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REGISTER INFORMATION PAGE 

THE VIRGINIA REGISTER OF REGULATIONS is an official state 

publication issued every other week throughout the year. Indexes are published 

quarterly, and are cumulative for the year. The Virginia Register has several 
functions. The new and amended sections of regulations, both as proposed and 

as finally adopted, are required by law to be published in the Virginia Register. 

In addition, the Virginia Register is a source of other information about state 
government, including petitions for rulemaking, emergency regulations, 

executive orders issued by the Governor, and notices of public hearings on 

regulations. 

ADOPTION, AMENDMENT, AND REPEAL OF REGULATIONS 

Unless exempted by law, an agency wishing to adopt, amend, or repeal 

regulations must follow the procedures in the Administrative Process Act 
(§ 2.2-4000 et seq. of the Code of Virginia). Typically, this includes first 

publishing in the Virginia Register a notice of intended regulatory action; a 

basis, purpose, substance and issues statement; an economic impact analysis 
prepared by the Department of Planning and Budget; the agency’s response to 

the economic impact analysis; a summary; a notice giving the public an 

opportunity to comment on the proposal; and the text of the proposed 
regulation. 

Following publication of the proposed regulation in the Virginia Register, the 

promulgating agency receives public comments for a minimum of 60 days. 
The Governor reviews the proposed regulation to determine if it is necessary 

to protect the public health, safety, and welfare, and if it is clearly written and 

easily understandable. If the Governor chooses to comment on the proposed 
regulation, his comments must be transmitted to the agency and the Registrar 

of Regulations no later than 15 days following the completion of the 60-day 
public comment period. The Governor’s comments, if any, will be published 

in the Virginia Register. Not less than 15 days following the completion of the 

60-day public comment period, the agency may adopt the proposed regulation. 

The Joint Commission on Administrative Rules or the appropriate standing 

committee of each house of the General Assembly may meet during the 

promulgation or final adoption process and file an objection with the Registrar 
and the promulgating agency. The objection will be published in the Virginia 

Register. Within 21 days after receipt by the agency of a legislative objection, 

the agency shall file a response with the Registrar, the objecting legislative 
body, and the Governor. 

When final action is taken, the agency again publishes the text of the 

regulation as adopted, highlighting all changes made to the proposed 
regulation and explaining any substantial changes made since publication of 

the proposal. A 30-day final adoption period begins upon final publication in 

the Virginia Register. 

The Governor may review the final regulation during this time and, if he 

objects, forward his objection to the Registrar and the agency. In addition to 

or in lieu of filing a formal objection, the Governor may suspend the effective 
date of a portion or all of a regulation until the end of the next regular General 

Assembly session by issuing a directive signed by a majority of the members 

of the appropriate legislative body and the Governor. The Governor’s 
objection or suspension of the regulation, or both, will be published in the 

Virginia Register. 

If the Governor finds that the final regulation contains changes made after 
publication of the proposed regulation that have substantial impact, he may 

require the agency to provide an additional 30-day public comment period on 

the changes. Notice of the additional public comment period required by the 

Governor will be published in the Virginia Register. Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.06 

of the Code of Virginia, any person may request that the agency solicit 

additional public comment on certain changes made after publication of the 
proposed regulation. The agency shall suspend the regulatory process for 30 

days upon such request from 25 or more individuals, unless the agency 

determines that the changes have minor or inconsequential impact. 

A regulation becomes effective at the conclusion of the 30-day final adoption 

period, or at any other later date specified by the promulgating agency, unless 

(i) a legislative objection has been filed, in which event the regulation, unless 
withdrawn, becomes effective on the date specified, which shall be after the 

expiration of the 21-day objection period; (ii) the Governor exercises his 

authority to require the agency to provide for additional public comment, in 

which event the regulation, unless withdrawn, becomes effective on the date 

specified, which shall be after the expiration of the period for which the 

Governor has provided for additional public comment; (iii) the Governor and 

the General Assembly exercise their authority to suspend the effective date of 
a regulation until the end of the next regular legislative session; or (iv) the 

agency suspends the regulatory process, in which event the regulation, unless 

withdrawn, becomes effective on the date specified, which shall be after the 
expiration of the 30-day public comment period and no earlier than 15 days 

from publication of the readopted action. 

A regulatory action may be withdrawn by the promulgating agency at any 
time before the regulation becomes final. 

FAST-TRACK RULEMAKING PROCESS 

Section 2.2-4012.1 of the Code of Virginia provides an alternative to the 
standard process set forth in the Administrative Process Act for regulations 

deemed by the Governor to be noncontroversial. To use this process, the 

Governor's concurrence is required and advance notice must be provided to 
certain legislative committees. Fast-track regulations become effective on the 

date noted in the regulatory action if fewer than 10 persons object to using the 

process in accordance with § 2.2-4012.1. 

EMERGENCY REGULATIONS 

Pursuant to § 2.2-4011 of the Code of Virginia, an agency may adopt 

emergency regulations if necessitated by an emergency situation or when 
Virginia statutory law or the appropriation act or federal law or federal 

regulation requires that a regulation be effective in 280 days or fewer from its 

enactment. In either situation, approval of the Governor is required. The 
emergency regulation is effective upon its filing with the Registrar of 

Regulations, unless a later date is specified per § 2.2-4012 of the Code of 
Virginia. Emergency regulations are limited to no more than 18 months in 

duration; however, may be extended for six months under the circumstances 

noted in § 2.2-4011 D. Emergency regulations are published as soon as 
possible in the Virginia Register and are on the Register of Regulations website 

at register.dls.virgina.gov. 

During the time the emergency regulation is in effect, the agency may 
proceed with the adoption of permanent regulations in accordance with the 

Administrative Process Act. If the agency chooses not to adopt the regulations, 

the emergency status ends when the prescribed time limit expires. 

STATEMENT 

The foregoing constitutes a generalized statement of the procedures to be 

followed. For specific statutory language, it is suggested that Article 2 (§ 2.2-
4006 et seq.) of Chapter 40 of Title 2.2 of the Code of Virginia be examined 

carefully. 

CITATION TO THE VIRGINIA REGISTER 

The Virginia Register is cited by volume, issue, page number, and date. 34:8 

VA.R. 763-832 December 11, 2017, refers to Volume 34, Issue 8, pages 763 

through 832 of the Virginia Register issued on  
December 11, 2017. 

The Virginia Register of Regulations is published pursuant to Article 6 (§ 2.2-

4031 et seq.) of Chapter 40 of Title 2.2 of the Code of Virginia. 

Members of the Virginia Code Commission: John S. Edwards, Chair; 

Marcus B. Simon, Vice Chair; Ward L. Armstrong; Nicole Cheuk;  

Leslie L. Lilley; Jennifer L. McClellan; Christopher R. Nolen;  

Don L. Scott, Jr.; Charles S. Sharp; Samuel T. Towell;  

Malfourd W. Trumbo. 

Staff of the Virginia Register: Karen Perrine, Registrar of Regulations; 
Anne Bloomsburg, Assistant Registrar; Nikki Clemons, Regulations 

Analyst; Rhonda Dyer, Publications Assistant; Terri Edwards, Senior 

Operations Staff Assistant. 

https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/2.2-4011/
https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/2.2-4011/
http://register.dls.virgina.gov/
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PUBLICATION SCHEDULE AND DEADLINES 

October 2021 through October 2022 

Volume: Issue Material Submitted By Noon* Will Be Published On 

38:4 September 22, 2021 October 11, 2021 

38:5 October 6, 2021 October 25, 2021 

38:6 October 20, 2021 November 8, 2021 

38:7 November 3, 2021 November 22, 2021 

38:8 November 15, 2021 (Monday) December 6, 2021 

38:9 December 1, 2021 December 20, 2021 

38:10 December 15, 2021 January 3, 2022 

38:11 December 29, 2021 January 17, 2022 

38:12 January 12, 2022 January 31, 2022 

38:13 January 26, 2022 February 14, 2022 

38:14 February 9, 2022 February 28, 2022 

38:15 February 23, 2022 March 14, 2022 

38:16 March 9, 2022 March 28, 2022 

38:17 March 23, 2022 April 11, 2022 

38:18 April 6, 2022 April 25, 2022 

38:19 April 20, 2022 May 9, 2022 

38:20 May 4, 2022 May 23, 2022 

38:21 May 18, 2022 June 6, 2022 

38:22 June 1, 2022 June 20, 2022 

38:23 June 15, 2022 July 4, 2022 

38:24 June 29, 2022 July 18, 2022 

38:25 July 13, 2022 August 1, 2022 

38:26 July 27, 2022 August 15, 2022 

39:1 August 10, 2022 August 29, 2022 

39:2 August 24, 2022 September 12, 2022 

39:3 September 7, 2022 September 26, 2022 

39:4 September 21, 2022 October 10, 2022 

39:5 October 5, 2022 October 24, 2022 

*Filing deadlines are Wednesdays unless otherwise specified. 
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PETITIONS FOR RULEMAKING 

TITLE 12. HEALTH 

STATE BOARD OF HEALTH 

Initial Agency Notice 

Title of Regulation: 12VAC5-110. Regulations for the 

Immunization of School Children. 

Statutory Authority: §§ 32.1-46 and 32.1-47 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

Name of Petitioner: Kristen M. Calleja. 

Nature of Petitioner's Request: I am writing to voice my 

request and sincere hope that the board will mandate vaccines 

for all school employees, with only medical exemptions 

allowed. Vaccines are already required for all state employees. 

In addition, vaccines should be required for all students for 

whom the vaccine has been fully approved, just as many other 

vaccines are mandated. 

My 10th grade daughter and all other kids have sacrificed 

much over the past 18 months. They only have one childhood. 

They are finally back to in-person school, but we are already 

seeing constant disruptions to education for far too many due 

to infections, possible infections based on symptoms, and 

mandatory quarantines. 

My daughter and all other students should have a right to be 

able to attend school without being unnecessarily put at risk by 

other students and teachers who refuse to be vaccinated, and 

without constant disruptions to their education. And it sure 

would be great for them to be able to go to school without 

masks and without worrying about lunch and other unmasked 

times, as well as overcrowded buses. The irrational minority 

should not be dictating the public health policy for Virginia or 

the schools. 

Agency Plan for Disposition of Request: Upon publication of 

the Notice of Petition in the Virginia Register of Regulations, 

and upon completion of the 21-day public comment period, the 

Virginia Department of Health will make a determination 

within 90 days of the close of the public comment period as to 

whether or not to grant the petition. 

Public Comment Deadline: October 17, 2021. 

Agency Contact: Kristin Collins, Policy Analyst, Virginia 

Department of Health, 109 Governor Street, Richmond, VA 

23219, telephone (804) 864-7298, or email 

kristin.collins@vdh.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. PFR22-06; Filed September 1, 2021, 1:54 p.m. 

  ––––––––––––––––––  

 

TITLE 18. PROFESSIONAL AND 
OCCUPATIONAL LICENSING 

BOARD OF PHARMACY 

Initial Agency Notice 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC110-20. Regulations Governing 

the Practice of Pharmacy. 

Statutory Authority: §§ 54.1-2400 and 54.1-3307 of the Code 

of Virginia. 

Name of Petitioner: Cody Bishop. 

Nature of Petitioner's Request: To amend regulations to 

authorize pharmacy technicians to administer all vaccinations 

under the supervision of a pharmacist. 

Agency Plan for Disposition of Request: Pharmacy technicians 

are allowed to administer COVID-19 vaccinations because of 

legislation passed by the General Assembly authorizing 

administration by certain "non-traditional" vaccinators. It is 

likely the amendment requested will necessitate a permanent 

change in the Code in Virginia, specifically in § 54.1-3408, 

which allows prescribers to authorize pharmacists and nurses 

to administer adult vaccines under a protocol. There is no 

mention of authorization for pharmacy technicians. 

Pursuant to legislation passed in the 2021 Session of the 

General Assembly, Special Session I, a workgroup is meeting 

on September 24, 2021, to discuss the possibility of expansion 

of duties for pharmacy technicians. The petition will be 

included in the agenda for the workgroup. 

In accordance with Virginia law, the petition has been filed 

with the Virginia Registrar of Regulations and will be 

published on September 27, 2021. Comment on the petition 

may be sent by email, postal mail, or posted on the Virginia 

Regulatory Town Hall at www.townhall.virginia.gov; 

comment will be requested until October 27, 2021. 

If the board does not have statutory authority to amend its 

regulations in accordance with the petition, the board will 

decide whether it would support a change in the Code of 

Virginia. This matter will be on the board's agenda for its next 

meeting following the close of comment, scheduled for 

December 7, 2021. 

Public Comment Deadline: October 27, 2021. 

Agency Contact: Caroline Juran, RPh, Executive Director, 

Board of Pharmacy, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, 

Richmond, VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-4456, or email 

caroline.juran@dhp.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. PFR22-05; Filed August 30, 2021, 9:59 a.m. 

mailto:kristin.collins@vdh.virginia.gov
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/Register/RegisterPublication/SectionEdit/383/PetitionsRulemaking/www.townhall.virginia.gov
mailto:caroline.juran@dhp.virginia.gov
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PERIODIC REVIEWS AND SMALL BUSINESS IMPACT REVIEWS 

TITLE 9. ENVIRONMENT 

STATE WATER CONTROL BOARD 

Agency Notice 

Pursuant to Executive Order 14 (as amended July 16, 2018) 

and §§ 2.2-4007.1 and 2.2-4017 of the Code of Virginia, the 

following regulation is undergoing a periodic review and a 

small business impact review: 9VAC25-880, General VPDES 

Permit for Discharges of Stormwater from Construction 

Activities. The review will be guided by the principles in 

Executive Order 14 (as amended July 16, 2018). The purpose 

of this review is to determine whether this regulation should be 

repealed, amended, or retained in its current form. Public 

comment is sought on the review of any issue relating to this 

regulation, including whether the regulation (i) is necessary for 

the protection of public health, safety, and welfare or for the 

economical performance of important governmental functions; 

(ii) minimizes the economic impact on small businesses in a 

manner consistent with the stated objectives of applicable law; 

and (iii) is clearly written and easily understandable. 

Public comment period begins September 27, 2021, and ends 

October 18, 2021. 

Comments must include the commenter's name and address 

(physical or email) information in order to receive a response 

to the comment from the agency. Following the close of the 

public comment period, a report of both reviews will be posted 

on the Virginia Regulatory Town Hall and published in the 

Virginia Register of Regulations. 

Contact Information: Melissa Porterfield, Department of 

Environmental Quality, 1111 East Main Street, Suite 1400, P.O. 

Box 1105, Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 698-4238. 

Agency Notice 

Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.1 of the Code of Virginia, the State Water 

Control Board is conducting a periodic review and a small 

business impact review of 9VAC25-890, General VPDES 

Permit for Discharges of Stormwater from Small Municipal 

Separate Storm Sewer Systems. The review of this regulation 

will be guided by the principles in Executive Order 14 (as 

amended, July 16, 2018). 

The Notice of Intended Regulatory Action for 9VAC25-890, 

which is published in this issue of the Virginia Register, serves 

as the announcement of the periodic review. 

Contact Information: Melissa Porterfield, Department of 

Environmental Quality, 1111 East Main Street, Suite 1400, P.O. 

Box 1105, Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 698-4238, FAX 

(804) 698-4178, or email melissa.porterfield@deq.virginia.gov. 

  ––––––––––––––––––  

TITLE 18. PROFESSIONAL AND 
OCCUPATIONAL LICENSING 

BOARD OF PSYCHOLOGY 

Report of Findings 

Pursuant to §§ 2.2-4007.1 and 2.2-4017 of the Code of 

Virginia, the Board of Psychology conducted a periodic review 

and a small business impact review of 18VAC125-15, 

Regulations Governing Delegation to an Agency 

Subordinate, and determined that this regulation should be 

retained in its current form. The department is publishing its 

report of findings dated August 31, 2021, to support this 

decision. 

The Regulatory Committee reviewed the regulation and noted 

that it is mandated by the law. The board voted on August 31, 

2021, to retain the regulation without amendment. While the 

board has not yet delegated cases to an agency subordinate, it 

is anticipated that agency subordinates may be utilized to 

conduct informal fact-finding proceedings, so the regulation is 

necessary for public health, welfare, and safety to retain the 

regulation as written. 

The regulation is necessary for public protection since there is 

a statutory mandate for licensure in subdivision 10 of § 54.1-

2400 of the Code of Virginia. Criteria for the appointment of 

an agency subordinate shall be set forth in regulations adopted 

by the board. There have been no comments or complaints. The 

regulation was promulgated in 2004 as an emergency 

regulation that became effective in 2005. It was reviewed in 

2012 for clarity and for ease of understanding with an 

amendment to 18VAC125-15-20. This regulation does not 

overlap, duplicate, or conflict with state or federal law. This 

regulation has no impact on small businesses. 

Contact Information: Jaime Hoyle, Executive Director, 

Department of Health Professions, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 

300, Richmond, VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-4406. 

  ––––––––––––––––––  

TITLE 22. SOCIAL SERVICES 

DEPARTMENT FOR AGING AND REHABILITATIVE 
SERVICES 

Agency Notice 

Pursuant to Executive Order 14 (as amended July 16, 2018) 

and §§ 2.2-4007.1 and 2.2-4017 of the Code of Virginia, the 

following regulation is undergoing a periodic review and a 

small business impact review: 22VAC30-80, Auxiliary 

Grants Program. The review will be guided by the principles 

in Executive Order 14 (as amended July 16, 2018). The 

purpose of this review is to determine whether this regulation 

mailto:melissa.porterfield@deq.virginia.gov
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should be repealed, amended, or retained in its current form. 

Public comment is sought on the review of any issue relating 

to this regulation, including whether the regulation (i) is 

necessary for the protection of public health, safety, and 

welfare or for the economical performance of important 

governmental functions; (ii) minimizes the economic impact 

on small businesses in a manner consistent with the stated 

objectives of applicable law; and (iii) is clearly written and 

easily understandable. 

Public comment period begins September 27, 2021, and ends 

October 18, 2021. 

Comments must include the commenter's name and address 

(physical or email) information in order to receive a response 

to the comment from the agency. Following the close of the 

public comment period, a report of both reviews will be posted 

on the Virginia Regulatory Town Hall and published in the 

Virginia Register of Regulations. 

Contact Information: Charlotte Arbogast, Policy Analyst, 

Department for Aging and Rehabilitative Services, 8004 

Franklin Farms Drive, Richmond, VA 23229, telephone (804) 

662-7093. 
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NOTICES OF INTENDED REGULATORY ACTION 

TITLE 9. ENVIRONMENT 

STATE WATER CONTROL BOARD 

Notice of Intended Regulatory Action 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 2.2-4007.01 of the 

Code of Virginia that the State Water Control Board intends to 

consider amending 9VAC25-800, Virginia Pollutant 

Discharge Elimination System (VPDES) General Permit 

Regulation for Discharges Resulting from the Application 

of Pesticides to Surface Waters. The purpose of the proposed 

action is to reissue and amend as necessary the existing 

Virginia Pollutant Discharge Elimination System (VPDES) 

general permit regulation that addresses discharges resulting 

from the application of pesticides to surface waters. The 

general permit establishes limitations and monitoring 

requirements for point source discharges from specified 

pesticide applications. The effluent limits and the special 

conditions in the general permit will be reviewed to ensure that 

the permit is still protective of water quality. The primary issue 

that needs to be addressed is that the existing general permit 

expires on February 29, 2024, and must be reissued in order to 

continue making a general permit available after that date. 

Some issues that may need to be addressed include (i) 

reviewing effluent limitations and monitoring requirements; 

(ii) examining electronic reporting when this is made available 

for this industry; (iii) reviewing total maximum daily load 

requirements; (iv) reviewing special conditions to ensure the 

special conditions are updated and protective of water quality; 

and (v) making appropriate conforming changes based on the 

U.S. Environment Protection Agency's most recent Pesticide 

General Permit. 

The agency intends to hold a public hearing on the proposed 

action after publication in the Virginia Register. 

Statutory Authority: § 62.1-44.15 of the Code of Virginia; 

§ 402 of the federal Clean Water Act. 

Public Comment Deadline: October 27, 2021. 

Agency Contact: Peter Sherman, Department of 

Environmental Quality, 1111 East Main Street, Suite 1400, 

P.O. Box 1105, Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 698-

4044, FAX (804) 698-4032, or email 

peter.sherman@deq.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R22-6928; Filed September 7, 2021, 9:58 a.m. 

Notice of Intended Regulatory Action 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 2.2-4007.01 of the 

Code of Virginia that the State Water Control Board intends to 

consider amending 9VAC25-890, General VPDES Permit 

for Discharges of Stormwater from Small Municipal 

Separate Storm Sewer Systems. The purpose of the proposed 

action is to amend and reissue the existing general permit, 

which expires on October 31, 2023. The general permit 

governs local governments and state and federal agencies that 

discharge stormwater from municipally owned separate storm 

sewer systems (MS4s) located within the Census Urbanized 

Area as determined by the Bureau of Census. The general 

permit establishes the minimum control measures to reduce the 

potential discharge of pollutants in municipal stormwater as 

well as requirements for demonstration of compliance with 

total maximum daily load wasteload allocations for local 

watersheds and the Chesapeake Bay. The general permit 

protects water quality in the Commonwealth of Virginia and 

authorizes municipal owners or operators of MS4s to discharge 

stormwater to waters of the state. Changes being considered to 

the existing general permit include updating the effective dates 

of the general permit, clarifying permit requirements, and 

correcting typographical errors. Based on concerns expressed 

during the previous reissuance of the general permit, the 

Department of Environmental Quality is considering either 

replacement of the existing general permit effective July 1, 

2023, or shortening the term of the reissued general permit to 

June 30, 2028, to match the fiscal year reporting requirements 

under the regulation. Amendments may be identified following 

public comment on this notice, through the work of the 

technical advisory committee, or to comply with federal 

regulations and watershed plans. 

In addition, a periodic review and a small business impact 

review of this regulation will be conducted as part of this 

regulatory action. 

The agency intends to hold a public hearing on the proposed 

action after publication in the Virginia Register. 

Statutory Authority: § 62.1-44.15:28 of the Code of Virginia. 

Public Comment Deadline: October 27, 2021. 

Agency Contact: Derick Winn, Department of Environmental 

Quality, 1111 East Main Street, Suite 1400, P.O. Box 1105, 

Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 698-4114, FAX (804) 

698-4178, or email derick.winn@deq.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R22-6940; Filed August 27, 2021, 2:56 p.m.  
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REGULATIONS 

TITLE 2. AGRICULTURE 

BOARD OF AGRICULTURE AND CONSUMER 
SERVICES 

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Commissioner and Board of 

Agriculture and Consumer Services are claiming an exemption 

from the Administrative Process Act in accordance with § 2.2-

4002 A 13 of the Code of Virginia, which excludes the 

commissioner and the board when promulgating regulations 

pursuant to § 3.2-5406 of the Code of Virginia including 

adopting (i) by reference any regulation under the federal acts 

as it pertains to Chapter 54 (§ 3.2-5400 et seq.) of Title 3.2 of 

the Code of Virginia, amending it as necessary for intrastate 

applicability and (ii) any regulation containing provisions no 

less stringent than those contained in federal regulation. The 

Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services will 

receive, consider, and respond to petitions by any interested 

person at any time with respect to reconsideration or revision. 

Title of Regulation: 2VAC5-210. Rules and Regulations 

Pertaining to Meat and Poultry Inspection under the 

Virginia Meat and Poultry Products Inspection Act 

(amending 2VAC5-210-10). 

Statutory Authority: § 3.2-5406 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: September 27, 2021. 

Agency Contact: JoAnn G. Connell, Program Manager, Meat 

and Poultry Services, Department of Agriculture and 

Consumer Services, P.O. Box 1163, Richmond, VA 23218, 

telephone (804) 786-4569, FAX (804) 786-1003, TDD (800) 

828-1120, or email joann.connell@vdacs.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendment updates the publication date for Title 9, 

Chapter III, Subchapters A and E of the Code of Federal 

Regulations incorporated by reference in the regulation to 

January 1, 2021. The U.S. Department of Agriculture Food 

Safety and Inspection Service has amended sections of these 

subchapters, (i) eliminating the requirements for both 

ready-to-eat and not-ready-to-eat pork and pork products to 

be treated to destroy trichinae (Trichinella spiralis) because 

the regulations are inconsistent with the Hazard Analysis 

and Critical Control Point regulations and because these 

prescriptive regulations are no longer necessary and (ii) 

amending the definition and standard of identity for the 

"roaster'' or "roasting chicken'' poultry. 

2VAC5-210-10. Adoption by reference. 

The rules and regulations governing the meat and poultry 

inspection of the U.S. Department of Agriculture specified in 

this part, as contained in Title 9, Chapter III, Subchapters A 

and E of the Code of Federal Regulations, as it exists and has 

been published in the January 1, 2018 2021, update with 

amendments and with administrative changes therein as 

needed to make them appropriate and applicable to intrastate 

operations and transactions subject to the Virginia Meat and 

Poultry Products Inspection Act, are hereby adopted by 

reference. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R22-6757; Filed September 8, 2021, 11:19 a.m. 

  ––––––––––––––––––  
TITLE 9. ENVIRONMENT 

STATE WATER CONTROL BOARD 

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The State Water Control Board is 

claiming an exemption from Article 2 of the Administrative 

Process Act in accordance with § 2.2-4006 A 4 a of the Code 

of Virginia, which excludes regulations that are necessary to 

conform to changes in Virginia statutory law or the 

appropriation act where no agency discretion is involved. The 

board will receive, consider, and respond to petitions by any 

interested person at any time with respect to reconsideration or 

revision. 

Title of Regulation: 9VAC25-31. Virginia Pollutant 

Discharge Elimination System (VPDES) Permit Regulation 

(amending 9VAC25-31-940). 

Statutory Authority: § 62.1-44.15 of the Code of Virginia; 

§ 402 of the Clean Water Act; 40 CFR Parts 122, 123, 124, 

403, and 503. 

Effective Date: October 27, 2021. 

Agency Contact: William Norris, Department of 

Environmental Quality, 1111 East Main Street, Suite 1400, 

P.O. Box 1105, Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 698-

4022, FAX (804) 698-4178, or email 

william.norris@deq.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

Pursuant to Chapters 387 and 532 of the 2021 Acts of 

Assembly, Special Session I, the amendments change the 

name of the Department of Mines, Minerals and Energy to 



Regulations 

Volume 38, Issue 3  Virginia Register of Regulations  September 27, 2021  

326 

the Department of Energy and update a citation to the Code 

of Virginia. 

9VAC25-31-940. Authority of the Department of Mines, 

Minerals and Energy for coal surface mining operations. 

A. For the purpose of Part X of this chapter, NPDES and 

VPDES permits are synonymous. 

A. B. The Director of the Department of Mines, Minerals and 

Energy (DMME) has the authority to issue, revoke and reissue, 

modify, or terminate NPDES permits for the discharge of 

industrial wastes or other wastes other than sewage from coal 

surface mining operations as defined in § 45.1-229 § 45.2-1000 

of the Code of Virginia. Any NPDES permit issued, modified, 

or revoked and reissued by the Director of DMME the 

Department of Energy that meets the conditions set forth in this 

chapter shall be as valid and enforceable as if issued by the 

board. 

B. C. Prior to issuing permits, the Director of DMME the 

Department of Energy shall adhere to the following 

requirements: 

1. That every permit issued, revoked and reissued, or 

modified shall conform to the requirements of this chapter, 

the CWA, and all pertinent regulations adopted by the board 

under law and those adopted under the CWA; 

2. That the Director of DMME the Department of Energy 

shall transmit to the department a copy of each application 

for a NPDES permit received by it, a copy of every draft 

NPDES permit prepared by it, and written notice of every 

action taken or contemplated to be taken by the Director of 

DMME the Department of Energy with respect to such a 

permit; and 

3. That no NPDES permit shall be issued, revoked and 

reissued, or modified if, within 30 days of the date of the 

transmittal to the department of the complete application and 

the draft NPDES permit to it, the board objects in writing to 

the issuance, revocation and reissuance, or modification of 

such permit. Where required, the board shall stipulate more 

stringent permit conditions as necessary to maintain 

applicable water quality standards and provisions of the law. 

Each such stipulation shall be accompanied by a justifying 

documentation to the Director of DMME the Department of 

Energy. Such stipulations shall be binding upon the Director 

of DMME the Department of Energy. However, nothing 

herein shall affect or impair any rights that the applicant may 

have to a public hearing before the board pursuant to the law 

or to judicial review of such decision pursuant to the law. 

C. D. The Director of DMME the Department of Energy shall 

enforce NPDES permits issued to coal surface mining 

operations for the discharge of industrial wastes and other 

wastes; provided, however, that the board reserves the right to 

assert its enforcement authority as provided in § 45.1-254 F 

§ 45.2-1029 F of the Code of Virginia and provided further that 

the board reserves the right to take emergency enforcement 

action where the Director of DMME the Department of Energy 

has not taken or cannot take effective emergency enforcement 

action. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R22-6780; Filed August 29, 2021, 10:55 a.m. 

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The State Water Control Board is 

claiming an exemption from Article 2 of the Administrative 

Process Act in accordance with § 2.2-4006 A 4 a of the Code 

of Virginia, which excludes regulations that are necessary to 

conform to changes in Virginia statutory law or the 

appropriation act where no agency discretion is involved. The 

board will receive, consider, and respond to petitions by any 

interested person at any time with respect to reconsideration or 

revision. 

Title of Regulation: 9VAC25-32. Virginia Pollution 

Abatement (VPA) Permit Regulation (amending 9VAC25-

32-10, 9VAC25-32-560). 

Statutory Authority: § 62.1-44.15 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: October 27, 2021. 

Agency Contact: William Norris, Department of 

Environmental Quality, 1111 East Main Street, Suite 1400, 

P.O. Box 1105, Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 698-

4022, FAX (804) 698-4178, or email 

william.norris@deq.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

Pursuant to Chapters 387 and 532 of the 2021 Acts of 

Assembly, Special Session I, the amendments change the 

name of the Department of Mines, Minerals and Energy to 

the Department of Energy. 

9VAC25-32-10. Definitions. 

A. The following words and terms, when used in this chapter 

and in VPA permits issued under this chapter, shall have the 

meanings defined in the State Water Control Law, unless the 

context clearly indicates otherwise and as follows: 

"Active sewage sludge unit" means a sewage sludge unit that 

has not closed. 

"Aerobic digestion" means the biochemical decomposition of 

organic matter in sewage sludge into carbon dioxide and water 

by microorganisms in the presence of air. 

"Agricultural land" means land on which a food crop, a feed 

crop, or a fiber crop is grown. This includes range land and 

land used as pasture. 

"Agricultural storm water discharge" means a precipitation-

related discharge of manure, litter, or process wastewater that 

has been applied on land areas under the control of an animal 

feeding operation or under the control of an animal waste end-

user in accordance with a nutrient management plan approved 

by the Virginia Department of Conservation and Recreation 
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and in accordance with site specific nutrient management 

practices that ensure appropriate agricultural utilization of the 

nutrients in the manure, litter, or process wastewater. 

"Agronomic rate" means, in regard to biosolids, the whole 

sludge application rate (dry weight basis) designed: (i) to 

provide the amount of nitrogen needed by the food crop, feed 

crop, fiber crop, cover crop, or vegetation grown on the land 

and (ii) to minimize the amount of nitrogen in the biosolids that 

passes below the root zone of the crop or vegetation grown on 

the land to the groundwater. 

"Anaerobic digestion" means the biochemical decomposition 

of organic matter in sewage sludge or biosolids into methane 

gas and carbon dioxide by microorganisms in the absence of 

air. 

"Animal feeding operation" means a lot or facility where the 

following conditions are met: 

1. Animals have been, are, or will be stabled or confined and 

fed or maintained for a total of 45 days or more in any 12-

month period; and 

2. Crops, vegetation, forage growth, or post-harvest residues 

are not sustained in the normal growing season over any 

portion of the operation of the lot or facility. 

Two or more animal feeding operations under common 

ownership are a single animal feeding operation for the 

purposes of determining the number of animals at an operation 

if they adjoin each other or if they use a common area or system 

for the disposal of wastes. 

"Animal waste" means liquid, semisolid, and solid animal 

manure and process wastewater, compost, or sludges 

associated with animal feeding operations including the final 

treated wastes generated by a digester or other manure 

treatment technologies. 

"Animal waste end-user" means any recipient of transferred 

animal waste who stores or who utilizes the waste as fertilizer, 

fuel, feedstock, livestock feed, or other beneficial use for an 

operation under his control. 

"Animal waste fact sheet" means the document that details 

the requirements regarding utilization, storage, and 

management of animal waste by end-users. The fact sheet is 

approved by the department. 

"Annual pollutant loading rate" or "APLR" means the 

maximum amount of a pollutant that can be applied to a unit 

area of land during a 365-day period. 

"Annual whole sludge application rate" or "AWSAR" means 

the maximum amount of biosolids (dry weight basis) that can 

be applied to a unit area of land during a 365-day period. 

"Apply biosolids" or "biosolids applied to the land" means 

land application of biosolids. 

"Beneficial use" means a use that is of benefit as a substitute 

for natural or commercial products and does not contribute to 

adverse effects on health or the environment. 

"Best Management Practices (BMP)" means a schedule of 

activities, prohibition of practices, maintenance procedures 

and other management practices to prevent or reduce the 

pollution of state waters. BMPs include treatment 

requirements, operating and maintenance procedures, schedule 

of activities, prohibition of activities, and other management 

practices to control plant site runoff, spillage, leaks, sludge or 

waste disposal, or drainage from raw material storage. 

"Biosolids" means a sewage sludge that has received an 

established treatment and is managed in a manner to meet the 

required pathogen control and vector attraction reduction, and 

contains concentrations of regulated pollutants below the 

ceiling limits established in 40 CFR Part 503 and 9VAC25-32-

356, such that it meets the standards established for use of 

biosolids for land application, marketing, or distribution in 

accordance with this regulation. Liquid biosolids contains less 

than 15% dry residue by weight. Dewatered biosolids contains 

15% or more dry residue by weight. 

"Board" means the Virginia State Water Control Board or 

State Water Control Board. 

"Bulk biosolids" means biosolids that are not sold or given 

away in a bag or other container for application to the land. 

"Bypass" means intentional diversion of waste streams from 

any portion of a treatment works. 

"Confined animal feeding operation," for the purposes of this 

regulation, has the same meaning as an "animal feeding 

operation." 

"Confined poultry feeding operation" means any confined 

animal feeding operation with 200 or more animal units of 

poultry. This equates to 20,000 chickens or 11,000 turkeys 

regardless of animal age or sex. 

"Critical areas" and "critical waters" mean areas and waters 

in proximity to shellfish waters, a public water supply, or 

recreation or other waters where health or water quality 

concerns are identified by the Department of Health. 

"Cumulative pollutant loading rate" means the maximum 

amount of an inorganic pollutant that can be applied to an area 

of land. 

"Density of microorganisms" means the number of 

microorganisms per unit mass of total solids (dry weight) in 

the sewage sludge. 

"Department" means the Department of Environmental 

Quality. 

"Director" means the Director of the Department of 

Environmental Quality, or an authorized representative. 
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"Discharge" means, when used without qualification, a 

discharge of a pollutant. 

"Discharge of a pollutant" means any addition of any 

pollutant or combination of pollutants to state waters or waters 

of the contiguous zone or ocean other than discharge from a 

vessel or other floating craft when being used as a means of 

transportation. 

"Domestic septage" means either liquid or solid material 

removed from a septic tank, cesspool, portable toilet, Type III 

marine sanitation device, or similar treatment works that 

receives only domestic sewage. Domestic septage does not 

include liquid or solid material removed from a septic tank, 

cesspool, or similar treatment works that receives either 

commercial wastewater or industrial wastewater and does not 

include grease removed from a grease trap at a restaurant. 

"Domestic sewage" means waste and wastewater from 

humans or household operations that is discharged to or 

otherwise enters a treatment works. 

"Draft VPA permit" means a document indicating the board's 

tentative decision to issue, deny, modify, revoke and reissue, 

terminate or reissue a VPA permit. A notice of intent to 

terminate a VPA permit and a notice of intent to deny a VPA 

permit are types of draft VPA permits. A denial of a request for 

modification, revocation and reissuance or termination is not a 

draft VPA permit. 

"Dry tons" means dry weight established as representative of 

land applied biosolids or industrial residuals and expressed in 

units of English tons. 

"Dry weight" means the measured weight of a sample of 

sewage sludge, biosolids, or industrial residuals after all 

moisture has been removed in accordance with the standard 

methods of testing and often represented as percent solids. 

"Dry weight basis" means calculated on the basis of having 

been dried at 105°C until reaching a constant mass (i.e., 

essentially 100% solids content). 

"Exceptional quality biosolids" means biosolids that have 

received an established level of treatment for pathogen control 

and vector attraction reduction and contain known levels of 

pollutants, such that they may be marketed or distributed for 

public use in accordance with this regulation. 

"Facilities" means, in regard to biosolids, processes, 

equipment, storage devices and dedicated sites, located or 

operated separately from a treatment works, utilized for 

sewage sludge management including, but not limited to, 

handling, treatment, transport, and storage of biosolids. 

"Fact sheet" means the document that details the requirements 

regarding utilization, storage, and management of poultry 

waste by poultry waste end-users and poultry waste brokers. 

The fact sheet is approved by the department in consultation 

with the Department of Conservation and Recreation. 

"Feed crops" means crops produced primarily for 

consumption by animals. 

"Fiber crops" means crops produced primarily for the 

manufacture of textiles, such as flax and cotton. 

"Field" means an area of land within a site where land 

application is proposed or permitted. 

"Food crops" means crops produced primarily for 

consumption by humans. These include, but are not limited to, 

fruits, vegetables, and tobacco. 

"Forest" means a tract of land thick with trees and underbrush. 

"General VPA permit" means a VPA permit issued by the 

board authorizing a category of pollutant management 

activities. 

"Generator" means the owner of a sewage treatment works 

that produces sewage sludge and biosolids. 

"Groundwater" means water below the land surface in the 

saturated zone. 

"Industrial residuals" means solid or semisolid industrial 

waste including solids, residues, and precipitates separated or 

created by the unit processes of a device or system used to treat 

industrial wastes. 

"Industrial wastes" means liquid or other wastes resulting 

from any process of industry, manufacture, trade, or business, 

or from the development of any natural resources. 

"Land application" means, in regard to sewage, biosolids, and 

industrial residuals, the distribution of treated wastewater, 

referred to as "effluent," stabilized sewage sludge, referred to 

as "biosolids," or industrial residuals by spreading or spraying 

on the surface of the land, injecting below the surface of the 

land, or incorporating into the soil with a uniform application 

rate for the purpose of fertilizing crops or vegetation or 

conditioning the soil. Sites approved for land application of 

biosolids in accordance with this regulation are not to be 

considered to be treatment works. Bulk disposal of stabilized 

sludge or industrial residuals in a confined area, such as in 

landfills, is not land application. For the purpose of this 

regulation, the use of biosolids in agricultural research and the 

distribution and marketing of exceptional quality biosolids are 

not land application. 

"Land application area" means, in regard to biosolids, the area 

in the permitted field, excluding the setback areas, where 

biosolids may be applied. 

"Land applier" means someone who land applies biosolids or 

industrial residuals pursuant to a valid permit from the 

department as set forth in this regulation. 

"Land with a high potential for public exposure" means land 

that the public uses frequently. This includes, but is not limited 

to, a public contact site and a reclamation site located in a 

populated area (e.g., a construction site located in a city). 
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"Land with a low potential for public exposure" means land 

that the public uses infrequently. This includes, but is not 

limited to, agricultural land, forest, and a reclamation site 

located in an unpopulated area (e.g., a strip mine located in a 

rural area). 

"Limitation" means any restriction imposed on quantities, 

rates or concentration of pollutants which are managed by 

pollutant management activities. 

"Liner" means soil or synthetic material that has a hydraulic 

conductivity of 1 X 10-7 centimeters per second or less. 

"Local monitor" means a person or persons employed by a 

local government to perform the duties of monitoring the 

operations of land appliers pursuant to a local ordinance. 

"Local ordinance" means an ordinance adopted by counties, 

cities, or towns in accordance with § 62.1-44.16 or 62.1-

44.19:3 of the Code of Virginia. 

"Malodor" means an unusually strong or offensive odor 

associated with biosolids or sewage sludge as distinguished 

from odors commonly associated with biosolids or sewage 

sludge. 

"Monitoring report" means forms supplied by the department 

for use in reporting of self-monitoring results of the permittee. 

"Monthly average" means the arithmetic mean of all 

measurements taken during the month. 

"Municipality" means a city, county, town, district 

association, or other public body (including an intermunicipal 

agency of two or more of the foregoing entities) created by or 

under state law; an Indian tribe or an authorized Indian tribal 

organization having jurisdiction over sewage sludge or 

biosolids management; or a designated and approved 

management agency under § 208 of the federal Clean Water 

Act, as amended. The definition includes a special district 

created under state law, such as a water district, sewer district, 

sanitary district, utility district, drainage district, or similar 

entity; or an integrated waste management facility as defined 

in § 201(e) of the federal Clean Water Act, as amended, that 

has as one of its principal responsibilities the treatment, 

transport, use, or disposal of sewage sludge or biosolids. 

"Nonpoint source" means a source of pollution, such as a farm 

or forest land runoff, urban storm water runoff or mine runoff 

that is not collected or discharged as a point source. 

"Odor sensitive receptor" means, in the context of land 

application of biosolids, any health care facility, such as 

hospitals, convalescent homes, etc. or a building or outdoor 

facility regularly used to host or serve large groups of people 

such as schools, dormitories, or athletic and other recreational 

facilities. 

"Operate" means the act of any person who may have an 

impact on either the finished water quality at a waterworks or 

the final effluent at a sewage treatment works, such as to (i) 

place into or take out of service a unit process or unit processes, 

(ii) make or cause adjustments in the operation of a unit process 

or unit processes at a treatment works, or (iii) manage sewage 

sludge or biosolids. 

"Operator" means any individual employed or appointed by 

any owner, and who is designated by such owner to be the 

person in responsible charge, such as a supervisor, a shift 

operator, or a substitute in charge, and whose duties include 

testing or evaluation to control waterworks or wastewater 

works operations. Not included in this definition are 

superintendents or directors of public works, city engineers, or 

other municipal or industrial officials whose duties do not 

include the actual operation or direct supervision of 

waterworks or wastewater works. 

"Other container" means either an open or closed receptacle. 

This includes, but is not limited to, a bucket, a box, a carton, 

and a vehicle or trailer with a load capacity of one metric ton 

or less. 

"Overflow" means the unintentional discharge of wastes from 

any portion of a treatment works. 

"Owner" means the Commonwealth or any of its political 

subdivisions including sanitary districts, sanitation district 

commissions and authorities; federal agencies; any individual; 

any group of individuals acting individually or as a group; or 

any public or private institution, corporation, company, 

partnership, firm, or association that owns or proposes to own 

a sewerage system or treatment works as defined in § 62.1-44.3 

of the Code of Virginia. 

"Pasture" means land on which animals feed directly on feed 

crops such as legumes, grasses, grain stubble, or stover. 

"Pathogenic organisms" means disease-causing organisms. 

These include, but are not limited to, certain bacteria, protozoa, 

viruses, and viable helminth ova. 

"Permittee" means an owner or operator who has a currently 

effective VPA permit issued by the board or the department. 

"Person who prepares biosolids" means either the person that 

generates biosolids during the treatment of domestic sewage in 

a treatment works or the person that derives the material from 

sewage sludge. 

"pH" means the logarithm of the reciprocal of the hydrogen 

ion concentration measured at 25°C or measured at another 

temperature and then converted to an equivalent value at 25°C. 

"Place sewage sludge" or "sewage sludge placed" means 

disposal of sewage sludge on a surface disposal site. 

"Point source" means any discernible, defined and discrete 

conveyance, including but not limited to any pipe, ditch, 

channel, tunnel, conduit, well, discrete fissure, container, 

rolling stock, vessel or other floating craft, from which 

pollutants are or may be discharged. This term does not include 

return flows from irrigated agricultural land. 
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"Pollutant" means, in regard to wastewater, any substance, 

radioactive material, or heat which causes or contributes to, or 

may cause or contribute to, pollution. It does not mean (i) 

sewage from vessels; or (ii) water, gas, or other material which 

is injected into a well to facilitate production of oil or gas, or 

water derived in association with oil or gas production and 

disposed of in a well, if the well is used either to facilitate 

production or for disposal purposes if approved by the 

Department of Mines Minerals and Energy unless the board 

determines that such injection or disposal will result in the 

degradation of ground or surface water resources. 

"Pollutant" means, in regard to sewage sludge or biosolids, an 

organic substance, an inorganic substance, a combination of 

organic and inorganic substances, or a pathogenic organism 

that, after discharge and upon exposure, ingestion, inhalation, 

or assimilation into an organism either directly from the 

environment or indirectly by ingestion through the food chain, 

could, on the basis of information available to the board, cause 

death, disease, behavioral abnormalities, cancer, genetic 

mutations, physiological malfunctions (including malfunction 

in reproduction), or physical deformations in either organisms 

or offspring of the organisms. 

"Pollutant limit" means a numerical value that describes the 

amount of a pollutant allowed per unit amount of biosolids 

(e.g., milligrams per kilogram of total solids), the amount of a 

pollutant that can be applied to a unit area of land (e.g., 

kilograms per hectare), or the volume of a material that can be 

applied to a unit area of land (e.g., gallons per acre). 

"Pollutant management activity" means a treatment works 

with a potential or actual discharge to state waters, but which 

does not have a point source discharge to surface waters. 

"Pollution" means such alteration of the physical, chemical, 

or biological properties of any state waters or soil as will, or is 

likely to, create a nuisance or render such waters or soil: (i) 

harmful or detrimental or injurious to the public health, safety, 

or welfare or to the health of animals, fish, or aquatic life; (ii) 

unsuitable despite reasonable treatment for use as present or 

possible future sources of public water supply; or (iii) 

unsuitable for recreational, commercial, industrial, 

agricultural, or other reasonable uses. Such alteration is also 

deemed to be pollution, if there occurs: (a) an alteration of the 

physical, chemical, or biological property of state waters or 

soil, or a discharge or a deposit of sewage, industrial wastes, or 

other wastes to state waters or soil by any owner which by itself 

is not sufficient to cause pollution, but which, in combination 

with such alteration of, or discharge, or deposit, to state waters 

or soil by other owners, is sufficient to cause pollution; (b) the 

discharge of untreated sewage by any owner into state waters 

or soil; or (c) the contravention of standards of air or water 

quality duly established by the board. 

"Poultry grower" or "grower" means any person who owns or 

operates a confined poultry feeding operation. 

"Poultry waste" means dry poultry litter and composted dead 

poultry. 

"Poultry waste broker" or "broker" means a person who 

possesses or controls poultry waste that is not generated on an 

animal feeding operation under his operational control and 

transfers or hauls poultry waste to other persons. If the entity 

is defined as a broker they cannot be defined as a hauler for the 

purposes of this regulation. 

"Poultry waste end-user" means any recipient of transferred 

poultry waste who stores or utilizes the waste as fertilizer, fuel, 

feedstock, livestock feed, or other beneficial end use for an 

operation under his control. 

"Poultry waste hauler" or "hauler" means a person who 

provides transportation of transferred poultry waste from one 

entity to another and is not otherwise involved in the transfer 

or transaction of the waste nor responsible for determining the 

recipient of the waste. The responsibility of the recordkeeping 

and reporting remains with the entities to which the service was 

provided: grower, broker, and end-user. 

"Primary sludge" means sewage sludge removed from 

primary settling tanks that is readily thickened by gravity 

thickeners. 

"Privately owned treatment works (PVOTW)" means any 

sewage treatment works not publicly owned. 

"Process" means a system, or an arrangement of equipment 

or other devices that remove from waste materials pollutants 

including, but not limited to, a treatment works or portions 

thereof. 

"Public contact site" means land with a high potential for 

contact by the public. This includes, but is not limited to, public 

parks, ball fields, cemeteries, and golf courses. 

"Publicly owned treatment works (POTW)" means any 

sewage treatment works that is owned by a state or 

municipality. Sewers, pipes, or other conveyances are included 

in this definition only if they convey wastewater to a POTW 

providing treatment. 

"Public hearing" means a fact-finding proceeding held to 

afford interested persons an opportunity to submit factual data, 

views, and arguments to the board. 

"Reclamation site" means drastically disturbed land that is 

reclaimed using biosolids. This includes, but is not limited to, 

strip mines and construction sites. 

"Run-off" means rainwater, leachate, or other liquid that 

drains overland on any part of a land surface and runs off of 

the land surface. 

"Schedule of compliance" means a schedule of remedial 

measures including an enforceable sequence of actions or 

operations leading to compliance with the federal Clean Water 
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Act (33 USC 1251 et seq.), the law, and board regulations, 

standards and policies. 

"Setback area" means the area of land between the boundary 

of the land application area and adjacent features where 

biosolids or other managed pollutants may not be land applied. 

"Sewage" means the water-carried and non-water-carried 

human excrement, kitchen, laundry, shower, bath, or lavatory 

wastes, separately or together with such underground, surface, 

storm, and other water and liquid industrial wastes as may be 

present from residences, buildings, vehicles, industrial 

establishments, or other places. 

"Sewage sludge" means any solid, semisolid, or liquid residue 

generated during the treatment of domestic sewage in a 

treatment works. Sewage sludge includes, but is not limited to, 

domestic septage; scum or solids removed in primary, 

secondary, or advanced wastewater treatment processes; and a 

material derived from sewage sludge. Sewage sludge does not 

include ash generated during the firing of sewage sludge in a 

sewage sludge incinerator or grit and screenings generated 

during preliminary treatment of domestic sewage in a 

treatment works. 

"Sewage sludge unit" means land on which only sewage 

sludge is placed for final disposal. This does not include land 

on which sewage sludge is either stored or treated. Land does 

not include surface waters. 

"Sewage sludge use or disposal" means the collection, 

storage, treatment, transportation, processing, monitoring, use, 

or disposal of sewage sludge. 

"Site" means the area of land within a defined boundary 

where an activity is proposed or permitted. 

"Sludge" means solids, residues, and precipitates separated 

from or created by the unit processes of a treatment works. 

"Sludge management" means the treatment, handling, 

transportation, storage, use, distribution, or disposal of sewage 

sludge. 

"Specific oxygen uptake rate" or "SOUR" means the mass of 

oxygen consumed per unit time per mass of total solids (dry 

weight basis) in the sewage sludge. 

"State waters" means all water on the surface or under the 

ground wholly or partially within or bordering the state or 

within its jurisdiction. 

"State Water Control Law (law)" means Chapter 3.1 (§ 62.1-

44.2 et seq.) of Title 62.1 of the Code of Virginia. 

"Store sewage sludge" or "storage of sewage sludge" means 

the placement of sewage sludge on land on which the sewage 

sludge remains for two years or less. This does not include the 

placement of sewage sludge on land for treatment. 

"Substantial compliance" means designs and practices that do 

not exactly conform to the standards set forth in this chapter as 

contained in documents submitted pursuant to 9VAC25-32-60, 

but whose construction or implementation will not 

substantially affect health considerations or performance. 

"Supernatant" means a liquid obtained from separation of 

suspended matter during sludge treatment or storage. 

"Surface disposal site" means an area of land that contains 

one or more active sewage sludge units. 

"Surface water" means: 

1. All waters which are currently used, were used in the past, 

or may be susceptible to use in interstate or foreign 

commerce, including all waters which are subject to the ebb 

and flow of the tide; 

2. All interstate waters, including interstate "wetlands"; 

3. All other waters such as inter/intrastate lakes, rivers, 

streams (including intermittent streams), mudflats, sandflats, 

"wetlands," sloughs, prairie potholes, wet meadows, playa 

lakes, or natural ponds the use, degradation, or destruction 

of which would affect or could affect interstate or foreign 

commerce including any such waters: 

a. Which are or could be used by interstate or foreign 

travelers for recreational or other purposes; 

b. From which fish or shellfish are or could be taken and 

sold in interstate or foreign commerce; or 

c. Which are used or could be used for industrial purposes 

by industries in interstate commerce; 

4. All impoundments of waters otherwise defined as surface 

waters of the United States under this definition; 

5. Tributaries of waters identified in subdivisions 1 through 

4 of this definition; 

6. The territorial sea; and 

7. "Wetlands" adjacent to waters, other than waters that are 

themselves wetlands, identified in subdivisions 1 through 6 

of this definition. 

"Total solids" means the materials in sewage sludge that 

remain as residue when the sewage sludge is dried to 103°C to 

105°C. 

"Toxic pollutant" means any pollutant listed as toxic under 

§ 307 (a)(1) of the CWA or, in the case of "sludge use or 

disposal practices," any pollutant identified in regulations 

implementing § 405 (d) of the CWA. 

"Toxicity" means the inherent potential or capacity of a 

material to cause adverse effects in a living organism, 

including acute or chronic effects to aquatic life, detrimental 

effects on human health, or other adverse environmental 

effects. 
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"Treatment facility" means only those mechanical power 

driven devices necessary for the transmission and treatment of 

pollutants (e.g., pump stations, unit treatment processes). 

"Treat sewage sludge" or "treatment of sewage sludge" means 

the preparation of sewage sludge for final use or disposal. This 

includes, but is not limited to, thickening, stabilization, and 

dewatering of sewage sludge. This does not include storage of 

sewage sludge. 

"Treatment works" means either a federally owned, publicly 

owned, or privately owned device or system used to treat 

(including recycle and reclaim) either domestic sewage or a 

combination of domestic sewage and industrial waste of a 

liquid nature. Treatment works may include but are not limited 

to pumping, power, and other equipment and their 

appurtenances; septic tanks; and any works, including land, 

that are or will be (i) an integral part of the treatment process 

or (ii) used for ultimate disposal of residues or effluents 

resulting from such treatment. "Treatment works" does not 

include biosolids use on privately owned agricultural land. 

"Twenty-five-year, 24-hour storm event" means the 

maximum 24-hour precipitation event with a probable 

recurrence interval of once in 25 years as established by the 

National Weather Service or appropriate regional or state 

rainfall probability information. 

"Unstabilized solids" means organic materials in sewage 

sludge that have not been treated in either an aerobic or 

anaerobic treatment process. 

"Upset" means an exceptional incident in which there is 

unintentional and temporary noncompliance with technology-

based permit limitations because of factors beyond the 

permittee's reasonable control. An upset does not include 

noncompliance caused by operational error, improperly 

designed treatment facilities, inadequate treatment facilities, 

lack of preventive maintenance, or careless or improper 

operation. 

"Use" means to manage or recycle a processed waste product 

in a manner so as to derive a measurable benefit as a result of 

such management. 

"Variance" means a conditional approval based on a waiver 

of specific regulations to a specific owner relative to a specific 

situation under documented conditions for a specified period 

of time. 

"Vector attraction" means the characteristic of biosolids or 

sewage sludge that attracts rodents, flies, mosquitoes, or other 

organisms capable of transporting infectious agents. 

"Vegetated buffer" means a permanent strip of dense 

perennial vegetation established parallel to the contours of and 

perpendicular to the dominant slope of the field for the 

purposes of slowing water runoff, enhancing water infiltration, 

and minimizing the risk of any potential nutrients or pollutants 

from leaving the field and reaching surface waters. 

"Virginia Pollution Abatement (VPA) permit" means a 

document issued by the board, pursuant to this chapter, 

authorizing pollutant management activities under prescribed 

conditions. 

"Virginia Pollutant Discharge Elimination System (VPDES) 

permit" means a document issued by the board pursuant to 

9VAC25-31, authorizing, under prescribed conditions, the 

potential or actual discharge of pollutants from a point source 

to surface waters. 

"Volatile solids" means the amount of the total solids in 

sewage sludge lost when the sewage sludge is combusted at 

550°C in the presence of excess air. 

"VPA application" means the standard form or forms 

approved by the board for applying for a VPA permit. 

"Waste storage facility" means a (i) waste holding pond or 

tank used to store manure prior to land application, (ii) lagoon 

or treatment facility used to digest or reduce the solids or 

nutrients, or (iii) structure used to store manure or waste. 

"300 animal units" means 300,000 pounds of live animal 

weight or the following numbers and types of animals: 

a. 300 slaughter and feeder cattle; 

b. 200 mature dairy cattle (whether milked or dry cows); 

c. 750 swine each weighing over 25 kilograms 

(approximately 55 pounds); 

d. 150 horses; 

e. 3,000 sheep or lambs; 

f. 16,500 turkeys; 

g. 30,000 laying hens or broilers. 

"Water quality standards" means the narrative statements for 

general requirements and numeric limits for specific 

requirements that describe the water quality necessary to meet 

and maintain reasonable and beneficial uses. Such standards 

are established by the board under § 62.1-44.15 (3a) of the 

Code of Virginia. 

B. Generally used technical terms not defined in subsection 

A of this section or the department's latest definitions of 

technical terms as used to implement § 62.1-44.15 of the Code 

of Virginia shall be defined in accordance with "Glossary-

Water and Wastewater Control Engineering" published by the 

American Public Health Association (APHA), American 

Society of Civil Engineers (ASCE), American Water Works 

Association (AWWA), and the Water Environment Federation 

(WEF). 

9VAC25-32-560. Biosolids utilization methods. 

A. Requirements applicable to land application of biosolids. 

1. All biosolids application rates, application times and other 

site management operations shall be restricted as specified 
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in the biosolids management plan. The biosolids 

management plan shall include a nutrient management plan 

as required by 9VAC25-32-410 and prepared by a certified 

nutrient management planner as stipulated in regulations 

promulgated pursuant to § 10.1-104.2 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

2. Biosolids shall be treated to meet standards for land 

application as required by Part IX (9VAC25-32-303 et seq.) 

of this chapter prior to delivery at the land application site. 

No person shall alter the composition of biosolids at a site 

approved for land application of biosolids under a Virginia 

Pollution Abatement Permit. Any person who engages in the 

alteration of such biosolids shall be subject to the penalties 

provided in Article 6 (§ 62.1-44.31 et seq.) of Chapter 3.1 of 

Title 62.1 of the Code of Virginia. The addition of lime or 

deodorants to biosolids that have been treated to meet 

standards for land application as required by Part IX 

(9VAC25-32-303 et seq.) of this chapter shall not constitute 

alteration of the composition of biosolids. The board may 

authorize public institutions of higher education to conduct 

scientific research on the composition of biosolids that may 

be applied to land. 

B. Agricultural use. Agricultural use of biosolids is the land 

application of biosolids to cropland or pasture land to obtain 

agronomic benefits as a plant nutrient source and soil 

conditioner. 

1. Biosolids treatment. As a minimum, biosolids that are 

applied to the land or incorporated into the soil shall be 

treated by a Class II pathogen treatment process and shall be 

treated or managed to provide an acceptable level of vector 

attraction reduction. 

2. Site soils. 

a. Depth to bedrock or restrictive layers shall be a 

minimum of 18 inches. 

b. Biosolids application shall not be made during times 

when the seasonal high water table of the soil is within 18 

inches of the ground surface. If Natural Resources 

Conservation Service soil survey information regarding 

depth of seasonal water table is not available, the water 

table depth shall be determined by soil characteristics or 

water table observations. If the soil survey or such 

evidence indicates that the seasonal water table can be less 

than 18 inches below the average ground surface, soil 

borings shall be conducted within seven days prior to land 

application operations during periods of high water table 

for the soil series present to verify the actual water table 

depth. The use of soil borings and water table depth 

verification may be required for such sites from November 

to May (during seasonal high water table elevations) of 

each year depending on soil type. Constructed channels 

(agricultural drainage ditches) may be utilized to remove 

surface water and lower the water table as necessary for 

crop production and site management. 

c. The pH of the biosolids and soil mixture shall be 6.0 or 

greater at the time of each biosolids application if the 

biosolids cadmium concentration is greater than or equal 

to 21 mg/kg. The soil pH must be properly tested and 

recorded prior to land application operations during which 

a pH change of one-half unit or more may occur within the 

zone of incorporation (i.e., use of biosolids containing 

lime or other alkaline additives at 10% or more of dry solid 

weight). 

d. When soil test pH is less than 5.5 S.U., the land shall be 

supplemented with lime at the recommended agronomic 

rate prior to or during biosolids application if the biosolids 

to be land applied have not been alkaline stabilized. 

e. When soil test potassium levels are less than 38 parts 

per million (Mehlich I analytical procedure or equivalent), 

the land shall be supplemented with potash at the 

recommended agronomic rate prior to or during biosolids 

application. 

3. Management practices. 

a. Site specific application rates shall not exceed the rates 

established in the nutrient management plan nor result in 

exceedance of the cumulative trace element loading rates 

specified in 9VAC25-32-356 Table 3. 

b. Agricultural use of stabilized septage shall be in 

accordance with the same requirements as biosolids. 

c. Infequent application. If biosolids are applied to a field 

only once in a three-year period, biosolids may be applied 

such that the total crop needs for nitrogen is not exceeded 

during a one-year crop rotation period including the 

production and harvesting of two crops in succession 

within a consecutive 12-month growing season. The 

infrequent application rate may be restricted (i) down to 

10% of the maximum cumulative loading rate (9VAC25-

32-356 Table 3) for cadmium and lead or (ii) to account 

for all sources of nutrients applied to the site, including 

existing residuals. 

d. Operations. 

(1) Field management. The application rate of all 

application equipment shall be routinely measured as 

described in a biosolids management plan. Liquid 

biosolids shall not be applied at rates exceeding 14,000 

gallons per acre, per application. Sufficient drying times 

shall be allowed between subsequent applications. 

Application vehicles shall be suitable for use on 

agricultural land. Pasture and hay fields shall be grazed or 

clipped to a height of approximately six inches prior to 

biosolids application. Biosolids shall be applied such that 

uniform application is achieved. If application methods do 

not result in a uniform distribution of biosolids, additional 

operational methods shall be employed following 

application such as dragging with a pasture harrow, 

followed by clipping if required, to achieve a uniform 

distribution of the applied biosolids. 
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(2) Surface incorporation may be required on cropland by 

the department, or the local monitor with approval of the 

department, to mitigate malodors when incorporation is 

practicable and compatible with a soil conservation plan 

or contract meeting the standards and specifications of the 

U.S. Department of Agriculture Natural Resources 

Conservation Service. 

(3) Slopes above 15%. Biosolids shall not be applied to 

site slopes exceeding 15%. This restriction may be waived 

by the department for the establishment and maintenance 

of perennial vegetation or based on site specific criteria 

and BMPs in place in the field. 

(4) Biosolids application timing and slope restrictions 

shall conform to criteria contained in regulations 

promulgated pursuant to § 10.1-104.2 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

(5) Snow. Biosolids may only be applied to snow-covered 

ground if the snow cover does not exceed one inch and the 

snow and biosolids are incorporated within 24 hours of 

application. If snow melts during biosolids application, 

incorporation is not necessary. 

e. Setback distances. 

(1) Setback distances. The land application of biosolids 

shall not occur within the following minimum setback 

distance requirements (Table 1 of this section): 

TABLE 1 

MINIMUM SETBACK DISTANCE 

REQUIREMENTS 

Adjacent Feature Minimum Setback 

Distance (Feet) to Land 

Application Area 

Occupied dwelling 2001,2,3 

Odor sensitive receptors 

(without injection or same 

day incorporation) 

4003 

Odor sensitive receptors (with 

injection or same day 

incorporation) 

200 

Property lines 1002,4 

Property lines of publicly 

accessible sites5 

200 

Water supply wells or springs 100 

Public water supply reservoirs 400 

All segments of streams and 

tributaries designated as a 

Public Water Supply under 

the Water Quality Standards 

100 

Surface waters without a 

vegetated buffer 

100 

Surface waters with a 35-foot 

vegetated buffer 

35 

Agricultural drainage ditches 10 

All improved roadways 10 

Rock outcrops 25 

Open sinkholes 100 

Limestone rock outcrops and 

closed sinkholes6 

50 

1The setback distance to occupied dwellings may be reduced or waived 

upon written consent of the occupant and landowner of the dwelling. 

2The department shall grant to any landowner or resident in the vicinity 

of a biosolids land application site an extended setback of up to 200 feet 
from their property line and up to 400 feet from their occupied dwelling 

upon request from their physician based on medical reasons. In order 

for an extended setback request to be granted, the request must be 
submitted to the department in writing on a form provided by the 

department. A request must be received by the department no later than 

48 hours before land application commences on the field affected by the 
extended setback, and communicated to the permittee no later than 24 

hours before land application commences on the field affected by the 

extended setback. The department may extend a setback distance within 
48 hours of land application if requested by the Virginia Department of 

Health in connection with the landowner or resident's physician. 

3Setback distances may be extended beyond 400 feet where an 
evaluation by the Virginia Department of Health determines that a 

setback in excess of 400 feet is necessary to prevent specific and 

immediate injury to the health of an individual. 
4The setback distance to property lines may be reduced or waived upon 

written consent of the landowner. 

5Publicly accessible sites are open to the general public and routinely 
accommodate pedestrians and include, but are not limited to, schools, 

churches, hospitals, parks, nature trails, businesses open to the public, 

and sidewalks. Temporary structures, public roads or similar 

thoroughfares are not considered publicly accessible. 
6A closed sinkhole does not have an open conduit to groundwater. The 

setback from a closed sinkhole may be reduced or waived by the 

department upon evaluation by a professional soil scientist. 

(2) In cases where more than one setback distance is 

involved, the most restrictive distance governs. 

(3) Waivers. Waivers from adjacent property residents and 

landowners may only be used to reduce setback distances 

from occupied dwellings and property lines. 

(4) Extended setback distances. The department may 

increase setback requirements based on site specific 

features, such as agricultural drainage features and site 

slopes. 

f. Voluntary extensions of setback distances. If a permit 

holder negotiates a voluntary agreement with a landowner 

or resident to extend setback distances or add other more 

restrictive criteria than required by this regulation, the 

permit holder shall document the agreement in writing and 

provide the agreement to the department. Voluntary 
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setback increases or other management criteria will not 

become an enforceable part of the land application permit 

unless the permit holder modifies the biosolids 

management plan to include the additional restriction. 

g. Extension of setback distances with phosphorus index. 

If the application rate included in a nutrient management 

plan for a biosolids land application site is dependent upon 

an extended setback distance calculated using the 

phosphorus index, the phosphorus index calculations shall 

be included in the nutrient management plan. The 

extended setback distance shall be an enforceable part of 

the permit. 

C. Forestland (Silviculture). Silvicultural use includes 

application of biosolids to timber and fiber production land, as 

well as federal and state forests. The forestland may be recently 

cleared and planted, young plantations (two-year-old to five-

year-old trees), or established forest stands. 

1. Biosolids standards. Refer to the standards of this article. 

2. Site suitability. 

a. Site suitability requirements shall conform to the 

requirements contained in subdivision B 2 of this section. 

b. Notwithstanding the requirements of subdivision B 2 of 

this section the soil pH shall be managed at the natural soil 

pH for the types of trees proposed for growth. 

c. Notwithstanding the requirements of subdivision B 2 of 

this section the soil test potassium level is not required to 

be at a minimum level at the time of biosolids application. 

3. Management practices. 

a. Application rates. Biosolids application rates shall be in 

accordance with the biosolids management plan. The 

biosolids management plan shall include information 

provided by the Virginia Department of Forestry. 

b. Operations. 

(1) Field management. 

(a) High pressure spray shall not be utilized if public 

activity is occurring within 1,500 feet downwind of the 

application site. Public access to the site shall be 

controlled following application in accordance with 

Article 3 (9VAC25-32-490 et seq.) of this part. 

(b) Biosolids application vehicles shall have adequate 

ground clearance to be suitable for silvicultural field use. 

(c) Application scheduling included in the biosolids 

management plan shall take into account rainfall and 

periods of freezing conditions. 

(d) Monitoring requirements shall be site specific and may 

include groundwater, surface water or soils, for frequent 

application sites. 

(2) Setbacks. Setbacks shall conform to those for 

agricultural utilization. Refer to Table 1 of this section. 

D. Reclamation of disturbed land. 

1. Biosolids standards. Refer to the standards of this article. 

2. Site suitability. Site suitability requirements shall conform 

to the requirements contained in subdivision B 2 of this 

section. Exceptions may be considered on a case-by-case 

basis. 

3. Management practices. 

a. Application rates. The biosolids application rates shall 

be established in the biosolids management plan in 

consultation with the Virginia Department of Mines, 

Minerals and Energy, the Virginia Department of 

Conservation and Recreation, and the Department of Crop 

and Soil Environmental Sciences of the Virginia 

Polytechnic Institute and State University. The nutrient 

management plan shall be approved by the Department of 

Conservation and Recreation prior to permit issuance 

where land application is proposed at greater than 

agronomic rates. 

b. Vegetation selection. The land shall be seeded with 

grass and legumes even when reforested. The biosolids 

management plan shall include information on the seeding 

mixture and a detailed seeding schedule. 

c. Operations. 

(1) The soil pH shall be maintained at 6.0 or above if the 

cadmium level in the biosolids applied is at or above 21 

mg/kg. during the first year after the initial application. 

Soil samples should be analyzed by a qualified laboratory. 

The application rate shall be limited by the most restrictive 

cumulative trace element loading (9VAC25-32-356 Table 

3). 

(2) Surface material shall be turned or worked prior to the 

surface application of liquid biosolids. 

(3) Unless the applied biosolids are determined to be Class 

A or have been documented as subjected to Class I 

treatment, crops intended for direct human consumption 

shall not be grown for a period of three years following the 

date of the last biosolids application. No animals whose 

products are intended for human consumption may graze 

the site or obtain feed from the site for a period of six 

months following the date of the last biosolids application. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R22-6781; Filed August 29, 2021, 11:00 a.m. 

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The State Water Control Board is 

claiming an exemption from Article 2 of the Administrative 

Process Act in accordance with § 2.2-4006 A 4 a of the Code 

of Virginia, which excludes regulations that are necessary to 

conform to changes in Virginia statutory law or the 

appropriation act where no agency discretion is involved. The 

board will receive, consider, and respond to petitions by any 

interested person at any time with respect to reconsideration or 

revision. 
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Title of Regulation: 9VAC25-91. Facility and Aboveground 

Storage Tank (AST) Regulation (amending 9VAC25-91-

30). 

Statutory Authority: §§ 62.1-44.15, 62.1-44.34:15, 62.1-

44.34:15.1, and 62.1-44.34:19.1 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: October 27, 2021. 

Agency Contact: William K. Norris, Department of 

Environmental Quality, 1111 East Main Street, Suite 1400, 

P.O. Box 1105, Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 698-

4022, FAX (804) 698-4178, or email 

william.norris@deq.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

Pursuant to Chapters 387 and 532 of the 2021 Acts of 

Assembly, Special Session I, the amendments change the 

name of the Department of Mines, Minerals and Energy to 

the Department of Energy and correct a citation to the Code 

of Virginia. 

9VAC25-91-30. Exclusions. 

A. The requirements of this chapter do not apply to: 

1. Vessels; 

2. Licensed motor vehicles, unless used solely for the storage 

of oil (e.g., airport refueling trucks and mobile refueling 

vehicles); 

3. An AST with a storage capacity of 660 gallons or less of 

oil; 

4. An AST containing petroleum, including crude oil or any 

fraction thereof, which is liquid at standard temperature and 

pressure (60°F at 14.7 pounds per square inch absolute) 

subject to and specifically listed or designated as a hazardous 

substance under subparagraphs (A) through (F) of § 101(14) 

of the federal Comprehensive Environmental Response, 

Compensation, and Liability Act (CERCLA) (42 USC 

§ 9601 et seq.); 

5. A wastewater treatment tank system that is part of a 

wastewater treatment facility regulated under § 402 or 

§ 307(b) of the federal Clean Water Act (33 USC § 1251 et 

seq.); 

6. An AST that is regulated by the Department of Mines, 

Minerals and Energy under Chapter 22.1 (§ 45.1-361.1 et 

seq.) 16 (§ 45.2-1600 et seq.) of Title 45.1 45.2 of the Code 

of Virginia; 

7. An AST used for the storage of products that are regulated 

pursuant to the federal Food, Drug, and Cosmetic Act 

(21 USC § 301 et seq.); 

8. An AST that is used to store hazardous wastes listed or 

identified under Subtitle C of the Resource Conservation and 

Recovery Act (RCRA) (Solid Waste Disposal Act) (42 USC 

§ 6901 et seq.), or a mixture of such hazardous wastes and 

other regulated substances; 

9. An AST that is used to store propane gas, butane gas or 

other liquid petroleum gases; 

10. An AST used to store nonpetroleum hydrocarbon-based 

animal and vegetable oils; 

11. A liquid trap or associated gathering lines directly related 

to oil or gas production, or gathering operations; 

12. A surface impoundment, pit, pond, or lagoon; 

13. A stormwater or wastewater collection system; 

14. Equipment or machinery that contains oil for operational 

purposes, including but not limited to lubricating systems, 

hydraulic systems, and heat transfer systems; 

15. An AST that forms an integral part (cannot be readily 

detached or removed) of the equipment or machinery and the 

contents of the AST are solely used by the attached 

equipment or machinery (e.g., fuel tank affixed into the 

frame of an emergency generator); 

16. An AST used to contain oil for less than 120 days when: 

(i) used in connection with activities related to the 

containment and cleanup of oil; (ii) used by a federal, state 

or local entity in responding to an emergency, including 

response related drills; or (iii) used temporarily on-site to 

replace permanent capacity storage; 

17. Oil-filled electrical equipment, including, but not limited 

to, transformers, circuit breakers or capacitors; 

18. A flow-through process tank; 

19. Oily water separators; 

20. An AST containing dredge spoils; 

21. An AST located on a farm or residence used for storing 

motor fuel for noncommercial purposes with a storage 

capacity of 1,100 gallons or less; or 

22. Pipes or piping beyond the first valve from the AST that 

connects an AST with production process tanks or 

production process equipment. 

B. In addition to the exclusions listed in subsection A of this 

section, the following are excluded from the requirements 

contained in Part III (9VAC25-91-130 et seq., Pollution 

Prevention Requirements) of this chapter: 

1. An AST with a capacity of 5,000 gallons or less used for 

storing heating oil for consumptive use on the premises 

where stored; 

2. An AST storing asphalt and asphalt compounds which are 

not liquid at standard conditions of temperature and pressure 

(60°F at 14.7 pounds per square inch absolute); and 

3. Line pipe and breakout tanks of an interstate pipeline 

regulated under the federal Accountable Pipeline Safety and 

Partnership Act of 1996 (49 USC § 60101 et seq.). 
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C. Asphalt and asphalt compounds that are not liquid at 

standard conditions of temperature and pressure (60°F at 14.7 

pounds per square inch absolute) are excluded from any 

requirement to install groundwater monitoring wells or 

groundwater protection devices or to conduct groundwater 

characterization studies under Part IV (9VAC25-91-170, Oil 

Discharge Contingency Plan (ODCP) Requirements) and Part 

V (9VAC25-91-180 et seq., Groundwater Characterization 

Study (GCS) and GCS Well Monitoring Requirements) of this 

chapter. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R22-6782; Filed August 29, 2021, 11:06 a.m. 

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The State Water Control Board is 

claiming an exemption from Article 2 of the Administrative 

Process Act in accordance with § 2.2-4006 A 4 a of the Code 

of Virginia, which excludes regulations that are necessary to 

conform to changes in Virginia statutory law or the 

appropriation act where no agency discretion is involved. The 

board will receive, consider, and respond to petitions by any 

interested person at any time with respect to reconsideration or 

revision. 

Title of Regulation: 9VAC25-220. Surface Water 

Management Area Regulation (amending 9VAC25-220-

70). 

Statutory Authority: § 62.1-249 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: October 27, 2021. 

Agency Contact: William K. Norris, Department of 

Environmental Quality, 1111 East Main Street, Suite 1400, 

P.O. Box 1105, Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 698-

4022, FAX (804) 698-4178, or email 

william.norris@deq.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

Pursuant to Chapters 387 and 532 of the 2021 Acts of 

Assembly, Special Session I, the amendments change the 

name of the Department of Mines, Minerals and Energy to 

the Department of Energy. 

9VAC25-220-70. Application for a permit. 

A. Duty to apply. Any person who withdraws surface water 

or proposes to withdraw surface water in a surface water 

management area must have a surface water withdrawal 

permit, except persons excluded under subsection B of this 

section or exempted under subsection C of this section, or 

withdrawals made pursuant to a voluntary agreement approved 

by the board pursuant to 9VAC25-220-60. A complete 

application shall be submitted to the board in accordance with 

this section. 

B. Exclusions. The following do not require a surface water 

withdrawal permit but may require other permits under state 

and federal law: 

1. Any nonconsumptive use; 

2. Any water withdrawal of less than 300,000 gallons in any 

single month; 

3. Any water withdrawal from a farm pond collecting diffuse 

surface water and not situated on a perennial stream as 

defined in the United States Geological Survey 7.5-minute 

series topographic maps; 

4. Any withdrawal in any area which has not been declared 

a surface water management area; and 

5. Any withdrawal from a wastewater treatment system 

permitted by the State Water Control Board or the 

Department of Mines, Minerals and Energy. 

C. Exemptions. The following do not require a surface water 

withdrawal permit but may require other permits under state 

and federal law. However, the following do require a surface 

water withdrawal certificate containing details of a board 

approved water conservation or management plan as found in 

subdivision 2 of 9VAC25-220-100 and Part V (9VAC25-220-

250 et seq.) of this chapter. It is not the intent or purpose of this 

certification program to affect the withdrawal of water 

approved by the board. 

1. No political subdivision or investor-owned water 

company permitted by the Department of Health shall be 

required to obtain a surface water withdrawal permit for: 

a. Any withdrawal in existence on July 1, 1989; however, 

a permit shall be required in a declared surface water 

management area before the daily rate of any such existing 

withdrawal is increased beyond the maximum daily 

withdrawal made before July 1, 1989. 

b. Any withdrawal not in existence on July 1, 1989, if the 

person proposing to make the withdrawal has received, by 

that date, a § 401 certification from the State Water 

Control Board pursuant to the requirements of the Clean 

Water Act to install any necessary withdrawal structures 

and make such withdrawal; however, a permit shall be 

required in any surface water management area before any 

such withdrawal is increased beyond the amount 

authorized by the said certification. 

c. Any withdrawal in existence on July 1, 1989, from an 

instream impoundment of water used for public water 

supply purposes; however, during periods when permit 

conditions in a water management area are in force 

pursuant to subsection G of 9VAC25-220-80 and 

9VAC25-220-190, and when the rate of flow of natural 

surface water into the impoundment is equal to or less than 

the average flow of natural surface water at that location, 

the board may require release of water from the 

impoundment at a rate not exceeding the existing rate of 

flow of natural surface water into the impoundment. 

Withdrawals by a political subdivision or investor-owned 

water company permitted by the Department of Health 

shall be affected by this subdivision only at the option of 
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that political subdivision or investor-owned water 

company. 

2. No existing beneficial consumptive user shall be required 

to obtain a surface water withdrawal permit for: 

a. Any withdrawal in existence on July 1, 1989; however, 

a permit shall be required in a declared surface water 

management area before the daily rate of any such existing 

withdrawal is increased beyond the maximum daily 

withdrawal made before July 1, 1989; and 

b. Any withdrawal not in existence on July 1, 1989, if the 

person proposing to make the withdrawal has received, by 

that date, a § 401 certification from the State Water 

Control Board pursuant to the requirements of the Clean 

Water Act to install any necessary withdrawal structures 

and make such withdrawals; however, a permit shall be 

required in any surface water management area before any 

such withdrawal is increased beyond the amount 

authorized by the said certification. 

D. Duty to reapply. 

1. Any permittee with an effective permit shall submit a new 

permit application at least 180 days before the expiration 

date of an effective permit unless permission for a later date 

has been granted by the board. 

2. Owners or persons who have effective permits shall 

submit a new application 180 days prior to any proposed 

modification to their activity which will: 

a. Result in a significantly new or substantially increased 

water withdrawal; or 

b. Violate or lead to the violation of the terms and 

conditions of the permit. 

E. Complete application required. 

1. Any person proposing to withdraw water shall submit a 

complete application and secure a permit prior to the date 

planned for commencement of the activity resulting in the 

withdrawal. There shall be no water withdrawal prior to the 

issuance of a permit. 

2. Any person reapplying to withdraw water shall submit a 

complete application. 

3. A complete surface water withdrawal permit application 

to the State Water Control Board shall, as a minimum, 

consist of the following: 

a. The location of the water withdrawal, including the 

name of the waterbody from which the withdrawal is 

being made; 

b. The average daily withdrawal, the maximum proposed 

withdrawal, and any variations of the withdrawal by 

season including amounts and times of the day or year 

during which withdrawals may occur; 

c. The use for the withdrawal, including the importance of 

the need for this use; 

d. Any alternative water supplies or water storage; and 

e. If it is determined that special studies are needed to 

develop a proper instream flow requirement, then 

additional information may be necessary. 

4. Where an application is considered incomplete, the board 

may require the submission of additional information after 

an application has been filed and may suspend processing of 

any application until such time as the applicant has supplied 

missing or deficient information and the board considers the 

application complete. Further, where the applicant becomes 

aware that he omitted one or more relevant facts from a 

permit application, or submitted incorrect information in a 

permit application or in any report to the board, he shall 

immediately submit such facts or the correct information. 

5. Any person proposing to withdraw water shall submit an 

application for a permit 180 days prior to the date planned 

for commencement of the activity resulting in the 

withdrawal. There shall be no water withdrawal prior to the 

issuance of a permit. 

6. Any person with an existing unpermitted water 

withdrawal operation shall submit an application 

immediately upon discovery by the owner or within 30 days 

upon being requested to by the board whichever comes first. 

F. Informational requirements. All applicants for a surface 

water withdrawal permit shall provide all such information 

consistent with this chapter as the board deems necessary. All 

applicants for a permit must submit a complete permit 

application in accordance with subsection A of this section. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R22-6783; Filed August 29, 2021, 11:12 a.m. 

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The State Water Control Board is 

claiming an exemption from Article 2 of the Administrative 

Process Act in accordance with § 2.2-4006 A 4 a of the Code 

of Virginia, which excludes regulations that are necessary to 

conform to changes in Virginia statutory law or the 

appropriation act where no agency discretion is involved. The 

board will receive, consider, and respond to petitions by any 

interested person at any time with respect to reconsideration or 

revision. 

Title of Regulation: 9VAC25-610. Groundwater 

Withdrawal Regulations (amending 9VAC25-610-50, 

9VAC25-610-380). 

Statutory Authority: § 62.1-256 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: October 27, 2021. 

Agency Contact: William K. Norris, Department of 

Environmental Quality, 1111 East Main Street, Suite 1400, 

P.O. Box 1105, Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 698-

4022, FAX (804) 698-4178, or email 

william.norris@deq.virginia.gov. 
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Summary: 

Pursuant to Chapters 387 and 532 of the 2021 Acts of 

Assembly, Special Session I, the amendments change the 

name of the Department of Mines, Minerals and Energy to 

the Department of Energy.  

9VAC25-610-50. Exclusions. 

The following do not require a groundwater withdrawal 

permit: 

1. Withdrawals of less than 300,000 gallons per month; 

2. Withdrawals associated with temporary construction 

dewatering that do not exceed 24 months in duration; 

3. Withdrawals associated with a state-approved groundwater 

remediation that do not exceed 60 months in duration; 

4. Withdrawals for use by a groundwater source heat pump 

where the discharge is reinjected into the aquifer from which it 

was withdrawn; 

5. Withdrawals from ponds recharged by groundwater 

without mechanical assistance; 

6. Withdrawals for the purpose of conducting geophysical 

investigations, including pump tests; 

7. Withdrawals coincident with exploration for and 

extraction of coal or activities associated with coal mining 

regulated by the Department of Mines, Minerals and Energy; 

8. Withdrawals coincident with the exploration for or 

production of oil, gas or other minerals other than coal, 

unless such withdrawal adversely impacts aquifer quantity 

or quality or other groundwater users within a groundwater 

management area; 

9. Withdrawals in any area not declared to be a groundwater 

management area; 

10. Withdrawal of groundwater authorized pursuant to a 

special exception issued by the board; and 

11. Withdrawal of groundwater discharged from free 

flowing springs where the natural flow of the spring has not 

been increased by any method. 

9VAC25-610-380. Statewide information requirements. 

The board may require any person withdrawing groundwater 

for any purpose anywhere in the Commonwealth, whether or 

not declared to be a groundwater management area, to furnish 

to the board such information that may be necessary to carry 

out the provisions of the Ground Water Management Act of 

1992. Groundwater withdrawals that occur in conjunction with 

activities related to the exploration and production of oil, gas, 

coal, or other minerals regulated by the Department of Mines, 

Minerals and Energy are exempt from any information 

reporting requirements. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R22-6786; Filed August 29, 2021, 11:18 a.m. 

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The State Water Control Board is 

claiming an exemption from Article 2 of the Administrative 

Process Act in accordance with § 2.2-4006 A 4 a of the Code 

of Virginia, which excludes regulations that are necessary to 

conform to changes in Virginia statutory law or the 

appropriation act where no agency discretion is involved. The 

board will receive, consider, and respond to petitions by any 

interested person at any time with respect to reconsideration or 

revision. 

Title of Regulation: 9VAC25-640. Aboveground Storage 

Tank and Pipeline Facility Financial Responsibility 

Requirements (amending 9VAC25-640-30). 

Statutory Authority: §§ 62.1-44.15 and 62.1-44.34:16 of the 

Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: October 27, 2021. 

Agency Contact: William K. Norris, Department of 

Environmental Quality, 1111 East Main Street, Suite 1400, 

P.O. Box 1105, Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 698-

4022, FAX (804) 698-4178, or email 

william.norris@deq.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

Pursuant to Chapters 387 and 532 of the 2021 Acts of 

Assembly, Special Session I, the amendments change the 

name of the Department of Mines, Minerals and Energy to 

the Department of Energy and update Code of Virginia 

citations. 

9VAC25-640-30. Exclusions. 

The requirements of this chapter do not apply to: 

1. Vessels; 

2. Licensed motor vehicles, unless used solely for the storage 

of oil (e.g., airport refueling trucks and mobile refueling 

vehicles); 

3. An AST with a storage capacity of 660 gallons or less of 

oil, except with regard to purposes of the requirements of 

9VAC25-640-220; 

4. An AST containing petroleum, including crude oil or any 

fraction thereof, which is liquid at standard temperature and 

pressure (60°F at 14.7 pounds per square inch absolute) 

subject to and specifically listed or designated as a hazardous 

substance under subparagraphs (A) through (F) of § 101(14) 

of the federal Comprehensive Environmental Response, 

Compensation, and Liability Act (CERCLA) (42 USC 

§ 9601 et seq.); 

5. A wastewater treatment tank system that is part of a 

wastewater treatment facility regulated under § 402 or 

§ 307(b) of the federal Clean Water Act (33 USC § 1251 et 

seq.); 
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6. An AST that is regulated by the Department of Mines, 

Minerals and Energy under Chapter 22.1 (§ 45.1-361.1 et 

seq.) 16 (§ 45.2-1600 et seq.) of Title 45.1 45.2 of the Code 

of Virginia; 

7. An AST used for the storage of products that are regulated 

pursuant to the federal Food, Drug and Cosmetic Act 

(21 USC § 301 et seq.), except with regard to purposes of the 

requirements of 9VAC25-640-220; 

8. An AST that is used to store hazardous wastes listed or 

identified under Subtitle C of the Resource Conservation and 

Recovery Act (RCRA) (Solid Waste Disposal Act) (42 USC 

§ 6901 et seq.); 

9. An AST that is used to store propane gas, butane gas, or 

other liquid petroleum gases; 

10. An AST used to store nonpetroleum hydrocarbon-based 

animal and vegetable oils; 

11. A liquid trap or associated gathering lines directly related 

to oil or gas production, or gathering operations; 

12. A surface impoundment, pit, pond, or lagoon; 

13. A stormwater or wastewater collection system; 

14. Equipment or machinery that contains oil for operational 

purposes, including lubricating systems, hydraulic systems, 

and heat transfer systems; 

15. An AST that forms an integral part (cannot be readily 

detached or removed) of the equipment or machinery and the 

contents of the AST are solely used by the attached 

equipment or machinery (e.g., fuel tank affixed into the 

frame of an emergency generator); 

16. An AST used to contain oil for less than 120 days when: 

(i) used in connection with activities related to the 

containment and clean up of oil; (ii) used by a federal, state, 

or local entity in responding to an emergency; or (iii) used 

temporarily on site to replace permanent storage capacity, 

except with regard to purposes of the requirements of 

9VAC25-640-220; 

17. Oil-filled electrical equipment, including transformers, 

circuit breakers, or capacitors; 

18. A flow-through process tank; 

19. Oily water separators; 

20. An AST containing dredge spoils; 

21. An AST located on a farm or residence used for storing 

motor fuel for noncommercial purposes with an aggregated 

storage capacity of 1,100 gallons or less, except with regard 

to purposes of the requirements of 9VAC25-640-220; 

22. Pipes or piping beyond the first valve from the AST that 

connects an AST with production process tanks or 

production process equipment; 

23. An AST storing asphalt and asphalt compounds which 

are not liquid at standard conditions of temperature and 

pressure (60°F at 14.7 pounds per square inch absolute); 

24. Underground storage tanks regulated under a state 

program; 

25. An AST with a capacity of 5,000 gallons or less used for 

storing heating oil for consumptive use on the premises 

where stored, except with regard to purposes of the 

requirements of 9VAC25-640-220. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R22-6787; Filed August 29, 2021, 11:22 a.m. 

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The State Water Control Board is 

claiming an exemption from Article 2 of the Administrative 

Process Act in accordance with § 2.2-4006 A 4 a of the Code 

of Virginia, which excludes regulations that are necessary to 

conform to changes in Virginia statutory law or the 

appropriation act where no agency discretion is involved. The 

board will receive, consider, and respond to petitions by any 

interested person at any time with respect to reconsideration or 

revision. 

Title of Regulation: 9VAC25-690. Virginia Water 

Protection General Permit for Impacts from Development 

and Certain Mining Activities (amending 9VAC25-690-20, 

9VAC25-690-30, 9VAC25-690-100). 

Statutory Authority: § 62.1-44.15 of the Code of Virginia; 

§ 401 of the Clean Water Act (33 USC § 1251 et seq.). 

Effective Date: October 27, 2021. 

Agency Contact: William K. Norris, Department of 

Environmental Quality, 1111 East Main Street, Suite 1400, 

P.O. Box 1105, Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 698-

4022, FAX (804) 698-4178, or email 

william.norris@deq.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

Pursuant to Chapters 387 and 532 of the 2021 Acts of 

Assembly, Special Session I, the amendments change the 

name of the Department of Mines, Minerals and Energy to 

the Department of Energy and update Code of Virginia 

citations. 

9VAC25-690-20. Purpose; delegation of authority. 

A. The purpose of this chapter is to establish VWP General 

Permit Number WP4 under 9VAC25-210 to govern permanent 

and temporary impacts related to the construction and 

maintenance of development activities and to activities directly 

associated with aggregate mining (e.g., sand, gravel, and 

crushed or broken stone); hard rock/mineral mining (e.g., 

metalliferous ores); and surface coal, natural gas, and coalbed 

methane gas mining, as authorized by the Virginia Department 

of Mines, Minerals and Energy. Applications for coverage 

under this VWP general permit shall be processed for approval, 

approval with conditions, or denial by the board. Coverage, 
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coverage with conditions, or application denial by the board 

shall constitute the VWP general permit action and shall follow 

all provisions in the State Water Control Law (§ 62.1-44.2 et 

seq. of the Code of Virginia), except for the public comment 

and participation provisions, from which each VWP general 

permit action is exempt. 

B. The director or his designee may perform any act of the 

board provided under this chapter, except as limited by § 62.1-

44.14 of the Code of Virginia. 

9VAC25-690-30. Authorization to impact surface waters. 

A. Any person granted coverage under the VWP general 

permit effective August 2, 2016, may permanently or 

temporarily impact up to two acres of nontidal wetlands or 

open water and up to 1,500 linear feet of nontidal stream bed 

for general development and certain mining activities, 

provided that: 

1. The applicant submits notification as required in 

9VAC25-690-50 and 9VAC25-690-60. 

2. The applicant remits any required permit application fee. 

3. The applicant receives general permit coverage from the 

Department of Environmental Quality and complies with the 

limitations and other requirements of the VWP general 

permit; the general permit coverage letter; the Clean Water 

Act, as amended; and the State Water Control Law and 

attendant regulations. 

4. The applicant has not been required to obtain a VWP 

individual permit under 9VAC25-210 for the proposed 

project impacts. The applicant, at his discretion, may seek a 

VWP individual permit, or coverage under another 

applicable VWP general permit, in lieu of coverage under 

this VWP general permit. 

5. Impacts, both temporary and permanent, result from a 

single and complete project including all attendant features. 

a. Where a road segment (e.g., the shortest segment of a 

road with independent utility that is part of a larger 

project) has multiple crossings of surface waters (several 

single and complete projects), the board may, at its 

discretion, require a VWP individual permit. 

b. For the purposes of this chapter, when an interchange 

has multiple crossings of surface waters, the entire 

interchange shall be considered the single and complete 

project. 

6. The stream impact criterion applies to all components of 

the project, including structures and stream channel 

manipulations. 

7. Dredging does not exceed 5,000 cubic yards. 

8. When required, compensation for unavoidable impacts is 

provided in accordance with § 62.1-44.15:23 of the Code of 

Virginia, 9VAC25-690-70, and 9VAC25-210-116. 

B. Activities that may be granted coverage under this VWP 

general permit include the following: 

1. Residential, commercial, institutional. The construction or 

expansion of building foundations, building pads, and 

attendant features for residential, commercial, and 

institutional development activities. 

a. Residential developments include both single and 

multiple units. 

b. Commercial developments include retail stores, 

industrial facilities, restaurants, business parks, office 

buildings, and shopping centers. 

c. Institutional developments include schools, fire stations, 

government office buildings, judicial buildings, public 

works buildings, libraries, hospitals, and places of 

worship. 

d. Attendant features include roads, parking lots, garages, 

yards, utility lines, stormwater management facilities, and 

recreation facilities (such as playgrounds, playing fields, 

and golf courses). Attendant features must be necessary 

for the use and maintenance of the structures. 

2. Recreational facilities. The construction or expansion of 

recreational facilities and small support facilities. 

a. Recreational facilities include hiking trails, bike paths, 

horse paths, nature centers, and campgrounds (but not 

trailer parks). Boat ramps (concrete or open-pile timber), 

boathouses, covered boat lifts, mooring piles and 

dolphins, fender piles, camels (wooden floats serving as 

fenders alongside piers), and open-pile piers (including 

floating piers, travel-lift piers, etc.) associated with 

recreational facilities are also included. 

b. Recreational facilities do not include as a primary 

function the use of motor vehicles, buildings, or 

impervious surfaces. 

c. Golf courses and ski area expansions may qualify as 

recreational facilities provided the construction of the 

proposed facility does not result in a substantial deviation 

from the natural contours and the facility is designed to 

minimize adverse effects on state waters and riparian 

areas. Measures that may be used to minimize adverse 

effects on waters and riparian areas include the 

implementation of integrated pest management plans, 

adequate stormwater management, vegetated buffers, and 

fertilizer management plans. 

d. Small support facilities are authorized provided they are 

directly related to the recreational activity. Small support 

facilities include maintenance storage buildings and 

stables. 

e. The following do not qualify as recreational facilities: 

hotels, restaurants, playing fields (e.g., baseball, soccer, or 

football fields), basketball and tennis courts, racetracks, 

stadiums, arenas, or new ski areas. 
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f. The recreational facility must have an adequate water 

quality management plan, such as a stormwater 

management plan, to ensure that the recreational facility 

results in no substantial adverse effects to water quality. 

3. Stormwater management facilities. The construction, 

maintenance, and excavation of stormwater management 

facilities; the installation and maintenance of water control 

structures, outfall structures, and emergency spillways; and 

the maintenance dredging of existing stormwater 

management facilities. 

a. Stormwater management facilities include stormwater 

ponds and facilities, detention basins, retention basins, 

traps, and other facilities designed to reduce pollutants in 

stormwater runoff. 

b. The stormwater management facility must: 

(1) To the maximum extent practicable, be designed to 

maintain preconstruction downstream flow conditions 

(e.g., location, capacity, and flow rates). 

(2) Not permanently restrict or impede the passage of 

normal or expected high flows, unless the primary purpose 

of the facility is to impound waters. 

(3) Withstand expected high flows. 

(4) To the maximum extent practicable, provide for 

retaining excess flows from the site, provide for 

maintaining surface flow rates from the site similar to 

preconstruction conditions, and not increase water flows 

from the project site, relocate water, or redirect flow 

beyond preconstruction conditions. 

(5) To the maximum extent practicable, reduce adverse 

effects such as flooding or erosion downstream and 

upstream of the project site, unless the facility is part of a 

larger system designed to manage water flows. 

(6) Be designed using best management practices (BMPs) 

and watershed protection techniques. Examples of such 

BMPs are described in the Virginia Stormwater 

Management Handbook and include forebays, vegetated 

buffers, bioengineering methods, and siting considerations 

to minimize adverse effects to aquatic resources. 

c. Maintenance excavation shall be in accordance with the 

original facility maintenance plan, or when unavailable, an 

alternative plan approved by the Department of 

Environmental Quality, and shall not exceed to the 

maximum extent practicable, the character, scope, or size 

detailed in the original design of the facility. 

4. Mining facilities. The construction or expansion of mining 

facilities and attendant features for a single and complete 

project. This general permit may not be used to authorize 

impacts from in-stream mining activities or operations as 

defined in 9VAC25-690-10. 

a. Mining facilities include activities directly associated 

with aggregate mining (e.g., sand, gravel, and crushed or 

broken stone); hard rock/mineral mining (e.g., 

metalliferous ores); and surface coal, natural gas, and 

coalbed methane gas mining, as authorized by the Virginia 

Department of Mines, Minerals and Energy. 

b. Attendant features are authorized provided they are 

directly related to the mining facility, and include access 

road construction, parking lots, offices, maintenance 

shops, garages, and stormwater management facilities. 

c. Both direct impacts (e.g., footprints of all fill areas, road 

crossings, sediment ponds, and stormwater management 

facilities; mining through state waters; stockpile of 

overburden, and excavation) and indirect impacts (e.g., 

diversion of surface water and reach of state waters 

affected by sediment pond pool and sediment transport) 

shall be considered when granting coverage under this 

general permit. 

C. The board waives the requirement for coverage under a 

VWP general permit for activities that occur in an isolated 

wetland of minimal ecological value, as defined in 9VAC25-

210-10. Upon request by the board, any person claiming this 

waiver shall demonstrate to the satisfaction of the board that he 

qualifies for the waiver. 

D. Coverage under VWP general permit does not relieve the 

permittee of the responsibility to comply with any other 

applicable federal, state, or local statute, ordinance, or 

regulation. 

E. Coverage under a nationwide or regional permit 

promulgated by the U.S. Army Corps of Engineers (USACE), 

and for which the board has issued § 401 certification in 

accordance with 9VAC25-210-130 H as of August 2, 2016, 

shall constitute coverage under this VWP general permit unless 

(i) a state program general permit (SPGP) is required and 

granted for the activity or impact; or (ii) coverage under a VWP 

general permit is not allowed pursuant to subdivision D 2 of 

§ 62.1-44.15:21 of the State Water Control Law. 

F. Coverage under a permit issued by the Department of 

Mines, Minerals and Energy under the Virginia Coal Surface 

Mining Control and Reclamation Act, Chapter 19 (§ 45.1-226 

et seq.) 10 (§ 45.2-1000 et seq.) of Title 45.1 45.2 of the Code 

of Virginia, where such permit authorizes activities that may 

be permitted by this chapter and contains a mitigation plan for 

the impacts from the mining activities, shall also constitute 

coverage under this VWP general permit. 

G. When the board determines on a case-by-case basis that 

concerns for water quality and the aquatic environment so 

indicate, the board may require a VWP individual permit in 

accordance with 9VAC25-210-130 B rather than granting 

coverage under this VWP general permit. 
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9VAC25-690-100. VWP general permit. 

VWP GENERAL PERMIT NO. WP4 FOR IMPACTS 

FROM DEVELOPMENT AND CERTAIN MINING 

ACTIVITIES UNDER THE VIRGINIA WATER 

PROTECTION PERMIT AND THE VIRGINIA STATE 

WATER CONTROL LAW 

Effective date: August 2, 2016 

Expiration date: August 1, 2026 

In compliance with § 401 of the Clean Water Act, as amended 

(33 USC § 1341) and the State Water Control Law and 

regulations adopted pursuant thereto, the board has determined 

that there is a reasonable assurance that this VWP general 

permit, if complied with, will protect instream beneficial uses, 

will not violate applicable water quality standards, and will not 

cause or contribute to a significant impairment of state waters 

or fish and wildlife resources. In issuing this VWP general 

permit, the board has not taken into consideration the structural 

stability of any proposed activities. 

The permanent or temporary impact of up to two acres of 

nontidal wetlands or open water and up to 1,500 linear feet of 

nontidal stream bed shall be subject to the provisions of the 

VWP general permit set forth herein; any requirements in 

coverage granted under this general permit; the Clean Water 

Act, as amended; and the State Water Control Law and 

regulations adopted pursuant to it. 

Part I. Special Conditions. 

A. Authorized activities. 

1. The activities authorized by this chapter shall not cause 

more than the permanent or temporary impacts of up to two 

acres of nontidal wetlands or open water and up to 1,500 

linear feet of nontidal stream bed. Additional permit 

requirements as stipulated by the board in the coverage 

letter, if any, shall be enforceable conditions of this permit. 

2. Any changes to the authorized permanent impacts to 

surface waters shall require a notice of planned change in 

accordance with 9VAC25-690-80. An application or request 

for modification to coverage or another VWP permit 

application may be required. 

3. Any changes to the authorized temporary impacts to 

surface waters shall require written notification to and 

approval from the Department of Environmental Quality in 

accordance with 9VAC25-690-80 prior to initiating the 

impacts and restoration to preexisting conditions in 

accordance with the conditions of this permit. 

4. Modification to compensation requirements may be 

approved at the request of the permittee when a decrease in 

the amount of authorized surface waters impacts occurs, 

provided that the adjusted compensation meets the initial 

compensation goals. 

B. Overall conditions. 

1. The activities authorized by this VWP general permit shall 

be executed in a manner so as to minimize adverse impacts 

on instream beneficial uses as defined in § 62.1-10 (b) of the 

Code of Virginia. 

2. No activity may substantially disrupt the movement of 

aquatic life indigenous to the water body, including those 

species which normally migrate through the area, unless the 

primary purpose of the activity is to impound water. Pipes 

and culverts placed in streams must be installed to maintain 

low flow conditions and shall be countersunk at both inlet 

and outlet ends of the pipe or culvert, unless otherwise 

specifically approved by the Department of Environmental 

Quality on a case-by-case basis, and as follows: The 

requirement to countersink does not apply to extensions or 

maintenance of existing pipes and culverts that are not 

countersunk, floodplain pipes and culverts being placed 

above ordinary high water, pipes and culverts being placed 

on bedrock, or pipes and culverts required to be placed on 

slopes 5.0% or greater. Bedrock encountered during 

construction must be identified and approved in advance of 

a design change where the countersunk condition cannot be 

met. Pipes and culverts 24 inches or less in diameter shall be 

countersunk three inches below the natural stream bed 

elevations, and pipes and culverts greater than 24 inches 

shall be countersunk at least six inches below the natural 

stream bed elevations. Hydraulic capacity shall be 

determined based on the reduced capacity due to the 

countersunk position. In all stream crossings appropriate 

measures shall be implemented to minimize any disruption 

of aquatic life movement. 

3. Wet or uncured concrete shall be prohibited from entry 

into flowing surface waters, unless the area is contained 

within a cofferdam and the work is performed in the dry or 

unless otherwise approved by the Department of 

Environmental Quality. Excess or waste concrete shall not 

be disposed of in flowing surface waters or washed into 

flowing surface waters. 

4. All fill material shall be clean and free of contaminants in 

toxic concentrations or amounts in accordance with all 

applicable laws and regulations. 

5. Erosion and sedimentation controls shall be designed in 

accordance with the Virginia Erosion and Sediment Control 

Handbook, Third Edition, 1992, or for mining activities 

covered by this general permit, the standards issued by the 

Virginia Department of Mines, Minerals and Energy that are 

effective as those in the Virginia Erosion and Sediment 

Control Handbook, Third Edition, 1992. These controls shall 

be placed prior to clearing and grading and maintained in 

good working order to minimize impacts to state waters. 

These controls shall remain in place until the area is 

stabilized and shall then be removed. 
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6. Exposed slopes and streambanks shall be stabilized 

immediately upon completion of work in each permitted 

impact area. All denuded areas shall be properly stabilized 

in accordance with the Virginia Erosion and Sediment 

Control Handbook, Third Edition, 1992. 

7. All construction, construction access (e.g., cofferdams, 

sheetpiling, and causeways) and demolition activities 

associated with the project shall be accomplished in a 

manner that minimizes construction or waste materials from 

entering surface waters to the maximum extent practicable, 

unless authorized by this VWP general permit. 

8. No machinery may enter flowing waters, unless 

authorized by this VWP general permit or approved prior to 

entry by the Department of Environmental Quality. 

9. Heavy equipment in temporarily-impacted wetland areas 

shall be placed on mats, geotextile fabric, or other suitable 

material to minimize soil disturbance to the maximum extent 

practicable. Equipment and materials shall be removed 

immediately upon completion of work. 

10. All nonimpacted surface waters and compensatory 

mitigation areas within 50 feet of authorized activities and 

within the project or right-of-way limits shall be clearly 

flagged or marked for the life of the construction activity at 

that location to preclude unauthorized disturbances to these 

surface waters and compensatory mitigation areas during 

construction. The permittee shall notify contractors that no 

activities are to occur in these marked surface waters. 

11. Temporary disturbances to surface waters during 

construction shall be avoided and minimized to the 

maximum extent practicable. All temporarily disturbed 

wetland areas shall be restored to preexisting conditions 

within 30 days of completing work at each respective 

temporary impact area, which shall include reestablishing 

preconstruction elevations and contours with topsoil from 

the impact area where practicable and planting or seeding 

with appropriate wetland vegetation according to cover type 

(i.e., emergent, scrub-shrub, or forested). The permittee shall 

take all appropriate measures to promote and maintain 

revegetation of temporarily disturbed wetland areas with 

wetland vegetation through the second year post-

disturbance. All temporarily impacted streams and 

streambanks shall be restored to their preconstruction 

elevations and contours with topsoil from the impact area 

where practicable within 30 days following the construction 

at that stream segment. Streambanks shall be seeded or 

planted with the same vegetation cover type originally 

present, including any necessary supplemental erosion 

control grasses. Invasive species identified on the 

Department of Conservation and Recreation's Virginia 

Invasive Plant Species List shall not be used to the maximum 

extent practicable or without prior approval from the 

Department of Environmental Quality. 

12. Materials (including fill, construction debris, and 

excavated and woody materials) temporarily stockpiled in 

wetlands shall be placed on mats or geotextile fabric, 

immediately stabilized to prevent entry into state waters, 

managed such that leachate does not enter state waters, and 

completely removed within 30 days following completion of 

that construction activity. Disturbed areas shall be returned 

to preconstruction elevations and contours with topsoil from 

the impact area where practicable; restored within 30 days 

following removal of the stockpile; and restored with the 

same vegetation cover type originally present, including any 

necessary supplemental erosion control grasses. Invasive 

species identified on the Department of Conservation and 

Recreation's Virginia Invasive Plant Species List shall not be 

used to the maximum extent practicable or without prior 

approval from the Department of Environmental Quality. 

13. Continuous flow of perennial springs shall be maintained 

by the installation of spring boxes, french drains, or other 

similar structures. 

14. The permittee shall employ measures to prevent spills of 

fuels or lubricants into state waters. 

15. The permittee shall conduct activities in accordance with 

the time-of-year restrictions recommended by the Virginia 

Department of Wildlife Resources, the Virginia Marine 

Resources Commission, or other interested and affected 

agencies, as contained, when applicable, in Department of 

Environmental Quality VWP general permit coverage, and 

shall ensure that all contractors are aware of the time-of-year 

restrictions imposed. 

16. Water quality standards shall not be violated as a result 

of the construction activities. 

17. If stream channelization or relocation is required, all 

work in surface waters shall be done in the dry, unless 

otherwise authorized by the Department of Environmental 

Quality, and all flows shall be diverted around the 

channelization or relocation area until the new channel is 

stabilized. This work shall be accomplished by leaving a 

plug at the inlet and outlet ends of the new channel during 

excavation. Once the new channel has been stabilized, flow 

shall be routed into the new channel by first removing the 

downstream plug and then the upstream plug. The rerouted 

stream flow must be fully established before construction 

activities in the old stream channel can begin. 

C. Road crossings. 

1. Access roads and associated bridges, pipes, and culverts 

shall be constructed to minimize the adverse effects on 

surface waters to the maximum extent practicable. Access 

roads constructed above preconstruction elevations and 

contours in surface waters must be bridged, piped, or 

culverted to maintain surface flows. 
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2. Installation of road crossings shall occur in the dry via the 

implementation of cofferdams, sheetpiling, stream 

diversions, or similar structures. 

D. Utility lines. 

1. All utility line work in surface waters shall be performed 

in a manner that minimizes disturbance, and the area must 

be returned to its preconstruction elevations and contours 

with topsoil from the impact area where practicable and 

restored within 30 days of completing work in the area, 

unless otherwise authorized the Department of 

Environmental Quality. Restoration shall be the seeding of 

planting of the same vegetation cover type originally 

present, including any necessary supplemental erosion 

control grasses. Invasive specifies identified on the 

Department of Conservation and Recreation's Virginia 

Invasive Plant Species List shall not be used to the maximum 

extent practicable or without prior approval from the 

Department of Environmental Quality. 

2. Material resulting from trench excavation may be 

temporarily sidecast into wetlands not to exceed a total of 90 

days, provided the material is not placed in a manner such 

that it is dispersed by currents or other forces. 

3. The trench for a utility line cannot be constructed in a 

manner that drains wetlands (e.g., backfilling with extensive 

gravel layers creating a french drain effect.). For example, 

utility lines may be backfilled with clay blocks to ensure that 

the trench does not drain surface waters through which the 

utility line is installed. 

E. Stream modification and stream bank protection. 

1. Riprap bank stabilization shall be of an appropriate size 

and design in accordance with the Virginia Erosion and 

Sediment Control Handbook, Third Edition, 1992. 

2. Riprap apron for all outfalls shall be designed in 

accordance with the Virginia Erosion and Sediment Control 

Handbook, Third Edition, 1992. 

3. For stream bank protection activities, the structure and 

backfill shall be placed as close to the stream bank as 

practicable. No material shall be placed in excess of the 

minimum necessary for erosion protection. 

4. All stream bank protection structures shall be located to 

eliminate or minimize impacts to vegetated wetlands to the 

maximum extent practicable. 

5. Asphalt and materials containing asphalt or other toxic 

substances shall not be used in the construction of 

submerged sills or breakwaters. 

6. Redistribution of existing stream substrate for the purpose 

of erosion control is prohibited. 

7. No material removed from the stream bottom shall be 

disposed of in surface waters, unless otherwise authorized 

by this VWP general permit. 

F. Dredging. 

1. Dredging depths shall be determined and authorized 

according to the proposed use and controlling depths outside 

the area to be dredged. 

2. Dredging shall be accomplished in a manner that 

minimizes disturbance of the bottom and minimizes 

turbidity levels in the water column. 

3. If evidence of impaired water quality, such as a fish kill, 

is observed during the dredging, dredging operations shall 

cease, and the Department of Environmental Quality shall be 

notified immediately. 

4. Barges used for the transportation of dredge material shall 

be filled in such a manner to prevent the overflow of dredged 

materials. 

5. Double handling of dredged material in state waters shall 

not be permitted. 

6. For navigation channels the following shall apply: 

a. A buffer of four times the depth of the dredge cut shall 

be maintained between the bottom edge of the design 

channel and the channelward limit of wetlands, or a buffer 

of 15 feet shall be maintained from the dredged cut and the 

channelward edge of wetlands, whichever is greater. This 

landward limit of buffer shall be flagged and inspected 

prior to construction. 

b. Side slope cuts of the dredging area shall not exceed a 

two-horizontal-to-one-vertical slope to prevent slumping 

of material into the dredged area. 

7. A dredged material management plan for the designated 

upland disposal site shall be submitted and approved 30 days 

prior to initial dredging activity. 

8. Pipeline outfalls and spillways shall be located at opposite 

ends of the dewatering area to allow for maximum retention 

and settling time. Filter fabric shall be used to line the 

dewatering area and to cover the outfall pipe to further 

reduce sedimentation to state waters. 

9. The dredge material dewatering area shall be of adequate 

size to contain the dredge material and to allow for adequate 

dewatering and settling out of sediment prior to discharge 

back into state waters. 

10. The dredge material dewatering area shall utilize an 

earthen berm or straw bales covered with filter fabric along 

the edge of the area to contain the dredged material, filter 

bags, or other similar filtering practices, any of which shall 

be properly stabilized prior to placing the dredged material 

within the containment area. 



Regulations 

Volume 38, Issue 3  Virginia Register of Regulations  September 27, 2021  

346 

11. Overtopping of the dredge material containment berms 

with dredge materials shall be strictly prohibited. 

G. Stormwater management facilities. 

1. Stormwater management facilities shall be installed in 

accordance with best management practices and watershed 

protection techniques (e.g., vegetated buffers, siting 

considerations to minimize adverse effects to aquatic 

resources, bioengineering methods incorporated into the 

facility design to benefit water quality and minimize adverse 

effects to aquatic resources) that provide for long-term 

aquatic resources protection and enhancement, to the 

maximum extent practicable. 

2. Compensation for unavoidable impacts shall not be 

allowed within maintenance areas of stormwater 

management facilities. 

3. Maintenance activities within stormwater management 

facilities shall not require additional permit coverage or 

compensation provided that the maintenance activities do 

not exceed the original contours of the facility, as approved 

and constructed, and is accomplished in designated 

maintenance areas as indicated in the facility maintenance or 

design plan or when unavailable, an alternative plan 

approved by the Department of Environmental Quality. 

Part II. Construction and Compensation Requirements, 

Monitoring, and Reporting. 

A. Minimum compensation requirements. 

1. The permittee shall provide any required compensation 

for impacts in accordance with the conditions in this VWP 

general permit, the coverage letter, and the chapter 

promulgating the general permit. For all compensation that 

requires a protective mechanism, including preservation of 

surface waters or buffers, the permittee shall record the 

approved protective mechanism in the chain of title to the 

property, or an equivalent instrument for government-owned 

lands, and proof of recordation shall be submitted to the 

Department of Environmental Quality prior to commencing 

impacts in surface waters. 

2. Compensation options that may be considered under this 

VWP general permit shall meet the criteria in § 62.1-

44.15:23 of the Code of Virginia, 9VAC25-210-116, and 

9VAC25-690-70. 

3. The permittee-responsible compensation site or sites 

depicted in the conceptual compensation plan submitted 

with the application shall constitute the compensation site. 

A site change may require a modification to coverage. 

4. For compensation involving the purchase of mitigation 

bank credits or the purchase of in-lieu fee program credits, 

the permittee shall not initiate work in permitted impact 

areas until documentation of the mitigation bank credit 

purchase or of the in-lieu fee program credit purchase has 

been submitted to and received by the Department of 

Environmental Quality. 

5. The final compensation plan shall be submitted to and 

approved by the board prior to a construction activity in 

permitted impact areas. The board shall review and provide 

written comments on the final plan within 30 days of receipt 

or it shall be deemed approved. The final plan as approved 

by the board shall be an enforceable requirement of any 

coverage under this VWP general permit. Deviations from 

the approved final plan shall be submitted and approved in 

advance by the board. 

a. The final permittee-responsible wetlands compensation 

plan shall include: 

(1) The complete information on all components of the 

conceptual compensation plan. 

(2) A summary of the type and acreage of existing wetland 

impacts anticipated during the construction of the 

compensation site and the proposed compensation for 

these impacts; a site access plan; a monitoring plan, 

including proposed success criteria, monitoring goals, and 

the location of photo-monitoring stations, monitoring 

wells, vegetation sampling points, and reference wetlands 

or streams, if available; an abatement and control plan for 

undesirable plant species; an erosion and sedimentation 

control plan; a construction schedule; and the final 

protective mechanism for the compensation site or sites, 

including all surface waters and buffer areas within its 

boundaries. 

(3) The approved protective mechanism. The protective 

mechanism shall be recorded in the chain of title to the 

property, or an equivalent instrument for government-

owned lands, and proof of recordation shall be submitted 

to the Department of Environmental Quality prior to 

commencing impacts in surface waters. 

b. The final permittee-responsible stream compensation 

plan shall include: 

(1) The complete information on all components of the 

conceptual compensation plan. 

(2) An evaluation, discussion, and plan drawing or 

drawings of existing conditions on the proposed 

compensation stream, including the identification of 

functional and physical deficiencies for which the 

measures are proposed, and summary of geomorphologic 

measurements (e.g., stream width, entrenchment ratio, 

width-depth ratio, sinuosity, slope, substrate, etc.); a site 

access plan; a monitoring plan, including a monitoring and 

reporting schedule, monitoring design and methodologies 

for success, proposed success criteria, location of photo-

monitoring stations, vegetation sampling points, survey 

points, bank pins, scour chains, and reference streams; an 

abatement and control plan for undesirable plant species; 

an erosion and sedimentation control plan, if appropriate; 

a construction schedule; a plan-view drawing depicting 
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the pattern and all compensation measures being 

employed; a profile drawing; cross-sectional drawing or 

drawings of the proposed compensation stream; and the 

final protective mechanism for the protection of the 

compensation site or sites, including all surface waters and 

buffer areas within its boundaries. 

(3) The approved protective mechanism. The protective 

mechanism shall be recorded in the chain of title to the 

property, or an equivalent instrument for government-

owned lands, and proof of recordation shall be submitted 

to the Department of Environmental Quality prior to 

commencing impacts in surface waters. 

6. The following criteria shall apply to permittee-responsible 

wetland or stream compensation: 

a. The vegetation used shall be native species common to 

the area, shall be suitable for growth in local wetland or 

riparian conditions, and shall be from areas within the 

same or adjacent U.S. Department of Agriculture Plant 

Hardiness Zone or Natural Resources Conservation 

Service Land Resource Region as that of the project site. 

Planting of woody plants shall occur when vegetation is 

normally dormant, unless otherwise approved in the final 

wetlands or stream compensation plan or plans. 

b. All work in permitted impact areas shall cease if 

compensation site construction has not commenced within 

180 days of commencement of project construction, 

unless otherwise authorized by the board. 

c. The Department of Environmental Quality shall be 

notified in writing prior to the initiation of construction 

activities at the compensation site. 

d. Point sources of stormwater runoff shall be prohibited 

from entering a wetland compensation site prior to 

treatment by appropriate best management practices. 

Appropriate best management practices may include 

sediment traps, grassed waterways, vegetated filter strips, 

debris screens, oil and grease separators, or forebays. 

e. The success of the compensation shall be based on 

meeting the success criteria established in the approved 

final compensation plan. 

f. If the wetland or stream compensation area fails to meet 

the specified success criteria in a particular monitoring 

year, other than the final monitoring year, the reasons for 

this failure shall be determined, and a corrective action 

plan shall be submitted to the Department of 

Environmental Quality for approval with or before that 

year's monitoring report. The corrective action plan shall 

contain at minimum the proposed actions, a schedule for 

those actions, and a monitoring plan, and shall be 

implemented by the permittee in accordance with the 

approved schedule. Should significant changes be 

necessary to ensure success, the required monitoring cycle 

shall begin again, with monitoring year one being the year 

that the changes are complete, as confirmed by the 

Department of Environmental Quality. If the wetland or 

stream compensation area fails to meet the specified 

success criteria by the final monitoring year or if the 

wetland or stream compensation area has not met the 

stated restoration goals, reasons for this failure shall be 

determined and a corrective action plan, including 

proposed actions, a schedule, and a monitoring plan, shall 

be submitted with the final year monitoring report for 

Department of Environmental Quality approval. 

Corrective action shall be implemented by the permittee 

in accordance with the approved schedule. Annual 

monitoring shall be required to continue until two 

sequential, annual reports indicate that all criteria have 

been successfully satisfied and the site has met the overall 

restoration goals (e.g., that corrective actions were 

successful). 

g. The surveyed wetland boundary for the wetlands 

compensation site shall be based on the results of the 

hydrology, soils, and vegetation monitoring data and shall 

be shown on the site plan. Calculation of total wetland 

acreage shall be based on that boundary at the end of the 

monitoring cycle. Data shall be submitted by December 

31 of the final monitoring year. 

h. Herbicides or algicides shall not be used in or 

immediately adjacent to the wetlands or stream 

compensation site or sites without prior authorization by 

the board. All vegetation removal shall be done by manual 

means, unless authorized by the Department of 

Environmental Quality in advance. 

B. Impact site construction monitoring. 

1. Construction activities authorized by this permit that are 

within impact areas shall be monitored and documented. The 

monitoring shall consist of: 

a. Preconstruction photographs taken at each impact area 

prior to initiation of activities within impact areas. 

Photographs shall remain on the project site and depict the 

impact area and the nonimpacted surface waters 

immediately adjacent to and downgradient of each impact 

area. Each photograph shall be labeled to include the 

following information: permit number, impact area 

number, date and time of the photograph, name of the 

person taking the photograph, photograph orientation, and 

photograph subject description. 

b. Site inspections shall be conducted by the permittee or 

the permittee's qualified designee once every calendar 

month during activities within impact areas. Monthly 

inspections shall be conducted in the following areas: all 

authorized permanent and temporary impact areas; all 

avoided surface waters, including wetlands, stream 

channels, and open water; surface water areas within 50 

feet of any land disturbing activity and within the project 

or right-of-way limits; and all on-site permanent 

preservation areas required under this permit. 



Regulations 

Volume 38, Issue 3  Virginia Register of Regulations  September 27, 2021  

348 

Observations shall be recorded on the inspection form 

provided by the Department of Environmental Quality. 

The form shall be completed in its entirety for each 

monthly inspection and shall be kept on site and made 

available for review by the Department of Environmental 

Quality staff upon request during normal business hours. 

Inspections are not required during periods of no activity 

within impact areas. 

2. Monitoring of water quality parameters shall be conducted 

during permanent relocation of perennial streams through 

new channels in the manner noted below. The permittee 

shall report violations of water quality standards to the 

Department of Environmental Quality in accordance with 

the procedures in 9VAC25-690-100 Part II E. Corrective 

measures and additional monitoring may be required if water 

quality standards are not met. Reporting shall not be required 

if water quality standards are not violated. 

a. A sampling station shall be located upstream and 

immediately downstream of the relocated channel. 

b. Temperature, pH, and dissolved oxygen (D.O.) 

measurements shall be taken every 30 minutes for at least 

two hours at each station prior to opening the new 

channels and immediately before opening new channels. 

c. Temperature, pH, and D.O. readings shall be taken after 

opening the channels and every 30 minutes for at least 

three hours at each station. 

C. Permittee-responsible wetland compensation site 

monitoring. 

1. An as-built ground survey, or an aerial survey provided 

by a firm specializing in aerial surveys, shall be conducted 

for the entire compensation site or sites including invert 

elevations for all water elevation control structures and spot 

elevations throughout the site or sites. Aerial surveys shall 

include the variation from actual ground conditions, such as 

+/- 0.2 feet. Either type of survey shall be certified by a 

licensed surveyor or by a registered professional engineer to 

conform to the design plans. The survey shall be submitted 

within 60 days of completing compensation site 

construction. Changes or deviations in the as-built survey or 

aerial survey shall be shown on the survey and explained in 

writing. 

2. Photographs shall be taken at the compensation site or 

sites from the permanent markers identified in the final 

compensation plan, and established to ensure that the same 

locations and view directions at the site or sites are 

monitored in each monitoring period. These photographs 

shall be taken after the initial planting and at a time specified 

in the final compensation plan during every monitoring year. 

3. Compensation site monitoring shall begin on day one of 

the first complete growing season (monitoring year 1) after 

wetland compensation site construction activities, including 

planting, have been completed. Monitoring shall be required 

for monitoring years 1, 2, 3, and 5, unless otherwise 

approved by the Department of Environmental Quality. In 

all cases, if all success criteria have not been met in the final 

monitoring year, then monitoring shall be required for each 

consecutive year until two annual sequential reports indicate 

that all criteria have been successfully satisfied. 

4. The establishment of wetland hydrology shall be 

measured during the growing season, with the location and 

number of monitoring wells, and frequency of monitoring 

for each site, set forth in the final monitoring plan. 

Hydrology monitoring well data shall be accompanied by 

precipitation data, including rainfall amounts either from on 

site or from the closest weather station. Once the wetland 

hydrology success criteria have been satisfied for a 

particular monitoring year, monitoring may be discontinued 

for the remainder of that monitoring year following 

Department of Environmental Quality approval. After a 

period of three monitoring years, the permittee may request 

that hydrology monitoring be discontinued, providing that 

adequate hydrology has been established and maintained. 

Hydrology monitoring shall not be discontinued without 

written approval from the Department of Environmental 

Quality. 

5. The presence of hydric soils or soils under hydric 

conditions shall be evaluated in accordance with the final 

compensation plan. 

6. The establishment of wetland vegetation shall be in 

accordance with the final compensation plan. Monitoring 

shall take place in August, September, or October during the 

growing season of each monitoring year, unless otherwise 

authorized in the monitoring plan. 

7. The presence of undesirable plant species shall be 

documented. 

8. All wetland compensation monitoring reports shall be 

submitted in accordance with 9VAC25-690-100 Part II E 6. 

D. Permittee-responsible stream compensation and 

monitoring. 

1. Riparian buffer restoration activities shall be detailed in 

the final compensation plan and shall include, as 

appropriate, the planting of a variety of native species 

currently growing in the site area, including appropriate seed 

mixtures and woody species that are bare root, balled, or 

burlapped. A minimum buffer width of 50 feet, measured 

from the top of the stream bank at bankfull elevation 

landward on both sides of the stream, shall be required where 

practical. 

2. The installation of root wads, vanes, and other instream 

structures, shaping of the stream banks, and channel 

relocation shall be completed in the dry whenever 

practicable. 
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3. Livestock access to the stream and designated riparian 

buffer shall be limited to the greatest extent practicable. 

4. Stream channel restoration activities shall be conducted in 

the dry or during low flow conditions. When site conditions 

prohibit access from the streambank or upon prior 

authorization from the Department of Environmental 

Quality, heavy equipment may be authorized for use within 

the stream channel. 

5. Photographs shall be taken at the compensation site from 

the vicinity of the permanent photo-monitoring stations 

identified in the final compensation plan. The photograph 

orientation shall remain constant during all monitoring 

events. At a minimum, photographs shall be taken from the 

center of the stream, facing downstream, with a sufficient 

number of photographs to view the entire length of the 

restoration site. Photographs shall document the completed 

restoration conditions. Photographs shall be taken prior to 

site activities, during instream and riparian compensation 

construction activities, within one week of completion of 

activities, and during at least one day of each monitoring 

year to depict restored conditions. 

6. An as-built ground survey, or an aerial survey provided 

by a firm specializing in aerial surveys, shall be conducted 

for the entire compensation site or sites. Aerial surveys shall 

include the variation from actual ground conditions, such as 

+/- 0.2 feet. The survey shall be certified by the licensed 

surveyor or by a registered, professional engineer to conform 

to the design plans. The survey shall be submitted within 60 

days of completing compensation site construction. Changes 

or deviations from the final compensation plans in the as-

built survey or aerial survey shall be shown on the survey 

and explained in writing. 

7. Compensation site monitoring shall begin on day one of 

the first complete growing season (monitoring year 1) after 

stream compensation site construction activities, including 

planting, have been completed. Monitoring shall be required 

for monitoring years 1 and 2, unless otherwise approved by 

the Department of Environmental Quality. In all cases, if all 

success criteria have not been met in the final monitoring 

year, then monitoring shall be required for each consecutive 

year until two annual sequential reports indicate that all 

criteria have been successfully satisfied. 

8. All stream compensation site monitoring reports shall be 

submitted by in accordance with 9VAC25-690-100 Part II E 6. 

E. Reporting. 

1. Written communications required by this VWP general 

permit shall be submitted to the appropriate Department of 

Environmental Quality office. The VWP general permit 

tracking number shall be included on all correspondence. 

2. The Department of Environmental Quality shall be 

notified in writing prior to the start of construction activities 

at the first permitted impact area. 

3. A construction status update form provided by the 

Department of Environmental Quality shall be completed 

and submitted to the Department of Environmental Quality 

twice per year for the duration of coverage under a VWP 

general permit. Forms completed in June shall be submitted 

by or on July 10, and forms completed in December shall be 

submitted by or on January 10. The form shall include 

reference to the VWP permit tracking number and one of the 

following statements for each authorized surface water 

impact location: 

a. Construction activities have not yet started; 

b. Construction activities have started; 

c. Construction activities have started but are currently 

inactive; or 

d. Construction activities are complete. 

4. The Department of Environmental Quality shall be 

notified in writing within 30 days following the completion 

of all activities in all authorized impact areas. 

5. The Department of Environmental Quality shall be 

notified in writing prior to the initiation of activities at the 

permittee-responsible compensation site. The notification 

shall include a projected schedule of activities and 

construction completion. 

6. All permittee-responsible compensation site monitoring 

reports shall be submitted annually by December 31, with 

the exception of the last year, in which case the report shall 

be submitted at least 60 days prior to the expiration of the 

general permit, unless otherwise approved by the 

Department of Environmental Quality. 

a. All wetland compensation site monitoring reports shall 

include, as applicable, the following: 

(1) General description of the site including a site location 

map identifying photo-monitoring stations, vegetative and 

soil monitoring stations, monitoring wells, and wetland 

zones. 

(2) Summary of activities completed during the 

monitoring year, including alterations or maintenance 

conducted at the site. 

(3) Description of monitoring methods. 

(4) Analysis of all hydrology information, including 

monitoring well data, precipitation data, and gauging data 

from streams or other open water areas, as set forth in the 

final compensation plan. 

(5) Evaluation of hydric soils or soils under hydric 

conditions, as appropriate. 

(6) Analysis of all vegetative community information, 

including woody and herbaceous species, both planted and 

volunteers, as set forth in the final compensation plan. 
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(7) Photographs labeled with the permit number, the name 

of the compensation site, the photo-monitoring station 

number, the photograph orientation, the date and time of 

the photograph, the name of the person taking the 

photograph, and a brief description of the photograph 

subject. This information shall be provided as a separate 

attachment to each photograph, if necessary. Photographs 

taken after the initial planting shall be included in the first 

monitoring report after planting is complete. 

(8) Discussion of wildlife or signs of wildlife observed at 

the compensation site. 

(9) Comparison of site conditions from the previous 

monitoring year and reference site. 

(10) Discussion of corrective measures or maintenance 

activities to control undesirable species, to repair damaged 

water control devices, or to replace damaged planted 

vegetation. 

(11) Corrective action plan that includes proposed actions, 

a schedule, and monitoring plan. 

b. All stream compensation site monitoring reports shall 

include, as applicable, the following: 

(1) General description of the site including a site location 

map identifying photo-monitoring stations and monitoring 

stations. 

(2) Summary of activities completed during the 

monitoring year, including alterations or maintenance 

conducted at the site. 

(3) Description of monitoring methods. 

(4) Evaluation and discussion of the monitoring results in 

relation to the success criteria and overall goals of 

compensation. 

(5) Photographs shall be labeled with the permit number, 

the name of the compensation site, the photo-monitoring 

station number, the photograph orientation, the date and 

time of the photograph, the name of the person taking the 

photograph, and a brief description of the photograph 

subject. Photographs taken prior to compensation site 

construction activities, during instream and riparian 

restoration activities, and within one week of completion 

of activities shall be included in the first monitoring report. 

(6) Discussion of alterations, maintenance, or major storm 

events resulting in significant change in stream profile or 

cross section, and corrective actions conducted at the 

stream compensation site. 

(7) Documentation of undesirable plant species and 

summary of abatement and control measures. 

(8) Summary of wildlife or signs of wildlife observed at 

the compensation site. 

(9) Comparison of site conditions from the previous 

monitoring year and reference site, and as-built survey, if 

applicable. 

(10) Corrective action plan that includes proposed actions, 

a schedule and monitoring plan. 

(11) Additional submittals that were approved by the 

Department of Environmental Quality in the final 

compensation plan. 

7. The permittee shall notify the Department of 

Environmental Quality in writing when unusual or 

potentially complex conditions are encountered which 

require debris removal or involve potentially toxic 

substance. Measures to remove the obstruction, material, or 

toxic substance or to change the location of a structure are 

prohibited until approved by the Department of 

Environmental Quality. 

8. The permittee shall report fish kills or spills of oil or fuel 

immediately upon discovery. If spills or fish kills occur 

between the hours of 8:15 a.m. to 5 p.m., Monday through 

Friday, the appropriate Department of Environmental 

Quality regional office shall be notified; otherwise, the 

Department of Emergency Management shall be notified at 

1-800-468-8892. 

9. Violations of state water quality standards shall be 

reported to the appropriate Department of Environmental 

Quality office no later than the end of the business day 

following discovery. 

10. The permittee shall notify the Department of 

Environmental Quality no later than the end of the third 

business day following the discovery of additional impacts 

to surface waters including wetlands, stream channels, and 

open water that are not authorized by the Department of 

Environmental Quality or to any required preservation areas. 

The notification shall include photographs, estimated 

acreage or linear footage of impacts, and a description of the 

impacts. 

11. Submittals required by this VWP general permit shall 

contain the following signed certification statement: 

"I certify under penalty of law that this document and all 

attachments were prepared under my direction or 

supervision in accordance with a system designed to assure 

that qualified personnel properly gather and evaluate the 

information submitted. Based on my inquiry of the person or 

persons who manage the system, or those persons directly 

responsible for gathering the information, the information 

submitted is, to the best of my knowledge and belief, true, 

accurate, and complete. I am aware that there are significant 

penalties for submitting false information, including the 

possibility of fine and imprisonment for knowing violation." 

Part III. Conditions Applicable to All VWP General Permits. 

A. Duty to comply. The permittee shall comply with all 

conditions, limitations, and other requirements of the VWP 

general permit; any requirements in coverage granted under 

this VWP general permit; the Clean Water Act, as amended; 
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and the State Water Control Law and regulations adopted 

pursuant to it. Any VWP general permit violation or 

noncompliance is a violation of the Clean Water Act and State 

Water Control Law and is grounds for (i) enforcement action, 

(ii) VWP general permit coverage termination for cause, (iii) 

VWP general permit coverage revocation, (iv) denial of 

application for coverage, or (v) denial of an application for a 

modification to VWP general permit coverage. Nothing in this 

VWP general permit shall be construed to relieve the permittee 

of the duty to comply with all applicable federal and state 

statutes, regulations, and toxic standards and prohibitions. 

B. Duty to mitigate. The permittee shall take all reasonable 

steps to minimize or prevent impacts in violation of the VWP 

general permit which may have a reasonable likelihood of 

adversely affecting human health or the environment. 

C. Reopener. This VWP general permit may be reopened to 

modify its conditions when the circumstances on which the 

previous VWP general permit was based have materially and 

substantially changed, or special studies conducted by the 

board or the permittee show material and substantial change 

since the time the VWP general permit was issued and thereby 

constitute cause for revoking and reissuing the VWP general 

permit. 

D. Compliance with state and federal law. Compliance with 

this VWP general permit constitutes compliance with the VWP 

permit requirements of the State Water Control Law. Nothing 

in this VWP general permit shall be construed to preclude the 

institution of any legal action under or relieve the permittee 

from any responsibilities, liabilities, or other penalties 

established pursuant to any other state law or regulation or 

under the authority preserved by § 510 of the Clean Water Act. 

E. Property rights. The issuance of this VWP general permit 

does not convey property rights in either real or personal 

property or any exclusive privileges, nor does it authorize 

injury to private property, any invasion of personal property 

rights, or any infringement of federal, state, or local laws or 

regulations. 

F. Severability. The provisions of this VWP general permit 

are severable. 

G. Inspection and entry. Upon presentation of credential, the 

permittee shall allow the board or any duly authorized agent of 

the board, at reasonable times and under reasonable 

circumstances, to enter upon the permittee's property, public or 

private, and have access to inspect and copy any records that 

must be kept as part of the VWP general permit conditions; to 

inspect any facilities, operations, or practices (including 

monitoring and control equipment) regulated or required under 

the VWP general permit; and to sample or monitor any 

substance, parameter, or activity for the purpose of assuring 

compliance with the conditions of the VWP general permit or 

as otherwise authorized by law. For the purpose of this section, 

the time for inspection shall be deemed reasonable during 

regular business hours. Nothing contained herein shall make 

an inspection time unreasonable during an emergency. 

H. Transferability of VWP general permit coverage. VWP 

general permit coverage may be transferred to another 

permittee when all of the criteria listed in this subsection are 

met. On the date of the VWP general permit coverage transfer, 

the transferred VWP general permit coverage shall be as fully 

effective as if it had been granted directly to the new permittee. 

1. The current permittee notifies the board of the proposed 

transfer of the general permit coverage and provides a 

written agreement between the current and new permittees 

containing a specific date of transfer of VWP general permit 

responsibility, coverage, and liability to the new permittee, 

or that the current permittee will retain such responsibility, 

coverage, or liability, including liability for compliance with 

the requirements of enforcement activities related to the 

authorized activity. 

2. The board does not within 15 days notify the current and 

new permittees of its intent to modify or revoke and reissue 

the VWP general permit. 

I. Notice of planned change. VWP general permit coverage 

may be modified subsequent to issuance in accordance with 

9VAC25-690-80. 

J. VWP general permit coverage termination for cause. VWP 

general permit coverage is subject to termination for cause by 

the board after public notice and opportunity for a hearing 

pursuant to § 62.1-44.15:02 of the Code of Virginia. Reasons 

for termination for cause are as follows: 

1. Noncompliance by the permittee with any provision of 

this chapter, any condition of the VWP general permit, or 

any requirement in general permit coverage; 

2. The permittee's failure in the application or during the 

process of granting VWP general permit coverage to 

disclose fully all relevant facts or the permittee's 

misrepresentation of any relevant facts at any time; 

3. The permittee's violation of a special or judicial order; 

4. A determination by the board that the authorized activity 

endangers human health or the environment and can be 

regulated to acceptable levels by a modification to VWP 

general permit coverage or a termination; 

5. A change in any condition that requires either a temporary 

or permanent reduction or elimination of any activity 

controlled by the VWP general permit; or 

6. A determination that the authorized activity has ceased 

and that the compensation for unavoidable adverse impacts 

has been successfully completed. 

K. The board may terminate VWP general permit coverage 

without cause when the permittee is no longer a legal entity 

due to death or dissolution or when a company is no longer 
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authorized to conduct business in the Commonwealth. The 

termination shall be effective 30 days after notice of the 

proposed termination is sent to the last known address of the 

permittee or registered agent, unless the permittee objects 

within that time. If the permittee does object during that period, 

the board shall follow the applicable procedures for 

termination under §§ 62.1-44.15:02 and 62.1-44.15:25 of the 

Code of Virginia. 

L. VWP general permit coverage termination by consent. The 

permittee shall submit a request for termination by consent 

within 30 days of completing or canceling all authorized 

activities requiring notification under 9VAC25-690-50 A and 

all compensatory mitigation requirements. When submitted for 

project completion, the request for termination by consent shall 

constitute a notice of project completion in accordance with 

9VAC25-210-130 F. The director may accept this termination 

of coverage on behalf of the board. The permittee shall submit 

the following information: 

1. Name, mailing address, and telephone number; 

2. Name and location of the activity; 

3. The VWP general permit tracking number; and 

4. One of the following certifications: 

a. For project completion: 

"I certify under penalty of law that all activities and any 

required compensatory mitigation authorized by the VWP 

general permit and general permit coverage have been 

completed. I understand that by submitting this notice of 

termination I am no longer authorized to perform activities 

in surface waters in accordance with the VWP general 

permit and general permit coverage, and that performing 

activities in surface waters is unlawful where the activity 

is not authorized by the VWP permit or coverage, unless 

otherwise excluded from obtaining coverage. I also 

understand that the submittal of this notice does not 

release me from liability for any violations of the VWP 

general permit or coverage." 

b. For project cancellation: 

"I certify under penalty of law that the activities and any 

required compensatory mitigation authorized by the VWP 

general permit and general permit coverage will not occur. 

I understand that by submitting this notice of termination 

I am no longer authorized to perform activities in surface 

waters in accordance with the VWP general permit and 

general permit coverage, and that performing activities in 

surface waters is unlawful where the activity is not 

authorized by the VWP permit or coverage, unless 

otherwise excluded from obtaining coverage. I also 

understand that the submittal of this notice does not 

release me from liability for any violations of the VWP 

general permit or coverage, nor does it allow me to resume 

the authorized activities without reapplication and 

coverage." 

c. For events beyond permittee control, the permittee shall 

provide a detailed explanation of the events, to be 

approved by the Department of Environmental Quality, 

and the following certification statement: 

"I certify under penalty of law that the activities or the 

required compensatory mitigation authorized by the VWP 

general permit and general permit coverage have changed 

as the result of events beyond my control (see attached). I 

understand that by submitting this notice of termination I 

am no longer authorized to perform activities in surface 

waters in accordance with the VWP general permit and 

general permit coverage, and that performing activities in 

surface waters is unlawful where the activity is not 

authorized by the VWP permit or coverage, unless 

otherwise excluded from obtaining coverage. I also 

understand that the submittal of this notice does not 

release me from liability for any violations of the VWP 

general permit or coverage, nor does it allow me to resume 

the authorized activities without reapplication and 

coverage." 

M. Civil and criminal liability. Nothing in this VWP general 

permit shall be construed to relieve the permittee from civil and 

criminal penalties for noncompliance. 

N. Oil and hazardous substance liability. Nothing in this 

VWP general permit shall be construed to preclude the 

institution of legal action or relieve the permittee from any 

responsibilities, liabilities, or penalties to which the permittee 

is or may be subject under § 311 of the Clean Water Act or 

§§ 62.1-44.34:14 through 62.1-44.34:23 of the State Water 

Control Law. 

O. Duty to cease or confine activity. It shall not be a defense 

for a permittee in an enforcement action that it would have 

been necessary to halt or reduce the activity for which VWP 

general permit coverage has been granted in order to maintain 

compliance with the conditions of the VWP general permit or 

coverage. 

P. Duty to provide information. 

1. The permittee shall furnish to the board any information 

that the board may request to determine whether cause exists 

for modifying, revoking, or terminating VWP permit 

coverage or to determine compliance with the VWP general 

permit or general permit coverage. The permittee shall also 

furnish to the board, upon request, copies of records required 

to be kept by the permittee. 

2. Plans, maps, conceptual reports, and other relevant 

information shall be submitted as required by the board prior 

to commencing construction. 

Q. Monitoring and records requirements. 

1. Monitoring of parameters, other than pollutants, shall be 

conducted according to approved analytical methods as 

specified in the VWP general permit. Analysis of pollutants 
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will be conducted according to 40 CFR Part 136 (2000), 

Guidelines Establishing Test Procedures for the Analysis of 

Pollutants. 

2. Samples and measurements taken for the purpose of 

monitoring shall be representative of the monitored activity. 

3. The permittee shall retain records of all monitoring 

information, including all calibration and maintenance 

records and all original strip chart or electronic recordings 

for continuous monitoring instrumentation, copies of all 

reports required by the VWP general permit, and records of 

all data used to complete the application for coverage under 

the VWP general permit, for a period of at least three years 

from the date of general permit expiration. This period may 

be extended by request of the board at any time. 

4. Records of monitoring information shall include, as 

appropriate: 

a. The date, exact place, and time of sampling or 

measurements; 

b. The name of the individuals who performed the 

sampling or measurements; 

c. The date and time the analyses were performed; 

d. The name of the individuals who performed the 

analyses; 

e. The analytical techniques or methods supporting the 

information such as observations, readings, calculations, 

and bench data used; 

f. The results of such analyses; and 

g. Chain of custody documentation. 

R. Unauthorized discharge of pollutants. Except in 

compliance with this VWP general permit, it shall be unlawful 

for the permittee to: 

1. Discharge into state waters sewage, industrial wastes, 

other wastes, or any noxious or deleterious substances; 

2. Excavate in a wetland; 

3. Otherwise alter the physical, chemical, or biological 

properties of state waters and make them detrimental to the 

public health, to animal or aquatic life, or to the uses of such 

waters for domestic or industrial consumption, for 

recreation, or for other uses; or 

4. On and after October 1, 2001, conduct the following 

activities in a wetland: 

a. New activities to cause draining that significantly alters 

or degrades existing wetland acreage or functions; 

b. Filling or dumping; 

c. Permanent flooding or impounding; or 

d. New activities that cause significant alteration or 

degradation of existing wetland acreage or functions. 

S. Duty to reapply. Any permittee desiring to continue a 

previously authorized activity after the expiration date of the 

VWP general permit shall comply with the provisions in 

9VAC25-690-27. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R22-6789; Filed August 29, 2021, 11:30 a.m. 

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The State Water Control Board is 

claiming an exemption from Article 2 of the Administrative 

Process Act in accordance with § 2.2-4006 A 4 a of the Code 

of Virginia, which excludes regulations that are necessary to 

conform to changes in Virginia statutory law or the 

appropriation act where no agency discretion is involved. The 

board will receive, consider, and respond to petitions by any 

interested person at any time with respect to reconsideration or 

revision. 

Title of Regulation: 9VAC25-720. Water Quality 

Management Planning Regulation (amending 9VAC25-

720-10). 

Statutory Authority: § 62.1-44.15 of the Code of Virginia; 

§ 303 of the federal Clean Water Act. 

Effective Date: October 27, 2021. 

Agency Contact: William K. Norris, Department of 

Environmental Quality, 1111 East Main Street, Suite 1400, 

P.O. Box 1105, Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 698-

4022, FAX (804) 698-4178, or email 

william.norris@deq.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

Pursuant to Chapters 387 and 532 of the 2021 Acts of 

Assembly, Special Session I, the amendments change the 

name of the Department of Mines, Minerals and Energy to 

the Department of Energy.  

9VAC25-720-10. Definitions. 

The following words and terms when used in this chapter 

shall have the following meanings unless the context clearly 

indicates otherwise: 

"Assimilative capacity" means the greatest amount of loading 

that a water can receive without violating water quality 

standards, significantly degrading waters of existing high 

quality, or interfering with the beneficial use of state waters. 

"Best management practices (BMP)" means a schedule of 

activities, prohibition of practices, maintenance procedures 

and other management practices to prevent or reduce the 

pollution of state waters. BMPs include treatment 

requirements, operating and maintenance procedures, schedule 

of activities, prohibition of activities, and other management 

practices to control plant site runoff, spillage, leaks, sludge or 

waste disposal, or drainage from raw material storage. 

"Best practicable control technology currently available 

(BPT)" means control measures required of point source 

discharges (other than POTWs) as determined by the EPA 
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pursuant to § 304(b)(1) of the CWA (33 USC § 1251 et seq.) 

as of 1987. 

"Board" means the State Water Control Board (SWCB). 

"Chesapeake Bay Watershed" means the following Virginia 

river basins: Potomac River Basin (9VAC25-260-390 and 

9VAC25-260-400), James River Basin (9VAC25-260-410, 

9VAC25-260-415, 9VAC25-260-420, and 9VAC25-260-

430), Rappahannock River Basin (9VAC25-260-440), 

Chesapeake Bay and small coastal basins (9VAC25-260-520, 

Sections 2 through 3g), and the York River Basin (9VAC25-

260-530). 

"Clean Water Act or Act (CWA)" means 33 USC § 1251 et 

seq. as amended, as of 1987. 

"Delivery factor" means an estimate of the number of pounds 

of total nitrogen or total phosphorus delivered to tidal waters 

for every pound discharged from a permitted facility, as 

determined by the specific geographic location of the permitted 

facility, to account for attenuation that occurs during riverine 

transport between the permitted facility and tidal waters. 

Delivery factors shall be calculated using the Chesapeake Bay 

Program watershed model. 

"Discharge" means when used without qualification, a 

discharge of a pollutant or any addition of any pollutant or 

combination of pollutants to state waters or waters of the 

contiguous zone or ocean or other floating craft when being 

used for transportation. 

"Effluent limitation" means any restriction imposed by the 

board on quantities, discharge rates or concentrations of 

pollutants that are discharged from point sources into state 

waters. 

"Effluent limitation guidelines" means a regulation published 

by EPA under the Act and adopted by the board. 

"Effluent limited segment (EL)" means a stream segment 

where the water quality does and probably will continue to 

meet state water quality standards after the application of 

technology-based effluent limitations required by §§ 301(b) 

and 306 of the CWA (33 USC § 1251 et seq.) as of 1987. 

"Environmental Protection Agency (EPA)" means the United 

States Environmental Protection Agency. 

"Equivalent load" means 2,300 pounds per year of total 

nitrogen and 300 pounds per year of total phosphorus at a flow 

volume of 40,000 gallons per day; 5,700 pounds per year of 

total nitrogen and 760 pounds per year of total phosphorus at a 

flow volume of 100,000 gallons per day; and 28,500 pounds 

per year of total nitrogen and 3,800 pounds per year of total 

phosphorus at a flow volume of 500,000 gallons per day. 

"Load or loading" means the introduction of an amount of 

matter or thermal energy into a receiving water. Loading may 

be either man-caused (pollutant loading) or natural 

(background loading). 

"Load allocation (LA)" means the portion of a receiving 

water's loading capacity attributable either to one of its existing 

or future nonpoint sources of pollution or to natural 

background sources. Load allocations are best estimates of the 

loading, which may range from accurate estimates to gross 

allotments, depending on the availability of data and 

appropriate techniques for predicting the loading. Wherever 

possible, natural and nonpoint source loads should be 

distinguished. 

"Nonpoint source" means a source of pollution, such as a farm 

or forest land runoff, urban storm water runoff, mine runoff, or 

salt water intrusion that is not collected or discharged as a point 

source. 

"Point source" means any discernible, defined and discrete 

conveyance, including but not limited to any pipe, ditch, 

channel, tunnel, conduit, well, discrete fissure, container, 

rolling stock vessel or other floating craft, from which 

pollutants are or may be discharged. This term does not include 

return flows from irrigated agricultural land. 

"Pollutant" means any substance, radioactive material, or heat 

that causes or contributes to, or may cause or contribute to, 

pollution. It does not mean: 

1. Sewage from vessels; or 

2. Water, gas, or other material that is injected into a well to 

facilitate production of oil, dry gas, or water derived in 

association with oil or gas production and disposed of in a 

well, if the well is used either to facilitate production or for 

disposal purposes if approved by the Department of Mines, 

Minerals and Energy unless the board determines that such 

injection or disposal will result in the degradation of ground 

or surface water resources. 

"Pollution" means such alteration of the physical, chemical or 

biological properties of any state waters as will or is likely to 

create a nuisance or render such waters (i) harmful or 

detrimental or injurious to the public health, safety or welfare, 

or to the health of animals, fish or aquatic life; (ii) unsuitable 

with reasonable treatment for use as present or possible future 

sources of public water supply; or (iii) unsuitable for 

recreational, commercial, industrial, agricultural, or other 

reasonable uses; provided that: (a) an alteration of the physical, 

chemical, or biological property of state waters, or a discharge 

or deposit of sewage, industrial wastes or other wastes to state 

waters by any owner, which by itself is not sufficient to cause 

pollution, but which, in combination with such alteration of or 

discharge or deposit to state waters by other owners is 

sufficient to cause pollution; (b) the discharge of untreated 

sewage by any owner into state waters; and (c) contributing to 

the contravention of standards of water quality duly established 

by the board, are "pollution" for the terms and purposes of this 

water quality management plan. 

"Publicly owned treatment works (POTW)" means any 

sewage treatment works that is owned by a state or 
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municipality. Sewers, pipes, or other conveyances are included 

in this definition only if they convey wastewater to a POTW 

providing treatment. 

"Significant discharger" means (i) a point source discharger 

to the Chesapeake Bay watershed with a design capacity of 0.5 

million gallons per day or greater, or an equivalent load; (ii) a 

point source discharger to the Chesapeake Bay watershed 

downstream of the fall line with a design capacity of 0.1 

million gallons per day or greater, or an equivalent load; (iii) a 

planned or newly expanding point source discharger to the 

Chesapeake Bay watershed that is expected to be in operation 

by 2010 with a permitted design of 0.5 million gallons per day 

or greater, or an equivalent load; or (iv) a planned or newly 

expanding point source discharger to the Chesapeake Bay 

watershed downstream of the fall line with a design capacity 

of 0.1 million gallons per day or greater, or an equivalent load, 

that is expected to be in operation by 2010. 

"State waters" means all waters, on the surface and under the 

ground and wholly or partially within or bordering the 

Commonwealth or within its jurisdiction, including wetlands. 

"Surface water" means all waters in the Commonwealth 

except ground waters as defined in § 62.1-255 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

"Total maximum daily load (TMDL)" means the sum of the 

individual waste load allocations (WLAs) for point sources, 

load allocations (LAs) for nonpoint sources, natural 

background loading and usually a safety factor. TMDLs can be 

expressed in terms of either mass per time, toxicity, or other 

appropriate measure. The TMDL process provides for point 

versus nonpoint source trade-offs. 

"Toxic pollutant" means any agent or material including, but 

not limited to, those listed under § 307(a) of the CWA (33 USC 

§ 1251 et seq. as of 1987), which after discharge will, on the 

basis of available information, cause toxicity. 

"Toxicity" means the inherent potential or capacity of a 

material to cause adverse effects in a living organism, 

including acute or chronic effects to aquatic life, detrimental 

effects on human health or other adverse environmental 

effects. 

"Virginia Pollution Discharge Elimination System (VPDES) 

permit" means a document issued by the board, pursuant to 

9VAC25-31, authorizing, under prescribed conditions, the 

potential or actual discharge of pollutants from a point source 

to surface waters. 

"Waste load allocation (WLA)" means the portion of a 

receiving water's loading or assimilative capacity allocated to 

one of its existing or future point sources of pollution. WLAs 

are a type of water quality-based effluent limitation. 

"Water quality limited segment (WQL)" means any stream 

segment where the water quality does not or will not meet 

applicable water quality standards, even after the application 

of technology-based effluent limitations required by §§ 301(b) 

and 306 of the CWA (33 USC § 1251 et seq. as of 1987). 

"Water quality management plan (WQMP)" means a state- or 

area-wide waste treatment management plan developed and 

updated in accordance with the provisions of §§ 205(j), 208 

and 303 of the CWA (33 USC § 1251 et seq. as of 1987). 

"Water quality standards (WQS)" means narrative statements 

that describe water quality requirements in general terms, and 

of numeric limits for specific physical, chemical, biological or 

radiological characteristics of water. These narrative 

statements and numeric limits describe water quality necessary 

to meet and maintain reasonable and beneficial uses such as 

swimming and, other water based recreation, public water 

supply and the propagation and growth of aquatic life. The 

adoption of water quality standards under the State Water 

Control Law is one of the board's methods of accomplishing 

the law's purpose. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R22-6790; Filed August 29, 2021, 11:36 a.m. 

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The State Water Control Board is 

claiming an exemption from Article 2 of the Administrative 

Process Act in accordance with § 2.2-4006 A 4 a of the Code 

of Virginia, which excludes regulations that are necessary to 

conform to changes in Virginia statutory law or the 

appropriation act where no agency discretion is involved. The 

board will receive, consider, and respond to petitions by any 

interested person at any time with respect to reconsideration or 

revision. 

Title of Regulation: 9VAC25-720. Water Quality 

Management Planning Regulation (amending 9VAC25-

720-60, 9VAC25-720-120). 

Statutory Authority: § 62.1-44.15 of the Code of Virginia; 

33 USC § 1313(e) of the Clean Water Act. 

Effective Date: October 27, 2021. 

Agency Contact: Allan Brockenbrough, Department of 

Environmental Quality, 1111 East Main Street, Suite 1400, 

P.O. Box 1105, Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 698-

4147, FAX (804) 698-4178, or email 

allan.brockenbrough@deq.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

Chapters 363 and 364 of the 2021 Acts of Assembly, Special 

Session I, revise the Virginia Pollutant Discharge 

Elimination System permits to implement the Phase III 

Watershed Implementation Plan Enhanced Nutrient 

Removal Certainty Program. As part of that program, 

specific nutrient wasteload allocation reductions require 

the amendments, which (i) reduce nitrogen and phosphorus 

wasteload allocations for six Hampton Roads Sanitation 

District (HRSD) facilities in the James River basin 

according to staggered effective dates and the total nitrogen 

and phosphorous wasteload allocations for the James River 
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basin accordingly; (ii) transfer the wasteload allocation for 

one HRSD facility in the James Basin to the Nutrient Offset 

Fund; (iii) transfer the nitrogen and phosphorus wasteload 

allocations for one former industry to HRSD to reflect a 

previous trade addressed in the legislation; and (iv) reduce 

the nitrogen wasteload allocation for one HRSD facility in 

the York River basin and adjust the total nitrogen wasteload 

allocation for the York River basin accordingly. 

9VAC25-720-60. James River Basin. 

EDITOR'S NOTE: Subsections A and B of 9VAC25-720-60 

are not amended; therefore, that text is not set out. 

C. Nitrogen and phosphorus wasteload allocations to restore 

the Chesapeake Bay and its tidal rivers. 

The following table presents nitrogen and phosphorus 

wasteload allocations for the identified significant dischargers 

and the total nitrogen and total phosphorus wasteload 

allocations for the listed facilities. 

Virginia 

Waterbody ID 
Discharger Name 

VPDES Permit 

No. 

Total Nitrogen (TN) Wasteload 

Allocation (lbs/yr) 

Total Phosphorus (TP) Wasteload 

Allocation (lbs/yr) 

I37R Buena Vista STP VA0020991 41,115 3,426 

I09R Covington STP VA0025542 54,820 4,568 

H02R Georgia Pacific VA0003026 122,489 49,658 

I37R Lees Carpets VA0004677 30,456 12,182 

I35R 
Lexington-Rockbridge 

WQCF 
VA0088161 54,820 4,568 

I09R Low Moor STP VA0027979 9,137 761 

I09R 
Lower Jackson River 

STP 
VA0090671 63,957 5,330 

I04R MeadWestvaco VA0003646 394,400 159,892 

H12R Amherst STP VA0031321 10,964 914 

H05R BWX Technologies Inc. VA0003697 187,000 1,523 

H05R Greif Inc. VA0006408 73,246 29,694 

H31R Lake Monticello STP VA0024945 18,182 1,515 

H05R Lynchburg STP1 VA0024970 536,019 33,501 

H28R 
Moores Creek Regional 

STP 
VA0025518 274,100 22,842 

H38R Powhatan CC STP VA0020699 8,588 716 

J11R Crewe WWTP VA0020303 9,137 761 

J01R Farmville WWTP VA0083135 43,856 3,655 

G02E 
The Sustainability Park, 

LLC 
VA0002780 25,583 1,919 

G01E E I du Pont - Spruance VA0004669 201,080 7,816 

G01E Falling Creek WWTP VA0024996 153,801 15,380 

G01E Henrico County WWTP VA0063690 1,142,085 114,209 

G03E Honeywell – Hopewell VA0005291 1,090,798 51,592 

G03R Hopewell WWTP VA0066630 1,827,336 76,139 

G15E 
HRSD – Boat Harbor 

STP 
VA0081256 

740,000 

304,5933 

76,139 

38,0743 

30,4594 

22,8445 
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G11E 
HRSD – James River 

STP 
VA0081272 

1,250,000 

243,6743 

60,911 

30,4593 

24,3674 

18,2765 

G10E 
HRSD – Williamsburg 

STP 
VA0081302 

800,000 

274,1333 

68,525 

34,2673 

27,4134 

20,5605 

G02E Philip Morris – Park 500 VA0026557 139,724 2,650 

G01E Proctors Creek WWTP VA0060194 411,151 41,115 

G01E Richmond WWTP1 VA0063177 1,096,402 68,525 

G02E Dominion-Chesterfield2 VA0004146 272,036 210 

J15R 
South Central WW 

Authority 
VA0025437 350,239 35,024 

G07R Chickahominy WWTP VA0088480 6,167 123 

G05R 
Tyson Foods – Glen 

Allen 
VA0004031 19,552 409 

G11E HRSD – Nansemond 

STP 

VA0081299 750,000 

365,5113 

91,367 

45,6893 

36,5514 

27,4135 

27,4135 

G15E HRSD – Army Base STP VA0081230 610,000 

219,3073 

54,820 

27,4133 

21,9314 

16,4485 

G15E HRSD – VIP WWTP VA0081281 750,000 

487,3483 

121,822 

60,9193 

48,7354 

36,5515 

G15E HRSD – JH Miles & 

Company 

VA0003263 153,500 21,500 17,437 

C07E HRSD – Ches.-Elizabeth 

STP 

VA0081264 1,100,000 

454,5966, 7 

108,674 41,4507 

G01E Tranlin/Vastly 

 

80,000 

 

 

TOTALS 

 

14,901,739 

14,256,3356 

11,250,9013 

1,354,375 1,283,088 

1,046,3253 

998,9604 

951,5965 

Notes:  
1Wasteload allocations for localities served by combined sewers are based on dry weather design flow capacity. During wet weather flow 

events the discharge shall achieve a TN concentration of 8.0 mg/l and a TP concentration of 1.0 mg/l. 

2Wasteload allocations are "net" loads, based on the portion of the nutrient discharge introduced by the facility's process waste streams, and 

not originating in raw water intake. 

3Effective January 1, 2026. 



Regulations 

Volume 38, Issue 3  Virginia Register of Regulations  September 27, 2021  

358 

4Effective January 1, 2030. 

5Effective January 1, 2032. 

6Effective January 1, 2022. 

7Effective January 1, 2026, the HRSD – Chesapeake-Elizabeth STP wasteload allocations for total nitrogen and total phosphorus are 

transferred to the Nutrient Offset Fund. 

9VAC25-720-120. York River Basin. 

EDITOR'S NOTE: Subsections A and B of 9VAC25-720-120 are not amended; therefore, that text is not set out. 

C. Nitrogen and phosphorus wasteload allocations to restore the Chesapeake Bay and its tidal rivers. The following table presents 

nitrogen and phosphorus wasteload allocations for the identified significant dischargers and the total nitrogen and total 

phosphorus wasteload allocations for the listed facilities. 

Virginia Waterbody 

ID 
Discharger Name VPDES Permit No. 

Total Nitrogen (TN) 

Wasteload 

Allocation (lbs/yr) 

Total Phosphorus 

(TP) Wasteload 

Allocation (lbs/yr) 

F20R 
Caroline County 

STP 
VA0073504 9,137 609 

F01R Gordonsville STP VA0021105 17,177 1,145 

F04R Ashland WWTP VA0024899 36,547 2,436 

F09R Doswell WWTP VA0029521 18,273 1,218 

F09R 
Bear Island Paper 

Company 
VA0029521 47,328 10,233 

F27E 
Plains Marketing 

L.P. - Yorktown 
VA0003018 167,128 17,689 

F27E 
HRSD - York River 

STP 
VA0081311 

275,927 

228,4441 
18,395 

F14R 
Parham Landing 

WWTP 
VA0088331 36,547 2,436 

F14E 
RockTenn CP LLC - 

West Point 
VA0003115 259,177 56,038 

F12E 
Totopotomoy 

WWTP 
VA0089915 182,734 12,182 

F25E 
HRSD - West Point 

STP 
VA0075434 10,964 731 

 TOTALS:  
1,060,939 

1,013,4561 
123,112 

Notes: 
1Effective January 1, 2026. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R22-6773; Filed August 28, 2021, 4:02 p.m. 

  ––––––––––––––––––  
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TITLE 16. LABOR AND EMPLOYMENT 

SAFETY AND HEALTH CODES BOARD 

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: Pursuant to subdivision (6a) of § 40.1-

22 of the Code of Virginia, the Safety and Health Codes Board 

may adopt an emergency temporary standard to take immediate 

effect upon publication in a newspaper of general circulation, 

published in the City of Richmond, Virginia, if the board 

determines that employees are exposed to grave danger from 

exposure to substances or agents determined to be toxic or 

physically harmful or from new hazards, and that such emergency 

standard is necessary to protect employees from such danger. Such 

emergency standard was published 36:26 VA.R. 2770-2789 

August 17, 2020. The newspaper publication constituted notice 

that the board intends to adopt such standard within a period of six 

months. The board by similar publication shall prior to the 

expiration of six months give notice of the time and date of, and 

conduct a hearing on, the adoption of a permanent standard. This 

permanent standard supersedes the emergency standard. 

Title of Regulation: 16VAC25-220. Standard for Infectious 

Disease Prevention of the SARS-CoV-2 Virus that Causes 

COVID-19 (amending 16VAC25-220-10 through 

16VAC25-220-90). 

Statutory Authority: § 40.1-22 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: September 8, 2021. 

Agency contact information: Princy Doss, Director of Policy, 

Planning, and Public Information, Department of Labor and 

Industry, 600 East Main Street, Richmond, VA 23219, 

telephone (804) 786-4300, or email 

princy.doss@doli.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendments change the primary focus of the regulation 

from risk exposure level to mitigation strategies directed at 

protecting employees who are unvaccinated, not fully 

vaccinated, or are otherwise at risk from the grave danger 

presented by the SARS-CoV-2 virus, its variants, and 

COVID-19 disease and include (i) incorporating by 

reference two Centers for Disease Control and Prevention 

(CDC) documents; (ii) removing exposure risk levels and 

public or private institutions of higher education reopening 

plans; (iii) revising effective dates; (iv) adding and revising 

definitions; (v) revising CDC procedures for cleaning or 

disinfecting surfaces; (vi) making the requirement for 

employers to notify the Virginia Department of Labor and 

Industry of cases within a 14-day period consistent with a 

requirement to report such cases to the Virginia Department 

of Health; (vi) adding requirements for health care services 

or health care support services; and (vii) adding 

requirements for higher-risk workplaces. 

16VAC25-220-10. Purpose, scope, and applicability. 

A. This standard chapter is designed to establish requirements 

for employers to control, prevent, and mitigate the spread of 

SARS-CoV-2, the virus that causes coronavirus disease 2019 

(COVID-19) to and among employees and employers. 

B. This standard chapter is adopted in accordance with 

subdivision 6 a (6a) of § 40.1-22 of the Code of Virginia and 

shall apply to every employer, employee, and place of 

employment in the Commonwealth of Virginia within the 

jurisdiction of the VOSH program as described in 16VAC25-

60-20 and 16VAC25-60-30. 

1. Should the federal COVID-19 Emergency Temporary 

Standard, 29 CFR 1910.502, et seq., applicable to settings 

where any employee provides health care services or health 

care support services, be adopted by the Virginia Safety and 

Health Codes Board and take effect, application of this 

chapter, except for 16VAC25-220-40 B 7 d and B 7 e and 

16VAC25-220-90, to such covered employers and 

employees subject to the chapter shall be suspended while 

the federal COVID-19 Emergency Temporary Standard 

remains in effect. 

2. Should the federal COVID-19 Emergency Temporary 

Standard, 29 CFR 1910.502 et seq., applicable to settings 

where any employee provides health care services or health 

care support services, be adopted by the Virginia Safety and 

Health Codes Board but later be stayed or invalidated by a 

state or federal court, the provisions of this chapter, 

including 16VAC25-220-50, shall immediately apply to 

such employers and employees in its place with no further 

action of the board required.  

3. Should the federal COVID-19 Emergency Temporary 

Standard, 29 CFR 1910.502 et seq., applicable to all settings 

where any employee provides health care services or health 

care support services, be adopted by the Virginia Safety and 

Health Codes Board but later be stayed by federal OSHA, or 

otherwise revoked, repealed, declared unenforceable, or 

permitted to expire, the provisions of this chapter, including 

16VAC25-220-50, shall immediately apply to such 

employers and employees in its place with no further action 

of the board required. In addition, the Virginia Safety and 

Health Codes Board shall within 30 days, notice a regular, 

special, or emergency meeting/conduct a regular, special, or 

emergency meeting to determine whether there is a 

continued need for this chapter or whether it should be 

maintained, modified, or revoked. 

C. This standard chapter is designed to supplement and 

enhance existing VOSH laws, rules, regulations, and standards 

applicable directly or indirectly to SARS-CoV-2 virus or 

COVID-19 disease-related hazards such as, but not limited to, 

those dealing with personal protective equipment, respiratory 

protective equipment, sanitation, access to employee exposure 

and medical records, occupational exposure to hazardous 

http://register.dls.virginia.gov/details.aspx?id=8125
http://register.dls.virginia.gov/details.aspx?id=8125
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chemicals in laboratories, hazard communication, § 40.1-

51.1.A § 40.1-51.1 A of the Code of Virginia, etc. Should this 

standard conflict with an existing VOSH rule, regulation, or 

standard, the more stringent requirement from an occupational 

safety and health hazard prevention standpoint shall apply. 

Notwithstanding anything to the contrary in this standard, no 

enforcement action shall be brought against an employer or 

institution for failure to provide PPE required by this standard 

if such PPE is not readily available on commercially 

reasonable terms and the employer or institution makes a good 

faith effort to acquire or provide such PPE as is readily 

available on commercially reasonable terms. The Department 

of Labor and Industry shall consult with the Virginia 

Department of Health as to the ready availability of PPE on 

commercially reasonable terms and, in the event there are 

limited supplies of PPE, whether such supplies are being 

allocated to high risk or very high risk the appropriate 

workplaces. 

D. Application of this standard to a place of employment will 

be based on the exposure risk level presented by SARS-CoV-

2 virus-related and COVID-19 disease-related hazards present 

or job tasks undertaken by employees at the place of 

employment as defined in this standard (i.e., very high, high, 

medium, and lower risk levels). 

1. It is recognized that various hazards or job tasks at the 

same place of employment can be designated as very high, 

high, medium, or lower exposure risk for purposes of 

application of the requirements of this standard. It is further 

recognized that various required job tasks prohibit an 

employee from being able to observe physical distancing 

from other persons. 

2. Factors that shall be considered in determining exposure 

risk level include, but are not limited to: 

a. The job tasks being undertaken, the work environment 

(e.g., indoors or outdoors), the known or suspected 

presence of the SARS-CoV-2 virus, the presence of a 

person known or suspected to be infected with the SARS-

CoV-2 virus, the number of employees and other persons 

in relation to the size of the work area, the working 

distance between employees and other employees or 

persons, and the duration and frequency of employee 

exposure through contact inside of six feet with other 

employees or persons (e.g., including shift work 

exceeding eight hours per day); and 

b. The type of hazards encountered, including exposure to 

respiratory droplets and potential exposure to the airborne 

transmission of SARS-CoV-2 virus; contact with 

contaminated surfaces or objects, such as tools, 

workstations, or break room tables, and shared spaces such 

as shared workstations, break rooms, locker rooms, and 

entrances and exits to the facility; shared work vehicles; 

and industries or places of employment where employer 

sponsored shared transportation is a common practice, 

such as ride-share vans or shuttle vehicles, car-pools, and 

public transportation, etc. Reserved. 

E. To the extent that an employer actually complies with a 

recommendation contained in current CDC guidelines, 

whether mandatory or non-mandatory, to mitigate SARS-

CoV-2 virus and COVID-19 disease related hazards or job 

tasks addressed by this standard and provided that the CDC 

recommendation provides equivalent or greater protection than 

provided by a provision of this standard chapter, the employer's 

actions shall be considered in compliance with this standard 

chapter. An employer's actual compliance with a 

recommendation contained in current CDC guidelines, 

whether mandatory or non-mandatory, to mitigate SARS-

CoV-2 and COVID-19 related hazards or job tasks addressed 

by a provision of this standard chapter shall be considered 

evidence of good faith in any enforcement proceeding related 

to this standard chapter. The Commissioner of Labor and 

Industry shall consult with the State Health Commissioner for 

advice and technical aid before making a determination related 

to compliance with current CDC guidelines. 

F. A public or private institution of higher education that has 

received certification from the State Council of Higher 

Education for Virginia that the institution's reopening plans are 

in compliance with guidance documents, whether mandatory 

or non-mandatory, developed by the Governor's Office in 

conjunction with the Virginia Department of Health shall be 

considered in compliance with this standard, provided the 

institution operates in compliance with its certified reopening 

plans and the certified reopening plans provide equivalent or 

greater levels of employee protection than this standard. 

G. A public school division or private school that submits its 

plans to the Virginia Department of Education to move to 

Phase II and Phase III that are aligned with CDC guidance for 

reopening of schools that provide equivalent or greater levels 

of employee protection than a provision of this standard and 

that operate in compliance with the public school division's or 

private school's submitted plans shall be considered in 

compliance with this standard. An institution's actual 

compliance with recommendations contained in CDC 

guidelines or the Virginia Department of Education guidance, 

whether mandatory or non-mandatory, to mitigate SARS-

CoV-2 and COVID-19 related hazards or job tasks addressed 

by a provision of this standard shall be considered evidence of 

good faith in any enforcement proceeding related to this 

standard. The Commissioner of Labor and Industry shall 

consult with the State Health Commissioner for advice and 

technical aid before making a determination related to 

compliance with CDC guidelines. 

H. F. Nothing in the standard chapter shall be construed to 

require employers to conduct contact tracing of the SARS-

CoV-2 virus or COVID-19 disease. 



Regulations 

Volume 38, Issue 3  Virginia Register of Regulations  September 27, 2021  

361 

16VAC25-220-20. Effective dates. 

A. Adoption process. 

1. This standard chapter shall take effect upon review by the 

Governor, and if no revisions are requested, filing with the 

Registrar of Regulations and publication in a newspaper of 

general circulation published in the City of Richmond, 

Virginia. 

2. If the Governor's review results in one or more requested 

revisions to the standard chapter, the Safety and Health 

Codes Board shall reconvene to approve, amend, or reject 

the requested revisions. 

3. If the Safety and Health Codes Board approves the 

requested revisions to the standard chapter as submitted, the 

standard chapter shall take effect upon filing with the 

Registrar of Regulations and publication in a newspaper of 

general circulation published in the City of Richmond, 

Virginia. 

4. Should the Governor fail to review the standard chapter 

under subdivision A 1 of this section within 30 days of its 

approval by the Safety and Health Codes Board, the board 

will not need to reconvene to take further action, and the 

standard chapter shall take effect upon filing with the 

Registrar of Regulations and publication in a newspaper of 

general circulation published in the City of Richmond, 

Virginia. 

5. The Governor reviewed the standard under subdivision A 

1 of this section, and the effective date is January 27, 2021. 

B. The requirements for 16VAC25-220-70 shall take effect 

on March 26, 2021. The training requirements in 16VAC25-

220-80 shall take effect on March 26, 2021. 

C. Within 14 days of the expiration of the Governor's 

COVID-19 State of Emergency and Commissioner of Health's 

COVID-19 Declaration of Public Emergency, the Safety and 

Health Codes Board shall notice a regular, special, or 

emergency meeting/conduct a regular, special, or emergency 

meeting to determine whether there is a continued need for the 

standard. 

B. The Governor reviewed this chapter under subdivision A 

1 of this section, and the requirements of this chapter shall take 

effect on September 8, 2021, except where otherwise noted. 

C. The requirements for 16VAC25-220-70 shall take effect 

on October 8, 2021. 

D. The training requirements in 16VAC25-220-80 shall take 

effect on November 7, 2021. 

16VAC25-220-30. Definitions. 

The following words and terms when used in this chapter 

shall have the following meanings unless the context clearly 

indicates otherwise: 

"Administrative control" means any procedure that 

significantly limits daily exposure to SARS-CoV-2 virus and 

COVID-19 disease related workplace hazards and job tasks by 

control or manipulation of the work schedule or manner in 

which work is performed. The use of personal protective 

equipment is not considered a means of administrative control. 

"Aerosol-generating procedure" means a medical procedure 

that generates aerosols that can be infectious and are of 

respirable size. Only the following medical procedures are 

considered aerosol-generating procedures: open suctioning of 

airways; sputum induction; cardiopulmonary resuscitation; 

endotracheal intubation and extubation; non-invasive 

ventilation (e.g., BiPAP, CPAP); bronchoscopy; manual 

ventilation; medical/surgical/postmortem procedures using 

oscillating bone saws; and dental procedures involving: 

ultrasonic scalers; high-speed dental handpieces; air/water 

syringes; air polishing; and air abrasion. 

"Airborne infection isolation room" or "AIIR," formerly a 

negative pressure isolation room, means a single-occupancy 

patient-care room used to isolate persons with a suspected or 

confirmed airborne infectious disease. Environmental factors 

are controlled in AIIRs to minimize the transmission of 

infectious agents that are usually transmitted from person to 

person by droplet nuclei associated with coughing or 

aerosolization of contaminated fluids. AIIRs provide (i) 

negative pressure in the room so that air flows under the door 

gap into the room, (ii) an air flow rate of six to 12 air changes 

per hour (ACH) (six ACH for existing structures, 12 ACH for 

new construction or renovation), and (iii) direct exhaust of air 

from the room to the outside of the building or recirculation of 

air through a high efficiency particulate air (HEPA) filter 

before returning to circulation means a dedicated negative 

pressure patient-care room, with special air handling 

capability, that is used to isolate persons with a suspected or 

confirmed airborne-transmissible infectious disease. AIIRs 

include both permanent rooms and temporary structures (e.g., 

a booth, tent, or other enclosure designed to operate under 

negative pressure). 

"Ambulatory care" means health care services performed on 

an outpatient basis, without admission to a hospital or other 

facility. It is provided in settings such as offices of physicians 

and other health care professionals; hospital outpatient 

departments; ambulatory surgical centers; specialty clinics or 

centers (e.g., dialysis, infusion, medical imaging); and urgent 

care clinics. Ambulatory care does not include home health 

care settings. 

"ASTM" means American Society for Testing and Materials. 

"Asymptomatic" means a person who does not have 

symptoms. 

"Building or facility owner" means the legal entity, including 

a lessee, that exercises control over management and 
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recordkeeping functions relating to a building or facility in 

which activities covered by this standard chapter take place. 

"CDC" means Centers for Disease Control and Prevention. 

"Cleaning" means the removal of dirt and impurities, 

including germs, from surfaces Cleaning alone does not kill 

germs. But by removing the germs, cleaning decreases their 

number and therefore the risk of spreading infection using soap 

and water or other cleaning agents. Cleaning alone reduces 

germs on surfaces by removing contaminants and may also 

weaken or damage some of the virus particles, which decreases 

risk of infection from surfaces. 

"Community transmission," also called "community spread," 

means people have been infected with SARS-CoV-2 in an area, 

including some who are not sure how or where they became 

infected. 

The level of community transmission is classified by the CDC 

as: 

1. "No to minimal" where there is evidence of isolated cases or 

limited community transmission, case investigations are underway, 

and no evidence of exposure in large communal settings; 

2. "Moderate" where there is sustained community transmission 

with high likelihood or confirmed exposure within communal 

settings and potential for rapid increase in cases; 

3. "Substantial, controlled" where there is large scale, 

controlled community transmission, including communal 

settings (e.g., schools, workplaces, etc.); or 

4. "Substantial, uncontrolled" where there is large scale, 

uncontrolled community transmission, including communal 

settings (e.g., schools, workplaces, etc.). 

The level of community transmission may be obtained from 

the VDH website and is assessed using, at a minimum, two 

metrics: (i) new COVID-19 cases per 100,000 persons in the 

last seven days and (ii) the percentage of positive SARS-CoV-

2 diagnostic nucleic acid amplification tests in the last seven 

days. For each of these metrics, CDC classifies transmission 

values as low, moderate, substantial, or high. If the values for 

each of these two metrics differ (e.g., one indicates moderate 

and the other low), then the higher of the two should be used 

for decision-making.  

CDC core indicators of and thresholds for community 

transmission levels of SARS-CoV-2: 

Indicator 

Level 
Low Moderate Substantial High 

New 

COVID-
19 cases 

per 

100,000 
persons in 

the last 7 

days 

0–9.99 
10.00–

49.99 

50.00–

99.99 
≥100.00 

Percentage 

of positive 

SARS- 
Co-V-2 

diagnostic 

nucleic 
acid 

amplificati

on tests in 
the last 7 

days 

<5.00 <5.00 8.00–9.99 ≥10.00 

"Confirmed COVID-19" means a person, whether 

symptomatic or asymptomatic, who has tested positive for 

SARS-CoV-2, and the employer knew or with reasonable 

diligence should have known that the person has tested positive 

for SARS-CoV-2. 

"COVID-19" means Coronavirus Disease 2019, which is 

primarily a respiratory disease, caused by the SARS-CoV-2 

virus. 

"COVID-19 positive and confirmed COVID-19" refer to a 

person who has a confirmed positive test for, or who has been 

diagnosed by a licensed health care provider with, COVID-19. 

"COVID-19 test" means a test for SARS-CoV-2 that is: 

1. Cleared or approved by the U.S. Food and Drug 

Administration (FDA) or is authorized by an emergency use 

authorization (EUA) from the FDA to diagnose current 

infection with the SARS-CoV-2 virus; and 

2. Administered in accordance with the FDA clearance or 

approval or the FDA EUA as applicable. 

"Disinfecting" means using chemicals approved for use 

against SARS-CoV-2 virus, for example EPA-registered 

disinfectants, or non-EPA-registered disinfectants that 

otherwise meet the EPA criteria for use against SARS-CoV-2 

virus, to kill germs on surfaces. The process of disinfecting 

does not necessarily clean dirty surfaces or remove germs, but 

killing germs remaining on a surface after cleaning further 

reduces any risk of spreading infection. 

"Duration and frequency of employee exposure" means how 

long ("duration") and how often ("frequency") an employee is 

potentially exposed to the SARS-CoV-2 virus or COVID-19 

disease. Generally, the greater the frequency or length of time 

of the exposure, the greater the probability is for potential 

infection to occur. Frequency of exposure is generally more 

significant for acute acting agents or situations, while duration 

of exposure is generally more significant for chronic acting 

agents or situations. An example of an acute SARS-CoV-2 

virus or COVID-19 disease situation could involve a customer, 

patient, or other person who is not fully vaccinated not wearing 

a face covering or personal protective equipment or coughing 

or sneezing directly into the face of an employee. An example 

of a chronic situation could involve a job task that requires an 

employee who is not fully vaccinated to interact either for an 

extended period of time inside six feet with a smaller static 
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group of other employees or persons or for an extended period 

of time inside six feet with a larger group of other employees 

or persons in succession but for periods of shorter duration. 

"Economic feasibility" means the employer is financially able 

to undertake the measures necessary to comply with one or 

more requirements in this standard chapter. The cost of 

corrective measures to be taken will not usually be considered 

as a factor in determining whether a violation of this standard 

chapter has occurred. If an employer's level of compliance lags 

significantly behind that of its industry, an employer's claim of 

economic infeasibility will not support a VOSH decision to 

decline to take enforcement action. 

"Elastomeric respirator" means a tight-fitting respirator with 

a facepiece that is made of synthetic or rubber material that 

permits it to be disinfected, cleaned, and reused according to 

manufacturer's instructions. It is equipped with a replaceable 

cartridge, canister, or filter. 

"Elimination" means a method of exposure control that 

removes the employee completely from exposure to SARS-

CoV-2 virus and COVID-19 disease related workplace hazards 

and job tasks. 

"Employee" means an employee of an employer who is 

employed in a business of his employer. Reference to the term 

"employee" in this standard chapter also includes, but is not 

limited to, temporary employees and other joint employment 

relationships, persons in supervisory or management positions 

with the employer, etc., in accordance with Virginia 

occupational safety and health laws, standards, regulations, 

and court rulings. 

"Engineering control" means the use of substitution, isolation, 

ventilation, and equipment modification to reduce exposure to 

SARS-CoV-2 virus and COVID-19 disease related workplace 

hazards and job tasks. 

"Exposure risk level" means the level of possibility that an 

employee could be exposed to the hazards associated with 

SARS-CoV-2 virus and the COVID-19 disease. The exposure 

risk level assessment should address all risks and all modes of 

transmission, including airborne transmission, as well as 

transmission by asymptomatic and presymptomatic 

individuals. Risk levels should be based on the risk factors 

present that increase risk exposure to COVID-19 and are 

present during the course of employment regardless of 

location. Hazards and job tasks have been divided into four risk 

exposure levels: very high, high, medium, and lower: 

"Very high" exposure risk hazards or job tasks are those in 

places of employment with high potential for employee 

exposure to known or suspected sources of the SARS-CoV-2 

virus (e.g., laboratory samples) or persons known or suspected 

to be infected with the SARS-CoV-2 virus, including, but not 

limited to, during specific medical, postmortem, or laboratory 

procedures: 

1. Aerosol-generating procedures (e.g., intubation, cough 

induction procedures, bronchoscopies, some dental 

procedures and exams, or invasive specimen collection) on 

a patient or person known or suspected to be infected with 

the SARS-CoV-2 virus; 

2. Collecting or handling specimens from a patient or person 

known or suspected to be infected with the SARS-CoV-2 

virus (e.g., manipulating cultures from patients known or 

suspected to be infected with the SARS-CoV-2 virus); and 

3. Performing an autopsy that involves aerosol-generating 

procedures on the body of a person known or suspected to 

be infected with the SARS-CoV-2 virus at the time of their 

death. 

"High" exposure risk hazards or job tasks are those in places 

of employment with high potential for employee exposure 

inside six feet with known or suspected sources of SARS-CoV-

2, or with persons known or suspected to be infected with the 

SARS-CoV-2 virus that are not otherwise classified as very 

high exposure risk, including, but not limited to: 

1. Health care (physical and mental health) delivery and 

support services provided to a patient known or suspected to 

be infected with the SARS-CoV-2 virus, including field 

hospitals (e.g., doctors, nurses, cleaners, and other hospital 

staff who must enter patient rooms or areas); 

2. Health care (physical and mental) delivery, care, and 

support services, wellness services, non-medical support 

services, physical assistance, etc., provided to a patient, 

resident, or other person known or suspected to be infected 

with the SARS-CoV-2 virus involving skilled nursing 

services, outpatient medical services, clinical services, drug 

treatment programs, medical outreach services, mental 

health services, home health care, nursing home care, 

assisted living care, memory care support and services, 

hospice care, rehabilitation services, primary and specialty 

medical care, dental care, COVID-19 testing services, blood 

donation services, and chiropractic services; 

3. First responder services provided to a patient, resident, or 

other person known or suspected to be infected with the 

SARS-CoV-2 virus; 

4. Medical transport services (loading, transporting, 

unloading, etc.) provided to patients known or suspected to 

be infected with the SARS-CoV-2 virus (e.g., ground or air 

emergency transport, staff, operators, drivers, pilots, etc.); 

5. Mortuary services involved in preparing (e.g., for burial 

or cremation) the bodies of persons who are known or 

suspected to be infected with the SARS-CoV-2 virus at the 

time of their death; and 

6. Correctional facilities, jails, detention centers, and 

juvenile detention centers. 
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"Medium" exposure risk hazards or job tasks are those not 

otherwise classified as very high or high exposure risk in 

places of employment that require more than minimal 

occupational contact inside six feet with other employees, 

other persons, or the general public who may be infected with 

SARS-CoV-2, but who are not known or suspected to be 

infected with the SARS-CoV-2 virus. Medium exposure risk 

hazards or job tasks may include, but are not limited to, 

operations and services in: 

1. Poultry, meat, and seafood processing; agricultural and 

hand labor; commercial transportation of passengers by air, 

land, and water; on campus educational settings in schools, 

colleges, and universities; daycare and afterschool settings; 

restaurants and bars; grocery stores, convenience stores, and 

food banks; drug stores and pharmacies; manufacturing 

settings; indoor and outdoor construction settings; work 

performed in customer premises, such as homes or 

businesses; retail stores; call centers; package processing 

settings; veterinary settings; personal care, personal 

grooming, salon, and spa settings; venues for sports, 

entertainment, movies, theaters, and other forms of mass 

gatherings; homeless shelters; fitness, gym, and exercise 

facilities; airports, and train and bus stations; etc.; and 

2. Situations not involving exposure to known or suspected 

sources of SARS-CoV-2: hospitals, other health care 

(physical and mental) delivery and support services in a non-

hospital setting, wellness services, physical assistance, etc.; 

skilled nursing facilities; outpatient medical facilities; 

clinics, drug treatment programs, and medical outreach 

services; non-medical support services; mental health 

facilities; home health care, nursing homes, assisted living 

facilities, memory care facilities, and hospice care; 

rehabilitation centers, doctors' offices, dentists' offices, and 

chiropractors' offices; first responders services provided by 

police, fire, paramedic and emergency medical services 

providers, medical transport; contact tracers; correctional 

facilities, jails, detentions centers, and juvenile detention 

centers, etc. 

"Lower" exposure risk hazards or job tasks are those not 

otherwise classified as very high, high, or medium exposure 

risk that do not require contact inside six feet with persons 

known to be, or suspected of being, or who may be infected 

with SARS-CoV-2. Employees in this category have minimal 

occupational contact with other employees, other persons, or 

the general public, such as in an office building setting, or are 

able to achieve minimal occupational contact with others 

through the implementation of engineering, administrative and 

work practice controls, such as, but not limited to: 

1. Installation of floor to ceiling physical barriers 

constructed of impermeable material and not subject to 

unintentional displacement (e.g., such as clear plastic walls 

at convenience stores behind which only one employee is 

working at any one time); 

2. Telecommuting;  

3. Staggered work shifts that allow employees to maintain 

physical distancing from other employees, other persons, 

and the general public; 

4. Delivering services remotely by phone, audio, video, mail, 

package delivery, curbside pickup or delivery, etc., that 

allows employees to maintain physical distancing from other 

employees, other persons, and the general public; and 

5. Mandatory physical distancing of employees from other 

employees, other persons, and the general public. 

Employee use of face coverings for contact inside six feet of 

coworkers, customers, or other persons is not an acceptable 

administrative or work practice control to achieve minimal 

occupational contact. 

"Face covering" means an item made of two or more layers 

of washable, breathable fabric that fits snugly against the sides 

of the face without any gaps, completely covering the nose and 

mouth and fitting securely under the chin. Neck gaiters made 

of two or more layers of washable, breathable fabric, or folded 

to make two such layers are considered acceptable face 

coverings. Nonmedical disposable masks for single use that 

otherwise meet the definition of "face covering" in this chapter, 

with the exception that they are not washable, are permissible 

to use as face coverings. Face coverings shall not have 

exhalation valves or vents, which allow virus particles to 

escape, and shall not be made of material that makes it hard to 

breathe, such as vinyl. A face covering is not a surgical 

/medical procedure surgical mask or respirator. A face 

covering is not subject to testing and approval by a state or 

federal government agency, so it is not considered a form of 

personal protective equipment or respiratory protection 

equipment under VOSH laws, rules, regulations, and 

standards. Notwithstanding any other provisions in this 

definition, face coverings approved as having met ASTM 

standards for face coverings effective against the SARS-CoV-

2 virus shall be considered to be in compliance with this 

chapter. 

"Facemask" means a surgical, medical procedure, dental, or 

isolation mask that is FDA-cleared, authorized by an FDA 

EUA, or offered or distributed as described in an FDA 

enforcement policy. Facemasks may also be referred to as 

"medical procedure masks."  

"Face shield" means a form of personal protective equipment 

made of transparent, impermeable materials primarily used for 

eye protection from droplets or splashes for the person wearing 

it. A face shield is not a substitute for a face covering, 

surgical/medical procedure mask, or respirator. device, 

typically made of clear plastic, that: 

1. Is certified to ANSI/ISEA Z87.1; or 

2. Covers the wearer's eyes, nose, and mouth to protect from 

splashes, sprays, and spatter of body fluids, wraps around the 
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sides of the wearer's face (i.e., temple-to-temple), and 

extends below the wearer's chin. 

"Feasible" as used in this standard chapter includes both 

technical and economic feasibility. 

"Filtering facepiece respirator" means a negative pressure air 

purifying particulate respirator with a filter as an integral part 

of the facepiece or with the entire facepiece composed of the 

filtering medium. Filtering facepiece respirators are certified 

for use by the National Institute for Occupational Safety and 

Health (NIOSH). 

"Fully vaccinated" means a person is considered fully 

vaccinated for COVID-19 more than or equal to two weeks 

after they have received the second dose in a two-dose series, 

or more than or equal to two weeks after they have received a 

single-dose vaccine, provided such vaccine has been FDA-

approved, or authorized by an FDA EUA, or authorized for 

emergency use by the World Health Organization (WHO).  

"Hand sanitizer" means an alcohol-based hand rub containing 

at least 60% alcohol, unless otherwise provided for in this 

standard chapter. 

"HIPAA" means Health Insurance Portability and 

Accountability Act. 

"Known to be infected with the SARS-CoV-2 virus" means a 

person, whether symptomatic or asymptomatic, who has tested 

positive for SARS-CoV-2, and the employer knew or with 

reasonable diligence should have known that the person has 

tested positive for SARS-CoV-2. 

"May be infected with SARS-CoV-2 virus" means any person 

not currently known or suspected to be infected with SARS-

CoV-2 virus. 

"Minimal occupational contact" means no or very limited, 

brief, and infrequent contact with employees or other persons 

at the place of employment. Examples include, but are not 

limited to, remote work (i.e., those working from home); 

employees with no more than brief contact with others inside 

six feet (e.g., passing another person in a hallway that does not 

allow physical distancing of six feet); health care employees 

providing only telemedicine services; a long distance truck 

driver. 

"Health care services" mean services that are provided to 

individuals by professional health care practitioners (e.g., 

doctors, nurses, emergency medical personnel, oral health 

professionals) for the purpose of promoting, maintaining, 

monitoring, or restoring health. Health care services are 

delivered through various means including hospitalization, 

longterm care, ambulatory care, home health and hospice care, 

emergency medical response, and patient transport. Health 

care services include autopsies. 

"Health care support services" mean services that facilitate 

the provision of health care services. Health care support 

services include patient intake or admission, patient food 

services, equipment and facility maintenance, housekeeping 

services, health care laundry services, medical waste handling 

services, and medical equipment cleaning or reprocessing 

services. 

"Occupational exposure" means the state of being actually or 

potentially exposed to contact with SARS-CoV-2 virus or 

COVID-19 disease related hazards at the work location or 

while engaged in work activities at another location. 

"Otherwise at-risk" means a person whose ability to have a 

full immune response to vaccination may have been affected 

by certain conditions, such as a prior transplant, as well as 

prolonged use of corticosteroids or other immune-weakening 

medications. 

"Personal protective equipment" or "PPE" means equipment 

worn to minimize exposure to hazards that cause serious 

workplace injuries and illnesses. These injuries and illnesses 

may result from contact with chemical, radiological, physical, 

electrical, mechanical, biological, or other workplace hazards. 

Personal protective equipment for actual or potential exposure 

to SARS-CoV-2 or COVID-19 exposure may include, but is 

not limited to, gloves, safety glasses, goggles, shoes, earplugs 

or muffs, hard hats, respirators, surgical/medical procedure 

surgical masks, facemasks, impermeable gowns or coveralls, 

face shields, vests, and full body suits. 

"Physical distancing" also called "social distancing" means a 

person keeping space between himself and other persons while 

conducting work-related activities inside and outside of the 

physical establishment by staying at least six feet from other 

persons. Physical separation of an employee from other 

employees or persons by a permanent, solid floor to ceiling 

wall (e.g., an office setting) constitutes one form of physical 

distancing from an employee or other person stationed on the 

other side of the wall, provided that six feet of travel distance 

is maintained from others around the edges or sides of the wall 

as well. 

"Powered air-purifying respirator" or "PAPR" means an air-

purifying respirator that uses a blower to force the ambient air 

through air-purifying elements to the inlet covering. 

"Respirator" means a protective device that covers the nose 

and mouth or the entire face or head to guard the wearer against 

hazardous atmospheres. Respirators are certified for use by the 

National Institute for Occupational Safety and Health 

(NIOSH). Respirators may be (i) tight-fitting, which means 

either a half mask that covers the mouth and nose or a full face 

piece that covers the face from the hairline to below the chin 

or (ii) loose-fitting, such as hoods or helmets that cover the 

head completely. 

There are two major classes of respirators: 

1. Air-purifying, which remove contaminants from the air; 

and 
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2. Atmosphere-supplying, which provide clean, breathable air 

from an uncontaminated source. As a general rule, atmosphere-

supplying respirators are used for more hazardous exposures 

type of PPE that is certified by NIOSH under 42 CFR Part 84 

or is authorized under an EUA by the FDA. Respirators protect 

against airborne hazards by removing specific air contaminants 

from the ambient (surrounding) air or by supplying breathable 

air from a safe source. Common types of respirators include 

filtering facepiece respirators, elastomeric respirators, and 

PAPRs. Face coverings, facemasks, and face shields are not 

respirators. 

"Respirator user" means an employee who in the scope of 

their current job may be assigned to tasks that may require the 

use of a respirator in accordance with this standard chapter or 

required by other provisions in the VOSH and OSHA 

standards. 

"SARS-CoV-2" means the novel virus that causes 

coronavirus disease 2019, or COVID-19. Coronaviruses are 

named for the crown-like spikes on their surfaces. 

"Severely immunocompromised" means a seriously 

weakened immune system that lowers the body's ability to 

fight infection and may increase the risk of getting severely 

sick from SARS-CoV-2, from being on chemotherapy for 

cancer, being within one year out from receiving a 

hematopoietic stem cell or solid organ transplant, untreated 

HIV infection with CD4 T lymphocyte count less than 200, 

combined primary immunodeficiency disorder, and receipt of 

prednisone greater than 20mg per day for more than 14 days. 

The degree of immunocompromise is determined by the 

treating provider, and preventive actions are tailored to each 

individual and situation. 

"Signs of COVID-19" are medical conditions that can be 

objectively observed and may include fever, cough, shortness 

of breath or trouble breathing or shortness of breath, cough, 

vomiting, new confusion, bluish lips or face, inability to wake 

or stay awake, pale, gray, or blue-colored skin, lips, or nail 

beds, depending on skin tone, etc. 

"Surgical/medical procedure mask" means a mask to be worn 

over the wearer's nose and mouth that is fluid resistant and 

provides the wearer protection against large droplets, splashes, 

or sprays of bodily or other hazardous fluids, and prevents the 

wearer from exposing others in the same fashion. A 

surgical/medical procedure mask protects others from the 

wearer's respiratory emissions. A surgical/medical procedure 

mask has a looser fitting face seal than a tight-fitting respirator. 

A surgical/medical procedure mask does not provide the 

wearer with a reliable level of protection from inhaling smaller 

airborne particles. A surgical/medical procedure mask is 

considered a form of personal protective equipment, but is not 

considered respiratory protection equipment under VOSH 

laws, rules, regulations, and standards. Testing and approval is 

cleared by the U.S. Food and Drug Administration (FDA). 

"Surgical mask" means a mask that covers the user's nose and 

mouth and provides a physical barrier to fluids and particulate 

materials. The mask meets certain fluid barrier protection 

standards and Class I or Class II flammability tests. Surgical 

masks are generally regulated by FDA as Class II devices 

under 21 CFR 878.4040 – Surgical apparel. 

"Suspected to be infected with SARS-CoV-2 virus COVID-

19" means a person who has signs or symptoms of COVID-19 

but has not tested positive for SARS-CoV-2, and no alternative 

diagnosis has been made (e.g., tested positive for influenza) 

been told by a licensed health care provider that they are 

suspected to have COVID-19; or is experiencing recent loss of 

taste and/or smell with no other explanation; or is experiencing 

both fever (greater than or equal to 100.4° F) and new 

unexplained cough associated with shortness of breath; or has 

symptoms consistent with the clinical criteria in the CDC 

national case definition and no other explanation for symptoms 

exist. 

"Symptomatic" means a person is experiencing signs or 

symptoms attributed to COVID-19. A person may become 

symptomatic two to 14 days after exposure to the SARS-CoV-

2 virus. 

"Symptoms of COVID-19" are medical conditions that are 

subjective to the person and not observable to others and may 

include chills, fatigue, muscle or body aches, headache, new 

loss of taste or smell, sore throat, congestion or runny nose, 

nausea, congestion or runny nose, or diarrhea, etc. 

"Technical feasibility" means the existence of technical 

know-how as to materials and methods available or adaptable 

to specific circumstances that can be applied to one or more 

requirements in this standard chapter with a reasonable 

possibility that employee exposure to the SARS-CoV-2 virus 

and COVID-19 disease hazards will be reduced. If an 

employer's level of compliance lags significantly behind that 

of the employer's industry, allegations of technical infeasibility 

will not be accepted. 

"USBC" means Virginia Uniform Statewide Building Code. 

"Vaccine" means a biological product authorized or licensed 

by the FDA to prevent or provide protection against COVID-

19, whether the substance is administered through a single dose 

or a series of doses. 

"VDH" means Virginia Department of Health. 

"VOSH" means Virginia Occupational Safety and Health. 

"Work practice control" means a type of administrative 

control by which the employer modifies the manner in which 

the employee performs assigned work. Such modification may 

result in a reduction of exposure to SARS-CoV-2 virus and 

COVID-19 disease related workplace hazards and job tasks 

through such methods as changing work habits, improving 

sanitation and hygiene practices, or making other changes in 

the way the employee performs the job. 
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16VAC25-220-40. Mandatory requirements for all 

employers. 

A. Employers shall ensure compliance with the requirements 

in this section to protect employees in all exposure risk levels 

from workplace exposure to the SARS-CoV-2 virus that causes 

the COVID-19 disease have a policy in place to ensure 

compliance with the requirements in this section to protect 

employees from workplace exposure to the SARS-CoV-2 virus 

that causes the COVID-19 disease. Such policy shall have a 

method to receive anonymous complaints of violations. An 

employer that enforces its policy in good faith and resolves 

filed complaints shall be considered in compliance with this 

subsection. 

B. Exposure assessment and determination, notification 

requirements, and employee access to exposure and medical 

records. 

1. Employers shall assess their workplace for hazards and 

job tasks that can potentially expose employees to the 

SARS-CoV-2 virus or COVID-19 disease. Employers shall 

classify each job task according to the hazards employees 

are potentially exposed to and ensure compliance with the 

applicable sections of this standard for very high, high, 

medium, or lower risk levels of exposure. Tasks that are 

similar in nature and expose employees exposed to the same 

hazard may be grouped for classification purposes. 

Employers may rely on an employee's representation of 

being fully vaccinated, as defined by this chapter without 

requiring proof of vaccination; however, nothing in this 

chapter shall be construed to preclude an employer from 

requiring proof that an employee is fully vaccinated. 

2. Employers shall inform employees of the methods of and 

encourage employees to self-monitor for signs and 

symptoms of COVID-19 if employees suspect possible 

exposure or are experiencing signs or symptoms of illness. 

3. Serological testing, also known as antibody testing, is a 

test to determine if persons have been infected with SARS-

CoV-2 virus. It has not been determined that persons who 

test positive for the presence of antibodies by serological 

testing are immune from infection. 

a. Serologic test results shall not be used to make decisions 

about returning employees to work who were previously 

classified as known or suspected to be infected with the 

SARS-CoV-2 virus suspected or confirmed COVID-19. 

b. Serologic test results shall not be used to make decisions 

concerning employees who were previously classified as 

known or suspected to be infected with the SARS-CoV-2 

virus suspected or confirmed COVID-19 about grouping, 

residing in, or being admitted to congregate settings, such 

as schools, dormitories, etc. 

4. Employers shall develop and implement policies and 

procedures for employees to report when they are 

experiencing signs or symptoms consistent with COVID-19, 

and no alternative diagnosis has been made (e.g., tested 

positive for influenza). Such employees shall be designated 

by the employer as "suspected to be infected with SARS-

CoV-2 virus." suspected COVID-19. 

5. Employers shall not permit suspected or confirmed 

COVID-19 employees or other persons known or suspected 

to be infected with SARS-CoV-2 virus to report to or remain 

at the work site or engage in work at a customer or client 

location until cleared for return to work (see subsection C of 

this section). 

Nothing in this standard chapter shall prohibit an employer 

from permitting an employee known or suspected to be 

infected with SARS-CoV-2 virus a suspected or confirmed 

COVID-19 employee from engaging in teleworking or other 

form of work isolation that would not result in potentially 

exposing other employees to the SARS-CoV-2 virus. 

6. Employers shall discuss with subcontractors and 

companies that provide contract or temporary employees the 

importance and requirement to exclude from work 

employees or other persons (e.g., volunteers) who are known 

or suspected to be infected with the SARS-CoV-2 virus 

suspected or confirmed COVID-19. Subcontractor, contract, 

or temporary employees known or suspected to be infected 

with the SARS-CoV-2 virus who are suspected or confirmed 

COVID-19 shall not report to or be allowed to remain at the 

work site until cleared for return to work. Subcontractors 

shall not allow their suspected or confirmed COVID-19 

employees known or suspected to be infected with the 

SARS-CoV-2 virus to report to or be allowed to remain at 

work or on a job site until cleared for return to work. 

7. To the extent permitted by law, including HIPAA, 

employers shall establish a system to receive reports of 

positive SARS-CoV-2 COVID-19 tests by employees, 

subcontractors, contract employees, and temporary 

employees (excluding patients hospitalized on the basis of 

being known or suspected to be infected with SARS-CoV-2 

virus suspected or confirmed COVID-19) present at the 

place of employment within two days prior to symptom 

onset (or positive test if the employee is asymptomatic) until 

10 days after onset (or positive test). Employers shall notify: 

a. The employer's own employees who may have been 

exposed, within 24 hours of discovery of the employees' 

possible exposure, while keeping confidential the identity 

of the confirmed COVID-19 person known to be infected 

with SARS-CoV-2 virus in accordance with the 

requirements of the Americans with Disabilities Act 

(ADA) (42 USC § 1201 et seq.) and other applicable 

federal and Virginia laws and regulations; 

b. In the same manner as subdivision 7 a of this subsection, 

other employers whose employees were present at the 

work site during the same time period; 
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c. In the same manner as subdivision 7 a of this subsection, 

the building or facility owner. The building or facility 

owner will require all employer tenants to notify the owner 

of the occurrence of a SARS-CoV-2 COVID-19 positive 

test for any employees or residents in the building. This 

notification will allow the owner to take the necessary 

steps to sanitize clean the common areas of the building. 

In addition, the building or facility owner will notify all 

employer tenants in the building that one or more cases 

have been discovered and the floor or work area where the 

case was located. The identity of the individual will be 

kept confidential in accordance with the requirements of 

the Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) and other 

applicable federal and Virginia laws and regulations; 

d. The Virginia Department of Health during a declaration 

of an emergency by the Governor pursuant to § 44-146.17 

of the Code of Virginia. Every employer as defined by 

§ 40.1-2 of the Code of Virginia shall report to the 

Virginia Department of Health (VDH) when the work site 

has had two or more confirmed cases of COVID-19 of its 

own employees present at the place of employment within 

a 14-day period testing positive for SARS-CoV-2 virus 

COVID-19 during that 14-day time period. Employers 

shall make such a report in a manner specified by VDH, 

including name, date of birth, and contact information of 

each case, within 24 hours of becoming aware of such 

cases. Employers shall continue to report all cases until the 

local health department has closed the outbreak 

investigation. After the outbreak investigation is closed, 

subsequent identification of two or more confirmed cases 

of COVID-19 during a declared emergency shall be 

reported, as required by this subdivision B 7 d. The 

following employers are exempt from this provision 

because of separate outbreak reporting requirements 

contained in 12VAC5-90-90: any residential or day 

program, service, or facility licensed or operated by any 

agency of the Commonwealth, school, child care center, 

or summer camp; and 

e. The Virginia Department of Labor and Industry within 

24 hours of the discovery of three two or more of its own 

employees present at the place of employment within a 14-

day period testing positive for SARS-CoV-2 virus 

COVID-19 during that 14-day time period. A reported 

positive SARS-CoV-2 virus COVID-19 test does not need 

to be reported more than once and will not be used for the 

purpose of identifying more than one grouping of three 

two or more cases, or more than one 14-day period. 

8. Employers shall ensure employee access to the 

employee's own SARS-CoV-2 virus and COVID-19 disease 

related exposure and medical records in accordance with the 

standard applicable to its industry. Employers in the 

agriculture, public sector marine terminal, and public sector 

longshoring industries shall ensure employees' access to the 

employees' own SARS-CoV-2 virus and COVID-19 disease 

related exposure and medical records in accordance with 

16VAC25-90-1910.1020, Access to Employee Exposure 

and Medical Records. 

C. Return to work. Employers shall develop and implement 

policies and procedures for employees known or suspected to 

be infected with the SARS-CoV-2 virus suspected or 

confirmed COVID-19 employees to return to work. 

1. Symptomatic employees known or suspected to be 

infected with the SARS-CoV-2 virus are excluded from 

returning to work until all three of the following conditions 

have been met: 

a. The employee is fever-free (below 100.0° F) for at least 

24 hours, without the use of fever-reducing medications; 

b. Respiratory symptoms, such as cough and shortness of 

breath have improved; and 

c. At least 10 days have passed since symptoms first 

appeared. 

However, a limited number of employees with severe illness 

may produce replication-competent virus beyond 10 days 

that may warrant extending duration of isolation for up to 20 

days after symptom onset. Employees who are severely 

immunocompromised may require testing to determine 

when they can return to work, and the employer shall 

consider consultation with infection control experts. VOSH 

will consult with VDH when identifying severe employee 

illnesses that may warrant extended duration of isolation or 

severely immunocompromised employees required to 

undergo testing. 

2. Employees known to be infected with SARS-CoV-2 who 

never develop signs or symptoms are excluded from 

returning to work until 10 days after the date of their first 

positive RT-PCR test for SARS-CoV-2 RNA. 

3. 1. If the employer knows an employee is COVID-19 

positive, regardless of vaccination status then the employer 

must immediately remove that employee from the work site 

and keep the employee removed until they meet the return to 

work criteria in subdivision C 3 of this section. 

2. If the employer knows an employee is suspected COVID-

19, regardless of vaccination status then the employer must 

immediately remove that employee from the work site and 

either: 

a. Keep the employee removed until they meet the return 

to work criteria in subdivision C 3 of this section; or 

b. Keep the employee removed and provide a COVID-19 

polymerase chain reaction (PCR) test at no cost to the 

employee. 

(1) If the test results are negative, the employee may return 

to work immediately. 

(2) If the test results are positive, the employer must 

comply with subdivision C 1 of this section. 



Regulations 

Volume 38, Issue 3  Virginia Register of Regulations  September 27, 2021  

369 

(3) If the employee refuses to take the test, the employer 

must continue to keep the employee removed from the 

workplace consistent with subdivision C 1 of this section. 

Absent undue hardship, employers must make reasonable 

accommodations for employees who cannot take the test 

for religious or disability-related medical reasons.  

3. The employer must make decisions regarding an 

employee's return to work after a COVID-19-related 

workplace removal in accordance with guidance from a 

licensed health care provider, a VDH public health 

professional, or CDC's "Isolation Guidance" (hereby 

incorporated by reference); and CDC's "Return to Work 

Healthcare Guidance" (hereby incorporated by reference). If 

an employee has a known exposure to someone with 

COVID-19, the employee must follow any testing or 

quarantine guidance provided by a VDH public health 

professional. 

4. For purposes of this section, COVID-19 testing is 

considered a "medical examination" under § 40.1-28 of the 

Code of Virginia. Employers shall not require employees to 

pay for the cost of COVID-19 testing for return to work 

determinations. If an employer's health insurance covers the 

entire cost of COVID-19 testing, use of the insurance 

coverage would not be considered a violation of this 

subdivision C 3 4. 

D. Unless otherwise provided in this standard chapter, 

employers shall establish and implement policies and 

procedures that ensure employees who are not fully vaccinated 

and otherwise at-risk employees observe physical distancing 

while on the job and during paid breaks on the employer's 

property, including policies and procedures that: 

1. Use verbal announcements, signage, or visual cues to 

promote physical distancing.; 

2. Decrease worksite density by limiting non-employee 

access to the place of employment or restrict access to only 

certain workplace areas to reduce the risk of exposure. An 

employer's compliance with occupancy limits contained in 

any applicable Virginia executive order or order of public 

health emergency will constitute compliance with the 

requirements in this subsection; and 

3. Provide that such requirements do not apply to fully 

vaccinated employees. 

E. Access to common areas, breakrooms, or lunchrooms shall 

be closed or controlled. This subsection does not apply to fully 

vaccinated employees.  

If the nature of an employer's work or the work area does not 

allow employees to consume meals in the employee's 

workspace while observing physical distancing, an employer 

may designate, reconfigure, and alternate usage of spaces 

where employees congregate, including lunch and break 

rooms, locker rooms, time clocks, etc., with controlled access, 

provided the following conditions are met: 

1. At the entrance of the designated common area or room, 

employers shall clearly post the policy limiting the 

occupancy of the space and requirements for physical 

distancing, hand washing and hand sanitizing, and cleaning 

and disinfecting of shared surfaces. for employees who are 

not fully vaccinated; 

2. Employers shall limit occupancy of the designated 

common area or room so that occupants who are not fully 

vaccinated can maintain physical distancing from each 

other. Employers shall enforce the occupancy limit.; 

3. Employees shall be required to clean and disinfect the 

immediate area in which they were located prior to leaving, 

or employers may provide for cleaning and disinfecting of 

the common area or room at regular intervals throughout the 

day and between shifts of employees using the same 

common area or room (i.e., where an employee or groups of 

employees have a designated lunch period and the common 

area or room can be cleaned in between occupancies). When 

no suspected or confirmed COVID-19 persons are known to 

have been in a space, the employer shall clean the common 

area, breakroom, or lunchroom once per shift; and 

4. Handwashing facilities, and hand sanitizer where feasible, 

are available to employees. Hand sanitizers required for use 

to protect against SARS-CoV-2 are flammable and use and 

storage in hot environments can result in a hazard. 

F. When multiple employees are an employee is occupying a 

vehicle or other form of transportation with one or more 

employees or other persons for work purposes, employers shall 

use the hierarchy of hazard controls to mitigate the hazards 

associated with SARS-CoV-2 and COVID-19 to prevent 

employee exposures in the following order. This subsection 

does not apply to fully vaccinated employees in areas of low to 

moderate community transmission and except as otherwise 

noted: 

1. Eliminate the need for employees to share work vehicles 

or other transportation and arrange for alternative means for 

additional employees to travel to work sites. 

2. Provide access to fresh air ventilation (e.g., windows). Do 

not recirculate cabin air. 

3. When physical distancing cannot be maintained, establish 

procedures to maximize separation between employees as 

well as other persons during travel (e.g., setting occupancy 

limits, sitting in alternate seats, etc.). 

4. When employees an employee who is not fully vaccinated 

must share a work vehicles vehicle or other transportation 

with one or more employees or other persons because no 

other alternatives are available, such employees shall be 

provided with and wear respiratory protection, such as an 

N95 filtering face piece respirator, or a face covering at the 
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option of the employee. When an employee who is fully 

vaccinated must share work vehicles or other transportation 

with one or more employees or other persons in areas of 

substantial or high community transmission because no 

other alternatives are available, such employees shall be 

provided with and wear face coverings. 

5. The employer shall ensure compliance with respiratory 

protection and personal protective equipment standards 

applicable to the employer's industry (e.g., when one or more 

employees is accompanying a suspected or confirmed 

COVID-19 person in an ambulance). 

5. 6. Until adequate supplies of respiratory protection and/or 

personal protective equipment become readily available for 

non-medical and non-first responder employers and 

employees, employers shall provide and employees shall 

wear face coverings while occupying a work vehicle or other 

transportation with other employees or persons. 

Notwithstanding anything to the contrary in this standard 

chapter, the Secretary of Commerce and Trade Labor may 

exercise discretion in the enforcement of an employer's 

failure to provide PPE required by this standard chapter, if 

the employer demonstrates that the employer: 

a. Is exercising due diligence to come into compliance 

with such requirement; and 

b. Is implementing alternative methods and measures to 

protect employees that are satisfactory to the Secretary of 

Commerce and Trade Labor after consultation with the 

commissioner Commissioner of Labor and Industry and 

the Secretary of Health and Human Services. 

7. For commercial motor vehicles or trucks, if the driver is 

the only person in the vehicle or truck, or the vehicle or truck 

is operated by a team who all live in the same household and 

are the only persons in the vehicle, an employer of such 

drivers would be considered to be in compliance with 

subdivisions F 1 through F 5 of this section. 

G. Where the nature of an employee's work or the work area 

does not allow the employee to observe physical distancing 

requirements, employers shall ensure compliance with 

respiratory protection and personal protective equipment 

standards applicable to its industry. Employers shall provide 

and require employees that are not fully vaccinated, fully 

vaccinated employees in areas of substantial or high 

community transmission, and otherwise at-risk employees 

(because of a prior transplant or other medical condition) to 

wear face coverings or surgical masks while indoors, unless 

their work task requires a respirator or other PPE. Such 

employees shall wear a face covering or surgical mask that 

covers the nose and mouth to contain the wearer's respiratory 

droplets and help protect others and potentially themselves. 

This subsection does not apply to fully vaccinated employees 

in areas of low to moderate community transmission, and 

except as otherwise noted. 

The following are exceptions to the requirements for face 

coverings, facemasks or surgical masks for employees that are 

not fully vaccinated and fully vaccinated employees in areas of 

substantial or high community transmission: 

1. When an employee is alone in a room. 

2. While an employee is eating and drinking at the 

workplace, provided each employee who is not fully 

vaccinated is at least six feet away from any other person, or 

separated from other people by a physical barrier. 

3. When employees are wearing respiratory protection in 

accordance with 16VAC25-90-1910.134 or this chapter. 

4. When it is important to see a person's mouth (e.g., 

communicating with an individual who is deaf or hard of 

hearing) and the conditions do not permit a facemask that is 

constructed of clear plastic or includes a clear plastic 

window. In such situations, the employer must ensure that 

each employee wears an alternative to protect the employee, 

such as a face shield, if the conditions permit it. The 

employer may determine that the use of face shields without 

facemasks in certain settings is not appropriate due to other 

infection control concerns.  

5. When employees cannot wear facemasks due to a medical 

necessity, medical condition, or disability as defined in the 

Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) (42 USC § 12101 et 

seq.), or due to a religious belief. Exceptions must be 

provided for a narrow subset of persons with a disability who 

cannot wear a facemask or cannot safely wear a facemask, 

because of the disability, as defined in the ADA, including a 

person who cannot independently remove the facemask. The 

remaining portion of the subset who cannot wear a facemask 

may be exempted on a case-by-case basis as required by the 

ADA and other applicable laws. In all such situations, the 

employer must ensure that any such employee wears a face 

shield for the protection of the employee, if their condition 

or disability permits it. Accommodations may also need to 

be made for religious beliefs consistent with Title VII of the 

Civil Rights Act (42 USC § 2000e et seq.). The employer 

may determine that the use of face shields without facemasks 

in certain settings is not appropriate due to other infection 

control concerns. 

6. When the employer can demonstrate that the use of a 

facemask presents a hazard to an employee of serious injury 

or death (e.g., arc flash, heat stress, interfering with the safe 

operation of equipment). In such situations, the employer 

must ensure that each employee wears an alternative to 

protect the employee, such as a face shield, if the conditions 

permit it. Any employee not wearing a facemask must 

remain at least six feet away from all other people unless the 

employer can demonstrate it is not feasible. The employee 

must resume wearing a facemask when not engaged in the 

activity where the facemask presents a hazard. The employer 

may determine that the use of face shields without facemasks 
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in certain settings is not appropriate due to other infection 

control concerns. 

7. Where a face shield is required to comply with this 

subsection or is otherwise required by the employer, the 

employer must ensure that face shields are cleaned at least 

daily and are not damaged. When an employee provides a 

face shield that meets the definition of that term in 

16VAC25-220-30, the employer may allow the employee to 

use it and is not required to reimburse the employee for that 

face shield. Notwithstanding anything to the contrary in this 

chapter, the Secretary of Labor may exercise discretion in 

the enforcement of an employer's failure to provide PPE 

required by this chapter if the employer demonstrates that 

the employer: 

a. Is exercising due diligence to come into compliance 

with such requirement; and 

b. Is implementing alternative methods and measures to 

protect employees that are satisfactory to the Secretary of 

Labor after consultation with the Commissioner of Labor 

and Industry and the Secretary of Health and Human 

Services. 

H. When it is necessary for employees solely exposed to 

lower risk hazards or job tasks to have brief contact with others 

inside six feet (e.g., passing another person in a hallway that 

does not allow physical distancing of six feet), a face covering 

is required. Reserved.  

I. When required by this standard chapter, face coverings 

shall be worn over the wearer's nose and mouth and extend 

under the chin. 

J. Nothing in this standard shall require the use of a respirator, 

surgical/medical procedure mask, or face covering by any 

employee for whom doing so would be contrary to the 

employee's health or safety because of a medical condition; 

however, nothing in this standard shall negate an employer's 

obligations to comply with personal protective equipment and 

respiratory protection standards applicable to its industry. 

1. Although face shields are not considered a substitute for 

face coverings as a method of source control and not used as 

a replacement for face coverings among people without 

medical contraindications, face shields may provide some 

level of protection against contact with respiratory droplets. 

In situations where a face covering cannot be worn due to 

medical contraindications, employers shall provide and 

employees shall wear either: 

a. A face shield that wraps around the sides of the wearer's 

face and extends below the chin; or 

b. A hooded face shield. 

2. To the extent feasible, employees wearing face shields in 

accordance with this subsection shall observe physical 

distancing requirements in this standard. 

3. Face shield wearers shall wash their hands before and after 

removing the face shield and avoid touching their eyes, nose, 

and mouth when removing it. 

4. Disposable face shields shall only be worn for a single use 

and disposed of according to manufacturer instructions. 

5. Reusable face shields shall be cleaned and disinfected 

after each use according to manufacturer instructions. 

Reserved. 

K. Requests to the Department of Labor and Industry for 

religious waivers from the required use of respirators, 

surgical/medical procedure masks, or face coverings will be 

handled in accordance with the requirements of applicable 

federal and state law, standards, regulations and the U.S. and 

Virginia Constitutions, after Department of Labor and Industry 

consultation with the Office of the Attorney General. 

Reserved. 

L. Sanitation and disinfecting. 

1. In addition to the requirements contained in this standard 

chapter, employers shall comply with the VOSH sanitation 

standard applicable to its industry. 

2. Employees that interact with customers, the general 

public, contractors, and other persons shall be provided with 

and immediately use supplies to clean and disinfectant 

surfaces contacted during the interaction where there is the 

potential for exposure to the SARS-CoV-2 virus by 

themselves or other employees. Reserved.  

3. In addition to the requirements contained in this standard 

chapter, employers shall comply with the VOSH hazard 

communication standard applicable to the employers' 

industry for cleaning and disinfecting materials and hand 

sanitizers (e.g., 16VAC25-90-1910.1200, 16VAC25-175-

1926.59). 

4. Areas in the place of employment where employees or 

other persons known or suspected to be infected with the 

SARS-CoV-2 virus suspected or confirmed COVID-19 

employees or other persons accessed or worked shall be 

cleaned and disinfected prior to allowing other employees 

access to the areas. Where feasible, a period of 24 hours will 

be observed prior to cleaning and disinfecting. This 

requirement shall not apply if the areas in question have been 

unoccupied for seven or more days. as follows: 

a. The provisions in subdivisions 4 b, 4 c, and 4 d of this 

subsection do not apply to health care settings or for 

operators of facilities such as food and agricultural 

production or processing workplace settings, 

manufacturing workplace settings, or food preparation and 

food service areas where specific regulations or practices 

for cleaning and disinfection may apply.  

b. If less than 24 hours have passed since the person who 

is sick or diagnosed with COVID-19 has been in the space, 

clean and disinfect the space. 
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c. If more than 24 hours have passed since the person who 

is sick or diagnosed with COVID-19 has been in the space, 

cleaning is enough. Employers may choose to also 

disinfect depending on certain conditions or everyday 

practices required by the facility. 

d. If more than three days have passed since the person 

who is sick or diagnosed with COVID-19 has been in the 

space, no additional cleaning or disinfecting beyond 

regular cleaning practices is needed. 

5. All common spaces, including bathrooms (including port-

a-johns, privies, etc.), frequently touched surfaces, and 

doors, shall at a minimum be cleaned and disinfected at least 

once during or at the end of the shift. Where (where multiple 

shifts are employed, such spaces shall be cleaned and 

disinfected no less than once every 12 hours), except as 

provided in subdivisions 5 a and 5 b of this subsection. 

a. The provision in subdivision 5 b of this subsection does 

not apply to health care settings or for operators of 

facilities such as food and agricultural production or 

processing workplace settings, manufacturing workplace 

settings, or food preparation and food service areas where 

specific regulations or practices for cleaning and 

disinfection may apply.  

b. When no suspected or confirmed COVID-19 persons 

are known to have been in a space, clean once a day. 

6. All shared tools, equipment, workspaces, and vehicles 

shall be cleaned and disinfected prior to transfer from one 

employee to another. This subsection does not apply when 

the transfer is from one fully vaccinated employee to another 

fully vaccinated employee.  

7. Employers shall ensure that cleaning and disinfecting 

products are readily available to employees to accomplish 

the required cleaning and disinfecting. In addition, 

employers shall ensure use of only disinfecting chemicals 

and products indicated in the Environmental Protection 

Agency (EPA) List N for use against SARS-CoV-2, or non-

EPA-registered disinfectants that otherwise meet the EPA 

criteria for use against SARS-CoV-2. 

8. Employers shall ensure that the manufacturer's 

instructions for use of all disinfecting chemicals and 

products are complied with (e.g., concentration, application 

method, contact time, PPE, etc.) followed. 

9. Employees shall have easy, frequent access and 

permission to use soap and water, and hand sanitizer where 

feasible, for the duration of work. Employees assigned to a 

work station where job tasks require frequent interaction 

inside six feet with other persons shall be provided with hand 

sanitizer where feasible at the employees work station. 

10. Mobile crews shall be provided with hand sanitizer 

where feasible for the duration of work at a work site or 

client or customer location and shall have transportation 

immediately available to nearby toilet facilities and 

handwashing facilities that meet the requirements of VOSH 

laws, standards, and regulations dealing with sanitation. 

Hand sanitizers required for use to protect against SARS-

CoV-2 are flammable, and use and storage in hot 

environments can result in a hazard. 

11. It is recognized that various hazards or job tasks at the 

same place of employment can be designated as very high, 

high, medium, or lower as presenting potential exposure risk 

for purposes of application of the requirements of this 

standard. In situations other than emergencies, employers 

shall ensure that protective measures are put in place to 

prevent cross-contamination between tasks, areas, and 

personnel. 

M. Unless otherwise provided in this standard chapter, when 

engineering, work practice, and administrative controls are not 

feasible or do not provide sufficient protection, employers shall 

provide personal protective equipment to their employees and 

ensure the equipment's proper use in accordance with VOSH 

laws, standards, and regulations applicable to personal 

protective equipment, including respiratory protection 

equipment. 

16VAC25-220-50. Requirements for hazards or job tasks 

classified as very high or high exposure risk health care 

services or health care support services. 

A. Scope and application. 

1. Should the federal COVID-19 Emergency Temporary 

Standard, 29 CFR 1910.502, et seq., applicable to settings 

where any employee provides health care services or health 

care support services, be adopted by the Virginia Safety and 

Health Codes Board and take effect, application of this 

chapter, except for 16VAC25-220-40 B 7 d and B 7 e and 

16VAC25-220-90, to such covered employers and 

employees subject to the chapter shall be suspended while 

the federal COVID-19 Emergency Temporary Standard 

remains in effect. 

2. Should the federal COVID-19 Emergency Temporary 

Standard, 29 CFR 1910.502, et seq., applicable to settings 

where any employee provides health care services or health 

care support services, be adopted by the Virginia Safety and 

Health Codes Board but later be stayed or invalidated by a 

state or federal court, the provisions of this chapter, 

including this section, shall immediately apply to such 

employers and employees in its place with no further action 

of the board required. 

3. Should the federal COVID-19 Emergency Temporary 

Standard,29 CFR 1910.502, et seq., applicable to all settings 

where any employee provides health care services or health 

care support services, be adopted by the Virginia Safety and 

Health Codes Board but later be stayed by federal OSHA, or 

otherwise revoked, repealed, declared unenforceable, or 

permitted to expire, the provisions of this chapter, including 

this section, shall immediately apply to such employers and 
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employees in its place with no further action of the board 

required. In addition, the Virginia Safety and Health Codes 

Board shall within 30 days, notice a regular, special, or 

emergency meeting/conduct a regular, special, or emergency 

meeting to determine whether there is a continued need for 

this chapter or whether it should be maintained, modified, or 

revoked. 

4. The requirements in this section for employers with 

hazards or job tasks classified as very high or high exposure 

risk apply in addition to requirements contained in 

16VAC25-220-40, 16VAC25-220-70, and 16VAC25-220-

80. 

5. Except as otherwise provided in this subsection, this 

section applies to all settings where any employee provides 

health care services or health care support services. 

6. This section does not apply to the following: 

a. The provision of first aid by an employee who is not a 

licensed health care provider; 

b. The dispensing of prescriptions by pharmacists in retail 

settings; 

c. Nonhospital ambulatory care settings where all non-

employees are screened prior to entry and people with 

suspected or confirmed COVID-19 are not permitted to 

enter those settings; 

d. Well-defined hospital ambulatory care settings where 

all employees are fully vaccinated and all non-employees 

are screened prior to entry and people with suspected or 

confirmed COVID-19 are not permitted to enter those 

settings; 

e. Home health care settings where all employees are fully 

vaccinated and all non-employees are screened prior to 

entry and people with suspected or confirmed COVID-19 

are not present; 

f. Health care support services not performed in a health 

care setting (e.g., off-site laundry, off-site medical 

billing); or 

g. Telehealth services performed outside of a setting 

where direct patient care occurs. 

h. VOSH does not intend to preclude the employers of 

employees who are unable to be vaccinated from the scope 

exemption in subdivisions A 6 d and A 6 e of this section. 

Under various anti-discrimination laws, workers who 

cannot be vaccinated because of medical conditions, such 

as allergies to vaccine ingredients or certain religious 

beliefs may ask for a reasonable accommodation from 

their employer. Accordingly, where an employer 

reasonably accommodates an employee who is unable to 

be vaccinated in a manner that does not expose the 

employee to COVID-19 hazards (e.g., telework, working 

in isolation), that employer may be within the scope 

exemption in subdivisions A 6 d and A 6 e of this section. 

7. Where a health care setting is embedded within a non-

health care setting (e.g., medical clinic in a manufacturing 

facility, walk-in clinic in a retail setting), this section applies 

only to the embedded health care setting and not to the 

remainder of the physical location. 

B. Engineering controls. 

1. Employers shall ensure that appropriate air-handling 

systems under their control: 

a. Are installed and maintained in accordance with the 

USBC and manufacturer's instructions in health care 

facilities and other places of employment treating, caring 

for, or housing persons known or suspected persons to be 

infected with the SARS-CoV-2 virus suspected or 

confirmed COVID-19 persons; and 

b. Where feasible and within the design parameters of the 

system, are utilized as follows: 

(1) Increase total airflow supply to occupied spaces 

provided that a greater hazard is not created (e.g., airflow 

that is increased too much may make doors harder to open 

or may blow doors open); 

(2) In ground transportation settings, use natural 

ventilation to increase outdoor air dilution of inside air in 

a manner that will aid in mitigating the spread of SARS-

CoV-2 virus and COVID-19 disease transmission to 

employees, and when environmental conditions and 

transportation safety and health requirements allow; 

(3) Inspect filter housing and racks to ensure appropriate 

filter fit and check for ways to minimize filter bypass; 

(4) Increase air filtration to as high as possible in a manner 

that will still enable the system to provide airflow rates as 

the system design requires. Ensure compliance with 

higher filtration values is allowed by the air handler 

manufacturer's installation instructions and listing; 

(5) Generate clean-to-less-clean air movements by re-

evaluating the positioning of supply and exhaust air 

diffusers and/or dampers and adjusting zone supply and 

exhaust flow rates to establish measurable pressure 

differentials; 

(6) Have staff work in "clean" ventilation zones that do not 

include higher-risk areas such as visitor reception or 

exercise facilities (if open); 

(7) Ensure exhaust fans in restroom facilities are 

functional and operating continuously when the building 

is occupied; 

(8) If the system's design can accommodate such an 

adjustment and is allowed by the air handler 

manufacturer's installation instructions and listing, 

improve central air filtration to MERV-13 and seal edges 

of the filter to limit bypass; and 

(9) Check filters to ensure they are within service life and 

appropriately installed. 
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c. Comply with USBC and applicable referenced 

American Society of Heating, Refrigerating and Air-

Conditioning Engineers (ASHRAE) Standards. 

2. For employers not covered by subdivision 1 of this 

subsection, ensure that air-handling systems where installed 

and under their control are appropriate to address the SARS-

CoV-2 virus and COVID-19 disease related hazards and job 

tasks that occur at the workplace:  

a. Are maintained in accordance with the manufacturer's 

instructions; and 

b. Comply with subdivisions 1 b and 1 c of this subsection. 

Reserved. 

3. Hospitalized patients known or suspected to be infected 

with the SARS-CoV-2 virus who are suspected or confirmed 

COVID-19, where feasible and available, shall be placed in 

airborne infection isolation room (AIIRs). 

4. Employers shall use AIIRs when available for performing 

aerosol-generating procedures on suspected or confirmed 

COVID-19 patients with known or suspected to be infected 

with the SARS-CoV-2 virus. 

5. For postmortem activities, employers shall use autopsy 

suites or other similar isolation facilities when performing 

aerosol-generating procedures on the bodies of persons 

known or suspected to be infected with the SARS-CoV-2 

virus suspected or confirmed COVID-19 at the time of their 

death. 

6. Employers shall use special precautions associated with 

Biosafety Level 3 (BSL-3), as defined by the U.S. 

Department of Health and Human Services Publication No. 

(CDC) 21-1112 Biosafety in Microbiological and 

Biomedical Laboratories" (Dec. 2009), which is hereby 

incorporated by reference, when handling specimens from 

patients or persons known or suspected to be infected with 

the SARS-CoV-2 virus suspected or confirmed COVID-19. 

Diagnostic laboratories that conduct routine medical testing 

and environmental specimen testing for COVID-19 are not 

required to operate at BSL-3. 

7. To the extent feasible, employers shall install physical 

barriers, (e.g., clear plastic sneeze guards, etc.), where such 

barriers will aid in mitigating the spread of SARS-CoV-2 

virus and COVID-19 disease transmission. 

C. Administrative and work practice controls. 

1. Prior to the commencement of each work shift, 

prescreening or surveying shall be required to verify each 

covered employee does not have signs or symptoms of 

COVID-19. 

2. In health care facilities, employers shall follow existing 

guidelines and facility standards of practice for identifying 

and isolating infected persons and for protecting employees. 

3. Employers shall limit non-employee access to the place of 

employment or restrict access to only certain workplace 

areas to reduce the risk of exposure. An employer's 

compliance with occupancy limits contained in any 

applicable Virginia executive order or order of public health 

emergency will constitute compliance with the requirements 

of this subdivision C 3. 

4. Employers shall post signs requesting patients and family 

members to immediately report signs or symptoms of 

respiratory illness on arrival at the health care facility and 

use disposable face coverings. 

5. Employers shall offer enhanced medical monitoring of 

employees during COVID-19 outbreaks. 

6. To the extent feasible, an employer shall ensure that 

psychological and behavioral support is available to address 

employee stress at no cost to the employee. 

7. In health care settings, employers shall provide alcohol-

based hand sanitizers containing at least 60% ethanol or 70% 

isopropanol to employees at fixed work sites and to 

emergency responders and other personnel for 

decontamination in the field when working away from fixed 

work sites. 

8. Employers shall provide face coverings to suspected 

COVID-19 non-employees suspected to be infected with 

SARS-CoV-2 virus to contain respiratory secretions until 

the non-employees are able to leave the site (i.e., for medical 

evaluation and care or to return home). 

9. Where feasible, employers shall: 

a. Implement flexible work site (e.g., telework). 

b. Implement flexible work hours (e.g., staggered shifts). 

c. Increase physical distancing between employees at the 

work site to six feet. 

d. Increase physical distancing between employees and 

other persons to six feet. 

e. Implement flexible meeting and travel options (e.g., use 

telephone or video conferencing instead of in person 

meetings;, postpone non-essential travel or events;, etc.). 

f. Deliver services remotely (e.g. phone, video, internet, 

etc.). 

g. Deliver products through curbside pick-up. 

D. Personal protective equipment (PPE). Employers covered 

by this section and not otherwise covered by the VOSH 

Standards for General Industry (16VAC25-90-1910.132), shall 

comply with the following requirements for a SARS-CoV-2 

virus and COVID-19 disease-related hazard assessment and 

personal protective equipment selection: 

1. Employers shall assess the workplace to determine if 

SARS-CoV-2 virus or COVID-19 disease hazards or job 

tasks are present or are likely to be present that necessitate 

the use of personal protective equipment (PPE). Employers 
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shall provide for employee and employee representative 

involvement in the assessment process. If such hazards or 

job tasks are present or likely to be present, employers shall: 

a. Except as otherwise required in the standard, select and 

have each affected employee use the types of PPE that will 

protect the affected employee from the SARS-CoV-2 

virus or COVID-19 disease hazards identified in the 

hazard assessment; 

b. Communicate selection decisions to each affected 

employee; and 

c. Select PPE that properly fits each affected employee. 

2. Employers shall verify that the required SARS-CoV-2 

virus and COVID-19 disease workplace hazard assessment 

has been performed through a written certification that 

identifies the workplace evaluated, the person certifying that 

the evaluation has been performed, the date of the hazard 

assessment, and the document as a certification of hazard 

assessment. 

3. Unless specifically addressed by an industry specific 

standard applicable to the employer and providing for PPE 

protections to employees from the SARS-COV-2 virus or 

COVID-19 disease (e.g., 16VAC25-175-1926, 16VAC25-

190-1928, 16VAC25-100-1915, 16VAC25-120-1917, or 

16VAC25-130-1918), the requirements of 16VAC25-90-

1910.132 (General requirements) and 16VAC25-90-

1910.134 (Respiratory protection) shall apply to all 

employers for that purpose. 

4. 1. Unless contraindicated by a hazard assessment and 

equipment selection requirements in subdivision 1 of this 

subsection 16VAC25-90-1910.132, employees classified as 

very high or high exposure risk of employers covered by this 

section shall be provided with and wear gloves, a gown, a 

face shield or goggles, and a respirator when in contact with 

or inside six feet of suspected or confirmed COVID-19 

patients or other persons known to be or suspected of being 

infected with SARS-CoV-2. Gowns shall be the correct size 

to assure protection. 

2. In addition, hazard assessment and equipment selection 

requirements may determine that respirators or other PPE 

are necessary in other circumstances to reduce exposure. 

When respirators are required, 16VAC25-90-1910.134 shall 

apply to all employees for that purpose.  

16VAC25-220-60. Requirements for hazards or job tasks 

classified at medium exposure risk higher-risk workplaces. 

A. The requirements in this section for employers with 

hazards or job tasks classified as medium exposure risk higher-

risk workplaces with mixed-vaccination status employees 

apply in addition to requirements contained in 16VAC25-220-

40, 16VAC25-70 16VAC25-220-70, and 16VAC25-80 

16VAC25-220-80. 

Employers shall take the additional steps in subsections B, C, 

and D of this section to mitigate the spread of COVID-19 for 

employees who are not fully vaccinated, employees who are 

fully vaccinated but work in a place of employment with 

substantial or high community transmission, and otherwise at-

risk employees in workplaces (which include, but are not 

limited to, manufacturing, meat and poultry processing, high-

volume retail and grocery, transit, seafood processing, 

correctional facilities, jails, detention centers, and juvenile 

detention centers) where there is heightened risk due to the 

following types of factors: 

1. Where employees who are not fully vaccinated or 

otherwise at-risk employees are working close to one 

another, for example, on production or assembly lines. Such 

workers may also be near one another at other times, such as 

when clocking in or out, during breaks, or in locker or 

changing rooms. 

2. Where employees who are not fully vaccinated or 

otherwise at-risk workers often have prolonged closeness to 

coworkers or potential frequent contact with members of the 

public who may not be fully vaccinated.  

3. Where employees who are not fully vaccinated or 

otherwise at-risk workers work in enclosed indoor spaces 

with inadequate ventilation where other coworkers or 

members of the public are present.  

4. Where employees who are not fully vaccinated or 

otherwise at-risk employees may be exposed to the 

infectious virus through respiratory droplets or aerosols in 

the air, for example, when working next to employees who 

are not fully vaccinated or otherwise at-risk employees in a 

manufacturing or factory setting who have the virus. It is 

also possible that exposure could occur from contact with 

contaminated surfaces or objects, such as tools, 

workstations, or break room tables. Shared spaces such as 

break rooms, locker rooms, and entrances or exits to the 

facility may contribute to their risk. 

5. Other distinctive factors that may increase risk among 

these employees who are not fully vaccinated or otherwise 

at-risk employees include: 

a. A common practice at some workplaces of sharing 

employer-provided transportation such as ride-share vans 

or shuttle vehicles; and 

b. Communal housing or living quarters onboard vessels 

with other employees who are not fully vaccinated or 

otherwise at-risk individuals. 

B. Engineering controls. 

1. Employers shall ensure that air-handling systems under 

their control: 

a. Are maintained in accordance with the manufacturer's 

instructions; and 
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b. Where feasible and within the design parameters of the 

system, are utilized as follows: 

(1) Increase total airflow supply to occupied spaces 

provided that a greater hazard is not created (e.g., airflow 

that is increased too much may make doors harder to open 

or may blow doors open); 

(2) In ground transportation settings, use natural 

ventilation to increase outdoor air dilution of inside air in 

a manner that will aid in mitigating the spread of SARS-

CoV-2 virus and COVID-19 disease transmission to 

employees and when environmental conditions and 

transportation safety and health requirements allow; 

(3) Inspect filter housing and racks to ensure appropriate 

filter fit and check for ways to minimize filter bypass; 

(4) Increase air filtration to as high as possible in a manner 

that will still enable the system to provide airflow rates as 

the system design requires. Ensure compliance with 

higher filtration values is allowed by the air handler 

manufacturer's installation instructions and listing; 

(5) Generate clean-to-less-clean air movements by re-

evaluating the positioning of supply and exhaust air 

diffusers and/or dampers and adjusting zone supply and 

exhaust flow rates to establish measurable pressure 

differentials; 

(6) Have staff work in "clean" ventilation zones that do not 

include higher-risk areas such as visitor reception or 

exercise facilities (if open); 

(7) Ensure exhaust fans in restroom facilities are 

functional and operating continuously when the building 

is occupied; 

(8) If the system's design can accommodate such an 

adjustment and is allowed by the air handler 

manufacturer's installation instructions and listing, 

improve central air filtration to MERV-13 and seal edges 

of the filter to limit bypass; and 

(9) Check filters to ensure they are within service life and 

appropriately installed. 

c. Comply with USBC and applicable referenced 

American Society of Heating, Refrigerating and Air-

Conditioning Engineers (ASHRAE) Standards. 

2. Where feasible, employers shall Install install physical 

barriers (e.g., such as clear plastic sneeze guards, etc.) for 

employees who are not fully vaccinated or otherwise at-risk 

employees, where such barriers will aid in mitigating the 

spread of SARS-CoV-2 virus transmission. 

3. In workplaces (or well-defined work areas) with 

processing or assembly lines where there are employees who 

are not fully vaccinated or otherwise at-risk employees, 

working on food processing or assembly lines can result in 

virus exposure because these workplaces have often been 

designed for a number of employees to stand next to or 

across from each other to maximize productivity. Employers 

shall ensure proper spacing of employee who are not fully 

vaccinated or otherwise at-risk employees (or if not possible, 

appropriate use of barriers). 

C. Administrative and work practice controls. To the extent 

feasible, employers shall implement the following 

administrative and work practice controls in all higher-risk 

workplaces where there are employees who are not fully 

vaccinated or otherwise at-risk employees: 

1. Prior to the commencement of each work shift, 

prescreening or surveying shall be required to verify each 

covered employee does not have signs or symptoms of 

COVID-19. 

2. Provide face coverings to suspected COVID-19 non-

employees suspected to be infected with SARS-C0V-2 to 

contain respiratory secretions until the non-employees are 

able to leave the site (i.e., for medical evaluation and care or 

to return home). 

3. Implement flexible work site (e.g., telework) Stagger 

break times or provide temporary break areas and restrooms 

to avoid groups of employees who are not fully vaccinated 

or otherwise at-risk employees congregating during breaks. 

Employees who are not fully vaccinated or otherwise at-risk 

employees shall maintain at least six feet of distance from 

others at all times, including on breaks. 

4. Implement flexible work hours (e.g., staggered shifts) 

Stagger employee's arrival and departure times to avoid 

congregations of employees who are not fully vaccinated or 

otherwise at-risk in parking areas, locker rooms, and near 

time clocks. 

5. Increase physical distancing between employees at the 

work site to six feet. Implement flexible work hours (e.g., 

staggered shifts). 

6. Increase physical distancing between employees and other 

persons, including customers, to six feet (e.g., drive-through 

physical barriers) where such barriers will aid in mitigating 

the spread of SARS-CoV-2 virus transmission, etc Provide 

visual cues (e.g., floor markings, signs) as a reminder to 

maintain physical distancing. 

7. Implement flexible meeting and travel options (e.g., using 

telephone or video conferencing instead of in person 

meetings; postponing non-essential travel or events; etc.). In 

retail workplaces (or well-defined work areas within retail) 

where there are employees who are not fully vaccinated, 

fully vaccinated employees in areas of substantial or high 

community transmission, or otherwise at-risk employees: 

a. Post signage requiring face coverings for employees 

who are not fully vaccinated (or unknown-status) and fully 

vaccinated employees in areas of substantial or high 

community transmission and requesting face coverings for 

customers and other visitors. 
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b. Require physical distancing from other people who are 

not known to be fully vaccinated. If distancing is not 

possible, implement the use of barriers between work 

stations used by employees who are not fully vaccinated 

or otherwise at-risk employees and the locations 

customers will stand, with pass-through openings at the 

bottom, if possible. 

c. Move the electronic payment terminal or credit card 

reader farther away from any employees who are not fully 

vaccinated or otherwise at-risk employees in order to 

increase the distance between customers and such 

employees, if possible. 

d. Shift primary stocking activities of employees who are 

not fully vaccinated or otherwise at-risk employees to off-

peak or after hours when possible to reduce contact 

between employees who are not fully vaccinated or 

otherwise at-risk employees and customers. 

8. Deliver services remotely (e.g., phone, video, internet, 

etc.). 

9. Deliver products through curbside pick-up or delivery. 

10. Employers shall provide and require employees to wear 

face coverings who, because of job tasks, cannot feasibly 

practice physical distancing from another employee or other 

person if the hazard assessment has determined that personal 

protective equipment, such as respirators or surgical/medical 

procedure masks, was not required for the job task. 

11. Employers shall provide and require employees in 

customer or other person facing jobs to wear face coverings. 

D. Personal protective equipment. Employers This subsection 

does not apply to fully vaccinated employees. Otherwise, 

employers covered by this section and not otherwise covered 

by the VOSH Standards for General Industry (16VAC25-90-

1910.132) shall comply with the requirements of this 

subsection for a SARS-CoV-2 virus and COVID-19 disease 

related hazard assessment and personal protective equipment 

selection. 

1. Employers shall assess the workplace to determine if 

SARS-CoV-2 virus or COVID-19 disease hazards or job 

tasks are present or are likely to be present that necessitate 

the use of personal protective equipment (PPE). Employers 

shall provide for employee and employee representative 

involvement in the assessment process. If such hazards or 

job tasks are present or likely to be present, employers shall: 

a. Except as otherwise required in the standard chapter, 

select and have each affected employee use the types of 

PPE that will protect the affected employee from the 

SARS-CoV-2 virus or COVID-19 disease hazards 

identified in the hazard assessment; 

b. Communicate selection decisions to each affected 

employee; and 

c. Select PPE that properly fits each affected employee. 

2. Employers shall verify that the required SARS-CoV-2 

virus and COVID-19 disease workplace hazard assessment 

has been performed through a written certification that 

identifies the workplace evaluated; the person certifying that 

the evaluation has been performed; the date of the hazard 

assessment; and the document as a certification of hazard 

assessment. 

3. Unless specifically addressed by an industry specific 

standard applicable to the employer and providing for PPE 

protections to employees from the SARS-COV-2 SARS-

CoV-2 virus or COVID-19 disease (e.g., 16VAC25-175-

1926, 16VAC25-190-1928, 16VAC25-100-1915, 

16VAC25-120-1917, or 16VAC25-130-1918), the 

requirements of 16VAC25-90-1910.132 (General 

requirements) and 16VAC25-90-1910.134 (Respiratory 

protection) shall apply to all employers for that purpose. 

4. PPE ensembles for employees in the medium exposure 

risk category will vary by work task, the results of the 

employer's hazard assessment, and the types of exposures 

employees have on the job. 

16VAC25-220-70. Infectious disease preparedness and 

response plan. 

A. Employers with hazards or job tasks classified as The 

following employers shall develop and implement a written 

Infectious Disease Preparedness and Response Plan: 

1. Very high and high shall develop and implement a written 

Infectious Disease Preparedness and Response Plan 

Employers covered by 16VAC25-220-50; and 

2. Medium with 11 or more employees shall develop and 

implement a written Infectious Disease Preparedness and 

Response Plan Employers covered by 16VAC25-220-60 

with 11 or more employees. In counting the number of 

employees, the employer may exclude fully vaccinated 

employees. 

B. The plan and training requirements tied to the plan shall 

only apply to those employees classified as very high, high, 

and medium covered by this section.: 

1. Covered by 16VAC25-220-50; and 

2. Covered by 16VAC25-220-60, unless such employees are 

fully vaccinated. 

C. Employers shall designate a person to be responsible for 

implementing their plan. The plan shall: 

1. Identify the name or title of the person responsible for 

administering the plan. This person shall be knowledgeable 

in infection control principles and practices as the principles 

and practices apply to the facility, service, or operation. 

2. Provide for employee involvement in development and 

implementation of the plan. 
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3. Consider and address the level of SARS-CoV-2 virus and 

COVID-19 disease risk associated with various places of 

employment, the hazards employees are exposed to at those 

sites, and job tasks employees perform at those sites. Such 

considerations shall include: 

a. Where, how, and to what sources of the SARS-CoV-2 

virus or COVID-19 disease might employees be exposed 

at work, including: 

(1) The general public, customers, other employees, 

patients, and other persons; 

(2) Persons known or suspected to be infected with the 

SARS-CoV-2 virus suspected or confirmed COVID-19 or 

those at particularly high risk of COVID-19 infection 

(e.g., local, state, national, and international travelers who 

have visited locations with ongoing COVID-19 

community transmission and health care employees who 

have had unprotected exposures to persons known or 

suspected to be infected with SARS-CoV-2 virus) 

suspected or confirmed COVID-19 persons; 

(3) Situations where employees work more than one job 

with different employers and encounter hazards or engage 

in job tasks that present a very high, high, or medium level 

of exposure risk involve potential exposure to sources of 

the SARS-CoV-2 virus or COVID-19 disease; and 

(4) Situations where employees work during higher risk 

activities involving potentially large numbers of people or 

enclosed work areas such as at large social gatherings, 

weddings, funerals, parties, restaurants, bars, hotels, 

sporting events, concerts, parades, movie theaters, rest 

stops, airports, bus stations, train stations, cruise ships, 

river boats, airplanes, etc. 

b. To the extent permitted by law, including HIPAA, 

employees' individual risk factors for severe disease. For 

example, people of any age with one or more of the 

following conditions are at increased risk of severe illness 

from COVID-19: chronic kidney disease; COPD (chronic 

obstructive pulmonary disease); immunocompromised 

state (weakened immune system) from solid organ 

transplant; obesity (body mass index or BMI of 30 or 

higher); serious heart conditions, such as heart failure, 

coronary artery disease, or cardiomyopathies; sickle cell 

disease; or type 2 diabetes mellitus. Also, for example, 

people with one or more of the following conditions might 

be at an increased risk for severe illness from COVID-19: 

asthma (moderate-to-severe); cerebrovascular disease 

(affects blood vessels and blood supply to the brain); 

cystic fibrosis; hypertension or high blood pressure; 

immunocompromised state (weakened immune system) 

from blood or bone marrow transplant, immune 

deficiencies, HIV, use of corticosteroids, or use of other 

immune weakening medicines; neurologic conditions, 

such as dementia; liver disease; pregnancy; pulmonary 

fibrosis (having damaged or scarred lung tissues); 

smoking; thalassemia (a type of blood disorder); type 1 

diabetes mellitus; etc. The risk for severe illness from 

COVID-19 also increases with age. 

c. Engineering, administrative, work practice, and 

personal protective equipment controls necessary to 

address those risks. 

4. Consider and address contingency plans for situations that 

may arise as a result of outbreaks that impact employee 

safety and health, such as: 

a. Increased rates of employee absenteeism (an 

understaffed business can be at greater risk for accidents); 

b. The need for physical distancing, staggered work shifts, 

downsizing operations, delivering services remotely, and 

other exposure-reducing workplace control measures such 

as elimination and substitution, engineering controls, 

administrative and work practice controls, and personal 

protective equipment (e.g., respirators, surgical/medical 

procedure surgical masks, etc.); 

c. Options for conducting essential operations in a safe and 

healthy manner with a reduced workforce; and 

d. Interrupted supply chains or delayed deliveries of safety 

and health related products and services essential to 

business operations. 

5. Identify infection prevention measures to be 

implemented: 

a. Promote frequent and thorough hand washing, including 

by providing employees, customers, visitors, the general 

public, and other persons to the place of employment with 

a place to wash their hands. If soap and running water are 

not immediately available, provide hand sanitizers. 

b. Maintain regular housekeeping practices, including 

routine cleaning and disinfecting of surfaces, equipment, 

and other elements of the work environment. 

c. Establish policies and procedures for managing and 

educating visitors about the infection prevention 

procedures at the place of employment. 

6. Provide for the prompt identification and isolation of 

employees known or suspected to be infected with the 

SARS-CoV-2 virus suspected or confirmed COVID-19 

employees away from work, including procedures for 

employees to report when they are experiencing signs or 

symptoms of COVID-19. 

7. Address infectious disease preparedness and response 

with outside businesses, including, but not limited to, 

subcontractors who enter the place of employment, 

businesses that provide contract or temporary employees to 

the employer, and other persons accessing the place of 

employment to comply with the requirements of this 

standard chapter and the employer's plan. 

8. Identify the mandatory and non-mandatory 

recommendations in any CDC guidelines or Commonwealth 

of Virginia guidance documents the employer is complying 
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with, if any, in lieu of a provision of this standard chapter, as 

provided for in 16VAC25-220-10 E, F, and G. 

16VAC25-220-80. Training. 

A. Employers with hazards or job tasks classified as very 

high, high, or medium exposure risk at a place of employment 

shall provide training on the hazards and characteristics of the 

SARS-CoV-2 virus and COVID-19 disease to all employees 

working at the place of employment regardless of employee 

risk classification. The following employers shall provide 

training on the hazards and characteristics of the SARS-CoV-

2 virus and COVID-19 disease to employees working at the 

place of employment: 

1. Employers covered by 16VAC25-220-50; and  

2. Employers covered by 16VAC25-220-60. 

Employers may provide fully vaccinated employees with 

written information meeting the requirements of subsection F 

of this section in lieu of training. Where applicable, the training 

program shall enable each employee to recognize the hazards 

of the SARS-CoV-2 virus and signs and symptoms of COVID-

19 disease and shall train each employee in the procedures to 

be followed in order to minimize these hazards. 

B. The training required under subsection A of this section 

shall include: 

1. The requirements of this standard chapter; 

2. The mandatory and non-mandatory provisions in any 

applicable CDC guidelines or Commonwealth of Virginia 

guidance documents the employer is complying with, if any, 

in lieu of a provision of this standard chapter as provided for 

in 16VAC25-220-10 E, F, and G; 

3. The characteristics and methods of transmission of the 

SARS-CoV-2 virus; 

4. The signs and symptoms of COVID-19 disease; 

5. Risk factors for severe COVID-19 illness including 

underlying health conditions and advancing age; 

6. Awareness of the ability of persons pre-symptomatically 

and asymptomatically infected with SARS-CoV-2 to 

transmit the SARS-CoV-2 virus; 

7. Safe and healthy work practices, including, but not limited 

to, physical distancing, the wearing of face coverings, 

disinfection procedures, disinfecting frequency, ventilation, 

noncontact methods of greeting, etc.; 

8. Personal protective equipment (PPE): 

a. When PPE is required; 

b. What PPE is required; 

c. How to properly don, doff, adjust, and wear PPE; 

d. The limitations of PPE; 

e. The proper care, maintenance, useful life, and disposal 

of PPE; 

f. Strategies to extend PPE usage during periods when 

supplies are not available and no other options are 

available for protection, as long as the extended use of the 

PPE does not pose any increased risk of exposure. The 

training to extend PPE usage shall include the conditions 

of extended PPE use, inspection criteria of the PPE to 

determine whether it can or cannot be used for an extended 

period, and safe storage requirements for PPE used for an 

extended period; and 

g. Heat-related illness prevention including the signs and 

symptoms of heat-related illness associated with the use of 

COVID-19 PPE and face coverings; 

9. The anti-discrimination provisions in 16VAC25-220-90; 

and 

10. The employer's Infectious Disease Preparedness and 

Response Plan, where applicable. 

C. Employers covered by 16VAC25-220-50 shall verify 

compliance with 16VAC25-220-80 A by preparing a written 

certification record for those employees exposed to hazards or 

job tasks classified as very high, high, or medium exposure risk 

levels trained in accordance with this section. 

1. The written certification record shall contain: 

a. The name or other unique identifier of the employee 

trained; 

b. The trained employee's physical or electronic signature; 

c. The date of the training; and 

d. The name of the person who conducted the training, or 

for computer-based training, the name of the person or 

entity that prepared the training materials. 

2. A physical or electronic signature is not necessary if other 

documentation of training completion can be provided (e.g., 

electronic certification through a training system, security 

precautions that enable the employer to demonstrate that 

training was accessed by passwords and usernames unique 

to each employee, etc.). 

3. If an employer relies on training conducted by another 

employer, the certification record shall indicate the date the 

employer determined the prior training was adequate rather 

than the date of actual training. 

4. The latest training or retraining certification shall be 

maintained. 

D. When an employer has reason to believe that any affected 

employee who has already been trained does not have the 

understanding and skill required by 16VAC25-220-80 

subsection A of this section, the employer shall retrain each 

such employee. Circumstances where retraining is required 

include, but are not limited to, situations where: 
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1. Changes in the workplace, SARS-CoV-2 virus or 

COVID-19 disease hazards exposed to, or job tasks 

performed render previous training obsolete; 

2. Changes are made to the employer's Infectious Disease 

Preparedness and Response Plan; or 

3. Inadequacies in an affected employee's knowledge or use 

of workplace control measures indicate that the employee 

has not retained the requisite understanding or skill. 

E. Employers with hazards or job tasks classified at lower risk 

not covered by 16VAC25-220-50 or 16VAC25-220-60 shall 

provide written or oral information to employees exposed to 

such hazards or engaged in such job tasks on the hazards and 

characteristics of SARS-COV-2 and the SARS-CoV-2 virus, 

the signs and symptoms of COVID-19, and measures to 

minimize exposure. The Department of Labor and Industry 

shall develop an information sheet containing information on 

the items listed in subsection F of this section, which an 

employer may utilize to comply with this subsection. 

F. The information required under subsection E of this section 

shall include at a minimum: 

1. The requirements of this standard chapter; 

2. The characteristics and methods of transmission of the 

SARS-CoV-2 virus; 

3. The signs and symptoms of COVID-19 disease; 

4. The ability of persons pre-symptomatically and 

asymptomatically infected with SARS-CoV-2 to transmit 

the SARS-CoV-2 virus; 

5. Safe and healthy work practices and control measures, 

including, but not limited to, physical distancing, the 

benefits of wearing face coverings, sanitation and 

disinfection practices; and 

6. The anti-discrimination provisions of this standard in 

16VAC25-220-90. 

16VAC25-220-90. Discrimination against an employee for 

exercising rights under this standard chapter is prohibited. 

A. No person shall discharge or in any way discriminate 

against an employee because the employee has exercised rights 

under the safety and health provisions of this standard chapter, 

Title 40.1 of the Code of Virginia, and implementing 

regulations under 16VAC25-60-110 for themselves or others. 

B. No person shall discharge or in any way discriminate 

against an employee who voluntarily provides and wears the 

employee's own personal protective equipment, including, but 

not limited to, a respirator, face shield, gown, or gloves, 

provided that the PPE does not create a greater hazard to the 

employee or create a serious hazard for other employees. In 

situations where face coverings are not provided by the 

employer, no person shall discharge or in any way discriminate 

against an employee who voluntarily provides and wears the 

employee's own face covering that meets the requirements of 

this standard chapter, provided that the face covering does not 

create a greater hazard to the employee or create a serious 

hazard for other employees. Nothing in this subsection shall be 

construed to prohibit an employer from establishing and 

enforcing legally permissible dress code or similar 

requirements addressing the exterior appearance of personal 

protective equipment or face coverings. 

C. No person shall discharge or in any way discriminate 

against an employee who raises a reasonable concern about 

infection control related to the SARS-CoV-2 virus and 

COVID-19 disease to the employer, the employer's agent, 

other employees, a government agency, or to the public such 

as through print, online, social, or any other media. 

D. Nothing in this standard chapter shall limit an employee 

from refusing to do work or enter a location because of a 

reasonable fear of illness or death. The requirements of 

16VAC25-60-110 contain the applicable requirements 

concerning discharge or discipline of an employee who has 

refused to complete an assigned task because of a reasonable 

fear of illness or death. 
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https://www.cdc.gov/coronavirus/2019-ncov/your-health/quarantine-isolation.html?CDC_AA_refVal=https://www.cdc.gov/coronavirus%20/2019-ncov/if-you-are-sick/quarantine.html
https://www.cdc.gov/coronavirus/2019-ncov/your-health/quarantine-isolation.html?CDC_AA_refVal=https://www.cdc.gov/coronavirus%20/2019-ncov/if-you-are-sick/quarantine.html
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TITLE 18. PROFESSIONAL AND 
OCCUPATIONAL LICENSING 

DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH PROFESSIONS 

Forms 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: Forms used in administering the 

regulation have been filed by the agency. The forms are not 

being published; however, online users of this issue of the 

Virginia Register of Regulations may click on the name of a 

form with a hyperlink to access it. The forms are also available 

from the agency contact or may be viewed at the Office of the 

Registrar of Regulations, 900 East Main Street, 11th Floor, 

Richmond, Virginia 23219.Registrar Notice is not available 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC76-20. Regulations Governing 

the Prescription Monitoring Program. 

Agency Contact: Elaine Yeatts, Regulatory Coordinator, 

Department of Health Professions, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 

300, Henrico, VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-4688, FAX 

(804) 527-4434, or email elaine.yeatts@dhp.virginia.gov. 

FORMS (18VAC76-20) 

Request for a Waiver or an Exemption from Reporting (rev. 

10/2019) 

Request for a Waiver or an Exemption from Reporting: 

Veterinarian (rev. 10/2019) 

Request to Register as an Authorized Agent to Receive 

Information from the Prescription Monitoring Program (rev. 

4/2018) 

Recipient Request for Discretionary Disclosure of 

Information from the Prescription Monitoring Program (rev. 

7/2017) 

Recipient Request for Discretionary Disclosure of 

Information from the Prescription Monitoring Program (rev. 

9/2021) 

Regulatory Authority Request for Discretionary Disclosure of 

Information from the Prescription Monitoring Program (rev. 

4/2018) 

Application to Register as a Virginia Medicaid Managed Care 

Authorized Agent Clinical Designee to Receive Information 

from the Prescription Monitoring Program (rev. 4/2018) 

Application to Register as a Virginia Medicaid Managed Care 

Authorized Agent to Receive Information from the 

Prescription Monitoring Program (rev. 4/2018) 

Account Development Form for Reporting to Virginia's 

Prescription Monitoring Program (rev. 7/2018) 

Request to Register as an Authorized Parole or Probation 

Officer to Receive Information from the Prescription 

Monitoring Program (rev. 4/2018) 

Request to Register as an Authorized Drug Diversion 

Investigator to Receive Information from the Prescription 

Monitoring Program (rev. 4/2018) 

Request to Register as an Authorized Investigator for the 

Department of Corrections to Receive Information from the 

Prescription Monitoring Program (eff. 8/2019) 

VA.R. Doc. No. R22-6944; Filed September 3, 2021, 8:44 a.m. 

BOARD OF PHARMACY 

Forms 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: Forms used in administering the 

regulation have been filed by the agency. The forms are not 

being published; however, online users of this issue of the 

Virginia Register of Regulations may click on the name of a 

form with a hyperlink to access it. The forms are also available 

from the agency contact or may be viewed at the Office of the 

Registrar of Regulations, 900 East Main Street, 11th Floor, 

Richmond, Virginia 23219. 

Titles of Regulations: 18VAC110-20. Regulations 

Governing the Practice of Pharmacy. 

18VAC110-21. Regulations Governing the Licensure of 

Pharmacists and Registration of Pharmacy Technicians. 

18VAC110-30. Regulations for Practitioners of the Healing 

Arts to Sell Controlled Substances. 

18VAC110-60. Regulations Governing Pharmaceutical 

Processors. 

Agency Contact: Elaine Yeatts, Regulatory Coordinator, 

Department of Health Professions, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 

300, Henrico, VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-4688, FAX 

(804) 527-4434, or email elaine.yeatts@dhp.virginia.gov. 

FORMS (18VAC110-20) 

Application for a Pharmacy Permit (rev. 10/2020) 

Application for a Non-resident Pharmacy Registration (rev. 

10/2020) 

Application for a Non-Resident Wholesale Distributor 

Registration (rev. 10/2020) 

Application for Registration as Nonresident Manufacturer 

(rev. 10/2020) 

Application for a Non-Resident Third Party Logistics 

Provider Registration (rev. 10/2020) 

Application for Registration as a Nonresident Warehouser 

(rev. 10/2020) 

Application for a Non-resident Outsourcing Facility 

Registration (rev. 10/2020) 

Application for an Outsourcing Facility Permit (rev. 10/2020) 

Application for a Medical Equipment Supplier Permit (rev. 

10/2020) 

http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=a23d6006207~1P.pdf&typ=40&actno=006207&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=a23d6006207~1P.pdf&typ=40&actno=006207&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=1ba39006207~2).pdf&typ=40&actno=006207&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=1ba39006207~2).pdf&typ=40&actno=006207&mime=application/pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC76/forms/Agent-20210120210228.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC76/forms/Agent-20210120210228.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC76/forms/Agent-20210120210228.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC76/forms/RecipientRequestForm%209%202%202021-20210902203927.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC76/forms/RecipientRequestForm%209%202%202021-20210902203927.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC76/forms/RecipientRequestForm%209%202%202021-20210902203927.pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=505f0006038~5y.pdf&typ=40&actno=006038&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=505f0006038~5y.pdf&typ=40&actno=006038&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=505f0006038~5y.pdf&typ=40&actno=006038&mime=application/pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC76/forms/Medicaid_ClinicalDesignee-20210120210318.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC76/forms/Medicaid_ClinicalDesignee-20210120210318.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC76/forms/Medicaid_ClinicalDesignee-20210120210318.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC76/forms/MMC-20210120210343.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC76/forms/MMC-20210120210343.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC76/forms/MMC-20210120210343.pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=ac834006038~7m.pdf&typ=40&actno=006038&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=ac834006038~7m.pdf&typ=40&actno=006038&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=9265b006038~8s.pdf&typ=40&actno=006038&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=9265b006038~8s.pdf&typ=40&actno=006038&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=9265b006038~8s.pdf&typ=40&actno=006038&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=34e69006038~9r.pdf&typ=40&actno=006038&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=34e69006038~9r.pdf&typ=40&actno=006038&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=34e69006038~9r.pdf&typ=40&actno=006038&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=40ce6006133~1m.pdf&typ=40&actno=006133&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=40ce6006133~1m.pdf&typ=40&actno=006133&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=40ce6006133~1m.pdf&typ=40&actno=006133&mime=application/pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC110/forms/PharmacyApp-20210116203211.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC110/forms/NonRes_PharmApp-20210116203356.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC110/forms/NonRes_PharmApp-20210116203356.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC110/forms/Nonres_WholesaleDistr-20210116203436.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC110/forms/Nonres_WholesaleDistr-20210116203436.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC110/forms/NonRes_Manuf-20210116203515.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC110/forms/NonRes_Manuf-20210116203515.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC110/forms/NonRes_ThirdPartyLog-20210116203634.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC110/forms/NonRes_ThirdPartyLog-20210116203634.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC110/forms/Nonres_Warehous-20210116203715.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC110/forms/Nonres_Warehous-20210116203715.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC110/forms/Nonres_Outsorc-20210116203846.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC110/forms/Nonres_Outsorc-20210116203846.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC110/forms/Outsorc_Facil_App-20210116203955.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC110/forms/Med_EquipSup_App-20210116204319.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC110/forms/Med_EquipSup_App-20210116204319.pdf
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Application for a Permit as a Restricted Manufacturer (rev. 

10/2020) 

Application for a Permit as a Non-Restricted Manufacturer 

(rev. 10/2020) 

Application for a License as a Wholesale Distributor (rev. 

10/2020) 

Application for a Permit as Warehouser (rev. 10/2020) 

Application for a Permit as a Third-Party Logistics Provider 

(rev. 10/2020) 

Application for Registration as a Non-resident Medical 

Equipment Supplier (rev. 10/2020) 

Application for a Controlled Substances Registration 

Certificate (rev. 10/2020) 

Closing of a Pharmacy (rev. 5/2018) 

Application for Approval of an Innovative (Pilot) Program 

(rev. 10/2020) 

Registration for a Pharmacy to be a Collection Site for 

Donated Drugs (rev. 5/2018) 

Application for Approval of a Repackaging Training Program 

(rev. 10/2020) 

Registration for a Facility to be an Authorized Collector for 

Drug Disposal (rev. 5.2018) 

Application for a Re-Inspection of a Facility (rev. 10/2020) 

Application for Re-inspection of Facility (rev. 3/2021) 

Notification of Distribution Cessation due to Suspicious 

Orders (rev. 5/2018) 

FORMS (18VAC110-21) 

Application for Licensure as a Pharmacist by Examination 

(rev. 6/2021) 

Application for Licensure as a Pharmacist by Endorsement 

(rev. 6/2021) 

Instructions for Reinstating or Reactivating a Pharmacist 

License (rev. 6/2021) 

Instructions for Reinstating a Pharmacy Technician 

Registration (rev. 6/2021) 

Application for Registration as a Pharmacy Technician (eff. 

6/2021) 

Application for Registration as a Limited-Use Pharmacy 

Technician (for use exclusively in a free clinic) (rev. 6/2021) 

Affidavit for Limited-use Pharmacy Technician (rev. 5/2018) 

Application for Approval of Pharmacy Technician Training 

Program (rev. 10/2020) 

Application for Registration as a Pharmacy Technician 

Trainee (rev. 6/2021) 

Application for Registration as a Pharmacy Intern (eff. 

6/2021) 

Application for Registration as a Pharmacy Intern for 

Graduates of a Foreign College of Pharmacy (rev. 6/2021) 

Affidavit of Practical Experience as a Pharmacy Intern (rev. 

3/2019) 

Name Change Form for Individuals (rev. 3/2018) 

Application for Approval of a Continuing Education Program 

(rev. 5/2018) 

Application for Approval of an Innovative (PILOT) Program 

(rev. 10/2020) 

Application for Approval of a Continuing Education Program 

(rev. 10/2020) 

Application for Approval of an Innovative (PILOT) Program 

(rev. 6/2021) 

Application for Approval of a Repackaging Training Program 

(rev. 10/2020) 

Continuing Education (CE) Credit Form for Preceptors (rev. 

7/2020) 

Application for Approval of ACPE Accredited Pharmacy 

School Course(s) for Continuing Education Credit (rev. 

6/2020) 

Sponsor Certification for Volunteer Registration (rev. 

4/2018) 

Application for Volunteer Practice By a Pharmacist (rev. 

4/2018) 

Continuing Education (CE) Credit Form for Volunteer 

Practice (rev. 4/2018) 

FORMS (18VAC110-30) 

Application for a Controlled Substances Registration 

Certificate (rev. 10/2020) 

Controlled Substances Registration Inspection Report (rev. 

1/2020) 

Application for a License to Sell Controlled Substances by a 

Practitioner of the Healing Arts (eff. 6/2021) 

Application for Limited Use Facility Dispensing Permit for 

Nonprofit (rev. 1/2021) 

Limited Use Practitioner Dispensing License for Nonprofit 

(rev. 1/2021) 

FORMS (18VAC110-60) 

Registration of Cannabis Products (rev. 9/2021) 

https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC110/forms/RestrictManufacturer-20210116204637.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC110/forms/RestrictManufacturer-20210116204637.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC110/forms/Non-restrict_Manuf_App-20210116204803.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC110/forms/Non-restrict_Manuf_App-20210116204803.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC110/forms/WholesaleDistr_App-20210116204903.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC110/forms/WholesaleDistr_App-20210116204903.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC110/forms/WarehouserApp-20210116210503.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC110/forms/ThirdPartyLogistics-20210116205028.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC110/forms/ThirdPartyLogistics-20210116205028.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC110/forms/Nonres_MES-20210116205429.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC110/forms/Nonres_MES-20210116205429.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC110/forms/Contr_Subst_Reg_App-20210116205525.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC110/forms/Contr_Subst_Reg_App-20210116205525.pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=a7e83004673~108.pdf&typ=40&actno=004673&mime=application/pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC110/forms/PilotProgramApp-20210116205722.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC110/forms/PilotProgramApp-20210116205722.pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=e250a004673~128.pdf&typ=40&actno=004673&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=e250a004673~128.pdf&typ=40&actno=004673&mime=application/pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC110/forms/RepackagingTraining-20210116210003.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC110/forms/RepackagingTraining-20210116210003.pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=718f6004673~148.pdf&typ=40&actno=004673&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=718f6004673~148.pdf&typ=40&actno=004673&mime=application/pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC110/forms/ReInspectionApp_2021-20210902204947.pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=21e50004673~168.pdf&typ=40&actno=004673&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=21e50004673~168.pdf&typ=40&actno=004673&mime=application/pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC110/forms/PharmacistApp_Exam_2021-20210624154341.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC110/forms/PharmacistApp_Exam_2021-20210624154341.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC110/forms/PharmacistApp_Endorse_2021-20210624154411.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC110/forms/PharmacistApp_Endorse_2021-20210624154411.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC110/forms/Reinstate-Reactivate_Pharm_2021-20210624154245.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC110/forms/Reinstate-Reactivate_Pharm_2021-20210624154245.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC110/forms/Reinstate_PharTech_2021-20210624154027.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC110/forms/Reinstate_PharTech_2021-20210624154027.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC110/forms/Phar_Technician_2021-20210624154142.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC110/forms/Phar_Technician_2021-20210624154142.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC110/forms/Limited-Use_PharTech_2021-20210624153917.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC110/forms/Limited-Use_PharTech_2021-20210624153917.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC110/forms/Aff_FreeClinicDir-20210113204932.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC110/forms/PT_TrainingApp-20210113205044.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC110/forms/PT_TrainingApp-20210113205044.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC110/forms/App_Trainee_2021-20210902211251.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC110/forms/App_Trainee_2021-20210902211251.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC110/forms/Intern_2021-20210624154624.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC110/forms/Intern_2021-20210624154624.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC110/forms/Foreign_Intern_2021-20210625112857.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC110/forms/Foreign_Intern_2021-20210625112857.pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=8fb24004673~309.pdf&typ=40&actno=004673&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=8fb24004673~309.pdf&typ=40&actno=004673&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=5946f004673~318.pdf&typ=40&actno=004673&mime=application/pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC110/forms/App_CEProgram_2021-20210902211150.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC110/forms/App_CEProgram_2021-20210902211150.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC110/forms/PilotProgram_2021-20210902211008.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC110/forms/PilotProgram_2021-20210902211008.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC110/forms/RepackagingTraining-20210113205357.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC110/forms/RepackagingTraining-20210113205357.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC110/forms/CECredit-20210113205411.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC110/forms/CECredit-20210113205411.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC110/forms/ACPE_SchoolCourse-20210113205525.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC110/forms/ACPE_SchoolCourse-20210113205525.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC110/forms/ACPE_SchoolCourse-20210113205525.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC110/forms/Vol_Prac_Sponsor-20210113205611.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC110/forms/Vol_Prac_Sponsor-20210113205611.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC110/forms/Volunt_App_Pharm-20210113205627.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC110/forms/Volunt_App_Pharm-20210113205627.pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=114d3004673~368.pdf&typ=40&actno=004673&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=114d3004673~368.pdf&typ=40&actno=004673&mime=application/pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC110/forms/Contr_Subst_Reg-20210116202337.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC110/forms/Contr_Subst_Reg-20210116202337.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC110/forms/InspectionReport-20210116202357.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC110/forms/InspectionReport-20210116202357.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC110/forms/Sell_Contr_Subst_2021-20210625112300.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC110/forms/Sell_Contr_Subst_2021-20210625112300.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC110/forms/LimitedUse_NonProfit_2021-20210902211924.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC110/forms/LimitedUse_NonProfit_2021-20210902211924.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC110/forms/LimitedUse_PractitionerNonprofit_2021-20210902212105.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC110/forms/LimitedUse_PractitionerNonprofit_2021-20210902212105.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC110/forms/Registration_Cannabis_2021-20210902202812.pdf
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Application for Registration as a Patient for Cannabis Oil 

(rev. 3/2021) 

Application for Registration as a Parent/Guardian for 

Cannabis Oil (rev. 3/2021) 

Application for Registration as a Registered Agent for 

Cannabis Oil (rev. 3/2021) 

How to Register with the Board as a Patient, Parent or Legal 

Guardian (rev. 7/2020) 

Application for a Pharmaceutical Processor Permit (rev. 

1/2021) 

Application for a Pharmaceutical Processor Permit (rev. 

9/2021) 

Practitioner Reporting Requirements (eff. 6/2019) 

Registration of CBD or THC-A Oil Products (eff. 6/2019) 

Pharmaceutical Processor & Dispensing Facility Inspection 

Report (rev. 3/2021) 

Application for Registration as a Registered Agent (eff. 

12/2019) 

Request for Visitor Approval (eff. 5/2020) 

VA.R. Doc. No. R22-6943; Filed September 3, 2021, 8:43 a.m. 

  ––––––––––––––––––  

TITLE 20. PUBLIC UTILITIES AND 
TELECOMMUNICATIONS 

STATE CORPORATION COMMISSION 

Proposed Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The State Corporation Commission 

is claiming an exemption from the Administrative Process Act 

in accordance with § 2.2-4002 A 2 of the Code of Virginia, 

which exempts courts, any agency of the Supreme Court, and 

any agency that by the Constitution is expressly granted any of 

the powers of a court of record. 

Title of Regulation: 20VAC5-319. Regulations Governing 

Accelerated Renewable Energy Buyers (adding 20VAC5-

319-10 through 20VAC5-319-70). 

Statutory Authority: §§ 12.1-13 and 56-585.5 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: Hearing will be held upon 

request. 

Public Comment Deadline: November 5, 2021. 

Agency Contact: Allison Samuel, Manager, Public Utility 

Regulation Division, State Corporation Commission, P.O. Box 

1197, Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 225-3177, FAX 

(804) 371-9350, or email allison.samuel@scc.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

Pursuant to Chapters 1193 and 1194 of the 2020 Acts of 

Assembly, the proposed amendments add a new chapter that 

establishes procedures for certification of accelerated 

renewable energy buyers to conform to requirements of 

§ 56-585.5 G of the Code of Virginia. Under the proposed 

new regulation, an accelerated renewable energy buyer 

may choose to certify through the Phase I or Phase II Utility 

in whose certificated service territory its accounts are 

located or through the commission procedures provided for 

in the regulation. 

AT RICHMOND, AUGUST 25, 2021 

CASE NO. PUR-2021-00089 

COMMONWEALTH OF VIRGINIA, ex rel. 

STATE CORPORATION COMMISSION 

Ex Parte: In the matter of establishing rules 

and regulations pursuant to § 56-585.5 G 

of the Code of Virginia related to 

accelerated renewable energy buyers 

ORDER FOR NOTICE AND COMMENT 

On May 12, 2021, the State Corporation Commission 

("Commission") issued an Order Establishing Proceeding 

("Initial Order") docketing this matter for the purpose of 

determining whether rules and regulations are necessary to 

implement the provisions of Code § 56-585.5 G and, if so, the 

appropriate rules and regulations that should be adopted. 

Enacted as part of the Virginia Clean Economy Act by the 2020 

Virginia General Assembly,1 Code § 56-585.5 G permits 

certain customers of Appalachian Power Company ("APCo") 

and Virginia Electric and Power Company ("Dominion") to be 

certified as accelerated renewable energy buyers ("ARBs"). 

Among other things, the Initial Order directed APCo and 

Dominion to submit comments and permitted any other 

interested person or entity to submit comments regarding 

specific issues identified therein. The Commission further 

permitted commenters to propose specific regulations. 

The following entities filed comments: Dominion and APCo,2 

jointly; the Virginia Office of the Attorney General, Division 

of Consumer Counsel; Walmart, Inc. ("Walmart"); the Data 

Center Coalition ("DCC"); and the Advanced Energy Buyers 

Group ("AEBG").3 Dominion and APCo included draft 

proposed regulations with their joint comments. Among other 

things, the comments of the AEBG stated that "[i]n addition to 

providing responses below to the questions posed by the 

Commission, AEBG also requests the opportunity to reply to 

feedback submitted by [Dominion and APCo]."4 

On July 7, 2021, the Commission issued an Order for 

Additional Comment permitting additional comments in 

response to comments previously filed in this matter on or 

before July 29, 2021. Additional comments were filed by 

Dominion and APCo, jointly; Walmart; DCC; and AEBG.5 

https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC110/forms/Patient%20Cannabis-20210406110811.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC110/forms/Patient%20Cannabis-20210406110811.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC110/forms/Parent%20Cannabis-20210406110920.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC110/forms/Parent%20Cannabis-20210406110920.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC110/forms/Agent%20Cannabis-20210406111013.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC110/forms/Agent%20Cannabis-20210406111013.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC110/forms/HowToPatientRegistration-20210113210109.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC110/forms/HowToPatientRegistration-20210113210109.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC110/forms/ProcessorPermit_9_2021-20210902202545.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC110/forms/ProcessorPermit_9_2021-20210902202545.pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=91500004878~3).pdf&typ=40&actno=004878&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=c3140004878~4).pdf&typ=40&actno=004878&mime=application/pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC110/forms/ProcessorInspectionReport-20210322101226.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC110/forms/ProcessorInspectionReport-20210322101226.pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=9638d006274~1A.pdf&typ=40&actno=006274&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=9638d006274~1A.pdf&typ=40&actno=006274&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=b19f0006378~3l.pdf&typ=40&actno=006378&mime=application/pdf
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NOW THE COMMISSION, upon consideration of the 

foregoing, is of the opinion and finds as follows. Based on 

comments and draft regulations filed in this proceeding, the 

Commission's Staff ("Staff") has prepared Proposed Rules 

which are appended to this Order. We will direct that notice of 

the Proposed Rules be given to the public and that interested 

persons be provided an opportunity to file written comments 

on, propose modifications or supplements to, or request a 

hearing on the Proposed Rules. We further find that a copy of 

the Proposed Rules should be sent to the Registrar of 

Regulations for publication in the Virginia Register of 

Regulations. 

The Commission takes judicial notice of the ongoing public 

health issues related to the spread of the coronavirus, or 

COVID-19. The Commission has taken certain actions, and 

may take additional actions going forward, which could impact 

the procedures in this proceeding.6 Consistent with these 

actions, in regard to the terms of the procedural framework 

established below, the Commission will, among other things, 

direct the electronic filing of comments. 

Accordingly, IT IS ORDERED THAT: 

(1) All pleadings, briefs, or other documents required to be 

served in this matter should be submitted electronically to the 

extent authorized by Rule 5 VAC 5-20-150, Copies and format, 

of the Commission's Rules of Practice and Procedure ("Rules 

of Practice").7 Confidential and Extraordinarily Sensitive 

information shall not be submitted electronically and should 

comply with 5 VAC 5-20-170, Confidential information, of the 

Rules of Practice. Any person seeking to hand deliver and 

physically file or submit any pleading or other document shall 

contact the Clerk's Office Document Control Center at (804) 

371-9838 to arrange the delivery.8 

(2) The Commission's Division of Information Resources 

shall forward a copy of this Order for Notice and Comment 

("Order"), including a copy of the Proposed Rules, to the 

Registrar of Regulations for publication in the Virginia 

Register of Regulations. 

(3) An electronic copy of the Proposed Rules may be obtained 

by submitting a request to Allison F. Samuel in the 

Commission's Division of Public Utility Regulation at the 

following email address: Allison.Samuel@scc.virginia.gov. 

An electronic copy of the Proposed Rules can be found at the 

Division of Public Utility Regulation's website: 

scc.virginia.gov/pages/Rulemaking. Interested persons may 

also download unofficial copies of the Order and the Proposed 

Rules from the Commission's website: 

scc.virginia.gov/pages/Case-Information. 

(4) Within five (5) business days of the date of this Order, 

APCo and Dominion shall transmit to each customer eligible 

to be certified as an ARB, by separate first class mailing, by 

electronic mail, or by bill insert, a copy of this Order. 

(5) Within ten (10) business days of the date of this Order, 

APCo and Dominion shall file an affidavit of compliance with 

the requirement in Ordering Paragraph (4) with the Clerk of 

the Commission by filing electronically at 

scc.virginia.gov/clerk/efiling/. The affidavit shall not include 

the names or other identifying information of the notified 

customers, but each utility shall maintain a record of such 

information. 

(6) The Commission's Division of Public Utility Regulation 

shall provide copies of this Order by electronic transmission, 

or when electronic transmission is not possible, by mail, to any 

additional individuals, organizations, and companies who have 

been identified by the Staff as having interest in this matter. 

(7) On or before November 5, 2021, any interested person 

may file comments on the Proposed Rules by following the 

instructions found on the Commission's website: 

scc.virginia.gov/casecomments/Submit-Public-Comments. 

Those unable, as a practical matter, to submit comments 

electronically may file such comments by U.S. mail to the 

Clerk of the State Corporation Commission, c/o Document 

Control Center, P.O. Box 2118, Richmond, Virginia 23218-

2118. Such comments may also include proposals and hearing 

requests. All comments shall refer to Case No. PUR-2021-

00089. Any request for hearing shall state with specificity why 

the issues raised in the request for hearing cannot be adequately 

addressed in written comments. If a sufficient request for 

hearing is not received, the Commission may consider the 

matter and enter an order based upon the papers filed herein. 

(8) On or before November 19, 2021, the Staff shall file with 

the Clerk of the Commission a report on or a response to any 

comments, proposals, or requests for hearing submitted to the 

Commission on the Proposed Rules. 

(9) APCo's Motion is granted. 

(10) This matter is continued. 

A COPY hereof shall be sent electronically by the Clerk of 

the Commission to all persons on the official Service List in 

this matter. The Service List is available from the Clerk of the 

Commission. 

_______________________________ 

1Senate Bill 851, 2020 Va. Acts ch. 1194, and identical House Bill 1526, 2020 

Va. Acts ch. 1193 (effective July 1, 2020). 

2On June 21, 2021, APCo also filed a Motion to Accept Affidavit Out of Time 

("Motion") related to requirements set forth in the Initial Order to transmit a 

copy of the Initial Order to customers eligible to be certified as ARBs. No 

responses to APCo's Motion were filed, and the Commission will grant the 
Motion herein. 

3AEBG filed its comments on June 22, 2021. The Commission hereby 

exercises its discretion to accept AEBG's comments one day out of time. 

4AEBG Comments at 2. 

5AEBG filed its comments on July 30, 2021. The Commission hereby 

exercises its discretion to accept AEBG's comments one day out of time. 

https://scc.virginia.gov/pages/Rulemaking
https://scc.virginia.gov/pages/Case-Information
https://scc.virginia.gov/casecomments/Submit-Public-Comments
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6See, e.g., Commonwealth of Virginia, ex rel. State Corporation Commission, 

Ex Parte: Electronic Service of Commission Orders, Case No. CLK-2020-
00004, Doc. Con. Cen. No. 200330035, Order Concerning Electronic Service 

of Commission Orders (Mar. 19, 2020), extended by Doc. Con. Cen. No. 

200520105, Order Regarding the State Corporation Commission's Revised 
Operating Procedures During COVID-19 Emergency (May 11, 2020); 

Commonwealth of Virginia, ex rel., State Corporation Commission, Ex Parte: 

Revised Operating Procedures During COVID-19 Emergency, Case No. CLK-
2020-00005, Doc. Con. Cen. No. 200330042, Order Regarding the State 

Corporation Commission's Revised Operating Procedures During COVID-19 

Emergency (Mar. 19, 2020) ("Revised Operating Procedures Order"), 
extended by Doc. Con. Cen. No. 200520105, Order Regarding the State 

Corporation Commission's Revised Operating Procedures During COVID-19 

Emergency (May 11, 2020); Commonwealth of Virginia, ex rel. State 
Corporation Commission, Ex Parte: Electronic service among parties during 

COVID-19 emergency, Case No. CLK-2020-00007, Doc. Con. Cen. No. 

200410009, Order Requiring Electronic Service (Apr. 1, 2020). 

75 VAC 5-20-10 et seq. 

8As noted in the Revised Operating Procedures Order, submissions to the 

Commission's Clerk's Office via U.S. mail or commercial mail equivalents 
may be subject to delayed processing due to the COVID-19 public health 

issues. 

Chapter 319 

Regulations Governing Accelerated Renewable Energy 

Buyers 

20VAC5-319-10. Purpose and applicability.  

This chapter is promulgated pursuant to § 56-585.5 G 2 of the 

Code of Virginia to implement the provisions of § 56-585.5 of 

the Code of Virginia related to accelerated renewable energy 

buyers. 

20VAC5-319-20. Definitions.  

The following words and terms when used in this chapter 

shall have the following meanings unless the context clearly 

indicates otherwise: 

"Aggregate load" means the combined electrical load 

associated with selected accounts of an ARB with the same 

legal entity name as, or in the names of affiliated entities that 

control, are controlled by, or are under common control of, 

such legal entity or are the names of affiliated entities under a 

common parent. 

"ARB" means accelerated renewable energy buyer as defined 

in § 56-585.5 A of the Code of Virginia.  

"Bundled contract" means a contract for the bundled capacity, 

energy, and RECs from solar or wind generation resources 

located within the PJM region and initially placed in 

commercial operation after January 1, 2015, including any 

contract with a utility for such generation resources that does 

not allocate to or recover from any other customer of the utility 

the cost of such resources. 

"Commission" means the Virginia State Corporation 

Commission. 

"Electrical load associated with the selected accounts of an 

accelerated renewable energy buyer" means the aggregate 

demand to be determined based on the sum of the maximum 

non-coincident peak demand metered on the utility's 

distribution system for each customer account in the previous 

calendar year. The maximum non-coincident peak demand for 

each customer account is the highest average kilowatt 

measured during any 30-minute interval in the previous 

calendar year.  

"Phase I Utility" has the same meaning as provided in § 56-

585.1 A 1 of the Code of Virginia.  

"Phase II Utility" has the same meaning as provided in § 56-

585.1 A 1 of the Code of Virginia. 

"REC" means renewable energy certificate. 

"REC-only contract" means a contract for purchase of 

unbundled RECs from RPS eligible resources. 

"RPS" means the renewable energy portfolio standard 

pursuant to § 56-585.5 of the Code of Virginia. 

20VAC5-319-30. Certification of accelerated renewable 

energy buyers.  

Any potential ARB must be certified annually either (i) 

through the Phase I or Phase II Utility in whose certificated 

service territory its accounts are located through the process 

established by that utility or (ii) through the commission 

pursuant to 20VAC5-319-40. 

20VAC5-319-40. Commission certification process.  

A. The commission establishes the following process for 

certification through the commission: 

1. Any potential ARB that chooses to certify directly with 

the commission must submit to the director of the 

commission's Division of Public Utility Regulation an 

Accelerated Renewable Energy Buyer Certification Form by 

March 1 for the upcoming year, starting June 1 and 

concluding May 31, based on load data and information 

from the prior calendar year. 

2. Upon receipt of a completed Accelerated Renewable 

Energy Buyer Certification Form pursuant to subdivision A 

1 of this section, commission staff shall provide the 

appropriate Phase I or Phase II Utility with a copy of the 

completed Accelerated Renewable Energy Buyer 

Certification Form, excluding copies of any executed 

contracts provided to commission staff by the potential 

ARB, and set a deadline by which the utility shall submit 

comments to commission staff. The utility's comments shall 

include confirmation to commission staff that the potential 

ARB meets the aggregate load requirements of § 56-585.5 

of the Code of Virginia. The utility shall also send a copy of 

its comments to the potential ARB.  

3. Following receipt of a completed Accelerated Renewable 

Energy Buyer Certification Form pursuant to subdivision A 

1 of this section, based on its review and the comments 

received, commission staff shall determine by May 1 
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whether the potential ARB meets the requirements of § 56-

585.5 G of the Code of Virginia and this chapter, the type of 

certification (i.e., REC-only contract or bundled contract), 

and the percentage exemption. 

4. Within five business days of its certification decision, 

commission staff shall provide the appropriate Phase I or 

Phase II Utility with a list of customer accounts associated 

with each certified ARB, the type of certification (i.e., REC-

only contract or bundled contract), and the percentage 

exemption. Commission staff shall also provide each Phase 

I Utility and Phase II Utility with the nameplate capacity of 

the solar and wind generation of certified ARBs with 

bundled contracts. 

B. Any potential ARB or Phase I or Phase II Utility that 

contests the certification decision made by commission staff 

must file a formal complaint with the commission pursuant to 

5VAC5-20-100 within five business days of the certification 

decision. Any statutorily exempt charges incurred by the 

potential ARB after June 1 are subject to collection or refund, 

depending on the certification decision. 

C. Customers certified as ARBs through this process shall be 

exempt from the applicable charges for one year starting June 

1 and concluding May 31 following certification. 

D. For a potential ARB that seeks certification based on its 

load and renewable energy under contract for the 2020 

calendar year, the ARB must submit an Accelerated 

Renewable Energy Buyer Certification Form by March 1, 

2022, based on information for the 2020 calendar year. 

Customers that are certified as ARBs based on 2020 calendar 

year information will receive a refund of applicable charges for 

the period of June 1, 2021, to May 31, 2022. 

20VAC5-319-50. Utility certification process.  

A. Each Phase I Utility and Phase II Utility shall establish a 

process to certify ARBs based on receipt and review of 

Accelerated Renewable Energy Buyer Certification Forms 

submitted to the utility by potential ARBs. In reviewing the 

information submitted by potential ARBs required for 

certification, each Phase I Utility and Phase II Utility shall 

ensure that the appropriate internal protections are in place to 

protect the confidentiality of that information from those 

within the utility serving in marketing roles. 

B. By May 1 annually, each Phase I Utility and Phase II 

Utility shall submit to commission staff a complete list of 

ARBs certified by the utility. Each Phase I Utility and Phase II 

Utility shall submit additional information to support its 

certification decisions to commission staff upon request. Any 

potential ARB that contests the certification decision made by 

a Phase I or Phase II Utility may file a formal complaint with 

the commission pursuant to 5VAC5-20-100 within five 

business days of the certification decision. Commission staff 

may contest the certification decision made by a Phase I or 

Phase II Utility by filing a motion with the commission 

pursuant to 5VAC5-20-90, or, as appropriate, through other 

relevant proceedings before the commission. 

C. Customers certified as ARBs through this process shall be 

exempt from the applicable charges for one year starting June 

1 and concluding May 31 following certification. 

D. For a potential ARB that seeks certification based on its 

load and renewable energy under contract for the 2020 

calendar year, the ARB must submit an Accelerated 

Renewable Energy Buyer Certification Form by March 1, 

2022, based on information for the 2020 calendar year. 

Customers that are certified as ARBs based on 2020 calendar 

year information will receive a refund of applicable charges for 

the period of June 1, 2021, to May 31, 2022. 

20VAC5-319-60. Confidentiality.  

Where any Accelerated Renewable Energy Buyer 

Certification Form or other information submitted to 

commission staff under this chapter, including any supporting 

documents, contains information that the ARB asserts is 

confidential, it shall be treated in accordance with 5VAC5-20-

170.  

20VAC5-319-70. Waiver.  

The commission may waive any part or all parts of this 

chapter for good cause shown. 

NOTICE: The following forms used in administering the 

regulation have been filed by the agency. Amended or added 

forms are reflected in the listing and are published following 

the listing. Online users of this issue of the Virginia Register 

of Regulations may also click on the name to access a form. 

The forms are also available from the agency contact or may 

be viewed at the Office of Registrar of Regulations, 900 East 

Main Street, 11th Floor, Richmond, Virginia 23219. 

FORMS (20VAC5-319) 

Accelerated Renewable Energy Buyer Certification Form, 

(draft 8/2021) 

VA.R. Doc. No. R22-6301; Filed August 25, 2021, 3:01 p.m. 

https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/20VAC5/forms/Accelerated%20Renewable%20Energy%20Buyer%20Certification%20Form-20210816113144-20210913120622.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/20VAC5/forms/Accelerated%20Renewable%20Energy%20Buyer%20Certification%20Form-20210816113144-20210913120622.pdf
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Governor 

EXECUTIVE ORDER NUMBER EIGHTY-ONE (2021) 

Declaration of a State of Emergency Due to Severe 
Weather 

Importance of the Issue 

On this date, August 31, 2021, I declare that a state of 

emergency exists in the Commonwealth of Virginia to prepare 

and coordinate our response to severe weather storms. The 

Virginia Emergency Operations Center has monitored severe 

weather and rain events that started moving through the 

western portion of the Commonwealth on August 30, 2021, to 

include Tropical Storm Ida, which will cover large portions of 

the entire state beginning today, August 31, 2021. The rainfall 

experienced so far, in conjunction with the amount forecast in 

coming days, presents significant resource and operational 

challenges. 

The impacts of these weather systems have already caused 

flash flooding, downed trees, electrical outages, and significant 

impacts to roads and bridges. Given the storm’s current 

forecast, the Commonwealth will assist localities, especially 

those with vulnerable populations, to provide support in 

response to a large-scale weather event during the COVID-19 

pandemic. Pre-positioning response assets and supplies and 

activating the Virginia Emergency Support Team will be 

necessary to assist our localities. 

The anticipated effects of this situation constitute a disaster as 

described in § 44-146.16 of the Code of Virginia (Code). 

Therefore, by virtue of the authority vested in me by Article V, 

Section 7 of the Constitution of Virginia, by §§ 44-146.17 and 

44-75.1 of the Code, as Governor and Director of Emergency 

Management and Commander-in-Chief of the 

Commonwealth's armed forces, I proclaim a state of 

emergency. Accordingly, I direct state and local governments 

to render appropriate assistance to prepare for this event, to 

alleviate any conditions resulting from the situation, and to 

implement recovery and mitigation operations and activities so 

as to return impacted areas to pre-event conditions as much as 

possible. Emergency services shall be conducted in accordance 

with § 44-146.13 et seq. of the Code. 

In order to marshal all public resources and appropriate 

preparedness, response, and recovery measures, I order the 

following actions: 

• Implementation by state agencies of the Commonwealth of 

Virginia Emergency Operations Plan, as amended, along 

with other appropriate state plans. 

• Activation of the Virginia Emergency Operations Center 

and the Virginia Emergency Support Team, as directed by 

the State Coordinator of Emergency Management, to 

coordinate the provision of assistance to state, local, and 

tribal governments and to facilitate emergency services 

assignments to other agencies. 

• Authorization for the heads of executive branch agencies, 

on behalf of their regulatory boards as appropriate, and with 

the concurrence of their Cabinet Secretary, to waive any 

state requirement or regulation, and enter into contracts 

without regard to normal procedures or formalities, and 

without regard to application or permit fees or royalties. All 

waivers issued by agencies shall be posted on their websites. 

• Activation of § 59.1-525 et seq. of the Code related to price 

gouging. 

• Authorization of a maximum of $1,000,000 in state sum 

sufficient funds for state and local government mission 

assignments and state response and recovery operations 

authorized and coordinated through the Virginia Department 

of Emergency Management allowable by The Stafford Act, 

42 USC § 5121 et seq. Included in this authorization is 

$300,000 for the Department of Military Affairs. 

• Activation of the Virginia National Guard to State Active 

Duty. 

Effective Date of this Executive Order 

This Executive Order shall be effective August 30, 2021, and 

shall remain in full force and in effect until September 28, 

2021, unless sooner amended or rescinded by further executive 

order. Termination of this Executive Order is not intended to 

terminate any federal type benefits granted or to be granted due 

to injury or death as a result of service under this Executive 

Order. 

Given under my hand and under the Seal of the 

Commonwealth of Virginia, this 31st day of August, 2021. 

/s/ Ralph S. Northam, Governor 
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Guidance Documents 

 

PUBLIC COMMENT OPPORTUNITY 

Pursuant to § 2.2-4002.1 of the Code of Virginia, a certified guidance document is subject to a 30-day public comment period 

after publication in the Virginia Register of Regulations and prior to the guidance document's effective date. During the public 

comment period, comments may be made through the Virginia Regulatory Town Hall website (http://www.townhall.virginia.gov) 

or sent to the agency contact. Under subsection C of § 2.2-4002.1, the effective date of the guidance document may be delayed 

for an additional period. The guidance document may also be withdrawn. 

The following guidance documents have been submitted for publication by the listed agencies for a public comment period. 

Online users of this issue of the Virginia Register of Regulations may click on the name of a guidance document to access it. 

Guidance documents are also available on the Virginia Regulatory Town Hall (http://www.townhall.virginia.gov) or from the 

agency contact or may be viewed at the Office of the Registrar of Regulations, 900 East Main Street, Richmond, Virginia 23219. 

VIRGINIA BOARD FOR ASBESTOS, LEAD, AND 
HOME INSPECTORS 

Title of Document: Inspections Without a Written Evaluation 

Report Conducted by a Home Inspector. 

Public Comment Deadline: October 27, 2021. 

Effective Date: October 28, 2021. 

Agency Contact: Tanya Pettus, Administrator, Virginia Board 

for Asbestos, Lead, and Home Inspectors, 9960 Mayland 

Drive, Suite 400, Richmond, VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-

1795, or email alhi@dpor.virginia.gov. 

DEPARTMENT OF TAXATION 

Title of Document: Guidelines for the Virginia Disposable 

Plastic Bag Tax. 

Public Comment Deadline: October 27, 2021. 

Effective Date: October 28, 2021. 

Agency Contact: Stephen Klos, Senior Tax Policy Analyst, 

Department of Taxation, P.O. Box 27185, Richmond, VA 

23261-7185, telephone (804) 371-2336, or email 

stephen.klos@tax.virginia.gov. 

https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title2.2/chapter40/section2.2-4002.1/
http://www.townhall.virginia.gov/
https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title2.2/chapter40/section2.2-4002.1/
http://www.townhall.virginia.gov/
https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/GetFile.cfm?File=C:/TownHall/docroot/GuidanceDocs_Proposed/222/GDoc_DPOR_4921_20210827.pdf
https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/GetFile.cfm?File=C:/TownHall/docroot/GuidanceDocs_Proposed/222/GDoc_DPOR_4921_20210827.pdf
mailto:ALHI@DPOR.Virginia.gov
https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/GetFile.cfm?File=C:/TownHall/docroot/GuidanceDocs_Proposed/161/GDoc_TAX_4922_20210901.pdf
https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/GetFile.cfm?File=C:/TownHall/docroot/GuidanceDocs_Proposed/161/GDoc_TAX_4922_20210901.pdf
mailto:stephen.klos@tax.virginia.gov
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General Notices 

DEPARTMENT OF MEDICAL ASSISTANCE 
SERVICES 

Contact Information for the following Department of Medical 

Assistance Services general notices is provided at the end of 

the notices. 

Draft Mental Health Services Provider Manual 

The draft Mental Health Services Behavioral Therapy Program 

Supplement Provider Manual is now available on the 

Department of Medical Assistance Services (DMAS) website 

at https://www.dmas.virginia.gov/for-providers/general-

information/medicaid-provider-manual-drafts/ for public 

comment until September 29, 2021. 

Draft Mental Health Services Provider Manual 

The draft Mental Health Services Provider Manual Chapters 2, 

4, 5, and 6, and Appendices C, D, E, F, and G are now available 

on the DMAS website at https://www.dmas.virginia.gov/for-

providers/general-information/medicaid-provider-manual-

drafts/ for public comment until September 29, 2021. 

Draft Physician Practitioner Appendix D Provider 
Manual 

The draft Physician Practitioner Provider Manual Appendix D 

is now available on the DMAS website at 

https://www.dmas.virginia.gov/for-providers/general-

information/medicaid-provider-manual-drafts/. 

Draft Telehealth Services Supplement 

The draft Telehealth Services Supplement is now available on 

the DMAS website at https://www.dmas.virginia.gov/for-

providers/general-information/medicaid-provider-manual-

drafts/ for public comment until September 29, 2021. 

Draft Temporary Detention Order Supplement 

The draft Temporary Detention Order Supplement is now 

available on the DMAS website at 

https://www.dmas.virginia.gov/for-providers/general-

information/medicaid-provider-manual-drafts/ for public 

comment until September 29, 2021. 

Contact Information: Emily McClellan, Regulatory Manager, 

Division of Policy and Research, Department of Medical 

Assistance Services, 600 East Broad Street, Suite 1300, 

Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 371-4300, FAX (804) 

786-1680. 

STATE WATER CONTROL BOARD 

Proposed Enforcement Action for Bristol Winterfield 
Partners LLC 

The State Water Control Board proposes to issue a consent 

special order to Bristol Winterfield Partners LLC for alleged 

violation of the State Water Control Law at Winterfield Place 

- Phase II at the corner of Huguenot Trail and Winterfield Road 

in Powhatan County, Virginia. A description of the proposed 

action is available at the Department of Environmental Quality 

office listed or online at www.deq.virginia.gov. The staff 

contact will accept comments by email or postal mail from 

September 27, 2021, to October 27, 2021. 

Contact Information: Aree Reinhardt, Department of 

Environmental Quality, Piedmont Regional Office 

(Enforcement), 4949-A Cox Road, Glen Allen, VA 23060, or 

email aree.reinhardt@deq.virginia.gov. 

Proposed Enforcement Action for Dayton Station 
Tanks 423 LLC 

An enforcement action has been proposed for Dayton Station 

Tanks 423 LLC for violations at the Krossroads Kuntry Store 

in Rockingham County, Virginia. The State Water Control 

Board proposes to issue a consent order with penalty and 

injunctive relief to Dayton Station Tanks 423 LLC to address 

noncompliance with State Water Control Law. A description 

of the proposed action is available at the Department of 

Environmental Quality office listed or online at 

www.deq.virginia.gov. The staff contact will accept comments 

by email, fax, or postal mail from September 27, 2021, to 

October 27, 2021. 

Contact Information: Eric Millard, Enforcement Specialist, 

Department of Environmental Quality, Valley Regional 

Office, 4411 Early Road, P.O. Box 3000, Harrisonburg, VA 

22801, FAX (804) 698-4178, or email 

eric.millard@deq.virginia.gov. 

Proposed Enforcement Action for Matthews Sand 
and Gravel LLC 

The State Water Control Board proposes to issue a consent 

special order to Matthews Sand and Gravel LLC for alleged 

violation of the State Water Control Law at 18702 Church 

Road, Stony Creek, Virginia. A description of the proposed 

action is available at the Department of Environmental Quality 

office listed or online at www.deq.virginia.gov. The staff 

contact will accept comments by email or postal mail from 

September 27, 2021, to October 28, 2021. 

Contact Information: Jeff Reynolds, Department of 

Environmental Quality, Piedmont Regional Office 

(Enforcement), 4949-A Cox Road, Glen Allen, VA 23060, or 

email jefferson.reynolds@deq.virginia.gov. 
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Proposed Enforcement Action for Mt. Jackson Bulk 
Plant Tanks 440 LLC 

An enforcement action has been proposed for Mt. Jackson 

Bulk Plant Tanks 440 LLC for violations at the Mt. Jackson 

Bulk Tank Plant in Mount Jackson, Virginia. The State Water 

Control Board proposes to issue a consent order with penalty 

and injunctive relief to Mt. Jackson Bulk Plant Tanks 440 LLC 

to address noncompliance with State Water Control Law. A 

description of the proposed action is available at the 

Department of Environmental Quality office listed or online at 

www.deq.virginia.gov. The staff contact will accept comments 

by email, fax, or postal mail from September 27, 2021, to 

October 27, 2021. 

Contact Information: Eric Millard, Enforcement Specialist, 

Department of Environmental Quality, Valley Regional 

Office, 4411 Early Road, P.O. Box 3000, Harrisonburg, VA 

22801, FAX (804) 698-4178, or email 

eric.millard@deq.virginia.gov. 

VIRGINIA CODE COMMISSION 

Notice to State Agencies 

Contact Information: Mailing Address: Virginia Code 

Commission, Pocahontas Building, 900 East Main Street, 8th 

Floor, Richmond, VA 23219; Telephone: (804) 698-1810; 

Email: varegs@dls.virginia.gov. 

Meeting Notices: Section 2.2-3707 C of the Code of Virginia 

requires state agencies to post meeting notices on their 

websites and on the Commonwealth Calendar at 

https://commonwealthcalendar.virginia.gov. 

Cumulative Table of Virginia Administrative Code 

Sections Adopted, Amended, or Repealed: A table listing 

regulation sections that have been amended, added, or repealed 

in the Virginia Register of Regulations since the regulations 

were originally published or last supplemented in the print 

version of the Virginia Administrative Code is available at 

http://register.dls.virginia.gov/documents/cumultab.pdf. 

Filing Material for Publication in the Virginia Register of 

Regulations: Agencies use the Regulation Information System 

(RIS) to file regulations and related items for publication in the 

Virginia Register of Regulations. The Registrar's office works 

closely with the Department of Planning and Budget (DPB) to 

coordinate the system with the Virginia Regulatory Town Hall. 

RIS and Town Hall complement and enhance one another by 

sharing pertinent regulatory information. 

http://www.deq.virginia.gov/
mailto:eric.millard@deq.virginia.gov
file://///legmain/sysdata/dlsdata/CODEREGS/regispub/Vol33/Iss04/varegs@dls.virginia.gov
https://commonwealthcalendar.virginia.gov/
http://register.dls.virginia.gov/documents/cumultab.pdf
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Errata 

BOARD OF COUNSELING 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC115-40. Regulations Governing 

the Certification of Rehabilitation Providers. 

Publication: 38:1 VA.R. 158-160 August 30, 2021. 

Correction to Final Regulation: 

Page 159, 18VAC115-40-20 A, row 4 of the table, after 

"check" add "or dishonored credit card or debit card" and 

change "$35" to "$50" 

VA.R. Doc. No. R20-6208; Filed September 13, 2021, 4:23 p.m. 

STATE CORPORATION COMMISSION 

Title of Regulation: 20VAC5-360. Licensed Professional 

Engineer to Exercise Responsible Charge over Certain 

Natural Gas Engineering Projects. 

Publication: 38:2 VA.R. 317 September 13, 2021. 

Correction to Erratum: 

Change "20VAC5-360-10" to "20VAC5-360-20" 

VA.R. Doc. No. R21-6603; Filed September 13, 2021, 10:43 a.m. 
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