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REGISTER INFORMATION PAGE 

THE VIRGINIA REGISTER OF REGULATIONS is an official state 
publication issued every other week throughout the year. Indexes are published 
quarterly, and are cumulative for the year. The Virginia Register has several 
functions. The new and amended sections of regulations, both as proposed and 
as finally adopted, are required by law to be published in the Virginia Register. 
In addition, the Virginia Register is a source of other information about state 
government, including petitions for rulemaking, emergency regulations, 
executive orders issued by the Governor, and notices of public hearings on 
regulations. 

ADOPTION, AMENDMENT, AND REPEAL OF REGULATIONS 

Unless exempted by law, an agency wishing to adopt, amend, or repeal 
regulations must follow the procedures in the Administrative Process Act 
(§ 2.2-4000 et seq. of the Code of Virginia). Typically, this includes first 
publishing in the Virginia Register a notice of intended regulatory action; a 
basis, purpose, substance and issues statement; an economic impact analysis 
prepared by the Department of Planning and Budget; the agency’s response to 
the economic impact analysis; a summary; a notice giving the public an 
opportunity to comment on the proposal; and the text of the proposed 
regulation. 

Following publication of the proposed regulation in the Virginia Register, the 
promulgating agency receives public comments for a minimum of 60 days. 
The Governor reviews the proposed regulation to determine if it is necessary 
to protect the public health, safety, and welfare, and if it is clearly written and 
easily understandable. If the Governor chooses to comment on the proposed 
regulation, his comments must be transmitted to the agency and the Registrar 
of Regulations no later than 15 days following the completion of the 60-day 
public comment period. The Governor’s comments, if any, will be published 
in the Virginia Register. Not less than 15 days following the completion of the 
60-day public comment period, the agency may adopt the proposed regulation. 

The Joint Commission on Administrative Rules or the appropriate standing 
committee of each house of the General Assembly may meet during the 
promulgation or final adoption process and file an objection with the Registrar 
and the promulgating agency. The objection will be published in the Virginia 
Register. Within 21 days after receipt by the agency of a legislative objection, 
the agency shall file a response with the Registrar, the objecting legislative 
body, and the Governor. 

When final action is taken, the agency again publishes the text of the 
regulation as adopted, highlighting all changes made to the proposed 
regulation and explaining any substantial changes made since publication of 
the proposal. A 30-day final adoption period begins upon final publication in 
the Virginia Register. 

The Governor may review the final regulation during this time and, if he 
objects, forward his objection to the Registrar and the agency. In addition to 
or in lieu of filing a formal objection, the Governor may suspend the effective 
date of a portion or all of a regulation until the end of the next regular General 
Assembly session by issuing a directive signed by a majority of the members 
of the appropriate legislative body and the Governor. The Governor’s 
objection or suspension of the regulation, or both, will be published in the 
Virginia Register. 

If the Governor finds that the final regulation contains changes made after 
publication of the proposed regulation that have substantial impact, he may 
require the agency to provide an additional 30-day public comment period on 
the changes. Notice of the additional public comment period required by the 
Governor will be published in the Virginia Register. Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.06 
of the Code of Virginia, any person may request that the agency solicit 
additional public comment on certain changes made after publication of the 
proposed regulation. The agency shall suspend the regulatory process for 30 
days upon such request from 25 or more individuals, unless the agency 
determines that the changes have minor or inconsequential impact. 

A regulation becomes effective at the conclusion of the 30-day final adoption 
period, or at any other later date specified by the promulgating agency, unless 
(i) a legislative objection has been filed, in which event the regulation, unless 
withdrawn, becomes effective on the date specified, which shall be after the 
expiration of the 21-day objection period; (ii) the Governor exercises his 

authority to require the agency to provide for additional public comment, in 
which event the regulation, unless withdrawn, becomes effective on the date 
specified, which shall be after the expiration of the period for which the 
Governor has provided for additional public comment; (iii) the Governor and 
the General Assembly exercise their authority to suspend the effective date of 
a regulation until the end of the next regular legislative session; or (iv) the 
agency suspends the regulatory process, in which event the regulation, unless 
withdrawn, becomes effective on the date specified, which shall be after the 
expiration of the 30-day public comment period and no earlier than 15 days 
from publication of the readopted action. 

A regulatory action may be withdrawn by the promulgating agency at any 
time before the regulation becomes final. 

FAST-TRACK RULEMAKING PROCESS 

Section 2.2-4012.1 of the Code of Virginia provides an alternative to the 
standard process set forth in the Administrative Process Act for regulations 
deemed by the Governor to be noncontroversial. To use this process, the 
Governor's concurrence is required and advance notice must be provided to 
certain legislative committees. Fast-track regulations become effective on the 
date noted in the regulatory action if fewer than 10 persons object to using the 
process in accordance with § 2.2-4012.1. 

EMERGENCY REGULATIONS 

Pursuant to § 2.2-4011 of the Code of Virginia, an agency may adopt 
emergency regulations if necessitated by an emergency situation or when 
Virginia statutory law or the appropriation act or federal law or federal 
regulation requires that a regulation be effective in 280 days or fewer from its 
enactment. In either situation, approval of the Governor is required. The 
emergency regulation is effective upon its filing with the Registrar of 
Regulations, unless a later date is specified per § 2.2-4012 of the Code of 
Virginia. Emergency regulations are limited to no more than 18 months in 
duration; however, may be extended for six months under the circumstances 
noted in § 2.2-4011 D. Emergency regulations are published as soon as 
possible in the Virginia Register and are on the Register of Regulations website 
at register.dls.virgina.gov. 

During the time the emergency regulation is in effect, the agency may 
proceed with the adoption of permanent regulations in accordance with the 
Administrative Process Act. If the agency chooses not to adopt the regulations, 
the emergency status ends when the prescribed time limit expires. 

STATEMENT 

The foregoing constitutes a generalized statement of the procedures to be 
followed. For specific statutory language, it is suggested that Article 2 (§ 2.2-
4006 et seq.) of Chapter 40 of Title 2.2 of the Code of Virginia be examined 
carefully. 

CITATION TO THE VIRGINIA REGISTER 

The Virginia Register is cited by volume, issue, page number, and date. 34:8 
VA.R. 763-832 December 11, 2017, refers to Volume 34, Issue 8, pages 763 
through 832 of the Virginia Register issued on  
December 11, 2017. 

The Virginia Register of Regulations is published pursuant to Article 6 (§ 2.2-
4031 et seq.) of Chapter 40 of Title 2.2 of the Code of Virginia. 

Members of the Virginia Code Commission: John S. Edwards, Chair; 
Marcus B. Simon, Vice Chair; Ward L. Armstrong; Nicole Cheuk;  
Joanne Frye; Leslie L. Lilley; Jennifer L. McClellan; Christopher R. 
Nolen; Don L. Scott, Jr.; Charles S. Sharp; Malfourd W. Trumbo;  
Amigo R. Wade. 

Staff of the Virginia Register: Holly Trice, Registrar of Regulations; Anne 
Bloomsburg, Assistant Registrar; Nikki Clemons, Regulations Analyst; 
Rhonda Dyer, Publications Assistant; Terri Edwards, Senior Operations 
Staff Assistant. 

https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/2.2-4011/
https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/2.2-4011/
http://register.dls.virgina.gov/
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PUBLICATION SCHEDULE AND DEADLINES 

December 2021 through January 2023 

Volume: Issue Material Submitted By Noon* Will Be Published On 

38:9 December 1, 2021 December 20, 2021 

38:10 December 13, 2021 (Monday) January 3, 2022 

38:11 December 29, 2021 January 17, 2022 

38:12 January 12, 2022 January 31, 2022 

38:13 January 26, 2022 February 14, 2022 

38:14 February 9, 2022 February 28, 2022 

38:15 February 23, 2022 March 14, 2022 

38:16 March 9, 2022 March 28, 2022 

38:17 March 23, 2022 April 11, 2022 

38:18 April 6, 2022 April 25, 2022 

38:19 April 20, 2022 May 9, 2022 

38:20 May 4, 2022 May 23, 2022 

38:21 May 18, 2022 June 6, 2022 

38:22 June 1, 2022 June 20, 2022 

38:23 June 15, 2022 July 4, 2022 

38:24 June 29, 2022 July 18, 2022 

38:25 July 13, 2022 August 1, 2022 

38:26 July 27, 2022 August 15, 2022 

39:1 August 10, 2022 August 29, 2022 

39:2 August 24, 2022 September 12, 2022 

39:3 September 7, 2022 September 26, 2022 

39:4 September 21, 2022 October 10, 2022 

39:5 October 5, 2022 October 24, 2022 

39:6 October 19, 2022 November 7, 2022 

39:7 November 2, 2022 November 21, 2022 

39:8 November 14, 2022 (Monday) December 5, 2022 

39:9 November 30, 2022 December 19, 2022 

39:10 December 14, 2022 January 2, 2023 

*Filing deadlines are Wednesdays unless otherwise specified. 
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PERIODIC REVIEWS AND SMALL BUSINESS IMPACT REVIEWS 

TITLE 9. ENVIRONMENT 

STATE AIR POLLUTION CONTROL BOARD 

Report of Findings 
Pursuant to §§ 2.2-4007.1 and 2.2-4017 of the Code of Virginia, 
the State Air Pollution Control Board conducted a periodic review 
and a small business impact review of 9VAC5-60, Hazardous 
Air Pollutant Sources, and determined that this regulation should 
be retained as is. The department is publishing its report of 
findings dated September 17, 2021, to support this decision. 

This regulation enhances the department's ability to ensure 
compliance with all applicable federal requirements under the 
Clean Air Act and specific requirements of state law. The 
regulation is necessary for the protection of public health, safety, 
and welfare and has been effective in protecting public health and 
welfare with the least possible cost and intrusiveness to the 
citizens and businesses of the Commonwealth. The department 
has determined that the regulation is clearly written and easily 
understandable by the individuals and entities affected. The 
regulation is written so as to permit only one reasonable 
interpretation, is written to adequately identify the affected entity, 
and, insofar as possible, is written using nontechnical language. 

This regulation satisfies the provisions of the law and legally 
binding state and federal requirements and is effective in 
meeting its goals; therefore, the regulation is being retained 
without amendment. 

This regulation continues to be needed. It provides sources 
with the most cost-effective means of fulfilling ongoing state 
and federal requirements that protect air quality. No comments 
were received from the public during this periodic review. The 
regulation's level of complexity is appropriate to ensure that 
the regulated entities are able to meet their legal mandates as 
efficiently and cost-effectively as possible. This regulation 
does not overlap, duplicate, or conflict with any state law or 
other state regulation and does not conflict with federal 
regulation. This regulation implements the requirements of the 
federal Clean Air Act.  

This regulation was last updated in 2020. This regulation 
continues to contribute to the most efficient and cost-effective 
means to determine the level and impact of excess emissions and 
to control those excess emissions through public discussion and 
direct review of permitting actions by the board. The department, 
through examination of the regulation, has determined that the 
regulatory requirements currently minimize the economic impact 
of emission control regulations on small businesses and thereby 
minimize the impact on existing and potential Virginia employers 
and their ability to maintain and increase the number of jobs in the 
Commonwealth. 

Contact Information: Gary E. Graham, Department of 
Environmental Quality, 1111 East Main Street, Suite 1400, 
P.O. Box 1105, Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 689-
4103. 

Report of Findings 
Pursuant to §§ 2.2-4007.1 and 2.2-4017 of the Code of 
Virginia, the State Air Pollution Control Board conducted a 
periodic review and a small business impact review of 9VAC5-
140, Regulation for Emissions Trading Programs, and 
determined that this regulation should be retained as is. The 
department is publishing its report of findings dated November 
5, 2021, to support this decision. 

This regulation enhances the department's ability to ensure 
compliance with all applicable federal requirements under the 
Clean Air Act and specific requirements of state law. The 
regulation is necessary for the protection of public health, safety, 
and welfare and has been effective in protecting public health and 
welfare with the least possible cost and intrusiveness to the 
citizens and businesses of the Commonwealth. The department 
has determined that the regulation is clearly written and easily 
understandable by the individuals and entities affected. The 
regulation is written so as to permit only one reasonable 
interpretation, is written to adequately identify the affected entity, 
and, insofar as possible, is written using nontechnical language. 

This regulation satisfies the provisions of the law and legally 
binding state and federal requirements and is effective in 
meeting its goals; therefore, the regulation is being retained 
without amendment. 

This regulation continues to be needed. It provides sources 
with the most cost-effective means of fulfilling ongoing state 
and federal requirements that protect air quality. No comments 
were received from the public during this periodic review. The 
regulation's level of complexity is appropriate to ensure that 
the regulated entities are able to meet their legal mandates as 
efficiently and cost-effectively as possible. This regulation 
does not overlap, duplicate, or conflict with any state law or 
other state regulation and does not conflict with federal 
regulation. This regulation implements the requirements of the 
federal Clean Air Act. 

Part I of this regulation was last updated in 2017. Part VII of this 
regulation was last updated in 2020. This regulation continues to 
contribute to the most efficient and cost-effective means to 
determine the level and impact of excess emissions and to control 
those excess emissions through public discussion and direct 
review of permitting actions by the board. The department, 
through examination of the regulation, has determined that the 
regulatory requirements currently minimize the economic impact 
of emission control regulations on small businesses and thereby 
minimize the impact on existing and potential Virginia employers 
and their ability to maintain and increase the number of jobs in the 
Commonwealth. 

Contact Information: Gary E. Graham, Department of 
Environmental Quality, 1111 East Main Street, Suite 1400, 
P.O. Box 1105, Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 689-
4103. 
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REGULATIONS 

TITLE 9. ENVIRONMENT 

DEPARTMENT OF ENVIRONMENTAL QUALITY 

Final Regulation 
REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Department of Environmental 
Quality is claiming an exemption from Article 2 of the 
Administrative Process Act in accordance with § 2.2-4006 A 4 
a of the Code of Virginia, which excludes regulations that are 
necessary to conform to changes in Virginia statutory law or 
the appropriation act where no agency discretion is involved. 
The department will receive, consider, and respond to petitions 
by any interested person at any time with respect to 
reconsideration or revision. 

Title of Regulation: 9VAC15-20. Guidelines for the 
Preparation of Environmental Impact Assessments for Oil 
or Gas Well Drilling Operations in Tidewater Virginia 
(amending 9VAC15-20-10, 9VAC15-20-20, 9VAC15-20-40, 
9VAC15-20-70, 9VAC15-20-150, 9VAC15-20-170). 
Statutory Authority: § 45.2-1646 of the Code of Virginia. 
Effective Date: January 5, 2022. 
Agency Contact: Bettina Sullivan, Department of 
Environmental Quality, P.O. Box 1105, Richmond, VA 23218, 
telephone (804) 698-4204, FAX (804) 698-4178, or email 
bettina.sullivan@deq.virginia.gov. 
Summary: 

Pursuant to Chapters 387 and 532 of the 2021 Acts of 
Assembly, Special Session I, the amendments change the 
name of the Department of Mines, Minerals and Energy to 
the Department of Energy. 

9VAC15-20-10. Definitions. 

The following words and terms, when used in this chapter, 
shall have the following meanings, unless the context clearly 
indicates otherwise: 

"Access road" means a paved or unpaved route or path from 
a public highway or public road to a well site or associated 
facility. 

"Associated facilities" means any facility used for gas or oil 
operations in the Commonwealth, other than a well or well site. 

"Chesapeake Bay Preservation Area" means an area 
delineated by a local government in accordance with 
"9VAC25-830: Chesapeake Bay Preservation Area 
Designation and Management Regulations" and § 62.1-
44.15:74 of the Chesapeake Bay Preservation Act. A 

Chesapeake Bay Preservation Area consists of Resource 
Protection Areas and Resource Management Areas. 

"Cuttings" means fragments of rock produced in a well bore 
by a drill bit and brought to the surface by drilling fluids or air 
pressure. 

"Department of Environmental Quality" means the 
Department of Environmental Quality as described in § 10.1-
1182 et seq. of the Code of Virginia. 

"Department of Mines, Minerals and Energy" means the 
Department of Mines, Minerals and Energy as described in 
§ 45.1-161.1 § 45.2-100 et seq. of the Code of Virginia. 

"Director of the Department of Energy" means the Director 
of the Department of Energy or the director's authorized agent. 

"Director of the Department of Environmental Quality" 
means the Director of the Department of Environmental 
Quality or his the director's authorized agent. 

"Director of the Department of Mines, Minerals and Energy" 
means the Director of the Department of Mines, Minerals and 
Energy or his authorized agent. 

"Drilling fluid" means any fluid or drilling mud circulated in 
the well bore during drilling operations. 

"Economic characteristics" means activities associated with 
the production, distribution, and consumption of goods and 
services. 

"Enhanced recovery" means (i) any activity involving 
injection of any air, gas, water, or other fluid into the 
productive strata; (ii) application of pressure, heat, or other 
means for the reduction of viscosity of the hydrocarbons; or 
(iii) the supplying of additional motive force other than normal 
pumping to increase the production of gas or oil from any well, 
wells or pool. 

"Environment" means the natural, scenic, and historic 
attributes of Virginia. 

"Environmental impact assessment" or "assessment" means 
that documentation that is required by § 62.1-195.1 § 45.2-
1646 of the Code of Virginia to be a part of any application for 
a permit to drill an oil or gas well in Tidewater Virginia. 

"Exploratory well" means any well drilled (i) to find and 
produce gas or oil in an unproven area, (ii) to find a new 
reservoir in a field previously found to be productive of gas or 
oil in another reservoir, or (iii) to extend the limits of a known 
gas or oil reservoir. 
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"Facilities and equipment" means all infrastructure 
supporting the development, drilling, construction, 
completion, or operation of any gas or oil operation including 
but not limited to well drilling equipment, well heads, 
separators, compressors, pumps, manifolds, vehicles, fluid 
circulation systems, waste handling facilities, storage tanks, 
valves, pipelines, etc., used to explore for, produce, or transport 
oil or gas. 

"Fiscal characteristics" means the structure of taxation, public 
revenue, public expenditure, and public debt. 

"Gas" or "natural gas" means all natural gas whether 
hydrocarbon or nonhydrocarbon or any combination or 
mixture of them, including hydrocarbons, hydrogen sulfide, 
helium, carbon dioxide, nitrogen, hydrogen, casing head gas, 
and all other fluids not defined as oil. 

"Gas or oil operation" or "operation" means any activity 
relating to drilling, redrilling, deepening, stimulating, 
production, enhanced recovery, converting from one type of 
well to another, combining or physically changing to allow the 
migration of fluid from one formation to another, plugging, or 
replugging any well, land disturbing activity relating to the 
development, construction, operation, and abandonment of a 
gathering pipeline, the development, operation, maintenance, 
and restoration of any site involved with gas or oil operations, 
or any work undertaken at a facility used for gas or oil 
operations. The term embraces all of the land or property that 
is used for or that contributes directly or indirectly to a gas or 
oil operation, including all roads. 

"Gas well" means any well that produces or appears capable 
of producing a ratio of 6,000 cubic feet (6 Mcf) of gas or more 
to each barrel of oil, on the basis of a gas-oil ratio test. 

"Gathering pipeline" means (i) a pipeline that is used or 
intended for use in the transportation of gas or oil from the well 
to a transmission pipeline or other pipeline regulated by the 
Federal Energy Regulatory Commission or the State 
Corporation Commission or (ii) a pipeline that is used or 
intended for use in the transportation of gas or oil from the well 
to an off-site storage, marketing, or other facility where the gas 
or oil is sold. 

"Highly erodible soils" means soils (excluding vegetation) 
with an erodibility index (EI) from sheet and rill erosion equal 
to or greater than eight. The erodibility index for any soil is 
defined as the product of the formula RKLS/T, as defined by 
the Food Security Act (F.S.A.) Manual of August, 1988 in the 
"Field Office Technical Guide" of the U.S. Department of 
Agriculture, Soil Conservation Service, where K is the soil 
susceptibility to water erosion in the surface layer; R is the 
rainfall and runoff; LS is the combined effects of slope length 
and steepness; and T is the soil loss tolerance. 

"Highly permeable soils" means soils with a given potential 
to transmit water through the soil profile. Highly permeable 
soils are identified as any soil having a permeability equal to 

or greater than six inches of water movement per hour in any 
part of the soil profile to a depth of 72 inches (permeability 
groups "rapid" and "very rapid") as found in the "National 
Soils Handbook" of July 1983 in the "Field Service Technical 
Guide" of the U.S. Department of Agriculture, Soil 
Conservation Service. 

"Historic properties" means any prehistoric or historic 
district, site, building, structure, or object included in or 
eligible for inclusion in the National Register of Historic Places 
or the Virginia Historical Landmarks Register including any 
artifacts, records, and remains that are related to and located 
within such properties. 

"Historic properties survey" means a survey undertaken to 
establish the presence or absence of historic properties, and any 
related and necessary management plans developed to 
conserve such resources. 

"Land-disturbing activity" means any change in or 
reconfiguration of the land surface or vegetation on the land 
surface through vegetation clearing or earth moving activities 
including but not limited to clearing, grading, excavating, 
drilling, transporting, or filling. 

"Mcf" means, when used with reference to natural gas, one 
thousand cubic feet of gas at a pressure base of 14.73 pounds 
per square inch gauge and at a temperature base of 60°F. 

"Natural area preserve" means a natural area that has been 
dedicated pursuant to § 10.1-213 of the Code of Virginia. 

"Natural heritage resources" means the habitat of rare, 
threatened, or endangered plant and animal species, rare or 
state significant natural communities or geologic sites, and 
similar features of scientific interest benefiting the welfare of 
the citizens of the Commonwealth. 

"Natural heritage survey" means a survey undertaken to 
establish the presence or absence of natural heritage resources, 
and any related and necessary management plans developed to 
conserve such resources. 

"Nontidal wetlands" means those wetlands other than tidal 
wetlands that are inundated or saturated by surface or ground 
water at a frequency and duration sufficient to support, and that 
under normal circumstances do support, a prevalence of 
vegetation typically adapted for life in saturated soil 
conditions, as defined by the U.S. Environmental Protection 
Agency in response to § 404 of the Federal Water Pollution 
Control Act, in 33 CFR 328.3b. 

"Oil" means natural crude oil or petroleum and other 
hydrocarbons, regardless of gravity, that are produced at the 
well in liquid form by ordinary production methods and that 
are not the result of condensation of gas after it leaves the 
underground reservoir. 
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"Oil well" means any well that produces or appears capable 
of producing a ratio of less than 6,000 cubic feet (6 Mcf) of gas 
to each barrel of oil, on the basis of a gas-oil ratio test. 

"Open space" means any land, water, or submerged land that 
is provided for, preserved for, or used for (i) park or 
recreational purposes; (ii) conservation of land or other natural 
resources; (iii) cultural, historic, or scenic purposes; (iv) 
assisting in the shaping of the character, direction, and timing 
of community development; or (v) nontidal or tidal wetlands. 

"Operations area" means the location of the well, well site, 
associated facilities, production facilities, access roads, 
pipeline systems, and other related facilities and equipment 
necessary to the conduct of a gas or oil operation. 

"Person" means any individual or group, any partnership, 
corporation, association, organization, or other legal entity, 
including any public body. 

"Pipeline corridor" means those areas that pipeline systems 
pass through or will be constructed to pass through, including 
associated easements, leases, or rights-of-way. 

"Pipeline systems" means all parts of those physical facilities 
through which gas or oil moves in transportation, including but 
not limited to pipes, valves, and other appurtenances attached 
to pipes such as compressor units, metering stations, regulator 
stations, delivery stations, holders, or other related facilities. 

"Production well" means a well, related production facilities 
and equipment, and activities related to the drilling of a well 
for the purpose of developing and producing, or converting an 
exploratory well to develop or produce, oil or gas from 
geological strata for the purpose of sale, exchange, transfer, or 
use by the owner or for the purpose of exchange, transfer, sale, 
or use by any other person. 

"Rare, threatened, or endangered species" means any insect, 
fish, wildlife, or plant species that is listed as, is a candidate for 
listing as, or is recommended for listing as a rare, threatened, 
or endangered species by the U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service, 
the Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services, the 
Department of Game and Inland Fisheries Wildlife Resources, 
or the Department of Conservation and Recreation. 

"Recreational resources" means the broad range of outdoor 
and indoor public and private areas and facilities, many of 
which are identified in the "Virginia Outdoors Plan," used in 
meeting Virginia's recreational needs including but not limited 
to public parks, public forests, natural areas, wildlife 
management areas, lakes and reservoirs, historic resources, 
trails, rivers, beaches, water access areas, Virginia byways, 
tidal and nontidal wetlands, and greenways. 

"Scenic resources" means features that characterize an area 
by giving it a special visual identity or that present unique 
vistas or landscapes, including but not limited to such features 
as designated or candidate state or federal scenic rivers, federal 
or state scenic highways or parkways, Virginia byways, and 

scenic values as recognized by local, state, or federal 
governments. 

"Tidal wetlands" means "vegetated wetlands" and 
"nonvegetated wetlands" as defined in § 28.2-1300 of the Code 
of Virginia. 

"Tidewater Virginia" means that area of Virginia as defined 
in § 62.1-44.15:68 of the Code of Virginia and the localities of 
Manassas and Manassas Park. 

"Virginia Outdoors Plan" means the State Comprehensive 
Outdoor Recreation Plan developed and administered by the 
Department of Conservation and Recreation. 

"Waste from gas, oil, or geophysical operations" means any 
substance other than gas or oil that is (i) produced or generated 
during or results from the development, drilling, and 
completion of wells and associated facilities or the 
development and construction of gathering pipelines or (ii) 
produced or generated during or results from well, pipeline, 
and associated facilities' operations including, but not limited 
to, brines and produced fluids other than gas or oil. In addition, 
this term shall include all rubbish and debris, including all 
material generated during or resulting from well plugging, site 
restoration, or the removal and abandonment of gathering 
pipelines and associated facilities. 

"Well" means any shaft or hole sunk, drilled, bored, or dug 
into the earth or into underground strata for the extraction, 
injection, or replacement of any gaseous or liquid substance, or 
any shaft or hole sunk or used in conjunction with such 
extraction, injection, or placement. The term shall not include 
any shaft or hole, sunk, drilled, bored, or dug into the earth for 
the sole purpose of pumping or extracting therefrom potable, 
fresh or usable water for household, domestic, industrial, 
agricultural, or public use and shall not include water 
boreholes, methane drainage boreholes where the methane is 
vented or flared rather than produced and saved, subsurface 
boreholes drilled from the mine face or an underground coal 
mine, any other boreholes necessary or convenient for the 
extraction of coal or drilled pursuant to a uranium exploratory 
program carried out pursuant to the laws of this 
Commonwealth, or any coal or nonfuel mineral core hole or 
borehole for the purpose of exploration. 

9VAC15-20-20. Authority. 

This chapter implements § 62.1-195.1 § 45.2-1646 of the 
Code of Virginia, which requires the Department of 
Environmental Quality to develop criteria and procedures to 
assure the orderly preparation and evaluation of environmental 
impact assessments for gas or oil well drilling operations in 
Tidewater Virginia. 

9VAC15-20-40. Applicability. 

The environmental impact assessment requirements and 
criteria apply to all oil or gas well drilling operations, whether 
an exploratory well or a production well, proposed to occur in 
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Tidewater Virginia. Any person proposing to drill an 
exploratory well or production well in Tidewater Virginia shall 
submit to the Department of Mines, Minerals and Energy, as 
part of his the person's application for a permit to drill such a 
well, an environmental impact assessment. 

9VAC15-20-70. Description of the environment and 
natural resource features potentially affected by the gas or 
oil operation. 

A. The discussion under this part shall include a description 
of the existing environment and natural resource features 
which that will be or may be affected by the gas or oil operation 
and how they will be or may be affected. The analysis of the 
environment and natural resource features shall encompass, at 
the minimum, any area located within 1320 feet of a proposed 
well and within 100 feet of proposed pipeline systems or 
associated facilities unless the applicant for the permit to drill 
can demonstrate that a smaller impact analysis area is 
appropriate given the nature and location of the proposed gas 
or oil operation and the potential impact of such an operation 
on the environment and natural resources. The 1320-foot 
distance is half of the statewide well spacing requirement set 
out for gas wells in § 45.1-361.17 § 45.2-1616 of the Code of 
Virginia and will ensure that the impact analysis for wells 
established in Tidewater Virginia at the statewide spacing will 
be tangential. The 100-foot distance from pipelines and 
associated facilities will ensure that Chesapeake Bay 
Preservation Areas or other environmentally sensitive 
resources that may be affected by the oil or gas operation will 
be detected. The potential for impacts by the proposed oil or 
gas operation on natural resource features and the environment 
which that are located outside of the 1320-foot impact analysis 
area for wells and the 100-foot impact analysis area for 
pipeline systems and associated facilities shall also be 
considered and discussed. The discussion shall be supported 
with graphic information in the form of a plat or plats at a scale 
between 1:1000 and 1:4000 showing the location of natural 
resources that will be or may be affected by the proposed 
operation. The discussion shall include, but not be limited to: 

1. Physical site conditions such as: 
a. Topographical features including relief, slope, project 
area elevation, and landscape features such as beaches, 
sand dunes, shorelines, etc.; 
b. Surface water hydrology and drainage patterns 
including locations of embayments, rivers or streams and 
related subaqueous beds, tidal or nontidal wetlands, and 
the 100-year floodplain in the watershed potentially 
affected by the proposed operation; 
c. Existing surface water quality characteristics and how 
water quality may be affected by emissions from the 
proposed operation; 
d. Existing air quality and how air quality may be affected 
by emissions from the proposed operation; 

e. Geological conditions such as groundwater 
hydrogeology, including the depths to the top and bottom 
of groundwater aquifers; general characteristics of the 
geologic strata to be penetrated by drilling activities; and 
a discussion of the possibility for land subsidence and any 
potential impacts associated with land subsidence which 
may result from the operation; 
f. A description of the existing water quality of 
groundwater aquifers which that will be or may be 
affected by drilling activities or liquid waste disposal 
activities focusing particularly on the potability of water 
in potentially affected aquifers and the extent to which 
identified aquifers are currently used as domestic or 
community water supplies; 
g. A discussion of the soil types on which an operation will 
be located, including an identification of prime 
agricultural lands, highly permeable soils, highly erodible 
soils, and soil profile descriptions of each representative 
soil series on the well site to a depth of 72 inches; 
h. The identification and location of any public water 
supply intakes within the watershed where an operation 
will occur and located within 10 miles downstream of the 
proposed well site; or any public or private water supply 
wells located within a one-mile radius of the proposed oil 
or gas well drilling operation; and 
i. Chesapeake Bay Preservation Areas, both Resource 
Protection Areas (RPAs) and Resource Management 
Areas (RMAs), located within 1320 feet of the proposed 
operations area. 

2. Biological conditions and resources including but not 
limited to: 

a. A description of the terrestrial and aquatic habitat types 
and associated flora and fauna, including any natural 
heritage resources which that are documented by 
performing a natural heritage survey in conformance with 
methodologies established by the Department of 
Conservation and Recreation, and any rare, threatened, or 
endangered species present; 
b. A description of the use patterns of terrestrial habitat by 
wildlife, including areas such as nesting, roosting, 
breeding, and calving areas or other unique natural habitat; 
c. A description of the use patterns of freshwater, 
estuarine, and marine habitat by terrestrial and aquatic 
species, including but not limited to submerged aquatic 
vegetation, fish spawning areas, shellfish beds, habitat of 
anadromous fish and other finfish, and benthic organisms; 
and 
d. State Wildlife Management Areas, State Natural Area 
Preserves, National Wildlife Refuges, or elements of 
Virginia's National Estuarine Research Reserve System or 
other unique or important natural communities. 
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3. Culturally important areas such as historical, open space, 
and recreational resources, including those resources listed 
in the Virginia Outdoors Plan, including but not limited to: 

a. Historic properties which that are documented by 
performing a historic properties survey in conformance 
with guidelines established by the Department of Historic 
Resources; 
b. Public beaches; 
c. Scenic resources; 
d. Public water access sites; 
e. Local, state, or national parks, recreational areas, open 
space, or forests; 
f. State-owned or state managed lands; 
g. Federally-owned or federally managed lands; 
h. Easements held for agricultural, forestal, open space, 
horticultural, or other conservation purposes; and 
i. Prime agricultural lands as identified by the U.S. Soil 
Conservation Service and important farm lands as 
identified by the Virginia Department of Agriculture and 
Consumer Services. 

B. Describe the typical noise levels currently existing at the 
proposed operations areas. Describe any operation activities 
that will produce noise over 65 decibels measured at the 
boundary of the operations area, the source and daily duration 
of those activities producing the noise, and the estimated 
external noise level at the nearest noise receptor such as a 
residence, school, hospital, business, public meeting place, 
feature identified in the Virginia Outdoors Plan, or wildlife 
habitat. The applicant should describe what measures, if any, 
will be taken to reduce projected exterior noise levels below 65 
decibels at the nearest receptor. 

C. Describe any activities associated with the operation that 
will produce light or glare within the operations area after 
sundown and before dawn. Describe the hours that artificial 
lighting sources will exist, including flaring of wells, gas 
processing facilities, or production facilities, the intensity of 
any light sources, and the time such light sources would be in 
operation. Describe the potential aesthetic, nuisance, safety, or 
environmental hazards that light or glare may produce outside 
of the operations area. Describe what steps, if any, that will be 
taken to minimize light or glare. 

D. Describe the actions and measures that will be taken to 
avoid, minimize, and mitigate impacts on natural, scenic, 
recreational, and historic resources identified in the 
assessment. The assessment shall also discuss irrevocable or 
irreversible losses of the natural resources identified in the 
assessment. 

9VAC15-20-150. Department of Environmental Quality 
notification by the Department of Mines, Minerals and 
Energy. 

Upon receiving a permit application to drill an oil or gas well 
in Tidewater Virginia, the Director of the Department of 
Mines, Minerals and Energy shall notify the Director of the 
Department of Environmental Quality that a coordinated 
review of an environmental impact assessment must be 
initiated. The applicant shall provide the Department of Mines, 
Minerals and Energy with 17 copies of the environmental 
impact assessment and the Department of Mines, Minerals and 
Energy will deliver the copies to the Director of the 
Department of Environmental Quality. The 90-day review 
process will begin upon receipt of the appropriate number of 
copies of the environmental impact assessment by the Director 
of the Department of Environmental Quality. 

9VAC15-20-170. Review of comments. 

The Director of the Department of Environmental Quality 
shall review all written state agency, local government, 
planning district commission, and public comments and any 
written or oral comments received during any public hearing. 
Based on the review by the Director of the Department of 
Environmental Quality of written comments, oral and written 
comments received at public hearings, and the environmental 
impact assessment, the Director of the Department of 
Environmental Quality will prepare and submit a written report 
of its findings and recommendations to the Director of the 
Department of Mines, Minerals and Energy. The findings and 
recommendations of the Director of the Department of 
Environmental Quality on an assessment will be available for 
public inspection at the offices of the Department of 
Environmental Quality. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R22-6829; Filed November 9, 2021, 10:40 a.m. 

  ––––––––––––––––––  

TITLE 10. FINANCE AND FINANCIAL 
INSTITUTIONS 

STATE CORPORATION COMMISSION 

Final Regulation 
REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The State Corporation Commission 
is claiming an exemption from the Administrative Process Act 
in accordance with § 2.2-4002 A 2 of the Code of Virginia, 
which exempts courts, any agency of the Supreme Court, and 
any agency that by the Constitution is expressly granted any of 
the powers of a court of record. 
Title of Regulation: 10VAC5-230. Debt Settlement Services 
Providers (adding 10VAC5-230-10 through 10VAC5-230-
80). 
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Statutory Authority: §§ 6.2-2039 and 12.1-13 of the Code of 
Virginia. 
Effective Date: December 15, 2021. 
Agency Contact: Susan Hancock, Deputy Commissioner, 
Bureau of Financial Institutions, State Corporation 
Commission, P.O. Box 640, Richmond, VA 23218, telephone 
(804) 371-9703, FAX (804) 371-9416, or email 
susan.hancock@scc.virginia.gov. 
Summary: 

Pursuant to Chapter 20.1 (§ 6.2-2026 et seq.) of Title 6.2 of 
the Code of Virginia, the new regulation establishes a 
licensing and regulatory framework for debt settlement 
services providers, including providing definitions for terms 
used in the regulation, specifying the required surety bond 
amount and minimum fidelity bond coverage, setting annual 
and other reporting requirements, setting the annual fee 
schedule, prescribing additional business requirements and 
restrictions, and establishing advertising rules. Changes to 
the proposed regulation (i) establish the ownership 
percentage necessary to be considered an "affiliate" as 
1.0%; (ii) lower the minimum continuous fidelity bond 
coverage requirement to $50,000; and (iii) allow a licensee 
to refer or direct an individual to an affiliate for services 
upon providing proof of compliance with subdivision 7 of § 
6.2-2040 of the Code of Virginia. 

AT RICHMOND, NOVEMBER 18, 2021 
COMMONWEALTH OF VIRGINIA, ex rel. 
STATE CORPORATION COMMISSION 

CASE NO. BFI-2021-00010 
Ex Parte: In the matter of Adopting 
Regulations Governing Debt Settlement 
Services Providers under Chapter 20.1 
of Title 6.2 of the Code of Virginia 

ORDER ADOPTING REGULATIONS 

On July 26, 2021, the State Corporation Commission 
("Commission") entered an Order to Take Notice of a proposal 
by the Bureau of Financial Institutions ("Bureau") to adopt 
regulations pursuant to Chapter 20.1 of Title 6.2 (§ 6.2-2026 et 
seq.) of the Code of Virginia ("Chapter 20.1"). Chapter 20.1 
establishes a licensing and regulatory framework for debt 
settlement services providers. Chapter 20.1 became effective 
on July 1, 2021. 

The proposed regulations implement the provisions of 
Chapter 20.1 by, among other things, defining certain terms, 
specifying the required surety bond amount and minimum 
fidelity bond coverage, establishing annual and other reporting 
requirements, setting forth the annual fee schedule, and 
prescribing additional business requirements and restrictions 
as well as various advertising rules. 

The Order to Take Notice and proposed regulations were 
published in the Virginia Register of Regulations on August 

16, 2021, posted on the Commission's website, and sent to all 
debt settlement services providers licensed under Chapter 20.1 
and other interested persons. The Order to Take Notice invited 
all interested persons to participate and required that any 
comments or requests for a hearing on the proposed regulations 
be submitted in writing on or before September 3, 2021. 

Comments on the proposed regulations were timely filed by 
the American Fair Credit Council, the Consumer Debt Relief 
Initiative, the Virginia Poverty Law Center, and Virginia 
Organizing. The Commission did not receive any requests for 
a hearing. 

The Bureau considered the comments that were filed and 
responded to them in its Response to Comments ("Response"), 
which the Bureau filed with the Clerk of the Commission on 
October 1, 2021. In its Response, the Bureau recommended 
that the Commission amend various sections of the proposed 
regulations. 

NOW THE COMMISSION, having considered this matter, 
finds that the proposed regulations should be modified 
consistent with the modifications the Bureau recommended in 
its Response, with one exception. The Commission finds that 
proposed 10 VAC 5-230-50 D should be modified to permit 
licensees to establish that they are complying with § 6.2-2040 
(7) of the Code of Virginia. The Commission also finds that 
the modified proposed regulations should be adopted effective 
December 15, 2021. The Commission expresses appreciation 
to those who submitted written comments. 

Accordingly, IT IS ORDERED THAT: 

(1) The proposed regulations, as modified herein and attached 
hereto, are adopted effective December 15, 2021. 

(2) This Order and the attached regulations shall be made 
available on the Commission's website: 
scc.virginia.gov/pages/Case-Information. 

(3) The Commission's Division of Information Resources 
shall provide a copy of this Order and the regulations to the 
Virginia Registrar of Regulations for appropriate publication 
in the Virginia Register of Regulations. 

(4) This case is dismissed, and the papers filed herein shall be 
placed in the Commission's file for ended causes. 

A COPY of this Order and the attached regulations shall be 
sent by the Clerk of the Commission to the Commission's 
Office of General Counsel and to the Commissioner of 
Financial Institutions, who shall send by e-mail or U.S. mail a 
copy of this Order and the attached regulations to every debt 
settlement services provider licensed under Chapter 20.1, those 
persons who submitted comments in this proceeding, and such 
other interested persons as he may designate. 
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Chapter 230 
Debt Settlement Services Providers 

10VAC5-230-10. Definitions.  

A. The following words and terms when used in this chapter 
shall have the following meanings unless the context clearly 
indicates otherwise: 

"Advertisement" for purposes of Chapter 20.1 and this 
chapter means a commercial message in any medium that 
promotes, directly or indirectly, the offering of debt settlement 
services to any consumer. The term includes a communication 
sent to a consumer as part of a solicitation of business but 
excludes messages on promotional items, such as pens, 
pencils, notepads, hats, and calendars, as well as other 
information distributed or made available solely to other 
businesses. [ The term also excludes materials that are solely 
educational and informational in purpose. ]  

"Affiliate" means an entity of which [ any 1.0% or more ] of 
the voting shares or ownership interest is held, directly or 
indirectly, by a person that also owns, directly or indirectly, 
[ any 1.0% or more ] of the voting shares or ownership interest 
of a licensee. 

"Chapter 20.1" means Chapter 20.1 (§ 6.2-2026 et seq.) of 
Title 6.2 of the Code of Virginia. 

"Owner" means a person who holds, directly or indirectly, 
[ any 1.0% or more ] of the voting shares or ownership interest 
of a licensee. 

"Subsidiary" means an entity of which any of the voting 
shares or ownership interest is held, directly or indirectly, by a 
licensee. 

B. Other terms used in this chapter shall have the meanings 
set forth in § 6.2-100 or 6.2-2026 of the Code of Virginia. 

10VAC5-230-20. Bond coverage.  

A. Pursuant to § 6.2-2029 of the Code of Virginia, a surety 
bond shall be filed with the commissioner and continuously 
maintained thereafter in full force by each licensee. The form 
of the bond shall be prescribed and provided by the 
commissioner. The bond amount required for initial licensure 
shall be at least $25,000. After initial licensure, the bond 
amount required may be adjusted annually based on the 
volume of debt settlement services agreements maintained by 
a licensee during the preceding calendar year and any other 
factors deemed pertinent by the commissioner. 

B. If a person has filed a surety bond with the commissioner, 
the bond shall be retained by the commissioner 
notwithstanding the occurrence of any of the following events: 

1. The person's application for a license is withdrawn or 
denied; 

2. The person's license is surrendered, suspended, or 
revoked; or 

3. The person ceases engaging in the business of providing 
or offering to provide debt settlement services. 

C. A licensee shall continuously maintain at least [ $250,000 
$50,000 ] in fidelity bond coverage. 

10VAC5-230-30. Reporting requirements.  

A. Within 15 days following the occurrence of any of the 
following events, a licensee shall file a written report with the 
commissioner describing the event and its expected impact 
upon the business of the licensee: 

1. Bankruptcy, reorganization, or receivership proceedings 
are filed by or against the licensee. 

2. Any local, state, or federal governmental authority 
institutes revocation, suspension, or other formal 
administrative, regulatory, or enforcement proceedings 
against the licensee [ relating to its debt settlement services 
business or similar business ]. 

3. Any local, state, or federal governmental authority (i) 
revokes or suspends the licensee's debt settlement services 
license or other license for a similar business; (ii) takes 
formal administrative, regulatory, or enforcement action 
against the licensee relating to its debt settlement services 
business or similar business; or (iii) takes any other action 
against the licensee relating to its debt settlement services 
business or similar business where the total amount of 
restitution or other payment from the licensee exceeds 
$5,000. A licensee shall not be required to provide the 
commissioner with information about such event to the 
extent that such disclosure is prohibited by the laws of 
another state. 

4. Based on allegations by any local, state, or federal 
governmental authority that the licensee violated any law or 
regulation applicable to the conduct of its licensed debt 
settlement services business or similar business, the licensee 
enters into, or otherwise agrees to the entry of, a settlement 
or consent order, decree, or agreement with or by such 
governmental authority. 

5. In lieu of threatened or pending license revocation, license 
suspension, or other administrative, regulatory, or 
enforcement action, the licensee surrenders its license to 
engage in (i) the business of providing or offering to provide 
debt settlement services in another state or (ii) any similar 
business in another state. 

6. The licensee is denied a license to engage in (i) the 
business of providing or offering to provide debt settlement 
services in another state or (ii) any similar business in 
another state. 

7. The licensee or any of its members, partners, directors, 
officers, principals, or employees is indicted for or convicted 
of a felony [ , if known ]. 
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8. The Attorney General or any other Virginia governmental 
authority institutes an action against the licensee under the 
Virginia Consumer Protection Act (§ 59.1-196 et seq. of the 
Code of Virginia). 

9. Such other events as may be prescribed by the 
commissioner. 

B. Pursuant to § 6.2-2035 of the Code of Virginia, each 
licensee shall file an annual report with the commissioner on 
or before March 25. The annual report shall contain the 
following data regarding a licensee's business under Chapter 
20.1 during the preceding calendar year: 

1. The total number of agreements to provide debt settlement 
services maintained; 

2. The total number of agreements to provide debt settlement 
services entered into; 

3. The total principal amount of debt enrolled by consumers 
into the licensee's debt settlement services; 

4. The total number of settled debts; 

5. The total principal amount to be paid by consumers to 
satisfy settled debts; 

6. The total amount of fees charged pursuant to § 6.2-2041 
of the Code of Virginia; 

7. The total amount of fees received pursuant to § 6.2-2041 
of the Code of Virginia; 

8. The total number of debt settlement services agreements 
terminated by consumers; and 

9. Any additional information required by the commissioner. 

10VAC5-230-40. Schedule of annual fees for the 
examination, supervision, and regulation of debt settlement 
services providers.  

Pursuant to § 6.2-2038 of the Code of Virginia, the 
commission sets the following schedule of annual fees to be 
paid by persons licensed under Chapter 20.1. The fees are to 
defray the costs of examination, supervision, and regulation of 
licensees by the bureau. 

[ The annual fee Each licensee ] shall [ be pay an annual fee 
equal to the sum of the following: (i) ] $1,000 [ per licensee 
plus, and (ii) ] $3.44 per debt settlement services agreement 
maintained by the licensee during the calendar year preceding 
the year of [ the ] assessment. In cases where a licensee was 
not licensed under Chapter 20.1 as of December 31 of the 
calendar year preceding the year of the assessment, the annual 
fee shall be $0. 

The fee assessed using the schedule set forth in this section 
shall be rounded down to the nearest whole dollar. 

Fees shall be assessed on or before June 1 for the current 
calendar year. The fee shall be paid on or before July 1. 

The information supplied in the annual report due March 25 
each year of each licensee provides the basis for its assessment. 

Fees prescribed and assessed by this schedule are apart from 
and do not include the reimbursement for expenses permitted 
by subsection B of § 6.2-2038 of the Code of Virginia. 

10VAC5-230-50. Additional business requirements and 
restrictions; acquisitions.  

A. A licensee shall continuously maintain the requirements 
and standards for licensure prescribed in § 6.2-2031 of the 
Code of Virginia. 

B. [ A If a ] licensee [ shall not provide or offer to provide 
provides ] debt settlement services in connection with a debt 
settlement services agreement that has been set up or 
established by any [ other ] person [ except for other than ] a 
credit counselor of the licensee [ , then the licensee shall ensure 
that (i) the total fees charged to the consumer in connection 
with the debt settlement services, including any fees for 
enrolling the consumer or setting up or establishing the 
agreement, do not exceed the limitations in § 6.2-2041 of the 
Code of Virginia; and (ii) the agreement complies with Chapter 
20.1 and this chapter ]. 

C. A licensee shall not sell or otherwise assign a debt 
settlement services agreement to another person unless the 
purchaser or assignee is licensed or exempt from licensure 
under Chapter 20.1. 

D. A licensee shall not refer or direct [ a consumer an 
individual ] for whom the licensee is providing debt settlement 
services to any creditor that is an affiliate, owner, or subsidiary 
of the licensee [ , unless the licensee can establish that in 
accordance with subdivision 7 of § 6.2-2040 of the Code of 
Virginia the licensee did not and will not receive a gift or 
bonus, premium, reward, or other compensation, directly or 
indirectly, for advising, arranging, or assisting the individual 
in connection with obtaining an extension of credit or other 
service from the creditor, except for educational or counseling 
services required in connection with a government-sponsored 
program ]. 

E. A licensee shall comply with all state and federal laws and 
regulations applicable to the conduct of its business, including 
the Standards for Safeguarding Customer Information (16 CFR 
Part 314). 

F. A licensee or person required to be licensed under Chapter 
20.1 shall not provide any information to the bureau that is 
false, misleading, or deceptive. 

G. A licensee or person required to be licensed under Chapter 
20.1 shall not provide any information to a consumer that is 
false, misleading, or deceptive. 

H. A licensee or person required to be licensed under Chapter 
20.1 shall not engage in any activity that directly or indirectly 
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results in an evasion of the provisions of Chapter 20.1 or this 
chapter. 

I. A person shall remain subject to the provisions of Chapter 
20.1 and this chapter applicable to licensees in connection with 
all debt settlement services provided or offered to be provided 
while licensed under Chapter 20.1 notwithstanding the 
occurrence of any of the following events: 

1. The person's license is surrendered, suspended, or 
revoked; or 

2. The person ceases providing debt settlement services. 

J. Any person submitting an application to acquire, directly 
or indirectly, 25% or more of the voting shares of a corporation 
or 25% or more of the ownership of any other person licensed 
to conduct business under Chapter 20.1 shall pay a 
nonrefundable application fee of $500. 

10VAC5-230-60. Advertising.  

A. A licensee shall disclose the following information in its 
advertisements: 

1. The name of the licensee as set forth in the license issued 
by the commission. 

2. A statement that the licensee is "licensed by the Virginia 
State Corporation Commission." 

3. The license number assigned by the commission to the 
licensee (i.e., DSP-XXX). 

B. A licensee shall not deliver or cause to be delivered to a 
consumer any envelope or other written material that gives the 
false impression that the mailing or written material is an 
official communication from a governmental entity. 

C. Every licensee shall retain for at least three years after it is 
last published, delivered, transmitted, or made available, [ a 
copy an example ] of every advertisement used, including 
solicitation letters, print media proofs, commercial scripts, 
recordings of all radio and television broadcasts, and Internet 
web pages. A licensee may retain copies of its advertisements 
in electronic form. 

10VAC5-230-70. Enforcement; civil penalties.  

A. Failure to comply with any provision of Chapter 20.1 or 
this chapter may result in civil penalties, license suspension, 
license revocation, the entry of a cease and desist order, or 
other appropriate enforcement action. 

B. Pursuant to § 6.2-2046 of the Code of Virginia, a person 
shall be subject to a civil penalty of up to $1,000 for every 
violation of Chapter 20.1 or this chapter. Furthermore, if a 
person violates any provision of Chapter 20.1 or this chapter in 
connection with multiple debt settlement services agreements, 
the person shall be subject to a separate civil penalty for each 
debt settlement services agreement. For example, if a licensee 
enters into five debt settlement services agreements and the 

licensee violates two provisions of this chapter in connection 
with each of the five debt settlement services agreements, there 
would be a total of 10 violations and the licensee would be 
subject to a maximum civil penalty of $10,000. 

10VAC5-230-80. Commission authority.  

The commission may at its discretion waive or grant 
exceptions to any provision of this chapter for good cause 
shown. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R21-6865; Filed November 18, 2021, 4:12 p.m. 

  ––––––––––––––––––  

TITLE 12. HEALTH 

STATE BOARD OF HEALTH 

Final Regulation 
REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The State Board of Health is 
claiming an exemption from Article 2 of the Administrative 
Process Act in accordance with § 2.2-4006 A 4 a of the Code 
of Virginia, which excludes regulations that are necessary to 
conform to changes in Virginia statutory law or the 
appropriation act where no agency discretion is involved. The 
board will receive, consider, and respond to petitions by any 
interested person at any time with respect to reconsideration or 
revision. 
Title of Regulation: 12VAC5-115. Virginia Immunization 
Information System (amending 12VAC5-115-30). 
Statutory Authority: § 32.1-46.01 of the Code of Virginia. 
Effective Date: January 7, 2022. 
Agency Contact: Christy Gray, Director, Office of 
Immunizations, Virginia Department of Health, 101 North 
14th Street, 15th Floor, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 
864-8076, or email christy.gray@vdh.virginia.gov. 
Summary: 

Pursuant to Chapter 211 of the 2021 Acts of Assembly, 
Special Session I, the amendments make reporting using 
Virginia Immunization Information System (VIIS) 
mandatory for any health care provider in the 
Commonwealth that administers immunizations. 

12VAC5-115-30. Registration procedures. 

A. Participation in VIIS is voluntary mandatory for any health 
care provider, as defined in § 32.1-127.1:03 of the Code of 
Virginia, in the Commonwealth that administers 
immunizations. 

B. Completed registration forms from authorized participants 
must be processed and approved by VDH before access to the 
system is allowed. Registration will require the participant to 
assure compliance with necessary confidentiality and security 
access provisions that specify security procedures to ensure 
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that VIIS data are protected from unauthorized view and 
access. The participant shall update and submit the forms to 
VDH every year. 

C. Once the participant is approved, the participant shall sign 
a participant registration agreement with VDH. VDH will then 
provide training and activate the participant in the VIIS system. 

D. Qualifying participant organizations shall designate an 
administrator for their organization. The administrator may 
then allow VIIS access by an employee in his the 
administrator's organization and, in doing so, shall assume 
responsibility for registering that person, obtaining the most 
recent security forms that specify VITA or VDH security 
requirements, retaining all completed user forms, assigning the 
security role of the user, accepting legal responsibility for his 
the employee's proper use of VIIS, and terminating access to 
VIIS if the employee is noncompliant with VIIS requirements 
or no longer requires access. 

E. An administrator may terminate his organization's 
Terminate organizational participation at any time by notifying 
VDH in writing. All data entered by that organization shall 
remain in the system. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R22-6870; Filed November 3, 2021, 12:39 p.m. 

Final Regulation 
Title of Regulation: 12VAC5-403. Certification of Doulas 
(adding 12VAC5-403-10 through 12VAC5-403-70). 
Statutory Authority: §§ 32.1-12 and 32.1-77.1 of the Code of 
Virginia. 
Effective Date: January 6, 2022. 
Agency Contact: Robin Buskey, Policy Analyst, Office of 
Family Health Services, Virginia Department of Health, 109 
Governor Street, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 863-
7253, or email robin.buskey@vdh.virginia.gov. 
Summary: 

Pursuant to Chapter 724 of the 2020 Acts of Assembly, the 
new regulation (i) establishes the minimum requirements to 
be considered a certified doula in Virginia based on the core 
competences for doula certification used by national 
organizations and community based organizations in 
Virginia and (ii) outlines the minimum standards required 
of the certifying body, which will be approved by the board 
and which will be responsible for confirming state-certified 
doulas, approving the training and education to meet doula 
certification requirements, and maintaining a registry of 
state-certified doulas available to the general public.  
 

Summary of Public Comments and Agency's Response: A 
summary of comments made by the public and the agency's 
response may be obtained from the promulgating agency or 
viewed at the office of the Registrar of Regulations. 

Chapter 403 
Certification of Doulas 

12VAC5-403-10. Definitions.  

The following words and terms shall have the following 
meanings when used in this chapter unless the context clearly 
indicates otherwise:  

"Antepartum" means the period of pregnancy prior to labor 
and delivery. 

"Certifying body" means an organization approved by the 
State Board of Health that has as one of its purposes the 
certification of doulas. 

"Community-based doula" means a doula who often has 
shared lived experiences and is trained to provide extended, 
culturally congruent support to families throughout pregnancy 
to include antepartum, intrapartum, during labor and birth, and 
up to one year postpartum. Community-based doulas provide 
an expanded set of services and play a crucial role in improving 
outcomes and experiences for communities most affected by 
discrimination and disparities in health outcomes. 

"Doula" means a trained nonmedical professional who 
provides continuous physical, emotional, and informational 
support to a pregnant person during the antepartum or 
intrapartum period or during the period up to one year 
postpartum. 

"Intrapartum" means the period of pregnancy after the onset 
of labor through delivery. 

"Postpartum" means the period of pregnancy following birth. 

"State-certified doula" means a trained, community-based 
nonmedical professional who provides continuous physical, 
emotional, and informational support to a pregnant person 
during the antepartum or intrapartum period or during the 
period up to one year postpartum who has been certified by a 
certifying body approved by the State Board of Health. 

"Training entity" means an organization that has a training 
and education programs that are approved by a certifying body 
approved by the State Board of Health to meet the curriculum 
requirements for community-based doula certification. 

12VAC5-403-20. State-certified doula.  

Any person seeking to be a state-certified doula under this 
chapter shall be a community-based doula and shall (i) meet 
the qualifications and education requirements established in 
this chapter and (ii) hold a certification as a certified doula 
from a certifying body approved by the State Board of Health. 

12VAC5-403-30. Qualifications.  

A. Any person seeking to be a state-certified doula under this 
chapter shall complete at least 60 hours of doula training. 
Training shall be provided by one or more entities approved by 
a certifying body approved by the State Board of Health. 



Regulations 

Volume 38, Issue 8  Virginia Register of Regulations  December 6, 2021  

788 

B. The training and education requirements outlined in 
12VAC5-403-50 shall not apply to doulas who have already 
obtained an initial level of certification within three years prior 
to [ (insert the effective date of this regulation) January 6, 
2022, ] and are applying to be a state-certified doula through 
the certifying body approved by the State Board of Health, 
provided that the applicant provides proof of completion of any 
unmet training and education requirements within one year of 
application. 

12VAC5-403-40. Minimum standards for certifying bodies.  

A. The State Board of Health shall approve a certifying body 
that has adopted standards from a nationally recognized 
organization that has a doula certification that reflects national 
best practices pertaining to community-based doula training 
and certification to establish certified doula training and 
education programs and to approve or accept continuing 
education courses for renewing doula certification in Virginia. 

B. The certifying body shall: 

1. Maintain a registry of state-certified doulas that is 
accessible to the public and displays the certification status 
of doulas. 

2. Submit to the State Board of Health an annual report by 
the end of every fiscal year that identifies the number of new 
and cumulative state-certified doulas and the number of new 
and cumulative training programs approved for the purpose 
of providing doula certification. 

C. The certifying body shall require its certificate holders to: 

1. Adhere to a code of ethics set forth by the certifying 
body. 

2. Complete at least 60 hours of training and education 
provided by one or more training entities approved by the 
certifying body. 

12VAC5-403-50. Curriculum requirements.  

A. Unless the exception in 12VAC5-403-30 B is met, any 
person seeking to be a state-certified doula under this chapter 
shall complete doula training and education programs that have 
been approved by the certifying body. The curriculum 
requirements for the certified doula training and education 
programs are outlined in the Virginia Curriculum 
Requirements for the State-Certified Doula and shall be 
approved by the certifying body. 

B. The curriculum requirements for the certified doula 
training and education programs shall include a minimum of 
60 hours in the following topics: 

1. Maternal and infant health concepts and approaches ( [ 2 
two ] hours). 

a. Provision of perinatal support services from [ 1st first ] 
trimester to [ twelve 12 ] months postpartum. 

b. Provision of emotional and social support, including 
navigating pregnancy loss. 

2. Lactation anticipatory guidance and support (10 hours). 

3. Service coordination and system navigation (20 hours). 
a. Provision of in-home prenatal and postpartum care 
support. 
b. Assessing psychosocial and health needs, including 
perinatal mood and anxiety disorders (PMADs) screening. 
c. Goal setting and prioritization of psychosocial and 
health needs. 
d. Antepartum (high-risk) maternal care support. 
e. Labor support. 
f. Education and referrals for developmental screenings. 
g. Resource navigation for wraparound services (i.e., 
intimate partner violence, domestic violence, oral health, 
family planning). 

4. Health promotion and prevention ( [ 8 eight ] hours). 
a. Provision of perinatal health education. 
b. Provision of newborn parenting education 
c. Provision of wellness and self-care coaching. 

5. Advocacy, outreach, and engagement ( [ 5 five ] hours). 
a. Serving as an advocate for respectful maternal care. 
b. Intentional reflection of the community served. 
c. Care coordination and social service navigation. 
d. Provision of reproductive rights education, informed 
choice and decision making, and birth planning. 
e. Child abuse and neglect mandatory reporting. 

6. Communication ( [ 2 two ] hours). 
a. Respectful, client-centered maternal care. 
b. Active listening. 
c. Navigating patient families, medical support staff, and 
other support systems. 
d. Responding to challenges. 

7. Cultural humility and responsiveness ( [ 8 eight ] hours). 
a. Intersectionality and cultural humility, including 
language access. 
b. Health literacy. 
c. Trauma-informed care. 

8. Ethical responsibilities and professionalism ( [ 5 five ] 
hours). 

a. Code of ethics, standards of practice, and [ HIPAA the 
Health Insurance Portability and Accountability Act of 
1996 (P.L. 104–191) ]. 
b. Required charting and documentation. 
c. Serving as an accountability partner. 
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12VAC5-403-60. Continuing education.  

Any person seeking to be a state-certified doula under this 
chapter shall be required to complete a minimum of 15 hours 
of continuing education every two years from the date of 
certification from a training entity approved by the certifying 
body pursuant to 12VAC5-403-40. These hours shall be in 
courses outlined in the Virginia Curriculum Requirements for 
the State-Certified Doula. 

12VAC5-403-70. Certification not required.  

This regulation does not require a doula to be certified by a 
certifying body approved by the State Board of Health in 
order to practice as a doula in Virginia. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R21-6484; Filed November 9, 2021, 10:22 a.m. 

  ––––––––––––––––––  

TITLE 20. PUBLIC UTILITIES AND 
TELECOMMUNICATIONS 

STATE CORPORATION COMMISSION 

Proposed Regulation 
REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The State Corporation Commission 
is claiming an exemption from the Administrative Process Act 
in accordance with § 2.2-4002 A 2 of the Code of Virginia, 
which exempts courts, any agency of the Supreme Court, and 
any agency that by the Constitution is expressly granted any of 
the powers of a court of record. 
Title of Regulation: 20VAC5-315. Regulations Governing 
Net Energy Metering (amending 20VAC5-315-20). 
Statutory Authority: §§ 12.1-13 and 56-594 of the Code of 
Virginia. 
Public Hearing Information: A public hearing will be 
scheduled upon request. 
Public Comment Deadline: January 4, 2022. 
Agency Contact: Mike Cizenski, Principal Utility Engineer, 
Public Utility Regulation Division, State Corporation 
Commission, P.O. Box 1197, Richmond, VA 23218, telephone 
(804) 371-9441, or email mike.cizenski@scc.virginia.gov. 
Summary: 

Pursuant to Chapter 266 of the 2021 Acts of Assembly, 
Special Session I, the amendment conforms the definition of 
"small agricultural generator" to § 56-594.2 of the Code of 
Virginia to include any business granted a manufacturer 
license pursuant to subdivisions 1 through 6 of § 4.1-206.1 
of the Code of Virginia.  

AT RlCHMOND, NOVEMBER 16, 2021 

COMMONWEALTH OF VIRGINIA, ex rel.  

STATE CORPORATION COMMISSION  

CASE NO. PUR-2021-00251 

Ex Parte: In the matter of amending regulations 
governing net energy metering 

ORDER NUNC PRO TUNC 

On November 12, 2021, the State Corporation Commission 
("Commission") entered an Order Establishing Proceeding in 
the above-captioned docket to initiate a rulemaking proceeding 
to amend the Regulations Governing Net Energy Metering, 
20 VAC 5-315-10 et seq. ("Net Energy Metering Rules"). 
Commission Staff ("Staff') prepared a proposed amendment to 
Rule 20 VAC 5-315-20 of the Net Energy Metering Rules 
("Proposed Amendment"), which should have been appended 
to the Order Establishing Proceeding. 

It has come to the Commission's attention that the Order 
Establishing Proceeding was entered without the Proposed 
Amendment being appended thereto. In addition, it has also 
been determined that Ordering Paragraph (7) contains an 
incorrect date reference. 1 

NOW THE COMMISSION, upon consideration of this matter, 
is of the opinion and finds that an Order Nunc Pro Tune should 
be entered to make the Proposed Amendment part of the record 
and to revise Ordering Paragraph (7) of the Order Establishing 
Proceeding. 

Accordingly, IT IS ORDERED THAT:  

(1) The Proposed Amendment is appended hereto and made part 
of the record. 

(2) Ordering Paragraph (7) of the Order Establishing Proceeding 
is removed and replaced nunc pro tune with the following: On or 
before January 18, 2022, the Staff shall file with the Clerk of the 
Commission a report on or a response to any comments, proposals, 
or requests for hearing submitted to the Commission on the 
Proposed Amendment.  

(3) In accordance with Ordering Paragraph (4) of the Order 
Establishing Proceeding, on or before December 2, 2021, each 
Virginia electric distribution company to which the Net Energy 
Metering Rules apply shall serve a copy of this Order Nunc Pro 
Tune, including the attached Proposed Amendment, in addition to 
a copy of the Order Establishing Proceeding, upon each of the 
Virginia electric distribution company's respective net metering 
customers and each of their existing small agricultural generators. 
The certificate of service required to be filed with the Clerk of the 
Commission no later than December 22, 2021, shall include 
verification of service of both Orders. 

(4) All other provisions of the Order Establishing Proceeding 
remain in full force and effect. 

(5) This matter is continued. 
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A COPY hereof shall be sent electronically by the Clerk of the 
Commission to all persons on the official Service List in this 
matter. The Service List is available from the Clerk of the 
Commission. 
_____________________________ 

1Ordering Paragraph (7) concerns the deadline for Staff's report on or a 
response to any comments, proposals, or requests for hearing submitted to the 
Commission on the Proposed Amendment. 

AT RICHMOND, NOVEMBER 12, 2021 
COMMONWEALTH OF VIRGINIA, ex rel. 
STATE CORPORATION COMMISSION 

CASE NO. PUR-2021-00251 
Ex Parte: In the matter of amending regulations 
governing net energy metering 

ORDER ESTABLISHING PROCEEDING 

The Regulations Governing Net Energy Metering, 20 VAC 5-
315-10 et seq. ("Net Energy Metering Rules"), adopted by the 
State Corporation Commission ("Commission") pursuant to 
§ 56-594 of the Code of Virginia ("Code"), establish the 
requirements for participation by an eligible customer-
generator in net energy metering in the Commonwealth. The 
Net Energy Metering Rules include conditions for 
interconnection and metering, billing, and contract 
requirements between net metering customers, electric 
distribution companies, and energy service providers. 

Chapter 266 of the 2021 Acts of Assembly, Special Session I 
("Chapter 266"), amended the definition of "[s]mall 
agricultural generator" in Code § 56-594.2 as follows: 

"Small agricultural generator" means a customer that: ... 
2. Operates a small agricultural generating facility as part 
of (i) an agricultural business or (ii) any business granted 
a manufacturer license pursuant to subdivisions 1 through 
6 of § 4.1-206.1;..." 

The current Net Energy Metering Rules thus must be revised 
to reflect the change set forth in Chapter 266. 

NOW THE COMMISSION, upon consideration of the 
matter, is of the opinion and finds that a proceeding should be 
established to amend the Net Energy Metering Rules in 
keeping with the expanded definition of "[s]mall agricultural 
generator" in Chapter 266.  

To initiate this proceeding, the Commission Staff has 
prepared a proposed amendment to Rule 20 VAC 5-315-20 of 
the Net Energy Metering Rules ("Proposed Amendment"), 
which is appended to this Order. The Commission finds that 
notice of the Proposed Amendment should be given to the 
public; that interested persons should be provided an 
opportunity to file written comments on, propose 
modifications or supplements to, or request a hearing on the 
Proposed Amendment; and that each Virginia electric 
distribution company within the meaning of 20 VAC 5-315-20 

should serve a copy of this Order upon each of their respective 
net metering customers and each of their existing small 
agricultural generators and file a certificate of service.  

The Commission takes judicial notice of the ongoing public 
health issues related to the spread of the coronavirus, or 
COVID-19. The Commission has taken certain actions, and 
may take additional actions going forward, that could impact 
the procedures in this proceeding.1 

Accordingly, IT IS ORDERED THAT: 

(1) This case is docketed and assigned Case No. PUR-2021-
00251. 

(2) All comments and other documents and pleadings filed in 
this matter shall be submitted electronically to the extent 
authorized by Rule 5 VAC 5-20-150, Copies and format, of the 
Commission's Rules of Practice and Procedure,2 as modified 
herein.3 Confidential and Extraordinarily Sensitive 
Information shall not be submitted electronically and shall 
comply with Rule 5 VAC 5-20-170, Confidential information, 
of the Rules of Practice. At this time, any person seeking to 
hand deliver and physically file or submit any pleading or other 
document shall contact the Clerk's Office Document Control 
Center at (804) 371-9838 to arrange the delivery.4 

(3) The Commission's Division of Information Resources 
shall forward a copy of this Order Establishing Proceeding to 
the Registrar of Regulations for publication in the Virginia 
Register of Regulations. 

(4) On or before December 2, 2021, each Virginia electric 
distribution company to which the Net Energy Metering Rules 
apply shall serve a copy of this Order upon each of their 
respective net metering customers and each of their existing 
small agricultural generators and shall file with the Clerk of the 
Commission a certificate of service no later than December 22, 
2021, consistent with the findings above. 

(5) An electronic copy of the Proposed Amendment may be 
obtained by submitting a request to Michael A. Cizenski in the 
Commission's Division of Public Utility Regulation at the 
following email address: mike.cizenski@scc.virginia.gov. An 
electronic copy of the Proposed Amendment can be found at 
the Division of Public Utility Regulation's website: 
scc.virginia.gov/pages/Rulemaking. Interested persons may 
also download unofficial copies of the Order and the Proposed 
Amendment from the Commission's website: 
scc.virginia.gov/pages/Case-lnformation. 

(6) On or before January 4, 2022, any interested person may 
comment on, propose modifications or supplements to, or 
request a hearing on the Proposed Amendment following the 
instructions on the Commission's website: 
scc.virginia.gov/casecomments/Submit-Public-Comments. 
Those unable, as a practical matter, to submit such documents 
electronically may file such comments by U.S. mail to the 
Clerk of the State Corporation Commission, c/o Document 
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Control Center, P.O. Box 2118, Richmond, Virginia 23218-
2118. All such documents shall refer to Case No. PUR-2021-
00251. Individuals should be specific in their comments, 
proposals, or supplements to the Proposed Amendment and 
should address only those issues pertaining to the amendment 
of § 56-594.2 of the Code pursuant to Chapter 266. Issues 
outside the scope of addressing this amendment will not be 
open for consideration. Any request for hearing shall state with 
specificity why the issues raised in the request for hearing 
cannot be adequately addressed in written comments. If a 
sufficient request for hearing is not received, the Commission 
may consider the matter and enter an order based upon the 
comments, documents or other pleadings filed in this 
proceeding.  

(7) On or before January 18, 2022, the Staff shall file with the 
Clerk of the Commission a report on or a response to any 
comments, proposals, or requests for hearing submitted to the 
Commission on the Proposed Amendment. 

(8) This matter is continued for further orders of the 
Commission. 

A COPY hereof shall be sent electronically by the Clerk of 
the Commission to all persons on the official Service List in 
this matter. The Service List is available from the Clerk of the 
Commission. 
__________________________________________________ 

1See, e.g., Commonwealth of Virginia, ex rel. State Corporation Commission, 
Ex Parte: Electronic Service of Commission Orders, Case No. CLK-2020-
00004, Doc. Con. Cen. No. 200330035, Order Concerning Electronic Service 
of Commission Orders (Mar. 19, 2020), extended by Doc. Con. Cen. No. 
200520105, Order Regarding the State Corporation Commission's Revised 
Operating Procedures During COVID-19 Emergency (May 11, 2020); 
Commonwealth of Virginia, ex rel., State Corporation Commission, Ex Parte: 
Revised Operating Procedures During COVID-19 Emergency, Case No. CLK-
2020-00005, Doc. Con. Cen. No. 200330042, Order Regarding the State 
Corporation Commission's Revised Operating Procedures During COVID-19 
Emergency (Mar. 19, 2020) ("Revised Operating Procedures Order"), 
extended by Doc. Con. Cen. No. 200520105, Order Regarding the State 
Corporation Commission's Revised Operating Procedures During COVID-19 
Emergency (May 11, 2020); Commonwealth of Virginia, ex rel. State 
Corporation Commission, Ex Parte: Electronic service among parties during 
COVID-19 emergency, Case No. CLK-2020-00007, Doc. Con. Cen. No. 
200410009, Order Requiring Electronic Service (Apr. 1, 2020). 
25 VAC 5-20-10 et seq. ("Rules of Practice"). 
3See supra, n.1. 
4As noted in the Revised Operating Procedures Order, submissions to the 
Commission's Clerk's Office via U.S. mail or commercial mail equivalents 
may be subject to delayed processing due to the COVID-19 public health 
issues. 

20VAC5-315-20. Definitions. 

The following words and terms when used in this chapter 
shall have the following meanings unless the context clearly 
indicates otherwise: 

"Agricultural business" means any sole proprietorship, 
corporation, partnership, electing small business (Subchapter 

S) corporation, or limited liability company engaged primarily 
in the production and sale of plants and animals, products 
collected from plants and animals, or plant and animal services 
that are useful to the public. 

"Agricultural net metering customer" means a customer that 
operates an electrical generating facility consisting of one or 
more agricultural renewable fuel generators having an 
aggregate generation capacity of not more than 500 kilowatts 
as part of an agricultural business under a net metering service 
arrangement. An agricultural net metering customer may be 
served by multiple meters serving the agricultural net metering 
customer that are located at the same or adjacent sites and that 
may be aggregated into one account. This account shall be 
served under the appropriate tariff. 

"Agricultural renewable fuel generator" or "agricultural 
renewable fuel generating facility" means one or more 
electrical generators that: 

1. Use as their sole energy source solar power, wind power, 
or aerobic or anaerobic digester gas; 

2. The agricultural net metering customer owns and 
operates, or has contracted with other persons to own or 
operate, or both; 

3. Are located on land owned or controlled by the 
agricultural business; 

4. Are connected to the agricultural net metering customer's 
wiring on the agricultural net metering customer's side of the 
agricultural net metering customer's interconnection with the 
distributor; 

5. Are interconnected and operated in parallel with an 
electric company's distribution facilities; and 

6. Are used primarily to provide energy to metered accounts 
of the agricultural business. 

"Billing period" means, as to a particular agricultural net 
metering customer or a net metering customer, the time period 
between the two meter readings upon which the electric 
distribution company and the energy service provider calculate 
the agricultural net metering customer's or net metering 
customer's bills. 

"Billing period credit" means, for a nontime-of-use 
agricultural net metering customer or a nontime-of-use net 
metering customer, the quantity of electricity generated and fed 
back into the electric grid by the agricultural net metering 
customer's agricultural renewable fuel generator or by the net 
metering customer's renewable fuel generator in excess of the 
electricity supplied to the customer over the billing period. For 
time-of-use agricultural net metering customers or time-of-use 
net metering customers, billing period credits are determined 
separately for each time-of-use tier. 

"Competitive service provider" means a person, licensed by 
the State Corporation Commission, that sells or offers to sell a 
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competitive energy service within the Commonwealth. This 
term includes affiliated competitive service providers but does 
not include a party that supplies electricity or natural gas, or 
both, exclusively for its own consumption or the consumption 
of one or more of its affiliates. For the purpose of this chapter, 
competitive service providers include aggregators. 

"Contiguous sites" means a group of land parcels in which 
each parcel shares at least one boundary point with at least one 
other parcel in the group. Property whose surface is divided 
only by public right-of-way is considered contiguous. 

"Customer" means a net metering customer or an agricultural 
net metering customer. 

"Demand charge-based time-of-use tariff" means a retail 
tariff for electric supply service that has two or more time-of-
use tiers for energy-based charges and an electricity supply 
demand (kilowatt) charge. 

"Electric cooperative" means an electric distribution 
company organized pursuant to Chapter 9.1 (§ 56-231.15 et 
seq.) of Title 56 of the Code of Virginia, owned by its 
members. 

"Electric distribution company" means the entity that owns or 
operates the distribution facilities delivering electricity to the 
premises of an agricultural net metering customer or a net 
metering customer. 

"Energy service provider (supplier)" means the entity 
providing electricity supply service, either tariffed or 
competitive service, to an agricultural net metering customer 
or a net metering customer. 

"Excess generation" means the amount of electrical energy 
generated in excess of the electrical energy consumed by the 
agricultural net metering customer or net metering customer 
over the course of the net metering period. For time-of-use 
agricultural net metering customers or net metering customers, 
excess generation is determined separately for each time-of-
use tier. 

"Generator" or "generating facility" means an electrical 
generating facility consisting of one or more renewable fuel 
generators or one or more agricultural renewable fuel 
generators that meet the criteria under the definition of "net 
metering customer" and "agricultural net metering customer," 
respectively. 

"Low-income utility customer" means the same as that term 
is defined in § 56-576 of the Code of Virginia. 

"Net metering customer" means for an electric cooperative, a 
customer owning and operating, or contracting with other 
persons to own or operate, or both, an electrical generating 
facility consisting of one or more renewable fuel generators 
having an aggregate generation capacity of not more than 20 
kilowatts for residential customers and not more than one 
megawatt for nonresidential customers. The generating facility 

shall be operated under a net metering service arrangement. 
For an investor-owned electric distribution company, "net 
metering customer" means a customer owning and operating, 
or contracting with other persons to own or operate, or both, an 
electrical generating facility consisting of one or more 
renewable fuel generators having an aggregate generation 
capacity of not more than 25 kilowatts for residential 
customers and not more than three megawatts for 
nonresidential customers. The generating facility shall be 
operated under a net metering service arrangement. 

"Net metering period" means each successive 12-month 
period beginning with the first meter reading date following 
the final interconnection of an agricultural net metering 
customer or a net metering customer's generating facility 
consisting of one or more agricultural renewable fuel 
generators or one or more renewable fuel generators, 
respectively, with the electric distribution company's 
distribution facilities. 

"Net metering service" means providing retail electric service 
to an agricultural net metering customer operating an 
agricultural renewable fuel generating facility or a net metering 
customer operating a renewable fuel generating facility and 
measuring the difference, over the net metering period, 
between the electricity supplied to the customer from the 
electric grid and the electricity generated and fed back to the 
electric grid by the customer. 

"Nonprofit customer" or "not-for-profit customer" means a 
person that is exempt from federal income taxation, including 
(without limitation) schools, hospitals, institutions of higher 
education, public charities, and churches and other houses of 
religious worship, as determined by the Internal Revenue 
Service. 

"Person" means any individual, sole proprietorship, 
corporation, limited liability company, partnership, 
association, company, business, trust, joint venture, or other 
private legal entity, the Commonwealth, or any city, county, 
town, authority, or other political subdivision of the 
Commonwealth. 

"Phase I Utility" shall be defined in accordance with 
subdivision A 1 of § 56-585.1 of the Code of Virginia. 

"Phase II Utility" shall be defined in accordance with 
subdivision A 1 of § 56-585.1 of the Code of Virginia. 

"Purchase power agreement provider" or "PPA provider" 
means, in an electric cooperative service territory, a person 
registered with the commission's Division of Public Utility 
Regulation pursuant to 20VAC5-315-77 to offer third-party 
partial requirements power purchase agreements to customers. 

"Registry" means, in reference to a PPA provider, the list of 
those persons registered with the commission's Division of 
Public Utility Regulation as PPA providers. 
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"Renewable Energy Certificate" or "REC" represents the 
renewable energy attributes associated with the production of 
one megawatt-hour (MWh) of electrical energy by a generator. 

"Renewable fuel generator" or "renewable fuel generating 
facility" means one or more electrical generators that: 

1. Use renewable energy, as defined by § 56-576 of the Code 
of Virginia, as their total fuel source; 

2. The net metering customer owns and operates, or has 
contracted with other persons to own or operate, or both; 

3. Are located on land owned or leased by the net metering 
customer and connected to the net metering customer's 
wiring on the net metering customer's side of its 
interconnection with the distributor; 

4. Are interconnected pursuant to a net metering 
arrangement and operated in parallel with the electric 
distribution company's distribution facilities; and 

5. Are intended primarily to offset all or part of the net 
metering customer's own electricity requirements. For an 
electric cooperative, the capacity of any generating facility 
installed on or after July 1, 2015, shall not exceed the 
expected annual energy consumption based on the previous 
12 months of billing history or an annualized calculation of 
billing history if 12 months of billing history is not available. 
For an investor-owned electric distribution company, the 
capacity of any generating facility installed between July 1, 
2015, and July 1, 2020, shall not exceed the expected annual 
energy consumption based on the previous 12 months of 
billing history or an annualized calculation of billing history 
if 12 months of billing history is not available. 

"Small agricultural generating facility" means an electrical 
generating facility that: 

1. Has a capacity of not more than 1.5 megawatts and does 
not exceed 150% of the customer's expected annual energy 
consumption based on the previous 12 months of billing 
history or an annualized calculation of billing history if 12 
months of billing history is not available; 

2. Uses as its total source of fuel renewable energy; 

3. Is located on the customer's premises and is 
interconnected with the utility's distribution system through 
a separate meter; 

4. Is interconnected and operated in parallel with an electric 
utility's distribution system but not transmission facilities; 

5. Is designed so that the electricity generated is expected to 
remain on the utility's distribution system; and 

6. Is a qualifying small power production facility pursuant to 
the Public Utility Regulatory Policies Act of 1978 (P.L. 95-
617). 

"Small agricultural generator" means a customer that: 

1. Is not an eligible agricultural customer-generator pursuant 
to § 56-594 of the Code of Virginia; 

2. Operates a small agricultural generating facility as part of 
(i) an agricultural business or (ii) any business granted a 
manufacturer license pursuant to subdivisions 1 through 6 of 
§ 4.1-206.1 of the Code of Virginia; 

3. May be served by multiple meters that are located at 
separate but contiguous sites; 

4. May aggregate the electricity consumption measured by 
the meters, solely for purposes of calculating 150% of the 
customer's expected annual energy consumption but not for 
billing or retail service purposes, provided that the same 
utility serves all of its meters; 

5. Uses not more than 25% of the contiguous land owned or 
controlled by the agricultural business for purposes of the 
renewable energy generating facility; and 

6. Provides the electric utility with a certification, attested 
under oath, as to the amount of land being used for 
renewable generation. 

"System peak" for an electric cooperative, means the highest 
peak, based on the noncoincident peak of the electric 
cooperative or the coincident peak of all of the electric 
cooperative's customers of the past three years listed in Part O, 
Line 20 of Form 7 (Financial And Operating Report - Electric 
Distribution) filed with the U.S. Department of Agriculture's 
Rural Utilities Service (RUS), or an equivalent form if a 
cooperative is not an RUS borrower, less any portion of the 
cooperative's total load that is served by a competitive service 
provider or by a market-based rate. 

"Third-party partial requirements power purchase agreement" 
or "third-party PPA" means, for an electric cooperative, an 
agreement entered into pursuant to § 56-594.01 K of the Code 
of Virginia between a customer engaging in net energy 
metering and a registered PPA provider pursuant to 20VAC5-
315-77. 

"Time-of-use customer" means an agricultural net metering 
customer or net metering customer receiving retail electricity 
supply service under a demand charge-based time-of-use tariff. 

"Time-of-use period" means an interval of time over which 
the energy (kilowatt-hour) rate charged to a time-of-use 
customer does not change. 

"Time-of-use tier" or "tier" means all time-of-use periods 
given the same name (e.g., on-peak, off-peak, critical peak, 
etc.) for the purpose of time-differentiating energy (kilowatt-
hour)-based charges. The rates associated with a particular tier 
may vary by day and by season. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R22-6231; Filed November 14, 2021, 4:51 p.m. 
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Guidance Documents 

PUBLIC COMMENT OPPORTUNITY 
Pursuant to § 2.2-4002.1 of the Code of Virginia, a certified guidance document is subject to a 30-day public comment period 
after publication in the Virginia Register of Regulations and prior to the guidance document's effective date. During the public 
comment period, comments may be made through the Virginia Regulatory Town Hall website (http://www.townhall.virginia.gov) 
or sent to the agency contact. Under subsection C of § 2.2-4002.1, the effective date of the guidance document may be delayed 
for an additional period. The guidance document may also be withdrawn. 

The following guidance documents have been submitted for publication by the listed agencies for a public comment period. 
Online users of this issue of the Virginia Register of Regulations may click on the name of a guidance document to access it. 
Guidance documents are also available on the Virginia Regulatory Town Hall (http://www.townhall.virginia.gov) or from the 
agency contact or may be viewed at the Office of the Registrar of Regulations, 900 East Main Street, Richmond, Virginia 23219. 

BOARD OF ACCOUNTANCY 
Title of Document: Continuing Professional Education 
Violation Penalties - Guidelines. 

Public Comment Deadline: January 5, 2022. 

Effective Date: January 6, 2022. 

Agency Contact: Steven Burkarth, Regulatory Coordinator, 
Board of Accountancy, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 402, 
Richmond, VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-8505, or email 
steven.burkarth@boa.virginia.gov. 

STATE BOARD OF EDUCATION 
Title of Document: Board of Education Guidance on Cultural 
Competency Training for Teachers and Other Licensed School 
Board Employees in Virginia Public Schools. 

Public Comment Deadline: January 5, 2022. 

Effective Date: January 6, 2022. 

Agency Contact: Jim Chapman, Regulatory and Legal 
Coordinator, Department of Education, James Monroe 
Building, 25th Floor, 101 North 14th Street, Richmond, VA 
23219, telephone (804) 225-2540, or email 
jim.chapman@doe.virginia.gov.  

DEPARTMENT OF MEDICAL ASSISTANCE 
SERVICES 

Title of Document: Development Disability Waiver - 
Customized Rate Provider Guidelines. 

Public Comment Deadline: January 5, 2022. 

Effective Date: January 6, 2022. 

Agency Contact: Emily McClellan, Policy and Research 
Division, Department of Medical Assistance Services, 600 
East Broad Street, Suite 1300, Richmond, VA 23219, 
telephone (804) 371-6043, or email 
emily.mcclellan@dmas.virginia.gov. 

DEPARTMENT OF MOTOR VEHICLES 
Title of Document: Military Guide. 

Public Comment Deadline: January 5, 2022. 

Effective Date: January 6, 2022. 

Agency Contact: Melissa K. Velazquez, Legislative Director, 
Department of Motor Vehicles, 2300 West Broad Street, 
Richmond, VA 23220, telephone (804) 367-1844, or email 
melissa.velazquez@dmv.virginia.gov. 

STATE BOARD OF SOCIAL SERVICES 
Title of Document: Child Care Subsidy Guidance Manual. 

Public Comment Deadline: January 5, 2022. 

Effective Date: January 6, 2022. 

Agency Contact: Nikki Clarke Callaghan, Legislation, 
Regulations and Guidance Manager, Department of Social 
Services, 801 East Main Street, Richmond, VA 23219, 
telephone (804) 726-7943, or email 
nikki.clarke@dss.virginia.gov. 

https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title2.2/chapter40/section2.2-4002.1/
http://www.townhall.virginia.gov/
https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title2.2/chapter40/section2.2-4002.1/
http://www.townhall.virginia.gov/
https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/GetFile.cfm?File=C:%5CTownHall%5Cdocroot%5CGuidanceDocs_Proposed%5C226%5CGDoc_BOA_5028_20211115.pdf
https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/GetFile.cfm?File=C:%5CTownHall%5Cdocroot%5CGuidanceDocs_Proposed%5C226%5CGDoc_BOA_5028_20211115.pdf
mailto:steven.burkarth@boa.virginia.gov
https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/GetFile.cfm?File=C:%5CTownHall%5Cdocroot%5CGuidanceDocs_Proposed%5C201%5CGDoc_DOE_5030_20211118.pdf
https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/GetFile.cfm?File=C:%5CTownHall%5Cdocroot%5CGuidanceDocs_Proposed%5C201%5CGDoc_DOE_5030_20211118.pdf
https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/GetFile.cfm?File=C:%5CTownHall%5Cdocroot%5CGuidanceDocs_Proposed%5C201%5CGDoc_DOE_5030_20211118.pdf
mailto:jim.chapman@doe.virginia.gov
https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/GetFile.cfm?File=C:%5CTownHall%5Cdocroot%5CGuidanceDocs_Proposed%5C602%5CGDoc_DMAS_5026_20211112.pdf
https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/GetFile.cfm?File=C:%5CTownHall%5Cdocroot%5CGuidanceDocs_Proposed%5C602%5CGDoc_DMAS_5026_20211112.pdf
mailto:Emily.McClellan@dmas.virginia.gov
https://www.dmv.virginia.gov/documents/guidance/dmv206_revisions.pdf
mailto:melissa.velazquez@dmv.virginia.gov
https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/GetFile.cfm?File=C:%5CTownHall%5Cdocroot%5CGuidanceDocs_Proposed%5C765%5CGDoc_DSS_5024_20211110.pdf
mailto:nikki.clarke@dss.virginia.gov
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General Notices 

DEPARTMENT OF BEHAVIORAL HEALTH AND 
DEVELOPMENTAL SERVICES 

Public Comment Opportunity on Proposed 
Variances to the Regulations to Assure the Rights 
of Individuals Receiving Services from Providers 
Licensed, Funded, or Operated by the Department 
of Behavioral Health and Developmental Services 

Notice of action: The Department of Behavioral Health and 
Developmental Services (DBHDS), in accordance with Part 
VI, Variances (12VAC35-115-220), of the Regulations to 
Assure the Rights of Individuals Receiving Services from 
Providers Licensed, Funded, or Operated by the Department of 
Behavioral Health and Developmental Services (12VAC35-
115), hereafter referred to as the "Human Rights Regulations," 
is announcing an opportunity for public comment on 
applications for proposed variances to the Human Rights 
Regulations submitted to the State Human Rights Committee 
(SHRC). The purpose of the regulations is to ensure and protect 
the legal and human rights of individuals receiving services in 
facilities or programs operated, licensed, or funded by 
DBHDS. 

Each variance application references the specific part of the 
Human Rights Regulations to which a variance is needed, the 
proposed wording of the substitute rule or procedure, and the 
justification for a variance. Such application also describes 
time limits and other conditions for duration and the 
circumstances that will end the applicability of the variance. 
After considering all available information including 
comments, the SHRC intends to prepare a written decision 
deferring, disapproving, modifying, or approving each 
variance application. All variances shall be approved for a 
specific time period. The decision and reasons for the variance 
will be published in a later issue of this Register. 

Purpose of notice: The SHRC is seeking comment on the 
following applications for proposed variances to the Human 
Rights Regulations: 

1. Renewal of Variances for DBHDS Western State Hospital 
(WSH). 

Variance to Procedures for Behavioral Treatment Plans: 

12VAC35-115-105 H: Providers shall not use seclusion in a 
behavioral treatment plan. 

Variance to Procedures for Use of Seclusion, Restraint, and 
Time Out: 

12VAC35-115-110 C 3: Only residential facilities for children 
that are licensed under the Regulations for Children's 
Residential Facilities (12VAC35-46) and inpatient hospitals 
may use seclusion and only in an emergency. 

Explanation: The requested variances will allow WSH to place 
an individual in an environment of seclusion, at the individual's 

request, and not as related to an emergency, in order to prevent 
self-injurious harm to the individual and to the staff members 
responsible for his care. 

2. New Variance for DBHDS Commonwealth Center for 
Children and Adolescents (CCCA). 

Variance to Procedures for Behavioral Treatment Plans: 

12VAC35-115-105 H: Providers shall not use seclusion in a 
behavioral treatment plan. 

Explanation: The requested variance will allow CCCA to place 
the individual (youth) in seclusion when different alternatives 
have been attempted without sustained success in maintaining 
safe behaviors as part of the behavioral treatment plan. 

Variances to these regulations by the state facilities listed are 
reviewed by the SHRC at least annually, with reports to the 
SHRC regarding the variances as requested. 

3. New Variance for Youth for Tomorrow New Life Center, 
Inc. 

Variance to Procedures to Ensure Dignity: 

12VAC35-115-50 C 7 and C 8: Generally granting an 
individual the right to communicate privately with anyone via 
telephone and to have or refuse visitors, unless certain listed 
exceptions are met. 

Explanation: In order to maintain the safety and security of 
individuals (youth), the program may restrict communication 
via telephone and in person visitation to only those names 
placed on a list generated by the parent or legal guardian and 
the resident. 

The requested variance will allow Youth for Tomorrow New 
Life Center, Inc. to utilize an approved contact list for phone 
calls and an approved contact list for visitation for each 
individual. The lists shall be developed by the individual's 
parent or legal guardian in order to protect the best interests of 
the individual. The individual shall be present and given the 
opportunity to participate with the parent or legal guardian in 
creating the phone and visitation lists. 

Public comment period: December 6, 2021, through January 6, 
2022. 

Description of proposal: The proposed variance applications 
must comply with the general requirements of Part VI, 
Variances (12VAC35-115-220), of the Human Rights 
Regulations. 

How to comment: The SHRC accepts written comments by 
email, fax, and postal mail. In order to be considered, 
comments must include the full name, address, and telephone 
number of the person commenting and be received by DBHDS, 
who will provide them to the SHRC, by the last day of the 
comment period. All information received is part of the public 
record. 
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To review a proposal: Variance applications and any 
supporting documentation may be obtained by contacting the 
DBHDS representative listed. 

Contact Information: Taneika Goldman, Director, Office of 
Human Rights, Department of Behavioral Health and 
Developmental Services, 1220 East Bank Street, P.O. Box 
1797, Richmond, VA 23218-1797, telephone (804) 786-3988, 
FAX (833) 734-1241, or email 
taneika.goldman@dbhds.virginia.gov. 

BOARD OF HOUSING AND COMMUNITY 
DEVELOPMENT 

Public Hearing Announcement 
Pursuant to § 2.2-4006 A 12 and § 36-100 of the Code of 
Virginia, the Board of Housing and Community Development 
will hold a public hearing on the Virginia Uniform Statewide 
Building Code (13VAC5-63), Virginia Statewide Fire 
Prevention Code (13VAC5-51), Virginia Amusement Device 
Regulations (13VAC5-31), and the Virginia Industrialized 
Building Safety Regulations (13VAC5-91). 

The purpose of the public hearing is to consider updating the 
codes to the newest editions of the model codes and standards 
and to consider related proposals prior to the publication of 
proposed regulations. 

The public hearing will be held at Virginia Housing 
Development Authority, 601 South Belvidere Street, 
Richmond, VA 23220, beginning at 10 a.m. on January 10, 
2022. For more information, contact Kyle Flanders at 
telephone (804) 786-6761 or email 
kyle.flanders@dhcd.virginia.gov. See the Virginia Regulatory 
Town Hall website for additional details at 
https://townhall.virginia.gov/. 

Contact Information: Kyle Flanders, Senior Policy Analyst, 
Department of Housing and Community Development, Main 
Street Centre, 600 East Main Street, Suite 300, Richmond, VA 
23219, telephone (804) 786-6761, FAX (804) 371-7090. 

DEPARTMENT OF MEDICAL ASSISTANCE 
SERVICES 

Intent to Amend the Virginia State Plan for Medical 
Assistance Pursuant to § 1902(a)(13) of the Social 
Security Act (USC § 1396a(a)(13)) - Personal Care 

Rate Increase 
The Virginia Department of Medical Assistance Services 
(DMAS) hereby affords the public notice of its intention to 
amend the Virginia State Plan for Medical Assistance to 
provide for changes to the Methods and Standards for 
Establishing Payment Rates; Other Types of Care (12VAC30-
80). 

This notice is intended to satisfy the requirements of 42 CFR 
447.205 and of § 1902(a)(13) of the Social Security Act, 
42 USC § 1396a(a)(13). A copy of this notice is available for 
public review from the contact listed at the end of the notice. 

Comment period began on November 12, 2021, and ends 
December 12, 2021. 

DMAS is specifically soliciting input from stakeholders, 
providers and beneficiaries, on the potential impact of the 
proposed changes discussed in this notice. Comments or 
inquiries may be submitted, in writing to Meredith Lee and 
such comments are available for review at the same address. 
Comments may also be submitted, in writing, on the Town Hall 
public comment forum at 
https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/generalnotice.cfm. 

In accordance with Amendment Item 313 #17c, DMAS is 
increasing the rates for agency-directed and consumer-directed 
personal care services under the Early Periodic Screening, and 
Diagnosis and Treatment (EPSDT) benefit by 12.5%, effective 
January 1, 2022. A corresponding rate increase of 12.5% will 
be provided for these services and for companion and respite 
services provided under home and community-based waivers, 
however, the increase is not included in a state plan amendment 
but via waiver documentation. 

The expected increase in annual aggregate expenditures is 
$41,365,521 in state general funds, $155,872 in special funds 
and $42,793,026 in federal funds in federal fiscal year 2022. 

Contact Information: Meredith Lee, Policy, Regulations, and 
Manual Supervisor, Division of Policy and Research, 
Department of Medical Assistance Services, 600 East Broad 
Street, Suite 1300, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 371-
4300, FAX (804) 786-1680. 

STATE WATER CONTROL BOARD 

Proposed Judicial Consent Decree Amendment for 
Hampton Roads Sanitation District 

The Commonwealth of Virginia and the United States of 
America are proposing to amend a judicial consent decree with 
Hampton Roads Sanitation District (HRSD) for violations of 
the Commonwealth's State Water Control Law and regulations 
and the Clean Water Act related to the HRSD sanitary sewer 
system and sewage treatment plants serving Chesapeake, 
Hampton, Newport News, Norfolk, Poquoson, Portsmouth, 
Suffolk, Virginia Beach, Williamsburg, Gloucester, Isle of 
Wight, James City, York, and Smithfield, Virginia. The 
proposed consent decree amendment is available at the office 
listed or online at https://www.deq.virginia.gov/permits-
regulations/public-notices/enforcement-orders. Comments 
will be accepted by the contact person from December 6, 2021, 
through January 5, 2022. 

mailto:taneika.goldman@dbhds.virginia.gov
mailto:kyle.flanders@dhcd.virginia.gov
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/Register/RegisterPublication/SectionView/388/
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/Register/RegisterPublication/SectionView/388/GeneralNotices/generalnotice.cfm
https://www.deq.virginia.gov/permits-regulations/public-notices/enforcement-orders
https://www.deq.virginia.gov/permits-regulations/public-notices/enforcement-orders
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Contact Information: Kristen Sadtler, 1111 East Main Street, 
Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 698-4149, FAX (804) 
698-4178, or email kristen.sadtler@deq.virginia.gov. 

Proposed Enforcement Action for Norfolk Southern 
Railway Company 

An enforcement action has been proposed for Norfolk 
Southern Railway Company for violations related to railway 
maintenance located approximately 0.16 miles southwest of 
the Gap Road and Dismal Hollow Road intersection in Warren 
County, Virginia. The State Water Control Board proposes to 
issue a consent order with penalty to Norfolk Southern Railway 
Company to address noncompliance with State Water Control 
Law. A description of the proposed action is available at the 
Department of Environmental Quality office listed or online at 
www.deq.virginia.gov. The staff contact will accept comments 
by email, fax, or postal mail from December 6, 2021, to 
January 8, 2022. 

Contact Information: Eric Millard, Enforcement Specialist, 
Department of Environmental Quality, Valley Regional 
Office, 4411 Early Road, P.O. Box 3000, Harrisonburg, VA 
22801, FAX (804) 698-4178, or email 
eric.millard@deq.virginia.gov. 

Proposed Enforcement Action for Norfolk Southern 
Railway Company 

An enforcement action has been proposed for Norfolk 
Southern Railway Company for violations related to railway 
maintenance located near McIntire Park Drive in the City of 
Charlottesville, Virginia. The State Water Control Board 
proposes to issue a consent order with penalty to Norfolk 
Southern Railway Company to address noncompliance with 
State Water Control Law. A description of the proposed action 
is available at the Department of Environmental Quality office 
listed or online at www.deq.virginia.gov. The staff contact will 
accept comments by email, fax or postal mail from December 
6, 2021, to January 5, 2022. 

Contact Information: Eric Millard, Enforcement Specialist, 
Department of Environmental Quality, Valley Regional 
Office, 4411 Early Road, P.O. Box 3000, Harrisonburg, VA 
22801, FAX (804) 698-4178, or email 
eric.millard@deq.virginia.gov. 

Proposed Enforcement Action for  
Titan Virginia Ready-Mix LLC 

An enforcement action has been proposed for Titan Virginia 
Ready-Mix LLC for violations of the State Water Control Law 
and regulations at the Titan Virginia Ready-Mix LLC - 
Springfield located in Springfield, Virginia. The State Water 
Control Board proposes to issue a consent order to resolve 
violations associated with the Titan Virginia Ready-Mix LLC 
- Springfield facility. A description of the proposed action is 
available at the Department of Environmental Quality office 

listed or online at www.deq.virginia.gov/permits-
regulations/public-notices/enforcement-orders. The staff 
contact will accept comments by email or postal mail from 
December 7, 2021, through January 6, 2022. 

Contact Information: Benjamin Holland, Department of 
Environmental Quality, Northern Regional Office, 13901 
Crown Court, Woodbridge, VA 22201, or email 
benjamin.holland@deq.virginia.gov. 

VIRGINIA CODE COMMISSION 

Notice to State Agencies 
Contact Information: Mailing Address: Virginia Code 
Commission, Pocahontas Building, 900 East Main Street, 8th 
Floor, Richmond, VA 23219; Telephone: (804) 698-1810; 
Email: varegs@dls.virginia.gov. 

Meeting Notices: Section 2.2-3707 C of the Code of Virginia 
requires state agencies to post meeting notices on their 
websites and on the Commonwealth Calendar at 
https://commonwealthcalendar.virginia.gov. 

Cumulative Table of Virginia Administrative Code 
Sections Adopted, Amended, or Repealed: A table listing 
regulation sections that have been amended, added, or repealed 
in the Virginia Register of Regulations since the regulations 
were originally published or last supplemented in the print 
version of the Virginia Administrative Code is available at 
http://register.dls.virginia.gov/documents/cumultab.pdf. 

Filing Material for Publication in the Virginia Register of 
Regulations: Agencies use the Regulation Information System 
(RIS) to file regulations and related items for publication in the 
Virginia Register of Regulations. The Registrar's office works 
closely with the Department of Planning and Budget (DPB) to 
coordinate the system with the Virginia Regulatory Town Hall. 
RIS and Town Hall complement and enhance one another by 
sharing pertinent regulatory information. 

mailto:kristen.sadtler@deq.virginia.gov
http://www.deq.virginia.gov/
mailto:eric.millard@deq.virginia.gov
http://www.deq.virginia.gov/
mailto:eric.millard@deq.virginia.gov
http://www.deq.virginia.gov/permits-regulations/public-notices/enforcement-orders
http://www.deq.virginia.gov/permits-regulations/public-notices/enforcement-orders
mailto:Benjamin.holland@deq.virginia.gov
file://legmain/sysdata/dlsdata/CODEREGS/regispub/Vol33/Iss04/varegs@dls.virginia.gov
https://commonwealthcalendar.virginia.gov/
http://register.dls.virginia.gov/documents/cumultab.pdf
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