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REGISTER INFORMATION PAGE 

THE VIRGINIA REGISTER OF REGULATIONS is an official state 

publication issued every other week throughout the year. Indexes are published 

quarterly, and are cumulative for the year. The Virginia Register has several 
functions. The new and amended sections of regulations, both as proposed and 

as finally adopted, are required by law to be published in the Virginia Register. 

In addition, the Virginia Register is a source of other information about state 
government, including petitions for rulemaking, emergency regulations, 

executive orders issued by the Governor, and notices of public hearings on 

regulations. 

ADOPTION, AMENDMENT, AND REPEAL OF REGULATIONS 

Unless exempted by law, an agency wishing to adopt, amend, or repeal 

regulations must follow the procedures in the Administrative Process Act 
(§ 2.2-4000 et seq. of the Code of Virginia). Typically, this includes first 

publishing in the Virginia Register a notice of intended regulatory action; a 

basis, purpose, substance and issues statement; an economic impact analysis 
prepared by the Department of Planning and Budget; the agency’s response to 

the economic impact analysis; a summary; a notice giving the public an 

opportunity to comment on the proposal; and the text of the proposed 
regulation. 

Following publication of the proposed regulation in the Virginia Register, the 

promulgating agency receives public comments for a minimum of 60 days. 
The Governor reviews the proposed regulation to determine if it is necessary 

to protect the public health, safety, and welfare, and if it is clearly written and 

easily understandable. If the Governor chooses to comment on the proposed 
regulation, his comments must be transmitted to the agency and the Registrar 

of Regulations no later than 15 days following the completion of the 60-day 
public comment period. The Governor’s comments, if any, will be published 

in the Virginia Register. Not less than 15 days following the completion of the 

60-day public comment period, the agency may adopt the proposed regulation. 

The Joint Commission on Administrative Rules or the appropriate standing 

committee of each house of the General Assembly may meet during the 

promulgation or final adoption process and file an objection with the Registrar 
and the promulgating agency. The objection will be published in the Virginia 

Register. Within 21 days after receipt by the agency of a legislative objection, 

the agency shall file a response with the Registrar, the objecting legislative 
body, and the Governor. 

When final action is taken, the agency again publishes the text of the 

regulation as adopted, highlighting all changes made to the proposed 
regulation and explaining any substantial changes made since publication of 

the proposal. A 30-day final adoption period begins upon final publication in 

the Virginia Register. 

The Governor may review the final regulation during this time and, if he 

objects, forward his objection to the Registrar and the agency. In addition to 

or in lieu of filing a formal objection, the Governor may suspend the effective 
date of a portion or all of a regulation until the end of the next regular General 

Assembly session by issuing a directive signed by a majority of the members 

of the appropriate legislative body and the Governor. The Governor’s 
objection or suspension of the regulation, or both, will be published in the 

Virginia Register. 

If the Governor finds that the final regulation contains changes made after 
publication of the proposed regulation that have substantial impact, he may 

require the agency to provide an additional 30-day public comment period on 

the changes. Notice of the additional public comment period required by the 

Governor will be published in the Virginia Register. Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.06 

of the Code of Virginia, any person may request that the agency solicit 

additional public comment on certain changes made after publication of the 
proposed regulation. The agency shall suspend the regulatory process for 30 

days upon such request from 25 or more individuals, unless the agency 

determines that the changes have minor or inconsequential impact. 

A regulation becomes effective at the conclusion of the 30-day final adoption 

period, or at any other later date specified by the promulgating agency, unless 

(i) a legislative objection has been filed, in which event the regulation, unless 
withdrawn, becomes effective on the date specified, which shall be after the 

expiration of the 21-day objection period; (ii) the Governor exercises his 

authority to require the agency to provide for additional public comment, in 

which event the regulation, unless withdrawn, becomes effective on the date 

specified, which shall be after the expiration of the period for which the 

Governor has provided for additional public comment; (iii) the Governor and 

the General Assembly exercise their authority to suspend the effective date of 
a regulation until the end of the next regular legislative session; or (iv) the 

agency suspends the regulatory process, in which event the regulation, unless 

withdrawn, becomes effective on the date specified, which shall be after the 
expiration of the 30-day public comment period and no earlier than 15 days 

from publication of the readopted action. 

A regulatory action may be withdrawn by the promulgating agency at any 
time before the regulation becomes final. 

FAST-TRACK RULEMAKING PROCESS 

Section 2.2-4012.1 of the Code of Virginia provides an alternative to the 
standard process set forth in the Administrative Process Act for regulations 

deemed by the Governor to be noncontroversial. To use this process, the 

Governor's concurrence is required and advance notice must be provided to 
certain legislative committees. Fast-track regulations become effective on the 

date noted in the regulatory action if fewer than 10 persons object to using the 

process in accordance with § 2.2-4012.1. 

EMERGENCY REGULATIONS 

Pursuant to § 2.2-4011 of the Code of Virginia, an agency may adopt 

emergency regulations if necessitated by an emergency situation or when 
Virginia statutory law or the appropriation act or federal law or federal 

regulation requires that a regulation be effective in 280 days or fewer from its 

enactment. In either situation, approval of the Governor is required. The 
emergency regulation is effective upon its filing with the Registrar of 

Regulations, unless a later date is specified per § 2.2-4012 of the Code of 
Virginia. Emergency regulations are limited to no more than 18 months in 

duration; however, may be extended for six months under the circumstances 

noted in § 2.2-4011 D. Emergency regulations are published as soon as 
possible in the Virginia Register and are on the Register of Regulations website 

at register.dls.virgina.gov. 

During the time the emergency regulation is in effect, the agency may 
proceed with the adoption of permanent regulations in accordance with the 

Administrative Process Act. If the agency chooses not to adopt the regulations, 

the emergency status ends when the prescribed time limit expires. 

STATEMENT 

The foregoing constitutes a generalized statement of the procedures to be 

followed. For specific statutory language, it is suggested that Article 2 (§ 2.2-
4006 et seq.) of Chapter 40 of Title 2.2 of the Code of Virginia be examined 

carefully. 

CITATION TO THE VIRGINIA REGISTER 

The Virginia Register is cited by volume, issue, page number, and date. 34:8 

VA.R. 763-832 December 11, 2017, refers to Volume 34, Issue 8, pages 763 

through 832 of the Virginia Register issued on  
December 11, 2017. 

The Virginia Register of Regulations is published pursuant to Article 6 (§ 2.2-

4031 et seq.) of Chapter 40 of Title 2.2 of the Code of Virginia. 

Members of the Virginia Code Commission: John S. Edwards, Chair; 

Marcus B. Simon, Vice Chair; Ward L. Armstrong; Nicole Cheuk; Leslie 

L. Lilley; Jennifer L. McClellan; Christopher R. Nolen; Don L. Scott, Jr.; 

Charles S. Sharp; Samuel T. Towell; Malfourd W. Trumbo;  

Amigo R. Wade. 

Staff of the Virginia Register: Holly Trice, Registrar of Regulations; Anne 

Bloomsburg, Assistant Registrar; Nikki Clemons, Regulations Analyst; 

Rhonda Dyer, Publications Assistant; Terri Edwards, Senior Operations 

Staff Assistant. 

https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/2.2-4011/
https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/2.2-4011/
http://register.dls.virgina.gov/
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PUBLICATION SCHEDULE AND DEADLINES 

November 2021 through December 2022 

Volume: Issue Material Submitted By Noon* Will Be Published On 

38:7 November 3, 2021 November 22, 2021 

38:8 November 15, 2021 (Monday) December 6, 2021 

38:9 December 1, 2021 December 20, 2021 

38:10 December 13, 2021 (Monday) January 3, 2022 

38:11 December 29, 2021 January 17, 2022 

38:12 January 12, 2022 January 31, 2022 

38:13 January 26, 2022 February 14, 2022 

38:14 February 9, 2022 February 28, 2022 

38:15 February 23, 2022 March 14, 2022 

38:16 March 9, 2022 March 28, 2022 

38:17 March 23, 2022 April 11, 2022 

38:18 April 6, 2022 April 25, 2022 

38:19 April 20, 2022 May 9, 2022 

38:20 May 4, 2022 May 23, 2022 

38:21 May 18, 2022 June 6, 2022 

38:22 June 1, 2022 June 20, 2022 

38:23 June 15, 2022 July 4, 2022 

38:24 June 29, 2022 July 18, 2022 

38:25 July 13, 2022 August 1, 2022 

38:26 July 27, 2022 August 15, 2022 

39:1 August 10, 2022 August 29, 2022 

39:2 August 24, 2022 September 12, 2022 

39:3 September 7, 2022 September 26, 2022 

39:4 September 21, 2022 October 10, 2022 

39:5 October 5, 2022 October 24, 2022 

39:6 October 19, 2022 November 7, 2022 

39:7 November 2, 2022 November 21, 2022 

39:8 November 14, 2022 (Monday) December 5, 2022 

*Filing deadlines are Wednesdays unless otherwise specified. 
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PERIODIC REVIEWS AND SMALL BUSINESS IMPACT REVIEWS 

TITLE 9. ENVIRONMENT 

STATE WATER CONTROL BOARD 

Report of Findings 

Pursuant to §§ 2.2-4007.1 and 2.2-4017 of the Code of 

Virginia, the State Water Control Board conducted a periodic 

review and a small business impact review of 9VAC25-190, 

Virginia Pollutant Discharge Elimination System (VPDES) 

General Permit Regulation for Nonmetallic Mineral 

Mining, and determined that this regulation should be 

amended. The department is publishing its report of findings 

dated September 10, 2021, to support this decision. 

The regulation establishes a general permit for stormwater 

discharges associated with nonmetallic mineral mining 

industrial facilities and is necessary for the protection of public 

health, safety, and welfare. The regulation is clearly written 

and easily understandable. 

The regulation is effective and continues to be needed; 

however, this general permit is scheduled to expire on June 30, 

2024. This regulation will be amended to reissue the general 

permit, and the agency will consider revisions to the permit as 

part of the amendment process. These discharges are 

considered to be point sources of pollutants and thus are 

subject to regulation under the VPDES permit program. The 

permit regulation specifies requirements that protect water 

quality downstream from the discharge. If this regulation were 

repealed, individual permits would be required to conduct 

these activities. 

Comments were received from the Virginia Transportation 

Construction Alliance (VTCA) during the periodic review. The 

Department of Environmental Quality (DEQ) is aware of 

VTCA's ongoing concerns with the challenges that large 

storms can pose to permitted facilities, including nonmetallic 

mines. In an effort to explore potential solutions, DEQ has met 

with the industry two times to date outside of the periodic 

review process to discuss the industry's concerns. 

This regulation establishes procedures for obtaining coverage 

under this general permit, and portions of the regulation may 

be viewed as complex due to the technical requirements 

included in the regulation. The regulation does not overlap, 

duplicate, or conflict with federal or state law or regulation as 

the State Water Control Board is the delegated authority to 

regulate point source discharges to surface water. 

The State Water Control Board last reissued this regulation in 

2019. This regulation is evaluated and necessary changes are 

made to the regulation when the permit is reissued. 

The reissuance of the general VPDES permit accomplishes the 

objectives of applicable law, minimizes the costs to a small 

business owner, and simplifies the application process. 

Without the general permit, a small business owner would be 

required to obtain an individual permit, which would increase 

the complexity of a permit application and the costs to obtain 

permit coverage. 

Contact Information: Melissa Porterfield, Department of 

Environmental Quality, 1111 East Main Street, Suite 1400, 

P.O. Box 1105, Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 698-

4238. 

Report of Findings 

Pursuant to §§ 2.2-4007.1 and 2.2-4017 of the Code of 

Virginia, the State Water Control Board conducted a periodic 

review and a small business impact review of 9VAC25-194, 

Virginia Pollutant Discharge Elimination System (VPDES) 

General Permit Regulation for Vehicle Wash Facilities and 

Laundry Facilities. 

The proposed regulatory action to amend 9VAC25-194, which 

is published in this issue of the Virginia Register, serves as the 

report of findings.  

Contact Information: Elleanore Daub, Department of 

Environmental Quality, 1111 East Main Street, Suite 1400, 

P.O. Box 1105, Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 698-

4111, FAX (804) 698-4178, or email 

elleanore.daub@deq.virginia.gov. 

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 22. SOCIAL SERVICES 

DEPARTMENT FOR AGING AND REHABILITATIVE 
SERVICES 

Report of Findings 

Pursuant to §§ 2.2-4007.1 and 2.2-4017 of the Code of 

Virginia, the Department for Aging and Rehabilitative 

Services conducted a periodic review and a small business 

impact review of 22VAC30-80, Auxiliary Grants Program, 

and determined that this regulation should be amended. The 

department is publishing its report of findings dated October 

19, 2021, to support this decision. 

The Auxiliary Grants (AG) Program is an income supplement 

for individuals who receive Supplemental Security Income 

(SSI) and certain other aged, blind, or disabled individuals who 

reside in a licensed assisted living facility (ALF), an approved 

adult foster care home (AFCH), or a certified supportive 

housing (SH) setting. An AG payment is issued to an 

individual monthly, to be used with a designated amount of 

their monthly income to pay the maximum monthly AG 

Program rate. The AG Program rate is determined by the 

Virginia General Assembly and is adjusted periodically. The 

AG Program is 80% state funded and 20% locally funded. 

The AG Program regulations address standards for AG 

Program providers for the three settings (ALF, AFCH, and 

SH). This regulation meets the criteria set out in Executive 
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Order 14, as amended, July 16, 2018, as it is necessary for the 

protection of public health, safety, and welfare. This regulation 

is clearly written and easily understandable. This regulation 

does not overlap, duplicate, or conflict with federal or state law 

or regulation. 

The agency recommends the regulation be amended in order to 

update the forms filed with the regulation. Updated forms are 

available and need to be filed accordingly. No other revisions 

to the regulation are needed at this time. There is a continued 

need for the regulation as the regulation is mandated by law 

and protects the health, welfare, and safety of individuals in the 

AG Program. No complaints or comments about the regulation 

were received during the periodic review. The regulation is 

designed to support clarity and ensure transparency with the 

AG Program and the operations of AG Program providers. 

The regulation comprises only those requirements for the 

implementation of the AG Program. The AG Program operates 

under the authority and approval of the Social Security 

Administration. As a state-funded and locally-funded program, 

there are no other federal or state regulations for the AG 

Program. As such, the regulation does not conflict with federal 

or state law or regulation. 

The regulation was last revised in 2019 as directed by Chapters 

657 and 658 of the 2019 Acts of Assembly. This legislation 

allowed individuals receiving AG to select SH without any 

requirement that such individuals wait until the individual's 

first or any subsequent annual reassessment to make a SH 

selection. 

This regulation does impact small businesses. Many of the AG 

Program providers would likely be considered small 

businesses. However, the regulation does not include overly 

burdensome requirements, reinforces common standards for 

business management, and protects the health and safety of the 

individuals in the AG Program. 

Contact Information: Charlotte Arbogast, Policy Analyst, 

Department for Aging and Rehabilitative Services, 8004 

Franklin Farms Drive, Richmond, VA 23229, telephone (804) 

662-7093. 
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NOTICES OF INTENDED REGULATORY ACTION 

TITLE 24. TRANSPORTATION AND MOTOR 
VEHICLES 

COMMISSION ON THE VIRGINIA ALCOHOL SAFETY 
ACTION PROGRAM 

Notice of Intended Regulatory Action 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 2.2-4007.01 of the 

Code of Virginia that the Commission on the Virginia Alcohol 

Safety Action Program intends to consider repealing 

24VAC35-20, Policy and Procedure Manual. The purpose of 

the proposed action is to repeal the regulation because the 

majority of the information contained in the current regulation 

is no longer accurate or applicable. The regulation no longer 

reflects current agency operational procedures. 

The agency does not intend to hold a public hearing on the 

proposed action after publication in the Virginia Register. 

Statutory Authority: § 18.2-271.2 of the Code of Virginia. 

Public Comment Deadline: December 8, 2021. 

Agency Contact: Richard Foy, Field Services Specialist, 

Commission on the Virginia Alcohol Safety Action Program, 

1111 East Main Street, Suite 801, Richmond, VA 23219, 

telephone (804) 786-5895, FAX (804) 786-6286, or email 

richard.foy@vasap.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R22-6991; Filed October 18, 2021, 9:56 a.m. 

Notice of Intended Regulatory Action 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 2.2-4007.01 of the 

Code of Virginia that the Commission on the Virginia Alcohol 

Safety Action Program intends to consider repealing 

24VAC35-30, VASAP Case Management Policy and 

Procedure Manual. The purpose of the proposed action is to 

repeal the regulation because the majority of the information 

contained in the current regulation is no longer accurate or 

applicable. The regulation no longer reflects current agency 

operational procedures. 

The agency does not intend to hold a public hearing on the 

proposed action after publication in the Virginia Register. 

Statutory Authority: § 18.2-271.2 of the Code of Virginia. 

Public Comment Deadline: December 8, 2021. 

Agency Contact: Richard Foy, Field Services Specialist, 

Commission on the Virginia Alcohol Safety Action Program, 

1111 East Main Street, Suite 801, Richmond, VA 23219, 

telephone (804) 786-5895, FAX (804) 786-6286, or email 

richard.foy@vasap.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R22-6992; Filed October 18, 2021, 9:56 a.m. 

 

 

Notice of Intended Regulatory Action 

Notice is hereby given in accordance with § 2.2-4007.01 of the 

Code of Virginia that the Commission on the Virginia Alcohol 

Safety Action Program intends to consider repealing 

24VAC35-40, Certification Requirements Manual. The 

purpose of the proposed action is to repeal the regulation 

because the majority of the information contained in the 

current regulation is no longer accurate or applicable. The 

regulation no longer reflects current agency operational 

procedures. 

The agency does not intend to hold a public hearing on the 

proposed action after publication in the Virginia Register. 

Statutory Authority: § 18.2-271.2 of the Code of Virginia. 

Public Comment Deadline: December 8, 2021. 

Agency Contact: Richard Foy, Field Services Specialist, 

Commission on the Virginia Alcohol Safety Action Program, 

1111 East Main Street, Suite 801, Richmond, VA 23219, 

telephone (804) 786-5895, FAX (804) 786-6286, or email 

richard.foy@vasap.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R22-6993; Filed October 18, 2021, 9:57 a.m. 
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REGULATIONS 

TITLE 2. AGRICULTURE 

BOARD OF AGRICULTURE AND CONSUMER 
SERVICES 

Proposed Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Board of Agriculture and 

Consumer Services is claiming an exemption from the 

Administrative Process Act pursuant to § 3.2-5145.5 of the 

Code of Virginia. Prior to adopting such regulation, the board 

must publish a notice of opportunity to comment in the 

Virginia Register of Regulations. Such notice of opportunity to 

comment shall contain (i) a summary of the proposed 

regulation; (ii) the text of the proposed regulation; and (iii) the 

name, address, and telephone number of the agency contact 

person responsible for receiving public comments and shall be 

made at least 60 days in advance of the last date prescribed in 

such notice for submittals of public comment. The board shall 

also consider and keep on file all public comments received for 

such regulation adopted pursuant to § 3.2-5145.5 of the Code 

of Virginia. 

Title of Regulation: 2VAC5-595. Regulations Governing the 

Manufacturing and Sale of Products that Contain 

Industrial Hemp Extracts Intended for Human 

Consumption (adding 2VAC5-595-10 through 2VAC5-

595-60). 

Statutory Authority: § 3.2-5145.5 of the Code of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: No public hearing is currently 

scheduled. 

Public Comment Deadline: January 7, 2022. 

Agency Contact: Ryan Davis, Program Manager, Office of 

Dairy and Foods, Department of Agriculture and Consumer 

Services, P.O. Box 1163, Richmond, VA 23218, telephone 

(804)786-8899, FAX (804) 371-7792, TDD (800) 828-1120, 

or email ryan.davis@vdacs.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

Pursuant to Chapters 659 and 660 of the 2020 Acts of 

Assembly, which created a new article in the Virginia Food 

and Drink Law establishing requirements for the 

production, distribution, and sale of industrial hemp 

extracts intended for human consumption, the proposed 

regulation establishes a regulatory framework and 

standards for industrial hemp extract manufacturers. The 

proposed regulation (i) identifies specific potential 

contaminants of industrial hemp extract or a food 

containing an industrial hemp extract and establishes 

tolerances for these contaminants; (ii) establishes labeling 

requirements for an industrial hemp extract or a food 

containing an industrial hemp extract; and (iii) provides 

testing requirements for industrial hemp extracts and 

criteria for independent testing laboratories that conduct 

required batch testing of industrial hemp extracts. 

Chapter 595 

Regulations Governing the Manufacturing and Sale of 

Products that Contain Industrial Hemp Extracts Intended for 

Human Consumption  

2VAC5-595-10. Definitions.  

The following words and terms when used in this regulation 

shall have the following meanings unless the context clearly 

indicates otherwise:  

"Approved source" means a manufacturer of an industrial 

hemp extract or food containing an industrial hemp extract that 

operates (i) under inspection by the responsible food regulatory 

agency in the location in which such manufacturing occurs and 

(ii) in compliance with the laws, regulations, or criteria that 

pertain to the manufacturer of an industrial hemp extract or 

food containing an industrial hemp extract in the location in 

which such manufacturing occurs. 

"Batch" means a specific quantity of an industrial hemp 

extract that is uniform and is produced during a specified 

period of time under similar conditions and identified by a 

specific code that allows traceability. 

"Cannabinoid" means a naturally-occurring, biologically 

active, chemical constituent of Cannabis sativa, including 

cannabidiol (CBD), cannabidiolic acid (CBDA), delta-9-

tetrahydrocannabinol (THC), and delta-9-

tetrahydrocannabinolic acid (THCA). 

"Consumer" means a person who (i) purchases an industrial 

hemp extract or a food containing an industrial hemp extract 

for personal use, (ii) is not functioning in the capacity of an 

operator of a food establishment or food processing plant, and 

(iii) does not offer the industrial hemp extract or food 

containing an industrial hemp extract for resale. 

"Consumption" means oral ingestion. 

"Contaminant" means any substance not intended to be an 

ingredient in a food and that is potentially harmful to the 

consumer. 

"Department" means the Virginia Department of Agriculture 

and Consumer Services. 
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"Extract" means a naturally occurring phytochemical 

produced by the industrial hemp plant that has been removed 

from the inert structural material of the plant. 

"Food" means any article that is intended for human 

consumption and introduction into commerce, whether the 

article is simple, mixed, or compound, and all substances or 

ingredients used in the preparation thereof. "Food" does not 

mean a drug as defined in § 54.1-3401 of the Code of Virginia. 

"Food" includes a dietary supplement. 

"Industrial hemp" means any part of the plant Cannabis sativa 

with a concentration of tetrahydrocannabinol that is no greater 

than that allowed by federal law. 

"Industrial hemp extract" means an extract (i) of a Cannabis 

sativa plant that has a concentration of tetrahydrocannabinol 

that is no greater than that allowed for hemp by federal law and 

(ii) that is intended for human consumption.  

"Manufacturer" means a person that (i) produces a packaged 

food or a food intended to be used as an ingredient in a food 

and (ii) offers the food for sale directly to consumers or for 

wholesale distribution. "Manufacturer" does not include a 

person that adds an industrial hemp extract to food for 

immediate consumption by consumers in a retail food 

establishment or at a farmers' market, if that person did not 

produce the industrial hemp extract.  

"Phytochemical" means any naturally occurring chemical 

compound in a plant. 

"Processor" means a person registered pursuant to subsection 

A of § 3.2-4115 of the Code of Virginia to process industrial 

hemp. 

"Production field" means the land or area on which a grower 

is growing or intends to grow industrial hemp. 

"Retail food establishment" means a food business regulated 

under and operating in compliance with the Retail Food 

Establishment Regulations (2VAC5-585) and Chapter 51 

(§ 3.2-5100 et seq.) of Title 3.2 of the Code of Virginia. 

"Retail sale" means the sale of a product directly to a 

consumer. 

"Total delta-9 tetrahydrocannabinol concentration" means the 

post-decarboxylation delta-9 tetrahydrocannabinol 

concentration, which can be determined using the following 

equation [delta-9 tetrahydrocannabinol] + (0.877 x 

[tetrahydrocannabinolic acid]).  

"Wholesale distribution" means the sale of a product to an 

intermediate entity that intends to further distribute that 

product for retail sale.  

2VAC5-595-20. Regulated articles.  

Industrial hemp extracts and foods containing an industrial 

hemp extract are subject to the provisions of this chapter.  

2VAC5-595-30. Inspection required.  

A. A person that manufactures an industrial hemp extract in 

Virginia and introduces that industrial hemp extract into 

commerce shall first be inspected by the department for 

compliance with the requirements in 2VAC5-595-50.  

B. To apply for an inspection to manufacture an industrial 

hemp extract or to introduce an industrial hemp extract into 

commerce, a person must: 

1. Submit an application on a form provided by the 

commissioner; and 

2. Provide documentation of an unexpired Industrial Hemp 

Processor Registration issued pursuant to subsection A of 

§ 3.2-4115 of the Code of Virginia. 

2VAC5-595-40. General requirements.  

A. A manufacturer shall produce an industrial hemp extract 

in compliance with Chapter 51 (§ 3.2-5100 et seq.) of Title 3.2 

of the Code of Virginia and Regulations Pertaining to Food for 

Human Consumption (2VAC5-600), including 21 CFR Part 

117. 

B. Notwithstanding subsection A of this section, a 

manufacturer shall produce an industrial hemp extract or food 

containing an industrial hemp extract in compliance with 

21 CFR Part 111 if the industrial hemp extract or food 

containing an industrial hemp extract is: 

1. Produced in a tablet, capsule, powder, softgel, or gel cap 

form; 

2. Labeled with a panel titled "Supplement Facts"; or 

3. Labeled with a statement that describes the role of a 

nutrient or ingredient intended to affect the structure or 

function in humans or that characterizes the documented 

mechanism by which a nutrient or ingredient acts to maintain 

such structure or function. 

C. The manufacture or sale of food that contains an industrial 

hemp extract is not eligible for the exemption from inspection 

provided in § 3.2-5130 of the Code of Virginia. 

D. A person offering for sale a food containing an industrial 

hemp extract shall obtain the industrial hemp extract from an 

approved source. 

2VAC5-595-50. Laboratory testing required for 

contaminants and phytochemicals of an industrial hemp 

extract or a food containing an industrial hemp extract.  

A. If an industrial hemp extract is used as an ingredient in a 

food and that industrial hemp extract was produced by a 

manufacturer that is an approved source pursuant to § 3.2-

5145.3 of the Code of Virginia, that food containing an 

industrial hemp extract is not subject to the testing 

requirements prescribed in this section. However, a food 

containing an industrial hemp extract that contains any 
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contaminant in an amount that exceeds an acceptable criteria 

or tolerance established in this section is adulterated. 

B. A manufacturer of an industrial hemp extract shall submit 

for laboratory analysis a sample from each batch of industrial 

hemp extract the manufacturer produces. Such laboratory 

analysis shall only be performed by a laboratory that meets the 

requirements prescribed in subsection E of this section.  

C. A batch whose sample contains any contaminant in an 

amount that exceeds an acceptable criteria or tolerance 

established in this section is adulterated. A manufacturer of an 

industrial hemp extract may not offer for sale or sell any 

industrial hemp extract from a batch whose sample contains 

any contaminant in an amount that exceeds an acceptable 

criteria or tolerance established in this section. 

D. A manufacturer of an industrial hemp extract may not offer 

for sale or sell any industrial hemp extract from a batch whose 

sample does not contain the cannabinoid or phytochemical 

concentration claimed on the label for the industrial hemp 

extract.  

E. The laboratory analysis required in subsection B of this 

section shall be performed by a laboratory that: 

1. Has no direct or indirect financial interest in a 

manufacturer of an industrial hemp extract or in any other 

entity that may benefit from the production, manufacture, 

sale, purchase, or use of an industrial hemp extract or 

product containing an industrial hemp extract. Additionally, 

no person with a direct or indirect financial interest in the 

laboratory shall have a direct or indirect financial interest in 

a manufacturer of an industrial hemp extract or in any other 

entity that may benefit from the production, manufacture, 

sale, purchase, or use of an industrial hemp extract or 

product containing an industrial hemp extract. 

2. Employs at least one person to oversee and be responsible 

for the laboratory testing who has earned from a college or 

university accredited by a national or regional certifying 

authority at least (i) a master's degree in chemical or 

biological sciences and a minimum of two years of post-

degree laboratory experience or (ii) a bachelor's degree in 

chemical or biological sciences and a minimum of four years 

of post-degree laboratory experience. 

F. The microbiological content in a sample from a batch of 

industrial hemp extract shall not exceed the following 

acceptable criteria: 

Microbiological Acceptable criteria 

Total Aerobic Microbial 

Count 
< 1,000 cfu/g or cfu/ml 

Total Combined Yeast 

and Mold Count 
< 100 cfu/g or cfu/ml 

Escherichia coli  Absent in 1 g or 1 ml 

G. The mycotoxin content in a sample from a batch of 

industrial hemp extract shall not exceed the following 

acceptable criteria: 

Mycotoxin Acceptable criteria 

Aflatoxin (total) < 20 ppb (20 ug/kg) 

Ochratoxin A < 20 ppb (20 ug/kg) 

H. The heavy metal content in a sample from a batch of 

industrial hemp extract shall not exceed the following 

acceptable criteria: 

Heavy metal Acceptable criteria 

Arsenic < 10 ppm 

Cadmium < 4.1 ppm 

Lead < 10 ppm 

Mercury < 2 ppm 

I. The residual solvent content in a sample from a batch of 

industrial hemp extract shall not exceed the following 

acceptable criteria: 

Residual solvent Acceptable criteria 

1,2-Dichloroethene 5 ppm 

1,1-Dichloroethene 8 ppm 

Acetone 5,000 ppm 

Acetonitrile 410 ppm 

Benzene 2 ppm 

Butane 2,000 ppm 

Chloroform 60 ppm 

Ethanol 5,000 ppm 

Ethyl Acetate 5,000 ppm 

Ethyl Ether 5,000 ppm 

Ethylene Oxide 5 ppm 

Heptane 5,000 ppm 

Hexane 290 ppm 

Isopropyl Alcohol 500 ppm 

Methanol 3,000 ppm 

Methylene Chloride 600 ppm 

Pentane 5,000 ppm 

Propane 2,100 ppm 

Toluene 890 ppm 
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Trichloroethylene (1,1,2-

Trichloroethene) 

80 ppm 

Xylenes, Total (ortho-, 

meta-, para-) 

2,170 ppm 

J. Any pesticide applied to industrial hemp or during the 

processing of industrial hemp must be done so in accordance 

with the label of that pesticide and in compliance with the 

Virginia Pesticide Control Act (§ 3.2-3900 et seq. of the Code 

of Virginia) and regulations adopted thereunder. For at least 

three years, the manufacturer of an industrial hemp extract 

shall maintain pesticide application records for the industrial 

hemp from which it produces the industrial hemp extract.  

K. The pesticide chemical residue content in a sample from a 

batch of industrial hemp extract shall not exceed the most 

stringent tolerance for a pesticide chemical residue in any food 

item as set forth by the U.S. Environmental Protection 

Agency's regulations for Tolerances and Exemptions for 

Pesticide Chemical Residues in Food in 40 CFR Part 180, 

Subpart C. Pesticide chemical residue testing shall include 

testing for carbamates, organochlorines, and organophophates. 

L. The total delta-9 tetrahydrocannabinol concentration of a 

sample from a batch of industrial hemp extract shall not exceed 

0.3%. 

M. If a manufacturer labels an industrial hemp extract as 

having any amount of a cannabinoid, a sample from a batch of 

the industrial hemp extract shall be tested and shall have the 

claimed amount of the cannabinoid. If a manufacturer labels an 

industrial hemp extract as having any amount of 

phytochemical, including a terpene or flavonoid, a sample 

from a batch of the industrial hemp extract shall be tested and 

shall have the claimed amount of the phytochemical.  

N. If batch testing of industrial hemp extracts from industrial 

hemp grown in a specific production field consistently shows 

that levels of contaminants do not exceed the limits established 

in this chapter, the frequency of batch testing by the 

manufacturer may be adjusted after consultation with the 

department. The manufacturer shall retain documentation of 

the reasoning for adjustment of batch testing frequency and the 

recommendation of the department and make such available to 

the department on request. 

O. The manufacturer shall maintain industrial hemp extract 

testing records for at least three years. 

2VAC5-595-60. Labeling of industrial hemp extracts and 

foods containing an industrial hemp extract.  

A. For the purpose of this chapter, label or labeling includes 

the label on the packaging of an industrial hemp extract or food 

containing an industrial hemp extract as well as any brochure, 

advertisement, information on social media or on any website, 

or any other form of product marketing. 

B. An industrial hemp extract or food containing an industrial 

hemp extract shall be labeled in accordance with 21 CFR Part 

101 and Chapter 51 (§ 3.2-5100 et seq.) of Title 3.2 of the Code 

of Virginia. 

C. Notwithstanding subsection B of this section, a 

manufacturer shall label an industrial hemp extract or food 

containing an industrial hemp extract in compliance with the 

labeling provisions for dietary supplements in 21 CFR Part 101 

and Chapter 51 (§ 3.2-5100 et seq.) of Title 3.2 of the Code of 

Virginia if the industrial hemp extract or food containing an 

industrial hemp extract is: 

1. Produced in a tablet, capsule, powder, softgel, or gel cap 

form; 

2. Labeled with a panel titled "Supplement Facts"; or 

3. Labeled with a statement that describes the role of a 

nutrient or ingredient intended to affect the structure or 

function in humans or that characterizes the documented 

mechanism by which a nutrient or ingredient acts to maintain 

such structure or function. 

D. If a manufacturer labels an industrial hemp extract or food 

containing an industrial hemp extract as containing a specific 

cannabinoid or concentration thereof, the number of 

milligrams of each cannabinoid must be declared on the 

product label. The manufacturer must make and maintain 

records verifying the declared amount of cannabinoid. Such 

records may include a recipes, formulation, or batch record. 

E. The label of an industrial hemp extract or food containing 

an industrial hemp extract shall not contain a claim indicating 

the product is intended for diagnosis, cure, mitigation, 

treatment, or prevention of disease, which shall render the 

product a drug, as that term is defined in 21 USC § 321(g)(1). 

An industrial hemp extract or food containing an industrial 

hemp extract with a label that contains a claim indicating the 

product is intended for diagnosis, cure, mitigation, treatment, 

or prevention of disease is not a food and shall be considered 

misbranded. 

F. A manufacturer shall identify each batch of an industrial 

hemp extract or a food containing an industrial hemp extract 

with a unique code for traceability. Julian date coding or any 

other system developed and documented by the manufacturer 

for assigning a unique code to a batch may be used. The batch 

identification shall appear and be legible on the industrial hemp 

extract label. 

G. The label of an industrial hemp extract or a food containing 

an industrial hemp extract shall include a statement that the 

product contains a total delta-9-tetrahydrocannabinol 

concentration that does not exceed 0.3% or shall state the 

specific total delta-9-tetrahydrocannabinol concentration of 

the product. 
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NOTICE: The following forms used in administering the 

regulation have been filed by the agency. Amended or added 

forms are reflected in the listing and are published following the 

listing. Online users of this issue of the Virginia Register of 

Regulations may also click on the name to access a form. The 

forms are also available from the agency contact or may be viewed 

at the Office of Registrar of Regulations, 900 East Main Street, 

11th Floor, Richmond, Virginia 23219. 

FORMS (2VAC5-595) 

Application for Manufacturer of an Industrial Hemp-Derived 

Extract Intended for Human Consumption, ODF-FSP-10595 (eff. 

12/2020) 

VA.R. Doc. No. R22-6441; Filed October 20, 2021, 9:21 a.m. 

  ––––––––––––––––––  

TITLE 3. ALCOHOLIC BEVERAGES 

ALCOHOLIC BEVERAGE CONTROL AUTHORITY 

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Board of Directors of the 

Alcoholic Beverage Control Authority is claiming an exemption 

from Article 2 of the Administrative Process Act in accordance 

with § 2.2-4006 A 3, which excludes regulations that consist only 

of changes in style or form or corrections of technical errors. The 

board will receive, consider, and respond to petitions by any 

interested person at any time with respect to reconsideration or 

revision. 

Title of Regulation: 3VAC5-10. Procedural Rules for the 

Conduct of Hearings Before the Board and Its Hearing 

Officers (amending 3VAC5-10-300). 

Statutory Authority: §§ 4.1-103 and 4.1-111 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

Effective Date: December 8, 2021. 

Agency Contact: LaTonya D. Hucks-Watkins, Senior Legal Counsel, 

Alcoholic Beverage Control Authority, 2901 Hermitage Road, 

Richmond, VA 23220, telephone (804) 213-4698, FAX (804) 213-

4574, or email latonya.hucks-watkins@virginiaabc.com. 

Summary: 

The amendment updates the agency address to 7450 Freight 

Way, Mechanicsville, Virginia 23116, where board 

hearings will be held unless noticed to the contrary. 

3VAC5-10-300. Hearings. 

Hearings before the board in the absence of notice to the 

contrary will be held in the office of the board, Virginia A.B.C. 

Building, 2901 Hermitage Road, Richmond 7450 Freight Way, 

Mechanicsville, Virginia 23116. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R22-6994; Filed October 7, 2021, 3:34 p.m. 

  ––––––––––––––––––  

TITLE 9. ENVIRONMENT 

STATE WATER CONTROL BOARD 

Proposed Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The State Water Control Board is 

claiming an exemption from the Administrative Process Act in 

accordance with § 2.2-4006 A 8 of the Code of Virginia, which 

exempts general permits issued by the State Water Control 

Board pursuant to the State Water Control Law (§ 62.1-44.2 et 

seq.) and Chapters 24 (§ 62.1-242 et seq.) and 25 (§ 62.1-254 

et seq.) of Title 62.1 of the Code of Virginia if the board (i) 

provides a Notice of Intended Regulatory Action in 

conformance with the provisions of § 2.2-4007.01 of the Code 

of Virginia; (ii) following the passage of 30 days from the 

publication of the Notice of Intended Regulatory Action, forms 

a technical advisory committee composed of relevant 

stakeholders, including potentially affected citizens groups, to 

assist in the development of the general permit; (iii) provides 

notice and receives oral and written comment as provided in 

§ 2.2-4007.03 of the Code of Virginia; and (iv) conducts at 

least one public hearing on the proposed general permit. The 

board will receive, consider, and respond to petitions by any 

interested person at any time with respect to reconsideration or 

revision. 

Title of Regulation: 9VAC25-194. Virginia Pollutant 

Discharge Elimination System (VPDES) General Permit 

Regulation for Vehicle Wash Facilities and Laundry 

Facilities (amending 9VAC25-194-10, 9VAC25-194-15, 

9VAC25-194-40 through 9VAC25-194-70). 

Statutory Authority: § 62.1-44.15 of the Code of Virginia; 

§ 402 of the Clean Water Act; 40 CFR Parts 122, 123, and 124. 

Public Hearing Information: 

December 10, 2021 - 3 p.m. - Department of Environmental 

Quality, Piedmont Regional Office, 4949-A Cox Road, Glen 

Allen, VA 23060 

Public Comment Deadline: January 7, 2022. 

Agency Contact: Elleanore Daub, Department of 

Environmental Quality, 1111 East Main Street, Suite 1400, 

P.O. Box 1105, Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 698-

4111, FAX (804) 698-4178, or email 

elleanore.daub@deq.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The existing general permit expires on October 15, 2022, 

and must be reissued to cover existing and new vehicle wash 

and laundry discharges. The proposed amendments update 

definitions, add 5,000 gallons per day as a limit for vehicle 

wash facilities that discharge a monthly average flow rate 

less than or equal to 5,000 gallons per day, change the 

registration deadline to 60 days to be consistent with other 

general permits due dates and allow for a later date as 

established by the board, update operations and 

http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=24bb1006441~10.pdf&typ=40&actno=006441&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=24bb1006441~10.pdf&typ=40&actno=006441&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=24bb1006441~10.pdf&typ=40&actno=006441&mime=application/pdf
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maintenance manual requirements, and add a requirement 

to submit electronic registration forms and discharge 

monitoring reports when these are made available by the 

department. 

9VAC25-194-10. Definitions. 

The words and terms used in this chapter shall have the 

meanings defined in the State Water Control Law and 

9VAC25-31 (VPDES Permit Regulation) unless the context 

clearly indicates otherwise, except that for the purposes of this 

chapter: 

"Construction equipment" means trenchers, backhoes, boring 

equipment, bulldozers, loaders, dump trucks, and any other 

piece of earth moving equipment. 

"Department" or "DEQ" means the Department of 

Environmental Quality. 

"Golf course equipment" means carts, utility vehicles, bunker 

rakes, groomers, seeders, and other turf equipment but does not 

mean equipment used in fertilizer, pesticide, or herbicide 

application. 

"Inlet protection measures" means equipment and best 

management practices to minimize pollution to state waters via 

the storm drain. Equipment includes containment berms, 

barriers, or seals designed to prevent water from entering the 

inlet, weighted filters, or socks designed to remove metals, oil 

and grease, solids, and debris combined with other measures, 

including vacuuming of wastewater, shut off hose nozzles, 

washing, or directing wastewater to grassy areas. 

"Laundry" means any self-service facility where the washing 

of clothes is conducted as designated by NAICS Code 812310 

and SIC 7215. It does not include facilities that engage in dry 

cleaning. 

"Maintenance equipment" means street sweepers and catch 

basin cleaner trucks. 

"Lawn maintenance equipment" means motorized or hand 

operated lawn care equipment, including mowers, hedgers, 

aerators, augers, blowers, brush clearers, brush cutters, 

dethatchers, edgers, pole saws, power rakes, and tillers, but 

does not mean equipment used in fertilizer, pesticide, or 

herbicide application. 

"NAICS" means North American Industry Classification 

System from the U.S. Office of Management and Budget, 2017 

edition. 

"SIC" means the Standard Industrial Classification from the 

U.S. Office of Management and Budget Standard Industrial 

Classification Manual, 1987 edition. 

"Total maximum daily load" or "TMDL" means a calculation 

of the maximum amount of a pollutant that a waterbody can 

receive and still meet water quality standards and an allocation 

of that amount to the pollutant's sources. A TMDL includes 

wasteload allocations (WLAs) for point source discharges, and 

load allocations (LAs) for nonpoint sources or natural 

background or both, and must include a margin of safety 

(MOS) and account for seasonal variations. 

"Vehicle maintenance" means vehicle and equipment 

rehabilitation, mechanical repairs, painting, fueling, and 

lubrication. 

"Vehicle wash" means any fixed or mobile facility where the 

manual, automatic, or self-service exterior washing of vehicles 

is conducted and includes the following: 

1. Vehicles that convey passengers or goods on streets or 

highways as designated by Standard Industrial Classification 

(SIC) Code 7542, such as automobiles, trucks, motor homes, 

buses, motorcycles, ambulances, fire trucks, and tractor 

trailers. This industry primarily comprises establishments 

primarily engaged in cleaning, washing, or waxing 

automotive vehicles, such as passenger cars, trucks, and 

vans, and trailers as designated by NAICS Code 811192 and 

Standard Industrial Classification (SIC) Code 7542; 

2. Incidental floor cleaning wash waters associated with 

facilities that wash vehicles where the floor wash water also 

passes through the vehicle wash treatment system; 

3. Golf course equipment and lawn maintenance equipment; 

4. Maintenance and construction equipment; and 

5. Street sweepers and catch basin cleaner trucks; and 

6. Recreational boats less than 8.6' beam and 25' in length 

towed by a vehicle. 

"Vehicle wash" does not mean engine cleaning or degreasing; 

the cleaning of floors in vehicle maintenance areas, cleaning of 

the interior of tanks or trailers carrying bulk or raw material, 

cleaning of equipment used in the paving industry, cleaning of 

chemical, fertilizer, or pesticide spreading equipment, or 

cleaning of tanker trucks, garbage trucks, livestock trailers, 

trains, boats larger than 8.6' beam and 25' in length, or aircraft; 

or the use of acid caustic metal brighteners or steam heated 

water. 

9VAC25-194-15. Applicability of incorporated references 

based on the dates that they became effective. 

Except as noted, when a regulation of the U.S. Environmental 

Protection Agency (EPA) set forth in Title 40 of the Code of 

Federal Regulations is referenced or adopted in this chapter 

and incorporated by reference, that regulation shall be as it 

exists and has been published as of July 1, 2017 2021. 

9VAC25-194-40. Effective date of the permit. 

This general permit will become effective on October 16, 

2017 January 1, 2023. This general permit will expire on 

October 15, 2022 December 31, 2027. This general permit is 

effective for any covered owner upon compliance with all the 

provisions of 9VAC25-194-50. 



Regulations 

Volume 38, Issue 6  Virginia Register of Regulations  November 8, 2021  

726 

9VAC25-194-50. Authorization to discharge. 

A. Any owner governed by this general permit is hereby 

authorized to discharge wastewater as described in 9VAC25-

194-20 to surface waters of the Commonwealth of Virginia 

provided that: 

1. The owner files a registration statement in accordance 

with 9VAC25-194-60, and that registration statement is 

accepted by the board; 

2. The owner submits the required permit fee; 

3. The owner complies with the applicable effluent 

limitations and other requirements of 9VAC25-194-70; and 

4. The owner has not been notified by the board that the 

discharge is not eligible for coverage under this permit in 

accordance with subsection B of this section. 

B. The board will notify an owner that the discharge is not 

eligible for coverage under this general permit in the event of 

any of the following: 

1. The owner is required to obtain an individual permit in 

accordance with 9VAC25-31-170 B 3 of the VPDES Permit 

Regulation; 

2. The owner is proposing to discharge to state waters 

specifically named in other board regulations that prohibit 

such discharges; 

3. The discharge would violate the antidegradation policy in 

the Water Quality Standards at 9VAC25-260-30; 

4. The discharge is not consistent with the assumptions and 

requirements of an approved TMDL; or 

5. The discharge is to surface waters where there are central 

wastewater treatment facilities reasonably available, as 

determined by the board. 

C. Mobile vehicle wash owners shall operate such that there 

is no discharge to surface waters and storm sewers unless they 

have coverage under this permit. 

D. Compliance with this general permit constitutes 

compliance, for purposes of enforcement, with §§ 301, 302, 

306, 307, 318, 403, and 405(a) through (b) of the federal Clean 

Water Act and the State Water Control Law with the 

exceptions stated in 9VAC25-31-60 of the VPDES Permit 

Regulation. Approval for coverage under this general permit 

does not relieve any owner of the responsibility to comply with 

any other applicable federal, state, or local statute, ordinance, 

or regulation. 

E. Continuation of permit coverage. 

1. Any owner that was authorized to discharge under the car 

wash facilities general permit issued in 2012, and that 

submits a complete registration statement on or before 

October 16, 2017, is authorized to continue to discharge 

under the terms of the 2012 general permit Permit coverage 

shall expire at the end of the applicable permit term. 

However, expiring permit coverages are automatically 

continued if the owner has submitted a complete registration 

statement at least 60 days prior to the expiration date of the 

permit or a later submittal date established by the board, 

which cannot extend beyond the expiration date of the 

permit. The permittee is authorized to continue to discharge 

until such time as the board either: 

a. Issues coverage to the owner under this general permit; 

or 

b. Notifies the owner that the discharge is not eligible for 

coverage under this permit. 

2. When the owner that was covered under the expiring or 

expired general permit has violated or is violating the 

conditions of that permit, the board may choose to do any or 

all of the following: 

a. Initiate enforcement action based upon the 2012 general 

permit coverage that has been continued; 

b. Issue a notice of intent to deny coverage under the 

reissued amended general permit. If the general permit 

coverage is denied, the owner would then be required to 

cease the discharges authorized by coverage under the 

2012 the continued general permit coverage or be subject 

to enforcement action for discharging without a permit; 

c. Issue an individual permit with appropriate conditions; 

or 

d. Take other actions authorized by the VPDES Permit 

Regulation (9VAC25-31). 

9VAC25-194-60. Registration statement. 

A. Deadlines for submitting registration statements. Any 

owner seeking coverage under this general permit shall submit 

a complete VPDES general permit registration statement in 

accordance with this section chapter, which shall serve as a 

notice of intent for coverage under the general VPDES general 

permit regulation for vehicle wash facilities and laundry 

facilities. 

1. New facilities. Any owner proposing a new discharge 

shall submit a complete registration statement at least 30 60 

days prior to the date planned for commencement of the 

discharge or a later submittal established by the board. 

2. Existing facilities. 

a. Any owner covered by an individual VPDES permit that 

is proposing to be covered by this general permit shall 

submit a complete registration statement at least 240 days 

prior to the expiration date of the individual VPDES 

permit or a later submittal established by the board. 

b. Any owner that was authorized to discharge under the 

general an expiring or expired VPDES general permit for 

vehicle wash facilities (9VAC25-194) that became 

effective on October 16, 2012, and laundry facilities and 

that intends to continue coverage under this general permit 
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shall submit a complete registration statement to the board 

prior to September 15, 2017 at least 60 days prior to the 

expiration date of the existing permit or a later submittal 

established by the board. 

c. Any owner of a vehicle wash facility covered under this 

permit that had a monthly average flow rate of less than 

5,000 gallons per day, and the flow rate increases above a 

monthly average flow rate of 5,000 gallons per day, shall 

submit an amended registration statement within 30 60 

days of the increased flow or a later submittal established 

by the board. 

B. Late registration statements. Registration statements for 

existing facilities covered under subdivision A 2 b of this 

section will be accepted after October 15, 2017 the expiration 

date of the permit, but authorization to discharge will not be 

retroactive. Owners described in subdivision A 2 b of this 

section that submit registration statements after September 15, 

2017, are authorized to discharge under the provisions of 

9VAC25-194-50 E if a complete registration statement is 

submitted before October 16, 2017. 

C. The required registration statement shall contain the 

following information: 

1. Facility name and mailing address, owner name and 

mailing address, telephone number, and email address (if 

available); 

2. Facility street address (if different from mailing address); 

3. Facility operator (local contact) name, address, telephone 

number, and email address (if available) if different than 

owner; 

4. Does Whether the facility discharge discharges to surface 

waters?. If "yes," name of receiving stream; if "no," describe 

the discharge; 

5. Does Whether the facility discharge discharges to a 

municipal separate storm sewer system (MS4)?. If "yes," the 

facility owner must provide the name of the MS4 and notify 

the owner of the municipal separate storm sewer system of 

the existence of the discharge at the time of registration 

under this permit and include that notification with the 

registration statement. The notice shall include the following 

information: the name of the facility, a contact person and, 

phone number, email, the location of the discharge, the 

nature of the discharge, and the facility's VPDES general 

permit number; 

6. Does Whether the facility have has a current VPDES 

Permit? permit. If "yes," provide permit number; 

7. Does your Whether the locality require requires 

connection to central wastewater treatment facilities?; 

8. Are Whether central wastewater treatment facilities are 

available to serve the site?. If "yes," the option of 

discharging to the central wastewater facility must be 

evaluated and the result of that evaluation reported here; 

9. A USGS 7.5 minute topographic map or equivalent 

computer generated map showing the facility discharge 

location(s) locations, latitude and longitude, and receiving 

stream; 

10. Provide a brief description of the type of washing 

activity. Include (as applicable) the type of vehicles washed, 

number of vehicle washing bays, and the number of laundry 

machines; 

11. Highest average monthly flow rate for each washing 

activity or combined washing activity, reported as gallons 

per day; 

12. Facility line (water balance) drawing; 

13. Description of wastewater treatment or stormwater inlet 

protection measures; 

14. Information on use of chemicals at the facility. Include 

detergents, soaps, waxes, and other chemicals; 

15. Will Whether detergent used for washing vehicles 

contain contains more than 0.5% phosphorus by weight; and 

16. State Corporation Commission entity identification 

number if the facility is required to obtain an entity 

identification number by law; and 

17. The following certification: 

"I certify under penalty of law that this document and all 

attachments were prepared under my direction or 

supervision in accordance with a system designed to 

assure that qualified personnel properly gather and 

evaluate the information submitted. Based on my inquiry 

of the person or persons who manage the system or those 

persons directly responsible for gathering the information, 

the information submitted is to the best of my knowledge 

and belief true, accurate, and complete. I am aware that 

there are significant penalties for submitting false 

information including the possibility of fine and 

imprisonment for knowing violations." 

The registration statement shall be signed in accordance with 

9VAC25-31-110 of the VPDES Permit Regulation. 

D. The registration statement shall be delivered by either 

postal or electronic mail to the DEQ regional office serving the 

area where the facility is located. Following notification from 

the department of the start date for the required electronic 

submission of Notices of Intent to discharge forms (i.e., 

registration statements) as provided for in 9VAC25-31-1020, 

such forms submitted after that date shall be electronically 

submitted to the department in compliance with this section 

and 9VAC25-31-1020. There shall be at least three months' 

notice provided between the notification from the department 

and the date after which such forms must be submitted 

electronically. 
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9VAC25-194-70. General permit. 

Any owner whose registration statement is accepted by the board shall comply with the requirements of the general permit and 

be subject to all requirements of 9VAC25-31-170 of the VPDES Permit Regulation. 

General Permit No.: VAG75  

Effective Date: October 16, 2017 January 1, 2023 

Expiration Date: October 15, 2022 December 31, 2027 

GENERAL PERMIT FOR VEHICLE WASH FACILITIES AND LAUNDRY FACILITIES 

AUTHORIZATION TO DISCHARGE UNDER THE VIRGINIA POLLUTANT DISCHARGE ELIMINATION SYSTEM 

AND THE VIRGINIA STATE WATER CONTROL LAW 

In compliance with the provisions of the Clean Water Act, as amended, and pursuant to the State Water Control Law and 

regulations adopted pursuant thereto, owners of vehicle wash facilities and laundry facilities are authorized to discharge to surface 

waters within the boundaries of the Commonwealth of Virginia, except those specifically named in board regulations which that 

prohibit such discharges. 

The authorized discharge shall be in accordance with the information submitted with the registration statement, this cover page, 

Part I - Effluent Limitations, Monitoring Requirements, and Special Conditions, and Part II - Conditions Applicable to All VPDES 

Permits, as set forth in this general permit. 

Part I 

A. EFFLUENT LIMITATIONS AND MONITORING REQUIREMENTS. 

1. During the period beginning with the permittee's coverage under this general permit and lasting until the permit's expiration 

date, the permittee is authorized to discharge wastewater originating from vehicle wash facilities that discharge a monthly 

average flow rate less than or equal to 5,000 gallons per day from outfalls: 

Such discharges shall be limited and monitored by the permittee as specified below: 

EFFLUENT 

CHARACTERISTICS 

DISCHARGE LIMITATIONS MONITORING REQUIREMENTS 

Minimum Maximum Frequency(3) Sample Type 

Flow (GPD) NA NL 5,000 1/Year Estimate 

pH (S.U.) 6.0(1) 9.0(1) 1/Year Grab 

TSS (mg/l) NA 60(2) 1/Year Composite(4) 

Oil and Grease (mg/l) NA 15 1/Year Grab 

NL - No Limitation, monitoring requirement only 

NA - Not applicable 
(1)Where the Water Quality Standards (9VAC25-260) establish alternate standards for pH in waters receiving the 

discharge, those standards shall be the maximum and minimum effluent limitations. 
(2)Limit given is expressed in two significant figures. 
(3)Discharge Monitoring Reports (DMRs) of yearly monitoring (January 1 to December 31) shall be submitted to the 

DEQ regional office no later than the 10th day of January of each year. 
(4)Five grab samples evenly spaced over an eight-hour period or five grab samples evenly spaced for the duration of the 

discharge if less than eight hours in length. 

Part I 

A. EFFLUENT LIMITATIONS AND MONITORING REQUIREMENTS. 

2. During the period beginning with the permittee's coverage under this general permit and lasting until the permit's expiration 

date, the permittee is authorized to discharge wastewater originating from vehicle wash facilities that discharge a monthly 

average flow rate greater than 5,000 gallons per day from outfalls: 
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Such discharges shall be limited and monitored by the permittee as specified below: 

EFFLUENT 

CHARACTERISTICS 

DISCHARGE LIMITATIONS MONITORING REQUIREMENTS 

Minimum Maximum Frequency(3) Sample Type 

Flow (GPD) NA NL 1/6 Months Estimate 

pH (S.U.) 6.0(1) 9.0(1) 1/6 Months Grab 

TSS (mg/l) NA 60(2) 1/6 Months Composite(4) 

Oil and Grease (mg/l) NA 15 1/6 Months Grab 

NL - No Limitation, monitoring requirement only 

NA - Not applicable 
(1)Where the Water Quality Standards (9VAC25-260) establish alternate standards for pH in waters receiving the 

discharge, those standards shall be the maximum and minimum effluent limitations. 
(2)Limit given is expressed in two significant figures. 
(3)Samples shall be collected by December 31 and June 30 of each year and reported on the facility's Discharge 

Monitoring Report (DMR). DMRs shall be submitted by January 10 and July 10 of each year. 
(4)Five grab samples evenly spaced over an eight-hour period or five grab samples evenly spaced for the duration of the 

discharge if less than eight hours in length. 

Part I 

A. EFFLUENT LIMITATIONS AND MONITORING REQUIREMENTS. 

3. During the period beginning with the permittee's coverage under this general permit and lasting until the permit's expiration 

date, the permittee is authorized to discharge wastewater originating from a laundry facility from outfalls: 

Such discharges shall be limited and monitored by the permittee as specified below: 

EFFLUENT 

CHARACTERISTICS 

DISCHARGE LIMITATIONS MONITORING REQUIREMENTS 

Minimum Maximum Frequency(3) Sample Type 

Flow (GPD) NA NL 1/Quarter Estimate 

pH (S.U.) 6.0(1) 9.0(1) 1/Quarter Grab 

TSS (mg/l) NA 60(2) 1/Quarter Grab 

BOD5 (mg/l) NA 60(1),(2) 1/Quarter Grab 

Dissolved Oxygen (mg/l) 6.0(1) NA 1/Quarter Grab 

Temperature °C NA 32(1),(4) 1/6 Months 
Immersion 

Stabilization 

Total Residual Chlorine 

(mg/l) 
NA .011(1) 1/Quarter Grab 

E. Coli(5) NA 235 CFU/100 ml 1/6 Months Grab 

Enterococci(6) NA 104 CFU/100 ml 1/6 Months Grab 

Fecal Coliform(7) NA 200 CFU/100 ml 1/6 Months Grab 

NL - No Limitation, monitoring requirement only 

NA - Not applicable 

CFU – Colony forming units 
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(1)Where the Water Quality Standards (9VAC25-260) establish alternate standards for pH, BOD5, DO, TRC and 

temperature in waters receiving the discharge, those standards shall be, as appropriate, the maximum and minimum 

effluent limitations. 
(2)Limit given is expressed in two significant figures. 
(3)Reports of quarterly monitoring shall be submitted to the DEQ regional office no later than the 10th day of April, July, 

October, and January. Reports of once per six months shall be submitted no later than the 10th day of January and the 

10th day of July for samples collected by December 31 and June 30 of each year. 
(4)The effluent temperature shall not exceed a maximum 32°C for discharges to nontidal coastal and piedmont waters, 

31°C for mountain and upper piedmont waters, 21°C for put and take trout waters, or 20°C for natural trout waters. For 

estuarine waters, nontidal coastal and piedmont waters, mountain and upper piedmont waters, and put and take trout 

waters, the effluent shall not cause an increase in temperature of the receiving stream of more than 3°C above the natural 

water temperature. For natural trout waters, the temperature of the effluent shall not cause an increase of 1°C above 

natural water temperature. The effluent shall not cause the temperature in the receiving stream to change more than 2°C 

per hour, except in the case of natural trout waters where the hourly temperature change shall not exceed 0.5°C. 
(5)Applies only when the discharge is into freshwater (see 9VAC25-260-140 C for the classes of waters and boundary 

designations). 
(6)Applies only when the discharge is into saltwater or the transition zone (see 9VAC25-260-140 C for the classes of 

waters and boundary designations). 
(7)Applies only when the discharge is into shellfish waters (see 9VAC25-260-160 for the description of what are shellfish 

waters). 

Part I 

A. EFFLUENT LIMITATIONS AND MONITORING REQUIREMENTS. 

4. During the period beginning with the permittee's coverage under this general permit and lasting until the permit's expiration 

date, the permittee is authorized to discharge wastewater originating from a combined vehicle wash and laundry facility from 

outfalls: 

Such discharges shall be limited and monitored by the permittee as specified below: 

EFFLUENT 

CHARACTERISTICS 

DISCHARGE LIMITATIONS MONITORING REQUIREMENTS 

Minimum Maximum Frequency(3) Sample Type 

Flow (GPD) NA NL 1/Quarter Estimate 

pH (S.U.) 6.0(1) 9.0(1) 1/Quarter Grab 

TSS (mg/l) NA 60(2) 1/Quarter 5G/8HC 

BOD5 (mg/l) NA 60(1),(2) 1/Quarter Grab 

Oil and Grease NA 15 1/6 Months Grab 

Dissolved Oxygen (mg/l) 6.0(1) NA 1/Quarter Grab 

Temperature °C NA 32(1),(4) 1/6 Months 
Immersion 

Stabilization 

Total Residual Chlorine 

(mg/l) 
NA .011(1) 1/Quarter Grab 

E. Coli(5) NA 235 CFU/100 ml 1/6 Months Grab 

Enterococci(6) NA 104 CFU/100 ml 1/6 Months Grab 

Fecal Coliform(7) NA 200 CFU/100 ml 1/6 Months Grab 

NL - No Limitation, monitoring requirement only 

NA - Not applicable 
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CFU – Colony forming units 
(1)Where the Water Quality Standards (9VAC25-260) establish alternate standards for pH, BOD5, DO, TRC and 

temperature in waters receiving the discharge, those standards shall be, as appropriate, the maximum and minimum 

effluent limitations. 
(2)Limit given is expressed in two significant figures. 
(3)Reports of quarterly monitoring shall be submitted to the DEQ regional office no later than the 10th day of April, July, 

October, and January. Reports of once per six months shall be submitted no later than the 10th day of January and the 

10th day of July for samples collected by December 31 and June 30 of each year. 
(4)The effluent temperature shall not exceed a maximum 32°C for discharges to nontidal coastal and piedmont waters, 

31°C for mountain and upper piedmont waters, 21°C for put and take trout waters, or 20°C for natural trout waters. For 

estuarine waters, nontidal coastal and piedmont waters, mountain and upper piedmont waters, and put and take trout 

waters, the effluent shall not cause an increase in temperature of the receiving stream of more than 3°C above the natural 

water temperature. For natural trout waters, the temperature of the effluent shall not cause an increase of 1°C above 

natural water temperature. The effluent shall not cause the temperature in the receiving stream to change more than 2°C 

per hour, except in the case of natural trout waters where the hourly temperature change shall not exceed 0.5°C. 
(5)Applies only when the discharge is into freshwater (see 9VAC25-260-140 C for the classes of waters and boundary 

designations). 
(6)Applies only when the discharge is into saltwater or the transition zone (see 9VAC25-260-140 C for the classes of 

waters and boundary designations). 
(7)Applies only when the discharge is into shellfish waters (see 9VAC25-260-160 for the description of what are shellfish 

waters). 

 

B. Special conditions. 

1. The permittee of a vehicle wash facility shall perform 

visual examinations of the effluent including sheens, 

floating solids, or visible foam and maintenance of the 

wastewater treatment facilities and inlet protection 

measures, if applicable, at least once per week and document 

this visual examination and maintenance activities in the 

operational log. This operational log shall include the 

examination date and time, examination personnel, presence 

of a discharge, and the visual quality of the discharge and. 

The operational log shall be made available for review by 

the department personnel upon request. 

2. The effluent shall be free of sheens. There shall be no 

discharge of floating solids or visible foam in other than 

trace amounts. 

3. No sewage shall be discharged from a point source to 

surface waters from this facility except under the provisions 

of another VPDES permit specifically issued for that 

purpose. 

4. There shall be no chemicals added to the water or waste 

which that may be discharged other than those listed on the 

owner's accepted registration statement, unless prior 

approval of the chemical is granted by the board. 

5. Wastewater should be reused or recycled whenever 

feasible. 

6. The permittee of a vehicle wash facility shall comply with 

the following solids management plan, where applicable: 

a. All Any settling basins or oil water separators shall be 

cleaned frequently in order in accordance with the 

schedule outlined in the operation and maintenance 

(O&M) manual and at a frequent enough interval to 

achieve effective treatment. 

b. All Any solids from settling basins, oil water separators, 

trash, or other debris shall be handled, stored, and disposed 

of so as to prevent a discharge to state waters of such 

solids. 

7. Washing of vehicles or containers bearing residue of 

animal manure or toxic chemicals (fertilizers, organic 

chemicals, etc.) is prohibited. If the facility is a self-service 

operation, the permittee shall post this prohibition on a sign 

prominently located and of sufficient size to be easily read 

by all patrons. 

8. If the facility has a vehicle wash discharge with a monthly 

average flow rate of less than 5,000 gallons per day, and the 

flow rate increases above a monthly average flow rate of 

5,000 gallons per day, an amended registration statement 

shall be filed within 30 days of the increased flow. 

9. A permittee submitting a registration statement in 

accordance with Part II M and discharging into a municipal 

separate storm sewer shall notify the owner of the municipal 

separate storm sewer system of the existence of the 

discharge at the time of registration under this permit and 

include that notification with the registration statement. The 

notice shall include the following information: the name of 

the facility, a contact person and contact information (phone 

number and email), the location of the discharge, the nature 
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of the discharge, and the facility's VPDES general permit 

number, if known or existing. 

10. Approval for coverage under this general permit does not 

relieve any owner of the responsibility to comply with any 

other federal, state, or local statute, ordinance, or regulation. 

11. The owner of a facility discharging vehicle wash water 

directly to a stormwater drain shall provide inlet protection 

measures in addition to meeting all other requirements of the 

permit. 

12. The permittee shall notify the department as soon as the 

permittee knows or has reason to believe: 

a. That any activity has occurred or will occur that would 

result in the discharge, on a routine or frequent basis, of 

any toxic pollutant that is not limited in this permit, if that 

discharge will exceed the highest of the following 

notification levels: 

(1) One hundred micrograms per liter of the toxic 

pollutant; 

(2) Two hundred micrograms per liter for acrolein and 

acrylonitrile; five hundred micrograms per liter for 2,4-

dinitrophenol and for 2-methyl-4,6-dinitrophenol; and one 

milligram per liter for antimony; 

(3) Five times the maximum concentration value reported 

for that pollutant in the permit application; or 

(4) The level established by the board. 

b. That any activity has occurred or will occur that would 

result in any discharge, on a nonroutine or infrequent 

basis, of a toxic pollutant that is not limited in this permit, 

if that discharge will exceed the highest of the following 

notification levels: 

(1) Five hundred micrograms per liter of the toxic 

pollutant; 

(2) One milligram per liter for antimony; 

(3) Ten times the maximum concentration value reported 

for that pollutant in the permit application; or 

(4) The level established by the board. 

13. Operation and maintenance manual requirement. The 

permittee shall develop and maintain an accurate operation 

and maintenance (O&M) manual for the wastewater 

treatment works and applicable inlet protection measures, if 

applicable. This manual shall detail the practices and 

procedures that will be followed to ensure compliance with 

the requirements of this permit. The permittee shall operate 

and maintain the treatment works and the inlet protection 

measures in accordance with the O&M manual. The O&M 

manual shall be reviewed and updated at least annually and 

shall be signed and certified in accordance with Part II K of 

this permit. The O&M manual shall be made available for 

review by the department personnel upon request. The O&M 

manual shall include, but not necessarily be limited to, the 

following items, as appropriate: 

a. Techniques to be employed in the collection, 

preservation, and analysis of effluent samples; 

b. Discussion of best management practices or stormwater 

inlet protection methods Stormwater inlet protection 

measure directions for use and maintenance of equipment; 

c. Best management practices employed; 

d. Treatment system operation, routine preventive 

maintenance of units within the treatment system, critical 

spare parts inventory, and recordkeeping; 

d. e. A sludge/solids management plan, including the 

schedule for settling basin or oil water separator cleaning 

and solids handling as required by Part I B 6; 

e. f. Procedures for performing the visual examination and 

maintenance required by Part I B 1 including example log 

sheets and the location of the operational log; and 

f. g. Date when the O&M manual was updated or reviewed 

and any changes that were made. 

14. Compliance reporting under Part I A 1 through 4. 

a. The quantification levels (QL) shall be as follows: 

Effluent Characteristic Quantification Level 

BOD5 2 mg/l 

TSS 

Oil and Grease 

1.0 mg/l 

5.0 mg/l 

Chlorine 0.10 mg/l 

The QL is defined as the lowest concentration used to 

calibrate a measurement system in accordance with the 

procedures published for the test method. 

b. Reporting. Any single datum required shall be reported 

as "<QL" if it is less than the QL in subdivision 14 a of 

this subsection. Otherwise, the numerical value shall be 

reported. The QL must be less than or equal to the QL in 

subdivision 14 a of this subsection. 

c. Monitoring results shall be reported using the same 

number of significant digits as listed in the permit. 

Regardless of the rounding convention used by the 

permittee (e.g., five always rounding up or to the nearest 

even number), the permittee shall use the convention 

consistently and shall ensure that consulting laboratories 

employed by the permittee use the same convention. 

15. The discharges authorized by this permit shall be 

controlled as necessary to meet applicable water quality 

standards in 9VAC25-260. 

16. Discharges to waters with an approved total maximum 

daily load (TMDL). Owners of facilities that are a source of 

the specified pollutant of concern to waters where an 

approved TMDL has been established shall implement 

measures and controls that are consistent with the 

assumptions and requirements of the TMDL. 
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17. Notice of termination. 

a. The owner may terminate coverage under this general 

permit by filing a complete notice of termination with the 

department. The notice of termination may be filed after 

one or more of the following conditions have been met: 

(1) Operations have ceased at the facility and there are no 

longer wastewater discharges from vehicle wash or 

laundry activities from the facility; 

(2) A new owner has assumed responsibility for the 

facility. A notice of termination does not have to be 

submitted if a VPDES Change of Ownership Agreement 

form has been submitted; 

(3) All discharges associated with this facility have been 

covered by a VPDES individual permit or an alternative 

VPDES permit; or 

(4) Termination of coverage is requested for another 

reason provided the board agrees that coverage under this 

general permit is no longer needed. 

b. The notice of termination shall contain the following 

information: 

(1) Owner's name, mailing address, telephone number, 

and email address (if available); 

(2) Facility name and location; 

(3) VPDES vehicle wash facilities and laundry facilities 

general permit number; and 

(4) The basis for submitting the notice of termination, 

including: 

(a) A statement indicating that a new owner has assumed 

responsibility for the facility; 

(b) A statement indicating that operations have ceased at 

the facility and there are no longer wastewater discharges 

from vehicle wash or laundry activities from the facility; 

(c) A statement indicating that all wastewater discharges 

from vehicle wash facilities and laundry facilities have 

been covered by an individual VPDES permit; or 

(d) A statement indicating that termination of coverage is 

being requested for another reason (state the reason). 

c. The following certification: 

"I certify under penalty of law that all wastewater 

discharges from vehicle wash or laundry facilities from the 

identified facility that are authorized by this VPDES 

general permit have been eliminated, or covered under a 

VPDES individual or alternative permit, or that I am no 

longer the owner of the industrial activity, or permit 

coverage should be terminated for another reason listed 

above. I understand that by submitting this notice of 

termination, that I am no longer authorized to discharge 

wastewater from vehicle wash facilities or laundry 

facilities in accordance with the general permit, and that 

discharging pollutants in wastewater from vehicle wash 

facilities or laundry facilities to surface waters is unlawful 

where the discharge is not authorized by a VPDES permit. 

I also understand that the submittal of this notice of 

termination does not release an owner from liability for 

any violations of this permit or the Clean Water Act." 

d. The notice of termination shall be signed in accordance 

with Part II K. 

e. The notice of termination shall be submitted to the DEQ 

regional office serving the area where the vehicle wash or 

laundry facility is located. 

Part II 

CONDITIONS APPLICABLE TO ALL VPDES PERMITS 

A. Monitoring. 

1. Samples and measurements taken as required by this 

permit shall be representative of the monitored activity. 

2. Monitoring shall be conducted according to procedures 

approved under 40 CFR Part 136 or alternative methods 

approved by the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency 

unless other procedures have been specified in this permit. 

3. The permittee shall periodically calibrate and perform 

maintenance procedures on all monitoring and analytical 

instrumentation at intervals that will ensure accuracy of 

measurements. 

4. Samples taken as required by this permit shall be analyzed 

in accordance with 1VAC30-45, Certification for 

Noncommercial Environmental Laboratories, or 1VAC30-

46, Accreditation for Commercial Environmental 

Laboratories. 

B. Records. 

1. Records of monitoring information shall include: 

a. The date, exact place, and time of sampling or 

measurements; 

b. The individuals who performed the sampling or 

measurements; 

c. The dates and times analyses were performed; 

d. The individuals who performed the analyses; 

e. The analytical techniques or methods used; and 

f. The results of such analyses. 

2. Except for records of monitoring information required by 

this permit related to the permittee's sewage sludge use and 

disposal activities, which shall be retained for a period of at 

least five years, the permittee shall retain records of all 

monitoring information, including all calibration and 

maintenance records and all original strip chart recordings 

for continuous monitoring instrumentation, copies of all 

reports required by this permit, and records of all data used 

to complete the registration statement for this permit, for a 

period of at least three years from the date of the sample, 

measurement, report or request for coverage. This period of 

retention shall be extended automatically during the course 
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of any unresolved litigation regarding the regulated activity 

or regarding control standards applicable to the permittee, or 

as requested by the board. 

C. Reporting monitoring results. 

1. The permittee shall submit the results of the monitoring 

required by this permit not later than the 10th day of the 

month after monitoring takes place, unless another reporting 

schedule is specified elsewhere in this permit. Monitoring 

results shall be submitted to the department's regional office. 

2. Monitoring results shall be reported on a Discharge 

Monitoring Report (DMR) or on forms provided, approved 

or specified by the department. Following notification from 

the department of the start date for the required electronic 

submission of monitoring reports, as provided for in 

9VAC25-31-1020, such forms and reports submitted after 

that date shall be electronically submitted to the department 

in compliance with this section and 9VAC25-31-1020. 

There shall be at least three months' notice provided between 

the notification from the department and the date after which 

such forms and reports must be submitted electronically. 

3. If the permittee monitors any pollutant specifically 

addressed by this permit more frequently than required by 

this permit using test procedures approved under 40 CFR 

Part 136 or using other test procedures approved by the U.S. 

Environmental Protection Agency or using procedures 

specified in this permit, the results of this monitoring shall 

be included in the calculation and reporting of the data 

submitted in the DMR or reporting form specified by the 

department. 

4. Calculations for all limitations which that require 

averaging of measurements shall utilize an arithmetic mean 

unless otherwise specified in this permit. 

D. Duty to provide information. The permittee shall furnish 

to the department, within a reasonable time, any information 

which that the board may request to determine whether cause 

exists for terminating coverage under this permit or to 

determine compliance with this permit. The board may require 

the permittee to furnish, upon request, such plans, 

specifications, and other pertinent information as may be 

necessary to determine the effect of the wastes from his the 

permittee's discharge on the quality of state waters, or such 

other information as may be necessary to accomplish the 

purposes of the State Water Control Law. The permittee shall 

also furnish to the department upon request, copies of records 

required to be kept by this permit. 

E. Compliance schedule reports. Reports of compliance or 

noncompliance with, or any progress reports on, interim and 

final requirements contained in any compliance schedule of 

this permit shall be submitted no later than 14 days following 

each schedule date. 

F. Unauthorized discharges. Except in compliance with this 

permit or another permit issued by the board, it shall be 

unlawful for any person to: 

1. Discharge into state waters sewage, industrial wastes, 

other wastes, or any noxious or deleterious substances; or 

2. Otherwise alter the physical, chemical or biological 

properties of such state waters and make them detrimental to 

the public health, or to animal or aquatic life, or to the use of 

such waters for domestic or industrial consumption, or for 

recreation, or for other uses. 

G. Reports of unauthorized discharges. Any permittee who 

discharges or causes or allows a discharge of sewage, industrial 

waste, other wastes or any noxious or deleterious substance 

into or upon state waters in violation of Part II F, or who 

discharges or causes or allows a discharge that may reasonably 

be expected to enter state waters in violation of Part II F, shall 

notify the department of the discharge immediately (see Part II 

I 4) upon discovery of the discharge, but in no case later than 

24 hours after said discovery. A written report of the 

unauthorized discharge shall be submitted to the department 

within five days of discovery of the discharge. The written 

report shall contain: 

1. A description of the nature and location of the discharge; 

2. The cause of the discharge; 

3. The date on which the discharge occurred; 

4. The length of time that the discharge continued; 

5. The volume of the discharge; 

6. If the discharge is continuing, how long it is expected to 

continue; 

7. If the discharge is continuing, what the expected total 

volume of the discharge will be; and 

8. Any steps planned or taken to reduce, eliminate and 

prevent a recurrence of the present discharge or any future 

discharges not authorized by this permit. 

Discharges reportable to the department under the immediate 

reporting requirements of other regulations are exempted from 

this requirement. 

H. Reports of unusual or extraordinary discharges. If any 

unusual or extraordinary discharge, including a bypass or 

upset, should occur from a treatment works, and the discharge 

enters or could be expected to enter state waters, the permittee 

shall promptly notify (see Part II I 4), in no case later than 24 

hours, the department by telephone after the discovery of the 

discharge. This notification shall provide all available details 

of the incident, including any adverse effects on aquatic life 

and the known number of fish killed. The permittee shall 

submit the report to the department in writing within five days 

of discovery of the discharge in accordance with Part II I 2. 



Regulations 

Volume 38, Issue 6  Virginia Register of Regulations  November 8, 2021  

735 

Unusual and extraordinary discharges include any discharge 

resulting from: 

1. Unusual spillage of materials resulting directly or 

indirectly from processing operations; 

2. Breakdown of processing or accessory equipment; 

3. Failure or taking out of service some or all of the treatment 

works; and 

4. Flooding or other acts of nature. 

I. Reports of noncompliance. The permittee shall report any 

noncompliance which that may adversely affect state waters or 

may endanger public health. 

1. An oral report shall be provided within 24 hours from the 

time the permittee becomes aware of the circumstances. The 

following shall be included as information which that shall 

be reported within 24 hours under this subsection: 

a. Any unanticipated bypass; and 

b. Any upset which causes a discharge to surface waters. 

2. A written report shall be submitted within five days and 

shall contain: 

a. A description of the noncompliance and its cause; 

b. The period of noncompliance, including exact dates and 

times, and if the noncompliance has not been corrected, 

the anticipated time it is expected to continue; and 

c. Steps taken or planned to reduce, eliminate, and prevent 

reoccurrence of the noncompliance. 

The board may waive the written report on a case-by-case 

basis for reports of noncompliance under Part II I if the oral 

report has been received within 24 hours and no adverse 

impact on state waters has been reported. 

3. The permittee shall report all instances of noncompliance 

not reported under Parts Part II I 1 or 2, in writing, at the 

time the next monitoring reports are submitted. The reports 

shall contain the information listed in Part II I 2. 

NOTE: 4. The immediate (within 24 hours) reports required 

in Part II G, H, and I may be made to the department's 

regional office. Reports may be made by telephone, FAX, or 

online at 

http://www.deq.virginia.gov/Programs/PollutionResponseP

reparedness/MakingaReport.aspx 

https://www.deq.virginia.gov/get-involved/pollution-

response. For reports outside normal working hours, leave a 

message and this shall fulfill the immediate reporting 

requirement. For emergencies, the Virginia Department of 

Emergency Management maintains a 24-hour telephone 

service at 1-800-468-8892. 

5. Where the permittee becomes aware that it failed to 

submit any relevant facts in a permit registration statement 

or in any report to the department, it shall promptly submit 

such facts or information. 

J. Notice of planned changes. 

1. The permittee shall give notice to the department as soon 

as possible of any planned physical alterations or additions 

to the permitted facility. Notice is required only when: 

a. The permittee plans alteration or addition to any 

building, structure, facility, or installation from which 

there is or may be a discharge of pollutants, the 

construction of which commenced: 

(1) After promulgation of standards of performance under 

§ 306 of the Clean Water Act which are applicable to such 

source; or 

(2) After proposal of standards of performance in 

accordance with § 306 of the Clean Water Act which that 

are applicable to such source, but only if the standards are 

promulgated in accordance with § 306 within 120 days of 

their proposal; 

b. The alteration or addition could significantly change the 

nature or increase the quantity of pollutants discharged. 

This notification applies to pollutants which that are 

subject neither to effluent limitations nor to notification 

requirements specified elsewhere in this permit in Part I B 

12; or 

c. The alteration or addition results in a significant change 

in the permittee's sludge use or disposal practices, and 

such alteration, addition, or change may justify the 

application of permit conditions that are different from or 

absent in the existing permit, including notification of 

additional use or disposal sites not reported during the 

permit registration process or not reported pursuant to an 

approved land application plan. 

2. The permittee shall give advance notice to the department 

of any planned changes in the permitted facility or activity 

which may result in noncompliance with permit 

requirements. 

K. Signatory requirements. 

1. Registration statement. All registration statements shall be 

signed as follows: 

a. For a corporation: by a responsible corporate officer. 

For the purpose of this section, a responsible corporate 

officer means: (i) a president, secretary, treasurer, or vice-

president of the corporation in charge of a principal 

business function, or any other person who performs 

similar policy-making or decision-making functions for 

the corporation, or (ii) the manager of one or more 

manufacturing, production, or operating facilities, 

provided the manager is authorized to make management 

decisions that govern the operation of the regulated facility 

including having the explicit or implicit duty of making 

major capital investment recommendations, and initiating 
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and directing other comprehensive measures to assure 

long-term environmental compliance with environmental 

laws and regulations; the manager can ensure that the 

necessary systems are established or actions taken to 

gather complete and accurate information for permit 

registration requirements; and where authority to sign 

documents has been assigned or delegated to the manager 

in accordance with corporate procedures; 

b. For a partnership or sole proprietorship: by a general 

partner or the proprietor, respectively; or 

c. For a municipality, state, federal, or other public 

agency: by either a principal executive officer or ranking 

elected official. For purposes of this section, a principal 

executive officer of a public agency includes: (i) the chief 

executive officer of the agency, or (ii) a senior executive 

officer having responsibility for the overall operations of 

a principal geographic unit of the agency. 

2. Reporting requirements. All reports required by permits 

and other information requested by the board shall be signed 

by a person described in Part II K 1 or by a duly authorized 

representative of that person. A person is a duly authorized 

representative only if: 

a. The authorization is made in writing by a person 

described in Part II K 1; 

b. The authorization specifies either an individual or a 

position having responsibility for the overall operation of 

the regulated facility or activity such as the position of 

plant manager, operator of a well or a well field, 

superintendent, position of equivalent responsibility, or an 

individual or position having overall responsibility for 

environmental matters for the company. A duly authorized 

representative may thus be either a named individual or 

any individual occupying a named position; and 

c. The written authorization is submitted to the 

department. 

3. Changes to authorization. If an authorization under Part II 

K 2 is no longer accurate because a different individual or 

position has responsibility for the overall operation of the 

facility, a new authorization satisfying the requirements of 

Part II K 2 shall be submitted to the department prior to or 

together with any reports or information to be signed by an 

authorized representative. 

4. Certification. Any person signing a document under Part 

II K 1 or 2 shall make the following certification: 

"I certify under penalty of law that this document and all 

attachments were prepared under my direction or 

supervision in accordance with a system designed to 

ensure that qualified personnel properly gather and 

evaluate the information submitted. Based on my inquiry 

of the person or persons who manage the system, or those 

persons directly responsible for gathering the information, 

the information submitted is, to the best of my knowledge 

and belief, true, accurate, and complete. I am aware that 

there are significant penalties for submitting false 

information, including the possibility of fine and 

imprisonment for knowing violations." 

L. Duty to comply. The permittee shall comply with all 

conditions of this permit. Any permit noncompliance 

constitutes a violation of the State Water Control Law and the 

Clean Water Act, except that noncompliance with certain 

provisions of this permit may constitute a violation of the State 

Water Control Law but not the Clean Water Act. Permit 

noncompliance is grounds for enforcement action, for permit 

coverage termination, or for denial of a permit coverage 

renewal application. 

The permittee shall comply with effluent standards or 

prohibitions established under § 307(a) of the Clean Water Act 

for toxic pollutants and with standards for sewage sludge use 

or disposal established under § 405(d) of the Clean Water Act 

within the time provided in the regulations that establish these 

standards or prohibitions or standards for sewage sludge use or 

disposal, even if this permit has not yet been modified to 

incorporate the requirement. 

M. Duty to reapply. If the permittee wishes to continue an 

activity regulated by this permit after the expiration date of this 

permit, the permittee shall submit a new registration statement 

at least 30 60 days before the expiration date of the existing 

permit, unless permission for a later date has been granted by 

the board. The board shall not grant permission for registration 

statements to be submitted later than the expiration date of the 

existing permit. 

N. Effect of a permit. This permit does not convey any 

property rights in either real or personal property or any 

exclusive privileges, nor does it authorize any injury to private 

property or invasion of personal rights, or any infringement of 

federal, state or local law or regulations. 

O. State law. Nothing in this permit shall be construed to 

preclude the institution of any legal action under, or relieve the 

permittee from any responsibilities, liabilities, or penalties 

established pursuant to any other state law or regulation or 

under authority preserved by § 510 of the Clean Water Act. 

Except as provided in permit conditions on "bypassing" (Part 

II U) and "upset" (Part II V), nothing in this permit shall be 

construed to relieve the permittee from civil and criminal 

penalties for noncompliance. 

P. Oil and hazardous substance liability. Nothing in this 

permit shall be construed to preclude the institution of any 

legal action or relieve the permittee from any responsibilities, 

liabilities, or penalties to which the permittee is or may be 

subject under Article 11 (§ 62.1-44.34:14 et seq.) of the State 

Water Control Law. 

Q. Proper operation and maintenance. The permittee shall at 

all times properly operate and maintain all facilities and 

systems of treatment and control (and related appurtenances) 
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which that are installed or used by the permittee to achieve 

compliance with the conditions of this permit. Proper operation 

and maintenance also includes effective plant performance, 

adequate funding, adequate staffing, and adequate laboratory 

and process controls, including appropriate quality assurance 

procedures. This provision requires the operation of back-up or 

auxiliary facilities or similar systems which are installed by the 

permittee only when the operation is necessary to achieve 

compliance with the conditions of this permit. 

R. Disposal of solids or sludges. Solids, sludges, or other 

pollutants removed in the course of treatment or management 

of pollutants shall be disposed of in a manner so as to prevent 

any pollutant from such materials from entering state waters. 

S. Duty to mitigate. The permittee shall take all reasonable 

steps to minimize or prevent any discharge or sludge use or 

disposal in violation of this permit which that has a reasonable 

likelihood of adversely affecting human health or the 

environment. 

T. Need to halt or reduce activity not a defense. It shall not be 

a defense for a permittee in an enforcement action that it would 

have been necessary to halt or reduce the permitted activity in 

order to maintain compliance with the conditions of this 

permit. 

U. Bypass. 

1. The permittee may allow any bypass to occur which that 

does not cause effluent limitations to be exceeded, but only 

if it also is for essential maintenance to assure efficient 

operation. These bypasses are not subject to the provisions 

of Part II U 2 and U 3. 

2. Notice. 

a. Anticipated bypass. If the permittee knows in advance 

of the need for a bypass, prior notice shall be submitted, if 

possible, at least 10 days before the date of the bypass. 

b. Unanticipated bypass. The permittee shall submit notice 

of an unanticipated bypass as required in Part II I. 

3. Prohibition of bypass. 

a. Bypass is prohibited, and the board may take 

enforcement action against a permittee for bypass, unless: 

(1) Bypass was unavoidable to prevent loss of life, 

personal injury, or severe property damage; 

(2) There were no feasible alternatives to the bypass, such 

as the use of auxiliary treatment facilities, retention of 

untreated wastes, or maintenance during normal periods of 

equipment downtime. This condition is not satisfied if 

adequate back-up equipment should have been installed in 

the exercise of reasonable engineering judgment to 

prevent a bypass which that occurred during normal 

periods of equipment downtime or preventive 

maintenance; and 

(3) The permittee submitted notices as required under Part 

II U 2. 

b. The board may approve an anticipated bypass, after 

considering its adverse effects, if the board determines that 

it will meet the three conditions listed in Part II U 3 a. 

V. Upset. 

1. An upset constitutes an affirmative defense to an action 

brought for noncompliance with technology based permit 

effluent limitations if the requirements of Part II V 2 are met. 

A determination made during administrative review of 

claims that noncompliance was caused by upset, and before 

an action for noncompliance, is not a final administrative 

action subject to judicial review. 

2. A permittee who wishes to establish the affirmative 

defense of upset shall demonstrate through properly signed, 

contemporaneous operating logs, or other relevant evidence 

that: 

a. An upset occurred and that the permittee can identify 

the causes of the upset; 

b. The permitted facility was at the time being properly 

operated; 

c. The permittee submitted notice of the upset as required 

in Part II I; and 

d. The permittee complied with any remedial measures 

required under Part II S. 

3. In any enforcement proceeding the permittee seeking to 

establish the occurrence of an upset has the burden of proof. 

W. Inspection and entry. The permittee shall allow the 

director, or an authorized representative (including an 

authorized contractor acting as a representative of the 

administrator), upon presentation of credentials and other 

documents as may be required by law to: 

1. Enter upon the permittee's premises where a regulated 

facility or activity is located or conducted, or where records 

must be kept under the conditions of this permit; 

2. Have access to and copy, at reasonable times, any records 

that must be kept under the conditions of this permit; 

3. Inspect at reasonable times any facilities, equipment 

(including monitoring and control equipment), practices, or 

operations regulated or required under this permit; and 

4. Sample or monitor at reasonable times, for the purposes 

of assuring permit compliance or as otherwise authorized by 

the Clean Water Act and the State Water Control Law, any 

substances or parameters at any location. 

For purposes of this section, the time for inspection shall be 

deemed reasonable during regular business hours, and 

whenever the facility is discharging. Nothing contained herein 

shall make an inspection unreasonable during an emergency. 
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X. Permit actions. Permit coverage may be terminated for 

cause. The filing of a request by the permittee for a permit 

coverage termination or a notification of planned changes or 

anticipated noncompliance does not stay any permit condition. 

Y. Transfer of permit coverage. Permits are 

1. Permit coverage is not transferable to any person except 

after notice to the department. 

2. Coverage under this permit may be automatically 

transferred to a new permittee if: 

1. a. The current permittee notifies the department within 

30 days of the transfer of the title to the facility or 

property; 

2. b. The notice includes a written agreement between the 

existing and new permittees containing a specific date for 

transfer of permit responsibility, coverage, and liability 

between them; and 

3. c. The board does not notify the existing permittee and 

the proposed new permittee of its intent to modify or 

revoke and reissue the permit. If this notice is not received, 

the transfer is effective on the date specified in the 

agreement mentioned in Part II Y 2 b. 

Z. Severability. The provisions of this permit are severable, 

and, if any provision of this permit or the application of any 

provision of this permit to any circumstance, is held invalid, 

the application of such provision to other circumstances, and 

the remainder of this permit, shall not be affected thereby. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R20-6442; Filed October 19, 2021, 11:58 a.m. 

  ––––––––––––––––––  

TITLE 10. FINANCE AND FINANCIAL 
INSTITUTIONS 

STATE CORPORATION COMMISSION 

Proposed Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The State Corporation Commission 

is claiming an exemption from the Administrative Process Act 

in accordance with § 2.2-4002 A 2 of the Code of Virginia, 

which exempts courts, any agency of the Supreme Court, and 

any agency that by the Constitution is expressly granted any of 

the powers of a court of record. 

Title of Regulation: 10VAC5-200. Short-Term Lending 

(amending 10VAC5-200-10). 

Statutory Authority: §§ 6.2-1815 and 12.1-13 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: A hearing will be scheduled upon 

request. 

Public Comment Deadline: November 19, 2021. 

Agency Contact: Dustin Physioc, Commissioner, Bureau of 

Financial Institutions, State Corporation Commission, P.O. 

Box 640, Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 786-0831, or 

email dustin.physioc@scc.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The proposed amendment adds the definition of "business 

check" to mean a paper check, an electronic check, or an 

electronic funds transfer through the Automated Clearing 

House system. 

AT RICHMOND, OCTOBER 12, 2021 

COMMONWEALTH OF VIRGINIA, ex rel. 

STATE CORPORATION COMMISSION 

CASE NO. BFI-2021-00101 

Ex Parte: In the Matter of Defining the 

Term "Business Check" in the Regulations 

Governing Short-Term Lending 

ORDER TO TAKE NOTICE 

Chapters 1215 and 1258 of the 2020 Virginia Acts of 

Assembly made extensive revisions to Chapter 18 (§ 6.2-1800 

et seq.) of Title 6.2 of the Code of Virginia ("Chapter 18") that 

became effective on January 1, 2021. Based on this legislation, 

the State Corporation Commission ("Commission") conducted 

a rulemaking proceeding and adopted amendments to its 

regulations governing short-term lending under Chapter 18, 

which are set forth in Chapter 200 of Title 10 of the Virginia 

Administrative Code ("Chapter 200").1 

The Commission has received inquiries regarding whether 

licensed short-term lenders who make loans over the Internet 

are allowed to disburse loan proceeds to borrowers by means 

of an electronic funds transfer through the Automated Clearing 

House ("ACH") system.2 In order to clarify that disbursing loan 

proceeds in this manner is now permitted under Chapter 18, the 

Bureau of Financial Institutions ("Bureau") has proposed an 

amendment to 10 VAC 5-200-10 that would define the term 

"business check" for purposes of Chapter 18 and Chapter 200 

to mean a paper check, an electronic check, or an electronic 

funds transfer through the ACH system. 

NOW THE COMMISSION, having considered the Bureau's 

proposal, is of the opinion and finds that the proposed 

regulation should be considered for adoption. 

Accordingly, IT IS ORDERED THAT: 

(1) The proposed regulation is attached hereto and made a 

part hereof. 

(2) Comments or requests for a hearing on the proposed 

regulation must be submitted in writing to the Clerk of the 

Commission, State Corporation Commission, c/o Document 

Control Center, P.O. Box 2118, Richmond, Virginia 23218, on 

or before November 19, 2021. Requests for a hearing shall 

state why a hearing is necessary and why the issues cannot be 
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adequately addressed in written comments. All 

correspondence shall contain a reference to Case No. BFI-

2021-00101. Interested persons desiring to submit comments 

or request a hearing electronically may do so by following the 

instructions available at the Commission's website: 

scc.virginia.gov/casecomments/Submit-Public-Comments. 

(3) This Order and the attached proposed regulation shall be 

made available on the Commission's website: 

scc.virginia.gov/pages/Case-Information. 

(4) The Commission's Division of Information Resources 

shall provide a copy of this Order, including a copy of the 

attached proposed regulation, to the Virginia Registrar of 

Regulations for publication in the Virginia Register of 

Regulations. 

A COPY of this Order and the attached proposed regulation 

shall be sent by the Clerk of the Commission to the 

Commission's Office of General Counsel and to the 

Commissioner of Financial Institutions, who shall send by e-

mail or U.S. mail a copy of this Order and the attached 

proposed regulation to all licensees under Chapter 18 and such 

other interested persons as he may designate. 

______________________________________ 

1Commonwealth of Virginia, ex rel. State Corporation Commission, Ex Parte: 

In the matter of Adopting Revisions to the Regulations Governing Licensees 

under Chapter 18 of Title 6.2 of the Code of Virginia. Case No. BFI-2020-
00109, Order Adopting Regulations (July 12, 2021). 

2Section 6.2-1816 (14) of the Code of Virginia states in pertinent part that 

"[l]oan proceeds shall be disbursed in cash or by the licensee's business check." 

10VAC5-200-10. Definitions. 

A. The following words and terms when used in this chapter 

shall have the following meanings unless the context clearly 

indicates otherwise: 

"Act" means Chapter 18 (§ 6.2-1800 et seq.) of Title 6.2 of 

the Code of Virginia. 

"Advertisement" means a commercial message in any 

medium that promotes, directly or indirectly, a short-term loan. 

This includes a communication sent to a consumer as part of a 

solicitation of business, but excludes messages on promotional 

items such as pens, pencils, notepads, hats, and calendars. 

"Business check" for purposes of the Act and this chapter 

means a paper check, an electronic check, or an electronic 

funds transfer through the Automated Clearing House system. 

"Business day" for purposes of the Act and this chapter means 

a day on which the licensee is able to make loans pursuant to 

the Act. 

"Duplicate original" means an exact copy of a signed original, 

an exact copy with signatures created by the same impression 

as the original, or an exact copy bearing an original signature. 

"Good funds instrument" for purposes of the Act and this 

chapter means a certified check, cashier's check, money order 

or, if the licensee is equipped to handle such payments, 

payment effected by use of a credit card, prepaid card, debit 

card, or the Automated Clearing House system. 

"Liquid assets" for purposes of the Act and this chapter means 

funds held in a checking account or savings account at a 

depository institution, money market funds, commercial paper, 

and treasury bills. 

"Member of the military services of the United States" for 

purposes of the Act and this chapter means a regular or reserve 

member of the United States Army, Navy, Marine Corps, Air 

Force, Coast Guard, or National Guard serving on active duty 

under a call or order that does not specify a period of 30 days 

or fewer. 

"Other dependent of a member of the military services of the 

United States" for purposes of the Act and this chapter means 

(i) an individual under the age of younger than 18 years of age 

whose mother or father is a member of the military services of 

the United States or (ii) an individual for whom a member of 

the military services of the United States provided more than 

one-half of the individual's financial support for 180 days 

immediately preceding the date the individual applied for a 

short-term loan. 

"Payday loan" means a loan made pursuant to the Act and this 

chapter prior to January 1, 2021. 

"Prepaid card" means a card with a network logo (e.g., Visa, 

MasterCard, American Express, or Discover) that is used by a 

cardholder to access money that has been loaded onto the card 

in advance. 

B. Other terms used in this chapter shall have the meanings 

set forth in § 6.2-100 or 6.2-1800 of the Code of Virginia. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R22-7001; Filed October 12, 2021, 2:35 p.m. 

  ––––––––––––––––––  

TITLE 18. PROFESSIONAL AND 
OCCUPATIONAL LICENSING 

BOARD FOR CONTRACTORS 

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Board for Contractors is 

claiming an exemption from Article 2 of the Administrative 

Process Act in accordance with § 2.2-4006 A 6 of the Code of 

Virginia, which excludes regulations of the regulatory boards 

served by the Department of Professional and Occupational 

Regulation pursuant to Title 54.1 of the Code of Virginia that 

are limited to reducing fees charged to regulants and 

applicants. The board will receive, consider, and respond to 

petitions by any interested person at any time with respect to 

reconsideration or revision. 
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Title of Regulation: 18VAC50-22. Board for Contractors 

Regulations (amending 18VAC50-22-140, 18VAC50-22-

170). 

Statutory Authority: §§ 54.1-201, 54.1-1102, and 54.1-1146 of 

the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: December 8, 2021. 

Agency Contact: Marjorie King, Administrator, Board for 

Contractors, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 400, Richmond, VA 

23233, telephone (804) 367-2785, FAX (866) 430-1033, TDD 

(804) 527-4290, or email contractors@dpor.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendments put in place a temporary reduction of 

renewal fees for contractor licenses in compliance with 

§ 54.1-113 of the Code of Virginia. 

18VAC50-22-140. Renewal fees. 

Each check or money order should be made payable to the 

Treasurer of Virginia. All fees required by the board are 

nonrefundable. 

In the event that a check, money draft, or similar instrument 

for payment of a fee required by statute or regulation is not 

honored by the bank or financial institution named, the 

applicant or regulant shall be required to remit fees sufficient 

to cover the original fee, plus an additional processing charge 

set by the department: 

Fee Type When Due Amount Due 

Class C renewal 
with renewal 

application 
$195 

Class B renewal 
with renewal 

application 
$225 

Class A renewal 
with renewal 

application 
$240 

Residential 

Building Energy 

Analyst Firm 

renewal 

with renewal 

application 
$195 

The date on which the renewal fee is received by the 

Department of Professional and Occupational Regulation or its 

agent shall determine whether the licensee is eligible for 

renewal or must apply for reinstatement. 

For renewal fees received on or before August 31, 2021 2023, 

the fees shall be $165 $130 for a Class C renewal, $195 $160 

for a Class B renewal, and $210 $175 for a Class A renewal 

and $130 for a Residential Building Energy Analyst Firm 

renewal. 

18VAC50-22-170. Reinstatement fees. 

Each check or money order should be made payable to the 

Treasurer of Virginia. All fees required by the board are 

nonrefundable. In the event that a check, money draft, or 

similar instrument for payment of a fee required by statute or 

regulation is not honored by the bank or financial institution 

named, the applicant or regulant shall be required to remit fees 

sufficient to cover the original fee, plus an additional 

processing charge set by the department: 

Fee Type When Due Amount Due 

Class C 

reinstatement 

with 

reinstatement 

application 

$405* 

Class B 

reinstatement 

with 

reinstatement 

application 

$460* 

Class A 

reinstatement 

with 

reinstatement 

application 

$490* 

Residential 

Building 

Energy Analyst 

Firm 

reinstatement 

with 

reinstatement 

application 

$405* 

*Includes renewal fee listed in 18VAC50-22-140. 

The date on which the reinstatement fee is received by the 

Department of Professional and Occupational Regulation or its 

agent shall determine whether the licensee is eligible for 

reinstatement or must apply for a new license and meet the 

entry requirements in place at the time of that application. In 

order to ensure that licensees are qualified to practice as 

contractors, no reinstatement will be permitted once two years 

from the expiration date of the license have passed. 

For reinstatement fees received on or before August 31, 2021 

2023, the fees shall be $330 for Class C reinstatement, $390 

for Class B reinstatement, and $420 for Class A reinstatement. 

These fees include the renewal fee listed in 18VAC50-22-140. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R22-6964; Filed October 14, 2021, 9:28 a.m. 

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Board for Contractors is 

claiming an exemption from Article 2 of the Administrative 

Process Act in accordance with § 2.2-4006 A 6 of the Code of 

Virginia, which excludes regulations of the regulatory boards 

served by the Department of Professional and Occupational 

Regulation pursuant to Title 54.1 of the Code of Virginia that 

are limited to reducing fees charged to regulants and 

applicants. The board will receive, consider, and respond to 

petitions by any interested person at any time with respect to 

reconsideration or revision. 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC50-30. Individual License and 

Certification Regulations (amending 18VAC50-30-120, 

18VAC50-30-130). 
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Statutory Authority: §§ 54.1-201, 54.1-1102, and 54.1-1146 of 

the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: December 8, 2021. 

Agency Contact: Marjorie King, Administrator, Board for 

Contractors, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 400, Richmond, VA 

23233, telephone (804) 367-2785, FAX (866) 430-1033, TDD 

(804) 527-4290, or email contractors@dpor.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendments provide a temporary reduction in renewal 

and reinstatement fees for individual trade licenses and 

certifications in compliance with § 54.1-113 of the Code of 

Virginia.  

18VAC50-30-120. Renewal. 

A. Licenses issued under this chapter to electricians, gas 

fitters, HVAC tradesmen, or plumbers shall expire three years 

from the last day of the month in which they were issued as 

indicated on the license. 

B. All other licenses and certification cards issued under this 

chapter shall expire two years from the last day of the month 

in which they were issued as indicated on the license or 

certification card. 

C. Effective with all licenses issued or renewed after 

December 31, 2007, as a condition of renewal or reinstatement 

and pursuant to § 54.1-1133 of the Code of Virginia, all 

individuals holding tradesman licenses with the trade 

designations of plumbing, electrical, and heating ventilation 

and cooling shall be required to satisfactorily complete three 

hours of continuing education for each designation, and 

individuals holding licenses as liquefied petroleum gas fitters 

and natural gas fitter providers, one hour of continuing 

education, relating to the applicable building code, from a 

provider approved by the board in accordance with the 

provisions of this chapter. An inactive tradesman is not 

required to meet the continuing education requirements as a 

condition of renewal. 

D. Certified elevator mechanics and certified accessibility 

mechanics, as a condition of renewal or reinstatement and 

pursuant to § 54.1-1143 of the Code of Virginia, shall be 

required to satisfactorily complete eight hours of continuing 

education relating to the provisions of the Virginia Uniform 

Statewide Building Code pertaining to elevators, escalators, 

and related conveyances. This continuing education will be 

from a provider approved by the board in accordance with the 

provisions of this chapter. 

E. Certified water well systems providers, as a condition of 

renewal or reinstatement and pursuant to § 54.1-1129.1 B of 

the Code of Virginia, shall be required to satisfactorily 

complete eight hours of continuing education in the specialty 

of technical aspects of water well construction, applicable 

statutory and regulatory provisions, and business practices 

related to water well construction from a provider approved by 

the board in accordance with the provisions of this chapter. 

F. Certified automatic fire sprinkler inspectors, as a condition 

of renewal and pursuant to § 54.1-1148 of the Code of Virginia, 

shall be required to satisfactorily complete eight hours of 

continuing education relating to changes and knowledge of the 

Virginia Statewide Fire Prevention Code (13VAC5-51). No 

renewal will be permitted once 30 days from the expiration 

date have passed. After that date, the applicant must apply for 

a new certification and meet the current entry requirements. 

G. Renewal fees are as follows: 

Tradesman license $135 

Liquefied petroleum gas fitter license $90 

Natural gas fitter provider license $90 

Backflow prevention device worker 

certification 

$90 

Elevator mechanic certification $90 

Certified accessibility mechanic 

Certified automatic fire sprinkler inspector 

$90 

$90 

Water well systems provider certification $90 

Residential building energy analyst license $90 

All fees are nonrefundable and shall not be prorated. 

Tradesman license renewal fees received on or before August 

31, 2021 2023, shall be $115 $90. For all other renewal fees 

received on or before August 31, 2021 2023, the fee shall be 

$75 $65. 

H. The board will mail a renewal notice to the regulant 

outlining procedures for renewal. Failure to receive this notice, 

however, shall not relieve the regulant of the obligation to 

renew. If the regulant fails to receive the renewal notice, a 

photocopy of the tradesman license or backflow prevention 

device worker certification card may be submitted with the 

required fee as an application for renewal within 30 days of the 

expiration date. 

I. The date on which the renewal fee is received by the 

department or its agent will determine whether the regulant is 

eligible for renewal or required to apply for reinstatement. 

J. The board may deny renewal of a tradesman license or a 

backflow prevention device worker certification card for the 

same reasons as it may refuse initial issuance or discipline a 

regulant. The regulant has a right to appeal any such action by 

the board under the Virginia Administrative Process Act 

(§ 2.2-4000 et seq. of the Code of Virginia). 

K. Failure to timely pay any monetary penalty, 

reimbursement of cost, or other fee assessed by consent order 

or final order shall result in delaying or withholding services 
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provided by the department such as, but not limited to, renewal, 

reinstatement, processing of a new application, or exam 

administration. 

L. Residential building energy analysts, as a condition of 

renewal or reinstatement, shall provide documentation of 

continued membership, in good standing, of a certifying 

organization approved by the board and proof of insurance as 

required in 18VAC50-30-40 I 4. 

18VAC50-30-130. Reinstatement. 

A. Should the Department of Professional and Occupational 

Regulation fail to receive the renewal application or fees within 

30 days of the expiration date, the regulant will be required to 

apply for reinstatement of the license or certification card. 

B. Reinstatement fees are as follows: 

Tradesman license $185* 

Liquefied petroleum gas fitter license $140* 

Natural gas fitter provider license $140* 

Backflow prevention device worker 

certification 

$140* 

Elevator mechanic certification $140* 

Certified accessibility mechanic $140* 

Water well systems provider certification $140* 

Residential building energy analyst 

license 

$140* 

*Includes renewal fee listed in 18VAC50-30-120. 

All fees required by the board are nonrefundable and shall not 

be prorated. 

Tradesman license reinstatement fees received on or before 

August 31, 2021 2023, shall be $165 $140. For all other 

reinstatement fees received on or before August 31, 2021 2023, 

the fee shall be $125 $115. This fee includes the renewal fee 

listed in 18VAC50-30-120. 

C. Applicants for reinstatement shall meet the requirements 

of 18VAC50-30-30. 

D. The date on which the reinstatement fee is received by the 

department or its agent will determine whether the license or 

certification card is reinstated or a new application is required. 

E. In order to ensure that license or certification card holders 

are qualified to practice as tradesmen, gas fitters, liquefied 

petroleum gas fitters, natural gas fitter providers, backflow 

prevention device workers, elevator mechanics, water well 

systems providers, or residential building energy analysts, no 

reinstatement will be permitted once two years from the 

expiration date has passed. After that date the applicant must 

apply for a new license or certification card and meet the then 

current entry requirements. 

F. Any tradesman, liquefied petroleum gas fitter, or natural 

gas fitter provider activity conducted subsequent to the 

expiration of the license may constitute unlicensed activity and 

may be subject to prosecution under Title 54.1 of the Code of 

Virginia. Further, any person who holds himself out as a 

certified backflow prevention device worker, as defined in 

§ 54.1-1128 of the Code of Virginia, or as a certified elevator 

mechanic or certified accessibility mechanic, as defined in 

§ 54.1-1140 of the Code of Virginia, or as a water well systems 

provider as defined in § 54.1-1129.1 of the Code of Virginia, 

without the appropriate certification, may be subject to 

prosecution under Title 54.1 of the Code of Virginia. Any 

activity related to the operating integrity of an elevator, 

escalator, or related conveyance, conducted subsequent to the 

expiration of an elevator mechanic certification may constitute 

illegal activity and may be subject to prosecution under Title 

54.1 of the Code of Virginia. Any individual who completes a 

residential building energy analysis, as defined in § 54.1-1144 

of the Code of Virginia, subsequent to the expiration of a 

residential building energy analyst license may have engaged 

in illegal activity and may be subject to prosecution under Title 

54.1 of the Code of Virginia. 

G. The board may deny reinstatement of a license or 

certification card for the same reasons as it may refuse initial 

issuance or to discipline a regulant. The regulant has a right to 

appeal any such action by the board under the Virginia 

Administrative Process Act (§ 2.2-4000 et seq. of the Code of 

Virginia). 

H. Failure to timely pay any monetary penalty, 

reimbursement of cost, or other fee assessed by consent order 

or final order shall result in delaying or withholding services 

provided by the department, such as, but not limited to, 

renewal, reinstatement, processing of a new application, or 

exam administration. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R22-7004; Filed October 14, 2021, 9:30 a.m. 

REAL ESTATE APPRAISER BOARD 

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Real Estate Appraiser Board is 

claiming an exemption from Article 2 of the Administrative 

Process Act in accordance with § 2.2-4006 A 4 a of the Code 

of Virginia, which excludes regulations that are necessary to 

conform to changes in Virginia statutory law or the 

appropriation act where no agency discretion is involved. The 

board will receive, consider, and respond to petitions by any 

interested person at any time with respect to reconsideration or 

revision. 

Titles of Regulations: 18VAC130-20. Real Estate Appraiser 

Board Rules and Regulations (amending 18VAC130-20-

30). 
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18VAC130-30. Appraisal Management Company 

Regulations (amending 18VAC130-30-30, 18VAC130-30-

150). 

Statutory Authority: §§ 54.1-201 and 54.1-2013 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

Effective Date: December 8, 2021. 

Agency Contact: Christine Martine, Executive Director, Real 

Estate Appraiser Board, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 400, 

Richmond, VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-8552, FAX (804) 

527-4298, or email reappraisers@dpor.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

Pursuant to Chapters 550 and 551 of the 2021 Acts of 

Assembly, Special Session I, the amendments conform 

regulations concerning qualifications for licensure and 

standards of conduct to the requirements of § 19.2-389.3 of 

the Code of Virginia and remove requirements for reporting 

by applicants or licensees of misdemeanor marijuana 

convictions. 

18VAC130-20-30. General qualifications for licensure. 

Every applicant to the Real Estate Appraiser Board for a 

certified general, certified residential, or licensed residential 

real estate appraiser license shall meet the following 

qualifications: 

1. The applicant shall be of good moral character, honest, 

truthful, and competent to transact the business of a licensed 

real estate appraiser in such a manner as to safeguard the 

interests of the public. 

2. The applicant shall meet the current educational and 

experience requirements and submit a license application to 

the Department of Professional and Occupational 

Regulation or its agent prior to the time the applicant is 

approved to take the licensing examination. Applications 

received by the department or its agent must be complete 

within 12 months of the date of the receipt of the license 

application and fee by the Department of Professional and 

Occupational Regulation or its agent. 

3. The applicant shall sign, as part of the application, a 

statement verifying that the applicant has read and 

understands the Virginia real estate appraiser license law and 

the regulations of the Real Estate Appraiser Board. 

4. The applicant shall be in good standing as a real estate 

appraiser in every jurisdiction where licensed or certified; 

the applicant may not have had a license or certification that 

was suspended, revoked, or surrendered in connection with 

a disciplinary action or that has been the subject of discipline 

in any jurisdiction prior to applying for licensure in Virginia. 

5. The applicant shall possess a background that would not 

call into question the public trust. Each applicant shall 

submit to fingerprinting. A background investigation shall 

be conducted, which shall not reveal that he the applicant has 

been convicted, found guilty, or pled guilty or nolo 

contendere to a crime that would call into question his the 

applicant's fitness or suitability to engage in the profession. 

The applicant must disclose the following: 

a. All felony convictions; and 

b. All misdemeanor convictions except marijuana 

convictions in any jurisdiction that occurred within five 

years of the date of application. 

Any plea of nolo contendere or finding of guilt regardless of 

adjudication or deferred adjudication shall be considered a 

conviction for purposes of this subdivision. 

6. The applicant shall be at least 18 years old. 

7. The applicant shall have successfully completed the 

following education: 

a. Licensed residential classification - 150 hours of 

approved real estate appraisal courses, including the 15-

Hour National Uniform Standards of Professional 

Appraisal Practice course, from accredited colleges, 

universities, and junior and community colleges; adult 

distributive or marketing education programs; local, state, 

or federal government agencies, boards, or commissions; 

proprietary schools; or real estate appraisal or real estate 

related organizations. The required core curriculum for the 

certified general or certified residential real estate 

appraiser is a bachelor's degree or higher from an 

accredited college or university. The classroom hours 

required for the licensed residential classification may 

include the classroom hours required for the appraiser 

trainee. 

b. Certified residential classification - 200 hours of 

approved real estate appraisal courses, including the 15-

Hour National Uniform Standards of Professional 

Appraisal Practice course, from accredited colleges, 

universities, and junior and community colleges; adult 

distributive or marketing education programs; local, state, 

or federal government agencies, boards, or commissions; 

proprietary schools; or real estate appraisal or real estate 

related organizations. The classroom hours required for 

the certified residential classification may include the 

classroom hours required for the appraiser trainee or the 

licensed residential classification. The applicant shall also 

meet one of the following options for the required core 

curriculum: 

(1) A bachelor's degree in any field of study; 

(2) An associate's degree in a field of study related to 

business administration, accounting, finance, economics, 

or real estate; 

(3) Successful completion of 30 semester hours of college-

level courses that cover each of the following specific 

topic areas and hours: English composition (3 hours); 

microeconomics (3 hours); macroeconomics (3 hours); 

finance (3 hours); algebra, geometry, or higher math (3 

hours); statistics (3 hours); computer science (3 hours); 
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business law or real estate law (3 hours); and two elective 

courses in any of the topics described in this subdivision 

or in accounting, geography, agricultural economics, 

business management, or real estate (3 hours each); 

(4) Successful completion of at least 30 hours of College 

Level Examination Program (CLEP) examinations that 

cover each of the specific topic areas in subdivision 7 b (3) 

of this section. For purposes of this option, the CLEP 

examination for college algebra (3 hours) may be applied 

to the topic area of algebra, geometry, or higher math; the 

CLEP examination for college composition (6 hours) may 

be applied to the topic area of English composition; the 

CLEP examination for college composition modular (3 

hours) may be applied to the topic area of English 

composition; the CLEP examination for college 

mathematics (6 hours) may be applied to the topic area of 

algebra, geometry, or higher math or statistics; the CLEP 

examination for principles of macroeconomics (3 hours) 

may be applied to the topic area of macroeconomics or 

finance; the CLEP examination for principles of 

microeconomics (3 hours) may be applied to the topic area 

of microeconomics or finance; the CLEP examination for 

introductory business law (3 hours) may be applied to the 

topic area of business law or real estate law; and the CLEP 

examination for information systems (3 hours) may be 

applied to the topic area of computer science; 

(5) Successful completion of at least 30 hours of any 

combination of college-level courses and CLEP 

examinations that includes all of the topics identified in 

subdivision 7 b (3) of this section; or 

(6) No college-level education. This option applies only to 

applicants who have held a licensed residential credential 

for a minimum of five years and have no record of any 

adverse, final, and nonappealable disciplinary action 

affecting the licensed residential appraiser's legal 

eligibility to engage in appraisal practice within the five 

years immediately preceding the date of application for a 

certified residential credential. 

c. Certified general classification - 300 hours of approved 

real estate appraisal courses, including the 15-Hour 

National Uniform Standards of Professional Appraisal 

Practice course, from accredited colleges, universities, and 

junior and community colleges; adult distributive or 

marketing education programs; local, state, or federal 

government agencies, boards, or commissions; proprietary 

schools; or real estate appraisal or real estate related 

organizations. The applicant must complete an advanced 

level appraisal course of at least 30 classroom hours in the 

appraisal of nonresidential properties. The classroom 

hours required for the certified general classification may 

include the classroom hours required for the appraiser 

trainee, the licensed residential classification, or the 

certified residential classification. The required core 

curriculum is a bachelor's degree or higher from an 

accredited college or university. 

8. The applicant shall, as part of the application for licensure, 

verify his the applicant's experience in the field of real estate 

appraisal. All applicants must submit, upon application, 

sample appraisal reports as specified by the board. In 

addition, all experience must be acquired within the five-

year period immediately preceding the date application is 

made and be supported by adequate written reports or file 

memoranda, which shall be made available to the board 

upon request. 

a. The applicant for a licensed residential real estate 

appraiser license shall have a minimum of 1,000 hours of 

appraisal experience, in no fewer than six months. Hours 

may be treated as cumulative in order to achieve the 

necessary 1,000 hours of appraisal experience. 

b. The applicant for a certified residential real estate 

appraiser license shall have a minimum of 1,500 hours of 

appraisal experience obtained during no fewer than 12 

months. Hours may be treated as cumulative in order to 

achieve the necessary 1,500 hours of appraisal experience. 

c. The applicant for a certified general real estate appraiser 

license shall have a minimum of 3,000 hours of appraisal 

experience obtained during no fewer than 18 months. 

Hours may be treated as cumulative in order to achieve the 

necessary 3,000 hours of appraisal experience. At least 

50% of the appraisal experience required (1,500 hours) 

must be in nonresidential appraisal assignments and 

include assignments that demonstrate the use and 

understanding of the income approach. An applicant 

whose nonresidential appraisal experience is 

predominately in such properties that do not require the 

use of the income approach may satisfy this requirement 

by performing two or more appraisals on properties in 

association with a certified general appraiser that include 

the use of the income approach. The applicant must have 

substantially contributed to the development of the income 

approach in such reports and shall provide evidence or 

verification of such contribution. 

9. Within 12 months after being approved by the board to 

take the examination, the applicant shall have registered for 

and passed a written examination developed or endorsed by 

the Appraiser Qualifications Board and provided by the 

board or by a testing service acting on behalf of the board. 

Successful completion of the examination is valid for a 

period of 24 months. 

10. Applicants for licensure who do not meet the 

requirements set forth in subdivisions 4 and 5 of this section 

may be approved for licensure following consideration of 

their application by the board. 
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18VAC130-30-30. Qualifications for licensure as an 

appraisal management company. 

A. Firms that meet the definition of appraisal management 

company as defined in § 54.1-2020 of the Code of Virginia 

shall submit an application on a form prescribed by the board 

and shall meet the requirements set forth in § 54.1-2021.1 of 

the Code of Virginia, as well as the additional qualifications of 

this section. 

B. Any firm acting as an appraisal management company as 

defined in § 54.1-2020 of the Code of Virginia shall hold a 

license as an appraisal management company. All names under 

which the appraisal management company conducts business 

shall be disclosed on the application. The name under which 

the firm conducts business and holds itself out to the public 

(i.e., the trade or fictitious name) shall also be disclosed on the 

application. Firms shall be organized as business entities under 

the laws of the Commonwealth of Virginia or otherwise 

authorized to transact business in Virginia. Firms shall register 

any trade or fictitious names with the State Corporation 

Commission or the clerk of the court in the county or 

jurisdiction where the business is to be conducted in 

accordance with §§ 59.1-69 through 59.1-76 of the Code of 

Virginia before submitting an application to the board. 

C. The applicant for an appraisal management company 

license shall disclose the firm's mailing address and the firm's 

physical address. A post office box is only acceptable as a 

mailing address when a physical address is also provided. 

D. In accordance with § 54.1-204 of the Code of Virginia, 

each applicant for an appraisal management company license 

shall have any person who owns 10% or more of the firm and 

the controlling person of the firm submit to fingerprinting and 

a background investigation and disclose the following 

information: 

1. All felony convictions. 

2. All misdemeanor convictions except marijuana 

convictions in any jurisdiction that occurred within five 

years of the date of application. 

3. Any plea of nolo contendere or finding of guilt regardless 

of adjudication or deferred adjudication shall be considered 

a conviction for the purposes of this section. The record of 

conviction certified or authenticated in such form as to be 

admissible in evidence under the laws of the jurisdiction 

where convicted shall be admissible as prima facie evidence 

of such guilt. 

E. The applicant for an appraisal management company 

license, the controlling person, the responsible person, and any 

person who owns 10% or more of the firm shall be in good 

standing in Virginia and in every jurisdiction and with every 

board or administrative body where licensed, certified, or 

registered, and the board, in its discretion, may deny licensure 

to any applicant who has been subject to, or whose controlling 

person or responsible person has been subject to, or any person 

who owns 10% or more of the firm has been subject to, any 

form of adverse disciplinary action, including (i) reprimand; 

revocation, suspension, or denial of license; imposition of a 

monetary penalty; requirement to complete remedial 

education, or any other corrective action in any jurisdiction or 

by any board or administrative body or (ii) surrender of a 

license, a certificate, or registration in connection with any 

disciplinary action in any jurisdiction prior to obtaining 

licensure in Virginia. 

F. The board shall deny the application for licensure of an 

applicant for an appraisal management company if any person 

or entity that owns any part of the appraisal management 

company has had a license to act as an appraiser refused, 

denied, canceled, surrendered in lieu of revocation, or revoked 

in Virginia or any jurisdiction. 

G. The applicant for an appraisal management company 

license shall be in compliance with the standards of conduct 

and practice set forth in Part V (18VAC130-30-120 et seq.) of 

this chapter at the time of application, while the application is 

under review by the board, and at all times when the license is 

in effect. 

H. The applicant for an appraisal management company 

license shall submit evidence of a bond or letter of credit in 

accordance with § 54.1-2021.1 D of the Code of Virginia. 

Proof of current bond or letter of credit with the appraisal 

management company as the named bond holder or letter of 

credit holder must be submitted to obtain or renew the license. 

The bond or letter of credit must be in force no later than the 

effective date of the license and shall remain in effect through 

the date of expiration of the license. The bond or letter of credit 

shall include: 

1. The principal of the bond or letter of credit; 

2. The beneficiary of the bond or letter of credit; 

3. The name of the surety or financial institution that issued 

the bond or letter of credit; 

4. The bond or letter of credit number as assigned by the 

issuer; 

5. The dollar amount; and 

6. The expiration date or, if self-renewing, the date by which 

the bond or letter of credit shall be renewed. 

I. The firm shall provide the name, address, and contact 

information for any person or entity that owns 10% or more of 

the appraisal management company. 

J. The firm shall designate a responsible person. 

18VAC130-30-150. Notice of adverse action. 

A. Licensed appraisal management companies shall notify the 

board of the following actions against the firm, the responsible 
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person, any controlling person, or any person who owns 10% 

or more of the firm: 

1. Any disciplinary action taken by any jurisdiction, board, 

or administrative body of competent jurisdiction, including, 

but not limited to, any reprimand; license or certificate 

revocation, suspension, or denial; monetary penalty; or 

requirement for remedial education or other corrective 

action. 

2. Any voluntary surrender of a license, certificate, or 

registration done in connection with a disciplinary action in 

another jurisdiction. 

3. Any conviction, finding of guilt, or plea of guilty, 

regardless of adjudication or deferred adjudication, in any 

jurisdiction of the United States of any misdemeanor 

involving moral turpitude, sexual offense, non-marijuana 

drug distribution, or physical injury, or any felony, there 

being no appeal pending therefrom or the time for appeal 

having lapsed. Review of convictions shall be subject to the 

requirements of § 54.1-204 of the Code of Virginia. Any 

plea of nolo contendere shall be considered a conviction for 

the purpose of this section. 

B. The notice must be made to the board in writing within 30 

days of the action. A copy of the order or other supporting 

documentation must accompany the notice. The record of 

conviction, finding, or case decision shall be considered prima 

facie evidence of a conviction or finding of guilt. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R22-6946; Filed September 9, 2021, 11:54 a.m. 

BOARD FOR WATERWORKS AND WASTEWATER 
WORKS OPERATORS AND ONSITE SEWAGE 

SYSTEM PROFESSIONALS 

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Board for Waterworks and 

Wastewater Works Operators and Onsite Sewage System 

Professionals is claiming an exemption from Article 2 of the 

Administrative Process Act in accordance with § 2.2-4006 A 4 

a of the Code of Virginia, which excludes regulations that are 

necessary to conform to changes in Virginia statutory law or 

the appropriation act where no agency discretion is involved. 

The board will receive, consider, and respond to petitions by 

any interested person at any time with respect to 

reconsideration or revision. 

Titles of Regulations: 18VAC160-30. Waterworks and 

Wastewater Works Operators Licensing Regulations 

(amending 18VAC160-30-60, 18VAC160-30-310). 

18VAC160-40. Onsite Sewage System Professionals 

Licensing Regulations (amending 18VAC160-40-60, 

18VAC160-40-460). 

Statutory Authority: §§ 54.1-201 and 54.1-2301 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

Effective Date: December 8, 2021. 

Agency Contact: Trisha L. Lindsey, Executive Director, Board 

for Waterworks and Wastewater Works Operators and Onsite 

Sewage System Professionals, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 400, 

Richmond, VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-8595, FAX (866) 

350-5354, or email waterwasteoper@dpor.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

Pursuant to Chapters 550 and 551 of the 2021 Acts of 

Assembly, Special Session I, the amendments conform 

regulations concerning qualifications for licensure and 

standards of conduct to the requirements of § 19.2-389.3 of 

the Code of Virginia and remove requirements for reporting 

by applicants or licensees of misdemeanor marijuana 

convictions. 

18VAC160-30-60. General requirements for licensure. 

A. In addition to the specific qualifications for each category 

and classification of licensure, each applicant for licensure 

shall meet the requirements provided in this section. 

1. The applicant shall be at least 18 years old. 

2. The applicant shall disclose his the applicant's mailing 

address. A post office box is only acceptable as a mailing 

address when a physical address is also provided. 

3. In accordance with § 54.1-204 of the Code of Virginia, 

each applicant shall disclose the following information. 

a. All felony convictions. 

b. All misdemeanor convictions, except marijuana 

convictions, in any jurisdiction that occurred within three 

years of the date of application. 

Any plea of nolo contendere or finding of guilt regardless of 

adjudication or deferred adjudication shall be considered a 

conviction for the purposes of this section. The record of 

conviction certified or authenticated in such form as to be 

admissible in evidence under the laws of the jurisdiction 

where convicted shall be admissible as prima facie evidence 

of such guilt. 

B. The board, at its discretion, may deny licensure to any 

applicant in accordance with § 54.1-204 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

C. The applicant shall report any suspension, revocation, or 

surrender of a license, certification, or registration in 

connection with a disciplinary action or that has been the 

subject of discipline in any jurisdiction prior to applying for 

licensure. The board, at its discretion, may deny licensure to 

any applicant based on prior suspensions, revocations, or 

surrenders of licenses based on disciplinary action by any 

jurisdiction. 

18VAC160-30-310. Notice of adverse action. 

A. Licensees shall notify the board of the following actions 

against the licensee: 
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1. Any disciplinary action taken by any jurisdiction, board, 

or administrative body of competent jurisdiction, including 

any reprimand, license or certificate revocation, suspension 

or denial, monetary penalty, requirement for remedial 

education, or other corrective action. 

2. Any voluntary surrendering of a related license, 

certificate, or registration done in connection with a 

disciplinary action in another jurisdiction. 

3. Any conviction, finding of guilt, or plea of guilty, 

regardless of adjudication or deferred adjudication, in any 

jurisdiction of the United States of any (i) misdemeanor 

involving lying, cheating, stealing, sexual offense, non-

marijuana drug distribution, or physical injury, or relating to 

the practice of the profession, or (ii) felony, there being no 

appeal pending therefrom or the time for appeal having 

lapsed. Review of convictions shall be subject to the 

requirements of § 54.1-204 of the Code of Virginia. Any 

plea of nolo contendere shall be considered a conviction for 

the purpose of this section. 

B. The notice must be made to the board in writing within 30 

days of the action. A copy of the order or other supporting 

documentation must accompany the notice. The record of 

conviction, finding, or case decision shall be considered prima 

facie evidence of a conviction or finding of guilt. 

18VAC160-40-60. General requirements for licensure. 

A. In addition to the specific qualifications for each 

profession, class, and category of licensure, each applicant for 

licensure shall meet the requirements provided in this section: 

1. The applicant shall be at least 18 years old. 

2. The applicant shall disclose his the applicant's mailing 

address. A post office box is only acceptable as a mailing 

address when a physical address is provided. 

3. In accordance with § 54.1-204 of the Code of Virginia, 

each applicant shall disclose the following information: 

a. All felony convictions. 

b. All misdemeanor convictions, except marijuana 

convictions, that occurred within three years of the date of 

application. 

Any plea of nolo contendere or finding of guilt regardless of 

adjudication or deferred adjudication shall be considered a 

conviction for the purposes of this section. The record of 

conviction certified or authenticated in such form as to be 

admissible in evidence under the laws of the jurisdiction 

where convicted shall be admissible as prima facie evidence 

of such guilt. 

B. The board, at its discretion, may deny licensure to any 

applicant in accordance with § 54.1-204 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

C. The applicant shall report any suspension, revocation, or 

surrender of a license, certification, or registration in 

connection with a disciplinary action or that has been subject 

of discipline in any jurisdiction prior to applying for licensure. 

The board at its discretion may deny licensure to any applicant 

based on prior suspensions, revocations, or surrenders of 

licenses based on disciplinary action by any jurisdiction. 

18VAC160-40-460. Notice of adverse action. 

A. Licensees shall notify the board of the following actions 

against the licensee. 

1. Any disciplinary action taken by any jurisdiction, board, 

or administrative body of competent jurisdiction, including 

any reprimand, license or certificate revocation, suspension 

or denial, monetary penalty, requirement for remedial 

education, or other corrective action. 

2. Any voluntary surrendering of a related license, 

certificate, or registration done in connection with a 

disciplinary action in another jurisdiction. 

3. Any conviction, finding of guilt, or plea of guilty, 

regardless of adjudication or deferred adjudication, in any 

jurisdiction of the United States of any misdemeanor 

involving lying, cheating, stealing, sexual offense, non-

marijuana drug distribution, physical injury, or relating to 

the practice of the profession or of any felony, there being 

no appeal pending therefrom or the time for appeal having 

lapsed. Review of convictions shall be subject to the 

requirements of § 54.1-204 of the Code of Virginia. Any 

plea of nolo contendere shall be considered a conviction for 

the purpose of this section. 

B. Notices to the board must be made in writing within 30 

days of the action. A copy of the order or other supporting 

documentation must accompany the notice. The record of 

conviction finding or case decision shall be considered prima 

facie evidence of a conviction or finding of guilt. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R22-6971; Filed September 27, 2021, 6:13 p.m. 

  ––––––––––––––––––  

TITLE 19. PUBLIC SAFETY 

DEPARTMENT OF STATE POLICE 

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Department of State Police is 

claiming an exemption from the Administrative Process Act 

pursuant to § 2.2-4002 B 6 of the Code of Virginia, which 

exempts agency action relating to customary military, naval, or 

police functions. 

Title of Regulation: 19VAC30-20. Motor Carrier Safety 

Regulations (amending 19VAC30-20-80). 
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Statutory Authority: § 52-8.4 of the Code of Virginia; 49 CFR 

Part 390. 

Effective Date: December 8, 2021. 

Agency Contact: Lieutenant Shawn Gobble, Assistant Safety 

Officer, Department of State Police, 3719 Saunders Avenue, 

Richmond, VA 23227, telephone (804) 278-5331, or email 

shawn.gobble@vsp.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendment updates the reference to the Federal Motor 

Carrier Safety Regulations promulgated by the U.S. 

Department of Transportation, Federal Motor Carrier 

Safety Administration to those in effect on and after 

November 1, 2021.  

19VAC30-20-80. Compliance. 

Every person and commercial motor vehicle subject to this 

chapter operating in interstate or intrastate commerce within or 

through the Commonwealth of Virginia shall comply with the 

Federal Motor Carrier Safety Regulations promulgated by the 

U.S. Department of Transportation, Federal Motor Carrier 

Safety Administration, with amendments promulgated and in 

effect as of June 30 November 1, 2021, pursuant to the United 

States Motor Carrier Safety Act found in 49 CFR Parts 366, 

370 through 376, 379, 380 Subparts E and F, 382, 385, 386 

Subpart G, 387, 390 through 397, and 399, which are 

incorporated in this chapter by reference, with certain 

exceptions. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R22-6951; Filed October 18, 2021, 10:24 a.m. 
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Guidance Documents 

PUBLIC COMMENT OPPORTUNITY 

Pursuant to § 2.2-4002.1 of the Code of Virginia, a certified guidance document is subject to a 30-day public comment period 

after publication in the Virginia Register of Regulations and prior to the guidance document's effective date. During the public 

comment period, comments may be made through the Virginia Regulatory Town Hall website (http://www.townhall.virginia.gov) 

or sent to the agency contact. Under subsection C of § 2.2-4002.1, the effective date of the guidance document may be delayed 

for an additional period. The guidance document may also be withdrawn. 

The following guidance documents have been submitted for publication by the listed agencies for a public comment period. 

Online users of this issue of the Virginia Register of Regulations may click on the name of a guidance document to access it. 

Guidance documents are also available on the Virginia Regulatory Town Hall (http://www.townhall.virginia.gov) or from the 

agency contact or may be viewed at the Office of the Registrar of Regulations, 900 East Main Street, Richmond, Virginia 23219. 

BOARD OF FUNERAL DIRECTORS AND 
EMBALMERS 

Titles of Documents: Procedures for Auditing Continued 

Competency Requirements. 

Confidential Consent Agreements. 

Identification of Funeral Service Interns. 

Participation in Virginia Department of Treasury Unclaimed 

Property Audit. 

Public Comment Deadline: December 8, 2021. 

Effective Date: December 9, 2021. 

Agency Contact: Elaine J. Yeatts, Agency Regulatory 

Coordinator, Department of Health Professions, Perimeter 

Center, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, Richmond, VA 

23233, telephone (804) 367-4688, or email 

elaine.yeatts@dhp.virginia.gov. 

DEPARTMENT OF HOUSING AND COMMUNITY 
DEVELOPMENT 

Titles of Documents: Virginia Broadband Availability Map 

Internet Service Provider Service Territory Data Submission 

Guidelines. 

Utility Leverage Program – Unserved Certification Guidelines. 

Public Comment Deadline: December 8, 2021. 

Effective Date: December 9, 2021. 

Agency Contact: Kyle Flanders, Senior Policy Analyst, 

Department of Housing and Community Development, Main 

Street Centre, 600 East Main Street, Suite 300, Richmond, VA 

23219, telephone (804) 786-6761, or email 

kyle.flanders@dhcd.virginia.gov. 

DEPARTMENT OF MEDICAL ASSISTANCE 
SERVICES 

Title of Document: Draft One-time COVID-19 Support 

Payment for Attendants and Aides. 

Public Comment Deadline: December 8, 2021. 

Effective Date: December 9, 2021. 

Agency Contact: Emily McClellan, Policy and Research 

Division, Department of Medical Assistance Services, 600 

East Broad Street, Suite 1300, Richmond, VA 23219, 

telephone (804) 371-6043, or email 

emily.mcclellan@dmas.virginia.gov. 

DEPARTMENT OF MOTOR VEHICLES 

Titles of Documents: Obtaining a Virginia Driver's License or 

Identification ID Card. 

Obtención de una licencia de conducción de Virginia o una 

tarjeta de identificación ID. 

Virginia Troops to Trucks. 

Public Comment Deadline: December 8, 2021. 

Effective Date: December 9, 2021. 

Agency Contact: Melissa K. Velazquez, Legislative Director, 

Department of Motor Vehicles, 2300 West Broad Street, 

Richmond, VA 23220, telephone (804) 367-1844, or email 

melissa.velazquez@dmv.virginia.gov. 

DEPARTMENT OF RAIL AND PUBLIC 
TRANSPORTATION 

Title of Document: Grant Application Guidance and Grant 

Management Procedures for Federal Transit Administration 

Section 5310 - Enhanced Mobility of Seniors and Individuals 

with Disabilities Programs. 

Public Comment Deadline: December 8, 2021. 

Effective Date: December 9, 2021. 

Agency Contact: Andrew Wright, Senior Legislative and 

Policy Specialist, Department of Rail and Public 

Transportation, 600 East Main Street, Suite 2102, Richmond, 

VA 23219, telephone (804) 241-0301, or email 

andrew.wright@drpt.virginia.gov. 

https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title2.2/chapter40/section2.2-4002.1/
http://www.townhall.virginia.gov/
https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title2.2/chapter40/section2.2-4002.1/
http://www.townhall.virginia.gov/
https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/GetFile.cfm?File=C:/TownHall/docroot/GuidanceDocs_Proposed/223/GDoc_DHP_4989_20211013.pdf
https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/GetFile.cfm?File=C:/TownHall/docroot/GuidanceDocs_Proposed/223/GDoc_DHP_4989_20211013.pdf
https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/GetFile.cfm?File=C:/TownHall/docroot/GuidanceDocs_Proposed/223/GDoc_DHP_4991_20211013.pdf
https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/GetFile.cfm?File=C:/TownHall/docroot/GuidanceDocs_Proposed/223/GDoc_DHP_4990_20211013.pdf
https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/GetFile.cfm?File=C:/TownHall/docroot/GuidanceDocs_Proposed/223/GDoc_DHP_4992_20211013.pdf
https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/GetFile.cfm?File=C:/TownHall/docroot/GuidanceDocs_Proposed/223/GDoc_DHP_4992_20211013.pdf
mailto:elaine.yeatts@dhp.virginia.gov
https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/GetFile.cfm?File=C:/TownHall/docroot/GuidanceDocs_Proposed/165/GDoc_DHCD_4996_20211020.pdf
https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/GetFile.cfm?File=C:/TownHall/docroot/GuidanceDocs_Proposed/165/GDoc_DHCD_4996_20211020.pdf
https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/GetFile.cfm?File=C:/TownHall/docroot/GuidanceDocs_Proposed/165/GDoc_DHCD_4996_20211020.pdf
https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/GetFile.cfm?File=C:/TownHall/docroot/GuidanceDocs_Proposed/165/GDoc_DHCD_4995_20211020.pdf
mailto:kyle.flanders@dhcd.virginia.gov
https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/GetFile.cfm?File=C:/TownHall/docroot/GuidanceDocs_Proposed/602/GDoc_DMAS_4984_20211012.pdf
https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/GetFile.cfm?File=C:/TownHall/docroot/GuidanceDocs_Proposed/602/GDoc_DMAS_4984_20211012.pdf
mailto:Emily.McClellan@dmas.virginia.gov
https://www.dmv.virginia.gov/documents/guidance/child_ids_dmv_141.pdf
https://www.dmv.virginia.gov/documents/guidance/child_ids_dmv_141.pdf
https://www.dmv.virginia.gov/documents/guidance/child_ids_dmv_141s.pdf
https://www.dmv.virginia.gov/documents/guidance/child_ids_dmv_141s.pdf
https://www.dmv.virginia.gov/documents/guidance/dmv255.pdf
mailto:melissa.velazquez@dmv.virginia.gov
https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/GetFile.cfm?File=C:/TownHall/docroot/GuidanceDocs_Proposed/505/GDoc_DRPT_4993_20211014.pdf
https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/GetFile.cfm?File=C:/TownHall/docroot/GuidanceDocs_Proposed/505/GDoc_DRPT_4993_20211014.pdf
https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/GetFile.cfm?File=C:/TownHall/docroot/GuidanceDocs_Proposed/505/GDoc_DRPT_4993_20211014.pdf
https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/GetFile.cfm?File=C:/TownHall/docroot/GuidanceDocs_Proposed/505/GDoc_DRPT_4993_20211014.pdf
mailto:andrew.wright@drpt.virginia.gov


GENERAL NOTICES 

Volume 38, Issue 6  Virginia Register of Regulations  November 8, 2021  

750 

General Notices 

DEPARTMENT OF MEDICAL ASSISTANCE 
SERVICES 

Draft Mental Health Services Manual Appendix G 

The draft Mental Health Services Provider Manual Appendix 

G is now available on the Department of Medical Assistance 

Services website at https://www.dmas.virginia.gov/for-

providers/general-information/medicaid-provider-manual-

drafts/. 

Contact Information: Meredith Lee, Policy, Regulations, and 

Manuals Manager, Department of Medical Assistance 

Services, 600 East Broad Street, Suite 1300, Richmond, VA 

23219, telephone (804) 371-0552, email 

meredith.lee@dmas.virginia.gov. 

Draft Telehealth Services Supplement 

The draft Telehealth Services Supplement and the Remote 

Patient Monitoring SA Form are now available on the 

Department of Medical Assistance Services website at 

https://www.dmas.virginia.gov/for-providers/general-

information/medicaid-provider-manual-drafts/ for public 

comment until November 12, 2021. 

Contact Information: Meredith Lee, Policy, Regulations, and 

Manuals Manager, Department of Medical Assistance 

Services, 600 East Broad Street, Suite 1300, Richmond, VA 

23219, telephone (804) 371-0552, email 

meredith.lee@dmas.virginia.gov. 

Virginia Home and Community Based Services 
Heightened Scrutiny Submission 

As required by the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid 

Services, Virginia is posting the assessment results of the 

Virginia Home and Community Based Services (HCBS) 

settings that reached heightened scrutiny status. These 

documents contain information related to the required 

compliance elements of the HCBS Final Rule. 

These documents are available on the Department of Medical 

Assistance Services website under the header "HNS Packages 

for Public Comment" at https://www.dmas.virginia.gov/for-

providers/high-needs-support/policy-and-provider-manual/ 

for public comment until November 17, 2021. 

Contact Information: Donna Boyce, Senior Advisor, 

Department of Medical Assistance Services, 600 East Broad 

Street, Suite 1300, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 837-

2361, donna.boyce@dmas.virginia.gov. 

STATE WATER CONTROL BOARD 

Public Meeting and Comment Period for the 
Fryingpan Creek, Pigg River, Poplar Branch, and 

Beaverdam Creek Total Maximum Daily Load Study 

Public meeting: A public meeting will be held to discuss 

Fryingpan Creek, Pigg River, Poplar Branch, and Beaverdam 

Creek on November 18, 2021, from 6 p.m. until 8 p.m. at the 

Essig Recreation Center, 295 Technology Drive, Rocky 

Mount, VA 24151. 

Description: Fryingpan Creek, Pigg River, Poplar Branch, and 

Beaverdam Creek are located in Franklin, Pittsylvania, and 

Bedford Counties and are listed on the § 303(d) Total 

Maximum Daily Load (TMDL) Priority List and Report as 

impaired due to violations of Virginia's water quality standards 

for the General Standard (Benthics). This means that the 

stream bug community is not as healthy as the Department of 

Environmental Quality (DEQ) would expect. Section 303(d) of 

the Clean Water Act and § 62.1-44.19:7 C of the Code of 

Virginia requires DEQ to develop TMDLs for pollutants 

responsible for each impaired water contained in Virginia's 

§ 303(d) TMDL Priority List and Report. DEQ and its 

contractors, Wetland Studies and Solutions Inc. and James 

Madison University, will discuss these impairments, the 

process used in identifying the most likely stressor to the 

watersheds, and the watershed modeling approach and solicit 

feedback from watershed stakeholders. This meeting is an 

opportunity for local residents to learn about the condition of 

these streams, share information about the area, and become 

involved in the process of local water quality improvement. A 

30-day comment period will follow the public meeting. An 

advisory committee to assist in development of this clean-up 

study (i.e., TMDL) will be established. Any person interested 

in assisting should notify the DEQ contact person listed at the 

end of this notice by the end of the comment period and provide 

their name, address, phone number, email address, and the 

organization represented (if any). Notification of the 

composition of the panel will be sent to all applicants. 

Public Comment Period: November 18, 2021, through January 

3, 2022. 

Additional Information: TMDL program can be found at 

https://www.deq.virginia.gov/water/water-quality/tmdl-

development. 

How to submit comments: Comments can be emailed or mailed 

to Lucy Smith using the contact information listed. 

Contact Information: Lucy Smith, TMDL Coordinator, 

Department of Environmental Quality, Blue Ridge Regional 

Office, 901 Russell Drive, Salem, VA 24153, telephone (540) 

562-6718, or email lucy.smith@deq.virginia.gov. 

https://www.dmas.virginia.gov/for-providers/general-information/medicaid-provider-manual-drafts/
https://www.dmas.virginia.gov/for-providers/general-information/medicaid-provider-manual-drafts/
https://www.dmas.virginia.gov/for-providers/general-information/medicaid-provider-manual-drafts/
https://www.dmas.virginia.gov/for-providers/general-information/medicaid-provider-manual-drafts/
https://www.dmas.virginia.gov/for-providers/general-information/medicaid-provider-manual-drafts/
https://www.dmas.virginia.gov/for-providers/high-needs-support/policy-and-provider-manual/
https://www.dmas.virginia.gov/for-providers/high-needs-support/policy-and-provider-manual/
https://www.deq.virginia.gov/water/water-quality/tmdl-development
https://www.deq.virginia.gov/water/water-quality/tmdl-development
mailto:Lucy.Smith@DEQ.Virginia.gov
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VIRGINIA CODE COMMISSION 

Notice to State Agencies 

Contact Information: Mailing Address: Virginia Code 

Commission, Pocahontas Building, 900 East Main Street, 8th 

Floor, Richmond, VA 23219; Telephone: (804) 698-1810; 

Email: varegs@dls.virginia.gov. 

Meeting Notices: Section 2.2-3707 C of the Code of Virginia 

requires state agencies to post meeting notices on their 

websites and on the Commonwealth Calendar at 

https://commonwealthcalendar.virginia.gov. 

Cumulative Table of Virginia Administrative Code 

Sections Adopted, Amended, or Repealed: A table listing 

regulation sections that have been amended, added, or repealed 

in the Virginia Register of Regulations since the regulations 

were originally published or last supplemented in the print 

version of the Virginia Administrative Code is available at 

http://register.dls.virginia.gov/documents/cumultab.pdf. 

Filing Material for Publication in the Virginia Register of 

Regulations: Agencies use the Regulation Information System 

(RIS) to file regulations and related items for publication in the 

Virginia Register of Regulations. The Registrar's office works 

closely with the Department of Planning and Budget (DPB) to 

coordinate the system with the Virginia Regulatory Town Hall. 

RIS and Town Hall complement and enhance one another by 

sharing pertinent regulatory information. 

file://///legmain/sysdata/dlsdata/CODEREGS/regispub/Vol33/Iss04/varegs@dls.virginia.gov
https://commonwealthcalendar.virginia.gov/
http://register.dls.virginia.gov/documents/cumultab.pdf
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Errata 

BOARD FOR BARBERS AND COSMETOLOGY 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC41-20 Barbering and 

Cosmetology Regulations. 

Publication: 38:4 VA.R. 438-452 October 11, 2021. 

Correction to Final Regulation: 

Page 439, 18VAC41-20-20, B 2, 1st column, after "territories." 

Text should read: 

"Any person completing a barber, master barber, cosmetology, 

nail care, or waxing training program that is substantially 

equivalent to the Virginia program but is outside of the 

Commonwealth of Virginia must submit to the board 

documentation of the substantially equivalent training to be 

eligible for examination. Applicants who completed a training 

program that is not substantially equivalent to Virginia's 

training, including out of country training, may substitute five 

years of work experience for training. Applicants should 

provide their work history demonstrating five years of 

experience as a licensed barber, master barber, cosmetologist, 

nail technician, or wax technician in any other state or 

jurisdiction of the United States on a form provided by the 

board." 

VA.R. Doc. No. R22-6910; Filed October 21, 2021, 1:28 p.m. 

BOARD FOR HEARING AID SPECIALISTS AND 
OPTICIANS 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC80-30 Opticians Regulations. 

Publication: 38:4 VA.R. 456-460 October 11, 2021. 

Correction to Final Regulation: 

Page 460, 18VAC80-30-20, subdivision 5 b, column 1, first 

line, after "apprenticeship" replace "with a minimum of one 

school year of related instruction or home study" with  

", including all required related technical instruction," 

VA.R. Doc. No. R22-6911; Filed October 26, 2021, 11:00 a.m. 

REAL ESTATE BOARD 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC135-50. Fair Housing 

Regulations. 

Publication: 38:5 VA.R. 688-698 October 25, 2021. 

Correction to Title of Regulation: 

Page 689, line 3, after "through" remove "18VAC135-40-

160" 

VA.R. Doc. No. R22-6906; Filed October 27, 2021, 10:37 a.m. 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 




