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REGISTER INFORMATION PAGE 

THE VIRGINIA REGISTER OF REGULATIONS is an official state 

publication issued every other week throughout the year. Indexes are published 

quarterly, and are cumulative for the year. The Virginia Register has several 
functions. The new and amended sections of regulations, both as proposed and 

as finally adopted, are required by law to be published in the Virginia Register. 

In addition, the Virginia Register is a source of other information about state 
government, including petitions for rulemaking, emergency regulations, 

executive orders issued by the Governor, and notices of public hearings on 

regulations. 

ADOPTION, AMENDMENT, AND REPEAL OF REGULATIONS 

Unless exempted by law, an agency wishing to adopt, amend, or repeal 

regulations must follow the procedures in the Administrative Process Act 
(§ 2.2-4000 et seq. of the Code of Virginia). Typically, this includes first 

publishing in the Virginia Register a notice of intended regulatory action; a 

basis, purpose, substance and issues statement; an economic impact analysis 
prepared by the Department of Planning and Budget; the agency’s response to 

the economic impact analysis; a summary; a notice giving the public an 

opportunity to comment on the proposal; and the text of the proposed 
regulation. 

Following publication of the proposed regulation in the Virginia Register, the 

promulgating agency receives public comments for a minimum of 60 days. 
The Governor reviews the proposed regulation to determine if it is necessary 

to protect the public health, safety, and welfare, and if it is clearly written and 

easily understandable. If the Governor chooses to comment on the proposed 
regulation, his comments must be transmitted to the agency and the Registrar 

of Regulations no later than 15 days following the completion of the 60-day 
public comment period. The Governor’s comments, if any, will be published 

in the Virginia Register. Not less than 15 days following the completion of the 

60-day public comment period, the agency may adopt the proposed regulation. 

The Joint Commission on Administrative Rules or the appropriate standing 

committee of each house of the General Assembly may meet during the 

promulgation or final adoption process and file an objection with the Registrar 
and the promulgating agency. The objection will be published in the Virginia 

Register. Within 21 days after receipt by the agency of a legislative objection, 

the agency shall file a response with the Registrar, the objecting legislative 
body, and the Governor. 

When final action is taken, the agency again publishes the text of the 

regulation as adopted, highlighting all changes made to the proposed 
regulation and explaining any substantial changes made since publication of 

the proposal. A 30-day final adoption period begins upon final publication in 

the Virginia Register. 

The Governor may review the final regulation during this time and, if he 

objects, forward his objection to the Registrar and the agency. In addition to 

or in lieu of filing a formal objection, the Governor may suspend the effective 
date of a portion or all of a regulation until the end of the next regular General 

Assembly session by issuing a directive signed by a majority of the members 

of the appropriate legislative body and the Governor. The Governor’s 
objection or suspension of the regulation, or both, will be published in the 

Virginia Register. 

If the Governor finds that the final regulation contains changes made after 
publication of the proposed regulation that have substantial impact, he may 

require the agency to provide an additional 30-day public comment period on 

the changes. Notice of the additional public comment period required by the 

Governor will be published in the Virginia Register. Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.06 

of the Code of Virginia, any person may request that the agency solicit 

additional public comment on certain changes made after publication of the 
proposed regulation. The agency shall suspend the regulatory process for 30 

days upon such request from 25 or more individuals, unless the agency 

determines that the changes have minor or inconsequential impact. 

A regulation becomes effective at the conclusion of the 30-day final adoption 

period, or at any other later date specified by the promulgating agency, unless 

(i) a legislative objection has been filed, in which event the regulation, unless 
withdrawn, becomes effective on the date specified, which shall be after the 

expiration of the 21-day objection period; (ii) the Governor exercises his 

authority to require the agency to provide for additional public comment, in 

which event the regulation, unless withdrawn, becomes effective on the date 

specified, which shall be after the expiration of the period for which the 

Governor has provided for additional public comment; (iii) the Governor and 

the General Assembly exercise their authority to suspend the effective date of 
a regulation until the end of the next regular legislative session; or (iv) the 

agency suspends the regulatory process, in which event the regulation, unless 

withdrawn, becomes effective on the date specified, which shall be after the 
expiration of the 30-day public comment period and no earlier than 15 days 

from publication of the readopted action. 

A regulatory action may be withdrawn by the promulgating agency at any 
time before the regulation becomes final. 

FAST-TRACK RULEMAKING PROCESS 

Section 2.2-4012.1 of the Code of Virginia provides an alternative to the 
standard process set forth in the Administrative Process Act for regulations 

deemed by the Governor to be noncontroversial. To use this process, the 

Governor's concurrence is required and advance notice must be provided to 
certain legislative committees. Fast-track regulations become effective on the 

date noted in the regulatory action if fewer than 10 persons object to using the 

process in accordance with § 2.2-4012.1. 

EMERGENCY REGULATIONS 

Pursuant to § 2.2-4011 of the Code of Virginia, an agency may adopt 

emergency regulations if necessitated by an emergency situation or when 
Virginia statutory law or the appropriation act or federal law or federal 

regulation requires that a regulation be effective in 280 days or fewer from its 

enactment. In either situation, approval of the Governor is required. The 
emergency regulation is effective upon its filing with the Registrar of 

Regulations, unless a later date is specified per § 2.2-4012 of the Code of 
Virginia. Emergency regulations are limited to no more than 18 months in 

duration; however, may be extended for six months under the circumstances 

noted in § 2.2-4011 D. Emergency regulations are published as soon as 
possible in the Virginia Register and are on the Register of Regulations website 

at register.dls.virgina.gov. 

During the time the emergency regulation is in effect, the agency may 
proceed with the adoption of permanent regulations in accordance with the 

Administrative Process Act. If the agency chooses not to adopt the regulations, 

the emergency status ends when the prescribed time limit expires. 

STATEMENT 

The foregoing constitutes a generalized statement of the procedures to be 

followed. For specific statutory language, it is suggested that Article 2 (§ 2.2-
4006 et seq.) of Chapter 40 of Title 2.2 of the Code of Virginia be examined 

carefully. 

CITATION TO THE VIRGINIA REGISTER 

The Virginia Register is cited by volume, issue, page number, and date. 34:8 

VA.R. 763-832 December 11, 2017, refers to Volume 34, Issue 8, pages 763 

through 832 of the Virginia Register issued on  
December 11, 2017. 

The Virginia Register of Regulations is published pursuant to Article 6 (§ 2.2-

4031 et seq.) of Chapter 40 of Title 2.2 of the Code of Virginia. 

Members of the Virginia Code Commission: John S. Edwards, Chair; 

Marcus B. Simon, Vice Chair; Ward L. Armstrong; Nicole Cheuk;  

Leslie L. Lilley; Jennifer L. McClellan; Christopher R. Nolen; Don L. 

Scott, Jr.; Charles S. Sharp; Samuel T. Towell; Malfourd W. Trumbo; 

Amigo R. Wade. 

Staff of the Virginia Register: Holly Trice, Registrar of Regulations; Anne 

Bloomsburg, Assistant Registrar; Nikki Clemons, Regulations Analyst; 

Rhonda Dyer, Publications Assistant; Terri Edwards, Senior Operations 

Staff Assistant. 

https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/2.2-4011/
https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/2.2-4011/
http://register.dls.virgina.gov/
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PUBLICATION SCHEDULE AND DEADLINES 

October 2021 through November 2022 

Volume: Issue Material Submitted By Noon* Will Be Published On 

38:5 October 6, 2021 October 25, 2021 

38:6 October 20, 2021 November 8, 2021 

38:7 November 3, 2021 November 22, 2021 

38:8 November 15, 2021 (Monday) December 6, 2021 

38:9 December 1, 2021 December 20, 2021 

38:10 December 15, 2021 January 3, 2022 

38:11 December 29, 2021 January 17, 2022 

38:12 January 12, 2022 January 31, 2022 

38:13 January 26, 2022 February 14, 2022 

38:14 February 9, 2022 February 28, 2022 

38:15 February 23, 2022 March 14, 2022 

38:16 March 9, 2022 March 28, 2022 

38:17 March 23, 2022 April 11, 2022 

38:18 April 6, 2022 April 25, 2022 

38:19 April 20, 2022 May 9, 2022 

38:20 May 4, 2022 May 23, 2022 

38:21 May 18, 2022 June 6, 2022 

38:22 June 1, 2022 June 20, 2022 

38:23 June 15, 2022 July 4, 2022 

38:24 June 29, 2022 July 18, 2022 

38:25 July 13, 2022 August 1, 2022 

38:26 July 27, 2022 August 15, 2022 

39:1 August 10, 2022 August 29, 2022 

39:2 August 24, 2022 September 12, 2022 

39:3 September 7, 2022 September 26, 2022 

39:4 September 21, 2022 October 10, 2022 

39:5 October 5, 2022 October 24, 2022 

39:6 October 19, 2022 November 7, 2022 

*Filing deadlines are Wednesdays unless otherwise specified. 
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PETITIONS FOR RULEMAKING 

TITLE 18. PROFESSIONAL AND 
OCCUPATIONAL LICENSING 

BOARD OF AUDIOLOGY AND SPEECH-LANGUAGE 
PATHOLOGY 

Initial Agency Notice 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC30-21. Regulations Governing 

Audiology and Speech-Language Pathology. 

Statutory Authority: § 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia. 

Name of Petitioner: Rebecca Delbridge. 

Nature of Petitioner's Request: To allow for supervision of 

assistants by speech-language pathologists via telepractice. 

Agency Plan for Disposition of Request: The petition will be 

published on October 11, 2021, in the Virginia Register of 

Regulations and also posted on the Virginia Regulatory Town 

Hall at www.townhall.virginia.gov to receive public comment 

ending November 10, 2021. Following receipt of all comments 

on the petition to amend regulations, the board will decide 

whether to make any changes to the regulatory language. This 

matter may be discussed at the board meeting on October 19, 

2021, in the context of a periodic review of regulations. The 

petitioner will be informed of its decision. 

Public Comment Deadline: November 10, 2021. 

Agency Contact: Leslie L. Knachel, Executive Director, Board 

of Audiology and Speech-Language Pathology, 9960 Mayland 

Drive, Suite 300, Richmond, VA 23233, telephone (804) 597-

4130, or email audbd@dhp.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. PFR22-07; Filed September 9, 2021, 1:13 p.m. 

BOARD OF PSYCHOLOGY 

Initial Agency Notice 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC125-20. Regulations Governing 

the Practice of Psychology. 

Statutory Authority: § 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia. 

Name of Petitioner: Diana Rexach. 

Nature of Petitioner's Request: To amend requirements for 

residency in school psychology to accept five years of 

experience working as a school-psychologist limited in lieu of 

1,500 hours of a supervised residency. 

Agency Plan for Disposition of Request: In accordance with 

Virginia law, the petition has been filed with the Virginia 

Registrar of Regulations for publication on October 11, 2021, 

with a request for comment to be received until November 11, 

2021. The petition will also be posted for comment on the 

Virginia Regulatory Town Hall at www.townhall.virginia.gov.  

 

At the next meeting of the Board of Psychology after the 

comment period, which is scheduled for December 14, 2021, 

the board will consider the petition and any comment received 

to decide whether or not to initiate the rulemaking process. The 

board will inform the petitioner of its decision after the 

comment period is concluded and the board has made its 

decision. 

Public Comment Deadline: November 11, 2021. 

Agency Contact: Jaime Hoyle, Executive Director, Board of 

Psychology, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, Richmond, VA 

23233, telephone (804) 367-4406, or email 

jaime.hoyle@dhp.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. PFR22-09; Filed September 20, 2021, 1:21 p.m. 

  ––––––––––––––––––  

TITLE 24. TRANSPORTATION AND MOTOR 
VEHICLES 

COMMISSION ON THE VIRGINIA ALCOHOL SAFETY 
ACTION PROGRAM 

Agency Decision 

Title of Regulation: 24VAC35-30. VASAP Case 

Management Policy and Procedure Manual. 

Statutory Authority: §§ 18.2-271.1 and 18.2-271.2 of the Code 

of Virginia. 

Name of Petitioner: Cynthia Hites. 

Nature of Petitioner's Request: "I, Cynthia Hites, a citizen of 

the Commonwealth of Virginia, pursuant to § 2.2-4007 of the 

Code of Virginia, do humbly submit this petition. 

For years VASAP has been flying blind regarding the number 

of false positive interlock readings being suffered by their 

clients. 

Unexplained instances of failed interlock readings have 

classically been attributed to a glitch, or malfunction in an 

individual device, instead of VASAP admitting the issue is 

systemic in nature. 

Utilizing the electrochemical fuel cell as sensor technology for 

interlock devices means a very high number of failed readings 

are expected due to sources other than consumed ethanol 

(C2H6O). ASAP has chosen to adopt this vastly inferior 

technology and has also grossly misapplied it. 

In order to evaluate the full scope of effects wrought by using 

the fuel cell, it is now imperative the VASAP agency strive to 

quantify how this choice impacts the efficacy of its Interlock 

Program. 

http://www.townhall.virginia.gov/
mailto:AudBD@dhp.virginia.gov
http://www.townhall.virginia.gov/
mailto:jaime.hoyle@dhp.virginia.gov
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Certain metrics need to be consistently and continually 

obtained for review in order to properly evaluate the VASAP 

IID program. 

We need to know how may IIDs are installed, and how many 

failed readings (>.02) occur per device. Then, out of those fails, 

how many are deemed "violations," and of those "violations" 

the number of revocation hearings set, the number of clients 

denied due process by having their interlock time altered by 

ASAP, and the number of subsequent convictions. 

It was estimated during a recent quarterly VASAP meeting that 

there are 200 failed IID readings per day. If this holds true, and 

if there are 7000 interlocks installed at any given time, then 

statistically, after 35 days, every single client has one failed 

reading; after 70 days that jumps to two failed readings per 

client, and these numbers are unacceptable. 

A high number of failed interlock readings due to high BrAc 

would clearly be indicative of a failed program. Either the IID 

machines are detecting non-consumed ethanol at an 

unacceptably high rate, indicating systemic failure, or despite 

their installation, people in large numbers are deciding to 

attempt drunk driving, indicating systemic failure. 

For VASAP to continue to neglect the obscenely high number 

of false positives and operate as if interlocks were reasonably 

accurate, would be irresponsible and highly suspect. 

VASAP owes the citizens of Virginia a level of interlock 

accountability that, to this date, has not been realized. Without 

obtaining this empirical data, VASAP can continue to claim 

program integrity and assert purely anecdotal evidence that the 

interlock devices are accurate. 

I would be very willing to wager that after the number of 

Virginia's false positives is ascertained, the interlock devices 

will lose all of their assumed credibility. 

Employing any language the agency sees fit, I propose that the 

following amendment of interlock data acquisition be made to 

either 24VAC35-30-150, included in the annual VASAP 

Executive Summary, and/or included in an otherwise 

appropriate agency document, to be publicly disseminated on 

a yearly basis. 

To be broken down by each individual ASAP, and by case 

worker, we need to know: 

1) Number of IIDs installed 

2) Number of failed IID readings per machine (per client). 

Of all the interlock fails, further disseminated by: 

(A) Number of men, and number of women 

(B) Number of fails occurring upon rolling retest 

(C) Number of those clients with readings deemed 

"violations." 

a) Number of clients with "violations" being given the benefit 

of a revocation hearing. 

b) Number of clients with "violations" being given additional 

interlock time without being afforded due process. 

(D) Number of these revocation hearings resulting in 

conviction. 

Keeping track of these statistics will serve a vital role in 

affirming program integrity. 

Most humbly, 

Cynthia Hites" 

Agency Decision: Request denied. 

Statement of Reason for Decision: The petitioner requested 

that 24VAC35-30-150 be amended to require the Commission 

on the Virginia Alcohol Safety Action Program (VASAP) to 

collect an extensive variety of ignition interlock data. The 

request included an exhaustive list of data currently 

uncollected. The overwhelming amount of data requested by 

the petitioner would require the use of extensive resources 

from multiple agencies to include the Commission on VASAP, 

local Alcohol Safety Action Program offices, the Virginia 

Department of Motor Vehicles, and the courts. This will 

require the use of additional state tax dollars and extensive 

work by agencies that are already understaffed. Accordingly, 

the petition was denied. 

Agency Contact: Richard L. Foy, Field Services Specialist, 

Commission on the Virginia Alcohol Safety Action Program, 

1111 East Main Street, Suite 801, Richmond, VA 23219, 

telephone (804) 786-5895, or email 

richard.foy@vasap.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. PFR21-32; Filed September 17, 2021, 1:13 p.m. 

mailto:Richard.Foy@vasap.virginia.gov
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NOTICES OF INTENDED REGULATORY ACTION 

TITLE 9. ENVIRONMENT 

STATE WATER CONTROL BOARD 

Notice of Intended Regulatory Action  

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 2.2-4007.01 of the 

Code of Virginia that the State Water Control Board intends to 

consider amending 9VAC25-193, Virginia Pollutant 

Discharge Elimination System (VPDES) General Permit 

for Concrete Products Facilities. The purpose of the 

proposed action is to amend and reissue the existing general 

permit, which expires on December 31, 2023. This general 

permit regulation establishes limitations, monitoring 

requirements, and other conditions for point source discharges 

of wastewater and stormwater from concrete products facilities 

to surface waters in order to maintain surface water quality. 

Some issues that may need to be addressed as part of this 

proposed action include (i) updating or adding new definitions 

(e.g., drainage area); (ii) requiring online registrations and 

electronic discharge monitoring report submittals when this 

becomes available by the Department of Environmental 

Quality (DEQ) for this industry; (iii) adding chemicals or 

detergents used and proof of no discharge design to the 

registration statement; (iv) reviewing effluent limitations, 

monitoring frequencies, and other conditions based on past 

compliance history; (v) reviewing total maximum daily load 

requirements; (vi) reviewing special conditions to ensure they 

are updated and protective of water quality; (vii) reviewing 

stormwater requirements to see if they need updates based on 

the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency Industrial Multi-

Sector General Permit and DEQ stormwater requirements in 

other general permits; and (ix) making consistent this permit's 

requirements with the General VPDES Permit for Discharges 

of Stormwater from Construction Activities (9VAC25-880). 

Additional amendments may be identified following the 

submittal of public comments on this notice and by the 

technical advisory committee during deliberations of this 

general permit regulation. 

The agency intends to hold a public hearing on the proposed 

action after publication in the Virginia Register. 

Statutory Authority: § 62.1-44.15 of the Code of Virginia; 

§ 402 of the Clean Water Act; 40 CFR Parts 122, 123, and 124. 

Public Comment Deadline: November 10, 2021. 

Agency Contact: Elleanore M. Daub, Department of 

Environmental Quality, 1111 East Main Street, Suite 1400, 

P.O. Box 1105, Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 698-

4111, FAX (804) 698-4178, or email 

elleanore.daub@deq.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R22-6952; Filed September 9, 2021, 12:30 p.m. 

  ––––––––––––––––––   

 
TITLE 12. HEALTH 

DEPARTMENT OF MEDICAL ASSISTANCE 
SERVICES 

Withdrawal of Notice of Intended Regulatory Action 

Title of Regulation: 12VAC30-20. Administration of 

Medical Assistance Services. 

Statutory Authority: § 32.1-325 of the Code of Virginia; 42 

USC § 1396 et seq. 

Notice is hereby given that the Department of Medical 

Assistance Services has WITHDRAWN the Notice of 

Intended Regulatory Action for 12VAC30-20, 

Administration of Medical Assistance Services, that was 

published in 36:4 VA.R. 307 October 14, 2019. The notice was 

published concurrently with an emergency action that was 

effective November 14, 2019, through May 13, 2021. The 

amendments described in the notice were addressed through a 

fast-track regulatory action that was published in 37:24 VA.R. 

3650-3656 July 19, 2021; therefore, the notice is withdrawn. 

Agency Contact: Emily McClellan, Regulatory Supervisor, 

Policy Division, Department of Medical Assistance Services, 

600 East Broad Street, Suite 1300, Richmond, VA 23219, 

telephone (804) 371-4300, FAX (804) 786-1680, or email 

emily.mcclellan@dmas.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R20-5615; Filed September 21, 2021, 12:00 p.m. 

Withdrawal of Notice of Intended Regulatory Action 

Title of Regulation: 12VAC30-30. Groups Covered and 

Agencies Responsible for Eligibility Determination. 

Statutory Authority: § 32.1-325 of the Code of Virginia; 

42 USC § 1396 et seq. 

Notice is hereby given that the Department of Medical 

Assistance Services has WITHDRAWN the Notice of 

Intended Regulatory Action for 12VAC30-30, Groups 

Covered and Agencies Responsible for Eligibility 

Determination, that was published in 36:2 VA.R. 89-90 

September 16, 2019. The notice was published concurrently 

with an emergency action that was effective October 15, 2019, 

through April 14, 2021. The amendments described in the 

notice were addressed through a fast-track regulatory action 

that was published in 37:24 VA.R. 3656-3658 July 19, 2021; 

therefore, the notice is withdrawn. 

Agency Contact: Emily McClellan, Regulatory Supervisor, 

Policy Division, Department of Medical Assistance Services, 

600 East Broad Street, Suite 1300, Richmond, VA 23219, 

telephone (804) 371-4300, FAX (804) 786-1680, or email 

emily.mcclellan@dmas.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R20-5789; Filed September 21, 2021, 12:00 p.m. 

http://register.dls.virginia.gov/details.aspx?id=7740
http://register.dls.virginia.gov/details.aspx?id=9732
http://register.dls.virginia.gov/details.aspx?id=9732
http://register.dls.virginia.gov/details.aspx?id=7694
http://register.dls.virginia.gov/details.aspx?id=7694
http://register.dls.virginia.gov/details.aspx?id=9709
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REGULATIONS 

TITLE 9. ENVIRONMENT 

DEPARTMENT OF ENVIRONMENTAL QUALITY 

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Department of Environmental 

Quality is claiming an exemption from Article 2 of the 

Administrative Process Act in accordance with § 2.2-4006 A 4 

a of the Code of Virginia, which excludes regulations that are 

necessary to conform to changes in Virginia statutory law or 

the appropriation act where no agency discretion is involved. 

The department will receive, consider, and respond to petitions 

by any interested person at any time with respect to 

reconsideration or revision. 

Title of Regulation: 9VAC15-40. Small Renewable Energy 

Projects (Wind) Permit by Rule (amending 9VAC15-40-

30). 

Statutory Authority: § 10.1-1197.6 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: November 10, 2021. 

Agency Contact: Mary E. Major, Department of 

Environmental Quality, 1111 East Main Street, Suite 1400, 

P.O. Box 1105, Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 698-

4423, FAX (804) 698-4178, or email 

mary.major@deq.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

Pursuant to Chapter 401 of the 2021 Acts of Assembly, 

Special Session I, the amendment changes the name 

"Secretariat of Natural Resources" to "Secretariat of 

Natural and Historic Resources."  

9VAC15-40-30. Application for permit by rule for wind 

energy projects. 

A. The owner or operator of a small wind energy project with 

a rated capacity greater than five megawatts shall submit to the 

department a complete application, in which he satisfactorily 

accomplishes all of the following: 

1. In accordance with § 10.1-1197.6 B 1 of the Code of 

Virginia, and as early in the project development process as 

practicable, furnishes to the department a notice of intent, to 

be published in the Virginia Register, that he intends to 

submit the necessary documentation for a permit by rule for 

a small renewable energy project; 

2. In accordance with § 10.1-1197.6 B 2 of the Code of 

Virginia, furnishes to the department a certification by the 

governing body of the locality or localities wherein the small 

renewable energy project will be located that the project 

complies with all applicable land use ordinances; 

3. In accordance with § 10.1-1197.6 B 3 of the Code of 

Virginia, furnishes to the department copies of all 

interconnection studies undertaken by the regional 

transmission organization or transmission owner, or both, on 

behalf of the small renewable energy project; 

4. In accordance with § 10.1-1197.6 B 4 of the Code of 

Virginia, furnishes to the department a copy of the final 

interconnection agreement between the small renewable 

energy project and the regional transmission organization or 

transmission owner indicating that the connection of the 

small renewable energy project will not cause a reliability 

problem for the system. If the final agreement is not 

available, the most recent interconnection study shall be 

sufficient for the purposes of this section. When a final 

interconnection agreement is complete, it shall be provided 

to the department. The department shall forward a copy of 

the agreement or study to the State Corporation 

Commission; 

5. In accordance with § 10.1-1197.6 B 5 of the Code of 

Virginia, furnishes to the department a certification signed 

by a professional engineer licensed in Virginia that the 

maximum generation capacity of the small wind energy 

project, as designed, does not exceed 150 megawatts; 

6. In accordance with § 10.1-1197.6 B 6 of the Code of 

Virginia, furnishes to the department an analysis of potential 

environmental impacts of the small renewable energy 

project's operations on attainment of national ambient air 

quality standards; 

7. In accordance with § 10.1-1197.6 B 7 of the Code of 

Virginia, furnishes to the department, where relevant, an 

analysis of the beneficial and adverse impacts of the 

proposed project on natural resources. The owner or operator 

shall perform the analyses prescribed in 9VAC15-40-40. For 

wildlife, that analysis shall be based on information on the 

presence, activity, and migratory behavior of wildlife to be 

collected at the site for a period of time dictated by the site 

conditions and biology of the wildlife being studied, not 

exceeding 12 months; 

8. In accordance with § 10.1-1197.6 B 8 of the Code of 

Virginia, furnishes to the department a mitigation plan 

pursuant to 9VAC15-40-60 that details reasonable actions to 

be taken by the owner or operator to avoid, minimize, or 

otherwise mitigate such impacts, and to measure the efficacy 

of those actions; provided, however, that the provisions of 
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this subdivision shall only be required if the department 

determines, pursuant to 9VAC15-40-50, that the information 

collected pursuant to § 10.1-1197.6 B 7 of the Code of 

Virginia and 9VAC15-40-40 indicates that significant 

adverse impacts to wildlife or historic resources are likely. 

The mitigation plan shall be an addendum to the operating 

plan of the wind energy project, and the owner or operator 

shall implement the mitigation plan as deemed complete and 

adequate by the department. The mitigation plan shall be an 

enforceable part of the permit by rule; 

9. In accordance with § 10.1-1197.6 B 9 of the Code of 

Virginia, furnishes to the department a certification signed 

by a professional engineer licensed in Virginia that the 

project is designed in accordance with 9VAC15-40-80; 

10. In accordance with § 10.1-1197.6 B 10 of the Code of 

Virginia, furnishes to the department an operating plan that 

includes a description of how the project will be operated in 

compliance with its mitigation plan, if such a mitigation plan 

is required pursuant to 9VAC15-40-50; 

11. In accordance with § 10.1-1197.6 B 11 of the Code of 

Virginia, furnishes to the department a detailed site plan 

meeting the requirements of 9VAC15-40-70; 

12. In accordance with § 10.1-1197.6 B 12 of the Code of 

Virginia, furnishes to the department a certification signed 

by the applicant that the small wind energy project has 

applied for or obtained all necessary environmental permits; 

13. In accordance with § 10.1-1197.6 H and I of the Code of 

Virginia, furnishes to the department a certification signed 

by the applicant that the small wind energy project is being 

proposed, developed, constructed, or purchased by a person 

that is not a utility regulated pursuant to Title 56 of the Code 

of Virginia or provides certification that (i) the project's costs 

are not recovered from Virginia jurisdictional customers 

under base rates, a fuel factor charge, or a rate adjustment 

clause or (ii) the applicant is a utility aggregation 

cooperative formed under Article 2 (§ 56-231.38 et seq.) of 

Chapter 9.1 of Title 56 of the Code of Virginia; 

14. Prior to authorization of the project and in accordance 

with §§ 10.1-1197.6 B 13 and B 14 of the Code of Virginia, 

conducts a 30-day public review and comment period and 

holds a public meeting pursuant to 9VAC15-40-90. The 

public meeting shall be held in the locality or, if the project 

is located in more than one locality, in a place proximate to 

the location of the proposed project; however, for projects 

located in nearshore waters or on state-owned submerged 

lands, the meeting shall be held in the locality that is the 

closest distance from the approximate center of the project's 

disturbance zone. Following the public meeting and public 

comment period, the applicant shall prepare a report 

summarizing the issues raised by the public and include any 

written comments received and the applicant's response to 

those comments. The report shall be provided to the 

department as part of this application; and 

15. In accordance with 9VAC15-40-110, furnishes to the 

department the appropriate fee. 

B. Within 90 days of receiving all of the required documents 

and fees listed in subsection A of this section, the department 

shall determine, after consultation with other agencies in the 

Secretariat of Natural and Historic Resources, whether the 

application is complete and whether it adequately meets the 

requirements of this chapter, pursuant to § 10.1-1197.7 A of 

the Code of Virginia. 

1. If the department determines that the application meets the 

requirements of this chapter, then the department shall notify 

the applicant in writing that he is authorized to construct and 

operate a small wind energy project pursuant to this chapter. 

2. If the department determines that the application does not 

meet the requirements of this chapter, then the department 

shall notify the applicant in writing and specify the 

deficiencies. 

3. If the applicant chooses to correct deficiencies in a 

previously submitted application, the department shall 

follow the procedures of this subsection and notify the 

applicant whether the revised application meets the 

requirements of this chapter within 60 days of receiving the 

revised application. 

4. Any case decision by the department pursuant to this 

subsection shall be subject to the process and appeal 

provisions of the Administrative Process Act (§ 2.2-4000 et 

seq. of the Code of Virginia). 

VA.R. Doc. No. R22-6832; Filed September 21, 2021, 3:05 p.m. 

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Department of Environmental 

Quality is claiming an exemption from Article 2 of the 

Administrative Process Act in accordance with § 2.2-4006 A 4 

a of the Code of Virginia, which excludes regulations that are 

necessary to conform to changes in Virginia statutory law or 

the appropriation act where no agency discretion is involved. 

The department will receive, consider, and respond to petitions 

by any interested person at any time with respect to 

reconsideration or revision. 

Title of Regulation: 9VAC15-60. Small Renewable Energy 

Projects (Solar) Permit by Rule (amending 9VAC15-60-

30). 

Statutory Authority: § 10.1-1197.6 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: November 10, 2021. 

Agency Contact: Mary E. Major, Department of 

Environmental Quality, 1111 East Main Street, Suite 1400, 

P.O. Box 1105, Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 698-
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4423, FAX (804) 698-4178, or email 

mary.major@deq.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

Pursuant to Chapter 401 of the 2021 Acts of Assembly, 

Special Session I, the amendment changes the name 

"Secretariat of Natural Resources" to "Secretariat of 

Natural and Historic Resources." 

9VAC15-60-30. Application for permit by rule for solar 

energy projects with rated capacity greater than five 

megawatts and disturbance zone greater than 10 acres. 

A. The owner or operator of a small solar energy project with 

a rated capacity greater than five megawatts and a disturbance 

zone greater than 10 acres, provided that the project does not 

otherwise meet the criteria for Part III (9VAC15-60-130 A or 

B) of this chapter, shall submit to the department a complete 

application in which he satisfactorily accomplishes all of the 

following: 

1. In accordance with § 10.1-1197.6 B 1 of the Code of 

Virginia, and as early in the project development process as 

practicable, furnishes to the department a notice of intent, to 

be published in the Virginia Register, that he intends to 

submit the necessary documentation for a permit by rule for 

a small renewable energy project; 

2. In accordance with § 10.1-1197.6 B 2 of the Code of 

Virginia, furnishes to the department a certification by the 

governing body of the locality or localities wherein the small 

renewable energy project will be located that the project 

complies with all applicable land use ordinances; 

3. In accordance with § 10.1-1197.6 B 3 of the Code of 

Virginia, furnishes to the department copies of all 

interconnection studies undertaken by the regional 

transmission organization or transmission owner, or both, on 

behalf of the small renewable energy project; 

4. In accordance with § 10.1-1197.6 B 4 of the Code of 

Virginia, furnishes to the department a copy of the final 

interconnection agreement between the small renewable 

energy project and the regional transmission organization or 

transmission owner indicating that the connection of the 

small renewable energy project will not cause a reliability 

problem for the system. If the final agreement is not 

available, the most recent interconnection study shall be 

sufficient for the purposes of this section. When a final 

interconnection agreement is complete, it shall be provided 

to the department. The department shall forward a copy of 

the agreement or study to the State Corporation 

Commission; 

5. In accordance with § 10.1-1197.6 B 5 of the Code of 

Virginia, furnishes to the department a certification signed 

by a professional engineer licensed in Virginia that the 

maximum generation capacity of the small solar energy 

project, as designed, does not exceed 150 megawatts; 

6. In accordance with § 10.1-1197.6 B 6 of the Code of 

Virginia, furnishes to the department an analysis of potential 

environmental impacts of the small renewable energy 

project's operations on attainment of national ambient air 

quality standards; 

7. In accordance with § 10.1-1197.6 B 7 of the Code of 

Virginia, furnishes to the department, where relevant, an 

analysis of the beneficial and adverse impacts of the 

proposed project on natural resources. The owner or operator 

shall perform the analyses prescribed in 9VAC15-60-40. For 

wildlife, that analysis shall be based on information on the 

presence, activity, and migratory behavior of wildlife to be 

collected at the site for a period of time dictated by the site 

conditions and biology of the wildlife being studied, not 

exceeding 12 months; 

8. In accordance with § 10.1-1197.6 B 8 of the Code of 

Virginia, furnishes to the department a mitigation plan 

pursuant to 9VAC15-60-60 that details reasonable actions to 

be taken by the owner or operator to avoid, minimize, or 

otherwise mitigate such impacts, and to measure the efficacy 

of those actions; provided, however, that the provisions of 

this subdivision shall only be required if the department 

determines, pursuant to 9VAC15-60-50, that the information 

collected pursuant to § 10.1-1197.6 B 7 of the Code of 

Virginia and 9VAC15-60-40 indicates that significant 

adverse impacts to wildlife or historic resources are likely. 

The mitigation plan shall be an addendum to the operating 

plan of the solar energy project, and the owner or operator 

shall implement the mitigation plan as deemed complete and 

adequate by the department. The mitigation plan shall be an 

enforceable part of the permit by rule; 

9. In accordance with § 10.1-1197.6 B 9 of the Code of 

Virginia, furnishes to the department a certification signed 

by a professional engineer licensed in Virginia that the 

project is designed in accordance with 9VAC15-60-80; 

10. In accordance with § 10.1-1197.6 B 10 of the Code of 

Virginia, furnishes to the department an operating plan that 

includes a description of how the project will be operated in 

compliance with its mitigation plan, if such a mitigation plan 

is required pursuant to 9VAC15-60-50; 

11. In accordance with § 10.1-1197.6 B 11 of the Code of 

Virginia, furnishes to the department a detailed site plan 

meeting the requirements of 9VAC15-60-70; 

12. In accordance with § 10.1-1197.6 B 12 of the Code of 

Virginia, furnishes to the department a certification signed 

by the applicant that the small solar energy project has 

applied for or obtained all necessary environmental permits; 

13. In accordance with § 10.1-1197.6 H and I of the Code of 

Virginia, furnishes to the department a certification signed 

by the applicant that the small solar energy project is being 

proposed, developed, constructed, or purchased by a person 

that is not a utility regulated pursuant to Title 56 of the Code 
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of Virginia or provides certification that (i) the project's costs 

are not recovered from Virginia jurisdictional customers 

under base rates, a fuel factor charge, or a rate adjustment 

clause, or (ii) the applicant is a utility aggregation 

cooperative formed under Article 2 (§ 56-231.38 et seq.) of 

Chapter 9.1 of Title 56 of the Code of Virginia; 

14. Prior to authorization of the project and in accordance 

with § 10.1-1197.6 B 13 and B 14 of the Code of Virginia, 

conducts a 30-day public review and comment period and 

holds a public meeting pursuant to 9VAC15-60-90. The 

public meeting shall be held in the locality or, if the project 

is located in more than one locality, in a place proximate to 

the location of the proposed project. Following the public 

meeting and public comment period, the applicant shall 

prepare a report summarizing the issues raised by the public 

and include any written comments received and the 

applicant's response to those comments. The report shall be 

provided to the department as part of this application; and 

15. In accordance with 9VAC15-60-110, furnishes to the 

department the appropriate fee. 

B. Within 90 days of receiving all of the required documents 

and fees listed in subsection A of this section, the department 

shall determine, after consultation with other agencies in the 

Secretariat of Natural and Historic Resources, whether the 

application is complete and whether it adequately meets the 

requirements of this chapter pursuant to § 10.1-1197.7 A of the 

Code of Virginia. 

1. If the department determines that the application meets the 

requirements of this chapter, then the department shall notify 

the applicant in writing that he is authorized to construct and 

operate a small solar energy project pursuant to this chapter. 

2. If the department determines that the application does not 

meet the requirements of this chapter, then the department 

shall notify the applicant in writing and specify the 

deficiencies. 

3. If the applicant chooses to correct deficiencies in a 

previously submitted application, the department shall 

follow the procedures of this subsection and notify the 

applicant whether the revised application meets the 

requirements of this chapter within 60 days of receiving the 

revised application. 

4. Any case decision by the department pursuant to this 

subsection shall be subject to the process and appeal 

provisions of the Administrative Process Act (§ 2.2-4000 et 

seq. of the Code of Virginia). 

VA.R. Doc. No. R22-6833; Filed September 21, 2021, 3:08 p.m. 

 

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Department of Environmental 

Quality is claiming an exemption from Article 2 of the 

Administrative Process Act in accordance with § 2.2-4006 A 4 

a of the Code of Virginia, which excludes regulations that are 

necessary to conform to changes in Virginia statutory law or 

the appropriation act where no agency discretion is involved. 

The department will receive, consider, and respond to petitions 

by any interested person at any time with respect to 

reconsideration or revision. 

Title of Regulation: 9VAC15-70. Small Renewable Energy 

Projects (Combustion) Permit by Rule (amending 

9VAC15-70-30). 

Statutory Authority: § 10.1-1197.6 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: November 10, 2021. 

Agency Contact: Mary E. Major, Department of 

Environmental Quality, 1111 East Main Street, Suite 1400, 

P.O. Box 1105, Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 698-

4423, FAX (804) 698-4178, or email 

mary.major@deq.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

Pursuant to Chapter 401 of the 2021 Acts of Assembly, 

Special Session I, the amendment changes the name 

"Secretariat of Natural Resources" to "Secretariat of 

Natural and Historic Resources."  

9VAC15-70-30. Application. 

A. The owner or operator of a combustion energy project with 

a rated capacity greater than five megawatts, provided that the 

project does not otherwise meet the criteria for Part III 

(9VAC15-70-130) of this chapter, shall submit to the 

department a complete application in which he satisfactorily 

accomplishes all of the following: 

1. In accordance with § 10.1-1197.6 B 1 of the Code of 

Virginia, and as early in the project development process as 

practicable, furnishes to the department a notice of intent, to 

be published in the Virginia Register of Regulations, that he 

intends to submit the necessary documentation for a permit 

by rule for a small renewable energy project; 

2. In accordance with § 10.1-1197.6 B 2 of the Code of 

Virginia, furnishes to the department a certification by the 

governing body of the locality or localities wherein the small 

renewable energy project will be located that the project 

complies with all applicable land use ordinances; 

3. In accordance with § 10.1-1197.6 B 3 of the Code of 

Virginia, furnishes to the department copies of all 

interconnection studies undertaken by the regional 

transmission organization or transmission owner, or both, on 

behalf of the small renewable energy project; 

4. In accordance with § 10.1-1197.6 B 4 of the Code of 

Virginia, furnishes to the department a copy of the final 
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interconnection agreement between the small renewable 

energy project and the regional transmission organization or 

transmission owner indicating that the connection of the 

small renewable energy project will not cause a reliability 

problem for the system. If the final agreement is not 

available, the most recent interconnection study shall be 

sufficient for the purposes of this section. When a final 

interconnection agreement is complete, it shall be provided 

to the department. The department shall forward a copy of 

the agreement or study to the State Corporation 

Commission; 

5. In accordance with § 10.1-1197.6 B 5 of the Code of 

Virginia, furnishes to the department a certification signed 

by a professional engineer licensed in Virginia that the 

maximum generation capacity of the combustion energy 

project, as designed, does not exceed 20 megawatts; 

6. In accordance with § 10.1-1197.6 B 6 of the Code of 

Virginia, furnishes to the department an analysis of potential 

environmental impacts of the small renewable energy 

project's operations on attainment of national ambient air 

quality standards; 

7. In accordance with § 10.1-1197.6 B 7 of the Code of 

Virginia, furnishes to the department, where relevant, an 

analysis of the beneficial and adverse impacts of the 

proposed project on natural resources. The owner or operator 

shall perform the analyses prescribed in 9VAC15-70-40. For 

wildlife, that analysis shall be based on information on the 

presence, activity, and migratory behavior of wildlife to be 

collected at the site for a period of time dictated by the site 

conditions and biology of the wildlife being studied, not 

exceeding 12 months; 

8. In accordance with § 10.1-1197.6 B 8 of the Code of 

Virginia, furnishes to the department a mitigation plan 

pursuant to 9VAC15-70-70 that details reasonable actions to 

be taken by the owner or operator to avoid, minimize, or 

otherwise mitigate such impacts, and to measure the efficacy 

of those actions; provided, however, that the provisions of 

this subdivision shall only be required if the department 

determines pursuant to 9VAC15-70-50 that the information 

collected pursuant to § 10.1-1197.6 B 7 of the Code of 

Virginia and 9VAC15-70-40 indicates that significant 

adverse impacts to wildlife or historic resources are likely; 

9. In accordance with § 10.1-1197.6 B 9 of the Code of 

Virginia, furnishes to the department a certification signed 

by a professional engineer licensed in Virginia that the 

project is designed in accordance with 9VAC15-70-80; 

10. In accordance with § 10.1-1197.6 B 10 of the Code of 

Virginia, furnishes to the department an operating plan 

describing how any standards established in this chapter 

applicable to the permit by rule will be achieved; 

11. In accordance with § 10.1-1197.6 B 11 of the Code of 

Virginia, furnishes to the department a detailed site plan 

meeting the requirements of 9VAC15-70-70; 

12. In accordance with § 10.1-1197.6 B 12 of the Code of 

Virginia, furnishes to the department a certification signed 

by the applicant that the combustion energy project has 

applied for or obtained all necessary environmental permits; 

13. In accordance with § 10.1-1197.6 H and I of the Code of 

Virginia, furnishes to the department a certification signed 

by the applicant that the small combustion energy project is 

being proposed, developed, constructed, or purchased by a 

person that is not a utility regulated pursuant to Title 56 of 

the Code of Virginia or provides certification that (i) the 

project's costs are not recovered from Virginia jurisdictional 

customers under base rates, a fuel factor charge, or a rate 

adjustment clause, or (ii) the applicant is a utility 

aggregation cooperative formed under Article 2 (§ 56-

231.38 et seq.) of Chapter 9.1 of Title 56 of the Code of 

Virginia; 

14. Prior to authorization of the project and in accordance 

with §§ 10.1-1197.6 B 13 and B 14 of the Code of Virginia, 

conducts a 30-day public review and comment period and 

holds a public meeting pursuant to 9VAC15-70-90. The 

public meeting shall be held in the locality or, if the project 

is located in more than one locality, in a place proximate to 

the location of the proposed project. Following the public 

meeting and public comment period, the applicant shall 

prepare a report summarizing the issues raised by the public 

and include any written comments received and the 

applicant's response to those comments. The report shall be 

provided to the department as part of this application; and 

15. In accordance with 9VAC15-70-110, furnishes to the 

department the appropriate fee. 

B. Within 90 days of receiving all of the required documents 

and fees listed in subsection A of this section, the department 

shall determine, after consultation with other agencies in the 

Secretariat of Natural and Historic Resources, whether the 

application is complete and whether it adequately meets the 

requirements of this chapter, pursuant to § 10.1-1197.7 A of 

the Code of Virginia. 

1. If the department determines that the application meets the 

requirements of this chapter, then the department shall notify 

the applicant in writing that he is authorized to construct and 

operate a combustion energy project pursuant to this chapter. 

2. If the department determines that the application does not 

meet the requirements of this chapter, then the department 

shall notify the applicant in writing and specify the 

deficiencies. 

3. If the applicant chooses to correct deficiencies in a 

previously submitted application, the department shall 

follow the procedures of this subsection and notify the 
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applicant whether the revised application meets the 

requirements of this chapter within 60 days of receiving the 

revised application. 

4. Any case decision by the department pursuant to this 

subsection shall be subject to the process and appeal 

provisions of the Administrative Process Act (§ 2.2-4000 et 

seq. of the Code of Virginia). 

VA.R. Doc. No. R22-6834; Filed September 21, 2021, 3:10 p.m. 

STATE WATER CONTROL BOARD 

Forms 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: Forms used in administering the 

regulation have been filed by the agency. The forms are not 

being published; however, online users of this issue of the 

Virginia Register of Regulations may click on the name of a 

form with a hyperlink to access it. The forms are also available 

from the agency contact or may be viewed at the Office of the 

Registrar of Regulations, 900 East Main Street, 11th Floor, 

Richmond, Virginia 23219. 

Title of Regulation: 9VAC25-115. Virginia Pollutant 

Discharge Elimination System (VPDES) General Permit 

Regulation for Seafood Processing Facilities. 

Agency Contact: Gary, Graham, Department of Environmental 

Quality, 1111 East Main Street, Suite 1400, P.O. Box 1105, 

Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 698-4103, FAX (804) 

698-4178, or email gary.graham@deq.virginia.gov. 

FORMS (9VAC25-115) 

Change of Ownership Agreement Form (rev. 3/2014) 

Change of Ownership Agreement Form (rev. 4/2019) 

Department of Environmental Quality Water Division Permit 

Application Fee Form, Form 5 (rev. 10/2018) 

Registration Statement for the General Virginia Pollutant 

Discharge Elimination System (VPDES) Permit for Seafood 

Processing Facilities, July 2016 reissuance (rev. 4/2016) 

Registration Statement for the General Virginia Pollutant 

Discharge Elimination System (VPDES) Permit for Seafood 

Processing Facilities (rev. 7/2021) 

Virginia DEQ No Exposure Certification for Exclusion from 

VPDES Industrial Activity Stormwater Permitting, Form SW-

NEC (rev. 9/2020) 

VA.R. Doc. No. R22-6950; Filed September 21, 2021, 3:58 p.m. 

  ––––––––––––––––––  

TITLE 10. FINANCE AND FINANCIAL 
INSTITUTIONS 

STATE CORPORATION COMMISSION 

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The State Corporation Commission 

is claiming an exemption from the Administrative Process Act 

in accordance with § 2.2-4002 A 2 of the Code of Virginia, 

which exempts courts, any agency of the Supreme Court, and 

any agency that by the Constitution is expressly granted any of 

the powers of a court of record. 

Title of Regulation: 10VAC5-220. Qualified Education Loan 

Servicers (adding 10VAC5-220-10 through 10VAC5-220-

90). 

Statutory Authority: §§ 6.2-2622 and 12.1-13 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

Effective Date: October 1, 2021. 

Agency Contact: Dustin Physioc, Deputy Commissioner, 

Bureau of Financial Institutions, State Corporation 

Commission, P.O. Box 640, Richmond, VA 23218, telephone 

(804) 786-0831, FAX (804) 371-9416, or email 

dustin.physioc@scc.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

Pursuant to Chapters 1198 and 1250 of the 2020 Acts of 

Assembly, which establish a licensing and regulatory 

framework for qualified education loan servicers, the new 

regulation establishes the amount required for the surety 

bond, annual reporting requirements, the procedure for 

documenting eligibility for automatic issuance of a license, 

the application and renewal process, the annual fee 

schedule, and procedures for submitting information to the 

Bureau of Financial Institutions. Changes to the proposed 

regulation include (i) adding parameters regarding the 

adjustment of the surety bond amount after initial licensure 

and (ii) changing the time period within which a licensed 

qualified education loan servicer must update its 

information in its records with the Nationwide Multistate 

Licensing System and Registry to 30 days from when a 

change takes effect and clarifying the exception to this 

requirement. 

AT RICHMOND, SEPTEMBER 8, 2021 

COMMONWEALTH OF VIRGINIA, ex rel. 

STATE CORPORATION COMMISSION 

CASE NO. BFI-2021-00007 

Ex Parte: In the matter of Adopting 

Regulations Governing Qualified 

Education Loan Servicers under Chapter 26 

of Title 6.2 of the Code of Virginia 

https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/9VAC25/forms/Change%20of%20Ownership%20Agreement%20Form%20April%202021-20210908111352.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/9VAC25/forms/67baa005735~11Y.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/9VAC25/forms/67baa005735~11Y.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/9VAC25/forms/VPDES_SeafoodGPRegistrationStatement_2021rev%20(1)-20210908112145.docx
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/9VAC25/forms/VPDES_SeafoodGPRegistrationStatement_2021rev%20(1)-20210908112145.docx
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/9VAC25/forms/VPDES_SeafoodGPRegistrationStatement_2021rev%20(1)-20210908112145.docx
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/9VAC25/forms/Industrial%20SW%20-%20NoExposure%20Certification%20Form-20210908113347.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/9VAC25/forms/Industrial%20SW%20-%20NoExposure%20Certification%20Form-20210908113347.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/9VAC25/forms/Industrial%20SW%20-%20NoExposure%20Certification%20Form-20210908113347.pdf
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ORDER ADOPTING REGULATIONS 

On March 9, 2021, the State Corporation Commission 

("Commission") entered an Order to Take Notice of a proposal 

by the Bureau of Financial Institutions ("Bureau") to adopt 

regulations governing qualified education loan servicers, to be 

set forth in Chapter 220 of Title 10 of the Virginia 

Administrative Code. 

The Bureau submitted the proposed regulations pursuant to 

Chapters 1198 and 1250 of the 2020 Virginia Acts of 

Assembly, which amended the Code of Virginia ("Code") by 

adding Chapter 26 of Title 6.2 (§ 6.2-2600 et seq.) of the Code 

("Chapter 26"). Chapter 26 establishes a licensing and 

regulatory framework for qualified education loan servicers 

effective on July 1, 2021. The regulations implement the 

provisions of Chapter 26 by, among other things, establishing 

the amount required for the surety bond, annual reporting 

requirements, the procedure for documenting eligibility for 

automatic issuance of a license, the application and renewal 

process, the annual fee schedule, and procedures for submitting 

information to the Bureau. 

The Order to Take Notice and proposed regulations were 

published in the Virginia Register of Regulations on March 29, 

2021, posted on the Commission's website, and sent to various 

persons. All interested persons were afforded the opportunity 

to file written comments or request a hearing on or before April 

16, 2021. Initial comments on the proposed regulations were 

filed by Virginia21; the New Virginia Majority; the Virginia 

Poverty Law Center ("VPLC"); the National Association of 

Student Loan Administrators ("NASLA"); Progress Virginia 

Education Fund; and the Student Loan Servicing Alliance 

("SLSA").1 The Commission did not receive any requests for 

a hearing. 

Several commenters expressed concern that the proposed 

regulations do not impose additional reporting requirements 

and provided recommendations regarding the types of 

additional reporting that the Commission should require from 

licensees.2 Additionally, two commenters raised preemption 

concerns. NASLA asserted in its comments that application of 

Chapter 26 and the proposed regulations to federal guarantors 

is preempted by federal law, and the doctrine of 

intergovernmental immunity bars direct state regulation of 

federal contractors such as federal guarantors. SLSA asserted 

in its comments that federal student loans are preempted from 

any licensing regime. 

The Bureau considered the comments filed and responded to 

them in its Response to Comments ("Response"), which the 

Bureau filed with the Clerk of the Commission on May 17, 

2021. The Bureau found the proposed additional reporting 

requirements unnecessary and did not recommend additional 

reporting requirements in the regulations at this time. In 

response to the preemption and intergovernmental immunity 

claims, the Bureau asserted, among other things, that the 

proposed regulations are consistent with Chapter 26 and 

impose requirements that are within the Commission's 

authority under § 6.2-2622 of the Code. The Bureau requested 

that the Commission incorporate the modifications to the 

proposed regulations set forth in its Response and enter an 

order adopting the modified proposed regulations.  

On July 9, 2021, the Commission issued an Order Requesting 

Additional Comments, requesting the Bureau, NASLA, SLSA, 

and any interested person desiring so (including others that 

previously filed comments), to file comments further 

addressing the issues of federal preemption and 

intergovernmental immunity raised in this docket. The 

Commission requested interested persons to file such 

comments in this docket on or before August 16, 2021.  

Senator Janet Howell, Delegate Marcus Simon, Delegate 

Marcia "Cia" Price, the Office of the Attorney General of 

Virginia ("Attorney General"), the Office of Federal Student 

Aid of the Department of Education, the Student Borrower 

Protection Center, AARP Virginia, the Center for Responsible 

Lending, Consumer Reports, the Fairfax County Federation of 

Teachers (AFT Local 2401), the New Virginia Majority, the 

Norfolk Federation of Teachers, Progress Virginia, the 

Commonwealth Institute for Fiscal Analysis, Virginia21, the 

Virginia Civic Engagement Table, Virginia Organizing, the 

VPLC, NASLA, SLSA, and the Bureau filed comments in 

response to the Commission's July 9, 2021 Order. 

NOW THE COMMISSION, upon consideration of this 

matter, finds that it should adopt the proposed regulations, as 

modified by the Bureau's recommendations, effective October 

1, 2021. The Commission expresses appreciation to all those 

who submitted written comments for its consideration. We 

have considered all the comments filed in this matter, including 

those from the Attorney General, which we find persuasive. 

We therefore reject the arguments brought forth by SLSA and 

NASLA regarding preemption and intergovernmental 

immunity claims. Further, in adopting the regulations, we 

decline to adopt additional reporting requirements at this time. 

We adopt the regulations as recommended by the Bureau in its 

Response. 

Accordingly, IT IS ORDERED THAT: 

(1) The proposed regulations, as modified herein and attached 

hereto, are adopted effective October 1, 2021. 

(2) This Order and the attached regulations shall be made 

available on the Commission's website: 

scc.virginia.gov/pages/Case-Information. 

(3) The Commission's Division of Information Resources 

shall provide a copy of this Order and the regulations to the 

Virginia Registrar of Regulations for appropriate publication 

in the Virginia Register of Regulations. 

(4) This case is dismissed, and the papers filed herein shall be 

placed in the Commission's file for ended causes. 
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A COPY of this Order and the attached regulations shall be 

sent by the Clerk of the Commission to the Commission's 

Office of General Counsel and to the Commissioner of 

Financial Institutions, who shall send by e-mail or U.S. mail a 

copy of this Order and the attached regulations to all persons 

who commented in this proceeding and such other interested 

persons as he may designate. 

_________________________________________ 

1The Commission made a limited exception in an order dated July 9, 2021, to 
accept SLSA's comments out of time. 

2See, e.g., comments of Virginia 21, Progress Virginia Education Fund, New 

Virginia Majority, and the VPLC. The reporting requirements were one of a 
number of issues commenters identified in connection with the proposed 

regulations. 

Chapter 220 

Qualified Education Loan Servicers 

10VAC5-220-10. Definitions.  

A. The following term when used in this chapter shall have 

the following meaning unless the context clearly indicates 

otherwise:  

"Chapter 26" means Chapter 26 (§ 6.2-2600 et seq.) of Title 

6.2 of the Code of Virginia. 

B. Other terms used in this chapter shall have the meanings 

set forth in § 6.2-100 or 6.2-2600 of the Code of Virginia. 

10VAC5-220-20. Surety bond standards.  

Pursuant to § 6.2-2604 of the Code of Virginia, a surety bond 

shall be filed with the commissioner and continuously 

maintained thereafter in full force by each licensee. The form 

of the bond will be prescribed and provided by the 

commissioner. The bond amount required for licensure shall 

be $50,000 or such other amount as may be prescribed by the 

commissioner, but not exceeding $500,000. After initial 

licensure, the bond amount required may be adjusted 

[ annually ] as the commissioner deems necessary [ based upon 

information related to the licensee's servicing volume and other 

factors the commissioner deems pertinent ]. 

10VAC5-220-30. Procedure for documenting eligibility 

through the Registry for automatic issuance of a license.  

A. Pursuant to subsection A of § 6.2-2602 of the Code of 

Virginia, a person shall be exempt from the application 

procedures described in subsections A and B of § 6.2-2603 of 

the Code of Virginia upon determination by the commissioner 

that the person (i) has an agreement with the U.S. Secretary of 

Education under 20 USC § 1078(b), solely to the extent of the 

person's actions as a guarantor that engages in averting defaults 

or (ii) is a party to a contract awarded by the U.S. Secretary of 

Education under 20 USC § 1087f. 

B. In order to document eligibility for this exemption, a 

person shall: 

1. Complete and submit the Registry's company filing form 

for the person through the Registry. Such filing shall be 

accompanied by the fee required by subsection C of § 6.2-

2603 of the Code of Virginia and the surety bond required 

by § 6.2-2604 of the Code of Virginia; 

2. Upload a copy of the agreement or contract described in 

subsection A of this section through the Registry; and 

3. Provide any additional information through the Registry 

that the commissioner deems necessary to determine a 

person's eligibility for the exemption. 

10VAC5-220-40. Nationwide Multistate Licensing System 

and Registry.  

A. Applications for a license under Chapter 26 shall be made 

through the Registry in accordance with instructions provided 

by the commissioner. The commissioner may provide these 

instructions through the Registry, on the commission's website, 

or by any other means the commissioner deems appropriate. 

B. Every licensee shall maintain current information in its 

records with the Registry. [ Any Except as otherwise required 

by §§ 6.2-2607 C and 6.2-2612 A of the Code of Virginia, any ] 

changes to a licensee's information in its records [ with the 

Registry ] shall be updated no later than [ 10 30 ] days from 

when the change takes effect [ unless this chapter or Chapter 

26 provides otherwise ]. 

C. If (i) any provision of Chapter 26 requires a licensee to 

provide the bureau, commissioner, or commission with a 

written notice and (ii) the Registry enables licensees to submit 

such notice through the Registry, then a licensee shall be 

deemed to have complied with the written notice requirement 

if the licensee timely submits the required notice through the 

Registry. 

D. A qualified education loan servicer license shall expire at 

the end of each calendar year unless it is renewed by a licensee 

on or after November 1 of the same year. However, licenses 

that are granted between November 1 and December 31 shall 

not expire until the end of the following calendar year. Except 

as otherwise provided in § 6.2-2602 B 2 of the Code of 

Virginia, a license shall be renewed upon the commissioner 

finding that the licensee has (i) requested license renewal 

through the Registry and (ii) complied with any requirements 

associated with the renewal request that are imposed by the 

Registry. 

E. If a licensee fails to timely meet the requirements specified 

in subsection D of this section but meets such requirements 

before March 1 of the following calendar year, the license shall 

be reinstated and renewed upon payment of a reinstatement fee 

of $100. 
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10VAC5-220-50. Books, accounts, and records.  

A. A licensee shall maintain in its principal place of business 

all books, accounts, and records required by Chapter 26 and 

this chapter. 

B. A licensee may maintain records electronically, provided 

(i) the records are readily available for examination by the 

bureau and (ii) the licensee complies with [ all applicable 

provisions of ] the Uniform Electronic Transactions Act 

(§ 59.1-479 et seq. of the Code of Virginia), the Electronic 

Signatures in Global and National Commerce Act (15 USC 

§ 7001 et seq.), and any other applicable laws. 

10VAC5-220-60. Responding to requests from the Bureau 

of Financial Institutions; providing false, misleading, or 

deceptive information.  

A. If the bureau requests information from an applicant to 

complete a deficient application filed under § 6.2-2603 or 6.2-

2609 of the Code of Virginia and the information is not 

received within 60 days of the request, the application shall be 

deemed abandoned unless a request for an extension of time is 

received and approved by the bureau prior to the expiration of 

the 60-day period. 

B. When the bureau requests a written response, books, 

records, documentation, or other information from a licensee 

in connection with the bureau's investigation, enforcement, or 

examination of compliance with applicable laws, the licensee 

shall deliver a written response as well as any requested books, 

records, documentation, or information within the time period 

specified in the bureau's request. If no time period is specified, 

a written response as well as any requested books, records, 

documentation, or information shall be delivered by the 

licensee to the bureau not later than 30 days from the date of 

such request. In determining the specified time period for 

responding to the bureau and when considering a request for 

an extension of time to respond, the bureau shall take into 

consideration the volume and complexity of the requested 

written response, books, records, documentation, or 

information and such other factors as the bureau determines to 

be relevant under the circumstances. If a licensee described in 

subsection A of § 6.2-2602 of the Code of Virginia is unable 

to deliver a written response, books, records, documentation, 

or other information requested by the bureau, the licensee shall 

provide the bureau with documentation asserting the basis for 

the licensee's inability to comply with this subsection not later 

than 30 days from the date of the bureau's request. 

C. A licensee or applicant shall not provide any information 

to the bureau, either directly or through the Registry, that is 

false, misleading, or deceptive. 

10VAC5-220-70. Annual reporting requirements.  

Pursuant to subsection B of § 6.2-2612 of the Code of 

Virginia, each licensee shall annually, on or before March 1, 

file a written report with the commissioner or Registry 

containing such information as the commissioner may require 

concerning the licensee's business and operations during the 

preceding calendar year. 

In addition to other information required by the 

commissioner, the licensee shall provide the total number and 

dollar amount of qualified education loans serviced by the 

licensee pursuant to Chapter 26. 

10VAC5-220-80. Schedule for annual fees for the 

examination, supervision, and regulation of qualified 

education loan servicers.  

Pursuant to § 6.2-2614 of the Code of Virginia, the 

commission sets the following schedule of annual fees to be 

paid by licensees. Such fees are to defray the costs of 

examination, supervision, and regulation of licensees by the 

bureau. The fees are related to the actual costs of the bureau, 

the volume of business of the licensees, and to other factors 

relating to supervision and regulation. 

The annual fee shall be $1,000 per licensee plus $0.48 per 

qualified education loan serviced by the licensee pursuant to 

Chapter 26 during the calendar year preceding the year of the 

assessment. In cases where a licensee was not licensed under 

Chapter 26 as of December 31 of the calendar year preceding 

the year of the assessment, the annual fee shall be $0. 

Fees shall be assessed on or before April 1 every calendar 

year. By law the fee must be paid on or before May 1. 

The written report filed annually by each licensee pursuant to 

10VAC5-220-70 shall provide the basis for its assessment.  

Fees prescribed and assessed pursuant to this schedule are 

apart from and do not include the following: (i) the 

reimbursement for expenses permitted by subsection B of 

§ 6.2-2614 of the Code of Virginia and (ii) the annual license 

renewal fee authorized by subsection B of § 6.2-2601 of the 

Code of Virginia. 

10VAC5-220-90. Commission authority.  

The commission may, at its discretion, waive [ , ] or grant 

exceptions to any provision of this chapter for good cause 

shown. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R21-6711; Filed September 9, 2021, 2:48 p.m. 

  ––––––––––––––––––  
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TITLE 12. HEALTH 

STATE BOARD OF HEALTH 

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The State Board of Health is 

claiming an exemption from Article 2 of the Administrative 

Process Act in accordance with § 2.2-4006 A 4 a of the Code 

of Virginia, which excludes regulations that are necessary to 

conform to changes in Virginia statutory law or the 

appropriation act where no agency discretion is involved. The 

board will receive, consider, and respond to petitions by any 

interested person at any time with respect to reconsideration or 

revision. 

Title of Regulation: 12VAC5-371. Regulations for the 

Licensure of Nursing Facilities (amending 12VAC5-371-10, 

12VAC5-371-140, 12VAC5-371-180). 

Statutory Authority: §§ 32.1-12 and 32.1-127 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

Effective Date: November 11, 2021. 

Agency Contact: Rebekah E. Allen, Senior Policy Analyst, 

Virginia Department of Health, 9960 Mayland Drive,  

Suite 401, Richmond, VA 23233,  

telephone (804) 367-2102, FAX (804) 527-4502, or email 

regulatorycomment@vdh.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

Pursuant to Chapter 219 of the 2021 Acts of Assembly, 

Special Session I, an amendment requires each nursing 

home and certified nursing facility establish and implement 

policies to ensure a patient's access to and use of an 

intelligent personal assistant provided by a patient while the 

patient is receiving inpatient services.  

Pursuant to Chapter 525 of the 2021 Acts of Assembly, 

Special Session I, the other amendment requires each 

nursing home and certified nursing facility establish a 

protocol to allow patients to receive visits from clergy 

consistent with guidance from the Centers for Disease 

Control and Prevention and the Centers for Medicare and 

Medicaid Services and subject to compliance with any 

applicable federal or state guidance having the effect of 

limiting visitation when there is a declared public health 

emergency related to a communicable disease of public 

health threat. 

12VAC5-371-10. Definitions. 

The following words and terms when used in this chapter 

shall have the following meanings unless the context clearly 

indicates otherwise: 

"Abuse" means the willful infliction of injury, unreasonable 

confinement, intimidation, or punishment with resulting 

physical harm, pain or mental anguish, or deprivation by an 

individual, including caretaker, of goods or services that are 

necessary to attain or maintain physical, mental, and 

psychosocial well-being. This includes verbal, sexual, 

physical, or mental abuse. 

"Administrator" means the individual licensed by the Virginia 

Board of Long-Term Care Administrators and who has the 

necessary authority and responsibility for management of the 

nursing facility. 

"Admission" means the process of acceptance into a nursing 

facility, including orientation, rules and requirements, and 

assignment to appropriate staff. Admission does not include 

readmission to the facility after a temporary absence. 

"Advance directive" means (i) a witnessed written document, 

voluntarily executed by the declarant in accordance with the 

requirements of § 54.1-2983 of the Code of Virginia, or (ii) a 

witnessed oral statement, made by the declarant subsequent to 

the time he is diagnosed as suffering from a terminal condition 

and in accordance with the provision of § 54.1-2983 of the 

Code of Virginia. 

"Assessment" means the process of evaluating a resident for 

the purpose of developing a profile on which to base services. 

Assessment includes information gathering, both initially and 

on an ongoing basis, designed to assist the multi-disciplinary 

staff in determining the resident's need for care, and the 

collection and review of resident-specific data. 

"Attending physician" means a physician currently licensed 

by the Virginia Board of Medicine and identified by the 

resident, or legal representative, as having the primary 

responsibility in determining the delivery of the resident's 

medical care. 

"Barrier crime" means any offense set forth in clause (i) of 

the definition of barrier crime in § 19.2-392.02 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

"Board" means the Board of Health. 

"Cannabidiol oil" means the same as the term is defined in 

subsection A of § 54.1-3408.3 of the Code of Virginia. 

"Certified nurse aide" means the title that can only be used by 

individuals who have met the requirements to be certified, as 

defined by the Virginia Board of Nursing, and who are listed 

in the nurse aide registry. 

"Chemical restraint" means a psychopharmacologic drug (a 

drug prescribed to control mood, mental status, or behavior) 

that is used for discipline or convenience and not required to 

treat medical symptoms or symptoms from mental illness or 

mental retardation that prohibit an individual from reaching his 

highest level of functioning. 

"Clinical record" means the documentation of health care 

services, whether physical or mental, rendered by direct or 

indirect resident-provider interactions. An account compiled 

by physicians and other health care professionals of a variety 

of resident health information, such as assessments and care 
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details, including testing results, medicines, and progress 

notes. 

"Commissioner" means the State Health Commissioner. 

"Complaint" means any allegation received by the 

Department of Health other than an incident reported by the 

facility staff. Such allegations include abuse, neglect, 

exploitation, or violation of state or federal laws or regulations. 

"Comprehensive plan of care" means a written action plan, 

based on assessment data, that identifies a resident's clinical 

and psychosocial needs, the interventions to meet those needs, 

treatment goals that are measurable and that documents the 

resident's progress toward meeting the stated goals. 

"Construction" means the building of a new nursing facility 

or the expansion, remodeling, or alteration of an existing 

nursing facility and includes the initial and subsequent 

equipping of the facility. 

"Criminal record report" means either the criminal record 

clearance with respect to convictions for barrier crimes or the 

criminal history record from the Central Criminal Records 

Exchange of the Virginia Department of State Police. 

"Department" means the Virginia Department of Health. 

"Dignity" means staff, in their interactions with residents, 

carry out activities which assist a resident in maintaining and 

enhancing the resident's self-esteem and self-worth. 

"Discharge" means the process by which the resident's 

services, delivered by the nursing facility, are terminated. 

"Discharge summary" means the final written summary of the 

services delivered, goals achieved and post-discharge plan or 

final disposition at the time of discharge from the nursing 

facility. The discharge summary becomes a part of the clinical 

record. 

"Drug" means (i) articles or substances recognized in the 

official United States "Drug" Pharmacopoeia National 

Formulary or official Homeopathic Pharmacopoeia of the 

United States, or any supplement to any of them; (ii) articles or 

substances intended for the use in the diagnosis, cure, 

mitigation, treatment, or prevention of disease in man or other 

animal; (iii) articles or substances, other than food, intended to 

affect the structure or any function of the body of man or other 

animal; and (iv) articles or substances intended for use as a 

component of any article specified in clause (i), (ii), or (iii). 

This does not include devices or their components, parts or 

accessories. 

"Electronic monitoring" means an unmanned video recording 

system with or without audio capability installed in the room 

of a resident. 

"Emergency preparedness plan" means a component of a 

nursing facility's safety management program designed to 

manage the consequences of natural disasters or other 

emergencies that disrupt the nursing facility's ability to provide 

care. 

"Employee" means a person who performs a specific job 

function for financial remuneration on a full-time or part-time 

basis. 

"Facility-managed" means an electronic monitoring system 

that is installed, controlled, and maintained by the nursing 

facility with the knowledge of the resident or legal 

representative in accordance with the facility's policies. 

"Full-time" means a minimum of 35 hours or more worked 

per week in the nursing facility. 

"Intelligent personal assistant" means a combination of an 

electronic device and a specialized software application 

designed to assist users with basic tasks using a combination 

of natural language processing and artificial intelligence, 

including such combinations known as digital assistants or 

virtual assistants. 

"Legal representative" means a person legally responsible for 

representing or standing in the place of the resident for the 

conduct of his affairs. This may include a guardian, 

conservator, attorney-in-fact under durable power of attorney, 

trustee, or other person expressly named by a court of 

competent jurisdiction or the resident as his agency in a legal 

document that specifies the scope of the representative's 

authority to act. A legal representative may only represent or 

stand in the place of a resident for the function for which he 

has legal authority to act. 

"Medication" means any substance, whether prescription or 

over-the-counter drug, that is taken orally or injected, inserted, 

topically applied, or otherwise administered. 

"Neglect" means a failure to provide timely and consistent 

services, treatment, or care to a resident necessary to obtain or 

maintain the resident's health, safety, or comfort or a failure to 

provide timely and consistent goods and services necessary to 

avoid physical harm, mental anguish, or mental illness. 

"Nursing facility" means any nursing home as defined in 

§ 32.1-123 of the Code of Virginia. 

"OLC" means the Office of Licensure and Certification of the 

Virginia Department of Health. 

"Person" means any individual, corporation, partnership, 

association, trust, or other legal entity, whether governmental 

or private, owning, managing, or operating a nursing facility. 

"Physical restraint" means any manual method or physical or 

mechanical device, material, or equipment attached or adjacent 

to the resident's body that the individual cannot remove easily 

which restricts freedom of movement or normal access to one's 

own body. 
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"Policy" means a written statement that describes the 

principles and guides and governs the activities, procedures 

and operations of the nursing facility. 

"Procedures" means a series of activities designed to 

implement program goals or policy, which may or may not be 

written, depending upon the specific requirements within this 

chapter. For inspection purposes, there must be evidence that 

procedures are actually implemented. 

"Progress note" means a written statement, signed and dated 

by the person delivering the care, consisting of a pertinent, 

chronological report of the resident's care. A progress note is a 

component of the clinical record. 

"Qualified" means meeting current legal requirements of 

licensure, registration or certification in Virginia; having 

appropriate training and experience commensurate with 

assigned responsibilities; or, if referring to a professional, 

possessing an appropriate degree or having documented 

equivalent education, training or experience. 

"Quality assurance" means systematic activities performed to 

determine the extent to which clinical practice meets specified 

standards and values with regard to such things as 

appropriateness of service assignment and duration, 

appropriateness of facilities and resources utilized, adequacy 

and clinical soundness of care given. Such activities should 

also assure changes in practice that do not meet accepted 

standards. Examples of quality assurance activities include the 

establishment of facility-wide goals for resident care, the 

assessment of the procedures used to achieve the goals, and the 

proposal of solutions to problems in attaining those goals. 

"Readmission" means a planned return to the nursing facility 

following a temporary absence for hospitalization, off-site visit 

or therapeutic leave, or a return stay or confinement following 

a formal discharge terminating a previous admission. 

"Resident" means the primary service recipient, admitted to 

the nursing facility, whether that person is referred to as a 

client, consumer, patient, or other term. 

"Resident-managed" means an electronic monitoring system 

that is installed, controlled, and maintained by the resident with 

the knowledge of the nursing facility. 

"Supervision" means the ongoing process of monitoring the 

skills, competencies and performance of the individual 

supervised and providing regular, face-to-face guidance and 

instruction. 

"Sworn disclosure" means a written statement or affirmation 

disclosing any criminal convictions or any pending criminal 

charges, whether within or outside the Commonwealth, by an 

applicant for compensated employment with a nursing facility. 

"THC-A oil" means the same as the term is defined in 

subsection A of § 54.1-3408.3 of the Code of Virginia. 

"Volunteer" means a person who, without financial 

remuneration, provides services to the nursing facility. 

12VAC5-371-140. Policies and procedures. 

A. The nursing facility shall implement written policies and 

procedures approved by the governing body. 

B. All policies and procedures shall be reviewed at least 

annually, with recommended changes submitted to the 

governing body for approval. 

C. A written record of the annual policy review, including at 

least the review dates, participants, recommendations and 

action dates of the governing body, shall be maintained. 

D. Administrative and operational policies and procedures 

shall include: 

1. Administrative records; 

2. Admission, transfer and discharge; 

3. Medical direction and physician services; 

4. Nursing direction and nursing services; 

5. Pharmaceutical services, including drugs purchased 

outside the nursing facility; 

6. Dietary services; 

7. Social services; 

8. Activities services; 

9. Restorative and rehabilitative resident services; 

10. Contractual services; 

11. Clinical records; 

12. Resident rights and grievances; 

13. Quality assurance and infection control and prevention; 

14. Safety and emergency preparedness procedures; 

15. Professional and clinical ethics, including: 

a. Confidentiality of resident information; 

b. Truthful communication with residents; 

c. Observance of appropriate standards of informed 

consent and refusal of treatment; and 

d. Preservation of resident dignity, with special attention 

to the needs of the aged, the cognitively impaired, and the 

dying; and 

16. Nursing facility security. 

E. Personnel policies and procedures shall include: 

1. Written job descriptions that specify authority, 

responsibility, and qualifications for each job classification; 

2. An on-going plan for employee orientation, staff 

development, in-service training and continuing education; 
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3. An accurate and complete personnel record for each 

employee including: 

a. Verification of current professional license, registration, 

or certificate or completion of a required approved training 

course; 

b. Criminal record check; 

c. Verification that the employee has reviewed or received 

a copy of the job description; 

d. Orientation to the nursing facility, its policies and to the 

position and duties assigned; 

e. Completed continuing education program approved for 

the employee as determined by the outcome of the annual 

performance evaluation; 

f. Annual employee performance evaluations; and 

g. Disciplinary action taken; and 

4. Employee health-related information retained in a file 

separate from personnel files. 

F. Financial policies and procedures shall include: 

1. Admission agreements; 

2. Methods of billing: 

a. Services not included in the basic daily or monthly rate; 

b. Services delivered by contractors of the nursing facility; 

and 

c. Third party payers; 

3. Resident or designated representative notification of 

changes in fees and charges; 

4. Correction of billing errors and refund policy; 

5. Collection of delinquent resident accounts; and 

6. Handling of resident funds. 

G. A nursing facility shall establish and implement policies to 

ensure the permissible access to and use of an intelligent 

personal assistant provided by a patient while receiving 

inpatient services. Such policies shall ensure protection of 

health information in accordance with the requirements of the 

federal Health Insurance Portability and Accountability Act of 

1996 (42 USC § 1320d et seq.).  

H. Policies shall be made available for review, upon request, 

to residents and their designated representatives. 

H. I. Policies and procedures shall be readily available for 

staff use at all times. 

12VAC5-371-180. Infection control. 

A. The nursing facility shall establish and maintain an 

infection control program designed to provide a safe, sanitary, 

and comfortable environment and to prevent the development 

and transmission of disease and infection. 

B. The infection control program shall encompass the entire 

physical plant and all services. 

C. The infection control program addressing the surveillance, 

prevention and control of infections in the nursing facility shall 

include: 

1. Procedures to isolate the infecting organism; 

2. Access to handwashing equipment for staff; 

3. Training of staff in proper handwashing techniques, 

according to accepted professional standards, to prevent 

cross contamination; 

4. Implementation of universal precautions by direct resident 

care staff; 

5. Prohibiting employees with communicable diseases or 

infections from direct contact with residents or their food, if 

direct contact will transmit disease; 

6. Monitoring staff performance of infection control 

practices; 

7. Handling, storing, processing and transporting linens, 

supplies and equipment in a manner that prevents the spread 

of infection; 

8. Handling, storing, processing and transporting regulated 

medical waste in accordance with applicable regulations; 

9. Maintaining an effective pest control program; and 

10. Staff education regarding infection risk-reduction 

behavior. 

D. The nursing facility shall report promptly to its local health 

department diseases designated as "reportable" according to 

12VAC5-90-80 when such cases are admitted to or are 

diagnosed in the nursing facility and shall report any outbreak 

of infectious disease as required by 12VAC5-90. An outbreak 

is defined as an increase in incidence of any infectious disease 

above the usual incidence at the nursing facility. 

E. During a declared public health emergency related to a 

communicable disease of public health threat, the nursing 

facility shall establish a protocol to allow residents to receive 

visits from a rabbi, priest, minister, or clergy of any religious 

denomination or sect consistent with guidance from the 

Centers for Disease Control and Prevention and the Centers for 

Medicare and Medicaid Services and subject to compliance 

with any executive order, order of public health, department 

guidance, or any other applicable federal or state guidance 

having the effect of limiting visitation.  

1. Such protocol may restrict the frequency and duration of 

visits and may require visits to be conducted virtually using 

interactive audio or video technology. 

2. Any such protocol may require the person visiting a 

resident pursuant to this subsection to comply with all 

reasonable requirements of the nursing facility adopted to 
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protect the health and safety of the person, residents, and 

staff of the nursing facility. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R22-6877; Filed September 13, 2021, 12:24 p.m. 

DEPARTMENT OF MEDICAL ASSISTANCE 
SERVICES 

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The following regulatory action is 

exempt from Article 2 of the Administrative Process Act in 

accordance with § 2.2-4006 A 4 c of the Code of Virginia, 

which excludes regulations that are necessary to meet the 

requirements of federal law or regulations, provided such 

regulations do not differ materially from those required by 

federal law or regulation. The Department of Medical 

Assistance Services will receive, consider, and respond to 

petitions by any interested person at any time with respect to 

reconsideration or revision. 

Title of Regulation: 12VAC30-10. State Plan under Title 

XIX of the Social Security Act Medical Assistance 

Program; General Provisions (amending 12VAC30-10-40). 

Statutory Authority: § 32.1-325 of the Code of Virginia; 

42 USC § 1396 et seq. 

Effective Date: November 11, 2021. 

Agency Contact: Emily McClellan, Regulatory Supervisor, 

Policy Division, Department of Medical Assistance Services, 

600 East Broad Street, Suite 1300, Richmond, VA 23219, 

telephone (804) 371-4300, FAX (804) 786-1680, or email 

emily.mcclellan@dmas.virginia.gov. 

Background: Section 1902(a)(73) of the Social Security Act 

(42 USC § 1902) mandates that states in which an Indian health 

program or Urban Indian organization furnishes health care 

services establish a process for the state Medicaid agency, that 

is the Department of Medical Assistance Services (DMAS) in 

Virginia, to seek advice on a regular, ongoing basis from 

designees of the Indian health programs. Consultation is 

required concerning Medicaid matters having a direct impact 

on the Indian health programs. Virginia newly has an Indian 

health program that furnishes health care services, including 

services under Medicaid, for Pamunkey Tribe community 

members. DMAS must solicit advice prior to the submission 

of any plan amendments, waiver requests, and proposals for 

demonstration projects that are likely to have a direct effect on 

tribal members, Indian health programs, and Urban Indian 

organizations. DMAS has identified a program designee as an 

advisory contact through which the dissemination of 

information will occur. 

Summary: 

The amendments conform the regulation to a requirement of 

the Social Security Act for the state Medicaid agency to 

maintain interactive communication with any Indian health 

organizations or Urban Indian programs that provide 

health services to tribal members regarding Medicaid 

program changes that may likely have a direct effect on the 

administration of program services.  

12VAC30-10-40. State Medical Care Advisory Committee. 

A. There is an advisory committee to the Medicaid agency 

director on health and medical care services established in 

accordance with and meeting all the requirements of 42 CFR 

413.12 431.12. 

B. Tribal consultation. Section 1902(a)(73) of the Social 

Security Act requires a state in which one or more Indian health 

programs or Urban Indian organizations furnish health care 

services to establish a process for the state Medicaid agency to 

seek advice on a regular, ongoing basis from designees of 

Indian health programs, whether operated by the Indian Health 

Service, a Tribe, or Tribal organizations under the Indian Self-

Determination and Education Assistance Act (P.L. 93-638) or 

Urban Indian Organizations under the Indian Health Care 

Improvement Act (25 USC § 1601 et seq.), concerning 

Medicaid matters having a direct impact on Indian health 

programs. 

C. The Department of Medical Assistance Services (DMAS) 

seeks advice on an ongoing basis from federally recognized 

tribes, Indian health programs, and Urban Indian organizations 

on matters related to Medicaid and Children's Health Insurance 

Program programs. DMAS has identified a program designee 

as an advisory contact, through which, the dissemination of 

information will occur. Designees from each Tribe, Indian 

health program, and Urban Indian organization receive written 

communication from DMAS about State Plan amendments, 

waiver proposals, waiver extensions, waiver amendments, and 

waiver renewals before any of these documents are submitted 

to the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services. Tribes, 

Indian health programs, and Urban Indian organizations may 

request additional information and may request meetings to 

discuss the proposed changes. DMAS invites these groups to 

request additional information or offer comments on proposed 

changes within 30 days of the notification of State Plan 

amendments, waiver proposals, waiver extensions, waiver 

amendments, or waiver renewals. For emergency-related 

submissions, such as a natural disaster or a legislative mandate, 

DMAS seeks information requests, comments, or proposed 

changes within 15 days of notification. The coordination of this 

consultation process was established through an email 

communication with designees from each Tribe and Indian 

health program on January 29, 2021. To maintain a cooperative 

channel of communication and informative dialogue between 

DMAS and the Tribal organizations, the agency sought out and 

will continue to seek advice on a regular, ongoing basis via 

email, teleconference, or meetings. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R22-6863; Filed September 13, 2021, 1:29 p.m. 
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Forms 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: Forms used in administering the 

regulation have been filed by the agency. The forms are not 

being published; however, online users of this issue of the 

Virginia Register of Regulations may click on the name of a 

form with a hyperlink to access it. The forms are also available 

from the agency contact or may be viewed at the Office of the 

Registrar of Regulations, 900 East Main Street, 11th Floor, 

Richmond, Virginia 23219. 

Title of Regulation: 12VAC30-122. Community Waiver 

Services for Individuals with Developmental Disabilities. 

Agency Contact: Emily McClellan, Regulatory Supervisor, 

Policy Division, Department of Medical Assistance Services, 

600 East Broad Street, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 

371-4300, or email emily.mcclellan@dmas.virginia.gov. 

FORMS (12VAC30-122) 

Supports Intensity Scale - Adult VersionTM (ages 16 and up), 

SIS-A, copyright 2015, American Association on Intellectual 

and Developmental Disabilities 

Supports Intensity Scale - Children's VersionTM (ages 5-16), 

SIS-C, copyright 2016, American Association on Intellectual 

and Developmental Disabilities 

Virginia Supplemental Questions (eff. 10/2014) 

Skill Competencies for Professionals and Direct Support 

Staff in Virginia Supporting Adolescents and Adults with 

Autism, developed by Virginia Autism Council, June 1, 2014, 

DMAS-P201 (filed 1/2019) 

Virginia Developmental Disabilities Autism Competencies, 

DMAS P-201 (rev. 9/2017) 

Medicaid Long-Term Care Communication Form, DMAS-

225 (rev. 12/2015) 

Virginia Individual Developmental Disabilities Eligibility 

Survey - Infants' Version, DMAS-P235 (eff. 3/2016) 

Virginia Individual Developmental Disabilities Eligibility 

Survey - Children's Version, DMAS-P236 (eff. 4/2016) 

Virginia Individual Developmental Disabilities Eligibility 

Survey - Adult Version, DMAS-P237 (eff. 3/2016) 

Behavioral Support Competencies for Direct Support 

Providers and Professionals in Virginia Supporting Individuals 

with Developmental Disabilities, developed by the Virginia 

Department of Behavioral Health and Developmental 

Services, August 2015, DMAS-P240a (filed 1/2019) 

Virginia Developmental Disabilities Behavioral 

Competencies, DMAS P241a (rev. 9/2017) 

Developmental Disabilities DSP and Supervisor 

Competencies Checklist, DMAS 241a (eff. 5/2021) 

Direct Support Professional Assurance to Confirm Successful 

Completion of Training and Testing Requirements for the DD 

Waivers, DMAS P242a (eff. 5/2021) 

Virginia's Health Competencies for Direct Support 

Professionals and Supervisors Who Support Individuals with 

Developmental Disabilities - Health Competencies Checklist, 

DMAS-P244a (eff. 6/2016) 

Department of Behavioral Health and Developmental 

Services Health Competencies Checklist, DMAS P244a and 

P241a (rev. 1/2017) 

Community Housing Guide: Housing Road Map (form date 

10/2019) 

Community Housing Guide: Tenant Screening (form date 

10/2019) 

FIS Family and Individual Supports Request for Supervision 

Hours in Personal Assistance, DMAS-P257 (05/28) 

CL Community Learning Request for Supervision Hours in 

Personal Assistance, DMAS-P257 (05/28) 

VA.R. Doc. No. R22-6965; Filed September 17, 2021, 3:00 p.m. 

  ––––––––––––––––––  

TITLE 14. INSURANCE 

STATE CORPORATION COMMISSION 

Proposed Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The State Corporation Commission 

is claiming an exemption from the Administrative Process Act 

in accordance with § 2.2-4002 A 2 of the Code of Virginia, 

which exempts courts, any agency of the Supreme Court, and 

any agency that by the Constitution is expressly granted any of 

the powers of a court of record. 

Titles of Regulations: 14VAC5-340. Rules Governing 

Standards for the Content of Fire Insurance or Fire 

Insurance in Combination with Other Coverages 

(repealing 14VAC5-340-10 through 14VAC5-340-150). 

14VAC5-341. Rules Governing Standards for the Content 

of Dwelling Property Insurance Policies (adding 14VAC5-

341-10 through 14VAC5-341-90). 

14VAC5-342. Rules Governing Standards for the Content 

of Homeowners Insurance Policies (adding 14VAC5-342-

10 through 14VAC5-342-130). 

Statutory Authority: §§ 12.1-13, 38.2-223, and 38.2-2108 of 

the Code of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: A hearing will be scheduled upon 

request. 

Public Comment Deadline: October 15, 2021. 

http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=c2b90004614~314.pdf&typ=40&actno=004614&mime=application/pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/12VAC30/forms/VA%20DD%20Autism%20Competencies%20DMAS#P201-20210920152221.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/12VAC30/forms/VA%20DD%20Autism%20Competencies%20DMAS#P201-20210920152221.pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=ad385004614~315.pdf&typ=40&actno=004614&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=ad385004614~315.pdf&typ=40&actno=004614&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=3597e004614~225.pdf&typ=40&actno=004614&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=3597e004614~225.pdf&typ=40&actno=004614&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=de3de004614~236.pdf&typ=40&actno=004614&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=de3de004614~236.pdf&typ=40&actno=004614&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=01f96004614~247.pdf&typ=40&actno=004614&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=01f96004614~247.pdf&typ=40&actno=004614&mime=application/pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/12VAC30/forms/VA%20DD%20Beh%20Comp%20DMAS#P241a-20210920152256.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/12VAC30/forms/VA%20DD%20Beh%20Comp%20DMAS#P241a-20210920152256.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/12VAC30/forms/DD2%20DSP%20and%20Supervisors%20Competencies%20Checklist%20P241a%207.12.21.final%20(2)-20210723132141-20210726130918.docx
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/12VAC30/forms/DD2%20DSP%20and%20Supervisors%20Competencies%20Checklist%20P241a%207.12.21.final%20(2)-20210723132141-20210726130918.docx
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/12VAC30/forms/DSP%20Assurance%20(DMAS%20P242a)%207.1.21-20210723132210-20210726131039.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/12VAC30/forms/DSP%20Assurance%20(DMAS%20P242a)%207.1.21-20210723132210-20210726131039.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/12VAC30/forms/DSP%20Assurance%20(DMAS%20P242a)%207.1.21-20210723132210-20210726131039.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/12VAC30/forms/Supervisor%20Assurance%20(DMAS%20P245a)%207.1.21-20210723132237-20210726131146.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/12VAC30/forms/Supervisor%20Assurance%20(DMAS%20P245a)%207.1.21-20210723132237-20210726131146.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/12VAC30/forms/Supervisor%20Assurance%20(DMAS%20P245a)%207.1.21-20210723132237-20210726131146.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/12VAC30/forms/Community%20Housing%20Guide%20-%20Housing%20Road%20Map-20210217202933.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/12VAC30/forms/Community%20Housing%20Guide%20-%20Housing%20Road%20Map-20210217202933.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/12VAC30/forms/Community%20Housing%20-%20Tenant%20Screening%20Form-20210217203052.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/12VAC30/forms/Community%20Housing%20-%20Tenant%20Screening%20Form-20210217203052.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/12VAC30/forms/FIS%20Request%20for%20Supervision%20Hours%20in%20Personal%20Assistance-20210216152659.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/12VAC30/forms/FIS%20Request%20for%20Supervision%20Hours%20in%20Personal%20Assistance-20210216152659.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/12VAC30/forms/CL%20Reqeust%20for%20Supervision%20Hours%20in%20Personal%20Assistance-20210217202751.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/12VAC30/forms/CL%20Reqeust%20for%20Supervision%20Hours%20in%20Personal%20Assistance-20210217202751.pdf
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Agency Contact: Katie Johnson, Insurance Policy Advisor, 

Bureau of Insurance, State Corporation Commission, P.O. Box 

1157, Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 371-9688, FAX 

(804) 371-9873, or email katie.johnson@scc.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The proposed amendments repeal 14VAC5-340 and replace 

it with two new chapters, 14VAC5-341 and 14VAC5-342. 

14VAC5-340 is outdated, having been in place without 

revision since 1982. The proposed new regulations (i) 

establish minimum standards for the contents of dwelling 

property and homeowners insurance policies; (ii) improve 

readability; (iii) preserve basic coverages for consumers; 

(iv) clarify specific areas for certainty and consistency in 

interpretation, such as occasional rental, unoccupied and 

vacant premises, and incidental business activities; (v) 

address exposures that have emerged since 1982, such as 

virtual currency, home-sharing, drones and hovercraft, and 

the use of the residence for telework; and (vi) incorporate 

offers of coverage that are required by statute. 

AT RICHMOND, SEPTEMBER 10, 2021 

COMMONWEALTH OF VIRGINIA, ex rel. 

STATE CORPORATION COMMISSION  

CASE NO. INS-2021-00092 

Ex Parte: In the matter of Repealing Rules Governing 

Standards for the Content of Fire Insurance or Fire Insurance 

in Combination with Other Coverages, Adopting New Rules 

Governing Standards for the Content of Dwelling Property 

Insurance Policies and Adopting New Rules Governing 

Standards for the Content of Homeowners Insurance Policies 

ORDER TO TAKE NOTICE 

Section 12.1-13 of the Code of Virginia ("Code") provides 

that the State Corporation Commission ("Commission") shall 

have the power to promulgate rules and regulations in the 

enforcement and administration of all laws within its 

jurisdiction, and § 38.2-223 of the Code provides that the 

Commission may issue any rules and regulations necessary or 

appropriate for the administration and enforcement of Title 

38.2 of the Code. Section 38.2-2108 of the Code provides that 

the Commission may establish standards for the content of 

policies written to insure owner-occupied dwellings issued or 

delivered in the Commonwealth. 

The rules and regulations issued by the Commission pursuant 

to §§ 38.2-223 and 38.2-2108 of the Code are set forth in Title 

14 of the Virginia Administrative Code. A copy also may be 

found at the Commission's website: scc.virginia.gov/case. 

The Bureau of Insurance ("Bureau") has submitted to the 

Commission a proposal to repeal Chapter 340 of Title 14 of the 

Virginia Administrative Code entitled "Rules Governing 

Standards for the Content of Fire Insurance or Fire Insurance 

in Combination with Other Coverages" set out at 14 VAC 5-

340-10 through 14 VAC 5-340-150:9; to adopt a new chapter, 

Chapter 341 of Title 14 of the Virginia Administrative Code 

entitled "Rules Governing Standards for the Content of 

Dwelling Property Insurance Policies," which are 

recommended to be set out at 14 VAC 5-341-10 through 

14 VAC 5-341-90; and to adopt a new chapter, Chapter 342 of 

Title 14 of the Virginia Administrative Code entitled "Rules 

Governing Standards for the Content of Homeowners 

Insurance Policies," which are recommended to be set out at 

14 VAC 5-342-10 through 14 VAC 5-342-120. 

The repeal of Chapter 340 is necessary because these rules 

are outdated, having been in place without revision since 1982. 

The proposed new rules in Chapter 341 and 342 establish 

minimum standards for the contents of dwelling property and 

homeowners insurance policies. Further, the proposed new 

rules offer improved readability; preserve basic coverages for 

consumers; provide clarity in specific areas for certainty and 

consistency in interpretation, such as occasional rental, 

unoccupied and vacant premises, and incidental business 

activities; address exposures that have emerged since 1982, 

such as virtual currency, home-sharing, drones and hovercraft 

and the use of the residence for telework; and incorporate 

offers of coverage that are required by statute. 

The proposed new rules in Chapters 341 and 342 have an 

effective date of January 1, 2022 and require compliance for 

policies delivered or issued for delivery in Virginia with 

effective dates on and after July 1, 2023. Insurers and rate 

service organizations are required to submit filings for 

compliance with these chapters no later than December 31, 

2022. 

NOW THE COMMISSION is of the opinion that the Rules at 

Chapter 340 of Title 14 of the Virginia Administrative Code 

should be repealed, and the proposed new rules at Chapters 341 

and 342 of Title 14 of the Virginia Administrative Code should 

be considered for adoption with a proposed effective date of 

January 1, 2022. 

Accordingly, IT IS ORDERED THAT: 

(1) The proposal to repeal Chapter 340 of Title 14 of the 

Virginia Administrative Code; adopt a new chapter proposed 

at Chapter 341 of Title 14 of the Virginia Administrative Code, 

recommended to be set out at 14 VAC 5-341-10 through 

14 VAC 5-341-90; and adopt a new chapter proposed at 

Chapter 342 of Title 14 of the Virginia Administrative Code, 

recommended to be set out at 14 VAC 5-342-10 through 

14 VAC 5-342-120, is attached hereto and made a part hereof. 

(2) All interested persons who desire to comment in support 

of or in opposition to, or request a hearing to oppose the repeal 

of Chapter 340 and the adoption of the proposed new Chapters 

341 and 342 shall file such comments or hearing request on or 

before October 15, 2021, with Bernard J. Logan, Clerk, State 

Corporation Commission, c/o Document Control Center, P.O. 

Box 2118, Richmond, Virginia 23218, and shall refer to Case 
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No. INS-2021-00092. Any request for hearing shall state with 

specificity why the issues raised in the request for hearing 

cannot be addressed adequately in written comments. 

Interested persons desiring to submit comments electronically 

may do so by following the instructions at the Commission's 

website: scc.virginia.gov/case. All comments shall refer to 

Case No. INS-2021-00092. 

(3) The Bureau shall file its statement of position in response 

to any comments filed pursuant to Ordering Paragraph 2 on or 

before November 15, 2021. 

(4) If no written request for a hearing on the proposed repeal 

and adoption of proposed new rules as outlined in this Order is 

received on or before October 15, 2021, the Commission, upon 

consideration of any comments submitted in support of or in 

opposition to the proposal, may repeal Chapter 340 and adopt 

proposed Chapters 341 and 342 of Title 14 of the Virginia 

Administrative Code as submitted by the Bureau. 

(5) The Bureau shall provide notice of the proposal to all 

carriers licensed in Virginia to write fire and homeowners 

insurance as well as to all Property and Casualty interested 

persons. 

(6) The Commission's Division of Information Resources 

shall cause a copy of this Order, together with the proposal to 

repeal and adopt new rules, to be forwarded to the Virginia 

Registrar of Regulations for appropriate publication in the 

Virginia Register of Regulations. 

(7) The Commission's Division of Information Resources 

shall make available this Order and the attached proposal on 

the Commission's website: scc.virginia.gov/case.  

(8) The Bureau shall file with the Clerk of the Commission 

an affidavit of compliance with the notice requirements of 

Ordering Paragraph (4) above. 

(9) This matter is continued.  

A COPY hereof shall be sent by the Clerk of the Commission 

to: C. Meade Browder, Jr., Senior Assistant Attorney General, 

mbrowder@oag.state.va.us, Office of the Attorney General, 

Division of Consumer Counsel, 202 N. 9th Street, 8th Floor, 

Richmond, Virginia 23219-3424; and a copy hereof shall be 

delivered to the Commission's Office of General Counsel and 

the Bureau of Insurance in care of Deputy Commissioner 

Rebecca Nichols. 

Chapter 341 

Rules Governing Standards for the Content of Dwelling 

Property Insurance Policies 

14VAC5-341-10. Scope and applicability.  

A. This chapter sets forth the standards of content for policies 

of dwelling property insurance covering owner-occupied 

dwellings, including condominium units. This chapter applies 

to insurers licensed to do business in Virginia and issuing 

policies of dwelling property insurance pursuant to the 

provisions of Chapter 21 (§ 38.2-2100 et seq.) of Title 38.2 of 

the Code of Virginia. 

B. Compliance with this chapter is required for policies 

delivered or issued for delivery in Virginia with effective dates 

on and after July 1, 2023. Insurers and rate service 

organizations shall submit filings for compliance with this 

chapter no later than December 31, 2022. 

C. No insurer shall represent to a prospective purchaser or a 

policyholder that a dwelling property policy subject to the 

provisions of this chapter is a homeowners policy as defined in 

§ 38.2-130 of the Code of Virginia. 

D. This chapter does not apply to policies that: 

1. Are lender-placed; 

2. Insure owner-occupied farms; 

3. Insure manufactured homes as defined in § 46.2-100 of 

the Code of Virginia, except for policies insuring 

manufactured homes as defined in § 46.2-653.1 of the Code 

of Virginia; 

4. Are issued pursuant to Chapter 27 (§ 38.2-2700 et seq.) of 

Title 38.2 of the Code of Virginia; 

5. Are issued pursuant to Chapter 48 (§ 38.2-4800 et seq.) of 

Title 38.2 of the Code of Virginia; or 

6. Primarily insure the personal property of renters. 

E. Insurers shall file with the commission all policies or 

endorsements for approval before use. 

F. Policies and endorsements shall not be less favorable than 

the provisions set forth in this chapter. Insurers may provide 

broader and more favorable coverages, terms, and conditions 

than those set forth in this chapter. Insurers may use any policy 

language that is not less favorable to the insured and complies 

with provisions of this chapter. 

14VAC5-341-20. Severability.  

If a provision of this chapter or its application to a person or 

circumstance is for any reason held to be invalid by a court, the 

remainder of this chapter and the application of the provisions 

to other persons or circumstances shall not be affected. 

14VAC5-341-30. Definitions.  

The following words and terms when used in this chapter 

shall have the following meanings unless the context clearly 

indicates otherwise: 

"Actual cash value" means the amount equal to the 

replacement cost minus depreciation of damaged or stolen 

property at the time of the loss. 

"Aircraft" means a machine or device capable of atmospheric 

flight, including hobby or model aircraft, drones, self-

propelled missiles, and spacecraft. 
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"Business" means a trade, profession, or occupation whether 

full-time, part-time, or occasional activity, including (i) 

farming, (ii) the rental of the whole or a part of the residence 

premises by an insured, (iii) the business use of part of the 

residence premises, or (iv) home-sharing. 

"Business" shall not include: 

1. The occasional rental of the whole or a part of the 

residence premises for dwelling purposes; 

2. The rental or holding for rental of a part of the residence 

premises for no more than two roomers or boarders for use 

as a primary residence; 

3. The rental of a part of the residence premises as a private 

garage; 

4. The rental of a part of the residence premises as an office, 

school, or studio; or 

5. The insured's use of the residence premises for remote 

work under an agreement with the insured's employer. 

"Commission" means the State Corporation Commission. 

"Condominium unit" means a dwelling as defined in § 55.1-

1900 of the Code of Virginia. 

"Dwelling" means any residential structure specifically 

named in the policy. 

"Farms" or "farming" means the use of land and buildings 

primarily for agricultural purposes with the objective of raising 

animals to produce food for sale or distribution to the public 

and growing crops for sale or distribution to the public.  

"Fixtures" means permanently installed components of the 

dwelling or other structures including wells; plumbing 

systems; pumps; air conditioning equipment, systems, and 

parts; heating equipment, systems, and parts; hot water heaters; 

lighting systems; or built-in appliances and other components 

where removal would deface or damage the dwelling. 

"Functional replacement cost" means the cost to repair or 

replace the damaged dwelling or other structures with less 

costly common construction materials and methods that are 

functionally equivalent to materials and methods used in the 

original construction. 

"Home-sharing" means rental or offering for rental of the 

residence premises or a part of the residence premises for 

lodging purposes made available through an online-enabled 

application, website, or digital network. Home-sharing is not 

occasional rental as defined in this section. An individual 

occupying the residence premises through home-sharing is not 

a roomer, boarder, tenant, or guest. 

"Hovercraft" means a self-propelled air cushioned vehicle 

that can travel over land and water. 

"Insured" means (i) any person named as an insured in the 

policy, (ii) if residents of the named insured's household, the 

named insured's spouse if not a named insured, and relatives of 

either, and (iii) other persons younger than 21 years of age in 

the care of an insured. 

"Motor vehicle" means a vehicle that is self-propelled or 

designed for self-propulsion and is designed or licensed for use 

on public roads. 

"Occasional rental" means (i) rental of the residence premises 

or a part of the residence premises for up to seven days, 

whether consecutive or random, in any policy term; (ii) rental 

of the residence premises that generates revenue of up to 

$2,500; or (iii) a combination of clauses (i) and (ii) of this 

definition. Occasional rental does not include home-sharing as 

defined in this section. 

"Pollutant" means solid, liquid, gaseous, thermal, or 

radioactive irritants or contaminants, including acids, alkalis, 

chemicals, fumes, vapors, and waste. 

"Recreational motor vehicle" means a motor vehicle designed 

for recreational use off public roads and not subject to motor 

vehicle registration. 

"Replacement cost" means the cost to repair or replace the 

damaged or stolen property with material of like kind and 

quality without deduction for depreciation. 

"Residence employee" means an employee of an insured who 

provides maintenance or domestic services for the residence 

premises. 

"Residence premises" means the dwelling, other structures, 

and grounds at the location named in the policy. 

"Theft" means an act of stealing or attempt to steal, including 

loss of property from a known place under circumstances when 

a probability of theft exists. 

"Vacant" means a dwelling (i) that has not been occupied as 

a residence for more than 30 consecutive days immediately 

before a loss and (ii) where most of the named insured's 

personal property has been removed such that the dwelling is 

not functional as a customary place of residence. A dwelling is 

not occupied if the dwelling is being used without the 

permission of an insured. A dwelling under construction or 

being remodeled, repaired, or renovated is not vacant. 

"Vandalism" or "malicious mischief" means the willful and 

malicious damage to or destruction of the property excluding 

loss by pilferage, theft, burglary, or larceny. 

14VAC5-341-40. Mandatory property coverages.  

A. Insurers shall provide coverage for the dwelling on the 

residence premises including fixtures. 

1. Insurers shall also provide coverage for materials and 

supplies while located on the residence premises and 

intended for use in construction, alteration, or repair of the 

dwelling or other structures. 
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2. For a dwelling that is a condominium unit, insurers shall 

provide a limit of liability of at least $5,000 for the dwelling 

and fixtures that are the responsibility of the condominium 

unit owner. 

B. Insurers shall provide coverage for other structures and the 

fixtures of other structures on the residence premises. 

1. Insurers shall provide a limit of liability of at least 10% of 

the dwelling limit of liability. 

2. Insurers may exclude coverage for other structures that are 

used for business or rented or held for rental unless the 

structure is (i) rented to roomers, boarders, or tenants of the 

dwelling or (ii) rented for use solely as a private garage. 

3. For condominium units, insurers shall provide coverage 

for other structures and fixtures of other structures that are 

the responsibility of the condominium unit owner. 

C. Insurers shall provide coverage for (i) breakage of glass or 

safety glazing material that is part of a dwelling or other 

structure and (ii) damage to covered property by glass that is 

part of a dwelling or other structure. This coverage does not 

increase the limit of liability that applies to the damaged 

covered property. Insurers may exclude loss if the dwelling 

was vacant. 

D. Insurers shall provide coverage for the expenses incurred 

for the removal of debris of covered property damaged by a 

covered cause of loss and the expense for the removal of fallen 

trees that damage covered property. Expenses for debris 

removal are included within the limit of liability applicable to 

the damaged property. 

E. Insurers shall provide coverage for contractual fire 

department service charges and volunteer fire department 

service charges as follows: 

1. Contractual fire department service charges where the fire 

department is called to save or protect insured property from 

a covered cause of loss. Insurers may limit this coverage to 

a residence premises not located within the limits of a city, 

municipality, or fire protection district furnishing fire 

department services. 

2. Fire department service charges made by volunteer fire 

departments pursuant to § 38.2-2130 of the Code of Virginia. 

3. Insurers shall provide at least $250 of coverage for each 

type of fire department service charges. 

4. Insurers may not apply a deductible to the coverages in 

subdivisions 1 and 2 of this subsection. 

F. Insurers shall offer ordinance or law coverage, subject to 

the exclusions or limitations within this chapter, pursuant to § 

38.2-2124 of the Code of Virginia at the dwelling limit of 

liability within the policy or as an endorsement. This limit of 

liability is in addition to the limit of liability applicable to the 

dwelling. Insurers may make other limits of liability available 

for insureds to purchase. When ordinance or law coverage is 

provided within the policy or as an endorsement, subdivision 

A 3 of 14VAC5-341-70 does not apply. 

G. Insurers shall provide coverage of at least 10% of the 

dwelling limit of liability for the increase in necessary living 

expenses when the dwelling is uninhabitable due to a covered 

cause of loss. Insurers shall provide coverage of at least 20% 

of the household and personal property limit of liability for 

condominium units. 

1. Insurers shall provide this coverage for the time 

reasonably required to return the dwelling to a habitable 

condition or for the insured's household to become settled in 

any permanent quarters. 

2. Insurers shall provide additional living expense coverage 

for at least two weeks while a civil authority limits access to 

the residence premises as a result of damage to neighboring 

premises by a covered cause of loss. 

3. Insurers may exclude living expenses that do not continue. 

4. This coverage is not limited by the expiration date of the 

policy. 

H. Insurers shall provide coverage of at least 10% of the 

dwelling limit of liability for the fair rental value of a part of 

the dwelling or other structures. Insurers shall provide 

coverage of at least 20% of the household and personal 

property limit of liability for condominium units. 

1. Insurers shall provide this coverage for the time 

reasonably required to restore the dwelling or other 

structures to a tenantable condition following damage 

caused by a covered cause of loss. 

2. Insurers shall provide fair rental value coverage for at least 

two weeks while a civil authority limits access to the 

residence premises as a result of damage to neighboring 

premises by a covered cause of loss. 

3. Insurers may exclude expenses that do not continue. 

4. Insurers may exclude coverage for loss or expense due to 

cancellation of a lease or agreement.  

5. This coverage is not limited by the expiration date of the 

policy. 

6. Insurers may not apply a deductible to this coverage. 

I. Insurers shall provide coverage for damage to trees, shrubs, 

plants, or lawns caused by fire, lightning, explosion, riot, civil 

commotion, aircraft, or vehicles not owned or operated by a 

resident of the residence premises. When expanded or open 

causes of loss are provided by the policy, insurers shall also 

include coverage for damage to trees, shrubs, plants, or lawns 

caused by vandalism and malicious mischief, and actual or 

attempted burglary. 
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1. Insurers shall provide a limit of liability for this coverage 

of at least 5.0% of the dwelling limit of liability. 

2. Insurers may limit the amount of coverage to no more than 

$250 for each tree, shrub, or plant on the residence premises. 

The limit of coverage includes debris removal coverage 

when the tree, plant, or shrub does not cause damage to 

covered property. 

J. Insurers shall provide coverage for loss or damage to 

property while removed or being removed from the residence 

premises because the property is endangered by a covered 

cause of loss. 

1. Coverage is provided for damage from any cause subject 

to the exclusions and limitations permitted in this chapter. 

2. Insurers shall provide this coverage for at least 30 days for 

each removal. 

3. This coverage is not limited by the expiration date of the 

policy. 

4. This coverage does not increase the limit of liability that 

applies to the damaged covered property. 

K. Insurers shall provide coverage for the cost of making 

reasonable repairs to protect covered property from further 

damage when the repairs are directly attributable to damage 

caused by a covered cause of loss. The repairs are included as 

part of the amount of the loss. 

L. If expanded or open causes of loss are provided by the 

policy, insurers shall pay the cost incurred to tear out and 

replace the part of the dwelling or other structure necessary to 

gain access to the system or appliance from which the water or 

steam escaped if a loss to the dwelling or other structures is 

caused by water or steam escaping from a system or appliance. 

Insurers may exclude loss to the system or appliance from 

which the water or steam escapes. 

M. Insurers shall provide coverage for direct physical loss to 

the dwelling, other structures, and household and personal 

property involving collapse of a dwelling or other structure or 

any part of a dwelling or other structure: 

1. Caused by one or more of the following: 

a. The causes of loss in subsection C of 14VAC5-341-60; 

b. Hidden decay; 

c. Hidden insect or vermin damage; 

d. Weight of contents, equipment, animals, or people; 

e. Weight of rain that collects on a roof; or 

f. Use of defective materials or methods in construction, 

remodeling, or renovation if the collapse occurs during the 

construction, remodeling, or renovation. 

2. Loss to an awning, fence, patio, pavement, swimming 

pool, underground pipe, flue, drain, cesspool, septic tank, 

foundation, retaining wall, bulkhead, pier, wharf, or dock is 

not included under subdivisions 1 b through 1 f of this 

subsection unless the loss is a direct result of the collapse of 

a building. 

3. Collapse does not include settling, cracking, shrinking, 

bulging, or expansion. 

4. This coverage does not increase the limit of liability 

applicable to the damaged covered property. 

5. Insurers may exclude collapse when providing only basic 

causes of loss set forth in subsection B of 14VAC5-341-60. 

14VAC5-341-50. Optional coverage for household and 

personal property.  

A. Insurers may offer coverage for household and personal 

property. If offered: 

1. Insurers shall provide coverage for household and 

personal property on the residence premises that is owned or 

used by an insured. 

2. At the request of the named insured at the time of loss, 

insurers shall provide coverage for household and personal 

property owned by a: 

a. Guest while the property is on the residence premises or 

b. Residence employee while the property is on the 

residence premises. 

B. Insurers shall provide coverage for the insured's property 

(i) on the residence premises during an occasional rental or (ii) 

on the part of the residence premises occupied by roomers, 

boarders, or tenants. 

C. Insurers shall provide coverage for household and personal 

property while it is being moved to the insured's new principal 

residence within the United States. Insurers shall provide 

coverage for property while it is being moved for 30 days from 

the date that moving the property begins. The household and 

personal property limit of liability applies to property being 

moved to another location. If the move began during the policy 

term, coverage may not be limited by the expiration of the 

policy. 

D. Insurers shall provide coverage for the following types of 

household and personal property at limits of at least the 

following: 

1. $500 total per loss on cemetery property on or off the 

residence premises including monuments, headstones, grave 

markers, and urns. 

2. $100 total per loss on coin collections, medals, gold, 

platinum, and silver, except goldware and gold-plated ware 

shall not be deemed to be gold and silverware and silver-

plated ware shall not be deemed to be silver. 

3. $500 total per loss on passports, tickets, or stamp 

collections. 
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4. $1,000 total per loss on watercraft, trailers used with 

watercraft, and watercraft furnishings, equipment, and 

outboard motors. This limit does not apply to rowboats or 

canoes. 

5. $500 on trailers, semi-trailers, and campers not otherwise 

covered in this chapter. 

14VAC5-341-60. Causes of loss.  

A. Insurers shall provide, at a minimum, the basic causes of 

loss in subsection B of this section. If an insurer provides 

expanded causes of loss, the causes of loss may be no less 

favorable than the causes of loss in subsections B and C of this 

section. If an insurer provides open causes of loss, the causes 

of loss may be no less favorable than the causes of loss in 

subsection D of this section. The same causes of loss shall 

apply to the dwelling and other structures. Insurers may offer 

basic, expanded, or open causes of loss for household and 

personal property. 

B. When providing basic causes of loss, insurers shall provide 

coverage for direct loss caused by the following: 

1. Fire or lightning. 

2. Windstorm or hail. Insurers may exclude loss to: 

a. The interior of the dwelling or other structure or the 

household and personal property within caused by rain, 

snow, sand, or dust unless the rain, snow, sand, or dust 

enters through an opening caused by the force of wind or 

hail; 

b. Windmills, wind pumps, or towers; crop silos or 

contents; or metal smokestacks; 

c. Grain, hay, straw, or other crops, when outside; 

d. Overhead structures, including supports and screening, 

constructed principally of cloth, metal, fiberglass, or 

plastic erected to provide protection from the elements; 

e. Signs; 

f. Satellite dishes; radio or television antennas, including 

lead-in wiring, masts, or towers; 

g. Fences; seawalls or property line and other free-

standing walls; 

h. Greenhouses, hothouses, slathouses, trellises, pergolas, 

cabanas, or outdoor equipment pertaining to the service of 

the residence premises; 

i. Wharves, docks, piers, boathouses, bulkheads, or other 

structures located over or partially over water and the 

household and personal property on or within;  

j. Property damaged by water from sprinklered equipment 

or from other piping, unless the equipment or piping was 

damaged as a direct result of wind or hail; or 

k. Watercraft while not inside a fully enclosed building. 

This provision does not apply to rowboats or canoes. 

3. Explosion. 

4. Riot or civil commotion. 

5. Aircraft. 

6. Vehicles. 

7. Sudden or accidental damage from smoke or soot, other 

than smoke from agricultural smudging or industrial 

operations. 

C. Insurers may offer the following expanded causes of loss. 

If provided, coverage shall be for direct loss to the covered 

property from the causes of loss listed in subsection B of this 

section and the following causes of loss: 

1. Vandalism, malicious mischief, and burglary. Insurers 

may exclude loss if the dwelling was vacant. If a covered 

cause of loss ensues, insurers shall provide coverage for the 

ensuing loss. 

2. Falling objects. Insurers may exclude loss to: 

a. Property within the dwelling or other structure that is 

caused by a falling object unless the falling object first 

damages the exterior of the roof or walls of the dwelling 

or other structure; or 

b. The falling object itself. 

3. Weight of ice, snow, or sleet that damages the (i) dwelling, 

(ii) other structure, or (iii) household and personal property 

contained in a dwelling or other structure if the weight of ice, 

snow, or sleet first damages the dwelling or other structure. 

Insurers may exclude loss to: 

a. Awnings and their supports; or 

b. Fences, pavements, patios, swimming pools, 

foundations, retaining walls, bulkheads, piers, wharves, or 

docks. 

4. Sudden and accidental tearing apart, cracking, burning, or 

bulging of a steam or hot water heating system, or of an 

appliance for heating water, but excluding loss caused by or 

resulting from freezing. 

5. Freezing of plumbing, heating, or air conditioning 

systems, and domestic appliances. Insurers may exclude loss 

caused by or resulting from freezing while a dwelling is 

under construction, vacant, or unoccupied for a period in 

excess of four consecutive days unless the insured has (i) 

exercised due diligence in maintaining heat in the dwelling 

or other structure or (ii) drained the systems and appliances 

and shut off the water supply. 

6. Accidental discharge, leakage, or overflow of water or 

steam from within a plumbing, heating, or air conditioning 

system, or domestic appliance. This does not include loss 

caused by or resulting from freezing. 

7. Sudden and accidental injury from electrical currents 

artificially generated to electrical appliances, devices, 

fixtures, and wiring. 
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D. Insurers may offer open causes of loss. If provided, 

insurers shall provide coverage for direct loss to the dwelling 

and other structures and may exclude direct loss caused by any 

of the following: 

1. Wear and tear; marring or scratching; deterioration; 

inherent vice; latent defect; mechanical breakdown; rust, 

mold, or wet or dry rot; pollutants, smog, smoke from 

agricultural smudging or industrial operations; settling, 

cracking, shrinkage, bulging, or expansion of pavements, 

patios, foundations, walls, floors, roofs, or ceilings; or birds, 

vermin, rodents, insects, or animals owned or kept by an 

insured. If a covered cause of loss ensues, insurers shall 

provide coverage for the ensuing loss. 

2. Vandalism and malicious mischief, burglary, or glass 

breakage if the dwelling was vacant. If a covered cause of 

loss ensues, insurers shall provide coverage for the ensuing 

loss. 

3. Continuous or repeated seepage or leakage of water or 

steam over a period of weeks, months, or years. This 

exclusion does not apply to household and personal 

property. 

4. Windstorm, hail, ice, snow, or sleet to any of the following 

property: 

a. Overhead structures, including supports and screening, 

constructed principally of cloth, metal, fiberglass, or 

plastic, erected to provide protection from the elements; 

b. Outdoor radio or television antennas including the lead-

in wiring, masts, or towers; 

c. Fences; 

d. Seawalls or property line and other free-standing walls; 

e. Greenhouses, hothouses, slathouses, trellises, pergolas, 

or cabanas; 

f. Outdoor equipment pertaining to the service of the 

residence premises; or 

g. Wharves, docks, piers, boathouses, bulkheads, or other 

structures located over or partially over water and the 

household and personal property on or within. 

5. Theft of property that is not an integral part of the dwelling 

or other structures at the time of loss or from a dwelling or 

other structure that is under construction. 

6. Collapse, except as required by subsection M of 14VAC5-

341-40. 

14VAC5-341-70. Permitted exclusions.  

A. For all causes of loss, insurers may exclude loss caused 

directly or indirectly by any of the following: 

1. Water, as follows: 

a. Flood, ground surface water, waves, seiche, tidal water 

or tidal waves, overflow of a body of water, or spray from 

any of these; 

b. Water that backs up through sewers or drains; 

c. Water that overflows or is discharged from a sump 

pump or other type of system designed to remove 

subsurface water that is drained from the foundation area; 

d. Water below the surface of the ground including water 

that exerts pressure on or flows, seeps, or leaks through (i) 

sidewalks; (ii) driveways; (iii) foundations; (iv) 

swimming pools; (v) walls; (vi) basements or floors; or 

(vii) doors, windows, or other openings; or 

e. Material carried or moved by water referred to in 

subdivisions 1 a, 1 b, and 1 c of this subsection. 

The exclusions for water loss in subdivisions 1 a through 1 

e of this subsection do not apply to an ensuing loss caused 

by fire or explosion. 

2. Earth movement, natural or man-made, including 

earthquake, volcanic eruption, landslide, mudflow, or other 

earth movement caused by sinking, rising, shifting, or 

expansion. Insurers shall provide coverage for an ensuing 

loss caused by fire, explosion, or breakage of glass that is a 

part of the dwelling or other structures. 

3. Enforcement of ordinances or laws regulating the 

construction, repair, or demolition of dwellings or other 

structures. Insurers shall provide coverage when an 

ordinance or law requires the use of safety glass in 

replacement of damaged glass that is a part of the dwelling 

or other structures. 

4. Interruption of power or other utility service furnished to 

the residence premises if the interruption takes place away 

from the residence premises. Insurers shall provide coverage 

for the ensuing loss if a covered cause of loss ensues on the 

residence premises because of the power interruption. 

5. Enemy attack by armed forces including action taken by 

military, naval, or air forces in resisting an actual or 

immediately impending enemy attack, including invasion, 

insurrection, rebellion, revolution, civil war, usurped power, 

or action taken by governmental authority in hindering, 

combating, or defending against the event; order of civil 

authority except acts of destruction at the time of and for 

preventing the spread of fire, provided that the fire did not 

originate from an excluded cause of loss. 

6. Nuclear reaction, nuclear radiation, or radioactive 

contamination as set forth in § 38.2-2102 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

7. Freezing, thawing, or by the pressure of ice, snow, or 

water to fences, pavements, patios, swimming pools, 

foundations, retaining walls, bulkheads, piers, wharves, or 

docks. 

8. The exclusions in subdivisions 1 through 7 of this 

subsection apply if one or more of the following 

concurrently contribute to the loss: 
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a. Weather conditions; 

b. Acts or decisions including the failure to act or decide 

of a person, group, organization, or governmental body; 

c. Faulty, inadequate, or defective: 

(1) Planning, zoning, development, surveying, or siting; 

(2) Design, specifications, workmanship, repair, 

construction, renovation, remodeling, grading, or 

compaction; 

(3) Materials used in repair, construction, renovation, or 

remodeling; or 

(4) Maintenance. 

B. Insurers may exclude direct loss caused by: 

1. An intentional act by a person insured under the policy 

that was directed or committed by that person, but only with 

respect to that person. 

2. Neglect of the insured to use all reasonable means to 

protect the property during and after a loss.  

C. Insurers may exclude coverage for the following types of 

property: 

1. Accounts, bills, currency including virtual or digital, 

deeds, evidences of debt, money, scrip, stored value cards, 

smart cards, securities, bullion, manuscripts; letters of credit, 

bank notes, or notes other than bank notes; 

2. Aircraft and parts except insurers shall provide coverage 

for (i) drones without cameras and drones that are not 

capable of carrying people or cargo; or (ii) hobby aircraft or 

model aircraft that is not capable of carrying people or cargo; 

3. Animals, birds, or fish; 

4. Business property; 

5. Electronic equipment that is permanently installed in a 

motor vehicle; 

6. Tapes, wires, records, discs, or other media used with 

electronic equipment in a motor vehicle while the property 

is in or on a motor vehicle; 

7. Motor vehicles, motorized bicycles, and hovercraft except 

(i) vehicles used to service the residence premises, (ii) utility 

trailers that are not licensed for road use, and (iii) electric 

mobility devices designed to assist an individual that has a 

disability; 

8. Property of (i) tenants and (ii) roomers and boarders not 

related to the insured; 

9. Property rented to others, except as provided in subsection 

B of 14VAC5-341-50; 

10. Property that is unlawful to own or possess under state 

or federal law; or 

11. Property that is separately described and specifically 

insured by this insurance or other insurance. 

14VAC5-341-80. Loss settlement provisions.  

A. Insurers shall include loss settlement provisions in 

accordance with this section. 

B. When providing only basic causes of loss for the dwelling 

and other structures, insurers may provide loss settlement on 

an actual cash value basis. When providing actual cash value 

loss settlement, insurers shall apply actual cash value loss 

settlement as follows: 

1. Subject to the limit of liability, insurers may pay the 

smaller of the following amounts: 

a. Cost to repair or replace with like kind and quality; or 

b. Actual cash value of the damaged property. 

2. Insurers may apply actual cash value loss settlement to: 

a. Household and personal property; 

b. Outdoor radio and television antennas; satellite dishes; 

c. Awnings; or 

d. Property described under subsections A and B of 

14VAC5-341-40, and permanently installed flooring 

(including wall-to-wall carpeting) when providing only 

basic causes of loss set forth in subsection B of 14VAC5-

341-60. 

C. If the loss settlement provision in subsection B of this 

section does not apply, insurers shall apply replacement cost 

less settlement as follows: 

1. Insurers shall apply replacement cost loss settlement to the 

dwelling and other structures, including permanently 

installed flooring. Wall-to-wall carpeting is permanently 

installed flooring. 

2. Insurers may limit replacement cost settlement to the 

following: 

a. The limit of liability applicable to the dwelling or other 

structures; 

b. The replacement cost of the dwelling or other structures 

or a part of the dwelling or other structures on the 

residence premises and intended for the same occupancy 

and use; or 

c. The amount spent in repairing or replacing the dwelling 

or other structures or a part of the dwelling or other 

structures and intended for the same occupancy and use. 

3. The insured may assert a claim for the actual cash value 

of the dwelling or other structures without prejudicing the 

insured's right to make further claim for the difference 

between the actual cash value and the replacement cost in 

accordance with § 38.2-2119 B of the Code of Virginia. The 

claim for the difference must be made within six months of 

(i) the last date on which the insured received a payment for 



Regulations 

Volume 38, Issue 4  Virginia Register of Regulations  October 11, 2021  

421 

actual cash value or (ii) date of entry of a final order of a 

court of competent jurisdiction declaratory of the right of the 

insured to full replacement cost, whichever shall last occur. 

4. When the repair or replacement cost is $2,500 or less, 

insurers shall be liable for the full cost of repair or 

replacement before the repair or replacement has been 

completed. 

5. Insurers may apply an insurance-to-value ratio for 

replacement cost loss settlement as follows: 

a. Insurers may require an insurance-to-value ratio of no 

more than 80% before full replacement cost loss 

settlement applies. 

b. If the insurance-to-value ratio is less than 80% for the 

damaged dwelling or other structure, an insurer may limit 

its liability for loss to the larger of the following: 

(1) The actual cash value of that part of the dwelling or 

other structures; or 

(2) That proportion of the full cost of repair or replacement 

without deduction for depreciation of that part of the 

dwelling or other structure damaged or destroyed that the 

whole amount of insurance applicable to the dwelling or 

other structure for the cause of loss bears to 80% of the 

full replacement cost of the dwelling or other structure. 

c. In calculating the 80% insurance-to-value ratio, insurers 

shall disregard the cost of (i) excavations; (ii) underground 

flues and pipes; (iii) underground wiring and drains; and 

(iv) brick, stone, and concrete foundations, piers, and other 

supports that are below the under surface of the lowest 

basement floor, or where there is no basement, that are 

below the surface of the ground inside the foundation 

walls. 

6. Insurers may provide replacement cost loss settlement on 

household and personal property as authorized by § 38.2-

2119 B of the Code of Virginia. 

D. Insurers may offer functional replacement cost loss 

settlement for the property described in subsections A and B of 

14VAC5-341-40, under the conditions outlined in this 

subsection. 

1. Functional replacement cost is only permitted at the 

option of the insured. 

2. Insurers may not apply functional replacement cost loss 

settlement to property that qualifies for an amount of 

insurance equal to 80% or more of the full replacement cost 

of the dwelling or other structure. 

3. Insurers shall provide the notice required by § 38.2-2119 

C of the Code of Virginia. 

4. Insurers may limit functional replacement cost loss 

settlement to the following: 

a. The limit of liability applicable to the dwelling or other 

structures; 

b. The amount necessary to repair or replace the damaged 

property with functionally equivalent property at a lower 

cost than would be required to replace the damaged 

property with material of like kind and quality; or 

c. The amount spent in repairing or replacing the dwelling 

or other structure or part of the dwelling or other structure 

intended for the same occupancy and use. 

E. Insurers shall determine loss to property that is part of a 

pair or set in a reasonable and fair proportion of the total value 

of the pair or set. 

F. Insurers shall adjust losses with the named insured and 

shall pay the named insured unless another payee is 

specifically named. 

G. Insurers shall restore the limits of liability after a loss is 

paid. 

H. Insurers may apply a property deductible unless prohibited 

or otherwise limited in this chapter. Insurers may apply a 

special property deductible for the following causes of loss (i) 

wind, (ii) hail, or (iii) theft. No more than one deductible may 

be applied to a loss. The amount of any property deductible 

may not exceed 10% of the dwelling limit of coverage. 

I. Insurers may (i) take all or part of the damaged property at 

the agreed or appraised value or (ii) repair, rebuild, or replace 

the damaged property with other of like kind and quality within 

a reasonable time. Within 30 days after receiving the insured's 

proof of loss, the insurer shall provide notice to the insured of 

the insurer's decision to (i) take the property at the agreed or 

appraised value or (ii) repair, rebuild, or replace the damaged 

property. 

14VAC5-341-90. Policy conditions.  

A. Insurers shall include the following statutory conditions: 

1. The nuclear clause set forth in § 38.2-2102 of the Code of 

Virginia; 

2. The conditions set forth § 38.2-2104 of the Code of 

Virginia: 

a. Assignment of the policy. 

b. The time that coverage begins and ends. 

3. The conditions set forth in § 38.2-2105 of the Code of 

Virginia: 

a. Abandonment. 

b. Appraisal. 

c. Mortgagees interests and obligations. 

d. Pro rata liability. 

e. Requirements in case loss occurs. 

f. Suit. 

g. When loss payable. 

B. Insurers shall include the following conditions: 
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1. If an insurer adopts revisions of the forms or endorsements 

that would broaden coverage currently provided without 

additional premium charge, the insurer shall automatically 

apply the broadened coverage from the effective date of the 

revisions. 

2. If a named insured dies, insurers shall modify the 

definition of insured as follows: 

a. The named insured includes: 

(1) The spouse, if not already a named insured and if a 

resident of the household at the time of the death; and 

(2) The legal representative with respect to the residence 

premises and property of the deceased insured at the time 

of the death. 

b. Insured also includes: 

(1) Members of the deceased's household who were 

insured at the time of the named insured's death, but only 

while residents of the residence premises; and 

(2) Persons having proper temporary custody of the 

insured property until the appointment and qualification of 

the legal representative. 

3. Insurers may not invalidate the policy if the insured 

waives, in writing, before a loss any right of recovery against 

a party for loss occurring on the residence premises. If not 

waived, the insurer may require from the insured an 

assignment of all right of recovery against a party for loss to 

the extent that the insurer made payment. 

4. Terms or conditions in the policy that are less favorable 

than those provided for in this chapter or the applicable 

statutes are construed to conform to this chapter and those 

statutes. 

5. Insurers shall include the relevant termination provisions 

in §§ 38.2-2113 and 38.2-2114 of the Code of Virginia in the 

policy. In addition, the following apply: 

a. Return premium calculations resulting from an insurer-

initiated termination shall be pro rata. 

b. Terminations for non-payment of premium shall be 

calculated pro rata. 

c. Return premium calculations resulting from an insured-

initiated termination may be short rate except the penalty 

may not be more than 10% of the pro rata premium for the 

expired time. 

d. Insurers may not refuse to renew the policy except in 

accordance with the provisions of §§ 38.2-2113 and 38.2-

2114 of the Code of Virginia. 

C. Insurers may include any of the following conditions. 

Insurers may: 

1. Restrict the application of the policy to loss during the 

policy term. 

2. Void the entire policy (i) if, whether before or after the 

loss, an insured has willfully concealed or misrepresented 

any material fact or circumstance concerning the insurance 

or the interest of the insured in the insurance or (ii) in the 

case of fraud or false swearing by the insured relating to the 

insurance. 

3. Require the insured to notify the police if loss is by theft. 

4. Require that coverage under the policy is excess over a 

service agreement, home warranty, or similar service 

warranty. 

5. Require that a bailee for hire may not benefit under the 

policy. 

6. Elect to waive a policy provision. Any waiver of a policy 

provision by the insurer must be in writing. 

7. Exclude coverage, refuse to pay claims, or refuse to 

provide benefits under a policy if those actions would expose 

the insurer to a violation of applicable trade or economic 

sanctions, laws, or regulations, including those administered 

and enforced by the U.S. Treasury Department's Office of 

Foreign Assets Control. 

Chapter 342 

Rules Governing Standards for the Content of Homeowners 

Insurance Policies 

14VAC5-342-10. Scope and applicability.  

A. This chapter sets forth the standards of content for policies 

of homeowners insurance, including policies insuring owner-

occupied condominium units. This chapter applies to insurers 

licensed to do business in Virginia and issuing policies of 

homeowners insurance and condominium unit owners 

insurance pursuant to Chapter 21 (§ 38.2-2100 et seq.) of Title 

38.2 of the Code of Virginia. 

B. Compliance with this chapter is required for policies 

delivered or issued for delivery in Virginia with effective dates 

on and after July 1, 2023. Insurers and rate service 

organizations shall submit filings for compliance with this 

chapter no later than December 31, 2022. 

C. Pursuant to § 38.2-130 of the Code of Virginia, 

homeowners insurance policies are indivisible package 

policies that insure owner-occupied dwellings. 

D. This chapter does not apply to policies that: 

1. Are lender-placed; 

2. Insure owner-occupied farms; 

3 Insure manufactured homes as defined in § 46.2-100 of the 

Code of Virginia, except for policies insuring manufactured 

homes as defined in § 46.2-653.1 of the Code of Virginia; 

4. Primarily insure the personal property of renters; 
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5. Are issued pursuant to Chapter 27 (§ 38.2-2700 et seq.) of 

Title 38.2 of the Code of Virginia; or 

6. Are issued pursuant to Chapter 48 (§ 38.2-4800 et seq.) of 

Title 38.2 of the Code of Virginia. 

E. Insurers shall file with the commission all policies and 

endorsements for approval before use. 

F. Policies and endorsements shall not be less favorable than 

the provisions set forth in this chapter. Insurers may provide 

broader and more favorable coverages, terms and conditions 

than those set forth in this chapter. Insurers may use any policy 

language that is not less favorable to the insured and complies 

with provisions of this chapter. 

14VAC5-342-20. Severability.  

If a provision of this chapter or its application to a person or 

circumstance is for any reason held to be invalid by a court, the 

remainder of this chapter and the application of the provisions 

to other persons or circumstances shall not be affected. 

14VAC5-342-30. Definitions.  

The following words and terms when used in this chapter 

shall have the following meanings unless the context indicates 

otherwise: 

"Actual cash value" means the amount equal to the 

replacement cost minus depreciation of damaged or stolen 

property at the time of the loss. 

"Aircraft" means a machine or device capable of atmospheric 

flight, including hobby or model aircraft, drones, self-

propelled missiles, and spacecraft. 

"Bodily injury" means bodily harm, sickness, or disease, 

including care, loss of services, and resulting death. 

"Business" means a trade, profession, or occupation whether 

full-time, part-time, or occasional activity, including (i) 

farming, (ii) the rental of the whole or a part of the residence 

premises by an insured, (iii) the business use of a part of the 

insured premises, or (iv) home-sharing. 

"Business" shall not include: 

1. The occasional rental of the whole or a part of the 

residence premises for dwelling purposes; 

2. The rental or holding for rental of a part of the residence 

premises for no more than two roomers or boarders for use 

as a primary residence; 

3. The rental of a part of the residence premises as a private 

garage; 

4. The rental of a part of the residence premises as an office, 

school, or studio; or 

5. The insured's use of the residence premises for remote 

work under an agreement with the insured's employer. 

"Commission" means the State Corporation Commission.  

"Condominium unit" means a dwelling as defined in § 55.1-

1900 of the Code of Virginia. 

"Covered watercraft" means a (i) sailing vessel with or 

without auxiliary power that is less than 26 feet in length; (ii) 

a vessel that is powered by an engine with less than 26 

horsepower; and (iii) rowboats and canoes. 

"Dwelling" means any residential structure specifically 

named in the policy. 

"Farms" or "farming" means the use of land and buildings 

primarily for agricultural purposes with the objective of raising 

animals to produce food for sale or distribution to the public 

and growing crops for sale or distribution to the public. 

"Fixtures" means permanently installed components of the 

dwelling or other structures including wells; plumbing 

systems; pumps; air conditioning equipment, systems, and 

parts; heating equipment, systems, and parts; hot water heaters; 

lighting systems; or built-in appliances and other components 

where removal would deface or damage the dwelling. 

"Functional replacement cost" means the cost to repair or 

replace the damaged dwelling or other structures with less 

costly common construction materials and methods that are 

functionally equivalent to materials and methods used in the 

original construction. 

"Home-sharing" means rental or offering for rental the 

residence premises or a part of the residence premises for 

lodging purposes made available through an online-enabled 

application, website, or digital network. Home-sharing is not 

occasional rental as defined in this section. An individual 

occupying the residence premises through home-sharing is not 

a roomer, boarder, tenant, or guest. 

"Hovercraft" means a self-propelled air cushioned vehicle 

that can travel over land and water. 

"Insured" means: 

1. Any person named as an insured in the policy, and if 

residents of the named insured's household, the named 

insured's spouse if not a named insured, and the relatives of 

either; 

2. Other persons younger than 21 years of age in the care of 

an insured; and 

3. Under personal liability and medical payments coverage: 

a. A person having custody or possession of an insured's 

pet, unless the custody or possession is in the course of the 

person's business or without the insured's permission; 

b. A person using or having custody or possession of an 

insured's covered watercraft unless the use, custody, or 

possession is in the course of the person's business or 

without the insured's permission; and 
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c. Residence employees while engaged in the duties of 

their employment with respect to a motor vehicle, 

recreational motor vehicle, hovercraft, or covered 

watercraft insured under the policy. 

"Insured premises" means: 

1. Under property coverage, any residence premises 

specifically named in the policy; and 

2. Under personal liability and medical payments coverages: 

a. Any residence premises specifically named in the 

policy; 

b. Any premises not owned by an insured except where an 

insured is temporarily residing; 

c. A residence premises acquired by the named insured or 

named insured's spouse during the policy term; 

d. Individual or family cemetery plots or burial vaults 

owned by the named insured; 

e. Unimproved land, other than land used for farming, 

owned by or rented to an insured; and 

f. Land, other than land used for farming, owned by or 

rented to an insured on which a dwelling is being built as 

a residence for the insured. 

"Medical payments" means expenses for necessary medical, 

surgical, x-ray, dental services, prosthetic devices, ambulance, 

hospital, professional nursing, rehabilitation, pharmaceuticals, 

and funeral services. 

"Motor vehicle" means a vehicle that is self-propelled or 

designed for self-propulsion and is designed or licensed for use 

on public roads. 

"Occasional rental" means: in any one policy term, (i) rental 

of the residence premises or a part of the residence premises 

for up to seven days, whether consecutive or random, (ii) rental 

of the residence premises that generates revenue of up to 

$2,500, or (iii) a combination of clauses (i) and (ii) of this 

definition. Occasional rental is not home-sharing as defined in 

this section. 

"Occurrence" means an accident, including continuous or 

repeated exposure to the same generally harmful conditions 

that results in bodily injury or property damage during the 

policy term. 

"Pollutant" means solid, liquid, gaseous, thermal, or 

radioactive irritants or contaminants, including acids, alkalis, 

chemicals, fumes, vapors, and waste. 

"Property damage" means injury to or destruction of tangible 

property and loss of use of tangible property. 

"Recreational motor vehicle" means a vehicle designed for 

recreational use off public roads and not subject to motor 

vehicle registration. 

"Replacement cost" means the cost to repair or replace the 

damaged or stolen property with material of like kind and 

quality without deduction for depreciation. 

"Residence employee" means an employee of an insured who 

provides maintenance or domestic services for the residence 

premises or who performs similar duties elsewhere except in 

connection with an insured's business. 

"Residence premises" means (i) a dwelling, other structures, 

and grounds at the location named in the policy; and (ii) that 

part of any other building occupied by the named insured or 

spouse for residential purposes. 

"Theft" means an act of stealing or attempt to steal, including 

loss of property from a known place under circumstances when 

a probability of theft exists. 

"Vacant" means a dwelling (i) that has not been occupied as 

a residence for more than 30 consecutive days immediately 

before a loss and (ii) where most of the named insured's 

personal property has been removed such that the dwelling is 

not functional as a customary place of residence. A dwelling is 

not occupied if the dwelling is being used without the 

permission of an insured. A dwelling under construction or 

being remodeled, repaired, or renovated is not vacant. 

"Vandalism" or "malicious mischief" means the willful and 

malicious damage to or destruction of the property excluding 

loss by pilferage, theft, burglary, or larceny. 

14VAC5-342-40. Mandatory property coverages.  

A. Insurers shall provide coverage to the dwelling on the 

residence premises including fixtures. 

1. Insurers shall also provide coverage for materials and 

supplies while located on the residence premises and 

intended for use in construction, alteration, or repair of the 

dwelling or other structures. 

2. For a dwelling that is a condominium unit, insurers shall 

provide a limit of liability of at least $5,000 for the dwelling 

and fixtures that are the responsibility of the condominium 

unit owner. 

B. Insurers shall provide coverage for other structures and the 

fixtures of other structures on the residence premises. 

1. Insurers shall provide a limit of liability of at least 10% of 

the dwelling limit of liability. 

2. Insurers may exclude coverage for other structures that are 

used for business or rented or held for rental unless the 

structure is (i) rented to roomers, boarders, or tenants of the 

dwelling or (ii) rented for use solely as a private garage. 

3. For condominium units, insurers shall provide coverage 

for other structures and fixtures of other structures that are 

the responsibility of the condominium unit owner. 
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C. Insurers shall provide coverage for household and personal 

property owned or used by an insured while it is anywhere in 

the world. 

1. Insurers shall provide a limit of liability for household and 

personal property coverage that is at least 50% of the 

dwelling limit of liability. For condominium units, the limit 

of liability for household and personal property shall be 

determined by the insured and the insurer. 

2. At the request of the named insured at the time of loss, 

insurers shall provide coverage for household and personal 

property owned by a: 

a. Guest while in a residence occupied by an insured; 

b. Residence employee while the property is in a residence 

occupied by an insured; and 

c. Residence employee while the residence employee is 

engaged in the service of an insured and the property is in 

the physical custody of the residence employee. 

3. Insurers shall provide coverage for the insured's property 

(i) on the residence premises during an occasional rental; or 

(ii) on the part of the residence premises occupied by 

roomers, boarders, or tenants. 

4. Insurers shall provide coverage for household and 

personal property while it is being moved to the insured's 

new principal residence within the United States. Insurers 

shall provide coverage for property while it is being moved 

for 30 days from the date that moving the property begins. 

The household and personal property limit of liability 

applies to property being moved to another location. If the 

move began during the policy term, coverage may not be 

limited by the expiration of the policy. 

5. Insurers shall provide coverage for household and 

personal property while it is usually located away from the 

residence premises. Insurers shall provide a limit of liability 

for this coverage that is at least 10% of the limit of liability 

specified for household and personal property, but not less 

than $1,000. 

6. Insurers shall provide coverage for the following types of 

household and personal property at limits of at least the 

following: 

a. $500 total per loss on cemetery property on or off the 

residence premises, including monuments, headstones, 

grave markers, and urns. 

b. $100 total per loss on coin collections, medals, gold, 

platinum, and silver, provided, goldware and gold-plated 

ware shall not be deemed to be gold and silverware and 

silver-plated ware shall not be deemed to be silver. 

c. $500 total per loss on passports, tickets, or stamp 

collections. 

d. $1,500 total per loss for theft of jewelry, precious and 

semi-precious stones, and furs, and articles containing fur 

that represent its principal value; if open causes of loss are 

provided, insurers may also apply this limit to misplacing 

or losing this property. 

e. $500 total per loss for theft of guns and related 

accessories; if open causes of loss are provided, insurers 

may also apply this limit to misplacing or losing this 

property. 

f. $1,000 total per loss on watercraft, trailers used with 

watercraft, and watercraft furnishings, equipment, and 

motors. This limit does not apply to rowboats or canoes. 

g. $500 on trailers, semi-trailers, and campers not 

otherwise covered in this chapter. 

D. Insurers shall provide coverage for the expenses incurred 

for the removal of debris of covered property damaged by a 

covered cause of loss and the expense for the removal of fallen 

trees that damage covered property. 

1. Expenses for debris removal are included within the limit 

of liability applicable to the damaged property, except as 

provided in subdivision 2 of this subsection. 

2. When the amount payable for the damage to the property 

plus the expense of debris removal exceeds the limit of 

liability for the damaged property, insurers shall provide an 

additional 5.0% of the limit of liability applicable to the 

damaged covered property for debris removal expenses. 

3. Insurers may not apply depreciation to debris removal 

expenses. 

E. Insurers shall provide coverage for contractual fire 

department service charges and volunteer fire department 

service charges as follows: 

1. Contractual fire department service charges where a fire 

department is called to save or protect insured property from 

a covered cause of loss. Insurers may limit this coverage to 

a residence premises not located within the limits of a city, 

municipality, or fire protection district furnishing fire 

department services. 

2. Fire department service charges made by volunteer fire 

departments pursuant to § 38.2-2130 of the Code of Virginia. 

3. Insurers shall provide at least $250 of coverage for each 

type of fire department service charges. 

4. Insurers may not apply a deductible or depreciation to the 

coverages in subdivisions 1 and 2 of this subsection. 

F. Insurers shall offer ordinance or law coverage, subject to 

the exclusions or limitations within this chapter, pursuant to 

§ 38.2-2124 of the Code of Virginia at the dwelling limit of 

liability within the policy or as an endorsement. This limit of 

liability is in addition to the limit of liability applicable to the 

dwelling. Insurers may make other limits of liability available 

for insureds to purchase. Insurers may not apply depreciation 

to this coverage. When ordinance or law coverage is provided 

within the policy or as an endorsement, subdivision C 1 c of 

14VAC5-342-60 does not apply. 
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G. Insurers shall offer coverage for water that backs up 

through sewer or drains, subject to the exclusions or limitations 

within this chapter, pursuant to § 38.2-2120 of the Code of 

Virginia at the dwelling limit of liability within the policy or 

as an endorsement. This limit of liability is in addition to the 

limit of liability applicable to the dwelling. Insurers may make 

other limits of liability available for insureds to purchase. 

Insurers may not apply depreciation to this coverage. When 

coverage for water that backs up through sewers or drains is 

provided within the policy or as an endorsement, subdivision 

C 1 a (2) of 14VAC5-342-60 does not apply. 

H. Insurers shall provide coverage of at least 20% of the 

dwelling limit of liability for the increase in necessary living 

expenses when the dwelling is uninhabitable due to a covered 

cause of loss. Insurers shall provide coverage of at least 20% 

of the household and personal property limit of liability for 

condominium units. 

1. Insurers shall provide this coverage for the time 

reasonably required to return the dwelling to a habitable 

condition or for the insured's household to become settled in 

any permanent quarters. 

2. Insurers shall provide additional living expense coverage 

for at least two weeks while a civil authority limits access to 

the residence premises as a result of damage to neighboring 

premises by a covered cause of loss. 

3. Insurers may exclude living expenses that do not continue. 

4. This coverage is not limited by the expiration date of the 

policy. 

5. Insurers may not apply a deductible to this coverage. 

I. Insurers shall provide coverage of at least 20% of the 

dwelling limit of liability for the fair rental value of a part of 

the dwelling or other structures. Insurers shall provide at least 

20% of the household and personal property limit of liability 

for condominium units. 

1. Insurers shall provide this coverage for the time 

reasonably required to restore the dwelling or other 

structures to a tenantable condition following damage 

caused by a covered cause of loss. 

2. Insurers shall provide fair rental value coverage for at least 

two weeks while a civil authority limits access to the 

residence premises as a result of damage to neighboring 

premises by a covered cause of loss. 

3. Insurers may exclude expenses that do not continue. 

4. Insurers may exclude coverage for loss or expense due to 

cancellation of a lease or agreement. 

5. This coverage is not limited by the expiration date of the 

policy. 

6. Insurers may not apply a deductible to this coverage. 

J. Insurers shall provide coverage for damage to trees, shrubs, 

plants, or lawns caused by fire, lightning, explosion, riot, civil 

commotion, vandalism, malicious mischief, theft, aircraft, or 

vehicles not owned or operated by a resident of the premises. 

1. Insurers shall provide a limit of liability for this coverage 

of at least 5.0% of the dwelling limit of liability. 

2. Insurers may limit the amount of coverage to no more than 

$500 for each tree, shrub, or plant on the premises. The limit 

of coverage includes debris removal coverage when the tree, 

plant, or shrub does not cause damage to covered property. 

K. Insurers shall provide coverage for loss or damage to 

property while removed or being removed from the residence 

premises because the property is endangered by a covered 

cause of loss. 

1. Coverage is provided for damage from any cause subject 

to the exclusions and limitations permitted in this chapter. 

2. Insurers shall provide this coverage for at least 30 days for 

each removal. 

3. This coverage is not limited by the expiration date of the 

policy. 

4. This coverage does not increase the limit of liability that 

applies to the damaged covered property. 

L. Insurers shall provide coverage for the cost of making 

reasonable repairs to protect covered property from further 

damage when the repairs are directly attributable to damage 

caused by a covered cause of loss. The repairs are included as 

part of the amount of the loss. 

M. Insurers shall pay the cost incurred to tear out and replace 

the part of the dwelling or other structure necessary to gain 

access to the system or appliance from which the water or 

steam escaped if a loss to the dwelling or other structures is 

caused by water or steam escaping from a system or appliance. 

Insurers may exclude loss to the system or appliance from 

which the water or steam escapes. Insurers may not apply 

depreciation to this coverage. 

N. Insurers shall provide coverage for direct physical loss to 

the dwelling, other structures, and household and personal 

property involving collapse of a dwelling or other structure or 

any part of a dwelling or other structure: 

1. Caused by one or more of the following: 

a. The causes of loss in subsection C of 14VAC5-342-50; 

b. Hidden decay; 

c. Hidden insect or vermin damage; 

d. Weight of contents, equipment, animals, or people; 

e. Weight of rain that collects on a roof; or 

f. Use of defective materials or methods in construction, 

remodeling, or renovation if the collapse occurs during the 

construction, remodeling, or renovation. 
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2. Loss to an awning, fence, patio, pavement, swimming 

pool, underground pipe, flue, drain, cesspool, septic tank, 

foundation, retaining wall, bulkhead, pier, wharf, or dock is 

not included under subdivisions 1 b through 1 f of this 

subsection unless the loss is a direct result of the collapse of 

a building. 

3. Collapse does not include settling, cracking, shrinking, 

bulging, or expansion. 

4. This coverage does not increase the limit of liability 

applicable to the damaged covered property. 

14VAC5-342-50. Causes of loss.  

A. 1. Insurers shall provide open causes of loss for the 

dwelling and other structures. 

2. Insurers shall provide coverage for direct loss to the 

dwelling and other structures on the residence premises 

subject to the exclusions and limitations permitted in this 

chapter. 

B. 1. Insurers shall provide either open causes of loss or 

named causes of loss for household and personal property. 

2. Insurers shall provide coverage for direct loss to 

household and personal property subject to the exclusions 

and limitations permitted in this chapter. 

C. When named causes of loss for household and personal are 

provided, insurers shall provide coverage for direct loss caused 

by the following: 

1. Fire or lightning. 

2. Windstorm or hail. 

a. Insurers may exclude loss to the interior of the dwelling 

or other structure or the household and personal property 

within caused by rain, snow, sand, or dust unless the rain, 

snow, sand, or dust enters through an opening caused by 

the force of wind or hail; and 

b. Insurers may exclude loss to watercraft while not inside 

a fully enclosed building. This exclusion does not apply to 

rowboats or canoes. 

3. Explosion. 

4. Riot or civil commotion. 

5. Aircraft. 

6. Vehicles. 

7. Sudden and accidental damage from soot or smoke, other 

than smoke from agricultural smudging or industrial 

operations. 

8. Vandalism or malicious mischief. 

9. Falling objects. Insurers may exclude loss to: 

a. Property within a dwelling or other structure caused by 

a falling object unless the falling object first damages the 

exterior of the roof or walls of the dwelling or other 

structure; or 

b. The falling object itself. 

10. Weight of ice, snow, or sleet that damages household and 

personal property contained in a dwelling or other structure 

if the weight of ice, snow, or sleet first damages the dwelling 

or other structure. 

11. Sudden and accidental tearing apart, cracking, burning, 

or bulging of a steam or hot water heating system, or of an 

appliance for heating water, but excluding loss caused by or 

resulting from freezing. 

12. Freezing of plumbing, heating, or air conditioning 

systems, and domestic appliances. 

13. Accidental discharge, leakage, or overflow of water or 

steam from within a plumbing, heating, or air conditioning 

system, or domestic appliance. 

14. Sudden and accidental injury from electrical currents 

artificially generated to electrical appliances, devices, 

fixtures, and wiring. 

15. Theft of household and personal property, except 

insurers may exclude coverage for loss by theft: 

a. If committed by an insured; 

b. In or to a dwelling or other structure under construction, 

or of materials and supplies for use in the construction, 

unless the dwelling is occupied; 

c. If committed by (i) roomers, (ii) boarders, or (iii) 

tenants, employees of the tenants, or members of the 

tenants' household; 

d. Of money, bullion, silver, gold, platinum, coin 

collections, medals, bank notes, letters of credit, notes 

other than bank notes, passports, tickets, stamp 

collections, jewelry, silverware, goldware, pewterware, 

silver-plated ware, gold-plated ware, or furs while the part 

of the residence premises customarily occupied 

exclusively by an insured is rented to others; 

e. Of household and personal property in a location other 

than the residence premises that is owned, rented, or 

occupied by an insured, except (i) while an insured is 

temporarily residing at that location and (ii) property of a 

student who is an insured if the student has been at that 

location at any time during the 45 days immediately before 

a loss; or 

f. From the unauthorized use of a credit card or debit card; 

or loss by forgery or alterations of a written promise, 

order, or direction to pay a sum certain in money. 

16. Breakage of glass that is a part of the dwelling or other 

structures if it results in damage to household and personal 

property. Insurers may exclude this coverage if the dwelling 

was vacant. 
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14VAC5-342-60. Exclusions applicable to property 

coverages.  

A. For policies providing open causes of loss, insurers may 

exclude direct loss to the dwelling, other structures, or 

household and personal property caused by any of the 

following: 

1. Wear and tear; marring or scratching; deterioration; 

inherent vice; latent defect; mechanical breakdown; rust; 

mold; wet or dry rot; pollutants; smog; smoke from 

agricultural smudging or industrial operations; settling, 

cracking, shrinkage, bulging, or expansion of pavements, 

patios, foundations, walls, floors, roofs, or ceilings; or birds, 

vermin, rodents, insects, or animals owned or kept by an 

insured. If a covered cause of loss ensues, insurers shall 

provide coverage for the ensuing loss. 

2. Theft in or to a dwelling under construction, or of 

materials or supplies for use in the construction, until 

construction is completed and the residence premises is 

occupied. 

3. Vandalism and malicious mischief or glass breakage if the 

dwelling on the insured premises was vacant. If a covered 

cause of loss ensues, insurers shall provide coverage for the 

ensuing loss. 

4. Collapse, except as required by subsection N of 14VAC5-

342-40. 

B. For policies providing open causes of loss, insurers may 

exclude direct loss to household and personal property caused 

by any of the following: 

1. Breakage of eyeglasses, glassware, statuary, marbles, 

bric-a-brac, porcelains, and similar fragile articles, except 

jewelry, watches, bronzes, cameras, and photographic 

lenses. This exclusion shall not apply to loss caused by or 

resulting from the causes of loss in subsection C of 

14VAC5-342-50, earthquake, and water not otherwise 

excluded. 

2. Dampness of atmosphere or extremes of temperature 

unless the loss is directly caused by rain, snow, sleet, or hail. 

3. Refinishing, renovating, or repairing property other than 

watches, jewelry, and furs. 

4. From the unauthorized use of a credit card or debit card; 

or loss by forgery or alterations of a written promise, order, 

or direction to pay a sum certain in money. 

5. Destruction or seizure by order of any government or 

public authority. 

6. Collision, sinking, swamping, or stranding of watercraft, 

trailers used with watercraft, and watercraft furnishings, 

equipment, and motors. This exclusion does not apply to 

collision involving a motor vehicle. 

C. For all causes of loss, insurers may: 

1. Exclude loss caused directly or indirectly by any of the 

following: 

a. Water, as follows: 

(1) Flood, ground surface water, waves, seiche, tidal water 

or tidal waves, overflow of a body of water, or spray from 

any of these; 

(2) Water that backs up through sewers or drains; 

(3) Water that overflows or is discharged from a sump 

pump or other type of system designed to remove 

subsurface water that is drained from the foundation area; 

(4) Water below the surface of the ground including water 

that exerts pressure on or flows, seeps, or leaks through (i) 

sidewalks; (ii) driveways; (iii) foundations; (iv) 

swimming pools; (v) walls; (vi) basements or floors; or 

(vii) doors, windows, or other openings; 

(5) Material carried or moved by water referred to in 

subdivisions 1 a (1), 1 a (2), and 1 a (3) of this subsection; 

or 

(6) The exclusions for water loss in subdivisions 1 a (1) 

through 1 a (5) of this subsection do not apply to: 

(a) A loss by theft; or 

(b) An ensuing loss caused by fire or explosion. 

b. Earth movement, natural or manmade, including 

earthquake, volcanic eruption, landslide, mudflow, or 

other earth movement caused by sinking, rising, shifting, 

or expansion. Insurers shall provide coverage for: 

(1) A loss by theft; or 

(2) An ensuing loss caused by fire, explosion, or breakage 

of glass that is a part of the dwelling or other structures. 

c. Enforcement of ordinances or laws regulating the 

construction, repair, or demolition of dwellings or other 

structures. Insurers shall provide coverage when an 

ordinance or law requires the use of safety glass in 

replacement of damaged glass that is a part of the 

dwellings or other structures. 

d. Interruption of power or other utility service furnished 

to the insured premises if the interruption takes place away 

from the insured premises. Insurers shall provide coverage 

for the ensuing loss if a covered cause of loss ensues on 

the insured premises because of the power interruption. 

e. Enemy attack by armed forces including action taken by 

military, naval, or air forces in resisting an actual or 

immediately impending enemy attack, invasion, 

insurrection, rebellion, revolution, civil war, usurped 

power, or action taken by governmental authority in 

hindering, combating, or defending against the event; 

order of civil authority except acts of destruction at the 

time of and for preventing the spread of fire, provided that 

the fire did not originate from an excluded cause of loss. 
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f. Nuclear reaction, nuclear radiation, or radioactive 

contamination as set forth in § 38.2-2102 A of the Code of 

Virginia. 

g. The exclusions in subdivisions 1 a through 1 f of this 

subsection apply if one or more of the following 

concurrently contribute to the loss: 

(1) Weather conditions; 

(2) Acts or decisions, or the failure to act or decide, of a 

person, group, organization, or governmental body; or 

(3) Faulty, inadequate, or defective: 

(a) Planning, zoning, development, surveying, or siting; 

(b) Design, specifications, workmanship, repair, 

construction, renovation, remodeling, grading, or 

compaction; 

(c) Materials used in repair, construction, renovation, or 

remodeling; or 

(d) Maintenance. 

2. Exclude direct loss caused by: 

a. Freezing of or by discharge, leakage, or overflow from 

plumbing, heating, or air conditioning systems or 

domestic appliances. This exclusion applies only to a 

dwelling that is vacant, under construction, or unoccupied 

for four or more consecutive days, and the insured has 

failed to (i) exercise due diligence to maintain heat in the 

dwelling or other structures, or (ii) drain the systems and 

appliances and shut off the water supply. 

b. Continuous or repeated seepage or leakage of water 

over a period of weeks, months, or years. This exclusion 

does not apply to household and personal property. 

c. Freezing, thawing, or by the pressure or weight of ice or 

water to fences, pavements, patios, swimming pools, 

foundations, retaining walls, bulkheads, piers, wharves, or 

docks. 

d. Windstorm or hail to the following property (i) 

overhead structures, including supports and screening, 

constructed principally of cloth, metal, fiberglass, or 

plastic and erected to provide protection from the 

elements; (ii) fences; (iii) seawalls; (iv) property line or 

other free-standing walls; (v) greenhouses, hothouses, 

slathouses, trellises, pergolas, or cabanas; (vi) wharves, 

docks, piers, boathouses, bulkheads, or other similar 

structures located over or partially over water and the 

property on or within these structures; or (vii) outdoor 

equipment pertaining to the service of the residence 

premises. 

e. Neglect of the insured to use all reasonable means to 

protect the property during and after a loss. 

f. An intentional act by a person insured under the policy 

that was directed or committed by that person, but only 

with respect to that person. 

D. Insurers may exclude coverage for the following types of 

property: 

1. Accounts, bills, or currency including virtual or digital, 

deeds, evidences of debt, money, scrip, stored value cards, 

smart cards, securities, bullion, manuscripts, letters of credit, 

bank notes, or notes other than bank notes; 

2. Aircraft and parts except insurers shall provide coverage 

for (i) drones without cameras and drones that are not 

capable of carrying people or cargo and (ii) hobby aircraft or 

model aircraft that is not capable of carrying people or cargo; 

3. Animals, birds, or fish; 

4. Business property; 

5. Electronic equipment that is permanently installed in a 

motor vehicle; 

6. Tapes, wires, records, discs, or other media used with 

electronic equipment in a motor vehicle while the property 

is in or on a motor vehicle; 

7. Motor vehicles, motorized bicycles, and hovercraft; 

except (i) vehicles used to service the residence premises, 

(ii) utility trailers that are not licensed for road use, and (iii) 

electric mobility devices designed to assist an individual that 

has a disability; 

8. Property of (i) tenants and (ii) roomers and boarders not 

related to the insured; 

9. Property rented to others except as provided in 

subdivision C 3 of 14VAC5-342-40; 

10. Property that is unlawful to own or possess under state 

or federal law; or 

11. Property that is separately described and specifically 

insured by this insurance or other insurance. 

14VAC5-342-70. Loss settlement condition.  

A. Insurers shall include loss settlement provisions in 

accordance with this section. 

B. Insurers shall apply actual cash value loss settlement as 

follows: 

1. Subject to the limit of liability, insurers may pay the 

smaller of the following amounts: 

a. Cost to repair or replace with like kind and quality; or 

b. Actual cash value of the damaged property. 

2. Insurers may apply actual cash value loss settlement to: 

a. Household and personal property; 

b. Outdoor radio and television antennas; satellite dishes; 

or 

c. Awnings. 
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C. Insurers shall apply replacement cost loss settlement as 

follows: 

1. Insurers shall apply replacement cost loss settlement to 

property described under subsections A and B of 14VAC5-

342-40, including permanently installed flooring. Wall-to-

wall carpeting is permanently installed flooring. 

2. Insurers may limit replacement cost loss settlement to the 

following: 

a. The limit of liability applicable to the dwelling or other 

structure; 

b. The replacement cost of the dwelling or other structure 

or a part of the dwelling or other structure on the residence 

premises and intended for the same occupancy and use; or 

c. The amount spent in repairing or replacing the dwelling 

or other structure, or a part of the dwelling or other 

structure and intended for the same occupancy and use. 

3. The insured may assert a claim for the actual cash value 

of the dwelling or other structure without prejudicing the 

insured's right to make further claim for the difference 

between the actual cash value and the replacement cost in 

accordance with § 38.2-2119 B of the Code of Virginia. The 

claim for the difference must be made within six months of 

(i) the last date on which the insured received a payment for 

actual cash value or (ii) date of entry of a final order of a 

court of competent jurisdiction declaratory of the right of the 

insured to full replacement cost, whichever shall last occur. 

4. When the repair or replacement cost is $2,500 or less, 

insurers shall be liable for the full cost of repair or 

replacement before the repair or replacement has been 

completed. 

5. Insurers may apply an insurance-to-value ratio for 

replacement cost loss settlement as follows: 

a. Insurers may require an insurance-to-value ratio of no 

more than 80% before full replacement cost loss 

settlement applies. 

b. If the insurance-to-value is less than 80% for a dwelling 

or other structure, an insurer may limit its liability for loss 

to the larger of the following: 

(1) The actual cash value of that part of the dwelling or 

other structures; or 

(2) That proportion of the full cost of repair or replacement 

without deduction for depreciation of that part of the 

dwelling or other structure damaged or destroyed that the 

whole amount of insurance applicable to the dwelling or 

other structure for the cause of loss bears to 80% of the 

full replacement cost of the dwelling or other structure. 

c. In calculating the 80% insurance-to-value ratio, insurers 

shall disregard the cost of (i) excavations; (ii) underground 

flues and pipes; (iii) underground wiring and drains; and 

(iv) brick, stone, and concrete foundations, piers, and other 

supports that are below the under surface of the lowest 

basement floor, or where there is no basement that are 

below the surface of the ground inside the foundation 

walls. 

6. Insurers may provide replacement cost loss settlement on 

household and personal property as authorized by § 38.2-

2119 of the Code of Virginia. 

D. Insurers may offer functional replacement cost loss 

settlement for the property described in subsections A and B of 

14VAC5-342-40, under the conditions outlined in this 

subsection. 

1. Functional replacement cost is only permitted at the 

option of the insured. 

2. Insurers may not apply functional replacement cost loss 

settlement to property that qualifies for an amount of 

insurance equal to 80% or more of the full replacement cost 

of the dwelling or other structure. 

3. Insurers shall provide the notice required by § 38.2-2119 

C of the Code of Virginia. 

4. Insurers may limit functional replacement cost loss 

settlement to the following: 

a. The limit of liability applicable to the dwelling or other 

structure; 

b. The amount necessary to repair or replace the property 

with functionally equivalent property at a lower cost than 

would be required to replace the property with material of 

like kind and quality; or 

c. The amount spent to repair or replace the dwelling or 

other structure or part of the dwelling or other structure 

intended for the same occupancy and use. 

E. Insurers shall determine loss to property that is part of a 

pair or set in a reasonable and fair proportion of the total value 

of the pair or set. 

F. Insurers shall adjust losses with the named insured and 

shall pay the named insured unless another payee is 

specifically named. 

G. Insurers shall restore the limits of liability after a loss is 

paid. 

H. Insurers may apply a property deductible unless prohibited 

or otherwise limited in this chapter. Insurers may apply a 

special property deductible for the following causes of loss (i) 

wind, (ii) hail, or (iii) theft. No more than one deductible may 

be applied to a loss. The amount of any property deductible 

may not exceed 10% of the dwelling limit of coverage. 

I. Insurers may (i) take all or part of the damaged property at 

the agreed or appraised value or (ii) repair, rebuild, or replace 

the damaged property with other of like kind and quality within 

a reasonable time. Within 30 days after receiving the insured's 

proof of loss, insurers shall provide notice to the insured of the 

insurer's decision to (i) take the property at the agreed or 
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appraised value or (ii) repair, rebuild, or replace the damaged 

property. 

14VAC5-342-80. Conditions applicable to property 

coverage.  

A. Insurers shall include the following statutory conditions: 

1. The nuclear clause set forth in § 38.2-2102 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

2. The conditions set forth in § 38.2-2104 of the Code of 

Virginia: 

a. Assignment of the policy. 

b. The time that coverage begins and ends. 

3. The conditions set forth in § 38.2-2105 of the Code of 

Virginia: 

a. Abandonment. 

b. Appraisal. 

c. Mortgagee interests and obligations. 

d. Pro rata liability. 

e. Requirements in case loss occurs. 

f. Suit. 

g. When loss payable. 

B. Insurers may include any of the following conditions: 

1. The insured shall notify the police when loss is by theft. 

2. A bailee for hire shall not benefit under the policy. 

14VAC5-342-90. Personal liability coverage.  

A. Insurers shall provide personal liability coverage as 

follows: 

1. Insurers shall pay on behalf of the insured all sums that 

the insured is legally obligated to pay as damages for bodily 

injury or property damage caused by a covered occurrence. 

2. Insurers shall defend a suit against the insured seeking 

damages for bodily injury or property damage, even if any 

of the allegations of the suit are groundless, false, or 

fraudulent. 

3. Insurers shall investigate any claim or suit and may settle 

any claim or suit as it deems expedient. 

4. Insurers shall not be obligated to pay a claim or judgment 

after the limit of liability has been exhausted by payment of 

judgments or settlements. 

B. In addition to the limit of liability applicable to personal 

liability coverage, insurers shall provide coverage for any of 

following personal liability claims expenses: 

1. All expenses incurred by the insurer and all costs taxed 

against an insured in a suit defended by the insurer; 

2. All premiums on appeal bonds required in a suit; 

premiums on bonds to release attachments in a suit for an 

amount not more than the applicable limit of liability of the 

policy; and the cost of bail bonds required of an insured 

because of an occurrence to which the policy applies, of at 

least $250 per bail bond, except the insurer shall have no 

obligation to apply for or furnish the bonds; 

3. Pre-judgment interest incurred; 

4. Post-judgment interest on the part of a judgment that does 

not exceed the limit of the insurer's liability; and 

5. Reasonable expenses incurred by an insured of at least $50 

per day. Reasonable expenses include (i) loss of earnings 

except loss of other income, (ii) vacation time, and (iii) other 

benefit loss because of an insured's attendance at hearings or 

trials or assistance with the investigation as requested. 

C. In addition to the limit of liability applicable to personal 

liability coverage, insurers shall provide coverage for the 

following: 

1. Insurers shall pay for damage to property of others caused 

by an insured during the policy period at the actual cash 

value or the cost to repair or replace the damaged property 

with other property of like kind and quality. 

a. Insurers may limit this coverage to $250 per occurrence. 

b. Insurers may exclude damage to property of others: 

(1) Caused intentionally by an insured 13 years of age or 

older; 

(2) Rented to an insured; 

(3) Owned by or rented to (i) roomers, (ii) boarders, (iii) 

tenants, or (iv) residents of the insured's household; 

(4) Arising out of (i) an act or omission in connection with 

a premises owned, rented, or controlled by an insured 

other than the insured premises; (ii) business pursuits or 

professional services; or (iii) the ownership, maintenance, 

operation, use, loading, or unloading of a vehicle, trailer 

or semi-trailer, farming machinery or equipment, aircraft, 

or watercraft; or 

(5) If the property is covered elsewhere under the policy. 

2. Insurers shall pay expenses incurred by an insured at the 

time of an occurrence for first aid to others for bodily injury 

covered under the policy. 

14VAC5-342-100. Medical payments coverage.  

A. Insurers shall provide medical payments coverage in 

accordance with this chapter. This coverage applies: 

1. While the person is on the insured premises with the 

permission of an insured. 

2. While the person is elsewhere, if the bodily injury: 

a. Arises out of a condition on the insured premises or the 

ways immediately adjoining; 
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b. Is caused by the activities of an insured or by a residence 

employee during the residence employee's employment by 

the insured; 

c. Is caused by an animal owned by or in the care of an 

insured; or 

d. Is sustained by a residence employee and arises out of 

the residence employee's employment by the insured. 

B. Insurers shall provide coverage for reasonable medical 

expenses incurred to each person injured within one year from 

the date of the occurrence. 

14VAC5-342-110. Exclusions applicable to personal 

liability and medical payments coverage.  

A. Insurers may exclude losses under personal liability 

coverage for: 

1. Liability assumed by the insured under contracts or 

agreements that are not in writing. This exclusion does not 

apply to liability that the insured would have had without a 

contract or agreement. 

2. Liability assumed by the insured under a contract or 

agreement relating to the insured's business. 

3. The insured's share of any loss assessment charged against 

all members of any property owners' association. 

4. Bodily injury to a person covered or required to be 

covered under a workers' compensation or other similar law. 

5. Damage to property owned by the insured. 

6. Damage to property of others in the care, custody, or 

control of the insured. 

7. Sickness, disease, or death of a residence employee unless 

written claim is made or suit is brought against the insured 

within 36 months after the end of the policy term. 

B. Insurers may exclude losses under medical payments 

coverage: 

1. To a person covered or required to be covered under a 

workers' compensation or other similar law; 

2. To any person covered as an insured; 

3. To a person, except a residence employee, regularly 

residing on the insured premises; 

4. To a residence employee if the bodily injury occurs off the 

insured premises unless the injury arises out of the residence 

employee's employment by an insured; or 

5. To a person on the insured premises because an insured's 

business is conducted on the premises or professional 

services are rendered on the premises. 

C. Insurers may exclude occurrences applicable to personal 

liability and medical payments coverages arising from: 

1. Aircraft. Insurers shall provide coverage for (i) drones 

without cameras and drones that are not capable of carrying 

people or cargo or (ii) hobby aircraft or model aircraft that 

are not capable of carrying people or cargo. 

2. Motor vehicles, recreational motor vehicles, or hovercraft. 

Insurers shall provide coverage for: 

a. Vehicles primarily used in servicing the residence 

premises while on or off the residence premises; 

b. Golf carts used for golfing purposes within a golfing 

facility, including crossing public roads to access other 

parts of the golfing facility; 

c. Recreational motor vehicles or hovercraft on an insured 

premises; and 

d. Motor vehicles held in dead storage on the residence 

premises. 

3. Watercraft that is powered by an engine with more than 

25 horsepower and sailing vessels more than 26 feet in 

length with or without auxiliary power. Insurers shall 

provide coverage for bodily injury or property damage 

occurring on the insured premises. 

4. Rendering of or failing to render professional services. 

5. Business pursuits of an insured except for incidental 

business activities (i) conducted by an insured who is 

younger than 21 years of age, (ii) that produce revenues of 

no more than $2,500 during the policy period, or (iii) a 

combination of clauses (i) and (ii) of this subdivision. 

6. Any premises, owned, rented, or controlled by an insured 

other than the insured premises. 

7. An intentional act by a person insured under the policy 

that was directed or committed by that person, but only with 

respect to that person. 

8. War, invasion, insurrection, rebellion, revolution, civil 

war, usurped power, or action taken by governmental 

authority in hindering, combating, or defending against any 

of these events. 

9. Smuggling or trafficking. 

10. Sexual molestation, corporal punishment, or physical or 

mental abuse. 

11. Transmission of a communicable disease by an insured. 

12. Manufacture, delivery, use, sale, transfer, or possession 

of property that is unlawful. 

13. Manufacture, delivery, use, sale, transfer, or possession 

of a controlled substance, except for the legitimate use of 

prescription drugs by a person following the orders of a 

licensed medical provider. 

14. Discharge of carbon monoxide pursuant to § 38.2-235 of 

the Code of Virginia. 
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15. Bodily injury to an insured as defined in subdivisions 1 

and 2 of the definition of insured in 14VAC5-342-30. 

16. Entrustment or supervision by an insured of any 

excluded aircraft, motor vehicle, recreational motor vehicle, 

hovercraft, or watercraft. 

17. Vicarious liability for the actions of a minor using any 

excluded aircraft, motor vehicle, recreational motor vehicle, 

hovercraft, or watercraft. 

18. Nuclear reaction, radiation, or radio-active 

contamination. 

14VAC5-342-120. Conditions applicable to personal 

liability and medical payments coverage.  

A. An insurer may limit its liability for personal liability 

coverage and medical payments coverage as follows: 

1. For personal liability coverage, the limit of liability that 

applies to an occurrence is the total limit of the insurer's 

liability under personal liability coverage for all damages as 

the result of an occurrence. 

2. For medical payments coverage, insurers may apply a 

limit of liability per person and a limit of liability for two or 

more persons as the result of an occurrence. 

3. For personal liability and medical payments, the limit of 

liability applies separately to each insured against whom 

claim is made or suit is brought for an occurrence but does 

not increase the limit of liability that applies to an 

occurrence. 

B. If an occurrence, claim, or suit occurs, insurers may require 

an insured to comply with any of the following: 

1. To provide notice, in writing, as soon as practicable, 

containing details sufficient to establish a notice of claim. 

2. If claim is made or suit is brought against an insured, to 

promptly send to the insurer every demand, notice, 

summons, or other process received by the insured or the 

representative of the insured. 

3. To (i) cooperate with the insurer; (ii) at the request of the 

insurer, assist in making settlements, in the conduct of suits, 

and in enforcing a right of contribution or indemnity against 

a person or organization who may be liable to the insured; 

(iii) attend hearings and trials; (iv) give and secure evidence; 

and (v) assist in obtaining the attendance of witnesses. 

4. To obtain permission of the insurer before making a 

voluntary payment, assuming an obligation, or incurring 

expenses, other than first aid expenses. 

5. Under damage to property of others, to: 

a. Submit a sworn proof of loss within 60 days after an 

occurrence unless extended by the insurer. 

b. Exhibit damaged property if within the insured's 

control. 

C. For claims under medical payments coverage, insurers 

may require: 

1. An injured person or someone on the injured person's 

behalf to provide details about the claim, in writing if 

requested. 

2. An injured person or someone on the injured person's 

behalf to execute authorizations enabling the insurer to get 

copies of medical reports and records. 

3. An injured person to submit to examinations by a medical 

professional selected by the insurer when and as often as the 

insurer reasonably requires. 

D. For claims under medical payments coverage, insurers 

may pay the injured person or the person rendering medical 

services. Payment under medical payments coverage for each 

occurrence: 

1. May reduce the amount payable for a covered injury; and 

2. Is not an admission of liability by an insured or the insurer. 

E. With respect to a suit under the policy, the insurer may: 

1. Require that the insured not bring suit or action against the 

insurer unless the insured has complied with all the 

provisions of the policy. 

2. Provide that no person or organization may join the 

insurer as a party to an action against the insured. 

3. Require that the amount of the insured's obligation to pay 

has been determined by (i) judgment against the insured after 

trial or (ii) written agreement of the claimant and the insurer. 

F. The insurer shall provide that its obligations under the 

policy are not relieved by the bankruptcy or insolvency of the 

insured or the insured's estate. 

G. If execution on a judgment against the insured or the 

insured's personal representative is returned unsatisfied in an 

action brought to recover damages for injury or for loss or 

damage during the policy term, then an action may be 

maintained against the insurer for the amount of the judgment 

not exceeding the amount of the applicable limit of coverage. 

H. If more than one policy applies to an occurrence, the 

insurer shall pay that proportion of the loss that the limit of 

liability of the policy bears to the total amount of insurance that 

applies to the loss. Except, insurers may provide liability 

coverage on an excess basis for vehicles or watercraft to which 

the policy applies. This condition does not apply to medical 

payments coverage. 

14VAC5-342-130. Policy Conditions.  

A. Insurers may restrict the application of the policy to loss 

or an occurrence during the policy term. 

B. Insurers may void the entire policy (i) if, whether before 

or after a loss, the insured has willfully concealed or 
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misrepresented any material fact or circumstance concerning 

the insurance or the interest of the insured in the insurance or 

(ii) in the case of any fraud or false swearing by the insured 

relating to the insurance. 

C. If an insurer adopts any revision to its forms or 

endorsements that would broaden coverage currently provided 

without additional premium charge, the insurer shall 

automatically apply the broadened coverage from the effective 

date of the revisions. 

D. If a named insured dies, insurers shall modify the 

definition of insured in 14VAC5-342-30 as follows: 

1. The named insured includes: 

a. The spouse, if not already a named insured and if 

residing in the household at the time of the death; and 

b. The legal representative with respect to the insured 

premises and property of the deceased insured at the time 

of death. 

2. Insured also includes: 

a. Members of the deceased's household who were insured 

at the time of the named insured's death but only while 

residents of the insured premises; and 

b. Persons having proper temporary custody of the insured 

property until the appointment and qualification of the 

legal representative. 

E. Insurers may not invalidate the policy if the insured 

waives, in writing, before a loss any right of recovery against 

a party for loss occurring on the insured premises. If not 

waived, the insurer may require from the insured an 

assignment of all right of recovery against a party for a loss or 

occurrence to the extent that the insurer made payment. 

F. Terms or conditions in the policy that are less favorable 

than those provided for in this chapter or the applicable statutes 

are construed to conform to this chapter and those statutes. 

G. Insurers shall include the relevant termination provisions 

in §§ 38.2-2113 and 38.2-2114 of the Code of Virginia in the 

policy. In addition, the following apply: 

1. Return premium calculations resulting from an insurer-

initiated termination shall be pro rata. 

2. Terminations for non-payment of premium shall be 

calculated pro rata. 

3. Return premium calculations resulting from an insured-

initiated termination may be a short rate calculation, except 

the penalty may not be more than 10% of the pro rata 

premium for the expired time. 

4. Insurers may refuse to renew the policy in accordance 

with the provisions of §§ 38.2-2113 and 38.2-2114 of the 

Code of Virginia. 

H. If an insurer elects to waive a policy provision, the waiver 

must be in writing. 

I. Insurers may require that coverage under the policy is 

excess over a service agreement, home warranty, or similar 

service warranty. 

J. Insurers may exclude coverage, refuse to pay claims, or 

refuse to provide benefits under a policy if those actions would 

expose the insurer to a violation of applicable trade or 

economic sanctions, laws, or regulations. including those 

administered and enforced by the U.S. Treasury Department's 

Office of Foreign Assets Control. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R22-6887; Filed September 13, 2021, 12:18 p.m. 

  ––––––––––––––––––  

TITLE 18. PROFESSIONAL AND 
OCCUPATIONAL LICENSING 

BOARD FOR ARCHITECTS, PROFESSIONAL 
ENGINEERS, LAND SURVEYORS, CERTIFIED 

INTERIOR DESIGNERS AND LANDSCAPE 
ARCHITECTS 

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Board for Architects, 

Professional Engineers, Land Surveyors, Certified Interior 

Designers and Landscape Architects is claiming an exemption 

from Article 2 of the Administrative Process Act in accordance 

with § 2.2-4006 A 4 a of the Code of Virginia, which excludes 

regulations that are necessary to conform to changes in 

Virginia statutory law or the appropriation act where no agency 

discretion is involved. The board will receive, consider, and 

respond to petitions by any interested person at any time with 

respect to reconsideration or revision. 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC10-20. Board for Architects, 

Professional Engineers, Land Surveyors, Certified Interior 

Designers and Landscape Architects Regulations 

(amending 18VAC10-20-10, 18VAC10-20-790). 

Statutory Authority: §§ 54.1-201 and 54.1-404 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

Effective Date: December 1, 2021. 

Agency Contact: Kathleen R. Nosbisch, Executive Director, 

Board for Architects, Professional Engineers, Land Surveyors, 

Certified Interior Designers, and Landscape Architects, 9960 

Mayland Drive, Suite 400, Richmond, VA 23233, telephone 

(804) 367-8514, FAX (866) 465-6206, or email 

apelscidla@dpor.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

Pursuant to Chapters 500 and 501 of the 2021 Acts of 

Assembly, Special Session I, the amendments conform 

regulations concerning qualifications for licensure or 
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certification and standards of conduct to the requirements 

of § 19.2-389.3 of the Code of Virginia and remove 

requirements for reporting by applicants or licensees of 

misdemeanor marijuana convictions. 

18VAC10-20-10. Definitions. 

Section 54.1-400 of the Code of Virginia provides definitions 

of the following terms and phrases as used in this chapter: 

Architect 

Board 

Certified interior designer 

Interior design. When used in this chapter, interior design 

shall only be applicable to interior design performed by a 

certified interior designer. 

Land surveyor. When used in this chapter, land surveyor 

shall include surveyor photogrammetrist unless stated 

otherwise or the context requires a different meaning. 

Landscape architect 

Practice of architecture 

Practice of engineering 

Practice of land surveying 

Practice of landscape architecture 

Professional engineer 

The following words, terms, and phrases when used in this 

chapter shall have the meanings ascribed to them except where 

the context clearly indicates or requires different meanings: 

"Application" means a completed application with the 

appropriate fee and any other required documentation 

including references, experience verification, degree 

verification, and verification of examination and licensure or 

certification. 

"Comity" means the recognition of licenses or certificates 

issued by other states or other jurisdictions of the United States 

as permitted by § 54.1-103 C of the Code of Virginia. 

"Department" means the Department of Professional and 

Occupational Regulation. 

"Direct control and personal supervision" means supervision 

by a professional who oversees and is responsible for the work 

of another individual. 

"Good moral character" may be established if the applicant or 

regulant: 

1. Has not been convicted of a non-marijuana misdemeanor 

in the last 10 years or has ever been convicted of a felony 

that would render the applicant unfit or unsuited to engage 

in the occupation or profession applied for in accordance 

with § 54.1-204 of the Code of Virginia; 

2. Has not committed any act involving dishonesty, fraud, 

misrepresentation, breach of fiduciary duty, negligence, or 

incompetence reasonably related to: 

a. The proposed area of practice within 10 years prior to 

application for licensure, certification, or registration; or 

b. The area of practice related to licensure, certification, or 

registration by the board while under the authority of the 

board; 

3. Has not engaged in fraud or misrepresentation in 

connection with the application for licensure, certification, 

or registration, or related exam; 

4. Has not had a license, certification, or registration revoked 

or suspended for cause or been disciplined by the 

Commonwealth or by any other jurisdiction, or surrendered 

or has surrendered a license, certificate, or registration in lieu 

of disciplinary action; or 

5. Has not practiced without the required license, 

registration, or certification in the Commonwealth or in 

another jurisdiction within the five years immediately 

preceding the filing of the application for licensure, 

certification, or registration by the Commonwealth. 

"Good standing" means that the regulant holds a current or 

active license, certificate, or registration issued by any 

regulatory body that is not subject to a current sanction. The 

regulant shall be in good standing in every jurisdiction where 

licensed, certified, or registered. 

"Place of business" means any location that, through 

professionals, offers or provides the services of architecture, 

engineering, land surveying, landscape architecture, interior 

design, or any combination thereof. A temporary field office 

established and utilized for the duration of a specific project 

shall not qualify as a place of business under this chapter. 

"Profession" means the practice of architecture, engineering, 

land surveying, landscape architecture, or interior design. 

"Professional" means an architect, professional engineer, land 

surveyor, landscape architect, or certified interior designer 

who holds a license or certificate issued by the board pursuant 

to the provisions of this chapter and is in good standing with 

the board to practice his profession in the Commonwealth. 

"Registrant" means a business holding a registration issued 

by the board and in good standing to offer or provide one or 

more of the professions regulated by the board. 

"Regulant" means an architect, professional engineer, land 

surveyor, or landscape architect holding a license issued by the 

board and is in good standing; a certified interior designer 

holding a valid certification issued by the board and is in good 

standing; or a registrant. 

"Resident" means physically present at the place of business 

a majority of its operating hours. 
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"Responsible person" means the professional named by the 

registrant to be responsible and have control of the registrant's 

regulated services offered, rendered, or both. A professional 

can only be the responsible person for the profession indicated 

on his licenses or certifications. 

"Surveyor photogrammetrist" means a person who by reason 

of specialized knowledge in the area of photogrammetry has 

been granted a license by the board to survey land in 

accordance with Chapter 4 (§ 54.1-400 et seq.) of Title 54.1 of 

the Code of Virginia for the determination of topography, 

contours, or location of planimetric features using 

photogrammetric methods or similar remote sensing 

technology. 

18VAC10-20-790. Sanctions. 

A license, certificate, or registration shall not be sanctioned 

unless a majority of the eligible voting members of the entire 

board vote for the action. The board may discipline or sanction 

any regulant if the board finds that: 

1. The regulant failed to maintain good moral character 

pursuant to the definition in 18VAC10-20-10; 

2. The license, certification, or registration was obtained or 

renewed through fraud or misrepresentation; 

3. The regulant has been found guilty by a court of 

competent jurisdiction of any material misrepresentation in 

the course of professional practice or has been convicted, 

pleaded guilty, or has been found guilty, regardless of 

adjudication or deferred adjudication, of any felony or non-

marijuana misdemeanor that, in the judgment of the board, 

adversely affects the regulant's ability to perform 

satisfactorily within the regulated discipline. The board shall 

review the conviction pursuant to the provisions of § 54.1-

204 of the Code of Virginia; 

4. The regulant has committed acts constituting professional 

incompetence, negligence, or gross negligence; 

5. The regulant has abused drugs or alcohol to the extent that 

professional competence is adversely affected; 

6. The regulant fails to comply, or misrepresents any 

information pertaining to their compliance, with any of the 

continuing education requirements as contained in this chapter; 

7. The regulant violates any standard of practice and conduct 

as defined in this chapter; 

8. The regulant violates or induces others to violate any 

provision of Chapters 7 (§ 13.1-542.1 et seq.) and 13 (§ 13.1-

1100 et seq.) of Title 13.1 or Chapters 1 (§ 54.1-100 et seq.) 

through 4 (§ 54.1-400 et seq.) of Title 54.1 of the Code of 

Virginia, or any other statute applicable to the practice of the 

professions regulated by this chapter; 

9. The regulant has been disciplined by any county, city, 

town, state, or federal governing body. For purposes of this 

section "discipline" means reprimand; civil or monetary 

penalty; probation, suspension, or revocation of a license; or 

cease and desist order. The board will review such discipline 

before taking any disciplinary action of its own; or 

10. The regulant fails to notify the board within 30 days of 

having been disciplined by any county, city, town, state, or 

federal governing body as stipulated in subdivision 9 of this 

section. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R22-6968; Filed September 21, 2021, 12:33 p.m. 

AUCTIONEERS BOARD 

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Auctioneers Board is claiming 

an exemption from Article 2 of the Administrative Process Act 

in accordance with § 2.2-4006 A 4 a of the Code of Virginia, 

which excludes regulations that are necessary to conform to 

changes in Virginia statutory law or the appropriation act 

where no agency discretion is involved. The board will receive, 

consider, and respond to petitions by any interested person at 

any time with respect to reconsideration or revision. 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC25-21. Regulations of the 

Virginia Auctioneers Board (amending 18VAC25-21-20, 

18VAC25-21-40, 18VAC25-21-50, 18VAC25-21-180). 

Statutory Authority: §§ 54.1-201 and 54.1-602 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

Effective Date: December 1, 2021. 

Agency Contact: Marian H. Brooks, Regulatory 

Administrator, Auctioneers Board, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 

400, Richmond, VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-8514, FAX 

(866) 465-6206, or email auctioneers@dpor.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

Pursuant to Chapters 500 and 501 of the 2021 Acts of 

Assembly, Special Session I, the amendments conform 

regulations concerning qualifications for licensure and 

standards of conduct to the requirements of § 19.2-389.3 of 

the Code of Virginia and remove requirements for reporting 

by applicants or licensees of misdemeanor marijuana 

convictions. 

18VAC25-21-20. Licensure. 

All persons or firms as defined in § 54.1-600 of the Code of 

Virginia who conduct auctions or offer their services to sell at 

auction in the Commonwealth are required to file a licensure 

application and pay the specified fee to the board. Applicants 

for individual licensure shall meet the following requirements: 

1. Be at least 18 years of age. 

2. Shall not have been previously found by any regulatory 

board or agency to have violated any applicable regulations 

or laws in the course of performing auctioneer duties or been 

convicted or found guilty, regardless of the manner of 

adjudication, in any jurisdiction of the United States of a 
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non-marijuana misdemeanor involving moral turpitude or 

any felony, there being no appeal pending therefrom or the 

time for appeal having elapsed. Any plea of nolo contendere 

shall be considered a conviction for purposes of this 

subdivision. A certified copy of a final order, decree or case 

decision by a court or regulatory agency with the lawful 

authority to issue such order shall be admissible as prima 

facie evidence of such conviction or discipline. Applicants 

for licensure who do not meet requirements set forth in this 

section may be approved for licensure following 

consideration by the board in accordance with § 54.1-204 of 

the Code of Virginia. 

3. Successfully complete a course of study at a school of 

auctioneering that has obtained course approval from the 

board, or an equivalent course, and has passed the Virginia 

Licensed Auctioneer's Examination administered by the 

Auctioneers Board or its designee. 

18VAC25-21-40. License by reciprocity. 

The board may issue a license to any individual applicant 

holding a license in any state, territory, or possession of the 

United States, with whom the board has established an act of 

reciprocity provided the requirements and standards under 

which the license was issued are substantially equivalent to 

those established by the board. At the time of application for 

licensure, the applicant must be currently licensed in the state 

in which reciprocity is established with the Commonwealth of 

Virginia. The board may deny an application if the licensed 

auctioneer has been found guilty (i) by any regulatory board or 

agency to have violated any applicable regulations or laws in 

the course of performing auctioneering duties or (ii) by a court 

of any non-marijuana misdemeanor, other criminal offense, or 

material misrepresentation in the course of performing 

auctioneer duties. A certified copy of a final order, decree or 

case decision by a court or regulatory agency with the lawful 

authority to issue such order shall be admissible as prima facie 

evidence of such conviction or discipline. 

Nonresident applicants shall also file with the board an 

irrevocable consent that service of process upon the director is 

valid and binding as the service of process upon the applicant. 

18VAC25-21-50. Application. 

A. All applicants seeking licensure shall submit a fully 

executed application with the appropriate fee or fees attached. 

Applicants will be notified if their application is incomplete. 

Applications for licensure by examination must comply with 

the requirements of the board's designee as to the deadline for 

submission of the application to the board's designee. 

B. 1. If a corporation, limited liability company, or other 

entity, the application shall include copies of the certificate of 

incorporation or certificate of organization issued by the 

Virginia State Corporation Commission, articles and bylaws. 

2. If a foreign corporation, foreign limited liability company, 

or other entity, the application shall include copies of the 

certificate of authority to conduct business issued by the 

Virginia State Corporation Commission, which shall be 

required in lieu of the certificates as required by subdivision 

1 of this subsection. 

3. Any firm applicant shall not have been previously found 

by any regulatory board or agency to have violated any 

applicable regulations or laws in the course of performing 

auctioneer duties or been convicted or found guilty, 

regardless of the manner of adjudication, in any jurisdiction 

of the United States of a non-marijuana misdemeanor 

involving moral turpitude or any felony, there being no 

appeal pending therefrom or the time for appeal having 

elapsed. Any plea of nolo contendere shall be considered a 

conviction for purposes of this subdivision. A certified copy 

of a final order, decree or case decision by a court or 

regulatory agency with the lawful authority to issue such 

order shall be admissible as prima facie evidence of such 

conviction or discipline. Applicants for licensure who do not 

meet requirements set forth in this section may be approved 

for licensure following consideration by the board in 

accordance with § 54.1-204 of the Code of Virginia. 

C. All applications will be reviewed by the Auctioneers Board 

staff, or the board's designee, to determine eligibility for 

examination and licensure within 30 days of receipt at the 

offices of the Department of Professional and Occupational 

Regulation or the board's designee. However, failure to review 

an application within 30 days of receipt shall not imply or 

result in the automatic approval of the application. No 

applicant will be approved for licensure unless all requirements 

of this part of this chapter are met. 

18VAC25-21-180. Discipline. 

The board has the power to fine any individual or firm 

licensee, or to suspend or revoke any license issued under the 

provisions of Chapter 6 (§ 54.1-600 et seq.) of Title 54.1 of the 

Code of Virginia and the regulations of the board pursuant to 

the provisions of the Administrative Process Act (§ 2.2-4000 

et seq. of the Code of Virginia) if it finds that: 

1. The license was obtained, renewed or reinstated through 

fraud or misrepresentation; 

2. The licensee has been convicted or found guilty, 

regardless of the manner of adjudication, in any jurisdiction 

of the United States of a non-marijuana misdemeanor 

involving moral turpitude or any felony, there being no 

appeal pending therefrom or the time for appeal having 

elapsed. Review of prior criminal convictions shall be 

subject to the requirements of § 54.1-204 of the Code of 

Virginia. A certified copy of a final order, decree or case 

decision by a court with the lawful authority to issue such 

order shall be admissible as prima facie evidence of such 

conviction or discipline; 



Regulations 

Volume 38, Issue 4  Virginia Register of Regulations  October 11, 2021  

438 

3. The licensee has been found by any regulatory board, 

agency, or jurisdiction where licensed to have had a license 

or registration suspended, revoked or surrendered in 

connection with a disciplinary action, who has been the 

subject of discipline in another jurisdiction or to have 

violated any applicable regulations or laws in the course of 

performing auctioneer duties. A certified copy of a final 

order, decree or case decision by a court or regulatory 

agency with the lawful authority to issue such order shall be 

admissible as prima facie evidence of such conviction or 

discipline; 

4. The licensee has not demonstrated reasonable care, 

judgment, or application of his knowledge and ability in the 

performance of auctioneering duties; 

5. The licensee violated or assisted another to violate any 

provisions of Chapter 1 (§ 54.1-100 et seq.), 2 (§ 54.1-200 

et seq.), 3 (§ 54.1-300 et seq.), or 6 of Title 54.1 of the Code 

of Virginia, this chapter, or combined or conspired with or 

acted as agent, partner, or associate for another; or 

6. The licensee fails to comply, or misrepresents any 

information pertaining to his compliance, with any of the 

continuing education requirements as contained in this 

chapter. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R22-4918; Filed September 21, 2021, 12:34 p.m. 

BOARD FOR BARBERS AND COSMETOLOGY 

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Board for Barbers and 

Cosmetology is claiming an exemption from Article 2 of the 

Administrative Process Act in accordance with § 2.2-4006 A 4 

a of the Code of Virginia, which excludes regulations that are 

necessary to conform to changes in Virginia statutory law or 

the appropriation act where no agency discretion is involved. 

The board will receive, consider, and respond to petitions by 

any interested person at any time with respect to 

reconsideration or revision. 

Titles of Regulations: 18VAC41-20. Barbering and 

Cosmetology Regulations (amending 18VAC41-20-20, 

18VAC41-20-100, 18VAC41-20-120, 18VAC41-20-130, 

18VAC41-20-280). 

18VAC41-50. Tattooing Regulations (amending 18VAC41-

50-20, 18VAC41-50-420). 

18VAC41-60. Body-Piercing Regulations (amending 

18VAC41-60-20, 18VAC41-60-220). 

18VAC41-70. Esthetics Regulations (amending 18VAC41-

70-20, 18VAC41-70-80, 18VAC41-70-90, 18VAC41-70-100, 

18VAC41-70-110, 18VAC41-70-280). 

Statutory Authority: § 54.1-201 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: December 1, 2021. 

Agency Contact: Stephen Kirschner, Executive Director, 

Board for Barbers and Cosmetology, 9960 Mayland Drive, 

Suite 400, Richmond, VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-8590, 

FAX (866) 245-9693, or email 

barbercosmo@dpor.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

Pursuant to Chapters 500 and 501 of the 2021 Acts of 

Assembly, Special Session I, the amendments conform 

regulations concerning qualifications for licensure and 

certification and standards of conduct to the requirements 

of § 19.2-389.3 of the Code of Virginia and remove 

requirements for reporting by applicants or licensees of 

misdemeanor marijuana convictions. 

18VAC41-20-20. General requirements for a barber, 

master barber, cosmetologist, nail technician, or wax 

technician license. 

A. Any individual wishing to engage in barbering, 

cosmetology, nail care, or waxing shall obtain a license in 

compliance with § 54.1-703 of the Code of Virginia and shall 

meet the following qualifications: 

1. The applicant shall be in good standing as a licensed 

barber, master barber, cosmetologist, nail technician, or wax 

technician in Virginia and all other jurisdictions where 

licensed. The applicant shall disclose to the board at the time 

of application for licensure, any disciplinary action taken in 

Virginia and all other jurisdictions in connection with the 

applicant's practice as a barber, master barber, 

cosmetologist, nail technician, or wax technician. This 

includes monetary penalties, fines, suspensions, revocations, 

surrender of a license in connection with a disciplinary 

action, or voluntary termination of a license. The applicant 

shall disclose to the board at the time of application for 

licensure if he has been previously licensed in Virginia as a 

barber, master barber, cosmetologist, nail technician, or wax 

technician. 

Upon review of the applicant's prior disciplinary action, the 

board, in its discretion, may deny licensure to any applicant 

wherein the board deems the applicant is unfit or unsuited to 

engage in barbering, cosmetology, nail care, or waxing. The 

board will decide each case by taking into account the 

totality of the circumstances. Any plea of nolo contendere or 

comparable plea shall be considered a disciplinary action for 

the purposes of this section. The applicant shall provide a 

certified copy of a final order, decree, or case decision by a 

court, regulatory agency, or board with the lawful authority 

to issue such order, decree, or case decision, and such copy 

shall be admissible as prima facie evidence of such 

disciplinary action. 

2. The applicant shall disclose his the applicant's physical 

address. A post office box is not acceptable. 

3. The applicant shall sign, as part of the application, a 

statement certifying that the applicant has read and 
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understands the Virginia barber and cosmetology license 

laws and this chapter. 

4. In accordance with § 54.1-204 of the Code of Virginia, 

each applicant shall disclose the following information 

regarding criminal convictions in Virginia and all other 

jurisdictions: 

a. All misdemeanor convictions involving moral 

turpitude, sexual offense, non-marijuana drug distribution, 

or physical injury within two years of the date of the 

application; and 

b. All felony convictions within 20 years of the date of 

application. 

Any plea of nolo contendere shall be considered a conviction 

for purposes of this subsection. The record of a conviction 

received from a court shall be accepted as prima facie 

evidence of a conviction or finding of guilt. The board, in its 

discretion, may deny licensure to any applicant in 

accordance with § 54.1-204 of the Code of Virginia. 

5. The applicant shall provide evidence satisfactory to the 

board that the applicant has passed the board-approved 

examination, administered either by the board or by 

independent examiners. 

B. Eligibility to sit for board-approved examination. 

1. Training in the Commonwealth of Virginia. Any person 

completing an approved barber, master barber, cosmetology, 

nail technician, or wax technician training program in a 

Virginia licensed barber, cosmetology, nail technician, or 

wax technician school, respectively, or a Virginia public 

school's barber, master barber, cosmetology, nail technician, 

or wax technician program approved by the Virginia 

Department of Education shall be eligible for examination. 

2. Training outside of the Commonwealth of Virginia, but 

within the United States and its territories. 

a. Any person completing a barber training program that 

is substantially equivalent to the Virginia program but is 

outside of the Commonwealth of Virginia must submit to 

the board documentation of the successful completion of 

1,100 hours of training to be eligible for examination. If 

less than 1,100 hours of barber training was completed, an 

applicant must submit a certificate, diploma, or other 

documentation acceptable to the board verifying the 

completion of a substantially equivalent barber course and 

documentation of six months of barber work experience in 

order to be eligible for examination. 

b. Any person completing a master barber or cosmetology 

training program that is substantially equivalent to the 

Virginia program but is outside of the Commonwealth of 

Virginia must submit to the board documentation of the 

successful completion of 1,500 hours of training to be 

eligible for examination. If less than 1,500 hours of master 

barber or cosmetology training was completed, an 

applicant must submit a certificate, diploma, or other 

documentation acceptable to the board verifying the 

completion of a substantially equivalent master barber or 

cosmetology course and documentation of six months of 

master barber or cosmetology work experience in order to 

be eligible for examination. 

c. Any person completing a nail technician training 

program that is substantially equivalent to the Virginia 

program but is outside of the Commonwealth of Virginia 

must submit to the board documentation of the successful 

completion of 150 hours of training to be eligible for 

examination. If less than 150 hours of nail technician 

training was completed, an applicant must submit a 

certificate, diploma, or other documentation acceptable to 

the board verifying the completion of a substantially 

equivalent nail technician course and documentation of six 

months of nail technician work experience in order to be 

eligible for the nail technician examination. 

d. Any person completing a wax technician training 

program that is substantially equivalent to the Virginia 

program but is outside of the Commonwealth of Virginia 

must submit to the board documentation of the successful 

completion of 115 hours of training to be eligible for 

examination. If less than 115 hours of wax technician 

training was completed, an applicant must submit a 

certificate, diploma, or other documentation acceptable to 

the board verifying the completion of a substantially 

equivalent wax technician course and documentation of 

six months of wax technician work experience in order to 

be eligible for the wax technician examination. 

18VAC41-20-100. General requirements for a barber 

instructor certificate, cosmetology instructor certificate, 

nail technician instructor certificate, or wax technician 

instructor certificate. 

A. Any individual wishing to engage in barbering instruction, 

master barbering instruction, cosmetology instruction, nail 

care instruction, or waxing instruction shall meet the following 

qualifications: 

1. The applicant shall be in good standing as a licensed 

barber, master barber, cosmetologist, nail technician, or wax 

technician, and instructor, respectively, in Virginia and all 

other jurisdictions where licensed. The applicant shall 

disclose to the board at the time of application for licensure 

any disciplinary action taken in Virginia and all other 

jurisdictions in connection with the applicant's practice as a 

barber, master barber, cosmetologist, nail technician, or wax 

technician, or in the practice of teaching any of those 

professions. This includes monetary penalties, fines, 

suspensions, revocations, surrender of a license in 

connection with a disciplinary action, or voluntary 

termination of a license. The applicant shall disclose to the 

board at the time of application for licensure if the applicant 

has been previously licensed in Virginia as a barber 
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instructor, master barber instructor, cosmetology instructor, 

nail technician instructor, or wax technician instructor. 

Upon review of the applicant's prior disciplinary action, the 

board, in its discretion, may deny licensure to any applicant 

wherein the board deems the applicant is unfit or unsuited to 

engage in the instruction of barbering, cosmetology, nail 

care, or waxing. The board will decide each case by taking 

into account the totality of the circumstances. Any plea of 

nolo contendere or comparable plea shall be considered a 

disciplinary action for the purposes of this section. The 

applicant shall provide a certified copy of a final order, 

decree, or case decision by a court, regulatory agency, or 

board with the lawful authority to issue such order, decree, 

or case decision, and such copy shall be admissible as prima 

facie evidence of such disciplinary action; 

2. The applicant shall hold a current Virginia barber, master 

barber, cosmetology, nail technician, or wax technician 

license, respectively; 

3. The applicant shall: 

a. Pass a course in teaching techniques at the post-

secondary educational level; 

b. Complete an instructor training course approved by the 

Virginia Board for Barbers and Cosmetology under the 

supervision of a certified barber, master barber, 

cosmetologist, nail technician, or wax technician 

instructor in a barber, cosmetology, nail technician, or wax 

technician school, respectively; or 

c. Pass an examination in barber, master barber, 

cosmetology, nail technician, or wax technician 

instruction respectively, administered by the board or by a 

testing service acting on behalf of the board; and 

4. In accordance with § 54.1-204 of the Code of Virginia, 

each applicant shall disclose the following information 

regarding criminal convictions in Virginia and all other 

jurisdictions: 

a. All misdemeanor convictions involving moral 

turpitude, sexual offense, non-marijuana drug distribution, 

or physical injury within two years of the date of the 

application; and 

b. All felony convictions within 20 years of the date of 

application. 

Any plea of nolo contendere shall be considered a conviction 

for purposes of this subsection. The record of a conviction 

received from a court shall be accepted as prima facie 

evidence of a conviction or finding of guilt. The board, in its 

discretion, may deny licensure to any applicant in 

accordance with § 54.1-204 of the Code of Virginia. 

B. Instructors shall be required to maintain a barber, master 

barber, cosmetology, nail technician, or wax technician 

license, respectively. 

18VAC41-20-120. General requirements for a shop or 

salon license. 

A. Any firm wishing to operate a barbershop, cosmetology 

salon, nail salon, or waxing salon shall obtain a shop or salon 

license in compliance with § 54.1-704.1 of the Code of 

Virginia and shall meet the following qualifications in order to 

receive a license: 

1. The applicant and all members of the responsible 

management shall be in good standing as a licensed shop or 

salon in Virginia and all other jurisdictions where licensed. 

The applicant and all members of the responsible 

management shall disclose to the board at the time of 

application for licensure any disciplinary action taken in 

Virginia and all other jurisdictions in connection with the 

applicant's operation of any barbershop, cosmetology salon, 

nail salon, or waxing salon or practice of the profession. This 

includes monetary penalties, fines, suspensions, revocations, 

surrender of a license in connection with a disciplinary 

action, or voluntary termination of a license. The applicant 

shall disclose to the board at the time of application for 

licensure if the applicant or any member of the responsible 

management has been previously licensed in Virginia as a 

barbershop, cosmetology salon, nail salon, or waxing salon. 

Upon review of the applicant's and all members of the 

responsible management's prior disciplinary action, the 

board, in its discretion, may deny licensure to any applicant 

wherein it deems the applicant is unfit or unsuited to engage 

in the operation of a barbershop, cosmetology salon, nail 

salon, or waxing salon. The board will decide each case by 

taking into account the totality of the circumstances. Any 

plea of nolo contendere or comparable plea shall be 

considered a disciplinary action for the purposes of this 

section. The applicant shall provide a certified copy of a final 

order, decree, or case decision by a court, regulatory agency, 

or board with the lawful authority to issue such order, 

decree, or case decision, and such copy shall be admissible 

as prima facie evidence of such disciplinary action. 

2. The applicant shall disclose his the applicant's physical 

address. A post office box is not acceptable. 

3. The applicant shall sign, as part of the application, a 

statement certifying that the applicant has read and 

understands the Virginia barber and cosmetology license 

laws and this chapter. 

4. In accordance with § 54.1-204 of the Code of Virginia, 

each applicant shall disclose the following information about 

the firm and all members of the responsible management 

regarding criminal convictions in Virginia and all other 

jurisdictions: 

a. All misdemeanor convictions involving moral 

turpitude, sexual offense, non-marijuana drug distribution, 

or physical injury within two years of the date of the 

application; and 
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b. All felony convictions within 20 years of the date of 

application. 

Any plea of nolo contendere shall be considered a conviction 

for purposes of this subsection. The record of a conviction 

received from a court shall be accepted as prima facie 

evidence of a conviction or finding of guilt. The board, in its 

discretion, may deny licensure to any applicant in 

accordance with § 54.1-204 of the Code of Virginia. 

5. The applicant shall disclose the firm's responsible 

management. 

B. Shop or salon licenses are issued to firms as defined in this 

chapter and shall not be transferable and shall bear the same 

name and address of the business. Any changes in the name or 

address of the shop or salon shall be reported to the board in 

writing within 30 days of such changes. The board shall not be 

responsible for the licensee's, certificate holder's, or permit 

holder's failure to receive notices, communications, and 

correspondence caused by the licensee's, certificate holder's, or 

permit holder's failure to promptly notify the board in writing 

of any change of name or address or for any other reason 

beyond the control of the board. 

C. Whenever the legal business entity holding the license is 

dissolved or altered to form a new business entity, the original 

license becomes void and shall be returned to the board within 

30 days of the change. Additionally, the firm shall apply for a 

new license, within 30 days of the change in the business 

entity. Such changes include: 

1. Death of a sole proprietor; 

2. Death or withdrawal of a general partner in a general 

partnership or the managing partner in a limited partnership; 

and 

3. Conversion, formation, or dissolution of a corporation, a 

limited liability company, an association, or any other 

business entity recognized under the laws of the 

Commonwealth of Virginia. 

D. Any change in the officers of a corporation, managers of a 

limited liability company, or officers or directors of an 

association shall be reported to the board in writing within 30 

days of the change. 

E. The board or any of its agents shall be allowed to inspect 

during reasonable hours any licensed shop or salon for 

compliance with provisions of Chapter 7 (§ 54.1-700 et seq.) 

of Title 54.1 of the Code of Virginia or this chapter. For 

purposes of a board inspection, "reasonable hours" means the 

hours between 9 a.m. and 5 p.m.; however, if the licensee 

generally is not open to the public substantially during the 

same hours, "reasonable hours" shall mean the business hours 

when the licensee is open to the public. 

18VAC41-20-130. General requirements for a school 

license. 

A. Any firm wishing to operate a barber, cosmetology, nail 

technician, or wax technician school shall submit an 

application to the board at least 60 days prior to the date for 

which approval is sought, obtain a school license in 

compliance with § 54.1-704.2 of the Code of Virginia, and 

meet the following qualifications in order to receive a license: 

1. The applicant and all members of the responsible 

management shall be in good standing as a licensed school 

in Virginia and all other jurisdiction where licensed. The 

applicant and all members of the responsible management 

shall disclose to the board at the time of application for 

licensure any disciplinary action taken in Virginia and all 

other jurisdictions in connection with the applicant's 

operation of any barbering, cosmetology, nail, or waxing 

school or practice of the profession. This includes to 

monetary penalties, fines, suspensions, revocations, 

surrender of a license in connection with a disciplinary 

action, or voluntary termination of a license. The applicant 

shall disclose to the board at the time of application for 

licensure if the applicant or any member of the responsible 

management has been previously licensed in Virginia as a 

barbering, cosmetology, nail, or waxing school. 

Upon review of the applicant's and all members of the 

responsible management's prior disciplinary action, the 

board, in its discretion, may deny licensure to any applicant 

wherein the board deems the applicant is unfit or unsuited to 

engage in the operation of a barbering, cosmetology, nail, or 

waxing school. The board will decide each case by taking 

into account the totality of the circumstances. Any plea of 

nolo contendere or comparable plea shall be considered a 

disciplinary action for the purposes of this section. The 

applicant shall provide a certified copy of a final order, 

decree, or case decision by a court, regulatory agency, or 

board with the lawful authority to issue such order, decree, 

or case decision, and such copy shall be admissible as prima 

facie evidence of such disciplinary action. 

2. The applicant shall disclose the applicant's physical 

address. A post office box is not acceptable. 

3. The applicant shall sign, as part of the application, a 

statement certifying that the applicant has read and 

understands the Virginia barber and cosmetology license 

laws and this chapter. 

4. In accordance with § 54.1-204 of the Code of Virginia, 

each applicant shall disclose the following information about 

the firm and all members of the responsible management 

regarding criminal convictions in Virginia and all other 

jurisdictions: 

a. All misdemeanor convictions involving moral 

turpitude, sexual offense, non-marijuana drug distribution, 
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or physical injury within two years of the date of the 

application; and 

b. All felony convictions within 20 years of the date of 

application. 

Any plea of nolo contendere shall be considered a conviction 

for purposes of this subsection. The record of a conviction 

received from a court shall be accepted as prima facie 

evidence of a conviction or finding of guilt. The board, in its 

discretion, may deny licensure to any applicant in 

accordance with § 54.1-204 of the Code of Virginia. 

5. The applicant shall disclose the firm's responsible 

management. 

B. Barber, cosmetology, nail technician, and wax technician 

school licenses are issued to firms as defined in this chapter, 

shall not be transferable, and shall bear the same name and 

address as the school. Any changes in the name or the address 

of record or principal place of business of the school shall be 

reported to the board in writing within 30 days of such change. 

The board shall not be responsible for the licensee's, certificate 

holder's, or permit holder's failure to receive notices, 

communications, and correspondence caused by the licensee's, 

certificate holder's, or permit holder's failure to promptly notify 

the board in writing of any change of name or address or for 

any other reason beyond the control of the board. The name of 

the school must indicate that it is an educational institution. All 

signs, or other advertisements, must reflect the name as 

indicated on the license issued by the board and contain 

language indicating it is an educational institution. 

C. Whenever the legal business entity holding the license is 

dissolved or altered to form a new business entity, the original 

license becomes void and shall be returned to the board within 

30 days of the change. Additionally, the firm shall apply for a 

new license within 30 days of the change in business entity. 

Such changes include: 

1. Death of a sole proprietor; 

2. Death or withdrawal of a general partner in a general 

partnership or the managing partner in a limited partnership; 

and 

3. Conversion, formation, or dissolution of a corporation, a 

limited liability company, an association, or any other 

business entity recognized under the laws of the 

Commonwealth of Virginia. 

D. Any change in the officers of a corporation, managers of a 

limited liability company, or officers or directors of an 

association shall be reported to the board in writing within 30 

days of the change. 

E. Barber schools, cosmetology schools, nail schools, or 

waxing schools under the Virginia Department of Education 

shall be exempted from licensure requirements. 

F. The board or any of its agents shall be allowed to inspect 

during reasonable hours any licensed school for compliance 

with provisions of Chapter 7 (§ 54.1-700 et seq.) of Title 54.1 

of the Code of Virginia or this chapter. For purposes of a board 

inspection, "reasonable hours" means the hours between 9 a.m. 

and 5 p.m.; however, if the licensee generally is not open to the 

public substantially during the same hours, "reasonable hours" 

shall mean the business hours when the licensee is open to the 

public. 

18VAC41-20-280. Grounds for license revocation or 

suspension; denial of application, renewal, or 

reinstatement; or imposition of a monetary penalty. 

The board may, in considering the totality of the 

circumstances, fine any licensee, certificate holder, or permit 

holder; suspend or revoke or refuse to renew or reinstate any 

license, certificate, or permit; or deny any application issued 

under the provisions of Chapter 7 (§ 54.1-700 et seq.) of Title 

54.1 of the Code of Virginia and this chapter if it finds that the 

licensee, certificate holder, permit holder, or applicant: 

1. Is incompetent, or negligent in practice, or incapable 

mentally or physically, as those terms are generally 

understood in the profession, to practice as a barber, master 

barber, cosmetologist, nail technician, or wax technician, or 

to operate a shop, salon, or school; 

2. Is convicted of fraud or deceit in the practice or teaching 

of barbering, master barbering, cosmetology, nail care, or 

waxing or fails to teach the curriculum as provided for in this 

chapter; 

3. Attempts to obtain, obtained, renewed or reinstated a 

license, certificate, or temporary license by false or 

fraudulent representation; 

4. Violates or induces others to violate, or cooperates with 

others in violating, any of the provisions of this chapter or 

Chapter 7 (§ 54.1-700 et seq.) of Title 54.1 of the Code of 

Virginia or any local ordinance or regulation governing 

standards of health and sanitation of the establishment in 

which any barber, master barber, cosmetologist, nail 

technician, or wax technician may practice or offer to 

practice; 

5. Offers, gives, or promises anything of value or benefit to 

any federal, state, or local employee for the purpose of 

influencing that employee to circumvent, in the performance 

of his duties, any federal, state, or local law, regulation, or 

ordinance governing barbering, master barbering, 

cosmetology, nail care, or waxing as defined in § 54.1-700 

of the Code of Virginia; 

6. Fails to respond to the board or any of its agents or 

provides false, misleading, or incomplete information to an 

inquiry by the board or any of its agents; 

7. Fails or refuses to allow the board or any of its agents to 

inspect during reasonable hours any licensed shop, salon, or 
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school for compliance with provisions of Chapter 7 (§ 54.1-

700 et seq.) or this chapter; 

8. Fails to produce, upon request or demand of the board or 

any of its agents, any document, book, record, or copy 

thereof in a licensee's or owner's possession or maintained in 

accordance with these regulations; 

9. Fails to notify the board of a change of name or address in 

writing within 30 days of the change for each and every 

license, certificate, or permit; 

10. Makes any misrepresentation or publishes or causes to 

be published any advertisement that is false, deceptive, or 

misleading; 

11. Fails to notify the board in writing within 30 days of the 

suspension, revocation, or surrender of a license, certificate, 

or permit in connection with a disciplinary action in any 

jurisdiction or of any license, certificate, or permit that has 

been the subject of disciplinary action in any jurisdiction; 

12. Has been convicted or found guilty, regardless of the 

manner of adjudication in Virginia or any other jurisdiction 

of the United States, of a misdemeanor involving moral 

turpitude, sexual offense, non-marijuana drug distribution, 

or physical injury or any felony, there being no appeal 

pending therefrom or the time for appeal having elapsed. 

Review of convictions shall be subject to the requirements 

of § 54.1-204 of the Code of Virginia. Any plea of nolo 

contendere shall be considered a conviction for purposes of 

this subdivision. The record of a conviction certified or 

authenticated in such form as to be admissible in evidence 

under the laws of the jurisdiction where convicted shall be 

admissible as prima facie evidence of such conviction or 

guilt; 

13. Fails to inform the board in writing within 30 days of 

pleading guilty or nolo contendere or being convicted or 

found guilty regardless of adjudication of any convictions as 

stated in subdivision 12 of this section; 

14. Allows, as responsible management of a shop, salon, or 

school, a person who has not obtained a license or a 

temporary permit to practice as a barber, master barber, 

cosmetologist, nail technician, or wax technician unless the 

person is duly enrolled as a registered apprentice; 

15. Allows, as responsible management of a school, a person 

who has not obtained an instructor certificate or a temporary 

permit to practice as a barber, master barber, cosmetologist, 

nail technician, or wax technician instructor; 

16. Fails to take sufficient measures to prevent transmission 

of communicable or infectious diseases or fails to comply 

with sanitary requirements provided for in this chapter or 

any local, state, or federal law or regulation governing the 

standards of health and sanitation for the practices of 

barbering, master barbering, cosmetology, nail care, or 

waxing, or the operation of barbershops, cosmetology 

salons, nail salons, or waxing salons; or 

17. Fails to comply with all procedures established by the 

board and the testing service with regard to conduct at any 

board examination. 

18VAC41-50-20. General requirements for tattooer, 

limited term tattooer, permanent cosmetic tattooer, or 

master permanent cosmetic tattoer. 

A. In order to receive a license as a tattooer, limited term 

tattooer, permanent cosmetic tattooer, or master permanent 

cosmetic tattooer in compliance with § 54.1-703 of the Code 

of Virginia, an applicant must meet the following 

qualifications: 

1. The applicant must be in good standing as a tattooer, 

limited term tattooer, permanent cosmetic tattooer, or master 

permanent cosmetic tattooer in every jurisdiction where 

licensed, certified, or registered. The applicant shall disclose 

to the board at the time of application for licensure any 

disciplinary action taken in another jurisdiction in 

connection with the applicant's practice as a tattooer, limited 

term tattooer, permanent cosmetic tattooer, or master 

permanent cosmetic tattooer. The applicant shall disclose to 

the board at the time of application for licensure whether he 

has been previously licensed in Virginia as a tattooer, limited 

term tattooer, permanent cosmetic tattooer, or master 

permanent cosmetic tattooer. 

2. The applicant shall disclose his the applicant's physical 

address. A post office box is not acceptable. 

3. The applicant shall sign, as part of the application, a 

statement certifying that the applicant has read and 

understands the Virginia tattooing license laws and the 

board's tattooing regulations. 

4. In accordance with § 54.1-204 of the Code of Virginia, the 

applicant must not have been convicted in any jurisdiction 

of a misdemeanor or felony or non-marijuana misdemeanor 

that directly relates to the profession of tattooing. The board 

shall have the authority to determine, based upon all the 

information available, including the applicant's record of 

prior convictions, if the applicant is unfit or unsuited to 

engage in the profession of tattooing. The board will decide 

each case by taking into account the totality of the 

circumstances. Any plea of nolo contendere shall be 

considered a conviction for the purposes of this section. The 

applicant shall provide a certified copy of a final order, 

decree or case decision by a court or regulatory agency with 

the lawful authority to issue such order, decree or case 

decision, and such copy shall be admissible as prima facie 

evidence of such conviction. This record shall be forwarded 

by the applicant to the board within 10 days after all appeal 

rights have expired. 
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5. The applicant shall provide evidence satisfactory to the 

board that the applicant has passed the board approved 

examination, administered either by the board or by a 

designated testing service. 

6. Persons who (i) make application for licensure between 

October 1, 2006, and September 30, 2007; (ii) have 

completed three years of documented work experience 

within the preceding five years as a tattooer; and (iii) have 

completed a minimum of five hours of health education to 

include but not limited to bloodborne disease, sterilization, 

and aseptic techniques related to tattooing and first aid and 

CPR that is acceptable to the board are not required to 

complete subdivision 5 of this subsection. 

B. Eligibility to sit for board-approved examination. 

1. Training in the Commonwealth of Virginia. 

a. Any person completing an approved tattooing 

apprenticeship program in a Virginia licensed tattoo parlor 

or completing an approved tattooing training program in a 

Virginia licensed school of tattooing, or completing a 

permanent cosmetic tattooing training program in a 

Virginia licensed permanent cosmetic tattooing school 

shall be eligible to sit for the applicable examination. 

b. Any person completing master permanent cosmetic 

training that is acceptable to the board shall be eligible to 

sit for the examination. Training should be conducted in a 

permanent facility. 

2. Training outside of the Commonwealth of Virginia, but 

within the United States and its territories. 

a. Any person completing a tattooing or permanent 

cosmetic tattooing training or tattooing apprenticeship 

program that is substantially equivalent to the Virginia 

program but is outside of the Commonwealth of Virginia 

must submit to the board documentation of the successful 

completion of training or apprenticeship to be eligible for 

examination. If less than required hours of tattooing or 

permanent cosmetic tattooing training or tattooing 

apprenticeship was completed, an applicant must submit 

(i) documentation acceptable to the board verifying the 

completion of a substantially equivalent tattooing training 

or tattooing apprenticeship or permanent cosmetic 

tattooing training or documentation of three years of work 

experience within the preceding five years as a tattooer, 

and (ii) documentation of completion of a minimum of 

five hours of health education to include but not limited to 

blood-borne disease, sterilization, and aseptic techniques 

related to tattooing and first aid and CPR that is acceptable 

to the board in order to be eligible for examination. 

b. Any person completing master permanent cosmetic 

training that is acceptable to the board shall be eligible to 

sit for the examination. Training should be conducted in a 

permanent facility. 

18VAC41-50-420. Grounds for license or certificate 

revocation, suspension or probation; denial of application, 

renew. 

A. The board may, in considering the totality of the 

circumstances, fine any licensee or certificate holder and 

suspend, place on probation or revoke or refuse to renew or 

reinstate any license or certificate, or deny any application 

issued under the provisions of Chapter 7 (§ 54.1-700 et seq.) 

of Title 54.1 of the Code of Virginia and the regulations of the 

board if the board finds that: 

1. The licensee, certificate holder, or applicant is 

incompetent, negligent in practice, or incapable mentally or 

physically, as those terms are generally understood in the 

profession, to practice as a tattooer, limited term tattooer, 

tattooer apprentice, permanent cosmetic tattooer, or master 

permanent cosmetic tattooer; 

2. The licensee, certificate holder, or applicant is convicted 

of fraud or deceit in the practice of tattooing; 

3. The licensee, certificate holder, or applicant obtained, 

attempted to obtain, renewed or reinstated a license by false 

or fraudulent representation; 

4. The licensee, certificate holder, or applicant violates or 

induces others to violate, or cooperates with others in 

violating, any of the provisions of this chapter or Chapter 7 

(§ 54.1-700 et seq.) of Title 54.1 of the Code of Virginia or 

any local ordinance or regulation governing standards of 

health and sanitation of the establishment in which tattooers 

may practice or offer to practice; 

5. The licensee, certificate holder, or applicant fails to 

produce, upon request or demand of the board or any of its 

agents, any document, book, record, or copy thereof in a 

licensee's or owner's possession or maintained in accordance 

with this chapter; 

6. A licensee or certificate holder fails to notify the board of 

a change of name or address in writing within 30 days of the 

change for each and every license. The board shall not be 

responsible for the licensee's or certificate holder's failure to 

receive notices, communications and correspondence caused 

by the licensees' or certificate holder's failure to promptly 

notify the board in writing of any change of name or address 

or for any other reason beyond the control of the board; 

7. The licensee, certificate holder, or applicant publishes or 

causes to be published any advertisement that is false, 

deceptive, or misleading; 

8. The licensee, certificate holder, or applicant fails to notify 

the board in writing within 30 days of the suspension, 

revocation, or surrender of a license or certificate in 

connection with a disciplinary action in any other 

jurisdiction or of any license or certificate that has been the 

subject of disciplinary action in any other jurisdiction; or 
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9. In accordance with § 54.1-204 of the Code of Virginia, the 

licensee or certificate holder has been convicted in any 

jurisdiction of a misdemeanor or felony or non-marijuana 

misdemeanor that directly relates to the profession of 

tattooing. The board shall have the authority to determine, 

based upon all the information available, including the 

regulant's record of prior convictions, if the regulant is unfit 

or unsuited to engage in the profession of tattooing or 

permanent cosmetic tattooing. The board will decide each 

case by taking into account the totality of the circumstances. 

Any plea of nolo contendere shall be considered a conviction 

for the purposes of this section. The applicant shall provide 

a certified copy of a final order, decree or case decision by a 

court or regulatory agency with the lawful authority to issue 

such order, decree or case decision, and such copy shall be 

admissible as prima facie evidence of such conviction. This 

record shall be forwarded by the applicant to the board 

within 10 days after all appeal rights have expired. 

B. In addition to subsection A of this section, the board may, 

in considering the totality of the circumstances, revoke, 

suspend, place on probation or refuse to renew or reinstate the 

license of any tattoo parlor, limited term tattoo parlor, or 

permanent cosmetic tattoo salon or impose a fine as permitted 

by law, or both, if the board finds that: 

1. The owner or operator of the tattoo parlor, limited term 

tattoo parlor, or permanent cosmetic tattoo salon fails to 

comply with the facility requirements of tattoo parlors, 

limited term tattoo parlors, or permanent cosmetic tattoo 

salons provided for in this chapter or in any local ordinances; 

or 

2. The owner or operator allows a person who has not 

obtained a license to practice as a tattooer, limited term 

tattooer, permanent cosmetic tattooer, or master permanent 

cosmetic tattooer unless the person is duly enrolled as an 

apprentice. 

C. In addition to subsection A of this section, the board may, 

in considering the totality of the circumstances, revoke, 

suspend, place on probation, or refuse to renew or reinstate the 

license of any school or impose a fine as permitted by law, or 

both, if the board finds that: 

1. An instructor of the approved school fails to teach the 

curriculum as provided for in this chapter; 

2. The owner or director of the approved school permits or 

allows a person to teach in the school without a current 

tattooing instructor certificate; or 

3. The instructor, owner or director is guilty of fraud or 

deceit in the teaching of tattooing. 

D. In addition to subsection A of this section, the board may, 

in considering the totality of the circumstances, revoke, 

suspend, place on probation, or refuse to renew or reinstate the 

license of any licensee or impose a fine as permitted by law, or 

both, if the board finds that the licensee fails to take sufficient 

measures to prevent transmission of communicable or 

infectious diseases or fails to comply with any local, state or 

federal law or regulation governing the standards of health and 

sanitation for the practice of tattooing. 

18VAC41-60-20. General requirements. 

A. In order to receive a license as a body piercer in 

compliance with § 54.1-703 of the Code of Virginia, an 

applicant must meet the following qualifications: 

1. The applicant shall be in good standing as a body piercer 

in every jurisdiction where licensed, certified, or registered. 

The applicant shall disclose to the board at the time of 

application for licensure any disciplinary action taken in 

another jurisdiction in connection with the applicant's 

practice as a body piercer. The applicant shall disclose to the 

board at the time of application for licensure whether he has 

been previously licensed in Virginia as a body piercer. 

2. The applicant shall disclose his the applicant's physical 

address. A post office box is not acceptable. 

3. The applicant shall sign, as part of the application, a 

statement certifying that the applicant has read and 

understands the Virginia body-piercing license laws and the 

board's body-piercing regulations. 

4. In accordance with § 54.1-204 of the Code of Virginia, 

each applicant shall disclose a conviction, in any 

jurisdiction, of any misdemeanor or felony or non-marijuana 

misdemeanor. Any plea of nolo contendere shall be 

considered a conviction for this purpose of this section. The 

record of a conviction certified or authenticated in such form 

as to be admissible in evidence under the laws of the 

jurisdiction where convicted shall be admissible as prima 

facie evidence of such guilt. The board, at its discretion, may 

deny licensure or certification to any applicant in accordance 

with § 54.1-204 of the Code of Virginia. 

5. The applicant shall provide evidence satisfactory to the 

board that the applicant has passed the board-approved 

examination, administered either by the board or by a 

designated testing service. 

6. Persons who (i) make application between April 1, 2007, 

and March 31, 2008; (ii) have completed three years of 

documented work experience within the preceding five years 

as a body piercer; and (iii) have completed a minimum of 

five hours of health education including but not limited to 

blood borne disease, sterilization, and aseptic techniques 

related to body piercing and first aid and CPR that is 

acceptable to the board are not required to complete 

subdivision 5 of this subsection. 

B. Eligibility to sit for board-approved body-piercer 

examination. 
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1. Training in the Commonwealth of Virginia. Any person 

completing an approved body-piercing apprenticeship 

program in a Virginia licensed body-piercing salon shall be 

eligible to sit for the examination. 

2. Training outside of the Commonwealth of Virginia, but 

within the United States and its territories. Any person 

completing a body-piercing training or apprenticeship 

program that is substantially equivalent to the Virginia 

program but is outside of the Commonwealth of Virginia 

must submit to the board documentation of the successful 

completion of training or apprenticeship to be eligible for 

examination. If less than required hours of body-piercing 

training or body-piercing apprenticeship was completed, an 

applicant must submit (i) documentation acceptable to the 

board verifying the completion of a substantially equivalent 

body-piercing training or body-piercing apprenticeship or 

documentation of three years of work experience within the 

preceding five years as a body piercer and (ii) documentation 

of completion of a minimum of five hours of health 

education to include but not limited to blood borne disease, 

sterilization, and aseptic techniques related to body piercing 

and first aid and CPR that is acceptable to the board in order 

to be eligible for examination. 

C. In order to receive a license as a body piercer ear only, an 

applicant must meet the following qualifications: 

1. The applicant shall have completed a minimum of three 

hours of health education to include but not limited to blood 

borne disease and first aid that is acceptable to the board and 

provide verification of training on a mechanized, 

presterilized ear-piercing system that penetrates the outer 

perimeter or lobe of the ear or both and aftercare of piercing. 

2. The applicant shall be in good standing in every 

jurisdiction where licensed, certified, or registered. The 

applicant shall disclose to the board at the time of application 

for licensure any disciplinary action taken in another 

jurisdiction in connection with the applicant's licensed, 

certified, or registered practice. The applicant shall disclose 

to the board at the time of application for licensure whether 

he has been previously licensed in Virginia in any profession 

regulated by the board. 

3. The applicant shall disclose his the applicant's physical 

address. A post office box is not acceptable. 

4. The applicant shall sign, as part of the application, a 

statement certifying that the applicant has read and 

understands the Virginia body-piercing license laws and the 

board's body-piercing regulations. 

5. In accordance with § 54.1-204 of the Code of Virginia, 

each applicant shall disclose a conviction, in any 

jurisdiction, of any misdemeanor or felony or non-marijuana 

misdemeanor. Any plea of nolo contendere shall be 

considered a conviction for this purpose of this section. The 

record of a conviction certified or authenticated in such form 

as to be admissible in evidence under the laws of the 

jurisdiction where convicted shall be admissible as prima 

facie evidence of such guilt. The board, at its discretion, may 

deny licensure or certification to any applicant in accordance 

with § 54.1-204 of the Code of Virginia. 

18VAC41-60-220. Grounds for license revocation or 

suspension or probation; denial of application, renewal, or 

reinstatement; or imposition of a monetary penalty. 

A. The board may, in considering the totality of the 

circumstances, fine any licensee and suspend, place on 

probation or revoke or refuse to renew or reinstate any license, 

or deny any application issued under the provisions of Chapter 

7 (§ 54.1-700 et seq.) of Title 54.1 of the Code of Virginia and 

the regulations of the board if the board finds that: 

1. The licensee is incompetent or negligent in practice, or 

incapable mentally or physically, as those terms are 

generally understood in the profession, to practice as a body 

piercer or body piercer ear only; 

2. The licensee or applicant is convicted of fraud or deceit in 

the practice body piercing or body piercing ear only; 

3. The licensee or applicant attempted to obtain, obtained, 

renewed, or reinstated a license by false or fraudulent 

representation; 

4. The licensee or applicant violates or induces others to 

violate, or cooperates with others in violating, any of the 

provisions of this chapter or Chapter 7 (§ 54.1-700 et seq.) 

of Title 54.1 of the Code of Virginia or any local ordinance 

or regulation governing standards of health and sanitation of 

the establishment in which body piercers or body piercers 

ear only may practice or offer to practice; 

5. The licensee or applicant fails to produce, upon request or 

demand of the board or any of its agents, any document, 

book, record, or copy thereof in a licensee's or owner's 

possession or maintained in accordance with this chapter; 

6. A licensee fails to notify the board of a change of name or 

address in writing within 30 days of the change for each and 

every license. The board shall not be responsible for the 

licensee's failure to receive notices, communications and 

correspondence caused by the licensee's failure to promptly 

notify the board in writing of any change of name or address 

or for any other reason beyond the control of the board; 

7. The licensee or applicant publishes or causes to be 

published any advertisement that is false, deceptive, or 

misleading; 

8. The licensee or applicant fails to notify the board in 

writing within 30 days of the suspension, revocation, or 

surrender of a license, certificate, or permit in connection 

with a disciplinary action in any other jurisdiction or of any 

license, certificate, or permit which has been the subject of 

disciplinary action in any other jurisdiction; 
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9. The licensee or applicant has been convicted or found 

guilty in any jurisdiction of any misdemeanor or felony or 

non-marijuana misdemeanor. Any plea of nolo contendere 

shall be considered a conviction for the purpose of this 

section. The record of a conviction certified or authenticated 

in such form as to be admissible in evidence under the laws 

of the jurisdiction where convicted shall be admissible as 

prima facie evidence of such guilt; or 

10. The licensee, certificate holder, temporary license 

holder, or applicant fails to notify the board in writing within 

30 days that the licensee, certificate holder, temporary 

license holder, or applicant has pleaded guilty or nolo 

contendere or was convicted and found guilty of any 

misdemeanor or felony or non-marijuana misdemeanor. 

B. In addition to subsection A of this section, the board may, 

in considering the totality of the circumstances, revoke, 

suspend, place on probation, or refuse to renew or reinstate the 

license of any body-piercing salon or body-piercing ear only 

salon or impose a fine as permitted by law, or both, if the board 

finds that: 

1. The owner or operator of the body-piercing salon or body-

piercing ear only salon fails to comply with the facility 

requirements of body-piercing salons or body-piercing ear 

only salons provided for in this chapter or in any local 

ordinances; or 

2. The owner or operator allows a person who has not 

obtained a license to practice as a body piercer or body 

piercer ear only unless the person is duly enrolled as an 

apprentice. 

C. In addition to subsection A of this section, the board may, 

in considering the totality of the circumstances, revoke, 

suspend, place on probation, or refuse to renew or reinstate the 

license of any licensee or impose a fine as permitted by law, or 

both, if the board finds that the licensee fails to take sufficient 

measures to prevent transmission of communicable or 

infectious diseases or fails to comply with any local, state, or 

federal law or regulation governing the standards of health and 

sanitation for the practice of body piercing or body piercing ear 

only. 

18VAC41-70-20. General requirements for an esthetician 

license or master esthician license. 

A. Any individual wishing to engage in esthetics or master 

esthetics shall obtain a license in compliance with § 54.1-703 

of the Code of Virginia and meet the following qualifications: 

1. The applicant shall be in good standing as a licensed 

esthetician in Virginia and all other jurisdictions where 

licensed. The applicant shall disclose to the board at the time 

of application for licensure any disciplinary action taken in 

Virginia and all other jurisdictions in connection with the 

applicant's practice as an esthetician. This includes monetary 

penalties, fines, suspensions, revocations, surrender of a 

license in connection with a disciplinary action, or voluntary 

termination of a license. The applicant shall disclose to the 

board at the time of application for licensure whether he has 

been previously licensed in Virginia as an esthetician or 

master esthetician. 

Upon review of an applicant's prior disciplinary action, the 

board, in its discretion, may deny licensure to any applicant 

wherein it deems the applicant is unfit or unsuited to engage 

in esthetics or master esthetics. The board will decide each 

case by taking into account the totality of the circumstances. 

Any plea of nolo contendere or comparable plea shall be 

considered a disciplinary action for the purposes of this 

section. The applicant shall provide a certified copy of a final 

order, decree, or case decision by a court, regulatory agency, 

or board with the lawful authority to issue such order, 

decree, or case decision, and such copy shall be admissible 

as prima facie evidence of such disciplinary action. 

2. The applicant shall disclose his the applicant's physical 

address. A post office box is not acceptable. 

3. The applicant shall sign, as part of the application, a 

statement certifying that the applicant has read and 

understands the Virginia esthetics license laws and this 

chapter. 

4. In accordance with § 54.1-204 of the Code of Virginia, 

each applicant shall disclose the following information 

regarding criminal convictions in Virginia and all other 

jurisdictions: 

a. All misdemeanor convictions involving moral 

turpitude, sexual offense, non-marijuana drug distribution, 

or physical injury within two years of the date of the 

application; and 

b. All felony convictions within 20 years of the date of 

application. 

Any plea of nolo contendere shall be considered a conviction 

for purposes of this subsection. The record of a conviction 

received from a court shall be accepted as prima facie 

evidence of a conviction or finding of guilt. The board, in its 

discretion, may deny licensure to any applicant in 

accordance with § 54.1-204 of the Code of Virginia. 

5. The applicant shall provide evidence satisfactory to the 

board that the applicant has passed the board-approved 

examination requirement administered either by the board or 

by independent examiners. 

B. Eligibility to sit for board-approved examination. 

1. Training in the Commonwealth of Virginia. Any person 

completing an approved esthetics training program or a 

master esthetics training program in a Virginia licensed 

esthetics school shall be eligible for the applicable 

examination. 
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2. Training outside of the Commonwealth of Virginia. Any 

person completing esthetics training that is substantially 

equivalent to the Virginia program but is outside of the 

Commonwealth of Virginia must submit to the board 

documentation of the successful completion of training to be 

eligible for examination. If less than the required hours of 

esthetics training was completed, an applicant must submit 

a certificate, diploma, or other documentation acceptable to 

the board verifying the completion of a substantially 

equivalent esthetics course and documentation of six months 

of work experience as an esthetician in order to be eligible 

for the esthetician examination. 

18VAC41-70-80. General requirements for spa license. 

A. Any firm wishing to operate an esthetics spa shall obtain a 

spa license in compliance with § 54.1-704.1 of the Code of 

Virginia, and shall meet the following qualifications in order 

to receive a license: 

1. The applicant, and all members of the responsible 

management, shall be in good standing as a licensed spa in 

Virginia and all other jurisdictions where licensed. The 

applicant and all members of the responsible management 

shall disclose to the board at the time of application for 

licensure, any disciplinary action taken in Virginia and all 

other jurisdictions in connection with the applicant's 

operation of any esthetics spa or practice of the profession. 

This includes monetary penalties, fines, suspensions, 

revocations, surrender of a license in connection with a 

disciplinary action, or voluntary termination of a license. 

The applicant shall disclose to the board at the time of 

application for licensure if the applicant or any member of 

responsible management has been previously licensed in 

Virginia as an esthetics spa. 

Upon review of the applicant's and all members of the 

responsible management's prior disciplinary action, the 

board, in its discretion, may deny licensure to any applicant 

wherein it deems the applicant is unfit or unsuited to engage 

in the operation of an esthetics spa. The board will decide 

each case by taking into account the totality of the 

circumstances. Any plea of nolo contendere or comparable 

plea shall be considered a disciplinary action for the 

purposes of this section. The applicant shall provide a 

certified copy of a final order, decree, or case decision by a 

court, regulatory agency, or board with the lawful authority 

to issue such order, decree, or case decision, and such copy 

shall be admissible as prima facie evidence of such 

disciplinary action. 

2. The applicant shall disclose his the applicant's physical 

address. A post office box is not acceptable. 

3. The applicant shall sign, as part of the application, a 

statement certifying that the applicant has read and 

understands the Virginia esthetics license laws and this 

chapter. 

4. In accordance with § 54.1-204 of the Code of Virginia, 

each applicant shall disclose the following information about 

the firm and all members of the responsible management 

regarding criminal convictions in Virginia and all other 

jurisdictions: 

a. All misdemeanor convictions involving moral 

turpitude, sexual offense, non-marijuana drug distribution, 

or physical injury within two years of the date of the 

application; and 

b. All felony convictions within 20 years of the date of 

application. 

Any plea of nolo contendere shall be considered a conviction 

for purposes of this subsection. The record of a conviction 

received from a court shall be accepted as prima facie 

evidence of a conviction or finding of guilt. The board, in its 

discretion, may deny licensure to any applicant in 

accordance with § 54.1-204 of the Code of Virginia. 

5. The applicant shall disclose the firm's responsible 

management. 

B. Spa licenses are issued to firms as defined in this chapter 

and shall not be transferable and shall bear the same name and 

address of the business. Any changes in the name or address of 

the spa shall be reported to the board in writing within 30 days 

of such changes. The board shall not be responsible for the 

licensee's, certificate holder's, or permit holder's failure to 

receive notices, communications, and correspondence caused 

by the licensee's, certificate holder's, or permit holder's failure 

to promptly notify the board in writing of any change of name 

or address or for any other reason beyond the control of the 

board. 

C. Whenever the legal business entity holding the license is 

dissolved or altered to form a new business entity, the original 

license becomes void and shall be returned to the board within 

30 days of the change. Additionally, the firm shall apply for a 

new license, within 30 days of the change in the business 

entity. Such changes include: 

1. Death of a sole proprietor; 

2. Death or withdrawal of a general partner in a general 

partnership or the managing partner in a limited partnership; 

and 

3. Conversion, formation, or dissolution of a corporation, a 

limited liability company, association, or any other business 

entity recognized under the laws of the Commonwealth of 

Virginia. 

D. Any change in the officers of a corporation, managers of a 

limited liability company, or officers or directors of an 

association shall be reported to the board in writing within 30 

days of the change. 

E. The board or any of its agents shall be allowed to inspect 

during reasonable hours any licensed spa for compliance with 
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provisions of Chapter 7 (§ 54.1-700 et seq.) of Title 54.1 of the 

Code of Virginia or this chapter. For purposes of a board 

inspection, "reasonable hours" means the hours between 9 a.m. 

and 5 p.m.; however, if the licensee generally is not open to the 

public substantially during the same hours, "reasonable hours" 

shall mean the business hours when the licensee is open to the 

public. 

18VAC41-70-90. General requirements for a school license. 

A. Any firm wishing to operate an esthetics school shall 

submit an application to the board at least 60 days prior to the 

date for which approval is sought, obtain a school license in 

compliance with § 54.1-704.2 of the Code of Virginia, and 

meet the following qualifications in order to receive a license: 

1. The applicant and all members of the responsible 

management shall be in good standing as a licensed school 

in Virginia and all other jurisdictions where licensed. The 

applicant and all members of the responsible management 

shall disclose to the board at the time of application for 

licensure, any disciplinary action taken in Virginia and all 

other jurisdictions in connection with the applicant's 

operation of any esthetics school or practice of the 

profession. This includes monetary penalties, fines, 

suspensions, revocations, surrender of a license in 

connection with a disciplinary action, or voluntary 

termination of a license. The applicant shall disclose to the 

board at the time of application for licensure if the applicant 

or any member of the responsible management has been 

previously licensed in Virginia as an esthetics school. 

Upon review of the applicant's and all members of the 

responsible management's prior disciplinary action, the 

board, in its discretion, may deny licensure to any applicant 

wherein it deems the applicant is unfit or unsuited to engage 

in the operation of an esthetics school. The board will decide 

each case by taking into account the totality of the 

circumstances. Any plea of nolo contendere or comparable 

plea shall be considered a disciplinary action for the 

purposes of this section. The applicant shall provide a 

certified copy of a final order, decree, or case decision by a 

court, regulatory agency, or board with the lawful authority 

to issue such order, decree, or case decision, and such copy 

shall be admissible as prima facie evidence of such 

disciplinary action. 

2. The applicant shall disclose his the applicant's physical 

address. A post office box is not acceptable. 

3. The applicant shall sign, as part of the application, a 

statement certifying that the applicant has read and 

understands the Virginia esthetics license laws and this 

chapter. 

4. In accordance with § 54.1-204 of the Code of Virginia, 

each applicant shall disclose the following information about 

the firm and all members of the responsible management 

regarding criminal convictions in Virginia and all other 

jurisdictions: 

a. All misdemeanor convictions involving moral 

turpitude, sexual offense, non-marijuana drug distribution, 

or physical injury within two years of the date of the 

application; and 

b. All felony convictions within 20 years of the date of 

application. 

Any plea of nolo contendere shall be considered a conviction 

for purposes of this subsection. The record of a conviction 

received from a court shall be accepted as prima facie 

evidence of a conviction or finding of guilt. The board, in its 

discretion, may deny licensure to any applicant in 

accordance with § 54.1-204 of the Code of Virginia. 

5. The applicant shall disclose the firm's responsible 

management. 

B. Esthetics school licenses are issued to firms as defined in 

this chapter and shall not be transferable and shall bear the 

same name and address as the school. Any changes in the name 

or the address of record or principal place of business of the 

school shall be reported to the board in writing within 30 days 

of such change. The board shall not be responsible for the 

licensee's, certificate holder's, or permit holder's failure to 

receive notices, communications, and correspondence caused 

by the licensee's, certificate holder's, or permit holder's failure 

to promptly notify the board in writing of any change of name 

or address or for any other reason beyond the control of the 

board. The name of the school must indicate that it is an 

educational institution. All signs or other advertisements must 

reflect the name as indicated on the license issued by the board 

and contain language indicating it is an educational institution. 

C. Whenever the legal business entity holding the license is 

dissolved or altered to form a new business entity, the original 

license becomes void and shall be returned to the board within 

30 days of the change. Additionally, the firm shall apply for a 

new license within 30 days of the change in business entity. 

Such changes include: 

1. Death of a sole proprietor; 

2. Death or withdrawal of a general partner in a general 

partnership or the managing partner in a limited partnership; 

and 

3. Conversion, formation, or dissolution of a corporation, a 

limited liability company, an association, or any other 

business entity recognized under the laws of the 

Commonwealth of Virginia. 

D. Any change in the officers of a corporation, managers of a 

limited liability company, or officers or directors of an 

association shall be reported to the board in writing within 30 

days of the change. 
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E. Esthetics schools under the Virginia Department of 

Education shall be exempted from licensure requirements. 

F. The board or any of its agents shall be allowed to inspect 

during reasonable hours any licensed school for compliance 

with provisions of Chapter 7 (§ 54.1-700 et seq.) of Title 54.1 

of the Code of Virginia or this chapter. For purposes of a board 

inspection, "reasonable hours" means the hours between 9 a.m. 

and 5 p.m.; however, if the licensee generally is not open to the 

public substantially during the same hours, "reasonable hours" 

shall mean the business hours when the licensee is open to the 

public. 

18VAC41-70-100. General requirements for an esthetics 

instructor certificate. 

A. Any individual wishing to engage in esthetics instruction 

shall meet the following qualifications: 

1. The applicant shall be in good standing as a licensed 

esthetician in Virginia and all other jurisdictions where 

licensed. The applicant shall disclose to the board at the time 

of application for licensure any disciplinary action taken in 

Virginia and all other jurisdictions in connection with the 

applicant's practice as an esthetician. This includes monetary 

penalties, fines, suspensions, revocations, surrender of a 

license in connection with a disciplinary action, or voluntary 

termination of a license. The applicant shall disclose to the 

board at the time of application for licensure whether he has 

been previously licensed in Virginia as an esthetician or 

master esthetician. 

Upon review of the applicant's prior disciplinary action, the 

board, in its discretion, may deny licensure to any applicant 

wherein it deems the applicant is unfit or unsuited to engage 

in esthetics. The board will decide each case by taking into 

account the totality of the circumstances. Any plea of nolo 

contendere or comparable plea shall be considered a 

disciplinary action for the purposes of this section. The 

applicant shall provide a certified copy of a final order, 

decree, or case decision by a court, regulatory agency, or 

board with the lawful authority to issue such order, decree, 

or case decision, and such copy shall be admissible as prima 

facie evidence of such disciplinary action; 

2. The applicant shall hold a current Virginia esthetics 

license; 

3. The applicant shall complete one of the following 

qualifications: 

a. Pass a course in teaching techniques at the 

postsecondary educational level; or 

b. Complete an instructor training course approved by the 

Virginia Board for Barbers and Cosmetology under the 

supervision of a certified esthetics instructor or master 

esthetics instructor in an esthetics school and pass an 

examination in esthetics instruction administered by the 

board or by a testing service acting on behalf of the board; 

and 

4. In accordance with § 54.1-204 of the Code of Virginia, 

each applicant shall disclose the following information 

regarding criminal convictions in Virginia and all other 

jurisdictions: 

a. All misdemeanor convictions involving moral 

turpitude, sexual offense, non-marijuana drug distribution, 

or physical injury within two years of the date of the 

application; and 

b. All felony convictions within 20 years of the date of 

application. 

Any plea of nolo contendere shall be considered a conviction 

for purposes of this subsection. The record of a conviction 

received from a court shall be accepted as prima facie 

evidence of a conviction or finding of guilt. The board, in its 

discretion, may deny licensure to any applicant in 

accordance with § 54.1-204 of the Code of Virginia. 

B. Instructors shall be required to maintain a Virginia 

esthetician license. 

18VAC41-70-110. General requirements for a master 

esthetics instructor certificate. 

A. Any individual wishing to engage in master esthetics 

instruction shall meet the following qualifications: 

1. The applicant shall be in good standing as a licensed 

master esthetician in Virginia and all other jurisdictions 

where licensed. The applicant shall disclose to the board at 

the time of application for licensure any disciplinary action 

taken in Virginia and all other jurisdictions in connection 

with the applicant's practice as a master esthetician. This 

includes monetary penalties, fines, suspensions, revocations, 

surrender of a license in connection with a disciplinary 

action, or voluntary termination of a license. The applicant 

shall disclose to the board at the time of application for 

licensure if the applicant has been previously licensed in 

Virginia as an esthetician or master esthetician. 

Upon review of the applicant's prior disciplinary action, the 

board, in its discretion, may deny licensure to any applicant 

wherein it deems the applicant is unfit or unsuited to engage 

in esthetics or master esthetics. The board will decide each 

case by taking into account the totality of the circumstances. 

Any plea of nolo contendere or comparable plea shall be 

considered a disciplinary action for the purposes of this 

section. The applicant shall provide a certified copy of a final 

order, decree, or case decision by a court, regulatory agency, 

or board with the lawful authority to issue such order, 

decree, or case decision, and such copy shall be admissible 

as prima facie evidence of such disciplinary action; 

2. The applicant shall hold a current Virginia master 

esthetician license; 
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3. The applicant shall complete one of the following 

qualifications: 

a. Pass a course in teaching techniques at the 

postsecondary educational level; or 

b. Complete an instructor training course approved by the 

Virginia Board for Barbers and Cosmetology under the 

supervision of a certified esthetics instructor or master 

esthetics instructor in an esthetics school and pass an 

examination in esthetics instruction administered by the 

board or by a testing service acting on behalf of the board; 

and 

4. In accordance with § 54.1-204 of the Code of Virginia, 

each applicant shall disclose the following information 

regarding criminal convictions in Virginia and all other 

jurisdictions: 

a. All misdemeanor convictions involving moral 

turpitude, sexual offense, non-marijuana drug distribution, 

or physical injury within two years of the date of the 

application; and 

b. All felony convictions within 20 years of the date of 

application. 

Any plea of nolo contendere shall be considered a conviction 

for purposes of this subsection. The record of a conviction 

received from a court shall be accepted as prima facie 

evidence of a conviction or finding of guilt. The board, in its 

discretion, may deny licensure to any applicant in 

accordance with § 54.1-204 of the Code of Virginia. 

B. Instructors shall be required to maintain a Virginia master 

esthetician license. 

18VAC41-70-280. Grounds for license revocation, 

probation, or suspension; denial of application, renewal or 

reinstatement; or imposition of a monetary penalty. 

The board may, in considering the totality of the 

circumstances, fine any licensee, certificate holder, or 

temporary license holder; suspend, place on probation, revoke, 

or refuse to renew or reinstate any license, certificate, or 

temporary license; or deny any application issued under the 

provisions of Chapter 7 (§ 54.1-700 et seq.) of Title 54.1 of the 

Code of Virginia and this chapter if the board finds that the 

licensee, certificate holder, permit holder, or applicant: 

1. Is incompetent, negligent, or incapable mentally or 

physically, as those terms are generally understood in the 

profession, to practice as an esthetician; 

2. Is convicted of fraud or deceit in the practice or teaching 

of esthetics, fails to teach in accordance with the board-

approved curriculum, or fails to comply with 18VAC41-70-

190 D when making an assessment of credit hours awarded; 

3. Attempts to obtain, obtained, renewed, or reinstated a 

license, certificate, or temporary license by false or 

fraudulent representation; 

4. Violates, induces others to violate, or cooperates with 

others in violating any of the provisions of this chapter or 

Chapter 7 (§ 54.1-700 et seq.) of Title 54.1 of the Code of 

Virginia or any local ordinance or regulation governing 

standards of health and sanitation of the establishment in 

which any esthetician may practice or offer to practice; 

5. Offers, gives, or promises anything of value or benefit to 

any federal, state, or local employee for the purpose of 

influencing that employee to circumvent, in the performance 

of his duties, any federal, state, or local law, regulation, or 

ordinance governing esthetics or master esthetics; 

6. Fails to respond to the board or any of its agents or 

provides false, misleading, or incomplete information to an 

inquiry by the board or any of its agents; 

7. Fails or refuses to allow the board or any of its agents to 

inspect during reasonable hours any licensed spa or school 

for compliance with provisions of Chapter 7 (§ 54.1-700 et 

seq.) of Title 54.1 of the Code of Virginia or this chapter; 

8. Fails to produce, upon request or demand of the board or 

any of its agents, any document, book, record, or copy 

thereof in a licensee's, certificate holder's, temporary license 

holder's, applicant's, or owner's possession or maintained in 

accordance with this chapter; 

9. Fails to notify the board of a change of name or address in 

writing within 30 days of the change for each and every 

license, certificate, or temporary license; 

10. Makes any misrepresentation or publishes or causes to 

be published any advertisement that is false, deceptive, or 

misleading; 

11. Fails to notify the board in writing within 30 days of the 

suspension, revocation, or surrender of a license or 

temporary license in connection with a disciplinary action in 

any jurisdiction or of any license or temporary license that 

has been the subject of disciplinary action in any 

jurisdiction; 

12. Has been convicted or found guilty, regardless of the 

manner of adjudication, in Virginia or any other jurisdiction 

of the United States of a misdemeanor involving moral 

turpitude, sexual offense, non-marijuana drug distribution, 

or physical injury or any felony, there being no appeal 

pending therefrom or the time for appeal having elapsed. 

Review of convictions shall be subject to the requirements 

of § 54.1-204 of the Code of Virginia. Any plea of nolo 

contendere shall be considered a conviction for purposes of 

this subdivision. The record of a conviction certified or 

authenticated in such form as to be admissible in evidence 

under the laws of the jurisdiction where convicted shall be 

admissible as prima facie evidence of such conviction or 

guilt; 

13. Fails to inform the board in writing within 30 days of 

pleading guilty or nolo contendere or being convicted or 
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found guilty regardless of adjudication of convictions as 

stated in subdivision 12 of this section; 

14. Allows, as responsible management of a spa or school, a 

person who has not obtained a license or a temporary permit 

to practice unless the person is duly enrolled as a registered 

apprentice; 

15. Allows, as responsible management of a school, a person 

who has not obtained an instructor certificate to practice as 

an esthetics or a master esthetics instructor; 

16. Fails to take sufficient measures to prevent transmission 

of communicable or infectious diseases or fails to comply 

with sanitary requirements provided for in this chapter or 

any local, state, or federal law or regulation governing the 

standards of health and sanitation for the practices of 

esthetics or master esthetics or the operation of esthetics 

spas; or 

17. Fails to comply with all procedures established by the 

board and the testing service with regard to conduct at any 

board examination. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R22-6910; Filed September 20, 2021, 3:54 p.m. 

BOARD FOR BRANCH PILOTS 

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Board for Branch Pilots is 

claiming an exemption from Article 2 of the Administrative 

Process Act in accordance with § 2.2-4006 A 4 a of the Code 

of Virginia, which excludes regulations that are necessary to 

conform to changes in Virginia statutory law or the 

appropriation act where no agency discretion is involved. The 

board will receive, consider, and respond to petitions by any 

interested person at any time with respect to reconsideration or 

revision. 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC45-20. Board for Branch Pilots 

Regulations (amending 18VAC45-20-5, 18VAC45-20-40). 

Statutory Authority: § 54.1-902 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: December 1, 2021. 

Agency Contact: Kathleen R. Nosbisch, Executive Director, 

Board for Branch Pilots, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 400, 

Richmond, VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-8514, FAX (804) 

527-4294, or email branchpilots@dpor.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

Pursuant to Chapters 500 and 501 of the 2021 Acts of 

Assembly, Special Session I, the amendments conform 

regulations concerning qualifications for licensure and 

standards of conduct to the requirements of § 19.2-389.3 of 

the Code of Virginia and remove requirements for reporting 

by applicants or licensees of misdemeanor marijuana 

convictions. 

18VAC45-20-5. Definitions. 

The words and terms used in this chapter have the following 

meanings unless the context requires a different meaning: 

"Attempting to perform" means any time when a licensee has 

accepted an assignment to perform any of the duties of his 

office or job. 

"Chemical test," except when applied to testing for the 

presence of alcohol, means any scientifically recognized test 

and analyses of an individual's breath, blood, urine, saliva, 

bodily fluids, hair or tissues for evidence of controlled 

substances listed in Schedules I - through V of the Drug 

Control Act (§ 54.1-3400 et seq. of the Code of Virginia) or 

marijuana. The words "chemical test" as used in this chapter in 

connection with the testing for the presence of alcohol refers to 

a scientifically recognized test involving saliva or breath. 

"Illegal drugs" includes (i) any controlled substance as that 

term is defined in the Drug Control Act at § 54.1-3401 of the 

Code of Virginia listed in Schedule I (§ 54.1-3446 of the Code 

of Virginia); or (ii) those controlled substances illegally 

acquired listed from Schedules II - through V (§§ 54.1-3448, 

54.1-3450, 54.1-3452, and 54.1-3454 of the Code of Virginia, 

respectively); or (iii) marijuana. It is the intent of these 

regulations that in the event the contents of Schedules I - 

through V of the Drug Control Act are changed, that these 

regulations incorporate such changes at the time those 

controlled substances are made a part of the Drug Control Act 

in Virginia. 

"Medical review officer" or "MRO" means a Virginia 

licensed physician with a current valid certification from the 

American College of Occupational and Environmental 

Medicine or the American Association of Medical Review 

Officers whose duties, authorities and responsibilities are 

delineated by these organizations. 

"On duty" means the period of time the licensee is available 

to receive orders for an assignment. 

18VAC45-20-40. Grounds for denial of licensure, denial of 

renewal, or discipline. 

The board shall have the authority to deny initial licensure, 

deny an extension of license, or deny renewal as well as to 

discipline existing licensees, whether limited or not, for the 

following reasons: 

1. (i) a. Having been convicted or found guilty regardless of 

adjudication in any jurisdiction of the United States of any 

felony or a misdemeanor involving moral turpitude, illegal 

drugs, or any alcohol- or drug-related offense there being no 

appeal pending, therefrom or the time for appeal having 

elapsed. 

(ii) b. Having been convicted or found guilty regardless of 

adjudication in any jurisdiction of the United States of any 

felony or a misdemeanor resulting from an arrest for any 

alcohol- alcohol-related or non-marijuana drug-related 
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offense, there being no appeal pending therefrom or the 

time for appeal having elapsed. 

Any plea of nolo contendere shall be considered a conviction 

for the purposes of this subdivision. The record of a 

conviction certified or authenticated in such form as to be 

admissible in evidence of the laws of the jurisdiction where 

convicted shall be admissible as prima facie evidence of 

such conviction; 

2. Failing to inform the board in writing within seven 

calendar days of pleading guilty or nolo contendere or being 

convicted or found guilty of any felony or of a misdemeanor 

involving moral turpitude, illegal drugs, or any alcohol- or 

drug-related alcohol-related offense; 

3. Failing to report to the board in writing any reports of the 

National Transportation Safety Board involving the 

licensee, or the results of any disciplinary action taken by the 

United States Coast Guard against the licensee within seven 

calendar days of that report or action; 

4. Refusing or in any other way failing to carry out an order 

from the pilot officers for reasons other than the public's 

health, safety, or welfare; 

5. Negligence or misconduct in the performance of duties; 

6. Violating or cooperating with others in violating any 

provision of Chapter 9 (§ 54.1-900 et seq.) of the Title 54.1 

of the Code of Virginia or any regulation of the board; 

7. Failing to, as soon as possible under the circumstances, 

report to the pilot officers his finishing time and other 

required information relating to the particulars of the ship; 

8. Failing to file immediately with the president or vice 

president of the board with a copy to the board administrator 

a complete written account of any violation of the statutes of 

Virginia or of the United States relating to pilotage or failing 

to report in writing to the president or vice president of the 

board with a copy to the board administrator an account of 

all collisions, groundings, or other maritime mishaps of any 

description that may occur during the discharge of the pilot's 

duties. This report shall be received no later than seven days 

after such an incident; 

9. Failing to report to the board any physical or mental 

condition which may affect his ability to perform the duties 

of a pilot. Such reports shall be provided within seven 

calendar days of the onset of the condition; 

10. Refusing to comply with the board's requirement for a 

chemical test. Such test is required immediately and no later 

than 12 hours after involvement in a collision, grounding, or 

other incident resulting in personal injury, death, 

environmental hazard, or property damage in excess of 

$100,000. Refusing to comply with this requirement may 

result in summary suspension of the pilot's license in 

accordance with § 54.1-902 of the Code of Virginia; 

11. Refusing to comply with any board requirement for 

chemical tests in any instance in which the board has cause 

to believe a test is necessary to protect the public health, 

safety, or welfare. Refusing to comply with this requirement 

may result in summary suspension of the pilot's license in 

accordance with § 54.1-902 of the Code of Virginia; 

12. Failing to send proof of any test required by subdivision 

10 or 11 of this section to the president or vice president of 

the board with a copy to the board administrator within 48 

hours of the administration of the test; 

13. A positive finding as a result of, or on, any substance 

abuse or chemical test as a result of which the board believes 

there is a threat to the public health, safety, or welfare. Such 

a finding may result in summary suspension of the pilot's 

license in accordance with § 54.1-902 of the Code of 

Virginia; 

14. Evidence of impaired performance in any instance in 

which the board believes there is a threat to the public health, 

safety, or welfare. Such a finding may result in summary 

suspension of the pilot's license in accordance with § 54.1-

902 of the Code of Virginia; 

15. Performing or attempting to perform any of the duties of 

his office or job while under the influence of illegal drugs; 

16. Performing or attempting to perform any of the duties of 

his office or job while under the influence of alcohol or any 

medication (controlled substance or otherwise) to the extent 

that he was unfit for the performance of the duties of his 

office or job; and 

17. Failing to comply with any of the provisions of 

18VAC45-20-50. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R22-5014; Filed September 21, 2021, 12:32 p.m. 

CEMETERY BOARD 

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Cemetery Board is claiming an 

exemption from Article 2 of the Administrative Process Act in 

accordance with § 2.2-4006 A 4 a of the Code of Virginia, 

which excludes regulations that are necessary to conform to 

changes in Virginia statutory law or the appropriation act 

where no agency discretion is involved. The board will receive, 

consider, and respond to petitions by any interested person at 

any time with respect to reconsideration or revision. 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC47-20. Cemetery Board Rules 

and Regulations (amending 18VAC47-20-30, 18VAC47-20-

40, 18VAC47-20-60). 

Statutory Authority: §§ 54.1-201 and 54.1-2313 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

Effective Date: December 1, 2021. 
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Agency Contact: Christine Martine, Executive Director, 

Cemetery Board, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 400, Richmond, 

VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-8552, FAX (804) 527-4299, 

or email cemetery@dpor.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

Pursuant to Chapters 500 and 501 of the 2021 Acts of 

Assembly, Special Session I, the amendments conform 

regulations concerning qualifications for licensure and 

standards of conduct to the requirements of § 19.2-389.3 of 

the Code of Virginia and remove requirements for reporting 

by applicants or licensees of misdemeanor marijuana 

convictions. 

18VAC47-20-30. Qualifications for cemetery company 

license. 

A. Every person applying for a cemetery company license 

shall meet all of the requirements outlined in §§ 54.1-2311 and 

54.1-2314 of the Code of Virginia as well as the additional 

qualifications of this section. 

B. Each person applying for a cemetery company license and 

the principals of that firm shall disclose, at the time the 

application is submitted, any current or previous cemeteries 

managed in Virginia or in any other jurisdictions and any 

disciplinary actions taken against those cemeteries or the 

individuals managing them. This includes, but is not limited to, 

any monetary penalties, fines or disciplinary actions taken by 

any federal, state or local regulatory agencies. 

C. In accordance with § 54.1-2314 of the Code of Virginia, 

each applicant shall disclose the following information about 

the cemetery company and any of the principals of the 

company: 

1. A conviction in any jurisdiction of any felony or any crime 

of moral turpitude, there being no appeal pending therefrom 

or the time for appeal having elapsed. 

2. A conviction in any jurisdiction of any All misdemeanor 

convictions involving moral turpitude within five years of 

the date the application is submitted. 

Any plea of nolo contendere shall be considered a conviction 

for purposes of this subsection. The record of a conviction 

received from a court shall be accepted as prima facie evidence 

of a conviction or finding of guilt. The board, in its discretion, 

may deny approval of a cemetery application in accordance 

with § 54.1-204 of the Code of Virginia. 

18VAC47-20-40. Qualifications for registration of sales 

personnel. 

A. Cemetery company sales personnel shall submit an 

application on a form prescribed by the board and shall meet 

the requirements set forth in § 54.1-2314 of the Code of 

Virginia, as well as the additional qualifications of this section. 

B. Every applicant to the board for registration as sales 

personnel shall provide his name, address, the license number 

of the cemetery company he will be employed by or affiliated 

with, and the address of each cemetery for which he will act as 

sales personnel. 

C. Each applicant for registration as sales personnel shall 

disclose, at the time the application is submitted, any current 

or previous cemetery sales licenses/registrations licenses or 

registrations from Virginia or in any other jurisdictions, and 

any disciplinary actions taken against those 

licenses/registrations licenses or registrations. This includes, 

but is not limited to, any monetary penalties, fines, or 

disciplinary actions taken by any federal, state, or local 

regulatory agencies. 

D. Each applicant for registration as sales personnel shall 

disclose, at the time the application is submitted, the following 

information: 

1. A conviction in any jurisdiction of any felony or any crime 

of moral turpitude, there being no appeal pending therefrom 

or the time for appeal having elapsed. 

2. A conviction in any jurisdiction of any All misdemeanor 

convictions involving moral turpitude within five years of 

the date the application is submitted. 

Any plea of nolo contendere shall be considered a conviction 

for purposes of this subsection. The record of a conviction 

received from a court shall be accepted as prima facie evidence 

of a conviction or finding of guilt. The board, in its discretion, 

may refuse registration of a sales personnel application in 

accordance with § 54.1-2314 of the Code of Virginia. 

18VAC47-20-60. Qualifications of trustees. 

A. The trustee of a perpetual care trust fund or a preneed trust 

fund, other than a Virginia trust company or trust subsidiary or 

a federally insured bank or savings institution doing business 

in the Commonwealth, must meet the requirements of this 

section and shall be governed by § 54.1-2318 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

B. The trustee applicant shall be at least 18 years old and have 

a minimum of five years of experience either as an individual 

trustee or as an agent for a firm responsible for the management 

of a trust. 

C. Each trustee or trust firm, or both, shall provide 

information for the 10 years prior to the submission of the 

application on any outstanding judgments, outstanding tax 

obligations, and/or or defaults on any bonds directly related to 

the management of the trust. If the trustee firm or its parent or 

predecessor organization has, during the previous 10 years, 

been adjudicated a bankrupt or has any proceeding for the 

relief of debtors, such fact or facts shall be stated. 

D. Each trust firm and principals of the firm shall disclose, at 

the time the application is submitted, any current or previous 

trusts managed in Virginia or in other jurisdictions, and any 

disciplinary actions taken against these trusts, the trust 
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company, or the individuals managing the trusts. This includes, 

but is not limited to, any monetary penalties, fines, or 

disciplinary actions taken by any federal, state, or local 

regulatory agencies. 

E. The trustee must meet the bonding requirements set forth 

in §§ 54.1-2317 and 54.1-2326 of the Code of Virginia as 

applicable. 

F. In accordance with §§ 54.1-2317 and 54.1-2326 of the 

Code of Virginia, each trustee shall disclose the following 

information about the trust firm or principals of the firm: 

1. A conviction in any jurisdiction of any felony; 

2. A conviction in any jurisdiction of any All misdemeanor 

convictions involving moral turpitude within five years of 

the date the application is submitted. 

Any plea of nolo contendere shall be considered a conviction 

for the purposes of this chapter. The record of a conviction 

received from a court shall be accepted as prima facie evidence 

of a conviction or finding of guilt. The board, in its discretion, 

may deny approval of a trustee application in accordance with 

§ 54.1-2317 or § 54.1-2326 of the Code of Virginia. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R22-6945; Filed September 9, 2021, 11:55 a.m. 

BOARD OF DENTISTRY 

Forms 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: Forms used in administering the 

regulation have been filed by the agency. The forms are not 

being published; however, online users of this issue of the 

Virginia Register of Regulations may click on the name of a 

form with a hyperlink to access it. The forms are also available 

from the agency contact or may be viewed at the Office of the 

Registrar of Regulations, 900 East Main Street, 11th Floor, 

Richmond, Virginia 23219. 

Titles of Regulations: 18VAC60-21. Regulations Governing 

the Practice of Dentistry. 

18VAC60-25. Regulations Governing the Practice of 

Dental Hygiene. 

18VAC60-30. Regulations Governing the Practice of 

Dental Assistants. 

Agency Contact: Elaine Yeatts, Agency Regulatory 

Coordinator, Department of Health Professions, 9960 Mayland 

Drive, Henrico, VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-4688, FAX 

(804) 527-4434, or email elaine.yeatts@dhp.virginia.gov. 

FORMS (18VAC60-21) 

Instructions for a Faculty License to Teach Dentistry (rev. 

8/2020) 

Instructions for a Faculty License to Teach Dentistry (rev. 

7/2021) 

Instructions for Registration for Volunteer Dental Practice 

(rev. 8/2020) 

Instructions for a Temporary Resident's License (rev. 8/2020) 

Instructions for a Temporary Dental Permit (rev. 8/2020) 

Instructions for a Temporary Resident's License (rev. 7/2021) 

Instructions for a Temporary Dental Permit (rev. 7/2021) 

Application for a Permit to Administer Moderate Sedation 

(rev. 8/2020) 

Instructions for a Permit to Administer Deep 

Sedation/General Anesthesia (rev. 8/2020) 

Instructions for Reinstatement of a Permit to Administer 

Moderate Sedation or Deep Sedation/General Anesthesia (rev. 

8/2020) 

Instructions for Certification to Perform Cosmetic Procedures 

(rev. 8/2020) 

Instructions for Reinstatement of Certification to Perform 

Cosmetic Procedures (rev. 8/2020) 

Instructions for Restricted Volunteer Dental License (rev. 

8/2020) 

Instructions for Restricted Volunteer Dental License (rev. 

7/2021) 

Instructions for Oral and Maxillofacial Surgeon Registration 

of Practice (rev. 8/2020) 

Instructions for Reinstatement of Oral and Maxillofacial 

Surgeon Registration of Practice (rev. 8/2020) 

Instructions for Registration of a Mobile Dental Facility or 

Portable Dental Operation (rev. 8/2020) 

Instructions for Reactivation of Dental License (rev. 8/2020) 

Instructions for Reinstatement of Dental License (rev. 

8/2020) 

Application Instructions for a Dental License (rev. 11/2020) 

Instructions for Reactivation of Dental License (rev. 7/2021) 

Instructions for Reinstatement of Dental License (rev. 

7/2021) 

Application Instructions for a Dental License (rev. 8/2021) 

FORMS (18VAC60-25) 

Application Instructions for Dental Hygienists (rev. 11/2020) 

Instructions for Registration for Dental Hygiene Volunteer 

Practice (rev. 8/2020) 

Instructions for Reactivation of Dental Hygienist License 

(rev. 8/2020) 

Instructions for Reinstatement of Dental Hygiene License 

(rev. 8/2020) 

https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC60/forms/2021_Instr_Faculty-20210918180553.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC60/forms/2021_Instr_Faculty-20210918180553.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC60/forms/Volunteer_Dental-20201228153147.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC60/forms/Volunteer_Dental-20201228153147.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC60/forms/2021_TemporaryResident-20210918180625.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC60/forms/2021_Instr_TempDentalPermit-20210918180651.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC60/forms/Moderate_Sedation_App-20201228153429.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC60/forms/Moderate_Sedation_App-20201228153429.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC60/forms/Deep_Sedation_App-20201228153454.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC60/forms/Deep_Sedation_App-20201228153454.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC60/forms/Reinstatement_Sedation-20201228153532.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC60/forms/Reinstatement_Sedation-20201228153532.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC60/forms/Reinstatement_Sedation-20201228153532.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC60/forms/Cosmetic_Certification-20201228153606.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC60/forms/Cosmetic_Certification-20201228153606.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC60/forms/Reinstatement%20of%20Certification%20to%20Perform%20Cosmetic%20Procedures-20201228165212.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC60/forms/Reinstatement%20of%20Certification%20to%20Perform%20Cosmetic%20Procedures-20201228165212.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC60/forms/2021_RestrictedVolunteer-20210918180742.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC60/forms/2021_RestrictedVolunteer-20210918180742.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC60/forms/OMS_App-20201228153719.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC60/forms/OMS_App-20201228153719.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC60/forms/Reinstatement_OMS-20201228153742.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC60/forms/Reinstatement_OMS-20201228153742.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC60/forms/Mobile_Facility_App-20201228153807.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC60/forms/Mobile_Facility_App-20201228153807.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC60/forms/2021_Instr_Reactivation-20210918180817.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC60/forms/2021_Instr_Reinstatement-20210918180848.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC60/forms/2021_Instr_Reinstatement-20210918180848.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC60/forms/2021_AppInstr_DentalLicense-20210918180903.pdf
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Instructions for Restricted Volunteer Dental Hygiene License 

(rev. 8/2020) 

Instructions for a Faculty License to Teach Dental Hygiene 

(rev. 8/2020) 

Instructions for a Temporary Dental Hygiene Permit (rev. 

8/2020) 

Application Instructions for Dental Hygienists (rev. 8/2021) 

Instructions for Registration for Dental Hygiene Volunteer 

Practice (rev. 7/2021) 

Instructions for Reactivation of Dental Hygienist License 

(rev. 7/2021) 

Instructions for Reinstatement of Dental Hygiene License 

(rev. 7/2021) 

Instructions for Restricted Volunteer Dental Hygiene License 

(rev. 7/2021) 

Instructions for a Faculty License to Teach Dental Hygiene 

(rev. 7/2021) 

Instructions for a Temporary Dental Hygiene Permit (rev. 

7/2021) 

Continuing Education (CE) Credit Form for Volunteer 

Practice (rev. 5/2019) 

FORMS (18VAC60-30) 

Instructions for Registration of Dental Assistant II (rev. 

8/2020) 

Instructions for Reactivation of Dental Assistant II 

Registration (rev. 8/2020) 

Instructions for Reinstatement of Dental Assistant II 

Registration (rev. 8/2020) 

Instructions for Registration of Dental Assistant II (rev. 

7/2021) 

Instructions for Reactivation of Dental Assistant II 

Registration (rev. 7/2021) 

Instructions for Reinstatement of Dental Assistant II 

Registration (rev. 7/2021) 

VA.R. Doc. No. R22-6966; Filed September 20, 2021, 2:01 p.m. 

BOARD FOR HEARING AID SPECIALISTS AND 
OPTICIANS 

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Board for Hearing Aid 

Specialists and Opticians is claiming an exemption from 

Article 2 of the Administrative Process Act in accordance with 

§ 2.2-4006 A 4 a of the Code of Virginia, which excludes 

regulations that are necessary to conform to changes in 

Virginia statutory law or the appropriation act where no agency 

discretion is involved. The board will receive, consider, and 

respond to petitions by any interested person at any time with 

respect to reconsideration or revision. 

Titles of Regulations: 18VAC80-20. Hearing Aid Specialists 

Regulations (amending 18VAC80-20-30, 18VAC80-20-40, 

18VAC80-20-270). 

18VAC80-30. Opticians Regulations (amending 18VAC80-

30-20, 18VAC80-30-160). 

Statutory Authority: § 54.1-201 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: December 1, 2021. 

Agency Contact: Stephen Kirschner, Executive Director, 

Board for Hearing Aid Specialists and Opticians, 9960 

Mayland Drive, Suite 400, Richmond, VA 23233, telephone 

(804) 367-8590, FAX (866) 245-9693, or email 

hearingaidspec@dpor.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

Pursuant to Chapters 550 and 551 of the 2021 Acts of 

Assembly, Special Session I, the amendments conform 

regulations concerning qualifications for licensure and 

standards of conduct to the requirements of § 19.2-389.3 of 

the Code of Virginia and remove requirements for reporting 

by applicants or licensees of misdemeanor marijuana 

convictions. 

18VAC80-20-30. Basic qualifications for licensure. 

A. Every applicant for a license shall provide information on 

his application establishing that: 

1. The applicant is at least 18 years of age. 

2. The applicant has successfully completed high school or 

a high school equivalency course. 

3. The applicant has training and experience that covers the 

following subjects as they pertain to hearing aid fitting and 

the sale of hearing aids, accessories, and services: 

a. Basic physics of sound; 

b. Basic maintenance and repair of hearing aids; 

c. The anatomy and physiology of the ear; 

d. Introduction to psychological aspects of hearing loss; 

e. The function of hearing aids and amplification; 

f. Visible disorders of the ear requiring medical referrals; 

g. Practical tests utilized for selection or modification of 

hearing aids; 

h. Pure tone audiometry, including air conduction, bone 

conduction, and related tests; 

i. Live voice or recorded voice speech audiometry, 

including speech reception threshold testing and speech 

discrimination testing; 

j. Masking when indicated; 

https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC60/forms/2021_AppInstr_Hygienists-20210918182443.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC60/forms/2021_Instr_Reg_VolunteerPractice-20210918182409.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC60/forms/2021_Instr_Reg_VolunteerPractice-20210918182409.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC60/forms/2021_Instr_Reactivation_Hyg-20210918182953.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC60/forms/2021_Instr_Reactivation_Hyg-20210918182953.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC60/forms/2021_Instr_Reinstatement_Hyg-20210918182922.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC60/forms/2021_Instr_Reinstatement_Hyg-20210918182922.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC60/forms/2021_Instr_RestrictedVolunteer-20210918182825.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC60/forms/2021_Instr_RestrictedVolunteer-20210918182825.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC60/forms/2021_Instr_FacultyLicense-20210918182738.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC60/forms/2021_Instr_FacultyLicense-20210918182738.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC60/forms/2021_Instr_TempPermit-20210918182602.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC60/forms/2021_Instr_TempPermit-20210918182602.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC60/forms/VolunteerPractice_CEForm-20201228133640.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC60/forms/VolunteerPractice_CEForm-20201228133640.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC60/forms/2021_Reg-20210918183616.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC60/forms/2021_Reg-20210918183616.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC60/forms/2021_Reactivate-20210918183633.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC60/forms/2021_Reactivate-20210918183633.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC60/forms/2021_Reinstate-20210918183651.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC60/forms/2021_Reinstate-20210918183651.pdf
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k. Recording and evaluating audiograms and speech 

audiometry to determine the proper selection and 

adaptation of hearing aids; 

l. Taking earmold impressions; 

m. Proper earmold selection; 

n. Adequate instruction in proper hearing aid orientation; 

o. Necessity of proper procedures in after-fitting checkup; 

and 

p. Availability of social service resources and other special 

resources for the hearing impaired. 

4. The applicant has provided one of the following as 

verification of completion of training and experience as 

described in subdivision 3 of this subsection: 

a. A statement on a form provided by the board signed by 

the licensed sponsor certifying that the requirements have 

been met; or 

b. A certified true copy of a transcript of courses 

completed at an accredited college or university, or other 

notarized documentation of completion of the required 

experience and training. 

5. The applicant has not been convicted or found guilty of 

any crime directly related to the practice of fitting or dealing 

in hearing aids, regardless of the manner of adjudication, in 

any jurisdiction of the United States. Except for 

misdemeanor marijuana convictions and misdemeanor 

convictions that occurred five or more years prior to the date 

of application, with no subsequent convictions, all criminal 

convictions shall be considered as part of the totality of the 

circumstances of each applicant. The applicant review of 

prior convictions shall be subject to the requirements of 

§ 54.1-204 of the Code of Virginia. Any plea of nolo 

contendere shall be considered a conviction for purposes of 

this subdivision. The record of a conviction authenticated in 

such form as to be admissible in evidence under the laws of 

the jurisdiction where convicted shall be admissible as prima 

facie evidence of such conviction or guilt. 

6. The applicant is in good standing as a licensed hearing aid 

specialist in every jurisdiction where licensed. The applicant 

must disclose if he has had a license as a hearing aid 

specialist that was suspended, revoked, or surrendered in 

connection with a disciplinary action or that has been the 

subject of discipline in any jurisdiction prior to applying for 

licensure in Virginia. At the time of application for licensure, 

the applicant must also disclose any disciplinary action taken 

in another jurisdiction in connection with the applicant's 

practice as a hearing aid specialist. The applicant must also 

disclose whether he has been previously licensed in Virginia 

as a hearing aid specialist. 

7. The applicant has disclosed his physical address. A post 

office box is not acceptable. 

8. The nonresident applicant for a license has filed and 

maintained with the department an irrevocable consent for 

the department to serve as service agent for all actions filed 

in any court in Virginia. 

9. The applicant has submitted the required application with 

the proper fee as referenced in 18VAC80-20-70 and signed, 

as part of the application, a statement that the applicant has 

read and understands Chapter 15 (§ 54.1-1500 et seq.) of 

Title 54.1 of the Code of Virginia and this chapter. 

B. The board may make further inquiries and investigations 

with respect to the qualifications of the applicant or require a 

personal interview or both. The board may refuse initial 

licensure due to the applicant's failure to comply with entry 

requirements. The licensee is entitled to a review of such 

action. Appeals from such actions shall be in accordance with 

the provisions of the Administrative Process Act, Chapter 40 

(§ 2.2-4000 et seq.) of Title 2.2 of the Code of Virginia. 

18VAC80-20-40. Temporary permit. 

A. Any individual may apply for a temporary permit, which 

is to be used solely for the purpose of gaining the training and 

experience required to become a licensed hearing aid specialist 

in Virginia. The licensed sponsor shall be identified on the 

application for a temporary permit and the licensed sponsor 

shall comply strictly with the provisions of subdivisions B 1 

and B 2 of this section. 

1. A temporary permit shall be issued for a period of 12 

months and may be extended once for not longer than six 

months. After a period of 18 months an extension is no 

longer possible and the former temporary permit holder shall 

sit for the examination in accordance with this section. 

2. The board may, at its discretion, extend the temporary 

permit for a temporary permit holder who suffers serious 

personal illness or injury, or death in his immediate family, 

or obligation of military service or service in the Peace 

Corps, or for other good cause of similar magnitude 

approved by the board. Documentation of these 

circumstances must be received by the board no later than 

12 months after the date of the expiration of the temporary 

permit or within six months of the completion of military or 

Peace Corps service, whichever is later. 

B. Every applicant for a temporary permit shall provide 

information upon application establishing that: 

1. The applicant for a temporary permit is at least 18 years 

of age. 

2. The applicant for a temporary permit has successfully 

completed high school or a high school equivalency course. 

3. The applicant has not been convicted or found guilty of 

any crime directly related to the practice of fitting or dealing 

in hearing aids, regardless of the manner of adjudication, in 

any jurisdiction of the United States. Except for 
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misdemeanor marijuana convictions and misdemeanor 

convictions that occurred five or more years prior to the date 

of application, with no subsequent convictions, all criminal 

convictions shall be considered as part of the totality of the 

circumstances of each applicant. Review of prior 

convictions shall be subject to the requirements of § 54.1-

204 of the Code of Virginia. Any plea of nolo contendere 

shall be considered a conviction for purposes of this 

subdivision. The record of a conviction authenticated in such 

form as to be admissible in evidence under the laws of the 

jurisdiction where convicted shall be admissible as prima 

facie evidence of such conviction or guilt. 

4. The applicant for a temporary permit is in good standing 

as a licensed hearing aid specialist in every jurisdiction 

where licensed. The applicant for a temporary permit must 

disclose if he has had a license as a hearing aid specialist that 

was suspended, revoked, or surrendered in connection with 

a disciplinary action or that has been the subject of discipline 

in any jurisdiction prior to applying for licensure in Virginia. 

At the time of application, the applicant for a temporary 

permit must also disclose any disciplinary action taken in 

another jurisdiction in connection with the applicant's 

practice as a hearing aid specialist. The applicant for a 

temporary permit must also disclose whether he has been 

licensed previously in Virginia as a hearing aid specialist. 

5. The applicant for a temporary permit has disclosed his 

physical address. A post office box is not acceptable. 

6. The applicant for a temporary permit has submitted the 

required application with the proper fee referenced in 

18VAC80-20-70 and has signed, as part of the application, 

a statement that the applicant has read and understands 

Chapter 15 (§ 54.1-1500 et seq.) of Title 54.1 of the Code of 

Virginia and this chapter. 

C. The licensed hearing aid specialist who agrees to sponsor 

the applicant for a temporary permit shall certify on the 

application that as sponsor, he: 

1. Assumes full responsibility for the competence and proper 

conduct of the temporary permit holder with regard to all 

acts performed pursuant to the acquisition of training and 

experience in the fitting or dealing of hearing aids; 

2. Will not assign the temporary permit holder to carry out 

independent field work without on-site direct supervision by 

the sponsor until the temporary permit holder is adequately 

trained for such activity; 

3. Will personally provide and make available 

documentation, upon request by the board or its 

representative, showing the number of hours that direct 

supervision has occurred throughout the period of the 

temporary permit; and 

4. Will return the temporary permit to the department should 

the training program be discontinued for any reason. 

D. The licensed sponsor shall provide training and shall 

ensure that the temporary permit holder under his supervision 

gains experience that covers the following subjects as they 

pertain to hearing aid fitting and the sale of hearing aids, 

accessories, and services: 

1. Basic physics of sound; 

2. Basic maintenance and repair of hearing aids; 

3. The anatomy and physiology of the ear; 

4. Introduction to psychological aspects of hearing loss; 

5. The function of hearing aids and amplification; 

6. Visible disorders of the ear requiring medical referrals; 

7. Practical tests utilized for selection or modification of 

hearing aids; 

8. Pure tone audiometry, including air conduction, bone 

conduction, and related tests; 

9. Live voice or recorded voice speech audiometry, 

including speech reception threshold testing and speech 

discrimination testing; 

10. Masking when indicated; 

11. Recording and evaluating audiograms and speech 

audiometry to determine the proper selection and adaptation 

of hearing aids; 

12. Taking earmold impressions; 

13. Proper earmold selection; 

14. Adequate instruction in proper hearing aid orientation; 

15. Necessity of proper procedures in after-fitting checkup; 

and 

16. Availability of social service resources and other special 

resources for the hearing impaired. 

E. The board may make further inquiries and investigations 

with respect to the qualifications of the applicant for a 

temporary permit or require a personal interview, or both. 

F. All correspondence from the board to the temporary permit 

holder not otherwise exempt from disclosure, shall be 

addressed to both the temporary permit holder and the licensed 

sponsor and shall be sent to the business address of the licensed 

sponsor. 

18VAC80-20-270. Grounds for discipline. 

The board may, in considering the totality of the 

circumstances, fine any temporary permit holder or licensee, 

and suspend, place on probation, or revoke, or refuse to renew 

any temporary permit or license or deny any application issued 

under the provisions of Chapter 15 (§ 54.1-1500 et seq.) of 

Title 54.1 of the Code of Virginia and this chapter. Disciplinary 

procedures are governed by the Administrative Process Act, 
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Chapter 40 (§ 2.2-4000 et seq.) of Title 2.2 of the Code of 

Virginia. In exercising its disciplinary function, the board will 

consider the totality of the circumstances of each case. Any 

licensee is subject to board discipline for any of the following: 

1. Improper conduct, including but not limited to: 

a. Obtaining, renewing, or attempting to obtain a license 

by false or fraudulent representation; 

b. Obtaining any fee or making any sale by fraud or 

misrepresentation; 

c. Employing to fit or sell hearing aids a person who does 

not hold a valid license or a temporary permit, or whose 

license or temporary permit is suspended; 

d. Using, causing, or promoting the use of any misleading, 

deceptive, or untruthful advertising matter, promotional 

literature, testimonial, guarantee, warranty, label, brand, 

insignia, or any other representation, whether 

disseminated orally or published; 

e. Advertising a particular model or type of hearing aid for 

sale when purchasers or prospective purchasers 

responding to the advertisement cannot purchase the 

advertised model or type; 

f. Representing that the service or advice of a person 

licensed to practice medicine or audiology will be used in 

the selection, fitting, adjustment, maintenance, or repair of 

hearing aids when that is not true, or using the words 

"physician," "audiologist," "clinic," "hearing service," 

"hearing center," or similar description of the services and 

products provided when such use is not accurate; 

g. Directly or indirectly giving or offering to give favors, 

paid referrals, or anything of value to any person who in 

his professional capacity uses his position to influence 

third parties to purchase products offered for sale by a 

hearing aid specialist; or 

h. Failing to provide expedient, reliable, or dependable 

services when requested by a client or client's guardian. 

2. Failure to include on the purchase agreement a statement 

regarding home solicitation when required by federal and 

state law. 

3. Incompetence or negligence, as those terms are generally 

understood in the profession, in fitting or selling hearing 

aids. 

4. Failure to provide required or appropriate training 

resulting in incompetence or negligence, as those terms are 

generally understood in the profession, by a temporary 

permit holder under the licensee's sponsorship. 

5. Violating or cooperating with others in violating any 

provisions of Chapters 1 (§ 54.1-100 et seq.), 2 (§ 54.1-200 

et seq.), 3 (§ 54.1-300 et seq.), and 15 (§ 54.1-1500 et seq.) 

of Title 54.1 of the Code of Virginia or this chapter. 

6. The licensee, temporary permit holder, or applicant has 

been convicted or found guilty of any crime directly related 

to the practice of fitting or dealing in hearing aids, regardless 

of the manner of adjudication, in any jurisdiction of the 

United States. Except for misdemeanor marijuana 

convictions and misdemeanor convictions that occurred five 

or more years prior to the date of application, with no 

subsequent convictions, all criminal convictions shall be 

considered as part of the totality of the circumstances of each 

applicant. Review of prior convictions shall be subject to the 

requirements of § 54.1-204 of the Code of Virginia. Any 

pleas of nolo contendere shall be considered a conviction for 

the purpose of this subdivision. The record of a conviction 

authenticated in such form as to be admissible in evidence 

of the law of the jurisdiction where convicted shall be 

admissible as prima facie evidence of such conviction or 

guilt. 

18VAC80-30-20. Qualifications of applicant. 

An applicant for a license shall furnish satisfactory evidence 

on an application provided by the board establishing that: 

1. The applicant is at least 18 years of age unless 

emancipated under the provisions of § 16.1-333 of the Code 

of Virginia; 

2. The applicant is a graduate of an accredited high school, 

has completed the equivalent of grammar school and a four-

year high school course, or is a holder of a certificate of 

general educational development; 

3. The applicant is in good standing as a licensed optician in 

every jurisdiction where licensed; 

4. The applicant has not been convicted in any jurisdiction 

of a misdemeanor or felony involving sexual offense, drug 

distribution or physical injury, or any felony involving drug 

distribution or that directly relates to the profession of 

opticianry. The board shall have the authority to determine, 

based upon all the information available, including the 

applicant's record of prior convictions, if the applicant is 

unfit or unsuited to engage in the profession of opticianry. 

Any plea of nolo contendere shall be considered a conviction 

for the purposes of this subdivision. The licensee shall 

provide a certified copy of a final order, decree, or case 

decision by a court or regulatory agency with the lawful 

authority to issue such order, decree, or case decision, and 

such copy shall be admissible as prima facie evidence of 

such conviction. This record shall be forwarded by the 

licensee to the board within 10 days after all appeal rights 

have expired; 

5. The applicant has successfully completed one of the 

following education requirements: 

a. A board-approved two-year course in a school of 

opticianry, including the study of topics essential to 

qualify for practicing as an optician; or 
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b. A two-year apprenticeship with a minimum of one 

school year of related instruction or home study while 

registered in the apprenticeship program in accordance 

with the standards established by the state Department of 

Labor and Industry, Division of Registered 

Apprenticeship, and approved by the board; 

6. The applicant has disclosed his current mailing address; 

7. The nonresident applicant for a license has filed and 

maintained with the department an irrevocable consent for 

the director of the department to serve as service agent for 

all actions filed in any court in the Commonwealth; and 

8. The applicant shall certify, as part of the application, that 

the applicant has read and understands Chapter 15 (§ 54.1-

1500 et seq.) of Title 54.1 of the Code of Virginia and the 

regulations of the board. 

18VAC80-30-160. Grounds for disciplinary action. 

A. The board is empowered to revoke, suspend, or refuse to 

grant or renew a license and is empowered to impose a fine up 

to the statutory limit, as authorized under § 54.1-202 of the 

Code of Virginia, per violation on a licensee for any of the 

following reasons: 

1. Using nonprescribed controlled substances as defined in 

§ 54.1-3401 of the Code of Virginia or alcohol at the work 

place during working hours; 

2. Displaying professional incompetence or negligence, 

including but not limited to failure to comply with this part 

in the performance of opticianry; 

3. Presenting false or fraudulent information on an 

application certifying possession of the qualifications 

required under 18VAC80-30-20; 

4. Violating or inducing others to violate any provisions of 

Chapter 1, 2, 3, or 15 of Title 54.1 of the Code of Virginia, 

or of any other statute applicable to the practice of the 

profession herein regulated, or of any provisions of this 

chapter; 

5. Publishing or causing to be published any advertisement 

related to opticianry that is false, deceptive, or misleading; 

6. Having been convicted in any jurisdiction of a 

misdemeanor or felony involving sexual offense, drug 

distribution or physical injury, or of any felony involving 

drug distribution or that directly relates to the profession of 

opticianry. The board shall have the authority to determine, 

based upon all the information available, including the 

applicant's record of prior convictions, if the applicant is 

unfit or unsuited to engage in the profession of opticianry. 

Any plea of nolo contendere shall be considered a conviction 

for the purposes of this section. The licensee shall provide a 

certified copy of a final order, decree or case decision by a 

court or regulatory agency with the lawful authority to issue 

such order, decree or case decision, and such copy shall be 

admissible as prima facie evidence of such conviction. This 

record shall be forwarded by the licensee to the board within 

10 days after all appeal rights have expired; 

7. Having been disciplined by another jurisdiction in the 

practice of opticianry. Documentary evidence of such 

discipline shall be submitted by the licensee to the board 

within 10 days after all appeal rights have expired; or 

8. Allowing any person to engage in the practice of 

opticianry, except an optician apprentice or student enrolled 

in a course in a school of opticianry under the direct 

supervision of a licensed optician. 

B. A finding of improper or dishonest conduct in the practice 

of the profession by a court of competent jurisdiction shall be 

cause for disciplinary action. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R22-6911; Filed September 20, 2021, 3:53 p.m. 

BOARD OF NURSING 

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Board of Nursing is claiming 

an exemption from Article 2 of the Administrative Process Act 

in accordance with § 2.2-4006 A 4 a of the Code of Virginia, 

which excludes regulations that are necessary to conform to 

changes in Virginia statutory law or the appropriation act 

where no agency discretion is involved. The board will receive, 

consider, and respond to petitions by any interested person at 

any time with respect to reconsideration or revision. 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC90-19. Regulations Governing 

the Practice of Nursing (amending 18VAC90-19-230; 

repealing 18VAC90-19-210, 18VAC90-19-220). 

Statutory Authority: § 54.1-2400 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: November 10, 2021. 

Agency Contact: Jay P. Douglas, R.N., Executive Director, 

Board of Nursing, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, Richmond, 

VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-4520, FAX (804) 527-4455, 

or email jay.douglas@dhp.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

Chapter 157 of the 2021 Acts of the Assembly, Special 

Session I, repeals Board of Nursing authorization for 

registration of clinical nurse specialists. Therefore, the 

amendments repeal or amend all sections referencing 

clinical nurse specialists in 18VAC90-19 to conform with 

statute. 

Part IV 

Clinical Nurse Specialists Disciplinary and Delegation 

Provisions 

18VAC90-19-210. Clinical nurse specialist registration. 

(Repealed.) 

A. Initial registration. An applicant for initial registration as a 

clinical nurse specialist shall: 
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1. Be currently licensed as a registered nurse in Virginia or 

hold a current multistate licensure privilege as a registered 

nurse; 

2. Submit evidence of current national clinical nurse 

specialist certification, including core certification or a 

certification that has been retired, as required by § 54.1-

3018.1 of the Code of Virginia or have an exception 

available from March 1, 1990, to July 1, 1990; and 

3. Submit the required application and fee. 

B. Renewal of registration. 

1. Registration as a clinical nurse specialist shall be renewed 

biennially at the same time the registered nurse license is 

renewed. If registered as a clinical nurse specialist with a 

multistate licensure privilege to practice in Virginia as a 

registered nurse, a licensee born in an even-numbered year 

shall renew his license by the last day of the birth month in 

even-numbered years and a licensee born in an odd-

numbered year shall renew his license by the last day of the 

birth month in odd-numbered years. 

2. The clinical nurse specialist shall complete the renewal 

form and submit it with the required fee. An attestation of 

current national certification as a clinical nurse specialist, 

including core certification or a certification that has been 

retired, is required unless registered in accordance with an 

exception. 

3. Registration as a clinical nurse specialist shall lapse if the 

registered nurse license is not renewed or the multistate 

licensure privilege is lapsed or registration as a clinical nurse 

specialist is not renewed and may be reinstated within one 

renewal period upon: 

a. Reinstatement of RN license or multistate licensure 

privilege, if lapsed; 

b. Payment of current renewal fees and late renewal fees; 

and 

c. Submission of evidence of continued national 

certification as a clinical nurse specialist, including core 

certification or a certification that has been retired, unless 

registered in accordance with an exception. 

C. Reinstatement of registration. 

1. A clinical nurse specialist whose registration has lapsed 

for more than one renewal period may be reinstated by 

submission of: 

a. A reinstatement application and reinstatement fee; 

b. Evidence of a current RN license or multistate privilege; 

and 

c. Evidence of current national certification as a clinical 

nurse specialist, including core certification or a 

certification that has been retired, unless registered in 

accordance with an exception. 

2. A clinical nurse specialist whose registration has been 

suspended or revoked by the board may apply for 

reinstatement by: 

a. Filing a reinstatement application;  

b. Fulfilling requirements specified in subdivision 1 c of 

this subsection; and  

c. Paying the fee for reinstatement after suspension or 

revocation.  

The board may request additional evidence that the clinical 

nurse specialist is prepared to resume practice in a competent 

manner. A clinical nurse specialist whose registration has 

been revoked may not apply for reinstatement sooner than 

three years from entry of the order of revocation.  

18VAC90-19-220. Clinical nurse specialist practice. 

(Repealed.) 

A. The practice of a clinical nurse specialist shall be 

consistent with the education and experience required for 

clinical nurse specialist certification.  

B. The clinical nurse specialist shall provide those advanced 

nursing services that are consistent with the standards of 

specialist practice as established by a national certifying 

organization for clinical nurse specialists and in accordance 

with the provisions of Chapter 30 (§ 54.1-3000 et seq.) of Title 

54.1 of the Code of Virginia.  

C. Advanced practice as a clinical nurse specialist shall 

include performance as an expert clinician to:  

1. Provide direct care and counsel to individuals and groups;  

2. Plan, evaluate, and direct care given by others; and  

3. Improve care by consultation, collaboration, teaching, and 

the conduct of research. 

Part V 

Disciplinary and Delegation Provisions of Nursing Tasks and 

Procedures 

18VAC90-19-230. Disciplinary provisions. 

A. The board has the authority to deny, revoke, or suspend a 

license or multistate licensure privilege issued, or to otherwise 

discipline a licensee or holder of a multistate licensure 

privilege upon proof that the licensee or holder of a multistate 

licensure privilege has violated any of the provisions of § 54.1-

3007 of the Code of Virginia. For the purpose of establishing 

allegations to be included in the notice of hearing, the board 

has adopted the following definitions: 

1. Fraud or deceit in procuring or maintaining a license 

means, but shall not be limited to: 

a. Filing false credentials; 

b. Falsely representing facts on an application for initial 

license, reinstatement, or renewal of a license; or 
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c. Giving or receiving assistance in the taking of the 

licensing examination. 

2. Unprofessional conduct means, but shall not be limited to: 

a. Performing acts beyond the limits of the practice of 

professional or practical nursing as defined in Chapter 30 

(§ 54.1-3000 et seq.) of Title 54.1 of the Code of Virginia, 

or as provided by §§ 54.1-2901 and 54.1-2957 of the Code 

of Virginia; 

b. Assuming duties and responsibilities within the practice of 

nursing without adequate training or when competency has 

not been maintained; 

c. Obtaining supplies, equipment, or drugs for personal or 

other unauthorized use; 

d. Employing or assigning unqualified persons to perform 

functions that require a licensed practitioner of nursing; 

e. Falsifying or otherwise altering patient, employer, 

student, or educational program records, including falsely 

representing facts on a job application or other 

employment-related documents; 

f. Abusing, neglecting, or abandoning patients or clients; 

g. Practice of a clinical nurse specialist beyond that defined 

in 18VAC90-19-220 and § 54.1-3000 of the Code of 

Virginia; 

h. Representing oneself as or performing acts constituting 

the practice of a clinical nurse specialist unless so 

registered by the board; 

i. Delegating nursing tasks to an unlicensed person in 

violation of the provisions of Part VI (18VAC90-19-240 

et seq.) of this chapter part; 

j. h. Giving to or accepting from a patient or client 

property or money for any reason other than fee for service 

or a nominal token of appreciation; 

k. i. Obtaining money or property of a patient or client by 

fraud, misrepresentation, or duress; 

l. j. Entering into a relationship with a patient or client that 

constitutes a professional boundary violation in which the 

nurse uses his professional position to take advantage of 

the vulnerability of a patient, a client, or his family, to 

include actions that result in personal gain at the expense 

of the patient or client, or a nontherapeutic personal 

involvement or sexual conduct with a patient or client; 

m. k. Violating state laws relating to the privacy of patient 

information, including § 32.1-127.1:03 the Code of Virginia; 

n. l. Providing false information to staff or board members 

in the course of an investigation or proceeding; 

o. m. Failing to report evidence of child abuse or neglect 

as required in § 63.2-1509 of the Code of Virginia or elder 

abuse or neglect as required in § 63.2-1606 of the Code of 

Virginia; or 

p. n. Violating any provision of this chapter. 

B. Any sanction imposed on the registered nurse license of a 

clinical nurse specialist shall have the same effect on the 

clinical nurse specialist registration. 

Part VI 

Delegation of Nursing Tasks and Procedures 

VA.R. Doc. No. R22-6891; Filed September 10, 2021, 10:56 a.m. 

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Board of Nursing is claiming an 

exemption from Article 2 of the Administrative Process Act in 

accordance with § 2.2-4006 A 4 a of the Code of Virginia, which 

excludes regulations that are necessary to conform to changes in 

Virginia statutory law or the appropriation act where no agency 

discretion is involved. The board will receive, consider, and 

respond to petitions by any interested person at any time with 

respect to reconsideration or revision. 

Titles of Regulations: 18VAC90-30. Regulations Governing 

the Licensure of Nurse Practitioners (amending 18VAC90-

30-10, 18VAC90-30-70, 18VAC90-30-86, 18VAC90-30-120, 

18VAC90-30-123; adding 18VAC90-30-87, 18VAC90-30-

125). 

18VAC90-40. Regulations for Prescriptive Authority for 

Nurse Practitioners (amending 18VAC90-40-10, 

18VAC90-40-90). 

Statutory Authority: §§ 54.1-2400 and 54.1-2957 of the Code 

of Virginia. 

Effective Date: November 10, 2021. 

Agency Contact: Jay P. Douglas, R.N., Executive Director, 

Board of Nursing, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, Richmond, 

VA 23233-1463, telephone (804) 367-4520, FAX (804) 527-

4455, or email jay.douglas@dhp.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

Pursuant to Chapters 1, 157, and 396 of the 2021 Acts of 

Assembly, Special Session I, the amendments (i) reduce the 

requirement for years in clinical practice to two years for 

autonomous practice of nurse practitioners without practice 

agreements, with an expiration of July 1, 2022; (ii) establish 

the licensure and practice of clinical nurse specialists 

(CNSs) as nurse practitioners under the joint Boards of 

Nursing and Medicine, the requirement for a practice 

agreement, and the prescriptive authority for CNSs who 

qualify; and (iii) reduce the requirement for years in clinical 

practice by certified nurse midwives to be able to practice 

autonomously to 1,000 hours under a practice agreement 

with either a consulting physician or another certified nurse 

midwife who has at least two years of experience. 

18VAC90-30-10. Definitions. 

The following words and terms when used in this chapter 

shall have the following meanings unless the context clearly 

indicates otherwise: 
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"Approved program" means a nurse practitioner education 

program that is accredited by the Council on Accreditation of 

Nurse Anesthesia Educational Programs/Schools, American 

College of Nurse Midwives, Commission on Collegiate 

Nursing Education, or the National League for Nursing 

Accrediting Commission or is offered by a school of nursing 

or jointly offered by a school of medicine and a school of 

nursing that grant a graduate degree in nursing and that hold a 

national accreditation acceptable to the boards. 

"Autonomous practice" means practice in a category in which 

a nurse practitioner is certified and licensed without a written 

or electronic practice agreement with a patient care team 

physician in accordance with 18VAC90-30-86. 

"Boards" means the Virginia Board of Nursing and the 

Virginia Board of Medicine. 

"Certified nurse midwife" means an advanced practice 

registered nurse who is certified in the specialty of nurse 

midwifery and who is jointly licensed by the Boards of 

Medicine and Nursing as a nurse practitioner pursuant to 

§ 54.1-2957 of the Code of Virginia. 

"Certified registered nurse anesthetist" means an advanced 

practice registered nurse who is certified in the specialty of 

nurse anesthesia, who is jointly licensed by the Boards of 

Medicine and Nursing as a nurse practitioner pursuant to 

§ 54.1-2957 of the Code of Virginia, and who practices under 

the supervision of a doctor of medicine, osteopathy, podiatry, 

or dentistry but is not subject to the practice agreement 

requirement described in § 54.1-2957. 

"Clinical nurse specialist" means an advanced practice 

registered nurse who is certified in the specialty of clinical 

nurse specialist and who is jointly licensed by the Boards of 

Medicine and Nursing as a nurse practitioner pursuant to 

§ 54.1-2957 of the Code of Virginia. 

"Collaboration" means the communication and decision-

making process among members of a patient care team related 

to the treatment and care of a patient and includes (i) 

communication of data and information about the treatment 

and care of a patient, including exchange of clinical 

observations and assessments, and (ii) development of an 

appropriate plan of care, including decisions regarding the 

health care provided, accessing and assessment of appropriate 

additional resources or expertise, and arrangement of 

appropriate referrals, testing, or studies. 

"Committee" means the Committee of the Joint Boards of 

Nursing and Medicine. 

"Consultation" means the communicating of data and 

information, exchanging of clinical observations and 

assessments, accessing and assessing of additional resources 

and expertise, problem solving, and arranging for referrals, 

testing, or studies. 

"Licensed nurse practitioner" means an advanced practice 

registered nurse who has met the requirements for licensure as 

stated in Part II (18VAC90-30-60 et seq.) of this chapter. 

"National certifying body" means a national organization that 

is accredited by an accrediting agency recognized by the U.S. 

Department of Education or deemed acceptable by the 

National Council of State Boards of Nursing and has as one of 

its purposes the certification of nurse anesthetists, nurse 

midwives, or nurse practitioners, referred to in this chapter as 

professional certification, and whose certification of such 

persons by examination is accepted by the committee. 

"Patient care team physician" means a person who holds an 

active, unrestricted license issued by the Virginia Board of 

Medicine to practice medicine or osteopathic medicine. 

"Practice agreement" means a written or electronic statement, 

jointly developed by the collaborating patient care team 

physician and the licensed nurse practitioner that describes the 

procedures to be followed and the acts appropriate to the 

specialty practice area to be performed by the licensed nurse 

practitioner in the care and management of patients. The 

practice agreement also describes the prescriptive authority of 

the nurse practitioner, if applicable. For a nurse practitioner 

licensed in the category of certified nurse midwife, the practice 

agreement is a statement jointly developed with the consulting 

physician or a certified nurse midwife with at least two years 

of clinical experience. For a nurse practitioner licensed in the 

category of clinical nurse specialist, the practice agreement 

shall be between the nurse practitioner and a consulting 

physician. 

18VAC90-30-70. Categories of licensed nurse 

practitioners. 

A. The boards shall license nurse practitioners consistent with 

their specialty education and certification in the following 

categories (a two-digit suffix appears on licenses to designate 

category): 

1. Adult/geriatric acute care nurse practitioner (01); 

2. Family nurse practitioner (02); 

3. Pediatric/primary care nurse practitioner (03); 

4. Adult/geriatric primary care nurse practitioner (07); 

5. Certified registered nurse anesthetist (08); 

6. Certified nurse midwife (09); 

7. Neonatal nurse practitioner (13); 

8. Women's health nurse practitioner (14); 

9. Psychiatric nurse/mental health practitioner (17); and 

10. Pediatric/acute care nurse practitioner (18); and 

11. Clinical nurse specialist (19). 
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B. Other categories of licensed nurse practitioners shall be 

licensed if the Committee of the Joint Boards of Nursing and 

Medicine determines that the category meets the requirements 

of this chapter. 

C. Nurse practitioners licensed prior to January 15, 2016, 

may: 

1. Retain the specialty category in which they were initially 

licensed; or 

2. If the specialty category has been subsequently deleted 

and if qualified by certification, be issued a license in a 

specialty category listed in subsection A of this section that 

is consistent with such certification. 

18VAC90-30-86. Autonomous practice for nurse 

practitioners other than nurse midwives or, certified 

registered nurse anesthetists, or clinical nurse specialists. 

A. A nurse practitioner with a current, unrestricted license, 

other than someone licensed in the category of certified nurse 

midwife or, certified registered nurse anesthetist, or clinical 

nurse specialist, may qualify for autonomous practice by 

completion of the equivalent of five two years of full-time 

clinical experience as a nurse practitioner until July 1, 2022. 

Thereafter, the requirement shall be the equivalent of five years 

of full-time clinical experience to qualify for autonomous 

practice. 

1. Five years of full-time Full-time clinical experience shall 

be defined as 1,800 hours per year for a total of 9,000 hours. 

2. Clinical experience shall be defined as the postgraduate 

delivery of health care directly to patients pursuant to a 

practice agreement with a patient care team physician. 

B. Qualification for authorization for autonomous practice 

shall be determined upon submission of a fee as specified in 

18VAC90-30-50 and an attestation acceptable to the boards. 

The attestation shall be signed by the nurse practitioner and the 

nurse practitioner's patient care team physician stating that: 

1. The patient care team physician served as a patient care 

team physician on a patient care team with the nurse 

practitioner pursuant to a practice agreement meeting the 

requirements of this chapter and §§ 54.1-2957 and 54.1-

2957.01 of the Code of Virginia; 

2. While a party to such practice agreement, the patient care 

team physician routinely practiced with a patient population 

and in a practice area included within the category, as 

specified in 18VAC90-30-70, for which the nurse 

practitioner was certified and licensed; and 

3. The period of time and hours of practice during which the 

patient care team physician practiced with the nurse 

practitioner under such a practice agreement. 

C. The nurse practitioner may submit attestations from more 

than one patient care team physician with whom the nurse 

practitioner practiced during the equivalent of five years of 

practice, but all attestations shall be submitted to the boards at 

the same time. 

D. If a nurse practitioner is licensed and certified in more than 

one category as specified in 18VAC90-30-70, a separate fee 

and attestation that meets the requirements of subsection B of 

this section shall be submitted for each category. If the hours 

of practice are applicable to the patient population and in 

practice areas included within each of the categories of 

licensure and certification, those hours may be counted toward 

a second attestation. 

E. In the event a patient care team physician has died, become 

disabled, retired, or relocated to another state, or in the event 

of any other circumstance that inhibits the ability of the nurse 

practitioner from obtaining an attestation as specified in 

subsection B of this section, the nurse practitioner may submit 

other evidence of meeting the qualifications for autonomous 

practice along with an attestation signed by the nurse 

practitioner. Other evidence may include employment records, 

military service, Medicare or Medicaid reimbursement 

records, or other similar records that verify full-time clinical 

practice in the role of a nurse practitioner in the category for 

which the nurse practitioner is licensed and certified. The 

burden shall be on the nurse practitioner to provide sufficient 

evidence to support the nurse practitioner's inability to obtain 

an attestation from a patient care team physician. 

F. A nurse practitioner to whom a license is issued by 

endorsement may engage in autonomous practice if such 

application includes an attestation acceptable to the boards that 

the nurse practitioner has completed the equivalent of five 

years of full-time clinical experience as specified in subsection 

A of this section and in accordance with the laws of the state 

in which the nurse practitioner was previously licensed. 

G. A nurse practitioner authorized to practice autonomously 

shall: 

1. Only practice within the scope of the nurse practitioner's 

clinical and professional training and limits of the nurse 

practitioner's knowledge and experience and consistent with 

the applicable standards of care; 

2. Consult and collaborate with other health care providers 

based on the clinical conditions of the patient to whom 

health care is provided; and 

3. Establish a plan for referral of complex medical cases and 

emergencies to physicians or other appropriate health care 

providers. 

18VAC90-30-87. Autonomous practice for nurse 

practitioners licensed as certified nurse midwives.  

A. A certified nurse midwife who has completed 1,000 hours 

of practice as a certified nurse midwife may practice without a 

practice agreement upon receipt by the certified nurse midwife 

of an attestation from a certified nurse midwife who has 
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practiced for at least two years prior to entering into the 

practice agreement or the licensed physician with whom the 

certified nurse midwife has entered into a practice agreement 

stating (i) that such certified nurse midwife or licensed 

physician has provided consultation to the certified nurse 

midwife pursuant to a practice agreement meeting the 

requirements of § 54.1-2957 H of the Code of Virginia, and (ii) 

the period of time for which such certified nurse midwife or 

licensed physician practiced in collaboration and consultation 

with the certified nurse midwife pursuant to the practice 

agreement.  

B. A certified nurse midwife authorized to practice without a 

practice agreement shall consult and collaborate with and refer 

patients to such other health care providers as may be 

appropriate for the care of the patient. 

18VAC90-30-120. Practice of licensed nurse practitioners 

other than certified registered nurse anesthetists or, 

certified nurse midwives, or clinical nurse specialists. 

A. A nurse practitioner licensed in a category other than 

certified registered nurse anesthetist or, certified nurse 

midwife, or clinical nurse specialist shall be authorized to 

render care in collaboration and consultation with a licensed 

patient care team physician as part of a patient care team or if 

determined by the boards to qualify in accordance with 

18VAC90-30-86, authorized to practice autonomously without 

a practice agreement with a patient care team physician. 

B. The practice shall be based on specialty education 

preparation as an advanced practice registered nurse in 

accordance with standards of the applicable certifying 

organization, as identified in 18VAC90-30-90. 

C. All nurse practitioners licensed in any category other than 

certified registered nurse anesthetist or, certified nurse 

midwife, or clinical nurse specialist shall practice in 

accordance with a written or electronic practice agreement as 

defined in 18VAC90-30-10 or in accordance with 18VAC90-

30-86. 

D. The written or electronic practice agreement shall include 

provisions for: 

1. The periodic review of patient charts or electronic patient 

records by a patient care team physician and may include 

provisions for visits to the site where health care is delivered 

in the manner and at the frequency determined by the patient 

care team; 

2. Appropriate physician input in complex clinical cases and 

patient emergencies and for referrals; and 

3. The nurse practitioner's authority for signatures, 

certifications, stamps, verifications, affidavits, and 

endorsements provided it is: 

a. In accordance with the specialty license of the nurse 

practitioner and within the scope of practice of the patient 

care team physician; 

b. Permitted by § 54.1-2957.02 or applicable sections of 

the Code of Virginia; and 

c. Not in conflict with federal law or regulation. 

E. The practice agreement shall be maintained by the nurse 

practitioner and provided to the boards upon request. For nurse 

practitioners providing care to patients within a hospital or 

health care system, the practice agreement may be included as 

part of documents delineating the nurse practitioner's clinical 

privileges or the electronic or written delineation of duties and 

responsibilities; however, the nurse practitioner shall be 

responsible for providing a copy to the boards upon request. 

18VAC90-30-123. Practice of nurse practitioners licensed 

as certified nurse midwives. 

A. A nurse practitioner licensed in the category of certified 

nurse midwife who has practiced fewer than 1,000 hours shall 

practice in consultation with a licensed physician in 

accordance with a practice agreement between the nurse 

practitioner and the physician or with a certified nurse midwife 

who has practiced for at least two years prior to entering into 

the practice agreement. Such practice agreement shall address 

the availability of the physician or the certified nurse midwife 

for routine and urgent consultation on patient care. 

B. The practice agreement shall be maintained by the nurse 

midwife and provided to the boards upon request. For nurse 

midwives providing care to patients within a hospital or health 

care system, the practice agreement may be included as part of 

documents delineating the nurse midwife's clinical privileges 

or the electronic or written delineation of duties and 

responsibilities; however, the nurse midwife shall be 

responsible for providing a copy to the boards upon request. 

C. A nurse practitioner licensed in the category of a certified 

nurse midwife shall practice in accordance with the Standards 

for the Practice of Midwifery (Revised 2011) defined by the 

American College of Nurse-Midwives. 

18VAC90-30-125. Practice of nurse practitioners licensed 

as clinical nurse specialists.  

A. Nurse practitioners licensed in the category of clinical 

nurse specialist shall practice in consultation with a licensed 

physician in accordance with a practice agreement between the 

nurse practitioner and the licensed physician.  

B. Such practice agreement shall address the availability of 

the physician for routine and urgent consultation on patient 

care. Evidence of a practice agreement shall be maintained by 

a nurse practitioner and provided to the boards upon request.  

C. The practice of clinical nurse specialists shall be consistent 

with the standards of care for the profession and with 

applicable laws and regulations. 
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18VAC90-40-10. Definitions. 

The following words and terms when used in this chapter 

shall have the following meanings, unless the context clearly 

indicates otherwise: 

"Acute pain" means pain that occurs within the normal course 

of a disease or condition or as the result of surgery for which 

controlled substances containing an opioid may be prescribed 

for no more than three months. 

"Boards" means the Virginia Board of Medicine and the 

Virginia Board of Nursing. 

"Certified nurse midwife" means an advanced practice 

registered nurse who is certified in the specialty of nurse 

midwifery and who is jointly licensed by the Boards of 

Medicine and Nursing as a nurse practitioner pursuant to 

§ 54.1-2957 of the Code of Virginia. 

"Chronic pain" means nonmalignant pain that goes beyond 

the normal course of a disease or condition for which 

controlled substances containing an opioid may be prescribed 

for a period greater than three months. 

"Clinical nurse specialist" means an advanced practice 

registered nurse who is certified in the specialty of clinical 

nurse specialist and who is jointly licensed by the Boards of 

Medicine and Nursing as a nurse practitioner pursuant to 

§ 54.1-2957 of the Code of Virginia. 

"Committee" means the Committee of the Joint Boards of 

Nursing and Medicine. 

"FDA" means the U.S. Food and Drug Administration. 

"MME" means morphine milligram equivalent. 

"Nonprofit health care clinics or programs" means a clinic 

organized in whole or in part for the delivery of health care 

services without charge or when a reasonable minimum fee is 

charged only to cover administrative costs. 

"Nurse practitioner" means an advanced practice registered 

nurse who has met the requirements for licensure as a nurse 

practitioner as stated in 18VAC90-30. 

"Practice agreement" means a written or electronic agreement 

jointly developed by the patient care team physician and the 

nurse practitioner for the practice of the nurse practitioner that 

also describes the prescriptive authority of the nurse 

practitioner, if applicable. For a nurse practitioner licensed in 

the category of certified nurse midwife, the practice agreement 

is a statement jointly developed with the consulting physician 

or a certified nurse midwife with at least two years of clinical 

experience. For a nurse practitioner licensed in the category of 

clinical nurse specialist, the practice agreement shall be 

between the nurse practitioner and a consulting physician. 

"Prescription Monitoring Program" means the electronic 

system within the Department of Health Professions that 

monitors the dispensing of certain controlled substances. 

"SAMHSA" means the federal Substance Abuse and Mental 

Health Services Administration. 

18VAC90-40-90. Practice agreement. 

A. With the exceptions listed in subsection E of this section, 

a nurse practitioner with prescriptive authority may prescribe 

only within the scope of the written or electronic practice 

agreement with a patient care team physician. 

B. At any time there are changes in the patient care team 

physician, authorization to prescribe, or scope of practice, the 

nurse practitioner shall revise the practice agreement and 

maintain the revised agreement. 

C. The practice agreement shall contain the following: 

1. A description of the prescriptive authority of the nurse 

practitioner within the scope allowed by law and the practice 

of the nurse practitioner. 

2. An authorization for categories of drugs and devices within 

the requirements of § 54.1-2957.01 of the Code of Virginia. 

3. The signature of the patient care team physician who is 

practicing with the nurse practitioner or a clear statement of 

the name of the patient care team physician who has entered 

into the practice agreement. 

D. In accordance with § 54.1-2957.01 of the Code of Virginia, a 

physician shall not serve as a patient care team physician to more 

than six nurse practitioners with prescriptive authority at any one 

time. 

E. Exceptions. 

1. A nurse practitioner licensed in the category of certified 

nurse midwife and holding a license for prescriptive 

authority may prescribe in accordance with a written or 

electronic practice agreement with a consulting physician or 

may prescribe Schedule VI controlled substances without 

the requirement for inclusion of such prescriptive authority 

in a practice agreement or with a certified nurse midwife 

who has practiced for at least two years prior to entering into 

a practice agreement. A nurse practitioner in the category of 

certified nurse midwife who has qualified for autonomous 

practice as set forth in 18VAC90-30-87 may prescribe 

without a practice agreement. 

2. A nurse practitioner licensed in the category of a clinical 

nurse specialist and holding authorization for prescriptive 

authority may prescribe in accordance with a written or 

electronic practice agreement with a consulting physician or 

may prescribe Schedule VI controlled substances without 

the requirement for inclusion of such prescriptive authority 

in a practice agreement. 

3. A nurse practitioner who is licensed in a category other 

than certified nurse midwife or, certified registered nurse 

anesthetist, or clinical nurse specialist, and who has met the 

qualifications for autonomous practice as set forth in 
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18VAC90-30-86 may prescribe without a practice 

agreement with a patient care team physician. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R22-6896; Filed September 10, 2021, 12:30 p.m. 

BOARD OF PHARMACY 

Forms 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: Forms used in administering the 

regulation have been filed by the agency. The forms are not being 

published; however, online users of this issue of the Virginia 

Register of Regulations may click on the name of a form with a 

hyperlink to access it. The forms are also available from the 

agency contact or may be viewed at the Office of the Registrar of 

Regulations, 900 East Main Street, 11th Floor, Richmond, 

Virginia 23219. 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC110-60. Regulations Governing 

Pharmaceutical Processors. 

Agency Contact: Elaine Yeatts, Agency Regulatory 

Coordinator, Department of Health Professions, 9960 Mayland 

Drive, Henrico, VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-4688, FAX 

(804) 527-4434, or email elaine.yeatts@dhp.virginia.gov. 

FORMS (18VAC110-60) 

Application for Registration as a Patient for Cannabis Oil 

(rev. 3/2021) 

Application for Registration as a Parent/Guardian for 

Cannabis Oil (rev. 3/2021) 

Application for Registration as a Registered Agent for 

Cannabis Oil (rev. 3/2021) 

How to Register with the Board as a Patient, Parent or Legal 

Guardian (rev. 7/2020) 

Application for a Pharmaceutical Processor Permit (rev. 

1/2021) 

Application for a Pharmaceutical Processor Permit (rev. 

9/2021) 

Practitioner Reporting Requirements (eff. 6/2019) 

Registration of CBD or THC-A Oil Products (eff. 6/2019) 

Pharmaceutical Processor & Dispensing Facility Inspection 

Report (rev. 3/2021) 

Application for Registration as a Registered Agent (eff. 

12/2019) 

Request for Visitor Approval (eff. 5/2020) 

VA.R. Doc. No. R22-6967; Filed September 20, 2021, 2:02 p.m. 

DEPARTMENT OF PROFESSIONAL AND 
OCCUPATIONAL REGULATION 

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Department of Professional and 

Occupational Regulation is claiming an exemption from 

Article 2 of the Administrative Process Act in accordance with 

§ 2.2-4006 A 4 a of the Code of Virginia, which excludes 

regulations that are necessary to conform to changes in 

Virginia statutory law or the appropriation act where no agency 

discretion is involved. The department will receive, consider, 

and respond to petitions by any interested person at any time 

with respect to reconsideration or revision. 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC120-40. Virginia Professional 

Boxing and Wrestling Events Regulations (amending 

18VAC120-40-70, 18VAC120-40-140, 18VAC120-40-430). 

Statutory Authority: § 54.1-831 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: December 1, 2021. 

Agency Contact: Kathleen R. Nosbisch, Executive Director, 

Department of Professional and Occupational Regulation, 

9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 400, Richmond, VA 23233, 

telephone (804) 367-8514, FAX (866) 465-6206, or email 

boxing@dpor.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

Pursuant to Chapters 550 and 551 of the 2021 Acts of 

Assembly, Special Session I, the amendments conform 

regulations concerning qualifications for licensure and 

standards of conduct to the requirements of § 19.2-389.3 of 

the Code of Virginia and remove requirements for reporting 

by applicants or licensees of misdemeanor marijuana 

convictions. 

18VAC120-40-70. Application requirements. 

A. Applicants shall apply on forms supplied by the 

department or its contractor. 

B. Individual applicants shall be at least 18 years of age. 

C. The applicant shall disclose the following information 

about himself, in the case of an individual, or about the firm 

and every member of the responsible management of the firm, 

in the case of a firm: 

1. Any guilty finding by the department, or by a court of any 

competent jurisdiction, of any material misrepresentation 

while engaged in boxing, martial arts, wrestling, or other 

athletic activities, or any conviction, guilty plea, or finding 

of guilty, regardless of adjudication or deferred adjudication, 

of any felony or non-marijuana misdemeanor; 

2. Any disciplinary action taken by the department or 

another jurisdiction in connection with the applicant's 

participation in or promotion of professional athletic 

contests or activities including, but not limited to, monetary 

https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC110/forms/Patient%20Cannabis-20210406110811.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC110/forms/Patient%20Cannabis-20210406110811.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC110/forms/Parent%20Cannabis-20210406110920.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC110/forms/Parent%20Cannabis-20210406110920.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC110/forms/Agent%20Cannabis-20210406111013.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC110/forms/Agent%20Cannabis-20210406111013.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC110/forms/HowToPatientRegistration-20210113210109.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC110/forms/HowToPatientRegistration-20210113210109.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC110/forms/2021_PharmProcessorPermit-20210918184453.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC110/forms/2021_PharmProcessorPermit-20210918184453.pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=91500004878~3).pdf&typ=40&actno=004878&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=c3140004878~4).pdf&typ=40&actno=004878&mime=application/pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC110/forms/ProcessorInspectionReport-20210322101226.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC110/forms/ProcessorInspectionReport-20210322101226.pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=9638d006274~1A.pdf&typ=40&actno=006274&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=9638d006274~1A.pdf&typ=40&actno=006274&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=b19f0006378~3l.pdf&typ=40&actno=006378&mime=application/pdf
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penalty, fine, suspension, revocation, or surrender of a 

license in connection with a disciplinary action; and 

3. Any currently or previously held boxing, martial arts, or 

wrestling licenses issued by this Commonwealth or any 

other jurisdiction. 

Any plea of nolo contendere shall be considered a conviction 

for the purposes of this subsection. A certified copy of a final 

order, decree, or case decision by a court or regulatory 

agency with the lawful authority to issue such order, decree, 

or case decision shall be admissible as prima facie evidence 

of such conviction or discipline. Subject to the provisions of 

§ 54.1-204 of the Code of Virginia, the department may deny 

an application for a license if, in its judgment, the actions 

disclosed in subdivisions 1 and 2 of this subsection would 

render the applicant unfit or unsuited to engage in boxing, 

wrestling, or other athletic activities. 

D. Each individual applicant shall disclose his physical 

address and each firm applying for licensure shall disclose the 

physical addresses of the firm and the firm's responsible 

management. A post office box shall not be accepted in lieu of 

a physical address. 

E. The fee established by 18VAC120-40-50 A shall 

accompany the application and shall not be refunded. 

F. The receipt of an application and the deposit of fees in no 

way indicate approval by the department. 

18VAC120-40-140. Requirements for approval to act as an 

event official. 

A. To qualify to act on the department's behalf as an event 

official, a person must: 

1. Be at least 18 years of age; 

2. Not have been convicted or found guilty, regardless of 

adjudication, of any felony or other crime non-marijuana 

misdemeanor involving lying, cheating, or stealing or 

involving; illegal drugs; or other acts involving the sport of 

boxing or martial arts. Any plea of nolo contendere shall be 

considered a conviction for the purposes of this chapter. The 

record of conviction, authenticated in such form as to be 

admissible as evidence under the laws of the jurisdiction 

where convicted, shall be admissible as prima facie evidence 

of such conviction; and 

3. Submit verifications from three persons of his proficiency 

as an event inspector, locker room inspector, referee, judge, 

or timekeeper, whichever is appropriate. Evidence of 

approval by the department, its contractor, or another 

jurisdiction with a regulatory program substantially 

equivalent to this chapter, may be submitted in lieu of the 

verifications from three persons. 

B. In addition to requirements set forth in subsection A of this 

section, each referee or judge shall submit the following 

certification: 

"I understand that I am not entitled to receive any 

compensation in connection with a boxing or martial arts 

match until I provide the department a statement of all 

consideration, including reimbursement for expenses that 

will be received from any source for participation in the 

match." 

18VAC120-40-430. Grounds for disciplinary action by the 

department. 

A. The department shall have the authority to discipline a 

licensee through a fine, license suspension, or license 

revocation for the same reason it may deny licensure or 

renewal, and for the following reasons, as may be appropriate: 

1. Violating or inducing another person to violate any 

provisions of the federal Professional Boxing Safety Act of 

1996 (15 USC § 6301 et seq.), Chapters 1, 2, 3 or 8.1 of Title 

54.1 of the Code of Virginia or of this chapter. 

2. Using misrepresentation or fraud to obtain or attempt to 

obtain a license or event license. 

3. Having a medical condition which makes participation in 

events a health hazard. 

4. Altering a license issued by the department. 

5. Having been convicted in any jurisdiction of any felony 

or of any non-marijuana misdemeanor involving lying, 

cheating, or stealing, or of any non-marijuana misdemeanor 

for acts carried out while engaged in boxing, wrestling, or 

other athletic activities. Any plea of nolo contendere shall be 

considered a conviction for the purposes of this subsection. 

A certified copy of a final order, decree, or case decision by 

a court or regulatory agency with the lawful authority to 

issue such order, decree, or case decision shall be admissible 

as prima facie evidence of such conviction or discipline. 

6. Having been the subject of disciplinary action taken by 

Virginia or another jurisdiction in connection with the 

participation in or promotion of professional athletic 

contests or activities, including but not limited to, monetary 

penalties, fines, suspension, revocation, or surrender of a 

license in connection with a disciplinary action. 

7. Failing or refusing to appear when directed by the 

department or its contractor for the purposes of weighing or 

conducting a medical examination. 

8. Failing to furnish a valid reason or a doctor's certificate to 

explain any failure to appear at an event in which an 

applicant or licensee agreed to participate by signing a 

contract. 

9. Using unsportsmanlike conduct or other inappropriate 

behavior inconsistent with generally accepted methods of 

competition. 
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10. Failure Failing to meet financial obligations that results 

in collection proceedings against the bond required by this 

chapter and § 54.1-833 A of the Code of Virginia. 

11. Use of Using profane or abusive language, during the 

event, including at the weigh-in and prefight meeting. 

12. Threatening or inflicting bodily harm upon an official or 

members of the audience during an event. 

13. Making allegations of illegal or improper conduct 

against officials that the licensee knows or should have 

known to be false. 

14. Use of any Using alcohol, controlled substances, or 

stimulants in any part of the body prior to or during an event 

or being found to be under the influence of alcohol, 

controlled substances, or stimulants during an event. 

15. Failure Failing to submit to a urinalysis or chemical test 

before or after an event upon request of the department or its 

designee. 

16. Failure Failing to fulfill contracts for participation in an 

event. 

17. Wearing facial cosmetics or jewelry of any kind, 

including any type of body piercing by any participants 

during a contest, except that wrestlers may wear cosmetics 

or jewelry unless the event official determines there is a 

safety risk. 

18. Failure by any participant Failing to secure hair with soft, 

nonabrasive materials during a contest, when deemed 

appropriate by the department or its contractor. 

19. Allowing a license, certificate, or registration to be used 

by another.  

B. The department shall conduct disciplinary procedures in 

accordance with the Administrative Process Act (§ 2.2-4000 et 

seq. of the Code of Virginia). 

VA.R. Doc. No. R22-6969; Filed September 22, 2021, 9:56 a.m. 
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Guidance Documents 

PUBLIC COMMENT OPPORTUNITY 

Pursuant to § 2.2-4002.1 of the Code of Virginia, a certified guidance document is subject to a 30-day public comment period 

after publication in the Virginia Register of Regulations and prior to the guidance document's effective date. During the public 

comment period, comments may be made through the Virginia Regulatory Town Hall website (http://www.townhall.virginia.gov) 

or sent to the agency contact. Under subsection C of § 2.2-4002.1, the effective date of the guidance document may be delayed 

for an additional period. The guidance document may also be withdrawn. 

The following guidance documents have been submitted for publication by the listed agencies for a public comment period. 

Online users of this issue of the Virginia Register of Regulations may click on the name of a guidance document to access it. 

Guidance documents are also available on the Virginia Regulatory Town Hall (http://www.townhall.virginia.gov) or from the 

agency contact or may be viewed at the Office of the Registrar of Regulations, 900 East Main Street, Richmond, Virginia 23219. 

BOARD OF AGRICULTURE AND CONSUMER 
SERVICES 

Title of Document: Virginia Cooperative Gypsy Moth 

Suppression Program, 2022 Guidelines for Participation Aerial 

Treatments. 

Public Comment Deadline: November 10, 2021. 

Effective Date: November 11, 2021. 

Agency Contact: David Gianino, Program Manager, Office of 

Plant Industry Services, Department of Agriculture and 

Consumer Services, P.O. Box 1163, Richmond, VA 23218, 

telephone (804) 786-3515, or email 

david.gianino@vdacs.virginia.gov. 

BOARD OF DENTISTRY 

Titles of Documents: Death or Retirement of a Dentist or 

Selling or Closing of a Dental Practice. 

Educational Requirements for Dental Assistants II. 

Guidance for Dental Practices. 

Public Comment Deadline: November 10, 2021. 

Effective Date: November 11, 2021. 

Agency Contact: Elaine J. Yeatts, Agency Regulatory 

Coordinator, Department of Health Professions, Perimeter 

Center, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, Richmond, VA 

23233, telephone (804) 367-4688, or email 

elaine.yeatts@dhp.virginia.gov. 

DEPARTMENT OF HOUSING AND COMMUNITY 
DEVELOPMENT 

Title of Document: Housing Innovation Partnerships Grants. 

Public Comment Deadline: November 10, 2021. 

Effective Date: November 11, 2021. 

Agency Contact: Kyle Flanders, Senior Policy Analyst, 

Department of Housing and Community Development, Main 

Street Centre, 600 East Main Street, Suite 300, Richmond, VA  

23219, telephone (804) 786-6761, or email 

kyle.flanders@dhcd.virginia.gov. 

DEPARTMENT OF MOTOR VEHICLES 

Title of Document: Obtaining a Virginia Driver Privilege Card. 

Public Comment Deadline: November 10, 2021. 

Effective Date: November 11, 2021. 

Agency Contact: Melissa K. Velazquez, Legislative Director, 

Department of Motor Vehicles, 2300 West Broad Street, 

Richmond, VA 23220, telephone (804) 367-1844, or email 

melissa.velazquez@dmv.virginia.gov. 

DEPARTMENT OF RAIL AND PUBLIC 
TRANSPORTATION 

Title of Document: Freight Rail Grant Funding and 

Procedures. 

Public Comment Deadline: November 10, 2021. 

Effective Date: November 11, 2021. 

Agency Contact: Andrew Wright, Senior Legislative and 

Policy Specialist, Department of Rail and Public 

Transportation, 600 East Main Street, Suite 2102, Richmond, 

VA 23219, telephone (804) 241-0301, or email 

andrew.wright@drpt.virginia.gov. 

STATE BOARD OF SOCIAL SERVICES 

Titles of Documents: Supplemental Nutrition Assistance 

Program Manual - Volume V. 

Temporary Assistance for Needy Families Manual. 

Public Comment Deadline: November 10, 2021. 

Effective Date: November 11, 2021. 

Agency Contact: Nikki Clarke Callaghan, Legislation, 

Regulations and Guidance Manager, Department of Social 

Services, 801 East Main Street, Richmond, VA 23219, 

telephone (804) 726-7943, or email 

nikki.clarke@dss.virginia.gov. 

https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title2.2/chapter40/section2.2-4002.1/
http://www.townhall.virginia.gov/
https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title2.2/chapter40/section2.2-4002.1/
http://www.townhall.virginia.gov/
https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/GetFile.cfm?File=C:/TownHall/docroot/GuidanceDocs_Proposed/301/GDoc_VDACS_4927_20210910.pdf
https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/GetFile.cfm?File=C:/TownHall/docroot/GuidanceDocs_Proposed/301/GDoc_VDACS_4927_20210910.pdf
https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/GetFile.cfm?File=C:/TownHall/docroot/GuidanceDocs_Proposed/301/GDoc_VDACS_4927_20210910.pdf
mailto:David.Gianino@vdacs.virginia.gov
https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/GetFile.cfm?File=C:/TownHall/docroot/GuidanceDocs_Proposed/223/GDoc_DHP_4930_20210912.pdf
https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/GetFile.cfm?File=C:/TownHall/docroot/GuidanceDocs_Proposed/223/GDoc_DHP_4930_20210912.pdf
https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/GetFile.cfm?File=C:/TownHall/docroot/GuidanceDocs_Proposed/223/GDoc_DHP_4928_20210910.pdf
https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/GetFile.cfm?File=C:/TownHall/docroot/GuidanceDocs_Proposed/223/GDoc_DHP_4929_20210910.pdf
mailto:elaine.yeatts@dhp.virginia.gov
https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/GetFile.cfm?File=C:/TownHall/docroot/GuidanceDocs_Proposed/165/GDoc_DHCD_4938_20210920.pdf
mailto:kyle.flanders@dhcd.virginia.gov
https://www.dmv.virginia.gov/documents/guidance/dmv309_edits_8.16.21.pdf
mailto:melissa.velazquez@dmv.virginia.gov
https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/GetFile.cfm?File=C:/TownHall/docroot/GuidanceDocs_Proposed/505/GDoc_DRPT_4937_20210916.pdf
https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/GetFile.cfm?File=C:/TownHall/docroot/GuidanceDocs_Proposed/505/GDoc_DRPT_4937_20210916.pdf
mailto:andrew.wright@drpt.virginia.gov
https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/GetFile.cfm?File=C:/TownHall/docroot/GuidanceDocs_Proposed/765/GDoc_DSS_4926_20210909.pdf
https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/GetFile.cfm?File=C:/TownHall/docroot/GuidanceDocs_Proposed/765/GDoc_DSS_4926_20210909.pdf
https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/GetFile.cfm?File=C:/TownHall/docroot/GuidanceDocs_Proposed/765/GDoc_DSS_4925_20210909.pdf
mailto:nikki.clarke@dss.virginia.gov
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General Notices 

STATE CORPORATION COMMISSION 

BUREAU OF INSURANCE 

AT RICHMOND, SEPTEMBER 9, 2021 

COMMONWEALTH OF VIRGINIA, ex rel. 

STATE CORPORATION COMMISSION 

CASE NO. INS-2021-00110 

Ex Parte: In the matter of the 

Implementation of the Commonwealth Health 

Reinsurance Program 

ORDER FOR NOTICE, COMMENT AND HEARING 

During the 2021 Special Session I, the Virginia General 

Assembly enacted Chapter 480 (HB 2332) of the 2021 Virginia 

Acts of Assembly. This bill requires the State Corporation 

Commission ("Commission"), upon approval of a State 

Innovation Waiver request ("1332 waiver" or "waiver") 

submitted pursuant to § 1332 of The Patient Protection and 

Affordable Care Act, 124 Stat. 119, to establish the 

Commonwealth Health Reinsurance Program ("Program") 

beginning January 1, 2023.1 This Order notices the instant 

proceeding, provides an opportunity for public comment on the 

1332 waiver application, as well as schedules a hearing, as 

required under federal law prior to submission of the waiver 

application. 

Pursuant to HB 2332, the Program will be funded through state 

general funds and federal pass-through funding provided under 

the waiver, and will reimburse carriers in the individual health 

insurance market for a proportion of the claims of covered 

individuals with high annual costs. The Program is intended to 

increase affordability of health insurance coverage in the 

individual market with a goal of decreasing premiums. 

HB 2332 sets out the framework for the Program, including 

carrier eligibility, the basis for determining medical 

expenditures, and the process by which benefits will be applied 

for and paid. The bill also requires the Virginia Secretary of 

Health and Human Resources ("Secretary") to convene a work 

group of relevant stakeholders ("Work Group") to consider 

initiatives, including a state-based subsidy program, to 

increase affordability of health plans to individuals and to 

increase enrollment in the Virginia Health Benefit Exchange. 

The provisions of the bill, other than the requirement that the 

Commission apply for the 1332 waiver, will become effective 

30 days after notice of approval of the waiver request. 

Under the guidance of the Secretary, the Virginia HB 2332 

Work Group held six meetings during the summer of 2021 and 

received presentations from experts on the 1332 waiver 

program, other states' health care affordability initiatives, and 

Virginia's uninsured population. The Work Group 

recommended that the waiver application include only the 

Program and not any additional cost savings programs, such as 

premium subsidies. 

Section 38.2-6606 A of the Code of Virginia ("Code") requires 

the Commission to submit a 1332 waiver application to the 

U.S. Secretary of Health and Human Services by January 1, 

2022 and make a draft waiver application available for public 

review and comment by October 1, 2021.2 Prior to submitting 

the waiver application, federal rules3 require that the 

Commission provide for a public notice and comment period 

sufficient to ensure a meaningful level of public input for a 

section 1332 waiver. Federal rules further require the public 

notice and comment period to include a separate process for 

meaningful consultation with all federally recognized Indian 

tribes4 within a state's borders. Finally, the Commission is 

required to conduct public hearings that provide for the 

opportunity to learn about and comment on the contents of the 

waiver application. 

NOW THE COMMISSION, upon consideration of this matter, 

notes that the waiver application process requires its prompt 

review and receipt of input from the public and interested 

persons, as well as comment from the federally recognized 

Indian tribes located in Virginia, before the waiver application 

is submitted. Therefore, the Commission is establishing this 

schedule in advance of the due date of the waiver application 

to receive timely input on this matter. 

In inviting public comment and setting the hearings, the 

Commission takes judicial notice of the ongoing public health 

issues related to the spread of the coronavirus, or COVID-19. 

The Commission has taken certain actions, and may take 

additional actions going forward, that could impact procedures 

in this matter. The Commission has requested, and received 

approval for, modification to the federal requirements for in-

person public hearing to allow these hearings to be held 

virtually because of the ongoing COVID-19 Public Health 

Emergency. 

Accordingly, IT IS ORDERED THAT: 

(1) This matter is docketed and assigned Case No. INS-2021-

00110 for purposes of receiving input from the public and 

interested persons in this matter. 

(2) The Bureau of Insurance ("Bureau") will establish a 

webpage on the Commission's website at: 

scc.virginia.gov/pages/Reinsurance-Waiver to inform the 

public and interested persons about the Program. The draft 

1332 waiver application will be posted on the website on or 

before October 1, 2021. 

(3) The Commission's Division of Information Resources is 

directed to post this Order on the Commission's website. On or 

before November 1, 2021, any interested person may file 

written comments on the waiver application by following the 

instructions found on the Commission's website: 

scc.virginia.gov/casecomments/Submit-Public-Comments. 
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Those unable, as a practical matter, to file comments 

electronically may file such comments by U.S. mail to the 

Clerk of the State Corporation Commission, c/o Document 

Control Center, P.O. Box 2118, Richmond, Virginia 23218-

2118. All comments shall refer to Case No. INS-2021-00110. 

(4) The Commission's Division of Information Resources 

shall forward a copy of this Order to the Register of 

Regulations for publication in the Virginia Register of 

Regulations. 

(5) The Division of Information Resources shall cause a 

notice for comment and public hearing to be published in 

classified advertising on one occasion by October 1, 2021 in 

newspapers of general circulation throughout the 

Commonwealth. 

(6) The Bureau shall consult with the Secretary of the 

Commonwealth for assistance in contacting representatives 

from the seven federally recognized Indian tribes within 

Virginia's borders. The Bureau also shall provide information 

on the Program and the waiver application to the Indian tribes, 

extend an opportunity to meet with them, and request that the 

Indian tribes provide comment, either collectively or 

individually, regarding the waiver application. 

(7) Due to the ongoing public health emergency related to the 

spread of the coronavirus, or COVID-19, the Commission 

hereby schedules telephonic hearings for the receipt of public 

comment from interested persons on the Program, as follows: 

a. Two public hearings will be conducted to receive oral 

comments from the public and interested persons regarding 

the Program under consideration in this matter. As provided 

by § 12.1-31 of the Code, the Office of Hearing Examiners 

is directed to conduct these public hearings on behalf of the 

Commission. 

b. These hearings shall occur on Thursday, October 14, 2021 

at 10:00 am and on Thursday, October 14, 2021 at 7:00 pm. 

c. The Bureau is directed to provide an overview of the 

Program at the beginning of each public hearing so that 

participants have an opportunity to learn about and comment 

on the contents of waiver application. 

d. To promote fairness for all persons offering comments, 

each person will be allotted up to five minutes to provide 

their comments. This time may be adjusted by the Hearing 

Examiner as necessary. 

e. On or before October 12, 2021, any person desiring to 

offer comments in this matter shall provide to the 

Commission (a) their name, and (b) the telephone number 

that they wish the Commission to call during the hearing to 

receive their comments. This information may be provided 

to the Commission in three ways: (i) by filling out a form on 

the Commission's website at 

scc.virginia.gov/pages/Webcasting; (ii) by completing and 

emailing the PDF version of this form to 

SCCInfo@scc.virginia.gov; or (iii) by calling (804) 371-

9141. 

f. After the Bureau presentations at 10:00 a.m. and 7:00 p.m. 

on October 14, 2021, the Commission will telephone 

sequentially each person who has signed up to speak as 

provided above. 

g. Each public hearing will be webcast at 

scc.virginia.gov/pages/Webcasting. 

A COPY hereof shall be sent electronically by the Clerk of the 

Commission to the following members of the Virginia HB 

2332 Work Group: Chris Pyle, chris.pvle@deltadentalva.com; 

Chris Renkar, cjrenkar@mdependentbenefits.net; Christopher 

E. West, Christopher.E.West@kp.org; Clark Barrineau, 

cbarrineau@msv.org; Corey Pleasants, 

corey.pleasants@govemor.virginia.gov; Craig Connors, 

cconnors@vhha.com; Daniel Carey, 

Daniel.carey@govemor.virginia.gov; David DeBiasi, 

ddebiasi@aarp.org; Deepak Medala, deepak@enroll-

virginia.com; Jeion Ward, DelJWard@house.virginia.gov; 

Mark Sickles, DelMSickles@house.virginia.gov; Don Harris, 

don@marksickles.com; Douglas Gray, dgrav@vahp.org; Erik 

Rison, E.rison@vachamber.com; Freddy Mejia, 

freddv@thecommonwealtliinstitute.org; Holly Mortlock, 

holly.morttlock@governor.virginia.gov; Jeffrey Palmore, 

ipalmore@reedsmith.com; Julie Dime, idime@vhlia.com; 

Kathie Naylor, knaylor@integrumadvisors.com; Kenn Penn, 

kpenn@chambersolutions.com; Kristin Burhop, 

k.burhop@vachamber.com; Kristin Collins, 

Kristin.collins@tax.Virginia.gov; Lauryn Walker, 

laurvn.walker@dmas.virginia.gov; Lindsay Berry, 

Lindsay.berry@anthem.com; Martin Johnson, 

miohnson@virginiarealtors.org; Matthew Huntley, 

matthew.huntley@tax.virginia.gov; Melissa Assalone, 

Melissa.assalone@governor.virginia.gov; Meredith Lee, 

Meredith.lee@dmas.virginia.gov; Mike Tweedy, 

mtweedy@sfc.virginia.gov; Nicole Riley, 

Nicole.rilev@nfib.org; Sabrina Corlette, 

sc732@georgetown.edu; Sara Cariano, sara@vnlc.org; 

George Barker, district39@senate.virginia.gov; Susan 

Massart, smassart@hac.virginia.gov; Tim Jost, jostt@wlu.edu. 

A copy also shall be sent to the Commission's Office of 

General Counsel and Bureau of Insurance Life & Health 

Division. 

______________________________ 

1Code of Virginia § 38.2-6606 A. 

2Code of Virginia § 38.2-6606 B. 

331 CFR § 33.112 and 45 CFR § 155.1312. 2. 

4The federally recognized tribes in Virginia include the following: 

Chickahominy, Eastern Chickahominy, Rappahannock, Upper Mattaponi, 

Monacan, Nansemond, and Pamunkey. 

Contact Information: Kenneth J. Schrad, Director, Information 

Resources, State Corporation Commission, P.O. Box 1197, 
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Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 371-9858, or email 

ken.schrad@scc.virginia.gov. 

DEPARTMENT OF MEDICAL ASSISTANCE 
SERVICES 

Intent to Amend the Virginia State Plan for Medical 
Assistance Pursuant to § 1902(a)(13) of the Social 

Security Act (USC § 1396a(a)(13)) - Behavioral 
Health Enhancement Part 2 

The Virginia Department of Medical Assistance Services 

(DMAS) hereby affords the public notice of its intention to 

amend the Virginia State Plan for Medical Assistance to 

provide for changes to the Methods and Standards for 

Establishing Payment Rates; Other Types of Care (12VAC30-

80).  

This notice is intended to satisfy the requirements of 42 CFR 

447.205 and of § 1902(a)(13) of the Social Security Act 

(42 USC § 1396a(a)(13)). A copy of this notice is available for 

public review from the contact listed at the end of the notice. 

DMAS is specifically soliciting input from stakeholders, 

providers, and beneficiaries on the potential impact of the 

proposed changes discussed in this notice. Comments or 

inquiries may be submitted, in writing, within 30 days of this 

notice publication to the contact listed at the end of the notice, 

and such comments are available for review at the same 

address. Comments may also be submitted, in writing, on the 

Virginia Regulatory Town Hall at 

https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/generalnotice.cfm. 

In accordance with Items 313 YYY (2), (3), and (4) of Chapter 

552 of the 2021 Acts of Assembly, Special Session I, DMAS 

will be making the following changes: 

Methods and Standards for Establishing Payment Rates; Other 

Types of Care (12VAC30-80) 

The state plan is being revised to implement programmatic 

changes and reimbursement rates for the following services: 

multisystemic therapy, functional family therapy, crisis 

intervention services, crisis stabilization services, and 

behavioral therapy. 

The expected increase in annual aggregate expenditures is 

$11,283,993 in state general funds and $15,450,043 in federal 

funds in federal fiscal year 2022. 

Contact Information: Emily McClellan, Regulatory Manager, 

Division of Policy and Research, Department of Medical 

Assistance Services, 600 East Broad Street, Suite 1300, 

Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 371-4300, FAX (804) 

786-1680. 

Intent to Amend the Virginia State Plan for Medical 
Assistance Pursuant to § 1902(a)(13) of the Social 

Security Act (USC § 1396a(a)(13)) - School Services 

The Virginia Department of Medical Assistance Services 

(DMAS) hereby affords the public notice of its intention to 

amend the Virginia State Plan for Medical Assistance to 

provide for changes to the Methods and Standards for 

Establishing Payment Rates; Other Types of Care (12VAC30-

80). 

This notice is intended to satisfy the requirements of 42 CFR 

447.205 and of § 1902(a)(13) of the Social Security Act 

(42 USC § 1396a(a)(13)).  

DMAS is specifically soliciting input from stakeholders, 

providers, and beneficiaries on the potential impact of the 

proposed changes discussed in this notice. Comments or 

inquiries may be submitted, in writing, within 30 days of this 

notice publication to the contact listed at the end of the notice, 

and such comments are available for review at the same 

address. Comments may also be submitted, in writing, on the 

Virginia Regulatory Town Hall at 

https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/generalnotice.cfm. 

In accordance with Item 313 AAAAAA of Chapter 552 of the 

2021 Acts of Assembly, Special Session I, DMAS will be 

making the following changes: 

Methods and Standards for Establishing Payment Rates-Other 

Types of Care (12VAC30-80) 

Item 313 AAAAAA requires DMAS to "allow payment of 

medical assistance services delivered to Medicaid-eligible 

students when such services qualify for reimbursement by the 

Virginia Medicaid program and may be provided by school 

divisions, regardless of whether the student receiving care has 

an individualized education program or whether the health care 

service is included in a student's individualized education 

program." 

The expected increase in aggregate annual expenditures is 

$571,250 in federal funds and $7,450 in special funds in 

federal fiscal year 2022. 

Contact Information: Emily McClellan, Regulatory Manager, 

Division of Policy and Research, Department of Medical 

Assistance Services, 600 East Broad Street, Suite 1300, 

Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 371-4300, FAX (804) 

786-1680. 

STATE WATER CONTROL BOARD 

Amendment of Water Quality Management Planning 
Regulation 

Notice of action: The State Water Control Board is considering 

the amendment of the regulation on water quality management 

planning in accordance with the Public Participation 

Procedures for Water Quality Management Planning. A 

mailto:ken.schrad@scc.virginia.gov
https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/generalnotice.cfm
https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/generalnotice.cfm
https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/generalnotice.cfm
https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/generalnotice.cfm
https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/generalnotice.cfm
https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/generalnotice.cfm
https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/generalnotice.cfm
https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/generalnotice.cfm
https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/generalnotice.cfm
https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/generalnotice.cfm
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regulation is a general rule governing people's rights or 

conduct that is upheld by a state agency. 

Purpose of notice: The board is seeking comments through the 

Department of Environmental Quality (DEQ) on the proposed 

amendment. The purpose of the amendment to the state's Water 

Quality Management Planning Regulation (9VAC25-720) is to 

adopt 16 new total maximum daily load (TMDL) wasteload 

allocations. 

Public comment period: October 11, 2021, through November 

10, 2021. 

Description of proposed action: DEQ staff will propose 

amendments of the state's Water Quality Management 

Planning Regulation for the Potomac-Shenandoah River Basin 

(8VAC25-720-50 A), Roanoke River Basin (8VAC25-720-80 

A), and the York River Basin (9VAC25-720-120 A). Statutory 

authority for promulgating these amendments can be found in 

§ 62.1-44.15 of the Code of Virginia. 

Staff intends to recommend that (i) the board approve the three 

TMDL reports as the plans for the pollutant reductions 

necessary for attainment of water quality goals in the impaired 

segments, (ii) the board authorize inclusion of the three TMDL 

reports in the appropriate Water Quality Management Plans, 

and (iii) the board adopt 16 new TMDL wasteload allocations 

(WLAs) as part of the state's Water Quality Management 

Planning Regulation in accordance with § 2.2-4006 A 14 and 

B of the Code of Virginia. 

The TMDL reports were developed in accordance with federal 

regulations (40 CFR 130.7) and are exempt from the provisions 

of Article 2 (§ 2.2-4006 et seq.) of the Virginia Administrative 

Process Act. The reports were subject to the TMDL public 

participation process contained in DEQ's Public Participation 

Procedures for Water Quality Management Planning. The 

public comment process provides the affected stakeholders an 

opportunity for public appeal of the TMDL. 

As of July 1, 2014, TMDL WLAs can receive State Water 

Control Board approval prior to EPA approval due to 

amendments outlined in § 2.2-4006 A 14 of the Code of 

Virginia. The TMDL reports in this public notice have been 

reviewed by EPA for required TMDL elements, however, 

remain in draft form awaiting State Water Control Board 

approval. The draft reports can be found at 

https://www.deq.virginia.gov/water/water-quality/tmdl-

development/draft-tmdls. 

Affected waterbodies and localities for the 16 new TMDL 

wasteload allocations: 

Potomac-Shenandoah River Basin (9VAC25-720-50 A) 

• "PCB Total Maximum Daily Load Development for Lewis 

Creek, Staunton, Virginia" 

- The Lewis Creek TMDL, located in the City of Staunton, 

proposes PCB reductions for the Lewis Creek watershed and 

provides a new PCB wasteload allocation of 3,040 mg/yr 

Roanoke River Basin (9VAC25-720-80 A) 

• Benthic TMDL Development for the Lynch Creek and 

Reed Creek Watersheds Located in Campbell and 

Pittsylvania Counties 

- The Lynch Creek and Reed Creek TMDL, located in 

Campbell and Pittsylvania Counties, proposes sediment 

reductions for the Lynch Creek watershed and provides a 

new sediment wasteload allocation of 8,069 lb/yr. 

- The Lynch Creek and Reed Creek TMDL, located in 

Campbell and Pittsylvania Counties, proposes sediment 

reductions for the Reed Creek watershed and provides a new 

sediment wasteload allocation of 22,250 lb/yr. 

York River Basin (9VAC25-720-120 A) 

• Bacteria Total Maximum Daily Load (TMDL) 

Development for the Mattaponi River and Tributaries 

Located in Caroline, Essex, King William, and King and 

Queen Counties, Virginia 

- The Mattaponi River and Tributaries TMDL, located in 

Caroline, Essex, King William, and King and Queen 

Counties, proposes e. coli reductions for the Aylett Creek 

watershed and provides a new e. coli wasteload allocation of 

2.42E 11 counts/year. 

- The Mattaponi River and Tributaries TMDL, located in 

Caroline, Essex, King William, and King and Queen 

Counties, proposes e. coli reductions for the Courthouse 

Creek watershed and provides a new e. coli wasteload 

allocation of 1.41E 11 counts/year. 

- The Mattaponi River and Tributaries TMDL, located in 

Caroline, Essex, King William, and King and Queen 

Counties, proposes e. coli reductions for the Dickeys Swamp 

watershed and provides a new e. coli wasteload allocation of 

2.22E 11 counts/year. 

- The Mattaponi River and Tributaries TMDL, located in 

Caroline, Essex, King William, and King and Queen 

Counties, proposes e. coli reductions for the Dogwood Fork 

watershed and provides a new e. coli wasteload allocation of 

1.79E 10 counts/year. 

- The Mattaponi River and Tributaries TMDL, located in 

Caroline, Essex, King William, and King and Queen 

Counties, proposes e. coli reductions for the Dorrell Creek 

watershed and provides a new e. coli wasteload allocation of 

5.75E 10 counts/year. 

- The Mattaponi River and Tributaries TMDL, located in 

Caroline, Essex, King William, and King and Queen 

counties, proposes E. coli reductions for the Garnetts Creek 

https://www.deq.virginia.gov/water/water-quality/tmdl-development/draft-tmdls
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watershed and provides a new E. coli waste load allocation 

of 8.72E 10 counts/year. 

- The Mattaponi River and Tributaries TMDL, located in 

Caroline, Essex, King William, and King and Queen 

counties, proposes E. coli reductions for the Gravel Run 

watershed and provides a new E. coli waste load allocation 

of 1.10E 11 counts/year. 

- The Mattaponi River and Tributaries TMDL, located in 

Caroline, Essex, King William, and King and Queen 

counties, proposes E. coli reductions for the Herring Creek 

watershed and provides a new E. coli waste load allocation 

of 6.30E 11 counts/year. 

- The Mattaponi River and Tributaries TMDL, located in 

Caroline, Essex, King William, and King and Queen 

counties, proposes E. coli reductions for the Market Swamp 

watershed and provides a new E. coli waste load allocation 

of 1.10E 11 counts/year. 

- The Mattaponi River and Tributaries TMDL, located in 

Caroline, Essex, King William, and King and Queen 

counties, proposes E. coli reductions for the Mattaponi River 

(non-tidal) watershed and provides a new E. coli waste load 

allocation of 1.00E 12 counts/year. 

- The Mattaponi River and Tributaries TMDL, located in 

Caroline, Essex, King William, and King and Queen 

counties, proposes E. coli reductions for the Mattaponi River 

(tidal) watershed and provides a new E. coli waste load 

allocation of 1.87E 11 counts/year. 

- The Mattaponi River and Tributaries TMDL, located in 

Caroline, Essex, King William, and King and Queen 

counties, proposes E. coli reductions for the XDN-Garnetts 

Creek, UT watershed and provides a new E. coli waste load 

allocation of 2.65E 10 counts/year. 

- The Mattaponi River and Tributaries TMDL, located in 

Caroline, Essex, King William, and King and Queen 

counties, proposes E. coli reductions for the XJG-Dickeys 

Swamp, UT watershed and provides a new E. coli waste load 

allocation of 2.01E 10 counts/year. 

How to comment: DEQ accepts written comments by email, 

fax, and postal mail. All written comments must include the 

full name, address, and telephone number of the person 

commenting and be received by DEQ by 5 p.m. on the last day 

of the comment period. 

How a decision is made: After comments have been 

considered, the board will make the final decision. Citizens 

who submit statements during the comment period may 

address the board members during the board meeting at which 

a final decision is made on the proposal. 

To review documents: The TMDL reports are available on the 

DEQ website at https://www.deq.virginia.gov/water/water-

quality/tmdl-development/draft-tmdls and by contacting the 

DEQ representative listed for any report. The electronic copies 

are in PDF or Word format and may be read online or 

downloaded. 

Contact Information: Justin Williams, Director, Office of 

Watersheds and Local Government Assistance Programs, 

Department of Environmental Quality, 1111 East Main Street, 

Suite 1400, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 698-4185, 

FAX (804) 698-4178, or email 

justin.williams@deq.virginia.gov. 

Community Meeting and Public Comment Period for 
Total Maximum Daily Load for Moores and  

Mill Creeks 

Public meeting: Tuesday, October 19, 2021, from 5:30 p.m. to 

7 p.m. 

Bank Barn, McCormick Farm/Shenandoah Valley Agriculture 

Research and Extension Center (128 Cyrus McCormick Cir, 

Raphine, Virginia) 

Note: In the event of inclement weather, the meeting will be 

held on October 20, 2021, at the same time and location. 

Purpose of notice: The Department of Environmental Quality 

(DEQ) seeks written and oral comments from interested 

persons on the development of total maximum daily loads 

(TMDLs), for Moores and Mill Creeks in Rockbridge County, 

Virginia. These streams are listed on the § 303(d) TMDL 

Priority List and Report as impaired due to violations of the 

state's general (benthic) water quality. 

Section 303(d) of the Clean Water Act and § 62.1-44.19:7 C of 

the State Water Control Law requires DEQ to develop TMDLs 

for pollutants responsible for each impaired water contained in 

Virginia's § 303(d) Priority List and Report. 

Description of study: Moores Creek is located in northern 

Rockbridge County, with its headwaters just below the 

Augusta-Rockbridge County line. The impaired segment 

begins at the headwaters in Raphine and continues nine miles 

south to the confluence with South River. Mill Creek is located 

in Rockbridge County above the City of Lexington. The 

impaired segment is 9.14 miles in length. It begins at the 

headwaters of the stream south of Fairfield and continues to 

the confluence with the Maury River above Lexington. 

Moores and Mill Creeks have been placed on Virginia's 

impaired waters list for failing to support the benthic water 

quality standard. This standard is intended to protect the 

aquatic life designated use, which states that all of the 

Commonwealth's waterways will support a diverse and 

abundant population of aquatic life. This study will include a 

benthic stressor analysis to determine the most likely pollutants 

responsible for the impairments, and it will report on the 

sources of these pollutants and recommend reductions to meet 

a total maximum daily load (TMDL) for the impaired streams. 

A TMDL is the total amount of a pollutant a water body can 
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contain and still meet water quality standards. To restore water 

quality in Moores and Mill Creeks, pollutant levels will need 

to be reduced to the TMDL amount. A component of a TMDL 

is the wasteload allocation (WLA); therefore, this notice is 

provided pursuant to § 2.2-4006 A 14 of the Code of Virginia 

for any future adoption of the TMDL WLAs. 

An advisory committee to assist in development of this TMDL 

will be established. Persons interested in assisting should 

notify the DEQ contact person listed at the end of this notice 

by the end of the comment period and provide their name, 

address, phone number, email address, and the organization 

they are representing (if any). Notification of the composition 

of the panel will be sent to all applicants. 

How to comment and participate: All meetings in support of 

TMDL development are open to the public, and all interested 

parties are welcome. Written comments will be accepted from 

October 20, 2021, through November 18, 2021, and should 

include the name, address, and telephone number of the person 

submitting the comments. For more information or to submit 

written comments, please contact Nesha McRae. 

Contact Information: Nesha McRae, TMDL Coordinator, 

Department of Environmental Quality, Valley Regional 

Office, P.O. Box 3000, Harrisonburg, VA 22801, telephone 

(540) 574-7850, FAX (804) 698-4178, or email 

nesha.mcrae@deq.virginia.gov. 

Proposed Enforcement Action for  
6801 Wooldridge Road - Moseley LP 

An enforcement action has been proposed for 6801 

Wooldridge Road-Moseley LP for the Lower Magnolia Green 

development in Chesterfield County, Virginia. The State 

Water Control Board proposes to issue a consent order to 

address noncompliance with State Water Control Law and 

regulations. A description of the proposed action is available 

at the Department of Environmental Quality office listed or 

online at https://www.deq.virginia.gov/permits-

regulations/public-notices/enforcement-orders. Comments 

will be accepted by the contact person from October 11, 2021, 

through November 10, 2021. 

Contact Information: Kristen Sadtler, Water Enforcement 

Manager, Department of Environmental Quality, 1111 East 

Main Street, Suite 1400, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone 

(804) 698-4149, FAX (804) 698-4178, or email 

kristen.sadtler@deq.virginia.gov. 

Proposed Enforcement Action for the  
Town of Mount Jackson 

An enforcement action has been proposed for the Town of 

Mount Jackson for violations at the Mount Jackson sewage 

treatment plant in Shenandoah County, Virginia. The State 

Water Control Board proposes to issue a consent order with 

penalty and injunctive relief to the Town of Mount Jackson to 

address noncompliance with State Water Control Law. A 

description of the proposed action is available at the 

Department of Environmental Quality office listed or online at 

www.deq.virginia.gov. The staff contact will accept comments 

by email, fax, or postal mail from October 11, 2021, to 

November 10, 2021. 

Contact Information: Eric Millard, Enforcement Specialist, 

Department of Environmental Quality, Valley Regional 

Office, 4411 Early Road, P.O. Box 3000, Harrisonburg, VA 

22801, FAX (804) 698-4178, or email 

eric.millard@deq.virginia.gov. 

Proposed Enforcement Action for  
Pilot Travel Centers LLC 

An enforcement action has been proposed for Pilot Travel 

Centers LLC for violations of the State Water Control Law and 

regulations at the Flying J #749 facility located in Ruther Glen, 

Virginia. The State Water Control Board proposes to issue a 

consent order to resolve violations associated with the Flying J 

#749 facility. A description of the proposed action is available 

at the Department of Environmental Quality office listed or 

online at https://www.deq.virginia.gov/permits-

regulations/public-notices/enforcement-orders. The staff 

contact will accept comments by email or postal mail from 

October 12, 2021, through November 11, 2021. 

Contact Information: Benjamin Holland, Department of 

Environmental Quality, Northern Regional Office, 13901 

Crown Court, Woodbridge, VA 22193, or email 

benjamin.holland@deq.virginia.gov. 

Proposed Enforcement Action Z and I 1 Inc. 

An enforcement action has been proposed for Z and I 1 Inc. for 

violations of the State Water Control Law and regulations and 

applicable Virginia Pollutant Discharge Elimination System 

Permit at the Z and I 1 Inc. carwashing machine located in Falls 

Church, Virginia. The State Water Control Board proposes to 

issue a consent order to resolve the subject violations. A 

description of the proposed action is available at the 

Department of Environmental Quality office listed or online at 

https://www.deq.virginia.gov/permits-regulations/public-

notices/enforcement-orders. The staff contact listed will accept 

comments by email or postal mail from October 12, 2021, 

through November 11, 2021. 

Contact Information: Jim Datko, Department of 

Environmental Quality, Northern Regional Office, 13901 

Crown Court, Woodbridge, VA 22193, or email 

james.datko@deq.virginia.gov. 
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VIRGINIA CODE COMMISSION 

Notice to State Agencies 

Contact Information: Mailing Address: Virginia Code 

Commission, Pocahontas Building, 900 East Main Street, 8th 

Floor, Richmond, VA 23219; Telephone: (804) 698-1810; 

Email: varegs@dls.virginia.gov. 

Meeting Notices: Section 2.2-3707 C of the Code of Virginia 

requires state agencies to post meeting notices on their 

websites and on the Commonwealth Calendar at 

https://commonwealthcalendar.virginia.gov. 

Cumulative Table of Virginia Administrative Code 

Sections Adopted, Amended, or Repealed: A table listing 

regulation sections that have been amended, added, or repealed 

in the Virginia Register of Regulations since the regulations 

were originally published or last supplemented in the print 

version of the Virginia Administrative Code is available at 

http://register.dls.virginia.gov/documents/cumultab.pdf. 

Filing Material for Publication in the Virginia Register of 

Regulations: Agencies use the Regulation Information System 

(RIS) to file regulations and related items for publication in the 

Virginia Register of Regulations. The Registrar's office works 

closely with the Department of Planning and Budget (DPB) to 

coordinate the system with the Virginia Regulatory Town Hall. 

RIS and Town Hall complement and enhance one another by 

sharing pertinent regulatory information. 

file://///legmain/sysdata/dlsdata/CODEREGS/regispub/Vol33/Iss04/varegs@dls.virginia.gov
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Errata 

STATE BOARD OF HEALTH 

Title of Regulation: 12VAC5-481. Virginia Radiation 

Protection Regulations. 

Publication: 37:25 VA.R. 3795-3877 August 2, 2021. 

Correction to Final Regulation: 

Page 3875, 12VAC5-481-2850 A, line 5, after "dosimeter" 

strike "processor" 

VA.R. Doc. No. R21-6434; Filed September 16, 2021, 10:48 a.m. 

DEPARTMENT FOR AGING AND REHABILITATIVE 
SERVICES 

Title of Regulation: 22VAC30-100. Adult Protective 

Services. 

Publication: 37:19 VA.R. 2898-2907 May 20, 2021. 

Correction to Final Regulation: 

Page 2903, column 2, 22VAC30-100-40 F 1 b, line 2, after 

"pursuant to" change "§ 63.3-1605" to "§ 63.2-1605" 

VA.R. Doc. No. R18-5270, Filed September 28, 10:25 a.m. 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 




