for purposes of staff-to-children
ratios;

3. Providing casework services for a child-placing agency;

. | I i farmil I
visitor; or

5. 4. Having access to child-related and client-related
records or to facility personnel records.

"Licensed" means having met the requirements of and

obtained licensure as a licensed—family—day-care—system;

licensed independent foster home; or licensed private child-

placing agency;-erlicensed-family-day-home.

"Living in" means to reside in a place for an extended or
permanent period of time.

"Local agency" means local department of social services.
"May" means has permission.

"Must" means the action is a requirement.

"Must not" means the action is prohibited.

"National criminal background check” means criminal
history record information from the Federal Bureau of
Investigation.

"Offense” means a (i) conviction of a barrier crime, (ii)
conviction of any other felony not included in the definition of
barrier crime unless five years have elapsed since conviction,
(iii) founded complaint of child abuse or neglect within or
outside the Commonwealth, or (iv) a conviction of an offense
set forth in § 9.1-902 of the Code of Virginia or a finding that
a person is not guilty by reason of insanity in accordance with
Chapter 11.1 (8§ 19.2-182.2 et seq.) of Title 19.2 of the Code of
Virginia of an offense set forth in § 9.1-902 that results in the
person's requirement to register with the Sex Offender and
Crimes Against Minors Registry pursuant to § 9.1-901 of the
Code of Virginia, or any similar registry in any other state.
Convictions include prior adult convictions and juvenile
convictions or adjudications of delinquency based on a crime
that would be a felony if committed by an adult within or
outside the Commonwealth.

"Other felony" means conviction for any felony in the last
five years that is not a barrier crime felony.

"Parent-volunteer" means someone supervising, without pay,
a group of children that includes the parent-volunteer's own
child in a program that operates no more than four hours per
day, provided that the parent-volunteer works under the direct
supervision of a person who has received a clearance pursuant
to 8 63.2-1720 er-63-2-1724 of the Code of Virginia.

2 in ol
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"Search of central registry" means the process the Virginia
Department of Social Services' Child Protective Services Unit
uses to generate a central registry report on a person.

"Sworn statement or affirmation” means a statement
completed by a person attesting to whether he has ever been (i)
convicted of or the subject of pending charges of any crime
within or outside the Commonwealth or an equivalent offense
outside the Commonwealth or (ii) the subject of a founded
complaint of child abuse or neglect within or outside the

Commonwealth. Additionally—for—family—day—homes—the

or—outside—the-Commonwealth- Any person making a false
statement regarding any such offense shall be guilty of a Class
1 misdemeanor pursuant to §§ 63.2-1720 and 63.2-1721 of the
Code of Virginia.

"22VAC" means Title 22 of the Virginia Administrative
Code. This is the social services title.

30-calendar-days:

"Volunteer" means a person who provides services without
pay and who is alone with a child or children in performance
of his duties.

22VVAC40-191-20. Describing background checks.
A. The background checks covered by this regulation are:
1. Sworn statement or affirmation;
2. Criminal history record check;
3. National criminal background check; and
4. Central registry search.

B. The provisions for background checks are in §§ 63-2-1704
63.2-1720, 63.2-1721, 63.2-1722, 63-2-1724; and 63-2-1727
63.2-1723 of the Code of Virginia.

C. Provisions for enforcement of background check
regulations and other licensing—registration; and approval

standards are in Chapter 17 (8§ 63.2-1700 et seq.) of Title 63.2
of the Code of Virginia.

D. The sworn statement or affirmation is a written document
in which a person must disclose any criminal conviction and
any pending criminal charges within or outside Virginia.

1. For-the-purposes-of thisregulation,-conviction Conviction
includes any juvenile conviction or determination of
delinquency if the offense involved would be a felony if
committed by an adult within or outside Virginia.

2. The person must also disclose any instance of being the
subject of a founded complaint of child abuse or neglect
within or outside Virginia.

3. The person must use either the model form prepared by
the department or use a self-created form that includes all of
the information that appears on the model form.

The department provides the model sworn statement or
affirmation form on its website. Requesters are permitted to
submit copies of the form. The person who signs the sworn
statement or affirmation affirms the truth of the statement.

E. The criminal history record check is the process of the
Department of State Police to generate a criminal record report
on a person. The report must be either the criminal record
clearance or the criminal history record. The criminal record
clearance shows whether the person is guilty of:

1. A barrier crime, as defined in § 63:2-1719 19.2-392.02 of
the Code of Virginia; andfor or

2. Any other felony not included in the definition of barrier
crime unless five years have elapsed since the conviction.

The criminal history record report shows all convictions.

F. The person must use the form and process of the Central
Criminal Records Exchange (CCRE) of the Department of
State Police for this check. The Department of State Police
provides original criminal history record check forms to
facilities upon receipt of request. The Department of State
Police also provides website access to this form for facilities
that are noncriminal justice inquiry interface users. The CCRE
verifies criminal history record reports.

G. The national criminal background check is the process of
obtaining criminal history record information from the Federal
Bureau of Investigation through the Central Criminal Records
Exchange.

1. The person must submit to fingerprinting and provide
personal descriptive information.

2. The person must use the process of the Central-Criminal
Records—Exechange department's Office of Background

Investigations (OBI) to request and receive a national
criminal background check.
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H. The search of the central registry is a check to determine
if the person has ever been the subject of a founded complaint
of child abuse or neglect in Virginia.

I. The person must use the form and process of the

! i OBI.

The department provides the central registry request form on

its website. Requesters are permitted to submit copies of this

form. OBI verifies child protective services central registry
check findings.

Fhe deBa'.“'e'; Ial Fld |eg_|ste||l_g and aplp e.,.al agencies

22VAC40-191-30. ldentifying the facilities that are not
covered by this regulation.

accredited-private-schools-that-are—accredited-in-aceordance
with-§8-63-2-1717-of the- Code-of Virginia;-children's Children's
residential facilities;—and—famiy—day—homes—thatare—net

reguired-to-be licensed;registered-orapproved are not covered
by this regulation.

8- Backgrous Id check requireme 'ESIIG certitied preschool 6

C. B. Background check requirements for children's

residential facilities, including child-caring institutions, are in
§ 63.2-1726 of the Code of Virginia.

22VAC40-191-40.
regulation.

Identifying who is covered by this

A. This regulation applies to:

4. 1. Licensed child-placing agencies;
5. 2. Licensed independent foster homes; and

6- 3. Foster and adoptive homes approved by child-placing
agencies;
+Voluntarily-registered-family-day-homes;
8-Religious-exempt-child-day-centers:-and
B. Except as provided in 22VAC40-191-50 A, no person with
a disqualifying background who has not been granted a waiver

according to 22VAC40-191-90 may operate or volunteer or
work at a facility governed by this chapter.

C. Background checks are required at the time of initial
application. &= These background checks are required at the
time of initial application for licensure;—registration; or

agency or who is
or will be alone
with, in control
of, or supervising
one or more of
the children

approval:

Who What When

a-Any-applicant Swo - state_ e’ t ng. apphicatio
or-affirmatio for _Inee Sure-of
Sears Q’I central fegistration-as-a
reg |s_t|5|a_d child-welfare
recordcheck

b-Any-agent 1. Same Sworn Same Upon

An agent or statement or application for

applicant at the affirmation licensure as a

time of search of central child welfare

application who registry, and agency

is or will be criminal history

involved in the record check

day-to-day

operations of the

child welfare

orany 2. An
existing
employee or
volunteer

Same

Upon application
for licensure o

. )
family-day-home

¢ 3. Prospective
foster or adoptive
parent

Sworn statement
or affirmation,
search of central
registry, search
of child abuse
and neglect
registry
maintained by
any other state in
which the
individual has
resided in the
last five years,
and national
criminal
background
check

Prior to approval
by child-placing
agency
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- 4. Birth parent
ofachildina
foster care
placement
(unless the birth
parent has
revoked an
entrustment
agreement
pursuant to

§ 63.2-1223 or
63.2-1817 of the
Code of Virginia,
or a local board
or birth parent
revokes a
placement
agreement while
legal custody
remains with the
parent, parents,
or guardians
pursuant to

§ 63.2-900 of the
Code of Virginia)

Sworn statement
or affirmation,
search of central
registry, search
of child abuse
and neglect
registry
maintained by
any other state in
which the
individual has
resided in the
last five years,
and national
criminal
background
check

Prior to placement
of a child with
birth parent

lication.f ligi - :
Whe What When
Any-person-who Documentary With-the-written
will-be-expected-to evidence-of-sworn request-for

| " liai .
enroled-in-a seareh-of-the
'EI.'IQ'GHS exempt ce tal_ e_g|s|t5
excepta-parent- historyrecord
volunteer-as check

fined. in thi
parent-or-guardian
who-may-beleft
| it hi
herown-child

£ 5. Other adults
living in a
prospective
foster or adoptive
home

Sworn statement
or affirmation,
search of central
registry, search
of child abuse
and neglect
registry
maintained by
any other state in
which the
individual has
resided in the
last five years,

Prior to approval
by child-placing
agency

D. Background checks are required after the initial licensure;

1. These background checks are required after initial

registration; or approval—er—receipt-ofreligious—exemption
status.

licensure+egistration; or approval:

Who What When

a. New person Sworn statement Whenever an

designated as or affirmation applicant,

applicant, licensee,

licensee, approvedfamily
. tamil

day-home operater; or

GpEFATGE registrant agent

approved-by-a changes

famiy-day

system; or agent

who is or will be
involved in the
day-to-day
operations of the
facility or who is
or will be alone
with, in control
of, or supervising
one or more of

and national
criminal
background
check
famthyday eriminal-history
system record-check
aelan—Fe_s@ﬂgﬂ operatorfor
heme-reguesting famihy-day-system
approval-and-any
empleyea-or
volunteerofa
family-day-home

the children
Search of central Before the end of
registry and 30 days after the
criminal history change
record check
b. Ay An Sworn statement Prior to first day
employee of a or affirmation of employment at
licensed; the facility

7 or
approved facility
who is involved
in the day-to-day
operations or
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who is alone
with, in control
of, or supervising

Search of central
registry and
criminal history
record check

Before 30 days of
service at the
facility elapses

f e. Foster parent
approved by a
licensed child-
placing agency,
in an independent
foster home, or
an adoptive
parent approved
by a licensed
child-placing
agency, until the
adoption is final

Sworn statement
or affirmation,
search of central
registry, and
criminal history
record check

Before three
years since the
dates of the last
sworn statement
or affirmation,
most recent
central registry
finding, and most
recent criminal
history record
check report or
national criminal
background
check

¢- f. All adult
household
members residing
in the home of
the foster parent
approved by a
licensed child-
placing agency,
foster parent in
an independent
foster home, or
an adoptive
parent approved
by a licensed
child-placing
agency, until the
adoption is final

Sworn statement
or affirmation,
search of central
registry, and
criminal history
record check

Before three
years since the
dates of the last
sworn statement
or affirmation,
most recent
central registry
finding, and most
recent criminal
history record
check report or
national criminal
background
check

one or more
children
Search of central Before 30 days of
registry and employment at
criminal history the facility ends
record check
c. Any An Sworn statement Before three
applicant, or affirmation, years since the
licensee, family search of central dates of the last
day-heme registry and sworn statement
operator criminal history or affirmation,
approved-by-a record check most recent
family-day central registry
system; agent, finding and most
employee, or recent criminal
volunteer-and history record
person-living-in check report
the-family-day
home-whe-is
reguired-to-have
background
cheeks
d-Moluntary Swiorn-statement 90-days-before
provider registry-and renewal ofthe
ider_ifany. T licati
residing-in-the berecetved-by
heme the-contracting
organization-neo
laterthan-45-days
before-the
expiration-of the
currentcertificate
e- d. Volunteer at Sworn statement Prior to first day

licensed;
fregistered; or
approved facility
who will be alone
with any child in
the performance
of duties,
excluding a
parent-volunteer
for children
attending a
licensed;
registered; or
approved
program

or affirmation

of service at the
facility
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becoming-18
years-old

with-his-er-her

oewn-child
Search-ofcentral | Within-30-daysof
registry-and | employmentor
record-check-as | ofservice
requested-by-the

3. 2. Background checks are required for independent
contract employees and employees hired by a contract
agency.

If a licensed—registered; or approved facility uses
independent contract employees or contract employees hired

by a contract agency who will be involved in the day-to-day
operations of the facility or who will be alone with, in control
of, or supervising one or more children, the facility must:

a. Obtain background checks according to the above
requirements for employees, or view the original required
background checks maintained by the contract employee
or contract agency;

b. Accept all satisfactory background checks dated less
than six months before independent contract employees or
contract employees hired by contract agencies begin
providing services at facilities;

c. Make copies, and keep them at the licensed—+egistered;
or approved facilities. Staff must write on the copies of the
criminal record reports that they are photocopies of
originals that facility staff verified; and

d. Provide a sworn statement or affirmation, search of
central registry and criminal history record check before
three years since the dates of the last sworn statement or
affirmation, most recent central registry finding and most
recent criminal history record check report.

4. 3. A person 18 years of age and older must have

b- Person living
in the home of (i)
a prospective
foster or adoptive
parent, (ii) a
foster parent
approved by a
licensed child-
placing agency,
) (iii) a foster
parent in an
independent
foster home, or
£ (iv) until the
adoption is final,
an adoptive
parent approved
by a licensed
child-placing
agency

Sworn statement
or affirmation

When a person
age 18 years or
older begins
residing in the
home or when a
person in the
home becomes
18 years old

Search of central
registry, search of
child abuse and
neglect registry
maintained by
any other state in
which the
individual has
resided in the last
five years, and
national criminal
background
check

Within 30 days of
a person 18 years
of age or older
beginning to
reside in the
home or a person
in the home
becoming 18
years old

background checks:

5. 4. A person 14 years of age and older must have a search
of the central registry and make the information available for
regulatory purposes:

Who What When
Fhe-home-ofa -
- home-becomes
licensed-or 18 years-old
i caemil
day 1ome
previder
Seareh-of-central Within-30-days-of
registry-and a-person-18-years
rinal hi ‘ |
A,
requ e_steellby the
in-the-home

Who What When
a. Person living Child protective Within 30 days of
in: services central a 14-year-old
An applicant's registry check beginning to
home reside in the
' home or a person

I_Ie eofa in the home

i . becoming 14
regisiered family ears old
day-home Y/
proviger;
A foster home
approved by a
licensed child-
placing agency,
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An independent
foster home, or

An adoptive
home approved
by a licensed
child-placing
agency, until the
adoption is final

b. Exeeption: A person 14 years of age up to 18 years of age who
is placed in an approved foster or adoptive home by a child-
placing agency is not required to have a search of the central
registry.

6- 5. A facility must not accept a required criminal history
record report or a central registry finding from an applicant,
licensee,—registrant; or other person required to obtain
background checks that is dated more than 90 days prior to
the date of employment, volunteering, residing in the home,

or approving a famiy-day-heme-or foster or adoptive home.
+—Exception—See-provisions 6. Provisions for contracting

agencies are described in subdivision 3 2 of this subsection.

9. 7. The background checks remain valid at the facility if no
more than 12 consecutive months have passed from when a
person (i) began a leave of absence from that facility; (ii)
was terminated from employment at that facility; or (iii) was
transferred to a facility owned and operated by the same
employer or entity, unless there is a criminal conviction or a
founded complaint of child abuse and neglect during that
period.

22VAC40-191-50. Explaining requirements for
satisfactory background checks.

A. The department and registering and approving authorities
must require documentation of satisfactory background checks
for applicants, agents, employees, volunteers, and others living

in family—day—hemes—and foster and adoptive homes as
specified in 22VAC40-191-40.

1. A satisfactory sworn statement or affirmation is:
a. A fully completed eriginal statement that states that the
person does not have an offense; and
b. There is no other knowledge that the individual has ar

unsatisfactory a disqualifying background check.

Criminal convictions include prior adult convictions and
juvenile convictions or adjudications of delinquency based
on a crime that would be a felony if committed by an adult
within or outside the Commonwealth. Convictions also

include convictions in other states that are equivalent to
those specified in this section.

2. A satisfactory central registry finding is one in which:

a. A copy of the department's child protective services
check form is returned to the requesting agency or state or
local Department of Social Services indicating that, as of
the date on the reply, the individual whose name was
searched is not identified in the central registry as an
involved caregiver with a founded disposition of child
abuse/neglect; and

b. There is no other knowledge that the individual has a
founded disposition in Virginia or elsewhere.

3. A satisfactory criminal history record check report is one
in which:
a. An original hard copy or Internet inquiry reply from the
Department of State Police is returned to the agency,
individual or authorized agent making the request with:

(1) No convictions indicated; or

(2) Convictions indicated, but no barrier crimes, offenses,
or other felony convictions in the last five years;

b. A letter is received from the Office of Background
Investigations with a finding of "eligible™; and

c. There is no other knowledge that the individual has an
offense in Virginia or elsewhere.

The facility must have viewed an original criminal history
record report maintained by a contract employee or contract
agency that is dated less than six months before the
independent contract employee or contract employee is hired
by a contract agency begins providing services at the facility.
(See also 22VAC40-191-90.)

4. A child-placing agency may approve as an adoptive or
foster parent an applicant convicted of not more than one
misdemeanor of assault and battery, as defined in § 18.2-57
of the Code of Virginia, not involving abuse, neglect or
moral turpitude, or a minor, provided 10 years have elapsed
following the conviction.

5. A child-placing agency may approve as a foster parent an
applicant convicted of statutory burglary for breaking and
entering a dwelling home or other structure with intent to
commit larceny who has had his civil rights restored by the
Governor, provided 25 years have elapsed following the
conviction.

6. A child-placing agency must consider the results of
background checks on a birth parent prior to placing the
child of the birth parent with the birth parent, when the child
is in a foster care placement (unless the birth parent has
revoked an entrustment agreement pursuant to § 63.2-1223
or 63.2-1817 of the Code of Virginia or a local board or the
birth parent revokes a placement agreement with legal
custody remaining with the parent, parents, or guardians
pursuant to § 63.2-900 of the Code of Virginia).
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7. No petition for adoption shall be granted if an adoptive
parent has been convicted of a sexually violent offense or an
offense requiring registration pursuant to § 9.1-902 of the
Code of Virginia.

8. A child-placing agency may approve as an adoptive or
foster parent an applicant convicted of felony possession of
drugs, who has had his civil rights restored by the Governor,
provided 10 years have elapsed following the conviction
pursuant to § 63.2-1721 G of the Code of Virginia.

9. A child-placing agency may approve as a kinship foster
care parent an applicant convicted of the following offenses,
provided that 10 years have elapsed from the date of the
conviction and the local board or child-placing agency
makes a specific finding that approving the kinship foster
care placement would not adversely affect the safety and
well-being of the child: (i) a felony conviction for possession
of drugs as set out in Article 1 (§ 18.2-247 et seq.) of Chapter
7 of Title 18.2 of the Code of Virginia, but not including a
felony conviction for possession of drugs with the intent to
distribute; (ii) a misdemeanor conviction for arson as set out
in Article 1 (8 18.2-77 et seq.) of Chapter 5 of Title 18.2; or
(iii) an equivalent offense in another state.

3. 1. If a person leaves a facility and the criminal history
record report or central registry check finding is less than 91
days old, the person must be permitted to take the report or
reports with him. The facility must keep a copy of any report
a person takes and write on it that it is a copy, and that the
original of any criminal history record report was verified.

4. 2. Unless there is a criminal conviction or a founded
complaint of child abuse and neglect during that period, a
background check remains valid at a facility if no more than
12 consecutive months have passed from when a person:

a. Began a leave of absence from that facility;

b. Was terminated from employment at that facility; or

c. Was transferred to a center owned and operated by the
same employer or entity.

5. 3. The facility, department, or—registering or approving
authority may require a new background check relevant to
this suspicion if there is reason to suspect that a person who
has submitted acceptable background checks, as required by
this regulation, has an offense in Virginia or elsewhere.

6- 4. When the facility, department, er—registering or
approving authority chooses to require a new background
check:

a. The facility, department, er—registering or approving
authority may allow the person to continue the same

relationship with the child welfare agency until the ehild
care—provider—or licensing—registering; or approval
authority receives the new Virginia background check
information or equivalent documentation from another
state; or

b. If there is reason to suspect that a person has an offense,
the facility, department, er—registering or approving
authority may require that the person not be alone with
children, even if the documentation is not Virginia
background check information or equivalent information
from another state.

C. Waivers of some criminal convictions are possible. Refer
to 22VAC40-191-90 through 22VACA40-191-130 for an
explanation of the waiver.

22VVAC40-191-60. Explaining consequences of
unsatisfactory disqualifying background checks results.

A. Applicants are denied licensure—registration or approval
when there are unsatisfactery disqualifying background checks

results for:
1. Applicants as a child welfare agency;

2. Agents at the time of application who are or will be
involved in the day-to-day operations of the child welfare
agency or who are or will be alone with, in control of, or
supervising one or more of the children;

4. 3. Any other adult, or any child aged 14 or older, living in
a foster home, or in the home of adoptive parents, until the
adoption is final with—an—unsatisfactory—centralregistry
finding; and

5. 4. Prospective foster or adoptive parents approved by
child-placing agencies;-and

. e family_dav_t -
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B. An employee or volunteer of a licensed erregistered child
welfare agency er-ofa-family-day-home-approved-by-afamily
day-system must not be employed or provide volunteer service
until the agency er-heme has the person's completed sworn
statement or affirmation.

C. An employee or volunteer of a licensed erregistered child
welfare agency,-er-of a-family-day-home-approved-by-afamily
day—system; must be denied continued employment or
volunteer service if:

1. The licensed er—+egistered child welfare agency erfamily
day-system does not have an original criminal history record

report within 30 days of employment or volunteer service;
or

2. The licensed orregistered child welfare agency orfamily
day-system does not have a central registry finding within 30
days of employment or volunteer service.

D. No violation will occur and an employee may continue to
work; or provide service—erlive-in a licensed—registered; or
approved family—day—home facility if the facility has
documentation that the criminal history record request, or the
request for search of the central registry, was submitted within
seven calendar days of the person being employed or
volunteering, but the report is not returned within 30 calendar
days.

1. If a requested report was sent within seven calendar days
but was not returned within 30 calendar days, the requester
must contact within four working days:

a. The Central Criminal Records Exchange of the
Department of State Police; or

b. The department's Office of Background Investigations.

2. If the request was not received, the requestor must submit
another request within five working days after the contact.

i 2 farnily: dav | fror i rogistrati |
is-gi i This
provision applies to a child protective services central
registry check for a person who becomes 14 years of age.

E. If the department or a local agency becomes aware that a
person covered by this regulation has a disqualifying
background, the department or local agency may release this
information to facilities that are covered by this regulation.
Those facilities must not further disseminate this information.

becomes—18—years—of—age—afterlicensure—registration—or
approval-is—given—tt-alse This provision applies to a child
protective services central registry clearance for a person who
becomes 14 years of age.

F. Licensed;—+egistered; or approved facilities must inform
compensated employees and volunteers that the facilities are

requesting child protective services registry checks and
criminal history record reports for them.

G. A facility may choose to request a national criminal
background check, instead of the criminal history record
check, for employees and volunteers.

1. The facility must adhere to Department of State Police
requirements for obtaining fingerprints, in accordance with
§ 19.2-392.02 of the Code of Virginia.

2. The department—family—day-system; and child-placing

agency will accept a national criminal background check
result of "qualified" from the Department of State Police.

3. If the screening result is "disqualified,” the facility must
obtain a satisfactory criminal history record check from the
Central Criminal Record Exchange for the person if:

a. The facility wishes to employ the person or approve the
person as a volunteer;

b. The entity wishes the department to issue a license of
registration; or
c. The facility wishes a famiy-day-system-or child-placing

agency to issue an approval.

H. The facility may also require a background check from
another state per the provisions in subdivision B 5 3 of
22VVAC40-191-50.

I. A facility that does not comply with this regulation may

have its licensure;-registration; or approval-erreligious-exempt
status revoked or denied.

J. If a facility has knowledge that a person required to have a
background check has an offense, and this person has neither a
waiver nor an exception per 22VAC40-191-50 A, and the
facility refuses to separate the person from employment,
service, or residence in a famiby—day home, then licensure;
registration; or approval must be revoked or denied.

22VAC40-191-70. Keeping background check records.

A. A facility must keep background check records at the
location where the person is an applicant, agent, employee,
contract employee, volunteer, other adult in the home, or is any
other adult who is involved in the day-to-day operations of the
facility or who is alone with, in control of, or supervising one
or more children.

1. If a facility is among two or more owned by the same
entity, the background check reports and findings may be
kept at corporate headquarters or at the facility and must be
made available to the department representative upon
request.

2. If a facility is not the primary work place for a person, the
facility may keep copies on site, if there is:

a. Documentation of the place where original background
check records are kept; and
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b. Copies of the sworn disclosure statement or affirmation,
criminal history record report with a statement that the
facility designee has viewed and verified the original, and
the child protective services central registry check form
must be kept on site.

faciities B. Licensed child-placing agencies and licensed
independent foster homes must keep all background check
information for one year after a person required to provide
background checks terminates his duties with a facility or no
longer resides in the home.

E- C. The sworn statement or affirmation, criminal history
record report, and central registry finding must be kept in
locked files.

E- D. Applicants and agents, and their designees, are the only
facility staff who may have access to these documents. The
board president must have access to these documents.

G- E. If a person is denied licensure-registration; or approval,
or is denied employment or volunteer service because of
information on a sworn statement or affirmation, a central
registry finding, or criminal history record report, the facility
must provide a copy of the information obtained from the
central registry or the Central Criminal Records Exchange or
both shall be provided to the person.

H: F. A facility must also release a copy of the information
obtained from the central registry or the Central Criminal
Records Exchange or both when the subject of the information
requests it.

L G. Further dissemination of the background check
information is prohibited other than to the commissioner's
representative or a federal or state authority or court in order to
comply with an express requirement in the law for that
dissemination. (See the provisions at 22VAC40-191-60 E.)

22VVAC40-191-80. Describing the waiver of criminal
conviction.

The waiver of criminal conviction is the department's
caneeling waiving the consequences of an—unsatisfactory a
disqualifying criminal history record check only for specific
convictions.

22VAC40-191-90. Identifying who may apply for a waiver.

A. Any person who wants to operate or to volunteer or work
at a facility covered by this regulation, but who is disqualified
because of a criminal conviction—era—criminal-convictionin
I I | : I tult living in a farmil

home-governed-by-thisregulation; pursuant to 88§ 63.2-1720
and 63.2-1721 of the Code of Virginia may apply in writing to

the commissioner of the department for a waiver.

B. The commissioner may grant a waiver if:

1. A nonbarrier crime felony conviction occurred less than
five years previously and-the-commissioner-determines-that

Volume 38, Issue 2

Virginia Register of Regulations

September 13, 2021

295



Regulations

b L e .
good-moral-character-and-reputation:

T | . .

provider- The commissioner determines that the person is of

good moral character and reputation; and

3. The waiver would not adversely affect the safety and well-
being of the children in the person's care.

22VAC40-191-100.
requirements.

Explaining  waiver application

A. The person requests a waiver application package from the
licensing office that serves the area where the person with the
disqualifying background check lives-er wants to operate or
volunteer or work at a facility covered by this regulation. The
person sends the completed application and a waiver
application fee made out to "Treasurer of Virginia" to the
licensing office. The commissioner establishes the fee. It is
identified in the application package.

€. B. The commissioner acknowledges, in writing, receipt of
the application and notifies the requester and the sponsor
whether the request appears to be complete.

22VAC40-191-110. Describing the contents of a waiver
application.

A. The waiver application
application.

is a personally prepared

B. The waiver application must be submitted in typewritten
form or neatly printed and must include:

1. A statement that the request was solely and personally
prepared by the requester—orotheradulttving-in-a-family
day-home;-as-apphicable; and has not been edited or changed

by anyone else. Exception-the The document may be typed
by another person;

2. A statement that the requester understands that the waiver
will be available for inspection by the public and that the
facility will provide a copy of the waiver to every parent and
guardian if the waiver is granted;

3. A statement that the requester understands that
information in the waiver application package will be made
available by the commissioner to any person upon request if
the waiver is granted,;

4. Personal and employment information;

. i i y
S+ enlequesltls_lm al Ia' Hy .d% e alh e|;| sers-oFhe
6- 5. A factual account of the crime of the person with the
disqualifying conviction;

4 6. The current status and history with justice systems of
the person with the disqualifying conviction;

8. 7. Other information the person with the disqualifying
background wants the commissioner to consider in
evaluating the waiver request;

9. 8. An explanation of why the waiver should be granted;
and

10- 9. Seven attachments:

a. A nonrefundable check, made payable to the "Treasurer
of Virginia," for waiver application processing;

b. For the person with the disqualifying conviction:

(1) A "Current Employment and Employment History
Form";

(2) A copy of the current sworn statement or affirmation;
(3) A copy of the current criminal history record report;

(4) A copy of all necessary documents verifying the
person's statements regarding past and current
involvement with adult or juvenile justice systems within
or outside the Commonwealth;

(5) At least four references by disinterested individuals
who will vouch for the "good moral character and
reputation” of the person with the disqualifying
conviction;

(6) The Sponsoring Agency Statement; and
(7) A notarized signature page.

22VAC40-191-120. Describing the waiver evaluation
criteria.

A. The commissioner may delegate all aspects of processing
and evaluating waiver requests, provided that responsibility for
making the final decision may not be delegated below the level
of a division director.

B. The final decision is based on the following:
1. The content of the waiver application package;

2. The nature of the conviction or convictions and relevance
to decision criteria; and
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3. The extent and pattern of criminal history or child abuse
and neglect, including the person's age when the act occurred
and how long ago the act occurred;-and

.“ the-case oF p es’peetne_lestm parents .Ig'. a-Heensed

© 'Id. placing—ageney—a SviEw oi-the SHiH al—+ecord
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C. The applicant may be required to provide additional

information that is reasonable and necessary to evaluate the
application.

D. The commissioner may interview the applicant or other
persons sufficient to verify and evaluate the information in the
application package.

E. The commissioner may grant a waiver if the commissioner
determines that:

1. The person is now of good moral character and reputation;
and

2. The waiver would not adversely affect the safety and well-
being of children in the person's care.

F. The commissioner will consider a waiver application
abandoned, and close the file, when:

1. More than 60 days have passed since the commissioner
advised the requester and the sponsoring agency that the
waiver application was incomplete, or since the
commissioner requested additional information that was
reasonably necessary to evaluate the application; and

2. The commissioner informs the requester by certified mail
that the waiver application would be considered abandoned
unless the requester provides the requested information
within 15 days.

G. Waiver decisions are not appealable.

22VVAC40-191-140. Modifying, revoking, and terminating
waivers.

A. The person and the sponsoring agency may request a
modification of any of the terms, conditions, or stipulations of
a waiver.

B. The commissioner may revoke a waiver if, after
investigation, he determines that:

1. The waiver application contained false, deceptive, or
misleading information;

2. The terms, conditions, or stipulations of a waiver have
been violated; or

3. New or expanded information becomes known about the
person that would change the previous determination made
about the person's character, reputation, or suitability to
work with or be in proximity to children.

C. If a waiver is revoked, the commissioner informs the
person and the sponsoring agency, in writing by certified mail,
of the reasons for the revocation.

D. A waiver automatically expires when:

1. The person terminates the approved arrangement with the
sponsoring facility; or

2. Five years have passed from the last date of a conviction
for the felony or felonies for which the waiver was granted;
oF

| tlivine .

: : I | lives._in 4
home.

22VAC40-191-150. Explaining the waiver public
notification requirements.

A. Notification about waivers is conducted in accordance
with agency policy.

B. The facility must post in a conspicuous place on the
premises any waiver granted by the department.

C. The facility must notify in writing every parent and
guardian of the children in its care of any waiver granted for its

operators employees or volunteers—er—adm{—f&muy—membeps

VAR. Doc. No. R22-6816; Filed August 20, 2021, 10:44 a.m.

Final Regulation

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The State Board of Social Services is
claiming an exemption from Article 2 of the Administrative Process
Act in accordance with § 2.2-4006 A 4 a of the Code of Virginia,
which excludes regulations that are necessary to conform to changes
in Virginia statutory law or the appropriation act where no agency
discretion is involved. The board will receive, consider, and respond
to petitions by any interested person at any time with respect to
reconsideration or revision.
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Title of Requlation: 22VAC40-201. Permanency Services -
Prevention, Foster Care, Adoption and Independent Living
(amending 22VACA40-201-10, 22VAC40-201-110; adding
22VAC40-201-210).

Statutory Authority: §§ 63.2-217 and 63.2-319 of the Code of
Virginia.

Effective Date: October 13, 2021.

Agency Contact: Em Parente, Department of Social Services,
801 East Main Street, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804)

726-7895, FAX (804) 726-7538, or email
em.parente@dss.virginia.gov.
Summary:

Pursuant to Chapters 254 and 535 of the 2021 Acts of
Assembly, Special Session I, the amendments establish in
regulation the State-Funded Kinship Guardianship
Assistance program (State-Funded Kinship Subsidy),
which provides an additional permanency option for youth
in foster care who are ineligible for the existing Kinship
Guardianship Assistance Program (KinGAP); the
program includes a requirement that the child's relatives
and fictive kin to be involved in the development of the
child's foster care plan for children 12 years of age and
older.

22VAC40-201-10. Definitions.

The following words and terms when used in this chapter
shall have the following meanings unless the context clearly
indicates otherwise:

"Administrative panel review" means a review of a child in
foster care that the local board conducts on a planned basis
pursuant to § 63.2-907 of the Code of Virginia to evaluate the
current status and effectiveness of the objectives in the service
plan and the services being provided for the immediate care of
the child and the plan to achieve a permanent home for the
child. The administrative review may be attended by the birth
parents or prior custodians and other interested individuals
significant to the child and family as appropriate.

"Adoption” means a legal process that entitles the person
being adopted to all of the rights and privileges, and subjects
the person to all of the obligations of a birth child.

"Adoption assistance" means a money payment provided to
adoptive parents or other persons on behalf of a child with
special needs who meets federal or state requirements to
receive such payments.

"Adoption assistance agreement” means a written agreement
between the local board and the adoptive parents of a child with
special needs or in cases in which the child is in the custody of
a licensed child-placing agency, an agreement between the
local board, the licensed child-placing agency, and the
adoptive parents that sets out the payment and services that will
be provided to benefit the child in accordance with Chapter 13
(8 63.2-1300 et seq.) of Title 63.2 of the Code of Virginia.

"Adoption Progress Report" means a report filed with the
juvenile court on the progress being made to place the child in
an adoptive home. Section 16.1-283 of the Code of Virginia
requires that an Adoption Progress Report be submitted to the
juvenile court every six months following termination of
parental rights until the adoption is final.

"Adoptive home" means any family home selected and
approved by a parent, local board, or a licensed child-placing
agency for the placement of a child with the intent of adoption.

"Adoptive home study" means an assessment of a family
completed by a child-placing agency to determine the family's
suitability for adoption.

"Adoptive parent" means any provider selected and approved
by a parent or a child-placing agency for the placement of a
child with the intent of adoption.

"Adoptive placement” means arranging for the care of a child
who is in the custody of a child-placing agency in an approved
home for the purpose of adoption.

"Adult adoption™ means the adoption of any person 18 years
of age or older, carried out in accordance with § 63.2-1243 of
the Code of Virginia.

"Agency placement adoption” means an adoption in which a
child is placed in an adoptive home by a child-placing agency
that has custody of the child.

"AREVA" means the Adoption Resource Exchange of
Virginia that maintains a registry and photo-listing of children
waiting for adoption and families seeking to adopt.

"Assessment” means an evaluation of the situation of the
child and family to identify strengths and services needed.

"Birth family" means the child's biological family.

"Birth parent” means the child's biological parent and for
purposes of adoptive placement means a parent by previous
adoption.

"Birth sibling" means the child's biological sibling.
"Board" means the State Board of Social Services.

"Child" means any natural person under 18 years of age or,
for the purposes of the Fostering Futures program set forth in
Article 2 (8 63.2-917 et seq.) of Chapter 9 of the Code of
Virginia, under 21 years of age and meeting the eligibility
criteria set forth in § 63.2-919 of the Code of Virginia.

"Child-placing agency” means any person who places
children in foster homes, adoptive homes, or independent
living arrangements pursuant to § 63.2-1819 of the Code of
Virginia or a local board that places children in foster homes
or adoptive homes pursuant to 88 63.2-900, 63.2-903, and
63.2-1221 of the Code of Virginia. Officers, employees, or
agents of the Commonwealth, or any locality acting within the
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scope of their authority as such, who serve as or maintain a
child-placing agency, shall not be required to be licensed.

"Child with special needs" as it relates to adoption assistance
means a child who meets the definition of a child with special
needs set forth in § 63.2-1300 or 63.2-1301 B of the Code of
Virginia.

"Children's Services Act" or "CSA" means a collaborative
system of services and funding that is child centered, family
focused, and community based when addressing the strengths
and needs of troubled and at-risk youth and their families in the
Commonwealth.

"Claim for benefits," as used in § 63.2-915 of the Code of
Virginia and 22VAC40-201-115, means (i) foster care
maintenance, including enhanced maintenance; (ii) the
services set forth in a court approved foster care service plan,
the foster care services identified in an individual family
service plan developed by a family assessment and planning
team or other multi-disciplinary team pursuant to the
Children's Services Act (8 2.2-5200 et seq. of the Code of
Virginia), or a transitional living plan for independent living
services; (iii) the placement of a child through an agreement
with the child's parents or guardians, where legal custody
remains with the parents or guardians; (iv) foster care
prevention services as set out in a prevention service plan; or
(v) placement of a child for adoption when an approved family
is outside the locality with the legal custody of the child, in
accordance with 42 USC § 671(a)(23).

"Close relative" means a grandparent, great-grandparent,
adult nephew or niece, adult brother or sister, adult uncle or
aunt, or adult great uncle or great aunt.

"Commissioner" means the commissioner of the department,
his designee, or his authorized representative.

"Community Policy and Management Team™ or "CPMT"
means a team appointed by the local governing body pursuant
to Chapter 52 (8 2.2-5200 et seq.) of Title 2.2 of the Code of
Virginia. The powers and duties of the CPMT are set out in
§ 2.2-5206 of the Code of Virginia.

"Concurrent permanency planning” means utilizing a
structured case management approach in which reasonable
efforts are made to achieve a permanency goal, usually a
reunification with the family, simultaneously with an
established alternative permanent plan for the child.

"Department™ means the state Department of Social Services.

"Denied," as used in § 63.2-915 of the Code of Virginia and
22VVACA40-201-115, means the refusal to provide a claim for
benefits.

"Dually approved" means applicants have met the required
standards to be approved as a foster and adoptive family home
provider.

"Entrustment agreement” means an agreement that the local
board enters into with the parent, parents, or guardian to place
the child in foster care either to terminate parental rights or for
the temporary care and placement of the child. The agreement
specifies the conditions for the care of the child.

"Family assessment and planning team" or "FAPT" means the
local team created by the CPMT (i) to assess the strengths and
needs of troubled youths and families who are approved for
referral to the team and (ii) to identify and determine the
complement of services required to meet their unique needs.
The powers and duties of the FAPT are set out in § 2.2-5208
of the Code of Virginia.

"Foster care" means 24-hour substitute care for children in the
custody of the local board or who remain in the custody of their
parents, but are placed away from their parents or guardians
and for whom the local board has placement and care
responsibility through a noncustodial agreement.

"Foster care maintenance payments” means payments to
cover those expenses made on behalf of a child in foster care
including the cost of, and the cost of providing, food, clothing,
shelter, daily supervision, school supplies, a child's incidentals,
reasonable travel to the child's home for visitation, and
reasonable travel to remain in the school in which the child is
enrolled at the time of the placement. The term also includes
costs for children in institutional care and costs related to the
child of a child in foster care as set out in 42 USC § 675.

"Foster care plan" means a written document filed with the
court in accordance with § 16.1-281 of the Code of Virginia
that describes the programs, care, services, and other support
that will be offered to the child and his parents and other prior
custodians. The foster care plan defined in this definition is the
case plan referenced in 42 USC 8§ 675.

"Foster care prevention” means the provision of services to a
child and family to prevent the need for foster care placement.

"Foster care services" means the provision of a full range of
casework, treatment, and community services, including
independent living services, for a planned period of time to a
child meeting the requirements as set forth in § 63.2-905 of the
Code of Virginia.

"Foster child" means a child for whom the local board has
assumed placement and care responsibilities through a
noncustodial foster care agreement, entrustment, or court
commitment before 18 years of age.

"Foster home™ means the place of residence of any natural
person in which any child, other than a child by birth or
adoption of such person, resides as a member of the household.

"Foster parent" means an approved provider who gives 24-
hour substitute family care, room and board, and services for
children or youth committed or entrusted to a child-placing
agency.
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"Independent living arrangement"” means placement of a child
at least 16 years of age who is in the custody of a local board
or licensed child-placing agency and has been placed by the
local board or licensed child-placing agency in a living
arrangement in which he does not have daily substitute parental
supervision.

"Independent living services" means services and activities
provided to a child in foster care 14 years of age or older who
was committed or entrusted to a local board of social services,
child welfare agency, or private child-placing agency.
Independent living services may also mean services and
activities provided to a person who (i) was in foster care on his
18th birthday and has not yet reached the age of 21 years or (ii)
is at least 18 years of age and who, immediately prior to his
commitment to the Department of Juvenile Justice, was in the
custody of a local department of social services. Such services
shall include counseling, education, housing, employment, and
money management skills development, access to essential
documents, and other appropriate services to help children or
persons prepare for self-sufficiency.

"Individual family service plan™ or "IFSP" means the plan for
services developed by the FAPT in accordance with § 2.2-5208
of the Code of Virginia.

"Intercountry placement” means the arrangement for the care
of a child in an adoptive home or foster care placement into or
out of the Commonwealth by a licensed child-placing agency,
court, or other entity authorized to make such placements in
accordance with the laws of the foreign country under which it
operates.

"Interstate Compact on the Placement of Children" or "ICPC"
means a uniform law that has been enacted by all 50 states, the
District of Columbia, Puerto Rico, and the U.S. Virgin Islands,
which establishes orderly procedures for the interstate
placement of children and sets responsibility for those involved
in placing those children.

"Interstate placement™ means the arrangement for the care of
a child in an adoptive home, foster care placement, or in the
home of the child's parent or with a relative or nonagency
guardian, into or out of the Commonwealth, by a child-placing
agency or court when the full legal right of the child's parent or
nonagency guardian to plan for the child has been voluntarily
terminated or limited or severed by the action of any court.

"Investigation" means the process by which the child-placing
agency obtains information required by § 63.2-1208 of the
Code of Virginia about the placement and the suitability of the
adoption. The findings of the investigation are compiled into a
written report for the circuit court containing a
recommendation on the action to be taken by the court.

"Kinship foster parent" means a relative or fictive kin who
gives 24-hour substitute family care, room and board, and
services for children or youth committed or entrusted to a
child-placing agency.

"Kinship guardian" means the adult relative of a child who
has been awarded custody of the child in accordance with a
kinship guardianship, as established in § 63.2-1305 of the Code
of Virginia, or a kinship subsidy, as established in § 63.2-1306
of the Code of Virginia.

"Kinship guardianship” means a relationship established in
accordance with 8§ 63.2-1305 of the Code of Virginia between
a child and an adult relative of the child who has formerly acted
as the child's foster parent that is intended to be permanent and
self-sustaining, as evidenced by the transfer by the court to the
adult relative of the child of the authority necessary to ensure
the protection, education, care and control, and custody of the
child and the authority for decision making for the child."

"Kinship Guardianship Assistance Program" means a
program consistent with 42 USC § 673 that provides, subject
to a kinship guardianship assistance agreement developed in
accordance with § 63.2-1305 of the Code of Virginia,
payments to eligible individuals who have received custody of
a relative child of whom they had been the foster parents.

"Local board" means the local board of social services in each
county and city in the Commonwealth required by § 63.2-300
of the Code of Virginia.

"Local department” means the local department of social
services of any county or city in the Commonwealth.

"Nonagency placement adoption” means an adoption in
which the child is not in the custody of a child-placing agency
and is placed in the adoptive home directly by the birth parent
or legal guardian.

"Noncustodial foster care agreement” means an agreement
that the local department enters into with the parent or guardian
of a child to place the child in foster care when the parent or
guardian retains custody of the child. The agreement specifies
the conditions for placement and care of the child.

"Nonrecurring expenses™ means expenses of adoptive parents
directly related to the adoption of a child with special needs as
set out in 8 63.2-1301 D of the Code of Virginia.

"Normalcy" means allowing children and youth in foster care
to experience childhood and adolescence in ways similar to
their peers who are not in foster care by empowering foster
parents and congregate care staff to use the reasonable and
prudent parent standard as referenced in Public Law 113-183
(42 USC 88 671 and 675) when making decisions regarding
extracurricular, enrichment, and social activities.

"Parental placement” means locating or effecting the
placement of a child or the placing of a child in a family home
by the child's parent or legal guardian for the purpose of foster
care or adoption.

"Permanency"” means establishing family connections and
placement options for a child to provide a lifetime of
commitment, continuity of care, a sense of belonging, and a
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legal and social status that go beyond a child's temporary foster
care placements.

"Permanency planning” means a social work practice
philosophy that promotes establishing a permanent living
situation for every child with an adult with whom the child has
a continuous, reciprocal relationship within a minimum
amount of time after the child enters the foster care system.

"Prior custodian" means the person who had custody of the
child and with whom the child resided, other than the birth
parent, before custody was transferred to or placement made
with the child-placing agency when that person had custody of
the child.

"Prior family" means the family with whom the child resided,
including birth parents, relatives, or prior custodians, before
custody was transferred to or placement made with the child-
placing agency.

"Reasonable and prudent parent standard," in accordance
with 42 USC § 675(10), means the standard characterized by
careful and sensible parental decisions that maintain the health,
safety, and best interests of a child while at the same time
encouraging the emotional and developmental growth of the
child that foster parents and congregate care staff shall use
when determining whether to allow a child in foster care to
participate in extracurricular, enrichment, cultural, and social
activities.

"Residential placement” means a placement in a licensed
publicly or privately owned facility, other than a private family
home, where 24-hour care is provided to children separated
from their families. A residential placement includes
placements in children's residential facilities as defined in
§ 63.2-100 of the Code of Virginia.

"Reunification" means the return of the child to his home after
removal for reasons of child abuse and neglect, abandonment,
child in need of services, parental request for relief of custody,
noncustodial agreement, entrustment, or any other court-
ordered removal.

"Service worker" means a worker responsible for case
management or service coordination for prevention, foster
care, or adoption cases.

"Sibling" means each of two or more children having one or
more parents in common.

"SSI" means Supplemental Security Income.

"State-Funded Kinship Subsidy" or "State-Funded Kinship
Guardianship Assistance Program" means a program that
provides payments to eligible individuals who have received
custody of a relative child subject to a State-Funded Kinship

"State pool funds" means the pooled state and local funds
administered by CSA and used to pay for services authorized
by the CPMT.

"Step-parent adoption” means the adoption of a child by a
spouse or the adoption of a child by a former spouse of the birth
or adoptive parent in accordance with § 63.2-1201.1 of the
Code of Virginia.

"Supervised independent living setting” means the residence
of a person 18 years of age or older who is participating in the
Fostering Futures program set forth in Article 2 (§ 63.2-917 et
seq.) of Chapter 9 of the Code of Virginia where supervision
includes a monthly visit with a service worker or, when
appropriate, contracted supervision. "Supervised independent
living setting" does not include residential facilities or group
homes.

"Title IV-E" means the title of the Social Security Act that
authorizes federal funds for foster care and adoption assistance.

"Virginia Birth Father Registry” means the established
confidential database designed to protect the rights of a
putative father who wants to be notified in the event of a
proceeding related to termination of parental rights or adoption
for a child he may have fathered.

"Visitation and report" means the visits conducted pursuant
to § 63.2-1212 of the Code of Virginia and the written report
of the findings made in the course of the visitation. The report
is filed in the circuit court in accordance with § 63.2-1212 of
the Code of Virginia.

"Wrap around services" means an individually designed set
of services and supports provided to a child and his family that
includes treatment services, personal support services, or any
other supports necessary to achieve the desired outcome. Wrap
around services are developed through a team approach.

"Youth" means any child in foster care between 14 and 18
years of age or any person 18 to 21 years of age transitioning
out of foster care and receiving independent living services
pursuant to § 63.2-905.1 of the Code of Virginia. "Youth" may
also mean an individual older than the age of 16 years who is
the subject of an adoption assistance agreement.

22VVAC40-201-110. Court hearings and case reviews.
A. For all court hearings, local departments shall:

1. Facilitate a meeting prior to the development of the foster
care service plan and foster care service plan review to
ensure participation and consider input from the child, the
birth parents or prior custodians, the foster or adoptive
parents, relatives and fictive kin who are interested in the
child's welfare, and any other interested individuals, who

Subsidy agreement developed in accordance with § 63.2-1306
of the Code of Virginia.

may include service providers, in the development of the
service plan and service plan review. All youth 24 12 years
of age and older shall be given the opportunity to choose up
to two people to attend the meeting who are not the foster
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parent or caseworker. All of these persons shall be involved
in sharing information for the purposes of well-informed
decisions and planning for the child with a focus on safety
and permanence.

2. File petitions in accordance with the requirements for the
type of hearing.

3. Obtain and consider the child's input as to who should be
included in the court hearing. If persons identified by the
child will not be included in the court hearing, the service
worker shall explain the reasons to the child for such a
decision consistent with the child's developmental and
psychological status.

4. Inform the court of reasonable efforts made to achieve
concurrent permanency goals.

5. Document the appropriateness of the placement, including
the continued appropriateness of an out-of-state placement
if applicable.

6. Ensure the child or youth is present for the permanency
planning hearing unless the court determines this not to be
in the child's best interest.

B. The child or youth shall be consulted in an age-appropriate
manner about his permanency plan at the permanency planning
hearing and subsequent administrative panel reviews.

C. An administrative panel review shall be held six months
after a permanency planning hearing when the goal of
permanent foster care has been approved by the court. A foster
care review hearing will be held annually. The child will
continue to have administrative panel reviews or review
hearings every six months until the child reaches age 18 years.

D. The local department shall invite the child; the child's birth
parents or prior custodians when appropriate; and the child's
foster or adoptive parents, placement providers, guardian ad
litem, court appointed special advocate, relatives, and service
providers to participate in the administrative panel reviews.

E. The local department shall consider all recommendations
made during the administrative panel review in planning
services for the child and birth parents or prior custodians and
document the recommendations on the department approved
form. Individuals who were invited, including those not in
attendance, shall be given a copy of the results of the
administrative panel review as documented on the department
approved form.

F. A supervisory review is required every six months for
youth ages 18 to 21 years who are receiving independent living
services only.

G. An administrative panel review is required every six
months for Fostering Futures program participants unless a
court review is held.

H. In accordance with § 16.1-242.1 of the Code of Virginia,
when a case is on appeal for termination of parental rights, the
juvenile and domestic relations district court retains
jurisdiction on all matters not on appeal. The circuit court
appeal hearing may substitute for a review hearing if the circuit
court addresses the future status of the child.

I. An adoption progress report shall be prepared every six
months after a permanency planning hearing when the goal of
adoption has been approved by the court. The adoption
progress report shall be entered into the automated child
welfare data system. The child will continue to have annual
review hearings in addition to adoption progress reports until a
final order of adoption is issued or the child reaches age 18
years.

J. If a child is in the custody of the local department and a
preadoptive family has not been identified and approved for
the child, the child's guardian ad litem or the local board of
social services may file a petition to restore the previously
terminated parental rights of the child's parent in accordance
with § 16.1-283.2 of the Code of Virginia.

K. If a child has been in foster care 15 out of the last 22
months, the local department shall file a petition to terminate
the parental rights.

22VAC40-201-210. State-Funded Kinship Subsidy.

A. The purpose of the State-Funded Kinship Subsidy, also
known as the State-Funded Kinship Guardianship Assistance
Program, is to facilitate placements with relatives and ensure
permanency for children who are ineligible for the Kinship
Guardianship Assistance Program, as outlined in § 63.2-1305
of the Code of Virginia.

B. A child is eligible for the State-Funded Kinship Subsidy if:

1. The child has been removed from the child's home
pursuant to a voluntary placement agreement or as a result
of a judicial determination that continuation in the home
would be contrary to the welfare of the child;

2. The child has been in the custody of the local department
for at least 90 days;

3. The child demonstrates a strong attachment to the
prospective Kinship guardian, and the prospective kinship
guardian has a strong commitment to caring permanently for
the child;

4. The child has been consulted regarding the Kinship
subsidy if the child is 14 years of age or older;

5. The requirements for a transfer of custody of the child to
the prospective Kinship gquardian for the purpose of
establishing eligibility for the State-Funded Kinship Subsidy
have been met; and
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6. The child is not eligible for the Kinship Guardianship

request services through the family assessment and planning

Assistance Program, as outlined in § 63.2-1305 of the Code

team (FAPT) in accordance with state and local policies and

of Virginia.
C. If a child does not meet the eligibility criteria set forth in

procedures.
I. A representative of the department shall approve all State-

subsection B of this section but has a sibling who meets such

Funded Kinship Subsidy agreements, including all exemptions

criteria, the child may be placed in the same State-Funded

from the foster home approval process as outlined in

Kinship Subsidy arrangement as the child's eligible sibling if

subdivision D 2 of this section.

the local department and Kinship guardian agree that such
placement is appropriate. In such cases, the kinship subsidy
may be paid on behalf of each sibling so placed.

D. A prospective kinship guardian is eligible for the State

J. A State-Funded Kinship Subsidy agreement shall be
entered into by the local board and the kinship guardian for a
child who has been approved by the department for State-
Funded Kinship Subsidy payments. Local departments shall

Funded Kinship Subsidy if the kinship guardian:

1. Completes a relative foster home approval; or

2. Completes a home study and background check, is found
to have no convictions for any barrier crime as outlined in

use the State-Funded Kinship Subsidy agreement form
provided by the department.

K. The State-Funded Kinship Subsidy agreement shall:

1. Be signed prior to legal custody transfer of the child to the

42 USC § 671(a)(20), and qualifies for at least one of the

kinship guardian;

following exemptions from the kinship foster home approval
process:

a. The kinship guardian lives in another state and is unable
to meet non-safety related approval requirements imposed

by their state;
b. The Kinship guardian has made attempts to satisfy the

2. Specify the monthly amount to be provided;

3. Become effective on the date that the judge signs the court
order transferring legal custody of the child to the Kinship

guardian; and
4. Absent modification or revocation of the Kkinship

training requirements for foster home approval but is

guardianship, remain in effect and governed by the laws of

unable to complete all training requirements; or

c. The Kinship guardian's home is unable to meet the foster
parent approval standards and establishing permanency
with the kinship guardian through a State-Funded Kinship
Subsidy is in the child's best interest, as determined by the

department.

E. Once the State-Funded Kinship Subsidy agreement
becomes effective in accordance with subsection K of this
section, foster care payments will cease and kinship subsidy
payments will begin. The State-Funded Kinship Subsidy
provides state-funded basic maintenance only. The basic
maintenance payment will increase only when (i) the child
reaches an age at which the foster care maintenance rate would
increase or (ii) statewide increases are approved for foster care
maintenance rates.

F. The local department shall inform the prospective Kinship
guardian of the Medicaid application process to support
continuation of benefits after custody transfer.

G. The kinship guardian shall be required under the State-
Funded Kinship Subsidy agreement to keep the local
department informed of the circumstances that would make
them ineligible for a maintenance payment or eligible for a
different amount of maintenance payment than that specified
in the State-Funded Kinship Subsidy agreement.

H. Children with a State-Funded Kinship Subsidy agreement
are eligible for foster care services under § 63.2-905 of the
Code of Virginia, including a full range of casework,
treatment, and community services. The Kinship guardian may

the Commonwealth of Virginia regardless of the state to
which the kinship guardian may relocate.

L. The kinship guardian shall:

1. Annually submit a signed State-Funded Kinship Subsidy
affidavit to the local department by the date that the State-
Funded Kinship Subsidy agreement was effective; and

2. Report changes in circumstances to the local department
as outlined in the State-Funded Kinship Subsidy agreement.

M. The local department is responsible for the following:

1. Maintaining payments identified in the State-Funded
Kinship Subsidy agreement, regardless of where the family
resides;

2. Notifying kinship guardians who are receiving State-
Funded Kinship Subsidy payments that the annual affidavit
is due;

3. Assisting the kinship guardian in coordinating services to
meet the child's needs upon request; and

4. Notifying the Kinship guardians of a suspension or
termination in payments or foster care services.

N. The State-Funded Kinship Subsidy agreement shall be
terminated when the child reaches the age of 18 years.

0. The State-Funded Kinship Subsidy agreement shall not be
terminated before the child's 18th birthday without the consent
of the kinship guardian unless:
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1. The Kinship guardian adopts the child subsequent to the

Statutory Authority: § 63.2-217 of the Code of Virginia.

State-Funded Kinship Subsidy agreement and transfer of
legal custody. The Kinship guardian and a representative of
the department shall negotiate adoption assistance payments
independently from any negotiated terms of the State-
Funded Kinship Subsidy agreement.

2. The kinship guardian requests in writing that the
agreement ends.

3. The kinship guardian fails to comply with the annual
review process.

4. The kinship guardian is no longer legally responsible for
the care of the child.

5. The kinship guardian is not providing any financial
support for the child.

6. The kinship guardian dies or becomes incapacitated.

7. The kinship guardian and the local department agree in
writing to terminate the agreement.

P. Local boards of social services are responsible for
informing Kkinship guardians in writing of their right to appeal
decisions relating to the child's eligibility for the State-Funded
Kinship Subsidy and decisions relating to payments within 30
days of receiving written notice of such decisions. In
accordance with § 63.2-915 of the Code of Virginia, applicants
for and recipients of the State-Funded Kinship Subsidy shall
have the right to appeal these decisions by a local board or
licensed child-placing agency in granting, denying, changing,
or discontinuing State-Funded Kinship Subsidy payments.

Q. Approval of the State-Funded Kinship Subsidy for a child
is dependent on allotted funding from the General Assembly.
Based on the funding allotted on an annual basis, priority will
be given to the arrangements that would be least likely to
achieve permanency with the Kinship Guardianship Assistance
Program, as outlined in 8 63.2-1305 of the Code of Virginia,
including kinship guardians who meet an exemption from the
foster home approval process, as outlined in subdivision D 2
of this section.

VAR. Doc. No. R22-6763; Filed August 20, 2021, 10:44 a.m.

Final Regulation

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The State Board of Social Services
is claiming an exemption from Article 2 of the Administrative
Process Act in accordance with § 2.2-4006 A 4 a of the Code
of Virginia, which excludes regulations that are necessary to
conform to changes in Virginia statutory law or the
appropriation act where no agency discretion is involved. The
board will receive, consider, and respond to petitions by any
interested person at any time with respect to reconsideration or
revision.

Title _of Requlation: 22VAC40-705. Child Protective
Services (amending 22VAC40-705-160).

Effective Date: October 13, 2021.

Agency Contact: Mary Walter, Child Protective Services
Program Consultant, Department of Social Services, 801 East
Main Street, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 726-7569,
FAX (804) 726-7499, or email mary.walter@dss.virginia.gov.

Summary:

Pursuant to Chapter 305 of the 2021 Acts of Assembly,
Special Session 1, the amendments require local
departments of social services, when conducting
investigations or family assessments, to disclose to the
child's parent or guardian, upon request, the location of
the child, provided that (i) the investigation or family
assessment has not been completed and a report has not
been transmitted; (ii) the parent or guardian requesting
disclosure of the child's location has not been the subject
of a founded report of child abuse or neglect; (iii) the
parent or guardian requesting disclosure of the child's
location has legal custody of the child and provides to the
local department of social services any records or other
information necessary to verify such custody; (iv) the local
department is not aware of any court order and has
confirmed with the child's other parent or guardian or
other person responsible for the care of the child that no
court order has been issued that prohibits or limits contact
by the parent or guardian requesting disclosure of the
child's location with the child, the child's other parent or
guardian or other person responsible for the care of the
child, or any member of the household in which the child
is located; and (v) disclosure of the child's location to the
parent or guardian will not compromise the safety of the
child, the child's other parent or guardian, or any other
person responsible for the care of the child.

22VVAC40-705-160. Releasing information.

A. In the following instances of mandatory disclosure the

local department shall release child protective services
information. The local department may do so without any
written release.

1. Report to attorney for the Commonwealth and law
enforcement pursuant to 8§ 63.2-1503 D of the Code of
Virginia.

2. Report to the regional medical examiner's office pursuant
to 8 63.2-1503 E of the Code of Virginia.

3. Any individual, including an individual against whom
allegations of child abuse or neglect were made, may
exercise his rights under the Government Data Collection
and Dissemination Practices Act (§ 2.2-3800 et seq. of the
Code of Virginia) to access personal information related to
himself that is contained in the case record including, with
the individual's notarized consent, a search of the Central
Registry.

Volume 38, Issue 2

Virginia Register of Regulations

September 13, 2021

304


mailto:mary.walter@dss.virginia.gov

Regulations

4. When the material requested includes personal
information about other individuals, the local department
shall be afforded a reasonable time in which to redact those
parts of the record relating to other individuals.

5. Pursuant to the Child Abuse Prevention and Treatment
Act, as amended (42 USC § 5101 et seq.), and federal
regulations (45 CFR Part 1340), the local department shall
provide case-specific information about child abuse and
neglect reports and investigations to citizen review panels
when requested.

6. Pursuant to the Child Abuse Prevention and Treatment
Act, as amended (42 USC § 5101 et seq.), the department
shall develop guidelines to allow for public disclosure in
instances of child fatality or near fatality.

7. An individual's right to access information under the
Government Data Collection and Dissemination Practices
Act is stayed during criminal prosecution pursuant to § 63.2-
1526 C of the Code of Virginia.

8. The local department shall disclose and release to the
United States Armed Forces Family Advocacy Program
child protective services information as required pursuant to
22VAC40-705-140.

9. Child protective services shall, on request by the Division
of Child Support Enforcement, supply information pursuant
to § 63.2-103 of the Code of Virginia.

10. The local department shall release child protective
services information to a court appointed special advocate
pursuant to § 9.1-156 A of the Code of Virginia.

11. The local department shall release child protective
services information to a court-appointed guardian ad litem
pursuant to 8 16.1-266 G of the Code of Virginia.

12. In any case properly before a court having jurisdiction,
if the court orders the local department to disclose
information from a child abuse or neglect case record, the
local department must either comply with the order if
permitted under federal and state law or appeal the order if
such disclosure is contrary to federal and state law.

B. The local department may use discretion in disclosing or
releasing child protective services case record information,
investigative and ongoing services to parties having a
legitimate interest when the local department deems disclosure
to be in the best interest of the child. The local department may
disclose such information without a court order and without a
written release pursuant to 8 63.2-105 of the Code of Virginia.

C. Prior to disclosing information to any individuals or
organizations, and to be consistent with § 63.2-105 of the Code
of Virginia, the local department must consider the factors
described in subdivisions 1, 2, and 3 of this subsection as some
of the factors necessary to determine whether a person has a

legitimate interest and the disclosure of information is in the
best interest of the child:

1. The information will be used only for the purpose for
which it is made available;

2. Such purpose shall be related to the goal of child
protective or rehabilitative services; and

3. The confidential character of the information will be
preserved to the greatest extent possible.

D. In cases of abuse or neglect in which the person who is the
subject of the founded report or complaint has appealed the
finding and has submitted a written request for the local
department's records in accordance with § 63.2-1526 of the
Code of Virginia, the local department shall not disclose or
release to such person the following information: (i) t the name
of the person reporting incidents of child abuse or neglect; (ii)
any information that may endanger the well-being of a child if
such information or records are disclosed or released; (iii)
information that pertains to the identity of a collateral witness
or any other person if such disclosure may endanger life or
safety; or (iv) information that is otherwise prohibited from
being disclosed or released by state or federal law or
regulation.

E. In all complaints or reports that are being investigated
jointly with law enforcement, the local department shall release
child protective services information in accordance with the
following:

1. Pursuant to § 63.2-1516.1 B of the Code of Virginia, no
information in the possession of the local department from
such joint investigation shall be released by the local
department prior to the conclusion of the criminal
investigation except as authorized by the investigating law-
enforcement officer, the law-enforcement officer's
supervisor, or the local attorney for the Commonwealth.

2. Pursuant to § 63.2-1503 D of the Code of Virginia, the
local department shall provide the attorney for the
Commonwealth and the local law-enforcement agency with
the information and records of the local department related
to the investigation of the complaint, including records
related to any complaints of abuse or neglect involving the
victim or the alleged abuser or neglector, and information or
records pertaining to the identity of the person who reported
the complaint of abuse or neglect.

F. Pursuant to 88 63.2-1505 B and 63.2-1506 B of the Code
of Virginia, the local department, upon request, must disclose
to the child's parent or guardian the location of the child,

provided that:

1. The investigation or family assessment has not been
completed:;
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2. The parent or guardian requesting disclosure of the child's
location has not been the subject of a founded report of child

abuse or neglect;

3. The parent or guardian requesting disclosure of the child's
location has legal custody of the child and provides to the
local department any records or other information necessary
to verify such custody;

4. The local department is not aware of any court order and
has confirmed with the child's other parent or gquardian or
other person responsible for the care of the child that no
court order has been issued that prohibits or limits contact
by the parent or guardian requesting disclosure of the child's
location with the child, the child's other parent or guardian
or other person responsible for the care of the child, or any
member of the household in which the child is located; and

5. Disclosure of the child's location to the parent or guardian
will not compromise the safety of the child, the child's other
parent or guardian, or any other person responsible for the
care of the child.

VAR. Doc. No. R22-6765; Filed August 20, 2021, 10:45 a.m.

L 4 L 4

TITLE 24. TRANSPORTATION AND MOTOR
VEHICLES

COMMONWEALTH TRANSPORTATION BOARD

Final Regulation

and contracts for the construction of transportation projects be
awarded on a design-build basis pursuant to objective criteria
previously adopted by the CTB regarding the use of design-
build. Such objective criteria shall include requirements for
prequalification of contractors and competitive bidding
processes. The CTB has adopted a written policy on what
criteria it will consider for the prequalification of contractors,
which prospective contractors can follow, making the
regulation, which incorporates the policy by reference,
unnecessary.

Summary:
The amendments repeal Rules Governing Prequalification
and Classification (24VAC30-130).

VA.R. Doc. No. R21-6881; Filed August 23, 2021, 7:50 a.m.

Final Regulation

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Commonwealth Transportation
Board is claiming an exemption from the Administrative
Process Act in accordance with § 2.2-4002 B 3 of the Code of
Virginia, which exempts regulations relating to the location,
design, specifications, or construction of public buildings or
other facilities.

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Commonwealth Transportation
Board is claiming an exemption from the Administrative
Process Act in accordance with § 2.2-4002 B 2 of the Code of
Virginia, which exempts regulations relating to the award or
denial of state contracts, as well as decisions regarding
compliance therewith.

Title of Requlation: 24VAC30-130. Rules Governing
Prequalification and Classification (repealing 24VAC30-
130-10).

Statutory Authority: § 33.2-210 of the Code of Virginia.
Effective Date: October 14, 2021.

Agency Contact: JoAnne P. Maxwell, Agency Regulatory
Coordinator, Governance and Legislative Affairs Division,
Virginia Department of Transportation, 1401 East Broad
Street, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 786-1830, FAX
(804) 225-4700, or email joanne.maxwell@vdot.virginia.gov.

Background: The Commonwealth Transportation Board
(CTB) adopted this regulation based on & 33.2-209 of the Code
of Virginia, which authorizes the CTB to let all contracts
administered by the Department of Transportation for the
construction, maintenance, and improvement of the highways
comprising systems of state highways in excess of $5 million

Title of Regulation: 24VAC30-210. Policy on Placing
Utilities Underground (repealing 24VAC30-210-10).

Statutory Authority: §§ 33.2-210 and 33.2-348 of the Code of
Virginia.

Effective Date: October 14, 2021.

Agency Contact: Jo Anne Maxwell, Governance and
Legislative Affairs Division Administrator, Department of
Transportation, 1401 East Broad Street, Richmond, VA 23235,
telephone (804) 786-1830, or email
joanne.maxwell@vdot.virginia.gov.

Background: The Commonwealth Transportation Board
(CTB) adopted this regulation based on authority in § 33.2-348
of the Code of Virginia, which related to the CTB's authority
to fund construction and improvement projects for the urban
system of state highways and specifically provided limited
funding for four localities relating to undergrounding utilities.
The regulation consists of a description of the Underground
Utility Policy, describing it as a policy that establishes the
conditions under which transportation funds shall be used to
reimburse a portion of the additional cost involved to place
overhead utility facilities underground in connection with new
transportation improvement construction and states that the
policy applies to projects for the urban system of highways that
are created and constructed in accordance with § 33.2-348 of
the Code of Virginia. However, § 33.2-348 was repealed,
effective July 1, 2016, and the specific statutorily authorized
program for funding the relocation of aerial utilities
underground was also repealed, effective July 1, 2016.
Currently, the Virginia Department of Transportation (VDOT)
Utility Manual addresses undergrounding of aerial facilities
and provides that additional costs attributable to
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undergrounding must be borne by the requesting localities.
Since statutory authority has been repealed, the regulation is
also being repealed.

Summary:
The amendments repeal Policy on Placing Utilities
Underground (24VAC30-210).

VA.R. Doc. No. R21-6882; Filed August 12, 2021, 9:08 a.m.

Final Regulation

and conditions that it will consider in making funding decisions
for economic development access funds. The regulation is not
necessary

Summary:
The amendments repeal Economic Development Access
Fund Policy (24VAC30-271).

VAR. Doc. No. R21-6883; Filed August 23, 2021, 7:51 a.m.

Final Regulation

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Commonwealth Transportation
Board is claiming an exemption from the Administrative
Process Act in accordance with § 2.2-4002 B 3 of the Code of
Virginia, which exempts regulations relating to the location,
design, specifications or construction of public buildings or
other facilities, and in accordance with § 2.2-4002 B 4 of the
Code of Virginia, which exempts regulations relating to grants
of state or federal funds or property.

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Commonwealth Transportation
Board is claiming an exemption from the Administrative
Process Act in accordance with § 2.2-4002 B 2 of the Code of
Virginia, which exempts regulations relating to the award or
denial of state contracts, as well as decisions regarding
compliance therewith.

Title of Requlation: 24VAC30-271. Economic Development
Access Fund Policy (repealing 24VAC30-271-10,
24VAC30-271-20).

Statutory Authority: § 33.2-210 of the Code of Virginia.
Effective Date: October 14, 2021.

Agency Contact: JoAnne P. Maxwell, Agency Regulatory
Coordinator, Governance and Legislative Affairs Division,
Virginia Department of Transportation, 1401 East Broad
Street, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 786-1830, FAX
(804) 225-4700, or email joanne.maxwell@vdot.virginia.gov.

Background: Pursuant to § 33.2-1509 of the Code of Virginia,
the Commonwealth Transportation Board (CTB) is authorized
to make decisions on expending funds for constructing,
reconstructing, maintaining, or improving access roads within
localities to economic development sites on which
manufacturing, processing, research and development
facilities, distribution centers, regional service centers,
corporate headquarters, or other establishments that also meet
basic employer criteria as determined by the Virginia
Economic Development Partnership in consultation with the
Virginia Department of Small Business and Supplier Diversity
will be built under firm contract or are already constructed.
This regulation sets forth the policy by which the CTB makes
those funding decisions. The CTB recently completed a
periodic review in which it determined that the regulation was
not necessary to protect the health, safety, and welfare of the
public, because the functions performed by the regulation are
those that are adequately performed by a guidance document
on the topic that has been adopted by the CTB. The CTB
expends funds by voting on a resolution, which specifies the
criteria and conditions for the use of such funds on each
project, and the terms of the resolution are used to enforce the
funding conditions on the locality receiving the funds. The
regulation merely provides guidance to the localities to use in
preparing a request for funding. The CTB has adopted a
guidance document that specifies, in more detail, all the criteria

Title of Regqulation: 24VAC30-340. Debarment or
Suspension of Contractors (repealing 24VVAC30-340-10).

Statutory Authority: § 33.2-210 of the Code of Virginia.
Effective Date: October 14, 2021.

Agency Contact: JoAnne P. Maxwell, Agency Regulatory
Coordinator, Governance and Legislative Affairs Division,
Virginia Department of Transportation, 1401 East Broad
Street, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 786-1830, FAX
(804) 225-4700, or email joanne.maxwell@vdot.virginia.gov.

Background: The Commonwealth Transportation Board
(CTB) adopted a policy describing the procedures and criteria
it uses in considering the debarment of contractors in 1981.
That policy, as revised in 1983, is incorporated by reference as
the current regulation. However, in 1982, the General
Assembly enacted the Virginia Public Procurement Act (§ 2.2-
4300 et seq. of the Code of Virginia), which provides that a
state agency designated by the Governor may adopt procedures
for the debarment of contractors. In 2001, the Department of
General Services (DGS) was directed by Governor's executive
order to adopt procedures for the debarment of contractors to
be used by state agencies, which DGS has since adopted.
Section 2.2-4321 of the Code of Virginia authorizes the
debarment of contractors pursuant to procedures established in
writing by DGS. The CTB believes it can achieve the same
purpose of the regulation through adoption of its policy as a
guidance document or by following the DGS procedures for
debarment, making the regulation redundant and unnecessary.

Summary:
The amendments repeal Debarment or Suspension of
Contractors (24VAC30-340).

VA.R. Doc. No. R21-6612; Filed August 23, 2021, 8:00 a.m.
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Final Regulation

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Commonwealth Transportation
Board is claiming an exemption from the Administrative
Process Act in accordance with § 2.2-4002 B 3 of the Code of
Virginia, which exempts regulations relating to the location,
design, specifications or construction of public buildings or
other facilities.

Title of Regqulation: 24VAC30-390. Virginia Scenic
Highways and Byways (repealing 24VVAC30-390-10).
Statutory Authority: § 33.2-405 of the Code of Virginia.
Effective Date: October 14, 2021.

Agency Contact: JoAnne P. Maxwell, Agency Regulatory
Coordinator, Governance and Legislative Affairs Division,
Virginia Department of Transportation, 1401 East Broad
Street, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 786-1830, FAX
(804) 225-4700, or email joanne.maxwell@vdot.virginia.gov.

Background: Section 33.2-405 of the Code of Virginia states
that the Commonwealth Transportation Board (CTB) is
authorized to designate any highway as a scenic highway or as
a Virginia byway and further requires that the designation be
made in cooperation with the Director of the Department of
Conservation and Recreation (DCR). DCR and the Virginia
Department of Transportation executed a Memorandum of
Agreement (MOA) dated July 6, 1995, outlining the general
responsibilities and obligations of each party in recommending
Scenic Highways and Virginia Byways to the CTB. When the
MOA was updated in 2018 to provide clarity to the
recommendation process, the CTB adopted a set of written
goals and policies to guide it in making future decisions on
designating Scenic Highways and Byways. The regulation
provides guidance to the CTB when it makes decisions on
designating Scenic Highways and Byways, and therefore is
redundant and not necessary as the purpose of the regulation
can be accomplished through the written goals and policies
adopted by the CTB via the MOA with the DCR.

Summary:
The amendments repeal Virginia Scenic Highways and
Byways (24VAC30-390).

VA.R. Doc. No. R21-6613; Filed August 23, 2021, 8:34 a.m.

Final Regulation

Effective Date: October 14, 2021.

Agency Contact: JoAnne P. Maxwell, Agency Regulatory
Coordinator, Governance and Legislative Affairs Division,
Virginia Department of Transportation, 1401 East Broad
Street, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 786-1830, FAX
(804) 225-4700, or email joanne.maxwell@vdot.virginia.gov.

Background: Sections 33.2-339 and 33.2-340 of the Code of
Virginia authorize the Commissioner of Highways, subject to
the approval of the Commonwealth Transportation Board
(CTB), to may maintain, improve, construct, and reconstruct
streets in any town with a population of less than 3,500 from
allocations available from secondary highway funds not to
exceed two miles of streets or highways in such towns included
in the secondary state highway system. The regulation
specifies the CTB's policy on approving requests for
maintenance of roads under 88 33.2-339 and 33.2-340 and
guides the CTB in its decisions on funding of maintenance of
highways in towns, which may be accomplished through a
similar guidance document or a CTB policy, making the
regulation unnecessary.

Summary:

The amendments repeal Operation and Maintenance of
Roads in Incorporated Towns Less Than 3,500 (24VAC30-
420).

VA.R. Doc. No. R21-6884; Filed August 23, 2021, 8:34 a.m.

Final Regulation

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Commonwealth Transportation
Board is claiming an exemption from the Administrative
Process Act in accordance with § 2.2-4002 B 2 of the Code of
Virginia, which exempts regulations relating to the award or
denial of state contracts, as well as decisions regarding
compliance therewith.

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Commonwealth Transportation
Board is claiming an exemption from the Administrative
Process Act in accordance with § 2.2-4002 B 3 of the Code of
Virginia, which exempts regulations relating to the location,
design, specifications or construction of public buildings or
other facilities.

Title of Regulation: 24VAC30-420. Operation and
Maintenance of Roads in Incorporated Towns Less Than
3,500 (repealing 24VAC30-420-10).

Statutory Authority: § 33.2-210 of the Code of Virginia.

Title of Regulation: 24VAC30-430. Maintenance of Roads
Crossing the Interstate System (repealing 24VAC30-430-
10).

Statutory Authority: § 33.2-210 of the Code of Virginia.
Effective Date: October 14, 2021.

Agency Contact: JoAnne P. Maxwell, Agency Regulatory
Coordinator, Governance and Legislative Affairs Division,
Virginia Department of Transportation, 1401 East Broad
Street, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 786-1830, FAX
(804) 225-4700, or email joanne.maxwell@vdot.virginia.gov.

Background: Section 33.2-319 of the Code of Virginia
authorizes the Commissioner of Highways, subject to the
approval of the Commonwealth Transportation Board (CTB),
to make payments for maintenance, construction, or
reconstruction of highways to all cities and towns eligible for
funds, that is have roads crossing over or under the interstate
highways, if those highways functionally classified as
principal and minor arterial roads are maintained to a standard
satisfactory to the Department of Transportation (VDOT). The
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regulation describes the policy of the CTB in determining
which maintenance activities on roads crossing over or under
the interstate highways are eligible for funding by the CTB.
The regulation specifies the expected responsibilities of
various types of localities (cities and towns with populations
over 3500 persons, counties, and counties that have withdrawn
from the state highway system) and VDOT's responsibilities in
the maintenance of various types of highways that cross over
or under interstate highways. The CTB believes this purpose is
accomplished through a written CTB policy or a VDOT
guidance document and is not necessary as a regulation.

Summary:

The amendments repeal Maintenance of Roads Crossing the
Interstate System (24VAC30-430).

VA.R. Doc. No. R21-6885; Filed August 23, 2021, 8:54 a.m.

Final Regulation

regulation is met by the CTB Policy and Departmental
Memorandum.

Summary:
The amendments repeal Roads in the Grounds of State
Institutions (24VAC30-490).

VA.R. Doc. No. R21-6614; Filed August 23, 2021, 8:10 a.m.

Final Regulation

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Commonwealth Transportation
Board is claiming an exemption from the Administrative
Process Act in accordance with § 2.2-4002 B 3 of the Code of
Virginia, which exempts regulations relating to the location,
design, specifications or construction of public buildings or
other facilities.

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Commonwealth Transportation
Board is claiming an exemption from the Administrative
Process Act in accordance with § 2.2-4002 B 3 of the Code of
Virginia, which exempts regulations relating to the location,
design, specifications or construction of public buildings or
other facilities.

Title of Regulation: 24VAC30-490. Roads in the Grounds of
State Institutions (repealing 24VAC30-490-10).

Statutory Authority: 8§ 33.2-210 and 33.2-313 of the Code of
Virginia.

Effective Date: October 14, 2021.

Agency Contact: JoAnne P. Maxwell, Agency Regulatory
Coordinator, Governance and Legislative Affairs Division,
Virginia Department of Transportation, 1401 East Broad
Street, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 786-1830, FAX
(804) 225-4700, or email joanne.maxwell@vdot.virginia.gov.

Background: Section 33.2-313 of the Code of Virginia states
that the Commissioner of Highways may, when requested by
the governing body of a state institution, assume the
maintenance of any highway within the grounds of such state
institution that has been established and constructed by such
institution to standards acceptable to the Commissioner of
Highways. The Commonwealth Transportation Board (CTB)
adopted a policy in 1956 which specified several standards that
the Department of Transportation (VDOT) should consider
before accepting roads on the grounds of state institutions into
the primary state highway system. The CTB has the authority
to set policy for VDOT pursuant to § 33.2-215 of the Code of
Virginia. Consistent with that policy, the Commissioner of
Highways issued a Departmental Memorandum that instructs
VDOT staff to ensure that those standards are met prior to
accepting roads on the grounds of state institutions into the
primary state highway system. The current regulation, which
incorporates by reference the Departmental Memorandum
filed by description, is redundant because the purpose of the

Title of Regulation: 24VAC30-500. Roads in the Grounds of
State Parks (repealing 24VAC30-500-10).

Statutory Authority: §§ 33.2-210 and 33.2-311 of the Code of
Virginia.

Effective Date: October 14, 2021.

Agency Contact: JoAnne P. Maxwell, Agency Regulatory
Coordinator, Governance and Legislative Affairs Division,
Virginia Department of Transportation, 1401 East Broad
Street, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 786-1830, FAX
(804) 225-4700, or email joanne.maxwell@vdot.virginia.gov.

Background: Section 33.2-311 of the Code of Virginia states
that all highways in state parks that provide connections
between highways outside such parks shall continue to be
portions of the primary state highway system. Some highways
in state parks do not provide connections between highways
outside of the parks, and those highways would instead be part
of the secondary system of state highways.

Section 33.2-312 of the Code of Virginia states that the
Commissioner of Highways may maintain all highways within
the boundaries of any state park established by and under the
control of the Department of Conservation and Recreation
(DCR) and may maintain those highways by expending funds
under the commissioner's control and available for expenditure
upon the maintenance of highways in the secondary state
highway system in the county in which such state park is
located. Where Department of Transportation (VDOT)
maintenance of a secondary highway is no longer necessary,
VDOT may discontinue maintenance of such highway
pursuant to §33.2-908 of the Code of Virginia. A
discontinuance usually results in maintenance responsibility
being assumed by the locality in which the highway is located.
This regulation states that if the entity that controls the parks
requests to be allowed to maintain the secondary highways,
and the Board of Supervisors of that locality approves, the
maintenance responsibility may be transferred to the entity that
controls the park, which then falls, pursuant to § 10.1-200 of
the Code of Virginia, to DCR, but the regulation gives
discretionary guidance to the Commonwealth Transportation
Board (CTB) and Commissioner of Highways. Since the
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content of the regulation is discretionary, the purpose of the
regulation can be accomplished through an existing VDOT
guidance document, current CTB policy, and the
Commissioner of Highways Department Memorandum on the
subject, making the regulation redundant and unnecessary.

Summary:
The amendments repeal Roads in the Grounds of State
Parks (24VAC30-500).

VA.R. Doc. No. R21-6615; Filed August 23, 2021, 8:35 a.m.

Final Regulation

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Commonwealth Transportation
Board is claiming an exemption from Article 2 of the
Administrative Process Act in accordance with § 2.2-4006 A 1
of the Code of Virginia, which excludes agency orders or
regulations fixing rates or prices. The Commonwealth
Transportation Board will receive, consider, and respond to
petitions by any interested person at any time with respect to
reconsideration or revision.

Title of Requlation: 24VAC30-620. Rules, Regulations, and
Rates Concerning Toll and Bridge Facilities (amending
24VAC30-620-10, 24VAC30-620-20, 24VAC30-620-30).

Statutory Authority: § 33.2-210 of the Code of Virginia.
Effective Date: October 14, 2021.

Agency Contact: JoAnne P. Maxwell, Agency Regulatory
Coordinator, Governance and Legislative Affairs Division,
Virginia Department of Transportation, 1401 East Broad
Street, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 786-1830, FAX
(804) 225-4700, or email joanne.maxwell@vdot.virginia.gov.

Summary:

The amendments (i) specify the toll rates for certain
department-owned and department-operated toll facilities,
(ii) delegate authority for the suspension of tolls at those
facilities from the Commissioner of Highways to the
commissioner's designee, (iii) specify the general conditions
and criteria under which the suspension of tolls can occur,
and (iv) address additional toll facilities covered by the
regulation and the change in procedures and criteria to be
considered for the suspension of tolls.

24VAC30-620-10. Applicability and effective dates.

This chapter applies to the-foHlowingfacilities:-the Dules ol
] in ‘rginia District-t ;

all _Virginia
Department of Transportation (VDOT)-owned and VDOT-
operated toll facilities, unless and until, by agreement or law,
authority to operate and set tolls is provided to another public

or private entity.

24VAC30-620-20. General conditions
concerning suspension of toll collection.

and criteria

A. Tolls may be temporarily suspended on any toll facility
subject to this chapter, under the following conditions:

1. The Commissioner of Highways or his designee has
investigated or assessed a threat to public safety on or in the
vicinity of the toll facility; and

2. As a result of the investigation or assessment, the
Commissioner of Highways or his designee believes that a
temporary suspension of toll collection will alleviate an
actual or potential threat or risk to the public's safety, or
facilitate the flow of traffic on or within the vicinity of the
toll facility.

B. Incidents which may justify the temporary suspension of
toll collection operations include, but are not limited to, the
following: natural disasters, such as hurricanes, tornadoes,
fires, and floods; accidental releases of hazardous materials,
such as chemical spills; major traffic accidents, such as multi-
vehicle collisions; and any other incidents deemed to present a
risk to public safety.

C. Any mandatory evacuation during a state of emergency as
defined in § 44-146.16 of the Code of Virginia shall require the
temporary suspension of toll collection operations in affected
gvacuation zones on routes designated as mass evacuation
routes. The Commissioner of Highways or the commissioner's
designee shall reinstate toll collection when the mandatory
evacuation period ends.

D. The suspension of tolls and reinstatement of tolls shall be
conducted in_accordance with internal agency procedures
established by the Commissioner of Highways. The
Commissioner of Highways may delegate in writing the
authority to suspend and reinstate toll collection operations, as
a result of the conditions and criteria outlined in this section.
This delegation of authority includes following the policies and
procedures established by the Commissioner of Highways and
specific to each toll facility, governing the investigation and
decision-making processes associated with the possible
suspension and reinstatement of toll collections.

E. Judicial proceedings arising from any incident resulting in
the suspension of toll collection will be conducted as provided
for by § 33.2-613 of the Code of Virginia.

24VAC30-620-30. Rates and—delegation—ofauthorityto
suspend-toH-colection.
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B- A. The following are the toll rate schedules for the Powhite
Parkway Extension Toll Road.

POWHITE PARKWAY EXTENSION TOLL ROAD
MAXIMUM RATE STRUCTURE
VEHICLE | MAIN MAIN RAMP - | RAMP -
CLASS LINE LINE ROUTE | COURTHOUSE
PLAZA | PLAZA | 60 ROAD
- EAST
&
WEST
RAMP
Two axle | $0.75 $0.25 $0.25 $0.50
vehicles?
Three axle | $1.00 $0.35 $0.35 $0.60
vehicles
Four axle | $1.25 $0.45 $0.45 $0.70
vehicles

Five axle | $1.50 $0.55 $0.55 $0.80
vehicles
Six axle | $1.50 $0.55 $0.55 $0.80
vehicles

Includes passenger cars, motorcycles, motorcycles equipped with
a sidecar, towing a trailer or equipped with a sidecar and towing a
trailer, and 2-axle trucks (4 and 6 tires).

E- B. The following are the toll rate schedules for the George P.
Coleman Bridge.

GEORGE P. COLEMAN BRIDGE TOLL RATE

STRUCTURE
VEHICLE CLASS! ONE-WAY RATE
Motorcycles, pedestrians and $0.85
bicyclists?
Commuter ETC cars, vans, $0.85
pick-ups
Commuter ETC two-axle $0.85
commercial vans/trucks
Cars, vans, pick-ups $2.00
Two-axle, six-tire trucks and $2.00
buses
Three-axle vehicles and $3.00
buses
Four or more-axle vehicles $4.00

1Commuter toll rates will be available only via the Smart-Tag/E-
Pass E-ZPass electronic toll collection (ETC) system to two-axle
vehicles making three—round-trip northbound crossings within—a

90-day-peried on the George P. Coleman Bridge.

2Includes motorcycles equipped with a sidecar, towing a trailer, or
equipped with a sidecar and towing a trailer. Motorcyclists
requesting this rate must use the manual toll collection lanes
because the Automatic Vehicle Identification system cannot
accommodate the $0.85 rate.

C. For all designated high-occupancy toll facilities, the toll
rates shall vary as necessary to manage the demand to use the
facility in accordance with 23 USC § 166.

VAR. Doc. No. R20-6422; Filed August 23, 2021, 9:25 a.m.
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GOVERNOR

EXECUTIVE ORDER NUMBER EIGHTY (2021)

Commission to Examine Racial and Economic
Inequity in Virginia Law

Importance of the Initiative

On June 4, 2019, Executive Order 32 established the
Commission to Examine Racial Inequity in Virginia Law. Its
purpose, inspired by the leadership of Senator Lionell Spruill
and Delegate Marcia Price, was to review the Acts of
Assembly, the Code of Virginia, and Virginia's administrative
regulations to identify and make recommendations to address
laws that either were intended to or could have the effect of
promoting or enabling racial discrimination or inequity. The
Commission's work focused on researching historic law to
identify remainders of racially discriminatory language in
order to right the wrongs of history. On December 5, 2019, the
Commission issued a report to the Governor reflecting the
Commission's findings and recommendations. Relying upon
those recommendations, the General Assembly repealed 91
discriminatory Acts of Assembly in its 2020 Regular Session.

In response to the racial justice demonstrations during the
summer of 2020, Amended Executive Order 32 (June 4, 2020)
extended the Commission for another year. Under the
Amended Order, the Commission's work shifted to identify
laws and policies that needed to be amended, repealed, or
enacted to address underlying and persistent racial inequities.
On August 6, 2020, the Commission issued a memorandum on
criminal justice, followed by its second report issued on
November 15, 2020. Throughout its existence, the
Commission has brought to light racially discriminatory laws
and offered policy proposals to address that discrimination.

While the increased focus on racial reckoning magnified the
critical need for criminal justice reform, the COVID-19
pandemic exposed economic inequities in the Commonwealth,
particularly for Virginians of color. Now citizens and

advocates are calling for more equitable economic
opportunities as we rebuild Virginia's post-pandemic
economy.

Therefore, it is time to establish a new commission to examine
the intersection between institutional racism and economic
inequality. This new commission will identify racially
discriminatory laws and the inequitable economic policies that
shadow them. A core initiative of my Administration is to build
a Virginia that works for everyone, no matter who you are or
where you come from. This new commission will strive to
make that vision a reality.

Establishment of the Commission to Examine Racial and
Economic Inequity in Virginia Law

Accordingly, by virtue of the authority vested in me as
Governor, under Article V of the Constitution of Virginia and
8§ 2.2-134 and 2.2-135 of the Code of Virginia, and subject to

my continuing and ultimate authority and responsibility to act
in such matters, | hereby establish the Commission to Examine
Racial and Economic Inequity in Virginia Law (Commission).
The Commission will identify laws and policies in Virginia
that have the effect or could have the effect of enabling or
promoting racial or economic inequity or inequality.

Composition and Support of the Commission

The Governor will appoint the Commission's members and its
chair(s). The Governor will appoint experts, scholars, and
community leaders with knowledge of and/or experience in
civil rights, race and equity, economics, and the law. The
Governor may appoint other members to carry out the
Commission's duties at any time. The Commission will have
an advisory role, and the members will serve without
compensation, in accordance with § 2.2- 2100 of the Code of
Virginia. In carrying out its duties, the Commission may
establish working groups as it deems appropriate and may
solicit participation from relevant subject matter experts,
practitioners, and historical analysts.

The Office of the Governor and any other agencies or offices
as may be designated by the Governor will provide staff
support for the Commission. An estimated 250 hours of staff
time will be required to support the work of the Commission.

Duties of the Commission

The Commission will meet upon the call of the chair(s) and
shall issue an interim report with any findings and
recommendations to the Governor no later than September 30,
2021. The Commission shall issue any additional reports to the
Governor as necessary or as requested by the Governor. The
Commission's reports shall be made available to the public.

Finally, this new Commission will build upon the model of the
Commission to Examine Racial Inequity in Virginia Law by
continuing to engage advocates, community leaders, and
special interest groups who serve and represent Virginia's
diverse constituencies.

Effective Date of the Executive Order

This Executive Order shall be effective upon signing and shall
remain in force and effect for one year, unless amended or
rescinded by further executive order.

Given under my hand and under the Seal of the
Commonwealth of Virginia this 30th day of July, 2021.

/s/ Ralph S. Northam, Governor
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GUIDANCE DOCUMENTS

PUBLIC COMMENT OPPORTUNITY

Pursuant to § 2.2-4002.1 of the Code of Virginia, a certified guidance document is subject to a 30-day public comment period
after publication in the Virginia Register of Regulations and prior to the guidance document's effective date. During the public
comment period, comments may be made through the Virginia Regulatory Town Hall website (http://www.townhall.virginia.gov)
or sent to the agency contact. Under subsection C of § 2.2-4002.1, the effective date of the guidance document may be delayed
for an additional period. The guidance document may also be withdrawn.

The following guidance documents have been submitted for publication by the listed agencies for a public comment period.
Online users of this issue of the Virginia Register of Regulations may click on the name of a guidance document to access it.
Guidance documents are also available on the Virginia Regulatory Town Hall (http://www.townhall.virginia.gov) or from the
agency contact or may be viewed at the Office of the Registrar of Regulations, 900 East Main Street, Richmond, Virginia 23219.

BOARD OF COUNSELING

Title of Document: Approved Degrees in Human Services and
Related Fields for Qualified Mental Health Provider
Registration.

Public Comment Deadline: October 13, 2021.
Effective Date: October 14, 2021.

Agency Contact: Elaine J. Yeatts, Agency Regulatory
Coordinator, Department of Health Professions, Perimeter
Center, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, Richmond, VA
23233, telephone (804) 367-4688, or email
elaine.yeatts@dhp.virginia.gov.

CRIMINAL JUSTICE SERVICES BOARD

Title of Document: Threat Assessment and Management in
Virginia Public Schools - Model Policies, Procedures, and
Guidelines.

Public Comment Deadline: October 13, 2021.
Effective Date: October 14, 2021.

Agency Contact: Brad Stang, Threat Assessment Program
Coordinator, Department of Criminal Justice Services, 1100
Bank Street, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 786-3973,
or email brad.stang@dcjs.virginia.gov.

DEPARTMENT OF MEDICAL ASSISTANCE
SERVICES

Title of Document: Coverage of Additional COVID Vaccine
Dose for Certain Immunocompromised Individuals.

Public Comment Deadline: October 13, 2021.
Effective Date: October 14, 2021.

Agency Contact: Emily McClellan, Director, Policy and
Research Division, Department of Medical Assistance
Services, 600 East Broad Street, Suite 1300, Richmond, VA
23219, telephone (804) 371-6043, or  email
emily.mcclellan@dmas.virginia.gov.

DEPARTMENT OF TAXATION

Title of Document: Guidelines for Reporting Federal Tax
Adjustments.

Public Comment Deadline: October 13, 2021.
Effective Date: October 14, 2021.

Agency Contact: James Savage, Senior Tax Policy Analyst,
Department of Taxation, P.O. Box 27185, Richmond, VA
23261, telephone (804) 371-2301, or  email
james.savage@tax.virginia.gov.
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GENERAL NOTICES

BOARD OF AGRICULTURE AND CONSUMER
SERVICES

Notice, 2021 Annual Report on the Agricultural
Stewardship Act

The Commissioner of Agriculture and Consumer Services
announces the availability of the annual report on the
Agricultural Stewardship Act for the program year April 1,
2020, through March 31, 2021. Copies of this report can be
obtained by contacting Katherine Coates at telephone (804)
786-3538 or via email at katherine.coates@vdacs.virginia.gov.
The report can also be obtained by accessing the Department

of Agriculture and Consumer Services website at
http://www.vdacs.virginia.gov/conservation-and-
environmental-agricultural-stewardship.shtml. ~ A written

request may be sent to the address listed. Copies of the report
are available without charge.

Contact Information: Katherine Coates, Office of Policy,
Planning, and Research, Virginia Department of Agriculture
and Consumer Services, P.O. Box 1163, Richmond, VA
23218, telephone (804) 786-3583.

DEPARTMENT OF MEDICAL ASSISTANCE
SERVICES

Draft Screening for Long-Term Services and
Supports Provider Manual

The draft Screening for LTSS Provider Manual Chapter IV is
now available on the Department of Medical Assistance
website at https://www.dmas.virginia.gov/for-
providers/general-information/medicaid-provider-manual-
drafts/ for public comment until September 23, 2021.

Contact Information: Emily McClellan, Regulatory Manager,
Division of Policy and Research, Department of Medical
Assistance Services, 600 East Broad Street, Suite 1300,
Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 371-4300, FAX (804)
786-1680.

Intent to Amend the Virginia State Plan for Medical

Assistance Pursuant to § 1902(a)(13) of the Social

Security Act (USC § 1396a(a)(13)) - Supplemental
Payments to Eastern Virginia Medical School

The Virginia Department of Medical Assistance Services
(DMAS) hereby affords the public notice of its intention to
amend the Virginia State Plan for Medical Assistance to
provide for changes to the Methods and Standards for
Establishing Payment Rates; Other Types of Care (12VAC30-
80).

This notice is intended to satisfy the requirements of 42 CFR
447.205 and of §1902(a)(13) of the Social Security Act,

42 USC § 1396a(a)(13). A copy of this notice is available for
public review from the contact listed at the end of this notice.

DMAS is specifically soliciting input from stakeholders,
providers, and beneficiaries on the potential impact of the
proposed changes discussed in this notice. Comments or
inquiries may be submitted, in writing, within 30 days of this
notice publication to emily.mcclellan@dmas.virginia.gov and
such comments are available for review at the same address.
Comments may also be submitted, in writing, on the Virginia
Regulatory Town Hall public comment forum at
https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/generalnotice.cfm.

DMAS will be making the following changes to Methods and
Standards for Establishing Payment Rates; Other Types of
Care (12VAC30-80).

DMAS will be updating the state plan text related to
supplemental payments made to physicians affiliated with
Eastern Virginia Medical School. The first change is to remove
old text dating back to 2012. The second change makes the
language more general so that DMAS does not have to update
the state plan every time the average commercial rate
percentage changes.

This change is not expected to have any costs.

Contact Information: Emily McClellan, Regulatory Manager,
Division of Policy and Research, Department of Medical
Assistance Services, 600 East Broad Street, Suite 1300,
Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 371-4300, FAX (804)
786-1680.

STATE WATER CONTROL BOARD

Proposed Enforcement Action for Arlington County
Water Pollution Control Bureau

An enforcement action has been proposed for Arlington
County Water Pollution Control Bureau for violations of the
State Water Control Law and regulations at the Arlington
County water pollution control plant (WPCP) located in
Arlington, Virginia. The State Water Control Board proposes
to issue a consent order to resolve violations associated with
the Arlington County WPCP. A description of the proposed
action is available at the Department of Environmental Quality
office listed or online at www.deq.virginia.gov/permits-
regulations/public-notices/enforcement-orders.  The  staff
contact will accept comments by email or postal mail from
September 14, 2021, through October 14, 2021.

Contact Information: Benjamin Holland, Department of
Environmental Quality, Northern Regional Office, 13901
Crown Court, Woodbridge, VA 22193, or email
benjamin.holland@deq.virginia.gov.
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General Notices

Proposed Enforcement Action for Central Virginia
Home Improvement LLC and Time to Change Inc.

An enforcement action has been proposed for Central Virginia
Home Improvement LLC and Time to Change Inc. for
violations at 132 Cedar Ford Road, Henrico County, Virginia.
The State Water Control Board proposes to issue a special
order by consent to address noncompliance with the State
Water Control Law and regulations. A description of the
proposed action is available at the Department of
Environmental Quality office listed or online at
www.deq.virginia.gov/permits-regulations/public-
notices/enforcement-orders. The Department of
Environmental Quality will accept comments from September
13, 2021, to October 13, 2021.

Contact Information: Carla Pool, Enforcement Adjudication
Manager, Department of Environmental Quality, 1111 East
Main Street, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 698-4150,
FAX (804) 698-4178, or email carla.pool@deq.virginia.gov.

Proposed Enforcement Action for Coal Fillers Inc.

An enforcement action has been proposed for Coal Fillers Inc.
for violations of the State Water Control Law at 271 St. Clairs
Crossing, Tazewell County, Virginia. The State Water Control
Board proposes to issue a consent order to address
noncompliance with State Water Control Law and regulations.
A description of the proposed action is available at the
Department of Environmental Quality office listed or online at
www.deq.virginia.gov. The staff contact person listed will
accept comments by email or postal mail from September 14,
2021, through October 14, 2021.

Contact Information: Jonathan Chapman, Department of
Environmental Quality, Southwest Regional Office, 355-A
Deadmore Street, Abingdon, VA 24210, or email
jonathan.chapman@deq.virginia.gov.

Proposed Consent Order for
Henrico County, Virginia

The State Water Control Board proposes to issue a consent
special order to the County of Henrico for alleged violation of
the State Water Control Law at the Henrico County water
reclamation facility located at 9101 WRVA Road, Henrico
County, Virginia. A description of the proposed action is
available at the Department of Environmental Quality office
listed or online at www.deq.virginia.gov. The staff contact
listed will accept comments by email or postal mail from
September 13, 2021, to October 13, 2021.

Contact Information: Frank Lupini, Department of
Environmental ~ Quality, Piedmont Regional Office
(Enforcement), 4949-A Cox Road, Glen Allen, VA 23060, or
email frank.lupini@deq.virginia.gov.

Proposed Enforcement Action for the
Town of Lovettsville

An enforcement action has been proposed for the Town of
Lovettsville for violations of the State Water Control Law and
regulations. The State Water Control Board proposes to issue
a consent order to resolve violations associated with the Town
of Lovettsville wastewater treatment plant. A description of the
proposed action is available at the Department of
Environmental Quality office listed or online at
www.deq.virginia.gov/permits-regulations/public-
notices/enforcement-orders. The staff contact will accept
comments by email or postal mail from September 14, 2021,
through October 14, 2021.

Contact Information: Stephanie Bellotti, Department of
Environmental Quality, Northern Regional Office, 13901
Crown Court, Woodbridge, VA 22193, or email
stephanie.bellotti@deq.virginia.gov.

Proposed Consent Order for
Midlothian Community Partners LP

The State Water Control Board proposes to issue a consent
special order to Midlothian Community Partners LP for alleged
violation of the State Water Control Law at 4000 Midlothian
Turnpike, Richmond, Virginia. A description of the proposed
action is available at the Department of Environmental Quality
office listed or online at www.deq.virginia.gov. The staff
contact listed will accept comments by email or postal mail
from September 14, 2021, to October 14, 2021.

Contact Information: Matt Richardson, Department of
Environmental  Quality, Piedmont Regional Office
(Enforcement), 4949-A Cox Road, Glen Allen, VA 23060, or
email matthew.richardson@deq.virginia.gov.

Proposed Enforcement Action Northern Virginia
Baptist Center

An enforcement action has been proposed for Northern
Virginia Baptist Center for violations of the State Water
Control Law and regulations. The State Water Control Board
proposes to issue a consent order to resolve violations
associated with unpermitted impacts to state waters at the
Northern Virginia Baptist Center located in Prince William
County, Virginia. A description of the proposed action is
available at the Department of Environmental Quality office
listed or online at www.deq.virginia.gov/permits-
regulations/public-notices/enforcement-orders.  The  staff
contact will accept comments by email or postal mail from
September 14, 2021, through October 14, 2021.

Contact _Information: Jim  Datko, Department of
Environmental Quality, Northern Regional Office, 13901
Crown Court, Woodbridge, VA 22193, or email
james.datko@deq.virginia.gov.
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General Notices

Proposed Enforcement Action for Northern Virginia
Regional Park Authority

An enforcement action has been proposed for Northern
Virginia Regional Park Authority for violations of the State
Water Control Law and regulations at the Great Waves
Waterpark located in Alexandria, Virginia. The State Water
Control Board proposes to issue a consent order to resolve
violations associated with the Great Waves Waterpark. A
description of the proposed action is available at the
Department of Environmental Quality office listed or online at
www.deq.virginia.gov/permits-regulations/public-
notices/enforcement-orders. The staff contact listed will accept
comments by email or postal mail from September 14, 2021,
through October 14, 2021.

Contact Information: Benjamin Holland, Department of
Environmental Quality, Northern Regional Office, 13901
Crown Court, Woodbridge, VA 22193, or email
benjamin.holland@deq.virginia.gov.

Proposed Enforcement Action for
Shearer's Foods SA Inc.

An enforcement action has been proposed for Shearer's Foods
SA Inc. for violations of the State Water Control Law at 225
Commonwealth Avenue Extension, City of Bristol, Virginia.
The State Water Control Board proposes to issue a consent
order to address noncompliance with State Water Control Law
and regulations. A description of the proposed action is
available at the Department of Environmental Quality office
listed or online at www.deq.virginia.gov. The staff contact
person listed will accept comments by email or postal mail
from September 14, 2021, through October 14, 2021.

Contact Information: Jonathan Chapman, Department of
Environmental Quality, Southwest Regional Office, 355-A
Deadmore Street, Abingdon, VA 24210, or email
jonathan.chapman@deq.virginia.gov.

Proposed Enforcement Action Zand | 1 Inc.

An enforcement action has been proposed for Zand | 1 Inc. for
violations of the State Water Control Law and regulations and
applicable Virginia Pollutant Discharge Elimination System
Permit at the Z and | 1 Inc. car washing machine located in
Falls Church, Virginia. The State Water Control Board
proposes to issue a consent order to resolve the subject
violations. A description of the proposed action is available at
the Department of Environmental Quality office listed or
online at www.deg.virginia.gov/permits-regulations/public-
notices/enforcement-orders. The staff contact listed will accept
comments by email or postal mail from September 14, 2021,
through October 14, 2021.

Contact Information: Jim  Datko, Department of
Environmental Quality, Northern Regional Office, 13901

Crown Court, Woodbridge, email

james.datko@deq.virginia.gov.

VA 22193, or

VIRGINIA CODE COMMISSION

Notice to State Agencies

Contact Information: Mailing Address: Virginia Code
Commission, Pocahontas Building, 900 East Main Street, 8th
Floor, Richmond, VA 23219; Telephone: (804) 698-1810;
Email: varegs@dls.virginia.gov.

Meeting Notices: Section 2.2-3707 C of the Code of Virginia
requires state agencies to post meeting notices on their
websites and on the Commonwealth Calendar at
https://commonwealthcalendar.virginia.gov.

Cumulative Table of Virginia Administrative Code
Sections Adopted, Amended, or Repealed: A table listing
regulation sections that have been amended, added, or repealed
in the Virginia Register of Regulations since the regulations
were originally published or last supplemented in the print
version of the Virginia Administrative Code is available at
http://register.dls.virginia.gov/documents/cumultab.pdf.

Filing Material for Publication in the Virginia Register of
Regulations: Agencies use the Regulation Information System
(RIS) to file regulations and related items for publication in the
Virginia Register of Regulations. The Registrar's office works
closely with the Department of Planning and Budget (DPB) to
coordinate the system with the Virginia Regulatory Town Hall.
RIS and Town Hall complement and enhance one another by
sharing pertinent regulatory information.
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ERRATA

STATE CORPORATION COMMISSION

Title of Regulation: 20VAC5-360. Licensed
Professional Engineer to Exercise Responsible
Charge over Certain Natural Gas Engineering
Projects.

Publication: 37:24 VA.R. 3755-3759 July 19, 2021.
Correction to Final Regulation:

Page 3758, 20VAC5-360-10, definition of "Public
right-of-way" line 2, after "interstate” change text to

read "[ —freeway; ]

VA.R. Doc. No. R21-6603; Filed August 31, 2021
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