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REGISTER INFORMATION PAGE 

THE VIRGINIA REGISTER OF REGULATIONS is an official state 

publication issued every other week throughout the year. Indexes are published 

quarterly, and are cumulative for the year. The Virginia Register has several 
functions. The new and amended sections of regulations, both as proposed and 

as finally adopted, are required by law to be published in the Virginia Register. 

In addition, the Virginia Register is a source of other information about state 
government, including petitions for rulemaking, emergency regulations, 

executive orders issued by the Governor, and notices of public hearings on 

regulations. 

ADOPTION, AMENDMENT, AND REPEAL OF REGULATIONS 

Unless exempted by law, an agency wishing to adopt, amend, or repeal 

regulations must follow the procedures in the Administrative Process Act 
(§ 2.2-4000 et seq. of the Code of Virginia). Typically, this includes first 

publishing in the Virginia Register a notice of intended regulatory action; a 

basis, purpose, substance and issues statement; an economic impact analysis 
prepared by the Department of Planning and Budget; the agency’s response to 

the economic impact analysis; a summary; a notice giving the public an 

opportunity to comment on the proposal; and the text of the proposed 
regulation. 

Following publication of the proposed regulation in the Virginia Register, the 

promulgating agency receives public comments for a minimum of 60 days. 
The Governor reviews the proposed regulation to determine if it is necessary 

to protect the public health, safety, and welfare, and if it is clearly written and 

easily understandable. If the Governor chooses to comment on the proposed 
regulation, his comments must be transmitted to the agency and the Registrar 

of Regulations no later than 15 days following the completion of the 60-day 
public comment period. The Governor’s comments, if any, will be published 

in the Virginia Register. Not less than 15 days following the completion of the 

60-day public comment period, the agency may adopt the proposed regulation. 

The Joint Commission on Administrative Rules or the appropriate standing 

committee of each house of the General Assembly may meet during the 

promulgation or final adoption process and file an objection with the Registrar 
and the promulgating agency. The objection will be published in the Virginia 

Register. Within 21 days after receipt by the agency of a legislative objection, 

the agency shall file a response with the Registrar, the objecting legislative 
body, and the Governor. 

When final action is taken, the agency again publishes the text of the 

regulation as adopted, highlighting all changes made to the proposed 
regulation and explaining any substantial changes made since publication of 

the proposal. A 30-day final adoption period begins upon final publication in 

the Virginia Register. 

The Governor may review the final regulation during this time and, if he 

objects, forward his objection to the Registrar and the agency. In addition to 

or in lieu of filing a formal objection, the Governor may suspend the effective 
date of a portion or all of a regulation until the end of the next regular General 

Assembly session by issuing a directive signed by a majority of the members 

of the appropriate legislative body and the Governor. The Governor’s 
objection or suspension of the regulation, or both, will be published in the 

Virginia Register. 

If the Governor finds that the final regulation contains changes made after 
publication of the proposed regulation that have substantial impact, he may 

require the agency to provide an additional 30-day public comment period on 

the changes. Notice of the additional public comment period required by the 

Governor will be published in the Virginia Register. Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.06 

of the Code of Virginia, any person may request that the agency solicit 

additional public comment on certain changes made after publication of the 
proposed regulation. The agency shall suspend the regulatory process for 30 

days upon such request from 25 or more individuals, unless the agency 

determines that the changes have minor or inconsequential impact. 

A regulation becomes effective at the conclusion of the 30-day final adoption 

period, or at any other later date specified by the promulgating agency, unless 

(i) a legislative objection has been filed, in which event the regulation, unless 
withdrawn, becomes effective on the date specified, which shall be after the 

expiration of the 21-day objection period; (ii) the Governor exercises his 

authority to require the agency to provide for additional public comment, in 

which event the regulation, unless withdrawn, becomes effective on the date 

specified, which shall be after the expiration of the period for which the 

Governor has provided for additional public comment; (iii) the Governor and 

the General Assembly exercise their authority to suspend the effective date of 
a regulation until the end of the next regular legislative session; or (iv) the 

agency suspends the regulatory process, in which event the regulation, unless 

withdrawn, becomes effective on the date specified, which shall be after the 
expiration of the 30-day public comment period and no earlier than 15 days 

from publication of the readopted action. 

A regulatory action may be withdrawn by the promulgating agency at any 
time before the regulation becomes final. 

FAST-TRACK RULEMAKING PROCESS 

Section 2.2-4012.1 of the Code of Virginia provides an alternative to the 
standard process set forth in the Administrative Process Act for regulations 

deemed by the Governor to be noncontroversial. To use this process, the 

Governor's concurrence is required and advance notice must be provided to 
certain legislative committees. Fast-track regulations become effective on the 

date noted in the regulatory action if fewer than 10 persons object to using the 

process in accordance with § 2.2-4012.1. 

EMERGENCY REGULATIONS 

Pursuant to § 2.2-4011 of the Code of Virginia, an agency may adopt 

emergency regulations if necessitated by an emergency situation or when 
Virginia statutory law or the appropriation act or federal law or federal 

regulation requires that a regulation be effective in 280 days or fewer from its 

enactment. In either situation, approval of the Governor is required. The 
emergency regulation is effective upon its filing with the Registrar of 

Regulations, unless a later date is specified per § 2.2-4012 of the Code of 
Virginia. Emergency regulations are limited to no more than 18 months in 

duration; however, may be extended for six months under the circumstances 

noted in § 2.2-4011 D. Emergency regulations are published as soon as 
possible in the Virginia Register and are on the Register of Regulations website 

at register.dls.virgina.gov. 

During the time the emergency regulation is in effect, the agency may 
proceed with the adoption of permanent regulations in accordance with the 

Administrative Process Act. If the agency chooses not to adopt the regulations, 

the emergency status ends when the prescribed time limit expires. 

STATEMENT 

The foregoing constitutes a generalized statement of the procedures to be 

followed. For specific statutory language, it is suggested that Article 2 (§ 2.2-
4006 et seq.) of Chapter 40 of Title 2.2 of the Code of Virginia be examined 

carefully. 

CITATION TO THE VIRGINIA REGISTER 

The Virginia Register is cited by volume, issue, page number, and date. 34:8 

VA.R. 763-832 December 11, 2017, refers to Volume 34, Issue 8, pages 763 

through 832 of the Virginia Register issued on  
December 11, 2017. 

The Virginia Register of Regulations is published pursuant to Article 6 (§ 2.2-

4031 et seq.) of Chapter 40 of Title 2.2 of the Code of Virginia. 

Members of the Virginia Code Commission: John S. Edwards, Chair; 

Marcus B. Simon, Vice Chair; Ward L. Armstrong; Nicole Cheuk; Joanne 

Frye; Leslie L. Lilley; Jennifer L. McClellan; Christopher R. Nolen; Don 

L. Scott, Jr.; Charles S. Sharp; Malfourd W. Trumbo; Amigo R. Wade. 

Staff of the Virginia Register: Holly Trice, Registrar of Regulations; Anne 

Bloomsburg, Assistant Registrar; Nikki Clemons, Regulations Analyst; 
Rhonda Dyer, Publications Assistant; Terri Edwards, Senior Operations 

Staff Assistant. 

https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/2.2-4011/
https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/2.2-4011/
http://register.dls.virgina.gov/
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PUBLICATION SCHEDULE AND DEADLINES 

January 2022 through January 2023 

Volume: Issue Material Submitted By Noon* Will Be Published On 

38:10 December 13, 2021 (Monday) January 3, 2022 

38:11 December 29, 2021 January 17, 2022 

38:12 January 12, 2022 January 31, 2022 

38:13 January 26, 2022 February 14, 2022 

38:14 February 9, 2022 February 28, 2022 

38:15 February 23, 2022 March 14, 2022 

38:16 March 9, 2022 March 28, 2022 

38:17 March 23, 2022 April 11, 2022 

38:18 April 6, 2022 April 25, 2022 

38:19 April 20, 2022 May 9, 2022 

38:20 May 4, 2022 May 23, 2022 

38:21 May 18, 2022 June 6, 2022 

38:22 June 1, 2022 June 20, 2022 

38:23 June 15, 2022 July 4, 2022 

38:24 June 29, 2022 July 18, 2022 

38:25 July 13, 2022 August 1, 2022 

38:26 July 27, 2022 August 15, 2022 

39:1 August 10, 2022 August 29, 2022 

39:2 August 24, 2022 September 12, 2022 

39:3 September 7, 2022 September 26, 2022 

39:4 September 21, 2022 October 10, 2022 

39:5 October 5, 2022 October 24, 2022 

39:6 October 19, 2022 November 7, 2022 

39:7 November 2, 2022 November 21, 2022 

39:8 November 14, 2022 (Monday) December 5, 2022 

39:9 November 30, 2022 December 19, 2022 

39:10 December 14, 2022 January 2, 2023 

39:11 December 27, 2022 (Tuesday) January 16, 2023 

*Filing deadlines are Wednesdays unless otherwise specified. 
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PETITIONS FOR RULEMAKING 

TITLE 12. HEALTH 

STATE BOARD OF HEALTH 

Agency Decision 

Title of Regulation: 12VAC5-110. Regulations for the 

Immunization of School Children. 

Statutory Authority: §§ 32.1-46 and 32.1-47 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

Name of Petitioner: Kristen M. Calleja. 

Nature of Petitioner's Request: I am writing to voice my 

request and sincere hope that the board will mandate vaccines 

for all school employees, with only medical exemptions 

allowed. Vaccines are already required for all state employees. 

In addition, vaccines should be required for all students for 

whom the vaccine has been fully approved, just as many other 

vaccines are mandated. 

My 10th grade daughter and all other kids have sacrificed 

much over the past 18 months. They only have one childhood. 

They are finally back to in-person school, but we are already 

seeing constant disruptions to education for far too many due 

to infections, possible infections based on symptoms, and 

mandatory quarantines. 

My daughter and all other students should have a right to be 

able to attend school without being unnecessarily put at risk by 

other students and teachers who refuse to be vaccinated, and 

without constant disruptions to their education. And it sure 

would be great for them to be able to go to school without 

masks and without worrying about lunch and other unmasked 

times, as well as overcrowded busses. The irrational minority 

should not be dictating the public health policy for Virginia or 

the schools. 

Agency Decision: Request denied. 

Statement of Reason for Decision: On September 1, 2021, the 

Virginia Department of Health (VDH) posted a petition for 

rulemaking to the Virginia Regulatory Town Hall. The 

petitions was received from a resident of Virginia. The petition 

contained two requests: (i) mandate vaccines for all school 

employees, with only medical exemptions allowed and (ii) 

mandate the vaccine for all students for whom the vaccine has 

been fully approved. The petition was posted for a 21-day 

public comment period and received 15,308 comments. The 

summary of those comments can be found in the table 

provided. 

Table 1: Petition Comments by Opinion 

Opinions Total 

Comments 

Percent 

Total 

Unique 

IP* 

Percent 

Unique 

All 15,308  11,718  

Against 14,301 93.42% 11,086 94.61% 

For 847 5.53% 607 5.18% 

Irrelevant 160 1.05% 106 0.90% 

*Total of Opinions count is greater than total unique IPs because some 

IPs made multiple comments that were logged under different opinion 

categories. 

 

Table 2: Petition Comments by Opinion and Categorization 

Opinion Categorization Total 

Number of 

Comments 

Total 

Number of 

Comments 

with 

Unique IP 

Addresses 

Against Religious 

exemption is 

necessary 

212 205 

 Religious 

exemption is 

necessary; 

unconstitutional 

42 42 

 Should remain 

voluntary 

8,058 6,503 

 Should remain 

voluntary; 

experimental 

329 310 

 Should remain 

voluntary; 

religious 

exemption is 

necessary 

606 567 

 Should remain 

voluntary; not 

enough data on 

safety and 

efficacy of 

vaccine 

2,232 2,037 

 Should remain 

voluntary; 

unconstitutional 

642 603 

 Should remain 

voluntary; not 

enough data on 

safety and 

efficacy of 

vaccine; religious 

exemption is 

necessary 

101 101 

 Should remain 

voluntary; 

religious 

exemption is 

necessary; 

unconstitutional 

27 27 
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 Should remain 

voluntary; not 

enough data on 

safety and 

efficacy of 

vaccine; 

unconstitutional 

37 37 

 Unconstitutional 127 123 

 Not enough data 

on safety and 

efficacy of 

vaccine 

1,571 1,429 

 Not enough data 

on safety and 

efficacy of 

vaccine; religious 

exemption is 

necessary 

150 146 

 Not enough data 

on safety and 

efficacy of 

vaccine; 

unconstitutional 

159 158 

 Not enough data 

on safety and 

efficacy of 

vaccine; religious 

exemption is 

necessary; 

unconstitutional 

8 8 

For Support with 

removal of all 

other mitigation 

measures 

1 1 

 Supports for both 

staff and students 

843 604 

 Supports for staff 

only 

1  

Agency Contact: Kristin Collins, Policy Analyst, Office of 

Epidemiology, Virginia Department of Health, 109 Governor 

Street, Richmond, VA, 23219, telephone (804) 864-7298, FAX 

(804) 864-7022, or email kristin.collins@vdh.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. PFR22-06; Filed September 1, 2021, 1:54 p.m. 

mailto:kristin.collins@vdh.virginia.gov
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PERIODIC REVIEWS AND SMALL BUSINESS IMPACT REVIEWS 

TITLE 9. ENVIRONMENT 

STATE WATER CONTROL BOARD 

Report of Findings 

Pursuant to §§ 2.2-4007.1 and 2.2-4017 of the Code of 

Virginia, the State Water Control Board conducted a periodic 

review and a small business impact review of 9VAC25-191, 

Virginia Pollutant Discharge Elimination System (VPDES) 

General Permit for Concentrated Animal Feeding 

Operations, and determined that this regulation should be 

repealed. The department is publishing its report of findings 

dated October 15, 2021, to support this decision. 

This general permit expired December 31, 2010, and has not 

been reissued. This general permit regulation does not allow 

the board to provide the public notice opportunities as required 

by the federal Concentrated Animal Feeding Operation 

(CAFO) Regulation. CAFOs are now regulated under the 

Virginia Pollutant Discharge Elimination System (VPDES) 

Permit Regulation (9VAC25-31). A VPDES individual permit 

is issued to livestock and poultry CAFOs that meet the 

discharge criteria; the individual permit process provides the 

public notice opportunities as required by the federal CAFO 

Regulation. This general permit regulation is no longer needed 

and will be repealed. 

Animal feeding operations (AFOs) and CAFOs that do not 

discharge are also regulated under the Virginia Pollution 

Abatement (VPA) Regulation and General Permit for Animal 

Feeding Operations and Animal Waste Management 

(9VAC25-192) and the Virginia Pollution Abatement 

Regulation and General Permit for Poultry Waste Management 

(9VAC25-630). Both the VPA general permits and VPDES 

individual permits are currently used to permit livestock and 

poultry AFOs and CAFOs. 

Public comment was received during the public comment 

period supporting the repeal of this regulation. The general 

permit associated with this regulation expired December 31, 

2010. Continuing to list this regulation as an active regulation 

leads to confusion concerning regulatory requirements to be 

complied with. Neither the VPA general permits nor VPDES 

individual permits used to permit livestock and poultry AFOs 

and CAFOs conflict with federal laws. 

Contact Information: Melissa Porterfield, Department of 

Environmental Quality, 1111 East Main Street, Suite 1400, P.O. 

Box 1105, Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 698-4238. 

Report of Findings 

Pursuant to §§ 2.2-4007.1 and 2.2-4017 of the Code of 

Virginia, the State Water Control Board conducted a periodic 

review and a small business impact review of 9VAC25-640, 

Aboveground Storage Tank and Pipeline Facility Financial 

Responsibility Requirements, and determined that this 

regulation should be retained as is. The department is 

publishing its report of findings dated October 29, 2021, to 

support this decision. 

The regulation is necessary for the protection of public health, 

safety, and welfare. The regulation requires operators of 

regulated petroleum aboveground storage tanks (ASTs) and 

pipeline facilities to demonstrate they have the financial 

resources available to pay for the costs of containment and 

cleanup necessitated by accidental releases arising from the 

operation of petroleum ASTs and pipeline facilities. The 

regulation is clearly written and easily understandable. 

The agency is recommending the regulation stay in effect 

without change. The current regulation continues to be needed. 

The regulation is structured to minimize the impact on the 

regulated community, including those that are small 

businesses, while protecting human health and the 

environment. The regulation requires financial assurance to be 

provided based on the amount of petroleum that is being stored. 

Multiple different types of financial mechanisms have been 

included in the regulation to provide the regulated community 

with flexibility concerning how they demonstrate financial 

assurance. The wordings of the financial mechanisms are 

included in the regulation and are to be used by the regulated 

community. This assists with reducing the regulatory burden 

on the regulated community. 

This regulation does not duplicate or conflict with federal or 

state law. The Facility and Aboveground Storage Tank (AST) 

Regulation (9VAC25-91) is a companion regulation to this 

regulation. 9VAC25-91 contains the technical standards for 

aboveground storage tanks while this regulation addresses the 

financial assurance requirements for aboveground storage 

tanks and pipeline facilities. 

No comments were received during the public comment period. 

The regulation was last amended in 2021 to update an agency 

name and Code of Virginia citations. The financial assurance 

mechanisms included in the regulation continue to be available 

to the regulated community from financial institutions. 

The regulation continues to meet the objective of protecting the 

public from expenses related to containment and cleanup 

necessitated by accidental releases arising from the operation 

of petroleum ASTs and pipeline facilities. All owners, 

including small business owners, are allowed to select from 

multiple financial assurance mechanisms to demonstrate 

financial assurance. This provides the regulated community 

with flexibility concerning compliance with the financial 

assurance requirements. 

Contact Information: Melissa Porterfield, Department of 

Environmental Quality, 1111 East Main Street, Suite 1400, 

P.O. Box 1105, Richmond, VA 23218, telephone (804) 698-

4238. 

  ––––––––––––––––––  
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TITLE 18. PROFESSIONAL AND 
OCCUPATIONAL LICENSING 

BOARD OF SOCIAL WORK 

Agency Notice 

Pursuant to Executive Order 14 (as amended July 16, 2018) 

and §§ 2.2-4007.1 and 2.2-4017 of the Code of Virginia, the 

following regulation is undergoing a periodic review and a 

small business impact review: 18VAC140-20, Regulations 

Governing the Practice of Social Work. The review will be 

guided by the principles in Executive Order 14 (as amended 

July 16, 2018). The purpose of this review is to determine 

whether this regulation should be repealed, amended, or 

retained in its current form. Public comment is sought on the 

review of any issue relating to this regulation, including 

whether the regulation (i) is necessary for the protection of 

public health, safety, and welfare or for the economical 

performance of important governmental functions; (ii) 

minimizes the economic impact on small businesses in a 

manner consistent with the stated objectives of applicable law; 

and (iii) is clearly written and easily understandable. 

Public comment period begins December 20, 2021, and ends 

January 19, 2022. 

Comments must include the commenter's name and address 

(physical or email) information in order to receive a response 

to the comment from the agency. Following the close of the 

public comment period, a report of both reviews will be posted 

on the Virginia Regulatory Town Hall and published in the 

Virginia Register of Regulations. 

Contact Information: Jaime Hoyle, Executive Director, Board 

of Social Work, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300, Richmond, 

VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-4441. 

  ––––––––––––––––––  

TITLE 22. SOCIAL SERVICES 

STATE BOARD OF SOCIAL SERVICES 

Agency Notice 

Pursuant to Executive Order 14 (as amended July 16, 2018) 

and §§ 2.2-4007.1 and 2.2-4017 of the Code of Virginia, the 

following regulation is undergoing a periodic review and a 

small business impact review: 22VAC40-294, Applications 

for Public Assistance. The review will be guided by the 

principles in Executive Order 14 (as amended July 16, 2018). 

The purpose of this review is to determine whether this 

regulation should be repealed, amended, or retained in its 

current form. Public comment is sought on the review of any 

issue relating to this regulation, including whether the 

regulation (i) is necessary for the protection of public health, 

safety, and welfare or for the economical performance of 

important governmental functions; (ii) minimizes the 

economic impact on small businesses in a manner consistent 

with the stated objectives of applicable law; and (iii) is clearly 

written and easily understandable. 

Public comment period begins December 20, 2021, and ends 

January 10, 2022. 

Comments must include the commenter's name and address 

(physical or email) information in order to receive a response 

to the comment from the agency. Following the close of the 

public comment period, a report of both reviews will be posted 

on the Virginia Regulatory Town Hall and published in the 

Virginia Register of Regulations. 

Contact Information: Angela Morse, Director, Regional 

Operations and Local Support, Department of Social Services, 

801 East Main Street, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 

396-0310. 
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REGULATIONS 

TITLE 1. ADMINISTRATION 

STATE BOARD OF ELECTIONS 

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The State Board of Elections is 

claiming an exemption from the Administrative Process Act 

pursuant to § 2.2-4002 B 8 of the Code of Virginia, which 

exempts agency action relating to the conduct of elections or 

eligibility to vote. 

Title of Regulation: 1VAC20-100. Ranked Choice Voting 

(adding 1VAC20-100-10 through 1VAC20-100-80). 

Statutory Authority: § 24.2-673.1 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: December 3, 2021. 

Agency Contact: Ashley Coles, Agency Regulatory 

Coordinator, Department of Elections, Washington Building, 

1100 Bank Street, 1st Floor, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone 

(804) 864-8933, or email ashley.coles@elections.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

This regulatory action establishes standards for the 

administration of ranked choice voting for certain local 

seats elections, including ballot standards for localities that 

adopt ranked choice voting or instant runoff voting for a 

specified election. Ranked choice voting is a method of 

voting that permits voters to rank their preference of 

candidates. Changes to the proposed regulation include (i) 

revised definitions; (ii) clarification, using updated 

terminology, of how to handle various voter ballot errors; 

and (iii) inclusion of all relevant details for ranked choice 

voting tabulation in the reallocation process. 

Chapter 100 

Ranked Choice Voting 

1VAC20-100-10. Definitions.  

The following words and terms when used in this chapter 

shall have the following meanings unless the context clearly 

indicates otherwise: 

"Active ballot" means a ballot that counts toward an active 

candidate in the current round of counting. 

[ "Continuing "Active ] candidate" means a candidate [ or 

person ] who has not been [ eliminated defeated ] during a 

round-by-round vote count. In a count [ which that ] lasts 

multiple rounds, the number of active candidates will decrease 

with each round. 

[ "Defective ranking" means a voter assigned more than one 

candidate the same ranking. ]  

"Duplicate ranking" means a voter has assigned one candidate 

multiple rankings. 

"Election threshold" means the [ percentage of votes a 

candidate must receive to guarantee to win a seat or remain 

within the election number of votes sufficient for a candidate 

to be elected in a multi-winner, single transferable vote contest. 

The election threshold equals the total votes counted for active 

candidates in the first round of tabulation, divided by the sum 

of one plus the number of offices to be filled, then adding one, 

disregarding any fractions. Election threshold = ((Total votes 

cast)/(Seats to be elected+1))+1, with any fraction 

disregarded ]. 

[ "Eliminated candidate" means a candidate who has been 

eliminated during the round-by-round vote count.  

"Exhausted ballot" means a ballot that can no longer be 

counted due to the ballot having no continuing candidates in 

the round. 

"Highest-ranked active candidate" means the active candidate 

assigned to a higher ranking than any other active candidates. 

"Inactive ballot " means a ballot that can no longer be counted 

due to the ballot having no active candidates in the round. ]  

"Instant runoff voting" means no more than one seat in the 

office must be filled by the election. 

[ "Ranked choice overvote" means a voter assigned more than 

one candidate the same ranking. ]  

"Ranked choice voting" means a method of [ voting that 

permits voters to rank their preference for candidates casting 

and tabulating votes in which (i) voters rank candidates in 

order of preference, (ii) tabulation proceeds in rounds such that 

in each round either a candidate or candidates are elected or the 

last-place candidate is defeated, (iii) votes for voters' next-

ranked candidates are transferred from elected or defeated 

candidates, and (iv) tabulation ends when the number of 

candidates elected equals the number of offices to be filled ]. 

Ranked choice voting is [ also ] known as [ instant "instant ] 

runoff [ voting voting" when electing a single office and 

"single transferable vote" when electing multiple offices ]. 

"Ranking" means the [ ordinal ] number [ preference a voter 

determines for a candidate assigned on a ballot to a candidate 

to express the voter's preference for that candidate. Ranking 

number one is the highest ranking, ranking number two is the 
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next-highest ranking, and so on, consecutively, up to the 

number of candidates indicated on the ballot ]. 

"Round" means a stage of the vote tabulation in which a 

[ candidate person ] may be elected or [ eliminated the last 

ranked person is defeated ].  

"Single transferable vote" means more than one seat in the 

office must be filled by the election. 

"Skipped ranking" means a voter has left [ at least one a ] 

ranking [ order ] unassigned but ranks a candidate at a 

subsequent ranking [ order ]. 

[ "Surplus fraction" means a number equal to the quotient of 

the difference between an elected candidate's vote total and the 

election threshold, divided by the candidate's vote total, (or (V-

T)/V, in which "V" is the elected candidate's vote total and "T" 

is the election threshold), truncated after four decimal places. ] 

"Surplus vote" means the number of votes a candidate 

receives beyond the [ minimum needed in order to receive a 

seat in a single election threshold set for a ] transferable vote 

race. 

[ "Inclusive Gregory Method of Reallocation" means vote 

counts are transferred fractionally. When a candidate wins a 

seat, votes for that candidate are reweighted, multiplying their 

current weight by the quotient of their surplus vote divided by 

their total vote. 

"Transfer value" means the proportion of a vote that a ballot 

will contribute to its highest-ranked active candidate. Each 

ballot begins with a transfer value of one. If a ballot contributes 

to the election of a candidate under 1VAC20-100-50 B, it 

receives a new transfer value. ] 

1VAC20-100-20. Administration.  

The Department of Elections shall publish on the department 

website, https://www.elections.virginia.gov, instructions on 

the administration of ranked choice voting elections. 

1VAC20-100-30. Ranked choice voting.  

As prescribed by § 24.2-673.1 of the Code of Virginia, a 

county board of supervisors or city council may elect by 

majority to conduct an election for its members by ranked 

choice voting. The adoption for ranked choice voting shall only 

be valid for the election specified in the ordinance [ signed 

adopted ] by the governing body. 

1. Adoption to conduct an election by ranked choice voting 

must be enacted no later than 90 days prior to the date of the 

specified election. 

2. Any locality that adopts to conduct an election by ranked 

choice voting must electronically transfer the signed 

ordinance to the Department of Elections promptly. 

3. No ranked choice voting may be conducted for a primary 

with fewer than three candidates. 

4. Notwithstanding § 24.2-613 E of the Code of Virginia, all 

ballot forms for an election conducted by ranked choice 

voting shall comply with the standards prescribed by the 

State Board of Elections. 

1VAC20-100-40. Ballot treatment.  

As prescribed by § 24.2-673.1 of the Code of Virginia, ballots 

shall be tabulated in the following manner: 

1. [ Defective rankings Ranked choice overvote ]. 

a. A ballot with a [ defective ranking ranked choice 

overvote ] shall be counted in the initial round if voter 

intent can be determined. The ballot shall not be counted 

in any round in which the ballot has a [ defective ranking 

ranked choice overvote ]. 

b. A ballot with a duplicate ranking shall be counted unless 

the voter's choice was [ eliminated defeated in a previous 

round ]. 

[ c. 2. Skipped ranking. 

a. In the event of a ballot with a skipped ranking, the next 

valid ranking shall be counted. 

b. In the event the ballot reaches two consecutive skipped 

rankings, the ballot will be considered an inactive ballot. ] 

[ 2. 3. ] Tie breaking. [ All candidates with the fewest 

number of votes at the end of a round shall be eliminated 

from the election.  

a. In the event two persons have an equal number of votes 

for a seat and a higher number than any other person in the 

last round of an election conducted by ranked choice 

voting, the candidate or person to be elected shall be 

determined by lot as prescribed by § 24.2-674 of the Code 

of Virginia. 

b. In the event two or more persons have an equal number 

of votes for a seat and the fewest number of votes in a 

round of an election conducted by ranked choice voting, 

tabulation cannot be continued until one of the persons is 

defeated. The person to continue as an active candidate 

shall be determined by lot as prescribed by § 24.2-674 of 

the Code of Virginia. ] 

1VAC20-100-50. [ Reallocation of votes Ranked choice 

voting tabulation ]. 

[ Vote reallocation will be conducted with the Inclusive 

Gregory Method of Reallocation. A. Instant runoff voting. 

For any election for one office conducted by ranked choice 

voting, each ballot shall count as one vote for the highest-

ranked active candidate on that ballot. Tabulation shall 

proceed in rounds with each round proceeding sequentially as 

follows: 

1. If two or fewer active candidates remain, the candidate 

with the greatest number of votes is elected and tabulation 

is complete. 

https://www.elections.virginia.gov/
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2. If more than two active candidates remain, the active 

candidate with the fewest votes is defeated, votes for the 

defeated candidate are transferred to each ballot's next-

ranked active candidate, and a new round begins with 

subdivision 1 of this subsection. 

B. Single transferable vote. For any election for more than 

one office conducted by ranked choice voting, each ballot shall 

count, at its current transfer value, for the highest-ranked active 

candidate on that ballot. Tabulation shall proceed in rounds. 

Each round proceeds sequentially, until tabulation is complete, 

as follows: 

1. If the sum of the number of elected persons and the 

number of active candidates is less than or equal to the 

number of office seats to be filled, then all active candidates 

are designated as elected, and tabulation is complete. 

Otherwise, the tabulation proceeds pursuant to subdivision 2 

of this subsection. 

2. If any active candidate has a number of votes greater than 

or equal to the election threshold for the contest, that person 

shall be designated as elected. Each ballot counting for an 

elected person is assigned a new transfer value by 

multiplying the ballot's current transfer value by the surplus 

fraction for the elected person, truncated after the fourth 

decimal place. The transfer value of each ballot cast for an 

elected candidate must be transferred to the highest-ranked 

active candidate on that ballot. Each person elected under 

this subdivision is deemed to have a number of votes equal 

to the election threshold for the contest in all future rounds 

and a new round begins pursuant to subdivision 1 of this 

subsection. 

If no candidate or person is elected pursuant to subdivision 2 

of this subsection, the candidate with the fewest votes is 

defeated and votes for the defeated candidates shall be 

transferred at their current transfer value to each ballot's next-

ranked active candidate and a new round begins pursuant to 

subdivision 1 of this subsection. 

C. Surplus transfer. If in a round of counting conducted under 

subsection B of this section, two or more active candidates 

have a number of surplus votes greater than the election 

threshold for the contest, the surpluses shall be distributed in 

rounds in which the largest surplus is distributed first, with any 

ties resolved by lot as required by § 24.2-674 of the Code of 

Virginia. ] 

1VAC20-100-60. [ Paper Unreadable ] ballots.  

[ For the purposes of this section, "paper ballot" means a 

tangible ballot that is marked by a voter and must be manually 

counted. ]  

In the event the general registrar receives a ballot that cannot 

be read by the ballot scanner machine, the general registrar or 

election official shall transpose the voter's intent to a machine 

readable ballot. 

[ 1VAC20-100-65. Write-Ins.  

Pursuant to § 24.2-644 C of the Code of Virginia, at all 

elections conducted by ranked choice voting except primary 

elections, any voter may vote for any person other than the 

listed candidates for the office by writing or hand printing the 

person's name on the official ballot. ] 

1VAC20-100-70. Election results.  

Results for all rounds must be publicly posted on the 

Department of Elections website at 

https://www.elections.virginia.gov. 

1VAC20-100-80. Outreach.  

[ A. ] For the purposes of this section, "educational 

information" means nonpartisan information that in plain 

language informs the public on the adoption of ranked choice 

voting for an election, a description of ranked choice voting, 

an unmarked official sample ranked choice voting ballot, and 

instructions on how to read and mark the ballot. 

[ B. 1. ] The Department of Elections shall be required to 

post educational information about ranked choice voting on 

its website at https://www.elections.virginia.gov for the 

public. 

[ C. 2. ] Any county board of supervisors or city council that 

adopts to conduct an election by ranked choice voting shall 

develop and distribute educational information about ranked 

choice voting no later than 60 days before the specified 

election. 

[ 1. a. ] Educational information must be disseminated to 

the public through circulation in the local newspaper, 

posted on the locality's website, or mailed to active and 

inactive voters eligible to vote in the specified election. 

[ 2. b. ] Educational information must be posted in the 

office of the general registrar [ no later than 60 days before 

the specific election ] and made available for distribution 

if requested by the public. 

[ 3. c. ] Educational information about ranked choice 

voting shall be posted in each satellite office and polling 

place operating for the election. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R21-6851; Filed November 30, 2021, 3:18 p.m. 

  ––––––––––––––––––  

TITLE 3. ALCOHOLIC BEVERAGES 

ALCOHOLIC BEVERAGE CONTROL AUTHORITY 

Fast-Track Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 3VAC5-10. Procedural Rules for the 

Conduct of Hearings before the Board and Its Hearing 

Officers (amending 3VAC5-10-220). 

https://www.elections.virginia.gov/
https://www.elections.virginia.gov/
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Statutory Authority: §§ 4.1-103 and 4.1-111 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: No public hearing is currently 

scheduled. 

Public Comment Deadline: January 21, 2022. 

Effective Date: February 7, 2022. 

Agency Contact: LaTonya D. Hucks-Watkins, Senior Legal 

Counsel, Alcoholic Beverage Control Authority, 2901 

Hermitage Road, Richmond, VA 23220, telephone (804) 213-

4698, FAX (804) 213-4574, or email latonya.hucks-

watkins@virginiaabc.com. 

Basis: Section 4.1-103 of the Code of Virginia enumerates the 

powers of the Alcoholic Beverage Control Authority Board of 

Directors, which includes the authority to adopt regulations 

and to do all acts necessary or advisable to carry out the 

purposes of Title 4.1 of the Code of Virginia. Section 4.1-111 

of the Code of Virginia provides the board of directors with the 

authority to adopt reasonable regulations to carry out the 

provisions of the Alcoholic Beverage Control Act (§ 4.1-100 

of the Code of Virginia) and to amend or repeal such 

regulations. 

Purpose: The Virginia Alcoholic Beverage Control Authority 

recognizes that the regulation needs to be revised because 

although the regulation currently references § 2.2-4019 of the 

Code of Virginia, the pre-trial conferences are not being 

conducted for those purposes. To eliminate any confusion on 

the behalf of licensees and applicants participating in these 

conferences, the regulation is being revised to remove that 

citation. Additionally, the regulation is being amended to 

rename the proceeding as a "pre-hearing conference" so that it 

is not confused with the term "informal conference" as it is 

used in § 2.2-4019. Revising the regulation will achieve 

consistency with the regulation and statute. It is in the public 

interest for the regulation to mirror the actual process, which 

the amendments allow. The amendments add a provision for 

virtual and telephonic proceedings, which are beneficial to the 

public especially during the pandemic. 

Rationale for Using Fast-Track Rulemaking Process: The 

regulatory action is not controversial because the amendments 

consist primarily of changing the name of the proceeding from 

"informal conference" to "pre-hearing conference." The 

changes to the regulation reflect processes that have already 

been implemented for years; however, the regulation 

references § 2.2-4019 of the Code of Virginia, which does not 

accurately represent the agency's actual process. The change to 

regulation does not change current agency process, it just 

corrects regulatory text so that it aligns to agency process. 

Substance: The regulation is amended to change the name of a 

proceeding to "pre-hearing" conference and to remove a 

citation to § 2.2-4019 of the Code of Virginia. 

Issues: The primary advantage to the public and the 

Commonwealth is that this amendment will revise the 

regulation to more accurately represent the authority's pre-

hearing procedure and prevent any confusion that the citation 

to § 2.2-4019 of the Code of Virginia may create. The primary 

advantage to the Commonwealth is that the regulation will 

actually mirror the current process and will not create any 

confusion with the licensed community. There are no 

disadvantages to the public or the Commonwealth. 

Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 

Analysis:  

The Department of Planning and Budget (DPB) has analyzed 

the economic impact of this proposed regulation in accordance 

with § 2.2-4007.04 of the Code of Virginia (Code) and 

Executive Order 14 (as amended, July 16, 2018). The analysis 

presented represents DPB's best estimate of these economic 

impacts.1  

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. The 

Virginia Alcoholic Beverage Control Authority Board of 

Directors (Board) proposes to remove the citation to § 2.2-

4019 of the Code of Virginia, which is part of the 

Administrative Process Act (APA). The cited section addresses 

pre-hearing conferences and would be removed because the 

Virginia Alcoholic Beverage Control Authority's (Authority) 

pre-hearing conference procedure slightly differs from the 

procedure referenced in the APA. 

Background. The purpose of this action is to amend the 

regulation so that it comports with how the Authority conducts 

its pre-hearing conferences in practice. The current regulation 

states that the Authority will conduct an informal conference 

for the reasons set forth in § 2.2-4019, which states in part: 

"A. Agencies shall ascertain the fact basis for their 

decisions of cases through informal conference or 

consultation proceedings unless the named party and the 

agency consent to waive such a conference or proceeding 

to go directly to a formal hearing. Such conference-

consultation procedures shall include rights of parties to 

the case to (i) have reasonable notice thereof, which notice 

shall include contact information consisting of the name, 

telephone number, and government email address of the 

person designated by the agency to answer questions or 

otherwise assist a named party; (ii) appear in person or by 

counsel or other qualified representative before the agency 

or its subordinates, or before a hearing officer for the 

informal presentation of factual data, argument, or proof 

in connection with any case; (iii) have notice of any 

contrary fact basis or information in the possession of the 

agency that can be relied upon in making an adverse 

decision; (iv) receive a prompt decision of any application 

for a license, benefit, or renewal thereof; and (v) be 

informed, briefly and generally in writing, of the factual 

or procedural basis for an adverse decision in any case." 

In practice however, the Authority's pre-hearing conference 

procedure departs from the statute in two aspects regarding 

clauses (ii) and (iv). First, the Authority conducts pre-hearing 

conferences also virtually or telephonically in addition to in-

person meetings. Second, the Authority may not issue a 
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decision at the pre-hearing conference. The proposed 

amendments account for these two differences and more 

accurately reflect how the pre-hearing conference is conducted 

in practice.2 

Estimated Benefits and Costs. Since the proposed amendments 

more accurately describe how the pre-hearing conferences are 

already conducted in practice, no economic effect is expected 

other than improving the accuracy of the regulatory text. 

Businesses and Other Entities Affected. This revision will 

impact applicants for Alcoholic Beverage Control (ABC) 

licenses and current ABC licensees. According to the 

Authority, there are 20,728 active licenses. They are all subject 

to the APA and would be impacted by this amendment if they 

were to go through the hearing process with the Authority. In 

2021, there were 44 pre-hearing conferences conducted by the 

Authority. None of the ABC licensees appear to be 

disproportionately affected. 

The Code of Virginia requires DPB to assess whether an 

adverse impact may result from the proposed regulation.3 An 

adverse impact is indicated if there is any increase in net cost 

or reduction in net revenue for any entity, even if the benefits 

exceed the costs for all entities combined. As noted, the 

proposed changes to the regulatory text would more accurately 

reflect the current practice with no other significant economic 

impact expected. Thus, an adverse impact is not indicated. 

Small Businesses4 Affected.5 The majority of ABC licensees 

are believed to qualify as a small business. However, the 

proposed amendments do not appear to adversely affect small 

businesses. 

Localities6 Affected.7 The proposed amendments do not affect 

localities. 

Projected Impact on Employment. The proposed amendments 

do not affect total employment. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. The proposed 

amendments do not affect the use and value of private property 

or real estate development costs. 

_________________________________________ 
1Section 2.2-4007.04 of the Code of Virginia requires that such economic 
impact analyses determine the public benefits and costs of the proposed 

amendments. Further the analysis should include: (1) the projected number of 

businesses or other entities to whom the proposed regulatory action would 
apply, (2) the identity of any localities and types of businesses or other entities 

particularly affected, (3) the projected number of persons and employment 

positions to be affected, (4) the projected costs to affected businesses or entities 
to implement or comply with the regulation, and (5) the impact on the use and 

value of private property. 

2The Authority cites § 2.2-4000 B of the Code of Virginia and states that the 
APA is meant to supplement an agency's basic laws in deciding cases, not 

supersede them. Based on this interpretation, the Authority believes its pre-

hearing conference procedure in the proposed regulation is allowed to depart 
from § 2.2-4019 B of the Code of Virginia in the two aspects as discussed. The 

Office of Attorney General has certified the Board's authority to promulgate 

this regulation and concluded that the proposed amendments do not appear to 
conflict with the Constitution of the United States or the Constitution of the 

Commonwealth of Virginia, nor do they appear to conflict with any federal or 

state law currently in effect. See 

https://townhall.virginia.gov/l/GetFile.cfm?File=2\5856\9447\AGmemo_AB

C_9447_v1.pdf 
3Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.04 D: In the event this economic impact analysis 

reveals that the proposed regulation would have an adverse economic impact 

on businesses or would impose a significant adverse economic impact on a 
locality, business, or entity particularly affected, the Department of Planning 

and Budget shall advise the Joint Commission on Administrative Rules, the 

House Committee on Appropriations, and the Senate Committee on Finance. 
Statute does not define "adverse impact," state whether only Virginia entities 

should be considered, nor indicate whether an adverse impact results from 

regulatory requirements mandated by legislation. 
4Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.04, small business is defined as "a business entity, 

including its affiliates, that (i) is independently owned and operated and (ii) 

employs fewer than 500 full-time employees or has gross annual sales of less 

than $6 million." 
5If the proposed regulatory action may have an adverse effect on small 

businesses, § 2.2-4007.04 requires that such economic impact analyses 
include: (1) an identification and estimate of the number of small businesses 

subject to the proposed regulation, (2) the projected reporting, recordkeeping, 

and other administrative costs required for small businesses to comply with the 
proposed regulation, including the type of professional skills necessary for 

preparing required reports and other documents, (3) a statement of the probable 

effect of the proposed regulation on affected small businesses, and (4) a 
description of any less intrusive or less costly alternative methods of achieving 

the purpose of the proposed regulation. Additionally, pursuant to Code § 2.2-

4007.1 of the Code of Virginia, if there is a finding that a proposed regulation 
may have an adverse impact on small business, the Joint Commission on 

Administrative Rules shall be notified. 

6"Locality" can refer to either local governments or the locations in the 
Commonwealth where the activities relevant to the regulatory change are most 

likely to occur. 

7Section 2.2-4007.04 defines "particularly affected" as bearing 

disproportionate material impact. 

Agency's Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The 

Virginia Alcoholic Beverage Control Authority concurs with 

the Department of Planning and Budget's economic impact 

analysis. 

Summary: 

The amendments (i) change "informal" conferences to "pre-

hearing" conferences; (ii) remove the requirement they be 

conducted for the reasons set forth in § 2.2-4019 of the 

Administrative Process Act (§ 2.2-4000 et seq. of the Code 

of Virginia); (iii) stipulate that the pre-hearing conference 

may be held virtually or telephonically and at least five days 

prior to the formal hearing; and (iv) allow that the pre-

hearing conference may be held, when practical, at the 

county or city in which the establishment of the applicant or 

licensee is located. 

3VAC5-10-220. Informal Pre-hearing conferences. 

A. An informal conference A pre-hearing conference will be 

conducted when an applicant for a license or a licensee who is 

the subject of a disciplinary proceeding does not waive its right 

to such a conference. A waiver may be verbal or in writing. 

Unless the parties are advised otherwise, the agency will 

automatically waive the informal pre-hearing conference when 

the applicant or licensee does so. When the applicant or 

licensee is offered an informal a pre-hearing conference and 

fails to respond within 10 calendar days after the date of such 

https://townhall.virginia.gov/l/GetFile.cfm?File=2/5856/9447/AGmemo_ABC_9447_v1.pdf
https://townhall.virginia.gov/l/GetFile.cfm?File=2/5856/9447/AGmemo_ABC_9447_v1.pdf
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offer, the informal pre-hearing conference will be deemed to 

be waived. 

B. The informal conference will be conducted for the reasons 

set forth in § 2.2-4019 of the Code of Virginia. The informal 

conference may not be used for purposes of agreement fixing 

a period of suspension or license revocation. The informal pre-

hearing conference will serve as a vehicle to acquaint the 

interested party, in a general way, with the nature of the 

charges or objections, the evidence in support thereof and to 

hear any matters relevant thereto presented by the interested 

parties and to explore whether (i) administrative proceedings 

or objections should be terminated or (ii) the case should 

proceed to formal hearing and stipulations can be reached. The 

conference will be open to the public, but participation will be 

limited to the interested parties, their attorneys-at-law or other 

qualified representatives, and designated board 

representatives. The pre-hearing conference may be held 

virtually or telephonically, and at least five days prior to the 

formal hearing. The conference will may be held, when 

practical, at the county or city in which the establishment of 

the applicant or licensee is located. Reasonable notice of 

administrative charges or objections and the date, time, and 

place of the conference shall be given to the participants. The 

failure of the applicant or licensee to appear at a scheduled 

conference will be deemed a waiver of the informal pre-

hearing conference. The informal proceeding pre-hearing 

conference will not be recorded. Sworn testimony will not be 

taken, nor will subpoenas be issued. Any initial decision will 

include a summary of the informal pre-hearing conference. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R22-6996; Filed November 30, 2021, 1:37 p.m. 

Fast-Track Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 3VAC5-20. Advertising (amending 

3VAC5-20-90). 

Statutory Authority: §§ 4.1-111 and 4.1-320 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: No public hearing is currently 

scheduled. 

Public Comment Deadline: January 21, 2022. 

Effective Date: February 7, 2022. 

Agency Contact: LaTonya D. Hucks-Watkins, Senior Legal 

Counsel, Alcoholic Beverage Control Authority, 2901 

Hermitage Road, Richmond, VA 23220, telephone (804) 213-

4698, FAX (804) 213-4574, or email latonya.hucks-

watkins@virginiaabc.com. 

Basis: Section 4.1-103 of the Code of Virginia authorizes the 

Board of Directors of the Alcoholic Beverage Control 

Authority to adopt regulations and to do all acts necessary or 

advisable to carry out the purposes of Title 4.1 of the Code of 

Virginia. Section 4.1-111 of the Code of Virginia provides the 

board of directors with the authority to adopt reasonable 

regulations to carry out the provisions of the Alcoholic 

Beverage Control Act (§ 4.1-100 et seq. of the Code of 

Virginia) and to amend or repeal such regulations. 

Purpose: Virginia Alcoholic Beverage Control Authority 

recognizes that the regulation needs to be revised because there 

are instances where discounts being offered to the public 

require the consumer to redeem coupons through other means 

besides mailing them to the manufacturer or importer. This 

regulatory change benefits the public by providing more ways 

for the public to enjoy money-saving discounts while still 

prohibiting instantly redeemable coupons that may encourage 

excessive drinking. The goal of this regulatory change is to 

update the regulation with technology. 

Rationale for Using Fast-Track Rulemaking Process: The 

rulemaking should not generate any controversy because it 

simply adds the ability for members of the public to redeem 

coupons by additional options beyond mailing, updating the 

regulation with current technology. 

Substance: The regulatory change replaces the words "mail in" 

and "mailed" with the word "submitted" to allow for alternative 

methods by which a consumer may redeem a coupon. 

Issues: This regulatory change benefits the public by providing 

more ways for the public to enjoy money-saving discounts. 

The regulatory change benefits the Commonwealth by 

continuing to prohibit instantly redeemable coupons, which 

may encourage excessive drinking. There are no disadvantages 

to the public or the Commonwealth. 

Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 

Analysis:  

The Department of Planning and Budget (DPB) has analyzed 

the economic impact of this proposed regulation in accordance 

with § 2.2-4007.04 of the Code of Virginia (Code) and 

Executive Order 14 (as amended, July 16, 2018). The analysis 

presented represents DPB's best estimate of these economic 

impacts.1 

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. The 

Virginia Alcoholic Beverage Control Authority Board of 

Directors (Board) proposes to broaden the methods of redemption 

for coupons that can be offered by manufacturers and importers 

and used by consumers to purchase alcoholic beverages. 

Background. Currently, the regulation allows manufacturers 

and importers of spirits, wine, and beer to use only consumer 

"mailed in" coupons. According to the Virginia Alcoholic 

Beverage Control Authority (Authority), advancements in 

technology now allow various methods by which a coupon 

may be redeemed (i.e., email, mobile devices, websites). The 

proposed amendments would substitute the words "mail in" 

and "mailed" with the word "submitted," which would 

effectively allow additional types of redemption methods. 

However, the proposed revision maintains the prohibition 

against instantly redeemable discounts. 

Estimated Benefits and Costs. Allowance of additional coupon 

redemption methods (i.e., email, mobile devices, websites) in 

addition to mail is expected to provide consumers with more 
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flexibility as to how coupons may be redeemed. Electronic 

redemption methods that would be allowed under the proposed 

regulation also appear to be more convenient for consumers in 

terms of the speed of redemption and avoidance of standard 

mail costs (e.g., envelopes, postage stamps, trip to the 

mailbox). Because of such advantages, manufacturers and 

importers would likely have incentives to utilize coupons that 

can be electronically redeemed over the coupons that require 

mailing in. Thus, some substitution between the types of 

coupons used may be expected in favor of electronically 

redeemable coupons. 

In theory, increased use of electronically redeemable coupons 

would lead to an increase in aggregate alcoholic beverage sales 

and consumption in the Commonwealth to some extent. So, it 

is reasonable to expect some benefits from this action (i.e., 

monetary savings by consumers, improved profits for 

suppliers). Although excessive drinking is usually associated 

with societal costs, there are many rules geared toward 

addressing a variety of aspects of excessive drinking that may 

mitigate any such risks. Additionally, whether the expected 

increase in aggregate sales or consumption would be 

significant or not is impossible to accurately assess from the 

information available. 

Businesses and Other Entities Affected. This revision will 

impact manufacturers and importers of alcoholic beverages 

and consumers. Currently, there are 889 manufacturers and 

658 importers licensed by the Authority. None of the affected 

entities appear to be disproportionately affected. 

The Code of Virginia requires DPB to assess whether an 

adverse impact may result from the proposed regulation.2 An 

adverse impact is indicated if there is any increase in net cost 

or reduction in net revenue for any entity, even if the benefits 

exceed the costs for all entities combined. As noted, the 

proposed changes would provide more flexibility to the 

manufacturers and importers as well as consumers of alcoholic 

beverages. Given the rules to prevent excessive drinking, an 

adverse impact does not appear to be indicated. 

Small Businesses3 Affected.4 The proposed amendments do not 

appear to adversely affect any businesses including small 

businesses. 

Localities5 Affected.6 The proposed amendments do not 

directly affect localities. 

Projected Impact on Employment. Expected increase in sales 

or consumption of alcoholic beverages indicates a positive 

effect on business activity and thus may positively affect total 

employment. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. To the extent 

electronic redemption methods add to the manufacturer or 

importer sales, a positive effect on their asset values may be 

expected. The proposed amendments do not appear to affect 

real estate development costs. 

________________________________________ 
1Section 2.2-4007.04 of the Code of Virginia requires that such economic 
impact analyses determine the public benefits and costs of the proposed 

amendments. Further the analysis should include: (1) the projected number of 

businesses or other entities to whom the proposed regulatory action would 
apply, (2) the identity of any localities and types of businesses or other entities 

particularly affected, (3) the projected number of persons and employment 

positions to be affected, (4) the projected costs to affected businesses or entities 
to implement or comply with the regulation, and (5) the impact on the use and 

value of private property. 

2Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.04 D: In the event this economic impact analysis 
reveals that the proposed regulation would have an adverse economic impact 

on businesses or would impose a significant adverse economic impact on a 

locality, business, or entity particularly affected, the Department of Planning 
and Budget shall advise the Joint Commission on Administrative Rules, the 

House Committee on Appropriations, and the Senate Committee on Finance. 

Statute does not define "adverse impact," state whether only Virginia entities 
should be considered, nor indicate whether an adverse impact results from 

regulatory requirements mandated by legislation. 

3Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.04, small business is defined as "a business entity, 
including its affiliates, that (i) is independently owned and operated and (ii) 

employs fewer than 500 full-time employees or has gross annual sales of less 

than $6 million." 
4If the proposed regulatory action may have an adverse effect on small 

businesses, § 2.2-4007.04 requires that such economic impact analyses 

include: (1) an identification and estimate of the number of small businesses 
subject to the proposed regulation, (2) the projected reporting, recordkeeping, 

and other administrative costs required for small businesses to comply with the 

proposed regulation, including the type of professional skills necessary for 
preparing required reports and other documents, (3) a statement of the probable 

effect of the proposed regulation on affected small businesses, and (4) a 

description of any less intrusive or less costly alternative methods of achieving 
the purpose of the proposed regulation. Additionally, pursuant to § 2.2-4007.1 

of the Code of Virginia, if there is a finding that a proposed regulation may 

have an adverse impact on small business, the Joint Commission on 

Administrative Rules shall be notified. 
5"Locality" can refer to either local governments or the locations in the 

Commonwealth where the activities relevant to the regulatory change are most 

likely to occur. 
6Section 2.2-4007.04 defines "particularly affected" as bearing 

disproportionate material impact. 

Agency's Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The 

Virginia Alcoholic Beverage Control Authority concurs with 

the Department of Planning and Budget's economic impact 

analysis. 

Summary: 

The amendments provide consumers with flexibility as to 

how coupons from manufacturers or importers of spirits, 

wine, and beer may be redeemed by replacing the words 

"mail-in" and "mailed" with the word "submitted." 

3VAC5-20-90. Advertising; coupons. 

A. "Normal retail price" shall mean the average retail price of 

the brand and size of the product in a given market, and not a 

reduced or discounted price. 

B. Coupons may be advertised in accordance with the 

following conditions and restrictions: 

1. Manufacturers or importers of spirits, wine, and beer may 

use only consumer mail-in submitted refunds, not instantly 

redeemable discount, coupons. The coupons may not exceed 

50% of the normal retail price and may not be honored at a 

retail outlet or state government store but shall be mailed 

submitted directly to the manufacturer or importer or its 
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designated agent. Such agent may not be a wholesaler or 

retailer of alcoholic beverages. Consumer proof of purchase 

(such as a dated, retail specific receipt) is required for 

redemption of all consumer coupons. Coupons are permitted 

in the print media, via the Internet, by direct mail or 

electronic mail to consumers, or as part of, or attached to, the 

package. Manufacturers, importers, bottlers, brokers, 

wholesalers, and their representatives may provide coupon 

pads to retailers for use by retailers on their premises, if done 

for all retail licensees equally and after obtaining the 

consent, which may be a continuing consent, of each retailer 

or his retailer's representative. Wholesale licensees may 

attach refund coupons to the package if done for all retail 

licensees equally and after obtaining the consent, which may 

be a continuing consent, for each retailer or his retailer's 

representative. 

2. Manufacturers or importers offering refund coupons on 

spirits and wine sold in state government stores shall notify 

the board at least 15 days in advance of the issuance of the 

coupons of its amount, its expiration date, and the area of the 

Commonwealth in which it will be primarily used, if not 

used statewide. 

3. Wholesale licensees are not permitted to offer coupons. 

4. Retail licensees may offer coupons, including their own 

discount or refund coupons, on wine and beer sold for off-

premises consumption only. Retail licensees may offer their 

own coupons in the print media, at the point-of-sale, or by 

direct mail to consumers. 

5. No retailer may be paid a fee by manufacturers or 

wholesalers of alcoholic beverages for display or use of 

coupons, and the name of the retail establishment may not 

appear on any refund coupons offered by manufacturers. No 

manufacturer or wholesaler may furnish any coupons or 

materials regarding coupons to retailers which that are 

customized or designed for discount or refund by the retailer. 

6. Retail licensees or employees thereof may not receive 

refunds on coupons obtained from the packages before sale 

at retail. 

7. No coupons may be honored for any individual below 

younger than the legal age for purchase. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R22-6995; Filed November 30, 2021, 1:39 p.m. 

Fast-Track Regulation 

Title of Regulation: 3VAC5-50. Retail Operations 

(amending 3VAC5-50-220). 

Statutory Authority: §§ 4.1-103 and 4.1-111 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: No public hearing is currently 

scheduled. 

Public Comment Deadline: January 21, 2022. 

Effective Date: February 7, 2022. 

Agency Contact: LaTonya D. Hucks-Watkins, Senior Legal 

Counsel, Alcoholic Beverage Control Authority, 2901 

Hermitage Road, Richmond, VA 23220, telephone (804) 213-

4698, FAX (804) 213-4574, or email latonya.hucks-

watkins@virginiaabc.com. 

Basis: Section 4.1-103 of the Code of Virginia enumerates the 

powers of the Alcoholic Beverage Control Authority Board of 

Directors, which includes the authority to adopt regulations 

and to do all acts necessary or advisable to carry out the 

purposes of Title 4.1 of the Code of Virginia. Section 4.1-111 

of the Code of Virginia provides the board with the authority 

to adopt reasonable regulations to carry out the provisions of 

the Alcoholic Beverage Control Act (§ 4.1-100 of the Code of 

Virginia) and to amend or repeal such regulations. 

Purpose: The Virginia Alcoholic Beverage Control Authority 

recognizes that the regulation needs to be revised because 

current trends in compensation structure of management 

agreements involves management companies being paid a 

percentage of the income from the business that they manage. 

The authority is often met with resistance when trying to 

enforce this provision of the regulation because it is not 

indicative of how most companies operate. The goal is to create 

another exception to the general rule that will allow for a 

percentage-based payment while still giving the authority the 

ability to hold the licensee liable for any violations committed 

by the management company, which serves the public welfare, 

and also enforce a reasonable cap on the percentage of income 

from the licensed business that a management company may 

receive as payment. 

Rationale for Using Fast-Track Rulemaking Process: This is 

not anticipated to be controversial because it is a requirement 

only applicable to licensees that choose to use management 

agreements, which the majority of licensees do not. (Out of 

over 20,000 licensees, a few more than 700 actually use 

management agreements.) The changes represent the current 

industry-acceptable method of payment for companies that 

utilize management agreements. 

Substance: The amendments create an additional exception to 

the general rule that a licensee may not let another person 

receive a percentage of the income of the licensed business or 

have any beneficial interest in such business. Presently, the 

regulation allows an exception to the general rule where the 

percentage-based payment is a franchise fee or a rent payment. 

The revision allows percentage-based payments to 

management companies and promoters hired by the licensee to 

handle operational duties on behalf of the licensee provided 

that the management company or promoter receives less than 

10% of the business income and the authority is provided a 

copy of the contract indicating that the management company 

or promoter is an agent of the licensee for the purposes of 

exercising the privileges of the license, and the licensee is 

liable for any violations of the Alcoholic Beverage Control Act 

(§ 4.1-100 et seq. of the Code of Virginia) or Alcoholic 

Beverage Control Authority regulation. 
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Issues: The primary advantage to the public and the 

Commonwealth is that this amendment will allow the 

regulation to catch up to current business trends while still 

maintaining control over who can receive percentage-based 

payments from licensed entities, limiting the amount of these 

payments and maintaining administrative liability for entities 

that are not within the exception created by this provision. 

There are no perceived disadvantages to the public or the 

Commonwealth. 

Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 

Analysis: 

The Department of Planning and Budget (DPB) has analyzed 

the economic impact of this proposed regulation in accordance 

with § 2.2-4007.04 of the Code of Virginia (Code) and 

Executive Order 14 (as amended, July 16, 2018). The analysis 

presented represents DPB's best estimate of these economic 

impacts.1 

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. The 

Virginia Alcoholic Beverage Control Authority Board of 

Directors (Board) proposes to allow percentage-based 

payments to management companies and promoters hired by 

the licensee to handle operational duties on behalf of the 

licensee, provided that the management company or promoter 

receives less than 10% of the business income. 

Background. Currently, the regulation prohibits percentage-

based payments to third parties except for two instances where 

the percentage-based payment is a franchise fee or a rent 

payment. The purpose of the general prohibition against the 

percentage-based payments is to prevent otherwise unqualified 

individuals from operating a licensed business (e.g., hidden 

ownership). 

The proposed changes would create an additional exemption to 

the general rule and thereby allow percentage-based payments 

to a management company or promoter if the payment is less 

than 10% of the business income. According to the Virginia 

Alcoholic Beverage Control Authority (Authority), 

compensation structures in management agreements based on 

the percentage of income for a licensed business have been 

more common in recent years. Examples of such agreements 

include operation of a restaurant in a hotel or operation of a 

food-court business in a mall. In such situations, a party may 

own the location and may wish to reap most of the profits from 

that location but may not have the business expertise to run it 

in instances where alcoholic beverages are served. The 10% 

threshold is rooted in the statutory disclosure requirements 

whereby an ownership percentage above the threshold is 

subject to background checks.2 

Estimated Benefits and Costs. It is not unusual for an entity or 

an individual to have the capital or real estate needed to start a 

business that requires an alcoholic beverage license but to lack 

the experience needed to run such a business. The proposed 

regulation would accommodate such entities or businesses by 

allowing them to hire other individuals or entities with 

expertise to run such businesses based on a percentage of 

revenues. Currently, the Authority does not tolerate such 

compensation structures, and once identified, the licensees are 

usually forced to modify their licenses to reflect a status as joint 

owners, which triggers a need for all owners to comply with 

the ownership requirements (such as background checks and 

liability) as is already required for the primary licensee. The 

joint license requirements currently discourage this type of 

business model by imposing requirements on an individual 

who or entity that has the expertise to run such a business but 

may lack the capital or the real estate to operate it. 

Other requirements will remain in place that would likely help 

prevent the abuse of this new exception. These include the 10% 

threshold on percentage-based payments and the requirement 

that the Authority be provided a copy of the contract indicating 

that the management company or promoter is an agent of the 

licensee for the purposes of exercising the privileges of the 

license and the licensee is liable for any violations of Title 4.1 

(the Alcoholic Beverage and Cannabis Control Act) or of 

Board regulations that may be committed by the management 

company or promoter. 

In summary, the proposed amendments would remove a barrier 

to forging partnerships by allowing capital or real estate 

resources to work with operational expertise while minimizing 

the risk of hidden ownerships or violations of laws and 

regulations. 

Businesses and Other Entities Affected. According to the 

Authority, there are 20,648 licensed businesses in the 

Commonwealth. Of these, 713 currently utilize management 

agreements. A subset of the 713 licensees are most likely to 

take advantage of the newly available percentage-based 

compensation structure. None of the licensees appear to be 

disproportionately affected. 

The Code of Virginia requires DPB to assess whether an 

adverse impact may result from the proposed regulation.3 An 

adverse impact is indicated if there is any increase in net cost 

or reduction in net revenue for any entity, even if the benefits 

exceed the costs for all entities combined. As noted, the 

percentage-based payments represents a new business friendly 

compensation structure option. Thus, no adverse impact is 

indicated. 

Small Businesses4 Affected.5 The proposed amendments do 

not appear to adversely affect small businesses. 

Localities6 Affected.7 The proposed amendments do not 

introduce costs for local governments. 

Projected Impact on Employment. To the extent the proposed 

allowance for percentage payments help start new businesses, 

a positive impact on employment can be expected. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. To the extent 

the proposed allowance for percentage payments help start new 

businesses, a positive impact on asset values of parties on both 

sides of the agreement and on the value of real estate involved 

may be expected. The proposed amendments do not appear to 

directly affect the real estate development costs. 
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______________________________________________ 
1Section 2.2-4007.04 of the Code of Virginia requires that such economic 

impact analyses determine the public benefits and costs of the proposed 
amendments. Further the analysis should include: (1) the projected number of 

businesses or other entities to whom the proposed regulatory action would 

apply, (2) the identity of any localities and types of businesses or other entities 
particularly affected, (3) the projected number of persons and employment 

positions to be affected, (4) the projected costs to affected businesses or entities 

to implement or comply with the regulation, and (5) the impact on the use and 

value of private property. 
2See §§ 4.1-222 and 4.1-225 of the Code of Virginia. 

3Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.04 D: In the event this economic impact analysis 
reveals that the proposed regulation would have an adverse economic impact 

on businesses or would impose a significant adverse economic impact on a 

locality, business, or entity particularly affected, the Department of Planning 
and Budget shall advise the Joint Commission on Administrative Rules, the 

House Committee on Appropriations, and the Senate Committee on Finance. 

Statute does not define "adverse impact," state whether only Virginia entities 

should be considered, nor indicate whether an adverse impact results from 

regulatory requirements mandated by legislation. 

4Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.04, small business is defined as "a business entity, 
including its affiliates, that (i) is independently owned and operated and (ii) 

employs fewer than 500 full-time employees or has gross annual sales of less 

than $6 million." 
5If the proposed regulatory action may have an adverse effect on small 

businesses, § 2.2-4007.04 requires that such economic impact analyses 
include: (1) an identification and estimate of the number of small businesses 

subject to the proposed regulation, (2) the projected reporting, recordkeeping, 

and other administrative costs required for small businesses to comply with the 
proposed regulation, including the type of professional skills necessary for 

preparing required reports and other documents, (3) a statement of the probable 

effect of the proposed regulation on affected small businesses, and (4) a 
description of any less intrusive or less costly alternative methods of achieving 

the purpose of the proposed regulation. Additionally, pursuant to Code § 2.2-

4007.1 of the Code of Virginia, if there is a finding that a proposed regulation 
may have an adverse impact on small business, the Joint Commission on 

Administrative Rules shall be notified. 

6"Locality" can refer to either local governments or the locations in the 
Commonwealth where the activities relevant to the regulatory change are most 

likely to occur. 

7Section 2.2-4007.04 defines "particularly affected" as bearing 

disproportionate material impact. 

Agency's Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The 

Virginia Alcoholic Beverage Control Authority concurs with 

the Department of Planning and Budget's economic impact 

analysis. 

Summary: 

The amendments create an additional exception to the 

general rule that a licensee may not let another person 

receive a percentage of the income of the licensed business 

or have any beneficial interest in such business. The new 

exception allows percentage-based payments to 

management companies and promoters hired by the licensee 

to handle operational duties on behalf of the licensee 

provided that the management company or promoter 

receives less than 10% of the business income and the 

authority is provided a copy of the contract indicating that 

the management company or promoter is an agent of the 

licensee for the purposes of exercising the privileges of the 

license and the licensee is liable for any violation of the 

Alcoholic Beverage Control Act (§ 4.1-100 et seq. of the 

Code of Virginia) or Alcoholic Beverage Control Authority 

regulation committed by the management company or 

promoter. 

3VAC5-50-220. Interests in the businesses of licensees. 

Persons to whom licenses have been issued shall not allow 

any other person to receive a percentage of the income of the 

licensed business or have any beneficial interest in such 

business; provided, however, that nothing in this section shall 

be construed to prohibit: 

1. The payment by the licensee of a franchise fee based in 

whole or in part upon a percentage of the entire gross 

receipts of the business conducted upon the licensed 

premises, where such is reasonable as compared to 

prevailing franchise fees of similar businesses; or 

2. Where the licensed business is conducted upon leased 

premises, and the lease when construed as a whole does not 

constitute a shift or device to evade the requirements of this 

section: 

a. The payment of rent based in whole or in part upon a 

percentage of the entire gross receipts of the business, 

where such rent is reasonable as compared to prevailing 

rentals of similar businesses; and 

b. The landlord from imposing standards relating to the 

conduct of the business upon the leased premises, where 

such standards are reasonable as compared to prevailing 

standards in leases of similar businesses, and do not 

unreasonably restrict the control of the licensee over the 

sale and consumption of alcoholic beverages; or 

3. The payment by the licensee of a management fee based 

in whole or in part upon a percentage of the entire gross 

receipts of the business conducted under the license where 

the licensee has contracted with a management company or 

promoter to perform operational duties on behalf of the 

licensee, provided that: 

a. All payments to any management company or promoter 

are less than 10% in aggregate of the gross receipts of the 

business conducted under the license; and 

b. The licensee provides the Alcoholic Beverage Control 

Authority (authority) a copy of the contract between the 

licensee and the promoter that identifies the management 

company or promoter as an agent of the licensee for the 

purposes of exercising the privileges of the license and 

holds the licensee liable for any violations of the Alcoholic 

Beverage Control Act (§ 4.1-100 of the Code of Virginia) 

or authority regulation committed by the management 

company or promoter. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R22-6997; Filed November 30, 2021, 1:43 p.m. 

  ––––––––––––––––––  
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TITLE 4. CONSERVATION AND NATURAL 
RESOURCES 

MARINE RESOURCES COMMISSION 

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Marine Resources Commission 

is claiming an exemption from the Administrative Process Act 

in accordance with § 2.2-4006 A 11 of the Code of Virginia; 

however, the commission is required to publish the full text of 

final regulations. 

Title of Regulation: 4VAC20-620. Pertaining to Summer 

Flounder (amending 4VAC20-620-30, 4VAC20-620-40). 

Statutory Authority: § 28.2-201 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: December 8, 2021. 

Agency Contact: Jennifer Farmer, Regulatory Coordinator, 

Marine Resources Commission, 380 Fenwick Road, Fort 

Monroe, VA 23551, telephone (757) 247-2248, or email 

jennifer.farmer@mrc.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendments allow the Marine Resources Commission 

to establish by public announcement on the commission's 

website landing dates, possession limits, and landing limits 

for summer flounder commercially harvested offshore 

(federal waters) and landed in Virginia. 

4VAC20-620-30. Commercial harvest quota and allowable 

landings. 

A. During each calendar year, allowable commercial landings 

of summer flounder shall be limited to a quota in total pounds 

calculated pursuant to the joint Mid-Atlantic Fishery 

Management Council/Atlantic States Marine Fisheries 

Commission Summer Flounder Fishery Management Plan, as 

approved by the National Marine Fisheries Service on August 

6, 1992 (50 CFR Part 625), and shall be distributed as 

described in subsections B through G of this section. 

B. The commercial harvest of summer flounder from Virginia 

tidal waters for each calendar year shall be limited to 100,000 

pounds of the annual quota described in subsection A of this 

section. 

C. From the first Monday in January through October 15, the 

allowable landings of summer flounder harvested outside of 

Virginia shall be limited to an amount of pounds equal to 60% 

of the quota described in subsection A of this section after 

deducting the amount specified in subsection B of this section. 

D. From October 16 through December 31, allowable 

landings of summer flounder harvested outside of Virginia 

shall be limited to an amount of pounds equal to 40% of the 

quota as described in subsection A of this section after 

deducting the amount specified in subsection B of this section, 

and as may be further modified by subsection E of this section. 

E. Should landings from the first Monday in January through 

October 15 exceed or fall short of 60% of the quota described 

in subsection A of this section, any such excess shall be 

deducted from allowable landings described in subsection D of 

this section, and any such shortage shall be added to the 

allowable landings as described in subsection D of this section. 

Should the commercial harvest specified in subsection B of this 

section be projected as less than 100,000 pounds, any such 

shortage shall be added to the allowable landings described in 

subsection D of this section. 

F. The Marine Resources Commission will give timely notice 

to the industry of the calculated poundages and any 

adjustments to any allowable landings described in subsections 

C and D of this section. C. It shall be unlawful for any person 

to harvest or to land summer flounder for commercial purposes 

after the commercial harvest limit or any allowable 

commercial landings as described in this section have been 

attained and announced as such. If any person lands summer 

flounder after the commercial harvest limit or any allowable 

commercial landing have been attained and announced as such, 

the entire amount of summer flounder in that person's 

possession shall be confiscated. 

G. D. It shall be unlawful for any buyer of seafood to receive 

any summer flounder after any commercial harvest limit or 

landing quota allowable commercial landings as described in 

this section has been attained and announced as such. 

4VAC20-620-40. Commercial vessel possession and 

landing limitations. 

A. It shall be unlawful for any person harvesting summer 

flounder outside of Virginia's waters to do any of the 

following, except as described in subsections B, C, and D, E, 

F, and G of this section: 

1. Possess aboard any vessel in Virginia waters any amount 

of summer flounder in excess of 10% by weight of Atlantic 

croaker or the combined landings, on board a vessel, of black 

sea bass, scup, squid, scallops, and Atlantic mackerel. 

2. Possess aboard any vessel in Virginia waters any amount 

of summer flounder in excess of 1,500 pounds landed in 

combination with Atlantic croaker. 

3. Fail to sell the vessel's entire harvest of all species at the 

point of landing. 

B. Nothing in this chapter shall preclude a vessel from 

possessing any North Carolina or New Jersey vessel 

possession limit of summer flounder in Virginia; however, no 

vessel that possesses the North Carolina or New Jersey vessel 

possession limit of summer flounder shall offload any amount 

of that possession limit, except as described in subsection L I 

of this section. 

C. From February 25 through April 7, it shall be unlawful for 

any person harvesting summer flounder outside of Virginia 

waters to do any of the following: 
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1. Possess aboard any vessel in Virginia waters any amount 

of summer flounder in excess of the combined total of the 

Virginia landing limit described in subdivision 2 of this 

subsection and the amount of the legal North Carolina or 

New Jersey landing limit or trip limit. 

2. Land in Virginia more than a total of 15,000 pounds of 

summer flounder. 

3. Land in Virginia any amount of summer flounder more 

than once in any consecutive five-day period. 

D. From June 15 through August 15, it shall be unlawful for 

any person harvesting summer flounder outside of Virginia 

waters to do any of the following: 

1. Possess aboard any vessel in Virginia waters any amount 

of summer flounder in excess of the combined total of the 

Virginia landing limit described in subdivision 2 of this 

subsection and the amount of the legal North Carolina or 

New Jersey landing limit or trip limit. 

2. Land in Virginia more than a total of 12,500 pounds of 

summer flounder. 

3. Land in Virginia any amount of summer flounder more 

than once in any consecutive five-day period. 

E. From September 8 through October 31, it shall be unlawful 

for any person harvesting summer flounder outside of Virginia 

waters to do any of the following: 

1. Possess aboard any vessel in Virginia waters any amount 

of summer flounder in excess of the combined total of the 

Virginia landing limit described in subdivision 2 of this 

subsection and the amount of the legal North Carolina or 

New Jersey landing limit or trip limit. 

2. Land in Virginia more than a total of 15,000 pounds of 

summer flounder. 

3. Land in Virginia any amount of summer flounder more 

than once in any consecutive five-day period. 

F. From November 1 through December 31, it shall be 

unlawful for any person harvesting summer flounder outside 

of Virginia waters to do any of the following: 

1. Possess aboard any vessel in Virginia waters any amount 

of summer flounder in excess of the total of the Virginia 

landing limit described in subdivision 2 of this subsection 

and the amount of the legal North Carolina or New Jersey 

landing limit or trip limit. 

2. Land in Virginia more than a total of 12,000 pounds of 

summer flounder. 

3. Land in Virginia any amount of summer flounder more 

than once in any consecutive five-day period. 

C. It shall be unlawful for any person to land summer flounder 

in Virginia that was harvested outside of Virginia waters, 

except as in accordance with the established seasons and 

landing limits announced by the Marine Resources 

Commission (commission). Season opening dates, closing 

dates, and landing limits shall be set based on market 

conditions and quota monitoring and announced on the 

commission website. Within each season announced by the 

commission, it shall be unlawful to do any of the following: 

1. Possess aboard any vessel in Virginia waters any amount 

of summer flounder in excess of the combined total of the 

Virginia landing limit described in subdivision 2 of this 

subsection and the amount of the legal North Carolina or 

New Jersey landing limit or trip limit. 

2. Land any summer flounder more than the landing limit 

announced by the commission. 

3. Land in Virginia any amount of summer flounder more 

than once in any consecutive five-day period. 

G. D. From January 1 through December 31, any boat or 

vessel issued a valid federal summer flounder moratorium 

permit and owned and operated by a legal Virginia 

Commercial Hook-and-Line Licensee that possesses a 

Restricted Summer Flounder Endorsement shall be restricted 

to a possession and landing limit of 200 pounds of summer 

flounder, except as described in 4VAC20-620-30 F C. 

H. E. Upon request by a marine police officer, the seafood 

buyer or processor shall offload and accurately determine the 

total weight of all summer flounder aboard any vessel landing 

summer flounder in Virginia. 

I. F. Any possession limit described in this section shall be 

determined by the weight in pounds of summer flounder as 

customarily packed, boxed, and weighed by the seafood buyer 

or processor. The weight of any summer flounder in pounds 

found in excess of any possession limit described in this 

section shall be prima facie evidence of violation of this 

chapter. Persons in possession of summer flounder aboard any 

vessel in excess of the possession limit shall be in violation of 

this chapter unless that vessel has requested and been granted 

safe harbor. Any buyer or processor offloading or accepting 

any quantity of summer flounder from any vessel in excess of 

the possession limit shall be in violation of this chapter, except 

as described by subsection K I of this section. A buyer or 

processor may accept or buy summer flounder from a vessel 

that has secured safe harbor, provided that vessel has satisfied 

the requirements described in subsection K I of this section. 

J. G. If a person violates the possession limits described in 

this section, the entire amount of summer flounder in that 

person's possession shall be confiscated. Any confiscated 

summer flounder shall be considered as a removal from the 

appropriate commercial harvest or landings quota. Upon 

confiscation, the marine police officer shall inventory the 

confiscated summer flounder and, at a minimum, secure two 

bids for purchase of the confiscated summer flounder from 

approved and licensed seafood buyers. The confiscated fish 

will be sold to the highest bidder, and all funds derived from 
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such sale shall be deposited for the Commonwealth pending 

court resolution of the charge of violating the possession limits 

established by this chapter. All of the collected funds will be 

returned to the accused upon a finding of innocence or forfeited 

to the Commonwealth upon a finding of guilty. 

K. H. It shall be unlawful for a licensed seafood buyer or 

federally permitted seafood buyer to fail to contact the Marine 

Resources Commission Operation Operations Station prior to 

a vessel offloading summer flounder harvested outside of 

Virginia. The buyer shall provide to the Marine Resources 

Commission the name of the vessel, its captain, an estimate of 

the amount in pounds of summer flounder on board that vessel, 

and the anticipated or approximate offloading time. Once 

offloading of any vessel is complete and the weight of the 

landed summer flounder has been determined, the buyer shall 

contact the Marine Resources Commission Operations Station 

and report the vessel name and corresponding weight of 

summer flounder landed. It shall be unlawful for any person to 

offload from a boat or vessel for commercial purposes any 

summer flounder during the period of 9 p.m. to 7 a.m. 

L. I. It shall be unlawful for any boat or vessel possessing 

summer flounder on board to enter Virginia waters for safe 

harbor unless they have contacted the Marine Resources 

Commission Operations Station in advance of such entry into 

Virginia waters. Any boat or vessel that has entered Virginia 

waters for safe harbor shall only offload summer flounder 

when the state that licenses that vessel requests to transfer 

quota to Virginia, in the amount that corresponds to that 

vessel's possession limit, and the commissioner agrees to 

accept that transfer of quota. 

M. After any commercial harvest or landing quota as 

described in 4VAC20-620-30 has been attained and announced 

as such, any boat or vessel possessing summer flounder on 

board may enter Virginia waters for safe harbor but shall 

contact the Marine Resources Commission Operation Center 

in advance of such entry into Virginia waters. 

N. J. It shall be unlawful for any person harvesting summer 

flounder outside of Virginia waters to possess aboard any 

vessel, in Virginia, any amount of summer flounder, once it has 

been projected and announced that 100% of the quota 

described in 4VAC20-620-30 A has been taken. 

O. K. It shall be unlawful to transfer or offload summer 

flounder from one vessel to another vessel at sea. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R22-7040; Filed December 7, 2021, 2:22 p.m. 

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The Marine Resources Commission 

is claiming an exemption from the Administrative Process Act 

in accordance with § 2.2-4006 A 11 of the Code of Virginia; 

however, the commission is required to publish the full text of 

final regulations. 

Title of Regulation: 4VAC20-754. Pertaining to Importation 

of Fish, Shellfish or Crustacea into Virginia's Waters 

(amending 4VAC20-754-20, 4VAC20-754-30). 

Statutory Authority: § 28.2-201 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: December 10, 2021. 

Agency Contact: Jennifer Farmer, Regulatory Coordinator, 

Marine Resources Commission, 380 Fenwick Road, Fort 

Monroe, VA 23551, telephone (757) 247-2248, or email 

jennifer.farmer@mrc.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendments modify the list of approved states and 

waters from which fish, shellfish, and crustacean may come 

in order to be introduced into Virginia waters; the species 

of fish, shellfish, and crustacean that may be introduced into 

Virginia waters; and the criteria necessary for fish, 

shellfish, and crustacean to be imported for introduction 

into Virginia waters. 

4VAC20-754-20. Definitions. 

The following words and terms, when used in this chapter, 

shall have the following meanings unless the context clearly 

indicates otherwise. 

"Atlantic coastal areas" means the tidal waters of Maine, New 

Hampshire, Massachusetts, Rhode Island, Connecticut, New 

York, New Jersey, Delaware, Maryland, North Carolina, South 

Carolina, and Georgia and the tidal waters of the state of 

Florida that enter the Atlantic Ocean through lands on the 

eastern side of the state of Florida north of the southernmost 

point of the mainland peninsula of Florida. 

"Clinical disease" means infection by endemic Perkinsus or 

Haplosporidium pathogens or QPX that exceeds 5.0% 

prevalence in a sample or with any single infection of moderate 

or greater intensity or infection by any non-endemic pathogen. 

"Northern broodstock" means clams that originated in 

Virginia waters or other growing areas on the east coast of the 

continental United States north of Virginia. 

"Shell height" means the straight-line distance from the hinge 

of the mollusk to its bill. 

"Shell length" means the longest straight-line distance on the 

mollusk from edge to edge. 

"VIMS" means the Director of the Virginia Institute of 

Marine Science or Virginia Institute of Marine Science staff 

designated by the director to act with the same authority. 

4VAC20-754-30. Approved species and criteria for 

importation. 

A. Pursuant to the provisions of § 28.2-825 of the Code of 

Virginia and under the following conditions, it shall be lawful 

to import into the Commonwealth, with the intent of placing 

such animals into the waters of the Commonwealth, any 
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species listed below in this chapter, except as prohibited in the 

exception contained in subdivision 1 of this subsection: 

1. Any hard clam of the species Mercenaria mercenaria from 

the waters of any coastal area or state within the continental 

United States and that is absent of any known shellfish 

pathogen, as specified in subsection B of this section, except 

that any importation of hatchery-produced seed of the genus 

Mercenaria from Pacific coastal states within the continental 

United States shall be prohibited, and any importation of 

hatchery produced seed of the genus Mercenaria from South 

Carolina or Florida shall meet all requirements established 

by subdivision 1 a through d of this subsection. Importation 

requirements established by subdivision 1 a through d of this 

subsection shall be in addition to those importation 

requirements established by subsection B of this section 

Atlantic coastal areas and that is absent of clinical disease 

caused by any known shellfish pathogen, as specified in 

subsection B of this section. Importation requirements 

established by subdivisions 1 a through 1 d of this 

subsection, shall be in addition to those importation 

requirements established by subsection B of this section. 

a. The South Carolina or Florida hatchery or facility shall 

certify that only northern broodstock clams of the genus 

Mercenaria, absent of shellfish pathogens, were used to 

produce hard clam seed that is to be exported to Virginia. 

The certification shall be accompanied by evidence that 

the facility took possession of the northern broodstock 

hard clams within the previous 12 months. 

b. The South Carolina or Florida hatchery or facility shall 

certify that any clam seed scheduled for importation into 

Virginia was produced from broodstock that satisfies the 

requirements specified by subdivision 1 a of this 

subsection. 

c. The South Carolina or Florida hatchery or facility shall 

certify that only hard clams of northern broodstock were 

held in the facility used for spawning purposes throughout 

the time period, within a calendar year, corresponding to 

all shipments of hard clam seed to Virginia, and all 

shipments of clam seed shall be accompanied by a tag 

indicating the name of the hatchery or facility and the 

quantity on a per bag or container basis. 

d. Any certification requirements described in 

subdivisions 1 a and 1 b of this subsection shall 

accompany the certified statement from an approved 

shellfish pathologist as to the complete absence of known 

shellfish pathogens clinical disease in a random sample of 

hard clam seed of the genus Mercenaria scheduled for 

importation into Virginia, as described in subsection B of 

this section. All certified statements required for 

importation of hard clam seed of genus Mercenaria as 

specified by subdivisions 1 a and 1 b of this subsection and 

subsection B of this section shall be provided to the 

Virginia Marine Resources Commission, Fisheries 

Management Division, at least 10 days prior to the 

shipment of any hard clam seed of genus Mercenaria. 

2. Any American oyster shellstock of the species Crassostrea 

virginica greater than 25mm 15mm in shell height from the 

waters of New England, Mid-Atlantic, or South Atlantic 

coastal areas or states and that is absent of any known non-

endemic shellfish pathogen pathogens and with Perkinsus 

and Haplosporidium infection prevalence and intensity no 

higher than in recipient Virginia waters, as specified in 

subsection B of this section. 

3. Any American oyster hatchery-produced seed of the 

species Crassostrea virginica less than 25mm 15mm in shell 

height from the waters of any coastal area or state within the 

Continental United States and Atlantic coastal areas that is 

absent of clinical disease caused by any known shellfish 

pathogen, as specified in subsection B of this section, or 

documentation of appropriate certification of the hatchery 

facility demonstrating compliance with biosecurity 

standards under a VIMS-supported program for seed of the 

size in question. 

4. Any bay scallop hatchery-produced seed of the species 

Argopecten irradians less than 25mm in shell height from 

the waters of any coastal area or state within the continental 

United States Atlantic coastal areas and that is absent of 

clinical disease caused by any known shellfish pathogen, as 

specified in subsection B of this section. 

5. Any surf clam hatchery-produced seed of the species 

Spisula solidissima less than 25mm in shell length from the 

waters of any coastal area or state within the continental 

United States Atlantic coastal areas and that is absent of 

clinical disease caused by any known shellfish pathogen, as 

specified in subsection B of this section. 

6. Any soft shell clam-hatchery-produced-seed of the 

species Mya arenaria less than 25mm in shell length from 

the waters of any coastal area or state within the United 

States Atlantic coastal areas and that is absent of clinical 

disease caused by any known shellfish pathogen. 

7. Any pre-molt (peeler) blue crab of the species Callinecies 

sapidus from the waters of the states of New Jersey, 

Delaware, Maryland, North Carolina, South Carolina, or 

Georgia. 

B. In Requirements to be met in order to import any species 

described in subsection A of this section, shall include a 

certified statement from an approved shellfish pathologist as to 

the complete absence of clinical disease caused by any known 

shellfish pathogens in a random sample shall be provided, or 

for oysters of Perkinsus and Haplosporidium prevalences and 

intensities no higher than in recipient Virginia waters. That 

certified statement shall be provided to the Virginia Marine 

Resources Commission, Fisheries Management Division, at 

least 10 days prior to the shipment of any molluscan shellfish 

specified above in this chapter for introduction into the waters 
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of the Commonwealth. The test for shellfish pathogens in all 

shellfish species except oysters shall be from a random sample 

of 60 individuals from the shipment or population in question 

that was examined by histological and fluid thioglycollate 

methods, or histological and PCR methods for small seed, 

within 60 30 days of each importation. For oysters, samples 

shall be tested within 30 days of each importation. 

Documentation of appropriate hatchery facility certification 

demonstrating compliance with biosecurity standards under a 

VIMS-supported program may be accepted in lieu of batch 

analysis of oyster and Mercenaria seed proposed for transfer at 

the discretion of the Virginia Marine Resources Commission. 

C. Shipments of any molluscan shellfish specified above in 

this chapter, upon entry into the Commonwealth for 

introduction into the waters of the Commonwealth, shall be 

accompanied by a certified statement from an approved 

shellfish pathologist as to the complete absence of clinical 

disease caused by any known shellfish pathogens in a random 

sample of 60 individuals from the shipment or population in 

question or by documentation of appropriate hatchery facility 

certification demonstrating compliance with biosecurity 

standards under a VIMS-supported program for seed of the size 

in question and written acknowledgement acknowledgment 

from the Virginia Marine Resources Commission on the 

receipt of such statement or documentation. 

D. Shipments of any species under the provisions of this 

chapter shall be accompanied by documentation of the quantity 

imported. 

E. The provisions of the chapter shall not apply to the 

importation of any molluscan shellfish from the waters of the 

Delaware Bay or the Maryland portion of the Chesapeake Bay 

and its tributaries. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R22-7041; Filed December 7, 2021, 2:41 p.m. 

  ––––––––––––––––––  

TITLE 9. ENVIRONMENT 

STATE WATER CONTROL BOARD 

Notice of Effective Date 

Title of Regulation: 9VAC25-260. Water Quality Standards 

(amending 9VAC25-260-400, 9VAC25-260-420, 9VAC25-

260-440, 9VAC25-260-510). 

Statutory Authority: § 62.1-44.15 of the Code of Virginia; 

Clean Water Act (33 USC § 1251 et seq.); 40 CFR 131. 

Effective Date: November 24, 2021. 

On December 9, 2020, the State Water Control Board adopted 

revisions to the water quality standards in 9VAC25-260-400, 

9VAC25-260-420, 9VAC25-260-440, and 9VAC25-260-510. 

These revisions designate portions of four waterbodies as 

public water supplies. The amendments were published in final 

form on June 7, 2021, in Volume 37, Issue 21 of the Virginia 

Register of Regulations (37:21 VA.R. 3354-3358 June 7, 

2021) to be effective upon filing notice of U.S. Environmental 

Protection Agency (EPA) approval with the Registrar of 

Regulations. The State Water Control Board has received a 

letter from Catherine A. Libertz, EPA Region III Water 

Division Director, dated November 10, 2021, approving the 

amendments, and filed notice with the Registrar. 

Copies are available by calling toll free at 1-800-592-5482 ext. 

4121 or local at 804-698-4121; by written request to David 

Whitehurst, P.O. Box 1105, Richmond, VA 23218; or by email 

request to david.whitehurst@deq.virginia.gov. 

Agency Contact: David Whitehurst, Department of 

Environmental Quality, P.O. Box 1105, Richmond, VA 23218, 

telephone 804-698-4121, FAX 804-698-4178, or email 

david.whitehurst@deq.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R21-6535; Filed November 24, 2021, 11:00 a.m. 

  ––––––––––––––––––  

TITLE 10. FINANCE AND FINANCIAL 
INSTITUTIONS 

STATE CORPORATION COMMISSION 

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The State Corporation Commission 

is claiming an exemption from the Administrative Process Act 

in accordance with § 2.2-4002 A 2 of the Code of Virginia, 

which exempts courts, any agency of the Supreme Court, and 

any agency that by the Constitution is expressly granted any of 

the powers of a court of record. 

Title of Regulation: 10VAC5-200. Short-Term Lending 

(amending 10VAC5-200-10). 

Statutory Authority: §§ 6.2-1815 and 12.1-13 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

Effective Date: December 15, 2021. 

Agency Contact: Dustin Physioc, Deputy Commissioner, 

Bureau of Financial Institutions, State Corporation 

Commission, P.O. Box 640, Richmond, VA 23218, telephone 

(804) 786-0831, or email dustin.physioc@scc.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendment adds the definition of "business check" to 

mean a paper check, an electronic check, or an electronic 

funds transfer through the Automated Clearing House 

system. 

AT RICHMOND, DECEMBER 1, 2021 

COMMONWEALTH OF VIRGINIA, ex rel. 

STATE CORPORATION COMMISSION 

http://register.dls.virginia.gov/details.aspx?id=9659
http://register.dls.virginia.gov/details.aspx?id=9659
mailto:david.whitehurst@deq.virginia.gov
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CASE NO. BFI-2021-00101 

Ex Parte: In the Matter of Defining the 

Term "Business Check" in the Regulations 

Governing Short-Term Lending 

ORDER ADOPTING A REGULATION 

On October 12, 2021, the State Corporation Commission 

("Commission") entered an Order to Take Notice of a proposal 

by the Bureau of Financial Institutions to amend 10 VAC 5-

200-10 of the Commission's rules governing Short-Term 

Lending, 10 VAC 5-200-10 et seq. by defining the term 

"business check" to mean a paper check, an electronic check, 

or an electronic funds transfer through the Automated Clearing 

House system. The Order to Take Notice and proposed 

regulation were published in the Virginia Register of 

Regulations on November 8, 2021, posted on the 

Commission's website, and sent to all short-term lenders 

licensed under Chapter 18 of Title 6.2 of the Code of Virginia 

and other interested persons. The Order to Take Notice invited 

all persons to participate and required that any comments or 

requests for a hearing on the proposed regulation be submitted 

in writing on or before November 19, 2021. 

Comments on the proposed regulation were filed by The Pew 

Charitable Trusts, which supports the proposal. The 

Commission did not receive any requests for a hearing. 

NOW THE COMMISSION, having considered this matter, 

finds that the proposed regulation should be adopted with an 

effective date of December 15, 2021. The Commission 

expresses its appreciation to The Pew Charitable Trusts for its 

written comments. 

Accordingly, IT IS ORDERED THAT: 

(1) The proposed regulation, as attached hereto, is adopted 

effective December 15, 2021. 

(2) This Order and the attached regulation shall be made 

available on the Commission's website: 

scc.virginia.gov/pages/Case-Information. 

(3) The Commission's Division of Information Resources 

shall provide a copy of this Order and the regulation to the 

Virginia Registrar of Regulations for appropriate publication 

in the Virginia Register of Regulations. 

(4) This case is dismissed, and the papers filed herein shall be 

placed in the Commission's file for ended causes. 

A COPY of this Order and the attached regulation shall be 

sent by the Clerk of the Commission to the Commission's 

Office of General Counsel and to the Commissioner of 

Financial Institutions, who shall send by e-mail or U.S. mail a 

copy of this Order and the attached regulation to every short-

term lender licensed under Chapter 18, The Pew Charitable 

Trusts, and such other interested persons as he may designate. 

10VAC5-200-10. Definitions. 

A. The following words and terms when used in this chapter 

shall have the following meanings unless the context clearly 

indicates otherwise: 

"Act" means Chapter 18 (§ 6.2-1800 et seq.) of Title 6.2 of 

the Code of Virginia. 

"Advertisement" means a commercial message in any 

medium that promotes, directly or indirectly, a short-term loan. 

This includes a communication sent to a consumer as part of a 

solicitation of business, but excludes messages on promotional 

items such as pens, pencils, notepads, hats, and calendars. 

"Business check" for purposes of the Act and this chapter 

means a paper check, an electronic check, or an electronic 

funds transfer through the Automated Clearing House system. 

"Business day" for purposes of the Act and this chapter means 

a day on which the licensee is able to make loans pursuant to 

the Act. 

"Duplicate original" means an exact copy of a signed original, 

an exact copy with signatures created by the same impression 

as the original, or an exact copy bearing an original signature. 

"Good funds instrument" for purposes of the Act and this 

chapter means a certified check, cashier's check, money order 

or, if the licensee is equipped to handle such payments, 

payment effected by use of a credit card, prepaid card, debit 

card, or the Automated Clearing House system. 

"Liquid assets" for purposes of the Act and this chapter means 

funds held in a checking account or savings account at a 

depository institution, money market funds, commercial paper, 

and treasury bills. 

"Member of the military services of the United States" for 

purposes of the Act and this chapter means a regular or reserve 

member of the United States Army, Navy, Marine Corps, Air 

Force, Coast Guard, or National Guard serving on active duty 

under a call or order that does not specify a period of 30 days 

or fewer. 

"Other dependent of a member of the military services of the 

United States" for purposes of the Act and this chapter means 

(i) an individual under the age of 18 whose mother or father is 

a member of the military services of the United States or (ii) an 

individual for whom a member of the military services of the 

United States provided more than one-half of the individual's 

financial support for 180 days immediately preceding the date 

the individual applied for a short-term loan. 

"Payday loan" means a loan made pursuant to the Act and this 

chapter prior to January 1, 2021. 

"Prepaid card" means a card with a network logo (e.g., Visa, 

MasterCard, American Express, or Discover) that is used by a 

cardholder to access money that has been loaded onto the card 

in advance. 
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B. Other terms used in this chapter shall have the meanings 

set forth in § 6.2-100 or 6.2-1800 of the Code of Virginia. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R22-7001; Filed December 1, 2021, 11:05 a.m. 

  ––––––––––––––––––  

TITLE 18. PROFESSIONAL AND 
OCCUPATIONAL LICENSING 

BOARD OF PHARMACY 

Forms 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: Forms used in administering the 

regulation have been filed by the agency. The forms are not 

being published; however, online users of this issue of the 

Virginia Register of Regulations may click on the name of a 

form with a hyperlink to access it. The forms are also available 

from the agency contact or may be viewed at the Office of the 

Registrar of Regulations, 900 East Main Street, 11th Floor, 

Richmond, Virginia 23219. 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC110-50. Regulations Governing 

Wholesale Distributors, Manufacturers, Third-Party 

Logistics Providers, and Warehousers. 

Agency Contact: Elaine Yeatts, Regulatory Coordinator, 

Department of Health Professions, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 

300, Henrico, VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-4688, FAX 

(804) 527-4434, or email elaine.yeatts@dhp.virginia.gov. 

FORMS (18VAC110-50) 

Application for License as a Wholesale Distributor (rev. 

10/2020) 

Application for License as a Wholesale Distributor (rev. 

11/2021) 

Application for a Permit as a Restricted Manufacturer (rev. 

10/2020) 

Application for a Permit as a Non-Restricted Manufacturer 

(rev. 10/2020) 

Application for Registration as a Nonresident Manufacturer 

(rev. 10/2020) 

Application for a Permit as a Warehouser (rev. 10/2020) 

Application for Registration as a Nonresident Warehouser 

(rev. 10/2020) 

Application for License as a Wholesale Distributor (rev. 

10/2020) 

Application for a Non-Resident Wholesale Distributor 

Registration (rev. 10/2020) 

Application for a Non-Resident Third-Party Logistics 

Provider Registration (rev. 10/2020)  

Application for a Permit as a Third-Party Logistics Provider 

(rev. 10/2020)  

Application for Non-Resident Wholesale Distributor 

Registration (rev. 11/2021) 

Application for a Non-Resident Third-Party Logistics 

Provider Registration (rev. 11/2021) 

Application for a Permit as a Third-Party Logistics Provider 

(rev. 11/2021) 

Application for a Re-Inspection of Facility (rev. 10/2020) 

VA.R. Doc. No. R22-7039; Filed December 1, 2021, 10:56 a.m. 

  ––––––––––––––––––  

TITLE 20. PUBLIC UTILITIES AND 
TELECOMMUNICATIONS 

STATE CORPORATION COMMISSION 

Final Regulation 

REGISTRAR'S NOTICE: The State Corporation Commission 

is claiming an exemption from the Administrative Process Act 

in accordance with § 2.2-4002 A 2 of the Code of Virginia, 

which exempts courts, any agency of the Supreme Court, and 

any agency that by the Constitution is expressly granted any of 

the powers of a court of record. 

Title of Regulation: 20VAC5-309. Rules for Enforcement of 

the Underground Utility Damage Prevention Act 

(amending 20VAC5-309-150). 

Statutory Authority: §§ 12.1-13 and 56-265.30 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

Effective Date: January 1, 2022. 

Agency Contact: Lauren Govoni, Director, Division of Utility 

and Railroad Safety, Public Utility Regulation, State 

Corporation Commission, P.O. Box 1197, Richmond, VA 

23218, telephone (804) 371-9590, FAX (804) 371-9734, or 

email lauren.govoni@scc.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendments allow for a qualified contractor, in 

addition to the excavator, to complete the post-excavation 

video inspection for trenchless excavation across gravity fed 

sewer mains and combination storm and sanitary sewer 

system utility lines.  

AT RICHMOND, DECEMBER 1, 2021 

PETITION OF 

VIRGINIA NATURAL GAS, INC. 

CASE NO. URS-2021-00171 

For rulemaking to revise requirement 

for trenchless excavation set forth in 

https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC110/forms/0215%20Wholesale%20Distributor%20App%2011-2021-20211203112852.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC110/forms/0215%20Wholesale%20Distributor%20App%2011-2021-20211203112852.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC110/forms/Restric_Manuf_App-20210116200127.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC110/forms/Restric_Manuf_App-20210116200127.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC110/forms/Nonrestric_Manuf_App-20210116200424.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC110/forms/Nonrestric_Manuf_App-20210116200424.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC110/forms/NonRes_Manuf-20210116200606.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC110/forms/NonRes_Manuf-20210116200606.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC110/forms/WarehouserApp-20210116200720.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC110/forms/Nonres_Warehous-20210116200843.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC110/forms/Nonres_Warehous-20210116200843.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC110/forms/WholesaleDist_App-20210116201016.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC110/forms/WholesaleDist_App-20210116201016.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC110/forms/0219%20Nonresident%20Wholesale%20Distributor%2011-2021-20211203112951.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC110/forms/0219%20Nonresident%20Wholesale%20Distributor%2011-2021-20211203112951.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC110/forms/0242%20Nonresident%20Third%20Party%20Logistics%20Provider%20App%2011-2021-20211201105235.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC110/forms/0242%20Nonresident%20Third%20Party%20Logistics%20Provider%20App%2011-2021-20211201105235.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC110/forms/0239%20Third%20Party%20Logistics%20Provider%20App%2011-2021-20211201105303.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC110/forms/0239%20Third%20Party%20Logistics%20Provider%20App%2011-2021-20211201105303.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC110/forms/ReInspection-20210116201732.pdf
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20VAC5-309-150 of the Rules for 

Enforcement of the Underground 

Utility Damage Prevention Act 

ORDER ADOPTING REGULATIONS 

On May 6, 2021, Virginia Natural Gas, Inc. ("Petitioner"), 

filed a Petition for Rulemaking ("Petition") requesting that the 

State Corporation Commission ("Commission") initiate a 

rulemaking for the limited purpose of revising 20 VAC 5-309-

150 B 4 ("Rule 150 B 4") of the Commission's Rules for 

Enforcement of the Underground Utility Damage Prevention 

Act that prescribes requirements for post excavation 

inspection. The Petition included proposed language 

("Proposed Rule") to be considered by the Commission. 

The Petitioner states that the Proposed Rule would provide 

for greater safety, efficiency, and flexibility when conducting 

post-drill inspections of certain trenchless excavations.1 The 

Petitioner states 20 VAC 5-309-150 establishes the 

requirements for trenchless excavation. Subsection B, in 

particular, provides that "any person conducting trenchless 

excavation crossing any gravity fed sewer main or combination 

storm-sanitary sewer system utility lines need not expose such 

utility lines by hand digging" if certain steps are taken, 

including obtaining appropriate documentation from the utility 

line operator, appropriately locating the utility line and 

ensuring proper clearance, and conducting a post-excavation 

inspection to ensure no cross bore or other damage has 

occurred.2 

The Petitioner seeks the amendment of the rule regarding the 

post-excavation inspection set forth in subsection B 4. Rule 

150 B 4 currently requires the same excavator who performed 

the pre-excavation inspection and trenchless excavation work 

to also perform the post-excavation inspection using the same 

type of video equipment.3 

With its Petition, the Petitioner proposes the revision of Rule 

150 B 4 to allow a qualified contractor other than the one who 

performed the trenchless excavation to conduct the post-

excavation inspection of that work. The Proposed Rule would 

still require a post-excavation video inspection of the sewer 

lines but provides an alternative to the current requirement that 

the excavator inspect his or her own excavation work.4 

On May 27, 2021, the Commission entered an Order 

Establishing Proceeding ("Procedural Order") which, among 

other things, directed that notice of the Proposed Rule be given 

to interested persons and that such interested persons and the 

Commission Staff ("Staff") be provided an opportunity to file 

written comments on, propose modifications or supplements 

to, or request a hearing on the Proposed Rule. The Procedural 

Order directed the Commission's Division of Information 

Resources to provide a copy thereof to the Registrar of 

Regulations for publication in the Virginia Register of 

Regulations.5 The Procedural Order further directed the 

Petitioner: (i) to serve a copy thereof upon each member of the 

Commission's Underground Utility Damage Prevention 

Advisory Committee and each entity listed in Attachment B of 

the Procedural Order.6 

On August 25, 2021, Staff filed a letter in lieu of comments 

stating that Staff does not oppose the proposed revision. On 

September 3, 2021, the Petitioner filed a letter in lieu of 

rebuttal testimony acknowledging the Staff's comments and 

requesting that the Commission approve its Petition. No other 

comments or requests for hearing were filed in the docket. 

NOW THE COMMISSION, having considered this matter, is 

of the opinion and finds that the Proposed Rule as submitted 

for Commission consideration should be approved subject to 

our findings discussed herein. The Rules we adopt herein 

contain modifications to those that were first proposed by 

Petitioner and published in the Virginia Register of 

Regulations on June 21, 2021. These modifications are for 

clarification and follow our consideration of the entire record 

in this proceeding. 

The Petitioners request that, among other things, 20 VAC 5-

309-150 B 4 be revised to remove the term "excavator" and 

replace it with the term "qualified contractor." The 

Commission finds that it is more appropriate to add the term 

"qualified contractor" while also retaining the permissibility of 

the excavator also performing the requisite post excavation 

inspections. 

20 VAC 5-309-150 B 5 ("Rule 150 B 5") states "[t]he 

excavator shall immediately notify the utility line operator of 

any damage found." The Commission finds that by approving 

the Proposed Rule as revised herein, the language of Rule 150 

B 5 should also be revised to allow for the qualified contractor 

who may ultimately perform the post excavation inspection to 

immediately notify the utility line operator of any damage 

found. 

20 VAC 5-309-150 B 6 ("Rule 150 B 6") states "[a]fter the 

bore has been completed, the excavator shall make all video 

documentation available to the utility line operator and the 

division upon request. Such video documentation shall be 

maintained and made available for 12 months from the time of 

notice of excavation." The Commission finds that here also, 

Rule 150 B 6 should be revised to allow for the qualified 

contractor to make all video documentation available to the 

utility line operator and the division upon request. 

Accordingly, IT IS ORDERED THAT: 

(1) The Commission's Rules for Enforcement of the 

Underground Utility Damage Prevention Act, 20 VAC 5-309-

10 et seq., hereby are adopted as shown in Attachment A to this 

Order and shall become effective as of January 1, 2022. 

(2) A copy of these regulations as set out in Attachment A of 

this Order Adopting Regulations shall be forwarded to the 

Registrar of Regulations for publication in the Virginia 

Register. 
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(3) This case is dismissed. 

AN ATTESTED COPY hereof shall be sent by the Clerk of 

the Commission to all persons on the official Service List in 

this matter. The Service List is available from the Clerk of the 

State Corporation Commission, c/o Document Control Center, 

1300 E. Main Street, First Floor, Tyler Building, Richmond, 

Virginia 23219. A copy shall also be sent to the Commission's 

Office of General Counsel and Division Utility and Railroad 

Safety. 

_____________________________________ 
1Petition at 1. 
2Id. at 2. 

3Id. 

4Id. 
5The Order Establishing Proceeding and the proposed regulation were 

published in the June 21, 2021 issue of the Virginia Register of Regulations. 
6On July 1, 2021, the Petitioner filed a Certificate of Service stating that it 

had mailed a copy of the Procedural Order to each member of the 

Underground Damage Prevention Advisory Committee as well as each 

Virginia Local Natural Gas Distribution Company. 

20VAC5-309-150. Requirement for trenchless excavation. 

A. Any person conducting trenchless excavation shall take all 

reasonable steps necessary to protect and support underground 

utility lines. Except as provided in subsection B of this section, 

these steps shall include, but are not limited to the following: 

1. The excavator should verify that all utility lines in the area 

are marked; 

2. The excavator shall ensure that bore equipment stakes are 

installed at a safe distance from marked utility lines; 

3. When grounding rods are used, the excavator shall ensure 

that they are installed at a safe distance (at least 24 inches 

plus the width of the utility line, if known) away from the 

marked or staked location of utility lines; 

4. The excavator shall ensure sufficient clearance is 

maintained between the bore path and any underground 

utility lines during pullback; 

5. The excavator shall give special consideration to water 

and sewer systems within the area that cannot be located 

accurately; 

6. Unless prohibited by other laws, ordinances, regulations, 

or rules of governmental and regulatory authorities having 

jurisdiction, the excavator shall expose all utility lines that 

will be in the bore path by hand digging to establish the 

underground utility line's location prior to commencing 

bore. For a parallel type bore, unless prohibited by other 

laws, ordinances, regulations, or rules of governmental and 

regulatory authorities having jurisdiction, the excavator 

shall expose the utility line by hand digging at reasonable 

distances along the bore path; 

7. The excavator shall ensure the drill head locating device 

is functioning properly and within its specification; 

8. The excavator shall visually check the drill head as it 

passes through potholes, entrances, and exit pits; and 

9. If the depth indicated by the locating device is lower than 

the bottom of the pothole or pit, the excavator shall cease 

boring until the hole or pit can be hand excavated further to 

maintain a visual inspection of the drill head. 

B. Notwithstanding the requirements of subdivision A 6 of 

this section, any person conducting trenchless excavation 

crossing any gravity fed sewer main or combination 

storm/sanitary sewer system utility lines need not expose such 

utility lines by hand digging if, in addition to meeting the other 

applicable requirements set forth in subsection A of this 

section, the following steps are taken: 

1. Prior to commencing a trenchless excavation project, the 

excavator shall receive documentation from the utility line 

operator (such as, but not limited to, documentation through 

the permitting process) documenting that the operator has 

been notified of the proposed trenchless excavation and that 

trenchless excavation will be used to cross its underground 

utility line. The scope of a trenchless excavation project shall 

not exceed the scope of a single notice of excavation; 

2. Prior to commencing the boring process, the excavator 

shall determine (i) the depth of the utility line through 

appropriate locating technology and (ii) the diameter and 

condition of the utility line using a sewer system camera 

with video recording capability; 

3. The excavator shall ensure that a clearance of at least three 

feet is maintained between the bore path and the utility line; 

4. Using the same type of video equipment identified in 

subdivision B 2 of this section, after After the trenchless 

excavation project has been completed, the excavator [ or ] 

a qualified contractor shall use a closed circuit sewer system 

video camera to determine the condition of the utility line 

and ensure that no cross bore or other damage has occurred; 

5. The excavator [ or qualified contractor ] shall immediately 

notify the utility line operator of any damage found; and 

6. After the bore has been completed, the excavator [ or 

qualified contractor ] shall make all video documentation 

available to the utility line operator and the division upon 

request. Such video documentation shall be maintained and 

made available for 12 months from the time of the notice of 

excavation. 

C. The provisions of subsection B of this section shall apply 

only to gravity fed sewer mains or combination storm/sanitary 

systems that are considered "utility lines" as that term is 

defined in § 56-265.15 of the Act. 
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DOCUMENTS INCORPORATED BY REFERENCE 

(20VAC5-309) 

Virginia Underground Utility Marking Standards, March 

2004, Virginia State Corporation Commission, Division of 

Utility and Railroad Safety. 

Virginia Underground Utility Marking Standards, February 

2020, Virginia State Corporation Commission, Division of 

Utility and Railroad Safety 

VA.R. Doc. No. R21-6795; Filed December 1, 2021, 11:37 a.m. 

https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/20VAC5/dibr/Chapter%20309%20Form%20Marking-Standards-February-2020-Edition-20210524081844.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/20VAC5/dibr/Chapter%20309%20Form%20Marking-Standards-February-2020-Edition-20210524081844.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/20VAC5/dibr/Chapter%20309%20Form%20Marking-Standards-February-2020-Edition-20210524081844.pdf
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Guidance Documents 

PUBLIC COMMENT OPPORTUNITY 

Pursuant to § 2.2-4002.1 of the Code of Virginia, a certified guidance document is subject to a 30-day public comment period 

after publication in the Virginia Register of Regulations and prior to the guidance document's effective date. During the public 

comment period, comments may be made through the Virginia Regulatory Town Hall website (http://www.townhall.virginia.gov) 

or sent to the agency contact. Under subsection C of § 2.2-4002.1, the effective date of the guidance document may be delayed 

for an additional period. The guidance document may also be withdrawn. 

The following guidance documents have been submitted for publication by the listed agencies for a public comment period. 

Online users of this issue of the Virginia Register of Regulations may click on the name of a guidance document to access it. 

Guidance documents are also available on the Virginia Regulatory Town Hall (http://www.townhall.virginia.gov) or from the 

agency contact or may be viewed at the Office of the Registrar of Regulations, 900 East Main Street, Richmond, Virginia 23219. 

DEPARTMENT FOR AGING AND REHABILITATIVE 
SERVICES 

Title of Document: Work Incentives Specialist Advocate 

(WISA) Manual. 

Public Comment Deadline: January 19, 2022. 

Effective Date: January 20, 2022. 

Agency Contact: Elizabeth Patacca, Administrative Staff 

Assistant, Department for Aging and Rehabilitative Services, 

8004 Franklin Farms Drive, Henrico, VA 23229, telephone 

(804) 726-6625, or email elizabeth.patacca@dars.virginia.gov. 

DEPARTMENT OF MOTOR VEHICLES 

Titles of Documents: Obtaining a Virginia Driver Privilege 

Card. 

Obtención de una Tarjeta de Privilegio de Conductor en 

Virginia. 

Public Comment Deadline: January 19, 2022. 

Effective Date: January 20, 2022. 

Agency Contact: Melissa K. Velazquez, Legislative Director, 

Department of Motor Vehicles, 2300 West Broad Street, 

Richmond, VA 23220, telephone (804) 367-1844, or email 

melissa.velazquez@dmv.virginia.gov.  

COMMONWEALTH TRANSPORTATION BOARD 

Titles of Documents: Office of Land Use Guide to Highway 

System Changes. 

Locally Administered Projects Manual. 

Public Comment Deadline: January 19, 2022. 

Effective Date: January 20, 2022. 

Agency Contact: Jo Anne P. Maxwell, Regulatory 

Coordinator, Policy Division, Department of Transportation, 

11th Floor, 1401 East Broad Street, Richmond, VA 23219, 

telephone (804) 786-1830, or email 

joanne.maxwell@vdot.virginia.gov. 

https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title2.2/chapter40/section2.2-4002.1/
http://www.townhall.virginia.gov/
https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title2.2/chapter40/section2.2-4002.1/
http://www.townhall.virginia.gov/
https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/GetFile.cfm?File=C:/TownHall/docroot/GuidanceDocs_Proposed/262/GDoc_DARS_5034_20211130.pdf
https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/GetFile.cfm?File=C:/TownHall/docroot/GuidanceDocs_Proposed/262/GDoc_DARS_5034_20211130.pdf
mailto:elizabeth.patacca@dars.virginia.gov
https://www.dmv.virginia.gov/documents/guidance/dmv309_edits_10.12.21.pdf
https://www.dmv.virginia.gov/documents/guidance/dmv309_edits_10.12.21.pdf
https://www.dmv.virginia.gov/documents/guidance/dmv309s_edits_10.12.21.pdf
https://www.dmv.virginia.gov/documents/guidance/dmv309s_edits_10.12.21.pdf
mailto:melissa.velazquez@dmv.virginia.gov
https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/GetFile.cfm?File=C:/TownHall/docroot/GuidanceDocs_Proposed/501/GDoc_VDOT_5036_20211201.pdf
https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/GetFile.cfm?File=C:/TownHall/docroot/GuidanceDocs_Proposed/501/GDoc_VDOT_5036_20211201.pdf
http://www.virginiadot.org/business/locally_administered_projects_manual.asp
mailto:JoAnne.Maxwell@vdot.virginia.gov
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General Notices 

DEPARTMENT OF ENVIRONMENTAL QUALITY 

Redbud Run Solar LLC Notice of Intent for Small 
Renewable Energy Project (Solar) -  

Frederick County 

Redbud Run Solar LLC has provided the Department of 

Environmental Quality a notice of intent to submit the 

necessary documentation for a permit by rule for a small 

renewable energy project (solar) in Frederick County. Redbud 

Run Solar will be located near the intersection of Woods Mill 

and Pine Roads, approximately three miles southeast of the 

Town of Stephenson. Latitude and longitude coordinates are 

39.193333, -78.095556. The project's maximum generating 

capacity will be 30 megawatts, and it is sited on approximately 

180 acres of land currently used for pasture, hayfield, and 

timberland. The proposed site layout consists of approximately 

68,000 photovoltaic modules within the fenced project area. 

The project's point of interconnection (POI) is a direct 

connection into a 34.5-kilovolt Rappahannock Electric 

Cooperative line located approximately 0.5 miles north of the 

site. Power will be delivered to the POI via an underground 

medium voltage power collection cable. 

Contact Information: Cindy Berndt, Regulatory Coordinator, 

Department of Environmental Quality, 1111 East Main Street, 

Suite 1400, P.O. Box 1105, Richmond, VA 23218, telephone 

(804) 698-4378, FAX (804) 698-4178. 

Riverstone Solar LLC Notice of Intent for Small 
Renewable Energy Project (Solar) -  

Buckingham County 

Riverstone Solar LLC has provided the Department of 

Environmental Quality a notice of intent to submit the 

necessary documentation for a permit by rule for a small 

renewable energy project (solar) in Buckingham County. 

Riverstone Solar will be located north of Bridgeport Road, east 

of Route 20, and west of Hardware Road. Latitude and 

longitude coordinates are 37.730000, -78.450000. Riverstone 

Solar is proposed as an approximately 149.5 megawatts, 

alternating current, solar photovoltaic generating facility, 

consisting of approximately 375,000 solar panels located on 

approximately 1,996 acres of privately owned land. 

Contact Information: Cindy Berndt, Regulatory Coordinator, 

Department of Environmental Quality, 1111 East Main Street, 

Suite 1400, P.O. Box 1105, Richmond, VA 23218, telephone 

(804) 698-4378, FAX (804) 698-4178. 

DEPARTMENT OF MEDICAL ASSISTANCE 
SERVICES 

Draft Pharmacy Provider Manual Available 

The draft Pharmacy Provider Manual Chapter IV and 

Appendix D are now available on the Department of Medical 

Assistance Services website at 

https://www.dmas.virginia.gov/for-providers/general-

information/medicaid-provider-manual-drafts/. 

Contact Information: Meredith Lee, Policy, Regulations, and 

Manuals Supervisor, Department of Medical Assistance 

Services, 600 East Broad Street, Suite 1300, Richmond, VA 

23219, telephone (804) 371-0552, FAX (804) 786-1680, or 

email meredith.lee@dmas.virginia.gov. 

STATE WATER CONTROL BOARD 

Proposed Enforcement Action for  
4027 West Broad LLC 

The State Water Control Board proposes to issue a consent 

special order to 4027 West Broad LLC for alleged violation of 

the State Water Control Law at 4027 West Broad Street, 

Richmond, VA 23230. A description of the proposed action is 

available at the Department of Environmental Quality office 

listed or online at www.deq.virginia.gov. The staff contact will 

accept comments by email or postal mail from December 20, 

2021, to January 20, 2022. 

Contact Information: Aree Reinhardt, Department of 

Environmental Quality, Piedmont Regional Office 

(Enforcement), 4949-A Cox Road, Glen Allen, VA 23060, or 

email aree.reinhardt@deq.virginia.gov. 

Proposed Enforcement Action for  
Aadinath Petroleum LLC 

The State Water Control Board proposes to issue a consent 

special order to Aadinath Petroleum LLC for alleged violation 

of the State Water Control Law at 8001 Midlothian Turnpike, 

Chesterfield County, VA 23235 and 23822 Airport Street, 

Petersburg, VA 23803. A description of the proposed action is 

available at the Department of Environmental Quality office 

listed or online at www.deq.virginia.gov. The staff contact will 

accept comments by email or postal mail from December 20, 

2021, to January 20, 2022. 

Contact Information: Aree Reinhardt, Department of 

Environmental Quality, Piedmont Regional Office 

(Enforcement), 4949-A Cox Road, Glen Allen, VA 23060, or 

email aree.reinhardt@deq.virginia.gov. 

Proposed Enforcement Action for  
Arihant Investment LLC 

The State Water Control Board proposes to issue a consent 

special order to Arihant Investment LLC for alleged violation 

of the State Water Control Law at 5201 Oaklawn Boulevard, 

Hopewell, VA 23860. A description of the proposed action is 

available at the Department of Environmental Quality office 

listed or online at www.deq.virginia.gov. The staff contact will 

accept comments by email or postal mail from December 20, 

2021, to January 20, 2022. 

https://www.dmas.virginia.gov/for-providers/general-information/medicaid-provider-manual-drafts/
https://www.dmas.virginia.gov/for-providers/general-information/medicaid-provider-manual-drafts/
mailto:meredith.lee@dmas.virginia.gov
https://www.deq.virginia.gov/permits-regulations/public-notices/enforcement-orders
mailto:Aree.Reinhardt@deq.virginia.gov
https://www.deq.virginia.gov/permits-regulations/public-notices/enforcement-orders
mailto:Aree.Reinhardt@deq.virginia.gov
https://www.deq.virginia.gov/permits-regulations/public-notices/enforcement-orders
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Contact Information: Aree Reinhardt, Department of 

Environmental Quality, Piedmont Regional Office 

(Enforcement), 4949-A Cox Road, Glen Allen, VA 23060, or 

email aree.reinhardt@deq.virginia.gov. 

Proposed Enforcement Action for Arihant Oil LLC 

The State Water Control Board proposes to issue a consent 

special order to Arihant Oil LLC for alleged violation of the 

State Water Control Law at 5615 Boydton Plank Road, 

Petersburg, VA 23803. A description of the proposed action is 

available at the Department of Environmental Quality office 

listed or online at www.deq.virginia.gov. The staff contact will 

accept comments by email or postal mail from December 20, 

2021, to January 20, 2022. 

Contact Information: Aree Reinhardt, Department of 

Environmental Quality, Piedmont Regional Office 

(Enforcement), 4949-A Cox Road, Glen Allen, VA 23060, or 

email aree.reinhardt@deq.virginia.gov. 

Proposed Enforcement Action for  
Arihant Petroleum LLC 

The State Water Control Board proposes to issue a consent 

special order to Arihant Petroleum LLC for alleged violation 

of the State Water Control Law at 501 Southpark Boulevard, 

Colonial Heights, VA 23834. A description of the proposed 

action is available at the Department of Environmental Quality 

office listed or online at www.deq.virginia.gov. The staff 

contact will accept comments by email or postal mail from 

December 20, 2021, to January 20, 2022. 

Contact Information: Aree Reinhardt, Department of 

Environmental Quality, Piedmont Regional Office 

(Enforcement), 4949-A Cox Road, Glen Allen, VA 23060, or 

email aree.reinhardt@deq.virginia.gov. 

Proposed Enforcement Action for the City of 
Franklin 

An enforcement action has been proposed for the City of 

Franklin for violations of the State Water Control Law and 

regulations at the City of Franklin wastewater treatment plant 

located in Franklin, Virginia. The State Water Control Board 

proposes to issue a consent order to resolve violations 

associated with the facility. A description of the proposed 

action is available at the Department of Environmental Quality 

office listed or online at www.deq.virginia.gov. The staff 

contact person listed will accept comments by email or by 

postal mail from December 20, 2021, through January 19, 

2021. 

Contact Information: John Brandt, Enforcement Manager, 

Department of Environmental Quality, 5636 Southern 

Boulevard, Virginia Beach, VA 23462, FAX (804) 698-4178, 

or email john.brandt@deq.virginia.gov. 

Proposed Enforcement Action for Freedom Oil LLC 

The State Water Control Board proposes to issue a consent 

special order to Freedom Oil LLC for alleged violation of the 

State Water Control Law at 14008 Midlothian Turnpike, 

Chesterfield County, VA 23113. A description of the proposed 

action is available at the Department of Environmental Quality 

office listed or online at www.deq.virginia.gov. The staff 

contact will accept comments by email or postal mail from 

December 20, 2021, to January 20, 2022. 

Contact Information: Aree Reinhardt, Department of 

Environmental Quality, Piedmont Regional Office 

(Enforcement), 4949-A Cox Road, Glen Allen, VA 23060, or 

email aree.reinhardt@deq.virginia.gov. 

Proposed Enforcement Action for  
Jineshwar Oil LLC 

The State Water Control Board proposes to issue a consent 

special order to Jineshwar Oil LLC for alleged violation of the 

State Water Control Law at 1504 East Ridge Road, Henrico 

County, VA 23229. A description of the proposed action is 

available at the Department of Environmental Quality office 

listed or online at www.deq.virginia.gov. The staff contact will 

accept comments by email or postal mail from December 20, 

2021, to January 20, 2022. 

Contact Information: Aree Reinhardt, Department of 

Environmental Quality, Piedmont Regional Office 

(Enforcement), 4949-A Cox Road, Glen Allen, VA 23060, or 

email aree.reinhardt@deq.virginia.gov. 

Proposed Enforcement Action for Parasnath LLC 

The State Water Control Board proposes to issue a consent 

special order to Parasnath LLC for alleged violation of the 

State Water Control Law at 915 Boulevard, Colonial Heights, 

VA 23834. A description of the proposed action is available at 

the Department of Environmental Quality office listed or 

online at www.deq.virginia.gov. The staff contact will accept 

comments by email or postal mail from December 20, 2021, to 

January 20, 2022. 

Contact Information: Aree Reinhardt, Department of 

Environmental Quality, Piedmont Regional Office 

(Enforcement), 4949-A Cox Road, Glen Allen, VA 23060, or 

email aree.reinhardt@deq.virginia.gov. 

VIRGINIA CODE COMMISSION 

Notice to State Agencies 

Contact Information: Mailing Address: Virginia Code 

Commission, Pocahontas Building, 900 East Main Street, 8th 

Floor, Richmond, VA 23219; Telephone: (804) 698-1810; 

Email: varegs@dls.virginia.gov. 

mailto:Aree.Reinhardt@deq.virginia.gov
https://www.deq.virginia.gov/permits-regulations/public-notices/enforcement-orders
mailto:Aree.Reinhardt@deq.virginia.gov
https://www.deq.virginia.gov/permits-regulations/public-notices/enforcement-orders
mailto:Aree.Reinhardt@deq.virginia.gov
https://www.deq.virginia.gov/permits-regulations/public-notices/enforcement-orders
mailto:john.brandt@deq.virginia.gov
https://www.deq.virginia.gov/permits-regulations/public-notices/enforcement-orders
mailto:Aree.Reinhardt@deq.virginia.gov
https://www.deq.virginia.gov/permits-regulations/public-notices/enforcement-orders
mailto:Aree.Reinhardt@deq.virginia.gov
https://www.deq.virginia.gov/permits-regulations/public-notices/enforcement-orders
mailto:Aree.Reinhardt@deq.virginia.gov
file://///legmain/sysdata/dlsdata/CODEREGS/regispub/Vol33/Iss04/varegs@dls.virginia.gov
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Meeting Notices: Section 2.2-3707 C of the Code of Virginia 

requires state agencies to post meeting notices on their 

websites and on the Commonwealth Calendar at 

https://commonwealthcalendar.virginia.gov. 

Cumulative Table of Virginia Administrative Code 

Sections Adopted, Amended, or Repealed: A table listing 

regulation sections that have been amended, added, or repealed 

in the Virginia Register of Regulations since the regulations 

were originally published or last supplemented in the print 

version of the Virginia Administrative Code is available at 

http://register.dls.virginia.gov/documents/cumultab.pdf. 

Filing Material for Publication in the Virginia Register of 

Regulations: Agencies use the Regulation Information System 

(RIS) to file regulations and related items for publication in the 

Virginia Register of Regulations. The Registrar's office works 

closely with the Department of Planning and Budget (DPB) to 

coordinate the system with the Virginia Regulatory Town Hall. 

RIS and Town Hall complement and enhance one another by 

sharing pertinent regulatory information. 

https://commonwealthcalendar.virginia.gov/
http://register.dls.virginia.gov/documents/cumultab.pdf
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Errata 

STATE CORPORATION COMMISSION 

Title of Regulation: 10VAC5-200. Short-Term Lending. 

Publication: 38:6 VA.R. 738-739 November 8, 2021. 

Correction to Proposed Regulation: 

Page 739, 10VAC5-200-10, column 2, definition of "Other 

dependent of a member of the military services of the United 

States" clause (i), after "individual" unstrike "under the age of" 

and delete "younger than" and after "18" delete "years of age" 

VA.R. Doc. No. R22-7001; Filed November 29, 2021, 4:30 p.m. 

BOARD FOR ARCHITECTS, PROFESSIONAL 
ENGINEERS, LAND SURVEYORS, CERTIFIED 

INTERIOR DESIGNERS AND LANDSCAPE 
ARCHITECTS 

Title of Regulation: 18VAC10-20. Board for Architects, 

Professional Engineers, Land Surveyors, Certified Interior 

Designers and Landscape Architects Regulations. 

Publication: 37:24 VA.R. 3693-3722 July 19, 2021. 

Correction to Final Regulation: 

Page 3703, 18VAC10-20-310 B 1 a, after "a." replace "The 

Principles and Practice of Land Surveying" with "The board-

approved surveyor photogrammetrist exam" 

VA.R. Doc. No. R17-5025; Filed November 22, 2021, 12:34 p.m.
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